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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Animal Health Services 

Meat and Poultry Inspection (LAC 7:XXXIII.133) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:953 and R.S. 3:4232, the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Forestry, is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act in implementing the following 
rules and regulations governing fees assessed for the Meat 
and Poultry Inspection Program. 

For the last two years, the Meat and Poultry Inspection 
Program budget has ended in a deficit. The department has 
used other funds to make up for each years deficit. The 
department cannot continue to find funds from other areas to 
make up this continuing deficit.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The Legislature has cut the department’s 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of the Meat and Poultry Inspection Program is not a 
continuing option.  

The department, however, cannot discontinue the Meat 
and Poultry Inspection Program because the program 
imposes and enforces requirements with respect to intrastate 
operations and comer that are at least equal to those imposed 
and enforced under the Federal Meat Inspection Act. 
Discontinuing the Meat and Poultry Inspection Program will 
endanger the health and safety of Louisiana citizens because 
intrastate operations and commerce would not be subject to 
rigorous inspections. 

The department must adopt an emergency rules increasing 
fees to insure that the program will have adequate funding 
for the remaining fiscal year and beyond. Permanent 
adoption of Rule changes will take place according to the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

This Rule becomes effective upon signature, December 
29, 2004, and will remain in effect 120 days or until the Rule 
becomes permanent through the normal Administrative 
Procedure Act process.  

This Rule is enabled by R.S. 3:4222 and R.S. 3:4232. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE and ANIMALS 
Part XXXIII.  Meat and Poultry Inspections 

Chapter 1. Meat and Poultry Inspection Program 
§133. Overtime and Holiday Inspection Service 

A. Official establishments shall be provided inspection 
service, without charge, up to a 40 hours workweek Monday 
through Friday. 

B. Official establishments shall pay the Department of 
Agriculture $25.00 per hour per department employee to 
reimburse the department for the cost of the inspection 
service furnished for more than 40 hours in any workweek 
Monday through Friday. 

1. A premium overtime rate of $30.00 per hour shall 
be assessed for any departmental employee working 
Saturday and Sunday. 

2. A holiday overtime rate of $35.00 per hour shall be 
assessed for any departmental employee working statutory 
holidays as defined in §133.C. 

C. Overtime holidays for state employees shall be the 
statutorily named holidays in R.S. 1:55.  

D. Each recipient of overtime or holiday inspection 
service shall be billed at the rate established in §133.B, in 
increments of quarter hours. For billing purposes, 15 or more 
minutes shall be considered a full half hour. Billings will be 
for each half hour service rendered by each department 
employee. 

E. Establishments requesting and receiving the services 
of a department employee after he has completed his day's 
assignment and left the premises, or called back to duty 
during any overtime or holiday period, shall be billed for a 
minimum of two hours overtime or holiday inspection 
service at the established rate. 

F. Bills are payable upon receipt and become delinquent 
30 days from the date of the bill. Overtime or holiday 
inspection will not be performed for anyone having a 
delinquent account. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2300. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, LR 11:247 (March 1985), amended LR 31: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0412#008 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
State Market Commission 

Meat Grading and CertificationCContractor's Obligation 
(LAC 7:V.513) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:953 and R.S. 3:405 and R.S. 3:412, the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry, is exercising the emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act in 
implementing the following rules and regulations governing 
fees assessed for grading and certification of meat and 
poultry. 

For the last two years, the State Market Commission's 
budget has ended in a deficit. The department has used other 
funds to make up for each years deficit. The department 
cannot continue to find funds from other areas to make up 
this continuing deficit.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The Legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of grading and certification of meat and poultry is not 
a continuing option.  
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The department, however, cannot discontinue the grading 
and certification services because the program imposes and 
enforces requirements with respect to intrastate operations 
and commerce that are at least equal to those imposed and 
enforced under the Federal Meat Inspection Act. 
Discontinuing the grading and certification of meat and 
poultry will endanger the health and safety of Louisiana 
citizens because intrastate operations and commerce would 
not be subject to rigorous inspections. 

This Rule becomes effective upon signature, December 
29, 2004, and will remain in effect until permanent rules are 
promulgated through the normal Administrative Procedure 
Act process.  

This Rule is enabled by R.S. 3:405 and R.S. 3:412. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part V.  Advertising, Marketing and Processing 

Chapter 5. Market CommissionCMeat Grading  
and Certification 

§513. Contractor's Obligation 
A. Contractors furnishing products under these 

regulations must furnish such assistance as may be necessary 
to expedite the grading, examination, and acceptance of 
products. 

B. Contractors desiring grading/certification services 
must notify the Department of Agriculture and Forestry at 
least 24 hours in advance of need. Contractors who fail to 
give at least 24 hours notice in advance of need will be 
subject to a penalty of $50, regardless of the time required 
for the service or the fee assessed on a poundage basis. 

C. The costs of all grading, examination, acceptance, and 
certification of meat and meat products shall be paid by the 
contractor at the rate of $0.04 per pound of meat or meat 
products graded, examined, or certified, which amount shall 
be due and payable to the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry upon presentation of statement(s) for services 
rendered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:405 and R.S. 3:412. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Market Commission, LR 7:262 (May 1981), amended 
LR 31: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0412#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Finanical Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsCRockefeller Scholarship 
(LAC 28:IV.501, 506, and 2103) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and repromulgate the Rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
Programs [R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 56:797.D(2)]. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant Programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating Rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that 
these Emergency Rules are necessary in order to prevent 
imminent financial peril to the welfare of the affected 
students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 17, 
2004, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid and ACT 
Test 

§501. Initial Application 
A.1. - B.4. … 
C. Initial Application for Louisiana scholarship and 

Grant Programs other than TOPS for High School Graduates 
of 2004 and Thereafter 

1. All new applicants for Louisiana scholarship and 
grant programs other than TOPS and the Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship must apply for federal grant aid by 
completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid 
(FAFSA) for the academic year following the year the 
student graduated from high school. For example, if the 
student will graduate from high school in school year 2003-
2004, submit the 2004-2005 version of the FAFSA. 

2. All new applicants for the Rockefeller State 
Wildlife Scholarship must apply for federal grant aid by 
submitting the FAFSA so that it is received no later than July 
1 immediately preceding the Academic Year (College) for 
which the scholarship is sought. For example, if the student 
wants to apply for a Rockefeller Scholarship to be awarded 
during the 2005-2006 Academic Year (College), submit the 
2005-2006 version of the FAFSA no later than July 1, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 
LR 24:1900 (October 1998), amended LR 26:1994 (September 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1846 (November 2001), amended LR 
29:554 (April 2003), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31: 
§506. Proof of Compliance 

A. As proof of compliance with the state's final deadline 
for submitting the FAFSA, or the On-Line Application, 
LASFAC will accept the documentation listed in  
§506.A.1-6. No other form of verification, including 
notarized or certified statements, will be accepted as proof of 
compliance with the deadline requirement. 

1. - 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
30:2018 (September 2004), amended LR 31: 
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Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - E. 7.c. … 
8. Death of Immediate Family Member 

a. Definition. The student's spouse, parent, 
stepparent, custodian, dependent, sister or brother, step 
sibling, grandparent or step grandparent dies. 

E.8.b - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1 and R.S. 
17:3050.1-3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1648 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 
(October 1998), LR 26:1015 (May 2000), LR 26:2002 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), amended LR 27:1875 (November 2001), LR 
28:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330 and 2333 (November 2002), LR 29:126 
(February 2003), LR 29:2373 (November 2003), LR 29:2373 
(November 2003), LR 30:787 (April 2004), LR 30:1167 (June 
2004), LR 31: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0501#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Expedited Penalty Agreement 
(LAC 33:I.801, 803, 805, and 807)(OS054E3) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allow 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish rules, and of R.S. 30:2011 and 2074, 
which allow the department to establish standards, 
guidelines, and criteria, to promulgate rules and regulations, 
and to issue compliance schedules, the secretary of the 
department hereby declares that an emergency action is 
necessary in order to implement expedited penalty 
agreements. Emergency Rule OS054E2, which was effective 
on November 5, 2004, and published in the Louisiana 
Register on November 20, 2004, is hereby rescinded. This 
Emergency Rule, OS054E3, retains the amendments to the 
original Rule that were made in OS054E2 and adds an 
additional amendment to LAC 33:I.805.E.5 and two 
additional water violations to LAC 33:I.807. 

