Rules

RULE

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Agricultural Commodities Commission

FeesCAmount and Time of Payment
(LAC 7:XXVI1.128)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., The Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer
Services, Agriculture Commodities Commission, amends
regulations regarding the Agricultura Commodities
Commission; grain grading and inspection fees.

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of
Agro-Consumer  Services, Agriculture  Commodities
Commission intends to amend these rules and regulations in
order to revise the fee schedule for inspections of grading
grans.

ThisRuleisenabled by R.S. 3:3405.

Title7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXVII. Agricultural Commodity Dealer and
Warehouse Law
Chapter 1. Agricultural Commodities Commission
Subchapter E. Assessments and Fees
§128. Fees: Amount, Time of Payment

A.-B. ..

C. Scheduleof Fees

1. The regular hours shal be 8 am. to 4:30 p.m.,
Monday through Friday, except legal holidays and declared
half-holidays. All hours worked, that are not regular hours,
shall be considered as overtime. Legal holidays and half-
holidays shall be those legal holidays designated by the
legislature in R.S. 1:55.B and any other time declared to be a
holiday or half-holiday by the governor of Louisiana in
accordance with R.S. 1:55.

2. The hourly rate shall be $26 per hour, including
travel time. Overtime hours shall be billed at one and one-
half times the hourly rate and shall be assessed in half-hour
increments.

3. Mileage shall be billed at the rate established under
the Division of Administration, Policies and Procedures
Memorandum Number 49 for actual miles traveled from
nearest inspection point.

4. Official Services (including sampling except as
indicated):

Online D/T sampling inspection service (sampling, grading $26.00

and certification) per regular hour

Over time hourly rate, per hour (assessed in half hour $39.00

increments)

Unit I nspection Fees (each unit isassessed the

appropriatehourly ratefor thetimeinvolved in addition

tounit fee)
Rail Car, per car $20.50
Truck/trailer, per carrier $10.00
Barge, per 1,000 bushels $ 2.60

815

Submitted sample inspection (assessment of overtime $12.30
hourly rate, in addition to the regular fee for submitted
sample inspection, whenever the applicant requests samples
to be inspected during overtime hours)
Reinspection Service (based on official file sample)
Rail car, per sample $10.30
Truck or trailer, per sample $ 5.30
Barge, per sample $25.30
Factor only determination, per factor (not to exceed full $5.20
grade fee)
StarLinka (if applicant supplieskit), per test $ 6.00
StarLinka (if we providekit), per t et $12.00
Sampling Only Service
Probe sampling barge, per barge $100.00
OnrLine sampling barge, per hour $20.00

D.-D.2.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:3405.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural
Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended LR
14:527 (August 1988), LR 19:889 (July 1993), LR 23:196
(February 1997), LR 27:815 (June 2001).

Bob Odom

Commissioner
0106#027

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 741C L ouisiana Handbook for School
AdministratorsCPolicy for Louisiana s Public
Education Accountability System
(LAC 28:1.901)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education amended Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC
28:1.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). The
changes more clearly explain and refine the existing policy
as it pertains to the paired/shared status of schools, the
inclusion of alternative education students enrolled in a
GED/Skill Option program in school accountability, the
awarding of bonus points for all 4 subjects for schools with
grade 4 and Option | Eighth grade students, growth in
subgroups for rewards, and the removal of references to the
Graduation Index from policy.

Title28
EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletinsand Regulations
8901. School Approval Standardsand Regulations
A. Bulletin 741

* % %
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11;
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975),
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education LR
26:635 (April 2000), LR 26:1260 (June 2000), LR 26:1260-1261
(June 2000), LR 27:815 (June 2001).

Indicators for School Performance Scores

2.006.01 A school's School Performance Score shall be
determined using a weighted composite index derived from
three or four indicators: criterion-referenced tests (CRT),
norm-referenced tests (NRT), student attendance for grades
K-12, dropout rates for grades 7-12.

Each school shall receive one School Performance Score
under one sitecode regardless of its grade structure.

K-9 schools (excluding grades 10 and 11) shall follow

K-8 Accountability Policy

- Schools with grades 10 and 11 shall follow 912 SPS
calculation policy

Louisiana's 10- and 20-Y ear Education Goals
[K-8 and 9-12]

2.006.02 Each school shall be expected to reach 10- and

20-Year Goals that depict minimum educational
performances.
K-8 Indicators and Weighting
Indicatorsand Grades
Weighting | Adminigered | 10-Yer God 20-Year Goal
CRT Grades 4. 8 Average student |Average student score
(60% K-8) ’ score at BASIC at PROFICIENT
Average composite ;
sandard score Average composite
’ standard score
NRT Grades corresponding to the corresponding to the
(30% K-8) 3,5,6,7 |55th percentile rank|cor coponcing to the
inth ed arad 75th percentile rank in
In the tested grade | . yotery grade level
level
Attendance (10% 5%
K-6; 98% (grades K-8)
K-
59 7-8) (grades K-8)
0,
D’Opouégfte (5% 4% (grades 7-8) | 2% (grades 78)
Weight
. Grades 20-Year
Indicator Cycle Administered 10-Year Goal Goal
1 2
CRT —English{ Average
language arts 60% | 30% 10 Average stuqent Student score
and score at Basic 4 Proficient
mathematics oficien
CRT —science Average
. Average student
and s&_)cwi - | 30% 11 Score at Basic student_ score
studies a Proficient
Average
Average composite
composite standard
standard score  |score
corresponding to |correspond-
NRT 30% ° the SEEP ing to the 75"
percentile rank in|percentile
the tested grade  |rank in the
level tested grade
level
Attendance 5% 93% 96%
Dropout Rate 5% % 3%
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School Performance Scores

2.006.03 School Performance Scoresfor K-8

A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be calculated for
each school. This score shall range from 0-100 and beyond,
with a score of 100 indicating a school has reached the 10-
Y ear Goal and a score of 150 indicating a school has reached
the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a given school can
receive for each individual indicator index and/or for the
SPSasawholeis"0."

For the first accountability cycle, the baseline SPS shall be
caculated using CRT and NRT scores from spring 1999 and
the prior year's attendance and dropout data. The comparison
SPS shall be calculated using CRT and NRT scores from
spring 2001 and the prior year's attendance and dropout data.
Beginning the second cycle, every year of student data shall
be used as part of a school's SPS. Calculations of the SPS
shall use the following:

An average of the most recent two year's test data and
Attendance and dropout rates from the two years prior
to thelast year of test data used.

For schools entering accountability after 1999, one year's
data shall be used for schools formed in mid-cycle years and
two years data for other schools. Only spring administration
test data shall be used in the School Performance Score.

A basdline School Performance Score shall be calculated in Spring 1999 for
Grades K-8.

During the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two
School Performance Scores as follows:

. A score for regular education students, including gifted, talented,
speech or language impaired, and Section 504 students.

A score including regular education students AND dudents with
disabilities eligible to participate in the CRT and/or NRT tests.
. For the purpose of determining Academicaly Unacceptable
Schools, during the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, the School Performance
Score that includes only regular education students shall be used.

Formula for Calculating an SPS [K-8]

The SPS for a sample school is calculated by multiplying the index values for
each indicator by the weight given to that indicator and adding the total scores.
In the example, [(66.0 * 60%) + (75.0 * 30%) + (50.0 * 10%)] = 67.1

Indicator Index Value Weight 'ng(i:gf‘tem
CRT 66.0 60% 396
NRT 75.0 30% 295
Attendance 50.0 10% 5.0
Dropout N/A 0% 0
SPS=67.1

Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [K-8]

A school's CRT Index score equals the sum of the student totals divided by the
number of students eligible to participate in state assessments. For the CRT
Index, each student who scores within one of the following five levels shall
receive the number of points indicated.

Advanced 200 points




Proficient 150 points NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [K-8]
Basic 100 points Where the 10-year and 20-year goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks
respectively and where SS = a student's standard score, then the index for that
. . . student is calculated as follows:
Approaching Basic 50 points
Grade 3: Index 3rd grade = (4.167 * SS) - 679.2
Unsatisfactory 0 points SS = (Index 3rd grade + 679.2)/4.167
- Grade 5: Index 5th grade = (2.941 * SS) - 544.1
Formulafor Calculating a CRT Index for a School [K-8] SS = (Index 5th grade + 544.1)/2.941
1. Calculate the total number of points by multiplying the number of
;‘;‘;’gpﬁf arflceefg‘ dsp?grogjr}‘i';ﬁ;?’a?%gm&‘ the points for those respective Grade 6, | Index 6th grade = (2500 * SS) - 4775
SS = (Index 6th grade + 477.5)/2.500
2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the (Indlex grace )
number of content area tests.
3. z shal be the lowest CRT Ind ted f
accountebility calcuiations. fdex score. reported or Grade7: | Index 7th grade = (2174~ S9) - 428.3
SS = (Index 7th grade + 428.3)/2.174

Option | students: those students failing the g grade LEAP 21 that have
been

retained on the 8" grade campus

must retake all parts of the 8" Grade LEAP 21 Formula for Calculating a School's NRT Index [K-8]
If, during spring testing, a repeating fourth grade student or Option | 8" grade 1. Calculate the index for each student, using the grade-appropriate formula
student receives a score of Approaching Basic or above on a LEAP 21 test of relating standard score to NRT Index.
mathematics, English language arts, science or social studies, for which he/she 2. Zero shall be the lowest NRT Index score reported for accountability
received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring; the retaining school calculations.
shal | receive 50 bonus points per subject in its CRT index. A student may earn 3. Compute the total number of index pointsin all grades in the school.
amaximum of 200 bonus points for his’her school. (No bonus points will be 4. Divide the sum of NRT Index points by the total number of students
given for passing parts of tests in the summer school of the year he/she first eligible to be tested.

failed in spring testing.)

Attendance Index Calculations [K-8]

Initial Transition Years [K-8]

An Attendance Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initia
year's index shall be caculated from the prior year's attendance rates.
Subsequent years indexes shall be calculated using the prior two year's average

To accommodate the phasein of Social Studies and Science tests for K-8
schoals, the following CRT scores shall be used for each year:

1999 Baseline CRT . attendance rates as compared to the state goals.
Score 1999 Math & English Language Arts (Grades 4 & 8)
2001 Comparison CRT | 2000 & 2001 Math & English Language Arts Attendance Goals
Score (both years averaged for each subject and each 10-Year God 20-Year God
grade)
Grades K-8 95% 98%
_ 2000 & 2001 Math, English, Socid Studies, and redes ° °
2001 New Baseline Science Attendance Index Formulas
CRT Score (both years averaged for each subject and each
grade) Grades K-8 _

2003 Comparison CRT P
Scores ience

(both years averaged for each subject and each grade Where ATT is the attendance percentage, using the definition of

attendance established by the Louisiana Department of Education

This re-averaging shall result in a re-calculated baseline to include science and

socia studies for K-8 schools in 2001. Lowest Attendance Index Score

Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [K-8] Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability
For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. calculations.

Index scores for each student shall be calculated, scores totaled, and then

averaged together to get a school's NRT Index score.

Dropout Index Calculations [7-8]

NRT Goals and Equivalent Sandard Scores A Dropout Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial year's

Composite Standard Scores Equivaent to index shall be calculated from the prior year's dropout rates. Subsequent years
Louisianas 10- and 20- Year goals, by Grade Level* indexes shall be calculated using the prior two year's average dropout rates as
compared to the state goals.
Grade
Dropout Goals
Percentile
Godls Rank 3 5 6 7 10-Year Godl 20-Year Goal
10-Year 55" 187 219 231 243 Crades7 & 8 4% 2%
Goa
20-Year 75th 199 236 251 266 The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain instances
God the Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate an "Adjusted Dropout
Rate" for accountability purposes.
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Dropout Index Formulas Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score
Non-Dropout Rate (NDO) = 100 - Dropout Rate (DO) (expressed as a ORT —Grade 10 66.0 0% 198
percentage) CRT —Grade 11 60.0 30% 18.0
Grades 7 & 8 Dropout Index (7-8) = Indicator (DO Gr 7-8) = (25 * NRT 75.0 30% 225
NDO) - 2300.0 Attendance Index 50.0 5% 25
NDO = (Indicator DO Gr 7-8 + 2300.0) /25
Dropout Index 875 5% 4.4
Lowest Dropout Index Score SPS 67.2

Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability
calculations.

School Performance Scores for 9-12

A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be calculated for
each high school. This score shall range from 0 - 100 and
beyond, with a sore of 100 indicating that a school has
reached the 10-Y ear Goal and a score of 150 indicating that a
school has reached the 20-Y ear Goal. The lowest score that a
given high school can receive for each individual indicator
index and/or for the SPS asawholeis"0."

Every year of student data shall be used as part of a high
school’s SPS. The school's initial SPS shall be calculated
using the most recent year's NRT and CRT test data and the
prior year's attendance and dropout rates.

Transition Years[9-12]
To accommodate the phase-in of the grades 10 and 11 GEE 21 criterion-referenced, the
following indicators shall be used for each year:

Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [9-12]

For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS.
Index scores for each student shall be calculated, scores totaled, and then
averaged together to get a high school's NRT Index score.

NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores for Grade 9

) Grade 9 Composite
Goal Per centile Rank Standard Score
10-Year God 55" 264
20-Year God 75" 288

NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scoresto NRT Index [9-12]
Where the 10-Year and 20-Year Godls are the 55" and 75" percentile ranks
respectively and where SS = a student's standard score, the index for a grade 9
student is calculated as follows:

Index 9" grade = (2.083 * SS) —449.9

SS = (Index 9" grade + 449.9)/2.083

Option I students: those students failing the 8" grade LEAP 21 that have been
retained and placed on the high school campus
must take the 9" grade NRT
must retake only the parts of the g grade LEAP 21 they originally failed
(English language arts and/or mathematics)

If, during spring testing, a student receives a score of Approaching Basic or

Timelines'School Years Tndicatorsincluded above on a LEAP 21 test of mathematics or English language arts for which
Cycle Baseline | Growth Grade | Grade | Grade | Atten- Drop- he/she ret;ewed ascore Of. Unsansfaqory the Previous spring, .the high school
S PS 9 10 1 dance out shall receive 50 bonus points per subject in its accountability index. A student
Data Data NRT CRT CRT may earn a maximum of 100 bonus points for his’her school.
1 200001 200203 v v v v*
2 20%(102 202&304 ’ v v v v Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [9-12]
200203 | 200405 A high school's CRT Index score at each grade equals the sum of the eligible
(avg.) (avg.) student totals divided by the number of students eligible to participate in state
- - - assessments. For the CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the
" Indicates use of prior year datafor theseindexes. following five levels shall receive the number of points indicated.
Advanced 200 points
Formula for Calculating an SPS —Accountability Cycle 1 [9-12] Proficient 150 points
During the first accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be Basic 100 points
calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the weight given Approaching Basic 50 points
to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formulais: Unsatisfactory 0 points

SPS = (.60 * Grade 10 CRT Index) + (.30 * NRT Index) + (.05 * Dropout Index)
+ (.05 Attendance Index)

All intermediate results and the final result shall be rounded to the nearest tenth.

The following is an example of how this shall be done:
[(.60 * 66.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 69.0

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score
CRT —Grade 10 66.0 60% 39.6
NRT 75.0 30% 225
Attendance Index 50.0 5% 25
Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4
SPS 69.0

Formula for Calculating an SPS —Accountability Cycle 2 [9-12]
During the second accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be
calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the weight given
to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formulais:
SPS = (.30 * Grade 10 CRT Index) + (.30 * Grade 11 CRT Index) + (.30 * NRT
Index)
+ (.05 * Dropout Index) + (.05 Attendance Index)

In this example,
[(.30* 66.0) + (.30 * 60.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 67.2
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Formula for Calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement Index for
a High School

1 Sum the number of points earned by all students. For the NRT, there
shall be one score for each student—the NRT Index calculated from the student's
composite standard score. For the CRT, students shall be taking two tests at each
grade.

2 Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the
number of content area tests. This provides the raw achievement index for the
grade.

3 Multiply the raw index by the product of the non-dropout rates from

the previous year for that grade and all the previous grades. This means that the
grade 9 NRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9 non-dropout rate, the grade
10 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9 and grade 10 non-dropout rates,
and the grade 11 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9, grade 10 and
grade 11 non-dropout rates. This shall yield the Adjusted Achievement Index.

4, Zero shall be the lowest NRT or CRT Adjusted Achievement Index
score reported for accountability cal culations.

Example 1 — Grade 9:
= Before beginning grade 9, a class has 50 students; by the end of September,
45 remain in the class. The grade 9 dropout rate is:
(5/50) = .100
. The number of points earned on the NRT is 5000.
. The raw achievement index is:
5000/45 = 111.1
. The adjusted achievement index is:
111.1 X (1 -.100) = 100.0




Example 2 — Grade 10:
Ll Another 5 students drop before October of grade 10. The grade 10 dropout
rateis:
5/45 = 111
] The 40 students remaining in the class earn 10000 points on the two CRT
tests. The raw achievement index is:
10000/(40 * 2) =125.0
. The adjusted achievement index is:
125.0 X (1-.100) X (1-.111) = 100.0

Attendance Index Calculations for Grades 912

An Attendance Index score for each high school shal be calculated. The initia

year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's attendance rates. Subsequent
years indexes shall be calculated using the prior two year' average attendance rates
as compared to the state goals.

Attendance Goals
10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal
Grades 912 93% 96%

the Louisiana Accountability System, such a school shall be
defined as ainon-standard school .¢

A school with a grade-level configuration such that it participates in neither the CRT
nor in the NRT (e.g., aK, K-1, K-2 school) must be @pairedd with another school
that has at least one grade level of CRT testing and one grade level of NRT testing.
This @pairingd means that a single SPS shall be calculated for both schools by

averaging both schools attendance and/or dropout data and using the test score data
derived from the school that has at least two grade levels of testing.

A school with a gradelevel configuration where students participate in either CRT
or NRT testing, but not both (e.g., a K-3, 56 school), must (Isharefl with another
school that has at least one grade level of the type of testing missing. Both schools
shall {isharel) the missing grade level of test data. This shared test data must come
from the grade level closest to the last grade level in the non-standard school. The
non-standard school’s SPS shall be calculated by using the school’s own attendance,
dropout, and testing data AND the test scores for just one grade from the other
school.

Attendance Index Formula for Grades 912
Where the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are 93% and 96% average attendance
respectively and where ATT = attendance percentage using the definition of
attendance established by the Department of Education, the attendance index is
caculated as follows:

Indicator (ATT 912) = (16.667 * ATT) — 1450.0
Example:
- If the average attendance percentage is 94.3%, the Attendance Index would
be

(16.667 * 94.3) — 1450.0 = 121.7
Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability
calculations.

Dropout Index Calculations for Grades 912

A Dropout Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initid year's
index shall be calculated from the prior year's dropout rates. Subsequent years'
indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years average dropout rates as
compared to the state goals.

Dropout Goals

10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal

Grades 912 % 3%

Dropout Index Formula for Grades 912
Dropout Index = 187.5 — (12.5 X dropout rate)
Example:
. If the dropout rate is 4.5%, the Dropout Index would be
187.5-(125* 45) = 1313
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability
calculations.

The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain instances the
Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate an "Adjusted Dropout Rate"  for
accountability purposes.

Rewards/Recognition

2.006.08 A school shall receive recognition and possible
monetary awards when it meets or surpasses its Growth
Targets and when it shows growth in the performance of
students who are classified as high poverty and specia
education students.

A district must identify the school where each of its non-standard schools shall be
either fpaired o shared.i The @pared or sharedi school must be the one that
receives by promotion the largest percentage of students from the non-standard
school. In other words, the @paired or sharedi school must be the school into which
the largest percentage of students @feed.é If two schools receive an identica
percentage of students from a non-standard school, the district shall select the
paired or sharedd school.

If aschool is not paired/shared at the beginning of Cycle 1, it shall not be
paired/shared at the end of Cycle 1.

Beginning with Cycle 2, requirements for the number of test units shall be the sum
of the test units over a two-year period (not the number of test units in one year).
Beginning with Cycle 2, a school’s sharing/pairing status at the beginning of the
cycle shal beits status at the end of the cycle.

If a school has too few test units to be a standalone school, it may request to be
considered standalone.
It shall receive an SPS that is calculated solely on that school’s data, despite
the small number of test units.
The request shall be in writing to the Department from the LEA
superintendent.
The school forfeits any right to appedl its growth status based on minimum test
unit counts.

Once the identification of @paired or sharedd schools has been made, this decision
is binding for 10 years. An apped to SBESE may be made to change this
decision prior to the end of 10 years, when redistricting or other grade

configuration and/or membership changes occur.

Inclusion of Alternative Education Students

2.006.17 Each superintendent, in conjunction with the
aternative school director, shall choose from one of two
options for including alternative education students in the
Louisiana Accountability System for the system’s alternative
education schools.

Option | The score for every aternative education student at a given dternative
school shall be returned to @sent backd) and included in the homebased school’s
SPS. The alternative school itself shall receive a (diagnostidd SPS, not to be used for
rewards or Corrective Actions, if a statistically valid number of

students were enrolled in the schoal at the time of testing.

School personnel shall decide how any monetary awards shall be spent; however,
possible monetary rewards shall not be used for sdary or stipends. Other forms of
recognition shall also be provided for a school that meets or exceeds its Growth
Targets.

Pairing/Sharing of Schoolswith Insufficient Test Data

2.006.15 In order to receive an SPS, a given school must
have at least one grade level of CRT testing and at least one
grade level of NRT testing. A school that does not meet this
requirement must either be @paired or shared with another
school in the district as described below. For the purpose of

Students included in the GED/Skills Option program will be included in School

Accountability. They will be required to take the g grade lowa Test or participate in
out-of-level testing while enrolled. All programs will be considered Option | for
dternative education purposes and student data will be sent back to the sending high
schools for attendance, drop out and lowa Test scores.

Option 1l The score for every alternative education student shall remain at the
dternative school. The aternative school shall be given its own SPS and Growth
Target, which makes the alternative school eligible for rewards and Correct Actions.

In order to be eligible for Option II, an aternative school shall meet al of the
following requirements:

L The aternative school must have its own site code and operate as a

school;

! The alternative school must have a required minimum number of students
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in the tested grade levels. The definition of @required minimum§ is stated in section

2.006.19, and
! At least fifty percent (50%) of the total school population must have been

enrolled in the school for the entire school year, October 1 - May 1.

Once an option is selected for an alternative school, it shall remain in that option for at
least 10 years. An appeal to SBESE may be made to change the option status prior to
theend of 10 yearsif a school’s purpose and/or student eligibility changes.

An aternative school that chooses Option Il shall receive an initial baseline SPS during
summer of 1999 if the majority of its students are in grades K-8. If the majority of its
students are in grades 9-12, an alternative school shall receive its baseline SPS during
the summer of 2001.

All students pursuing a regular high school diploma, working in curriculum developed
from Louisiana Content Standards, shall be included in the statetesting program, with
those scores included in an SPS.

Information on these students, e.g., number receiving a GED, shall be reported in the
school’s report card as a sub-report.

An dlternative school in Corrective Actions Il may request some flexibility in
obtaining assistance from either a Distinguished Educator (DE) or a team designed to
address the special needs of the alternative school population, as long as the total costs
for the team do not exceed that for the DE. Sample team members could include the
following: social workers, psychologists, educational diagnosticians, and counselors,
[S(e)

Inclusion of Lab Schools and Charter Schools

Such schools shall be included in the Louisiana Accountability System following the
same rules that apply to traditional and/or aternative schools. The only exceptions are
that Lab Schools and Type 1, 2, and 3 Charter Schools are §independent schools and
cannot be @paired@ or @sharedf with another schoal if they do not have at least one CRT
and one NRT grade level, and/or if there is no (homebasedd district school to whicha
given student’s scores can be returned if al three conditions for Option Il cannot be
met. Therefore, if they do not have the required grade levels and/or required minimum
number of students, such schools cannot receive an SPS. Instead, the state shdl
publish the results from pre- and post-test student achievement results, as well as other
relevant accountability data, as part of that school’s report card. This policy is to be
revisited during the year 2001.

For the 1999-2000 academic school year, detention and Department of Corrections
facilities shall not receive an SPS.

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
0106#022

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standards for State
Certification of School PersonnelC Educational
Technology Facilitation and Educational
Technology Leadership (LAC 28:1.903)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education has amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards
for State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in
LAC 28:1.903.A. The amendment establishes certification
requirements for teachers who serve as building level
technology facilitators and as technology coordinators at the
district, state, or regional levels. Additionally, a"grandfather
clause" isincluded, enabling those who have served in these
capacities to receive the certification by meeting certain
qualifications by August 31, 2002.
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Title 28
EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletinsand Regulations
8903. Teacher Certification Standardsand
RegulationsC Bulletin 746

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6 (A)(10), (12), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6);
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411, LR 27:

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435,
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended
LR 26:459 (March 2000), LR 26:635-638 (April 2000); LR 26:638-
639 (April 2000), LR 27:820 (June 2001).

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standardsfor State Certification of
School PersonnelCEducational Technology Facilitation and
Educational Technology L eader ship

Educational Technology Facilitation

1. A vadlid Type B Louisiana Teaching Certificate*

2. A minimum of 9 semester hours of graduate credit
in educational technology including:

A. Educationa Technology

Coursework

1. Design and Development of

Multimedia Instructional Units

2. Educational

Telecommunications,

Networks, and the Internet

3. Technology Leadershipin

Schools

3. Personswho have met requirements 1 and 2 may be
issued an Educational Technology Facilitation certification
endorsement.

4. Certified teachers who have served as a facilitator
of educational technology at the state, regional, district, or
building level may petition Certification and Higher
Education, Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and
Certification to be "grandfathered” in with an Educational
Technology Facilitation certification endorsement if they
meet the following qualifications by August 31, 2002:

A. hold certification in computer literacy and have
earned an additional six semester hours in educational
technology, and have served as a facilitator of educational
technology at the school, district, regional, or state level
successfully for the past three years as verified by the
employing authority; or

B. have served as a facilitator of educational
technology at the school, district, regional, or state level
successfully for the past five years as verified by the
employing authority.

*Requiresthree years of teaching experience.
Educational Technology L eader ship

1. Avaid TypeA LouisianaTeaching Certificate*

2. An eaned master's degree from a regionaly
accredited institution of higher education.

3. A minimum of 21 semester hours of graduate credit.

9 semester hours

3 semester hours

3 semester hours

3 semester hours



semester hours
semester hours

A. Education Technology coursework 9

1. Design and Devel opment of 3
Multimedia Instructional Units

2. Educational Telecommunications, 3
Networks, and the Internet

3. Technology Leadershipin Schools 3
B. Educational Technology 12
L eadership coursework

semester hours

semester hours
semester hours

1. Technology Planning and 3 semester hours
Administration
2. Professional Development for 3 semester hours

K-12 Technology Integration

3. Educational Technology Research, 3

Evaluation, and A ssessment

4. Advanced Telecommunications 3

and Distance Education

4. Persons who have met the requirements of 1 and 3-A
may be issued a nonrenewable, nonextendable Educational
Technology Leadership provisional certificate valid for three
years.

5. Persons who have met the requirements of 1 through
3B may be endorsed for Educational Technology
L eadership.

6. Certified teachers who have served as coordinators of
educational technology at the district, regional, and/or state
levels may petition Certification and Higher Education,
Division of Teacher Standards, Assessment, and
Certification to be "grandfathered" in with an Educational
Technology Leadership certification if they meet the
following qualifications by August 31, 2002:

A. hold certification in computer literacy and have
earned an additional nine semester hours in educational
technology courses, and have served as a coordinator of
educational technology above the building level (at the
district, regional, or state level) for the past three years as
verified by the employing authority; or

B. have served as a coordinator of educational
technology above the building level (at the district, regional,
or state level) successfully for the past five years as verified
by the employing authority.

