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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Civil Service 
Board of Ethics 

Ethics  
(LAC 52:I.Chapter 19)  

Editor's Note: Chapter 19 of the following Rule is being 
repromulgated to re-codify the disclosure forms. The original 
Rule may be viewed in its entirety on pages 2668-2687 of the 
December 20, 2004 edition of the Louisiana Register. 
 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Depatment of Civil Service, Louisiana Board of 
Ethics has promulgated rules, and amendments to the rules 
for the Board of Ethics, as well as repealed the procedural 

rules for drug testing elected officials, since that statutory 
provision was declared unconstitutional. 

Title 52 
ETHICS 

Part I.  Board of Ethics 
Chapter 19. Lobbyist Disclosure Act 
§1902. Filing Fees 

A. Lobbyist registration fees submitted pursuant to R.S. 
24:53 shall be made by check or money order payable to the 
Board of Ethics. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1134(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 25:624 (April 1999), amended LR 
30:2672 (December 2004), repromulgated LR 31:620 (March 
2005). 

 
§1906. Personal Financial Disclosure Form 
 

Appendix A 
Personal Financial Disclosure Form 

for Governors and Gubernatorial Candidates 
Filed pursuant to LSA_R.S. 42:1124 

 
1. FULL NAME 
 

2. SPOUSE'S FULL NAME 

3. RESIDENCE ADDRESS 
 

 

4. SPOUSE'S OCCUPATION (IF ANY) 
 
5. SPOUSE'S PRINCIPAL BUSINESS ADDRESS 
 

 

6. This report covers calendar year ____________________________ 7. Check if Amended Report _________________________________ 
 
Note:  Where amounts are required herein, indicate such amounts by use of one of the following categories: 
 

I. less than $5,000; 
II. $5,000 to $24,999; 
III. $25,000 to $49,999; 
IV. $50,000 to $99,999; 
V. $100,000 to $199,999; 
VI. $200,000 or more. 

 
Use as many pages of each section of the form as are required.  Machine copies of the form's pages may be used.  Complete all sections (if not 

applicable, so indicate).  Please type or print. 
 

8. Affidavit 
 

I do hereby certify, after having been first duly sworn, that the information contained in this personal financial disclosure form is true and 
correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief. 

 
_______________________________________ 

Person Filing Report      
Sworn to and subscribed before me this _______ day of ___________________________, 20____. 
 

_______________________________________ 
Notary Public       

 
Page _____ of  _______ 
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A. Positions 
 The name, address of, position in, and amount of interest in each business in which you or your spouse (either individually 

or collectively) were a director, officer, partner, member, or trustee during the calendar year. (Note:  For purposes of this section 
"business" is defined as any corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, firm, enterprise, franchise, association, business, 
organization, self-employed individual, holding company, trust, or any other legal entity or person.) 

 
1. Individual, 

Spouse, or Both 2. Full Name and Address of Business 3. Position 4. Amount 

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

 
 

Page _____ of  _______ 
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B. Business Interests 
 The name, address, and amount of interest in each business with which your sole relationship during the calendar year was 

as an owner of an interest and in excess of 10 percent held by you or your spouse (either individually or collectively).  (Note:  For 
purposes of this section "business" is defined as any corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, firm, enterprise, franchise, 
association, business, organization, self-employed individual, holding company, trust, or any other legal entity or person.) 

 
1. Individual, 

Spouse, or Both 2. Full Name and Address of Business 3. Position 4. Amount 

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

 
 

Page _____ of  _______ 
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C. Income 
 The name, address, type, and amount of each source of income in excess of $1,000 received by you or your spouse (either 

individually or collectively) during the calendar year. "Income" means any income from whatever source derived, including but 
not limited to the following types: compensation for services, including fees, salaries, commissions, and similar items; income 
derived from business; gains derived from dealings in property; interest; rents; royalties; dividends; annuities; income from life 
insurance and endowment contracts; pensions; income from discharge of indebtedness; distributive share of partnership income; 
and income from interest in an estate or trust. For income from compensation, give a very brief description of the services 
rendered. For income from mental health, medical health, or legal services, if the disclosure of the source of the income would 
reveal the identity of a patient or client, then either mental health, medical health, or legal services should be given as the source. 

 
1. Individual, 

Spouse, or Both 
2. Name and Address of  

Source of Income 3. Type 4. Amount 5. Description  
of Services 

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

    

 
Page _____ of  _______ 
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D. Real Estate Holdings 
 The address and a short description (i.e., size, use of land) of each parcel of real property having a fair market value in 

excess of $2,000 in which you or your spouse (either individually or collectively) had an interest during the calendar year. 
 
1. Individual, 

Spouse, or Both 2. Address of Real Property 3. Description 

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

  
 

Page _____ of  _______ 
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E. Transactions 
 A brief description, the date, and amount of each purchase, sale, exchange, donation, or gift, other acquisition or disposition, 

in excess of $1,000, by you or your spouse (either individually or collectively) during the calendar year in any real property, and of 
any stocks, bonds, commodities futures, or other forms of securities, including but not limited to, any option to acquire and/or 
dispose of any stocks, bonds, commodities futures, other forms of securities, negotiable instruments, movable or immovable 
property, or any other interest. 

 
1. Individual, 

Spouse, or Both 2. Description 3. Position 4. Amount 

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

   

 
 

 
Page _____ of  _______ 
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F. Liabilities 
 The name, address, and amount of each liability in excess of $10,000 owed to any creditor by you or your spouse (either 

individually or collectively) during the calendar year. (Note: Exclude any loan secured by a personal motor vehicle, household 
furniture, or appliance if such loan does not exceed the purchase price of the item that secures it.) 

 
1. Individual, 

Spouse, or Both 2. Full Name and Address of Business 3. Amount 

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

____ Individual 
____ Spouse 
____ Both 

  

 
Page _____ of  _______ 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:1134(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 

Service, Board of Ethics, LR 30:2673 (December 2004), 
repromulgated LR 31:620 (March 2005). 
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§1907. Lobbying Expenditure Form 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Instructions 
 
• Print in ink or type. 
• Complete form and return with $110 registration fee to the Board of Ethics, 
 2415 Quail Dr., 3rd Floor, Baton Rouge, LA  70808, (225) 763-8777 or 
 (800) 842-6630. 
• Initial registrations must be submitted within 5 days of (1) employment as a  
 lobbyist or (2) first action requiring registration. Registrations expire as of 
 December 31 unless a renewal is submitted between December 1 and January 31. 
 
1. NAME_____________________________________________________ 
  Last   First   MI 
 
2. BUSINESS PHONE___________________________________________ 
     Area Code and Phone Number 
 
3. BUSINESS ADDRESS____________________________________________________________ 
    Street and No.  City  State  Zip 
 
 MAILING ADDRESS_____________________________________________________________ 
    Street and No.  City  State  Zip 
 
4. EMPLOYER____________________________________________________ 
 
5. EMPLOYER'S ADDRESS___________________________________________________________ 
     Street and No.  City  State Zip 
 
6. LIST BELOW (a) Names of persons, groups, or organizations which you represent; (b) the address of each such person, 
group, or organization you represent; (c) the type of business each is engaged in or the purpose or function of the organization or 
group; (d) whether or not the client or someone else pays you to lobby. 
 
 1. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  Does this person pay you? _____ 

  If No, then who pays you?___________________________________________ 

 
 2. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  Does this person pay you? _____ 

  If No, then who pays you?___________________________________________ 

 

LOBBYING REGISTRATION FORM 
To be used for initial registrations and renewals 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
Postmark Date:______ 

_________________________ 
Lobbyist's Registration Number 
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 3. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  Does this person pay you? _____ 

  If No, then who pays you?___________________________________________ 

 
 4. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  Does this person pay you? _____ 

  If No, then who pays you?___________________________________________ 

 
CERTIFICATION OF ACCURACY 

 
I hereby certify that the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; and 
that no information required by the Lobbyist Disclosure Act [LSA-R.S. 24:50 et seq.] has been deliberately omitted. 
 
      _________________________________________ 
        Signature of Lobbyist 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1134(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 30:2680 (December 2004), 
repromulgated LR 31:627 (March 2005). 

 
 

ATTACH 
2" x 2" 

PHOTOGRAPH 
HERE 
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§1908. Lobbying Registration Form 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Instructions 
 

• Print in ink or type. 
• Fill in registration number in spaces provided. 
• Check the box that identifies which report is being filed and fill in the year that the  
 report is covering in the space provided. 
• Complete form and return to the Board of Ethics, 2415 Quail Dr., 3rd Floor, 
 Baton Rouge, LA 70808  (225) 763-8777 or (800) 842-6630 
• This form must be delivered or postmarked by the due date. 
• This form may be faxed to (225) 763-8787. 
*The report covering July 1-Dec.31 is a cumulative report. You must include 
  information from the first half of the year. 
 
1. NAME_____________________________________________________ 
  Last   First   MI 
 

2. BUSINESS ADDRESS____________________________________________________________ 
    Street and No.  City  State  Zip 
 

 MAILING ADDRESS_____________________________________________________________ 
    Street and No.  City  State  Zip 
 

3. BUSINESS PHONE___________________________________________ 
     Area Code and Phone Number 
 

 
4. Total of all expenditures made January 1 through June 30: $ __________________________  
 (Include expenditures from Schedules A and B) 
5. Total of all expenditures made July 1 through December 31: $. __________________________  
 (When applicable) (Include expenditures from Schedules A and B) 
6. Total of all expenditures made during calendar year:  $ __________________________  
 (Line 4 added with Line 5 should equal Line 6) 
7. Did you make an expenditure exceeding $50 on one occasion for any one legislator: 
 
 From January 1 through June 30?  � YES  � NO 
 From July 1 through December 31?  � YES  � NO  � NA 
 
If the answer to either question in Number 7 above is YES, please complete Schedule A and attach. 
 
8. Did you make expenditures exceeding the sum of $250 for any one legislator: 
 
 From January 1 through June 30?  � YES  � NO 
 From July 1 through December 31?  � YES  � NO  � NA 
 
If the answer to either question in Number 8 above is YES, please complete Schedule A and attach. 
 
9. Did you expend funds for a reception, social gathering, or other function to which the entire legislature, either house, any 

standing committee, select committee, statutory committee, committee created by resolution of either house, 
subcommittee of any committee, recognized caucus, or any delegation thereof were invited during this reporting period? 

 

      � YES  � NO 
 
If the answer to either question in Number 9 above is YES, please complete Schedule B and attach. 

LOBBYING REGISTRATION REPORT 
� COVERING JANUARY 1 THROUGH JUNE 30, ___ 
  DUE BY AUGUST 15 
 
� COVERING JULY 1 THROUGH DECEMBER 31, __ 
  DUE BY FEBRUARY 15 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
Postmark Date:______ 

_________________________ 
Lobbyist's Registration Number 
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CERTIFICATION OF ACCURACY 
I hereby certify that the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; that 
all reportable expenditures have been included herein; and that no information required by the Lobbyist Disclosure Act [LSA-R.S. 
24:50 et seq.] has been deliberately omitted. 
     _________________________________________ 
       Signature of Lobbyist 
 
 

SCHEDULE A:  EXPENDITURES FOR LEGISLATION 
This schedule must be completed if you answered YES to either question 7 or 8 on the Lobbying Expenditure Report. If, during the 
period January 1 through June 30 or the period July 1 through December 31, you made either  (a) an expenditure for any one legislator 
exceeding $50 on any one occasion or (b) aggregate expenditures exceeding $250 for any one legislator during a reporting period, then 
you must provide the aggregate total of expenditures made on that legislator in that reporting period. NOTE: Report covering July-
December is cumulative. You must include reportable expenditures from the first half of the year in Column #2. 
1. LEGISLATOR'S NAME 2. AMOUNT OF EXPENDITURES 

MADE ON A LEGISLATOR FOR 
WHOM YOU EITHER SPENT OVER 
$50 ON ONE OCCASION OR MADE 
EXPENDITURES EXCEEDING $250 
BETWEEN JANUARY 1 AND 
JUNE 30. 

3. AMOUNT OF EXPENDITURES 
MADE ON A LEGISLATOR  FOR 
WHOM YOU EITHER SPENT OVER 
$50 ON ONE OCCASION OR MADE 
EXPENDITRES EXCEEDING $250 
BETWEEN JULY 1 AND 
DECEMBER 31. 

4. TOTAL OF COLUMNS 
2 AND 3. 

 
 
 

   

 
 
 

   

 
 
 

   

 
 
 

   

 
 
 

SCHEDULE B:  EXPENDITURES FOR RECEPTIONS, ETC. 
 This schedule must be completed if you answered YES to either question 9 on the Lobbying Expenditure Report. 

The following information must be provided for all receptions, social gatherings, or other functions to which the entire 
legislature, either house, any standing committee, select committee, statutory committee, committee created by resolution 
of either house, subcommittee of any committee, recognized caucus, or any delegation thereof, was invited. 
1. NAME(S) OF GROUP(S) INVITED 2. DATE OF 

RECEPTION 
3. LOCATION OF RECEPTION 4. TOTAL AMOUNT 

OF EXPENDITURES 
FOR ATTENDING 
LEGISLATORS* 

 
 
 

   

 
 
 

   

 
 
 

   

  * No amount expended on persons other than attending legislators is reportable. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1134(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 30:2682 (December 2004), 
repromulgated LR 31:629 (March 2005). 
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§1909. Lobbying Supplemental Registration Form 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Instructions 
 
• Print in ink or type. 
• Complete form and return to the Board of Ethics, 2415 Quail Dr., 3rd Floor,  
 Baton Rouge, LA  70808, (225) 763-8777 or (800) 842-6630. No fee is required. 
This form must be submitted within 5 days of any changes in your registration  
form or to add employers or those you represent. It must be submitted within 10 days  
of any termination of employment or representations. 
 
1. NAME_____________________________________________________ 
  Last   First   MI 

 

2. BUSINESS PHONE___________________________________________ 
     Area Code and Phone Number 

 

3. BUSINESS ADDRESS____________________________________________________________ 
    Street and No.  City  State  Zip 

 

 MAILING ADDRESS_____________________________________________________________ 
    Street and No.  City  State  Zip 
 

4. EMPLOYER____________________________________________________ 

 

5. EMPLOYER'S ADDRESS___________________________________________________________ 
     Street and No.  City  State Zip 
 

6. Have you ceased or terminated all lobbying activities requiring registration? Yes _____     No _____ 

 

7. LIST BELOW (a) Names of persons, groups, or organizations which you are adding or eliminating; (b) the address of 
each such person, group, or organization listed; (c) the type of business each is engaged in or the purpose or function of 
the organization or group; (d) whether or not the client or someone else pays you to lobby; and (e) the date of termination 
if applicable. 

 
 1. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  � New Representation 
   Does this person pay you? __________ 
   If No, who pays you?________________________________________ 
 
  � Terminated Representation as of ___________ 
 

LOBBYING SUPPLEMENTAL REGISTRATION FORM
To be used for changes to registrations and terminations. 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
Postmark Date:______ 

_________________________ 
Lobbyist's Registration Number 
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 2. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  � New Representation 
   Does this person pay you? __________ 
   If No, who pays you?________________________________________ 
 
  � Terminated Representation as of ___________ 
 
 
 3. Name ___________________________________________________________ 

  Address _________________________________________________________ 

  Business or purpose________________________________________________ 

  � New Representation 
   Does this person pay you? __________ 
   If No, who pays you?________________________________________ 
 
  � Terminated Representation as of ___________ 
 
 

 
 
 

CERTIFICATION OF ACCURACY 
 
I hereby certify that the information contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief; and 
that no information required by the Lobbyist Disclosure Act [LSA-R.S. 24:50 et seq.] has been deliberately omitted. 
 
     _____________________________ 
      Signature of Lobbyist 
 
 
 
 
 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1134(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 30:2684 (December 2004), 
repromulgated LR 31:631 (March 2005). 
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§1910. Disclosure Statement Pursuant to R.S. 39:1233.1 
 

LSA-R.S. 39:1233.1  DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 
The Louisiana Code of Governmental Ethics generally prohibits any member or chief executive officer of a local depositing authority from serving as an 
officer, director, or employee of a bank in which agency funds are deposited L.S.A-R.S. 39:1233.1 creates a narrow exception allowing a local governing 
authority member or chief executive officer to serve in such a capacity, despite the agency's deposit of funds in the bank, if he (1) recuses himself from voting 
in favor of any such bank and does not otherwise participate in the depositing authority's consideration of any matter affecting actual or potential business with 
the bank, (2) discloses the reason for recusal and files these reasons, in writing, in the minutes or record of the agency, and (3) files this disclosure form with 
the Board of Ethics within 15 days of any such recusal.  Any such disclosure statement shall be deemed filed when it is received in the office of the Board of 
Ethics or at the time it is postmarked by the United States Postal Service, if it is subsequently received in the office of the Board of Ethics, whichever is earlier.  
This exception may be used only by members of "local depositing authorities."  Local depositing authorities are defined by law to include all parishes, 
municipalities,  boards, commissions, sheriffs and tax collectors, judges, clerks of court, and any other public bodies or officers of any parish, 
municipality or township, but do not include the state, state commissions, state boards and other state agencies.  Unless a written advisory opinion has 
been obtained from the Board of Ethics, members and chief executive officers of special agencies created by, representing OR comprised of more than 
one political subdivision are NOT included in this exception.  Sole decision makers may NOT take advantage of this exception. 

NOTE:  This exception is narrow—completion of this form will not cure any violation of the Ethics Code except those situations specifically addressed in 
LSA-R.S. 39:1233.1. 

1. Name and address of official 

 

2. Office held (Please include the office title and the political subdivision.) 

3. Name and address of bank 

 

4.  Position(s) held at bank (If officer, state office held.  If employee, give job 
title.) 

 

5. Position with bank is ________ compensated ______________ noncompensated.  (Check one) 

6. Description of transaction from which you recused yourself from participating (for example, consideration of method of selecting bank(s) to be used, 
selection of a bank or banks, decision affecting deposits, decision to discontinue use of a bank, etc.)  Include the date of each instance on which you recused 
yourself from voting or otherwise participating in any such transaction. 

 

 

 
 
7. ___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                                    Signature of Official                                                                                                                               Date 
Mail or hand deliver to:  Ethics Administration Program, 2415 Quail Drive, Third Floor, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70808.  If you have any questions, 
please call (225) 763-8777 or (800) 842-6630. 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1134(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 30:2686 (December 2004), 
repromulgated LR 31:633 (March 2005). 

 
R. Gray Sexton 
Administrator 

0503#075 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111CLouisiana School, District,  
and State Accountability System 
(LAC 28:LXXXIII.4310-4313) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted revisions to Bulletin 111CLouisiana 
School, District, and State Accountability System (LAC 28: 
LXXXIII). Act 478 of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session 
called for the development of an Accountability System for 
the purpose of implementing fundamental changes in

classroom teaching by helping schools and communities 
focus on improved student achievement. The State's 
Accountability System is an evolving system with different 
components. These changes take advantage of new 
flexibility in guidance for No Child Left Behind and address 
situations that were not considered when the accountability 
policy was initially written. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111CLouisiana School, District, 
and State Accountability System 

Chapter 43. District Accountability 
§4310. Subgroup Component AYP (Adequate Yearly 

Progress) 
A. District Subgroup Component Indicators 

1. Each district shall be evaluated on the subgroup 
component at three different levels (grade-clusters); 
elementary (K-5), middle (6-8), and high school (9-12). A 
district shall pass the subgroup component provided that 
each subgroup of students within each grade-cluster meets 
the passes the subgroup component, and each grade-cluster 
the district, as a whole, meets the criteria for status or 
improvement on the additional academic indicator. 

a. Passing the Subgroup Component 
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 i. Participation rate test: 95 percent of the 
students within the each subgroup within each grade-cluster 
participated in the standards-based assessments; and 
 ii. Annual Measurable Objective status test (AMO 
status test): the subgroup percent proficient score within 
each grade-cluster is at/or above the annual measurable 
objective in ELA and mathematics; or 
 iii. Safe harbor test: 

(a). the percentage of non-proficient students 
within the each subgroup within each grade-cluster reduced 
declined by at least 10 percent of the previous year's value; 
and 

(b). the subgroup improved or met the criterion 
on the additional academic indicator (attendance rate for the 
elementary and middle schools grade-clusters and non-
dropout rate for the high schools grade-cluster). 

b. 2002-03 will be year one of judging districts 
based on the subgroup component. 

c. 2003-04 will be year two of judging districts 
based on the subgroup component. 

d. For the non-proficient reduction portion of the 
safe harbor test, a comparison of current year assessment 
data to the previous year assessment data shall be used. For 
the additional academic indicator check for the safe harbor 
test and for the whole grade-cluster district check, 
attendance and dropout data from two years the prior year 
will be compared to data from three years prior. 

e. To ensure high levels of reliability, Louisiana will 
apply a 99 percent confidence interval to the calculations of 
subgroup component determinations for: 
 i. AMO status test; 
 ii. reduction of non-proficient students (safe 
harbor test); and  
 iii. status attendance/non-dropout rate analyses. 

f. Louisiana will not apply a confidence interval to 
improvement analyses for attendance/non-dropout rate. 

B. Inclusion of Students in the Subgroup Component 
1. Students that meet the following criteria shall be 

included in all subgroup component analyses for the AMO 
status test and reduction of non-proficient students (safe 
harbor test). 

a. Enrolled for the Full Academic Year (FAY): 
 i. at school level enrolled at the school on Oct. 1 
and the date of testing; 
 ii. at district level enrolled in the district on Oct. 1 
and the date of testing; 
 iii. at state level enrolled in a public LEA in the 
state on Oct. 1 and the date of testing. 

b. First administration of the test: 
 i. only the first test administration will be used 
for the subgroup status and growth tests; 
 ii. excludes summer school results and repeaters. 

c. Not exempted from testing due to medical illness, 
death of the student's family member(s), the student being in 
protective custody, or the student being identified as LEP 
and in an English-speaking school for less than one full 
academic year. 

d. Beginning with the fall 2005 accountability 
results, former LEP students for up to two years after no 
longer being considered LEP under state rules. 

e. These students will not count toward the 
minimum n for the LEP subgroup and will not be included in 
the SPS Growth Target adjustment. 

2. For analyses involving the additional academic 
indicator, all students in each subgroup within each grade-
cluster in the district shall be included. 

3. Each subgroup (African American, American 
Indian/Alaskan Native, Asian, Hispanic, White, 
Economically Disadvantaged, Limited English Proficient, 
Students with Disabilities, and All Students) within each 
grade-cluster within each district shall be evaluated 
separately on ELA and mathematics. 

a. In calculating the subgroup component for a 
district, the alternate academic achievement standards for 
students participating in LAA will be used, provided that the 
percentage of LAA students scoring proficient at the district 
level does not exceed 1.0 percent of all students in the 
grades assessed. If the district exceeds the 1.0 percent cap, 
the district shall request a waiver. If the district fails to 
request the waiver or if the district requests the waiver but it 
is determined by LDE that ineligible students were 
administered LAA, the students that exceed the cap or that 
are ineligible shall be assigned a zero on the assessment and 
considered non-proficient. 

b. Students participating in LAA shall be included 
in the special education subgroup. 

c. LEP students shall participate in the statewide 
assessments. 
 i. Scores shall not be included in AMO or 
improvement in Percent Proficient calculations for LEP 
students who have not been enrolled in an English-speaking 
school for one full school year. 

4. Subgroups shall consist of: 
a. at least 10 students in order to be evaluated for 

the subgroup component; 
b. at least 40 students in order to be evaluated for 

the 95 percent participation rate. 
5. Subgroups shall pass the participation rate test and 

either the AMO status test; or the safe harbor test in order to 
be considered as having passed the subgroup /component. 

C. AMO 
1. The Annual Measurable Objective (AMO) is the 

percent of students required to reach the proficient level in a 
given year on the standards-based assessments, which 
through 2005 will include English/language arts and 
mathematics tests for 4th, 8th, and 10th grades. 

a. Proficient = a score of basic, mastery or 
advanced. 

2. As required in NCLB, the AMOs have been 
established based on the baseline percent proficient score 
(proficient = CRT level of basic, mastery, or advanced) in 
English-language arts and mathematics in the 20th percentile 
school, using the 2002 CRT test scores in ELA and 
mathematics for grades 4, 8, and 10. 
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3. The AMOs for ELA and math are as follows. 
 

School Year ELA Mathematics 
2001-2002     
2002-2003 36.9% 30.1% 
2003-2004 36.9% 30.1% 
2004-2005 47.4% 41.8% 
2005-2006 47.4% 41.8% 
2006-2007 47.4% 41.8% 
2007-2008 57.9% 53.5% 
2008-2009 57.9% 53.5% 
2009-2010 57.9% 53.5% 
2010-2011 68.4% 65.2% 
2011-2012 78.9% 76.9% 
2012-2013 89.4% 88.6% 
2013-2014 100.0% 100.0% 

 
4. A 99 percent confidence interval shall be used 

when evaluating whether subgroups within a grade-cluster 
within a district have attained the Annual Measurable 
Objective (AMO). 

5. A confidence interval is a statistic that creates a 
range of scores. Subgroups with a 95 percent participation 
rate that attain a percent proficient score within or above the 
confidence interval range for the AMO shall be considered 
as having passed the subgroup component. Confidence 
interval ranges are affected by subgroup size. Smaller 
subgroups will have a wider range and larger subgroups will 
have a narrower range. 

D. Safe Harbor 
1. Subgroups that do not pass the AMO status test by 

attaining a percent proficient score within or above the 
confidence interval range shall be evaluated for safe harbor. 

2. Safe harbor is attained if: 
a. the subgroup makes a 10 percent reduction in its 

non-proficiency rate from the previous year: 
 i. a 99 percent confidence interval is applied to 
this reduction check; and 

b. the subgroup: 
 i. achieves a 90 percent non-dropout rate (9-12) 
or attendance rate (K-5, 6-8) (any LEA without a 12th grade 
shall use attendance rate). (A 99 percent confidence interval 
is applied to the 90 percent attendance rate and 90 percent 
non-dropout rate check); or 
 ii. makes at least 0.1 percent improvement in non-
dropout rate (9-12) or attendance rate (K-5, 6-8) from the 
previous year (any LEA without a 12th grade shall use 
attendance rate). 

3. The non-dropout rate shall be evaluated for students 
in grade 9 and above. 

4. Subgroups passing the participation rate test and 
achieving safe harbor shall be considered as having passed 
the subgroup component. 

E. Failing the Subgroup Component 
1. A district shall fail the subgroup component if ANY 

subgroup within that ANY grade-cluster in the district fails 
the participation rate test, the ELA or math AMO status test 
and the safe harbor test. 

2. A grade-cluster district in which all subgroups have 
passed the subgroup component must also have the grade-
cluster district pass the additional academic indicator: 

a. achieved a 90 percent non-dropout rate (9-12) or 
attendance rate (K-5, 6-8) (any LEA without a 12th grade 
shall use attendance rate). (A 99 percent confidence interval 

is applied to the 90 percent non-dropout or attendance rate 
check.); or 

b. made at least 0.1 percent improvement in non-
dropout rate (9-12) or attendance rate (K-5, 6-8) from two 
years prior to the previous year (any LEA without a 12th 
grade shall use attendance rate). 

NOTE: If a grade-cluster district in which all subgroups have 
passed the subgroup component does not pass the additional 
academic indicator, it shall not pass the subgroup component. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:1447 (July 2004), 
amended LR 30:2446 (November 2004), LR 31:633 (March 2005). 
§4311. Performance Labels  

A. Districts shall be assigned a DPS performance label as 
follows. 

A district shall not receive a label for its district performance 
score.  
 

Performance Label District Performance Score 
Academically Unacceptable  Below 45.0 
Academic Warning∗  45.0 – 59.9 
★  60.0 – 79.9 
★★  80.0 – 99.9 
★★★ 100.0 – 119.9 
★★★★ 120.0 – 139.9 
★★★★★ 140.0 and above 

*Effective with the 2005 performance labels, the definition of 
an academically unacceptable district shall be any district with 
a DPS below 60.0. The academic warning label will be used 
only with the 2003 and 2004 district performance scores. 
 

B. A label shall be reported for the District 
Responsibility Index (DRI) and for each of the four 
indicators. 

 
District Responsibility Index DRI Label 

120.0 or more Highly responsive 
100.0 – 119.9 Adequately responsive 
80.0 – 99.9 Responsive 
60.0 – 79.9 Minimally responsive 
0.0 – 59.9 Unresponsive 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2757 (December 
2003), amended LR 30:1449 (July 2004), LR 31:635 (March 2005). 
§4313. Corrective Actions  

A. The Louisiana Department of Education shall report 
district scores and labels on every school district. 
Consequences imposed on a district shall be based on its 
District Responsibility Index (DRI). Any district receiving a 
performance label of unsatisfactory for its DRI shall become 
subject to an operational audit. If a district scores 
unsatisfactory again within two years, the SBESE shall have 
the authority to act on the audit findings, including the 
withholding of funds to which the district might otherwise 
be entitled. 

B. Beginning in 2004, districts shall be evaluated on 
their District Responsibility Index Label and on the 
subgroup component. Districts that receive a DRI Index 
label of Unresponsive and/or fail to achieve Adequate Yearly 
Progress (AYP) in the subgroup component shall complete 
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district self-assessments and submit it to the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

1. The DOE shall review each self-assessment. 
2. The DOE may recommend that BESE schedule a 

District Dialogue with the district. 
C. Districts that receive a DRI Index label of 

Unresponsive for a second consecutive year and/or fail to 
achieve AYP in the subgroup component for a second 
consecutive year are identified for improvement by the 
subgroup component shall write District Improvement Plans 
based on the prior years' self-assessments and submit those 
plans to the LDE. 

1. A district is identified for improvement when it 
fails in all grade-clusters, in the same subject, to achieve 
subgroup AYP for two consecutive years.  

2. The DOE shall review each District Improvement 
Plan. 

3. The DOE may recommend that BESE schedule a 
District Dialogue with the District. 

D. Districts that receive a DRI Index label of 
Unresponsive and/or fail in all grade-clusters, in the same 
subject, to achieve AYP in the subgroup component for a 
third consecutive year shall be audited by the LDE. The 
audit shall include academic, fiscal, and support services. 

E. BESE shall take action on the findings of the prior 
years audit for districts that receive a DRI Index label of 
Unresponsive and/or fail in all grade-clusters, in the same 
subject, to achieve AYP in the subgroup component for a 
fourth consecutive year. Actions taken shall be dependent 
upon whether identification was through the DRI label or the 
subgroup component. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2757 (December 
2003), amended LR 30:1449 (July 2004), LR 31:635 (March 2005). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0503#008 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for Nonpublic School 
AdministratorsCGraduation Exit Examination  

(LAC 28:LXXIX.2511) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Nonpublic Bulletin 741CLouisiana 
Handbook for Nonpublic School Administrators. In August 
2004, the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
voted to eliminate the BESE Honor's Curriculum for both 
public and nonpublic schools. This policy will not take effect 
until the 2006-2007 school year so that students who are 
currently juniors and seniors can still receive this 
recognition. Students should be encouraged to meet both the 
core course and grade-point requirements for TOPS. The 
BESE Honors Curriculum has no grade-point requirements 
and does not allow the substitutions as TOPS does. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for 
Nonpublic School Administrators 

Chapter 25. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter C. Secondary Schools 
§2511. Graduation Exit Examination 

A. - E. .... 
F. - F.10. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2351 (November 
2003), amended LR 31:636 (March 2005). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0503#007 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School PersonnelCRequirements  

for Certification as Superintendent, Ancillary 
Superintendent, and Education Leader 3  

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746CLouisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.903.A. This revision to the policy for certification 
as a Superintendent, Ancillary Superintendent, and 
Educational Leader 3 allows experience as an assistant 
principal to qualify for administrative experience. The 
assistant principal experience would be limited to a 
maximum of two years of experience in that position. This 
will allow more flexibility in the certification of higher-level 
school administrators. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:183, 310, 399, 435, 541 
(April, July, September, October, December 1975), LR 28:2505-
2508 (December 2002), LR 29:117-119 (February 2003), LR 
29:119-121 (February 2003), LR 29:121-123 (February 2003), LR 
31:636 (March 2005). 

* * * 
Parish or City School Superintendent 
A parish or city school superintendent must meet the 

following criteria: 
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1. Hold a valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana Teaching 
Certificate. 

2. Have had five years of successful school experience 
(state, parish, or city) as a superintendent, assistant 
superintendent, supervisor of instruction, principal, or 
assistant principal in a state-approved system, or experience 
certified as equivalent to any of these by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. The assistant 
principal experience would be limited to a maximum of two 
years of experience in that position. 

3. Hold an earned master's degree from a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education. 

4. Have completed 48 semester hours of graduate credit, 
to include the following: 

A. Thirty semester hours in educational administration 
and supervision of instruction, to include the following: 

1) Foundations of (Introductory) Educational 
Administration or Theory of Educational Administration. 

2) School Law. 
3) Principles of Instructional Supervision 

(Elementary or Secondary). 
4) School Community Relations. 
5) Principalship (Secondary or Elementary School). 
6) School Finance. 
7) Twelve semester hours of electives in educational 

administration and instructional supervision from School 
Facilities; School Personnel Administration; Group 
Dynamics; Office and Business Management; Clinical 
Supervision or Internship or Practicum in Educational 
Administration or Instructional Supervision, Program 
Development and Evaluation (in professional education or 
areas outside professional education). 

B. Twelve semester hours in professional education, to 
include the following: 

1) Three semester hours of Educational Research. 
2) Three semester hours of History or Philosophy of 

Education. 
3) Six semester hours of curriculum (three semester 

hours at the elementary level and three semester hours at the 
secondary school level). 

C. Six semester hours of electives from cognate fields 
outside professional education related to educational 
administration and supervision in business, political science, 
psychology, sociology, or speech. 

5. Assistant superintendents who supervise any part of 
the instructional program are required to meet the same 
standards as superintendents. 

6. Assistant superintendents for noninstructional areas* 
shall be certified as a school superintendent or meet the 
following requirements: 

A. A minimum of five years of demonstrated 
successful administrative experience at a managerial level in 
education and/or related fields, either in the public or private 
sector. 

B. Possess an earned master's degree from a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education in either education 
administration, business administration, public 
administration, or a related area of study including, but not 
limited to, accounting, finance, banking, insurance and law. 

The responsibilities assumed by this category of 
administrators must be related to noninstructional programs 
and the experience obtained while at that level may not be 

used for meeting the certification requirements for 
superintendent. 

*Noninstructional areas include finance, management, 
facilities planning, and ancillary programs. 

7. A statement of eligibility for certification as a parish 
city school superintendent may be issued upon 
documentation and verification that the applicant meets the 
following criteria (Items a-d): 

a) Hold an out-of-state teaching certificate with 
authorization to serve as a school superintendent. 

b) Hold an earned master's degree from a regionally 
accredited institution of higher learning. 

c) Have had five years of successful school experience 
as a superintendent, assistant superintendent, supervisor of 
instruction, principal, or assistant principal. The assistant 
principal experience would be limited to a maximum of two 
years of experience in that position. 

d) Have had five years of successful teaching 
experience in a properly certified field. 

A parish or city school superintendent ancillary certificate 
may be issued to an applicant who has met the requirements 
of Items G 1-4 above and who is employed to serve in this 
position in a Louisiana school system. The certificate is valid 
only for the period and place of employment. 

 
For certain school districts, allowable circumstance for waiver of 
the school superintendent certification requirements are addressed 
in Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators. 
 

Education Leader Certificate-Level 3  
All candidates must meet the following requirements in 

order to receive a five-year Level 3 Educational Leader 
Certificate to become a superintendent. The five-year 
certification period is activated with the candidate's first full-
time appointment as a Superintendent. 
Candidates for initial Level 3 Educational Leader 

(Professional) Certification shall meet the following criteria: 
1. Hold a valid Louisiana Level 2 Educational Leader 

Certificate. 
2. Have had five years of successful administrative or 

management experience in education at the level of assistant 
principal or above. The assistant principal experience would 
be limited to a maximum of two years of experience in that 
position. 

3. Earn a passing score on the School Superintendent 
Assessment (SSA), in keeping with state requirements. 
Renewal Requirements: 
Level 3 Educational Leaders must complete a minimum of 
150 continuing learning units of professional development 
over a five-year time period that is consistent with the 
leader's Individual Professional Growth Plan (IPGP) and 
includes updating the educational leader portfolio. 

* * * 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0503#006 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1943CPolicies and Procedures for  
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment  

(LAC 28:XXXVII.2503) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1943CPolicies and 
Procedures for Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment (LAC Part Number XXXVII). These changes to 
current Bulletin 1943 policy provide for administrative 
waivers related to two situations involving new teachers in 
their fourth semester of the LaTAAP. This applies to new 
teachers who successfully completed semester three of the 
LaTAAP and are moving to another state due to family re-
employment or military assignment. This amended language 
streamlines current policy and aligns Bulletin 1943 policy 
with Blue Ribbon Commission Year One recommendations 
related to improving teacher quality in Louisiana. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XXXVII.  Bulletin 1943CPolicies and Procedures 
for Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment 

Chapter 25. Assessment Procedures 
§2503. Extenuating Circumstances in the Assessment 

Process 
A. When extenuating circumstances in the assessment 

process occur, the procedures outlined below shall be 
followed. 

1. New teachers employed or unreported to the LDE 
by the LDE established dates shall not enter the first phase 
(initial support semester) of the assistance and assessment 
program until the following semester.  

2. If a new teacher is employed and reported by the 
dates specified above, but is reassigned to a new school or a 
new subject/grade assignment after October 1 or February 1, 
the teacher shall not enter the first phase (initial support 
semester) of the assistance and assessment program until the 
following semester. 

3. If a new teacher who has completed the first year of 
teaching is reassigned to a new school or a grade/subject 
greatly different from the previous assignment, the teacher 
may request in writing that the LEA and LDE defer 
assessment for one semester. A written response to the 
request must be delivered to the teacher within 10 working 
days from the date that the LEA and LDE receive the 
request. If the assessment is deferred, the new teacher shall 
be assessed the following semester. 

4. If a new teacher does not complete either the initial 
support year or the assessment semester, the new teacher 
shall reenter that phase of the assessment program, i.e., 
either support or assessment, that was incomplete. 

5. If a new teacher does not meet the assessment 
standards for certification at the end of the first assessment 
period, the teacher may request changes in the mentor and/or 
the assessment team for the second assessment period. The 
written request shall be submitted to both the principal and 
the LEA contact person. 

6. If a new teacher has successfully completed 
semester three of the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 

Assessment Program and will be moving to another state due 
to family re-employment or due to a military assignment, the 
teacher may request a waiver from the fourth semester of the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program. The 
written request shall be submitted to both the principal and 
the LEA contact person, with supporting documentation (e.g. 
verification from out-of-state employer or military orders). 
The LEA contact person will forward the teacher’s waiver 
request to the LDE for approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:391.10; R.S. 17:3871-3873; R.S. 17:3881-3884; R.S. 17:3891-
3895; R.S. 17:3901-3904. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:288 (February 2002), 
amended LR 31:638 (March 2005). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0503#005 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

School Approval Standards and Regulations, Early 
Childhood Programs, Pupil Progression and Remedial 

Education, Competency Based Education, and State Content 
Standards (LAC 28:I.901, 906, 907, 925, and 930) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended to Chapter 9 (LAC 28:I). The 
Louisiana Administrative Code should contain regulatory 
policies and procedures germane to the conduct of BESE 
business. The board is in the process of removing Sections 
that either contain no regulatory language, the programs they 
refer to no longer exist, or the language will be transferred to 
or is already contained in the appropriate regulatory bulletin. 
The Sections being removed will not have an effect on the 
way BESE conducts board business or the regulatory 
procedures or language used to oversee any programs. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. - I. Repealed. 
J. - J.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; R.S. 
17:22 (2), (6); R.S. 17:151.1; R.S. 17:151.3; R.S. 17:176; R.S. 
17.232; R.S. 17:191.11; R.S. 17:1941; R.S. 17:2007; R.S. 17:2050; 
R.S. 17:2501-2507; P.L. 94-142; R.S. 17:154(l); R.S. 17:402. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 29: 866 (June 2003), LR 31:638 (March 2005). 
§906. Early Childhood Programs 

A. - A.2. ... 
B. Repealed. 
C. - C.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 18:1249 (November 
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1992), amended LR 19:1549 (December 1993), LR 20:416 (April 
1994), LR 21:1220 (November 1995), LR 24:295 (February 1998), 
LR 25:254 (February 1999), LR 31:638 (March 2005). 
§907. Pupil Progression and Remedial Education 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

7:24.4 and R.S. l7:394-400. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 6:144, 539, 651 (April, 
September, November 1980), LR 8:276, 323, 510 (June, July, 
October 1982), LR 11:685 (July 1985), LR 12:420 (July 1986), LR 
15:622 (August 1989), amended LR 16:297 (April 1990), LR 
16:766 (September 1990), LR 19:1417 (November 1993), LR 
24:2081 (November 1998), repealed LR 31:639 (March 2005). 
§925. Competency Based Education 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4; R.S. 17:391.1-391.11. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 8:63 (February 1982), 
amended LR 8:188 (April 1982), LR 9:60 (February 1983), LR 
10:400 (May 1984), LR 10:745 (October 1984), LR 11:520 (May 
1985), LR 11:848 (September 1985), LR 12:14 (January 1986), LR 
12:762 (November 1986), LR 13:496 (September 1987), LR 
13:563 (October 1987), LR 14:10 (January 1988), LR 15:469 (June 
1989), LR 16:297 (April 1990), LR 16:605 (July 1990), repealed 
LR 31:639 (March 2005). 
§930. State Content Standards 

A. - F.2. Repealed. 
G. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 24:296 (February 1998), 
amended LR 24:2088 (November 1998), LR 31:639 (March 2005). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0503#009 
 

RULE 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust (START Saving) 
ProgramCEducation Savings Account 

(LAC 28:VI.107 and 311) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA), in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 
49:953(B)], has amended its START Savings Program Rules 
(R.S. 17:3091 et seq.).  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Savings  

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
Subchapter A. Student Tuition Trust Authority 
§107. Applicable Definitions  

* * * 
DepositsCthe actual amount of money received from an 

account owner for investment in an education savings 
account. Deposits do not include earnings on deposits nor 
earnings enhancements or interest earned thereon. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORIAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 
27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:450 
(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 
2002), LR 29:556 (April 2003), LR 30:786 (April 2004), LR 
30:1169 (June 2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 31:639 
(March 2005). 
Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§311. Termination and Refund of an Education 

Savings Account  
A. - C.1. … 

2. All other requests for refund will result in the 
termination of the account and in the refund of: 

a. the deposits invested in fixed earnings, if the 
account has been open for less than twelve months; 

b. the redemption value, if the account has been 
open for 12 or more months; 

c. the deposits or the current value (less earning 
enhancements allocated to the account and earnings thereon) 
of an account invested in variable earnings, whichever is 
less, if the account has been open for less than twelve 
months; 

d. the current value (less earning enhancements 
allocated to the account and earnings thereon) of an account 
invested in variable earnings, if the account has been open 
for twelve or more months. 

C.3. - H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:717 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1273 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2265 (October 2000), amended LR 27:38 (January 2001), LR 
27:1882 (November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:790 
(April 2004), LR 31:639 (March 2005). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0503#004 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Transportation Conformity Incorporation by Reference 
(LAC 33:III.1432)(AQ247*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.1432 
(Log #AQ247*). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 69 
FR 40004-40081, No. 126 (July 1, 2004) and 69 FR 43325-
43327, No. 138 (July 20, 2004), which are applicable in 
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 219-3550 or Box 4314, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4314. 
No fiscal or economic impact will result from the Rule; 
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therefore, the Rule will be promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule revision incorporates by reference two federal 
transportation conformity rule amendments (as amended 
through July 20, 2004) into the state's existing transportation 
conformity regulations. The two federal amendments to 40 
CFR Part 93 were promulgated by EPA to include 
conformity criteria and procedures for the new 8-hour ozone 
and fine particulate matter (PM2.5) national ambient air 
quality standards (NAAQS). This Rule is also a revision to 
the state implementation plan (SIP) for transportation 
conformity. 

On July 1, 2004, EPA published a final rule in the Federal 
Register (69 FR 40004) that substantially amends and 
revises the 40 CFR Part 93 transportation conformity 
regulation. This final Rule also revises "the conformity 
regulation in the context of EPA's broader strategies for 
implementing the new ozone and PM2.5 standards." 
Subsequent to the July 1, 2004, conformity regulation 
amendments, EPA published a related amendment in 69 FR 
43325 (July 20, 2004) that corrects two errors discovered in 
the preamble of the final Rule. The corrections include 
revisions to a table in Section II.D of the preamble. The 
basis and rationale for this Rule revision are to mirror the 
federal transportation conformity regulations as amended 
through July 20, 2004. Transportation conformity is required 
under Clean Air Act, Section 176(c) to ensure that federally 
supported highway and transit project activities conform to 
the purpose of a state air quality implementation plan (SIP). 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 14. Conformity 
Subchapter B. Conformity to State or Federal 

Implementation Plans of Transportation 
Plans, Programs, and Projects Developed, 
Funded, or Approved under Title 23 
U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Act 

§1432. Incorporation by Reference 
A. 40 CFR Part 93, Subpart A, July 1, 2004, is hereby 

incorporated by reference with the exclusion of Section 105. 
Also incorporated by reference are amendments published in 
the Federal Register on July 1, 2004 (69 FR 40004-40081, 
No. 126) and July 20, 2004 (69 FR 43325-43327, No. 138). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 24:1280 (July 1998), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 
2002), LR 29:697 (May 2003), LR 30:1009 (May 2004), amended

by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:640 (March 
2005). 

 
Wilbert F. Jordan, Jr. 
Assistant Secretary 

0503#013 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of Facility Planning and Control 

Performance-Based Energy Efficiency Contracting 
(LAC 34:V.105) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Commissioner 
of Administration promulgates this Rule for performance-
based energy efficiency contracting pursuant to Act 869 of 
the 2004 Regular Session of the Legislature, in order to 
implement the provisions of that Act. This Rule is necessary 
to permit the award of performance-based energy efficiency 
contracts, as such contracts are defined in R.S. 
39:1484(A)(14), "performance contracts", and for the audit, 
review, approval and oversight of such contracts, all 
consistent with the Energy Management Act of 2001, R.S. 
39:251 et seq. This new Section shall be incorporated by 
reference into every performance contract and into every 
"request for proposals" prepared pursuant to R.S. 39:1496.1 
and the following proposed Rule.  

Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part V.  Procurement of Professional, Personal, 

Consulting and Social Services 
Chapter 1. Procurement of Professional, Personal, 

Consulting and Social Services 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§105. Performance-Based Energy Efficiency 

Contracting 
A. Preparation of Requests for Proposals 

1. Performance contracts shall be considered to be 
consulting services contracts under the provisions of Title 
39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes and shall 
be awarded in accordance with the provisions of that 
Chapter, the rules and regulations promulgated by OCR 
pursuant to that Chapter, and this Section. 

2. Prior to its preparation of an RFP, a state agency, as 
defined in R.S. 39:2 (hereinafter, "user agency") shall 
perform a needs analysis in accordance with the provisions 
of Title 39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes and 
the rules and regulations promulgated by the Division of 
Administration, through its Office of Contractual Review 
("OCR") pursuant to that Chapter. Such needs analysis shall 
be in a form approved by the Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent and shall include a 
detailed audit of energy use. 
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3. Prior to its preparation of an RFP, a user agency 
shall submit its needs analysis to the Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent for approval. 

4. Upon approval of a user agency's needs analysis 
pursuant to this Section, such user agency shall prepare an 
RFP in a form approved by OCR, which form shall require 
proposers to separately itemize the costs and savings 
associated with each proposed energy cost savings measure 
("ECSM"). In accordance with the provisions of Title 39, 
Chapter 16 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes and the rules 
and regulations promulgated by OCR pursuant to that 
Chapter, every RFP shall indicate the relative importance of 
price and other evaluation factors, shall clearly define the 
tasks to be performed under the performance contract, the 
criteria to be used in evaluating the proposals and the time 
frames within which the work must be completed. Prior to 
advertising its RFP, a user agency shall submit it to the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent and 
obtain his written consent to the advertisement of the RFP. 

5. Upon approval of a user agency's RFP, such user 
agency shall advertise its RFP in accordance with the 
provisions of Title 39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes and the rules and regulations promulgated by OCR 
pursuant to that Chapter. 

B. Evaluation of Submitted Proposals 
1. A user agency shall review any proposals it timely 

receives in response to its RFP and shall submit to the 
Department of Natural Resources ("DNR") the results of its 
review, along with each proposal that is responsive and 
responsible and otherwise in accordance with the provisions 
of Title 39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, the 
rules and regulations promulgated by OCR pursuant to that 
Chapter, and this Section. A user agency shall not make a 
final selection from among the proposals it submits to DNR.  

2. Prior to the award of any performance contract, 
DNR shall evaluate all proposals submitted by a user agency 
for that performance contract. In its evaluation, DNR shall 
include suggestions, if appropriate, for the resolution of any 
unique issues arising in connection with a particular 
proposed performance contract. DNR's evaluation shall also 
include, but not be limited to, a consideration of the 
following: 

a. whether proposed ECSMs are in compliance with 
the provisions of R.S. 39:1496.1; 

b. whether proposed ECSMs will generate net 
savings, as those terms are defined in Subsection E of this 
Section; and 

c. whether the proposed protocol for measuring and 
verifying the energy savings guaranteed in the contract 
conforms to the latest standards set forth by the International 
Performance Measurement and Verification Protocol. 

3. DNR shall, within 60 days of the receipt of the 
submitted proposals, forward to the Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent DNR's written 
evaluation of the submitted proposals, along with the results 
of the review of the submitted proposals by the user agency. 
DNR shall not make a final selection from among the 
proposals it forwards to the Commissioner of Administration 
or his designated agent. 

4. Prior to the award of any performance contract, the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent 
may retain an independent consultant in accordance with this 

Section. Such independent third-party consultant shall 
evaluate all proposals and written evaluations submitted by 
DNR to the Commissioner of Administration or his 
designated agent. Such evaluation shall be in accordance 
with the provisions of Title 39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes, the rules and regulations promulgated by 
OCR pursuant to that Chapter, and this Section. After 
completing its evaluation, an independent consultant shall 
submit to the Commissioner of Administration or his 
designated agent the written results of such evaluation, along 
with the written evaluation provided by DNR. An 
independent consultant shall not make a final selection from 
among the proposals it evaluates. 

5. Prior to retaining an independent third-party 
consultant pursuant to this Section, the Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent shall require every 
proposed independent consultant to execute a written 
certification verifying that he or she has no direct conflict of 
interest as to the user agency that requested the proposals to 
be evaluated, the proposals themselves and/or those who 
submitted the proposals to the user agency. Such written 
certification shall be in a form approved by the legislative 
auditor. In order to assist the legislative auditor in verifying 
the independence of a proposed independent consultant, 
such proposed independent consultant shall provide to the 
legislative auditor any documentation or information the 
legislative auditor requests. A proposed independent 
consultant shall not be retained, unless the legislative auditor 
has determined that such proposed independent consultant 
has no direct conflict of interest as to the user agency that 
requested the proposals to be evaluated, the proposals 
themselves and/or those who submitted the proposals to the 
user agency. 

6. After completing his review of proposals submitted 
by DNR and evaluations prepared by the independent 
consultant, if any, pursuant to this Section, the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent 
shall provide written notification to a user agency that the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent has 
consented to the award of a performance contract to a 
specified energy services company ("ESCO") or that he has 
not consented to the award of a performance contract. 
Pursuant to the provisions of Title 39, Chapter 16 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, the rules and regulations 
promulgated by OCR pursuant to that Chapter, and this 
Section, such consent shall be given to the responsible 
ESCO whose proposal is determined by the Commissioner 
of Administration or his designated agent to be the most 
advantageous to the state of Louisiana, taking into 
consideration all of the evaluation factors set forth in the 
RFP, as well as any evaluations or recommendations 
provided by the user agency, DNR and the independent 
consultant, if any. In the event that the Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent determines that 
consent to the award of a performance contract would not be 
advantageous to the state of Louisiana, he shall provide the 
user agency with written reasons for his decision to withhold 
his consent. 

7. Except as explicitly set forth in this Section, no 
party shall disclose information derived from submitted 
proposals prior to the consent by the Commissioner of 
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Administration or his designated agent to the award of a 
performance contract to a specified ESCO.  

