
Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Ultra Low-Volume Pesticides (LAC 7:XXIII.145) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 3:3203, the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Forestry declares an emergency to exist and adopts by 
emergency process the attached Rules and regulations for the 
application of an ultra low-volume insecticide to be applied 
to cotton fields infested with boll weevils. 

The applications of insecticides in accordance with the 
current concentration regulations have not been sufficient to 
control or plant bugs. Failure to allow the concentrations in 
ultra low-volume (ULV) malathion applications will allow 
the plant bugs the opportunity to destroy the cotton during 
the growing season, effectively destroying the cotton crop. 
The destruction of the cotton crop or a substantial portion of 
the cotton crop will cause irreparable harm to the economy 
of northern Louisiana and to Louisiana agricultural 
producers thereby creating an imminent peril to the health 
and safety of Louisiana citizens. 

This Emergency Rule become effective upon the 
signature, July 15, 2003, of the commissioner and shall 
remain in effect for 63 days. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIII.  Pesticides 
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides 
Subchapter I. Regulations Governing Application of 

Pesticides 
§145. Fixed Wing Aircraft; Standards for Commercial 

Aerial Pesticide Applications 
A. - A.5.b.xxxvi.  … 

c. malathion insecticide applied with the following 
conditions to control plant bugs in cotton: 
 i. the Commissioner hereby declares that prior to 
making any aerial application of ULV malathion to cotton, 
the aerial owner/operator must first register such intent by 
notifying the Division of Pesticides and Environmental 
Programs (DPEP) in writing. Upon notification, LDAF shall 
inspect the aircraft prior to any ULV applications; 
 ii. spray shall be applied, handled, and stored in 
accordance with all conditions specified by state or federal 
regulations, including the strict observance of any buffer 
zones that may be implied; 
 iii. aerial applicators shall strictly comply with any 
and all restrictions or mitigating factors, in regard to 
sensitive areas, including occupied buildings (churches, 
schools, hospitals, and homes), lakes, reservoirs, farm ponds, 
parks, and recreation areas that may be identified by 
commissioner, and such restriction and mitigation are to be 
strictly complied with and observed by said aerial 
applicators; 

 iv. aerial applicators will adjust flight patterns, to 
the degree possible, to avoid or minimize flying over 
sensitive areas. This restriction does not apply to over flight 
between take-off and the commencement of spray 
operations, or over flight between termination of spray 
operations and landing; 
 v. aerial applicators shall be alert to all conditions 
that could cause spray deposit outside field boundaries and 
use their good faith efforts, including adjustment or 
termination of operations, to avoid spray deposit outside 
field boundaries; 
 vi. aerial spraying shall not be conducted when 
wind velocity exceeds 10 mph; 
 vii. aerial applicators will terminate application if 
rainfall is imminent; 
 viii. insecticide spray will not be applied in fields 
where people or animals are present. It is the applicator's 
responsibility to determine if people are present prior to 
initiating treatment; 
 ix. spraying shall not be conducted in fields where 
other aircraft are working; 
 x. all mixing, loading, and unloading will be in an 
area where an accidental spill can be contained and will not 
contaminate a stream or other body of water; 
 xi. all aerial applications of insecticide shall be at 
an altitude not to exceed 5 feet above the cotton canopy. 
However, in fields that are not near sensitive areas, if infield 
obstructions make the 5-foot aerial application height not 
feasible, then the aerial height may be extended to such 
height above the cotton canopy as is necessary to clear the 
obstruction safely; 
 xii. the aircraft tank and dispersal system must be 
completely drained and cleaned before loading. All hoses 
shall be in good condition and shall be of a  
chemical- resistant type; 
 xiii. insecticide tank(s) shall be leak-proof and 
spray booms of corrosion-resistant materials, such as 
stainless steel, aluminum, or fiberglass. Sealants will be 
tested before use; 
 xiv. the tank(s) in each aircraft shall be installed so 
the tank(s) will empty in flight. Sight gauges or other means 
shall be provided to determine the quantity contained in each 
tank before reloading; 
 xv. a drain valve shall be provided at the lowest 
point of the spray system to facilitate the complete draining 
of the tanks and system while the aircraft is parked so any 
unused insecticide can be recovered; 
 xvi. a pump that will provide the required flow rate 
at not less than 40 pounds per square inch (psi) during 
spraying operation to assure uniform flow and proper 
functioning of the nozzles. Gear, centrifugal or other rotary 
types, will be acceptable on aircraft with a working speed 
above 150 miles per hour; 
 xvii. ULV spraying systems with a pumping 
capacity that exceeds the discharge calibration rate shall 
have the bypass flow return to the tank bottom in a manner
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that prevents aeration and/or foaming of the spray 
formulation. Pumps utilizing hydraulic drive or other 
variable speed drives are not required to have this bypass, 
provided the pump speed is set to provide only the required 
pressure and the system 3-way valve is used for on/off 
control at full throw position. Any bypass normally used to 
circulate materials other than the ULV will be closed for 
ULV spraying; 
 xviii. spray booms will be equipped with the quantity 
and type of spray nozzles specified by the Boll Weevil 
Eradication Program. The outermost nozzles (left and right 
sides) shall be equal distance from the aircraft centerline and 
the distance between the two must not exceed 3/4 of the 
overall wing span measurement. For helicopters, the 
outermost nozzles must not exceed three-fourths of the rotor 
span. For both fixed wing and helicopters, the program will 
accept the outermost nozzles between 60 percent and 75 
percent of the wingspan/rotor span. Longer spray booms are 
acceptable provided modifications are made to prevent the 
entrapment of air in the portion beyond the outermost 
nozzle. Fixed wing aircraft not equipped with a drop type 
spray boom may require drop nozzles in the center section 
that will position the spray tips into smother air to deliver the 
desired droplet size and prevent spray from contacting the 
tail wheel assembly and horizontal stabilizer. Most 
helicopters will be required to position the center nozzles 
behind the fuselage and dropped into smooth air in order to 
achieve the desired droplet size; 
 xix. nozzles, diaphragms, gaskets, etc. will be 
inspected regularly and replaced when there is evidence of 
wear, swelling, or other distortion in order to assure 
optimum pesticide flow and droplet size. Increasing pressure 
to compensate for restricted flow is unacceptable. A positive 
on/off system that will prevent dribble from the nozzles is 
required; 
 xx. a positive emergency shut-off valve between 
the tank and the pump, as close to the tank as possible. This 
valve shall be controllable from the cockpit and 
supplemented by check valves and flight crew training 
which will minimize inadvertent loss of insecticide due to 
broken lines or other spray system malfunction; 
 xxi. bleed lines in any point that may trap air on the 
pressure side of the spraying system; 
 xxii. an operational pressure gauge with a minimum 
operating range of 0 to 60 psi and a maximum of 0 to 100 
psi visible to the pilot for monitoring boom pressure; 
 xxiii. a 50-mesh in-line screen between the pump and 
the boom and nozzle screens as specified by the nozzle 
manufacturer; 
 xxiv. aircraft equipped so nozzle direction can be 
changed from 45 degrees down and back to straight back 
when it is necessary to change droplet size; 
 xxv. all nozzles not in use must be removed and the 
openings plugged; 
 xxvi. nozzle tips for all insecticides shall be made of 
stainless steel; 
 xxvii. aircraft shall have an operational Differentially 
Corrected Global Positioning System (DGPS) and flight data 
logging software that will log and display the date and time 
of the entire flight from take-off to landing and differentiate 
between spray-on and spray-off; 

 xxviii. aircraft shall have a DGPS with software 
designed for parallel offset in increments equal to the 
assigned swath width of the application aircraft. Fixed 
towers, portable stations, satellite, Coast Guard, or other 
acceptable methods may provide differential correction. 
However, the differential signal must cover the entire project 
area. In fringe areas from the generated signal, an approved 
repeater may be used. The system shall be sufficiently 
sensitive to provide immediate deviation indications and 
sufficiently accurate to keep the aircraft on the desired flight 
path with an error no greater than 3 feet. Systems that do not 
provide course deviation updates at 1-second intervals or 
less will not be accepted; 
 xxix. a course deviation indicator (CDI) or a course 
deviation light bar (also CDI) must be installed on the 
aircraft and in a location that will allow the pilot to view the 
indicator with direct or peripheral vision without looking 
down. The CDI must be capable of pilot selected 
adjustments for course deviation indication with the first 
indication at 3 feet or less; 
 xxx. the DGPS must display to the pilot a warning 
when differential correction is lost, the current swath 
number, and cross-track error. The swath advance may be set 
manually or automatically. If automatic is selected, the pilot 
must be able to override the advance mode to allow 
respraying of single or multiple swaths; 
 xxxi. the DGPS must be equipped with a software 
for flight data logging that has a system memory capable of 
storing a minimum of 3 hours of continuous flight log data 
with the logging rate set at 1-second intervals. The DGPS 
shall automatically select and log spray on/off at 1-second 
intervals while ferry and turnaround time can be 2-second 
intervals. The full logging record will include position, time, 
date, altitude, speed in mph, cross-track error, spray on/off, 
aircraft number, pilot, job name or number, and differential 
correction status. The flight data log software shall be 
compatible with DOS compatible PC computers, dot matrix, 
laser, or ink jet printers and plotters. The system must 
compensate for the lag in logging spray on/off. The system 
will display spray on/off at the field boundary without a 
sawtooth effect. Must be capable to end log files, rename, 
and start a new log in flight; 
 xxxii. the software must generate the map of the 
entire flight within a reasonable time. Systems that require 5 
minutes or more to generate the map for a 3-hour flight on a 
PC (minimum a 386 microprocessor with 4 MB of memory) 
will not be accepted. The flight path must clearly 
differentiate between spray on and off when viewed on the 
monitor or the printed hard copy. The software must be 
capable of replaying the entire flight in slow motion; 
stopping and restarting the replay at any point during the 
flight; zooming to any portion of the flight for viewing in 
greater detail and printing the entire flight or the zoomed-in 
portion. It must have a measure feature that will measure 
distance in feet between swaths or any portion of the screen 
and to be able to determine the exact latitude/longitude at 
any point on the monitor; 
 xxxiii. flight information software provided by the 
applicator must have the capability to interface with 
Maplnfo (version 3.0 or 4.0). The interface process must be 
"user friendly", as personnel will be responsible to operate 
the system in order to access the information; 
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 xxxiv. application of ULV malathion shall be at an 
application rate of 12 oz. per acre with no dilutions or tank 
mixes; 
 xxxv. applications of ULV malathion shall not be 
made prior to sunrise on July 15, 2003 and shall not be made 
after sunset on September 15, 2003; 
 xxxvi. applications of ULV malathion shall be 
restricted to 7-day intervals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3203. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), amended LR 21:927 
(September 1995), LR 26:1964 (September 2000). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0308#001 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Tree Seedling Prices (LAC 7:XXXIX.301) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 3:4303, the Commissioner of Agriculture 
and Forestry declares an emergency to exist and adopts by 
emergency process the attached Rules and regulations 
regarding tree seedling prices.  

An emergency has developed because of the timing 
factors related to the seasonal nature of forest tree seedling 
production and sales. This action is proposed to cover the 
increased costs of nursery production and keep the agency 
nursery operations with in budget constraints. Costs for 
labor, fertilizers, chemicals, forest seed and equipment 
continue to increase and those additional costs must be 
covered by the sales prices of the seedlings produced. 
Nursery operations are funded entirely through an ancillary 
budget that is generated entirely by the sale of forest 
seedlings. The increase is necessary because this operation 
cannot operate in a deficit budget situation. The seedling 
crop for this year has already been sowed and is growing 
with extensive costs related to survival and quality control 
already invested. It is not possible for other nursery 
operations to increase their production at this point to 
compensate for a drop in production by LDAF nurseries. 
LDAF nurseries are a critically important and cost-effective 
operation that meets the needs of landowners for the benefit 
of the entire economy and environment in Louisiana. Every 
effort is made to keep costs as low as possible for 
landowners. Rate increases are carefully reviewed and 
justified, but in this case the timing of information related to 
those costs necessitated the adoption of an Emergency Rule 
to bring revenue as close as possible to production costs. 
These rate increases are necessary to insure continued 
production on a fiscally sound basis as required.  

Advance seedling sales begin on August 1 of each year to 
allow landowners to plan for the reforestation activities. It is 
imperative that these rates are officially adopted prior to that 
date. 

These rules become effective upon signature, July 29, 
2003, and will remain in effect for 120 days. 

These Rules comply with and are enabled by R.S. 3:4303. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXXIX.  Forestry 

Chapter 3. Tree Seedlings 
§301. Seedling Prices 

A. The Louisiana Forestry Commission adopts the 
following prices for forest tree seedlings: 

1. improved pine seedlingsC$35 per 1000 seedlings; 
2. advanced generation seedlingsC$42 per 1000 

seedlings; 
3. special pine seedlingsC$75 per 1000 seedlings; 
4. hardwood seedlingsC$200 per 1000 seedlings; 
5. baldcypress seedlingsC$200 per 1000 seedlings. 

B.1. Volume discounts for bulk loblolly/slash pine 
seedling orders and contracts shall be as follows. 

 

Order/Sales Volume 
(Number of seedlings) 

Proposed Discounted  
Sales 

(M = 1,000 seedlings) 
- 1,000,000 $35.00/M  

1,000,001 – 2,000,000 $34.00/M 
2,000,001 – 3,000,000 $33.00/M 
3,000,001 – 4,000,000 $32.00/M 
4,000,001 – 5,000,000 $31.00/M 
5,000,001 – 6,000,000 $30.00.M 

6,000,001 + $29.00/M 

 
2. The Office of Forestry seed costs shall be deducted 

from these prices when seedlings are produced from seed 
supplied by the customers. 

3. When there is a surplus of seedlings above planned 
or expected sales, a more accelerated rate of price reductions 
will be considered, subject to the approval of the State 
Forester and/or the Commissioner of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

4. This accelerated rate of discount will be applied no 
earlier than 30 days prior to the anticipated end of the annual 
lifting season. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:1503, redesignated R.S. 3:4303. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Forestry, Forestry Commission, LR 
8:285 (June 1982), amended LR 10:468 (June 1984), amended by 
the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Forestry, and the Louisiana Forestry Commission, LR 13:432 
(August 1987), LR 19:610 (May 1993), LR 21:671 (July 1995), LR 
22:1210 (December 1996), LR 26:2437 (November 2000), LR 29: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0308#005 
 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 08   August 20, 2003 1417



DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Louisiana Project Equity Fund 
(LAC 13:III.Chapter 15) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Business Resources Division, 
pursuant to the Emergency provision of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), adopts the following Rules 
for the project Equity Fund program, as authorized by R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). These 
Emergency Rules are adopted on July 15, 2003 in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., shall become effective July 15, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Act or until adoption of a permanent Rule, whichever 
occurs first. 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Business Resources Division has 
found an immediate need to provide loan funding to 
companies on a project basis for the purchase of capital 
equipment, and accompanying necessary inventory and/or 
technology that introduce innovative development or 
production of products in Louisiana and that serve to 
enhance industry clusters. These Emergency Rules are being 
adopted in response to a market failure for businesses that 
have opportunities to perform on contracts with Louisiana 
companies but cannot receive favorable terms from the 
private sector financial institutions. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part III.  Financial Assistance Programs 
Chapter 15. Louisiana Project Equity Fund 
§1501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this program is to promote and 
enhance Louisiana Department of Economic Development's 
cluster development, the goals of Vision 20/20, Louisiana's 
long-term plan for economic development, and related 
public policy for the introduction, growth and retention of 
Louisiana businesses by providing loan funding for defined 
business projects. The Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation (LEDC) in accordance with R.S. 51:2301 et seq. 
and R.S. 51:2341 and these Rules may provide loan funding 
to companies on a project basis for the purchase of capital 
equipment, and accompanying necessary inventory and/or 
technology that introduce innovative development or 
production of products in Louisiana and that serve to 
enhance industry clusters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1503. Definitions 

Applicant—the public entity requesting the loan funding 
from the Louisiana Project Equity Fund for equipment and 
other materials to be owned by the public entity during the 
pendency of the loan and to be utilized by the company for 
the project. 

Award—the funding of the loan from the LEDC under this 
program to eligible applicants. 

Company—a legal entity that is duly authorized to do and 
doing business in Louisiana in need of loan funding for a 
project pursuant to these Rules. 

LED—the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development charged by statute with administering the 
Project Equity Fund and the LED Cluster Directors and 
assigned staff shall administer the fund provided for by these 
Rules. 

LEDC Board—the Board of Directors of the Louisiana 
Economic Development Corporation and when referred to 
herein in terms of approval of an award, shall mean that the 
award has been approved in accordance with the by-laws 
and procedures of the Board of Directors whether such 
approval requires or does not require board approval under 
those by-laws and procedures. 

Loan Agreement—the loan agreement of contract 
hereinafter referred to between DED, LEDC, company and 
applicant through which the parties by cooperative endeavor 
or otherwise, including attached or referenced promissory 
notes, securitization, lease or other appropriate 
documentation necessary to conventionally protect the 
interest of the LEDC in the funding of the loan, set forth the 
terms, conditions and performance objectives of the award 
provided pursuant to these Rules. 

Project—the undertaking of the applicant and company 
for which a loan pursuant to these Project Equity Fund Rules 
are sought and includes introduction of innovative 
development or production of products to the state of 
Louisiana that furthers and promotes the development of 
cluster industries and businesses through the loan funding of 
capital equipment, accompanying necessary inventory 
and/or technology that causes and/or enhances the operation 
of such equipment and results in increased economy and 
efficiency in Louisiana products. 

Secretary—the Secretary of the LED, who is also the 
President of LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1505. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the Louisiana Project Equity Fund. 

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for 
companies locating or located in Louisiana and are subject to 
the discretion of the LED, the Secretary of the LED and the 
LEDC. 

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a 
significant factor in improving or enhancing economic 
development, including cluster development, whether in a 
particular circumstance, or overall. 

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result 
in the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local 
communities. 

4. Awards that promote retention and strengthening of 
cluster development of existing businesses will be evaluated 
using the same procedures and with the same priority as the 
recruitment of new businesses to the state. 

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will 
be considered in making the award. 
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6. Whether or not an award will be made is entirely at 
the discretion of the LED, its cluster directors, the secretary 
and the LEDC board and shall depend upon the facts and 
circumstances of each case, funds available, funds already 
allocated, and other such factors as the board may, in its 
discretion deem to be pertinent. The grant or rejection of an 
application for an award shall not establish any precedent 
and shall not bind the LED, its cluster directors, the 
secretary, or the LEDC board to any future course of action 
with respect to any application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1507. Eligibility 

A. In order to be eligible for a Project Equity Funding 
Award pursuant to this program, the applicant and company 
must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that the 
award sought must be consistent with the principles set forth 
above, and the applicant and company must demonstrate a 
need for the project funding consistent with the requirements 
set forth below. Where it is represented that certain 
contingent actions will be taken in order to comply with 
these conditions, then the LEDC may, upon recommendation 
of the LED and its contract monitor, withhold funding until 
there is substantial performance of the contingencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1509. Application for Project Funding 

A. The applicant and the company must jointly submit an 
application to the LED through its assigned staff and cluster 
director(s) responsible for the business area that will be 
subject to the project for which the lending is being sought, 
in proposal form which shall contain the following 
information: 

1. a business plan providing a detailed description of 
the project to be undertaken, particularly: 

a. the project manufacturing materials and 
equipment, and/or technology for which the funding is 
sought and the economic scope of the investment involved in 
the project; 

b. cash flow analysis of the project providing 
detailed support for the use of the funding provided; 

c. the nature of the treatment of the funding in the 
business plan and cash flow analysis for the project, 
including a payment schedule for the loan that is consistent 
with the revenues generated by the innovative manufacturing 
or technology that is funded for the project; 

2. a description of: 
a. the project, the capital equipment, accompanying 

necessary inventory and/or technology that causes and/or 
enhances the operation of the equipment; 

b. the product being produced in the State of 
Louisiana as a result of the project; 

c. the innovative, efficient and/or economical nature 
(to Louisiana) of the process of production that will result 
from the project; 

d. a description as to how the project furthers and 
promotes the development of cluster industries and 

businesses and will enhance the economic viability of the 
state and region of the state in which the project is located; 

3. a description of the applicant local government 
entity and the company and the nature of the ownership by 
the applicant and agreed to by the company, including a 
schedule for the transfer of ownership from the applicant to 
the company upon fulfillment of the repayment obligations 
of the company to the LEDC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 
§1511. Loan Funding 

A. All funding applications must be considered by the 
board after review by the assigned staff and upon 
recommendation of the relevant cluster director and the 
secretary. Thereafter, the LEDC board upon such review as 
may be necessary to make the determination as to the 
application in accordance with these Rules shall either 
approve or disapprove the application. Upon approval by the 
LEDC board: 

1. the loan shall be funded pursuant to the loan 
agreement; 

2. the credit provided shall be drawn down in 
accordance with the schedule provided as approved by the 
cluster director, secretary and LEDC and incorporated into 
the loan agreement; 

3. the loan agreement shall include appropriate 
enforceable provisions for the monitoring of the contract; 

4. the loan agreement shall include such conventional 
provisions as may be appropriate to protect and secure the 
Loan funding provided by the LEDC board pursuant to these 
Rules; 

5. the cluster director making the recommendation for 
the loan funding shall be designated by the LEDC as the 
contract monitor for the loan agreement, and the contract 
monitor shall, on a semi-annual basis, report to the LEDC 
board on the status and progress of the project. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2312(B) and (D)(1) and R.S. 51:2341(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29: 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0308#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs 
(LAC 28:IV.301, 507, 509, 701, 703, 705, 803,  
805, 1701, 1703, 1705, 1903, 2103, and 2105) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), to amend the 
Rules of the Scholarship/Grant programs (R.S. 17:3021-
3026, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 
17:3048.1). 
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This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating Rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that this 
Emergency Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This declaration of emergency is effective July 17, 2003, 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

A. Where the masculine is used, in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Award AmountCan amount equal to Tuition at the 

school attended, for those students attending a Louisiana 
public college or university, as determined by the 
Commission, which may be used by the student to pay any 
educational expense included in that student's "Cost of 
Attendance." The amount paid for TOPS and TOPS-Tech 
Awards shall be as follows. 

a. - f.  ... 
g. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance, and Honors Award enrolled in a Louisiana 
professional school, the amount shall be equal to the tuition 
charged or the tuition charged a student pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school, 
whichever is less or the Weighted Average Award Amount, 
depending upon whether the Louisiana professional school is 
a public or private school. 

h. For students with the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance and Honors Award enrolled in a Louisiana 
graduate degree program, the amount shall be equal to the 
tuition or the tuition charged for a student while pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school in the 
state, whichever is less. 

