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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Diseases of Animals  
(LAC 7:XXI.Chapter 3) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner 
amends regulations governing livestock auction market 
requirements.  

Currently, there are about 80,000 calves vaccinated yearly 
at Louisiana livestock auctions. These vaccinations cost the 
state about $32,000 a year ($0.40 per calf). Under the 
proposed Rule there will be a 90 percent reduction in 
vaccinations. About 8,000 calves will be vaccinated at a cost 
$3,200. This results in an estimated reduction of costs of 
$28,800 to state governmental units. 

These Rules comply with and are enabled by R.S. 3:2093, 
R.S. 3:2221, and R.S. 3:2228. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXI.  Diseases of Animals 
Chapter 3. Cattle 
§305. Brucellosis Vaccination and Fee 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2221 and R.S. 3:2223. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 15:75 
(February 1989), amended LR 22:960 (October 1996), LR 24:1677 
(September 1998), repealed by the Office of the Commissioner, LR 
27:182 (February 2001). 
§307. Livestock Auction Market Requirements 

A. - A.1.d.  Y 
 i. All nonvaccinated heifer calves, between 4 and 
12 months of age are to be vaccinated with USDA-approved 
brucellosis vaccine prior to being sold or at the first point of 
sale, but in no case shall any heifer calf 4 to 12 months of 
age remain unvaccinated for brucellosis more than 15 days 
after the date of sale. Exceptions to this Clause are heifer 
calves 4 to 12 months of age which are transported out of the 
state within 15 days of the date of their sale. 

A.1.d.ii. - A.1.g.ii.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2093, R.S. 3:2221, and R.S. 3:2228. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:237 (March 1985), 
amended LR 11:651 (June 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 12:501 
(August 1986), LR 12:598 (September 1986), LR 13:556 (October 
1987), LR 14:220 (April 1988), LR 14:695 (October 1988), LR 
15:813 (October 1989), LR 17:30 (January 1991), LR 18:837 
(August 1992), LR 22:960 (October 1996), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 24:1677 (September 1998), LR 27:182 
(February 2001). 

§309. Governing the Sale of Cattle in Louisiana by 
Livestock Dealers 

All cattle which are sold or offered for sale by livestock 
dealers, must meet the general requirements of LAC 
7:XXI.115 and the following specific requirements: 

A. - A.2.b.ii.  ... 
3.a. All heifer calves between 4 and 12 months of age 

are to be vaccinated with USDA-approved brucellosis 
vaccine prior to being sold or at the first point of sale but in 
no case shall any heifer calf 4 to 12 months of age remain 
unvaccinated for brucellosis more that 15 days after the date 
of sale. Exceptions to this paragraph are heifer calves 4 to 12 
months of age which are transported out of the state within 
15 days of the date of their sale. 

A.3.b. - B.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2093, R.S. 3:2221, and R.S. 3:2228. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:237 (March 1985), 
amended LR 11:651 (June 1985), amended LR 12:502 (August 
1986), LR 13:558 (October 1987), LR 14:221 (April 1988), LR 
17:31 (January 1991), LR 18:838 (August 1992), LR 22:960 
(October 1996), LR 17:30 (January 1991), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 24:1678 (September 1998), LR 27:182 
(February 2001). 
§311. Governing the Sale of Purchase, within 

Louisiana, of all Livestock not Governed by 
Other Regulations (Brucellosis Requirements) 

A. It is a violation of this regulation to sell or purchase 
cattle, not governed by other regulations of the Livestock 
Sanitary Board, in Louisiana, for any purpose other than 
immediate slaughter, unless they meet one of the following 
requirements: 

1.a. Heifers 4 to 12 months of age, are to be official 
brucellosis calfhood vaccinates prior to being sold or be 
vaccinated at the first point of sale but in no case shall any 
heifer 4 to 12 months of age remain unvaccinated for 
brucellosis more than 15 days after the date of sale. 
Exceptions to this Paragraph are: 
 i. heifers sold to move directly to slaughter;  
 ii. heifers sold to be moved directly to a 
quarantine feed lot; 
 iii. heifers which are transported out of Louisiana 
within 15 days of the date of their sale. 

b. Any person found in violation of Paragraph 1.a. 
of this regulation shall be fined no less than $1,000 or more 
than $5,000 for each count. Each nonvaccinated heifer shall 
be considered a separate violation and each day on which the 
violation occurs shall be considered a separate count. 

c. Any person who has knowledge of and does not 
report to the LDAF any violation of Subparagraph 1.a. of 
this regulation shall be considered in violation of this 
regulation and subject to the same penalties as stated in 
Subparagraph 1.b. of this regulation. 

A.2. - A.5.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:2093, R.S. 3:2221 and R.S. 3:2228. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:238 (March 1985), 
LR 11:615 (June 1985), amended 12:502 (August 1986), LR 
13:559 (October 1987), LR 17:31 (January 1991), LR 18:837 
(August 1992), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:1678 (September 
1998), LR 27:182 (February 2001). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0102#068 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters 

Examinations (LAC 46:XXI.Chapter 3) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R. 
S. 49:950 et seq. the Louisiana Board of Examiners of 
Certified Shorthand Reporters, has adopted changes made to 
the examination grading procedure. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXI.  Certified Shorthand Reporters  

Chapter 3. Examinations 
§301. Applications for Examinations 

A. Examinations shall be held at such times and places 
as the board may designate. 

B. Applications must be received by the board at least 30 
days prior to the examination date.  

C. Applicant must furnish a diploma, official transcript 
or certificate from a licensed court reporting school that he 
has passed a qualifying test consisting of five minutes of 
two-voice Q & A at 225 wpm with 95 percent accuracy 
within one year prior to application to the board for 
examination; or a CSR certificate from another state issued 
with a minimum requirement of 225 wpm; or participate in 
an equivalent qualifying test administered by the board on a 
date designated by the board. An applicant who has passed at 
least one segment of the skills portion of the test is exempt 
for two years thereafter from complying with the foregoing 
requirements.  

1. An application fee of $25 shall be paid to the board 
by the applicant participating in a qualifying test 
administered by the board, which fee shall be refundable to 
the applicant upon completion of the qualifying test. An 
applicant who fails to timely appear for the qualifying 
examination by the board shall be deemed to have 
abandoned the application and shall forfeit the application 
fee for said qualifying test. Proof of passing said qualifying 
test must accompany the application for examination. 

D. Applicants who have been found to be qualified for 
the examination shall be notified in writing of the time and 
place of their assigned examination. 

E. An applicant who fails to timely appear for 
examination after being notified of eligibility shall be 
deemed to have abandoned the application and shall forfeit 
the application fee. In order again to become eligible for an 
examination, such person shall file a new application and 
otherwise comply in all respects with the provisions of the 

Act and these regulations in the same manner as required of 
an original applicant.  

F. An applicant who commences but does not finish the 
examination or who otherwise fails such examination shall 
not be eligible for any future examination except upon 
complying in all respects with the provisions of the Act and 
these regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters,  
LR 9:678 (October 1983), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters, LR 14:530 (August 1988), LR 16:393 (May 
1990), LR 17:578 (June 1991), LR 19:1537 (December 1993), LR 
27:183 (February 2001). 
§303. Examination to be Under Direction of the Board 

A. The examination shall be under the direction and 
control of the board, but the board may employ assistants to 
prepare the questions, conduct the examination and submit 
recommended grades.  

B. Examination questions together with the answers or 
keys, shall not be disclosed prior to the announced results of 
the examinations. 

C. The identity of each candidate shall be and remain 
unknown to the board until after the final results are 
announced. Before the commencement of the examination 
an identifying number shall be assigned to each candidate, 
who shall enter such number on each group of papers used in 
the examination and shall not enter his name at any place on 
the examination papers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, 
LR 9:678 (October 1983), LR 27:183 (February 2001). 
§307. Content of Examination 

A. The examination shall consist of: 
1. written knowledge test; 
2. dictated tests at the following speeds: 

a. 5 minutes at 180 WPM (literary, one voice); 
b. 5 minutes at 200 WPM (jury charge, one voice); 
c. 5 minutes at 225 WPM (Q & A, two voices). 

B. The written knowledge test will consist of 100 
multiple choice questions which will include 50 questions on 
English, grammar, spelling and word comprehension, 25 
questions on medical terms and 25 questions on legal terms. 
The use of reference material will not be allowed. 

C. Completion time for the written knowledge test is one 
and one-half hours. Four hours are allowed for transcribing 
the three segments of the dictated test. The time allocated for 
an applicant taking fewer than three segments of the dictated 
test shall be reduced proportionately. Transcripts must be 
typed. 

D. Candidates may be required to read aloud any part of 
the dictated matter required by the board. 

E. No candidate will be allowed to use electronic 
recording equipment, except stenomask during the 
examination. 

F. Upon completion of the examination all shorthand 
notes, stenomask tapes, transcripts, and other examination 
materials shall become the property of the board. 

G. Stenomask applicants will also be tested according to 
NVRA standards for silence. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce,  Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters,  
LR 9:678 (October 1983), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Shorthand 
Reporters, LR 14:529 (August 1988), LR 16:394 (May 1990), LR 
27:183 (February 2001). 
§309. Grading of Examination 

A. Each candidate’s examination will be graded on the 
basis of his ability to accurately transcribe his notes, the time 
occupied in the transcription, his knowledge of court 
reporting procedure, and its related terminology, spelling, 
and punctuation, and the general style of the transcript. 

B. Seventy-five percent accuracy is required on the 
written knowledge test with a maximum of 25 errors. 

C. The maximum number of errors allowed to pass the 
dictated and transcribed portions of the skills test is 57 errors 
on the Q&A portion; 50 errors on the jury charge portion; 
and 45 errors on the literary portion.  

D. If the examinee passes the written knowledge portion 
of the test but fails the dictated and transcribed portions; he 
will be exempt from taking the written knowledge portion of 
all subsequent tests .  

E. If an examinee passes any segment of the dictated and 
transcribed portion of the test, the remainder of the dictated 
and transcribed segments may be taken at subsequent tests 
within two years and, if the remaining segments are passed, 
will satisfy the skills portion of the examination requirement. 

F. For the purpose of grading stenotype tests, errors will 
be assessed in accordance with the guidelines accepted by 
the National Court Reporters Association. For the purpose of 
grading stenomask tests, errors will be assessed in 
accordance with guidelines accepted by the National 
Verbatim Reporters Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters,  
LR 9:678 (October 1983), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters, LR 14:530 (August 1988), LR 16:393 (May 
1990), LR 19:1010 (August 1993), LR 19:1537 (December 1993), 
LR 27:184 (February 2001). 
§317. National Examinations 

A. The board will accept as an examination from any 
reporter domiciled in Louisiana under Section 2554 (A) an 
NCRA -RPR and/or CM examination or an NVRA 
examination with the equivalent or current standards of the 
CCR examination requirement in Louisiana. Upon proper 
application, and upon satisfactory proof that applicant has 
passed such an examination, a certificate shall be issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:2554. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Board of Examiners of Certified Shorthand Reporters, 
LR 9:678 (October 1983), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Board of Examiners of Certified 
Shorthand Reporters, LR 14:531 (August 1988), LR 21:931 
(September 1995), LR 27:184 (February 2001). 

 
    Merrell Long 
    Examination Committee Chairman 

0102#003 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Nonpublic Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook For School 
AdministratorsCComputer/Technology Education 

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education amended Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR l:483 (November 1975). The 
proposed amendment makes the following changes to the 
computer education program of studies for nonpublic 
schools, aligning them with those of public schools:  

(1) the title of the Computer Education secondary 
program of studies AComputer/Technology Education@;  

(2) adds nine additional computer/technology electives 
to the Computer Education program of studies; and  

(3) changes the title of Computer Literacy to 
AComputer/Technology Literacy.@  

The new courses are to provide instruction necessary to 
keep up with advances in computer technology and to 
prepare students for future technologies. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
'901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education LR 
26:635 (April 2000); 26:1260 (June 2000), LR 26:1260-1261 (June 
2000), LR 27:184 (February 2001). 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCComputer/Technology Education 

6.105.02  Computer/technology education course 
offerings shall be as follows: 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Computer Applications 1 
Computer Architecture 1 
Computer Science I 1 
Computer Science II 1 
Computer Systems and Networking I 1 
Computer Systems and Networking II 1 
Computer/Technology Literacy ½ 
Desktop Publishing ½ 
Digital Graphics & Animation ½ 
Multimedia Productions 1 
Web Mastering ½ 
Independent Study in Technology Applications 1 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0102#023 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook For School 
AdministratorsCGuidelines for Nonpublic and Home 
Schooling Students Transferring to the Public School 

Systems: Participation in the LEAP 21 (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 741, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 
(November 1975). This action is required because of the 
revision of the transfer policy which now requires that 
students in grades 5 and 9 transferring to the public school 
system from any in-state nonpublic school or any home 
schooling program or any Louisiana resident transferring 
from any out-of-state school shall be required to take the 4th 
and 8th grade LEAP 21 English Language Arts and 
Mathematics tests and score at the Approaching Basic or 
above achievement level. Gu idelines are needed to clarify 
the policy. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
'  901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 26:1260 (June 2000), LR 27:185 (February 2001). 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 

Guidelines for Nonpublic and Home Schooling Students 
Transferring to the Public School Systems:  

Participation in the LEAP 21 
Students in grades 5 and 9 transferring to the public school 

system from any in-state nonpublic school or any home 
schooling program, or any Louisiana resident transferring 
from any out-of-state school shall be required to take the 4th 
or 8th grade LEAP 21 English Language Arts and 
Mathematics Tests and score at the Approaching Basic or 
above achievement level. The following guidelines shall 
apply. 

1. Students may take LEAP 21 at either the spring or 
summer administration prior to enrollment. It is the 
responsibility of the parent to contact the District Test 
Coordinator to register for the test. 

2. The nonpublic school and parent (or home 
schooling parent) is responsible for providing the District 
Test Coordinator, at least 10 working days prior to the 
testing date, any documentation required for requested 
standard testing accommodations. 

3. Students with disabilities who have a current 1508 
evaluation will participate in on-level LEAP 21 testing. 
Promotion decisions for these students will adhere to those 

policies as outlined in the High-Stakes Testing Policy for 
students with disabilities participating in on-level testing. 

4. School systems may charge a fee for the testing of 
nonpublic and home schooling students. This testing fee 
shall be refunded upon the student’s enrollment in that 
public school system the semester immediately following the 
testing. 

5. Students who participate in the spring 
administration and score at the Unsatisfactory achievement 
level are eligible to retake the LEAP 21 at the summer 
administration. 

6. Local school systems shall offer LEAP 21 summer 
remediation to nonpublic/home schooling 4th and 8th grade 
students who score at the Unsatisfactory LEAP 21 
achievement level. School systems may charge a fee, not to 
exceed $100 per student for this attendance. This summer 
remediation fee shall be refunded upon the student’s 
enrollment in that public school system the semester 
immediately following summer remediation. 

7. Students who score at the Unsatisfactory 
achievement level are not required to attend summer school 
offered by the local school system to be eligible to take the 
summer retest. (Refer to the High-Stakes Testing Policy for 
exceptions) 

8. Only those students who score at the Unsatisfactory 
achievement level after participation in both the spring and 
summer administration of the LEAP 21 and who attend the 
summer school offered by the local school system are 
eligible for the appeals process or the policy override, 
provided all criteria are met. (Refer to the High-Stakes 
Testing Policy) 

9. Students who participate in the spring 
administration only or summer administration only and 
score at the Unsatisfactory achievement level are not eligible 
for the appeals process or the policy override. These students 
are not eligible to take The Iowa Tests for placement 
purposes. 

10. Students transferring into local school systems after 
the LEAP 21 summer retest but prior to February 15th are 
required to take the state selected form of the Iowa Tests for 
grade placement, if the student has not taken LEAP 21. 

11. Students taking the Iowa Tests are not eligible for 
either a retest or the appeals process. These students may be 
eligible for the policy override based upon a decision by the 
School Building Level Committee (SBLC). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0102#021 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook For School 
AdministratorsCHigh School Credit for  

Elementary Students (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education amended Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR l:483 (November 1975). The 
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revisions to Standards 2.102.01, 2.105.04, and 2.105.17 were 
made to be consistent with LEAP for the 21st Century High 
Stakes Testing Policy. The changes include:  

(1) eighth grade LEAP 21 shall be in lieu of a required 
credit exam for Option 1 and Option 2 students;  

(2) students must score at an achievement level of 
Approaching Basic on the mathematics components of 
eighth grade LEAP 21 before enrolling in courses in the 
secondary program of studies for mathematics;  

(3) students must score at an achievement level of 
Approaching Basic  on the English language arts components 
of eighth grade LEAP 21 before enrolling in courses in the 
secondary program of studies for English. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; R.S. 
17:22(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, 
LR 26:1260 (June 2000), LR 27:186 (February 2001). 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 

(Proposed Policy: Page 96 High School Credit for Elementary Students) 
An elementary student shall be eligible to receive high 

school credit in a course listed in the program of studies 
provided that: 
• the time requirement for the awarding of a Carnegie unit is 

met; 
• the teacher is certified at the secondary level in the course 

taught; and 
• the student has mastered the set standards of the course 

taken. 
 