C. Negotiation of Performance Contracts 
1. A user agency shall negotiate with an approved 

ESCO a performance contract in a form approved by OCR. 
The process of such negotiation shall be in accordance with 
the provisions of Title 39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes, the rules and regulations promulgated by 
OCR pursuant to that Chapter, and this Section. The 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent 
may require that an independent consultant retained pursuant 
to this Section participate on behalf of a user agency in the 
negotiation of a performance contract with an approved 
ESCO. 

a. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Section, every performance contract negotiated pursuant to 
this Section shall set forth the total units of energy saved, the 
method, device or financial arrangement to be used to 
establish the amount of such savings, the cost per unit of 
energy and, if applicable, the basis for any adjustment in the 
cost per unit of energy during the term of the contract. 

b. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Section, every performance contract negotiated pursuant to 
this Section shall, with respect to each ECSM included in 
such performance contract and in addition to fulfilling any 
other requirements set forth in this Section, state the 
following: 
 i. the detailed scope of work to be performed 
pursuant to the performance contract; 
 ii. the initial price to be paid by the user agency; 
 iii. the annual energy cost savings guaranteed by 
the ESCO; 
 iv. the annual maintenance savings guaranteed by 
the ESCO, including, but not limited to, services, parts, 
materials, labor and equipment; 
 v. the annual new maintenance costs, including 
operating expenses added as a result of new equipment 
installed or service performed by the ESCO; and 
 vi. the total annual savings guaranteed by the 
ESCO. Total annual savings means annual energy cost 
savings plus annual maintenance savings minus annual new 
maintenance costs. 

c. Notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Section, no payment shall be made to an ESCO pursuant to a 
performance contract unless such performance contract 
complies with Paragraph C.1. 

2. The term of every performance contract negotiated 
pursuant to this Section and term of any obligation incurred 
by a user agency to fund a performance contract shall be for 
a period equal to the lesser of 20 years or the average life of 
the equipment installed by the ESCO and shall contain a 
guarantee of energy savings, which guarantee shall, at a 
minimum, ensure total annual savings sufficient to fully fund 
any financing arrangement entered into pursuant to such 
performance contract. 

3. Every performance contract negotiated pursuant to 
this Section shall contain the following clause: "The 
continuation of this contract is contingent upon the 
appropriation of funds by the legislature to fulfill the 
requirements of the contract. If the legislature fails to 
appropriate sufficient monies to provide for the continuation 
of the contract, the contract shall terminate on the last day of 

the fiscal year for which funds have been appropriated. Such 
termination shall be without penalty or expense to the 
agency, board or commission except for payments which 
have been earned prior to the termination date." 

4. A user agency shall submit a negotiated 
performance contract to OCR for its review and approval. A 
user agency's submission of a negotiated performance 
contract shall be in accordance with the provisions of Title 
39, Chapter 16 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, the rules 
and regulations promulgated by OCR pursuant to that 
Chapter, and this Section. 

5. At the time a performance contract is executed, the 
contracting ESCO shall submit a certified or cashiers check, 
payable to the Commissioner of Administration or his 
designated agent, in a sum equal to no more than 2 1/2 
percent of the total value of the proposed performance 
contract. The percentage of such total value and the means 
of calculating such total value shall be determined by the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent and 
shall be set forth in the performance contract. 

D. Audits of Performance Contracts 
1. An ESCO that enters into a performance contract 

shall provide the user agency with all performance 
information and other reports required by the performance 
contract. 

a. An ESCO's reports to the user agency shall 
conform with the standards of the International Performance 
Measurement and Verification Protocol. 

b. An ESCO's reports to the user agency shall, in 
addition to fulfilling any other requirements set forth in its 
performance contract or in this Section, state the following: 
 i. the name of the user agency; 
 ii. the ESCO's name and address; 
 iii. whether the payment obligation under the 
performance contract is either: 

(a). set as a percentage of the annual energy cost 
savings attributable to the services or equipment under the 
performance contract; or 

(b). guaranteed by the ESCO to be less than the 
annual energy cost savings attributable to the services or 
equipment under the performance contract; 
 iv. the total annual savings guaranteed by the 
ESCO; 
 v. the total amount the user agency is required to 
pay under the performance contract and the term of the 
contract; 
 vi. the total amount paid to date by the user 
agency and the amount paid each year to date under the 
performance contract; 
 vii. any costs paid by the user agency which were 
associated with the set-up or maintenance of the 
performance contract or with repair or maintenance of the 
equipment used under the performance contract; 
 viii. the annual cost to the user agency of energy or 
other utilities beginning two years prior to operation of the 
performance contract and during the operation of the 
performance contract; and 
 ix. the annual energy cost savings each year, 
shown also as a percentage of the annual amount to be paid 
by the user agency under the performance contract. When 
calculating annual energy cost savings, maintenance savings 
shall be included. Maintenance savings means operating 
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expenses eliminated and future capital replacement 
expenditures avoided by the user agency as a result of new 
equipment installed or services performed by the ESCO. 

2. Upon a request by a user agency, by the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent or 
by the legislative auditor, an ESCO shall provide any 
working documents, accounting records or other materials 
relating to costs, pricing or any other aspect of the ESCOs 
performance pursuant to a performance contract. 
Documents, records and other materials provided by an 
ESCO in accordance with this Section shall be subject to 
review and verification by a user agency, by the 
Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent, by 
the legislative auditor, or by an independent third party 
selected by a user agency, by the Commissioner of 
Administration or by the legislative auditor.  

3. User agencies shall provide to the legislative 
auditor copies of all performance information and other 
reports submitted by an ESCO pursuant to a performance 
contract or this Section. The legislative auditor shall conduct 
periodic audits of performance contracts, both during the 
term of such performance contracts and upon the completion 
of such performance contracts. 

E. Retention by User Agencies of Net Savings Generated 
by Energy Cost Savings Measures 

1. Pursuant to R.S. 39:254.B(1), a user agency that is 
able to demonstrate net savings from implementing an 
ECSM by means of a performance contract may retain its 
net savings relating to such ECSM, until the investment 
costs of implementing the ECSM are paid in full, and 
thereafter may retain one half of such net savings over the 
remaining useful life of the ECSM. Such retained net 
savings shall be from funds appropriated or allocated to the 
user agency for utility costs. 

2. The Commissioner of Administration or his 
designated agent shall develop and promulgate such rules 
and regulations as are necessary to provide for the 
measurement and verification of net savings relating to 
ECSMs. 

3. For the purposes of these rules, ECSM refers to a 
repair, equipment modification, procedure, course of action 
or other step taken which lowers energy costs. 

4. For the purposes of these rules, net savings from 
the implementation of ECSMs shall be defined as 
measurable and verifiable energy cost savings that directly 
result from such implementation and shall be determined in 
accordance with the following provisions. 

a. ESCOs shall employ energy savings 
measurement techniques that embody the best practical 
methods of determining net savings generated by the 
ECSMs to be evaluated. Such measurement techniques shall 
be fully defined and set forth in the RFP and performance 
contract that includes the ECSMs. In selecting a 
measurement technique, an ESCO shall consider the 
complexity of the ECSM to be evaluated and other factors 
that may affect energy use, such as changes in the mission of 
a facility, population, space utilization and weather. 

b. Energy savings measurement may be based upon 
estimates, calculations or computer models, if metering is 
not practical. 

c. Every RFP and performance contract shall set 
forth in detail the method to be used by an ESCO in order to 

determine the unit energy costs by which an energy baseline 
and energy savings are to be multiplied. For the purposes of 
these rules, an energy baseline shall be defined as the 
amount of energy that would be consumed annually without 
implementation of a given ECSM and shall be based upon 
historical metered data, engineering calculations, sub-
metering of buildings or other energy-consuming systems, 
building load simulations, statistical regression analysis, or 
some combination of these methods. 

d. The selection of every energy savings 
measurement technique and method of determining unit 
energy costs or energy baseline shall be subject to the 
approval of the Commissioner of Administration or his 
designated agent, who shall have the authority to modify 
such techniques and methods if he determines, in his sole 
discretion, that such modification is warranted by changed 
conditions or other circumstances affecting the accuracy or 
appropriateness of such techniques and methods. 

e. Net savings must be real savings of money that 
the state of Louisiana either is currently spending or has 
budgeted to spend in the future. Such money must be 
available in the state's budget for payments against the 
performance contract involved. Net savings may be either 
recurring or one-time cost savings. 

f. Examples of net savings shall include, but not be 
limited to, recurring operation, maintenance and repair tasks, 
which are currently performed by the state or its agents and 
which are directly related to the energy-consuming system 
affected by an ECSM. The savings associated with such 
tasks shall be net savings, if the ESCO assumes such tasks, 
reduces the burden of such tasks or eliminates such tasks. 
The Commissioner of Administration or his designated agent 
shall determine whether an ESCO's action with respect to a 
given recurring task generates net savings and shall 
determine the value of such net savings. 

g. Net savings may also include one-time cost 
savings of money budgeted by the state and available to fund 
a project or task that is made unnecessary by the 
implementation of an ECSM. The Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent shall determine 
whether an ESCO's action with respect to a given one-time 
project or task generates net savings and shall determine the 
value of such net savings. 

h. Any utility company rebates or other incentives 
arising in connection with the implementation of an ECSM 
shall be the property of the user agency. An ESCO shall 
provide any assistance necessary in order to permit a user 
agency to apply for and receive such rebates or other 
incentives. 

F. Grandfathered Performance Contracts 
1. Notwithstanding any other provision of this 

Section, where an RFP or a proposed performance contract 
is exempt from the application of Subparagraphs (a) through 
(d) of R.S. 39:1496.1.E(1), the selected ESCO shall, at the 
time a performance contract is executed, submit a certified 
or cashiers check, payable to the Commissioner of 
Administration or his designated agent, in a sum equal to no 
more than 1 percent of the total value of the proposed 
performance contract. The percentage of such total value and 
the means of calculating such total value shall be determined 
by the Commissioner of Administration or his designated 
agent and shall be set forth in the performance contract. 
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2. Where an RFP or a proposed performance contract 
is exempt from the application of Subparagraphs (a) through 
(d) of R.S. 39:1496.1.E(1), such RFP or proposed 
performance contract shall not be subject to the application 
of Subsection A or B of this Section but shall be subject to 
the remaining provisions of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:1490(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office Facility Planning and 
Control, LR 31:640 (March 2005). 

 
Jerry W. Jones 
Director 

0503#014 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Office of State Uniform Payroll 

Recoupment of Overpayments (LAC 4:III.Chapter 7) 

In accordance with R.S. 42:460, notwithstanding any 
other provision of law to the contrary, the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Uniform Payroll adopts the following Rule regarding 
recoupment of overpayments to state employees. The 
purpose of the Rule is to establish procedures for state 
agencies to follow when state employees have been 
overpaid. State agencies are to develop specific policies 
regarding recoupment of overpayments incorporating these 
procedures into their policy.  

Title 4 
ADMINISTRATION 

Part III.  Payroll 
Chapter 7. Recoupment of Overpayments 
§701. Definitions 

Active EmployeeCemployee currently working for the 
agency that overpaid the employee. 

AgencyCany one of the 20 major departments of state 
government and the executive office or any subdivision 
thereof and any other entity paid through one of the 20 major 
departments of state government or the executive office. 
This includes those agencies using ISIS HR for payroll and 
those agencies not using ISIS HR for payroll. 

DeductionCany voluntary/involuntary reduction in net 
pay (e.g., health insurance, united way, taxes) 

Direct Deposit ReversalCa formal request to the financial 
institution to return funds deposited into an account. 

Division of Administration (DOA)Cthe Louisiana state 
agency under the Executive Department which provides 
centralized administrative and support services to state 
agencies as a whole by developing, promoting, and 
implementing executive policies and legislative mandates. 

Gaining AgencyCthe agency to which the overpaid 
employee is transferring. 

ISIS Human Resource System (ISIS HR)Cthe integrated 
statewide information system administered by the Division 
of Administration, Office of State Uniform Payroll to 
provide uniform payroll services to state agencies. 

ISIS HR Paid AgencyCa state agency who processes 
payroll through the ISIS HR system. 

ISIS HR Non-Paid AgencyCa state agency who uses a 
system other than the ISIS HR system to process payroll. 

Losing AgencyCthe agency from which the overpaid 
employee is terminating/separating. 

Net PayCthe amount of compensation due to the 
employee after withholding all voluntary and involuntary 
deductions from his wages and compensation earned. 

Office of State Uniform Payroll (OSUP)Cthe section 
within the Division of Administration primarily responsible 
for the DOA statewide payroll system and administration of 
the rules governing state employee payroll deductions. 

OverpaymentCunearned compensation of state funds to 
employees. 

RecoupmentCreimbursement of overpayment that was not 
due an employee. 

Separated EmployeeCemployee no longer working for the 
agency that overpaid the employee. 

WageCpayment for services to an employee. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:460. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:644 (March 2005). 
§703. Introduction 

A. Overpayments occur when compensation that is not 
owed to the employee is paid in error. This includes but is 
not limited to overpayment of wages, annual leave paid in 
error, as well as, erroneous refunds of deductions. Unearned 
payments to employees are prohibited by Article 7, Section 
14 of the Louisiana State Constitution which prohibits the 
donation of public funds. As a result, state agencies are 
required to make a reasonable effort to recoup overpayments 
to both active and separated employees. Agencies must also 
establish internal controls to prevent overpayments. State 
agencies are to develop specific policies regarding 
recoupment of overpayments incorporating these procedures 
into their policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:460. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:644 (March 2005). 
§705. Notification to Employee of Overpayment  

A. Employees must be notified immediately once an 
agency determines that an overpayment has been made. 
Written notification must be provided prior to withholding 
the recoupment from a future payment(s). The notification to 
the employee must include the following: 

1. pay date(s) the overpayment occurred; 
2. amount of the overpayment; 
3. reason for overpayment; 
4. agency plan of action for recoupment; 
5. employee options for reimbursement of 

overpayment, as appropriate; and 
6. agency procedure by which the proposed 

recoupment can be disputed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:460. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:644 (March 2005). 
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§707. Recoupment from Active Employees  
A. The following repayment options are available: 

1. direct deposit reversal: 
a. agencies paid through ISIS HR must follow 

OSUP policy for direct deposit reversals; 
2. one-time deduction from a subsequent paycheck; 
3. payment plan; or 

a. recurring deductions can be established for a 
period not to exceed 12 months. Agencies paid through ISIS 
HR must obtain approval from OSUP for exceptions to the 
12 month period; 

4. personal payment from employee (i.e., check, 
money order): 

a. agencies paid through ISIS HR must obtain 
approval from OSUP to accept a check from an active 
employee. 

B. If an employee who has been overpaid is separating 
from the agency, the amount of the overpayment must be 
withheld from the employee's final paycheck. If the full 
amount is not recovered the agency should follow the 
guidelines in §711. 

C. The amount to be recouped in a one-time payment or 
in recurring payments cannot bring the employee's biweekly 
gross hourly wage amount below the federal minimum 
wage. If the employee agrees to have a larger amount 
withheld, the agency must obtain written approval from the 
employee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:460. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:645 (March 2005). 
§709. Recoupment from Employees Transferring to 

Another State Agency 
A. If an overpaid employee is transferring to another 

state agency, and the losing agency has not completed the 
recoupment process, the losing agency must notify the 
gaining agency that the employee has an outstanding balance 
due the losing agency. The losing agency must provide 
pertinent documentation regarding the details of the 
overpayment and the recoupment plan established: 

1. employee transferring from ISIS HR paid agency to 
another ISIS HR paid agency: 

a. the gaining agency must continue any payment 
plan that was established at the losing agency. If a payment 
plan was not established, the losing agency and gaining 
agency must coordinate the recoupment of the overpayment 
through the payroll system. Agencies must follow guidelines 
established by the Division of Administration for 
transferring the funds received at the gaining agency back to 
the losing agency; 

2. employee transferring from an ISIS HR paid 
agency to an ISIS HR non-paid agency, employee 
transferring from an ISIS HR non-paid agency to an ISIS 
HR paid agency, or employee transferring between two ISIS 
HR non-paid agencies: 

a. the losing and gaining agencies must work 
together to determine a reasonable solution for recouping the 
overpayment from the employee and for transferring funds 
received at the gaining agency back to the losing agency. 

B. If a payment plan is established in the payroll system 
of the gaining agency, the amount to be recouped in a one-
time payment or in recurring payments cannot bring the 

employee's biweekly gross hourly wage amount below the 
federal minimum wage. If the employee agrees to have a 
larger amount withheld, the agency must obtain written 
approval from the employee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:460. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:645 (March 2005). 
§711. Recoupment from Separated Employees 

A. Agencies must notify employee of overpayment 
according to guidelines in §705. The written notice to the 
employee must include a demand for repayment. 

B. The following repayment options are available: 
1. one-time personal payment from employee (i.e., 

check, money order); or 
2. payment plan: 

a. employee may submit multiple payments as 
agreed upon with the agency; 

b. the period of recoupment may not exceed 12 
months. Agencies paid through ISIS HR must obtain 
approval from OSUP for exceptions to the 12 month period. 

C. If an agency is unable to recover overpayments from 
a separated employee, the agency must follow agency 
policies regarding consulting the legal department of the 
specific overpaying agency to determine if legal recourse is 
warranted. Items to consider are: 

1. total dollar value of the overpayment; 
2. period of time for which the overpayment has 

occurred; 
3. period of time that has elapsed since the 

overpayment; 
4. cost of recoupment efforts; and 
5. likelihood of success of continued recoupment 

efforts. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:460. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:645 (March 2005). 
§713. Condition of Employment 

A. Prior to submitting job offers to prospective 
employees, a signed statement must be obtained from the 
prospective employee acknowledging his/her understanding 
of the agency recoupment policy and that, if overpaid, the 
overpayment may be recouped in a future pay period after 
notification from the agency in accordance with the agency 
policy. Prospective employees include new hires and 
employees who have transferred from one agency to another 
agency. 

B. Departments/Agencies are responsible for 
incorporating this condition of employment within the hiring 
process and withholding job offers to prospective employees 
failing to comply with this rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:460. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:645 (March 2005). 
§715. Agency Policies and Procedures 

A. Agencies must develop polices with specific 
procedures to follow when an employee has been overpaid. 
The procedures in this rule must be incorporated into the 
agency policy. 
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1. OSUP shall provide specific details on recoupment 
procedures as related to the ISIS HR Payroll system via 
OSUP memoranda. 

2. Agencies not paid through ISIS HR must develop 
policies as related to their payroll system. 

3. Agencies must incorporate into their recoupment 
policy the policies and procedures for the collection and 
reporting of accounts receivable which are published in the 
November 20, 2002 edition of the Louisiana Register. 

4. Agencies must incorporate into their recoupment 
policy a dispute procedure for an employee to follow if the 
employee does not agree with the agency claim of 
overpayment.  

B. All employees and agency staff who affect the pay 
process in an agency including timekeepers, employee 
administration, payroll, and human resources, are 
responsible to assist in achieving an overall effective system 
of control to produce accurate payments Thus, agencies are 
to prepare internal control policies and maintain an effective 
system of internal controls to prevent overpayments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:460. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Uniform 
Payroll, LR 31:645 (March 2005). 

 
Jena W. Cary  
Director 

0503#011 
 

RULE 

Deapartment of Health and Hospitals 
Office for Addictive Disorders  

Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority 

Addictive Disorder Practice Requirements 
(LAC 46:LXXX.Chapters 1-19) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., that the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive 
Disorders, Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority, 
pursuant to the authority vested in the Department of Health 
and Hospitals by the Addictive Disorders Practice Act, R.S. 
37:3386-3390.6, amends Title 46:LXXX by repealing 
Chapters 1-19 thereof and in place of the repealed 
provisions, adopting regulations implementing the Addictive 
Disorders Practice Act. The Rule is set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXXX.  Substance Abuse Counselors 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Scope 

A. The rules of this Part are relative to and govern the 
issuing of practice credentials and certifications to addictive 
disorders counselors and prevention professionals by the 
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for 
Addictive Disorders, Addictive Disorder Regulatory 
Authority, and all related matters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:646 (March 2005). 
§103. Source and Authority  

A. These rules are promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive 
Disorders, Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority to 
provide for and implement its authority and responsibility 
pursuant to the Addictive Disorders Practice Act (the Act), 
R.S. 37:3386-3390.6, Acts 2004, No. 803, §3. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:646 (March 2005). 
§105. Definitions 

A. As used in these Rules, the following terms shall have 
the meanings specified: 

ActCthe Addictive Disorders Practice Act (the act), 
R.S.37:3386-3390.6, Acts 2004, No. 803, §3, sometimes 
referred to as "the Act". 

Addictive Disorder CounselorCany person who, by 
means of his specific knowledge acquired through formal 
education and practical experience, is qualified to provide 
addictive disorder counseling services which utilize the basic 
core functions/Knowledge, Skills, and Attitudes specific to 
addictive disorder counseling and is recognized as such by 
the ADRA as a Licensed, Certified, and/or Registered 
Addiction Counselor. The ADRA shall consider any person 
providing such services as purporting to be an addictive 
disorder counselor. 

Addictive Disorder Regulatory Authority (ADRA)Cthe 
office within the Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders designated to 
provide for and implement the authority allowed or required 
by the Act. 

Approved Clinical Training Program (ACTP)Cany 
clinical setting involving addictive disorder treatment, 
addictive disorder counseling services or prevention 
intervention services which has applied for, received, and 
maintained approval by the ADRA. The ADRA shall provide 
for institutions to register as being ADRA approved for 
clinical training in addictive disorder treatment, counseling 
and prevention, as well as in any other certifications or 
creditable offered or recognized by the ADRA. 

Approved Educational Program (AEP)Cany course, 
workshop, seminar, conference or other educational program 
presented by an organization which has applied for, 
received, and maintained approval by the ADRA. The 
ADRA shall provide for organizations to register as being 
ADRA approved as an education provider in the field of 
addictive disorder counseling and prevention. 

Approved Institution of Higher Education (AIHE)Cany 
university or college accredited by a recognized regional 
accrediting body which has applied for, received, and 
maintained approval of the ADRA. The ADRA shall provide 
for institutions of higher education to register as being 
ADRA approved for higher education in addictive disorder 
counseling and prevention. 

Core FunctionsCthe screening, intake, orientation, 
assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case 
management, crisis intervention, client education, referral, 
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reports and record keeping activities associated with 
counseling and consultation with credentialed professionals. 

Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS)Cany person 
holding the necessary credentials of licensed, certified or 
registered addiction counselor or other qualified mental 
health professional who has satisfied the requirements 
established by the ADRA to provide clinical supervision. 

Clinical SupervisionCthe interpersonal tutorial 
relationship between a clinical supervisor and a licensed, 
certified, registered, or counselor-in-training addiction 
professional or prevention professional or prevention 
specialist in training centered on the goals of skill 
development and professional growth through learning and 
utilization of best practices. 

Counselor-In-Training (CIT) or Prevention Specialist-
In-Training (PSIT)Ca status held by any person who has not 
yet met the qualifications to become credentialed in a 
particular field but who has made application in the manner 
prescribed in the act and these rules and is registered as such 
by the ADRA. 

Direct SupervisionCmeans responsible, continuous, on-
the-premises observation, by a certified clinical supervisor 
or qualified professional supervisor approved by the ADRA, 
whereby the supervisor is personally present in the servicing 
facility and immediately available to the service area. Direct 
supervision may include treatment team or staffing meetings, 
observation in group, individual, family, education or other, 
private conversations (one to one) discussing cases, core 
functions, KSA's or reviews of charts or medical records. 
The professional providing direct supervision shall be 
ultimately responsible for the acts or omissions of the 
counselor in training or prevention specialist is training he is 
supervising. Where off-the-premises experience is arranged 
for the candidate being supervised, the supervision plan shall 
so indicate and shall designate an appropriate professional at 
the off premises site to act in a supervisory capacity. 

IC and RCCthe International Certification and 
Reciprocity Consortium. Sometimes referred to as "ICRC". 

Knowledge, Skills, and Attitudes (KSA)Cthe knowledge, 
skills, and attitudes designated by the ADRA as being 
necessary in providing effective addiction counseling and 
prevention services. 

Performance DomainsCfor prevention specialists are: 
a. education and skill development; 
b. community organization; 
c. public and organization policy; 
d. planning and evaluation; and 
e. professional growth and responsibility. 

Prevention ServicesCat a minimum, can be understood 
to incorporate a process that utilizes multiple strategies 
designed not only to delay or prevent the onset of the use of 
alcohol, tobacco and other drugs, but also to delay or prevent 
the involvement in other high risk behaviors. Prevention 
principles and strategies foster the development of social, 
emotional and physical environments that facilitate healthy, 
drug-free lifestyles by focusing on individuals, peers, 
schools, families and communities. Prevention strategies 
target universal, selective and indicated populations. 

Qualified Professional Supervisor (QPS)Can addictive 
disorder counselor or prevention professional, recognized as 
such by the ADRA, and who has worked in a licensed or 
ADRA approved addictive disorder treatment or prevention 

program for a minimum of two years post certification; or a 
qualified mental health professional, or any other 
professional recognized as a trainer by the ADRA upon 
presentation of verification and documentation of expertise. 

Substance AbuseCthe repeated pathological use of 
drugs, including alcohol, which causes physical, 
psychological, economic, legal, or social harm to the 
individual user or to others affected by the user's behavior. 

B. All terms used in these Rules which are defined by 
the act, R.S. 37:3386.1, shall have the same meanings in 
these Rules as defined by the act. 

C. Masculine terms whosesoever used in these rules 
shall also be deemed to include the feminine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:646 (March 2005). 
§107. Severability 

A. If any provision of these Rules, or the application or 
enforcement thereof, is held invalid, such invalidity shall not 
affect other provisions or applications of these Rules which 
can be given effect without the invalid provisions or 
applications, and to this end the several provisions of these 
Rules are hereby declared severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:647 (March 2005). 
Chapter 3. Practice 
§301. Scope of Practice 

A. The practice of addictive disorder counseling within 
the meaning and intent of these Rules and regulations shall 
consist of the rendering of professional guidance to 
individuals suffering from addictive disorders to assist them 
in gaining an understanding of the nature of their disorder 
and developing and maintaining a responsible life style. The 
scope of practice shall include making appropriate referrals 
to qualified professionals, providing counseling to family 
members when appropriate, and utilizing the core functions 
and KSA's of addictive disorder counseling. 

B. The practice of prevention within the meaning and 
intent of these Rules and regulations shall consist of the 
rendering of prevention services. The scope of the practice 
shall include collaboration with qualified professionals and 
utilization of the performance domains of prevention to 
increase the awareness of high risk behaviors and the 
perception that high risk behaviors are, or potentially can be, 
harmful. In addition to any other positive outcomes that may 
be sought, the practice of prevention seeks to: 

1. reduce the availability of alcohol, tobacco and other 
substances to youth; achieve long term reductions in 
underage drinking and the use of tobacco and other drugs; 

2. reduce the underage access to and use of alcohol; 
3. impact other prioritized substance use and related 

behaviors including increased or retained employment or 
return to and stay in school; 

4. decrease criminal justice involvement; 
5. increase stability in family and living conditions; 
6. increase access to services (including treatment 

services); 
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7. increase social supports and increase social 
connectedness. 

C. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be 
construed to authorize an addictive disorder counselor, 
compulsive gambling counselor, or prevention specialist to 
practice medicine, social work, or psychology, or to provide 
any counseling other than addictive disorders counseling or 
prevention services. An addictive disorder counselor, 
compulsive gambling counselor, or prevention specialist 
shall not order, administer, or interpret psychological tests or 
utilize psychometric procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:647 (March 2005). 
§303. Minimum Standards of Practice  

A. The minimum standard of practice for Addiction 
Counselors and Prevention Professionals will be met if: 

1. the individual has a valid and current credential 
issued or recognized by, and is in good standing with, the 
ADRA; 

2. the individual adheres to the code of ethics as set 
forth in these Rules; and 

3. the individual practices within the scope of practice 
defined in the act and in these Rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:648 (March 2005). 
Chapter 5. ADRA Documents and Payment of Costs 
§501. ReservedCFees 
§503. ADRA Documents 

A. Official Records 
1. .Office records of the ADRA shall be maintained at 

the office of the ADRA or other depository authorized by the 
ADRA. 

2. All official records of the ADRA excluding 
materials containing information considered confidential, 
shall be open for inspection during regular office hours. 

3. Any person desiring to examine official records 
shall be required to properly identify himself and sign 
statements listing the records questioned and examined. 
Records which are stored in historical files or which have 
been authorized for off-site storage may require the payment 
of costs for research and location. 

4. Official records shall not be taken from the ADRA's 
office without the express authorization of the Director of 
the ADRA. Persons may obtain copies of records upon 
written request and by paying a fee prescribed by the 
Division of Administration. 

B. Certificate 
1. The ADRA shall prepare and provide to each 

credentialed professional a certificate which lists the 
individual's name, the credential issued, date of initial 
certification, and certification number. 

2. Original certificates shall not be issued until the 
application has been evaluated and approved by official 
action of the ADRA. The ADRA may set the effective date 
and expiration date of the certificate at the time of approval. 

3. Replacement certificates, including credentials re-
designated pursuant to the authority of R.S:37.3388.3, shall 
be issued when the required request has been received and 
the cost of issuing the replacement certificate paid. 
Replacement certificates, other than those issued pursuant to 
R.S. 37:3388.3, shall contain the same information as the 
original certificate. Credentials re-designated pursuant to 
R.S. 37:3388.3, may be issued with or without a request 
from the holder of the credential. 

4. Official certificates shall be signed by the director 
and be affixed with the official seal of the State of Louisiana. 

5. Currency of the certificate shall be documented by 
a wallet card issued by the ADRA with the date of 
certification or renewal and the date of expiration. 

C. Roster and Mailing Lists 
1. Each year the ADRA shall make available a roster 

of all ADRA persons holding a credential issued or 
recognized by the ADRA. The ADRA may also make any 
such roster available on any web-site maintained by the 
ADRA. 

2. The roster shall include the name, professional 
address, professional telephone number and credential (s) of 
each individual, and such other information as the individual 
may permit. It is the counselor's or specialist's responsibility 
to keep the ADRA informed of changes of address or other 
information. 

3. The ADRA shall make copies of the roster available 
to counselors, specialists, interested agencies, and the 
general public upon request and upon payment of the cost 
incurred by the ADRA for providing the copy. 

4. Rosters and mailing lists are the property of the 
ADRA and shall not be distributed nor used by any party 
other than that which initially obtained a copy. 

D. Notice and Receipt 
1. Any and all communications, including but not 

limited to notices,  are official when signed by the Director of 
the ADRA, or other authorized person, and mailed to the 
address of record. It is the responsibility of the individual to 
insure that the mailing address maintained by the ADRA is 
current and to advise the ADRA immediately of any change 
in the individual's mailing address. 

2. The receipt of applications, forms, notices, and 
other communications by the ADRA shall be determined by 
the postmark date or the date actually received in the office 
of the ADRA, whichever is earlier. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:648 (March 2005). 
§505. Advice and Consultation 

A. The ADRA shall seek the advice of the Louisiana 
Commission on Addictive Disorders. The ADRA shall also 
consult with the commission on matters pertaining to 
requirements and standards for issuing and recognizing 
credentials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:648 (March 2005). 
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Chapter 7. Credentials for License/Certification/ 
Registration 

§701. Licensed Addiction Counselor (LAC) 
A. The ADRA shall recognize as a LAC each candidate 

who make application on the forms required by the ADRA 
and who: 

1. possesses a master's degree from an accredited 
institution of higher education. The degree shall be in human 
service or a behavioral science discipline or such other 
discipline(s) as the department may deem appropriate. The 
applicant shall provide the ADRA with an official (certified) 
copy of any an all academic transcripts. Any person seeking 
to be recognized as an LAC who possesses a master's degree 
in a discipline other than human services or behavioral 
science may apply to the ADRA for a waiver. In considering 
the application for wavier the ADRA shall consult with 
representatives of a national credentialing organization for 
purposes of insuring compliance with national standards 
and/or institutions of higher education for advice and 
guidance and/or the Louisiana Commission on Addictive 
Disorders and may grant or deny the wavier. The ADRA 
may grant the waiver on such terms and conditions as are 
deemed appropriate and in the best interest of the public; 

2. is at least 21 years of age (date the application is 
received); 

3. is a legal resident of the United States; 
4. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
5. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received; 

6. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The ADRA may waive 
this requirement for good cause upon request of the 
applicant. The applicant shall provide the ADRA with a 
certified copy of their criminal history; 

7. signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

8. provides evidence of having satisfied the following 
requirements in education, supervised practical training and 
experience: 

a. educationChas successfully completed a 
minimum of 270 clock hours of education with a minimum 
of 180 hours specific to substance abuse and up to 90 hours 
in related courses or areas of study. Education is defined as 
formal, structured instruction in the form of work shops, 
seminars, institutes, in-services, college/university credit 
courses and distance education. Of the substance abuse 
specific hours required by this provision, at least 6 hours 
must be in professional ethics. The professional ethics hours 
may not be obtained through "in service" training; 

b. supervised practical trainingChas successfully 
completed a minimum 300 performance hours in the 
KSA's/12 core functions (with a minimum of 10 hours in 
each core function or KSA equivalent). The candidate shall 
document and verify the performance hours on a form 
required by the ADRA. Training is defined as a formal 
systematic process that focuses on skill development and 
integration of knowledge. The training must take place in a 
setting where addictive disorder counseling is provided. The 
training may occur as part of eligible work experience (see 
Subparagraph c below) and may be completed under more 

than one supervisor or agency. All training hours must be 
documented and verified; 

c. experienceCdocuments and verifies evidence of 
having successfully completed 2000 hours (one year) of 
supervised work experience providing addictive disorder 
counseling services. Supervised work experience must be 
paid or voluntary experience as a counselor who provides 
direct counseling services to individuals diagnosed as having 
one or more addictive disorders, at least one of which is 
alcohol or substance abuse related. Supervised work 
experience must be in the KSA's and 12 core functions with 
substance abuse clients. Unsupervised work experience will 
not be considered. The supervision required herein must be 
provided by a certified clinical supervisor with a minimum 
of one contact hour per week. In the event a certified clinical 
supervisor is unavailable, the individual may apply to the 
ADRA for a waiver; 

9. demonstrates professional competency in addictive 
disorder counseling by satisfying written and oral 
examination requirements established by the ADRA and 
providing documentation of such. The ADRA shall indicate 
the examination requirements that govern each testing cycle; 

10. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive 
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to 
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately 
prepare him to be able to demonstrate professional 
competency in addictive disorder counseling; 

11. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his clinical experience has provided comprehensive 
training sufficient to adequately prepare him to be a able to 
demonstrate professional competency in addictive disorder 
counseling; 

12. provide three letters of recommendation attesting to 
the individual's fitness to be an addictive disorder counselor; 

13. the scope of practice, for the LAC, shall include 
making appropriate referrals to qualified professionals, 
providing counseling to family members when appropriate, 
and utilizing the core functions and KSA's of addictive 
disorder counseling. The LAC shall have an independent 
scope of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:649 (March 2005). 
§703. Certified Addiction Counselor (CAC) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as a CAC each candidate 
who: 

1. possesses a bachelor's degree from an accredited 
institution of higher education. The degree shall be in human 
service or a behavioral science discipline or such other 
discipline(s) as the department may deem appropriate. The 
applicant shall provide the ADRA with an official (certified) 
copy of any and all academic transcripts. Any person 
seeking to be recognized as a CAC who possesses a 
bachelor's degree in a discipline other than human services 
or behavioral science may apply to the ADRA for a waiver. 
In considering the application for wavier, the ADRA may 
consult with representatives of national credentialing 
organizations and/or institutions of higher education for 
advice and guidance and may grant or deny the wavier. The 
ADRA may grant the waiver on such terms and conditions 
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as are deemed appropriate and in the best interest of the 
public; 

2. is at least 21 years of age (from the date the 
application is received); 

3. is a legal resident of the United States; 
4. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
5. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received; 

6. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The ADRA may waive 
this requirement for good cause upon request of the 
applicant. The applicant shall provide the ADRA with a 
certified copy of his criminal history; 

7. sign the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

8. provides evidence of having satisfied the following 
requirements in education, supervised practical training and 
experience: 

a. educationChas successfully completed a 
minimum of 270 clock hours of education with a minimum 
of 180 hours specific to substance abuse and up to 90 hours 
in related courses or areas of study. Education is defined as 
formal, structured instruction in the form of work shops, 
seminars, institutes, in-services, college/university credit 
courses and distance education. Of the substance abuse 
specific hours required by this provision, at least 6 hours 
must be in professional ethics. The professional ethics hours 
may not be obtained through "in service" training; 

b. supervised practical trainingChas successfully 
completed a minimum 300 performance hours in the 
KSA's/12 core functions (with a minimum of 20 hours in 
each core function or KSA equivalent). The candidate shall 
document and verify the performance hours on a form 
required by the ADRA. Training is defined as a formal 
systematic process that focuses on skill development and 
integration of knowledge. The training must take place in a 
setting where addictive disorder counseling is provided. The 
training may occur as part of eligible work experience (see 
Subparagraph c below) and may be competed under more 
than one supervisor or agency. All training hours must be 
documented and verified; 

c experienceCdocuments and verifies evidence of 
having successfully completed 4000 hours (two years) of 
supervised work experience providing addictive disorder 
counseling services. Supervised work experience must be 
paid or voluntary experience as a counselor who provides 
direct counseling services to individuals diagnosed as having 
one or more addictive disorders, at least one of which is 
alcohol or substance abuse related. Supervised work 
experience must be in the KSA's and 12 core functions with 
substance abuse clients. Unsupervised work experience will 
not be considered. The supervision required herein must be 
provided by a certified clinical supervisor with a minimum 
of one contact hour per week. In the event a certified clinical 
supervisor is unavailable, the individual may apply to the 
ADRA for a waiver; 

9. demonstrates professional competency in addictive 
disorder counseling by satisfying written and oral 
examination requirements established by the ADRA and 

providing documentation of such. The ADRA shall indicate 
the examination requirements that govern each testing cycle; 

10. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive 
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to 
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately 
prepare him to be able to demonstrate professional 
competency in addictive disorder counseling; 

11. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his clinical experience has provided comprehensive 
training sufficient to adequately prepare him to be able to 
demonstrate professional competency in addictive disorder 
counseling; 

12. provide three letters of recommendation attesting to 
the individual's fitness to be an addictive disorder counselor; 

13. the scope of practice for the CAC, shall include 
making appropriate referrals to qualified professionals, 
providing counseling to members when appropriate, and 
utilizing the 12 core functions and KSA's of addictive 
disorder counseling. Unless allowed an independent scope of 
practice under the Practice Act, and recognized by the 
ADRA, the CAC shall maintain a consulting relationship 
with an LAC. The ADRA shall provide a letter to CAC's 
authorized to practice independently, recognizing their 
exemption from the requirement of consulting with an LAC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:649 (March 2005). 
§705. Registered Addiction Counselor (RAC) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as a RAC each candidate 
who: 

1. is at least 21 years of age (from the date the 
application is received); 

2. is a legal resident of the United States; 
3. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
4. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received; 

5. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 
entered a plea of nolo contendere to, a felony. The ADRA 
may waive this requirement for good cause upon request of 
the applicant. The applicant shall provide the ADRA with a 
certified copy of his criminal history; 

6. signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

7. provides evidence of having satisfied the following 
requirements in education, supervised practical training and 
experience: 

a. educationChas successfully completed a 
minimum of 270 clock hours of education with a minimum 
of 180 hours specific to substance abuse and up to 90 hours 
in related courses or areas of study. Education is defined as 
formal, structured instruction in the form of work shops, 
seminars, institutes, in-services, college/university credit 
courses and distance education. Of the substance specific 
hours required by this provision, at least 6 hours must be in 
professional ethics. The professional ethics hours may not be 
obtained through "in service" training; 

b. supervised practical trainingChas successfully 
completed a minimum 300 performance hours in the 
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KSA's/12 core functions (with a minimum of 10 hours in 
each core function). Training is defined as a formal 
systematic process that focuses on skill development and 
integration of knowledge. The training must take place in a 
setting where addictive disorder counseling is provided. The 
training may occur as part of eligible work experience (see 
Subparagraph c below) and may be competed under more 
than one supervisor or agency. All training hours must be 
documented and verified; 

c. experienceCdocuments and verifies evidence of 
having successfully completed 6000 hours (3 years) of 
supervised work experience providing addictive disorder 
counseling services. Supervised work experience must be 
paid or voluntary experience as a counselor who provides 
direct counseling services to individuals diagnosed as having 
one or more addictive disorders, at least one of which is 
alcohol or substance abuse related. Supervised work 
experience must be in the KSA's and 12 core functions with 
substance abuse clients. Unsupervised work experience will 
not be considered. The supervision required herein must be 
provided by a certified clinical supervisor with a minimum 
of one contact hour per week. In the event a certified clinical 
supervisor is unavailable, the individual may apply to the 
ADRA for a waiver. An Associate Degree from an accredited 
institution of higher education in a human services or 
behavioral science discipline or such other discipline (s) as 
the Department may deem appropriate, may be substituted 
for 1,000 hours of the 6,000 hours of experience required 
herein; 

8. demonstrates professional competency in addictive 
disorder counseling by satisfying written and oral 
examination requirements and providing documentation of 
such. The ADRA shall indicate the examination 
requirements that govern each testing cycle; 

9. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive 
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to 
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately 
prepare him to be able to demonstrate professional 
competency in addictive disorder counseling; 

10. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his clinical experience has provided comprehensive 
training sufficient to adequately prepare him to be able to 
demonstrate professional competency in addictive disorder 
counseling; 

11. provides three letters of recommendation attesting 
to the individual's fitness to be an addictive disorder 
counselor; 

12. the scope of practice for the RAC, shall include 
making appropriate referrals to qualified professionals, 
providing counseling to family members when appropriate, 
and utilizing the 12 core functions and KSA's of addictive 
disorder counseling. The RAC is not permitted an 
independent scope of practice. The RAC shall maintain a 
consulting relationship with an LAC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:650 (March 2005). 

§707. Counselor-In-Training (CIT) 
A. The ADRA shall recognize as a CIT each candidate 

who: 
1. documents that they are actively pursuing a career 

tract to be a licensed, certified, or registered addiction 
counselor; 

2. is at least 18 years of age; 
3. is a legal resident of the United States; 
4. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
5. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received, unless the individual has applied 
for and been granted a waiver by the ADRA; 

6. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The applicant shall 
provide the ADRA with a certified copy of his criminal 
history; 

7. signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

8. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive 
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to 
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately 
prepare him to be able to demonstrate professional 
competency in addictive disorder counseling; 

9. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his clinical experience has provided comprehensive 
training sufficient to adequately prepare him to be able to 
demonstrate professional competency in addictive disorder 
counseling; 

10. the CIT status is granted for a 12 month period. 
During the 12 month period the CIT shall comply with the 
ADRA guidelines for CIT status and, if required, sign an 
agreement acknowledging and consenting to the provisions 
of the guidelines; 

11. CIT shall be allowed to maintain the CIT status for 
an aggregate period not to exceed 72 months; 

12. provide 3 letters of recommendation attesting to the 
individual's fitness to be an addictive disorder counselor; 

13. the ADRA shall develop CIT Supervision 
guidelines and shall post the guidelines on the web site 
maintained by the ADRA. The guidelines shall be 
considered the minimum standards applicable to all CIT's 
and CIT supervisors. It shall be the obligation of all CIT's 
and CIT supervisors to regularly consult the website and 
review the guidelines to insure familiarity and compliance 
with the minimum standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:651 (March 2005). 
§709. Addiction Treatment Assistant (ATA) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as an ATA each candidate 
who: 

1. is at least 16 years of age; 
2. is a legal resident of the United States; 
3. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
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4. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 
compulsive gambler for a period of six months from the date 
the application is received; 

5. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The ADRA may waive 
this requirement for good cause upon request of the 
applicant. The applicant shall provide the ADRA with a 
certified copy of his criminal history; 

6. documents the completion of 6 hours of ADRA 
approved professional ethics training(s) for ATA's and signs 
the ADRA form of professional and ethical accountability 
and responsibility; 

7. documents the completion of an approved training 
on confidentiality and documents the completion of an 
ADRA approved training in First Aid and CPR; 

8. provides three letters of recommendation attesting 
to the individual's fitness to be an addictive disorder 
counselor; 

9. scope of practice of an ATA shall be to serve in a 
supportive role within the therapeutic environment under the 
direct supervision of a licensed, certified, and/or registered 
addiction counselor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:651 (March 2005). 
§711. Certified Clinical Supervisor (CCS) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as a CCS each candidate 
who: 

1. possesses a valid and current credential as a 
Licensed, Certified, or Registered Addiction Counselor 
and/or Qualified Mental Health Professional; 

2. is at least 21 years of age; 
3. is a legal resident of the United States; 
4. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA and does not have any pending 
disciplinary proceedings; 

5. is not a defendant in any pending felony criminal 
proceedings; 

6. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The ADRA may waive 
this requirement for good cause upon request of the 
applicant; 

7. the applicant shall provide the ADRA with a 
certified copy of his criminal history; 

8. signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

9. documents having satisfied the ADRA requirements 
for certification in Clinical Supervision. The requirements 
shall be posted on the website maintained by the ADRA; 

10. provides three letters of recommendation; 
11. scope of practice: 

a. the LAC or QMHP can provide clinical 
supervision for LAC, CAC, RAC, CIT, or ATA; 

b. the CAC can provide clinical supervision for: 
CAC, RAC, CIT, or ATA; 

c. the RAC can provide clinical supervision for: 
RAC, CIT, ATA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3`7:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:652 (March 2005). 
§713. Certified Compulsive Gambling Counselor 

(CCGC) 
A. The ADRA shall recognize as a CCGC each candidate 

who: 
1. possesses a valid and current credential as a 

Licensed, Certified, or Registered Addiction Counselor 
and/or Qualified Mental Health Professional; 

2. is at least 21 years of age; 
3. is a legal resident of the United States; 
4. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA and does not have any pending 
disciplinary actions; 

5. is not a defendant in any pending felony criminal 
proceedings; 

6. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or 
entered a plea of nolo contendere to, a felony; 

7. the applicant shall provide the ADRA with a 
certified copy of his criminal history; 

8. signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

9. provides evidence of having satisfied the following 
requirements: 

a. has successfully completed a minimum of 60 
clock hours of education approved by the ADRA specific to 
addiction, at least six of which must be in professional 
ethics; 

b. a minimum of 30 clock hours of education 
approved by the ADRA specific to gambling addiction; 

c. demonstrates professional competency in 
compulsive gambling counseling by passing a written 
examination prescribed by the ADRA; 

10. provides three letters of recommendation; 
11. the Scope of Practice for the CCGC shall be 

consistent with and shall not exceed the scope of practice 
allowed for the practice credential of the holder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:652 (March 2005). 
§715. Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as a CPS each candidate 
who: 

1. provides evidence of having satisfied the following 
requirements in education, supervised practical training and 
experience: 

a. educationCpossesses at least, a bachelor's degree 
from an accredited institution of higher education or 
possesses a high school diploma or its equivalent. The 
degree shall be in human services or a behavioral science 
discipline. Any person seeking to be recognized as a CPS 
who possesses at least a bachelor's degree in a discipline 
other than human services or behavioral science may apply 
to the ADRA for a waiver. In considering the application for 
wavier the ADRA shall consult with representatives of a 
national credentialing organization for purposes of insuring 
compliance with national standards and/or institutions of 
higher education for advice and guidance and/or the
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Louisiana Commission on Addictive Disorders and may 
grant or deny the wavier. The ADRA may grant the waiver 
on such terms and conditions as are deemed appropriate and 
in the best interest of the public. The applicant must also 
document 100 education hours with a minimum of 50 hours 
specific to addictive disorder training. An applicant with at 
least a master's degree in a human services or behavioral 
science discipline must document 50 education hours with a 
minimum of 25 hours specific to addictive disorder training. 
At least 6 of these hours must be in professional ethics; 

b. supervised practical trainingCmust provide 
documentation and verification of 120 hour practicum in the 
5 performance domains (minimum of 10 in each). The 5 
domains are: planning and evaluation, education and skill 
development, community organization, public and 
organizational policy and professional growth and 
responsibility; 

c. experienceCcompletes all experience 
requirements prescribed by the ADRA, including the 
following: 
 i. for an applicant with, at a minimum, an 
approved bachelor's degree, verification of 2000 hours (one 
year) of full-time ADRA approved supervised experience 
engaged in the providing of prevention services; or, 
 ii. for an applicant with a high school diploma, 
five years of ADRA approved experience
consistent with the requirements discussed hereinabove; 

2. documents successful completion of 30 hours of a 
National Prevention Training program approved by the 
ADRA. The 30 hours required herein may also be counted in 
and applied to the 100 hours of education required 
hereinabove; 

3. is at least 21 years of age; 
4. is a legal resident of the United States; 
5. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
6. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received; 

7. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The applicant shall 
provide the ADRA with a certified copy of his criminal 
history; 

8. signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

9. demonstrates professional competency in 
prevention by satisfying written examination requirements 
established by the ADRA and providing documentation of 
such. The ADRA shall indicate the examination 
requirements that govern each testing cycle; 

10. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive 
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to 
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately 
prepare him to be able to demonstrate professional 
competency in prevention; 

11. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his experience has provided comprehensive training 
sufficient to adequately prepare him to be able to 
demonstrate professional competency in prevention; 

12. provide three letters of recommendation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:652 (March 2005). 
§717. Registered Preventionist (RP) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as a RP each candidate 
who: 

1. possesses a high school diploma or its equivalent; 
2. documents successful completion of 30 hours of a 

National Prevention Training program approved by the 
ADRA; 

3. is at least 21 years of age; 
4. is a legal resident of the United States;  
5. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
6. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received; 

7. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The applicant shall 
provide the ADRA with a certified copy of his criminal 
history. Signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; and 

8. provide 21 letters of recommendation. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3388.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:653 (March 2005). 
§719. Prevention Specialist-In-Training (PSIT) 

A. The ADRA shall recognize as a PSIT each candidate 
who: 

1. documents that he is actively pursuing a career tract 
to be a CPS or RPS; 

2. is at least 18 years of age; 
3. is a legal resident of the United States; 
4. is not in violation of any ethical standards 

subscribed to by the ADRA; 
5. is not now, and has not been, a substance abuser or 

compulsive gambler for a period of two years from the date 
the application is received; 

6. has not been convicted of, pleaded guilty, or entered 
a plea of nolo contendere to a felony. The applicant shall 
provide the ADRA with a certified copy of his criminal 
history. Signs the ADRA form of professional and ethical 
accountability and responsibility; 

7. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his educational preparation has provided comprehensive 
coverage of the subjects and topics necessary to allow him to 
develop a sufficient knowledge base and to adequately 
prepare him to be able to demonstrate professional 
competency in prevention; 

8. it is the candidate's responsibility to assure himself 
that his experience has provided comprehensive training 
sufficient to adequately prepare him to be able to 
demonstrate professional competency in prevention; 

9. the PSIT status is granted for a 12 month period. 
During the 12 month period the PSIT shall comply with the 
ADRA guidelines for PSIT Supervision; 

10. PSIT shall be allowed to maintain the PSIT status 
for an aggregate period not to exceed 72 months; 

11. provide three letters of recommendation; 
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12. the ADRA shall develop PSIT Supervision 
guidelines and shall post the guidelines on the website 
maintained by the ADRA. The guidelines shall be 
considered the minimum standards applicable to all PSIT's 
and PSIT supervisors. It shall be the obligation of all PSIT's 
and PSIT supervisors to regularly consult the website and 
review the guidelines to insure familiarity and compliance 
with the minimum standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:653 (March 2005). 
§721. Certification as a Counselor by Reciprocity from 

Other States  
A. The ADRA may issue a certificate, without 

examination in this state, to any person who meets the 
following requirements: 

1. if the applicant is applying from an ICRC 
jurisdiction, the applicant should following the ICRC 
reciprocity process; 

2. if the applicant is not applying from an ICRC 
jurisdiction, the applicant must submit an application and 
satisfy the following: 

a. possess a valid certificate to practice as an 
addiction or prevention counselor or professional or para-
professional in any other state of the United States; 

b. document and verify that the certificate from the 
other state is based upon an examination and other 
requirements substantially equivalent to the requirements for 
practice in Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:654 (March 2005). 
§723. Application and Examination  

A. Request for Application 
1. Persons desiring information regarding a practice 

credential (LAC, CAC, RAC, CPS, and/or RP), specialty 
certification (e.g., CCS, and/or CCGC), or status (CIT, 
and/or PSIT) shall be sent an information brochure and a 
request for application form. The ADRA may, in lieu of 
mailing information, make such information available on 
line at any web site maintained by the ADRA. 

