
LOUISIANA  TRAVEL GUIDE         
2010- 2011 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 

Visit us at:  www.doa.louisiana.gov/osp/travel 



 
 
 

CONTRACTED TRAVEL AGENCIES 
 
                               
   
  SHORT’S TRAVEL MANAGEMENT 
                    1203 W. Ridgeway Avenue   
                                     Waterloo, IA 
 

            TOLL FREE: (888) 846-6810  
            FAX:         (319) 433-0847 

EMAIL:      state@shortstravel.com 
                      WEBSITE: www.shortstravel.com/la 
   
                    
     
  TRUE NORTH TRAVEL SOLUTIONS 
  *Note: MOTOR COACH TRAVEL ONLY 
    1923 West Cullom Avenue, FL 2 
        Chicago, IL  60613 
    Direct:  (312) 698-8991 
     FAX:    (312) 284-4802 
    Email: nick@truenorth-travel.com  
                                   

                  
 
 
 
** PLEASE NOTE THAT THERE IS A $15 CHARGE  
     PER CALL FOR AFTER HOUR EMERGENCY SERVICE 
                             1-888-846-6810 
                      After 5 p.m. and on weekends.  
 This service is for emergency travel only and not for   booking advanced travel. 
 

mailto:nick@truenorth-travel.com
www.shortstravel.com/la
mailto:state@shortstravel.com
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  BOBBY JINDAL ANGELE DAVIS     
  GOVERNOR COMMISSIONER OF ADMINISTRATION 

State of Louisiana 
Division of Administration 

Office of the Commissioner  

 
 
TO:  ALL ELECTED OFFICIALS, DEPARTMENT HEADS AND  

PRESIDENTS OF COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES 
 
FROM:  ANGELE DAVIS 
  COMMISSIONER 
 
DATE:  JULY 1, 2010 
 
RE:  TRAVEL POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
 
The Division of Administration is committed to simplifying/clarifying travel processes and/or  
approvals.  Department Heads, Agency Heads and Presidents are again reminded to exercise all  
authority with care and reasonableness.   
 
Below is a summary of the new travel regulation additions/changes/clarifications that have been  
made in the travel policy for fiscal year 2010-2011.  As always, this is just a summary, as PPM49  
should always be reviewed in its entirety each year. 
 
Key Additions/Changes/Clarifications to PPM49: 
 

 S1501. Authorization and Legal Basis - the following addition has been made: 
Please note that when political subdivisions are required to follow PPM49 for any pass 
through money issued by the State of Louisiana, any and all required approvals must be 
sent to the correct appointing authority, not to the Commissioner of Administration. 

 
 S1502. Definitions - the following addition has been made: 

 Travel Scholarships – If any type of scholarship for travel is offered/received by a state 
 employee, it is the agency/employee’s responsibility to receive/comply with all ethics  
 laws/requirements.  See R.S. 42:1123  

  
 S1504. Methods of Transportation, Section C.3.a. - clarification has been made: 

 If an exemption from the program is granted by the Department Head or Commissioner  
 of Administration as stated above, then the employee, contractor, board or commission  
 member will not be required to rent a vehicle and may receive actual mileage 

reimbursement up to .48 cents per mile.  Reimbursable vehicle size rental is now compact 
or mid/intermediate 
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 S1504. Methods of Transportation, Section C.3.e. - the following change has been made: 

Reimbursable vehicle size rental is now compact or mid/intermediate 
 

 S1504. Methods of Transportation, Section C.3.g. - the following addition has been made: 
Reimbursements require a receipt for regular unleaded gasoline, or diesel when 
applicable. This applies for both state owned vehicles and rental vehicles, as mid-grade, 
super, plus or premium gasoline is typically not necessary. 

 
S1504. Methods of Transportation, Section D – the following change/addition has been  
 made: 

Airport shuttle/limousines and taxi reimbursements, including tip requires a receipt to 
account for total daily amount claimed. A driver tip for shuttles/limousines and taxis may 
be given and must not exceed 15% of total charge.  Amount of tip must be included on 
receipt received from driver/company. 

 
 S1506. Lodging and Meals, Section C – Several changes have been made for lodging  

   
     S1510. Agency Hosted Conferences, Section B - the following change has been made: 

Any other meals, such as breakfast and dinner, require special approval in accordance 
with PPM49 Section 1509. “Special Meals” and must have prior approval from the 
Commissioner of Administration or, for Higher Education, the entity head or his 
designee. 