*Requires five years of teaching experience.

semester hours

semester hours

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
0106#017

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 746C Louisiana Standards for State Certification of
School PersonnelCElimination of Ancillary Program
Evaluator Certification (LAC 28:1.903)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seg., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for
State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in LAC
28:1.903.A. This amendment repeals ancillary program
evaluator certification.

The amendment eliminates the certification of program
evaluators, which was established in 1981. Program
evaluators are persons employed by state or local education
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agencies who design, approve, and/or direct program
evaluations and research on educational programs, projects,
and materials in the state of Louisiana. They are responsible
for assuring that evaluation plans are executed and reported
according to prescribed requirements and specifications.

The consensus of the members of the Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education (SBESE) at the July 1999 meeting
was that this certification should not be required for program

evaluators, which provides more flexibility in the
employment of persons who provide this service.
Title28
EDUCATION

Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A Bulletinsand Regulations
8903. Teacher Certification Standards and

RegulationsCBulletin 746
* k% %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6);
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435,
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended
LR 26:459 (March 2000), LR 26:635-638 (April 2000), LR 26:638-
639 (April 2000), LR 27:821 (June 2001).

Bulletin 746CL ouisiana Standardsfor State
Certification of School Personnel
Ancillary Program Evaluator CertificationC Repeal ed

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
0106#020

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standards for State Certification of
School PersonnelCK-12 Certification Structure
(LAC 28:1.903)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seg., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for
State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in LAC
28:1.903.A. The new PS-12 teacher certification structure
will allow teachers to develop greater in-depth content
knowledge and instructional expertise in four targeted focus
areas. PS-3, 16, 48, and 7-12. Particularly beneficial, the
new gructure alows for enhanced preparation of teachers
for middle school grades. The present teacher certification
structure for the state has focus areas of nursery school,
kindergarten, grades 1-8, and grades 7-12.

Title28
EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletinsand Regulations
8903. Teacher Certification Standardsand
RegulationsCBulletin 746

* % %
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6);
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Boad of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435,
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), anended
LR 26:459 (March 2000), LR 26:635-638 (April 2000), LR 26:638-
639 (April 2000), LR 27:821 (June 2001).

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standardsfor State
Certification of School Personnel CK-12
Certification Structure

New Certification Structure
A. Recommended Changes
1. Have the universities recommend that teachers be
issued Level 1 Teaching Certificates when they have met
state certification requirements and hold the universities
accountable for the success of the teachers that they
recommend for certification.

a This would eliminate the need for the
Department of Education to count hours on transcripts and
alow the department to become more involved in providing
support to universities to improve the quality of teacher
preparation programs.

(Note: The Department of Education would till continue to

review transcripts and issue certificates to out-of-state
teachers.)

2. Change the certification structure to allow teachers
to develop more content knowledge in the grade levels in
which they are expected to teach and provide them with
more flexible hours to add special education and other grade
levels to their certification areas. This would alow new
teachers to be certified in one or two areas when completing

a 124 credit hour undergraduate degree program.
See B.New Certification Areas and Courses for the areas of
certification that are more content specific.
See C.Additional Certifications for requirements to add
additional areas of certification.

3. Require al new teachers to receive mentoring
during their first year of the Louisiana Teacher Assistance
and Assessment Program and have them undergo the
assessment during the second year.

4. Reguire all teachers to pass the teacher assessment
and teach for a total of three years before being issued a
Level 2 teaching certificate.

5. Require al new teachers to wundergo a
predetermined amount of professional development during a
five year time period in order to have their teaching
certificates renewed for five years. Have the Blue Ribbon
Commission on Teacher Quality develop the details for the
professional development system during 2000-2001.

B. New Certification Areas And Courses

1. Common Elements of Basic Certification for All
Grade Levels

a. General Education Coursework. Same general
coursework areas and hours (e.g., 54 hours) for Grades 1-6
and 4-8.

b. Knowledge of the Learner and Learning
Environment. Same general coursework areas and hours
(e.g., 15 hours) for all PK-12 teachers.

c. Teaching Methodology. Varying requirements
based upon focus areas.

d. Student Teaching. Same requirements and hours
(e.g., 9 hours) for all PK-12 teachers.

2. Differing Elements of Basic Certification. Four new
focus areas.

a FocusAreas

(1) Preschool to Grade 3 (Focus:. greater depth in
early childhood, reading/language arts, and mathematics)

(2) Grades 1-6 (Focus. greater depth in
reading/language arts and mathematics)
(3) Grades 4-8 (Focus. greater depth in

content Cgeneric or two in-depth teaching areas)

Primary Teaching AreaCpreservice teachers must
complete at least 31 credit hours in a specific content area
(e.g., english, mathematics, etc.).

and

Secondary Teaching AreaCPreservice teachers
must complete at least 19 credit hours in a second content
area(e.g., Science, Social Studies, etc.).

b. Flexible University Hours. Flexible hours that
may be used by the universities to create quality teacher
preparation programs.

3. Additional Certifications. Additional grade level
certifications that would require approximately 12-15 credit
hours. Universities could create programs that would allow
teachers to obtain more than one type of certification within
the 124 total hours by using the flexible hours to add
additional grade level or special education certifications.

GradesPK -3
Basic Certification
(Focus: Greater Depth
In Early Childhood,
Reading/L anguage
Arts, And Mathematics)

Grades 1-6

Areas

Basic Certification
(Focus: Greater Depth In
Reading/L anguage Arts

And Mathematics)

Grades7-12
Basic Certification
(Focus: Greater Depth In
ContentC Primary Teaching
Area And Secondary
Teaching Area

Grades4-8
Basic Certification
(Focus: Greater Depth In ContentC Generic
Or Two In-Depth Teaching Areas)

English 12 Hours 12 hours 12 hours 6 hours
General Mathematics 9 Hours 12 hours 12 hours 6 hours
Education
Course- Sciences 9 Hours 15 hours 15 hours 9 hours
Work
Social 6 Hours 12 hours 12 hours 6 hours
Studies
Arts 3 Hours 3 hours 3 hours 3 hours
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Genericor Two In-depth Teaching Areas ; ;
A Reading/L anguage Arts * g PN TEEHITG ATED
Young Child and M athematics o
Cenaie Two In-depth Secondary Teaching Area
Teaching Areas
FocusAreas
Nursery 12 Reading/ 12 Additiona In-depth Primary 22 or more
School and hours Language Arts hours | Content: Teaching Teaching Area hoursif in
Kindergarten (Additional Area#l Science
12 Content and English 3 Genera or
Reading/ Hours | Teaching hours English/ 7or Education (if 25 or more
Language Arts Methodology) Mathe- 3 Social more applicable) and | hoursifin
(Additional matics hours Studies/ hours Focus Area English,
Content and Mathematics hours should Social
Teaching 9 Science 3 or equal 31 total Studies, or
Methodol ogy) hours hours Science 4or hours. Math.
Social 3 more or
Mathematics Studies hours General hours 31 or more
(Additional Education hoursif in
Content and and Focus other areas
Teaching Areahours
Methodol ogy) should equal
19 total
hours.
Mathematics 9 In-depth Secondary 13 or more
(Additional hours Teaching Teaching Area hoursif in
Content and Area#2: English,
Teaching General Social
Methodol ogy) English/ 7or Education (if Studies, or
Social more applicable) and | Math
Studies/ hours FocusArea or
Mathematics hours should 10 or more
or equal 19 total hoursif in
Science 4or hours. Science
more or
General hours 19 or more
Education hoursif in
and Focus other areas
Area hours
should equal
19 total
hours.
New Certification Areas and Courses
GradesPK -3 A
Certification Grades1-6 Certification Grades4 -8Certification %Tﬁgiggtggﬁ?ﬂ
ARES (Focus: Greater Depth (Focu:_s: Greater DepthIn (Focus: Greater Depth In ContentC Primary Teachin
In [Early Childhood, Readmg/LanguaggaArts ContentCGeneric Or Twon-Depth ey Secgndary g
ReadlnglLanguag_eArts. And Mathematics) Teaching Areas) Teaching Area)
And Mathematics)
KnowledgeOf Child/Adolescent
Learner And Development/Psyc
The Learning hology,
Environment Educational 15hours 15hours 15hours 15hours
Psychology, The
Learner with Emphasis Upon Emphasis Upon EmphasisUpon Emphasis Upon
(These hours Special Needs, Early Childhood Elementary School Student Middle School Student Middle and High School
may be Classroom Student
integrated into Organization and
other areas Management,
when Multicultural
developingnew | Education
courses.)
(Note: All of these
areas should
address the needs
of theregular and
exceptional child.)
Reading 6 hours 3 hours
M ethodology
And Teaching Teaching 6 hours 6 hours 9 hours 6 hours
Methodology
Student 9 hours 9 hours 9 hours 9 hours
Teaching**
Flexible Hours For The University's 22hours*** 19hours Generic Two In-depth 17-26 hours
Use Teaching
Areas
19hours 17-20 hours
Total Hours**** 124 hours 124 hours 124 hours 124 hours
* | students do not possess basic technology skills, they should be provided coursework or opportunities to develop those skills early in their program.

823 Louisiana Register Vol. 27, No. 06 June 20, 2001



** Students must spend aminimum of 270 clock hours in student teaching with at least 180 of such hours spent in actual teaching. A substantial portion of the
180 hours of actual student teaching shall be on an all-day basis.

***  Three of the flexible hours must be in the "humanities." This must occur to meet General Education Requirements for the Board of Regents.

*** |n addition to the student teaching experience, students should be provided actua teaching experience (in addition to obseavations) in classroom settings
during their sophomore, junior, and senior years within schools with varied socioeconomic and cultural characteristics. It is recommended that preservice teachers
be provided aminimum of 180 hours of direct teaching experience in field-based settings prior to student teaching.

Notes:  Minimum credit hours have been listed. Programs may use the flexible hours to add more content hours to the various elements of the

program.
The Board of Regents defines a"major" as being 25% of the total number of hours in a degree program; thus, 25% of 124 credit hoursis 31 credit
hours.
The Board of Regents defines a"minor" as being 15% of the total number of hoursin a degree program; thus 15% of 124 credit hoursis 19 credit
hours.

C. Additional Certifications. It is recommended that Bachelor degree. The additional hours would provide
universities consider using their flexible hours to provide preservice teachers with the necessary core knowledge to
preservice teachers opportunities to select additional areas to teach the additional content necessary for the new
add to their certification, either special education or certification areas.

extended grade level certifications, when they obtain their

Add-On Certifications Total Hours
Basic Certifications
New Certifications Additional Courses And Hours
GradesPK -3 Grades 1-6 Content Emphasis:
Sciences 6 Hours 15 Hours
Socia Studies 6 Hours
Mathematics 3 Hours
Grades 1-6 GradesPK - 3 Content Emphasis:
Nursery School and Kindergarten 12 Hours 12 Hours
Grades 1-6 Grades 4-8 (Generic) Content Emphasis:
English 3 Hours 13 Hours
Mathematics 3 Hours
Science 4 Hours
Socia Studies 3 Hours
Grades 48 Grades 1-6 Reading/Language Arts and Math Emphasis:
Reading/Language Arts 9 Hours 12 Hours
Mathematics 3 Hours

Grades 1-6, Grades Mild/Moderate Special Specia Education Emphasis*:
4-8, Or Grades 7-12 Education
Methods and Materials for Mild/Moderate

Exceptiona Children, Assessment and 12 Hours
Evaluation of Exceptiona Learners, Behavioral 12 Hours
Management of Mild/Moderate Exceptional (Additional 3
Children, and Vocational and Transition Hour Practicum
Services for Students with Disabilities if not
Integrated
Practicum in Assessment and Evaluation of Into Other
Mild/Moderate Exceptional Children 3 Hours Field-Based
Experiences
(Note: This should not be required if students participate in and Student
student teaching that combines regular and specia education teaching Teaching)
experiences.)

* Genera knowledge of exceptional students and classroom organization should be
addressed in the curriculum for all teachers under ?Knowledge of Learner and the
Learning Environment."

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
0106#018
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RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 746C Louisiana Standards for State Certification of
School PersonnelCPractitioner Teacher Program
(LAC 28:1.903)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for
State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in LAC
28:1.903.A. This Practitioner Teacher policy provides for a
streamlined alternate certification option that allows
individuals to become certified with a Type B certificate
after three years of full-time teaching and combined
coursework, if they demonstrate required content
knowledge, instructional expertise, and classroom
management skills. Practitioner teachers who complete the
required course requirements (or equivalent contact hours)
and demonstrate proficiency during their first year of
teaching can obtain a Level B Professional License after
successfully completing all requirements of the Practitioner
Teacher Program (which includes successful completion of
the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program and
passing scores on the PRAXIS) and completing a total of
three years of teaching.

Title 28

EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletinsand Regulations
8903. Teacher Certification Standards and
RegulationsCBulletin 746
* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6);
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435,
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended
LR 26:459 (March 2000), LR 26:635-638 (April 2000), LR 26:638-
639 (April 2000), LR 27:825 (June 2001).

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standardsfor State
Certification of School PersonnelCPractitioner
Teacher Program

A. Magor Components of the Practitioner Teacher
Program

1. Universities, school districts, or private providers
(e.g., Teach for America) will be able to offer a Practitioner
Teacher Program.

2. Individuals will be considered for admission to a
Practitioner Teacher Program if they possess a baccalaureate
degree from a regionally accredited university with a 2.5 or
higher GPA* and already possess the content knowledge to
teach the subject area(s). To demonstrate knowledge of
subject area(s), all individuals (with the exception of those
who already possess a graduate degree) will be required to
pass the Pre-Professional Skills Test (e.g., reading, writing,

825

and mathematics) for the PRAXIS. Teachers of grades 1-6
(regular and special education) must pass the Elementary
School: Content Area specialty examination on the PRAXIS,
and teachers of grades 48 (regular and specia education)
must pass the Middle School Content Area specialty
examination. Teachers of grades 712 (regular and special
education) must pass the specialty examination on the
PRAXIS in the content area(s) (e.g., English, Mathematics,
Science, Social Studies, etc.) in which they intend to be
certified. (*Appropriate, successful work experience can be
substituted for the required GPA, at the discretion of the
program provider.)

3. All individuals admitted to the Practitioner Teacher
Program, who intend to be certified to teach grades 1-6, 4-8,
or 7-12, must successfully complete 9 credit hours (or 135
contact hours) of instruction during the summer prior to the
first year of teaching. Practitioner teachers will be exposed
to teaching experiences in field-based schools while
involved in course work.

4. All practitioner teachers will teach during the
regular school year in the area(s) in which they are pursuing
certification and participate in 9 credit hours (or 135 contact
hours) of seminars and supervised internship during the fall
and spring that will address their immediate needs.
Practitioner teachers will be observed and provided feedback
about their teaching from the program provider. In addition,
practitioner teachers will be supported by school-based
mentors from the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment
Program and principals.

5. Practitioner teachers who complete the required
course reguirements (or equivalent contact hours) with a2.5
or higher GPA and demonstrate proficiency during their first
year of teaching can obtain a Level B Professional License
after successfully completing all requirements for the
Practitioner Teacher Program (which includes successful
completion of the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment
Program and passing scores on the PRAXIS) and completing
atotal of three years of teaching.

6. Practitioner teachers who complete the required
courses (or equivaent contact hours) and demonstrate
weaknesses during their first year of teaching will be
required to complete from 1 to 12 additional credit
hours/equivalent contact hours. A team composed of the
program provider, school principal, mentor teacher, and
practitioner teacher will determine the types of courses and
hours to be completed. Number of hours will be based upon
the extent of the practitioner teachers' needs and must be
completed within the next two years. The team will also
determine when the practitioner teachers should be assessed
for the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program during
the next two year time period. The practitioner teachers must
successfully complete all requirements for the Practitioner
Teacher Program (which includes successful completion of
the Louisiana Assistance and Assessment Program and
passing scores on the PRAXIS in the specialty areas) and
teach for a total of three years before receiving a Level B
Professional License.

7. The state's new Teacher Preparation Accountability
System will be used to evaluate the effectiveness of all
Practitioner Teacher Programs.
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B. Structurefor a Practitioner Teacher Program

Program Providers

other agencies (e.g., Teach for America, Troops
for Teachers, Regional Service Centers, etc.).

Practitioner Teacher Programs may be developed and The same state Teacher Preparation Accountability System

administered by:
universities;

school districts; and

will be utilized to assess the effectiveness of the Practitioner
Teacher Programs provided by universities, school districts,
and other agencies.

Program Process

Areas

Cour se/Contact
Hours

Activities Support

1. Admissionto Program
(Spring and Early Summer)

Program providers will work with district personnel to identify
Practitioner Teacher Program candidates who will be employed by
districts during the fall and spring.

To be admitted, individuals must:

a Possess a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited
university.
b. Have a 2.5 GPA on undergraduate work. (*Appropriate,

successful work experience can be substituted for the required

GPA, at thediscretion of the program provider.)

C. Pass the Pre-Professiona Skills Test (e.g., reading, writing,
and mathematics) on the PRAXIS (Individuas who aready
possess a graduate degree will be exempted from this
requirement.)

d. Pass the content specific examinations for the PRAXIS:

1) Practitioner candidates for Grades 16 (regular
and specia education): Pass the Elementary
SchoolCContent Knowledge examination;

(@) Practitioner candidates for Grades 48 (regular
and specia education): Pass the Middle School
Content Knowledge examination;

3) Practitioner candidates for Grades 7-12 (regular
and specia education): Pass the content
specidty  examination(s) (eg., English,
Mathematics, etc.) on the PRAXIS in the content
area(s) in which they intend to teach.

e Meet other non-course requirements established by the
program providers.

2. Teaching Preparation
(Summer)

9 credit hours or
135 equivalent
contact hours
(5-8 weeks)

All teachers will participate in field-based experiences in school | Program Providers
settings while completing the summer courses (or equivaent contact
hours).

Grades 1-6, 4-8 and 7-12 practitioner teachers will complete courses
(or equivalent contact hours) pertaining to child/adolescent
development/psychology, the  diverse  learner, classroom
management/organization, assessment,  indructional design, and
instructional strategies before starting their teaching internships.

Mild/moderate special education teachers will take courses (or
equivalent contact hours) that focus upon the specia needs of the
mild/moderate exceptional child, classroom management, behavioral
management, assessment and evaluation, methodsmaterias for
mild/moderate exceptional children, and vocational and transition
services for students with disabilities.

3. Teaching Internship and
First Year Support
(Fall and Spring)

9 credit hours or
135 equivdent
contact hours
throughout  the
year. (Note: No
fewer than 45
contact hours
should occur
during thefall.)

Practitioner teachers will assume full-time teaching positions in | Program Providers,
districts. During the school year, these individuas will participate in | Principalsand

two seminars (one seminar during the fall and one seminar during the | Mentors

spring) that address immediate needs of the Practitioner Teacher
Program teachers and receive one-on-one supervision through an
internship provided by the program providers. The practitioner teacher
will also receive support from school-based mentor teachers (provided
by the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program) and
principals.

4. Teaching Performance
Review
(End of First Year)

Program providers, principas, mentors, and practitioner teachers will
form teamsto review thefirst year teaching performance of practitioner
teachers and determine the extent to which the practitioner teachers
have demonstrated teaching proficiency. If practitioner teachers
demonstrated proficiency, they will enter into the assessment portion of
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the Louisiana Teacher and Assessment Program during the next fall.

If weaknesses are cited, the teams will identify additional types of

instruction needed to address the areas of need. Prescriptive plans that
require from 1 to 12 credit hours (or 1-180 equivaent contact hours) of
instruction will be developed for practitioner teachers. In addition, the
teams will determine if the practitioner teachers should participate in
the new teacher assessment during thefall or if the practitioner teachers
should receive additional mentor support and be assessed after thefall.

(or 15180
equivalent hours)

Implementation
(Second Y ear)

5. Prescriptive Plan | 1-12 credit hours | Practitioner teachers who demonstrate areas of need will complete
prescriptive plans.

Program Providers

6. Louisiana Assessment

(Second Y ear)

Practitioner teacherswill be assessed during the fall or later depending
Program upon their teaching proficiencies.

Program Providers

7. Praxis Review

Program providers will offer review sessions to prepare practitioner | Program Providers

(Requirements must be met
within a 3-year time period.

A practitioner teacher's 1.

license will not be renewed

if all course requirements 2.

are not met within these

threeyears.) 3.
4.
5.
6.

(Second Y ear) teachersto pass remaining components of the PRAXIS.
8. Certification Program providers will submit signed statementsto the Louisiana
Requirements Department of Education which indicate that the practitioner teachers

completed Practitioner Teacher Programs and met the following
requirements within athree year time period:

Passed the PPST components of the PRAXIS. (Note: Thistest
was required for admission.)

Completed the Teaching Preparation and Teaching Internship
segments of the program with a2.5 or higher GPA.

Passed the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment

Program.

Completed prescriptive plans (if wesknesses were
demonstrated).

Passed the specidty examination (PRAXIS) for their area(s) of
certification.

a Grades 1-6: Elementary SchoolCContent Knowledge

b.
c.
d.
Passed
a

b.
C.

(Note: Thistest was required for admission)
Grades 4-8: Middle SchoolCContent Knowledge
(Note: Thistest wasreguired for admission.)
Grades 712: Speciaty content test in aress to be
(Note: This test was required for

Mild/Moderate Specia Education: Special Education
he Principals of Leaning and Teaching examination
(PRAXIS)

Grades 1-6: Principlesof Learning and Teaching;
Grades 4-8: Principles of Learning and Teaching;
Grades 7-12: Principles of Learning and Teaching.

9. Ongoing Support
(Second and Third Y ear)

Program providers will provide support servicesto practitioner teachers | Program Providers
during their second and third years of teaching. Types of support may
include ortline support, Internet resources, specia seminars, etc.

10. Practitioner Certificate
to Type B Professional

Practitioner teachers will be issued a Practitioner Certificate when they
enter the program. They will beissued aLevel B Professional License
License once they complete the Practitioner Teacher Program and have atotal of
3years o teaching.

Under graduate/Graduate Cour ses and Graduate
Programs

Universities may offer the courses at undergraduate or
graduate levels. Efforts should be made to allow students to
use graduate hours as electives if pursuing a graduate

degree.

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director

0106#016

RULE
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standards for

State Certification of School PersonnelCTemporary
Employment Permit (LAC 28:1.903)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for
State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in LAC
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28:1.903.A. A temporary employment permit, valid for one
school year, will be granted to those candidates who meet all
requirements for a Type C certificate except the
NTE/PRAXIS and who have the appropriate scores on the
NTE/PRAXIS in al but one of the tests required, with an
aggregate score that is equal to or above the total qualifying
score on all the tests required for standard certification.

To employ an individua on a temporary employment
permit, a local superintendent must verify that no regularly
certified teacher is available for employment. Names of the
individuals employed on a temporary employment permit
are to be listed on the addendum to the Annual School
Report with verification that no regularly certified teacher is
available.

Title 28

EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletinsand Regulations
8903. Teacher Certification Standardsand
RegulationsCBulletin 746
* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; RS. 17:22(6);
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435,
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975); amended
LR 26:459 (March 2000); LR 26:635-638 (April 2000); LR 26:638-
639 (April 2000), LR 27:827 (June 2001).

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standardsfor State
Certification of School PersonnelC Temporary
Employment Per mit
A temporary employment permit, valid for one school
year, will be granted to those candidates who meet all
requirements for a Type C certificate except the
NTE/PRAXIS and who have the appropriate scores on the
NTE/PRAXIS in al but one of the tests required, with an
aggregate score that is equal to or above the total qualifying

score on all thetests required for standard certification.

To employ an individual on a temporary employment
permit, a local superintendent must verify that no regularly
certified teacher is available for employment. Names of the
individuals employed on a temporary employment permit
are to be listed on the addendum to the Annual School
Report with verification that no regularly certified teacher is
available.

An individual can be reissued a permit three times under
the Board policy, only if evidence is presented to the State
Department of Education that the NTE/PRAXIS has been
retaken within one year from the date the permit was last
issued. Beginning with the fifth year, to receive a Temporary
Employment Permit, an individual must present the
following.

1. Evidence hat the NTE/PRAXIS has been taken
within one year from the date the permit was last issued.

2. Verification from the employing superintendent that
the individual is applying for employment in a specific
teaching position for which there is no regularly certified
teacher available.

3. A recommendation
superintendent.

from the employing
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4. Verification of successful local evaluations for the
previous four years.

Temporary employment permits will be issued at the
request of individuals who meet all requirements for regular
certification with the exception of the NTE/PRAXIS scores.
When applying for issuance of a temporary employment
permit, an individual must submit to Teacher Certification
and Higher Education all application materials required for
issuance of aregular certificate.

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
0106#019

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standards for State Certification of
School PersonnelCSchool Social Worker Certification
(LAC 28:1.903)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education amended Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for
State Certification of School Personnel, referenced in LAC
28:1.903.A. The amendment revises the certification
requirements for School Social Workers to comply with Act
1309 of the 1999 Regular Session of the Legislature which
amended the Louisiana Social Work Practice Act.

Title28

EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletinsand Regulations
8903. Teacher Certification Standardsand
RegulationsCBulletin 746
* k%

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6);
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435,
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended
LR 26:459 (March 2000), LR 26:635-638 (April 2000), LR 26:638-
639 (April 2000), LR 27:828 (June 2001).

Bulletin 746C L ouisiana Standardsfor State
Certification of School PersonnelC School Social
Worker Certification

D. Socia Worker

Provisional Certificate in School Social WorkC(Valid
for three years, nonrenewabl )

Individual holds a Provisional Graduate Social Work
Certificate (GSW) issued under R.S. 37:2701 et seq. and
must work under the supervision of a Licensed Clinical
Social Worker (LCSW), if providing clinical social work
services. The supervision is for a minimum of one hour per
week.

Qualified School Socia WorkerC(Valid provided the
holder maintains current licensure as a Social Worker)

1. Individua holds a license as a Licensed Clinical
Social Worker (LCSW) in accordance with R.S. 37:2701 et

seq.



or
2. Individual holds a certificate as a Graduate Social
Worker (GSW) in accordance with R.S. 37:2701, et seg. and
receives a minimum of one hour per week supervision by a
LCSW, if providing clinical social work services.
and
a Work experience in one or more of the
following social work practice settings within the past five
years:
D

(2
3

school setting;
mental health setting;
corrections setting;
(4) Family/Child/Community Service Agency;
(5) Medical Socia Services in which social
services were delivered to families and children;
(6) private clinical practice in which social work
services were delivered to adults, children, and families;
or
b. graduate social worker field experience in the
above social work practice settings plus two years of work
experience is to be judged by the Board of Certified Social
Work Examiners.

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
0106#021

RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Environmental Assessment
Environmental Planning Division

Waste Tire Clarifications
(LAC 33:VIl.Chapter 105)(SW030)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary has amended the Solid Waste regulations, LAC
33:VIl.Chapter 105 (Log #SW030).