2. An application package shall be made available to 
any interested persons. The ADRA may, in lieu of mailing, 
make the package available on line at any web site 
maintained by the ADRA. 

3. Any applicant for a practice credential or specialty 
certification who fails the written examination and, who, 
prior to the next scheduled written examination completes an 
ADRA approved test preparation training, shall have the 
application period extended to include either the next 
consecutive testing cycle or such subsequent testing cycle as 
the applicant shall designate in writing. 

B. Required Application Materials 
1. The application package shall contain forms for the 

applicant to provide information and documentation of 
meeting the requirements for a practice credential, specialty 
certification and/or status. 

2. Each application package shall require such 
information as the ADRA deems necessary and appropriate. 

3. An application will not be reviewed for test 
eligibility until the submitted application package is 
completed, i.e., all of the required information and forms, 
including a case study in the event an oral examination is 
required, are received by the ADRA. 

4. Candidates will not be certified as eligible to take 
the written and oral examinations until the completed 
application package has been reviewed and approved by the 
ADRA. 

5. By submitting the application package, candidates 
are deemed to have made a request to the ADRA to take the 
appropriate examination(s). 

6. The ADRA shall determine the scope of the 
examination(s) to provide the opportunity for the candidate 
to demonstrate competency in the field for which he seeks 
certification, or shall designate the examination(s) which 
satisfy the ADRA requirements. The ADRA shall designate 
the test or tests which satisfy examination requirements and 
shall identify those tests on a testing cycle events schedule 
published and maintained by the ADRA. After three written 
examination failures, the ADRA may, in addition to the test 
preparation training, impose on the applicant such conditions 
as may be deemed appropriate to enhance the individual's 
training and/or clinical experience and/or to supplement 
preparation for the examination. 

7. The ADRA shall notify each candidate of the 
examination results only after the examination results have 
been certified. 

8. The application of a candidate who fails to appear 
for an examination date selected or agreed to by the 
candidate for reasons other than documented illness or other 
causes beyond the candidate's control becomes void. The 
candidate must re-apply and may be required to reimburse 
the ADRA for the cost of the examination, in accordance 
with the policy of the ADRA. By submitting an application 
packet, a candidate shall be deemed to have consented to this 
policy. 

9. Satisfaction of the examination requirements by the 
applicant, does not guarantee the issuance of a credential or 
certification. Applicants who pass all required examinations 
shall be deemed eligible for, and undergo, final evaluation 
by the ADRA prior to the issuing of a credential or 
certification and the applicants shall be so notified. 

10. The ADRA shall rule on any questions concerning 
examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:654 (March 2005). 
§725. Renewal 

A. Every practice credential and/or specialty 
certification, including the ATA and RP, issued under these 
rules and regulations shall be renewed every two years. The 
status of CIT/ PSIT is issued for one year. 

B. It shall be the responsibility of the individual to 
timely renew all practice credentials and certifications. 

C. The ADRA shall renew a credential or certification 
only upon receipt of an application for renewal and proof of 
the required continuing professional education hours. If 
satisfied of the accuracy of the application for renewal, the 
ADRA shall issue a new wallet card with the date of renewal 
and the new expiration date. 
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D. Applications for renewal which do not satisfy the 
requirements will be deficient. The individual will be 
notified and allowed to correct the deficiency. It is the 
individual's responsibility to correct the deficiency prior to 
the expiration date of his certification. 

E. The ADRA shall rule on any questions regarding 
applications for renewal of certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:654 (March 2005). 
§727. Continuing Professional Education  

A. Renewal 
1. Within the two years prior to application for 

renewal, all LAC, CAC, RAC, and CPS must complete at 
least 48 clock hours of education directly applicable to 
addictive disorder counseling or prevention, whichever is 
applicable, at least 6 of which must be in professional ethics. 
The ADRA shall publish guidelines for the continuing 
education requirements applicable to the paraprofessional 
ATA and the RP. 

2. Within the two years prior to application for 
renewal, and in addition to any other education hours 
required herein, the CCGC must have completed at least 16 
clock hours of education directly applicable to compulsive 
gambling counseling. The CCS must have completed at least 
8 clock hours directly applicable to clinical supervision. The 
RP must have completed at least six clock hours of 
education directly applicable to prevention. In addition, the 
CCGC, RP and CCS must have a minimum of 6 hours of 
ethics training approved by the ADRA for the particular 
specialty certification or credential to be renewed. 

3. Within the one year prior to application for renewal, 
the CIT and PSIT must document and verify compliance 
with the CIT and PSIT guidelines published by the ADRA. 

B. Sources 
1. Continuing education must be in the form of 

workshops, seminars, courses, or other organized 
educational programs conducted by providers approved by 
the ADRA. Semester credit hours may be converted to clock 
hours at the rate of 15 clock hours per one semester hour. 

2. In-service training conducted by and for a 
counselor's own agency does not constitute continuing 
education. Education conducted by a counselor's own 
agency which has prior ADRA approval shall be accepted. 

3. Delivery of an ADRA approved educational 
program is an education equivalent if the trainer documents 
that the material was presented for the first time or from 
recently acquired updated sources. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:655 (March 2005). 
§729. Inactive Certificate; Late Renewal; Reactivation  

A. Inactive Certificate: a credential or certificate 
becomes inactive immediately upon passing the expiration 
date. 

B. Late Renewal: applications for renewal of a credential 
or certification or any part thereof received after the 
expiration date are considered late. 

C. Reactivation Grace Period: a 90 day grace period 
shall be granted to reactivate a credential or certification 
without any lapse in continuity, provided a satisfactory 
application for renewal is received within 90 days of the 
expiration date. 

D. Notification of Licensure or Certification: individuals 
will be notified within 30 days upon the approval of their 
application for reactivation of a credential or certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:655 (March 2005). 
§731. Lapsed Credential/Certification; Reinstatement; 

Surrender 
A. A credential or certification is considered lapsed on 

the 91st day following the expiration date. Lapsed 
credentials or certificates shall be surrendered to the ADRA 
upon demand. A lapsed practice credential (e.g., LAC, CAC, 
RAC, LCSW, MD) terminates immediately the current and 
valid status of any specialty certification (e.g., CCS, CCGC) 
unless and until reinstatement of the practice credential is 
granted by the ADRA, or appropriate regulatory body. 

B. A lapsed practice credential issued by a regulatory 
body other than the ADRA, shall be governed by the law 
pertinent to that credential and the rules for reinstatement 
promulgated by that body. A lapsed practice credential or 
certification issued by the ADRA, may be reinstated within 
one year of the expiration date, provided: 

1. a satisfactory application for renewal is submitted 
within a year of the date of the expiration, together with an 
explanation of the lapse and a written request for 
reinstatement; 

2. for the LAC, CAC, RAC, and CPS, the individual 
must document and verify having successfully completed the 
48 clock hours of education which would have been required 
for timely renewal, together with an additional 12 hours of 
education if the application is received within six months of 
the expiration date or an additional 24 hours of education is 
the application is received more than six months after the 
expiration date; 

3. for the CCGC, CCS and RP the individual must 
document and verify having successfully completed the 
clock hours of education which would have been required 
for timely renewal together with additional clock hours of 
education in the appropriate specific; area(s) as follows: 

a. CCGCC8 hours; 
b. CCSC4 hours; 
c. RPC3 hours; 

4. there is no lapsed CIT or PSIT status or 
reinstatement period; 

5. if reinstatement is granted, new issue and expiration 
dates are set by the ADRA and the individual's file is 
annotated to show the lapsed period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:655 (March 2005). 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 31, No. 3   March 20, 2005 656

Chapter 9. Disciplinary Procedures 
§901. Causes for Administrative Action 

A. The ADRA after due notice and hearing as set forth 
herein and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 
seq., may deny, revoke or suspend any credential or 
certification issued or applied for, or otherwise discipline a 
certificate holder, counselor or prevention specialist in 
training, or applicant on a finding that the person has 
violated the Addictive Disorders Practice Act, any of the 
rules and regulations promulgated by the ADRA, the Code 
of Ethics, any supervision guidelines, any policy published 
by the ADRA or prior final decisions and/or consent orders 
involving the certificate holder, counselor or prevention 
specialist in training, or applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:656 (March 2005). 
§903. Disciplinary Process and Procedures  

A. The purpose of the following rules and regulations is 
to supplement and effectuate the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 29:950 et seq. regarding 
the disciplinary process and procedures incident thereto. 
These rules and regulations are not intended to amend or 
repeal the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act 
and to the extent any of these rules and regulations are in 
conflict therewith, the provisions of the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act shall govern. 

B. A disciplinary proceeding, including the formal 
hearing, is less formal than a judicial proceeding. It is not 
subject to strict rules and technicalities, but must be 
conducted in accordance with considerations of fair play and 
constitutional requirements of due process. 

C. The purpose of a disciplinary proceeding is to 
determine contested issues of law and fact; whether the 
person committed certain acts or omissions and, if so, 
whether those acts or omissions violate the Addictive 
Disorders Practice Act, the rules and regulations of the 
ADRA, the Code of Ethics, or prior Final Decisions and/or 
Consent Orders involving the certificate holder, counselor or 
prevention specialist in training, or applicant and to 
determine the appropriate disciplinary action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:656 (March 2005). 
§905. Initiation of Complaints  

A. Complaints may be initiated by any person or by the 
ADRA on its own initiative. 

B. All complaints shall be addressed confidential and 
shall be sent to the ADRA office. The Director of the ADRA, 
with benefit of counsel, shall decide to investigate the 
charges or deny the charges. If the charges are denied, a 
letter of denial is prepared and forwarded to the complainant 
and the person accused of wrongdoing. If the Director of the 
ADRA decides to investigate, the person shall be notified 
that allegations have been made that he may have committed 
a breach of statute, rule and regulation, the Code of Ethics, 
and/or prior final decisions or consent orders and that he 
must respond in writing to the ADRA within a specified time 
period. The response is to be made to the ADRA office 

address. The complaint letter of alleged violations shall not 
be given initially to the person. However, sufficiently 
specific allegations shall be conveyed to the person for his 
response. Once the person has answered the complaint, and 
other pertinent information, if available, is reviewed, a 
determination by the Director of the ADRA, with benefit of 
counsel, will be made as to whether or not a disciplinary 
proceeding is required. 

C. Pursuant to its authority to regulate the industry, the 
ADRA through its Director, may issue subpoenas to secure 
evidence of alleged violations of the Addictive Disorders 
Practice Act, any of the rules and regulations promulgated 
by the ADRA, the Code of Ethics, or prior final decisions 
and/or consent orders involving the certificate holder, 
counselor or prevention specialist in training, or applicant. 

D. "Counsel" referenced in this Chapter shall mean the 
General Counsel of the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
or his or her designee, who will be assisting in the 
investigation and prosecution of an administrative action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:656 (March 2005). 
§907. Informal Disposition of Complaints 

A. Complaints may be settled informally by the ADRA 
and the person accused of a violation without the necessity 
of a formal hearing. 

B. The following types of informal dispositions may be 
utilized. 

1. Disposition by Correspondence 
a. For complaints deemed technical in nature and 

which are considered less serious (complaints for which the 
allegations, if taken as true, do not indicate circumstances 
which pose a risk or threat of harm to a client), the Director 
of the ADRA may write to the person explaining the nature 
of the complaint received. If the person's subsequent 
response provides a satisfactory explanation, the matter may 
be closed. 

b. If a satisfactory explanation is not forthcoming, 
the matter shall be pursued through an informal conference 
or formal hearing. 

2. Informal Conference 
a. The Director of the ADRA may hold a 

conference with the person in lieu of, or in addition to, 
correspondence for those complaints deemed technical in 
nature and which are considered less serious. If the situation 
is satisfactorily explained in conference, the matter may be 
closed. 

b. The person shall be given adequate notice of the 
conference, of the issues to be discussed and of the fact that 
information brought out at the conference may later be used 
in a formal hearing. The informal conference shall be 
conducted by the Director of the ADRA or his or her 
designee. In setting the time and location of the conference, 
the Director of the ADRA shall make reasonable efforts to 
accommodate the schedule of the person against whom the 
complaint has been made and any inconvenience that may be 
caused to the clinic or facility in which the person may 
practice. 

3. A settlement agreement between the person making 
the complaint and the person accused of a violation does not 
preclude disciplinary action by the ADRA. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:656 (March 2005). 
§909. Formal Hearing  

A. The ADRA has the authority, granted by R.S. 37:3371 
et seq., to bring administrative proceedings against persons 
to whom it has issued a credential or certification, any 
counselor or prevention specialist in training status, or any 
applicant. The person has the right to appear and be heard, 
either in person or by counsel; the right of notice; a 
statement of what accusations have been made; the right to 
present evidence and to cross-examine; and the right to have 
witnesses subpoenaed. 

B. If the person does not appear, either in person or 
through counsel, after proper notice has been given, the 
person may be considered to have waived these rights and 
the ADRA may proceed with the hearing without the 
presence of the person. 

C. Once the ADRA has received a complaint alleging 
that a person has acted in violation of the Addictive 
Disorders Practice Act, the rules and regulations of the 
ADRA, or the Code of Ethics, communications from the 
complaining party shall not be revealed to any person, other 
than counsel for the ADRA, until and unless a formal 
complaint is filed. This rule shall not apply to any document 
properly subject to, and the object of, a lawful subpoena by a 
court. 

D. The process of administrative action shall include 
certain steps and may include other steps, as follows. 

1. Investigation 
a. The complaint is investigated by the Director of 

the ADRA and counsel for the ADRA to determine if there is 
sufficient evidence to warrant disciplinary proceedings. 

b. A decision to initiate a formal complaint or 
charge is made if one or more of the following conditions 
exist: 
 i. the complaint is sufficiently serious; 
 ii. the person fails to respond to the ADRA's
correspondence concerning the complaint; 
 iii. the person's response to the ADRA's letter or
investigation demand fails to provide a satisfactory
explanation and/or fails to convince the Director that no 
action is necessary; or 
 iv. an informal conference is convened, but fails to 
resolve all of the issues. 

2. A sworn complaint is filed by the Director of the 
ADRA, charging the violation of one or more of the 
provisions of the Addictive Disorders Practice Act, the rules 
and regulations promulgated thereto, the Code of Ethics, or 
prior final decisions and/or consent orders involving the 
person. 

3. A time and place for a hearing is fixed by the 
Director of the ADRA. 

4. Notification of Hearing 
a. At least 30 days prior to the date set for the 

hearing, a copy of the charges and a notice of the time and 
place of the hearing are sent to the last known address of the 
person accused. It is the person's obligation to keep the 
ADRA informed of his whereabouts. A copy of the notice 
sent to the person, attached to a sworn affidavit signed by the 

Director attesting to the date of the mailing, shall constitute 
proof of notice. 

b. The content of the charges limits the scope of the 
hearing and the evidence which may be introduced. The 
charges may be amended at any time, except that they may 
not be amended within 10 days prior to the date set for the 
hearing. Any amendment to the charges made within 10 days 
of the date set for the hearing shall require the ADRA to 
continue the matter and set a new date for the hearing. The 
person against whom the charges have been made, may 
waive the requirement that the hearing be continued. Such a 
waiver must be in writing and must be signed by the person, 
as well as by counsel, if the person is represented by an 
attorney. 

c. If the ADRA is unable to describe the matters 
involved in detail at the time the sworn complaint is filed, 
this complaint may be limited to a general statement of the 
issues involved. Thereafter, the ADRA shall supply a more 
definite and detailed statement to the person. This detailed 
statement shall be supplied at least 10 days prior to the date 
of the hearing. 

5. Except for good cause shown, motions requesting a 
continuance of a hearing shall be in writing and shall be filed 
at least five days prior to the date set for the hearing. The 
motion shall state the reason for the request. The Director, or 
his or her designee, shall grant or deny the request, in 
writing, within 24 hours. If the request is denied, written 
reasons for the denial shall be included. 

6. Subpoenas 
a. The director, or an authorized agent of the 

ADRA, issues subpoenas for the ADRA for disciplinary 
proceedings, and when requested to do so, may issue 
subpoenas for the other party. All legal actions will be filed 
from the Louisiana Nineteenth Judicial District Court. 
Subpoenas include: 
 i. a subpoena requiring a person to appear and 
give testimony; and 
 ii. a subpoena duces tecum, which requires that a 
person produce books, records, correspondence, or other
materials over which he has custody. 

b. A motion to limit or quash a subpoena may be 
filed with the ADRA, but not less than 72 hours prior to the 
hearing. 

7. Appeal 
a. The hearing is held, at which time the ADRA's 

primary role is to hear evidence and argument, and to reach a 
decision. 

b. The ADRA is represented by its counsel who 
presents evidence that disciplinary action should be taken 
against the person. The person may present evidence 
personally or through an attorney, and witnesses may testify 
on behalf of the person. 

c. Evidence includes the following: 
 i. oral testimony given by witnesses at the 
hearing,except that, for good cause, testimony may be taken
by deposition (cost of the deposition is borne by the
requesting party); 
 ii. documentary evidence, i.e., written or printed
materials including public, business, institutional
records, books and reports; 
 iii. visual, physical and illustrative evidence; 
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 iv. admissions, which are written or oral 
statements of a party made either before or during the 
hearing; 
 v. facts officially noted into the record, usually 
readilydetermined facts making proof of such unnecessary; 
and/or 
 vi. other items or things allowed into evidence by 
theLouisiana Evidence Code or applicable statutory law or 
jurisprudence. 

d. All testimony is given under oath. If the witness 
objects to swearing, the word "affirm" may be substituted. 

8. The Director of the ADRA, or his or her designee, 
presides and the customary order of proceedings at the 
hearing is as follows. 

a. The ADRA's representative makes an opening 
statement of what he intends to prove, and what action, he 
wants the ADRA to take. 

b. The person, or his attorney, makes an opening 
statement, explaining why he believes that the charges 
against him are not legally founded. 

c. The ADRA's representative presents the case 
against the person. 

d. The person, or his attorney, cross-examines. 
e. The person presents evidence. 
f. The ADRA's representative cross-examines. 
g. The ADRA's representative rebuts the person's 

evidence. 
h. Both parties make closing statements. 

9. The ADRA's representative makes the initial 
closing statement and the final statement. Motions may be 
made before, during, or after a hearing. All motions shall be 
made at an appropriate time according to the nature of the 
request. Motions made before or after the hearing shall be in 
writing. Those made during the course of the hearing may be 
made orally since they become part of the record of the 
proceeding. 

10. Recording 
a. The record of the hearing shall be considered the 

property of the ADRA and shall include: 
 i. all documents and/or other materials accepted 
as evidence at the hearing; required by the statutes or rules; 
 ii. all papers filed and served in the proceeding; 
 iii. statements of matters officially noticed; 
 iv. notices of the hearing; 
 v. affidavits of service or receipts for mailing or 
processor other evidence of service; 
 vi stipulations, settlement agreements or consent 
orders, if any; 
 vii. records of matters agreed upon at a prehearing
conference; 
 viii. reports filed by the hearing officer, if one is 
used; 
 ix. orders of the ADRA and its final decision; 
 x. actions taken subsequent to the decision, 
includingrequests for reconsideration and rehearing; 
 xi. a transcript of the proceedings, if one has been 
made,or an audio or stenographic record. 

b. The record of the proceeding shall be retained 
until the time for any appeal has expired, or until the appeal 
has been concluded. The record is not transcribed unless a 
party to the proceeding so requests. The requesting party 
pays for the cost of the transcript. 

11. Hearing 
a. The decision of the ADRA shall be reached 

according to the following process: 
 i. determine the facts at issue on the basis of the
evidence submitted at the hearing; 
 ii. determine whether the facts in the case support 
thecharges brought against the person; and 
 iii. determine whether charges brought are in 
violation of the Addictive Disorders Practice Act or
regulations of the ADRA, and/or the Code of Ethics; 
 iv. in addition to any sanction imposed by the 
ADRA against the person, the ADRA may assess all costs 
incurred in connection with the proceeding
including, but not limited to, investigation, court reporting, 
costs associated with ADRA representation by an attorney 
and court costs. 

b. Sanctions and/or costs imposed upon the person 
who is a party to the proceeding are based upon findings of 
fact and conclusions of law determined as a result of the 
hearing, and will be issued by the ADRA in accordance with 
applicable statutory authority. The party is notified by mail 
of the final decision of the ADRA. 

12. Every order of the ADRA shall take effect 
immediately on its being rendered unless the ADRA in such 
order fixes a stay of execution of a sanction for a period of 
time against an applicant or holder of a certificate. Such 
order, without a stay of execution, shall continue in effect 
until expiration of any specified time period or termination 
by a court of competent jurisdiction. The ADRA shall notify 
all persons of any action taken against him and may make 
public its orders and judgment in such manner and form as 
allowed by law. 

13. Rehearing 
a. The ADRA may reconsider a matter which it has 

decided. This may involve rehearing the case, or it may 
involve reconsidering the case on the basis of the record. 
Such reconsideration may occur when a party who is 
dissatisfied with a decision of the ADRA files a motion 
requesting that the decision be reconsidered by the ADRA. 

b. The ADRA shall reconsider a matter when 
ordered to do so by a higher administrative authority or 
when the case is remanded for reconsideration or rehearing 
by a court to which the ADRA's decision has been appealed. 

c. A motion by a party for reconsideration or 
rehearing must be in proper form and filed within 10 days 
after notification of the ADRA's decision. The motion shall 
set forth the grounds for the rehearing, which include one or 
more of the following: 
 i. the ADRA's decision is clearly contrary to the 
law and evidence; 
 ii. there is newly discovered evidence by the party 
since the hearing which is important to the issues and which 
the party could not have discovered with due diligence 
before or during the hearing; 
 iii there is a showing that issues not previously
considered ought to be examined in order to dispose of the 
case properly; or 
 iv it would be in the public interest to further 
considerthe issues and the evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:657 (March 2005). 
§911. Consent Order 

A. An agreement may be entered into between the 
ADRA and the person against whom the complaint has been 
filed.. Once reduced to writing, the agreement is referred to 
as a "Consent Order" and becomes a part of the record in the 
matter. The consent order is not effective until reduced to 
writing and signed by the person, the Director of the ADRA 
or his or her designee and all counsel of record. A proposed 
consent order may be rejected by the ADRA in which event 
a formal hearing will occur. The consent order, if accepted 
by the ADRA, is issued by the ADRA to carry out the 
parties' agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
§913. Withdrawal of a Complaint 

A. A complainant may withdraw a complaint at any time. 
The ADRA, however, may continue the investigation if it is 
determined that the issues are of such importance as to 
warrant further review. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
§915. Refusal to Respond or Cooperate with the 

ADRA 
A. The acceptance of a credential or certification issued 

by the ADRA obligates the holder thereof to respond to any 
request for information, or otherwise cooperate with any 
investigation conducted by the ADRA. 

B. Any person refusing to reply to an ADRA inquiry or 
otherwise cooperate with the ADRA, is subject to 
disciplinary action. The ADRA shall record the 
circumstances of the person's failure to cooperate and shall 
inform the person that the lack of cooperation may result in 
ADRA action could included the denial, revocation or 
suspension of his credential, certification, or status or in the 
denial of any application pending with or before the ADRA 
or any other appropriate disciplinary sanction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
§917. Judicial Review of Adjudication 

A. Any person whose credential, certification, status, or 
application, has been denied, revoked or suspended or who 
has been otherwise disciplined by the ADRA shall have the 
right to have the proceedings of the ADRA reviewed by the 
state district court with the Nineteenth Judicial District 
Court, provided that such petition for judicial review is made 
within 30 days after the notice of the decision of the ADRA. 
If judicial review is granted, the ADRA's decision is 
enforceable in the interim unless the court orders a stay. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
§919. Appeal 

A. A person aggrieved by any final judgment rendered 
by the state district court may obtain a review of said final 
judgment by appeal to the appropriate circuit court of 
appeal. Pursuant to the applicable section of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., this 
appeal shall be taken as in any other civil case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
§921. Emergency Action 

A. If the Director of the ADRA finds that public health, 
safety and welfare requires emergency action and 
incorporates a finding to that effect in an order, a summary 
suspension of a certificate or registration, or counselor or 
prevention specialist in training status, may be ordered 
pending proceedings for disciplinary action. Such 
proceedings shall be promptly instituted and a formal 
hearing held, after due notice, within 10 calendar days of the 
issuance of the order or summary suspension. The formal 
hearing referenced herein shall be conducted pursuant to the 
procedure established in §909 regarding formal hearings, 
less and except any procedures or time limits inconsistent 
with the emergency action. Thereafter, the person aggrieved 
by a decision of the ADRA may seek judicial review and 
appeal pursuant to §§917 and 919. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
Chapter 11. Declaratory Statements 
§1101. Procedure 

A. The ADRA may issue a declaratory statement in 
response to a request for clarification of the effect of the 
provisions contained in the Addictive Disorders Practice Act, 
R.S. 37:3371 et seq., the rules and regulations promulgated 
by the ADRA and/or the Code of Ethics. 

B. A request for declaratory statement is made in the 
form of a petition to the ADRA. The petition should include 
at least: 

1. the name and address of the petitioner; 
2. specific reference to the statute, rule and regulation, 

or the Code of Ethics; 
3. a concise statement of the manner in which the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the statute, rules and regulations, 
or provision of the Code of Ethics, or by its potential 
application to him and about which he is uncertain of its 
effect. 

C. The petition shall be considered by the ADRA within 
a reasonable period of time taking into consideration the 
nature of the matter and the circumstances involved. The 
Director may refer the question to counsel for the ADRA. 

D. The declaratory statement of the ADRA in response to 
the petition shall be in writing and mailed to the petitioner at 
the last address furnished to the ADRA. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:659 (March 2005). 
Chapter 13. Impaired Professionals Program 
§1301. Program 

A. The ADRA shall develop policies and procedures for 
the operation of an impaired professional program which 
shall include provision for the identification and 
rehabilitation of practice credential and certificate holders, 
counselors in training and prevention specialists in training, 
or any individual over whom the ADRA has authority 
pursuant to the provisions of the Louisiana Addictive 
Disorders Act whose quality of service is impaired or 
thought to be impaired due to mental or physical conditions. 
The policies and procedures shall be posted on the website 
maintained by the ADRA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:660 (March 2005). 
Chapter 15. Code of Ethics  
§1501. Professional Representation 

A. A person holding a practice credential, specialty 
certification or status shall not: 

1. misrepresent any professional qualifications or 
associations;  

2. misrepresent any agency or organization by 
presenting it as having attributes which it does not possess; 

3. make claims about the efficacy of any service that 
go beyond those which the counselor or specialist would be 
willing to subject to professional scrutiny through publishing 
the results and claims in a professional journal; 

4. encourage or, within the counselor's or specialist's 
power, allow a client to hold exaggerated ideas about the 
efficacy of services provided by the counselor or specialist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:660 (March 2005). 
§1503. Relationships with Clients 

A. A person holding a practice credential, specialty 
certification or status: 

1. shall make known to a prospective client the 
important aspects of the professional relationship including 
fees and arrangements for payment which might affect the 
client's decision to enter into the relationship; 

2. shall inform the client of the purposes, goals, 
techniques, rules of procedure, and limitations that may 
affect the relationship at or before the time that the 
professional services are rendered; 

3. shall provide counseling services only in the 
context of a professional relationship and not by means of 
newspaper or magazine articles, radio or television 
programs, mail or means of a similar nature; 

4. shall neither accept nor pay a commission or rebate 
or any other form of remuneration for the referral of clients 
for professional services; 

5. shall not use relationships with clients to promote, 
for personal gain or the profit of an agency, commercial 
enterprises of any kind; 

6. shall not, under normal circumstances, be involved 
in the counseling of family members, intimate friends, close 
associates, or others whose welfare might be jeopardized by 
such a dual relationship; 

7. shall not, under normal circumstances, offer 
professional services to a person concurrently receiving 
counseling or prevention assistance from another 
professional except with knowledge of the other 
professional; 

8. shall take reasonable personal action to inform 
responsible authorities and appropriate individuals in cases 
where a client's condition indicates a clear and imminent 
danger to the client or others; 

9. shall take reasonable precautions to protect 
individuals from physical and/or emotional trauma resulting 
from interaction within the group; 

10. shall not engage in activities that seek to meet the 
counselor's or specialists personal needs at the expense of a 
client; 

11. shall not engage in sexual intimacies with any 
client; 

12. shall terminate a professional relationship when it is 
reasonably clear that the client is not benefiting from it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:660 (March 2005). 
§1505. Relationships with the ADRA 

A. A person holding a practice credential, specialty 
certification or status issued by the ADRA shall have the 
responsibility of reporting alleged misrepresentations or 
violations of ADRA rules to the ADRA. 

B. Any applicant for, or person holding, a practice 
credential, specialty certification or status under the 
authority of the Addictive Disorders Practice Act shall keep 
his/her ADRA file updated by notifying the ADRA of 
changes of address, telephone number and employment. 

C. The ADRA may require any applicant or candidate for 
practice credential, specialty certification or status, or 
renewal of same, whose file contains negative references to 
come before the ADRA for an interview before the practice 
credential, specialty certification or status process may 
proceed. 

D. The ADRA shall consider the failure of a person to 
respond to a request for information or other correspondence 
as unprofessional conduct and grounds for instituting 
disciplinary proceedings. 

E. A person holding a practice credential, specialty 
certification or status must participate in continuing 
professional education programs as required and set forth in 
these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:660 (March 2005). 
§1507. Advertising and Announcements 

A. Information used by a person holding a practice 
credential, specialty certification or status in any 
advertisement or announcement of services shall not contain 
information which is false, inaccurate, misleading, partial, 
out of context, or deceptive. 
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B. The ADRA imposes no restrictions on advertising by 
a person holding a practice credential, specialty certification 
or status with regard to the use of any medium, the person's 
appearance or the use of his personal voice, the size or 
duration of an advertisement, or the use of a trade name. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:660 (March 2005). 
§1511. Confidentiality 

A. No person holding practice credential, specialty 
certification or status may disclose any information he may 
have acquired from persons consulting him in his 
professional capacity that was necessary to enable him to 
render services to those persons except: 

1. with the written consent of the client, or in the case 
of death or disability, with the written consent of his 
personal representative, other person authorized to sue, or 
the beneficiary of any insurance policy on his life, health, or 
physical condition; or 

2. when the person is a minor under the age of 18 and 
the information acquired by the addictive disorder counselor, 
compulsive gambling counselor, prevention specialist, 
counselor in training or prevention specialist in training 
indicates that the child was the victim or subject of a crime, 
then the addictive disorder counselor, compulsive gambling 
counselor, prevention specialist, counselor in training or 
prevention specialist in training may be required to testify 
fully in relation thereto upon any examination, trial, or other 
proceeding in which the commission of such crime is a 
subject of inquiry; or 

3. when a communication reveals the contemplation 
of a crime or harmful act; or 

4. when the person waives the privilege by bringing 
charges before the ADRA against the addictive disorder 
counselor, compulsive gambling counselor, prevention 
specialist, counselor in training or prevention specialist in 
training. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:661 (March 2005). 
Chapter 17. Registrations and ADRA Approved 

Programs 
§1701. Counselor in Training (CIT) or Prevention 

Specialist in Training (PSIT) 
A. A person who is in the process of obtaining the 

education, training, and experience required to meet the 
requirement for obtaining practice credential may register 
with the ADRA as a counselor in training or prevention 
specialist in training, also known as CIT and PSIT 
respectively. The person must be 18 years of age and possess 
a high school diploma or equivalent to be eligible to apply 
for registration. Upon issuance of the registration as a CIT or 
PSIT, the person shall actively pursue certification as a 
counselor or prevention specialist respectively at all times. 

B. The designation of CIT and PSIT shall be granted for 
a period beginning with approval of the request for CIT or 
PSIT status and extending to the nearest renewal date one 
year after approval, provided that both the CIT/PSIT and the 
supervisor sign a statement agreeing to follow the guidelines 

and protocols for CIT/PSIT conduct and supervision posted 
on the website maintained by the ADRA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:661 (March 2005). 
§1703. Certified Clinical Supervisor or Qualified 

Professional Supervisor  
A. The ADRA shall establish and recognize minimum 

guidelines for a CCS program and shall post these policies 
and procedures on the website maintained by the ADRA. 

B. A person who meets the requirements of a CCS, as 
defined by the Addictive Disorders Practice Act, may 
register with the ADRA as a Certified Clinical Supervisor. 
No one may hold himself out as a Clinical Supervisor or 
provide Clinical Supervision unless recognized as a CCS by 
the ADRA. 

C. Any person holding the certification for Clinical 
Supervision shall agree to adhere to the guidelines for 
Clinical Supervision developed by the ADRA and posted on 
the website maintained by the ADRA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:661 (March 2005). 
§1705. Approved Training Institution 

A. In order to qualify for and maintain the ADRA 
approval, training institutions must adhere to the supervision 
guidelines established by the ADRA. The ADRA may 
inspect and review such institutions at anytime during 
normal hours of operation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:661 (March 2005). 
§1707. Approved Educational Provider 

A. The ADRA shall develop policies and procedures for 
the operation of an approved educational provider program. 

B. Organizations who desire to provide continuing 
professional education in the continuum of care in the areas 
of addiction treatment and/or intervention and/or prevention, 
or any area deemed appropriate by the ADRA may register 
with the ADRA as an approved educational provider, also 
known as AEP. Each educational offering is a form of 
learning experience and shall be known as a course for the 
purposes of this rule whether it was offered for academic 
credit, as a workshop, seminar, conference, or in any other 
acceptable format. In-service training conducted by and for 
an individual's own agency is not an acceptable educational 
offering format. An individual, partnership, corporation, 
association, organized health care system, educational 
institution, governmental agency, or any other autonomous 
entity shall qualify as an organization for the purposes of this 
rule. 

C. The designation of approved educational provider is 
granted to the nearest renewal date one year after the request 
for AEP status is approved, provided: 

1. a satisfactory application form is received; 
2. one person, who is qualified by virtue of education, 

training, and experience, as determined by the ADRA, is 
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identified as the supervisor of all educational programs to be 
offered; 

3. the organization provides a statement, signed by an 
authorized officer of the organization, to document the 
organization's desire to provide continuing professional 
education in the continuum of care in the areas of addiction 
treatment and/or intervention and/or prevention and 
acknowledgment of responsibility for such activities. This 
statement must contain acknowledgment that the 
organization is independent of the ADRA, that it will hold 
the ADRA harmless, and that it will comply with the 
requirements of the ADRA; 

4. the organization agrees to provide a certificate of 
completion for each person satisfactorily completing each 
course which shall contain: 

a. the name and trainee or certification number of 
the person completing the course; 

b. the name and AEP number of the provider; 
c. the title of the course, course number, name of 

the instructor(s), and date(s) of the course; 
d. the number of clock hours of credit earned; 
e. the signature of the organization's educational 

program supervisor or the instructor, or both; 
5. the organization agrees to file a course report with 

the ADRA within 30 days of completion for each course 
which shall contain: 

a. the AEP number and course number of the 
provider; 

b. the trainee or certification number and the clock 
hours earned for each person completing the course, or, the 
name and hours for persons not registered with or certified 
by this ADRA; 

c. a sample of the certificate of completion; 
d. a copy of the flier or brochure used to advertise 

the course to the public; 
6. the organization agrees to provide ADRA approved 

credit only for courses which meet the educational standards 
of the ADRA and which are taught by instructors who are 
qualified by virtue of education, training, and experience; 
the organization agrees to document this by maintaining a 
file for each course in its office which contains: 

a. the course description containing the educational 
objectives; course outline; instructional modalities; and 
relevance of the material, including relationship to the 12 
core functions or KSA and/or performance domains, 
theoretical content related to scientific knowledge of 
practicing in the field of addictive disorder counseling, 
compulsive gambling counseling, or prevention; application 
of scientific knowledge in the field of addictive disorder 
counseling, compulsive gambling counseling or prevention 
direct and/or indirect patient/client care, and which renewal 
education area or areas are addressed; 

b. the qualifications of instructors containing 
description of the education, training, and experience which 
prepared them to teach the course; 

7. the organization provides a summary statement of 
its continuous quality improvement program and agrees to 
maintain full records of that program. This program shall 
include but not be limited to student evaluations of each 
course; 

8. the organization agrees to notify the ADRA and 
each person who completed a course in a timely fashion if it 

is determined that a course did not comply with the 
standards of the ADRA for addictive disorder counselor, 
compulsive gambling counselor or prevention education. 
The organization shall also present its written policy on 
refunds and cancellation; 

9. the organization agrees to an annual audit review of 
its education program, course files, and continuous quality 
improvement program by a professional approved by the 
ADRA, and an audit or review of its records at any time by 
the ADRA. 

D. Registration as an approved education provider shall 
be renewed annually, provided: 

1. a satisfactory renewal form is received prior to the 
expiration date of the current registration; 

2. the annual audit report of the organization's 
education program, course files, and continuous quality 
improvement program signed by an ADRA approved 
professional is filed; 

3. there have been no unresolved complaints against 
the organization. 

E. An approved education provider shall be authorized 
to: 

1. announce to the public and advertise that its 
educational offerings meet the standards of the ADRA; 

2. issue certificates of completion which acknowledge 
ADRA approval of the course. 

F. An organization may be granted approval as a single 
course provider provided: 

1. a satisfactory application form is received prior to 
offering the course; 

2. the organization documents the course description 
including the educational objectives, course outline, 
instructional modalities, relationship of the material to the 12 
core functions or KSA performance domains, and which 
renewal education area or areas are addressed; 

3. the organization documents the qualifications of the 
instructors including description of the education, training, 
and experience which prepared them to teach the course; 

4. the organization agrees to provide a certificate of 
completion containing the same information required of an 
AEP; 

5. the organization agrees to file a course report in the 
same fashion as an AEP and to include student evaluations 
of that course. 

G. An organization desiring single course provider status 
may: 

1. announce to the public and advertise that the course 
meets the standards of the ADRA only if approval has been 
granted. Prior to approval, the organization may state that 
ADRA approval is pending only if application has been 
made. Otherwise, the organization is prohibited from making 
any statement regarding ADRA approval of its course; 

2. offer to provide a certificate of completion only 
after ADRA approval has been granted and all required 
information is included on the certificate. 

H. A person who wishes educational credit from a source 
which has not been approved by the ADRA shall document 
that the provider of such education meets standards which 
are equivalent to those of this ADRA. Equivalence may be 
demonstrated by: 

1. the provider holding approval as a substance abuse, 
compulsive gambling or prevention education provider from 
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the certifying authority in the state where the course was 
offered; 

2. the provider holding approval as a substance abuse, 
compulsive gambling or prevention education provider from 
a certifying authority with which the ADRA as a current 
agreement of reciprocity; 

3. providing documentation of: 
a. the course description including he educational 

objectives, course outline, instructional modalities, 
relationship of the material to the 12 core functions or KSA 
performance domains, and which renewal education area or 
areas are addressed; 

b. the qualifications of instructors including 
description of the education, training, and experience which 
prepared them to teach the course. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:661 (March 2005). 
§1709. Approved Institution of Higher Education 

A. The ADRA shall develop policies and procedures for 
the operation of an approved institution of higher education 
program. 

B. Institutions which grant formal college credit for 
courses in addictive disorder counseling, compulsive 
gambling counseling or prevention, or in any other area 
deemed pertinent by the ADRA, have sufficient qualified 
faculty, and can offer a supervised clinical practicum or 
internship may register with the ADRA as an approved 
institution of higher education, also known as AIHE. 

C. The designation of approved institution of higher 
education is granted to the nearest renewal date one year 
after the request for AIHE status is approved, provided: 

1. a satisfactory application form is submitted; 
2. the institution is an organized college or university 

accredited by a recognized regional accrediting body; 
3. the institution provides a statement, signed by an 

authorized officer of the institution, to document the 
institution's desire to provide education in the continuum of 
care in the areas of addiction treatment and/or intervention 
and/or prevention or other pertinent areas and the document 
acknowledges the responsibility for such activities. This 
statement must contain acknowledgment that the institution 
is independent of the ADRA, that it will hold the ADRA 
harmless, and that it will comply with the requirements of 
the ADRA; 

4. the institution provides a statement documenting 
the appropriateness of its curriculum, the qualifications of 
the faculty to teach such courses, and the policy on 
practicum and internship courses. This statement must 
document that education, training, experience, and 
supervision when appropriate in all 12 core functions or 
KSA performance domains will be provided; 

5. the institution provides a summary statement of its 
continuous quality improvement program and agrees to 
maintain full records of that program; 

6. the institution agrees to provide for ongoing 
consultation from a CCS or other qualified professional 
approved by the ADRA who will provide ongoing 
consultation relative to the quality and content of its 
addictive disorder counseling, compulsive gambling 
counseling or prevention curriculum; 

7. the institution agrees to an annual audit review of 
its education program in the continuum of care in the areas 
of addiction treatment and/or intervention and/or prevention 
curriculum and continuous quality improvement program by 
a professional approved by the ADRA and an audit or review 
of its records at any time by the ADRA. 

D. Registration as an approved institution of higher 
education shall be renewed annually, provided: 

1. a satisfactory renewal form is received prior to the 
expiration date of the current registration; 

2. the annual audit report of the institution's 
continuum of care in the areas of addiction treatment and/or 
intervention and/or prevention and continuous quality 
improvement program, signed by an individual approved by 
the ADRA for this purpose, is filed with the ADRA; 

3. there have been no unresolved complaints against 
the institution. 

E. An approved institution of higher education shall be 
authorized to: 

1. announce to the public and advertise the availability 
of its addictive disorder counseling, compulsive gambling 
counseling or prevention curriculum; 

2. offer practicum or internship courses in addictive 
disorder counseling, compulsive gambling counseling or 
prevention for credit; 

3. reasonably assure its students that their education 
will meet ADRA standards. 

F. Persons submitting application for certification which 
list education from institutions which are not registered as an 
AIHE shall document that the educational institution where 
the education was obtained meets standards equivalent to 
those of this ADRA. Equivalence may be demonstrated by: 

1. the institution holding approval as a higher 
education provider of addictive disorder counseling, 
compulsive gambling counseling or prevention education 
from the certifying authority in the state where the institution 
is located; 

2. the institution holding approval as a higher 
education provider of addictive disorder counseling, 
compulsive gambling counseling, or prevention education 
from a certifying authority with which the ADRA has a 
current agreement of reciprocity; 

3. providing documentation of: 
a. the institution being an organized college or 

university accredited by a recognized regional accrediting 
body; 

b. the appropriateness of the curriculum; 
c. the qualifications of the faculty to teach such 

courses; 
d. the policy on practicum and internship courses; 
e. that education, training, experience, and 

supervision when appropriate in all 12 core functions or 
KSA performance domains were provided. 

G. Persons submitting application for certification which 
claim more than 18 semester hour equivalents must provide 
documentation demonstrating that a minimum of 12 
semester hours of credit were not reasonably available from 
an AIHE. The ADRA in its discretion may grant additional 
semester hour equivalents for cases of documented hardship 
at the rate of 15 clock hours of AEP education per one 
semester hour of AIHE credit provided a written request for 
waiver is submitted. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:663 (March 2005). 
Chapter 19. Miscellaneous  
§1901. Injunction 

A. The ADRA may cause an injunction to be issued in 
any court of competent jurisdiction enjoining any person 
from violating the provision of these rules and regulations. 

B. If the court finds that the person is violating, or is 
threatening to violate this Chapter, it shall enter an 
injunction restraining him from such unlawful acts. 

C. The successful maintenance of an action based on any 
one of the remedies set forth in this Rule shall in no way 
prejudice the prosecution of an action based on any other of 
the remedies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:664 (March 2005). 
§1903. Persons and Practices not Affected 

A. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be 
construed as preventing or restricting the practice, services, 
or activities of any person licensed or certified in this state 
by any other law from engaging in the profession or 
occupation for which he is licensed or certified. 

B. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be 
construed as prohibiting other licensed professionals, 
including members of the clergy and Christian Science 
practitioners, from the delivery of medical, 
psychotherapeutic, counseling, social work, psychological, 
or educational services to substance abusers, compulsive 
gamblers and their families. 

C. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be 
construed as prohibiting the activities of any person who is 
registered as a counselor in training or prevention specialist 
in training by the ADRA, and who is employed or 
supervised by a qualified professional supervisor, while 
carrying out specific tasks under professional supervision. 
The supervisee shall not represent himself to the public as a 
addictive disorder counselor, compulsive gambling 
counselor, or prevention specialist. 

D. Nothing in these rules and regulations shall be 
construed as prohibiting the activities of any student in an 
accredited educational institution while carrying out 
activities that are part of the prescribed course of study, 
provided such activities are supervised by a qualified 
professional supervisor. Such student shall hold himself out 
to the public only by clearly indicating his student status and 
the profession in which he is being trained. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:664 (March 2005). 
§1905. Prohibited Activities 

A. No person shall hold himself out as holding, or 
knowingly allow others to conclude or believe that he holds, 
a credential, certification or status issued or recognized by 
the ADRA, unless he has qualified for such under the 
provisions of the Addictive Disorders Practice Act and been 

granted the credential, certification or status pursuant to the 
ADRA's rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3388.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Addictive Disorders, Addictive 
Disorder Regulatory Authority, LR 31:664 (March 2005). 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0503#029 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis  
and Treatment ProgramCHealth Services 

(LAC 50:XV.Chapter 71) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
amends LAC 50:XV.Chapter 71 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
service descriptions and the staffing requirements for Early 
and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 
health services and amends the reimbursement methodology 
for services rendered by local education agencies. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis, and Treatment 
Chapter 71. Health Services 
§7101. Recipient Criteria 

A. Health services for children are covered if they are 
included on the Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) 
for ages 0 to 3 years of age, and on the Individualized 
Education Plan (IEP) for ages 3 to 21 years of age. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:176 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:1034 (May 2004), amended LR 31:664 (March 2005). 
§7103. Covered Services 

A. Audiology services are for the identification of 
children with auditory impairment, using at risk criteria and 
appropriate audiologic screening techniques. Audiology 
services include: 

1. determination of range, nature and degree of 
hearing loss and communications, by use of audiological 
procedures; 

2. referral for medical and other services necessary for 
the rehabilitation of children with auditory impairment; and 
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3. provision of auditory training, aural rehabilitation, 
speech reading and listening device orientation and training, 
and other services. 

B. Speech pathology services are for the identification of 
children with communicative or oropharyngeal disorders and 
delays in development of communication skills including 
diagnosis and treatment. These services include: 

1. referral for medical or other professional services 
necessary for the rehabilitation of children with 
communicative or oropharyngeal disorders and delays in 
development of communication skills; and 

2. provision of services for the rehabilitation or 
prevention of communicative or oropharyngeal disorders 
and delays in development of communication skills. 

C. Occupational therapy services address the functional 
needs of a child related to the performance of self-help 
skills, adaptive behavior, play and sensory, motor and 
postural development. Occupational therapy treatment 
services require a written referral or prescription by a 
physician licensed in Louisiana on at least an annual basis. 
An initial evaluation may be done without a referral or 
prescription. Occupational therapy services include: 

1. identification, assessment, and intervention; 
2. adaptation of the environment; 
3. selection, design, and fabrication of assistive and 

orthotic devices to facilitate development and promote the 
acquisition of functional skills; and  

4. prevention or reduction of the impact of initial or 
future impairment, delays in development, or loss of 
functional ability. 

D. Physical therapy services are designed to improve the 
child’s movement dysfunction. Physical therapy treatment 
requires a written referral or prescription by a physician 
licensed in Louisiana on at least an annual basis. An initial 
evaluation does not require such referral or prescription. 
Physical therapy services include: 

1. screening of infants and toddlers to identify 
movement dysfunction; 

2. obtaining, interpreting and integrating information 
appropriate to program planning; and 

3. services to prevent or alleviate movement 
dysfunction and related functional problems. 

E. Psychological services are designed to obtain, 
integrate, and interpret information about child behavior, and 
child and family conditions related to learning, mental 
health, and development. Psychological services include: 

1. administering psychological and developmental 
tests and other assessment procedures; 

2. interpreting assessment results; 
3. planning and managing a program of psychological 

counseling for children and parents, family counseling, 
consultation on child development, parent training, and 
education programs. 

F. Services Provided by Local Education Agencies. 
Services provided by local education agencies include the 
health services as defined in Subsections A-E.1-3 above and 
specified related services as described in Paragraphs 1 and 2 
below that are provided to children ages 3 to 21 determined 
to be medically necessary and are listed on the child’s 
Individualized Education Plan (IEP). 

1. Transportation to and from school is covered for 
Medicaid children only when a child’s medical needs require 
the use of specialized transportation services and when the 
child receives another covered EPSDT Health Service at the 
school on the day the transportation is provided. The EPSDT 
health service and the child’s specialized transportation 
needs must be identified in the child’s IEP. 

2. Counseling services are services provided to assist 
the child and/or parents in treating and understanding the 
child’s disability, the special needs of the child, and the 
child’s development. Providers of counseling services must 
meet all licensing requirements for their respective licensing 
boards.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1034 (May 2004), amended LR 31:664 
(March 2005). 
§7105. Professional Staffing Requirements 

A. Audiological Services. Audiological services must be 
provided by an audiologist or physician licensed in 
Louisiana to provide these services. A referral must be made 
by the child’s physician, preferably the primary care 
physician, at least annually in accordance with federal 
Medicaid regulations. The audiologist must meet one of the 
following criteria: 

1. a certificate of clinical competence from the 
American Speech and Hearing Association; 

2. completion of the equivalent educational 
requirements and work experience necessary for 
certification; or 

3. completion of the academic program and is 
acquiring supervised work experience to qualify for a 
certificate.  

B. Speech Pathology Services. Speech pathology 
services must be provided by or under direction of a speech 
pathologist or audiologist in accordance with licensing 
standards of the State Examiners Board for Speech 
Pathologists or Audiologists. The speech pathologist or 
audiologist must be licensed in the State of Louisiana to 
provide these services and meet one of the following criteria: 

1. a certificate of clinical competence from the 
American Speech and Hearing Association; 

2. completion of the equivalent educational 
requirements and work experience necessary for 
certification; or 

3. completion of the academic program and is 
acquiring supervised work experience to qualify for a 
certificate.  

C. Occupational Therapy Services 
1. Occupational therapy services must be provided by 

or under the direction of a qualified occupational therapist 
licensed in Louisiana to provide these services in accordance 
with the licensing standards of the State Examiners Board of 
Occupational Therapists. The occupational therapist must 
also be: 

a. a registered occupational therapist (OTR) by the 
American Occupational Therapy Association, Inc. (AOTA); 
or 
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b. a graduate of a program approved by the Council 
on Medical Education of the American Medical Association 
and engaged in the supplemental clinical experience before 
registration by the AOTA.  

2. Services provided by an occupational therapist 
assistant, who is licensed to assist in the practice of 
occupational therapy and certified by the AOTA, must be 
provided under the supervision of an occupational therapist 
licensed in Louisiana. 

D. Physical Therapy Services. Physical therapy services 
must be provided by or under the directions of a qualified 
physical therapist in accordance with state licensing 
standards of the State Examiners Board for Physical 
Therapists. The physical therapist must be a graduate of a 
program of physical therapy approved by both the Council in 
Medical Education of the American Medical Association and 
the American Physical Therapy Association or its equivalent.  

E. Psychological services must be provided by either a: 
1. Louisiana licensed physician; 
2. Louisiana licensed psychiatrist; 
3. Louisiana licensed psychologist; or 
4. certified school psychologist. 

F. Counseling services must be provided by a: 
1. licensed professional counselor; 
2. licensed clinical social worker; or 
3. graduate social worker with supervision in 

accordance with the state licensing standards of the State 
Board of Social Work Examiners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1034 (May 2004), amended LR 31:665 
(March 2005). 
§7107. Reimbursement 

A. Early Intervention Centers. Reimbursement for 
rehabilitation services rendered to Medicaid recipients who 
are age 0 up to 3 provided by EPSDT early intervention 
center providers is as follows. 