The school system may grant credit on either a letter 
grade or a Pass or Fail (P/F) basis, provided there is 
consistency system-wide. The course title, year taken, 
P/F (Pass or Fail) or the letter grade, and unit of credit 
shall be entered on the Certificate of High School 
Credits (transcript). H.S.C. (High School Credit) must 
be indicated in the remarks column. 

 
or 
 

The student has passed the credit examination in the 
subject taken, mastering the set standards for the course. 

 
Credit shall be granted on a Pass or Fail (P/F) basis 

only. The course title, year taken, P/F (Pass or Fail) or 
the letter grade, and unit of credit shall be entered on 
the Certificate of High School Credits (transcript). 
C.E. (Credit Examination) must be indicated in the 
remarks column. 

 

The eighth grade LEAP 21 shall be administered in 
lieu of a required credit exam for students who 
• scored Unsatisfactory on the Mathematics or 

English Language Arts components of eighth 
grade LEAP 21; and 

• successfully complete a specially designed 
elective for eighth grade LEAP 21 remediation. 

Students meeting the above criteria who score at or 
above the Basic achievement level upon retaking 
eighth grade LEAP 21 may earn a maximum of one 
Carnegie unit of elective credit toward graduation. 

 
Credit or Credit Examinations may be given in the 

following subjects: Computer Literacy, Computer 
Science I-II, English I-IV, Advanced Mathematics, 
Algebra I-II, Calculus, Geometry, Trigonometry, 
Keyboarding/Keyboarding Applications, and Health 
Education. Additionally, credit may be given in all 
courses listed in the Program of Studies in foreign 
languages, science, and social studies. Exceptions 
may be made by the Division of Student Standards 
and Assessments upon request of the local 
superintendent. 

 
If a credit examination has not been developed in 

a subject area, the school may submit a locally 
developed examination to the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments for approval. 

 
(Page 100 English) 

Four units of English shall be required for graduation. 
They shall be English I, II, and III, in consecutive order, and 
English IV or Business English.  

An achievement level of Approaching Basic on the 
English Language Arts component of eighth grade LEAP 21 
is a prerequisite for enrollment in English I. The English 
course offerings shall be as follows: 

 
Course Title Unit 

English I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Business English 1 
Reading I 1 
Reading II 1 
English as a Second Language (ESL) I, II, III, 
IV 

1 each 

 
(Page 104 Mathematics) 

Effective for 1997-98, incoming freshmen and thereafter, 
three units of mathematics shall be required for graduation. 
They shall be selected from the following courses and may 
include a maximum of two entry level courses (designated 
by E): Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), Algebra I-Part 1 
(E), Algebra 1-Part 2, Integrated Mathematics (E), Integrated 
Mathematics II, Integrated Mathematics III, Applied 
Mathematics I (E), Applied Mathematics II, Applied 
Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), Geometry, Algebra II, 
Financial Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I, Advanced 
Mathematics II, Pre-calculus, Calculus, Probability and 
Statistics, and Discrete Mathematics.  

An achievement level of Approaching Basic on the 
Mathematics component of eighth grade LEAP 21 is a 
prerequisite for enrollment in any secondary mathematics 
course listed in the High School Program of Studies.  
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Course Title Unit 

Advanced Mathematics 1 each 
Advanced Mathematics II 1 
Algebra I 1 
Algebra I-Part I 1 
Algebra II 1 
Applied Mathematics I 1 
Applied Mathematics II 1 
Applied Mathematics III 1 
Calculus 1 
Discrete Mathematics 1 
Financial Mathematics 1 
Geometry 1 
Introductory Algebra/Geometry 1 
Integrated Mathematics I 1 
Integrated Mathematics II 1 
Integrated Mathematics III 1 
Pre-Calculus 1 
Probability and Statistic 1 

 
Financial Mathematics may be taught by teachers 

certified in Business Education 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0102#025 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCSchool Approval Standards  

and Regulations (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education amended Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). The 
amendment to Standard 1.087.00 reflects the legislative 
intent of R.S. 17:282.2(F), making parallel the language 
between statute and SBESE policy. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education LR 
26:635 (April 2000), LR 26:1260 (June 2000), LR 26:1260 (June 
2000), LR 27:187 (February 2001). 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators 

1.087.00 The school system shall plan and implement a 
continuous program of skills, concepts, and instruction in a 
learning environment designed to promote excellence in 
order that every individual may be afforded an equal 
opportunity to develop to his/her full potential.  

 
The school system shall develop a nonsectarian 
character education philosophy and implementation 
plan consistent with locally developed curriculum.  
Refer to R.S.17:282.2(F). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0102#024 
 

RULE 

Department of Education 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1213CMinimum Standards for School Buses in 
LouisianaCUsed School Buses (LAC 28:XXV.303) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 1213 
promulgated in LR 2:187 (June l976), referenced in LAC 
28:I.915.B, readopted in codified format, LR 25:643-653 
(April 1999). The amendment clarifies the present policy 
governing the purchase of used school buses. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XXV.  Bulletin 1213CMinimum Standards for 
School Buses in Louisiana 

Chapter 3. General Provisions 
§303. Used School Buses 

A. Any used school bus purchased for use in Louisiana 
by or for a school system shall meet current legal 
requirements of the Louisiana Revised Statutes for motor 
vehicles and shall meet Louisiana specifications for school 
buses that were in effect on the date the vehicle was 
manufactured. No vehicle with rated capacity of 10 or more 
passengers shall be classified as a school bus and thereby 
used to transport students to and from school and school-
related activities unless said vehicle originally was 
manufactured and certified as a school bus and maintained 
the certification as a school bus all in accordance with 
federal and state requirements throughout the life of the 
vehicle. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:158, R.S. 17:160-161, and R.S. 17:164-166. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:644 (April 1999), 
amended LR 27:187 (February 2001). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0102#020 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1566CGuidelines for Pupil Progression  
(LAC 28:I.907) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
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Education amended Bulletin 1566, Guidelines for Pupil 
Progression, referenced in LAC 28:I.907.A. The Guidelines 
for Pupil Progression incorporate the High Stakes Testing 
Policy that was approved by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in January, 1999 and revised in May, 
2000 as well as other policies related to the promotion and 
retention of students. The revisions changed current policy 
by allowing eighth grade students the ability to earn a 
maximum of one Carnegie unit of credit toward graduation 
for remedial courses. Prior to this revision, these eighth 
grade students were required to take non-credit remedial 
courses in the areas in which they scored at the 
"unsatisfactory" achievement level on LEAP 21. The policy 
was also revised to include a retention limit at the 4th grade, 
a double jeopardy clause, information relative to the earning 
of Carnegie units by eighth grade students on an elementary 
campus, implementation of instructional options for students 
retained, override guidelines, and a classification of Option 1 
and 2 for 8th grade students. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XXXIX.  Bulletin 1566CGuidelines for Pupil 
Progression 

Chapter 3. General Procedure for Development; 
Approval and Revision of a Pupil  
Progression Plan 

§305. Public Notice 
A. ... 
B. The local Pupil Progression Plan shall be adopted at a 

public meeting of the local board, notice of which shall be 
published pursuant to the Open Meetings Law. It shall be 
stated that once the plan has been adopted and approved, the 
policies in the local plan shall be incorporated into the 
policies and procedures manual of the local school board. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2171 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:188 (February 2001). 
Chapter 5. Placement Policies; State Requirements 
§503. Regular Placement1 

A. PromotionCGrades K-12 
1. Promotion from one grade to another for regular 

education and students with disabilities shall be based on the 
following statewide evaluative criteria. 

a. - b.i.  … 
 ii.(a). No fourth or eighth grade student shall be 
promoted if he or she scores at the AUnsatisfactory@ level on 
the English language arts or mathematics components of the 
LEAP for the 21st century (LEAP 21). Exceptions to this 
policy include: 
 (i). Policy Override. A given student scores 
at the "unsatisfactory" level in English language arts or 
mathematics and scores at the "proficient" or '"advanced" 
level in the other; and participates in the summer school and 
retest offered by the LEA. The decision to override is made 
in accordance with the local Pupil Progression Plan, which 
may include referral to the School Building Level 
Committee (SBLC). 
 (ii). Retention Limit. The decision to retain 
a student in the fourth grade more than once as a result of 
failure to score at or above the Approaching Basis 

achievement level in English Language Arts and/or 
Mathematics on the LEAP 21 shall be made by the LEA in 
accordance with the local Pupil Progression Plan. Students 
retained in the 4th grade shall retake all four components of 
the LEAP 21. For promotional purposes, a student must 
score at or above the Approaching Basic achievement level 
on the English language arts and mathematics components 
of the LEAP 21 only one time. 
 (iii). Waiver for students with disabilities 
eligible under the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Act (IDEA). For the 1999/2000 school year only if a student 
with disabilities (excluding students with only a Speech or 
Language Impairment) participates in on-level testing, the 
local school system may consider a waiver only if the 
student has participated in the summer remediation program 
and retest offered by the LEA =s. If a student with disabilities 
(excluding students with only a speech or language 
impairment) participates in out-of-level testing, promotion 
decisions shall be determined by the local Pupil Progression 
Plan. If a student with disabilities participates in an 
alternative assessment, promotion decisions shall be 
determined by the local Pupil Progression Plan for the 2000 
school year and beyond. Students with disabilities will be 
promoted in grades four and eight in accordance with 
SBESE adopted policies. 
 (iv). Appeals Process. A school system, 
through its superintendent, may grant an appeal on behalf of 
individual fourth and eighth grade students who have not 
scored above the "unsatisfactory" level on the English 
Language Arts and/or Mathematics after retesting provided 
that certain criteria are met. 
 iii. School systems shall design and implement 
additional instructional program options for these fourth and 
eighth grade students being retained 

(a). The purpose of the additional instructional 
options is to move the students to grade level proficiency by 
providing focused instruction in the area(s) on which they 
scored "unsatisfactory" and by providing ongoing instruction 
using locally developed curricula based on state level 
content standards. 

(b). Examples of instructional options may 
include alternative learning settings, individual tutoring, 
transitional classes or other instructional options appropriate 
to the student=s needs. 

(c). LEAs are encouraged to design and 
implement additional options for students in grades 3, 4, 7 
and 8 determined to be at risk of scoring at the 
"unsatisfactory" level on LEAP 21. 
 iv. Summer remediation programs and end-of-
summer retests must be offered by school systems at no 
costs to all students who score at the "unsatisfactory" level 
on LEAP 21. 

(a). All students with disabilities who participate 
in on-level testing should receive services along with regular 
education students in summer programs, with special 
supports provided as needed. 

(b). Students with disabilities who participate in 
out-of-level testing and alternate assessment are not eligible 
to attend LEAP 21 summer remediation programs. 
 v. School systems must develop and implement 
non-discriminatory criteria to determine placement of eighth 
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grade students who have not scored "approaching basic" or 
above on the LEAP 21 into Options 1 or 2. 

(a). Option 1 Students. Students in Option 1 will 
repeat grade 8. Students in Option 1 will retake all four 
components of the LEAP 21. For promotional purposes, a 
student must score at or above the Approaching Basic 
achievement level on the English arts and mathematics 
components of the LEAP 21 only one time. In accordance 
with the local Pupil Progression Plan, Option 1 students:  
 (i). may earn Carnegie units in accordance 
with Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators policy, regarding high school credit for 
elementary students; 
 (ii). may earn a maximum of one Carnegie 
unit of remedial elective credit toward graduation provided 
the student passes a specially designed remediation elective 
and scores at or above the Basic achievement level on the 
component of the eighth grade LEAP 21 that is retaken. 
LEAP 21 shall be in lieu of a required credit examination. 
For these specially designed remediation courses, the LEA 
shall record a grade of Pass or Fail (P/F) on the student =s 
transcript; 
 (iii). shall not enroll in or earn Carnegie 
credit in content areas (English language arts and/or 
mathematics) in which the student has scored at the 
Unsatisfactory achievement level on the Grade 8 LEAP 21. 

b. Option 2 Students. Students in Option 2 will 
participate in a transitional program on the high school 
campus. Students in Option 2 will retake the eighth grade 
components of the LEAP 21 previously failed (English 
and/or Mathematics) and all parts of the Iowa Tests at the 
ninth grade level. All Option 2 Students: 
 (i). shall take remedial courses in the 
component (English language arts and/or mathematics) of 
the Grade 8 LEAP 21 in which an Unsatisfactory 
achievement level was attained. 
 (ii). may earn a maximum of one Carnegie 
unit of re medial elective credit toward graduation provided 
the student passes a specially designed remediation elective 
and scores at or above the Basic achievement level on the 
component of the 8th grade LEAP 21 that is retaken. For 
these specially designed remediation courses, the LEA shall 
record a grade of Pass or Fail (P/F) on the students 
transcript. 
 (iii). shall not enroll in or earn Carnegie 
credit in content areas (English language arts and/or 
mathematics) in which the student has scored at the 
Unsatisfactory achievement level on the Grade 8 LEAP 21. 
 (iv). may earn Carnegie credit in other 
content areas. 
 vi. Exceptional students participating in LEAP 21 
must be provided with significant accommodations as noted 
in the student’s IEP. 
 vii. The aforementioned policies will be in effect 
from spring 2000 through spring 2003. Beginning in spring 
2004, the policies will also apply to students scoring at the 
approaching basic level. 

A.1.b.viii. - D.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2171 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:188 (February 2001). 

§505. ProgressionCStudents Participating in Alternate 
Assessment 

A. Students with disabilities who participate in the 
alternate assessment shall have promotion decisions 
determined by the local Pupil Progression Plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2172 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:189 (February 2001). 
§507. Alternatives to Regular Placement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2172 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:189 (February 2001). 
§509. Alternative Schools/Programs/Settings 

A. The local school board may establish alternative 
schools/programs/settings which shall respond to particular 
educational need(s) of its students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2172 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:189 (February 2001). 
§513. Policies on Records and Reports 

A. - B.7.  ... 
8. a statement regarding written notification to parent 

concerning retention and due process procedures. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2172 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:189 (February 2001). 
§515. Policies on Due Process 

A. Due process procedures for teachers, students, and 
parents shall be specified in each local Pupil Progression 
Plan as related to student placement. The local school system 
must assure that these procedures do not contradict the due 
process rights of students with disabilities as defined in the 
IDEA-Part B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2173 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:189 (February 2001). 
Chapter 9. Regulations for the Implementation of 

Remedial Education Programs Related to the 
LEAP/CRT Program 

§911. Criteria for State Approval 
A. Student Eligibility 

1. Any public elementary or secondary student, 
including a student with a disability participating in LEAP 
21, who does not meet the performance standards 
established by the Department and approved by the State 
Board, as measured by the state criterion-referenced tests, 
shall be provided remedial education (R.S. 17:397). 

2. The failure of students with disabilities to achieve 
performance standards on the state criterion-referenced tests 
does not qualify such students for special education 
extended school year programs (SBESE Policy). 

B. - D.4.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17.7. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1775 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:189 (February 2001). 
§913. Local Program Development and Eval uation 

A. Each parish and city school board shall develop 
annually a remedial education program as part of its Pupil 
Progression Plan, which complies with the established 
regulations adopted by the Department and approved by the 
SBESE pursuant to R.S. 17.24.4.  

B. - K. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17.7. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2175 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:190 (February 2001). 
Chapter 11. Appendix A 
§1101. Definiti on of Terms  

A. - A.1. … 
* * * 

Alternate AssessmentCthe substitute way of gathering 
information on the performance and progress of students 
with disabilities who do not participate in typical state 
assessments. 

* * * 
Content StandardsCstatements of what we expect 

students to know and be able to do in various content areas. 
* * * 

LEAP 21 Summer Remediation ProgramCthe summer 
school program offered by the LEA for the specific purpose 
of preparing students to pass the LEAP 21 test in English 
language arts, or mathematics. 

* * * 
Louisiana Educational Assessment Program 

(LEAP)Cthe state's testing program that includes the grades 
3, 5, 6, 7 and 9 Louisiana Norm-referenced Testing Program; 
the grades 4 and 8 Criterion-referenced Testing Program 
including English language arts, mathematics, social studies 
and science and the Graduation Exit Examination (English 
language arts, mathematics, written composition, science 
and social studies). 

* * * 
PromotionCa pupil's placement from a lower to a higher 

grade based on local and state criteria contained in these 
Guidelines. 