This Emergency Rule will abate the delay in correcting 
minor and moderate violations of the Environmental Quality 
Act. Delays in enforcement reduce the effectiveness of the 
action, utilize unnecessary resources, and slow down the 
enforcement process. In the past three years alone, the 
Enforcement Division has received 8,139 referrals and has 
issued 4,259 actions. Currently strained budget and resource 
issues pose imminent impairment to addressing minor and 
moderate violations. This Rule will provide an alternative 
penalty assessment mechanism that the department may 

utilize, at its discretion, to expedite penalty agreements in 
appropriate cases. The report to the Governor by the 
Advisory Task Force on Funding and Efficiency of the 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 
recommended this action as a pilot program. The legislature 
approved the report and passed Act 1196 in the 2003 Regular 
Session allowing the department to promulgate rules for the 
program. This Emergency Rule allows the operation of the 
pilot program to commence immediately, without the delay 
and inflexibility of a permanent rule. It will also allow the 
department to gather information to formulate a long-term 
rule and to evaluate the environmental and public health 
benefits and the social and economic costs of such a 
program in order to justify these requirements for the 
permanent Rule. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on January 7, 2005, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until a 
final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For more 
information concerning OS054E3 you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 8. Expedited Penalty Agreement 
§801. Definitions 

Agency Interest NumberCa site-specific number assigned 
to a facility by the department that identifies the facility in a 
distinct geographical location. 

Qualifying Permit ParameterCfor the purposes of these 
regulations: total organic carbon (TOC), chemical oxygen 
demand (COD), dissolved oxygen (DO), 5-day biochemical 
oxygen demand (BOD5), 5-day carbonaceous biochemical 
oxygen demand (CBOD5), total suspended solids (TSS), 
fecal coliform, and/or oil and grease. 

Expedited Penalty AgreementCa predetermined penalty 
assessment issued by the department and agreed to by the 
respondent, which identifies violations of minor or moderate 
gravity as determined by LAC 33:I.705, caused or allowed 
by the respondent and occurring on specified dates, in 
accordance with R.S. 30:2025(D). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31: 
§803. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to provide an 
alternative penalty assessment mechanism that the 
department may utilize, at its discretion, to expedite penalty 
assessments in appropriate cases.  This Chapter: 

1. addresses common violations of minor or moderate 
gravity;  

2. quantifies and assesses penalty amounts for 
common violations in a consistent, fair, and equitable 
manner; 

3. ensures that the penalty amounts are appropriate, in 
consideration of the nine factors listed in R.S. 
30:2025(E)(3)(a); 

4. eliminates economic incentives for noncompliance 
for common minor and/or moderate violations; and 

5. ensures expeditious compliance with environmental 
regulations. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31: 
§805. Applicability 

A. Limit of Penalty Amount. The total penalty assessed 
for the expedited penalty agreement shall not exceed $1,500 
for one violation or $3,000 for two or more violations per 
penalty assessed. 

B. Departmental Discretion. The secretary of the 
department or his designee, at his sole discretion, may 
propose an expedited penalty agreement for any violation 
described in LAC 33:I.807.A and considered in accordance 
with Subsection E of this Section. The expedited penalty 
agreement shall specify that the respondent waives any right 
to an adjudicatory hearing or judicial review regarding 
violations identified in the signed expedited penalty 
agreement. The respondent must concur with and sign the 
expedited penalty agreement in order to be governed by this 
Chapter and R.S. 30:2025(D). 

C. Notification to the Respondent. The expedited penalty 
agreement shall serve as notification to the respondent of the 
assessed penalty amount for the violations identified on the 
specified dates. 

D. Certification by the Respondent. By signing the 
expedited penalty agreement, the respondent certifies that all 
cited violations in the expedited penalty agreement have 
been or will be corrected, and that the assessed penalty 
amount has been or will be paid, within 30 days of receipt of 
the expedited penalty agreement. 

E. Nine Factors for Consideration. An expedited penalty 
agreement may be used only when the following criteria for 
the nine factors for consideration are satisfied. 

1. The History of Previous Violations or Repeated 
Noncompliance. The violation identified in the expedited 
penalty agreement is not the same as or similar to a violation 
identified in any compliance order, penalty assessment, 
settlement agreement, or expedited penalty agreement issued 
by the department within the previous two years for any 
particular agency interest number.  Site-specific enforcement 
history considerations will only apply to expedited penalty 
agreements.  

2. The Nature and Gravity of the Violation.  The 
violation identified is considered to be minor or moderate 
with regard to its nature and gravity. 

a. The violation identified in the expedited penalty 
agreement deviates somewhat from the requirements of 
statutes, regulations, or permit; however, the violation 
exhibits at least substantial implementation of the 
requirements. 

b. The violation identified is isolated in occurrence 
and limited in duration. 

c. The violation is easily identifiable and corrected.  
d. The respondent concurs with the violation 

identified and agrees to correct the violation identified and 
any damages caused or allowed by the identified violation 
within 30 days of receipt of the expedited penalty 
agreement. 

3. The Gross Revenues Generated by the Respondent. 
By signing the expedited penalty agreement, the respondent 
agrees that sufficient gross revenues exist to pay the assessed 
penalty and correct the violation identified in the expedited 

penalty agreement within 30 days of receipt of the expedited 
penalty agreement. 

4. The Degree of Culpability, Recalcitrance, Defiance, 
or Indifference to Regulations or Orders.  The respondent is 
culpable for the violation identified, but has not shown 
recalcitrance, defiance, or extreme indifference to 
regulations or orders. Willingness to sign an expedited 
penalty agreement and correct the identified violation within 
the specified timeframe demonstrates respect for the 
regulations and a willingness to comply.  

5. The Monetary Benefits Realized Through 
Noncompliance. The respondent's monetary benefit from 
noncompliance for the violation identified shall be 
considered. The intent of these regulations is to eliminate 
economic incentives for noncompliance. 

6. The Degree of Risk to Human Health or Property 
Caused by the Violation. The violation identified does not 
present actual harm or substantial risk of harm to the 
environment or public health. The violation identified is 
isolated in occurrence or administrative in nature, and the 
violation identified has no measurable detrimental effect on 
the environment or public health. 

7. Whether the Noncompliance or Violation and the 
Surrounding Circumstances Were Immediately Reported to 
the Department and Whether the Violation or 
Noncompliance Was Concealed or There Was an Attempt to 
Conceal by the Person Charged. Depending upon the type of 
violation, failure to report may or may not be applicable to 
this factor. If the respondent concealed or attempted to 
conceal any violation, the violation shall not qualify for 
consideration under these regulations. 

8. Whether the Person Charged Has Failed to Mitigate 
or to Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate the Damages 
Caused by the Noncompliance or Violation.  By signing the 
expedited penalty agreement, the respondent states that the 
violation identified and the resulting damages, if any, have 
been or will be corrected. Violations considered for 
expedited penalty agreements are, by nature, easily 
identified and corrected. Damages caused by any violation 
identified are expected to be nonexistent or minimal. 

9. The Costs Of Bringing and Prosecuting an 
Enforcement Action, Such as Staff Time, Equipment Use, 
Hearing Records, and Expert Assistance.  Enforcement costs 
for the expedited penalty agreement are considered minimal.  
Enforcement costs for individual violations are covered with 
the penalty amount set forth for each violation in LAC 
33:I.807. 

F. Schedule. The respondent must return the signed 
expedited penalty agreement and payment for the assessed 
amount to the department within 30 days of the respondent's 
receipt of the expedited penalty agreement. If the department 
has not received the signed expedited penalty agreement and 
payment for the assessed amount by the close of business on 
the thirtieth day after the respondent's receipt of the 
expedited penalty agreement, the expedited penalty 
agreement may be withdrawn at the department's discretion. 

G. Extensions. If the department determines that 
compliance with the cited violation is technically infeasible 
or impracticable within the initial 30-day period for 
compliance, the department, at its discretion, may grant one 
30-day extension in order for the respondent to correct the 
violation cited in the expedited penalty agreement 
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H. Additional Rights of the Department 
1. If the respondent signs the expedited penalty 

agreement, but fails to correct the violation identified, pay 
the assessed amount, or correct any damages caused or 
allowed by the cited violation within the specified 
timeframe, the department may issue additional enforcement 
actions including, but not limited to, a civil penalty 
assessment and may take any other action authorized by law 
to enforce the terms of the expedited penalty agreement.   