* * * 
Court Ordered CustodianCan adult appointed by a court 

of competent jurisdiction to have custody and care of a 
minor, and who demonstrates the requirement to provide the 
primary support for such minor. 

* * * 
Dependent StudentCa student who is dependent on his 

parents for support and therefore is required to include 
parental information on the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA. 

* * * 
Eligible NoncitizenCan individual who can provide 

documentation from the Bureau of Citizenship and 
Immigration Services (BCIS) that he is in the U.S. for other 
than a temporary purpose with the intention of becoming a 
citizen or permanent resident, including, but not limited to, 
refugees, persons granted asylum, Cuban-Haitian entrants, 
temporary residents under the recent Immigration Reform 

and Control Act of 1986, and others. A permanent resident of 
the United States must provide documentation from the 
BCIS to verify permanent residency. For 1997, 1998 and 
1999 high school graduates, an Eligible Noncitizen shall be 
treated as meeting the citizenship requirements for an award 
under this Part.  

Full-Time StudentC 
a. - d. ... 
e. a student enrolled in two or more institutions of 

higher education when such multiple enrollment is necessary 
for the student to gain access to the courses required for 
completion of the degree in the chosen discipline and where 
the total number of hours earned at all institutions during the 
academic year is the equivalent of carrying a full-time 
academic workload as determined by the institution which 
will award the degree; 

f. correspondence courses may not be used to 
establish full time status; 

g. ... 
Honors Curriculum CoursesCany course designated by 

the respective school district as advanced placement, honors 
or gifted. 

* * * 
Louisiana ResidentC 

a. any independent student or any dependent 
student with at least one parent or court ordered custodian 
who has resided in the state for a minimum of 24 
consecutive months immediately preceding the month of 
high school graduation or the month of May in the Academic 
Year (High School) that a student completes a home study 
program or some other period of residency which is required 
to qualify the person for a specific program administered by 
the LASFAC. To qualify for a program under Part IV of 
these rules, in addition to the certification of residency found 
on the application form, the administering agency may 
require an independent student applicant or the parent(s) or 
Court Ordered Custodian of a dependent student applicant to 
show proof of residency. Residency may be established by 
completion of a standard affidavit developed by the 
administering agency. Such affidavits must be completed in 
their entirety by the independent student applicant or by at 
least one parent or Court Ordered Custodian of the 
dependent student applicant and be sworn to and notarized 
by a licensed notary public. Further, the affiant shall be 
required to submit records in support of the affidavit to 
include the following records and such other records as may 
be required by the administering agency: 
 i. if registered to vote, a Louisiana voters 
registration card; and 
 ii. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, a Louisiana 
driver's license; and 
 iii. if owning a motor vehicle located in Louisiana, 
a Louisiana registration for that vehicle; and 
 iv. if earning a reportable income, a Louisiana tax 
return. 

b. any member of the Armed Forces on active duty 
whose official state of legal residence is Louisiana as 
demonstrated by the member's DD Form 2058 validated by 
the member's military personnel officer or other 
documentary proof and who has filed a Louisiana tax return 
for the most recent two years in compliance with Clause a.iv, 
above; 
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c. any member of the Armed Forces who is 
stationed in Louisiana under permanent change of station 
orders and who, not later than 180 days after reporting to 
such station, changes his military DD Form 2058 to reflect 
Louisiana as his state of legal residence, and complies with 
all Louisiana income tax laws and regulations while 
stationed in Louisiana. A copy of the Permanent Change of 
Station (PCS) Orders and a DD Form 2058 validated by the 
member's military personnel officer and showing Louisiana 
as the member's state of legal residence must be submitted to 
the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance 
(LOSFA) at the time the service member's dependent applies 
for TOPS. The DD Form 2058 must reflect that it was filed 
within 180 days after the member reported to duty at a duty 
station in Louisiana; 

d. - d.iii. ... 
e. effective for high school graduates beginning 

with Academic Year (High School) 2002-2003, any 
independent or dependent student who actually resides in 
Louisiana during his last two full years of high school. In 
order to qualify pursuant to this subsection, the student's 
high school transcript must reflect that the student earned 
credit for the last four semesters of high school immediately 
prior to graduation and graduated from an approved 
Louisiana high school; 

f. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with Academic Year (High School) 2000-2001, any 
dependent student who actually resided in Louisiana during 
his last two full years of high school and whose parent is a 
member of the United States Armed Forces living in 
Louisiana under permanent change of station orders, but 
who does not claim Louisiana as his official state of legal 
residence. In order to qualify pursuant to this subsection, the 
student's high school transcript must reflect that the student 
earned credit for the last four semesters of high school 
immediately prior to graduation and graduated from an 
approved Louisiana high school; 

g. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with Academic Year (High School) 2001-2002, any 
dependent student who was continuously enrolled in a 
Louisiana public high school or nonpublic high school that is 
approved by BESE during his last two full years of high 
school whose parent or court ordered custodian: 
 i. is a resident of a state that adjoins Louisiana; 
and 
 ii. actually resides in a municipality having 
geographical boundaries that include a portion of Louisiana; 
and  
 iii. has filed a Louisiana state income tax return 
and has complied with state income tax laws and 
regulations; or 
 iv. is assessed ad valorem taxes on property 
owned in Louisiana. 

In order to qualify pursuant to this subsection, the student's 
high school transcript must reflect that the student earned 
credit for the last four semesters of high school immediately 
prior to graduation and graduated from an approved Louisiana 
high school. 

* * * 
OrphanCa person who does not live with either parent 

because the parent(s) is/are dead or has/have abandoned him 
or the parental rights of the parent(s) has/have been severed 
by competent authority. 

* * * 
Returning StudentCa student who graduated from high 

school beginning with Academic Year (High School) 2001-
2002, met all the requirements for a TOPS Award and was 
notified of his TOPS eligibility by LOSFA, but who enrolled 
for the first time as a full time student no later than the 
deadline established in §703.A.4 in an out-of-state 
postsecondary institution accredited by a regional 
accrediting organization recognized by the United States 
Department of Education and thereafter returns to Louisiana 
and enrolls as a full time student in an Eligible College or 
University. 

* * * 
TOPS Cumulative High School Grade Point AverageC 

a. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with Academic Year (High School) 2002-2003, the grade 
point average calculated by LOSFA including only the 
grades achieved in those courses that were used to satisfy 
core curriculum requirements. In the event a student has 
received credit for more than 16.5 hours of courses that are 
included in the core curriculum, the TOPS Cumulative High 
School Grade Point Average shall be calculated by using the 
course in each core curriculum category for which the 
student received the highest grade. For example, if a student 
has taken more than one Advanced Mathematics course, the 
Cumulative Grade Point Average shall be determined by 
using only the course in which the student has received the 
highest grade; 

b. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with Academic Year (High School) 2002-2003, the grade 
point average for students qualifying for a Performance 
Award using a minimum ACT score of 24 and a minimum 
grade point average of 3.00 must include at least 10 Units of 
Honors Curriculum Courses (See §703.A.5.f.ii.); 

c. effective for high school graduates beginning 
with Academic Year (High School) 2007-2008, the grade 
point average shall be calculated on 17.5 hours of courses 
that are included in the core curriculum; 

d. For those high schools that utilize other than a 
4.00 scale, all grade values shall be converted to a 4.00 scale 
utilizing the following formula:  

 

 Scale)(Maximum 4.00
Points)Quality  (Converted X = 

Course the for Possible Points Maximum
Course the for Awarded PointsQuality  

 
For example, if a school awards a maximum of 5 points for 
honors courses, the school must use the following formula to 
convert an honors course grade of "C": 

 

4.00 
X 

= 
.00 

  
5 

00 3 
 

 
By cross multiplying, 

 
2.40 = X 12; = 5X  

 
Quality points = Credit for course multiplied by the value 
assigned to the letter grade. 
 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
24:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 
(April 1999), LR 25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 
(October 1999), LR 26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), 
LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 26:1601 (July 2000), LR 26:1993, 
1999 (September 2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26: 2752 
(December 2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 
2001), LR 27:1219 (August 2001), LR 27:1842, 1875 (November 
2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 
28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 2002), LR 
29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 29: 
Chapter 5. Application; Application Deadlines and 

Proof of Compliance 
§507. Final Deadline for Submitting Documentation of 

Eligibility 
A. - B. ... 
C.1. Returning Students, who graduated high school 

prior to or during the 2002-2003 Academic Year (High 
School) must apply for reinstatement no later than May 1, 
2004. 

2. Returning Students who graduate during the 2003-
2004 Academic Year (High School) or later must apply for 
reinstatement no later than May 1 of the Academic Year 
(College) the student seeks reinstatement. For example, a 
student who graduates in May 2004 and seeks to return to an 
Eligible College or University for the spring semester of 
2005 must submit his application for reinstatement no later 
than May 1, 2005. 

D.1. A student who successfully completed an 
undergraduate degree prior to or during the 2001-2002 
Academic Year (College) and wishes to receive his 
remaining award eligibility to attend a graduate or 
professional school must provide the documentation and 
certifications required to establish student eligibility no later 
than May 1, 2004. 

2. A student who successfully completes an 
undergraduate degree during the 2002-2003 Academic Year 
(College) or later and wishes to receive his remaining award 
eligibility to attend a graduate or professional school must 
provide the documentation and certifications required to 
establish student eligibility no later than May 1 of the 
Academic Year (College) the student seeks to receive his 
remaining award eligibility. For example, to receive the 
remaining award for the 2003-2004 Academic Year 
(College), the student must submit the required documents 
no later than May 1, 2004. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 
(March 2002), LR 29: 
§509. ACT Testing Deadline 

A. - B. ... 
C. Final ACT Testing Deadline for Reduced Awards 

1.a. Beginning with awards made to applicants 
graduating in Academic Year (High School) 2000 through 
2003, if an applicant does not achieve a qualifying score on 
the ACT or on the SAT for the TOPS Opportunity Award by 
the April national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's 
high school graduation, then the applicant's first qualifying 

score for any TOPS Award obtained on an authorized testing 
date after the April national ACT test date in the year of the 
applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 of the 
year of such graduation will be accepted. However, when 
granting an award to an applicant whose qualifying test 
score is obtained on an authorized testing date after the date 
of the applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 
of the year of such graduation, the applicant's period of 
eligibility for the award shall be reduced by one semester, 
two quarters, or an equivalent number of units at an eligible 
institution which operates on a schedule based on units other 
than semesters or quarters. Except for an applicant who has 
qualified for a TOPS-Tech Award on or prior to the April 
national ACT test date, an applicant will not be allowed to 
use a test score obtained after the April national ACT test 
date to upgrade a TOPS Award. 

b. Beginning with awards made to applicants 
graduating in Academic Year (High School) 2004, if an 
applicant does not achieve a qualifying score on the ACT or 
on the SAT for the TOPS Opportunity Award by the April 
national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's high 
school graduation, then the applicant's first qualifying score 
for any TOPS Award obtained on an authorized testing date 
after the April national ACT test date in the year of the 
applicant's high school graduation but prior to July 1 of the 
year of such graduation will be accepted. However, when 
granting an award to an applicant whose qualifying test 
score is obtained on an authorized testing date after the April 
national ACT test date in the year of the applicant's high 
school graduation but prior to July 1 of the year of such 
graduation, the applicant's period of eligibility for the award 
shall be reduced by one semester, two quarters, or an 
equivalent number of units at an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters. Except for an applicant who has qualified for a 
TOPS-Tech Award on or prior to the April national ACT test 
date, an applicant will not be allowed to use a test score 
obtained after the April national ACT test date to upgrade a 
TOPS Award. 

c. For the purpose of the Subsection, the "April 
national ACT test date" shall be defined as the month of 
April.  

2. Students who fail to achieve an ACT or SAT 
qualifying score prior to July 1 of the year of high school 
graduation shall not be considered for an award. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
26:1995 (September 2000), amended LR 26:2000 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 29: 
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 

Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards 

§701. General Provisions 
A. - E.11.c. ... 

12. A student who successfully completes an 
undergraduate degree without having exhausted his period of 
award eligibility shall receive an award for the remainder of 
his eligibility if he enrolls in graduate or professional school 
at an Eligible College or University no later than the fall 
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semester following the student's completion of an 
undergraduate degree and has met the requirements for 
continued eligibility set forth in §705.A.6. The remaining 
eligibility may not be used to pursue a second undergraduate 
degree. 

F. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), LR 
25: 256 (February 1999) LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1262 
(June 2000), LR 26: 1995, 2000 (September 2000), repromulgated 
LR 27:1848 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), 
LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 29: 
§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance or Honors Award, the student applicant must 
meet all of the following criteria: 

1.a. for students graduating in Academic Year (High 
School) 2001-2002 and prior, be a United States citizen, 
provided however, that a student who is not a citizen of the 
United States but who is eligible to apply for such 
citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the citizenship 
requirement, if within 60 days after the date the student 
attains the age of majority, the student applies to become a 
citizen of the United States and obtains such citizenship 
within one year after the date of the application for 
citizenship. Those students who are eligible for U. S. 
citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS award, 
will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements for a 
TOPS award for one year after the date of the student's 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student's TOPS award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided and canceled if such proof is not provided by May 
1 of the following Academic Year (College). Students 
cancelled solely due to their failure to become a United 
States citizen within one year after the date of application 
shall be reinstated to their award if they are a United States 
citizen or a permanent resident as defined by the Bureau of 
Citizenship and Immigration Services and were eligible to 
apply for United States citizenship when cancelled and have 
met the requirements for maintaining eligibility for the 
award; 

b. for students graduating in Academic Year (High 
School) 2002-2003 and thereafter, be a United States citizen 
or be a permanent resident as defined by the Bureau of 
Citizenship and Immigration Services and be eligible to 
apply for United States citizenship. 

2 - 4. ... 
5. a. graduate from an eligible public or nonpublic 

Louisiana high school or non-Louisiana high school defined 
in §1701.A.1, 2, or 3; and 
 i.(a). for students graduating in Academic Year 
(High School) 2006-2007 and prior, at the time of high 
school graduation, an applicant must have successfully 
completed 16.5 units of high school course work 
documented on the student's official transcript as approved 
by the Louisiana Department of Education constituting a 
core curriculum as follows. 

 

Units Course 
1 English I 
1 English II 
1 English III 
1 English IV 
1 Algebra I (one unit) or  

Applied Algebra 1A and 1B  
(two units) 

1 Algebra II 
1 Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or  

comparable Advanced Mathematics 
1 Biology  
1 Chemistry  
1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, 

Physical Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, 
Physics II, or Physics for Technology 

1 American History 
1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 
1 Civics and Free Enterprise (one unit combined) or  

Civics (one unit, nonpublic) 
1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute two units performance 

courses in music, dance, or theater; or two units of studio 
art or visual art; or one elective from among the  
other subjects listed in this core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 
1/2  Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 

Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half 
unit of an elective course related to computers that is 
approved by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (BESE); or substitute at least one-half unit 
of an elective from among the other subjects listed in 
this core curriculum); BESE has approved the following 
courses as computer related for purposes of satisfying 
the 1/2 unit computer science requirement for all schools 
(courses approved by BESE for individual schools are 
not included): 
Computer /Technology Applications (1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 credit) 
Computer Science I (1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 credit) 
Digital Graphics and Animation (1/2 credit) 
Multimedia Productions (1 credit) 
Web Mastering (1/2 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications (1 credit) 

 
(b). Beginning with the graduates of Academic 

Year (High School) 2007-2008, at the time of high school 
graduation, an applicant must have successfully completed 
17.5 units of high school course work that constitutes a core 
curriculum and is documented on the student's official 
transcript as approved by the Louisiana Department of 
Education. 

 
Units Course 

1 English I 
1 English II 
1 English III 
1 English IV 
1 Algebra I (one unit) or 

Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (two units) 
1 Algebra II 
1 Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or  

comparable Advanced Mathematics 
1 Biology  
1 Chemistry  
1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical 

Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, 
or Physics for Technology 
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1 American History 
1 World History, Western Civilization or World Geography 
1 Civics and Free Enterprise (one unit combined) or 

Civics (one unit, nonpublic) 
1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute two units performance 

courses in music, dance, or theater; or two units of 
studio art or visual art; or one elective from among 
the other subjects listed in this core curriculum) 

2 Foreign Language, both units in the same language 
1 1/2  Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business 

Computer Applications (or substitute at least one 
and one-half units of an elective course related to 
computers that is approved by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE). BESE 
has approved the following courses as computer related 
for purposes of satisfying the 1 1/2 unit computer 
science requirement for all schools (courses approved 
by BESE for individual schools are not included): 
Computer/Technology Applications (1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1 credit) 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 credit) 
Computer Science I (1 credit) 
Computer Science II (1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking I (1 credit) 
Computer Systems and Networking II (1 credit) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Multimedia Productions (1 credit) 
Web Mastering (1/2 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications (1 credit) 

 
b. - e.  ... 
f.i. for students graduating in Academic Years (High 

School) 2000-2001 and 2001-2002, successfully complete a 
minimum of 10 units in honors courses graded on a 5.00 
scale and graduate from an eligible public or nonpublic 
Louisiana high school or non-Louisiana high school defined 
in §1701.A.1, 2, or 3 and have completed the core 
curriculum defined in §703.A.5.a.i; 
 ii. for students graduating Academic Year (High 
School) 2002-2003 through 2005-2006, successfully 
complete a minimum of 10 units in Honors Curriculum 
Courses used to satisfy the core curriculum requirement and 
graded on a 4.00 or higher scale and graduate from an 
eligible public or nonpublic Louisiana high school or non-
Louisiana high school defined in §1701.A.1, 2, or 3, and 
have completed the core curriculum defined in §703.A.5.a.i; 
and 

6. have achieved an ACT Score, as defined in §301 of 
at least: 

a. if qualifying under the terms of §703.A.5.a or b; 
 i. the state's reported prior year ACT composite 
average, rounded, but never less than 20 for the Opportunity 
Award; or 
 ii. a 23 for the Performance Award; or 
 iii. a 27 for the Honors Award; or 

b. if qualifying under §703.A.5.c or d; 
 i. the state's reported prior year average plus 3 
points, rounded, but never less than 23 for the Opportunity 
Award; or 
 ii. a 26 for the Performance Award; or 
 iii. a 30 for the Honors Award; and 

c. if qualifying under §703.A.5.e, which is limited 
to the Opportunity Award only, the state's reported prior year 
average plus 3 points, rounded, but never less than 23;  

d. if qualifying under §703.A.5.f, which is limited 
to the Performance Award only, a 24; and  

7. - 8. ... 
B. Students Qualifying: 

1. under §703.A.5.a and b, must have attained a 
cumulative high school grade point average, based on a 4.00 
maximum scale, of at least: 

a. a 2.50 for the Opportunity Award; or 
b. a 3.50 for the Performance or Honors Awards; 

2. under §703.A.5.f and graduating in Academic Year 
(High School) 2000-2001 through 2005-2006, must have 
attained a TOPS Cumulative High School Grade Point 
Average, based on a 4.00 maximum scale, of at least a 3.00 
for the Performance Award. 

C. - G.2.  ... 
H. Returning Students 

1. A Returning Student, as defined in §301, is eligible 
for a TOPS Award if: 

a. he submits a request for reinstatement that 
includes: 
 i. the name of the Louisiana school in which he 
has enrolled or will enroll; and 
 ii. his official transcripts from all out-of-state 
colleges and universities attended; and 

b. he met all the requirements to maintain his award 
that would have been applicable had the student enrolled in 
an Eligible College or University during the time the student 
was enrolled in an out-of state college or university; and 

c. he enrolled in an Eligible College or University 
no later then the next semester or term, excluding summer 
sessions and intersessions, immediately following the last 
semester he was enrolled in the out-of state college or 
university. 

2. A Returning Student who fails to enroll by the 
deadline established in §703.A.4 or to maintain full time 
enrollment or to earn 24 hours during an Academic Year 
(College) while enrolled in an out-of-state college or 
university, shall not be eligible for a TOPS Award unless 
granted an exception in accordance with §2103. 

3. The period of eligibility of a Returning Student 
shall be reduced by each semester or term the student was 
enrolled in an out-of state college or university. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
25:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 
(April 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 
2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 
26:1602, 1998 (August 2000), LR 26:1996, 2001 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 
1219 (August 2001), LR 27:1850 (November 2001), LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 
(November 2002), LR 29:125 (February 2003), LR 29: 
§705. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance or Honors Awards, the recipient must meet all 
of the following criteria: 

1. have received less than four years or eight 
semesters of TOPS Award funds, except as provided in 
§701.E.1.b, §701.E.2.b and §701.E.3.b; and 

2 - 4. ... 
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5. continue to enroll and accept the TOPS award as a 
full-time undergraduate student, professional or graduate 
student in an Eligible College or University defined in §301, 
and maintain an enrolled status throughout the academic 
term, unless granted an exception for cause by LASFAC; 
and 

6. minimum academic progress: 
a. in an academic undergraduate program at an 

Eligible College or University, by the end of each Academic 
Year (College), earn a total of at least 24 college credit hours 
as determined by totaling the earned hours reported by the 
institution for each semester or quarter in the Academic Year 
(College). These hours shall include remedial course work 
required by the institution, but shall not include hours earned 
during Qualified Summer Sessions, summer sessions nor 
intersessions nor by advanced placement course credits. 
Unless granted an exception for cause by LASFAC, failure 
to earn the required number of hours will result in permanent 
cancellation of the recipient's eligibility; or 

b. ... 
c. in an academic graduate or professional program 

at an Eligible College or University, by the end of each 
Academic Year (College), earn at least the total college 
credit hours required by the college or university for full 
time enrollment for each semester or quarter as determined 
by totaling the earned hours reported by the institution for 
each semester or quarter in the Academic Year (College). 
These hours shall not include hours earned during Qualified 
Summer Sessions, summer sessions nor intersessions nor by 
advanced placement course credits. Unless granted an 
exception for cause by LASFAC, failure to earn the required 
number of hours will result in permanent cancellation of the 
recipient's eligibility, and 

7. ... 
8. maintain at an Eligible College or University, by 

the end of the spring semester, quarter, or term, a cumulative 
college grade point average (GPA) on a 4.00 maximum scale 
of at least: 

a. a 2.30 with the completion of less than 48 credit 
hours, a 2.50 after the completion of 48 credit hours, for 
continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award, if enrolled in an 
academic program; or 

b. ... 
c. a 3.00 for continuing receipt of either a 

Performance or Honors Award; or 
d. the minimum grade necessary to maintain good 

standing, if enrolled in a graduate or professional program; 
and 

9. ... 
10. has not been enrolled in a program for a vocational 

or technical education certificate or diploma or a non-
academic undergraduate degree for more than two years. 