      
 S1510. Agency Hosted Conferences, Section C - the following change has been made: 
                 Refreshments shall not exceed $4.50 per person, per morning and/or afternoon sessions.   
                 A mandated gratuity may be added if refreshments are being catered.  
 
 S1511. International Travel – the following section has been added:  

C.  It is the agency’s decision, if justification is given, to allow state employees to be 
reimbursed for a VISA and/or Immunizations when the traveler is traveling on behalf of 
the agency/university on official state business.  However, it is not practice for the State 
to reimburse for a Passport, therefore, Passport reimbursements must have Department 
Head/President approval along with detailed justification as to why this reimbursement is 
being requested/approved.  

 
Remember, employees should be trained at time of hiring as well as refresher classes conducted 
at least once a year.  The Office of State Travel offers many levels of travel training and will be 
glad to assist any agency with the training of your staff to ensure your employees are in 
compliance with travel regulations. If you are interested in training classes for your staff, please 
contact the State Travel Office to set up dates and times. 
 
Employees traveling on behalf of the State are expected to comply with this state travel policy 
(PPM49).  Thank you for your cooperation. 









































 
 

  

OUT-OF-STATE VEHICLE RENTALS (RECEIPTS REQUIRED) 
2010 - 2011 

Corp. 
Discount # AVIS A628000 BUDGET T243800 DOLLAR TA8565 ENTERPRISE XZ14070 

AVIS BUDGET DOLLAR ENTERPRISE 

   DAY          WEEKLY  DAY              WEEKLY  DAY              WEEKLY  DAY                 WEEKLY 

COMPACT $44                    $220 $42                    $210 $35                  $192.50 $35                        $210 

INTERMEDIATE $46                    $230 $44                    $220 $37                  $203.50 $38                        $228 

FULL SIZE $48/$50    $240/$250 $46/$48          $230/$240 $39                  $214.50 $40/$43           $240/$258 

PREMIUM $60                    $300 $54                    $270 $57                  $313.50 $55/$60           $330/$360 

7/8 PASS VAN N/A N/A $49                  $269.50 $49                        $294 

15 PASS VAN N/A N/A N/A $99                        $594 

Corp. 
Discount # HERTZ 70592 NATIONAL 5004172 THRIFTY 0010176533 

HERTZ NATIONAL THRIFTY 
 DAY              
WEEKLY  DAY              WEEKLY  DAY              WEEKLY 

COMPACT $41                  $246 $40                  $240 $35                  $192.50 

INTERMEDIATE $44                  $264 $41                  $246 $37                  $203.50 

FULL SIZE $47                  $282 $43/$45     $258/$270 $39                  $214.50 

PREMIUM $68                  $408 $60/$65     $360/$390 $57                  $313.50 

7/8 PASS VAN $65                  $390 $60                  $360 $49                  $269.50 

15 PASS VAN N/A N/A N/A 

RESERVATION TELEPHONE NUMBERS 
   

AVIS                       800-331-1212 
BUDGET                 800-527-0700 
DOLLAR                 800-800-3665 
ENTERPRISE  800-736-8222 
HERTZ  800-654-3131 
NATIONAL  800-227-7368 
THRIFTY  800-847-4389 

 
1. A valid drivers license and a major credit card are required to rent a car. 

 
2. Surcharges may apply for certain cities and airports. 

 
3. Rates require that the car be returned with a full tank of gas. 

 
4. Taxes are applicable and are to be paid in addition to rates. 

 
5. One day rentals on a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday may require additional 

surcharges. 
 

6. Some car companies charge additional drivers. 
 

7. Unlimited mileage on all rentals. 
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This issue of the Louisiana State Travel Guide was published at a total cost of $155.00. 200 copies of this 
document were published. This document was published by the Division of Administration, Office of State 
Travel, Post Office Box 94095, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9095 to improve procurement procedures and 
to maintain communications between the agencies and the DOA, by special permission of the DOA. This 
material was printed in accordance with standards for printing by State Agencies established pursuant to 
R.S. 43:31. 
 



Louisiana 
STATE TRAVEL OFFICE 

P.O. Box 94095 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9095 

(225) 342-6322  *  Fax (225) 342-5019 
www.doa.Louisiana.gov/osp/travel 
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