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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Registration of Livestock Pharmaceuticals  
(LAC 7:XXIII.101, 103, 111, 115, and 117) 

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry hereby 
adopts the following Emergency Rule for the 
implementation of regulations governing the registration of 
pharmaceuticals administered to livestock in accordance 
with R.S. 3:3(B) and R.S. 3:3202(A) and the emergency 
rules provisions R.S. 49:953(B), of the Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

The Louisiana Legislature, by Act 33 of the 2000 Regular 
Session, enacted R.S. 47:301(16)(f) to remove 
pharmaceuticals administered to livestock from the 
definition of "tangible personal property." The purpose of the 
legislation is to exc lude pharmaceuticals administered to 
livestock from sales and use taxes in Louisiana. In Act 33, 
the Legislature required such pharmaceuticals to be 
registered with the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry. A question has been raised as to whether 
pharmaceuticals administered to livestock must be registered 
with the Department of Agriculture and Forestry before the 
sales and use tax exemption is available to the purchasers of 
such pharmaceuticals. Since purchasers of pharmaceuticals 
administered to livestock will save approximately $200,000 
a year in state and local sales taxes under the exclusion. The 
immediate implementation of this exclusion is an economic 
necessity to the producers of livestock in Louisiana. 

Louisiana's livestock industry is currently suffering severe 
financial distress as a result of the four-year drought that this 
state is experiencing. The continued imposition of a tax on 
pharmaceuticals administered to livestock is a burden on 
Louisiana’s livestock industry that directly affects the 
profitability of the livestock industry; which profitability is 
necessary to the continuation of the livestock industry in 
Louisiana. The livestock industry in Louisiana is a vital part 
of Louisiana’s economic base. Therefore, financial 
deterioration and subsequent failures in the livestock 
industry pose an imminent peril to the welfare of the citizens 
of Louisiana. The Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry 
has, therefore, determined that these emergency rules are 
necessary in order to immediately implement registration of 
pharmaceuticals administered to livestock so that livestock 
producers may take immediate advantage of the sales and 
use tax exclusion. 

These rules become effective upon signature and will 
remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed by the 
Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry or until 
permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticide 
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Subchapter A. Authority 
§101. Authority 

A. Under the authority of the Louisiana Pesticide Law, 
R.S. 3:3201, et seq., and in accordance with the provisions in 
R.S. 49:950, et seq., the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Forestry adopts the following regulations. 

B. The Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry, in 
accordance with R.S. 3:3203(E) has determined that 
pharmaceuticals administered to livestock used for 
agriculture purposes are pesticides. Pharmaceuticals 
administered to livestock used for agricultural purposes shall 
be registered with the department in accordance with the 
Louisiana Pesticide Law and the rules and regulations found 
in this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3203. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
1983), amended by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office 
of the Commissioner LR 27: 
Subchapter B. Definitions 
§103. Definitions 

* * * 
Livestock Used for Agricultural PurposesCany animal 

bred, kept, maintained, raised or used for profit or for the 
purpose of selling or otherwise producing crops, animals, or 
plant or animal products for market. This definition includes 
cattle, buffalo, bison, oxen and other bovine; horses, mules, 
donkeys, and other equine; sheep; goats; swine; domestic 
rabbits; fish, pet turtles and other animals identified with 
aquaculture which are located in artificial reservoirs or 
enclosures that are both on privately owned property and 
constructed so as to prevent, at all times, the ingress and 
egress of fish life from public waters; imported exotic deer 
and antelope, elk, farm-raised white-tailed deer, farm-raised 
ratites and other farm-raised exotic animals; chickens, 
turkeys and other poultry; any animals placed under the 
jurisdiction of the commissioner or the department; and any 
hybrid, mixture or mutation of any type of animal if used for 
an agricultural purpose. However, dogs and cats shall not be 
considered livestock under these regulations. 

* * * 
PharmaceuticalsCany substance intended for use in the 

diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment or prevention of plant 
or animal pests, diseases, viruses, bacteria or other 
microorganisms in or on livestock and any substance other 
than food intended to affect the structure or any function of 
the body of any livestock. 

* * * 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3202 and 3:3203. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
1983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 15:76 (February 1989), 
amended by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 27: 
Subchapter D. Registration of Pesticides 
§111. Registration Required 

A. No pesticide, including pharmaceuticals administered 
to livestock used for agricultural purposes, shall be sold, 
offered for sale, or distributed in this state without being 
registered by the manufacturer annually with the department. 
This registration shall expire on December 31 of each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3203 and R.S. 3:3221. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
1983), amended by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office 
of the Commissioner, LR 27: 
§115. Standard Registrations 

A. - 1.c.i. … 
 ii. the percentage of the active ingredients in the 
pesticide unless the proportion of the active ingredients are 
expressed in international units, or some other form of 
scientifically recognized and accepted measurement; in 
which case the proportion of active ingredients may be 
reported in that manner; 
 iii. the percentage of the inert ingredients in the 
pesticide unless the proportion of the active ingredients in 
the pes ticide are expressed in international units, or some 
other form of scientifically recognized and accepted 
measurement; in which case the proportion of inert 
ingredients may be reported in that manner; 
 iv. - d. … 

e. the method for laboratory analysis if the pesticide 
is a pharmaceutical administered to livestock used for 
agricultural purposes; 

f. such other information as the commissioner may 
require. 

A.2. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203 and R.S. 3:3221. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
l983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 15:76 (February l989), LR 
23:192 (February 1997), LR 23:853 (July 1997), amended by 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 27: 
§117. Special Registrations 

1 - 3.iii.  … 
d. Pharmaceuticals in Custom Blended Feed(s) 

Exemption. It shall not be necessary to register a feed as a 
pesticide that contains a pharmaceutical ingredient if the 
following conditions are met: 
 i. the feed blend is prepared to the order of the 
customer and is not held in inventory by the blender;  
 ii. the blend is to be used on the customer’s 
property or fed to the customer’s livestock; 

 iii. the pharmaceutical(s) used in the blend bears 
end-use labeling directions that do not prohibit use of the 
product in such a blend; 
 iv. the blend is prepared from a pharmaceutical 
registered with the department;  
 v. the blend is delivered to the end-user along 
with a copy of the end-use labeling of each pharmaceutical 
used in the blend and a statement specifying the composition 
of mixture. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3203 and R.S. 3:3221. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
l983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 15:76 (February l989), 
amended by Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 27: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0105#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Pesticide Restrictions (LAC 7:XXIII.143) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 3:3203(A), the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry is exercising the emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act in adopting 
the following rules for the implementation of regulations 
governing the application of certain pesticides in certain 
parishes. 

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Advisory 
Commission is amending these rules and regulations for the 
purpose of adding certain Wards in Pointe Coupee, St. 
Landry, St. Mart in, Iberville, and West Baton Rouge parishes 
through the emergency process due to the planting of cotton 
in these wards. The application of certain pesticides by 
commercial applicators between March 15 and September 
15 in those named parishes as well as other parishes, should 
be prohibited. The application of certain pesticides poses a 
threat to Louisiana cotton growers in these Parishes and 
Wards. Even though the pesticides will not be applied to the 
cotton itself, but to the surrounding areas, the cotton is in a 
very delicate stage and if there is any drift from the 
application of these pesticides it will irreparably damage the 
cotton that has already been planted causing the Louisiana 
cotton growers to lose potential production from their crops 
and greatly effecting the Louisiana cotton industry. 

