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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCMinimum Number of  

Instructional School Days (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 741, Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators, referenced in LAC 
28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). R.S. 
17:154.1 changed the minimum number of instructional days 
in the school year from 175 to 177, keeping the existing total 
school calendar of 182 days. The legislation switched two 
days generally used for professional development, planning 
or emergencies to instructional days. The changes in State 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education policy are 
required as a result of enacted state legislation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A.(10), (11), and (15); R.S. 17:7.(5), (7), and (11); R.S. 17:10 
and 11; R.S. 17:22.(2) and (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education in 
LR 27:694 and 695 (May 2001), LR 27:815 (June 2001), LR 28: 

Minimum Session/Instructional Day 
1.009.16 Each school system shall adopt a calendar for a 
minimum session of 182 days, of which at least 177 days 
shall be scheduled to provide the required instructional time. 
 

Refer to R.S. 17.154.1 
 

Effective with the 2001-02 school year, the length of the school year 
shall consist of 182 days of which no fewer than 177 days, or the 
equivalent, shall be used to provide instruction to students; two days 
shall be for staff development; the remaining days may be used for 
emergencies and/or other instructional activities. 

 
If a daily schedule must be abbreviated, the schedule must be 
abbreviated in such a manner to ensure that all classes are taught 
during the partial day. 

 
Each school system may include in its calendar a provision for 
dismissal of senior students prior to the end of the school year. This 
provision is not to exceed 10 days of instructional time. 

 

Each school system may authorize some or all of it s schools to 
modify the total number of instructional minutes per day and 
instructional days per year provided that 63,720 minutes of 
instructional time per year are met. 

 
General election day shall be designated by each school system as a 
holiday every four years for the presidential election. 

 
1.009.18 Each instance of a school system's not meeting 
the minimum number of 177 days of required instructional 
time or the equivalent (63,720 minutes per year) shall be 
examined by the State Department of Education (SDE) and 
reported by the Department/System to the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE). 

Operations Policies 
1.010.02 Each school system shall have policies and 
procedures that address, but are not limited to, the following 
items: 

• setting the number of school days, length of the school 
day, and other necessary guidelines for the operation of the 
schools; 

• providing special educational and related services to 
exceptional students in accordance with the Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) for no fewer than 177 days or the 
equivalent during the normal 182-day school cycle. 

Length of School Day Requirements 
2.037.12 The minimum instructional day for a full-day 
kindergarten program shall be 360 minutes. 
 
Each school system may authorize some or all of its schools to modify the 
total number of instructional minutes per day and instructional days per year 
provided that 63,720 minutes of instructional time per year are met. 

 
Refer to R.S. 17:154.1. 

 
2.037.13 For grades K-12, the minimum school day shall 
include 360 minutes of instructional time, exclusive of 
recess, lunch, and planning periods. 
 
Each school system may authorize some or all of its schools to modify the 
total number of instructional minutes per day and instructional days per year 
provided that 63,720 minutes of instructional time per year are met.  

 
Local systems have the option to make the determination regarding the 
length of the school day for high school seniors/ 
 
Refer to R.S. 17:154.1. 

 
Extended School Year Program for  

Eligible Exceptional Students 
1.119.00 School systems shall provide eligible exceptional 
students special educational and related services in excess of 
177 school days, or the equivalent during the normal 182 
day school cycle when stated in the Individualized 
Education Program (IEP). 
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Extended School Year Program for  
Eligible Exceptional Students 

2.119.00 Extended school year programs shall be provided 
to eligible exceptional students when stated in the 
Individualized Education Program (IEP). 
2.119.01 The determination concerning the need or lack of 
need for an educational program beyond 177 school days, or 
the equivalent, during the normal 182 day school cycle made 
by the participants in an Individualized Education Program 
(IEP) meeting shall be reviewed annually to ascertain any 
changes in the student’s needs. 
2.119.02 The Individualized Education Program shall 
include special educational and related services in excess of 
177 school days or the equivalent during the normal 182 day 
school cycle when the multi-source data indicate that the 
student's exceptionally is of such severity that, without 
instruction in excess of 182 days, a significant loss of 
educational skills shall occur. 
2.119.03 The type and length of the extended program 
shall be determined on an individual basis. 

 
A program ranging from 182 up to 240 school days shall be 
available, when appropriate. 

 
Family Impact Statement 

1. Will the Proposed Rule affect the Stability of the 
Family? No. 

2. Will the Proposed Rule affect the Authority and 
Rights of Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision 
of Their Children? No. 

3. Will the Proposed Rule affect the Functioning of the 
Family? No. 

4. Will the Proposed Rule affect Family Earnings and 
Family Budget? No. 

5. Will the Proposed Rule affect the Behavior and 
Personal Responsibility of Children? 

6. Is the Family or a Local Government able to perform 
the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule? Yes. 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2002, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. Box 94064, 
Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Minimum Number of Instructional 

School Days 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

No state cost will be incurred to implement the change in 
the number of instructional days. Additional costs relate to 
local education agencies only. Estimated costs are as follows: 
FY2001-2002: $6,658,972, FY2002-2003: $6,984,093 and 
FY2003-2004: $7,030,251. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is estimated that there is no impact on revenue collections 
at the state or local level. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is an estimated cost to the local education agencies of 
$6,658,972 in FY2001-2002 to convert two days from non-
instructional to instructional within the teacher contract year. 
The cost is related to providing services to students for these 
two additional instructional days. The estimated cost is based 
on actual FY2000-2001 AFR data as provided by the 66 school 
systems. Selected expenditures in the areas of transportation, 
food service and operation and maintenance were calculated 
recognizing that students will have to be transported and 
provided meals for the two additional instructional days. In 
addition, increased costs may be incurred for operation of 
buildings and facilities on these days. An inflation factor of 
2.75 percent, consistent with the growth built into the MFP 
formula, was applied to the selected FY2001-2002 
expenditures to arrive at the FY2001-2002 cost of $6,658,972. 
The same inflation factor was applied to the out-years for 
estimated costs of $6,842,092 in FY2002-2003 and $7,030251 
in FY2003-2004. This is a conservative estimate but may be 
higher or lower based on the unique circumstances of 
individual local education agencies. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is estimated that there will be no impact on competition 
or employment as teachers are already under contract to the 
school systems for a school year. 

 
Marlyn Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management & Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0207#025  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741CLouisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCPolicy for Louisiana's Public Education 

Accountability System (LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 741, referenced in 
LAC 28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November 1975). 
Act 478 of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for 
the development of an Accountability System for the 
purpose of implementing fundamental changes in classroom 
teaching by helping schools and communities focus on 
improved student achievement. The State's Accountability 
System is an evolving system with different components. 
The proposed changes more clearly explain and refine the 
existing policy as follows: 1) State assessments administered 
to students with disabilities. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; R.S. 
17:22(2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education LR 
27:694 (May 2001); LR 27:695 (May 2001); LR 27:815 (June 
2001), LR 28 
The Louisiana School and District Accountability System 

School Performance Scores 
2.006.03 A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be 
calculated for each school. This score shall range from 0-100 
and beyond, with a score of 100 indicating a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given school can receive for each individual indicator index 
and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0". 

For the first accountability cycle, the baseline SPS shall be 
calculated using CRT and NRT scores from spring 1999 and 
the prior year's attendance and dropout data. The Growth 
SPS shall be calculated using CRT and NRT scores from 
spring 2001 and the prior year's attendance and dropout data. 

 
During the fall of 2001 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two 
School Performance Scores as follows: 
• a Growth SPS will be calculated using 2001 English language 

arts/Math LEAP 21 test scores, 2001 Iowa test scores, and 2000 
attendance and dropout data. 

• a new Baseline SPS will be calculated using the average of the 1999-
2000 and 2000-2001 English language arts/Math/Science/Social 
Studies LEAP 21 test scores, the average of the 1999-2000 and 2000-
2001 Iowa test scores and the average of the 1999 and 2000 attendance 
and dropout data. 

The Growth SPS shall be used to determine Growth Labels and to calculate 
rewards. The new Baseline shall be used to determine Performance Labels 
and to calculate the next cycle's Growth Target. The higher SPS (Growth or 
Baseline) shall be used to determine movement in Corrective Act ions. (See 
Standard 2.006.09) 

 
Beginning the second cycle, every year of student data shall 
be used as part of a school's SPS. Calculations of the SPS 
shall use the following: 

• an average of the most recent two year's test data, and 
• attendance and dropout rates from the two years prior 

to the last year of test data used. 
For schools entering accountability after 1999, one year's 
data shall be used for schools formed in mid-cycle years and 
two year's data for other schools. Only spring administration 
test data shall be used in the School Performance Score. 

 
A baseline School Performance Score shall be calculated in Spring 1999 for 
Grades K-8. 

 
During the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, each school shall receive two 
School Performance Scores as follows: 

• a score for regular education students, including gifted, talented, and 
Section 504 students. 

• a score including regular education students AND students with 
disabilities eligible to participate in the CRT and/or NRT tests. 

For the purpose of determining Academically Unacceptable Schools, during 
the summer of 1999 for K-8 schools, the School Performance Score that 
includes only regular education students shall be used. 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS [K-6] 

 
The SPS for a sample school is calculated by multiplyin g the index values 
for each indicator by the weight given to that indicator and adding the total 
scores. In the example,  
[(66.0 * 60%) + (75.0 * 30%) + (50.0 * 10%)] = 67.1 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator Score 

CRT  66.0 60% 39.6 

NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance 50.0 10%   5.0 

Dropout N/A 0% 0 

                                                                            SPS = 67.1 
 

Criterion 
Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 
 
A school’s CRT Index score equals the sum of the student totals divided by 
the number of students eligible to participate in state assessments.  For the 
CRT Index, each student who scores within one of the following five levels 
shall receive the number of points indicated. 

Advanced = 200 points 
Proficient =  150 points 

Basic =  100 points 
Approaching Basic =  50 points 

Unsatisfactory =  0 points 
 

Formula for Calculating a CRT Index for a School [K-8] 
 
1. Calculate the total number of points by multiplying the number of 

students at each Performance level times the points for those respective 
performance levels, for all content areas. 

2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the 
number of content area tests. 

3. Zero shall be the lowest CRT Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 

Option I students:  those students failing the 8th grade LEAP 21 that have 
been 

• retained on the 8 th grade campus 

• must retake all parts of the 8th  Grade LEAP 21 
 
If, during spring testing, a repeating fourth grade student or Option I 8th 
grade student receives a score of Approaching Basic or above on a LEAP 21 
test of mathematics, English language arts, science or social studies for 
which he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, the 
retaining school shall receive 50 incentive points per subject in its 
accountability index. A student may earn a maximum of 200 incentive 
points for his/her school. (No incentive points will be awarded for passing 
parts of tests in the summer school of the year they first failed in spring 
testing.) 

 

Transition Years [K-8] 
 

To accommodate the phase-in of the Social Studies and Science components 
of the CRT for Elementary and Secondary  Accountability Cycles, the State 
Department of Education shall use following LEAP Test components when 
calculating the School Performance Scores (SPS) for K-8: 

Timelines/ 
School Years  

LEAP-CRT Index Components 
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Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [K-8] 
 
For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS.  
Index scores for each student shall be calculated, scores totaled, and then 
averaged together to get a school’s NRT Index score. 

 
NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores 
Composite Standard Scores Equivalent to  

Louisiana's 10- and 20-Year goals, by Grade Level * 
 Grade 

Goals Percentile 
Rank 

3 5 6 7 

10-Year Goal 55th 187 219 231 243 
20-Year Goal 75th 199 236 251 266 

 
NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [K-8] 

 
Where the 10-year and 20-year goals are the 55th and 75th percentile ranks, 
respectively, and where SS = a student’s standard score, then the index for 
that student is calculated as follows: 
Grade 3: Index 3 rd grade = (4.167 * SS) - 679.2 

SS = (Index 3rd grade + 679.2)/4.167 
Grade 5: Index 5 th grade = (2.941 * SS) - 544.1 

SS = (Index 5th grade +  544.1)/2.941 
Grade 6: Index 6 th grade = (2.500 * SS) - 477.5 

SS = (Index 6th grade +  477.5)/2.500 
Grade 7: Index 7 th grade = (2.174*SS) - 428.3 

SS= (Index 7th grade + 428.3)/2.174 
 

Formula for Calculating a School's NRT Index [K-8] 
 
1. Calculate the index for each student, using the grade-appropriate 

formula relating the Standard Score to NRT Index. (NOTE: For 
accountability purposes, a student not taking the test and not exempted 
will be assigned a zero NRT index.) 

2. Sum the total number of NRT Index points for all grades in the school. 
3. Divide the sum of the NRT Index points by the total number of 

students eligible to be tested plus the number of students not 
exempted. 

4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT Index score reported for School 
Performance Score calculations. 

 
Attendance Index Calculations [K-8] 

 
An Attendance Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial 
year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's attendance rates. 
Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' 
average attendance rates as compared to the State's goals. 

 
Attendance Goals 

  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 
Grades K-8 95% 98% 

Attendance Index Formula 
 
Grades K-8 

Indicator (ATT K-8) = (16.667 * ATT) - 1483.4 
 
Where ATT is the attendance percentage, the Index Formula uses the 
definition of attendance established by the Louisiana Department of 
Education. 

 
Lowest Attendance Index Score 

 
Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
Dropout Index Calculations 

 
A Dropout Index score for each school shall be calculated. The initial year's 
index shall be calculated from the prior year's dropout rates. Subsequent 
years' indices shall be calculated using the prior two years' average dropout 
rates as compared to the State's goals. 

 
 

Dropout Goals 
   10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 7 & 8 4% 2% 
 

The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain 
instances the Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate an 
"Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes. 

 
Dropout Index Formulas 

 
Non-Dropout Rate (NDO) = 100 - Dropout Rate (DO)  

(expressed as a percentage) 
Grades 7 & 8 Dropout Index (7-8) = Indicator (DO Gr 7-8) =  

(25 * NDO) - 2300.0 
NDO = (Indicator DO Gr 7-8 + 2300.0) /25 

 
Lowest Dropout Index Score 

 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
School Performance Scores for 9-12 

 
A School Performance Score (SPS) shall be calculated for 
each high school. This score shall range from 0-100 and 
beyond, with a score of 100 indicating that a school has 
reached the 10-Year Goal and a score of 150 indicating that a 
school has reached the 20-Year Goal. The lowest score that a 
given high school can receive for each individual indicator 
index and/or for the SPS as a whole is "0." 

 
Every year of student data shall be used as part of a high 
school's SPS. The school's initial SPS shall be calculated 
using the most recent year's NRT and CRT test data and the 
prior year's attendance and dropout rates. Subsequent 
calculations of the SPS shall use the most recent two years' 
test data, attendance and dropout rates from the two years 
prior to the last year of test data used. 

 
Transition Years [9-12] 

To accommodate the phase-in of the grades 10 and 11 GEE 21 criterion-
referenced tests, the Department shall use the following indicators: 
Timelines/School Years  Indicators Included 
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*Indicates use of prior year data for these indexes. 
1The SPS at the beginning of cycle 2 shall be calculated using the 
average of the 2002 and 2003 NRT scores, the average of the 2002 and 
2003 CRT scores, and the average of the 2001 and 2002 attendance and 
dropout data. The SPS for the beginning of cycle 2 shall be compared to 
the 2001 baseline SPS for determining growth. 
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Transition Years [Combination Schools] 
 
Combination Schools are schools that contain a 10 th and/or 11th grade and 
that also contain a 4 th and/or 8 th grade. 
 
To accommodate the phase-in of Social Studies and Science components of 
the CRT tests for Secondary Accountability Cycles, the Department shall 
use the following LEAP Test components when calculating the SPS for 
combination schools. 

Cycle 1 Baseline SPS for 
Combination Schools 

Cycle 2 SPS for Combination 
Schools 

K-8 portion of school:  2 years 
averaged (2000 and 2001) of all 
CRT data  

K-8 portion of school:  2 years 
averaged (2002 and 2003) of all 
CRT data. 

9-12 portion of school:  1 year 
baseline data (2001) without grade 
11 CRT  

9-12 portion of school:  2 years 
averaged (2002 and 2003) of all 
CRT data. 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS - Accountability Cycle 1 (2001) 

for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 
During the first accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall be 
calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the weight 
given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 
SPS = (.60 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) +  

(.30 * NRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.05 * Dropout Index) 
+   (.05 Attendance Index) 

 
All intermediate results and the final result shall be rounded to the nearest 
tenth. 
 
The following is an example of how this calculation shall be made: 
[(.60 * 66.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 69.0. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator 
Score 

CRT-Grade 10 66.0 60% 39.6 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance 
Index 

50.0 5% 2.5 

Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4 
SPS 69.0 

 
Formula for Calculating an SPS - Accountability Cycle 2 (2003 and 

beyond) for 9-12 and Combination Schools. 
During the second accountability cycle, the SPS for a sample school shall 
be calculated by multiplying the index values for each indicator by the 
weight given to the indicator and adding the total scores. The formula is 

SPS = (.30 * Grade 10 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + 
 (.30 * Grade 11 CRT Adjusted Achievement Index) + (.30 * NRT Index) 

 + (.05 * Dropout Index) +  (.05 Attendance Index) 
 

In this example, 
[(.30 * 66.0) + (.30 * 60.0) + (.30 * 75.0) + (.05 * 50.0) + (.05 * 87.5)] = 
67.2. 

Indicator Index Value Weight Indicator 
Score 

CRT-Grade 10 66.0 30% 19.8 
CRT-Grade 11 60.0 30% 18.0 
NRT  75.0 30% 22.5 
Attendance 
Index 

50.0 5% 2.5 

Dropout Index 87.5 5% 4.4 
SPS 67.2 

 
Norm-Referenced Tests (NRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 

For the NRT Index, standard scores shall be used for computing the SPS. 
Index scores for each student shall be calculated, scores totaled, and then 
averaged together to get a high school's NRT Index score. 

NRT Goals and Equivalent Standard Scores for Grade 9  
Goal Percentile Rank Grade 9 Composite 

Standard Score  
10-Year Goal 55th 263 
20-Year Goal 75th 287 

 
 
 

NRT Formulas Relating Student Standard Scores to NRT Index [9-12] 
If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are the 55 th and 75 th percentile ranks 
respectively and if the SS = a student's standard score, the index for a grade 
9 student is calculated as follows: 

Index 9 th grade = (2.083 * SS) – 447.8 
SS = (Index 9 th grade + 447.8)/2.083 

 
Option II students:   those students failing the 8 th grade LEAP 21 that have 
been: 
• retained and placed on the high school campus 
• must take the 9th grade NRT and 
• must retake only the part of the 8 th grade LEAP 21 they originally 

failed (English language arts or mathematics). 
 
If, during spring testing, a student receives a score of Approaching Basic or 
above on a LEAP 21 test of mathematics or English language arts for which 
he/she received a score of Unsatisfactory the previous spring, the high 
school shall receive incentive points in its accountability index. For the 
2000-2001 school year, a student may earn a maximum of 100 incentive 
points in his/her school’s accountability index.  Beginning cycle 2 (2001-
2002), a student may earn a maximum of 50 incentive points for his/her 
school. (See High Stakes Testing Policy.) 

 
Only with the exception of grade 8 Option II students, all Louisiana 
students in grades three through eleven will participate in only one of the 
following state assessments on an annual basis: 
• LEAP 21 or, 
• GEE 21 or, 
• Iowa On-Level or, 
• LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B) or, 
• LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA). 

 
Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRT) Index Calculations [9-12] 

A high school's CRT Index score at each grade equals the sum of the 
eligible student totals divided by the number of students eligible to 
participate in state assessments. For the CRT Index, each student who 
scores within one of the following five levels shall receive the number of 
points indicated. 

Advanced 200 points 
Proficient 150 points 

Basic 100 points 
Approaching Basic   50 points 

Unsatisfactory    0 points 
 
Formula for Calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement 

Index for a High School 
1. Sum the number of points earned by all students. For the NRT, there 

shall be one score for each student: the NRT Index calculated from the 
student's composite standard score. For the CRT, students shall be 
taking two tests at each grade.  

2. Divide by the total number of students eligible to be tested times the 
number of content area tests. This calculation provides the raw 
achievement index for the grade. 

3. Multiply the raw index by the product of the non-dropout rates from the 
previous year. for that grade and for all the previous grades. (See 
Examples below.) This operation means that the grade 9 NRT Index 
shall be multiplied by the grade 9 non-dropout rate, the grade 10 CRT 
Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9 and grade 10 non-dropout 
rates, and the grade 11 CRT Index shall be multiplied by the grade 9, 
grade 10 and grade 11 non-dropout rates.  his operation shall yield the 
Adjusted Achievement Index. 

4. Zero shall be the lowest NRT or CRT Adjusted Achievement Index 
score reported for accountability calculations. 

The formula for calculating the NRT and CRT Adjusted Achievement 
Index for a High School is: 

NRT Adjusted Achievement Index = Raw Achievement Index *  
(1-DO Gr 9 + .07) 

CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 10) = Raw Achievement Index * 
(1-DO Gr 9 + .07) * (1-DO Gr 10 + .07) 

CRT Adjusted Achievement Index (Gr 11) = Raw Achievement Index * 
(1-DO Gr 9 + .07) *(1-DO Gr 10 + .07) * (1-DO Gr 11 + .07) 
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Example 1 – Grade 9: 
§ Before beginning grade 9, a class has 50 students; by the end of 

September, 45 remain in the class. The grade 9 dropout rate is 
(5/50) = .100. 

§ The number of points earned on the NRT is 5000. 
§ The raw achievement index is 

5000/45 = 111.1. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

111.1 X (1 – .100 + .07) = 107.8. 
Example 2 – Grade 10: 
§ Another 5 students dropout before October of grade 10. The grade 10 

dropout rate is 
5/45 = .111. 

§ The 40 students remaining in the class earn 10,000 points on the two 
CRT tests. The raw achievement index is 

10,000/(40 * 2)  = 125.0. 
§ The adjusted achievement index is 

125.0 X (1 – .100 + .07) X (1 – .111 +.07) = 116.3. 

 
Attendance Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 

An Attendance Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The 
initial year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's attendance rates. 
Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' 
average attendance rates as compared to the State’s goals. 

Attendance Goals 
  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 93% 96% 
Attendance Index Formula for Grades 9-12 

If the 10-Year and 20-Year Goals are 93% and 96% average attendance 
respectively and if the ATT = attendance percentage using the definition of 
attendance established by the Department of Education, the attendance 
index is calculated as follows: 

Indicator (ATT 9-12) = (16.667 * ATT) – 1450.0. 
Example: 
§ If the average attendance percentage is 94.3%, the Attendance Index 

would be 
(16.667 * 94.3) – 1450.0 = 121.7. 

Zero shall be the lowest Attendance Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
Dropout Index Calculations for Grades 9-12 

A Dropout Index score for each high school shall be calculated. The initial 
year's index shall be calculated from the prior year's dropout rates. 
Subsequent years' indexes shall be calculated using the prior two years' 
average dropout rates as compared to the State's goals. 

Dropout Goals  
  10-Year Goal 20-Year Goal 

Grades 9-12 7% 3% 
Dropout Index Formula for Grades 9-12 

Dropout Index = 187.5 - (12.5 X dropout rate) 
Example: 
§ If the dropout rate is 4.5%, the Dropout Index would be 

187.5 - (12.5 * 4.5) = 131.3. 
Zero shall be the lowest Dropout Index score reported for accountability 
calculations. 

 
The national definition of dropout shall be adhered to, but in certain 
instances the Louisiana Department of Education shall calculate an 
"Adjusted Dropout Rate" for accountability purposes. 

 
Data Collection and Data Verification 

 
2.006.04 A test score shall be entered for all eligible 
students within a given school. For any eligible student who 
does not take the test, including those who are absent, a 
score of "0" on the CRT and NRT shall be calculated in the 
school's SPS. (See Standard 2.006.18 for students 
participating in LEAP Alternate Assessment B [LAA-B].) To 
assist a school in dealing with absent students, the Louisiana  

Department of Education shall provide an extended testing 
period for test administration. The only exception to this 
policy is a student who was sick during the test and re-
testing periods and who has formal medical documentation 
for that period. 

The Districts and the LDE shall evaluate any instance of 
Irregularity or Unusual Data in the following respects: 

 
For Attendance and Dropout data: 

• The LDE shall identify a statistically valid sample of all schools 
included in the accountability system. All schools included in this 
sample shall be audited. 

• Additionally, the LDE shall audit all schools included in the 
accountability system that have an Irregularity or Unusual Data Result 
(UDR), as defined below. The LDE may have an outside team 
conduct the audit. 

• The findings of the audit shall be reported to the SBESE, the local 
district and local school. If the audit findings cannot be resolved, the 
Superintendent shall recommend to the SBESE, who shall approve the 
appropriate data to be used in the calculation of the School 
Performance Score. 

For NRT and CRT data: 

• If there is evidence of an Irregularity or UDR, the LEA shall be 
required to investigate using a process as determined by the LDE and 
approved by the SBESE. The LEA shall report the results of its 
investigation to the State Superintendent of Education. 

• If the State Superintendent of Education determines that the results of 
the investigation do not sufficiently explain the data, s/he shall 
designate a team to visit the school and conduct its own investigation. 

• If the gains are validated by the visit, the school will be designated a 
"pacesetter" school. If the gains cannot be validated, the State 
Superintendent of Education may initiate further action. 

Reported Irregularities: 

• The LDE will determine and the SBESE shall approve a process for 
the public to report possible Irregularities. 

• Anonymous complaints may be investigated. 

• All signed complaints shall be investigated. 
Allocation of Rewards (See Standard 2.006.08): 
• If Irregularities are resolved and the data is corrected before rewards 

are provided, then the rewards will be based upon the corrected data. 
• If the Irregularities are resolved and the data is corrected after rewards 

have been distributed, then the school shall be required to repay any 
rewards for which it was ineligible as determined by the audit findings 
or the SBESE will subtract the reward amount from future funds to be 
awarded to the district or from some other source. 

 
An Unusual Data Result (UDR) shall be defined as any CRT, NRT, 
attendance or dropout data which exceeds a parameter, or a range of 
parameters, which shall be determined by the LDE and approved by the 
SBESE. An Irregularity shall be defined as any data which appears to 
contradict results which are otherwise expected; unrealistic information; or 
data generated as a result of defective data collection or processing. 

 
Growth Targets 

 
2.006.05 Each school shall receive a Growth Target that 
represents the amount of progress it must make every two 
years to reach the State’s 10- and 20-Year Goals. 

 
In establishing each school's Growth Target, the SPS inclusive of students 
with disabilities shall be used as the baseline. (See Standard 2.006.18.) 
However, the percentage of students with disabilities varies significantly 
across schools and the rate of growth for such students, when compared to 
regular education students, may be different. Therefore, the proportion of 
students with disabilities eligible to participate in the CRT or NRT in each 
school will be a factor in determining the Growth Target for each school. 
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Growth Targets [K-12] 
 

During the first ten years, the formula is the following: 
 
[PropRE * (100 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((100 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + [PropLEP 
* ((100-SPS)/(N+5))] or 5 points, whichever is greater 
where 
 
PropSE  =  the number of special education students in the school who are 

eligible to participate in the NRT or CRT, divided by the total 
number of students in the school who are eligible to participate 
in the NRT or CRT. For purposes of this calculation, gifted, 
talented, and 504 students shall not be counted as special 
education students, but shall be included in the calculations as 
regular education students. 

 

PropRE   =  1-PropSE.  PropRE is the proportion of students not in special 
education. 

Prop LEP  = the number of limited English proficient students in the school 
who are eligible to participate in the NRT or CRT, divided 
by the total number of students in the school who are eligible 
to participate in the NRT or CRT. A limited English 
proficient student shall be defined as an individual who has 
sufficient difficulty speaking, reading, writing, or 
understanding the English language and whose difficulties 
may deny such individual the opportunity to learn 
successfully in classrooms where the language of instruction 
is English or participate fully in our society and who 1) was 
not born in the United States or whose native language is a 
language other than English and comes from an environment 
where a language other than English is dominate; or 2) is a 
Native American or Alaska Native or who is a native 
resident of the outlying areas and comes from an 
environment where a language other than English has had a 
significant impact on such individual’s level of English 
language proficiency; or 3) is migratory and whose native 
language is other than English and comes from an 
environment where a language other than English is 
dominate. 