 
Procedure Rate 

Electrical stimulation $ 17 
Physical therapy-one area—therapeutic-30 minutes $ 17 
Physical therapy-neuromuscular reed-30 minutes $ 17 
Physical therapy-gait training-30 minutes $ 34 
Orthotic training $ 14 
Kinetic act one area-30 minutes $ 14 
Physical performance test $ 14 
Physical therapy evaluation/re-evaluation $ 92 
Occupational therapy evaluation/re-evaluation $ 70 
Speech/language evaluation/re-evaluation $ 70 
Speech/language therapy—30 minutes $ 26 
Speech/language therapy-add 15 minutes $ 13 
Group speech/language/hearing therapy—30 minutes $ 26 
Speech group therapy—20 minutes $ 13 
Speech group therapy—add 15 minutes $ 13 
Group Speech/language/hearing therapy—1 hour $ 52 
Speech/language/hearing therapy—20 minutes $ 17 
Speech/language/hearing therapy—1 hour $ 52 
Procedures and modalities—30 minutes $ 34 
Procedures and modalities—45 minutes $ 52 

 

B. Local Educational Agencies.  
1. All local education agencies that participate in 

Medicaid as EPSDT health services providers must submit a 
signed school system certification of understanding (PE-50 
EPSDT provider supplement agreement "C") in order to 
receive the new reimbursement rates for these services. The 
new reimbursement rates will not be activated until a 
completed PE-50 EPSDT provider supplement agreement 
"C" form has been received from all of the local education 
agencies enrolled as EPSDT health services providers.  

2. Rates for services provided by local education 
agencies will be established by dividing total costs related to 
providing the service, less any federal funds, by the total 
units of service provided. This will be determined as 
follows: 

a. total costs will consist of salaries, benefits and an 
allocation of indirect costs; 

b. annual salaries and benefits will be obtained each 
rebasing year for all direct service personnel;  

c. indirect costs will be allocated using the 
unrestricted indirect cost rate calculated by the Department 
of Education; 

d. a time study will be conducted each rebasing year 
using the random moment sampling methodology. The time 
study will determine the percentage of time direct service 
personnel spend on billable services;  

e. total costs will be multiplied by the percentage of 
direct service time to determine the amount of allocable 
costs; 

f. allocable costs will then be multiplied by the 
Medicaid Discount Factor for this program; 

g. discounted costs will be divided by total units of 
service billed for the year to determine cost per unit of 
service; 

h. current rates will be inflated and paid as an 
interim rate. At the end of the first year, costs and time study 
results will be obtained and rates will be calculated for a 
representative sample of the school districts. The median of 
this sample will then be used to set a statewide rate. The 
state will then calculate the difference between the 
calculated statewide rate time the units billed and compare 
this to the amount paid to the district during the base year. A 
retroactive adjustment will then be paid to each district; 

i. the statewide rate will be inflated using wage 
inflation factors, and become the per unit rate for the year 
"Base Year Plus 1"; and 

j. rebasing will be done at least every three years. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:666 (March 2005). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0503#039 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary  

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and  
Treatment ProgramCDental Services 

Reimbursement Increase  
(LAC 50:XV.6903) 

 The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
LAC 50:XV.6903 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby adds 
coverage for retreatment of previous root canal therapy, 
anterior and increases reimbursement for certain procedures. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis,  

and Treatment 
Chapter 69. Dental Services 
§6903. Reimbursement 

A. The reimbursement fees are as follows for certain 
designated procedure codes. The procedure codes comply 
with the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability 
Act. 

 
Code Description Fee 

* * * 
[see prior text for Procedure Codes D0120 – D0230] 

D0272 Radiograph - Bitewings, Two Films $ 13 
* * * 

[see prior text for Procedure Code D1110]  
D1120 Prophylaxis – Child $ 15 

D1351 Sealant, Per Tooth $ 19 
* * * 

[see prior text for Procedure Codes D1510 – D1515] 

D2140 Amalgam, One Surface, Primary or Permanent $ 40/$47^ 

D2150 Amalgam, Two Surfaces, Primary or 
Permanent $ 55/$58^ 

D2160 Amalgam, Three Surfaces, Primary or 
Permanent $ 70/$74^ 

D2161 Amalgam, Four or More Surfaces, Permanent $ 108 

D2330 Resin-based Composite, One Surface, Anterior $ 65 

D2331 Resin-based Composite, Two Surfaces, 
Anterior $ 75 

D2332 Resin-based Composite, Three Surfaces, 
Anterior $ 85 

D2335 Resin-based Composite, Four or More 
Surfaces, Anterior $ 108 

D2390 Resin-based Composite Crown, Anterior $ 104 

D2930 Prefabricated Stainless Steel Crown, Primary 
Tooth $ 108 

D2931 Prefabricated Stainless Steel Crown, 
Permanent Tooth $ 108 

D2932 Prefabricated Resin Crown $ 104 
* * * 

[see prior text for Procedure Codes D2950 – D3330] 

D3346 Retreatment of Previous Root Canal 
Therapy—Anterior $ 212 

D4341 Periodontal Scaling and Root Planning, per 
Quadrant $ 81 

D4355 Full Mouth Debridement $ 61 
* * * 

[see prior text for Procedure Codes D5110 – D5821] 
D7140 Extraction, Erupted Tooth or Exposed Root  $ 46 

* * * 
[see prior text for Procedure Codes D7210 - D8060] 

D8070 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Transitional Dentition 

Maximum 
Fee  

$ 4,050** 

D8080 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, 
Adolescent Dentition 

Maximum 
Fee  

$ 4,050** 

D8090 Comprehensive Orthodontic Treatment, Adult 
Dentition 

Maximum 
Fee  

$ 4,050** 
* * * 

[see prior text for Procedure Codes D9110 – D9241] 

     ^ Fee for the permanent tooth. 
* Rate for each subsequent tooth in the same arch. 
** Manually-priced maximum fee. 

  Refer to the Dental Services Manual for a complete maximum fee 
schedule of authorized services. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:176 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:252 (February 2004), LR 31:667 (March 2005). 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0503#038 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Hospital ProgramCTransplant Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals and 
replaces the provisions in the June 20, 1994 and October 20, 
1994 Rules governing the coverage of transplant services 
provided by hospitals. 
Transplant Services  

A. Transplants must be prior authorized by the 
department. Transplants (other than bone marrow and stem 
cell) must be performed in a hospital that is a Medicare 
approved transplant center for the procedure. Hospitals 
seeking Medicaid coverage for transplant procedures must 
submit documentation verifying that they are a Medicare 
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approved center for each type of transplant other than bone 
marrow and stem cell transplants. A completed attestation 
form must be submitted to Provider Enrollment. The 
Medicaid director may grant an exception to a transplant 
center for a specific procedure if the transplant surgeon can 
demonstrate experience with that specific procedure and a 
history of positive outcomes in another hospital that is a 
Medicare approved transplant center for that specific 
procedure. 

B. In addition to the above criteria, transplant centers 
located in-state shall meet the following criteria for 
Medicaid coverage of transplant services: 

1. be a member of the Organ Procurement and 
Transplant Network (OPTN) or the National Marrow Donor 
Program (NMDP) if the hospital only performs bone 
marrow/stem cell transplants;  

2. have an organ receiving and tissue typing facility 
(Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
approved for histocompatibility) or an agreement for such 
services; 

3. maintain a written records tracking mechanism for 
all grafts and patients including:  

a. patient and/or graft loss with the reason specified 
for failure; 

b. date of the procedure; 
c. source of the graft; 
d. a written policy for contacting patients and 

appropriate governmental officials if an infectious agent is 
involved; 

4. have written criteria for acceptable donors for each 
type of organ for which transplants are performed; 

5. have adequate ancillary departments and qualified 
staff necessary for pre-, intra- and post-operative care 
including, but not limited to: 

a. assessment team; 
b. surgical suite; 
c. intensive care; 
d. radiology; 
e. laboratory pathology; 
f. infectious disease; 
g. dialysis; and 
h. therapy (rehabilitation); 

6. have minimum designated transplant staff which 
includes: 

a. transplant surgeon–adopt standards as delineated 
and updated by the OPTN; 

b. transplant physician–same as Subparagraph a 
above; 

c. clinical transplant coordinator: 
 i. registered nurse licensed in Louisiana; and 
 ii. certified by NATCO or in training and certified 
within 18 months of hire date; 

d. transplant social worker; 
e. transplant dietician; 
f. transplant data coordinator; 
g. transplant financial coordinator; 

NOTE: For Subparagraphs 6.a-g above, continuing education 
is required for continued licensure and certification as 
applicable. 

7. written patient selection criteria and an 
implementation plan for application of criteria; 

8. facility plan, commitment and resources for a 
program capable of performing the following number of 
transplants per year/per organ a minimum of: 

a. heart–12; 
b. liver–12; 
c. kidney–15; 
d. pancreas–6; 
e. bone marrow–10; 
f. other organs as established per Medicare and/or 

OPTN; 
NOTE: If the level falls below the required volume, the 
hospital shall be evaluated by the department for continued 
recognition as a transplant center. 

9. facility must demonstrate survival rates per organ 
type per year which meet or exceed the mean survival rates 
per organ type per year as published annually by the OPTN. 
If rates fall below this level, the hospital shall supply 
adequate written documentation for evaluation and 
justification to the department.  

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary  

0503#042 
 
RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 
Provider Enrollment Moratorium 

(LAC 50:XV.701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 
50:XV.701 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 
50:XV.701 to implement a provider enrollment moratorium 
for mental health rehabilitation services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 1.  Mental Health Rehabilitation 

Chapter 7. Provider Participation Requirements 
Subchapter A. Certification and Enrollment 
§701. Provider Enrollment Moratorium 

A. A moratorium is implemented on the enrollment of 
mental health rehabilitation (MHR) providers to participate 
in the Medicaid Program. The department shall not approve 
enrollment for any new MHR provider or satellite office 
regardless of the status of the application. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:668 (March 2005). 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary  

0503#040 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program  
Erectile Dysfunction Drugs 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing limits the 
number of units of prescription drugs for the treatment of 
erectile dysfunction that are reimbursable by the Medicaid 
Program to one unit per month per patient. A unit includes 
tablets, injectables, intraurethal pellets and any other dosage 
form which may become available. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary  

0503#041 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Substance Abuse/Addiction Treatment FacilitiesCLicensing 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 74) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
LAC 48:I.Chapter 74 as authorized by R.S. 40:1058.1-9. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
licensing standards for substance abuse/addiction treatment 
facilities. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHCGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing and Certification 
Chapter 74. Minimum Standards/Requirements for 

Abuse/Addiction Treatment 
Facilities/Programs 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§7401. Definitions and Acronyms 

A. The following words and terms when used in this 
Chapter 74 shall have the following meanings, unless the 
context clearly states otherwise. 

* * * 
AccreditedCthe process of review and acceptance by an 

accreditation body or any additional SAMSHA approved 
accrediting body such as the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the 
Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities 
(CARF) or Council on Accreditation (COA). 

* * *  
Opioid Treatment ProgramCa program engaged in opioid 

treatment of individuals with an opioid agonist treatment 
medication. 

* * * 
State Opioid Authority (SOA)Cthe agency designated by 

the governor or other appropriate official designated by the 
governor to exercise the responsibility and authority within 
the state for governing the treatment of opiate addiction with 
an opioid drug.  

* * * 
Take Home Dose(s)Can opioid agonist treatment 

medication dose dispensed to patients for unsupervised use 
for the day(s) the clinic is closed for business, including 
Sundays and state and federal holidays.  

Therapeutic Privilege Dose(s)Can opioid agonist 
treatment medication dose dispensed for unsupervised use, 
by order of the medical director, to patients compliant with, 
and stable in, the treatment program for a period of not less 
than 30 days, under the conditions provided for in §7443.F.1. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1058.1-9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Health and Human 

Resources Administration, LR 2:154 (May 1976), amended by the 
Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Hospitals, 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, LR 3:16 (January 1977), amended by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of the 
Secretary, Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 12:26 
(January 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 26:1451 (July 2000), LR 31:669 (March 2005). 
§7403. Licensing 

A. - C.2.f. ... 
3. The Department of Health and Human Services, 

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration 
(SAMHSA) promulgated a rule requiring that all Opioid
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Treatment Programs (OTP) shall be accredited by an 
accreditation body approved by SAMHSA effective May 19, 
2004 (Federal Register, Volume 66, Number 11, January 17, 
2001). If an Opioid Treatment Program is accredited by the 
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 
Rehabilitation Facilities or the Council on Accreditation, or 
any additional SAMSHA approved accrediting body and the 
OTP requests deemed status from the department, the 
department may accept such accreditation in lieu of its 
annual on-site resurvey if the facility forwards their findings 
to the state agency (i.e., Health Standards Section of the 
Department) within 30 days of its accreditation. This 
accreditation will be accepted as evidence of satisfactory 
compliance with all provisions except those expressed in 
§§7403.J, K, and L, 7405.A and B, 7407.A, 7409.D, 7411.A, 
7413 et seq., and 7417.E.  

4. The following set of circumstances can cause the 
state agency to perform a licensing survey on an accredited 
OTP: 

a. any valid complaints in the preceding 12-month 
period; 

b. addition of services; 
c. a change of ownership in the preceding 12-month 

period; 
d. issuance of a provisional license in the preceding 

12-month period; 
e. serious violations of licensing standards or 

professional standards of practice that were identified in the 
preceding 12-month period; or  

f. reports of inappropriate treatment or service 
resulting in death or serious injury. 

D. - E.4. ... 
F. Off-sites. Related facilities may share a name with the 

primary facility if a geographic indicator is added to the end 
of the facility name. All facilities must have a separate 
license from that issued to the parent facility. 

F.1 - F.4. ... 
5. Repealed. 

G. License Designation. A facility shall have written 
notification of restrictions, limitations, and services available 
to the public, community, clients, and visitors. 

G.1 - G.2.c. ... 
3. Additional Designations (conjointly approved by 

OAD/HSS in writing) 
4. Repealed. 

H. - J. ... 
K. Notification of Change Requirements. Any change 

listed below that is not reported in writing to HSS within 10 
days is delinquent and subject to sanction. Written approval 
of changes by DHH is required to remain in compliance with 
licensure standards.  

K.1 - K.2. ... 
3. Address Change. Change of address requires 

issuance of a replacement license. Prior approval is required, 
and is based on submitting requested information to HSS. 
The following information and documentation must be 
submitted to HSS for consideration of an address change: 

a. a complete license application reflecting the new 
address; 

b. a licensing fee of $600 for outpatient programs 
and $600 plus $5 per bedroom for inpatient programs; 

c. documentation to show that architectural plans 
and specifications on the new site have been reviewed and 
approved by the Division of Engineering and Architectural 
Services; 

d. copies of on-site inspection reports performed by 
the Office of State Fire Marshal and Office of Public Health 
on the new site; 

e. a letter-sized sketch of the new site's floor plan; 
f. anticipated effective date of the move; and 
g. advise HSS on whether the new site is part of 

another existing health care entity. 
K.4. - K.5. ... 

6. Closure. HSS and SOA must be informed of any 
closure except Sundays and state and federal holidays. 

L. - L.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1058.1-9.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Health and Human 

Resources Administration, LR 2:154 (May 1976), amended by the 
Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Hospitals, 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, LR 3:16 (January 1977), amended by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of the 
Secretary, Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 12:26 
(January 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 26:1453 (July 2000), LR 31:669 (March 2005). 
§7413. Adverse Action 

A. - C.2. ... 
3. violation of any provision of this Part or of the 

minimum standards, rules, or orders promulgated hereunder 
including, but not limited to: 

C.3.a. - E.3. … 
4. Correction of a deficiency is not a basis for an 

administrative reconsideration or administrative appeal. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1058.1-9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Health and Human 

Resources Administration, LR 2:154 (May 1976), amended by the 
Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Hospitals, 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, LR 3:16 (January 1977), amended by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of the 
Secretary, Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 12:26 
(January 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 26:1456 (July 2000), LR 31:670 (March 2005). 
Subchapter C. Children/Adolescent Programs 
§7427. Children/Adolescent Programs 

A. General. Provisions in this §7427 apply to facilities 
that are inpatient, outpatient, or community based when 
service recipients are under 18 years of age. The following 
provisions are in addition to listed requirements for 
programs, and take precedence over conflicting requirements 
when services are provided to adolescents or children. 
Specific programs may have additional requirements in 
addition to those listed in this §7427. 

A.1. - D.12. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1058.1-9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Health and Human 

Resources Administration, LR 2:154 (May 1976), amended by the 
Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Hospitals, 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, LR 3:16 (January 1977), amended by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of the 
Secretary, Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 12:26 
(January 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
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Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 26:1464 (July 2000), LR 31:670 (March 2005). 
§7429. Primary Prevention Programs 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1058.1-9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Health and Human 

Resources Administration, LR 2:154 (May 1976), amended by the 
Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Hospitals, 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, LR 3:16 (January 1977), amended by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of the 
Secretary, Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 12:26 
(January 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 26:1465 (July 2000), repealed LR 31:671 (March 
2005). 
Subchapter E. Outpatient Programs 
§7443. Opioid Addiction Treatment Programs 

A. - A.1. ... 
2. The goal of all opiate addiction treatment is 

complete abstinence by the client from all addictive 
substances, other than those prescribed through the treatment 
plan. 

3. Treatment protocols require that the facility provide 
medically-approved and medically-supervised assistance to 
withdraw from the synthetic narcotic when: 

a. the client requests withdrawal; 
b. quality indicators predict successful withdrawal; 

and 
c. client or payor source suspends payment of fees. 

4. Each facility is required to independently meet the 
requirements of the protocols established by OAD/State 
Opioid Authority. 

5. Any program that fails to maintain any required 
licensure shall be also terminated immediately, pursuant to 
the provisions of §7413 entitled Adverse Actions. 

6. Each program shall also comply with requirements 
of 42 CFR Part 8 unless the comparable state requirement is 
more stringent. 

7. Each client shall have a documented physical 
evaluation and examination by a physician or advanced 
practice registered nurse as follows:  

a. upon admission; 
b. every other week until the client becomes 

physically stable; 
c. as warranted by patient response to medication 

during the initial stabilization period or any other subsequent 
stabilization period;  

d. annually thereafter; and  
e. any time that the client is medically unstable. 

B. - B.1.a. … 
b. individual counseling; 
c. initial treatment plan including initial dose of 

medication and plan for treatment of critical health or social 
issues; and 

d. client orientation. 
2. Early Stabilization. This phase is the first 

consecutive 90 days of treatment. Beginning on the third to 
seventh day of treatment (following initial treatment) 
through 90 days duration, the following shall be provided: 

a. frequent monitoring by a nurse of the client's 
response to medication in the first 90 days of treatment. This 
monitoring must be done at least weekly; 

b. … 

c. development of a treatment plan within 30 days 
with input by all disciplines, client and significant others; 
and  

d. … 
3. Maintenance Treatment. This phase follows the end 

of early stabilization and lasts for an indefinite period of 
time. Services to be provided are: 

a. random monthly drug screens until the client has 
negative drugs-of-abuse screens for 90 days, consecutively. 
Thereafter, at least eight random drug abuse tests per year 
shall be performed, as well as random testing for alcohol 
when indicated. Clients who are allowed six days of 
therapeutic privilege doses shall be tested every month; 

b. …  
c. documented reviews of the treatment plan every 

90 days in the first two years of treatment by the treatment 
team; and 

d. …  
4. Withdrawal. Medically supervised withdrawal from 

the synthetic narcotic with continuing care. This service is 
provided if and when appropriate. Services to be provided 
are: 

a. decreasing the dose of the synthetic narcotic to 
accomplish gradual, but complete withdrawal, as medically 
tolerated by the client;  

b. … 
c. discharge planning with continuity of care to 

assist the client to function without support of the 
medication and treatment activities. 

C. - C.2. … 
3. Written criteria are used to determine when a client 

will receive additional counseling. 
C.4. - D.1.b. …  

c. approve all transport devices for take home 
medications in accordance with the program's diversion 
control policy. 

2. Nursing. All medications shall be administered by a 
practitioner licensed under state law and registered under the 
appropriate state and federal laws to administer opioid drugs, 
or by an agency of such a practitioner, supervised by and 
under the order of the licensed practitioner.  

3. ... 
4. QPC. There must be a sufficient number of QPCs to 

meet the needs of the clients, but in no instance shall the 
ratio exceed 75 clients to one full-time QPC. 

D.5. - E.1.a. ... 
b. meets the federal requirements, including 

exceptions, regarding determination that the client is 
currently addicted to opiates and has been addicted to 
opiates for at least one year prior to admission. 

2. Physician Verification. The physician shall 
diagnose the client based upon: 

a. referring medical history and diagnosis of 
chronic opiate addiction, as currently defined in the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Mental Disorders 
(DSM);  

b. physical examination; and 
c. documented history of opiate addiction. 

F. Take Home and Therapeutic Privilege Dose(s). 
Determinations for therapeutic privilege dose(s) shall be 
made by the treatment team, documented in the client 
record, and ordered by the medical director. 
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1. Client Responsibilities/Considerations Factors. The 
following must be documented in the client record before a 
therapeutic privilege dose is authorized by the treatment 
team. 

a. negative drug/alcohol screens for at least 30 
days; 

b. - c. … 
d. absence of known drug related criminal activity 

during treatment; 
e. - g. …  

2. Standard Schedule (if indicated) 
a. After the first 30 days of treatment, and during 

the remainder of the first 90 days of treatment, one 
therapeutic privilege dose per week may be allowed if the 
treatment team and medical director determine, after 
consideration of the factors in §7443.F.1 above, that the 
therapeutic privilege dose is appropriate. Documentation of 
the determination and of the consideration of each of the 
factors listed in §7443.F.1 above must be contained in the 
client record. 

b. In the second 90 days of treatment, two 
therapeutic doses per week may be allowed if the treatment 
team and medical director determine, after consideration of 
the factors in §7443.F.1 above, that the therapeutic privilege 
doses are appropriate. Documentation of the determination 
and of the consideration of each of the factors listed in 
§7443.F.1 above must be contained in the client record. 

c. In the third 90 days of treatment, three 
therapeutic doses per week may be allowed if the treatment 
team and medical director determine, after consideration of 
the factors in §7443.F.1 above, that the therapeutic privilege 
doses are appropriate. Documentation of the determination 
and of the consideration of each of the factors listed in 
§7443.F.1 above must be contained in the client record. 

d. In the final 90 days of treatment of the first year, 
four therapeutic doses per week may be allowed if the 
treatment team and medical director determine, after 
consideration of the factors in §7443.F.1 above, that the 
therapeutic privilege doses are appropriate. Documentation 
of the determination and of the consideration of each of the 
factors listed in §7443.F.1 above must be contained in the 
client record. 

e. After one year in treatment, a six-day dose 
supply, consisting of take home doses and therapeutic doses, 
may be allowed once a week if the treatment team and 
medical director determine, after consideration of the factors 
in §7443.F.1 above, that the therapeutic privilege doses are 
appropriate. Documentation of the determination and of the 
consideration of each of the factors listed in §7443.F.1 above 
must be contained in the client record.  

f. After two years in treatment, a 13-day dose 
supply, consisting of take home doses and therapeutic doses, 
may be allowed once every two weeks if the treatment team 
and medical director determine, after consideration of each 
of the factors in §7443.F.1 above, that the therapeutic 
privilege doses are appropriate. Documentation of the 
determination and of the consideration of each of the factors 
listed in §7443.F.1 above must be contained in the client 
record.  

3. Loss of Privilege. Positive drug screens at any time 
for any drug other than those prescribed will require a new 
determination to be made by the treatment team regarding 
take-home doses and therapeutic privilege doses. 

4. An exception to the standard schedule can only be 
granted for emergencies and severe travel hardships. The 
facility must request the exception and obtain approval for 
the exception from the appropriate federal agency. The 
facility must retain documentation in the client's clinical 
record which includes: 

a. documentation by the physician as to the 
justification for the requested exception; and  

b. documentation of the federal approval or the 
federal exception.  

G. Client Record. Specific additional requirements for 
documentation include: 

1. standards of clinical practice regarding medication 
administration/dispensing; 

2. results of the five most recent drug screens with 
action taken for positive results; 

3. physical status and use of additional prescription 
medication; 

4. monthly or more frequently, as indicated by needs 
of the client, contact notes/progress notes which include 
employment/vocational needs, legal and social status, 
overall client stability; and 

5. any other pertinent information. 
H. Training. In addition to orientation as described in 

§7419, "Staffing Qualification/Requirements," all direct care 
employees shall receive training and demonstrate knowledge 
that includes: 

1. symptoms of opiate withdrawal; 
2. drug screens and collections, policies and 

procedures; 
3. current standards of practice regarding opiate 

addiction treatment; 
4. poly-drug addiction; and 
5. information necessary to assure care is provided 

within accepted standards of practice. 
I. Temporary Transfers or Guest Dosing. The facilities 

involved shall do the following. 
1. The receiving facility shall verify dosage prior to 

administering medication. 
2. The sending facility shall verify dosage and obtain 

approval/acceptance from receiving facility prior to client’s 
transfer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1058.1-9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Health and Human 
Resources Administration, LR 2:154 (May 1976), amended by the 
Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of Hospitals, 
Bureau of Substance Abuse, LR 3:16 (January 1977), amended by 
the Department of Health and Human Resources, Office of the 
Secretary, Division of Licensing and Certification, LR 12:26 
(January 1986), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 26:1471 (July 2000), LR 31:671 (March 2005). 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0503#043 
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RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Military Personnel Automobile Liability Insurance  
Premium Discount and Insurer Rebate Program 

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 95) 

In accordance with the provisions of 49:950 et seq. of the 
Administrative Procedure Act the Commissioner of 
Insurance hereby adopts Regulation 81 to implement a 
military personnel premium discount and insurer rebate 
program. Adoption of the proposed regulation is authorized 
by Acts 2004, No. 770. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 95. Regulation 81CMilitary Personnel 

Automobile Liability Insurance Premium 
Discount and Insurer Rebate Program 

§9501. Authority 
A. This regulation is adopted pursuant to R.S. 22:3 and 

22:1425. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 
§9503. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is to implement the 
provision of Acts 2004, No. 770 of the Louisiana 
Legislature, Regular Session, which created an insurance 
premium discount program for active military personnel 
stationed in Louisiana. The new law requires the 
commissioner to adopt a regulation to implement the 
discount program and to develop procedures for insurers to 
follow to obtain a rebate of the discount provided to 
qualified military personnel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 
§9505. Scope and Applicability 

A. This regulation applies to all motor vehicle insurers 
authorized to engage in the business of writing automobile 
liability insurance in this state. It is also applicable to any 
automobile liability insurance policy purchased in this state 
from an authorized insurer by active military personnel 
based in Louisiana to cover motor vehicles owned by such 
military personnel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 
§9507. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this regulation is held 
invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other Sections of 
provisions which can be given effect without the invalid 
Section or provision. For this purpose the Sections and 
provisions of this regulation are severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 

§9509. Definitions 
A. For the purposes of this regulation the following 

terms shall have the meaning ascribed herein unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

Active Military PersonnelC 
a. an individual who is based in this state and who 

is serving full-time: 
 i. in the Army, Navy, Marine Corps or Air Force; 
or  
 ii. as a member of the Reserve or National Guard; 
or 
 iii. as a member of the Coast Guard. 

b. Active military personnel who are deployed out-
of-state or overseas whose spouse and dependents remain in 
this state shall be considered as based in this state for 
purposes of receiving the discount provided by R.S. 22:1425 
and §9515 of this regulation. 

AMPCactive military personnel. 
Authorized InsurerCshall have the meaning found in 

R.S. 22:5(3). 
Automobile Liability Insurance PolicyCa policy 

acquired in this state, insuring not more than four motor 
vehicles of the types described in R.S. 22:636.1A(1)(a)-(b), 
with the exception that for the purposes of this regulation it 
shall also include coverage for motorcycles, which provides 
coverage for bodily injury and property damage liability, 
medical payments and uninsured motorists coverage as 
provided in R.S. 22:636.1A(2). It includes a renewal policy 
if at the time of renewal the named insured retains the status 
of active military personnel as defined above. Golf carts, go-
carts, off-road vehicles, all-terrain vehicles and other similar 
motorized vehicles are not motor vehicles for the purposes 
of R.S. 22:636.1A(1)(a)-(b). 

CommissionerCthe Commissioner of Insurance for the 
state of Louisiana. 

Direct Written PremiumCthe premium charged by the 
insurer as consideration for automobile liability insurance 
coverage. 

InsuredCthe individual who qualifies as active military 
personnel and includes the spouse and any dependents who 
are under the age of 18 or unmarried full-time students under 
the age of 24, of such individual. 

InsurerCshall have the meaning found in R.S. 22:5(10). 
LDOICthe Louisiana Department of Insurance. 
Named InsuredCthe person identified as such on the 

policy. 
StateCthe state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 
§9511. Premium Discount; Proof of Eligibility 

A. On or after July 1, 2005, all authorized insurers shall 
grant a discount equal to 12.5 percent of the premium 
charged for an automobile liability insurance policy insuring 
a vehicle owned by an insured. The discount applies to new 
and renewal business effective July 1, 2005. The discount 
applied to new and renewal business effective July 1, 2006, 
shall be equal to 25 percent of the premium. For interim 
policy changes the discount mandated by this Subsection 
shall be applied on a pro-rata basis in the same manner as 
similar discount programs, such as good-student discounts, 
are applied by the insurer. 
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B. Prior to applying the premium discount mandated by 
R.S. 22:1425(A) an insurer shall obtain from the applicant 
proof of the following. 

1. Proof of the applicant's status as active military 
personnel shall be in the form of a copy of the applicant's 
military identification card or a copy of his military orders. 

2. Proof that the applicant is stationed at or assigned 
to a base located in Louisiana shall be in the form of a copy 
of the applicant's military orders. 

3. If the applicant is a spouse or dependant of an AMP 
proof shall be in the form of a copy of the applicant's 
military identification card, a copy of the AMP's military 
orders, and if over the age of 18 proof of enrollment as a 
full-time student at an accredited college or university, or at 
a vocational, technical, vocational-technical or trade school 
or institute, or secondary school. 

4. Proof that the vehicle for which insurance is being 
purchased is owned by an insured shall be in the form of a 
copy of the vehicle's title or registration papers. 

5. Nothing in this Subsection shall preclude an insurer 
from requesting additional documentation or proof from an 
applicant to determine eligibility for the discount. 

C. For renewals, proof may be in the form of an affidavit 
in lieu of the documentation listed in Subsection B. A sample 
affidavit is shown below. 

Affidavit 
The State of Louisiana 
Parish of ___________ 
 
BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, on this day 
personally appeared ________________________________, 
who, after being duly sworn, deposed and stated under oath 
the following: 
 

I, the undersigned affiant, have previously established 
eligibility for the insurance premium discount program for 
active military personnel stationed in Louisiana. This 
eligibility was based on: 
 
1. Proof of status as full-time active duty (copy of 
military ID or orders); 
2. Proof of stationing in Louisiana, even if deployed 
elsewhere; 
3. Proof of dependency, if a spouse or dependent; and 
4. Proof of vehicle ownership (copy of title or 
registration). 
 
By signing below, I attest that I continue to meet the 
aforementioned eligibility requirements. 
 
Signed this _____ day of _____________, 20__. 

________________________________ 
Affiant 

 
SUBSCRIBED and SWORN TO before me, the 
undersigned authority, on this the ____ day of 
______________, 20__. 

_________________________________ 
Notary 

__________________ 
Print Name 
__________________ 
Address 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:673 (March 2005). 

§9513. Requests for Rebates; Documentation; Dispute 
Resolution 

A. The rebate authorized by R.S. 22:1425 will be 
remitted to eligible insurers on an annual calendar year 
basis. Rebates will be calculated based upon direct written 
premium. An insurer is eligible to receive a rebate if it is an 
authorized insurer and it makes a timely request for a rebate. 

B. Insurers seeking a rebate shall submit a request for 
rebate to the LDOI in accordance with the reporting 
schedule set forth in the reporting form(s) designed by the 
commissioner. Included with the request, insurers shall 
submit the information required to be maintained by 
§9515.B. A request that does not include the proof required 
by this regulation will be considered untimely. 

C. If the request is approved, the commissioner will 
issue a warrant to the treasurer within 30 days of receipt. 

D. The commissioner may disapprove a request for 
rebate, in whole or in part, if: 

1. it is submitted late, unless the insurer can show 
good cause for the delay; 

2. the report is incomplete or required documents are 
missing; 

3. the request is excessive because a discount was 
given to a person who was not eligible to receive it. 

E. If the commissioner disapproves a request for a rebate 
he shall give written notice to the insurer, stating the grounds 
for disapproval. The notice shall be sent to the address 
shown on the records of the LDOI. An insurer shall have 30 
days from the date of the notice to dispute the disapproval. 
Any documents submitted in rebuttal to a disapproval notice 
shall be verified as true and accurate by an officer of the 
insurer. 

F. Within 30 days of submission of the verified rebuttal 
the commissioner shall enter an order either approving or 
disapproving the request for a rebate. 

1. If the request is approved, the commissioner shall 
promptly issue a warrant to the treasurer. The treasurer shall 
remit the rebate within 30 days of receipt of the warrant. 

2. If the request is disapproved, notice shall be given 
in writing, by certified mail, return receipt requested. The 
insurer shall have 30 days from the date of receipt of the 
notice of disapproval to request an adjudicatory hearing as 
provided for by Part XXIX of Title 22 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:674 (March 2005). 
§9515. Recordkeeping; Annual Report 

A. Any insurer issuing an automobile liability insurance 
policy to an individual who qualifies for the military 
discount program shall maintain the following records: 

1. the items obtained in compliance with §9511.B; 
2. a copy of the Declarations Page for each policy for 

which a rebate is sought. 
B. The annual report shall be made on a form(s) 

designed by the commissioner. The report shall include the 
following information for automobile liability insurance 
coverage issued to an insured: 
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1. a detailed listing of all policies for which a rebate is 
sought. The listing shall include, at a minimum: 

a. the policy number of each policy; 
b. the effective date of the policy; 
c. the term of the policy; 
d. the named insured on the policy; 
e. the gross direct written premium prior to 

application of the discount; 
f. the net direct written premium following 

application of the discount; and 
g. the dollar value of the discount applied to the 

policy; 
2. the total number of policies written on active 

military personnel; 
3. the total gross direct written premium prior to 

application of the discount; 
4. the total net direct written premium following 

application of the discount; 
5. the total end-of-year rebate sought. 

C. The record required by this Section may be kept in 
electronic or written form. It shall be maintained by the 
insurer for a period of five years from the date of issuance of 
the insurance policy to which the discount has been applied. 
Upon request, the insurer shall produce such record for 
examination by the commissioner or any person acting on 
behalf of the commissioner. 

D. The initial annual report shall cover the calendar year 
ending December 31, 2005 and shall be filed on or before 
March 1, 2006. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:674 (March 2005). 
§9517. Overpayments; Collection Proceedings; Fines 

and Hearings 
A. If an insurer is examined or audited by the 

commissioner and it is determined that the insurer received a 
rebate in excess of the amount actually due and owing, then 
the commissioner shall have authority to order the insurer to 
refund the overpayment to the treasurer. The commissioner 
shall promptly notify the treasurer of his determination and 
provide him with a copy of his order. 

B. The treasurer shall have standing to institute legal 
proceedings to collect the overpayment and any such 
proceedings shall be brought in the Nineteenth Judicial 
District Court. The commissioner's order shall be prima facie 
proof of the amount due and owing. If legal proceedings are 
instituted, the treasurer shall be entitled to an additional 20 
percent of the amount found to be due for the cost of 
collection. 

C. An insurer's failure or refusal to refund an 
overpayment shall constitute grounds for the commissioner 
to suspend the insurer's certificate of authority, or to impose 
a fine not to exceed 10 percent of the overpayment or 
$2,500, whichever is more, or both. The insurer shall have 
30 days from the date of receipt of the notice of the 
commissioner's proposed action to request an adjudicatory 
hearing as provided for by Part XXIX of Title 22 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes. 

D. No insurer shall be allowed to withdraw from the 
state or have its certificate of authority canceled if it has 
outstanding overpayments. 

E. Nothing in this regulation shall be construed as a 
limitation on any powers or duties otherwise vested in the 
commissioner by operation of law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:675 (March 2005). 
§9519. Effective Date; Implementation 

A. This regulation shall take effect on March 20, 2005. 
Insurers shall take steps to timely implement the discount 
program so that it is available for all new and renewal 
business effective July 1, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:3 and R.S. 22:1425. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:675 (March 2005). 

 
J. Robert Wooley 
Commissioner 

0503#031 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Hazardous Liquids Pipeline Safety 
(LAC 33:V.Chapters 301-304) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation amends LAC 
33:V.301et seq. in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq. and 
pursuant to power delegated under the laws of the state of 
Louisiana and particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950, Section 30:501 et seq. These Rules amend 
the minimum pipeline safety requirements for hazardous 
liquids pipelines. 

There will be negligible cost to directly affected persons 
or hazardous liquids pipeline operators. Benefits will be 
realized by persons living and working near hazardous 
liquids pipelines through safer construction and operation 
standards imposed by the Rule amendments. Moreover, 
Louisiana presently receives federal funds and pipeline 
inspection fees to administer the Hazardous Liquids Pipeline 
Safety Program. Failure to amend the Louisiana Rules to 
make them consistent with federal regulations would cause 
the state to lose federal funding. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 3.  Natural Resources 

Chapter 301. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 
Pipeline [49 CFR Part 195] 

Subchapter A. General [Subpart A] 
§30105. Definitions [49 CFR 195.2] 

A. … 
*** 

Exposed PipelineCrepealed. 
Exposed Underwater PipelineCan underwater pipeline 

where the top of the pipe protrudes above the underwater 
natural bottom (as determined by recognized and generally 
accepted practices) in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) 
deep, as measured from mean low water. 

*** 
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Hazard to NavigationCfor the purposes of this Part, a 
pipeline where the top of the pipe is less than 12 inches (305 
millimeters) below the underwater natural bottom (as 
determined by recognized and generally accepted practices) 
in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) deep, as measured 
from the mean low water. 

*** 
Maximum Operating Pressure (MOP)Cthe maximum 

pressure at which a pipeline or segment of a pipeline may be 
normally operated under this Part. 

*** 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:753. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
15:629 (August 1989), amended LR 18:861 (August 1992), LR 
21:815 (August 1995), LR 27:1523 (September 2001), LR 28:83 
(January 2002), LR 29:2805 (December 2003), LR 31:675 (March 
2005). 
§30107. Matter Incorporated by Reference  

[49 CFR 195.3] 
A. ... 
B. All incorporated materials are available for inspection 

in the Research and Special Programs Administration, 400 
Seventh Street, SW, Washington, DC, or at the National 
Archives and Records Administration (NARA).  
For information on the availability of this material  
at NARA, call 202-741-6030 or go to: 
http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/code_of_federal_re
gulations/ibr_locations.html. These materials have been 
approved for incorporation by reference by the Director of 
the Federal Register in accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 
1 CFR Part 51. In addition, materials incorporated by 
reference are available as follows. [49 CFR 195.3(b)] 

1. American Gas Association (AGA), 400 North 
Capitol Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001 [49 CFR 
195.3(b)(1)] 

2. American Petroleum Institute (API), 1220 L Street, 
NW, Washington, DC 20005 [49 CFR 195.3(b)(2)] 

3. ASME International (ASME), Three Park Avenue, 
New York, NY 10016-5990 [49 CFR 195.3(b)(3)] 

4. Manufacturers Standardization Society of the Valve 
and Fittings Industry, Inc. (MSS), 127 Park Street, NE, 
Vienna, VA 22180 [49 CFR 195.3(b)(4)] 

5. American Society for Testing and Materials 
(ASTM), 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 
19428 [49 CFR 195.3(b)(5)] 

6. National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), 1 
Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101 
[49 CFR 195.3(b)(6)] 

7. NACE International, 1440 South Creek Drive, 
Houston, TX 77084 [49 CFR 195.3(b)(7)] 

C.  The full titles of publications incorporated by 
reference wholly or partially in this Part are as follows. 
Numbers in parentheses indicate applicable editions: [49 
CFR 195.3(c)] 

 

Source and Name of Referenced Material Title 33 Reference 
A. American Gas Association (AGA): 
 (1) AGA Pipeline Research Committee, 
Project PR-3-805, "A Modified Criterion for 
Evaluating the Remaining Strength of 
Corroded Pipe" (December 22, 1989). The 
RSTRENG program may be used for 
calculating remaining strength. 
 (2) [Reserved]. 

§30452(H)(4)(a)(ii). 

B. American Petroleum Institute (API): 
 (1) API Specification 5L "Specification 
for Line Pipe" (42nd edition, 2000). 

§§30161(B)(1); 30161(E). 

 (2) API Specification 6D "Specification 
for Pipeline Valves (Gate, Plug, Ball, and 
Check Valves)" (21st edition, 1994). 

§30173(A)(4). 

 (3) API Specification 12F "Specification 
for Shop Welded Tanks for Storage of 
Production Liquids"  
(11th edition, November 1994). 

§§30189(B)(1); 
30205(B)(2); 30264(B)(1); 

30264(E)(1); 30307(A); 
30565; 30579(D). 

 (4) API 510 "Pressure Vessel Inspection 
Code: Maintenance Inspection, Rating, 
Repair, and Alteration" (8th edition, June 
1997, and Addenda 1 through 4). 

§§30205(B)(3); 30432(C). 

 (5) API Standard 620 "Design and 
Construction of Large, Welded, Low-
Pressure Storage Tanks" (9th edition). 

§§30189(B)(2); 
30205(B)(2); 30264(B)(1); 

30264(E)(3); 30307(B). 
 (6) API 650 "Welded Steel Tanks for Oil 
Storage" (1998). 

§§30189(B)(3); 
30205(B)(1); 30264(B)(1); 

30264(E)(2); 30307(C); 
30307(D); 30565; 

30579(D). 
 (7) API Recommended Practice 651 
"Cathodic Protection of Aboveground 
Petroleum Storage Tanks" 
(2nd edition, December 1997). 

§§30565; 30579(D). 

 (8) API Recommended Practice 652 
"Lining of Aboveground Petroleum Storage 
Tank Bottoms" (2nd edition, December 
1997). 

§30579(D). 

 (9) API Standard 653 "Tank Inspection, 
Repair, Alteration, and Reconstruction" (3rd 
edition, 2001, and Addendum 1, 2003). 

§§30205(B)(1); 30432(B). 

 (10) API 1104 "Welding of Pipelines and 
Related Facilities" (19th edition, 1999 plus its 
October 31, 2001 errata). 

§§30222; 30228(B). 

 (11) API Standard 2000 "Venting 
Atmospheric and Low-Pressure Storage 
Tanks" (4th edition, September 1992). 

§§30264(E)(2); 
30264(E)(3). 

 (12) API 1130 "Computational Pipeline 
Monitoring" (1st edition, 1995). 

§§30191; 30444. 

 (13) API Recommended Practice 2003 
"Protection Against Ignitions Arising out of 
Static, Lightning, and Stray Currents"  
(6th edition, 1998). 

§30405(A). 

 (14) API Publication 2026 "Safe 
Access/Egress Involving Floating Roofs of 
Storage Tanks in Petroleum Service"  
(2nd edition, 1998). 

§30405(B). 

 (15) API Recommended Practice 2350 
"Overfill Protection for Storage Tanks In 
Petroleum Facilities" (2nd edition, 1996). 

§30428(C). 

 (16) API Standard 2510 "Design and 
Construction of LPG Installations" 
(7th edition, 1995). 

§§30189(B)(3); 
30205(B)(3); 30264(B)(2); 

30264(E)(4); 30307(E); 
30428(C); 30432(C). 
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C. ASME International (ASME): 
 (1) ASME/ANSI B16.9 "Factory-Made 
Wrought Steel Butt welding Fittings" (1993). 

§30175(A). 

 (2) ASME/ANSI B31.4 "Pipeline 
Transportation Systems for Liquid 
Hydrocarbons and Other Liquids" (1998). 

§30452(H)(4)(a). 

 (3) ASME/ANSI B31G "Manual for 
Determining the Remaining Strength of 
Corroded Pipelines" (1991). 

§§30452(H)(4)(a)(ii); 
30452(H)(4)(c)(iv). 

 (4) ASME/ANSI B31.8 "Gas 
Transmission and Distribution Piping 
Systems" (1995). 

§§30111(A)(1)(a); 
30406(A)(1)(a). 

 (5) ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Code, Section VIII, Division 1 "Rules for 
Construction of Pressure Vessels,"  
(1998 edition with 2000 addenda). 

§§30181; 30307(E). 

 (6) ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel 
Code, Section VIII, Division 2 "Alternate 
Rules for Construction for Pressure Vessels" 
(2001 Edition). 

§30307(E). 

 (7) ASME Boiler and Pressure vessel 
Code, Section IX "Welding and Brazing 
Qualifications," (2001 Edition). 

§30222. 

D. Manufacturers Standardization Society of 
the Valve and Fittings Industry, Inc. (MSS): 
 (1) MSS SP-75 "Specification for High 
Test Wrought Butt Welding Fittings" (1993).
 (2) [Reserved]. 

§30175(A). 

E. American Society for Testing and 
Materials (ASTM): 
 (1) ASTM Designation: A53/A53M 
"Standard . Specification for Pipe, Steel, 
Black and Hot-Dipped, Zinc-Coated Welded 
and Seamless" (A53/A53M-99b). 

§30161(E). 

 (2) ASTM Designation: A106 "Standard 
Specification for Seamless Carbon Steel Pipe 
for High-Temperature Service" (A106-99). 

§30161(E). 

 (3) ASTM Designation: A 333/A 333M 
"Standard Specification for Seamless and 
Welded Steel Pipe for Low-Temperature 
Service" (A 333/A 333M-99). 

§30161(E). 

 (4) ASTM Designation: A 381 "Standard 
Specification for Metal-Arc-Welded Steel 
Pipe for Use With High-Pressure 
Transmission Systems" (A 381-96). 

§30161(E). 

 (5) ASTM Designation: A 671 "Standard 
Specification for Electric-Fusion-Welded 
Steel Pipe for Atmospheric and Lower 
Temperatures" (A 671-96). 

§30161(E). 

 (6) ASTM Designation: A 672 "Standard 
Specification for Electric-Fusion-Welded 
Steel Pipe for High-Pressure Service at 
Moderate Temperatures" (A 672-96). 

§30161(E). 

 (7) ASTM Designation: A 691 "Standard 
Specification for Carbon and Alloy Steel Pipe 
Electric-Fusion-Welded for High-Pressure 
Service at High Temperatures" (A 691-98). 

§30161(E). 

F. National Fire Protection Association 
(NFPA): 
 (1) ANSI/NFPA 30 "Flammable and 
Combustible Liquids Code" (1996). 
 (2) [Reserved]. 

§30264(B)(1). 

G. NACE International (NACE): 
 (1) NACE Standard RP-169-96: "Control 
of External Corrosion on Underground or 
Submerged Metallic Piping Systems" (1996). 
 (2) Reserved. 

§30571. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:753. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
15:629 (August 1989), amended LR 20:439 (1994), LR 21:815 
(August 1995), LR 24:1313 (July 1998), LR 27:1523 (September 
2001), LR 29:2806 (December 2003), LR 31:676 (March 2005). 

Chapter 302. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 
PipelineCConstruction [49 CFR Part 195 
Subpart D] 

§30214. Welding: General [49 CFR 195.214] 
A. Welding must be performed by a qualified welder in 

accordance with welding procedures qualified under Section 
5 of API 1104 or Section IX of the ASME Boiler and 
Pressure Vessel Code (ibr, see §30107). The quality of the 
test welds used to qualify the welding procedure shall be 
determined by destructive testing. [49 CFR 195.214(a)] 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:753. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2818 (December 2003), amended LR 31:677 (March 2005). 
§30222. Welding: Qualification of Welders  

[49 CFR 195.222] 
A. Each welder must be qualified in accordance with 

Section 6 of API 1104 (ibr, see §30107) or Section IX of the 
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, (ibr, see §30107) 
except that a welder qualified under an earlier edition than 
listed in §30107 may weld but may not requalify under that 
earlier edition. [49 CFR 195.222(a)] 

B. No welder may weld with a particular welding 
process unless, within the preceding six calendar months, the 
welder has:[49 CFR 195.222(b)] 

1. engaged in welding with that process; and [49 CFR 
195.222(b)(1)] 

2. had one weld tested and found acceptable under 
Section 9 of API 1104. [49 CFR 195.222(b)(2)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2818 (December 2003), amended LR 31:677 (March 2005). 
§30228. Welds and Welding Inspection: Standards of 

Acceptability [49 CFR 195.228] 
A. … 
B. The acceptability of a weld is determined according to 

the standards in Section 9 of API 1104. However, if a girth 
weld is unacceptable under those standards for a reason 
other than a crack, and if Appendix A to API 1104 (ibr, see 
§30107) applies to the weld, the acceptability of the weld 
may be determined under that Appendix. [49 CFR 
195.228(b)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2819 (December 2003), amended LR 31:677 (March 2005). 
§30246. Installation of Pipe in a Ditch  

[49 CFR 195.246] 
A. … 
B. Except for pipe in the Gulf of Mexico and its inlets in 

waters less than 15 feet deep, all offshore pipe in water at 
least 12 feet deep (3.7 meters) but not more than 200 feet 
deep (61 meter) deep as measured from the mean low water 
must be installed so that the top of the pipe is below the 
underwater natural bottom (as determined by recognized and 
generally accepted practices) unless the pipe is supported by 
stanchions held in place by anchors or heavy concrete 
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coating or protected by an equivalent means. [49 CFR 
195.246(b)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2819 (December 2003), amended LR 31:677 (March 2005). 
§30248. Cover over Buried Pipeline [49 CFR 195.248] 

A. Unless specifically exempted in this Subpart, all pipe 
must be buried so that it is below the level of cultivation. 
Except as provided in §30248.B of this Section, the pipe 
must be installed so that the cover between the top of the 
pipe and the ground level, road bed, river bottom, or 
underwater natural bottom (as determined by recognized and 
generally accepted practices), as applicable, complies with 
the following table. [49 CFR 195.248(a)] 
 

 Cover (Inches)(Millimeters) 
Location For Normal 

Excavation 
For Rock 

Excavation1 
Industrial, commercial and 
residential area 36 (914) 30 (762) 
Crossings of inland bodies of 
water with a width of at least 100 
feet (30 meters) from high water 
mark to high water mark 48 (1219) 18 (457) 
Drainage ditches at public roads 
and railroads 36 (914) 36 (914) 
Deepwater port safety zone 48 (1219) 24 (610) 
Gulf of Mexico and its inlets in 
waters less than 15 feet (4.6 
meters) deep as measured from 
mean low water 36 (914) 18 (457) 
Other offshore areas under water 
less than 12 feet (3.7 meters) deep 
as measured from mean low water 36 (914) 18 (457) 
Any other area 30 (762) 18 (457) 

1Rock excavation is any excavation that requires blasting or 
removal by equivalent means. 

B. Except for the Gulf of Mexico and its inlets in waters 
less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) deep, less cover than the 
minimum required by Paragraph A of this Section and 
§30210 may be used if: [49 CFR 195.248(b)] 

B.1. - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:753. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2820 (December 2003), amended LR 31:678 (March 2005). 
§30252. Backfilling [49 CFR 195.252] 

A. When a ditch for a pipeline is backfilled, it must be 
backfilled in a manner that: [49 CFR 195.252(a)] 

1. provides firm support under the pipe; and [49 CFR 
195.252(a)(1)] 

2. prevents damage to the pipe and pipe coating from 
equipment or from the backfill material. [49 CFR 
195.252(a)(2)]  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2820 (December 2003), amended LR 31:678 (March 2005). 