The Department has therefore, determined that these 
emergency rules are necessary in order to restrict the 
commercial application of certain pesticides so that certain 
pesticides do not do irreparable damage to the seasons cotton 
crop. This rule becomes effective upon signature and will 
remain in effect 120 days. 
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Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Subchapter I. Regulations Gove rning Applications of 

Pesticides. 
§143. Restrictions on Application of Certain Pesticides 

A. - B.17. … 
C. The pesticides listed in 143.B shall not be applied by 

commercial applicators between March 15 and September 
15 in the following parishes or wards: 

 
1.  Avoyelles 16. Morehouse 
2.  Bossier 17. Natchitoches 
3.  Caddo 18. Ouachita 
4.  Caldwell 19. Pointe Coupee 
5.  Catahoula  20. Rapides 
6.  Claiborne, Ward 4 21. Red River 
7.  Concordia 22. Richland 
8.  DeSoto, Ward 7 23. St. Landry 
9.  East Carroll 24. St. Martin, Ward 5 
10. Evangeline, Wards 1, 3 and 5 25. Tensas 
11.  Franklin 26. Union 
12.  Grant 27. West Carroll 
13. Iberville Ward 9 28. West Baton Rouge, 

  Wards 5, 6, and 7 
14 LaSalle 29. Winn, Ward 7 
  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3203, R.S. 3:3242 and R.S. 3:3249. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April 
1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984), LR 11:219 (March 
1985), LR 11:942 (October 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), amended LR 19:791 
(September 1993), LR 21:668 (July 1993), LR 21:668 (July 1995), 
LR 24:281 (February 1998), LR 24:2076 (November 1998), LR 27: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0105#008 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 13:XV.320) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, pursuant to the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:9536(B), adopts the 
following amendment to the rules of the Capital Companies 
Tax Credit Program as authorized by R.S. 51:1935. This 
Rule is adopted in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., shall become effective 
April 20, 2001 and shall remain in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the rule, 
whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary has found an immediate need to provide financial 
assistance to certified Louisiana capital companies whose 

primary investment objectives include investing in certified 
disadvantaged businesses or business ventures operating in 
economically distressed areas. Although the law provided 
for establishment of the investment funds discussed herein 
no funding has been made in over two years. Without these 
Emergency Rules the public welfare may be harmed as a 
result of the failure to provide funding to certified Louisiana 
capital companies whose primary investment objectives 
include investing in certified disadvantaged businesses or 
business ventures operating in economically distressed areas, 
which have resulted disruption resulting in the loss of 
industry and jobs in the disadvantaged communities of this 
State. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES, AND UCC 
Part XV.  Other Regulated Entities 

Chapter 3. Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
§320. Investment in Approved Funds  

A. Any certified Louisiana capital company that has 
capital certified pursuant to R.S. 51:1931 for the calendar 
year 1999 or any year thereafter, and which qualifies for 
credits pursuant to R.S. 22:1068(E) shall invest an amount, 
as determined by the Secretary, into the following 
investments: 

1. fifty percent of the amount determined by the 
Secretary shall be invested in one or more capital 
management funds as approved by the Secretary whose 
primary investment objectives include pre-seed, seed, and 
early stage business ventures, and whose investment in any 
such business and its affiliates is limited to one million 
dollars or less. Investments made by such funds must give 
special emphasis to the Targeted Technology Clusters 
identified in Vision 2020CMaster Plan For Economic 
Development as adopted by the Louisiana Economic 
Development Council; and 

2. fifty percent of the amount determined by the 
Secretary shall be invested equally in any certified Louisiana 
capital company whose primary investment objectives 
include investing in the following three categories: 

a. certified disadvantaged businesses; 
b. business ventures operating in economically 

distressed areas; or 
c. Louisiana businesses and affiliates in an amount 

not exceeding one million dollars. 
B. The amount to be invested by each certified Louisiana 

capital company pursuant to subsection A shall be 
determined annually by the secretary beginning January 1, 
2000. Such amount shall not exceed 10 percent of all capital 
certified by such certified Louisiana capital company in the 
previous calendar year that are eligible for credits pursuant 
to R.S. 22:1068(E). The amount to be invested pursuant to 
subsection A shall be invested within 120 days from the end 
of the calendar year in which the capital is certified or 120 
days from the date the secretary determines the amount to be 
invested, whichever is later. If certified capital is paid in 
pursuant to a debt instrument in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 22:1068(E)(1)(a) and LAC 
13:XV. 303.Investment(a)(iii), the investment required to be 
made by this section may be made at the rate of 10 percent 
of actual cash received each year.  
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C. The capital management fund referred to in Paragraph 
A.1 shall be managed by a qualified individual or 
individuals or entity that is managed by a qualified 
individual or individuals and governed by a board consisting 
of one representative from each certified Louisiana capital 
company that has invested in the management fund as 
required by this section and the secretary or his designee, 
who shall act in an advisory capacity only, with the right to 
attend meetings but with no voting privileges. The governing 
board of the capital management fund will develop policies 
for the administration and operation of the capital 
management fund. Certified Louisiana capital companies 
investing in such capital management fund, shall share in the 
profits and losses of such fund in accordance with the 
documents providing for the creation and organization of the 
fund. The fund shall submit reports to the secretary, semi -
annually. The report shall include information on all 
investments made be the fund and a copy of the most recent 
financial statements of the fund and shall be submitted on a 
form provided by the secretary. 

D. Any entities receiving funds pursuant to Paragraph 
A.1 or A.2 shall comply with all requirements of R.S. 
51:1921 et seq. (Chapter 26 of Title 51 of the Louisiana 
Revised Statutes) and with this Chapter with respect to such 
funds received as if those funds were certified capital as 
defined in R.S. 51:1923(1) with the exception that: 

1. such funds shall earn no additional tax credits; 
2. for purposes of R.S. 51:1926(A)(1), fifty percent 

must be invested in qualified investments and for purposes 
of R.S. 51:1926(A)(2), eighty percent must be invested in 
qualified investments; and 

3. One hundred percent of such funds shall be 
invested in qualified investments within eight years. 

E. Amounts invested pursuant to Subsection A.2 shall be 
invested directly into a certified Louisiana capital company. 
Investments directly into a business shall not qualify as an 
investment pursuant to Paragraph  A.2. 

F. With respect to capital raised and certified pursuant to 
R.S. 22:1068(E) during the calendar year 1999 only, if a 
certified Louisiana capital company demonstrates to the 
secretary that investments made from 1999 certified capital 
were made or committed prior to December 1, 2000, were 
made with the understanding that they would qualify under 
§1935 and were made in accordance with the terms of a 
previous agreement entered into by the secretary, such 
investments will be deemed to qualify pursuant to this 
section.  