SPS = School Performance Score 
 
 

N = Number of remaining accountability cycles in the 10-Year Goal period 
 

The maximum amount of growth that a school shall be required to attain is 
20 points. 

The minimum amount of growth required shall be 5 points. 
During the second ten years, the formula is the following:  
 

[PropRE * (150 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((150 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + [PropLEP 
* ((150-SPS)/(N+5))], or 5 points, whichever is greater.  

 
For cycle 1 only (2003), the Louisiana Department of Education shall 
calculate a growth target for 9-12 schools using the following formula 

.75 * [[PropRE * (100 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((100 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + 
[PropLEP * ((100-SPS)/(N+5))]]. 

 
For combination schools, the Louisiana Department of Education shall use 
2 years of data (2002 and 2003) to determine if a school has met its growth 
target for cycle 1. Combination schools shall use the following formula to 
calculate a growth target: 

[[PropRE * (100 - SPS)/N] + [PropSE * ((100 - SPS)/(N + 5))] + 
[PropLEP * ((100-SPS)/(N+5))]], or 5 points, whichever is greater.  

 
Growth Targets for New or Reconfigured Schools 

 
Once a baseline for the new or reconfigured school has been established, a 
Growth Target shall be set based on the number of cycles remaining until 
2009 (K-8) and 2011 (9-12), with a maximum Growth Target of 20 points. 
 
For example, suppose an elementary school enters the Accountability 
System in 2003 and establishes a baseline SPS of 50 in 2005. Normally, the 
school's Growth Target would be (100-50)/2 = 25. Under this rule, the 
school's Growth Target shall be 20, the maximum. 

 
Growth Targets for Reconstituted Schools 

 
Until 2009 (for K-8 schools) and 2011 (for 9-12 schools), the reconstituted 
school's Growth Target shall be equal to 100 minus the SPS divided by 5 
minus the number of cycles since reconstitution. 

For example, suppose a school is reconstituted in 2005 and has a SPS of 50 
(based on previous year's data). The school's Growth Target for the first 
cycle after reconstitution shall be 10 points [(100-50)/5]. 

 
Inclusion of Alternative Education Students 

 
2.006.17 Each superintendent, in conjunction with the 

alternative school director, shall choose from one of two 
options for including alternative education students in the 
Louisiana Accountability System for the system's alternative 
education schools. 

 
Option I The score for every alternative education student at a given 

alternative school shall be returned to ("sent back") and included 
in the home-based school's SPS. The alternative school itself 
shall receive a "diagnostic" SPS, not to be used for rewards or 
Corrective Actions, if a statistically valid number of students 
were enrolled in the school at the time of testing. 

 
Students included in the GED/Skills Option program will be included in 
School Accountability. They will be required to take the 9 th grade Iowa Test 
or participate in LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B) or LEAP Alternate 
Assessment (LAA) while enrolled.  All programs will be considered Option 
I for alternative education purposes and student data will be sent back to the 
sending high schools for attendance, dropout and Iowa Test scores. 

 
Option II  The score for every alternative education student shall remain 

at the alternative school. The alternative school shall be given 
its own SPS and Growth Target, which makes the alternative 
school eligible for rewards and Corrective Actions.  

 
In order to be eligible for Option II, an alternative school shall meet all of 
the following requirements: 

• the alternative school must have its own site code and operate as a 
school; 

• the alternative school must have a required minimum number of 
students in the tested grade levels; the definition of required 
minimum is stated in Section 2.006.19; and 

• at least 50 percent of the total school population must have been 
enrolled in the school for the entire school year, October 1-May 1. 

 
 

Once an option is selected for an alternative school, it shall remain in that 
option for at least 10 years. An appeal to the SBESE may be made to 
change the option status prior to the end of 10 years if a school's purpose 
and/or student eligibility changes. 

 
An alternative school that chooses Option II shall receive an initial baseline 
SPS during summer of 1999 if the majority of its students are in grades K-8.  
If the majority of its students are in grades 9-12, an alternative school shall 
receive its baseline SPS during the summer of 2001. 

 
All students pursuing a regular high school diploma, working in curricula 
developed from Louisiana Content Standards, shall be included in the State-
testing program, with those scores included in a SPS. 
Information on these students-e.g., number receiving a GED-shall be 
reported in the school's report card as a sub-report. 

 
An alternative school in Corrective Actions II may request some flexibility 
in obtaining assistance from either a Distinguished Educator (DE) or a team 
designed to address the special needs of the alternative school population, 
as long as the total costs for the team do not exceed that for the DE. Sample 
team members could include the following: social workers, psychologists, 
educational diagnosticians, and counselors, etc. 

 
Inclusion of Lab Schools and Charter Schools 

 
Such schools shall be included in the Louisiana Accountability System 
following the same rules that apply to traditional and/or alternative schools. 
The only exceptions are that Lab Schools and Type 1, 2, and 3 Charter 
Schools are "independent@ schools and cannot be "paired@ or "shared@ with 
another school if they do not have at least one CRT and one NRT grade 
level, and/or if there is no "home-based@ district school to which a given 
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student's scores can be returned if all three conditions for Option II cannot 
be met. Therefore, if they do not have the required grade levels and/or 
required minimum number of students, such schools cannot receive a SPS. 
Instead, the State shall publish the results from pre- and post -test student 
achievement results, as well as other relevant accountability data, as part of 
that school's report card. This policy is to be revisited during the year 2001. 

 
For the 1999-2000 academic school year, detention and Department of 
Corrections facilities shall NOT receiv e a SPS. 

 
Inclusion of Students with Disabilities 

 
2.006.18 All students, including those with disabilities, 
shall participate in Louisiana's new testing program. The 
scores of all students who are eligible to take the CRT and 
the NRT shall be included in the calculation of the SPS. 
Most students with disabilities shall take the CRT and the 
NRT with accommodations, if required by their 
Individualized Education Program (IEP). A small percentage 
of students with very significant disabilities, limited to 1.5 
percent per grade level per school district, shall participate in 
LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA), as required by their IEP. 

Local Education Agencies (LEAs) have the option to 
allow or disallow LEAP Alternate Assessment B (LAA-B). 
The decision to allow or disallow LAA-B must be in effect 
for one accountability cycle. The LEA shall determine the 
percentage of students who can test LAA-B, not to exceed a 
total of 4 percent of students at any grade level per school 
district. This 4 percent includes those students participating 
in LAA. The parent must agree with LAA-B through written 
parental approval, via the IEP. There shall be an appeals 
method in place to make decisions on exceptions when the 
district's 4 percent cap has been exceeded. 

A student participating in LAA-B testing must test three or 
more grade levels below in either English/Language Arts or 
Mathematics. If a student does not test three or more grade 
levels below in at least one of these subject areas, the school 
will receive a "0" for that student 's growth in the calculation 
of the school's SPS. 

For students with disabilities who test in LAA-B, Iowa 
(ITBS) standard scores from two consecutive years shall be 
compared in the following manner to determine student 
performance in calculating the SPS: 

 
Less than 5 standard score points 
of progress 

 
    0 points (Unsatisfactory) 

5-9 standard score points of 
progress 

  
  50 points (Approaching Basic) 

10-14 standard score points of 
progress 

100 points (Basic) 

15-19 standard score points of 
progress 

150 points (Proficient) 

20 + standard score points of 
progress 

200 points (Advanced) 

 
Appeals Process for Exceeding the Established Caps for  

LAA or LAA-B of Students with Disabilities 
 

School districts that either 
A) exceed a total of 4 percent but less than 5 percent of the total district 

population at any grade level participating in LAA-B and LAA, 
AND/OR 

B) exceed a total of 1.5 percent but less than 2 percent of the total 
district population at any grade level participating in LAA. 

 
 
 

must submit the following to the Department of Education (DOE) for 
review and approval: 

1) a justification documenting the reasons for exceeding the cap(s), 
and  

2) a corrective action plan to 
• increase participation in on-level assessment of the total district 

population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded, and when 
applicable; 

• decrease participation in LAA to a maximum of 1.5 percent of the total 
district population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded. 

School districts that either 
A) exceed a total of 5 percent or more of the total district population at 

any grade level participating in LAA-B and LAA, 
AND/OR 

B) exceed a total of 2 percent of the total district population at any 
grade level participating in LAA 

must submit the following to the Department of Education for review 
and approval: 
1) a justification documenting the reasons for exceeding the 

cap(s), and  
2) a corrective action plan to 

• increase participation in on-level assessment of the total district 
population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded, and when 
applicable; 

• decrease participation in LAA to a maximum of 1.5 percent of the total 
district population at the grade level(s) where the cap was exceeded. 

 
The school district will receive an onsite investigation by a Department of 
Education team; and following the investigation, the DOE team will meet 
with the school district's superintendent and appropriate staff to address the 
findings and revise, if necessary, the submitted corrective action plan. 
 
III. The DOE will report to the SBESE on each appeal. 

 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2002, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Policy for Louisiana's Public Education 
Accountability System 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no estimated implementation costs (savings) to 

state governmental units. The proposed changes more clearly 
explain and refine the existing policy as it pertains to the state 
assessments administered to students with disabilities. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated costs and/or economic benefits 
to persons or non-governmental groups directly affected. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Marlyn J. Langley  H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0207#026  
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Reasonable and Proper Care for and Control over Textbooks 
and Other Materials of Instruction  

(LAC 28:XXXIII.523) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement an amendment to Bulletin 1794, State 
Textbook Adoption Policy and Procedure Manual , 
referenced in LAC 28:XXXIII. Bulletin 1794 is being 
revised to reflect legislative changes. Act 315 of the 2001 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature requires the 
principal of every school to transfer student educational 
records, within 10 business days, to educational facilities 
operated within correctional or health facilities, upon receipt 
of a written request. In addition, the authority for schools to 
withhold grades of students who have fines or fees related to 
lost or damaged books has been removed. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XXXIII.  Bulletin 1794CState Textbook Adoption 
Policy and Procedure Manual 

Chapter 5. Local School System Responsibilities 
§523. Reasonable and Proper Care for and Control 

over Textbooks and Other Materials of 
Instruction 

NOTE: This policy shall also be applicable to instructional 
materials, supplies, and equipment. (See also Bulletin 741) 

A. The SDE recommends that Student Handbooks, 
issued to students at the beginning of each school year, 
include a policy statement that stipulates responsibility for 
proper use and control over textbooks and other materials of 
instruction that are on loan to the students during the school 
year. Signature lines should be included for both students’ 
and parent/legal guardians' acknowledgement of 
responsibility. In addition, a contact name and phone number 
should be provided. Payment plans for restitution by 
parents/guardians may be specified. 

B. Each school system, as part of its responsibility to 
ensure proper care and control of textbooks, shall adopt 
procedures that hold students and parents/guardians 
responsible for exercising reasonable and proper care of 
textbooks and materials of instruction. 

C. Such procedures may provide that parents and/or 
legal guardians may be required to compensate the school 
district for lost, destroyed, or unnecessarily damaged books 
and materials, and for any books which are not returned to 
the proper schools at the end of each school year or upon 
withdrawal of their dependent child. Under no circumstances 
may a student of school age be held financially responsible 
for fees associated with textbook replacement. 

D. Compensation by parents or guardians may be in the 
form of monetary fees or community/school service 
activities, as determined by the school governing authority. 
In the case of monetary fees, fines shall be limited to no 
more than the replacement cost of the textbook or material, 
but may, at the discretion of the governing authority, be 
adjusted according to the physical condition of the lost or 
destroyed textbook. A school system may waive or reduce 

the payment required if the student is from a family of low 
income and may provide for a method of payment other than 
lump-sum payment. 

E. In lieu of monetary payments, both school systems 
and parents/guardians may elect to have students perform 
school/community service activities, provided that such are 
arranged sop as not to conflict with school instructional 
time; these activities shall be properly supervised by school 
staff and shall be suitable to the age of the child. 

F. Under no circumstances may a school or school 
district refuse the parent/guardian the right to inspect 
relevant grades or records pertaining to the child; nor may 
the school or school district refuse to transfer promptly the 
records of any child withdrawing or transferring from the 
school, per requirements of the Federal Family Educational 
rights and Privacy Act. Transfer of records shall not exceed 
45 days from the date of request, except for requests from 
any educational facility operated within any correctional or 
health facility. The transfer of such records shall not exceed 
10 business days from the date of receipt of the written 
request. 

G. Under no circumstances may a school or school 
district deny a student promotional opportunities, as a result 
of his/her failure to compensate the school district for lost or 
damaged textbooks. Students shall not be denied continual 
enrollment each grading period nor re-entry in succeeding 
school years as a result of lost or damaged books. 

H. Students shall not be denied the use of a textbook 
during school hours each day. Each school system shall 
annually inform parents and/or legal guardians of the locally 
adopted procedures pursuant to state law and regulation, 
regarding reasonable and proper control of textbooks (See 
also Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators (Revised, 1997) for policy regarding this 
legislation). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article 
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:1001 (May 2000), LR 
28: 

Interested persons may submit written comments until 
4:30 p.m., September 8, 2002, to Nina A. Ford, Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol 
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Reasonable and Proper Care for and 

Control over Textbooks and Other Materials of 
Instruction 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The estimated implementation cost for this rule change is 

$1,350. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
This rule change should have no measurable effect on state 

or local revenue collections. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 28, No. 07   July 20, 2002 1626

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated cost or economic benefit to any 
non-governmental group. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition or 
employment. 

 
Marlyn J. Langley H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent  Staff Director 
Management and Finance Legislative Fiscal Office 
0207#024  
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Corrections to Organizational Citations 
(LAC 33:V.4201, 4205, 4211, and 4241)(HW082)  

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste regulations, LAC 
33:V.4201, 4205, 4211, and 4241 (Log #HW082). 

This proposed rule makes a minor correction for 
clarification and corrects errors in the use of "administrative 
authority" by replacing the term with the correct office and 
division for submittals or notification requirements. This 
action is being taken to encourage and assist the regulated 
entities in the proper submittal of information and 
notification to the department. The basis and rationale for 
this rule are to provide consistency in the regulations with 
regards to information submittal and notification to the 
department. 

This proposed rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019.D.(2) and R.S. 49:953.G.(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. This proposed rule has no known impact 
on family formation, stability, and autonomy as described in 
R.S. 49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

QualityCHazardous Waste 
Chapter 42. Conditional Exemption for Low-Level 

Mixed Waste Storage and Disposal 
§4201. What Definitions Apply to this Chapter?  

A. This Chapter uses the following special definitions. 
* * * 

We or UsCadministrative authority, as defined in LAC 
33:V.109. Within this Chapter, the administrative authority is 
the Office of Environmental Services, Permits Division, 
unless otherwise indicated. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
28:1004 (May 2002), amended LR 28: 
§4205. What Wastes are Eligible for the Storage and 

Treatment Conditional Exemption?  
A. LLMW, defined in LAC 33:V.4201, is eligible for this 

conditional exemption if it is generated and managed by you 
under a single department, NRC, or other NRC agreement 
state license. (Mixed waste generated at a facility with a 
different license number and shipped to your facility for 
storage or treatment requires a permit and is ineligible for 
this exemption. In addition, NARM waste is ineligible for 
this exemption.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
28:1005 (May 2002), amended LR 28: 
§4211. How Could You Lose the Conditional Exemption 

for Your LLMW and What Action Must You 
Take? 

A. - A.1.c. … 
2. If the failure to meet any of the conditions may 

endanger human health or the environment, you must also 
immediately notify the Office of Environmental Compliance 
by telephone or by e-mail within 24 hours after learning of 
the discharge. Notification should be made to the Office of 
Environmental Compliance by telephone at (225) 763-3908 
during office hours; (225) 342-1234 after hours, weekends, 
and holidays; or by e-mail utilizing the Incident Report Form 
and procedures found at www.deq.state.la.us/surveillance 
and followed up with a written notification within five days. 
Failures that may endanger human health or the environment 
include, but are not limited to, discharge of a CERCLA 
reportable quantity or other leaking or exploding tanks or 
containers or detection of radionuclides above background 
or hazardous constituents in the leachate collection system 
of a storage area. If the failure may endanger human health 
or the environment, you must follow the provisions of your 
emergency plan. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
28:1006 (May 2002), amended LR 28: 
§4241. How Could You Lose the Transportation and 

Disposal Conditional Exemption for Your Waste 
and What Actions Must You Take? 

A. Any waste will automatically lose the transportation 
and disposal exemption if you fail to manage it in 
accordance with all of the conditions specified in LAC 
33:V.4225. 

1. When you fail to meet any of the conditions 
specified in LAC 33:V.4225 for any of your wastes, you 
must report to the Office of Environmental Compliance, 
Surveillance Division, in writing by certified delivery, within 
30 days of learning of the failure. Your report must be signed 
by your authorized representative certifying that the 
information provided is true, accurate, and complete. This 
report must include: 

a. - c. … 
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2. If the failure to meet any of the conditions may 
endanger human health or the environment, you must also 
immediately notify the Office of Environmental Compliance 
by telephone or by e-mail within 24 hours after learning of 
the discharge. Notification should be made to the Office of 
Environmental Compliance by telephone at (225) 763-3908 
during office hours; (225) 342-1234 after hours, weekends, 
and holidays; or by e-mail utilizing the Incident Report Form 
and procedures found at www.deq.state.la.us/surveillance 
then followed up with a written notification within five days. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of 

Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
28:1008 (May 2002), amended LR 28: 

A public hearing will be held on August 27, 2002, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290 
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested 
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on 
the proposed amendments. Attendees should report directly 
to the hearing location for DEQ visitor registration, instead 
of to the security desk in the DEQ Headquarters building. 
Should individuals with a disability need an accommodation 
in order to participate, contact Patsy Deaville at the address 
given below or at (225) 765-0399. 

All interested persons are invited to submit written 
comments on the proposed regulations. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by HW082. Such 
comments must be received no later than September 3, 2002, 
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, 
Regulation Development Section, Box 82178, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70884-2178 or to fax (225) 765-0389 or by e-mail to 
patsyd@deq.state.la.us. Copies of this proposed regulation 
can be purchased at the above referenced address. Contact 
the Regulation Development Section at (225) 765-0399 for 
pricing information. Check or money order is required in 
advance for each copy of HW082. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA 
70810; 804 Thirty-First Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State 
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 201 
Evans Road, Building 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, LA 70123; 
100 Asma Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; 104 
Lococo Drive, Raceland, LA 70394 or on the Internet at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/ planning/regs/index.htm. 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Corrections to Organizational Citations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No costs or savings are anticipated as a result of the 

implementation of the proposed action. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 

local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The regulated community will benefit from this rule by 
having a more direct contact to whom to submit their required 
information in the department. This may result in an indirect 
decrease in cost and increase in economic benefit to the 
regulated community. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no known impacts of the proposed action on 
competition and employment in the public and private sectors. 

 
James H. Brent Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary General Government Section Director 
0207#028 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 

Change in Time of Board Meeting, Public Comments at 
Board Meetings, Educational Seminars 

(LAC 46:V.2701, 4401, and 4403) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with 
Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapters 4A and 4B, the Office of 
the Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, 
notice is hereby given that the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 
Commission proposes to adopt rules and regulations 
governing public comments at Board Meetings in 
accordance with R.S. 47:5.D and educational seminars in 
accordance with R.S. 32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). The Used 
Motor Vehicle Parts Commission proposes to amend the 
time of the regularly scheduled Board Meetings as indicated 
in R.S. 32:772.E. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 2.  Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission 
Chapter 27. The Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 

Commission 
§2701. Meetings of the Commission 

A. The Commission shall meet at its office in Baton 
Rouge, LA on the third Tuesday in each month to transact 
such business as may properly come before it. The regular 
meeting will convene at the hour of 9 a.m. and shall continue 
at the pleasure of those present. Any change of monthly 
meetings will be in accordance with the Open Meeting Law 
R.S. 42.5. 

B. ... 
C. A public comment period shall be held at or near the 

beginning of each board meeting. Persons desiring to present 
public comments shall notify the board chairman no later 
than 48 hours prior to the date of the regular meeting and 72 
hours prior to the date of a special meeting. All written 
requests to have an item or items placed on the agenda must 
indicate, in detail, what items they wish to discuss. Public 
discussions are limited only to items on the agenda. There 
will be a maximum of 30 minutes for all public comments to 
be heard and each person will be limited to three minutes. 
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Additional time can be allowed by the chairman as he deems 
reasonable. Each person making public comments shall 
identify himself and the group, organization or company he 
represents, if any. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:772.E and R.S. 42:5.D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 
11:1062 (November 1985), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 
Commission, LR 15:258 (April 1989), LR 15:1058 (December 
1989), LR 18:1116 (October 1992), LR 24:1682 (September 1998), 
LR 25:1792 (October 1999), amended by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28: 
Chapter 44. Educational Seminar 
§4401. Required Attendance 

A. On and after January 1, 2002, every applicant for a 
used motor vehicle dealer's license that has not been licensed 
prior to January 1, 2003, must attend a four-hour educational 
seminar approved and conducted by the Used Motor Vehicle 
and Parts Commission. Existing dealers will be 
grandfathered in and not mandatorily required to attend said 
seminar.  

1. The seminar will be conducted by employees of the 
Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission and will be held 
at the office of the commission located at 3132 Valley Creek 
Drive, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, 70808.  

2. The seminar will be held once a month on the first 
Monday of each month beginning at 9 a.m. and ending at  
1 p.m. 

3. As a courtesy to existing dealers, educational 
seminars will be conducted throughout the state once a year.  

4. In addition to new dealers being required to attend 
the four hour seminar, any existing dealers who are found 
guilty of violations of commission laws and/or rules and 
regulations will be required to attend. 

5. There will be no charge for attendance to the 
educational seminar. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28: 
§4403. Certification 

A. Upon applying for a 2003 used motor vehicle dealer's 
license, the applicant must attach a copy of the certificate of 
completion which documents that the dealership's general 
manager, office manager, title clerk or other responsible 
representative of the dealership has attended the four-hour 
educational seminar. If the applicant has not completed the 
educational seminar, he must provide evidence that he has 
registered to attend such seminar within 60 days after 
issuance of the license. 

B. The certificate shall list the participant's name and 
title, name and address of the used motor vehicle dealer, date 
of completion and signature of instructor.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28: 
§4403. Educational Program 

A. The educational seminar will consist of information 
pertaining to the Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission,

Department of Revenue and Taxation, Office of Motor 
Vehicles, Wildlife and Fisheries, Motor Vehicle Commission 
and Attorney General's Office. The items to be reviewed are 
as follows: 

1. LUMVPCCbackground of the agency, laws, rules 
and regulations, license requirements, area of responsibility, 
complaint procedures, hearing procedures and non-delivery 
of titles; 

2. LMVCCfinance licenses; 
3. RevenueCsubmission of monthly sales reports and 

collection of taxes; 
4. Office of Motor VehiclesCnon-delivery of titles, 

certificates of title and completion of titles by dealers; 
5. Wildlife and FisheriesCregistration of marine 

products; 
6. Office of Attorney GeneralCcivil and criminal 

matters. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:774.B.(3)(b)(i)-(iv). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 28: 
Interested persons may submit written comments no later 

than 4:30 p.m. on July 20, 2002 to John M. Torrance, 
Executive Director, 3132 Valley Creek Drive, Baton Rouge, 
LA, 70808, (225) 925-3870. 

 
John M. Torrance 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Change in Time of Board Meeting, 
Public Comments at Board Meetings, Educational 

Seminars 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no implementation costs. The materials that 
will be distributed at the seminars are the same materials 
initially given to new dealers at the time of inspection of their 
dealerships. Field employees will be teaching the seminars 
which will be held at the commission office. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenues will not be affected by these proposed rules. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will not be any costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. Licensees will 
not be charged a fee to attend the educational seminars. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules on the educational seminars will have a 
positive effect on the used car dealers with regard to 
competition and employment. By adopting what is learned in 
these educational seminars, they can better serve the public and 
insure customers returning for future purchases and/or referrals 
to new potential customers. 

 
John M. Torrance H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Staff Director 
0207#027 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Dispensing of Medications 
(LAC 46:XLV.6507 and 6513) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., that the 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 
pursuant to the authority vested in the board by the 
Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292 and R.S. 
37:1201, intends to amend Title 46:XLV, Subpart 3, Chapter 
65, §§6507 and 6513 of its existing medication dispensing 
rules governing the effect of providing false or misleading 
information on an application and the eligibility 
requirements prerequisite to registration as a dispensing 
physician. The proposed rules have no known impact on 
family formation, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL  

STANDARDS 
PART XLV.  Medical Profession 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 65. Dispensation of Medications 
Subchapter B. Prohibitions and Sanctions 
§6507. Action Against Medical License 

A. Violation of the prohibitions set forth in §6505, or 
providing false or misleading statements in connection with 
any application required by this Subchapter, shall be deemed 
to constitute just cause for the suspension, revocation, 
refusal to issue, or the imposition of probationary or other 
restrictions on any license or permit to practice medicine in 
the state of Louisiana held or applied for by a physician 
culpable of such violation, or for other administrative action 
as the board may in its discretion determine to be necessary 
or appropriate, under R.S. 37:1285.A.(3), R.S.37:1285.A.(4), 
R.S. 37:1285.A.(6), and R.S. 1285.A.(30), respectively.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1261-1292, R.S. 37:1204. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 13:570 
(October 1987), amended LR 25:1248 (July 1999), LR 28: 
Subchapter C. Registration 
§6513. Eligibility for Registration as a Dispensing 

Physician 
A. To be eligible for registration as a dispensing 

physician, a physician shall, as of the date of the application: 
1. possess a current, unrestricted license to practice 

medicine duly issued by the board;  
2. have been in the active practice of medicine for not 

less than three years following the date on which the 
physician was awarded a doctor of medicine or doctor of 
osteopathy degree; 

3. not currently be enrolled in a medical residency or 
other post graduate medical training program; and 

4. possess a current, unrestricted license to prescribe, 
dispense, and administer controlled substances duly issued 

by the Office of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs, 
Department of Health and Human Resources, state of 
Louisiana, and be currently registered to prescribe, dispense, 
and administer controlled substances, without restriction, 
with the Drug Enforcement Administration, United States 
Department of Justice.  

B. - B.6. … 
7. has been denied, had suspended, revoked, 

restricted, or relinquished, staff or clinical privileges at any 
hospital or other health care institution while under 
investigation for, or as a result of, the physician's 
competency or conduct; 

B.8. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1261-1292, R.S. 37:1201. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 13:570 
(October 1987), amended LR 25:1249 (July 1999), LR 28: 

Interested persons may submit written date, views, 
arguments, information or comments on the proposed Rule 
amendments until 4 p.m., August 21, 2002, to John B. 
Bobear, M.D., Executive Director, Louisiana State Board of 
Medical Examiners, P.O. Box 30250, New Orleans, LA 
70190-0250 (630 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130). 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Dispensing of Medications 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Other than rule publication costs, estimated to be $420 in 

FY 2002, it is not anticipated that implementation of the 
proposed Rule amendments will result in any costs to the board 
or any other state or local governmental unit. The board does 
not anticipate that adoption of the proposed rule amendments 
will result in either an increase or reduction in workload or any 
additional paperwork. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed rules amendments 
will have a material effect on the board's revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will 
have a material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
physicians who seek to become, or who may continue to be 
registered as, dispensing physicians. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will 
have a material impact on competition or employment in either 
the public or private sector. 

 
John B. Bobear, M.D. H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Staff Director 
0207#036 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Adult Day Health Care Services  
Prospective Payment System  

Reimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:II.10909 and 10939) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
adopt the following rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is 
adopted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Human Resources, Office 
of Family Security adopted a Rule establishing the Standards 
for Payment for the Adult Day Health Care Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 11, Number 6). The June 20, 
1985 Rule was later amended to revise the Standards for 
Payment in order to improve the operations of the program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 13, Number 3). The March 20, 
1987 Rule was subsequently amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing 
to establish provider protocol for the medical certification 
process and to codify the Rule into the Louisiana 
Administrative Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 23, 
Number 9). A Rule was later adopted to amend licensure 
requirements contained in the September 1997 Rule and to 
include the acronym for the Division of Home and 
Community Based Services Waiver (DHCBSW) (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 25, Number 6). The Bureau now proposes 
to amend the reimbursement methodology for Adult Day 
Health Care services from a facility specific rate based on 
historical cost to a statewide rate based on set percentages 
over the median by cost category. 