This Rule clarifies the notification and submittal processes
for the waste tire regulations. Prior to this Rule, all submittal
notices and notifications were referenced to the department
or referenced to the Solid Waste Division, which has been
reorganized through departmental reengineering. This Rule
will give specific instructions as to where the general public
should submit all documents pertinent to the waste tire
chapter of the solid waste regulations, making the submittal
process easier for both the general public and the
department. This Rule also eliminates obsolete wording that
was mistakenly left in the waste tire regulations.
Departmental reengineering has necessitated the clarification
of all submittal and notification processes for all regulations
promulgated by the department. Without these clarifications,
the general public would not be able to submit pertinent
information in an easy and timely manner. The basis and
rationale for this rule are to clarify the submittal and
notification process for the general public and to remove all
mention of incorrect division references.

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(3)
and R.S.49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
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required. This Rule has no known impact on family
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S.
49:972.
Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part VII. Solid Waste

Chapter 105. Waste Tires
810505. Definitions

A. The following words, terms, and phrases, when used
in conjunction with the Solid Waste Rules and Regulations,
shall have the meanings ascribed to them in this Section,
except where the context clearly indicates a different
meaning:

[See Prior Text]
Administrative  Authority—the secretary of the

Department of Environmental Quality or his designee or the
appropriate assistant secretary or his designee.

* k%

[See Prior Text]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411-2422.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 18:37 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001
(September 1994), LR 22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 26:2773 (December 2000), LR 27:829 (June 2001).
810513. Permit Processfor Existing Facilities Classified

for Upgrade and for Proposed Facilities
[See Prior Textin A]

1. No sooner than 45 days prior to the submittal of a
standard permit application to the Office of Environmental
Services, Permits Division, the prospective applicant shall
publish anotice of intent to submit an application for awaste
tire standard permit. This notice shall be published one time
as a single classified advertisement measuring three columns
by five inches, in the legal or public notices section of the
official journa of this state and the officia journa of the
parish where the facility is located. If the affected area is
Baton Rouge, a single classified advertisement measuring
three columns by five inches, in the legal or public notices
section of the official journal of the state will be the only
public notice required.

* % %

[SeePrior Textin A.2-B|

1. Any applicant for a standard permit for an existing
or proposed facility shall complete a waste tire standard
permit application, and submit four copies to the Office of
Environmental Services, Permits Division. Each individual
copy of the application shall be in standard three-ring-bound
documents measuring 8 1/2 by 11 inches. All appendices,
references, exhibits, tables, etc., shall be marked with
appropriate tabs.

[See Prior Text in B.2-D]

1. The applicant shall make available to the
department the assistance of registered engineers or other
trained individuals responsible for the design of the facility
to explain the design and operation.

* % %
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[See Prior Textin D.2-F.1.]
d. onecopy to adepartment regional office; and
[See Prior Text in F.1.e-5]

6. Public Notice of a Public Hearing. If the
administrative authority determines that a hearing is
necessary, a notice shall be published at least 20 days before
a fact-finding hearing in the official journal of the state and
in the official journal of the parish or municipality where the
facility is located. The notice shall be published one time as
a single classified advertisement measuring three columns
by five inches in the legal or public notices section of the
official journal of the state and one time as classified
advertisement in the legal or public notices section of the
official journal of the parish where the facility is located. If
the affected area is Baton Rouge, a single classified
advertisement measuring three columns by five inches in the
official journal of the state shall be the only public notice
required. Those persons on the department’s mailing list for
hearings shall be mailed notice of the hearing at least 20
days before a public hearing. A notice shall also be published
in the departmental bulletin, if available.

* % %

[See Prior Text in F.7-H]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411-2422.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 18:39 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001
(September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2775
(December 2000), LR 27:829 (June 2001).

§10515. Agreementswith Waste Tire Processors

Standard permitted waste tire processors may apply to the
Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services
Division for subsidized funding to assist them with waste
tire processing and marketing costs. This application form is
available from the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial ServicesDivision.

* % %

[SeePrior TextinA-H

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411-2422.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 18:39 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001
(September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2776
(December 2000), LR 27:830 (June 2001).

§10517. Standard Waste Tire Permit Application

Each applicant requesting a standard permit in accordance
with these regulations shall complete the permit application,
including, but not limited to, the information included in this
Section and submit it to the Office of Environmental
Services, Permits Division.

* % %

[SeePrior Textin A-C3]

4. governmental agency collection centers may accept
waste tires from roadside pickup, from rights-of-way,
individual residents, and unauthorized waste tire piles. For
the tires from unauthorized waste tire piles to be eligible for
the $1.50 per 20 pounds marketing payment to permitted
processors as indicated in LAC 33:VII.10535, the
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governmental agency must notify the Office of Management
and Finance, Financial Services Division, in writing, of the
agency’ sintent prior to removing the tiresfrom said site;

* k%

[See Prior Text in C.5-6]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411-2422.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 18:39 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001
(September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2776
(December 2000), LR 27:830 (June 2001).

810519. Standar ds and Responsibilities of Generator s of
Waste Tires

A. Within 30 days of commencement of business
operations, generators of waste tires shall notify the Office
of Environmental Services, Permits Division of their
existence and obtain a generator identification number prior
to initiating a waste tire manifest. Notification shall be on a
form provided by the Office of Environmental Services,
Permits Division.

* % %

[See Prior Textin B-G

D. All tire dealers shal remit the waste tire fee, as
specified in LAC 33:VI1.10535.B and C, to the department
on amonthly basis on or before the twentieth day following
the month covered. The fee shall be submitted to the Office
of Management and Finance, Financial Services Division,
along with the Monthly Waste Tire Fee Report Form WTO1
obtained from the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial Services Division. Until December 31, 2001, the
fee shall be reported on Form WTOL in the following tire
categories. passenger/light truck, medium truck, and off-
road. On January 1, 2002, the fee shall be reported on Form
WTO02 and shal include all categories of tires listed in
Appendix C. Every tire deader required to make a report and
remit the fee imposed by this Section shall keep and
preserve records as may be necessary to readily determine
the amount of fee due. Each dealer shall maintain a complete
record of the quantity of tires sold, together with tire sales
invoices, purchase invoices, inventory records, and copies of
each Monthly Waste Tire Fee Report for a period of no less
than three years. These records shall be open for inspection
by the administrative authority at all reasonable hours.

E Tire dealers must provide notification to the public
sector via signs, made available by the Office of
Management and Finance, Financial Services Division,
indicating that:

[SeePrior Textin E.1-K]

L. A generator who ceases the sde of tires at the
registered location shall notify the Office of Environmental
Services, Permits Division within 10 days of the date of the
close or relocation of the business. This notice shall include
information regarding the location and accessibility of the
tire sale and monthly report records.

[SeePrior TextinM-Q]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2411-2422.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid



Waste Division, LR 18:40 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001

(September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental

Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2777

(December 2000), LR 27:830 (June 2001).

§10523. Standar ds and Responsibilities of Waste Tire
Transporters

A. Transporters of waste tires shall complete the
application for transporter authorization form and submit the
application, with the payment of the transporter fees as
specified in LAC 33:VII.10535.A, to the Office of
Management and Finance, Financial Services Division.

[See Prior Textin B-F

G All persons subject to this Section shall notify the
Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services
Division in writing within 10 days when any information on
the authorization certificate form changes, or if they close
their business and cease transporting waste tires.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 18:41 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001
(September 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2778
(December 2000), LR 27:831 (June 2001).

§10525. Standar ds and Responsibilities of Waste Tire
Processor s
[SeePrior Textin A]

B. On aform obtained from the Office of Management
and Finance, Financial Services Division, all processors
shall submit to the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial Services Division a monthly report, which shall
include a certified record of pounds of tires processed during
the month, along with all completed manifests for the month
and the log recording all unmanifested waste tires deposited
at the facility. The monthly report shall also include a
certified record of the pounds of waste tire material that have
been marketed and delivered as a product or raw material for
beneficial reuse. An alternative method of reporting sale of
waste tire material shall be developed and approved for each
processor that uses a process other than shredding. The
aternative method shall be approved by the administrative
authority.

[See Prior Text in GD.13]

a. thewaste tire facility operator shall submit to the
Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services
Division an estimate of the maximum total amount by
weight of waste tire material that will be stored at the
processing facility at any onetime;

b. the waste tire facility operator shall also submit
to the Office of Management and Finance, Financial
Services Division two independent, third-party estimates of
the total cost of cleaning up and closing the facility,
including the cost of loading the waste tire material,
transportation to a permitted disposal site, and the disposal
cost; and

[See Prior Text in D.13.c-E.6]
7. Mobile processors are responsible for notifying the
Office of Environmental Services, Permits Division in
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writing within 10 days when any information on the
notification changes or if they cease processing waste tires
with a mobile unit.

F.  Governmental agencies may operate tire splitting
equipment for the purposes of volume reduction prior to
disposal without a permit to process waste tires, provided
they meet the requirements outlined in LAC 33:VI1.10517.C
and request authorization from the Office of Management
and Finance, Financial Services Division before initiating
any processing.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411-2422.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 18:41 (January 1992), amended LR 20:1001
(September 1994), LR 22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 26:2779 (December 2000), LR 27:831 (June 2001).
§10531. Standards And Responsibilities of Qualified

Recyclers

A. Within 30 days of promulgation of these rules and
regulations, recyclers shall notify the Office of
Environmental Services, Permits Division of their existence
and obtain an identification number. Notification shall be on
a form provided by the Office of Environmental Services,
Permits Division, including, but not limited to:

* % %

[SeePrior TextinA.1-Q

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended by the
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 26:2780 (December 2000), LR 27:831 (June 2001).

810533. Manifest System
[See Prior TextinA-B.2)

3. the designated processing facility operator
completes Section 3 of the manifest and retains a copy for
his files. The designated processing facility operator shall
submit the origina manifest to the Office of Management
and Finance, Financial Services Division with the monthly
processor report. The designated processing facility shall
send al remaining copies to the generator no later than
seven days after delivery;

[See Prior Textin B.4]

5. a generator must submit to the Office of
Management and Finance, Financial Services Division
written notification, if he has not received a copy of the
manifest with the handwritten signature of the designated
destination facility operator within 45 days of the date the
shipment was accepted by the transporter. The notification
shall include:

[See Prior Text in B.5.a-b]

C. Upon discovering adiscrepancy in the number or type
of tires in the load, the designated destination facility must
attempt to reconcile the discrepancy with the generator(s) or
transporter(s). The destination facility operator must submit
to the Office of Management and Finance, Financial
Services Division, within five working days, a letter
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describing the discrepancy and attempts to reconcile it and a
copy of the manifest(s). After the discrepancy is resolved a
corrected copy isto be sent to the Office of Management and
Finance, Financial ServicesDivision.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended by the
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 26:2780 (December 2000), LR 27:831 (June 2001).
§10535. Fees and Fund Disbur sement

A. Permit and Application Fees. Each applicant shall
submit to the Office of Environmental Services, Permits
Division a non-refundable application fee in the amount
specified, according to the categories listed below. The
appropriate fee must accompany the permit application or
authorization application form.

[SeePrior Textin A.1-J

1. the entire waste tire fee shall be forwarded to the
Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services
Division by the tire dealer and shall be deposited in the
Waste Tire Management Fund.

[See Prior Text in C.2-D.6]

7. Payments shall be made to the processor on a
monthly basis, after properly completed monthly reports are
submitted by the processor to the Office of Management and
Finance, Financial Services Division. Reporting forms will
be provided by the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial ServicesDivision.

* % %

[See Prior Text in D.8-10]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, LR 20:1001 (September 1994), amended LR
22:1213 (December 1996), amended by the Office of
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR
26:2781 (December 2000), LR 27:832 (June 2001).

§10536. Remediation of Unauthorized Tire Piles
[SeePrior Textin A]

B. In order to apply for and receive funding for
unauthorized waste tire site remediation, local governments
must provide the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial Services Division with unauthorized waste tire site
information. This information includes, but is not limited to,
accurate site location, number of tires on site, visual report
on site with photographs and proximity to residences,
schools, hospitals and/or nursing homes, and major
highways. Such information shall be submitted using forms
available from the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial ServicesDivision.

[See Prior Textin C]

D. State agencies, parish, or local governments may
consolidate several smaller waste tire piles provided they
obtain prior approval from the Office of Management and
Finance, Financial Services Division. Consolidating the piles
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for the purpose of remediation may increase the priority
ranking of the site in question.

E Waste tires may not be removed from unauthorized
waste tire piles without prior approval of the Office of
Management and Finance, Financial Services Division.

EX

[See Prior Textin FG

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2411 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid
Waste Division, amended LR 20:1001 (September 1994), LR
22:1213 (December 1996), LR 23:722 (June 1997), amended by the
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 26:2782 (December 2000), LR 27:832 (June 2001).

Appendix A
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Financial Assurance Documentsfor Waste Tire Facilities
(August 4, 1994)

The following documents are to be used to demonstrate
financial responsibility for the closure of waste tire facilities.
The wording of the documents shall be identical to the
wording that follows, except that the instructions in brackets
are to be replaced with the relevant information and the
brackets deleted.

Sample Document 1.

WASTE TIRE FACILITY FINANCIAL GUARANTEE BOND

Date bond was executed: [Date bond executed]

Effective date: [Eff ective date of bond)]

Principal: [legal name and business address of permit holder or
applicant]

Type of organization: [insert "individual," "joint venture,"
"partnership,” or "corporation"]

State of incorporation:

Surety: [name and business address]

[site identification number, site name, facility name, and current
closure amount for each facility guaranteed by this bond]

Total penal sum of bond: $

Surety's bond number:

Know All Persons By These Presents, That we, the
Principal and Surety hereto, are firmly bound to the
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality Waste Tire
Management Fund in the above penal sum for the payment
of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors,
administrators, successors, and assigns jointly and severally;
provided that, where Sureties are corporations acting as
cosureties, we the sureties bind ourselves in such sum
"jointly and severally” only for the purpose of allowing a
joint action or actions against any or al or us, and for all
other purposes each Surety binds itsdf, jointly and severally
with the Principal, for the payment of such sum only asis set
forth opposite the name of such Surety, but if no limit or
liability is indicated, the limit of liability shall be the full
amount of the penal sum.

WHEREAS, said Principal is required, under the Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act as amended (RCRA) and
the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act, R.S. 30:2001, et
seg., to have a permit in order to own or operate the waste
tire facility identified above; and



WHEREAS, the Principa is required by law to provide
financial assurance for closure care, as a condition of the
permit;

NOW THEREFORE, if the Principal shall provide alternate
financial assurance as specified in LAC 33.V11.10525.D.12-
14 and obtain written approval from the Office of
Management and Finance, Financial Services Division of
such assurance, within 90 days after the date of notice of
cancellation is received by both the Principa and the
administrative authority from the Surety, then this obligation
shall be null and void; otherwise it is to remain in full force
and effect.

The Surety shall become liable on this bond obligation
only when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions
described above. Upon notification by the administrative
authority that the Principal has failed to perform closure in
accordance with the closure plan and permit requirements as
guaranteed by this bond, the Surety shall place funds in the
amount guaranteed for the facility into the Waste Tire
Management Fund as directed by the administrative
authority.

The Surety hereby waives notification of amendments to
closure plans, permits, applicable laws, statutes, rules, and
regulations, and agrees that no such amendment shall in any
way alleviate its obligation on this bond.

The liability of the Surety shall not be discharged by any
payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless and
until such payment or payments shall amount in the
aggregate to the penal sum of the bond, but in no event shall
the obligation of the Surety hereunder exceed the amount of
the penal sum.

The Surety may cancel the bond by sending notice of
cancellation by certified mail to the Principal and to the
Office of Management and Finance, Financia Services
Division. Cancellation shall not occur before 120 days have
€lapsed beginning on the date that both the Principal and the
administrative authority received the notice of cancellation,
as evidenced by the return receipts.

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written
notice to the Surety and to the Office of Management and
Finance, Financial Services Division, provided, however,
that no such notice shall become effective until the Surety
receives written authorization for termination of the bond by
the administrative authority.

The Principal and Surety hereby agree that no portion of
the penal sum may be expended without prior written
approval of the administrative authority.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Principal and the Surety have
executed this FINANCIAL GUARANTEE BOND and have affixed
their seals on the date set forth above.

Those persons whose signatures appear below hereby
certify that they are authorized to execute this FINANCIAL
GUARANTEE BOND on behalf of the Principal and Surety, that
each Surety hereto is authorized to do businessin the state of
Louisiana and that the wording of this surety bond is
identical to the wording specified in the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality's Waste Tire
Regulations, LAC 33:VII.Chapter 105. Appendix A dated
August 4, 1994, effective on the date this bond was
executed.
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PRINCIPAL
[Signature(s)]
[Name(s)]
[Title(s)]
[Corporate Sedl]

CORPORATE SURETIES
[Nameand Address]
State of incorporation:
Liability limit:
[Signature(s)]
[Name(s) and title(s)]
[Corporate sedl]
[Thisinformation must be provided for each cosurety]
Bond Premium: $

Sample Document 2:

WASTE TIRE FACILITY PERFORMANCE BOND

Date bond was executed:  [date bond executed)]

Effective date: [effective date of bond)]

Principal: [legal name and business address of permit holder or
applicant]

Type of organization: [insert
"partnership," or "corporation"]

State of incorporation:

Surety:[name(s) and business address(es)]

[Site identification number, site name, facility name, facility
address, and closure amount(s) for each facility guaranteed by this
bond]

Total penal sum of bond:  $

Surety's bond number:

Know All Persons By These Presents, That we, the
Principal and Surety hereto, are firmly bound to the
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality, Waste Tire
Management Fund, in the above penal sum for the payment
of which we bind ourselves, our heirs, executors,
administrators, successors, and assigns jointly and severally;
provided that, where Sureties are corporations acting as
cosureties, we, the sureties, bind ourselves in such sum
"jointly and severally" only for the purpose of allowing a
joint action or actions against any or al of us, and for all
other purposes each Surety binds itself, jointly and severally
with the Principal, for the payment of such sumonly asis set
forth opposite the name of such Surety, but if no limit of
liability is indicated, the limit of liability shall be the full
amount of the penal sum.

WHEREAS, said Principal is required, under the Resource
Conservation and Recovery Act as amended (RCRA) and
the Louisiana Environmental Quality Act, R.S. 30:2001, et
seg., to have a permit in order to own or operate the waste
tire facility identified above; and

WHEREAS, the Principal is required by law to provide
financial assurance for closure care, as a condition of the
permit;

THEREFORE, the conditions of this obligation are such that
if the Principal shall faithfully perform closure, whenever
required to do so, of the facility for which this bond

"individual,” "joint venture"
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guarantees closure, in accordance with the closure plan and
other requirements of the permit as such plan and permit
may be amended, pursuant to all applicable laws, statutes,
rules, and regulations, as such laws, statutes, rules, and
regulations may be amended;

OR, if the Principal shall provide financial assurance as
specified in LAC 33.VI11.10525.D.12-14 and obtain written
approval of the Office of Management and Finance,
Financial Services Division of such assurance, within 90
days after the date of notice of cancellation is received by
both the Principal and the administrative authority, then this
obligation shall be null and void; otherwise it is to remain in
full force and effect.

The surety shall become liable on this bond obligation
only when the Principal has failed to fulfill the conditions
described hereinabove.

Upon noetification by the administrative authority that the
Principal has been found in violation of the closure
requirements of the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 33,
Part VII, or of its permit, for the facility for which this bond
guarantees performances of closure, the Surety shall either
perform closure, in accordance with the closure plan and
other permit requirements, or place the closure amount
guaranteed for the facility into the Waste Tire Management
Fund as directed by the administrative authority.

Upon notification by the administrative authority that the
Principal has failed to provide alternate financial assurance
as specified in LAC 33.VII.10525.D.12-14 and obtain
written approval of such assurance from the Office of
Management and Finance, Financial Services Division
during the 90 days following receipt by both the Principal
and the administrative authority of a notice of cancellation of
the bond, the surety shall place funds in the amount
guaranteed for the facility into the Waste Tire Management
Fund as directed by the administrative authority.

The Surety hereby waives notification of amendments to
closure plans, permits, applicable laws, statutes, rules, and
regulations, and agrees that no such amendment shall in any
way alleviate its obligation on this bond.

The liability of the Surety(ies) shall not be discharged by
any payment or succession of payments hereunder, unless
and until such payment or payments shall amount in the
aggregate to the penal sum of the bond, but in no event shall
the obligation of the Surety hereunder exceed the amount of
the penal sum.

The Surety may cancel the bond by sending notice of
cancellation by certified mail to the Principal and to the
Office of Management and Finance, Financial Services
Division. Cancellation shall not occur before 120 days have
€lapsed beginning on the date that both the Principal and the
administrative authority received the notice of cancellation,
as evidenced by the return receipts.

The Principal may terminate this bond by sending written
notice to the Surety and to the administrative authority,
provided, however, that no such notice shall become
effective until the Surety receives written authorization for
termination of the bond by the administrative authority.

The Principal and Surety hereby agree that no portion of
the penal sum may be expended without prior written
approval of the administrative authority.
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Principal and the Surety have
executed this PERFORMANCE BOND and have affixed their
seals on the date set forth above.

Those persons whose signatures appear below hereby
certify that they are authorized to execute this surety bond
on behalf of the Principal and Surety, that each Surety hereto
isauthorized to do business in the state of Louisiana and that
the wording of this surety bond is identical to the wording
specified by the Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality's Waste Tire Regulations, LAC 33:VII|.Chapter
105.Appendix A dated August 4, 1994, effective on the date
this bond was executed.

PRINCIPAL
[Signature(s)]
[Name(s)]
[Title(s)]
[Corporate Sedl]

CORPORATE SURETY
[Nameand Address|
State of incorporation:
Liability limit:
[Signature(s)]
[Name(s) and title(s)]
[Corporate sedl]
[For every cosurety, provide signature(s), corporate seal, and other
information in the same manner as for Surety above.]
Bond Premium: $

Sample Document 3:
WASTE TIRE FACILITY IRREVOCABLE LETTER OF CREDIT

Secretary

Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
Post Office Box 82231

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70884-2231

Dear Sir:

We hereby establish our Irrevocable Standby Letter of
Credit Number [number] in favor of the Department of
Environmental Quality of the State of Louisiana at the
request and for the account of [permit holder's or applicant's
name and address] for the closure fund for its [list site
identification number, site name, and facility name] at
[location], Louisiana for any sum or sums up to the
aggregate amount of U.S. dollars $ [number] upon
presentation of:

(1) A sight draft, kearing reference to the Letter of
Credit Number [number] drawn by the administrative
authority together with;

(2) A statement signed by the administrative authority,
declaring that the operator has failed to perform closure in
accordance with the closure gan and permit requirements
and that the amount of the draft is payable into the Waste
Tire Management Fund.

The Letter of Credit is effective as of [date] and will
expire on [date], but such expiration date will be
automatically extended for a period of & least one year on
the above expiration date, and on each successive expiration
date thereof, unless, at least 120 days before the then current
expiration date, we notify both the Office of Management
and Finance, Financial Services Division and the [name of



permit holder or applicant] by certified mail that we have
decided not to extend this Letter of Credit beyond the then
current expiration date. In the event we give such
notification, any unused portion of this Letter of Credit shall
be available upon presentation of your sight draft for 120
days after the date of receipt by both the Department of
Environmental Quality and [name of  permit
holder/applicant] as shown on the signed return receipts.

Whenever this Letter of Credit is drawn under and in
compliance with the terms of this credit, we shall duly honor
such draft upon presentation to us, and we shall deposit the
amount of the draft to the Department of Environmental
Quality for deposit into the Waste Tire Management Fund in
the name of [name of permit holder or applicant] in
accordance with the administrative authority's instructions.

Except as otherwise expressly agreed upon, this credit is
subject to the wuniform Customs and Practice for
Documentary Credits (1983 Revision), International
Chamber of Commerce Publication Number 400, or any
revision thereof effective on the date of issue of this credit.

We certify that the wording of this Letter of Credit is
identical to the wording specified in the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality's Waste Tire
Regulations, LAC 33:VII.Chapter 105.Appendix A dated
August 4, 1994, effective on the date shown immediately
below.

[Signature(s) and Title(s) of Official(s) of issuing Ingtitutions]

[Date]
James H. Brent, Ph.D.
Assistant Secretary
01064056
RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Examiners of Psychologists

Criterion for Passing the Examination for
the Professional Practice in Psychology
(LAC 46:LXI11.503)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Board of
Examiners of Psychologists has amended the following rule
related to the criterion for passing the Examination for the
Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP).

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LXIIIl. Psychologists
Chapter 5. Examinations
8503. Criterion for Passing the Examination for the
Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP)

A. The Board of Examiners of Psychologists establishes
the criterion for a passing score on the Examination for
Professional Practice in psychology be 70 percent correct on
the paper and pencil version or a scaled score of 500 on the
computer administered version.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:2353 and 37:2356.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of
Psy chologists, LR 9:551 (August 1983), amended LR 13:291 (May
1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board
of Examiners of Psychologists, LR 27:835 (June 2001).

John A. Brun, Ph.D.

Chairman
0106#036

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Medical Examiners

Physicans and SurgeonsCL.icensure and Continuing Medical
Education (LAC 46:XLV.301-431, 449 and 1181)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., that the State
Board of Medica Examiners (board), pursuant to the
authority vested in the board by the Louisiana Medical
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292, and the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, has amended its rules
governing the licensure of physicians and continuing
medical education, LAC 46:XLV.301-431, 449 and 1181.

The Rule amendments are set forth below.

Title46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 2. Licensure and Certification

Chapter 3. Physicians

Subchapter A. General Provisions
8301. Scopeof Chapter

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the licensing of
physicians to engage in the practice of medicine in the state
of Louisiana

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1274.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 10:908
(November 1984), amended LR 16:513 (June 1990), LR 27: 835
(June 2001).

§303. Definitions

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall
have the meanings specified.

ApplicantCa person who has applied to the board for a
license or permit to engage in the practice of medicine in the
state of Louisiana or for a registration to engage in the first
year of continuing postgraduate medical education.

ApplicationCa written request directed to and received
by the board, upon forms supplied by the board, for alicense
or permit to practice medicine in the state of Louisiana or for
a registration to engage in the first year of continuing
postgraduate medical education, together with all
information, certificates, documents, and other materials
required by the board to be submitted with such forms.

Good Moral CharacterCas applied to an applicant,
means that:

a. the applicant has not, prior to or during the
pendency of an application to the board, been guilty of any
act, omission, condition, or circumstance which would
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provide legal cause under R.S. 37:1285 for the suspension or
revocation of medical licensure;

b. the applicant has not, prior to or in connection
with his application, made any representation to the board,
knowingly or unknowingly, which is in fact false or
misleading as to a material fact or omits to state any fact or
matter that is material to the application; or

c. the applicant has not made any representation or
failled to make a representation or engaged in any act or
omission which is false, deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading
in achieving or obtaining any of the qualifications for a
license or permit required by this Chapter.

LicenseCthe lawful authority of a physician to engage
in the practice of medicine in the state of Louisiana, as
evidenced by a certificate duly issued by and under the
official seal of the board.

Medical Practice Act or the ActCR.S. 37:1261-1292, as
hereafter amended or supplemented.

PermitCthe lawful authority of a physician to engage in
the practice of medicine in the state of Louisiana for a
designated, temporary period of time, subject to restrictions
and conditions specified by the board, as evidenced by a
certificate duly issued by and under the official seal of the
board. A permit is of determinate, limited duration and
implies no right or entitlement to alicense or to renewal of
the permit.

PhysicianCa person possessing a doctor of medicine
(allopathic/M.D.), doctor of osteopathy or doctor of
osteopathic medicine degree (osteopathic/D.O.) or an
equivalent degree duly awarded by a medical or osteopathic
educational institution approved by the board pursuant to
88333 to 341 of this Chapter.