G. If a certified Louisiana capital company which is 
required to invest funds by this section is also a certified 
Louisiana capital company described in Subparagraph A.1.b 
above, it shall not be required to reinvest part of its certified 
capital into another certified Louisiana capital company 
pursuant to the requirements of Subparagraph A.1.b; 
however, it must still make the investment required by 
Subparagraph A.1.a. 

H. Any certified Louisiana capital company may request 
a determination from the secretary that it is a certified 
Louisiana capital company described in Subsection A.2. A 
request for a determination shall be addressed to the

secretary and shall include a copy of the certified Louisiana 
capital company's: 

1. articles of organization;  
2. by-laws; 
3. investment policy; and  
4. any disclosure statement distributed to prospective 

investors. If any of those documents have been amended 
from its original form, a copy of both the original and 
amended documents must be provided. The secretary may 
request any additional information that he deems necessary 
to make a determination. 

I. Failure to comply with this section shall result in the 
following consequences. 

1. In the event any certified Louisiana capital 
company subject to the provisions of Subsection A, fails to 
comply with the requirements of this section, the certified 
Louisiana capital company shall be subject to involuntary 
decertification of its capital in an amount equal to the 
amount of funds required to be invested pursuant to this 
section. Such involuntary decertification shall result in the 
disallowance and recapture of any tax credits related to such 
capital. 

2. If any entity that receives funds pursuant to 
Subsections A.1 or A.2 fails to comply with the provisions of 
this section regarding the investment of such funds, the 
secretary shall have the authority to specifically direct how 
such funds shall be invested, including the authority to name 
a specific business and amount for an investment. If the 
entity fails to comply with such directive, the entity shall 
remit such funds to the secretary for investment. The entity 
shall retain ownership of any funds and investments made 
with such funds. 

J. For purposes of this section only, the following terms 
shall have the meaning provided in this subsection. 

Business Ventures Operating in Economically 
Distressed AreasCa business whose principal place of 
business is located in a Census Block Group designated by 
the Department of Economic Development as an Enterprise 
Zone pursuant to R.S. 51:1784(A) and (B) and not 
considering any designation pursuant R.S. 51:1785(B). 

Certified Disadvantaged BusinessesCshall include any 
business which has received certification as such from any 
federal, state or local government agency or has been 
certified as a Small and Emerging Business by the division 
of small and emerging business development in the 
Department of Economic Development. 

Early Stage Business VentureCshall include and 
enterprise that has high growth potential, minimal revenues 
or minimal profits. 

Pre-SeedCshall include an enterprise that conducts 
research and development to demonstrate proof of concept, 
files for initial patents and plans the enterprise for at least the 
two rounds of financing subsequent to initial investment in 
the enterprise. 

SeedCshall include an enterprise that is completing its 
initial product research and development, building a 
prototype, completing market research, hiring the initial 
management team members and formulating a strategy to 
achieve very high growth. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1935. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 27: 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0105#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Racing Commission 

Licenses Necessary for Entry (LAC 46:I.1105) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts the following Emergency Rule 
effective April 18, 2001, and it shall remain in effect for 120 
days or until this rule takes effect through the normal 
promulgation process, whichever comes first. 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it 
necessary to amend this rule to provide for an age limitation 
for possessing an owner's license, and related requirements. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part I.  Horseracing Occupations 

Chapter 11. Owners 
§1105. Licenses Necessary for Entry 

A. Before a horse may be entered, its owner or owners 
must secure the appropriate licenses from the commission, 
unless permission is granted by the stewards. 

B. The minimum age for an owner's applicant is 16 years 
old. However, for every applicant under the age of 18 years 
old, the owner's license application shall be submitted with a 
notarized affidavit from his or her parent or legal guardian 
stating that the parent or legal guardian assumes 
responsibility for the minor licensee's financial, contractual 
and other obligations relating to the applicant's participation 
in racing. Further, the applicant's parent or legal guardian 
must be eligible and present for eligibility for licensing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:148 and R.S. 4:150. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, amended by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:429 (December 1976), repromulgated LR 3:25 
(January 1977), LR 4:274 (August 1978), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 
27: 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

0105#011 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) 
Scholarship/Grant Programs  

(LAC 28:IV.703, 803, 903, 1103, 2113, and 2303) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
rules of the Scholarship/Grant programs (R.S. 17:3021-3026, 
R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1). 

The emergency rules are necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. The commission has, therefore, 
determined that these emergency rules are necessary in order 
to prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the 
affected students. 

This declaration of emergency is effective April 5, 2001, 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 
Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§703. Establishing Eligibility 
A. ... 

1. Be a U. S. citizen, provided however, that a student 
who is not a citizen of the United States but who is eligible 
to apply for such citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the 
citizenship requirement, if within 60 days after the date the 
student attains the age of majority, the student applies to 
become a citizen of the United States and obtains such 
citizenship within one year after the date of the application 
for citizenship. Those students who are eligible for U. S. 
citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS award, 
will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements for a 
TOPS award for one year after the date of the student's 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student's TOPS award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided. 

A.2. - A.5.c. ... 
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d.i.    successfully complete at the twelfth grade level 
a home study program approved by BESE; or 
 ii. if ever was enrolled in a Louisiana public or 
nonpublic school approved by BESE, successfully 
completed at least the eleventh and twelfth grade levels of a 
home study program approved by BESE; and 
 iii. if having previously attended a Louisiana 
public high school, a Louisiana nonpublic high school, or an 
approved non-Louisiana high school, has provided LASFAC 
with certification by the previously attended high school that 
said student was in good standing at the time the student last 
attended such school; and 

A.6. - G.2. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
25:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 
(April 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:67 (January 
2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 
26:1602 (August 2000), LR 26:1998 (August 2000), LR 26:1996, 
(September 2000), LR 26:2001 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 
(October 2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 
2001), LR 27: 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§803. Establishing Eligibility 

A. ... 
1. Be a U. S. citizen, provided however, that a student 

who is not a citizen of the United States but who is eligible 
to apply for such citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the 
citizenship requirement, if within sixty (60) days after the 
date the student attains the age of majority, the student 
applies to become a citizen of the United States and obtains 
such citizenship within one year after the date of the 
application for citizenship. Those students who are eligible 
for U. S. citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS 
award, will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements 
for a TOPS award for one year after the date of the student =s 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student=s TOPS award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided. 

A.2. - 11. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:1898 (October 1998), amended LR 24:2237 (December 1998), 
LR 25:1795 (October 1999), LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1602 
(August 2000), LR 26:1997 (September 2000), LR 26:2269 
(October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 
2001), LR 27: 
Chapter 9. TOPS-Teacher Award 
§903. Establishing Eligibility 

A. ... 
1. Be a U.S. citizen, provided however, that a student 

who is not a citizen of the United States but who is eligible 
to apply for such citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the 
citizenship requirement, if within 60 days after the date the 
student attains the age of majority, the student applies to 
become a citizen of the United States and obtains such

citizenship within one year after the date of the application 
for citizenship. Those students who are eligible for U. S. 
citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS award, 
will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements for a 
TOPS award for one year after the date of the student's 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student's TOPS award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided. 