2. If the respondent does not agree to and sign the 
expedited penalty agreement, the department may notify the 
respondent that a formal civil penalty is under consideration.  
The department may then pursue formal enforcement action 
against the respondent in accordance with R.S. 30:2025(C), 
2025(E), 2050.2, and 2050.3. 

I. Required Documentation. The department shall not 
propose any expedited penalty agreement without an 
affidavit, inspection report, or other documentation to 
establish that the respondent has caused or allowed the 
violation to occur on the specified dates. 

J. Evidentiary Requirements. Any expedited penalty 
agreement issued by the department shall notify the 
respondent of the evidence used to establish that the 
respondent has caused or allowed the violation to occur on 
the specified dates.  

K. Public Enforcement List. The signed expedited 
penalty agreement is a final enforcement action of the 
department and shall be included on the public list of 
enforcement actions referenced in R.S. 30:2050.1(B)(1). 

L. Date of Issuance. When an expedited penalty 
agreement is issued in conjunction with a Notice of Potential 
Penalty, the following issuance dates shall apply. 

1. If the respondent does not wish to participate in the 
expedited penalty agreement program, the issuance date for 
the Notice of Potential Penalty portion of the document shall 
be 30 days after the respondent receives the document. 

2. If the respondent does wish to participate in the 
expedited penalty agreement program, the issuance date for 
the expedited penalty agreement portion of the document 
shall be the date the administrative authority signs the 
document for the second, and final, time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31: 
§807. Types of Violations and Expedited Penalty 

Amounts 
A. The types of violations listed in the following table 

may qualify for coverage under this Chapter; however, any 
violation listed below, which is identified in an expedited 
penalty agreement, must also meet the conditions set forth in 
LAC 33:I.805.E. 
 

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

ALL MEDIA 
Failure to provide timely 
notification for the 
unauthorized discharge of any 
material that exceeds the 
reportable quantity but does 
not cause an emergency 
condition 

LAC 33.I.3917.A $300 per day 

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to provide timely 
written notification for the 
unauthorized discharge of any 
material that exceeds the 
reportable quantity but does 
not cause an emergency 
condition 

LAC 33:I.3925.A $300 per day 

AIR QUALITY 
40 CFR Part 70 General 
Permit conditions (Part K, L, 
M, or R): Failure to timely 
submit any applicable annual, 
semiannual, or quarterly 
reports 

LAC 33:III.501.C.4 $500  per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit an Annual 
Criteria Pollutant Emissions 
Inventory in a timely and 
complete manner when 
applicable 

LAC 33:III.919 $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit an Annual 
Toxic Emissions Data 
Inventory in a timely and 
complete manner when 
applicable 

LAC 33:III.5107 $500 per 
occurrence 

Control of Fugitive 
Emissions, sandblasting 
facilities: Failure to take all 
reasonable precautions to 
prevent particulate matter 
from becoming airborne 

LAC 33:III.1305.A $250 per 
occurrence 

Failure to provide notice of 
change of ownership within 
90 days after the change 

LAC 33:III.517.G $200 per 
occurrence 

Failure to timely submit any 
applicable Specific Condition 
or General Condition report as 
specified in a minor source 
permit 

LAC 33:III.501.C.4 $250 per 
occurrence 

Failure to timely submit any 
applicable Specific Condition 
or General Condition report 
(other than those specified 
elsewhere in this Section) as 
specified in a Part 70 (Title V) 
air permit 

LAC 33:III.501.C.4 $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit an updated 
Emission Point List, 
Emissions Inventory 
Questionnaire (EIQ), 
emissions calculations, and 
certification statement as 
described in LAC 
33:III.517.B.1 within seven 
calendar days after effecting 
any modification to a facility 
authorized to operate under a 
standard oil and gas permit  

LAC 33:III.501.C.4 $750 per 
occurrence/ 
emission 
point 

Failure to submit the Title V 
permit renewal application at 
least six months prior to the 
date of expiration, applicable 
only when the renewal 
application is submitted prior 
to permit expiration and a 
renewal permit is issued on or 
before the expiration date 

LAC 33:III.507.E.4 $1,000 per 
occurrence 

Failure to maintain records for 
glycol dehydrators subject to 
LAC 33:III.2116  

LAC 33:III.2116.F $250 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit an initial 
perchloroethylene inventory 
report  

LAC 33:III.5307.A $250 per 
occurrence 
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Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to submit 
perchloroethylene usage 
reports by July 1 for the 
preceding calendar year 

LAC 33:III.5307.B $250 per 
occurrence 

Stage II Vapor Recovery 
Note:  LAC 33:III.2132 is only applicable to subject gasoline dispensing 
facilities in the parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, West Baton Rouge, 
Iberville, Livingston, and Pointe Coupee. 
Failure to have at least one 
person trained as required by 
the regulations 

LAC 33:III.2132.C $300  per 
occurrence 

Failure to test the vapor 
recovery system prior to start-
up of the facility and annually 
thereafter 

LAC 33:III.2132.D $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to post operating 
instructions on each pump 

LAC 33:III.2132.E $100  per 
occurrence 

Failure to maintain equipment 
as defined in LAC 
33:III.2132.F.1-2 

LAC 
33:III.2132.F.1-2  

$300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to tag defective 
equipment "out of order" 

LAC 
33:III.2132.F.3 

$500  per 
occurrence 

Failure to maintain records on-
site for at least two years and 
present them to an authorized 
representative upon request 

LAC 
33:III.2132.G.1-7 

$300  per  
compliance 
inspection 

Failure to use and/or diligently 
maintain, in proper working 
order, all air pollution control 
equipment installed at the site 

LAC 33:III.905 $100  per 
occurrence 

HAZARDOUS WASTE 
Used Oil 

Failure of a used oil generator 
to stop, contain, clean up, 
and/or manage a release of used 
oil, and/or repair or replace 
leaking used oil containers or 
tanks prior to returning them to 
service 

LAC 33:V.4013.E $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure of a used oil transfer 
facility to stop, contain, clean 
up, and/or manage a release of 
used oil, and/or repair or 
replace leaking used oil 
containers or tanks prior to 
returning them to service 

LAC 33:V.4035.H $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure of a used oil processor 
or re-refiner to stop, contain, 
clean up, and/or manage a 
release of used oil, and/or repair 
or replace leaking used oil 
containers or tanks prior to 
returning them to service 

LAC 33:V.4049.G $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure of a used oil burner to 
stop, contain, clean up, and/or 
manage a release of used oil, 
and/or repair or replace leaking 
used oil containers or tanks 
prior to returning them to 
service 

LAC 33:V.4069.G $500 per 
occurrence 

SOLID WASTE 
Waste Tires 

Storage of more than 20 
whole tires without 
authorization from the 
administrative authority 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.B 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Transporting more than 20 
tires without first obtaining a 
transporter authorization 
certificate 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.C 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Storing tires for greater than 
365 days 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.E 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Failure to maintain all 
required records for three 
years on-site or at an 
alternative site approved in 
writing by the administrative 
authority 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.G 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Failure to obtain a waste tire 
generator identification 
number within 30 days of 
commencing business 
operations 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.A 

$300  per 
occurrence 

Failure to accept one waste 
tire for every new tire sold 
unless the purchaser chooses 
to keep the waste tire 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.B 

$100  per 
occurrence 

Failure to remit waste tire fees 
to the state on a monthly basis 
as specified 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.D 

$100  per 
occurrence 

Failure to post required 
notifications to the public 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.E 

$100  per 
occurrence 

Failure to list the waste tire 
fee on a separate line on the 
invoice so that no tax will be 
charged on the fee 

LAC 33:VII.10519.F $100  per 
occurrence 

Failure to keep waste tires or 
waste tire material covered as 
specified 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.H 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Failure to segregate waste 
tires from new or used tires 
offered for sale 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.M 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Failure to provide a manifest 
for all waste tire shipments 
containing more than 20 tires 

LAC 
33:VII.10533.A 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Failure to maintain completed 
manifests for three years and 
have them available for 
inspection 

LAC 
33:VII.10533.D 

$200  per 
occurrence 

Failure to collect appropriate 
waste tire fee for each new 
tire sold 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.C, 
10535.B 

$200  per 
occurrence 

WATER QUALITY 
Failure to properly operate 
and maintain a facility: 

   