Postgraduate Year One (Internship) RegistrationCthe
lawful authority of a physician to engage in the first year of
continuing postgraduate medical education in the state of
Louisiana at a medica education or internship program
approved by the board, as evidenced by a certificate of
registration duly issued by and under the official seal of the
board.

SateCany state of the United States, the District of
Columbia and Puerto Rico.

B. Masculine terms wheresoever used in this Chapter
shall also be deemed to include the feminine.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271 and R.S. 37:1274.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medica Examiners, LR
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:513 (June
1990), LR 27:835 (June 2001).

Subchapter B. Graduates of American and Canadian
Medical Schools and Colleges
8309. Scope of Subchapter

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the licensing of
physicians who are graduates of medical or osteopathic
schools and colleges approved by the board located within
any state or in Canada.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271, RS. 37:1272, RS. 37:1274 and R.S.
37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
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and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:513 (June
1990), LR 27:836 (June 2001).
8311. Qualificationsfor License

A. Tobeéeligiblefor alicense, an applicant shall:

1. beatleast 21 years of age;

2. beof good moral character as defined by §303.A;

3. be a citizen of the United States or possess valid
and current legal authority to reside and work in the United
States duly issued by the commissioner of the Immigration
and Naturalization Service of the United States under and
pursuant to the Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat.
163) and the commissioner’s regulations thereunder (8
CFR);

4. possess:

a. a doctor of medicine or equivalent degree duly
issued and conferred by a medical school or college
approved by the board; or

b. a doctor of osteopathic medicine or doctor of
osteopathy degree issued and conferred on or after June 1,
1971, by a school or college of osteopathic medicine
approved by the board;

5. have within the prior 10 years, in conformity with
the restrictions and limitations prescribed by 8387 of these
rules, and subject to the exception provided for certain
applicants for licensure by reciprocity provided by 8353,
taken and passed:

a. al three steps of the United States Medical
Licensing Examination (USMLE) of the Federation of State
Medical Boards of the United States, Inc. (FSMB); or

b. both components of the Federation Licensing
Examination (FLEX) of the FSMB; or

c. al three parts of the examinations of the National
Board of Medical Examiners (NBME); or

d. step 1 of the USMLE or Part | of the NBME,
Step 2 of the USMLE or Part 1l of the NBME, and Step 3 of
the USMLE or Part 111 of the NBME; or

e. component 1 of the FLEX and Step 3 of the
USMLE; or

f. step 1 of the USMLE or Part | of the NBME and
Step 2 of the USMLE or Part Il of the NBME and
Component 2 of the FLEX; or

g. levels 1 and 2 of the COMLEX-USA
examinations or its predecessor, the NBOME, or any
combination thereof developed by the National Board of
Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME) and Step 3 of
USMLE; or

h. subject to the additional requirements set forth in
8311.A.6, al three levels of the COMLEX-USA
examination, or its predecessor, the NBOME, or any
combination thereof; and

6. have completed at least one year of postgraduate
clinica training in a medical internship or equivaent
program accredited by the American Council on Graduate
Medical Education (ACGME) of the American Medical
Association, or by the American Osteopathic Association
(AOA), or by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons
(RCPS) of Canada, and approved by the board. Other than
physicians seeking licensure by reciprocity, applicants who
have taken and successfully passed all three levels of the
COMLEX-USA or its predecessor, the NBOME, or any
combination thereof, must also provide evidence of the
applicant's acceptance, continued participation in and



completion of a postgraduate medical training program
(residency training) in a medical school, college or other
accredited medical institution in Louisiana which has been
approved by the board, which program will make the
applicant board eligible for certification by a specialty board
recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties
(ABMS).

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for licensure
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the
manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271, RS. 37:1272, RS. 37:1274 and R.S.
37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitas, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:513 (June
1990), LR 22:207 (March 1996), withdrawa LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:836 (June 2001).

§313. Procedural Requirements

A. In addition to the substantive qualifications specified
in 8311, to be eligible for alicense, an applicant shall satisfy
the procedures and requirements for application provided by
88359 to 365 of this Chapter and, if applicable, the
procedures and requirements for examination provided by
88371 to 391 of this Chapter.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271, RS. 37:1272, RS. 37:1274 and R.S.
37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:513 (June
1990), LR 22:207 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:837 (June 2001).

8315. Waiver of Qualifications

A. Upon request by an applicant, supported by
certification from the dean of a medical school or college
within the state of Louisianawhich is approved by the board,
the board may, in its discretion, waive the qualifications for
licensure otherwise required by §311.A.5 or 6, in favor of an
applicant who has been formally appointed by and with such
medical school or collegeto a

1. permanent and rot time delimited tenured track
position as full professor or associate professor; or

2. position as a clinical full professor or clinical
associate professor on afull-time clinical track.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271, R.S. 37:1272, RS. 37:1274 and R.S.
37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:513 (June
1990), LR 27:837 (June 2001).

Subchapter C. International Medical Graduates
§321. Scope of Subchapter; Definition

A. The rules of this Subchapter specify additional
qualifications, requirements, and procedures for the
licensing of physicians who are international medical
graduates.
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B. As used in this Subchapter, the term international
medical graduate or IMG means a graduate of a medical
school or college not located in any state or in Canada,
recognized and officially listed by the World Health
Organization and not affirmatively disapproved by the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1271, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended LR 12:212 (April 1986), LR
12:528 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:208 (March 1996),
withdrawal LR 22:280 (April 1996), amended LR 27:837 (June
2001).

8323. Qualificationsfor License

A. To be digible for a license, an international medical
graduate applicant shall:

1. possess al of the substantive qualifications for
license specified by 8311 of this Chapter;

2. have taken and successfully passed the examination
administered by the Educational Council on Foreign Medical
Graduates (ECFMG), or its successor examination having
successfully passed the USMLE in accordance with the
standards, restrictions and limitations prescribed by §8385
and 387 of this Chapter;

3. be competent and proficient in speaking,
understanding, reading, and writing the English language;
and

4. have completed at least three years of postgraduate
clinical training in the United States or in Canada in a
medical residency or equivalent program accredited by the
ACGME of the American Medical Association, or by the
RCPS of Canada, and approved by the board. To be
approved by the board such program must be offered and
taken in an institution offering not fewer than two residency
or equivalent programs accredited by the ACGME or the
RCPS; the program in which the applicant participates must
evidence the applicant's progressive responsibility for patient
care; and the three years of such a program must be in the
same specialty or aternatively, constitute the IMG, upon
completion of the three years of such program, as eligible for
specialty board certification or for postgraduate year four
(PGY-4) training.

B. Inaddition to the qualifications specified in 8323.A, if
an IMG applicant has participated in any clinical clerkship
program within the United States as part of the academic
training requisite to his doctor of medicine degree, such
clinical clerkship program shall be subject to approval by the
board as a condition of the applicant's eligibility for
licensure. Such a clinical clerkship program may be
approved by the board only if, at the time the applicant
participated in such program, the clinical clerkship program
was accredited or approved by the ACGME, the clinical
clerkship was served in a hospital or other institution
accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of
Health Care Organizations, and the applicant's supervising
physician within such program held formal appointment as a
professor or associate professor of the medical school or
college sponsoring such program; provided, however, that
notwithstanding a clinical clerkship program's satisfaction of
these standards, the board may decline to approve any such
program upon a finding that it was not substantially
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equivalent to the clinical clerkships offered by the medical
schools and colleges accredited by the Liaison Committee
on Medical Education of the American Medical Association
and the Association of American Medical Colleges.

C. The burden of sdatisfying the board as to the
qualifications and eligibility of the IMG applicant for
licensure shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not
be deemed to possess such qualifications unless the
applicant demonstrates and evidences such qualificationsin
the manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended LR 12:213 (April 1986), LR
12:528 (August 1986), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:514 (June 1990),
LR 22:208 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April 1996),
amended LR 27:837 (June 2001).

§325. Procedural Requirements

A. In addition to the substantive qualifications specified
in 8323, to be eligible for a license, an IMG applicant shall
satisfy the procedures and requirements for application
provided by 88359 to 365 of this Chapter; if applicable, the
procedures and requirements for examination provided in
88371 to 391 of this Chapter; and shall provide certified
verification of his medical school transcript, reflecting the
courses and hours taken and grades achieved together with a
detailed description of each clinical clerkship in which the
applicant may have participated as part of his medical
education, specifying the inclusive dates and sites of any
such clerkship and the name and address of the applicant's
supervising physician therein.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medica Examiners, LR
10:908 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:514 (June
1990), LR 22:208 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:838 (June 2001).

§326. Alternative Qualification [Transitional Rule]
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270(b)(1), (6), R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1275.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 15:272
(April 1989), amended LR 16:515 (June 1990), repealed LR 22:208
(March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April 1996), repeded LR
27:838 (June 2001).

8327. Waiver of Qualifications

A. The waiver of qualifications provided by §315 of this
Chapter shall be available to international medical graduate
applicants.

B. Upon request by an applicant, the board may, in its
discretion, waive the necessity of successfully passing the
ECFMG examination, as otherwise required by §323.A.2, in
favor of an applicant who is currently certified by a specialty
board recognized by the American Board of Medica
Specialties.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1275.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
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10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:515 (June

1990), LR 22:208 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April

1996), amended LR 27:838 (June 2001).

Subchapter D. Board Approval of Medical Schoolsand
Colleges

8333. Scopeof Subchapter

A. The rules of this Subchapter provide the method and
procedures by which medical schools and colleges and
schools or colleges of osteopathic medicine are approved by
the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1272.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:515 (June
1990), LR 27:838 (June 2001).

§335. Applicability of Approval

A. Graduation from an approved school is among the
qualifications requisite to medical licensure as provided by
8311.A.4 (American and Canadian graduates), §323.A.1
(international medical graduates), and 8353 (reciprocity
applicants). This qualification will be deemed to be satisfied
if the school or college from which the applicant graduated
was approved by the board as of the date the applicant's
degree was issued.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1272.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitds, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:515 (June
1990), LR 22:208 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:838 (June 2001).

8337. Approval of American Schoolsand Colleges

A. A medica school or college located in any state
which is currently accredited by the Liaison Committee on
Medical Education of the American Medical Association and
the Association of American Medical Colleges, or their
successors, shall be concurrently considered approved by the
board.

B. A school or college of osteopathic medicine located in
any state which is currently accredited by the American
Osteopathic  Association, or its successor, shall be
concurrently considered approved by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1272.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:516 (June
1990), amended LR 27:838 (June 2001).

8339. Approval of Canadian Schools

A. A medical school or college located in Canada which
is currently accredited by the RCPS of Canada, or its
successor, shall be concurrently considered approved by the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1272.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medica Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:516 (June
1990), repromulgated LR 27:838 (June 2001).



§341. Recognition of International Medical Schools

A. To be considered acceptable as evidence of basic
medical education, amedical school or college not located in
any state or in Canada shall, at a minimum, be recognized
and officially listed by the World Health Organization and
not affirmatively disapproved by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1272.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended LR 12:528 (August 1986),
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of
Medical Examiners, LR 16:516 (June 1990), LR 27:839 (June
2001).
§345.
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:910 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Hedth
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:516 (June
1990), repealed LR 27:839 (June 2001).

Subchapter E. Licensure by Reciprocity
8351. Definition

Licensure by ReciprocityCthe issuance of a license to
practice medicine on the basis of medical licensure by
another state medical or osteopathic licensing authority
pursuant to written examination acceptable to the board as
specified by §353.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1276.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:909 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:515 (June
1990), LR 27:839 (June 2001).

§353. Qualificationsfor Medical Licensure by
Reciprocity

A. An applicant who possesses and meets al of the
qualifications and requirements specified by 88311 and 313
of this Chapter, save for successfully passing the
examinations in the manner specified by 8311.A.5(a)(h)
within the prior 10 years, shall nonetheless be eligible for
licensing if such applicant possesses, as of the time the
application is filed and at the time the board passes upon
such application, a current, unrestricted license to practice
medicine issued by the medica (whether allopathic or
osteopathic) licensing authority of another state, and the
applicant has, within 10 years prior to the date of
application, taken and successfully passed a written
certification or recertification examination administered by
and leading to certification or recertification by a specialty
board recognized by the American Board of Medica
Speciaties (ABMS).

B. An alopathic physician applicant who possesses all
of the qualifications for licensure by reciprocity specified by
8353 A, save for having taken or passed a written medical
competence examination within 10 years of the date of
application, shall nonetheless be considered eligible for
licensure by reciprocity if such applicant has, within 10
years prior to the date of application, taken and successfully
passed the Specia Purpose Examination (SPEX),
administered under the auspices of the Federation of State
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Medical Boards of the United States, Inc. (FSMB), as may
be determined by the board.

C. An osteopathic physician applicant who possesses all
of the qualifications for licensure by reciprocity specified by
8353.A, but whose passage of a written certification or
recertification examination administered by a specialty
board recognized by the ABMS was more than 10 years
prior to the date of application, shall nonetheless be
considered eligible for licensure by reciprocity if such
applicant has, within 10 years prior to the date of the
application, taken and successfully passed the SPEX,
administered under the auspices of the FSMB, as may be
determined by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1276.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:910 (November 1984), amended LR 14:149 (March 1988),
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of
Medica Examiners, LR 16:516 (June 1990), LR 22:209 (March
1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April 1996), amended LR 27:839
(June 2001).

Subchapter F. Application
8359. Purposeand Scope

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the procedures
and requirements applicable to application to the board for
licensing as a physician in the state of Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1278.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:910 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:516 (June
1990), repromulgated LR 27:839 (June 2001).

§361. Application Procedure

A. Application for unrestricted licensing shall be made
upon forms supplied by the board.

B. Application forms and instructions pertaining thereto
may be obtained at any time from the board's web page at
www.Isbme.org or upon written request directed to the office
of the board, 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA, 70130.
Application forms will be mailed by the board within 30
days of the board's receipt of request therefor.

C. An application for licensing under this Chapter shall
include:

1. proof, documented in a form satisfactory to the
board, that the applicant possesses the qualifications set forth
in this Chapter;

2. threerecent photographs of the applicant; and

3. acertified copy of the applicant's birth certificate,
along with such other information and documentation as the
board may require to evidence qualification for licensing.

D. All documents required to be submitted to the board
must be the origina thereof. For good cause shown, the
board may waive or modify this requirement.

E.  The board may refuse to consider any application
which is not complete in every detail, including submission
of every document required by the application form. The
board may, in its discretion, require a more detailed or
complete response to any request for information set forth in
the application form as a condition to consideration of an
application.

Louisiana Register Vol. 27, No. 06 June 20, 2001



F. Each application submitted to the board shall be
accompanied by the applicable fees, as provided in these
rules and the Medical Practice Act.

G Upon submission of or concurrently with submission
of a completed application, an applicant shall, by
appointment, make a persona appearance before the board,
a member of the board, or its designee, as a condition to the
board's consideration of such application. At the time of such
appearance, the applicant shall present the original of the
documents  required under  this  Chapter. The
recommendation of the board, board member, or designee as
to the applicant's fithess for licensure shall be made a part of
the applicant'sfile.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1277, R.S. 37:1278 and R.S. 37:1281.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:910 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:516 (June
1990), LR 22:209 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:839 (June 2001).

8363. Additional Requirementsfor Inter national
Medical Graduates

A. Any diploma or other document required to be
submitted to the board by an IMG applicant which is not in
the English language must be accompanied by a certified
translation thereof into English.

B. In addition to the procedures and requirements set
forth in 8361, upon submission of a completed application,
an IMG applicant shall, by appointment, make a personal
appearance before a member of the board as a condition to
the board's consideration of such application.

AUTHORITY NOTE Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1278.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:910 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:517 (June
1990), LR 22:210 (March 1996), withdrawa LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:840 (June 2001).

8365. Effect of Application

A. The submission of an application for licensing to the
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization by the
applicant to each educational institution at which the
applicant has matriculated, each state or federal agency to
which the applicant has applied for any license, permit,
certificate, or registration, each person, firm, corporation,
clinic, office, or institution by whom or with whom the
applicant has been employed in the practice of medicine,
each physician or other health care practitioner whom the
applicant has consulted or seen for diagnosis or treatment
and each professional organization or specialty board to
which the applicant has applied for membership, to disclose
and release to the board any and all information and
documentation concerning the applicant which the board
deems material to consideration of the application. With
respect to any such information or documentation, the
submission of an application for licensing to the board shall
equally constitute and operate as a consent by the applicant
to disclosure and release of such information and
documentation and as a waiver by the applicant of any
privilege or right of confidentiality which the applicant
would otherwise possess with respect thereto.
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B. By submission of an application for licensing to the
board, an applicant shall be deemed to have given his
consent to submit to physical or mental examinations if,
when, and in the manner so directed by the board and to
waive all objections as to the admissibility or disclosure of
findings, reports, or recommendations pertaining thereto on
the grounds of privileges provided by law. The expense of
any such examination shall be borne by the applicant.

C. The submission of an application for licensing to the
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization and
consent by the applicant to the board to disclose and release
any information or documentation set forth in or submitted
with the applicant's application or obtained by the board
from other persons, firms, corporations, associations, or
governmental entities pursuant to 8365.A or B to any person,
firm, corporation, asociation, or governmental entity having
alawful, legitimate, and reasonable need therefor, including,
without limitation, the medical licensing authority of any
state; the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United
States; the American Medical Association; the American
Osteopathic  Association; the Louisiana Osteopathic
Association; any component state and county or parish
medical society, including the Louisiana State Medical
Society and component parish societies thereof; the Federal
Drug Enforcement Agency; the Louisiana Office of
Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, Division of Licensing and
Registration; the Department of Headth and Hospitals;
federal, state, county, parish and municipal health and law
enforcement agencies; and the Armed Services.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1278.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:911 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:517 (June
1990), LR 27:840 (June 2001).

Subchapter G. Examination
8371. Designation of Examinations

A. Examinations recognized by the board pursuant to
R.S. 37:1272(5) as qualifying for a license to practice
medicine include those examinations set forth and in the
manner specified by §311.A.5. Application for taking Step 3
of the USMLE is made to the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:911 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:518 (June
1990), LR 22:210 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:840 (June 2001).

8373. Eligibility for Examination
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:911 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:518 (June
1990), LR 22:210 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), repealed LR 27:840 (June 2001).

8375. Dates, Places of Examination
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:911 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:518 (June
1990), LR 22:210 (March 1996), withdrawa LR 22:280 (April
1996), repealed LR 27:840 (June 2001).

8§377. Administration of Examination
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
31:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:518 (June
1990), LR 22:211 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), repealed LR 27:841 (June 2001).

8379. Subversion of Examination Process

A. An applicant-examinee who is reported to the board
as having engaged or attempted to engage in conduct which
subverts or undermines the integrity of the examination
process shall be subject to the sanctions specified in 8383 of
this Chapter.

B. Conduct which subverts or undermines the integrity
of the examination process shall be deemed to include:

1. refusing or failing to fully and promptly comply
with any rules, procedures, instructions, directions, or
requests made or prescribed by the entity offering the
examination or those administering it;

2. removing from the examination room or rooms any
of the examination materials;

3. reproducing or reconstructing, by copy, duplication,
written notes, or electronic recording, any portion of the
licensing examination;

4. selling, distributing, buying, receiving, obtaining,
or having unauthorized possession of a future, current, or
previously administered licensing examination;

5. communicating in any manner with any other
examinee or any other person during the administration of
the examination or providing substantive examination
content or answers thereto to another examinee after the
examination;

6. copying answers from another examinee or
permitting one's answers to be copied by another examinee
during the administration of the examination;

7. having in one's possession during the
administration of the examination any materials or objects
other than the examination materials distributed, including,
without limitation, any books, notes, recording devices, or
other written, printed, electronic or recorded materials or
data of any kind,;

8. impersonating an examinee by appearing for and as
an applicant and taking the examination for, as and in the
name of an applicant other than himself;

9. permitting another person to appear for and take the
examination on one's behalf and in one's name; or

10. engaging in any conduct which disrupts the
examination or the taking thereof by other examinees.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:518 (June
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1990), LR 22:211 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:841 (June 2001).
8381. Finding of Subversion

A. When, during the administration of examination, the
reasonable cause exists to believe that an applicant-examinee
is engaging or attempting to engage, or has engaged or
attempted to engage, in conduct which subverts or
undermines the integrity of the examination process, the
entity administering the examination shall take such action
as it deems necessary or appropriate to terminate such
conduct and shall report such conduct in writing to the
board.

B. When the board, upon information provided by the
entity administering the examination, an applicant-examinee,
or any other person, has probable cause to believe that an
applicant has engaged or attempted to engage in conduct
which subverts or undermines the integrity of the
examination process, the board shall so advise the applicant
in writing, setting forth the grounds for its finding of
probable cause, specifying the sanctions which are mandated
or permitted for such conduct by 8383 of this Subchapter
and provide the applicant with an opportunity for hearing
pursuant to R.S. 49:955-58 and applicable rules of the board
governing administrative hearings. Unless waived by the
applicant, the board's finding of fact, its conclusions of law
under these rules, and its decision as to the sanctions, if any,
to be imposed shall be made in writing and served upon the
applicant.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:518 (June
1990), LR 22:211 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:841 (June 2001).

§383. Sanctionsfor Subversion of Examination

A. An applicant who is found by the board, prior to the
administration of the examination, to have engaged in
conduct or to have attempted to engage in conduct which
subverts or undermines the integrity of the examination
process may be permanently disgualified from taking the
examination and for medical licensure in the state of
Louisiana.

B. An applicant-examinee who is found by the board to
have engaged or to have attempted to engage in conduct
which subverts or undermines the integrity of the
examination process shall be deemed to have failed the
examination. Such failure shall be recorded in the official
records of the board.

C. In addition to the sanctions permitted or mandated by
8383.A or B, as to an applicantCexaminee found by the
board to have engaged or to have attempted to engage in
conduct which subverts or undermines the integrity of the
examining process, the board may:

1. revoke, suspend, or impose probationary conditions
on any license or permit issued to such applicant;

2. disqualify the applicant, permanently or for a
specified period of time, from eligibility for licensure in the
state of Louisiana; or

3. disgualify the applicant, permanently or for a
specified number of subsequent administrations of the
examination, from eligibility for examination.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:519 (June
1990), LR 22:211 (March 1996), withdrawa LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:841 (June 2001).

§385. Passing Scor es

A. An applicant will be deemed to have successfully
passed the USMLE, COMLEX-USA or NBME examination
if he attains a score of at least 75 on each step, level or part
of the examination.

B. An applicant will be deemed to have successfully
passed the FLEX examination if he attains a score of at least
75 on each component of the examination or having taken
the FLEX when a weighted average was calculated and
reported thereon, had attained a FLEX weighted average of
at least 75.

C. A person who is required to and does take the SPEX
examination will be deemed to have successfully passed the
examination if he attains a score of at least 75.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:519 (June
1990), LR 22:211 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:842 (June 2001).

§387. Restriction, Limitation on Examinations

A. An applicant who has failed to attain a passing score
upon taking Step 2 or Step 3 of the USMLE more than three
times, or who has failed to attain a passing score upon taking
Part 2 or Part 3 of the NBME more than three times, or who
has failed to attain a passing score upon taking any
component of the FLEX more than three times, or who has
failed to attain a passing score upon taking Level 2 or Level
3 of the COMLEX-USA or its predecessor, the NBOME or
any combination thereof more than three times, shall
thereafter be deemed ineligible for licensing. The limitation
stated herein with respect to the taking of the USMLE shall
be applicable when such examination is taken as a
component of obtaining a Standard ECFMG Certificate.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medica Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:519 (June
1990), LR 27:842 (June 2001).

§389. Examination In or For Another State

A. Upon application to the board, an applicant for
licensing under this Chapter may be permitted to take Step 3
of the USMLE in another state. The score attained by such
applicant on such examination will be accepted by the board
as if the applicant had taken the USMLE pursuant to
application to the board provided that the examination is
administered and taken consistently with the restrictions and
limitations prescribed by §387.

B. A USMLE score attained by an applicant on a
USMLE examination administered prior to the applicant’s
application to the board for licensing will be accepted by the
board, provided that:
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1. the applicant presents or causes to be presented to
the board written certification of the date and place that the
USMLE was taken and the score achieved,;

2. the examination was administered and taken
consistently with the rules, regulations, restrictions and
limitations prescribed by 8387 and by the medical licensing
authority of the state for which the examination was taken;

3. the applicant has completed at least one year of
postgraduate training, if such training is a condition to
medical licensure in the state in which the examination was
taken; and

4. the applicant provides the board with a satisfactory
written explanation of the applicant’'s failure to obtain
licensing in the state in which the examination was taken.

C. Upon application to the board and payment of the fee
prescribed in Chapter 1 of these rules, an individual applying
for licensure in another state may sit for the USMLE
examination administered in Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medica Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:519 (June
1990), LR 27:842 (June 2001).

§391. Lost, Stolen, or Destroyed Examinations

A. The submission of an application for examination to
the board shall constitute and operate as an acknowledgment
and agreement by the applicant that the liability of the board,
its members, employees, and agents, and the state of
Louisiana to the applicant for the loss, theft, or destruction
of al or any portion of an examination taken by the
applicant, prior to the reporting of the score thereon by the
entity offering such examination, other than by intentional
act, shall be limited exclusively to the refund of the fees, if
any, paid to the board for examination by the applicant.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:912 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:520 (June
1990), LR 27:842 (June 2001).

Subchapter H. Restricted Licensure, Permits
8397. Restricted Licensurein General

A. With respect to applicants who do not meet or possess
all of the qualifications and requirements for licensing, the
board may, in its discretion, issue such restricted licenses as
are, in its judgment, necessary or appropriate to its
responsibilities under law. Restricted licenses shall be
designated and known as permits.

B. A temporary permit entitles the holder to engage in
the practice of medicine in the state of Louisianaonly for the
period of time specified by such permit and creates no right
or entitlement to licensing or renewal of the permit after its
expiration.

C. Aninstitutional permit entitles the holder to engage in
the practice of medicine only at, in and in association with
the medical institution, clinic, or location specified by such
permit or within a specified medical training program
approved by the board.

D. A permit issued by the board may be either temporary
or institutional, or both. Other permits may be issued by the
board upon such terms, conditions, limitations, or



restrictions as to time, place, nature, and scope of practice,
as are, in the judgment of the board, deemed necessary or
appropriate to the particular circumstances of individual
applicants or physicians.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1285 and R.S. 37:1275.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:913 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:520 (June
1990), LR 27:842 (June 2001).

8399. Typesof Permits

A. The types of permits which the board may consider
issuing, as enumerated in the following sections of this
Subchapter, shall not be construed to provide any right or
entitlement whatsoever to the described permit, issuance of
which shall be determined in the absolute discretion of the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1285 and R.S. 37:1275.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:913 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:520 (June
1990), LR 27:843 (June 2001).

8401. Provisional Temporary Permit Pending
Application for Visa

A. The board may issue a provisional temporary permit
to an applicant for any license or permit provided for by
these rules who is otherwise completely qualified for such
license or permit, save for possessing an H1 or equivalent
visa as may be required by these rules, provided that the
applicant has completed all applicable requirements and
procedures for issuance of alicense or permit and is eligible
for an H1 or equivalent visa under rules and regulations
promulgated by the United States Immigration and
Naturalization Service (INS).

