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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCMinimum Number of  

Instructional School Days (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, 
promulgated by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). R.S. 17:154.1 
changed the minimum number of instructional days in the 
school year from 175 to 177, keeping the existing total 
school calendar of 182 days. The legislation switched two 
days generally used for professional development, planning 
or emergencies to instructional days. The changes in State 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education policy are 
required as a result of enacted state legislation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A.(10), (11), and (15); R.S. 17:7.(5), (7), and (11); R.S. 17:10 
and 11; R.S. 17:22.(2) and (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended, LR 27:695 (May 2001), LR 27:815 (June 2001), LR 
28:2322 (November 2002). 

Minimum Session/Instructional Day 
1.009.16 Each school system shall adopt a calendar for a 
minimum session of 182 days, of which at least 177 days 
shall be scheduled to provide the required instructional time. 
 

Refer to R.S. 17.154.1 
 

Effective with the 2001-02 school year, the length of the school year 
shall consist of 182 days of which no fewer than 177 days, or the 
equivalent, shall be used to provide instruction to students; two days 
shall be for staff development; the remaining days may be used for 
emergencies and/or other instructional activities. 

 
If a daily schedule must be abbreviated, the schedule must be 
abbreviated in such a manner to ensure that all classes are taught 
during the partial day. 

 
Each school system may include in its calendar a provision for 
dismissal of senior students prior to the end of the school year. This 
provision is not to exceed 10 days of instructional time. 

 
Each school system may authorize some or all of its schools to 
modify the total number of instructional minutes per day and 
instructional days per year provided that 63,720 minutes of 
instructional time per year are met. 

 

General election day shall be designated by each school system as a 
holiday every four years for the presidential election. 

 
1.009.18 Each instance of a school system's not meeting 
the minimum number of 177 days of required instructional 
time or the equivalent (63,720 minutes per year) shall be 
examined by the State Department of Education (SDE) and 
reported by the Department/System to the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE). 

Operations Policies 
1.010.02 Each school system shall have policies and 
procedures that address, but are not limited to, the following 
items: 

•setting the number of school days, length of the school 
day, and other necessary guidelines for the operation of the 
schools; 

• providing special educational and related services to 
exceptional students in accordance with the Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) for no fewer than 177 days or the 
equivalent during the normal 182-day school cycle. 

Length of School Day Requirements 
2.037.12 The minimum instructional day for a full-day 
kindergarten program shall be 360 minutes. 
 
Each school system may authorize some or all of its schools to modify the 
total number of instructional minutes per day and instructional days per year 
provided that 63,720 minutes of instructional time per year are met. 

 
Refer to R.S. 17:154.1. 
 
2.037.13 For grades K-12, the minimum school day shall 
include 360 minutes of instructional time, exclusive of 
recess, lunch, and planning periods. 
 
Each school system may authorize some or all of its schools to modify the 
total number of instructional minutes per day and instructional days per year 
provided that 63,720 minutes of instructional time per year are met.  

 
Local systems have the option to make the determination regarding the 
length of the school day for high school seniors/ 
 
Refer to R.S. 17:154.1. 
 

Extended School Year Program for  
Eligible Exceptional Students 

1.119.00 School systems shall provide eligible exceptional 
students special educational and related services in excess of 
177 school days, or the equivalent during the normal 182 
day school cycle when stated in the Individualized 
Education Program (IEP). 

Extended School Year Program for  
Eligible Exceptional Students 

2.119.00 Extended school year programs shall be provided 
to eligible exceptional students when stated in the 
Individualized Education Program (IEP). 
2.119.01 The determination concerning the need or lack of 
need for an educational program beyond 177 school days, or 
the equivalent, during the normal 182 day school cycle made 
by the participants in an Individualized Education Program 
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(IEP) meeting shall be reviewed annually to ascertain any 
changes in the student's needs. 
2.119.02 The Individualized Education Program shall 
include special educational and related services in excess of 
177 school days or the equivalent during the normal 182 day 
school cycle when the multi-source data indicate that the 
student's exceptionally is of such severity that, without 
instruction in excess of 182 days, a significant loss of 
educational skills shall occur. 
2.119.03 The type and length of the extended program 
shall be determined on an individual basis. 

 
A program ranging from 182 up to 240 school days shall be 
available, when appropriate. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0211#029 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCPolicy for Louisiana's Public Education 

Accountability System (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 741, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 
(November 1975). Act 478 of the 1997 Regular Legislative 
Session called for the development of an Accountability 
System for the purpose of implementing fundamental 
changes in classroom teaching by helping schools and 
communities focus on improved student achievement. The 
State's Accountability System is an evolving system with 
different components. The proposed changes more clearly 
explain and refine the existing policy as follows: 1) State 
assessments administered to students with disabilities. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; R.S. 
17:22(2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education LR 
27:694 (May 2001); LR 27:695 (May 2001); LR 27:815 (June 
2001), LR 28:2323 (November 2002). 

The Louisiana School and District Accountability System 
School Performance Scores 

2.006.03 A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be 
calculated for each school. This score shall range from 0-100 
and beyond, with a score of 100 indicating a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given school can receive for each individual indicator index 
and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0". 

For the first accountability cycle, the baseline SPS shall be 
calculated using CRT and NRT scores from spring 1999 and 
the prior year's attendance and dropout data. The Growth 
SPS shall be calculated using CRT and NRT scores from 
spring 2001 and the prior year's attendance and dropout data. 

 
During the fall of 2001 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two 
School Performance Scores as follows: 
• a Growth SPS will be calculated using 2001 English language 

arts/Math LEAP 21 test scores, 2001 Iowa test scores, and 2000 
attendance and dropout data. 

• a new Baseline SPS will be calculated using the average of the 1999-
2000 and 2000-2001 English language arts/Math/Science/Social 
Studies LEAP 21 test scores, the average of the 1999-2000 and 2000-
2001 Iowa test scores and the average of the 1999 and 2000 attendance 
and dropout data. 

The Growth SPS shall be used to determine Growth Labels and to calculate 
rewards. The new Baseline shall be used to determine Performance Labels 
and to calculate the next cycle's Growth Target. The higher SPS (Growth or 
Baseline) shall be used to determine movement in Corrective Actions. (See 
Standard 2.006.09) 

 
Beginning the second cycle, every year of student data shall 
be used as part of a school's SPS. Calculations of the SPS 
shall use the following: 

• an average of the most recent two year's test data, and 
• attendance and dropout rates from the two years prior 

to the last year of test data used. 
For schools entering accountability after 1999, one year's 
data shall be used for schools formed in mid-cycle years and 
two year's data for other schools. Only spring administration 
test data shall be used in the School Performance Score. 

 
A baseline School Performance Score shall be calculated in Spring 1999 for 
Grades K-8. 

 
During the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two 
School Performance Scores as follows: 

• a score for regular education students, including gifted, talented, and 
Section 504 students. 

• a score including regular education students AND students with 
disabilities eligible to participate in the CRT and/or NRT tests. 

For the purpose of determining Academically Unacceptable Schools, during 
the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, the School Performance Score that 
includes only regular education students shall be used. 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS [K-6] 

 
The SPS for a sample school is calculated by multiplying the index values 
for each indicator by the weight given to that indicator and adding the total 
scores. In the example,  
[(66.0 * 60%) + (75.0 * 30%) + (50.0 * 10%)] = 67.1 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score 

CRT  66.0 60% 39.6 

NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 

Attendance 50.0 10%   5.0 

Dropout N/A 0% 0 

                                                                            SPS = 67.1 
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Criterion 
Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 
 
A school’s CRT Index score equals the sum of the student totals divided by 
the number of students eligible to participate in state assessments.  For the 
CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the following five levels 
shall receive the number of points indicated. 

Advanced = 200 points 
Proficient =  150 points 

Basic =  100 points 
Approaching Basic =  50 points 

Unsatisfactory =  0 points 
 

Formula for Calculating a CRT Index for a School [K-8] 
 
1. Calculate the total number of points by multiplying the number of 

students at each Performance level times the points for those respective 
performance levels, for all content areas. 

2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the 
number of content area tests. 

3. Zero shall be the lowest CRT Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
Option I students:  those students failing the 8th grade LEAP 21 that have 
been 

• retained on the 8 th grade campus 

• must retake all parts of the 8th  Grade LEAP 21 
 
If, during spring testing, a repeating fourth grade student or Option I 8th 
grade student receives a score of Approaching Basic or above on a LEAP 21 
test of mathematics, English language arts, science or social studies for 
which he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, the 
retaining school shall receive 50 incentive points per subject in its 
accountability index. A student may earn a maximum of 200 incentive 
points for his/her school. (No incentive points will be awarded for passing 
parts of tests in the summer school of the year they first failed in spring 
testing.) 

 
Transition Years [K-8] 

 
To accommodate the phase-in of the Social Studies and Science components 
of the CRT for Elementary and Secondary  Accountability Cycles, the State 
Department of Education shall use following LEAP Test components when 
calculating the School Performance Scores (SPS) for K-8: 

Timelines/ 
School Years  

LEAP-CRT Index Components 
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Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. 
Index scores for each student shall be calculated, scores totaled, and then 
averaged together to get a school’s NRT Index score. 

 

NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores 
Composite Standard Scores Equivalent to  

Louisiana's 10- and 20-Year goals, by Grade Level * 
Grade 

Goals Percentile 
Rank 

3 5 6 7 

10-Year Goal 55th 187 219 231 243 
20-Year Goal 75th 199 236 251 266 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [K-8] 

 
Where the 10-year and 20-year goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks, 
respectively, and where SS = a student’s standard score, then the index for 
that student is calculated as follows: 
Grade 3: Index 3 rd grade = (4.167 * SS) - 679.2 

SS = (Index 3rd grade + 679.2)/4.167 
Grade 5: Index 5 th grade = (2.941 * SS) - 544.1 

SS = (Index 5th grade +  544.1)/2.941 
Grade 6: Index 6 th grade = (2.500 * SS) - 477.5 

SS = (Index 6th grade +  477.5)/2.500 
Grade 7: Index 7 th grade = (2.174*SS) - 428.3 

SS= (Index 7th grade + 428.3)/2.174 
 

Formula for Calculating a School's NRT Index [K-8] 
 
1. Calculate the index for each student, using the grade-appropriate 

formula relating the Standard Score to NRT Index. (NOTE: For 
accountability purposes, a student not taking the test and not exempted 
will be assigned a zero NRT index.) 

2. Sum the total number of NRT Index points for all grades in the school. 
3. Divide the sum of the NRT Index points by the total number of 

students eligible to be tested plus the number of students not 
exempted. 

4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT Index score reported for School 
Performance Score calculations. 

 
Attendance Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
An Attendance Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial 
year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's attendance rates. 
Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' 
average attendance rates as compared to the State's goals. 

 
Attendance Goals 

  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades K-8 95% 98% 

Attendance Index Formula 
 
Grades K-8 

Indicator (ATT K-8) = (16.667 * ATT) - 1483.4 
 
Where ATT is the attendance percentage, the Index Formula uses the 
definition of attendance established by the Louisiana Department of 
Education. 

 
Lowest Attendance Index Score 

 
Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
Dropout Index Calculations 

 
A Dropout Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial year's 
index shall be calculated from the prior year's dropout rates. Subsequent 
years' indices shall be calculated using the prior two years' average dropout 
rates as compared to the State's goals. 

 
Dropout Goals 

   10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades 7 & 8 4% 2% 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain 
instances the Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate an 
"Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes. 
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Dropout Index Formulas 
 
Non-Dropout Rate (NDO) = 100 - Dropout Rate (DO)  

(expressed as a percentage) 
Grades 7 & 8 Dropout Index (7-8) = Indicator (DO Gr 7-8) =  

(25 * NDO) - 2300.0 
NDO = (Indicator DO Gr 7-8 + 2300.0) /25 

 
Lowest Dropout Index Score  

 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
School Performance Scores for 9-12 

 
A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be calculated for 

each high school. This score shall range from 0-100 and 
beyond, with a score of 100 indicating that a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating that a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given high school can receive for each individual indicator 
index and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0." 

Every year of student data shall be used as part of a high 
school's SPS. The school's initial SPS shall be calculated 
using the most recent year's NRT and CRT test data and the 
prior year's attendance and dropout rates. Subsequent 
calculations of the SPS shall use the most recent two years' 
test data, attendance and dropout rates from the two years 
prior to the last year of test data used. 

 
Transition Years [9-12] 

To accommodate the phase-in of the grades 10 and 11 GEE 21 criterion-
referenced tests, the Department shall use the following indicators: 
Timelines/School Years  Indicators Included 
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*Indicates use of prior year data for these indexes. 
1The SPS at the beginning of cycle 2 shall be calculated using the 
average of the 2002 and 2003 NRT scores, the average of the 2002 and 
2003 CRT scores, and the average of the 2001 and 2002 attendance and 
dropout data. The SPS for the beginning of cycle 2 shall be compared to 
the 2001 baseline SPS for determining growth. 
 

Transition Years [Combination Schools] 
 
Combination Schools are schools that contain a 10 th and/or 11th grade and 
that also contain a 4 th and/or 8 th grade. 
 
To accommodate the phase-in of Social Studies and Science components of 
the CRT tests for Secondary Accountability Cycles, the Department shall 
use the following LEAP Test components when calculating the SPS for 
combination schools. 

Cycle 1 Baseline SPS for 
Combination Schools 

Cycle 2 SPS for Combination 
Schools 

K-8 portion of school:  2 years 
averaged (2000 and 2001) of all 
CRT data  

K-8 portion of school:  2 years 
averaged (2002 and 2003) of all 
CRT data. 

9-12 portion of school:  1 year 
baseline data (2001) without grade 
11 CRT  

9-12 portion of school:  2 years 
averaged (2002 and 2003) of all 
CRT data. 

Formula for Calculating an SPS - Accountability Cycle 1 (2001) 
for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 

During the first accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be 
calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the weight 
given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 
SPS = (.60 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) +  

(.30 * NRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.05 * Dropout Index) 
+   (.05 Attendance Index) 

 
All intermediate results and the final result shall be rounded to the nearest 
tenth. 
 
The following is an example of how this calculation shall be made: 
[(.60 * 66.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 69.0. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator 
Score 

CRT-Grade 10 66.0 60% 39.6 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance 
Index 

50.0 5% 2.5 

Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4 
SPS 69.0 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS - Accountability Cycle 2 (2003 and 

beyond) for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 
During the second accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall 
be calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the 
weight given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 

SPS = (.30 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + 
 (.30 * Grade 11 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.30 * NRT Index) 

 + (.05 * Dropout Index) +  (.05 Attendance Index) 
 

In this example, 
[(.30 * 66.0) + (.30 * 60.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 
67.2. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator 
Score 

CRT-Grade 10 66.0 30% 19.8 
CRT-Grade 11 60.0 30% 18.0 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance 
Index 

50.0 5% 2.5 

Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4 
SPS 67.2 

 
Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 

For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. 
Index scores for each student shall be calculated, scores totaled, and then 
averaged together to get a high school's NRT Index score. 

NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores for Grade 9  
Goal Percentile Rank Grade 9 Composite 

Standard Score  
10-Year Goal 55th 263 
20-Year Goal 75th 287 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [9-12] 
If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are the 55 th and 75 th percentile ranks 
respectively and if the SS = a student's standard score, the index for a grade 
9 student is calculated as follows: 

Index 9 th grade = (2.083 * SS) – 447.8 
SS = (Index 9 th grade + 447.8)/2.083 

 
Option II students:   those students failing the 8 th grade LEAP 21 that have 
been: 
• retained and placed on the high school campus 
• must take the 9 th grade NRT and 
• must retake only the part of the 8 th grade LEAP 21 they originally 

failed (English language arts or mathemat ics). 
 
If, during spring testing, a student receives a score of Approaching Basic or 
above on a LEAP 21 test of mathematics or English language arts for which 
he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, the high 
school shall receive incentive points in its accountability index. For the 
2000-2001 school year, a student may earn a maximum of 100 incentive 
points in his/her school’s accountability index.  Beginning cycle 2 (2001-
2002), a student may earn a maximum of 50 incentive points for his/her 
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2002), a student may earn a maximum of 50 incentive points for his/her 
school. (See High Stakes Testing Policy.) 

 
Only with the exception of grade 8 Option II students, all Louisiana 
students in grades three through eleven will participate in only one of the 
following state assessments on an annual basis: 
• LEAP 21 or, 
• GEE 21 or, 
• Iowa On-Level or, 
• LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B) or, 
• LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA). 

 
Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 

A high school's CRT Index score at each grade equals the sum of the 
eligible student totals divided by the number of students eligible to 
participate in state assessments. For the CRT Index, each student who 
scores within one of the following five levels shall receive the number of 
points indicated. 

Advanced 200 points 
Proficient 150 points 

Basic 100 points 
Approaching Basic   50 points 

Unsatisfactory    0 points 
 
Formula for Calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement 

Index for a High School 
1. Sum the number of points earned by all students. For the NRT, there 

shall be one score for each student: the NRT Index calculated from the 
student's composite standard score. For the CRT, students shall be 
taking two tests at each grade.  

2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the 
number of content area tests. This calculation provides the raw 
achievement index for the grade. 

3. Multiply the raw index by the product of the non-dropout rates from the 
previous year. for that grade and for all the previous grades. (See 
Examples below.) This operation means that the grade 9 NRT Index 
shall be multiplied by the grade 9 non-dropout rate, the grade 10 CRT 
Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9 and grade 10 non-dropout 
rates, and the grade 11 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9, 
grade 10 and grade 11 non-dropout rates.  his operation shall yield the 
Adjusted Achievement Index. 

4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT or CRT Adjusted Achievement Index 
score reported for accountability calculations. 

The formula for calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement 
Index for a High School is: 

NRT Adjusted Achievement Index = Raw Achievement Index *  
(1-DO Gr 9 + .07) 

CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 10) = Raw Achievement Index * 
(1-DO Gr 9 + .07) * (1-DO Gr 10 + .07) 

CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 11) = Raw Achievement Index * 
(1-DO Gr 9 + .07) *(1-DO Gr 10 + .07) * (1-DO Gr 11 + .07) 

 
Example 1 – Grade 9: 
§ Before beginning grade 9, a class has 50 students; by the end of 

September, 45 remain in the class. The grade 9 dropout rate is 
(5/50) = .100. 

§ The number of points earned on the NRT is 5000. 
§ The raw achievement index is 

5000/45 = 111.1. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

111.1 X (1 – .100 + .07) = 107.8. 
Example 2 – Grade 10: 
§ Another 5 students dropout before October of grade 10. The grade 10 

dropout rate is 
5/45 = .111. 

§ The 40 students remaining in the class earn 10,000 points on the two 
CRT tests. The raw achievement index is 

10,000/(40 * 2)  = 125.0. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

125.0 X (1 – .100 + .07) X (1 – .111 +.07) = 116.3. 
 

Attendance Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 
An Attendance Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The 
initial year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's attendance rates. 
Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' 
average attendance rates as compared to the State’s goals. 

Attendance Goals 

  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades 9-12 93% 96% 

Attendance Index Formula for Grades 9-12 
If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are 93% and 96% average attendance 
respectively and if the ATT = attendance percentage using the definition of 
attendance established by the Department of Education, the attendance 
index is calculated as follows: 

Indicator (ATT 9-12) = (16.667 * ATT) – 1450.0. 
Example: 
§ If the average attendance percentage is 94.3%, the Attendance Index 

would be 
(16.667 * 94.3) – 1450.0 = 121.7. 

Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
Dropout Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 

A Dropout Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initial 
year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's dropout rates. 
Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' 
average dropout rates as compared to the State's goals. 

Dropout Goals  
  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 7% 3% 
Dropout Index Formula for Grades 9-12 

Dropout Index = 187.5 - (12.5 X dropout rate) 
Example: 
§ If the dropout rate is 4.5%, the Dropout Index would be 

187.5 - (12.5 * 4.5) = 131.3. 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain 
instances the Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate an 
"Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes. 

 
Data Collection and Data Verification 

 
2.006.04 A test score shall be entered for all eligible 
students within a given school. For any eligible student who 
does not take the test, including those who are absent, a 
score of "0" on the CRT and NRT shall be calculated in the 
school's SPS. (See Standard 2.006.18 for students 
participating in LEAP Alternate Assessment B [LAA-B].) To 
assist a school in dealing with absent students, the Louisiana 
Department of Education shall provide an extended testing 
period for test administration. The only exception to this 
policy is a student who was sick during the test and re-
testing periods and who has formal medical documentation 
for that period. 

The Districts and the LDE shall evaluate any instance of 
Irregularity or Unusual Data in the following respects: 

 
For Attendance and Dropout data: 

• The LDE shall identify a statistically valid sample of all schools 
included in the accountability system. All schools included in this 
sample shall be audited. 

• Additionally, the LDE shall audit all schools included in the 
accountability system that have an Irregularity or Unusual Data Result 
(UDR), as defined below. The LDE may have an outside team 
conduct the audit. 

• The findings of the audit shall be reported to the SBESE, the local 
district and local school. If the audit findings cannot be resolved, the 
Superintendent shall recommend to the SBESE, who shall approve the 
appropriate data to be used in the calculation of the School 
Performance Score. 
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For NRT and CRT data: 
• If there is evidence of an Irregularity or UDR, the LEA shall be 

required to investigate using a process as determined by the LDE and 
approved by the SBESE. The LEA shall report the results of its 
investigation to the State Superintendent of Education. 

• If the State Superintendent of Education determines that t he results of 
the investigation do not sufficiently explain the data, s/he shall 
designate a team to visit the school and conduct its own investigation. 

• If the gains are validated by the visit, the school will be designated a 
"pacesetter" school. If the gains cannot be validated, the State 
Superintendent of Education may initiate further action. 

Reported Irregularities: 
• The LDE will determine and the SBESE shall approve a process for 

the public to report possible Irregularities. 
• Anonymous complaints may be investigated. 
• All signed complaints shall be investigated. 

Allocation of Rewards (See Standard 2.006.08): 
• If Irregularities are resolved and the data is corrected before rewards 

are provided, then the rewards will be based upon the corrected data. 
• If the Irregularities are resolved and the data is corrected after rewards 

have been distributed, then the school shall be required to repay any 
rewards for which it was ineligible as determined by the audit findings 
or the SBESE will subtract the reward amount from future funds to be 
awarded to the district or from some other source. 

 
An Unusual Data Result (UDR) shall be defined as any CRT, NRT, 
attendance or dropout data which exceeds a parameter, or a range of 
parameters, which shall be determined by the LDE and approved by the 
SBESE. An Irregularity shall be defined as any data which appears to 
contradict results which are otherwise expected; unrealistic information; or 
data generated as a result of defective data collection or processing. 

 
Growth Targets 

 
2.006.05 Each school shall receive a Growth Target that 
represents the amount of progress it must make every two 
years to reach the State’s 10- and 20-Year Goals. 

 
In establishing each school's Growth Target, the SPS inclusive of students 
with disabilities shall be used as the baseline. (See Standard 2.006.18.) 
However, the percentage of students with disabilities varies significantly 
across schools and the rate of growth for such students, when compared to 
regular education students, may be different. Therefore, the proportion of 
students with disabilities eligible to participate in the CRT or NRT in each 
school will be a factor in determining the Growth Target for each school. 

 
 

Growth Targets [K-12] 
 

During the first ten years, the formula is the following: 
 
[PropRE * (100 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((100 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + [PropLEP 
* ((100-SPS)/(N+5))] or 5 points, whichever is greater 
where 
 
PropSE  =  the number of special education students in the school who are 

eligible to participate in the NRT or CRT, div ided by the total 
number of students in the school who are eligible to participate 
in the NRT or CRT. For purposes of this calculation, gifted, 
talented, and 504 students shall not be counted as special 
education students, but shall be included in the calculations as 
regular education students. 

 

PropRE   =  1-PropSE.  PropRE is the proportion of students not in special 
education. 

Prop LEP  = the number of limited English proficient students in the school 
who are eligible to participate in the NRT or CRT, divided 
by the total number of students in the school who are eligible 
to participate in the NRT or CRT. A limited English 
proficient student shall be defined as an individual who has 
sufficient difficulty speaking, reading, writing, or 
understanding the English language and whose difficulties 
may deny such individual the opportunity to learn 
successfully in classrooms where the language of instruction 
is English or participate fully in our society and who 1) was 

not born in the United States or whose native language is a 
language other than English and comes from an environment 
where a language other than English is dominate; or 2) is a 
Native American or Alaska Native or who is a native 
resident of the outlying areas and comes from an 
environment where a language other than English has had a 
significant impact on such individual’s level of English 
language proficiency; or 3) is migratory and whose native 
language is other than English and comes from an 
environment where a language other than English is 
dominate. 

SPS = School Performance Score 
 
 

N = Number of remaining accountability cycles in the 10-Year Goal period 
 

The maximum amount of growth that a school shall be required to attain is 
20 points. 

The minimum amount of growth required shall be 5 points. 
During the second ten years, the formula is the following:  
 

[PropRE * (150 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((150 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + [PropLEP 
* ((150-SPS)/(N+5))], or 5 points, whichever is greater.  

 
For cycle 1 only (2003), the Louisiana Department of Education shall 
calculate a growth target for 9-12 schools using the following formula 

.75 * [[PropRE * (100 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((100 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + 
[PropLEP * ((100-SPS)/(N+5))]]. 

 
For combination schools, the Louisiana Department of Education shall use 
2 years of data (2002 and 2003) to determine if a school has met its growth 
target for cycle 1. Combination schools shall use the following formula to 
calculate a growth target: 

[[PropRE * (100 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((100 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + 
[PropLEP * ((100-SPS)/(N+5))]], or 5 points, whichever is greater.  

 
Growth Targets for New or Reconfigured Schools 

 
Once a baseline for the new or reconfigured school has been established, a 
Growth Target shall be set based on the number of cycles remaining until 
2009 (K-8) and 2011 (9-12), with a maximum Growth Target of 20 points. 
 
For example, suppose an elementary school enters the Accountability 
System in 2003 and establishes a baseline SPS of 50 in 2005. Normally, the 
school's Growth Target would be (100-50)/2 = 25. Under this rule, the 
school's Growth Target shall be 20, the maximum. 

 
Growth Targets for Reconstituted Schools 

 
Until 2009 (for K-8 schools) and 2011 (for 9-12 schools), the reconstituted 
school's Growth Target shall be equal to 100 minus the SPS divided by 5 
minus the number of cycles since reconstitution. 
 
For example, suppose a school is reconstituted in 2005 and has a SPS of 50 
(based on previous year's data). The school's Growth Target for the first 
cycle after reconstitution shall be 10 points [(100-50)/5]. 

 
Inclusion of Alternative Education Students 

 
2.006.17 Each superintendent, in conjunction with the 

alternative school director, shall choose from one of two 
options for including alternative education students in the 
Louisiana Accountability System for the system's alternative 
education schools. 

 
Option I The score for every alternative education student at a given 

alternative school shall be returned to ("sent back") and included 
in the home-based school's SPS. The alternative school itself 
shall receive a "diagnostic" SPS, not to be used for rewards or 
Corrective Actions, if a statistically valid number of students 
were enrolled in the school at the time of testing. 

 
Students included in the GED/Skills Option program will be included in 
School Accountability. They will be required to take the 9 th grade Iowa Test 
or participate in LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B) or LEAP Alternate 
Assessment (LAA) while enrolled.  All programs will be considered Option 
I for alternative education purposes and student data will be sent back to the 
sending high schools for attendance, dropout and Iowa Test scores. 
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Option II  The score for every alternative education student shall remain 
at the alternative school. The alternative school shall be given 
its own SPS and Growth Target, which makes the alternative 
school eligible for rewards and Corrective Actions.  

 
In order to be eligible for Option II, an alternative school shall meet all of 
the following requirements: 

• the alternative school must have its own site code and operate as a 
school; 

• the alternative school must have a required minimum number of 
students in the tested grade levels; the definition of required 
minimum is stated in Section 2.006.19; and 

• at least 50 percent of the total school population must have been 
enrolled in the school for the entire school year, October 1-May 1. 

 
 

Once an option is selected for an alternative school, it shall remain in that 
option for at least 10 years. An appeal to the SBESE may be made to 
change the option status prior to the end of 10 years if a school's purpose 
and/or student eligibility changes. 

 
An alternative school that chooses Option II shall receive an initial baseline 
SPS during summer of 1999 if the majority of its students are in grades K-8.  
If the majority of its students are in grades 9-12, an alternative school shall 
receive its baseline SPS during the summer of 2001. 

 
All students pursuing a regular high school diploma, working in curricula 
developed from Louisiana Content Standards, shall be included in the State-
testing program, with those scores included in a SPS. 
Information on these students-e.g., number receiving a GED-shall be 
reported in the school's report card as a sub-report. 

 
An alternative school in Corrective Actions II may request some flexibilit y 
in obtaining assistance from either a Distinguished Educator (DE) or a team 
designed to address the special needs of the alternative school population, 
as long as the total costs for the team do not exceed that for the DE. Sample 
team members could include the following: social workers, psychologists, 
educational diagnosticians, and counselors, etc. 

 
Inclusion of Lab Schools and Charter Schools 

 
Such schools shall be included in the Louisiana Accountability System 
following the same rules that apply to traditional and/or alternative schools. 
The only exceptions are that Lab Schools and Type 1, 2, and 3 Charter 
Schools are "independent@ schools and cannot be "paired@ or "shared@ with 
another school if they do not have at least one CRT and one NRT grade 
level, and/or if there is no "home-based@ district school to which a given 
student's scores can be returned if all three conditions for Option II cannot 
be met. Therefore, if they do not have the required grade levels and/or 
required minimum number of students, such schools cannot receive a SPS. 
Instead, the State shall publish the results from pre- and post -test student 
achievement results, as well as other relevant accountability data, as part of 
that school's report card. This policy is to be revisited during the year 2001. 

 
For the 1999-2000 academic school year, detention and Department of 
Corrections facilities shall NOT receive a SP S. 

 
Inclusion of Students with Disabilities 

 
2.006.18 All students, including those with disabilities, 
shall participate in Louisiana's new testing program. The 
scores of all students who are eligible to take the CRT and 
the NRT shall be included in the calculation of the SPS. 
Most students with disabilities shall take the CRT and the 
NRT with accommodations, if required by their 
Individualized Education Program (IEP). A small percentage 
of students with very significant disabilities, limited to 1.5 
percent per grade level per school district, shall participate in 
LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA), as required by their IEP. 