Chapter 303. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 
PipelineCPressure Testing  
[49 CFR Part 195 Subpart E] 

§30310. Records [49 CFR 195.310] 
A. - B.7. … 

8. an explanation of any pressure discontinuities, 
including test failures, that appear on the pressure recording 
charts; [49 CFR 195.310(b)(8)] 

9. where elevation differences in the section under test 
exceed 100 feet (30 meters), a profile of the pipeline that 
shows the elevation and test sites over the entire length of 
the test section; and [49 CFR 195.310(b)(9)] 

10. temperature of the test medium or pipe during the 
test period. [49 CFR 195.310(b)(10)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2823 (December 2003), amended LR 31:678 (March 2005). 
Chapter 304. Transportation of Hazardous Liquids by 

PipelineCOperation and Maintenance  
[49 CFR Part 195 Subpart F] 

§30403. Emergency Response Training [49 CFR 195.403] 
A. - A.4. … 

5. learn the potential causes, types, sizes, and 
consequences of fire and the appropriate use of portable fire 
extinguishers and other on-site fire control equipment, 
involving, where feasible, a simulated pipeline emergency 
condition. [49 CFR 195.403(a)(5)] 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:753. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2825 (December 2003), amended LR 31:678 (March 2005). 
§30413. Underwater Inspection and Reburial of 

Pipelines in the Gulf of Mexico and Its Inlets  
[49 CFR 195.413] 

A. Except for gathering lines of 4 1/2 inches (114 mm) 
nominal outside diameter or smaller, each operator shall 
prepare and follow a procedure to identify its pipelines in the 
Gulf of Mexico and its inlets in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 
meters) deep as measured from mean low water that are at 
risk of being an exposed underwater pipeline or a hazard to 
navigation. The procedures must be in effect August 10, 
2005. [49 CFR 195.413(a)] 

B. Each operator shall conduct appropriate periodic 
underwater inspections of its pipelines in the Gulf of Mexico 
and its inlets in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) deep as 
measured from mean low water based on the identified risk. 
[49 CFR 195.413(b)] 

C. If an operator discovers that its pipeline is an exposed 
underwater pipeline or poses a hazard to navigation, the 
operator shall: [49 CFR 195.413(c)] 

1. promptly, but not later than 24 hours after 
discovery, notify the National Response Center, telephone: 
1-800-424-8802, as well as Louisiana Pipeline Safety (225) 
342-5505, (day or night), of the location and, if available,
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the geographic coordinates of that pipeline; [49 CFR 
195.413(c)(1)] 

2. promptly, but not later than seven days after 
discovery, mark the location of the pipeline in accordance 
with 33 CFR Part 64 at the ends of the pipeline segment and 
at intervals of not over 500 yards (457 meters) long, except 
that a pipeline segment less than 200 yards (183 meters) 
long need only be marked at the center; and [49 CFR 
195.413(c)(2)] 

3. within six months after discovery, or not later than 
November 1 of the following year if the six month period is 
later than November 1 of the year of discovery, bury the 
pipeline so that the top of the pipe is 36 inches (914 
millimeters) below the underwater natural bottom (as 
determined by recognized and generally accepted practices) 
for normal excavation or 18 inches (457 millimeters) for 
rock excavation: [49 CFR 195.413(c)(3)] 

a. an operator may employ engineered alternatives 
to burial that meet or exceed the level of protection provided 
by burial; [49 CFR 195.413(c)(3)(i)] 

b. if an operator cannot obtain required state or 
Federal permits in time to comply with this Section, it must 
notify OPS; specify whether the required permit is state or 
Federal; and, justify the delay. [49 CFR 195.413(c)(3)(ii)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2827 (December 2003), amended LR 31:678 (March 2005). 
§30434. Signs [49 CFR 195.434] 

A. Each operator must maintain signs visible to the 
public around each pumping station and breakout tank area. 
Each sign must contain the name of the operator and a 
telephone number (including area code) where the operator 
can be reached at all times. [49 CFR 195.434(a)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:753. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
29:2829 (December 2003), amended LR 31:679 (March 2005). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0503#061 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Natural Gas Pipeline Safety  
(LAC 43:XIII.307, 503, 507, 509, 913, 921, 923,  
1104, 1105, 1110, 1305, 1307, 1309, 1321, 1513,  
1721, 1727, 2305, 2711, 2712, 2923, 2939, 2943,  
3105, 3303, 3309, 3311, 3313, 3317, 3321, 3325,  
3327, 3329, 3333, 3335, 3337, 3339, 3341, 3343,  

3345, 5101, 5103, 5105, and 5109) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation amends LAC 
43:XIII in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. and 
pursuant to power delegated under the laws of the state of 
Louisiana and particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950, Section 30:501 et seq. These Rules amend 

the minimum pipeline safety requirements for natural gas 
pipelines. 

There will be negligible cost to directly affected persons 
or natural gas pipeline operators. Benefits will be realized by 
persons living and working near natural gas pipelines 
through safer construction and operation standards imposed 
by the rule amendments. Moreover, Louisiana presently 
receives federal funds and pipeline inspection fees to 
administer the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Program. Failure 
to amend the Louisiana Rules to make them consistent with 
federal regulations would cause the state to lose federal 
funding. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIII.  Office of ConservationCPipeline Safety 
Subpart 2.  Transportation of Natural and Other Gas by 

Pipeline [49 CFR Part 191] 
Chapter 3. Annual Reports, Incident Reports and 

Safety Related Condition Reports  
[49 CFR Part 191] 

§307. Addressee for Written Reports [49 CFR 191.7] 
A. One copy of each written report, required by Part 

XIII, for intrastate facilities subject to the jurisdiction of the 
Office of Conservation pursuant to certification under 
Section 5(a) of the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act must be 
submitted to the Commissioner of Conservation, P.O. Box 
94275, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9275. One copy of each 
written report required by Part XIII must be submitted to the 
Information Resources Manager, Office of Pipeline Safety, 
Research and Special Programs Administration, U.S. 
Department of Transportation, Room 2103, 400 Seventh 
Street SW, Washington, DC 20590. Safety-related condition 
reports required by §323 for intrastate pipeline transportation 
must be submitted concurrently to that state agency, and if 
that agency acts as an agent of the secretary with respect to 
interstate transmission facilities, safety-related condition 
reports for these facilities must be submitted concurrently to 
that agency. [49 CFR 191.7] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:219 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:510 (July 1984), LR 11:255 (March 1985), LR 
20:442 (April 1994), LR 27:1536 (September 2001), LR 30:1221 
(June 2004), LR 31:679 (March 2005). 

Subpart 3.  Transportation of Natural or Other Gas by 
Pipeline: Minimum Safety Standards [49 CFR Part 192] 

Chapter 5. General [Subpart A] 
§503. Definitions [49 CFR 192.3] 

A. … 
* * * 

Exposed PipelineCrepealed. 
Exposed Underwater PipelineCan underwater pipeline 

where the top of the pipe protrudes above the underwater 
natural bottom (as determined by recognized and generally 
accepted practices) in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) 
deep, as measured from mean low water. 

* * * 
Hazard to NavigationCfor the purposes of this Part, a 

pipeline where the top of the pipe is less than 12 inches (305 
millimeters) below the underwater natural bottom (as 
determined by recognized and generally accepted practices) 
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in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) deep, as measured 
from the mean low water. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 30:1224 (June 
2004), amended LR 31:679 (March 2005). 
§507. Incorporation by Reference [49 CFR 192.7] 

A. … 
B. All incorporated materials are available for inspection 

in the Research and Special Programs Administration, 400 
Seventh Street, SW., Washington, DC, or at the National 
Archives and Records Administration (NARA). For 
information on the availability of this material at NARA, 
call 202-741-6030 or go to: http://www.archives.gov 
/federal_register/code_of_federal_regulations/ibr_locations.
html. These materials have been approved for incorporation 
by reference by the Director of the Federal Register in 
accordance with 5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1 CFR Part 51. In 
addition, the incorporated materials are available from the 
respective organizations listed in Paragraph C.1 of this 
Section. [49 CFR 192.7(b)]. 

C. The full titles of documents incorporated by 
reference, in whole or in part, are provided herein. The 
numbers in parentheses indicate applicable editions. For 
each incorporated document, citations of all affected 
Sections are provided. Earlier editions of currently listed 
documents or editions of documents listed in previous 
editions of 49 CFR Part 192 may be used for materials and 
components designed, manufactured, or installed in 
accordance with these earlier documents at the time they 
were listed. The user must refer to the appropriate previous 
edition of 49 CFR Part 192 for a listing of the earlier listed 
editions or documents. [49 CFR 192.7(c)]. 

1. Incorporated by Reference (ibr). List of 
Organizations and Addresses. 

a. American Gas Association (AGA), 400 North 
Capitol Street, NW, Washington, DC 20001 

b. American Petroleum Institute (API), 1220 L 
Street, NW, Washington, DC 20005 

c. American Society for Testing and Materials 
(ASTM), 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, PA 
19428 

d. ASME International (ASME), Three Park 
Avenue, New York, NY 10016-5990 

e. Manufacturers Standardization Society of the 
Valve and Fittings Industry, Inc. (MSS), 127 Park Street, NE, 
Vienna, VA 22180 

f. National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), 1 
Batterymarch Park, P.O. Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101 

g. Plastics Pipe Institute, Inc. (PPI), 1825 
Connecticut Avenue, NW, Suite 680, Washington, DC 20009 

h. NACE International (NACE), 1440 South Creek 
Drive, Houston, TX 77084 

i. Gas Technology Institute (GTI), 1700 South 
Mount Prospect Road, Des Plaines, IL 60018 

2. Documents Incorporated by Reference (Numbers in 
Parentheses Indicate Applicable Editions) 

 

Source and Name of Referenced Material Title 43 Reference 
A. American Gas Association (AGA): 
 (1) AGA Pipeline Research Committee,Project 
PR-3-805, "A Modified Criterion for Evaluating the 
Remaining Strength of Corroded Pipe" (AGA PR-3-
805-1989) 

§§3333(A); 
2137(C) 

B. American Petroleum Institute (API): 
 (1) API Specification 5L "Specification for 
Line Pipe" (API 5L,42nd edition, 2000) 

§§705(E); 913; 
§5103 Item I 

 (2) API Recommended Practice 5L1 
"Recommended Practice for Railroad Transportation 
of Line Pipe" (4th edition, 1990) 

§715(A) 

 (3) API Specification 6D "Specification for 
Pipeline Valves (Gate, Plug, Ball, and Check 
Valves)" (21st edition, 1994) 

§1105(A) 

 (4) API 1104 "Welding of Pipelines and 
Related Facilities" (19th edition, 1999, including its 
October 31, 2001 errata) 

§§1307(A); 
1309(C)(1); 

1321(C);  
5103 Item II 

C. American Society for Testing and Materials 
(ASTM): 
 (1) ASTM Designation: A 53/A53M-99b 
"Standard Specification for Pipe, Steel, Black and 
Hot-Dipped, Zinc Coated, Welded and Seamless" 
(ASTM A53/A53M-99b) 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (2) ASTM Designation: A106 "Standard 
Specification for Seamless Carbon Steel Pipe for 
High-Temperature Service" (A106-99) 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (3) ASTM Designation: A333/A333M 
"Standard Specification for Seamless and Welded 
Steel Pipe for Low-Temperature Service" (ASTM 
A333/A333M-99). 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (4) ASTM Designation: A372/A372M 
"Standard Specification for Carbon and Alloy Steel 
Forgings for Thin-Walled Pressure Vessels" (ASTM 
A372/A372M-1999) 

§1137(B)(1) 

 (5) ASTM Designation: A381 "Standard 
Specification for Metal-Arc-Welded Steel Pipe for 
Use With High-Pressure Transmission Systems" 
(ASTM A381-1996) 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (6) ASTM Designation: A671 "Standard 
Specification for Electric-Fusion-Welded Steel Pipe 
for Atmospheric and Lower Temperatures" (ASTM 
A671-1996) 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (7) ASTM Designation: A672 "Standard 
Specification for Electric-Fusion-Welded Steel Pipe 
for High-Pressure Service at Moderate 
Temperatures" (A672-1996) 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (8) ASTM Designation: A691 "Standard 
Specification for Carbon and Alloy Steel Pipe, 
Electric-Fusion-Welded for High- Pressure Service 
at High Temperatures" (ASTM A691-1998) 

§§913; 5103 Item I 

 (9) ASTM Designation: D638 "Standard Test 
Method for Tensile Properties of Plastics" (ASTM 
D638-1999) 

§§1513(A)(3); 
1513(B)(1) 

 (10) ASTM Designation: D2513-87 "Standard 
Specification for Thermoplastic Gas Pressure Pipe, 
Tubing, and Fittings" (ASTM D2513-1987) 

§713(A)(1) 

 (11) ASTM Designation: D2513 "Standard 
Specification for Thermoplastic Gas Pressure Pipe, 
Tubing, and Fittings. (D2513-1999)  

§§1151(B); 
1511(B)(2); 

1513(A)(1)(a); 
5103 Item I 

 (12) ASTM Designation: D 2517 "Standard 
Specification for Reinforced Epoxy Resin Gas 
Pressure Pipe and Fittings" (D2517-2000) 
 

§§1151(A); 
1511(D)(1); 

1513(A)(1)(b); 
5103 Item I. 

 (13) ASTM Designation: F1055 "Standard 
Specification for Electrofusion Type Polyethylene 
Fittings for Outside Diameter Controlled 
Polyethylene Pipe and Tubing" (F1055-1998) 

§1513(A)(1)(c) 

D. ASME International (ASME): 
 (1) ASME/ANSI B16.1 "Cast Iron Pipe Flanges 
and Flanged Fittings" (ASME B16.1-1998) 

§1107(C) 
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 (2) ASME/ANSI B16.5 "Pipe Flanges and 
Flanged Fittings" (ASME B16.5-1996, including 
ASME B16.5a-1998 Addenda) 

§§1107(A); 1509 

 (3) ASME/ANSI B31G "Manual for 
Determining the Remaining Strength of Corroded 
Pipelines" (ASME/ANSI B31G-1991) 

§§2137(C); 
3333(A) 

 (4) ASME/ANSI B31.8 "Gas Transmission and 
Distribution Piping Systems" (ASME/ ANSI B31.8-
1995) 

§2719(A)(1)(a) 

 (5) ASME/ANSI B31.8S "Supplement to B31.8 
on Managing System Integrity of Gas Pipelines" 
(ASME/ANSI B31.8S-2002) 
 

§§3303(C); 
3307(B); 3311(A); 

3311(A)(9); 
3311(A)(11); 
3311(A)(12); 
3311(A)(13); 

3313(A); 
3313(B)(1); 

3317(A); 3317(B); 
3317(C); 

3317(E)(1); 
3317(E)(4); 
3321(A)(1); 
3323(B)(2); 
3323(B)(3); 

3325(B); 
3325(B)(1); 
3325(B)(2); 
3325(B)(3); 
3325(B)(4); 

3327(B); 
3327(C)(1)(a); 

3329(B)(1); 
3329(B)(2); 

3333(A); 
3333(D)(1); 

3333(D)(1)(a); 
3335(A); 

3335(B)(1)(d); 
3337(c)(1); 

3339(A)(1)(a); 
3339(A)(1)(b); 

3339(A)(3); 
3345(A) 

 (6) ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, 
Section I, Rules for Construction of Power Boilers 
(ASME Section I-1998) 

§1113(A) 

  
 (7) ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, 
Section VIII, Division 1, "Rules for Construction of 
Pressure Vessels" (ASME Section VIII Division 1-
2001) 

§§1113(A); 
1113(B); 1113(D); 

1125(B)(3) 

 (8) ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, 
Section VIII, Division 2, "Rules for Construction of 
Pressure Vessels: Alternative Rules" (ASME 
Section VIII Division 2-2001) 

§§1113(B); 
1125(B)(3) 

 (9) ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code, 
Section IX, "Welding and Brazing Qualifications" 
(ASME Section IX-2001) 

§§1307(A); 5103 
Item II 

E. Manufacturers Standardization Society of the 
Valve and Fittings Industry, Inc. (MSS): 
 (1) MSS SP44-96 "Steel Pipe Line Flanges" 
(MSS SP-44-1996 including 1996 errata) 
 (2) [Reserved] 

§1107(A) 

F. National Fire Protection Association (NFPA): 
 (1) NFPA 30 "Flammable and Combustible 
Liquids Code" (NFPA 30-1996) 
 

§2935(B) 

 (2) ANSI/NFPA 58 "Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Code (LP-Gas Code)" (NFPA 58-1998) 

§§311(A); 311(B); 
311(C) 

 (3) ANSI/NFPA 59 "Standard for the storage 
and Handling of Liquefied Petroleum Gases at 
Utility Gas Plants" (NFPA 59-1998) 

§§311(A); 311(B); 
311(C) 

 (4) ANSI/NFPA 70 "National Electrical Code" 
(NFPA 70-1996) 

§§1123(E); 
1149(C) 

G. Plastics Pipe Institute, Inc. (PPI): 
 (1) PPI TR-3/2000 "Policies and Procedures for 

§921 

Developing Hydrostatic Design Bases (HDB), 
Pressure Design Bases (PDB), and Minimum 
Required Strength (MRS) Ratings for Thermoplastic 
Piping Materials "(PPI TR-3-2000-Part E only, 
"Policy for Determining Long Term Strength 
(LTHS) by Temperature Interpolation)" 
H. NACE International (NACE): 
 (1) NACE Standard RP-0502-2002 "Pipeline 
External Corrosion Direct Assessment 
Methodology" (NACE RP-0502-2002) 

§§3323(B)(1); 
3325(B); 

3325(B)(1); 
3325(B)(1)(b); 

3325(B)(2); 
3325(B)(3); 

3325(B)(3)(b); 
3325(B)(3)(d); 

3325(B)(4); 
3325(B)(4)(b); 

3331(D); 
3335(B)(1)(d); 

3339(A)(2) 
I. Gas Technology Institute (GTI). (Formerly Gas 
Research Institute): 
 (1) GRI 02/0057 "Internal Corrosion Direct 
Assessment of Gas Transmission Pipelines—
Methodology" (GRI 02/0057-2002) 

§§3327(C)(2); 307 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 30:1226 (June 
2004), amended LR 31:680 (March 2005). 
§509. Gathering Lines [49 CFR 192.9] 

A. Except as provided in §§501 and 1110, and in Chapter 
33, each operator of a gathering line must comply with the 
requirements of this Part applicable to transmission lines. 
[49 CFR 192.9] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:220 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:511 (July 1984), LR 20:443 (April 1994), LR 
21:821 (August 1995), LR 24:1307 (July 1998), LR 30:1227 (June 
2004), LR 31:681 (March 2005). 
Chapter 9. Pipe Design [Subpart C] 
§913. Longitudinal Joint Factor (E) for Steel Pipe  

[49 CFR 192.113] 
A. The longitudinal joint factor to be used in the design 

formula in §905 is determined in accordance with the 
following table. 

 

Specification Pipe Class Longitudinal 
Joint Factor (E)

ASTM A 53/A53M Seamless 1.00 
  Electric resistance welded 1.00 
  Furnace butt welded .60 
ASTM A 106 Seamless 1.00 
ASTM A 333/A 333M Seamless 1.00 
  Electric resistance welded 1.00 
ASTM A 381 Double submerged arc welded 1.00 
ASTM A 671 Electric fusion welded 1.00 
ASTM A 672 Electric fusion welded 1.00 
ASTM A 691 Electric fusion welded 1.00 
API 5L Seamless 1.00 
  Electric resistance welded 1.00 
  Electric flash welded 1.00 
  Submerged arc welded 1.00 
  Furnace butt welded .60 

Other Pipe over 4 inches  
(102 millimeters) .80 

Other Pipe 4 inches  
(102 millimeters) or less .60 
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B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:222 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:514 (July 1984), LR 18:855 (August 1992), LR 
20:444 (April 1994), LR 27:1538 (September 2001), LR 30:1231 
(June 2004), LR 31:681 (March 2005). 
§921. Design of Plastic Pipe [49 CFR 192.121] 

A. Subject to the limitations of §923, the design pressure 
for plastic pipe is determined in accordance with either of 
the following formulas. [49 CFR 192.121(a)] 

32.0
)(

2
tD

tSP
−

=  

32.0
)1(

2
−

=
SDR

SP  

where: 
     P = Design pressure, gauge, psig (kPa) 
     S = For thermoplastic pipe, the HDB determined in 

accordance with the listed specification at a 
temperature equal to 73 °F (23ºC), 100ºF (38ºC), 120ºF 
(49ºC), or 140ºF (60ºC). In the absence an HDB 
established at the specified temperature, the HDB of a 
higher temperature may be used in determining a 
design pressure rating at the specified temperature by 
arithmetic interpolation using the procedure in Part E 
of PPI TR-3/2000 entitled, Policy for Determining 
Long-Term Strength (LTHS) by Temperature 
Interpolation, as published in the technical Report TR-
3/2000 "HDB/PDB/MRS Policies", (ibr, see §192.7). 
For reinforced thermosetting plastic pipe, 11,000 psig 
(75,842 kPa). 

     t  = Specified wall thickness, in. (mm) 
    D = Specified outside diameter, in (mm) 
SDR = Standard dimension ratio, the ratio of the average 

specified outside diameter to the minimum specified 
wall thickness, corresponding to a value from a 
common numbering system that was derived from the 
American National Standards Institute preferred 
number series 10. [49 CFR 192.121] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:222 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:515 (July 1984), LR 18:855 (August 1992), LR 
24:1308 (July 1998), LR 27:1538 (September 2001), LR 30:1231 
(June 2004), LR 31:682 (March 2005). 
§923. Design Limitations for Plastic Pipe  

[49 CFR 192.123] 
A. Except as provided in Subsection E of this Section, 

the design pressure may not exceed a gauge pressure of 125 
psig (862 kPa) for plastic pipe used in: [49 CFR 192.123(a)] 

A.1. - B.2. … 
a. for thermoplastic pipe, the temperature at which 

the HDB used in the design formula under §921 is 
determined. [49 CFR 192.123(b)(2)(i)] 

B.2.b. - D. … 
E. The design pressure for thermoplastic pipe produced 

after [insert effective date of final rule] may exceed a gauge 
pressure of 100 psig (689 kPa) provided that: [49 CFR 
192.123(e)] 

1. the design pressure does not exceed 125 psig (862 
kPa); [49 CFR 192.123(e)(1)] 

2. the material is a PE2406 or a PE3408 as specified 
within ASTM D2513 (ibr, see §507); [49 CFR 
192.123(e)(2)] 

3. the pipe size is nominal pipe size (IPS) 12 or less; 
and 49 CFR 192.123(e)(3)] 

4. the design pressure is determined in accordance 
with the design equation defined in §921. [49 CFR 
192.123(e)(4)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:222 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:515 (July 1984), LR 24:1308 (July 1998), LR 
27:1538 (September 2001), LR 30:1231 (June 2004), LR 31:682 
(March 2005). 
Chapter 11. Design of Pipeline Components  

[Subpart D] 
§1104. Qualifying Metallic Components  

[49 CFR 192.144] 
A. Notwithstanding any requirement of this Subpart 

which incorporates by reference an edition of a document 
listed in §507 or §5103 of this Subpart, a metallic 
component manufactured in accordance with any other 
edition of that document is qualified for use under this 
Chapter if: [49 CFR 192.144] 

1. … 
2. the edition of the document under which the 

component was manufactured has equal or more stringent 
requirements for the following as an edition of that 
document currently or previously listed in §507 or §5103 of 
this Chapter: [49 CFR 192.144(b)] 

A.2.a. - c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 10:515 (July 1984), 
amended LR 30:1232 (June 2004), LR 31:682 (March 2005). 
§1105. Valves [49 CFR 192.145] 

A. Except for cast iron and plastic valves, each valve 
must meet the minimum requirements of API 6D (ibr, see 
§507), or to a national or international standard that provides 
an equivalent performance level. A valve may not be used 
under operating conditions that exceed the applicable 
pressure-temperature ratings contained in those 
requirements. [49 CFR 192.145(a)] 

B. - E. … 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:223 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:515 (July 1984), LR 18:855 (August 1992), LR 
27:1539 (September 2001), LR 30:1232 (June 2004), LR 31:682 
(March 2005). 
§1110. Passage of Internal Inspection Devices  

[49 CFR 192.150] 
A. Except as provided in Subsections B and C of this 

Section, each new transmission line and each replacement of 
line pipe, valve, fitting, or other line component in a 
transmission line must be designed and constructed to 
accommodate the passage of instrumented internal 
inspection devices. [49 CFR 192.150(a)] 

B. - B.6. … 
7. offshore transmission lines, except transmission 

lines 10 3/4 inches (273 millimeters) or more in outside 
diameter on which construction begins after December 28, 
2005, that run from platform to platform or platform to shore 
unless: 
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a. platform space or configuration is incompatible 
with launching or retrieving instrumented internal inspection 
devices; or [49 CFR 192.150(b)(7)(i)] 

b. if the design includes taps for lateral connections, 
the operator can demonstrate, based on investigation or 
experience, that there is no reasonably practical alternative 
under the design circumstances to the use of a tap that will 
obstruct the passage of instrumented internal inspection 
devices; and [49 CFR 192.150(b)(7)(ii)] 

B.8. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 21:821 (August 
1995), amended LR 27:1539 (September 2001), LR 30:1233 (June 
2004), LR 31:682 (March 2005). 
Chapter 13. Welding of Steel in Pipelines [Subpart E] 
§1305. Welding: General [49 CFR 192.225] 

A. Welding must be performed by a qualified welder in 
accordance with welding procedures qualified under Section 
5 of API 1104 (ibr, see §507) or Section IX of the ASME 
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code "Welding and Brazing 
Qualifications" (ibr, see §507) to produce welds meeting the 
requirements of this Chapter. The quality of the test welds 
used to qualify welding procedures shall be determined by 
destructive testing in accordance with the applicable welding 
standard(s). [49 CFR 192.225(a)] 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:228 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:521 (July 1984), LR 30:1241 (June 2004), LR 
31:683 (March 2005). 
§1307. Qualification of Welders [49 CFR 192.227] 

A. Except as provided in Subsection B of this Section, 
each welder must be qualified in accordance with Section 6 
of API 1104 (ibr, see §507) or Section IX of the ASME 
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (ibr, see §507). However, a 
welder qualified under an earlier edition than listed in 
Appendix A of this Part may weld but may not requalify 
under that earlier edition. [49 CFR 192.227(a)] 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:229 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:521 (July 1984), LR 24:1309 (July 1998), LR 
30:1241 (June 2004), LR 31:683 (March 2005). 
§1309. Limitations on Welders [49 CFR 192.229] 

A. - C. … 
1. may not weld on pipe to be operated at a pressure 

that produces a hoop stress of 20 percent or more of SMYS 
unless within the preceding six calendar months the welder 
has had one weld tested and found acceptable under the 
Sections 6 or 9 of API Standard 1104 (ibr, see §507). 
Alternatively, welders may maintain an ongoing 
qualification status by performing welds tested and found 
acceptable under the above acceptance criteria at least twice 
each calendar year, but at intervals not exceeding 7 1/2 
months. A welder qualified under an earlier edition of a 
standard listed in §507 of this Part may weld but may not 
requalify under that earlier edition; and [49 CFR 
192.229(c)(1)] 

C.2. - D.2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:229 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:521 (July 1984), LR 24:1309 (July 1998), LR 
27:1541 (September 2001), LR 30:1241 (June 2004), LR 31:683 
(March 2005). 
§1321. Inspection and Test of Welds [49 CFR 192.241] 

A. Visual inspection of welding must be conducted by an 
individual qualified by appropriate training and experience 
to ensure that: [49 CFR 192.241(a)] 

A.1. - B.2. … 
C. The acceptability of a weld that is nondestructively 

tested or visually inspected is determined according to the 
standards in Section 9 of API Standard 1104 (ibr, see §507). 
However, if a girth weld is unacceptable under those 
standards for a reason other than a crack, and if Appendix A 
to API 1104 applies to the weld, the acceptability of the weld 
may be further determined under that appendix. [49 CFR 
192.243(c)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:230 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:522 (July 1984), LR 24:1309 (July 1998), LR 
30:1242 (June 2004), LR 31:683 (March 2005). 
Chapter 15. Joining of Materials Other Than by 

Welding [Subpart F] 
§1513. Plastic Pipe; Qualifying Joining Procedures  

[49 CFR 192.283] 
A. - A.1. … 

a. in the case of thermoplastic pipe, Paragraph 6.6 
(sustained pressure test) or Paragraph 6.7 (Minimum 
Hydrostatic Burst Test) or Paragraph 8.9 (Sustained Static 
pressure Test) of ASTM D2513 (ibr, see §507); [49 CFR 
192.283(a)(1)(i)] 

b. in the case of thermosetting plastic pipe, 
Paragraph 8.5 (Minimum Hydrostatic Burst Pressure) or 
Paragraph 8.9 (Sustained Static Pressure Test) of ASTM 
D2517; (ibr, see §507); or [49 CFR 192.283(a)(1)(ii)] 

c. in the case of electrofusion fittings for 
polyethylene pipe and tubing, Paragraph 9.1 (Minimum 
Hydraulic Burst Pressure Test), Paragraph 9.2 (Sustained 
Pressure Test), Paragraph 9.3 (Tensile Strength Test), or 
Paragraph 9.4 (Joint Integrity Tests) of ASTM Designation 
F1055, (ibr, see §507). [49 CFR 192.283(a)(1)(iii)] 

A.2. … 
3. for procedures intended for non-lateral pipe 

connections, follow the tensile test requirements of ASTM 
D638 (ibr, see §507), except that the test may be conducted 
at ambient temperature and humidity. If the specimen 
elongates no less than 25 percent or failure initiates outside 
the joint area, the procedure qualifies for use. [49 CFR 
192.283(a)(3)] 

B. … 
1. use an apparatus for the test as specified in ASTM 

D 638 (except for conditioning), (ibr, see §507). [49 CFR 
192.283(b)(1)] 

B.2. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:231 (April 1983), 
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amended LR 10:523 (July 1984), LR 20:445 (April 1994), LR 
24:1310 (July 1998), LR 27:1541 (September 2001), LR 30:1244 
(June 2004), LR 31:683 (March 2005). 
Chapter 17. General Construction Requirements for 

Transmission Lines and Mains  
[Subpart G] 

§1721. Installation of Plastic Pipe [49 CFR 192.321] 
A. Plastic pipe must be installed below ground level 

except as provided by Subsections G and H of this Section. 
[49 CFR 192.321(a)] 

B. - G.3. … 
H. Plastic pipe may be installed on bridges provided that 

it is: [49 CFR 192.321(h)] 
1. installed with protection from mechanical damage, 

such as installation in a metallic casing; [49 CFR 
192.321(h)(1)] 

2. protected from ultraviolet radiation; and [49 CFR 
192.321(h)(2)] 

3. not allowed to exceed the pipe temperature limits 
specified in §923. [49 CFR 192.321(h)(3)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:233 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:525 (July 1984), LR 24:1310 (July 1998), LR 
27:1542 (September 2001), LR 30:1247 (June 2004), LR 31:684 
(March 2005). 
§1727. Cover [49 CFR 192.327] 

A. - D.3. … 
E. Except as provided in Subsection C of this Section, all 

pipe installed in a navigable river, stream, or harbor must be 
installed with a minimum cover of 48 inches (1,219 
millimeters) in soil or 24 inches (610 millimeters) in 
consolidated rock between the top of the pipe and the 
underwater natural bottom (as determined by recognized and 
generally accepted practices). [49 CFR 192.327(e)] 

F. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:233 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:525 (July 1984), LR 20:446 (April 1994), LR 
24:1310 (July 1998), LR 27:1542 (September 2001), LR 30:1247 
(June 2004), LR 31:684 (March 2005). 
Chapter 23. Test Requirements [Subpart J] 
§2305. Strength Test Requirements for Steel Pipeline to 

Operate at a Hoop Stress of 30 Percent or More 
of SMYS [49 CFR 192.505] 

A. - D. … 
1. the component was tested to at least the pressure 

required for the pipeline to which it is being added; [49 CFR 
192.505(d)(1)] 

2. the component was manufactured under a quality 
control system that ensures that each item manufactured is at 
least equal in strength to a prototype and that the prototype 
was tested to at least the pressure required for the pipeline to 
which it is being added; or [49 CFR 192.505(d)(2)] 

3. the component carries a pressure rating established 
through applicable ASME/ANSI, MSS specifications, or by 
unit strength calculations as described in §1103. [49 CFR 
192.505(d)(3)] 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:238 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:530 (July 1984), LR 27:1545 (September 2001), 
LR 30:1256 (June 2004), LR 31:684 (March 2005). 
Chapter 27. Operations [Subpart L] 
§2711. Change in Class Location: Confirmation or 

Revision of Maximum Allowable Operating 
Pressure [49 CFR 192.611] 

A. - C. … 
D. Confirmation or revision of the maximum allowable 

operating pressure that is required as a result of a study 
under §2709 must be completed within 24 months of the 
change in class location. Pressure reduction under 
Subsections A.1 or A.2 of this Section within the 24-month 
period does not preclude establishing a maximum allowable 
operating pressure under Subsection A.3 of this Section at a 
later date. [49 CFR 192.611(d)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:241 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:533 (July 1984), LR 18:858 (August 1992), LR 
30:1261 (June 2004), LR 31:684 (March 2005). 
§2712. Underwater Inspection and Reburial of 

Pipelines in the Gulf of Mexico and Its Inlets  
[49 CFR 192.612] 

A. Each operator shall prepare and follow a procedure to 
identify its pipelines in the Gulf of Mexico and its inlets in 
waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) deep as measured from 
mean low water that are at risk of being an exposed 
underwater pipeline or a hazard to navigation. The 
procedures must be in effect August 10, 2005. [49 CFR 
192.612(a)] 

B. Each operator shall conduct appropriate periodic 
underwater inspections of its pipelines in the Gulf of Mexico 
and its inlets in waters less than 15 feet (4.6 meters) deep as 
measured from mean low water based on the identified risk. 
[49 CFR 192.612(b)] 

C. If an operator discovers that its pipeline is an exposed 
underwater pipeline or poses a hazard to navigation, the 
operator shall: [49 CFR 192.612(c)] 

1. promptly, but not later than 24 hours after 
discovery, notify the National Response Center, telephone: 
1-800-424-8802, as well as Louisiana Pipeline Safety (225) 
342-5505 (day or night), of the location and, if available, the 
geographic coordinates of that pipeline. [49 CFR 
192.612(c)(1)] 

2. promptly, but not later than seven days after 
discovery, mark the location of the pipeline in accordance 
with 33 CFR Part 64 at the ends of the pipeline segment and 
at intervals of not over 500 yards (457 meters) long, except 
that a pipeline segment less than 200 yards (183 meters) 
long need only be marked at the center; and [49 CFR 
192.612(c)(2)] 

3. within six months after discovery, or not later than 
November 1 of the following year if the six month period is 
later than November 1 of the year of discovery, bury the 
pipeline so that the top of the pipe is 36 inches (914 
millimeters) below the underwater natural bottom (as 
determined by recognized and generally accepted practices) 
for normal excavation or 18 inches (457 millimeters) for 
rock excavation: [49 CFR 192.612(c)(3)] 
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a. an operator may employ engineered alternatives 
to burial that meet or exceed the level of protection provided 
by burial; [49 CFR 192.612(c)(3)(i)] 

b. if an operator cannot obtain required state or 
federal permits in time to comply with this Section, it must 
notify OPS; specify whether the required permit is state or 
federal; and, justify the delay. [49 CFR 192.612(c)(3)(ii)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 18:858 (August 
1992), LR 27:1546 (September 2001), LR 30:1262 (June 2004), LR 
31:684 (March 2005). 
Chapter 29. Maintenance [Subpart M] 
§2923. Distribution Systems: Leakage Surveys  

[49 CFR 192.723] 
A. - B.1. … 

2. A leakage survey with leak detector equipment 
must be conducted outside business districts as frequently as 
necessary, but at least once every five calendar years at 
intervals not exceeding 63 months. However, for 
cathodically unprotected distribution lines subject to 
§2117(E) on which electrical surveys for corrosion are 
impractical, a leakage survey must be conducted at least 
once every three calendar years at intervals not exceeding 39 
months. [49 CFR 192.723(b)(2)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:245 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:537 (July 1984), LR 21:823 (August 1995), LR 
24:1313 (July 1998), LR 30:1269 (June 2004), LR 31:685 (March 
2005). 
§2939. Pressure Limiting and Regulating Stations: 

Inspection and Testing [49 CFR 192.739] 
A. - A.2. … 

3. except as provided in Subsection B of this Section, 
set to control or relieve at the correct pressure consistent 
with the pressure limits of §192.201(a); and [49 CFR 
192.739(a)(3)] 

A.4. … 
B. For steel pipelines whose MAOP is determined under 

§2719(C), if the MAOP is 60 psi (414 kPa) gage or more, 
the control or relief pressure limit is as follows: [49 CFR 
192.739(b)] 

 
If the MAOP produces a hoop 
stress that is: 

then the pressure limit is: 

Greater than 72 percent of SMYS MAOP plus 4 percent. 
Unknown as a percentage of 
SMYS 

A pressure that will prevent unsafe 
operation of the pipeline 
considering its operating and 
maintenance history and MAOP. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:246 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:538 (July 1984), LR 30:1270 (June 2004), LR 
31:685 (March 2005). 
§2943. Pressure Limiting and Regulating Stations: 

Testing of Relief Devices [49 CFR 192.743] 
A. Pressure relief devices at pressure limiting stations 

and pressure regulating stations must have sufficient 
capacity to protect the facilities to which they are connected. 

Except as provided in §2939.C, the capacity must be 
consistent with the pressure limits of §1161.A. This capacity 
must be determined at intervals not exceeding 15 months, 
but at least once each calendar year, by testing the devices in 
place or by review and calculations. [49 CFR 192.743(a)] 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 9:246 (April 1983), 
amended LR 10:538 (July 1984), LR 30:1271 (June 2004), LR 
31:685 (March 2005). 
Chapter 31. Operator Qualification [Subpart N] 
§3105. Qualification Program [49 CFR 192.805] 

A. - A.3. … 
4. evaluate an individual if the operator has reason to 

believe that the individual's performance of a covered task 
contributed to an incident as defined in Chapter 3 of this 
Part; [49 CFR 192.805(d)] 

A.5. - A.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
27:1550 (September 2001), amended LR 30:1272 (June 2004), LR 
31: 685 (March 2005). 
Chapter 33. Pipeline Integrity Management  

[Subpart O] 
§3303. What Definitions Apply to This Chapter?  

[49 CFR 192.903] 
A. … 

AssessmentCthe use of testing techniques as allowed in 
this Chapter to ascertain the condition of a covered pipeline 
segment. 

Confirmatory Direct AssessmentCan integrity 
assessment method using more focused application of the 
principles and techniques of direct assessment to identify 
internal and external corrosion in a covered transmission 
pipeline segment. 

* * * 
High Consequence AreaCan area established by one of 

the methods described in Subparagraphs a or b as follows: 
a. an area defined as: 

 i. a Class 3 location under §505; or 
 ii. a Class 4 location under §505; or 
 iii. any area in a Class 1 or Class 2 location where 
the potential impact radius is greater than 660 feet (200 
meters), and the area within a potential impact circle 
contains 20 or more buildings intended for human 
occupancy; or 
 iv. any area in a Class 1 or Class 2 location where 
the potential impact circle contains an identified site; 

b. The area within a potential impact circle 
containing: 
 i. 20 or more buildings intended for human 
occupancy; or 
 ii. an identified site. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1273 (June 2004), amended LR 31: 685 (March 2005). 
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§3309. How Can an Operator Change Its Integrity 
Management Program? [49 CFR 192.909] 

A. … 
B. Notification. An operator must notify OPS, in 

accordance with §3349, of any change to the program that 
may substantially affect the program's implementation or 
may significantly modify the program or schedule for 
carrying out the program elements. An operator must also 
notify a state or local pipeline safety authority when either a 
covered segment is located in a state where OPS has an 
interstate agent agreement, or an intrastate covered segment 
is regulated by that state. An operator must provide the 
notification within 30 days after adopting this type of change 
into its program. [49 CFR 192.909(b)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1274 (June 2004), amended LR 31:686 (March 2005). 
§3311. What are the Elements of an Integrity 

Management Program? [49 CFR 192.911] 
A. - A.8. … 

9. a performance plan as outlined in ASME/ANSI 
B31.8S, Section 9 that includes performance measures 
meeting the requirements of §3345; [49 CFR 192.911(i)] 

A.10. - A.16. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1275 (June 2004), amended LR 31:686 (March 2005). 
§3313. When May an Operator Deviate Its Program 

from Certain Requirements of This Chapter? 
[49 CFR 192.913] 

A. - B.2. … 
a. have completed at least two integrity assessments 

on each covered pipeline segment the operator is including 
under the performance-based approach, and be able to 
demonstrate that each assessment effectively addressed the 
identified threats on the covered segment; [49 CFR 
192.913(b)(2)(i)] 

B.2.b. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1275 (June 2004), amended LR 31:686 (March 2005). 
§3317. How Does an Operator Identify Potential 

Threats to Pipeline Integrity and Use the Threat 
Identification in Its Integrity Program?  
[49 CFR 192.917] 

A. Threat Identification. An operator must identify and 
evaluate all potential threats to each covered pipeline 
segment. Potential threats that an operator must consider 
include, but are not limited to, the threats listed in 
ASME/ANSI B31.8S (ibr, see §507), Section 2, which are 
grouped under the following four categories: [49 CFR 
192.917(a)] 

A.1. - E. … 
1. Third Party Damage. An operator must utilize the 

data integration required in Subsection B of this Section and 
ASME/ANSI B31.8S, Appendix A7 to determine the 
susceptibility of each covered segment to the threat of third 

party damage. If an operator identifies the threat of third 
party damage, the operator must implement comprehensive 
additional preventive measures in accordance with §3335 
and monitor the effectiveness of the preventive measures. If, 
in conducting a baseline assessment under §3321, or a 
reassessment under §3337, an operator uses an internal 
inspection tool or external corrosion direct assessment, the 
operator must integrate data from these assessments with 
data related to any encroachment or foreign line crossing on 
the covered segment, to define where potential indications of 
third party damage may exist in the covered segment. An 
operator must also have procedures in its integrity 
management program addressing actions it will take to 
respond to findings from this data integration. [49 CFR 
192.917(e)(1)] 

E.2. … 
3. Manufacturing and Construction Defects. If an 

operator identifies the threat of manufacturing and 
construction defects (including seam defects) in the covered 
segment, an operator must analyze the covered segment to 
determine the risk of failure from these defects. The analysis 
must consider the results of prior assessments on the covered 
segment. An operator may consider manufacturing and 
construction related defects to be stable defects if the 
operating pressure on the covered segment has not increased 
over the maximum operating pressure experienced during 
the five years preceding identification of the high 
consequence area. If any of the following changes occur in 
the covered segment, an operator must prioritize the covered 
segment as a high risk segment for the baseline assessment 
or a subsequent reassessment: [49 CFR 192.917(e)(3)] 

a. operating pressure increases above the maximum 
operating pressure experienced during the preceding five 
years; [49 CFR 192.917(e)(3)(i)] 

E.3.b. - c. … 
4. ERW Pipe. If a covered pipeline segment contains 

low frequency electric resistance welded pipe (ERW), lap 
welded pipe or other pipe that satisfies the conditions 
specified in ASME/ANSI B31.8S, Appendices A4.3 and 
A4.4, and any covered or noncovered segment in the 
pipeline system with such pipe has experienced seam failure, 
or operating pressure on the covered segment has increased 
over the maximum operating pressure experienced during 
the preceding five years, an operator must select an 
assessment technology or technologies with a proven 
application capable of assessing seam integrity and seam 
corrosion anomalies. The operator must prioritize the 
covered segment as a high risk segment for the baseline 
assessment or a subsequent reassessment. [49 CFR 
192.917(e)(4)] 

E.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1276 (June 2004), amended LR 31:686 (March 2005). 
§3321. How Is the Baseline Assessment to be 

Conducted? [49 CFR 192.921] 
A. - A.1. … 

2. pressure test conducted in accordance with Chapter 
23 of this Part. An operator must use the test pressures 
specified in Table 3 of Section 5 of ASME/ANSI B31.8S, to 
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justify an extended reassessment interval in accordance with 
§3339. [49 CFR 192.921(a)(2)] 

A.3. … 
4. other technology that an operator demonstrates can 

provide an equivalent understanding of the condition of the 
line pipe. An operator choosing this option must notify the 
Office of Pipeline Safety (OPS) 180 days before conducting 
the assessment, in accordance with §3349. An operator must 
also notify a state or local pipeline safety authority when 
either a covered segment is located in a state where OPS has 
an interstate agent agreement, or an intrastate covered 
segment is regulated by that state. [49 CFR 192.921(a)(4)] 

B. ... 
C. Assessment for Particular Threats. In choosing an 

assessment method for the baseline assessment of each 
covered segment, an operator must take the actions required 
in §3317.E to address particular threats that it has identified. 
[49 CFR 192.921(c)] 

D. - F. … 
G. Newly Installed Pipe. An operator must complete the 

baseline assessment of a newly-installed segment of pipe 
covered by this subpart within 10 years from the date the 
pipe is installed. An operator may conduct a pressure test in 
accordance with Subsection A.2 of this Section, to satisfy the 
requirement for a baseline assessment. [49 CFR 192.921(g)] 

H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1277 (June 2004), amended LR 31:686 (March 2005). 
§3325. What Are the Requirements for Using External 

Corrosion Direct Assessment (ECDA)?  
[49 CFR 192.925] 

A. … 
B. General Requirements. An operator that uses direct 

assessment to assess the threat of external corrosion must 
follow the requirements in this Section, in ASME/ANSI 
B31.8S (ibr, see § 507), Section 6.4, and in NACE RP 0502-
2002 (ibr, see § 507). An operator must develop and 
implement a direct assessment plan that has procedures 
addressing preassessment, indirect examination, direct 
examination, and post-assessment. If the ECDA detects 
pipeline coating damage, the operator must also integrate the 
data from the ECDA with other information from the data 
integration (§3317.B) to evaluate the covered segment for 
the threat of third party damage, and to address the threat as 
required by §3317.E.1. [49 CFR 192.925(b)] 

1. - 3.a. … 
b. criteria for deciding what action should be taken 

if either: [49 CFR 192.925(b)(3)(ii)] 
 i. corrosion defects are discovered that exceed 
allowable limits (Section 5.5.2.2 of NACE RP0502-2002); 
or [49 CFR 192.925(b)(3)(ii)(A)] 
 ii. root cause analysis reveals conditions for 
which ECDA is not suitable (Section 5.6.2 of NACE 
RP0502-2002); [49 CFR 192.925(b)(3)(ii)(B)] 

3c. - 4.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1278 (June 2004), amended LR 31:687 (March 2005). 

§3327. What Are the Requirements for Using Internal 
Corrosion Direct Assessment (ICDA)?  
[49 CFR 192.927] 

A. … 
B. General Requirements. An operator using direct 

assessment as an assessment method to address internal 
corrosion in a covered pipeline segment must follow the 
requirements in this Section and in ASME/ANSI B31.8S 
(ibr, see §507), Section 6.4 and Appendix B2. The ICDA 
process described in this Section applies only for a segment 
of pipe transporting nominally dry natural gas, and not for a 
segment with electrolyte nominally present in the gas 
stream. If an operator uses ICDA to assess a covered 
segment operating with electrolyte present in the gas stream, 
the operator must develop a plan that demonstrates how it 
will conduct ICDA in the segment to effectively address 
internal corrosion, and must provide notification in 
accordance with §3321A4 or §3337.C.4. [49 CFR 
192.927(b)] 

C. - C.2. … 
3. Identification of Locations for Excavation and 

Direct Examination. An operator's plan must identify the 
locations where internal corrosion is most likely in each 
ICDA region. In the location identification process, an 
operator must identify a minimum of two locations for 
excavation within each ICDA Region within a covered 
segment and must perform a direct examination for internal 
corrosion at each location, using ultrasonic thickness 
measurements, radiography, or other generally accepted 
measurement technique. One location must be the low point 
(e.g., sags, drips, valves, manifolds, dead-legs, traps) within 
the covered segment nearest to the beginning of the ICDA 
Region. The second location must be further downstream, 
within a covered segment, near the end of the ICDA Region. 
If corrosion exists at either location, the operator must: [49 
CFR 192.927(c)(3)] 

3a. - 4. … 
a. evaluating the effectiveness of ICDA as an 

assessment method for addressing internal corrosion and 
determining whether a covered segment should be 
reassessed at more frequent intervals than those specified in 
§3339. An operator must carry out this evaluation within a 
year of conducting an ICDA; and [49 CFR 192.927(c)(4)(i)] 

4.b. - 5.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1279 (June 2004), amended LR 31:687 (March 2005). 
§3329. What Are the Requirements for Using Direct 

Assessment for Stress Corrosion Cracking 
(SCCDA)? [49 CFR 192.929] 

A. Definition. Stress Corrosion Cracking Direct 
Assessment (SCCDA) is a process to assess a covered pipe 
segment for the presence of SCC primarily by systematically 
gathering and analyzing excavation data for pipe having 
similar operational characteristics and residing in a similar 
physical environment. [49 CFR 192.929(a)] 

B. - B.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 31, No. 3   March 20, 2005 688

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1280 (June 2004), amended LR 31:687 (March 2005). 
§3333. What Actions Must Be Taken to Address 

Integrity Issues? [49 CFR 192.933] 
A. … 
B. Discovery of Condition. Discovery of a condition 

occurs when an operator has adequate information about a 
condition to determine that the condition presents a potential 
threat to the integrity of the pipeline. A condition that 
presents a potential threat includes, but is not limited to, 
those conditions that require remediation or monitoring 
listed under Subsections D.1-3 of this Section. An operator 
must promptly, but no later than 180 days after conducting 
an integrity assessment, obtain sufficient information about a 
condition to make that determination, unless the operator 
demonstrates that the 180-day period is impracticable. [49 
CFR 192.933(b)] 

C. Schedule for Evaluation and Remediation. An 
operator must complete remediation of a condition according 
to a schedule that prioritizes the conditions for evaluation 
and remediation. Unless a special requirement for 
remediating certain conditions applies, as provided in 
Subsection D of this Section, an operator must follow the 
schedule in ASME/ANSI B31.8S (ibr, see §5077), Section 7, 
Figure 4. If an operator cannot meet the schedule for any 
condition, the operator must justify the reasons why it 
cannot meet the schedule and that the changed schedule will 
not jeopardize public safety. An operator must notify OPS in 
accordance with §3349 if it cannot meet the schedule and 
cannot provide safety through a temporary reduction in 
operating pressure or other action. An operator must also 
notify a state or local pipeline safety authority when either a 
covered segment is located in a state where OPS has an 
interstate agent agreement, or an intrastate covered segment 
is regulated by that state. [49 CFR 192.933(c)] 

D. - D.1.b. … 
c. an indication or anomaly that in the judgment of 

the person designated by the operator to evaluate the 
assessment results requires immediate action. [49 CFR 
192.933(d)(1)(iii)] 

2. - 3.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1281 (June 2004), amended LR 31:688 (March 2005). 
§3335 What Additional Preventive and Mitigative 

Measures Must an Operator Take?  
[49 CFR 192.935] 

A. - B.1.a. … 
b. collecting in a central database information that 

is location specific on excavation damage that occurs in 
covered and non covered segments in the transmission 
system and the root cause analysis to support identification 
of targeted additional preventative and mitigative measures 
in the high consequence areas. This information must 
include recognized damage that is not required to be 
reported as an incident under Subparts 1 and 2. [49 CFR 
192.935(b)(1)(ii)] 

c. … 
d. monitoring of excavations conducted on covered 

pipeline segments by pipeline personnel. If an operator finds 

physical evidence of encroachment involving excavation 
that the operator did not monitor near a covered segment, an 
operator must either excavate the area near the 
encroachment or conduct an above ground survey using 
methods defined in NACE RP-0502-2002 (ibr, see §507). An 
operator must excavate, and remediate, in accordance with 
ANSI/ASME B31.8S and §3333 any indication of coating 
holidays or discontinuity warranting direct examination. [49 
CFR 192.935(b)(1)(iv)] 

B.2. - C. … 
D. Pipelines Operating below 30 Percent SMYS. An 

operator of a transmission pipeline operating below 30 
percent SMYS located in a high consequence area must 
follow the requirements in Subsections D.1 and D.2 of this 
Section. An operator of a transmission pipeline operating 
below 30 percent SMYS located in a Class 3 or Class 4 area 
but not in a high consequence area must follow the 
requirements in Subsections D.1, D.2 and D.3 of this 
Section. [49 CFR 192.935(d)] 

1. - 2. … 
3. perform semi-annual leak surveys (quarterly for 

unprotected pipelines or cathodically protected pipe where 
electrical surveys are impractical). [49 CFR 192.935(d)(3)] 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1282 (June 2004), amended LR 31:688 (March 2005). 
§3337. What Is a Continual Process of Evaluation and 

Assessment to Maintain a Pipeline's Integrity? 
[49 CFR 192.937] 

A. - C.1. … 
2. pressure test conducted in accordance with Chapter 

23 of this Subpart. An operator must use the test pressures 
specified in Table 3 of Section 5 of ASME/ANSI B31.8S, to 
justify an extended reassessment interval in accordance with 
§3339; [49 CFR 192.935(c)(2)] 

3. … 
4. other technology that an operator demonstrates can 

provide an equivalent understanding of the condition of the 
line pipe. An operator choosing this option must notify the 
Office of Pipeline Safety (OPS) 180 days before conducting 
the assessment, in accordance with §3349. An operator must 
also notify a state or local pipeline safety authority when 
either a covered segment is located in a state where OPS has 
an interstate agent agreement, or an intrastate covered 
segment is regulated by that state. [49 CFR 192.935(c)(4)] 

5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1283 (June 2004), amended LR 31:688 (March 2005). 
§3339. What Are the Required Reassessment Intervals? 