B. A provisional temporary permit issued under this
section shall be of the same type and scope, and subject to
the same terms and restrictions, as the license or permit
applied for, provided, however, that a provisional temporary
permit issued under this section shall expire, and become
null and void, on the earlier of:

1. 90 daysfrom the date of issuance of such permit;

2. 10 days following the date on which the applicant
receives notice of INS action granting or denying the
applicant's petition for an H-1 or equivalent visa; or

3. the date on which the board gives notice to the
applicant of its final action granting or denying issuance of
the license or permit applied for.

C. The board may, in its discretion, extend or renew, for
one or more additional 90-day periods, a provisional
temporary permit issued hereunder which has expired
pursuant to 8401.B.1, in favor of an applicant who holds a
provisional temporary permit issued under this section and
who has filed a petition for H1 or equivaent visa with the
INS, but whose pending petition has not yet been acted on
by the INS within 90 days from issuance of such provisiond
temporary permit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1275.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1101
(November 1991), repromulgated LR 27:843 (June 2001).
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8402. Provisional Temporary Permit Pending Results
of Criminal History Record Information

A. The board may issue a provisional temporary permit
to an applicant for any license or permit provided for by
these rules who is otherwise completely qualified for such
license or permit, save for the board having received a report
from the Louisiana bureau of criminal identification and
information of the office of state police within the
Department of Public Safety and Corrections (Bureau) or the
Federal Bureau of Investigation of the United States
Department of Justice (FBI), concerning state and national
criminal history record information which the board has
requested pursuant to the Medical Practice Act or by these
rules, provided that the applicant has completed all
applicable requirements and procedures for issuance of a
license or permit, submitted or attempted to submit
fingerprints and all other required information to the board
necessary to obtain criminal history record information and
paid all gplicable fees and costs prescribed by these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

B. A provisional temporary permit issued under this
section shall be of the same type and scope, and subject to
the same terms and restrictions, as the license or permit
applied for, provided, however, that a provisional temporary
permit issued under this section shall expire, and become
null and void, on the earlier of:

1. 90 daysfrom the date of issuance of such permit; or

2. the date on which the board gives notice to the
applicant of its final action granting or denying issuance of
the license or permit applied for following its receipt of
criminal history record information.

C. The board may, in its discretion, extend or renew for
one or more additiona 90-day periods, a provisional
temporary permit issued hereunder which has expired
pursuant to §402.B.1, in favor of an applicant who holds a
provisional temporary permit issued under this section who
has submitted or attempted to submit fingerprints and all
other required information and paid all applicable fees and
costs attendant thereto but whose criminal history record
information has not been received from the Bureau or the
FBI within 90 days from issuance of such provisional
temporary permit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1275 and R.S. 37:1277, R.S. 37:1281.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 27:843
(June 2001).

8403. Visiting Physician Permits

A. The board may issue a visiting physician temporary
permit to an applicant physician who is invited by one or
more physicians licensed under this Chapter to participate or
consult in diagnosis or treatment of a patient under carein a
Louisiana medical institution, provided that such invited
physician:

1. possesses the qualifications for licensing prescribed
by §311.A.1-4;

2. within a reasonable time prior to the intended
consultation or treatment, presents or causes to be presented
to the board:

a. indisputable personal identification;

b. verification satisfactory to the board that the
applicant holds a current unrestricted license to practice
medicine issued by the medical or osteopathic licensing
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authority of another state or, if an alien, holds an unrestricted
license or other legal authorization to engage in the practice
of medicinein his domicile country; and
c. written recommendations by two physicians

licensed under this Chapter attesting to the professional
qualifications of the visiting physician and assuming
responsibility for his professional activities and patient care;
and

3. satisfiesthe applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

B. The board may issue a visiting professor temporary
permit to an applicant physician who is invited by an
accredited medical school or college within the state of
Louisiana approved by the board to serve on the faculty of
the school or college, provided that such invited professor:

1. possesses the qualifications for licensing prescribed
by §311.A.1-4;
2. presentsor causes to be presented to the board:
a  indisputable personal identification;
b. a completed application on forms furnished by
the board; and
c. verification satisfactory to the board that the
applicant holds a current unrestricted license to pactice
medicine issued by the medical or osteopathic licensing
authority of another state; and
3. satisfiesthe applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

C. The board may issue a foreign exchange visiting
professor temporary permit to an applicant physician who is
invited by an accredited medical school or college within the
state of Louisiana approved by the board to participate in an
exchange of faculty between the applicant's medical school
or college and the Louisiana medical school or college,
provided that such invited foreign exchange professor:

1. possesses the qualifications for licensing prescribed
by §311.A.1-4;
2. presents or causes to be presented to the board:
a. indisputable personal identification;
b. anH-1lorequivaentvisa
c. acompleted application on forms furnished by
the board; and
d. verification satisfactory to the board that the
applicant holds a current unrestricted license to engage in the
practice of medicine in his domicile country; and
3. satisfiesthe applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

D. The board may issue a visiting physician evaluation
temporary permit to an applicant physician to conduct a
non-invasive evaluation of an individua located in
Louisiana, who has given his consent thereto, provided that
while acting under the authority of such permit in this state
such physician shall not utilize the results of his evaluation
to treat any medical condition which he may determine such
individual to suffer, or exgage in any activity beyond the
scope of authority specifically conferred by such permit,
provided that such evaluating physician:

1. possesses the qualifications for licensing prescribed
by §311.A.1-4;
2. within a reasonable time prior to the intended
evaluation presents or causes to be presented to the board:
a. indisputable personal identification;
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b. verification satisfactory to the board that the
applicant holds a current unrestricted license to practice
medicine issued by the medical or osteopathic licensing
authority of another state or, if an alien, holds an unrestricted
license or other legal authorization to engage in the practice
of medicine in his domicile country;

c. aletter setting forth the location and date on and
where such evaluation is to be conducted,;

d. verification satisfactory to the board that the
evaluation sought to be performed will be undertaken with
the consent of the individual to be evaluated; and

2. satisfiesthe applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

E A temporary permit issued under 8403.A or D may be
restricted by the board to permit a specific act in
consultation or evaluation and/or to restrict consultation,
treatment or evaluation to a designated patient. Temporary
permits issued under §8403.B and C are limited to a term of
12 months from the date of issuance.

F. A temporary permit issued under this section shall
expire, and thereby become null, void, and to no effect on
the date specified by such permit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1275, R.S. 37:1277, R.S. 37:1278, R.S. 37:1281
and R.S. 37:1285.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:913 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:520 (June
1990), LR 27:843 (June 2001).

8404. Continuing Postgraduate Training beyond Y ear
One

A. The board shall issue an institutional temporary
permit to an applicant of an approved American or Canadian
medical school or college (whether allopathic or osteopathic)
for the purpose of participating in an accredited program of
postgraduate medical training (residency training), beyond
postgraduate year one, in a Louisiana medical school,
college or other accredited medical institution approved by
the board.

B. Qualifications for Permit. To be €ligible for an
institutional temporary permit for postgraduate medical
training beyond year one, the applicant shall:

1. possess al of the substantive qualifications for
licensure specified by §311.A.1-4;

2. have completed one year of postgraduate training as
required by 8311.A.6;

3. have submitted documentation to the board from
the director of the program certifying the applicant's
gualification for and appointment to the postgraduate year
two (PGY-2) or higher level of the program; and

4. satisfy the applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

C. Procedural Requirements. An application form will be
supplied by the board only after the qualifications prescribed
by 8404.B.3 have been documented by an origina letter,
signed by the director of the program at which the applicant
will train, certifying that the qualifications and conditions of
such subsection have been met.

D. Restrictions and Limitations. A physician (whether
alopathic or osteopathic) holding a permit under this
subsection shall not enroll or participate in postgraduate
medical training or otherwise engage in the practice of



medicine in this state, other than at and within the scope of
the program for which such person has been approved by the
board.

E Term of Permit. A permit issued under this section
shall expire and become null and void on the earliest of the
following dates:

1. 12 months from the date on which it was issued;

2. effective on the date that the permittee's
appointment to the program for which he was approved by
the board is terminated; or

3. the date on which the board gives notice to the
permittee of itsfinal action granting or denying issuance of a
license to practice medicine.

F. Renewal, Reissuance. A permit issued under this
section which has expired may be renewed or reissued by
the board for one or more successive 12 month periods,
provided that:

1. prior to the expiration of the initial institutional
temporary permit, permit holder has taken and successfully
passed all 3 steps of USMLE or al 3 levels of
COMLEX-USA or all steps, levels, parts or components of
those examinations in the manner specified by
8311A.5(a)y(h), within the limitations and restrictions
prescribed by §387 of these Rules; and

2. not less than two months prior to the annual
expiration of the permit, the director of the program in which
the permittee is enrolled has submitted to the board a written
report on the permittee's performance in such program,
certifying to the board that:

a. the permit holder has performed successfully and
competently in such program;

b. the medical school, college or other accredited
medical institution will renew the permittee's appointment
for an additional year; and

c. no grounds are known which would provide
cause for the board to refuse to renew or to revoke the
permittee's permit pursuant to 8404.H.

G Causes for Refusal to |Issue or Renew.
Notwithstanding an applicant's eligibility for an institutional
permit under this section, under the standards and criteria set
forth in this section, the board may nevertheless deny
issuance or renewal of such permit for any of the causes for
which it may deny licensure under R.S. 37:1285(A) or for
which it may revoke an institutional temporary permit
pursuant to §404.H.

H. Causes for Revocation. Upon prior notice and an
opportunity to be heard in accordance with the Louisiana
Administrative Procedure Act, a permit may be revoked by
the board:

1. for any of the causes specified by R.S. 37:1285(A);

2. upon afinding by the board that the permittee has
failed to maintain, or did not possess at the time of the
application, any of the qualifications requisite to eligibility
for the permit as prescribed by this section; or

3. upon afinding by the board that the permittee has
exceeded the scope of authority accorded by the permit or
otherwise violated any of the conditions, restrictions, and
limitations prescribed by §404.D hereof.

I. Effect of Revocation. A permittee who has had his
institutional temporary permit revoked by the board pursuant
to 8404.H shall not thereafter be eligible for a permit or a
license to practice medicine in the state of Louisiana.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1275, R.S. 37:1277, R.S. 37:1281 and R.S.
37:1285.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 27:844
(June 2001).

8405. Short-Term Residency Permit

A. Theboard may issue an institutional temporary permit
to an applicant who is a commissioned physician of the
Armed Services of the United States for the purpose of
receiving postgraduate clinical training in amedical program
approved by the board and conducted by a Louisiana
medical school, college, or other accredited medical
institution provided that such physician:

1. possesses the qualifications for licensing prescribed
by §311.A.1-4;

2. possesses a current unrestricted license to practice
medicine issued by the medical or osteopathic licensing
authority of another state, or has successfully passed the
USMLE, FLEX, NBME, COMLEX-USA or NBOME
examinations in the manner specified by §311.A.5;

3. will participate in such postdoctora medical
training program pursuant to and within the course and
scope of his orders and duties as a commissioned officer of
the Armed Services;

4. within a reasonable time prior to the
commencement of such training program, presents or causes
to be presented to the board:

a satisfactory documentation that he possessesthe
qualifications required by this section, including a certified
copy of his military orders authorizing and directing his
participation in the specified medical training program; and

b. written certification by the dean of the medical
school or college in which the applicant is to receive such
training that the applicant has been accepted for participation
in such program subject to the issuance of a permit by the
board; and

5. satisfiesthe applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

B. The board may, in its discretion, issue a temporary
permit for the purpose of serving a preceptorship or
participating in a short-term residency program conducted
by a Louisiana medical school, college, or other accredited
medical institution to an applicant who possesses the
qualifications for licensure prescribed by 8311.A.1-4 and
who possesses a current unrestricted license to practice
medicinein, and duly issued by, any state; provided that:

1. the preceptorship or residency program is approved
by the board,;

2. the applicant presents, or causes to be presented, to
the board:

a a completed application for a short-term
residency permit upon the form provided by the board,
together with the fees prescribed by these rules and the
Medical Practice Act:

b. satisfactory documentation that the applicant
possesses the qualifications required by this section;

c. written certification of current unrestricted
licensure by the state in which the applicant resides at the
time of the application or satisfactory documentation of
having passed the examinations in the manner specified by
§311.A.5; and
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d. aletter from the physician under whom he will
be serving in the preceptorship or short-term residency,
describing the capacity in which the applicant will be
serving and theinclusive dates of such service; and

3. the applicant appears in person before and presents
to a member of the board his original doctor of medicine,
doctor of osteopathic medicine or doctor of osteopathy
degree and original cettificate of state medical licensure.

C. The holder of a permit issued under this section shall
not engage in the practice of medicine in any respect in the
state of Louisiana or receive medical educational training
other than within the postdoctoral medical educational
program, preceptorship, or short-term residency program for
which heis approved by the board.

D. A temporary permit issued under this section shall
expire, and thereby become null and void and to no effect on
the date specified by such permit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1275, R.S. 37:1277, RS. 37:1281 and RS.
37:1285.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:913 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:521 (June
1990), LR 22:211 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:845 (June 2001).

8407. Permit Pending Examination Results

A. Theboard may issue an institutional temporary permit
for the sole purpose of serving in an approved medical
residency training program to a graduate of an American or
Canadian medical school or college or school of osteopathic
medicine who has taken the USMLE or COMLEX-USA
examination but whose scores have not yet been reported to
the board or who is scheduled to take the USMLE or
COMLEX -USA examination at its next administration, to be
effective pending the reporting of such scores to the board,
provided that the applicant possesses and mesets al of the
qualifications and requirements for licensure provided by
this Chapter save for having successfully passed all steps of
the USMLE or all levels of the COMLEX-USA examination
(8311.A.5), or completing the postgraduate medical training
program required by 8311.A.6, and provided further that the
applicant has not previously taken and failed to achieve a
passing score, as prescribed by 8387 of these rules, on the
USMLE, FLEX, NBME, COMLEX-USA or NBOME
examination, any component thereof, or any written
examination administered by the licensing authority of any
state.

B. The board may issue a temporary permit to an
applicant for licensure by reciprocity (88351 to 353) who is
required by 8353 to take the SPEX or a certification or
recertification examination, but who has not yet taken SPEX
or a certification or recertification examination or whose
scores have not yet been reported to the board or the
applicant, provided that the applicant possesses and meets all
of the qualifications and requirements for licensure provided
by this Chapter save for having successfully passed the
SPEX or a certification or recertification examination
(8353), and provided further that the applicant has registered
for the next available administration of the SPEX or a
certification or recertification examination and has not
previously taken and failed to achieve a passing score on
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SPEX or any portion of a certification or recertification
examination more than three times.

C. A permit issued under this section shall expire, and
thereby become null, void, and to no effect on the date that:

1. the board gives written notice to the permit holder
that he has failed to achieve a passing score on the USMLE,
COMLEX-USA or SPEX examination for which he was
registered;

2. the board gives written notice to the permit holder
pursuant to §381.C that it has probable cause to believe that
he has engaged or attempted to engage in conduct which
subverted or undermined the integrity of the examination
process,

3. the permit holder is issued a license pursuant to
8413.A or another type of permit as provided by 88397 to
405 of this Chapter; or

4. the holder of a permit issued under §407.B fails to
appear for and take the SPEX or the certification or
recertification examination for which he is registered or the
earlier of the date on which the board or the permit holder
receives notice from the entity or speciaty board
administering such examination that he has failed to achieve
a passing score on any portion of the certification or
recertification examination for which he was registered.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272, R.S. 37:1273 and R.S. 37:1275.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:521 (June
1990), LR 22:212 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:846 (June 2001).

8409. Visiting Foreign National Resident Permit
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1272 and R.S. 37:1273.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:522
(June 1990), repealed LR 22:212 (March 1996), withdrawal LR
22:280 (April 1996), repeded LR 27:846 (June 2001).

8411. Graduate Education Temporary Permit

A. In Generad. The board may issue a Graduate
Education Temporary Permit (GETP) to an international
medical graduate (a gaduate of a medical school located
outside of the United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico) for
the purpose of enrolling and participating in an accredited
program of postgraduate medical education (residency or
fellowship) at a Louisiana medical school, college, or other
accredited medical institution, upon documentation of the
qualifications, satisfaction of the procedural requirements
and compliance with the conditions and limitations
prescribed by this section.

B. Quadlifications for Permit. To be eligible for a GETP,
an international medical graduate (IMG) shall:

1. beatleast 21 years of age;

2. be a citizen of the United States or possess valid
and current legal authority to reside and work in the United
States duly issued by the commissioner of the INS of the
United States pursuant to the Immigration and Nationality
Act and the commissioner's regulation thereunder, as
evidenced by an exchange visitor (J-1), temporary worker
(H-1B) or immigrant visa, or INSCissued or approved work
permit or by a pending application for such visaor permit;



3. beof good moral character, as defined by 8303.A;

4. possess a doctor of medicine or equivalent degree
duly issued and conferred by a medical school or college
listed, at the time the degree was awarded, in the
then-current edition of the World Directory of Medical
School's published by the World Health Organi zation; and

5. possess the standard certificate of the (ECFMG),
provided it was issued on the basis of examination taken in
accordance with the standards, restrictions and limitations
prescribed by §387 of these rules; and

6. have received a written commitment from an
accredited Louisiana medical school, college, or other
accredited medical institution formally appointing the IMG
to a postgraduate medical education training program which
is conducted by such medical school, college, or other
medical institution and which is fully accredited by (and not
on probational status with) the ACGME, subject only to the
board's issuance of a GETP to the applicant; and agreeing to
furnish to the board the periodic reports required by
8411.F.2-3; and

7. satisfy the applicable fees prescribed in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

C. Procedural Requirements. An application form will be
supplied by the board only after the qualifications prescribed
by 8411.B.6 have been documented by an origina letter,
signed by the director of the postgraduate training program
of the Louisiana medical school, college, or other accredited
medical institution at which the IMG will train, certifying
that the qualifications and conditions of such subsection
have been met.

D. Restrictions and Limitations. An IMG holding a
GETP issued by the board shall not participate in
postgraduate medical training or engage in the practice of
medicine within the state of Louisiana other than as follows.

1. During the 12 months following the effective date
of an initial GETP, an IMG may participate in postgraduate
medical training and engage in the practice of medicine
solely at the principal location of the gonsoring medical
school, college, or medical institution and shall not
participate in clinical rotations to or serve at institutions at
any other location.

2. AnIMG who is enrolled and participating in a first
postgraduate year (PGY-1) medical education training
program shall not assume independent responsibility for
patient care or otherwise engage in the practice of medicine.

3. An IMG shall not engage in the practice of
medicine, or participate in any postgraduate medical training
program within the state of Louisiana, other than within the
scope of the postgraduate medical training program for
which such person has been approved by the board, nor
other than at the medical school, college, or other accredited
medical institution from which such IMG holds his or her
appointment, or at medical facilities affiliated with such
program.

4. An IMG holding a GETP shall be subject to
supervision by the supervising physicians designated by the
medical school, college, or medical institution at which the
postgraduate medical education training program is
conducted.

E Term of Permit. Each GETP issued under this Section
shall expire 12 months from the date on which it isissued. A
GETP shall also expire, and automatically become null and
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void, effective on any date that the permittee’s appointment
to the designated postgraduate training program is
terminated.

F. Renewal, Reissuance. A GETP which has expired
may be renewed or reissued by the board for one or more
successive 12-month period, provided that:

1. not later than 24 months following the effective
date of an initiadl GETP, permit holder has taken and
successfully passed Step 3 of the United States Medical
Licensing Examination (USMLE) or had previously passed
both components of the FLEX;

2. not less than five months nor more than seven
months following the effective date of an initial GETP, the
director of the postgraduate program in which the permit
holder is enrolled has submitted to the board written reports
on the IMG's performance in such program, certifying to the
board that the permit holder has performed successfully and
competently in such postgraduate program;

3. not less than two months prior to the annua
expiration of a GETP, the director of the postgraduate
program in which the permit holder is enrolled has submitted
to the board written reports on the IMG's performance in
such program, certifying to the board that:

a.  the permit holder has performed successfully and
competently in such postgraduate program;

b. the medical school, college, or other medical
ingtitution will renew the IMG's appointment for an
additional year; and

c. no grounds are known which would provide
cause for the board to refuse to renew or to revoke the
permit holder's GETP pursuant to 8411.H hereof.

G Causes for Refusal to Issue or Renew.
Notwithstanding an IMG's dligibility for a GETP, or for
renewal of a GETP, under the standards and criteria set forth
in this section, the board may nonetheless deny issuance or
renewal of a GETP for any of the causes for which it may
deny licensure under R.S. 37:1285(A) or for which it may
revoke a GETP pursuant to 8411.H.

H. Causes for Revocation. Upon prior notice and an
opportunity to be heard in accordance with the Louisiana
Administrative Procedure Act, a GETP may be revoked by
the board:

1. for any of the causes specified by R.S. 37:1285(A);

2. upon afinding by the board that the permittee has
failed to maintain, or did not possess at the time of
application, any of the qualifications requisite to eligibility
for aGETP as prescribed by this section; or

3. upon afinding by the board that the permittee has
exceeded the scope of authority accorded by the GETP or
otherwise violated any of the conditions, restrictions, and
limitations prescribed by 8411.D hereof.

I. Effect of Revocation. An IMG whose GETP has been
revoked by the board pursuant to 8411.H shall not thereafter
be eligible for a GETP or license to practice medicine in the
state of Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270(A), R.S. 37:1270(B)(6), R.S. 37:1275, R.S. 37:1277 and
R.S. 37:1281.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 21:467
(May 1995), amended LR 27:846 (June 2001).
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Subchapter |. License Issuance, Termination, Renewal
and Reinstatement
8413. Issuance of License

A. If the quaifications, requirements, and procedures
prescribed or incorporated by §311 and §313 or §323 and
§325, or 8353 are met to the satisfaction of the board, the
board shall issue to the applicant a license to engage in the
practice of medicine in the state of Louisiana.

B. A license issued under 8311 of this Chapter shall be
issued by the board within 30 days following the reporting
of the applicant's USMLE passing scores to the board or in
the case of a doctor o osteopathic medicine or doctor of
osteopathy who has successfully passed COMLEX-USA or
its predecessor, the NBOME, or any combination thereof,
but not USMLE, within 30 days following the receipt of
satisfactory documentation of the completion of a
postgraduate medical training program required under
8311A.6. A license issued under any other section of this
Chapter shall be issued by the board within 15 days
following the meeting of the board next following the date
on which the applicant's application, evidencing all requisite
qualifications, is completed in every respect.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1274.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:523 (June
1990), LR 22:212 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:848 (June 2001).

8415. Expiration of Licenses and Permits

A. Every license or permit issued by the board under this
Chapter, the expiration date of which is not stated thereon or
provided by these rules, shall annually expire and thereby
become null, void, and to no effect the following year on the
first day of the month in which the licensee was born.

B. A license issued to a doctor of osteopathic medicine
or doctor of osteopathy pursuant to successful passage of
COMLEX-USA or its predecessor, the NBOME, or any
combination thereof, and the completion of the postgraduate
medical training program under §311.A.5 and 6 shall not be
renewed after the expiration of one year from the date of
issuance unless on or before the renewal date the licensee:

1. provides evidence to the board that he has obtained
certification in a specialty by a specialty board recognized
by the ABMS; or

2. in those specialties for which certification is not
possible within a year following completion of a training
program, provides satisfactory evidence to the board that he
is progressing toward certification in a timely fashion and
has not falled any portion of the certification or
recertification examination more than three times, in which
case thelicense shall be renewed.

C. A license issued pursuant to the waiver of
qualifications provided by 8315 of this Chapter shall become
null and void on the earlier of the date prescribed by §415.A
or the date on which the physician's appointment as a
professor to the medical school or college, upon which the
waiver was granted by the board, is terminated.

D. The timely submission of a properly completed
application for renewal of a license, but not a permit, as
provided by 8417 of this Chapter, shall operate to continue
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the expiring licensing in full force and effect pending
issuance of the renewal license.

E Permits are not subject to renewal, except as
expressly provided in these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1280.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:523 (June
1990), LR 22:212 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 24:1500 (August 1998), LR 27:848 (June
2001).

8417. Renewal of License

A. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter
shall be renewed annually on or before the first day of the
month in which the licensee was born, by submitting to the
board a properly completed application for renewal, upon
forms supplied by the board, together with the renewal fees
prescribed in these rules and the Medical Practice Act, and
documentation of satisfaction of the continuing medical
education requirements prescribed by Subchapter K of these
rules.

B. An application for renewal of license form shall be
mailed by the board to each person holding a license issued
under this Chapter at least 30 days prior to the expiration of
the license each year. Such form shall be mailed to the most
recent address of each licensee as reflected in the official
records of the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8), R.S., 37:1280 and R.S. 37:1281.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:523 (June
1990), LR 24:1500 (August 1998), LR 26:695 (April 2000), LR
27:848 (June 2001).

8418. Reduced Renewal Feesfor Certain Physicians

A. The fee otherwise required for annual renewa of
licensure will be reduced by one-haf in favor of a physician
who holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine issued
by the board and who has, prior to the first day of the year
for which such renewal will be effective:

1. attained the age of 70 years;

2. voluntarily surrendered to the issuing authorities his
or her state license and federal registration to prescribe,
dispense, or administer controlled substances; and

3. made application to the board for such reduced
licensure renewal fee, upon a form supplied by the board,
verifying the conditions requisite to such reduced fee and
consenting to revocation of any license renewed pursuant to
this section upon a finding by the board that the licensee,
following issuance of licensure renewal pursuant to this
section, continued to hold, obtained, or sought to obtain state
licensure or federal registration to prescribe, dispense, or
administer controlled substances.

B. The fee otherwise required for annua renewa of
licensure will be reduced by one-haf in favor of a physician
who holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine issued
by the board and who has, prior to the first day of the year
for which such renewal will be effective:

1. ceased to engage in the practice of medicine in any
form in this state as a consequence of physical or mental
disability;



2. voluntarily surrendered to the issuing authorities his
or her state license and federal registration to prescribe,
dispense, or administer controlled substances; and

3. made application to the board for such reduced
licensure renewal fee, upon a form supplied by the board,
verifying the conditions requisite to such reduced fee,
including independent physician verification of the
applicant's physical or mental disability, and consenting to
revocation of any license renewed pursuant to this section
upon a finding by the board that the licensee, following
issuance of licensure renewal pursuant to this section,
engaged or sought to engage in any manner in the practice of
medicine in this state or continued to hold, obtained, or
sought to obtain state licensure or federal registration to
prescribe, dispense, or administer controlled substances.

C. A physician whose medica license is renewed
pursuant to this section shall not thereafter engage or seek to
engage in the active practice of medicine in this state or to
prescribe, dispense, or administer controlled substances or
other prescription medications except upon prior application
to and approval by the board, which, in its discretion, as a
condition to reinstatement of full licensure, may require that:

1. the physician take and successfully pass al or a
designated portion of the USMLE or SPEX examination;
and/or

2. the physician provide medical documentation
satisfactory to the board that the physician is then physically
and mentally capable of practicing medicine with reasonable
skill and safety to patients.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1280 and R.S. 37:1281.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:523
(June 1990), LR 22:213 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280
(April 1996), repromulgated LR 27:848 (June 2001).

8419. Reinstatement of Expired License

A. A license which has expired may be reinstated by the
board subject to the conditions and procedures hereinafter
provided, provided that application for reinstatement is made
within four years of the date of expiration. A physician
whose license has lapsed and expired for a period in excess
of four years or who is otherwise ineligible for reinstatement
under this section may apply to the board for an initial
original or reciprocal license pursuant to the applicable rules
of this Chapter.