A.2. - 9.   ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1906 (October 1998), LR 
26:68 (January 2000), LR 26:2269 (October 2000), LR 27:284 
(March 2001), LR 27:. 
Chapter 11. Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship 
§1103. Establishing Eligibility 

To establish eligibility, the student applicant must meet all 
of the following criteria: 

1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen; 
and 

2. … 
3. submit the completed Free Application for Federal 

Student Aid (FAFSA) or the Renewal FAFSA, whichever is 
applicable to the student, by final deadline set forth in 
§503.B.; and 

4. - 9.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:639 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1908 (October 1998), LR 27: 
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2113. Revision of the Core Curricula 

A. LASFAC shall continually consult with BESE and the 
Louisiana Board of Regents to evaluate the adequacy of the 
TOPS core curricula to prepare students for postsecondary 
studies. Upon receipt of a written recommendation to change 
the core curriculum from BESE or the Louisiana Board of 
Regents, and to which the other board has concurred, 
LASFAC shall seek legislative amendment to effect the 
recommendation. 

B. LASFAC is authorized by law to determine a high 
school level course to be equivalent to a course described in 
the core curricula or to authorize the name change of a core 
curricula course. Prior to initiating rule making to authorize 
a name change, LASFAC must seek the recommendation of 
BESE and the Louisiana Board of Regents. The 
determination of a course as equivalent to a course included 
in the definition of core curriculum shall be limited to those 
courses identified in the Secondary Programs of Study 
contained in the Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators (LDE Bulletin 741). Only those 
recommendations for a name change or for the designation 
of an equivalent course which have been submitted by a 
local school board or other equivalent education agency for 
private schools will be considered by LASFAC and such 
recommendations shall be submitted directly to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, Attention: Scholarship and 
Grant Division. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 27: 
Chapter 23. Tuition Payment Program for Medical 

School Students 
§2303. Establishing Eligibility 

A. ... 
1. be a U.S. Citizen; and 
2. - 9. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.15. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1461 (August 1999) LR 25:2177 (November 1999), LR 
26:2754 (December 2000), LR 27: 

 
Mark S. Riley 
Assistant Executive Director 

0105#007 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust 
(START Saving) Program  

(LAC 28:VI. 315) 

Editor's Note:  This Emergency Rule which appeared on page 
507 of the April 20, 2001 Louisiana Register,  is being 
republished to correct an error in the department listing.  
 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act. R.S. 49:953(B), to amend rules of the 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START 
Saving) Program, R.S. 17:3091-3099.2. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance to effectively 
administer this program. A delay in promulgating rules 
would have an adverse impact on the financial welfare of the 
eligible students and the financial condition of their families. 
The commission has, therefore, determined that this 
Emergency Rules is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective March 9, 
2001, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 3.  Education Savings Account 
§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A.- C.2. ... 
3. For the year ending December 31, 2000, the 

Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 
interest rate of 6.51 percent. 

4. For the year ending December 31, 2000, the Tuition 
Assistance Grant (TAGS) Fund earned an interest rate of 
6.83 percent. 

D. - R. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), LR 26:1263 (June 2000), 
repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended LR 27: 

 
Mark S. Riley 
Assistant Executive Director 

0105#004 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust (START Saving) 
Program (LAC 28:VI. 107 and 307) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend rules of the 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START 
Saving) Program (R.S. 17:3091-3099.2) to clarify 
restrictions on the allocation of tuition assistance grants 
(TAGS). 

The Emergency Rules are necessary to allow the 
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance and 
educational institutions to effectively administer these 
programs. A delay in promulgating rules would have an 
adverse impact on the financial welfare of the eligible 
students and the financial condition of their families. The 
authority has, therefore, determined that these emergency 
rules are necessary in order to prevent imminent financial 
peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This declaration of emergency is effective April 5, 2001, 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
Subchapter A. Student Tuition Trust Authority 
§107. Applicable Definitions  

* * * 
Fully Funded AccountCan account having a balance, 

including contributions, earnings on contributions, TAGs 
and interest accrued thereon, which is equal to or greater 
than five times the annual tuition  at the highest cost 
Louisiana public college or university as annually 
determined by the administering agency prior to the 
beneficiary's scheduled date of first enrollment. Once fully 
funded, an account continues to be fully funded if 
disbursements, refunds, or both reduce the amount of the 
balance below that of a fully funded account.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 
27: 
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Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§307. Allocation of Tuition Assistance Grants 

A. - E.2.  ... 
3. are not fully funded accounts; and 

E.4. - H.4.   ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1271 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:1263 (June 2000), LR 26:2263 (October 2000), LR 
27:37 (January 2001) LR 27: 

 
Mark S. Riley 
Assistant Executive Director 

0105#006 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Denture ProgramCReimbursement Fee Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This emergency rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage under the Medicaid Program for dentures and 
denture related services rendered to recipients age 21 years 
and older. As a result of the allocation of additional funds by 
the Legislature during the 2000 Second Extraordinary 
Session, the bureau has determined it is necessary to 
increase the reimbursement fees for certain designated 
procedure codes. In addition, the bureau proposes to 
establish requirements for unique identification information 
to be processed into all new removable dental prosthetics 
reimbursed under the Medicaid program. The bureau 
proposes that Adult Denture Program providers process into 
the acrylic base of each new removable dental prosthesis, the 
recipient’s last name and first initial, the month and year, and 
the Medicaid provider number. This criteria would apply to 
the following services: full upper denture, full lower denture, 
immediate full upper denture, immediate full lower denture, 
upper acrylic partial w/clasp and lower acrylic partial 
w/clasp. This emergency rule is being adopted to continue 
the provisions contained in the January 21, 2001 rule. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective May 22, 2001 the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing increases the reimbursement fees for certain 
designated procedure codes to the following rates. 

 

Procedure 
Code  Procedure Name New Rate  

05110 Full Upper Denture $470.00 
05120 Full Lower Denture $470.00 
05130 Immediate Full Upper Denture $470.00 
05140 Immediate Full Lower Denture $470.00 
05211 Upper Acrylic Partial w/Clasp $425.00 
05212 Lower Acrylic Partial w/Clasp $425.00 
05750 Reline Full Upper Denture-Lab Reline $200.00 
05751 Reline Full Lower Denture-Lab Reline $200.00 
05760 Reline Upper Partial Denture-Lab Reline $175.00 
05761 Reline Lower Partial Denture-Lab Reline $175.00 

 
In addition, the bureau establishes requirements for unique 

identification information to be processed into all new 
removable dental prosthetics reimbursed under the Medicaid 
program. Adult Denture Program providers shall process 
into the acrylic base of each new removable dental 
prosthesis, the recipient’s last name and first initial, the 
month and year, and the Medicaid provider number. This 
criteria applies to the following services: full upper denture, 
full lower denture, immediate full upper denture, immediate 
full lower denture, upper acrylic partial w/clasp and lower 
acrylic partial w/clasp. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this emergency rule. A 
copy of this emergency rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0105#069 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment Methodologies 
Large Public Non State Hospitals  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This emergency rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the act or until adoption of 
the rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
rule March 20, 1998 governing the disproportionate share 
payment methodologies for hospitals (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 24, Number 3). This rule was subsequently amended 
to include the definition of a teaching hospital as required by 
Act 19 of the 1998 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (Louisiana Register, Volume 25, Number 5). The
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May 20, 1999 rule was later amended to revise the 
qualifying criteria for small rural hospitals as required by 
Senate Concurrent Resolution Number 48 and Act 1068 of 
the 1999 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 3). 