 1.  Failing to provide 
disinfection at any applicable 
sewage treatment plant 

LAC 33:IX.2701.E $200 per 
occurrence 

 2.  Failing to 
operate/maintain backup or 
auxiliary systems within a 
treatment system 

LAC 33:IX.2701.E $200 per 
occurrence 

 3.  Failing to implement 
adequate laboratory controls 
and quality assurance 
procedures 

LAC 33:IX.2701.E $200 per 
occurrence 

 4.  Allowing excessive 
solids to accumulate within a 
treatment system 

LAC 33:IX.2701.E $200 per 
occurrence 

 5.  Allowing sample 
holding times to expire before 
analyzing any sample and 
failing to follow approved 
methods when collecting and 
analyzing samples 

LAC 33:IX.2701.J.4 $200 per 
occurrence 

Failure to sample any permit 
parameter in accordance with 
an LPDES permit 

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $100 per permit 
parameter 
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Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to submit Discharge 
Monitoring Reports (DMRs): 

   

 1.  Failing to submit 
DMRs, for any outfall, 
required by any LPDES 
individual permit 

LAC 
33:IX.2701.L.4.a 

$200 per submittal 
(per outfall) 

 2.  Failing to submit 
DMRs, for any outfall, 
required by any LPDES 
general permit 

LAC 
33:IX.2701.L.4.a 

$100 per submittal 
(per outfall) 

Exceedance of LPDES permit 
effluent limitations: 

   

 1.  Exceeding the daily 
maximum or weekly average 
concentration permit limit for 
any qualifying permit 
parameter  

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $150 per permit 
parameter 
(per 
exceedance)

 2.  Exceeding a monthly 
average concentration permit 
limit for any qualifying permit 
parameter  

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $300 per permit 
parameter 
(per 
exceedance)

 3.  Exceeding a daily 
maximum or weekly average 
mass loading permit limit for 
any qualifying permit 
parameter  

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $200 per permit 
parameter 
(per 
exceedance)

 4.  Exceeding a monthly 
average mass loading permit 
limit for any qualifying permit 
parameter 

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $400 per permit 
parameter 
(per 
exceedance)

 5.  Discharging effluent 
outside of the permitted range 
for pH (grab samples only) 

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $150 per grab 
sample (per 
exceedance)

Failure to develop and/or 
implement a Spill Prevention 
and Control Plan (SPC): 

   

 1.  Failing to develop an 
SPC plan for any applicable 
facility 

LAC 33:IX.905 $500 per 
occurrence 

 2.  Failing to implement 
any component of an SPC 
plan 

LAC 33:IX.905 $100 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit certain 
reports as required by an 
LPDES permit, including 
storm water reports, 
pretreatment reports, 
biomonitoring reports, 
overflow reports, construction 
schedule progress reports, 
environmental audit reports as 
required by a municipal 
pollution prevention plan, and 
toxicity reduction evaluation 
reports 

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $300 per required 
submittal 

Failure to prepare and/or 
implement any portion or 
portions of a Storm Water 
Pollution Plan (SWPPP), 
Pollution Prevention Plan 
(PPP), or Best Management 
Practices/Plan (BMP) as 
required by an LPDES permit 

LAC 33:IX.2701.A $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit a Notice of 
Intent for coverage under the 
LPDES Storm Water Permit 
for Construction Activities or 
under the LPDES Storm 
Water Multi-Sector General 
Permit 

LAC 33:IX.2511.C.1 $1,000 per 
occurrence 

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to provide notification 
of facility changes as required 
by an LPDES permit 

LAC 33:IX.2701.L.1 $300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit a 
noncompliance report 
required by an LPDES 
individual permit 

LAC 33:IX.2701.L.7 $200 per 
occurrence 

Failure to submit a 
noncompliance report 
required by an LPDES 
general permit 

LAC 33:IX.2701.L.7 $100 per 
occurrence 

Unauthorized discharge of oil 
field wastes, including 
produced water 

LAC 33:IX.1901.A $1,000 per 
occurrence 

Unauthorized discharge of 
oily fluids 

LAC 33:IX.1701.B $1,000 per 
occurrence 

UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS 
Failure to register existing or 
new USTs containing 
regulated substances 

LAC 33:XI.301.A-B $300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to certify and provide 
required information on the 
department’s approved 
registration form 

LAC 33:XI.301.B.1-
2 

$300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to notify the Office of 
Environmental Services, 
Permits Division within 30 
days after selling a UST 
system or acquiring a UST 
system; failure to keep a 
current copy of the 
registration form on-site or at 
the nearest staffed facility 

LAC 33:XI.301.C.1-
3 

$300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to provide corrosion 
protection to tanks and/or 
piping that routinely contain 
regulated substances using 
one of the specified methods  

LAC 33:XI.303.A.1-
2  

$500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to provide spill and/or 
overfill prevention equipment 
as specified  

LAC 33:XI.303.A.3 
and/or B.4 

$300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to upgrade existing 
UST systems to new system 
standards as specified  

LAC 33:XI.303.B $300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to pay fees by the 
required date 

LAC 33:XI.307.D $200 per 
occurrence 

Failure to report, investigate, 
and/or clean up any spills and 
overfills 

LAC 33:XI.501.B $1,500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to continuously 
operate and maintain 
corrosion protection to the 
metal components of portions 
of the tank and piping that 
routinely contain regulated 
substances and are in contact 
with the ground 

LAC 33:XI.503.A $300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to have UST systems 
equipped with cathodic 
protection systems inspected 
for proper operation as 
specified 

LAC 33:XI.503.B $500 per 
occurrence 

Failure to inspect UST 
systems with impressed 
current cathodic protection 
systems every 60 days to 
ensure that the equipment is 
running properly 

LAC 33:XI.503.C $300 per 
occurrence 

Failure to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements  

LAC 33:XI.503.D $150 per 
occurrence 
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Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to meet requirements 
for repairs to UST systems 

LAC 33:XI.507 $300  per 
occurrence 

Failure to follow reporting 
requirements, maintain 
required information, and/or 
keep records at the UST site 
and make them immediately 
available or keep them at an 
alternative site and provide 
them within 24 hours after a 
request 

LAC 33:XI.509 $300  per 
occurrence 

Failure to use a method or 
combination of methods of 
release detection described in 
LAC 33:XI.701 for all new or 
existing tank systems and/or 
failure to notify the Office of 
Environmental Compliance 
when a leak detection method 
indicates that a release may 
have occurred 

LAC 33:XI.703.A.1-
2 

$1,500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

per 
occurrence 

Failure to satisfy the 
additional requirements for 
petroleum UST systems as 
specified 

LAC 33:XI.703.B $100 per 
occurrence 

Failure to maintain release 
detection records 

LAC 33:XI.705 $150 per 
occurrence 

Failure to report any 
suspected release to the Office 
of Environmental Compliance 
within 24 hours after 
becoming aware of the 
occurrence 

LAC 33:XI.707 $500  per 
occurrence 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31: 
 

Mike D. McDaniel, Ph.D. 
Secretary 

0501#084 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

New or Revised Emissions Estimation Methods 
(LAC 33:III.501)(AQ240E1) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), which allows 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish rules, and under the authority of R.S. 
30:2011, the secretary of the department hereby declares that 
an emergency action is necessary to implement rules 
concerning the use of new or revised emissions estimation 
methods for annual compliance certifications required by 
LAC 33:III.507.H. 

This Emergency Rule revision clarifies requirements set 
forth in LAC 33:III.919, concerning emissions inventory, 
and LAC 33:III.507.H, concerning annual compliance 
certifications. LAC 33:III.919.C requires that emissions

reported in the emissions inventory shall be calculated using 
the best available information. The department is reissuing 
Emergency Rule AQ240E, which was effective on 
December 24, 2003, and published in the Louisiana Register 
on January 20, 2004. 

The department realizes that the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. 
§7430) requires EPA to periodically review AP-42 factors 
and that such emission factors may change upwards or 
downwards due to receipt of improved data.  