B. An applicant seeking reinstatement more than one
year from the date on which his license expired shall
demonstrate, as a condition of reinstatement, satisfaction of
the continuing medical education requirements of .433-.449
of Subchapter K of these rulesfor each year since the date of
the expiration of licensure. As additional conditions of
reinstatement the board may require:

1. that the applicant complete a statistical affidavit,
upon a form supplied by the board, and provide the board
with arecent photograph;

2. that the applicant possess a current, unrestricted
license issued by another state; and/or

3. if the applicant does not at the time of the
application for reinstatement possess a current, unrestricted
license issued by another state, that the gplicant take and
successfully pass:

a al or a designated portion of the USMLE or
SPEX examination; or
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b. a written certification or recertification
examination by a specialty board recognized by the ABMS.

C. An applicant whose medical license has been
revoked, suspended, or placed on probation by the licensing
authority of another state or who has voluntarily or
involuntarily — surrendered his medica license in
consideration of the dismissal or discontinuance of pending
or threatened administrative or criminal charges, following
the date on which his Louisiana medical license expired,
shall be deemed ineligible for reinstatement of licensure.

D. An application for reinstatement of licensure meeting
the requirements and conditions of this section may
nonetheless be denied for any of the causes for which an
application for original licensure may be refused by the
board as specified in R.S. 37:1285.

E An application for reinstatement shall be made upon
forms supplied by the board and accompanied by two letters
of character recommendation from reputable physicians of
the former licensee's last professional location, together with
the applicable renewal fees prescribed in these rules and the
Medical Practice Act, plus apenalty computed as follows.

1. If the application for reinstatement is made less
than two years from the date of license expiration, the
penalty shall be equal to the renewal fee.

2. If the application for reinstatement is made more
than two years but less than three years from the date of
license expiration, the penalty shall be equal to twice the
renewal fee.

3. If the application for reinstatement is made more
than three years from the date of license expiration, the
penalty shall be equal to three timesthe renewal fee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medica Examiners, LR
10:914 (November 1984), amended LR 14:86 (February 1988),
amended by the Department of Heath and Hospitals, Board of
Medical Examiners, LR 16:524 (June 1990), LR 22:213 (March
1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April 1996), amended LR 24:1500
(August 1998), LR 26:695 (April 2000), LR 27:849 (June 2001).
Subchapter J. Postgraduate Year One (Internship)

Registration
8425. Necessity for Registration

A. As used in this section, postgraduate year one
(PGY-1) or internship means the first year of postgraduate
training following graduation from a medical school or
college (whether alopathic or osteopathic) approved by the
board. For purposes of this section PGY-1 includes only the
first year of any such training following graduation from a
medical school or college and does not include training
which may be designated PGY-1 level subsequent to prior
training at such level in any specialty, field, or program.

B. No person who does not possess a license or permit
issued under this Chapter shall enroll or participate in a
PGY-1 medical educational program, or internship, unless he
is duly registered with the board pursuant to this Subchapter.

C. Notwithstanding registration under this Subchapter,
no person who does not possess a license or permit issued
under this Chapter shall enroll or participate in a first year
postgraduate medical educational program, an internship, or
any other program howsoever designated or whenever taken,
which permits or requires such persons to exercise
independent medical judgment, assume independent
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responsibility for patient care, or otherwise to engage in the
practice of medicine.

D. Upon afinding that a person or registrant has violated
the proscriptions of this section, the board may:

1. suspend or revoke such person's registration under
this Subchapter or impose probationary conditions thereon;

2. consider and declare such person or registrant
ineligible for a medical license or permit under this Chapter;
and/or

3. causetheinstitution of judicial proceedings against
such person for injunctive relief, costs, and attorneys fees,
pursuant to R.S. 37:1286.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:914 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medica Examiners, LR 16:524 (June
1990), LR 22:214 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:849 (June 2001).

8427. Qualificationsfor Registration

A. To be dligible for registration under this Subchapter,
an applicant shall possess al of the substantive
qualifications for licensure specified by 8311.A.1-4 and shall
be a graduate of an approved American or Canadian medical
school or college (whether allopathic or osteopathic).

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the
qualifications and eligibility of the applicant for registration
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the
manner prescribed by, and to the satisfaction of, the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:915 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:524 (June
1990), LR 27:850 (June 2001).

8429. Procedural Requirements

A. In addition to the substantive qualifications specified
in 8427, to be eligible for registration under this Subchapter,
an applicant shall:

1. submit to the board a completed application, upon
forms supplied by the board, subscribed by the applicant and
by the administrator or chief executive officer of the hospital
or medical institution in which the postgraduate program is
to be conducted, accompanied by a recent photograph of the
applicant;

2. make a persona appearance, by appointment,
before a member of the board or its designee, or at the office
of the board before its designated officer, and present
evidence of the qualifications specified by 8§427; provided,
however, that en applicant who has completed his medical
(whether allopathic or osteopathic) education but who does
not yet possess a degree as required by 8311.A.4 may be
deemed eligible for registration upon submission to the
board of a letter subscribed by the dean of an approved
medical school or college (whether allopathic or
osteopathic), certifying that the applicant has completed his
academic and medical education at such school or college,
that the applicant is a candidate for the degree of doctor of
medicine or doctor of osteopathic medicine or doctor of
osteopathy at the next scheduled convocation of such school
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or college, and specifying the date on which such degree will
be awarded; and

3. pay the applicable fees, as provided in these rules
and the Medical Practice Act.

B. All documents required to be submitted to the board
must be the origina thereof. For good cause shown, the
board may waive or modify this requirement.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:915 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:525 (June
1990), LR 27:850 (June 2001).

8431. Issuanceand Term of Registration

A. If the qudlifications, requirements, and procedures
prescribed or incorporated by §427 and §429 are met to the
satisfaction of the board, the board shall issue a certificate to
the applicant evidencing his registration under this
Subchapter for enrollment and participation in a first year
postgraduate (internship) program in the state of Louisiana.

B. Registration issued under this Subchapter shall be
effective on and as of the date on which an applicant’s
postgraduate medical education program isto commence.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
10:915 (November 1984), amended by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:525 (June
1990), LR 22:214 (March 1996), withdrawal LR 22:280 (April
1996), amended LR 27:850 (June 2001).

Subchapter K. Continuing Medical Education
8449. CME Requirement for Initial Renewal of
License

A.-D. ...

E The requirements prescribed by §449.A shall not be
applicable to a physician who at the time of the initial
renewal of medical licensure resides and practices medicine
in another state; provided, however, that such physician shall
notify the board in the event that he should return to
Louisiana for the purpose of residing or practicing medicine
in this state and shall satisfy such requirements prior to the
next renewal of licensure or as otherwise directed by the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in a&cordance with R.S.
37:1270, 37:1270(A)(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 26:697
(April 2000), amended LR 27:850 (June 2001).

Chapter 11.  License Reinstatement
Repealed

AUTHORITY NOTE Promulgated in accordance with
37:1270.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR
14:86 (February 1988), repealed by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 27:850 (June 2001).

Virginia G. Benoist
Executive Director
0106#015



RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Nursing

Nursing Education Programs
(LAC 46:XLVII.Chapter 35)

Editor's Note: This Rule is being repromulgated to correct a
clerical eror upon submission. This Rule was originaly
published in the December 2000 issue on pages 2789- 2792.

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., that the Board of Nursing
(board) pursuant to the authority vested in the board by R.S.
37:918, R.S. 37:919 has amended the Professional and
Occupational Standards pertaining to Nursing Education
Programs.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLVII. Nurses
Subpart 2. Registered Nurses
Chapter 35.  Nursing Education Programs
83503. Definitions

* * %

Distance EducationCteaching learning strategies to meet
the needs of students who are physically separated from the
faculty.

Distance Education TechnologyCthe methods and
technical support used to teach students who may be
physically distant from the faculty. The methods may
include audio conference, compressed video, electronic mail,
and the World Wide Web.

* % %

GoalsCthe aims of the program including the expected
competencies of the graduate.

Major Change in CurriculumCany one of the following
shall be deemed to constitute amajor change in curriculum:

1. adteration, other than editorial, in program's
mission/philosophy and goals:

* k *

Nursing Education ProgramCa program whose purpose is
to prepare graduates eligible to apply to write the registered
nurse licensing examination.

1 ..

2. BaccalaureateCa program leading to a bachelor's
degree in nursing conducted by an educational unit,
department, division, college or school, that is an integra
part of acollege or university.

3 ..

ObjectivesCthe behavioral expectations of the studentsin
courses and throughout the program that lead to the goals of
the program.

* k *

Preceptorship ExperienceCan individualized teaching-
learning strategy in which a nursing student participates in
clinical nursing practice while assigned to a preceptor.

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:913 and R.S. 37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:184 (April
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1977), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board

of Nursing, LR 17:1208 (December 1991), LR 24:1293 (July

1998), LR 26:2789 (December 2000), repromulgated by the

Department of Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing,

LR 27:851 (June 2001).

§3511. Standardsand Requirementsfor Nursing
Education Program: Mission/Philosophy and
Goals

A. The nursing education program shall have a clear
statement of mission/philosophy, consistent with the mission
of the parent institution and congruent with current concepts
in nursing education.

B. Theprogram shall use anidentified set of professional
standards congruent with the mission/philosophy and from
which the goals are developed. The standards shall be
consistent with the Legal Standards of Nursing Practice,
LAC 46:XLV11.3900.

C. Expected competencies of the graduate shall be
clearly delineated.

D. Distance education programming is consistent with
the mission and goals of the nursing unit and the governing
organization.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:185 (April
1977), amended LR 10:1024 (December 1984), promulgated by the
Department of Heath and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR
19:1146 (September 1993), LR 26:2789 (December 2000),
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Human Resources,
Board of Nursing, LR 27:851 (June 2001).

83515. Faculty and Faculty Organization

A.-B.1l. ..

2. The program head of a baccalaureate program shall
hold a minimum of bachelor's and master's degrees in
nursing, or its equivalent, and an earned doctorate, and shall
have a minimum of three years experience in the areas of
nursing education and three yearsin clinical practice.

3. The progran head of an associate degree or
diploma program shall hold a minimum of bachelor's and
master’s degrees in nursing and shall have a minimum of
three years experience in the areas of nursing education and
threeyearsin clinical practice.

4. The nurse faculty shall hold bachelor’s and master’s
degrees in nursing. Requests for academic equivalency shall
be approved on an individua basis (see LAC
46:XLVI1.3515.B.6 for related standard).

5. Nursefaculty shall have a minimum of two years of
nursing practice as a registered nurse in a clinical setting
prior to their appointment.

6. Nurse faculty shall maintain current knowledge and
skills in areas of responsibility and provide documentation
of same.

7. Exceptions to the academic qualifications for nurse
faculty shall be justified and approved under board-
established guidelines. Such exceptions, if granted by the
board shall be:

a baccalaureate in nursing prepared individuals
who are not enrolled in a masters in nursing program are
limited to a maximum of one calendar year;

b. baccalaureate in nursing prepared individuals
who are enrolled in a masters' in nursing program shall be
approved annually on an individual basis in accordance with
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current board guidelines. Exceptions may be granted to each
individual for a maximum of three calendar years.

8. The number of faculty exceptions shall not exceed
twenty percent of the number of full-time nurse faculty
employed (not FTE) in the program.

c.-J ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:186 (April
1977), amended LR 10:1025 (December 1984), LR 12:678
(October 1986), promulgated by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 19:1147 (September 1993), LR
26:2789 (December 2000), repromulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 27:851 (June
2001).

§3517. Student Selection and Guidance

A.-F ..

G Students shall be provided goportunity for input into
the program.

H-1. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:187 (April
1977), amended LR 10:1025 (December 1984), amended by the
Department of Hedth and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR
19:1147 (September 1993), LR 23:962 (August 1997), LR 24:1293
(July 1998), LR 26:2790 (December 2000), repromulgated by the
Department of Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing,
LR 27:852 (June 2001).

83519. Facilities, Resources, Services

A.-D.

E Nursing library resources shall be comprehensive,
current and accessible.

F-G ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:187 (April
1977), amended LR 10:1025 (December 1984), promulgated by the
Department of Hedlth and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR
19:1147 (September 1993), LR 26:2790 (December 2000),
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Human Resources,
Board of Nursing, LR 27:852 (June 2001).

83521. Curriculum

A. The faculty shall periodically review, evaluate and
revise as appropriate the mission philosophy, and goals of
the program.

B. The nission/philosophy and goals shall be used by
the faculty in planning, implementing and evaluating the
total program.

C. The goals shall be consistent with the mission and
describe the cognitive, affective and psychomotor
capabilities of the graduate.

D. The curriculum shall include, but not be limited to,
content from the behavioral, biological, mathematical,
nursing and physical sciences.

E  Opportunities shall be provided for the application of
the nursing process throughout the curriculum and in a
variety of settings.

F. Course objectives and content shall reflect society's
concern with the bioethical and legal parameters of health
care and professional practice.

Louisiana Register Vol. 27, No. 06 June 20, 2001

852

G.1. The nursing courses shall provide for classroom and
clinical laboratory instruction that shall be under the
supervision of afaculty member of the nursing program.

2. Provision shal be made for learning experiences
with clients having nursing care needs in all age groups and
stages of the health-illness continuum as appropriate to the
role expectations of the graduate.

H. Provision shall be made for the development of other
knowledge and skills as deemed necessary by the faculty and
as appropriate to the role expectations of the graduate.

I. The curriculum shal be arranged to provide
opportunities for upward career mobility for students who
have completed other nursing programs and have met
appropriate requirements for licensure.

1. Mechanisms for the recognition of prior learning
and advanced placement in the curriculum shall bein place.

2. Any formalized agreements between programs to
facilitate the transfer of credit between nursing programs
shall beidentified and described.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:188 (April
1977), amended LR 10:1026 (December 1984), promulgated by the
Department of Hedth and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR
19:1148 (September 1993), LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2790
(December 2000), repromulgated by the Department of Health and
Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 27:852 (June 2001).
83523. Program Evaluation

A L.
1. mission/philosophy, outcomes of the curriculum;
2.-4. ..
5. faculty evaluations of students;
6. ...
7. follow-up studies of the graduates;
8. employment functioning of the graduates; and
9. evaluation of faculty performance.
B

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:188 (April
1977) amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board
of Nursing, LR 15:1081 (December 1989), LR 19:1148 (September
1993), LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2790 (December 2000),
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Human Resources,
Board of Nursing, LR 27:852 (June 2001).

83529. Selection and Use of Clinical Facilities

A. Hospitals used for clinical experiences shall be
licensed by the state of Louisiana and certified by the Health
Care Financing Administration (HCFA). In addition,
hospitals should be accredited by the Joint Commission of
Accredited Health Organizations (JCAHO). Other health
care agencies shal be accredited or approved by a
recognized accrediting or approving agency as appropriate.

B.-D. ...

E Thefacility shall have:

1. awritten mission/philosophy of patient/client care
which gives direction to nursing care;
2. registered nurses to insure the safe care of patient
and to serve as role models for students;
3.-13....
F.



AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated n accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:189 (April
1977), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, LR
16:133 (February 1990), LR 19:1149 (September 1993), LR
26:2791 (December 2000), repromulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 27:852 (June
2001).

§3533. Procedure for Establishing a New Program

A.-B.5.

a.  mission/philosophy and goals;

Bb5.c.-E2 ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 3:190 (April
1977), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board
of Nursing, LR 14:532 (August 1988), LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR
26:2791 (December 2000), repromulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 27:853 (June
2001).

§3534. Procedure for Restructuring an Existing
Program Into/Within Higher Education

A.-C5.

a mission/philosophy and goals;

C5b.-F3

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 16:690 (August 1990),
amended LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2791 (December 2000),
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Human Resources,
Board of Nursing, LR 27:853 (June 2001).

§3536. Approval for Nursing Education Programs
whose Administrative Control isLocated in
Another State Offering Programs, Cour ses,
and/or Clinical Experiencein Louisiana

A.-B.1d.

ii. acopy of the mission/philosophy and goals;

B.1.d.iii.-6. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Hedlth and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 19:1145 (September
1993), amended LR 23:962 (August 1997), LR 24:1293 (July
1998), LR 26:2791 (December 2000), repromulgated by the
Department of Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing,
LR 27:853 (June 2001).

§3537. Procedure for Proposed Major Changein
Curriculum

A. A nursing education program proposing a major
curriculum change shall submit to the board, six months
prior to date of implementation, the following:

1-2

3. mission/philosophy, goals, course objectives and
course outlines;

4.-7. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 10:1028
(December 1984), amended by the Department of Health and
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Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 19:1150 (September 1993), LR

24:1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2791 (December 2000), repromulgated

by the Department of Health and Human Resources, Board of

Nursing, LR 27:853 (June 2001).

83539. Procedure for Submitting Required For msand
Reports

A.-B.2a ...

b. A "community-based agency review form" shall
be submitted by the nursing education program to the board
describing facilities in which a student receives less than 10
percent of the total clinical experience in a given course.
Thisform will be incorporated in the Annual Report.

3. Any program required to submit a National League
for Nursing Accrediting Commission or a Council for
Collegiate Nursing Education Interim Report shall submit a
copy of the report to the board.

cC.-Cc2. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 10:1028
(December 1984), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 19:1150 (September 1993), LR
21:803 (August 1995), LR 24:1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2791
(December 2000), repromulgated by the Department of Health and
Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 27:853 (June 2001).
8§3541. Preceptorship Learning Experiences

A.-F ..

G The faculty member shall confer with each preceptor
and student at least once during each daily learning
experience.

H. -1

J.  There shall be one preceptor for each student.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Headth and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 10:1028
(December 1984), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 17:1207 (December 1991), LR
24:1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2791 (December 2000), repromulgated
by the Department of Health and Human Resources, Board of
Nursing, LR 27:853 (June 2001).

§3542. Community-Based L earning Experiences

A.-GA ..

5. The faculty member shall confer with each
preceptor and student(s) at least weekly during said learning
experience.

6. ...

7. There shal be no more than three students per
preceptor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 21:803
(August 1995), amended by the Department of Hedlth and
Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 24: 1293 (July 1998), LR 26:2791
(December 2000), repromulgated by the Department of Health and
Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 27:853 (June 2001).

Barbara L. Morvant

Executive Director
0106#050
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RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities

Programmatic Standards
(LAC 48:1X.107)

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities has amended
provisions of LAC 48:1X.107, Programmatic Standards.
These revisions concern current licensing requirements of
the U.S. Department of Labor’'s Wage and Hour Division for
re-certification of specia minimum wage contracts for
contracted vocational and habilitative service settings. In
addition, Chapter 1's existing provision regarding Louisiana
Workers' Compensation regulations has been amended.
These actions are under the authority of R.S. 28:380 et seq.
and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTHC GENERAL
Part I X. Mental Retardation/Developmental
Disabilities Services

Chapter 1. Contracted Vocational and Habilitative
Services
8107. Programmatic Standards
A.- D3
E Work
1-3

4. (MS) All agencies receiving funding under this
contract will comply with United States Department of
Labor's Fair Labor Standards Act, whether or not the work
performed is covered by the Department of Labor
regulations, and, where applicable, by the United State
Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Regulations, Part
525, Employment of Workers with Disabilities under Special
Certificates. By contracting to provide vocational and
habilitative services all agencies receiving funding under this
contract acknowledge familiarity with, and will abide by, all
applicable state and federal regulations pertinent to
employment of workers with disabilities under special
certificates, including but not limited to U. S. Department of
Labor, Part 525.

5. (MS) The agency prepares a handbook, which is
reviewed annually, updated as needed and distributed to all
consumers, stating:

a. the conditions, benefits and responsibilities of the
organization and the persons served,;
b. fringe benefits;
wage payment practices;
work rules;
nondiscrimination provisions;
grievance and appeal procedures for consumers,
g. an explanation of the means used by the
organization to preserve human rights and the mechanism by
which the person has access to that system,;
h. the availability of cmmunity-based job training
and placement services.

6. (MS) Wage payments are based on a system of
individual performance rather than pooled and/or group
wage payments.

-0 a0
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7. (MS) Wage payments are monetary in nature, paid
by check in the individual’s name and not paymentsin-kind.

8. (MS) The pay period does not exceed 31 calendar
days.

9. (MS) Each person receives a written statement for
each pay period indicating gross pay, hours worked,
deductions, and net pay.

10. (MS) Wages may not be withheld or delayed for
disciplinary reasons or because they are contingent upon
subsequent sales or payments to the organization.

11. (MS) Contractors providing employment shall
comply with R.S. 23:1168, Ways of Securing Compensation
to Employees. By contracting to provide vocational and
habilitative services all agencies receiving funding under this
contract acknowledge familiarity with, and will abide by, all
applicable state and federal regulations pertinent to
providing workers compensation or similar insurance to
employees, including but not limited to R.S. 23:1168.

12. (QI) All consumers have equal opportunity to use
equipment within the provisions of safety standards,
production schedules and the physical abilities of the
individual. (This appliesto facility-based services only.)

13. (MS) Provisions for meeting safety standards apply
uniformly to all persons employed by the agency.

14. (Ql) As a part of reasonable accommodation,
modified equipment, fixtures, and other techniques are used
as necessary to increase the individual’ s productivity rate.

15. (MS) The agency accesses funding from Louisiana
Rehabilitation Services for job development, placement,
intensive training, and job modifications and adaptations at
thejob site.

16. (MS) The resources/supports available from
parents, friends, co-workers, guardians, advocates, case
managers, residential providers (i.e., supported living, SFC
parents) and others, as determined by the consumer are
considered in the coordination of supported employment
services.

17. (MS) There are provisions for extended services
which include:

a aminimum of two visits per month at the job site
to assess the individual’s job performance both by direct
observation and discussion with the consumer’s co-workers
and supervisors. In the case where the consumer and/or the
job coach believes it is more appropriate to meet the
consumer off the job site to assess the employment situation,
the job coach must still contact the employment site to
assess job performance;

b. periodicretraining;

c. job  modifications needed to
employment, when not available through LRS; and

d. provision or identification of other supports
needed to maintain employment.

18. (MS) When an Interdisciplinary Team determines
that formal (agency-provided) extended services are not
necessary for the continued maintenance of a consumer’s
employment, the agency shall:

a. initiate separation from OCDD services per the
discharge policy;

b. provide a written description of the employer
and/or generic supports that are available to the individual.

maintain



19. (MS) A separation report is completed when a
person receiving agency provided extended services leaves
any community job. The report documents:

a. dateof separation;
b. reason(s) for separation; and
c. recommendations for future employment or other

services.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

28:380 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Heath and Human Resources, Office of Menta

Retardation/Developmenta Disabilities, LR 13:246 (April 1987),
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 21:691 (July 1995),
LR 27:854 (June 2001).

David W. Hood

Secretary
0106#044

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Public Health

Sanitary CodeCCommercial Seafood Inspection Program
(Chapter IX)

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et seq., the Department of Health and Hospitals,
Office of Public Health, pursuant to the authority in R.S.
40:5, has amended Chapter X, Section 9:052-1-C, 9:052-2-
B, 9:052-2-C and 9:052-3-E of the Louisiana State Sanitary
Code.

The revisionsto Chapter 1X are asfollows.

9:052-1 Refrigeration Requirementsfor Shell Stock
Harvested for Raw Consumption During the
Months of April through October

C. Water Temperature: >84°FC Shell-stock shall be placed
under mechanical refrigeration at an air temperature not to
exceed 45F within 10 hours from the time harvesting
begins.

Delete the following paragraph.

A Harvester-Dealer Time/Temperature Log Sheet shall be
completed by both the harvester and first certified dealer to
document compliance with time to refrigeration
reguirements during the April through October time period.
log sheets shall be maintained for a period of one year and
made readily available for inspection by agents of the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
log sheets for the current and previous 15 days shall be kept
aboard the harvest vessel for immediate examination.
9:052-2 Refrigeration Requirementsfor Shell Stock

Harvested for Shucking by a Certified Dealer
During the Months of April through October

B. Delete sectioninitsentirety.

Re-number item C to B and retain the same language.

Amend 9:052-3-E, asfollows.

E A Harvester-Dealer Time/Temperature Log Sheet
shall be completed by both the harvester and first certified
dealer to document compliance with time to refrigeration
reguirements during the months January through December.
Log sheets shall be maintained for a period of one year and
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made readily available for inspection by agents of the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Log sheets for the current and previous 15 days shall be kept
aboard the harvest vessel for immediate examination.

The requirement for a Harvest-Dealer Time/Temperature
Log Sheet will not apply to the West Cove Conditional
Management Area or the Lower Calcasieu Lake Conditional
Management Areawhich are located in Cameron Parish.

Alternate designs for the Harvester-Dealer
Time/Temperature Log Sheet as depicted in Table | may be
submitted for consideration and approval to the Office of
Public Health.

David W. Hood

Secretary
0106#042

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Durable Medical Equipment ProgramCAugmentative and
Alternative Communication Devices

Rule

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the
August 20, 2000 Rule to provide the following clarifications
for recipient criteria and prior authorization of augmentative
and alternative communication devices.

..

Il. Recipient Criteria

Al -2 ..

B.1. An assessment, or evaluation, of the individual’s
functioning and communication limitations that preclude or
interfere with meaningful participation in current and
projected daily activities must be completed by a speech-
language pathologist with input from other hedth
professionals, (e.g., occupational  therapists and
rehabilitation engineers) based on the recommendation of
the speech language pathologist and a physician’s
prescription, as appropriate.

Note: Medicaid provides

assessments/eval uations

B.2.-D.:2

D.3.a whether there have been any significant changes
in the sensory status (e.g., vision, hearing, tactil€); postural,
mobility or motor status; speech, language, and expressive
communication status; or any other communication need or
limitation of the recipient as described in B.3.b - g, and j;
and

D.3b.-E1. ..

E.l.a requests for modification or replacement of
AAC devices and/or accessories may be considered for
coverage after the expiration of three or more years from the
date of purchase of the current device and accessories in use,
except asstatedinI1.E.1.d and I1.E.1.e.i.

E.lb.- E1f....

I11. Prior Authorization

A.

reimbursement for AAC
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B. Medicaid will not consider purchase of an AAC
device when an alternative means of funding through
another agency or other source (eg., Louisiana
Rehabilitation Services, school systems, private insurance,
etc.) is avalable for the recipient. All reguests should
indicate the availability, or lack of availability, of purchase
through other funding sources.

Note: AAC devices may be covered through the Durable

Medical Equipment (DME) Program with prior authorization

for Medicaid recipientsresiding in nursing homes (ICF I, 11 &

SNF).
C.-C.b.ii.
David W. Hood
Secretary
0106#047
RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Inpatient Hospital Services Extensions and Retrospective
Reviews of Length of Stay

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title X1X of the
Socia Security Act. This Rule is adopted in accordance with
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seg.

Rule

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the
June 20, 1994 Rule to clarify the time frame for requesting
an extension of the length of stay. In addition, the bureau
amends the rule to clarify the criteria and time frame
requirements for requesting a retrospective review for
admission certification and length of stay assignment. An
extension must be requested no later than the expected day
of discharge. If the expected day of discharge is on a
weekend or holiday, the extension must be requested by the
next business day. A hospital may request a retrospective
review for Medicaid reimbursement of inpatient hospital
servicesin only two situations:

1) retroactive eligibility of the recipient; and

2) a dualy €ligible recipient has exhausted hisher
Medicare Part A benefits. In the case of a recipient’'s
retroactive eligibility, providers have up to one year from the
date that the recipient was added to the eligibility file to
request aretrospective review. In the case where arecipient’s
Medicare Part A benefits have been exhausted, providers
have up to 60 days from the date of the Medicare
Explanation of Benefits (EOB) verifying that Medicare Part
A benefits have been exhausted to request retrospective
review. The two year timely filing requirement for filing
claimsis still applicable for retrospective reviews.