B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 
§705.A.7 or §705.A.8.a, b, or c may have their tuition 
awards reinstated upon regaining Steady Academic Progress 
(See §301.) and/or attainment of the required GPA, if the 
period of ineligibility did not persist for more than two years 
from the date of loss of eligibility. Students who fail to meet 
the continuation requirements of §705.A.8.c, but who meet 
the continuation requirements of §705.A.8.a or b., shall no 
longer be eligible for the stipend authorized for the 
Performance and Honors Awards, but shall continue to 

receive the award amount for the Opportunity Award. If the 
two year period is interrupted due to a student's active duty 
in the United States Armed Forces, the two year period will 
be extended for a length of time equal to the student's active 
duty service, not to exceed four years. 

C. In the event the administering agency determines that 
an ineligible student has received an award as the result of 
an administrative error or erroneous information provided by 
the student or the student's parent(s) or Court Ordered 
Custodian or incorrect certification from the student's high 
school, the student's eligibility for the award shall be 
terminated and no further awards shall be made to the 
ineligible student. If an ineligible student has received an 
award due to an administrative error or incorrect 
certification, the administering agency will not pursue 
recoupment from the student of funds that were awarded. If 
an erroneous award has been made and the administering 
agency determines that the award was made based upon 
incorrect information submitted by the student or the 
student's parent(s) or Court Ordered Custodian, the 
administering agency may seek reimbursement from the 
student, the student's parent(s) or Court Ordered Custodian, 
and if it is further determined that the award was made due 
to an intentional misrepresentation by the student, the 
student's parent(s) or Court Ordered Custodian, then the 
administering agency shall refer the case to the Attorney 
General for investigation and prosecution. If a student or the 
student's parent(s) or Court Ordered Custodian is suspected 
of having intentionally misrepresented the facts which were 
provided to the administering agency and used by it to 
determine the eligibility of the student for the program and 
the administering agency has referred the case to the 
Attorney General for investigation, then the student shall 
remain ineligible for future award consideration pending an 
outcome of said investigation which is favorable to the 
student. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR 
25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:656 (April 1999), LR 25:1091 
(June 1999), LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 
26, 1996, 2001 (September 2000), LR 27:1853 (November 2001), 
LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2332 
(November 2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§803. Establishing Eligibility 

A. To establish eligibility for the TOPS-TECH Award, 
the student applicant must meet the following criteria: 

1.a. for students graduating in Academic Year (High 
School) 2001-2002 and prior, be a United States citizen, 
provided however, that a student who is not a citizen of the 
United States but who is eligible to apply for such 
citizenship shall be deemed to satisfy the citizenship 
requirement, if within 60 days after the date the student 
attains the age of majority, the student applies to become a 
citizen of the United States and obtains such citizenship 
within one year after the date of the application for 
citizenship. Those students who are eligible for U. S. 
citizenship and who otherwise qualify for a TOPS award, 
will continue to satisfy the citizenship requirements for a 
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TOPS award for one year after the date of the student's 
application for citizenship, at which time, if the student has 
not provided proof of U.S. citizenship to the Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, the student's TOPS award will 
be suspended until such time as proof of citizenship is 
provided and canceled if such proof is not provided. 
Students cancelled solely due to their failure to become a 
United States citizen within one year after the date of 
application shall be reinstated to their award if they are a 
United States citizen or a permanent resident as defined by 
the Bureau of Citizenship and Immigration Services and 
were eligible to apply for United States citizenship when 
cancelled and have met the requirements for maintaining 
eligibility for the award; 

b. for students graduating in Academic Year (High 
School) 2002-2003 and thereafter, be a United States citizen 
or be a permanent resident as defined by the Bureau of 
Citizenship and Immigration Services and be eligible to 
apply for United States citizenship. 

2. - 10.  ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:1898 (October 1998), amended LR 24:2237 (December 1998), 
LR 25:1795 (October 1999), LR 26:65, 67 (January 2000), LR 
26:1602 (August 2000), LR 26:1997 (September 2000), LR 
26:2269 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), LR 27:36 
(January 2001), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), LR 27:1854 
(November 2001), LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:773 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330 (November 2002), LR 29:554 (April 2003), LR 
29: 
§805. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. To continue receiving the TOPS-TECH Award, the 
recipient must meet all of the following criteria: 

1. have received the TECH-TECH Award for not more 
than two years, except as provided by §805.C, or unless 
reduced as required by §503.D; 

2. - 7. ... 
8. maintain, by the end of the spring term, a 

cumulative college grade point average of at least 2.50 on a 
4.00 maximum scale; and 

9. - 10.  ... 
B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in 

§805.A.7 and 8 may have their tuition awards reinstated 
upon achieving Steady Academic Progress, as defined in 
§301, and the attainment of the required grade point average, 
if the period of ineligibility did not persist for more than one 
year from the date of loss of eligibility. If the one year period 
is interrupted due to a student's active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces, the one year period will be extended 
for a length of time equal to the student's active duty service, 
not to exceed four years. 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998), LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:68 
(January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), LR 27:1856 (November 2001), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29, LR 29:879 
(June 2003), LR 29: 

Chapter 17. Responsibilities of High Schools, School 
Boards, Special School Governing 
Boards, the Louisiana Department of 
Education and LASFAC on Behalf of 
Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools 

§1701. Eligibility of Graduates Based upon the High 
School Attended 

A. - A.3.d. ... 
4. Out-of-State High Schools 

a. All other public or non-public high schools 
located in one of the United States or territories of the 
United States, other than Louisiana, which have been 
approved by the state or territory's chief school officer as 
listed in the Louisiana Department of Education Bulletin 
1462, or by the public body which is that state's or territory's 
equivalent of the Louisiana Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (BESE), or which high school has 
been approved by the Southern Association of Colleges and 
Schools' Commission on Secondary and Middle Schools and 
can demonstrate that it meets the standards adopted by 
BESE for approval of nonpublic schools of Louisiana as set 
forth in §1701.A.2, above or, for students graduating during 
the 2002-2003 school year and thereafter, which high school 
has been approved by a regional accrediting organization 
recognized by the United States Department of Education 
and can demonstrate that it meets the standards adopted by 
BESE for approval of nonpublic schools of Louisiana as set 
forth in §1701.A.2, above, and those high schools located in 
foreign countries which have been authorized or approved 
by a Department in the Executive Branch of the United 
States government to teach the dependents of members of 
the U.S. Armed Forces stationed abroad; 

A.4.b. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:642 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1911 (October 1998), LR 
25:849 (May 1999), LR 26:68 (January 2000), LR 26:1997 
(September 2000), LR 27:1862 (November 2001), LR 29: 
§1703. High School's Certification of Student 

Achievement 
A. - B.1.b. ... 

2.a. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), 
the certification form shall contain, but is not limited to, the 
following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name, address, phone number and 
social security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. final cumulative high school grade point 
average for all courses attempted, converted to a maximum 
4.00 scale, if applicable (Note: Beginning with students 
graduating in 2002-2003, the cumulative high school grade 
point average will be calculated by using only grades 
obtained in completing the core curriculum.); and 
 iv. through the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 
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b. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year 
(High School), certification shall contain, but is not limited 
to, the following reportable data elements: 
 i. student's name and Social Security number; 
 ii. month and year of high school graduation; 
 iii. the course code for each course completed; 
 iv. the grade for each course completed; 
 v. designation of each Honors Curriculum 
Course; 
 vi. the grading scale for each course reported; 
 vii. list the high school attended for each course 
reported; and 
 viii through the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, number of core units earned 
and the number of core units unavailable to the student at the 
school attended. After the graduating class of the Academic 
Year (High School) 2002-2003, core unit requirements may 
not be waived. 

B.3. - D.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:643 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1912 (October 1998), LR 
25:258 (February 1999), LR 26: (September 2000), LR 26: 
(October 2000), LR 27:1863 (November 2001), LR 29:879 (June 
2003), LR 23: 
§1705. Notification of Certified Students 

A. Through the 2002 Academic Year (High School), if 
the certifying authority elects to notify students of their 
certification, then the following disclaimer shall be included 
in any communication to the student: "Although you have 
been certified as academically eligible for a Tuition 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must 
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a 
scholarship under this program: 

1. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission; and 

2. you must be accepted for enrollment by an eligible 
Louisiana college and be registered as a full-time 
undergraduate student; and 

3. you must annually apply for federal student aid, if 
eligible for such aid, by the deadline required for 
consideration for state aid; and 

4. you must have met all academic and nonacademic 
requirements and be officially notified of your award by the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC)." 

B. Commencing with the 2003 Academic Year (High 
School), if the certifying authority elects to notify students 
of their potential eligibility for an award, then the following 
disclaimer shall be included in any communication to the 
student: "Although it appears that you have satisfied the 
academic requirements for a Tuition Opportunity Program 
for Students (TOPS) Award based on this school's review of 
the core curriculum courses you have completed and 
calculation of your TOPS Cumulative High School Grade 
Point Average, you must satisfy all of the following 
conditions to redeem a scholarship under this program: 

1. the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance 
Commission (LASFAC) must determine that you have in 
fact completed the TOPS core curriculum courses; 

2. LASFAC must determine that your TOPS 
Cumulative High School Grade Point Average based on the 
TOPS core curriculum meets the statutory requirements; 

3. you must be a Louisiana resident as defined by 
LASFAC; 

4. you must be accepted for enrollment by an eligible 
Louisiana postsecondary institution and be registered as a 
full-time undergraduate student no later than the next 
semester following the first anniversary of your graduation 
from high school; 

5. you must apply for federal student aid, if eligible 
for such aid, by the deadline required for consideration for 
consideration for state and; and 

6. you must have met all academic and nonacademic 
requirements and be officially notified of your award by 
LASFAC." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:644 (April 1998) and amended LR 24:1913 (October 1998), 
repromulgated LR 27:1864 (November 2001), amended LR 29:126 
(February 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 29: 
Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of 

Postsecondary Institutions 
§1903. Responsibilities of Postsecondary Institutions  

A. - B.5. ... 
6. upon the school's certification that a recipient of a 

TOPS Award is enrolled full-time, institutions shall bill for 
and LASFAC will reimburse the institution for each such 
recipient as follows: 

a. public colleges and universities may bill for an 
amount up to the maximum tuition for that institution, as 
defined in §301; 

b. Louisiana Technical College campuses may bill 
for an amount up to the tuition for that institution, as defined 
in §301; 

c. LAICU member colleges and universities may 
bill for students enrolled in academic programs an amount 
up to the Weighted Average Award Amount, as defined in 
§301; 

d. LAICU member colleges and universities may 
bill for students enrolled in nonacademic programs an 
amount up to the Average Award Amount (TOPS-Tech), as 
defined in §301; 

e. for recipients of the Performance and Honors 
awards, institutions may bill LASFAC for the stipend that 
accompanies these awards, in the amounts of $200 or $400 
per semester, respectively; 

f. for students enrolled in a public professional 
school, institutions may bill LASFAC an amount equal to the 
tuition charged or the tuition charged a student pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school, 
whichever is less; 

g. for students enrolled in a LAICU professional 
school, institutions may charge the Weighted Average Award 
Amount; 

h. for students enrolled in graduate school, 
institutions may bill LASFAC an amount equal to the tuition 
or the tuition charged for a student while pursuing a 
baccalaureate degree at the highest cost public school in the 
state, whichever is less. 
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7. ... 
8. Before applying a TOPS award to pay a student's 

tuition, institutions shall first apply the student's  
"out-of-pocket" payments, including student loans, toward 
tuition charges. In those cases when a student's tuition as 
defined in 26 U.S.C. 25A is paid from a source other than 
the TOPS award, the institution shall apply the TOPS award 
toward payment of expenses other than tuition which are 
described in the term "cost of attendance" as that term is 
defined in 20 U.S.C. 1087 11, as amended, for the purpose 
of qualifying the student or his parent or Court Ordered 
Custodian for the federal income tax credits provided for 
under 26 U.S.C. 25A.  

C. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:645 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR 
25: 1459 (August 1999), LR 26:1998, 2002 (September 2000), LR 
27:1864 (November 2001), LR 28:448 (March 2002), LR 28:775 
(April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2333 (November 
2002), LR 29: 
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - C.3. ... 
D. Procedure for Requesting Exceptions to the Initial and 

Continuous Enrollment Requirement 
1. The student should complete and submit an 

application for an exception, with documentary evidence, to 
the Office as soon as possible after the occurrence of the 
event or circumstance that supports the request. Through the 
2000-2001 academic year, the student must submit 
application for an exception no later than May 30 of the 
academic year the student requests reinstatement. 
Commencing with the 2001-2002 academic year, the student 
must submit the application for exception no later than six 
months after the date of the notice of cancellation, except 
that a Returning Student must submit the application for 
exception no later than six months after the date of the notice 
of ineligibility due to failure to meet the continuing 
eligibility requirements of §705. The deadline for filing the 
exception shall be prominently displayed on the notice of 
cancellation. If the applicant for an exception is a Dependent 
Student, a parent or Court Ordered Custodian of the 
Dependent Student may submit the application for exception 
on behalf of the applicant. 

2. - 3. ... 
E. Qualifying Exceptions to the Initial and Continuous 

Enrollment Requirement. A student who has been declared 
ineligible for TOPS, TOPS-Tech, TOPS Teacher or the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship because of failure to 
meet the initial or continuous enrollment requirements may 
request reinstatement in that program based on one or more 
of the following exceptions: 

1. - 3. ... 
4. Temporary Disability 

a. Definition. The student/recipient is recovering 
from an accident, injury, illness or required surgery, or the 
student/recipient is providing continuous care to his/her 

spouse, dependent, parent, stepparent, or custodian due to an 
accident, illness, injury or required surgery. 

b. ... 
c. Maximum Length of Exception 

 i. Up to four consecutive semesters (six 
consecutive quarters) for recipient; 
 ii. up to a maximum of two consecutive semesters 
(three consecutive quarters) for care of a disabled dependent, 
spouse, parent, or custodian. 

5. - 7.c. ... 
8. Death of Immediate Family Member 

a. Definition. The student's spouse, parent, 
stepparent, custodian, dependent, sister or brother, step 
sibling, or grandparent dies. 

8.b. - 10. ... 
11. Exceptional Circumstances 

a. Definition. The student/recipient has exceptional 
circumstances, other than those listed in §2103.E.1-10, 
which are beyond his immediate control and which 
necessitate full or partial withdrawal from, or non-
enrollment in an eligible postsecondary institution. 
 i. The following situations are not exceptional 
circumstances: 

E.11.a.i.(a). - (h). ... 
(i). An involuntary drop, suspension, or 

withdrawal from enrollment because of academics, 
scholastics, or failure to attend classes or to comply with 
institutional regulations. 

(j). A suspension or expulsion for misconduct. 
(k). An inability to register because of failure to 

satisfy financial obligations. 
E.11.a.ii - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 (October 1998), LR 
26:1017 (May 2000), LR 26:2004 (September 2000), LR 27:37 
(January 2001), LR 27:1875 (October 2001), LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), LR 289:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 
2002), LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2333 (November 
2002), LR 29:126 (February 2003), LR 29: 
§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment and 

Cancellation 
A. - B.3.c. ... 

4. Temporary Disability 
a. Definition. The recipient is recovering from an 

accident, injury, illness or required surgery, or the recipient 
is providing continuous care to his/her spouse, dependent, 
parent, stepparent, or custodian due to an accident, illness, 
injury or required surgery. 

b. - b.iii. ... 
c. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to two years 

for recipient; up to a maximum of one year for care of a 
disabled dependent, spouse, parent, or custodian. 

C. ... 
D. Procedure for Requesting a Deferment 

1. The recipient should complete and submit an 
application for a deferment, with documentary evidence, to 
the Office as soon as possible after the occurrence of the 
event or circumstance that supports the request. The 
recipient must submit the application for deferment no later 
than three months after the date of the notice of repayment. 
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The deadline for filing the request shall be prominently 
displayed on the notice of repayment. If the applicant for a 
deferment is a Dependent Student, a parent or Court Ordered 
Custodian of the Dependent Student may submit the 
application for exception on behalf of the applicant. 

E. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR 
24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1918 (October 1998), LR 
26:1603 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1868 (November 
2001), LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 
29: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0308#047 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue  
Trust (START Saving) Program  
(LAC 28:VI.107, 301, 303, 305,  

307, 309, 311, 313, and 315) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend rules of the 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START 
Saving) Program (R.S. 17:3091 et seq.). 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating Rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LATTA has determined that this 
Emergency Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This declaration of emergency is effective July 17, 2003, 
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial AssistanceCHigher 
Education SavingsCTuition Trust Authority 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§107. Applicable Definitions  

* * * 
BeneficiaryCthe person named in the education savings 

account owner's agreement or the person named by the 
Authority when authorized to make such a designation by an 
account owner as classified under §303.A.5, as the 
individual entitled to apply the account balance, or portions 
thereof, toward payment of their Qualified Higher Education 
Expenses. 

Beneficiary's FamilyCfor purposes of §303.A.5, the 
beneficiary's family must be one of the following persons: 

a. the beneficiary's parent(s) or court ordered 
custodian; or 

b. a person who claims the Beneficiary as a 
dependent on his or her federal income tax return for the 
previous year; or 

c. a person who certifies that the beneficiary lives 
with him, that he provides more than 50 percent of the 
beneficiary's support for the previous year and that he was 
not required to file an income tax return for the previous 
year. 

* * * 
Trade DateCthe date that a deposit to an investment 

option that includes variable earnings is assigned a value in 
units or the date a disbursement or refund from an 
investment option that includes variable earnings is assigned 
a value.  

* * * 
Variable EarningCthat portion of funds in an education 

savings account invested in equities. 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997). Amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:37 (January 2001), LR 
27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), LR 28:450 
(March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 
2002), LR 29:566 (April 2003), LR 29: 
Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§301.  Education Savings Accounts 

A. An education savings account is established on behalf 
of a designated beneficiary to provide the funding necessary 
for the beneficiary to acquire an undergraduate certificate, 
associate degree, undergraduate degree, graduate degree or 
professional degree. Education savings accounts may offer 
investment options that provide either fixed earnings or 
variable earnings. 

1. The account owner classified under §303.A.1, 2, 3 
and 4 shall designate the beneficiary in the owner's 
agreement. 

2. The account owner classified under §303.A.5 may 
designate the beneficiary in the owner's agreement, provided 
the beneficiary is not a member of the account owner's 
family, or authorize the LATTA to select a beneficiary for 
the account. 

3. A beneficiary selected by the LATTA must meet the 
following criteria: 

a. the beneficiary is a Louisiana resident; 
b. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 

family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary is eligible for a 
free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Act 
(42 USC 1751 et seq.); 

c. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the authority or the Office of Student 
Financial Assistance;  

d. demonstrate superior early academic preparation 
in the third grade by achieving a score on the Iowa Tests of 
Basic Skills, Stanford 9 Test or TerraNova Test that is in the 
top two quartiles; and 

e. the guidelines provided by the account owner, if 
any; provided such guidelines are lawful. 

4. Procedure for Selection (To be added at a later 
date.) 
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B. - C.1. ... 
2. The account owner shall designate a beneficiary, 

except as provided in Paragraph A.2 above. 
3. … 
4. Transfer of account ownership is not permitted, 

except in the case of accounts classified under §303.A.1-4 in 
the event of the death of an account owner, who is a natural 
person or the dissolution of the account owner, who is a 
legal entity.  

a. The account owner who is a natural person, other 
than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§303.A.5, may designate a person who will become the 
substitute account owner in the event of the original account 
owner's death. 

b. Eligibility for earnings enhancements will be 
based on the substitute account owner's classification at the 
time of the original account owner's death. 

c. In the event of the death of an account owner 
who is a natural person, other than a natural person classified 
as an account owner under §303.A.5, and who has not 
named a substitute account owner, the account shall be 
terminated and the account shall be refunded to the 
beneficiary, if designated to receive the refund by the 
account owner, or the account owner's estate. 

d. In the event of the dissolution of an account 
owner who is a legal entity classified as an account owner 
under §303.A.3 or 4, the beneficiary shall become the 
substitute account owner. If the account owner, who is a 
legal entity classified as an account owner under §303.A.3 or 
4, is dissolved, the beneficiary designated to receive the 
refund has died, and there is no substitute beneficiary 
named, the refund shall be made to the beneficiary's estate. 

e. In the event of the death or dissolution of an 
other person classified as an account owner under §303.A.5, 
the beneficiary shall become the substitute account owner, 
provided that, in the case of an account classified under 
§303.A.5, all the rights and restrictions provided in law and 
these rules regarding account owners classified under 
§303.A.5, including, but not limited to, use of the funds, 
refunds, terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc., shall 
be applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of 
an account established under §303.A.5. If an account owner 
classified under §303.A.5 dies or is dissolved and the 
beneficiary has died or failed to enroll in an eligible 
educational institution by age 25, and no substitute 
beneficiary has been designated by the account owner, the 
Authority shall designate a new beneficiary who must meet 
the requirements of §301.A.3 and §303.A.5. 

5. Only the account owner or the beneficiary may be 
designated to receive refunds from the account owned by an 
account owner who is a natural person other than a natural 
person classified as an account owner under §303.A.5. In the 
event of the death of the account owner when the account 
owner is designated to receive the refund and there is no 
substitute account owner named, the refund shall be made to 
the account owner's estate. 

D. - D.6. … 
7. That an account whose owner is a legal entity or is 

classified under §303.A.5 cannot be terminated and the 
funds deposited in the account will not be refunded to the 
account owner. 