* * * 
Pupil Progression PlanC"The comprehensive plan 

developed and adopted by each parish or city school board 
which shall be based on student performance on the 
Louisiana Educational Assessment Program with goals and 
objectives which are compatible with the Louisiana 
competency-based education program and which supplement 
standards approved by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (SBESE). A Pupil Progression Plan 
shall require the student's proficiency on certain test as 
determined by SBESE before he or she can be recommended 
for promotion." 

* * * 

Regular PlacementCthe assignment of students to 
classes, grades, or programs based on a set of criteria 
established in the Pupil Progression Plan. Placement 
includes promotion, retention, remediation, and acceleration. 

* * * 
Remedial ProgramsCprograms designed to assist 

students including students with disabilities and 
Non/Limited English Proficient (LEP) students, to overcome 
educational deficits identified through the Louisiana 
Education Assessment Program and other local criteria. 

* * * 
RemediationCsee Remedial Programs. 

* * * 
RetentionCnonpromotion of a pupil from a lower to a 

higher grade. 
2. - 2.a.  … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:2176 (November 
1999), amended LR 27:190 (February 2001). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0102#022 
 
 

RULE 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Authority Bylaws (LAC 28:VI.209) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA), the 
statutory body created by R.S. 17:3091-3099.2 in 
compliance with §952 of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
hereby announces revision of its governing bylaws. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Tuition Trust Authority 
Chapter 2. Bylaws  
§209. Committees 

A. - A.3.  ... 
4. planning committee; and 
5. rules committee. 

B. - B.2.  ... 
3. The vice chairman of the authority shall be 

chairman of the rules committee. 
4. The term of committee appointments shall be one 

year. 
5. Vacancies occurring among the appointive 

members of any committees, however arising, shall be filled 
by the chairman of the authority for the remainder of the 
unexpired term. 
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C. - F.3.  ... 
4. The executive committee shall consider such 

matters as shall be referred to it by the authority and shall 
execute such orders and resolutions as shall be assigned to it 
at any meeting of the authority. 

5. However, the authority may not delegate to the 
executive committee the final determination of the rate of 
interest to be paid on education savings accounts of record at 
the close of the calendar year. 

6. All official actions of the executive committee shall 
require a majority vote of the quorum present at the meeting. 

7. The executive committee shall also approve all 
budget adjustments prior to submission to the appropriate 
authority. 

8. In the event that an emergency requiring immediate 
authority action shall arise between authority meetings, it 
shall be the duty of the executive committee to meet in 
emergency session to take such action as may be necessary 
and appropriate. 

9. The executive committee shall report the actions it 
takes in emergency session to the authority for ratification at 
the authority's next meeting. 

G. - H.3.d.  ... 
I. Planning Committee. The planning committee shall 

consist of not less than six members of the authority. 
Normally, to this committee shall be referred the Strategic 
Plans and related matters. 

J. Rules Committee. The rules committee shall consist 
of not less than seven members of the authority. Normally, to 
this committee shall be referred all matters related to making 
and interpreting rules.  

K. Special Committees 
1. As the necessary therefore arises, the chairman 

may, with the concurrence of the authority, create special 
committees with such functions, powers and authority as 
may be delegated. 

2. The chairman may appoint ad hoc committees for 
special assignments for limited periods of existence not to 
exceed the completion of the assigned task. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3093 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:1655 
(December 1997), amended LR 27:190 (February 2001). 

 
Mark S. Riley 
Assistant Executive Director 

0102#002 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Correct Organization Citations 
Resulting From Reengineering of DEQ 

(LAC 33:XI.2609)(OS036) 

Editor's Note: The following Section of OS036, which was 
published as a Rule on pages 2439-2608 of the Novemeber 20, 
2000 Louisiana Register, is being published to correct a 
typographical error in the "see prior text" explanations. 
 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part XI.  Water Quality Regulations 
Chapter 23. The LPDES Program 
Subchapter R. Toxic Pollutant Effluent Standards  
       and Prohibitions 
Chapter 26.  
§2609. Compliance 

A.1. Within 60 days from the date of promulgation of any 
toxic pollutant effluent standard or prohibition each owner or 
operator with a discharge subject to that standard or 
prohibition must notify the Office of Environmental 
Services, Permits Division of such discharge. Such 
notification shall include such information and follow such 
procedures as the state administrative authority may require. 

* * * 
[See Prior Text In A.2. - G.] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2555 
(November 2000), repromulgated LR 27:191 (February 2001). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0102#066 
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RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Emissions Control from Motor Vehicles and Related Fees 
(LAC 33:III.223; 1901-1935)(AQ200) 

Editor's Note: The following Section of AQ200, which was 
published as a Rule on pages 1605-1607 of the August 20, 

2000 Louisiana Register, is being republished to correct 
typographical errors in the first and last "see prior text" 
explanations. 

 
Title 33 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Part III.  Air 

Chapter 2. Rules and Regulations for the Fee System 
of the Air Quality Control Programs  

§223. Fee Schedule Listing

 
Fee Schedule Listing 

Modified Permit Fees  
Fee 

Number 

Air 
Contaminant 

Source  SICC 

Annual 
Maintenance 

Fee 

New Permit 
Application 

Major Minor 

* * *  

[See Prior Text in Fee No. 0010-1722] 

 

Additional Fees 
Fee 

Number 
Fee Description Amount 

* * * 
[See Prio r Text in Fee No. 2000-2300] 

2400 An application approval fee for Stage II Vapor Recovery 
An annual facility inspection fee for Stage II Vapor Recovery 

 100.00 
 150.00 

2600 
*NOTE 16* 

Accident Prevention Program Annual Maintenance Fee: Program 1  200.00 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Fee No. 2620-2914] 

Explanatory Notes for Fee Schedule 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in Notes 1-17] 
Note 18. Reserved. 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Notes 19 – 20] 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054, 30:2341 and 30:2351 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:613 (September 1988), LR 15:735 (September 1989), amended 
by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:1205 (December, 1991), repromulgated LR 18:31 
(January 1992), amended LR 18:706 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 
(November 1992), LR 19:1373 (October 1993), LR 19:1420 
(November 1993), LR 19:1564 (December 1993), LR 20:421 
(April 1994), LR 20:1263 (November 1994), LR 21:22 (January 
1995), LR 21:782 (August 1995), LR 21:942 (September 1995), 
repromulgated LR 21:1080 (October 1995), amended LR 21:1236 
(November 1995), LR 23:1496 (November 1997), LR 23:1499 
(November 1997), LR 23:1662 (December 1997), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:267 (February 2000), LR 26:485 (March 2000), 
LR 26:1605 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:192 (February 
2001). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0102#065 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Filling of Gasoline Storage VesselsCExemption 
(LAC 33:III.2131) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air Quality regulations, LAC 
33:III.2131 (Log #AQ209). 

The Rule will correct an omission in LAC 33:III.2131.D.3 
to add St. Mary Parish to the list of parishes exempted from 
compliance with the requirements of LAC 33:III.2131.A for 
certain facilities. St. Mary Parish was inadvertently omitted 
in the original rulemaking. The basis and rationale for this 
Rule are to add St. Mary Parish to LAC 33:III.2131.D.3, 
where it was omitted in error from the list of parishes 
exempted from the requirements in LAC 33:III.2131.A. 

. 
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Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic 

Compounds  
Subchapter F. Gasoline Handling 
§2131. Filling of Gasoline Storage Vessels 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in A - D.2] 

3. Any gasoline outlet in the parishes of Ascension, 
Calcasieu, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe 
Coupee and West Baton Rouge whose throughput is less 
than 120,000 gallons (454,200 liters) per year or any 
gasoline outlet in the parishes of Beauregard, Bossier, 
Caddo, Grant, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lafourche, Orleans, St. 
Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, and St. 
Mary whose throughput is less than 500,000 gallons 
(1,892,700 liters) per year. Once the rolling 30-day average 
throughput exceeds 10,000 gallons for a facility in the 
parishes of Ascension, Calcasieu, East Baton Rouge, 
Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee and West Baton Rouge 
or 42,000 gallons for a facility in the parishes of Beauregard, 
Bossier, Caddo, Grant, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lafourche, 
Orleans, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the 
Baptist, and St. Mary that facility becomes an affected 
facility and does not revert to an exempted facility when the 
throughput drops back below the throughput exemption 
level. 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in D.4 - G] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
16:609 (July 1990), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:654 (July 1991), 
LR 18:1123 (October 1992), LR 19:1564 (December 1993), LR 
22:1212 (December 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning, LR 27:193 
(February 2001). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0102#064 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Electrolysis Examiners 

Definition of Electrologist Technician; Exceptions and 
Rights; Licensure of Electrologists and Instructors, Sanitary 

Requirements; License Renewal 
(LAC 46:XXXV.103, 105, 903, 905, 1303, 

1401 - 1409 and 1503) 

 In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. and of 
R.S. 37:74, the Board of Louisiana Electrolysis Examiners 
gives notice of its intent to revise Title 46, Part XXXV. The 
objective of this action is to adopt, amend and repeal Rules 
in response to changes in the 1999 regular session, Act 530 

of 1999, enacted on June 14, 1999. Rules are being changed 
for the requirements for licensure of instructors of 
electrology; licensure of electrologists technicians; to 
provide for the use of sterilized disposable equipment, and to 
establish continuing education. Implementation of the 
proposed Rules will have no known effect upon family 
stability, functioning, earnings, budgeting, the responsibility 
and behavior of children, or parental rights and authority, as 
set forth in R.S. 49:972. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXV. Electrologists 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. General Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Electrologist TechnicianCany person who for 
compensation practices electrolysis for the permanent 
removal of hair under the direct supervision of a licensed 
electrologist and has completed a 200-hour course of 
instruction. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 10:329 
(April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:534 (May 1985), amended LR 
17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 27:193 
(February 2001). 
§105. Exceptions and Rights 

A. - C. … 
D. A new unopened presterile disposable type probe 

shall be used for each client treatment. Techniques of 
sterilization of other instruments shall be the same as is used 
in hospitals, using pressure heat, dry heat, or any other 
method of sterilization deemed appropriate by the board. 

E. Operation of Other Business or Trade 
1. No other business or trade shall be allowed in 

treatment rooms while electrolysis is being performed, 
however, a licensed physician may perform electrolysis in 
his private office or clinic. 

2. If a person or business conducting electrolysis 
before July 1, 1983, moves to a different location, that 
person or business shall be required to comply with the 
terms of this Subsection. 

3. Further, any person or person conducting 
electrolysis that accedes to the common office suites, 
treatment rooms, and reception or waiting rooms used for 
the performance of any other business or trade, including 
schools of electrology and apprenticeship programs, shall be 
required to comply with the terms of the Subsection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:329 (April 1984), repromulgated LR 11:534 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:193 (February 2001). 
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Chapter 9. Licensure of Electrologists and 
Instructors 

§903. Licensure of Electrologists 
A. The board shall license and issue an appropriate 

certificate to any person who files a verified application, 
accompanied by the appropriate application fee, with 
evidence, verified under oath and satisfactory to the board, 
that he is at least 18 years of age, of good moral character, 
has graduated from an accredited high school or equivalent 
(has submitted proof of G.E.D.), and has successfully 
completed a course in practical training of electrolysis in a 
school of electrology which maintains the standards 
established and approved by the board or that he has 
completed a like number of hours in the subject areas 
specified in an apprenticeship program approved by the 
board; at the time of certification is free of any infectious 
disease; has successfully completed the written and practical 
test, and is current with all fees owed to the board, and has 
completed at least 450 hours of clinical experience, 150 
hours of academic study in a board approved school or 
apprenticeship program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 10:333 
(April 1984), amended LR 11:534 (May 1985), LR 17:778 (August 
1991), LR 19:1144 (September 1993), LR 27:194 (February 2001). 
§905. Licensure of Instructor 

A. The board may issue a license to any person as an 
instructor of electrology, subject to the restrictions provided 
herein and rules promulgated pursuant to R.S. 37:3051-
3077. No person shall teach or instruct electrology or its 
allied courses who does not hold both a valid license to 
practice electrology and a valid instructor's license issued by 
the board in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 3051-
3077. 

B. The board shall not license as an instructor of 
electrology any person who does not file with it a verified 
application thereof, accompanied by the appropriate 
application fee required, together with evidence verified by 
oath and satisfactory to the board, that the applicant: 

1. meets all the requirements to practice electrology in 
this state and holds a current license to practice electrology 
in this state;  

2. has practiced as a licensed electrologist for at least 
five years. 

C. The board shall not issue an instructor’s license to any 
person seeking initial licensure on or after August 1, 1999, 
who does not possess the following qualifications: 

1. possesses the applicant qualifications required in 
§905.A and §905.B.1 and 2; 

2. has successfully completed the curriculum for 
instructor training in electrolysis in an instructor training 
program that maintains the standards established and 
approved by the board and is part of either an approved 
school of electrology or an approved apprenticeship 
program. Such curriculum shall be under the supervision of 
a licensed instructor of electrology, shall include a course of 
study and practice over no less than a five-month period, and 
shall include at least 175 hours on the science of teaching, 
150 hours of teacher assistance/observations, and 175 hours 
of clinic -supervised practice teaching; 

3. successfully achieves a minimum test score on an 
examination administered and approved by the board. The 
examination shall be given annually at such time and place 
and under such supervision as the board determines and 
specifically at such other times as in the opinion of the board 
the number of applicants warrants. The board shall designate 
the date, time, and place of examination and give public 
notice thereof and, in addition, shall notify each person who 
has made application for examination to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:333 (April 1984), amended LR 11:534 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:194 (February 2001). 
Chapter 13.  
§1303. Sanitar y Requirements for Schools, 

Apprenticeship Programs, and Electrology 
Offices 

A. … 
B. In compliance with recommendations of the Centers 

for Disease Control (CDC), all electrology schools, 
apprenticeship programs, and electrology offices shall be 
equipped with either a dry heat sterilizer or steam heat 
autoclave to be used in accordance with the manufacturer's 
instructions. A new unopened presterile disposable type 
probe shall be used for each client treatment. Techniques of 
sterilization of other instruments shall be the same as is used 
in hospitals, using pressure heat, dry heat, or any other 
method of sterilization deemed appropriate by the board. All 
other instruments must be thoroughly cleansed with soap 
and water and then wiped clean with 70 percent alcohol 
solution before being placed in one of the following 
sterilization units. The instruments must then be sterilized 
following the manufacturer's proper sterilization procedures. 
These temperatures must be maintained during the complete 
sterilization cycle: 

1. saturated steam, 250ºF, 15 psi, 30 minutes; and 
2. dry heat, 340ºF for 60 minutes or 320ºF for 120 

minutes. 
C. All probes must be discarded in a Contamination 

Waste Box (red box), then discarded or collected in 
accordance with State Biomedical Hazardous Waste 
Disposal Procedures. 

D. Vinyl or latex protective gloves shall be used while 
attending electrology procedures. Hands shall be thoroughly 
washed with soap and water after removal of gloves. Unused 
gloves shall be used for each patient procedure and 
discarded after each use or if practitioner leaves patient's 
side or touches anything. 

E. Clean tissues, paper towels or freshly laundered 
towels shall be used for each patient. Before any patient is 
permitted to recline in a chair or on a table, said object shall 
be covered with a clean professional size towel or drape or a 
clean professional type tissue and shall be disposed of or 
laundered after each use. 

F. The skin area to be treated must first be cleaned with 
70 percent alcohol. 

G. Every patient must be treated on a professional 
treatment table or chair, which shall be used for the purpose 
of electrolysis treatment only. The exception to the 
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preceding is if the patient is physically handicapped; the 
patient may be treated in a wheelchair, stretcher, medical 
bed, chair or table. 

H. All treatment shall be given in privacy within an 
enclosed area. 

I. The electrolysis treatment room shall be provided 
with a separate entrance, but not leading directly from the 
exterior of the house or building. One must not pass through 
any part of the living quarters in order to reach the treatment 
room. 

J. The treatment room shall be closed from adjacent 
rooms by walls or doors. During treatment, such doors shall 
remain closed. 

K. Every office shall have hand washing facilities with 
operating hot and cold water in the treatment room or 
adjacent room which can be reached without passing 
through any part of the living quarters. Such hand washing 
facilities shall not be located in the bathroom, or public 
restroom. 

L. No electrologist, instructor or student in an 
apprenticeship program or school shall knowingly treat a 
person who is infected with impetigo, any contagious 
disease, skin malignancy, or any disease dangerous to the 
public. 

M. No electrologist, instructor or student in an 
apprenticeship program or school shall treat a diabetic 
person without written authorization of the patient’s treating 
physician. 