Local Education Agencies (LEAs) have the option to 
allow or disallow LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B). 
The decision to allow or disallow LAA-B must be in effect 
for one accountability cycle. The LEA shall determine the 
percentage of students who can test LAA-B, not to exceed a 
total of 4 percent of students at any grade level per school 
district. This 4 percent includes those students participating 
in LAA. The parent must agree with LAA-B through written 
parental approval, via the IEP. There shall be an appeals 
method in place to make decisions on exceptions when the 
district's 4 percent cap has been exceeded. 

A student participating in LAA-B testing must test three or 
more grade levels below in either English/Language Arts or 
Mathematics. If a student does not test three or more grade 
levels below in at least one of these subject areas, the school 
will receive a "0" for that student's growth in the calculation 
of the school's SPS. 

For students with disabilities who test in LAA-B, Iowa 
(ITBS) standard scores from two consecutive years shall be 
compared in the following manner to determine student 
performance in calculating the SPS: 

 
Less t han 5 standard score points of progress     0 points (Unsatisfactory) 
5-9 standard score points of progress   50 points  

(Approaching Basic) 
10-14 standard score points of progress 100 points (Basic) 
15-19 standard score points of progress 150 points (Proficient) 
20 + standard score points of progress 200 points (Advanced) 

 
Appeals Process for Exceeding the Established Caps for  

LAA or LAA-B of Students with Disabilities 
 

School districts that either 
A) exceed a total of 4 percent but less than 5 percent of the total district 

population at any grade level participating in LAA-B and LAA, 
AND/OR 

B) exceed a total of 1.5 percent but less than 2 percent of the total 
district population at any grade level participating in LAA. 

 
must submit the following to the Department of Education (DOE) for 
review and approval: 

1) a justification documenting the reasons for exceeding the cap(s), 
and  

2) a corrective action plan to 
• increase participation in on-level assessment of the total district 

population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded, and when 
applicable; 

• decrease participation in LAA to a maximum of 1.5 percent of the total 
district population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded. 

School districts that either 
A) exceed a total of 5 percent or more of the total district population at 

any grade level participating in LAA-B and LAA, 
AND/OR 

B) exceed a total of 2 percent of the total district population at any 
grade level participating in LAA 

must submit the following to the Department of Education for review 
and approval: 
1) a justification documenting the reasons for exceeding the 

cap(s), and  
2) a corrective action plan to 

• increase participation in on-level assessment of the total district 
population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded, and when 
applicable; 

• decrease participation in LAA to a maximum of 1.5 percent of the total 
district population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded. 

 
The school district will receive an onsite investigation by a Department of 
Education team; and following the investigation, the DOE team will meet 
with the school district's superintendent and appropriate staff to address the 
findings and revise, if necessary, the submitted corrective action plan. 
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III. The DOE will report to the SBESE on each appeal. 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0211#027 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1794CState Textbook Adoption Policy and 
Procedure ManualCReasonable and Proper Care for and 

Control over Textbooks and Other Materials of Instruction  
(LAC 28:XXXIII.523) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended to Bulletin 1794, State Textbook 
Adoption Policy and Procedure Manual, referenced in LAC 
28:XXXIII. Bulletin 1794 is being revised to reflect 
legislative changes. Act 315 of the 2001 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature requires the principal of every 
school to transfer student educational records, within 10 
business days, to educational facilities operated within 
correctional or health facilities, upon receipt of a written 
request. In addition, the authority for schools to withhold 
grades of students who have fines or fees related to lost or 
damaged books has been removed. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XXXIII.  Bulletin 1794CState Textbook Adoption 
Policy and Procedure Manual 

Chapter 5. Local School System Responsibilities 
§523. Reasonable and Proper Care for and Control 

over Textbooks and Other Materials of 
Instruction 

NOTE: This policy shall also be applicable to instructional 
materials, supplies, and equipment. (See also Bulletin 741) 

A. The SDE recommends that Student Handbooks, 
issued to students at the beginning of each school year, 
include a policy statement that stipulates responsibility fo r 
proper use and control over textbooks and other materials of 
instruction that are on loan to the students during the school 
year. Signature lines should be included for both students' 
and parent/legal guardians' acknowledgement of 
responsibility. In addition, a contact name and phone number 
should be provided. Payment plans for restitution by 
parents/guardians may be specified. 

B. Each school system, as part of its responsibility to 
ensure proper care and control of textbooks, shall adopt 
procedures that hold students and parents/guardians 
responsible for exercising reasonable and proper care of 
textbooks and materials of instruction. 

C. Such procedures may provide that parents and/or 
legal guardians may be required to compensate the school 
district for lost, destroyed, or unnecessarily damaged books 
and materials, and for any books which are not returned to 
the proper schools at the end of each school year or upon 
withdrawal of their dependent child. Under no circumstances 
may a student of school age be held financially responsible 
for fees associated with textbook replacement. 

D. Compensation by parents or guardians may be in the 
form of monetary fees or community/school service 

activities, as determined by the school governing authority. 
In the case of mo netary fees, fines shall be limited to no 
more than the replacement cost of the textbook or material, 
but may, at the discretion of the governing authority, be 
adjusted according to the physical condition of the lost or 
destroyed textbook. A school system may waive or reduce 
the payment required if the student is from a family of low 
income and may provide for a method of payment other than 
lump-sum payment. 

E. In lieu of monetary payments, both school systems 
and parents/guardians may elect to have students perform 
school/community service activities, provided that such are 
arranged sop as not to conflict with school instructional 
time; these activities shall be properly supervised by school 
staff and shall be suitable to the age of the child. 

F. Under no circumstances may a school or school 
district refuse the parent/guardian the right to inspect 
relevant grades or records pertaining to the child; nor may 
the school or school district refuse to transfer promptly the 
records of any child withdrawing or transferring from the 
school, per requirements of the Federal Family Educational 
rights and Privacy Act. Transfer of records shall not exceed 
45 days from the date of request, except for requests from 
any educational facility operated within any correctional or 
health facility. The transfer of such records shall not exceed 
10 business days from the date of receipt of the written 
request. 

G. Under no circumstances may a school or school 
district deny a student promotional opportunities, as a result 
of his/her failure to compensate the school district for lost or 
damaged textbooks. Students shall not be denied continual 
enrollment each grading period nor re-entry in succeeding 
school years as a result of lost or damaged books. 

H. Students shall not be denied the use of a textbook 
during school hours each day. Each school system shall 
annually inform parents and/or legal guardians of the locally 
adopted procedures pursuant to state law and regulation, 
regarding reasonable and proper control of textbooks (See 
also Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators (Revised, 1997) for policy regarding this 
legislation). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:1001 (May 2000), LR 
28:2329 (November 2002). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0211#026 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV.301, 703, 803, 2103, and 2105) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) hereby amends the Rules of the 
Scholarship/Grant programs (R.S. 17:3021-3026. R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1). 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance—Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Program 

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

* * * 
Full-Time StudentC 

a. - f. … 
g. correspondence courses may not be used to 

establish full time status. 
* * * 

JoinCenters on active duty. 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
24:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 
(April 1999), LR 25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 
(October 1999), LR 26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), 
LR26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 
1999 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26: 2752 
(December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 
2001), LR 27:1219 (August 2001), LR 27:1842, 1875 (November 
2001), LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 
28:2330 (November 2002). 
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 

Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§703. Establishing Eligibility 
A. - A.4.a. … 

b. if the student joins the United States Armed 
Forces within one year after graduating from an eligible 
Louisiana or an eligible non-Louisiana high school or from 
an eligible out of country high school, enroll not later than 
the semester, excluding summer semesters or sessions, 
immediately following the fifth anniversary of the date that 
the student graduated from high school or within one year 
from the date of discharge, whichever is earlier; or 

c. … 
d. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 

§703.A.5.d or f and has joined and is on active duty with the 
United States Armed Forces within one year of completion 
of the twelfth grade of an approved home study program, 
enroll not later than the semester or term, excluding summer 
semesters or sessions, immediately following the fifth 
anniversary of the completion of the approved home study 
program or within one year from the date of discharge, 
whichever is earlier; or 

4.e. - 5.a. … 
 i. at the time of high school graduation, an 
applicant must have successfully completed 16.5 units of 
high school course work documented on the student's 
official transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department 
of Education constituting a core curriculum as follows 

A.5.a.ii. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:636 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1902 (October 1998), LR 
25:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 

(April 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 
2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 
26:1602 (August 2000), LR 26:1996, 2001 (September 2000), LR 
26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 
(January 2001), LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 
2001), LR 27:1850 (November 2001), LR 28:772 (April 2002), 
LR:28.2330 (November 2002). 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§803. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.4.a. … 
b. if the student joins the United States Armed 

Forces within one year after graduating from an eligible 
Louisiana or an eligible non-Louisiana high school or from 
an eligible out of country high school, enroll not later than 
the semester, excluding summer semesters or sessions, 
immediately following the fifth anniversary of the date that 
the student graduated from high school or within one year 
from the date of discharge, whichever is earlier; or 

c. … 
d. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 

§803.A.5.d and has joined and is on active duty with the 
United States Armed Forces within one year of the date the 
student completed the home study program, which is 
deemed to be May 31, enroll not later than the semester or 
term, excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the fifth anniversary of the date the student 
completed the home study program, or within one year from 
the date of discharge, whichever is earlier; and 

5. - 5.d. … 
6. if qualifying under the terms of §803.A.5.a, at the 

time of high school graduation, 
a.  have successfully completed one of the 

following core curriculums: 
 i. 16.5 units of high school course work 
constituting the TOPS core curriculum as defined in 
§703.A.5. and documented on the student's official transcript 
as approved by the Louisiana Department of Education; or 
 ii. For students graduating in the 2000-2001 
school year and thereafter, the high school course work 
documented on the student's official transcript as approved 
by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting the 
following TOPS-TECH core curriculum: 

6.a.iii - 10. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:1904 (October 1998), amended LR 24:2237 (December 1998), 
LR 25:1795 (October 1999), LR 26:65, 67 (January 2000), LR 
26:1602 (August 2000), LR 26:1997 (September 2000), LR 
26:2269 (October 2000), LR 26:2754 (December 2000), LR 27:36 
(January 2001), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), LR 27:1854 
(November 2001), LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:773 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330 (November 2002). 
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - C.3. … 
D. Procedure for Requesting Exceptions to the Initial and 

Continuous Enrollment Requirement 
1. The student should complete and submit an 

application for an exception, with documentary evidence, to 
the Office as soon as possible after the occurrence of the 
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event or circumstance that supports the request. Through the 
2000-2001 academic year, the student must submit 
application for an exception no later than May 30 of the 
academic year the student requests reinstatement. 
Commencing with the 2001-2002 academic year, the student 
must submit the application for exception no later than six 
months after the date of the notice of cancellation. The 
deadline for filing the exception shall be prominently 
displayed on the notice of cancellation. If the applicant for 
an exception is a Dependent Student, a parent or legal 
guardian of the Dependent Student may submit the 
application for exception on behalf of the applicant. 

D.2. - E.11.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 (October 1998), LR 
26:1015 (May 2000), LR 26:2002 (September 2000), LR 27:36 
(January 2001), LR 27:1866, 1875 (November 2001), LR 28:46 
(January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 2002), 
LR 28:2330 (November 2002). 
§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment and 

Cancellation 
A. - C. … 
D. Procedure for Requesting a Deferment 

1. The recipient should complete and submit an 
application for a deferment, with documentary evidence, to 
the office as soon as possible after the occurrence of the 
event or circumstance that supports the request. The 
recipient must submit the application for deferment no later 
than three months after the date of the notice of repayment. 
The deadline for filing the request shall be prominently 
displayed on the notice of repayment. If the applicant for a 
deferment is a Dependent Student, a parent or legal guardian 
of the Dependent Student may submit the application for 
exception on behalf of the applicant. 

D.2. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1918 (October 1998), LR 
26:1603 (August 2000). repromulgated LR 27:1868 (November 
2001),amended LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:2331 (November 
2002). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 
 

0211#061 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Finanical Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV 301, 701, 703, 705, 805, 903,  
1301, 1903, 2103, 2107, 2109, and 2303) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) amends its Scholarship/Grant Rules (R.S. 

17:3021-3026, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and R.S. 17:3042.1, 
R.S. 17:3048.1). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance—Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

A. ... 
* * * 

Exceptional ChildCa student defined as an exceptional 
child in accordance with R.S. 17:1943(4), excluding gifted 
and talented. 

* * * 
Full-Time StudentC 

a. - b. ... 
c. for continuation purposes, a student is considered 

to have met the full-time requirement if by the completion of 
the academic year he has earned at least 24 hours of total 
credit as reported by the institution for the fall and spring 
semesters at institutions defining 12 semester hours as the 
minimum for standing as a full-time undergraduate or as 
reported by the institution for the fall, winter and spring 
quarters at institutions defining 8 quarter hours as the 
minimum for standing as a full-time undergraduate. For 
purposes of TOPS and except where specified otherwise 
within these rules, a student shall be credited for hours 
earned as reported by the institution which the student 
attends in accordance with that institution's published 
policies. Students should be aware that these policies may 
differ depending on the school the student attends. (see 
§§705.A., 705.D., 805.A., and 907.A. for more expanded 
TOPS requirements);  

d - g. ... 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (July 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26: 2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), LR 27:1842, 1875 (November 2001), LR 28:45 
(January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), 
LR 28:2331 (November 2002). 
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 

Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§701. General Provisions 
A. - E.7. ... 

8. Students funded under the Tuition Assistance Plan 
(TAP) or the Louisiana Honors Scholarship program during 
the 1997-98 award year, who lost eligibility due to their 
failure to maintain the required grade point average, shall be 
continued as TOPS Opportunity or Performance recipients, 
respectively, however, their eligibility for an award shall be 
suspended pending their satisfaction of the continuation 
requirements of §705.A.7 and 8. If a student satisfies the 
applicable requirements of §705.A.7 and 8 no later than the
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end of the 2000 Spring Semester, he/she shall be eligible for 
reinstatement of the award in accordance with §705.B, for 
the semester following the satisfaction of the requirements 
of §705.A.7 and 8. 

E.8. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999) 
LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1995, 
2000 (September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1848 (November 
2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:2331 (November 
2002). 
§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.4.b. … 
c. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 

§703.A.5.d or e, enroll not later than the semester or term, 
excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the first anniversary of the date the student 
completes the home study program, which is deemed to be 
May 31; or 

d. if the student is eligible under the provisions of 
§703.A.5.d or e, and has joined and is on active duty with 
the United States Armed Forces within one year of 
completion of the twelfth grade of an approved home study 
program, enroll not later than the semester or term, 
excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately 
following the fifth anniversary of the completion of the 
approved home study program or within one year from the 
date of discharge, whichever is earlier; or 

A.4.d. - D. ... 
E. Students graduating in academic years 1996-97 and 

1997-98 who qualified by reduction of the foreign language 
requirement must provide LASFAC a copy of their college 
transcript showing completion of one or more foreign 
language courses. Eligibility for an award is not established 
until receipt of the transcript verifying that the foreign 
language credit was earned and the student shall first be 
awarded for the semester or term following that in which 
eligibility was established. Under this provision, eligibility 
must be established not later than the conclusion of the 
1998-99 award year. 

F. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 25:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 2000), LR 26:689 
(April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1602, 1998 (August 
2000), LR 26:1996, 2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 
2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), 
LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 1219 (August 2001), LR 
27:1850 (November 2001), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR:28:2332 
(November 2002). 
§705. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. - A.11. … 
B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 

§705.A.7 or §705.A.8.a, b, or c may have their tuition 
awards reinstated upon regaining Steady Academic Progress 
(See §301.) and/or attainment of the required GPA, if the 
period of ineligibility did not persist for more than two years 
from the date of loss of eligibility. Students who fail to meet 
the continuation requirements of §705.A.8.c., but who meet 

the continuation requirements of §705.A.8.a or b., shall no 
longer be eligible for the stipend authorized for the 
Performance and Honors Awards, but shall continue to 
receive the award amount for the Opportunity Award. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999); 
LR 25:656 (April 1999), LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:67 
(January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1996, 2001 
(September 2000), LR 27:1853 (November 2001), LR 28:447 
(March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 
2002). 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§805. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. - A.8. ... 
B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 

§805.A.7 and 8 may have their tuition awards reinstated 
upon achieving Steady Academic Progress, as defined in 
§301, and the attainment of the required grade point average, 
if the period of ineligibility did not persist for more than one 
year from the date of loss of eligibility 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998) LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:68 
(January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), LR 27:1856 (November 2001), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002). 
Chapter 9. TOPS Teacher Award 
§903. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.4.a. ... 
 i. at the time of high school graduation, have 
successfully completed 16.5 units of high school course 
work constituting a core curriculum as defined in 
§703.A.5.a.i of LAC 28:IV; and 

A.4.a.ii. - A.8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1906 (October 1998), LR 26:68 (January 2000), 
LR 26:2269 (October 2000), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1220 
(August 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1135 (November 2001), 
amended LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 28:774 (April 2002), LR 
28:2332 (November 2002). 
Chapter 13. Leveraging Educational Assistance 

Partnership (LEAP) 
§1301. General Provisions 

A. - B. ... 
C. Louisiana administers a decentralized LEAP Program. 

Certain functions of the program are delegated to 
participating schools. Schools approved for participation in 
the Louisiana LEAP Program must have federal eligibility 
and must annually submit a state application and be 
approved for state participation. Funding available for a 
specific award year is allocated to eligible in-state 
postsecondary institutions who select and certify recipients 
to LASFAC. LASFAC forwards award funding to the 
institutions for disbursement to the student or student's 
account. 

D. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:641 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR 25:1458 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 27:1860 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:2332 (November 2002). 
Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of 

Postsecondary Institutions 
§1903. Responsibilities of Postsecondary Institutions 

A. - B.7.b. ... 
8. Before applying a TOPS award to pay a student's 

tuition, institutions shall first apply the student's "out-of-
pocket" payments, including student loans, toward tuition 
charges. In those cases when a student's tuition as defined in 
26 U.S.C. 25A is paid from a source other than the TOPS 
award, the institution shall apply the TOPS award toward 
payment of expenses other than tuition which are described 
in the term "cost of attendance" as that term is defined in 20 
U.S.C. 1087 11, as amended, for the purpose of qualifying 
the student or his parent or guardian for the federal income 
tax credits provided for under 26 U.S.C. 25A. 

C. - G.  ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:645 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 25:1459 (August 1999), 
LR 26:1998, 2002 (September 2000), LR 27:1864 (November 
2001), LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 28:2333 (November 2002). 
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - E.1.b.ii. ... 
c. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two 

consecutive semesters (three consecutive quarters) per 
pregnancy. 

2. - 11.a. ... 
 i. The following situations are not exceptional 
circumstances: 

a.i.(a) - c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1916 (October 1998), LR 26:1017 (May 2000), LR 
26:2004 (September 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 27:1875 
(October 2001), LR 27:1866 (November 2001), LR 289:46 
(January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 2002), 
LR 28:2333 (November 2002). 
§2107. Funding and Fees 

A. - C.2.a. ... 
b. After the elimination of students under, 

§2107.C.2.a if funds are still insufficient to award all of 
those students who remain eligible for award year 1998-99, 
then those students qualified by the actions of the First 
Extraordinary Session of 1998 shall be funded only after all 
awards to all students who are eligible pursuant to the 
requirements of this Chapter as they existed prior to any Act 
of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the Legislature 
are fully funded. Students qualified by actions of the First 
Extraordinary Session of 1998 include the following: 
 i. students qualified by reduction of Foreign 
Language requirement for 1996-97 and 1997-98 graduates; 
 ii. students qualified as Exceptional 
Students/Students with disabilities; 
 iii. students who graduated from out-of-state high 
schools; and, 

 iv. students who completed an Approved Home 
Study Program. 

c. After the elimination of students in §2107.C.2.a, 
and b, if funds are still insufficient to award all of the 
remaining students, then those who remain will be 
prioritized according to their ACT score and, within ACT 
score, by their EFC in ranges of $1,000, from lowest to 
highest. Beginning with the lowest qualifying ACT score, 
the students with the highest EFC shall be eliminated until 
the funds available are sufficient to award all remaining 
students or until all students with that ACT score have been 
eliminated. This process shall be repeated, beginning with 
the lowest ACT score and progressing to the highest ACT 
score, until the projected expenditure for awards equals the 
funds appropriated for that purpose.  

d. After the elimination of students in §2107.C.2.a, 
if funds are sufficient to award all students who were eligible 
prior to the Act of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of 
the Legislature, but are insufficient to award all students 
made eligible under such Act and listed in §2107.C.2.b, then 
those students made eligible by such Act shall be rendered 
ineligible by application of §2107.C.2.c, above, until funds 
available are sufficient to award all remaining students. 

3. From among those students otherwise eligible who 
are denied an award because of the imposition of the 
procedures in §2107.C.2., if additional funds subsequently 
become available for expenditure in the same award year, 
those students who have the highest ACT scores and the 
least capacity to pay, as evidenced by their families' lower 
EFC, shall be the first to be awarded by reversing the 
procedure described in §2107.C.2.c. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:649 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1919 (October 1998), LR 26:1998 (September 
2000)., repromulgated LR 27:1869 (November 2001), LR 28:449 
(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2333 (November 
2002). 
§2109. Agency Decisions Subject to Appeal 

A. Right of Appeal 
1. A person aggrieved by an adverse decision of 

LOSFA under §2103.E.11.a.ii may appeal the decision in 
accordance with the procedures provided in this section.  

2. - 3. ... 
B. Notice of Adverse Decision 

1. Notice of an adverse decision by LOSFA under 
§2103.E.11.a.ii must be transmitted in writing to the 
applicant or participant. The notice must state with 
reasonable specificity the decision and the reason for the 
decision, state that the decision may be appealed, and set 
forth the procedure for submission of an appeal.  

C. - D.9. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), 

amended LR 24:1916 (October 1998), LR 26:1261 (June 2000). 
repromulgated LR 27:1870 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:2333 (November 2002). 
Chapter 23. Tuition Payment Program for Medical 

School Students 
§2303. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.4. ... 
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5. agree to the full time practice of the profession of 
medicine as a primary care physician in a Designated Area 
for at least two consecutive years after graduating from 
medical school and completing a residency program in a 
primary care field as defined in §2303.A.4 above; and 

6 - 8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3041.10-3041.15. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1461 (August 1999) LR 25:2177 (November 1999), LR 
26:2754 (December 2000), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1872 (November 2001), LR 28:777 (April 
2002), amended LR 28:2333 (November 2002). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0211#062 
 

RULE 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust (START Saving) 
Program (LAC 28:VI. 101, 107, 301, 303, and 315) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) hereby 
amends Rules of the Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue 
Trust (START Saving) Program (R.S. 17:3091-3099.2). 

period allowed under the A dministrative Procedure Act. 
Title 28 

EDUCATION 
Part VI.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 

Education Savings 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. General Provisions 

A. - A.2. … 
3. provide the citizens of Louisiana with financing 

assistance for education and protection against rising 
postsecondary education costs, to encourage savings to 
enhance the ability of citizens to obtain access to institutions 
of postsecondary education; 

A.4. - B.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:711 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1267 (July 1998), LR 26:2260 (October 
2000), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:2334 (November 
2002). 
§107. Applicable Definitions 

* * * 
Earnings EnhancementCa payment allocated to an 

Education Savings Account, on behalf of the Beneficiary of 
the account, by the state. The amount of the annual Earnings 
Enhancement is calculated based upon the Account Owner's 
classification, annual federal adjusted gross income, and 
total annual deposits of principal into Education Savings 
Accounts whether for investment in Fixed Earning or 
Variable Earnings. Earnings Enhancements, and the interest

earned thereon, may only be used to pay the Beneficiary's 
Qualified Higher Education Expenses, or portion thereof, at 
an Eligible Educational Institution and cannot be refunded. 

* * * 
Fully Funded AccountCan account in which the sum of 

cumulative contributions, earnings on contributions, 
Earnings Enhancements and interest accrued thereon, has 
equaled or exceeded the amount which is five times the 
annual Qualified Higher Education Expenses at the highest 
cost Louisiana public college or university projected to the 
Scheduled Date of First Enrollment. The projected Qualified 
Higher Education Expenses at each Eligible Educational 
Institution shall be updated by the administering agency. On 
the date of the Beneficiary's first enrollment in an Eligible 
Educational Institution, the Fully Funded amount will be 
fixed at five times the annual Qualified Higher Education 
Expenses at the highest cost Louisiana public college or 
university, for the academic year of enrollment or the 
projected amount, whichever is greater.  

* * * 
TuitionCthe mandatory educational charges required as a 

condition of enrollment. 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 
27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:450 
(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 
2002). 
Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§301. Education Savings Accounts 

A. An Education Savings Account is established on 
behalf of a designated Beneficiary to provide the funding 
necessary for the Beneficiary to acquire an undergraduate 
certificate, associate degree, undergraduate degree, graduate 
degree or professional degree. Education Savings Accounts 
may offer investment options that provide either Fixed 
Earnings or Variable Earnings. 

B. - D.1. … 
2. Payment of Qualified Higher Education 

ExpensesCthat participation in the START Program does not 
guarantee that the full cost of the Beneficiary's Qualified 
Higher Education Expenses will be paid at an institution of 
postsecondary education nor does it guarantee enrollment as 
a resident student; 

D.3. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:713 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:436 (March 1998), LR 24:1269 (July 1998), 
LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:2262 (October 2000), LR 
27:1878 (November 2001), LR 28:450 (March 2002), LR 28:778 
(April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 2002). 
§303. Account Owner Classifications 

A. - A.1. … 
2. a person determined by the authority to be a 

Member of the Family of the Beneficiary and, at the time of
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the initiation of the agreement, the person or the Beneficiary 
is a resident of the state; or 

A.3. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 27:1879 
(November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 
(November 2002). 
§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. - Q. … 
R. Investment in Variable Earnings. When an account 

owner selects a variable earnings account, up to 100 percent 
of the deposits may be invested in equity securities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), amended LR 26:1263 
(June 2000), repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended 
LR 27:1221 (August 2001), LR 27:1884 (November 2001), LR 
28:2335 (November 2002). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0211#060 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Lead-Based Paint Activities 
(LAC 33:III.2801-2811 and 2817)(AQ228) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.2801-
2811 and 2817 (Log #AQ228). 

LAC 33:III.Chapter 28 addresses lead-based paint 
activities, including inspections, risk assessments, and 
abatements, in target housing and child-occupied facilities. 
This revision includes definitions, clearance levels, and other 
requirements to assimilate language from the federal lead-
based paint activities rule amendments in 40 CFR 745, 
Subpart D. States with EPA -authorized programs must 
incorporate the federal language into their regulations by 
February 5, 2003, to maintain program authorization. Other 
revisions are being made to clarify requirements related to 
recognition of training providers and accreditation of 
individuals, relative to dialogues with other states that 
operate EPA -authorized programs, members of the regulated 
community, and EPA. The basis and rationale for this Rule 
are to match the federal regulations and clarify the existing 
requirements. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019.D(2) 
and R.S. 49:953.G(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33  
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 28. Lead-Based Paint ActivitiesCRecognition, 

Accreditation, Licensure, and Standards 
for Conducting Lead-Based Paint 
Activities 

§2801. Scope and Applicability  
A. … 
B. This Chapter applies to all persons and contractors 

who are engaged in lead-based paint activities in target 
housing and child-occupied facilities, as defined in LAC 
33:III.2803, except persons who perform these activities 
within residential dwellings that they own, unless the 
residential dwelling is occupied by a person or persons other 
than the owner or the owner's immediate family while these 
activities are being performed, or a child residing in the 
building has been identified as having an elevated blood lead 
level. 

C. - G.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1662 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:2335 (November 2002). 
§2803. Definitions 

A. The terms used in this Chapter are defined in LAC 
33:III.111 of these regulations with the exception of those 
terms specifically defined in this Section as follows. 

AbatementCany measure or set of measures designed to 
permanently eliminate lead-based paint hazards. Abatement 
includes, but is not limited to: 

a. the removal of paint and dust, the permanent 
enclosure or encapsulation of lead-based paint, the 
replacement of painted surfaces or fixtures, or the removal 
or permanent covering of soil when lead-based paint hazards 
are present in such paint, dust, or soil; and 

b. all preparation, cleanup, disposal, and post-
abatement clearance testing activities associated with such 
measures. 

* * * 
Arithmetic MeanCthe algebraic sum of data values 

divided by the number of data values (e.g., the sum of the 
concentration of lead in several soil samples divided by the 
number of samples). 

* * * 
Chewable SurfaceCan interior or exterior surface 

painted with lead-based paint that a young child can mouth 
or chew. Hard metal substrates and other materials that 
cannot be dented by the bite of a young child are not 
considered chewable. 

* * * 
Composite SampleCa collection of more than one 

sample of the same medium (such as dust, soil, or paint) 
from the same type surface (such as floor, interior window 
sill, or window trough), such that multiple samples can be 
analyzed as a single sample. 
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ConcentrationCthe relative content of a specific 
substance contained within a larger mass, such as the amount 
of lead (in micrograms per gram or parts per million by 
weight) in a sample of dust or soil. 

* * * 
Deteriorated PaintCany interior or exterior paint or 

other coating that is chalking, cracking, flaking, chipping, 
peeling, or otherwise separating from the substrate of a 
building component. 

* * * 
Documented MethodologiesCmethods or protocols used 

to sample for the presence of lead in paint, dust, and soil. 
Documented methodologies that are appropriate to use for 
target housing and child-occupied facilities may be found in 
the American Society of Testing and Materials procedures, 
ASTM E1727, E1728, and E1792; the U.S. Department of 
Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Guidelines for the 
Evaluation and Control of Lead-Based Paint Hazards in 
Housing (HUD-006700); the EPA Guidance on 
Identification of Lead-Based Paint Hazards; Notice (FR 
47248, Volume 60, Number 175) ; the EPA Residential 
Sampling for Lead: Protocols for Dust and Soil Sampling 
(EPA report number 747-R-95-001); and other EPA or HUD 
guidance. 

DriplineCthe area within 3 feet surrounding the 
perimeter of a building. 

Dry Sanding or Dry ScrapingCsanding or scraping 
without mo isture and includes both hand and machine 
sanding. These practices are prohibited when removing lead-
based paint (see LAC 33:III.2811.E.6). 

Dust-Lead HazardCsurface dust in a residential 
building or child-occupied facility, or their exteriors, that 
contains a mass-per-area concentration of lead equal to or 
exceeding 40 micrograms per square foot or 250 micrograms 
per square foot on window sills based on wipe samples. 

* * * 
Friction SurfaceCan interior or exterior surface that is 

subject to abrasion or friction including, but not limited to, 
certain window, floor, and stair surfaces. 

