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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Examination Fees (LAC 7:XXIX.109) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry, at the request of the Horticulture 
Commission, has amended the following Rule governing 
fees for exams administered by the Horticulture 
Commission. 

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit of the Horticulture Commission is not a continuing 
option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. The 
department must use the emergency adoption provisions to 
insure that programs that begin in July will be adequately 
funded for the 2003-2004 fiscal year. Adoption of these 
Rules will take place in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. However, this process takes several months 
to complete and would cause additional deficits to continue 
and the possibility of work reductions. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIX.  Horticulture Commission 
Chapter 1. Horticulture 
§109. Examination Fees 

A. Retail Florist 
1. The fee for examination for licensure as a retail 

florist shall be $150. 
2. The fee for re-examination in the written phase of 

the examination shall be $50. 
3. The fee for re-examination in any portion of the 

design phase of the examination shall be $100. 
B. Landscape Architect 

1. The fee for examination for licensure as a landscape 
architect shall be the cost for each section of the examination 
plus an administrative fee of $200 for first time applicants 
and those applying through reciprocity. 

2. The fee for re-examination in the various sections 
for licensure as a landscape architect shall be the cost for 
each section plus one administrative fee of $100. 

C. Wholesale Florist, Horticulturist, Arborist, Utility 
Arborist, and Landscape Contractor 

1. The fee for examination or re-examination for 
licensure as a wholesale florist, horitculturist, arborist, utility 
arborist and landscape contractor shall be $50. 

D. All fees required under this Rule must be submitted at 
the same time as the application; failure to submit any 
required fees will bar the applicant from taking the 
exa mination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3801, R.S. 3:3805, and R.S. 3:3806. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Horticulture Commission, LR 8:184 (April 1982), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Horticulture Commission, LR 14:8 (January 1988), LR 18:249 
(March 1992), LR 20:640 (June 1994), LR 29:2297 (November 
2003). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0311#064 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Nursery Certificate Permit Fees (LAC 7:XV.126) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry hereby adopts regulations 
governing fees for nursery certificate permits and permit 
tags.  

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds is not a 
continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of July. 
Adoption of these Rules will take place in accordance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:1655 and 3:1652. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 

Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter B. Nursery Stock Quarantines 
§126. Nursery Certificate Permit Fees 

A. There is hereby established and henceforth there shall 
be an annual fee paid by nursery permittees as follows. 

1. Any nursery which consists of acreage greater than 
2,500 square feet or greenhouse area greater that 200 square 
feet shall be $100 per location per year and all other nursery 
certificate permittees shall pay a fee of $25 per location per 
year. 

2. There is hereby established and henceforth there 
shall be a fee of $0.10 per nursery certificate permit tag 
issued by the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry to the nursery certificate permittee. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1655 and R.S. 3:1652. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 15:78 (February 1989), amended LR 29:2297 
(November 2003). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0311#063 
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RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences 

Sweet Potato Quarantine (LAC 7:XV.143) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and 
Environmental Sciences, has amended regulations regarding 
the sweet potato weevil quarantine. 

Louisiana is experiencing an unprecedented shortfall in 
state finances. The legislature has cut the department's 
budget; therefore, using other department funds to cover the 
deficit for the sweet potato weevil quarantine program is not 
a continuing option. The fiscal year begins on the first of 
July. The department must use the emergency adoption 
provisions to insure that programs that begin in July will be 
adequately funded for the 2003-2004 fis cal year. Adoption of 
this Rule will take place in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. However, this process takes 
several months to complete and would cause additional 
deficits to continue and the possibility of work reductions. 

This Rule is  enabled by R.S. 3:1652 and 3:1732. 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XV.  Plant Protection and Quarantine 
Chapter 1. Crop Pests and Diseases 
Subchapter C. Sweet Potato Weevil Quarantine 
§143. Fees 

A. fee of $0.06 per bushel shall be charged for each 
bushel of sweet potatoes moved or shipped within or out of 
Louisiana. 

B. … 
C. A fee of $0.10 per thousand shall be charged for 

vines, plants, slips or cuttings moved or shipped within or 
out of Louisiana. 

D. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:1655, R.S. 3:1732 and R.S. 3:1734. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, 
LR 11:321 (April 1985), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 15:77 (February 1989), LR 18:705 (July 1992), LR 
27:1178 (August 2001), LR 29:2298 (November 2003). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0311#062 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Enterprise Zone Program 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 7) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 
51:1786(5) and in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., hereby amends LAC 
13.I.Chapter 7, Enterprise Zone Program. The following 

Sections are repealed: §§702, 703, 718, 735, 745, 747 and 
751. The following Sections are adopted and contain new 
language: §§703, 713-745. The following Sections are 
amended: §§701, 705-711, and 749. The purpose of the 
amended Rules is to comply with changes to the enterprise 
zone legislation made by Acts 2002 1st Extra Session, No. 4, 
which changed the basis of determining enterprise zones to 
the most recent census and extended the $5,000 per job tax 
credit for motor vehicle parts manufacturers. The changes 
also further clarify requirements for creating the minimum 
number a jobs. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs  
Chapter 7. Enterprise Zone Program 
§701. Scope 

A. Intent of Program. The intent of the program is to 
stimulate employment for residents in depressed areas of the 
state which are designated as enterprise zones by providing 
tax incentives to a business hiring from these areas. 

B. Description of Program. The Louisiana Enterprise 
Zone Program is a jobs program which gives tax incentives 
to a business hiring from enterprise zones in Louisiana or 
from one of the other targeted groups. Enterprise Zone 
Program incentives are in addition to other state sponsored 
incentives such as the Industrial Tax Exemption Program 
and the Restoration Tax Abatement Program. Enterprise 
Zone and Quality Jobs Programs are mutually exclusive. 

C. The following incentives are available. 
1. A one-time tax credit of $2,500 for each net new 

job filled with a Louis iana resident added to the applicant's 
payroll. The tax credit may be used to satisfy state income 
tax and/or franchise tax liabilities. If the entire tax credit 
cannot be used in the year created, the remainder may be 
applied against the state income tax and/or franchise tax 
liabilities for the succeeding 10 taxable years or until the 
entire credit is used, whichever occurs first. 

2. In lieu of §701.C.1 tax credit, aviation and 
aerospace industries [as defined in the 3720s and 3760s 
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) manual] and auto 
parts manufacturers [as defined in 3363s North American 
Industrial Classification System (NAICS) manual] are 
eligible for a one-time tax credit of $5,000 for each net new 
job filled with a Louisiana resident added to the applicant's 
payroll. The tax credit may be used to satisfy state income 
tax and/or franchise tax liabilities. If the entire tax credit 
cannot be used in the year created, the remainder may be 
applied against the state income tax and/or franchise tax 
liabilities for the succeeding 10 years, or until the entire 
credit is used, whichever occurs first. The $5,000 tax credit 
for auto parts manufacturers will sunset June 30, 2006. 

3. An additional $2,500 tax credit is available to an 
applicant hiring Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) recipients. This tax credit is in addition to the 
incentive for new jobs created in §701.C.1 and §701.C.2. 
The TANF recipient must receive compensation which will 
disqualify them from continued participation in TANIF and 
must be employed for two years to generate the additional 
tax credit. The tax credit may be used to satisfy state income 
tax and/or franchise tax liabilities. If the entire tax credit 
cannot be used in the year created the remainder may be 
applied against the state income tax and/or franchise tax 
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liabilities for the succeeding 10 years or until the entire 
credit is used, whichever occurs first. An employer shall not 
obtain the jobs tax credit for more than 10 TANIF employees 
in the first year of participation in the program. 

4. Rebates can consist of sales/use taxes imposed by 
the state and imposed by local governmental subdivisions, 
upon approval of the governing authority of the appropriate 
municipality, parish, or district, where applicable, on all 
eligible purchases during the specified project/construction 
period per §725.H. The project/construction period is limited 
to a 24 month period. Upon a written request, a 
project/construction period extension, not to exceed six 
months, may be granted by the Office of Business 
Development, Business Incentives Division (BI). Rebates 
paid by local governmental subdivisions can only consist of 
those sales/use taxes that are not dedicated to the repayment 
of bond indebtedness or dedicated to schools. Final requests 
for the payment of any rebate must be filed with the 
Louisiana Department of Revenue (LDOR) and/or its local 
governmental subdivision no later than six months after the 
project's completion is documented or six months after the 
date of the governor's signature on the contract, whichever is 
later. Documentation of the completion of a project shall be 
either by using the application certification section or the 
filing of a separate Project Completion Report (PCR), as 
applicable, whichever date is later. An extension of up to six 
months on filing the rebate request with the LDOR may be 
granted upon written request to the BI. This request must be 
received by BI prior to the standard rebate request time 
period has expired. 

D. Qualifications 
1. The applicant's current level of employment must 

be increased by 10 percent (minimum of one net new job) 
within the first 12 months or a minimum of five net new jobs 
must be added to the current payroll within the first two 
years of the contract period. See §703.Minimum Net New 
Jobs Required . Thirty-five percent net new employees must 
meet §§709, 711, 713, or 715 as applicable. 

2. Any business, except residential developments, 
(including but is not limited to the construction, selling, or 
leasing of single-family or multi-family dwellings, 
apartment buildings, condominiums, town houses, etc), 
churches, and businesses with gaming (See Title 13.1.3 
Gaming Ineligibility) may apply for enterprise zone benefits. 

3. An applicant in an urban parish must certify that a 
minimum of 35 percent of its net new employees meet the 
requirements of §709. 

4. An applicant located in a rural parish and in an 
enterprise zone must certify that a minimum of 35 percent of 
its net new employees meet the requirements of §711. 

5. An applicant located in a rural parish and not in an 
enterprise zone must certify that a minimum of 35 percent of 
its net new employees meet the requirements of §713. 

6. An applicant located in an economic development 
zone must certify that a minimum of 35 percent of its net 
new employees meet the requirements of §715. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Finance Division, LR 17:252 (March 1991), amended by 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 
Industry, LR 22:446 (June 1996), amended by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2298 (November 2003). 
§702. Future Contract Availability 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:1786(5)) et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
amended LR 22:447 (June 1996), repealed Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2299 (November 2003). 
§703. Definitions 

Affiliate?  
1. any business entity that is: 

a. controlled by the applicant business; 
b. a controlling owner of the applicant business; or 
c. controlled by an entity described in Subparagraph 

a or b; 
2. for purposes of this definition, Control is defined as 

owning either directly, or indirectly through control of or by 
another business entity: 

a. a majority of the voting stock or other voting 
interest of such business entity or the applicant business; or 

b. stock or other interest whose value is a majority 
of the total value of such business entity or the applicant 
business; 

3. a business entity may be treated as a non-affiliate if 
the applicant business proves that neither the applicant 
business nor any of its controlling owners exercise authority 
over the management, business policies and operations of 
the business entity. 

Beginning of Project/Construction? the first day on which 
foundations are started or where foundations are 
unnecessary, the first day on which installation of the facility 
begins or the first day that materials or equipment purchased 
for that project are received. Where there is no construction, 
the first day on which a new hire is made in connection with 
the project shall mean "Beginning of Project/Construction" 
for the purposes of this Chapter.  

Contract Effective Date? either the day that the advance 
notification was received by BI or the beginning date of the 
project/construction shown on the application. The contract 
effective date cannot be earlier than the date the advance 
notification was received by BI unless a waiver of timely 
filing has been approved by the Board of Commerce and 
Industry (Board). 

Date of Hire? the first day of work for which the applicant 
directly pays an employee and is reported on the applicant's 
Louisiana Department of Labor (LDOL) Quarterly Report of 
Wages Paid. 

Economic Development Zone (EDZ)? a geographic area of 
contiguous real properties defined by a visible boundary, 
designated as such by the state or the local governmental 
subdivision in which it is located and approved by the 
Board. The location of an EDZ once defined is permanent, 
cannot be moved, expanded, or relocated, and is owned or 
operated by the state or a political subdivision of the state or 
operated by an entity created by the state or a political 
subdivision of the state. EDZs must have been created by 
state statute and are defined to include the following: 

1. industrial park; 
2. business park; 
3. airport or air park; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2300

4. research park;  
5. research and development park; 
6. downtown development district? with taxing and 

bonding authority; 
7. former federal facility? cannot be a single building 

or small grouping of prior federally owned and occupied 
buildings. The immediate previous occupant of this facility 
must have been a federal governmental entity; and 

8. port? only the contiguous real property actually 
owned by that port. 

Enterprise Zone? an area of high unemployment, low 
income and/or an area where a large number of residents are 
receiving some form of public assistance. For purposes of 
R.S.51:1787.B.4 and D.4 the term "some form of public 
assistance" shall include any program of assistance financed 
in whole or in part by a federal, state, or any local 
government agency, eligibility for which is dependant upon 
the employment status or income level of the individual. 
Any such assistance must have been received by the 
individual within a six month period prior to their 
employment. Receiving unemployment is not public 
assistance. 

Full Time Employee? an employee reported on the 
applicant's Louisiana Department of Labor (LDOL) 
Quarterly Report of Wages Paid and who is scheduled to 
work 35 hours per week on a permanent basis and receive 
benefits.  

Lacking Basic Skills? an employee that exhibits below a 
9th grade level proficiency in reading or writing or math. 

Louisiana Resident? shall be someone who has lived in 
Louisiana at least 30 consecutive days prior to being hired 
by the applicant. 

Net New Job? in addition to all the other employees 
reported on the applicant's LDOL Quarterly Report of Wages 
Paid based at the site of the enterprise zone project. 

Minimum Net New Jobs Required? an applicant must 
create the lesser of expanding their current workforce by a 
minimum of 10 percent of their present statewide workforce, 
minimum of 1, within the first 12 months of the contract or 
expand their workforce by a minimum of five net new 
employees within the first 24 months of the contract. The 
applicant's statewide workforce and the statewide workforce 
of all of its Louisiana affiliates will be considered when 
calculating the 10 percent. 

Part Time Employee? an employee reported on the 
applicant's LDOL Quarterly Report of Wages Paid and 
works a minimum of 20 hours each week for six consecutive 
months. 

Project/Construction Ending Date? the date all 
construction and purchasing is completed for the project. 

Project/Construction Period? the time encompassed by 
the Contract Effective Date and the Project/Construction 
Ending Date. 

Rural Parish? a parish having a current U.S. Census 
population of 75,000 or less. 

Some Form of Public Assistance? any program of 
assistance financed in whole or in part by a federal, state, or 
any local government agency, eligibility for which is 
dependant upon the employment status or income level of 
the individual. Any such assistance must have been received 
by the individual within a six month period prior to their 
employment. 

Unemployable by Traditional Standards? an employee 
that qualifies as physically challenged. 

Urban Parish? a parish having a current U.S. Census 
population greater than 75,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2299 (November 2003). 
§705. Endorsement Resolution 

A. An applicant seeking a local sales/use tax rebate must 
obtain an endorsement resolution(s) from the local 
governmental subdivision(s) where those taxes are paid. The 
endorsement resolution must clearly state if the local 
governmental subdivision intends to rebate the allowable 
sales/use taxes for the project. This endorsement resolution 
must be passed by the local governmental subdivision(s) 
before the board approves the EZ application. Each project 
seeking a local sales/use tax rebate must have an 
endorsement resolution specific to the project. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 8:230 (May 
1982), amended LR 9:544 (August 1983), amended by the 
Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Division of Financial Programs Administration, LR 11:95 
(February 1985), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, Finance Division, 
LR 17:253 (March 1991), Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 22:447 (June 1996), 
amended by the Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Commerce and Industry, Business Incentives Division, LR 23:295 
(March 1997), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 29:2300 
(November 2003). 
§707. Documentation of Location  

A. A current U.S. Census or the appropriate EDZ map 
with the project site location clearly marked shall be filed 
with the BI before the board approves the EZ application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 8:230 (May 
1982), amended LR 9:544 (August 1983), amended by the 
Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Division of Financial Programs Administration, LR 11:95 
(February 1985), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, Finance Division, 
LR 17:253 (March 1991), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 
22:447 (June 1996), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 29:2300 
(November 2003). 
§709. Targeted Employees for an Applicant in an 

Urban Parish 
A. Applicant located in an urban parish and receiving the 

benefits of this Chapter must certify that all net new 
employees creating tax credits are Louisiana residents and at 
least 35 percent meets one of the following requirements: 

1. are residents of an enterprise zone in the same 
parish at the project's location of the applicant's; 

2. are residents of an enterprise zone in a contiguous 
parish if the applicant has 500 or more employees at the 
project's location; 
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3. are/were receiving some form of public assistance, 
as defined in §703.Some Form Of Public Assistance, within 
a six month period prior to their employment by the 
applicant; 

4. are lacking basic skills; or 
5. are unemployable by traditional standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated In accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 8:230 (May 
1982), amended LR 9:544 (August 1983), amended by the 
Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Division of Financial Programs Administration, LR 11:95 
(February 1985), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Commerce, Finance Division, LR 17:253 
(March 1991), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 22:447 (June 
1996), amended by the Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Business Development, LR 29:2300 (November 2003). 
§711. Targeted Employees for an Applicant in a Rural 

Parish and in an Enterprise Zone 
A. Applicant located in an enterprise zone in a rural 

parish and receiving the benefits of this Chapter must certify 
that all net new employees creating tax credits are Louisiana 
residents and at least 35 percent meets one of the following 
requirements: 

1. are residents of the same parish as the project's 
location of the applicant's; 

2. are residents of an enterprise zone in a contiguous 
parish if the applicant business has 500 or more employees 
at the project's location; 

3. are/were receiving some form of public assistance 
within the six month period prior to their employment by the 
applicant. (See §703.Some Form of Public Assistance); 

4. are lacking basic skills; or 
5. are unemployable by traditional standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 8:230 (May 
1982), amended LR 9:544 (August 1983), amended by the 
Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Division of Financial Programs Administration, LR 11:95 
(February 1985), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, Finance Division, 
LR 17:254 (March 1991), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 
22:448 (June 1996), amended by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 29:2301 
(November 2003). 
§713. Targeted Employees for an Applicant in a Rural 

Parish and not in an Enterprise Zone 
A. Applicant located in a rural parish and not located in 

an enterprise zone and receiving the benefits of this Chapter 
must certify that all net new employees creating tax credits 
are Louisiana residents and at least 35 percent meets one of 
the following requirements: 

1. are residents of an enterprise zone in the same 
parish as the project's location of the applicant; 

2. are residents of an enterprise zone in a contiguous 
parish if the applicant has 500 or more employees at the 
project's location; 

3. are/were receiving some form of public assistance 
within a six month period prior to their employment by the 
applicant. (See §703.Some Form of Public Assistance); 

4. are lacking basic skills; or 
5. are unemployable by traditional standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2301 (November 2003). 
§715. Targeted Employees for an Applicant in an 

Economic Development Zone 
A. Applicant business located in an EDZ and receiving 

the benefits of this Chapter must certify that all net new 
employees creating tax credits are Louisiana residents and at 
least 35 percent meets one of the following requirements: 

1. are residents of the same parish as the project's 
location of the applicant; 

2. are residents of an enterprise zone in a contiguous 
parish if the applicant has 500 or more employees at the 
project's location; 

3. are/were receiving some form of public assistance 
within a six month period prior to their employment by the 
applicant. (See §703.Some Form of Public Assistance); 

4. are lacking basic skills; or 
5. are unemployable by traditional standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2301 (November 2003). 
§717. Annual Employee Certification 

A. An annual Employee Certification Report (ECR) must 
be filed with the BI by March 1 on all active contracts 
validating compliance with §§709, 711, 713, and 715. 
Failure to file may result in contract cancellation. 

B. The "beginning number" from which the net new jobs 
will be determined shall meet one of the following: 

1. the number of employees that an applicant has on 
the day before the contract effective date; or 

2. the last annual average number of employees that 
was certified under a valid enterprise zone contract the day 
prior to the new contract effective date on contiguous 
contracts. 

C. An employee count will be taken from the applicant's 
entire contiguous site for the purposes of calculating the jobs 
tax credit generated. If the applicant has more than one site 
within the metropolitan area where the project is located, BI 
may consider the total employee count using all locations in 
calculating the jobs tax credits generated. 

D. Monthly totals of permanent full time employees will 
be averaged over a minimum of six months to determine the 
number of jobs tax credit generated. Only employees 
reported on the LDOL Quarterly Report of Wages Paid will 
be used to calculate this average monthly total. In no case 
shall the new employees exceed the net increase in total 
employment. 

E. Part time employees may be counted after completing 
a minimum of 20 hours every week for that continuous six 
month period. Only employees reported on the LDOL 
Quarterly Report of Wages Paid will be used to calculate this 
average monthly total. In no case shall the new employees 
exceed the net increase in total employment. 

F. If the ECR substantiates that the company has not met 
the hiring requirements in this Chapter, the board shall 
cancel the contract and no jobs tax credit will be granted. 
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The Department of Economic Development (LDED) will 
notify LDOR within 30 days after cancellation of a contract. 
Upon notification by LDED of the failure to meet the 
minimum jobs requirement, LDOR will immediately assess 
tax liability to the applicant equal to all state sales/use tax 
rebates paid pursuant to this Chapter plus any penalty and 
interests due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2301 (November 2003). 
§718. Advance Notification, Timely Filing 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:1786(5). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Business Incentives Division, LR 23:295 (March 1997), repealed 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29:2302 (November 2003). 
§719. Arbitrary Termination of Employees 

A. The board shall not accept an application from an 
applicant which performs essentially the same job at the 
same or new location but for a diffe rent ownership in order 
to qualify for the benefits of this Chapter. New jobs tax 
credits shall not be generated by those persons whether or 
not the name or owner of the business changes over a short 
period of time (less than two weeks), i.e., a business closes 
on Friday under one ownership and opens on Monday under 
a different ownership. These are not net new jobs and shall 
not generate jobs tax credits under this Chapter.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2302 (November 2003). 
§721. Items Eligible for Sales/Use Tax Rebate 

A. Materials that are permanently installed at the 
enterprise zone project site during the project/construction 
period are eligible for sales/use tax rebates. 

B. Materials that originate from a 
contractor/subcontractor's inventory and are permanently 
installed at the enterprise zone project site during the 
project/construction period are eligible for sales/use tax 
rebates. In order for rebates to be issued on property 
withdrawn from inventory, the contractor/subcontractor must 
maintain sufficient records and provide sufficient 
information to enable the LDOR to verify that Louisiana 
sales or use taxes were paid on the property for which rebate 
is claimed. 

C. Machinery and/or equipment purchased for the 
enterprise zone project site during the project/construction 
period are eligible for sales/use tax rebates provided that the 
machinery and equipment are used exclusively at the project 
site, are owned by an entity named in the enterprise zone 
contract with the state, and are intended to remain at the 
project site for the expected useful life of the machinery and 
equipment. 

D. Machinery and or equipment transferred into 
Louisiana for the enterprise zone project site during the 
project/construction period are eligible for sales/use tax 
rebates provided that the machinery and equipment are used 
exclusively at the project site, are owned by an entity named 

in the enterprise zone contract with the state, and are 
intended to remain at the project site for the expected useful 
life of the machinery and equipment. 

E. Software purchased, capitalized, and used by the 
applicant primarily at the enterprise zone project site during 
the project/construction period are eligible for sales/use tax 
rebates. 

F. Consumable items are not eligible for sales/use tax 
rebate. A partial listing of ineligible items are: per diem, 
labor, service contracts, storage, freight, radios, laptop 
computers, utilities, permits and fees, office supplies, 
construction consumables, blades, drill bits, PVC sheeting, 
tape, gloves, dusk masks, and all leases and rentals. 

G. Lease-purchases may be eligible for a sales/use tax 
rebate upon LDOR's approval. The property acquired 
through lease-purchase must be used exclusively at the 
project site, must be owned by an entity named in the 
enterprise zone contract with the state, and must be intended 
to remain at the project site for the expected useful life of the 
machinery and equipment. A copy of the lease-purchase 
agreement must be submitted with the Claim for Rebate 
Request to LDOR, Office Audit Division. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, LR 9:230 (May 1982), amended LR 9:544 (August 
1983), LR 11:96 (February 1985), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
17:255, (March 1991), LR 22:449 (June 1996), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, LR 29:2302 (November 2003). 
§723. Filing of Advance Notification 

A. An Advance Notification form and fee shall be filed 
prior to the beginning of project/construction with BI. All 
incentives for the same project must be indicated on one 
advance notification and be identified by one project 
number. It is not acceptable to apply for Enterprise Zone 
Program and use the same project in a Miscellaneous Capital 
Addition application for the Industrial Tax Exemption 
Program. Internet filing of the advance notification may be 
made at http://www.laemall.com. 

B. An advance notification lacking the proper 
application will expire one year after the project/construction 
ending date shown on the advance notification unless a 
written request for a date revision request is received by BI 
prior to the expiration date. 

C.1. An advance notification received by BI after the 
beginning of the project/construction will obligate the 
applicant to file written reason(s) for the late filing. The 
board will accept reasons that fall within the following two 
categories in determining if it will consider waiving the late 
filing: 

a. events beyond the control of the applicant caused 
the late filing; or 

b. there was some documented fault or error on the 
part of the BI that caused the applicant's late filing. 

2. Lack of knowledge of the existence of the 
Enterprise Zone Program or its benefits will not be accepted 
as a valid reason for waiving the timely filing requirement. 

D. An advance notification which receives a waiver of 
late filing will allow the applicant to proceed as if the 
advance notification was filed timely. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development LR 
29:2302 (November 2003). 
§725. Filing of Applications 

A. Applications must be filed with the Office of Business 
Development, Business Incentives Division, P.O. Box 
94185, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-9185, on the form 
prescribed, within three months after project/construction 
ending date. Internet filing of the application may be made at 
http://www.laemall.com. 

B.1. An application fee shall be submitted with the each 
application based on the following formula: 

Application Fee = Total Estimated Tax Relief x 0.2% (.002) 
Total Estimated Tax Relief =  
Jobs Tax Credit* + State sales/use tax rebate 
Application Fee = Total Estimated Tax Relief x .2% (.002) 
(Minimum fee is $200 and the maximum fee is $5,000 
application per Program.) 

2. An additional application fee will be due if a 
project's employment or investment scope is increased, 
resulting in a minimum fee of $100 more than what has 
already been submitted, unless the maximum has been paid. 

3. Jobs Tax Credit? the total amo unt calculated by 
multiplying all the new jobs estimated to be created within 
the five year contract period by $2,500 ($5,000 for aerospace 
or auto parts manufacturers). 

4. All fees shall be made payable to: Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development. 

D. The applicant shall file an original and a copy of the 
Inspection/Audit Affidavit Form showing a complete list of 
building(s) and equipment and the cost of each item on the 
project with the appropriate fee for the inspection which will 
be conducted by the BI. This affidavit must be filed within 
six months of the project/construction ending date or when 
the signed original contracts are returned to the BI, 
whichever is later. 

E. The BI reserves the right to return the advance 
notification, application, or inspection/audit affidavit to the 
applicant if the estimated tax relief or the fee submitted is 
incorrect. The application or inspection/audit affidavit may 
be resubmitted within 30 days with the correct fee without 
penalty. 

F. The advance notification, application, and the 
inspection/audit affidavit will not be considered officially 
received or accepted without the appropriate fee being 
received by BI. Processing fees for the advance notification, 
application, or inspection/audit affidavit, which have been 
received and accepted, will not be refunded. 

G. Applications must be submitted to the BI at least 45 
days prior to the board meeting where it is intended to be 
presented for approval. 

H. The applicant proposing a project with a construction 
period greater than two years is required to separate the 
project into phases with no phase having over a two year 
construction period. Each construction phase shall require a 
separate advance notification, application and fee to be filed 
with the BI. The applicant must comply with §701.D for 
each application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2303 (November 2003) 
§727. Recommendations of the Secretaries of 

Economic Development and Revenue 
A. BI shall forward the applications with 

recommendations to the secretary of Louisiana Department 
of Revenue and the secretary of Louisiana Department of 
Economic Development for their review. The secretaries of 
LDOR and LDED may submit a letter of no objection in lieu 
of a letter of recommendation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2303 (November 2003). 
§729. Application Shall Be Presented to the Board of 

Commerce and Industry 
A. BI shall present an agenda of applications to the 

Board and with recommendations based upon its findings. 
B. Applicant or their representatives will be notified of 

the board meeting date at which their application will be 
considered. The applicant business should have someone 
present who is able to answer any questions the board may 
have regarding the information contained in the application. 
In the event there is no representative present, the 
application may be deferred or denied. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2303 (November 2003). 
§731. Board of Commerce and Industry Enters into 

Contract 
A. Upon approval of the application, the board shall 

enter into contract with the applicant for the benefits allowed 
by this Chapter. The applicant must execute their portion of 
the contract and return it within 30 days to BI. The state will 
complete the execution. A fully executed original contract 
will be returned to the applicant. An original and a copy will 
be sent to the LDOR and, if applicable, a copy sent to the 
local governmental subdivision. 

B. BI must be notified of any change that will effect the 
contract. This includes, but is not limited to, changes in the 
ownership or operational name of the applicant business 
holding a contract, or the suspension, closing, or 
abandonment of operations. Failure to report any changes 
within six months may constitute a breach of contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2303 (November 2003). 
§733. Rebates of Sales/Use Taxes 

A. The contract will not authorize the applicant to make 
tax exempt purchases from vendors. The applicant will be 
contacted by the LDOR on the proper procedures  to obtain 
the state sales/use tax rebate. Rebates will be obtained by the 
filing of a rebate request with the LDOR, Office Audit 
Division, which must include the following: 

1. a list of eligible purchases (See §721) including a 
brief description of each item, the vendor's name, date of the
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delivery, sales price and the amount of state sales/use tax 
paid. The listed items must have been purchased by the 
applicant of the project, a builder, a contractor, or other party 
that contracted with the owner to provide materials, 
equipment, machinery, or software that is used by the 
applicant primarily at the project site or is listed in Schedule 
3 of the enterprise zone contract; 

2. a certification that the listed materials are 
reasonably expected to qualify for a rebate under provisions 
of this Chapter; and 

3. a certification that state sales/use taxes have been 
paid on the listed items. 

B. The request may be filed on the official LDOR 
"Claim for Rebate" form or on other forms prepared by the 
applicant. After LDOR has validated the information on the 
Claim for Rebate, a rebate check will be issued for the 
amount of substantiated state sales/use taxes paid. 

C. The applicant should contact the local governmental 
subdivision issuing the endorsement resolution to determine 
the procedure for local sales/use tax rebate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2303 (November 2003). 
§735. Applicant with a Contract Must File State 

Income and Franchise Tax Returns 
A. Applicant that have satisfied their Louisiana income 

tax and/or franchise tax liability by applying jobs tax credits 
earned under this Chapter shall file the same required forms 
and tax returns with the LDOR that are required if no jobs 
tax credit were taken. Each annual return where jobs tax 
credit are taken will have a copy the letter from BI certifying 
the tax credits and the unused jobs tax credits from previous 
years provided. If total jobs tax credits are less than the total 
taxes, remittance in the amount of the difference must be 
enclosed with the tax return. Limited Liability Companies, 
Sub Chapter S Corporations, etc., must have the name(s) of 
owners and their social security numbers listed on the 
contract in order for job tax credits to flow through to the 
owner(s). 

B. Partnerships and sole proprietorships shall file the 
same returns that are required if the jobs tax credit had not 
been granted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2304 (November 2003). 
§737. Violations of Rules, Statutes, or Documents 

A. On the initiative of the board or whenever a written 
complaint of violation of the terms of the Rules, the contract 
documents, or the statutes, is received the board or its 
representative shall determine if a full investigation should 
be made. The board shall have full authority for such 
investigation, including but not exclusively, the authority to 
call for reports, pertinent records, or other information from 
the applicant. If the investigation appears to substantiate a 
violation the board or its representative will present the 
subject contract for formal action. If an applicant is found to 
be in violation of these Rules or the contract, the applicant 
shall remit back to the state all jobs tax credit taken on 
income tax and/or franchise returns, all sales and use tax 

rebates, and any other taxe s that would have been imposed 
but for the issuance of this contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2304 (November 2003). 
§739. Economic Development Zone Annual Reporting 

A. Each EDZ will submit an annual report which will 
compare activity in the last completed year to the previous 
year's activity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2304 (November 2003). 
§741. Multi-Tenant Facility 

A. For a multi-tenant facility to be eligible for the 
benefits of this Chapter, the applicant must meet one of the 
following: 

1. occupy a minimum of 33 percent of the total floor 
area of the building; 

2. tenants are businesses new to the state;  
3. tenants are Louisiana businesses increasing their 

number of locations within the state by placing a new 
location within this facility; 

4. tenants are relocating within Louisiana and will 
generate the minimum of new job credits over and above the 
total jobs at their previous location per §701.D. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2304 (November 2003). 
§743. Relocation of Enterprise Zones 

A. A local governmental subdivision requesting the 
relocation of an enterprise zone must provide valid reason(s) 
for requesting the move and must have the approval of the 
board. All relocation of enterprise zone requests must be 
accompanied by a single map showing the location of the 
old and the new enterprise zones. 

B. The residents of originally designated enterprise zone 
may qualify as part of the 35 percent residency requirement. 

C. The effective date of a relocation approved by the 
board shall be the date of passage affixed to the resolution 
by the local governing authority requesting the relocation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2304 (November 2003). 
§745. Appeals and Petition Procedure 

A. Applicants who wish to appeal an action of the Board 
of Commerce and Industry must submit their appeals along 
with any necessary documentation to the Office of Business 
Development, Business Incentives Division no later than 90 
days after the board action to be appealed. The appeal shall 
not be considered by the board less than one month after it is 
submitted. 

B. Petitions, and all documentation, on matters not yet 
presented to or ruled on, by the board, must be submitted to 
the Office of Business Development, Business Incentives 
Division at least one month prior to the meeting of the board 
or any of its committees in which the petition will be made. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2304 (November 2003). 
§747. Exclusion of Residential Developments 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:1786(5). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry, LR 9:546 (August 
1983), amended by the Department of Commerce, Office of 
Commerce and Industry, Division of Financial Programs 
Administration, LR 11:97 (February 1985), amended by the 
Department of Commerce, Office of Commerce and Industry 
Finance Division, LR 12:660 (October 1986), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 
Industry, Finance Division, LR 17:257 (March 1991), amended by 
the Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce 
and Industry, LR 22:451 (June 1996), repealed by the Department 
of Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2305 (November 2003). 
§749. Prohibit Local Fees and Prohibit Local 

Conflicting Employment Practices 
A. No local governmental subdivision shall charge any 

fees or require any employment practices which conflict 
with state law as a precondition to authorize tax benefits 
under this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Finance Division, LR 17:257 (March 1991), amended by the 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 
Industry, LR 22:451 (June 1996), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2305 (November 2003). 
§751. Application Procedures 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:1786(5). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Finance Division, LR 17:257 (March 1991), amended LR 22:451 
(June 1996), repealed by the Department of Economic 
Development, Office of Business Development, LR 29:2305 
(November 2003). 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0311#056 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Business Resources Division 

Quality Jobs Program  
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 11) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 
51:2459 and R.S. 51:2451-2462 and in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., hereby 
amends §§1101-1111, 1115-1119, of the Quality Jobs 

Program, repeals §1113, and adopts the following Sections 
with new language: §§1121, 1123, 1125, 1127, 1129, and 
1131. The purpose of the amended Rules is to comply with 
changes to the Quality Jobs legislation made by Acts 2002 
1st Extraordinary Session, No. 153, which made significant 
changes to the program including lowering the amount a 
wages required to be paid in order to qualify, providing for a 
sales/use tax rebate, changing to a fixed benefit rate rather a 
calculated benefit rate, setting minimum wage requirements, 
and increasing the health care benefits requirement. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs  
Chapter 11. Quality Jobs Program 
§1101. General 

A. Intent of Law 
1. To provide benefits used primarily as an 

inducement for businesses to locate or expand existing 
operations in Louisiana in accordance with Louisiana Vision 
2020 with a focus on Louisiana's traditional and seed 
clusters: 

a. to provide appropriate incentives to support 
employers who will make significant contributions to the 
development of the economy of the state; 

b. to provide or make available incentives that shall 
be directly related to the new direct jobs created as the result 
of the employer locating or expanding existing operations in 
the state; 

c. the Departments of Economic Development, 
Revenue and Labor shall implement the provisions of this 
program. 

B. Program Description 
1. A qualified employer must create a minimum of 

five new direct jobs. If the employer employs more than 50 
employees prior to the beginning of the contract, it must 
have an annual gross payroll for new direct jobs equal to or 
greater than $500,000. If the employer employs 50 or less 
employees, it must have an annual gross payroll for new 
direct jobs equal to or greater than $250,000. The annual 
payroll for new direct jobs must be created by the third fiscal 
year of the contract. 

2. A qualified employer must employ full-time 
employees working 35 or more hours per week in new direct 
jobs. If the qualified employer is a Call Center (NAICS code 
56142) it must employ full-time employees working 30 or 
more hours per week in new direct jobs. 

3. The amount of the rebate is directly related to the 
new direct jobs created and to the new annual gross payroll 
generated as the result of a qualified employer locating or 
expanding in the state. 

4. The qualified employer is entitled to sales and use 
tax rebates authorized in R.S. 51:1787 if the employer meets 
the Enterprise Zone Program hiring requirements. 

5. Approval by the Louisiana Board of Commerce and 
Industry and the Governor of Louisiana is required, after 
consultation with the Secretary of the Department of Labor 
and the Secretary of the Department of Revenue. 

6. An establishment that is engaged in retail; business 
associations and professional organizations; state and local 
government enterprises; real estate agents, operators, and 
lessors; automotive rental and leasing; local solid waste 
disposal, local sewage systems, and local water systems; 
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nonprofit organizations; the gaming industry; and attorneys 
shall not be eligible for rebates under this program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:961 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2305 
(November 2003). 
§1103. Definitions 

Affiliate?  
1. any business entity; 

a. controlled by the applicant business; 
b. which is a controlling owner of the applicant 

business; or 
c. which is  controlled by an entity described in 

Subparagraphs a or b. 
2. for purposes of this definition, "control" is defined 

as owning either directly or indirectly through control of or 
by another business entity: 

a. A majority of the voting stock or other voting 
interest of such business entity or the applicant business; or  

b. Stock or other interest whose value is a majority 
of the total value of such business entity or the applicant 
business. 

3. a business entity may be treated as a non-affiliate if 
the applicant business proves that neither the applicant 
business nor any of its controlling owners exercise authority 
over the management, business policies and operations of 
the business entity.  

Basic Health Benefits Plan or the Health Insurance 
Coverage? that which is required to be offered and/or 
provided shall include coverage for basic hospital care, 
coverage for physician care, and coverage for health care 
which shall be the same as that provided to executive, 
administrative, or professional employees. 

Benefit Rate? one of the following percentages: 
1. for new direct jobs created which pay at least 1 3/4 

times the federal minimum hourly wage rate, the benefit rate 
shall be five percent; 

2. for new direct jobs created which pay at least 2 1/4 
the federal minimum hourly wage rate and meet one of the 
following criteria, the benefit rate shall be 6 percent; 

a. the new direct jobs are located in a distressed 
region designated by the Department of Economic 
Development. If an area is designated a distressed region, 
such designation shall be maintained for the period of the 
initial contract and during the renewal contract. To qualify 
an employer shall either be located in a distressed region or 
at least 50 percent of the new direct jobs of the employer 
shall be filled by persons who reside in a distressed region; 
or 

b. the new direct jobs are with an employer 
categorized in a traditional or seed cluster identified by the 
Louisiana Economic Development Council and the 
Department of Economic Development. The Department of 
Economic Development shall promulgate rules and 
regulations defining traditional or seed cluster employers 
prior to these rules taking effect. 

Department? the Louisiana Department of Economic 
Development. 

Distressed Region? one of the following: 
1. a parish with a per capita income in the lowest 25 

percent of the parishes; or 
2. a census tract and block group that is below the 

state median per capita income, based on the most recent 
federal decennial census. 

Employer? a legal person who executes a contract with the 
department pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 51:2452-2462, 
and who offers, or will offer within 90 days of the effective 
date of qualifying for the incentive rebates, a basic health 
benefits plan to the individuals it employs in new direct jobs: 

1. for advance notifications filed with the department 
before June 1, 2000, the employer shall pay not less than 50 
percent of the insurance premium;  

2. for advance notifications filed with the department 
on or after June 1, 2000, but before May 1, 2002, the 
employer shall pay not less than 75 percent of the premium 
for full-time employees. The employer shall offer group 
coverage for dependents of full-time employees, but the 
employer is not required to pay the premium;  

3. for advance notifications filed with the department 
on or after May 1, 2002, the employer shall offer the 
employee the choice of one of the following health insurance 
coverage programs: 

a. the employer shall pay not less than 85 percent of 
the total premium for full-time employees choosing to 
participate under individual coverage and shall offer 
coverage for dependents of full-time employees, but the 
employer is not required to pay the premium; or 

b. the employer shall pay not less than 50 percent of 
the total premium for full-time employees who choose to 
participate and choose to cover their dependents. 

Gross Payroll? wages for the new direct jobs upon which 
the specified benefit rate is calculated. 

NAICS? North American Industrial Classification System 
New Direct Job?  

1. employment in the state of an employee: 
a. working the average hours per week provided in 

§1101.B.2; and 
b. who was not previously on the payroll of;  

 i. the employer; 
 ii. the employer's parent entity, subsidiary, or 
affiliate; or 
 iii. any business whose physical plant and 
employees are substantially the same as those of the 
employer; 

2. a new direct job: 
a. shall be with an employer that has qualified for 

the incentive rebate; 
b. did not exist in this state prior to the advance 

notification being filed by the employer with the department 
pursuant to the provisions of R.S. 51:2455; 

c. shall be filled by an individual domiciled in the 
state of Louisiana; 

d. shall not be a job that is created by an employer 
as a result of the employer securing a contract to supply 
goods and services in the state of Louisiana, if another 
business was under an obligation to supply the same goods 
and services from a facility located in Louisiana and such 
obligation was terminated within three months prior to 
filling the job by the employer; and 
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e. shall not include an employee retained following 
the acquisition of all or part of an in-state business by an 
employer. 

Wages? all remuneration for services from whatever 
source, including commissions and bonuses and the cash 
value of all remuneration in any medium other than cash, 
and dismissal payments which the employer is required by 
law or contract to make. Gratuities shall be estimated in 
accordance with the Internal Revenue Code and its rules and 
regulations. Wages shall not include the following: 

1. the amount of any payment with respect to services 
performed after January 1, 1951, to or on behalf of an 
individual in its employ under a plan or system established 
by an employer which makes provision for individuals in its 
employ generally, or for a class of classes of such 
individuals, including any amount paid by an employer for 
insurance or annuities, or into a fund to provide for any such 
payment, on account of: 

a. retirement; 
b. sickness or accident disability; 
c. medical and hospitalization expenses in 

connection with sickness or accident disability; 
d. death, provided the individual in its employment 

does not have the option to receive, instead of provision of 
such death benefit, any part of such payment or, if such 
death benefit is insured, any part of the premium or 
contributions to premiums paid by his employer or does not 
have the right, under the provisions of the plan or system or 
policy of insurance providing for such death benefit, to 
assign such benefit or to receive cash consideration in lieu of 
such benefit either upon his withdrawal from the plan or 
system providing for such benefit or upon the termination of 
such plan or system or policy of insurance or of his services 
with such employer; or 

e. a bona fide thrift or savings fund, providing such 
payment is conditioned upon a payment of a substantial sum 
by such individuals in its employment and such sum paid by 
the employer cannot under the provisions of such plan be 
withdrawn by an individual more frequently than once in 
any 12 month period, except upon an individual's separation 
from that employment; 

2. any payment made to, or on behalf of, an employee 
or his beneficiary under a cafeteria plan of the type 
described in 26 U.S.C. 125 and referred to in 26 U.S.C. 
3306(b)(5)(G); 

3. any payment made, or benefit furnished, to or for 
the benefit of an employee if at the time of such payment or 
such financing it is reasonable to believe that the employee 
will be able to exclude such payment or benefit from income 
under an educational assistance program as described in 26 
U.S.C. 127 or a dependent care assistance program as 
described in 26 U.S.C. 129 and as referred to in 26 U.S.C. 
3306(b)(13); 

4. the payment by an employer, without deduction 
from the remuneration of the individual in its employ, of the 
tax imposed upon such individual in its employ under 
Section 3 101 of the federal Internal Revenue Code with 
respect to domestic services in a private home of the 
employer or for agricultural labor performed after December 
31, 1980; 

5. dismissal payments that the employer is not 
required by law or contract to make; or 

6. the value of any meals and lodging furnished by or 
on behalf of an employer to an individual in his employ, 
provided the meals and lodging are furnished on the business 
premises of the emp loyer for the convenience of the 
employer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:961 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2306 
(November 2003). 
§1105. Qualified Employers 

A. To qualify for a contract an employer must meet one 
of the following provisions: 

1. be one of the six Vision 2020 cluster industries: 
a. Medical and Biomedical; 
b. Micromanufacturing; 
c. Software, Auto Regulation, Internet, and 

Telecommunications Technology; 
d. Environmental Technologies; 
e. Food Technologies; or 
f. Materials; 

2. be a manufacturer whose primary function is 
identified by NAICS codes 113310, 211, 213111, 541360, 
311-339, 511-512, and 54171; 

3. be an oil and gas field services business as defined 
by the NAICS code 213112 and must pay not less than 
$30,000 per year for each new direct job, and Louisiana 
must be the national or regional headquarters of a multi-state 
business whose service territory includes Louisiana and the 
Gulf of Mexico; 

4. have or will have sales of at least 75 percent of its 
total sales within one year to: 

a. out-of-state customers or buyers; 
b. in-state customers or buyers if the product or 

service is resold by the purchaser to an out-of-state customer 
or buyer for ultimate use; or 

c. the federal government; 
5. meet the requirements of both a and b: 

a. have or will have sales of at least 50 percent of 
its total sales within one year to: 
 i. out-of-state customers or buyers; 
 ii. in-state customers or buyers if the product or 
service is resold by the purchaser to an out-of-state customer 
or buyer for ultimate use; or 
 iii. the federal government; and 

b. meet one of the following requirements: 
 i. be classified as an industry defined by NAICS 
codes that have a direct state employer multiplier of 2.0 or 
greater in accordance with the most current edition of the 
Regional Input/Output Multiplier System II or its successor; 
 ii. be a central administrative office that 
influences the environment in which data processing, 
customer service, credit accounting, telemarketing, claims 
processing, and other administrative functions are 
accomplished; 
 iii. have data processing, back office operations, 
and telephone call center operations (NAICS Code 56142); 
 iv. be a wholesale trade business (NAICS Code 
42) and have a distribution center of not less than 25,000 
square feet; 
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6. must be a National Basketball Association Team, 
which relocates to Louisiana and may enter into a contract 
prior to November 1, 2003; however, contracts with such 
teams: 

a. shall not grant a tax rebate greater than 
$3,650,000 in any taxable year; 

b. shall not allow the salary of any person who 
owns more than 25 percent of such team to be included in 
the gross payroll to calculate the rebate; 

c. may be renewed for an additional five years, 
provided the team has complied with all the terms of the 
contract, has not performed, or failed to perform, any act 
which made the applicant liable for suspension; 

d. shall be awarded a benefit rate of no more than 5 
percent; and 

e. shall include the wages of players and coaches of 
the team subject to Louisiana income tax in the calculation 
of the gross payroll, even though the players and coaches 
may be non-residents of Louisiana. 

B. The following employers or persons shall not be 
eligible for benefits provided under this Chapter: 

1. retail employers identified by NAICS Code 
Sections 44 and 45; 

2. business associations and professional 
organizations identified by NAICS Code 8139; 

3. state and local government enterprises; 
4. real estate agents, operators, and lessors; 
5. automotive rental and leasing; 
6. local solid waste disposal, local sewage systems, 

and local water systems businesses; 
7. nonprofit organizations; 
8. employers engaged in the gaming industry 

identified by NAICS Code Sections 713210 and 721120; and 
9. attorneys. 

C. The department may pro mulgate rules annually listing 
other ineligible employers, professions, or service industries 
that are not eligible for rebates under the provisions of this 
program. Such rules shall not take place until the Louisiana 
Economic Development Council, the House Committee on 
Ways and Means, and the Senate Committee on Revenue 
and Fiscal Affairs approves. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:963 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2307 
(November 2003). 
§1107. Application Fees, Timely Filing 

A. The applicant shall submit an advance notification on 
the prescribed form before locating the establishment or the 
creation of any new direct jobs in the state. All financial 
incentive programs for a given project shall be filed at the 
same time, on the same advance notification form. An 
advance notification fee of $100, for each program applied 
for, shall be submitted with the advance notification form. 
An advance notification filing shall be considered by the 
department to be a public record under Louisiana Revised 
Statutes, Title 44, Chapter 1, Louisiana Public Records Law, 
and subject to disclosure to the public. 

B. An application for the Quality Jobs Program must be 
filed with the Office of Business Development, P.O. Box 

94185, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9185 on the 
prescribed forms within 90 days of the creation of the jobs or 
completion of the project, which ever occurs first. Failure to 
file an application may result in the application being denied 
or restricted. 

C. An application fee shall be submitted with the 
application based on the following: 

1. 0.2 percent times the estimated total incentive 
rebates (see application fee worksheet to calculate);  

2. the minimum application fee is $200 and the 
maximum application fee is $5,000 for a single project; 

3. the check is made payable to the Louisiana 
Department of Economic Development. 

D. A Project Completion Report shall be filed within 90 
days after the completion of construction/installation. 

E. An Affidavit of Annual Certification shall be filed 
within 90 days of completing a company's fiscal year. A fee 
of $100 must be filed with the initial report. 

F. An application to renew a contract shall be filed 
within 60 days of the initial contract expiring. A fee of $50 
must be filed with the renewal contract. 

G. The Office of Business Development reserves the 
right to return the advance notification, application, or 
affidavit of annual certification to the applicant if the 
estimated exemption or the fee submitted is incorrect. The 
document may be resubmitted with the correct fee. The 
document will not be considered officially received and 
accepted until the appropriate fee is submitted. Processing 
fees for advance notifications, applications, or affidavits of 
annual certification that have been accepted for eligible 
projects, shall not be refundable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:963 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2308 
(November 2003). 
§1109. Application Review, Analysis, Evaluation, 

Determination 
A. Application Review 

1. The department will assign a project number and 
review the advance notification form to determine if the 
employer is qualified pursuant to §1105.A. The employer 
will be notified of the project number and due date of the 
application packet. 

2. The application packet must be completed and 
returned to the Department of Economic Development by 
the due date. The department must authorize any omissions 
to the application by the employer in writing. If the 
application is incomplete, the department may request 
additional information prior to further action. The 
application fee must accompany the application packet 
pursuant to §1107.C. 

B. Analysis, Evaluation, Determination 
1. The department shall determine qualification for 

the employer: 
a. the employer shall create a minimum of five new 

direct jobs; 
b. the employer shall meet the annual payroll 

requirements pursuant to §1101.B.1 and 2; 
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c. the employer shall offer a basic health benefits 
plan to the individuals it employs in new direct jobs pursuant 
to §1103.B. A copy of said plan must be provided to the 
department; 

d. the department will analyze the proposed new 
direct jobs to determine they meet the program criteria; 

e. the employer must furnish all sources of 
remuneration that make up the wages that are used in the 
determination of the gross payroll. A listing that will identify 
all positions and wages of all employees shall be furnished 
to verify the gross payroll;  

f. the department will determine the effective date 
of the contract. 