The department adopted an emergency rule effective June 
21, 1999 that established an additional disproportionate 
share hospital group for state fiscal year 1999 only, for large 
public non state rural hospitals that had at least 25 percent 
Medicaid inpatient days utilization. These qualifying 
hospitals were allowed to certify uncompensated care 
expenditures as match and to receive the equivalent of 
federal financial participation (FFP) in the same manner as 
small public non state rural hospitals (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 25, Number 6). 

Act 11 of the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature directed the Department of Health and 
Hospitals to implement procedures to receive transfers of 
public funds from qualifying health care providers. The 
public funds would qualify as the state’s matching share for 
the purpose of claiming federal financial participation (FFP). 
In compliance with Act 11, the department issued a public 
process notice announcing its intent to adopt an emergency 
rule to establish a supplemental payment to be issued to non 
state public hospitals, which are not recognized by the 
department as a small rural hospital, for unreimbursed 
Medicaid costs incurred in providing care to Medicaid 
recipients. In order to facilitate the transfer of public funds 
from qualifying health care providers as directed in Act 11, 
the department determined it was necessary to establish an 
additional disproportionate share hospital group for large 
public non state hospitals which are not recognized as small 
rural hospitals. These qualifying hospitals will be allowed to 
certify the state match and to receive the equivalent of 
federal financial participation (FFP) in the same manner as 
small, public non state rural hospitals. This emergency rule 
is being adopted to continue the provisions contained in the 
February 1, 2001 rule. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective June 2, 2001, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing establishes an additional disproportionate share 
hospital group for large public non-state hospitals which are 
not recognized as small rural hospitals. For those hospitals 
that previously received disproportionate share payments in 
accordance with the October 21, 2000 emergency rule, the 
sum of the disproportionate share payments to these 
hospitals shall not exceed the hospital’s uncompensated 
costs for the cost reporting period. These qualifying 
hospitals will be allowed to certify the state match and to 
receive the equivalent of federal financial participation 
(FFP) in the same manner as small public non state rural 
hospitals. A large public non state hospital is defined as any 
hospital owned by a parish, city or other local government 
agency or instrumentality; and not included in section III. A. 
or B. of the May 20, 1999 rule. A qualifying hospital may be 
a long term hospital. Qualifying hospitals must meet the 
qualifying criteria contained in section II. E and either 
section II. A, B, or C of the May 20, 1999 rule. Qualifying 
hospitals must maintain a log documenting the hospital’s 
provision of uninsured care as directed by the department. 
All other provisions contained in the May 20, 1999 rule 

remain intact. Issuance of the disproportionate share 
payment is contingent on the public non state hospital 
entering into a cooperative endeavor agreement with the 
department to certify public funds as representing 
expenditures eligible for FFP. 

Disproportionate share payments to each qualifying public 
non state hospital are equal to that hospital’s pro rata share 
of uncompensated costs for all hospitals meeting these 
criteria for the cost reporting period ended during the period 
July 1, 1999 through June 30, 2000 multiplied by the amount 
set for this pool. Payment will not exceed each qualifying 
hospital’s actual uncompensated costs as defined in section 
I.G of the May 20,1999 rule. If the cost reporting period is 
not a full period 12 months, actual uncompensated cost data 
for the previous cost reporting period may be used on a pro 
rata basis to equate to a full year. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this emergency rule. A 
copy of this emergency rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0105#067 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) 
Dental ProgramCReimbursement Fee Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This emergency rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the act or until adoption of 
the rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
reimbursement for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment (EPSDT) dental services under the Medicaid 
Program. Reimbursement for these services is a flat fee 
established by the Bureau minus the amount that any third 
party coverage would pay. As a result of the allocation of 
additional funds by the Legislature during the 2000 Second 
Extraordinary Session, the 7 percent reduction to the 
reimbursement rates for EPSDT dental services was restored 
and the reimbursement fees for certain designated procedure 
codes were increased (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, 
Number 7). The bureau has subsequently determined that it 
is necessary to make additional increases to the fees for 
certain designated procedure codes in order to be in 
compliance with Act 11 of the 2000 Second Extraordinary 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature. In addition, the bureau 
proposes to establish requirements for unique identification 
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information to be processed into all new removable dental 
prosthetics reimbursed under the Medicaid program. The 
Bureau proposes that EPSDT Dental Program providers 
process into the acrylic base of each new removable dental 
prosthesis, the recipient’s last name and first initial, the 
month and year, and the Medicaid provider number. This 
criteria would apply to the following services: full upper 
denture, full lower denture, immediate full upper denture, 
immediate full lower denture, upper acrylic partial w/clasp, 
lower acrylic partial w/clasp, upper cast partial/acrylic and 
lower cast partial/acrylic. This emergency rule is being 
adopted to continue the provisions contained in the January 
21, 2001 rule. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective May 22, 2001 the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing increases the reimbursement fees for certain 
designated procedure codes to the following rates. 

 
Procedure 

Code  Procedure Name New Rate 

02930 Stainless Steel Crown-Primary $78.00 
02931 Stainless Steel Crown-Permanent $78.00 
05110 Full Upper Denture $470.00 
05120 Full Lower Denture $470.00 
05130 Immediate Full Upper Denture $470.00 
05140 Immediate Full Lower Denture $470.00 
05211 Upper Acrylic Partial w/Clasp $425.00 
05212 Lower Acrylic Partial w/Clasp $425.00 
05750 Reline Full Upper Denture-Lab Reline $200.00 
05751 Reline Full Lower Denture-Lab Reline $200.00 
05760 Reline Upper Partial Denture-Lab Reline $175.00 
05761 Reline Lower Partial Denture-Lab Reline $175.00 

 
In addition, the bureau establishes requirements for unique 

identification information to be processed into all new 
removable dental prosthetics reimbursed under the Medicaid 
program. EPSDT Dental Program providers shall process 
into the acrylic base of each new removable dental 
prosthesis, the recipient’s last name and first initial, the 
month and year, and the Medicaid provider number. This 
criteria applies to the following services: full upper denture, 
full lower denture, immediate full upper denture, immediate 
full lower denture, upper acrylic partial w/clasp, lower 
acrylic partial w/clasp, upper cast partial/acrylic and lower 
cast partial/acrylic. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this emergency rule. A 
copy of this emergency rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0105#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Public Hospitals  
Reimbursement Methodology 

Upper Payment Limit 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the 
following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This emergency rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the act or until adoption of 
the rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
rule in June of 1994 which established a prospective 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient services provided 
in non-state operated acute care hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The reimbursement 
methodology was subsequently amended in a rule adopted in 
January of 1996 which established a weighted average per 
diem for each hospital peer group (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 1). The January 1996 rule was later 
amended to discontinue the practice of automatically 
applying an inflation adjustment to the reimbursement rates 
in those years when the rates are not rebased (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 25, Number 5). 