* * * 
Impact SurfaceCan interior or exterior surface that is 

subject to damage by repeated sudden force, such as certain 
parts of door frames. 

* * * 
Lead-Based Paint HazardCpaint-lead hazards, dust-lead 

hazards, or soil-lead hazards as defined in this Section. For 
the purposes of this Chapter, lead-based paint hazard  is 
equivalent to lead hazard  as defined in R.S. 30:2351.1. 

* * * 
LoadingCthe quantity of a specific substance present 

per unit of surface area, such as the amount of lead in 
micrograms contained in the dust collected from a certain 
surface area divided by the surface area in square feet or 
square meters. 

Mid-YardCan area of residential yard approximately 
midway between the dripline of a residential building and 
the nearest property boundary or between driplines of a 
residential building and another building on the same 
property. 

* * * 

Paint-Lead HazardC 
a. any lead-based paint on a friction surface that is 

subject to abrasion and where the lead dust levels on the 
nearest horizontal surface underneath the friction surface 
(e.g., the window sill or floor) are equal to or greater than 
the dust-lead hazard levels identified in this Chapter; 

b. any damaged or otherwise deteriorated lead-
based paint on an impact surface that is caused by impact 
from a related building component (such as a door knob that 
knocks into a wall or a door that knocks against its door 
frame); 

c. any chewable lead-based painted surface on 
which there is evidence of teeth marks; and 

d. any other deteriorated lead-based paint in any 
residential building or child-occupied facility or on the 
exterior of any residential building or child-occupied facility. 

Play Area—an area of frequent soil contact by children 
six years of age or less as indicated by, but not limited to, 
such factors including the following: the presence of play 
equipment (e.g., sandboxes, swing sets, and sliding boards), 
toys, or other children's possessions, observations of play 
patterns, or information provided by parents, residents, care 
givers, or property owners. 

* * * 
Residential BuildingCa building containing one or more 

residential dwellings. 
* * * 

RoomCa separate part of the inside of a building, such 
as a bedroom, living room, dining room, kitchen, bathroom, 
laundry room, or utility room. To be considered a separate 
room, the room must be separated from adjoining rooms by 
built-in walls or archways that extend at least 6 inches from 
an intersecting wall. Half walls or bookcases count as room 
separators if built-in. Movable or collapsible partitions or 
partitions consisting solely of shelves or cabinets are not 
considered built-in walls. A screened in porch that is used as 
a living area is a room. 

Soil-Lead HazardCbare soil on residential real property 
or on the property of a child-occupied facility that contains 
total lead equal to or exceeding 400 parts per million 
(micrograms per gram) in a play area or average of 1,200 
parts per million of bare soil in the rest of the yard based on 
soil samples. 

Soil SampleCa sample collected in a representative 
location using ASTM E1727, Standard Practice for Field 
Collection of Soil Samples for Lead Determination by 
Atomic Spectrometry Techniques, or equivalent method. 

SubstrateCthe material directly beneath the painted 
surface out of which the components are constructed, 
including wood, drywall, plaster, brick, concrete, and metal. 

* * * 
Weighted Arithmetic MeanCthe arithmetic mean of 

sample results weighted by the number of subsamples in 
each samp le. Its purpose is to give influence to a sample 
relative to the surface area it represents. A single surface 
sample is comprised of a single subsample. A composite 
sample may contain from two to four subsamples of the 
same area as each other and of each single surface sample in 
the composite. The weighted arithmetic mean is obtained by
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summing, for all samples, the product of the sample's result 
multiplied by the number of subsamples in the sample and 
dividing the sum by the total number of subsamples 
contained in all samples. For example, the weighted 
arithmetic mean of a single surface sample containing 60 
micrograms per square foot, a composite sample (three 
subsamples) containing 100 micrograms per square foot, and 
a composite sample (4 subsamples) containing 110 
micrograms per square foot is 100 micrograms per square 
foot. This result is based on the equation 
[60+(3*100)+(4*110)]/(1+3+4). 

Wet Sanding or Wet ScrapingCa process to remove 
loose paint in which the painted surface to be sanded or 
scraped is kept wet to minimize the dispersal of paint chips 
and airborne dust. 

* * * 
Wipe SampleCa sample collected by wiping a 

representative surface of known area, as determined by 
ASTM E1728, Standard Practice for Field Collection of 
Settled Dust Samples Using Wi pe Sampling Methods for 
Lead Determination by Atomic Spectrometry Techniques, or 
equivalent method, with an acceptable wipe material as 
defined in ASTM E1792, Standard Specification for Wipe 
Sampling Materials for Lead in Surface Dust, or equivalent 
method. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1663 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:2335 (November 2002), 
§2805. Recognition and Standards for Training Providers 

A. - A.1. … 
2. a training provider seeking recognition shall submit 

to the Office of Environmental Services, Permits Division 
the appropriate fees, as required in LAC 33:III.223, a 
completed LPF-4 form, and a completed LPF-5 form for 
each trainer to be recognized, containing the following 
information: 

A.2.a. - B.2.a. … 
b. training in the lead courses they are teaching;  
c. current accreditation in the disciplines in which 

they instruct (lead worker course instructors shall maintain 
supervisor accreditation); and 

d. at least one year of experience, education, or 
training in lead or asbestos abatement, painting, carpentry, 
renovation, remodeling, occupational safety and health, or 
industrial hygiene; 

3. … 
4. the following items shall be recognized by the 

department as evidence that training managers and principal 
instructors have the relevant education, work experience, 
training requirements, accreditations, and demonstrated 
experience: 

a. … 
b. résumés, letters of reference, or documentation of 

work experience, as evidence of meeting the work 
experience requirements; 

c. certificates from train-the-trainer courses, lead-
specific training courses, and accreditations, as evidence of 
meeting the training requirements; and 

d. principal instructors who were recognized 
initially based on training, education, and demonstrated 
work experience must provide current accreditation 
certificates in the appropriate disciplines by July 1, 2003, as 
required by Subparagraph B.2.c of this Section; 

B.5. - C.2.c. … 
d. visual inspection for the purposes of identifying 

potential hazards associated with lead-based paint, dust-lead 
hazards, and soil-lead hazards;* 

2.e. - 5.h. … 
D. Renewal of Training Provider's Recognition 

1. A training provider seeking renewal of its 
recognition shall submit, along with the appropriate fees as 
required in LAC 33:III.223, a completed LPF-4 form and a 
completed LPF-5 form for each trainer to be recognized to 
the Office of Environmental Services, Permits Division, 60 
days prior to its expiration date. If a training provider does 
not submit its renewal application by that date, the 
department cannot guarantee the application will be 
reviewed and acted upon before the end of the one-year 
period. 

D.2. - E.2. … 
3. the department shall be notified in writing of course 

location and time changes or cancellations 24 hours prior to 
the initial class day; 

E.4 - G.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1666 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2459 (November 2000), 
LR 28:2337 (November 2002). 
§2807. Accreditation of Individuals 

A. - A.3. … 
4. After November 30, 1998, individuals seeking 

accreditation in the lead inspector, risk assessor, lead project 
supervisor, or lead project designer disciplines must pass the 
applicable state examination given by the department or its 
proxy. Individuals must pass the state examination, with a 
score of 70 percent or above, within six months of receiving 
a course completion certificate. Individuals who fail the state 
exam will be allowed to take the exam again within a six-
month period. Individuals who fail the state examination 
twice must retake the initial course before they will be 
allowed to retake the state examination. Anyone who fails 
the test three times within a six-month period may not apply 
for testing in that category for 90 days. 

A.5. - 8.c. … 
9. Upon meeting the provisions of this Section, the 

applicant will be issued an accreditation certificate by the 
department. The issue date of the accreditation certificate 
shall become the annual renewal date of accreditation.  

B. - B.1.c.i.  … 
 ii. risk assessors: successful completion of a 
recognized training course and state certification 
examination for inspectors and risk assessors, and: 

(a). - (e). … 
 iii. lead project supervisor: a high school diploma 
(or equivalent) and at least two years of experience in lead, 
asbestos, or environmental remediation work or in the 
building trades; 
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B.1.c.iv. - E.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1669 (December 1997), 
amended LR 24:2240 (December 1998); amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2459 (November 2000), LR 28:2237 (November 2002). 
§2809. Licensure of Lead Contractors 

A. - A.3.c. … 
4. Letters of approval shall be valid through 

December 31 of issuance year. In order for lead contractors 
to be granted renewal, they must follow the procedures of 
this Subsection. 

A.5. - B.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054, and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1671 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2459 (November 2000), 
LR 28:2338 (November 2002). 
§2811. Work Practice Standards for Conducting Lead-

Based Paint Activities for Target Housing and 
Child-Occupied Facilities 

A. Applicability and Terms  
1. All lead-based paint activities shall be performed in 

accordance with the work practice standards contained in 
this Section, except when treating paint-lead hazards of less 
than 2 square feet of deteriorated lead-based paint per room 
or equivalent, 20 square feet of deteriorated paint on the 
exterior of a building, or 10 percent of the total surface area 
of deteriorated paint on an interior or exterior type of 
component with a small surface area. 

2.  ... 
3. Hazards related to paint, dust, and soil shall be 

determined as follows. 
a. Lead-based paint is present on any surface that is 

tested and found to contain lead equal to or in excess of 1.0 
milligrams per square centimeter or equal to or in excess of 
0.5 percent by weight, and on any surface like a surface 
tested in the same room equivalent that has a similar 
painting history and that is found to be lead-based paint. 

b. A paint-lead hazard shall be considered present: 
 i. on any friction surface that is subject to 
abrasion and where the lead dust levels on the nearest 
horizontal surface underneath the friction surface (e.g., the 
window sill or floor) are equal to or greater than the dust 
hazard levels defined in this Chapter; 
 ii. on any chewable lead-based paint surface on 
which there is evidence of teeth marks;  
 iii. where there is any damaged or otherwise 
deteriorated lead-based paint on an impact surface that is 
caused by impact from a related building component (such 
as a door knob that knocks into a wall or a door that knocks 
against its door frame); and 
 iv. if there is any other deteriorated lead-based 
paint in any residential building or child-occupied facility or 
on the exterior of any residential building or child-occupied 
facility. 

c. A dust-lead hazard shall be considered present: 
 i. in a residential dwelling or child-occupied 
facility when in a residential dwelling on floors and interior 
window sills where the weighted arithmetic mean lead 
loading for all single surface or composite samples of floors 
and interior window sills are equal to or greater than 40 
micrograms per square foot for floors and 250 micrograms 
per square foot for interior window sills, respectively; 
 ii. on floors or interior window sills in an 
unsampled residential dwelling in a multi-family dwelling, if 
a dust-lead hazard is present on floors or interior window 
sills, respectively, in at least one sampled residential unit on 
the property; and 
 iii. on floors or interior window sills in an 
unsampled common area in a multi-family dwelling, if a 
dust-lead hazard is present on floors or interior window sills, 
respectively, in at least one sampled common area in the 
same common area group on the property. 

d. A soil-lead hazard shall be considered present: 
 i. in a play area when the soil-lead concentration 
from a composite play area sample of bare soil is equal to or 
greater than 400 parts per million; or 
 ii. in the rest of the yard, when the arithmetic 
mean lead concentration from a composite sample (or 
arithmetic mean of composite samples) of bare soil from the 
rest of the yard (i.e., non-play areas) for each residential 
building on a property is equal to or greater than 1,200 parts 
per million. 

4. Clearance levels that are appropriate for the 
purposes of this Section are listed as follows: 

a. dust wipes from floors/carpets: 40 micrograms 
per square foot; 

b. dust wipes on window sills: 250 micrograms per 
square foot; 

c. dust wipes on window troughs: 400 micrograms 
per square foot; 

d. dust wipes from exterior surfaces: 400 
micrograms per square foot;  

e. lead-contaminated bare soil and lead-
contaminated covered soil in areas expected to be used by 
children: 400 micrograms per gram; and 

f. lead-contaminated covered soil in areas where 
contact by children is less likely or infrequent: 1200 
micrograms per gram. 

A.5. - D.4. … 
5. In residential dwellings dust samples (either 

composite or single-surface samples) from the window and 
floor shall be collected and analyzed for lead concentrations 
in all living areas where one or more children, age six years 
and under, are most likely to come into contact with a dust-
lead hazard. 

6. - 6.a. … 
b. other common areas in the building where the 

risk assessor determines that one or more children, age six 
years and under, are likely to come into contact with a dust-
lead hazard. 

7. For child-occupied facilities window and floor dust 
samples (either composite or single-surface samples) shall 
be collected and analyzed for lead concentrations in each 
room, hallway, or stairwell utilized by one or more children,
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age six years and under, and in other common areas in the 
child-occupied facility where the risk assessor determines 
one or more children, age six years and under, are likely to 
come into contact with a dust-lead hazard. 

8. Soil samples shall be collected and analyzed for 
lead concentrations in the following locations: 

a. exterior play areas and non-play areas where bare 
soil is present; and 

D.8.b. - E.6.d. … 
7. For any exterior abatement of lead-based paint, pre-

abatement composite soil samples following documented 
methodologies that incorporate adequate quality control 
procedures shall be taken by an accredited inspector or an 
accredited risk assessor next to the foundation or from the 
dripline below any exterior surface to be abated, unless this 
information is available from a current risk assessment. The 
samples shall be sent for analysis to a recognized laboratory 
capable of performing these analyses. When analysis results 
exceed 400 micrograms per gram and bare soil is present, 
the contractor will furnish a written copy of the analysis 
results to the owner/operator of the residential dwelling or 
child-occupied facility prior to abatement. 

8. If conducted, soil abatement shall be conducted in 
one of the following ways: 

a. if soil is removed, the lead-contaminated soil 
shall be replaced with soil that is not lead-contaminated. Any 
lead-contaminated soil that is removed shall not be used as 
top soil at another residential property or child-occupied 
facility; or 

b. if soil is not removed, the lead-contaminated soil 
shall be permanently covered, as defined in LAC 
33:III.2803. 

9. - 9.f. … 
g. the accredited inspector or the accredited risk 

assessor shall compare the residual lead level (as determined 
by the laboratory analysis) from each dust sample with 
applicable clearance levels for lead in dust on floors, carpets, 
and windows. If the residual lead levels in a dust sample are 
equal to or exceed the clearance levels, all the components 
represented by the failed sample shall be recleaned and 
retested until clearance levels are met. Until all applicable 
clearance levels for lead in dust are met, the area shall not be 
cleared for reoccupancy. 

E.10. - 13.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054 and 30:2351 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1672 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2459 (November 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:39 (January 2001), amended LR 28:2338 
(November 2002). 
§2817. Reciprocity 

A. Individuals seeking accreditation from the department 
for a specific discipline, based upon accreditation by EPA or 
an EPA-approved state or Indian tribal program, shall submit 
copies of the following documents: 

1. a valid lead-based paint activities certification (or 
equivalent) from EPA or an EPA -approved state or tribal 
program;  

2. a training course certificate, issued by a training 
provider who, at the time the training certificate was issued, 

was an EPA or EPA -approved state or tribal program 
authorized training provider, and all subsequent annual 
refresher training certificates; 

3. certification of a passing score on the applicable 
accreditation examination, if applicable; 

4. an official academic transcript or diploma that 
meets the educational requirements in LAC 33:III.2807; and 

5. a completed application for accreditation in the 
specific discipline and one 1" x 1 1/4" photograph of the 
applicant, with the appropriate fees. 

B. Exception. An individual who seeks accreditation as a 
lead project supervisor for the purpose of obtaining a letter 
of approval (LAC 33:III.2809) must take the Louisiana state 
examination for that discipline. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054 and 30:2351 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1676 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:2339 (November 2002). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0211080 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of Benefits 
(LAC 32:V.101, 317, 325, 501, 503, and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2) vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with 
the responsibility for administration of the programs of 
benefits authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of 
Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the 
power to adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, 
OGB finds that it is necessary to revise and amend 
provisions of the EPO Plan Document. The reason for this 
action is to avoid disruption of healthcare services for 
covered employees, retirees, and their dependents, adversely 
affecting the health and welfare of the public workforce 
responsible for delivery of vital services to the citizens of the 
state. 

Accordingly, OGB amends the following Rule, effective 
upon promulgation, except as noted below with respect to 
LAC 32:V.701.A.3. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
Program, whether in the PPO Plan, the EPO Plan or an 
HMO plan. 

A. - H. … 
I. Tricare for Life Option for Military Retirees. Retirees 

eligible to participate in the Tricare for Life (TFL) option on 
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and after October 1, 2001 who cancel coverage with the 
Program upon enrollment in TFL may re-enroll in the 
Program in the event that the TFL option is discontinued or 
its benefits significantly reduced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1804 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 27:718 (May 2001), LR 28:2339 (November 
2002). 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions for All Medical 

Benefits 
A. No benefits are provided under this plan for: 

1. - 3. … 
4. injuries sustained while in an aggressor role; 
5. - 41. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Trustee of the State Employees Group Benefits 
Program, LR 25:1813 (October 1999), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group 
Benefits, LR 26:487 (March 2000), LR 27:717 (May 2001), LR 
28:2340 (November 2002). 
§325. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 
approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor requiring a prescription and dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company, but which 
are not administered to a covered person as an inpatient 
hospital patient or an outpatient hospital patient, including 
insulin, Retin -A dispensed for covered persons under the age 
of 26, Vitamin B12 injections, prescription Potassium 
Chloride, and over-the-counter diabetic supplies, including, 
but not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. In addition, this 
plan allows benefits, not to exceed $200 per month, for 
expenses incurred for the purchase of low protein food 
products for the treatment of inherited metabolic diseases if 
the low protein food products are medically necessary and 
are obtained from a source approved by the OGB. Such 
expenses shall be subject to coinsurance and copayments 
relating to prescription drug benefits. In connection with this 
benefit, the following words shall have the following 
meanings. 

1. Inherited Metabolic DiseaseCa disease caused by 
an inherited abnormality of body chemistry and shall be 
limited to: 

a. Phenyyketonuria (PKU); 
b. Maple Syrup Urine Disease (MSUD); 
c. Methylmalonic Acidemia (MMA); 
d. Isovaleric Acidemia (IVA); 
e. Propionic Acidemia; 
f. Glutaric Acidemia; 
g. Urea Cycle Defects; 
h. Tyrosinemia. 

2. Low Protein Food ProductsCa food product that is 
especially formulated to have less than one gram of protein 
per serving and is intended to be used under the direction of 
a physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited 
metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall not 
include a natural food that is naturally low in protein. 

B. - C.5. … 
a. Up to a 34-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 

upon initial presentation of a prescription or for refills 
dispensed more than 120 days after the most recent fill;  

b. For refills dispensed within 120 days of the most 
recent fill, up to a 102-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 
at one time, provided that co-payments shall be due and 
payable as follows. 
 i. For a supply of 1-34 days the plan member will 
be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of the 
drug, up to a maximum of $40 per prescription dispensed. 
 ii. For a supply of 35-64 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $80 per prescription 
dispensed. 
 iii. For a supply of 69-102 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $120 per prescription 
dispensed. 
 iv. Once the out-of-pocket threshold for eligible 
prescription drug expenses is reached, the plan member's co-
payment responsibility will be $15 for a 1-34 days supply, 
$30 for a 35-64 days supply, and $45 for a 69-102 days 
supply, with no co-pay for up to a 102-days supply of 
generic drugs. 

6. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1815 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 27:717, 718 (May 2001), LR 27:1886 
(November 2001), LR 28:2340 (November 2002). 
Chapter 5. Claims Review and Appeal 
§501. Administrative Review 

This Section establishes and explains the procedures for 
review of benefit and eligibility decisions by the program. 

A. Administrative Claims Review 
1. The covered person  may request from the Program 

a review of any claim for benefits or eligibility. The written 
request must include the name of the covered person, 
member number, the name of the patient, the name of the 
provider, dates of service and should clearly state the reasons 
for the appeal. 

2. The request for review must be directed to 
Attention: Administrative Claims Review within 90 days 
after the date of the notification of denial of benefits, denial 
of eligibility, or denial after review by the utilization review 
organization or prescription benefits manager 

B. Review and Appeal Prerequisite to Legal Action 
1. The covered person must exhaust the 

Administrative Claims Review procedure before filing a suit 
for benefits. Unless a request for review is made, the initial 
determination becomes final, and no legal action may be 
brought to attempt to establish eligibility or to recover 
benefits allegedly payable under the program. 

C. Administrative Claims Committee 
1. The CEO will appoint an Administrative Claims 

Committee (the Committee) to consider all such requests for 
review and to ascertain whether the initial determination was 
made in accordance with the Plan Document. 
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D. Administrative Claims Review Procedure and 
Decisions 

1. Review by the committee shall be based upon a 
documentary record which includes: 

a. all information in the possession of the program 
relevant to the issue presented for review; 

b. all information submitted by the covered person 
in connection with the request for review; and 

c. any and all other information obtained by the 
Committee in the course of its review. 

2. Upon completion of the review the committee will 
render its decision which will be based on the plan 
Document and the information included in the record. The 
decision will contain a statement of reasons for the decision. 
A copy of the decision will be mailed to the covered person 
and any representative thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1818 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 28:477 (March 2002), LR 28:2340 (November 
2002). 
§503. Appeals from Medical Necessity Determinations 

The following provisions will govern appeals from 
adverse determinations based upon medical necessity by 
OGB's Utilization Review Organization (URO) pursuant to 
Article 3, Section IV of this document. 

A. First level appeal. Within 60 days following the date 
of an adverse initial determination based upon medical 
necessity, the covered person, or the provider acting on 
behalf of the covered person, may request a first level 
appeal.  

1. Each such appeal will be reviewed within the URO 
by a health care professional who has appropriate expertise.  

2. The URO will provide written notice of its 
decision.  

B. Second level review. Within 30-days following the 
date of the notice of an adverse decision on a first level 
appeal, a covered person may request a second level review. 

1. Each such second level review will be considered 
by a panel within the URO that includes health care 
professionals who have appropriate expertise and will be 
evaluated by a clinical peer or peers in the same or similar 
specialty as would typically manage the case being 
reviewed.  

a. The review panel will schedule and hold a review 
meeting, and written notice of the time and place of the 
review meeting will be given to the covered person at least 
fifteen working days in advance. 

b. The covered person may: 
 i. present his/her case to the review panel;  
 ii. submit supporting material and provide 
testimony in person or in writing or affidavit both before and 
at the review meeting; and 
 iii. ask questions of any representative of the 
URO. 

c. If face-to-face meeting is not practical the 
covered person and provider may communicate with the 
review panel by conference call or other appropriate 
technology. 

2. The URO will provide written notice of its decision 
on the second level review. 

C. External Review. Within 60 days after receipt of 
notice of a second level appeal adverse determination, the 
covered person whose medical care was the subject of such 
determination, with the concurrence of the treating health 
care provider, may submit request for an external review to 
the URO.  

1. The URO will provide the documents and any 
information used in making the second level appeal adverse 
determination to its designated independent review 
organization.  

2. The independent review organization will review 
all information and documents received and any other 
information submitted in writing by the covered person or 
the covered person's health care provider.  

3. The independent review organization will provide 
notice of its recommendation to the URO, the covered 
person, and the covered person's health care provider.  

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination.  

D. Expedited Appeals  
1. An expedited appeal may be initiated by the 

covered person, with the consent of the treating health care 
professional, or the provider acting on behalf of the covered 
person, with regard to: 

a. an adverse determination involving a situation 
where the time frame of the standard appeal would seriously 
jeopardize the life or health of a covered person or would 
jeopardize the covered person's ability to regain maximum 
function; or 

b. any request concerning an admission, availability 
of care, continued stay, or health care service for a covered 
person who has received emergency services but has not 
been discharged from a facility. 

2. In an expedited appeal the URO will make a 
decision and notify the covered person, or the provider 
acting on behalf of the covered person, as expeditiously as 
the covered person's medical condition requires, but in no 
event more than seventy-two hours after the appeal is 
commenced.  

3. The URO will provide written confirmation of its 
decision concerning an expedited appeal if the initial 
notification is not in writing. 

4. In any case where the expedited appeal does not 
resolve a difference of opinion between the URO and the 
covered person, or the provider acting on behalf of the 
covered person, such provider may request a second level 
review of the adverse determination. 

E. Expedited External Review of Urgent Care Requests  
1. When the covered person receives an adverse 

determination involving an emergency medical condition of 
the covered person being treated in the emergency room, 
during hospital observation, or as a hospital inpatient, the 
covered person's health care provider may request an 
expedited external revie w. 

2. The URO will transmit all documents and 
information used in making the adverse determination to the 
independent review organization by telephone, telefacsimile, 
or other available expeditious method. 
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3. Within 72 hours after receiving appropriate medical 
information for an expedited external review, the 
independent review organization will notify the covered 
person, the URO, and the covered person's health care 
provider of its decision to uphold or reverse the adverse 
determination. 

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1818 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 28:477 (March 2002), LR 28:2341 (November 
2002). 

NOTE: Form §501-513 redesignated herein as §501.A-D. 
Chapter 7. Schedule of BenefitsCEPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. - A.1. … 
2. Member Co -Payments 
 

  Non-EPO 
Provider 

EPO Provider 

Inpatient Hospital Services N/A $100 per day up to 
$300 

Outpatient Services   
Physician services N/A $  15/$251  
Physical /Occupational 

Therapy2 
N/A $  15 

Speech Therapy N/A $  15 
Surgery  N/A $ 100 
MRI/CAT SCAN  N/A $  50 
Sonograms N/A $  25 
Cardiac Rehabilitation 
(6-month limit) 

 
N/A 

 
$  15 

Emergency Room Services  
(waived if admitted) 

 
N/A 

 
$100 

1-2  ... 
 

Pre-Natal And Postpartum Maternity 
(one-time co-payment to include 
Physician delivery charge, all pre-
natal, one postpartum visit) 

 
 
 

N/A 

 
 
 
$  90 

Home Health (Limit 150 visits per 
Plan year; requires prior  
approval through Case Management) 

 
 

N/A 

 
 
$  15 per visit  

• Note:  Services rendered by 
non-EPO providers are subject 
to deductible. 

  

 
3. Percentage Payable after Co-payments and 

Satisfaction of Applicable Deductibles 
 

Eligible expenses incurred at an 
EPO 

 
N/A 

 
100% 

Eligible expenses incurred at a non-
EPO  

 
  70% 

 
N/A 

Eligible expenses incurred when 
Medicare or other Group Health 
Plan is primary, and after Medicare 
reduction 

 
 
 

  80% 

 
 
 

N/A 
Eligible expenses in excess of 
$10,000* per person per Calendar 
Year  

 
 

100% 

 
 

N/A 
*Coinsurance threshold increase from $5,000 to $10,000 effective 
January 1, 2003 
• Eligible expenses at EPO are based upon contracted rates.   

• Eligible expenses at non-PPO are based upon the OGB's fee 
schedule. Charges in excess of the fee schedule are not eligible 
expenses and do not apply to the coinsurance threshold. 

 
A.4. - C.2. ... 

3. Well Adult (no deductible; limited to a maximum 
benefit of $200) 

 
Age 16 to 39C1 physical every 3 years 70% of 

maximum  
No co-pay 

Age 40 to 49C1 physical every 2 years 70% of 
maximum  

No co-pay 

Age 50 and overC1physical every year 70% of 
maximum  

No co-pay 

 
D. - E. … 
F. - G. Reserved 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1843 (October 1999), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 26:488 (March 2000), LR 27:719, 720, 722 
(May 2001), LR 27:1887 (November 2001), LR 28:2342 
(November 2002). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0211#034 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of BenefitsCStop Loss Threshold, Non-EPO 
Provider Services (LAC 32:V.323 and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO Plan Document relative to the stop loss threshold 
applicable to services rendered to EPO plan participants by 
non-EPO providers. The reason for this action is to avoid 
adverse financial impact that would affect fiscal solvency of 
OGB and the availability of services necessary to maintain 
the health and welfare of the covered employees and their 
dependents, which is crucial to the delivery of vital services 
to the citizens of the state. 

Accordingly, OGB hereby amends the following Rule to 
become effective January 1, 2003. 
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Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider (EPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§323. Preferred Provider Program 

Repealed. 
NOTE: In light of revisions to the EPO Schedule of 

Benefits (LAC 32:V.701) by Rule published November 2002, 
this Section 323 is superseded and repealed by implication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1815 (October 1999), repealed by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Group Benefits, LR 28:2343 (November 2002). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits–EPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. Eligible expenses for professional medical services 
are reimbursed on a fee schedule of maximum allowable 
charges. All eligible expenses are determined in accordance 
with plan limitations and exc lusions. 

 

 Non-EPO EPO 
Lifetime Maximum for all benefits 
except outpatient prescription drug 
benefits per person  

$2,000,000  

Lifetime Maximum for all Outpatient 
Prescription Drug Benefits per person  $250,000  

 

1. ... 
2. Percentage Payable after Satisfaction of Applicable 

Deductibles 
 

 Non-EPO EPO 
Inpatient deductible per day, maximum of 
5 days per admission (waived for 
admissions at PPO hospitals)  

$50 0 

Emergency room charges for each visit 
unless the covered person is hospitalized 
immediately following emergency room 
treatment (prior to and in addition to plan 
year deductible) 

$150 0 

Professional and other eligible expenses, 
employees and dependents of employees, 
per person, per plan year  
 
Family unit maximum (3 individual 
deductibles) 

  

Professional and other eligible expenses, 
retirees and dependents of retirees, per 
person, per plan year 
 
Family unit maximum (3 individual 
deductibles) 

  

Professional and other eligible expenses, 
other than physician office visits, per 
person, per plan year 
Family unit maximum (3 individual 
deductibles) 

$300 0 

 

A.3. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Group 
Benefits Program, LR 25:1823 (October 1999), amended LR 
26:487 (March 2000), LR 27:717 (May 2001), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Division of Administration, Office of

Group Benefits, LR 27:1886 (November 2001), LR 28:476 (March 
2002), LR 28:2343 (November 2002). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0211#032 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of Benefits 
(LAC 32:III.101, 317, 323, 501, 503, and 701) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801.C and 
802.B(2) vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with 
the responsibility for administration of the programs of 
benefits authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of 
Title 42 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the 
power to adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, 
OGB finds that it is necessary to revise and amend 
provisions of the PPO Plan Document. The reason for this 
action is to avoid disruption of healthcare services for 
covered employees, retirees, and their dependents, adversely 
affecting the health and welfare of the public workforce 
responsible for delivery of vital services to the citizens of the 
state. 