David W. Hood

Secretary
0106#048
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RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Mental Health Rehabilitation ProgramCStaffing Definitions

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the
following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the
Socia Security Act. This Rule is adopted in accordance with
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

Rule

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the
February 20, 1998 Rule to revise the administrative
requirements for clinical managers and the staffing
requirements for licensed professional counselors, mental
health specialists and mental health assistants.

I -1l

I11. Administrative Requirements

A.-B2 ..

B.3. The clinical manager must ensure that the MHR
agency staff makes at least two documented contacts with
other community services providers or significant others
each month regarding each recipient. Results of the staff
contacts shall be addressed by the clinical manager in the
quarterly progress notes.

B.4.- C5.d.(2) ..

e. alicensed professional counselor is defined as an
individual who is licensed as such under the provisions of
R.S. 37:1101-1115 and has at least two years post-master's
supervised experience delivering services in a mental health
related field.

f.(D)- 2 ..

g. Mental Health Specialist (MHSCa Menta
Health Specidist is defined as an individua who is
supervised by a Licensed Mental Health Professional o
Mental Health Professional and meets one or more of the
following four criteria:

(1) hasabachelor of arts degree in a mental health
related field; or
(2) has a bachelor of science degree in a menta
health related field; or
(3) has abachelor’'s degree and is a college student
pursuing a graduate degree in a mental health related field
and has completed at least two courses in that identified
field; or
(4) hasahigh school diplomaor a GED; and
(@) has four years experience providing direct
services in a mental health, physical health, socia services,
education or correctional setting; or
(b) has two years experience as a mental health
assistant in amental health rehabilitation setting.

h. Mental Health Assistant (MHA)Ca Mental Health
Assistant is defined as an individua who is closely
supervised, monitored and trained by a Licensed Mental
Health Professional or a Mental Health Professional and
meets one or more of the following three criteria:



(1) hasahigh school diplomaor GED; or

(2) has a one-year documented history of serious
mental illness or an emotional/behavioral disorder as
determined by the Office of Mental Health; or

(3) has a two-year documented history as the
parent of a child diagnosed with an emotional/behavioral
disorder or serious mental illness.

11.C.i. - VIII.
David W. Hood
Secretary
0106#049
RULE

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Office of the Fire Marshal

National Fire Protection Code 101 (LAC 55:V.103)

This Rule supplants the 1997 Edition of the National Fire
Protection Association National Fire Protection Code 101 for
Safety to Life from Fire in buildings and Structures (NFPA
Life Safety Code) with the 2000 Edition of the NFPA Life
Safety Code for all purposes.

Title55
PUBLIC SAFETY
Part V. FireProtection
Chapter 1. Preliminary Provisions
8103. General Provisions
A.

* % %

Code for Sefety to Life from Firein

NFPA 101 2000 Edition

Buildings and Structures

* * %

B. All inspections of buildings constructed or remodel ed
pursuant to plans submitted to the Office of State Fire
Marshal after 12:01 am. on July 1, 2001, shal be made
using construction requirements set forth in the 2000 Edition
of the Life Safety Code of the National Fire Protection
Association and Section 412C Special Provisions for High-
RiseBuildings published in the 1994 Edition of the Standard
Building Code of the Southern Building Code Congress
International, Inc. All references to performance based
criteriain the 2000 Edition of the Life Safety Code shall only
be considered by the Office of State Fire Marshal after an
appeal of a decision has been timely made. All inspections
of buildings constructed or remodeled pursuant to plans
submitted to the Office of State Fire Marsha after May 31,
1998, and prior to 12:01 am. on July 1, 2001, shall be made
using construction requirements set forth in the 1997 Edition
of the Life Safety Code of the National Fire Protection
Association and Section 412C Special Provisions for High-
Rise Buildings published in the 1994 Edition of the Standard
Building Code of the Southern Building Code Congress
International, Inc.

C.-J ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1578.6 and R.S. 40:1561(B).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety. Office of Fire Protection. LR 1:145 (February 1975),
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LR 5:468 (December 1979), LR 6:71 (February 1980), amended by
the Office of the State Fire Marshal. LR 7:588 (November 1981),
amended LR 9:417 (June 1983), amended by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections. Office of the StateFire Marshal. LR
15:96 (February 1989), LR 17:1114 (November 1991), LR 23:1688
(December 1997), LR 27:857 (June 2001).

Jerry W. Jones

Undersecretary
0106#034

RULE

Department of Public Safety
Office of State Police

Hazardous Material Information Developrrent,
Preparedness and Response Act
(LAC 33:V.Chapter 101)

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq. and
R.S. 30:2361 et seq. hereby amends LAC 33:V.Chapter 101,
the rules concerning Hazardous Materia Information
Development, Preparedness and Response Act.

Title33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part V. Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials
Subpart 2. Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Hazardous Materials
Chapter 101. Hazardous Material Information
Development, Prepar edness, and
Response Act
810101. Declaration of Authority, Background, Policy
and Purpose

A. Thefollowing rules are hereby promulgated pursuant
to the authority provided in R.S. 30:2361-2380 regarding the
Hazardous Material Information Development,
Preparedness, and Response Act.

B. ThisAct was originally passed as Act 435 of the 1985
Legislative Session to implement the state's first "Right-to-
Know" law. In 1986 the United States Congress passed the
Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA).
Title 111 of SARA required, among other things, that the
governor of each state appoint an Emergency Response
Commission.

C. Compliance with Louisiana's Right-to-Know law will
attain compliance with SARA, TitlelIl.

D. It should be noted that the Louisiana Emergency
Response Commission, operating within the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, is the primary entity to which
SARA, Title Il communications are made. Copies of annual
inventory forms must also be submitted to the local
emergency planning committee in the parish where a facility
is located and to the local fire department having jurisdiction
over thefacility.

E Since the chemical lists, release reportable quantities
and threshold (inventory) quantities (TQ) in the federal
regulation are subject to change, facility owners/operators
should refer to the Federal Register and the Code of Federal
Regulations in addition to the Louisiana regulations to
determine current reporting requirements before submitting
their annual inventory forms and emergency release
notifications.
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F. It is the purpose of these rules to implement the
information system conceived of in the state's original Right-
to-Know law by providing the citizens of this state, as well
as emergency response personnel, with data on hazardous
material storage necessary to make educated and responsible
decisions.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:758
(December 1987), LR 14:801 (November 1988), LR 16:974
(November 1990), LR 27:857 (June 2001).

§10103. Scope

A. Theserulesapply to the following:

1. any facility which manufactures, handles, uses, or
stores any hazardous material(s) in excess of the threshold
inventory quantity; and

2. any facility, transportation-related operation, or
transport vehicle from which areportable release occurs; and

3. al surface and subsurface related modes of
hazardous materials transportation including but not limited
to al water (vessels and barges), air, highway, rail and
pipeline operations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:759
(December 1987), repromulgated LR 14:801 (November 1988), LR
27:858 (June 2001).

810105. Definitions

A. Thefollowing terms as used in this Chapter shall have
the following meanings.

CommissionCthe Louisiana Emergency Response
Commission appointed by the governor to implement the
mandates of the Superfund Amendments and
Reauthorization Act passed by the U.S. Congress in 1986.
This commission is created within the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services.

DepartmentCthe Department of Public Safety and
Corrections.

Deputy SecretaryCthe deputy secretary for the Office of
Public Safety Srvices in the Department of Public Safety
and Corrections.

EnvironmentCincludes water, air, and land and the
interrelationship which exists among and between water, air,
and land and all living things.

Escape Beyond FacilityCfor the purposes of release
reporting arelease is considered off-site when the hazardous
material or hazardous substance is released into the air or
into any water, drainage ditch or canal such that the released
hazardous material or hazardous substance could reasonably
be expected to escape the confinement of the facility or to an
areawhich the general public has unrestricted access.

Extremely Hazardous Substance (EHS)Ca hazardous
substance listed by the United States Environmental
Protection Agency (U.SEPA) in 40 CFR ,Part 355,
Appendix A ( the list of Extremely Hazardous Substances
and their Threshold Planning Quantities ) and subject to the
emergency planning, release reporting and MSDS filing, and
inventory filing requirements of SARA, Titlelll.

FacilityCthe physical premises used by the owner or
operator in which the hazardous materials are manufactured,
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used, or stored. A natural gas pipeline shall not be classified
as acompressed natural gasfacility.

Hazardous MaterialCany substance deemed a
hazardous material or a hazardous substance, and included
on alist adopted by rule by the deputy secretary to include
those materials deemed hazardous under the Comprehensive
Environmental Response Compensation Liability Act
(CERCLA), the Superfund Amendments  and
Reauthorization Act ( SARA, Title I1I, U.S.C.), and certain
substances included in the most recent United States
Department of Transportation regulations as found in
49CFR, Part 172.101. Hazardous material also means any
substance designated by the deputy secretary in these rules
which meets criteria established for adding other materialsto
the list. This term shall mean and include hazardous

substances.

HospitalizationCthe admission into a hospital as a
patient.

ImmediatelyCa reasonable period of time, after

identifying the nature, quantity, and potential off-site impact
of arelease considering the exigency of the circumstances.

IncidentCAny release, fire, explosion or event which is
other than any normal operational activity, and which results
in an unusua or emergency condition. An actual release of
any hazardous material is not required.

Inventory FormCthe reporting form adopted by the
department and completed by owners and operators which
contains certain reguested information on hazardous
materials and which is used in developing the information
system mandated by the law and these regulations. This shall
also include electronic transmission of data within the State
Police’s Louisiana Chemical Network Tier Two "Efiling"
process.

Local Governing AuthorityCthe police jury, parish
council, the mayor's office of the city of New Orleans or the
city-parish of East Baton Rouge or other primary
governmental body of a parish.

Local Emergency Planning CommitteeCthe committee
in each parish designated by the Emergency Response
Commission to coordinate Right-to-Know activities.

Local Repository- thelocal entity designated pursuant to
R.S. 30:2368 to house and record information on hazardous
materials received from the department, regulated facilities,
and other state agencies for public dissemination and
inspection. For the purposes of Tier Two electronic reporting
"e-filing," the local repository shall have the authority to
designate the Department of Public Safety, Office of State
Police, Right-to-Know Unit’s electronic Tier Two system as
its official repository of Tier Two records.

Owner or OperatorCany person, partnership, or
corporation in the state including, unless otherwise stated,
the state and local government, or any of its agencies,
authorities, departments, bureaus, or instrumentalities
engaged in business or research operations which use,
handle, manufacture, release or store a hazardous material at

afacility.
ReleaseCany spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring,
emitting, emptying, discharging, injecting, escaping,

leaching, dumping, or disposing into the environment
(including the abandonment or discarding of barrels,
containers, and other closed receptacles) of any hazardous



material or substance. However, the term release shall not
include federal or state permitted releases.

Reportable ReleaseCa release of a regulated hazardous
material or substance which causes any injury requiring
hospitalization or any fatality, results in a fire or explosion
which could reasonably be expected to affect the public
safety beyond the boundaries of the facility, or exceeds the
reportable quantity when that reportable quantity, as defined
pursuant to rules promulgated by the deputy secretary, could
be reasonably expected to escape beyond the site of the
facility. A reportable release as defined herein shall be based
upon the quantity of hazardous material or substance
discharged continuously, intermittently, or as a one-time
discharge, within any continuous twenty-four hour period.

Retail Gas StationCa retail facility engaged in selling
gasoline or diesel fuel primarily to the public, for use in land
based motor vehicles.

Small BusinessCa single business establishment
employing not more than nine full time employees and
having not more than two million dollars ($2,000,000) in
average annual gross receipts. Any business employing more
than nine persons shall not be considered a small business
regardless of the average annual gross receipts. Any business
with average annual gross receipts of over two million
dollars ($2,000,000) shall not be considered a small business
regardless of the number of employees.

State RepositoryCthe Department of Public Safety,
Office of State Police, Right-to-Know Unit designated by
the local emergency planning committee, local repository or
fire department as the provider of Tier Two inventory
records electronically to all response agencies. The state
repository shall have the responsibility to process public
information requests for Tier Two and release reporting data.

Trade SecretCany confidential formula, pattern,
process, device, information or compilation of information
including chemical name or other unique chemical identifier
that is used in an employer's business, and that gives the
employer an opportunity to obtain an advantage over
competitors who do not know or useit.

Transportation Related OperationCany operation
conducted outside the boundaries of a facility and involving
the transportation, or storage incident to transportation, of
hazardous materials where the hazardous materials are
moving under active shipping papers and have not reached
the ultimate consignee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:759
(December 1987), LR 14:801 (November 1988), LR 16:974
(November 1990), LR 27:858 (June 2001).

§10107. Alternate M eans of ComplianceC Inventory
Reporting

A. The following non-exclusive list of facilities qualifies
for alternate means of compliance under state law due to the
nature of their respective operations as well as the fact that
emergency response personnel can predict that hazardous
materials should be present at these facilities. These alternate
means of compliance may not exist under federal law and
facilities subject to the federal law must determine their
respective applicability:
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1. oil and gas exploration and production facilities;

2. pipelines carrying any of the materials regulated by
theserules;

3. certainfacilities reporting to other state agencies;

4. gasoline service stations;

5. electrical transmission and distribution facilities;

6. hydrocarbon storage facilities other than at
petroleum refineries,

7. transportation-related facilities.

B. The rules that follow in Subsection C are applicable
to the state law. The reporting procedures outlined are the
result of detailed consultation with the various regulated
entities. These alternate compliance procedures will satisfy
the mandates of the state's Right-to-Know law, but if any
federal regulations require a more stringent reporting
procedure, the federal procedure should be followed.

C. Inventory Reporting Procedures (Alternate Means of
Compliance)

1. Oil and Gas Production (Wells Already Drilled)

a. These sites must be reported by field name,
indicating the total number of wells in each field. This will
be done on a separate inventory form for each field. The
location of each field must be as detailed as possible with at
least the parish given for each field.

b. The inventory form can be filled out showing a
generic list of materials commonly associated with an oil/gas
production facility.

c. Well heads not located in a reported field
(wildcats) are each to be listed on a separate inventory form.

d. All reportable releases must be reported
immediately to the local emergency planning committee and
the Emergency Response Commission.

2. Oil and Gas Exploration

a. If the exploration siteisin a previously reported
field, alist of materials used in exploration will be shown on
the inventory form for that field. This could be in the form of
ageneric list.

b. Wildcat drilling operations (not in previously
reported fields) anticipated to exceed 30 days will require
written notification to the Emergency Response Commission
via the Office of State Police, Transportation and
Environmental Safety Section, as well as written notification
to the local emergency planning committee in the respective
parish, detailing the location and anticipated duration of the
drilling operation. This notification will contain the names
and telephone numbers of facility personnel to contact in
case of an emergency. A generic list of materials associated
with exploration will be furnished to the local emergency
planning committee in the parish in which the drilling
occurs.

c. All reportable releases must be reported
immediately to the local emergency planning committee and
the Emergency Response Commission.

3. Pipelines (not within the fence line of afacility)

a.  One inventory form will be submitted for each
parish. The form must list al pipelines operated by a facility
in that parish, and must show the name of the material
carried, the diameter, and the maximum operating pressure
for each listed pipeline.

b. A map for each parish indicating the location of
each pipeline and transmission and control station must be
provided by each company to the Emergency Response
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Commission and the local emergency planning committee. If
the pipeline is shown on the most current Dewitt map, no
map submission is required. Facilities are responsible for
updating any changes in location of pipelines and/or product
by submitting new map(s). If afacility has already submitted
amap to the Emergency Response Commission and the local
emergency planning committee, and there are no changes,
the annual map submission is not necessary.

c. Natura gas distribution lines are exempt from
this reporting. Distribution lines are those pipes that carry
the gasto individual buildings, residences, etc.

d. Crude oil and natural gas gathering lines are
exempt from inventory reporting under these rules.
Gathering lines are those pipelines eight inches or less in
nominal diameter that transport petroleum and natural gas
from a production facility to the main pipeline.

e. All reportable releases, including those from
natural gas distribution lines and crude oil and natural gas
gathering lines, must be reported immediately to the local
emergency planning committee and the Emergency
Response Commission.

4. Facilities Reporting to Other State Agencies.

a. Facilities licensed by the Liquefied Petroleum Gas
Commission must complete an inventory form and comply
with all other applicable parts of these rules with the
exception that if liquefied petroleum gas is the only material
being reported, no reporting feeisrequired.

b. Facilities licensed pursuant to and in full
compliance with the Louisiana State Police Explosives Code
are exempt from inventory reporting if no hazardous
materials other than explosives are present on the facility.
However, all incidents or releases involving explosives are
subject to the reporting required herein.

5. Electrical Transmission and Distribution Facilities

a.  All oil-filled electrical equipment (transformers,
capacitors, etc.) which has been identified as containing
Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCB's) in concentrations
exceeding 500 parts per million (ppm) shall be reported on
the inventory form, by the reporting deadline, as applicable
in these rules if the weight of the solution containing the
PCB's meets or exceeds 500 pounds.

b. Any releasefrom, or accident involving, oil -filled
electrical equipment which has been identified as containing
PCB's in concentrations exceeding 500 ppm will be reported
immediately as applicable in the release reporting
procedures detailed in these rules.

c. All fixed-site facilities where transformers are
stored, cleaned or processed, or where other materials
regulated in the rules are used or stored, will be reported on
individual inventory forms for each separate site.

d. Fixed-site oil-filled electrical equipment that is
associated with a facility must meet all area marking
reguirements under EPA and OSHA regulations.

6. Transportation-Related Industries

a Regulated materials which are under active
shipping papers (i.e, have not reached their final
destination) are exempt from inventory reporting
requirements contained in these rules.

b. Transportation related industries, including but
not limited to trucking companies, railroads, maritime
wharves and warehouses {ncluding Foreign Trade Zones),
that store, incidental to transportation and still under active
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shipping papers, any of the materials regulated by these rules
will, on an annual basis (by March 1 of each year), send to
the Emergency Response Commission, the local emergency
planning committee, and the local fire department in their
respective areas, a letter detailing the emergency contact
personnel and emergency telephone numbers. The letter will
also indicate where shipping papers can be found by
emergency response personnel.

c. Any hazardous materials regulated under these
rules and stored on site but not under active shipping papers
must be reported on an inventory form as applicable.

d. Shipping documents must be readily accessibleto
emergency response personnel and proximate to the
regulated material.

e. All regulated materials must be properly marked
and placarded according to applicable U.S. Department of
Transportation regulations as listed in 49 CFR Part 172
Subparts B, C, D, Eand F.

f. All reportable releases must be reported
immediately to the local emergency planning committee and
the Emergency Response Commission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:759
(December 1987), LR 14:802 (November 1988), LR 16:974
(November 1990), LR 27:859 (June 2001).

810109. Inventory Reporting

A. All substances listed on the list of "Extremely
Hazardous Substances' as found in 40 CFR Part 355
Appendix A, now in effect or amended hereafter, must be
reported for the prior calendar year beginning January 1 and
ending December 31, on an inventory form by March 1,
1988, and annually thereafter, if the material is present on
site on any single day in amounts of 500 pounds or more or
the listed threshold quantity if lower than 500 pounds. The
threshold (inventory) quantity (TQ) for each of these
materials is indicated (in pounds) in the column to the right
of the material marked "Threshold Inventory Quantity
(TQ)." Where a material shows a threshold (inventory)
quantity (TQ) listed as 10/500 or 100/500 etc., it is
reportable as follows: The lower number is the reportable
amount if the material is a solid existing in powdered form
and has a particle size less than 100 microns; or ishandled in
solution or in molten form; or meets the criteria for a
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) rating of 2, 3,
or 4 for reactivity. If the solid does not meet any of these
criteria, it is subject to the higher inventory reporting
threshold.

B. Any material for which a facility must prepare or
maintain a Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) under the
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Hazard Communication Standard (as listed in 29 CFR
1910.1200 et seq.) must be reported, for the prior calendar
year beginning January 1 and ending December 31, on an
inventory form annually beginning March 1, 1988, if the
material is present at a facility in threshold (inventory)
quantities (TQ) of 500 pounds or more on any single day.

C. The materials regulated by Subsection B above of
these rules are also regulated under the inventory reporting
provision of Section 312 of Title Il of the Superfund
Amendments and Reauthorization Act. Incorporated in the



federa reporting provisions was an initial temporary
threshold for reporting quantities of these materials such that
for 1987, 1988 and 1989 inventory quantities which met or
exceeded 10,000 pounds were reportable. In 1990, EPA
published its final threshold regulations setting the final
threshold (inventory) quantity for 1990 and beyond at
10,000 pounds. In this area, the Louisiana law and federal
law differ. The state requires reporting of all regulated
materials at the 500-pound level unless the threshold
quantity for an extremely hazardous substance islower.

D. Mixtures without their own Chemical Abstract
Service (CAS) numbers will be reported as follows: The
mixture trade name or common name shall be listed with the
hazardous component(s) which require its reporting on the
Tier Two inventory report. The component(s) Chemical
Abstract Service (CAS) number, if available, will also be
provided in association with the hazardous component. Any
component information withheld in contradiction to the most
current OSHA MSDS requirements or U.S. EPA’s trade
secret claim process shall be subject to enforcement and civil
liability actions at the state and federal level. If a hazardous
material is part of a mixture, you should report the entire
mixture, its total weight, and the hazardous material(s)
contained therein, with its percentage present in the mixture,
(e.g., if a hazardous solution weighs 100 pounds and is
composed of only 5 percent of a particular hazardous
material, you should indicate 100 pounds of the mixture,
identify the hazardous material and indicate that it is five
percent of the mixture).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:760
(December 1987), LR 14:803 (November 1988), LR 16:974
(November 1990), LR 27:860 (June 2001).

§10111. Release and Incident Reporting

A. Hazardous Materials Designation

1. The lists and categories of materials identified in
Paragraphs C.1, C.2, C.3, and C.4 below are deemed
hazardous materials and are hereby adopted pursuant to the
authority of the deputy secretary in accordance with RS
30:2361 et seq.

2. The above mentioned listings and categories apply
to al inventory and release reporting and handling
requirements mandated by RS 30:2361 et seq. and al
regul ations adopted pursuant thereto.

B. Reportable Releases and Incidents. Any release or
incident involving a regulated hazardous material must be
reported immediately by the owner or operator, or one of
their designated representatives as soon as the owner or
operator or designated representative has knowledge of such
release or incident, if it meets one or more of the following
criteria

1. the release directly causes any injury requiring
hospitalization or any fatality; or

2. thereleaseresultsin afire or explosion which could
reasonably be expected to affect the public safety beyond the
boundaries of the facility; or

3. the release (other than an application of a pesticide
or fertilizer) exceeds the reportable quantity during any
continuous 24 hour period when that reportable quantity
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could be reasonably expected to escape beyond the site of
the facility; or

4. the incident, accident or cleanup within a facility
could reasonably be expected to affect the public safety
beyond the boundaries of the facility ( for example: afacility
evacuating its personnel); or

5. the owner or operator knows a protective action
beyond the facility has beeninitiated.

C. Hazardous Materials are established as follows:

1. any material appearing on the most current list of
Extremely Hazardous Substances as established by the
Environmental Protection Agency (40 CFR Part 355,
Appendix A);

2. any material appearing on the most current list of
CERCLA Hazardous Substances as established by the
Environmental Protection Agency (40 CFR Part 302, Table
302.4);

3. any material appearing on the most current list of
Hazardous Substances as established by the Department of
Transportation, Research and  Special Programs
Administration (49 CFR Part 172, Appendix to 172.101);

4. any material on which maintenance of an MSDS is
required under the Occupational Safety and Heath
Administration's Hazard Communication Standard as found
in 29 CFR 1910.1200 et seq.

D. Reportable Quantities (RQs) are established as
follows:

1. any material and its RQ appearing on the most
current list of Extremely Hazardous Substances as
established by the Environmental Protection Agency (40
CFR Part 355, Appendix A);

2. any materia and its RQ appearing on the most
current list of CERCLA Hazardous Substances as
established by the Environmental Protection Agency (40
CFR Part 302, Table 302.4);

3. any materia and its RQ appearing on the most
current list of Hazardous Substances and Reportable
Quantities as established by the Department of
Transportation, Research and  Specia Programs
Administration (49 CFR Part 172, Appendix to 172.101);

4. any material on which maintenance of an MSDS is
required under the Occupational Safety and Health
Administration's Hazard Communication Standard as found
in 29 CFR 1910.1200 et seq., and does not appear on any of
the lists found in Paragraphs 1, 2, or 3 of paragraph D of this
section, must be reported if the material released exceeds the
RQ of 5,000 pounds hereby established by the Department.
Except all compressed or refrigerated flammable gases and
al flammable liquids (as defined in 49 CFR 173.120) which
will have a 100 pound RQ and all other liquids requiring
maintenance of an MSDS which will have a 1000 pound
RQ.

Reportable Quantity Table

Hazardous Material Group Reporta(tl:)zlg)Quantlty
EHS (40CFR Part 355, Appendix A) As designated
CERCLA (40CFR Part 302, Table 302.4) As designated
DOT (49CFR Part 172, Appendix 172.101) As designated
Compressed or refrigerated flammable gases® 100 Ibs.
Flammable liquids* 100 Ibs.
All other liquids requiring an MSDS* 1000 Ibs.
All other materials requiring an MSDS* 5000 Ibs.

* where there are no federal RQs established
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E Exceptions to
Circumstances
1. The following special circumstances have been
identified by the department and the following specific
reportable quantities shall apply:

a.  Natural gas from crude oil and natural gas
production operations (including but not limited to flowlines
and gathering lines) regardless of system pressure, and
natural gas transmission operations in which the operational
pressure exceeds 100 psi, shall have an RQ of 1000 pounds.

b. Petroleum refinery and chemical manufacturing
facilities which operate flaring systems as part of their
manufacturing process shall have the following reportable
quantities:

i. stack emissions involving the release of sulfur
dioxide at a discharge rate of less than 1000 pounds per hour
shall have a 24 hour period to report the unpermitted release;
and

Reportable  QuantityCSpecial

ii. stack emissions involving the release of sulfur
dioxide at a discharge rate of more than 1000 pounds per
hour shall report the unpermitted release immediately.

c. A release to the environment through a cooling
tower of a hydrocarbon gas which has previously leaked into
the cooling water of the related heat exchanger is not
reportable if the concentration of such gas, when released
into the atmosphere, is below its lower flammable limit.

d. Compressed air, compressed nitrogen and water
vapor are not reportable and have no RQs.

e. The controlled release of natural gas for
maintenance or other purposes is considered a permitted
release and is not reportable provided the release cannot be
reasonably expected to affect the public safety beyond the
boundaries of the facility.

2. For facilities meeting the criteria described below,
compressed or refrigerated flammable gases will have a
1000 pound RQ. To quaify for this RQ, the owner or
operator of the facility must provide certification to the
department, in writing, that it meets the requirements of
LAC 33:V.10111.E.2.; the revised RQ for compressed or
refrigerated flammable gases for such facility will
commence within thirty days after the department’s receipt
of such certification unless the department notifies the owner
or operator otherwise, in writing, within such thirty day
period. Facilities to which this RQ appliesare those with:

a.  morethan ninefull time employees; and

b. a designated person responsible for and
knowledgeable on all applicable state and federal release
reporting regulations; and

c. twenty-four hour on site emergency response
capability for responding promptly to fires and hazardous
materials releases. This capability must be internal to the
facility or provided by formal industrial mutual aid where a
written agreement has been signed and made available to the
department for review as certified to the department.
(Dependence on local fire departments and public employee
emergency responders shall not qualify.)