8. That an account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §303.A.5, can change the beneficiary of an 
account to one or more persons who are not members of the 
family of the beneficiary in accordance with §313.A.4.c, 
however, in such case: 

a. … 
b. the earnings enhancements and interest thereon 

will not be transferred to the new beneficiary. (Note that the 
deposit(s) will be eligible for earnings enhancement for the 
year of the deposit.) 

c. the provisions of §301.A.2 shall apply to account 
owners classified in accordance with §305.A.5. 

9. That in the event an account owner who is a legal 
entity classified as an account owner under §303.A.3 or 4 is 
dissolved, the beneficiary will become the owner of the 
account. 

10. That in the event an other person classified as an 
account owner under §303.A.5 dies or is dissolved, the 
beneficiary will become the account owner, provided that, 
all the restriction provided in law and these rules regarding 
account owners classified under §303.A.5, including, but not 
limited to, use of the funds, refunds, terminations, 
designation of beneficiary, etc. shall be applicable to the 
beneficiary that becomes the owner of an account 
established under §303.A.5. If an account owner classified 
under §303.A.5 dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has 
died or failed to enroll in an eligible college or university by 
age 25, and no substitute beneficiary has been designated by 
the account owner, the Authority is authorized designate a 
new beneficiary who must meet the requirements of 
§301.A.3 and §303.A.5. 

E. - G. … 
H. Providing Personal Information 

1. The account owner is required to disclose personal 
information in the owner's agreement, including:  

a. In the case of an account owner classified under 
§303.A.5: 
 i. the social security number of the beneficiary's 
family and authorization from that person for the LATTA to 
access his annual tax records through the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, for the purpose of verifying federal 
adjusted gross income; and  
 ii. if applicable, proof that the beneficiary is a 
ward of the court; or 
 iii. if applicable, proof the beneficiary is eligible 
for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National 
School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.). 

2. By signing the owner's agreement, the account 
owner who is classified under §303.A.1 or 2 (does not 
include legal entities or other persons classified as account 
owners under §303.A.5) provides written authorization for 
the LATTA to access his annual tax records through the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue, for the purposes of 
verifying federal adjusted gross income. 

3. By signing the owner's agreement: 
a. the account owner who is a natural person, other 

than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§303.A.5, certifies that: 

a.i. - b.vi. … 
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c. the natural person classified as an account owner 
under §303.A.5 certifies that: 
 i. the beneficiary is a Louisiana Resident; 
 ii. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 
family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary is eligible for a 
free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National School Act 
(42 USC 1751 et seq.); 
 iii. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the Authority or the Office of Student 
Financial Assistance; 
 iv. the account owner acknowledges and agrees 
that once funds are deposited in a START account, neither 
the deposits nor the interest earned thereon can be refunded 
to the account owner; and 
 v. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct.  

H.4 - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:713 (June 
1997). Amended LR 24:436 (March 1998), LR 24:1269 (July 
1998), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:2262 (October 2000), 
LR 27:1878 (November 2001), LR 28:450 (March 2002), LR 
28:778 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 2002), LR 29: 
§303. Account Owner Classifications  

A. - A.4. … 
5. any other person or any government entity, and at 

the time of the initiation of the agreement: 
a. the beneficiary is a resident of the state; 
b. the federal adjusted income of the beneficiary's 

family is less than $30,000 or the beneficiary must be 
eligible for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell 
National School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.); 

c. the beneficiary is not a member of the account 
owner's family nor a member of the family of any member 
or employee of the Authority or the Office of Student 
Financial Assistance; 

d. the deposits to the account are an irrevocable 
donation by the owner. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 27: 1879 
(November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 
(November 2002), LR 29: 
§305. Deposits to Education Savings Accounts 

A. - C. … 
D. Investment Options 

1. The State Treasurer shall select fixed earnings and 
variable earnings investment options. 

2. The Authority shall furnish each account owner 
with information that discloses each of the investment 
options offered by the program. 

3. The account owner shall select one or more of the 
investment options in completing the owner's agreement. If 
more than one option is selected, the account owner shall 
indicate the percentage of each deposit for each investment 
option and the percentages must total 100 percent. 

4. Investment options and the percentage of each 
deposit to an option can be changed no more than once in 
any 12 month period. 

5. Once a selection is made, all deposits shall be 
directed to the investment options selected and in the 
percentages designated. 

E. Deposits 
1. Deposits for investment options that are limited to 

fixed earnings will be considered to have been deposited on 
the date of receipt 

2. Deposits for investment options that include 
variable earnings will be assigned a trade date based on the 
method of deposit and the date of receipt. 

a. Deposits by check will be assigned a trade date 
five days after the business day during which they were 
received. 

b. Deposits made by electronic funds transfer will 
be assigned a trade date of one business day after the 
business day during which they were received. 

3. Deposits received on weekends and holidays will 
be considered received on the next business day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1270 (July 1998), LR 26:2263 (October 
2000), LR 27:1880 (November 2001), LR 29: 
§307. Allocation of Earnings Enhancements 

A. Earnings enhancements are state-appropriated funds 
allocated to an education savings account, on behalf of the 
beneficiary named in the account. 

1.a. The earnings enhancements for account owners 
who are classified under §303.A.1 and 2 are calculated based 
upon the account owner's annual federal adjusted gross 
income for the year immediately preceding the year for 
which the beneficiary of the account is being considered for 
an earnings enhancement and the account owner's total 
annual deposits of principal. 

b. The earnings enhancements for account owners 
who are classified under §303.A.5 are calculated based: 
 i. upon the beneficiary's family's annual federal 
adjusted gross income for the year immediately preceding 
the year for which the beneficiary of the account is being 
considered for an earnings enhancement and the account 
owner's total annual deposits of principal; or 
 ii. if the beneficiary is a ward of the court, using 
the highest earnings enhancement available and the account 
owner's total annual deposits of principal. 

2. … 
B. Providing Proof of Annual Federal Adjusted Gross 

Income 
1.a. For account owners who are classified under 

§303.A.1 or 2 (does not include Legal Entities nor other 
persons classified as account owners under §303.A.5), the 
account owner's annual federal adjusted gross income for the 
year immediately preceding the year for which the 
beneficiary of the account is being considered for an 
earnings enhancement is used in computing the annual 
earnings enhancement allocation. 

b. For account owners who are classified under 
§303.A.5, the beneficiary's family's annual federal adjusted 
gross income for the year immediately preceding the year for 
which the beneficiary of the account is being considered for 
an earnings enhancement is used in computing the annual 
earnings enhancement or proof that the beneficiary is a ward 
of the court. 
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2.a. To be eligible in any given year for a Earnings 
Enhancement in accordance with §307.D., the account 
owner of an Education Savings Account classified under 
§303.A.1, 2 or 3 must: 
 i. authorize the LATTA to access the account 
owner's state tax return filed with the Louisiana Department 
of Revenue for the purpose of obtaining the account owner's 
federal adjusted gross income; or 
 ii provide the LATTA a copy of the account 
owner's federal or state income tax return filed for the year 
immediately preceding the year in which the beneficiary of 
the account is being considered for an earnings 
enhancement. 

b. To be eligible in any given year for a earnings 
enhancement in accordance with §307.D., the account owner 
of an education savings account classified under §303.A.5 
must: 
 i. provide authorization from the beneficiary's 
family for the LATTA to access the beneficiary's family's 
state tax return filed with the Louisiana Department of 
Revenue for the purpose of obtaining the federal adjusted 
gross income of the beneficiary's family; or 
 ii provide the LATTA a copy of the beneficiary's 
family's federal or state income tax return filed for the year 
immediately preceding the year in which the beneficiary of 
the account is being considered for an earnings 
enhancement; or 
 iii. provide documentation establishing that the 
beneficiary is a ward of the court. 

3.a. In completing the owner's agreement, account 
owner's who are classified under §303.A.1 or 2 (does not 
include legal entities or other persons classified as account 
owners under §303.A.5), authorize the LATTA to access 
their records with the Louisiana Department of Revenue for 
the purpose of verifying the account owners' federal adjusted 
gross income. In the event the account owner does not file 
tax information with the Louisiana Department of Revenue, 
they must provide the LATTA with: 
 i a copy of the form filed with the Internal 
Revenue Service; or 
 ii a statement as to why no income tax filing was 
required of the account owner. 

b. In completing the owner's agreement, account 
owners who are classified under §303.A.5, provide 
authorization from the beneficiary's family for the LATTA to 
access their records with the Louisiana Department of 
Revenue for the purpose of verifying the beneficiary's 
family's federal adjusted gross income. In the event the 
beneficiary's family does not file tax information with the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue, the beneficiary's family 
must provide: 
 i a copy of the form filed with the Internal 
Revenue Service; or 
 ii a statement that the beneficiary lives with 
them, that they provide more than 50 percent of the 
beneficiary's support and an explanation as to the 
beneficiary's family was not required to file an income tax 
return; or 
 iii. provide documentation establishing that the 
beneficiary is a ward of the court. 

B.4. - C.2. … 

D. Earnings Enhancement Rates. The earnings 
enhancement rates applicable to an education savings 
account under §303.A.1, 2 and 5 are determined by the 
federal adjusted gross income of the account owner or the 
beneficiary's family, as applicable, according to the 
following schedule. 

 
Reported Federal Adjusted 

Gross Income 
Earnings Enhancement 

Rate* 
 0 to $29,999 14 percent 

$30,000 to $44,999 12 percent 
$45,000 to $59,999  9 percent 
$60,000 to $74,999  6 percent 
$75,000 to $99,999   4 percent 
$100,000 and above   2 percent 

*Rates may be reduced pro rata, to limit Earnings 
Enhancements to amounts appropriated by the Legislature. 

 
E. - F. … 
G. Restrictions on allocation of earnings enhancements 

to education savings accounts. The allocation of earnings 
enhancements is limited to education savings Accounts 
which: 

1. are not fully funded accounts (See §107); and 
2. have an account owner who falls under one of the 

classifications described in §303.A.1, 2, 3 or 5. 
H. - J.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1271 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:1263 (June 2000), LR 26:2263 (October 2000), LR 
27:37 (January 2001) LR 27:1221 (August 2001), LR 27:1157 
(November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 29: 
§309. Disbursement of Account Funds for Payment of 

Qualified Higher Education Expenses of a 
Beneficiary  

A. Request for Disbursement
1. For each term the account owner intends to fund the 

beneficiary's qualified higher education expenses, the 
account owner shall submit a request for disbursement. 

2. The request for disbursement must include: 
a. the START Account number; 
b. the account owner's name, address, Social 

Security Number and signature (may be electronic); 
c. the beneficiary's name, address, and Social 

Security Number; 
d. the amount to be disbursed and to whom; and 
e. the name and address of the eligible education 

institution. 
3. The account owner may select the investment 

options from which the disbursement shall be made; 
provided that if no selection is made, the disbursement shall 
be made proportionally from each investment option in the 
account. 

4. If there is more than one account with the same 
beneficiary, each account owner requesting a disbursement 
must complete a request for disbursement and the 
disbursements shall be made from each account, in turn, in 
the order the disbursement requests were received. 

5. Disbursements from all accounts with the same 
beneficiary shall not exceed the qualified higher education 
expenses of the beneficiary for the school attended. 
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6. Disbursements may be made to the eligible 
education institution, account owner and/or beneficiary; 
however, for each disbursement, as a minimum, that portion 
of the disbursement representing earning enhancements and 
the interest thereon must be sent to the eligible educational 
institution in which the student is enrolled or intends to 
enroll. 

7. Disbursements from investment options with 
variable earnings will be assigned a trade date of one 
business day after the business day of receipt. 

B. Rate of Expenditure 
1. As authorized by the account owner, the amount to 

be disbursed from an account shall be drawn from deposits 
(including earnings on deposits) and earnings enhancements 
(including earnings on earnings enhancements) in the same 
ratio as these funds bear to the total value of the account as 
of the date of the disbursement. 

2. For an educational term, the account owner may not 
withdraw an amount in excess of the beneficiary's qualified 
higher education expenses for that term or the value of the 
account, whichever is less. 

C. Payments to Eligible Educational Institutions 
1. Upon the beneficiary's enrollment and the 

institution's receipt of a START disbursement, the institution 
may credit the student's account. Should the amount received 
exceed the amount owed to the institution, the institution 
shall disburse the balance to the beneficiary, unless the 
beneficiary directs otherwise.  

D. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:716 (June 
1997). Amended LR 24:1272 (July 1998), LR 26:2265 (October 
2000), LR 27:1881 (November 2001), LR 29: 
§311. Termination and Refund of an Education 

Savings Account  
A. … 
B. Account Terminations 

1. The account owner who is a natural person, other 
than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§303.A.5, may terminate an account at any time. 

2. - 5. ... 
6. The account owner who is a legal entity or is 

classified under §303.A.5, may not terminate an account, 
however, the account owner who is a legal entity or is 
classified under §303.A.5 may designate a substitute 
beneficiary in accordance with §313.A.4.b. 

C. Refunds 
1. A partial refund of an account may only be made as 

described in §311.F.3. 
2. ... 
3. No refunds shall be made to an account owner who 

is a legal entity classified under §303.A.3 or 4. If an account 
owned by a legal entity classified as an account owner under 
§303.A.3 or 4 is terminated by LATTA or by the account 
owner in accordance with §311.E or F, the refund will be 
made to the beneficiary or to the beneficiary's estate if no 
substitute beneficiary has been designated by the account 
owner.  

4. No refunds shall be paid to account owner 
classified under §303.A.5. If such an account is terminated 
by LATTA in accordance with §311.E, the beneficiary shall 
become the owner of the account, provided that, all the 
rights and restrictions provided in law and these rules 
regarding account owners classified under §303.A.5, 
including, but not limited to, use of the funds, refunds, 
terminations, designation of beneficiary, etc. shall be 
applicable to the beneficiary that becomes the owner of such 
an account. If an account owner classified under §303.A.5 
dies or is dissolved and the beneficiary has died or failed to 
enroll in an eligible college or university by age 25, and no 
substitute beneficiary has been designated by the account 
owner, the Authority shall designate a new beneficiary who 
must meet the requirements of §301.A.3 and §303.A.5. 

5. Refunds from investment options with variable 
earnings will be assigned a trade date of one business day 
after the business day of receipt. 

D. Designation of a Refund Recipient 
1. In the owner's agreement, the account owner who is 

a natural person, except one who is classified under 
§303.A.5, may designate the beneficiary to receive refunds 
from the account. 

2. Refunds of interest earnings will be reported as 
income to the individual receiving the refund for both 
federal and state tax purposes. 

3. In the event the beneficiary receives any refund of 
principal and earnings from the account, the tax consequence 
must be determined by the recipient.  

4. The beneficiary of an account owned by a legal 
entity classified as an account owner under §303.A.3 or 4 is 
automatically designated as the refund recipient. 

5. Funds in an account classified under §303.A.5 shall 
not be refunded. 

E. Involuntary Termination of an Account with Penalty 
1. The LATTA may terminate an owner's agreement if 

it finds that the account owner or beneficiary provided False 
or Misleading Information (see §107). 

2. If the LATTA terminates an owner's agreement 
under this Section, all interest earnings on principal deposits 
may be withheld and forfeited, with only principal being 
refunded.  

3. An individual who obtains program benefits by 
providing false or misleading information will be prosecuted 
to the full extent of the law. 

F. Voluntary Termination of an Account 
1. Refunds shall be equal to the redemption value of 

the education savings account at the time of the refund, and 
shall be made to the person designated in the owner's 
agreement or by rule. 

2. The person receiving the refund shall be 
responsible for any state or federal income tax that may be 
payable due to the refund. 

3. Except for accounts classified in accordance with 
§305.A.5, accounts may be terminated and fully refunded or 
partially refunded at the request of the account owner for the 
following reasons. 

a. the death of the beneficiary in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
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 i. the account owner, if the account owner is a 
natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary's estate, if the account owner is 
a legal entity. 

b. the disability of the beneficiary, in which case the 
refund shall be equal to the redemption value of the account 
and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the Account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity. 

c. the beneficiary receives a scholarship, waiver of 
Tuition, or similar subvention that the LATTA determines 
cannot be converted into money by the beneficiary, to the 
extent the amount of the refund does not exceed the amount 
of the scholarship, waiver of tuition, or similar subvention 
awarded to the beneficiary. In such case, the refund shall be 
equal to the scholarship, waiver of Tuition, or similar 
subvention that the LATTA determines cannot be converted 
into money by the beneficiary of the account, or the 
redemption value, whichever is less, and shall be made to: 
 i. the account owner or the beneficiary, as 
designated in the owner's agreement, if the Account owner is 
a natural person; or 
 ii. the beneficiary, if the account owner is a legal 
entity. 

4. Refunds made under this §311.F.3 are currently 
exempt from additional federal taxes. 

G. Effective Date of Account Termination. Account 
termination shall be effective at midnight on the business 
day on which the request for account termination and all 
supporting documents are received. Accounts will be 
credited with interest earned on principal deposits through 
the effective date of the closure of the account. 

H. Refund Payments. Payment of refunds for voluntary 
termination under §311.F or partial refunds of accounts 
pursuant to §311.F.3 shall be made within 30 days of the 
date on which the account was terminated. The termination 
refund shall consist of the principal remaining in the account 
and interest remaining in the account accrued on the 
principal through the end of the last calendar year. Interest 
earned in excess of $3 during the calendar year of 
termination will be refunded on or about the forty-fifth day 
after the start of the next calendar year. Interest earned of $3 
or less during the calendar year of termination will be 
forfeited to the Louisiana Education and Tuition Savings 
Fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:717 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1273 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2265 (October 2000), amended LR 27:38 (January 2001), LR 
27:1882 (November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 29: 
§313. Substitution, Assignment, and Transfer 

A. - A.3. … 
4. If the substitute beneficiary is not a member of the 

family of the previous beneficiary: 
a. and the account owner is a natural person 

classified under §303.A.1-4, the account must be refunded to 
the account owner and a new account must be opened; 

b. and the account owner is a legal entity classified 
under §303.A. 3 or 4, a new account shall be opened in the 
name of the new beneficiary; and 
 i. - ii. … 

c. and the account owner is classified under 
§303.A. 5, a new account shall be opened in the name of the 
new beneficiary only if the beneficiary meets all the 
requirements of §303.A. 5; and 
 i. these transfers may be treated as refunds under 
federal and state tax laws in which case the account owner 
will be subject to any associated tax consequences; and 
 ii. the earnings enhancements and interest thereon 
will not be transferred to the new beneficiary; (Note that the 
deposit(s) will be eligible for earnings enhancement for the 
year of the deposit.) 
 iii. the provisions of §301.A.2 shall apply to 
account owners classified in accordance with §305.A.5. 

B. - C.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2266 (October 2000), amended LR 27:1883 (November 2001), 
LR 28:780 (April 2002), LR 29: 
§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. - H. … 
I. No Investment Direction. No account owner or 

beneficiary of an education savings account may direct the 
investment of funds credited to an account, except to make 
an annual election among investment options that offer fixed 
earnings, variable earnings or both. Deposits will be invested 
on behalf of the START Savings Program by the State 
Treasurer. 

J. - R. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23: 718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), amended LR 26:1263 
(June 2000), repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended 
LR 27:1221 (August 2001), LR 27:1884 (November 2001), LR 
28:1761 (August 2002), LR 28:2335 (November 2002), LR 29: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0308#050 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Remediation of Sites with Contaminated Media  
(LAC 33:V.109)(HW084E) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), which allows 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish Rules, and under the authority of 
R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the department hereby 
declares that an emergency action is necessary in order to 
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implement Rules to address the remediation of sites with 
contaminated environmental media. 

Current regulation causes contaminated environmental 
media to retain the description of having RCRA-listed waste 
"contained-in", therefore slowing the remediation of the site 
or possibly halting it completely due to administration and 
disposal issues. This Rule will remove a regulatory hurdle 
that deters site remediation. The incentive to remediate 
pollution stems from the resulting substantially reduced 
disposal and transportation costs for contaminated 
environmental media that are not required to be managed in 
the same manner as hazardous waste. The Rule will also 
result in simplification of the waste handling process by 
reducing administrative requirements and providing greater 
consistency with non-RCRA waste handling requirements 
and practices. This will provide strong motivation to initiate 
and accelerate voluntary remediation of contaminated sites 
without increasing risks to human health or the environment. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on August 10, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until a 
final Rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For more 
information concerning HW084E you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

QualityCHazardous Waste 
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms 
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Hazardous WasteCa solid waste, as defined in this 

Section, is a hazardous waste if: 
1. - 2.c.vii. … 
d. it consists of environmental media (soil, 

sediments, surface water, or groundwater) that contain one 
or more hazardous wastes listed in LAC 33:V.4901 (unless 
excluded by one of the exclusions contained in this 
definition) or that exhibit any of the characteristics of 
hazardous waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903. 
Environmental media no longer contain a hazardous waste 
when concentrations remaining in the media are below 
RECAP Screening Standards (LAC 33:I.Chapter 13) and the 
media no longer exhibit any of the characteristics of 
hazardous waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903. However, 
land disposal restrictions (LAC 33:V.Chapter 22) apply to 
such environmental media even though the media may no 
longer contain a hazardous waste. 

e. Rebuttable Presumption for Used Oil. Used oil 
containing more than 1,000 ppm total halogens is presumed 
to be a hazardous waste because it has been mixed with 
halogenated hazardous waste listed in LAC 33:V.4901. 
Persons may rebut this presumption by demonstrating that 
the used oil does not contain hazardous waste (e.g., by using 
an analytical method from LAC 33:V.Chapter 49.Appendix 
A to show that the used oil does not contain significant  

concentrations of halogenated hazardous constituents 
listed in LAC 33:V.3105.Table 1). 
 i. The rebuttable presumption does not apply to 
metalworking oils/fluids containing chlorinated paraffins, if 
they are processed, through a tolling agreement, to reclaim 
metalworking oils/fluids. The presumption does apply to 
metalworking oils/fluids if such oils/fluids are recycled in 
any other manner or disposed. 
 ii. The rebuttable presumption does not apply to 
used oils contaminated with Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) 
removed from refrigeration units where the CFCs are 
destined for reclamation. The rebuttable presumption does 
apply to used oils contaminated with CFCs that have been 
mixed with used oil from sources other than refrigeration 
units. 