In compliance with Act 11 of the 2000 Second 
Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature, an 
emergency rule was adopted to establish supplemental 
payments to non-state public hospitals, which are not 
recognized by the Department as small rural hospitals, for 
unreimbursed Medicaid costs incurred in providing care to 
Medicaid recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, 
Number 12). Issuance of the supplemental payment is 
contingent on the public hospital entering into a cooperative 
endeavor agreement with the department to certify public 
funds as representing expenditures eligible for federal 
financial participation (FFP). 

The bureau now proposes to utilize the revised upper 
payment limit for non-state government-owned or operated 
hospitals as set forth in the 42 CFR §447.272(c) and 
§447.321(c). 42 CFR §447.272(c) and §447.321(c) states as 
follows: "Exceptions C (1) Non-State government-operated 
hospitals. The aggregate Medicaid payments may not exceed 
150 percent (150%) of a reasonable estimate of the amount 
that would be paid for the services furnished by these 
hospitals under Medicare payment principles in subchapter 
B of this chapter." This action is being taken to enhance 
federal revenues in the Medicaid Program. It is estimated 
that the expenditures necessary to implement this emergency 
rule will be approximately $45,835,864 for state fiscal year 
2001-02. 
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Emergency Rule 
Effective April 1, 2001, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing will utilize the revised upper payment limit for 
non-state government-owned or operated hospitals as set 
forth in the 42 CFR §447.272(c) and §447.321(c). The 
hospital payment differential for any year shall be the 
difference between 150 percent of the upper limit of 
aggregate payments to non-state government-owned or 
operated hospitals, as defined in the 42 CFR §447.272(c) 
and §447.321(c), and the aggregate Medicaid per diem 
reimbursement paid to these hospitals for the year.  

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this emergency rule. A 
copy of this emergency rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0105#068 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Wrap-Around Child CareCEligibility and Payments  
(LAC 67:I.5203, 5205, 5209, and 5211) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family  
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, to adopt the 
following changes in the Wrap-Around Child Care Program 
effective May 1, 2001. This Emergency Rule will remain in 
effect for a period of 120 days. 

In an effort to increase the availability of child care 
services to more low-income families, the agency is making 
the eligibility requirements less restrictive for full-day/full-
year child care services. In particular those school-aged 
children who are eligible for the Free Lunch Program will 
now be eligible for Wrap-Around services since the need for 
child care for working parents, and especially the single 
parent, significantly increases at the end of the school year.  

There exists the possibility that the working parent(s) 
would have to give up employment or job training situations 
because of the lack of affordable day care. Besides the social 
and intellectual benefits of quality child care, it may also 
prevent children from being involved in negative or illegal 
activities. There also exists the possibility of danger to 
children if they are left alone when a parent(s) cannot afford 
summer child care. For these several reasons, an emergency 
rule is needed to effect these changes in an effort to bring as 
many children as possible into the agency's child care 
programs. 

The agency will give first availability for Wrap-Around 
services to those eligible children meeting the new 
requirements who are currently on the waiting list for child 
care assistance through the Child Care and Development 
Block Grant. Also, to remove the burden of receiving 
applications and verification from Head Start Grantees or 

other qualified providers, the agency assumes full 
responsibility for all Wrap-Around Child Care applications. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 12.  Child Care Assistance 

Chapter 52. Wrap-Around Child Care Program 
§5203. Conditions of Eligibility 

A. A household must meet all of the following eligibility 
criteria: 

1. ... 
2. effective May 1, 2001, a child may not receive 

child care services simultaneously from the Wrap-Around 
Child Care Program, the Family Independence Work 
Program (FW), or the Child Care Assistance Program 
(CCAP); 

3. effective May 1, 2001, a household in which any 
member receives Food Stamps, Medicaid, LaChip, SSI, Free 
or Reduced School Lunch, or Kinship Care Subsidy will be 
categorically income-eligible and may receive Wrap-Around 
Child Care if otherwise eligible; 

4. effective May 1, 2001, FITAP children who live 
with a qualified relative who is not a required member of the 
FITAP assistance unit may receive Wrap-Around Child Care 
if otherwise eligible; 

5. the head of household, that person's spouse, or non-
legal spouse (if the parent of a child in the household), 
including any minor unmarried parent who is not legally 
emancipated and whose child(ren) are in need of Wrap-
Around Child Care services, must be: 

a. effective May 1, 2001, employed a minimum 
average of 20 hours per week ; or 

b. effective May 1, 2001, engaged in a combination 
of employment and job training or an educational program, 
for a combined average of at least 20 hours per week; 

6. effective May 1, 2001, the number of hours that 
child care is provided must reasonably correspond to the 
number of activity hours of the parents and/or adult 
household members; 

7. effective May 1, 2001, at the time of application the 
household must include at least one child with a need for 
Wrap-Around Child Care services defined as 
full-day/full-year child care, that is, full-time (30 or more 
hours per week) or part-time (less than 30 hours per week) 
and holiday care provided in conjunction with part-time care 
during the school year, who is: 

a. under age 13; or 
b. age 13 through age 17, with a physical, mental, 

or emotional disability rendering him incapable of caring for 
himself, as verified by receipt of SSI or a signed statement 
of disability from a physician or licensed psychologist; 

8. the child needing care must customarily reside 
more than half of the time with the head of household who is 
applying for child care services, ensuring that only one 
household can receive child care services for that child; 

9. the head of household or another adult household 
member must be responsible for the payment of child care 
costs for a child who lives in the household. A need for child 
care services does not exist if child care costs will be paid by 
a third party who is not a household member. However, this 
will not apply if a third party, not legally obligated to make 
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child care payments, is temporarily doing so until payments 
begin. 

B. - D. ... 
E. The household must provide the information and 

verification necessary for determining eligibility and 
payment amount. Required verification includes: 

1. ... 
2. effective May 1, 2001, proof of age; 
3. - 5. ... 

F. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:429 (March 
2001), amended LR 27: 
§5205. Income Limits 

A. Effective May 1, 2001, unless determined 
categorically income eligible, a household must have total 
countable income no greater than 130 percent of the Federal 
poverty level. These amounts are updated annually. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:430 (March 
2001), amended LR 27: 
§5209. Head Start Grantees and Other Qualified 

Providers 
A. Effective May 1, 2001, the agency will provide 

services to eligible individuals through contracts with some 
Head Start Program grantees and other qualified providers 
who meet the standards and requirements set forth in 
paragraphs C through E of this section, for a designated 
number of slots. Available slots will be filled on a first-come, 
first-served basis. 

B. Effective May 1, 2001, the contracted Head Start 
grantee or other qualified provider will establish a child care 
program that consists of full-day/full-year child care, that is, 
full-time (30 or more hours per week) or part-time (less than 
30 hours per week) and holiday care provided in conjunction 
with part-time care during the school year.  

C. - E. ... 
F. Effective May 1, 2001, the Head Start grantee or other 

qualified provider shall ensure that procedures are in place to 
prevent, identify, and report suspected abuse or neglect of 
children as required by Children's Code Articles 601-610 
and 45 CFR 1301.31. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:430 (March 
2001), amended LR 27:  
§5211. Payments Effective May 1, 2001 

A. The Head Start grantee or other qualified provider 
will be paid a weekly rate of $85 ($17 per day) per child for 
full-day, full-time child care. 