[49 CFR 192.939] 
A. … 

1. Pipelines Operating at or above 30 percent SMYS. 
An operator must establish a reassessment interval for each 
covered segment operating at or above 30 percent SMYS in 
accordance with the requirements of this Section. The 
maximum reassessment interval by an allowable 
reassessment method is seven years. If an operator 
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establishes a reassessment interval that is greater than seven 
years, the operator must, within the seven-year period, 
conduct a confirmatory direct assessment on the covered 
segment, and then conduct the follow-up reassessment at the 
interval the operator has established. A reassessment carried 
out using confirmatory direct assessment must be done in 
accordance with §3331. The table that follows this Section 
sets forth the maximum allowed reassessment intervals. [49 
CFR 192.939(a)] 

a. … 
 i. basing the interval on the identified threats for 
the covered segment (see §3317) and on the analysis of the 
results from the last integrity assessment and from the data 
integration and risk assessment required by §3317; or [49 
CFR 192.939(a)(1)(i)] 

a.ii. - b. … 
c. Internal Corrosion or SCC Direct Assessment. 

An operator that uses ICDA or SCCDA in accordance with 
the requirements of this Chapter must determine the 
reassessment interval according to the following method. 
However, the reassessment interval cannot exceed those 
specified for direct assessment in ASME/ANSI B31.8S, 
Section 5, Table 3: [49 CFR 192.939(a)(3)] 

1.c.i. - iii. … 
2. Pipelines Operating below 30 Percent SMYS. An 

operator must establish a reassessment interval for each 
covered segment operating below 30 percent SMYS in 
accordance with the requirements of this Section. The 
maximum reassessment interval by an allowable 
reassessment method is seven years. An operator must 
establish reassessment by at least one of the following: [49 
CFR 192.939(b)] 

a. - d. … 
e. reassessment by the low stress assessment 

method at seven-year intervals in accordance with §3341 
with reassessment by one of the methods listed in 
Paragraphs B.1 through B.3 of this Section by year 20 of the 
interval. [49 CFR 192.939(b)(5)] 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1283 (June 2004), amended LR 31:688 (March 2005). 
§3341. What Is a Low Stress Reassessment?  

[49 CFR 192.941] 
A. - B.2.a. … 

b. every 18 months, identify and remediate areas of 
active corrosion by evaluating leak repair and inspection 
records, corrosion monitoring records, exposed pipe 
inspection records, and the pipeline environment. [49 CFR 
192.941(b)(2)(ii)] 

C. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1284 (June 2004), amended LR 31:689 (March 2005). 
§3343. When Can an Operator Deviate from These 

Reassessment Intervals? [49 CFR 192.943] 
A. … 

1. Lack of Internal Inspection Tools. An operator who 
uses internal inspection as an assessment method may be 

able to justify a longer reassessment period for a covered 
segment if internal inspection tools are not available to 
assess the line pipe. To justify this, the operator must 
demonstrate that it cannot obtain the internal inspection tools 
within the required reassessment period and that the actions 
the operator is taking in the interim ensure the integrity of 
the covered segment. [49 CFR 192.943(a)(1)] 

A.2. - B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1285 (June 2004), amended LR 31:689 (March 2005). 
§3345. What Methods Must an Operator Use to 

Measure Program Effectiveness?  
[49 CFR 192.945] 

A. General. An operator must include in its integrity 
management program methods to measure, on a semi-annual 
basis, whether the program is effective in assessing and 
evaluating the integrity of each covered pipeline segment 
and in protecting the high consequence areas. These 
measures must include the four overall performance 
measures specified in ASME/ANSI B31.8S (ibr, see §507), 
Section 9.4, and the specific measures for each identified 
threat specified in ASME/ANSI B31.8S, Appendix A. An 
operator must submit the four overall performance measures, 
by electronic or other means, on a semi-annual frequency to 
OPS in accordance with §3351. An operator must submit its 
first report on overall performance measures by August 31, 
2004. Thereafter, the performance measures must be 
complete through June 30 and December 31 of each year 
and must be submitted within 2 months after those dates. [49 
CFR 192.945(a)] 

B. External Corrosion Direct Assessment. In addition to 
the general requirements for performance measures in 
Subsection A of this Section, an operator using direct 
assessment to assess the external corrosion threat must 
define and monitor measures to determine the effectiveness 
of the ECDA process. These measures must meet the 
requirements of §3325. [49 CFR 192.945 (b)] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1285 (June 2004), amended LR 31:689 (March 2005). 
Chapter 51. Appendices 
§5101. Reserved. 

Editor's Note: The text of this Section (§5101) has been 
moved to §507 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
10:539 (July 1984), amended LR 18:858 (August 1992), LR 
27:1550, 1551 (September 2001), LR 30:1286 (June 2004), LR 
31:689 (March 2005). 
§5103. Appendix BCQualification of Pipe 

I. Listed Pipe Specification 
API 5L—Steel pipe, "API Specification for Line Pipe" 

(ibr, see §507) 
ASTM A 53/A53M-99b—Steel pipe, "Standard 

Specification for Pipe, Steel Black and Hot-Dipped, Zinc-
Coated, welded and Seamless"(ibr, see §507) 
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ASTM A 106—Steel pipe, "Standard Specification for 
Seamless Carbon Steel Pipe for High temperature Service" 
(ibr, see §507) 

ASTM A 333/A 333M—Steel pipe, "Standard 
Specification for Seamless and Welded steel Pipe for Low 
Temperature Service" (ibr, see §507) 

ASTM A 381—Steel pipe, "Standard specification for 
Metal-Arc-Welded Steel Pipe for Use with High-Pressure 
Transmission Systems" (ibr, see §507) 

ASTM A 671—Steel pipe, "Standard Specification for 
Electric-Fusion-Welded Pipe for Atmospheric and Lower 
Temperatures" (ibr, see §507) 

ASTM A 672—Steel pipe, "Standard Specification for 
Electric-Fusion-Welded Steel Pipe for High-Pressure Service 
at Moderate Temperatures" (ibr, see §507) 

ASTM A 691—Steel pipe, "Standard Specification for 
Carbon and Alloy Steel Pipe, Electric-Fusion-Welded for 
High Pressure Service at High Temperatures" (ibr, see §507) 

ASTM D 2513-1999CThermoplastic pipe and tubing, 
"Standard Specification for Thermoplastic Gas Pressure 
Pipe, Tubing, and Fittings" (ibr, see §507) 

ASTM D 2517—Thermosetting plastic pipe and tubing, 
"Standard Specification Reinforced Epoxy Resin Gas 
Pressure Pipe and Fittings" (ibr, see §507) 

II. Steel Pipe of Unknown or Unlisted Specification 
A. … 
B. Weldability. A girth weld must be made in the pipe 

by a welder who is qualified under Subpart E of this Part. 
The weld must be made under the most severe conditions 
under which welding will be allowed in the field and by 
means of the same procedure that will be used in the field. 
On pipe more than 4 inches (102 millimeters) in diameter, at 
least one test weld must be made for each 100 lengths of 
pipe. On pipe 4 inches (102 millimeters) or less in diameter, 
at least one test weld must be made for each 400 lengths of 
pipe. The weld must be tested in accordance with API 
Standard 1104 (ibr, see §507). If the requirements of API 
Standard 1104 cannot be met, weldability may be established 
by making chemical tests for carbon and manganese, and 
proceeding in accordance with Section IX of the ASME 
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (ibr, see §507). The same 
number of chemical tests must be made as are required for 
testing a girth weld. 

C. … 
D. Tensile Properties. If the tensile properties of the 

pipe are not known, the minimum yield strength may be 
taken as 24,000 p.s.i. (165 MPa) or less, or the tensile 
properties may be established by performing tensile test as 
set forth in API Specification 5L (ibr, see §507). 

III. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
10:541 (July 1984), amended LR 18:859 (August 1992), LR 
27:1551, 1552 (September 2001), LR 30:1287 (June 2004), LR 
31:689 (March 2005). 
§5105. Appendix CCQualification of Welders for Low 

Stress Level Pipe 
I. Basic Test 

The test is made on pipe 12 inches (305 millimeters) or 
less in diameter. The test weld must be made with the pipe in 
a horizontal fixed position so that the test weld includes at 
least one section of overhead position welding. The 
beveling, root opening, and other details must conform to the 
specifications of the procedure under which the welder is 
being qualified. Upon completion, the test weld is cut into 
four coupons and subjected to a root bend test. If, as a result 
of this test, two or more of the four coupons develop a crack 
in the weld material, or between the weld material and base 
metal, that is more than 1/8-inch (3.2 millimeters) long in 
any direction, the weld is unacceptable. Cracks that occur on 
the corner of the specimen during testing are not considered. 
A welder who successfully passes a butt-weld qualification 
test under this Section shall be qualified to weld on all pipe 
diameters less than or equal to 12 inches. 

II. - III. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
10:541 (July 1984), amended LR 18:859 (August 1992), LR 
27:1551, 1552 (September 2001), LR 30:1287 (June 2004), LR 
31:690 (March 2005). 
§5109. Appendix ECGuidance on Determining High 

Consequence Areas and on Carrying out 
Requirements in the Integrity Management Rule 

I. Guidance on Determining a High Consequence 
Area 

To determine which segments of an operator's 
transmission pipeline system are covered for purposes of the 
integrity management program requirements, an operator 
must identify the high consequence areas. An operator must 
use Method (1) or (2) from the definition in §3303 to 
identify a high consequence area. An operator may apply 
one method to its entire pipeline system, or an operator may 
apply one method to individual portions of the pipeline 
system. (Refer to Figure E.I.A for a diagram of a high 
consequence area). 
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Figure E.I.A

 
 
II. Guidance on Assessment Methods and Additional 

Preventive and Mitigative Measures for Transmission 
Pipelines 

1. Table E.II.1 gives guidance to help an operator 
implement requirements on additional preventive and 
mitigative measures for addressing time dependent and 
independent threats for a transmission pipeline operating 
below 30 percent SMYS not in an HCA (i.e., outside of 
potential impact circle) but located within a Class 3 or Class 
4 Location. 

2. Table E.II.2 gives guidance to help an operator 
implement requirements on assessment methods for 
addressing time dependent and independent threats for a 
transmission pipeline in an HCA. 

3. Table E.II.3 gives guidance on preventative and 
mitigative measures addressing time dependent and 
independent threats for transmission pipelines that operate 
below 30 percent SMYS, in HCAs. 

 
Table E.II.1: Preventative and Mitigative Measures for Transmission Pipelines Operating below 30 Percent SMYS Not in an HCA but in a 

Class 3 or Class 4 Location 
Existing Subpart 3 Requirements 

(Column 1) 
Threat 

(Column 2) 
Primary 

(Column 3) 
Secondary 

(Column 4) 
Additional (to Subpart 3 requirements) 

Preventive and Mitigative Measures 
External 

Corrosion 
2107-(Gen. Post 1971) 
2109-(Gen. Pre-1971) 
2111-(Examination) 
2113-(Ext. coating) 
2115-(CP) 
2117-(Monitoring) 
2119-(Elect isolation) 
2121-Test stations) 
2123-(Test leads) 
2125-(Interference) 
2131-(Atmospheric) 
2133-(Atmospheric) 
2137-(Remedial) 
2905-(Patrol) 
2906-(Leak survey) 
2911 (RepairBgen.) 
2917-(RepairBperm.) 

2703-(Gen Oper=n) 
2713-(Surveillance) 

For Cathodically Protected Transmission Pipeline: 
 
• Perform semi-annual leak surveys. 
 
For Unprotected Transmission Pipelines or for Cathodically 
Protected Pipe where Electrical Surveys are Impractical: 
 
• Perform quarterly leak surveys 

Internal 
Corrosion 

2127-(Gen IC), 
2129-(IC monitoring) 
2137-(Remedial), 
2905-(Patrol) 
2906-(Leak survey), 
2911-(Repair B gen.) 
2917-(Repair B perm.) 

703(A)-(Materials) 
2703-(Gen Oper=n) 
2713-(Surveillance) 

• Perform semi-annual leak surveys.  
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Table E.II.1: Preventative and Mitigative Measures for Transmission Pipelines Operating below 30 Percent SMYS Not in an HCA but in a 
Class 3 or Class 4 Location 

3rd Party 
Damage 

 

903-(Gen. Design), 
911-(Design factor) 
1717-(Hazard prot), 
1727-(Cover) 
2714-(Dam. Prevent), 
2716-(Public education) 
2905-(Patrol), 
2907-(Line markers) 
2911-(Repair B gen.), 
2917-(Repair B perm.) 
 

2715B(Emerg. Plan) 
 

• Participation in state one-call system, 
 
• Use of qualified operator employees and contractors 

to perform marking and locating of buried structures 
and in direct supervision of excavation work, AND 

 
• Either monitoring of excavations near operator=s 

transmission pipelines, or bi-monthly patrol of 
transmission pipelines in class 3 and 4 locations. Any 
indications of unreported construction activity would 
require a follow up investigation to determine if 
mechanical damage occurred. 

 
 

Table E.II.2  Assessment Requirements for Transmission Pipelines in HCAs (Re-assessment intervals are maximum allowed.) 
 Re-Assessment Requirements (see Note 3) 
 At or above 50 Percent SMYS At or above 30 Percent SMYS 

up to 50 Percent SMYS Below 30 Percent SMYS 

Baseline Assessment 
Method (see Note 3) 

Max  
Re-Assessment 

Interval 

Assessment 
Method 

Max  
Re-Assessment 

Interval 
Assessment Method 

Max  
Re-Assessment 

Interval 
Assessment Method 

7 CDA 7 CDA 

Preventative & 
Mitigative (P&M) 

Measures (see Table 
E.II.3),  (see Note 2) 

10 Pressure Test or 
ILI or DA    

 15 (see Note 1) Pressure Test or ILI 
or DA (see Note 1) 

Ongoing 

 

  20 Pressure Test or ILI or 
DA 

Pressure Testing 

 

Repeat 
inspection cycle 
every 10 years 

 

Repeat inspection 
cycle every 15 years 

 Repeat inspection 
cycle every 20 years 

In-Line Inspection 7 CDA 7 CDA 

Preventative & 
Mitigative (P&M) 

Measures (see Table 
E.II.3), (see Note 2) 

10 ILI or DA or 
Pressure Test   

 15 (see Note 1) 
ILI or DA or 

Pressure Test (see 
Note 1) 

Ongoing 

 

  20 ILI or DA or Pressure 
Test 

 

 

Repeat 
inspection cycle 
every 10 years 

 

Repeat inspection 
cycle every 15 years 

 Repeat inspection 
cycle every 20 years 

Direct Assessment 7 CDA 7 CDA 

Preventative & 
Mitigative (P&M) 

Measures (see Table 
E.II.3), (see Note 2) 

10 DA or ILI or 
Pressure Test   

 15 (see Note 1) 
DA or ILI or 

Pressure Test (see 
Note 1) 

Ongoing 

 

  20 DA or ILI or Pressure 
Test 

 

 

Repeat 
inspection cycle 
every 10 years 

 

Repeat inspection 
cycle every 15 years 

 Repeat inspection 
cycle every 20 years 

Note 1:  Operator may choose to utilize CDA at year 14, then utilize ILI, Pressure Test, or DA at year 15 as allowed under ASME B31.8S 
Note 2:  Operator may choose to utilize CDA at year 7 and 14 in lieu of P&M 
Note 3:  Operator may utilize "other technology that an operator demonstrates can provide an equivalent understanding of the condition of line pipe" 
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Table E.II.3 
Preventative and Mitigative Measures addressing Time Dependent and Independent Threats for Transmission Pipelines that Operate  

below 30 Percent SMYS, in HCAs 
Threat Existing Subpart 3 Requirements 

 Primary Secondary 
Additional (to Subpart 3 requirements)  

Preventive and Mitigative Measures 
External Corrosion 2107-(Gen. Post 1971) 

2109-(Gen. Pre-1971) 
2111-(Examination) 
2113-(Ext. coating) 
2115-(CP) 
2117-(Monitoring) 
2119-(Elect isolation) 
2121-Test stations) 
2123-(Test leads) 
2125-(Interference) 
2131-(Atmospheric) 
2133-(Atmospheric) 
2137-(Remedial) 
2905-(Patrol) 
2906-(Leak survey) 
2911-(RepairBgen.) 
2917-(RepairBperm.) 

2703-(Gen Oper) 
2713-(Surveil) 

For Cathodically Protected Trmn. Pipelines 
• Perform an electrical survey (i.e., indirect examination tool/method) at 

least every seven years. Results are to be utilized as part of an overall 
evaluation of the CP system and corrosion threat for the covered segment.  
Evaluation shall include consideration of leak repair and inspection 
records, corrosion monitoring records, exposed pipe inspection records, 
and the pipeline environment. 

 
For Unprotected Trmn. Pipelines or for Cathodically Protected Pipe where 
Electrical Surveys are Impracticable 
•  Conduct quarterly leak surveys AND 
•  Every 1 1/2 years, determine areas of active corrosion by evaluation of 

leak repair and inspection records, corrosion monitoring records, exposed 
pipe inspection records, and the pipeline environment. 

Internal Corrosion 2127-(Gen IC) 
2129-(IC monitoring) 
2137-(Remedial) 
2905-(Patrol) 
2906-(Leak survey) 
2911-(RepairBgen.) 
2917-(RepairBperm.) 

703(A)-(Materials) 
2703-(Gen Oper) 
2713-(Surveil) 

$ Obtain and review gas analysis data each calendar year for corrosive 
agents from transmission pipelines in HCAs, 

$ Periodic testing of fluid removed from pipelines.  Specifically, once each 
calendar year from each storage field that may affect transmission 
pipelines in HCAs, AND 

$ At least every seven years, integrate data obtained with applicable 
internal corrosion leak records, incident reports, safety related condition 
reports, repair records, patrol records, exposed pipe reports, and test 
records. 

3rd Party Damage 903-(Gen. Design) 
911-(Design factor) 
1717-(Hazard prot) 
1727-(Cover) 
2714-(Dam. Prevent) 
2716-(Public educat) 
2905-(Patrol) 
2909-(Line markers) 
2911-(RepairBgen.) 
2917-(RepairBperm.) 

2715B(Emerg Plan) $ Participation in state one-call system, 
 
$ Use of qualified operator employees and contractors to perform marking 

and locating of buried structures and in direct supervision of excavation 
work, AND 

 
$ Either monitoring of excavations near operator=s transmission pipelines, 

or bi-monthly patrol of transmission pipelines in HCAs or Class 3 and 4 
locations. Any indications of unreported construction activity would 
require a follow up investigation to determine if mechanical damage 
occurred. 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, Pipeline Division, LR 
30:1289 (June 2004), amended LR 31:690 (March 2005). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0503#060 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Hazardous Materials (LAC 33:V.10107 and 10121) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
R.S. 30:2361 et seq., hereby amends its Rules regulating 
chemical inventory reporting for electrical substations and 
chemical inventory filing fees. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

CorrectionsCHazardous Materials 
Chapter 101. Hazardous Material, Information 

Development, Preparedness, and 
Response Act 

§10107. Alternate Means of ComplianceCInventory 
Reporting 

A. - C.5.d. … 
e. Electrical storage batteries located at electrical 

substations are exempt from Tier Two filing requirements if 
the total weight of the sulfuric acid in all batteries found on 
the site of the substation is less than five hundred pounds 
and the facility owner marks all doors, or means of access, to 
the storage location with a sign stating 
"CAUTIONCELECTRICAL STORAGE BATTERIES 
CONTAINING SULFURIC ACID" and further provides a 
Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) in an accessible location 
near the storage location. 

C.6.a. - f. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.30:2361 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:329 
(May 1986), amended LR 13:186 (March 1987), LR 13:759 
(December 1987), LR 14:802 (November 1988), LR 16:974 
(November 1990), LR 27:859 (June 2001), LR 31:693 (March 
2005). 
§10121. Fees 

A. … 
B.1. Until June 30, 2008, the fees for facilities not 

meeting the definition of "small business" in R.S. 30:2363 
shall be assessed as follows. 

 
Number of Hazardous Materials 

Present at Facility Amount of Fees Charges 

01 to 25 $  65 
26 to 75 $  85 

76 to 100 $170 
Over 100 $255 

 
B.2. - F.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.30:2361 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:329 
(May 1986), amended LR 13:186 (March 1987), LR 13:762 
(December 1987), LR 14:804 (November 1988), LR 27:2259 
(December 2001), LR 31:694 (March 2005). 

 
Richard L. Stalder 
Secretary 

0503#012 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Corporation Income TaxCDetermination of  
Louisiana Apportionment Percent  

(LAC 61:I.1134) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:287.95, R.S. 47:287.785, 
R.S. 47:1511, and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, amends 
LAC 61:I.1134 relative to attribution of revenue from 
telephone, telecommunications, and other similar services 
and the attribution of revenue from sales of natural resources 
to pipeline companies that are made in the regular course of 
business. 

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:287.95 determines the 
Louisiana apportionable percent of any taxpayer whose net 
apportionable income is derived by several different 
business enterprises. By amending LAC 61:I.1134, the 
Department of Revenue will provide specific guidance to 
telephone, telecommunications, and other similar services, 
concerning revenue to be included in the numerator of the 
revenue ratio. The deregulation of the natural gas industry 
makes the Subparagraph relating to attribution of sales of 
natural resources to pipelines obsolete and no longer 
necessary. Examples regarding the attribution of revenue 
from sales transported by public carrier pipelines are 
confusing and are being removed.  

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 11. Income: Corporation Income Tax 
§1134. Determination of Louisiana Apportionment 

Percent 
A. - D.1.e. … 

2. Revenue from Telephone, Telecommunications, and 
Other Similar Services. Gross apportionable income 
attributable to Louisiana from providing telephone, 
telecommunications, and similar services shall include, but 
is not limited to: 

a. revenue derived from charges for providing 
telephone "access" from a location in this state. "Access" 
means that a call can be made or received from a point 
within this state. An example of this type of receipt is a 
monthly subscriber fee billed with reference to a service 
address located in the state and without regard to actual 
usage; 

b. revenue derived from charges for unlimited 
calling privileges, if the charges are billed by reference to a 
service address located in this state; 

c. revenue from intrastate telephone calls or other 
telecommunications, except for mobile telecommunication 
services, beginning and ending in Louisiana; 

d. revenue from interstate or international telephone 
calls or other telecommunications, except for mobile 
telecommunication services, either beginning or ending in 
Louisiana if the service address charged for the call or 
telecommunication is located in Louisiana, regardless of 
where the charges are billed or paid; 

e. revenue from mobile telecommunications 
service: 
 i. revenue from mobile telecommunications 
services shall be attributed to the place of primary use, 
which is the residential or primary business street address of 
the customer; 
 ii. if a customer receives multiple services, such 
as multiple telephone numbers, the place of primary use of 
each separate service shall determine where the revenue 
from that service is attributed; 
 iii. revenue from mobile telecommunications 
services shall be attributed to Louisiana if the place of 
primary use of the service is Louisiana; 

f. definitions. For the purposes of this 
Subparagraph, the following terms have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
 i. CallCa specific telecommunications 
transmission; 
 ii. CustomerCany person or entity that contracts 
with a home service provider or the end user of the mobile 
telecommunications service if the end user is not the person 
or entity that contracts with the home service provider for 
mobile telecommunications service; 
 iii. Home Service ProviderCthe facilities-based 
carrier or reseller with which the customer contracts for the 
provision of mobile telecommunications services; 
 iv. Place of Primary Use of Mobile 
Telecommunications ServiceCthe street address 
representative of where the customer's use of mobile 
telecommunications service primarily occurs. This address 
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must be within the licensed service area of the home service 
provider and must be either the residential or the primary 
business street address of the customer. The home service 
provider shall be responsible for obtaining and maintaining 
the customer's place of primary use as prescribed by R.S. 
47:301(14)(i)(ii)(bb)(XI); 
 v. Service AddressCthe address where the 
telephone equipment is located and to which the telephone 
number is assigned; 
 vi. TelecommunicationsCthe electronic 
transmission, conveyance or routing of voice, data, audio, 
video, or any other information or signals to a point, or 
between or among points, by or through the use of any 
medium such as wires, cables, satellite, microwave, 
electromagnetic wires, light waves or any combination of 
those or similar media now in existence or that might be 
devised, but telecommunications does not include the 
information content of any such transmission; 
 vii. Telecommunications ServiceCproviding 
telecommunications, including service provided by 
telecommunication service resellers, for a charge and 
includes telephone service, telegraph service, paging service, 
personal communication services and mobile or cellular 
telephone service, but does not include electronic 
information service or Internet access service.  

3. Sales Made in the Regular Course of Business 
a. The sales attributable to Louisiana under R.S. 

47:287.95 are those sales made in the regular course of 
business where the goods, merchandise or property are 
received in Louisiana by the purchaser. Similarly, where the 
goods, merchandise or property are received in some other 
state, the sale is attributable to that state. Sales made in the 
regular course of business include all sales of goods, 
merchandise or product of the business or businesses of the 
taxpayer. They do not include the sale of property acquired 
for use in the production of income. Where a taxpayer under 
a contract performs essentially a management or supervision 
function and receives a reimbursement of his costs plus a 
stipulated amount, the amounts received as reimbursed costs 
are not sales although the contract so designates them. The 
stipulated amount constitutes other gross apportionable 
income and shall be attributed to the state where the contract 
was performed. Where goods are delivered into Louisiana by 
a public carrier, or by other means of transportation, 
including transportation by the purchaser, the place at which 
the goods are ultimately received after all transportation has 
been completed shall be considered as the place at which the 
goods are received by the purchaser. The transportation in 
question is the initial transportation relating to the sale by 
the taxpayer, and not the transportation relating to a sale or 
subsequent use by the purchaser. 

b. Where the goods are delivered by the taxpayer-
vendor in his own equipment, it is presumed that such 
transportation relates to the sale. Where the goods are 
delivered by a common or contract carrier, whether shipped 
F.O.B. shipping point, and whether the carrier be a pipeline, 
trucking line, railroad, airline or some other type of carrier, 
the place where the goods are ultimately received by the 
purchaser after the transportation by the carrier has ended is 
deemed to be the place where the goods are received by the 
purchaser. Actual delivery rather than technical or 
constructive delivery controls. 

c. Where the transportation involved is 
transportation by the purchaser, in determining whether or 
not the transportation relates to the sale by taxpayer, 
consideration must be given to the following principles. 
 i. To be related to the initial sale, the 
transportation should be commenced immediately. However, 
before a lapse of time is conclusive, consideration must be 
given to the nature and character of the goods purchased, the 
availability of transportation, and other pertinent 
circumstances. 
 ii. The intent of the parties to the sale must also 
be considered. The intent and purpose of the purchaser may 
be determined directly, or by an evaluation of the nature and 
scope of his operation, customs of the trade, customary 
activities of the purchaser, and all pertinent actions and 
words of the purchaser at the time of the sale. 
 iii. In order for the transportation by the purchaser 
to be related to the initial sale by the taxpayer to the 
purchaser, such transportation must be generally the same in 
nature and scope as that performed by the vendor or by the 
carrier. There is no difference between a case where a 
taxpayer in Houston ships F.O.B., Houston, to a purchaser in 
Baton Rouge, by common carrier, and a case where all facts 
are the same except that the purchaser goes to Houston in his 
own vehicle and returns with the goods to Baton Rouge. 

d. Generally, transportation by public carrier 
pipelines is accorded the same treatment as transportation by 
any other type of public carrier. Actual delivery to the 
purchaser controls, rather then technical or constructive 
delivery. However, because of the nature and character of the 
property, the type of carrier, and customs of the trade, the 
natural resources in the pipeline carrier may become 
intermixed with other natural resources in the pipeline and 
lose their particular identity. Where delivery is made to a 
purchaser in more than one state, or to different purchasers 
in different states, peculiar problems of attribution arise. In 
solving such problems consideration must be given to the 
following principles. 
 i. Where it can be shown that a taxpayer in one 
state sold a quantity of crude oil to a purchaser in another 
state, and the oil was transported to the purchaser by pipeline 
carrier, the sale will be attributed to the state where the crude 
oil is received by the purchaser, even though the crude oil 
delivered might not be the identical oil sold because of 
commingling in the pipeline. Custom of the trade indicates 
the purchaser buys a quantity of oil of certain quality rather 
than any specific oil. 
 ii. In situations involving several deliveries in 
several different states to one or more purchasers, the 
general rules should be applied with logic and common 
sense. 

e. In determining the place of receipt by the 
purchaser after the initial transportation has ended, peculiar 
problems may be created by the storage of the property 
purchased immediately upon purchase at a place other than 
the place of intended use. The primary problem created by 
such storage is in determining whether or not the 
transportation after storage relates to the sale by the 
taxpayer. Generally, the rules and principles set forth above 
will control where the storage is of temporary nature, such as 
that necessitated by lack of transportation, by change from 
one means of transportation to another, or by natural 
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conditions. In cases where the storage is permanent or semi-
permanent, delivery to the place of storage concludes the 
initial transportation, and the sale is attributed to the place of 
storage. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:287.95, R.S. 47:287.785, and R.S. 47:1511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Income Tax Section, LR 14:105 (February 
1988), repromulgated by the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, LR 30:482 (March 2004), amended LR 31:694 
(March 2005). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0503#019 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Corporation Franchise TaxCAllocation of Taxable Capital 
(LAC 61:I.306) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:606(A)(1)(e), R.S. 47:1511, 
and in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, amends LAC 61:I.306 
relative to attribution of revenue from telephone, 
telecommunications, and other similar services. 

Louisiana Revised Statute 47:606(A)(1)(e) states that 
"Revenues from services…shall be attributed within and 
without Louisiana on the basis of the location at which the 
services are rendered." By amending LAC 61:I.306, the 
Department of Revenue will provide specific guidance to 
telephone, telecommunications, and other similar services, 
concerning revenue to be included in the numerator of the 
revenue ratio. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 3. Corporation Franchise Tax 
§306. Allocation of Taxable Capital 

A. - A.1.d.vi. … 
e. Revenue from Services Other Than from 

Transportation 
 i. For purposes of this Subsection, in addition to 
any other revenue attributed to Louisiana, the following 
revenue from providing telephone, telecommunications, and 
similar services shall be attributed to Louisiana: 

(a). revenue derived from charges for providing 
telephone "access" from a location in this state. Access 
means that a call can be made or received from a point 
within this state. An example of this type of receipt is a 
monthly subscriber fee billed with reference to a service 
address located in the state and without regard to actual 
usage; 

(b). revenue derived from charges for unlimited 
calling privileges, if the charges are billed by reference to a 
service address located in this state; 

(c). revenue from intrastate telephone calls or 
other telecommunications, except for mobile 
telecommunication services, beginning and ending in 
Louisiana; 

(d). revenue from interstate or international 
telephone calls or other telecommunications, except for 
mobile telecommunication services, either beginning or 
ending in Louisiana if the service address charged for the 
call or telecommunication is located in Louisiana, regardless 
of where the charges are billed or paid; 

(e). revenue from mobile telecommunications 
service: 
 (i). revenue from mobile 
telecommunications services shall be attributed to the place 
of primary use, which is the residential or primary business 
street address of the customer; 
 (ii). if a customer receives multiple 
services, such as multiple telephone numbers, the place of 
primary use of each separate service shall determine where 
the revenue from that service is attributed; 
 (iii). revenue from mobile 
telecommunications services shall be attributed to Louisiana 
if the place of primary use of the service is Louisiana; 
 (f). definitions. For the purpose of this 
Subparagraph, the following terms have the following 
meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
 (i). CallCa specific telecommunications 
transmission; 
 (ii). CustomerCany person or entity that 
contracts with a home service provider or the end user of the 
mobile telecommunications service if the end user is not the 
person or entity that contracts with the home service 
provider for mobile telecommunications service; 
 (iii). Home Service ProviderCthe facilities-
based carrier or reseller with which the customer contracts 
for the provision of mobile telecommunications services; 
 (iv). Place of Primary Use of Mobile 
Telecommunications ServiceCthe street address 
representative of where the customer's use of mobile 
telecommunications service primarily occurs. This address 
must be within the licensed service area of the home service 
provider and must be either the residential or the primary 
business street address of the customer. The home service 
provider shall be responsible for obtaining and maintaining 
the customer’s place of primary use as prescribed by R.S. 
47:301(14)(i)(ii)(bb)(XI); 
 (v). Service AddressCthe address where the 
telephone equipment is located and to which the telephone 
number is assigned; 
 (vi). TelecommunicationsCthe electronic 
transmission, conveyance or routing of voice, data, audio, 
video, or any other information or signals to a point, or 
between or among points, by or through the use of any 
medium such as wires, cables, satellite, microwave, 
electromagnetic wires, light waves or any combination of 
those or similar media now in existence or that might be 
devised, by telecommunications does not include the 
information content of any such transmission; 
 (vii). Telecommunication ServiceCproviding 
telecommunications including service provided by 
telecommunication service resellers, for a charge and 
includes telephone service, telegraph service, paging service, 
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personal communication services and mobile or cellular 
telephone service, but does not include electronic 
information service or Internet access service; 
 ii. revenue derived from services, other than from 
transportation, or telephone, telecommunications, and 
similar services, shall be attributed to the state in which the 
services are rendered. In the case of services in which 
property is not a material revenue-producing factor, the 
services shall be presumed to have been performed in the 
state in which the personnel engaged in rendering the 
services are located. In the case of services in which the use 
of personnel is not a material revenue-producing factor, the 
services shall be presumed to have been performed in the 
state in which the property (whether owned by the taxpayer 
or not) used in rendering the services is located. In the case 
of services in which personnel and property are material 
revenue-producing factors, such revenue shall be attributed 
within and without this state on the basis of the arithmetical 
average of the following two ratios: 

(a). the ratio that salaries and wages paid to 
personnel performing such services within Louisiana bear to 
total salaries and wages for personnel performing such 
services both within and without Louisiana; and 

(b). the ratio that the value of property used in 
Louisiana in performing the services (whether owned by the 
taxpayer or not) bears to the total value of all property used 
in performing the services both within and without 
Louisiana; 
 iii. in any case in which it can be shown that 
charges for services constitute a pure recovery of the cost of 
performing the services and do not include a reasonable rate 
of profit, amounts received in reimbursement of such costs 
shall not be construed to be revenues received and shall be 
omitted from both the numerator and denominator of the 
attribution ratio. 

A.1.f. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:606(A)(1)(e) and R.S. 47:1511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Income and Corporation Franchise Taxes 
Section, Office of Group III, LR 6:25 (January 1980), amended LR 
11:108 (February 1985), repromulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 30:453 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:696 (March 2005). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0503#018 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Sales and Use Tax Exclusion for Manufacturing  
Machinery and Equipment  

(LAC 61:I.4301) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:301 and R.S. 47:1511 and 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, has amended LAC 
61:I.4301 relative to the definitions of cost price, lease or 
rental, and sales price for sales tax purposes. 

Act 1 of the 2004 First Extraordinary Session provides 
exclusions from state sales and use tax for the purchase, 
lease or rental, and use of machinery and equipment used 
predominately and directly to manufacture tangible personal 
property or produce, process, and store food, fiber, or timber 
for sale. These amendments provide guidance regarding the 
definition of cost price under R.S. 47:301(3)(i), lease or 
rental under R.S. 47:301(28)(a), and sales price under R.S. 
47:301(13)(k) as those terms relate to the purchase of 
machinery and equipment used predominantly and directly 
in the manufacturing of tangible personal property for sale 
or the production, processing, and storing of food, fiber, or 
timber for sale. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 43. Sales and Use Tax 
§4301. Definitions 

A. - C. … 
* * * 

Cost PriceC 
a. - g. … 
h. Under R.S. 47:301(3)(i), machinery and 

equipment is excluded from cost price if the property is used 
to manufacture tangible personal property for sale to another 
or is used directly in the production, processing, and storing 
of food, fiber, or timber for sale; is used predominantly and 
directly in the manufacturing process or in the actual 
manufacturing for agricultural purposes; and is eligible for 
depreciation for federal income tax purposes. The exclusion 
is subject to a phase-in between July 1, 2004, and June 30, 
2010. The exclusion applies only to manufacturing 
businesses that have been assigned, by the Louisiana 
Department of Labor, North American Industrial 
Classification System (NAICS) codes within the 
agricultural, forestry, fishing, and hunting Sector 11 or the 
manufacturing Sectors 31 through 33 as they existed in 
2002. Businesses that are not registered with the Louisiana 
Department of Labor or that have not been assigned these 
NAICS codes are not eligible to claim this exclusion. The 
exclusion applies to state sales or use tax and local sales or 
use tax if the political subdivision has adopted this exclusion 
by ordinance. 
 i.(a). ManufacturingCputting raw materials 
through a series of steps that brings about a change in their 
composition or physical nature in order to make a new and 
different item of tangible personal property that will be sold 
to another. The manufacturing process begins when a raw 
material is introduced into the first machine or item of 
equipment that begins the change of the composition or 
physical nature of the raw materials into another product. 
The manufacturing process ends when the final product for 
sale has been placed into the packaging that will normally be 
delivered to the final consumer. 

(b). Manufacturing for Agricultural 
PurposesCthe activities involved in the production, 
processing, and storing of food, fiber and timber for sale. 
Manufacturing for agricultural purposes begins when the soil 
or field is prepared for planting and ends when the harvested 
product is removed from the farm. 
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 ii.(a). For machinery or equipment used to 
manufacture tangible personal property for sale, used 
predominantly means that more than 50 percent of the 
property's use is in the process of causing a change in the 
composition or physical nature of the raw materials that are 
to become a final product for sale. 

(b). For machinery or equipment used to 
produce, process, and store food, fiber, or timber for sale, 
used predominantly means the property is used more than 50 
percent of the time in the production, processing, and storing 
of food, fiber, or timber for sale. Equipment that remains 
idle between growing seasons is considered used for the 
production, processing, and storing of food, fiber, or timber 
during that time. 
 iii.(a). For a manufacturer of tangible personal 
property for sale, used directly describes the manner in 
which the machinery or equipment used in a plant facility 
alters the physical characteristics of the product during the 
manufacturing process. Used directly means that the 
machinery and equipment must have an immediate effect 
upon those products manufactured for ultimate sale to 
another person. Machinery and equipment used to 
manufacture intermediate products for internal use, such as 
manufacturing tools, internally consumed energy, and 
processing chemicals do not qualify for the exclusion. 

(b). For a manufacturer of food, fiber, or timber 
for sale, used directly describes the manner in which the 
machinery or equipment is involved in the manufacturing for 
agricultural purposes. Used directly means that the 
machinery and equipment must have an immediate effect 
upon the production, processing, or storing of food, fiber, or 
timber. Examples of machinery and equipment used directly 
in manufacturing for agricultural purposes include 
machinery and equipment for planting, cultivating, 
fertilizing, spraying, harvesting, producing, processing, and 
storing of food, fiber, or timber for sale. This exclusion 
includes materials used in the construction of facilities used 
to store the food, fiber, or timber for sale. Machinery and 
equipment used directly in manufacturing for agricultural 
purposes does not include facilities used to store equipment. 
 iv. Eligible for DepreciationCthe machinery or 
equipment is a principal component of the manufacturing 
process and has a substantially useful life beyond the taxable 
year, although it does not have to be capitalized and 
depreciated to qualify for exclusion. Examples of property 
considered eligible for depreciation are robotic welding 
machines in a vehicle manufacturing plant; pumps, valves, 
and compressors in a petrochemical plant; and tractors, 
trailers, and harvesting equipment on a commercial farm. 
Examples of items that do not qualify include nuts, bolts, 
gaskets, lubricants, filters, and fuel. 
 v. The following also qualify for exclusion as 
manufacturing machinery and equipment: 

(a). computers and software that control, 
communicate with or control other computer systems that 
control, or control heating or cooling systems for machinery 
or equipment that manufactures tangible personal property 
for sale. Computers and software used for inventory and

accounting systems or that control non-qualifying machinery 
and equipment do not qualify for the exclusion; 

(b). machinery and equipment necessary to 
control pollution at a plant facility where pollution is 
produced by the manufacturing operation. For purposes of 
this exclusion, machinery and equipment necessary to 
control pollution includes equipment that reduces the 
volume, toxicity, or potential hazards of the waste products 
generated by the manufacturing operation or transforms the 
waste product for reuse in the manufacturing operation; and 

(c). machinery and equipment used to test or 
measure raw materials, the property undergoing 
manufacturing, or the finished product, when such test or 
measurement is a necessary part of the manufacturing 
process. This includes machinery and equipment used to test 
the quality or quantity of the product for sale before, during, 
or after the manufacturing process. 
 vi. Persons acting as mandataries (agents) of 
manufacturers can claim the exclusion on purchases of 
qualifying machinery and equipment that will ultimately be 
used by a business assigned an eligible NAICS code by the 
Department of Labor. The mandatary must obtain the 
manufacturer's exclusion Form R-1071 and provide it, with a 
copy of the contract of mandate or the Department's Form R-
1072 (Manufacturer's Designation of Mandate), to the seller 
at the time of purchase. 
 vii. Repairs to manufacturing machinery and 
equipment to keep the property in an ordinarily efficient 
working order generally do not qualify for exclusion under 
R.S. 47:301(3)(i) because neither the labor nor the materials 
used in these repairs are eligible for depreciation for federal 
income tax purposes. However, the purchase of tangible 
personal property used in the repair would qualify for the 
exclusion provided the property is a major component of the 
manufacturing process and has a substantially useful life 
beyond the current period. 
 viii. Charges for labor and materials that are 
classified as capital improvements under Internal Revenue 
Service Regulations may be excluded as follows. 

(a). Charges for labor are excluded from tax 
when performed on qualifying manufacturing machinery and 
equipment that is movable property at the time of the capital 
improvement. The vendor that provides the labor is allowed 
to treat the materials used as purchased for resale. All 
materials that are incorporated into qualifying machinery 
and equipment during the capital improvement qualify for 
exclusion from tax. 

(b). Materials incorporated into qualifying 
manufacturing machinery and equipment that is immovable 
property at the time of the capital improvement are eligible 
for exclusion as follows: 
 (i). In instances when a manufacturer 
purchases materials that will become a component part of 
qualifying machinery or equipment, the materials are 
excluded from tax. 
 (ii). A repair vendor's purchases of 
materials that will become component parts of qualifying 
machinery or equipment are excluded from tax if the vendor



Louisiana Register   Vol. 31, No. 3   March 20, 2005 699

has been designated as a mandatary of a manufacturer. The 
vendor must obtain the manufacturer's exclusion Form  
R-1071 and provide it, with a copy of the contract of 
mandate or the department's Form R-1072, to the seller at 
the time of purchase. Manufacturers that supply this form to 
their mandataries must maintain a schedule of the tangible 
personal property used in these capital improvements. 

(c). Purchases of spare machinery and 
equipment, such as compressors, pumps, and valves, qualify 
for the exclusion provided these items satisfy the definition 
of machinery and equipment provided in R.S. 47:301(3)(i). 
Spare machinery and equipment, such as bolts, nuts, gaskets, 
oil, etc., which cannot be depreciated for federal income tax 
purposes, do not qualify for the exclusion. 

* * * 
Lease or RentalC 

a. - b.vii. … 
 viii. the lease or rental of machinery and equipment 
used predominantly and directly in the process of 
manufacturing tangible personal property for sale or used 
directly in the production, processing, and storing of food, 
fiber, or timber for sale. The meanings of manufacturing, 
used predominantly, and used directly provided in LAC 
61:I.4301.C.Cost Price.h apply. This exclusion applies to 
state sales or use tax and local sales or use taxes if the 
political subdivision has adopted this exclusion by 
ordinance. 

c. - d. … 
* * * 

Sales PriceC 
a.i. - ix.(b). 

 x. R.S. 47:301(13)(k) excludes machinery and 
equipment used predominantly and directly in the process of 
manufacturing tangible personal property for sale or used 
directly in the production, processing, and storing of food, 
fiber, or timber for sale from the sales price. For purposes of 
sales price, the interpretations provided under LAC 
61:I.4301.C.Cost Price.h will apply. This exclusion applies 
to state sales tax and local sales taxes if the political 
subdivision has adopted this exclusion by ordinance. To 
determine sales price subject to tax, this exclusion is 
deducted from the total amount charged to the customer after 
allowances for trade-ins and before any exemptions provided 
elsewhere in the law. 

b.i. - ii. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in Accordance with R.S. 
47:301 and R.S. 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Section, LR 13:107 (February 
1987), amended by the Department of Revenue and Taxation, Sales 
Tax Division, LR 21:957 (September 1995), LR 22:855 (September 
1996), amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services 
Division, LR 27:1703 (October 2001), LR 28:348 (February 2002), 
LR 28:1488 (June 2002), LR 28:2554 (December 2002), LR 
28:2556 (December 2002), LR 29:186 (February 2003), LR 
30:1306 (June 2004), LR 31:697 (March 2005). 

 
Raymond E. Tangney 
Senior Policy Consultant 

0503#020 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Signature Alternative for Preparers (LAC 61:I.4906) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, has adopted LAC 61:I.4906, which will 
allow the preparers of tax returns to sign original returns and 
amended returns by means of a rubber stamp, mechanical 
device, or computer software program.  

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered  
by the Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 49. Tax Collection 
§4906. Signature Alternatives for Preparers 

A. Income tax return preparers may sign original returns 
and amended returns by means of a rubber stamp, 
mechanical device, or computer software program. These 
alternative methods of signing must include either a 
facsimile of the individual preparer's signature or the 
individual preparer's printed name. Income tax return 
preparers utilizing one of these alternative means are 
personally responsible for affixing their signatures to returns. 
Income tax preparers who use alternative methods of signing 
must provide all of the other preparer information that is 
required on returns. This regulation does not alter the 
signature requirements for any other type of document 
currently required to be manually signed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:101(A)(2), R.S. 47:1511 and R.S. 47:295. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 31:699 (March 2005). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0503#010 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Tax Commission 

Ad Valorem Taxation  
(LAC 61:V.101, 201-213, 304, 703, 705,  

901, 907, 1103, 1307, 1503, 1701, 2501, 2503,  
2705, 2707, 3103, 3105, 3501, and 3511-3525) 

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.), and in compliance with 
statutory law administered by this agency as set forth in R.S. 
47:1837, the Tax Commission has adopted, amended and/or 
repealed Sections of the Louisiana Tax Commission 
Real/Personal Property rules and regulations for use in the 
2005 (2006 Orleans Parish) tax year. 

This Rule is necessary in order for ad valorem tax 
assessment tables to be disseminated to property owners and 
local tax assessors no later than the statutory valuation date
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of record of January 1, 2005. Cost indexes required to 
finalize these assessment tables are not available to this 
office until late October 2004. The effective date of this 
Emergency Rule is January 1, 2005. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 
Part V.  Ad Valorem Taxation 

Chapter 1. Constitutional and Statutory Guides to 
Property Taxation 

§101. Constitutional Principles for Property Taxation 
A. - E. ... 
F. Special Assessment Level 

1. Applies to the assessment of residential property, 
receiving the homestead exemption, which is owned and 
occupied by any person(s) 65 years of age or older, who 
meets all eligibility requirements. (See La. Constitution of 
1974, Article VII, §18.G). 

2. To qualify for the special assessment level the 
person applying must have an adjusted gross income not to 
exceed $56,744 for the tax year 2005 (2006 Orleans Parish). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 15:1097 (December 1989), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:477 (March 
1998), LR 26:506 (March 2000), LR 31:700 (March 2005).  
Chapter 2. Policies and Procedures for Assessment 

and Change Order Practices 
§201. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana Tax Commission (LTC) is 
Constitutionally and statutorily required to aid, assist, and 
supervise assessors in the administration of ad valorem 
taxation. The LTC shall also administer and enforce all laws 
related to the state supervision of local property tax 
assessments and the assessments of public service, bank 
stock, and insurance company properties. 

B. In order to promote effective performance and 
compliance with the requirements of the Constitution and 
laws of the state, the LTC shall issue and, from time to time, 
may amend or revise rules and regulations containing 
minimum standards of assessment and appraisal 
performance standards and devise necessary forms to 
enforce a uniform statewide system for the preparation of 
assessment lists, tax rolls, and assessment changes to the tax 
rolls. 

C. The Policies and Procedures for Assessment and 
Change Order Practices are intended as a support manual to 
the existing laws of Louisiana and the existing LTC 
Real/Personal Property rules and regulations, and as each 
may be amended in the future relative to legislative action 
and constitutional amendment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Section 18(E) and R.S. 
47:1837. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:700 (March 2005).  
§203. Change Orders 

A. General Provision 
1. Assessors' offices shall submit to the LTC, change 

orders, in a form approved by the LTC, to correct errors and 
omissions in the tax rolls of the appropriate parish. 

2. A change shall be submitted in writing (TC 21 
Form), by electronic (Alpha 4) media, or by LTC website 
(www.latax.state.la.us) E-mail media format (see 
§203.B.3.d. below). 

3. All change requests shall comply with Louisiana 
law and the Real/Personal Property rules and regulations of 
the LTC. 

4. All change orders shall require that the actual 
physical address of the property be identified. In the event 
that there is no actual physical street address, the assessor's 
office shall furnish the street/highway location and a brief 
location description. 

5. Change order batches may not exceed a total of 50 
change order requests. 

6. Change orders will be subject to audit by the LTC 
and/or legislative auditor to verify statewide assessment 
procedures are in compliance with state law. 

7. All change order requests requiring additional 
explanation of reason shall be furnished to the LTC staff by 
the assessors' offices, no later than Friday noon, immediately 
proceeding the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month. 

8. All change order requests shall be reviewed for 
approval or denial by the chairman and commission 
members in an open meeting of the LTC; which meetings are 
regularly scheduled to be held on the second and fourth 
Tuesdays of each month. 

9. All change order requests by Louisiana Tax 
Commission (LTC) website filing shall be subject to the 
provisions of Title 47, Sections 1835, 1966, 1990, and/or 
1991Cfor payment of assessment fees to the LTC; listing 
and assessing of omitted or in any way erroneously assessed 
properties; changes or corrections of assessments by the 
LTC; and cancellation of erroneous or double assessments. 
Assessments of omitted or improperly assessed property 
shall appear upon a supplemental roll and be filed in the 
same manner as regular tax rolls. A notice by mail shall be 
given that the assessment roll is completed, and that it is 
exposed for examination in the office of the assessor 
whether the tax is on movable or immovable property, and 
that ten days are allowed the parties to make to the assessors 
any protest they may wish to urge against the assessment; in 
the case of unknown owners, notice shall be published twice 
during a period of 10 days in the official journal of the 
parish. In case there is no protest the assessment without any 
further requisite or formality of any kind shall be final and 
conclusive on the parties assessed. In the event of any such 
protest, the decision of the assessors thereon shall be 
promptly made and be final; the assessment without further 
formality and requisite of any kind shall be binding and 
conclusive on the parties assessed; however the parties 
assessed can appeal to the courts within five days from the 
decision of the assessor on the protest, which decision shall 
be deemed notice, and the delay of five days shall begin 
from the day of entry by the assessors of the words "appeal 
rejected" on the supplemental roll. 

B. Form of the Change Orders 
1. Written change orders shall be prepared by using 

LTC Form TC 21. TC 21 change order requests will no 
longer be acceptable, effective with the ad valorem tax year 
2003 (2004 Orleans Parish). 
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2. Electronic (Alpha 4) change order requests. Alpha 4 
change order requests will no longer be acceptable, effective 
with the ad valorem tax year 2003 (2004 Orleans Parish). 