3. - 6.b. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 
LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218 
(March 1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), 
LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 
(April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 
18:1375 (December 1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid 
and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 
1993), amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 
20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 
(September 1995), LR 22:814 (September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 
1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 
24:1688 (September 1998), LR 25:433 (March 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 1999), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:269 (February 2000), LR 26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 
(March 2001), LR 27:708 (May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 
28:1191 (June 2002), LR 29:318 (March 2003), LR 29: 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary 

0308#060 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Unauthorized Emissions Reporting Procedures 
(LAC 33:I.3931)(OS052E) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, which 
allows the Department of Environmental Quality 
("department") to use Emergency procedures to establish 
Rules, and R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the department
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hereby finds that imminent peril to the public welfare exists 
and accordingly adopts the following Emergency Rule, 
which shall be effective seven days after the date of adoption 
for 120 days, or until promulgation of the final Rule, 
whichever occurs first. 

In the last two years, the Baton Rouge Nonattainment 
Area (the parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, 
Iberville, Livingston, and West Baton Rouge) has 
experienced exceedances of the one-hour National Ambient 
Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) promulgated by the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). These 
exceedances did not occur during circumstances that 
typically result in excessive ozone formation and led to 
ozone readings the Baton Rouge area has not experienced in 
a decade. The ozone readings for two separate episodes in 
September 2002 and July 2003 were 164 parts per billion 
(ppb) and 174 ppb respectively, over 30 percent above the 
standard. Monitoring results from these exceedances indicate 
a high rate and efficiency of ozone production, which was 
limited spatially to the immediate Baton Rouge area. These 
ozone episodes correspond very well to the kind of episodes 
that have occurred in the Houston/Galveston areas. The 
Texas Air Quality Study, conducted in the 
Houston/Galveston areas, concluded that the reactivity of the 
hydrocarbons was most often dominated by low molecular 
weight alkenes and aromatics resulting in explosive ozone 
formation. Air quality sampling in the Baton Rouge area also 
showed substantial quantities of the mentioned ozone 
precursors. The ozone formation experienced in the Baton 
Rouge area may similarly be the result of the emissions of 
"highly reactive" ozone precursors.  

The department needs additional information regarding 
the emissions of these highly reactive ozone precursors to 
understand, predict, and prevent further exceedances of the 
ozone standard. Results from computer simulations based on 
Houston's industrial regions suggest emissions of as little as 
100 pounds of light alkenes and aromatics can lead to 50 ppb 
or greater enhancements of ozone concentrations. Baton 
Rouge's type of industry (petrochemical plants and 
refineries) and meteorological conditions are similar enough 
to Houston to warrant further investigation. This information 
is needed immediately to monitor the remainder of the 2003 
ozone season in the hopes of achieving attainment of the 
standard. Facilities are to continue to follow the LAC 
33:I.Chapter 39 reporting protocols and, whenever possible, 
to utilize the new notification procedures found at 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/surveillance/irf/forms and 
http://www.deq.state.la.us/surveillance. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on August 12, 2003, and 
shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or until a 
final Rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For more 
information concerning OS052E, you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of Secretary 
Subpart 2.  Notification 

Chapter 39. Notification Regulations and Procedures 
for Unauthorized Discharges 

Subchapter E. Reportable Quantities for Notification of 
Unauthorized Discharges 

§3931. Reportable Quantity List for Pollutants 
A. - A.2. … 
B. Modifications or Additions. The following table 

contains modifications to the federal reportable quantity lists 
incorporated by reference in Subsection A of this Section, as 
well as reportable quantities for additional pollutants. 

 

Pollutant CAS No.1 RCRA2 Waste 
Number Pounds 

Acetaldehyde 75070 U001 100┼

* * * 
2-Butanone 78933 U159 5000/1000@

Butenes (all 
isomers except 
1,3 butadiene) 

25167673   100┼

* * * 
Ethylene 74851   5000/(100)┼

* * * 
Propionaldehyde  123386   1000/100@

Propylene 115071   100┼

* * * 
Thiomethanol 74931 U153 100/25@

Toluene 108883 U220 100┼

* * * 
Volatile Organic 
Compounds not 
otherwise listed4

    5000 

Highly reactive 
volatile organic 
compounds listed 
below: 
acetaldehyde; 
butenes (all 
isomers); 
ethylene; 
propylene 
toluene;  
xylene (all 
isomers); and/or 
isoprene5

    100 

Note* - Note4 … 
5The combined emission of these highly reactive VOC shall be 
totaled to determine if a RQ has been exceeded.  
Note@ … 
┼For facilities in the following parishes: Ascension, East Baton 
Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, West Baton Rouge, St. Charles, 
St. James, St. John the Baptist, Pointe Coupee, and West 
Feliciana. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2025(J), 2060(H), 2076(D), 2183(I), 2194(C), 2204(A), and 
2373(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:183 (February 
1994), amended by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation
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Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 
22:341 (May 1996), amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 
24:1288 (July 1998), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:2229 
(December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 29:698 (May 2003), 
LR 29: 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary 

0308#061 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Community Supports and Services 

Home and Community Based Services Waivers  
New Opportunities Waiver 

(LAC 50:XXI.Chapters 137-141) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
amends LAC 50.XXI.Subpart 11 as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

Act 1147 of the 2001 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature created the Disability Services and Supports 
System Planning Group composed of representatives from 
groups including, but not limited to, individuals with 
disabilities, developmental disabilities and mental illness. 
The mission of the planning group is to consider and 
propose provisions for comprehensive efforts to enhance 
Louisiana's long term care system which include informed 
choice and quality supports for individuals of all ages with 
disabilities. Based on recommendations made by the 
planning group and a stakeholder task force, the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services promulgated an 
Emergency Rule to implement a new home and community 
based services waiver designed to enhance the support 
services available to individuals with developmental 
disabilities. This new home and community based services 
waiver is titled the New Opportunities Waiver (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 29, Number 6). The bureau now proposes 
to promulgate an Emergency Rule to amend the July 1, 2003 
Emergency Rule in order to add discharge criteria and 
clarify other provisions contained in the Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of those individuals with developmental disabilities 
or mental retardation who are in need of such services and 
are on a request for services registry. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will increase 
program expenditures by approximately $54,357,522 for 
state fiscal year 2003-2004. 

Effective for dates of service on and after August 20, 
2003, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Community Supports and Services 
amends provisions of the July 1, 2003 Emergency Rule 
governing the establishment of the New Opportunities 

Waiver in accordance with Section 1915(c) of the Social 
Security Act and the approved waiver application document 
and attachments. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXI.  Home and Community Based 
Services Waivers 

Subpart 11.  New Opportunities Waiver 
Chapter 137. General Provisions 
§13701. Introduction 

A. The New Opportunities Waiver (NOW), hereafter 
referred to as NOW, is designed to enhance the long term 
services and supports available to individuals with 
developmental disabilities or mental retardation, who would 
otherwise require an intermediate care facility for the 
mentally retarded (ICF-MR) level of care. The mission of 
NOW is to utilize the principle of self determination and 
supplement the family and/or community supports that are 
available to maintain the individual in the community. In 
keeping with the principles of self-determination, NOW 
includes a self-direction option. This allows for greater 
flexibility in hiring, training, and general service delivery 
issues. NOW replaces the current Mentally 
Retarded/Developmentally Disabled (MR/DD) waiver after 
recipients of that waiver have been transitioned into NOW. 

B. All NOW services are accessed through the case 
management agency of the recipient's choice. All services 
must be prior authorized and delivered in accordance with 
the Bureau of Community Supports and Services (BCSS) 
approved comprehensive plan of care (CPOC). The CPOC 
shall be developed using a person-centered process 
coordinated by the individual's case manager. 

C. Providers must maintain adequate documentation to 
support service delivery and compliance with the approved 
plan of care and will provide said documentation at the 
request of BCSS. 

D. In order for the NOW provider to bill for services, the 
individual and the direct service provider, professional or 
other practitioner rendering service must be present at the 
time the service is rendered. The service must be 
documented in service notes describing the service rendered 
and progress towards the recipient's personal outcomes and 
CPOC. 

E. Only the following NOW services shall be provided 
for or billed for the same hours on the same day as any other 
NOW service: 

1. substitute family care; 
2. residential habilitation; and 
3. skilled nursing services; 

a. skilled nursing services may be provided with: 
 i. substitute family care; 
 ii. residential habilitation; 
 iii. day habilitation; 
 iv. supported employment (all three modules); 
and/or 
 v. employment related training. 

F. The average recipient expenditures for all waiver 
services shall not exceed the average Medicaid expenditures 
for ICF-MR services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13703. Recipient Qualifications for NOW Eligibility 

A. In order to qualify for NOW, an individual must be 
three years of age or older, offered a waiver opportunity 
(slot) and meet all of the following criteria: 

1. meet the definitions for mental retardation or 
developmentally disability as specified in R.S. 28:380; 

2. be on the Mentally Retarded/Developmentally 
Disabled (MR/DD) Request for Services Registry (RFSR); 

3. meet the financial eligibility requirements for the 
Medicaid Program;  

4. meet the medical requirements; 
5. meet the requirements for an ICF-MR level of care; 
6. meet the health and welfare assurance 

requirements; 
7. be a resident of Louisiana; and 
8. be a citizen of the United States or a qualified alien. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13705. NOW Discharge Criteria 

A. Recipients shall be discharged from the NOW 
Program if one of the following criteria is met: 

1. loss of Medicaid eligibility as determined by the 
parish Medicaid Office; 

2. loss of eligibility for an ICF-MR level of care as 
determined by the Regional BCSS office; 

3. incarceration or placement under the jurisdiction of 
penal authorities, courts or state juvenile authorities; 

4. change of residence to another state with the intent 
to become a resident of that state; 

5. admission to an ICF-MR facility or nursing facility 
with the intent not to return to waiver services; 

6. the health and welfare of the waiver recipient 
cannot be assured in the community through the provision of 
reasonable amounts of waiver services as determined by the 
Regional BCSS Office, i.e., the waiver recipient presents a 
danger to himself or others; 

7. failure to cooperate in either the eligibility 
determination process, or the initial or annual 
implementation of the approved Comprehensive Plan of 
Care (CPOC) or the responsibilities of the NOW recipient; 
or 

8. continuity of services is interrupted as a result of 
the recipient not receiving NOW services during a period of 
30 or more consecutive days. This does not include 
interruptions in NOW services because of hospitalization, 
institutionalization (such as ICFs-MR or nursing facilities), 
or non-routine lapses in services where the family agrees to 
provide all needed or paid natural supports. This interruption 
can not exceed 90 days and there is a documented 
expectation that the individual will return to the NOW 
services. During this 90-day period, BCSS will not authorize 
payment for NOW services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 

Chapter 139. Covered Services 
§13901. Individualized and Family Support Services 

A. Individualized and Family Support (IFS) are direct 
support and assistance services provided in the home or the 
community that allow the recipient to achieve and/or 
maintain increased independence, productivity, enhanced 
family functioning and inclusion in the community or for the 
relief of the primary caregiver. Transportation is included in 
the reimbursement for these services. Reimbursement for 
these services includes the development of a service plan for 
the provision of these services, based on the BCSS-approved 
CPOC. 

1. IFS-Day (IFS-D) services will be authorized during 
waking hours for up to 16 hours when natural supports are 
unavailable in order to provide continuity of services to the 
recipient. Waking hours are the period of time when the 
recipient is awake and not limited to traditional daytime 
hours. 

2. IFS-Night (IFS-N) services are direct support and 
assistance provided to individuals during sleeping hours for 
a minimum of eight hours. The IFS-N worker must be 
immediately available in the same residence and able to 
respond. Night hours is the period of time when the recipient 
is asleep and there is a reduced frequency and intensity of 
required assistance and is not limited to traditional nighttime 
hours. Documentation must support this level of assistance.  

B. IFS services may be shared by related waiver 
recipients who live together or up to three unrelated waiver 
recipients who live together. Waiver recipients may share 
IFS services staff when agreed to by the recipients and 
health and welfare can be assured for each individual. 
Shared IFS services, hereafter referred to as shared support 
services, may be either day or night services. 

C. IFS (day or night) services include: 
1. assisting and prompting with the following 

activities of daily living (ADL): 
a. personal hygiene; 
b. dressing; 
c. bathing; 
d. grooming; 
e. eating; 
f. toileting; 
g. ambulation or transfers; 
h. other personal care and behavioral support needs; 

and  
i. any medical task which can be delegated; 

2. assisting and/or training in the performance of tasks 
related to maintaining a safe, healthy and stable home, such 
as: 

a. housekeeping; 
b. laundry; 
c. cooking; 
d. evacuating the home in emergency situations; 
e. shopping; and  
f. money management; 

3. personal support and assistance in participating in 
community, health, and leisure activities; 

4. support and assistance in developing relationships 
with neighbors and others in the community and in 
strengthening existing informal social networks and natural 
supports; 
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5. enabling and promoting individualized community 
supports targeted toward inclusion into meaningful 
integrated experiences; and 

6. providing orientation and information to acute 
hospital nursing staff concerning the recipient=s specific 
Activities of Daily Living (ADL's), communication, 
positioning and behavioral needs. All medical decisions will 
be made by appropriate medical staff. 

D. Exclusions. The following exclusions apply to IFS 
services. 

1. Reimbursement shall not be paid for services 
furnished by a legally responsible relative. A legally 
responsible relative is defined as the parent of a minor child, 
foster parent, curator, tutor, legal guardian, or the recipient's 
spouse. 

2. In compliance with licensing regulations, IFS-D 
and IFS-N services shall not include services provided in the 
IFS-D or IFS-N worker's residence, regardless of the 
relationship, unless the worker's residence is a certified 
foster care home. 

E. Staffing Criteria and Limitations 
1. IFS-D or IFS-N services may be provided by a 

member of the recipient's family, provided that the recipient 
does not live in the family member's residence and the 
family member is not the legally responsible relative as 
defined in §13901.D.1.  

2. Family members who provide IFS services must 
meet the same standards as providers or direct care staff who 
are unrelated to the individual. 

3. An IFS-D or N worker shall not work more than 16 
hours in a 24-hour period unless there is a documented 
emergency or a time-limited non-routine need that is 
documented in the BCSS-approved CPOC. An IFS-D or N 
shared supports worker shall not work more than 16 hours in 
a 24-hour period unless there is a documented emergency or 
a time-limited non-routine need that is documented in the 
BCSS-approved CPOC. 

F. Place of Service 
1. IFS services shall be provided in the State of 

Louisiana. Consideration shall be given to requests for the 
provision of IFS services outside the state on a case-by-case 
basis for time-limited periods or emergencies. Exceptions to 
this requirement may be granted for a documented 
emergency or a time-limited non-routine need documented 
in the BCSS-approved CPOC. 

2. Provision of IFS services shall not be authorized 
outside of the United States or the Territories of the United 
States.  

G. Provider Requirements. Providers must possess a 
current, valid license as a Personal Care Attendant agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13903. Center-Based Respite Care 

A. Center-Based Respite (CBR) Care is temporary, short-
term care provided to a recipient with mentally retarded or 
developmental disabilities who requires support and/or 
supervision in his/her day-to-day life due to the absence or 
relief of the primary caregiver. While receiving center-based 
respite care, the recipient's routine is maintained in order to 
attend school, work or other community activities/outings. 

The respite center is responsible for providing transportation 
for community outings, as that is included as part of their 
reimbursement.  

B. Exclusions. The cost of room and board is not 
included in the reimbursement paid to the respite center. 

C. Service Limits. CBR services shall not to exceed 720 
hours per recipient, per CPOC year.  

D. Provider Requirements. The provider shall possess a 
current, valid license as a Respite Care Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13905. Community Integration Development 

A. Community Integration Development (CID) 
facilitates the development of opportunities to assist 
recipients who are 18 years and older in becoming involved 
in their community through the creation of natural supports. 
The purpose of CID is to encourage and foster the 
development of meaningful relationships in the community 
reflecting the recipient's choices and values. Objectives 
outlined in the Comprehensive Plan of Care will afford 
opportunities to increase community inclusion, participation 
in leisure/recreational activities, and encourage participation 
in volunteer and civic activities. Reimbursement for this 
service includes the development of a service plan. The 
recipient must be present in order to receive this service. The 
recipient may share CID services with one other NOW 
recipient. 

B. Transportation costs are included in the 
reimbursement for CID services. 

C. Service Limitations. Services shall not exceed 60 
hours per recipient per CPOC year. 

D. Provider Qualifications. The provider must possess a 
current, valid license as a Supervised Independent Living 
agency or Personal Care Attendant agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13907. Residential Habilitation-Supported Independent 

Living  
A. Residential Habilitation-Supported Independent 

Living (SIL) assists the recipient to acquire, improve or 
maintain those social and adaptive skills necessary to enable 
an individual to reside in the community and to participate 
as independently as possible. SIL services include assistance 
and/or training in the performance of tasks such as personal 
grooming, housekeeping and money management. Payment 
for this service includes oversight and administration and the 
development of service plans for the enhancement of 
socialization with age-appropriate activities that provide 
enrichment and may promote wellness. These services also 
assist the individual in obtaining financial aid, housing, 
advocacy and self-advocacy training as appropriate, 
emergency support, trained staff and assisting the recipient 
in accessing other programs for which he/she qualifies. SIL 
recipients must be 18 years or older.  

B. Place of Service. Services are provided in the 
recipient's residence and/or in the community. The 
recipient's residence includes his/her apartment or house, 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 08   August 20, 2003 1439



provided that he/she does not live in the residence of any 
legally responsible relative. An exception will be considered 
when the recipient lives in the residence of a spouse or 
disabled parent, or a parent age 70 or older. Family members 
who are not legally responsible relatives as defined in 
§13901.D.1, can be SIL workers provided they meet the 
same qualifications as any other SIL worker. 

C. Exclusions 
1. Legally responsible relatives may not be SIL 

providers. 
2. SIL shall not include the cost of: 

a. meals or the supplies needed for preparation; 
b. room and board; 
c. home maintenance, or upkeep and improvement; 
d. direct or indirect payment to members of the 

recipient's legally responsible relative; 
e. routine care and supervision which could be 

expected to be provided by a family; or 
f. activities or supervision for which a payment is 

made by a source other than Medicaid e.g., Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD), etc. 

D. Service Limit. SIL services are limited to one service 
per day, per CPOC year. 

E. Provider Qualifications. The provider must possess a 
current, valid license for the Supervised Independent Living 
module issued by the Department of Social Services, Bureau 
of Licensing. 

F. Provider Responsibilities 
1. Minimum direct services by the SIL agency include 

three documented contacts per week, by the SIL provider 
agency, with at least one contact being face-to-face in 
addition to the approved direct support hours. 

2. The provider must furnish back up staff that is 
available on a 24-hour basis. 

3. Residential habilitation services shall be 
coordinated with any services listed in the BCSS-approved 
CPOC, and may serve to reinforce skills or lessons taught in 
school, therapy or other settings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13909. Substitute Family Care 

A. Substitute Family Care (SFC) provides for day 
programming, transportation, independent living training, 
community integration, homemaker, chore, attendant care 
and companion services, and medication oversight (to the 
extent permitted under state law) to recipients residing in a 
licensed substitute family care home. The service is a stand-
alone family living arrangement for individuals age 18 and 
older. The SFC house parents assume the direct 
responsibility for the individual=s physical, social, and 
emotional well-being and growth, including family ties. 
Immediate family members (mother, father, brother and/or 
sister) cannot be substitute family care parents. 
Reimbursement for this service includes the development of 
a service plan based on the approved CPOC. 

B. Service Limits. SFC services are limited to one 
service per day. 

C. Provider Qualifications. The provider must possess a 
current, valid license as a Substitute Family Care agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13911. Day Habilitation 

A.1. Day habilitation is assistance with social and 
adaptive skills necessary to enable the recipient to reside in a 
community setting and to participate as independently as 
possible in the community. These services focus on 
socialization with meaningful age-appropriate activities 
which provide enrichment and promote wellness, as 
indicated in the person-centered plan. Day habilitation 
services must be directed by a service plan and provide 
assistance and/or training in the performance of tasks related 
to acquiring, maintaining or improving skills including, but 
not limited to: 

a. personal grooming; 
b. housekeeping; 
c. laundry; 
d. cooking; 
e. shopping; and 
f. money management. 

2. Day Habilitation services shall be coordinated with 
any therapy, employment-related training, or supported 
employment models that the recipient may be receiving. The 
recipient does not receive payment for the activities in which 
they are engaged. The recipient must be 18 years of age or 
older in order to receive day habilitation services. 

B. Service Limits. Services can be provided one or more 
hours per day but not to exceed six hours per day or  
6,240 1/4 hour units of service per Comprehensive Plan of 
Care (CPOC) year. 

C. Licensing Requirements. The provider must possess a 
current, valid license as an Adult Day Care Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13913. Supported Employment 

A. Supported employment is competitive work in an 
integrated work setting, or employment in an integrated 
work setting in which the individuals are working toward 
competitive work that is consistent with the strengths, 
resources, priorities, interests, and informed choice of 
individuals for whom competitive employment has not 
traditionally occurred. The recipient must be 18 years of age 
or older in order to receive supported employment services. 

B. These are services provided to individuals who are 
not served by Louisiana Rehabilitation Services, need more 
intense, long-term follow along and usually cannot be 
competitively employed because supports cannot be 
successfully phased out. 

C. Supported employment is conducted in a variety of 
settings, particularly work sites in which persons without 
disabilities are employed. Supported employment includes 
activities needed by waiver recipients to sustain paid work,

Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 08   August 20, 2003 1440



including supervision and training and is based on an 
individualized service plan. Supported employment includes 
assistance and prompting with: 

1. personal hygiene; 
2. dressing;  
3. grooming; 
4. eating; 
5. toileting; 
6. ambulation or transfers; 
7. other personal care and behavioral support needs; 

and 
8. any medical task which can be delegated. 

D. Supported Employment Models. Reimbursement for 
supported employment includes an individualized service 
plan for each model. 

1. A one-to-one model of supported employment is a 
placement strategy in which an employment specialist (job 
coach) places a person into competitive employment, 
provides training and support and then gradually reduces 
time and assistance at the work site. This service is time 
limited to six to eight weeks in duration. 

2. Follow along services are designed for individuals 
who are in supported employment and have been placed in a 
work site and only require the oversight of a minimum of 
two visits per month for follow along at the job site. 