B. The Head Start grantee or other qualified provider 
will be paid $2.12 per hour per child for part-time care up to 
a maximum of eight hours per day per child. 

C. The Head Start grantee or other qualified provider 
will be paid $2.12 per hour for up to a maximum of eight 
hours per day per child ($17 per day) for allowable, holiday 
care provided in conjunction with part-time care during the 
school year. 

D. Payment will not be made for a child who is absent 
from day care more than ten days in a calendar month or for 
an extended closure by a provider of more than five 
consecutive days in a calendar month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:431 (March 
2001), amended LR 27: 

 
J. Renea Austin-Duffin 
Secretary 

0105#010 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Treasury 
Board of Trustees of the Lousisana  

State Employees' Retirement System 

Disability (LAC 58:I.2501 - 2523) 

Under the authority of R.S. 11:515 and in accordance with 
R.S. 49:951 et seq., the Department of the Treasury, Board 
of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employees’ Retirement 
System ("LASERS") advertises its intent to amend and 
reenact LAC 58:I.2503, 2505, 2507, 2509, 2511, 2513, 2525, 
2527, and 2529, and to repeal LAC 58.I. 2501, 2521 and 
2523, and renumber accordingly.  

The Retirement System is changing the administration of 
the disability program from the current Third Party 
Administrator to begin the administration of the disability 
program in-house. In order to protect the welfare of the 
disability applicant it is necessary to promulgate these 
emergency rules to ensure that there will be no interruption 
of service to disability applicants, who may have no other 
source of income. It is in the best interest of the disability 
applicants, to ensure their welfare that there be no 
interruption in the administration of the disability program, 
and the enactment of these rules should ensure that no 
interruption is service occurs. 

These rules shall become effective on June 1, 2001, and 
will remain in effect for 120 days. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part I.  State Employees' Retirement 
Chapter 25. Procedures for Processing Disability 

Applications 
§2501. Application for Disability Retirement 

A. Applications for disability retirement shall be 
submitted in accordance with instructions provided to the 
applicant or applicant’s employer by LASERS, and shall be 
reviewed as follows. 

1. Upon receipt of a disability application, LASERS 
shall verify applicant’s eligibility within five business days 
of receipt of the application. 

2. The application; examining physician's report; the 
disability report by immediate supervisor; and report by 
applicant's human resource administrator shall be reviewed 
for completeness. 

3. If the application or any of the required forms are 
incomplete or missing, the applicant shall be notified in 
writing, and will have 10 business days to furnish the 
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requested information. If the applicant fails to comply with 
this request the Application shall be rejected as ineligible. 

B. Whether the applicant is determined to be eligible or 
ineligible to apply for disability, the applicant shall be 
notified in writing by LASERS within 10 business days of 
the determination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1957 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2503. Disability Board Physician’s Recommendation 

A. LASERS shall determine the appropriate State 
Medical Disability Board physician to perform the initial 
medical review, based on the area of medical specialty most 
closely related to applicant’s disability. 

B. If the State Medical Disability Board does not have a 
physician practicing in the requisite specialty, LASERS shall 
appoint a physician who practices in the requisite specialty 
to the Board or as an alternate physician to perform the 
initial medical review. 

C. The State Medical Disability Board physician shall 
determine from his review whether to conduct a medical 
examination of the applicant, or waive the medical 
examination because obvious and overwhelming medical 
evidence of disability exists to his satisfaction. 

D. State Medical Disability Board physician determines 
that a medical examination is needed to determine whether 
an applicant is eligible for a disability retirement, LASERS 
shall schedule an appointment with the appropriate Board 
physician. The applicant shall be notified of the appointment 
date and time in writing. The initial examination shall be 
completed within six weeks of the date the completed 
disability application is received and eligibility is verified by 
LASERS. 

E. LASERS shall pay the cost of the initial medical 
examination, including cost of laboratory tests, x-rays, and 
other direct examination procedures. If the Applicant fails to 
appear for this medical examination and the physician 
charges a cancellation fee, the Applicant shall be responsible 
for this fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1958 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2505. Final Determination 

A.1. LASERS shall review the State Medical Disability 
Board physician’s recommendation and based on that 
recommendation, either approve, or disapprove the 
application. An applicant shall be considered as certified 
totally disabled when the State Medical Disability Board 
physician declares the applicant to be totally incapacitated 
for the further performance of the normal duties of the job 
and states that such incapacity is likely to be permanent. In 
all cases, the examining physician shall make a 
recommendation if the application should be approved or 
disapproved. If the physician’s recommendation is unclear, 
the file shall be forwarded to the disability manager for 
review. The disability manager shall contact the physician 
for clarification of the recommendation. 

2. If a correction officer, probation or parole officer, or 
security officer of the Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections, or an employee of the enforcement division in 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is found to be 
permanently totally or partially disabled the applicant shall 
be entitled to a disability retirement benefit in accordance 
with either R.S. 11:212(B) or 214, as applicable. 

B. If the disability manager cannot make a clear 
determination, the file shall be sent to LASERS’ Executive 
Director, who shall contact the examining physician for 
clarification, or another State Medical Disability Board 
physician for consultation, or an appointed alternate 
physician shall be consulted when necessary. 

C. Any unusual applications shall immediately be 
presented to the Executive Director for his review and 
determination on how it should best be handled. 

D. When the final determination is made, the applicant 
shall be notified in writing and a copy shall be forwarded to 
applicant’s agency. 

E. A final determination shall be made within 120 days 
from the date the completed application is verified by 
LASERS. 

F. Disability benefits shall accrue from the date the 
application was filed or from the day following exhaustion 
of all sick leave or annual leave claimed by applicant, 
whichever is later. If an applicant elects to remain on unused 
sick or annual leave past the 120 days necessary to complete 
his application, a waiver shall be signed by the applicant and 
a re-exam shall be scheduled at LASERS’ expense after one 
year from date of application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1958 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2507. Contesting Board Physician’s Determination 

A. If the certification of the examining physician is 
contested by either the Applicant or LASERS, the contesting 
party shall have the right to a second medical examination if 
a written appeal is filed within 30 days of notification of the 
initial determination. 

B. The second examination shall be performed by a State 
Disability Board Physician, or appointed alternate physician. 
LASERS shall schedule the appointment and notify the 
applicant of the time and place of the second examination in 
writing. 

C. The cost of the second examination shall be paid by 
the contesting party. If the Applicant fails to appear for this 
examination and the physician charges a cancellation fee, the 
Applicant shall be responsible for this fee. 

D. If the second physician concurs in the findings and 
recommendations of the first physician, the original decision 
shall stand as final and binding on the parties. 