The failure to adopt this Rule on an emergency basis (i.e., 
without the delays for public notice and comment) would 
result in imminent peril to the public welfare. The air 
regulations require that permittees use the latest version of 
any AP-42 factor used to calculate emissions reported on an 
annual emissions inventory. For some facilities, this will 
result in a change in the calculation of emissions from levels 
that were previously in compliance with permit limits to 
levels that exceed those permit limits. Those facilities that 
have been reporting emissions in compliance with their 
permits may now be reporting emissions that exceed permit 
limits, even though their actual emissions have not changed. 
As a result, these facilities face potential enforcement 
actions, including substantial civil penalties. Some such 
facilities may elect to reduce or cease operations, which 
would have severe economic consequences for the firms 
involved, as well as their employees, suppliers, and 
customers. Adding LAC 33:III.501.C.11 allows the 
department to review changes in emission factors on a  
case-by-case basis prior to any actions taken by the 
department. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on December 28, 2004, 
and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or 
until a final Rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For 
more information concerning AQ240E1 you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - C.10. ... 
11. Emissions estimation methods set forth in the 

Compilation of Air Pollution Emission Factors (AP-42) and 
other department-approved estimation methods may be 
promulgated or revised. Emissions increases due solely to a 
change in AP-42 factors do not constitute violations of the 
air permit. Changes in emission factors other than AP-42 
factors will be evaluated by the department on a  
case-by-case basis for appropriate action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), 
LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 19:1420 (November 1993), LR 
20:1281 (November 1994), LR 20:1375 (December 1994), LR 
23:1677 (December 1997), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
LR 25:660 (April 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445
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(November 2000), LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, LR 31: 

 
Mike D. McDaniel, Ph.D. 
Secretary 

0501#007 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Examiners for the New Orleans and  

Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots 

Mandatory Rest Period (LAC 46:LXX.6653) 

The Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton 
Rouge Steamship Pilots, pursuant to the emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B), adopts the following rule on an emergency basis. 
The Rule is adopted in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, and shall become effective 
December 14, 2004, and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act, or until adoption of 
a permanent Rule, whichever occurs first. 

In order to provide for the continued safe and efficient 
pilotage of vessels along the Mississippi River, as well as to 
prevent any imminent peril to public health, safety and 
welfare, the Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton 
Rouge Steamship Pilots finds that it is necessary that all 
pilots perform their duties while adequately and completely 
rested. To that end, the Board of Examiners finds an 
immediate need to provide rules and regulations regarding a 
mandatory rest period for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXX.  River Pilots 

Subpart 7.  Board of Examiners for the New Orleans and 
Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots 

Chapter 66. Standards of Conduct 
§6653. Mandatory Rest Period 

A. All New Orleans-Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots shall 
have a minimum six hour rest period between turns.  

B. For the purpose of this rule, the "rest period" begins at 
the termination of the allotted travel time at the completion 
of one turn and ends at the time of dispatching for the next 
turn.  

C. For the purpose of this rule, a "turn" is the time period 
from dispatch to the termination of the allotted travel time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:1041 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots, LR 31: 

 
Henry G. Shows 
President 

0501#061 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
ProgramCHealth Services (LAC 50:XV.Chapter 71) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
amends LAC 50:XV.Chapter 71 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for health services provided for 
recipients under the age of 21 under the Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Program. The 
bureau promulgated the service descriptions and the staffing 
requirements for EPSDT health services and amended the 
reimbursement methodology for services rendered by local 
education agencies. (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 10). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions contained in the October 20, 2004 
Rule. This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients and to maintain access to 
EPSDT school-based services. It is effective February 18, 
2005, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the service descriptions and the staffing requirements for 
EPSDT health services and amends the reimbursement 
methodology for services rendered by local education 
agencies. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening,  

Diagnosis, and Treatment 
Chapter 71. Health Services 
§7101. Covered Services 

A. Health services for children are covered if they are 
included on the Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) 
for ages 0 to 3 years of age, and on the Individualized 
Education Plan (IEP) for ages 3 to 21 years of age. 

1. Audiology services are for the identification of 
children with auditory impairment, using at risk criteria and 
appropriate audiologic screening techniques. Audiology 
services include: 

a. determination of range, nature and degree of 
hearing loss and communications, by use of audiological 
procedures; 

b. referral for medical and other services necessary 
for the rehabilitation of children with auditory impairment; 
and 
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c. provision of auditory training, aural 
rehabilitation, speech reading and listening device 
orientation and training, and other services. 

2. Speech pathology services are for the identification 
of children with communicative or oropharyngeal disorders 
and delays in development of communication skills 
including diagnosis and treatment. These services include: 

a. referral for medical or other professional services 
necessary for the rehabilitation of children with 
communicative or oropharyngeal disorders and delays in 
development of communication skills; and 

b. provision of services for the rehabilitation or 
prevention of communicative or oropharyngeal disorders 
and delays in development of communication skills. 

3. Occupational therapy services address the 
functional needs of a child related to the performance of 
self-help skills, adaptive behavior, play and sensory, motor 
and postural development. Occupational therapy services 
include: 

a. identification, assessment, and intervention; 
b. adaptation of the environment; 
c. selection, design, and fabrication of assistive and 

orthotic devices to facilitate development and promote the 
acquisition of functional skills; and  

d. prevention or reduction of the impact of initial or 
future impairment, delays in development, or loss of 
functional ability. 

4. Physical therapy services are designed to improve 
the child's movement dysfunction. Physical therapy services 
include: 

a. screening of infants and toddlers to identify 
movement dysfunction; 

b. obtaining, interpreting and integrating 
information appropriate to program planning; and 

c. services to prevent or alleviate movement 
dysfunction and related functional problems. 

5. Psychological services are designed to obtain, 
integrate, and interpret information about child behavior, and 
child and family conditions related to learning, mental 
health, and development. Psychological services include: 

a. administering psychological and developmental 
tests and other assessment procedures; 

b. interpreting assessment results; 
c. planning and managing a program of 

psychological counseling for children and parents, family 
counseling, consultation on child development, parent 
training, and education programs. 

B. Services Provided by Local Education Agencies. 
Services provided by local education agencies include the 
health services as defined above and specified related 
services as described below that are provided to children 
ages 3 to 21 determined to be medically necessary and are 
listed on the child's Individualized Education Plan (IEP). 

1. Transportation to and from school is covered for 
Medicaid children only when a child's medical needs require 
the use of specialized transportation services and when the 
child receives another covered EPSDT Health Service at the 
school on the day the transportation is provided. The EPSDT 
Health Service and the child's specialized transportation 
needs MUST be identified in the child's IEP. 

2. Counseling services are services provided to the 
child and/or parents for the assessment, understanding and 

treatment of the child's disability, the special needs of the 
child, and the child's development. Providers of counseling 
services must meet all licensing requirements for their 
respective licensing boards.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:176 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:1034 (May 2004), LR 31: 
§7103. Professional Staffing Requirements 

A. Audiological Services. Audiological services must be 
provided by an audiologist or physician licensed in 
Louisiana to provide these services. A referral must be made 
by the child's physician, preferably the primary care 
physician, at least annually in accordance with federal 
Medicaid regulations. The audiologist must have one of the 
following: 

1. a certificate of clinical competence from the 
American Speech and Hearing Association; 

2. completion of the equivalent educational 
requirements and work experience necessary for 
certification; or 

3. completion of the academic program and is 
acquiring supervised work experience to qualify for a 
certificate.  

B. Speech Pathology Services. Speech pathology 
services must be provided by or under direction of a speech 
pathologist or audiologist in accordance with licensing 
standards of the State Examiners Board for Speech 
Pathologists or Audiologists. The speech pathologist or 
audiologist must be licensed in the state of Louisiana to 
provide these services and have one of the following: 

1. a certificate of clinical competence from the 
American Speech and Hearing Association; 

2. completion of the equivalent educational 
requirements and work experience necessary for 
certification; or 

3. completion of the academic program and is 
acquiring supervised work experience to qualify for a 
certificate.  

C. Occupational Therapy Services. Occupational therapy 
services must be provided by or under the direction of a 
qualified occupational therapist licensed in Louisiana to 
provide these services in accordance with the licensing 
standards of the State Examiners Board of Occupational 
Therapists. Occupational therapy treatment services require 
a written referral or prescription by a physician licensed in 
Louisiana on at least an annual basis. An initial evaluation 
may be done without a referral or prescription.  

1. The occupational therapist must also be: 
a. registered (OTR) by the American Occupational 

Therapy Association, Inc. (AOTA); or 
b. a graduate of a program approved by the Council 

on Medical Education of the American Medical Association 
and engaged in the supplemental clinical experience before 
registration by the AOTA.  