3. Mobile Work Crew/Enclave is an employment 
setting in which a group of eight or fewer workers with 
disabilities who perform work in a variety of locations under 
the supervision of a permanent employment specialist (job 
coach/supervisor). Typically this service is up to six hours 
per day, five days per week.  

E. Service Exclusions 
1. Services shall not be used in conjunction or 

simultaneously with any other waiver service, except 
substitute family care, residential habilitation supported 
independent living, and skilled nursing services. 

2. When supported employment services are provided 
at a work site in which persons without disabilities are 
employees, payment will be made only for the adaptations, 
supervision and training required by individuals receiving 
waiver services as a result of their disabilities, and will not 
include payment for the supervisory activities rendered as a 
normal part of the business setting. 

3. Services are not available to individuals who are 
eligible to participate in programs funded under Section 110 
of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or Section 602(16) and 
(17) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 
U.S.C. 1401(16) and (71). 

F. Service Limits 
1. One-to-One intensive services shall not exceed 

1,280 1/4 hour units per CPOC year. Services shall be 
limited to eight hours a day, five days a week, for six to eight 
weeks. 

2. Follow along services shall not exceed 24 days per 
CPOC year. 

3. Mobile Crew/Enclave services shall not exceed 
8,320 1/4 hour units of service per CPOC year, without 
additional documentation. This is eight hours per day, five 
days per week. 

G. Licensing Requirements. The provider must possess a 
current valid license as an Adult Day Care Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13915. Transportation for Day Habilitation and 

Supported Employment Models 
A. Transportation provided between the recipient's 

residence and the site of the day habilitation or supported 
employment model, or between the day habilitation and 
supported employment model site (if the recipient receives 
services in more than one place) is reimbursable when day 
habilitation or supported employment model has been 
provided. Reimbursement will be a daily rate for a round trip 
fare. A round trip is defined as transportation from the 
recipient's place of residence and return to the recipient's 
place of residence. The round trip shall be documented in the 
provider's transportation log.  

B. Licensing Requirements. Transportation providers 
must possess a current valid license as an Adult Day Care 
Center. The licensed provider must carry $1,000,000 liability 
insurance on the vehicles used in transporting the recipients. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13917. Employment-Related Training 

A. Employment-related training consists of paid 
employment for recipients for whom competitive 
employment at or above the minimum wage is unlikely, and 
who need intensive ongoing support to perform in a work 
setting because of their disabilities. Services are aimed at 
providing recipients with opportunities for employment and 
related training in work environments one to eight hours a 
day, one to five days a week at a commensurate wage in 
accordance with United States Department of Labor 
regulations and guidelines. The recipient must be 18 years or 
older in order to receive employment-related training 
services. Reimbursement for these services includes 
transportation and requires an individualized service plan. 

B. Employment-related training services include, but are 
not limited to: 

1. assistance and prompting in the development of 
employment related skills. This may include: 

a. assistance with personal hygiene; 
b. dressing; 
c. grooming; 
d. eating; 
e. toileting; 
f. ambulation or transfers;  
g. behavioral support needs; and 
h. any medical task which can be delegated; 

2. employment at a commensurate wage at a provider 
facility for a set or variable number of hours; 

3. observation of an employee of an area business in 
order to obtain information to make an informed choice 
regarding vocational interest; 

4. instruction on how to use equipment; 
5. instruction on how to observe basic personal safety 

skills; 
6. assistance in planning appropriate meals for lunch 

while at work; 
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7. instruction on basic personal finance skills; 
8. information and counseling to a recipient and, as 

appropriate, his/her family on benefits planning and 
assistance in the process. 

C. Exclusions. The following service exclusions apply to 
employment-related training. 

1. Services are not available to recipients who are 
eligible to participate in programs funded under Section 110 
of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or Section 602(16) and 
(17) of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, 20 
U.S.C. 1401(16) and (71). 

D. Service Limits. Services shall not exceed eight hours 
a day, five days a week, and cannot exceed 6,240 1/4 hour 
units of service per CPOC year. 

E. Licensing Requirements. The provider must possess a 
current, valid license as an Adult Day Care Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13919. Environmental Accessibility Adaptations 

A. Environmental accessibility adaptations are physical 
adaptations to the home or a vehicle that are necessary to 
ensure the health, welfare, and safety of the recipient or that 
enable him/her to function with greater independence in the 
home and/or community. Without these services, the 
recipient would require additional supports or 
institutionalization. 

B. Such adaptations may include: 
1. installation of non-portable ramps and grab-bars; 
2. widening of doorways; 
3. modification of bathroom facilities; or 
4. installation of specialized electric and plumbing 

systems which are necessary to accommodate the medical 
equipment and supplies for the welfare of the individual. 

C. Requirements for Authorization. Items reimbursed 
through NOW funds shall be supplemental to any 
adaptations furnished under the Medicaid State Plan. 

1. Any service covered under the Medicaid State Plan 
shall not be authorized by NOW. The environmental 
accessibility adaptation(s) must be delivered, installed, 
operational, and reimbursed in the CPOC year in which it 
was approved. Three written itemized detailed bids, 
including drawings with the dimensions of the existing and 
proposed floor plans relating to the modification, must be 
obtained and submitted for prior authorization. 
Modifications may be applied to rental or leased property 
with the written approval of the landlord. Reimbursement 
shall not be paid until receipt of written documentation that 
the job has been completed to the satisfaction of the 
recipient. 

2. Three bids may not be required if the 
environmental accessibility adaptations are available from a 
single source supplier due to the distance of the recipient's 
home from other environmental accessibility adaptations 
providers. The justification and agreement by the service 
planning/support team for not providing three bids must be 
included with any request for prior approval. 

3. Excluded are those adaptations or improvements to 
the residence that are of general utility or maintenance and 
are not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the 
individual, including, but not limited to: 

a. air conditioning or heating; 
b. flooring; 
c. roofing, installation or repairs; 
d. smoke and carbon monoxide detectors, 

sprinklers, fire extinguishers, or hose; or 
e. furniture or appliances. 

4. Adaptations which add to the total square footage 
or add to the total living area under the roof of the residence 
are excluded from this benefit. 

5. Home modification is not intended to cover basic 
construction cost.  

6. Excluded are those vehicle adaptations which are of 
general utility or for maintenance of the vehicle or repairs to 
adaptations. 

D. Service Limits. There is a cap of $4,000 per recipient 
for environmental accessibility adaptations. Once a recipient 
reaches 90 percent or greater of the cap and the account has 
been dormant for three years, the recipient may access 
another $4,000. Any additional environmental accessibility 
expenditures during the dormant period reset the three-year 
time frame.  

E. Provider Qualifications. The provider must be an 
enrolled Medicaid provider and comply with applicable state 
and local laws governing licensure and/or certification. All 
persons performing the services (building contractors, 
plumbers, electricians, engineers, etc.) must meet all state or 
local requirements for licensure or certification. When state 
and local building or housing code standards are applicable, 
modifications to the home shall meet such standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13921. Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies 

A. Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies (SMES) 
are devices, controls, or appliances which enable the 
recipient to: 

1. increase his/her ability to perform the activities of 
daily living; 

2. ensure safety; or 
3. perceive and control the environment in which 

he/she lives. 
B. The service includes medically necessary durable and 

nondurable medical equipment not covered under the 
Medicaid State Plan. NOW will not cover non-medically 
necessary items. All items shall meet applicable standards of 
manufacture, design and installation.  

C. All alternate funding sources that are available to the 
recipient shall be pursued before a request for the purchase 
or lease of specialized equipment and supplies will be 
considered. 

D. Exclusion. Excluded are specialized equipment and 
supplies that are of general utility or maintenance, but are 
not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual. 
Refer to the New Opportunities Waiver Provider Manual for 
a list of examples. 

E. Service Limitations. There is a cap of $4,000 per 
individual for specialized equipment and supplies. Once a 
recipient reaches 90 percent or greater of the cap and the 
account has been dormant for three years, the recipient may 
access another $4,000. Any additional specialized equipment 
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and supplies expenditures during the dormant period reset 
the three-year time frame. 

F. Provider Qualifications. Providers must be enrolled in 
the Medicaid Program as a durable medical equipment 
provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13923. Personal Emergency Response Systems 

A. Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS) is a 
rented electronic device connected to the person's phone and 
programmed to signal a response center which enables an 
individual to secure help in an emergency. 

B. Recipient Qualifications. Personal emergency 
response systems (PERS) services are available to those 
persons who: 

1. live alone without the benefit of a natural 
emergency back-up system; 

2. live alone and would otherwise require extensive 
IFS services or other NOW services; 

3. need support due to cognitive limitations until they 
are educated on the use of PERS; 

4. have a demonstrated need for quick emergency 
back-up; 

5. live with older or disabled care; or 
6. are unable to use other communications systems as 

they are not adequate to summon emergency assistance. 
C. Coverage of the PERS is limited to the rental of the 

electronic device. PERS services shall include the cost of 
maintenance and training the recipient to use the equipment. 

D. Provider Qualifications. The provider must be an 
enrolled Medicaid provider of the Personal Emergency 
Response System. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13925. Professional Consultation 

A. Professional consultation are services designed to 
evaluate, develop programs, and train natural and formal 
care givers to implement training or therapy programs, 
which will increase the individual's independence, 
participation, and productivity in his/her home, work, and 
community. These services are not meant to be long-term 
on-going services. They are normally meant be short-term or 
intermittent services to develop critical skills which may be 
self-managed by the individual or maintained by natural and 
formal care givers. The recipient must be present in all 
aspects of the consultation in order for the professional to 
receive payment for these services. Service intensity, 
frequency and duration will be determined by individual 
need. These services may include assessments or periodic 
reassessments, and may be direct or indirect. Documentation 
of services provided must be available on-site. The 
professional consultation services are to be used only when 
the services are not covered under the Medicaid State Plan. 
The recipients must be 21 years or older in order to receive 
professional consultation services. 

B. Professional consultation shall include the following 
services: 

1. consultation provided by a licensed registered nurse 
regarding those medically necessary nursing services 
ordered by a physician that exceed the service limits for 
home health services that do not meet the skilled nursing 
criteria under the Medicaid State Plan. Services must comply 
with the Louisiana Nurse Practice Act. Consultations may 
address health care needs related to prevention and primary 
care activities; 

2. evaluation and education performed by a licensed 
psychologist as specified by state law and licensure. These 
services are for the treatment of behavioral or mental 
conditions that address personal outcomes and goals desired 
by the recipient and his/her team. Services must be 
reasonable and necessary to preserve and improve or 
maintain adaptive behaviors or decrease maladaptive 
behaviors of a person with mental retardation or 
developmental disabilities. Consultation provides the 
recipient, family, care givers, or team with information 
necessary to plan and implement plans for the recipient; 

3. highly specialized consultation services furnished 
by a licensed clinical social worker and designed to meet the 
unique counseling needs of individuals with mental 
retardation and development disabilities. Counseling may 
address areas such as human sexuality, depression, anxiety 
disorders, and social skills. Services must only address those 
personal outcomes and goals listed in the BCSS approved 
CPOC. 

C. Service Limits. Professional consultation services are 
limited to a $750 cap per individual per CPOC year for the 
combined range of professional consultations. 

D. Provider Qualifications. The provider of professional 
consultation services must possess a current valid license as 
a personal care attendant (PCA), supervised independent 
living (SIL) or home health (HH) agency. Each professional 
rendering service must: 

1. possess a current valid Louisiana license to practice 
in his/her field; 

2. have at least one year experience in his/her field of 
expertise, post licensure; and 

3. be contracted or employed with an enrolled PCA, 
SIL or HH agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13927. Professional Services 

A. Professional services are services designed to increase 
the individual's independence, participation and productivity 
in the home, work, and community. The recipient must be 21 
years of age or older in order to receive these services. 
Professional services are to be used only when the services 
are not covered under the Medicaid State Plan. Professional 
services must be delivered with the recipient present and be 
provided based on the approved CPOC and an 
individualized service plan. Professional services are limited 
to the following services. 

1. Psychological services are direct services 
performed by a licensed psychologist, as specified by state 
law and licensure. These services are for the treatment of a 
behavioral or mental condition that addresses personal 
outcomes and goals desired by the recipient and his or her
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team. Services must be reasonable and necessary to preserve 
and improve or maintain adaptive behaviors or decrease 
maladaptive behaviors of a person with mental retardation or 
developmental disabilities. Service intensity, frequency, and 
duration will be determined by individual need. 

2. Social work services are highly specialized direct 
counseling services furnished by a licensed clinical social 
worker and designed to meet the unique counseling needs of 
individuals with mental retardation and development 
disabilities. Counseling may address areas such as human 
sexuality, depression, anxiety disorders, and social skills. 
Services must only address those personnel outcomes and 
goals listed in the BCSS approved CPOC. 

3. Nursing services are medically necessary direct 
services provided by a licensed registered nurse or licensed 
practical nurse. Services must be ordered by a physician and 
comply with the Louisiana Nurse Practice Act. Direct 
services may address health care needs related to prevention 
and primary care activities, treatment and diet. 
Reimbursement is only available for the direct service 
performed by a nurse, and not for the supervision of a nurse 
performing the hands-on direct service. 

B. Service Limits. There shall be a $1,500 cap per 
recipient per CPOC year for the combined range of 
professional services. 

C. Provider Qualifications. The provider of professional 
services must possess a current valid license as a personal 
care attendant, supervised independent living or home health 
agency. Each professional rendering service must possess a 
current valid Louisiana license to practice in his/her field 
and have at least one year of experience post licensure in 
their area of expertise and be contracted or employed with 
an enrolled PCA, SIL, or HH agency. 

D. Nonreimbursable Activities. The following activities 
are not reimbursable:  

1. friendly visiting, attending meetings; 
2. time spent on paperwork or travel; 
3. time spent writing reports and progress notes; 
4. time spent on staff training; 
5. time spent on the billing of services; and 
6. other nonMedicaid reimbursable activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13929. Skilled Nursing Services 

A. Skilled Nursing services are medically necessary 
nursing services ordered by a physician and provided to a 
medically fragile recipient in or outside of his/her home. 
Skilled nursing services shall be provided by a licensed, 
enrolled home health agency using licensed nurses. All 
Medicaid State Plan services must be utilized before 
accessing this service. 

B. Recipient Criteria. The recipient must be 21 years of 
age or older and have a diagnosis of a chronic disease which 
requires the vigilance of a licensed nurse to provide 
evaluation and management of a disease, thereby limiting 
the need for frequent acute or emergency services. Skilled 
nursing services require a physician's order documenting 
medical necessity and individual nursing service plan. These 
services must be included in the individual's BCSS-approved 
CPOC. Skilled nursing services shall be available to 

individuals who are medically fragile with chronic 
conditions who meet one of the following criteria: 

1. have unstable or uncontrolled diabetes and are 
insulin dependent; 

2. have insufficient respiratory capacity requiring use 
of oxygen therapy, a ventilator, and/or tracheotomy; 

3. require hydration, nutrition, and/or medication via a 
gastro-tube; 

4. have severe musculo-skeletal conditions/non-
ambulatory status that requires increased monitoring and/or 
the treatment of decubitus; 

5. have kidney failure requiring dialysis; 
6. have cancer requiring radiation/chemotherapy;  
7. require end-of-life care not covered by hospice 

services; 
8. require the use of life-sustaining equipment to 

ensure sufficient body function (a ventilator, a suction 
machine, pulse oximeters, apnea monitors, or nebulizers); or 

9. require the administration of medications which by 
law must be administered by a licensed nurse via mediports, 
central lines, or intravenous therapy. 

C. When there is more than one recipient in the home 
receiving skilled nursing services, services may be shared 
and payment must be coordinated with the service 
authorization system and each recipient's BCSS approved 
CPOC. 

D. Provider Qualifications. The provider must possess a 
current valid license as a home health agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13931. One Time Transitional Expenses 

A. One time transitional expenses are those allowable 
expenses incurred by recipients who are being transitioned 
from an ICF-MR to their own home or apartment in the 
community of their choice. Own home shall mean the 
recipient's own place of residence and does not include any 
family members home or substitute family care homes. The 
recipient must be 18 years or older in order to receive this 
service. 

B. Allowable transitional expenses include: 
1. the purchase of essential furnishings such as: 

a. bedroom and living room furniture; 
b. table and chairs; 
c. window blinds; 
d. eating utensils; and 
e. food preparation items; 

2. moving expenses required to occupy and use a 
community domicile; 

3. health and safety assurances, such as pest 
eradication, allergen control, or one-time cleaning prior to 
occupancy: 

4. non-refundable security deposits. 
C. Service Limits. Set-up expenses are capped at $3,000 

over a recipient's lifetime. 
D. Service Exclusion. Transitional expenses shall not 

constitute payment for housing, rent, or refundable security 
deposits. 

E. Provider Qualifications. This service shall only be 
provided by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office 
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for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities (OCDD) with 
coordination of appropriate entities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
§13933. Transitional Professional Support Services 

A. Transitional Professional Support Services is a system 
using specialized staff and resources to intervene and 
stabilize in a situation caused by any severe behavioral or 
medical circumstance that could result in loss of a current 
community-based living arrangement. These services are 
limited to recipients who have transitioned out of a public 
developmental center and have reached the cap for 
professional services and professional consultation for the 
recipient's CPOC year. The recipient must be present for all 
services provided. 

B. Recipient Criteria  
1. These services are available for recipients who 

meet all of the following criteria: 
a. have a developmental disability and one or more 

concurrent mental health diagnoses of autism or other 
pervasive developmental disorders; 

b. have a history of recurrent challenging behaviors 
that risks injury to the individual or others, or results in 
significant property damage; and 

c. have a need for professional services and/or 
professional consultation that exceeds the service limits for 
these services available under the Medicaid State Plan and 
NOW, as documented by a statement of necessity from the 
treating psychiatrist or psychologist; or 

2. the recipient has an acute illness or injury which 
requires the added vigilance of a licensed nurse to provide 
treatment of disease symptoms that may avert and/or delay 
the consequence of advanced complications, thereby 
reducing the likelihood of further deterioration. Supporting 
documentation from the recipient's physician must be 
provided to demonstrate need.  

C. Exclusion. All Medicaid State Plan services must be 
utilized before accessing this service. 

D. Provider Qualifications. Providers of transitional 
professional support services must possess a current, valid 
license as a PCA, SIL, or HH agency. Each professional 
rendering service must possess a valid Louisiana license to 
practice in his/her field and one year of experience in their 
field of expertise post licensure. 

E. Provider Responsibility. An agency that fulfills this 
role must possess specialized staff and resources to intervene 
in and stabilize a situation caused by any severe behavioral 
or medical circumstance that could result in loss of a current 
community-based living arrangement. The provider must 
develop and maintain a current service plan that details the 
program goals, plans, and expected outcomes from all 
individuals providing these services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 

§13935. Consumer Directed Service 
A. The consumer directed initiative is a payment 

mechanism and a self-determination option for NOW 
recipients in the Department of Health and Hospitals 
Regions 1, 2, and 9. This is a voluntary option where the 
waiver recipient or his or her authorized representative may 
choose what services and/or supports best fit their individual 
needs through the person-centered planning process, and as 
documented on the BCSS-approved CPOC. The waiver 
recipient selecting this option will be required to use a 
contracted fiscal agent to provide designated functions on 
his/her behalf. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 
Chapter 141. Reimbursement  
§14101. Reimbursement Methodology  

A. Reimbursement for the following services shall be a 
prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service 
provided to the recipient. One quarter hour (15 minutes) is 
the standard unit of service, which covers both service 
provision and administrative costs. 

1. Center-Based Respite 
2. Community Integration Development 
3. Day Habilitation 
4. Employment Related Training 
5. Individualized and Family Support-Day and Night 
6. Professional Consultation 
7. Professional Services 
8. Skilled Nursing Services 
9. Supported Employment, One-to-One Intensive and 

Mobile Crew/Enclave 
10. Transitional Professional Support Services 
11. Shared Supports (IFS-D and -N, Skilled Nursing, 

CID) 
a. Services furnished to two recipients will be 

reimbursed at 75 percent of the full rate for each recipient; 
and 

b. services furnished to three recipients will be 
reimbursed at 66 percent of the full rate for each recipient. 

B. The following services are to be paid at cost, based on 
the need of the individual and when the service has been 
prior authorized and on the CPOC: 

1. environmental accessibility adaptations; 
2. specialized medical equipment and supplies; and 
3. transitional expenses. 

C. The following services are paid through a per diem: 
1. substitute family care; 
2. residential habitation-supported independent living; 

and 
3. supported employment-follow along. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 29: 

Implementation of this proposed Rule is subject to 
approval by the United States Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 08   August 20, 2003 1445



Interested persons may submit written comments to 
Barbara Dodge at the Bureau of Community Supports and 
Services, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. 
She is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#070 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
Motorized Wheelchairs  

(LAC 50:XVII.14821-14825) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, provides 
coverage and reimbursement for manual and motorized 
wheelchairs under the Durable Medical Equipment Program. 
The Bureau promulgated an Emergency Rule to adopt new 
policy governing recipient qualifications for motorized 
wheelchairs (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 9). 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions contained in the September 21, 2002 Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by facilitating access to medically 
necessary motorized wheelchairs and thereby avoiding 
further deterioration of their physical functioning.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XVII.  Durable Medical Equipment 
Subpart 1.  Prosthetics 

Chapter 148. Wheelchairs/Wheelchair Accessories and 
Strollers  

Subchapter A. (Reserved) 
Subchapter B. Wheelchairs, Motorized and/or Custom 

Morotized 
§14821. Recipient Criteria 

A. Motorized Wheelchairs 
1. For purposes of this Rule, the term "motorized" 

shall have the same meaning as "power," "electric" or any 
means of propulsion other than manual. Effective for dates 
of service on or after September 19, 2003, the recipient must 
meet all of the following criteria in order to be considered 
for a motorized wheelchair: 

a. the recipient must be non-ambulatory and have 
severe weakness of the upper extremities due to a 
neurological or muscular disease/condition;  

b. the recipient's condition is such that without the 
use of a wheelchair he/she would otherwise be bed or chair 
confined;  

c. the recipient's condition is such that a wheelchair 
is medically necessary and he/she is unable to operate a 
wheelchair manually; and 

d. the recipient is capable of safely operating the 
controls for a motorized wheelchair.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§14823. Prior Authorization 

A. All wheelchairs and modifications required to meet 
the needs of a particular recipient are subject to prior 
authorization. In addition, all requests must include the 
following documentation: 

1. a completed PA-01 form; 
2. a physician's prescription for the wheelchair. The 

physician must specifically state whether the prescription is 
for a motorized wheelchair or a custom motorized 
wheelchair. Medical documentation from a physician is 
required to support the modifications for wheelchairs with 
specialized seating or individualized features; 

3. a seating evaluation performed in cooperation with 
a physical therapist or occupational therapist. The seating 
evaluation must include the following documentation: 

a. the appropriateness of the specific wheelchair 
requested and all modifications and/or attachments to the 
specific wheelchair and its ability to meet the recipient's 
long-term medical needs. Options that are primarily 
beneficial in allowing the recipient to perform leisure or 
recreational activities are not covered; 

b. documentation that the recipient does not have 
the upper extremity function necessary to operate a manual 
wheelchair; and 

c. the dated signature of the physician who 
prescribed the motorized wheelchair and the dated signature 
of the physical or occupational therapist that participated in 
the seating evaluation; 

4. documentation that the recipient can safely operate 
the controls for a motorized wheelchair: 

a. the ability to safely operate the controls of a 
motorized wheelchair shall be verified by the notes and 
recommendation of the recipient's physician, physical 
therapist, or occupational therapist; 

b. such documentation shall be dated and include 
the name and signature of the physician, physical therapist 
or occupational therapist who has determined that the 
recipient can safely operate the controls of the motorized 
wheelchair; 

c. it is not sufficient for a Medicaid provider of 
motorized wheelchairs to indicate that a recipient can safely 
operate the controls for a motorized wheelchair. 