N. All electrologists, instructor and student, must place 
probe in holder of epilator when not in use. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:333 (April 1984), amended LR 11:534 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:194 (February 2001). 
Chapter 14. Electrologist Technician 
§1401. Licensure of Electrologist Technician 

A. The board shall license and issue an appropriate 
certificate to any person who files a verified application, 
accompanied by the appropriate application fee, with 
evidence, verified under oath and satisfactory to the board, 
that he is at least 18 years of age, of good moral character, 
has graduated from an accredited high school or equivalent 
(has submitted proof of G.E.D.), and has successfully 
completed a course in practical training of electrolysis in a 
school of electrology which maintains the standards 
established and approved by the board or that he has 
completed a like number of hours in the subject areas 
specified in an apprenticeship program approved by the 
board, at the time of certification is free of infectious 
disease, has successfully completed the written and practical 
test, and is current with all fees owed to the board, and has 
completed at least 110 hours of clinical experience, 90 hours 
of lectures on insertion techniques, modalities, healing, 
regrowth problems, and office management. 

B. Application fee for an electrologist technician shall be 
the same as provided in the R.S. 37:3072(A)(1). 

C. The board may license any person as an electrologist 
technician who has successfully completed the provisions of 
R.S. 37:3063(C)(2) and passes the appropriate written and 

practical examinations. The electrologist technician must 
work under the direct supervision of a licensed electrologist 
or licensed electrologist instructor and provide the name of 
the supervising electrologist to the board. A licensed 
electrologist technician may upgrade his license to that of an 
electrologist by completing the additional theory and 
practical hours in school or an electrologist apprenticeship 
program and by passing the appropriate board examination. 

D. If a student fails one or more parts of an examination, 
the student may take the parts in which he has failed in a 
subsequent examination upon payment of a $15 examination 
fee. If, after two attempts, the examination is not 
satisfactorily completed, the student thereafter shall be 
required to repeat and take the entire examination within one 
year of the date of the original examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 27:195 
(February 2001). 
§1403. Requirements for Electrologist Technician 

A. Each licensed electrologist technician may provide 
services only under the direct supervision of a licensed 
electrologist or a licensed instructor of electrology and 
provide the name, address, and license number of the 
supervising electrologist to the board. 

B. The licensed electrologist technician shall comply 
with the current regulations for sanitary requirements, proper 
sterilization, license renewals, and professional conduct in 
the boards rules and regulations.  

C. The electrologist technician shall not give formal 
consultations by phone or in the office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 27:195 
(February 2001). 
§1405. Requirements for Instructor of Electrologist 

Technician 
A. No instructor shall devote more than five days a week 

and no more than six hours a day to formal training in 
electrolysis including practical experience and extending 
over a period of not less than two months. 

B. Electrologist Technician Students shall submit to the 
board in writing every month a record of the time completed 
by every electrologist technician student in practical and 
theoretical work. 

C. No electrologist technician student may be supervised 
by another student or apprentice. 

D. The board approved school or apprenticeship program 
shall provide an identification badge to each student. The 
badge shall include the student's name, picture, and school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 27:195 
(February 2001). 
§1407. Requirements of Supervising Electrologists 

A. Each supervising licensed electrologist shall be 
responsible for the activities of the electrologist technician 
under his/her direct supervision. 

B. Have on file each patient's signed statement verifying 
that he/she is aware of being treated by a licensed 
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electrologist technician which may be checked upon 
inspection by the board. 

C. The supervising licensed electrologist shall furnish 
the board with the name, address, and license number of the 
electrologist technician under their supervision. The board 
must be contacted if the electrologist technician ceases to be 
under the direct supervision of the licensed electrologist. 

D. Each licensee must display his or her license in the 
treatment room. Each duplicate license will be provided by 
the board after payment of a $25 duplicate license fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 27:196 
(February 2001). 
§1409. Curriculum Regulations for the Electrologist 

Technician 
A. The 110 hours of clinical experience shall involve 

epilation whereby the licensed instructor demonstrates how 
to perform electrolysis on areas to be treated on the face and 
body not specifically prohibited in §105.B of the rules and 
regulations. 

B. The 90 hours of academic study shall include the 
following: 

 
1. histology of hair and skin structure 30 
2. bacteriology and sterilization 20 
3. electricity and equipment 15 
4. basic dermatology 15 
5. professional conduct and hygiene (including statutes and 

state board rules and regulations) 
10 
90 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:3051. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, LR 27:196 
(February 2001). 
Chapter 15. License 
§1503. Renewal of License 

A. Each license to practice electrology in this state shall 
be renewed annually on or before December 1 of each year 
upon application thereof accompanied by the renewal fee 
prescribed in R.S. 37:3072(A) and, beginning December 31, 
1999, proof that the applicant has completed at least three 
hours of continuing education approved by the board. 

B. Continuing Education Guidelines 
1. The board may grant an extension of up to six 

months for completion of the continuing education 
requirements to any person who applies to the board in 
writing for an extension and shows good cause. 

2. In addition to the continuing education 
requirements of §1503.A and B.1, license renewal for an 
instructor's license shall include completion of an additional 
two hours of continuing education approved by the board. 
The board may grant an extension of up to six months for 
completion of the continuing education requirements to any 
person who applies to the board in writing for an extension 
and shows good cause. 

C. Failure to Register 
1. When any electrologist, instructor, electrolysis 

school, or electrologist apprenticeship program licensed 
hereunder fails to register and pay the annual registration fee 
within 30 days after the registration fee becomes due, the 
license or certificate of such person, school, or electrologist 

apprenticeship program shall be revoked automatically at the 
expiration of 30 days after the registration was required, 
without further notice or hearing. However, any person, 
school, or electrologist apprenticeship program whose 
license or certificate is  automatically revoked as provided 
herein may, within three years of the date of revocation, 
make application in writing to the board for the 
reinstatement of such license or certificate and, upon good 
cause being shown, the board in its discretion may reinstate 
such license or certificate upon payment of all past due 
renewal fees and the payment of an additional sum of $50. 
The board may require as a condition of reinstatement that 
the person complete all or some of the past continuing 
education requirements within 12 months of reinstatement of 
the license. 

2. Any person, electrologist school, or electrologist 
apprenticeship program who fails within three years after 
revocation of a license or certificate to make written 
application to the board for reinstatement must reapply to the 
board and successfully complete a written and practical 
examination and pay all fees as required under the 
provisions of this Chapter and the rules and regulations 
adopted pursuant thereto. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3051. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Electrolysis Examiners, 
LR 10:333 (April 1984), amended LR 11:534 (May 1985), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Electrolysis Examiners, LR 17:778 (August 1991), LR 19:1144 
(September 1993), LR 27:196 (February 2001). 

 
Cheri L. Miller 
Chairperson 

0102#031 
 

RULE 

Department of He alth and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners for Speech Language 

Pathology and Audiology 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology  
(LAC 46:LXXXV.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., notice is given that the Board of Examiners 
for Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology has adopted 
the rules, regulations and procedures to replace the board =s 
current Rules, regulations and procedures. 

The Rules add definitions, amend supervision rules, 
amend the board =s application procedures, amend the 
continuing education Rules, and establish a procedure for 
applicants who practice illegally in Louisiana as a speech-
language pathologist, speech-language pathology assistant, 
and/or audiologist in the state of Louisiana. A detailed 
synopsis of the Rules is attached for your information. A 
complete copy of the Rules may be accessed on the board =s 
website at www.lbespa.org or by completing and submitting 
the attached order blank to the board office. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXXV.  Speech Pathology and Audiology 

Chapter 1. General Rules 
§103. Definitions 

* * * 
Hearing ScreeningCconsis ts of pure-tone air conduction 

screening, and screening tests of auditory function such as 
tympanometry, Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) and Auditory 
Brainstem Response (ABR) testing, for the purpose of the 
initial identification and/or referral of individuals  with 
suspected hearing problems and/or middle ear pathology. 

License Renewal PeriodCthe period of time that begins 
July 1, and ends on June 30, of the following calendar year.  

Nine Months of Full-Time Supervised Postgraduate 
Professional EmploymentCnine calendar months. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:705 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:346 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001). 
§105. Designations 

A. - B. … 
1. When signing formal and informal professional 

documents, speech-language pathology assistants and 
provisional speech-language pathology assistants shall write 
their full license title, e.g., B.A., Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant. Speech-language pathology assistants 
and provisional speech-language pathology assistants shall 
always identify themselves as such in professional 
interactions.  

C. When listing credentials, licensees should 
sequentially list their name, educational designation, license 
designation, and professional certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:346 (May 1996), LR 27:197 
(February 2001). 
§107. Qualifications for Licensure 

A. - B.2.c.  … 
C. Coursework RequirementsCSpeech Language 

Pathology License and Provisional Speech Language 
Pathology License. The following coursework requirements 
apply to applicants who began a master's program after 
January 1, 1994. 

C.1. - D.  … 
1. The applicant shall submit official transcripts from 

one or more regionally accredited colleges or universities 
evidencing completion of at least 60 semester hours of 
coursework which constitutes a well-integrated program that 
includes at least 12 semester credit hours in basic human 
communication processes to include the anatomic and 
physiologic bases, the physical and psychophysical bases, 
and the linguistic and psycholinguistic aspects. 

D.2.a. - G.3.a.ii. … 
 iii. The remaining 35 hours may be obtained in the 
areas of speech, language or hearing disorders. It is 
recommended that a minimum of 20 hours be in articulation. 

G.3.b. - 4.b. … 
c. A provisional speech-language pathology 

assistant may surrender his/her license if unable to find 
employment in the area of speech-language pathology and 
may defer the remaining time of the three year period to 
complete the licensure requirements. 

1. If the licensee has never worked as a provisional 
speech-language pathology assistant, a notarized statement 
shall be submitted to the board office. 

2. If the licensee is not currently employed as a 
provisional speech-language pathology assistant a letter 
specifying date of termination from the last employer shall 
be submitted to the board office with Form 300, to verify 
supervision to the date of termination. 

H. - J.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:350 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001). 
§109. Requirements to Upgrade License 

A. - D. … 
1. an official copy of a passing score on the 

Educational Testing Service area examination; 
2. verification of nine months of post-graduate 

professional employment/experience or its part-time 
equivalent in the field in which the license is held; 

D.3. - G.  … 
H. Audiologists who hold an audiology license but are 

completing the coursework or practicum requirements for 
registration as a dispenser shall follow the supervision 
requirements as specified in §123, and shall submit the 
board's Form 100 at the time of renewal. The board's Form 
100 and the upgrade fee shall be submitted to upgrade 
license status. 

I. It is the responsibility of the licensee to submit the 
documents and make a written request for upgrade of his/her 
license status. Licensees shall complete all supervision 
requirements consistent with the license held and 
immediately thereafter submit appropriate supervision forms 
to the board office along with a written request for license 
upgrade and the upgrade fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:329 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:197 (February 2001). 
§111. Fees 

The board collects the following fees, which are non-
refundable. 

A. Initial Louisiana license for: 
 

1. Speech-Language Pathologist  $100 
2. Audiologist  $100 
3. Audiologist to include hearing aid dispensing $125 
4. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist $100 

5. Restricted Speech-Language Pathologist  $100 

6. Provisional Audiologist  $100 

7. Provisional Audiologist to include hearing aid 
dispensing $125 

8. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $100 
9. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $100 
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10. Dual License Fee $200 
11. Dual License Fee to include hearing aid dispensing $225 
(Payable only by certified check, cashier's check or money order.) 

 
B. Renewal of license submitted on or before June 30 of 

each year for:  
 

1. Speech-Language Pathologist  $50 
2. Audiologist  $50 
3. Audiologist to include hearing aid dispensing $60 
4. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist  $50 

5. Restricted Speech-Language Pathologist  $50 

6. Provisional Audiologist  $50 
7. Provisional Audiologist to include hearin g aid 

dispensing 
$60 

8. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $50 
9. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $50 
10. Dual License $75 
11. Dual License to include hearing aid dispensing $85 

 
C. Delinquent Renewal Fee submitted between July 1 

and July 31 of each year for: 
 

1. Speech-Language Pathologist  $100 
2. Audiologist  $100 
3. Audiologist to include hearing aid dispensing $120 
4. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist  $100 

5. Restricted Speech-Language Pathologist  $100 

6. Provisional Audiologist  $100 
7. Provisional Audiologist to include hearing aid 

dispensing 
$120 

8. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $100 
9. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $100 
10. Dual License $150 
11. Dual License to include hearing aid dispensing $170 

 
D. Delinquent Renewal Fee submitted between August 1 

and October 31 of each year for: 
 

1. Speech-Language Pathologist  $200 
2. Audiologist  $200 
3. Audiologist to include hearing aid dispensing $220 
4. Provisional Speech-Language Pathologist  $200 
5. Restricted Speech-Language Pathologist  $200 
6. Provisional Audiologist  $200 

7. Provisional Audiologist to include hearing aid 
dispensing 

$240 

8. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $200 
9. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant $200 
10. Dual License $300 
11. Dual License to include hearing aid dispensing $340 
 

E. Registration fee for audiologists to dispense hearing 
aidsC$25 

F. Upgrade of provisional speech-language pathologist, 
provisional audiologist, speech-language pathology assistant 
or provisional speech-language pathology assistantC$25 

G. NSF or returned checkC$25 
H. Video rentalC$10 per tape for two weeks; $20 for 

two-tape set for two weeks 
 

Late return fee $10 per tape 
Late 30 days or more Cost of tape 
Video Catalog $5 

 

I. Mailing labelsC$.03 per label plus postage & 
handling 

J. Re-issuance of license certificateC$20 
K. Address listing-all licenseesC$25 
L. Directory of all licenseesC$25 
M. Fax transmissionC$3 for first page; $1 each 

additional page 
N. Publications to include law, rules, etc.C$5 each plus 

postage & handling 
O. Brochures/PamphletsC$.10 each plus postage and 

handling 
P. Verification of license (written)C$5 
 

Open Book Test fee $30 
Open Book Retest fee, per section $10 

 
Q. Subpoena  

1. within East Baton Rouge Paris hC$50; 
2. plus $.30 per mile outside East Baton Rouge 

ParishC$50 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:350 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001). 
§113. License Renewals 

A. - E. … 
F. Retired status is granted to speech-language 

pathologists and audiologists who are retired and do not 
practice speech-language pathology or audiology during the 
fiscal year, July 1 through June 30. 

1. These licensees shall complete the affidavit on the 
continuing education report and submit it at the time of 
licensure renewal. 

2. Retired licensees may retain their license by 
payment of the annual renewal fee.  In order to resume the 
practice of speech-language pathology or audiology, retired 
licensees shall demonstrate completion of five clock hours 
of continuing education in the area of licensure for each year 
that retired status was maintained. 

3. The licensee may submit the required five hours of 
continuing education each year he/she is retired or submit all 
of the hours the year he/she returns to work in the 
profession. 

G. Licensees who hold a license requiring supervision 
and who are not working in the field of speech-language 
pathology and/or audiology shall submit a notarized 
statement at the time of license renewal attesting to the fact 
that they did not work in the profession during the license 
period.  

H. Delinquent Renewal 
1. Delinquent requests for renewals will be accepted 

by the board through October 31, provided the Delinquent 
Renewal Fee is paid in accordance with §111.C. and D. and 
the continuing education summary form is submitted.  

2. A licensee whose license lapsed on November 1, 
and applies to reinstate prior to the following June 30, is 
required to submit a completed application, proof of 
continuing education, initial license fee and delinquent 
renewal fee in accordance with §111.A. and D. and §115. 

3. A licensee whose license lapsed on November 1, 
and applies for reinstatement after June 30, of the following 
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year, is subject to the initial license fee and the requirements 
of §113.I.3. 

I. - I.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:351 (May 1996), LR 27:198 (February 2001). 
§115. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. - D. … 
E. Continuing Education events occurring in the month 

of June, will be accepted for the collection period in which 
they occur or they may be counted in the following 
collection period which begins on July 1. Hours from one 
event may not be divided between two collection periods. 

F. - G. … 
H. The graduated scale for the collection of Continuing 

Education hours is based on the date an applicant receives 
his/her initial license: 

 
License Received Hours Required 

April, May, June 0 
January, February, March 3 
October, November, December 6 
July, August, September 10 

 
I. - I.4. … 

5. Distance learning (video conferences, telephone 
seminars and internet courses sponsored by universities, 
schools, clinics, state agencies, hospitals, or related 
professional organizations) (maximum of five hours). 

I.6. - 8. … 
9. The presenting licensee may count 12 times the 

value of a workshop the first time it is presented to allow for 
preparation time. (ExampleCa 3 hour workshop = 42 hours) 
The workshop will count for the actual hour value for each 
subsequent presentation of the same workshop. 

10. Teaching at the college level in the area of 
communication disorders is not acceptable. 

J. - J.2. … 
3. Licensees who elect to attend university 

classes/courses in speech-language pathology and/or 
audiology without payment of the university fee shall submit 
a self-study plan for pre-approval from the Louisiana Board 
of Examiners for Speech-Language Pathology and 
Audiology to receive continuing education credits. 