2. The department shall determine the benefit rate 
pursuant to §1103.E and F and §1105.A.5.c.(5). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:964 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2308 
(November 2003). 
§1111. Consultation with the Departments of Labor and 

Revenue 
A. The department will provide a copy of the application 

and all relative information to the Department of Labor and 
the Department of Revenue for review. Either the 
Department of Labor or the Department of Revenue or both 
may require additional information from the applicant. 

B. The department must obtain a letter-of-no-objection 
or a letter-of-approval from the Department of Labor and the 
Department of Revenue, prior to submitting the application 
to the Board of Commerce and Industry for action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:964 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2309 
(November 2003). 
§1113. Application to Department of Revenue and 

Taxation 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

51:2451-2461 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:965 (October 1996), repealed 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2309 
(November 2003). 
§1115. Economic Development Recommendations to 

Board 
A. The department after review and analysis will prepare 

the application information in a format suitable for 
presentation to the Board of Commerce and Industry. 

B. The department will make a presentation to the Board 
of Commerce and Industry as to the economic impact and 
the benefits to be received. 

C. The department will make recommendations for 
approval or disapproval, and will provide information on 

behalf of the Department of Labor and the Department of 
Revenue. 

D. The Board of Commerce and Industry must approve 
the application prior to a contract being issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:965 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2309 
(November 2003). 
§1117. The Contract 

A. The Board of Commerce and Industry or its 
successor, after no-objection from the secretaries of the 
Department of Labor and the Department of Revenue, with 
the approval of the governor, may enter into a contract with 
an employer for a period up to five years. 

1. A contract with an employer shall be limited to a 
single physical location, and the benefits the employer shall 
receive will be based solely upon the operations at that 
location. 

2. An employer may have more than one contract 
covering multiple locations; however, the eligibility of each 
location shall be determined separately, with the exception 
of determining new direct jobs. The department shall certify 
that the employer has a net overall increase in employment 
statewide for each new direct job. 

B. The contract may be renewed for an additional five 
years provided that: 

1. the employer has complied with all the terms of the 
contract; and 

2. the employer has met the statutory minimum hourly 
wage for the new direct jobs subject to the benefit rate 
established when the contract was entered into and the 
hourly wage has increased by an amount which is equal to or 
greater than one of following: 

a. the wage rate has grown by the percentage 
increase in the Consumer Price Index published by the U.S. 
Department of Labor for the five years of the initial term of 
the contract, compounded; or 

b. the wage rate has increased by two percent for 
the five years of the initial term of the contract, 
compounded. 

C. No contract shall be executed if: 
1. the employer has defaulted, not repaid a loan, or not 

repaid an obligation involving public funds; 
2. the employer declared bankruptcy and the 

obligation to pay or repay public funds or monies was 
discharged as part of such bankruptcy a contract shall not be 
executed; 

3. the employer is in default on any filing or payment 
to the state, to any of its agencies, or to any of its political 
subdivisions, and in which an assessment or judgment is 
final; or 

4. the employer employs more than 50 employees and 
has entered into a contract or other agreement with any 
person or entity where required payment is contingent upon 
their success in obtaining the benefits of this program. If an 
employer employs less than 50 employees and enters into 
such contract, this provision will not prohibit such employer 
from being eligible for a Quality Jobs Act Program contract
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renewal. However, if at the time of such renewal, such 
employer employs more than 50 employees, the employer 
will not be eligible for renewal if the employer has entered 
into a contract where required payment is contingent upon 
success in obtaining benefits related to the contract renewal. 

D. Contract Voided. Violation of the provisions of 
§1117.C shall void the contract and any rebates paid to the 
employer prior to the date the violation is discovered, the 
rebates will be recovered by adding to the income tax 
liability for the taxable year the violation occurred. 
Additionally, interest will be assessed from the date of the 
violation and the employer shall receive no further rebates. 

E. Contract Suspended 
1. If a rebate is received by an employer as provided 

under this provision and the employer is rendered an 
assessment or judgment that is final and nonappealable in 
favor of the state or any of its agencies or any of its political 
subdivisions, the contract shall be suspended pending the 
settlement of the assessment. No rebate shall accrue to the 
employer under the contract during the period of suspension. 

2. After the employer's fiscal year for which the 
employer applied for his third annual rebate, if at any other 
time during the 10-year contract period the employer applies 
for a rebate following the end of the employer's fiscal year, 
and the verified gross payroll for the fiscal year does not 
demonstrate the required minimum of five new direct jobs 
and the gross payroll does not equal or exceed a total of 
$500,000 or $250,000, whichever is applicable to said 
contract, the rebates shall be suspended and shall not be 
resumed until such time as the payroll and job requirements 
are met. No rebate shall accrue or be paid to the employer 
during a period of suspension. 

F. Contract Rebates Reduced 
1. If the employer receives a rebate and it is 

subsequently determined the employer did not qualify for 
the rebate, future rebates will be reduced by the amount 
received by the employer. 

2. If there are no future rebates to deduct the amount 
owed the state, the tax liability of the employer will be 
increased by the amount of the rebate for the taxable period 
non-qualification was determined. 

3. The secretary of the Department of Revenue may 
recover any rebates previously granted to an employer but 
which rebates disallowed as authorized by R.S. 47:1561.2. 
The employer shall waive prescription for the purpose of 
recovering any disallowed rebates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:965 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2309 
(November 2003). 
§1119. Incentive Rebates 

A. Except as otherwise provided herein an employer who 
has entered into a contract may receive a rebate that is 
calculated by multiplying the benefit rate, as defined in LCA 
1103.F.1 and 2, times the annual gross payroll of new direct 
jobs, as defined in LCA 1103.H.1-9, for the specified period 
in the contract. 

B. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in either 
Chapter 1 or Chapter 5 of Subtitle II of Title 47 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, as amended, the 
following rules shall apply with respect to the application of 
the rebate allowed. 

1. The incentive rebate allowed an S corporation shall 
be paid to the S corporation entity and not the individual 
shareholders of the corporation. 

2. The incentive rebate allowed a partnership, limited 
liability partnership (LLP), or limited liability company 
(LLC) shall be paid to the entity and shall not be paid to the 
individual partners or members of the entity. 

C. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the 
contrary in Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised Status of 1950, 
as amended, the Secretary of the Department of Revenue 
shall make the rebate. 

D. In order to receive the rebate provided for by the 
contract, an employer shall apply with the department. 

1. The application shall be filed on the prescribed 
form designated by the department and shall contain the 
required information to determine if the applicant is 
qualified. 

2. The application shall contain a sworn statement, by 
a duly authorized officer of the employer, listing the names 
of persons or other entities who have received or who will 
receive any payment or other consideration from the 
employer for the purpose of representing the employer in 
applying for or receiving the benefits of this program. 

E. In order to qualify to receive the rebate, the employer 
applying shall meet the requirements of LCA 1101.B.1 and 
2. 

F. The department shall determine if an applicant is 
qualified to receive rebates. 

G. The approved employer shall apply annually for 
rebates with the department in the prescribed format and 
provide the information as described in LCA 1123. The 
employer may be audited by the department to verify 
eligibility. The rebates may continue as long as the employer 
complies with the approved contract and remains eligible. 

H. The benefit rate shall be determined annually based 
on information provided by the employer on the rebate claim 
reports made annually. 

I. The payroll rebates shall be paid annually after the 
employer submits the required annual report as specified in 
LCA 1123 and the department determines the employer is 
eligible for the rebate for that fiscal year. The report shall be 
filed within 90 days following the end of the employer's 
fiscal year with the Department of Economic Development. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Financial Incentives Division, LR 22:965 (October 1996), amended 
by the Department of Economic Development, Office of Business 
Development, Business Resources Division, LR 29:2310 
(November 2003). 
§1121. Rebate Payments 

A. In addition to the payroll rebates, an employer shall 
be entitled to sales and use tax rebates as authorized in R.S. 
51:1787, if the employer meets the hiring requirements as 
defined in the Enterprise Zone Program and meets the other
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limitations, procedures, and requirements of R.S. 51:1787 
and the rules promulgated there under, Louisiana 
Administrative Code, Title 13, Part I, Chapter 7. 

B. An employer may request rebates of local sales and 
use taxes. This request must be accompanied by an 
endorsement resolution approved by the local governing 
authority of the appropriate municipality, parish, port 
district, or industrial district board in whose jurisdiction the 
employer is or will be located and taxes are paid. The 
endorsement resolution must clearly state if the local 
governmental subdivision intends to rebate the allowable 
sales and use taxes for the project. A copy of the resolution 
must be filed with the Department of Economic 
Development prior to action taken by the board on the 
application. 

AUTHORIT Y NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:2310 (November 2003). 
§1123. Rebate Claim Filing 

A. Payroll Rebate 
1. A qualified employer must file annually an 

Affidavit of Annual Certification within 90 days of the 
completion of employer's fiscal year with the department to 
claim the payroll rebate. 

2. The annual report will provide information on the 
number of employees at the site, the number of employees 
statewide, the number of new direct jobs created at the site, 
the number of hours worked by each employee weekly, the 
hourly wage paid employees in the new direct jobs, the 
position title, the employee's address, the hire date, the term 
date, the insurance acceptability, the percentage of the 
insurance paid by the employer, and the annual gross wages. 

3. The department may request additional information 
from the employer as may be necessary to determine the 
eligibility for the annual rebate for that fiscal year or may 
request the employer revise the annual report. 

4. Upon approval the department will advise the 
Department of Revenue the eligible rebate. The Department 
of Revenue shall make payment of the rebate after offset, if 
applicable, under R.S. 47:1622. The rebate shall be 
considered a refundable overpayment for the purpose of 
such offset. 

5. If the actual verified annual gross payroll for the 
employer's third fiscal year does not show a minimum of 
five new direct jobs and does not equal or exceed a total 
annual payroll of $500,000 or $250,000, whichever is 
applicable, the employer will be determined to be ineligible 
under this Chapter. The Department of Revenue will be 
notified and the tax liability for the current tax period in 
which the failure to meet the requirements occurs shall be 
increased by the amount of rebates previously allowed. 

B. Sales and Use Tax Rebate 
1. An annual Employee Certification Report must be 

filed on all active contracts for the employer to qualify for 
the sales and use tax rebate under this Chapter.  

2. The "beginning number" from which the net new 
jobs will be determined shall be the number of employees 
that an employer has on the day before the effective date of 
the contract. 

3. An employee count will be taken from the 
employer's entire contiguous site for the purposes of 
calculating the jobs.  

4. Monthly totals of permanent full time employees 
will be averaged over a minimum of six months to determine 
the number of jobs generated. Part time employees may be 
counted after completing a minimum of six months of 
continuous employment comprised of a minimum of 20 
hours every week during that continuous period. Only 
employees reported on the Department of Labor's 
Unemployment Insurance Report will be used to calculate 
the average monthly total. In no case shall the new 
employees exceed the net increase in the total employment. 

5. If the Employee Certification Report substantiates 
that the company has not met the hiring requirements under 
these rules, the employer will not be eligible for the sales 
and use tax rebate. The department will notify the 
Department of Revenue of the ineligibility. 

C. Sales and Use Tax Rebate Advance Notification 
1. Initial Sales and Use Tax Rebate Advance 

Notification. An employer who receives a Quality Jobs Act 
contract and who meets the requirements for sales and use 
tax rebates as authorized in R.S. 51:1787 and §1121 of these 
Rules, will satisfy the advance notification requirement for 
sales and use tax rebates for the initial period of the Quality 
Jobs Act contract by submission of the Quality Jobs Act 
Program advance notification referred to in §1107 of these 
Rules. The initial sales and use tax rebate period may begin 
on or after the Quality Jobs Act contract effective date and 
shall be no longer than twenty-four months, except to the 
extend that a longer period is authorized under the Enterprise 
Zone Program. In order to receive rebates of local sales and 
use taxes, the employer must satisfy the provisions of 
§1121.B of these Rules. 

2. Subsequent Sales and Use Tax Rebate Periods. On 
the expiration of the initial sale and use tax rebate period 
under the Quality Jobs Act contract, an employer may file 
additional advance notifications on Form, "Quality Jobs Act 
Sales and Use Tax Rebate Advance Notification," to seek 
additional state and local sales and use tax rebates as 
authorized in R.S. 51:1787 and §1121 of these Rules if the 
employer meets the hiring requirements as defined in the 
Enterprise Zone Program and meets the other limitations, 
procedures, and requirements of R.S. 51:1787 and the Rules 
promulgated thereunder, Louisiana Administrative Code, 
Title 13, Part I, Chapter 7, for each subsequent sales and use 
tax rebate period during the term of the Quality Jobs Act 
contract. Each subsequent sales and use tax rebate period 
shall be no longer than twenty-four months, except to the 
extent that a longer period is authorized under the Enterprise 
Zone Program. The local endorsement resolution 
requirements of §1121.B shall apply to each subsequent 
sales and use tax rebate period for which an employer under 
a Quality Jobs Act contract seeks the rebate of local sales 
and use taxes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:2311 (November 2003). 
§1125. Prohibited Incentives 

A. A qualified employer that enters into a contract under 
this Chapter shall not be eligible to receive the other credits 
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or exemptions provided for in the following provisions of 
law except as provided for in R.S. 51:2456(B): 

1. R. S. 47:34 (tax credit for generation of new jobs in 
Louisiana); 

2. R.S. 47:38 and 287.757 (income tax credit for 
conversion of vehicles to alternate fuel usage);  

3. R.S. 47:4301 through 4306 (Industry Assistance 
Program - income tax, corporate franchise tax, state sales 
tax, and excise tax exemptions for manufacturing 
establishments); 

4. R.S. 47:6004 (employer credit for employment of 
previously unemployed person);  

5. R.S. 47:6009 (Louisiana basic skills training tax 
credit-income tax credit); 

6. R.S. 47:6010 (employer income tax credit for 
employee alcohol and substance abuse treatment programs);  

7. R.S. 51:1787 (Enterprise Zone Program - incentives 
tax exemption from sales and use tax materials to be used in 
the construction of a building and for machinery and income 
tax credit for each employee in an enterprise zone); 

8. R.S. 47:287.748 (re -entrant jobs credit for formerly 
incarcerated employees-corporate income tax); 

9. R.S. 47:287.749 (corporate income tax credit for 
new jobs); 

10. R.S. 47:287.753 (neighborhood assistance income 
tax credit). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:2311 (November 2003). 
§1127. Penalties 

A. Penalties are provided under R.S. 51:2460 for false or 
fraudulent information in making application, making a 
claim for rebate, or other instrument. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:2312 (November 2003). 
§1129. Termination of Program 

A. The Board of Commerce and Industry shall approve 
no new applications for rebates as provided for under this 
Chapter on and after January 1, 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:2312 (November 2003). 
§1131. Severability 

A. If any Section or provision of this Chapter is held 
invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other provisions of 
this Chapter. Any provision of this Chapter that is in conflict 
with R.S. 51:2451-R.S. 51:2462 or any other statute will be 
invalid and will be severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:2451-2462 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, 
Business Resources Division, LR 29:2312 (November 2003). 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0311#057 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Capital Companies Tax Credit Program? Notes Receivable 
(LAC 10:XV.325) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, pursuant to the authority of R.S. 51:1929 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby adopts the following Rule for the 
Capital Companies Tax Credit Program. The Rule is being 
adopted to provide additional guidance to certified Louisiana 
capital companies on the application of R.S. 
22:1068.(E)(1)(b). This Rule provides for certain issues 
regarding premium tax reductions when certified Louisiana 
capital companies issue notes receivable to insurance 
companies that invest certified capital. It provides that the 
minimum period until maturity of the note shall be five 
years, and provides for minimum required repayment terms. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES, AND UCC 
Part XV.  Other Regulated Entities 

Chapter 3. Capital Companies Tax Credit Program 
§325. Notes Receivable 

A. The provisions of R.S. 22:1068(E)(1)(b) will be 
satisfied with respect to a note receivable issued by a 
certified Louisiana capital company or its investment pool to 
an investing insurance company if: 

1. the note receivable has a stated final maturity date 
of not less than five years from the date on which the 
certified Louisiana capital company or its investment pool 
issues the note receivable; and 

2. either: 
a. the note receivable is repaid in a manner which 

results in the note receivable being fully repaid or otherwise 
satisfied in equal amounts over the stated maturity of the 
note receivable; or 

b. the duration of the note receivable is no shorter 
than the duration of a hypothetical note that: 
 i. is issued on the same date as the note issued by 
the certified Louisiana capital company or its investment 
pool; 
 ii. has the same maturity date as the note issued 
by the certified Louisiana capital company or its investment 
pool; 
 iii. has a price and yield the same as that of the 
note issued by the certified Louisiana capital company or its 
investment pool, calculated in the same manner (i.e., with 
respect to compounding, 360 vs. 365 day per year 
calculations, etc.); and 
 iv. is fully amortized by equal daily payments, 
which amounts are calculated as follows: 

(a). the aggregate of all amounts scheduled to be 
paid or otherwise credited to the holder of the note 
receivable issued by the certified Louisiana capital company 
or its investment pool for the entire term of the note 
receivable divided by; 
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(b). the total number of days scheduled to elapse 
from the date on which the certified Louisiana capital 
company or its investment pool issues its note receivable 
through and including the stated maturity date thereof, 
calculated on a 365 or 360 day year, consistent with the 
calculation of interest on the note receivable. 

B. For purposes of this Section, a note receivable's 
"duration" shall mean the weighted-average time to receipt 
of the present value of the amounts used to repay or 
otherwise satisfy the note receivable obligation. For 
purposes of this Section, a note receivable's duration shall be 
calculated in a manner that is typical in the industry for 
publicly-traded debt instruments. 

C. Each certified Louisiana capital company or its 
investment pool that issues notes to insurance companies 
other than those described in A.2.a of this Section shall 
submit to the Office of Financial Institutions, in writing, the 
duration for each such note issued by it (or one 
representative note, if all notes are similar except for the face 
amount) and the duration for the note described in A.2.b of 
this Section. Each calculation shall show: 

1. all information required to make the duration 
calculation; and 

2. all interim worksheets and formulae used in the 
duration calculation, reasonably sufficient to allow the 
Office of Financial Institutions to duplicate the calculation. 
A copy of the actual spreadsheet model used by the certified 
Louisiana capital company or its investment pool for its 
duration calculation in a Microsoft Excel software format 
shall satisfy the requirements of the preceding sentence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1929. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 29:2312 
(November 2003). 

 
Don J. Hutchinson 
Secretary 

0311#055 
 

RULE 
 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 105? Louisiana Content Standards  
for Programs Serving Four-Year-Old Children  

(LAC 28:LXXVII.Chapters 1-5) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted Bulletin 105? Louisiana Content 
Standards for Programs Serving Four-Year-Old Children . 
Bulletin 105 will be printed in codified format as Part 
LXXVII of Title 28 the Louisiana Administrative Code. At 
the May 2003 meeting of the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, Bulletin 105 was approved. This 
bulletin contains content standards needed for the effective 
operation of a quality early childhood program. This action 
was necessary in order to ensure quality across early 
childhood programs under the present jurisdiction of the 
Department of Education, provide quality standards 
available to other agencies that serve four-year-old students, 
and to provide for a consistent flow from  

pre-kindergarten to kindergarten, thus meeting the mandates 
of the federal "No Child Left Behind" (NCLB) legislation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXVII.  Bulletin 105? Louisiana Content 
Standards for Programs Serving Four-Year-Old 

Children 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana Content Standards for Programs 
Serving Four-Year-Old Children document was developed 
by a committee of educators from across the state. The 
committee consisted of representatives of higher education 
institutions, technical colleges, childcare, Head Start, 
Department of Social Services, and the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, as well as representatives from local 
school system administrators and classroom teachers. The 
standards were designed to address the needs of all children 
in all settings. There are a number of principles that guided 
the development of the document. [These Guiding 
Principles were reprinted with permission from the 
Connecticut State Department of Education Preschool 
Curriculum Framework and Benchmarks for Children in 
Preschool Programs (May 1999).] 

1. Early learning and development are 
multidimensional; developmental domains are highly 
interrelated. Development in one domain influences the 
development in other domains. For example, children's 
language skills impact their ability to engage in social 
interactions. Therefore, developmental domains cannot be 
considered in isolation of each other. The dynamic 
interaction of all areas of development must be considered. 

2. Young children are capable and competent. All 
children are capable of positive developmental outcomes. 
Therefore, there should be high expectations for all young 
children. 

3. There are individual differences in rates of 
development among children. Each child is unique in the 
rate of growth and the development of skills and 
competencies. Some children may have a developmental 
delay or disability that may require program staff to adapt 
expectations of individual children or adapt experiences so 
that they will be successful in attaining the performance 
standard. Additionally, each child is raised in a cultural 
context that may impact a child's acquisition of certain skills 
and competencies. 

4. Children will exhibit a range of skills and 
competencies in any domain of development. Preschool age 
children will exhibit a range of skills and competencies in 
any area of development. All children within an age group 
should not be expected to master each skill to the same 
degree of proficiency at the same time.  

5. Knowledge of child growth and development and 
consistent expectations are essential to maximize 
educational experiences for children and for program 
development and implementation. Early care and education 
program staff mu st agree on what it is they expect children 
to know and be able to do, within the context of child growth 
and development. With this knowledge, early childhood staff 
can make sound decisions about appropriate curriculum for 
the group and for individual children. 
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6. Families are the primary caregivers and educators 
of their young children. Families should be aware of 
programmatic goals and experiences that should be provided 
for children and expectations for children's performance by 
the end of the preschool years. Program staff and families 
should work collaboratively to ensure that children are 
provided optimal learning experiences. Programs must 
provide families with the information they may need to 
support children's learning and development. 

7. Young children learn through active exploration of 
their environment through children-initiated and teacher-
selected activities. The early childhood environment should 
provide opportunities for children to explore materials and 
engage in concrete activities, and to interact with peers and 
adults in order to construct their own understanding about 
the world around them. There should therefore be a range of 
approaches to maximize children's learning. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2313 (November 
2003). 
§103. Louisiana Content Standards Foundation Skills  

A. The Louisiana Content Standards Task Force has 
developed the following foundation skills, which should 
apply to all students in all disciplines. 

Citizenship? the application of the understanding of the 
ideals, rights, and responsibilities of active participation in a 
democratic republic that includes working respectfully and 
productively together for the benefit of the individual and 
the community; being accountable for one's choices and 
actions and understanding their impact on oneself and 
others; knowing one's civil, constitutional, and statutory 
rights; and mentoring others to become productive citizens 
and lifelong learners. 

Communication? a process by which information is 
exchanged and a concept of "meaning" is created and shared 
between individuals through a common system of symbols, 
signs, or behavior. Students should be able to communicate 
clearly, fluently, strategically, technologically, critically, and 
creatively in society and in a variety of workplaces. This 
process can best be accomplished through use of the 
following skills: reading, speaking, listening, viewing, and 
visually representing. 

Linking and Generating Knowledge? the effective use 
of cognitive processes to generate and link knowledge across 
the disciplines and in a variety of contexts. In order to 
engage in the principles of continual improvement, students 
must be able to transfer and elaborate on these processes. 
"Transfer" refers to the ability to apply a strategy or in-
content knowledge effectively in a setting or context other 
than that in which it was originally learned. "Elaboration" 
refers to monitoring, adjusting, and expanding strategies into 
other contexts. 

Problem-Solving? the identification of an obstacle or 
challenge and the subsequent application of knowledge and 
thinking processes, which include reasoning, decision-
making, and inquiry in order to reach a solution using 
multiple pathways, even when no routine path is apparent. 

Resource Access and Utilization? the process of 
identifying, locating, selecting, and using resource tools to 
help in analyzing, synthesizing, and communicating

information. The identification and emp loyment of 
appropriate tools, techniques, and technologies are essential 
to all learning processes. These resource tools include pen, 
pencil, and paper; audio/video materials, word processors, 
computers, interactive devices, telecommunication, and 
other emerging technologies. 

NOTE: These foundation skills were developed by the 
Louisiana Content Standards Task Force in 1997. This task 
force developed the State Standards for Curriculum 
Development for kindergarten through grade 12. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2314 (November 
2003). 
§105. Information Literacy Model for Lifelong 

Learning 
A. Students must become competent and independent 

users  of information to be productive citizens of the 21st 
century. They must be prepared to live in an information-rich 
and changing global society. Due to the rapid growth of 
technology, the amount of information available is 
accelerating so quickly that teachers are no longer able to 
impart a complete knowledge base in a subject area. In 
addition, students entering the workforce must know how to 
access information, solve problems, make decisions, and 
work as part of a team. Therefore, information literacy, the 
ability to recognize an information need and then locate, 
evaluate, and effectively use the needed information, is a 
basic skill essential to the 21st century workplace and home. 
Information literate students are self-directed learners, who, 
individually or collaboratively, use information responsibly 
to create quality products and to be productive citizens. 
Information literacy skills must not be taught in isolation; 
they must be integrated across all content areas, utilizing 
fully the resources of the classroom, the school library media 
center, and the community. The Information Literacy Model 
for Lifelong Learning is a framework that teachers at all 
levels can apply to help students become independent 
lifelong learners. 

1. Defining/Focusing. The first task is to recognize 
that an information need exists. Students make preliminary 
decisions about the type of information needed based on 
prior knowledge. 

2. Selecting Tools and Resources. After students 
decide what information is needed, they then develop search 
strategies for locating and accessing appropriate, relevant 
sources in the school library media center, community 
libraries and agencies, resource people, and others as 
appropriate. 

3. Extracting and Recording. Students examine the 
resources for readability, currency, usefulness, and bias. This 
task involves skimming or listening for key words, 
"chunking" reading, finding main ideas, and taking notes. 

4. Processing Information. After recording 
information, students must examine and evaluate the data in 
order to utilize the information by categorizing, analyzing, 
evaluating, and comparing for bias, inadequacies, omissions, 
errors, and value judgments. Based on their findings, they 
either move on to the next step or do additional research. 

5. Organizing Information. Students effectively sort, 
manipulate, and organize the information that was retrieved. 
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They make decisions on how to use and communicate their 
findings. 

6. Presenting Findings. Students apply and 
communicate what they have learned (e.g., research report, 
project, illustration, dramatization, portfolio, book, book 
report, map, oral/audio/visual presentation, game, 
bibliography, hyper stack). 

7. Evaluating Efforts. Throughout the information 
problem solving process, students evaluate their efforts. This 
assists students in determining the effectiveness of the 
research process. The final product may be evaluated by the 
teacher and other qualified or interested resource persons.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2314 (November 
2003). 
§107. Definitions 

Accommodations? changes in the curricular material and 
experiences to accommodate a child's particular needs. 
Adaptations are not intended to alter the difficulty of the 
skill or area of development addressed. Such adaptations 
may enable children with disabilities to have experiences 
similar to those of their peers. 

Child-Initiated Activities? children are able to select their 
own centers, activities, materials, and companions, and are 
able to manage their own play independently. There is adult 
interaction in response to the children's developmental 
needs, as well as to introduce and reinforce concepts. This is 
also called free play. (Note: When children are assigned to 
centers by staff or the staff selects the activities, materials, 
etc., for the children, this is not considered a child-initiated 
or free play activity.) 

Concrete Hands-On Learning Experiences? learning 
experiences that emphasize choice, free exploration, 
interaction, and authenticity within a relevant and 
meaningful context. Such experiences emphasize the 
development of children's thinking, reasoning, decision-
making and problem-solving abilities. Curriculum areas and 
skills are integrated in the context of the learning activities 
and experiences as opposed to being taught in isolation. 

Content Practice Standards? describes the broad 
outcomes that children should achieve through a high-
quality preschool experience. Each Content Practice 
Standard is aligned with the Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards and other relevant state and national standards. 

Developmental Profile? specifies what most preschool 
children should be able to know and be able to do by the end 
of their preschool experiences. 

Developmentally Appropriate Practice? quality care and 
education of young children based on:  

1. knowledge of how children develop and learn. This 
includes information about ages and stages of development 
as well as what materials, activities and interactions are 
important for each;  

2. knowledge of the individual child, including 
disabilities; and  

3. knowledge about the social, cultural and familial 
cultural context in which children are growing up. 

Domain? describe the aspect of development for each 
standard. content areas are specified for each domain. 

Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale-Revised 
(ECERS-R)? a reliable and valid research based program 

quality assessment instrument. This scale is designed for use 
in classrooms serving children 2 1/2 to 5 years of age. It is 
used to evaluate classroom environment as well as 
programmatic and interpersonal features that directly affect 
children and adults in the early childhood setting. The seven 
sub-scales of the ECERS-R include: Space and Furnishings, 
Personal Care Routines, Language-Reasoning, Activities, 
Interactions, Program Structure, and Parents and Staff. 

Emerging Skills? skills or abilities, which are not shown 
as being mastered but are present in a modified or limited 
form. Attention to emerging skills allows teachers to assess 
the developmental process and progress of students. 
Additionally, a focus on emerging skills is important in the 
planning of the environment and activities to facilitate 
development of skills. 

Examples? tips on how to structure the curriculum and 
environment to assist a child's optimal performance. 

Free Play? see Child-Initiated Activity. 
Grapheme? the smallest part of written language that 

represents a phoneme in the spelling of a word. 
Head Start Child Outcomes Framework? this framework 

is intended to guide Head Start Programs in the ongoing 
assessment of the progress and accomplishments of children. 
The eight general Domains serve as building blocks that are 
important for school success. The domains include: 
Language Development, Literacy, Mathematics, Science, 
Creative Arts, Social and Emotional Development, 
Approaches to Learning and Physical and Health 
Development. 

Head Start Performance Standards? these standards used 
in Head Start Programs are based on sound child 
development principles about how children grow and learn. 
The varied experiences provided by the program support the 
continuum of children's growth and development in all 
domains.  

Indicators? define a Content Practice Standard more 
specifically so that it can be measured. Each indicator is 
coded by domain, content area and skill. For example, PK-
CM-N1 means Pre-Kindergarten-Cognitive Math-Number 1. 

Interest Center? an area in the classroom used during free 
play/ child-initiated activities. In each area, the materials are 
organized by type and are stored so that they are accessible 
to the children, shelves have picture/word labels, and the 
area is appropriately furnished. Interest centers can also be 
established outdoors. 

Louisiana Literacy Profile? provides teachers of children 
in grades K-3 with the means of observing and recording 
progress in a continuum of growth that is based on literacy 
behaviors. It informs instruction and promotes development 
of literacy behaviors. 

Manipulatives? materials that allow children to explore, 
experiment, and interact by using their hands or by 
mechanical means. These learning materials promote 
dexterity and eye-hand coordination while promoting 
problem-solving and higher levels of critical thinking. Such 
items include, but are not limited to, beads and laces, 
puzzles, small blocks, playdoh, lacing cards, and items that 
can be snapped, zipped or hooked together to name a few. 

Modifications? limiting, restricting, or altering materials, 
the environment or experiences without fundamentally 
changing the outcome or use of such. Modifications may 
enable children who are experiencing difficulty with a 
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particular skill or an area of development to successfully 
achieve competence in these areas. Examples of 
modifications include offering a variety of levels of puzzles 
such as interlocking and pegged puzzles. 

Multisensory Experiences? experiences that allow 
children to respond to physical stimuli relating to more than 
one of the five senses. Included in these types of experiences 
would be cooking activities where the senses of sight, smell, 
taste, touch and hearing would all be involved. 

National Association for the Education of Young Children 
(NAEYC)? links to the Louisiana Content Standards for 
Programs Serving Four-Year Olds are related to NAEYC's 
Guide to Accreditation (1998) which is a compilation of self-
studies designed to guide programs through the accreditation 
process. 

Non-Standard Units of Measurement? methods of 
measurement that do not include traditional means such as 
rulers, scales, clocks, etc. Non-standard units of 
measurement allow children to explore and thus understand 
the concept of measurement without being tied to exact 
numerical data. Items such as pieces of string, rows of 
blocks or pencils may serve as non-standard units to measure 
length; balances may help promote understanding of varying 
weights, and picture-graphs of daily routines allow children 
to understand the concept of time and passage of time. 

Non-Textual Information? information expressed through 
the use of pictures, symbols or icons. Such information may 
be used by children to process information and to create 
mental images symbolic of real-world situations without the 
use of written text. 

Onset? this is a part of spoken language that is smaller 
than a syllable but larger than a phoneme. It is the initial 
consonant sound of a syllable (The onset of bag is b-; of 
swim, sw-). 

Open-Ended Questioning? questioning that promotes a 
child's development as opposed to mere information 
gathering. This method of questioning is used to motivate 
children to learn, inquire about and discover their world. 
Open-ended questioning prompts students to think about 
their responses and requires a more in-depth level of critical 
thinking in order to respond. These questions help the 
student to recognize a problem, analyze contributing factors 
and to consider a choice of optimal solutions. Open-ended 
questions are characterized by the words "What if?", 
"How?" , "What would happen if?", "Why do you think?", 
"Is there another way?" etc. 

Phoneme? the smallest part of spoken language that 
makes a difference in the meaning of words. 

Phonemic Awareness? the ability to hear, identify, and 
manipulate the individual sounds (phonemes) in spoken 
words. A child who possesses phonemic awareness can 
segment sounds in words and blend strings of isolate sounds 
together to form recognizable words. 

Phonological Awareness? a broad term that includes 
phonemic awareness. In addition to phonemes, phonological 
awareness activities can involve work with rhymes, words, 
syllables, and other onsets and rimes. 

Play-Based Environment? a teaching-learning interactive 
environment through which play is the medium that children 
learn and make sense of their world. It provides a forum for 
children to learn to deal with the world on a symbolic level – 
the foundation for all subsequent intellectual development. 

In a play-based environment, children have the opportunity 
to gain a variety of social, emotional and physical skills. 
This type of environment is in contrast to the environment 
where learning is compartmentalized into the traditional 
content areas and children have little opportunity to actively 
explore, experiment and interact. 

Print Concepts? materials, activities, and props, etc. that 
prompt the ongoing process of becoming literate; that is, 
learning to read and write. Print concepts include exposure 
to textual information through books, stories, field trips, 
notes, labels, signs, chants, etc., and should be part of the 
emergent-literacy environment of all preschool classrooms. 

Props? materials used throughout the classroom to extend 
learning in any one of the interest areas or centers. Props 
added to an interest center are generally placed in the area in 
addition to standards items. Examples of props include: 
puppets that correlate with stories in the library center or 
phone books and recipe cards in the dramatic play center. 
Such props allow children to engage in activities in which 
they can interact with other children, share and take turns, 
role-play and exercise their imaginations. Additionally, 
props added to interest centers help children accept 
responsibility for clean-up, break barriers for sex/culture 
stereotyping, and deal with age/stage personal relations. 

Rime? the part of a syllable that contains the vowel and all 
that follows it (the rime of bag is –ag; of swim, -im). 

Self-help Tasks or Skills? these skills or tasks comprise a 
large portion of a young child's daily living tasks and are 
important in all areas of development. These skills include 
toileting, serving and eating meals and snacks, cleaning up 
their environment and grooming and dressing. 

Skill Area? defines each content area more specifically. 
Spatial Sense or Spatial Awareness? the sense of orienting 

to one's environment. A sense of awareness of directionality 
as well as the child's relationship to self, the environment 
and others in that environment. 

Substantial Portion of the Day? free play/child-initiated 
activities are available to the children at least one third or 35 
percent of the instructional day. Example: During a 6 hour 
instructional day, these activities are available at least 2 
hours of the instructional day. 

Syllable? a part of a word that contains a vowel or, in 
spoken language, a vowel sound. 

Teacher-Directed Activity? the activities and/or materials 
are chosen for the children by the teacher to engage in 
educational interaction with small groups and individual 
children as well as with the whole group. (Examples: read a 
story, cooking activity, or science activity.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2315 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 3. Pre-Kindergarten Content Standards  
Subchapter A. General  
§301. Content Standards  

A. This Section contains content standards, which are 
organized alphabetically into five domains of development. 

1. Cognitive development: 
a. Mathematical development; 
b. Science development; 
c. Social Studies development; 

2. Creative Arts development; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2317

3. Health and Physical development; 
4. Language and Literacy development; 
5. Social and Emotional development. 

B. The five developmental domains are designed to be 
interdependent and must be considered as a whole when 
considering the development of pre-kindergarten children. 
Each developmental domain includes the following. 

1. Content Practice Standards? describes the broad 
outcomes that children should achieve a high-quality 
preschool experience.  

2. Developmental Profile Indicators? specifies what 
most pre-kindergarten children should be able to do by the 
end of their pre-kindergarten experience. 

3. Links? Each content practice standard is aligned 
with the Louisiana K-4 Content Standards and other relevant 
state and national standards.  

C. The content practice standards provide the pre-
kindergarten personnel with a common understanding of 
what young children should know and do. It is designed to 
be a guide for designing and implementing a curriculum that 
will facilitate learning and skill acquisition in each pre -
kindergarten child. Skills such as letter, numbers, shapes, 
colors, etc., should not be taught in isolation, but integrated 
throughout the curriculum. 

D. The content practice standards and developmental 
profile indicators are based on research in developmentally 
appropriate practice for preschool children. In developing 
these standards, the Accreditation Standards of the National 
Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) 
and the Head Start Performance Standards were reviewed. 
The Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Revised 
Edition  (ECERS-R) was also reviewed and linked to the 
appropriate content practice standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2316 (November 
2003).  
§303.  Developmentally Appropriate Practices 

 

Developmentally Appropriate 
Practices Include: 

Developmentally Appropriate 
Practices Do Not Include: 

?? Learning centers/Free choice 
centers 

?? Timed rotation/Teacher selected 

?? Concrete learning experiences 
with real items 

?? Workbooks or ditto sheets 

?? Balance of student-initiated and 
teacher-directed activities in 
instructional day 

?? Teacher-directed activities more 
than 35% of the instructional day 

?? Actively engaged learners ?? Passive quiet learners  
?? Language and talking  
encouraged daily  

?? Classrooms quiet most of the day 

?? Cozy inviting environments ?? Sterile cold environments 
?? Daily outdoor gross motor 
time/Adults interacting with the 
children to facilitate learning 

?? Recess/Adults are On Duty 

?? Individual creat ive art 
expressions 

?? Patterned art/Uniform Art 
projects (all look the same) 

?? Language/Literacy rich 
activities encourage phonological 
awareness 

?? Alphabet letters taught through 
rote drill or Letter of the week 

?? Hands-on math activities ?? Rote drill of numbers, shapes, 
colors, etc. 

?? Use a variety of materials 
changed frequently to meet the 
needs and interests of the children 

?? Same materials and equipment 
used daily throughout the school 
year 

?? Adult-Child Interactions 
encourage learning through open-
ended questions, extending 
conversations, reasoning, etc. 

?? Adult-Child Interactions minimal, 
unpleasant, non-responsive, 
inappropriate, or only to control 
behavior 

?? Use of TV, videos and 
computers related to classroom 
events, appropriate, limited to short 
periods of time and adult 
interaction occurs 

?? TV, videos, and computers not 
related to classroom events, used 
inappropriately, no alternative 
activities are used, and no adult 
interaction occurs 

?? Teacher uses a variety of 
strategies and meaningful activities 
to develop skills and concepts 

?? Teacher uses direct instruction to 
teach and isolates the skills and 
concepts 

?? Assessment ongoing/Portfolios  
used that include anecdotal records, 
work samples, photographs, etc. 

?? Isolated testing/Worksheets 

NOTE: For more Developmentally  Appropriate Practices 
refer to ECERS-R, NAEYC guidelines, and Bulletin 741. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2317 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter B. Mathematics 
§305. Mathematical Development 

A. Young children develop mathematical concepts 
through meaningful and concrete experiences that are 
broader in scope than numerals and counting. In an 
inclusive, developmentally appropriate play-based 
environment, pre -kindergarten children will have 
opportunities to acquire and understand mathematical skills 
and concepts using hands-on experiences. They will have 
access to a wide variety of tools and technologies that foster 
the understanding of mathematics in real-life situations. 

B. Early childhood teachers must be flexible during daily 
routines and strive to capture teachable moments using 
open-ended questioning techniques to expand mathematical 
concepts. These teachers must also facilitate activities that 
address and extend young children's developmental levels. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. simplify a complicated task by breaking it into 

smaller parts or reducing the number of steps; 
2. use shorter but more frequent activities and 

routines; 
3. add new activities and specific activities as needed 

to meet individual needs. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2317 (November 
2003). 
§307. Stages of Math Development 

A. 2-3 Year-Olds: 
1. begin to understand the use of numbers as they hear 

others using them;  
2. understand the use of numbers through exploring 

objects; 
3. work large-piece puzzles; 
4. understand direction and relational words; 
5. recognize geometric shapes, like a circle; 
6. sequence up to three items. 

B. 3-4 Year-Olds: 
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1. recognize and express quantities like some, more, a 
lot, and another; 

2. begin to have a sense of time; 
3. recognize familiar geometric shapes in the 

environment; 
4. sort objects by one characteristic; 
5. rote count to 5;  
6. notice and compare similarities and differences; 
7. use words to describe quantity, length, and size. 

C. 4-5 Year-Olds: 
1. play number games with understanding; 
2. count objects to 10 and sometimes to 20; 
3. identify the larger of two numbers; 
4. answer simple questions that require logic; 
5. recognize more comp lex patterns; 
6. position words; 
7. sort forms by shape; 
8. compare sizes of familiar objects not in sight;  
9. work multi-piece puzzles. 

D. 5-6 Year-Olds: 
1. begin to understand concepts represented in 

symbolic form;  
2. can combine simple sets; 
3. begin to add small numbers in their heads; 
4. rote count to 100 with little confusion; 
5. count objects to 20 and more; 
6. understand that the number is a symbol that stands 

for a certain number of objects; 
7. classify objects by multiple attributes; 
8. can decide which number comes before, or after, 

another number. 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2317 (November 
2003).

 
 
§309. Cognitive Math Development 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 

NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Mathematical Development 
Number Concepts: 
Understand numbers, ways of 
representing numbers and relationships 
between numbers and numerals 

PK-CM-N1* Compare numbers of objects 
Examples: 
?? Compare objects in groups such as: shoes which tie and do 
not tie 
?? Compare number of boys to girls 
?? Compare unifix towers to each other 
?? Begin to use names of numbers in play such as: "I need two 
more blocks." 
PK-CM-N2 Perform one-to-one correspondence 
 Examples: 
?? Put pegs in each hole of pegboard 
?? Set the table 
?? Hand out snacks to each child 
PK-CM-N3 Count by rote 
Examples: 
?? Sing counting songs 
?? Count in rhymes, fingerplays, poems, stories, etc. 
PK-CM-N4* Begin to count objects 
Examples: 
?? Count manipulatives 
?? Count days on the calendar 
?? Count children to line up for field trip 
?? Count the number of children present each day 
PK-CM-N5 Begin to recognize numerals 
Examples: 
?? Identify some numerals in their environment 
?? Discriminate between letters and numerals by sorting 
?? Play number games 
PK-CM-N6 Begin to demonstrate estimation skills 
Examples: 
?? Estimate how many scoops of sand will fill a pail 
?? Place a small number of items in a see-through container and 
ask children to estimate number and record the estimate 
?? Estimate how many eggs fit in a strawberry basket  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 N-1-E 
 N-9-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
26(5.1), 26(5.4), 26(7.1), 26(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21 (a) (4) (iv)  
1304.21 (c) (1) (ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 3 
 

*PK-CM-N –- Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Number Concepts  
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 
Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards, ECERS -R, 

NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Mathematical Development 
Measurement:  
Uses non-standard un its to measure and 
make comparisons 
 

PK-CM-M1* Experience, compare, and use language relating to time 
Examples: 
?? Use different types of timers 
?? Participate in discussions about the daily schedule 
?? Begin to use words to describe time intervals such as: yesterday, today, 
and tomorrow 
PK-CM-M2 Anticipate, remember, and describe sequences of events  
Examples: 
?? Recall daily schedule 
?? Count down days to an event 
?? Retell sequential events in a story and/or activity 
PK-CM-M3 Use mathematical language to describe experiences involving 
measurement 
Examples: 
?? Use comparison terms such as: heavy/light; long/short; more/less; 
big/little, etc. 
PK-CM-M4 Measure objects in the physical world using non-standard units of 
measurement 
Examples: 
?? Use hands to measure objects 
?   Use string to measure child's height or circumference of an object such 
as: pumpkin, watermelon, orange, etc. 

Louisiana K-4 Content 
Standards: 
 M-1-E 
 M-2-E 
 M-3-E 
 M-4-E 
 M-5-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
 26(5.1), 26(7.1), 26(7.2) 
  
Head Start Performance 
Standards: 
 None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 
 

*PK–CM-M ?  Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Measurement 

  
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Mathematical Development 
Geometry and Spatial Sense: 
Develop an understanding of geometrical 
and spatial concepts 

PK-CM-G1* Recognize, name, describe, compare, and create basic 
shapes. 
Examples: 
?? Combine unit blocks to make shapes 
?? Go on shape scavenger hunt 
?? Use shapes to make pictures 
PK-CM-G2 Identify shapes to describe physical world 
Examples: 
?? Identify shapes of objects in the environment such as: the 
classroom door is a rectangle, etc. 
?? Identify roof in photo of house as a triangle 
PK-CM-G3 Describe and interpret spatial sense: positions, 
directions, distances, and order 
Examples: 
?? Describe the position of people or things in relation to self 
or other objects 
?? Give and follow directions using positional words 
?   Describe the movement of objects such as: "The dog 
jumped over the fence." 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 G-1-E 
 G-2-E 
 G-4-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d  
ECERS-R Items: 
 None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21 (a) (1) (iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 

 PK–CM-G ?  Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Geometry and Spatial Sense 
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Mathematical Development 

Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation: 
Investigates, organizes, responds, and 
creates representations 

PK-CM-D1* Sort and classify materials by one or more characteristics 
Examples: 
?? Sort buttons by color 
?? Group items with common characteristics  
?? Return materials to shelf by matching objects to labels 
PK-CM-D2 Collect and organize data about themselves, their 
surroundings, and meaningful experiences 
Examples: 
?? Create simple graphs (picture, bar, representational, venn 
diagrams) such as: leaves by type, favorite ice cream, etc. 
?? Use webbing to collect information 
PK-CM-D3 Interpret simple representations in data 
Examples: 
?? Participate in discussion about the calendar 
?? Participate in discussion using information from child- created 
graphs 
?? Participate in discussion about charts 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 P-1-E 
 P-2-E 
 P-3-E 
 D-1-E  
 D-2-E  
 D-3-E  
 D-4-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
 None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 

 PK–CM-D ?  Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Mathematical Development 
Patterns and Relationships:  
Identify and create patterns PK-CM-P1* Recognize patterns in the physical world 

Examples: 
?? Go on shape walks to identify patterns in environment 
?? Recognize patterns in snack kabobs 
?? Identify patterns on common objects such as: flag, clothes,  
environmental patterns, etc. 
PK-CM-P2* Describe, copy, extend, create patterns and make  
 predictions about patterns 
Examples: 
?? Line up boy, girl, boy, girl … 
?? Clap out patterns 
??  Make patterns with manipulatives such as: lacing beads, 
            unifix cubes, links, etc. 
?? Tell what comes next in a pattern 
?? Create musical patterns playing music on cans 
PK-CM-P3 Seriate objects 
Examples: 
?? Place blocks in order from shortest to tallest  
?? Place colored bears in order from smallest to largest  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 P-1-E 
 P-3-E 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-8, B-5d, B-7c, B-7d 
ECERS-R Items:  
 None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21 (a) (1) (iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 3 

PK–CM-P ?  Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Math – Patterns and Relationships 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2318 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter C.  Science 
§311. Scientific Development 

A. Young children are natural scientists. They easily 
become mesmerized by everyday happenings. Through 
varied and repeated opportunities to predict, observe, 
manipulate, listen, experiment with, reflect, and respond to 
open-ended questions, pre-kindergarteners make inferences 
and become higher-level thinkers. 

B. Quality early childhood science programs require a 
balance of content and process, using multi-sensory 
experiences. In addition to science inquiry skills, pre -
kindergarteners can begin to acquire a foundation of science 

concepts and knowledge on which they can build a clear 
understanding of their world. Early childhood teachers 
should look for opportunities to explore scientific concepts 
in all content areas. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. simplify a complicated task by breaking it into 

smaller parts or reducing the number of steps; 
2. use shorter but more frequent activities and 

routines; 
3. add new activities and specific activities as needed 

to meet individual needs. 
NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 

children with special needs, according to their abilities. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2320 (November 
2003). 
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§313. Cogniti ve Science Development 
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 

NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Scientific Development 
Science As Inquiry: 
Begin to engage in partial and full 
inquiries. 