3. LTC website (E-mail) change order system requests 
shall comply with the Louisiana State Tax Commission 
Electronic Change Order Export Specifications. This 
specifications file may be found in the download section at 
the following website addresses: 

www.latax.state.la.us 
www.geomange.com/downloads.htm 

a. Each parish assessors' office shall be identified 
by their Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) 
Parish identification code. 

b. All export data submitted to the LTC shall 
require utilization of the standard format currently posted on 
the LTC's website. Any parish that plans to import an 
individual parish change order data batch into the LTC's 
website must adhere to the LTC's format specifications. 

c. Each parish will contact the LTC's change order 
supervisor to set up their individual parish login name and 
password. The chosen parish password should be 
confidentially guarded to protect the integrity of each 
parish's change order system. 

d. Assessors' offices shall be required to submit all 
change orders to the LTC's website effective immediately 
following filing of parish tax rolls to the LTC for ad valorem 
tax year 2003 (2004 Orleans Parish). 

C. Required Content of all Change Orders 
1. All change orders shall include the following: 

a. enumerated reason for the change order as 
provided in all regulations of the LTC; 

b. specifications identified and described in the LTC 
Electronic Change Order Export Specifications download 
file (see §203.3.b. above); 

c. physical address of the property, including full 
numerical street address with applicable zip code. If vacant 
land, street/highway and brief location description must be 
provided. 

D. Reasons for Change Orders (refer to website for list 
of reasons) 

1. All change orders submitted shall delineate one of 
the following reasons: 

a. Adjudicated to ParishCDate adjudicated: 
b. Adjudicated to City of: (municipality)CDate 

adjudicated: 
c. Exempt Non-profit organization Application 

filed/exclusive use verified. CategoryCAcquisition Date: 
d. Homestead ExemptionCAssessor's Office errorC  

Acquisition Date: Occupancy Date: 
e. Homestead ExemptionCTaxpayer applicationC 

Acquisition Date: Occupancy Date: 
f. Homestead ExemptionCSenior Citizen (over 65) 

FreezeCLand: Improvement: 
g. ImprovementCCancel. Dual to Assessment No. 

(provide no.) 
h. ImprovementCCancel/Not taxableCReason: 
i. ImprovementCDecrease value, error in square 

feet and/or classification calculation. 
j. ImprovementCIncrease value, error in square 

feet and/or classification calculation. 
k. ImprovementCTaxpayer appraisal: assessor 

concurs. 

l. Industrial ExemptionCExempt Roll. Contract 
No.CImprovement:  Personal Property: 

m. Industrial ExemptionCExpired. Contract No.C 
Expiration Date: 

n. LandCCancel. Dual to Assessment No.  
(provide no.) 

o. LandCDecrease valueCReason: 
p. LandCIncrease valueCReason: 
q. Personal PropertyCCancel. Business closed prior 

to January 1 (August 1COrleans Parish) 
r. Personal PropertyCTaxpayer provided additional 

informationCReason: 
s. Personal PropertyCAssessor's Office errorC 

Reason: 
t. Public PropertyCProperty donated or sold to a 

bona fide exempt public entityCAcquisition Date: 
u. Public PropertyCLeased or rented to non-public 

partyCDate of Lease:  Term of Lease: 
v. RedemptionCRemoved from adjudication rollC 

Date actually adjudicated: 
w. RedemptionCTaxpayer redeemed from tax saleC 

Date actually sold: 
x. Use ValueCAllow under categoryCNo. of acres: 
y. Use ValueCChange classification category toC 

No. of acres: 
z. Use ValueCRemove, no longer qualifies or sold 

for four times use value determination. 
aa. OtherCReason: 

2. The LTC change order reasons list is subject to 
periodic revision, as may be deemed necessary. 

E. Homestead Exemptions. All requests for homestead 
exemption shall comply with the Louisiana Constitution, 
statutes, and LTC real/personal property rules and 
regulations. 

1. All change orders submitted for delayed homestead 
exemptions shall be subject to: 

a. the January 1 assessment date, except for Orleans 
Parish which shall be subject to an August 1st assessment 
date; 

b. taxpayer's actual acquisition date and occupancy 
date. 

2. Homestead exemptions shall not exceed $7,500 in 
assessed value. 

3. Taxpayers are entitled to only one bona fide 
homestead exemption within the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Section 20. (A)(1), 
R.S. 47:1703, R.S. 47:1703A, R.S. 47:1703.1.B, R.S. 47:1835, R.S. 
47:1837, R.S. 47:1952, R.S. 47:1966, R.S. 47:1990, and R.S. 
47:1991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:700 (March 2005).  
§205. Property Not Entitled to Homestead Exemption 

A. Properties purchased by bond for deed contracts. 
B. Living Trusts 

1. When the taxpayer is an income beneficiary of a 
trust; or 

2. When the taxpayer is the beneficiary of a revocable 
living trust. 

C. Usufructary in possession, unless a surviving spouse 
or minor children continue to occupy the property as their 
primary residence. 
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D. Vacant lot subdivided from homestead, that is not the 
primary residence. 

E. Immovable property with a residence under 
construction, and not completed as of January 1 (August 1 

Orleans Parish). The property should be assessed as land 
only without benefit of the homestead exemption. 

F. Commercial companies/corporations owning a 
residence. 

G. Undivided property ownership interests, including, 
but not limited to property owned in indivision by two or 
more persons. 

H. Any portion within a residence used as a business, 
including, but not limited to a beauty salon, bookkeeping 
service, and repair shop must be distinguished and separately 
assessed and without benefit of the homestead exemption. 

I. Timberland and agricultural use value properties. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Sections 20 and 21, 
Constitution, Article VII, Section 20(A)(1) and Section 20(A)(2), 
LTC Title 61, Chapter 35, Rule A.2.C. and Rule 3503.D.8., R.S. 
47:1837, R.S. 47:2301, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303, R.S. 47:2307 
and R.S. 47:2307.C(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:701 (March 2005).  
§207. Use Value Properties 

A. Assessors shall confirm eligibility of use value 
properties and list the properties indicating its use value 
classification, number of acres (by each classification), and a 
physical address (or clear directions to property) to enable 
the LTC staff appraisers to locate, if deemed necessary. 

B. To be eligible for use value assessment classification, 
the property must be bona fide agricultural, horticultural, 
marsh or timberland and assessed at its use value under the 
provisions of Article VII, Section 18(C) of the Louisiana 
Constitution of 1974. Use value properties must meet the 
definition of bona fide agricultural, horticultural, marsh or 
timberland as described in R.S. 47:2301 ("Use value of bona 
fide agricultural, horticultural and timberland means the 
highest value of such land when used by a prudent 
agricultural, horticultural or timber operator for the sole 
purpose of continuing the operation, as a commercial 
agricultural, horticultural or timber use"). R.S. 47:2302 
("land devoted to the production for sale, in reasonable 
commercial quantities" or in the case of timberland 
"timberland under a contract with a state or federal agency 
restricting its use for timber production"), and further 
requirements are: 

1. at least three acres in size (no rounding up to 
achieve this acreage requirement), or have produced an 
average gross annual income of at least $2,000 in one or 
more of the designated classifications for the four 
proceeding years, per R.S. 47:2303.A; and 

2. the landowner has signed an agreement that the 
land will be devoted to one or more of the designated uses as 
defined in R.S. 47:2304; 

3. taxpayer shall sign a use value application, which 
shall be considered permanent (except the parishes of 
Orleans and Jefferson, which require that the taxpayer shall 
sign a use value application at least every four years), per 
R.S. 47:2304(B)(1); except that in the event of a sale of the 
property, the purchaser must sign a new application within 
60 days from date of the sale; 

4. Loss of Eligibility. If land having a use value 
assessment is sold for a price four times greater than its use 
value, the land shall be presumed to be no longer eligible to 
be classified as bona fide agricultural, horticultural, marsh or 
timberland. Some legislative provisions are further identified 
in R.S. 47:2305; 

5. if the land ceases to meet the use value eligibility 
requirements, the taxpayer is statutorily responsible for 
notifying the assessor where the property is located within 
60 days following the effective date of loss of eligibility; 

6. in the event that the landowner obtains a use value 
assessment by means of false certifications on his 
application, or fails to timely notify the assessor of loss of 
eligibility for use value assessment, he shall be liable for a 
penalty equal to five times the difference between the tax 
under a market value assessment and the tax under a use 
value assessment for the tax years in which the use value 
assessment was attributable to the false certifications or 
failure to timely notify the assessor of loss of eligibility 
(R.S. 47:2306). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Section 18(C), R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2301 through R.S. 47:2308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:702 (March 2005)  
§209. Non-Profit Organizations 

A. All assessors' offices shall furnish an application for 
exemption-real estate taxes to any organization wishing to 
apply for ad valorem exemptions provided for in 
Constitution, Article VII, Section 21.B and obtain all 
necessary supporting documents from the applicant in order 
to determine the exemption eligibility. 

B. The assessors' offices shall review and determine 
whether the organization complies with the exclusive use 
requirement mandated by Constitution, Article VII, Section 
21.B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Section 21.B and R.S. 
47:1837.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:702 (March 2005).  
§211. Industrial Exemption Properties 

A. All manufacturing establishments granted Industrial 
Exemptions granted by the governor through the Department 
of Economic Development (DED) shall be listed on the 
parish exempt rolls, until such time as the exempted contract 
has expired or is terminated. 

B. Assessors' offices shall review all Industrial 
Exemption applications and DED contracts issued to 
determine proper exempt status for ad valorem taxation 
purposes. 

1. If an assessor determines that any portion of an 
industrial exemption is not eligible for ad valorem tax 
exemption, pursuant to R.S. 47:4304, notice shall 
immediately be submitted to DED, with written ineligibility 
reasons given. 

2. All contract status reports submitted to the 
assessor's offices by DED and the taxpayer's annual LAT 5-
A reports shall be reviewed for accuracy. Any inaccuracies 
noted shall be reported, in writing, to DED immediately 
upon discovery. 
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3. Assessor's offices shall review and confirm contract 
expiration dates and immediately notify DED, in writing, of 
any disparity identified. 

4. If any exempted manufacturing business is 
determined to have ceased its operations (business closed) 
during a contracted exemption period, the assessor's office 
should provide notice to DED for cancellation of the 
appropriate exemption contract. 

5. Assessors are urged to obtain DED's manufacturing 
establishments exemption rules and regulations, identified in 
R.S. 47:4306. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Section 21(F), R.S. 
47:1837; R.S. 47:4301, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:702 (March 2005).  
§213. Assessment Policies and Procedures 

A. All property within the state of Louisiana shall be 
assessed at fair market valuations and either placed on the 
regular tax rolls, exempt rolls, or adjudicated tax rolls. 

B. Assessors shall value property at 100 percent fair 
market value and then assessed valuations shall be 
determined per the percentage classification requirements of 
the Constitution, Article VII, Section 18(B). 

C. All property shall be reappraised and valued in 
accordance with the Constitution at intervals of not more 
than four years. This quadrennial cycle reappraisal date is 
determined by the LTC. 

D. The assessor's office may reappraise property based 
on property transfers more often than every four years, if 
transfers indicate that property in all or a part of the 
assessing district, or within a certain classification, was 
appraised inaccurately or was not uniformly appraised 
during the prior reappraisal. However, the reappraisal shall 
not be applied on a parcel-by-parcel basis, but rather, across 
the board in a given geographical area. Values determined 
from recent transfers would then be indexed to the date of 
the last reappraisal date. 

E. The assessors shall submit applicable reporting forms 
to all taxpayers located within their parish, whether taxable 
or exempt, to ensure equity and uniformity in the assessment 
and valuation of all properties utilizing proper reporting 
data. If a taxpayer fails to report or files a false report, the 
assessors should apply those penalties provided for in state 
law. 

F. Allowable methodology sources for assessors to 
obtain property information includes, but is not limited to: 

1. aerial photography; 
2. building permits; 
3. CAMA and/or mapping records; 
4. conveyance records; 
5. city directories; 
6. deed fax records; 
7. demolition permits; 
8. inspection of books and accounts of taxpayers; 
9. insurance liability policy levels; 
10. legal news publications; 
11. newspaper publications; 
12. 911 Emergency Response System records; 
13. occupational licenses; 
14. occupancy permits; 
15. physical Inspections; 
16. real estate firmsCmultiple listings reports; 
17. taxpayer reports, using proper forms; 
18. utility records; 
19. voter registrations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, Section 18, R.S. 
47:1703, R.S. 47:1703.1, R.S. 47:1703.C., R.S. 47:1837, R.S. 
47:1951, R.S. 47:1952, R.S. 47:1953, R.S. 47:1955, R.S. 47:1956, 
R.S. 47:1957, R.S. 47:1959, R.S. 47:1961, R.S. 47:1971, R.S. 
47:1972, R.S. 47:2306, R.S. 47:2323, R.S. 47:2324, R.S. 47:2325, 
R.S. 47:2329, R.S. 47:2330 and R.S. 47:2331. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:703 (March 2005).  
Chapter 3. Real and Personal Property 
§304. Electronic Change Order Specifications, 

Property Classifications Standards and 
Electronic Tax Roll Export Specifications 

A. Electronic Change Order Specifications 
Notes: Programmer must allow for all fields listed below, 
whether they have values or not. The tilde (~) will be used as 
the delimiter for character data and the comma (,) will be used 
as the field delimiter. (See examples) It is not necessary to use 
spaces between commas that contain no data. Each record is a 
line in the ASCII text file and must have a carriage return and 
line feed at the end of each line. 

Please Note: Please contact the Louisiana Tax Commission 
(225) 925-7830 Extension 212 or the Tax Commission's web 
site www.latax.state.la.us/download.asp for the latest 
specifications before creating the files listed below. 
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Change Order Information 
 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
Tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (ex. 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, 2005) 
Fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. FIPS table furnished (See FIPS table.) 
Assessment_no Character 20 Yes Assessment number. 
Ward Character 3 Yes Ward identification number. 

Assessor_ref_no Character 15 No Assessor's Change Order reference item number assigned by the 
Assessor's staff. 

Place_fips Numeric 5 Yes FIPS Place Code of Ward or Municipality. (See FIPS table.) 
Parcel_address Character 50 No Parcel, Physical or E911 Address of property location. 
Assessment_type  Character 2 Yes "RE" = Real Estate, "PP" = Personal Property, "PS" = Public Service 
Assessment_status Character 2 Yes "AC" = Active, "AJ" = Adjudicated, "EX" = Exempt/Tax Free 
Homestead_exempt Numeric 1 Yes 0 = None (Default), 1 = Homestead Exemption, 2 = Over 65 Freeze 

Homestead_percent Numeric 3 Yes Homestead Exemption percentage to be applied to assessment. (Format: 
100 = 100% - Default) 

Restoration_tax_expmt Character 1 Yes Restoration Tax Abatements of historical property. "N" = No (Default), 
"Y" = Yes 

Taxpayer_name Character 50 Yes Taxpayer's name. (Format: Last, First or Company Name) 
contact_name Character 50 No Contact's name for corporate taxpayers or C/O accounts. 
taxpayer_addr1 Character 40 Yes Taxpayer's address line 1. 
taxpayer_addr2 Character 40 Yes Taxpayer's address line 2. 
taxpayer_addr3 Character 40 No Taxpayer's address line 3. 
tc_fee_pd Character 1 No Tax Commission fee paid. "N" = No (Default), "Y" = Yes 
reason Character 100 Yes Reason for requesting change order. (See LTC Reasons List.) 
check_no Character 10 No Check number if Tax Commission fee is due. 
check_amount Numeric 6 No Check amount if Tax Commission fee is due. 

ltc_sub_class_old1 Character 4 Yes 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 1. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new1 Character 4 Yes 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 1. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old1 Numeric 6 Yes Old quantity of item 1 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new1 Numeric 6 Yes New quantity of item 1 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old1 Character 1 Yes Old unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new1 Character 1 Yes New unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old1 Numeric 1 Yes 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 1.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new1 Numeric 1 Yes 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 1.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total1 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 1. 
value_new_total1 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 1. 
value_old_hs1 Numeric 4 Yes Old homestead credit of property class item 1. 
value_new_hs1 Numeric 4 Yes New homestead credit of property class item 1. 
value_old_tp1 Numeric 9 Yes Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 1. 
value_new_tp1 Numeric 9 Yes New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 1. 

ltc_sub_class_old2 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 2. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new2 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 2. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old2 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 2 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new2 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 2 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old2 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new2 Character 1 No New unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 
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Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

other_exempt_old2 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 2.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new2 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 2.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total2 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 2. 
value_new_total2 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 2. 
value_old_hs2 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 2. 
value_new_hs2 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 2. 
value_old_tp2 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 2. 
value_new_tp2 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 2. 

ltc_sub_class_old3 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 3. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new3 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 3. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old3 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 3 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new3 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 3 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old3 Character 1 No 
Old unit of measure for item 3. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property or 
"Y" = Years for Personal Property assessments.) 

units_new3 Character 1 No 
New unit of measure for item 3. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property or 
"Y" = Years for Personal Property assessments.) 

other_exempt_old3 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 3.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new3 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 3.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total3 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 3. 
value_new_total3 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 3. 
value_old_hs3 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 3. 
value_new_hs3 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 3. 
value_old_tp3 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 3. 
value_new_tp3 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 3. 

ltc_sub_class_old4 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 4. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new4 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 4. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old4 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 4 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new4 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 4 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old4 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new4 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old4 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 4.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new4 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 4.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total4 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 4. 
value_new_total4 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 4. 
value_old_hs4 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 4. 
value_new_hs4 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 4. 
value_old_tp4 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 4. 
value_new_tp4 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 4. 

ltc_sub_class_old5 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 5. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 
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Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

ltc_sub_class_new5 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 5. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old5 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 5 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new5 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 5 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old5 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new5 Character 1 No New unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old5 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 5.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new5 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 5.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total5 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 5. 
value_new_total5 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 5. 
value_old_hs5 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 5. 
value_new_hs5 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 5. 
value_old_tp5 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 5. 
value_new_tp5 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 5. 

ltc_sub_class_old6 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 6. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new6 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 6. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old6 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 6 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new6 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 6 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old6 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 1. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new6 Character 1 No New unit of measure for item 6. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old6 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 6.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new6 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 6.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total6 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 6. 
value_new_total6 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 6. 
value_old_hs6 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 6. 
value_new_hs6 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 6. 
value_old_tp6 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 6. 
value_new_tp6 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 6. 

ltc_sub_class_old7 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 7. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new7 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 7. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old7 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 7 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new7 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 7 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old7 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 7. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new7 Character 1 No New unit of measure for item 7. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old7 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 7.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new7 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 7.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 
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Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
value_old_total7 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 7. 
value_new_total7 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 7. 
value_old_hs7 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 7. 
value_new_hs7 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 7. 
value_old_tp7 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 7. 
value_new_tp7 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 7. 

ltc_sub_class_old8 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 8. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new8 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 8. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old8 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 8 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new8 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 8 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old8 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 8. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new8 Character 1 No New unit of measure for item 8. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old8 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 8.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new8 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 8.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total8 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 8. 
value_new_total8 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 8. 
value_old_hs8 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 8. 
value_new_hs8 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 8. 
value_old_tp8 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 8. 
value_new_tp8 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 8. 

ltc_sub_class_old9 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 9. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new9  Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 9. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old9 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 9 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

quantity_new9 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 9 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old9 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 9. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new9 Character 12 No New unit of measure for item 9. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old9 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 9.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new9 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 9.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total9 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 9. 
value_new_total9 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 9. 
value_old_hs9 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 9. 
value_new_hs9 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 9. 
value_old_tp9 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 9. 
value_new_tp9 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 9. 

ltc_sub_class_old10 Character 4 No 

Old LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 10. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

ltc_sub_class_new10 Character 4 No 

New LTC Property Sub-Class Code of item 10. (See LTC Property Class 
Code Listings. Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu 
of the Tax Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 
2006 [Orleans 2007].) 

quantity_old10 Numeric 6 No Old quantity of item 10 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 
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Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

quantity_new10 Numeric 6 No New quantity of item 10 in Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s) or 
Improvement(s). 

units_old10 Character 1 No Old unit of measure for item 10. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

units_new10 Character 1 No New unit of measure for item 10. (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square 
Feet, "L" = Lots, "A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements for Real Property 

other_exempt_old10 Numeric 1 No 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 10.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

other_exempt_new10 Numeric 1 No 
New status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 10.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption),  
2 = Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

value_old_total10 Numeric 10 Yes Old total assessed value of property class item 10. 
value_new_total10 Numeric 10 Yes New total assessed value of property class item 10. 
value_old_hs10 Numeric 4 No Old homestead credit of property class item 10. 
Value_new_hs10 Numeric 4 No New homestead credit of property class item 10. 
Value_old_tp10 Numeric 9 No Old taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 10. 
Value_new_tp10 Numeric 9 No New taxpayer's share of assessed value of property class item 10. 

Property_desc Character Unlimited Yes Personal, Public Service or Real Estate Property Description 
(Legal Description). 

 
 

Fields listed in these specifications highlighted in yellow 
indicate newly added fields for the current tax year. Fields 
listed in these specifications highlighted in turquoise indicate 
an existing field revised showing old-field name or value in 
red below new field name. Always check the Louisiana Tax 
Commission's (LTC) web site at www.latax.state.la.us for the 
latest Electronic Change Orders Specifications for uploading 
batches to the LTC's "On-line Change Order System" web 
site. All files created by an Assessor's office and/or their 

software vendor is subject to review and testing by the 
Louisiana Tax Commission for compliance and accuracy of 
data submitted. A sample of data in the format designated 
herein is due to the Louisiana Tax Commission by October 
15th each year for testing and certification of the format by the 
Tax Commission. 

 

 
B. Property Classifications Standards 
 

Item Class 
Code Class Description (Tc-33) Sub-Class 

Code 
Sub-Class Description  

(Grand Recap) Class Definition 

Real Estate  
1 10 Agricultural Lands Class I 1000 Agricultural Lands Class I  

(Use Value) 
Agricultural Land - Class I Containing 3 Acres Or 
More In Area Using The First Four Classifications 
Of The U.S. Soil Conservation Service.  

2 11 Agricultural Lands Class Ii 1100 Agricultural Lands Class II  
(Use Value) 

Agricultural Land - Class Ii Containing 3 Acres Or 
More In Area Using The First Four Classifications 
Of The U.S. Soil Conservation Service. 

3 12 Agricultural Lands Class Iii 1200 Agricultural Lands Class III 
(Use Value) 

Agricultural Land - Class Iii Containing 3 Acres Or 
More In Area Using The First Four Classifications 
Of The U.S. Soil Conservation Service.  

4 13 Agricultural Lands Class Iv 1300 Agricultural Lands Class IV 
(Use Value) 

Agricultural Land - Class Iv Containing 3 Acres Or 
More In Area Using The First Four Classifications 
Of The U.S. Soil Conservation Service.  

5 15 Timberlands Class I 1500 Timberlands Class I  
(Use Value) 

Timberland - Class I Containing 3 Acres Or More In 
Area Capable Of Producing More Than 120 Cubic 
Feet Of Timber Per Acre Per Annum. 

6 16 Timberlands Class Ii 1600 Timberlands Class II  
(Use Value) 

Timberland - Class Ii Containing 3 Acres Or More In 
Area Capable Of Producing More Than 85 But Less 
Than 120 Cubic Feet Of Timber Per Acre Per 
Annum. 

7 17 Timberlands Class Iii 1700 Timberlands Class III  
(Use Value) 

Timberland - Class Iii Containing 3 Acres Or More 
In Area Capable Of Producing Less Than 85 Cubic 
Feet Of Timber Per Acre Per Annum. 

8 18 Timberlands Class Iv 1800 Timberlands Class IV  
(Use Value) 

Timberland - Class Iv Containing 3 Acres Or More 
In Area Capable Of Producing Less Than 85 Cubic 
Feet Of Timber Per Acre Per Annum And Which Is 
Subject To Periodic Overflow From Natural Or 
Artificial Water Courses, And Which Is Otherwise 
Consider To Be Swampland. 

9 20 Fresh Water Marsh 2000 Fresh Water Marsh  
(Use Value) 

Fresh Water Marsh Containing 3 Acres Or More In 
Area Being Wetland Not Devoted To Agricultural, 
Horticultural Or Timber Purposes. 

10 22 Brackish Water Marsh 2200 Brackish Water Marsh  
(Use Value) 

Brackish Water Marsh Containing 3 Acres Or More 
In Area Being Wetland Not Devoted To Agricultural, 
Horticultural Or Timber Purposes.  
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Item Class 
Code Class Description (Tc-33) Sub-Class 

Code 
Sub-Class Description  

(Grand Recap) Class Definition 

11 24 Salt Water Marsh 2400 Salt Water Marsh (Use Value) Salt Water Marsh Containing 3 Acres Or More In 
Area Being Wetland Not Devoted To Agricultural, 
Horticultural Or Timber Purposes.  

12 30 Other Acreage  
(Greater Than 3 Acres) 

3000 Agricultural Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Agricultural Land 3 Acres Or More In Area Valued 
At Market Level Since A Use Value Classification 
Has Not Been Filed With The Assessor's Office. 

13    3010 Timber Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Timber Land 3 Acres Or More In Area Valued At 
Market Level Since A Use Value Classification Has 
Not Been Filed With The Assessor's Office. 

14    3020 Marsh Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Marsh Land 3 Acres Or More In Area Valued At 
Market Level Since A Use Value Classification Has 
Not Been Filed With The Assessor's Office. 

15    3030 Commercial Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Commercial Land 3 Acres Or More In Area 
Designated For Office And Retail Use. 

16    3040 Industrial Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Industrial Land 3 Acres Or More In Area Designated 
For Industrial Use. 

17    3050 Institutional Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Institutional Land 3 Acres Or More In Area 
Designated For Public Buildings, Schools, Churches 
And Properties That Have Unique Uses. 

18    3060 Residential Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Residential Land 3 Acres Or More In Area Used For 
Residential Permanent Improvements Such As 
Single-Family Residences, Townhouses And 
Apartments.  

19    3070 Trailer Parks  
(Market Value) 

Residential Land 3 Acres Or More In Size Used For 
Trailer Parks. 

20 32 Other Acreage (Greater Than 1 
Acre But Less Than 3 Acres) 

3200 Agricultural Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Agricultural Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 
3 Acres In Area Valued As Market Value Since Use 
Value Form Has Not Been Filed With The Assessor's 
Office. 

21    3210 Timber Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Timber Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 3 
Acres In Area Valued As Market Value Since Use 
Value Form Has Not Been Filed With The Assessor's 
Office. 

22    3220 Marsh Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Marsh Lands More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 3 
Acres In Area Valued As Market Value Since Use 
Value Form Has Not Been Filed With The Assessor's 
Office. 

23    3230 Commercial Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Commercial Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 
3 Acres In Area Designated For Office And Retail 
Use. 

24    3240 Industrial Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Industrial Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 3 
Acres In Area Designated For Industrial Use. 

25    3250 Institutional Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Institutional Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 
3 Acres In Area Designated For Public Buildings, 
Schools, Churches And Properties That Have Unique 
Uses. 

26    3260 Residential Acreage  
(Market Value) 

Residential Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 3 
Acres In Area Used For Residential Permanent 
Improvements Such As Single-Family Residences, 
Townhouses And Apartments.  

27    3270 Trailer Parks  
(Market Value) 

Residential Land More Than 1 Acre But Less Than 3 
Acres In Area Used For Residential Trailer Parks. 

Total Acreage And Values (As Acres) 
28 34 Subdivision Lots 3400 Residential Subdivision Lot Residential Subdivision Lots That Have Recorded 

Plats. 
29  (As Per Recorded Subdivision 

Plats) 
3410 Trailer Park Trailer Park Lots That Have Recorded Plats. 

30    3420 Commercial Subdivision Lot Commercial Subdivision Lots That Have Recorded 
Plats. 

31    3430 Industrial Subdivision Lot Industrial Subdivision Or Business Park Lots That 
Have Recorded Plats. 

32    3440 Institutional Subdivision Lot Institutional Subdivision Or Campus Lots That Have 
Recorded Plats. 

33 36 Other Lots 3600 Residential Non-Subdivision  
Lot 

Residential Non-Subdivision Lot Or Parcel Not 
Having Recorded Plats. 

34  (Consisting Of 1 Acre Or Less) 3610 Trailer Park Trailer Park Non-Subdivision Lot Or Parcel Not 
Having Recorded Plats. 

35    3620 Commercial Non-Subdivision 
Lot 

Commercial Acreage Less Than 3 Acres In Size 
(Market Value). 

36    3630 Industrial Non-Subdivision Lot Industrial Acreage Less Than 3 Acres In Size 
(Market Value). 
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Item Class 
Code Class Description (Tc-33) Sub-Class 

Code 
Sub-Class Description  

(Grand Recap) Class Definition 

37    3640 Institutional Non-Subdivision 
Lot 

Institutional Acreage Less Than 3 Acres In Size 
Used By Government, Schools Or Churches (Market 
Value). 

38 40 Improvements: Residential 4000 Single Family Residence Single Family Residence (Free Standing Structure Or 
Improvement) Including Decks, Patios, Pavement, 
Swimming Pools, Hot Tubs (Jacuzzi), Gazebos, Etc. 

39    4010 Manufactured Housing Manufactured Housing (Mobile Homes/Trailers). 
40    4020 Townhouse/Duplexes  Includes Townhouse Or Duplexes. (Includes Stand 

Alone Triplexes and Fourplexes.) 
41    4030 Urban Row Houses Includes Urban Row Houses. 
42    4040 Apartments Includes Dormitories; High-Rise Apartments; Homes 

For The Elderly; Group Care Homes; 
Fraternity/Sorority Houses; Rooming And Boarding 
Houses; Bed & Breakfast Inns; And High-Rise Row 
Houses. (Includes Fourplexes Or Larger Units 
Consisting Of Multiple Buildings.)  

43    4050 Clubhouses Includes Clubhouses Used By Homeowner 
Associations Or Apartment Complexes. 

44    4060 Resort Cottages And Cabins Includes Resorts Cottages And Cabins Being Used 
As A Residential Rental Unit. 

45    4070 Log And Dome Houses Includes Log And Dome Houses. 
46    4080 Tropical Housing (Camps) Includes Tropical Housing; Camps; And Boathouses.
47    4090 Old Residences (Historical) Includes Older Residences That Have Classified As 

Antique Or Historical In Nature. 
48    4095 Storage Facilities And 

Workshops 
Includes Residential Storage Facilities, Workshops, 
Barns, Stables, Detached Garages, Greenhouses And 
Apartment Complex Laundromats. 

49    4099 Unidentified Residential 
Improvements 

Includes Those Residential Improvements Yet To Be 
Classified By Assessor's Staff. 

50 45 Improvements: Commercial Or 
Industrial 

4500 Clubs and Hotels Includes Hotels; City Clubs; Mortuaries; Clubhouse; 
Senior Centers; Country Clubs; Recreational 
Enclosures; And Health Clubs. 

51    4510 Motels Includes Motels (Extended-Stay Motels); Lodges; 
Bath Houses; And Guest Cottages. 

52    4520 Stores and Commercial 
Buildings 

Includes Restaurants Table Service, Dining Atriums 
And Cafeterias (Truck Stops, Fast Food And 
Playrooms); Markets; Drugstores; Discount Stores; 
Retail Stores; Department Stores; Barber Shop And 
Beauty Salons; Laundromats; Laundry And Dry 
Cleaning Stores; Shopping Centers; Bars/Taverns 
And Cocktail Lounges; Convenience Markets And 
Mini-Marts; Dairy Sales Building; Department And 
Mall Anchor Stores; Florist Shops; Roadside And 
Farmers' Markets; Neighborhood (Community, 
Regional, Discount, Mixed Retail With Apartments 
& Offices); Shopping Center Shells; Snack Bars; 
Warehouse Stores: Discount, Food And Showroom. 

53    4530 Garages, Industrials, Lofts and 
Warehouses 

Includes Industrial Buildings; Laboratories; Lofts; 
Computer Centers; Passenger Terminals; 
Broadcasting Facilities (Radio/TV Stations); 
Armories; Post Offices; Warehouses; Cold Storage 
Facilities; Creameries; Transit Warehouses; Mini-
Warehouses; Shipping Docks; Loading Docks; 
Hangers: Maintenance, Storage And T-Hangers; 
Complete Auto Dealerships; Showrooms; Garages: 
Service And Repair, Storage (Municipal And Service 
Sheds) Industrials, Engineering/R&D (Laboratories, 
Manufacturing, Light/Heavy); Flex-Mall Buildings; 
Mini-Lube Garages; Parking Structures; 
Underground Parking Garages; Misc. Buildings: 
Bakery, Bottle & Cannery Plants; Control Towers, 
Laundry, Boiler, Recycling, Sound Stage And 
Telephone. 

54    4540 Offices, Medical and Public 
Buildings 

Includes Office Buildings; Atriums/ Vestibules; 
Mechanical Penthouses; Parking Level Floors; 
Banks: Branch, Central Office And Mini-Banks; 
Medical Office Buildings And Dental Clinics; 
Dispensaries; General Hospitals, Outpatient And 
Surgical Centers; Convalescent Hospitals; Veterinary 
Hospitals; Kennels; Government Buildings, 
Community Service, Mixed-Use Facilities; Fire 
Stations: Staffed And Volunteer; Jails, Correctional 
Facilities And Police Stations; Offices And Office 
Building Shells; And Public Libraries. 
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Item Class 
Code Class Description (Tc-33) Sub-Class 

Code 
Sub-Class Description  

(Grand Recap) Class Definition 

55    4550 Churches, Theaters and 
Auditoriums 

Includes Churches, Sanctuaries, Churches With 
Sunday Schools; Church Fellowship Halls, 
Classrooms And Foyers/Narthexes; Fraternal 
Buildings; Theaters: Cinemas And Live Stage; 
Auditoriums; Casinos; Museums; Convention 
Centers; Arcade Buildings; Visitor Centers; Skating 
Rinks; Bowling Centers; Fitness Centers; 
Community Recreation Centers; Indoor Tennis 
Clubs; Handball/Racquetball And Pavilions. 

56 45 Improvements: Commercial Or 
Industrial 

4560 Sheds & Farm Buildings Includes Utility Buildings; Equipment Buildings; 
Golf Cart Buildings; Boat Storage Buildings And 
Sheds; Shed Office Structures; Materials Storage 
Buildings; Bulk Oil Storage Building; Tool Sheds; 
Prefabricated Sheds; Lumber Storage, Vertical 
Buildings; And Horizontal Sheds; Potato Storage 
Buildings; Fruit Packing Barns; Bulk Fertilizer 
Storage; Bag Fertilizer Storage; Seed Warehouses; 
Cotton Gin Buildings; Dehydrator Buildings; 
Dairies; Milk Houses; Barns; Free Stall Barns; Barn 
Loft; Hog Barns And Sheds; Sheep Barns And 
Sheds; Tobacco Barns; Stables; Arenas; Poultry 
Houses; Greenhouses; Labor Dormitories, Transient 
Labor Cabins; Corn Cribs, Farm Silos; Grain 
Handling Systems; Grain Elevators; Livestock, Hay 
And Sun Shelters; Enclosed And Screened Cage; 
Poultry Floor Operation, Breeder, Broiler And 
Turkey Barns; Sheds, Cattle, Loafing And Feeding; 
Environmental Storage; Controlled Atmosphere 
Buildings; Shop Buildings And Sheds;  

57    4599 Unidentified Commercial 
Improvements 

Commercial Improvements Yet To Be Classified By 
Assessor's Staff. 

Total Lots and Improvements (As Units) 

Total Real Estate Values 
Personal Property - Section A 

58 50 Inventories & Merchandise 5000 Inventories & Merchandise Inventories Of Items That Are Tangible Personal 
Property Which Are Held For Sale, Process Of 
Production, Consumed In The Production Of The 
Goods Or Services To Be Available For Sale Or Are 
Utilized In Marketing Or Distribution Activities. 

59 51 Machinery & Equipment 5100 Machinery & Equipment Machinery And Equipment 
60 52 Business Furniture & Fixtures 5200 Business Furniture & Fixtures Office Furniture And Equipment. 
61 53 Miscellaneous Personal Property 5300 Miscellanous Personal Property Miscellaneous Personal Property. 
62 54 Credits 

(Insurance & Finance Companies) 
5400 Credits  Loan And Finance Companies Personal Property. 

63 55 Leased Equipment 5500 Leased Equipment Lease Equipment Such As Copiers, Postage 
Machines, Computers, Phone Systems, Heavy 
Equipment, Etc. 

64 56 Pipelines 
(Other Than Public Service) 

5600 Lease Lines Pipelines - Leased 

65    5610 Gathering Lines Pipelines - Gathering Lines 
66    5620 Pipelines Other Than Public 

Service 
Pipelines Other Than Public Service Pipelines. 

67 57 Oil & Gas Surface Equipment 5700 Oil & Gas Surface Equipment  Oil And Gas Surface Equipment. 
   (Units Not To Exceed Total 

Number Of Wells) 
      

Total Personal Property - Section A (As Units) 
Personal Property - Section B 

68 60 Watercraft 6000 Watercraft Watercraft, Other Than Those Employed In Interstate 
Commerce, Is Subject To Valuation And Assessment 
By Parish Assessor. 

69 62 Aircraft 6200 Private Aircraft Privately Held Aircraft. 
70    6210 Commercial Aircraft Commercial Aircraft Other Than Public Service 

Airlines Aircraft. 
71 64 Financial Institutions 6400 Financial Institutions Financial Institutions Shares Of Stock Of All Banks, 

Banking Companies, Firms, Associations Or 
Corporations In The Banking Business. 

72 66 Drilling Rigs 6600 Drilling Rigs Drilling Rigs And Related Equipment. 
73 68 Oil & Gas Wells 6800 Oil Wells Oil Wells. 
74    6810 Gas Wells Gas Wells. 
75    6820 Injection Wells Injection Wells. 

Total Personal Property - Section B (As Units) 
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Item Class 
Code Class Description (Tc-33) Sub-Class 

Code 
Sub-Class Description  

(Grand Recap) Class Definition 

Public Service 
76 80 Public Service 8000 Airlines Commercial Airline Companies Assessed By 

Louisiana Tax Commission. 
77  (Number Of Tax Notices 

Generated) 
8010 Barge Lines Barge Line Companies Assessed By Louisiana Tax 

Commission. 
78    8020 Co-Op (Electric, Gas & Water) Electric, Gas And Water Public Utility Companies 

Assessed By Louisiana Tax Commission. 
79    8030 Pipelines Pipeline Companies Assessed By Louisiana Tax 

Commission. 
80    8040 Private Car Lines Rolling Stock Assessed By Louisiana Tax 

Commission. 
81    8050 Railroad Railroad Companies Assessed By Louisiana Tax 

Commission. 
82    8060 Telephone Telephone Companies Assessed By Louisiana Tax 

Commission. 
Total Public Service 
Grand Total 

 
 

C. Electronic Tax Roll Export Specifications 
 
Notes: Programmer must allow for optional fields not used. 
The tilde (~) will be used as the delimiter for character data 
and the comma (,) will be used as the field delimiter. (See 
examples) It is not necessary to use spaces between commas 
that contain no data. Programmer must allow for optional 
fields not used. Each record is a line in the ASCII text file and 
must have a carriage return and line feed at the end of each 

line. ASCII text file names must adhere to naming convention 
listed behind file information title. 
 
Please Note: Please contact the Louisiana Tax Commission for 
the latest specifications before creating the files listed below. 
(If you have any questions as to the format listed below 
contact the Louisiana Tax Commission at (225) 925-7830 
Extension 212.) 

 
 

Parish Information (Parish.txt) (Required) 
Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (See FIPS table.) 
gov_name Character 30 Yes Parish name (Example: St. Tammany Parish) 
gov_agency Character 40 Yes Agency name (Example: Assessor's Office) 
address1 Character 30 Yes Agency address line 1. 
address2 Character 30 Yes Agency address line 2. 
tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (Format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
City Character 20 Yes City name (Example: Covington) 
State Character 2 Yes State name (Example: LA) 
Zip Numeric 5 Yes Zip code (Example 70433). 
zip4 Character 4 Yes Extended zip code (9999). 

 
Assessment Information (Assmt.txt) (Required) 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (See FIPS table.) 
assessment_no Character 20 Yes Assessment number. 

parcel_no Character 20 Yes Parcel Identification Number (PIN). (If your system currently does not 
support PINs use the assessment number as the PIN.) 

assessment_type Character 2 Yes "RE" = Real Estate, "PP" = Personal Property, "PS" = Public Service  
assessment_status Character 2 Yes "AC" = Active, "AJ" = Adjudicated, "EX" = Exempt/Tax Free 
homestead_exempt Numeric 1 Yes 0 = None (Default), 1 = Homestead Exemption, 2 = Over 65 Freeze 

homestead_percent Numeric 6.2 Yes Homestead Exemption percentage to be applied to assessment. (Format: 
100.00 (Default) = 100%) 

restoration_tax_expmt Character 1 Yes Restoration Tax Abatements on historical property. "N" = No (Default), 
"Y" = Yes 

tax_acct Numeric 6 No Tax account or tax bill number for grouping assessments together. 
place_fips Numeric 5 Yes FIPS Place Code of Ward or Municipality. (See FIPS Table) 
taxpayer_id Numeric 10 No Taxpayer's identification number. (Social Security or Federal ID numbers.) 
taxpayer_name Character 50 Yes Taxpayer's name. 
contact_name Character 50 No Contact's name for company taxpayers or for in care of (C/O) contacts. 
taxpayer_addr1 Character 40 Yes Taxpayer's address line 1. 
taxpayer_addr2 Character 40 Yes Taxpayer's address line 2. 
taxpayer_addr3 Character 40 No Taxpayer's address line 3. 
transfer_date Character 10 No Date of purchase. (Sample: ~01/01/1999~) 
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Assessment Value Information (Avalue.txt) (Required) 
Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax Year Submitting (Format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, Etc.) 
fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number (PIN). (See FIPS table.) 
Assessment_no Character 20 Yes Assessment number. 

market_value Numeric 12 Yes Fair Market Value of the real estate property class or the original cost of 
the personal property class. 

total_value Numeric 10 Yes Total assessed value of the property. (Total of the Taxpayer's (Taxable) 
share and Homestead credit added together.) 

Homestead_credit Numeric 4 Yes Assessed value to be credited by Homestead exemption. (Not to exceed 
7,500 of Assessed Value) 

taxpayer_value Numeric 10 Yes Assessed value to be paid by Taxpayer (Taxable amount). 

quantity  Numeric 6 Yes Quantity units in the number of Front Feet, Square Feet, Lot(s), Acre(s), 
Improvement(s) or Year(s) for Personal Property. 

units  Character 1 Yes Unit of Measure (Format: "F" = Front Feet, "S" = Square Feet, "L" = Lots, 
"A" = Acres, "I" = Improvements and "Y" = Year.) 

ltc_sub-class_code  Character 4 Yes 

LTC Property Sub-Class Code. (See LTC Property Class Code Listings.) 
Assessor's property classification codes can be used in lieu of the Tax 
Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 2006 [Orleans 
2007].) 

other_exempt Numeric 1 Yes 
Old status of any special exemptions to be applied to item 1.  
0 = None (Default), 1 = Commerce/Industry (Ten Year Exemption), 2 = 
Agricultural, 3 = Institutional 

 
Property Class Code Information (PC_Codes.txt) (Required If Not Using LTC Standard Codes) 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (See FIPS table.) 

assessor_class_code Character 4 Yes 
Assessor's property classification code to be used in lieu of the Tax 
Commission's Property Classification Codes until Tax Year 2006 [Orleans 
2007].) 

class_code_description Character 30 Yes Assessor's property class code description. 
Note: If your software currently does not support the Louisiana Tax Commission's Property Classifications Standards, you must submit your 
current classification codes and descriptions until for Tax Year 2006. 
 

Assessment Millage Information (Amillage.txt) (Required) 
Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (see fips table.) 
assessment_no Character 20 Yes Assessment number. 
group_description Character 35 Yes Millage description if not part of a group or group name of millage group. 
millage Numeric 6.2 Yes Millage (Format: 999.99) 
mill_type Character 1 Yes M = millage, f = flat/ltc/variable fees, a = acreage, o = overlay/partial 
place_fips Numeric 5 Yes Federal place code of taxing authority levying millage. (see fips table) 

parish_city Character 1 Yes Millage type indicator. "p" = parish tax, "c" = city tax (this field indicates 
which tax collector is collecting the millage.) 

percent Numeric 6.2 Yes Percent of assessed value applicable to the millage. (Applies to split 
district millages, use 100.00 as default value if percent is not applied.) 

total_tax Numeric 11.2 Yes Total taxes assessed to the property. (format: 99999999.99) 
homestead_credit Numeric 11.2 Yes Homestead exemption share of taxes credited. (Format: 99999999.99) 
taxpayer_tax Numeric 11.2 Yes Taxpayer's share of taxes owed. (format: 99999999.99) 

 
Millage Group Information (Tgroup.txt) (Required) 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (see fips table.) 
group_description Character 35 Yes Group description or name of millage. 
millage_description Character 35 Yes Description or name of millage. 
millage Numeric 6.2 Yes Millage (Format: 999.99) 
flat_mill Numeric 1 Yes Indicates flat fee (0=no flat fee, 1=flat fee used) 
flat_fee Numeric 6.2 Yes Flat fee amount (format 999.99) 
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Parcel Information (Parcel.txt) (Required) 
Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (Format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (See FIPS table.) 
assessment_no Character 20 Yes Assessment number. 

parcel_no Character 20 Yes 
Parcel Identification Number (PIN).  
(If your system currently does not support PINs use the assessment number 
as the PIN.) 

town_range Character 7 No Township/Range. (Format: T7S-R8E) 
section_no Numeric 3 No Section number parcel is located. 
ward_no Character 3 Yes Ward identification number. 
subd_name Character 30 No Subdivision name if available of parcel location. 
block_no Character 4 No Subdivision or city block/square number. 
lot_no Character 4 No First subdivision or city lot number owned by a particular owner. 
place_fips Numeric 5 Yes Federal Place Code of Taxing Authority. (See FIPS table) 
tax_dist Numeric 3 No Tax district number if available. 
par_address Character 50 No Parcel address. (E911 address) 
occupancy Character 50 No What the structure is being used for. (Residence, Office, Retail, etc.) 
vacant_lot Character 1 No "Y" = Yes, "N" = No (Default) 
transfer_date Character 10 No Date of purchase. (Format: ~01/01/1999~) 

purchase_price Numeric 12.2 Yes Purchase price of the real property only. (Format: 999999999.99)  
(Sales price required on all recent sales of real estate only.) 

verified Character 1 Yes Sale has been confirmed by the Assessor's office as being arms length. "Y" = 
Yes, "N" = No (Default) 

conv_book Character 4 Yes Conveyance book number. (Conveyance book/page or instrument number 
required on all recent real estate sales.) 

conv_folio Character 4 Yes Conveyance page (folio) number. (Conveyance book/page or instrument 
number required on all recent real estate sales.) 

instr_no Numeric 8 Yes Conveyance instrument number. (Conveyance book/page or instrument 
number required on all recent real estate sales.) 

instr_type Character 20 Yes Type of instrument. (Cash, Mortgage, Bond for Deed, etc.) 

lender_id Character 8 No Lender of Mortgage Company's identification number supplied by Tax 
Commission. 

 
Legal Description Information (Legal.txt) (Required) 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
tax_year numeric 4 yes tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code numeric 5 yes parish identification number. (see fips table.) 
assessment_no character 20 yes assessment number. 
legal_description character unlimited yes full legal description 

 
Additional Owner Information (Owners.txt) (Optional) 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
tax_year numeric 4 yes tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code numeric 5 yes parish identification number. (see fips table.) 
assessment_no character 20 yes assessment number. 
taxpayer_id numeric 10 no taxpayer's identification number. 
own_percent numeric 6.2 no percent of ownership. (format: 999.99) 
taxpayer_name character 50 yes taxpayer's name. 
contact_name character 50 no contact's name. 
taxpayer_addr1 character 40 no taxpayer's address line 1. 
taxpayer_addr2 character 40 no taxpayer's address line 2. 
taxpayer_addr3 character 40 no taxpayer's address line 3. 

Note: If your software supports multiple owners on one parcel or assessment record, use this file to list these additional owners indicating 
percent of ownership for each owner if available. The primary taxpayer should be listed here as well as in the Assessment file under 
taxpayer_name. 
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Document Information (Document.txt) (Optional) 
Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 

tax_year numeric 4 yes tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 
fips_code numeric 5 yes parish identification number. (see fips table.) 
assessment_no character 20 yes assessment number. 

path character variable length yes full path of document and file name (includes file extension). (jpg 
format) 

description character variable length yes description of the document. 

 
Improvement Information (Improve.txt) (optional) 

Field Name Field Type Field Length Required Comments 
tax_year Numeric 4 Yes Tax year submitting (format: 1999, 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004, etc.) 

fips_code Numeric 5 Yes Parish identification number. (See FIPS table.) 
Assessment_no Character 20 Yes Assessment number. 
Building_use Character 1 Yes "C" = commercial, "r" = residential 
Structure_no Character 12 No Structure number of improvement. 

imp_asqft Numeric 9.2 No Square footage of detached auxiliary building. (Format: 999999.99) 
imp_gsqft Numeric 9.2 Yes Square footage of carports or garages. (Format: 999999.99) 
imp_lsqft Numeric 9.2 Yes Square footage of living, heated or useable area. (Format: 999999.99) 

imp_nsqft Numeric 9.2 Yes Square footage of porches, non-living areas, etc. (Format: 
999999.99) 

imp_tsqft Numeric 9.2 Yes Total square footage of all structures assessed. (Format: 999999.99) 
no_baths Numeric 3.1 Yes Number of bathrooms. 

no_bedrooms Numeric 2 Yes Number of bedrooms. 
year_built Numeric 4 Yes Year built. (Format: 9999) 
year_renov Numeric 4 No Year renovated. (Format: 9999) 

life_expectancy Numeric 2 Yes Life expectancy of structure or improvement. 
fact_cond Numeric 4 No Condition of improvement. 
fact_qual Numeric 4 No Quality of construction. 
fact_wall Numeric 4 No Wall construction. 
fact_roof Numeric 4 No Roof construction. 

 
Important Notice: If the above specifications do not fit your 
data structure, please contact the Louisiana Tax Commission 
to discuss solutions. The data submitted must re-create your 
tax roll and be able to product both the Abstract Summary 
(TC-33) and grand recap summary reports to match those 
created within your office. Fields listed in these specifications 
highlighted in yellow indicate newly added fields or 
modifications to existing fields for the 2004 (Orleans 2005) 
tax year. Fields listed in these specifications highlighted in 
turquoise indicate an existing field revised showing old-field 
name or value in (RED) behind or below new field name. 
Always check the Louisiana Tax Commission's (LTC) web 
site at www.latax.state.la.us for the latest "Electronic Tax Roll 
Export Format Specifications" for submitting your office tax 
rolls to the Louisiana Tax Commission. All files created by an 
Assessor's office and/or their software vendor is subject to 
review and testing by the Louisiana Tax Commission for 
compliance and accuracy of data submitted. A sample of data 
in the format designated herein is due to the Louisiana Tax 
Commission by October 15 each year for testing and 
certification of the format by the Tax Commission. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:703 (March 2005).  
Chapter 7. Watercraft 
§703. TablesCWatercraft 

A. Floating EquipmentCMotor Vessels 
 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
12 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2004 0.979 1 94 .92 
2003 1.013 2 87 .88 
2002 1.030 3 80 .82 
2001 1.036 4 73 .76 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
12 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2000 1.045 5 66 .69 
1999 1.064 6 58 .62 
1998 1.067 7 50 .53 
1997 1.076 8 43 .46 
1996 1.094 9 36 .39 
1995 1.111 10 29 .32 
1994 1.150 11 24 .28 
1993 1.183 12 22 .26 
1992 1.206 13 20 .24 

 
B. Floating Equipment CBarges (Non-Motorized) 
 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
20 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2004 0.979 1 97 .95 
2003 1.013 2 93 .94 
2002 1.030 3 90 .93 
2001 1.036 4 86 .89 
2000 1.045 5 82 .86 
1999 1.064 6 78 .83 
1998 1.067 7 74 .79 
1997 1.076 8 70 .75 
1996 1.094 9 65 .71 
1995 1.111 10 60 .67 
1994 1.150 11 55 .63 
1993 1.183 12 50 .59 
1992 1.206 13 45 .54 
1991 1.220 14 40 .49 
1990 1.245 15 35 .44 
1989 1.278 16 31 .40 
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Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
20 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

1988 1.347 17 27 .36 
1987 1.404 18 24 .34 
1986 1.425 19 22 .31 
1985 1.438 20 21 .30 
1984 1.460 21 20 .29 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:924 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:204 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:479 (March 1998), LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 
(March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), 
LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 30:487 (March 2004), LR 31:715 
(March 2005). 