E. If the second physician disagrees with the first 
physician’s finding and recommendation, the two physicians 
shall select a third physician to conduct another examination. 
The findings and recommendations of the third physician 
shall be binding, and the cost of the third physician shall be 
paid by LASERS if the applicant is certified disabled, or by 
the applicant if the disability claim is denied. If the 
Applicant fails to appear for this examination and the 
physician charges a cancellation fee, the Applicant shall be 
responsible for this fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1958 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2509. Judicial Appeal 

The applicant has the right to appeal the decision that 
applicant is not entitled to a disability retirement to the 
Nineteenth Judicial District Court, Parish of East Baton 
Rouge. This appeal shall be filed within 30 days of the 
receipt of the final medical decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1959 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2511. Certification of Continuing Eligibility 

A. LASERS shall require a disability retiree to complete 
an Annual Attending Physician Statement (AAPS) once each 
year during the first five years following the disability 
retirement and once in every three years thereafter until the 
retiree has reached the equivalent age of regular retirement 
unless the medical evidence shows conclusively that the 
disability retiree cannot recover from the disability. The 
AAPS needs to be returned within ten business days of 
receipt by the disability retiree. Depending on the results of 
the AAPS LASERS may require a disability retiree to 
undergo a medical examination. 

B. If a medical examination is required LASERS shall 
schedule the appointment with a State Medical Board or 
appointed alternate physician and notify the disability retiree 
of the appointment time and place in writing. LASERS must 
pay the cost of this examination. If the retiree fails to appear 
for this examination and the physician charges a cancellation 
fee, the retiree shall be responsible for this fee. 

C. The disability retiree shall be notified in writing of the 
physician’s determination. If the physician does not 
recommend continuing disability, the disability retiree has 
the same appeal rights as the original applicant as set forth in 
§2507 herein. 

D. If the disability retiree refuses to submit to the 
examination, or fails to submit the AAPS in the manner set 
out above his benefit shall be discontinued until he agrees to 
the examination or submits the AAPS. The benefit will be 
discontinued 30 days after written notification to the 
disability retiree. If the refusal continues for one year, all of 
the retiree’s rights in and to the disability benefit shall be 
revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1959 (October 1998), LR 26:1490 (July 
2000), LR 27: 
§2513. Limitation on Earnings 

A. If a disability retiree is gainfully employed, the 
amount of the retiree’s earnings are limited; the total amount 
of earnings plus the disability benefit cannot exceed his final 
average compensation. 

B. For purposes of computing this limitation, an annual 
cost-of-living adjustment to the final average compensation 
shall be made based on the Federal Consumer Price Index 
for the preceding calendar year. 

C. The disability retiree must notify LASERS 
immediately if the retiree becomes employed and the 
retiree’s earnings will exceed the limitation. 

D. Each disability retiree shall submit a notarized annual 
statement of earned income for the previous calendar year. 
The statement must be submitted no later than May 1, of 
each calendar year, otherwise the benefit will be 
discontinued effective June 1 of that calendar year, without 
retroactive reimbursement, until the statement is filed. If a 
disability retiree refuses to submit the statement for the 
remainder of the calendar year, all the retiree’s rights in and 
to the dis ability retirement shall be revoked. 

E. If the earnings limit is exceeded, future benefits shall 
be reduced to recover the amount of excess earnings. The 
disability retiree shall be notified in writing of the reduced 
amount at least 30 days prior to the reduction taking effect.  

F. If it is determined that a disability retiree is engaged 
in gainful occupation which places the retiree over the 
earnings limit, then the amount of the disability benefit shall 
be reduced to an amount within the retiree’s earnings limit. 
Should the retiree’s earning capacity later change, the 
disability benefit may be further modified in accordance 
with R.S. 11:221. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1959 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2515. Report to the Board of Trustees 

A. The applicants’ names and disposition of applications 
shall be provided to the board in addition to the monthly 
retirement supplement for the board’s ratification. 

B. The board shall receive a summary report of the 
number of applications received, the number approved, the 
number disapproved, a summary of the types of disabilities, 
the average age of approved applicants, the average number 
of years of state service, and the agencies of the applicants 
annually in March for the previous calendar year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1959 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2517. Appointment of Physicians to the State Medical 

Disability Board  
A. Physicians may be appointed to the State Medical 

Disability Board or as an alternate physician by the 
Executive Director. Such appointments shall be subject to 
ratification by the Board of Trustees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1959 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2519. Termination of Benefits 

A. Upon receipt of a final medical determination that a 
disability retiree is no longer disabled as a result of the 
failure to obtain a certification of continuing eligibility the 
retiree shall have the right to appeal the medical 
determination under §2507 herein. The benefit shall continue 
during the appeal period. 
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B. The disability retiree has the right to appeal this 
decision to the Nineteenth Judicial District Court, Parish of 
East Baton Rouge. This appeal shall be filed within thirty 
(30) days of the receipt of the Board’s decision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1960 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2521. Notices 

A. Any notice that will terminate a benefit given under 
this Chapter shall be given as follows. 

1. If a disability retiree, the notice shall be given with 
the retiree’s benefit check. If the retiree is receiving his 
benefit through an electronic fund transfer (EFT), the EFT 
shall be discontinued for the month notice is required and 
the retiree shall receive a paper check for that month; or 

2. If no benefit is being paid by LASERS, the notice 
shall be by certified mail, return receipt requested. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1960 (October 1998), LR 27: 
§2523. Conversion to Regular Retirement 

A. In accordance with R.S. 11:217, when a disability 
retiree vest in a regular retirement benefit under R.S. 11:441, 
except R.S. 11:441(4), the disability retiree shall be 
converted to a regular retiree upon attaining the normal 
vested retirement age and shall receive the full vested 
benefit. The retiree shall have the option to, but not be 
required, to select the regular retirement benefit under R.S. 
11:441(4) in lieu of a disability retirement benefit if the 
retiree qualifies for the benefit under R.S. 11:441(4). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the State Employees’ Retirement System, LR 22:373 (May 
1996), amended LR 24:1960 (October 1998), LR 27: 

 
Glenda Chambers 
Executive Director 

0105#012 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2001 Spring Inshore Shrimp Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or part of inside waters and shall have the 
authority to open or close outside waters, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission does hereby set the 2001 Spring 
Inshore Shrimp Season to open as follows: 

Zone 1, that portion of Louisiana's inshore waters from the 
Mississippi State line to the eastern shore of South Pass of 
the Mississippi River, to open at 6 a.m., May 21, 2001, 
except the open waters of Breton and Chandeleur Sounds as 
described in the menhaden rule (LAC 76:VII.307.D) which 
shall open at 6 a.m., May 14, 2001; and 

Zone 2, that portion of Louisiana's inshore waters from the 
eastern shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River 
westward to the western shore of Vermilion Bay and 
Southwest Pass at Marsh Island, as well as that portion of 
the State=s Territorial Waters south of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line as described in R.S. 56:495 from the 
Atchafalaya River Channel at Eugene Island as delineated 
by the River Channel buoy line to Freshwater Bayou, all to 
open at 6 a.m., May 10, 2001; and 

Zone 3, that portion of Louisiana's inshore waters from the 
western shore of Vermilion Bay and Southwest Pass at 
Marsh Island westward to the Texas State Line, to open at 6 
a.m. May 28, 2001. 

The commission also hereby grants to the secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries the authority to close 
any portion of the state's inshore waters to protect small 
white shrimp if biological and technical data indicates the 
need to do so, or enforcement problems develop. 

 
Dr. H. Jerry Stone 
Chairman 

0105#005 
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