PK-CS-I1* Use prior knowledge and experiences to hypothesize, 
predict, generate questions, and draw conclusions about organisms 
and events in the environment. 
Examples:  
?? Generate questions about insects (KWL or Experience 
Charts)  
?? Engage in spontaneous discussion (teachable moments)  
?? Engage in discussion through questioning, after reading a 
nonfiction science book 
?? Hypothesize or predict why certain phenomenon occurred 
PK-CS-I2 Conduct simple scientific investigations 
 Examples:  
?? Observe ice melting 
?? Compare cars rolling down a ramp 
?? Compare objects that sink and float  
PK-CS-I3 Make observations using senses 
 Examples: 
?? Taste test a variety of foods and describe tastes 
?? Describe objects in feely box 
?? Describe changes in weather 
PK-CS-I4 Employ equipment and tools to gather data and extend 
sensory observations 
 Examples: 
?? Sift soil with sieve to find organisms in soil 
?? Observe objects using color paddles 
?  Balance objects in scale to determine which is heavier, 
lighter,  etc. 
PK-CS-I5 Collect, interpret, communicate data and findings from 
observations and experiments in oral and written formats  
 Examples: 
?? Communicate scientific information in a variety of ways 
(graph, tally, web, draw pictures, oral report)  
?? Create models of objects in the environment 
?? Participate in discussions where points of view are openly 
shared 
PK-CS-I6 Use appropriate scientific vocabulary related to topics 
 Examples: 
?? Describe the common physical changes of melting, freezing, 
and evaporating.  
?? Identify life cycle of butterfly using scientific terms (egg, 
chrysalis etc.) 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6 
SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6 
NAEYC Criterion: 
 B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 

A. ECERS-R Items 
 25 (3.3), 25 (5.2), 25 (5.3), 
25 (5.4), 25 (7.1), 25 (7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(1)(i) 
 1304.21(a)(1)(iv) 
 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(B) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 
Head Start Ch ild Outcomes: 
 Domain 4 

*PK-CS-I – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Inquiry 
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-

R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Scientific Development 
Physical Science: 
Begin to acquire scientific knowledge 
related to physical science 

PK-CS-P1* Begin investigating st ates of matter: solids, liquids, and 
gases 
Examples: 
?? Sort and classify objects by their state of matter 
?? Participate in block play using a variety of types of blocks  
(wooden unit blocks, cardboard blocks, foam blocks) 
?? Participate in a variety of sand and water activities 
?? Observe what happens to objects when filled with gases 
?? Explore three states of water: ice (solid), water (liquid), and 
steam (gas) 
PK-CS-P2 Describe objects by their physical properties 
Examples: 
?? Describe objects according to size, shape, color, or state of 
matter 
?? Describe characteristics of sand and water during sand and 
water play  
?? Describe what happens when bottles filled with objects 
suspended in liquids are moved in various ways such as: dirt in 
water, confetti in Karo syrup, etc. 
PK-CS-P3 Explore the physical world using five senses 
 Examples: 
?? Take a walk exploring the environment using the senses of 
??  sight, touch, smell, and/or sound -- describe findings 
?? Match things during a tasting, touching, smelling party 
?? Listen to and identify environmental, animal, or voice sounds 
PK-CS-P4 Explore simple machines, magnets, and sources of energy 
Examples: 
?? Explore magnets, magnifying glasses, balance scales, gears, 
pulleys, mirrors, wind-up toys, etc. 
?? Discuss what makes things run by answering open-ended 
questions (car-gas, waterwheel-water, lamp-electricity) 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
 SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 
 S1-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5  
 PS-E-A1, A2, A3, A4  
 PS-E-C6, C7  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
25(5.3), 25(5.4), 25(7.1), 25(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 4 

*PK-CS-P – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Physical Science 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-

R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Scientific Development 
Life Science: 
Begin to acquire scientific knowledge 
related to life science 

PK-CS-L1* Explore, observe, and describe a variety of living things 
Examples: 
?? Catch insects and place in bug catchers 
?? Use magnifying glass to observe insects 
?? Keep a class pet and/or plants in the classroom 
?? Observe the effect of darkness and light on growing plants 
PK-CS-L2 Explore, observe, and describe a variety of non-living 
things 
Examples: 
?? Compare live insects to plastic insects 
?? Make collections of non-living things such as: rocks, sea 
shells, buttons, etc. 
?? Sort examples of living and nonliving things 
PK-CS-L3 Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a variety of 
 activities related to preserving their environment 
 Examples: 
?? Participate in constructing a compost heap 
?? Participate in planting a tree 
?? Participate in a campus cleanup day 
?? Participate in collecting items to recycle 
PK-CS-L4 Begin to develop an awareness and understanding of 
plant and animal life cycles and how the life cycles vary for 
different reasons 
Examples: 
?? Plant and maintain a butterfly garden 
?? Read non-fiction age appropriate books about life cycles  
?? Observe life cycles of larvae, tadpoles, or mealworms 

 

 PK-CS-L – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Life Science 
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Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-
R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Scientific Development 
Earth and Space Science:  
Begin to acquire scientific knowledge 
related to earth science 

PK-CS-ES1* Investigate, compare, and contrast seasonal changes in 
their immediate environment 
Examples: 
?? Draw, write, and/or dictate a message in journal about what 
they see, feel, and do in  certain kinds of weather or over a period of 
time 
?? Dress-up in a variety of seasonal clothing in the dramatic 
play center 
?? Play a lotto game about the seasons 
PK-CS-ES2 Discover through observation that weather can change 
from day to day 
Examples: 
?? Graph each day's weather 
?? Keep weather journal 
?? Read a thermometer to determine temperature 
?? Keep a record of the day's temperature either from the 
newspaper, home, or outside thermometer 
PK-CS-ES3 Use vocabulary to describe major features of the earth 
and sky 
Examples: 
?? Listen to and retell stories about the earth, sky, land 
formations, and bodies of water such as: In the Night Sky, Happy 
Birthday Moon, Good Night Moon, In a Small, Small Pond, In the 
Tall, Tall Grass, Swimmy, Big Al, The Tiny Seed 
?? Discuss things in the day and night time sky 
?? Observe and discuss shadows at various times of the day 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 
 SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5  
 ESS-E-A1, A4 
 ESS-E-B1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-5d, B-7c, B-7d, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
 25(5.3), 25(5.4), 25(7.1), 25(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(1)(i) 
 1304.21(a)(1)(iv) 
 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(B) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 4 

*PK-CS-ES – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Science – Earth and Space Science 

 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2321 (November 
2003). 
§315. Social Studies Development 

A. For young children the foundation for learning in 
social studies and history begins with the child's personal 
experiences and understanding of the relationship of self to 
home and family. Their understanding then gradually 
expands to include the people they meet in school, 
neighborhood, community, and the larger world. Teachers 
need to identify children's current knowledge and 
understanding. The pre-kindergarten curriculum needs to 
focus on concepts that are related to the child's immediate 
experience. 

B. Accommodations: 
1. provide adaptive equipment and materials where 

needed to accommodate children's special needs; 
2. assure that the classroom and school environments 

are handicapped accessible and meet the needs of all 
children; 

3. use appropriate verbal, visual, and physical cues in 
all the activities to meet the special needs of individual 
children. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2323 (November 
2003). 
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Subchapter D. Social Studies 
§317. Cognitive Social Studies Development 
 

Cognitive Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-

R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Social Studies Development 
Civics: 
Develop community and career awareness PK-CSS-C1* Recognize community workers and increase 

awareness of their jobs  
Examples: 
?? Identify different community workers by the uniform worn or 
the equipment used 
?? Participate in field trips to observe community workers 
?? Listen to guest sp eakers, such as: a firefighter, a police 
officer, etc. 
?? Dress-up and role play different types of community workers 
PK-CSS-C2 Identify his/her role as a member of family/class 
Examples: 
?? Participate in classroom duties 
?? Describe experiences shared within the family 
?? Participate in role playing 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
C-1D-E3, E4  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-4a, A-9, B-7a, B-7h 
ECERS-R Items: 
33(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

*PK-CSS-C – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - Civics 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-

R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Social Studies Development 
Economics: 
Develop an understanding of how basic 
economic concepts relate to their everyday 
lives 

PK-CSS-E1* Demonstrate an awareness of money being used to 
purchase things 
Examples: 
?? Use pretend money to purchase things in a dramatic play 
grocery store, bank, post office, etc. 
 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
E-1A-E3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
None Applicable  
ECERS-R Items: 
None Applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
None Applicable 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
None Applicable 

*PK-CSS-E – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies -Economics 

 
Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-

R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Social Studies Development 
Geography: 
Develop an understanding of location, 
place, relationships within places, 
movement, and region 

PK-CSS-G1* Include representations of roads, bodies of water, and 
 buildings in their play 
Examples: 
?? Use blue paper for a lake in the block area 
?? Drive toy cars on roads made from blocks 
PK-CSS-G2 Use words to indicate directionality, position, and size 
Examples: 
?? Correctly use and respond to words such as: left, right, first, 
last, big, little, top, bottom, etc. 
?? Verbalize location of objects that are hidden during a Hide 
and Seek game 
PK-CSS-G3 Develop awareness of the world around them 
Examples: 
?? Recognize some common symbols of state and country, such 
as the shape of Louisiana or United States, the Louisiana or 
American flag, etc. 
?? Observe the path a letter travels when teacher shows route on 
the map 
?? Answer questions about where they went on a trip or other 
places they have lived  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
G-1B-E1  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7h 
ECERS-R Items: 
22(7.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

*PK-CSS-G – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - Geography 
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Cognitive Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-

R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Social Studies Development 
History: 
Develop an understanding of the concept 
of time 

PK-CSS-H1* Use words to describe time (yesterday, today, 
tomorrow)  
Examples: 
?? Use statements like, "I'm getting a bike today!" or "My 
birthday is tomorrow!" 
?? Use statement like, "The field trip was yesterday." 
 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
H-1A-E1  
NAEYC Criterion: 
None applicable 
ECERS-R Items: 
None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
None Applicable 

*PK-CSS-H – Pre-Kindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - History 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2324 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter E.  Creative Arts 
§319. Creative Arts Development 

A. Creative development opens an avenue for the 
application of individual ideas, feelings, and expressions. In 
the pre-kindergarten classroom, creative development will 
be integrated into all curriculum areas to develop an 
appreciation for the arts and as a way to conduct classroom 
activities to meet the expectations in all content areas. 

B. In a developmentally appropriate classroom, creative 
development fosters creative and individual expression, self-
esteem, imagination, and appreciation of cultural diversities. 
With the introduction of the various components, 
music/movement, dramatic expression, and visual arts, the 
pre-kindergarten child is encouraged to explore and express 
him/herself creatively. 

C. On a daily basis, young children are given 
opportunities for creative endeavors, emphasizing the 
experience rather than the outcome. These endeavors should 
be concrete, hands-on learning activities, offered in a risk-
free environment where all children are encouraged to 
express themselves freely. 

D. Accommodations for Children with Special Needs 
1. Provide materials that can be easily adapted for 

independent participation. 
2. Materials should be easily accessible to encourage 

participation. 
3. Adapt the environment to promote participation, 

engagement, and learning. 
4. Provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2325 (November 
2003). 
§321. Stages of Art Development 

A. Scribbling Stage (3 to 4 years of age). Child use 
crayons, markers and paint in zigzag fashion and circular 
motions. Later, the scribbles become more controlled. Their 
work is exploratory. Color is unrealistic. The child begins to 
draw symbols like circles, crosses and lines. 

B. Preschematic Stage (4 to 7 years of age) 
1. Age 4? the child begins to show definite forms in 

representing a person, making a circle for the head and two 
vertical lines for legs. Sometimes there is a mouth, arms, 
hands, feet or shoes. Objects are drawn at random and they 
are not in sequence or proportion. At this stage, form is more 
important than color. As children progress through this stage, 
size becomes more proportional, and they gain more brush 
control as their paintings begin to look more like 
illustrations. 

2. Age 7? child has established a mental picture of an 
object that is repeated with each painted repetition of the 
object. For example, each time the child paints a house, it 
will look very much like all the other houses he/she painted.  

C. Schematic Stage (6 to 9 years of age). At this stage, 
sky lines (usually blue) and base lines (usually green) appear 
on the top and bottom of drawings. Items drawn between 
these lines usually are proportional, and they are on the base 
line as appropriate. 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2325 (November 
2003). 
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§323. Creative Arts Development 
 

Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Music and Movement 
Music Appreciation: 
Develop an appreciation for music PK-MM-MA1* Listen to a variety of musical genre – 

jazz, classical, country, lullaby, patriotic, 
instrumental, vocal, etc. 
 Examples: 
?? Hear a variety of diverse music throughout the 
day (arrival time, circle time, transitions, lunch, nap, 
snacks) 
?? Participate in musical listening games to hear 
differences in sounds (vocal, instrumental, sounds of 
instruments, and other genre types)  
?? Attend and view live performances 
?? Become aware of the lives and art forms of 
various musical artists 
PK-MM-MA2 Respond to variations in music – 
pitch, volume, tempo, beat, rhythm, and pattern 
 Examples: 
??  Observe a musician demonstrating different 
musical variations 
??  Reproduce a musical variation heard with 
rhythm instruments, computer program, or vocally  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1M-E1, E3, E4, E5 
 AP-2M-E1, E3, E4 
 HP-3M-E1, E3, E4 
 CA-4M-E1, E2, E3, E5 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, B-4, B-5d,  
 B-7g, B-9, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
21(5.1), 21(5.2), 21(7.1), 21(7.2), 21(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.53  
 Head Start Child Outcomes:  
Domain 5  
  

*PK-MM-MA – Pre-Kindergarten – Music and Movement – Music Appreciation 

 
Creative Arts Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Music and Movement 
Music Expression:  
Become involved in musical expression 
 

PK-MM-ME1* Use music as an avenue to express 
thoughts, feelings, and energy 
Examples: 
?? Use props (scarves, streamers, instruments) to 
respond with expression to music 
?? Record original songs that become part of a 
listening center 
?? Draw a picture in response to how they feel as 
they listen to a variety of music 
PK-MM-ME2 Participate in group singing, fingerplays, 
rhymes, poetry, and rhythm 
Examples: 
?? Participate in daily musical activities, games, 
instruments, singing, and books 
?? Use musical instruments and props outdoors as an 
additional experience 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1M-E1, E3, E4, E5 
 HP-3M-E1, E3, E4 
 CA-4M-E1, E2, E3, E5 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8, A-6a, A-11, B-4,  
B-5d, B-7g, B-9, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
21(5.1), 21(5.2), 21(7.1), 21(7.2), 21(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(D) 
 1304.21(a)(3)(ii) 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 5 

*PK-MM-ME – Pre-Kindergarten – Music and Movement – Music Expression 
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Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Music and Movement 
Creative Movement: 
Develop an appreciation for creative 
movement through observation, 
communication, and participation 

PK-MM-CM1* Observe various forms of movement 
Examples: 
?? View people, animals, and various objects that 
move in the world around them 
PK-MM-CM2 Communicate words or concepts through 
movement 
Examples: 
?? Develop movements that express concepts 
(feelings and directions), words, and ideas  
?? Play charades with prompts from teacher (stop, 
go, walk, come, angry, sad, hurry, surprise) 
PK-MM-CM3 Show creativity using their bodies (dance, 
march, hop, jump, sway, clap, snap, stomp, twist, turn) 
Examples: 
?? Respond freely to music 
?? Imitate various environmental movements such as 
animals, trees, water, etc. 
?? Exhibit a variety of ways to move (forward, 
backward, sideways, etc.) 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1M-E1, E3, E4, E5 
 CE-1D-E1, E3 
 HP-3D-E2 
 AP-2D-E1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-9, A-11, B-4,  
B-5d, B-7, B-7e, B-7g,  
B-8, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
 16(7.1), 16(7.2)  
 21(5.1), 21(5.2), 21(7.1),  
 21(7.2), 21(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 5 

*PK-MM-CM – Pre-Kindergarten – Music and Movement – Creative Movement 

 
Creative Arts Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Visual Arts 
Visual Arts Appreciation: 
Develop an appreciation for visual arts PK-VA-VA1* Observe various forms of art expression 

(paintings, drawings, sculpture, prints, collages, and 
other art forms) 
 Examples: 
?? View exhibits, books, Internet activities, and 
photographs of various art forms 
?? Observe various artists who demonstrate 
different techniques and art media 
PK-VA-VA2 Share various forms of art (sculpture, 
pencils, watercolors, clay, collage, pen and ink, etc.) 
found in their environment 
Examples: 
?? Point out various forms of media found in 
books, photographs/prints, on school site and on field 
trips  
?? Experience various media in the classroom 
?? Tell about an observation of an artist/crafter 
(quilter, taxidermist, illustrator, wood carver, ice 
sculptor, sculptor, designer) displaying/demonstrating 
his/her work 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1VA-E1, E2, E4, E5 
 AP-2VA-E2, E3 
 HP-3VA-E3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, A-8b, A -9, B-4,  
B-5a, B-7, B-7e, B-7g,  
G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
15(5.1), 20(5.1), 20(5.2), 20(7.1), 27(5.3), 
27(7.1), 28(5.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 
 1304.21(b)(3)(ii) 
 1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 5 
 

*PK-VA-VA – Pre-Kindergarten – Visual Arts – Visual Arts Appreciation 
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Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Visual Arts 
Creative Expression: 
Develop confidence in their own creative 
expression through process-oriented 
experiences  

PK-VA-CE1* Participate in  individual and group art 
activities 
Examples: 
?? Participate daily in creative art opportunities using 
water colors, collage materials, paints, paper, scissors, 
glue, crayons, stamp pads, templates, stencils, markers, and 
clay  
?? Use a computer program and create a piece of art  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1VA-E1, E2, E4, E5 
AP-2VA-E2, E3 
HP-3VA-E3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, A-8b, A -9, B-4,  
B-7, B-7e, B-7g, B-8,  
G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
20(5.1), 20(5.2), 20(7.1), 20(7.2), 20(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(4)(ii) 1304.21(b)(3)(ii) 
1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 5 

*PK-VA-CE – Pre-Kindergarten – Visual Arts – Creative Expression 

 

Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Dramatic Arts 
Dramatic Appreciation: 
Develop an appreciation for the dramatic 
arts 

PK-DA-DA1* Attend a variety of dramatic 
performances  
Examples: 
?? View various forms of dramatic expression 
(puppetry, story-telling, dance, plays, pantomime, 
theater) 
PK-DA-DA2 Participate in discussions of dramatic 
performances  
Examples: 
?? Engage in discussion during language 
experience story after attending a dramatic 
performance 
 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1TH-E1, E2, E3 
AP-2TH-E1, E2, E3 
HP-3TH-E1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-8a, A-8b, A -9, B-4,  
B-5a, B-7, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
24(5.1), 24(5.3), 24(7.1), 24(7.2), 24(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21 
1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 5 

*PK-DA-DA – Pre-Kindergarten – Dramatic Arts – Dramatic Arts Appreciation 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2329

Creative Arts Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool 
children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, ECERS-R, 
NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Dramatic Arts 

Dramatic Expression:  
Explore roles and experiences through 
dramatic play 

PK-DA-DE1* Role play or use puppets to express 
feelings, dramatize stories, try out social behaviors 
observed in adults, re-enact real-life roles and 
experiences 
Examples: 
?? Play in various interest centers with a variety 
of props, such as: home-living, fire station, police 
station, beauty parlor, grocery/department store, 
circus, fast food restaurant, doctor's office/hospital, 
bakery, gas station, florist, etc. 
?? Role play problem solving in classroom 
situations, such as: taking turns, sharing, playing 
cooperatively, expressing feelings, appropriate 
behaviors and manners, etc. 
?? Participate in various forms of dramatic 
expression from different cultures 
PK-DA-DE2* Participate in activities using symbolic 
mat erials and gestures to represent real objects and 
situations 
Examples: 
?? Exhibit free expression and imagination in 
songs, stories, poems, and fingerplays, such as: 
scarves to represent birds; hands as thunder, 
raindrops, footsteps; sticks for wands, pointer, a 
horse, or a walking cane, etc. 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
CE-1TH-E1, E2, E3 
AP-2TH-E1, E2, E3 
HP-3TH-E1 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-8a, A-8b, A-9,  
B-4, B-5a, B-7, B-8, G-4 
ECERS-R Items: 
15(5.2), 15(5.4) 24(5.1), 24(5.3), 24(7.1), 
24(7.2), 24(7.3), 24(7.4) 
28(5.1), 28(5.2), 28(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(1)(iii) 
1304.53 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
 Domain 5 

*PK-DA-DE – Pre-Kindergarten – Dramatic Arts – Dramatic Expression 

 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2326 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter F.  Health and Physical Development 
§325. Health and Physical Development 

A. Physical development and health and safety activities 
should be integrated into all curriculum areas. Activities 
should be structured to encourage pre-kindergarten children 
to explore their world, promote agility and strength, enhance 
neural processing, and develop general body competence 
and overall autonomy. Young children should be introduced 
to concepts that promote a healthy lifestyle, and they should 
be provided adequate age-appropriate indoor and outdoor 
space and facilities that allow them to experience a variety 
of developmentally appropriate physical activities. 

B. The development of gross motor and fine motor skills 
is an integral part of the development of the pre-kindergarten 
child. These skills serve as the foundation for the 

development of the future academic skills such as writing 
and reading. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. provide adaptive equipment and materials where 

needed; 
2. assure that the classroom and school environments 

are easily accessible; 
3. use appropriate verbal, visual, and physical cues in 

all the activities; 
4. provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2329 (November 
2003).
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§327. Health and Physical Development 
 

Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Health Development 
Health and Hygiene: 
Develop appropriate health and hygiene 
skills 

PK-HP-HH1* Show awareness of healthy lifestyle practices 
Examples: 
?? Understand that germs affect our daily lives 
?? Understand that healthy bodies require rest, exercise, 
and good nutrition 
?? Use napkin, tissue and other objects of hygiene 
?? Wash hands before meals and snacks, and after toileting 
PK-HP-HH2 Show awareness of good hygiene and personal 
care habits 
Examples: 
?? Use proper hand washing techniques 
?? Use appropriate dental hygiene practices 
?? Practice proper use of tissue 
?? Use appropriate toileting skills 
?? Demonstrate autonomy in personal care such as: self-
dressing, taking care of personal belongings, cleaning up after 
activities 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
1-E-1, E-2 
3-E-1, E-2 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7f, B-11, H-17c 
ECERS-R Items: 
10 (3.3) 
13 (3.1), 13(7.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(1)(V) 
1304.23(b)(3) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 
 

*PK-HP-HH – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Health and Hygiene 

 
Health and Physical Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Health Development 
Nutrition: 
Become aware of good nutritional 
practices 

PK-HP-N1* Exhibit knowledge that some foods are better for 
your body than others 
Examples: 
?? Engage in discussions about healthy and unhealthy 
foods 
?? Make selections of foods that are healthy and recognize 
that some foods are not healthy 
?? Participate in nutritious cooking activities 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
1-E-2, E-5 
3-E-1 
6-E-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
I-3 
ECERS-R Items: 
10(7.1), 10(7.3) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(iii) 
1304.23(c)(1) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 

*PK-HP-N – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Nutrition 
 

Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Health Development 
Safety:  
Demonstrate safe behaviors in all 
situations 

PK-HP-S1* Identify potentially harmful objects, substances, or 
behaviors 
Examples: 
?? Know the difference between a medicine and harmful 
drugs 
?? Know that objects such as weapons, syringes, matches, 
etc. can be dangerous and should not be touched 
PK-HP-S2 Be aware of and follow universal safety rules  
Examples: 
?? Follow classroom and school rules 
?? Practice appropriate emergency drills (fire, tornado, 
bomb, 911, bus) 
?? Follow basic safety rules: bus, bicycle, playground, 
crossing street, stranger awareness 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
1-E-2 
3-E-2, E-3, E-4 
5-E-4 
6-E-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7f 
ECERS-R Items: 
14(5.1), 14(7.1), 14(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(6) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 

*PK-HP-S –  Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development ?  Safety 
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Health and Physical Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Physical Development 

Gross Motor: 
Develop coordination, balance, spatial 
awareness and strength through gross motor 
activities 

PK-HP-GM1* Exhibit body coordination and strength 
Examples: 
?? Engage in large motor activities such as: climbing 
stairs (alternating feet), marching, hopping, running, 
jumping, dancing, riding tricycles, pulling wagons, 
pushing wheelbarrows, and riding scooters 
?? Use outdoor gross motor equipment (climbing 
apparatus, swings, tunnels, slide, etc.) safely and 
appropriately  
?? Use open-ended materials (planks, wooden boxes, 
hollow blocks, etc.) to move about, build and construct  
PK-HP-GM2 Exhibit balance and spatial awareness 
Examples: 
?? Engage in large motor activities that promote basic 
non-locomotion skills, spatial awareness and balance 
?? Engage in manipulative activities that develop skills 
with a ball: bouncing, kicking, throwing, catching, rolling, 
etc. 
?? Play simple group games 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
1-P-1, P -2, P -3 
3-P-1 
5-P-3 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-4c, B-5d, B-7e 
ECERS-R Items: 
7(7.1), 8(5.2), 8(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(5)(i) 
1304.21(b)(3)(i) 
1304.21(c)(1)(vii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 
 

*PK-HP-GM – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Gross Motor 

 
Health and Physical Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Physical Development 
Fine Motor: 
Develop coordination, spatial awareness, 
and strength through fine motor activities 

PK-HP-FM1* Strengthen and control small muscles in hands 
Examples: 
?? Work with play dough and clay 
?? Squeeze wet sponges or use tongs to pick up objects 
?? Tear paper 
PK-HP-FM2 Exhibit manual coordination 
Examples: 
?? Use hands and fingers to act out fingerplays and songs 
?? Use scissors and art materials  
?? Snap, button, zip, etc. 
PK-HP-FM3 Participate in eye-hand coordination activities 
Examples: 
?? Use beads, laces, and pegs 
?? Cut paper with scissors 
?? Complete simple puzzles 
?? Use computer mouse 
?? Scoop dry sand and pour into a bottle 
?? Use a variety of items/textures 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
1-P-3 
NAEYC Crit erion: 
B-4c, B-5d, B-7e 
ECERS-R Items: 
19(5.1), 19(5.3), 19(7.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(5)(ii) 
1304.21(b)(3)(iii) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 8 
 

*PK-HP-FM – Pre-Kindergarten – Health and Physical Development – Fine Motor 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2330 (November 
2003). 
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Subchapter G.  Language and Literacy  
§329. Language and Literacy Development 

A. Language and literacy are composed of listening, 
speaking, writing, thinking, and reading. The foundations of 
language and literacy are critical to all other curriculum 
areas as well as to the individual's social and emotional 
development. Children develop the basis for communication 
in the early childhood years, beginning with nonverbal and 
social exchanges, then developing spoken language, moving 
to an understanding of how oral language is translated into 
written symbols, and finally learning to decode and create 
written symbols to develop literacy. A solid foundation in 
language development in the years before a child enters 
school will promote success in reading and writing in the 
future. Young children who have rich language and literacy 
experiences are less likely to have difficulties learning to 
read. 

B. Accommodations for Children with Special Needs 
1. Provide good models of communication. 
2. Use special or adaptive devices to increase level of 

communication and/or participation. 
3. Use a favorite toy, activity or person to encourage 

communication and/or participation. 
4. Provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2332 (November 
2003). 
§331. Beginning Reading Skills  

A. Scientifically based reading research shows that it is 
important for preschool age children to experience the 
following language, cognitive, and early reading skills for 
continued school success. 

1. Phonological Awareness includes: 
a. identifying and making oral rhymes; 
b. identifying and working with syllables in spoken 

words through segmenting and blending; 
c. identifying and working with "onsets" (all sounds 

of a word that come before the first vowel) and "rimes" (the 
first vowel in a word and all the sounds that follow) in 
spoken syllables; 

d. identifying and working with individual sounds 
in spoken words (phonemic awareness). 

2. Oral Language: development of expressive and 
receptive language, including vocabulary, the contextual use 
of speech and syntax, and oral comprehension abilities. 

3. Print Awareness: knowledge of the purposes and 
conventions of print. 

4. Alphabet Knowledge: recognize letters of the 
alphabet (not rote memory).  

Source: Early Reading First Guidelines 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2332 (November 
2003). 
§333. Stages of Written Language Development 

A. Children learn to write through a natural 
developmental progression. Each child should be allowed to 
progress at their own pace. There are at least six different 
stages of writing. 

 
Stage 1? Random Scribbling: (2 and 3 years old) 

Children make marks on paper with little muscular control. 
Stage 2? Controlled Scribbling: (3 years old) 

Children "write" across the paper in linear fashion, repeating patterns over 
again, showing increased muscular control. 

Stage 3? Letter-like Forms: (3 and 4 year olds) 
Children make mock letters. These are written lines of letters that have 
letter characteristics, but they are misshapen and written randomly, even 
covering the page. They pretend they are writing; in their work they 
separate writing from drawing. They have purpose to their letter-like 
forms. 

Stage 4? Letter and Symbol Relationship: (4 year olds) 
Children write letters to represent words and syllables. They can write 
their names. They know the word that represents their names. They can 
copy words. Reversals are frequent. 

Stage 5? Invented Spelling: (4 and 5 year olds) 
Children make the transition from letter forms to invented spelling. This 
requires organization of letters and words on the page. They use a group 
of letters to form a word. Many of the letters will be consonants. They 
understand that letters relate to sounds. Some punctuation appears. They 
can copy words from their environment. 

Stage 6? Standard Spelling: (5, 6, and 7 year olds) 
Most of the words the children use are written correctly; some add 
punctuation. They organize their words in lines with spaces between the 
words; they move from left to right, and from t he top of the to the bottom. 

 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2332 (November 
2003). 
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§335. Language and Literacy Development 
 

Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, LA Literacy 
Profile, ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Listening: 
Develop and expand listening skills PK-LL-L1* Listen with understanding to directions and 

conversations 
Examples: 
?? Respond to stories read to the whole class  
?? Understand changes in the morning activity schedule being 
described by the teacher 
?? Carry on a conversation with another person that develops 
a thought or idea expressed by the group earlier 
?? Listen to tapes or CD's and show understanding through 
body language or by interacting with such 
PK-LL-L2 Follow directions that involve two- or three-step 
sequence of actions 
Examples: 
?? Repeat an instruction to a friend 
?? Follow these instructions, "Wash your hands, then sit at the 
table." 
?? Follow these instructions, "Get your coat, put it on, then sit 
next to your friend." 
?? Follow directions given to the class, such as: "Take this 
note about our class trip home, have a family member sign it, 
and bring it back to me." 
PK-LL-L3 Hear and discriminate the sounds of language in the 
environment to develop beginning phonological awareness 
Examples: 
?? Listen to and participate in many nursery rhymes, chants 
poems, fingerplays, and songs 
?? Make up silly rhymes, such as: funny bunny or silly willy 
?? Clap hands for each syllable in a word, such as: clap hands 
three times when saying Su-zan-na 
?? Sing songs that segment words or accent beginning sounds, 
and with teacher, clap to the syllables 
?? Play with sounds to create new words, such as: "Pass the 
bapkin napkin." (rimes)  
?? Notice words that begin the same way, such as: "My name 
begins the same as popcorn and pig." (onsets)  
PK-LL-L4 Demonstrate understanding of new vocabulary 
introduced in conversations, activities, stories or books 
 Examples: 
?? Listen to a variety of literature genre, including narratives, 
nursery rhymes, other poems, and informational books 
?? Listen to read-aloud books that are characterized by less 
common vocabulary, more complex sentences, and concepts 
PK-LL-L5 Engage in act ivities that offer the opportunity to 
develop skills associated with technology by viewing, 
comprehending, and using non-textual information. 
Examples: 
?  Listen to a story on a tape or a CD 
?  Listen to recordings of age-appropriate stories while 
looking at  a book 
?  Use age-appropriate and interactive software programs 
when available 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
ELA-1-E1 
ELA-4-E2, E3, E6, E7 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
1-10 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-1, A-2, A -3a, A -3b 
B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
18 (7.1) (7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iii) 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domains 1 and 2 
 

*PK-LL-L – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development -- Listening 
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Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, LA Literacy 
Profile, ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Speaking: 
Communicate experiences, ideas, and 
feelings through speaking 
 

PK-LL-S1* Develop and expand expressive language skills 
Examples: 
?? Use different voices for characters in stories read aloud or 
told: such as The Three Bears and The Three Billy Goats 
Gruff 
?? Role play activities where different levels of volume 
would be used, such as: when a baby is sleeping or when 
calling to someone standing far away 
?? Participate as an equal partner in conversations by 
responding to others, making relevant comments, or providing 
more information when message is not understood 
?? Talk through or explain reasoning when problem-solving 
(classroom materials, behaviors, etc.)  
PK-LL-S2 Use new vocabulary in spontaneous speech 
Examples: 
?? Incorporate words and phrases from books, stories, and 
activities into play 
?? Incorporate story elements into play 
?? Participate in class discussions of books, stories, and 
activities 
?? Use new vocabulary introduced in a thematic study during 
play 
PK-LL-S3 Ask and answer relevant questions and share 
experiences individually and in groups 
Examples: 
?? Dictate stories during small group time about experiences 
they have had 
?? Ask simple questions, such as: "What's for lunch?" or 
"Can we play outside today?" 
?? Ask questions to further their understanding, such as: 
"Where does the snow go when it melts?" or "Why does that 
man wear a uniform?" 
?? Answer questions with a complete thought, such as: "I 
took a bus to school." or "I want purple and blue paint." 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
ELA-2-E1, E2 
ELA-4-E1, E2, E5, E6, E7 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
11-23, 44-45, 48 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7d 
 
ECERS-R Items: 
15(7.1), 15(7.2), 17(5.1), 17(5.2),  
17 (7.1), 17 (7.2) 
 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(4)(iii) 
1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domains 1 and 2 

 PK-LL-S – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development – Speaking 
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Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, LA Literacy 
Profile, ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Reading:  
Engage in activities that promote the 
acquisition of emergent reading skills 

PK-LL-R1* Actively engage in reading experiences 
Examples: 
?? Listen with interest to a story read or told by an adult or 
another child 
?? Track along and verbalize as teacher points to 
individual words in shared reading (big books, songs, 
poems, recipes, etc.) 
?? Retell familiar stories 
?? Complete phrases abo ut familiar stories 
?? Ask questions about the illustrations in a book or about 
details in a story just heard 
?? Choose and look at books independently  
?? Act out familiar stories with props 
PK-LL-R2 Retell information from a story 
Examples: 
?? Use words or pictures to begin to retell some story 
events in sequence 
?? Dramatize familiar stories, such as: Caps for Sale; 
Brown Bear, Brown Bear; etc. 
?? Relate the main thought of a story read several days 
before  
?? Stage a puppet show based on a story read or told to the 
group 
PK-LL-R3 Demonstrate an understanding of print concepts 
and beginning alphabetic knowledge 
Examples: 
?? Recognize and begin writing their own name, 
demonstrating that letters are grouped to form words 
?? Pretend to read by pointing with a finger while reciting 
text 
?? Look at books appropriately, turning one page at a time, 
left to right over text, going from top to bottom, front to 
back of book 
?? Recognize familiar logos, such as McDonald's, Wal-
Mart, etc. 
?? Recognize book by cover 
PK-LL-R4 Use emerging reading skills to make meaning 
from print 
Examples: 
?? Use illustrations to predict printed text, such as saying, 
"And the wolf blew down the pig's house." 
?? Make predictions about print content by using prior 
knowledge, pictures, text heard, and story structure skills 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
ELA-2-E1, E2 
ELA-4-E1, E2, E5, E6, E7 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
11-23, 44-45, 48 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
15 (5.1), 15(7.1), 15(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iii) 
1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Ch ild Outcomes: 
Domains 1 and 2 

 *PK-LL-R – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development – Reading 
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Language and Literacy Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide experiences 
for children to: 

Educational experiences will assure that preschool children 
will: 

LA K-4 Content Standards, LA Literacy 
Profile, ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, 
etc. 

Writing: 
Engage in activities that promote the 
acquisition of emergent writing skills 

PK-LL-W1* Experiment with a variety of writing tools, 
materials, and surfaces 
Examples: 
?? Draw or write using pencils, crayons, chalk, markers, 
rubber stamps, and computers 
?? Draw or write using materials such as, brushes and 
water, feathers, roll-on bottles, shaving cream, and zip-lock 
bags filled with hair gel or paint  
?? Draw or write on paper, cardboard, chalkboard, dry 
erase boards, wood, and concrete 
PK-LL-W2 Use forms of shapes and letter-like symbols to 
convey ideas 
Examples: 
?? Use scribble writing and letter-like forms, especially 
those letters in their own name 
?? Begin to represent ideas and experiences through 
drawing and early stages of writing, such as: "I ms u." 
?? Attempt to connect the sounds in words with their 
written letter forms 
PK-LL-W3 Participate in a variety of writing activities 
focused on  
 meaningful words and print in the environment 
Examples: 
?? Use a variety of writing utensils and props to encourage 
writing in different centers such as: 
?? Journals, sign-in sheets, name cards, cards with words 
and pictures in the writing center 
?? Counter checks, grocery store advertisements with 
paper to make grocery list in the dramatic play center 
?? Materials to make books, cards, or write messages in 
the art center 
?? Paper, tape, dowels, and play dough to make signs or 
enhance structures in the block center 
?? Paper or blank books to record observations of animals 
or results of experiments in the science center 
PK-LL-W4 Demonstrate an interest in using writing for a 
purpose 
Examples: 
?? Pretend to write a prescription while playing clinic 
?? Scribble writes next to picture 
?? Tell teacher, "Write it down so everyone can read it." 
?? Ask teacher, "How do I write Happy Birthday?" 
?? Write own name on a drawing for a friend 
?? Make deliberate letter choices during writing attempts 
?? Draw a representation of a school bus getting a flat and 
explains picture. Make a book from the paper and write the 
school bus story using scribbles, letter-like symbols or 
letters to retell the school bus incident. 
?? Create a recipe for a favorite snack 
?? Compose notes/invitations to family/friends 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
ELA-1-E5 
ELA-2-E1, E2, E6 
ELA-3-E1 
Louisiana Literacy Profile: 
51-55 
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7d 
ECERS-R Items: 
16 (7.2) 
19 (5.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21 (a)(4)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 2 

*PK-LL-W – Pre-Kindergarten – Language and Literacy Development ?  Writing 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2333 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter H.  Social and Emotional 
§337. Social and Emotional Development 

A. One of the primary goals of a quality early childhood 
program is to foster social and emotional development in 
young children. Pre-kindergarten children need proper 
guidance to develop the ability to negotiate issues that occur, 

to take turns, to lead and follow, and to be a friend. They 
also need to learn how to deal with their feelings in a 
socially acceptable manner.  

B. The social and emotional development of young 
children is strengthened when they feel good about 
themselves and have secure relationships with their parents, 
teachers, and peers. Other influences on this development 
are the relationships young children have with their families, 
their communities, their culture and their world. Since social 
and emotional development is such an important aspect of a 
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pre-kindergarten child's development, it has been included as 
a separate section. 

C. Accommodations for children with special needs: 
1. Plan for and support appropriate social behaviors. 
2. Provide opportunities for social interactions with 

typically developing peers. 
3. Utilize peers as models and helpers, or to provide 

praise and encouragement. 

NOTE: Partial participation is considered appropriate for 
children with special needs, according to their abilities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2336 (November 
2003). 

 
§339. Social and Emotional Deve lopment 

 
Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 
Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 
Self-Esteem: 
Develop a sense of one's own self-worth PK-SE-SE1* Respond to own name 

Examples: 
?? Look up, and/or make eye contact when called 
?? Respond verbally when name is called 
PK-SE-SE2 Stand up for own rights in an appropriate manner 
Examples: 
?? Say, "Stop! I had that first!" if toy is taken away 
?? Say, "I didn't get one," or "I need one," if he/she needs or 
wants something 
?? Say, "I want a turn," or "I didn't get a turn." 
PK-SE-SE3 Recognize and express own feelings and respond 
appropriately (all emotions, happiness, surprise, anger, etc.) 
Examples: 
?? Be able to calm self down when angry and use words to 
express why – "I'm mad. You took my toy." 
PK-SE-SE4 Demonstrate appropriate behaviors when 
completing a task or solving a problem 
Examples: 
?? Smile, express self verbally, or make eye contact with 
teachers or another child upon completion of task  

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
None applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-2, A-8b, A-9, A-11, 
B-7a, B-7b 
ECERS-R Items: 
None applicable 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(b)(2)(i) 
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(v) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

*PK-SE-SE – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development – Self-Esteem 

 
Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 
ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Attitu de: 
Develop a positive attitude toward life 
 

PK-SE-A1* Separate easily from parent  
Examples: 
?? Show pleasure in seeing teacher and other children upon 
arrival 
?? Say goodbye to parent without undue stress 
?? Engage in classroom activities when parent is gone 
PK-SE-A2 Play well with other children 
Examples: 
?? Offer to help child carry something that is heavy 
?? Participate with a group when deciding what roles to play in 
dramatic play 
?? Share a book with a friend 
PK-SE-A3 Respond sympathetically to peers who are in need 
Examples: 
?? Give a pat, friendly word or toy to a distressed child 
?? Help someone find something he/she has lost  
?? Invite another child to play when other children have 
rejected him/her 
PK-SE-A4 Recognize the feelings of others and respond 
appropriately  
Examples: 
?? Laugh or smile when others are happy 
?? Tell someone a child is sad because her mom left  
?? Bring a truck book to someone who loves trucks 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
None applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-9, A-11, B-7a, 
B-7b  
ECERS-R Items: 
31(7.2) 
32(5.1), 32(5.3), 32(7.2) 
33(5.1), 33(5.2), 33(7.1), 33(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(b) 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(d)  
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(v) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 
 

 * PK-SE-A – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Attitude 
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Social and Emotional Development 
Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Cooperation: 
Develop skills which will teach them to 
cooperate 

PK-SE-C1* Develop increasing abilities to give and take in 
interactions 
Examples: 
?? Take turns in games or when using materials 
?? Listen to others while they are speaking 
?? Work with others to complete a task 
?? Play cooperatively alongside other children  
PK-SE-C2 Work or play cooperatively with other children with 
minimal direction 
Examples: 
?? Become involved with classroom materials without teacher 
prompting 
?? Participate in group activities such as singing 
?? Try new activities such as a new nursery rhyme or a 
fingerplay 
PK-SE-C3 Respond appropriately during teacher-guided and 
child-initiated activities 
Examples: 
?? Respect others' feelings within the context of group play 
?? Use acceptable ways of joining in an on-going activity or 
group 
?? Wait his/her turn in playing games or using materials 
PK-SE-C4 Use conflict resolution strategies 
Examples: 
?? Trade one toy for another 
?? Ask teacher for help when dealing with others who are less 
able to resolve a conflict  
PK-SE-C5 Develop appropriate listening skills 
Examples: 
?? Wait turn to speak 
?? Demonstrate emerging ability to show sensitivity to peers 
and teacher as they speak in large or small settings 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
Not applicable 
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-3b, A -10, A-11,  
B-7a, B-8 
ECERS-R Items: 
29(7.3), 
31(7.1), 
 33(5.1), 33(7.1), 33(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(b) 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(c) 
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 
Head Start Child Outcomes:  
Domain 1 and 6 
  

*PK- SE- C – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Cooperation 

 
Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Pro-Social Behavior: 
Develop self-control and understand that 
actions have consequences 

PK-SE-PB1* Show progress in expressing feelings, needs and 
opinions in difficult situations and conflicts without harming 
self, others, or property 
Examples: 
?? Begin to use socially acceptable means to resolve conflict  
?? Move from physical to verbal responses in their interactions 
with other children 
?  Express frustrations and anger effectively 
PK-SE-PB2 Develop a growing understanding of how their 
actions affect others and begin to accept consequences of their 
actions 
Examples: 
?? Begin to demonstrate remorse 
?? Leave a learning center or choose another learning center 
without protest when asked, due to inappropriate behavior 
PK-SE-PB3 Demonstrate increasing capacity to follow rules and 
routines and use materials purposefully, safely and respectfully 
Examples: 
?? Respect and care for classroom environment and materials 
?? Participate in snack time, nap or other routine activities 
without much delay or protest  
?? Begin to verbalize and understand the reason for class rules 
?? Return materials to appropriate place when task is complete 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
C-1A-E1  
NAEYC Criterion: 
A-6a, A-8b, A -9,  
ECERS-R Items: 
19(7.2) 
22(7.2) 
24(5.4) 
 31(7.1) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(c)(1)(iv) 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(c) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 

PK-SE-PB – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development – Pro-Social Behavior 
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Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Family:  
Develop a knowledge and understanding 
of self and family 

PK-SE-F1* Demonstrate knowledge of personal information  
Examples: 
?? Demonstrate or verbalize their age in a variety of ways 
?? Say name when asked or sing name during name song 
?? Share their gender verbally or demonstrate it in a variety of 
ways 
PK-SE-F2 Identify family composition and describes roles of 
family members 
Examples: 
?? Discuss family members who live in and out of the home 
such as: "I live with my grandma, but I stay with my dad on the 
weekends." 
?? Act out family roles in dramatic play center 
PK-SE-F3 Discuss family traditions, practices and cultural roots 
of family members 
Examples: 
??  Share information about family celebrations 
?? Tell stories, draw pictures, and/or verbally express family 
practices such as: "My family eats rice with every meal." 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
None Applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7a, 7h 
ECERS-R Items: 
32(7.2) 
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(e) 
Head Start Child Outcomes:  
 Domain 6 

 PK-SE-F– Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Family 

 
Social and Emotional Development 

Content Practice Standards  Developmental Profile Indicators  Links 

Preschool programs will provide 
experiences for children to: Educational experiences will assure that preschool children will: Louisiana K-4 Content Standards, 

ECERS-R, NAEYC, Head Start, etc. 

Diversity:  
Develop a respect for differences in 
people 

PK-SE-D1* Recognize themselves as unique individuals and 
become aware of the uniqueness of others 
Examples: 
?? State, "I have blue eyes. Jennifer has brown eyes." 
?? Graph hair color or style, eye color, transportation to school, 
etc. 
PK-SE-D2 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for 
culture and 
 ethnicity 
Examples: 
?? Show interest in how people in different cultures live 
?? Show pride in own culture and accept peers of different 
ethnicity 
?? Participate in various cultural activities (stories, cooking. 
etc.) 
PK-SE-D3 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for 
abilities and 
 disabilities 
Examples: 
?? Show interest in how people with differing abilities live 
?? Accept peers with different abilities 
?? Participate in discussions and story telling experiences 
which deal with people with differing abilities 
PK-SE-D4 Begin to demonstrate an understanding of social 
justice and 
 social action issues 
Examples: 
?? Understand and join in discussion about charities and/or 
charitable events the class can become involved in  
?? Contribute to the penny drive for the homeless or bring cans 
for the food bank 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: 
None applicable  
NAEYC Criterion: 
B-7h  
ECERS-R Items: 
24(7.2)  
28(5.1), 28(5.2), 28(7.1), 28(7.2)  
Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(1)(iii) 1304.21(a)(3)(i)(d) 
1304.21(a)(3)(i)(e) 
Head Start Child Outcomes: 
Domain 6 

 PK-SE-D – Pre-Kindergarten – Social and Emotional Development - Diversity 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2337 (November 
2003).
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Chapter 5. Pre-K Standards at-a-Glance 
§501. Cognitive Development 
 

Cognitive Development – Mathematical 
Number Concepts 

PK-
CM-N1 Compare numbers of objects 

PK-
CM-N2 Perform one-to-one correspondence 

PK-
CM-N3 

Count by rote 

PK-
CM-N4 Begin to count objects 

PK-
CM-N5 

Begin to recognize numerals 

PK-
CM-N6 Begin to demonstrate estimation skills 

Measurement 
PK-
CM-M1 Experience, compare, and use language relating to time 

PK-
CM-M2 Anticipate, remember, and describe sequences of events 

PK-
CM-M3 

Use mathematical language to describe experiences involving 
measurement 

PK-
CM-M4 

Measure objects in the physical world using non-standard units 
of measurement 

Geometry and Spatial Sense 
PK-
CM-G1 Recognize, name, describe, compare, and create basic shapes 

PK-
CM-G2 Identify shapes to describe physical world 

PK-
CM-G3 

Describe and interpret spatial sense: positions, directions, 
distances, and order 
Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation 

PK-
CM-D1 Sort and classify materials by one or more characteristics 

PK-
CM-D2 

Collect and organize data about themselves, their surroundings, 
and meaningful experiences 

PK-
CM-D3 Interpret simple representations in data 

Patterns and Relationships  
PK-
CM-P1 Recognize patterns in the physical world 

PK-
CM-P2 

Describe, copy, extend, create patterns and make predictions 
about patterns 

PK-
CM-P3 Seriate objects 

Cognitive Development? Science 
Science as Inquiry 

PK-CS-
I1 

Use prior knowledge and experiences to hypothesize, predict, 
generate questions, and draw conclusions about organisms and 
events in the environment 

PK-CS-
I2 Conduct simple scientific experiments 

PK-CS-
I3 

Make observations using senses 

PK-CS-
I4 

Employ equipment and tools to gather data and extend sensory 
observations 

PK-CS-
I5 

Collect, interpret, communicate data and findings from 
observation and experiments in oral and written format  

PK-CS-
I6 Use appropriate scientific vocabulary related to topics 

Physical Science 
PK-CS-
P1 Begin investigating st ates of matter: solids, liquids, and gases 

PK-CS-
P2 Describe objects by their physical properties 

PK-CS-
P3 Explore the physical world using five senses 

PK-CS-
P4 

Explore simple machines, magnets, and sources of energy  

Life Science  
PK-CS-
L1 Explore, observe, and describe a variety of living things 

PK-CS-
L2 

Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a variety of non-
living things  

PK-CS-
L3 

Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a variety of 
activities related to preserving their environment 

PK-CS-
L4 

Begin to develop an awareness and understanding of plant and 
animal life cycles and how the life cycles vary for different 
reasons 

Earth and Space Science 
PK-CS-
ES1 

Investigate, compare, and contrast seasonal changes in their 
immediate environment 

PK-CS-
ES2 

Discover through observation that weather can change from day 
to day 

PK-CS-
ES3 Use vocabulary to describe major features of the earth and sky 

Cognitive Development – Social Studies 
Civics  

PK-
CSS-C1 

Recognize community workers and increase awareness of their 
jobs 

PK-
CSS-C2 Identify his/her role as a member of family/class  

Economics  
PK-
CSS-E1 

Demonstrate an awareness of money being used to purchase 
items 

Geography 
PK-
CSS-G1 

Include representations of roads, bodies of water, and buildings 
in their play 

PK-
CSS-G2 Use words to indicate directionality, position, and size 

PK-
CSS-G3 

Develop awareness of the world around them 

History 
PK-
CSS-H1 Use words to describe time (yesterday, today, tomorrow) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2340 (November 
2003). 
§503. Creative Arts Development 

 
Creative Arts Development? Music and Movement 

Music Appreciation 
PK-
MM-
MA1 

Listen to a variety of musical genre – jazz, classical, country, 
lullaby, patriotic, instrumental, vocal, etc. 

PK-
MM-
MA2 

Respond to variations in music – pitch, volume, tempo, beat, 
rhythm, and pattern 

Music Expression 
PK-
MM-
ME1 

Use music as an avenue to express thoughts, feelings, and 
energy 

PK-
MM-
ME2 

Participate in group singing, fingerplays, rhymes, poetry, and 
rhythm 

Creative Movement 
PK-
MM-
CM1 

Observe various forms of movement 

PK-
MM-
CM2 

Communicate words or concepts through movement 

PK-
MM-
CM3 

Show creativity using their bodies (dance, march, hop, jump, 
sway, clap, snap, stomp, twist, turn) 

Creative Arts Development – Visual Arts 
Visual Arts Appreciation 

PK-VA-
VA1 

Observe various forms of art expression (paintings, drawings, 
sculpture, prints, collages, and other art forms)  

PK-VA-
VA2 

Share various forms of art (sculpture, pencils, watercolors, clay, 
collage, pen and ink, etc.) found in their environment 

Creative Expression 
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PK-VA-
CE1 Participate in individual and group art activities 

Creative Arts Development – Dramatic Arts 
Dramatic Appreciation 

PK-
DA-
DA1 

Attend a variety of dramatic performances 

PK-
DA-
DA2 

Participate in discussions of dramatic performances 

Dramatic Expression 
PK-
DA-
DE1 

Role play or use puppets to express feelings, dramatize stories, 
try out social behaviors observed in adults, re-enact real-life 
roles and experiences 

PK-
DA-
DE2 

Participate in activities using symbolic materials and gestures to 
represent real objects and situations 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2340 (November 
2003). 
§505. Health and Physical Development 
 

Health and Physical Development - Health  
Health and Hygiene 

PK-HP-HH1 Show awareness of healthy lifestyle practices 

PK-HP-HH2 Show awareness of good hygiene and personal care 

Nutrition 

PK-HP-N1 Exhibit knowledge that some foods are better for your 
body than others 

Safety 

PK-HP-S1 Identify harmful objects, substances, or behaviors 

PK-HP-S2 Be aware of and follow universal safety rules 

Health and Physical Development? Physical 
Gross Motor 

PK-HP-GM1 Exhibit body coordination and strength 

PK-HP-GM2 Exhibit balance and spatial awareness 

Fine Motor 

PK-HP-FM1 Strengthen and control small muscles in hands 

PK-HP-FM2 Exhibit manual coordination 

PK-HP-FM3 Participate in eye-hand coordination activities 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2341 (November 
2003). 
§507. Language and Literacy Development 
 

Language and Literacy Development 
Listening 

PK-LL-L1 Listen with understanding to directions and 
conversations 

PK-LL-L2 Follow directions that involve two- or three-
step sequence of actions 

PK-LL-L3 
Hear and discriminate the sounds of language 
in the environment to develop beginning 
phonological awareness 

PK-LL-L4 
Demonstrate understanding of new vocabulary 
introduced in conversations, activities, stories 
or books 

PK-LL-L5 

Engage in activities that offer the opportunity 
to develop skills associated with technology by 
viewing, comprehending, and using non-
textual information 

Speaking 

PK-LL-S1 Develop and expand expressive language skills 

PK-LL-S2 Use new vocabulary in spontaneous speech 

PK-LL-S3 Develop appropriate listening skills 

Reading 

PK-LL-R1 Actively engage in reading experiences 

PK-LL-R2 Retell information from a story 

PK-LL-R3 Demonstrate an understanding of print 
concepts and beginning alphabetic knowledge 

PK-LL-R4 Use emerging reading skills to make meaning 
from print 

Writing 

PK-LL-W1 Experiment with a variety of writing tools, 
materials, and surfaces 

PK-LL-W2 Use forms of shapes and letter-like symbols to 
convey ideas 

PK-LL-W3 
Participate in a variety of writing activities 
focused on meaningful words and print in the 
environment 

PK-LL-W4 Demonstrate an interest in using writing for a 
purpose 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2341 (November 
2003). 
§509. Social and Emotional Development 
 

Social and Emotional Development 
Self-Esteem 

PK-SE-SE1 Respond to own name 

PK-SE-SE2 Stand up for own rights in an appropriate manner 

PK-SE-SE3 
Recognize and express own feelings and respond 
appropriately (all emotions - happiness, surprise, 
anger, etc.) 