F. All reportable releases must be reported immediately.
Each release or incident must be reported to:

1. local emergency planning committee with

jurisdiction over afacility; and then to
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2. Office of State Police, Transportation and
Environmental Safety Section using the Hazardous Materials
Hotline phone number 225/925-6595 or toll free 1-877-925-
6595. Proper notification to the State Police's Hazardous
Materials Hotline shall constitute a legal and proper
notification to the Department of Environmental Quality,
Louisiana Petroleum Gas Commission, and the Louisiana

Qil Spill Coordinator.
Note: In the event proper notification to the local emergency
planning committee cannot be made, then immediate
notification to the State Policeisreguired.

3. The owner or operator must ensure that timely
notification is made to the department.

4. The Uniform Hazardous Materials Reporting Form as
supplied by the department, which includes the information
in paragraph G of this section, should be used by all those
involved in incident or release initial notifications (verbal or
electronic). The success of this uniform process is dependent
on its application on a statewide basis at al levels of the
initial notification process.

5. Update notifications must be made by each owner or
operator if the circumstances of the release or incident
substantially increase in severity, the incident classification
changes, or if any of the information in paragraph G of this
section which was initialy reported changes significantly.
For example:

a if there is a change in the recommended offsite
protective action to be taken;

b. if there are injuries requiring hospitalization or
fatalities to personnel not known at the time of the initial
report;

c. if the release includes a different reportable
material than included in theinitial report;

d. if thereisachangeinincident classification; or

e. if the initial release notification indicated no
offsite protective action and an offsite protective action of
road closure or offsite shelter-in-place is made, then an
update notification is required.

G If a facility has a reportable release (i.e., one that
meets the requirements ecified by either the state and/or
federal Right-to-Know laws), the owner or operator must
provide, at a minimum, the following information relating to
therelease:

1. the name and telephone number, and employer of
the contact person;

2. the company or responsible party’ s name;

3. where the incident occurred (mailing address and
physical location);

4. date and time the incident began and ended;

5. the identity of the hazardous material released or
involved (this would include proper chemical name if
avalable, an indication of whether it is an extremely
hazardous substance and whether it isasolid, liquid or gas);

6. the actual amount or an estimate of the amount
released; or in the absence of quantity data for the hazardous
materials released, one of the following incident
classifications may be used.

a. Unusua Event. Thisis an incident that is out of
the ordinary but does not present a current threat to persons
or property. It will not have any adverse affect on public
safety. The incident may have the potential to escalate to a
more serious emergency, but it is not expected to do so. In



this case, no protective action is necessary and none will be
recommended.

b. Site Emergency. Thisis an incident or emergency
which may affect the near-site population but it is generally
located within the boundaries of the facility or transport
vehicle. Normal operations of the facility or transport
vehicle have been adversely impacted. The incident or
emergency is either secured, in the recovery mode, or
ongoing, but generally confined to the facility or transport
vehicle. The on-site incident or emergency may have the
potential to escalate to other areas of the facility or transport
vehicle. This classification is used during emergencies in
which a limited number of people have been affected but the
potential exists to affect a much larger portion of the
population. The facility or transporter may request the
closure of adjacent roadways as precautionary action. A
protective action of road closure, shelter-in-place,
evacuation, or no protective action necessary must be
provided.

c. General Emergency. Thisis an emergency which
goes beyond the facility or transport vehicle. It has either
affected or will affect the general population. The facility or
transport vehicle experiences a large release which will
impact beyond its boundaries. This occurs when there is an
explosion or fire at the facility which may not be under
control. The emergency situation is beyond the resources of
the facility or transporter. The facility response personnel are
unable to contain the event and it may escalate before
coming under control. In order to protect the public safety, a
protective action of road closure, shelter-in-place, or
evacuation must beissued immediately.

7. whether the material released escaped or could
reasonably be expected to escape beyond the site of the
facility;

8. if available, the substance's hazard class and any
other identifier (e.g., U.N. number, CHRIS code, etc.);

9. medium into which the hazardous materials was
released ( e.g. air, water, land );

10. whether the release resulted in afire or explosion;

11. injury to personnel, or a fatality resulting from the
release or incident;

12. details regarding wind direction, wind speed,
temperature, and precipitation;

13. any need or a recommendation for an offsite
protective action (road closure, shelter-in-place, evacuation,
or none);

14. details of the release or incident; and

15. whether other responsible state and local agencies
such as the local emergency planning @mmittee has been
notified.

H. Facilities must also make follow-up written reports
for all reportable releases and incidents within five business
days after the release or incident has occurred. This report
must be made to the local emergency planning committee
with jurisdiction over a facility and to the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, TESS-
Right-to-Know Unit , P.O. Box 66614, Baton Rouge, LA,
70896. The format for this report should be as outlined in
Subsection G above. Any additional information not given in

theinitial telephone notification should also be included.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:761
(December 1987), LR 14:803 (November 1988), LR 16:975
(November 1990), LR 17:610 (June 1991), LR 27:861 (June 2001).
§10112. Response, Command and Coordination

A. As per the authority granted in R.S. 30:2376, the
Office of State Police, Transportation and Environmental
Safety Section will coordinate emergency response activities
arising from any release, or threatened release or incident
requiring reporting under these rules. Except as otherwise
provided by law, as State On-Scene Coordinator (SOSC), the
Louisiana State Police shall have the responsibility to ensure
a safe and timely resolution to any hazardous materials
release or incident. All responding industries, contractors,
and agencies shall participate in the Incident Command
process. Only those participants meeting the training
requirements of EPA in 40 CFR 311 and OSHA’s regulations
in 29CFR1910.120 shall engage in active response or
remedial activities within areas of hazardous materials
contamination or threatened release.

B. All persons and facilities regulated by R.S. 30:2361 et
seg. shall comply with all the requirements relative to the
entry, inspection, investigation, response and emergency
coordination efforts of the Office of State Police as
authorized in R.S. 30:2361 et seq.

C. Response Contractor Registration. All hazardous
materials and hazardous wastes emergency response and
spill contractors will register with the Office of State Police,
Right-to-Know Unit, within sixty days of the fina
promulgation of these rules. This registration will include
the following information:

1. business name, physical and mailing address;

2. business and emergency (24 hour) telephone
numbers;

3. Louisiana Contractor License information;

4. identification of response capabilities
chemical, radiological, biological, etc.)

5. copy of emergency response procedures including
regulatory responsibilities;

6. site safety protocols;

7. certification statement identifying conpliance with
all EPA, OSHA, and State regulations including training
certification compliance;

8. response time estimates with identified geographic
perimeters (Minimum: one, two, and four response times);

9. hazardous material response equipment capability
(Minimum: Personal protective clothing, hazardous material
monitoring, containment and chemical transfer and handling
capability);

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:761
(December 1987), LR 14:803 (November 1988), LR 16:975
(November 1990), LR 17:610 (June 1991), LR 27:863 (June 2001).
§10113. Exemptions

A. Certain persons and substances have been exempted
from the inventory reporting requirements contained in these
rules. There are no exemptions granted for release reporting
of regulated substances.

(il
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B. Persons exempted from reporting certain substances
under gate law as outlined in Subsection C below are
cautioned to examine Title 111 of the Superfund Amendments
and Reauthorization Act (SARA) because not all of these
exemptions are applicable to federal law. If a substance is
not exempt under federal law, in nost cases it is reportable
to the Emergency Response Commission (via Department of
Public Safety and Corrections), the local emergency
planning committee (one in each parish), and the local fire
department having jurisdiction over afacility.

C. The following persons are exempt from the inventory
reporting requirements of these rules:;

1. residential users;

2. owners or operators of hotels, motels, restaurants,
apartment buildings or office buildings which use only small
guantities of air conditioning and cleaning supplies;

3. owners or operators of retail sales establishments
which sell consumer products or food stuffs packaged for
distribution to, and intended for use by, the general public
and who have storage areas or storerooms in such
establishments which are separated from shelf or display
areas, but maintained within the physical confines of such
retail establishments;

4. owners or operators of cosmetology salons, and
barber salons; and

5. owners or operators of retail gasoline service
stations having only gasoline and/or diesel in underground
storage tanks and in full compliance with the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality Underground Storage
Tank Program.

D. The following materials are exempt from the
inventory reporting requirements of these rules:

1. any hazardous waste as such term is defined by the
Solid Waste Disposal Act as amended (42 U.S.C. 6901 et
seq.) when subject to regulations issued under that Act;

2. tobacco or tobacco products;

3. wood or wood products;

4. Marticles"

a which are formed to a specific shape or design
during manufacture;

b. which have end use function(s) dependent in
whole or in part upon the shape or design during end use;
and

c. which do not release or otherwise result in
exposure to a hazardous chemical under normal conditions
of use;

5. food, drugs, cosmetics or alcoholic beveragesin a
retail establishment which are packaged for sale to
consumers;

6. foods, drugs, or cosmetics intended for personal
consumption by employees while in the workplace;

7. any consumer product or hazardous substance, as
those terms are defined in the Consumer Product Safety Act
(15 U.S.C. 1251 et seq.) respectively, where the employer
can demonstrate it is used in the workplace in the same
manner as normal consumer use, and which use resultsin a
duration and frequency of exposure which is not greater than
exposures experienced by consumers;

8. any drug, as that term is defined in the Federa
Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 U.S.C. 301 et seg.) when
it is in solid, final form for direct administration to the
patient (i.e., tablets or pills);
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9. any food, food additive, color additive, drug, or
cosmetic regulated by the Food and Drug Administration;

10. any substance present as a solid in any
manufactured item to the extent exposure to the substance
does not occur under normal conditions of use;

11. any substance to the extent it is used for personal,
family, or household purposes, or is present in the same form
and concentration as a product packaged for distribution and
use by the general public;

12. any substance to the extent it is used in a medical
research laboratory or a hospital or other medical facility
under the direct supervision of a technically qualified
individual;

13. any substance to the extent it is used in routine
agricultural operations or is a fertilizer held for sale by a
retailer to the ultimate customer.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:762
(December 1987), LR 14:804 (November 1988), LR 27:863 (June
2001).

§10115. Hazard Communication

A. The Department of Public Safety and Corrections
adopts the Hazard Communication Standard as detailed in
Title 29 CFR Parts 1910.1200 et seg., as part of these rules.
All facilities subject to these state rules (other than any
federal, state, or political subdivisions of a state) must also
comply with the Hazard Communication Standard as
specified in the Occupationa Safety and Health
Administration (OSHA) rules listed in Title 29 CFR Parts
1910.1200 et seq. These standards refer to marking of the
workplace, communicating to employees of any known
hazardous properties of various substances, etc.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:762
(December 1987), LR 14:804 (November 1988), LR 27:864 (June
2001).

§10117. Failureto Report: Penalties

A. Failure to report any regulated material on a Tier Two
Inventory form, as provided in these rules and under the
authority of R.S. 30:2361-2380, may result in the levying of
civil penalties up to $25,000 for each regulated hazardous
material not reported and/or for each non-reported release or
incident involving aregulated hazardous material.

B. The burden of proof shall be on the owner or operator
of afacility to show that the failure to report a hazardous
material or release was inadvertent.

C. Small businesses, as defined by these rules, which
have any omission from the inventory reporting forms will
receive, on first offense, a warning rather than a civil
penalty.

D. Careless Handling of a Hazardous Material

1. R.S. 30:2373(D)(1) provides that any person who
handles, stores, or otherwise maintains a hazardous material
regulated by R.S. 30:2361-2380, the Right-to-Know Law in
a wanton and reckless manner without regard for the hazards
of the material or of the circumstances of such use, storage,
or handling shall be guilty of careless handling.



2. R.S. 30:2373(D)(2) provides that for any owner,
operator, or facility that violates R.S.30:2373(D) the
department may levy a civil penalty not to exceed twenty-
five thousand dollars per violation.

E RecklessHandling of a Hazardous Material

1. R.S. 30:2373(E)(1) provides that no person shall
intentionally handle, store, or otherwise maintain any
hazardous material regulated by the Right-to-Know Law in a
manner which endangers human life.

2. R.S. 30:2373(E)(2) provides that any person,
owner, operator, or facility that willfully violates R.S.
30:2373(E) may be assessed a civil penaty by the
department not to exceed twenty-five thousand dollars per
violation per day or upon first conviction shall be fined not
more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more
than six months, or both. Upon second or subsequent
conviction of aviolation of R.S. 30:2373(E)(1), said person,
owner, operator, or facility shall be fined not less than five
hundred dollars nor more than ten thousand dollars or
imprisoned with or without hard labor for not less than six
months nor more than ten years.

F. Intentional Failure to Report a Hazardous Material
Release or Incident

1. R.S. 30:2373(C)(3) provides that for owners and
operators who knowingly fail to report a reportable release
of ahazardous material regulated by the Right-to-Know Law
the department may assess a civil penalty not to exceed
twenty-five thousand dollars per violation per day.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:762
(December 1987), repromulgated LR 14:804 (November 1988),
amended LR 16:975 (November 1990), LR 27:864 (June 2001).
§10119. Inventory Form

A. Tier Two “Efiling” is the preferred method of
reporting the chemical inventory required in these rules. All
industries and businesses will be required to utilize this
electronic means of inventory reporting by March 1, 2002.
The use of this “E-filing” process allows for the immediate
access of facility and chemical information by all local
emergency planning committees and fire departments having
Internet capability. Paper filing of “Tier Two Emergency and
Hazardous Chemical Inventory” shall be an acceptable
alternative to the Efiling of such inventory for March 1,
2001 only.

B. The" Louisiana Tier Two Emergency and Hazardous
Chemical Inventory" form is the official inventory form for
compliance with R.S. 30:2361-2380 Louisianas Right-to-
Know law, and is the form selected by the Louisiana
Emergency Response Commission for inventory reporting as
required under Section 312 of SARA. The inventory form
can be obtained via the Right-to-Know website at
www.dps.state.la.us/rtkcover.html or upon request to the
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State
Police, Transportaion and Environmental Safety Section-
Mail Slip 21, Box 66614, Baton Rouge, LA 70896.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:762
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(December 1987), LR 14:804 (November 1988), LR 16:975
(November 1990), LR 27:865 (June 2001).
810121. Fees

A. An annua fee shall be submitted with the inventory
form by each owner or operator required to report under the
Right-to-Know Law. The fee shall be assessed in proportion
to the number of hazardous materials manufactured, used, or
stored on site.

B.1. Until June 30, 2001, the fees for facilities not
meeting the definition of "small business' in R.S. 30:2363
shall be assessed as follows:

Number of Hazardous M aterials

Present at Facility Amount of FeesCharges

01to25 $ 75.00
2610 75 $100.00
7610 100 $200.00
Over 100 $300.00

2. Any facility required to pay a fee pursuant to R.S.
30:2374 and any retail gas station exempt from reporting
pursuant to R.S. 30:2370 shall not be required to pay an
additional fee to the local emergency planning committee
other than the fees already imposed by the local emergency
planning committee for the collection of information
required by the Right-to-Know Law prior to the 1997
Regular Legislative Session.

3. In the case of owners or operators reporting
facilities with numbers of hazardous materials referenced
above at multiple locations throughout the state, no owner or
operator shall be assessed total fees in excess of two
thousand dollars.

4. The fee per facility for small businesses as defined
in the Right-to-Know Law shall not exceed twenty-five
dollars.

C. Small businesses, as defined in these rules, would
submit a reduced fee of $25 for each facility. The same
ceilings on fees as detailed above would apply.

D. State, parish, and municipal governmental entities
who must report under these rules are exempt from paying
any fee.

E All checks must be made payable to the Right-to-
Know Unit and submitted as applicable with the printed
copy of the Tier Il invoice (which is generated automatically
by the program upon electronic submission of the completed
Tier Two form). If an inventory form is received without
proper payment it cannot be processed, and compliance with
the law is not attained.

F. The following facilities are exempt from filing fees but
must submit Tier Two Inventory forms:

1. liquified petroleum gas facilities having only liquified
petroleum gas which are in full compliance with Liquified
Petroleum Gas Commission regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:762
(December 1987), LR 14:804 (November 1988), LR 27:865 (June
2001).

810123. Trade Secret Claims; Procedures; Resolution

A. The Department of Public Safety and Corrections
adopts as its own the Trade Secrets provisions as found in
Title 111, Section 322 of the "Superfund Amendments and
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Reauthorization Act of 1986" (42 U.S.C.A. Section 11042)
as passed by the United States Congress.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2361 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 12:327
(May 1986), amended LR 13:184 (March 1987), LR 13:763
(December 1987), LR 14:805 (November 1988), LR 27:865 (June
2001).

Jerry W. Jones

Undersecretary
01064013

RULE

Department of Revenue
Office of the Secretary

Penalty Waiver (LAC 61:111.2101)

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1603 and R.S. 47:1511 and
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Revenue, Office of the Secretary, adopts LAC 61:111.2101
pertaining to a penalty waiver for delinquent filing or
delinquent payment.

The purpose of this rule is to inform the public of the
documentation required when submitting requests for waiver
of delinquent filing or late payment penalty and of factors
that will be considered by the Department of Revenue in
evaluating waiver requests. Title 47 Section 1603 provides
that if the failure to file on time or the failure to timely remit
the full amount due is not due to the negligence of the
taxpayer, but is due to other causes set forth in written form
and considered reasonable, the secretary may waive the
penalty in whole or in part. When the penalty exceeds
$5,000, the waiver must be approved by the Board of Tax
Appeals.

Title61
REVENUE AND TAXATION
Part 111. Department of Revenue; Administrative
Provisions and Miscellaneous
Chapter 21.  Interest and Penalties
§2101. Penalty Waiver

A. The secretary may waive a penalty in whole or in part
for the failure to file a return on time or the failure to timely
remit the full amount due when the failure is not due to the
taxpayer's negligence and is considered reasonable. All
penalty waiver requests must be in writing and be
accompanied by supporting documentation. If the combined
penalties for a tax period exceed one hundred dollars, al of
the facts alleged as a basis for reasonable cause must be fully
disclosed in an affidavit sworn before a notary public in the
presence of two witnesses and accompanied by any
supporting documentation. The affidavit must be signed by
the taxpayer, or in the case of a corporation, by an officer of
the corporation. Where the taxpayer or officer does not have
personal knowledge of such facts, the sworn affidavit may
be signed on the taxpayer’'s or officer’'s behalf by a
responsible individual with personal knowledge of such
facts.
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B. Before ataxpayer's request for penalty waiver will be
considered, the taxpayer must be current in filing all tax
returns and all tax, penalties not being considered for waiver,
fees and interest due for any taxes/fees administered by the
Department of Revenue must be paid.

C. In determining whether or not to waive the penalty in
whole or in part, the department will take inaccount both the
facts submitted by the taxpayer and the taxpayer’'s previous
compliance record with respect to all of the taxes/fees
administered by the Department of Revenue. Prior penalty
waivers will be a significant factor in assessing the
taxpayer's compliance record. Each waiver request
submitted by the taxpayer will be considered on an
individual basis. Each tax period or audit liability will be
considered separately in determining whether the penalty
amount mandates approval of the waiver by the Board of
Tax Appeals. The delinquent filing and delinquent payment
penalties will also be considered separately in making this
determination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
47:1603 and R.S. 47:1511.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 27:866 (June 2001).

CynthiaBridges
Secretary
0106#014

RULE

Department of Social Services
Office of Family Support

FITAPCVehicle Exclusion (LAC 67.111.1235)

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, amends the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title
67, Part 111, Subpart 2, the Family Independence Temporary
Assistance Program (FITAP).

Public Law 106-387, the Agriculture Appropriations Act,
signed into law on October 28, 2000, gave states a rew
option to improve their treatment of vehicles when
determining whether a household is eligible for food stamps.
Both FITAP and Food Stamp Program regulations were
changed pursuant to this Public Law and to the authority
granted to the Department by the Louisiana Temporary
Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) Block Grant: the
value of vehicles (other than recreational vehicles) will not
be considered as aresource.

Title67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part 111. Office of Family Support
Subpart 2. Family Independence Temporary Assistance
Program (FITAP)

Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing
Assistance
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility
81235. Resources

A. Assets are possessions which a household can convert
to cash to meet needs. The maximum resource allowable for
an assistance unit is $2,000. All resources are considered
except:

Chapter 12.



1.-19. ..

20. vehicles other than recreational vehicles. A
recreational vehicle is a vehicle designed for recreational use
and not used as ordinary means of transportation;

21. ..

B. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B., R.S. 46:231.2,
P.L. 106-387.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Sacial Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2451 (December
1999), amended LR 27:866 (June 2001).

J. Renea Austin-Duffin

Secretary
01064064

RULE

Department of Social Services
Office of Family Support

Food Stamp ProgramC Semi-Annual
Reporting and Other Eligibility Factors
(LAC 67:111.1947, 1949, 1983, 1987, 2013, and 2015)

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family
Support, amends the Louisiana Administrative Code, Title
67, Part I11, Subpart 3, Food Stamps.

Title67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part I11. Office of Family Support
Subpart 3. Food Stamps
Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households
Subchapter H. Resource Eligibility Standards
81947. Resources

A. An IRA, or individua retirement account, less the
amount that would be lost as penalty for early withdrawal of
the entire account, isincludedin ahousehold's resources.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R.
7:55463 et seq. and 47:55903 et seq., 7 CFR 273.8, P.L. 103-66,
P.L.104-193, P.L. 106-387.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:130
(March 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services,
Office of Family Support, LR 20:990 (September 1994), LR
20:1362 (December 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 23:82
(January 1997), LR 27:867 (June 2001).

81949. Exclusionsfrom Resources
A. Thefollowing are excluded as a countable resource:
1-3
4. the value of a vehicle other than a recreational
vehicle. A recreational vehicle is a vehicle that is designed
for recreational use and not used as ordinary means of
transportation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R.
52:26937 et seq., 7 CFR 273.8 and 273.9C(v), P.L. 103-66, P.L.
106-387.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Headth and Human Resources, Office of Family Security in LR
13:656 (November 1987), amended by the Department of Socia
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 18:1267 (November 1992),
LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 27:867 (June 2001).

Subchapter 1. Income and Deductions
§1983. Income Deductions and Resource Limits

A. In determining eligibility and benefit levels, the
household is allowed deductions for certain costs.

1 .

2. The maximum shelter deduction is $300 for
househol ds which do not include a member who is elderly or
disabled. Effective March 1, 2001, a maximum shelter
deduction of $340 shall be alowed at certification,
recertification, or at the time of other case action. For fiscal
year 2002 and each subsequent fiscal year, the maximum
shelter deduction will be computed based on the amount for
the preceding fiscal year, adjusted to reflect changes in the
Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the 12-
month period ending the preceding November 30.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR
273.9 (d)(2) and (d)(6), P.L. 104-193, P.L. 106-387.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR
12:423 (July 1986), amended LR 13:181 (March 1987), amended
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Family
Security, LR 15:14 (January 1989), amended by the Department of
Socia Services, Office of Family Support, LR 19:905 (July 1993),
LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 23:82 (January 1997), LR 27:867
(June 2001).

Subchapter J. Determining Household Eligibility and
Benefit Levels
81987. Categorical Eligibility for Certain Recipients

A. Households Considered Categorically Eligible

1-9 ..

10. Benefits for categorically-eligible households shall
be based on net income as for any other household. One and
two person households will receive aminimum benefit of
$10. Households of three or more shall be denied if net
income exceeds the level at which benefits are issued.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R.
51:28196 et seq., 7 CFR 271, 272, 273.10, and 274; F.R. 56:63612-
63613, PL. 104-193, 7 CFR 273.2(j)(2)(xi).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 13:90
(February 1987), amended by the Department of Social Services,
Office of Family Support, LR 18:142 (February 1992), LR 18:686
(July 1992), LR 18:1267 (November 1992), LR 24:1783
(September 1998), LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 27:867 (June
2001).

Subchapter S. Semi-Annual Reporting
§2013. Semi-Annual Reporting

A. All households with earned income shall submit a
reporting form to the agency on a semi-annual basis with the
following exceptions:

1. migrant or seasonal farm worker households;

2. householdsin which all members are homeless.
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B. Households subject to semi -annual reporting will be
required to report anly changes in gross monthly income
which exceed 130 percent of the monthly poverty income
guideline for the household size.

C. Households required to semi-annually report will be
assigned a certification period of 12 months.

D. All households in semi-annual reporting are required
to:

1. timely provide a completed semi-annual report
form and all necessary verification; and

2. report current household circumstances and
changes which the household knows will occur.

E Failureto provide acomplete semi-annual report form
and verification will result in case closure.

F.  Benefits will be determined prospectively based on
verified circumstances.

G Any change in benefits as a result of semi-annual
reporting will be effective the month following the month in
which the semi-annual report was required.

H. Other changes that will result in a decrease in benefits
will not be acted upon unless:

1. thehousehold has voluntarily requested that its case
be closed in accordance with Sec. 273.13(b)(12);

2. the state agency has information about the
household's circumstances considered verified upon receipt;
or

3. there has been a change in the household's PA

rant.
g AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR

273.12(a).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Socia Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:1633 (August
2000), amended LR 27:867 (June 2001).

§2015. Quarterly Reporting

A. Until such time as the household has been assigned to
semi-annual reporting, al NPA households with earned
income will submit a reporting form to the agency on a
quarterly basis with the following exceptions:

Al -H .

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR
273.12(a) and 272.3(c)(1)(ii).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Socia Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:1633 (August
2000), amended LR 27:868 (June 2001).

J. Renea Austin-Duffin

Secretary
01064037
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RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

St. Martin-Lafayette Fish and Game Preserve
(LAC 76:111.333)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries have adopted a rule for Lake
Martin, St. Martin Parish.

Title76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part I11. State Game and Fish Preserves and Sanctuaries
Chapter 3. Particular Game and Fish Preservesand
Commissions
8333. St. Martin-Lafayette Fish and Game Preserve

A. That portion of the St. Martin-Lafayette Fish and
Game Preserve, particularly the following described portion
of Lake Martin, St. Martin Parish is hereby closed to all
boating traffic, both motorized and non-motorized, said
closure to remain in effect each year from February 15
through July 31 inclusive. The closed zone is described as
follows:

1. All that certain property containing 131.94 acres
more or less located in Section 31, Township 9 South, Range
6 East and Section 6, Township 10 South, Range 6 East, St.
Martin Parish, Louisiana described as follows: Beginning at
apoint on the lake's edge located N 1 degree 59 minutes E a
distance of 330 ft from a 4" x 4" concrete post, the post
having State Plane Coordinates Louisiana South of
X=1819303.09 ft, Y=561651.02 ft; thence N 1 degree 59
minutes E a distance of 1100 ft; thence S 88 degrees 1
minute E a distance of 2320 ft; thence S 36 degrees 54
minutes 58 seconds E a distance of 500 ft; thence S 1 degree
59 minutes W a distance of 2350 ft; thence N 88 degrees 1
minute W a distance of 660 ft; thence S 1 degree 59 minutes
W a distance of 1320 ft; thence N 88 degrees 1 minute W a
distance of 660 ft; thence N 1 degree 59 minutes E a
distance of 2970 ft; thence N 88 degrees 1 minute W a
distance of 1320 ft to the point of beginning.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:610C and R.S. 56:1861 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 27:868 (June
2001).

Dr. H. Jerry Stone
Chairman

James H. Jenkins, Jr.

Secretary
0106#024
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