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
has no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
reimbursement methodology for Adult Day Health Care 
services from a facility specific rate based on historical cost 
to a statewide rate based on set percentages over the median 
by cost category and establishes a prospective payment 
system effective January 1, 2003. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payment 

Chapter 109. Standards for PaymentCAdult Day 
Health Care Services 

§10909. Provider Agreement 
A. - E.23. ... 
F. DHH agrees to make payment to the provider on 

behalf of eligible recipients if the provider is enrolled in the 
Medicaid Program as an ADHC center.  

G.1. - 5. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
11:623 (June 1985), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 13:181 (March 1987), LR 23:1150 (September 
1997), LR 28: 
§10939. Prospective Payment System 

A. General Provisions 
1. Development. Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) 

providers shall be reimbursed a per diem rate for services 
provided under a prospective payment methodology. The 
system shall be designed in a manner that recognizes and 
reflects the cost of direct care services provided. The 
reimbursement methodology is designed to improve the 
quality of care for all adult day health care recipients by 
ensuring that direct care services are provided at an 
acceptable level while fairly reimbursing the providers. 

2. The prospective payment methodology establishes 
statewide rates for services provided with components for 
direct care costs, care related costs, administrative and 
operating costs, and property costs. 

3. Cost Centers 
a. Direct Care Costs. This component reimburses 

for in-house and contractual direct care staffing and fringe 
benefits and direct care supplies. 

b. Care Related Costs. This component reimburses 
for in-house and contractual salaries and fringe benefits for 
activity and social services staff, raw food costs and care 
related supplies for activities and social services. 

c. Administrative and Operating Costs. This 
component reimburses for in-house or contractual salaries 
and related benefits for administrative, dietary, housekeeping 
and maintenance staff. Also included are: 
 i. utilities; 
 ii. accounting; 
 iii. dietary; 
 iv. housekeeping and maintenance supplies; and 
 v. all other administrative and operating type 
expenditures. 

d. Property. This component reimburses for 
depreciation, interest on capital assets, lease expenses, 
property taxes and other expenses related to capital assets. 

4. Rate Setting 
a. Direct Care Costs. A statewide base rate for 

direct care is computed at 115 percent of the median facility 
per diem direct care costs submitted on all full year cost 
reports except those for which an audit disclaimer has been 
issued. Direct care costs are trended forward using the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI)CMedical Services. 

b. Care Related Costs. A statewide base rate for care 
related costs is computed at 105 percent of the median 
facility per diem care related costs submitted on all full year 
cost reports except those for which an audit disclaimer has 
been issued. Care related costs are trended forward using the 
CPICAll Items. 

c. Administrative and Operating Costs (OAC). A 
statewide base rate for administrative and operating costs is 
computed at 105 percent of the median facility per diem 
administrative and operating costs submitted on all 
acceptable cost reports  except for those for which an audit 
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disclaimer has been issued and are trended forward using the 
CPICAll Items. 

d. Property. The property rate is computed at the 
median of property costs submitted on all acceptable full 
year cost reports. Inflation will not be added to property 
costs.  

e. All trending shall be from the mid-point of the 
year preceding the cost report year to the midpoint of the 
year preceding the rate year. 

5. Total Per Diem Rate. The per diem rate is the sum 
of the rate components.  

6. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component 
shall be subject to cost settlement. Should an ADHC 
facility=s cost report reveal that the provider did not expend 
an amount equal to 90 percent of the direct care payment for 
the year for direct care services, the Medicaid program will 
recover the difference between 90 percent of the direct care 
payment and the actual direct care amount expended. 

B. Cost Reporting 
1. Providers of adult day health care services are 

required to file annual cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. The annual cost reports are the basis for 
determining reimbursement rates. A copy of all reports and 
statistical data must be retained by the facility for no less 
than five years following the date reports are submitted to 
the Bureau. A chart of accounts and an accounting system on 
the accrual basis or converted at year end are required in the 
cost reporting preparation process. The Bureau or its 
designee will perform desk reviews of the cost reports. In 
addition to the desk review, a representative number of the 
facilities shall be subject to a full-scope, annual on-site audit. 
All ADHC cost reports shall be filed with a fiscal year from 
July 1 through June 30. 

2. The cost reporting forms and instructions 
developed by the Bureau must be used by all ADHC 
facilities participating in the Louisiana Medicaid Program. 
Hospital based and other provider based ADHC which use 
Medicare forms for step down in completing their ADHC 
Medicaid cost reports must submit copies of the applicable 
Medicare cost report forms. All amounts must be rounded to 
the nearest dollar and must foot and cross foot. Only per 
diem cost amounts will not be rounded. Cost reports 
submitted that have not been rounded in accordance with 
this policy will be returned and will not be considered as 
received until they are resubmitted. 

3. Annual Reporting. Cost reports are to be filed on or 
before the last day of September following the close of the 
reporting period. Should the due date fall on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or an official state or federal holiday, the due date 
shall be the following business day. The cost report forms 
and schedules must be filed in duplicate together with two 
copies of the following documents: 

a. a working trial balance that includes the 
appropriate cost report line numbers to which each account 
can be traced. This may be done by writing the cost report 
category and line numbers by each ending balance or by 
running a trial balance in cost report category and line 
number order that totals the account; 

b. a depreciation schedule. If the facility has 
different book and Medicaid depreciation schedules, copies 
of both depreciation schedules must be submitted. If the 
facility has home office costs, copies of the home office 

depreciation schedules must also be submitted. All hospital 
based facilities must submit two copies of a depreciation 
schedule that clearly shows and totals assets that are hospital 
only, ADHC only and shared assets; 

c. an amortization schedule(s), if applicable; 
d. a schedule of adjustment and reclassification 

entries; 
e. a narrative description of purchased management 

services or a copy of contracts for managed services, if 
applicable; 

f. a narrative description or a copy of the contracts 
for management services provided by a related party or 
home office, a description of the basis used to allocate the 
costs to providers of the group and to nonprovider activities 
and copies of the cost allocation worksheet, if applicable. 
Costs included that are for related management/home office 
costs must also be reported on a separate cost report that 
includes an allocation schedule; 

g. all allocation worksheets must be submitted by 
hospital-based facilities. The Medicare worksheets that must 
be attached by facilities using the Medicare forms for 
allocation are:  
 i. A; 
 ii. A-6; 
 iii. A-7, Parts I, II, and III; 
 iv. A-8; 
 v. A-8-1; 
 vi. B, Part 1; and  
 vii. B-1. 

4. Each copy of the cost report must have the original 
signatures of an officer or facility administrator on the 
certification. The cost report and related documents must be 
submitted to the address indicated on the cost report 
instruction form. In order to avoid a penalty for delinquency, 
cost reports must be postmarked on or before the due date. 

5. When it is determined upon initial review for 
completeness that an incomplete or improperly completed 
cost report has been submitted, the provider will be notified. 
The provider will be allowed a specified amount of time to 
submit the requested information without incurring the 
penalty for a delinquent cost report. For cost reports that are 
submitted by the due date, 10 working days from the date of 
the provider=s receipt of the request for additional 
information will be allowed for the submission of the 
additional information. For cost reports that are submitted 
after the due date, five working days from the date of the 
provider=s receipt of the request for additional information 
will be allowed for the submission of the additional 
information. An exception exists in the event that the due 
date comes after the specified number of days for 
submission of the requested information. In these cases, the 
provider will be allowed to submit the additional requested 
information on or before the due date of the cost report. If 
requested additional information has not been submitted by 
the specified date, a second request for the information will 
be made. Requested information that is not received after the 
second request may not be subsequently submitted and shall 
not be considered for reimbursement purposes. An appeal of 
the disallowance of the costs associated with the requested 
information may not be made. Allowable costs will be 
adjusted to disallow any expenses or cost findings that are 
not submitted. 
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6. Accounting Basis. The cost report must be prepared 
on the accrual basis of accounting. If a facility is on a cash 
basis, it will be necessary to convert from a cash basis to an 
accrual basis for cost reporting purposes. Particular attention 
must be given to an accurate accrual of all costs at the year 
end for the equitable distribution of costs to the applicable 
period. Care must be given to the proper allocation of costs 
for contracts to the period covered by such contracts. 
Amounts earned although not actually received and amounts 
owed to creditors but not paid mu st be included in the 
reporting period. 

7. Supporting Information. Providers are required to 
maintain adequate financial records and statistical data for 
proper determination of reimbursable costs. Financial and 
statistical records must be maintained by the facility for five 
years from the date the cost report is submitted to the 
Bureau. Cost information must be current, accurate and in 
sufficient detail to support amounts reported in the cost 
report. This includes all ledgers, journals, records, and 
original evidences of cost (canceled checks, purchase orders, 
invoices, vouchers, inventories, time cards, payrolls, bases 
for apportioning costs, etc.) that pertain to the reported costs. 
Census data reported on the cost report must be supportable 
by daily census records. Such information must be adequate 
and available for auditing. 

8. Nonacceptable Descriptions. AMiscellaneous,@ 
AOther@ and AVarious,@ without further detailed explanation, 
are not acceptable descriptions for cost reporting purposes. If 
any of these are used as descriptions in the cost report, a 
request for information will not be made and the related line 
item expense will be automatically disallowed. The provider 
will not be allowed to submit the proper detail of the 
expense at a later date, and an appeal of the disallowance of 
the costs may not be made. (See §10939.B.10.c.xliii) 

9. Exceptions. Limited exceptions to the cost report 
requirements will be considered on an individual provider 
basis upon written request from the provider to the Bureau 
of Health Services Financing, Rate and Audit Review 
Section. If an exception is allowed, providers must attach a 
statement describing fully the nature of the exception for 
which prior written permission was requested and granted. 
Exceptions which may be allowed with written approval are 
as follows: 

a. For the initial reporting period only, the provider 
may allocate costs to the various cost centers on a reasonable 
basis if the required itemized cost breakdown is not 
available. 

b. If the center has been purchased, leased or has 
effected major changes in the accounting system as an on-
going concern within the reporting period, a partial year cost 
report may be filed in lieu of the required 12-month report. 

c. If the center experiences unavoidable difficulties 
in preparing the cost report by the prescribed due date, an 
extension may be requested prior to the due date. Requests 
for exception must contain a full statement of the cause of 
the difficulties that rendered timely preparation of the cost 
report impossible. 

10. Cost Categories Included in the Cost Report 
a. Direct Care (DC) Costs 

 i. Salaries, AidesCgross salaries of certified 
nurse aides and nurse aides in training. 

 ii. Salaries, LPNsCgross salaries of non-
supervisory licensed practical nurses and graduate practical 
nurses. 
 iii. Salaries, RNsCgross salaries of non-
supervisory registered nurses and graduate nurses (excluding 
director of nursing and resident assessment instrument 
coordinator). 
 iv. Salaries, Social ServicesCgross salaries of 
non-supervis ory licensed social services personnel providing 
medically needed social services to attain or maintain the 
highest practicable physical, mental, or psychosocial well 
being of the residents. 
 v. Salaries, ActivitiesCgross salaries of non-
supervisory activities/recreational personnel providing an 
ongoing program of activities designed to meet, in 
accordance with the comprehensive assessment, the interest 
and the physical, mental, and psychosocial well-being of the 
residents. 
 vi. Payroll TaxesCcost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for direct care employees. 
 vii. Group Insurance, DCCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for direct care employees. 
 viii. Pensions, DCCcost of employer's contribution 
to employee pensions for direct care employees. 
 ix. Uniform Allowance, DCCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for direct care 
employees. 
 x. Worker's Comp, DCCcost of worker's 
compensation insurance for direct care employees. 
 xi. Contract, AidesCcost of aides through contract 
that are not facility employees. 
 xii. Contract, LPNsCcost of LPNs and graduate 
practical nurses hired through contract that are not facility 
employees. 
 xiii. Contract, RNsCcost of RNs and graduate 
nurses hired through contract that are not facility employees. 
 xiv. Drugs, Over-the-Counter and LegendCcost of 
over-the-counter and legend drugs provided by the facility to 
its residents. This is for drugs not covered by Medicaid. 
 xv. Medical SuppliesCcost of patient-specific 
items of medical supplies such as catheters, syringes and 
sterile dressings. 
 xvi. Medical Waste DisposalCcost of medical waste 
disposal including storage containers and disposal costs. 
 xvii. Other Supplies, DCCcost of items used in the 
direct care of residents which are not patient-specific such as 
prep supplies, alcohol pads, betadine solution in bulk, tongue 
depressors, cotton balls, thermometers, and blood pressure 
cuffs. 
 xviii. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCthe amount 
of costs that have been allocated through the step-down 
process from a hospital or state institution as direct care 
costs when those costs include allocated overhead. 
 xix. Total Direct Care CostsCsum of the above line 
items. 

b. Care Related Costs 
 i. SalariesCgross salaries for care related 
supervisory staff including supervisors or directors over 
nursing, social service and activities/recreation. 
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 ii. Salaries, DietaryCgross salaries of kitchen 
personnel including dietary supervisors, cooks, helpers and 
dishwashers. 
 iii. Payroll TaxesCcost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for care related employees. 
 iv. Group Insurance, CRCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for care related employees. 
 v. Pensions, CRCcost of employer's contribution 
to employee pensions for care related employees. 
 vi. Uniform Allowance, CRCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for care related 
employees. 
 vii. Worker's Comp, CRCcost of worker's 
compensation insurance for care related employees. 
 viii. Barber and Beauty ExpenseCthe cost of barber 
and beauty services provided to patients for which no 
charges are made. 
 ix. Consultant Fees, ActivitiesCfees paid to 
activities personnel, not on the facility=s payroll, for 
providing advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 x. Consultant Fees, NursingCfees paid to nursing 
personnel, not on the facility=s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xi. Consultant Fees, PharmacyCfees paid to a 
registered pharmacist, not on the facility=s payroll, for 
providing advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xii. Consultant Fees, Social WorkerCfees paid to a 
social worker, not on the facility=s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xiii. Consultant Fees, TherapistsCfees paid to a 
licensed therapist, not on the facility=s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the facility. 
 xiv. Food, RawCcost of food products used to 
provide meals and snacks to residents. Hospital based 
facilities must allocate food based on the number of meals 
served. 
 xv. Food, SupplementsCcost of food products 
given in addition to normal meals and snacks under a 
doctor's orders. Hospital based facilities must allocate food-
supplements based on the number of meals served. 
 xvi. Supplies, CRCthe costs of supplies used for 
rendering care related services to the patients of the facility. 
All personal care related items such as shampoo and soap 
administered by all staff must be included on this line. 
 xv ii. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCthe amount 
of costs that have been allocated through the step-down 
process from a hospital or state institution as care related 
costs when those costs include allocated overhead. 
 xviii. Total Care Related CostsCthe sum of the care 
related cost line items. 

c. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC) 
 i. Salaries, AdministratorCgross salary of 
administrators excluding owners. Hospital based facilities 
must attach a schedule of the administrator's salary before 
allocation, the allocation method, and the amount allocated 
to the nursing facility. 
 ii. Salaries, Assistant AdministratorCgross salary 
of assistant administrators excluding owners. 

 iii. Salaries, HousekeepingCgross salaries of 
housekeeping personnel including housekeeping supervisors, 
maids and janitors. 
 iv. Salaries, LaundryCgross salaries of laundry 
personnel. 
 v. Salaries, MaintenanceCgross salaries of 
personnel involved in operating and maintaining the physical 
plant, including maintenance personnel or plant engineers. 
 vi. Salaries, DriversCgross salaries of personnel 
involved in transporting clients to and from the facility. 
 vii. Salaries, Other AdministrativeCgross salaries 
of other administrative personnel including bookkeepers, 
receptionists, administrative assistants and other office and 
clerical personnel. 
 viii. Salaries, Owner or Owner/AdministratorC 
gross salaries of all owners of the facility that are paid 
through the facility. 
 ix. Payroll TaxesCcost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for administrative and 
operating employees. 
 x. Group Insurance, AOCCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for administrative and operating employees. 
 xi. Pensions, AOCCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee pensions for administration and 
operating employees. 
 xii. Uniform Allowance, AOCCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for administration and 
operating employees. 
 xiii. Worker's Compensation, AOCCcost of 
worker's compensation insurance for administration and 
operating employees. 
 xiv. Contract, DietaryCcost of dietary services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the facility. 
 xv. Contract, HousekeepingCcost of housekeeping 
services and personnel hired through contract that are not 
employees of the facility. 
 xvi. Contract, LaundryCcost of laundry services 
and personnel hired through contract that are not employees 
of the facility. 
 xvii. Contract, MaintenanceCcost of maintenance 
services and persons hired through contract that are not 
employees of the facility. 
 xviii. Consultant Fees, DieticianCfees paid to 
consulting registered dieticians. 
 xix. Accounting FeesCfees incurred for the 
preparation of the cost report, audits of financial records, 
bookkeeping, tax return preparation of the adult day health 
care facility and other related services excluding personal 
tax planning and personal tax return preparation. 
 xx.  Amortization Expense, Non-CapitalCcosts 
incurred for legal and other expenses when organizing a 
corporation must be amortized over a period of 60 months. 
Amortization of costs attributable to the negotiation or 
settlement of the sale or purchase of any capital asset on or 
after July 18, 1984, whether by acquisition or merger, for 
which any payment has previously been made are non-
allowable costs. If allowable cost is reported on this line, an 
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amortization schedule must be submitted with the cost 
report. 
 xxi. Bank Service ChargesCfees paid to banks for 
service charges, excluding penalties and insufficient funds 
charges. 
 xxii. Dietary SuppliesCcosts of consumable items 
such as soap, detergent, napkins, paper cups, straws, etc., 
used in the dietary department. 
 xxiii. DuesCdues to one organization are allowable. 
 xxiv. Educational Seminars and TrainingCthe 
registration cost for attending educational seminars and 
training by employees of the facility and costs incurred in 
the provision of in-house training for facility staff, excluding 
owners or administrative personnel 
 xxv. Housekeeping SuppliesCcost of consumable 
housekeeping items including waxes, cleaners, soap, brooms 
and lavatory supplies. 
 xxvi. Insurance, Professional Liability and 
OtherCincludes the costs of insuring the facility against 
injury and malpractice claims and the cost of vehicle 
insurance. 
 xxvii. Interest Expense, Non-Capital and 
VehiclesCinterest paid on short term borrowing for facility 
operations and on vehicle loans. 
 xviii. Laundry SuppliesCcost of consumable goods 
used in the laundry including soap, detergent, starch and 
bleach. 
 xxix. Legal FeesConly actual and reasonable 
attorney fees incurred for non-litigation legal services related 
to patient care are allowed. 
 xxx. Linen and Laundry SuppliesCcost of sheets, 
blankets, pillows, gowns, underpads and diapers (reusable 
and disposable) and consumable goods used in the laundry 
including soap, detergent, starch and bleach. 
 xxxi. MiscellaneousCcosts incurred in providing 
facility services that cannot be assigned to any other line 
item on the cost report. Examples of miscellaneous expense 
are small equipment purchases, all employees = physicals and 
shots, nominal gifts to all employees, such as a turkey or 
ham at Christmas, allowable advertising, and flowers 
purchased for the enjoyment of the clients. Items reported on 
this line must be specifically identified. 
 xxxii. Management Fees and Home Office CostsCthe 
cost of purchased management services or home office costs 
incurred that are allocable to the provider. Costs included 
that are for related management/home office costs must also 
be reported on a separate cost report that includes an 
allocation schedule. 
 xxxiii. Non-Emergency Medical TransportationCthe 
cost of purchased non-emergency medical transportation 
services including, but not limited to, payments to 
employees for use of personal vehicle, ambulance 
companies and other transportation companies for 
transporting patients of the facility. 
 xxxiv. Office Supplies and SubscriptionsCcost of 
consumable goods used in the business office such as 
pencils, paper and computer supplies; cost of printing forms 
and stationery including but not limited to, nursing and 
medical forms, accounting and census forms, charge tickets, 
facility letterhead and billing forms; cost of subscribing to 
newspapers, magazines and periodicals. 

 xxxv. PostageCcost of postage, including stamps, 
metered postage, freight charges and courier services. 
 xxxvi. Repairs and MaintenanceCsupplies and 
services, including electricians, plumbers, extended service 
agreements, etc., used to repair and maintain the facility 
building, furniture and equipment except vehicles. This 
includes computer software maintenance. 
 xxxvii. Taxes and LicensesCthe cost of taxes and 
licenses paid that are not included on any other line on Form 
6. This includes tags for vehicles, licenses for facility staff 
(including nurse aide re -certifications) and buildings. 
 xxxviii. Telephone and CommunicationsCcost of 
telephone services, WATS lines and fax services. 
 xxxix.  TravelCcost of travel (airfare, lodging, meals, 
etc.) by the administrator and other authorized personnel to 
attend professional and continuing educational seminars and 
meetings or to conduct facility business. Commuting 
expenses and travel allowances are not allowable. 
 xl. Vehicle ExpensesCvehicle maintenance and 
supplies, including gas and oil. 
 xli. UtilitiesCcost of water, sewer, gas, electric, 
cable TV and garbage collection services. 
 xlii. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCcosts that 
have been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital as administrative and operating costs. 
 xliii. Total Administrative and Operating Costs 

d. Property and Equipment 
 i. Amortization Expense, CapitalC legal and other 
costs incurred when financing the facility must be amortized 
over the life of the mortgage. Amortization of goodwill is 
not an allowable cost. Amortization of costs attributable to 
the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any 
capital asset on or after July 18, 1984, whether by 
acquisition or merger, for which any payment has previously 
been made are non-allowable costs. If allowable cost is 
reported on this line, an amortization schedule must be 
submitted with the cost report. 
 ii. DepreciationCdepreciation on the facility=s 
buildings, furniture, equipment, leasehold improvements and 
land improvements. 
 iii. Interest Expense, CapitalC interest paid or 
accrued on notes, mortgages, and other loans, the proceeds 
of which were used to purchase the facility=s land, buildings 
and/or furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 
 iv. Property InsuranceCcost of fire and casualty 
insurance on facility buildings and equipment, excluding 
vehicles. Hospital-based facilities and state-owned facilities 
must allocate property insurance based on the number of 
square feet. 
 v. Property TaxesCtaxes levied on the facility=s 
buildings and equipment, excluding vehicles. Hospital based 
facilities and state owned facilities must allocate property 
insurance based on the number of square feet. 
 vi. Rent, BuildingCcost of leasing the facility=s 
real property. 
 vii. Rent, Furniture and EquipmentCcost of leasing 
the facility=s furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 
 viii. Lease, AutomotiveCcost of leases for vehicles 
used for patient care. A mileage log must be maintained. If a 
leased vehicle is used for both patient care and personal 
purposes, cost must be allocated based on the mileage log. 
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 ix. Allocated Costs, Hospital BasedCcosts that 
have been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital or state institution as property costs when those 
costs include allocated overhead. 
 x. Total Property and Equipment. 

11. Non-Allowable Costs. Costs that are not based on 
the reasonable cost of services covered under Medicare and 
are not related to the care of beneficiaries are considered 
non-allowable costs. 

a. Reasonable cost does not include the following: 
 i. costs not related to client care; 
 ii. costs specifically not reimbursed under the 
program;  
 iii. costs that flow from the provision of luxury 
items or services (items or services substantially in excess or 
more expensive than those generally considered necessary 
for the provision of the care);  
 iv. costs that are found to be substantially out of 
line with other centers that are similar in size, scope of 
services and other relevant factors; 
 v. cost exceeding what a prudent and cost-
conscious buyer would incur to purchase the goods or 
services. 

b. General non-allowable costs: 
 i. services for which Medicaid recipients are 
charged a fee; 
 ii. depreciation of non-client care assets; 
 iii. services that are reimbursable by other state or 
federally funded programs; 
 iv. goods or services unrelated to client care; 
 v. unreasonable costs. 

c. Specific Non-Allowable Costs (This is not an all 
inclusive listing) 
 i. Advertising-costs of advertising to the general 
public that seeks to increase patient utilization of the ADHC 
center. 
 ii. Bad DebtsCaccounts receivable that are 
written off as not collectible. 
 iii. ContributionsCamounts donated to charitable 
or other organizations. 
 iv. Courtesy allowances. 
 v. Director's fees. 
 vi. Educational costs for clients. 
 vii. Gifts. 
 viii. Goodwill or interest (debt service) on goodwill. 
 ix. Costs of income producing items such as fund 
raising costs, promotional advertising, or public relations 
costs and other income producing items. 
 x. Income taxes, state and federal taxes on net 
income levied or expected to be levied by the federal or state 
government. 
 xi. Insurance, OfficersCcost of insurance on 
officers and key employees of the center when the insurance 
is not provided to all employees. 
 xii. Judgments or settlements of any kind. 
 xiii. Lobbying costs or political contributions, either 
directly or through a trade organization. 
 xiv. Non-client entertainment. 
 xv. Non-Medicaid Related Care CostsCcosts 
allocated to portions of a facility that are not licensed as the 
reporting ADHC or are not certified to participate in Title 
XIX. 

 xvi. Officers' life insurance with the center or 
owner as beneficiary. 
 xvii. Payments to the parent organization or other 
related party. 
 xviii. Penalties and SanctionsCpenalties and 
sanctions assessed by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services, the Internal Revenue Services or the 
State Tax Commission; insufficient funds charges. 
 xix. Personal comfort items. 
 xx.  Personal use of vehicles. 

C. Provider Reimbursement  
1. Cost Determination Definitions 

a. Indices 
 i. CPI, All ItemsCthe Consumer Price Index for 
All Urban ConsumersBSouth Region (All items line) as 
published by the United States Department of Labor. 
 ii. CPI, Medical ServicesCthe Consumer Price 
Index for All Urban ConsumersBSouth Region (Medical 
Services line) as published by the United States Department 
of Labor. 

b. Adjustment FactorsCthe adjustment factor is 
computed by dividing the value of the index for December 
of the year preceding the rate year by the value of the index 
one year earlier (December of the second preceding year). 

c. Rate YearCthe rate year is the period from July 1 
through June 30 of the next calendar year. It corresponds 
with the state fiscal year. 

d. Base RateCthe base rate is the rate calculated in 
accordance with §10939.C.2.e. plus any base rate 
adjustments granted in accordance with §10939.C.2.g. of 
this section which are in effect at the time of calculation of 
new rates or adjustments. 

e. Base Rate ComponentsCthe base rate is the 
summation of the following: 
 i. Direct Care. 
 ii. Care Related Costs. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Costs. 
 iv. Property Costs. 