PK-SE-SE4 Demonstrate appropriate behaviors when 
completing a task or solving a problem 

Attitude  
PK-SE-A1 Separate easily from parent 

PK-SE-A2 Play well with other children 

PK-SE-A3 Respond sympathetically to peers who are in need 

PK-SE-A4 Recognize the feelings of others and respond 
appropriately  

Cooperation 

PK-SE-C1 Develop increasing abilities to give and take in 
interactions 

PK-SE-C2 Work or play cooperatively with others with 
minimal direction 

PK-SE-C3 Respond appropriately during teacher-guided and 
child-initiated activities 

PK-SE-C4 Use conflict resolution strategies 

PK-SE-C5 Ask and answer relevant questions and share 
experiences individually and in groups 

Pro-Social Behavior 

PK-SE-PB1 
Show progress in expressing feelings, needs and 
opinions in difficult situations and conflicts without 
harming self, others, or property 
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PK-SE-PB2 
Develop a growing understanding of how their 
actions affect others and begin to accept 
consequences of their actions 

PK-SE-PB3 
Demonstrate increasing capacity to follow rules and 
routines and use materials purposefully, safely and 
respectfully  

Family 

PK-SE-F1 Demonstrate knowledge of personal information 

PK-SE-F2 Identify family composition and describe roles of 
family members 

PK-SE-F3 Discuss family traditions, practices and cultural 
roots of family members 

Diversity 

PK-SE-D1 Recognize themselves as unique individuals and 
become aware of the uniqueness of others 

PK-SE-D2 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for 
culture and ethnicity 

PK-SE-D3 Demonstrate emerging awareness and respect for 
abilities and disabilities 

PK-SE-D4 Begin to demonstrate an understanding of social 
justice and social action issues 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2341 (November 
2003). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#019 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741? Louisiana Handbook for  
Nonpublic School Administrators 
(LAC 28:LXXIX.Chapters 1-37) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted revision of Nonpublic Bulletin 
741? Louisiana Handbook for Nonpublic School 
Administrators. The revised Nonpublic Bulletin 741 will be 
printed in codified format as Part LXXIX of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. The State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education at its April 2003 meeting approved the 
revision of this bulletin which contains policies regulating 
the administration of nonpublic pre-K through 12 schools. 
Nonpublic Bulletin 741 was revised to change or delete 
outdated information, to clarify language, and to bring 
policies in line with what is currently required for public 
schools. The document had not been revised since 1997. 
Some policy changes are as follows. 

The revised document allows for the flexible use of 
instructional time as is allowed for public schools. This 
policy allows secondary schools to use block scheduling. 
The policies regarding GEE 21 for schools awarding a state 
diploma are updated. The requirements for the BESE Honors 
Curriculum are revised to reflect the course requirements for 
nonpublic school students. The High School Program of 
Studies is updated to include recent changes. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXIX.  Louisiana Handbook for  
Nonpublic School Administrators 

Chapter 1. Operation and Administration 
§101. General Authority 

A. The nonpublic school board or governing body shall 
pass a resolution establishing the nonpublic school and 
setting forth its goals and objectives. 

B. Nonpublic schools are designed to meet the needs of a 
specific group of students. Each nonpublic school will 
evaluate itself on the basis of its stated goals and objectives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2342 (November 
2003). 
§103. School Administration 

A. The educational program shall be designed to 
implement the stated goals and objectives and shall be 
directly related to the unique educational requirements of its 
student body. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2342 (November 
2003). 
§105. Philosophy and Purposes of School 

A. Each nonpublic school shall develop and maintain a 
written statement of its philosophy and/or mission statement 
and the major purposes to be served by its program. The 
statement shall reflect the individual character of the school 
and the characteristics and needs of the students it serves. 

B. The statement of philosophy and/or mission statement 
shall be reviewed annually and shall be revised as necessary. 

C. Written evidence that these requirements are being 
met shall be on file. 

D. Copies of the philosophy and/or mission statement 
shall be furnished to all staff members and made available to 
interested persons on request. 

E. Each school shall maintain on the file the following:  
1. written statement of philosophy and/or mission 

statement;  
2. goals and objectives for the current year; and  
3. plan for implementation of these goals and 

objectives.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2342 (November 
2003). 
§107. School Approval 

A. In order to benefit from state and federal funds, each 
school shall have a state approval classification and shall be 
in compliance with Brumfield vs. Dodd. 

B. Each state-approved nonpublic school receiving state 
and/or federal funds shall permit all colleges, universities 
and branches of the military to have equal access to the 
schools for the purpose of college recruitment. 
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C. When applying to the State Department of Education 
for a classification category, all nonpublic schools seeking 
state approval shall include all grades/programs taught at the 
school. 

1. Classification Categories. Schools shall be 
classified according to the following categories. 

a. Approved (A)? school meets all standards 
specified in Standards for Approval of Nonpublic Schools. 

b. Provisionally Approved (PA)? school has some 
deficiencies in standards, such as: class size and number(s) 
of the faculty teaching in an area of which qualifications 
specified are not met, etc. 

c. Probationally Approved (P)? school has one or 
more of the following deviations from standards: 
 i. principal does not hold a master's degree or 
principalship certification; 
 ii. non-degreed teacher with fewer than five years 
teaching experience is employed; 
 iii. school has been on provisional approval for the 
previous two years for the same deficiency. 

d. Unapproved (U)? school maintains any of the 
above-mentioned deviations from standards which placed it 
in the probationally approved category the preceding year. A 
school may not maintain a probationally approved category 
for two consecutive years. A school which loses annual 
school approval shall become ineligible for state and federal 
funding. 

D. The Department of Education shall submit to the 
SBESE a yearly report recommending the classification 
status of the nonpublic schools in accordance with the 
nonpublic school standards. 

E. After the Annual School Reports are submitted by the 
State Department of Education to the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) for approval, 
all nonpublic schools seeking to change their classification 
category must submit their request to the SBESE. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2342 (November 
2003). 
§109. Initial Classification 

A. Schools seeking initial approval must be qualified to 
be classified as either approved or provisionally approved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003). 
§111. Re-Applying for State Approval 

A. An unapproved school reapplying fo r state approval 
must qualify as either approved or provisionally approved. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003). 
§113. Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten 

A. The local educational governing authority shall have 
the option of establishing a pre-kindergarten and/or 
kindergarten program on a half-day or full-day schedule. 

B. The pre-kindergarten program shall be listed on the 
annual school report when operated as a developmental 
program within the total school program. 

C. Any other program which operates in a school as a 
childcare program shall follow the day care standards as 
prescribed by the appropriate state agency and is not to be 
listed on the annual school report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003). 
§115. Minimum Session/Instructional Day 

A. Each school shall adopt a calendar for a minimum 
session of 180 days, of which at least 175 days consisting of 
330 minutes of instructional time, or the equivalent, shall be 
scheduled. 

1. If a daily schedule must be abbreviated, the class 
schedule must be abbreviated in such a manner to ensure 
that all classes are taught during partial days, except in self-
contained classrooms. 

2. Each school may include in its calendar a provision 
for dismissal of senior students prior to the end of the school 
year. This provision is not to exceed 10 days of instructional 
time. 

B. If a local school does not meet at least 175 school 
days, the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (SBESE) shall require the school to adjust its 
calendar to meet the minimum days of required instructional 
time by such means as Saturday classes, reduced holidays, 
expanded calendar length, etc. 

1. A school system and/or independent school shall 
notify the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (SBESE) immediately when the minimum 
number of days of required instructional time cannot be met 
in crises such as fire, natural disasters, and so forth. 

2. An alternate proposal to the original school 
calendar which meets the minimum number of 175 days or 
annual instructional minutes shall also be provided by the 
school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003). 
§117. Written Policies  

A. Each school system and/or independent school shall 
have written policies and/or regulations governing the 
general operation of the school. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003). 
§119. Emergency Planning and Procedures 

A. Each school system and/or independent school shall 
have written plans and procedures that address the 
immediate response to emergency situations that may 
develop in the school. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2343 (November 
2003). 
§121. Personnel 

A. No person who has been convicted of or has plead 
nolo contendere to a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(c) shall be 
hired by a nonpublic school for a position of supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over school children unless approved 
in writing by a district judge of the parish and by the district 
attorney. 

B. Any employee hired after September 30, 1987, must 
request in writing, a criminal history review through the 
Department of Public Safety on the form prepared by the 
Bureau of Criminal Identification.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2344 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 3. Certification of Personnel 
§301. Principal 

A. A nonpublic school principal, assistant principal, or 
headmaster must hold a master's degree in any area from an 
accredited institution or have principalship on his Louisiana 
teaching certificate. The principal is to be a full-time, on-site 
employee. (The principal may be a teacher as well as the 
educational administrator of the school.) 

B. Assistant principals who do not meet minimum 
qualifications may be retained in a school provided they 
were employed in that school during the 1992-93 school 
year as an assistant principal. 

C. A list of these assistant principals is to be maintained 
on file in the State Department of Education. Upon their 
retirement or replacement, these assistant principals must be 
replaced with properly qualified personnel under the 
nonpublic school standards. These individuals may not be 
transferred or employed by another school unless they meet 
the requirements stated in the above standard. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2344 (November 
2003). 
§303. Instructional Staff 

A.1. All members of the instructional staff teaching 
secular subjects, pre-kindergarten through 12, shall have 
received a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited 
institution. 

2. They shall also have completed a minimum of 12 
semester hours of professional education courses. A 
beginning teacher shall have a two-year period in which to 
meet this 12-semester hour standard. The teacher shall be 
required to have a certificate or college major in the field of 
work for which the teacher is responsible during one half or 
more of the school day or shall have earned credits in the 
required specific specialized academic courses as described 
in Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for State Certification

of School Personnel . A teacher may work in areas other than 
the major field for a period of time that is less than one-half 
of the school day provided that he has earned at least 12 
semester hours in each such area. (Exception may be made 
for teachers in Trade and Industrial Education classes.) 

a. Teachers of the pre-kindergarten class shall be 
qualified in either elementary, kindergarten, or nursery 
school or have earned 12 hours in child gro wth and 
development. The 12 hours in child growth and development 
may be earned through the College of Education or the 
Department/School of Family and Consumer Sciences. 

b. Teachers of the kindergarten class shall be 
qualified in either elementary or kindergarten or have earned 
12 hours in child growth and development. The 12 hours in 
child growth and development may be earned through the 
College of Education or the Department/School of Family 
and Consumer Sciences. 

c. Staff members teaching religion at the high 
school level (9-12) for Carnegie units must have a minimum 
of a bachelor's degree. Staff members teaching religion that 
do not meet minimum qualifications may be retained in a 
school provided they were employed during the 1995-96 
school year as teachers of religion. 

B. Professional and/or technical personnel? e.g., C.P.A.s, 
doctors, college or university professors, lab technicians, 
lawyers, and so forth, may teach less than one-half of a 
school day in their area of expertise. 

C. Non-degreed teachers having taught for a period of at 
least five years prior to September 1, 1977, may be rehired 
in a school provided their teaching performance was 
satisfactory; however, these teachers are eligible to teach 
only in the subject areas as listed prior to September 1, 1977. 
Upon retirement or replacement, these teachers must be 
replaced with degreed teachers eligible under the nonpublic 
school standards. 

D. Credentials for graduates of foreign universities or 
colleges may be accepted by the local administrator, as 
qualified to teach in nonpublic schools subject to the review 
by the Nonpublic School Commission. 

1. Applicants with foreign credentials seeking state 
certification should follow procedures as outlined by the 
State Department. 

E. Teachers in nonpublic schools seeking state 
certification shall follow the approved procedure.  

1. Secondary and elementary personnel may teach 
grades pre K-12 in their qualified areas.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2344 (November 
2003). 
§305. Professional Staff Development 

A. Regular and planned faculty meetings on professional 
issues shall be held. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2344 (November 
2003). 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2345

Chapter 5. Records and Reports 
Subchapter A. Maintenance and Use of School Records 

and Reports 
§501. General 

A. The school shall maintain accurate and current 
information on students, personnel, instructional programs, 
facilities, and finances. 

B. There shall be procedures in place to ensure 
confidentiality and parental access to records, in accordance 
with applicable law.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§503. School Records  

A. Each school shall maintain necessary records for the 
effective operation of the school.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§505. Student Records  

A. Each school shall keep records which shall provide 
for the registration and attendance of students and shall 
maintain an up-to-date permanent record of individual 
students showing personal data and progress through school. 

B. Schools shall not reveal a student's confidential 
records, except by his or her parents/guardian consent, or for 
the purpose of the state's conduct of other activities, e.g., 
Department of Health and Human Resources surveying and 
monitoring of personnel, or use by other educational 
institutions and law enforcement officials, or by the order of 
a court, or pursuant to the Family Educational Rights and 
Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C. 1232g, et seq., and 34 CFR, et seq. 

C. If a school discontinues its operation, it must provide 
the parent or receiving school with an up-to-date copy of the 
permanent student record, if requested. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§507. Use of School Records  

A. Student records shall be reviewed regularly, and 
results shall be used for instructional planning, student 
guidance, and placement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§509. Transfer of Student Records from Approved 

Schools 
A. A student transferred from a state-approved school, 

in- or out-of-state, will be allowed credit for work completed 
in the former school. When a student transfers from one 
school to another, a properly certified transcript, showing the 

students record of attendance, achievement, and the units of 
credit earned are required. 

B. Every nonpublic school, approved or nonapproved, 
shall provide written notification directly to the public 
school in which the student was previously enrolled. This 
notification shall take place within 10 days of enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§511. Transfer of Student Records from Schools that 

are not State Approved 
A. Local school principals from any state-approved 

school receiving a student from an unapproved school, in- or 
out-of-state, will determine the placement and/or credits for 
the student. The principal and/or superintendent may require 
the student to take an entrance examination on any subject 
matter for which credit is claimed. The school issuing the 
high school diploma shall account for all the credit required 
for graduation, and its records will show when and where the 
credit was earned. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§513. Students Transferring from Home Study 

A. The school shall adhere to the policies and procedures 
established by the school system/school for students entering 
the system from an approved home study program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§515. Students Transferring from Foreign Schools 

A. The school shall determine placement of students 
transferring from foreign schools. This determination shall 
be accepted by the State Department of Education (SDE). 

B. Credits earned by students in American schools in 
foreign countries shall be accepted at face value. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§517. Textbook Records  

A. A record of all state-purchased textbooks shall be 
kept. This shall include textbooks on hand at the beginning 
of the session, those added, and those lost or worn-out.  

B. State funds allocated for buying textbooks shall be 
used to buy books on the state-adopted textbook lists and 
academically related ancillary materials according to the 
state guidelines. 

1. Local schools may use state textbook dollars for the 
purchase of non-adopted instructional materials, when they 
are purchasing instructional materials for grades K-3 that are 
manipulative concrete materials, or gross motor materials; or 
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when they do not exceed 10 percent of the total state 
textbook allocation. 

2. Schools may petition in writing the State 
Department of Education for permission to spend in excess 
of the 10 percent allowance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2345 (November 
2003). 
§519. Health Records  

A. A health record shall be maintained on each student 
from pre -kindergarten through grade 12. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter B. School Reports 
§525. General 

A. Reports required by the State Department of 
Education and BESE shall be made on appropriate forms, 
shall contain accurate information, and shall be returned by 
the specified date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
§527. Annual School Report 

A. Each nonpublic school shall submit an annual school 
report to the appropriate division within the State 
Department of Education, according to the established time 
line. 

B. By October 15, the principal shall forward a report 
through the nonpublic superintendent's or administrator's 
office, to the State Department of Education, on forms 
provided for that purpose. This report shall be signed by the 
administrative head of the school. One copy shall be filed 
with the nonpublic school superintendent's or administrator's 
office and another copy shall be filed in the principal's 
office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
§529. Annual Financial and Statistical Report 

A. Information required for the completion of the annual 
financial and statistical report shall be recorded on forms 
furnished by the State Department of Education. 

B. A copy of this report shall be filed in the principal's 
office and a copy forwarded to the appropriate office in the 
State Department of Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 

§531. Reports of High School Credits 
A. Before a student may graduate from a nonpublic high 

school, a certificate of high school credits (transcript) shall 
be submitted to and approved by the State Department of 
Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
§533. Other Reports 

A. Any other records and reports applicable to nonpublic 
schools that may be required by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) or the State 
Department of Education shall be submitted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 7. Scheduling 
§701. General 

A. The purpose of scheduling within available time 
frames and staff resources shall be to meet educational needs 
of students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
§703. Secondary Scheduling 

A. The minimum length of periods for any high school 
class in which a Carnegie unit is earned shall be no less than 
55 minutes of instructional time in a six-period day and no 
less than 50 minutes of time in a seven-period day. 

B. The minimum length of any high school class in 
which one-half Carnegie unit of credit is earned shall be no 
less than one-half of the total minutes required for one full 
Carnegie unit of credit. 

C. Any high school class scheduled for a 90 minute per 
period block of instructional time must meet for a minimum 
of one full semester, or the equivalent, in order to earn a 
Carnegie unit. 

D. The schedule of subjects offered in the program of 
studies may be arranged by school principals in order to 
reduce or increase the number of class periods per week 
provided that the yearly aggregate time requirements are 
met. 

E. Significant accommodations and/or modifications 
may be made for special education students in accordance 
with the Individualized Education Program (IEP), provided 
that the integrity of the Carnegie unit is not diminished. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2346 (November 
2003). 
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§705. Length of the School Day 
A. The minimum instructional day for a full-day 

kindergarten program shall be 330 minutes and for a one-
half day kindergarten program, the minimum instructional 
day shall be 165 minutes. 

B. For grades 1-12, the minimum school day shall 
include 330 minutes of instructional time exclusive of 
recess, lunch, and planning periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
§707. Class Size and Ratio 

A. The maximum enrollment allowed in any class or 
section shall not exceed 35 students except in certain activity 
classes such as physical education, music, art, etc. 

B. The class size for pre -kindergarten developmental 
programs shall not exceed 20 children for one teacher. 
Schools that choose to use the assistance of a full-time aide 
may have a maximum of 30 children per class. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 9. Reporting Student Progress 
§901. Reporting Student Progress to Parents  

A. Reports covering the students' achievement and 
progress shall be made to parents or guardians periodically. 
These reports shall contain an evaluation of the pupil's 
scholastic achievement and conduct. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 11. Review and Evaluation 
§1101. School Self-Evaluation 

A. School self-evaluation shall be used to effect 
improvement in the purposes of the school and in the 
understanding of pupils, instructional methods, and 
educational outcomes.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 13. Student Services 
§1301. Attendance 

A. Students who have attained the age of seven years 
shall attend a public or private day school or participate in an 
approved home study program until they reach the age of 17 
years; however, a student between the ages of 16 and 17 
years of age may withdraw from school with the written 
consent of his parent, tutor, or legal guardian. 

B.1. A student is considered to be in attendance when he 
or she: 

a. is physically present at a school site or is 
participating in an authorized school activity; and  

b. is under the supervision of authorized personnel. 
2. This definition for attendance would extend to 

students who are homebound, assigned to and participating 
in drug rehabilitation programs that contain a state-approved 
education component, or participating in school-authorized 
field trips. 

a. Half-Day Attendance. A student is considered to 
be in attendance for one-half day when he or she: 
 i. is physically present at a school site or is 
participating in an authorized school activity; and  
 ii. is under the supervision of authorized 
personnel for more than 25 percent but not more than half 
(26 percent-50 percent) of the student's instructional day. 

b. Whole-Day Attendance. A student is considered 
to be in attendance for a whole day when he or she:  
 i. is physically present at a school site or is 
participating in an authorized school activity; and  
 ii. is under the supervision of authorized 
personnel for more than 50 percent (51 percent-100 percent) 
of the student's instructional day. 

C. In order to be eligible to receive grades, high school 
students shall be in attendance a minimum of 80 days per 
course each semester or 160 days per course during a school 
year for schools not operating on a semester basis. 
Elementary students shall be in attendance a minimum of 
160 days a school year.  

1. Students attending high school classes operating in 
90 minute blocks of instructional time shall be in attendance 
80 days, or its equivalent, in order to be eligible to receive 
grades. 

D. Each school shall develop and implement a system 
whereby a student's parent, tutor, or legal guardian is given 
notice when that student has been excessively absent from 
school and at intervals thereafter. This notification shall be 
provided each semester for those high schools operating on a 
semester basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
§1303. Extenuating Circumstances 

A. Exception to the attendance policy can be made only 
in the event of extended personal illness, verified by a 
physician, or at the discretion of the principal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
§1305. Entrance Requirements 

A. All students, upon entering Louisiana schools for the 
first time, shall present: 

1. an official birth certificate; 
2. a record of immunization; and 
3. an official Social Security Card. 

B. If no official Social Security Card is available, the 
student shall be assigned an identification number by the 
school. Other official records may be used for verification 
upon the discretion of appropriate school officials. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2347 (November 
2003). 
§1307. Age Requirements 

A. The minimum age for kindergarten shall be one year 
younger than the age requirement for that child to enter first 
grade. 

B. Each school system and/or independent school may 
adopt by rule and enforce ages for entrance into first grade in 
school. It is recommended that a child entering first grade be 
six years of age on or before September 30 of that school 
year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 15. Health 
§1501. Immunization 

A. The school principal of each school shall be 
responsible for checking student records to ensure that 
immunization requirements are enforced. Refer to R.S. 
17:170. 

B. After parental notification that a student's 
immunization schedule is not up-to-date, the student shall be 
excluded from school until evidence has been presented that 
the required immunization program is in progress or unless 
Section E of R.S. 17:170 is invoked. Refer to R.S. 17:170 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 17. Preventive Programs  
§1701. Substance Abuse 

A. Each school is encouraged to include in the 
curriculum a program of substance abuse prevention.  

B. Each school shall develop a method by which to mark 
drug free zones, including the use of signs or other markings 
suitable to the situation. Signs or other markings shall be 
located in a visible manner on or near each school and on 
and in each school bus indicating that such area is a drug 
free zone, that such zone extends to one thousand feet of 
school property, and that a felony violation of the Uniform 
Controlled Dangerous Substances Law will subject the 
offender to severe penalties under law. Refer to R.S. 17:405. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
§1703. Abuse 

A. Any school employee having reasonable cause to 
believe that a student has been mentally, physically, or 
sexually abused shall report these facts to the appropriate 
authorities. 

B. Any person making a report in good faith regarding 
child abuse shall have immunity from civil liability that may 
be otherwise incurred. Refer to R.S. 14:403. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
§1705. Weapons 

A. Carrying a firearm or dangerous weapon, as defined 
in R.S. 14:2(3), by a student or non-student on school 
property, at a school function, or in a firearm-free zone is 
unlawful and shall be defined as possession of any firearm 
or dangerous weapon, on one's person, at any time while on 
a school campus, on school transportation, or at any school-
sponsored function in a specific designated area including, 
but not limited to, athletic competitions, dances, parties, or 
any extracurricular activities, or within one thousand feet of 
any school campus. Refer to R.S.14:95.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
§1707. Search and Seizure 

A. It is recommended that each school shall adopt a 
policy to provide for reasonable search and seizure by school 
teachers, by principals, and by other school administrators, 
of students' desks, lockers, or other school areas for illegal 
drugs, weapons, alcohol, stolen goods, or other material or 
objects. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 19. Building Operation and Maintenance 
§1901. Building and Maintenance 

A. The school site and building shall include appropriate 
physical facilities and custodial services to meet the needs of 
the education program and to safeguard the health and safety 
of the pupils in each school. 

B. Each school system/independent school must be in 
compliance with any state or local regulations regarding 
health and safety. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 21. Instructional Support 
§2101. School Libraries/Media Centers 

A. It is recommended that all school libraries and media 
centers provide students access to information through 
monitored electronic formats. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
§2103. Elementary Libraries/Media Centers 

A. It is recommended that elementary schools with a 
centralized library/media center have a trained 
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librarian/media specialist for at least 20 hours per week. This 
person does not have to be a certified librarian, but should 
have at least a bachelor's degree from an accredited 
institution. 

B. It is recommended that elementary schools have 
library books at the ratio of 10 volumes per pupil. Three 
subscriptions per 100 students are recommended for 
elementary schools.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2348 (November 
2003). 
§2105. Secondary Libraries/Media Centers 

A. Secondary schools with more than 350 students are 
required to have a full-time librarian with at least 18 hours of 
library science or certification in library science. Secondary 
schools with fewer than 350 students are required to have a 
part-time librarian with at least 12 hours of library science or 
certification in library science. 

B. Secondary schools are recommended to have library 
books at the ratio of 10 volumes per pupil. Three 
subscriptions per 100 students are recommended for 
secondary schools.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 23. Support Services 
§2301. Transportation 

A. If transportation is not provided by the public school 
board, parents of students attending nonpublic schools shall 
be reimbursed for transportation, provided funds are 
appropriated. Refer to R.S. 17: 158.C, D, H. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003). 
§2303. School Food Service 

A. Any recognized school of high school grade or under 
shall be eligible to participate in the school food service 
programs administered by the State Department of 
Education, provided that requirements set forth in the 
agreements with the local educational governing authority 
are met. 

B. Reimbursement payments shall be made only to 
schools operating under an agreement between the school's 
governing body, called "school food authority" in the 
agreement and the State Department of Education (SDE). 
Agreements shall be signed by the designated representative 
of each school's governing body. Agreements shall be 
renewed by a signed statement annually unless an 
amendment is necessary. These agreements may be 
terminated by either party or may be canceled at any time by 
the State Department of Education upon evidence that terms 
of agreements have not been fully met. 

C. Participating schools shall adhere to conditions of 
agreement as stipulated in Louisiana Food and Nutrition

Programs, Policies of Operation, Bulletin 1196, and all other 
applicable State and Federal laws regulations, policies, and 
requirements established for the school food service 
program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 25. Curriculum and Instruction 
Subchapter A. General 
§2501. Curriculum 

A. The school shall plan and implement a continuous 
program of skills, concepts, and instruction in a learning 
environment designed to promote excellence in order that 
every individual may be afforded an equal opportunity to 
develop to his/her potential. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter B. Elementary Program of Studies 
§2503. Minimum Time Requirements 

A. Pre-Kindergarten/Kindergarten 
1. The pre-kindergarten and/or kindergarten should be 

planned to meet the developmental needs of young children 
and should be informal in nature, with teacher-directed and 
student-initiated activities. 

2.a. Suggested time requirements for pre-kindergarten 
are as follows. 

 
Teacher-direct ed activities  
(whole or small group) 

  
35 percent 

Student-initiated activities 
(learning center) 

  
35 percent 

Snack and restroom time 10 percent 
Lunch, rest period and/or quiet activities 20 percent 

 
b. The above suggested time requirements shall be 

flexibly scheduled to meet the developmental needs of 
young students. 

3.a. Suggested time requirements for kindergarten are 
as follows. 

 
Teacher-directed activities 
(whole or small group)  

  
40 percent 

Student-initiated activities 
(learning center)  

  
35 percent 

Snack and restroom time  10 percent 
Lunch, rest period and/or quiet activities 15 percent 

 
b. The above minimum suggested time 

requirements shall be flexibly scheduled to meet the 
developmental needs of young students. 

B. Elementary Schools  
1. Nonpublic elementary schools shall devote no less 

than 50 percent of the school day to the skill subjects: 
reading, language arts, and mathematics. The remainder of 
the school day may be devoted to such subjects as social 
studies, arts, religion, science, physical education, or other 
electives. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2350

2. The following elementary program of studies will 
be followed for nonpublic elementary schools. 

 
Program of Studies 

for Nonpublic Elementary Schools 
Self-Contained Classrooms  

Subject Percent of School Day 
Reading 50% (minimum) 
Language Arts   
Mathematics   
    
Social Studies   
Fine Arts   
Science 50% (maximum) 
Physical Education/Health   
Religion and/or Electives   

 
3. An articulated elementary foreign language 

program is recommended for academically able students and 
optional for all others. 

4. The above minimum time requirements shall apply 
to all students performing at or above grade levels in 
language arts and mathematics. Subject to review and 
approval of the principal, teachers may vary the daily 
schedule for the various subject time requirements as long as 
the weekly aggregate of time for each subjects is in 
accordance with the above. 

5. For students performing below grade level in 
language arts or mathematics, teachers may increase the 
daily/weekly time in language arts or mathematics by 
reducing instructional time in other subjects. 

 
Departmental Classes 
6-Period Day Option 

  Periods per Week Minimum 
Language Arts 5 55 
Mathematics and Introduction 
to Algebra 5 55 
Social Studies (LA Studies & 
Am. History) 5 55 
Science 5 55 
Health and Physical Education, 
Religion and/or Electives 10 10 
  330 minutes per day 

 
Departmental Classes 
6-Period Day Option  

  Periods 
per Week 

Minimum 

Language Arts 5 50 
Mathematics and Introduction to 
Algebra 5 50 
Social Studies (LA Studies & Am. 
History) 5 50 
Science 5 50 
Health and Physical Education, 
Religion and/or Electives 5 50 
  330 minutes per day 

 
6. Grades 7 and 8 (including grade 6 when grouped 

with grades 7 and 8) may offer electives from the following: 
a. Reading; 
b. Mathematics; 
c. Writing; 
d. Social Studies; 
e. Exploratory Agriscience; 
f. Exploratory Technology Education Science: 

 i. Construction; 
 ii. Manufacturing; 
 iii. Communication;  
 iv. Transportation;  
 v. Production; 

g. Exploratory Family and Consumer Sciences;  
h. Art; 
i. Foreign Languages;  
j. Instrumental or Vocal Music; 
k. Keyboarding/Typing;  
l. Speech;  
m. Computer Literacy/Computer Science. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2349 (November 
2003). 
§2505. Adding Electives to the Program of Studies for 

Middle Schools 
A. A school choosing to add an elective course to its 

program of studies shall apply to the director of the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessments, State Department of 
Education (SDE), at least 30 days prior to the anticipated 
date of implementation. 

B. The application for an elective course shall be signed 
by the school principal and superintendent, if applicable, and 
shall contain the following information: 

1. detailed outline of course content; 
2. time requirements (minutes per day; days per year 

or semester); 
3. detailed course objectives and how they shall be 

measured; 
4. qualifications of the instructor;  
5. when the course is to begin; 
6. approximate number of students; 
7. criteria for enrollment. 

C. If the course is to be offered for the succeeding school 
year, an end-of-the-year evaluation shall be sent, along with 
the second and third year applications, to the Division of 
Student Standards and Assessments, for determining its 
continuation. 

D. After an elective course has been in effect for three 
successive school years and the school wants the course to 
be a permanent part of its curriculum, the school principal 
and/or superintendent, if applicable, shall apply by letter to 
the Director of the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments, Department of Education for permission to 
include it. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2350 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter C. Secondary Schools 
§2507. Unit of Credit 

A. The basic unit of high school credit shall be the 
Carnegie unit. One unit of credit shall be equivalent to one 
Carnegie unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2350 (November 
2003). 
§2509. High School Graduation Requirements 

A. A student shall complete a minimum of 23 Carnegie 
units of credit in an individual program which shall be 
cooperatively planned by the student, the student's parents, 
and the school to meet high school graduation requirements. 

B. The 23 units required for graduation shall include 15 
required units and 8 elective units. 

C. Minimum Requirements (Effective for Incoming 
Freshmen 1999-2000 and Thereafter). 

1. English? 4 units, shall be English I, II, and III, in 
consecutive order; and English IV or Business English. 

2. Mathematics? 3 units, shall be selected from the 
following courses and may include a maximum of 2 entry 
level courses (designated by E): 

a. Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), Algebra I-
Part 1 (E); 

b. Algebra 1-Part 2, Integrated Mathematics I (E), 
Integrated; 

c. Mathematics II, Integrated Mathematics III, 
Applied; 

d. Mathematics 1 (E), Applied Mathematics II, 
Applied; 

e. Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), Geometry, 
Algebra II, Financial; 

f. Mathematics, Advanced Mathematics I, 
Advanced Mathematics II; 

g. Pre-Calculus, Calculus, Probability and Statistics, 
and Discrete Mathematics. 

3. Science? 3 units, shall be 1 unit of Biology I; 1 unit 
of Physical Science or Integrated Science (but not both), 
Chemistry I, Physics I, or Physics of Technology I; 1 unit 
from Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, Earth 
Science, Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics of 
Technology II, Agriscience I, Agriscience II, or any other 
course not already taken from the Physical Science cluster, 
or a locally designed elective.  

a. If a student takes Physical Science or Integrated 
Science, s/he may then take Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I as the required science course. 

b. If a student takes Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I to fulfill the Physical Science 
requirement, he may not then take Physical Science or 
Integrated Science as the third required science course but 
may take such courses as one of the eight allowed elective 
graduation requirements. 

c. Both Agriscience I and II must be completed for 
one unit of science credit. 

4. Social Studies? 3 units, shall be American History; 
one-half unit of Civics, one-half unit of Free Enterprise or 
one full unit of Civics; and one of the following: World 
History, World Geography, or Western Civilization. 

5. Health and Physical Education? 2 units, shall be 
Health and Physical Education I and Health and Physical 
Education II, or Adapted Physical Education for eligible 
special education students. 

Note: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. A maximum 
of four units may be used toward graduation. 

6. Electives (Including a maximum of four credits in 
religion)? 8 units. 

7. Total? 23 units. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2351 (November 
2003). 
§2511. Graduation Exit Examination 

A. Any approved nonpublic school may award a school 
diploma to any student who meets the state minimum high 
school graduation requirements. 

B.1. Any approved nonpublic school that participates in 
the state Graduation Exit Examination (GEE 21) shall award 
a state and/or school diploma to a student who successfully 
completes the state's minimum graduation requirements and 
successfully pass English/Language Arts and Mathematics 
and either Science or Social Studies components of the 
examination. 

2. A student who attends a school that opts to 
administer the test but who does  not successfully complete 
the state's minimum graduation requirements and required 
components of the examination shall not be eligible for 
either a state or a school diploma. 

C.1. Any state-approved nonpublic school that wishes to 
award the state diploma to its students shall contact the state 
department for time lines and other administrative guidelines 
for administering the State Exit Testing Program. 

2. Any nonpublic school that opts to give the 
graduation exit examination shall follow rules and 
regulations set by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education. 

D. Any approved nonpublic school that does not choose 
to administer the state graduation exit examination to its 
students may grant a school diploma, which shall carry the 
same privileges as one issued by a state-approved public 
school. 

E. The awarding of high school diplomas shall in no way 
effect the school approval classifications of any school (see 
Addendum for The State Test Security Policy). 

F. Honors Curriculum (Effective for incoming freshmen 
1997-98 and thereafter) 

1. English? 4 Units: 
a. English I, II, III, IV (No substitutions) 

2. Mathematics? 4 Units: 
a. Algebra I or Applied Mathematics I and II;  
b. Algebra II;  
c. Geometry or Applied Geometry; and  
d. one additional unit to be selected from Pre-

Calculus, Calculus, Advanced Mathematics I or II. 
3. Natural Science? 3 Units: 

a. Biology; 
b.  Chemistry; and  
c. Environmental Science; 
d. Physics or Physics of Technology. 

4. Social Studies? 3 Units: 
a. United States History;  
b. World History; and  
c. World Geography or Western Civilization. 

5. Free Enterprise (1/2 unit) and Civics (1/2 unit), or 
Civics (1 unit)? 1 Unit. 

6. Fine Arts Survey? 1 Unit, any two units of credit in 
band, orchestra, choir, dance, art or drama may be 
substituted for one unit of Fine Arts Survey. 
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7. Foreign Language (in same language)? 2 Units. 
8. Health and Physical Education? 2 Units. 
9. Electives? 4 Units. 
10. Total? 24 Units. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2351 (November 
2003). 
§2513. State Diplomas 

A. A nonpublic high school choosing to issue a state 
diploma shall meet state requirements.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2352 (November 
2003). 
§2515. Special Requirements 

A. Each school shall follow established procedures for 
special requirements for high school graduation that will 
allow each school to address individual differences of all 
students. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2352 (November 
2003). 
§2517. High School Credit for Elementary Students 

A.1. An elementary student shall be eligible to receive 
high school credit in a course listed in the program of studies 
provided that: 

a. the time requirement for the awarding of a 
Carnegie unit is met; 

b. the teacher is qualified at the secondary level in 
the course taught; and 

c. the student has mastered the set standards of the 
course taken; or 

d. the student has passed the credit examination in 
the subject taken, mastering the set standards for the course. 

2. Credit 
a. The school system may grant credit on either a 

letter grade or a pass or fail (P/F) basis, provided there is 
consistency system wide. The course title, year taken, P/F 
(pass or fail) or the letter grade and unit of credit shall be 
entered on the Certificate of High school Credits (transcript). 
High School Credit (H.S.C.) must be indicated in the 
remarks column. 

b. Credit shall be granted on a pass or fail (P/F) 
basis only. The course title, year taken, P/F (pass or fail), and 
unit of credit earned shall be entered on the certificate of 
high school credits (transcript). Credit examination (C.E.) 
must be indicated in the remarks column. 

c. If a credit examination has not been developed in 
a subject area, the school may submit an examination 
developed locally. The testing instrument and the passing 
score must be approved by the Division of Student Standards 
and Assessments, State Department of Education. Credit or 
credit examinations may be given in the following subjects:  
 i. Computer Literacy;  
 ii. Computer Science I-II; 
 iii. English I-IV; 

 iv. Advanced Mathematics I-II; 
 v. Algebra I-II; 
 vi. Calculus; 
 vii. Geometry; and 
 viii. Keyboarding. 

d. Additionally, credit may be given in all courses 
listed in the Program of Studies in Foreign Languages, 
Science, and Social Studies. The Bureau of Secondary 
Education Division of Student Standards and Assessments, 
State Department of Education may make exceptions, upon 
request of the school principal. 

B. A request for the state examination shall be made by 
the school principal, prior to the close of the school term to 
the Department of Education. The test shall be administered 
within one week after it has been received from the 
Department of Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2352 (November 
2003). 
§2519. Proficiency Examination for High School 

Students 
A. High school credit shall be granted to a student 

following the students passing of a proficiency examination 
for the eligible course. Refer to §513 for students 
transferring from an approved Home Study Program. 

1. A proficiency examination shall be made available 
to a student when a school official believes that a student has 
mastered eligible subject matter and has reached the same or 
a higher degree of proficiency as that of a student who 
successfully completed an equivalent course at the regular 
high school or college level. 

2. The testing instrument and the passing score shall 
be submitted for approval to the State Department of 
Education. The course title, year taken, P/F (pass or fail) and 
unit of credit earned shall be entered on the certificate of 
high school credits (transcript). Minimum proficiency 
standards (M.P.S.) must be indicated in the remarks column. 

B. Students shall not be allowed to take proficiency 
examinations in courses previously completed in high school 
or at a level below that which they have completed. 

1. Proficiency examinations may be given in the 
following subjects: Computer Literacy, Computer Science I-
II, English I-IV, Advanced Mathematics I-II, Algebra I-II, 
Calculus, Geometry, and Keyboarding/Keyboarding 
Applications. 

2. Additionally, credit may be given in all courses 
listed in the Program of Studies in foreign languages, science 
and social studies. Exceptions may be made by the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessment, State Department of 
Education, upon request of the local superintendent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2352 (November 
2003). 
§2521. Advanced Placement Program 

A. High school credit shall be granted to a student 
successfully completing an advanced placement course or a 
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course designated as advanced placement regardless of his 
test score on the examination provided by the college board.  

B. Courses Listed in the Program of Studies 
1. Procedures established by the college board must 

be followed. 
2. Courses listed in the Program of Studies may be 

designated as advanced placement courses, without 
permission from the State Department of Education, by 
inserting the words advanced placement in parentheses 
following the title on the certificate of high school credits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2352 (November 
2003). 
§2523. Service Credit 

A. Two units of elective credit toward high school 
graduation shall be awarded to any member of the United 
State Armed Forces, their reserve components, the National 
Guard, or to any honorably discharged veteran who has 
completed his/her basic training, upon presentation of a 
military record attesting to such completion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 27. High School Program of Studies 
§2701. General 

A. The high school shall provide a comprehensive 
college preparatory and/or vocational curriculum. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
§2703. General and Academic Course Offerings 

A. One-half unit of credit may be awarded by the local 
school authority for all one-unit courses listed in the 
academic and vocational course offerings. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
§2705. Art 

A. Art course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Art I, II, III, IV 1 each 

 
B. Fine Arts Survey (Art). Fine arts survey shall be 

taught by a certified art teacher and the other semester by a 
certified music teacher. If one or both of these teachers is not 
available, the principal is authorized to select the most 
qualified teacher, preferably one with a strong liberal arts or 
humanities background.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
§2707. Computer Education  

A. Computer education/technology course offerings shall 
be as follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Computer Applications 1 
Computer Architecture Occupations 1 
Computer Science I 1 
Computer Science II 1 
Computer Systems and Networking 1 
Computer Systems and Networking I 1 
Computer/Technology Literacy 1/2 
Desktop Publishing 1/2 
Digital Graphics and Animation 1/2 
Multimedia Productions 1 
Web Mastering 1/2 
Independent Study in Technology Application 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
§2709. Driver Education 

A. Driver Education course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Driver Education and Traffic Safety 1/2 

 
B. English. Four units of English shall be required for 

graduation. They shall be English I, II, and III in consecutive 
order; and English IV or Business English. The English 
course offerings shall be as follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

English I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Business English 1 
Reading I, II 1 each 
English as Second Language (ESL) I, II, III 1 each 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
§2711. English as a Second Language (ESL) 

A. Only students who have limited English proficiency 
are permitted to enroll in English as a Second Language 
(ESL) courses.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2353 (November 
2003). 
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§2713. Foreign Languages 
A. The foreign language course offerings shall be as 

follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Chinese I, II, III, IV 1 each 
French I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
German I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Greek I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Hebrew I, II, III, IV 1 each 
Italian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Latin I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Russian I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 
Spanish I, II, III, IV, V 1 each 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2715. Health and Physical Education  

A. Two units of Health and Physical Education shall be 
required for graduation. They shall be Health and Physical 
Education I and Health and Physical Education II, or 
Adapted Physical Education for eligible special education 
students. The Health and Physical Education course 
offerings shall be as follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Adapted Physical 1 each 
Health and Physical Education I-IV 1 each 

 
1. It is recommended that Physical Education I and II 

be taught in the ninth and tenth grades. 
2. A minimum of 30 hours of Health Instruction shall 

be taught in each of the two required Health and Physical 
Education units. 

3. Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) is required. 
B. No more than four units of Health and Physical 

Education shall be allowed for meeting high school 
graduation requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2717. Substitute Credit for Health and Physical 

Education 
A. In schools having approved Junior Reserve Officer 

Training Corps (R.O.T.C.) training, credits may, at the 
option of the local school board, be substituted for the 
required credits in Health and Physical Education, including 
required hours in health instruction.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2719. Non-Credit Activities 

A. Extra- or co-curricular experiences such as 
intramural, athletics, band, majorettes, drill team, dance 
team, cheerleaders, or any other kind of extra activities 

cannot be counted for credit toward the required Health and 
Physical Education units. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2721. Exemptions from Health and Physical Education 

A. Students shall be exempted from the requirements in 
Health and Physical Education for medical reasons only; 
however, the minimum number of credits required for 
graduation shall remain 23. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2723. Journalism 

A. Journalism course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Journalism I, II 1 each 
Publications I, II (Yearbook) 1 each 
Publications I, II (Newspaper) 1 each 

 
1. Teachers must be qualified in journalism to teach 

journalism. 
2. Teachers qualified in the areas of journalism, 

English, and/or business education are qualified to teach 
Publications I and II (Yearbook). 

3. Teachers qualified in the areas of journalism, and/or 
English are qualified to teach Publications I and II 
(Newspaper). 

4. Publications I is a prerequisite to Publications II. 
5. A maximum of two Carnegie units within the 23 

required for graduation may be earned from the six courses 
listed under journalism. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2725. Mathematics 

A. Effective for 1998-99 incoming freshmen and 
thereafter, three units of Mathematics shall be required for 
graduation. They shall be selected from the following 
courses and may include a maximum of 2 entry level courses 
(designated by E): Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), 
Algebra I-Part 1 (E); Algebra I-Part 2; Integrated 
Mathematics 1 (E), Integrated Mathematics II, Integrated 
Mathematics III, Applied Mathematics I (E), Applied 
Mathematics II, Applied Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), 
Geometry, Algebra II, Financial Mathematics, Advanced 
Mathematics I, Advanced Mathematics II, Pre -Calculus, 
Calculus, Probability and Statistics, and Discrete 
Mathematics. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Advanced Mathematics I 1 
Advanced Mathematics II 1 
Algebra I 1 
Algebra I-Part I 1 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2355

Algebra 1-Part II 1 
Algebra II 1 
Applied Mathematics I 1 
Applied Mathematics II 1 
Applied Mathematics III 1 
Calculus 1 
Discrete Mathematics 1 
Financial Mathematics 1 
Geometry 1 
Introductory Algebra/Geometry 1 
Integrated Mathematics I 1 
Integrated Mathematics II 1 
Integrated Mathematics III 1 
Pre-Calculus 1 
Probability and Statistics 1 

 
B. For incoming freshmen prior to 1998-99, three units 

of Mathematics shall be required for graduation.  
1. They shall be Algebra I and one of the following 

options:  
a. Algebra II and either Geometry or Applied 

Geometry (effective 1996-97 school year); or  
b. Algebra II and either Geometry or Applied 

Geometry (effective 1996-97 school year) and one of the 
following:  
 i. Advanced Mathematics; 
 ii. Calculus;  
 iii. Consumer Mathematics;  
 iv. Business Mathematics; or  
 v. Integrated Algebra/Geometry.  

2. The Mathematics course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Advanced Mathematics 1 
Algebra I 1 
Applied Algebra IA  
Applied Algebra IB 1 
Business Mathematics 1 
Calculus 1 
Consumer Mathematics 1 
Geometry 1 
Applied Geometry 1 

(1996-97 school year) 
Integrated Algebra/Geometry 1 
Trigonometry        1/2  

 
3. Business/Financial Mathematics may be taught by 

the Business Education Department. 
4. Students may not earn a unit in both Business 

Mathematics and Consumer Mathematics. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2354 (November 
2003). 
§2727. Music 

A. Music course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Beginning Band 1 
Beginning Choir 1 
Beginning Orchestra 1 

Composition 1 
Conducting 1 
General Music 1 
Guitar Class 1 
Intermediate Band 1 
Intermediate Choir 1 
Intermediate Orchestra 1 
Instrument Technique Class 1 
Jazz Ensemble 1 
Jazz Improvisation 1 
Music Appreciation 1 
Music History 1 
Music Theory I, II 1 each 
Piano class 1 
Sectional Rehearsal 1 
Studio Piano, I, II, III 1 each 
Advanced Band 1 
Advanced Choir 1 
Advanced Orchestra 1 
Applied Music 1 
Small Vocal Ensemble 1 
Wind Ensemble 1 

B. Advanced Choir, Advanced Band, Advanced 
Orchestra, Small Vocal Ensemble, Wind Ensemble, Applied 
Music, Jazz Ensemble, and Studio Piano III are performance 
classes with new literature each year; they may be repeated 
more than once. 

C. Refer to §2741 for credit for private piano and studio 
strings instruction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2355 (November 
2003). 
§2729. Reserve Officer Training 

A. Reserve Officer Training course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

JROTC I, II, III, IV 1 each 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2355 (November 
2003). 
§2731. Science 

A. Effective for incoming freshmen 2002-03 and 
thereafter, graduation requirements shall be as follows. 

1. Three units of Science. They shall be the following: 
a. 1 unit of Biology I;  
b. 1 unit of Physical Science or Integrated Science 

(but not both), Chemistry I, Physics, I, or Physics of 
Technology I; and 

c. 1 unit of Aerospace Science, Biology II, 
Chemistry I (may be taken after Physical Science or 
Integrated Science), Chemistry II, Earth Science, 
Environmental Science, Physics I (may be taken after 
Physical Science or Integrated Science), Physics II, Physics 
of Technology I, Physics of Technology II, or both 
Agriscience I and II to meet one required unit of science.  
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Course Title Unit(s) 
Aerospace Science 1.0 
Agriscience I and II 
(Both courses are required for one unit in science; 
however, two units can be counted as vocational 
electives when not counted together as a science 
course.) 

1.0  

Biology I, II 1.0 each 
Chemistry I, II 1.0 each 
Earth Science 1.0 
Environmental Science 1.0 
General Science  
(Allowed only for incoming freshmen 1998-99 or 
earlier.) 

1.0  

Integrated Science 1.0 
Physical Science 1.0 
Physics I, II 1.0 each 
Physics of Technology I, II 1.0 each 

 
2. Effective for incoming freshmen, 1997-98 and 

prior, three units of science shall be required for graduation. 
They shall be Biology and two of the following: Genera l 
Science or Physical Science, but not both; Earth Science, 
Chemistry, Chemistry II, Physics, Physics II, Aerospace 
Science, Environmental Science, Physics for Technology, 
Biology II, or both Vocational Agriculture I and II for one 
requirement of science. Science course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

Aerospace Science 1 
Biology  1 
Biology II 1 
Chemistry 1 
Chemistry II 1 
Earth Science 1 
Ecology 1 
Environmental Science 1 
General Science 1 
Physical Science 1 
Physics 1 
Physics II 1 
Physics for Technology  1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2355 (November 
2003). 

§2733. Social Studies 
A. Three units of Social Studies shall be required for 

graduation. They shall be American History; Civics or 1/2 
unit of Civics and 1/2 unit of Free Enterprise; and one of the 
following: World History, World Geography, or Western 
Civilization. Social Studies course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 
Course Title Unit(s) 

American Government 1 
American History 1 
Civics 1 (or 1/2) 
Economics 1 
Free Enterprise System 1/2 
Law Studies 1 
Psychology 1 
Sociology  1 

Western Civilization 1 
World Geography 1 
World History 1 

 
B. Economics may be taught by a teacher certified in 

Business Education. 
C. Free Enterprise shall be taught by teachers qualified 

in Social Studies, Business Education, or Distributive 
Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2356 (November 
2003). 
§2735. Speech 

A. Speech course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Unit(s) 
Speech I (Fundamentals) 1 
Speech II 1 
Speech III 1 
Speech IV 1 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2356 (November 
2003). 
§2737. Course Credit for Religion 

A. A maximum of four units in religion shall be granted 
to students transferring from state-approved private and 
sectarian high schools who have completed such course 
work. Those credits shall be accepted in meeting the 
requirements for high school graduation. 