J.4. - K.1. … 
2. The board may request, through random audit, 

verification of clock hours submitted, including information 
regarding content and attendance. Approximately 10 percent 
will be audited each year as a means of evaluating 
compliance with the continuing education requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:351 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:199 (February 2001). 
§117. Application Procedures 

A. - D. … 
E. Speech-language pathologists, assistants and/or 

audiologists who have held a license in another state, shall 

provide official verification of their licensure status in each 
state. 

F. - I. … 
J. An applicant may be granted only one 60 day period 

to work while his/her initial application is being processed. 
No additional grace period may be granted to an applicant. 

K. When there is probable cause to believe that an 
applicant practiced illegally in Louisiana as a speech-
language pathologist, speech-language pathology assistant 
and/or audiologist, the board may offer a consent agreement 
and order which will grant the individual a license, subject to 
the following specified terms and conditions. 

1. Within 90 days of the date of the consent agreement 
and order, the applicant shall take and pass an open book 
examination regarding R.S. 37:2650-2666, the Board =s 
Rules, Regulations and Procedures, and Ethical Questions or 
within ten months of the date of the consent agreement and 
order, the applicant shall complete not fewer than five hours 
of continuing education in the area of ethics.  

a. Open book test fee shall be $30. The retest fee 
shall be $10 per section.  

b Applicants have 42 hours to complete all 
sections of the test. 

c. The open book examination or any section may 
be re-taken anytime within the 90 days. 

2. The applicant may be required to appear before the 
Board following completion of the continuing education in 
ethics to answer questions regarding the continuing 
education. 

3. The consent order and agreement shall be published 
in the LBESPA newsletter. 

4. If the applicant fails to successfully complete all 
requirements set forth in the above paragraphs within 90 
days, the applicant=s license shall be suspended without 
further notice until the board receives and accepts 
documentation of the applicant=s completion of the consent 
order and agreement requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:352 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:199 (February 2001). 
§119. Supervision Requirements for Restricted 

License, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology 
License and Provisional Audiology License 

A. … 
B. Speech-Language Pathologists or Audiologists may 

share the supervision responsibility for Provisional or 
Restricted licensees, but each supervising speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist shall complete and submit the 
necessary supervision forms. 

C. - C.1.  … 
2. For 12 month employees, one on-site, in-view 

observation shall be conducted each quarter.  
3. For nine month employees, two on-site, in-view 

observations shall occur in each semester.  
D. … 
E. Licensees shall complete all supervision requirements 

consistent with the license held and immediately thereafter 
submit appropriate supervision forms to the board office 
along with a written request for license upgrade and the 
upgrade fee.  
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F. Licensees who are not working in the field of speech-
language pathology and/or audiology and who hold a license 
requiring supervision, shall submit a notarized statement at 
the time of license renewal attesting to the fact that they did 
not work in the profession during the license period.  

G. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), 
amended LR 22:352 (May 1996), LR 27:199 (February 2001). 
§121. Supervision Requirements for Speech-Language 

Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant 

A. The supervision requirements specified in these 
guidelines are minimum requirements. It is the responsibility 
of the speech-language pathologist to design and provide a 
supervision system that protects patient/client care and 
maintains the highest possible standards of quality. 

B. Speech-language pathologists may share the 
supervision responsibility for provisional speech-language 
assistants or speech-language pathology assistants, but each 
supervising speech-language pathologist shall complete and 
submit the necessary supervision forms . 

C. Treatment for the patient/client served remains the 
responsibility of the supervisor. Therefore, the level of 
supervision required is considered the minimum level 
necessary for the supervising speech-language pathologist to 
maintain direct contact with the patient/client. 

D. Assistants who are not working in the field of speech-
language pathology shall submit a notarized statement at the 
time of license renewal attesting to the fact that they did not 
work in the profession during the license period. 

E. Although more than one speech-language pathologist 
may provide supervision of an assistant licensee and 
provisional assistant licensee, at no time may a licensed 
speech-language pathologist supervise or be listed as a 
supervisor for more than three assistant or provisional 
assistant licensees. When multiple supervisors are used, the 
supervisors are encouraged to coordinate and communicate 
with each other. 

F. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted 
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 200 
provided by the board. 

G. The supervising speech-language pathologist shall be 
readily available for consultation with the assistant licensee. 
This includes personal contact, telephone, pager, or other 
means of communication. 

H. Supervision Requirements for the Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant. 

1. A minimum of one clock hour of on-site, in -view 
supervision shall be completed each week for each licensee. 

2. A minimum of one clock hour of alternative 
supervision methods shall be completed each week for each 
licensee. These methods should include, but are not limited 
to: 

a. specifying protocols for speech-language 
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant 
licensee; 

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings 
conducted by the assistant licensee; 

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and 
documenting approval;  

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward 
meeting established objectives; 

e. monitoring, scheduling, charting and data 
collection; 

f. directing maintenance of equipment; 
g. directing research projects, in-service training 

and public relations programs; 
h. conducting telephone conferences. 

3. If circumstances prohibit a supervisor from 
completing the minimum supervision requirements 
(§121.H.1 and 2) in a given week, the remaining supervision 
may be completed the following week in conjunction with 
the required supervision hours for that week.   

4. When the supervising speech-language pathologist 
is unavailable for supervision for an extended period of time, 
arrangements shall be made for another qualified supervisor, 
or the speech-language pathology assistant shall be 
transferred to other duties. 

5. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 
Full-Time and Part-time Supervision Requirements: 

 

Hours Worked Required Supervision 
On-site, In-view 

Required Supervision 
Alternative Method 

21-40 hrs. 1 hr/week 1 hr/week 
20 hrs or less 1 hr/week 1 hr/every 2 wks 

 
6. Assistant licensees shall be supervised only by a 

speech-language pathologist licensed under the provisions of 
R.S. 37:2659(A) with the exception of hearing screenings 
which may be supervised by an audiologist, licensed under 
the provisions of R.S. 37:2659.  An individual may not be 
supervised by a provisional licensee or restricted licensee. 

I. Supervision Requirements for the Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant. 

1. A minimum of three clock hours of on-site, in-view 
supervision shall be completed each week for each licensee. 

2. A minimum of two clock hours of alternative 
supervision methods shall be completed each week for each 
licensee. 

3. These methods should include, but are not limited 
to: 

a. specifying protocols for speech-language 
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant 
licensee; 

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings 
conducted by the assistant licensee; 

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and  
documenting approval;  

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward 
meeting established objectives; 

e. monitoring scheduling, charting and data 
collection; 

f. directing maintenance of equipment; 
g. directing research projects, in-service training 

and public relations programs; 
h. conducting telephone conferences. 

4. If extenuating circumstances prohibit a supervisor 
from completing the minimum supervision requirements 
(§121.I.1 and 2) in a given week, the remaining supervision 
may be completed the following week in conjunction with 
the required supervision hours for that week.  
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5. When the supervising speech-language pathologist 
is out for an extended period of time, arrangements shall be 
made for another qualified supervisor or the provisional 
speech-language pathology assistant shall be transferred to 
other duties. 

6. When supervision requirements have not been met, 
in accordance with §121.I.1 and 2, licensees shall complete 
additional months of supervision to replace months of 
incomplete supervision. 

7. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 
Full-Time and Part-Time Supervision Requirements:  
 

Hours Worked Required Supervision 
On-Site, In -View 

Required Supervision 
Alternative Method 

21-40 hrs   3hrs/week  2hrs/week 
20 hrs or 1   1 ½ hr/week  1 hr/week 

 
8. Provisional assistant licensees shall be supervised  

by a speech-language pathologist licensed under the 
provisions of R.S. 37:2659(A) with the exception of hearing 
screenings which may be supervised by an audiologist, 
licensed under the provisions of R.S. 37:2659. An individual 
may not be supervised by a provisional licensee or a 
restricted licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), 
amended LR 22:353 (May 1996), LR 27:200 (February 2001). 
§123. Hearing Aid Dispensing 

A. - F.3.  … 
4. Audiologists shall conduct a post-fitting evaluation 

that includes functional gain measurements and/or real ear 
measurements unless the patient=s physical conditions 
prohibit accomplishment of these procedures. 

F.5. - H.2.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:353 (May 1996), 
amended LR 27:201 (February 2001). 
§129. Additional Requirements for International 

Applicants/Speakers of English as a Second 
Language 

A. Any document required to be submitted to this board 
with an application for a license shall be in the English 
language, or accompanied by a certified translation thereof 
into the English language. 

B. As a condition of the board's consideration of the 
license application of a graduate of a foreign college or 
university, the applicant shall provide the board with an 
evaluation of the applicant's transcript from an approved 
credentials evaluation agency. A list of approved agencies, 
and their addresses, may be obtained from the board. 

C. Because the essence of the practice of speech-
language pathology and audiology is communication, an 
applicant whose primary language is not English shall 
submit a passing score on a nationally recognized English

proficiency examination, and make a personal appearance 
before the board or its designees before a license may be 
issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), 
amended LR 22:354 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001). 
Chapter 3. Aides 
§301. Qualifications and Duties 

A. - C.5.  … 
D. The aide may engage in activities limited to those that 

are planned and directed by the supervising speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist. Providing that the preparation, 
training, and supervision are appropriate, the following tasks 
may be assigned to aides: 

1. setting up room and equipment; 
2. clearing room and storing equipment; 
3. preparing materials (such as making copies, typing 

forms) for use by the speech-language pathologist and/or 
audiologist; 

4. checking equipment to determine if the equipment 
is performing adequately; 

5. transporting patients/clients to and from sessions; 
6. assisting with field trips; 
7. performing hearing screenings limited to pure-tone 

air conduction screening and screening tympanometry; 
8. recording, charting, graphing, or otherwise 

displaying objective data relative to the patient's/client's 
performance. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 16:409 (May 1990), 
amended LR 22:355 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001). 
Chapter 5. Procedural Rules 
§503. Compliance Hearings 

A. - D. … 
E. Within 30 days after the compliance hearing, the 

board shall forward its final decision, including specific 
reasons therefore, by certified mail, return receipt requested, 
to the applicant or licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), 
amended LR 22:357 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001). 
§507. General Procedural Rules For Hearings 

A. - E. … 
F. The procedures to be followed in conducting the 

hearing governing the order of the proceedings are contained 
in Chapter 12, of the Disciplinary Action Manual For 
Occupational Licensing Boards prepared by the Louisiana 
Department of Justice, 1979, through the Office of the 
Attorney General. A copy of the Chapter will be provided to 
any interested party involved with the hearing upon receipt 
by the board of a written request therefore.  
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G. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650, et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), 
amended 22:357 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001). 

 
  C. Robin Morehouse, L-AUD, CCC-A 
  Chairperson 

0102#007 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Nursing 

Denial or Delay of Licensure, Reinstatement, or the Right  
to Practice as a Student Nurse (LAC 46:XLVII.3331) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
that the Board of Nursing (board) pursuant to the authority 
vested in the board by R.S. 37:918, 919 has adopted Rules 
amending the Professional and Occupational Standards 
pertaining to Denial or Delay of Licensure, Reinstatement, 
or the Right to Practice as a Student Nurse. The proposed 
amendments of the Rules are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL  

STANDARDS 
Part XLVII.  Nurses 

Subpart 2.  Registered Nurses 
Chapter 33. General 
§3331. Denial or Delay of Licensure, Reinstatement, or 

the Right to Practice Nursing as a Student Nurse  
A. Denial of Licensure, Reinstatement, or the Right to 

Practice Nursing as a Student Nurse 
1. Applicants for licensure, reinstatement, or the right 

to practice as a student nurse shall be denied approval for 
licensure, for reinstatement, to receive a temporary working 
permit, to be eligible for NCLEX -RN, or to enter or progress 
into any clinical nursing course, if the applicant has pled 
guilty, nolo contendere, "best interest of," been convicted of, 
or committed a: 

a. "crime of violence" as defined in R.S. 14:2(13), 
or any of the following crimes: first degree feticide, second 
degree feticide, aggravated assault with a firearm, stalking, 
false imprisonment-offender armed with a dangerous 
weapon, incest, aggravated incest, molestation of a juvenile, 
sexual battery of the infirm; or 

b. crime which involves distribution of drugs.  
2. For purposes of this Section, a pardon, suspension 

of imposition of sentence, expungement, or pretrial diversion 
or similar programs shall not negate or diminish the 
requirements of this Section. 

3. Applicants who are denied licensure, reinstatement, 
or the right to practice nursing as a student nurse shall not be 
eligible to submit a new application.  

4. Exception. The board may make an exception to the 
said rules when the following conditions are met: 

a. the applicant presents evidence that the cause for 
the denial will not affect safe nursing practice. The evidence 

may include but not be limited to completion of all court 
ordered probation and/or parole, comprehensive evaluations, 
employer references, rehabilitation, and restitution. Prior to 
requesting a board hearing, the evidence shall be presented 
to board staff; and 

b. a hearing or conference is held before the board 
to review the evidence, to afford the applicant the 
opportunity to prove that the cause for the denial does not 
affect safe nursing practice, and to provide an opportunity 
for the board to evaluate the evidence presented. 

B. Delay of Licensure, Reinstatement, or the Right to 
Practice Nursing as a Student Nurse 

1. Applicants for licensure, reinstatement, and for 
practice as a student nurse shall be delayed approval for 
licensure, for reinstatement, to receive a temporary working 
permit, to be eligible for NCLEX -RN, or to enter or progress 
into any clinical nursing course, if the applicant: 

a. has any pending disciplinary action or any 
restrictions of any form by any licensing/certifying board in 
any state; or 

b. has a pending criminal charge that involves any 
violence or danger to another person, or involves a crime 
which constitutes a threat to patient care; or 

c. has pled guilty, nolo contendere, "best interest 
of," been convicted of or committed a crime that reflects on 
the ability of the person to practice nursing safely, and the 
conditions of the court have not been met, or is currently 
serving a court ordered probation or parole. If the crime is a 
"crime of violence" as defined in R.S. 14:2(13) or any of the 
following crimes: first degree feticide, second degree 
feticide, aggravated assault with a firearm, stalking, false 
imprisonment-offender armed with a dangerous weapon, 
incest, aggravated incest, molestation of a juvenile, sexual 
battery of the infirm, the applicant shall be denied. 

2. For purposes of this Section, a pardon, suspension 
of imposition of sentence, expungement, or pretrial diversion 
or similar programs shall not negate or diminish the 
requirements of this Section. 

3. Applicants who are delayed licensure, 
reinstatement, or the right to practice nursing as a student 
nurse shall not be eligible to submit a new application until 
the following conditions are met: 

a. the applicant presents sufficient evidence that the 
cause for the delay no longer exists; and 

b. a hearing or conference is held before the board 
to review the evidence, to afford the applicant the 
opportunity to prove that the cause for the delay no longer 
exists, and to provide an opportunity for the board to 
evaluate changes in the person or conditions. 

4. Exception. The board may make an exception to the 
said rules when the following conditions are met: 

a. the applicant presents evidence that the cause for 
the delay will not affect safe nursing practice. The evidence 
may include but not be limited to comprehensive 
evaluations, employer references, rehabilitation, and 
restitution; and 

b. a hearing or conference is held before the board 
to review the evidence, to afford the applicant the 
opportunity to prove that the cause for the delay will not 
affect safe nursing practice, and to provide an opportunity 
for the board to evaluate the evidence presented. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:918, 920 and 921. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 7:74, (March 1981), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Nursing, LR 19:1145 (September 1993), LR 21:271 (March 1995), 
LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR 27:202 (February 2001). 

 
Barbara L. Morvant 
Executive Director 

0102#069 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary   

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and  
TreatmentCDental Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is adopted in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing restores the 
7 percent reduction that was previously made to the 
reimbursement fees for the Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) dental services. In 
addition, the reimbursement fees for certain designated 
procedure codes are increased to the following rates. 

 
Procedure Code Procedure Name New Rate  

02110 Amalgam-1 Surface Deciduous $ 35.00 
02120 Amalgam-2 Surface Deciduous $ 45.00 
02130 Amalgam-3 Surface Deciduous $ 55.00 
02140 Amalgam-1 Surface Permanent $ 35.00 
02150 Amalgam-2 Surface Permanent $ 45.00 
02160 Amalgam-3 Surface Permanent $ 55.00 
02930 Stainless Steel Crown-Primary $ 75.00 

02931 Stainless Steel Crown-
Permanent 

$ 75.00 

02950 Crown Buildup $ 75.00 
05211 Upper Acrylic Partial w/Clasp $355.00 
05212 Lower Acrylic Partial w/Clasp $355.00 
07110 Simple Extraction $ 35.00 
07210 Surgical Extraction $ 50.00 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0102#084 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home Health ProgramCExtended Skilled Nursing Visits 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is adopted in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement rate for Home Health extended skilled 
nursing visits to $24.50 per hour.  