2. Rate Determination 
a. Calculation of Base RateCrates are calculated 

from cost report data. Allowable costs include those costs 
incurred by providers to conform to state licensure and 
federal certification standards. General cost principles are 
applied during the desk review and audit process to 
determine allowable costs. These general cost principles 
include determining whether the cost is ordinary, necessary, 
and related to delivery of care; the cost is what a prudent and 
cost conscious business person would pay for the specific 
goods or services in the open market in an arm's length 
transaction; and the cost is for goods or services actually 
provided to the center. Through the desk review and audit 
process, adjustments and/or disallowances may be made to a 
provider=s reported costs. "HIM-15," the Medicare Provider 
Reimbursement Manual, is the final authority for allowable 
costs unless the Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals has set a more restrictive policy. 

b. Audited and desk reviewed costs for each 
component are ranked by facility to determine the value of 
each component at the median. 

c. The median costs for each component are 
multiplied in accordance with §10939.A.4. then by the 
appropriate economic adjustment factors for each successive 
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year to determine base rate components. For subsequent 
years, the components thus computed become the base rate 
components to be multiplied by the appropriate economic 
adjustment factors, unless they are adjusted as provided in 
§10939.C.2.g. Application of an inflationary adjustment to 
reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply only 
when the state legislature allocates funds for this purpose. 
The inflationary adjustment shall be made prorating 
allocated funds based on the weight of the rate components. 

d. The inflated median shall be increased to 
establish the base rate component as follows. 
 i. The inflated direct care median shall be 
multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 
 ii. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 
 iii. The administrative and operating median shall 
be multiplied times 105 percent to establish the 
administrative and operating base rate component. 

e. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

f. Formulae. Each cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 
 i. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
Medical Services. The direct care rate component shall be 
set at 115 percent of the inflated median. 
 ii. Care Related Cost Component. Care related per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
All Items. The care related rate component shall be set at 
105 percent of the inflated median. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Cost 
Component. Administrative and operating per diem cost 
from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be arrayed 
from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the midpoint 
of the array shall be the median cost. Should there be an 
even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint 
centers shall be the median cost. The median cost shall be 
trended forward by dividing the value of the CPICAll Items 
index for December of the year preceding the rate year by 
the value of the index for the December of the year 
preceding the cost report year. The administrative and 
operating rate component shall be set at 105 percent of the 
inflated median. 
 iv. Property Cost ComponentCProperty. The 
property per diem costs from all acceptable full year cost 
reports shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of 
the center at the midpoint of the array shall be the median 

cost. This will be the rate component. Inflation will not be 
added to property costs. 

g. Parameters and Limitations 
 i. Method of Calculation. All calculations 
described in this methodology shall be carried out 
algebraically. 
 ii. Rounding. In all calculations, the base rate and 
the base rate components will be rounded to the nearest one 
hundredth of a dollar (cent) and the economic adjustment 
factors will be rounded to four decimal places. 

h. Interim Adjustments to Rates. If an unanticipated 
change in conditions occurs that affects the cost of at least 
50 percent of the enrolled ADHC providers by an average of 
5 percent or more, the rate may be changed. The Bureau will 
determine whether or not the rates should be changed when 
requested to do so by 25 percent or more of the enrolled 
providers, or an organization representing at least 25 percent 
of the enrolled providers. The burden of proof as to the 
extent and cost effect of the unanticipated change will rest 
with the entities requesting the change. The Bureau, 
however, may initiate a rate change without a request to do 
so. Changes to the rates may be one of two types; temporary 
adjustments or base rate adjustments as described below. 
 i. Temporary Adjustment. Temporary 
adjustments do not affect the base rate used to calculate new 
rates. 

(a). Changes reflected in the economic 
indicesCtemporary adjustments may be made when changes 
which will eventually be reflected in the economic indices, 
such as a change in the minimum wage, a change in FICA or 
a utility rate change, occur after the end of the period 
covered by the indices, i.e., after the December preceding 
the rate calculation. Temporary adjustments are effective 
only until the next annual base rate calculation. 

(b). Lump Sum Adjustments. Lump sum 
adjustments may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment requires a substantial financial outlay, such as a 
change in certification standards mandating additional 
equipment or furnishings. Such adjustments shall be subject 
to the Bureau=s review and approval of costs prior to 
reimbursement. 
 ii. Base Rate Adjustment. A base rate adjustment 
will result in a new base rate component value that will be 
used to calculate the new rate for the next fiscal year. A base 
rate adjustment may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment is not one that would be reflected in the indices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. None. 
2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 

Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
None. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. None. 
4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 

None. 
5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 

Responsibility of Children. None. 
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6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Conatined in the Proposed Rule. 
None. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 27, 2002 at 9:30 a.m. in the Department of 
Transportation and Development Auditorium, First Floor, 
1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that 
time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing. 
The deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 
4:30 p.m. on the next business day following the public 
hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Adult Day Health Care 

ServicesCProspective Payment SystemCReimbursement 
Methodology 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will increase state program costs by approximately 
$10,721 for SFY 2002-03, $20,026 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$20,628 for SFY 2004-05. It is anticipated that $1,998 ($999 
SGF and $999 FED) will be expended in SFY 2002-2003 for 
the state's administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$24,846 for SFY 2002-03, $49,126 for SFY 2003-04, and 
$50,599 for SFY 2004-05. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will increase payments to providers of Adult Day Health 
Care services by approximately $33,569 for SFY 2002-03, 
$69,152 for SFY 2003-04, and $71,227 for SFY 2004-05. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben Beardon H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0207#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Facility Need Review 
Emergency Community Home Bed Pool 

(48:I.12501 and 12503) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
amend the Facility Need Review regulations as authorized 
by R.S. 40:2116. This proposed Rule is amended in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals adopted a rule 
governing Facility Need Review in August 1995 (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 21 , Number 8). The August 1995 rule was 
amended in July 1999 to adopt new provisions governing the 
relocation of nursing facility beds (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 25, Number 7). The 2001 Appropriations Bill, Act 
12 of the 2001 Regular Session, authorized the department 
to transfer 50 beds currently licensed to state developmental 
centers to non-state operated community homes for the 
mentally retarded for emergency situations in accordance 
with a plan to be developed by the department. Accordingly, 
by Emergency Rule enacted in August 2001, the department 
amended the August 1995 and July 1999 rules governing 
Facility Need Review to create the Emergency Community 
Home Bed Pool, consisting of 50 Medicaid enrolled beds 
transferred from state developmental centers, to be made 
available for transfer to non-state operated community 
homes in order to address emergency situations on a case-
by-case basis (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 8). 
The provisions of the August 2001 Emergency Rule were 
continued in effect by subsequent emergency rules enacted 
in November 2001 (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 
11) and March 2002 (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, 
Number 3). 

By June 30, 2002, the Secretary of the department had 
authorized the transfer of some, but not all, of the beds in the 
Emergency Community Home Bed Pool to nonstate-
operated community homes. Since the provisions of the 
2001 Appropriations Bill have not been continued in effect 
beyond June 30, 2002 by any subsequent legislation, the 
secretary of the department cannot authorize the transfer of 
any additional beds from the pool after that date. Therefore, 
the department proposes to amend LAC48:I.12501-12503 
include conditions to be imposed upon the use of beds which 
have been authorized to be transferred from the Emergency 
Community Home Bed Pool on or before June 30, 2002. 
By the Emergency Rule effective June 30, 2002, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing repealed the
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Emergency Rule published in the March 20, 2002 Louisiana 
Register and amended the August 20, 1995 and July 20, 
1999 rules on Facility Need Review in order to impose 
conditions upon the use of beds which have been authorized 
to be transferred from the Emergency Community Home 
Bed Pool on or before June 30, 2002 under the provisions of 
the Emergency Rules contained in the August 20, 2001, 
November 20, 2001, and March 20, 2002 Louisiana 
Registers.  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
has no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHCGENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 5.  Health Planning 
Chapter 125. Facility Need Review 
§12501. Introduction 

A. ... 
B. Definitions 

* * * 
Emergency Community Home Bed PoolCa pool 

consisting of approved beds which have been transferred 
from state developmental centers and which are made 
available for transfer to nonstate-operated community homes 
in order to address emergency situations on a case-by-case 
basis. 

* * * 
C. - F.6. ... 

7. Beds may not be disenrolled, except as provided 
under the alternate use policy, under the Emergency 
Community Home Bed Pool exception, and during the 120-
day period to have beds relicensed or recertified. The 
approval for beds disenrolled, except as indicated, will 
automatically expire. 

F.8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:806 (August 1995), amended LR 
25:1250 (July 1999), LR 28: 
§12503.   Determination of Bed Need 

A. - A.6.d. ... 
7. Emergency Community Home Bed Pool Exception 

a. The Emergency Community Home Bed Pool 
consists of all Medicaid enro lled beds which have been 
authorized to be transferred from state developmental 
centers to nonstate-operated community homes on or before 
June 30, 2002, in order to address emergency situations on a 
case-by-case basis. 

b. Effective July 1, 2002, the Secretary of the 
Department may not authorize the transfer of any beds from 
the Emergency Community Home Bed Pool to a nonstate 
operated community home unless the bed had been 
authorized to be transferred to a nonstate operated 
community home on or before June 30, 2002 and was 
subsequently transferred from that facility back to the pool 
pursuant to §12503.7.f. 

c. Emergency situations which may be addressed 
through the use of the Emergency Community Home Bed 

Pool shall include, but not be limited to, situations in which 
it is difficult or impossible to find a placement for an 
individual in an ICF/MR because of one of the following: 
 i. an inadequate number of available ICF/MR 
beds in the service area to serve the needs of the mentally 
retarded/developmentally disabled population in general;  
 ii. an inadequate number of available ICF/MR 
beds in the service area to serve the needs of the mentally 
retarded/developmentally disabled population who also have 
physical or behavioral disabilities or difficulties; 
 iii. an inadequate number of available ICF/MR 
beds in the service area to provide for the transition of 
individuals from residing in large residential facilities to 
residing within the community. 

d. Any agency or individual who becomes aware of 
an actual or potential emergency situation should inform the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 
(OCDD). The OCDD shall submit to the Facility Need 
Review Program its recommendations for emergency 
placement. The recommendations from the OCDD shall 
include identification of the individual in need of emergency 
placement, the individual=s needs, the service area in which 
transfer from the Emergency Community Home Bed Pool is 
requested, and the names of one or more existing community 
homes that would be appropriate for emergency placement. 

e. To be eligible for transfer of one or more beds 
from the Emergency Community Home Bed Pool, a 
community home must meet the following requirements, 
based on documentation provided by the Health Standards 
Section. 
 i. The facility must comply with the physical 
accessibility requirements of the Americans with Disabilities 
Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 973, or if it 
does not comply with those requirements, it must have a 
written plan to be in compliance within 24 months. 
 ii. The facility can not have been on a termination 
track or have had any repeat deficiencies within the last 12 
months. 
 iii. The facility must meet all square footage 
requirements, Life Safety Code requirements and general 
construction requirements of 42 CFR Subpart D, Conditions 
of Participation for ICF/MR, as well as Standards for 
Payment, LAC 50:II.Chapter 103 and Louisiana Licensing 
Requirements for Intermediate Care Facilities. 
 iv. The facility must ensure the provision of 
sufficient staffing and behavior modification plans to meet 
the needs of current residents and prevent clients residing in 
the facility from being adversely affected by the emergency 
admission. 

f. The Secretary shall authorize the transfer of the 
bed to be used at the nonstate-operated community home, 
and upon the enrollment of the transferred bed at that 
community home, it shall be permanently transferred to that 
facility, subject to the following conditions. 
 i. Once the bed is no longer needed to remedy the 
emergency situation, the facility shall continue to make it 
available for subsequent emergency placements, although it 
may be used temporarily to serve other individuals until it is 
needed for a new emergency placement.  
 ii. The facility shall make the bed available for a 
new emergency placement within 72 hours after receiving a 
request for such placement from the Department as set forth 
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herein. If the facility does not comply with such a request, 
the Secretary may, at his discretion, transfer the bed from the 
facility back to the Emergency Community Home Bed Pool. 

g. Beds which have been placed in the Emergency 
Community Home Bed Pool shall be exempt from the bed 
need criteria and the requirements for requests for proposals 
which are normally applicable to ICF/MRs. 

h. For purposes of the Emergency Community 
Home Bed Pool exception, the definition of Aservice area@ 
provided in §12503.A.1 is applicable. 

B. - B.11. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:808 (August 1995), amended LR 28: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 27, 2002 at 9:30 a.m. in the Department of 
Transportation and Development Auditorium, First Floor, 
1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that 
time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments either orally or in writing. 
The deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 
p.m. on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Facility Need Review 

Emergency Community Home Bed Pool 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that $486 ($243 SGF and $243 FED) will 
be expended in SFY 2002-03 for the state=s administrative 
expense for promulgation of this proposed Rule and the final 
Rule. It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no programmatic fiscal impact for SFY 2003-
04, and 2004-05. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

 It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not impact federal revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will not have 
estimable costs and/or economic benefits for directly affected 
persons or non governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment. 
 

Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0207#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Prior Authorization Process 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
adopt the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is adopted in 
accordance with the Adminis trative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. Prior law, R.S. 46:153.3, authorized coverage 
and reimbursement of prescription drugs in the Medicaid 
Program and established the Medicaid Drug Program 
Committee. R.S. 46:153.3.B and C allowed the Department 
of Health and Hospitals to limit reimbursement for multi-
source prescription drugs in accordance with state and 
federal law; but mandated the department to provide 
reimbursement for any drug prescribed by a physician that, 
in his professional judgment and within the lawful scope of 
his practice, was considered appropriate for the diagnosis 
and treatment of the patient; and also prohibited the 
department from establishing a drug formulary that 
restricted, by any prior or retroactive approval process, a 
physician=s ability to treat a patient with a prescription drug 
that had been approved and designated as safe and effective 
by the Food and Drug Administration. 

In recognition of the need to ensure that the state delivers 
a medical assistance prescription drug program which is 
both cost effective and prudently administered, the Louisiana 
Legislature enacted Act 395 of the 2001 Regular Session to 
amend R.S. 46:153.3.B.(2)(a) which states "The Department 
may establish...or any other process or combination of 
processes that prove to be cost-effective in the Medical 
Assistance Program." In addition, the Act created the 
Medicaid Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee and 
abolished the Medicaid Drug Program Committee. 

Until Act 395 was enacted, the department was prohibited 
from utilizing a prescription prior authorization process 
within the Louisiana Medicaid Program. With the passage of 
this legislation, the restriction was removed and the 
department adopted a rule to implement a prior authorization 
process with a preferred drug list (PDL) for certain 
designated drugs in selected therapeutic classes covered 
under the Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 5).  

In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. This proposed Rule 
has no known impact on family functioning, stability, or 
autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 

Proposed Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing implements 
a prior authorization process with a preferred drug list for 
certain designated drugs covered under the Medicaid
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Pharmacy Benefits Management Program. The following 
provisions shall govern coverage for prescribed medications 
and/or supplies. 

A. General Provisions 
The medication must be prescribed by a practitioner 

who is authorized to prescribe under state law. The National 
Drug Code (NDC) must be shown on each pharmacy claim 
form for reimbursement of prescription drugs subject to 
rebates from manufacturers as mandated by federal law and 
regulations.  

B. Covered Drugs 
Coverage of drugs shall be limited to specific drug 

products authorized for reimbursement by therapeutic 
category and listed by generic name, strength/unit, NDC, 
and brand name. Those drug products subject to mandatory 
coverage as a result of a rebate agreement with the federal 
government will be covered until written notice is received 
from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that 
coverage will be terminated. Providers will be given prior 
notice of termination of coverage as required under federal 
regulations. 

C. Prior Authorization with a Preferred Drug List 
As authorized by R.S. 46:153.3.B.(2)(a) and pursuant to 

42 U.S.C. s1396r-8, a prior authorization process is 
established which utilizes a preferred drug list (PDL) for 
selected therapeutic classes. Drugs included on the PDL are 
automatically prior authorized. Drugs in those classes that 
are not included on the PDL shall require prescribers to 
obtain prior authorization. Providers will be notified of the 
drugs selected for placement on the PDL by selected 
therapeutic classes prior to implementation of the prior 
authorization process and as additional drugs are 
subsequently added to the list. Lists of covered drug 
products, including those that require prior authorization, 
will be maintained in either the Prescription Drug Services 
Manual, other designated service provider manuals, on the 
Louisiana Medicaid web site or provider notices. 

The prior authorization process provides for a turn-
around response within 24 hours of receipt of a prior 
authorization request by either telephone, mail or electronic 
communication. In emergency situations, providers may 
dispense at least a 72 hour supply of medication as mandated 
by R.S. 46:153.3.B.(2)(a) and pursuant to 42 U.S.C. s1396r-
8. 

The Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee will 
make recommendations to the Department regarding drugs 
to be considered for prior authorization. The composition of 
and appointment to the Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics 
Committee complies with R.S. 46:153.3.D and 42 
U.S.C.s1396r-8. 

D. Drugs Excluded from Coverage 
As provided by Section 1927(d)(2) of the Social 

Security Act, the following drugs are excluded from program 
coverage: 

1. experimental drugs; 
2. anorexics; 
3. cough and cold preparations; 
4. cosmetic drugs; 
5. compounded prescriptions (mixtures of two or 

more ingredients);  

6. medications which are included in the 
reimbursement to a facility, i.e. hospitals, skilled nursing 
facility for recipients receiving benefits under Part A of Title 
XVIII, mental hospitals, or some other nursing facilities; 

7. non-legend drugs with some exceptions; 
8. fertility drugs when used for fertility treatment; 
9. vaccines covered in other programs; and 
10. DESI Drugs (see E. below). 

E. DESI Drugs 
Those drugs that are subject to a Notice of Opportunity 

for Hearing (NOOH), as prescribed by Section 
1927(k)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act, for which the Food 
and Drug Administration has proposed to withdraw from the 
market because they are Aless than effective@ or Aidentical, 
related, or similar drugs@, and are identified as DESI 
ineffective drugs shall be excluded from coverage. 

Implementation of this proposed Rule shall be contingent 
upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Tuesday, August 27, 2002 at 9:30 a.m. in the Department of 
Transportation and Development Auditorium, First Floor, 
1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that 
time, all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views, or arguments either orally or in writing. 
The deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 
p.m. on the next business day following the public hearing.  

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Pharmacy Benefits Management 

ProgramCPrior Authorization Process 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule (including the administrative costs of professional services 
contracts, staffing, and equipment relative to initial start-up as 
well as programmatic savings) will increase state fund 
expenditures by approximately $1,420,775 for SFY 2001-02.  It 
is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed Rule 
will decrease state fund expenditures by approximately 
$13,753,029 for SFY 2002-03, $16,336,328 for SFY 2003-04, 
and $19,351,200 for SFY 2004-05.  It is anticipated that $270 
($135 SGF and $135 FED) will be expended for the state=s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed Rule 
and the final Rule in SFY 2002-03. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will increase federal revenue collections by approximately 
$2,793,064 for 2001-02 and will decrease federal revenue 
collections by approximately $44,233,142 for SFY 2002-03, 
$50,540,496 for SFY 2003-04, and $57,943,187 for SFY 2004-
05. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will establish a prior 
authorization process for those designated prescription drugs 
that are not included on the preferred drug list (PDL) for 
selected therapeutic classes of drugs. This proposed Rule will 
decrease reimbursement to pharmacies by approximately 
$1,496,100 for SFY 2001-02, $66,568,790 for SFY 2002-03, 
$75,422,440 for SFY 2003-04, and $85,853,624 for SFY 2004-
05.  It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
Rule will not have an estimated cost or economic benefit to 
Medicaid recipients. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no known effect on competition and employment 
resulting from implementation of this proposed Rule. 

 
Ben A. Bearden H. Gordon Monk 
Director Staff Director 
0207#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Interim Safe Drinking Water Program 
Enhanced Surface Water Treatment 

(LAC 51:XII.Chapters 1-11) 

Under the authority of R.S. 40:4 and 40:5, and in 
accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health (DHH-OPH) 
intends to amend certain sections of Chapters 1 and 3 of Part 
XII (Water Supplies) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code 
(LAC 51:XII). In addition, LAC 51:XII.Chapter 11 will be 
amended and renumbered in its entirety since new sections 
are proposed to be inserted. These amendments are 
necessary in order that DHH-OPH may be able to maintain 
primacy (primary enforcement authority) from the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency (USEPA) over 
public water systems within Louisiana. USEPA requires state 
primacy agencies to adopt state rules and regulations which 
are no less stringent than the federal Safe Drinking Water 
Act's (42 U.S.C.§?300f, et seq.) primary implementing 
regulations (40 CFR Part 141). 

This rule is specifically necessary due to a federal rule 
promulgated by the USEPA in the Federal Register dated 
December 16, 1998 (Volume 63, Number 241, pages 69477 
through 69521), which is entitled "National Primary 
Drinking Water Regulations: Interim Enhanced Surface 
Water Treatment; Final Rule". In addition, technical 
corrections to the federal Interim Enhanced Surface Water 
Treatment Rule (IESWTR) were promulgated by the USEPA 
in the Federal Register dated January 16, 2001 (Volume 66, 
Number 10, pages 3769 through 3780) and in the Federal 
Register dated February 12, 2001 (Volume 66, Number 29, 
page 9903). The compliance date for public water systems 
subject to the federal IESWTR was January 1, 2002; 
therefore, the reason for this proposed amendment to Part 
XII (Water Supplies) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code is 
to adopt a state rule which is at least equivalent to the federal 
rule. The proposed rule is applicable to public water systems 

whose source of water supply is surface water or ground 
water under the direct influence of surface water 
(GWUDISW).  The proposed rule particularly, but not 
exclusively, amends DHH-OPH's existing Surface Water 
Treatment Rule (SWTR)wh ich was originally promulgated 
on March 20, 1991 [(formerly Appendix D of Chapter XII) 
now LAC 51:XII.Chapter 11]. It also particularly, but not 
exclusively, applies to those public water systems serving at 
least 10,000 individuals and whose source of water supply is 
surface water or GWUDISW.   

The general purposes of the proposed rule are to improve 
control of microbial pathogens, including specifically the 
protozoan Cryptosporidium, in drinking water and to address 
risk trade-offs with disinfection byproducts. Key provisions 
established in the proposed rule include: 2-log (99 percent) 
Cryptosporidium removal requirements for systems that 
filter; strengthened combined filter effluent turbidity 
performance standards [generally, from 0.5 Nephelometric 
Turbidity Units (NTUs) at least 95 percent of the time per 
month down to 0.3 NTUs at least 95 percent of the time per 
month]; individual filter turbidity monitoring including 
response actions based upon certain individual filter 
turbidity exceedances;  disinfection profiling provisions to 
assure continued levels of microbial protection;  and, 
inclusion of Cryptosporidium in the definition of 
GWUDISW and in the watershed control requirements for 
unfiltered GWUDISW systems. 

The DHH-OPH believes that implementation of the 
provisions of the proposed rule will significantly reduce the 
level of Cryptosporidium in finished drinking water supplies 
through improvements in filtration.  It is also believed that 
the rule provisions will also reduce the likelihood of the 
occurrence of outbreaks of cryptosporidiosis by providing a 
larger margin of safety against such outbreaks in some 
systems.  In addition, the filtration provisions of the rule are 
expected to increase the level of protection from exposure to 
other waterborne pathogens, e.g., Giardia (or other 
protozoan, bacterial, or viral pathogens). 

For the reasons set forth above, Part XII (Water Supplies) 
of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code is proposed to be 
amended as follows. 

 Title 51 
 PUBLIC HEALTHCSANITARY CODE 

 Part XII.  Water Supplies 
Chapter 1. General 
§?101. Definitions 

A. Unless otherwise specifically provided herein, the 
following words and terms used in this Part of the Sanitary 
Code, and all other Parts which are adopted or may be 
adopted, are defined for the purposes thereof as follows: 

* * * 
Substantial RenovationCinstances when new water 

treatment units are added to existing water treatment plants 
or non-serviceable portions of existing water treatment units 
are reconstructed.  In addition, alterations or changes which 
increase plant capacity are included in this term.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: The first source of authority for 

promulgation of the Sanitary Code is in R.S. 36:258 (B), with more 
particular provisions found in Chapters 1 and 4 of Title 40 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes.  This Part is promulgated in accordance 
with R.S. 36:254 (B)(7), R.S. 40:4 (A)(8), R.S. 40:5 
(2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20), and R.S. 40:1148. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1318 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
Chapter 3. Water Quality Standards  
§?323. Filtration 

A. All potable water derived from surface waters shall be 
filtered before distribution.  Pressure filters shall not be used 
as the primary turbidity removal mechanism in the filtration 
of surface waters.  On a case-by-case basis, DHH may allow 
pressure filters to be used as the primary turbidity removal 
mechanism in systems identified as being a groundwater 
under the direct influence of surface water (GWUDISW) 
system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5 (5)(6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1322 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?355. Mandatory Disinfection 

A. Routine, continuous disinfection is required of all 
public water systems other than those under §361.A of this 
Part. Where continuous chlorination methods are used, the 
following minimum concentration of free chlorine residual 
shall be provided leaving the plant: 

 
pH Value Free Chlorine Residual 
up to 7.0 0.4 mg/l 
7.0 to 8.0 0.6 mg/l 
8.0 to 9.0 0.8 mg/l 
over 9.0 1.0 mg/l 

 
1. This table does not apply to systems using 

chloramines. 
B. All new groundwater systems installed after the 

effective date of these regulations shall provide at least 30 
minutes contact time prior to the first customer. It is 
recommended that all existing systems provide the 30 
minutes contact time prior to the first customer. Additions to 
or extensions of existing systems are exempt from the 30 
minutes contact time. 

C. Public water systems which use surface water or 
ground water under the direct influence of surface water 
shall meet the requirements of applicable sections of the 
Louisiana Interim Enhanced Surface Water Treatment Rule 
(LAC 51:XII.Chapter 11) as it pertains to CT and  
Giardia, Cryptosporidium, and virus removal/ 
inactivation/disinfection requirements. 

D. The effective date for mandatory disinfection for all 
public water systems serving a population of greater than 
500 shall be July 1, 1995. 

E. The effective date of mandatory disinfection for all 
public water systems serving a population of 500 or less 
shall be July 1, 1996. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5 (5)(6).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1326 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
Chapter 11. Interim Enhanced Surface Water 

Treatment Rule 
Subchapter A. General Requirements and Definitions 
§?1101. General Requirements 

A. For public water systems using surface water or 
groundwater under the direct influence of surface water 

(GWUDISW), this Chapter establishes or extends treatment 
technique requirements in lieu of maximum contaminant 
levels for the following microbial contaminants: Giardia 
lamblia (cysts), viruses, heterotrophic plate count bacteria, 
Legionella, turbidity, and (for public water systems using 
surface water or GWUDISW as its source of water supply 
and serving at least 10,000 individuals) Cryptosporidium 
oocysts. 

B. Each supplier using an approved surface water as its 
source of water supply shall provide multibarrier treatment 
necessary to reliably protect users from the adverse health 
effects of microbiological contaminants and to comply with 
the requirements and performance standards prescribed in 
this Chapter. 

C. Unless the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
hereinafter referred to as DHH, determines that a shorter 
time limit is necessary due to an emergency situation or the 
finding of a significant deficiency, a supplier shall, within 90 
days from the date of notification by DHH that a treatment 
plant using surface water or GWUDISW as its source of 
water supply does not meet the requirements of this 
Appendix, submit for DHH approval a plan and schedule to 
bring its system into compliance. 

D. If the supplier disagrees with the DHH's notification 
issued pursuant to §1101.C of this Part, then the supplier 
shall submit in writing reasons and evidence for its 
disagreement as soon as possible but not later than 30 days 
from the receipt of the notification unless an extension of 
time to meet this requirement is requested and granted by the 
DHH. In cases when DHH's notification involves an 
emergency situation or the finding of a significant 
deficiency, the supplier shall submit in writing reasons and 
evidence for its disagreement as soon as possible but not 
later than 14 days from the receipt of such notification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40:5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1335 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1103. Definition of Terms  

A. Words Not Defined. Words not defined in this 
Chapter shall have the meanings stated in ?Section 101 of this 
Part or other Parts of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code.  
When words not defined in this Chapter are defined in both 
?Section 101 of this Part and in another Part of the Louisiana 
State Sanitary Code, the definition contained within §?101 of 
this Part shall be given preference as it pertains to water 
supplies. Words not defined in any of these source 
documents shall have the meanings stated in the Merriam-
Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary-Tenth Edition, as revised. 

B. Definitions. Definitions contained in §?101 of this Part 
shall also apply to this Appendix except where the following 
special definitions apply. 

Approved Surface WaterCa surface water or 
GWUDISW that has received permit approval from the 
DHH as a source of water supply for a public water system. 

Best Available TechnologyCfor the purpose of this 
Chapter in relation to the treatment of surface water, means 
conventional filtration treatment which conforms with all of 
the requirements of this Appendix. 

CalibrationdraCto standardize [adjust the instrument 
response to a National Institute of Standards and Technology 
(NIST) traceable standard] a disinfectant residual analyzer 
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(such as, but not limited to, a bench top or a continuous 
monitoring disinfectant residual analyzer using colorimetry 
or spectrophotometry) by determining the deviation from a 
NIST traceable standard so as to ascertain and implement the 
proper correction factors in an attempt to obtain accurate and 
reliable sample results. 

Calibration tCto standardize (adjust the instrument 
response to a turbidity primary standard) a turbidimeter 
(such as a bench top or continuous monitoring 
turbidimeter)by determining the deviation from a turbidity 
primary standard so as to ascertain and implement the proper 
correction factors in an attempt to obtain accurate and 
reliable sample results. 

Certified OperatorCfor the purpose of this Chapter, the 
individual, as examined by the Committee of Certification 
and as approved by the State Health Officer, meeting all 
requirements of State Law and regulation and found 
competent to operate a treatment plant for a public water 
system which utilizes surface water or GWUDISW as its 
source of water supply. 