2. Services provided under the direction of an 
occupational therapist must be provided by an occupational 
therapist assistant certified by the AOTA, who is licensed to 
assist in the practice of occupational therapy under the 
supervision of an occupational therapist licensed in 
Louisiana. 
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D. Physical Therapy Services. Physical therapy services 
must be provided by or under the directions of a qualified 
physical therapist in accordance with state licensing 
standards of the State Examiners Board for Physical 
Therapists. The physical therapist must be a graduate of a 
program of physical therapy approved by both the Council in 
Medical Education of the American Medical Association and 
the American Physical Therapy Association or its equivalent. 
Physical therapy treatment requires a written referral or 
prescription by a physician licensed in Louisiana on at least 
an annual basis. An initial evaluation does not require such 
referral or prescription. 

E. Psychological services must be provided by a: 
1. Louisiana licensed physician; 
2. psychiatrist; 
3. psychologist; or 
4. certified school psychologist. 

F. Counseling services must be provided by a: 
1. licensed professional counselor; 
2. licensed clinical social worker; or 
3. graduate social worker with supervision in 

accordance with the state licensing standards of the State 
Board of Social Work Examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1034 (May 2004), amended LR 31: 
§7105. Reimbursement 

A. Early Intervention Centers. Reimbursement for 
rehabilitation services rendered to Medicaid recipients who 
are age 0 up to 3 provided by EPSDT early intervention 
center providers is as follows,  

 
Procedure Rate 

Electrical stimulation $ 17 
Physical therapy-one area—therapeutic-30 minutes $ 17 
Physical therapy-neuromuscular reed-30 minutes $ 17 
Physical therapy-gait training-30 minutes $ 34 
Orthotic training $ 14 
Kinetic act one area-30 minutes $ 14 
Physical performance test $ 14 
Physical therapy evaluation/re-evaluation $ 92 
Occupational therapy evaluation/re-evaluation $ 70 
Speech/language evaluation/re-evaluation $ 70 
Speech/language therapy—30 minutes $ 26 
Speech/language therapy-add 15 minutes $ 13 
Group speech/language/hearing therapy—30 minutes $ 26 
Speech group therapy—20 minutes $ 13 
Speech group therapy—add 15 minutes $ 13 
Group Speech/language/hearing therapy—1 hour $ 52 
Speech/language/hearing therapy—20 minutes $ 17 
Speech/language/hearing therapy—1 hour $ 52 
Procedures and modalities—30 minutes $ 34 
Procedures and modalities—45 minutes $ 52 

 
B. Local Educational Agencies. All local education 

agencies that participate in Medicaid as EPSDT health 
services providers must submit a signed school system 
certification of understanding (PE-50 EPSDT provider 
supplement agreement "C") in order to receive the new 
reimbursement rates for these services. The new 
reimbursement rates will not be activated until a completed

PE-50 EPSDT provider supplement agreement AC@ form has 
been received from all of the local education agencies 
enrolled as EPSDT health services providers.  

C. Rates for services provided by local education 
agencies will be established by dividing total costs related to 
providing the service, less any federal funds, by the total 
units of service provided. This will be determined as 
follows: 

1. total costs will consist of salaries, benefits and an 
allocation of indirect costs; 

2. annual salaries and benefits will be obtained each 
rebasing year for all direct service personnel;  

3. indirect costs will be allocated using the 
unrestricted indirect cost rate calculated by the Department 
of Education; 

4. a time study will be conducted each rebasing year 
using the random moment sampling methodology. The time 
study will determine the percentage of time direct service 
personnel spend on billable services;  

5. total costs will be multiplied by the percentage of 
direct service time to determine the amount of allocable 
costs; 

6. allocable costs will then be multiplied by the 
Medicaid discount factor for this program; 

7. discounted costs will be divided by total units of 
service billed for the year to determine cost per unit of 
service; 

8. current rates will be inflated and paid as an interim 
rate. At the end of the first year, costs and time study results 
will be obtained and rates will be calculated for a 
representative sample of the school districts. The median of 
this sample will then be used to set a state-wide rate. The 
State will then calculate the difference between the 
calculated state-wide rate time the units billed and compare 
this to the amount paid to the district during the base year. A 
retroactive adjustment will then be paid to each district;  

9. the state-wide rate will be inflated using wage 
inflation factors, and become the per unit rate for the year 
"Base Year Plus 1;" and 

10. rebasing will be done at least every three years. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0501#094 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

General Prohibited Behaviors (LAC 22.I:365) 

In order for the Department to be in compliance with 
federal jurisprudence, we must modify the Department's 
Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for Adult Inmates in light 
of the holding in Cassels v. Stalder, 342 F. Supp. 2d 555. In 
particular, the case held that Rule 30k was vague and 
overbroad on its face and as applied. The Administrative 
Procedures Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., requires, unless a Rule 
is promulgated as an emergency rule, a period of 
approximately one hundred days between the filing of the 
initial notice of intent and the effective date of the Rule. 
Unless the Department is able to proceed immediately, it is 
uncertain that the goal of guaranteeing an inmate’s 
constitutional First Amendment right to communicate 
information and the Department’s goals for guaranteeing the 
public safety will be met. R.S. 15:821 states: "The functions 
of the department shall comprise administrative functions of 
the state now or hereafter authorized by law to be exercised 
in relation to the administration, management and operation 
of all state institutions for the care, custody and correction of 
persons sentenced for felonies or misdemeanors." As 
statutorily mandated for the care of persons incarcerated 
within the Department, this is an imminent threat to the 
stability of the Department, which impacts the public health, 
safety and welfare. 

For the foregoing reasons, the Louisiana Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections has determined that the 
adoption of an emergency rule for implementation of the 
amendment to the Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for 
Adult Inmates, Department Regulation No.B-05-001, is 
necessary and hereby provides notice of its declaration of 
emergency. This Emergency Rule shall be in effect on 
January 20, 2005, and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Administrative 
Procedures Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever 
occurs first. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult and Juvenile Services 
Subchapter B. Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for 

Adult Offenders 
§365. Disciplinary Rules  

A. - X. … 
Y. General Prohibited Behaviors (Schedule B). The 

following behaviors, which may impair or threaten the 
security or stability of the unit or well being of an employee, 
visitor, guest, inmate or their families are prohibited:  

1. - 10. … 
11. the communication of malicious, frivolous, false, 

and/or inflammatory statements or information, the purpose 
of which is reasonable intended to harm, embarrass, or 
intimidate an employee, visitor, guest, or inmate. This rule 
shall not apply to information and/or statements 
communicated for the express purpose of obtaining legal 
assistance; 

12. - 23. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:823, Wolff v. McDonnell, 94 S.Ct. 2963 (1974), Ralph v. Dees, 
C.A. 71-94, USDC (Md. La.) and Sandin v. Conner, 115 S.Ct. 2293 
(1995). Cassels v. Stalder, 342 F. Supp. 2d 555. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 27:419 (March 2001), 
amended LR 31: 
 

Richard L. Stalder 
Secretary 

0501#036 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

TANF Initiatives (LAC 67:III.Chapters 55 and 56) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, to repeal LAC 
67:III, Subpart 15, Chapter 55, §§5501, 5509-5513, 5525, 
5527, 5533, 5537, 5539, 5547, 5553, 5557, 5567, 5569, 
5577 and Chapter 56, Diversion Assistance Program, in its 
entirety and to adopt §5579, Earned Income Tax Credit as a 
new TANF Initiative. Additionally, §5541, Court-Appointed 
Special Advocates, is being amended to remove specific 
language regarding the TANF partner who will be 
administering the program and §5561, Child-Parent 
Enrichment Services Program, is being amended to specify 
the public awareness portion of this quality child care 
initiative program. This Emergency Rule effective January 
28, 2005, will remain in effect for a period of 120 days. This 
declaration of emergency is necessary to extend the original 
Emergency Rule of September 30, 2004, since it is effective 
for a maximum of 120 days and will expire before the final 
Rule takes effect. ( The final Rule will be published in 
February 2005). 