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0102#82 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary   

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home Health ServicesCSkilled  
Nursing Reimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the 1999-
2000 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening and utilization review, 
and other measures as allowed by federal law." This Rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
reimbursement methodology for home health services by 
establishing a separate reimbursement rate for skilled
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nursing services when these services are not provided by a 
licensed registered nurse. Reimbursement is set at 80 percent 
of the current rate when skilled nursing services are provided 
by a licensed practical nurse (LPN). However, the current 
rates on file will continue to be paid when a registered nurse 
provides the skilled nursing services. The separate 
reimbursement rate set at 80 percent of the current home 
health physical therapy rate when the physical therapy 
services are provided by a physical therapy assistant is 
discontinued.  

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0102#083 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary  

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation ProgramCEmergency  
Ambulance Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is adopted in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing restores the 
7 percent reduction previously made to the reimbursement 
rates for emergency ambulance transportation services. In 
addition, the base rate for these services is increased by 2 
percent. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0102#081 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary   

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation ProgramCNon-Emergency 
Ambulance Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is adopted in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing restores the 
base rate for non-emergency ambulance transportation 

services to the rate that was in effect July 1, 1999. In 
addition, the reimbursement fees for certain designated 
procedure codes are increased to the following rates: 

 
A0360 Base rate, BLS, 1st Trip  $125.00 
A0364 Base rate, no specialized ALS services, 1st trip  $125.00 
A0366 Base rate, Specialized ALS services, 1st trip $125.00 
A0380 Loaded miles, BLS, 1 st trip  $4.32 
A0390 Loaded miles, ALS, 1 st trip  $4.32 
Z5100 Transfer, loaded miles, BLS, 1 st trip  $125.00 
Z5101 Transfer, loaded miles, ALS, 1 st trip  $125.00 
Z5102 Loaded miles, ALS or BLS, 2nd trip  $4.32 
Z9497 Base rate, ALS or BLS, 2nd trip  $125.00 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0102#080 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Gaming Control Board 

Compulsive or Problem GamblersCTelephone 
Information and Referral Service Posting 

(LAC 42:VII.2933, IX.2939, XI.2407 and XIII.2933) 

The Gaming Control Board hereby amends LAC 
42:VII.2933, IX.2939, XI.2407 and XIII.2933 in accordance 
with R.S. 27:15 and 24, and the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part VII.  Pari-Mutuel Live Racing Facility 
Slot Machine Gaming 

Chapter 29. Methods of Operation Generally 
§2933. Compulsive or Problem GamblersCTelephone 

Information and Referral ServiceCPosting 
A. The Type A license shall post one or more signs at 

points of entry to the designated gaming areas to inform 
customers of the toll-free telephone number available to 
provide information and referral services regarding 
compulsive or problem gambling. The toll-free numbers 
shall be provided by the division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:767 
(April 2000), amended LR 27:204 (February 2001). 

Part IX.  Landbased Casino Gaming 
Chapter 29. Operating Standards  
§2939. Compulsive or Problem GamblersCTelephone 

Information and Referral ServiceCPosting 
A. The casino operator shall post one or more signs at 

points of entry to the designated gaming areas to inform 
customers of the toll-free telephone number available to 
provide information and referral services regarding 
compulsive or problem gambling. The toll-free numbers 
shall be provided by the division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 25:1954 
(October 1999), amended LR 27:204 (February 2001). 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 27, No. 02   February 20, 2001 205 

Part XI.  Video Poker 
Chapter 24. Video Draw Poker 
§2407. Operation of Video Draw Poker Devices 

A. - A.16.  … 
17. All licensees shall post one or more signs at points 

of entry to the gaming area to inform customers of the toll-
free telephone number available to provide information and 
referral services regarding compulsive or problem gambling. 
The toll-free numbers shall be provided by the division. The 
penalty for violation of this subsection shall be $250 per day 
for the first offense, $500 per day for the second offense and 
$1000 per day for the third offense. The penalty for fourth 
and subsequent offenses shall be $1000 per day or 
administrative action including but not limited to suspension 
or revocation. 

B. - D.4.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming 
Enforcement Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 
(February 1992), amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control 
Board, LR 25:85 (January 1999), LR 27:205 (February 2001). 

Part XIII. Riverboat Gaming 
Chapter 29. Operating Standards  
§2933. Compulsive or Problem GamblersCTelephone 

Information and Referral ServiceCPosting 
A. The holder of an operators license shall post one or 

more signs at points of entry to the designated gaming areas 
to inform customers of the toll-free telephone number 
available to provide information and referral services 
regarding compulsive or problem gambling. The toll-free 
numbers shall be provided by the division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 21:705 (July 1995), amended 
by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming 
Control Board, LR 27:205 (February 2001). 

 
Hillary J. Crain 
Chairman 

0102#035 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Approved Citation for Litter Enforcement  
(LAC 55:I.2101) 

Pursuant to R.S. 30:2531.7 and in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety 
Services, hereby adopts LAC 55:I.2101. The adoption of 
§2101 is necessary as a result of the enactment of Act 
Number 148 of the 1998 First Extraordinary Legislative 
Session which requires the department to promulgate rules 
and regulations to provide for a uniform citation document 
which shall be used for issuing citations of the litter law. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 25. Litter Enforcement 
§2501. Approved Citation for Litter Enforcement 

A. The department hereby approves any uniform citation 
approved and adopted for use pursuant to R.S. 32:398.1 for 
the enforcement of any litter violations committed in this 
state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2531.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:205 
(February 2001). 

Jerry W. Jones 
Undersecretary 

0102#047 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Collection of DNA Samples for Convicted  
Offenders (LAC 55:I.Chapter 23) 

Pursuant to R.S. 15:601 et seq. and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., notice is hereby given that the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Service, Office of 
State Police adopts LAC 55:I.Chapter 23. Notice is further 
given that the department adopts the following rules and 
regulations which establish guidelines for the collection, 
submission, receipt, identification, storage and disposal of 
DNA samples for convicted offenders as defined in R.S. 
15:601 et seq. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 23. Collection, Submission, Receipt, 
Identification, Storage and Disposal  
of DNA Samples 

§2301. Scope, Purpose and Application 
A. Scope, Purpose, and Application. To provide rules and 

regulations governing the collection, submission, receipt, 
identification, storage and/or disposal of DNA samples for 
convicted offenders for a state database/CODIS pursuant to 
R.S. 15:601 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:205 
(February 2001). 
§2302. Definitions 

AFISCthe Automated Fingerprint Identification System 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

CAJUNCthe Corrections and Justice Unified Network 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections. 

CODIS or Combined DNA Index SystemCthe Federal 
Bureau of Investigation's national DNA identification index 
system which facilitates the storage and exchange of DNA 
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records submitted by state and local criminal justice and law 
enforcement agencies. 

Crime LaboratoryCLouisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Convicted OffenderCa person convicted of a felony sex 
offense, other specified offense or any other offense for 
which a DNA sample must be obtained pursuant to R.S. 
15:601 et seq. 

DepartmentCDepartment of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

DirectorCthe Director of the Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory. 

DNACdeoxyribonucleic acid. 
DNA AnalysisCDNA typing tests that generate numerical 

identification information and are obtained from a DNA 
sample. 

DNA DatabaseCthe DNA identification record system 
maintained and administered by the director. 

DNA Database Blood Collection Kit or KitCthe kit 
provided by the Department for the collection of DNA 
samples. 

DNA RecordCDNA information that is derived from a 
DNA sample and DNA analysis and is stored in the state 
DNA database or in CODIS, including all records pertaining 
to DNA analysis. 

DNA SampleCbiological evidence of any nature that is 
utilized to conduct DNA analysis. 

DPS&CCDepartment of Public Safety and Corrections. 
Evidence TechnicianCindividual authorized by the 

Director to perform the duties set forth in LAC 55:I:2301 et 
seq. 

FBICFederal Bureau of Investigation within the United 
States Department of Justice. 

FTACspecialized paper that binds DNA. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:611. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:205 
(February 2001). 
§2303. Collection, Submission, and Identification of 

DNA Samples for Convicted Offenders 
A. All DNA samples obtained for DNA Analysis from a 

convicted offender shall be collected using an approved 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory DNA Database 
Collection Kit as supplied by the department. 

1. Each DNA Database Blood Collection Kit shall 
contain all necessary materials for blood collection via 
finger stick and for proper identification of the offender. 

2. Each kit shall be numbered sequentially from one 
kit to the next so that each kit number shall serve as a unique 
identifier. Any DNA Database Collection Kit Envelope, Kit 
Shipping Envelope, DNA Database Information Card, DNA 
Database Collection Card or AFIS or CAJUN Printout 
identifying the convicted offender that may be used as part 
of the kit shall have the same number as the kit used for 
collection. 

3. For blood collection, all DNA samples shall be 
collected by individuals trained and approved to serve as 
collectors by the Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory. 

4. The collector shall complete the DNA Database 
Information Card or utilize an AFIS or CAJUN Printout 

which contains the identifying information of the collected 
offender when obtaining a sample. 

a. In the event a DNA Database Information Card is 
used, the collector shall fill in all requested information as 
completely as possible. This information shall include the 
offender’s name in full, current address, social security 
number, date of birth, sex, race, state identification number, 
submitting agency, name and signature and agency of person 
obtaining the blood sample, date, and form of positive 
identification shown by the offender. 

b. If an AFIS or CAJUN printout is used, 
identifying information of the offender will be contained on 
the printout. 

c. A DNA Blood Collection Card or a space on the 
AFIS or CAJUN printout utilized for all necessary collection 
information shall be filled out as completely as possible and 
shall include the following information: race, sex, name of 
blood collector, signature of blood collector, date and time of 
sample collection, signature of person taking offender's 
fingerprint, date and time of fingerprint application. 

d. The state identification number or Department of 
Corrections number and name of the offender shall be 
written on the FTA Blood Collection Paper in the 
information space provided. 

5. Finger stick blood samples shall be obtained using 
recognized and approved medical procedures, and the 
following guidelines shall be followed. 

a. Prior to each individual blood collection 
procedure, personnel performing the collection shall put on 
barrier gloves. The FTA Blood Collection Paper contained 
within the kit shall not be touched unless the individual 
collecting the offender's blood is wearing barrier gloves. 

b. The tip of the offender's finger shall be wiped 
with an absorbent alcohol pad. 

c. The offender's finger shall be pricked using a 
sterile, fixed depth lancet. 

d. The offender's finger shall be positioned over one 
of the four circles printed on the FTA Blood Collection 
Paper, and the finger shall be milked, allowing two drops of 
blood to fall onto the FTA paper, within the circle. This 
procedure will be repeated for the remaining three circles if 
possible. 

e. A sterile gauze pad shall be used to wipe off any 
remaining blood form the offender's finger, and an adhesive 
bandage shall be affixed to the offender's finger.  

f. All medical supplies (lancet, absorbent alcohol 
pad, gauze pad, barrier gloves) shall be discarded in 
compliance with standard medical procedures. 

g. The blood on the FTA Blood Collection Paper 
shall be allowed to air dry for approximately 30 minutes. 
The FTA Blood Collection Paper shall not be touched, nor 
shall it be allowed to come in contact with any other FTA 
Blood Collection Paper during the drying and packaging 
stages. 

h. The FTA Blood Collection Paper shall be placed 
in the protective envelope provided in the kit and sealed. The 
sealed protective envelope shall be stapled to the DNA 
Database Collection Card or the Completed AFIS or CAJUN 
printout which shall then be placed in the kit envelope. The 
kit envelope flap shall be moistened and the envelope sealed. 
An evidence or security seal shall then be placed over the 
envelope seal, and the seal shall be dated and initialed. 
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i. The sealed kit envelope shall be placed in a pre-
addressed mailing envelope which shall be conspicuously 
marked as containing dried blood specimens with a 
biohazard label. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:206 
(February 2001). 
§2304 Shipping of DNA Samples for Convicte d 

Offenders 
A. DNA samples collected in accordance with these 

procedures shall be submitted to the Crime Laboratory in 
person by approved personnel or via delivery service, such 
as U.S. mail in accordance with the Crime Laboratory's 
Quality Manual. The mailing envelope shall be mailed or 
delivered to the Crime Laboratory after collection to the 
following address: 

Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory 
376 East Airport Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:611. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 (February 2001). 
§2305. Record Keeping of DNA Samples for Convicted 

Offenders 
A. The individual who collects each DNA sample shall 

provide an accurate, up-to-date list of every DNA sample 
collected each day of collection. Any failed attempts to 
collect blood from an offender and the reason for the failure 
(e.g. refusal of offender to submit, failure to keep scheduled 
appointment) shall also be indicated. The list will include the 
following information: the kit number, the offender's name, 
the name of the person collecting the sample and the 
submitting agency together with any additional data which 
the director deems necessary. This information shall be 
forwarded in the form of an audit sheet to the director on a 
daily basis, via both facsimile and U.S. mail. If the mailing 
envelopes are hand delivered to the Crime Laboratory, the 
audit sheet shall accompany the mailing envelopes being 
delivered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 
(February 2001). 
§2306. Storage of DNA Samples for Convicted 

Offenders 
A. The sealed kits containing DNA samples shall be 

stored in a dedicated storage area within the Crime 
Laboratory. Access to the sealed kits and to the storage area 
shall be limited to authorized personnel. Any access to or 
removal/return of the sealed kit or specimen bags shall be 
performed in accordance with Crime Lab Evidence and 
Handling Policies and Procedures. Only authorized 
personnel shall open a sealed kit or specimen bag and shall 
initial and date the broken seal and shall reseal the kit or 
specimen bag in accordance with standard forensic operating 
procedures. 

B. DNA samples on FTA Blood Collection Paper, DNA 
Database Collection Cards, DNA Database Identification 
Cards, and AFIS or CAJUN printouts shall be stored 

indefinitely in a secure storage area unless otherwise 
required in accordance with R.S. 15:614. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 
(February 2001). 
§2307. Severability 

A. If any article, section, subsection, sentence, clause or 
phrase of LAC 55:I:2301 et seq. is for any reason 
determined to be unconstitutional, contrary to statute, in 
excess of authority, or otherwise inoperative, such 
determination shall not affect the validity of any other 
article, section, subsection, sentence, clause or phrase of 
LAC 55:I:2301 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 
(February 2001). 

 
Jerry W. Jones 
Undersecretary 

0102#046 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Office of the Secretary 

Policy Statements (LAC 61:III.101) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Office of 
the Secretary, adopted LAC 61:III.101 to provide for policy 
statements issued by the Department of Revenue. 

The Secretary of Revenue is authorized by R.S. 47:1511 to 
adopt reasonable Rules and regulations to enforce the 
provisions relating to the taxes collected and administered 
by the department. LAC 61:III.101 establishes the types of 
policy statements to be issued for the proper administration 
and enforcement of the tax laws and the collection of 
revenues. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Department of Revenue; Administrative  
Provisions and Miscellaneous 

Chapter 1. Agency Guidelines 
§101. Policy Statements 

A. Purpose 
1. This Rule defines the types of policy statements 

that may be issued and the procedures for issuing them. 
Policy statements provide guidance as to the department’s 
position and ensure that employees enforce the tax laws 
correctly, consistently, and fairly. 

2. In the past, policy statements issued to provide 
policy guidance included Rules, Private Letter Rulings, 
Technical Advisory Memoranda, Policy and Procedure 
Memoranda, and informal oral and written advice. 

3. The following policy statements will now be 
issued: 

a. rules adopted according to the administrative 
procedure act; 
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b. policy and procedure memoranda; 
c. declaratory rulings: 

 i. private letter rulings; 
 ii. revenue rulings; and 
 iii. statements of acquiescence or nonacquiescence; 

d. revenue information bulletins; and 
e. informal advice. 

B. Distinguishing Rules from Other Policy Statements 
1. Rules are adopted in accordance with Louisiana’s 

Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
and the APA is the authoritative guide as to when a Rule is 
required. 

2. The APA excepts agency statements, guides , or 
requirements for conduct or action that regulate the internal 
management of the agency from the definition of a “Rule” 
[R.S. 49:951(6)]. Policy and Procedure Memoranda are 
issued under this exception. 

3. The APA also provides that, "The fact that a 
statement of policy or an interpretation of a statute is made 
in the decision of a case or in an agency decision upon or 
disposition of a particular matter as applied to a specific set 
of facts involved does not render the same a Rule within this 
definition or constitute specific adoption thereof by the 
agency so as to be required to be issued and filed as 
provided in this Subsection" [R.S. 49:951(7)]. The term Rule 
"does not include declaratory rulings or orders." [R.S. 
49:951(6)]. Declaratory Rulings are is sued under these 
exceptions. 

4. General information may be disseminated and 
general assistance provided, but taxpayers are only bound by 
statutes and regulations that have the force and effect of law. 
Revenue Information Bulletins and informal advice offered 
to taxpayers do not establish legal requirements for 
taxpayers. 