 
§705. Watercraft 

A. Watercraft Table 
 

104' - 159' 

Type 2004 Day 
Rate 

Base 
Cost Multiplier 

2003 
- 

1999 

1998 
- 

1994 

1993 
- 

1989 

1988 
- 

1984 

1983 
- 

Earlier 
Supply 
Boats 
(OSV) $2,600 $1,400,000 .87 1,048 877 706 536 365 

Off 
Shore 

Towing $2,600 $1,400,000 .87 1,048 877 706 536 365 
160' – 179' 

Supply 
Boats 
(OSV) $3,500 $2,400,000 1.00 2,064 1,728 1,392 1,056 720 

Off 
Shore 

Towing $4,100 $2,400,000 1.09 2,250 1,884 1,518 1,151 785 
180' – 199' 

Supply 
Boats 
(OSV) $4,000 $3,200,000 1.07 2,945 2,465 1,986 1,507 1,027 

Off 
Shore 

Towing $5,100 $3,200,000 1.23 3,384 2,833 2,283 1,732 1,181 
Anchor 

Handling 
Tug $5,000 $3,750,000 1.21 3,903 3,267 2,632 1,996 1,361 

200' – 219' 
Anchor 

Handling 
Tug/Supp $6,500 $5,400,000 1.43 6,641 5,560 4,479 3,398 2,317 
Off Shore 
Towing $7,000 $5,400,000 1.50 6,966 5,832 4,698 3,564 2,430 

220' – 230' 
Anchor 

Handling 
Tug/Supp $11,250 $6,400,000 2.11 11,613 9,723 7,832 5,942 4,051 
Off Shore 
Towing $8,000 $6,400,000 1.64 9,027 7,557 6,088 4,618 3,149 

231' and Longer 
Anchor 

Handling 
Tug/Supp $15,000 $8,140,000 2.62 18,340 15,360 12,370 9,384 6,398 

60' – 70' 
Crew 
Boats $500 $312,000 1.00 268 225 181 137 94 

85' – 99' 
Crew 
Boats $800 $416,000 1.00 358 300 241 183 125 

100' – 119' 
Crew 
Boats $1,800 $884,000 1.10 836 701 564 428 292 
Utility 
Vessels $1,500 $884,000 1.00 760 637 513 389 265 
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120' – 140' 
Crew Boats $2,200 $1,248,000 1.05 1,126 944 760 577 393 

Utility 
Vessels $2,000 $1,248,000 1.00 1,073 899 724 549 374 

141' – 165' 
Crew 
Boats $3,000 $2,392,000 1.00 2,057 1,722 1,388 1,053 718 
Utility 
Vessels $2,600 $2,392,000 .93 1,913 1,602 1,291 979 668 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:716 (March 2005).  
Chapter 9. Oil and Gas Properties 
§901. Guidelines for Ascertaining the Fair Market 

Value of Oil and Gas Properties 
A. - B.3. ... 
C. Explanations 

* * * 
Production DepthCis the depth from the surface to the 

active lower perforation in each producing zone in which the 
well is completed. As an example: a well completed in three 
separate zones is a triple completion and will have three 
different production depths as determined by the depth of the 
active lower perforation for each completion. 

* * * 
D. Well Fair Market Value Classifications. Each 

individual well must be listed separately by ward, field name 
and Louisiana Office of Conservation field code number, 
location (Sec.–Twp.-Range), lease name, well serial number, 
lease well number, well type and production depth (active 
lower perforation of each zone), in accordance with 
guidelines established by the Tax Commission. 

E. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 2:359 (November 1976), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 
(February 1982), LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 17:1213 (December 
1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:717 (March 2005).  
§907. TablesCOil and Gas 

A. ... 
For wells recompleted, use new perforation depth to determine 
fair market value. 

1. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1CNorth 
Louisiana 

 

Producing Depths Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

15% of Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 – 1,249 ft. 14.02 42.38 2.10 6.36 

1,250 – 2,499 ft. 13.08 24.84 1.96 3.73 
2,500 – 3,749 ft. 16.61 22.38 2.49 3.36 
3,750 – 4,999 ft. 25.80 26.55 3.87 3.98 
5,000 – 7,499 ft. 25.30 26.92 3.80 4.04 
7,500 – 9,999 ft. 55.35 39.40 8.30 5.91 

10,000 – 12,499 ft. 48.34 48.77 7.25 7.32 
12,500 – 14,999 ft. N/A 98.79 N/A 14.82 
15,000 – Deeper ft. N/A 125.99 N/A 18.90 

 

2. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 2CSouth 
Louisiana 

 
Producing 

Depths 
Cost – New  

by depth, per foot 
15% of Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 – 1,249 ft. 169.98 110.50 25.50 16.58 

1,250 – 2,499 ft. 88.82 205.54 13.32 30.83 
2,500 – 3,749 ft. 87.70 140.14 13.16 21.02 
3,750 – 4,999 ft. 64.34 109.96 9.65 16.49 
5,000 – 7,499 ft. 78.66 92.49 11.80 13.87 
7,500 – 9,999 ft. 93.46 90.32 14.02 13.55 

10,000 – 12,499 ft. 109.08 95.72 16.36 14.36 
12,500 – 14,999 ft. 119.64 120.72 17.95 18.11 
15,000 – 17,499 ft. 196.19 157.78 29.43 23.67 
17,500 – 19,999 ft. 196.05 206.04 29.41 30.91 

20,000 –  
Deeper ft. 

167.35 323.03 25.10 48.45 

 
3. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 3COffshore 

State Waters* 
 

Producing 
Depths 

Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

15% of Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 – 1,249 ft. N/A N/A N/A N/A 

1,250 – 2,499 ft. 469.52 494.92 70.43 74.24 
2,500 – 3,749 ft. 272.56 373.37 40.88 56.01 
3,750 – 4,999 ft. 272.52 384.44 40.88 57.67 
5,000 – 7,499 ft. 258.02 302.68 38.70 45.40 
7,500 – 9,999 ft. 252.47 271.70 37.87 40.76 

10,000 – 12,499 ft. 334.90 274.75 50.24 41.21 
12,500 – 14,999 ft. 356.80 254.56 53.52 38.18 
15,000 – 17,499 ft. 202.23 312.70 30.33 46.91 
17,500 – Deeper 

ft. 
N/A 289.88 N/A 43.48 

*As classified by Louisiana Office of Conservation. 
 
B. - B.1. ... 

2. Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 
 

Year 
Beginning 

Serial 
Number 

Ending Serial 
Number 

33 Year Life 
Percent Good 

2004 229010 Higher 96 
2003 227742 229009 92 
2002 226717 227741 88 
2001 225352 226716 84 
2000 223899 225351 80 
1999 222882 223898 76 
1998 221596 222881 72 
1997 220034 221595 68 
1996 218653 220033 64 
1995 217588 218652 60 
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Year 
Beginning 

Serial 
Number 

Ending Serial 
Number 

33 Year Life 
Percent Good 

1994 216475 217587 56 
1993 215326 216474 52 
1992 214190 215325 48 
1991 212881 214189 44 
1990 211174 212880 40 
1989 209484 211173 36 
1988 207633 209483 32 
1987 205211 207632 30 
1986 202933 205210 28 
1985 197563 202932 24 
1984 Lower 197562  20* 
VAR. 900000 Higher 50 

*Reflects residual or floor rate. 
* * * 

B.3. - C.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2326. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 
1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), 
LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:480 (March 1998), LR 25:313 
(February 1999), LR 26:507 (March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 
2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 
30:488 (March 2004), LR 31:717 (March 2005).  
Chapter 11. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment 
§1103. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment Tables 

A. Land Rigs 
 

Depth "0" TO 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $  $  
3,000 352,000 52,800 
4,000 414,100 62,100 
5,000 474,500 71,200 
6,000 534,900 80,200 
7,000 748,000 112,200 

Depth "0" TO 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $  $  
8,000 1,012,000 151,800 
9,000 1,310,500 196,600 
10,000 2,112,500 316,900 

Depth "0" TO 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
11,000 2,194,500 329,200 
12,000 2,276,500 341,500 
13,000 2,358,500 353,800 
14,000 2,498,000 374,700 
15,000 2,810,000 412,500 

Depth "0" TO 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
16,000 3,122,000 468,300 
17,000 3,716,000 557,400 
18,000 4,404,000 660,600 
19,000 4,986,100 747,900 
20,000 5,250,700 787,600 

Depth "0" TO 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
21,000 5,515,200 827,300 

25,000 + 6,573,300 986,000 

B - C. ... 
D. Well Service Rigs Land Only (Good Condition) 
 

Class Mast Engine Fair Market 
Value Assessment 

I 72' X 125M# 
75' X 150M# 

6V71 170,625 25,600 

II 96' X 150M# 
96' X 180M# 
96' X 185M# 
96' X 205M# 
96' X 210M# 
96' X 212M# 
96' X 215M# 

8V71 220,500 33,100 

III 96' X 240M# 
96' X 250M# 
96' X 260M# 

102' X 
215M# 

8V92 240,625 36,100 

IV 102' X 
224M# 
102' X 
250M# 
103' X 
225M# 
103' X 
250M# 
104' X 
250M# 
105' X 
225M# 
105, X 
250M# 

12V71 275,625 41,350 

V 105'X 
280M# 
106'X 
250M# 
108' X 
250M# 
108' X 
260M# 
108' X 
268M# 
108' X 
270M# 
108' X 
300M# 

12V71 
12V92 

285,250 42,800 

VI 110' X 
250M# 
110' X 
275M# 
112' X 
300M# 
112' X 
350M# 

12V71 
(2) 8V92 

336,000 50,400 

VII 117' X 
215M# 

(2) 8V92 
(2) 

12V71 

428,750 64,300 

 
E. - E.1. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:939 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), 
LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 24:487 (March 1998), LR 25:315 (February 
1999), LR 26:508 (March 2000), LR 27:426 (March 2001), LR 
28:519 (March 2002), LR 30:488 (March 2004), LR 31:718 (March 
2005).  
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Chapter 13. Pipelines 
§1307. Pipeline Transportation Tables 

A. - B. ... 
C. Pipeline Transportation Allowance for Physical 

Deterioration (Depreciation) 
 

Pipeline Transportation Allowance for Physical 
Deterioration (Depreciation) 

Actual Age Percent Good 
* * * 

18 30 
19 28 
20 24 

21 and older 20* 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:941 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), amended by the Department 
of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:489 (March 1998), LR 
25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:426 
(March 2001), LR 31:719 (March 2005).  
Chapter 15. Aircraft 
§1503. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) Table 

A. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 
 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
(10 Years) 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2004 0.979 1 92 .90 
2003 1.013 2 84 .85 
2002 1.030 3 76 .78 
2001 1.036 4 67 .69 
2000 1.045 5 58 .61 
1999 1.064 6 49 .52 
1998 1.067 7 39 .42 
1997 1.076 8 30 .32 
1996 1.094 9 24 .26 
1995 1.111 10 21 .23 
1994 1.150 11 20 .23 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:206 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 
(March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), 
LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 30:489 (March 2004), LR 31:719 
(March 2005).  
Chapter 17. Inventories 
§1701. Guidelines for Ascertaining the Fair Market 

Value of Inventories 
A. - B.3. ... 

4. does not include oil stored in tanks held by a 
producer prior to the first sale of the oil. Oil stored in tanks 
held by a producer prior to the first sale of the oil, shall not 
be subject to ad valorem tax. 

C. - H.note. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837, R.S. 47:2322, and Louisiana Constitution, Article VII 
§4(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 23:207 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 31:719 (March 2005).  
Chapter 25. General Business Assets 
§2501. Guidelines for Ascertaining the Fair Market 

Value of Office Furniture and Equipment, 
Machinery and Equipment and Other Assets 
Used in General Business Activity 

A. - G.2. ... 
H. Alternative Procedure 3 

1. This procedure should be used only if economic 
and/or functional obsolescence has affected the fair market 
value of the business and industrial personal property. 
Economic and/or functional obsolescence is a change in 
value of personal property above and beyond physical 
deterioration. Negative economic obsolescence may occur 
resulting in a positive adjustment known as munificence. 

2. - 2.b. ... 
c. adjust the number derived in Step 2 for the 

economic and/or functional obsolescence/munificence. 
d. ... 
e. the result is the fair market value of personal 

property that has been affected by economic and/or 
functional obsolescence/munificence. 

3. The procedure should be used only if the  
assessor has evidence that the personal property has  
incurred significant economic and/or functional 
obsolescence/munificence. 

4. If economic and/or functional obsolescence 
/munificence is not given when warranted, a value greater or 
lower than fair market value may result. 

5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 
1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
31:719 (March 2005).  
§2503. Tables Ascertaining Economic Lives, Percent 

Good and Composite Multipliers of Business 
and Industrial Personal Property 

A. ... 
1. Suggested Guidelines For Ascertaining Economic 

Lives of Business and Industrial Personal Property 
 

Business Activity/Type of Equipment 
Average 

Economic 
Life in Years 

* * * 
Coolers (walk-in) 3 

* * * 
Plastic Extrusion Equipment 12 

* * * 
Poultry Plants M & E 12 

* * * 
Towers  
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Business Activity/Type of Equipment 
Average 

Economic 
Life in Years 

 Cellular 20 
 Microwave 20 

* * * 
*If acquisition cost and age of service station equipment are not 

available, see Table 907.B-2 for alternative assessment procedure. 

 
B. Cost Indices 
 

Year Age National Average 
1926 = 100 

January 1, 
2004 = 100* 

2004 1 1157.3 0.979 
2003 2 1118.6 1.013 
2002 3 1100.0 1.030 
2001 4 1093.4 1.036 
2000 5 1084.3 1.045 
1999 6 1065.0 1.064 
1998 7 1061.8 1.067 
1997 8 1052.7 1.076 
1996 9 1036.0 1.094 
1995 10 1020.4 1.111 
1994 11 985.0 1.150 
1993 12 958.0 1.183 
1992 13 939.8 1.206 
1991 14 928.5 1.220 
1990 15 910.2 1.245 
1989 16 886.5 1.278 
1988 17 841.4 1.347 
1987 18 806.9 1.404 
1986 19 795.4 1.425 
1985 20 787.9 1.438 
1984 21 776.4 1.460 
1983 22 755.8 1.499 
1982 23 742.4 1.526 
1981 24 709.2 1.598 
1980 25 642.8 1.763 
1979 26 584.4 1.939 

*Reappraisal Date: January 1, 2004 – 1133.2 (Base Year) 
 
C. Percent Good 
 

Percent Good 

Age 
3 

Yr 
5 

Yr 
8 

Yr 
10 
Yr 

12 
Yr 

15 
Yr 

20 
Yr 

25 
Yr 

* * * 
4 .16 .34 .54 .67 .73 .79 .86 .90 

* * * 
6  .18 .33 .49 .58 .68 .78 .84 

* * * 
21       .20 .28 
22        .26 
23        .24 

* * * 

 
D. Composite Multipliers 2005 (2006 Orleans Parish) 
 

Composite Multipliers 2005 (2006 Orleans Parish) 
Age 3 

Yr 
5 

Yr 
8 

Yr 
10 
Yr 

12 
Yr 

15 
Yr 

20 
Yr 

25 
Yr 

1 .69 .83 .88 .90 .92 .93 .95 .96 
2 .50 .70 .80 .85 .88 .91 .94 .96 
3 .35 .54 .69 .78 .82 .88 .93 .96 
4 .17 .35 .56 .69 .76 .82 .89 .93 
5   .24 .45 .61 .69 .76 .86 .91 
6   .19 .35 .52 .62 .72 .83 .89 
7     .28 .42 .53 .66 .79 .86 
8     .24 .32 .46 .59 .75 .84 

Composite Multipliers 2005 (2006 Orleans Parish) 
Age 3 

Yr 
5 

Yr 
8 

Yr 
10 
Yr 

12 
Yr 

15 
Yr 

20 
Yr 

25 
Yr 

9     .22 .26 .39 .54 .71 .82 
10       .23 .32 .48 .67 .79 
11       .23 .28 .43 .63 .78 
12         .26 .37 .59 .76 
13         .24 .31 .54 .72 
14           .28 .49 .68 
15           .26 .44 .65 
16           .26 .40 .61 
17             .36 .59 
18             .34 .55 
19             .31 .48 
20             .30 .43 
21             .29 .41 
22               .39 
23               .37 
24               .32 
25               .35 
26               .39 

 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 10:944 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:207 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:317 
(February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 
2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 
30:489 (March 2004), LR 31:719 (March 2005).  
Chapter 27. Guidelines for Application, Classification 

and Assessment of Land Eligible to be 
Assessed at Use Value 

§2705. Classification 
A. ... 
B. The General Soil Maps, published by the U. S. 

Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation 
Service, listed in Map Index, together with the conversion 
legends prepared and distributed by the Natural Resources 
Conservation Service, shall be used for determining use 
value classifications in all parishes until the time that the 
Modern Soil Surveys for such parishes are completed. On 
January 1 of the year after which the Modern Soil Survey for 
any parish is completed, such Modern Soil Survey shall then 
be used for determining use value classifications for said 
parish and the use of the General Soil Map in said parish 
shall thereafter be discontinued. 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA – 

Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:208 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 25:318 (February 1999), LR 26:510 (March 
2000), LR 27:428 (March 2001), LR 28:521 (March 2002), LR 
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29:372 (March 2003), LR 30:491 (March 2004), LR 31:720 (March 
2005).  
§2707. Map Index Table 

A. ... 
 

Table 2707 
Parish Date 

(General) 
Map Number 

(General) 
Date Published or 
Status (Modern) 

* * * 
Vernon June 1971 4-R-16053-A June, 2004 

* * * 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:2301 and R.S. 47:2308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 3:290 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:946 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:208 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:511 
(March 2000), LR 27:428 (March 2001), LR 28:521 (March 2002), 
LR 29:372 (March 2003), LR 30:491 (March 2004), LR 31:721 
(March 2005).  
Chapter 31. Public Exposure of Assessments; Appeals 
§3103. Bonded Jobbers 

A. - C.4. ... 
5. a list of exhibits presented to the board of review; 
6. a list of witnesses who may be called, with a brief 

description of the anticipated testimony of the witness; and 
7. anticipated time needed to present the case 

D. Upon written notice by the commission, the parties 
and/or their attorneys or other representatives may be 
directed to meet and confer together by telephone or 
otherwise prior to the hearing, for the purpose of formulating 
issues and considering: 

1. simplification of issues; 
2. a limitation, where possible of the number of 

witnesses; 
3. the time required for presentations; 
4. stipulations as to admissibility of exhibits; 
5. submission of proposed findings of fact; 
6. such other matters as may aid in the simplification 

of the proceedings and the disposition of the matters in 
controversy. 

E. Actions requested and agreed upon at the conference 
shall be recorded in an appropriate statement by the party, 
which has initiated the appeal to the commission. The 
statement shall be filed with the commission seven days 
prior to the scheduled hearing before the commission. In the 
event of a disagreement over any item discussed at the 
conference, the statement filed with the commission shall 
state the specific item as to which there is disagreement 
together with a brief summary of the nature of the 
disagreement. 

F. Upon written notice by the commission, the parties or 
their attorneys or other representative may be directed to file 
legal memorandums with the commission 15 days prior to 
the hearing. The legal memorandum shall address in a 
concise manner the legal issues presented in the appeal to 

the commission together with a statement of any legal 
authority supporting the party's position. 

G. Any party with leave of the commission or hearing 
officer may present prepared sworn deposition testimony of 
a witness either narrative or in question and answer form, 
which shall be incorporated into the record as if read by the 
witness. The opposing party will be allowed to cross-
examine the witness and/or submit any sworn testimony 
given by the witness in the deposition. Seven copies of the 
prepared deposition testimony shall be filed with the 
commission. 

H. Any taxpayer or assessor may appear and be 
represented by an attorney at law authorized to practice law 
before the highest court of any state; a natural person may 
appear in his own behalf, or through an attorney or other 
representative; or a corporation, partnership or association 
may appear and be represented to appear before the 
commission by a bona fide officer, partner, full time 
employee, or any other person duly authorized as provided 
for on "Exhibit B, Appointment of Taxpayer Agent in 
Louisiana Tax Commission Ad Valorem Tax Appeal" Form 
3103.B). 

I. Every taxpayer or assessor, witness, attorney or other 
representative shall conduct himself in all proceedings with 
proper dignity, courtesy and respect. Disorderly conduct will 
not be tolerated. Attorneys shall observe and practice the 
standards of ethical behavior prescribed for attorneys at law 
by the Louisiana Bar Association. Any taxpayer or assessor, 
witness, attorney or other representative may be excluded by 
the commission from any hearing for such period and upon 
such conditions as are just for violation of this rule. 

J. All official hearings conducted in any proceeding 
shall be open to the public. All hearings shall be held in 
Baton Rouge, LA, unless the commission shall designate 
another place of hearing. 

K. The chairman shall order cases called in the order in 
which they have been scheduled for hearing, unless all 
parties present agree that a case may be taken out of order. 

L. A continuance shall not be granted due to an 
unexcused absence of a taxpayer, assessor or any 
representative, attorney or witness, at the time and place set 
for a scheduled hearing before the commission, without 
consent of the taxpayer and/or assessor. If such consent is 
refused, the hearing shall proceed and the case shall be heard 
upon such evidence that has been previously submitted on 
behalf of the absent taxpayer or assessor. 

M. The hearing shall be conducted informally. A 
transcript of the proceeding shall not be made unless 
requested by the taxpayer or assessor in writing at least 
seven days prior to the scheduled hearing. 

1. In the event of a request for a written transcript of 
the proceeding, the commission shall provide an official 
reporter to make and transcribe a stenographic record of the 
hearing and shall provide for such copies of the transcript as 
may be requested by any party or as may be required for the 
purposes of the commission upon payment of the cost of 
transcribing the hearing. 

N. All parties testifying shall be placed under oath by the 
commission at the onset of each hearing. 

O. Any evidence which would be admissible under the 
Rules of Evidence governing proceedings in the state of 
Louisiana, shall be deemed admissible by the commission. 
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The Louisiana rules of evidence shall be applied liberally in 
any proceeding before the commission. Either party may 
object to evidence not previously disclosed by the opposing 
party. The commission may exclude evidence, which is 
deemed by the commission to be incompetent, immaterial or 
unduly repetitious. 

P. The commission shall take official notice without 
further identification of the contents of the original records 
and documents in possession of the commission when duly 
certified copies thereof are offered into evidence and made a 
part of the record. Evidence offered at the board of review is 
not forwarded to the Tax Commission and must be submitted 
by the assessor/taxpayer in accordance with filing 
procedures for written appeals. The commission may receive 
other documentary evidence in the form of copies or 
excerpts or that which is incorporated by reference. 

Q. Documents and papers offered into evidence for a 
hearing before the commission shall be marked as exhibits. 
Exhibits offered by a taxpayer shall be marked "Exhibit 
Taxpayer _____" and shall be consecutively numbered. The 
taxpayer shall, at the time an exhibit is offered, state whether 
the exhibit contains information not furnished to the assessor 
before the end of the period for public exposure of the 
assessment lists. Exhibits offered by the assessor shall be 
marked "Exhibit Assessor _____" and shall be consecutively 
numbered. Four copies of all exhibits shall be provided to 
the commission, with a copy to the opposing party, 10 days 
prior to the scheduled appeal. Exhibits offered by the 
commission or its staff representative shall be marked 
"Exhibit Tax Commission _____" and shall be consecutively 
numbered. Legal memorandum submitted by the parties will 
be made part of the record of proceedings before the 
commission, but shall not be filed as exhibits to be offered 
into evidence for the hearing before the commission. 

R. Hearings may be conducted by a hearing officer 
selected and appointed by the commission. The hearing 
officer shall have the authority to administer oaths, may 
examine witnesses, and rule upon the admissibility of 
evidence and amendments to the pleadings. The hearing 
officer shall have the authority to recess any hearing from 
day to day. 

S. The hearing officer shall have the responsibility and 
duty of assimilating testimony and evidence, compiling a 
written summary of the testimony and evidence, and 
presenting a proposed order to the commission. 

T. At the close of evidence, each side will be allowed a 
reasonable amount of time to argue its case. This time will 
be allotted by the chairman or hearing officer. 

 

* * * 
Exhibit A 

Appeal to Louisiana Tax Commission 
by Taxpayer or Assessor 

for Real and Personal Property 
Name:           Parish/District:          

     Taxpayer 
Address:          City, State, Zip:           

            Board of Review 
Ward:    Asses./Tax Bill Number:      Appeal Number:     

(Attach copy of complete appeal submitted to the board of review) 
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed. Also, please 
identify building by place of business for convenience of appraisal. 

__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 

I hereby appeal the decision of the board of review on the 
assessment of the above described property pursuant to L.R.S. 47:1992. 
I timely filed my appeal as required by law. 

The original fair market value by the assessor was: 

Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
The proposed fair market value by the taxpayer was: 
Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
The revised fair market value by the board of review was: 
Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
The original assessment by the assessor was: 
Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
The proposed assessment by the taxpayer was: 
Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
The revised assessment by the board of review was: 
Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
*NOTE: Report personal property on Improvement line above. 

I understand that property is assessed at a percentage of fair market 
value, which means the price for the property which would be agreed 
upon between a willing and informed buyer and a willing and informed 
seller, under usual and ordinary circumstances, the highest price the 
property would bring on the open market, if exposed for sale for a 
reasonable time. I feel that the fair market value of this real property, as 
of January 1, 2003, the official reappraisal valuation date on which 
assessments are based, was: 

 
Land $      *Improvement $     Total $           
I will call the following witness(es):               
___________________________________________ 
Presentation of my case will take approximately __  minutes. 

Please notify me of the date, place and time of my appeal at the address 
shown below. 

    _____________________________________ 
       Appellant(Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 

Address:                   
______________________________________ 
______________________________________ 
Telephone Number:               
                      

           Date of Appeal 
 
Land $__________  *Improvement $__________  Total $__________ 
 
The following is a list of witnesses who may be called at the hearing 

before the commission together with a brief description of the  
anticipated testimony of the witnesses; 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
 
A list of exhibits presented to the board of review: 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 

 
* * * 

U. The taxpayer/taxpayer agent and the assessor shall be 
notified in writing, either by facsimile transmission, certified 
mail or certificate of mailing, of the final decision by the Tax 
Commission. The dated facsimile transaction report or 
postmarked certificate of mailing shall serve as the date 
whereby the taxpayer/assessor shall have the right to 
institute suit within the 30-day prescription period. 

V. The commission may, at its discretion, grant the 
request of a taxpayer or assessor for a rehearing; provided 
the rehearing request is made in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

W. Subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses or for the 
production of books, papers, accounts or documents for a 
hearing may be issued by the commission upon its own 
motion, or upon the written motion of the taxpayer or 
assessor showing that there is good cause for the issuance of 
same. No subpoena shall be issued until the party who 
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wishes to subpoena the witness first deposits with the agency 
a sum of money sufficient to pay all fees and expenses to 
which a witness in a civil case is entitled pursuant to R.S. 
13:3661 and R.S. 13:3671. Any subpoena duces tecum shall 
allow no less than five days to assimilate and to deliver said 
documents subpoenaed by the subpoena recipient. 

X. The word "commission," as used herein, refers to the 
chairman and the members or its delegate appointed to 
conduct the hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837, R.S. 47:1989 and R.S. 47:1992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission. LR 4:339 (September 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:947 
(November 1984), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:492 (March 1998), LR 25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:512 
(March 2000), LR 28:521 (March 2002), LR 31:721 (March 2005).  
§3105. Practice and Procedure for Public Service 

Properties Hearings 
A. - B. ... 
C. Ten days prior to said hearings, the protesting 

taxpayer shall file a signed, written statement (Form 
3105.A), specifying each respect in which the initial 
determination is contested, setting forth the specific basis 
upon which the protest is filed, together with a statement of 
the relief sought and four copies of all hearing exhibits to be 
presented; which shall be marked "Exhibit Taxpayer _____" 
and shall be consecutively numbered. Legal memorandum 
submitted by the parties will be made part of the record of 
proceedings before the commission, but shall not be filed as 
exhibits to be offered into evidence for the hearing before 
the commission. 

D. ... 
E. Upon written notice by the commission, the parties 

and/or their attorneys or other representatives may be 
directed to meet and confer together by telephone or 
otherwise, prior to the hearings and/or prior to the setting of 
a date for a hearing, for the purpose of formulating issues 
and considering: 

1. - 4. ... 
5. stipulations as to admissibility's of exhibits; 
6. submission of proposed findings of fact; 
7. such other matters as may aid in the simplification 

of the proceedings and the disposition of the matters in 
controversy. 

F. Actions requested and agreed upon at the conference 
shall be recorded in an appropriate statement by the taxpayer 
and filed with the commission seven days prior to the 
hearing. In the event of a disagreement over any item 
discussed at the conference, the statement filed with the 
commission shall state the specific item as to which there is 
a disagreement together with a brief summary of the nature 
of the disagreement. 

G. - K. ... 
L. The commission shall provide an official reporter to 

make and transcribe a stenographic record of the hearing and 
shall provide for such copies of the transcript as may be 
requested by any party or as may be required for the 
purposes of the commission upon payment of the cost of 
transcribing the hearing. 

M. Upon written notice by the commission the parties or 
their attorneys or other representative may be directed to file 
legal memorandums with the commission seven days prior 
to the hearing. The legal memorandum shall address in a 
concise manner the legal issues presented in the appeal to 
the commission together with a statement of any legal 
authority supporting the party's position. 

N. Any evidence, which would be admissible under the 
rules of evidence governing proceedings in the state of 
Louisiana, shall be deemed admissible by the commission. 
The Louisiana rules of evidence shall be applied liberally in 
any proceeding before the commission. Either party may 
object to evidence not previously disclosed by the opposing 
party. The commission may exclude evidence, which is 
deemed by the commission to be incompetent, immaterial or 
unduly repetitious. 

O. Any party, with leave of the commission or hearing 
officer, may present prepared sworn deposition testimony of 
a witness, either narrative or in question and answer form, 
which shall be incorporated into the record as if read by the 
witness. The opposing party will be allowed to cross-
examine the witness and/or submit any sworn testimony 
given by the witness in the deposition. Seven copies of the 
prepared deposition testimony shall be filed with the 
commission. 

P. - S. ... 
 

Appeal to Louisiana Tax Commission 
by Taxpayer or Assessor 

for Public Service Property 
Name:            Parish/District:             

              Taxpayer 
Address:          City, State, Zip:           
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed        

I hereby appeal the decision of the board of review on the assessment 
of the above-described property. 

The fair market value of the Louisiana Tax Commission is: 

Land $      Improvement $      Total $      

I am requesting that the fair market value be fixed at: 

Land $      Improvement $      Total $      

The assessment of the Louisiana Tax Commission is: 

Land $      Improvement $      Total $      

I am requesting that the assessment be fixed at: 

Land $      Improvement $      Total $      

I understand that property is assessed at a percentage of fair market 
value which means the price for the property which would be agreed 
upon between a willing and informed buyer and a willing and informed 
seller under usual and ordinary circumstances, the highest price the 
property would bring on the open market if exposed for sale for a 
reasonable time.  

I feel that the fair market value of this real property, as of January 1, 
2003, the official reappraisal valuation date on which assessments are 
currently based, was: 
Land $      *Improvement $      Total $      
I will call the following witness(es):               
__________________________________________________________ 

Presentation of my case will take approximately    minutes. 
Please notify me of the date, place and time of my appeal at the address 
shown below. 

Appellant(Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 
Address:                   
    ______________________________________ 
    ______________________________________ 
    ______________________________________ 
Telephone Number:                
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_______________________________________________ 
Date of Appeal 
 

Land $__________  *Improvement $__________  Total $__________ 
 
The following is a list of witnesses who may be called at the hearing 

before the commission together with a brief description of the  
anticipated testimony of the witnesses; 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
 
A list of exhibits presented to the board of review: 
____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 4:339 (September 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:947 
(November 1984), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 23:209 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:493 (March 1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 
(March 2000), LR 30: 492 (March 2004), LR 31:723 (March 2005).  
Chapter 35. Miscellaneous 
§3501. Service FeesCTax Commission 

A. The Tax Commission is authorized by R.S. 47:1838 to 
levy and collect fees on an interim basis for the period 
beginning on July 1, 2004 and ending on June 30, 2006, in 
connection with services performed by the Tax Commission 
as follows: 

A.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1835 and R.S. 47:1838. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 19:212 (February 
1993), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:494 (March 
1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 (March 2000), LR 
28:521 (March 2002), LR 30:493 (March 2004), LR 31:724 (March 
2005).  
§3511. Tulane UniversityCPurpose 

A. This regulation establishes general applicability, 
definitions, and requirements as it pertains to application of 
a statewide exemption in favor of Tulane University. 

B. Tulane University is exempt from property taxes on 
the following types or uses of properties:  

1. properties used for its educational purposes;  
2. vacant, non-income producing properties; and  
3. income-producing properties up to a maximum 

statewide total limit of $5,000,000 in fair market value. 
C. Louisiana Constitution, Article VII, Section 21 

provides that all non-profit companies are exempt from 
property taxes. 

D. The Supreme Court of Louisiana held in Board of 
Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund vs. Louisiana 
Tax Commission consolidated with Thomas L. Arnold, 
Assessor, vs. Board of Administrators of the Tulane 
Educational Fund, dated January 30, 1998, denying an 
appeal of the decision of the Court of Appeal, 4th Circuit, 
dated October 1, 1997, that non-income producing or vacant 
properties owned by a non-profit company are exempt from 
property taxes under the Louisiana Constitution. The 
Louisiana Attorney General agreed in Opinion Number 01-
323, dated September 13, 2001. 

E. Louisiana Constitution, Article VIII, Section 14, 
reconfirming Act No. 43 of July 5, 1884, provides that, in 
addition to Tulane's full exemption on properties used for 
education purposes and properties that are non-income 
producing or vacant, Tulane is exempt from property taxes 
on its first $5,000,000 in value of all income producing 
properties in Louisiana. This exemption was confirmed in 
the decision of the Civil District Court for the Parish of 
Orleans, Division "J", Case No. 89-14534, Board of 
Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund vs. The 
Louisiana Tax Commission, dated April 19, 1990, which was 
never appealed and is therefore final. The Louisiana Tax 
Commission also confirmed this $5,000,000 exemption in 
LTC Regulation No. 3509. 

F. To administer this exemption, which extends 
throughout the state and requires coordination among all 
assessors, the Louisiana Tax Commission established LTC 
Regulation No. 3509 procedures to be followed by all 
assessors when assessing property owned by Tulane. The 
commission instructs each assessor to list each property 
owned by Tulane as exempt and, at the time the rolls are 
filed with the commission, all assessors shall deliver a list of 
all Tulane properties in their parish or municipal district that 
are not otherwise exempt from taxation pursuant to 
Louisiana law (i.e. not used for educational purposes or non-
income producing). See Memo of Louisiana Tax 
Commission to all Assessors, dated December 18, 1991. 

G. This 2003 restatement of Regulation 3509 is to 
allocate equitably the $5,000,000 exemption among all 
Tulane University income producing property across the 
state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:724 (March 2005). 
§3513. Tulane UniversityCDefinitions 

A. For the purpose of this Section, the following 
definitions apply. 

Allocation FormulaCdefined in LTC Regulation 3509.5. 
Assessed Value (AV)Cdetermined according to 

Louisiana law. 
CommissionCthe Louisiana Tax Commission 

(sometimes referred to as "LTC"). 
Fair Market Value (FMV)Cdefined by Louisiana law. 
FMV Each ImprovementCthe fair market value of all 

buildings and improvements in each tax assessment bill 
included in non-exempt property. (Tax assessors should issue 
one tax assessment amount for all buildings and 
improvements.) 

FMV Each Land ParcelCthe fair market value of all 
land in each tax assessment bill included in non-exempt 
property. (Tax Assessors should issue one tax assessment 
number for all contiguous land parcels.) 

FMV Improvements StatewideCthe total fair market 
value of all buildings and improvements included in non-
exempt property. 

FMV Land StatewideCthe total fair market value of all 
land included in non-exempt property. 

Improvement Assessment RatioCfifteen percent of the 
fair market value of the buildings and other improvements 
only. 

Land Assessment RatioCten percent of the fair market 
value of the land only. 
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Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01 (Tulane 
Non-Exempt Property Report)Cthe form adopted by the 
commission for Tulane University to provide its list of non-
exempt property. 

Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU02 (Tulane 
University Exemption Allocation Summary)Cthe form 
adopted by the commission in the form of a spreadsheet with 
formulas to be used for allocation of the Tulane exemption. 

Net Fair Market Value of a PropertyCthe fair market 
value of that property minus its pro-rata share. 

Non-Exempt PropertyCany property owned by Tulane 
University in the state of Louisiana that is not exempt by 
Louisiana law for ad valorem tax purposes prior to 
application of the Tulane exemption. 

Pro-Rata ShareCthat portion of the Tulane exemption 
allocated to each non-exempt property according to the 
allocation formula. 

Tax AssessorCrefers to all tax assessors with the state of 
Louisiana, individually and/or jointly, whose jurisdiction 
includes property owned by Tulane University. 

Tulane ExemptionCthe $5,000,000 statewide ad 
valorem tax exemption as provided in Act 1884, No. 43. 

Tulane Hearing DateCthe first Wednesday and/or 
Thursday of each December and shall be the commission 
hearing date for resolution of any property valuation issues, 
and/or allocation of the Tulane exemption, and/or ordering 
issuance of supplements and change orders to the tax rolls. 

Tulane UniversityCthe administrators of the Tulane 
Educational Fund, a Louisiana non-profit corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:724 (March 2005). 
§3515. Tulane UniversityCGeneral Rule 

A. Each property of Tulane University statewide for each 
tax year shall be and remain marked as exempt on all tax 
rolls until the commission has allocated the Tulane 
exemption across all non-exempt property according to the 
allocation formula and delivers its supplements or change 
orders to each reporting parish indicating the net fair market 
value and resulting assessed value for the land and 
improvements of each non-exempt property. 

B. Should the fair market value of Tulane University's 
non-exempt property exceed the Tulane exemption then the 
commission shall determine the net fair market value and 
resulting assessed value of each non-exempt property 
according to the allocation formula. 

C. The property status as of January 1st (August 1st 
preceding the tax year for Orleans Parish) each tax year shall 
determine whether a property is non-exempt property. 

D. Since Orleans Parish imposes a prospective taxable 
year for ad valorem taxes and all other parishes in the state 
impose a retrospective taxable year, for the purpose of 
allocation of the Tulane exemption only, and no other matter, 
the prospective taxable year of Orleans Parish and the 
retrospective taxable year applicable in all other parishes 
shall be considered the same taxable year. 

E. All tax assessors and related governmental entities 
shall use current, accurate legal property descriptions found 
in the public records for all tax assessments, correspondence, 
and notices when complying with §3509. 

F. All Tulane property tax bills shall be sent to: 
Administrators of the Tulane Education Fund 
Office of the General Counsel 
6823 St. Charles Avenue 
New Orleans, LA 70118 

G. All correspondence to the commission related to 
Regulation 3509 shall be sent to: 

Louisiana Tax Commission 
Attention: Tulane Exemption 
Post Office Box 66788 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896-6788 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:725 (March 2005). 
§3517. Tulane UniversityCReporting and Valuation 

Procedure 
A. With respect to all Tulane University properties, all 

tax assessors, boards of review, and related governmental 
entities shall operate according to the following 
administrative procedures and time line: 

1. On or before March 31 of each year, Tulane 
University shall deliver to the commission and the tax 
assessor for each municipal district/parish in which Tulane 
owns non-exempt property a report on each non-exempt 
property on Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01. 

2. On or before June 30, each tax assessor shall 
deliver to Tulane University and the commission a list of all 
properties in such tax assessor's jurisdiction that the tax 
assessor intends to assess as non-exempt property, together 
with the proposed fair market value and assessed value of 
the land and of improvements for each such property. The 
tax assessor shall determine one assessed value for the land 
and one assessed value for the improvements. 

3. All tax assessors may make reasonable inquiry of 
Tulane University in an effort to determine all property 
owned by Tulane University within the tax assessor's 
jurisdiction. 

4. All tax assessors shall list all non-exempt property 
as exempt and indicate the tax assessor's proposed fair 
market value of each property in the tax rolls. 

5. In each board of review certification to the 
commission, the board of review shall list all non-exempt 
property as exempt and indicate the board of review's 
recommended fair market value of each property on the tax 
rolls. 

6. All board of review decisions on appeals of the 
proposed assessments by the tax assessor shall be delivered 
to the commission according to standard procedures and 
deadlines as the board of review's recommended assessment. 

7.a. On the Tulane hearing date of each year, the 
commission shall: 
 i. hold all appeal hearings involving non-exempt 
property;  
 ii. decide each appeal and issue written reasons 
for decisions on all such appeals; and  
 iii. allocate the Tulane exemption across all  
non-exempt property according to the allocation formula and 
order issuance of all supplements and change orders of the 
tax rolls to each reporting municipal district/parish, 
establishing the land parcel assessed value after exemption 
and the improvement assessed value after exemption for 
each non-exempt property. 
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b. Upon receipt of said change orders, the tax 
assessor shall adjust the tax rolls to reflect the commission's 
change orders. 

8. Nothing in these regulations shall alter or diminish 
in any way Tulane University's right to appeal a proposed or 
actual assessment by any tax assessor or any decision or 
ruling of any board of review or the commission under the 
administrative and judicial remedies available to all 
taxpayers. The proposed assessment by the tax assessor, the 
board of review's recommended assessment, and the 
commission's determination shall be treated in the same 
manner as if the property were not marked exempt on the tax 
rolls and the proposed assessment was the tax assessor's 
final assessment on the tax rolls, the board of review's 
recommended assessment and/or the commission's 
determination was its final assessment decision. 

9. Nothing in these regulations shall alter or diminish 
in any way Tulane University's right to appeal by all 
available administrative and judicial remedies the 
commission's allocation of the Tulane exemption. 

10. After allocation of the Tulane exemption and 
issuance of the requisite supplements and change orders by 
the commission, the total amount of the Tulane exemption 
allocated to each property (as shown in the Column "G" 
entitled "FMV Reduction by Exemption" of the Louisiana 
Tax Commission Form TC-TU02) shall remain unchanged 
thereafter and not be later readjusted, regardless of the 
outcome of subsequent appeals of valuation of assessments 
for that tax year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:725 (March 2005). 
§3519. Tulane UniversityCAllocation Formula 

A. The taxable assessed value of each property to be 
determined by the commission in compliance with §3509 
and delivered by the commission to each reporting 
municipal district/parish in the form of a supplement or 
change order to the regular tax roll shall be calculated as 
follows. 

1. Exemption Percentages and Amounts. Purpose: 
calculate both the percentage and the dollar amount of the 
Tulane exemption applicable to land and both the percentage 
and the dollar amount of the Tulane exemption applicable to 
improvements. 

a. (FMV Land Statewide) times (Land Assessment 
Ratio) equals (Land Assessed Value Statewide); 

b. (FMV Improvements Statewide) times 
(Improvement Assessment Ratio) equals (Improvement 
Assessed Value Statewide); 

c. (Land Assessed Value Statewide) plus 
(Improvement Assessed Value Statewide) equals (Total 
Assessed Value Statewide); 

d. (Land Assessed Value Statewide) divided by 
(Total Assessed Value Statewide) equals (Land Exemption 
Percentage Statewide); 

e. (Improvement Assessed Value Statewide) divided 
by (Total Assessed Value Statewide) equals (Improvement 
Exemption Percentage Statewide); 

f. (Land Exemption Percentage Statewide) times 
(Tulane Exemption) equals (Land Exemption Amount 
Statewide); 

g. (Improvement Exemption Percentage Statewide) 
times (Tulane Exemption) equals (Improvement Exemption 
Amount Statewide). 

2. Land. Purpose: calculate the assessed value of each 
land parcel after allocation of the Tulane exemption. 

a. (FMV each Land Parcel) divided by (FMV Land 
Statewide) equals (Land Parcel FMV percent); 

b. (Land Parcel FMV percent) times (Land 
Exemption Amount Statewide) equals (Land Parcel FMV 
Reduction by Exemption); 

c. (FMV each Land Parcel) minus (Land Parcel 
FMV Reduction by Exemption) equals (Land Parcel FMV 
after Exemption Reduction); 

d. (Land Parcel FMV after Exemption Reduction) 
times (Land Assessment Ratio) equals (Land Parcel 
Assessed Value after Exemption). 

3. Improvements 
a. (FMV each Improvement) divided by (FMV 

Improvements Statewide) equals (Improvement FMV 
percent); 

b. (Improvement FMV percent) times 
(Improvement Exemption Amount Statewide) equals 
(Improvement FMV Reduction by Exemption); 

c. (FMV each Improvement) minus (Improvement 
FMV Reduction by Exemption) equals (Improvement FMV 
after Exemption Reduction); 

d. (Improvement FMV after Exemption Reduction) 
times (Improvement Assessment Ratio) equals 
(Improvement Assessed Value after Exemption). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005). 
§3521. Tulane UniversityCAllocation Report 

A. The commission shall adopt an allocation report 
entitled "Tulane University Exemption Allocation Summary" 
and shall thereafter calculate the said allocation formula. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005). 
§3523. Tulane UniversityCForms 

A. The following forms shall be used in the Tulane 
University exemption and non-exemption reporting process. 

1. TC Form TU01, Tulane Non-Exempt Property 
Report, shall be annually completed and furnished to the 
commission and the tax assessors by Tulane University on or 
before March 31 of each year. 

2. TC Form TU02, Tulane University Exemption 
Allocation Summary, shall be annually completed in the 
form of a spreadsheet with formulas to be used for allocation 
of the Tulane exemption by the commission and distributed 
to the tax assessors and Tulane University on or before the 
third Wednesday of December of each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005). 
§3525. Reporting of Certain Property Assessments by 

Assessors and Louisiana Tax Commission 
Members 

A. In accordance with R.S. 47:1979(A), if a tax assessor 
or a member of his immediate family owns property within 
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his jurisdiction, such assessor shall assess the property in 
accordance with all applicable provisions of law. As used in 
this section, "own" shall include a direct ownership, 
ownership in part, or through any legal entity. 

B. The tax assessor shall submit all such assessments to 
the Louisiana Tax Commission within 30 days after the 
filing of the assessor's assessment rolls with the Louisiana 
Tax Commission, and the commission shall then review 
those assessments for compliance with all applicable laws 
and Louisiana Tax Commission rules and regulations. 

C. Upon appraisal review, if the Louisiana Tax 
Commission determines that any assessment is questionable, 
the Louisiana Tax Commission shall give written notice to 
the assessor of its findings and subsequently clarify and/or 
remedy the assessment matter with the assessor. 

D. In accordance with R.S. 47:1979(B), the members of 
the Louisiana Tax Commission shall file the same report as 
required in R.S. 47:1979(A) and shall list the ownership of 
all property within the state owned by him or a member of 
his immediate family along with the assessment of such 
property as shown on the appropriate assessment roll. 

E. The Louisiana Tax Commission shall submit the 
members' property assessment reports with the President of 
the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and 
the Legislative Audit Advisory Council no later than 
December 15 of each calendar year. 

F. For the purpose of defining "immediate family" R.S. 
42:1102(13) identifies the family members to include: 

1. sons and their spouses; 
2. daughters and their spouses; 
3. brothers and their spouses; 
4. sisters and their spouses; 
5. parents; 
6. spouse; and 
7. parents of spouse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1979; Act 670 of the 2003 Regular Legislative Session; Act 71 
of the 2004 Regular Legislative Session; and R.S. 47:1837. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005). 

 
Elizabeth L. Guglielmo 
Chairman 

0503#073 
 

RULE 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Office of Highways/Engineering 

Outdoor Advertising 
(LAC 70:III.103-109) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., notice is 
hereby given that the Louisiana Department of 
Transportation and Development hereby amends Subchapter 
A of Chapter 1 of Part III of Title 70 entitled "Outdoor 
Advertising." This Rule deals specifically with "Specific 
Services (LOGO) Signing." It is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of R.S. 48:461. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION 

Part III.  Outdoor Advertising 
Chapter l. Outdoor Advertising 
Subchapter A. Outdoor Advertising Signs 
§103. Definitions 

A. Except as defined in this Paragraph, the terms used in 
this Rule shall be defined in accordance with the definitions 
and usage of the Louisiana Manual on Uniform Traffic 
Control Devices (MUTCD). 

* * * 
Specific Information SignCa ground mounted 

rectangular sign panel with: 
a. the words "GAS," "FOOD," "LODGING," 

"CAMPING," or "ATTRACTIONS;" 
b. directional information; 
c. one or more business signs. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 11:782 
(August 1985), amended LR 18:784 (July 1992), LR 19:352 
(March 1993), by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 22:224 (March 
1996), LR 31:727 (March 2005). 
§105. Location 

A. - D. … 
E. Relative Location. In the direction of travel, 

successive specific information signs shall be those for 
"ATTRACTIONS," "CAMPING," "LODGING," "FOOD," and 
"GAS" in that order. 

F. … 
G. Number of Signs Permitted. There shall be no more 

than one specific information sign for each type of service 
along an approach to an interchange or intersection. There 
shall be no more than six business signs displayed on a 
specific information sign. 

H. - I.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 11:782 
(August 1985), amended LR 18:785 (July 1992), LR 19:352 
(March 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 22:224 (March 
1996), LR 25:1277 (July 1999), LR 31:727 (March 2005). 
§107. Criteria for Specific Information Permitted 

A. - A.1. … 
2. In rural areas, businesses shall be located no more 

than 10 miles in either direction for "GAS," "FOOD" and 
"LODGING" or 25 miles in either direction for "CAMPING" 
and "ATTRACTIONS" from the terminal of the nearest off 
ramp. In urban areas, businesses shall be located no more 
than two miles in either direction for "GAS," "FOOD" AND 
"LODGING" or five miles in either direction for "CAMPING" 
and "ATTRACTIONS" from the terminal of the nearest off 
ramp. Measurements shall be made from the beginning of 
the curves connecting the ramp to the crossroad or the 
nosepoint of a loop along the normal edge of the pavement 
of the crossroad as a vehicle must travel to reach a point 
opposite the main entrance to the business. 
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A.3. - B. … 
C. Specific Criteria for "GAS" 
C.1. - E.4.e … 
F. Specific Criteria for "CAMPING" 
F.1. - F.3. … 

4. At least 10 campsites with water and electrical 
outlets for all types of travel-trailers and camping vehicles. A 
tent camping area must also be provided with a minimum of 
two tent sites. 

G. - G.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 11:782 
(August 1985), amended LR 18:785 (July 1992), LR 19:353 
(March 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 22:225 (March 
1996), LR 25:1277 (July 1999), LR 31:727 (March 2005). 
§109. Sign Composition 

A. - F. … 
G. Priority. If space is limited, when an interchange is 

brought into the Specific Services Program, priority for signs 
will be given to "GAS," "FOOD," "LODGING," "CAMPING" 
and "ATTRACTIONS" in that order. Combined specific 
information signs shall be used to provide signing for all 
services with qualifying businesses, even if there are more 
than three qualifying businesses in a particular service. 

H. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 11:782 
(August 1985), amended LR 18:785 (July 1992), LR 19:353 
(March 1993), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 22:226 (March 
1996), LR 31:728 (March 2005). 

 
J. Michael Bridges, P.E. 
Undersecretary 

0503#055 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Exotic Fish (LAC 76:VII.199) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has adopted a 
Rule for harvesting exotic fish with specific gears. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 1. Freshwater Sports and Commercial 

Fishing 
§199. Designation and Taking of Exotic Fish 

A. For the purposes of this Section, the following species 
of nonindigenous fish are designated as exotic fish: 

1. grass carp (ctenopharyngodon idella); 
2. silver carp (hypophthalmichthys molitrix); 
3. bighead carp (hypophthalmichthys nobilis); 
4. black carp (mylopharyngodon piceus). 

B. In order to promote the removal of the exotic species 
identified in this rule, it shall be lawful to retain as bycatch 
all such designated exotic species of fish which may be 
caught in all legal commercial fishing gear, which gear is 
being legally fished. While alive, such exotic fish shall not 
be maintained, sold, bartered, traded, or exchanged. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:319.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
31:728 (March 2005). 

 
Dwight Landreneau 
Secretary 

0503#024 
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