CoagulationCa process using coagulant chemicals and 
rapid mixing by which colloidal and suspended material are 
destabilized and agglomerated into settleable and/or 
filterable flocs. 

Comprehensive Performance Evaluation (CPE)Ca 
thorough review and analysis of a treatment plant’s 
performance-based capabilities and associated 
administrative, operation, and maintenance practices.  It is 
conducted to identify factors that may be adversely 
impacting a plant’s capability to achieve compliance and 
emphasizes approaches that can be implemented without 
significant capital improvements.  It consists of at least the 
following components: assessment of plant performance; 
evaluation of major unit processes; identification and 
prioritization of performance limiting factors; assessment of 
the applicability of comprehensive technical assistance; and, 
preparation of a CPE report. 

Conventional Filtration TreatmentCa series of treatment 
processes which includes coagulation, flocculation, 
sedimentation, and filtration resulting in substantial 
particulate removal. 

Deep Bed FiltrationCa process for removing particulate 
matter from water by passage through porous media 
exceeding 42 inches in total depth. Underdrain gravels are 
not to be included. 

Diatomaceous Earth FiltrationCa process resulting in 
particulate removal in which a precoat cake of graded 
diatomaceous earth filter media is deposited on a support 
membrane (septum) and, while the water is being filtered by 
passing through the cake on the septum, additional filter 
media known as body feed is continuously added to the feed 
water to maintain the permeability of the filter cake. 

Direct Filtration TreatmentCa series of processes 
including coagulation, flocculation, and filtration but 
excluding sedimentation. 

Disinfectant Contact Time ("T" in CT calculations)Cthe 
time in minutes that it takes for water to move from the point 
of disinfectant application or a previous point of disinfectant 
residual measurement to a point before or at the point where 
residual dis infectant concentration is measured.  The point of 
measurement shall be before or at the first customer.  
Disinfectant contact time in pipelines is calculated by 

dividing the internal volume of the pipe by the flow rate 
through the pipe.  Disinfectant contact time with mixing 
basins and storage reservoirs is determined by tracer studies 
or an equivalent demonstration to the DHH. 

DisinfectionCa process which inactivates pathogenic 
organisms in water by chemical oxidants or equivalent 
agents. 

Disinfection ProfileCa summary of daily Giardia 
lamblia inactivation through the treatment plant.  For any 
system that uses either chloramines or ozone for primary 
disinfection, this term shall additionally include a summary 
of daily virus inactivation through the treatment plant. 

Engineering ReportCa water treatment technical report 
prepared by a qualified engineer. 

Filter ProfileCa graphical representation of individual 
filter performance, based on continuous turbidity 
measurements versus time for an entire filter run, from 
startup to backwash inclusively, that includes an assessment 
of filter performance while another filter is being 
backwashed. 

FiltrationCa process for removing particulate matter 
from water by passage through porous media. 

FlocculationCa process to enhance agglomeration or 
collection of smaller floc particles into larger, more easily 
settleable or filterable particles through gentle stirring by 
hydraulic or mechanical means. 

Groundwater Under the Direct Influence of Surface 
Water (GWUDISW)Cany water beneath the surface of the 
ground with significant occurrence of insects or other 
macroorganisms, algae, or large diameter pathogens such as 
Giardia lamblia or (for public water systems using surface 
water or GWUDISW as its source of water supply and 
serving at least 10,000 individuals) Cryptosporidium, or 
significant and relatively rapid shifts in site specific water 
characteristics such as turbidity, temperature, conductivity or 
pH which closely correlate to climatological or surface water 
conditions. The DHH determination of direct influence may 
be based on an evaluation of site specific measurements of 
water quality and/or well characteristics and geology with 
field evaluation. 

Heterotrophic Plate Count (HPC)C laboratory analytical 
procedure for estimating the number of live heterotrophic 
bacteria in water using instrumentation and methods as 
described in Standard Methods for the Examination of Water 
and Wastewater, 19th Edition.  Results of such analysis  is 
reported as ?colony-forming units per milliliter?  (cfu/ml). 

LegionellaCa genus of bacteria, some species of which 
have caused a type of pneumonia called Legionnaires 
disease. 

Multibarrier TreatmentCa series of water treatment 
processes that provide for both removal and inactivation of 
waterborne pathogens. 

Nephelometric Turbidity Unit (NTU)Ca measurement of 
the turbidity of water as determined by the comparison of 
the intensity of light scattered by the sample to the intensity 
of incident light, using instrumentation and methods 
described in ?1105.B of this Chapter. 

Peak Hourly FlowCthe maximum flow through a 
particular disinfection segment over a 1 hour period during 
24 hourly periods in a calendar day. 

Pressure FilterCa pressurized vessel containing 
properly sized and graded granular media. 
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Primary Standard (Turbidity)C"turbidity primary 
standard". 

Qualified EngineerCany engineer who has been 
registered under the provisions of R.S. 37:681, et seq., and 
who holds a current certificate issued by the Louis iana 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board, and 
who has knowledge and experience in water treatment plant 
design, construction, operation, and watershed evaluations. 

Residual Disinfectant Concentration ("C" in CT 
calculations)Cthe concentration of the disinfectant in 
milligrams per liter (mg/l) in a representative sample of 
water. 

SedimentationCa process for removal of settleable 
solids before filtration by gravity or separation. 

Slow Sand FiltrationCa process involving passage of 
raw water through a bed of sand at low velocity (less than 
0.10 gallons per minute per square foot) resulting in 
substantial particulate removal by physical and biological 
mechanisms. 

SupplierCfor the purpose of this Chapter, means the 
owner or operator of a public water system. 

Surface WaterCall water open to the atmosphere and 
subject to surface runoff. 

TurbidityCa measure of the decline of the clarity of 
water caused by suspended and colloidal matter, such as 
clay, silt, finely divided organic and inorganic matter, 
plankton, and other microscopic organisms.  It is formally 
expressed as the optical property that causes light to be 
scattered and absorbed, rather than transmitted with no 
change in direction through the sample. 

Turbidity LevelCthe value in NTU obtained by 
measuring the turbidity of a representative grab sample of 
water at a specified regular interval of time.  If continuous 
turbidity monitoring is utilized, the turbidity level is the 
discrete turbidity value at any given time. 

Turbidity Primary StandardCa suspension used to 
calibrate a turbidimeter, such as user-prepared formazin, 
commercial stock formazin suspensions, or commercial 
styrene-divinylbenzene suspensions.  Such suspensions shall 
be prepared and used in conformity with the laboratory 
methods described in ?1105.B of this Chapter. 

ValidationCto determine the degree of deviation of a 
measuring instrument (such as a bench top or continuous 
monitoring turbidimeter)from a primary standard by 
employing less sophisticated or involved means typically 
employed during a calibration, such as use of a state-
approved secondary standard.  

VirusCany of a large group of submicroscopic agents 
(that consist of a RNA or DNA core of genetic material 
surrounded by a protein coat but no semipermeable 
membrane) that are capable of growth and multiplication 
only in living cells and that are infectious to humans by 
waterborne transmission and that cause various important 
diseases in humans, including, but not limited to, 
poliomyelitis, aseptic meningitis, infectious hepatitis, 
gastroenteritis, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8), R.S. 40:5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20), and R.S. 40:1148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1336 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 

§?1105. Analytical Requirements 
A. Analysis for total coliform, fecal coliform, or HPC 

which may be required (or, in the case of HPC, optionally 
allowed in lieu of a disinfectant residual) under this Chapter 
shall be conducted by a laboratory certified by DHH to do 
such analysis.  Until laboratory certification criteria are 
developed, laboratories certified for total coliform analysis 
by DHH are deemed certified for fecal coliform and HPC 
analysis. 

B. Public water systems shall conduct analysis for 
turbidity in accordance with: 

1. SM 2130 B [(Nephelometric Method), Standard 
Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater, 19th 
edition, American Public Health Association (APHA), 800 I 
Street N.W., Washington, D.C.  20001-3710.  Telephone 
(202)777-2742.  Also available from the American Water 
Works Association (AWWA) and the Water Environment 
Federation (WEF)]; 

2. EPA Method 180.1 [(Nephelometric Method), 
"Methods for the Determination of Inorganic Substances in 
Environmental Samples", EPA -600-R-93-100, August 1993.  
Available from the National Technical Information Service, 
NTIS PB94-121811.  Telephone (800) 553-6847]; or 

3. GLI Method 2 [(Great Lakes Instrument Method 2), 
"Turbidity", November 2, 1982, GLI International, Inc., 
9020 West Dean Road, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53224.  
Telephone (414) 355-3601]. 

C. Public water systems shall conduct analysis for 
applicable residual disinfectant concentrations in accordance 
with one of the analytical methods in Table 1.  The methods 
listed in the following table are contained in the Standards 
Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater, 19th 
Edition. 
 

Table 1 
Residual Methodology Methods  

Amperometric Titration SM 4500-Cl D 
DPD Ferrous Titrimetric SM 4500-Cl F 
DPD Colorimetric SM 4500-Cl G 

Free 
Chlorine 
  
  Syringaldazine (FACTS) SM 4500-Cl H 

Amperometric Titration SM 4500-Cl D 
Amperometric Titration (low 
level measurement) 

SM 4500-Cl E 

DPD Ferrous Titrimetric SM 4500-Cl F 
DPD Colorimetric SM 4500-Cl G 

Total 
Chlorine 
  
  
  
  Iodometric Electrode SM 4500-Cl I 

Amperometric Titration SM 4500-ClO2 C 
DPD Method SM 4500-ClO2 D 

Chlorine 
Dioxide 
  Amperometric Titration SM 4500-ClO2 E 
Ozone Indigo Method SM 4500-O3 B 

 
1. Particularly for distribution system monitoring, 

nothing herein shall be construed to prevent a public water 
system from determining the residual disinfectant 
concentrations for free chlorine or combined chlorine by use 
of DPD colorimetric test kits. 

D. Public water systems shall conduct analysis for pH 
using one of the following electrometric methods: 

1. SM 4500-H+ B (Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Wastewater, 19th edition); 

2. EPA Method 150.1 ("Methods for Chemical 
Analysis of Water and Wastes", EPA/600/4-79/020, March 
1983.  Available from the NTIS, PB84-128677); 
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3. EPA Method 150.2 ("Methods for Chemical 
Analysis of Water and Wastes", EPA/600/4-79/020, March 
1983.  Available from the NTIS, PB84-128677); or 

4. ASTM Method D1293-95 [Annual Book of ASTM 
Standards, 1996, Vol. 11.01, American Society for Testing 
and Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West Conshohocken, 
Pennsylvania  19428-2959. Telephone (610) 832-9585.  
Note:  Previous version(ASTM Method D1293-84) is also 
approved and is located in the Annual Book of ASTM 
Standards, 1994, Vols. 11.01]. 

E. Public water systems shall conduct analysis for 
temperature using the following thermometric method: 

1. SM 2550 B (Standard Methods for the Examination 
of Water and Wastewater, 19th edition). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and 40:5 (5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1337 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§1107. Calibrationt/Validation of Turbidimeters 

A. General. Calibrationt using a turbidity primary 
standard shall be done in accord with approved methods 
listed in ?1105.B. 

B. Calibrationt of Turbidimeters. Bench top and 
continuous monitoring turbidimeters shall be calibrated 
using a turbidity primary standard at a frequency of no less 
than once every 90 days.  The instruments shall be calibrated 
in accord with the manufacturer's instructions. 

C. Validation of Bench Top Turbidimeters. Calibrationt 
of the bench top turbidimeters shall be validated with state-
approved secondary standards each time a sample or set of 
samples is tested.  For turbidity measurements less than 0.2 
NTU and the turbidimeter reading is ?20 percent or more 
deviation of the state-approved secondary standard, the 
bench top turbidimeter shall be recalibrated with a turbidity 
primary standard.  For turbidity measurements greater than 
or equal to 0.2 NTU and the turbidimeter reading is ?10 
percent or more deviation of the state-approved secondary 
standard, the bench top turbidimeter shall be recalibrated 
with a turbidity primary standard. 

D. Validation of Continuous Monitoring Turbidimeters. 
Calibrationt of the continuous monitoring turbidimeters shall 
be validated at least once each week by either using a state-
approved secondary standard or determining the turbidity of 
the water flowing out of the continuous monitoring 
turbidimeter using a bench top turbidimeter.  Follow-up 
actions based upon the validation method selected are as 
follows. 

1. Validation by Use of a State-Approved Secondary 
Standard 

a. If the state-approved secondary standard is less 
than 0.2 NTU and the continuous monitoring turbidimeter 
reading is ?20 percent or more deviation of the state-approved 
secondary standard, the continuous monitoring turbidimeter 
shall be recalibrated with a turbidity primary standard.  If the 
state-approved secondary standard is greater than or equal to 
0.2 NTU and the continuous monitoring turbidimeter 
reading is ?10 percent or more deviation of the state-approved 
secondary standard, the continuous monitoring turbidimeter 
shall be recalibrated with a turbidity primary standard. 

2. Validation by Determin ing the Turbidity of the 
Water Flowing out of the Continuous Monitoring 
Turbidimeter Using a Bench Top Turbidimeter 

a. For turbidity measurements less than 0.2 NTU 
and the continuous monitoring turbidimeter reading is ?20 
percent or more deviation from the bench top turbidimeter 
reading, the continuous monitoring turbidimeter shall be 
recalibrated with a turbidity primary standard.  For turbidity 
measurements greater than or equal to 0.2 NTU and the 
continuous monitoring turbidimeter reading is ?10 percent or 
more deviation from the bench top turbidimeter reading, the 
continuous monitoring turbidimeter shall be recalibrated 
with a turbidity primary standard. 

E. Re-Standardization of Secondary Standards. Each 
time a turbidimeter has been calibrated with a turbidity 
primary standard, the secondary standards shall be re-
standardized.  When a secondary standard has been assigned 
an expiration date by the manufacturer, nothing herein shall 
be construed as to allow the re-standardization of such 
secondary standard beyond the expiration date set by the 
manufacturer. 

F. Records of Calibrations/Validations. Records of 
calibrations/validations on each bench top and continuous 
monitoring turbidimeter shall be maintained for at least 3 
years, as follows. 

1. Records of bench top turbidimeters shall include 
meter location, meter identification, dates of calibrationt, and 
the name of the person performing the calibrationt. 

2. Records of continuous monitoring turbidimeters 
shall include meter location (e.g., filter number), unique 
meter identification (e.g., model and serial number), dates of 
calibrationt, dates of validation, and the name of the person 
performing the calibrationt. 

G. Records of Re-Standardization of Secondary 
Standards. Records of any re-standardization of secondary 
standards shall be maintained for at least 3 years, as follows: 

1. Records of re-standardizations done using bench 
top turbidimeters shall include the value assigned to the 
secondary standard, date of assignment, meter identification 
(e.g., model and serial number) which was used to assign the 
secondary standard its unique value for such meter, 
manufacturer's expiration date, and the name of the person 
performing the re-standardization. 

2. Records of re-standardizations done using 
continuous monitoring turbidimeters shall include the value 
assigned to the secondary standard, date of assignment, 
meter location (e.g., filter number), meter identification 
(e.g., model and serial number) which was used to assign the 
secondary standard its unique value for such meter, 
manufacturer's expiration date, and the name of the person 
performing the re-standardization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and 40:5 (5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1337 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1109. Calibrationdra/Validation of Disinfectant 

Residual Analyzers 
A. Validation of Bench Top Disinfectant Residual 

Spectrophotometers/Colorimeters. The accuracy of bench 
top spectrophotometers/colorimeters used for disinfectant 
residual monitoring, particularly for validation of continuous 
disinfectant residual monitors, shall be determined at a 
frequency of no less than once every 90 days by use of a 
NIST traceable standard solution which has been obtained 
from an approved source (e.g., Certificate of Analysis by 
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manufacturer).  Deviations of ?10 percent or more shall be 
cause for calibrationdra of the equipment.  The instruments 
shall be calibrated in accord with the manufacturer's 
instructions. After calibrationdra, the instrument's accuracy 
shall be validated prior to return to service. 

B. Validation/Standardization Using Other Methods. For 
approved methods for disinfectant residual analysis other 
than spectrophotometric/colorimetric methods, 
validation/standardization of disinfectant residual analyzers 
shall be performed in accord with procedures outlined in the 
particular method [see ?1103.C]. 

C. Validation of Continuous Disinfectant Residual 
Monitors. The accuracy of residual disinfectant 
measurements from any continuous disinfectant residual 
monitor shall be validated weekly.  Validation shall be 
performed by collecting a grab sample from the tubing 
supplying water to the monitor (e.g., via a tee connection 
which is normally capped or valved closed) at a location 
immediately upstream (less than 5 feet) of the continuous 
disinfectant residual monitor.  Such grab sample shall be 
analyzed using a bench top spectrophotometer/colorimeter 
which has been calibrated according to §1109.A of this 
Chapter. If the spectrophotometer/colorimeter reading 
indicates ?10 percent or more deviation as compared to the 
continuous disinfectant residual monitor reading, the cause 
of the disparity shall be investigated and resolved within five 
working days. In the meantime, grab samples shall be 
collected and analyzed every two hours as per ?Section 
1125.B of this Chapter. The accuracy of residual disinfectant 
measurements from any replacement instrument shall be 
validated prior to service or return to service. 

D. Records of Calibrations/Validations. Records of 
calibrations/validations on each bench top 
spectrophotometer/colorimeter used for disinfectant residual 
monitoring and on each continuous disinfectant residual 
monitor shall be maintained for at least three years, as 
follows. 

1. Records of bench top 
spectrophotometers/colorimeters shall include meter 
location, meter identification, dates and results of NIST 
traceable standard solution, dates of calibrationdra/validation 
and the name of the person performing the 
calibrationdra/validation. 

2. Records of continuous disinfectant residual 
monitors shall include meter location, unique meter 
identification (e.g., model and serial number), dates and 
results of calibration/validation, and the corrective actions 
taken when deviations of ?10 percent or more occur. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and 40:5 (5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1338 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1111. Cleaning of Analytical Instrumentation 

A. A thorough cleaning of analytical instrumentation, 
particularly continuous monitoring turbidimeters and 
continuous disinfectant residual monitors, shall be 
performed, as necessary, prior to performing any 
calibration/validation. On a weekly basis, continuous 
monitoring turbidimeters and continuous disinfectant 
residual monitors shall be inspected to determine if there is 
any material or sedimentation in the measuring chambers.  
Records of such inspection/cleaning shall be kept for at least 

3 years and such records shall include meter location (e.g., 
filter number), unique meter identification (e.g., model and 
serial number), dates of cleaning, and the name of the person 
performing the cleaning. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and 40:5 (5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1340 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
Subchapter B. Treatment Technique Requirements and 

Performance Standards  
§?1113. Treatment Technique Requirements 

A. Each supplier using surface water or GWUDISW 
shall provide multibarrier treatment that meets the 
requirements of this Chapter and reliably ensures at least: 

1. A total of 99.9 percent (3 Log) reduction of Giardia 
cysts through treatment processes including filtration and 
disinfection. 

2. A total of 99.99 percent (4 Log) reduction of 
viruses through treatment processes including filtration and 
disinfection. 

3. For suppliers serving at least 10,000 individuals, a 
total of 99 percent (2 Log) removal of Cryptosporidium 
oocysts through treatment processes including filtration. 

4. The total reductions to be required by the DHH 
may be higher and are subject to the source water 
concentration of Giardia lamblia , viruses, and for suppliers 
serving at least 10,000 individuals, Cryptosporidium. 

B. Suppliers meeting the requirements of ??1115 and 1119 
shall be deemed to be in compliance with the minimum 
reduction and removal requirements specified in ?1113.A of 
this Chapter. 

C. Section 1117 of this Chapter presents requirements 
for non-filtering systems. All suppliers which use surface 
water as a source shall provide filtration. On a case by case 
basis, systems using GWUDISW may not be required to 
filter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4(A)(8) and R.S. 40:5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1340 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1115. Filtration Performance Standards  

A. All surface water or GWUDISW utilized by a 
supplier shall be treated using one of the following filtration 
technologies unless an alternative process has been approved 
by the DHH. 

1. Conventional Filtration Treatment 
2. Direct Filtration Treatment 
3. Slow Sand Filtration 
4. Diatomaceous Earth Filtration 

B. Conventional filtration treatment shall be deemed to 
be capable of achieving at least 99.7 percent (2.5 Log) 
removal of Giardia cysts, 99 percent (2 Log) removal of 
Cryptosporidium oocysts (for public water systems serving 
at least 10,000 individuals), and 99 percent (2 Log) removal 
of viruses when in compliance with operation criteria 
(Subchapter D of this Chapter) and performance standards (?? 
1115 and 1119 of this Subchapter).  Direct filtration 
treatment and diatomaceous earth filtration shall be deemed 
to be capable of achieving at least 99 (2 Log) percent 
removal of Giardia cysts, 99 percent (2 Log) removal of 
Cryptosporidium oocysts (for public water systems serving 
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at least 10,000 individuals), and 90 (1 Log) percent removal 
of viruses when in compliance with operation criteria 
(Subchapter D of this Chapter) and performance standard (?? 
1115 and 1119 of this Subchapter).  Slow sand filtration shall 
be deemed to be capable of achieving at least 99 (2 Log) 
percent removal of Giardia cysts, 99 percent (2 Log) 
removal of Cryptosporidium oocysts (for public water 

systems serving at least 10,000 individuals), and 99 (2 Log) 
percent removal of viruses when in compliance with 
operation criteria and performance standards. 

1. Expected minimum removal credits for public 
water systems serving at least 10,000 individuals are listed 
in Table 2 of this Chapter along with the corresponding 
remaining minimum disinfection log inactivation required. 

 
Table 2 

(applicable to systems serving at least 10,000 individuals) 
Treatment Methods  

Filtration 
Method 

Expected Minimum 
Log Removals 

 

Remaining 
Minimum Disinfection 

Log Inactivation Required 
  Giardia  Crypto  Virus Giardia  Crypto  Virus 
Conventional 2.5 2.0 2.0 0.5 -0- 2.0 
Direct  2.0 2.0 1.0 1.0 -0- 3.0 
Slow Sand 2.0 2.0 2.0 1.0 -0- 2.0 
Diatomaceous Earth 2.0 2.0 1.0 1.0 -0- 3.0 

 
2. Expected minimum removal credits for public 

water systems serving less than 10,000 individuals are listed 
in Table 3 of this Appendix along with the corresponding 
remaining minimum disinfection log inactivation required. 

 
Table 3 

(applicable to systems serving less than 10,000 individuals) 
Treatment Methods  

Filtration 
Method 

Expected Minimum 
Log Removals 

 

Remaining 
Minimum Disinfection 

Log Inactivation Required 
  Giardia  Virus Giardia  Virus 
Conventional 2.5 2.0 0.5 2.0 
Direct  2.0 1.0 1.0 3.0 
Slow Sand 2.0 2.0 1.0 2.0 
Diatomaceous Earth 2.0 1.0 1.0 3.0 

 

3. The remaining minimum disinfection log 
inactivation shall not be less than what is required pursuant 
to Table 2 or 3, as applicable. 

C. Conventional Filtration Treatment or Direct Filtration 
Treatment shall comply with the following performance 
standards for each treatment plant: 

1. The turbidity level of the filtered water shall be 
equal to or less than 0.3 NTU in at least 95 percent of the 
measurements taken each month. 

EXCEPTION: In the case of public water systems using 
surface water or GWUDISW as its source of water supply and 
serving less than 10,000 individuals, the turbidity level of the 
filtered water shall be equal to or less than 0.5 NTU in at least 
95 percent of the measurements taken each month. 

2. Filtered water turbidity shall not exceed 1 NTU at 
any time. 

EXCEPTION: In the case of public water systems using 
surface water or GWUDISW as its source of water supply and 
serving less than 10,000 individuals, filtered water turbidity 
shall not exceed 5 NTU at any time. 

D. Slow Sand Filtration shall comply with the following 
performance standards for each treatment plant: 

1. The turbidity level of the filtered water shall be less 
than or equal to 1 NTU in at least 95 percent of the 
measurements taken each month. 

2. The turbidity level of the filtered water shall at no 
time exceed 5 NTU. 

E. Diatomaceous earth filtration shall comply with the 
following performance standards for each treatment plant: 

1. The filtered water turbidity shall be less than or 
equal to 1 NTU in at least 95 percent of the measurements 
each month. 

2. The turbidity level of representative samples of 
filtered water shall at no time exceed 5 NTU. 

F. An alternative to the filtration technologies specified 
in ?1115.A of this Chapter may be used provided the supplier 
demonstrates to the DHH that the alternative technology, 1) 
provides a minimum of 99 percent Giardia cyst removal and 
99 percent virus removal and 2)for public water systems 
using surface water or GWUDISW as its source of water 
supply and serving at least 10,000 individuals, 99 percent (2 
Log) Cryptosporidium oocyst removal, and 3) meets the 
turbidity performance standards established in ?1115.C of this 
Chapter. Such alternative filtration technology, in 
combination with disinfection treatment, shall be shown to 
consistently achieve a total of no less than 99.9 (3 Log) 
percent removal and/or inactivation of Giardia lamblia cysts 
and 99.99 (4 Log) percent removal and/or inactivation of 
viruses. The demonstration shall be based on the results from 
a prior equivalency demonstration or a testing of a full scale 
installation that is treating a water with similar 
characteristics and is exposed to similar hazards as the water 
proposed for treatment. A pilot plant test of the water to be 
treated may also be used for this demonstration if conducted 
with the approval of the DHH. The demonstration shall be 
presented in an engineering report prepared by a qualified 
engineer. Additional reporting for the first full year of 
operation of a new alternative filtration treatment process 
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approved by the DHH, may be required at DHH discretion. 
The report would include results of all water quality tests 
performed and would evaluate compliance with established 
performance standards under actual operating conditions. It 
would also include an assessment of problems experienced, 
corrective actions needed, and a schedule for providing 
needed improvements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and 40:5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1340 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1117. Non-Filtering Systems  

A. General. On a case-by-case basis, DHH may waive 
filtration requirements for suppliers using GWUDISW.  To 
be considered, non-filtering systems shall conform to the 
criteria of this Section.  All suppliers using surface water 
shall employ filtration. 

B. Source Water Quality to Avoid Filtration 
1. To avoid filtration, a system shall demonstrate that 

either the fecal coliform concentration is less than 20/100 ml 
and/or the total coliform concentration is less than 100/100 
ml in the water prior to the point of disinfectant application 
in 90 percent of the samples taken during the six previous 
months. Samples shall be taken prior to blending, if 
employed. 

a. If both fecal and total coliform analysis is 
performed, only the fecal coliform limit shall be met, under 
this condition, both fecal and total coliform results shall be 
reported. 

b. Sample analyses methods may be the multiple-
tube fermentation technique or the membrane filter 
technique as described in the Standard Methods for the 
Examination of Water and Wastewater, 19th Edition. 

c. Minimum sampling frequencies: 
 

Table 4 
Population Samples/Week 

? 500 1 
501-3300 2 
3301-10,000 3 
10,001-25,000 4 
> 25,000 5 

 
d. Also, one coliform sample shall be taken and 

analyzed each day the turbidity exceeds 1 NTU prior to 
disinfection. 

2. To avoid filtration, the turbidity of the water prior 
to disinfection cannot exceed 5 NTU based on grab samples 
collected every 4 hours (or more frequently) that the system 
is in operation. Continuous turbidity measurement is allowed 
provided the accuracy of the turbidity measurements are  
validated at least weekly in accord with §?1107.D of this 
Chapter. If there is a failure in the continuous turbidity 
monitoring equipment, the system shall collect and analyze a 
grab sample every 4 hours in lieu of continuous monitoring.  
Systems shall maintain the results of these turbidity 
measurements for at least 3 years. 