 
Course Title Units 

Religion I 1 Unit  
Religion 2 1 Unit  
Religion 3 1 Unit  
Religion 4 1 Unit  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2356 (November 
2003). 
§2741. Course Credit for Private Piano and Studio 

Strings Lessons 
A. Approval by the State Department of Education shall 

be granted before private piano and studio strings instruction 
can be given for credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2356 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 29. Vocational Education Course Offerings 
§2901. Vocational Agriculture/Agribusiness 

A. Vocational Agriscience course offerings shall be as 
follows. 
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Course Title Level Unit(s) 
Exploratory Agriscience 7-8 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness I 9-12 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness II 10-12 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness III 11-12 1 
Agriscience/Agribusiness IV 12 1 
Agricultural Entrepreneurship  11-12 1/2 
Agricultural Construction 11-12 1/2 
Agriculture and Environmental       
Applications 11-12 1/2 
Animal Production 11-12 1/2 
Crop Production 11-12 1/2 
Equine Science 11-12 1/2 
Food and Fiber Systems 11-12 1/2 
Horticulture 11-12 1/2 
Introduction to Aquiculture 11-12 1/2 
Introduction to Agribusiness 11-12 1/2 
Personal Development 11-12 1/2 
Small Engines 11-12 1/2 
Welding 11-12 1/2 
Ag. Lab III 11-12 1 
Ag. Lab IV 12 1 
Cooperative Agriscience       
Education (CAE) 11-12 2 

 
B. Ag. Lab III and Ag. Lab IV are offered only to 

students who are also enrolled in Agriscience/Agribusiness 
III or IV for two consecutive semester courses during the 
year. 

C. Semester courses are designed to be offered in the 
place of or in addition to Agriscience/Agribusiness III and/or 
IV. Required prerequisites are to be determined by local 
board policy for course sequencing. 

1. Three units of credit in Cooperative 
Agriscience/Agribusiness Education (CAE) are granted to 
students who successfully complete both the classroom 
phase of instruction and the on-the-job training phase. These 
courses are available only to students who have completed 
Agriscience/Agribusiness I and Agriscience/ Agribusiness II. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2356 (November 
2003). 
§2903. Business Education  

A. Business Education course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) 

Accounting I 10-12 1 
Computerized Accounting 11-12 1 
Administrative 11-12 1 
Support Occupations   
Business Mathematics 9-12 1 
Business English 11-12 1 
Business Law 11-12 1/2 
Cooperative Education (COE) 12 3 
Business Computer Applications I 10-12 1/2 
Business Computer Applications II 10-12 1/2 
Economics 11-12 1 
Exploratory Business 7-8  
Introduction to Business 9-12 1 
Keyboarding 9-12 1/2 
Keyboarding Applications 9-12 1/2 
Keyboarding Productions 10-12 1/2 
Keyboarding Productions II 10-12 1/2 

Office Machines 10-12 1/2 
Record keeping 9-12 1 

Shorthand/Speedwriting 10-12 
1 or 
1/2 

Word processing 11-12 
1 or 
1/2 

 
1. Keyboarding and Keyboarding Applications shall 

be a prerequisite to administrative support occupations and 
word processing. Keyboarding shall be a prerequisite to 
Shorthand/Speedwriting. 

2. Level I courses shall be prerequisite to Level II 
courses. 

3. Cooperative Office Education shall be limited to 
seniors. The students shall have successfully completed 
Keyboarding and have maintained an overall "C" average. 
The students' attendance records should also be considered. 
Other prerequisites may be required by the individual school 
system.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2357 (November 
2003). 
§2905. General Cooperative Education 

A. General Cooperative Education course offerings shall 
be as follows. 

 

Course Title 
Grade 
Level 

Unit(s) 

General Cooperative Education I 11-12 3 
General Cooperative Education II 12 3 

 
1. General Cooperative education courses shall be 

limited to students who meet the specific prerequisites and 
requirements of one of the specialized cooperative education 
programs.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2357 (November 
2003). 
§2907. Health Occupations 

A. Health Occupations course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title Grade 
Level Unit(s) 

Allied Health 9-12 1/2 or 3 
Dental Assistant I 10-12 1, 2, or 3 
Dental Assistant II 11-12 2 or 3  
Nursing Assistant and Geriatric Aide 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Pre-Nursing (Introd. to Nursing) 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Medical Office Assistant  
(Physician's Office) 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Home Health Aide 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Hospital Ward Clerk 9 -12 1 or 2  
Medical Terminology for the  
Health Professional 9 -12 1 or 2  
Health Occupations 12 2 or 3  
Health Services I 10 –12 1, 2, or 3 
Health Services II 11-12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Occupations I 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Occupations II 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Science I 9 -12 1, 2, or 3 
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Introduction to Health Science II 10-12 1, 2, or 3 
Introduction to Health Science III 
(Respiratory Therapy Assistant, 
Occupational Therapy Assistant,  
Physical Therapy Assistant) 12 1/2 or 3 
Introduction to Emergency  
Medical Technician (CPR) 9 -12 1/2, 1 
Introduction to Health Insurance as a 
Career 10-12 1/2, 1, or 2 
Psychiatric Aide 9 –12 1/2, 1, or 2 
Medical Specialties 9-12 1/2 or 3 

 
1. Dental Assistant I shall be prerequisite to Dental 

Assistant II. Level I courses shall be prerequisite to Level II 
courses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2357 (November 
2003). 
§2909. Family and Consumer Sciences Education 

A. Family and Consumer Sciences Education course 
offerings shall be as follows. 

 

Course Title 
Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Family and Consumer 9-12 1 1810 
Sciences I    
Family and Consumer 10-12 1  
Sciences II    
Food Science 9-12 1 1911 
Adult Responsibilities 10-12 1/2 1710 
Child Development 10-12 1/2 1664 
Clothing and Textiles 10-12 1/2 1700 
Family Economics 10-12 1/2 1949 
Family Life Education 10-12 1/2 1821  1949 
Housing 10-12 1/2 1680 
Nutrition and Food 10-12 1/2 1595 
Parenthood Education 10-12 1/2 1695 
Advanced Child 
Development* 10-12 1/2 

1775 

Advanced Clothing 
and Textiles 10-12 1/2 

1700 

Advanced Nutrition 
and Food*  10-12 1/2 

1595 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2358 (November 
2003). 
§2911. Family and Consumer Sciences-Related 

Occupations (HERO) 
A. Course offerings for Family and Consumer Sciences-

related occupations shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Child Care I-II 11-12 1-3 1775 
Clothing and Textile Services I-II 11-12 1-3 1897 
Food Service I-II 11-12 1-3 1897 
Housing and Design Services 11-12 1-3 1897 
Home/Institutional 11-12  1897 
Support Services 12 3 1897 

 

1. The units of credit for cooperative courses shall be 
determined by the number of class periods for which the 
students are scheduled per day for instruction in the service 
area. 

2.a. Family and consumer sciences cooperative 
education shall be limited to seniors who meet one or mo re 
of the following prerequisites:  
 i. one unit in a service course;  
 ii. two specialized semester courses in the same 
area; or  
 iii. one specialized semester course and the 
teacher-coordinator's consent.  

b. Job placement shall be in the same area of 
training as the prerequisite. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2358 (November 
2003). 
§2913. Technology Education 

A. Technology education course (formerly industrial 
arts) offerings shall be as follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level 

Unit(s) Bulletin 

General Technology 
Education 9-12 1  
Basic Wood 
Technology  9-12 1 1684  1752 
Advanced Wood 
Technology  10-12 1 1752 
Communication 
Technology I** 9-12 1/2 1777 
Communication 
Technology II** 9-12 1/2 1777 
Construction 
Technology  10-12 1 1856 
Basic 
Electricity/Electronics 
Technology  9-12 1 1724 
Advanced 
Electricity/Electronics 
Technology  10-12 1 1778  1808 
Basic Metal 
Technology  9-12 1 1685 
Advanced Metal 
Technology  10-12 1 1750 
Welding Technology 10-12 1 1859 
Power and Energy* 9-12 1/2 1723 
Transportation* 9-12 1/2 1723 
Power Mechanics 9-12 1 1813 
Manufacturing 
Technology  9-12 1  
Basic Technical 
Drafting I 9-12 1/2 1686 
Basic Technical 
Drafting II 9-12 1/2 1686 
Advanced Technical 
Drafting 10-12 1 1751 
Architectural Drafting 10-12 1 1779 
Principles of 
Technology I 11-12 1 1812 
Principles of 
Technology II 11-12 1 1878 
Materials and Processes 10-12 1  

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2359

1. The power and energy course and the transportation 
course may be combined into one course, Power, Energy, 
and Transportation, for one unit of credit. 

Note: Technology education courses must follow the 
sequences as outlined in the technology education curricular 
guides. 

2. All courses shall be taught in sequence. Safety must 
be taught in all courses. Refer to Bulletin 1647 for safety 
information. 

3. The communication courses may be combined into 
one course for one unit of credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2358 (November 
2003). 
§2915. Marketing Education 

A. Marketing Education course offerings shall be as 
follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Introduction to 
Marketing 9-10 1 1669 
General Marketing 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  
Retailing and 
Merchandising 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  1740 
Advertising and Sales 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3   
Promotion    
Entrepreneurship  11-12 1/2, 1 or 3  1815 
Marketing Management 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3   
Marketing Research 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3   
Insurance Marketing 11-12  1 or 3  
Tourism and Lodging 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3   
Speciality Marketing 
Education 11-12 1/2, 1 or 3   

 
1. Three units of credit are granted only to cooperative 

marketing education students who successfully complete 
both classroom and on-the-job training. One unit of credit is 
granted to students enrolled in Marketing Education for the 
classroom phase only. 

2. Students may receive a maximum of six 
cooperative Marketing Education credits and three, one-unit 
course credits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2359 (November 
2003). 
§2917. Trade and Industrial Education 

A. Trade and Industrial Education course offerings shall 
be as follows. 

 

Course Title Recommended 
Grade Level Unit(s) Bulletin 

Air Conditioning/ 
Refrigeration I-II 11-12 2 or 3  1916* 
Auto Body Repair I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Automotive Technician I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Masonry I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Cabinetmaking I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Carpentry I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Culinary Occupations I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Custom Sewing I-II 11-12 2 or 3   

Computer Electronics I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Commercial Art I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Trade and Industrial 
Cooperative  
Education (TICE) I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Cosmetology I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Diesel Mechanics I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Drafting and  
Technology I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Basic Electricity I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Electronics I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Industrial Electronics I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Electrician I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Graphic Arts I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Horticulture I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Industrial Engines I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Laboratory Technology I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Industrial Machine Shop I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Marine Operations I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Photography 11-12 2 or 3   
Plumbing I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Printing I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Sheet Metal I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Outdoor Power Equipment  
Technician I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Television Production I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Upholstery I-II 11-12 2 or 3   
Welding I-II 11-12 2 or 3   

 
1. Bulletin 1916  contains curricular guides for all 

trade and industrial courses. 
2. All courses shall be taught in sequence. 
3. Trade and Industrial Education Programs may be 

offered in two consecutive class periods, five days per week, 
for 36 weeks each year for two units of credit, or may be 
offered with three consecutive class periods for three units of 
credit in the selected Trade and Industrial Education 
Program. 

4. School systems that operate a vocational career 
center or comprehensive high school may award1 1/2 units 
of credit to students enrolled in a two -hour block for 36 
weeks, or 2 1/2 units of credit to students enrolled in a three-
hour block for 36 weeks in approved Trade and Industrial 
Education Programs. This scheduling allows students to be 
excused from class for one hour each day for one semester to 
take the required course in Free Enterprise at either the tenth, 
eleventh, or twelfth grade level. 

5. With annual, in-advance, written permission from 
the Division of Student Standards and Assessment, a school 
system may offer a one-hour Trade and Industrial Education 
Program for one unit of credit at the ninth or tenth grade 
level as a prerequisite to enrollment in a related Trade and 
Industrial Education Program at the tenth, eleventh, or 
twelfth grade level. The course shall be in the programmatic 
area in which the trade and industrial education instructor is 
certified to teach. 

6. Any local education governing authority offering a 
new Trade and Industrial Education Program shall first have 
the individual program approved by the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessment. Teachers in Trade and Industrial 
Education Programs shall use curricular outlines approved 
by the Division of Student Standards and Assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2359 (November 
2003). 
§2919. Credit for Vocational Education Courses 

A. Credits for partial completion of two- or three-hour 
blocks of vocational education courses shall be granted for 
unusual or extenuating circumstances only. 

B. Request for partial credit because of unusual or 
extenuating circumstances shall be made as follows. 

1. Written requests from the local school principal and 
approved by the local superintendent (if applicable) shall be 
made to the State Department of Education. 

2. A copy of the written responses shall accompany 
the student's transcript when it is sent to the Department of 
Education prior to his/her graduation if the request for partial 
credit has been granted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2360 (November 
2003). 
§2921. Secondary Students Attending Postsecondary 

Technical College 
A. Secondary students attending a postsecondary 

technical college may receive credit for instruction in any 
program area offered in the technical college, if time 
requirements for Carnegie units are met and if an equivalent 
course is not offered by the local school system. 

1. If the course content is equivalent to the content of 
a vocational education course offering listed under §§2901-
2917, the unit(s) of credit shall be reported on the student's 
transcript by that tit le. 

2. If the course content is not equivalent to a course 
listed under §§2901-2917, the unit(s) of credit shall be 
reported by the postsecondary title. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2360 (November 
2003). 
§2923. Adding Electives Course to the Program of 

Studies 
A. A school choosing to add an elective course to its 

program of studies shall apply to the Director of the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessment, State Department of 
Education (SDE) through the local superintendent, (if 
applicable) at least 30 days prior to the anticipated date of 
imple mentation. 

B. The application for an elective course shall be signed 
by the school principal and superintendent (if applicable) 
and shall contain the following: 

1. detailed outline of course content; 
2. units of credit to be granted; 
3. detailed course objectives and how they shall be 

measured; 
4. qualifications of the instructor;  
5. when the course is to begin; 
6. approximate number of students; 
7. criteria for enrollment. 

C. If the course is to be offered for the succeeding school 
year, an end-of-the-year evaluation shall be sent with the 

second and third year application to the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments for determining its continuation. 

D. After an elective course has been in effect for three 
successive school years and if the school/s ystem wants the 
course to be a permanent part of its curriculum, the school 
principal through the local superintendent (if applicable) 
shall apply by letter to the Director of the Division of 
Student Standards and Assessment for permission to include 
it. 

E. Approved elective courses shall not be used as 
required courses for meeting graduation requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2360 (November 
2003). 
§2925. Approval of Experimental Programs  

A. Experimental programs are programs which deviate 
from established standards. Such programs shall be 
approved by the State Department of Education and carried 
out under controlled conditions. 

B. Approval of experimental programs shall be granted 
on a yearly basis not to exceed three years, after which time 
permanent approval shall be considered using the following 
procedures. 

1. A letter of intent containing the following 
information shall be submitted to the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments, State Department of Education, 
at least 90 days prior to the anticipated date of 
implementation: 

a. proposed title of program;  
b. name and address of school;  
c. name and address of local school system;  
d. name and signature of principal/superintendent; 
e. name, title, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting proposal;  
f. units of credit to be granted; 
g. source of funding. 

2. A brief narrative report stating the intent of the 
program and how the program will be conducted and 
evaluated, and the following: 

a. a statement documenting support for the intended 
program;  

b. a statement outlining the exact guideline 
deviations necessary to implement the program;  

c. a statement outlining specific time lines for the 
planning implementing phases of the program, including 
intended procedures; 

d. a statement of the evaluation procedures to be 
used in determining the program's effectiveness (these 
procedures should spell out specific objectives to be 
accomplished); 

e. a statement indicating approximate number of 
students to be involved in the project; 

f. a statement of qualifications or certification of 
instructional personnel; and 

g. a statement stipulating that applicable local, state, 
and federal regulations will be followed. 

C. An evaluation by the local governing authority shall 
be submitted annually at the close of the school year to the 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments until 
permanent status is granted. 
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D. Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
member schools should comply with appropriate Southern 
Association Standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2360 (November 
2003). 
§2927. Correspondence Study Courses 

A. Credit toward high school graduation should be 
earned through correspondence work from the General 
Extension Division of Louisiana State University. 

B. An application to the General Extension Division for 
correspondence study courses shall be approved by the local 
superintendent, (if applicable) and the high school principal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2361 (November 
2003). 
§2929. High School Credit for College Credit Courses 

(Applies to Student Attending College Part 
Time) 

A. The principal of the school shall approve the 
advanced offering to be taken by the student in college. 

B. The student shall meet the entrance requirements 
established by the college. 

C. The student shall earn at least two or three college 
hours of credit per semester. A course consisting of at least 
two college hours shall be counted as no more than one unit 
of credit toward high school graduation. 

D. The high school administrator shall establish a 
procedure with the college to receive reports of the student's 
class attendance and performance at six or nine-week 
intervals. 

E. College courses shall be counted as high school 
subjects for students to meet eligibility requirements to 
participate in extracurricular activities governed by 
voluntary state organizations. 

F. Students may participate in college courses and 
special programs during regular or summer sessions. High 
school credit for summer courses is subject to §2929.A-E. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2361 (November 
2003). 
§2931. High School Credit for College Courses for 

Evaluated Gifted Students 
A. Secondary students shall be in attendance in at least 

one high school class while enrolled in college classes. 
B. An elementary or secondary student shall have at least 

a 3.0 cumulative average on a 4.0 scale for all subjects taken 
during the previous two years. 

C. Entry into a college course of credit shall be stated in 
the student's Individualized Education Program (IEP). 

D. The student shall earn at least two or three college 
hours of credit per semester. A course, consisting of at least 
two hours, shall be counted as no more than one unit of 
credit toward high school graduation. 

E. The school administrator shall establish a procedure 
with the college to receive reports of the student's class 
attendance and performance at six- or nine-week intervals. 

F. College courses shall be counted as high school 
subjects for students to meet eligibility requirements to 
participate in extracurricular activities governed by 
voluntary state organizations. 

G. After 12 Carnegie units have been earned, students 
shall follow §2929.A-E.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2361 (November 
2003). 
§2933. High School Credit for College Courses in 

Vocational Education (Applies to Students 
Attending College Part Time) 

A. The student shall meet the entrance requirements 
established by the college. 

1. The principal of the school shall approve the 
advanced offering to be taken by the student in college. 

2. The high school administrator shall establish a 
procedure with the college to receive reports of the student's 
class attendance and performance at six or nine-week 
intervals. 

3. The awarding of the Carnegie units of credit will be 
in accordance with individual program requirements as 
stated in Bulletin 741. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2361 (November 
2003). 
§2935. Early College Admissions Policy (Applies Only 

to High School Students Attending College Full 
Time) 

A. High school students of high ability may be admitted 
to a college on a full-time basis. 

B. A student shall have maintained a "B" or better 
average on all work pursued during the preceding three years 
(six semesters) of high school. 

C. The student shall have earned a minimum composite 
score of 25 on the ACT or a SAT score of 1050; this score 
must be submitted to the college. 

D. A student shall be recommended by his high school 
principal. 

E. Upon earning a minimum of 24 semester hours at the 
college level, the student shall be eligible to receive a high 
school diploma. 

F. The high school principal shall submit to the State 
Department of Education the following: 

1. forms provided by the State Department of 
Education and completed by the college registrar, certifying 
that the student has earned 24 semester hours of college 
credit; and 

2. a certificate of high school credits in duplicate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2361 (November 
2003). 
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Chapter 31. Summer Schools 
Subchapter A. Elementary Summer Schools 
§3101. General 

A. An elementary summer school shall be organized and 
operated under the administrative and supervisory control of 
the chief administrative officer of the school system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 2362 (November 2003). 
§3103. Administration 

A. A summer school with seven or more teachers shall 
have a principal with at least a master's degree. 

B. The principal of the school shall apply to the State 
Department of Education for approval of each summer 
school program. 

C. An application for approval of the offerings of each 
summer school shall be filed no later than the end of the first 
week after the summer session begins. 

D. The application forms, provided by the State 
Department of Education, shall be submitted to the 
appropriate office. 

E. The application shall carry the approval of the chief 
administrative officer of the school system and the principal 
of the summer school, if applicable. 

F. In order for summer schools to be approved, an on-
site visit shall be made by personnel from the SDE to verify 
information submitted on the report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3105. Faculty 

A. The eligibility of the faculty shall be equal to that 
required during the regular session. 

B. The teaching load shall not exceed 20 students per 
class. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3107. Instruction 

A. A teacher will be allowed to teach only one subject 
for removal of deficiencies during a single period. 

B. A student attending summer school for promotional 
purposes shall not enroll for more than two subjects. 

C. The library or library books as well as all regular 
teaching aids and equipment shall be available for summer 
school use. 

D. Textbooks, supplementary materials, and supplies 
adequate for effective instruction shall be provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 

§3109. Attendance 
A. The minimum attendance for all elementary students 

to receive credit or pass a subject shall be 60 hours for one 
subject. 

1. The school may impose a more strict minimum 
attendance policy. 

B. Students attending summer school for promotional 
purposes must have written consent by the principal of the 
last school they attended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3111. Time Requirements 

A. Elementary summer schools shall offer a minimum of 
70 hours of instruction per subject for removal of 
deficiencies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3113. Classification Categories 

A. Summer schools shall be given one of the following 
classification categories: 

1. approved? meets all summer school standards; 
2. unapproved? deviates from one or more of the 

summer school standards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3115. Sanctions 

A. Any unapproved summer school cannot operate a 
summer school the following year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
Subchapter B. Secondary Summer Schools 
§3119. General 

A. Schools which offer summer school may do so to 
enable students to schedule courses which tend to enrich 
their experiences, to take new subjects, and to enable 
students who have failed in subjects to remove deficiencies. 
Local school systems which offer summer school shall 
adhere to the following standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3121. Administration 

A. A summer school must be organized and operated 
under the administrative and supervisory control of the chief 
administrative office of the school system. 
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B. A summer school with seven or more teachers shall 
have a principal with at least a master's degree. 

C. The summer school administrator shall have written 
permission from the principal of the student's home school 
for the student to attend summer school if credit is to be 
awarded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2362 (November 
2003). 
§3123. Application 

A. All summer schools must apply to the State 
Department of Education for approval. 

B. An application for approval of summer school 
offerings must be filed no later than the end of the first week 
after school is in session. 

C. The application forms provided by the State 
Department of Education, shall be submitted to the 
appropriate office. 

D. The application must carry the approval of the chief 
administrative officer of the school system, principal of the 
school for the regular session, and the principal of the 
summer school, if applicable. 

E. An on-site visit shall be made by personnel from the 
State Department of Education to verify information 
submitted on the report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 
§3125. Faculty 

A. The eligibility of the faculty shall be equal to that 
required during the regular session. 

B. Teaching load and class size shall not exceed that of 
the regular session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 
§3127. Instruction 

A. No teacher shall be allowed to teach more than two 
subjects during one period. 

B. Library, laboratory, and audiovisual aids shall be 
available in the facilities used for summer school. 

C. Textbooks, supplementary materials, and supplies 
adequate for effective instruction shall be provided. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 
§3129. Attendance 

A. In order to be eligible to receive grades, summer 
school students shall be in attendance a minimum of 70 
hours for 1/2 unit of new credit, or 47 hours for 1/2 unit of 
repeat credit. 

B. The school system or independent school may impose 
a stricter minimum attendance policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 

§3131. Time Requirements 
A. Summer schools shall offer 90 hours of instruction for 

1/2 unit of new credit and 60 hours of instruction for 1/2 unit 
of repeat credit in all subjects. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 
§3133. Classification Categories 

A. Summer school shall be given one of the following 
classification categories: 

1. approved? meets all summer school standards; 
2. unapproved? deviates from one or mo re of the 

summer school standards. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 
§3135. Sanctions 

A. Any unapproved summer school cannot operate a 
summer school the following year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 
§3137. Instruction by Private Teachers 

A. Credit may be allowed for high school work 
completed under private instructors, subject to the following 
conditions. 

1. The instruction must be under the direction of a 
private tutor only when the tutor is eligible for regular 
employment in an approved nonpublic high school. 

2. The time requirements for credits in a regular high 
school will apply. 

3. The necessary facilities peculiar to a particular 
subject must be available for instructional purposes. 

4. Prior to enrolling a privately tutored course, a 
student must obtain written approval from the principal of 
the high school in which he/she is enrolled. 

B. Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
members school should comply with Principle D Standard 6. 
(Member schools shall not give credit for private tutoring.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2363 (November 
2003). 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2364

Chapter 35. Standards for Approval of Alternative 
Schools/Programs  

Subchapter A. Operation and Administration 
§3501. Philosophy and Need for Alternative 

Schools/Programs  
A. If alternative school programs are to be developed and 

established, they shall respond to particular educational 
needs within the community. 

B. Thee local educational governing authority shall pass 
a resolution establishing the need for the alternative 
school/program and setting forth its goals and objectives. 

C. Each alternative school/program shall develop and 
maintain a written statement of its philosophy and the major 
purposes to be served by the school/program. The statement 
shall reflect the individual character of the school/program 
and the characteristics and needs of the students it serves. 

D. The educational school/program shall be designed to 
implement the stated goals and objectives which shall be 
directly related to the unique educational requirements of its 
student body. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2364 (November 
2003). 
§3503. Approval of Alternative Schools/Programs  

A. Alternative schools/programs shall comply with 
prescribed policies and standards for regular schools, except 
for those deviations granted by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education. 

B. Approval shall be obtained from the State Department 
of Education prior to the establishment of the alternative 
school/program. 

C. A narrative proposal describing the alternative 
school/program shall be submitted and shall include the 
following information: 

1. purpose; 
2. needs assessment; 
3. type (alternative within regular education or 

alternative to regular education placement);  
4. list of the Bulletin 741 Louisiana Handbook for 

School Administrators, policy and standard deviations; 
5. anticipated date of implementation; 
6. student eligibility; 
7. entrance and exit criteria; 
8. total number of students ; 
9. individual class sizes; 
10. detailed outline of curriculum;  
11. methods of instruction to meet individual student 

needs; 
12. type and number of staff including 

qualifications/certification; 
13. plan for awarding Carnegie units, when applicable; 
14. grading and reporting procedures; 
15. plan for parental and community involvement; 
16. educational support services; 
17. in-service (professional development for 

personnel); 
18. type and location of physical facility; 
19. procedure for program evaluation. 

D. A school system choosing to implement an alternative 
school/program shall submit the above proposal to the 

Division of Family, Career and Technical Education by May 
1 for fall semester implementation and November 1 for 
spring semester implementation 

E. Refer to the Alternative Education Handbook. 
F. The State Department of Education will provide the 

SBESE with a listing of approved alternative 
schools/programs twice annually, in June and December of 
each year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2364 (November 
2003). 
§3505. Final Approval to Operate 

A. Prior to final approval, the school shall be visited by 
State Department of Education (SDE) representatives, who 
will determine the school's suitability for SDE approval. 

B. An annual school report based upon the standards for 
approval of alternative schools shall be made to the State 
Department of Education (SDE) on or before the date 
prescribed by the department. Final approval is contingent 
upon review and satisfactory compliance with the 
requirements of the annual school report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2364 (November 
2003). 
§3507. Special Education 

A. Special Education programs within an alternative 
school shall comply with all applicable State and Federal 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2364 (November 
2003). 
§3509. The Earning of Carnegie Units for Use in 

Meeting Graduation Requirements 
A. Students enrolled in an alternative school/program 

shall be allowed to earn Carnegie units when possible. 
B. The integrity of the Carnegie unit shall not be 

diminished by any alternative school/program. 
C. The Carnegie units shall be granted by regular or 

special education teachers certified in the subject matter 
areas in which they are teaching. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2364 (November 
2003). 
§3511. Program Evaluation 

A. The education program of the alternative school shall 
be evaluated on the basis of its stated goals and objectives. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2364 (November 
2003). 
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§3513. Operation and Administration 
A. Each nonpublic school that desires State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) approval and 
has students receiving special education services shall 
comply with all applicable federal and state law and 
regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2365 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 37. Addendum 
§3701. Test Security Policy 

A. The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
holds the test security policy to be of utmost importance and 
deems any violation of test security to be serious. 

B. Test Security 
1. Tests administered by or through the State Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education shall include, but not 
be limited to: 

a. all criterion-referenced tests (CRTs) and norm-
referenced tests (NRTs); 

b. all alternate assessments. 
2. For purposes of this policy, school districts shall 

include local education agencies; special school districts; 
approved special schools such as the Louisiana School for 
the Visually Impaired and Louisiana School for the Deaf, 
laboratory schools, charter schools, Louisiana School for 
Math, Science and the Arts; and participating 
nonpublic/other schools that utilize tests administered 
through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education or the Louisiana Department of Education. 

3. It shall be a violation of test security for any person 
to do any of the following: 

a. administer tests in a manner that is inconsistent 
with the administrative instructions provided by the 
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) that would give 
examinees an unfair advantage or disadvantage; 

b. give examinees access to test questions prior to 
testing; 

c. examine any test item at any time (except for 
students during the test or test administrators while 
providing the accommodations "Tests Read Aloud" or 
"Communication Assistance" for students determined to be 
eligible for those accommodations); 

d. copy, reproduce, discuss or use at any time in a 
manner inconsistent with test regulations all or part of any 
secure test booklet, answer document, or supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, science tasks);  

e. coach examinees in any manner during testing or 
alter or interfere with examinees' responses in any manner; 

f. provide answers to students in any manner during 
the test, including provision of cues, clues, hints, and/or 
actual answers in any form, written, printed, verbal, or 
nonverbal; 

g. administer published parallel, previously 
administered, or current forms of any statewide assessment 
(e.g., Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), Graduation Exit Examination for 
the 21st Century (GEE 21), Graduation Exit Examination 
("old" GEE), LEAP Alternate Assessment (LAA), or Forms 

K, L, M, and all new forms of The Iowa Tests) as a practice 
test or study guide; 

h. fail to follow security regulations for distribution 
and return of secure test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), as well as overages as directed; or fail to 
account for and secure test materials before, during, or after 
testing; 

i. conduct testing in environments that differ from 
the usual classroom environment without prior written 
permission from the Louisiana Department of Education, 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments; 

j. fail to report any testing irregularities to the 
district test coordinator (a "testing irregularity" is any 
incident in test handling or administration that leads to a 
question regarding the security of the test or the accuracy of 
the test data), who must report such incidents to the Division 
of Student Standards and Assessments; 

k. participate in, direct, aid, counsel, assist in, 
encourage, or fail to report any of the acts prohibited in the 
section. 

4. Each school district as described in this policy shall 
develop and adopt a district test security policy that is in 
compliance with the state's test security policy. A "Statement 
of Assurance" regarding the LEA's test security policy must 
be submitted annually to the Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Student Standards and Assessments. 
This statement must include the name of the individual 
designated by the district superintendent or institution to 
procure test material. The policy shall provide: 

a. for the security of the test materials during 
testing, including test booklets, answer documents, 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks), video tapes, and completed observation 
sheets; 

b. for the storage of all tests materials, except 
district and school test coordinator manuals and test 
administration manuals, in a predetermined, secure, locked 
area before, during, and after testing; all secure materials, 
including any parallel forms of a test, must be kept in locked 
storage at both the district and school levels; secure 
materials  must never be left in open areas or unattended; 

c. a description and record of professional 
development on test security, test administration, and 
security procedures for individual student test data provided 
for all individuals with access to test materials or individual 
student test data ("access" to test materials by school 
personnel means any contact with or handling the materials 
but does not include reviewing tests or analyzing test items, 
which are prohibited); 

d. a list of personnel authorized to have access to 
the locked, secure storage area; 

e. procedures for investigating any testing 
irregularities, including violations in test security, such as 
plagiarism and excessive wrong-to-right erasures identified 
through erasure analysis; 

f. procedures for the investigation of employees 
accused of irregularities or improprieties in the 
administration of standardized tests, as required by the 
amended R.S. 17:81.6;  
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g. procedures for the investigation of any missing 
test booklets, answer documents, or supplementary secure 
material (e.g., writing projects, science tasks);  

h. procedures for ensuring the security of individual 
student test data in electronic and paper formats. 

5. Procedures for investigating missing secure 
materials, any testing irregularity (including cheating), and 
any employees accused of improprieties must, at a 
minimum, include the following. 

a. The district test coordinator shall initiate the 
investigation upon the district's determination of an 
irregularity or breach of security or upon notification by the 
State Department of Education. The investigation shall be 
conducted by the district test coordinator and other central 
office staff as designated by the district superintendent. 

b. The location of the predetermined, locked, secure 
area for storage of materials shall be examined, and the 
individuals with access to secure materials shall be 
identified. 

c. Interviews regarding testing administration and 
security procedures shall be conducted with the principal, 
school test coordinator(s), test administrator(s), and 
proctor(s) at the identified schools. All individuals who had 
access to the test materials at any time must be interviewed. 

d. Interviews shall be conducted with students in 
the identified classes regarding testing procedures, layout of 
the classroom, access to test materials before the test, and 
access to unauthorized materials during testing. 

e. After completion of the investigation, the district 
shall provide a report of the investigation and a written plan 
of action to the state superintendent within 30 calendar days 
of the initiation of the investigation. At a minimum, the 
report shall include the nature of the situation, the time and 
place of occurrence, and the names of the persons involved 
in or witness to the occurrence. Officials from the Louisiana 
Department of Education are authorized to conduct 
additional investigations. 

6. Test materials, including all test booklets, answer 
documents, and supplementary secure materials (e.g., 
writing prompts, science tasks) containing secure test 
questions, shall be kept secure and accounted for in 
accordance with the procedures specified in the test 
administration manuals and other communications provided 
by the Louisiana Department of Education. Secure test 
materials include test booklets, answer documents, and any 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks). Procedures described in the test manuals shall 
include, but are not limited to, the following. 

a. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be kept in a predetermined, secure, 
locked storage area prior to and after administration of any 
test; test administrators are to be given access to the tests and 
any supplementary secure materials only on the day the test 
is to be administered, and these are to be retrieved 
immediately after testing is completed for the day and stored 
in a locked, secure location each day of testing. 

b. All test booklets, answer documents, and 
supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) must be accounted for and written 
documentation kept by test administrators and proctors for 

each point at which test materials are distributed and 
returned. 

c. Any discrepancies noted in the serial numbers of 
test booklets, answer documents, and any supplementary 
secure materials (e.g., writing promp ts, science tasks), or the 
quantity received from contractors must be reported to the 
Division of Student Standards and Assessments (LDE) by 
the designated institutional or school district personnel prior 
to the administration of the test. 

d. In the event that test booklets, answer documents, 
or supplementary secure materials (e.g., writing prompts, 
science tasks) are determined to be missing while in the 
possession of the institution or school district or in the event 
of any other testing irregularities or breaches of security, the 
designated institutional or school district personnel must 
immediately notify by telephone the Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments (LDE) and follow the detailed 
procedures for investigating and reporting specified in this 
policy. 

7. Only personnel trained in test security and 
administration shall be allowed to have access to or 
administer any standardized tests. 

8. Each district superintendent or institution must 
annually designate one individual in the district or institution 
as district test coordinator who is authorized to procure test 
materials that are utilized in testing programs administered 
by or through the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education of the Louisiana Department of Education. The 
name of the individual designated must be provided in 
writing to the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments (LDE) and included on the statement of 
assurance. 

9. Testing shall be conducted in class-sized groups. 
Bulletin 741  (2.038.01–.02) states that K-3 classroom 
enrollment should be no more that 26 students, and in grades 
4-12, no more than 33, except in certain activity types of 
classes in which the teaching approach and the material and 
equipment are appropriate for large groups. For grades K-8, 
the maximum class size for Health and Physical Education 
classes may be no more than 40. Class size for exceptional 
students is generally smaller (Bulletin 741, 2.038.05). 
Permission for testing in environments that differ from the 
usual classroom environment must be obtained in writing 
from the Louisiana Department of Education, Division of 
Standards and Assessments, at least 30 days prior to testing. 
If testing outside the usual classroom environment is 
approved by the Division of Student Standards and 
Assessments, the LEA must provide at least one proctor for 
every 30 students. 

10. The State Superintendent of Education may 
disallow test results that may been achieved in a manner that 
is in violation of test security. 

11. The Louisiana Department of Education shall 
establish procedures to identify: 

a. improbable achievement of test score gains in 
consecutive years; 

b. situations in which collaboration between or 
among individuals may occur during the testing process; 

c. a verification of the number of all test distributed 
and the number of tests returned; 

d. excessive wrong-to-right erasures for multiple-
choice tests; 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2367

e. any violation to written composition or open-
ended responses that involves plagiarism;  

f. any other situation that may result in invalidation 
of test results. 

12. In cases in which test results are not accepted 
because of a breach of test security or action by the 
Louisiana Department of Education, any programmatic, 
evaluative, or graduation criteria dependent upon the data 
shall be deemed not to have been met, but individuals will 
be allowed to retake the test at the next test administration. 

13. Individuals shall adhere to all procedures specified 
in all manuals that govern mandated testing programs. 

14. Any individual knowingly engages in any activity 
during testing that results in invalidation of scores derived 
from the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 
21st Century (LEAP 21), graduation exit examination for the 
21st Century (GEE 21), or graduation exit examination 
("old" GEE) shall forfeit the test results but will be allowed 
to retake the test at the next test administration. 

15. Anyone known to be involved in the presentation of 
forged, counterfeit, or altered identification for the purposes 
of obtaining admission to a test administration site for any 
test administered by or through the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education or the Louisiana 
Department of Education shall have breached test security. 
Any individual who knowingly causes or allows the 
presentation of forged, counterfeited, or altered identification 
for the purpose of obtaining admission to any test 
administration site must forfeit all test scores but will be 
allowed to retake the test at the nest test administration. 

16. School districts must ensure that individual student 
test data are protected from unauthorized access and 
disclosure. District test coordinators, principals, school test 
coordinators and other authorized users of the LEAPweb 
reporting system and LEAPdata system must ensure the 
security of passwords, any disks or CDs with downloaded 
individual student test data, and student-level test data open 
on a computer screen. All users must sign a statement 
guaranteeing they will not share the password with 
unauthorized individuals and maintain the confidentiality of 
student data. A copy of the signed statement should be sent 
to the district test coordinator to be kept on file. Users who 
have access to these systems and leave their positions at a 
district or school site must not use or share the password. 
dis trict test coordinators are responsible for providing 
training regarding the security and confidentiality of 
individual student test data (in paper and electronic format) 
and of aggregated data of fewer than ten students. 

17. Louisiana Department of Education staff will 
conduct site visits during testing to observe test 
administration procedures and to ensure that appropriate test 
security procedures are being followed. Schools with prior 
violations of test security or other testing irregularities will 
be identified for visits. Other schools will be randomly 
selected. 

18. Any teachers or other school personnel who breach 
test security or allow breaches in test security shall be 
disciplined in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:416 
et seq., R.S. 17:441 et seq., R.S. 17:81.6 et seq., policy and 
regulations adopted by the Board of Elementary and

Secondary Education, and any and all laws that may be 
enacted by the Louisiana Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2365 (November 
2003). 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#022 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741? Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators? Foreign Language Immersion Program 

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 
741? Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 
(November 1975). The State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (SBESE) at its May 2003 meeting 
approved as Notice of Intent, the adding of a procedural 
block to Bulletin 741? The Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, Standard 2.090.07, referencing foreign 
language immersion program guidelines developed by the 
Louisiana Consortium of Immersion Schools for students 
enrolled in foreign language immersion programs in grades 
kindergarten through 8 which are found in A Guide for 
Administrators of Elementary Level Second Language and 
Immersion Programs in Louisiana Schools (formerly 
Bulletin 1536) (Revised 2003). The changes will assist 
districts in implementing foreign language immersion 
programs as proposed by the Louisiana Consortium of 
Immersion Schools . 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269 (February 2002), LR 28:272 (February 2002), 
LR 28:991 (May 2002), LR 28:1187 (June 2002), LR 29:2367 
(November 2003). 

Foreign Language Immersion Program 
2.090.07  An articulated elementary foreign language 
program for 30 minutes daily in grades 4 through 6 shall be 
required for academically able students and shall be optional 
for all others. 
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An academically able student is defined as one who is Functioning at 
grade level as determined by the local school System. For special 
education students identified in accordance with The Pupil Appraisal 
Handbook (formerly Bulletin 1508), the IEP Committee shall 
determine the student's eligibility to receive foreign language 
instruction. 

 
Guidelines developed by the Louisiana Consortium of Immersion 
Schools for students enrolled in foreign language immersion programs 
in grades kindergarten through 8 are found in A Guide for 
Administrators of Elementary Level Second Language and Immersion 
Programs in Louisiana Schools (Formerly Bulletin 1536) (revised 
2003). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#020 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741? Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators? High School Diploma and Endorsements 

(LAC 28:I.901) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 
741? Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators, 
referenced in LAC 28:I.901.A, promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 
(November 1975). The State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (SBESE) at its May 2003 meeting 
approved revisions to Bulletin 741? The Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators, Standard 2.099.02, to 
add to the graduation requirements a computer related 
course and an area of concentration as required by Career 
Options Law, and to add an optional Academic Endorsement 
and Career/Technical Endorsement to the standard diploma. 
The purpose of the diploma endorsements is to offer 
incentives to students to maximize their junior and senior 
years of high school and to encourage schools to offer more 
advanced courses as well as school-to-work opportunities to 
students. Also included in the revised policy are changes in 
the requirements for a standard diploma that are part of the 
Career Options Law. These changes require students to take 
a one-unit computer-related course and complete an area of 
concentration. These changes will be effective for freshmen 
in 2003-04 and beyond. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§901. School Approval Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 741 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, 11; 
R.S. 17:22 (2), (6). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:483 (November 1975), 
amended LR 28:269-271 (February 2002), LR 28:272-273 

(February 2002), LR 28:991-993 (May 2002), LR 28:1187 (June 
2002), LR 29:2368 (November 2003). 

High School Diploma and Endorsements 
2.099.02  Standard Diploma 

Incoming freshmen 2003-2004 and thereafter meeting the 
Minimum Requirements for High School Graduation listed 
below and the requirements listed in 2.099.00 and 2.099.01, 
and completing four Carnegie units in an area of 
concentration, including one course that incorporates 
computer applications, shall be eligible for a standard 
diploma. An area of concentration shall be courses selected 
to prepare students for postsecondary education and/or a 
career. 

The 23 units required for graduation shall include 16 
required units and 7 elective units; the elective units can be 
earned at technical colleges as provided in Standard 
2.103.35. 
Academic Endorsement 

Students meeting the requirements for a standard diploma, 
and satisfying the following performance indicators shall be 
eligible for an academic endorsement to a standard diploma. 

1. Students shall meet the current course requirements 
for the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) 
Opportunity Award. 

2. Students shall complete one additional Carnegie 
unit in mathematics, science, or social studies. 

3. Students shall pass all four components of the GEE 
21 with a score of Basic or above, or one of the following 
combinations of scores with the English Language Arts 
score at Basic or above: 

?? One Approaching Basic, 1 Mastery or Advanced, 
Basic or above in the remaining two; 

?? Two Approaching Basic, 2 Mastery or above. 
4. Students shall complete one of the following 

requirements:  
?? Senior Project; 
?? One Carnegie unit in an AP course with a score of 3 

or higher on the AP exam;  
?? One Carnegie unit in an IB course with a score of 4 or 

higher on the IB exam;  
?? Three college hours of non-remedial, articulated 

credit in mathematics, social studies, science, foreign 
language, or English Language Arts. 

5. Students shall meet the current minimum grade-
point average requirement for the TOPS Opportunity Award. 

6. Students shall achieve an ACT Composite Score of 
23. 
Career/Technical Endorsement 

Students meeting the requirements for a standard diploma, 
and satisfying the following performance indicators shall be 
eligible for a career/technical endorsement to a standard 
diploma. 

1. Students shall meet the current course requirements 
for the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) 
Opportunity Award or the TOPS Tech Award. 

2. Students shall pass the English Language Arts, 
mathematics, science, and social studies components of the 
GEE 21 at the Approaching Basic level or above. 

3. Students shall complete a minimum of ninety work 
hours of work-based learning experience (as defined in the 
SDE Diploma Endorsement Guidebook) and complete one 
of the following requirements: 
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?? Industry-based certification from the list of 
industry-based certifications approved by BESE; 

?? Three Carnegie credits in a Career/Technical area 
that articulate to a postsecondary institution, either by 
actually obtaining the credits and/or being waved 
from having to take such hours. 

 
Industry-based certification is a portable, recognized credential 
(tangible evidence) that an individual has successfully demonstrated 
skill competencies on a core set of content and performance standards 
in a specific set of work-related tasks, single occupational area, or a 
cluster of related occupational areas. 
 
Articulated credit/dual enrollment is a program of study allowing high 
school students to earn credits toward a high school diploma and a 
postsecondary degree or certification simultaneously. Written 
agreements formalize programs of study, the transfer of academic and 
vocational credits among institutions, and the role of secondary and 
postsecondary instructors.  
 

4. Students shall meet the current minimum grade-
point average requirement for the TOPS Opportunity Award 
or the TOPS Tech Award. 

5. Students shall achieve the current minimum ACT 
Composite Score (or SAT Equivalent) for the TOPS 
Opportunity Award or the TOPS Tech Award. 

Minimum Requirements for High School Graduation 
(Effective for Incoming Freshmen 2003-2004 and thereafter) 
ENGLISH                    4 units 

Shall be English I, II, and III, in consecutive order; and 
English IV or Business English. 

MATHEMATICS                 3 units 
Shall be selected from the following courses and may 
include a maximum of 2 entry level courses (designated 
by E): Introductory Algebra/Geometry (E), Algebra I-Part 
1 (E), Algebra I-Part 2, Integrated Mathematics I (E), 
Integrated Mathematics II, Integrated Mathematics III, 
Applied Mathematics I (E), Applied Mathematics II, 
Applied Mathematics III, Algebra I (E), Geometry, 
Algebra II, Financial Mathematics, Advanced 
Mathematics I, Advanced Mathematics II, Pre-Calculus.  

SCIENCE                    3 units 
Shall be 1 unit of Biology I: 
1 unit of Physical Science or Integrated Science (but not 
both), or Chemistry I, Physics I, or Physics of Technology 
I; 
1 unit from Aerospace Science, Biology II, Chemistry II, 
Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physics II, Physics 
of Technology II, Agriscience I, Agriscience II, or any 
other course not already taken from the Physical Science 
cluster, or a locally designed elective. 

?? If a student takes Physical Science or Integrated 
Science, s/he may then take Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I as the required science 
course. If a student takes Chemistry I, Physics I, or 
Physics of Technology I to fulfill the Physical Science 
requirement, s/he may not then take Physical Science 
or Integrated Science as the third required science 
course but may take such courses as one of the eight 
allowed elective graduation requirements. 

?? Both Agriscience I and II must be completed for one 
unit of science credit. 

All Advanced Placement Science Courses will be accepted 
for credit. 

SOCIAL STUDIES                3 units 
Shall be American History, one-half unit of Civics,  
one-half unit of Free Enterprise; and one of the following: 
World History, World Geography, or Western Civilization. 

HEALTH EDUCATION            1/2 unit 
PHYSICAL EDUCATION          1 1/2 units 

Shall be Physical Education I and Physical Education II, 
or Adaptive Physical Education for eligible special 
education students. 

NOTE: The substitution of JROTC is permissible. A 
maximum of four units may be used toward graduation. 

COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY           1 unit 
Shall be taken from the following: 
Computer/Technology Literacy (1/2 credit) 
Computer Applications or Business Computer 

Applications (1 credit) 
Computer Architecture (1 credit) 
Computer Science I, II (1 credit each) 
Computer Systems and Networking I, II (1 credit each) 
Desktop Publishing (1/2 credit) 
Digital Graphics & Animation (1/2 credit) 
Multimedia Presentations (1 credit) 
Web Mastering or Web Design (1/2 credit) 
Independent Study in Technology Applications (1 credit) 
Word Processing (1 credit) 
Telecommunications (1/2 credit) 
Introduction to Business Computer Applications (1 credit) 
Technology Education Computer Applications (1 credit) 
Advanced Technical Drafting (1 credit) 

ELECTIVES                   8 units 
TOTAL                      23 units 

Refer to Standards 2.037.02 and 2.058.02 relative to 
appropriate student scheduling and counseling. 
 

Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#021 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746? Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel? Certificate Renewal Requirements and 
Validity Terms for Those Called to Active Military Duty 

(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 
746? Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel, referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy 
specifies certificate renewal guidelines and validity term 
adjustments for those who are employed on renewable 
certificates and who are called to active military duty. 
Temporary certificates have strict annual renewal guidelines 
specifying successful completion of coursework and/or 
Praxis exams. Renewable regular certificates require 
completion of Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
professional development for renewal. This policy suspends 
certificate renewal guidelines and does not count elapsed 
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time for certificate holders during periods of active military 
duty. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29:2370 (November 2003). 

Certificate Renewal Requirements and Validity Terms 
for Those Called to Active Military Duty 

A teacher employed on a temporary or a regular 
certificate, and who is called to active military duty, will not 
be penalized for the time spent in active service. He or she 
must present copies of official documents indicating 
beginning and ending dates of active military duty when 
applying for renewal or extension of the certificate. 

For the period of military service: 
1. renewal guidelines specifying required coursework 

and/or Praxis exams for temporary certificates will be 
waived; 

2. renewal guidelines specifying Continuing Learning 
Units (CLUs) for Level 2 and Level 3 certificates will be 
waived; and 

3. additional time commensurate with the amount of 
time spent in active duty will be allowed on the temporary or 
regular certificate, in terms of the school year(s) or portion 
thereof spent in active military service. 

Once the time spent has been restored to an individual 
who was called to active duty, the renewal guidelines for 
temporary and/or regular certificates will be effective. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#024 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746? Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel? Policy for  

One-Year Authorization on a Certificate 
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 
746? Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel, referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This Rule  

abolishes the Bulletin 746 policy allowing a one-year 
authorization on a certificate. This Rule works to align 
Bulletin 746 policy for temporary certification under the 
state's new licensure structure. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763-765 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990-
991 (May 2002), LR 29:2370 (November 2003). 

* * * 
Repeal the "One Year Authorization on a Certificate" 

policy from Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, as follows: 

One-Year Authorization on a Certificate 
Authorization to teach one or two subjects in 
addition to the major subject on the secondary 
level may be added to a valid certificate if the 
applicant lacks not more than six semester hours 
to meet the minimal requirements in the teaching 
field or fields, provided that this authorization is 
good for one year only. The applicant is given 
one year in which to meet the requirements in 
full. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#023 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746? Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel 

Practitioner Teacher Licensure Policy  
(LAC 28:I.903) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 
746? Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel, referenced in LAC 28:I.903.A. This policy adds 
the Practitioner License 4 category to the current Practitioner 
License policy, allowing individuals other than those in the 
new alternate teacher certification programs to pursue full 
teacher credentialing under a licensure type that does not 
penalize schools and districts for Annual School Report and 
accountability reporting purposes. This policy outlines
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regulations for those who are not in the new alternate teacher 
education programs to qualify for a Practitioner License 
(category 4). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
§903. Teacher Certification Standards and Regulations 

A. Bulletin 746 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 1:183, 311, 399, 435, 
541 (April, July, September, October, December 1975), amended 
LR 28:763 (April 2002), LR 28:765 (April 2002), LR 28:990 (May 
2002), LR 29:2371 (November 2003). 