Accordingly, OGB hereby amends the following Rule, 
effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to be Covered 

Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
Program, whether in the PPO Plan, the EPO Plan or an 
HMO plan. 

A. - H. … 
I. Tricare for Life Option for Military Retirees. Retirees 

eligible to participate in the Tricare for Life (TFL) option on 
and after October 1, 2001 who cancel coverage with the 
Program upon enrollment in TFL may re-enroll in the 
Program in the event that the TFL option is discontinued or 
its benefits significantly reduced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
25:1825 (October 1999), LR 27:721 (May 2001), LR 28:2343 
(November 2002). 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions for All Medical 

Benefits  
A. No benefits are provided under this plan for: 

1. - 3. … 
4. Injuries sustained while in an aggressor role;  
5. - 39. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
25:1834 (October 1999), LR 26:488 (March 2000), LR 27:720 
(May 2001), LR 28:2343 (November 2002). 
§323. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 
approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor requiring a prescription and dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company, but which 
are not administered to a Covered Person as an inpatient 
hospital patient or an outpatient hospital patient, including 
insulin, Retin-A dispensed for Covered Persons under the 
age of 26, Vitamin B12 injections, prescription Potassium 
Chloride, and over-the-counter diabetic supplies including, 
but not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. In addition, this 
plan allows benefits, not to exceed $200 per month, for 
expenses incurred for the purchase of low protein food 
products for the treatment of inherited metabolic diseases if 
the low protein food products are medically necessary and 
are obtained from a source approved by the OGB. Such 
expenses shall be subject to coinsurance and copayments 
relating to prescription drug benefits. In connection with this 
benefit, the following words shall have the following 
meanings. 

1. Inherited Metabolic DiseaseCa disease caused by 
an inherited abnormality of body chemistry and shall be 
limited to: 

a. Phenyyketonuria (PKU); 
b. Maple Syrup Urine Disease (MSUD); 
c. Methylmalonic Acidemia (MMA); 
d. Isovaleric Acidemia (IVA); 
e. Propionic Acidemia; 
f. Glutaric Acidemia; 
g. Urea Cycle Defects; 
h. Tyrosinemia. 

2. Low Protein Food ProductsCa food product that is 
especially formulated to have less than one gram of protein 
per serving and is intended to be used under the direction of 
a physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited 
metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall not 
include a natural food that is naturally low in protein. 

B. - C.5. … 
a. Up to a 34-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 

upon initial presentation of a prescription or for refills 
dispensed more than 120 days after the most recent fill. 

b. For refills dispensed within 120 days of the most 
recent fill, up to a 102-day supply of drugs may be dispensed 
at one time, provided that co-payments shall be due and 
payable as follows. 
 i. For a supply of 1-34 days the plan member will 
be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of the 
drug, up to a maximum of $40 per prescription dispensed. 
 ii. For a supply of 35-64 days the plan member 
will be responsible for payment of fifty percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $80 per prescription 
dispensed. 
 iii. For a supply of 69-102 days the Plan Member 
will be responsible for payment of 50 percent of the cost of 
the drug, up to a maximum of $120 per prescription 
dispensed. 
 iv. Once the out-of-pocket threshold for eligible 
prescription drug expenses is reached, the plan member's co-
payment responsibility will be $15 for a 1-34 days supply, 

$30 for a 35-64 days supply, and $45 for a 69-102 days 
supply, with no co-pay for up to a 102-days supply of 
generic drugs. 

6. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1835 (October 1999), LR 27:720, 721 (May 2001), LR 
27:1887 (November 2001), LR 28:2344 (November 2002). 
Chapter 5. Claims Review and Appeal 
§ 501. Administrative Review 

This section establishes and explains the procedures for 
review of benefit and eligibility decisions by the Program. 

A. Administrative Claims Review 
1. The Covered Person may request from the Program 

a review of any claim for benefits or eligibility. The written 
request must include the name of the covered person, 
member number, the name of the patient, the name of the 
provider, dates of service and should clearly state the reasons 
for the appeal. 

2. The request for review must be directed to 
Attention: Administrative Claims Review within 90 days 
after the date of the notification of denial of benefits, denial 
of eligibility, or denial after review by the utilization review 
organization or prescription benefits manager. 

B. Review and Appeal Prerequisite to Legal Action 
1. The covered person must exhaust the 

Administrative Claims Review procedure before filing a suit 
for benefits. Unless a request for review is made, the initial 
determination becomes final, and no legal action may be 
brought to attempt to establish eligibility or to recover 
benefits allegedly payable under the program. 

C. Administrative Claims Committee 
1. The CEO will appoint an Administrative Claims 

Committee (the Committee) to consider all such requests for 
review and to ascertain whether the initial determination was 
made in accordance with the plan document. 

D. Administrative Claims Review Procedure and 
Decisions 

1. Review by the committee shall be based upon a 
documentary record which includes: 

a. all information in the possession of the program 
relevant to the issue presented for review; 

b. all information submitted by the covered person 
in connection with the request for review; and 

c. any and all other information obtained by the 
committee in the course of its review. 

2. Upon completion of the review the committee will 
render its decision which will be based on the plan document 
and the information included in the record. The decision will 
contain a statement of reasons for the decision. A copy of the 
decision will be mailed to the covered person and any 
representative thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1838 (October 1999), LR 28:479 (March 2002), LR 28:2344 
(November 2002). 

NOTE: Former §§501-513 redesignated herein as §501.A-D. 
§ 503. Appeals from Medical Necessity Determinations 

The following provisions will govern appeals from 
adverse determinations based upon medical necessity by 
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OGB's Utilization Review Organization (URO) pursuant to 
Article 3, Section IV of this document. 

A. First Level Appeal. Within 60 days following the date 
of an adverse initial determination based upon medical 
necessity, the covered person, or the provider acting on 
behalf of the covered person, may request a first level 
appeal. 

1. Each such appeal will be reviewed within the URO 
by a health care professional who has appropriate expertise. 

2. The URO will provide written notice of its 
decision. 

B. Second Level Review. Within 30 days following the 
date of the notice of an adverse decision on a first level 
appeal, a covered person may request a second level review. 

1. Each such second level review will be considered 
by a panel within the URO that includes health care 
professionals who have appropriate expertise and will be 
evaluated by a clinical peer or peers in the same or similar 
specialty as would typically manage the case being 
reviewed. 

a. The review panel will schedule and hold a review 
meeting, and written notice of the time and place of the 
review meeting will be given to the covered person at least 
15 working days in advance. 

b. The covered person may:  
 i. present his/her case to the review panel;  
 ii. submit supporting material and provide 
testimony in person or in writing or affidavit both before and 
at the review meeting; and 
 iii. ask questions of any representative of the 
URO. 

c. If face-to-face meeting is not practical the 
covered person and provider may communicate with the 
review panel by conference call or other appropriate 
technology. 

2. The URO will provide written notice of its decision 
on the second level review. 

C. External Review. Within 60 days after receipt of 
notice of a second level appeal adverse determination, the 
covered person whose medical care was the subject of such 
determination, with the concurrence of the treating health 
care provider, may submit request for an external review to 
the URO. 

1. The URO will provide the documents and any 
information used in making the second level appeal adverse 
determination to its designated independent review 
organization. 

2. The independent review organization will review 
all information and documents received and any other 
information submitted in writing by the covered person or 
the covered person's health care provider.  

3. The independent review organization will provide 
notice of its recommendation to the URO, the covered 
person, and the covered person's health care provider.  

4. An external review decision will be b i n d i n g on the URO, 
on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical necessity 
determination.  

D. Expedited Appeals  
1. An expedited appeal may be initiated by the 

covered person, with the consent of the treating health care

professional, or the provider acting on behalf of the covered 
person, with regard to: 

a. an adverse determination involving a situation 
where the time frame of the standard appeal would seriously 
jeopardize the life or health of a covered person or would 
jeopardize the covered person's ability to regain maximum 
function; or 

b. any request concerning an admission, availability 
of care, continued stay, or health care service for a covered 
person who has received emergency services but has not 
been discharged from a facility. 

2. In an expedited appeal the URO will make a 
decision and notify the covered person, or the provider 
acting on behalf of the covered person, as expeditiously as 
the covered person's medical condition requires, but in no 
event more than 72 hours after the appeal is commenced.  

3. The URO will provide written confirmation of its 
decision concerning an expedited appeal if the initial 
notification is not in writing. 

4. In any case where the expedited appeal does not 
resolve a difference of opinion between the URO and the 
covered person, or the provider acting on behalf of the 
covered person, such provider may request a second level 
review of the adverse determination. 

E. Expedited External Review of Urgent Care Requests  
1. When the covered person receives an adverse 

determination involving an emergency medical condition of 
the covered person being treated in the emergency room, 
during hospital observation, or as a hospital inpatient, the 
covered person's health care provider may request an 
expedited external review. 

2. The URO will transmit all documents and 
information used in making the adverse determination to the 
independent review organization by telephone, telefacsimile, 
or other available expeditious method. 

3. Within 72 hours after receiving appropriate medical 
information for an expedited external review, the 
independent review organization will notify the covered 
person, the URO, and the covered person's health care 
provider of its decision to uphold or reverse the adverse 
determination. 

4. An external review decision will be binding on the 
URO, on OGB and on the covered regarding the medical 
necessity determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
25:1838 (October 1999), LR 28:479 (March 2002), LR 28:2344 
(November 2002). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of BenefitsCPPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 
A. - A.1. … 

2. Percentage Payable after Satisfaction of Applicable 
Deductibles 

 
Eligible expenses incurred at a PPO   90% 
Eligible expenses incurred at a non PPO when Plan Member 
resides outside of Louisiana 

 
  90% 
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Eligible expenses incurred at a non-PPO when Plan Member 
resides in Louisiana 

 
  70% 

Eligible expenses incurred when Medicare or other group 
health plan is primary, and after Medicare reduction 

 
  80% 

Eligible expenses in excess of $10,000 per Calendar Year per 
person 

 
100% 

• Eligible expenses at PPO are based upon contracted rates.  
PPO discounts are not eligible expenses and do not apply 
to the $10,000 threshold. 

 

• Eligible expenses at non-PPO are based upon the OGB’s 
fee schedule.  Charges in excess of the fee schedule are 
not eligible expenses and do not apply to the $10,000 
threshold. 

 

 
3. Reserved 
4. … 

B. - C.3. … 
2PPO in-state and non-Louisiana residentsC100 percent of 
eligible expenses up to the maximum benefit; 
Non-PPO in -stateC70 percent of eligible expenses up to 70 
percent of the maximum benefit  

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801.C and 802.B.(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1843 (October 1999), LR 26:488 (March 2000), LR 27:719, 
720, 722 (May 2001), LR 27:1887 (November 2001), LR 28:2345 
(November 2002). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0211#033 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Statewide Reporting Accounting Policy 

Collection Policy and Procedure (LAC 4:XIII.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and Act 904 of Regular 
Session 2001, the Division of Administration hereby adopts 
a collection policy and procedure for use by state agencies. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part XIII. Statewide Reporting Accounting Policy 
Chapter 1. Collection Policy and Procedure 
§101. Introduction 

A. Overview 
1. The following policies and procedures are 

presented in a broad format to be used by state 
agencies/departments within the Executive branch of 
government, including colleges and universities, to create 
their own detailed, agency-specific procedures, subject to 
approval by the Cash Management Review Board. 

2. Imple mentation of these policies and procedures 
are mandated by Act 904 of Regular Session 2001 which 
enacts Subpart E of Part II of Chapter I of Title 39 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, to be comprised of R.S. 39:88.1 
through 39:88.4, and cited as the "Louisiana Collection and 
Procedure Act." Its purpose is to provide a comprehensive 
collection policy and procedure for collection of obligations 
due to the state be established for use by all state agencies. 

3. Act 904 of Regular Session 2001 states: "The 
Commissioner of Administration shall prescribe and cause to 
be implemented a comprehensive collection policy and 
procedure to be used in all state agencies. … The policy and 
procedures manual shall include rules and regulations to 
assist state agencies in the identification and collection of 
delinquent accounts. … Each state agency shall comply with 
the provisions of collection policy and procedure manual 
and is authorized to establish and maintain internal controls 
not inconsistent with the provisions included in the manual. 
The Cash Management Review Board shall oversee the 
development of and implementation of the collection 
policies and procedures manual in each state agency and is 
authorized to adopt rules and regulations in furtherance of 
this responsibility." 

B. Purpose 
1. To establish guidelines for accounts that are 

considered to be uncollectible. 
2. To establish authoritative approval process for 

uncollectible accounts to be written off for financial 
reporting purposes only. 

3. To establish guidelines for agencies/departments to 
use for implementation of internal control policy and 
procedure of accounts receivable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:88.1 through 39:88.4 and Act 904 of Regular Session 2001. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Statewide Reporting and 
Accounting Policy, LR 28:2346 (November 2002). 
§103. Accounts Receivable Process Overview and 

Objectives 
A. Billing Process Overview and Objectives 

1. To provide accurate and timely billing for amounts 
owed to the state. 

2. To provide a means of tracking accounts receivable. 
3. To provide billing capabilities for various types of 

receivables. 
4. To provide the capabilities of monitoring the aging 

of accounts receivable, creating customer billings and 
statements based on the age of the receivable. 

5. To provide internal control procedures and 
accountability. 

6. Detailed policies and procedures are stated in the 
Control Agencies Policies and Procedures Manual under 
Chapter 13.4 and 13.5, Accounts Receivable Recognition 
Overview and Recording Revenue Recognition Overview. 

B. Billing Event Overview and Objective 
1. Recording of the billing event will be performed by 

the agency/department. Agency/department will initiate the 
data entry, obtain approvals and process the billing. 

2. Invoices and statements are printed at the 
agency/department location and sent to the customer on a 
timely basis. Agency/department shall provide statements at 
least monthly. 

3. Once a receivable has been incurred, an invoice 
should be prepared and sent to debtor on a timely basis.  

4. Agency/department are responsible to track their 
own receivables. Keep records of and all correspondences 
pertaining to the account. 

5. The agency/department will obtain complete and 
accurate information on each debtor in the event of default. 
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6. Each month a report is prepared to review the 
accounts for further action. The agency/department shall 
provide a report relating to accounts that are over 30 days, 
60 days, 90 days, and older.  

7. Agency/department shall inform and notify the 
debtor of additional fees, charges, and cost that may be 
incurred for failure to pay a debt: 

a. fee that will be charged for NSF checks; 
b. interest on unpaid balance per month; 
c. attorney or collection agency fees; 
d. late penalty fees. 

8. Agency/department whose collections are based on 
taxpayers' records, and therefore do not issue invoices, are 
not subject to Items 1, 2, and 3 above.  

C. Billing Receipts Overview and Objective 
1. Agency/department receives the money. Credit the 

appropriate customer's account.  
2. Compliance with R.S. 39:372 and the Louisiana 

Constitution Article VII, Section 9 (A) requires "all monies 
received by the State or by any state board, agency, or 
commission shall be deposited immediately upon receipt in 
the State Treasury, except for certain listed therein." 
("Immediately" is defined as within 24 hours of receipt. The 
State Treasury cash management practices require state-
depositing entities to deposit receipts in the State's central 
depository account or designated regional depository 
accounts. The depositing agency is responsible for revenue 
classification in the accounting system.) 

3. Detailed policies and procedures are stated in the 
Control Agencies Policies and Procedures Manual under 
Chapter 6, Cash Receipts.  

D. Accounting Procedures Overview and Objective 
1. Agency/department should maintain a proper 

segregation of duties such as opening the mail, recording the 
receipt, and maintaining the accounts receivable records. If 
not feasible, implement supervisory review and controls. 

2. A monthly Aged Trial Balance of all accounts 
should be checked and verified that the amount equals the 
balance in the General Ledger, if applicable. 

3. Obtain all necessary information on the debtor in 
the event of default such as: 

a. current home and work address and phone 
number; 

b. social security and/or federal employer 
identification number; 

c. name of address of nearest relative or guardian; 
d. date of birth; 
e. credit references; 
f. any other relevant information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:88.1 through 39:88.4 and Act 904 of Regular Session 2001. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Statewide Reporting and 
Accounting Policy, LR 28:2346 (November 2002). 
§105. Collection Process Overview, Objective, and 

Policy Guidelines 
A. The following procedures are very general and broad 

for the purposes of identifying area of concerns and general 
concentration. 

1. Collection Process Objectives 
a. To establish and implement a collection policy 

and procedure that the Cash Management Review Board has 
approved. 

b. To identify delinquent accounts. 
c. To pursue delinquent accounts by creating 

collection letters that are tailored to the agency/department's 
need. 

d. To apply late charges and interest to delinquent 
accounts. 

e. To interface with other software to enhance the 
intercepting of payments. 

f. To provide an updated customer account balance 
for any collection activity: 
 i. payments or NSF checks. 

g. To provide the ability to write off uncollectible 
accounts with proper authority and documentationCdebt is 
still owed to the state. 

h. To establish and maintain Internal Controls. 
2. Collection Process 

a. Begins when the debt is recognized or the service 
is completed. The agency/department shall provide an 
invoice or statement in a timely manner to the debtor.  

b. Different messages would appear on the 
statement according to the status of the account to remind 
the customer of the amount owed to the state, any payments 
and/or adjustments made since the last printed statement. 

c. Apply interest and/or late charges as statutorily 
prescribed. 

d. With the proper documentation and approval, 
write off from the financial statements any account that is 
deemed uncollectible after following the procedures outlined 
in §107.B. The debt is still owed to the state. 

3. Collection Follow-Up Procedures 
a. Policies and procedures are established and 

implemented at the agency/department that were approved 
by the Cash Management Review Board. 

b. Send a minimum of one follow-up billing 
statement to debtor. The scheduled billing cycle shall be 
designated by agency/department. 

c. Send second billing statement to debtor with a 
warning (dunning) message explaining the action that will 
be taken within a scheduled billing cycle from the first 
statement. 

d. Third billing statement notifies the debtor that the 
account has been forwarded to a collection agency or 
attorney general's office within a scheduled billing cycle 
from the second statement. 

e. Course of Action after the Third Billing 
Statement 
 i. Discontinue service and notify debtor by letter 
that service has been discontinued, if applicable to the 
agency/department.  
 ii. The agency/department will continue to collect 
amounts by all available meansCprivate collection agency, 
debt offset, etc. 

f. Further Action (Discretion of agency/department 
policies and procedures approved by Cash Management 
Review Board) 
 i. Agency/department's secretary or 
undersecretary may approve the account to be written off or 
continue to collect (agency's discretion). 
 ii. Agency/department may continue its collection 
process or assign the account to a collection agency. 
 iii. Follow-up with the Attorney General's office or 
collection agency on the status of the account. 
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g. If appropriate, contact past due customers by 
telephone at any time during the collection process to ensure 
collection. 

4. Allowance for Doubtful Accounts  
a. Each agency/department should establish an 

allowance for doubtful accounts to ensure that the 
agency/department's receivables are not overstated for 
financial reporting purposes. 

b. The allowance method used shall be established 
by the agency/department with the Cash Management 
Review Board approval. However, the amount should be 
based upon historical data or other pertinent information 
relative to the receivable. Sound accounting theory must be 
used at all times. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:88.1 through 39:88.4 and Act 904 of Regular Session 2001. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Statewide Reporting and 
Accounting Policy, LR 28:2347 (November 2002). 
§107. Write-Off of Uncollectible Accounts Process 

Overview, Objective, and Policy Guidelines 
A. Write-Off Objectives 

1. To establish and implement a collection policy and 
procedure that the Cash Management Review Board has 
approved.  

2. An authorization to write-off an account does not 
constitute a forgiveness of indebtedness. 

3. Debtor remains obligated to the state. 
4. Write-off authorizes a state agency to: 

a. transfer an account to a dormant file; 
b. discontinue incurring the expense involved in 

collecting the account; 
c. discontinue reporting the amount as a receivable 

on the General Ledger. 
5. To encourage proper write-offs on a fiscal year end 

basis. 
6. The agencies/departments will have the ability to 

write-off an account from their financial statements when it 
is evident that it is uncollectible. 

7. To establish and authorize the board and/or 
committee within each state agency/department to 
recommend any write offs when the accounts are deemed 
uncollectible. 

a. The board and/or committee shall be managerial 
level personnel within the appropriate department. 

8. Detailed policies and procedures are stated in the 
Control Agencies Policies and Procedures Manual under 
Chapter 13CAccounts Receivable. 

B. Write-Off Process 
1. Agency/department must request an account to be 

written off through their respective board/committee. 
2. Amounts over a specific designation require 

additional approval from the agency/department's secretary 
or undersecretary as recommended by the committee. 

3. The request to write off a receivable by the 
agency/department must include the following information: 

a. the name and address of the debtor;  
b. the age of the account; 
c. the nature of the amounts owed; 
d. the collection efforts that have been made; 
e. any other pertinent information to give a full 

understanding of the request such as debtor's employment 
status, debtor financial status, debtor’s accessibility, etc. 

4. Approved write-off must be reported on the 
Quarterly Accounts Receivable Report and retained in a 
dormant file and removed from current records. 

5. For payments received on an account written-off, 
record the amount received as revenue, do not re-establish 
the receivable. 

C. Write-Off Criteria 
1. The amount is deemed uncollectibleCage of the 

account. 
2. The write-off will not prejudice the position of the 

state. 
3. All reasonable collection efforts have been 

exhaustedCprivate collection agency, Attorney General's 
office and/or state's debt offset process. 

4. The debtor cannot be located or a discharge of 
bankruptcy has occurred. 

5. The applicable statute of limitations for collection 
of debt has expired. 

6. The debtor is deceased and there is no estate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:88.1 through 39:88.4 and Act 904 of Regular Session 2001. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 

Division of Administration, Office of Statewide Reporting and 
Accounting Policy, LR 28:2348 (November 2002). 
§109. Debt Intercept or Offset Process Overview, 

Objective, and Policy Guidelines 
A. Warrant Intercept 

1. Vendor/debtor is receiving a payment from the 
state, a request is made by a state agency to intercept the 
payment for a past due amount, the system automatically 
applies the payment to the past due amount, and the 
difference is sent to the vendor. 

2. State legislation will be required to enforce this 
type of intercept. 

B. Revenue Recapture  
1. Past due amounts can be recaptured through tax 

refund. 
2. Other means of recapture are lottery or gaming 

winnings. 
3. Both recapture programs are administered through 

the Department of Revenue. 
C. Offsets 

1. Current offset allowed by R.S. 47:299.2 against 
income tax refunds are specifically used by: 

a. Department of Justice Collections Section; 
b. Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 

Commission's Student Loan Collection Section; 
c. Division of Support Enforcement of the Office of 

Family Support in the Department of Social Services and 
any other office or facility of DSS; 

d. Department of Health and Hospitals; 
e. Department of Public Safety and Corrections; 
f. Department of Labor. 

2. Offset program could be greatly expanded to 
include other state agencies/departments and all tax refunds, 
not just income taxes, unemployment benefits, or any other 
payments made by the state. 

3. Additional legislation will be required to expand 
the offset program. 

D. Garnishments, Liens, and Judgments 
1. When such measures are deemed cost effective. 
2. Used by most state agencies/departments through 

private collection firms or Attorney General's office. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:88.1 through 39:88.4 and Act 904 of Regular Session 2001. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Statewide Reporting and 
Accounting Policy, LR 28:2348 (November 2002). 
§111. Quarterly Reporting of Accounts Receivable 

Overview and Policy Guidelines 
A. Objectives 

1. To establish a report that shows each state 
agency/department’s accounts receivable balances and 
activities during the quarter as mandated by R.S 39:79. 

2. To establish guidelines and procedures for the 
quarterly reporting as stated by Memorandum SA 96-45. 

3. To ensure the quarterly reports are consistent and as 
accurate as possible. 

4. To have uniformity of reporting for all state 
agencies/departments. 

5. To ensure the timely reporting of the quarterly 
report as stated by Memorandum SA 96-45. 

B. Procedures for Quarterly Reporting 
1. Quarterly Activity (Form AR-1) 

a. Gross Receivables and Debt at End of Quarter 
b. Estimated Uncollectible for the Quarter 
c. Net Receivable for the Quarter 
d.  Write-Offs for the Quarter 

2. Aging of Receivables (Form AR-12) 
a. Current Receivables-do not include those past 

due 
b. Past Due Receivables: 1-30 days 
c. Past Due Receivables: 31-90 days 
d. Past Due Receivables: 181 days-1 year 
e. Past Due Receivables: over one year 
f. Total Receivables Past Due 
g. Total Gross Receivable 
h. Total gross receivables must equal gross 

receivables and debt at end of quarter reported on form  
AR-1. 

3. Collections Activity for Receivables over 180 days 
(Form AR-3) 

a. Amount over 180 Days Past Due  
b. Collections within the Agency 
c. Collections with Attorney General's Office 
d. Collections with Private Collection Firm 
e. Collections–Other (specify the type) 
f. Collections–Under Protest 
g. Amount over 180 days past due must equal 181 

days-1 year and over 1 year total amo unt reported on form 
AR-2 

4. Write-Off Disclosure (Form AR-4) 
a. Number of AccountsCif applicable 
b. Amount of the Write-Offs 
c. Reason for the Write-Off 
d. The total write-off must equal write-off 

disclosure reported on Form AR-1. 
5. Annual Comparison of Receivables (Form AR-5) 

a. Major Revenue Source 
b. Amount Past Due–Prior Year Ending Balance 
c. Amount Past Due–Current Year Ending Balance 
d. Increase/Decrease 
e. Percentage of Change 
f. Explanation given for each comparison variance 

on the bottom of the page designated as "Explanation" for 
each category.  

C. Accounts Receivable Quarterly Reports 
1. Quarterly reports starting with September 30, 2000 

is available on OSRAP website: http://www.state.la.us 
/osrap/index.htm. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:88.1 through 39:88.4 and Act 904 of Regular Session 2001. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of Governor, 
Division of Administration, Office of Statewide Reporting and 
Accounting Policy, LR 28:2349 (November 2002). 

 
F. Howard Karlton 
Director 

0211#030 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 10:XV.323) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
R.S. 51.1929(5) of the Louisiana Capital Companies Tax 
Credit Program, R.S. 51:1921 et seq., the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions adopts the following new Rule to 
provide for the levy of fees and assessments upon certified  
Louisiana capital companies. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES, 
AND UCC 

Part XV.  Other Regulated Entities 
Chapter 3. Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
§323. Fees and Assessments 

A. Pursuant to the authority granted under R.S. 
51:1929(5), the follo wing fee and assessment structure is 
hereby established to cover necessary costs associated with 
the administration of the certified Louisiana Capital 
Companies Tax Credit Program, R.S. 51:1921 et seq. 

1. Request for certification of capital pursuant to R.S. 
51:1924. Each certified Louisiana capital company seeking 
an allocation of certified capital shall submit a non-
refundable fee with the request for allocation filed on 
October 1 and December 1 of each year. 

 
Requested Amount Fee 
Less than $250,000 $1,000 
$250,000 < $3,000,000 $2,500 
$3,000,000 or greater $5,000 

 
2. Annual assessment of each certified Louisiana 

capital company at a floating rate to be assessed no later than 
May 15 of each year, to be based on the total certified capital 
under management, as defined in LAC 10:XV.303, as of the 
previous December 31 audited financial statements. Any 
amounts collected in excess of actual expenditures related to 
the administration of the certified Louisiana capital 
companies program by the Office of Financial Institutions 
shall be credited or refunded on a pro rata basis. Any 
shortages in assessments to cover actual operating expenses 
of OFI relating to the administration of the certified 
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Louisiana capital companies program shall be added to the 
next variable assessment or billed on a pro rata basis.  

 
Fee Variable 

 
3. Late Fee. For each calendar day that an assessment 

is late pursuant to the requirements of Section 323.B.2, a late 
fee shall be assessed. 

 
Fee $100 per day 

 
B. Administration 

1. The failure to submit a fee with the request for 
allocation as required in Section 323.A.1 shall result in the 
denial of an allocation of certified capital. 

2. The assessment described in Section 323.A.2 shall 
be considered late if not received by this office on or before 
May 31 of each calendar year. If this office receives an 
assessment after May 31, it shall not be deemed late if it was 
postmarked on or before May 31. 

3. If audited financial statements are not submitted to 
this office by April 30, unaudited financial statements shall 
be submitted no later than May 1. These unaudited financial 
statements shall then be used to determine the assessment 
amount provided for in Section 323.A.2. Accompanying 
these audited or unaudited financial statements shall be a 
detailed calculation of total certified capital under 
management as of December 31. 

4. If neither an audited nor unaudited financial 
statement has been received by this office by May 1, 
beginning on June 1, the late fee described in Section 
323.A.3 shall be assessed until the assessment has been paid. 

5. If any of the dates described in parts 2 and 3 above, 
except the April 30 and the December 31 due date for 
audited financial statements, occurs on an official state 
holiday or a Saturday or a Sunday, the next business day for 
the Office of Financial Institutions shall be the applicable 
due date. 

6. The assessment for each certified Louisiana capital 
company group, as defined in R.S. 51:1923(11), and 
described in §323.A.2 shall be based on the following 
formula. 

a. The numerator will be the total certified capital 
under management for the group as of the previous 
December 31. 

b. The denominator will be the total certified capital 
under management for all certified Louisiana capital 
companies as of the previous December 31. 

C. Severability 
1. If any provision or item of this regulation, or the 

application thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 
affect other provisos, items, or applications of the regulation 
which can be given effect without the invalid provisions, 
items, or application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1929(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions LR 28:2349 (November 
2002). 

 
John D. Travis  
Commissioner  

0211#070 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Telecommunications Management 

Telecommunications Building Access Standards 
(LAC 4:IX.707) 

In accordance with R.S. 39:140, R.S. 39:141, R.S. 39:143, 
R.S. 39:1751, R.S. 39:1752, R.S. 39:1753, R.S. 39:1754, and 
R.S. 39:1755, and the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Office of 
Telecommunications Management hereby amends LAC Title 
4, Part IX. Chapter 7, by adding Section 707. 
Telecommunications Building Access Standards. In 
accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Telecommunications Management has given written 
consideration to the Rule's impact on family. The Rule 
should have no impact on any family as defined in R.S. 
49:972.D or on family formation, stability, and autonomy. In 
accordance with R.S. 49:972.C, the written family impact 
statement will be kept on file in the Office of 
Telecommunications Management. 

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part IX.  Telecommunications 
Chapter 7. Telecommunications Service Standards  
§707. Telecommunications Building Access Standards  

A. In general, telecommunications access to state-owned 
buildings shall be made through an as-needed competitive 
procurement activity that includes provisions and 
requirements for building access as a part of the state's needs 
to acquire telecommunications services. This Section is not 
applicable to those telecommunications service providers 
that have existing access facilities in state-owned buildings. 
In special cases where a telecommunications service 
provider is building out its network and desires access to a 
new or existing state-owned building in that process, this 
Section shall apply. 