C. Disinfection Criteria to Avoid Filtration 
1. To avoid filtration, a system shall demonstrate that 

it maintains disinfection conditions which inactivate 99.9 
percent (3 Log) of Giardia  cysts and 99.99 percent (4 Log) 
of viruses everyday of operation except any one day each 

month.  To demonstrate adequate inactivations, the system 
shall monitor and record the disinfectant used, disinfectant 
residual at peak hourly flow, disinfectant contact time at 
peak hourly flow, pH, and water temperature, and use these 
data to determine if it is meeting the minimum total 
inactivation requirements of this rule. 

a. A system shall demonstrate compliance with the 
inactivation requirements based on conditions occurring 
during peak hourly flow.  Residual disinfectant 
measurements shall be taken hourly. Continuous disinfectant 
residual monitors are acceptable in place of hourly samples 
provided the accuracy of the disinfectant measurements are 
validated at least weekly in accord with §1109.B or C, as 
applicable, of this Chapter.  If there is a failure in the 
continuous disinfectant residual monitoring equipment, the 
system shall collect and analyze a grab sample every hour in 
lieu of continuous monitoring. Systems shall maintain the 
results of disinfectant residual monitoring for at least 3 
years. 

b. pH and temperature shall be determined daily for 
each disinfection sequence prior to or at the first customer. 

2. To avoid filtration, the system shall maintain a 
minimum residual of 0.2 mg/L free chlorine or 0.4 mg/L 
total chlorine entering the distribution system and maintain a 
detectable residual throughout the distribution system.  
Performance standards shall be as presented in §1119.B and 
C of this Chapter. 

3. To avoid filtration, the disinfection system shall be 
capable of assuring that the water delivered to the 
distribution system is continuously disinfected.  This 
requires: 

a. Redundant disinfection equipment with auxiliary 
power and automatic start up and alarm; or 

b. An automatic shut off of delivery of water to the 
distribution system when the disinfectant residual level 
drops below 0.2 mg/l free chlorine residual or 0.4 mg/L total 
chlorine residual. 

D. Site Specific Conditions to Avoid Filtration. In 
addition to the requirement for source water quality and 
disinfection, systems shall meet the following criteria to 
avoid filtration maintain a watershed control program, 
conduct a yearly on-site inspection, determine that no 
waterborne disease outbreaks have occurred, comply with 
the total coliform MCL at least 11 months of the 12 previous 
months that the system served water to the public and 
comply on an ongoing basis, comply with Disinfection By-
Product(DBP)regulations for total trihalomethanes (TTHM), 
haloacetic acids (five) [HAA5], bromate, and chlorite, and 
comply with Maximum Residual Disinfection Level 
(MRDL)regulations for chlorine, chloramines, and chlorine 
dioxide. 

1. Watershed Control Program. A watershed control 
program for systems using GWUDISW shall include as a 
minimum the requirements of the Wellhead Protection 
Program (WHPP), delineated as follows: 

a. specify the duties of state agencies, local 
governmental entities and public water supply systems with 
respect to the development and implementation of the 
WHPP; 

b. determine the wellhead protection area (WHPA) 
for each wellhead as defined in 42 U.S.C.A. 300h-7(e) based 
on all reasonably available hydrogeologic information, 
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groundwater flow, recharge and discharge and other 
information the State deems necessary to adequately 
determine the WHPA; 

c. identify within each WHPA all potential 
anthropogenic sources of contaminants which may have any 
adverse effect on the health of persons, specifically with the 
goal of minimizing the potential for contamination of the 
source water by Giardia lamblia cysts, viruses, and, for 
systems serving at least 10,000 individuals, Cryptosporidium 
oocysts; 

d. describe a program that contains, as appropriate, 
technical assistance, financial assistance, implementation of 
control measures, education, training and demonstration 
projects to protect the water supply within WHPAs from 
such contaminants; 

e. present contingency plans for locating and 
providing alternate drinking water supplies for each public 
water system in the event of well or wellfield contamination 
by such contaminants; 

f. consider all potential sources of such 
contaminants within the expected wellhead area of a new 
water well which serves a public water system; and 

g. provide for public participation. 
2. On-Site Inspection. An annual on-site inspection is 

required to evaluate the watershed control program and 
disinfection facilities.  The system shall be reviewed by a 
qualified engineer for the systems adequacy for producing 
safe drinking water.  The annual on-site inspection shall 
include as a minimu m: 

a. review the effectiveness of the watershed control 
program;  

b. review the physical condition and protection of 
the source intake; 

c. review the maintenance program to insure that all 
disinfection equipment is appropriate and has received 
regular maintenance and repair to assure a high operating 
reliability; 

d. review improvements and/or additions made to 
disinfection processes during the previous year to correct 
deficiencies detected in earlier surveys; 

e. review the condition of disinfection equipment; 
f. review operating procedures; 
g. review data records to assure that all required 

tests are being conducted and recorded and disinfection is 
effectively practiced; and 

h. identify any needed improvements in the 
equipment, system maintenance and operation, or data 
collection. 

3. Sanitary Survey. In addition to the above 
requirements, a sanitary survey shall be performed every 3 
years for community water systems and every 5 years for 
non-community water systems which use GWUDISW 
without filtration.  The sanitary survey shall include: 

a. review the condition of finished water storage 
facilities; 

b. determine that the distribution system has 
sufficient pressure throughout the year;  

c. verify that distribution system equipment has 
received regular maintenance; 

d. review cross connection prevention program, 
including annual testing of backflow prevention devices; 

e. review routine flushing program for 
effectiveness; 

f. evaluate the corrosion control program and its 
impact on distribution water quality; 

g. review the adequacy of the program for periodic 
storage reservoir flushing; 

h. review practices in repairing water main breaks 
to assure they include disinfection; 

i. review additions, improvements incorporated 
during the year to correct deficiencies detected in the initial 
inspection; 

j. review the operations to assure that any 
difficulties experienced during the year have been 
adequately addressed; 

k. review staffing to assure adequate numbers of 
certified operators are available in accord with LAC 
48:V.Chapter 73; 

l. verify that a regular maintenance schedule is 
followed; 

m. audit systems records to verify that they are 
adequately maintained; and 

n. review bacteriological data from the distribution 
system for coliform occurrence, repeat samples and action 
response. 

4. No Disease Outbreaks. To avoid filtration, a system 
using GWUDISW shall not have been identified as a source 
of waterborne disease.  If such an outbreak has occurred and 
(in the opinion of DHH) was attributed to a treatment 
deficiency, the system shall install filtration unless the 
system has upgraded its treatment to remedy the deficiency 
to the satisfaction of DHH. 

5. Coliform MCL Regulations. To avoid filtration, a 
system shall have complied with the MCL for Total 
Coliforms, established in the Total Coliform Rule, for at 
least 11 out of 12 of the previous months unless DHH 
determines the failure to meet this requirement was not 
caused by a deficiency in treatment. 

6. DBP Regulations. For a system using GWUDISW 
to continue using disinfection as the only treatment, the 
system shall comply with the DBP regulations, including 
TTHM, HAA5, bromate, and chlorite, as applicable. 

7. MRDL Regulations. For a GWUDISW system to 
continue using disinfection as the only treatment, the system 
shall comply with the MRDLs for chlorine, chloramines, and 
chlorine dioxide, as applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1341 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1119. Disinfection Performance Standards  

A. All surface water or GWUDISW utilized by a 
supplier shall be provided with continuous disinfection 
treatment sufficient to ensure that the total treatment process 
provides inactivation of Giardia cysts and viruses, in 
conjunction with the removals obtained through filtration, to 
meet the reduction requirements specified in §1113 of this 
Chapter. 

B. Disinfection treatment shall comply with the 
following performance standards: 

1. Water delivered to the distribution system shall 
contain a disinfectant residual of not less than 0.2 mg/l free 
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chlorine or 0.4 mg/l total chlorine for more than 4 hours in 
any 24 hour period. 

2. The residual disinfectant concentrations of samples 
collected from the distribution system shall be detectable in 
at least 95 percent of the samples each month, taken during 
any two consecutive months. At any sample point in the 
distribution system, the presence of heterotrophic plate count 
(HPC)bacteria at concentrations less than 500 colony-
forming units per milliliter (cfu/ml) shall be considered 
equivalent to a detectable disinfectant residual. 

C. Determination of Inactivation by Disinfection. 
Minimum disinfection requirements shall be determined by 
DHH on a case-by -case basis but shall not be less than those 
required in Table 2 of §1115.B.1 or Table 3 of §1115.B.2, as 
applicable, of this Chapter.  The desired level of inactivation 
shall be determined by the calculation of CT values; residual 
disinfectant concentration ("C") times the contact times 
("T") when the pipe or vessel is in operation. Disinfectant 
contact time shall be determined by tracer studies. 

1. The T10 value will be used as the detention time for 
calculating CTs.  T10 is the detention time at which 90 
percent of the flow passing through a vessel is retained 
within the vessel.  Systems conducting tracer studies shall 
submit a plan to DHH for review and approval prior to the 
study being conducted. The plan shall identify how the study 
will be conducted, the tracer to be used, flow rates, etc. The 
plan shall also identify who will actually conduct the study.  
Tracer studies are to be conducted according to protocol 
found in standard engineering texts (such as Levenspiel), or 
the methodology in EPA's Guidance Manual for Compliance 
with the Filtration and Disinfection Requirements for Public 
Water Systems using Surface Water Sources, March 1991 
Edition (SWTR Guidance Manual). 

2. On a case-by-case basis, alternate empirical 
methods of calculating T10 as outlined in the SWTR 
Guidance Manual may be accepted for vessels with 
geometry and baffling conditions analogous to basins on 
which tracer studies have been conducted and results have 
been published in the SWTR Guidance Manual or the 
literature. 

3. Additional tracer studies shall be conducted by the 
supplier whenever modifications are made which may 
impact flow distribution, contact time, or disinfectant 
distribution. 

4. CT values utilized in this evaluation shall be those 
reported in the SWTR Guidance Manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1341 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§1121. Design Standards  

A. All new treatment and disinfection facilities (and any 
existing treatment and disinfection facilities which undergo 
substantial renovation) shall be designed and constructed to 
meet the existing State Sanitary Code as modified by the 
requirements contained herein. 

B. All new filtration facilities for surface water or 
GWUDISW plants (and any likewise existing filtration 
facilities which undergo substantial renovation) shall be 
designed such that each individual filter is constructed with 
filter-to-waste capability. 

C. All new filtration and/or clearwell facilities for 
surface water or GWUDISW plants (and any likewise 
existing filtration and/or clearwell facilities which undergo 
substantial renovation) shall be designed to have one 
combined filter effluent point prior to clearwell storage.  If 
this is not feasible for existing plants, such as when multiple 
clearwells already exist, each plant going to its own 
clearwell shall be designed to have a combined filter effluent 
point prior to that particular plant's clearwell. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and 40: 5 ((2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1341 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
Subchapter C. Monitoring Requirements 
§?1123. Filtration Monitoring 

A. Source Water Turbidity Monitoring. Each supplier 
using surface water or GWUDISW as a source of water 
supply shall monitor the turbidity level of the raw water 
source by taking and analyzing no less than one grab sample 
per day. Continuous turbidity monitoring may be substituted 
provided the accuracy of the measurements are validated 
weekly in accord with §?1107.D of this Chapter.  If there is a 
failure in the continuous turbidity monitoring equipment, the 
system shall collect and analyze no less than one grab 
sample per day.  Systems shall maintain the results of raw 
water turbidity monitoring for at least 3 years. 

B. Settled Water Turbidity Monitoring 
1. Each supplier using surface water as its source of 

water supply should mo nitor and record settled water 
turbidity prior to filtration in each individual treatment train 
at least once every 4 hours. 

2. Each supplier using GWUDISW as its source of 
water supply should, if filtration is required or otherwise 
performed, monitor and record settled water turbidity prior 
to filtration in each individual treatment train at least once 
every 4 hours. 

C. Combined Filter Effluent Turbidity Monitoring. To 
determine compliance with the performance standards 
specified in ?1115 of this Chapter, each supplier using surface 
water or GWUDISW shall conduct continuous turbidity 
monitoring of representative samples of the combined filter 
effluent prior to clearwell storage during all times that the 
system is in operation.  Combined filter effluent turbidity 
measurements shall be recorded every 15 minutes.  The 
accuracy of the turbidity measurements from the continuous 
turbidity monitor shall be validated weekly in accord with 
§1107.D of this Chapter. If there is a failure in the 
continuous turbidity monitoring equipment, the system shall 
collect and analyze a grab sample every 2 hours in lieu of 
continuous monitoring, but for no more than five working 
days following the failure of the equipment.  Failure to have 
the continuous monitoring equipment replaced or repaired 
and put back into continuous service following the five 
working days allowed herein shall be deemed to constitute a 
violation of this Chapter.  Systems shall maintain the results 
of combined filter effluent turbidity monitoring for at least 3 
years. 

EXCEPTION: In the case of public water systems using 
surface water or GWUDISW and serving less than 10,000 
individuals, each supplier shall conduct turbidity monitoring 
of representative samples of the combined filter effluent, prior 
to clearwell storage, at least once every 4 hours that the 
system is in operation.  The purpose of such monitoring is to 
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determine compliance with the performance standards 
specified in ?1115 of this Chapter which is applicable to such 
systems.  Continuous turbidity monitoring may be substituted 
provided the accuracy of the measurements are validated 
weekly in accord with ?1107.D of this Chapter. If there is a 
failure in the continuous turbidity monitoring equipment, the 
system shall collect and analyze a grab sample every 4 hours 
in lieu of continuous monitoring, but for no more than five 
working days following the failure of equipment.  Systems 
shall maintain the results of combined filter effluent turbidity 
monitoring for at least 3 years. 

1. In existing treatment plants which may not have a 
combined filter effluent point prior to clearwell storage or 
other design limitations, DHH may, on a case-by-case basis, 
allow turbidity compliance monitoring to be performed at an 
alternate sampling point which is determined to be 
representative of the system's filtered water (in accordance 
with Section 5.2.1 of the SWTR Guidance Manual).  
Requests to utilize an alternate turbidity monitoring 
sampling point for compliance monitoring shall be submitted 
in writing to DHH for review and approval. 

D. Slow Sand or Small System Turbidity Monitoring. 
Suppliers using surface water or GWUDISW and utilizing 
slow sand filtration or serving fewer than 500 people may 
reduce turbidity monitoring to one raw water and one 
combined filter effluent grab sample per day if DHH 
determines that less frequent monitoring is sufficient to 
indicate effective filtration performance. 

E. Individual Filter Turbidity Monitoring/Additional 
Actions 

1. Monitoring Individual Filters for Turbidity. Public 
water systems  using surface water or GWUDISW as its 
source of water supply, serves at least 10,000 individuals, 
and utilizes conventional filtration treatment or direct 
filtration shall conduct continuous turbidity monitoring for 
each individual filter. Such systems shall record the results 
of individual filter monitoring every 15 minutes while the 
filter is in service. The accuracy of the turbidity 
measurements from the continuous turbidity monitor shall be 
validated weekly in accord with §1107.D of this Chapter.  If 
there is a failure in the continuous turbidity monitoring 
equipment, the system shall conduct grab sampling every 4 
hours in lieu of continuous monitoring, but for no more than 
five working days following the failure of equipment.  
Failure to have the continuous monitoring equipment 
replaced or repaired and put back into continuous service 
following the five working days allowed herein shall be 
deemed to constitute a violation of this Chapter.  Systems 
shall maintain the results of individual filter monitoring for 
at least 3 years. 

a. When a particular water treatment plant is not 
configured to allow individual filter turbidity monitoring 
(e.g., Greenleaf Filter Plants) as required under Paragraph 1 
of this Subsection, the system shall consult with DHH on a 
case-by-case basis to obtain approval of a plant specific 
alternative monitoring plan which is deemed to comply with 
the intent of individual filter turbidity monitoring, as far as is 
possible. 

2. Triggered Actions Based on Individual Filter 
Results 

Refer to ?1135.E.1 of this Chapter for additional actions which 
may be triggered dependent upon the results of individual 
filter turbidity monitoring. Compliance deadlines for 
performing such additional actions are also contained in 
§1135.E.1 of this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1342 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1125. Disinfection Monitoring 

A. CT Parameters Monitoring. To determine compliance 
with disinfection inactivation requirements specified in 
Table 2 of §1115.B.1 or Table 3 of §1115.B.2, as applicable, 
of this Chapter, each supplier shall develop and conduct a 
monitoring program to measure those parameters that affect 
the performance of the disinfection process.  This shall 
include but not be limited to: 

1. temperature of the disinfected water at each 
residual disinfectant concentration sampling point; 

2. pH(s) of the disinfected water (if free chlorine is 
used as a disinfectant) at each free chlorine residual 
disinfectant concentration sampling point; 

3. the disinfectant contact time(s) at peak hourly flow 
at each residual disinfectant concentration sampling point; 

4. the residual disinfectant concentrations before or at 
the first customer during peak hourly flow; and 

5. if the system uses more than one point of 
disinfectant application before the first customer, the system 
must determine the parameters identified in Paragraphs 1-4 
of this Subsection for each individual disinfection segment 
immediately prior to the next point of disinfectant 
application during peak hourly flow so that a cumulative CT 
value can be determined before the treated water reaches the 
first customer.  (Note:  If the treatment plant uses its own 
finished water for potable purposes, the first customer may 
be the treatment plant itself.) 

B. Disinfectant Residual Monitoring at Plant. To 
determine compliance with the performance standards 
specified in §§?1115 or 1119 of this Chapter, the disinfectant 
residual concentrations of the water being delivered to the 
distribution system shall be measured and recorded 
continuously. The accuracy of disinfectant measurements 
obtained from continuous disinfectant mo nitors shall be 
validated at least weekly in accord with §1109.B or C, as 
applicable, of this Chapter. If there is a failure of continuous 
disinfectant residual monitoring equipment, grab sampling 
every 2 hours shall be conducted in lieu of continuous 
monitoring, but for no more than five working days 
following the failure of the equipment.  Failure to have the 
continuous monitoring equipment replaced or repaired and 
put back into continuous service following the five working 
days allowed herein shall be deemed to constitute a violation 
of this Chapter. Systems shall maintain the results of 
disinfectant residual monitoring for at least 3 years. 

C. Small System Disinfectant Residual Monitoring at 
Plant. Suppliers serving fewer than 3300 people may collect 
and analyze grab samples of the water being delivered to the 
distribution system for disinfectant residual determination 
each day in lieu of the continuous monitoring, in accordance 
with Table 5 of this Chapter, provided that any time the 
residual disinfectant falls below 0.2 mg/l free chlorine or 0.4 
mg/l total chlorine, the supplier shall take a grab sample 
every 2 hours until the residual concentrations is equal to or 
greater than 0.2 mg/l free chlorine or 0.4 mg/l total chlorine. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 28, No. 07   July 20, 2002 1652

Table 5 
(applicable to systems serving less than 3,300 individuals) 

Disinfectant Residual Sampling 
System Population Samples/Day 

500 1 
501-1,000 2 
1,001-2,500 3 
2,501-3,300 4 

 
D. Disinfectant Residual Monitoring in Distribution 

System. The residual disinfectant concentrations shall be 
measured at least at the same points in the distribution 
system and at the same time that samples for total coliforms 
are collected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1342 (June 
2002), amended LR 28: 
§?1127. Disinfection Profiling 

A. All public water systems using surface water or 
GWUDISW as its source of water supply and serving at least 
10,000 individuals shall perform a disinfection profile of its 
disinfection practice on a continuous basis. 

1. Any system that meets the criteria of Subsection A 
of this Section shall perform monitoring on each day of 
operation to determine the total logs of inactivation of 
Giardia lamblia cysts, based upon the CT99.9 (3-Log) values 
in Appendix E of the SWTR Guidance Manual, as 
appropriate, through the entire treatment plant.  Any system 
that uses either chloramines or ozone for primary 
disinfection shall additionally calculate the total logs of 
inactivation of viruses for each day of operation, based upon 
the CT99.99 (4-Log) values in Appendix E of the SWTR 
Guidance Manual. Systems with more than one point of 
disinfectant application shall conduct monitoring for each 
disinfection segment. The following parameters shall be 
monitored: 

a. the temperature of the disinfected water at each 
disinfectant residual concentration sampling point during 
peak hourly flow; 

b. if the system uses free chlorine, the pH of the 
disinfected water at each free chlorine residual disinfectant 
concentration sampling point during peak hourly flow; 

c. the disinfectant contact time(s) ("T") at peak 
hourly flow at each residual disinfectant concentration 
sampling point; 
 i. contact time(s) determined through actual 
tracer studies shall be used [not theoretical contact time(s) 
using baffling factors]; 

d. the residual disinfectant concentration(s) ("C") of 
the water before or at the first customer during peak hourly 
flow (Note: If the treatment plant uses its own finished water 
for potable purposes, the first customer may be the treatment 
plant itself.); and 

e. if the system uses more than one point of 
disinfectant application before the first customer, the system 
must determine the parameters identified in Subparagraphs 
a-d of this Paragraph for each individual disinfection 
segment immediately prior to the next point of disinfectant 
application during peak hourly flow so that a cumulative CT 
value can be determined before the treated water reaches the 
first customer.  (Note:  If the treatment plant uses its own 

finished water for potable purposes, the first customer may 
be the treatment plant itself.) 

B. In addition, systems subject to the requirements of 
Subsection A of this Section shall compute their daily total 
logs of inactivation utilizing a computer spread sheet 
format/formulas approved by DHH.  The system shall retain 
printed disinfection profile data as daily individual 
spreadsheets (containing the monitoring data, CT 
computation, and total log inactivation data) and in 
monthly/yearly graphical profile form for review as part of 
sanitary surveys conducted by DHH. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
§?1129. Disinfection Practice Changes 

A. Suppliers using surface water or GWUDISW as the 
source of water supply which decide to make a significant 
change to its disinfection practice shall submit plans and 
specifications to DHH for review and approval (in accord 
with the requirements of ?105 of this Part) prior to making 
such change.  Significant changes to disinfection practice 
are: 

1. any changes to the point of disinfection; 
2. any changes to the disinfectant(s) used in the 

treatment plant; 
3. any changes to the disinfection process; or,  
4. any disinfection practice modification which may 

lower the system's ability to comply with the required 
minimum log inactivation attributable to disinfection as 
listed in Table 2 of §?1115.B.1 or Table 3 of §1115.B.2, as 
applicable, of this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
Subchapter D. Operation 
§?1131. Operating Criteria 

A. All treatment plants utilizing surface water or 
GWUDISW shall be operated by certified operators in 
accord with LAC 48:V.Chapter 73. 

B. Filtration facilities shall be operated in accordance 
with the following requirements. 

1. Conventional and direct filtration treatment plants 
shall be operated at flow rates not to exceed 3 gallons per 
minute per square foot (gpm/sq ft) for gravity filters.  In any 
instance when pressure filters have been approved by DHH 
as the primary turbidity removal mechanism (see ?323 of this 
Part), filtration rates shall not exceed 2 gpm/sq ft. 

2. Slow sand filters shall be operated at filtration rates 
not to exceed 0.10 gallons per minute per square foot.  The 
filter bed shall not be dewatered except for cleaning and 
maintenance purposes. 

3. Diatomaceous earth filters shall be operated at 
filtration rates not to exceed 1.0 gallon per minute per square 
foot. 

4. In order to obtain approval for higher filtration rates 
than those specified in this Section, the supplier shall 
demonstrate to DHH that the filters can achieve an equal 
degree of performance. 

5. Filtration rates shall be increased gradually when 
placing filters back into service following backwashing or 
any other interruption in the operation of the filter.  
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6. In any instance when pressure filters have been 
approved by DHH as the primary turbidity removal 
mechanism (see §?323 of this Part), such filters shall be 
physically inspected and evaluated annually (not sooner than 
120 calendar days from any previous inspection/evaluation) 
for such factors as media condition, mudball formation, and 
short circuiting. A written record of the inspection shall be 
maintained at the treatment plant. 

C. Disinfection facilities shall be operated in accordance 
with the following requirements: 

1. A supply of chemicals necessary to provide 
continuous operation of disinfection facilities shall be 
maintained as a reserve or demonstrated to be available 
under all conditions and circumstances. 

2. An emergency plan shall be developed prior to and 
implemented in the event of disinfection failure to prevent 
delivery to the distribution system of any undisinfected or 
inadequately disinfected water. The plan shall be posted in 
the treatment plant or other place readily accessible to the 
plant operator. 

3. System redundancy and changeover systems shall 
be maintained and kept operational at all times to ensure no 
interruption in disinfection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8), R.S. 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20) and R.S. 40: 1148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
Subchapter E. Reporting 
§?1133. DHH Notification 

A. The supplier shall notify DHH by telephone or other 
equally rapid means as soon as possible but no later than 24 
hours whenever: 

1. the turbidity of the combined filter effluent as 
monitored exceeds 1.0 NTU at any time for conventional 
filtration treatment or direct filtration treatment; 

EXCEPTION: In the case of public water systems using 
surface water and serving less than 10,000 individuals,  
whenever the turbidity of the combined filter effluent as 
monitored exceeds 5.0 NTU at any time for conventional 
filtration treatment or direct filtration treatment. 

2. more than two consecutive 4 hour monitoring 
periods of the combined filter effluent show an exceedance 
of 0.5 NTU for conventional filtration treatment or direct 
filtration treatment; 

EXCEPTION: In the case of public water systems using 
surface water and serving less than 10,000 individuals,  more 
than two consecutive 4 hour monitoring periods of the 
combined filter effluent show an exceedance of 1.0 NTU for 
conventional filtration treatment or direct filtration treatment. 

3. the turbidity of the combined filter effluent as 
monitored exceeds 1.0 NTU for slow sand filtration or 
diatomaceous earth filtration; 

4. the turbidity of the combined filter effluent as 
monitored exceeds the maximum level set by DHH for the 
particular alternative filtration technology approved by DHH 
pursuant to §?1115.F of this Chapter; 

5. there is a failure to maintain a minimum 
disinfectant residual of 0.2 mg/l free chlorine or 0.4 mg/l 
total chlorine in the water being delivered to the distribution 
system and whether or not the disinfectant residual was 
restored to at least 0.2 mg/l free chlorine or 0.4 mg/l total 
chlorine within 4 hours; 

6. an event occurs which may affect the ability of the 
treatment plant to produce a safe, potable water including, 

but not limited to, spills of hazardous materials in the 
watershed and unit treatment process failures; 

7. a waterborne disease outbreak potentially 
attributable to the water system has occurred and is 
discovered by the supplier. 

B. In accord with the requirement of §321 of this Part, 
the supplier shall notify DHH by telephone or other equally 
rapid means as soon as possible but no later than 48 hours 
whenever: 

1. non-compliance with a combined filter effluent 
turbidity standard occurs during any one particular month, 
e.g., anytime a minimum number of individual turbidity 
measurements above the turbidity standard will cause the 
system to exceed its 5 percent monthly allowance. [For 
example, in a 30 calendar day month and a plant operating 
24 hours per day a total of 180 combined filter effluent 
turbidity compliance measurements are to be taken per 
month. Whenever 10 compliance measurements exceed the 
turbidity standard applicable to such system, the system is in 
violation of its treatment technique requirement (10 ) 180 x 
100 = 5.5 percent) and must notify DHH as soon as possible 
but not later than 48 hours of the violation.] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 4 (A)(8) and 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
§?1135. Monthly Report 

A. General. Each supplier with a surface water or 
GWUDISW treatment facility shall submit a monthly 
written report on the operation of each facility to the DHH 
by the tenth day of the following month.  Such report shall 
be signed by a certified operator of the public water system. 

B. Combined Filter Effluent Turbidity Results. The 
monthly report shall include the following results of samples 
collected from the combined filter effluent (or from an 
alternate compliance sampling point as approved by DHH 
on a case-by-case basis). 

1. The highest individual turbidity measurement 
determined within each 4 hour monitoring period for each 
day that the system is in operation.  Suppliers operating 
treatment facilities continuously shall report the highest 
individual turbidity measurement for each of the following 4 
hour monitoring periods: 

a. 12:01 am - 4:00 am;  
b.  4:01 am - 8:00 am;  
c.  8:01 am - 12:00 pm (noon);  
d. 12:01 pm - 4:00 pm;  
e.  4:01 pm - 8:00 pm;  
f.  8:01 pm - 12:00 am (midnight). 

NOTE:  Suppliers which do not operate their treatment 
facilities continuously shall utilize these same time periods, as 
applicable, for reporting purposes.  Times when there is no 
combined filter effluent available for monitoring, such as 
when the plant is not in operation, shall also be recorded by 
the supplier and such events shall be clearly identified and 
reported on the monthly report. 

2. The number and percent of turbidity measurements 
reported under Paragraph 1 of this Subsection which are less 
than or equal to the performance standard specified for each 
filtration technology in ?1115 of this Chapter, or as required 
for an alternative filtration technology. 