5. Within the parameters set forth by the APA, Title 
47, and other applicable laws, discretion may be used to 
determine if policy guidance is needed and the type of policy 
guidance to be issued. 

6. Reasons for issuing a Rule may include: 
a. the law or current rules are not clear and the issue 

affects many people; 
b. there is inconsistency in the treatment of a tax 

issue within the department or among taxpayers; 
c. the procedures a taxpayer should follow to 

comply with the law are undefined, unclear, or inconsistently 
followed; 

d. a request for a Private Letter Ruling from one 
taxpayer concerns an issue that may affect many taxpayers; 

e. a request for policy guidance from employees 
concerns an issue that may affect many taxpayers; or 

f. issuance of a Rule will assist the public in 
meeting its legal obligations in an effective and efficient 
manner. 

7. Reasons for not issuing a Rule may include: 
a. the matter affects only one taxpayer;  
b. the law is clear; 
c. a statutory change is more desirable; or 
d. the matter may best be handled by another 

means. 
C. Declaratory Rulings 

1. Declaratory Rulings are statements pertaining to a 
specific set of facts to provide guidance for department 

employees and taxpayers. Declaratory Rulings, Policy and 
Procedure Memoranda, Revenue Information Bulletins, and 
informal advice are not agency rules and are not binding on 
the public. 

2. The following types of Declaratory Rulings will be 
issued with a uniform format and numbering system. Each 
Declaratory Ruling will indicate the date the ruling was 
issued, a summary title of what the ruling addresses (subject 
heading), whether it replaces, modifies, or supersedes a 
previous policy statement, applicable references and 
authority, a statement of scope, and other pertinent 
information. 

a. Private Letter Rulings 
 i. Private Letter Rulings (PLR) provide guidance 
to a specific taxpayer at the taxpayer’s request. It is a written 
statement issued to apply principles of law to a specific set 
of facts or a particular tax situation. A PLR does not have the 
force and effect of law. 
 ii. A PLR is not binding on the person who 
requested it or on any other taxpayer. It is binding on the 
department only as to that taxpayer and only if the facts 
provided were truthful and complete and the transaction was 
carried out as proposed. It continues as authority for the 
department’s position unless a subsequent declaratory ruling, 
rule, court case, or statute supersedes it. 
 iii. Requests for PLR are submitted to the 
secretary by an identified taxpayer, or the taxpayer's 
representative who has a power of attorney. Requests must 
contain the following information: 

(a). name, address, and telephone number of 
person requesting the advisory opinion; 

(b). a power of attorney, if the person is 
represented by a third party; 

(c). specific questions to be answered or issues to 
be addressed; 

(d). complete statement of all relevant facts; 
(e). citations to or copies of relevant statutes, 

regulations, court decisions, advisory opinions, or other 
authority that appear to support the taxpayer’s position; 

(f). copies of relevant documents such as 
contracts, wills, deeds, account statements, workpapers, 
reports, invoices, etc.; and 

(g). a statement attesting:  
(i). whether the person requesting the opinion 

has the same issue under audit or appeal with the department 
or any other taxing or revenue authority; 
 (ii). if the person requesting the opinion has 
been notified that an examination or audit is pending; 
 (iii). if the person requesting the opinion is 
litigating the issue; 
 (iv). if the department, or any other taxing 
or revenue authority, has previously issued the advisory 
opinion on the same issue (with copy attached); and 
 (v). if the Attorney General’s Office has 
been, or will be, requested to issue an opinion concerning 
the issue; 
 (vi). that, prior to the issuance of a PLR, if 
the requesting person is notified of a pending examination or 
audit by the department or other taxing or revenue authority, 
they will notify the Secretary of the pending examination. 
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 iv. PLRs may be published but only after all 
taxpayer identifying information has been removed and 
measures are taken to protect taxpayer confidentiality. 
 v. A PLR request may not be used to delay or 
interrupt an audit. 
 vi. Reasons for issuing a Private Letter Ruling 
may include: 

(a). it has been requested by an identified 
taxpayer, or the taxpayer’s representative who has a power 
of attorney; and 

(b). the law and regulations are not clear.  
 vii. Reasons for not issuing a Private Letter Ruling 
may include: 

(a). the law and regulations are clear;  
(b). a rule would be more appropriate under the 

APA; 
(c). the inquiry concerns alternative treatments or 

purely hypothetical situations; 
(d). the inquiry concerns matters scheduled for 

audit or in audit, appeal, or litigation; 
(e). the inquiry concerns federal tax matters not 

pertaining to differences in treatment for federal and state 
purposes; 

(f). the inquiry concerns an issue that is being 
litigated or may be litigated in the near future; 

(g). the request is incomplete because it does not 
contain all of the information required by §101.C.2.a.iii;  

(h). the request can best be handled by another 
means; or 

(i). the requesting person withdraws the request 
at any point prior to issuance of the PLR. 

b. Revenue Rulings 
 i. A Revenue Ruling provides guidance to the 
public and employees. 

(a). It is a written statement issued to apply 
principles of law to a specific set of facts. 

(b). A Revenue Ruling does not have the force 
and effect of law and is not binding on the public. It is a 
statement of the department’s position and is binding on the 
department until superseded or modified by a subsequent 
change in statute, regulation, declaratory ruling, or court 
decision. 

(c). A Revenue Ruling is requested by 
employees, who provide a complete factual and legal 
background similar to that required of taxpayers requesting a 
Private Letter Ruling. 

(d). A Revenue Rulings request cannot be used to 
delay or interrupt an audit. 
 ii. Temporary Revenue Rulings may be issued 
when necessary due to time constraints or emerging issues. 

(a). Temporary Revenue Rulings must clearly 
state their lack of finality and once a final Revenue Ruling is 
issued, the Temporary Revenue Ruling is superseded. 

(b). If the final Revenue Ruling reaches a 
different conclusion than the Temporary Revenue Ruling, 
the department will honor whichever ruling is more 
favorable to the taxpayer, but only for those transactions that 
occurred after the Temporary Revenue Ruling was issued 
and before the final Revenue Ruling. 
 iii. Reasons for Issuing a Revenue Ruling may 
include: 

(a). to provide an official interpretation of rules, 
regulations, statutes, court cases, Board of Tax Appeals 
decisions, or any other sources of law as to a specific set of 
facts; 

(b). to serve as guidance to taxpayers, tax 
practitioners, and employees if the law or regulations are not 
clear as to a specific set of facts. 
 iv. Reasons for Not Issuing a Revenue Ruling may 
include: 

(a). the law and regulations are clear; 
(b). a rule would be more appropriate under the 

APA; 
(c). the inquiry concerns an issue that is being 

litigated or may be litigated in the near future; 
(d). the facts contain information that could 

identify a taxpayer and the taxpayer has not consented to 
publication of the revenue ruling or there are other 
confidentiality concerns; and 

(e). the request can best be handled by another 
means. 

c. Statements of Acquiescence or Nonacquiescence 
 i. A Statement of Acquiescence or 
Nonacquiescence (SA/SNA) is intended to provide guidance 
to the public and to employees. 
 ii. A SA/SNA is a written statement issued to 
announce the department’s acceptance or rejection of 
specific unfavorable court or administrative decisions. If a 
decision covers several disputed issues, a SA/SNA may 
apply to just one of them, or more, as specified. 
 iii. A SA/SNA is not binding on the public, but is 
binding on the department unless superseded by a later 
SA/SNA, declaratory ruling, rule, statute, or court case. 
 iv. If the department acquiesces, these guidelines 
will be followed. 

(a). In cases that are substantially the same as the 
facts, the same result will be reached by department officials 
and may be relied on by employees and taxpayers. 
Taxpayers must be careful to apply acquiescence to the same 
or substantially the same facts. Acquiescence does not mean 
agreement with the court’s reasoning; simply that the 
department will abide by it. 

(b). The department may acquiesce in the result 
only, which only concedes the litigation with that particular 
taxpayer. The issue may still be pursued with other 
taxpayers. This indicates that the department will likely seek 
out another opportunity to litigate the issue with the hope of 
having the issue addressed by an authoritative court. 

(c). The department may consider any of the 
following factors in deciding whether to issue a Statement of 
Acquiescence or Nonacquiescence: 
 (i). whether the issue in the court or 
administrative decision affects many taxpayers; 
 (ii). whether the issue is one of fact or law, 
or a mixed question; 
 (iii). whether the decision is binding 
statewide with no statement needed; 
 (iv). whether other cases on the same or a 
similar issue are pending; 
 (v). whether cases in other jurisdictions 
have been decided, and in whose favor; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 27, No. 02   February 20, 2001 210 

 (vi). the cost of litigation as it relates to that 
issue, as well as overall;  
 (vii). the clarity of the applicable statutes 
and regulations on the disputed issue; 
 (viii). the soundness of the reasoning of the 
decision; or 
 (ix). the likelihood of success if the 
department relitigates the issue. 

D Other Types of Policy Guidance 
1. Policy and Procedure Memoranda 

a. A Policy and Procedure Memorandum (PPM) is 
an internal document providing internal administrative or 
management guidance to employees. A PPM does not have 
the force and effect of law and is not binding on the public. 
It does not focus on taxpayers’ substantive or procedural 
rights or obligations. It is binding on employees. 

b. A PPM may be issued for any of the following 
reasons: 
 i. to notify employees of internal policies that 
apply only to employees and do not apply to taxpayers; 
 ii. to notify employees of internal procedures and 
instructions that do not apply to taxpayers; or 
 iii. to inform employees of internal programs that 
affect only employees. 

c. A PPM may not be the appropriate policy 
statement if: 
 i. a taxpayer’s substantive or procedural rights or 
obligations would be affected; or 
 ii. a rule would be more appropriate under the 
APA. 

2. Revenue Information Bulletin 
a. A Revenue Information Bulletin (RIB) is an 

informal statement of information issued for the public and 
employees that is general in nature. A RIB does not have the 
force and effect of law and is not binding on the public or 
the department. RIBs will be establis hed in a standard 
format and issued in sequence. Each RIB will address one 
topic. 

b. A RIB announces general information useful in 
complying with the laws administered by the department and 
may be issued under any of the following circumstances: 
 i. to inform the public and employees that a 
statute or regulation has been added, amended, or rescinded; 
 ii. to inform the public and employees that a case 
has been decided; 
 iii. to publish information to employees and the 
public that is based on data supplied by other agencies, such 
as per capita income figures or comparative tax collections 
by parish; 
 iv. to publish IRS information; 
 v. to publish information such as deadlines; 
 vi. to inform the public of services offered by the 
department, such as regional office hours, website features, 
and like information; or 
 vii. to revise a previous Revenue Information 
Bulletin, Tax Topics, or other similar publication. 

c. A RIB may not be used under the following 
circumstances: 
 i. if the primary purpose is to provide a 
declaratory ruling, interpretation, or procedural guidance; or 
 ii. if announcements of general information can 
best be handled by other means. 

3. Informal Advice 
a. In addition to rules, Declaratory Rulings, Policy 

and Procedure Memoranda, and Revenue Information 
Bulletins, taxpayers and employees may still seek advice on 
tax questions. To assist customers, the department will 
provide informal advice. Informal advice does not have the 
force and effect of law and is not binding on the department, 
the public, or the person who asked for the advice. Informal 
advice will have no effect on an audit. 

b. Any of the following types of informal advice 
may be provided. 
 i. Informal Oral Advice. There is no formal 
procedure for requesting informal oral advice. Employees 
will answer questions by telephone or in person as 
requested, within resource and appropriateness constraints. 
Advice given at audit meetings, protest conferences, and the 
like is considered informal oral advice. 
 ii. Informal E-Mail Advice. Has the same status 
as informal oral advice. 
 iii. Informal Written Advice. Requests for informal 
written advice should be in writing. Informal written advice 
is not a declaratory ruling. 
 iv. Newsletters, Pamphlets, and Informational 
Publications. The department may publish informational 
newsletters, pamphlets, and publications at regular intervals. 
Statements contained in these publications do not have the 
force and effect of law and they are not binding on the public 
or the department. They are merely helpful tools for 
disseminating information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 27:207 (February 2001). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0102#004 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Rehabilitation Services 

Vocational Rehabilitation Services 
Eligibility and Ineligibility 
(LAC 67:VII. Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953(B), the 
Administrative Procedure Act, the Department of Social 
Services, Louisiana Rehabilitation Services (LRS) has 
revised its Vocational Rehabilitation Policy Manual 
Sections: 109. Eligibility and Ineligibility and 115. 
Financial.  Revisions to the Eligibility and Ineligibility were 
made to the "Order of Selection" to provide the agency with 
sufficient flexibility in allocating the order of selection 
groups on the basis of functional impairment with the most 
significant continuing to receive priority. Moving to five 
selection groups will also provide the agency with increased 
flexibility in managing the opening and closing of the groups 
to ensure that the most significantly disabled continue to 
receive priority for services. Revisions to the Financial 
section were made to the Individual's Participation in the 
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Cost of Vocational Rehabilitation Services, to exempt certain 
Social Security recipients from a financial need test.  

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Part VII.  Rehabilitation Services 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§109. Eligibility and Ineligibility 

A. - H.1.b.    … 
I. Individual with a Significant DisabilityC 

1. Individuals eligible for vocational rehabilitation 
services are determined to be significantly disabled if the 
disabling condition and subsequent functional limitations 
fall into one of the following:  

a. the individual is a recipient of Social Security 
Disability Insurance (SSDI); or 

b. the individual is a recipient of Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI) by reason of blindness or disability 
(SSI based on age alone does not automatically render an 
individual significantly disabled); or 

c. the individual is one: 
 i. who has a severe physical or mental 
impairment which severely limits one or more functional 
capacities (mobility, motor skills, communication, self-care, 
self-direction, interpersonal skills, work tolerance, or work 
skills) in terms of an employment outcome; and 
 ii. whose vocational rehabilitation can be 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time (extended period of 
time means six months or longer); and 
 iii. who has one or more physical or mental 
disabilities resulting from: 

(a). amputation; 
(b). arthritis; 
(c). autism;  
(d). blindness; 
(e). burn injury; 
(f). cancer; 
(g). cerebral palsy; 
(h). cystic fibrosis; 
(i). deafness; 
(j). head injury; 
(k). heart disease; 
(l). hemiplegia; 
(m). hemophilia; 
(n). respiratory or pulmonary dysfunction; 
(o). mental retardation; 
(p). mental illness; 
(q). multiple sclerosis; 
(r). muscular dystrophy; 
(s). musculoskeletal disorders; 
(t) neurological disorders (including stroke and 

epilepsy); 
(u). paraplegia, quadriplegia, other spinal cord 

conditions; 
(v). sickle cell anemia; 
(w). specific learning disability; 
(x). end-stage renal disease; or 
(y). another disability or combination of 

disabilities determined on the basis of an assessment for 
determining eligibility and vocational rehabilitation needs to 
cause comparable substantial functional limitations. 

J. Functional Capacity AreasCDefined. Functional 
Capacity Areas are defined as follows: mobility, motor skill, 
communication, self-care, self-direction, interpersonal skills, 
work tolerance, and work skills. 

K. Order of Selection 
1. LRS follows an Order of Selection to ensure that 

individuals with the most significant disabilities receive 
priority for vocational rehabilitation services. 

2. The following factors shall not be used either in 
determining the order of selection or in determining the 
placement category of eligible individuals: 

a. any duration of residency requirement, provided 
the individual is present in the state; 

b. type of disability; 
c. age, gender, race, color, creed, or national origin; 
d. source of referral; 
e. type of expected employment outcome; 
f. the need for specific services or anticipated cost 

of services required by an individual; or 
g. the income level of an individual or an 

individual's family. 
3. Prerequisite to Placement in the Order of Selection 

Assignment to a selection group is made after a 
determination of both of the following: 

a. eligibility for Vocational Rehabilitation Services; 
and 

b. significance of disability. 
4. Selection Groups. In accordance with the criteria 

below, an individual is placed in one of the following: 
a. Selection Group ICMost Significantly Disabled. 