B. When determined by the Office of 
Telecommunications Management and with the concurrence 
of the agency/owner to be in the best interest of the state, 
building access and space in state-owned buildings may be 
made available to telecommunications service providers. It 
is the state's intention to provide access to the building 
through a state-owned and state-provided conduit system. 

C. The Office of Telecommunications Management shall 
be responsible for developing a standard building access 
agreement. The Office of Telecommunications Management 
shall be responsible for developing installation standards and 
guidelines for use by telecommunications service providers. 
The Office of Telecommunications Management shall 
coordinate the processing of all requests by 
telecommunications service providers for building access. 
The telecommunications service provider shall be 
responsible for initiating a written request for building 
access to the Office of Telecommunications Management 
that contains specific details of accommodation 
requirements and types of services offered. The
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agency/owner shall be responsible for sending all requests 
from telecommunications service providers to the Office of 
Telecommunications Management. Each building access 
agreement shall be signed by the agency/owner and the 
telecommunications service provider and approved by the 
Office of Telecommunications Management. 

D. The criteria for accommodation shall be first 
come/first served, reasonable availability of space, a 
demonstrated need for the type of service to be provided, 
and safety considerations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:140-141, 143, R.S. 39:1751-1755. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of 
Telecommunications Management, LR 28:2350 (November 2002). 

 
Joseph A. Lanier 
Director 

0211#076 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 

Change in Time of Board Meeting; Public Comments  
at Board Meetings; and Educational Seminars 

(LAC 46:V.2701, 4401, and 4403) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapters 4A and 4B, the Office of 
the Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, 
notice is hereby given that the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 
Commission has adopted rules and regulations governing 
public comments at Board Meetings in accordance with R.S. 
47:5.D and educational seminars in accordance with R.S. 
32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). The Used Motor Vehicle Parts 
Commission has amended the time of the regularly 
scheduled Board Meetings as indicated in R.S. 32:772.E. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 2.  Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 
Chapter 27. The Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 

Commission 
§2701. Meetings of the Commission 

A. The Commission shall meet at its office in Baton 
Rouge, LA on the third Tuesday in each month to transact 
such business as may properly come before it. The regular 
meeting will convene at the hour of 9 a.m. and shall continue 
at the pleasure of those present. Any change of monthly 
meetings will be in accordance with the Open Meeting Law 
R.S. 42.5. 

B. ... 
C. A public comment period shall be held at or near the 

beginning of each board meeting. Persons desiring to present 
public comments shall notify the board chairman no later 
than 48 hours prior to the date of the regular meeting and 72 
hours prior to the date of a special meeting. All written 
requests to have an item or items placed on the agenda must 
indicate, in detail, what items they wish to discuss. Public 

discussions are limited only to items on the agenda. There 
will be a maximum of 30 minutes for all public comments to 
be heard and each person will be limited to three minutes. 
Additional time can be allowed by the chairman as he deems 
reasonable. Each person making public comments shall 
identify himself and the group, organization or company he 
represents, if any. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:772.E and R.S. 42:5.D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 
11:1062 (November 1985), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 
Commission, LR 15:258 (April 1989), LR 15:1058 (December 
1989), LR 18:1116 (October 1992), LR 24:1682 (September 1998), 
LR 25:1792 (October 1999), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28:2351 
(November 2002). 
Chapter 44. Educational Seminar 
§4401. Required Attendance 

A. On and after January 1, 2002, every applicant for a 
used motor vehicle dealer's license that has not been licensed 
prior to January 1, 2003, must attend a four-hour educational 
seminar approved and conducted by the Used Motor Vehicle 
and Parts Commission. Existing dealers will be 
grandfathered in and not mandatorily required to attend said 
seminar.  

1. The seminar will be conducted by employees of the 
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission and will be held 
at the office of the commission located at 3132 Valley Creek 
Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 70808.  

2. The seminar will be held once a month on the first 
Monday of each month beginning at 9 a.m. and ending at  
1 p.m. 

3. As a courtesy to existing dealers, educational 
seminars will be conducted throughout the state once a year. 

4. In addition to new dealers being required to attend 
the four hour seminar, any existing dealers who are found 
guilty of violations of commission laws and/or rules and 
regulations will be required to attend. 

5. There will be no charge for attendance to the 
educational seminar. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28:2351 
(November 2002). 
§4403. Certification 

A. Upon applying for a 2003 used motor vehicle dealer's 
license, the applicant must attach a copy of the certificate of 
completion which documents that the dealership's general 
manager, office manager, title clerk or other responsible 
representative of the dealership has attended the four-hour 
educational seminar. If the applicant has not completed the 
educational seminar, he must provide evidence that he has 
registered to attend such seminar within 60 days after 
issuance of the license. 

B. The certificate shall list the participant's name and 
title, name and address of the used motor vehicle dealer, date 
of completion and signature of instructor.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28:2351 
(November 2002). 
§4403. Educational Program 

A. The educational seminar will consist of information 
pertaining to the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Office of Motor 
Vehicles, Wildlife and Fisheries, Motor Vehicle Commission 
and Attorney General's Office. The items to be reviewed are 
as follows: 

1. LUMVPCCbackground of the agency, laws, rules 
and regulations, license requirements, area of responsibility, 
complaint procedures, hearing procedures and non-delivery 
of titles; 

2. LMVCCfinance licenses; 
3. RevenueCsubmission of monthly sales reports and 

collection of taxes; 
4. Office of Motor VehiclesCnon-delivery of titles, 

certificates of title and completion of titles by dealers; 
5. Wildlife and FisheriesCregistration of marine 

products; 
6. Office of Attorney GeneralCcivil and criminal 

matters. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28:2352 
(November 2002). 

 
John M. Torrance 
Executive Director 

0211#056 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Dispensing of Medications 
(LAC 46:XLV.6507 and 6513) 

In accordance with the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and pursuant to the 
authority of the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 
37:1261-1292 and R.S. 37:1201, the Louisiana State Board 
of Medical Examiners has amended its existing medication 
dispensing rules governing the effect of providing false or 
misleading information on an application and the eligibility 
requirements prerequisite to registration as a dispensing 
physician. The rule are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL  

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Profession 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 65. Dispensation of Medications 
Subchapter B. Prohibitions and Sanctions 
§6507. Action Against Medical License 

A. Violation of the prohibitions set forth in §6505, or 
providing false or misleading statements in connection with 
any application required by this Subchapter, shall be deemed 
to constitute just cause for the suspension, revocation, 
refusal to issue, or the imposition of probationary or other 
restrictions on any license or permit to practice medicine in 

the state of Louisiana held or applied for by a physician 
culpable of such violation, or for other administrative action 
as the board may in its discretion determine to be necessary 
or appropriate, under R.S. 37:1285.A.(3), R.S.37:1285.A.(4), 
R.S. 37:1285.A.(6), and R.S. 1285.A.(30), respectively.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1261-1292, R.S. 37:1204. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 13:570 
(October 1987), amended LR 25:1248 (July 1999), LR 28:2352 
(November 2002). 
Subchapter C. Registration 
§6513. Eligibility for Registration as a Dispensing 

Physician 
A. To be eligible for registration as a dispensing 

physician, a physician shall, as of the date of the application: 
1. possess a current, unrestricted license to practice 

medicine duly issued by the board;  
2. have been in the active practice of medicine for not 

less than three years following the date on which the 
physician was awarded a doctor of medicine or doctor of 
osteopathy degree; 

3. not currently be enrolled in a medical residency or 
other post graduate medical training program; and 

4. possess a current, unrestricted license to prescribe, 
dispense, and administer controlled substances duly issued 
by the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, 
Department of Health and Human Resources, state of 
Louisiana, and be currently registered to prescribe, dispense, 
and administer controlled substances, without restriction, 
with the Drug Enforcement Administration, United States 
Department of Justice.  

B. - B.6. … 
7. has been denied, had suspended, revoked, 

restricted, or relinquished, staff or clinical privileges at any 
hospital or other health care institution while under 
investigation for, or as a result of, the physician's 
competency or conduct; 

B.8. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1261-1292, R.S. 37:1201. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 13:570 
(October 1987), amended LR 25:1249 (July 1999), LR 28:2352 
(November 2002). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

0211#071 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Practical Nurse Examiners 

Discipline, Licensure, and Temporary Permits 
(LAC 46:XLVII.303, 306, 1703, 1705, and  1707) 

The Board of Practical Nurse Examiners has amended 
LAC 46:XLVII.101 et seq., in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and the Practical Nursing Practice Act, R.S. 37:961-
979. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLVII.  Nurses 

Subpart 1.  Practical Nurses 
Chapter 3. Board of Practical Nurse Examiners 
§303. Additional Duties and Powers of the Board 

A. - A.2. … 
3. determine the passing score for the practical 

nursing licensure examination of initial licensure. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:969. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, 
LR 3:193 (April 1977), amended LR 10:335 (April 1984), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical 
Nurse Examiners, LR 26:2614 (November 2000), LR 28:2353 
(November 2002). 
§306. Rules and Adjudication and License Suspension 

and Revocation Proceedings 
A. - B. ... 
C. Communications received by the board expressing 

such allegation(s) shall be privileged, confidential, and shall 
not be revealed to any person except when such document(s) 
are offered for evidence in a formal hearing. 

D. The allegation(s) shall be investigated by the 
executive director, his/her designee, and/or staff. Any 
information and/or documents generated pursuant to such 
investigation of the allegation(s) shall be considered the 
work product of the board and shall be privileged, 
confidential, and shall not be revealed to any person except 
when such investigative information and/or documents are 
offered for evidence in a formal hearing. 

E. Unless precluded by law, informal disposition may be 
made of any case of adjudication by stipulation, agreed 
settlement, consent order, or default. A consent order or 
agreed settlement shall be presented to the board for 
approval before it becomes binding. 

F. If a matter is not concluded by informal proceedings 
and a formal hearing is deemed necessary by the executive 
director, a formal hearing shall be scheduled before a 
hearing officer designated by the board. A decision to initiate 
a formal complaint by the board expressing the allegation(s) 
and specific violation(s) of R.S. 37:961-979 may be made if 
one or more of the following conditions exist: 

1. the allegation(s) are sufficiently serious; 
2. the licensee fails to respond to the board's 

correspondence concerning the allegation(s);  
3. the licensee's response to the board's 

correspondence is insufficient, unsatisfactory, or fails to be 
convincing that no action is warranted; 

4. an informal proceeding has failed to resolve all of 
the issues or allegation(s). 

G. Formal hearing procedures shall commence with the 
filing of a formal complaint by the board. The complaint 
shall include: 

1. a statement of the time, place and nature of the 
hearing; 

2. a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction 
under which the hearing is to be held; 

3. a reference to the particular sections of R.S. 37:961 
et seq., and/or rules involved; 

4. A short and plain statement of the matters asserted. 
If the board is unable to state the matters in detail at the time 
the complaint is served, the initial complaint may be limited 
to a statement of the issues involved. Thereafter, upon 
request, a more definite and detailed statement shall be 
furnished. 

H. The formal complaint shall be sent by certified mail, a 
minimum of 20 days prior to the hearing date, to the last 
known address of the accused licensee. If the mailing is not 
returned to the board, it is assumed to have been received by 
said licensee as it is the licensee's obligation and duty to 
keep the board informed of his/her whereabouts. 

I. The licensee shall return his/her response to the 
compla int to the board within 10 days or shall be deemed to 
have waived his/her right to a hearing. In response, the 
licensee shall either deny or admit the allegations of the 
complaint and may either: 

1. appear for the scheduled hearing; 
2. submit a written response to the hearing officer to 

be presented at the hearing in lieu of the licensee's live 
testimony; or 

3. waive his/her right to a hearing. 
J. If the licensee waives his/her right to a hearing or 

does not respond in writing within the time allotted, the 
hearing officer shall decide the case forthwith. The hearing 
officer shall make specific findings of fact, conclusions of 
law, and make recommendations to the board. 

K. Opportunity shall be afforded to all parties to respond 
and present evidence on all issues of fact involved and 
argument on all issues of law and policy involved and to 
conduct such cross-examination as may be required for a full 
and true disclosure of the facts. 

L. Except for conditions of extreme emergency, motions 
requesting the continuance of a formal hearing must be 
received by the board at least five days prior to the date 
fixed for a formal hearing. Such motion must express the 
specific reason(s) and show good cause why a continuance is 
warranted and be relevant for due process. 

M. Discovery 
1. Prior to a formal hearing, an accused licensee shall 

have the right to retain an attorney to represent his/her 
interest before, during, and after the proceedings. All costs 
and/or expenses incurred by a licensee as a result of his/her 
exercise of said right shall be the sole responsibility and 
obligation of the licensee. 

2. Prior to a formal hearing, the executive director or 
his/her designee will, upon written request received by the 
board at least five days prior to the formal hearing, issue 
subpoenas on behalf of the board and/or the accused 
licensee. Such subpoenas include or are for the purpose of: 

a. requiring that a person appear and give testimony 
in the formal hearing; and 

b. subpoena duces tecum, requiring that a person 
produce books, records, correspondence, or other materials 
over which he/she has control providing: 
 i. the information requested is reasonable in 
terms of amount; and 
 ii. the scope of the information requested is 
limited to documentary material that is relevant to the 
proceeding; 
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 iii. the information requested does not include 
those documents referred to in §306.C-D; and 
 iv. the requesting party deposits with the board a 
sum of money sufficient to pay all fees and expenses to 
which a witness in the proceedings is entitled pursuant to 
R.S. 13:3661 and R.S. 13:3671. 

3. Prior to a formal hearing, an accused licensee shall, 
upon written notice received by the board at least five days 
prior to said hearing, be given a list of all witnesses the 
board will or may call to give testimony during a formal 
hearing. 

4. Prior to a formal hearing, an accused licensee, 
his/her attorney, or any party representing his/her interest is 
prohibited from having any contact whatsoever with any 
witness which will or may be called to give testimony in a 
formal hearing. 

5. Depositions for the purpose of discovery are not 
permissible and may only be allowed for the perpetuation of 
a witness's testimony upon good showing to the board that a 
witness will be unavailable to appear in person at a formal 
hearing. All costs of a deposition are borne by the requesting 
party. 

6. Motions may be made before, during, and/or after a 
formal hearing. All motions made before and after a formal 
hearing shall be made in writing and in a timely manner in 
accordance with the nature of the request. Motions made 
during a formal hearing shall be made orally, as they become 
a part of the transcript of the proceeding. 

N. During a formal hearing, the licensee or his/her 
attorney shall be afforded the opportunity to present 
documentary, visual, physical or illustrative evidence and to 
cross-examine witnesses as well as call witnesses to give 
oral testimony on behalf of the licensee. All testimony given 
during a formal hearing shall be under oath and before a 
certified stenographer. 

O. The record of the proceeding shall be retained until 
such time for any appeal has expired or until an appeal has 
been concluded. The record of the proceeding shall not be 
transcribed until such time as a party to the proceeding so 
requests, and the requesting party pays for the cost of the 
transcript. 

P. After the hearing is concluded, the hearing officer 
shall issue a report containing his/her findings of fact, 
conclusions of law and recommendations. This report shall 
be presented to the board. 

Q. The board shall make a decision based on the hearing 
officer's report and determine what sanctions, if any, should 
be imposed and issue an appropriate order with respect 
thereto. This order of the board shall be sent to the licensee 
by certified mail. 

R. Sanctions imposed by the board may include 
reprimand, probation, suspension, revocation, as well as 
penalties provided under R.S. 37:961 et seq., as amended or 
any combination thereof. 

1. Reprimand. May include a personal conference 
between the licensee and the executive director and/or a 
letter to the licensee regarding the incident or incidents 
which have been brought to the board's attention and which 
may or may not be determined to warrant a hearing. 

2. Probation. Will include stipulations which may be 
imposed by the board as a result of the findings of facts of a 
hearing and the order shall clarify the obligations of the 

licensee through a specified period of time. A licensee who 
is placed on probation by the board may practice practical 
nursing in the state of Louisiana provided the probation 
terms are met. 

3. Suspension. A license to practice practical nursing 
in the state of Louisiana may be withheld by the board as a 
result of the findings of facts presented in a hearing. The 
time of suspension may be a definite stated period or an 
indefinite term. A licensee whose license is suspended may 
not practice practical nursing in the state of Louisiana during 
the suspension period so designated. 

a. Definite time of suspension shall be stipulated by 
the board in the order to the licensee. Upon termination of 
the time period the licensee shall be entitled to receive 
his/her license upon payment of the required fee and upon 
documented compliance with the conditions which may have 
been imposed by the board at the time of the original order. 

b. If a license is suspended for an indefinite term, 
the licensee may petition for reinstatement of his/her license 
only after one calendar year has lapsed from the date of the 
original order. The board may terminate the suspension and 
reinstate such license after a hearing is held and the board 
determines that the cause/causes for the suspension no 
longer exist or that intervening circumstances have altered 
the condition leading to the suspension. If reinstatement is 
granted the licensee shall pay the required reinstatement fee. 

4. Revocation. A license to practice practical nursing 
in the state of Louisiana may be withdrawn by the board. A 
person whose license is so revoked shall never again be 
allowed to practice practical nursing in the state. 

S. A petition by a party for reconsideration or rehearing 
must be in proper form and filed within 30 days after 
notification of the board's decision. The petition shall set 
forth the grounds for the rehearing, which include one or 
more of the following: 

1. the board's decision is clearly contrary to the law 
and the evidence; 

2. there is newly discovered evidence which was not 
available to the board or the licensee at the time of the 
hearing and which may be sufficient to reverse the board's 
action; 

3. there is a showing that issues not previously 
considered ought to be examined in order to dispose of the 
case properly; 

4. it would be in the public interest to further consider 
the issues and the evidence. 

T. The grounds for disciplinary proceedings against a 
licensed practical nurse include, but are not limited to: 

1. being guilty of fraud or deceit in procuring or 
attempting to procure a license to practice practical nursing; 

2. being guilty of a crime; 
3. being unfit, or incompetent by reason of 

negligence, habit or other causes; 
4. being habitually intemperate or is addicted to the 

use of habit-forming drugs; 
5. being mentally incompetent;  
6. practicing practical nursing without being duly 

licensed to do so by the board; 
7. using in connection with his name any designation 

tending to imply that he is a practical nurse without being 
duly licensed to practice by the board; or 
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8. being guilty of unprofessional conduct; 
unprofessional conduct includes, but is not limited to the 
following: 

a. failure to practice practical nursing in accordance 
with the standards normally expected; 

b. failure to utilize appropriate judgment in 
administering nursing practice; 

c. failure to exercise technical competence in 
carrying out nursing care; 

d. violating the confidentiality of information or 
knowledge concerning a patient; 

e. performing procedures beyond the authorized 
scope of practical nursing; 

f. performing duties and assuming responsibilities 
within the scope of the definition of practical nursing when 
competency has not been achieved or maintained, or where 
competency has not been achieved or maintained in a 
particular specialty; 

g. improper use of drugs, medical supplies, or 
patients' records; 

h. misappropriating personal items of an individual 
or the agency; 

i. falsifying records; 
j. intentionally committing any act that adversely 

affects the physical or psychosocial welfare of the patient; 
k. delegating nursing care, functions, tasks, or 

responsibilities to others contrary to regulation; 
1. leaving a nursing assignment without properly 

notifying appropriate personnel;  
m. failing to report, through the proper channels, 

facts known regarding the incompetent, unethical, or illegal 
practice of any health care provider; 

n. being convicted of a crime or offense which 
reflects the inability of the nurse to practice practical nursing 
with due regard for the health and safety of clients or 
patients or enters a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a 
criminal charge regardless of final disposition of the criminal 
proceeding including, but not limited to, expungement or 
nonadjudication or pardon; 

o. being guilty of moral turpitude; 
p. inappropriate, incomplete or improper 

documentation; 
q. use of or being under the influence of alcoholic 

beverages, illegal drugs or drugs which impair judgment 
while on duty, to include making application for 
employment; 

r. possess a physical or psychological impairment 
which interferes with the judgment, skills or abilities 
required for the practice of practical nursing; 

s. refusal to cooperate with employer's request to 
submit to a drug screen; 

t. has violated any provisions of R.S. 37:961 et seq. 
(the practical nursing practice act), as amended or aid or abet 
therein. 

U. The board may, at its discretion, impose a reasonable 
monetary assessment against the licensee or applicant for 
licensure for the purpose of defraying expenses of a hearing 
and/or expenses of the board in monitoring any disciplinary 
stipulations imposed by order of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:969 and 37:978 and Acts 675 and 827, 1993. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, LR 

20:663 (June 1994), amended LR 26:2614 (November 2000), LR 
28:2353 (November 2002). 
Chapter 17. Licensure 
§1703. Types of Licensure 

A. - A.2.  ... 
3. complete a board approved refresher course if a 

passing score is not attained within four years of program 
completion. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:969, 37:971 and 37:972. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, 
LR 3:199 (April 1977), LR 10:341 (April 1984), LR 10:915 
(November 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, LR 18:1129 
(October 1992), repromulgated LR 18:1263 (November 1992), LR 
28:2355 (November 2002). 
§1705. Temporary Permit 

A. A temporary permit to practice as a practical nurse in 
Louisiana may be issued as follows. 

1. A temporary permit may be issued to graduates of 
approved or accredited practical nursing programs in 
Louisiana before the first writing of the licensure 
examination which permit shall expire upon the date of 
licensure of that examination and which shall not be subject 
to extension or renewal under any circumstances - including 
reentry and completion of a program in practical nursing, 
providing the application for licensure and the specified fee 
have been submitted by the applicant and an official 
transcript has been submitted by the institution from which 
he/she graduated. 

A.2 - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:969 and 37:976. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 1703 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse 

Examiners, LR 3:199 (April 1977), amended LR 5:65 (March 
1979), LR 10:341 (April 1984), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, LR 
18:1130 (October 1992), repromulgated LR 18:1263 (November 
1992), LR 28:2355 (November 2002). 
§1707. Retirement from Practice 

A. - B.3.  ... 
C. Review Courses. Licensees or applicants for licensure 

in Louisiana who have been out of practice for four or more 
years shall be required to successfully complete a refresher 
course approved by the board. Said course shall have a 
clinical component of a minimum of 60 hours. Special 
student permits may be issued by the board to participants in 
such courses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:969, 37:972-975, 37:977, 37:978 and 37:979. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, LR 
3:200 (April 1977), amended LR 10:342 (April 1984), amended by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical Nurse 
Examiners, LR 18:1130 (October 1992), repromulgated LR 
18:1263 (November 1992), amended LR 26:2614 (November 
2000), LR 28:2355 (November 2002). 

 
Claire Doody Glaviano 
Executive Director 

0211#085 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretar y 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Day Health Care Services  
Prospective Payment System  

Reimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:II.10909 and 10939) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This final Rule is adopted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payment 

Chapter 109. Standards for PaymentCAdult Day 
Health Care Services 

§10909. Provider Agreement 
A. - E.23. ... 
F. DHH agrees to make payment to the provider on 

behalf of eligible recipients if the provider is enrolled in the 
Medicaid Program as an ADHC center.  

G. - G.5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
11:623 (June 1985), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 13:181 (March 1987), LR 23:1150 (September 
1997), LR 28:2356 (November 2002). 
§10939. Prospective Payment System 

A. General Provisions (Effective January 1, 2003 and 
thereafter) 

1. Development. Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) 
providers shall be reimbursed a per diem rate for services 
provided under a prospective payment methodology. The 
system shall be designed in a manner that recognizes and 
reflects the cost of direct care services provided. The 
reimbursement methodology is designed to improve the 
quality of care for all adult day health care recipients by 
ensuring that direct care services are provided at an 
acceptable level while fairly reimbursing the providers. 

2. The prospective payment methodology establishes 
statewide rates for services provided with components for 
direct care costs, care related costs, administrative and 
operating costs, and property costs. 

3. Cost Centers 
a. Direct Care Costs. This component reimburses 

for in-house and contractual direct care staffing and fringe 
benefits and direct care supplies. 

b. Care Related Costs. This component reimburses 
for in-house and contractual salaries and fringe benefits for 
activity and social services staff, raw food costs and care 
related supplies for activities and social services. 

c. Administrative and Operating Costs. This 
component reimburses for in-house or contractual salaries 

and related benefits for administrative, dietary, housekeeping 
and maintenance staff. Also included are: 
 i. utilities; 
 ii. accounting; 
 iii. dietary; 
 iv. housekeeping and maintenance supplies; and 
 v. all other administrative and operating type 
expenditures. 

d. Property. This component reimburses for 
depreciation, interest on capital assets, lease expenses, 
property taxes and other expenses related to capital assets. 

4. Rate Setting 
a. Direct Care Costs. A statewide base rate for 

direct care is computed at 115 percent of the median facility 
per diem direct care costs submitted on all full year cost 
reports except those for which an audit disclaimer has been 
issued. Direct care costs are trended forward using the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI)CMedical Services. 

b. Care Related Costs. A statewide base rate for care 
related costs is computed at 105 percent of the median 
facility per diem care related costs submitted on all full year 
cost reports except those for which an audit disclaimer has 
been issued. Care related costs are trended forward using the 
CPICAll Items. 

c. Administrative and Operating Costs (OAC). A 
statewide base rate for administrative and operating costs is 
computed at 105 percent of the median facility per diem 
administrative and operating costs submitted on all 
acceptable cost reports except for those for which an audit 
disclaimer has been issued and are trended forward using the 
CPICAll Items. 

d. Property. The property rate is computed at the 
median of property costs submitted on all acceptable full 
year cost reports. Inflation will not be added to property 
costs.  

e. All trending shall be from the mid-point of the 
year preceding the cost report year to the midpoint of the 
year preceding the rate year. 

f. Application of an inflationary adjustment to 
reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply only 
when the legislature allocates funds for this purpose. 

5. Total Per Diem Rate. The per diem rate is the sum 
of the rate components.  

6. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component 
shall be subject to cost settlement. Should an ADHC 
facility=s cost report reveal that the provider did not expend 
an amount equal to 90 percent of the median cost trended 
forward for the year for direct care services, the Medicaid 
program will recover the difference between 90 percent of 
the median cost trended forward and the actual direct care 
amount expended. 

B. Cost Reporting 
1. Providers of adult day health care services are 

required to file annual cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. The annual cost reports are the basis for 
determining reimbursement rates. A copy of all reports and 
statistical data must be retained by the facility for no less 
than five years following the date reports are submitted to 
the Bureau. A chart of accounts and an accounting system on 
the accrual basis or converted at year end are required in the 
cost reporting preparation process. The Bureau or its 
designee will perform desk reviews of the cost reports. In 
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addition to the desk review, a representative number of the 
facilities shall be subject to a full-scope, annual on-site audit. 
All ADHC cost reports shall be filed with a fiscal year from 
July 1 through June 30. 

2. The cost reporting forms and instructions 
developed by the Bureau must be used by all ADHC 
facilities participating in the Louisiana Medicaid Program. 
Hospital based and other provider based ADHC which use 
Medicare forms for step down in completing their ADHC 
Medicaid cost reports must submit copies of the applicable 
Medicare cost report forms. All amounts must be rounded to 
the nearest dollar and must foot and cross foot. Only per 
diem cost amounts will not be rounded. Cost reports 
submitted that have not been rounded in accordance with 
this policy will be returned and will not be considered as 
received until they are resubmitted. 

3. Annual Reporting. Cost reports are to be filed on or 
before the last day of September following the close of the 
reporting period. Should the due date fall on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or an official state or federal holiday, the due date 
shall be the following business day. The cost report forms 
and schedules must be filed in duplicate together with two 
copies of the following documents: 

a. a working trial balance that includes the 
appropriate cost report line numbers to which each account 
can be traced. This may be done by writing the cost report 
category and line numbers by each ending balance or by 
running a trial balance in cost report category and line 
number order that totals the account; 

b. a depreciation schedule. If the facility has 
different book and Medicaid depreciation schedules, copies 
of both depreciation schedules must be submitted. If the 
facility has home office costs, copies of the home office 
depreciation schedules must also be submitted. All hospital 
based facilities must submit two copies of a depreciation 
schedule that clearly shows and totals assets that are hospital 
only, ADHC only and shared assets; 

c. an amortization schedule(s), if applicable; 
d. a schedule of adjustment and reclassification 

entries; 
e. a narrative description of purchased management 

services or a copy of contracts for managed services, if 
applicable; 

f. a narrative description or a copy of the contracts 
for management services provided by a related party or 
home office, a description of the basis used to allocate the 
costs to providers of the group and to nonprovider activities 
and copies of the cost allocation worksheet, if applicable. 
Costs included that are for related management/home office 
costs must also be reported on a separate cost report that 
includes an allocation schedule; 

g. all allocation worksheets must be submitted by 
hospital-based facilities. The Medicare worksheets that must 
be attached by facilities using the Medicare forms for 
allocation are:  
 i. A; 
 ii. A-6; 
 iii. A-7, Parts I, II, and III; 
 iv. A-8; 
 v. A-8-1; 
 vi. B, Part 1; and  
 vii. B-1. 

4. Each copy of the cost report must have the original 
signatures of an officer or facility administrator on the 
certification. The cost report and related documents must be 
submitted to the address indicated on the cost report 
instruction form. In order to avoid a penalty for delinquency, 
cost reports must be postmarked on or before the due date. 

5. When it is determined upon initial review for 
completeness that an incomplete or improperly completed 
cost report has been submitted, the provider will be notified. 
The provider will be allowed a specified amount of time to 
submit the requested information without incurring the 
penalty for a delinquent cost report. For cost reports that are 
submitted by the due date, 10 working days from the date of 
the provider=s receipt of the request for additional 
information will be allowed for the submission of the 
additional information. For cost reports that are submitted 
after the due date, five working days from the date of the 
provider=s receipt of the request for additional information 
will be allowed for the submission of the additional 
information. An exception exists in the event that the due 
date comes after the specified number of days for 
submission of the requested information. In these cases, the 
provider will be allowed to submit the additional requested 
information on or before the due date of the cost report. If 
requested additional information has not been submitted by 
the specified date, a second request for the information will 
be made. Requested information that is not received after the 
second request may not be subsequently submitted and shall 
not be considered for reimbursement purposes. An appeal of 
the disallowance of the costs associated with the requested 
information may not be made. Allowable costs will be 
adjusted to disallow any expenses or cost findings that are 
not submitted. 