3. The maximum daily raw water turbidity. 
4. For public water systems using surface water or 

GWUDISW which serve at least 10,000 individuals and 
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utilize conventional or direct filtration treatment, the 
monthly report shall advise whether or not combined filter 
effluent turbidity monitoring has been conducted 
continuously and whether or not the measurements were 
recorded every 15 minutes.  The monthly report shall also 
indicate the date and time when there is a failure in the 
continuous turbidity monitoring equipment or plant out of 
service as well as the date and time that such 
equipment/plant was placed back into service. 

5. At the special request of the state health officer on a 
case-by-case basis, the supplier shall also provide an 
additional report listing the date and value of any other 
combined filter effluent turbidity measurement recorded by 
the supplier which exceeded the performance levels 
specified in §?1115 of this Chapter and any corresponding 
raw water turbidity levels. 

C. Disinfection Monitoring Results. The monthly report 
shall include the following disinfection monitoring results. 

1. The date and duration of each instance when the 
disinfectant residual in water supplied to the distribution 
system is less than 0.2 mg/l free chlorine or 0.4 mg/l total 
chlorine and when the DHH was notified of the occurrence. 

2. The following information on samples taken from 
the distribution system: 

a. the number of samples where the disinfectant 
residual is measured; 

b. the number of samples where only the 
heterotrophic plate count (HPC) is measured; 

c. the number of measurements with no detectable 
disinfectant residual and no HPC is measured; 

d. the number of measurements with no detectable 
disinfectant residual and HPC is greater than 500 colony 
forming units per milliliter;  

e. the number of measurements where only HPC is 
measured and is greater than 500 colony forming units per 
milliliter. 

D. Explanation of Cause of Violation. The monthly 
report shall include a written explanation of the cause of any 
violation of performance standards specified in §§??1115, 
1117, or 1119 and operating criteria specified in §1131 of 
this Chapter. 

E. Individual Filter Turbidity Results/Additional Actions 
1. For public water systems using surface water or 

GWUDISW which serve at least 10,000 individuals and 
utilizes conventional or direct filtration treatment, the 
monthly report shall advise whether or not individual filter 
turbidity monitoring has been conducted continuously and 
whether or not the measurements were recorded every 15 
minutes. Such systems shall additionally report individual 
filter turbidity measurement results taken only if 
measurements demonstrate one or more of the following 
four exceedance conditions. 

a. For any individual filter that has a measured 
turbidity level of greater than 1.0 NTU in two consecutive 
measurements taken 15 minutes apart, the system shall 
report the filter number, the turbidity measurement, and the 
date(s) on which the exceedance occurred.  In addition, the 
system shall either produce a filter profile for the filter 
within 7 days of the exceedance (if the system is not able to 
identify an obvious reason for the abnormal filter 
performance) and report that the profile has been produced 
or report the obvious reason for the exceedance. 

b. For any individual filter that has a measured 
turbidity level of greater than 0.5 NTU in two consecutive 
measurements taken 15 minutes apart at the end of the first 4 
hours of continuous filter operation after the filter has been 
backwashed or otherwise taken off-line, the system shall 
report the filter number, the turbidity, and the date(s) on 
which the exceedance occurred.  In addition, the system 
shall either produce a filter profile for the filter within seven 
days of the exceedance (if the system is not able to identify 
an obvious reason for the abnormal filter performance) and 
report that the profile has been produced or report the 
obvious reason for the exceedance. 

c. For any individual filter that has a measured 
turbidity level of greater than 1.0 NTU in two consecutive 
measurements taken 15 minutes apart at any time in each of 
three consecutive months, the system shall report the filter 
number, the turbidity measurement, and the date(s) on which 
the exceedance occurred.  In addition, the system shall 
conduct a self-assessment of the filter within 14 days of the 
exceedance and report that the self-assessment was 
conducted. The self-assessment shall consist of at least the 
following components: an in-depth evaluation of filter 
performance, including analysis of historical filtered water 
turbidity from the filter; development of a filter profile; 
identification and prioritization of factors limiting filter 
performance; evaluation of the applicability of corrections; 
and, preparation of a filter self-assessment report. 

d. For any individual filter that has a measured 
turbidity level of greater than 2.0 NTU in two consecutive 
measurements taken 15 minutes apart at any time in each of 
two consecutive months, the system shall report the filter 
number, the turbidity measurement, and the date(s) on which 
the exceedance occurred.  In addition, the system shall 
arrange for the conduct of a comprehensive performance 
evaluation (CPE) by DHH or a third party approved by DHH 
no later than 30 days following the exceedance and have the 
evaluation completed and submitted to DHH no later than 90 
days following the exceedance.  For systems experiencing 
multiple exceedances, only one CPE is adequate until that 
CPE has been completed and the appropriate corrective 
actions taken. 
 i. This CPE shall be considered a compliance 
CPE; thus, either or both of the following shall be 
considered a violation(s) of this Chapter: 

(a). failure to respond in writing to performance-
limiting factors identified in the CPE within 45 days after 
receipt of the report, indicating how and on what schedule 
the system will address performance-limiting factors noted 
in the report; or 

(b). failure to correct the performance-limiting 
factors identified in the CPE within a time schedule 
acceptable to DHH. 

2. When a filter profile/obvious reason, self-
assessment, or CPE has been triggered by the turbidity 
results of an individual filter, the following additional 
information for such filter shall be reported in the monthly 
report. 

a. Data recorded relative to the occurrence of a 
failure in the continuous turbidity monitoring equipment for 
the affected individual filter or filter out of service 
conditions, the identity of the individual filter, the date and 
time of such equipment failure or out of service conditions 
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as well as the date and time that the equipment and/or filter 
was placed back into service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  R.S 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
§?1137. Disinfection Profiling Report 

A. Public water systems subject to the requirements of 
§1127.A of this Chapter shall submit to DHH a printed 
report on the initial 12 consecutive months of disinfection 
profiling data (including daily individual spreadsheets 
containing the monitoring data, CT computation, and total 
log inactivation data) and in monthly/yearly graphical profile 
form as required under §?1127 of this Chapter. This 
disinfection profiling report is due on no later than [45 
calendar days after this rule has been in effect for 12 full 
months] . 

B. On a case-by-case basis, DHH may accept existing 
operational data in lieu of the requirements of Subsection A 
of this Section if DHH determines that such data is 
substantially equivalent to data required to be collected 
under §1127 of this Chapter. Such data shall be 
representative of inactivation through the entire treatment 
plant and not just of certain treatment segments. 

C. Following the submittal of the initial 12 consecutive 
month period report required under Subsection A of this 
Section, nothing herein shall be construed to prohibit DHH 
from requiring the public water system to submit a more 
current disinfection profiling data set on a case-by-case basis 
(e.g., when a significant change to the disinfection practice 
is proposed, etc.). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with  R.S 
40: 4 (A)(8) and R.S. 40: 5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
Subchapter F.  Public Notification 
§?1139. Consumer Notification 

A. Treatment Technique/Performance Standard 
Violations. The supplier shall notify persons served by the 
system whenever there is a failure to comply with the 
treatment technique requirements specified in §?1113 or 
performance standards specified in §§1115, 1117, or 1119 of 
this Chapter.  The notification shall be given in a manner 
approved by the DHH, and shall include the following 
mandatory language: 

1. "The La. Department of Health and Hospitals 
(DHH) sets drinking water standards and has determined 
that the presence of microbiological contaminants are a 
health concern at certain levels of exposure. If water is 
inadequately treated, microbiological contaminants in that 
water may cause disease. Disease symptoms may include 
diarrhea, cramps, nausea, and possibly jaundice, and any 
associated headaches and fatigue. These symptoms, however 
are not just associated with disease-causing organisms in 
drinking water, but also may be caused by a number of 
factors other than your drinking water. DHH has set 
enforceable requirements for treating drinking water to 
reduce the risk of these adverse health effects. Treatment 
such as filtering and disinfecting the water removes or 
destroys microbiological contaminants. Drinking water 
which is treated to meet DHH requirements is associated 
with little to none of this risk and should be considered 
safe." 

2. When there is a failure to comply with a treatment 
technique requirement or performance standard as required 
in Subsection A of this Section, the supplier shall provide 
public notification in a daily or weekly newspaper serving 
the area as soon as possible but no later than 14 days after 
the violation or failure.  Where newspaper notice is not 
feasible for a non-community water system, continuous 
posting may be substituted;  however, such notice shall 
remain posted for a minimum of at least 7 days.  In addition 
to newspaper notice, a notice shall also be provided to the 
consumers by direct mail or hand delivery within 45 days 
after the violation or failure. 

B. Monitoring Violations. The supplier shall notify 
persons served by the system in the manner approved by 
DHH whenever there is a failure to comply with the 
monitoring requirements specified in §§1123 or 1125 of this 
Chapter.  When there is a failure to comply with the 
monitoring requirements specified in §§??1123 or 1125 of this 
Chapter, the supplier shall provide public notification in a 
daily or weekly newspaper serving the area within 3 months 
of the violation or failure. Where newspaper notice is not 
feasible for a non-community water system, continuous 
posting in conspicuous places within the area served by the 
system may be substituted; however, such notice shall 
remain posted for a minimum of at least 7 days. In addition 
to newspaper notice, a notice shall also be provided to the 
consumers by direct mail or hand delivery within 3 months 
after the violation or failure. 

C. Acute Violations. When: 
1. an event occurs which may affect the ability of the 

treatment plant to produce safe, potable water as specified 
under ?1133.A.6 of this Chapter; 

2. a waterborne disease outbreak occurs as specified 
under §1133.A.7 of this Chapter; 

3. the combined filter effluent turbidity level exceeds 
5.0 NTU; or, 

4. other conditions/violations which are deemed by 
the state health officer, acting personally, as posing an acute 
risk to human health exist or occur;  

5. the supplier shall furnish a notice to radio and 
television stations serving the area as soon as possible but 
not later than 24 hours after awareness of the incident by the 
supplier.  The supplier shall also provide public notification 
in a daily or weekly newspaper serving the area as soon as 
possible but no later than 14 days after the violation or 
failure.  In addition to newspaper notice, a notice shall also 
be provided to the consumers by direct mail or hand delivery 
within 45 days after the violation or failure. 

EXCEPTION:  Where furnishing a notice to radio and 
television stations, newspaper notice, or mailing is deemed not 
feasible for a non-community water system, continuous 
posting may be substituted;  however, such notice shall remain 
posted for a minimum of at least 7 days. 

D. Public Notice Verification. Systems required to 
provide public notification shall otherwise be required to 
comply with the requirements of ?313 of this Part, including, 
but not limited to, submission of public notice verification to 
the State Health Officer within 10 days subsequent to the 
completion of public notification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:4 (A)(8) and 40:5 (2)(3)(5)(6)(17)(20). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28: 
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Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family.  We do not 

anticipate any effect on the stability of the family as a result 
of this proposed rule. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
We do not anticipate any effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children as a result of this proposed rule. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. We do 
not anticipate any effect on the functioning of the family as a 
result of this proposed rule. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
No significant impact on family earnings is predicted as a 
result of this rule. Assuming that a public water system using 
surface water or ground water under the direct influence of 
surface water as its source of water supply (and serves at 
least 10,000 people), decides to increase rates for all of its 
customers served by the system in order to reimburse itself 
for any additional expenses incurred by the proposed rule, 
any increase in the individual homeowner's water bill is 
expected to be of an insignificant amount.  It is estimated 
that 92 percent of households will incur less than a cost of 
$1 per month, and 7 percent of households will face a cost 
increase between $1 and $5 per month according to the EPA 
(Federal Register, Vo l 63, No. 241, Wed., Dec. 16, 1998). 
Economic benefits of the proposed rule derive from the 
increased level of protection to public health.  The primary 
goal of this rule is to improve public health by increasing the 
level of protection from exposure to Cryptosporidium and 
other pathogens found in surface water sources.  Prevention 
of cases of crytosporidiosis and other intestinal diseases will 
cause the family to save money on medical care, medicines, 
etc.  

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. We do not anticipate any direct 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of children 
as a result of this proposed rule. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. We 
do not anticipate any effect on the ability of the family 
functioning as a result of this proposed rule. Local 
governmental units which own, manage, and/or operate a 
PWS using surface water or ground water under the direct 
influence of surface water (GWUDISW) as its source of 
water supply and serves at least 10,000 people may 
determine a need to increase their revenue collections (i.e., 
increase water bills) to cover the cost of complying with the 
proposed rule. 

DHH-OPH will conduct a public hearing at 10 a.m. on 
Tuesday, August 27, 2002, in Room 118 of the Blanche 
Appleby Computer Complex Building (on the Jimmy 
Swaggart Ministries Campus), 6867 Bluebonnet Blvd., 
Baton Rouge, LA.  All interested persons are invited to 
attend and present data, views, comments, or arguments, 
orally or in writing. 

In addition, all interested persons are invited to submit 
written comments on the proposed rule.  Such comments

must be received no later than Friday, August 30, 2002 at 
COB, 4:30p.m., and should be addressed to R. Douglas 
Vincent, Chief, Engineering Services Section, Center for 
Environmental Health, Office of Public Health, 6867 
Bluebonnet Blvd., Box 3, Baton Rouge, LA 70810, or faxed 
to (225) 765-5040. 
 

David W. Hood 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Interim Safe Drinking Water Program 

Enhanced Surface Water Treatment 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public 
Health (DHH-OPH) has determined that 27 public water 
systems (PWSs) within Louisiana will be affected by the major 
provisions of the federally mandated rule.  Twenty-six of these 
systems are owned by local governmental units.  The one 
remaining system is run under a franchise agreement, with the 
franchiser being a local governmental unit.  The estimated 
annualized cost to all of the 27 affected Louisiana utilities is 
$4.074 million which includes treatment, start-up and on-going 
implementation, monitoring, operation and maintenance, and 
capital costs. 

 The estimated annualized cost to DHH-OPH is $224,000 
which includes start-up and monitoring costs, such as travel, 
supplies, communication, and postage, as well as additional 
review time required by staff to monitor the public water 
system=s compliance with the federally mandated rule.  In 
addition, DHH-OPH will have to pay a total of approximately 
$5,400 in FY2002-03 funds to the Office of the State Register 
to have the Notice of Intent and the final rule published in the 
Louisiana Register. 

No staffing costs to DHH-OPH are anticipated since 
existing staffing is currently sufficient to implement the rule as 
proposed (currently will affect 27 of the approximately 70 
surface water systems in the state).  However, within the next 
18-42 months, an additional federal mandate will require the 
OPH to adopt a similar rule applicable to approximately an 
additional 43 smaller surface water systems.  Additional staff 
may be required at that time to adequately implement the rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

State or local governmental units which own, manage, 
and/or operate a PWS using surface water or ground water 
under the direct influence of surface water (GWUDISW) as its 
source of water supply and serves at least 10,000 people may 
determine a need to increase their revenue collections (i.e.,  
increase water bills) to cover the cost of complying with this 
federally mandated rule; however, if such increases are 
warranted, they will be warranted regardless whether or not this 
equivalent state rule is adopted since such systems are already 
required (and will continue to be required) to comply under the 
existing federal IESWTR. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

EPA has estimated that 92 percent of the households will 
incur less than a cost of $1.00 per month and seven percent will 
face an increase in cost between $1.00 to $5.00 per month. The 
actual effect on revenue collections is hard to predict due to 
variables in the applicable requirements based upon various 
sized system. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will likely cause an increase in 
competition to hire and retain qualified and certified water 
plant operators.  The rule will require water plant operators to 
become more knowledgeable of plant processes and controls.  
The more competent and qualified an operator is, the higher 
will be the competition to hire and retain him/her.   

In addition, the proposed rule mandates more automation 
within the treatment plant.  This will cause an increase in 
employment to install and maintain such automated systems.
  

Madeline McAndrew H. Gordon Monk 
Assistant Secretary Staff Director 
0207#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Labor 
Office of Workforce Development  

Customized Training Fund 
(LAC 40:XVI.105) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:905 et 
seq. that the Louisiana Department of Labor, pursuant to 
authority vested in the Department by R.S. 23:1514 and in 
accordance with applicable provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, proposes to amend rules governing the 
workforce development training account, LAC 40:XVI.105, 
to provide for the requirements for approval of applications 
requesting funds in excess of 5 percent of the available funds 
during a fiscal year. 

Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
Part XVI.  Customized Training 

§105. Criteria 
A. - B. ... 
C.1. No single employer or consortium shall receive 

training funds more than once in a 24-month time period. No 
single employer or consortium shall receive more than 5 
percent of the total funds available to the program during a 
fiscal year. An employer with multiple operation sites and a 
single unemployment insurance tax identification number 
shall be limited to a single application which may 
encompass training at the various sites, as long as the 
amount awarded under the application does not exceed the 
maximum award amount. When an employer has more than 
one site and each site maintains a different unemployment 
insurance tax identification number, the employer may apply 
for a separate training award under each tax identification 
number. 

2. An employer or consortium can request a grant 
award in excess of 5 percent of the total funds available to 
the program in a fiscal year. Such grant award may be 
approved at the discretion of the Secretary of Labor when 
the employer or consortium submits satisfactory 
documentation which allows for a determination that the 
training provided to employees of the employer or 
consortium will result in a substantial economic impact in

the state. In addition, the employer or consortium's 
application must meet the following conditions. 

a. The wages of individuals to be trained with the 
funds will be increased at the completion of the training. 

b. The additional funds will used to allow for a 
significant increase in the number of individuals to be 
trained. 

c. The employer or consortium will provide a 
dollar-for-dollar match of the funds provided in the grant 
award to assist with the total cost of the training, any 
activities related to the grant award or any economic 
development activities that can be verified by statistical data 
from a recognized state or federal source. 

D. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1514. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 25:1143 (June 1999), 
amended by the Department of Labor, Office of Workforce 
Development, LR 26:1630 (August 2000), amended by the 
Department of Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 28: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. The 

proposed amendments to the Rules on the Workforce 
Development Training Fund/Customized Training Fund will 
have no effect on the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
The proposed amendments to the Rules on the Workforce 
Development Training Fund/Customized training Fund will 
have no effect on the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. The 
proposed amendments to the Rules on the Workforce 
Development Training Fund/Customized Training Fund will 
have no effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
The proposed amendments to the Rules on the Workforce 
Development Training Fund/Customized Training Fund may 
affect family earnings and the family budget of those 
individuals that participate in and are trained under the 
Incumbent Worker Training Program. These individuals 
should receive a skill upgrade and should receive an increase 
in position and/or pay after the completion of the customized 
training.  

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. The proposed amendments to the 
Rules on the Workforce Development Training 
Fund/Customized Training Fund will have no effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children.  

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
The proposed amendments to the Rules on the Workforce 
Development Training Fund/Customized Training Fund will 
have no effect on the ability of the family or a local 
government to perform any functions. 

 
Dawn Romero Watson 
Secretary of Labor 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Customized Training Fund 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Act 1053 of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session 
established the Workforce Development Training Account. 
During the 1999 Regular Legislative Session, the legislature 
increased the appropriation into this account to be used for 
customized training from $6,000,000 to $50,000,000. Although 
these Rules are not responsible for the additional expenditures, 
the proposed change should facilitate the operation of the 
program in an effective and efficient manner. In part, this Rule 
has been proposed to clarify when applications that seek 
approval of grant awards in excess of 5 percent of the total 
funds available to the program in a fiscal year will be approved 
by the Secretary of Labor. The Department of Labor estimates 
that there will be no additional administrative costs associated 
with the implementation of the proposed Rule amendment. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no direct effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. There could be an indirect 
positive impact if the program is successful. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the full $50,000,000, less 
administrative costs, will be distributed among eligible 
applicants which will include public and/or private training 
providers along with interested employers or consortiums of 
employers who have operated in the state for at least three 
years. The direct economic benefit will be those savings 
provided to the applicant through the state funded training 
program. Thus, an eligible applicant will be subsidized for a 
portion of the funding necessary to train its employees. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The Workforce Development Training Account should not 
significantly affect competition among those awarded grants 
for customized training, but will provide some incremental cost 
advantage to successful applicants compared to entities which 
do not receive the funding. Employees of organizations 
benefiting from the fund will receive industry standard training 
thereby allowing them to be more productive and efficient. 
Also, as incumbent workers are trained and promoted, 
employment opportunities for existing employees and potential 
employees will increase. 

 
Dawn Romero Watson Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary  General Government Section Director 
0207#066 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Definition of Tangible Personal Property 
(LAC 61:I.4301) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:301 and R.S. 47:1511 and 
in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to amend LAC 
61:I.4301 relative to the definition of tangible personal 
property  for sales tax purposes. 

These proposed amendments provide guidance regarding 
the definition of tangible personal property in R.S. 
47:301(16) and describe items included in and excluded 
from that definition. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 43. Sales and Use Tax 
§4301. Definitions 

A. - C. … 
* * * 

Tangible Personal PropertyC 
a. R.S. 47:301(16)(a) defines tangible personal 

property  as personal property that can be seen, weighed, 
measured, felt, touched, or is perceptible to the senses. The 
Louisiana Supreme Court has ruled that tangible personal 
property  is equivalent to corporeal movable property as 
defined in Article 471 of the Louisiana Civil Code. The 
Louisiana Civil Code describes corporeal movable property 
as things that physically exist and normally move or can be 
moved from one place to another. Examples of tangible 
personal property  include but are not limited to: 
 i. durable goods such as appliances, vehicles, and 
furniture; 
 ii. consumable goods such as food, cleaning 
supplies, and medicines; 
 iii. utilities such as electricity, water, and natural 
gas; and 
 iv. digital or electronic products such as "canned" 
computer software, electronic files, and "on demand" audio 
and video downloads. 

b. Prepaid telephone cards and authorization 
numbers (for state sales and use tax purposes) and work 
products consisting of the creation, modification, updating, 
or licensing of canned computer software are specifically 
defined as  tangible personal property by law.  

c. Repairs of machinery, appliances, and equipment 
that have been declared immovable under Article 467 of the 
Louisiana Civil Code and things that have been separated 
from land, buildings, or other constructions permanently 
attached to the ground or their component parts as defined 
by Article 466 of the Louisiana Civil Code are treated as 
taxable repairs of tangible personal property under R.S. 
47:301(14)(g). 
 i. Things are considered separated from an 
immovable when they are detached and repaired at a 
location off the customer's immediate property where the 
immovable is located or at the repair vendor's facility, even 
if that facility is on property owned, leased, or occupied by 
the customer. If the thing is detached from the immovable 
and repaired on the customer's immediate property, it is not 
considered separated from the immovable and the repair 
would not be subject to tax. 
 ii. The customer's immediate property is the tract 
of land that is owned, leased, or occupied by the customer 
where the immovable is located. 
 iii. Tracts of land owned, leased, or occupied by 
the customer that are separated only by a public road or 
right-of-way from the land where the immovable is located 
are also considered the customer's immediate property. 

d. Tangible personal property does not include: 
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 i. incorporeal property such as patents, 
copyrights, rights of inheritance, servitudes, and other legal 
rights or obligations; 
 ii. work products presented in a tangible form that 
have worth because of the technical or professional skills of 
the seller. Work products are considered non-taxable 
technical or professional services if the tangible personal 
property delivered to the client is insignificant in comparison 
to the services performed and there is a distinction between 
the value of the intangible content of the service and the 
tangible medium on which it is transferred. These do not 
include items that have intrinsic value, like works of art, 
photographs, or videos. Also, documents that are prepared or 
reproduced without modification for sale to multiple users 
are considered sales of tangible personal property. Examples 
of sales of technical or professional services that are 
transmitted to the customer in the form of tangible personal 
property include but are not limited to: 

(a). audience, opinion, or marketing surveys; 
(b). research or study group reports; 
(c). business plans; and 
(d). investment analysis statements. 

 iii. immovable property defined by the Louisiana 
Civil Code, which includes: 

(a). tracts of land (La. Civil Code Article 462); 
(b). component parts of a tract of land when they 

belong to the owner of the land (La. Civil Code Article 463); 
(c). buildings and standing timber even when 

owned by someone other than the owner of the land (La. 
Civil Code Article 464); 

(d). things, such as building materials, 
incorporated into a tract of land or incorporated into a 
building or other construction that belongs to the owner of 
the land and is an integral part of the immovable (La. Civil 
Code Article 465); 

(e). things permanently affixed to a building or 
other construction so that they cannot be removed without 
substantially damaging them or the immovable to which 
they are attached (La. Civil Code Article 466); and, 

(f). except when being repaired as defined by 
R.S. 47:301(14)(g), machinery, appliances, and, equipment 
that have been declared immovable by the owner in the 
parish conveyance records (La. Civil Code Article 467). 

e. For sales tax purposes, buildings are structures 
that are permanently affixed to the ground, not necessarily 
intended for habitation, and include, but are not limited to, 
office buildings, homes, apartments, stores, and permanent 
offshore drilling platforms. 

f. Constructions, other than buildings, permanently 
attached to the land are movables when they belong to 
someone other than the owner of the land. Examples of this 
include, but are not limited to, towers, signs, and fences. 
However, constructions other than buildings installed on 
land where the owner of the land provides a perpetual 
servitude (La. Civil Code Article 639) or right of way, such 
as transmission lines as defined by the Federal Energy 
Regulatory Commission or the Louisiana Public Service 
Commission (except for lines between a wellhead and a tank 
battery), are treated as immovable property for sales tax 
purposes. 

g. Items specifically excluded from the definition of 
tangible personal property include: 

 i. stocks, bonds, notes, or other obligations or 
securities; 
 ii. gold, silver, or numismatic coins of any value; 
 iii. platinum, gold, or silver bullion having a total 
value of $1,000 or more; 
 iv. proprietary geophysical survey information or 
geophysical data analysis furnished under a restrictive use 
agreement even if transferred in the form of tangible 
personal property; 
 v. parts and services used in the repairs of motor 
vehicles if all of the following conditions are met: 

(a). the repair is performed by a dealer licensed 
by the Louisiana Motor Vehicle Commission or the 
Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission; 

(b). the repair is performed subsequent to the 
lapse of an original warranty that was included in the taxable 
price of the vehicle by the manufacturer or the seller;  

(c). the repair is performed at no charge to the 
owner; and 

(d). the repair charge is not paid by an extended 
warranty plan that was purchased separately. 
 vi. pharmaceuticals administered to livestock used 
for agricultural purposes as defined by the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry under LAC 
7:XXIII.103; and 
 vii. work products of persons licensed under Title 
37 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes such as legal 
documents prepared by an attorney, financial statements 
prepared by an accountant, and drawings and plans prepared 
by an architect or engineer for a specific customer. When 
these items are reproduced without modification for sale to 
multiple users, they are considered tangible personal 
property  and subject to sales and use tax.  

h. Manufactured or mobile homes purchased in or 
delivered from another state to Louisiana after June 30, 
2001, are excluded from the definition of tangible personal 
property  for state sales and use taxes. Manufactured or 
mobile homes purchased in or delivered from another state 
to Louisiana after December 31, 2002, are excluded from the 
definition of tangible personal property for local sales and 
use taxes when the buyer certifies the manufactured or 
mobile home will be used as a residence. 
 i. For state sales taxes, the entire price paid for 
used manufactured or mobile homes and 54 percent of the 
price paid for new manufactured or mobile homes are 
excluded from the definition of tangible personal property 
and not subject to tax. 
 ii. For local sales taxes when the buyer certifies 
the manufactured or mobile home will be used as a 
residence: 

(a). after December 31, 2002, and before January 
1, 2004C25 percent of the price paid for used manufactured 
or mobile homes and 13 1/2 percent of the price paid for 
new manufactured or mobile homes are excluded from the 
definition of tangible personal property  and not subject to 
tax;  

(b). after December 31, 2003, and before January 
1, 2005C50 percent of the price paid for used manufactured 
or mobile homes and 27 percent of the price paid for new 
manufactured or mobile homes are excluded from the 
definition of tangible personal property  and not subject to 
tax;  
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(c). after December 31, 2004, and before January 
1, 2006C75 percent of the price paid for used manufactured 
or mobile homes and 40 1/2 percent of the price paid for 
new manufactured or mobile homes are excluded from the 
definition of tangible personal property  and not subject to 
tax; and 

(d). after December 31, 2005Cthe entire price 
paid for used manufactured or mobile homes and 54 percent 
of the price paid for new manufactured or mobile homes are 
excluded from the definition of tangible personal property 
and not subject to tax. 
 iii. Manufactured or mobile homes are structures 
that are transportable in one or more sections, built on a 
permanent chassis, designed to be used as a dwelling with or 
without a permanent foundation when connected to the 
required utilities, and include plumbing, heating, air-
conditioning, and electrical systems. The units must be either 
8 body feet or more in width or 40 body feet or more in 
length in the traveling mode, or at least 320 square feet when 
erected on site. These size requirements may be disregarded 
if the manufacturer voluntarily certifies to the distributor or 
dealer at the time of delivery that the structure conforms to 
all applicable federal construction and safety standards for 
manufactured homes. 
 iv. Manufactured or mobile homes do not include 
modular homes that are not built on a chassis, self-propelled 
recreational vehicles, or travel trailers. 

i. The sale or purchase of custom computer 
software on or after July 1, 2002, and before July 1, 2005, is 
partially excluded, and on or after July 1, 2005, completely 
excluded, from the definition of tangible personal property 
under R.S. 47:301(16)(h). This exclusion applies to state 
sales tax, the sales tax of political subdivisions whose 
boundaries are coterminous with the state, and the sales tax 
of political subdivisions whose boundaries are not 
coterminous with the state that exempt custom computer 
software by ordinance as authorized by R.S. 47:305.52. 
Custom computer software is software that is specifically 
written for a particular customer or that adapts prewritten or 
"canned" software to the needs of a particular customer.  
 i. Before July 1, 2002Cpurchases of prewritten 
or canned software that are incorporated into and resold as a 
component of custom computer software before July 1, 
2002, are considered purchases of tangible personal 
property  for resale. Use tax is not due on these purchases 
and any sales tax paid is eligible for tax credit against the tax 
collected on the retail sale of the custom software. 
 ii. Phase-In Period—the sales tax exclusion for 
custom computer software will be phased in at the rate of 25 
percent per year beginning on July 1, 2002. During the 
phase-in period, purchases of prewritten or canned software 
that are incorporated into and resold as a component of 
custom computer software will be considered a purchase for 
resale according to the applicable sales tax exclusion 
percentage in effect at the time of sale. The custom software 
vendor must pay sales tax on the purchase price of the 
canned software and may claim tax credit for the percentage 
that is resold as tangible personal property. If 75 percent of 
the sales price of the custom computer software is taxable, 
the vendor is allowed a tax credit for 75 percent of tax paid 
on the canned software purchase. Conversely, if sales tax 
was not paid by the custom software vendor on the purchase 

of canned software that is incorporated into custom software, 
use tax will be due on the percentage that is not considered 
to be a purchase for resale. The sales tax exclusion 
percentage will increase each year during the phase-in 
period and guidelines on the phase in of this exclusion will 
be published in a Revenue Ruling. 
 iii. July 1, 2005Cthe purchase of prewritten or 
canned software that is incorporated into and resold as a 
component of custom computer software sold on or after 
July 1, 2005, will be considered the purchase of tangible 
personal property for the personal use of the custom 
software vendor and subject to sales and use tax.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in Accordance with R.S. 