Pursuant to Act 1 of the 2004 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, the agency proposes to repeal several 
of the TANF Initiatives, as funding is no longer available for 
these programs. Additionally, §5579 is being adopted to 
promote a public awareness and training program regarding 
the benefits of claiming the earned income tax credit and 
§§5541 and 5561 are being amended as noted above. The 
authorization for emergency action in this matter is 
contained in HB 1 of the 2004 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5501. Starting Points Early Childhood Development 

Program 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:2265 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:715 (May 2003), repealed LR 31: 
§5509. Domestic Violence Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:351 (February 
2002), amended LR 30:501 (March 2004), repealed LR 31: 
§5511. Micro-Enterprise Development 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session, Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:871 (April 2002), 
amended LR 28:2373 (November 2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5513. Post-Release Skills Program 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:351 (February 
2002), amended LR 29:715 (May 2003), repealed LR 31: 
§5525. Pre-GED/Skills Option Program 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session; Act 14, 2003 Reg. Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:352 (February 
2002), amended LR 30:501 (March 2004), repealed LR 31: 
§5527. Program Evaluation, Comprehensive Needs 

Assessment, and Training 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:352 (February 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5533. Transportation Services Program 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 36:474 and 46:231; and Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session, Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:352 (February 
2002), LR 29:190 (February 2003), repealed LR 31: 
§5537. Education and Training 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:353 (February 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5539. Truancy Assessment and Service Centers  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session; Act 14, 2003 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:353 (February 2002), 
amended LR 30:502 (March 2004), repealed LR 31: 
§5541. Court-Appointed Special Advocates  

A. OFS shall enter into Memoranda of Understanding to 
provide services to needy children identified as abused or 
neglected who are at risk of being placed in foster care or, 
are already in foster care. Community advocates provide 
information gathering and reporting, determination of and 
advocacy for the children's best interests, and case 
monitoring to provide for the safe and stable maintenance of 
the children or return to their own home.  

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session; Act 1, 2004 Reg. Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:871 (April 2002), 
amended LR 31: 
§5547. Housing Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session; Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:871 (April 2002), 
amended LR 28:2374 (November 2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5553. Substance Abuse Treatment Program for Office 

of Community Services Clients  
(Effective July 1, 2002) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5557. Energy Assistance Program for  

Low-Income Families  
(Effective July 1, 2002) 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 36:474 and 46:231; and Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5561. Child-Parent Enrichment Services  

and Public Awareness Program  
(Effective September 30, 2004) 

A. The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, shall enter into Memoranda of Understanding or 
contracts to create quality, early childhood education and 
parenting programs at various sites, such as schools, Head 
Start Centers, churches, and Class A Day Care Centers to 
provide children with age-appropriate services during the 
school year, school holidays, summer months and before-
and-after school and to provide parents, legal guardians, or 
caretaker relatives of children with parenting and 
adult/family educational services. A Public Awareness 
Program will develop public education materials for parents, 
providers, professionals, and interested parties to: promote 
applications for CCAP; assist providers; encourage eligible
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families to apply for services offered through OFS; and 
educate parents and others who have an interest in children 
and families about criteria of quality child care and the needs 
of young children. 

B. Services offered by providers meet the TANF goals to 
prevent and reduce the incidence of out-of-wedlock births by 
providing supervised, safe environments for children thus 
limiting the opportunities for engaging in risky behaviors, 
and to encourage the formation and maintenance of two-
parent families by providing educational services to parents 
or other caretakers to increase their own literacy level and 
effectiveness as a caregiver, and to foster positive interaction 
with their children. 

C. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 29:190 (February 
2003), amended LR 31 
§5567. Parental Involvement Services Program 

(Effective September 30, 2002) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 29:191 (February 
2003), repealed LR 31: 
§5569. Alternatives to Abortion Services Program 

(Effective September 30, 2002) 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 13, 2002 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 29:191 (February 
2003), repealed LR 31: 
§5577. Skills Training for Incarcerated Fathers 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 14, 2003 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 30:502 (March 
2004), repealed LR 31: 
§5579. Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Program 

A. The agency has entered into contracts to provide a 
public awareness and education regarding the benefits of 
claiming the Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Program. 
Strategies include collaboration with the IRS and the 
expansion of existing outreach activities that work in 
conjunction with free taxpayer assistance.  

B. These services meet the TANF goal to encourage the 
formation and maintenance of two-parent families. 

C. Eligibility for services is not limited to needy 
families. 

D. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 1, 2004 Reg. 
Session.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 31: 

Chapter 56. Diversion Assistance Program (DAP) 
§5601. General Authority 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2566 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
Subchapter A. Application, Determination of Eligibility, 

and Furnishing Assistance 
§5603. Application Date  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2566 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5605. Standard Filing Unit 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2566 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31:  
§5607. Application Time Limit  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2566 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5609. Certification Period and Payment Amounts 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2566 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5611. Domestic Violence 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2567 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§5613. Citizenship 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B., and Act 13, 2002 
Regular Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2567 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5615. Enumeration 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2567 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5617. Living in the Home of a Qualified Relative 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2567 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5619. Income 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 104-

193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 

Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2567 (December 2002), 
repealed LR 31: 
§5621. Residency  

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2568 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5623. Resources 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2568 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5625. Work Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2568 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5627. Job Loss Factors 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2568 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5629. Fleeing Felons and Probation/Parole Violators 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2569 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 
§5631. Strikers  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and R.S. 46:231, and Act 13, 2002 Regular Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2569 (December 
2002), repealed LR 31: 

 
Ann Silverberg Williamson 
Secretary 

0501#079 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Treasury 
Board of Trustees  of the Louisiana 

State Employees' Retirement System 

DROP Interest (LAC 58.I.2715) 

Under the authority of R.S. 11:515 and in accordance with 
R.S. 49:951 et seq., the Department of the Treasury, Board 
of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement 
System ("LASERS") advertises its intent to amend LAC 
58.I.2715, which sets out the manner of calculating interest 
paid on traditional DROP accounts. 

This emergency enactment is necessary to timely calculate 
and pay interest for traditional DROP participants and is 
being adopted in identical form through the ordinary 
promulgation process. 

This Rule shall become effective on January 07, 2005, and 
shall remain in effect for 120 days or until it becomes 
effective through the normal promulgation process, 
whichever comes first. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part I.  Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System 
Chapter 27. DROP Program 
Subchapter C. Withdrawal 
§2715. Interest 

A. Interest shall not be credited to a participant's 
subaccount during the period of participation and shall be 
based on the balance of the account at the end of each 
month. All amounts which remain credited to the 
individual's subaccount after termination of participation in 
the plan, which is not transferred to a self-directed 
subaccount under R.S. 11:451.1, shall be credited with 
interest at the end of each plan year at a rate equal to the 
realized return on the system's portfolio for that plan year as 
certified by the system actuary in his actuarial report, less 
one-half of one percent. 

B. Plan year shall mean calendar year. The actual posting 
of interest shall not be performed until the system actuary's 
report is approved by the Public Retirement Systems 
Actuarial Committee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 22:373 (May 1996), amended LR 31: 
 

Robert L. Borden 
Executive Director 

0501#054 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2004 Fall Shrimp Season ExtensionCZone 1 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or parts of state inside waters by zone, based 
upon biological and technical data which indicates that 
marketable shrimp in sufficient quantities are available for 
harvest, and a resolution adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission on August 4, 2004 which authorizes 
the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
change the closing dates of the 2004 Fall Shrimp Season if 
biological and technical data indicate the need to do so, the 
Secretary hereby declares: 

That the 2004 Fall Shrimp Season in Shrimp Management 
Zone 1 shall be extended and will close on December 31, 
2004 at official sunset except in the open waters of Breton 
and Chandeleur Sounds as described in the menhaden rule 
(LAC 76:VII.307D) which shall remain open until 6:00 a.m., 
March 31, 2005. 

 
Dwight Landreneau 
Secretary 

0501#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2005 Commercial King Mackerel Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency procedures to set finfish seasons and all rules and 
regulations pursuant thereto by Emergency Rule, and R.S. 
56:6(25)(a) and 56:326.3 which provide that the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission may set seasons for saltwater finfish; 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby sets the 
following season and trip limits for the commercial harvest 
of king mackerel in Louisiana state waters: 

The commercial season for king mackerel in Louisiana 
state waters will open at 12:01 a.m., July 1, 2005 and remain 
open until the allotted portion of the commercial king 
mackerel quota for the western Gulf of Mexico has been 
harvested or projected to be harvested. 

The commission grants authority to the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 
commercial king mackerel season in Louisiana state waters 
when he is informed by the National Marine Fisheries 
Service (NMFS) that the commercial king mackerel quota 
for the western Gulf of Mexico has been harvested or is 
projected to be harvested, such closure order shall close the 
season until 12:01 a.m., July 1, 2006, which is the date 

expected to be set for the re-opening of the 2006 commercial 
king mackerel season in Federal waters. 