6. Accounting Basis. The cost report must be prepared 
on the accrual basis of accounting. If a facility is on a cash 
basis, it will be necessary to convert from a cash basis to an 
accrual basis for cost reporting purposes. Particular attention 
must be given to an accurate accrual of all costs at the year 
end for the equitable distribution of costs to the applicable 
period. Care must be given to the proper allocation of costs 
for contracts to the period covered by such contracts. 
Amounts earned although not actually received and amounts 
owed to creditors but not paid must be included in the 
reporting period. 

7. Supporting Information. Providers are required to 
maintain adequate financial records and statistical data for 
proper determination of reimbursable costs. Financial and 
statistical records must be maintained by the facility for five 
years from the date the cost report is submitted to the 
Bureau. Cost information must be current, accurate and in 
sufficient detail to support amounts reported in the cost 
report. This includes all ledgers, journals, records, and 
original evidences of cost (canceled checks, purchase orders, 
invoices, vouchers, inventories, time cards, payrolls, bases 
for apportioning costs, etc.) that pertain to the reported costs. 
Census data reported on the cost report must be supportable 
by daily census records. Such information must be adequate 
and available for auditing. 

8. Nonacceptable Descriptions. "Miscellaneous," 
"Other" and "Various," without further detailed explanation, 
are not acceptable descriptions for cost reporting purposes. If 
any of these are used as descriptions in the cost report, a 
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request for information will not be made and the related line 
item expense will be automatically disallowed. The provider 
will not be allowed to submit the proper detail of the 
expense at a later date, and an appeal of the disallowance of 
the costs may not be made. (See §10939.B.10.c.xliii) 

9. Exceptions. Limited exceptions to the cost report 
requirements will be considered on an individual provider 
basis upon written request from the provider to the Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, Rate and Audit Review 
Section. If an exception is allowed, providers must attach a 
statement describing fully the nature of the exception for 
which prior written permission was requested and granted. 
Exceptions which may be allowed with written approval are 
as follows. 

a. For the initial reporting period only, the provider 
may allocate costs to the various cost centers on a reasonable 
basis if the required itemized cost breakdown is not 
available. 

b. If the center has been purchased, leased or has 
effected major changes in the accounting system as an on-
going concern within the reporting period, a partial year cost 
report may be filed in lieu of the required 12-month report. 

c. If the center experiences unavoidable difficulties 
in preparing the cost report by the prescribed due date, an 
extension may be requested prior to the due date. Requests 
for exception must contain a full statement of the cause of 
the difficulties that rendered timely preparation of the cost 
report impossible. 

10. Cost Categories Included in the Cost Report 
a. Direct Care (DC) Costs 

 i. Salaries, AidesCgross salaries of certified 
nurse aides and nurse aides in training. 
 ii. Salaries, LPNsCgross salaries of non-
supervisory licensed practical nurses and graduate practical 
nurses. 
 iii. Salaries, RNsCgross salaries of non-
supervisory registered nurses and graduate nurses (excluding 
director of nursing and resident assessment instrument 
coordinator). 
 iv. Salaries, Social ServicesCgross salaries of 
non-supervisory licensed social services personnel providing 
medically needed social services to attain or maintain the 
highest practicable physical, mental, or psychosocial well 
being of the residents. 
 v. Salaries, ActivitiesCgross salaries of non-
supervisory activities/recreational personnel providing an 
ongoing program of activities designed to meet, in 
accordance with the comprehensive assessment, the interest 
and the physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of the 
residents. 
 vi. Payroll TaxesCcost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for direct care employees. 
 vii. Group Insurance, DCCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for direct care employees. 
 viii. Pensions, DCCcost of employer's contribution 
to employee pensions for direct care employees. 
 ix. Uniform Allowance, DCCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for direct care 
employees. 

 x. Worker's Comp, DCCcost of worker's 
compensation insurance for direct care employees. 
 xi. Contract, AidesCcost of aides through contract 
that are not facility employees. 
 xii. Contract, LPNsCcost of LPNs and graduate 
practical nurses hired through contract that are not facility 
employees. 
 xiii. Contract, RNsCcost of RNs and graduate 
nurses hired through contract that are not facility employees. 
 xiv. Drugs, Over-the-Counter and LegendCcost of 
over-the-counter and legend drugs provided by the facility to 
its residents. This is for drugs not covered by Medicaid. 
 xv. Medical SuppliesCcost of patient-specific 
items of medical supplies such as catheters, syringes and 
sterile dressings. 
 xvi. Medical Waste DisposalCcost of medical waste 
disposal including storage containers and disposal costs. 
 xvii. Other Supplies, DCCcost of items used in the 
direct care of residents which are not patient-specific such as 
prep supplies, alcohol pads, betadine solution in bulk, tongue 
depressors, cotton balls, thermometers, and blood pressure 
cuffs. 
 xviii. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCthe amount 
of costs that have been allocated through the step-down 
process from a hospital or state institution as direct care 
costs when those costs include allocated overhead. 
 xix. Total Direct Care CostsCsum of the above line 
items. 

b. Care Related Costs 
 i. SalariesCgross salaries for care related 
supervisory staff including supervisors or directors over 
nursing, social service and activities/recreation. 
 ii. Salaries, DietaryCgross salaries of kitchen 
personnel including dietary supervisors, cooks, helpers and 
dishwashers. 
 iii. Payroll TaxesCcost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for care related employees. 
 iv. Group Insurance, CRCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for care related employees. 
 v. Pensions, CRCcost of employer's contribution 
to employee pensions for care related employees. 
 vi. Uniform Allowance, CRCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for care related 
employees. 
 vii. Worker's Comp, CRCcost of worker's 
compensation insurance for care related employees. 
 viii. Barber and Beauty ExpenseCthe cost of barber 
and beauty services provided to patients for which no 
charges are made. 
 ix. Consultant Fees, ActivitiesCfees paid to 
activities personnel, not on the facility=s payroll, for 
providing advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 x. Consultant Fees, NursingCfees paid to nursing 
personnel, not on the facility=s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xi. Consultant Fees, PharmacyCfees paid to a 
registered pharmacist, not on the facility=s payroll, for 
providing advisory and educational services to the facility. 
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 xii. Consultant Fees, Social WorkerCfees paid to a 
social worker, not on the facility=s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xiii. Consultant Fees, TherapistsCfees paid to a 
licensed therapist, not on the facility=s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xiv. Food, RawCcost of food products used to 
provide meals and snacks to residents. Hospital based 
facilities must allocate food based on the number of meals 
served. 
 xv. Food, SupplementsCcost of food products 
given in addition to normal meals and snacks under a 
doctor's orders. Hospital based facilities must allocate food-
supplements based on the number of meals served. 
 xvi. Supplies, CRCthe costs of supplies used for 
rendering care related services to the patients of the facility. 
All personal care related items such as shampoo and soap 
administered by all staff must be included on this line. 
 xvii. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCthe amount 
of costs that have been allocated through the step-down 
process from a hospital or state institution as care related 
costs when those costs include allocated overhead. 
 xviii. Total Care Related CostsCthe sum of the care 
related cost line items. 

c. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC) 
 i. Salaries, AdministratorCgross salary of 
administrators excluding owners. Hospital based facilities 
must attach a schedule of the administrator's salary before 
allocation, the allocation method, and the amount allocated 
to the nursing facility. 
 ii. Salaries, Assistant AdministratorCgross salary 
of assistant administrators excluding owners. 
 iii. Salaries, HousekeepingCgross salaries of 
housekeeping personnel including housekeeping supervisors, 
maids and janitors. 
 iv. Salaries, LaundryCgross salaries of laundry 
personnel. 
 v. Salaries, MaintenanceCgross salaries of 
personnel involved in operating and maintaining the physical 
plant, including maintenance personnel or plant engineers. 
 vi. Salaries, DriversCgross salaries of personnel 
involved in transporting clients to and from the facility. 
 vii. Salaries, Other AdministrativeCgross salaries 
of other administrative personnel including bookkeepers, 
receptionists, administrative assistants and other office and 
clerical personnel. 
 viii. Salaries, Owner or Owner/AdministratorC 
gross salaries of all owners of the facility that are paid 
through the facility. 
 ix. Payroll TaxesCcost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for administrative and 
operating employees. 
 x. Group Insurance, AOCCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for administrative and operating employees. 
 xi. Pensions, AOCCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee pensions for administration and 
operating employees. 

 xii. Uniform Allowance, AOCCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for administration and 
operating employees. 
 xiii. Worker's Compensation, AOCCcost of 
worker's compensation insurance for administration and 
operating employees. 
 xiv. Contract, DietaryCcost of dietary services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not emp loyees of 
the facility. 
 xv. Contract, HousekeepingCcost of housekeeping 
services and personnel hired through contract that are not 
employees of the facility. 
 xvi. Contract, LaundryCcost of laundry services 
and personnel hired through contract that are not employees 
of the facility. 
 xvii. Contract, MaintenanceCcost of maintenance 
services and persons hired through contract that are not 
employees of the facility. 
 xviii. Consultant Fees, DieticianCfees paid to 
consulting registered dieticians. 
 xix. Accounting FeesCfees incurred for the 
preparation of the cost report, audits of financial records, 
bookkeeping, tax return preparation of the adult day health 
care facility and other related services excluding personal 
tax planning and personal tax return preparation. 
 xx.  Amortization Expense, Non-CapitalCcosts 
incurred for legal and other expenses when organizing a 
corporation must be amortized over a period of 60 months. 
Amortization of costs attributable to the negotiation or 
settlement of the sale or purchase of any capital asset on or 
after July 18, 1984, whether by acquisition or merger, for 
which any payment has previously been made are non-
allowable costs. If allowable cost is reported on this line, an 
amortization schedule must be submitted with the cost 
report. 
 xxi. Bank Service ChargesCfees paid to banks for 
service charges, excluding penalties and insufficient funds 
charges. 
 xxii. Dietary SuppliesCcosts of consumable items 
such as soap, detergent, napkins, paper cups, straws, etc., 
used in the dietary department. 
 xxiii. DuesCdues to one organization are allowable. 
 xxiv. Educational Seminars and TrainingCthe 
registration cost for attending educational seminars and 
training by employees of the facility and costs incurred in 
the provision of in-house training for facility staff, excluding 
owners or administrative personnel 
 xxv. Housekeeping SuppliesCcost of consumable 
housekeeping items including waxes, cleaners, soap, brooms 
and lavatory supplies. 
 xxvi. Insurance, Professional Liability and 
OtherCincludes the costs of insuring the facility against 
injury and malpractice claims and the cost of vehicle 
insurance. 
 xxvii. Interest Expense, Non-Capital and 
VehiclesCinterest paid on short term borrowing for facility 
operations and on vehicle loans. 
 xxviii. Laundry SuppliesCcost of consumable goods 
used in the laundry including soap, detergent, starch and 
bleach. 
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 xxix. Legal FeesConly actual and reasonable 
attorney fees incurred for non-litigation legal services related 
to patient care are allowed. 
 xxx. Linen SuppliesCcost of sheets, blankets, 
pillows, gowns, underpads and diapers (reusable and 
disposable). 
 xxxi. MiscellaneousCcosts incurred in providing 
facility services that cannot be assigned to any other line 
item on the cost report. Examples of miscellaneous expense 
are small equipment purchases, all employees = physicals and 
shots, nominal gifts to all employees, such as a turkey or 
ham at Christmas, allowable advertising, and flowers 
purchased for the enjoyment of the clients. Items reported on 
this line must be specifically identified. 
 xxxii. Management Fees and Home Office CostsCthe 
cost of purchased management services or home office costs 
incurred that are allocable to the provider. Costs included 
that are for related management/home office costs  must also 
be reported on a separate cost report that includes an 
allocation schedule. 
 xxxiii. Non-Emergency Medical TransportationCthe 
cost of purchased non-emergency medical transportation 
services including, but not limited to, payments to 
employees for use of personal vehicle, ambulance 
companies and other transportation companies for 
transporting patients of the facility. 
 xxxiv. Office Supplies and SubscriptionsCcost of 
consumable goods used in the business office such as 
pencils, paper and computer supplies; cost of printing forms 
and stationery including but not limited to, nursing and 
medical forms, accounting and census forms, charge tickets, 
facility letterhead and billing forms; cost of subscribing to 
newspapers, magazines and periodicals. 
 xxxv. PostageCcost of postage, including stamps, 
metered postage, freight charges and courier services. 
 xxxvi. Repairs and MaintenanceCsupplies and 
services, including electricians, plumbers, extended service 
agreements, etc., used to repair and maintain the facility 
building, furniture and equipment except vehicles. This 
includes computer software maintenance. 
 xxxvii. Taxes and LicensesCthe cost of taxes and 
licenses paid that are not included on any other line on Form 
6. This includes tags for vehicles, licenses for facility staff 
(including nurse aide re -certifications) and buildings. 
 xxxviii. Telephone and CommunicationsCcost of 
telephone services, WATS lines and fax services. 
 xxxix.  TravelCcost of travel (airfare, lodging, meals, 
etc.) by the administrator and other authorized personnel to 
attend professional and continuing educational seminars and 
meetings or to conduct facility business. Commuting 
expenses and travel allowances are not allowable. 
 xl. Vehicle ExpensesCvehicle maintenance and 
supplies, including gas and oil. 
 xli. UtilitiesCcost of water, sewer, gas, electric, 
cable TV and garbage collection services. 
 xlii. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCcosts that 
have been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital as administrative and operating costs. 
 xliii. Total Administrative and Operating Costs 

d. Property and Equipment 
 i. Amortization Expense, CapitalC legal and other 
costs incurred when financing the facility must be amortized 

over the life of the mortgage. Amortization of goodwill is 
not an allowable cost. Amortization of costs attributable to 
the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any 
capital asset on or after July 18, 1984, whether by 
acquisition or merger, for which any payment has previously 
been made are non-allowable costs. If allowable cost is 
reported on this line, an amortization schedule must be 
submitted with the cost report. 
 ii. DepreciationCdepreciation on the facility=s 
buildings, furniture, equipment, leasehold improvements and 
land improvements. 
 iii. Interest Expense, CapitalC interest paid or 
accrued on notes, mortgages, and other loans, the proceeds 
of which were used to purchase the facility=s land, buildings 
and/or furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 
 iv. Property InsuranceCcost of fire and casualty 
insurance on facility buildings and equipment, excluding 
vehicles. Hospital-based facilities and state-owned facilities 
must allocate property insurance based on the number of 
square feet. 
 v. Property TaxesCtaxes levied on the facility=s 
buildings and equipment, excluding vehicles. Hospital based 
facilities and state owned facilities must allocate property 
insurance based on the number of square feet. 
 vi. Rent, BuildingCcost of leasing the facility=s 
real property. 
 vii. Rent, Furniture and EquipmentCcost of leasing 
the facility=s furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 
 viii. Lease, AutomotiveCcost of leases for vehicles 
used for patient care. A mileage log must be maintained. If a 
leased vehicle is used for both patient care and personal 
purposes, cost must be allocated based on the mileage log. 
 ix. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCcosts that 
have been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital or state institution as property costs when those 
costs include allocated overhead. 
 x. Total Property and Equipment. 

11. Non-Allowable Costs. Costs that are not based on 
the reasonable cost of services covered under Medicare and 
are not related to the care of beneficiaries are considered 
non-allowable costs. 

a. Reasonable cost does  not include the following: 
 i. costs not related to client care; 
 ii. costs specifically not reimbursed under the 
program;  
 iii. costs that flow from the provision of luxury 
items or services (items or services substantially in excess or 
more expensive than those generally considered necessary 
for the provision of the care);  
 iv. costs that are found to be substantially out of 
line with other centers that are similar in size, scope of 
services and other relevant factors; 
 v. cost exceeding what a prudent and cost-
conscious buyer would incur to purchase the goods or 
services. 

b. General non-allowable costs: 
 i. services for which Medicaid recipients are 
charged a fee; 
 ii. depreciation of non-client care assets; 
 iii. services that are reimbursable by other state or 
federally funded programs; 
 iv. goods or services unrelated to client care; 
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 v. unreasonable costs. 
c. Specific Non-Allowable Costs (This is not an all 

inclusive listing.) 
 i. Advertising-costs of advertising to the general 
public that seeks to increase patient utilization of the ADHC 
center. 
 ii. Bad DebtsCaccounts receivable that are 
written off as not collectible. 
 iii. ContributionsCamounts donated to charitable 
or other organizations. 
 iv. Courtesy allowances. 
 v. Director's fees. 
 vi. Educational costs for clients. 
 vii. Gifts. 
 viii. Goodwill or interest (debt service) on goodwill. 
 ix. Costs of income producing items such as fund 
raising costs, promotional advertising, or public relations 
costs and other income producing items. 
 x. Income taxes, state and federal taxes on net 
income levied or expected to be levied by the federal or state 
government. 
 xi. Insurance, OfficersCcost of insurance on 
officers and key employees of the center when the insurance 
is not provided to all employees. 
 xii. Judgments or settlements of any kind. 
 xiii. Lobbying costs or political contributions, either 
directly or through a trade organization. 
 xiv. Non-client entertainment. 
 xv. Non-Medicaid Related Care CostsCcosts 
allocated to portions of a facility that are not licensed as the 
reporting ADHC or are not certified to participate in Title 
XIX. 
 xvi. Officers' life insurance with the center or 
owner as beneficiary. 
 xvii. Payments to the parent organization or other 
related party. 
 xviii. Penalties and SanctionsCpenalties and 
sanctions assessed by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services, the Internal Revenue Services or the 
State Tax Commission; insufficient funds charges. 
 xix. Personal comfort items. 
 xx.  Personal use of vehicles. 

C. Provider Reimbursement  
1. Cost Determination Definitions 

a. Indices 
 i. CPI, All ItemsCthe Consumer Price Index for 
All Urban ConsumersBSouth Region (All items line) as 
published by the United States Department of Labor. 
 ii. CPI, Medical ServicesCthe Consumer Price 
Index for All Urban ConsumersBSouth Region (Medical 
Services line) as published by the United States Department 
of Labor. 

b. Adjustment FactorsCthe adjustment factor is 
computed by dividing the value of the index for December 
of the year preceding the rate year by the value of the index 
one year earlier (December of the second preceding year). 

c. Rate YearCthe rate year is the period from July 1 
through June 30 of the next calendar year. It corresponds 
with the state fiscal year. 

d. Base RateCthe base rate is the rate calculated in 
accordance with §10939.C.2.e plus any base rate 
adjustments granted in accordance with §10939.C.2.g of this 

section which are in effect at the time of calculation of new 
rates or adjustments. 

e. Base Rate ComponentsCthe base rate is the 
summation of the following: 
 i. Direct Care. 
 ii. Care Related Costs. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Costs. 
 iv. Property Costs. 

2. Rate Determination 
a. Calculation of Base RateCrates are calculated 

from cost report data. Allowable costs include those costs 
incurred by providers to conform to state licensure and 
federal certification standards. General cost principles are 
applied during the desk review and audit process to 
determine allowable costs. These general cost principles 
include determining whether the cost is ordinary, necessary, 
and related to delivery of care; the cost is what a prudent and 
cost conscious business person would pay for the specific 
goods or services in the open market in an arm's length 
transaction; and the cost is for goods or services actually 
provided to the center. Through the desk review and audit 
process, adjustments and/or disallowances may be made to a 
provider=s reported costs. "HIM-15," the Medicare Provider 
Reimbursement Manual, is the final authority for allowable 
costs unless the Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals has set a more restrictive policy. 

b. Audited and desk reviewed costs for each 
component are ranked by facility to determine the value of 
each component at the median. 

c. The median costs for each component are 
multiplied in accordance with §10939.A.4 then by the 
appropriate economic adjustment factors for each successive 
year to determine base rate components. For subsequent 
years, the components thus computed become the base rate 
components to be multiplied by the appropriate economic 
adjustment factors, unless they are adjusted as provided in 
§10939.C.2.g. Application of an inflationary adjustment to 
reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply only 
when the state legislature allocates funds for this purpose. 
The inflationary adjustment shall be made prorating 
allocated funds based on the weight of the rate components. 

d. The inflated median shall be increased to 
establish the base rate component as follows. 
 i. The inflated direct care median shall be 
multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 
 ii. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 
 iii. The administrative and operating median shall 
be multiplied times 105 percent to establish the 
administrative and operating base rate component. 

e. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

f. Formulae. Each cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 
 i. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
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be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
Medical Services. The direct care rate component shall be 
set at 115 percent of the inflated median. 
 ii. Care Related Cost Component. Care related per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
All Items. The care related rate component shall be set at 
105 percent of the inflated median. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Cost 
Component. Administrative and operating per diem cost 
from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be arrayed 
from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the midpoint 
of the array shall be the median cost. Should there be an 
even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint 
centers shall be the median cost. The median cost shall be 
trended forward by dividing the value of the CPICAll Items 
index for December of the year preceding the rate year by 
the value of the index for the December of the year 
preceding the cost report year. The administrative and 
operating rate component shall be set at 105 percent of the 
inflated median. 
 iv. Property Cost ComponentCProperty. The 
property per diem costs from all acceptable full year cost 
reports shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of 
the center at the midpoint of the array shall be the median 
cost. This will be the rate component. Inflation will not be 
added to property costs. 

g. Parameters and Limitations 
 i. Method of Calculation. All calculations 
described in this methodology shall be carried out 
algebraically. 
 ii. Rounding. In all calculations, the base rate and 
the base rate components will be rounded to the nearest one 
hundredth of a dollar (cent) and the economic adjustment 
factors will be rounded to four decimal places. 

h. Interim Adjustments to Rates. If an unanticipated 
change in conditions occurs that affects the cost of at least 
50 percent of the enrolled ADHC providers by an average of 
5 percent or more, the rate may be changed. The Bureau will 
determine whether or not the rates should be changed when 
requested to do so by 25 percent or more of the enrolled 
providers, or an organization representing at least 25 percent 
of the enrolled providers. The burden of proof as to the 
extent and cost effect of the unanticipated change will rest 
with the entities requesting the change. The Bureau, 
however, may initiate a rate change without a request to do 
so. Changes to the rates may be one of two types; temporary 
adjustments or base rate adjustments as described below. 
 i. Temporary Adjustment. Temporary 
adjustments do not affect the base rate used to calculate new 
rates. 

(a). Changes reflected in the economic 
indicesCtemporary adjustments may be made when changes 
which will eventually be reflected in the economic indices, 
such as a change in the minimum wage, a change in FICA or 
a utility rate change, occur after the end of the period 

covered by the indices, i.e., after the December preceding 
the rate calculation. Temporary adjustments are effective 
only until the next annual base rate calculation. 

(b). Lump Sum Adjustments. Lump sum 
adjustments may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment requires a substantial financial outlay, such as a 
change in certification standards mandating additional 
equipment or furnishings. Such adjustments shall be subject 
to the Bureau=s review and approval of costs prior to 
reimbursement. 
 ii. Base Rate Adjustment. A base rate adjustment 
will result in a new base rate component value that will be 
used to calculate the new rate for the next fiscal year. A base 
rate adjustment may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment is not one that would be reflected in the indices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:2356 (November 2002). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0211#090 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Prior Authorization Process 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This final Rule is adopted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing implements 
a prior authorization process with a preferred drug list for 
certain designated drugs covered under the Medicaid 
Pharmacy Benefits Management Program. The following 
provisions shall govern coverage for prescribed medications 
and/or supplies. 

A. General Provisions 
The medication must be prescribed by a practitioner 

who is authorized to prescribe under state law. The National 
Drug Code (NDC) must be shown on each pharmacy claim 
form for reimbursement of prescription drugs subject to 
rebates from manufacturers as mandated by federal law and 
regulations.  

B. Covered Drugs 
Coverage of drugs shall be limited to specific drug 

products authorized for reimbursement by therapeutic 
category and listed by generic name, strength/unit, NDC, 
and brand name. Those drug products subject to mandatory 
coverage as a result of a rebate agreement with the federal 
government will be covered until written notice is received 
from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that 
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coverage will be terminated. Providers will be given prior 
notice of termination of coverage as required under federal 
regulations. 

C. Prior Authorization with a Preferred Drug List 
As authorized by R.S. 46:153.3.B.(2)(a) and pursuant to 

42 U.S.C. s1396r-8, a prior authorization process is 
established which utilizes a preferred drug list (PDL) for 
selected therapeutic classes. Drugs included on the PDL are 
automatically prior authorized. Drugs in those classes that 
are not included on the PDL shall require prescribers to 
obtain prior authorization. Providers will be notified of the 
drugs selected for placement on the PDL by selected 
therapeutic classes prior to implementation of the prior 
authorization process and as additional drugs are 
subsequently added to the list. Lists of covered drug 
products, including those that require prior authorization, 
will be maintained in either the Prescription Drug Services 
Manual, other designated service provider manuals, on the 
Louisiana Medicaid web site or provider notices. 

The prior authorization process provides for a turn-
around response by either telephone, mail or electronic 
communication within 24 hours of receipt of a prior 
authorization request. In emergency situations, providers 
may dispense at least a 72 hour supply of medication as 
mandated by R.S. 46:153.3.B.(2)(a) and pursuant to 42 
U.S.C. s1396r-8. 

The Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee will 
make recommendations to the Department regarding drugs 
to be considered for prior authorization. The composition of 
and appointment to the Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics 
Committee complies with R.S. 46:153.3.D and 42 
U.S.C.s1396r-8. 

D. Drugs Excluded from Coverage 
As provided by Section 1927(d)(2) of the Social 

Security Act, the following drugs are excluded from program 
coverage: 

1. experimental drugs; 
2. anorexics; 
3. cough and cold preparations; 
4. cosmetic drugs; 
5. compounded prescriptions (mixtures of two or 

more ingredientsCthe individual drugs will continue to be 
reimbursed); 

6. medications which are included in the 
reimbursement to a facility, i.e., hospitals, skilled nursing 
facility for recipients receiving benefits under Part A of Title 
XVIII, mental hospitals, or some other nursing facilities; 

7. non-legend drugs with some exceptions; 
8. fertility drugs when used for fertility treatment; 
9. vaccines covered in other programs; and 
10. DESI Drugs (see E. below). 

E. DESI Drugs 
Those drugs that are subject to a Notice of Opportunity 

for Hearing (NOOH), as prescribed by Section 
1927(k)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act, for which the Food 
and Drug Administration has proposed to withdraw from the 
market because they are "less than effective" or "identical, 
related, or similar drugs", and are identified as DESI 
ineffective drugs shall be excluded from coverage. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule shall be contingent 
upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0211#091 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 60CAdvertising of Life Insurance 
(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 41) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 
22:1 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Insurance amends its existing Regulation 60 
relating to the Advertising of Life Insurance. 

The amendments are necessary to facilitate regulatory 
efforts related to advertising over the Internet and other mass 
communication media, to include additional policy element 
definitions and to provide for related matters. The 
amendments affect the following Sections: §§4103, 4105, 
4107, 4109, 4111, 4115, 4117 and 4123. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 41. Regulation 60: Advertising of Life 

Insurance 
§4103. Definitions 

AdvertisementC 
1. material designed to create public interest in life 

insurance or annuities or in an insurer, or in an insurance 
producer; or to induce the public to purchase, increase, 
modify, reinstate, borrow on, surrender, replace, or retain a 
policy including: 

a. printed and published material, audiovisual 
material, and descriptive literature of an insurer or insurance 
producer used in direct mail, newspapers, magazines, radio 
and television scripts, billboards, similar displays, the 
Internet or any other mass communication media; 

b. descriptive literature and sales aids of all kinds, 
authored by the insurer, its insurance producers, or third 
parties, issued, distributed, or used by such insurer or 
insurance producer including, but not limited to, circulars, 
leaflets, booklets, web pages, depictions, illustrations, and 
form letters; 

c. material used for the recruitment, training, and 
education of an insurer’s insurance producers which is 
designed to be used or is used to induce the public to 
purchase, increase, modify, reinstate, borrow on, surrender, 
replace, or retain a policy; 

d. prepared sales talks, presentations, and material 
for use by insurance producers. 

2. Advertisement, for the purpose of these Rules shall 
not include: 

a. communications or materials used within an 
insurer's own organization and not intended for 
dissemination to the public; 
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b. communications with policyholders other than 
material urging policyholders to purchase, increase, modify, 
reinstate, or retain a policy; 

c. a general announcement from a group or blanket 
policyholder to eligible individuals on an employment or 
membership list that a policy or program has been written or 
arranged; provided the announcement clearly indicates that it 
is preliminary to the issuance of a booklet explaining the 
proposed coverage. 

Department or Department of InsuranceCthe Louisiana 
Department of Insurance. 

Determinable Policy ElementsCelements that are derived 
from processes or methods that are guaranteed at issue and 
not subject to company discretion, but where the values or 
amounts cannot be determined until some point after issue. 
These elements include the premiums, credited interest rates 
(including any bonus), benefits, values, non-interest based 
credits, charges or elements of formulas used to determine 
any of these. These elements may be described as guaranteed 
but not determined at issue. An element is considered 
determinable if it was calculated from underlying 
determinable policy elements only, or from both 
determinable and guaranteed policy elements. 

Guaranteed Policy ElementsCthe premiums, benefits, 
values, credits or charges under a policy, or elements of 
formulas used to determine any of these that are guaranteed 
and determined at issue. 

Insurance ProducerCa person (as defined in R.S. 
22:1212.D) solicits, negotiates, effects, procures, delivers, 
renews, continues, or binds policies of insurance for risks 
residing, located, or intended for issuance in this state. 

InsurerCincludes any individual, corporation, association, 
partnership, reciprocal exchange, inter-insurer, Lloyd's, 
Fraternal Benefit Society, and any other legal entity which is 
defined as an insurer in the Louisiana Insurance Code or 
issues life insurance or annuities in this state and is engaged 
in the advertisement of a policy. 

Nonguaranteed Policy ElementsCthe premiums, credited 
interest rates (including any bonus) benefits, values, non-
interest based credits, charges, or elements that are subject to 
company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An 
element is considered nonguaranteed if any of the 
underlying nonguaranteed elements are used in its 
calculation. Policy includes any policy, plan, certificate, 
including a fraternal benefit certificate, contract, agreement, 
statement of coverage, rider, or endorsement which provides 
for life insurance or annuity benefits. 

Pre-Need Funeral Contract or PrearrangementCan 
agreement by or for an individual before the individual's 
death relating to the purchase or provision of specific funeral 
or cemetery merchandise or services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2363 (November 2002). 
§4105. Applicability 

A. These rules shall apply to any life insurance or 
annuity advertisement intended for dissemination in this 
state. In variable contracts where disclosure requirements are 
established pursuant to federal regulation, this regulation 
shall be interpreted so as to eliminate conflict with federal 
regulation. 