47:301 and R.S. 47:1511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Sales Tax Section, LR 13:107 (February 
1987), amended by the Department of Revenue and Taxation, Sales 
Tax Division, LR 21:957 (September 1995), LR 22:855 (September 
1996), amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services 
Division, LR 27:1703 (October 2001), LR 28:348 (February 2002), 
LR 28:1488 (June 2002), LR 28: 

Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legis lature the following Family Impact 
Statement is submitted to be published with the Notice of 
Intent in the Louisiana Register. A copy of this statement 
will also be provided to our legislative oversight committees. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of this proposed rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
rule will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 
in writing to Raymond E. Tangney, Senior Policy 
Consultant, Policy Services Division, P.O. Box 44098, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 219-2759. All 
comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, August 
27, 2002. A public hearing will be held on Thursday, August 
29, 2002, at 10 a.m. at the Department of Revenue 
Headquarters Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA. 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  Definition of Tangible Personal Property 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed regulation, which clarifies  
the definition of tangible personal property for sales tax 
purposes, will have no impact on state or local agencies' costs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of this proposed regulation. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed regulation would have no effect on the costs 
or economic benefits to vendors, manufacturers, or purchasers 
of tangible personal property in Louisiana. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed regulation should have no effect on 
competition or employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges H. Gordon Monk 
Secretary Staff Director 
0207#043 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Sales Tax on Property Used in Interstate Commerce 
(LAC 61:I.4420) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511 and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, proposes to adopt LAC 61:I.4420 relative 
to the sales tax exemption set forth in R.S. 47:305.50 for 
vehicles used in interstate commerce. 

This proposed Rule provides guidance on the length of 
time vehicles must be used in interstate commerce in order 
to qualify for the exemption. It also discusses the 
consequences if a taxpayer claims the exemption at the time 
of purchase and subsequently does not qualify for the 
exemption. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 44. Sales and Use Tax Exemptions 
§4420. Property Used in Interstate Commerce 

A. R.S. 47:305.50(A) allows certain taxpayers to register 
trucks with a gross weight of 26,000 pounds or more, trailers 
to be used with such trucks, and contract carrier buses with 
the Office of Motor Vehicles of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections (OMV) without paying state or local 
sales or use tax. To qualify for the exemption, the taxpayer 
must be authorized by the United States Department of 
Transportation to engage in interstate for-hire transportation 
of freight, and the taxpayer must certify to the OMV that the 
property will be used at least 80 percent of its total mileage 

in interstate commerce. The Department of Revenue and the 
OMV provide forms on which to make these certifications. 

B. Any taxpayer who claims the exemption provided for 
in R.S. 47:305.50(A) must maintain records of the use of the 
property in order to document that the property is used for at 
least 80 percent of its total mileage in interstate commerce. 

1. If the documentation indicates that the property was 
not used during the one-year period following the date of its 
purchase for the required 80 percent or more of its total 
mileage in interstate commerce, the taxpayer will not qualify 
for the exemption and state and local sales or use tax will be 
due on the amount paid for the property at the rate that was 
applicable on the date the property was purchased, plus 
interest from the date the property was purchased to the date 
of the tax payment. The state portion of the tax must be 
reported on a sales tax return provided by the Department of 
Revenue and paid to the Department of Revenue by the 
twentieth day of the month following the end of the one-year 
period in which the taxpayer fails to qualify for the 
exemption. The local portion of the tax must be reported and 
paid to the proper local taxing authority in accordance with 
their ordinances. 

2. If, during any of the following one-year periods, the 
documentation indicates that the property was not used for 
the required 80 percent or more of its total mileage in 
interstate commerce, the taxpayer will no longer qualify for 
the exemption. If this occurs, state and local sales or use tax 
will be due on the lesser of the purchase price or fair market 
value of the property on the first day of the one-year period 
that it does not meet the 80 percent test. The tax will be 
calculated based on the rate in effect on the first day of the 
one-year period in which the taxpayer no longer qualifies for 
the exemption, plus interest from the date the tax is due to 
the date of tax payment. The state portion of the tax must be 
reported on a sales tax return provided by the Department of 
Revenue and paid to the Department of Revenue by the 
twentieth day of the month following the end of the one-year 
period in which the taxpayer no longer qualifies for the 
exemption. The local portion of the tax must be reported and 
paid to the proper local taxing authority in accordance with 
their ordinances. 

C. If the taxpayer fails to provide proper documentation, 
it will be presumed that the taxpayer does not qualify for the 
exemption and state and local sales or use tax will be due in 
accordance with Subsection B above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:305.50 and R.S. 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 28: 

Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature the following Family Impact 
Statement is submitted to be published with the Notice of 
Intent in the Louisiana Register. A copy of this statement 
will also be provided to our legislative oversight committees. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family. 

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 
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3. The Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 
in writing to Raymond E. Tangney, Senior Policy 
Consultant, Policy Services Division, P.O. Box 44098, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 219-2759. All 
comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., Monday, August 
26, 2002. A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, 
August 28, 2002, at 10 a.m. at the Department of Revenue 
Headquarters Building, 617 North Third Street, Baton 
Rouge, LA. 

 
Raymond E. Tangney 
Senior Policy Consultant 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Sales Tax on Property Used in Interstate 

Commerce 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no impact 
on state or local governmental units' cost. This proposal is 
being adopted to provide guidance on the sales tax exemption 
provided by R.S. 47:305.50 regarding vehicles used in 
interstate commerce. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of this proposed regulation. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed regulation would have no costs or economic 
benefits to businesses that acquire trucks of 26,000 pounds or 
more, trailers, and contract carrier buses when at least 80 
percent of their usage occurs in interstate commerce. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed regulation should have no effect on 
competition or employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges H. Gordon Monk 
Secretary Staff Director 
0207#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Wrap-Around Child Care Program 
(LAC 67:III.Chapter 52) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family  
Support, proposes to repeal Title 67, Part III, Chapter 52, the 
Wrap-Around Child Care Program. 

The agency implemented this program effective June 1, 
2000. Whereas, the program has had limited participation 
and has not served the public as originally intended, the 
agency does not anticipate extending or renewing contracts 
beyond the 01/02 State Fiscal Year. The proposed repeal will 
formally terminate the program effective at publication of 
the final Rule. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Subpart 12.  Child Care Assistance 
Chapter 52. Wrap-Around Child Care Program 
§5201. Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:429 (March 
2001), repealed LR 28: 
§5202. Definitions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:429 (March 
2001), amended LR 27:1560 (September 2001), repealed LR 28: 
§5203. Conditions of Eligibility 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:429 (March 
2001), amended LR 27:1560 (September 2001), repealed LR 28: 
§5205. Income Limits 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:430 (March 
2001), amended LR 27:1560 (September 2001), repealed LR 28: 
§5207. Rights and Responsibilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:430 (March 
2001), repealed LR 28: 
§5209. Head Start Grantees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:430 (March 
2001), amended LR 27:1560 (September 2001), repealed LR 28:  
§5211. Payments Effective May 1, 2001  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:431 (March 
2001), amended LR 27:1561 (September 2001), repealed LR 28: 

Family Impact Statement 
The termination of the program will have no impact on the 

authority and rights of persons regarding the education and 
supervision of their children. (There were only about 100 
children participating in the program statewide.) 

Interested persons may submit written comments by 
August 28, 2002, to Ann S. Williamson, Assistant Secretary, 
Office of Family Support, P.O. Box 94065, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70804-9065. She is the responding authority to inquiries 
regarding this proposed Rule. 

A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 
August 28, 2002, at the Department of Social Services, A.Z. 
Young Building, Second Floor Auditorium, 755 Third Street, 
Baton Rouge, at 9 a.m. All interested persons will be 
afforded an opportunity to submit data, views, or arguments, 
orally or in writing, at said hearing. Individuals with 
disabilities who require special services should contact the 
Bureau of Appeals at least seven working days in advance of 
the hearing. For assistance, call (225) 342-4120 (Voice and 
TDD). 

 
Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  
RULE TITLE:  Wrap-Around Child Care Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Based on FY 01/02 spending, the proposed rule which 

terminates the Wrap-Around Child Care Program will result in 
real savings of an estimated $311,719 in TANF funds (the 
federal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Block Grant 
to Louisiana). The agency, as well as two of the three 
participating (Head Start Program) contractors, determined that 
the program was not cost effective. The original budget 
projection provided as much as $24 million for annual 
expenditures. 

The only implementation cost for this Rule is an estimated 
$160 for publishing the Noticeof Intent and final Rule; this cost 
is routinely included in OFS' annual budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no impact on revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units. The TANF Block Grant is not affected; 
funds will be diverted to other programs. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Some children will no longer receive child care services 
from this program. As of May 31, 2002, only about 25 children 
were being served statewide. Depending on personal 
circumstances, some families could be faced with paying child 
care costs. Only three Head Start programs had been serving as 
contractors in FY 01/02, so that these three have lost 

funding/income from the Wrap-Around Child Care Program 
estimated at $311,719 (based on the 01/02 fiscal year). 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is assumed that since only one contractor would have 
continued to participate beyond June 30 and that program 
served only six children, that no more than one child care 
employee may not have continued employment in that Head 
Start summer program. 

 
Ann S. Williamson Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Secretary General Government Section Director 
0207#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Wild Turkey Season 
(LAC 76:XIX.113, 115, and 117) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to amend the turkey rules and regulations 
for the 2003 season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§113. Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler, two gobblers per season. 
Still hunting only. Use of dogs, baiting, electronic calling 
devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys may be hunted 
with shotguns, including muzzleloading shotguns, using shot 
not larger than #2 lead or BB steel shot, and bow and arrow 
but by no other means. Shooting turkeys from a moving or 
stationary vehicle is prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding 
more than three shells prohibited. 

B. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. 

C. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, shucked 
or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other feed 
capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is directly or 
indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed or 
scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. 

D. Wildlife agents are authorized to close such baited 
areas and to place signs in the immediate vicinity 
designating closed zones and dates of closure. 

E. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries strongly 
discourages feeding agricultural grains to wild turkeys as 
this practice increases the risk of birds contracting 
potentially lethal diseases. Repeatedly placing grain in the 
same area may expose otherwise healthy birds to disease 
contaminated soils, grain containing lethal toxins and other 
diseased turkeys using the same feeding site. Properly 
distributed food plots (clovers, wheat, millet and chufa) are 
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far more desirable for turkeys and have the added benefit of 
appealing to a wide variety of wildlife. 

F. It is unlawful to take from the wild or possess in 
captivity any live wild turkeys or their eggs. No pen raised 
turkeys from within or without the state shall be liberated 
(released) within the state. 

G. All licensed turkey hunters are required to have a 
Turkey Stamp in their possession while turkey hunting in 
addition to basic and big game hunting licenses. 
Additionally, a WMA Hunting Permit is required of any 
person (age 18-59) who hunts on land administered by the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, including Wildlife 
Management Areas, Wildlife Refuges, and Habitat 
Conservation Areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28: 
§115. Statewide Turkey Hunting Areas-Resident Game 

Birds and Animals 
A. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to one-

half hour after sunset. 
 

Species Season 
Dates 

Daily Bag 
Limit 

Possession 
Limit 

Turkey See Schedule 1 2/season 

 
B. 2003 Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Season Dates 
A March 22-April 20 
B March 22-April 13 
C March 22-March 30 

 
C. 2003 Turkey Hunting SeasonCOpen Only in the 

Following Areas 
1. Area ACMarch 22-April 20 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. East Baton Rouge; 
 ii. East Feliciana; 
 iii. LaSalle; 
 iv. Livingston; 
 v. Natchitoches (Exception: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates);  
 vi. St. Helena; 
 vii. St. Tammany; 
 viii. Tangipahoa; 
 ix. Washington; 
 x. West Baton Rouge; 
 xi. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen: North of LA 26 from DeRidder to the 
junction of LA 104 and north of LA 104; 
 ii. Avoyelles: That portion bounded on the east by 
the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
levee southward; 
 iii. Beauregard: North of LA 26 east of DeRidder, 
north and east of US 171-190 from the junction of LA 26 to 

DeRidder, and north of US 190 from DeRidder to Texas 
state line; 
 iv. Caldwell: West of Ouachita River southward to 
Catahoula Parish line, east of LA 165 from LaSalle Parish 
line to the junction of LA 126, north of LA 126 westward to 
the Winn Parish line; 
 v. Catahoula: West of Ouachita River southward 
to LA 559 at Duty Ferry, north of LA 559 to LA 124, south 
and west of LA 124 from Duty Ferry to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg and north of LA 8 to LA 126, north and east of 
LA 126. ALSO that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. Concordia: That portion east of LA 15 and 
west of US 65 from its juncture with LA 15 at Clayton; 
 vii. Evangeline: North and west of LA 115, north 
of LA 106 from St. Landry to LA 13, west of LA 13 from 
Pine Prairie to Mamou and north of LA 104 west of Mamou; 
viii. Franklin: That portion lying east of LA 17 and east of 
LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 ix. Grant: All of the parish except that portion of 
land that lies north of the Red River between US 71 and LA 
8. Exception: See Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates; 
 x. Iberville: West of LA 1. EXCEPTION: see 
Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all state, federal 
and private lands within Sherburne boundaries; 
 xi. Madison: That portion lying west of US 65 and 
south of US 80; 
 xii. Pointe Coupee: All of the parish except that 
portion bounded on the north by LA Hwy. 1, from Innis to 
the junction of LA Hwy 417, on the west by LA Hwy. 417 
southward toward McCrea, on the south by LA Hwy. 417 
from McCrea to its junction with Delhi Lane, then by Delhi 
Lane to LA Hwy. 418, then LA Hwy. 418 northward to LA 
Hwy. 1 at Innis. EXCEPTION: see Sherburne WMA for 
special season dates on all state, federal and private lands 
within Sherburne boundaries. 
 xiii. Rapides: All of the parish except that portion of 
lands that lies north of the Red River and south of US 71 
from its juncture with the Red River northward to the Grant 
Parish line. Exception: See Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Kisatchie National Forest season dates; 
 xiv. Richland: That portion south of US 80 and east 
of LA 17; 
 xv. Sabine: That portion north of LA 6 from 
Toledo Bend Lake to Many; east of US 171 from Many to 
the Vernon Parish line; 
 xvi. St. Landry: That portion bounded on the west 
by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River. EXCEPTION: the Indian 
Bayou Area, see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for Indian 
Bayou Area dates; 
 xvii. Upper St. Martin : All within the Atchafalaya 
Basin. EXCEPTIONS: Sherburne WMA and Indian Bayou 
Area, see WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season 
dates on all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne 
WMA boundaries and see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Indian Bayou dates; 
 xviii. Tensas: That portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 
3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry. Also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River;  
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 xix. Vernon: That portion east of US 171 from the 
Sabine Parish line to the junction of LA 111, south of LA 
111 westward to LA 392, and south of LA 392 westward to 
the Sabine Parish line. Exception: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest season 
dates. 

2. Area BCMarch 22-April 13 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Bienville; 
 ii. Bossier; 
 iii. Claiborne; 
 iv. DeSoto; 
 v. Jackson; 
 vi. Lincoln; 
 vii. Red River; 
 viii. Union; 
 ix. Webster (Exception: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates);  
 x. Winn (Exception: See Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Allen:
South and west of LA 26 from DeRidder to US 190 east of 
Elton, north of US 190 from the junction of LA 26 to Kinder 
and west of US 165 south of Kinder;  
 ii. Beauregard: South of LA 26 east of DeRidder, 
east of US 171 from the junction of LA 26 and south of LA 
12 west of Ragley; 
 iii. Calcasieu: South of LA 12 east of DeQuincy, 
east of LA 27 from DeQuincy to I-10 and North of I-10 east 
of Sulphur; 
 iv. East Carroll: East of US 65 from Arkansas 
state line to Madison Parish line; 
 v. Jefferson Davis: North of US 190 from 
junction with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of 
I-10 west from junction of US 165; 
 vi. Ouachita: East of LA 143 from Union Parish 
line to US 80 in West Monroe, north of US 80 to LA 139, 
west of LA 139 to the Morehouse Parish line; 
 vii. Madison: South of US 80 and east of US 65 to 
Tensas Parish line and all lands lying east of the main 
channel of the Mississippi River;  
 viii. Morehouse: West of US 165 from the Arkansas 
line to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of LA 
830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to US 165, 
north of US 165 to LA 139, west of LA 139 to Ouachita 
Parish line. 

3. Area CCMarch 22-March 30 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Caddo. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension: All east of the Mississippi River; 
 ii. Catahoula: That portion lying south of Deer 
Creek to Boeuf River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to 
LA 8 at Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 
913 and LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 iii. Concordia: North and east of Sugar Mill Chute 
(Concordia Parish) from the state line westward to Red 
River, east of Red River northward to Cocodrie Bayou, east 
of Cocodrie Bayou northward to US 84, south of US 84 
eastward to LA 15 (Ferriday), east of LA 15 northward to 

US 65 (Clayton), east of US 65 northward to Tensas Parish 
line; 
 iv. Franklin: That portion lying west of LA 17, 
from Richland Parish line to LA 577 at Crowville, north of 
LA 577 to LA 15 at Baskin, east of LA 15 to Big Creek, and 
south and east of Big Creek to Richland Parish line; 
 v. Iberville: All east of the Mississippi River;  
 vi. Richland: West of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Rd., south of Ringle Rd. to Ferguson Rd., 
south of Ferguson Rd. to Little Rd., south of Little Rd. to 
Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
vii. Tensas: East and south of US 65 from Concordia Parish 
line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. Joseph, east and south 
of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28: 
§117. 2003 Wildlife Management Area 

TurkeyCHunting Regulations 
A. General 

1. The following rules and regulations concerning 
management, protection and harvest of wildlife have been 
officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject the individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

2. Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed are 
open to turkey hunting. 

3. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles cannot be left 
overnight on WMAs except in designated camping areas. 
ATVs are prohibited from two hours after sunset to 3 a.m. 
All roads including trails and roads designated as ATV only 
trails shall be closed to ATVs from March 1 through August 
31 unless otherwise specified. ATV off-road or off-trail 
travel is prohibited. Certain trails may be open during this 
time period to provide access for fishing or other purposes. 
These trails will be marked by signs at the entrance of the 
trail. Otherwise, only walk-in hunting is permitted (bicycles 
permitted). 

4. Bag limits on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey is allowed to be taken during special 
lottery hunts. 

B. Permits 
1. Self-Clearing Permits. All turkey hunts, including 

lottery hunts, are self-clearing. Hunters must check in daily 
by obtaining a permit from a self-clearing station prior to 
hunting. The self-clearing permit must be in the hunter=s 
possession while hunting. Upon completion of each days 
hunt, the hunter must check out by completing and 
depositing the hunter report portion of the permit in the 
check-out box at a self-clearing station before exiting the 
WMA. 

2. Lottery Hunts. Bayou Macon, Boise-Vernon, Loggy 
Bayou, Sabine, Sherburne, Sicily Island, Tunica Hills, Union 
and West Bay WMAs are restricted to those persons selected 
as a result of the pre-application lottery. Special youth only 
lottery hunts will be held on Big Lake, Bens Creek, Fort 
Polk, Jackson-Bienville, Loggy Bayou, Sherburne, and West 
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Bay WMAs. Deadline for receiving applications for all 
lottery hunts is February 14, 2003. An application fee of $5 
must be sent with each application. Applicants may submit 
only one application and will be selected for one WMA 
Turkey Lottery Hunt annually. Submitting more than one 
application will result in disqualification. Contact any 
district office for applications. Hunters must abide by self-
clearing permit requirements. Youths chosen for special 
youth only hunts will be guided by members of the 
Louisiana Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation. 
One family member may accompany the youth and guide, 
but may not hunt. 

C. Wildlife Management Area Turkey Hunting 
Schedule* 

 

WMA Season Dates Permit 
Requirements 

Lottery 
Dates**   

Bayou Macon April 5-6 Self-Clearing April 5-6  
Bens Creek1 March 22-April 13 Self-Clearing None 
Big Lake March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Bodcau March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 
Boeuf March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Boise Vernon March 22-23 

March 29-April 13 
Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Camp 
Beauregard 

March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 

Fort Polk  March 22-April 20 Self-Clearing None 
Grassy Lake March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 
Hutchinson 
Creek 

March 22-April 20  Self-Clearing None 

Jackson-
Bienville 

March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 

Little River March 22-April 6 Self-clearing None 
Loggy Bayou April 12-13 Self-Clearing April 12-13 
Pearl River March 22-April 13 Self-Clearing None 
Peason Ridge March 22-April 20  Self-Clearing None 
Plum Creek 
(formerly 
Georgia Pacific) 

March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 

Pomme de Terre March 22-April 6 Self-Clearing None 
Red River March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Sabine March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Sandy Hollow1 March 22-April 13 Self-Clearing None 
Sherburne2 March 22-30 Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 24-26 
Sicily Island March 22-30 Self-Clearing March 22-24 

March 25-27 
March 28-30 

Three Rivers March 22-30 Self-Clearing None 
Tunica Hills 
South Tract  

March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Self-Clearing March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Tunica Hills 
Angola Tract3 

March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Self-Clearing March 22-23 
March 29-30 
April 12-13 
April 19-20 

Union April 5-6 Self-Clearing April 5-6 
Walnut Hills March 22-April 20 Self-Clearing None 
West Bay March 22-23 

March 29-30 
Self-Clearing March 22-23 

March 29-30 
*Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed have a turkey 
hunting seaso n. All other areas are closed. 
**The deadline for receiving applications for all turkey 
Lottery Hunts on WMAs is February 14, 2003. 
1No turkey hunting within 100 yards of food plots identified 
by two yellow paint rings around the nearest tree. 
2All turkeys harvested on Sherburne WMA must be weighed 
and checked at WMA headquarters. 
3Scouting access limited. Contact Region 7 office for details 
(225) 765-2360. 

D. Wildlife Management Area Youth Hunts  
 

WMA Lottery Youth Hunt Date  
Bens Creek March 15 
Big Lake March 15 
Fort Polk  March 15 

Jackson-Bienville March 15 
Loggy Bayou April 5 

Sherburne March 15 
West Bay March 15 

 
E. Federal Lands Turkey Hunting Schedule 

1. Kisatchie National Forest (KNF) Turkey Hunting 
Schedule: Caney Ranger District, March 22-April 6; all 
remaining KNF lands, March 22-April 13 (including 
Catahoula and Red Dirt National Wildlife Management 
Preserves). 

2. Indian Bayou Area (U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers), Turkey Hunting Schedule: March 15 handicap 
only hunt, March 22-30, lottery hunt only on March 22-23 
and March 24-26. Contact USCOE at 337-585-0853 for 
further information. 

3. National Wildlife Refuges: Bogue Chitto NWR, 
March 22BApril 20; Lake Ophelia NWR, March 22-24 
(lottery only), March 29-31(lottery only), April 1-6; Tensas 
NWR, March 15-16 (youth lottery only), March 22BApril 6. 
Contact the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for information 
regarding NWR hunts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
25:2265 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2636 (November 
2000), LR 27:2272 (December 2001), LR 28: 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the fiscal and economic impact statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Interested persons may submit written comments relative 
to the proposed Rule to Mr. Tommy Prickett, Administrator, 
Wildlife Division, Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, 
Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000, until Thursday, 
September 5, 2002. 

In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972.B. 

 

Thomas M. Gattle, Jr. 
Chairman 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES  

RULE TITLE:  2003 Wild Turkey Season 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Establishment of hunting regulations is an annual process. 
The cost of implementing the proposed Rules to the state, aside 
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from staff time, is the production of the turkey regulation 
pamphlets and the issuance of turkey stamps. Implementation 
cost is estimated at $17,531. The state agency currently has 
sufficient funds to implement the proposed action. Local 
governmental units will incur no implementation costs or 
savings from the proposed Rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

License revenue from the sale of the turkey stamps is 
estimated to be $54,343. Failure to adopt this Rule would result 
in no turkey hunting season and loss of state revenues from the 
sale of turkey stamps. In addition, loss of tax revenues of an 
undeterminable amount may occur to both state and local 
governmental units from the sale of supplies and equipment 
used in the pursuit of turkeys. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Approximately 10,000 resident and non-resident sportsmen 
and an undeterminable amount of sporting good distributors, 
retail outlets and landowners are directly affected by this 
proposal. Turkey hunters in Louisiana generate income to retail 
outlets, landowners and commercial operations that cater to the 
hunting public through hunting leases and the sale of outdoor 

related equipment and associated items (food, fuel, clothing, 
shotgun shells, etc.). These land and business owners will be 
negatively impacted if turkey hunting seasons, rules and 
regulations are not established and promulgated. The actual 
amount of this impact is not estimable at this time. Both 
resident and non-resident turkey hunters will incur an 
additional cost of $5.50 and $20.50, respectively from the 
required purchase of a Wild Turkey Stamp. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Hunting supports approximately 15,271 full and part-time 
jobs in Louisiana of which a proportion is directly related to 
turkey hunting. Failure to establish turkey hunting seasons may 
have a negative impact on some of these jobs. It is also 
anticipated that there will be little or no effect on competition 
in both the public and private sectors resulting from the 
proposed action. 

 
James L. Patton Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary General Government Section Director 
0207#067 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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