B. A motorized wheelchair is covered if the recipient's 
condition is such that the requirement for a motorized 
wheelchair is long term (at least six months). Approval will
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be made for only one wheelchair at a time. Backup chairs, 
either motorized or manual, will be denied as not medically 
necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 
§14825. Repairs 

A. Repairs to motorized wheelchairs will be considered 
if the request is for basic repairs only, not for major 
modifications or reconstruction of the chair. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P. O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#071 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
NebulizersCReimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the 2002-
2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The Secretary is hereby directed 
to utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to  
pre-certification, pre-admission screening, and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing currently 
provides reimbursement for nebulizers through the Durable 
Medical Equipment Program, based on authorization of 
medical necessity. A nebulizer is a device used to change 

liquid medication into an aerosol, so that it can be inhaled 
and quickly absorbed. Reimbursement for nebulizers was 
established at the lower of $95 or the provider's usual and 
customary charge. As a result of a budgetary shortfall, the 
Bureau reduced the reimbursement for nebulizers to the 
lower of $60 or the provider's usual and customary charge. 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions contained in the May 1, 2003 Rule (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 29, Number 4). This action is being taken 
in order to avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance 
programs. It is estimated that implementation of this 
Emergency Rule will reduce expenditures in the Durable 
Medical Equipment Program by approximately $11,223 for 
state fiscal year 2002-2003. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service August 30, 2003 and after, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reduces 
reimbursement for nebulizers to the lower of $60 or the 
provider's usual and customary charge.  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#072 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityCMedically Needy  
ProgramCIncurred Deductions 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the  
2002-2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
Program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The Secretary is hereby directed 
to utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 
these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening and utilization review, 
and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act 
or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
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rule promulgating the Medicaid Eligibility Manual in its 
entirety by reference in May of 1996 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 5). The department provides Medicaid 
coverage under the Medically Needy Program that is 
optional under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Section 
1902(a)(10) and 42 CFR Subpart D Section 435.300. The 
Medically Needy Program includes those individuals or 
families who meet all AFDC or SSI related categorical 
requirements and whose income is within the Medically 
Needy Income Eligibility Standard. It also includes those 
individuals or families whose resources fall within the 
categorical limits, but whose income is above the Medically 
Needy Income Eligibility Standard. These individuals or 
families having income in excess of the Medically Needy 
Income Eligibility Standard can reduce excess income by 
incurring medical and/or remedial care expenses. This 
method used for determining eligibility is referred to as 
spend-down. A state may choose to exclude from incurred 
expenses those bills for services furnished more than three 
months before the Medicaid application is filed for initial 
eligibility or in the case of a renewal more than three months 
before the first month of the new budget period or quarter of 
coverage. A state is required to deduct any current payment 
on such excluded expenses. 

In compliance with Executive Order MJF 02-29, the 
Department amended the policy governing the consideration 
of incurred expenses in the eligibility determination process 
for the Medically Needy Program (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 1). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions contained in the 
January 1, 2003 Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a 
budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for applications filed on or after August 31, 

2003, and those cases in which the eligibility renewal is due 
on or after January 1, 2003, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends the provisions governing deductions for 
incurred medical expenses in the eligibility determination 
process for the Medically Needy Program. Those bills for 
necessary medical and remedial services furnished more 
than three months before the Medicaid application is filed or 
for renewals more than three months before the first month 
of a new budget period or quarter of coverage will be 
excluded as an incurred expense. Current payments on 
excluded expenses will be allowed as an incurred expense. 

Implementation of this Emergency Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#074 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid EligibilityCTreatment of Annuities 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
rule promulgating the Medicaid Eligibility Manual in its 
entirety by reference in May of 1996 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 5). Section I of the Medicaid Eligibility 
Manual addresses the eligibility factors considered in the 
determination of eligibility. 

Section 13611 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
of 1993 amended Section 1917(c) of the Social Security Act 
and established Section 1917(d) to set forth rules wherein 
transfers of assets and trusts must be considered in 
determining eligibility for Medicaid. Current Medicaid 
eligibility rules are not clear relative to the consideration of 
annuities in the eligibility determination process. The policy 
does not clearly state that an annuity is considered a legal 
instrument or device similar to a trust. 

In order to comply with the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1993 and curb abuse in the transfer of 
assets, the Bureau amended Section I of the Medicaid 
Eligibility Manual in order to clarify current policy 
regarding annuities (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 
1). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions contained in the January 1, 2003 Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit that will occur 
if applicants are allowed to continue to hide assets by not 
having annuities considered as an available resource. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective August 31, 2003, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends current Medicaid eligibility policy 
governing the transfer of assets and trusts to further define 
and clarify the consideration of annuities in the Medicaid 
eligibility determination process. 

An annuity is considered a legal instrument or device 
similar to a trust. An annuity is defined as a contract or 
agreement by which one receives fixed, non variable 
payments on an investment for a lifetime or a specified 
number of years. An annuity containing a balloon payment 
will not be classified as an annuity for Medicaid eligibility 
purposes, but rather will be considered an available resource. 
A commercial (non-employment related) annuity purchased 
by or for an individual using that individual's assets will be
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considered an available resource unless it meets all of the 
following criteria. The annuity: 

1. is irrevocable; 
2. pays out principal and interest in equal monthly 

installments (no balloon payment) to the individual in 
sufficient amounts that the principal is paid out within the 
actuarial life expectancy of the annuitant; 

3. names the State of Louisiana, Department of Health 
and Hospitals or its successor agency as the residual 
beneficiary of funds remaining in the annuity, not to exceed 
any Medicaid funds expended on the individual during his 
lifetime; and  

4. is issued by an insurer or other body licensed and 
approved to do business in the jurisdiction in which the 
annuity is established. 

This policy change shall be applicable to all pending 
applications, renewals of eligibility or changes in situations 
(as defined in Section L of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual) 
where the applicant/recipient has an annuity. Existing 
annuities which do not meet all of the above criteria must be 
amended to comply with these requirements within 90 days 
of the first renewal or first change in their situation (as 
defined in Section L of the Medicaid Eligibility Manual) 
occurring after enactment of this Rule. 

Implementation of this Emergency Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#073 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing FacilitiesCAdult Day Health Care  
Standards for Payment 

(LAC 50:II.10939) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
LAC 50:II.Chapter 109 under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Human Resources, Office 
of Family Security adopted a Rule establishing the Standards 
for Payment for the Adult Day Health Care Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 11, Number 6). The Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 

Health Services Financing subsequently promulgated a Rule 
that amended the reimbursement methodology for Adult Day 
Health Care services from a facility specific rate based on 
historical cost to a statewide rate based on set percentages 
over the median by cost category (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 28, Number 11). The bureau now proposes to amend 
the prospective payment system reimbursement 
methodology for adult day health care services. 

This action is being taken to enhance federal revenue. It is 
estimated that the implementation of this proposed Rule will 
increase revenues by approximately $1,065,098 in federal 
funds only for state fiscal year 2003-04. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part II.  Medical Assistance Program 
Subpart 3.  Standards for Payment 

Chapter 109. Standards for PaymentBAdult Day Health 
Care  

§10939. Prospective Payment System 
A. General Provisions 

1. Development. Effective August 1, 2003 and 
thereafter, Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) providers shall 
be reimbursed a per diem rate for services provided under a 
prospective payment system (PPS). The system shall be 
designed in a manner that recognizes and reflects the cost of 
direct care services provided. The reimbursement 
methodology is designed to improve the quality of care for 
all adult day health care recipients by ensuring that direct 
care services are provided at an acceptable level while fairly 
reimbursing the providers. 

2. The prospective payment methodology establishes 
blended rates consisting of 50 percent of the PPS rate based 
on the median FY 2001 reported cost for all ADHC 
providers filing acceptable full year cost reports and 50 
percent of the facility specific prospectively determined rate 
based on facility specific reasonable allowable costs. 

3. - 3.d. ... 
4. Rate Setting. Adult day health care providers shall 

be reimbursed blended rates consisting of 50 percent of the 
PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 reported cost for all 
ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost reports and 
50 percent of the facility specific prospectively determined 
rate based on facility specific reasonable allowable costs 
plus a direct care incentive. 

a. The PPS rate is based on the median FY 2001 
reported cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full 
year cost reports.  
 i. Direct Care Costs. A statewide base rate for 
direct care is computed at 115 percent of the median facility 
per diem direct care costs submitted on all full year cost 
reports except those for which an audit disclaimer has been 
issued. Direct care costs are trended forward using the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI)CMedical Services. 
 ii. Care Related Costs. A statewide base rate for 
care related costs is computed at 105 percent of the median 
facility per diem care related costs submitted on all 
acceptable full year cost reports except those for which an 
audit disclaimer has been issued. Care related costs are 
trended forward using the CPICAll Items. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC). A 
statewide base rate for administrative and operating costs is 
computed at 105 percent of the median facility per diem 
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administrative and operating costs submitted on all 
acceptable full year cost reports except for those for which 
an audit disclaimer has been issued and are trended forward 
using the CPICAll Items. 
 iv. Property. The property rate is computed at the 
median of property costs submitted on all acceptable full 
year cost reports. Inflation will not be added to property 
costs. 

b. The facility specific prospectively determined 
rate is based on facility specific reasonable allowable costs. 
The facility specific prospectively determined rate shall be 
limited to 80 percent of the nursing facility intermediate care 
II rate in effect on July 1, 2002 exclusive of the provider fee.  
 i. Direct Care Costs. Facility specific direct care 
is based on the facility specific per diem reasonable 
allowable direct care costs submitted on the acceptable FY 
2001 full year cost report. Direct care costs are trended 
forward using the Consumer Price Index (CPI)CMedical 
Services. 
 ii. Care Related Costs. Facility specific care 
related cost is based on the facility specific per diem 
reasonable allowable care related costs submitted on the 
acceptable FY 2001 full year cost report. Care related costs 
are trended forward using the CPICAll Items. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC). 
Facility specific AOC is based on the facility specific per 
diem reasonable allowable AOC submitted on the acceptable 
FY 2001 full year cost report. AOC are trended forward 
using the CPICAll Items. 
 iv. Property. Facility specific property cost is 
based on the facility specific per diem reasonable allowable 
property costs submitted on the acceptable FY 2001 full year 
cost report. Inflation will not be added to property costs. 
 v. Facilities participating prior to August 1, 2003 
who have not filed a full year acceptable cost report shall 
have the facility specific prospectively determined rate for 
August 1, 2003 through June 30, 2004 based on budgeted 
data and limited to 80 percent of the nursing facility 
weighted average case mix rate in effect on July 1, 2003. 
 vi. For rates effective July 1, 2004 and thereafter, 
facilities receiving audit disclaimers shall receive a rate 
equal to the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 reported 
cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost 
reports trended forward in accordance with this Rule.  

c. All trending shall be from the mid-point of the 
year preceding the cost report year to the midpoint of the 
year preceding the rate year. 

d. Application of an inflationary adjustment to 
reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply only 
when the legislature allocates funds for this purpose. 

e. A direct care incentive based on legislative 
appropriation shall be added to the per diem rate effective 
August 1, 2003. 

5. Total Per Diem Rate. The per diem rate for 
providers filing acceptable full year cost reports is the sum 
of 50 percent of the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 
reported cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full 
year cost reports plus 50 percent of the facility specific 
prospectively determined rate based on facility specific 
reasonable allowable costs plus the direct care incentive.  

6. New providers enrolled in the Medicaid program 
effective August 1, 2003 and thereafter shall receive the PPS 

rate based on the base year median reported cost for all 
ADHC providers filing acceptable cost reports trended 
forward in accordance with this Rule plus the direct care 
incentive.  

7. Minimum Rate. The minimum adult day health care 
rate shall be the PPS rate based on the median FY 2001 
reported cost for all ADHC providers filing acceptable full 
year cost reports plus the direct care incentive. 

8. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component 
and the direct care incentive shall be subject to cost 
settlement. Should an ADHC facility=s cost report reveal that 
the provider did not expend an amount equal to 90 percent of 
the median direct care rate component trended forward for 
direct care services plus 90 percent of the direct care 
incentive, the Medicaid program will recover the difference 
between 90 percent of the median direct care rate component 
trended forward for direct care services plus 90 percent of 
the direct care incentive and the actual direct care amount 
expended. 

B. Cost Reporting 
1. Providers of ADHC services are required to file 

annual acceptable cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. An acceptable cost report is one that is 
prepared in accordance with the requirements of this section 
and the provider has supporting documentation necessary for 
completion of a desk review or audit. The annual cost 
reports are the basis for determining reimbursement rates. A 
copy of all reports and statistical data must be retained by 
the facility for no less than five years following the date 
reports are submitted to the bureau. A chart of accounts and 
an accounting system on the accrual basis or converted at 
year end are required in the cost reporting preparation 
process. The bureau or its designee will perform desk 
reviews of the cost reports. In addition to the desk review, a 
representative number of the facilities shall be subject to a 
full-scope, annual on-site audit. All ADHC cost reports shall 
be filed with a fiscal year from July 1 through June 30. 

B.2 - C.1.e.iv. ... 
2. Rate Determination 

a.i. Calculation of Base Rate. Rates for both the PPS 
rate based on the median FY 2001 reported cost for all 
ADHC providers filing acceptable full year cost reports and 
the facility specific prospectively determined rate based on 
facility specific reasonable allowable costs are calculated 
from cost report data. Allowable costs include those costs 
incurred by providers to conform to state licensure and 
federal certification standards. General cost principles are 
applied during the desk review and audit process to 
determine allowable costs. These general cost principles 
include: 

(a). determining whether the cost is ordinary, 
necessary, and related to the delivery of care; 

(b). the cost is what a prudent and cost conscious 
business person would pay for the specific goods or services 
in the open market or in an arm's length transaction; and 

(c). the cost is for goods or services actually 
provided to the center. 
 ii. Through the desk review and/or audit process, 
adjustments and/or disallowances may be made to a 
provider=s reported costs. "HIM-15", the Medicare Provider 
Reimbursement Manual, is the final authority for allowable 
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costs unless the Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals has set a more restrictive policy. 

C.2.b. - C.2.c. ... 
d. The inflated median shall be increased to 

establish the base rate median component as follows. 
 i. The inflated direct care median shall be 
multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 
 ii. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 
 iii. The administrative and operating median shall 
be multiplied times 105 percent to establish the 
administrative and operating base rate component. 

e. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

f. Formulae. Each median cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 
 i. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at the midpoint of 
the array shall be the median cost. Should there be an even 
number of arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint 
centers shall be the median cost. The median cost shall be 
trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for Medical 
Services. The direct care rate component shall be set at 115 
percent of the inflated median. 
 ii. Care Related Cost Component. Care related per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
All Items. The care related rate component shall be set at 
105 percent of the inflated median. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Cost 
Component. Administrative and operating per diem cost 
from all acceptable full year cost reports shall be arrayed 
from lowest to highest. The cost of the midpoint of the array 
shall be the median cost. Should there be an even number of 
arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint centers shall be 
the median cost. The median cost shall be trended forward 
by dividing the value of the CPICAll Items index for 
December of the year proceeding the base rate year by the 
value of the index for the December of the year preceding 
the cost report year. The administrative and operating rate 
component shall be set at 105 percent of the inflated median. 
 iv. Property Cost ComponentCProperty. The 
property per diem costs from all acceptable full year cost 
reports shall be arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at 
the midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. This will 
be the rate component. Inflation will not be added to 
property costs. 

g. Formulae. Each facility specific prospectively 
determined cost component shall be calculated as follows. 
 i. Direct Care Cost Component. The direct care 
per diem costs from each facility's full year cost reports shall 
be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
Medical Services in accordance with this Rule. 

 ii. Care Related Cost Component. The care 
related per diem costs from each facility's full year cost 
reports shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price 
Index for Medical Services in accordance with this Rule. 
 iii. Administrative and Operating Cost 
Component. The administrative and operating per diem cost 
from each facility's acceptable full year cost reports shall be 
trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for Medical 
Services in accordance with this Rule.  
 iv. Property Cost ComponentCProperty. The 
property per diem costs from each facility's acceptable full 
year cost reports shall be the property cost component. 
Inflation will not be added to property costs. 
 v. Facilities participating prior to August 1, 2003 
who have not filed a full year acceptable cost report shall 
have the facility specific prospectively determined rate for 
August 1, 2003 through June 30, 2004 based on budgeted 
data and limited to 80 percent of the nursing facility 
weighted average case mix rate in effect on July 1, 2003; 
 vi. for rates effective July 1, 2004; and 
 vii. thereafter, facilities receiving audit disclaimers 
shall receive a rate equal to the PPS rate based on the 
median FY 2001 reported cost for all ADHC providers filing 
acceptable full year cost reports trended forward in 
accordance with this Rule. No facility specific cost 
component will be included in the per diem of facilities 
receiving audit disclaimers. 

C.2.h. - C.2.h.ii. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:2356 (November 2002), LR 29: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Physicians ServicesCCardiology, Maternal Fetal  
Medicine and Inpatient ServicesCReimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
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Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reimburses 
professional services in accordance with an established fee 
schedule for Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology 
(CPT) codes, locally assigned codes and Health Care 
Financing Administration Common Procedure Codes 
(HCPCs). Reimbursement for these services is a flat fee 
established by the bureau minus the amount which any third 
party coverage would pay. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session, 
the bureau promulgated a rule to increase the reimbursement 
paid to physicians by restoring a prior 7 percent reduction to 
the fees for specific procedure codes and increasing the 
reimbursement for other designated procedure codes 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 5). After 
consultations with cardiologists, maternal fetal medicine 
specialists and other physicians around the state, the bureau 
increased the reimbursement rate for designated CPT 
procedure codes for services rendered to Medicaid recipients 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 1). This Emergency 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions 
contained in the January 1, 2003 Rule. This action is being 
taken to protect the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by ensuring continued access to services and 
encouraging continued physician participation in the 
Medicaid Program. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after August 31, 2003, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement for selected cardiology, maternal fetal 
medicine and hospital care services provided to Medicaid 
recipients. The following Physicians= Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) procedures shall be reimbursed at 84 
percent of the Medicare Region 99 allowable for 2002. 

 
Procedure Description 

Transfusion, intrauterine, fetal 
Amniocentesis; diagnostic 
Chronic villus sampling, any method 
Echocardiography, fetal, cardiovascular system, real time 
Doppler echocardiography, fetal,...; follow-up or repeat study 
Combined right heart catheterization and retrograde left heart 
catheterization, for congenital cardiac anomalies  
Combined right heart catheterization and transseptal left heart 
catheterization through existing septal opening, with or without 
retrograde left heart catheterization, for congenital cardiac 
anomalies  
Subsequent hospital care, per day (low complexity) 
Subsequent hospital care, per day (moderate complexity) 

 
Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 

contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O.

Box 91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#076 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services ProgramCAntibiotic  
InjectionsCReimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reimburses 
professional services in accordance with an established fee 
schedule for Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology 
(CPT) codes, locally assigned codes and Health Care 
Financing Administration Common Procedure Codes 
(HCPCs). Reimbursement for these services is a flat fee 
established by the bureau minus the amount which any third 
party coverage would pay. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session, 
the bureau promulgated a rule to increase the reimbursement 
paid to physicians by restoring a prior 7 percent reduction to 
the fees for specific procedure codes and increasing the 
reimbursement for other designated procedure codes 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 5). After 
consultations with providers around the state, the bureau 
increased the reimbursement rate for antibiotic injections 
rendered to Medicaid recipients within a specific age range 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 1). This Emergency 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions 
contained in the January 1, 2003 Rule. This action is being 
taken to protect the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients within the specified age range by ensuring 
continued access to services and encouraging continued 
provider participation in the Medicaid Program. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after August 31, 2003, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement for antibiotic injections administered to 
Medicaid recipients up to the age of 21. Antibiotic IM 
injections shall be reimbursed at a flat rate of $22. 
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Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#075 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services ProgramCOrthopedic Services 
Reimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reimburses 
professional services in accordance with an established fee 
schedule for Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology 
(CPT) codes, locally assigned codes and Health Care 
Financing Administration Common Procedure Codes 
(HCPCs). Reimbursement for these services is a flat fee 
established by the Bureau minus the amount which any third 
party coverage would pay. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session, 
the bureau promulgated a rule to increase the reimbursement 
paid to physicians by restoring a prior 7 percent reduction to 
the fees for specific procedure codes and increasing the 
reimbursement for other designated procedure codes 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 27, Number 5). After 
consultations with orthopedic physicians around the state, 
the bureau increased the reimbursement rate for designated 
CPT orthopedic procedure codes for services rendered to 
Medicaid recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, 
Number 1). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions contained in the January 1, 2003 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to protect the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
continued access to orthopedic services and encouraging 
continued physician participation in the Medicaid Program. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after August 31, 2003, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement paid to physicians for orthopedic services 
provided to Medicaid recipients. Physicians' Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) orthopedic procedure codes 
(20000-29898) shall be reimbursed at 80 percent of the 
Medicare Region 99 allowable for 2002, except for those 
procedure codes on file that are in non-pay status. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#077 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services ProgramCPhysician Services 
Reimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reimburses 
professional services in accordance with an established fee 
schedule for Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology 
(CPT) codes, locally assigned codes and Health Care 
Financing Administration Common Procedure Codes 
(HCPCs). Reimbursement for these services is a flat fee 
established by the bureau minus the amount which any third 
party coverage would pay. 