Practitioner Teacher Licensure Policy 
Adopted by SBESE October 2002 

Individuals with PL1, PL2, PL3, or PL4 credentialing who 
are actively enrolled in the Practitioner Teacher Program, the 
Master's Degree Program, or the Non-Master's/Certification-
Only Program, or are otherwise in the process of completing 
all requirements for full certification will be granted special 
employment status so that districts will not have these 
individuals count for or against the district on the Annual 
School Report or for District accountability purposes. 
Practitioner License 1, Practitioner License 2, 
Practitioner License 3 

A Practitioner Teacher license (PL), renewable yearly for a 
maximu m of three years, will be granted to those candidates 
who meet all entrance requirements and who are accepted 
into and enrolled in a State-approved Practitioner Teacher 
Program (PL1), Master's Degree Program (PL3), or  
Non-Master's/Certification-Only Program (PL2). Issuance of 
Practitioner Teacher licenses will require verification from 
the program provider and the employing system/school. 
Minimum admission requirements for the Practitioner 
Teacher Program and the Non-Master's/Certification-Only 
Program stipulate that the candidate hold an undergraduate 
degree from a regionally accredited university, possess a 
minimum of a 2.2 grade point average (GPA), and pass the 
Pre-Professional Skills Test and Content Specialty Exam of 
the PRAXIS. The same admission standards apply to the 
Master's Degree Program, with one exception, that the 
undergraduate GPA requirement is 2.50 for admission. 
Additionally, Practitioner Teacher Program participants must 
have a teaching assignment in a state-approved Louisiana 
school in the area of certification being studied.  

Practitioner Teacher Program candidates will complete an 
intensive summer training experience prior to assuming a 
full-time teaching position in a Louisiana classroom. To 
allow for the summer training experience, employing 
systems/schools may offer contracts to Practitioner Teacher 
candidates as early as the spring preceding the school year in 
which the practitioner will assume a full-time position. It is a 
responsibility of the employing system/school, working in 
close collaboration with the program provider, to facilitate

and coordinate the placement of practitioner teachers in 
State-approved schools in teaching areas in which there is an 
identified need. The participant signs a one-year renewable 
contract with the school system and/or approved school. The 
practitioner teacher would be placed, at a minimum, on the 
same salary schedule as a regularly certified, salaried 
teacher. 

Practitioner Teacher Program (PL1), Master's Degree 
Program (PL3), and Non-Master/Certification-Only Program 
(PL2). Practitioner teachers are issued a one-year 
Practitioner Teacher license, renewable yearly for a 
maximum of three years. If a candidate withdraws or is 
dropped from the new alternate program, the Practitioner 
Teacher license is no longer valid. A practitioner teacher 
must remain enrolled in the alternate program and fulfill all 
coursework, teaching assignments (if applicable), and 
prescribed activities as identified by the program provider. 
All program requirements must be completed within the 
three-year period of the license. A practitioner teacher may 
complete all requirements of the alternate program in fewer 
than three years.  

Once a practitioner teacher has completed all requirements 
of the alternate program and has been recommended by the 
program provider, he may apply for a Level 1 Teaching 
Certificate. A practitioner teacher's teaching experience, 
while holding a Practitioner Teacher license, will count 
toward the three years of teaching experience requirement 
that is needed to move from a Level 1 certificate to a Level 2 
certificate.  
Practitioner License 4 

A Practitioner License (PL4) may be issued to a teacher 
who is not in one of the three new alternate certification 
programs, has an undergraduate grade point average of at 
least 2.50, has passed the Praxis Pre-professional Skills Tests 
(PPSTs), has passed the specialty area content exam or has 
completed 31 semester hours in the specific content area of 
certification, and still lacks full requirements for 
certification. 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#025 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1536? A Guide for Administrators of Elementary 
Level Second Language Programs in Louisiana Schools  

(LAC 28:I.Chapter 9) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted the following revision to Title 28, 
Education. The revision will change the status of Bulletin 
1536? A Guide for Administrators of Elementary Level 
Second Language Programs in Louisiana Schools, from a 
regulatory bulletin to non-regulatory program guidelines. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans 
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations 
 

List of Bulletins to be Removed from the Louisiana 
Administrative Code 

 
Bulletin 
Number Bulletin Name 

1536 A Guide for Administrators of Elementary Level Second 
Language Programs in Louisiana Schools 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0311#026 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs  
(LAC 28:IV.701, 703, 705, 805, and 2103) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) has amended the Rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
Programs (R.S. 17:3021-3026, R.S. 3041.10-15, R.S. 
17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance? Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 
Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§701. General Provisions 
A. - D.3. … 
E. Award Amounts. The specific award amounts for each 

component of TOPS are as follows. 
1.a. The TOPS Opportunity Award provides an 

amount equal to undergraduate tuition for full-time 
attendance at an Eligible College or University for a period 
not to exceed eight semesters, including Qualified Summer 
Sessions, twelve quarters, including Qualified Summer 
Sessions, or an equivalent number of units in an eligible 
institution which operates on a schedule based on units other 
than semesters or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 
17:3048.1.H, §503.D, §509.C, or §701.E.1.b. Attending a 
Qualified Summer Session for which tuition is paid will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

b. The semester or term count for a student shall not 
be increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS payment for that semester or term is 
received by LOSFA. 

2.a. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400 
annual stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each Academic Year (College) and

Program Year (Non-Academic Program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an 
Eligible College or University, for a period not to exceed 
eight semesters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, 
twelve quarters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:3048.1.H, 
§503.D, §509.C, or §701.E.2.b. The stipend will be paid for 
each Qualified Summer Session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
Qualified Summer Session for which tuition is paid will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

b. The semester or term count for a student shall not 
be increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS payment for that semester or term is 
received by LOSFA, provided that any amount of a stipend 
paid and not refunded shall be counted toward the total 
stipends allowed by law. 

3.a. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 
annual stipend, prorated by two semesters, three quarters, or 
equivalent units in each Academic Year (College) and each 
Program Year (Non-Academic Program), in addition to an 
amount equal to tuition for full-time attendance at an 
Eligible College or University, for a period not to exceed 
eight semesters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, 
twelve quarters, including Qualified Summer Sessions, or an 
equivalent number of units in an eligible institution which 
operates on a schedule based on units other than semesters 
or quarters, except as provided by R.S. 17:3048.1.H, 
§503.D, §509.C or §701.E.3.b. The stipend will be paid for 
each Qualified Summer Session, semester, quarter, term, or 
equivalent unit for which tuition is paid. Attending a 
Qualified Summer Session for which tuition is paid will 
count toward the eight semester limit for TOPS. 

b. The semester or term count for a student shall not 
be increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 
complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS payment for that semester or term is 
received by LOSFA, provided that any amount of a stipend 
paid and not refunded shall be counted toward the total 
stipends allowed by law.  

E.4. - G.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), LR 
25: 256 (February 1999), LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:1262 
(June 2000), LR 26:1995, 2000 (September 2000), repromulgated 
LR 27:1848 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), 
LR 28:2331 (November 2002), LR 29:2372 (November 2003). 
§703. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5.a.i. … 
 ii. for purposes of satisfying the requirements of 
703.A.5.a.i, above, or 803.A.6.a, the following courses shall 
be considered equivalent to the identified core courses and 
may be substituted to satisfy corresponding core courses. 
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Core Curriculum Course Equivalent (Substitute) Course 
Physical Science General Science, Integrated Science 
Algebra I Algebra I, Parts 1 and 2, Integrated 

Mathematics I 
Applied Algebra IA and IB Applied Mathematics I and II 
Algebra I, Algebra II and Geometry Integrated Mathematics I, II and III 
Algebra II 
Geometry 
Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus, 
or Comparable Advanced 
Mathematics 

Integrated Mathematics II 
Integrated Mathematics III 
Pre-Calculus, Algebra III, 
Probability and Statistics, Discrete 
Mathematics, Applied Mathematics 
III*, Advanced Mathematics I, 
Advanced Mathemat ics II 

Chemistry Chemistry Com 
Fine Arts Survey Speech Debate (2 units)  
Western Civilization European History 
 *Applied Mathematics III was 

formerly referred to as Applied 
Geometry 

 
A.5.a.iii. - G.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 
25:2237 (December 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:655 
(April 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:64, 67 (January 
2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 2000), LR 
26:1602, 1998 (August 2000), LR 26:1996, 2001 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2753 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:702 (May 2001), LR 27:1219, 
1219 (August 2001), LR 27:1850 (November 2001), LR 28:772 
(April 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 28:2330, 2332 
(November 2002), LR 29:125 (February 2003), LR 29:2372 
(November 2003). 
§705. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity, 
Performance or Honors Awards, the recipient must meet all 
of the following criteria: 

1. have received less than four years or eight 
semesters of TOPS Award funds, except as provided in 
§701.E.1.b, §701.E.2.b, and §701.E.3.b, provided that each 
two terms or equivalent units of enrollment in a program for 
a vocational or technical education certificate or diploma or 
a non-academic undergraduate degree shall be the equivalent 
of a semester; and 

A.2. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR 
25:257 (February 1999), LR 25:656 (April 1999), LR 25:1091 
(June 1999), LR 26:67 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 
26, 1996, 2001 (September 2000), LR 27:1853 (November 2001), 
LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2332 
(November 2002), LR 29:2373 (November 2003). 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§805. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. To continue receiving the TOPS-TECH Award, the 
recipient must meet all of the following criteria: 

1. have received the TECH Award for less than two 
years, except as provided by §805.C, unless reduced as 
required by §503.D; and 

A.2. - B. … 
C. The semester or term count for a student shall not be 

increased for any semester or term a student is unable to 

complete because of orders to active duty in the United 
States Armed Forces or National Guard, whether or not a full 
refund for the TOPS Tech payment for that semester or term 
is received by LOSFA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998) amended LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 
26:68 (January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), LR 27:1856 (November 2001), LR 28:774 
(April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 29:2373 
(November 2003). 
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - E.11.c. ... 
F. Students who are granted an exception based on 

military service in accordance with Paragraph 2103.E.9 
above and who desire to enroll as a part time student in an 
eligible postsecondary institution while on active duty shall 
be eligible on request for TOPS payment for such 
enrollment. Any payment for part time attendance under this 
subsection shall count towards the student's maximum 
eligibility for up to the equivalent of eight full time 
semesters of postsecondary education in part time and full 
time semesters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 (October 1998), LR 
26:1017 (May 2000), LR 26:2004 (September 2000), LR 27:37 
(January 2001), LR 27:1875 (October 2001), LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), LR 28:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 
2002), LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2333 (November 
2002), LR 29:126 (February 2003), LR 29:2373 (November 2003). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0311#041 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assis tance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs ? Military Service 
(LAC 28:IV.2103) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) amends the Rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance—Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - E.8. ... 
9. Military Service 
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a. Definition. The student/recipient is in the United 
States Armed Forces Reserves or National Guard and is 
called on active duty status or is performing emergency state 
service with the National Guard or voluntarily enlists and 
enters on active duty as a member of the regular United 
States Armed Forces during a National Emergency declared 
by the President of the United States or when the United 
States is engaged in armed conflict. 

b. Certification Requirements. The student/recipient 
must submit: 
 i. a completed exception request form including 
official college transcripts, the dates of the required leave of 
absence, necessity of withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the 
semester(s) or number of days involved, and the length of 
duty (beginning and ending dates); and 
 ii. a written certification from the commanding 
officer or regional supervisor including the dates and 
location of active duty; or 
 iii. a certified copy of the military orders. 

c. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to the length 
of the required active duty service period, not to exceed four 
years. 

E.10. - 11.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May  1996), amended LR 23:1648 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 
(October 1998), LR 26:1015 (May 2000), LR 26:2002 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), amended LR 27:1875 (November 2001), LR 
28:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330, 2333 (November 2002), LR 29:126 (February 
2003), LR 29:2373 (November 2003). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0311#043 
 

RULE 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust  
(START Saving) Program  

(LAC 28:VI.315) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is 
amending its Rules of the Student Tuition and Revenue Trust 
(START Savings) Program (R.S. 3091-3099.2). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance? Higher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
Subchapter A.  Student Tuition Trust Authority 
§315. Miscellaneous Provisions 

A. - B.6. ... 

7. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 
Louisiana Education Tuition and Savings Fund earned an 
interest rate of 5.82 percent. 

8. For the year ending December 31, 2002, the 
Earnings Enhancements Fund earned an interest rate of 5.91 
percent. 

C. - R. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:718 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1274 (July 1998), amended LR 26:1263 
(June 2000), repromulgated LR 26:2267 (October 2000), amended 
LR 27:1221 (August 2001), LR 27:1884 (November 2001), LR 
28:1761 (August 2002), LR 28:2335 (November 2002), LR 
29:2374 (November 2003). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0311#040 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 
 

Cooling Water Intake Structures for New Facilities 
(LAC 33:IX.2522, 2523, and 2524)(WQ051*) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Water Quality regulations, LAC 
33:IX.2522, 2523, and 2524 (Log #WQ051*). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 40 
CFR 125.83; 125.84(b)(4)(ii)-(iii), (b)(5)(ii), (c)(3)(ii)-(iii), 
and (d)(1); and 125.85(a)(2)-(3), which are applicable in 
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal 
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at 
(225) 219-3550 or Box 4314, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4314. 
No fiscal or economic impact will result from the Rule; 
therefore, the Rule is promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This amendment deletes the definition of Minimum 
Ambient Source Water Surface Elevation and provides 
owners and operators of new facilities with clarified and 
additional requirements for addressing various stressors and 
other adverse impacts on species passing through the 
hydraulic zone of influence of cooling water intake 
structures. The amendments are required to maintain 
currency with federal regulations for state program 
authorization. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to 
mirror the federal regulations, to ensure the application of 
relevant information, and to protect species integrity. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 
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Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Chapter 23. The LPDES Program 
Subchapter M. Criteria Applicable to Cooling Water 

Intake Structures Under Section 316(b) of 
the Act 

§2522. What Special Definitions Apply to this 
Subchapter?  

*** 
Minimum Ambient Source Water Surface 

Elevation? repealed. 
*** 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:1768 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2375 (November 2003). 
§2523. As an Owner or Operator of a New Facility, 

What Must I Do to Comply with this 
Subchapter?  

A. - B.4.a. ... 
b. based on information submitted by any fishery 

management agency(ies) or other relevant information, there 
are migratory and/or sport or commercial species of 
impingement concern to the state administrative authority 
that pass through the hydraulic zone of influence of the 
cooling water intake structure; or 

c. it is determined by the state administrative 
authority, based on information submitted by any fishery 
management agency(ies) or other relevant information, that 
the proposed facility, after meeting the technology-based 
performance requirements in Paragraphs B.1, 2, and 3 of this 
Section, would still contribute unacceptable stress to the 
protected species, critical habitat of those species, or species 
of concern. 

5. - 5.a. ... 
b. based on information submitted by any fishery 

management agency(ies) or other relevant information, there 
are, or would be, undesirable cumulative stressors affecting 
entrainable life stages of species of concern to the state 
administrative authority, and it is determined by the state 
administrative authority that the proposed facility, after 
meeting the technology-based performance requirements in 
Paragraphs B.1, 2, and 3 of this Section, would still 
contribute unacceptable stress to the protected species, 
critical habitat of those species, or species of concern. 

B.6. - C.3.a. ... 
b. based on information submitted by any fishery 

management agency(ies) or other relevant information, there 
are migratory and/or sport or commercial species of 
impingement concern to the state administrative authority 
that pass through the hydraulic zone of influence of the 
cooling water intake structure; or  

c. it is determined by the state administrative 
authority, based on information submitted by any fishery 
management agency(ies) or other relevant information, that

the proposed facility, after meeting the technology-based 
performance requirements in Paragraphs C.1 and 2 of this 
Section, would still contribute unacceptable stress to the 
protected species, critical habitat of those species, or species 
of concern. 

C.4. - D.1. ...  
a. Except as specified in Subparagraph D.1.b of this 

Section, this demonstration must include a showing that the 
impacts to fish and shellfish, including important forage and 
predator species, within the watershed will be comparable to 
those that would result if you were to implement the 
requirements of Paragraphs B.1 and 2 of this Section. This 
showing may include consideration of impacts other than 
impingement mortality and entrainment, including measures 
that will result in increases in fish and shellfish, but it must 
demonstrate comparable performance for species that the 
state administrative authority, in consultation with national, 
state, or tribal fishery management agencies with 
responsibility for fisheries potentially affected by your 
cooling water intake structure, identifies as species of 
concern. In identifying such species, the state administrative 
authority may consider information provided by any fishery 
management agency(ies) along with data and information 
from other sources. 

D.1.b. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:1769 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2375 (November 2003). 
§2524. May Alternative Requirements Be Authorized?  

A. - A.1. ... 
2. the state administrative authority determines that 

data specific to the facility indicate that compliance with the 
requirement at issue would result in compliance costs wholly 
out of proportion to those EPA considered in establishing the 
requirement at issue or would result in significant adverse 
impacts on local air quality, significant adverse impacts on 
local water resources other than impingement or 
entrainment, or significant adverse impacts on local energy 
markets;  

3. the alternative requirement requested is no less 
stringent than justified by the wholly out of proportion cost 
or the significant adverse impacts on local air quality, 
significant adverse impacts on local water resources other 
than impingement or entrainment, or significant adverse 
impacts on local energy markets; and  

A.4. - B. ...  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 28:1771 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2375 (November 2003). 

 
James H. Brent, Ph.D. 
Assistant Secretary 

0311#016 
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RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners  

and Examiners 
and 

Board of River Port Pilot Commissioners 
and 

Board of Examiners for the New Orleans  
and Baton Rouge Steamship Pilots 

and 
Board of Examiners of Bar Pilots for the  

Port of New Orleans 

River Pilot Rules Restructure (LAC 46:LXXV) 

Editor's Note: River Pilot Rules have been moved from Part 
LXXVI to Part LXX for topical placement. The Rules have 
also been restructured to allow room for expansion. 
 

The following table shows the restructuring of the River 
Pilot Rules. Each Chapter is listed, showing the former 
placement and the current placement. 

 
Former Placement Current Placement 
Part LXXVI Part LXXV 

Chapters 11-6 Chapters 1-6 
Chapters 31-36 Chapters 31-36 
Chapters 1-2 Chapters 61-62 
Chapter 6 Chapter 91 

 
0311#004 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Commission on Law Enforcement and  

Administration of Criminal Justice 

Crime Victim Assistance (LAC 22:III.4901, 4903, and 4905) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
the Administrative Procedure Act, and R.S. 15:1207 and 
1207, the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and 
Administration of Criminal Justice hereby gives notice that 
the Rule regarding the administration of the Crime Victim 
Assistance Fund has been amended.  

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part III.  Commission on Law Enforcement and 

Administration of Criminal Justice 
Subpart 5.  Crime Victim Assistance 

Chapter 49. Policies and Procedures 
§4901. Introduction 

A. The issues of services to victims of crime, 
underserved victims and an increased awareness of the 
prevalence and severity of domestic violence and violence 
against women coupled with the increased availability of 
federal funds to address these issues at the state, regional and 
local levels, have led to federal grant programs designed to 
focus on these topics. The Louisiana Commission on Law 
Enforcement has been named as the cognizant state agency

for the federal programs and will make available to 
appropriate non-profit and public agencies grant funds, to be 
spent in accordance with federal program guidelines and the 
guidelines of the Victim Services Advisory Board and the 
Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement. 

B. The Victims of Crime Act of 1984 (VOCA) 
established within the U.S. Treasury an account funded by 
federal fines, penalties and forfeited bail bonds to be used 
for the purpose of funding victim assistance grants to the 
states. These grants are to be used for programs that provide 
direct services to victims of crime, with priority given to 
programs that have as their principal mission direct 
assistance to victims of sexual assault, spouse abuse, child 
abuse and previously underserved victims of crime. VOCA 
funds in the state are administered by the Louisiana 
Commission on Law Enforcement in consultation with the 
Victim Services Advisory Board to the Commission. The 
VOCA program in Louisiana is administered pursuant to the 
federal regulations in effect for the program. 

C. For more information, interested persons may contact 
the Victim Services Section of the Louisiana Commission on 
Law Enforcement. 

D. The Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) of 1994 is 
enabling legislation that has as its intent the reduction of 
violence to encourage states and localities to restructure and 
strengthen their criminal justice response to this issue and to 
be proactive in dealing with the problem of domestic 
violence. The STOP (Services-Training-Officers-
Prosecution) Progra m is the implementation aspect of VAWA 
and seeks to develop and strengthen effective law 
enforcement and prosecution strategies to combat violent 
crime against women and to develop and strengthen victim 
services in cases involving violent crimes against women. 
Unlike VOCA, monies are appropriated by Congress for this 
program. These funds are divided equally between law 
enforcement, prosecution and non-profit service providers 
and are administered by the Louisiana Commission on Law 
Enforcement in consultation with Victim Services Advisory 
Board. The VAWA program in Louisiana is administered 
pursuant to the federal regulations in effect for the program. 

E. For more information, interested persons may contact 
the Victim Services Section of the Louisiana Commission on 
Law Enforcement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:1204 and 1207. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 15:1071 (December 1989), amended LR 
29:2376 (November 2003). 
§4903. Application Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and 1207. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 15:1072 (December 1989), repealed  
LR 29:2376 (November 2003). 
§4905. Application Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:1204 and 1207. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of 
Criminal Justice, LR 15:1074 (December 1989), repealed  
LR 29:2377 (November 2003). 

 
Michael A. Ranatza 
Executive Director 

0311#035 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

Participant Employer Responsibilities 
Group Benefits Coordinator (LAC 32:I.1501) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate Rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to require each participant employer to 
designate an individual as Group Benefits Coordinator and 
point of contact for any notice, demand, communication, or 
payment between the participant employer and OGB, 
including notice and communication from OGB to plan 
participants. The reason for this action is to improve 
communications between OGB and participating employer 
agencies and to facilitate the administration of benefits for 
all OGB plan participants.  

Accordingly, OGB adopts the following Rule to become 
effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 
Part I.  General Provisions 

Chapter 15. Participant Employer Responsibilities 
§1501. Group Benefits Coordinator 

A. Each participant employer shall designate an 
individual as Group Benefits Coordinator and point of 
contact for any notice, demand, communication, or payment 
between the participant employer and the Office of Group 
Benefits (OGB), including notice and communication from 
the OGB to plan participants. Such designation shall be 
made on a form provided by the OGB, signed by the head of 
the participant employer, providing essential contact 
information, including, but not limited to, name, job title, 
physical address, mailing address, telephone number, 
facsimile transmission number, and electronic mail address, 
and shall be submitted to the OGB between January 1 and 
January 15 of each year. It shall be the responsibility of the 
participant employer to notify the OGB of a change in 
Group Benefits Coordinator during the year within 10 
working days of a change in the designation of the Group 
Benefits Coordinator. Failure to appoint a Group Benefits 
Coordinator, notify the OGB of a change of Group Benefits

Coordinator, or submit the required Group Benefits 
Coordinator appointment timely shall result in a fine of not 
more than $100 per day. 

B. As used in this Section, the term participant employer 
means a state entity, school board, or a state political 
subdivision authorized by law to participate in the OGB 
program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:2377 (November 2003). 

 
A. Kip Wall 
Chief Executive Officer 

0311#034 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration  
Office of State Purchasing 

Procurement of Computer Equipment and Services  
(LAC 34:I.Chapter 55) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and R.S. 39:199.C and D, the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Purchasing hereby amends the Rules relative to the purchase 
and lease of computer hardware and software; the 
procurement of hardware maintenance, software 
maintenance, and software support services; and the 
procedures for Procurement Support Team operations. 

Further, the Office of State Purchasing repeals the Rules 
relative to Emergency Procurement of Data Processing 
Equipment; Guidelines for Justification of Multi-Year Data 
Processing Leases; Unscheduled Maintenance of Data 
Processing Equipment; Procedures for Disposing of Leased, 
Rented or Purchased Data Processing Equipment; and 
Equipment Specifications in Solicitations, LAC 
34:I.Appendix A.1-9:5, 1-9:6 and 1-9:7, 1-9:9, and 1-9:12, 
respectively. 

The Office of the State Register has renumbered LAC 
34:I.Appendix A to meet the APA mandate of prescribing "a 
uniform system of indexing, numbering, arrangement of text 
and citation of authority and history notes for the Louisiana 
Administrative Code." The following table should clarify the 
renumbering effort. 

 
Former Section Number  

under Appendix A  New Section Number 

New Material 5501 
1-9:3 5503 
1-9:4 5505, 5507, 5509, 5511 
1-9:5 Repealed 
1-9:6 Repealed 
1-9:7 Repealed 
1-9:8 5513 
1-9:9 Repealed 

1-9:12 Repealed 
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Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part I.  Purchasing 

Chapter 55. Procedures for Information Technology 
Hardware, Software, Software 
Maintenance and Support Services, and 
Hardware Maintenance  

§5501. General 
A. This Chapter describes the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow for the 
procurement of Information Technology Hardware, 
Software, Software Maintenance and Support Services, and 
Hardware Maintenance. Situations not covered by these 
rules may be found in the general statutes and rules and 
regulations of the Procurement Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 29:2378 (November 2003). 
§5503. Procedures for Procurement of Information 

Technology Hardware 
A. This Section describes the information that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must furnish when seeking 
approval of the Office of State Purchasing for the 
procurement of information technology hardware including 
installation with a cost exceeding the agency's delegated 
purchasing authority. Information technology hardware, for 
the purpose of this Section, is defined as any electronic data 
processing device including but not limited to central 
processing units, memory, peripheral devices, unit record 
equipment, data communications equipment, mini-
computers and peripherals, graphics equipment including 
digitizers and plotters, optical scanning equipment, and 
shared logic word processing equipment, printers, 
multifunctional devices, and scanners. Equipment that does 
not fit into any of the above categories will be handled on a 
case-by-case basis and the agency must contact the Office of 
State Purchasing for a ruling on the justification required. 

B. This Section does not apply to acquisitions from State 
Brand Name Contracts. Terms and conditions for Brand 
Name Contracts may contain additional procedures that an 
agency must follow. However, an approved IT-10 is needed 
for all IT procurements in excess of $100,000. 

C.1. For requests not covered by an existing contract, the 
following should be provided to the Office of State 
Purchasing to avoid delays in approval: 

a. a general description of the mission to be 
accomplished using the requested equipment; 

b. a detailed list of the proposed equipment, 
including quantities and estimated costs for lease, purchase, 
rental, maintenance, etc; 

c. an approved IT-10 form with all requests for 
procurements in excess of $100,000. 

2. The Office of State Purchasing may require 
additional information or justification, as it deems 
appropriate for any particular procure ment request. 

D. Each agency contemplating a procurement greater 
than the agency's delegated purchasing authority shall, upon 
definition of the preliminary functional requirements, submit 
a draft solicitation to the Office of State Purchasing. If the 
procurement exceeds $100,000, the Office of State 

Purchasing shall schedule a Procurement Support Team 
(PST) meeting. The Procurement Support Team participation 
may include assistance in finalizing the solicitation. The 
Procurement Support Team participation mu st include, as a 
minimum, assistance in evaluation of bids or proposals and 
negotiations of contract terms (if applicable). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77 (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29:2378 (November 2003). 
§5505. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Software 
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology software. 

B. Information technology software, for the purpose of 
this Section is defined as any program or series of programs 
offered commercially to computer installations. 

C. If the cost of the information technology software 
including modifications, installation integration, training for 
the total project plus maintenance and support services , for a 
12 month period to be acquired is under $100,000, it is 
deemed to have the advance approval of the Office of State 
Purchasing and shall not be for a price greater than the 
vendor's published price. 

1. The agency must include in the procurement file a 
lis t of all known information technology software packages 
investigated which claim to accomplish the required task. 
Name each investigated, its total cost, and the rationale for 
selection or rejection.  

2. The Office of State Purchasing will assist any 
agency in the negotiation of contract agreements and any 
other procurement related functions. 

D. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology software (including modifications, installation 
integration, training, etc.), with a total cost greater than 
$100,000 whenever possible.  

1. Any agency or entity that does not use the 
competitive process or an established standard or statewide 
agreement for procurement of information technology 
software with a total cost in excess of $100,000 must fully 
justify its request to the Office of Information Technology 
and obtain concurrence prior to submission to the Office of 
State Purchasing for further processing. 

2. Information technology software procurements of 
$100,000 or greater will be competitively obtained through 
and ITB, RFP or through an OIT pricing agreement 
administered by the Office of State Purchasing. 

3. Information technology software procurements of 
$100,000 or greater must have been included in an approved 
IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

4. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $100,000 threshold. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77 (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29:2378 (November 2003). 
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§5507. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 
Technology Hardware Maintenance  

A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 
agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology hardware maintenance. 

B. For purposes of this Section, information technology 
hardware maintenance consists of remedial maintenance, 
preventative maintenance, replacement parts, labor and 
engineering changes necessary to keep information 
technology hardware in good working condition. 

C. Procurements for information technology hardware 
maintenance under $100,000 may be handled non-
competitively and are deemed to have the advance approval 
from the Office of State Purchasing and shall not be for a 
price greater than the vendor's published price. The Office of 
State Purchasing will assist any agency in the negotiation of 
contract agreements and any other procurement related 
functions. 

D. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology hardware maintenance with a total cost greater 
than $100,000 whenever possible.  

1. Information technology hardware maintenance over 
$100,000 may be procured non-competitively from the 
original equipment manufacturer (OEM) if the maintenance 
is for mission critical equipment (such as mainframes, 
mainframe peripherals, enterprise servers, or network 
backbone components). The agency must submit a letter of 
justification signed by the head of the agency or his designee 
to the Office of State Purchasing.  

2. Any agency or entity that does not use the 
competitive process or an established standard or statewide 
agreement for procurement of information technology 
hardware maintenance with a total cost in excess of 
$100,000 must fully justify its request to the Office of 
Information Technology and obtain concurrence prior to 
submission to the Office of State Purchasing for further 
processing. 

3. Information technology hardware maintenance not 
covered in Paragraph D.1 must be competitively procured 
through the Consulting and Support Services Agreement 
(CSSA), Invitation to Bid (ITB), or Request for Proposal 
(RFP) process. 

4. Information technology hardware maintenance of 
$100,000 or greater must have been included in an approved 
IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

5. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $100,000 threshold. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77 (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29:2379 (November 2003). 
§5509. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Software Maintenance  
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology software maintenance. 

B. For the purposes of this Section, information 
technology software maintenance includes on-site, telephone 
and/or on-line troubleshooting, installation assistance, basic 
usability assistance, etc. Information technology software 

products and technologies to be covered include operating 
systems, application software and systems, application 
software, and systems and network management software, 
tools and utilities. 

C. Procurements for information technology software 
maintenance under $100,000 may be handled non-
competitively and are deemed to have the advance approval 
from the Office of State Purchasing and shall not be for a 
price greater than the vendor's published price. The Office of 
State Purchasing will assist any agency in the negotiation of 
contract agreements and any other procurement related 
functions. 

D. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology software maintenance with a total cost greater 
than $100,000 whenever possible.  

1. Any agency or entity that does not use the 
competitive process or an established standard or statewide 
agreement for procurement of information technology 
software maintenance with a total cost in excess of $100,000 
must fully justify its request to the Office of Info rmation 
Technology and obtain concurrence prior to submission to 
the Office of State Purchasing for further processing. 

2. Information technology software maintenance in 
which the software vendor is the only authorized entity to 
provide product fixes, patches, updates, or upgrades can 
continue to be handled non-competitively in accordance with 
R.S. 39:199.D. A letter from the information technology 
software vendor substantiating the above information is 
required. 

3. Any other type of information technology software 
maintenance not covered in Paragraphs D.1 or D.2 must be 
competitively procured through the Consulting and Support 
Services Agreement (CSSA), Invitation to Bid (ITB) or 
Request for Proposal (RFP) process. 

4. Information technology software maintenance with 
a cost of $100,000 or greater must have been included in an 
approved IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

5. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $100,000 threshold. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77 (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29:2379 (November 2003). 
§5511. Procedures for the Procurement of Information 

Technology Software Support Services 
A. This Section will describe the procedures that all 

agencies in the Executive Branch must follow when seeking 
to acquire information technology software support services.  

B. For purposes of this Section, information technology 
software support services include capacity planning, 
performance analysis, on-site troubleshooting, custom 
modifications, etc. 

C. Procurements for information technology software 
support services under $50,000 may be handled non-
competitively and are deemed to have the advance approval 
of the Office of State Purchasing. The Office of State 
Purchasing will assist any agency in the negotiation of 
contract agreements and any other procurement related 
functions. 
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D. Procurements shall not be artificially divided to 
circumvent the $50,000 threshold. 

E. Information technology software support services of 
$50,000 or greater must be procured using the Consulting 
and Support Services Agreement (CSSA) or the Request for 
Proposal (RFP) process in accordance with R.S. 39:1481 et 
seq. (Office of Contractual Review). 

F. Information technology software support services of 
$100,000 or greater must have been included in an approved 
IT-10 from the Office of Information Technology. 

G. It is the state's intent to compete information 
technology software support services with a total cost of 
$50,000 or greater whenever possible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77 (February, 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29:2379 (November 2003). 
§5513. Procurement Support Team Operations 

A. Procurement Support Team Composition 
1. A Procurement Support Team (PST) shall be 

formed in accordance with the procedures defined herein for 
every information technology contract in an amount 
$100,000 or greater for the procurement of information 
technology hardware, hardware maintenance, software, 
software maintenance, and software support services. All 
contracts shall be subject to the review and approval of other 
agencies as required by statute or regulations. Purchase 
release orders issued pursuant to a Direct Order Contract or 
a Brand Name Contract shall not constitute a contract for 
purposes of these procedures. The formation of a 
Procurement Support Team shall be accomplished by the 
Office of State Purchasing and shall include one or more 
representatives from each of the following: the Office of 
State Purchasing; the Legislative Legal Staff; the using 
agency initiating the procurement action; and the Legislative 
Fiscal Office. The Office of Information Technology will 
provide technical staff to assist the Office of State 
Purchasing and the Procurement Support Team.  

2. At least two members of each Procurement Support 
Team shall have formal training in contract negotiations. The 
Legislative Fiscal Officer, the speaker of the House of 
Representatives and the president of the Senate (jointly), and 
the head of the Purchasing Agency (or his designee), shall 
each designate in writing to the Office of State Purchasing 
the names of a primary and an alternate team member. It 
shall be the responsibility of each named agency to keep the 
Office of State Purchasing advised of any changes in 
designated individuals. 

3. The individual agencies represented on 
procurement support teams will have the following primary 
responsibilities. These responsibilities may be enlarged or 
modified as appropriate to each given situation by the 
procurement support team leader with the concurrence of the 
Office of State Purchasing. 

a. Legislative Fiscal Office. The Legislative Fiscal 
Office shall have the primary responsibility for the analysis 
of solicitations and review of funding procedures and 
certification of specific appropriation for the purpose prior to 
the final contract award. 

b. Legislative Legal Staff. The Legislative Legal 
Staff shall have the primary responsibility for developing the 
legal terms and conditions of draft contracts, evaluating the 
legal impact of substantive terms and conditions, review to 
ensure compliance with statutes and regulations, and legal 
negotiations. 

c. Office of State Purchasing. The Office of State 
Purchasing shall have primary responsibility for insuring 
compliance with procurement procedures and regulations, 
the drafting of solicitations, and the evaluation of bids and 
proposals.  

d. The Procuring Agency. The procuring agency 
shall have primary responsibility for the determination of 
compliance of bids or proposals with the functional 
requirements, and for all management decisions at each 
phase of the procurement process. 

4. The Office of Information Technology shall provide 
technical staff to assist the Office of State Purchasing and 
the Procurement Support Team. They shall provide advice 
and support in the area of information technology 
techniques, negotiation techniques, developing the structure 
and content of solicitations, and evaluation of bids or 
proposals, as requested by the Office of State Purchasing. 

B. Procurement Support Team Involvement. The 
Procurement Support Team participation may include 
assistance in finalizing the solicitation. Procurement Support 
Team participation must include, as a minimum, assistance 
in evaluation of bids and proposals, and negotiations of 
contract terms (if applicable). Assistance shall consist of 
reviewing the evaluation process and recommendation of 
award. Procurements requiring this level of support will 
involve the active participation of all of the members of the 
Procurement Support Team as a unit. 

1. The Office of State Purchasing, pursuant to the 
guidelines established therein, shall be responsible for 
convening a Procurement Support Team if the procurement 
is $100,000 or greater. The Office of State Purchasing will 
designate the team leader. 

2. At least four members, one from each office 
designated, must be present to constitute a quorum. 

3. There will be at least one meeting during the 
procurement process. Each member of the Procurement 
Support Team must assist in the evaluation of bids or 
proposals, and negotiation of contracts (if applicable). The 
Procurement Support Team will make written evaluations 
and recommendations as a group; these will not supplant 
written individual agency approvals as required by statute or 
regulations. This review must be indicated by the signature 
of each team member on the Procurement Support Team 
review form, which is maintained by the Office of State 
Purchasing. In the event a team member indicates 
acceptance or concurrence of any activity, and the team 
member's agency subsequently refuses to approve the 
process pursuant to its statutorily required review, the 
reviewing agency and the individual team member must 
submit to the team leader written reasons for their actions. 
The team leader shall file these documents in the final 
activity file. 

4. In situations where formal negotiations with 
prospective vendors or a successful bidder or proposer are 
appropriate, such negotiations will be conducted by a 
negotiation team appointed by the Procurement Support 
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Team leader. One member of the negotiating team will be 
designated as lead negotiator. The results of such 
negotiations will, of course, be subject to all statutorily 
required reviews. The lead negotiator and at least one other 
member of the negotiating team should have formal training 
in contract negotiations. 

5. After the procurement process has been completed, 
one copy of the documentation related to the procurement 
will be retained on file by the Office of State Purchasing. 

6. The Office of State Purchasing shall have final 
statutory approval.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
39:199.C and D. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, LR 10:77 (February 1984), 
amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Office of State Purchasing, LR 21:566 (June 1995), 
LR 29:2380 (November 2003). 

 
Denise Lea 
Director 

0311#049 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of State Purchasing 

LaMAS (Louisiana Multiple Award Schedule)  
State Contracts Based on GSA Prices 

(LAC 34:I.2506) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and under the authority 
of R.S. 39:1581 and R.S. 39:1702.A.(2), Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State 
Purchasing has adopted additional Rules to Chapter 25 on 
Intergovernmental Regulations with the following Section 
on establishment of state contracts based on GSA prices to 
be known as LaMAS (Louisiana Multiple Award Schedules).  

Title 34 
GOVERNMENT CONTRACTS, PROCUREMENT 

AND PROPERTY CONTROL 
Part I.  Purchasing 

Subpart 1.  Central Purchasing Procedures 
Chapter 25. Intergovernmental Regulations 
§2506. LaMAS (Louisiana Multiple Award Schedule) 

State Contracts Based on GSA Prices 
A. The State Central Purchasing Agency of the Division 

of Administration may establish state contracts based on 
GSA (General Service Administration) pricing when it has 
been determined in writing by the director of State 
Purchasing that certain conditions are met, which shall 
become part of the procurement file. 

B. Materials, supplies, or equipment shall not be 
purchased on a state contract based on GSA pricing at a 
price higher than the price of the same item listed on any 
available state purchasing contract. 

C. Establishment of a state contract based on GSA 
pricing will only be considered when there is a valid 
business case. 

D. State agencies shall not procure materials, supplies or 
equipment directly under a GSA contract. The State Central 
Purchasing Agency of the Division of Administration will: 

1. be responsible for analyzing and determining the 
feasibility of establishing a LaMAS state contract based on 
GSA prices; and 

2. issue procedures for establishment and utilization 
of this type of contract. 

E. No use shall be made of a LaMAS contract without 
the participation of a Louisiana licensed dealer or distributor. 
Louisiana licensed dealers or distributors must meet the 
requirement of a resident business defined in R.S. 
39:1591(6). Louisiana licensed dealers or distributors shall 
agree to: 

1. Louisiana terms and conditions; and 
2. provide written consent from the GSA contractor to 

extend current GSA pricing to the state of Louisiana. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

39:1581 and R.S. 39:1702.A.(2). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of State Purchasing, 
LR 29:2381 (November 2003). 

 
Denise Lea 
Director 

0311#050 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Certified Social Work Examiners 

Social Work (LAC 46:XXV.Chapters 1-9) 

The Louisiana Board of Social Work Examiners has 
amended its Rules, which implement the Louisiana Social 
Work Practice Act, R.S. 37:2701-2721. These amendments 
will apply to all credentialed social workers and amend 
§113.Social Work Relationships, §117.Conduct, 
§303.Practice, §305.Qualifications for Registration, 
Certification Licensure, §307.Administration of 
Examination, §309.Application Procedure, §311. Renewals 
and Cancellations, §313.Fees, §315.Board Members, 
§317.Continuing Education Requirements, §505.GSWs 
Seeking the LCSW Credential, §701.Impaired Professional 
Program,  and Chapter 9. Procedural Rules. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXV.  Certified Social Workers 

Chapter 1. Standards of Practice 
§113. Social Work Relationships  

A. - A.2. ... 
3. hiring or bartering for services of a personal nature 

with the client, supervisee or student at the social worker's 
office, home or other location; 

4. - 7. ... 
B. Dual Relationships. Social workers have an 

affirmative duty to maintain the best interest of clients and 
former clients as the predominant consideration during the 
existence of the social worker/client relationship and 
thereafter. While clients and former clients with whom the
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social worker has or had a clinical/therapeutic relationship 
are at greater risk, any relationship with a client or a former 
client exposes clients and former clients to a risk of 
exploitation. Social workers shall be aware, even in those 
instances where other relationships are not specifically 
prohibited, that the social worker by promoting, 
encouraging, or participating in any relationship with a client 
or former client runs a risk of exploitation. 

1. Personal Relationships with Clinical/Therapeutic 
Clients. A social worker shall not engage in a personal 
relationship with a clinical/therapeutic client. When a social 
worker may not avoid a personal relationship with a 
clinical/therapeutic client, the social worker shall take 
necessary protective measures consistent with the best 
interests of the clinical/therapeutic client.  

2. Personal Relationships with Former 
Clinical/Therapeutic Clients. A social worker may engage in 
a personal relationship, except as prohibited by §113.B.4, 
with a former clinical/therapeutic client, if the former 
clinical/therapeutic client was notified of the termination of 
the professional relationship. The social worker has a 
continuing duty to safeguard the best interests of the former 
clinical/therapeutic client. 

3. Sexual Contact with a Client, Supervisee or 
Student. A social worker shall not engage in or request 
sexual contact as defined in §113.B.5, with a client, a client's 
spouse or former spouse, any member of the client's 
immediate family or with any person with whom the client 
has a sexual relationship. The prohibition of this rule extends 
to supervisees and students during such times and under 
such circumstances where the social worker is in a 
supervisory or teaching relationship. This rule also expressly 
prohibits social workers from engaging in any behavior 
which a reasonable person would find sexually stimulating, 
seductive or sexually demeaning when such behavior is 
either directed toward or exhibited in the presence of any 
person with whom sexual contact is otherwise prohibited by 
this rule. Social workers shall not sexually harass a client, 
supervisee or student. 

4. Sexual Contact with a Former Client. A social 
worker who has provided clinical/therapeutic social work 
services to a client shall not engage in or request sexual 
contacts as defined in §113.B.5, with the former client under 
any circumstances. A social worker who has provided other 
social work services to a client should not engage in or 
request sexual contact as defined in §113.B.5, with the 
former client at any time if such contact exposes the former 
client to exploitation or harm. 

5. Sexual Contact Defined. Sexual contact means 
sexual touching, sexual intercourse, either genital or anal, 
cunnilingus, fellatio, or the handling of the breasts, genital 
areas, buttocks, or thighs, whether clothed or unclothed, by 
either the social worker or the client. 

6. Business Relationship with a Client, Supervisee or 
Student. A social worker shall not engage in any type of 
business relationship other than the provision of social work 
services, including social work supervision. Business 
relationships do not include purchases made by the social 
worker from the client, supervisee or student when they are 
providing necessary goods or services to the general public. 

7. Business Relationship with a Former Client. The 
social worker has a continuing duty to safeguard the best 
interests of the former client. 

8. Prior Personal or Business Relationships. A social 
worker should exercise caution before engaging in a 
professional relationship with an individual with whom the 
social worker had a previous personal or business 
relationship. 

9. Social Worker Responsibility. A social worker shall 
be solely responsible for acting appropriately in regard to 
relationships with clients or former clients. A client or a 
former client's initiation of a personal, sexual, or business 
relationship shall not be a defense by the social worker for a 
violation of §113.B.1-8. 

C. - C.9. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:297 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2381 (November 
2003). 
§117. Conduct 

A. - C. ... 
D. Responsibility to the Public. A social worker shall not 

knowingly participate in any activity or practice (including 
hiring, supervising, or concealing) by which activity or 
practice an individual engages or continues to engage in a 
practice of social work which is prohibited by R.S. 37:2709 
or which activity or practice aids or abets any violation of 
R.S. 37:2720. A social worker who becomes aware of an 
activity or practice as described herein or of conduct 
prohibited by R.S. 37:2709 or R.S. 37:2720 shall report such 
information to the board at the earliest opportunity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:299 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2382 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 3. General Provisions 
§303. Practice 

A. - E. ... 
F. An applicant who meets all the requirements of R.S. 

37:2706, 2707, or 2708 and who has worked more than 120 
days as a social worker in the state of Louisiana and who has 
not otherwise violated any part of R.S. 37:2701-2723 or its 
rules, shall be offered the following in the form of a consent 
order and agreement in order to process the application: 

1. completion of five pre-approved continuing 
education hours in ethics to be completed within 90 days of 
issuance of the registration, certification or license, in 
addition to the 20 clock hours of continuing education 
required for the annual renewal of the registration, 
certification or license; and 

2. passing score on an open book examination on the 
Louisiana Social Work Practice Act and the Rules, 
Regulations and Procedures, which include the Standards of 
Practice for Social worke rs within 90 days of the date the 
Consent Order and Agreement is signed; 

F.3. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
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LR 26:301 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2383 (November 
2003). 
§305. Qualifications for Registration, Certification, 

Licensure 
A. - A.1. ... 

2. The applicant shall have his/her university submit 
official transcript indicating the receipt of a bachelor of 
social work, bachelor of arts, or bachelor of science degree 
from an undergraduate social work program, accredited by 
the Council on Social Work Education, or a master's degree 
of social work from a graduate social work program, 
accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

B. - C.3. ... 
4. The Provisional Graduate Social Worker who does 

not pass the credentialing examination for the GSW 
certification within three years from the date of issuance of 
the original certification may apply for the registered social 
work. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:301 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2383 (November 
2003). 
§307. Administration of Examination 

A. - A.1. ... 
2. The Louisiana State Board of Social Work 

Examiners recognizes the examinations of the Association of 
Social Work Boards as the national examination for social 
workers. 

A.3. - B.4. ... 
C. Examination Review Policy. The board may allow 

candidates to review failing examinations, at applicant's 
expense, in accordance with the rules of the Association of 
Social Work Boards. 

D. - D.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:302 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2384 (November 
2003). 
§309. Application Procedure 

A. ... 
B. A new application must be submitted for any change 

in social work credentials. 
C. Applications for license, certification or registration 

are reviewed and approved by the board at regularly 
scheduled board meetings.  

D. Applications must be submitted to the board office at 
least seven days prior to the board's meeting to be eligible 
for consideration. 

E. The board shall refuse to consider any application not 
complete in every detail, including submission of every 
document required by the application form. At the board's 
discretion a more detailed or complete response to any 
request for information set forth on the application form may 
be required. 

F. The application fee for licensure, certification, 
provisional certification, or registration must be submitted in 
the form of a money order or certified check. 

G. Applicants for the LCSW license must submit an 
employer verification affidavit for each place of employment 
in Louisiana after receipt of the MSW degree. 

H. Applicants for the LCSW license must submit proof 
of 24 months of accumulated supervised experience on the 
forms provided by the board. 

I. Non-resident applicants may submit proof of 24 
months of accumulated supervised experience completed 
out-of-state on the forms provided by the board and given by 
a social worker licensed at a level equivalent to the LCSW 
license. 

J. Non-resident applicants may submit verification of 
out-of-state accumulated social work employment to qualify 
for the LCSW license. 

K. The application for licensure, certification, 
provisional certification and registration requests the 
applicant's social security number for identification 
purposes; however, submission is optional. 

L. The official transcript from a university accredited by 
the Council on Social Work Education verifying receipt of a 
master's degree must be received directly from the 
university. 

M. An applicant shall be deemed to have abandoned the 
application if the requirements for the credential are not 
completed within one year of the date on which the 
application was received. An application submitted 
subsequent to the abandoned application shall be treated as a 
new application. 

N. Initial social work credentials issued during the last 
quarter of the fiscal year, (i.e., April, May or June) will not 
be required to renew for the next fiscal year. 

O. Procedure for Social Workers with Felony 
Convictions 

1. The burden of proof for submitting the requested 
documentation is the responsibility of the BSW or MSW 
applicants in order to convince the Louisiana State Board of 
Social Work Examiners that he/she has good moral character 
and fitness to practice social work. 

2. The BSW or MSW applicant should collect and 
deliver the following documents to the board office 
promptly: 

a. copies of all court records containing information 
of the conviction and the imposition of sentence; 

b. the current name, address, and telephone number 
of the judge who imposed sentence and who presided at the 
trial and/or accepted any plea upon which the felony 
conviction was based; 

c. any documentation or records which reflect the 
term of any probationary period, the conditions of probation 
and the fulfillment and completion of all terms and 
conditions of probation; 

d. the current name(s), addresses and telephone 
numbers of any probation officers or persons of similar title 
or job function to whom the applicant has reported or who 
has any information concerning the applicant's conduct 
during any probationary period; 

e. if any form of restitution to a victim or victims 
was part of a sentence imposed or a condition of probation 
the applicant must provide the names, current addresses and 
telephone numbers of any such victim or victims and an 
affidavit of the applicant that affirms that all required 
restitution has been completed; 
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f. if the sentence included any form of 
imprisonment, residence at a half-way house, other forms of 
correctional and/or treatment facilities, the applicant must 
provide the complete address, names and current addresses 
of any persons having information relating to the satisfactory 
completion of any such prison term, residence or treatment, 
and any related documents. In the event that medical, 
psychiatric, psychological, substance or alcohol abuse 
evaluation, treatment and rehabilitation was in any way part 
of the sentence or a term or condition of probation, the 
applicant will execute any releases which may be required 
for the board to obtain information. Such information 
obtained will be maintained by the board on a confidential 
basic; 

g. all records or documents relating to any arrest or 
conviction of any felony or misdemeanor which has 
occurred at any time since the applicant's original felony 
conviction or which occurs at any time during which the 
application is pending or being investigated (this 
requirement is an ongoing responsibility of the applicant);  

h. any documents, records, or information which the 
applicant wishes to present in support of his or her 
application which shows or evidences rehabilitation, positive 
social contributions, awards, commendations, social or 
lifestyle adjustments, positive treatment outcomes, 
employment or academic evaluations, volunteer work or any 
other area in which the applicant participated which would 
reflect on the applicant's good moral character and fitness to 
practice social work. (The applicant should provide the 
names, current addresses and telephone numbers of any 
references or persons having information in support of the 
application. While information in support of an application 
which occurred prior to the conviction may be submitted, the 
board will place greater emphasis on supporting 
documentation and information concerning events which 
have occurred since the felony conviction);  

i. true copies of any licenses, certificates to practice 
or similar documents issued by any board or licensing 
authority of any other state or the state of Louisiana obtained 
by the applicant since the date of the felony conviction. The 
applicant should provide a complete listing of any college, 
graduate school, trade or business school and employers to 
whom he or she has made application since the date of the 
felony conviction. This request includes any applications 
which were denied for any reason, including the felony 
conviction. 