The commission also authorizes the secretary to open 
additional commercial king mackerel seasons in Louisiana 
state waters if he is informed that NMFS has opened such 
additional seasons and to close such seasons when he is 
informed that the commercial king mackerel quota for the 
western Gulf of Mexico has been filled, or is projected to be 
filled. 

Effective with seasonal closures under this Emergency 
Rule, no person shall commercially harvest, possess, 
purchase, exchange, barter, trade, sell, or attempt to 
purchase, exchange, barter, trade, or sell king mackerel, 
whether taken from within or without Louisiana territorial 
waters. Also effective with this closure, no person shall 
possess king mackerel in excess of a daily bag limit, which 
may only be in possession during the open recreational 
season by legally licensed recreational fishermen. Nothing 
shall prohibit the possession or sale of fish by a commercial 
dealer if legally taken prior to the closure providing that all 
commercial dealers possessing such fish taken legally prior 
to the closure shall maintain appropriate records in 
accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and R.S. 56:306.6. 

 
Wayne J. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 

0501#049 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2005 Recreational Red Snapper Season 

The red snapper fishery in the Gulf of Mexico is 
cooperatively managed by the Louisiana Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF), the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission (LWFC) and the National Marine Fisheries 
Service (NMFS) with advice from the Gulf of Mexico 
Fishery Management Council (Gulf Council). Regulations 
promulgated by NMFS are applicable in waters of the 
Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the U.S., which in 
Louisiana is generally three miles offshore. Rules were 
established by NMFS to close recreational harvest season in 
the EEZ off of Louisiana effective midnight October 31, 
2004 until 12:01 a.m., April 21, 2005 by reducing the bag 
limit to zero, and NMFS requested that consistent 
regulations be established in Louisiana waters. NMFS 
typically requests consistent regulations in order to enhance 
the effectiveness and enforceability of regulations for EEZ 
waters. 

In order to enact regulations in a timely manner so as to 
have compatible regulations in place in Louisiana waters for 
the 2005 recreational red snapper season, it is necessary that 
emergency rules be enacted. 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency procedures to set finfish seasons, and R.S. 
56:326.3 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission may set seasons for saltwater finfish; the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby sets the 
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following seasons for recreational harvest of red snapper in 
Louisiana state waters: 

The season for the recreational fishery for red snapper in 
Louisiana state waters will remain closed until 12:01 a.m., 
April 21, 2005 by reducing the bag limit to zero for that time 
period. The season will open at 12:01 a.m., April 21, 2005 
and continue until midnight October 31, 2005. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission authorizes the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
close the recreational red snapper season when he is 
informed by the Regional Administrator of NMFS that the 
recreational red snapper quota for the Gulf of Mexico has 
been filled or is projected to be filled. 

The commission also hereby authorizes the Secretary to 
modify the opening and closing dates in State waters if he is 
notified that the opening and closing of Federal waters are 
other than those specified in this Declaration of Emergency, 
and to open an additional recreational red snapper season in 
Louisiana state waters if he is informed that NMFS has 
opened an additional recreational season, and to close such 
season when he is informed that the recreational quota for 
the Gulf of Mexico has been filled, or is projected to be 
filled. 

Effective with the recreational red snapper season closure, 
no person, except those who possess a Class 1 or Class 2 
commercial red snapper license issued by the National 
Marine Fisheries Service under the Federal Fishery 
Management Plan for the Gulf of Mexico Reef Fish and who 
are legally taking red snapper during an open commercial 
season, shall possess any red snapper whether taken from 
within or without Louisiana territorial waters.  

 
Wayne J. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 

0501#052 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2005 Reef Fish (Including Red Snapper)  
Commercial Seasons 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set finfish seasons, and R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby declares: 

Red snapper commercial seasons: The 2005 seasons for 
the commercial harvest of red snapper in Louisiana state 
waters are as follows: the first commercial fishing season for 
red snapper will open at 12 noon on February 1, 2005, and 
remain open until 12 noon on February 10. This pattern will 
continue each month until two-thirds of the 2005 
commercial quota for red snapper is harvested. The second 
commercial red snapper season will open at 12 noon on 
October 1, 2005, and remain open until 12 noon on October 
10, and will also continue in this format each month until the 
entire 2005 quota is harvested.  

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is hereby authorized to close the 2005 commercial red 
snapper seasons in Louisiana state waters when he is 
informed by the Regional Director of the National Marine 
Fisheries Service (NMFS) that the designated portions of the 
commercial red snapper quota for the Gulf of Mexico have 
been filled, or are projected to be filled, for each set of 
seasons, and such closure order shall close the season until 
the date set for the re-opening of the commercial red snapper 
season in federal waters. All applicable rules regarding red 
snapper harvest including trip limits, permit requirements, 
and size limits, established by the Commission shall be in 
effect during the open seasons hereby established.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission also grants 
authority to the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries to change the opening and closing dates for the 
commercial red snapper season in Louisiana state waters if 
he is informed by the Regional Administrator of NMFS that 
the season dates for the commercial harvest of red snapper in 
the federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico as set out herein 
have been modified, and that the Regional Administrator of 
NMFS requests that the season be modified in Louisiana 
state waters. 

Commercial Seasons for Reef Fish: In addition to the 
seasons set forth above for the commercial harvest of red 
snapper, the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries is hereby authorized to close the season for the 
commercial harvest of any species or group of species of 
fishes listed in LAC 76:VII.335, Reef Fish Harvest 
Regulations, in Louisiana state waters if he is informed by 
the Regional Administrator of NMFS that the applicable 
commercial quota has been harvested in the Gulf of Mexico, 
and if he is requested by the Regional Administrator of 
NMFS that the State of Louisiana enact compatible 
regulations in Louisiana state waters. 

The commission also hereby grants authority to the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to  
re-open and close the commercial seasons described here in 
Louisiana state waters if he is informed by NMFS that the 
season dates for the commercial harvest of these fish species 
in the Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico as set out herein 
have been modified, and that NMFS requests that the season 
be modified in Louisiana state waters. 

Effective with seasonal closures under this Emergency 
Rule, no person shall commercially harvest, possess, 
purchase, exchange, barter, trade, sell, or attempt to 
purchase, exchange, barter, trade, or sell the affected species 
of fish, whether taken from within or without Louisiana 
territorial waters. Also effective with this closure, no person 
shall possess the affected species of fish in excess of a daily 
bag limit, which may only be in possession during the open 
recreational season by legally licensed recreational 
fishermen. Nothing shall prohibit the possession or sale of 
fish by a commercial dealer if legally taken prior to the 
closure providing that all commercial dealers possessing 
such fish taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 
appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 
R.S. 56:306.6.  

 
Wayne J. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 

0501#050 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2005 Shrimping ClosureCState Outside Waters  

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons, and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall have the authority to open or close state 
outside waters to shrimping by zone each year as it deems 
appropriate, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby 
orders a closure to shrimping in that portion of state outside 
waters, south of the Inside/Outside Shrimp Line as described 
in R.S. 56:495, from the western shore of Freshwater Bayou 
Canal at longitude 92o 18' 33" W to the eastern shore of 
Belle Pass at latitude 29o 05' 07" N and longitude 90o 13' 30" 
W. This closure is effective at 6 a.m., Monday, January 10, 
2005. 

R.S. 56:498 provides that the possession count on 
saltwater white shrimp for each cargo lot shall average no 
more than 100 (whole specimens) count per pound except 
during the time period from October fifteenth through the 

third Monday in December. Current biological sampling 
conducted by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries has 
indicated that white shrimp in this portion of state outside 
waters do not average 100 possession count and additional 
small white shrimp are expected to recruit to these waters. 
This action is being taken to protect these small white 
shrimp and provide them the opportunity to grow to a larger 
and more valuable size.  

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission authorizes the 
Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
close to shrimping, if necessary to protect small white 
shrimp, any part of remaining state outside waters, if 
biological and technical data indicate the need to do so or if 
enforcement problems develop, and to reopen any area 
closed to shrimping when the closure is no longer necessary; 
and hereby authorizes the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to open and close special shrimp 
seasons in any portion of state inside waters where such a 
season would not detrimentally impact developing brown 
shrimp populations. 

 
Wayne J. Sagrera 
Vice-Chairman 

0501#051 
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