B. Every insurer shall establish, and at all times 
maintain, a system of control over the content, form, and 
method of dissemination of all advertisements of its policies. 
A system of control shall include regular and routine 
notification, at least once a year, to producers and others 
authorized by the insurer to disseminate advertisements of 
the requirement and procedures for company approval prior 
to the use of any advertisements that is not furnished by the 
insurer and that clearly sets forth within the notice the most 
serious consequence of not obtaining the required prior 
approval. All such advertisements, regardless of by whom 
written, created, designed, or presented, shall be the 
responsibility of the insurer, as well as the producer who 
created or presented the advertisement, provided the insurer 
shall not be responsible for advertisements that are published 
in violation of written procedures or guidelines of the 
insurer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2364 (November 2002). 
§4107. Form and Content of Advertisements 

A. … 
B. No advertisement shall use the terms investment, 

investment plan, founder's plan, charter plan, deposit, 
expansion plan, profit, profits, profit sharing, interest plan, 
savings, savings plan, private pension plan, retirement plan 
or other similar terms in connection with a policy in a 
context or under such circumstances or conditions as to have 
the capacity or tendency to mislead a purchaser or 
prospective purchaser of such policy to believe that he will 
receive, or that it is possible that he will receive, something 
other than a policy or some benefit not available to other 
persons of the same class and equal expectation of life. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2364 (November 2002). 
§4109. Disclosure Requirements 

A. - C. … 
D. An advertisement shall not use as the name or title of 

a life insurance policy any phrase which does not include the 
words life insurance unless accompanied by other language 
clearly indicating it is life insurance. An advertisement shall 
not use as the name or title of an annuity contract any phrase 
that does not include the word "annuity" unless accompanied 
by other language clearly indicating it is an annuity. An 
annuity advertisement shall not refer to an annuity as a CD 
annuity, or deceptively compare an annuity to a certificate of 
deposit. 

E. - F. … 
G. An advertisement for a life insurance policy 

containing graded or modified benefits shall prominently 
display any limitation of benefits. If the premium is level 
and coverage decreases or increases with age or duration, 
such fact shall be prominently disclosed. An advertisement 
of or for a life insurance policy under which the death 
benefit varies with the length of time the policy has been in 
force shall accurately describe and clearly call attention to 
the amount of minimum death benefit under the policy. 

H. … 
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I. Premiums  
1. - 4. … 
5. An advertisement shall not represent in any way 

that premium payments will not be required for each year of 
the policy in order to maintain the illustrated death benefits, 
unless that is the fact. 

6. An advertisement shall not use the term "vanish" or 
"vanishing premium," or a similar term that implies the 
policy becomes paid up, to describe a plan using 
nonguaranteed elements to pay a portion of future premiums. 

J. Analogies between a life insurance policy's cash 
values and savings accounts or other investments and 
between premium payments and contributions to savings 
accounts or other investments must be complete and 
accurate. An advertisement shall not emphasize the 
investment or tax features of a life insurance policy to such a 
degree that the advertisement would mislead the purchaser 
to believe the policy is anything other than life insurance. 

K. - M. … 
N. No insurance producer may use terms such as 

financial planner, investment advisor, financial consultant , 
or financial counseling in such a way as to imply that he or 
she is generally engaged in an advisory business in which 
compensation is unrelated to sales, unless such actually is 
the case. This provision is not intended to preclude persons 
who hold some form of formal recognized financial planning 
or consultant designation from using this designation even 
when they are only selling insurance. This provision also is 
not intended to preclude persons who are members of a 
recognized trade or professional association having such 
terms as part of its name from citing membership, providing 
that a person citing membership, if authorized only to sell 
insurance products, shall disclose that fact. This provision 
does not permit persons to charge an additional fee for 
services that are customarily associated with the solicitation, 
negotiation or servicing of policies. 

O. Nonguaranteed Policy Elements 
1. - 5. … 
6. An advertisement shall not use or describe 

determinable policy elements in a manner that is misleading 
or has the capacity or tendency to mislead. 

7. An advertisement may describe determinable policy 
elements as guaranteed but not determinable at issue. This 
description should include an explanation of how these 
elements operate, and their limitations, if any. 

8. An advertisement may not state or imply that 
illustrated dividends under either or both a participating 
policy or pure endowment will be or can be sufficient at any 
future time to assure without the future payment of 
premiums, the receipt of benefits, such as a paid-up policy, 
unless the advertisement clearly and precisely explains the 
benefits or coverage provided at that time and the conditions 
required for that to occur.  

P. … 
Q. Testimonials, Appraisals, Analysis, or Endorsements 

by Third Parties 
1. - 3. … 
4. When an endorsement refers to benefits received 

under a policy for a specific claim, the claim date, including

claim number, date of loss and other pertinent information 
shall be retained by the insurer for inspection for a period of 
five years after the discontinuance of its use or publication. 

R. - S.3. ... 
T. Introductory, Initial or Special Offers and Enrollment 

Periods 
1. - 2. … 
3. An advertisement shall not offer a policy which 

utilizes a reduced initial premium rate in a manner which 
overemphasizes the availability and the amount of the 
reduced initial premium. A reduced initial or first year 
premium may not be described as constituting free insurance 
for a period of time. When an insurer charges an initial 
premium that differs in amount from the amount of the 
renewal premium payable on the same mode, all references 
to the reduced initial premium shall be followed by an 
asterisk or other appropriate symbol which refers the reader 
to that specific portion of the advertisement which contains 
the full rate schedule for the policy being advertised. 

T.4. - W.3. … 
4. Any illustrations, depictions or statements 

containing or based on determinable policy elements shall 
likewise set forth with equal prominence comparable 
illustrations, depictions or statements containing or based on 
guaranteed policy elements. 

X. An advertisement of a life insurance policy or annuity 
that illustrates nonguaranteed values shall only do so in 
accordance with current applicable state law relative to 
illustrating such values for life and annuity contracts. 

Y. An advertisement for the solicitation or sale of a  
pre-need funeral contract or prearrangement, as defined in 
§4103.H, which is funded or to be funded by a life insurance 
policy or annuity contract shall adequately disclose the 
following: 

1. … 
2. the nature of the relationship among the insurance 

producers, the provider of the funeral or cemetery 
merchandise or services, the administrator and any other 
person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1225 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2364 (November 2002). 
§4111. Identity of Insurer 

A. The name of the insurer shall be clearly identified in 
all advertisements, and if any specific individual policy is 
advertised, it shall be identified either by form number or 
other appropriate description. If an application is a part of 
the advertisement, the name of the insurer shall be shown on 
the application. However, if an advertisement contains a 
listing of rates or features that is a composite of several 
different policies or contracts of different insurers, the 
advertisement shall so state, shall indicate, if applicable, that 
not all policies or contracts on which the composite is based 
may be available in all states, and shall provide a rating of 
the lowest rated insurer and reference the rating agency, but 
need not identify each insurer. If an advertisement identifies 
the issuing insurers, insurance issuer ratings need not be
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stated. An advertisement shall not use a trade name, an 
insurance group designation, name of the parent company of 
the insurer, name of a particular division of the insurer, 
service mark, slogan, symbol, or other device or reference 
without disclosing the name of the insurer, if the 
advertisement would have the capacity or tendency to 
mislead or deceive as to the true identity of the insurer or 
create the impression that a comp any other than the insurer 
would have any responsibility for the financial obligation 
under a policy. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1228 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2365 (November 2002). 
§4115. Statements about the Insurer 

A. An advertisement shall not contain statements, 
pictures or illustrations which are false or misleading, in fact 
or by implication, with respect to the assets, liabilities, 
insurance in force, corporate structure, financial condition, 
age or relative position of the insurer in the insurance 
business. An advertisement shall not contain a 
recommendation by any commercial rating system unless it 
clearly defines the scope and extent of the recommendation, 
including but not limited to, placement of insurer’s rating in 
the hierarchy of the rating system cited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1228 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2366 (November 2002). 
§4117. Enforcement Procedures 

A. - C. … 
D. In addition to any other penalties provided by the 

laws of this state, an insurer or producer that violates a 
requirement of this regulation shall be guilty of a violation 
of Part XXVI, Unfair Trade Practices, of the Louisiana 
Insurance Code, which regulates the trade practices on the 
business of insurance by defining and providing for the 
determination of all acts, methods, and practices which 
constitute unfair methods of competition and unfair or 
deceptive acts and practices in this state, and to prohibit the 
same. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1228 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2366 (November 2002). 
§4123. Effective Date 

A. This revised regulation shall become effective upon 
final publication in the Louisiana Register and shall apply to 
any life insurance or annuity advertisement intended for 
dissemination in this state on or after the effective date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 22:1229 (December 
1996), amended LR 28:2366 (November 2002). 
 

J. Robert Worley 
Acting Commissioner 

0211#075 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Executive Division 

Fees (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 7) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Office of Conservation has amended the 
established fees. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XIX.  Office of ConservationCGeneral Operations 
Subpart 2.  Statewide Order No. 29-R-02/03 

Chapter 7. Fees 
§701. Definiti ons 

Application FeeCan amount payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, by industries under the jurisdiction 
of the Office of Conservation.  

Application for Automatic Custody TransferCan 
application for authority to measure and transfer custody of 
liquid hydrocarbons by the use of methods other than 
customary gauge tanks, as authorized by Statewide Order 
No. 29-G-1 (LAC 43:XIX.2301 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I Injection WellCan 
application to construct and/or operate a commercial Class I 
injection well, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 
(LAC 43:XVII.101 et seq.) or Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)Can application to construct and/or 
operate additional Class I injection wells within the same 
filing, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 (LAC 
43:XVII.101 et seq.) or Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 (LAC 
43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection WellCan 
application to construct and/or operate a commercial Class II 
injection well, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.401et seq.) or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)Can application to construct and/or 
operate additional commercial Class II injection wells within 
the same filing, as authorized by Statewide Order 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Multiple CompletionCan application to 
multiply complete a new or existing well in separate 
common sources of supply, as authorized by Statewide 
Order No. 29-C-4 (LAC 43:1301 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Noncommercial Injection WellCan 
application to construct and/or operate a Class I, II or III 
noncommercial injection well, as authorized by Statewide 
Order Nos. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), 29-M (LAC 
43:XVII.301 et seq.), 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.101 et seq.), 
and 29-N-2 (LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Permit to Drill (Minerals)Can application 
to drill in search of minerals, as authorized by R.S. 30:28. 
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Application for Public HearingCan application for a 
public hearing as authorized by R.S. 30:1, et. seq. 

Application for Substitute Unit WellCan application for a 
substitute unit well as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-
K-1 (LAC 43:XIX.2901 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Development Operations 
PermitCan application to remove coal, lignite, or 
overburden for the purpose of determining coal or lignite 
quality or quantity or coal or lignite mining feasibility, as 
authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-O-1 (LAC 43:XV.101 
et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Exploration PermitCan 
application to drill test holes or core holes for the purpose of 
determining the location, quantity, or quality of a coal or 
lignite deposit, as authorized in Statewide Order No. 29-O-1 
(LAC 43:XV.101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining PermitCan application for 
a permit to conduct surface coal or lignite mining and 
reclamation operations, as authorized by Statewide Order 
No. 29-O-1 (LAC 43:XV.101 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Unit TerminationCan application for unit 
termination as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-L-2 
(LAC 43:XIX.3100 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application to Amend Permit to Drill (Injection or 
Other)Can application to alter, amend, or change a permit to 
drill, construct and/or operate an injection, or other well after 
its initial issuance, as authorized by R.S. 30:28. 

Application to Amend Permit to Drill (Minerals)Can 
application to alter, amend, or change a permit to drill for 
minerals after its initial issuance, as authorized by R.S. 
30:28.* 

*Application to Amend Operator (transfer of ownership) 
for any multiply completed well which has reverted to a single 
completion, any non-producing well which is plugged and 
abandoned within the time frame directed by the 
Commissioner, as well as any stripper crude oil well or 
incapable gas well so certified by the Department of Revenue 
shall not be subject to the application fee provided herein.  

Application to CommingleCan application for authority to 
commingle production of gas and/or liquid hydrocarbons 
and to use methods other than gauge tanks for allocation, as 
authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-D-1 (LAC 
43:XIX.1500 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application to Process Form R-4Capplication for 
authorization to transport oil from a lease as authorized by 
Statewide Order No. 25 (LAC 43:XIX.900 et seq.), or 
successor regulations. 

BOECannual barrels oil equivalent. Gas production is 
converted to BOE by dividing annual mcf by a factor of 6. 

Capable GasCnatural and casing head gas not classified 
as incapable gas well gas or incapable oil well gas by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation. 

Capable OilCcrude oil and condensate not classified as 
incapable oil or stripper oil by the Department of Revenue. 

Class I WellCa Class I injection well used to inject 
hazardous or nonhazardous, industrial, or municipal wastes 
into the subsurface, which falls within the regulatory 
purview of Statewide Order Nos. 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.101 
et seq.) or 29-N-2 (LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Class I Well FeeCan annual fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 

Office of Conservation, on Class I wells in an amount not to 
exceed $400,000 for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 and thereafter. 

Class II WellCa Class II injection well which injects fluids 
which are brought to the surface in connection with 
conventional oil or natural gas production, for annular 
disposal wells, for enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas, 
and for storage of hydrocarbons. For purposes of 
administering the exemption provided in R.S. 30:21.B(1)(c), 
such exemption is limited to operators who operate Class II 
wells serving a stripper oil well or an incapable gas well 
certified pursuant to R.S. 47:633 by the Severance Tax 
Division of the Department of Revenue and Taxation and 
located in the same field as such Class II well. 

Class III WellCa Class III injection well which injects for 
extraction of minerals or energy. 

Emergency ClearanceCemergency authorization to 
transport oil from lease. 

Production FeeCan annual fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, by oil and gas operators on capable 
oil wells and capable gas wells based on a tiered system to 
establish parity on a dollar amount between the wells. The 
tiered system shall be established annually by rule on 
capable oil and capable gas production, including 
nonexempt wells reporting zero production during the 
annual base period, in an amount not to exceed $2,450,000 
for Fiscal Year 2002-2003 and thereafter. 

Production WellCany well which has been permitted by 
and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Office of 
Conservation, exc luding wells in the permitted and drilling 
in progress status, Class II injection wells, liquid storage 
cavity wells, commercial salt water disposal wells, Class V 
injection wells, wells which have been plugged and 
abandoned, wells which have reverted to landowner for use 
as a fresh water well (Statewide Order No. 29-B, LAC 
43:XIX.137.G, or successor regulations), multiply completed 
wells reverted to a single completion, and stripper oil wells 
or incapable oil wells or incapable gas wells certified by the 
Severance Tax Division of the Department of Revenue and 
Taxation. 

Regulatory FeeCan amount payable annually to the Office 
of Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, on Class II wells, Class III wells, 
storage wells, Type A facilities, and Type B facilities in an 
amount not to exceed $875,000 for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 
and thereafter. No fee shall be imposed on a Class II well of 
an operator who is also an operator of a stripper crude oil 
well or incapable gas well certified pursuant to R.S. 47:633 
by the severance tax division of the Department of Revenue 
and located in the same field as such Class II well. Operators 
of Record, excluding operators of wells and including, but 
not limited to, operators of gasoline/cycling plants, 
refineries, oil/gas transporters, and/or certain other activities 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Office of Conservation are 
required to pay an annual registration fee of $105. Such 
payment is due within the time frame prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation. 

Type A FacilityCcommercial E&P waste disposal facilities 
within the State that utilize technologies appropriate for the 
receipt, treatment, storage, or disposal of oilfield waste 
solids and liquids for a fee or other consideration, and fall 
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within the regulatory purview of Statewide Order No. 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.501 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Type B FacilityCcommercial E&P waste disposal facilities 
within the State that utilize underground injection 
technology for the receipt, treatment, storage, or disposal of 
only produced saltwater, oilfield brine, or other oilfield 
waste liquids for a fee or other consideration, and fall within 
the regulatory purview of Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.501 et seq.), or successor regulations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:542 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:551 (July 1989), LR 21:1249 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March, 1998), LR 24:2127 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1873 (October 1999), LR 26:2302 (October 2000), LR 
27:1919 (November 2001), amended by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of Conservation, Executive Division LR:28:2366 
(November 2002). 
§703. Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2002-2003 

A. Fee Schedule 
 

Application Fees Amount 
Application for Unit Termination $   252 
Application for Substitute Unit Well $   252 
Application for Public Hearing $   700 
Application for Multiple Completion $   126 
Application to Commingle $   252 
Application for Automatic Custody Transfer  $   252 
Application for Noncommercial Injection Well $   252 
Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well $1,264 
Application for Commercial Class I injection Well  
(Additional Wells)  

$   631 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well $   631 
Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well  
(Additional Wells)  

$   314 

Application for Permit to DrillCMinerals: 0'-3,000' $   126 
Application for Permit to DrillCMinerals: 3,001'-10,000' $   631 
Application for Permit to DrillCMinerals: 10,001'+ $1,264 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 3,000') $   504 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 10,000') $   632 
Application to Amend Permit to DrillCMinerals $   126 
Application to Amend Permit to DrillCInjection or Other $   126 
Application for Surface Mining Exploration Permit  $     65 
Application for Surface Mining Development Operations Permit  $     94 
Application for Surface Mining Permit  $2,212 
Application to Process Form R-4 $     36 
Application to Reinstate Suspended Form R-4 $     65 
Application for Emergency Clearance Form R-4 $     65 

 
B. Regulatory Fees 

1. Operators of each permitted Type A Facility are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of $5,650 per 
facility. 

2. Operators of each permitted Type B Facility are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of $2,825 per 
facility. 

3. Operators of record of permitted non-commercial 
Class II injection/disposal wells are required to pay $ 575 
per well. 

4. Operators of record of permitted Class III and 
Storage wells are required to pay $575 per well. 

C. Class I Well Fees. Operators of permitted Class I 
wells are required to pay $9,090 per well. 

D. Production Fees. Operators of record of capable oil 
wells and capable gas wells are required to pay according to 
the following annual production fee tiers: 

Annual Production  
(Barrel Oil Equivalent) 

Fee  
($ per Well) 

Tier 1 0 14 
Tier 2 1-5,000 71 
Tier 3 5,001-15,000 201 
Tier 4 15,001-30,000 337 
Tier 5 30,001-60,000 538 
Tier 6 60,001-110,000 741 
Tier 7 110,001-9,999,999 908 

 
E. Exceptions 

1. Operators of record of each Class I 
injection/disposal well and each Type A and B commercial 
facility that is permitted, but has not yet been constructed, 
are required to pay an annual fee of 50 percent of the 
applicable fee for each well or facility. 

2. Operators of record of each inactive Type A and B 
facility which have voluntarily ceased the receipt and 
disposal of E&P waste and are actively implementing an 
Office of Conservation approved closure plan are required to 
pay an annual Regulatory Fee of 50 percent of the annual fee 
for each applicable Type A or B facility. 

3. Operators of record of each inactive Type A or B 
facility which have voluntarily ceased the receipt and 
disposal of E&P waste, have completed Office of 
Conservation approved closure activities and are conducting 
a post-closure maintenance and monitoring program, are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of 25 percent of 
the annual fee for each applicable Type A or B facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:543 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1250 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October, 2000), LR 
27:1920 (November 2001), amended by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of Conservation, Executive Division LR:28:2368 
(November 2002). 
§705. Failure to Comply 

A. Operators of operations and activities defined in §701 
are required to timely comply with this Order. Failure to 
comply within 30 days past the due date of any required fee 
payment will subject the operator to civil penalties provided 
in Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, 
including but not limited to R.S. 30:18. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October, 2000), LR 
27:1921 (November 2001), amended by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of Conservation, Executive Division LR:28:2368 
(November 2002). 
§707. Severability and Effective Date 

A. The fees set forth in §703 are hereby adopted as 
individual and independent rules comprising this body of 
rules designated as Statewide Order No. 29-R-02/03, and if 
any such individual fee is held to be unacceptable, pursuant 
to R.S. 49:968.H(2), or held to be invalid by a court of law, 
then such unacceptability or invalidity shall not affect the 
other provisions of this order which can be given effect 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 28, No. 11   November 20, 2002 2369

without the unacceptable or invalid provisions, and to that 
end the provisions of this order are severable. 

B. This Order (Statewide Order No. 29-R-02/03) 
supercedes Statewide Order No. 29-R-01/02. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2305 (October, 2000), LR 
27:1921 (November 2001), amended by the Department of Natural 
Resources, Office of Conservation, Executive Division LR:28:2368 
(November 2002). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0211#031 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Collection, Submission, Receipt, Identification,  
Storage and Disposal of DNA SamplesCArrestees  

(LAC 55:I.2730-2727) 

Pursuant to R.S. 15:601 et seq. and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., notice is hereby given that the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services, Office of 
State Police adopts LAC 55:I.Chapter 27. Notice is further 
given that the Department has promulgated the following 
rules and regulations which establish guidelines for the 
collection, submission, receipt, identification, storage and 
disposal of DNA samples for arrestees as defined in R.S. 
15:601 et seq. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 27. Collection, Submission, Receipt, 
Identification, Storage and Disposal of 
DNA Samples 

Subchapter B. Arrestees 
§2720. Scope, Purpose and Application 

A. Scope, Purpose, and Application. To provide rules and 
regulations governing the collection, submission, receipt, 
identification, storage and/or disposal of DNA samples for 
arrestees for a state database/CODIS pursuant to R.S. 15:601 
et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2369 
(November 2002). 
§2721. Definitions 

AFISCthe Automated Fingerprint Identification System 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

ArresteeCa person arrested for a felony sex offense, other 
specified offense or any other offense for which a DNA 
sample must be obtained pursuant to R.S. 15:601 et seq. 

Biological SampleCbiological evidence of any nature that 
is utilized to conduct DNA analysis. 

CAJUNCthe Corrections and Justice Unified Network 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections. 

Crime LaboratoryCLouisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

DepartmentCDepartment of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

DirectorCthe director of the Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory. 

DNACdeoxyribonucleic acid. 
DNA AnalysisCDNA typing tests that generate numerical 

identification information and are obtained from a DNA 
sample. 

DNA DatabaseCthe DNA identification record system 
maintained and administered by the Director.  

DNA Arrestee Database Collection Kit or KitCthe kit 
provided by the Department for the collection of DNA 
samples.  

DNA RecordCDNA information that is derived from a 
DNA sample and DNA analysis and is stored in the state 
DNA database or in CODIS, including all records pertaining 
to DNA analysis. 

DPS&CCDepartment of Public Safety and Corrections. 
Evidence TechnicianCindividual authorized by the 

Director to perform the duties set forth in LAC 55:I.2301 et 
seq. 

FBICFederal Bureau of Investigation within the United 
States Department of Justice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2369 
(November 2002). 
§2722. Collection, Submission, and Identification of 

DNA Samples for Arrestees 
A. All biological samples obtained for DNA Analysis 

from an arrestee shall be collected using an approved 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory DNA Arrestee 
Collection kit as supplied by the department. 

1. An arrestee collection kit shall contain materials for 
collection of a biological sample for use in DNA analysis. 

2. Each kit shall be numbered sequentially from one 
kit to the next so that each kit number shall serve as a unique 
identifier. Any DNA Database Arrestee Collection Kit 
Envelope, Kit Arrestee Shipping Envelope, DNA Arrestee 
Database Information Card, DNA Database Collection Card 
or AFIS or CAJUN Printout identifying the arrestee that may 
be used as part of the kit shall have the same number as the 
kit used for collection. 

3. All biological samples shall be collected by 
individuals trained and approved to serve as collectors by the 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory. 

4. The collector shall complete an Arrestee DNA 
Database Information Card or utilize an AFIS or CAJUN 
Printout which contains the identifying information of the 
arrestee when obtaining a sample. 

a. In the event an Arrestee DNA Database 
Information Card is used, the collector shall fill in all 
requested information as completely as possible. 
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b. If an AFIS or CAJUN printout is used, 
identifying information of the arrestee will be contained on 
the printout. 

c. An Arrestee DNA Collection Card or a space on 
the AFIS or CAJUN printout utilized for all necessary 
collection information shall be filled out as completely as 
possible and shall include the following information: name 
of collector, signature of collector, date and time of sample 
collection. 

5. All biological samples shall be obtained using 
recognized and approved medical procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2369 
(November 2002). 
§2723. Security of Biological Samples at Booking 

Facility 
A. All collectors and employees of the booking facility 

shall ensure that all biological samples taken from arrestees 
are kept in a secure place within the booking facility until 
the samples are shipped to the Crime Laboratory pursuant to 
these regulations. All collectors shall also ensure that 
pursuant to R.S. 15:617 and any Biological Sample Security 
Procedures established by the Crime Laboratory, that no 
unauthorized disclosures regarding any biological sample 
taken from any arrestee are permitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 (November 
2002). 
§2724. Shipping of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. DNA samples collected in accordance with these 
procedures shall be submitted to the Crime Laboratory in 
person by approved personnel or via delivery service, such 
as U.S. Mail in accordance with the Crime Laboratory's 
Quality Manual. The mailing envelope shall be mailed or 
delivered to the Crime Laboratory after collection to the 
following address: 

Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory 
376 East Airport Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 
(November 2002). 
§2725. Record Keeping of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. The individual who collects each DNA sample shall 
provide an accurate, up-to-date list of every DNA sample 
collected each day of collection. Any failed attempts to 
collect a sample from an arrestee and the reason for the 
failure (e.g. refusal of arrestee to submit) shall also be 
indicated. The list will include the following information: 
the kit number, the arrestee's name, the name of the person 
collecting the sample and the submitting agency together 
with any additional data which the director deems necessary. 
This information shall be forwarded on an audit form 
provided by the department to the CODIS DNA Unit on a 
daily basis, via both facsimile and U.S. Mail. If the mailing 
envelopes are hand delivered to the Crime Laboratory, the

audit form shall accompany the mailing envelopes being 
delivered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 (November 
2002). 
§2726. Storage of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. The sealed kits containing DNA samples shall be 
stored in a dedicated storage area designated by the Crime 
Laboratory. Access to the sealed kits and to the storage area 
shall be limited to authorized personnel. Any access to or 
removal/return of the sealed kit or specimen bags shall be 
performed in accordance with Crime Lab Evidence and 
Handling Policies and Procedures. Only authorized 
personnel shall open a sealed kit or specimen bag and, and if 
applicable shall initial and date the broken seal and shall 
reseal the kit or specimen bag in accordance with standard 
forensic operating procedures. 

B. DNA samples from arrestees on any arrestee DNA 
Database Collection Cards and AFIS or CAJUN printouts 
shall be stored for the time period as prescribed by Louisiana 
law in a secure storage area unless otherwise required in 
accordance with R.S. 15:614. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 
(November 2002). 
§2727. Severability 

A. If any article, section, subsection, sentence, clause or 
phrase of LAC 55:I:2320 et seq. is for any reason 
determined to be unconstitutional, contrary to statute, in 
excess of authority, or otherwise inoperative, such 
determination shall not affect the validity of any other 
article, section, subsection, sentence, clause or phrase of 
LAC 55:I.2301 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 
(November 2002). 

 
Christopher A. Keaton 
Undersecretary 

0211#072 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Imposition of Sanctions 
(LAC 42:VII.2325) 

Editor's Note: Section 2325 is being repromulgated to correct 
a typographical error. The original Rule may be viewed in its 
entirety on pages 2255-2256. 
 

The Louisiana Gaming Control Board has amended 
VII.2325, IX.4103 and XIII.2325 in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24, and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 
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Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part VII.  Pari-Mutual Live Racing Facility Slot 
Maching Gaming 

Chapter 23. Compliance, Inspections and 
Investigations 

§2325. Imposition of Sanctions 
A. The division may assess a civil penalty as provided 

for in the penalty schedule. The penalty schedule lists a base 
fine and proscriptive period for each violation committed by 
the licensee or permittee. The proscriptive period is the 
amount of time determined by the division in which a prior 
violation is still considered active for purposes of 
consideration in assessment of penalties. A prior violation is 
a past violation of the same type which falls within the 
current violation's proscriptive period. The date of a prior 
violation shall be considered to be when the licensee, or 
permittee receives the significant action report or 
violation/inspection report. If one or more violations exist 
within the proscriptive period, the base fine shall be 
multiplied by a factor based on the total number of 
violations within the proscriptive period. The violation of 
any rule may result in the assessment of a civil penalty, 
suspension, revocation, or other administrative action. If the 
calculated penalty exceeds the statutory maximum of 
$100,000, the matter shall be forwarded to the Board for 
further administrative action. In such case, the board shall 
determine the appropriate penalty to be assessed. Assisting 
in the violation of rules, laws, or procedures as provided in 
§2931 may result in a civil penalty in the same amount as 
provided in the penalty schedule for the respective violation. 

B. - D. … 
E. Penalty Schedule 
 

Section 
Reference 

Description Base Fine Proscriptive Period 
(Months) 

* * *  
2954 Tournaments 5,000 12 

* * *  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:1321 
(June 2000), amended LR 27:2255 (December 2001), LR 28:1029 
(May 2002), repromulgated LR 28:2371 (November 2002). 

 
 

Hillary J. Crain 
Chairman 

0211#015 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Collection of In-State Tax Liabilities by Debt  
Collection Agencies or the Attorney General's Office  

(LAC 61:I.4913) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and R.S. 47: 1516.1 
and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, adopts LAC 61:I.4913, 
the rules and regulations pertaining to the authority of the 
secretary to enter into contracts with debt collection agencies 
or the Attorney General's Office for the collection of in-state 
tax liabilities. 

R.S. 47:1516.1 authorizes the secretary to enter into 
contracts with debt collection agencies or the Attorney 
General's Office for the collection of certain in-state tax 
liabilities. The in-state debt collection contract Request for 
Proposal will be advertised in the official journal of the state 
and in one or more newspapers for at least 10 days before 
the last day that proposals will be accepted. The deadline for 
inquiries shall be no less than four weeks after the issuance 
of the Request for Proposal and the due date for submission 
of the proposals shall be no less than three weeks after the 
deadline for inquiries. The secretary will select a committee 
to evaluate the proposals and make a recommendation and 
applicants will be notified of the selection in a timely 
manner. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 49. Tax Collection 
§4913. Collection of In -State Tax Liabilities by Debt 

Collection Agencies or the Attorney General's 
Office 

A. Definitions 
1. For purposes of this Rule, the following terms shall 

have the meaning ascribed to them. 
Attorney General—the attorney general of the state of 

Louisiana. 
Collection Contractor—the attorney general or one or 

more private persons, companies, associations, or 
corporations who provide debt collection services inside the 
state. 