3. BSWs and MSWs should be aware of the 
following: 

a. any delay in providing the requested information 
will delay the board's action on the application; 

b. providing any false or misleading information, 
being evasive, concealing or making material omissions, or 
failing to cooperate shall form a basis for the denial of the 
application; 

c. in the event that the application is  denied by the 
board, the applicant may request a Compliance Hearing 
provided the application for such a hearing is made in 
writing within 30 days after the applicant receives the notice 
of the denial of the application. The request shall contain the 
applicant's receipt of the notice of the denial of the 
application, and the applicant's grounds for opposition to the

denial of the application. The applicant is further aware that 
at such a hearing the applicant may be represented by legal 
counsel and the applicant bears the burden to establish that 
he or she meets the criteria for licensure; 

d. the intent of the above enumerated items is to 
obtain the information upon which the board will evaluate 
the application. 

P. Additional Requirements for International 
Applicants/Speakers of English as a Second Language 

1. Any document required to be submitted to the 
board with an application for license, certification or 
registration shall be in the English language, or accompanied 
by a certified translation thereof into the English language. 

2. As a condition of the board's consideration of the 
application of a graduate of a foreign college or university, 
the applicant shall provide the board with a statement from 
the Council on Social Work Education that the applicant's 
degree is equivalent to an accredited social work degree in 
the United States. 

3. Applicants moving into the United States from out 
of the country may have 120 days to complete the 
application process to allow time to complete the additional 
requirements for foreign graduates/speakers of English as a 
second language. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:302 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2383 (November 
2003). 
§311. Renewals and Cancellation 

A. Renewal notices are mailed on June 20 of each year. 
The renewal fee must be postmarked on or before November 
30, to avoid late renewal fee. 

B. ... 
C. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 

programs approved by the board shall be obtained prior to 
June 30 of each year. See §317 for rules on acceptable 
continuing education. 

D. ... 
E. Without payment of the lapsed fee, the license, 

certification or registration is canceled after February 28, 
and a certified notice of cancellation is mailed. Payment 
must be postmarked on or before February 28. 

F. It is the social worker's responsibility to keep the 
board informed of his/her current mailing address. 

G. - I. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:304 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2384 (November 
2003). 
§313. Fees 

A. ... 
 

* * * 
Late Renewal Fee for LCSW  
(postmarked after November 30) 

$150 

Late Renewal Fee for GSW  
(postmarked after November 30) 

 100 

Late Renewal Fee for RSW  
(postmarked after November 30) 

  50 
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* * *  
Fee for mailing lists 
per label plus postage and handling 

$0.05 

* * *  
Fee for Open Book Examination on Social Work 
Practice Act and Rules, Standards and Procedures 

$25 per 
administration 

* * *  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:304 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2384 (November 
2003). 
§315. Board Members 

A. Board Member Appointments 
1. Whenever possible the board office shall notify all 

social workers of vacancies that occur on the board at least 
45 days prior to the vacancy. 

a. The notice to all social workers shall state the 
requirements for the vacant board position(s) and the date by 
which social workers or members of the public must submit 
a letter of interest and resume. 

b. The notice to all social workers shall also include 
the names and addresses of all qualified social work 
membership organizations who meet the legal requirements 
to submit names for service on the board. 

B. Officers. The board shall elect annually at the June 
board meeting, a chairman, vice-chairman, and 
secretary/treasurer whose responsibilities are included in the 
policy manual. 

C. Meetings 
1. The board shall schedule monthly meetings in 

December for the following calendar year. 
2. A schedule of meeting dates shall be published in 

the board newsletter.  
3. Any board member who misses three board 

meetings, barring extenuating circumstances approved by 
the board, during the course of one calendar year shall resign 
from the board. 

4. Special travel requests, other than regularly 
monthly meetings, must be approved by the board at regular 
monthly meetings. 

D. Expense Reimbursement 
1. Expenses charged to the board must be consistent 

with the time frame and mission of board meetings and other 
function. Expenses which are exceptions to this policy may 
be paid with justification and approval by the board. 

2. Board members shall be reimbursed for actual 
traveling, incidental, and clerical expenses incurred while 
engaged in official duties. 

a. Mileage expenses shall be reimbursed at the 
official state rate. 

b. Airfare expenses must be at the state contract rate 
or economy class rate when contract rates are not available. 

c. Lodging and meals shall be reimbursed at actual 
cost if receipts are submitted. Without receipts, lodging and 
meals shall be reimbursed at the appropriate state rate. 

d. Incidental expenses are defined as telephone 
calls, fees for storage and handling of equipment, tips for 
baggage handling, parking fees, ferry fees, and road and 
bridge tolls. 

3. Registration fees for conferences and room rental 
for a conference meeting are reimbursed at actual cost, but 
must be approved by the board at a regular monthly meeting. 

4. Clerical expenses for individual board members 
shall be pre-approved by the board at a regular monthly 
board meeting. 

E. Vacancies. The board shall notify all social workers 
and professional social work organizations of vacancies on 
the board, the qualifications required to serve, and the 
process for nominations by placing a notice in the board's 
newsletter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:304 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2385 (November 
2003). 
§317. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. The purpose of continuing education is to protect the 
public by: 

1. ensuring that the practitioner has formal 
opportunities to upgrade and update professional knowledge 
and skills; and 

2. encouraging the practitioner to learn from other 
professionals; and 

3. assisting the professional to expand his/her 
expanded professional resource network. 

B. Consequently, approved learning situations emphasize 
opportunities for professional interaction and relationship-
building. 

C. Any credentialed social worker may be audited. It is 
important to keep good records of continuing education 
experiences for at least one year and to be able to explain the 
nature of the content covered. 

D. Random audits are done to ensure that the continuing 
education mandate is applied fairly to all credentialed social 
workers. 

E. For audit purposes, only certificates of attendance, 
sign-in sheets signed by a representative of the sponsoring 
organization, or an original letter from the sponsoring 
organization will be accepted as proof of attendance for 
continuing education events. 

F. The collection period for continuing education hours 
is July 1, through June 30 of each fiscal year.  

G. Continuing education hours are pro-rated as follows 
during the initial year of registration, certification or 
licensure. 

 
Month Received Hours Required 

April, May, June   0 
July, August, September 20 
October, November, December 15 
January, February, March 10 

 
H. Continuing education hours collected in the month of 

June may be used for the current collection period or may be 
carried over to the next collection period. 

I. In the case of extenuating circumstances, when the 
individual does not fulfill the continuing education 
requirements, the individual shall submit a written request 
for extension to the board for consideration. 
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J. Continuing Education Requirements for the 
Registered Social Worker 

1. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 
programs approved by the board shall be obtained prior to 
each renewal date including three clock hours in social work 
ethics once every two years. 

K. Continuing Education Requirements for Graduate 
Social Worker 

1. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 
programs approved by the board shall be obtained prior to 
each renewal date, including three clock hours in social 
work ethics once every two years. 

L. Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed 
Clinical Social Worker 

1. Twenty clock hours of continuing education in 
programs approved by the board shall be obtained prior to 
each renewal date to include: 

a. three clock hours in social work ethics once 
every two years; 

b. ten clock hours in social work supervision, once 
every five years to maintain the board approved supervisor 
status, and 

c. ten clock hours each year shall be clinical content 
including diagnosis and treatment. 

2. For the collection period July 1, 1999 through June 
30, 2000 only, LCSWs must collect 20 clock hours of 
continuing education in programs approved by the board to 
include: 

a. three clock hours in social work ethics once 
every two years; 

b. ten clock hours in social work supervision, once 
every five years to maintain the board approved clinical 
supervisor status; and 

c. five clock hours of clinical content, including 
diagnosis and treatment. 

M. The following learning forums are approved for 
continuing education and must contain content applicable to 
social work practice. 

1. Educational offerings (workshops, conferences, 
courses, seminars, teleconferences, telecourses, and Internet 
courses) sponsored by professional organizations such as: 
Louisiana Council for Social Work Education, National 
Association of Social Workers, Clinical Social Work 
Federation, Council on Social Work Education, American 
Medical Association, American Psychiatric Association, 
American Psychological Association, American Hospital 
Association and Association of Social Work Boards or other 
appropriate professional entities. Workshops with content 
applicable to social work practice which are offered by 
appropriate professional entities or individuals and approved 
by one of the approval organizations for continuing 
education credits are also acceptable. 

a. Should the individual social worker make the 
determination that an education offering which is not pre-
approved by one of the approval organizations has content 
applicable to social work practice, the social worker may 
complete and submit the Guide for Assessment of Continuing 
Education (§317.P) to the board for consideration. 

2. Distance learning (teleconferences, telecourses, and 
Internet courses sponsored by entities listed in §317.L.1, or 
an accredited university) cannot exceed a total of 10 clock 

hours of the required 20 clock hours of continuing education 
required annually for renewal of social work credentials. 

3. Continuing education activities or academic courses 
provided by accredited schools of social work. Academic 
course work counts per actual class hour.  

4. Presentations of content applicable to social work 
practice at professional conferences, staff development 
meetings, and other appropriate forums in which you are the 
primary presenter. These presentations count 1 1/2 times the 
actual time of the presentation, in order to give credit for 
preparation time. (Example: You prepare a presentation on 
Holiday Stress that lasts one hour. You will receive 1 1/2 
hours continuing education credit for this presentation.) 
Presentation and preparation time may only be counted once 
for each topic. Academic preparation and teaching of social 
work content (undergraduate or graduate) may be counted 
once in the same manner, unless the course has been revised 
to include substantially new content and text books. Please 
be prepared to provide the exact nature of the content and 
presentation. 

5. Teleconferences which deal with content applicable 
to social work practice, are presented by a creditable and 
knowledgeable presenter, and are aimed at a professional 
audience. 

6. Attendance at staff development presentations with 
content applicable to social work practice (such as staff 
meeting with a formal and in-depth presentation on working 
with clients who present borderline symptoms, etc.). Please 
be prepared to provide the dates and nature of the content 
covered. Case based staffing meetings are not included as 
appropriate continuing education experiences. 

7. Attendance at professional social work meetings, 
Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) item writing 
workshops, symposiums, panel discussions, or conferences 
sponsored by the professional associations suggested in 
§317.L.1. Please be prepared to provide the dates and nature 
of content or consultation covered. 

8. Formal study groups of three or more participants. 
Must submit name, address, telephone number and 
credentials of group members to the board office. Study 
groups should maintain records of topics, attendance, 
meeting times, and presenters for audit purposes. 

9. Contracted professional consultation which the 
credentialed social worker receives. Must provide the paid 
consultants name, address, telephone number, credentials, 
and the dates and focus of consultation. 

10. Preparation of substantial written material with 
content applicable to social work practice which requires 
literature search, research, and explication of social work 
content (such as writing a social work artic le or book for 
publication, or a major grant application). Please provide 
specific information about the nature of the written work, the 
effort required, and the publisher or funding agency. These 
activities may be counted for no more than five hours 
continuing education. 

11. Social workers should be doing consistent 
independent study. However, such study does not meet the 
goal of increasing professional relationships and networks. 
Consequently self-study programs are approved only for 
rural areas or if the licensee is physically incapacitated. All 
self-study programs must receive pre-approval from the 
board. 
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N. The intent of the continuing education requirement is 
to enhance competence, not to cause undue expense or 
burden to the credentialed social worker. The board 
encourages social workers to develop learning options which 
enhance their abilities to do their various social work roles. 
For instance: 

1. a study group might have presentations from 
professionals who represent different community resources 
for clients, or might have formal book reviews and 
discussions of substantial social work books; 

2. a staff development meeting might examine recent 
federal or state policies which affect social work services, or 
ways to increase cultural diversity and sensitivity among 
staff; 

3. a social work faculty meeting might have a formal 
presentation on how to work with students who have 
diagnosed mental health conditions; 

4. an administrator might contract for consultation on 
how to deal with staff who are drug or alcohol impaired. 

O. The following learning situations will not be 
accepted: 

1. banquet speeches; 
2. non-social work content courses not directly related 

to enhancement of social work skills or performance as a 
social work employee. (Example: Computer, financial or 
business management courses designed to enhance the 
business of private practice); 

3. staff orientation, administrative staff meetings and 
case management meetings; 

4. book reports or critiques of professional journal 
articles. 

P. Guide for Assessment of Continuing Education. As 
continuing education events vary across the categories listed 
below, the appropriateness of considering them as acceptable 
continuing education also varies. An event must receive a 
total score (combination of all three sections) of 10 to be 
"clearly acceptable" for continuing education to renew your 
social work credential. 

 
PROGRAM CONTENT 

(Clearly Acceptable) 
_____6) Mainstream social work knowledge, skills and values 
_____6) Specialized social work knowledge, skills and values 
_____4) Information from related fields that is useful for social 

work practice 
_____2) Developing areas that may lack strong research, 

support or clear application 
_____0) Content that is specifically not acceptable or not 

related to social work practice 
(Clearly Not Acceptable) 
 

PROGRAM PRESENTER 
(Clearly Acceptable) 

_____5) Social worker with appropriate expertise in content 
area 

_____4) Related professional with ability to connect content to 
social work practice 

_____2) Lay-person (e.g., client) on the impact of 
needing/receiving services 

_____0) Presenter with no apparent professional qualifications 
nor link to social work practice 
(Clearly Not Acceptable) 

PROGRAM AUDIENCE 
(Clearly Acceptable) 

_____4) Social work practitioners/students 
_____4) Interdisciplinary professional audience that may 

include social workers 
_____3) Audience presumed to be primarily from another 

profession (e.g., nursing) 
_____1) Audience open to the general public 
_____0) Audience presumed to be primarily the general public 

(Clearly Not Acceptable) 
 

Total Score _____(add score from each section to get Total Score) 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.(C) and (G) and 37:2714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:305 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2386 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 5. Minimum Supervision Requirements 
§503. GSWs Seeking the LCSW Credential 

A. Supervision for the LCSW license can begin after the 
MSW obtains Graduate Social Work or Provisional Graduate 
Social Work certification. 

B. GSWs seeking the LCSW credential must receive a 
minimum of 24 accumulated calendar months of supervised 
full-time postgraduate social work practice under the 
supervision of a Board Approved Clinical Supervisor 
(BACS). 

C. MSW applicants who began their supervised 
experience on or before December 31, 1999 and filed a 
Contract for Supervision at the board office postmarked on 
or before December 31, 1999, shall be required to submit 
only 24 accumulated months of supervised post graduate 
social work experience in accordance with the board's 
supervision rules and on the forms provided by the board to 
qualify for the LCSW examination and license. 

D. A calendar month is counted from the first working 
day of the month to the last day of that month. GSWs may 
obtain a list of Board-Approved Clinical Supervisors 
(BACS) from the board office. 

E. Face-to-face supervision for licensure must total at 
least 96 hours. 

F. Supervision segments of no fewer than 30 minutes 
will be counted toward meeting the supervision requirement. 

G. The requirement for supervision is at least four hours 
per calendar month with at least two different supervision 
contacts per month. 

H. One-half (48 hours maximum) of the supervision 
requirement may be met through group supervision, 
occurring in increments of no more than two hours per 
group. No more than five supervisees may be involved in 
supervision groups. 

I. The supervisee and supervisor must keep accurate 
records of both the dates of supervision times and the hours 
spent in supervision for potential audit of records. This 
information must be submitted to the board office on the 
supervision form entitled Record of Supervision.  

J. Supervised work experience eligible to be counted 
towards licensure begins on the first working day of the first 
full calendar month after the first supervisory session.   
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K. School social workers may only count supervision 
that occurs during the full months in which they are 
employed in a social work position. 

L. The original plan of supervision must be submitted to 
the board office within 60 days of the first supervision 
session. A plan of supervision shall be submitted on each 
supervision experience. 

M. The individual completing supervision toward the 
LCSW supervised experience requirement must use the 
following forms to submit their supervision to the board 
office: 

1. registration of supervision; 
2. employer verification affidavit; 
3. plan of supervision; 
4. record of supervision; 
5. evaluation of supervision; 
6. termination of supervision; 
7. professional experience verification affidavit. 

N. Form must be legible. Preferably, material on forms 
should be typed, but if not typed, the forms must be printed 
neatly and legibly. Forms which are not legible will be 
returned. 

O. Only original, unaltered supervision forms may be 
submitted to the board office. Copies, faxes, or forms with 
any alterations (such as white-out or mark-outs) will not be 
accepted. 

P. To register her/his intent to initiate supervision, the 
GSW must submit the completed Registration of 
Supervision, with the registration fee of $35. 

Q. The plan for supervision will be reviewed and 
revisions may be required. Revisions shall be submitted to 
the board office within 30 days of receipt by the 
supervisee/supervisor. 

R. The supervisee shall submit an employer verification 
affidavit form from each place of social work employment 
after she/he receives the MSW degree. The form shall be 
completed by the employer, not the supervisor (unless the 
employer and the supervisor are one and the same). 

S. Termination and evaluation forms shall be submitted 
to the board office at the end of the supervisory period, and 
must clearly designate the beginning and ending dates of 
supervision. 

T. Sometimes it is necessary for a supervisor to 
discontinue supervising a GSW for licensure.  When this 
occurs, no matter what length of time the supervisor actually 
supervised the supervisee, the supervisor must submit an 
Evaluation and Termination form. 

U. The professional experience verification affidavit 
shall be submitted to the board office at the end of the 36 
accumulated months of work experience from each place of 
employment. 

V. The supervisor has a professional responsibility to 
honor his/her commitment to supervise responsibly, which 
includes submitting forms on a timely basis. Should the 
supervisor fail to submit forms appropriately, legibly, and on 
a timely basis, the board reserves the right to withdraw the 
BACS designation from the supervisor.  

W. When supervision is provided to a GSW by an  
LCSW-BACS supervisor, not an agency employee, social 
work ethics require that the LCSW-BACS take responsibility 
for securing agency agreement to the Plan of Supervision, 

whether the fee for supervision is paid by the agency or the 
supervisee. 

1. The LCSW-BACS is responsible for clarifying with 
the agency administration, the supervisory role 
responsibilities and the content of supervision. 

2. Under such a plan the supervisee's written 
evaluation is made available to the agency if the agency is 
paying for the supervision. If the supervisee is paying the 
fee, the evaluation is the supervisee's property. 

X. If the GSW receives supervision outside of the state 
of Louisiana, that supervision will be accepted if: 

1. the supervisor has completed the authorized forms 
of the Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners; 

2. the supervisor was licensed at the time of 
supervision in the other state and submits the license 
verification of out-of-state supervisor form (available from 
board office); 

3. the supervisor was certified by the Academy of 
Certified Social Workers (ACSW) at the time of supervision, 
which the supervisor must verify. 

Y. A supervisory record shall include: 
1. plan for supervision; 
2. learning assessment of supervisee; 
3. record of all supervisory sessions, and any canceled 

or missed appointments; 
4. overview of cases discussed, as well as significant 

decisions made; 
5. any ethical concerns; 
6. significant problems arising in supervision, and 

how they were resolved; 
7. memos and correspondence; 
8. for all above data, dates completed and person 

completing the item. 
Z. The board's publication, Supervision for Professional 

Development and Public Protection: A Guide, provides more 
information relative to supervision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:307 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2387 (November 
2003). 
§507. Board-Approved Clinical Supervisor 

A. To qualify for the Board-Approved Clinical 
Supervisor (BACS) designation, a social worker must: 

1. hold the LCSW license; 
2. verify at least 3 years of full-time social work 

experience at the LCSW level; 
3. submit two letters of reference to the board from 

other professionals (one of whom should be an LCSW) who 
are familiar with the licensee's work, including supervision 
skills; 

4. participate in a board orientation workshop; 
5. participate in a board pre-approved workshop on 

the theory and techniques of supervision as well as 
procedures used in supervision toward licensure of at least 
10 hours duration; 

6. all requirements must be met before the social 
worker becomes a BACS. 

B. To continue the BACS designation in good standing, 
the social worker mu st:  

1. maintain LCSW licensure; 
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2. appropriately conduct all supervisory duties 
explicated in §503. Failure to comply with all regulations 
may result in the board lifting the BACS designation from 
the LCSW License; 

3. participate in a board pre-approved workshop on 
the theory and techniques of supervision as well as 
procedures used toward licensure of at least 10 hours 
duration once every five years effective July 1, 1995. This 
means those BACS supervisors who achieved their BACS 
status before July 1, 1995 must attend another supervision 
workshop before June 30, 2000 and every five year period 
thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 26:308 (February 2000), amended LR 29:2388 (November 
2003). 
Chapter 7. Impaired Professional Program Authority 
§701. Authority 

A. The Louisiana State Board of Social Work Examiners 
recognizes that impairments in the functioning of persons 
licensed, credentialed or registered to practice under the 
auspices of the Louisiana Social Work Practice Act can 
affect competent delivery of social work services and impair 
professional judgment. 

B. Therefore, in order to safeguard the public health, 
safety, and welfare of the people of this state, as mandated 
by R.S. 37:2701, the Louisiana State Board of Social Work 
Examiners establishes the Social Work Impaired 
Professional Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2389 (November 2003). 
§703. Purpose and Scope 

A. The goal of the Social Work Impaired Professional 
Program is to provide for public protection through 
monitoring and a remediative course of action applicable to 
social workers who are functionally impaired in their ability 
to safely practice social work. Impairments include, but are 
not limited to mental, physical, and addictive disorders or 
other conditions. The program also supports recovery 
through preventive measures and allows entrance into the 
program before harm occurs. 

B. A social worker who meets the requirements of R.S. 
37:2706, 2707 or 2708 may enter the program subsequent to 
voluntary disclosure of impairment via an initial or renewal 
application for a credential. Entrance into the program may 
also occur by determination of the board, following 
involuntary disclosure of impairment in accordance with 
R.S. 37:2717(A)(2) or R.S. 37:2717(B)(4), or by other 
circumstances deemed appropriate by the board. 
Participation in the program may hence be required as a 
prerequisite to continued social work practice in accordance 
with the conditions of any consent order, compliance or 
adjudication hearing. A social worker who enters the 
program will be allowed to maintain his/her social work 
credentials while in compliance with the requirements of 
his/her program. 

C. Professionals who participate in evaluation, 
monitoring or treatment and who are approved or designated 

by the board to render these services are afforded the 
immunity provisions of the Social Work Practice Act, R.S. 
37:2723. The social worker will be responsible for executing 
all required releases of information and authorizations 
required for the board or its designees to obtain information, 
from any monitor, treatment or service provider concerning 
the social workers progress and participation in the program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2389 (November 2003). 
§705. Program Implementation 

A. The board may utilize its discretionary authority to 
require or exclude specific components of this program for 
participants based upon determination of the nature and 
severity of the impairment. Participation in the Social Work 
Impaired Professional Program may consist of all or part of 
the following components. 

1. The program participant may be required to submit 
to an assessment relative to the impairment. 

a. This assessment will be completed by a licensed 
professional who is pre-approved by the board. 

b. The format and content of this assessment will 
meet the requirements designated by the board, but will at a 
minimum contain information concerning: 
 i. previous inpatient/outpatient treatment 
episodes; 
 ii. relapse history; 
 iii. an assessment of the participant's psychosocial, 
physical and other needs relative to the impairment; and 
 iv. recommendations for future treatment. 

c. The assessment will be forwarded to the board by 
the professional completing the assessment, and received by 
the board no later than 30 days following the board's 
determination of the participant's eligibility or requirement 
to participate in the program. 

2. The participant may be required to submit to 
ongoing monitoring for a period of up to five years. 

a. The beginning date of the monitoring period will 
be the date upon which a consent order is formally signed by 
the social worker and the board, or the date of the board's 
official decision to require program participation in the event 
of an adjudication hearing. 

3. During the monitoring period the social worker 
may be required to submit to random bi-monthly drug and/or 
alcohol screenings as determined appropriate by the board, 
or other monitoring requirements which are pertinent and 
relative to the documented impairment. 

a. The interval and timing of the required screening 
will be directed by a monitor who is pre-approved by the 
board. This monitor will be considered to have been duly 
selected by the board as its agent for the purposes of 
directing the required screens. 

b. The results and reports of the results of all 
screens will be submitted to the board before the final 
business day of the month following the date of the screen. 

4. Receipt by the board of any positive, unexplained 
substance abuse/drug screen or reports of non-compliance or 
complications relative to the impairment during the 
monitoring period may result in suspension, or other 
appropriate action pertaining to the social workers credential 
as determined appropriate by the board. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2390

5. When the impairment is substance related, the 
social worker may be required to attend Twelve Step 
meetings on a regular basis as determined appropriate by the 
designated licensed substance abuse professional, and as 
approved or required by the board, but should be no less 
than four times monthly. 

a. A pre-approved monthly log must be submitted 
to and received by the board before the final business day of 
the month following completion of the required meetings. It 
is the social worker's responsibility to ensure that these logs 
are properly completed and received by the board by the 
designated date. 

b. The log requires documentation of the name of 
the sponsor, and meeting dates and times. 

c. Submission of logs will be required for at least 
one year of program participation, but may be required for 
any period of time up to and including the entire term of 
monitoring as determined by the designated licensed 
substance abuse professional and as approved or required by 
the board. 

6. During the monitoring period the social worker 
may be required to participate in professional supervision 
with a board approved and designated LCSW at a frequency 
determined by the board for a period of time up to and 
including the entire five year period of monitoring. 

7. In the event that a social worker relocates to 
another jurisdiction, the social worker will within five days 
of relocating be required to either enroll in the other 
jurisdiction's impaired professional program and have the 
reports required under that agreement sent to the Louisiana 
State Board of Social Work Examiners, or if the other 
jurisdiction has no impaired professional program, the social 
worker will notify the licensing board of that jurisdiction 
that the social worker is impaired and enrolled in the 
Louisiana Social Work Impaired Professional Program. 
Should the social worker fail to adhere to this requirement, 
in addition to being deemed in violation of the program 
requirements and corresponding consent order or 
adjudication, the social worker's social work credential will 
be suspended. 

8. The social worker shall notify the board office by 
telephone within 48 hours and in writing within five working 
days of any changes of the social worker's home or work 
address, telephone number, employment status, employer 
and/or change in scope or nature of practice. The social 
worker may satisfy the notice by telephone requirement by 
leaving a voice message at the board office at times when 
the office is closed. 

9. Other requirements for participation in the program 
may include but are not limited to limitations of social work 
practice. 

10. The board, in addition to other conditions, may 
require that the social worker obtain regularly scheduled 
therapy (at a prescribed interval). 

a. The type and interval of therapy may be 
recommended by the designated pre-approved licensed 
professional responsible for program monitoring, as 
approved by the board. 

b. The type and interval of therapy may be required 
by the board. 

c. The social worker may choose the licensed 
substance abuse professional, or other qualified professional 

to provide this therapy, subject to board approval and 
designation. 

11. Notification of a violation of the terms or 
conditions of this agreement, consent order or adjudication 
order may result in the immediate suspension of the 
individual's social work credential to practice in the state of 
Louisiana. 

12. The social worker shall be responsible for all costs 
incurred in complying with the terms of this agreement, 
including but not limited to therapy, assessments, 
supervision, drug/alcohol screens and reproduction of 
treatment or other records. 

13. The social worker must submit to the board an 
appropriately notarized statement indicating acceptance of 
the required conditions of participation in the Social Work 
Impaired Professional Program as mandated by the board, 
along with all initial (or updated) releases or authorizations 
for the board or its designees to obtain information 
concerning the social worker's participation and progress in 
the program. This statement and the required releases and 
authorizations must be submitted prior to the issuance of any 
initial credential or re -issuance of a renewal of a credential.  

14. The board will, to the full extent permissible under 
R.S. 44:4(26), maintain an agreement or consent order 
relating to the social worker's participation in the Social 
Work Impaired Professional Program as a confidential 
matter. The board retains the discretion to share information 
it deems necessary with those persons providing 
evaluation/assessment, therapy, treatment, supervision, 
monitoring or drug/alcohol testing or reports. Violation of 
any terms, conditions or requirements contained in any 
consent order, or board decision can result in a loss of the 
confidential status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2389 (November 2003). 
Chapter 9. Procedural Rules 
§901. Authority 

A. Consistent with the legislative purpose specified in 
R.S. 37:2701 through 2723, and to protect the safety and 
welfare of the people of this state against unauthorized, 
unqualified and improper practice of social work, the 
following rules, standards, and procedures are established 
under the board's rule making authority of R.S. 37:2705(C), 
37:2717(C)(E) and R.S. 49:952. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2390 (November 2003). 
§903. Complaint Origination 

A. The board is authorized to receive from any person a 
complaint or complaints against social workers licensed, 
certified, provisionally certified, or registered under R.S. 
2701 et seq., (hereinafter referred to as social workers), as 
well as complaints against any level of social work 
applicant. Throughout these rules, the term license or 
licensed includes the term certification, provisional 
certification, and registration and also applies to any social 
workers who are certified, provisionally certified, or 
registered. The board is also authorized to initiate such 
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complaint(s) when the board otherwise possesses or obtains 
information which satisfies the board that such a complaint 
is warranted. 

B. Any complaint bearing on a social worker's 
professional competence, conviction of a crime, 
unauthorized practice, the assisting of unauthorized practice, 
mental competence, neglect of practice, or violation of the 
Social Work Practice Act (including these rules and 
standards), or for any of the causes specified for disciplinary 
action in R.S. 37:2717 shall be submitted to the board in a 
timely manner and in writing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2390 (November 2003). 
§905. Investigation Procedures 

A. When the board receives a written complaint, report, 
or other information which, if established as being true, 
would constitute just cause under the law for revocation, 
suspension, denial of license, or any other form of discipline 
specified in R.S. 37:2717(B), the board may refer the 
complaint, report or information to the board administrator 
and/or to the board's designated complaint investigation 
officer (hereinafter referred to as the CIO). The CIO may be 
an employee of the board or provide investigation services 
under contract with the board. The board's administrator and 
staff and/or the CIO shall conduct such investigation or 
inquiry as the board deems appropriate to determine whether 
there is probable cause to initiate formal administrative 
proceedings against the involved social worker. To assist in 
the investigation, the board is authorized to issue, as 
necessary or upon request, such investigative subpoenas as 
may be required to obtain documents, the appearance of 
witnesses, or sworn statements or testimony. 

B. Except for the notice required by §711.B and §737.C, 
all other notices, correspondence or written communication 
relating to complaints, investigations, notices of 
investigations, conferences, decisions, orders, etc., may be 
served on or delivered to the involved social worker, 
complainant(s), or witnesses by regular mail or, when 
deemed appropriate or necessary by the board or its 
administrator, by personal delivery (service) or other 
available means. Notices shall be delivered with the 
designation "personal and confidential" clearly marked on 
the outside of the envelope. 

C. Under normal circumstances, the involved social 
worker will receive prompt written notice from the board's 
administrator of the initiation or pendency of an 
investigation. The notice shall contain sufficient detail of the 
nature and the basis of the complaint or other information 
giving rise to the investigation, as well as a preliminary 
statement of the possible violations involved. The notice 
shall also provide the social worker with an opportunity to 
respond in writing to the complaint or to provide other 
information relating to the investigation. When such notice, 
in the judgment of the CIO and/or the board's administrator, 
is likely to prejudice the investigation, the notice may be 
delayed. Any delay in the notice to the involved social 
worker beyond the first 20 days of the investigation will 
require the board's administrator to obtain board approval for 
any additional delay. 

D. Board members as members assigned by the agency 
to make findings of fact and conclusions of law will not and 
may not participate in the investigation. No board member 
shall accept contact or communicate with a social worker 
involved in an investigation, any person on behalf of the 
social worker, legal counsel for any party, the complainant, 
witness, or potential witness. If any of these persons attempt 
to contact a board member, the board member shall promptly 
refer the matter to the board's administrator and/or the 
board's legal counsel. This restriction conforms with R.S. 
49:960(A) and is not intended to restrict those routine 
communications which are in no way related to a case under 
active investigation or adjudication. 

E. The investigation and recommended action or report 
should be completed within 60 days following the date of 
the board's written referral for investigation. If the board's 
administrator and/or CIO shows good cause, the board may 
extend the time for investigation for a reasonable time not to 
exceed an additional 60-day period. 

F. The board will not authorize a delay in notice to the 
involved social worker or an extension of time for 
concluding an investigation if this action would be 
inconsistent with the limitations set out in R.S. 37:21. The 
board shall schedule hearings and provide notice of hearings 
consistent with those statutory limitations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2391 (November 2003). 
§907. Disposition of Investigation 

A. The board may, before, during, or following an 
investigation, or after the filing of an administrative 
complaint, dispose of any complaint informally through 
correspondence or conference with the social worker and/or 
the complainant. This action may occur whether requested 
by the involved social worker or recommended by the CIO, 
or at any time as deemed appropriate by the board. Such 
informal resolution may take the form of any informal 
disposition recognized in R.S. 49:955(D) or any other form 
of agreement which adequately addresses the complaint or 
the matter under investigation. Such agreement is binding 
upon the involved social worker and the board. When an 
informal disposition occurs after an administrative complaint 
is filed with the board, the agreement requires the 
concurrence of the assistant attorney general handling the 
case. This concurrence further requires a certification by the 
assistant attorney general that the social worker's conduct as 
specified in the informal disposition documents is consistent 
with the known evidence which could be presented at an 
adjudication hearing. 

B. Any attempt by the board to resolve a complaint by 
informal disposition which does not result in a disposition of 
the complaint or matter under investigation, will in no way 
preclude further investigation of that matter or complaint. 
The participation in any such attempt by the board or any of 
its members will in no way disqualify the board or any of its 
members from serving on an adjudication hearing panel 
dealing with an administrative complaint on the same 
subject matter as the attempted informal resolution. The 
board and the hearing panel is authorized to obtain waivers 
related to their participation in informal disposition 
procedures signed by the involved social worker and the 
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social worker's legal counsel, if any, prior to its participation 
in such informal procedures. 

C. At the conclusion of the investigation, the board's 
administrator will receive a written report from the CIO 
and/or the board's administrative staff. The written report 
shall provide a summary of the complaint or basis for the 
investigation, a general statement of the evidence relating to 
the investigation and the investigator's determination and 
recommendation. If the report contains a recommendation 
that the complaint be dismissed due to a lack of evidence, 
inadequate legal cause for the filing of an administrative 
complaint, or for any other reason, the administrator 
promptly shall notify the board chairperson who will, on a 
rotating basis, designate a board member to review the 
complaint, the complete investigative materials of the CIO 
or the board's administrative staff, and any investigative 
reports and recommendations. This review shall include an 
assessment of the quality and thoroughness of the 
investigation and the legal and/or factual basis for the 
recommended dismissal. The reviewing board member shall 
promptly report to the board his or her assessment of the 
investigation and the basis for the recommended dismissal. 
Unless the complaint is the subject of an informal 
disposition as specified in Subsection A above, no complaint 
may be dismissed without board member review of the 
investigation and a vote of the board on the recommendation 
of the investigator's report. The board may accept the 
recommendation of the report and dismiss the complaint or 
may refer the matter back to the board's administrator for 
further investigation as it deems necessary. In the event the 
board votes to dismiss the complaint, both the involved 
social worker and the complainant will be notified in writing 
concerning the board's action. Notwithstanding §705.D, no 
board member will be disqualified from serving on a hearing 
panel on a complaint merely because the board member was 
designated to review the complaint or participated in a vote 
related to the recommendation of the dismissal of any 
complaint. 

D. If the investigation report contains a determination 
that there is probable cause to believe that the involved 
social worker has engaged or is engaging in conduct, acts, or 
omissions constituting legal cause under the law, these rules 
and regulations, or ethical standards for any form of 
disciplinary action as specified in R.S. 37:2717, then the 
administrator shall promptly notify the attorney general or 
the assistant attorney general assigned to prosecute such 
matters on behalf of the state pursuant to R.S. 37:2717(C). 
The notice shall deliver to the assistant attorney general all 
investigative reports, statements, notes, recordings, court 
records, and other data obtained in the course of the 
investigation. It will also request the preparation of a draft of 
an administrative complaint regarding any violations which 
are disclosed in or suggested by the investigation. The 
assistant attorney general prosecuting the matter may request 
and obtain other information from the board's administrator, 
including access to consultants to assess the results of the 
investigation and prepare a draft of the administrative 
complaint. The draft of the administrative complaint shall 
identify the involved social worker and be prepared in the 
same form and content as the administrative complaint 
specified in §709.B of these rules. The draft of the 
administrative complaint shall be signed by the assistant 

attorney general and delivered to the board's administrator 
within 30 days of the notice and delivery to the assistant 
attorney general of the investigation, report and specified 
materials. The board's administrator is authorized to extend 
the time for the submission of the draft of the administrative 
complaint for a reasonable time as requested by the assistant 
attorney general, provided that such extensions do not 
foreclose action on the complaint or the scheduling of a 
hearing due to the limitations contained in R.S. 37:21. 

E. Upon receiving a signed draft of the administrative 
complaint, the administrator shall mail a copy of the draft 
complaint together with a notice letter to the involved social 
worker. The letter will advise of the intent to file the 
administrative complaint and give the social worker a 
reasonable opportunity pursuant to R.S. 49:961(C) to show 
compliance with all legal requirements of the social worker's 
license, or to show that the complaint is unfounded. 

F. Should the involved social worker fail to respond 
within the time provided (which time may be extended by 
the administrator upon good cause shown), or if the social 
worker's response does not satisfactorily demonstrate that 
the social worker is in lawful compliance or that the 
complaint is unfounded; the administrator shall in 
consultation with the assistant attorney general prepare an 
original complaint in the form of the draft complaint for 
filing with the board. In determining the adequacy of any 
response submitted by the social worker, the administrator 
should consult with the assistant attorney general. The 
administrator may also consult with its general legal counsel 
(also referred to in these procedural rules as independent 
counsel) on any legal issues relating to the response 
submitted by the social worker.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2391 (November 2003). 
§909. Administrative Complaint Procedure 

A. An original of the administrative complaint shall be 
signed and approved by the assistant attorney general and 
delivered to the board's administrator prior to being filed 
with the board. The board's administrator shall place the 
administrative complaint on the board agenda for the next 
scheduled meeting of the board. When the board receives the 
administrative complaint, the board will docket the 
complaint under its designated numbering system and 
schedule a hearing. 

B. The administrative complaint shall identify the 
involved social worker and any license, provisional license, 
certificate or registration number. In separately numbered 
paragraphs, the complaint shall concisely state the material 
facts and the matters alleged to be proven, including the 
facts giving rise to the board's jurisdiction over the 
respondent social worker, the facts constituting legal cause 
for the complaint against the respondent under law 
(including the specification of the Practice Act, the 
Administrative Procedures Act, the Board's Rules, 
Standards, and Procedures, or any other statutory law alleged 
to have been violated by the respondent social worker). The 
complaint shall request an administrative sanction or relief 
which the assistant attorney general seeks in the name of the 
State of Louisiana. It shall bear the name, address and 
telephone number of the assistant attorney general. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2392 (November 2003). 
§911. Notice of Administrative Complaint and Hearing 

Scheduling 
A. Upon the docketing of the administrative complaint, 

the board should schedule the complaint for a hearing before 
a hearing panel of the board. This hearing shall take place 
not less than 30 days nor more than 150 days of the 
docketing of the complaint, provided that the time for the 
hearing may be lengthened as the board deems necessary or 
appropriate, or upon good cause shown by motion of the 
attorney general or respondent. Any requests for extension of 
time to schedule the hearing beyond 150 days after 
docketing shall be considered the filing of a procedural 
motion under R.S. 37:21(A)(5). 

B. If the board finds that public health, safety, or welfare 
imperatively requires emergency action and incorporates a 
finding to that effect in its order, the board may enter an 
order of summary suspension of the respondent social 
worker's license pending proceedings for revocation or other 
action in accordance with R.S. 49:961(C). In that event, the 
scheduled hearing on the summary suspension shall be 
noticed and scheduled not more than 45 days after the order 
of such summary suspension. Scheduling may extend 
beyond the 45 day period if requested by the involved social 
worker. 

C. The respondent social worker will be served written 
notice of the administrative complaint; the time, date, and 
place of the scheduled hearing; and a copy of the board's 
Rules, Standards, and Procedures by registered, return-
receipt-requested mail, as well as by regular first class mail. 
The notice will be sent to the most current address for the 
respondent social worker as reflected in the official records 
of the board. The notice shall include a statement of the legal 
authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be 
held and shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the 
administrative complaint. If the hearing panel of the board 
has been designated at the time of the notice, the notice shall 
contain the names of the panel members. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2393 (November 2003). 
§913. Response to Complaint, Notice of 

Representation 
A. Within 15 days of service of the complaint (or such 

longer time as the board may permit, on motion of the 
respondent social worker, hereafter called respondent), the 
respondent may answer the complaint, admitting or denying 
each of the separate allegations of fact or law. The 
respondent may offer any explanation or assert whatever 
defense(s) are applicable. Any matters admitted by 
respondent shall be deemed proven and established for 
purposes of adjudication. In the event that respondent does 
not file a response to the complaint, all matters asserted in 
the complaint shall be deemed denied. 

B. In any adjudication proceeding before the board, 
respondent may be represented by an attorney at law duly 
admitted to practice in this state. Respondent who is 

represented by legal counsel shall personally or through such 
counsel give written notice to the board of the name, address 
and telephone number of the attorney. Following the board's 
receipt of proper notice of representation, all further notices, 
complaints, subpoenas, orders, or other process related to the 
proceedings shall be served on respondent through his or her 
designated counsel of record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2393 (November 2003). 
§915. Pleadings, Motions; Service 

A. All pleadings, motions, and other papers permitted or 
required to be filed with the board in a pending adjudication 
shall be filed by personal delivery at or by mail to the board 
office. Concurrent service by mail or personal delivery shall 
be filed with the assistant attorney general, if filed by or on 
behalf of the respondent, or upon respondent or respondent's 
counsel of record (if any), if filed by the assistant attorney 
general. 

B. All pleadings, motions, discovery, or other papers 
shall be submitted on plain white letter-size (8 1/2" x 11") 
bond, with margins of at least 1" on all sides. The text shall 
be double-spaced, except for quotations and other matter 
customarily single-spaced. Submitted materials shall bear 
the caption and docket number of the case as it appears on 
the complaint, and shall include a certificate of the attorney 
or person making the filing that service of a copy of the 
materials has been effected in the same manner by regular 
mail or by personal delivery. 

C. The board may refuse to accept for filing any 
pleading, motion or other paper not conforming to the 
requirements of this section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2393 (November 2003). 
§917. Pre-Hearing Motions 

A. Pre-hearing motions, including a motion to dismiss, 
shall be filed not less than 30 days following the service of 
the complaint on the respondent or 15 days prior to the 
hearing, whichever is earlier. Each pre -hearing mo tion shall 
be accompanied by a memorandum which sets forth a 
concise statement of the grounds upon which the relief 
sought is based and the legal authority therefor. A motion 
may be accompanied by an affidavit(s) as necessary to 
present or support factual content of the motion. Within 10 
days of the filing of any such motion and memorandum or 
such shorter time as the board may order, the party opposing 
the motion (whether the opposing party is the assistant 
attorney general or the respondent or respondent's  counsel), 
may file a memorandum which may be supported by 
affidavit(s) in opposition to or setting forth the opposing 
party's position on the motion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2393 (November 2003). 
§919. Motions for Continuance of Hearing 

A. A motion for continuance of hearing shall be filed 
within the delay prescribed by §317 of these rules, provided 
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that the board may accept the filing of a motion for a 
continuance at any time prior to hearing upon a showing of 
good cause not discoverable within the time otherwise 
provided for the filing of pre-hearing motions. 

B. A scheduled hearing may be continued by the board 
only upon a showing by respondent or the assistant attorney 
general that there are substantial legitimate grounds that the 
hearing should be continued. These grounds must balance 
the respondent's right to a reasonable opportunity to prepare 
and present a defense, with the complaint and the board's 
responsibility to protect the public health, welfare, and 
safety. Except in extraordinary circumstances evidenced by 
verified motion or accompanying affidavit, the board 
ordinarily will not grant a mo tion to continue a hearing that 
has been previously continued upon motion of the same 
party. The board may, but is not required to continue a 
scheduled hearing, where both respondent and/or 
respondent's legal counsel and the assistant attorney general 
jointly request continuance. 

C. If an initial motion for continuance is not opposed, it 
may be granted by the board's administrator.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2394 (November 2003). 
§921. Disposition of Pre-Hearing Motions 

A. Any pre-hearing motion, other than an unopposed 
initial motion for continuance of hearing which may be 
granted by the Administrator, shall be referred for decision 
to the presiding officer of the hearing panel designated for 
that proceeding. The presiding officer may make a ruling or, 
at his or her discretion, may refer any pre-hearing motion to 
the entire panel for disposition. Any party aggrieved by the 
decision of the presiding officer on a pre-hearing motion 
may request that the motion be reconsidered by the entire 
panel. 

B. The presiding officer or the hearing panel shall 
ordinarily rule on pre-hearing motions on the papers filed, 
without a hearing. On written request by the respondent or 
the assistant attorney general, however, and on grounds 
satisfactory to the presiding officer of the hearing panel, the 
presiding officer may grant opportunity for hearing, by oral 
argument, on any pre-hearing motion. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2394 (November 2003). 
§923. Rules of Evidence; Official Notice; Oaths and 

Affirmations; Subpoenas; Depositions and 
Discovery; Confidential Privileged Information, 
and Executive Session 

A. Rules relating to evidence, notice, authority to 
administer oaths, issue subpoenas, conduct depositions and 
discovery, and the control of confidential and privileged 
information will be applied in adjudication proceedings 
before the board as specified in R.S. 49:956, or as may be 
modified by R.S. 13:3715.1(J) and R.S. 44:4(25). 

B. To the extent applicable, the testimonial privileges set 
out in the Social Work Practice Act, R.S. 37:2718 and the 
Louisiana Code of Evidence will apply to the hearings 
before the board. By bringing a complaint against his or her 

social worker, the client waives the privilege of 
confidentiality for the purposes of the hearing. 

C. The hearing panel and its designated presiding officer 
shall take reasonable steps to protect patient/client identity 
on any medical/psychotherapy records or similar records as 
required by R.S. 13:3715.1(J), and to the extent that any 
information presented at a hearing involves peer review 
material within the meaning of R.S. 13:3715.3. If protection 
of peer review material is required, the board is authorized to 
conduct that portion of the hearing in executive session to 
preserve the confidentiality of peer review privilege 
materials, including information, data, reports, and records 
in compliance with R.S. 13:3715.3(G). The board may also 
go into executive session for the limited purpose of 
discussing the character, professional competence, or 
physical or mental health of a license, pursuant to R.S. 42:6 
and 6.1 and Op. Atty. Gen. No. 94-561, Dec. 8, 1994. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2394 (November 2003). 
§925. Designation of Hearing Panel, Disqualification 

and Replacement 
A. At the time the administrative complaint is docketed 

with the board or within 30 days thereafter, the board 
chairperson will designate five members of the board (one of 
whom may, but is not required to be, the board chairperson) 
to serve as the hearing panel for that complaint. The selected 
board panel members shall elect from the membership a 
person to serve as presiding officer. The presiding officer at 
the hearing may make rulings on objections and the 
admissibility of evidence, and will insure that the conduct of 
the hearing proceeds without delay and pursuant to law. The 
other panel members may not delegate any of their  
decision-making or fact-finding duties to the presiding 
officer, nor shall the presiding officer have any greater 
weight in the decision-making process. 

B. In the event that a board member is disqualified or 
recused from a complaint or hearing, the board should 
immediately contact the governor to appoint a board 
member pro tem to replace the disqualified member for the 
complaint or hearing in progress only. 

C. Any panel member having reason to believe that he or 
she is biased or prejudiced either for or against one of the 
parties to the proceeding, or who has a personal interest in 
the outcome, shall immediately notify the remaining board 
members and request to be disqualified. Likewise, any party 
to such a hearing or a compliance hearing as provided in 
§743, may file with the board a motion supported by an 
affidavit requesting disqualification because of bias, 
prejudice or personal interest. Motion for disqualification 
shall be filed with the board and the opposing party within 
15 days following the notice of the composition of the 
hearing panel. Absent good cause shown, motions for 
disqualification filed more than 15 days following such 
notice will not be considered. As soon as possible, but not 
later than 10 calendar days preceding the beginning of the 
hearing, the majority of the hearing panel will consider the 
merits of the disqualification request and any opposition to 
that request filed by the opposing party. The concerned 
board member shall not participate in the action to disqualify 
and shall not vote on that issue. If the board hearing panel 
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determines there is no merit to the request for 
disqualification, the board will proceed with the hearing 
before the designated panel. However, any doubt as to the 
merits of the request for disqualification should be resolved 
in favor of disqualification, and the board chairperson shall 
immediately appoint one of the remaining board members as 
the replacement to the hearing panel. 

D. Ordinarily, the composition of a hearing panel is five 
members of the board. However, in the event that the 
respondent social worker and the assistant attorney general 
agree to a hearing panel of three board members, the 
chairperson may designate three of the five designated panel 
members to serve as the hearing panel. Any stipulation 
regarding a three-board-member hearing panel must be in 
writing and signed by the respondent and/or respondent's 
attorney and the attorney general. Such stipulation further 
provides that the three member hearing panel may 
completely adjudicate all issues specified in the complaint, 
render findings of fact, conclusions of law, decision and 
sanction, and that no appeal of any decision or sanction will 
be based on a challenge to the board's jurisdiction to 
adjudicate the matter with a three member hearing panel. 
Any such stipulation to a three-member hearing panel shall 
be delivered to the board at least 15 days prior to the 
scheduled hearing. The written stipulation shall be filed in 
the adjudication record and shall constitute a waiver of the 
application of and the need to comply with R.S. 49:957. 

E. At least one member of the hearing panel including 
the panel members of a compliance hearing specified under 
§734 shall have the same social work credential as the 
respondent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2395 (November 2003). 
§927. Board's Independent Legal Counsel 

A. The board may designate its  general counsel to serve 
as independent counsel relating to complaints and 
adjudication and compliance hearings. 

B. The board's independent counsel may provide the 
board, any hearing panel member, or the board's 
administrator with advice on the issues of legal sufficiency, 
notice, procedural and substantive due process of law 
(constitutional, statutory and rules), interpretations relating 
to any complaint, or the investigation or adjudication 
thereof. Such independent counsel may not participate in the 
investigation or prosecution of any case pending before the 
board or board hearing panel. 

C. The board's independent counsel may also provide 
other services relative to the complaint or adjudication 
which the board or the hearing panel deems necessary, 
except as may be expressly limited by these rules, standards, 
and procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2395 (November 2003). 
§929. Pre-Hearing Conference 

A. In any case of adjudication noticed and docketed for a 
hearing before the board, the respondent and/or respondent's

legal counsel and the assistant attorney general may agree, 
or the board chairperson or the presiding officer of the 
hearing panel may require, that a pre-hearing conference be 
held among such counsel or together with the board's 
independent legal counsel. This conference will be held for 
the purpose of simplifying the issues for the hearing, and 
promoting stipulations as to facts and proposed evidentiary 
offerings which will not be disputed at the hearing. 

B. If the parties and/or their legal counsel reside in 
different cities within the state, or if for other reasons it is 
inconvenient for parties to appear in person at a pre-hearing 
conference, the conference may be conducted by telephone. 