The bureau promulgated an Emergency Rule in February 
2000, reducing the reimbursement paid to physicians by 7 
percent for specific procedure codes, including surgery 
procedure codes, as a result of a budgetary shortfall 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 2). As a result of 
the allocation of additional funds by the Legislature during 
the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session, the Bureau 
subsequently promulgated a rule restoring the 7 percent 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 08   August 20, 2003 1454

reduction to the fees paid to physicians for specific 
procedure codes and increasing the reimbursement for other 
designated procedure codes (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, 
Number 5).  

After consultations with pediatric surgeons around the 
state, the bureau increased the reimbursement rate for 
designated CPT surgical procedure codes for services 
rendered to recipients within a specific age range (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 28, Number 12). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions contained in 
the January 1, 2003 Rule. This action is being taken to 
protect the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients within 
the specified age range by ensuring continued access to 
surgery services and encouraging continued physician 
participation in the Medicaid Program.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after August 31, 2003, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement for selected surgery services provided by the 
primary servicing physician to Medicaid recipients from 
birth through 10 years of age. Physicians' Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) surgical procedure codes (10021-69990) 
shall be reimbursed at 100 percent of the Medicare Region 
99 allowable for 2002, except for procedure codes on file 
that are in non-pay status and procedure codes for newborn 
circumcisions (54150) and (54160).  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P. O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#078 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Public HospitalsCInpatient Reimbursement  
MethodologyCTarget Rate per Discharge 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a

Rule in July of 1983 which established a reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in acute care 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 9, Number 7). 
Inpatient hospital services were reimbursed in accordance 
with the Medicare reimbursement principles with a target 
rate set based on the cost per discharge for each hospital, 
except that the base year to be used in determining the target 
rate was the fiscal year ending on September 30, 1981 
through September 29, 1982. In a rule adopted in October of 
1984 (Louisiana Register, Volume 10, Number 10), separate 
per diem limitations were established for neonatal and 
pediatric intensive care and burn units using the same base 
period as the target rate per discharge calculation. A rule was 
adopted in October 1992, which provided that inpatient 
hospital services to children under one year of age shall be 
reimbursed as pass-through costs and shall not be subject to 
per discharge or per diem limits applied to other inpatient 
hospital services. The reimbursement methodology was 
subsequently amended in a rule adopted in June of 1994 
which discontinued this reimbursement methodology for all 
nonstate hospitals and established a prospective payment 
methodology for nonstate hospitals (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 20, Number 6). The Department rebased the target 
rate per discharge amounts and per diem limitations for 
carve out specialty units in state owned or operated hospitals 
utilizing the amounts calculated per the cost report for the 
fiscal year ending either on June 30, 2001 or June 30, 2002 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 1). This Emergency 
Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions 
contained in the January 1, 2003 Rule. This action is being 
taken to enhance federal revenues in the Medicaid Program. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective August 31, 2003, the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing rebases the target rate per discharge amounts and 
per diem limitations for carve out specialty units in state 
owned or operated hospitals utilizing the amounts calculated 
per the cost report for the fiscal year ending either on June 
30, 2001 or June 30, 2002. Allowable malpractice costs shall 
be included in the target rate per discharge and per diem 
limitations. Data from the 12 month cost reporting period of 
the base year shall be extracted to determine each hospital's 
cost per discharge or per day. Inpatient hospital services 
provided to children under one year of age in state owned or 
operated hospitals shall continue to be reimbursed as pass-
through costs and shall not be subject to per discharge or per 
diem limits applied to other inpatient hospital services. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Emergency Rule 
shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#080 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Public Nursing FacilitiesCReimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:VII.1309) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 694 of the 2001 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature mandated that the Department of Health and 
Hospitals establish a case-mix reimbursement methodology 
for nursing homes. In accordance with Act 694, the Bureau 
repealed the June 20, 1984 Rule and established a new 
reimbursement methodology based on a case-mix price-
based reimbursement system for private and public nursing 
facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 8). The 
Department subsequently promulgated an Emergency Rule 
revising the reimbursement methodology for state-operated 
nursing facilities in order to reimburse these facilities in 
accordance with the Medicare upper payment limit 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 11). The bureau 
amended the provisions contained in the August 20, 2002 
Rule governing the reimbursement methodology for public 
nursing facilities. In addition the bureau repealed the 
October 14, 2002 Emergency Rule (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 1). 

This action is being taken to enhance federal revenue. This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions contained in the January 1, 2003 Rule. 

Effective for dates of services on or after August 31, 2003, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals the 
October 14, 2002 Emergency Rule and amends the 
provisions contained in the August 20, 2002 Rule governing 
the reimbursement methodology for public nursing facilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHCMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care Services 
Subpart 1.  Nursing Facilities 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1309. State-Owned or Operated and Nonstate 

Government-Owned or Operated Facilities 
A. Nonstate government-owned or operated nursing 

facilities will be paid a prospective reimbursement rate. Each 
facility will receive a Medicaid base rate calculated in 
accordance with other sections of this rule. Nonstate 
government-owned or operated nursing facilities may also 
receive a supplemental Medicaid payment on a quarterly 
basis. The aggregate supplemental payments for these 
facilities, calculated on a quarterly basis, will be the state's 
best estimate of what nonstate government-owned or

operated facilities would be paid under Medicare's 
prospective payment system for skilled nursing facilities less 
the aggregate Medicaid base payments for these facilities. 
The acuity measurements used in the supplemental Medicaid 
payment calculations will be the acuity of each facility's 
Medicaid residents, as determined under Medicare's 44 RUG 
classification methodology. Adjustments to the aggregate 
supplemental Medicaid payments will be made to account 
for differences in coverage between the Medicare and 
Medicaid programs. 

B. State-owned or operated nursing facilities will be paid 
a prospective reimbursement rate. The payment rate for each 
of these facilities will be calculated on a quarterly basis and 
shall be the greater of the state's best estimate of what the 
facility would be paid under Medicare prospective payment 
system for skilled nursing facilities or the nursing facility's 
allowable cost from the most recent filed Medicaid cost 
report trended forward to the midpoint of the rate year using 
the index factor. The acuity measurements used in the 
quarterly rate calculations will be the acuity of each facility's 
Medicaid residents, as determined under Medicare's 44 RUG 
classification methodology. Adjustments to these gross 
Medicare prospective payment rates will be made to account 
for differences in coverage between the Medicare and 
Medicaid programs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1475 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1793 (August 2002), amended LR 29: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Emergency Rule 
shall be delayed until January 31, 2003 and will be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0308#079 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

LSU Health Sciences Center 
Health Care Services Division 

Minimum Fee in Outpatient Clinics and Emergency Rooms 
(LAC 48:XI.1309) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that as a result of Act 
906, R.S. 46:6(A) of the 2003 Regular Session, LAC 
48:XI.1309 is hereby repealed. The effective date of the 
repeal of Section 1309 is August 3, 2003. 
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Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTHCGENERAL 

Part XI.  Hospitals 
Subpart 3.  General Hospitals 

Chapter 13. Admissions, Eligibility, Fees 
§1309. Minimum Fee in Outpatient Clinics and 

Emergency Room 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated 46.6(A) as a result of Act 

893 of 1991. Repealed in accordance with amended R.S. 46:6(A) 
(Act 906 of the 2003 Regular Session.) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Health 
Care Authority, LR 20:667 (June 1994), repealed by the LSU 
Health Science Center, Health Care Services Division, LR 29: 

 
James Brexler, MPA, F.A.C.H.E. 
Vice Chancellor  
and  
Chief Executive Officer 

0308#100 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Fall Inshore Shrimp Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or part of inside waters and shall have the 
authority to open or close outside waters, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission does hereby set the 2003 Fall Shrimp 
Season in Louisiana waters to open as follows: 

Shrimp Management Zone 1, that portion of Louisiana's 
inside waters from the Mississippi-Louisiana State line to the 
eastern shore of South Pass of the Mississippi River, to open 
at official sunrise August 18, 2003, and 

Shrimp Management Zone 2, that portion of Louisiana's 
inside waters from the eastern shore of South Pass of the 
Mississippi River to the western shore of Vermilion Bay and 
Southwest Pass at Marsh Island, to open at official sunrise 
August 11, 2003, and 

Shrimp Management Zone 3, that portion of Louisiana's 
inside waters from the western shore of Vermilion Bay and 
Southwest Pass at Marsh Island to the Louisiana-Texas state 
line, to open at official sunrise August 11, 2003. 

The Commission also hereby sets the closing date for the 
2003 Fall Inshore Shrimp Season in Zone 2 and Zone 3 at 
official sunset December 16, 2003, and Zone 1 at official 
sunset December 31, 2003 except in the open waters of 
Breton and Chandeleur Sounds as described in the 
menhaden rule (LAC 76:VII.307D) which shall remain open 
until 6 a.m., March 31, 2004. The Commission also grants 
authority to the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries to change the closing dates if biological and 
technical data indicate the need to do so or if enforcement 
problems develop and to close and reopen all or parts of

state outside waters if significant numbers of small white 
shrimp are found in these waters. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman  

0308#036 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Spring Shrimp SeasonCRemainder of Zone 1 Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure 
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons and R.S. 
56:497 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission shall fix no less than two open seasons each 
year for all or part of inside waters and a resolution adopted 
by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on May 1, 2003 
which authorized the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 2003 Spring Shrimp 
Season in any portion of the state's inside waters to protect 
small white shrimp if biological and technical data indicates 
the need to do so or if enforcement problems develop, the 
Secretary hereby declares: 

The 2003 spring shrimp season in inside waters will close 
in the remainder of Shrimp Management Zone 1 on July 25, 
at 6 a.m. except for the open waters of Breton and 
Chandeleur Sounds as described in the Menhaden Rule 
(LAC 76:VII.307D). Zone 1 comprises state inside waters 
from the Mississippi-Louisiana state line to the eastern shore 
of South Pass of the Mississippi River. 

The relative number, percentage and distribution of small 
white shrimp immigrating into the area to be closed has 
increased substantially in the last week and the region is 
being closed to protect these developing shrimp.  

With this closure, all state inside waters from the 
Mississippi-Louisiana state line west to the Louisiana-Texas 
state line except for Breton and Chandeleur Sounds, are 
closed to the harvest of shrimp.  

The State Territorial waters south of the Inside/Outside 
Shrimp Line, as described in R.S. 56:495, shall remain open 
to shrimping. 

 
James H. Jenkins Jr. 
Secretary 

0308#004 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003-2004 Fur Harvest 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:259(A) 
which authorizes the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to 
set the open season for the taking of non-game quadrupeds
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and allows the Commission to extend, curtail or prohibit 
trapping in any area of the state each year and in accordance 
with emergency provisions of R.S. 49:953(B) and R.S. 
49:967(D) of the Administrative Procedure Act, which 
allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use 
emergency provisions to set seasons, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission does hereby set the 2003-2004 fur 
harvest season, statewide from November 20, 2003 through 
March 31, 2004. The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
does hereby also authorize the Secretary of the Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries to extend or shorten the adopted 
season. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0308#033 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003-2004 Migratory Bird Hunting Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under 
authority of R.S. 56:115, the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby adopts the following Emergency Rule. 

The hunting seasons for early migratory birds during the 
2003-2004 hunting season shall be as follows. 

Migratory Birds Other than Waterfowl 
2003-2004 Hunting Seasons 

Mourning Dove: Split Season, Statewide, 70 days 
September 6-September 14  
October 11-November 23  
December 20-January 5  
Mourning Dove and fully dressed Eurasian Collared-

Doves and Ringed Turtle-Doves: Daily bag limit 12 in 
aggregate, Possession 24 but note: Eurasian Collared-Doves 
and Ringed Turtle-DovesCEurasian collared-doves and 
ringed turtle-doves may only be hunted or taken during the 
open mourning dove season. There is no bag limit on 
Eurasian collared-doves or ringed turtle-doves provided that 
a fully feathered wing and head remain attached to the 
carcass of the bird. Fully dressed Eurasian-collared doves 
and ringed turtle-doves (those without a fully feathered wing 
and head naturally attached to the carcass) shall be included 
in the daily bag limit for mourning doves. 

Teal: September 13-September 28 
Daily bag limit 4, Possession limit 8, Blue-winged, 

Green-winged and Cinnamon teal only. Federal and State 
waterfowl stamps required. 

Rails: Split Season 
September 13-September 28 
Remainder of season to be set in August with duck 

regulations. 
King and Clapper: Daily bag limit 15 in the aggregate, 

Possession 30.  
Sora and Virginia: Daily bag and possession 25 in the 

aggregate. 
Gallinules: Split Season 

September 13-September 28  

Remainder of season to be set in August with duck 
regulations. 

Daily bag limit 15, Possession limit 30 
Woodcock: December 18-January 31 

Daily bag limit 3, Possession 6 
Snipe: November 14BFebruary 28 

Daily bag limit 8, Possession 16 
Shooting Hours: 

Teal, Rail, Woodcock, Snipe and Gallinule: One-half 
hour before sunrise to sunset.  

Mourning Dove: One-half hour before sunrise to sunset 
except on September 6-7, October 11-12, and December  
20-21 when shooting hours will be 12 noon to sunset. 

A Declaration of Emergency is necessary because the U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service establishes the framework for all 
migratory species. In order for Louisiana to provide hunting 
opportunities to the 200,000 sportsmen, selection of season 
dates, bag limits, and shooting hours must be established and 
presented to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service immediately. 

The aforementioned season dates, bag limits and shooting 
hours will become effective on September 1, 2003 and 
extend through sunset on February 28, 2004.  

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0308#032 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003-2004 Oyster Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and 967(D), 
and under the authority of R.S. 56:433 and R.S. 56:435.1 
notice is hereby given that the Secretary of the Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby declares: 

The oyster season in the following areas will open one-
half hour before sunrise on September 3, 2003 and will close 
one-half hour after sunset on April 1, 2004: the Louisiana 
Public Oyster Seed Grounds not currently under lease 
located in the Bay Gardene Oyster Seed Reservation and the 
designated temporary natural reef in Little Lake and vicinity. 

The oyster season in the following areas will open  
one-half hour before sunrise on September 10, 2003 and 
close one-half hour after sunset on April 1, 2004: the 
primary public seed grounds east of the Mississippi River 
bordered on the north by the Louisiana/Mississippi state line 
and on the south by the Mississippi River and North Pass 
including that portion of Lake Borgne as described in LAC 
76:VII.513, the sacking only area of the public grounds 
which is generally Lake Fortuna and Lake Machias to a line 
from Mozambique Point to Point Gardner to Grace Point at 
the Mississippi River Gulf Outlet, and the Hackberry Bay 
Oyster Seed Reservation. 

The oyster season in the Bay Junop Public Oyster Seed 
Reservation will open one-half hour before sunrise on 
September 3, 2003 and will close one-half hour after sunset 
on September 9, 2003 in the northern portion of the bay only 
as determined by the traditional November/February 
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Department of Health and Hospital seasonal classification 
line which begins on the eastern shoreline of Bay Junop at 
latitude 29o 14= 03@ N, longitude 91o 02= 37@ W and follows a 
westerly line to the western shoreline at latitude 29o 13= 40@ 
N, longitude 91o 03= 31@ W. 

The oyster season in the Sister (Caillou) Lake Public 
Oyster Seed Reservation will open for harvest of seed and 
sack oysters one-half hour before sunrise on September 10, 
2003 and close one-half hour after sunset on November 18, 
2003. 

The season for the Calcasieu Lake public tonging area 
will open one-half hour before sunrise on October 15, 2003 
and will remain open until one-half hour after sunset on 
April 30, 2004. However, these conservation actions will not 
supercede public health closures. 

The following areas will remain closed for the 
2003/2004 oyster season: the Public Oyster Seed Grounds 
located in portions of Lake Mechant, Lake Tambour, Lake 
Chien, Lake Felicity, Deep Lake, and Barataria Bay (as 
described in LAC 76:VII.517), the Atchafalaya-Vermilion 
Bay Public Oyster Seed Grounds as described in LAC 
76:VII.507 and 509, and the Sabine Lake Public Tonging 
Area. 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take emergency action as necessary to close 
areas if oyster mortalities are occurring or to delay the 
season or close areas where significant spat catch has 
occurred with good probability of survival, or where it is 
found that there are excessive amounts of shell in seed 
oyster loads, or if enforcement problems are encountered. 

The Secretary is authorized to take emergency action to 
reopen areas previously closed if the threat to the resource 
has ended, or may open areas if substantial oyster resources 
are located. 

Notice of any opening, delaying or closing of a season 
will be made by public notice at least 72 hours prior to such 
action. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0308#034 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Bobcat Hunting Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967(D) of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, and under the authority of R.S. 56:115 and 
Act 1248 of the 2003 Regular Legislative Session, the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission hereby adopt the 
following Emergency Rule. 

Properly licensed big game hunters may take a bobcat 
during the open deer hunting season. The season limit on 
bobcats taken by recreational deer hunters shall be one.

Legal shooting hours and methods of take shall be the same 
as those for deer in each area of the state. 

This Rule shall take effect on September 13, 2003 which 
coincides with the opening of the 2003 archery season.  

 
Terry D. Denmon  
Chairman 

0308#031 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Red SnapperCSpring Commercial Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
Secretary of the Department by the Commission in its 
resolution of January 2, 2003 to close the 2003 spring 
commercial red snapper season in Louisiana state waters 
when he is informed that the designated portion of the 
commercial red snapper quota for the Gulf of Mexico has 
been filled, or is projected to be filled, the Secretary hereby 
declares: 

Effective 12 noon, August 7, 2003, the commercial 
fishery for red snapper in Louisiana waters will close and 
remain closed until 12 noon October 1, 2003. Nothing herein 
shall preclude the legal harvest of red snapper by legally 
licensed recreational fishermen once the recreational season 
opens. Effective with this closure, no person shall 
commercially harvest , purchase, barter, trade, sell or attempt 
to purchase, barter, trade or sell red snapper. Effective with 
closure, no person shall possess red snapper in excess of a 
daily bag limit, which may only be in possession during the 
open recreational season as described above. Nothing shall 
prohibit the possession or sale of fish legally taken prior to 
the closure providing that all commercial dealers possessing 
red snapper taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 
appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 
R.S. 56:306.6. 

The Secretary has been notified by National Marine 
Fisheries Service that the commercial red snapper season in 
Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico will close at 12 noon 
August 7, 2003. Closing the season in State waters is 
necessary to provide effective Rules and efficient 
enforcement for the fishery, to prevent overfishing of this 
species in the long term. 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0308#037 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Tangipahoa Parish School Board WMA 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under 
the authority of R.S. 56:115, the Secretary of the Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries and the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby adopts the following Emergency Rule. 

2003-2004 Hunting Regulations 
Tangipahoa Parish School Board Wildlife Management 

Area (Region 7): (Loranger Tract: 346.89 acres) and (Husser 
Tract: 647.12 acres) 

Self-Clearing Permits Required.  
Deer: Same as outside except still hunt only. 
Small Game: Same as outside except beagles permitted 

January 26-February 29; squirrel dogs permitted January  
26-February 8 

Raccoon (Nighttime): January 26-February 29 
No ATVs. Walk-in only. 
Horseback Riding: Organized trail rides prohibited. 

Riding allowed only on designated roads and trails. Horses 
and mules are specifically prohibited during turkey and gun 
seasons for deer. 

Contact Wildlife Division, Region 7 for maps and specific 
information. 

A Declaration of Emergency is necessary to establish the 
hunting season for Tangipahoa Parish School Board Wildlife 
Management Area. A lease agreement was recently 
completed on the tracts and as such was not included with 
the original Notice of Intent. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0308#038 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Temporary Natural Reef 

In accordance with emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and in 
accordance with R.S. 56:6(12) and R.S. 56:433, the Wildlife 

and Fisheries Commission and the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries declare and designate those waterbottoms of 
Little Lake and vicinity in Jefferson and Lafourche Parishes 
more specifically described below to be a designated 
temporary natural reef.  

The oyster resource located on this designated reef may be 
irretrievably lost due to the anticipated operation of the 
Davis Pond Freshwater Diversion structure, which poses 
imminent peril to the welfare of the people of the state as a 
result of the permanent and irreplaceable loss of this natural 
resource and the resulting loss of economic benefit to the 
oyster industry. Inasmuch as the Davis Pond Freshwater 
Diversion is anticipated to resume normal operations within 
12 months, standard rulemaking procedures and timeframes 
would leave little, if any, time for an orderly and efficient 
harvest of this resource. Therefore, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission and the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries do hereby declare the waterbottoms of Little Lake 
and vicinity in Jefferson and Lafourche parishes as described 
below a designated temporary natural reef:  

Beginning at the point on the western bank of the 
Barataria Waterway, latitude of 29o 34= 40" North, longitude 
90o 03' 35.070" West; thence southerly along the western 
bank of the Barataria Waterway to a point, latitude 29o 30' 
27.226" North, longitude 90o 01' 25.438" West; thence 
southwesterly to a point, latitude 29o 26' 37.361" North, 
longitude 90o 07' 26.119" West; thence northwesterly to a 
point, latitude 29o 28' 50.000" North, longitude 90o 11' 
40.000" West; thence North to a point, latitude 29o 34' 
40.000" North, longitude 90o 11' 40.000" West; thence East 
to the point of beginning. 

All statutes, regulations, and policies pertaining to the use 
of public oyster grounds will be in force in this temporary 
natural reef with the exception of any additional mitigation 
requirements levied from time to time for construction, oil 
and gas exploration, or pipeline construction activities. 

This Declaration of Emergency will become effective on 
September 3, 2003, and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Administrative 
Procedure Act or until revocation by the Commission and 
the Department. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0308#035 
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