An eligible individual is considered most significantly 
disabled when all  of the following apply: 
 i. the individual meets the definition of an 
"individual with a significant disability" as defined in I. 
above. 
 ii. the individual's significant physical or mental 
impairment seriously limits four or more functional capacity 
areas; and 
 iii. the individual's vocational rehabilitation is 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time; 

b. Selection Group IICThe Most Significantly 
Disabled.  An eligible individual is considered the most 
significantly disabled when the following apply: 
 i. the individual meets the definition of an 
"individual with a significant disability" as defined in I. 
above. 
 ii. the individual's severe physical or mental 
impairment seriously limits three functional capacity areas; 
and 
 iii. the individual's vocational rehabilitation is 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time. 

c. Selection Group IIICSignificantly Disabled.  An 
eligible individual is considered significantly disabled when 
the following apply: 
 i. the individual meets the definition of an 
"individual with a significant disability" as defined in I. 
above. 
 ii. the individual's severe physical or mental 
impairment seriously limits two functional capacity areas; 
and     
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 iii. the individual's vocational rehabilitation is 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time. 

d. Selection Group IVCSignificantly Disabled.   An 
eligible individual is considered significantly disabled when 
the following apply: 
 i. the individual meets the definition of an 
"individual with a significant disability" as defined in I. 
above; 
 ii. the individual's severe physical or mental 
impairment seriously limits one functional capacity area; and 
 iii. the individual's vocational rehabilitation is 
expected to require multiple vocational rehabilitation 
services over an extended period of time. 

e. Selection Group VCNon-Significantly Disabled. 
An individual is considered non-significantly disabled when: 
 i. the individual has a physical or mental 
impairment; 
 ii. the individual has been determined eligible for 
vocational rehabilitation services; and 
 iii. the individual does not meet the above stated 
criteria for an individual who is either "the most 
significantly disabled" or "significantly disabled." 

f. Other Considerations: 
 i. individuals shall be placed in the highest 
priority category for which they are eligible; 
 ii.  upon placement into a priority category, 
individuals will be notified in writing of their category 
assignment and of their right to appeal their category 
assignment. 

5. Scope of Services Available. LRS's order of 
selection shall not limit the scope of services available for 
eligible individuals within the selection group(s) being 
served. 

6. Information and Referral. LRS will, as appropriate, 
refer those individuals in selection groups not being served 
to other components of the statewide workforce investment 
system that are best suited to address the specific 
employment needs of the individual with a disability. 

7. Continuity of Services. LRS shall provide for 
continuity of services once an otherwise eligible individual 
is selected for and begins to receive services under an IPE, 
irrespective of the severity of the individual's disability. 

8. Other Assurances  
a. All individuals within a higher priority category 

for services shall be served before individuals in the next 
lowest priority category. 

b. When it is impossible to serve all eligible 
individuals within a priority category, the individuals (in 
addition to referral to other components of the statewide 
workforce investment system) will be placed on a deferred 
services waiting list. Individuals on the deferred services 
waiting list will be served in chronological order based on 
the date of application. 

c. If the order of selection is rescinded, individuals 
on deferred services waiting lists and in unserved categories 
will be contacted and served in chronological order based on 
the date of application. 

9. Client Participation in the Cost of Services. All 
LRS policy relative to client participation in the cost of 
services shall apply to individuals receiving services under 
the order of selection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Rehabilitation Services, LR 19:891 (September 
1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 21:191 (February 
1995), LR 22:993 (October 1996), LR 23:994 (August 1997), LR 
25:1267 (July 1999), LR 27:211 (February 2001). 
§115. Financial  

A. Comparable Services and Similar Benefits 
1. Determination of Availability 

a. Prior to providing any vocational rehabilitation 
service to an eligible individual, except those services 
specified below in c.i.(a)-(f), LRS will determine whether 
comparable services and benefits are available under any 
other program (other than a program carried out under Title 
IV, Rehabilitation Act Amendments of 1998) unless such a 
determination would interrupt or delay: 
 i. the progress of the individual toward achieving 
the employment outcome identified in the IPE of the 
individual; 
 ii. an immediate job placement; or 
 iii. the provision of such service to any individual 
at extreme medical risk. 

b. Awards and Scholarships. For purposes of the 
determination of availability in A.1 above, comparable 
benefits do not include awards and scholarships based on 
merit. 

c. Exceptions to Use of Comparable Services and 
Benefits. The following vocational rehabilitation services 
can be provided without making a determination of the 
availability of comparable services and benefits: 
 i. services provided through LRS's Information 
and Referral System;  
 ii. assessment for determining eligibility and 
vocational rehabilitation needs, including if appropriate, 
assessment by personnel skilled in rehabilitation technology; 
 iii. counseling and guidance, including 
information and support services to assist an individual in 
exercising informed choice; 
 iv. referral and other services needed to secure 
necessary services from other agencies through cooperative 
agreements, if such services are not available from LRS; 
 v. job-related services, including job search and 
placement assistance, job retention services, follow-up 
services, and follow-along services; 
 vi. rehabilitation technology, including 
telecommunications, sensory, and other technological aids 
and devices. 

B. Individual's Participation in the Cost of Vocational 
Rehabilitation Services.  

1. Neither a financial needs test nor a budgetary 
analysis of assets, income, monthly liabilities, and/or 
comparable services and similar benefits shall be applied as 
a condition for furnishing any vocational rehabilitation 
services if the individual in need of the services has been 
determined eligible for Social Security benefits under Title II 
or Title XVI if the Social Security Act. 

2. LRS will consider, through budgetary analysis of 
assets, income, monthly liabilities, and comparable services 
and similar benefits, the financial need of eligible 
individuals and individuals who are under extended 
evaluations for purposes of determining the extent of the 
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individual's participation in the costs of certain vocational 
rehabilitation services. 

a. Neither a financial needs test, nor a budgetary 
analysis, is applied and no financial participation is required 
as a condition for furnishing the following vocational 
rehabilitation services: 
 i. assessment for determining eligibility and 
priority for services, except those non-assessment services 
that are provided during an extended evaluation to explore 
the individual's abilities, capabilities, and capacity to 
perform in work situations (trial work periods); 
 ii. assessment for determining vocational 
rehabilitation needs; 
 iii. counseling, guidance, including information 
and support services to assist an individual in exercising 
informed choice; 
 iv. referral and other services to secure needed 
services from other agencies through cooperative 
agreements, if such services are not available from LRS; 
 v. job-related services, including job search and 
placement assistance, job retention services, follow-up 
services, and follow-along services; 
 vi. rehabilitation technology assessments; 
 vii. supported employment, on-site training, and 
on-the-job training; 
 viii. personal assistance services directly related to 
a direct job placement outcome and provided simultaneously 
with any of the above-listed vocational rehabilitation 
services.  (Examples include attendant, reader, scribe, 
interpreter, braille, notetaker, and adjustment/orientation and 
mobility training services.) 
 ix. assistive technology devices and services. 

b. A financial needs test will be applied through 
budgetary analysis to determine the ability of the individual 
to financially contribute to the cost of the following 
vocational rehabilitation services: 
 i. physical restoration and/or mental restoration; 
 ii. maintenance; 
 iii. transportation; 
 iv. books and supplies; 
 v. occupational tools and equipment; 
 vi. cost services to other family members; 
 vii. occupational licenses; 
 viii. discretionary training fees such as car 
registration fees, student health service fees, etc. not 
included in tuition; 
 ix. adjustment/orientation and mobility, attendant, 
reader, scribe, and interpreter services not directly related to 
a direct job placement outcome; 
 x. vocational and other training services, such as 
college/university, vocational and proprietary school 
training, not related to an immediate direct job placement 
outcome; 
 xi. other goods and services; 
 xii. post-employment services consisting of the 
services listed above. 

c. The only exception to items ix and x above is as 
follows: 
 i. to preserve LRS's Continuity of Services 
provision in the Order of Selection, LRS exempted those 
eligible individuals who had an IWRP/IPE in effect prior to 
July 20, 1999, which is the date of the adoption of this rule 

change; therefore, items ix and x in b above will only apply 
to those individuals who had an IWRP/IPE developed after 
July 20, 1999. 

d. The following services are exempt from the 
application of a budget surplus, if the counselor determines 
that a surplus exists: 
 i. adjustment/orientation and mobility services; 
 ii. attendant services; 
 iii. reader services; 
 iv. scribe, notetaker/braille services; 
 v. interpreter services; 
 vi. assistive technology services. 

e. When it is determined by a counselor and an 
eligible client that self-employment, through establishment 
of a small business enterprise, is the best option for the 
client, the client must provide a minimum cash capital 
contribution of 20 percent of the total transaction. (Refer to 
LRS Policy on Small Business Enterprise.) 

f. An individual's status for the budget analysis will 
be determined as follows: 
 i. the agency will perform the budget analysis on 
the basis of the resources of both the client and the spouse if 
the client is married; 
 ii. the agency will perform the budget analysis on 
the basis of the resources of the family unit for all single 
clients living in the family home as a family member. 
Temporary absences from the home, such as for vacations, 
school, or illness, count as time lived in the home; 
 iii. the agency will perform the budget analysis on 
an individual who has returned to the family unit on the 
basis of the resources of only that individual if the following 
conditions are met: 

(a). the individual’s disability has precluded their 
obtaining or maintaining employment; and 

(b). the individual has a documented history of 
self-sufficiency that includes providing over one-half the 
costs of maintaining a residence for at least one year prior to 
their return to the family unit; and 

(c). the individual's parent(s), legal guardian, or 
other head of household provides documentation that 
indicates such person(s) do not claim the individual as an 
exemption for federal and/or state income tax purposes. 

(d). the agency will perform a budget analysis on 
the basis of the resources of a single consumer living away 
from the family home if the individual meets the following 
conditions: 
 (i). the individual can document history of 
self-sufficiency that included providing over one-half the 
costs of maintaining a residence. Documentation must 
include, but is not limited to, the following:  copy of the 
lease which is in consumer's name; utility bills in consumer's 
name; and income verification sufficient to cover living 
expenses; and 
 (ii). the consumer files his/her own state 
and federal income tax forms and is not claimed as an 
exemption on another individual's state/federal income tax 
return; 
 (iii). at annual review, the Counselor must 
verify that consumer still meets the criteria established for 
individual status. 

(e). family unit is defined as the client and the 
client's parents or the client and any significant other(s), 
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such as aunts, uncles, friends, legal guardians, etc., who are 
living in the household and are providing support for the 
maintenance of the household in which the client lives. 
Adult siblings of the client can be excluded as a member of 
the family unit for income reporting; but, must also be 
excluded from the family unit in the determination of 
allowable monthly liabilities. 

g. Individuals who do not provide LRS with 
necessary financial information to perform the budget 
analysis will be eligible only for those vocational 
rehabilitation services that are not conditioned upon an 
analysis to determine the extent of the individual's 
participation in the costs of such services. 

h. Individuals who have defaulted on a student loan 
must make good faith efforts with the lender to clear the 
default or to defer payment before LRS will participate in 
the cost of the client's vocational rehabilitation program. 

i. Simultaneously with the comprehensive 
assessment, at the annual review of the IPE, and at any time 
there is a change in the financial situation of either the client 
or the family, the counselor will perform a budget analysis 
for each client requiring vocational rehabilitation services as 
listed above in §115 B.2b.i.-xii. The amount of client 
participation in the cost of their vocational rehabilitation 
program will be based upon the mo st recent budget analysis 
at the time the relevant IPE or amendment is developed. 

3. State and Departmental Purchasing Procedures. All 
applicable state, departmental and agency purchasing 
policies and procedures must be followed.  

a. LRS does not purchase vehicles or real estate. 
b. Fee Schedule. Services and rates of payment 

must be authorized in accordance with LRS's Medical Fee 
Schedule and LRS's Technical Assistance and Guidance 
Manual, Section 500 which lists approved service providers.    

c. Approval of Service Providers 
 i. Any service provider approved by the agency 
must agree not to make any additional charge to or accept 
any additional payment from the client or client's family for 
services authorized by the agency. 
 ii. Relatives of vocational rehabilitation clients 
will not be approved as a paid service provider unless such 
individuals are professionally and occupationally engaged in 
the delivery of such services by offering their services to the 
general public on a regular and consistent basis. 

d. Prior Written Authorization and Encumbrance 
 i. Either before or at the same time as the 
initiation or delivery of goods or services, the agency must 
be in possession of the proper authorizing document.  The 
only exception is in an emergency situation. 
 ii. If oral authorization of approved services is 
made in an emergency situation, there must be prompt 
documentation, and the authorization must be confirmed in 
writing and forwarded to the provider of the services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Rehabilitation Services, LR 19:891 (September

1991), amended LR 20:317 (March 1994), LR 21:191 (February 
1995), LR 22:993 (October 1996), LR 23:994 (August 1997), LR 
25:1267 (July 1999), LR 27:212 (February 2001). 

 
J. Renea Austin-Duffin 
Secretary 

0102#041 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Nonresident Hunting License Fees 
(LAC 76:V.101 and 501) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby repeals 
LAC 76:V.101 relative to bow hunting licenses and amends 
nonresident hunting fees as follows.  

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part V.  Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds  
Chapter 1. Wild Quadrupeds  
§101. Bow Hunting License 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:105. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
4:405 (October 1978), repealed LR 27:214 (February 2001). 
Chapter 5. Licenses and License Fees 
§501. Nonresident Hunting License Fees 

A. The basic hunting license fee shall be $150 for the 
entire season or $100 for five consecutive days. The 
nonresident big game license fee shall be $150 for the entire 
season or $75 for five consecutive days. A fee of $26 shall 
be charged a nonresident for the issuance of a special 
muzzleloader license; and a fee of $26 shall be charged a 
nonresident for a special bow license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:6(28). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
27:214 (February 2001). 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0102#061 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Public Oyster Seed Grounds (LAC 76:VII.517) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby set 
aside additional areas in portions of Lake Mechant, Lake 
Tambour, Lake Chien, Lake Felicity, all in Terrebonne
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Parish, Deep Lake, Lafourche Parish, and Barataria Bay 
(next to Queen Bess Island), Jefferson Parish as public 
oyster seed grounds. This is being done under the authority 
of R.S. 56:434. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oyster 
§517. Public Oyster Seed GroundsCPortions of Lake 

Mechant, Lake Tambour, Lake Chien, Lake 
Felicity, Deep Lake, and Barataria Bay 

A. The following areas are designated as oyster seed 
grounds. 

1. Lake Mechant, Terrebonne Parish. The state 
waterbottoms within a 6-sided figure with the following 
corners: 

 
29E 19' 45.36273" N 90E 58' 19.84034" W 
29E 18' 52.50955" N 90E 57' 32.90680" W 
29E 18' 41.04086" N 90E 55' 58.95532" W 
29E 16' 47.29750" N 90E 56' 44.37133" W 
29E 18' 33.55333" N 90E 57' 37.82946" W 
29E 18' 46.69380" N 90E 59' 21.09926" W 

 
2. Lake Tambour, Terrebonne Parish. The state 

waterbottoms within a 4-sided figure with the following 
corners: 

 
29E 20' 30.73200" N 90E 31' 09.14598" W 
29E 19' 51.16104" N 90E 29' 28.99726" W 
29E 19' 59.29224" N 90E 29' 26.60078" W 
29E 19' 50.06346" N 90E 30' 49.92953" W 

 
3. Lake Chien, Terrebonne Parish. The state 

waterbottoms within a 4-sided figure with the following 
corners: 

 
29E 20' 32.76107" N 90E 27' 00.06196" W 
29E 19' 52.97766" N 90E 27' 17.37544" W 
29E 19' 48.08926" N 90E 26' 08.51018" W 
29E 20' 17.07711" N 90E 26' 01.32145" W 

 
4. Lake Felicity, Terrebonne Parish. The state 

waterbottoms within a 4-sided figure with the following 
corners: 

 
29E 19' 04.72932" N 90E 26' 58.50922" W 
29E 18' 01.44630" N 90E 27' 47.32882" W 
29E 18' 24.61153" N 90E 24' 04.57895" W 
29E 19' 11.54946" N 90E 25' 19.67927" W 

 

5. Deep Lake, Lafourche Parish. The state 
waterbottoms within a 4-sided figure with the following 
corners: 

 
29E 17' 59.74050" N 90E 21' 25.89465" W 
29E 17' 18.88030" N 90E 21' 24.62348" W 
29E 17' 17.26209" N 90E 21' 03.04101" W 
29E 18' 17.57225" N 90E 21' 01.40994" W 

 
6. Barataria Bay, Jefferson Parish. The state 

waterbottoms within a 4-sided figure with the following 
corners: 

 
29E 20' 13.14881" N 89E 56' 51.91540" W 
29E 14' 47.14426" N 89E 56' 59.91355" W 
29E 20' 12.06107" N 89E 56' 19.01249" W 
29E 17' 46.05927" N 89E 56' 23.01176" W 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:434. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
27:215 (February 2001). 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0102#029 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Three Day Basic and Saltwater Nonresident Recreational 
Fishing License Fees (LAC 76:VII.407) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby sets a $15 
fee on a Louisiana nonresident three-day trip basic 
recreational sport fishing license, by repealing LAC 
76:VII.407.D and amending LAC 76:VII.407.A as follows. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 4. License and License Fees 
§407. Three-Day Basic and Saltwater Nonresident 

Recreational Fishing License Fees 
A. In lieu of the basic recreational fishing license, a 

nonresident may purchase a three-day basic recreational 
sport fishing license for a fee of $15 which shall be valid for 
three consecutive days. 

B. - C. … 
D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:6(28). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
24:710 (April 1998), amended LR 27:215 (February 2001). 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0102#062 
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