B.1. The secretary is authorized to enter into contracts 
with collection contractors to facilitate the collection of 
taxes, interest, penalties, and fees due the department after 
an obligation has become collectible by distraint and sale. 

2. The secretary may only enter into a collection 
contract after notice by regular mail has been transmitted to 
the taxpayer at the address given in the last report filed by 
the taxpayer, or to any address obtainable from any private 
entity that will provide such address free of charge or from 
any federal, state, or local government entity, including but 
not limited to the United States Postal Service or from 
United States Postal Service certified software. 

3. The taxpayer will be informed of the following: 
a. that the obligation is a final judgment; 
b. all the actions the secretary is authorized to take 

in order to collect the debt; and 
c. that if the debt is not paid within 60 days of the 

date of the notice, a collection fee not to exceed 25 percent 
of the total liability will be charged to the account. 

4. The taxpayer must pay the full amount of any 
additional charge for the collection of any taxes, interest, 
penalties, or fees. If an account is referred to a collection 
contractor, the additional charge will be paid to the 
collection contractor. 

C. The secretary will consider the following criteria in 
selecting collection contractors: 
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1. fees charged; 
2. organizational structure; 
3. experience with government accounts; 
4. computer capabilities including the ability to 

generate reports and formatting; 
5. collection methodology; 
6. financial stability; and, 
7. personnel resources. 

D. Prior to entering into any contract, the secretary will 
require a performance bond, cash, or securities from the 
collection contractor in an amount not to exceed $100,000. 

E. Once the collection contract is entered into, the 
secretary will provide information to the collection 
contractors concerning the accounts of individual taxpayers 
only to the extent necessary for the collection contractor to 
fulfill his contractual obligation. 

a. The information furnished by the secretary will 
be considered confidential and privileged by the collection 
contractor and members of his staff, as provided by R.S. 
47:1508. 

b. Collection contractors may not take any action 
that exceeds the authority of the secretary and must follow 
the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. 

F. With the approval of the secretary, the collection 
contractor may file suit, at his expense, in the name of the 
secretary in the courts of this state for the purpose of 
collecting the tax debt. 

G.1. Nothing contained in this Rule shall be construed to 
affect in any manner any rights and remedies available to the 
taxpayer. 

2. This Rule does not apply to a spouse who qualifies 
for liability relief under the innocent spouse provisions of 
R.S. 47:101.B(7). 

H. The attorney general will have a right of first refusal 
for all accounts selected to be sent to a collection contractor.  

1. A list of accounts selected will be compiled by the 
secretary and forwarded to the attorney general for the 
exercise of his right of first refusal. 

2. The right of first refusal shall be exercised within 
30 days of the date of mailing or electronic transmission of 
the list. 

3. If the attorney general fails to exercise his right of 
first refusal within 30 days or refuses to accept an account, 
the secretary may send the account to any collection 
contractor meeting the requirements of Subsection C. 

4. When the attorney general accepts an account for 
collection, the collection fee may not exceed 15 percent of 
the total liability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511 and 47:1516.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 28:2371 
(November 2002). 
 

Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0211#054 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Use of Dyed Special Fuel by Fire Trucks 
(LAC 61:I.3363) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue issues LAC 
61:I.3363 to provide guidance as to the information to be 
submitted for the purpose of applying for an "FD" number as 
provided in R.S. 47:803.2. 

Act 28 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature enacted R.S. 47:901(13) defining, for the 
purposes of the Special Fuels Tax Law, "fire trucks" to mean 
vehicles built with the capability of operating fire fighting 
equipment such as hoses, ladders, and pumps and carrying 
teams of firefighters to fire scenes. Act 28 also enacted R.S. 
47:803.2 to allow fire departments or districts that meet 
certain qualifications to purchase untaxed dyed special fuel 
for use in the operation of fire trucks and to remit the 
applicable state special fuels tax directly to the Department 
of Revenue on a monthly basis. 

To qualify for the direct payment "FD" number, the fire 
department or district must certify to the Department of 
Revenue that the department or district does not have access 
to bulk storage for tax-paid clear special fuels, that tax-paid 
clear special fuel is not available within the fire district, and 
that the only special fuel available within the fire district for 
use in the fire trucks is untaxed dyed special fuel. 

This rule outlines the type of information that is needed to 
accompany the application for the "FD" number so that 
representatives of the Department may determine whether 
the applying fire department/district meets the established 
qualifications. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 33. Petroleum Products: Special Fuels Tax 
Subchapter B. Users of Special Fuel 
§3363. Use of Dyed Special Fuel by Fire Trucks 

A. Before purchasing untaxed dyed special fuel to be 
used for taxable purposes in fire trucks as defined in R.S. 
47:801(13), the fire department or district must submit a 
Registration Application with the Department of Revenue to 
obtain a direct payment "FD" number for reporting untaxed 
dyed special fuel purchases and remitting the applicable 
state tax on the fuel used for taxable purposes. 

B. The application must be made on a form as prescribed 
by the secretary and include the following information: 

1. the vehicles and equipment for which application is 
being made; 

2. the geographical location and boundaries of the fire 
district including a map of the fire district; 
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3. a list of service stations and retail fuel outlets 
providing special fuel located within the fire district 
complete with their addresses; and 

4. the availability of bulk fuel storage within the fire 
district to which the fire trucks are authorized access. 

C. After an inspection by representatives of the 
Department, if the qualifications are met, an "FD" number 
and certificate will be issued to the applicant that will allow 
the fire department or district to purchase dyed special fuel 
for the operation of fire trucks as defined in R.S. 47:801(13). 

D. Holders of "FD" numbers shall file a report with the 
Department on a monthly basis and provide the information 
so required in accordance with R.S. 47:803.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Office of Legal Affairs, Policy Services Division, LR 
28:2372 (November 2002). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0211#055 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Rehabilitation Services 

Commission for the Deaf 

Purchase and Distribution of Assistive Hearing Devices 
(LAC 67:VII.305) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
the Administrative Procedure Act, the Department of Social 
Services, Louisiana Rehabilitation Services (LRS), has 
revised the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf's Rules of 
Operation. 

This Rule is to provide for the addition of rules governing 
the purchase and distribution of assistive hearing devices 
including hearing aids. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Part VII.  Louisiana Rehabilitation Services 
Chapter 3. Commission for the Deaf 
§305. Role And Function 

A. - A.10.c.  … 
d. the purchase and distribution of assistive hearing 

devices including hearing aids; 
 i. eligibility for the hearing aid program will 
include an economic need factor of 250 percent of Federal 
poverty guidelines, an age factor of 50 years and older, a 
hearing loss factor of 40 decibels or greater, and individuals 
may not be eligible for any other State or Federal program 
providing assistance with hearing aid purchases. Younger 
individuals who meet all other eligibility requirements may 
be considered on an individual basis according to funding 
availability 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:2352 and R.S. 47:1061. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Commission for the Deaf, LR 13:94 
(February 1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Rehabilitative Services, Commission for the Deaf, LR 17:388 

(April 1991), LR 21:589 (June 1995), LR 24:494 (March 1998), LR 
28:2373 November 2002). 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0211#050 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

TANF Initiatives ProgramC2002 Initiatives  
(LAC 67:III.5511, 5531, 5547-5553, and 5557) 

Pursuant to the authority granted to the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, by the Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant to 
Louisiana, the agency has adopted LAC 67:III, Subpart 15, 
§5549. Additionally, the agency has adopted §§5551, 5553, 
and 5557, and amended §§5511, 5531, and 5547, pursuant to 
Act 13 of the 2002 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature. 

All programs have been effected by several Declarations 
of Emergency. Section 5549 was effected by an Emergency 
Rule signed April 12, 2002. The amendment to Section 5531 
was effected by an Emergency Rule signed June 1, 2002. 
The Rules were published respectively in the May and June 
2002 issues of the Louisiana Register. Adoption of §§5551, 
5553, and 5557, and amendments to §§5511 and 5547 were 
effected by Declarations of Emergency signed July 1, 2002. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Part III. Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5511. Micro-Enterprise Development 

A. Effective July 1, 2002, the Office of Family Support 
shall enter into a Memorandum of Understanding with the 
Department of Economic Development to provide assistance 
to low-income families who wish to start their own 
businesses. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session, Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:871 (April 2002), 
amended LR 28:2373 (November 2002). 
§5531. After-School Tutorial and Summer Enrichment 

Programs  
A. OFS shall enter into a Memorandum of 

Understanding with the Department of Education to provide 
after-school tutorial services and, effective June 1, 2002, 
summer enrichment programs. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 36:474 and 46:231; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session, and Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:352 (February 
2002), amended LR 28:2373 (November 2002). 
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§5547. Housing Services 
A. Effective July 1, 2002, the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Family Support, may enter into 
Memoranda of Understanding or contracts to create 
programs that provide transitional, short-term, or one-time 
housing services to needy families with minor children who 
participate in self-sufficiency activities, who are at risk of 
losing existing housing arrangements, who are in an 
emergency situation, or who face ineligibility because of 
increased earnings. These services can include but are not 
limited to: relocation assistance; costs associated with 
moving or relocation; down payment of deposit and/or initial 
month's rent; short-term continuation of a housing voucher; 
down payment for the purchase of a house; housing 
counseling and home buyer education for prospective 
homeowners; or other transitional services determined in 
conjunction with the Department of Social Services and the 
Division of Administration. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session; Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:871 (April 2002), 
amended LR 28:2374 (November 2002). 
§5549. OCS Child Welfare Programs  

(Effective April 12, 2002) 
A. OFS shall enter into a Memorandum of 

Understanding with the Office of Community Services 
(OCS), the state child welfare agency, for collaboration in 
identifying and serving children in needy families who are at 
risk of abuse or neglect. Subsequent to the authorization of 
the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 
Administration for Children and Families, regarding TANF 
Maintenance of Effort funds, the agency will identify 
eligible services retroactive to January 1, 2002. The methods 
of collaboration include: 

1. Child Protection Investigation (CPI)Ccomprises 
services to assess the validity of a report of child abuse or 
neglect involving a minor child or children residing with a 
custodial parent, an adult caretaker relative, or a legal 
guardian, to determine whether an emergency exists, and 
when deemed necessary, to develop a safety plan which may 
include coordination of services, emergency removal and 
placement, referral to OCS Family Services or another 
appropriate agency, short term counseling, parenting 
guidance, and/or arrangements for concrete services, such as 
the Preventive Assistance Fund (PAF) and Reunification 
Assistance Fund (RAF). CPI, PAF, and RAF activities were 
previously part of the OCS Emergency Assistance Program, 
for which federal TANF funds are deemed eligible under 
section 404(a)2) of 42 USC 604. 

2. Family ServicesCcomprises services to a child or 
children and their parents, adult caretakers relative, or legal 
guardian, after an allegation of child neglect or abuse has 
been validated, to assist in preventing the removal of a child 
from his care giver or, where temporary emergency removal 
has already occurred in validated abuse and/or neglect cases, 
to help reunite the family by returning the child. Services are 
also provided to a family who requests protective services on 
its own when it is believed that a child in the family would 
be at risk. Elements of Family Services include problem

identification, family assessment, risk assessment, safety 
planning, case planning, counseling, problem resolution, 
provision of or arrangements for needed services, and/or 
concrete aid through the Preventive Assistance Fund. 

B. These services meet the TANF goal to provide 
assistance to needy families so that children may be cared 
for in their own homes or in the homes of relatives. 

C. Financial eligibility for those services attributable to 
TANF/Maintenance of Effort funds is limited to needy 
families which include a minor child living with a custodial 
parent, an adult caretaker relative, or a legal guardian. A 
needy family is a family in which any member receives a 
Family Independence Temporary Assistance Program 
(FITAP) grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 
grant, Food Stamps, Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) 
benefits, Medicaid, Louisiana Children's Health Insurance 
Program (LaCHIP), or Supplemental Security Income (SSI). 

D. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2374 (November 
2002). 
§5551. Community Response Initiative  

(Effective July 1, 2002) 
A. The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 

Support, may enter into Memoranda of Understanding or 
contracts with for-profit organizations, non-profit 
organizations (exempt from taxation under Section 501(c) of 
the Internal Revenue Code), and state or local public or 
quasi-public agencies, to develop innovative and strategic 
programming solutions suited to the unique needs of 
Louisiana's communities.  

B. The services provided by the various partners must 
meet one, or a combination of, the four TANF goals: 

1. to provide assistance to needy families; 
2. to end dependence of needy parents by promoting 

job preparation, work, and marriage; 
3. to prevent and reduce out-of-wedlock pregnancies; 

and 
4. to encourage the formation and maintenance of 

two-parent families. 
C. Eligibility for those services meeting TANF goals 1 

and 2 is limited to needy families, that is, a family in which 
any member receives a Family Independence Temporary 
Assistance Program (FITAP) grant, Kinship Care Subsidy 
Program (KCSP) grant, Food Stamp benefits, Child Care 
Assistance Program (CCAP) services, Title IV-E, Medicaid, 
Louisiana Children's Health Insurance Program (LaChip) 
benefits, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Free or 
Reduced Lunch, or who has earned income at or below 200 
percent of the federal poverty level. A needy family consists 
of minor children, custodial and non-custodial parents, legal 
guardians, or caretaker relatives of minor children. 

D. Eligibility for those services meeting TANF goals 3 
and 4 may include any family in need of the provided 
services regardless of income. A family consists of minor 
children, custodial and non-custodial parents, legal 
guardians, or caretaker relatives of minor children. 

E. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2374 (November 
2002). 
§5553. Substance Abuse Treatment Program for Office 

of Community Services Clients  
(Effective July 1, 2002) 

A. The Office of Family Support shall enter into a 
Memorandum of Understanding with the Office for 
Addictive Disorders (OAD) wherein OFS shall fund the cost 
of substance abuse screening and testing and the  
non-medical treatment of members of needy families 
referred by, and receiving services in certain parish offices 
from, the Office of Community Services (OCS).  

B. These services meet the TANF goal to end the 
dependence of needy parents on government benefits by 
providing needy families with substance abuse treatment so 
that they may become self-sufficient in order to promote job 
preparation, work, and marriage. 

C. Eligibility for services is limited to custodial and 
non-custodial parents, legal guardians, or caretaker relatives 
of minor children who are members of a needy family. A 
needy family is a family in which any member receives a 
Family Independence Temporary Assistance Program 
(FITAP) grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 
grant, Food Stamp benefits, Child Care Assistance Program 
(CCAP) services, Title IV-E, Medicaid, Louisiana Children's 
Health Insurance Program (LaChip) benefits, Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI), Free or Reduced Lunch, or who has 
earned income at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty 
level and in which any member receives services through 
OCS as Child Protection Investigation clients, Family 
Services clients, or Foster Care clients. 

D. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
E. The program will be offered in the following parish 

offices: Orleans (Uptown District), Jefferson (West Bank), 
East Baton Rouge (North District), Terrebonne, St. Landry, 
Calcasieu, Rapides, Caddo, Ouachita, and Tangipahoa. The 
parish offices in which the program is available may be 
expanded at the assistant secretary's discretion based on the 
availability of funding and a determination of need. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2375 (November 
2002). 
§5557. Energy Assistance Program for Low-Income 

Families  
(Effective July 1, 2002) 

A. The Office of Family Support shall enter into a 
Memorandum of Understanding with the Louisiana Housing 
Finance Agency (LHFA) to provide energy assistance to 
low-income families based on the availability of funding and 
a determination of need by the agency, and to educate those 
families regarding energy conservation. The energy 
assistance payments shall be provided to LHFA for 
reimbursement of payments made to utility companies by 
LHFA on behalf of needy families with minor children. 

B. The Office of Family Support hereby declares that all 
families who have earned income at or below 200 percent of 
the federal poverty level are in need of energy assistance. 
Each family's episode of need is evidenced by the seeking of 
energy assistance under this program. 

C. Services meet the TANF goal of providing assistance 
to needy families so that children may be properly cared for 
in their own homes or in the homes of relatives by providing 
funds to help pay the costs of cooling and heating the homes. 

D. Eligibility for services is limited to a needy family, 
that is, a family with minor children who has earned income 
at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty level. 

E. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency 
as the payments are non-recurrent, short-term, and will not 
be provided more than once every six months.  

F. The payment process will be administered by an 
outside entity through a contractual agreement. Recipients 
will be required to provide verification of identity and 
eligibility as defined for a "needy family" as well as proof of 
residency at the utility service address. An energy assistance 
payment of up to $400 will be paid by LHFA directly to the 
recipient's utility company or provider. The payment may be 
used for past-due deposits, reconnection fees, current bills, 
or as credit towards future services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 36:474 and 46:231; and Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2375 (November 
2002). 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0211#051 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Wild Turkey Season 
(LAC 76:XIX.113, 115, and 117) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby 
amend the turkey rules and regulations for the 2003 season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§113. Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler, two gobblers per season. 
Still hunting only. Use of dogs, baiting, electronic calling 
devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys may be hunted 
with shotguns, including muzzleloading shotguns, using shot 
not larger than #2 lead or BB steel shot, and bow and arrow 
but by no other means. Shooting turkeys from a moving or 
stationary vehicle is prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding 
more than three shells prohibited. 

B. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. 

C. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, shucked 
or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other feed 
capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is directly or 
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indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed or 
scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. 

D. Wildlife agents are authorized to close such baited 
areas and to place signs in the immediate vicinity 
designating closed zones and dates of closure. 

E. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries strongly 
discourages feeding agricultural grains to wild turkeys as 
this practice increases the risk of birds contracting 
potentially lethal diseases. Repeatedly placing grain in the 
same area may expose otherwise healthy birds to disease 
contaminated soils, grain containing lethal toxins and other 
diseased turkeys using the same feeding site. Properly 
distributed food plots (clovers, wheat, millet and chufa) are 
far more desirable for turkeys and have the added benefit of 
appealing to a wide variety of wildlife. 

F. It is unlawful to take from the wild or possess in 
captivity any live wild turkeys or their eggs. No pen raised 
turkeys from within or without the state shall be liberated 
(released) within the state. 

G. All licensed turkey hunters are required to have a 
Turkey Stamp in their possession while turkey hunting in 
addition to basic and big game hunting licenses. 
Additionally, a WMA Hunting Permit is required of any 
person (age 18-59) who hunts on land administered by the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, including Wildlife 
Management Areas, Wildlife Refuges, and Habitat 
Conservation Areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002). 
§115. Statewide Turkey Hunting Areas-Resident Game 

Birds and Animals 
A. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to one-

half hour after sunset. 
 

Species Season 
Dates 

Daily Bag 
Limit 

Possession 
Limit 

Turkey See Schedule 1 2/season 

 
B. 2003 Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Season Dates 
A March 22-April 20 
B March 22-April 13 
C March 22-March 30 

 
C. 2003 Turkey Hunting SeasonCOpen Only in the 

Following Areas 
1. Area ACMarch 22-April 20 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. East Baton Rouge; 
 ii. East Feliciana; 
 iii. LaSalle; 
 iv. Livingston; 
 v. Natchitoches (Exception: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates);  
 vi. St. Helena; 

 vii. St. Tammany; 
 viii. Tangipahoa; 
 ix. Washington; 
 x. West Baton Rouge; 
 xi. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen: North of LA 26 from DeRidder to the 
junction of LA 104 and north of LA 104; 
 ii. Avoyelles: That portion bounded on the east by 
the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
levee southward; 
 iii. Beauregard: North of LA 26 east of DeRidder, 
north and east of US 171-190 from the junction of LA 26 to 
DeRidder, and north of US 190 from DeRidder to Texas 
state line; 
 iv. Caldwell: West of Ouachita River southward to 
Catahoula Parish line, east of LA 165 from La Salle Parish 
line to the junction of LA 126, north of LA 126 westward to 
the Winn Parish line; 
 v. Catahoula: West of Ouachita River southward 
to LA 559 at Duty Ferry, north of LA 559 to LA 124, south 
and west of LA 124 from Duty Ferry to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg and north of LA 8 to LA 126, north and east of 
LA 126. ALSO that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. Concordia: That portion east of LA 15 and 
west of US 65 from its juncture with LA 15 at Clayton; 
 vii. Evangeline: North and west of LA 115, north 
of LA 106 from St. Landry to LA 13, west of LA 13 from 
Pine Prairie to Mamou and north of LA 104 west of Mamou; 
 viii. Franklin: That portion lying east of LA 17 and 
east of LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 ix. Grant: All of the parish except that portion of 
land that lies north of the Red River between US 71 and LA 
8. Exception: See Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates; 
 x. Iberville: West of LA 1. EXCEPTION: see 
Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all state, federal 
and private lands within Sherburne boundaries; 
 xi. Madison: That portion lying west of US 65 and 
south of US 80; 
 xii. Pointe Coupee: All of the parish except that 
portion bounded on the north by LA Hwy. 1, from Innis to 
the junction of LA Hwy 417, on the west by LA Hwy. 417 
southward toward McCrea, on the south by LA Hwy. 417 
from McCrea to its junction with Delhi Lane, then by Delhi 
Lane to LA Hwy. 418, then LA Hwy. 418 northward to LA 
Hwy. 1 at Innis. EXCEPTION: see Sherburne WMA for 
special season dates on all state, federal and private lands 
within Sherburne boundaries. 
 xiii. Rapides: All of the parish except that portion of 
lands that lies north of the Red River and south of US 71 
from its juncture with the Red River northward to the Grant 
Parish line. EXCEPTION: See Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest season dates; 
 xiv. Richland: That portion south of US 80 and east 
of LA 17; 
 xv. Sabine: That portion north of LA 6 from 
Toledo Bend Lake to Many; east of US 171 from Many to 
the Vernon Parish line; 
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 xvi. St. Landry: That portion bounded on the west 
by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River. EXCEPTION: the Indian 
Bayou Area, see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for Indian 
Bayou Area dates; 
 xvii. Upper St. Martin: All within the Atchafalaya 
Basin. EXCEPTIONS: Sherburne WMA and Indian Bayou 
Area, see WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season 
dates on all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne 
WMA boundaries and see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Indian Bayou dates; 
 xviii. Tensas: That portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 
3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry. Also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River;  
 xix. Vernon: That portion east of US 171 from the 
Sabine Parish line to the junction of LA 111, south of LA 
111 westward to LA 392, and south of LA 392 westward to 
the Sabine Parish line. EXCEPTION: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest season 
dates. 

2. Area BCMarch 22-April 13 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Bienville; 
 ii. Bossier; 
 iii. Claiborne; 
 iv. DeSoto; 
 v. Jackson; 
 vi. Lincoln; 
 vii. Red River; 
 viii. Union; 
 ix. Webster (EXCEPTION: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates);  
 x. Winn (EXCEPTION: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Allen: South and west of LA 26 from DeRidder 
to US 190 east of Elton, north of US 190 from the junction 
of LA 26 to Kinder and west of US 165 south of Kinder;  
 ii. Beauregard: South of LA 26 east of DeRidder, 
east of US 171 from the junction of LA 26 and south of LA 
12 west of Ragley; 
 iii. Calcasieu: South of LA 12 east of DeQuincy, 
east of LA 27 from DeQuincy to I-10 and North of I-10 east 
of Sulphur; 
 iv. East Carroll: East of US 65 from Arkansas 
state line to Madison Parish line; 
 v. Jefferson Davis: North of US 190 from 
junction with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of 
I-10 west from junction of US 165; 
 vi. Ouachita: East of LA 143 from Union Parish 
line to US 80 in West Monroe, north of US 80 to LA 139, 
west of LA 139 to the Morehouse Parish line; 
 vii. Madison: South of US 80 and east of US 65 to 
Tensas Parish line and all lands lying east of the main 
channel of the Mississippi River;  
 viii. Morehouse: West of US 165 from the Arkansas 
line to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of LA 
830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to US 165, 
north of US 165 to LA 139, west of LA 139 to Ouachita 
Parish line. 

3. Area CCMarch 22-March 30 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Caddo. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension: All east of the Mississippi River;  
 ii. Catahoula: That portion lying south of Deer 
Creek to Boeuf River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to 
LA 8 at Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 
913 and LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 iii. Concordia: North and east of Sugar Mill Chute 
(Concordia Parish) from the state line westward to Red 
River, east of Red River northward to Cocodrie Bayou, east 
of Cocodrie Bayou northward to US 84, south of US 84 
eastward to LA 15 (Ferriday), east of LA 15 northward to 
US 65 (Clayton), east of US 65 northward to Tensas Parish 
line; 
 iv. Franklin: That portion lying west of LA 17, 
from Richland Parish line to LA 577 at Crowville, north of 
LA 577 to LA 15 at Baskin, east of LA 15 to Big Creek, and 
south and east of Big Creek to Richland Parish line; 
 v. Iberville: All east of the Mississippi River;  
 vi. Richland: West of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Rd., south of Ringle Rd. to Ferguson Rd., 
south of Ferguson Rd. to Little Rd., south of Little Rd. to 
Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
 vii. Tensas: East and south of US 65 from 
Concordia Parish line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. 
Joseph, east and south of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward 
to Port Gibson Ferry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
2002). 
§117. 2003 Wildlife Management Area 

TurkeyCHunting Regulations 
A. General 

1. The following rules and regulations concerning 
management, protection and harvest of wildlife have been 
officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject the individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

2. Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed are 
open to turkey hunting. 

3. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles cannot be left 
overnight on WMAs except in designated camping areas. 
ATVs are prohibited from two hours after sunset to 3 a.m. 
All roads including trails and roads designated as ATV only 
trails shall be closed to ATVs from March 1 through August 
31 unless otherwise specified. ATV off-road or off-trail 
travel is prohibited. Certain trails may be open during this 
time period to provide access for fishing or other purposes. 
These trails will be marked by signs at the entrance of the 
trail. Otherwise, only walk-in hunting is permitted (bicycles 
permitted). 

4. Bag limits on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey is allowed to be taken during special 
lottery hunts. 
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B. Permits 
1. Self-Clearing Permits. All turkey hunts, including 

lottery hunts, are self-clearing. Hunters must check in daily 
by obtaining a permit from a self-clearing station prior to 
hunting. The self-clearing permit must be in the hunter=s 
possession while hunting. Upon completion of each days 
hunt, the hunter must check out by completing and 
depositing the hunter report portion of the permit in the 
check-out box at a self-clearing station before exiting the 
WMA. 

2. Lottery Hunts. Bayou Macon, Boise-Vernon, Loggy 
Bayou, Sabine, Sherburne, Sicily Island, Tunica Hills, Union 
and West Bay WMAs are restricted to those persons selected 
as a result of the pre-application lottery. Special youth only 
lottery hunts will be held on Big Lake, Bens Creek, Fort 
Polk, Jackson-Bienville, Loggy Bayou, Sherburne, and West 
Bay WMAs. Deadline for receiving applications for all 
lottery hunts is February 14, 2003. An application fee of $5 
must be sent with each application. Applicants may submit 
only one application and will be selected for one WMA 
Turkey Lottery Hunt annually. Submitting more than one 
application will result in disqualification. Contact any 
district office for applications. Hunters must abide by self-
clearing permit requirements. Youths chosen for special 
youth only hunts will be guided by members of the 
Louisiana Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation. 
One family member may accompany the youth and guide, 
but may not hunt. 

C. Wildlife Management Area Turkey Hunting 
Schedule* 

 
WMA Season Dates Permit 

Requirements 
Lottery 
Dates**   

Bayou Macon April 5-6 Self-Clearing April 5-6  
Bens Creek1 March 22-April 13 Self-Clearing None 
Big Lake March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Bodcau March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 
Boeuf March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Boise Vernon March 22-23 

March 29-April 13 
Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Camp 
Beauregard 

March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 

Fort Polk  March 22-April 20 Self-Clearing None 
Grassy Lake March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 
Hutchinson 
Creek 

March 22-April 20  Self-Clearing None 

Jackson-
Bienville 

March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 

Little River March 22-April 6 Self-clearing None 
Loggy Bayou April 12-13 Self-Clearing April 12-13 
Pearl River March 22-April 13 Self-Clearing None 
Peason Ridge March 22-April 20  Self-Clearing None 
Plum Creek 
(formerly 
Georgia 
Pacific) 

March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 

Pomme de 
Terre 

March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 

Red River March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Sabine March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Sandy Hollow1 March 22-April 13 Self-Clearing None 
Sherburne2 March 22-30 Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 24-26 

 

Sicily Island March 22-30 Self-Clearing March 22-24 
March 25-27 
March 28-30 

Three Rivers March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Tunica Hills 
South Tract  

March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Self-Clearing March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Tunica Hills 
Angola Tract3 

March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Self-Clearing March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Union April 5-6 Self-Clearing April 5-6 
Walnut Hills March 22-April 20 Self-Clearing None 
West Bay March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 29-30 
*Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed have a turkey 
hunting season. All other areas are closed. 
**The deadline for receiving applications for all turkey 
Lottery Hunts on WMAs is February 14, 2003. 
1No turkey hunting within 100 yards of food plots identified 
by two yellow paint rings around the nearest tree. 
2All turkeys harvested on Sherburne WMA must be weighed 
and checked at WMA headquarters. 
3Scouting access limited. Contact Region 7 office for details 
(225) 765-2360. 
 

D. Wildlife Management Area Youth Hunts  
 

WMA Lottery Youth Hunt Date  
Bens Creek March 15 
Big Lake March 15 
Fort Polk  March 15 

Jackson-Bienville March 15 
Loggy Bayou April 5 

Sherburne March 15 
West Bay March 15 

 
E. Federal Lands Turkey Hunting Schedule 

1. Kisatchie National Forest (KNF) Turkey Hunting 
Schedule: Caney Ranger District, March 22-April 6; all 
remaining KNF lands, March 22-April 13 (including 
Catahoula and Red Dirt National Wildlife Management 
Preserves). 

2. Indian Bayou Area (U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers), Turkey Hunting Schedule: March 15 handicap 
only hunt, March 22-30, lottery hunt only on March 22-23 
and March 24-26. Contact USCOE at 337-585-0853 for 
further information. 

3. National Wildlife Refuges: Bogue Chitto NWR, 
March 22BApril 20; Lake Ophelia NWR, March 22-24 
(lottery only), March 29-31(lottery only), April 1-6; Tensas 
NWR, March 15-16 (youth lottery only), March 22BApril 6. 
Contact the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for information 
regarding NWR hunts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
25:2265 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2636 (November 
2000), LR 27:2272 (December 2001), LR 28:2377 (November 
2002). 

 
Thomas M. Gattle, Jr. 
Chairman 

0211#078 
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