C. Following the pre-hearing conference, the parties 
shall (and without such conference the parties may) agree in 
writing on a pre-hearing order which should include: 

1. a brief statement by the assistant attorney general 
about what such counsel expects the evidence presented 
against the respondent to show; 

2. a brief statement by respondent as to what the 
evidence and arguments in defense are expected to show; 

3. a list of witnesses to be called by the assistant 
attorney general and/or respondent, together with a brief 
general statement of the nature of the testimony each witness 
is expected to give; 

4. any stipulations which the parties may be able to 
agree upon concerning undisputed claims, facts, testimony, 
documents or issues; and 

5. an estimate of the time required for the hearing. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2705.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2395 (November 2003). 
§931. Consolidation of Cases 

A. The board shall have the discretion to consolidate one 
or more cases for hearing when they involve the same or 
related parties, or substantially the same questions of law or 
of fact. The board may also grant separate hearings if a joint 
hearing would be prejudicial to one or more of the parties. If 
hearings are to be consolidated, notice must be given to all 
parties in advance of the hearing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2395 (November 2003). 
§933. Conduct of Hearing; Record 

A. Adjudication hearings are generally conducted in 
open session, except where closed or executive session is 
specifically authorized by law, as identified in these rules. 

B. At the adjudication hearing, the assistant attorney 
general and the respondent and respondent's counsel shall be 
afforded the opportunity to present evidence on all issues of 
fact and argument on all issues of law and policy involved. 
They will also have opportunity to call, examine, and  
cross-examine witnesses, and to offer and introduce 
documentary evidence and exhibits as may be required for a 
full and true disclosure of the facts and disposition of the 
complaint. 

C. The board through its administrator shall arrange for a 
certified court reporter/stenographer who shall be retained 
by the board to prepare a written transcript of the 
proceedings. 
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D. During the hearing, the presiding officer of the 
hearing panel shall rule upon all evidentiary objections and 
other procedural questions, but in his or her discretion may 
consult with the entire hearing panel in executive session. 
The independent counsel may assist the presiding officer and 
the hearing panel, either in open session or executive 
session, in ruling on evidentiary objections and other 
procedural issues raised during the hearing. 

E. The record in an adjudication shall include the items 
specified in R.S. 37:2717 and R.S. 49:955. The record shall 
also contain the administrative complaint, the notice of 
hearing, the respondent's response to the complaint (if any), 
copies of subpoenas issued in connection with the case or 
the hearing of the adjudication, as well as all pleadings, 
motions and intermediate rulings. 

F. The order of presentation in adjudication proceedings, 
unless the parties stipulate otherwise and the hearing panel 
approves, is first the presentation of evidence by the 
assistant attorney general, the presentation of evidence by 
the respondent, rebuttal by the assistant attorney general (if 
any). Rebuttal should be directed to issues raised by the 
evidence and defenses presented by respondent's case. 
Should the hearing panel determine, in the interest of 
fairness, that respondent be provided a limited opportunity to 
present additional evidence following rebuttal, the panel 
may so order. 

G. Hearing panel members may direct questions to any 
witness at any time during the hearing process. Should 
questions posed by the hearing panel members suggest the 
need for additional direct examination, cross-examination or 
redirect examination by either party, the hearing panel will 
allow such additional examination as it deems appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2396 (November 2003). 
§935. Evidence; Burden of Proof 

A. In an adjudication hearing, the board or the 
designated board hearing panel may give probative effect to 
evidence which possesses probative value commonly 
accepted by reasonably prudent people in the conduct of 
their affairs. To the extent applicable or not subject to 
exception, effect will be given to the rules of privilege 
recognized by law. The panel may exclude incompetent, 
irrelevant, immaterial, and unduly repetitious evidence. 
Objections to evidentiary offers may be made and shall be 
noted in the record. Subject to these requirements, when a 
hearing will be expedited and the interest of the parties will 
not be prejudiced, any part of the evidence may be received 
in written form. 

B. Any records and documents in the board's possession 
which either party desires the board to consider may be 
offered and made a part of the record. Such materials may be 
received into the record in the form of copies or excerpts and 
shall be available for the respondent's legal counsel to 
examine before being received into evidence. 

C. To the extent not prohibited by law, the hearing panel 
will honor and receive written stipulations arrived at 
between the parties as a proven fact at the hearing. The 
hearing panel, as appropriate, will also accept verbal 
stipulations arrived at between the parties during the hearing 
as proven fact, provided both parties and/or their respective 

legal counsel acknowledge the factual content of the 
stipulation on the record. The hearing panel may use 
stipulations as well as other evidence in arriving at any 
decision. 

D. The hearing panel may take notice of judicially 
cognizable facts and of generally recognized technical or 
scientific facts within the hearing panel's social work or 
clinical social work knowledge. The parties shall be notified 
either before or during the hearing of any material noticed or 
sought by any party to be noticed. All parties will be 
afforded an opportunity to contest any materials so noticed. 
The hearing panel may draw upon its knowledge of social 
work, social work methodology, and clinical social work 
methods in evaluating any evidence presented. 

E. The presiding officer at the hearing shall have the 
power to administer oaths or affirmations to all witnesses 
appearing to give testimony. The presiding officer shall 
regulate the course of the hearing, set the time and place of 
continued hearings, fix the time for the filing of briefs and 
other documents (if any are required or requested), and may 
direct the parties to appear and confer to consider 
simplifying issues. 

F. In adjudication hearings before the board or any board 
hearing panel, the Louisiana Code of Evidence may be used 
as a reference by the panel for admissibility of evidence and 
other evidentiary issues. The provisions of the Code of 
Evidence relating to hearsay are not strictly applicable to 
adjudication hearings. 

G. At an adjudication hearing, the burden of proof rests 
with the attorney general or the assistant presenting the 
evidence before the hearing panel. No sanction shall be 
imposed or order issued except upon consideration of the 
entire record as supported by and in accordance with 
reliable, probative and substantial evidence. The burden of 
proof related to any issue is a preponderance of evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2396 (November 2003). 
§937. Decisions; Notice 

A. Following the presentation of evidence and any 
arguments, submission of briefs or written memorandum (if 
requested by the hearing panel), the hearing panel shall 
deliberate and reach its findings of fact and conclusions of 
law as soon as practicable after the hearing concludes. The 
hearing panel shall render its decision in writing within 60 
days of the last hearing date, unless the hearing panel 
extends time for submission of any post-hearing briefs, 
memoranda or suggested findings of fact and conclusions of 
law. 

B. The hearing panel's findings of fact and conclusions 
of law, including any sanction if applicable, shall be signed 
by the presiding officer of the hearing panel on behalf of and 
in the name of the board. In any decision in which the 
hearing panel's decision was not unanimous, those hearing 
panel members deciding with the majority shall also sign the 
decision. Any panel member disagreeing with the findings of 
fact and conclusions of law or sanction should note his/her 
dissent on the decision and may record thereon any reasons 
for his/her dissent. 

C. A certified copy of the final decision shall be served 
promptly upon respondent's counsel of record, or on 
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respondent personally in the absence of counsel, and on the 
assistant attorney general in the same manner of service 
prescribed for the service of complaints. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2396 (November 2003). 
§939. Rehearings 

A. A decision by the board or a board hearing panel in 
the case of adjudication shall be subject to rehearing, 
reopening, or reconsideration by the board as provided for in 
R.S. 49:959, provided the board receives such a request at its 
office within 10 days of the entry of the board's final 
decision. If the board receives such a written request by mail 
after 10 days of the entry of its final decision, the request 
will be considered timely if the request is post-marked 
within the 10-day period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2397 (November 2003). 
§941. Miscellaneous Rules 

A. Social workers have a continuing obligation to keep 
the board informed about their current addresses. 
Accordingly, if notice of an investigation, service of an 
administrative complaint, or notice of a hearing cannot be 
delivered by mail or by personal delivery, the board shall 
make reasonable efforts to contact the social worker and 
obtain the social worker's new address. If, after the board 
makes reasonable efforts to locate the social worker, notice 
or service cannot be made because the social worker cannot 
be located, then the board or any designated hearing panel is 
authorized to proceed with the investigation, complaint 
procedure, and adjudication of the complaint, 
notwithstanding the social worker's absence, lack of 
participation in the process, or failure to appear.  

B. If the social worker receives due notice of an 
adjudication hearing and fails to appear and participate, and 
does not notify the board of good cause for the social 
worker's absence, the board and its designated hearing panel 
may proceed with the adjudication notwithstanding the 
social worker's absence. 

C. If a social worker is unable to attend an adjudication 
hearing because the social worker is incarcerated as the 
result of the conviction of any criminal conduct recognized 
as a felony under either state or federal law, or is under 
federal detention subject to a removal or deportation order, 
the board and its designated hearing panel may proceed with 
the adjudication hearing after providing the incarcerated or 
detained social worker reasonable opportunity to participate 
in the hearing. That participation may be through legal 
counsel authorized to practice in this state, participation by 
telephone at the social worker's expense, and the opportunity 
to present evidence through deposition, affidavit, or such 
other reasonable means as the board and/or the hearing panel 
deems fair and appropriate. 

D. Social workers who are subject to an investigation 
and/or are named as a respondent in an administrative 
complaint filed with the board are entitled to defend 
themselves with or without the benefit of legal counsel. If a 
social worker chooses not to defend and instead surrenders 

his/her license, certificate, provisional certificate, or 
registration at any time during an investigation, complaint or 
adjudication hearing, but prior to the hearing panel's decision 
thereon, the board will deem such surrender as an attempt to 
avoid the disciplinary process. The board will then subject 
the involved social worker to the revocation of the license, 
certificate, provisional certificate, or registration, or impose 
other sanction or disposition which the board deems 
appropriate, based on the information available to the board. 
Such board action may also impose restrictions on any 
subsequent application to the board which the involved 
social worker may make. Such restrictions may include 
restricting the social worker from making subsequent 
application for as much as five years following the surrender 
or resignation by the social worker. The board is also 
authorized to report in its newsletter a summary of the 
circumstances surrounding the social worker's surrender or 
resignation of license, certificate, or registration while under 
investigation or subject to an administrative complaint. 

E. The board shall have authority to delegate to the CIO 
or the board administrator the investigation of any alleged 
violations of R.S. 37:2720 or prior to bringing any injunctive 
proceedings under R.S. 37:2721. Following the board's 
review of any investigation conducted thereon, the board 
shall contact the appropriate district attorney or bring 
injunctive proceedings through the attorney general, or both. 
Final authority for appropriate action rests solely with the 
board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2397 (November 2003). 
§943. Compliance Hearing 

A. Any applicant whose application is rejected may seek 
a compliance hearing as provided for in R.S. 37:2710, 
provided that the request for such compliance hearing is 
submitted to the board in writing within 30 days after the 
applicant receives notice of rejection. In the request for a 
compliance hearing, the applicant shall state the specific 
reasons for the opposition to the rejected application. 

B. After receiving a request for a compliance hearing, 
the board's administrator shall contact the board chairperson, 
who will designate three board members to sit on a hearing 
panel for the compliance hearing. The purpose of the 
compliance hearing is to provide a forum for the applicant or 
licensee to present documentary evidence through affidavits, 
court records, official records, letters, etc., along with under-
oath testimony to establish that the applicant in fact meets 
the lawful requirements for the application or for the 
retention or renewal of the license, certificate, provisional 
certificate, or registration. The hearing panel shall elect from 
its membership one board member to serve as the presiding 
officer. The presiding officer shall administer oaths, maintain 
order at the hearing, fix new hearing dates as required, and 
rule on other matters relating to the hearing. A record of the 
hearing will be maintained by the board's administrator, 
although a court reporter or stenographer is not required. The 
applicant may be represented by counsel or may represent 
himself/herself. If the applicant requests a court reporter, a 
court reporter may be provided at the applicant's expense. 

C. In any compliance hearing, the burden shall be on the 
applicant to establish that he or she meets the criteria for the 
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application renewal or retention of license or that the 
renewal was timely. 

D. An applicant whose license, certificate, provisional 
certificate, or registration is deemed lapsed under R.S. 
37:2714 may request a compliance hearing provided the 
applicant requests the hearing in writing within 10 days after 
receiving the notice of the lapsed license, certificate, 
provisional certificate, or registration. In the event that the 
applicant did not receive such notice, then the applicant must 
request a compliance hearing within 30 days of the date 
upon which the license, certificate, provisional certificate, or 
registration would have lapsed by operation of law. 

E. Whenever possible, the compliance hearing shall be 
conducted within 30 days after the board receives the request 
for the compliance hearing. In the event that the board is 
unable to schedule a compliance hearing within 30 days of 
the request, the board may schedule the hearing at its next 
regularly scheduled board meeting. 

F. At the compliance hearing, the hearing panel may 
consult with its general counsel (independent counsel) on 
any legal issues emerging from the evidence submitted. 
Within 15 days after the compliance hearing concludes, the 
hearing panel will render its final decision, including 
findings of fact and conclusions of law. The decision will be 
delivered by registered mail, return receipt requested, to the 
applicant requesting the compliance hearing. In the event 
that the hearing panel's decision is adverse to the applicant, 
the applicant may apply for rehearing before the entire board 
by submitting a written request within ten days as provided 
in R.S. 49:959, subject to further judicial review pursuant to 
R.S. 49:964, 965. Any rehearing before the board will be 
conducted on the record made before the hearing panel, 
including the hearing panel's findings of fact, conclusions of 
law, and recommendations. To the extent practicable, the 
rehearing will be held at the next regularly scheduled board 
meeting. The board will review the findings of fact and 
conclusions of law of the hearing panel and the evidence and 
exhibits as submitted, as well as any written submissions or 
assignments of error. Unless requested by the board, oral 
presentations or arguments will not be permitted on 
rehearing. The board will render its decision on rehearing 
within 30 days of its hearing the matter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2397 (November 2003). 
§945. Declaratory Ruling 

A. Any person or entity deemed to be governed by or 
under the jurisdiction of R.S. 37:2701-2723 may apply to the 
board for a declaratory order or ruling in order to determine 
the applicability of any of the above statutory provisions or 
any of the rules of this board. The board shall issue the 
declaratory order or ruling in connection with the request by 
majority vote of the board, signed and mailed to the 
requesting party within 30 days of the request. 

B. However, the board may seek legal counsel or an 
attorney general's opinion in connection with the request for 
such a declaratory ruling, in which case the board's decision 
on that ruling or order may be issued within 60 days of the 
request. Any judicial review of the validity or applicability 
of any of these rules shall be in conformity with R.S. 49:963. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2705.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Certified Social Work Examiners, 
LR 29:2398 (November 2003). 

 
E. Taylor Aultman, Jr., LCSW 
Chairperson 

0311#032 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Program 
Nebulizers? Reimbursement Reduction 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act and as directed by the 2002-2003 
General Appropriation Act, which states: "The secretary 
shall implement reductions in the Medicaid program as 
necessary to control expenditures to the level approved in 
this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to utilize 
various cost containment measures to accomplish these 
reductions, including but not limited to  
pre-certification, pre-admission screening, and utilization 
review, and other measures as allowed by federal la w." This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reduces the 
reimbursement for nebulizers to the lower of $60 or the 
provider's usual and customary charge.  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0311#085 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Eligibility? Medicaid Purchase Plan 
for Workers with Disabilities 

(LAC 50:III.763 and 765) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
adopts LAC 50:III.763-765 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
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accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part III.  Eligibility 
Chapter 7. Medicaid Programs  
§763. Workers with Disabilities 

A. Effective January 1, 2004, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing implements the Medicaid purchase plan 
for workers with disabilities under the Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. The Medicaid Purchase plan allows 
persons who meet the Social Security dis ability criteria to 
seek the employment services, vocational rehabilitation 
services and other support services needed to obtain, regain 
or maintain employment and reduce their dependence on 
cash benefit programs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2399 (November 2003). 
§765. Recipient Eligibility 

A. The Medicaid purchase plan shall cover workers with 
disabilities who meet the following criteria: 

1. are employed;  
2. are age 16 through age 64; 
3. meet the Social Security Administration criteria for 

disability; 
4. have net income less than 250 percent of the federal 

poverty level; 
5. have countable assets less than $25,000; and 
6. are enrolled in no-cost health insurance. 

B. The following buy-in criteria shall be utilized by the 
Medicaid purchase plan. 

1. If the worker has a net income less than 150 percent 
of the federal poverty level, there shall be no cost to the 
worker. 

2. If the worker has a net income equal to or less than 
200 percent of the federal poverty level, there shall be a buy-
in premium of $80 per month. 

3. If the worker has a net income equal to or less than 
250 percent of the federal poverty level, there shall be a buy-
in premium of $110 per month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2399 (November 2003). 

Implementation of this Rule shall be contingent upon 
approval of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 
Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0311#089 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of  Health Services Financing 

Hospital Licensing Standards 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 93) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
LAC 48:I.Chapter 93 under the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 40:2100-2115 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH? GENERAL 
Part I.  General Administration 

Subpart 3.  Licensing  
Chapter 93. Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9301. Purpose 

A. The purpose of the hospital laws and standards is to 
provide for the development, establishment and enforcement 
of standards for the care of individuals in hospitals and for 
the construction, maintenance and operation of hospitals 
which shall promote safe and adequate treatment of 
individuals in hospitals . 

1. Except as otherwise provided herein, hospitals shall 
provide directly or under arrangements the following 
professional departments, services, facilities and functions: 

a. organization and general services: 
b. nursing services; 
c. pharmaceutical services; 
d. radiological services; 
e. laboratory services; 
f. food and dietetic services; 
g. medical record services; 
h. quality assessment and improvement; 
i. physical environment; 
j. infection control; 
k. respiratory care services. 

2. Except as otherwise provided herein, hospitals may 
provide the following optional services directly or under 
arrangements: 

a. surgical services; 
b. anesthesia services; 
c. nuclear medicine services; 
d. outpatient services; 
e. rehabilitation services; 
f. psychiatric services; 
g. obstetrical and newborn services; 
h. pediatric services; 
i. emergency services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2399 (November 2003). 
§9302. Definitions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 29:2400 (November 2003). 
§9303. Definitions 

A. The following definitions of selected terminology are 
used in connection with Chapter 93. 

Accredited? the approval by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations or American 
Osteopathic Association. 

Administrator? (see Chief Executive Officer). 
Anesthesiologist? a physician, dentist, or osteopath 

physician, who has successfully completed an approved 
residency program in anesthesiology, or who is a diplomat of 
either the American Board of Anesthesiology or the 
American Osteopathic Board of Anesthesiology, or who was 
made a Fellow of the American College of Anesthesiology 
before 1972. 

Approved? acceptable to the authority having 
jurisdiction. 

Authority Having Jurisdiction? an organization, office, 
or individual responsible for approving equipment, an 
installation, or a procedure. 

Certified Nurse Midwife? an advanced practice 
registered nurse as defined by R.S. 37:913. 

Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist? an advanced 
practice registered nurse as defined by R.S. 37:913. 

Cessation of Business? when a hospital stops providing 
services to the community. 

Chief Executive Officer (CEO)/Administrator? the 
person responsible for the operation of the hospital 
commensurate with the authority conferred by the governing 
body. 

Clinical Nurse Specialist? an advanced practice 
registered nurse as defined by R.S. 37:913. 

Department? Louisiana Department of Health and 
Hospitals. 

Governing Body? the board of trustees, owner or 
person(s) designated by the owner with ultimate authority 
and responsibility (both moral and legal) for the 
management, control, conduct and functioning of the 
hospital. 

Hospital? any institution, place, building, or agency, 
public or private, whether for profit or not, maintaining and 
operating facilities, 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 
having 10 licensed beds or more, properly staffed and 
equipped for the diagnosis, treatment and care of persons 
admitted for overnight stay or longer who are suffering from 
illness, injury, infirmity or deformity or other physical or 
mental condition for which medical, surgical and/or 
obstetrical services would be available and appropriate. This 
term hospital does not include the following: 

a. physicians' offices, clinics or programs where 
patients are not kept as bed patients for 24 hours or more;  

b. nursing homes providing intermediate and/or 
skilled care as defined by and regulated under the provisions 
of R.S. 40:2009-2009.23; 

c. persons, schools, institutions or organizations 
engaged in the care and treatment of the mentally retarded 
and which are required to be licensed by the provisions of 
R.S. 28:421-427; 

d. hospitalization or care facilities maintained by 
the state at any of its penal or correctional institutions; 

e. hospitalization or care facilities maintained by 
the federal government or agencies thereof;  

f. infirmaries or clinics maintained solely by any 
college or university exclusively for treatment of faculty, 
students and employees. 

Note: Facilities under 10 beds shall not be licensed as a 
hospital and shall not care for patients overnight unless 
authorized to do so under another state law.  

Hospital Record? a compilation of the reports of the 
various clinical departments within a hospital, as well as 
reports from health care providers, as are customarily 
catalogued and maintained by the hospital medical records 
department. Hospital records include reports of procedures 
such as X-rays and electrocardiograms, but they do not 
include the image or graphic matter produced by such 
procedures, according to state law. 

Immediate and Serious Threat? a crisis situation in 
which the health and safety of patients is at risk. It is a 
deficient practice which indicates the operator's inability to 
furnish safe care and services, although it may not have 
resulted in actual harm. The threat of probable harm is real 
and important and could be perceived as something which 
will result in potentially severe temporary or permanent 
injury, disability or death. 

Licensed Bed? an adult and/or pediatric bed set up or 
capable of being set up within 24 hours in a hospital for the 
use of patients, based upon bedroom criteria expressed in 
these standards. Labor, delivery, newborn bassinets, 
emergency and recovery room beds are excluded. 

Licensed Independent Practitioner? a person who is 
approved by his board for independent practice and who is 
approved by the medical staff and credentialed and approved 
by the Governing Board. 

Licensed Nuclear Medicine Technologist? any person 
licensed to practice nuclear medicine technology by the 
Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners. 

Licensed Practical Nurse? any person licensed to 
practice practical nursing and who is licensed to practice by 
the Louisiana State Board of Practical Nurse Examiners. 

Licensed Radiation Therapy Technologist? any person 
licensed to practice radiation therapy technology by the 
Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners. 

Licensed Radiographer? any person licensed to practice 
general radiography by the Louisiana State Radiologic 
Technology Board of Examiners. 

Minor Alteration? repair or replacement of building 
materials and equipment with materials and equipment of a 
similar type that does not diminish the level of construction 
beyond that which existed prior to the alteration. This does 
not include any alteration to the "functionality" or original 
design of the construction. (For example, normal
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maintenance, re-roofing, painting, wallpapering, asbestos 
removal, and changes to the electrical and mechanical 
systems.) 

Monolithic Ceiling Construction? a continuous 
membrane ceiling composed of plaster or gypsum 
wallboard, but not moveable or "lay-in" ceiling tiles. 

Neonatal? newborn immediately succeeding birth and 
continuing through the first 28 days of life. 

New Constru ction? any of the following started after 
March 1, 1995: 

a. new buildings to be used as a hospital;  
b. additions to existing buildings to be used as a 

hospital; 
c. conversions of existing buildings or portions 

thereof for use as a hospital;  
d. alterations other than minor alterations to an 

existing hospital;  
Nurse Practitioner? an advanced practice registered 

nurse as defined by R.S. 37:913.  
Nurses Call System? a system that audibly transmits 

calls electronically from its place of origin (the patient's bed) 
to the place of receipt (the nurses' station). 

Observation Bed/Unit? outpatient service in which 
patients are admitted for a period of no longer than 24 hours 
for observation. After 24 hours, the patient must be admitted, 
transferred or discharged. This outpatient unit must not 
provide acute care nursing. A registered nurse must be on 
site while there are patients in this unit. 

Office of the Secretary? office of the person serving as 
the Secretary of the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

Off-Site Campus? all premises on which hospital 
services (inpatient and/or outpatient) are provided and that 
are not adjoining to the main hospital buildings or grounds. 
An off-site campus must be located within 50 miles of the 
main hospital campus. 

Organ? a human kidney, liver, heart, lung or pancreas. 
Radiologist? a doctor of medicine or osteopathy who is 

qualified by education and experience in radiology. 
Registered Dietitian? a dietitian who is qualified based 

on registration by the Commission on Dietetic Registration 
of the American Dietetic Association and licensing by the 
Louisiana Board of Examiners in Dietetics and Nutrition. 

Registered Nurse? any person licensed to practice 
nursing by the Louisiana State Board of Nursing. 

Unit Definition? a licensed patient room. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2400 (November 2003). 
§9305. Licensing Process 

A. Procedures for Initial Licensing. The Department of 
Health and Hospitals is the only authority for hospitals in the 
state of Louisiana. 

1. Any person, organization or corporation desiring to 
operate a hospital shall make application to the Department 
of Health and Hospitals (DHH) on forms prescribed by the 
department. Such forms may be obtained from: Hospital 
Program Manager, Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Health Standards Section (HSS), Post Office Box 3767, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

2. An initial applicant shall as a condition of 
licensing: 

a. submit a completed initial hospital packet and 
other required documents; 

b. submit the required nonrefundable licensing fees 
by certified check or money order. No application will be 
reviewed until payment of the application fee. Except for 
good cause shown, the applicant must complete all 
requirements of the application process within 90 days of 
initial submission of the application material. Upon 10 days 
prior notice, any incomplete or inactive applications shall be 
closed. A new application will be accepted only when 
accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee. 

3. When the required documentation for licensing is 
approved and the building is approved for occupancy, a 
survey of the facility by representatives of HSS shall be 
conducted at the department?s discretion to determine if the 
facility meets the standards set forth in this Chapter 93. 

4. Representatives of the HSS shall discuss the 
findings of the survey, including any deficiencies found, 
with representatives of the hospital facility. 

5. The hospital shall notify the HSS in writing when 
the deficiencies, if any, have been corrected. Following 
review of the hospital?s Plan of Correction (POC), HSS may 
schedule a survey of the facility prior to occupancy. 

6. No new hospital facility shall accept patients until 
the hospital has written approval and/or a license issued by 
HSS. 

7. No licensed bed shall be placed in a room that does 
not meet all patient room licensing criteria and which has 
not been previously approved by HSS. 

8. The hospital shall accept only that number of 
inpatients for which it is licensed unless prior written 
approval has been secured from the department. 

B. Issuance of a License 
1. The agency shall have authority to issue two 

licenses as described below: 
a. full license-issued only to those hospitals that are 

in substantial compliance with the rules, the standards 
governing hospitals and the hospital law. The license shall be 
issued by the department for a period of not more than 12 
months for the premises named in the application, as 
determined by the department; 

b. if a hospital is not in substantial compliance with 
the rules, the standards governing hospitals and the hospital 
law, the department may issue a provisional license up to a 
period of six months if there is no immediate and serious 
threat to the health and safety of patients. 

2. The department also has discretion in denying, 
suspending or revoking a license where there has been 
substantial noncompliance with these requirements in 
accordance with the hospital law. If a license is denied, 
suspended or revoked, an appeal may be made as outlined in 
the hospital law. 

3. The hospital license is not assignable or 
transferable and shall be immediately void if a hospital 
ceases to operate or if its ownership changes. 

4. Licenses issued to hospitals with off-site locations 
shall be inclusive of the licensed off-site beds. In no case 
may the total number of inpatient beds at the off-site location 
exceed the number of inpatient beds at the primary campus. 
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C. Licensing Renewal. Licenses must be renewed at least 
annually. The renewal packet shall be sent by the 
Department to the hospital 45 days prior to the expiration of 
its license. The packet shall contain all forms required for 
renewal of the license. A hospital seeking renewal of its 
license shall: 

1. complete all forms and return them to the 
department at least 15 days prior to the expiration date of its 
current license; 

2. submit the annual fees or the amounts so specified 
by state law. All fees shall be submitted by certified check or 
money order and are nonrefundable. All state-owned 
facilities are exempt from fees. 

D. Display of License. The current license shall be 
displayed in a conspicuous place in the hospital at all times. 

E. Bed Increases 
1. The hospital will notify the department in writing 

14 days prior to the bed increase. 
2. The hospital will complete the required paperwork 

and submit the appropriate documents. 
3. A fee of $25 plus $5 per licensed unit being added 

or the amounts so specified by state law in the future shall be 
submitted to the department. This shall be a certified check 
or money order. 

4. At the discretion of the department, signed and 
dated attestations to compliance with these standards may be 
accepted in lieu of an on-site survey. 

5. Written approval of the bed increase must be 
obtained before patients can be admitted to these additions. 

6. No licensed bed shall be placed in a room that does 
not meet all patient room licensing criteria and which has 
not been previously approved by HSS. 

F. Eliminating and/or Relocating Beds 
1. The hospital will notify the department in writing 

14 days prior to the bed decrease or relocation. 
2. The hospital will complete the required paperwork 

and submit the appropriate documents. 
3. A fee of $25 or the amounts so specified by state 

law in the future shall be submitted to the Department. This 
remittance shall be a certified check or money order. 

4. No licensed bed shall be placed in a room that does 
not meet all patient room licensing criteria and which has 
not been previously approved by HSS. 

G. Adding or Eliminating Services 
1. Prior to the addition or deletion of a service or 

services, the hospital shall notify the department in writing 
45 days prior to implementation, if plan review is required, 
and 15 days prior to implementation if no plan review is 
necessary. 

2. The department will determine the required 
documents, if any, to be provided for a new service. 

3. No service shall be instituted that does not meet all 
licensing criteria and which has not been previously 
approved by the department. 

H. Adding Off-Site Campuses 
1. Individual licenses shall not be required for 

separate buildings and services located on the same or 
adjoining grounds or attached to the main hospital if they are 
operated as an integrated service of the hospital. An 
applicant shall as a condition of licensing: 

a. submit a completed off-site campus packet and 
other required documents; 

b. submit the required nonrefundable licensing fees 
by certified check or money order. 

2. Except for good cause shown, all incomplete and 
inactive applications shall be closed 90 days after receipt of 
the initial off-site campus application. A new application will 
be accepted only when accompanied by a nonrefundable 
application fee. 

3. At the discretion of the department, signed and 
dated attestations to the compliance with these standards 
may be accepted in lieu of an on-site survey. 

4. The off-site campus will be issued a license which 
is a subset of the hospital's main license. 

I. Closing Off-Site Campuses. The hospital is to notify 
the HSS in writing within 14 days of the closure of an off-
site campus with the effective date of closure. The original 
license of the off-site campus is to be returned to HSS. 

J. Duplicate and Replacement Licenses. A $5 processing 
fee or the amount so specified by state law in the future shall 
be submitted by the hospital for issuing a duplicate facility 
license with no change. 

K. Changes to the License. When changes to the license, 
such as a name change, address change or bed reduction are 
requested in writing by the hospital, a fee of $25 or the 
amounts so specified by state law in the future, shall be 
submitted. 

L. Facility within a Facility 
1. If more than one health care provider occupies the 

same building, premises or physical location, all treatment 
facilities and administrative offices for each health care 
provider shall be clearly separated from each other by a 
clearly delineated and recognizable boundary. 

a. Treatment facilities shall include, but not be 
limited to consumer beds, wings and operating rooms. 

b. Administrative offices shall include, but not be 
limited to record rooms and personnel offices. 

c. There shall be clearly identifiable and 
distinguishable signs. 

2. If more than one health care provider occupies the 
same building, premises or physical location, each such 
health care provider shall have its own entrance. The 
separate entrance shall have appropriate signs and shall be 
clearly identifiable as belonging to a particular health care 
provider. Nothing prohibits a health care provider occupying 
the same building, premises or physical location as another 
health care provider from utilizing the entrance, hallway, 
stairs, elevators or escalators of another health care provider 
to provide access to its separate entrance. 

3. Staff of the hospital within a hospital shall not be 
co-mingled with the staff of the host hospital for the delivery 
of services within any given shift. 

4. The provisions and requirements of §9305.L are in 
addition to and not excluding any other statutes, laws and/or 
rules that regulate hospitals, as set forth in R.S. 40:2007. 

M. Change of Ownership 
1. Definition. Change of Ownership (CHOW)—the 

sale or transfer whether by purchase, lease, gift or otherwise 
of a hospital by a person/corporation of controlling interest 
that results in a change of ownership or control of 30 percent 
or greater of either the voting rights or assets of a hospital or 
that results in the acquiring person/corporation holding a 50 
percent or greater interest in the ownership or control of the 
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hospital. Examples of actions which constitute a change of 
ownership (R.S. 40:2115.11 et seq.). 

a. Unincorporated Sole Proprietorship. Transfer of 
title and property to another party constitutes a change of 
ownership. 

b. Corporation. The merger of the provider 
corporation into another corporation, or the consolidation of 
two or more corporations, resulting in the creation of a new 
corporation constitutes a change of ownership. Transfer of 
corporate stock or the merger of another corporation into the 
provider corporation does not constitute a change of 
ownership. 

c. Partnership. In the case of a partnership, the 
removal, addition or substitution of a partner, unless the 
partners expressly agree otherwise, as permitted by 
applicable state law, constitutes a change of ownership. 

d. Leasing. The lease of all or part of a provider 
facility constitutes a change of ownership of the leased 
portion. 

2. No later than 15 days after the effective date of the 
CHOW, the prospective owner(s) or provider representative 
shall submit to the department a completed application for 
hospital licensing, the bill of sale, and a licensing fee 
consistent with state law. Hospital licensing is not 
transferable from one entity or owner(s) to another.  

N. Plan Review. A letter to the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Division of Engineering and Architectural 
Services, shall accompany the floor plans with a request for 
a review of the hospital plans. The letter shall include the 
types of services offered, number of licensed beds and 
licensed patient rooms, geographical location, and whether it 
is a relocation, renovation, and/or new construction. A copy 
of this letter is to be sent to the Hospital Program Manager.  

1. Submission of Plans 
a. New Construction. All new construction shall be 

done in accordance with the specific requirements of the 
Office of State Fire Marshal and the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Division of Engineering and Architectural 
Services. The requirements cover new construction in 
hospitals, including submission of preliminary plans and the 
final work drawings and specifications to each of these 
agencies. Plans and specifications for new construction shall 
be prepared by or under the direction of a licensed architect 
and/or a qualified licensed engineer and shall include scaled 
architectural plans stamped by an architect. 

b. New Hospitals. No new hospital shall hereafter 
be licensed without the prior written approval of, and unless 
in accordance with plans and specifications approved in 
advance by the DHH, Division of Engineering and 
Architectural Services and the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
This includes any change in hospital type (e.g., acute care 
hospital to psychiatric hospital) or the establishment of a 
hospital in any healthcare facility or former healthcare 
facility. The applicant must furnish one complete set of plans 
and specifications to the Division of Engineering and 
Architectural Services and one complete set of plans and 
specifications to the Office of State Fire Marshal, together 
with fees and other information as required. Plans and 
specifications shall be prepared by or under the direction of 
a licensed architect and/or a qualified licensed engineer and 
shall include scaled architectural plans stamped by an 
architect. The review and approval of plans and 

specifications shall be made in accordance with the 
publication entitled Guidelines for Construction and 
Equipment of Hospital and Medical Facilities, Current 
Edition, published by the American Institute of Architects 
Press and the Standard Plumbing Code. 

c. Change(s) in Service(s)/Hospital Type. 
Preliminary plans, final work drawings and specifications 
shall be submitted prior to any change in hospital type (e.g., 
acute care hospital to psychiatric hospital). The review and 
approval of plans and specifications shall be made in 
accordance with the publication entitled Guidelines for 
Construction and Equipment of Hospital and Medical 
Facilities, Current Edition, published by the American 
Institute of Architects Press and the Standard Plumbing 
Code. The applicant must furnish one complete set of plans 
and specifications to the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Division of Engineering and Architectural 
Services and one complete set of plans and specifications to 
the Office of State Fire Marshal, together with fees and other 
information as required. 

d. Major Alterations. No major alterations shall be 
made to existing hospitals without the prior written approval 
of, and unless in accordance with plans and specifications 
approved in advance by DHH, Division of Engineering and 
Architectural Services and the Office of State Fire Marshal. 
The applicant must furnish one complete set of plans and 
specifications to the Division of Engineering and 
Architectural Services and one complete set of plans and 
specifications to the Office of State Fire Marshal, together 
with fees and other information as required. Plans and 
specifications shall be prepared by or under the direction of 
a licensed architect and/or a qualified licensed engineer and 
shall include scaled architectural plans stamped by an 
architect. The review and approval of plans and 
specifications shall be made in accordance with the 
publication entitled Guidelines for Construction and 
Equipment of Hospital and Medical Facilities, Current 
Edition, published by the American Institute of Architects 
Press and the Standard Plumbing Code. 

2. Approval of Plans 
a. Notice of satisfactory review from the Division 

of Engineering and Architectural Services and the Office of 
State Fire Marshal constitutes compliance with this 
requirement if construction begins within 180 days of the 
date of such notice. This approval shall in no way permit 
and/or authorize any omission or deviation from the 
requirements of any restrictions, laws, ordinances, codes or 
rules of any responsible agency. 

b. In the event that submitted materials do not 
appear to satisfactorily comply with the Guidelines for 
Construction and Equipment of Hospital and Medical 
Facilities, Current Edition, and the Standard Plumbing 
Code, the Division of Engineering and Architectural 
Services shall furnish a letter to the party submitting the 
plans which shall list the particular items in question and 
request further explanation and/or confirmation of necessary 
modifications. 

3. Waivers 
a. The secretary of the department may, within his 

sole discretion, grant waivers to building and construction 
guidelines. The facility must submit a waiver request in 
writing to the Division of Engineering and Architectural 
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Services. The facility shall demonstrate how patient safety 
and the quality of care offered is not compromised by the 
waiver. The facility must demonstrate their ability to 
completely fulfill all other requirements of the service. The 
Department will make a written determination of the request. 
Waivers are not transferable in an ownership change and are 
subject to review or revocation upon any change in 
circumstances related to the waiver.  

b. The secretary, in exercising his discretion, must 
at a minimum, require the applicant to comply with the 
edition of the building and construction guidelines which 
immediately preceded the most current edition of the 
Guidelines for Construction and Equipment of Hospital and 
Medical Facilities. 

O. Fire Protection. All hospitals required to be licensed 
by the law shall comply with the rules, established fire 
protection standards and enforcement policies as 
promulgated by the Office of State Fire Marshal. It shall be 
the primary responsibility of the Office of State Fire Marshal 
to determine if applicants are complying with those 
requirements. No license shall be issued or renewed without 
the applicant furnishing a certificate from the Office of State 
Fire Marshal stating that the applicant is complying with 
their provisions. A provisional license may be issued to the 
applicant if the Office of State Fire Marshal issues the 
applicant a conditional certificate. 

P. Sanitation and Patient Safety. All hospitals required to 
be licensed by the law shall comply with the Rules, Sanitary 
Code and enforcement policies as promulgated by the Office 
of Public Health. It shall be the primary responsibility of the 
Office of Public Health to determine if applicants are 
complying with those requirements. No initial license shall 
be issued without the applicant furnishing a certificate from 
the Office of Public Health stating that the applicant is 
complying with their provisions. A provisional license may 
be issued to the applicant if the Office of Public Health 
issues the applicant a conditional certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
16:971 (November 1990), LR 21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2401 
(November 2003). 
§9307. Hospital Closure 

A. A cessation of business is deemed to be effective with 
the date on which the hospital stopped providing services to 
the community. 

1. The hospital must notify the department in writing 
30 days prior to the effective date of closure. 

2. The hospital shall submit a written plan for the 
disposition of patient medical records for approval by the 
department. The plan shall include the following: 

a. provisions that comply with state laws on 
storage, maintenance, access and confidentiality of the 
closed hospital's patient medical records; 

b. an appointed custodian who shall provide 
physical and environmental security that protects the records 
against fire, water, intrusion, unauthorized access, loss and 
destruction; 

c. public notice on access in the newspaper, with 
the largest circulation, in close proximity of the closing 
hospital, at least 15 days before the effective date of closure; 

d. the effective date of closure. 
3. The hospital must return the original license to the 

department. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2404 (November 2003). 
§9309. Exceptions 

A. Exceptions to these Rules and standards governing 
hospitals are as follows. 

1. If a hospital does not provide an optional service or 
department, those relating requirements shall not be 
applicable. 

2. If a hospital is accredited by the Joint Commission 
on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations or the 
American Osteopathic Association, the Department shall 
accept such accreditation in lieu of its annual on-site re-
survey. This accreditation will be accepted as evidence of 
satisfactory compliance with all provisions except those 
expressed in §9305.O and P. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2404 (November 2003). 
§9311. Enforcement 

A. The department shall have the authority to interpret 
and enforce this Chapter 93 as authorized by and in 
accordance with the Health Care Facilities and Services 
Enforcement Act, R.S. 40:2199. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2404 (November 2003). 
§9313. Staff Orientation, Training, Education and 

Evaluation 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 29:2404 (November 2003). 
§9315. Emergency Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 29:2404 (November 2003). 
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Subchapter B. Hospital Organization and Services 
§9317. Governing Body 

A. The hospital must have either an effective governing 
body or individual(s) legally responsible for the conduct of 
the hospital operations. No contracts/arrangements or other 
agreements may limit or diminish the responsibility of the 
governing body. 

B. The governing body shall: 
1. establish hospital-wide policy; 
2. adopt bylaws; 
3. appoint a chief executive officer or administrator;  
4. maintain quality of care; 
5. determine, in accordance with state law, which 

categories of practitioners are eligible candidates for 
appointment to the medical staff; and 

6. provide an overall institutional plan and budget. 
C. The governing body and/or their designee(s) shall 

develop and approve policies and procedures which define 
and describe the scope of services offered. They shall be 
revised as necessary and reviewed at least annually. 

D. There shall be an organizational chart that delineates 
lines of authority and responsibility for all hospital 
personnel. 

E. In addition to requirements stated herein, all licensed 
hospitals shall comply with applicable local, state, and 
federal laws and regulations. 

F. All off-site campuses operating under the license of a 
single provider institution (i.e., a hospital with a main 
facility and off-site campuses) are subject to the control and 
direction of one common governing body that is responsible 
for the operational decisions of the entire hospital enterprise. 

1. The off-site campus is subject to the bylaws and 
operating decisions of the provider's governing body. 

2. The provider has final responsibility for 
administrative decisions, final approval for personnel actions 
and final approval for medical staff appointments at the off-
site campus. 

3. The off-site campus functions as a department of 
the provider. 

4. The off-site campus is included under the 
accreditation of the provider, if the provider is accredited by 
a national accrediting body, and the accrediting body 
recognizes the off-site campus as part of the provider.  

5. The off-site campus director is under the day-to-day 
supervision of the provider, as evidenced by: 

a. patients treated at the off-site campus are 
considered patients of the provider and shall have full access 
to all appropriate provider services; 

b. the off-site campus is held out to the public as 
part of the hospital, i.e., patients know they are entering the 
provider and will be billed accordingly; 

c. the off-site campus director or the individual 
responsible for the day-to-day operations at the site 
maintains a daily reporting relationship and is accountable to 
the provider's chief executive officer and reports through 
that individual to the provider's governing body; and 

d. the administrative functions of the off-site 
campus, (i.e., QI, infection control, dietary, medical records, 
billing, laundry, housekeeping and purchasing) are 
integrated with those of the provider, as appropriate to that 
off-site campus. 

6. All components of a single provider institution 
must comply with applicable state licensing laws. 

G. If emergency services are not provided at the hospital, 
the governing body shall assure that the medical staff has 
written policies and procedures for appraisal of emergencies, 
initial treatment and transfer as appropriate. 

1. These policies and procedures shall address at a 
minimum the following: 

a. needed emergency equipment and drugs to 
include but not limited to, suction, oxygen and ambu bag; 

b. competence of staff appropriate to the approved 
use of emergency equipment and drugs; 

c. determining when an emergency exists; 
d. rendering life saving first aid; 
e. making appropriate referrals to hospitals that are 

capable of providing needed services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2405 (November 2003). 
§9319. Patient Rights and Privacy 

A. Every patient shall have the following rights, none of 
which shall be abridged by the hospital or any of its staff. 
The hospital administrator shall be responsible for 
developing and implementing policies to protect patient 
rights and to respond to questions and grievances pertaining 
to patient rights. These rights shall include at least the 
following: 

1. every patient, or his/her designated representative, 
shall whenever possible, be informed of the patient's rights 
and responsibilities in advance of furnishing or 
discontinuing patient care; 

2. the right to have a family member, chosen 
representative and/or his or her own physician notified 
promptly of admission to the hospital;  

3. the right to receive treatment and medical services 
without discrimination based on race, age, religion, national 
origin, sex, sexual preferences, handicap, diagnosis, ability 
to pay or source of payment; 

4. the right to be treated with consideration, respect 
and recognition of their individuality, including the need for 
privacy in treatment; 

5. the right to be informed of the names and functions 
of all physicians and other health care professionals who are 
providing direct care to the patient. These people shall 
identify themselves by introduction and/or by wearing a 
name tag; 

6. the right to receive, as soon as possible, the services 
of a translator or interpreter to facilitate communication 
between the patient and the hospital's health care personnel;  

7. the right to participate in the development and 
implementation of his/her plan of care; 

8. every patient or his or her representative (as 
allowed by state law) has the right to make informed 
decisions regarding his or her care; 

9. the patient's rights include being informed of 
his/her health status, being involved in care planning and 
treatment, and being able to request or refuse treatment. This 
right must not be construed as a mechanism to demand the 
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provision of treatment or services deemed medically 
unnecessary or inappropriate; 

10. the right to be included in experimental research 
only when he or she gives informed, written consent to such 
participation, or when a guardian provides such consent for 
an incompetent patient in accordance with appropriate laws 
and regulations. The patient may refuse to participate in 
experimental research, including the investigations of new 
drugs and medical devices; 

11. the right to be informed if the hospital has 
authorized other health care and/or educational institutions 
to participate in the patient's treatment. The patient shall also 
have a right to know the identity and function of these 
institutions, and may refuse to allow their participation in 
his/her treatment; 

12. the right to formulate advance directives and have 
hospital staff and practitioners who provide care in the 
hospital comply with these directives; 

13. the right to be informed by the attending physician 
and other providers of health care services about any 
continuing health care requirements after his/her discharge 
from the hospital. The patient shall also have the right to 
receive assistance from the physician and appropriate 
hospital staff in arranging for required follow-up care after 
discharge; 

14. the right to have his/her medical records, including 
all computerized medical information, kept confidential;  

15. the right to access information contained in his/her 
medical records within a reasonable time frame; 

16. the right to be free from restraints of any form that 
are not medically necessary or are used as a means of 
coercion, discipline, convenience or retaliation by staff;  

17. the right to be free from all forms of abuse and 
harassment; 

18. the right to receive care in a safe setting; 
19. the right to examine and receive an explanation of 

the patient's hospital bill regardless of source of payment, 
and may receive upon request, information relating to 
financial assistance available through the hospital;  

20. the right to be informed in writing about the 
hospital's policies and procedures for initiation, review and 
resolution of patient complaints, including the address and 
telephone number of where complaints may be filed with the 
department; 

21. the right to be informed of his/her responsibility to 
comply with hospital rules, cooperate in the patient's own 
treatment, provide a complete and accurate medical history, 
be respectful of other patients, staff and property, and 
provide required information regarding payment of charges; 

22. except in emergencies, the patient may be 
transferred to another facility only with a full explanation of 
the reason for transfer, provisions for continuing care and 
acceptance by the receiving institution. 

B. The policies on patient rights and responsibilities 
shall also provide that patients who receive treatment for 
mental illness or developmental disability, in addition to the 
rights listed herein, have the rights provided in the Louisiana 
Mental Health Law. 

C. Hospital staff assigned to provide direct patient care 
shall be informed of and demonstrate their understanding of 
the policies on patient rights and responsibilities through 
orientation and appropriate in service training activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2405 (November 2003). 
§9321. Medical Staff 

A. The medical staff develops and adopts bylaws and 
rules for self-governance of professional activity and 
accountability to the governing body. In addition to 
physicians and dentists, the medical staff membership shall 
include licensed independent practitioners as appropriate to 
adequately meet the needs of the patients served by the 
hospital. The bylaws and rules shall contain provisions for at 
least the following. 

1. The medical executive committee shall: 
a. develop the structure of the medical staff and 

categories of membership; 
b. develop and implement a mechanism to review 

credentials, at least every two years, and delineate individual 
privileges; 

c. develop and implement a mechanism for 
determining that all medical staff hold current Louisiana 
licenses; 

d. make recommendations for membership to 
medical staff, for approval by the governing body, with 
initial appointments and reappointments not to exceed two 
years; 

e. develop and implement a mechanism for 
suspension and/or termination of membership to the medical 
staff; 

f. develop and implement a mechanism for fair 
hearings and appellate reviews for both potential (new) 
applicants and current members of the medical staff; 

g. define the required functions of the medical staff 
to include: 
 i. basic medical record review, drug usage 
review, pharmacy and therapeutics review, infection control 
and utilization review; 
 ii. if applicable, surgical and other invasive 
procedures and blood usage. 

2. The medical staff shall provide a mechanism to 
monitor and evaluate the quality of patient care and the 
clinical performance of individuals with delineated clinical 
privileges. 

3. Each person admitted to the hospital shall be under 
the care of a member of the medical staff and shall not be 
admitted except on the recommendation of a medical staff 
member. 

4. There shall be a member of the medical staff on call 
at all times for emergency medical care of hospital patients. 

5. The medical staff bylaws shall include 
specifications for orders for the care or treatment of patients 
which are given to the hospital verbally or transmitted to the 
hospital electronically, whether by telephone, facsimile 
transmission or otherwise. Such bylaws may grant the 
medical staff up to 10 days following the date an order is 
transmitted verbally or electronically to provide the 
signature or countersignature for such orders. 

6. There shall be a single chief medical officer who 
reports directly to the governing body and who is 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2407

responsible for all medical staff activities of all the offsite 
facilities operating under the license of the hospital. 

7. There shall be total integration of the organized 
medical staff as evidenced by these factors: 

a. all medical staff members have privileges at all 
off-site campuses; 

b. all medical staff committees are responsible for 
their respective areas of responsibility at all off-site 
campuses of the hospital; and 

c. the medical director of the off-site campus (if the 
off-site campus has a medical director) maintains a day-to-
day reporting relationship to the chief medical officer or 
other similar official of the provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2406 (November 2003). 
§9323. Administration 

A. There shall be a chief executive officer or 
administrator who is responsible for the operation of the 
hospital commensurate with the authority conferred by the 
governing body. All administrative authority shall flow 
through the chief executive officer who exercises control and 
surveillance over the administrative activities of the hospital 
and of all off-site campuses. (This does not preclude the 
establishment of assistant executive officer positions in any 
off-site campus as long as the individuals are under the 
authority of and report to the chief executive officer.) 

B. The chief executive officer or administrator of the 
hospital shall have at least one of the following 
qualifications: 

1. a master's degree and at least three years of full-
time experience in progressively responsible management 
positions in healthcare; 

2. a baccalaureate degree and at least five years of 
full-time experience in progressively responsible 
management positions in healthcare; or 

3. at least 10 years of full-time experience in hospital 
administration; 

a. hospital chief executive officers and 
administrators employed in Louisiana licensed hospitals at 
the time the final regulations are adopted and become 
effective shall be deemed to meet the qualifications as long 
as the individual holds their current position. If the 
individual leaves their current position as hospital 
administrator/chief executive officer, they must meet one of 
the qualifications above to be re-employed into such a 
position. 

C. There shall be sufficient qualified personnel to 
properly operate each department of the hospital and provide 
quality patient care and related services. 

D. All new employees, including volunteer workers, 
prior to or at the time of employment and annually thereafter 
shall be verified to be free of tuberculosis in a 
communicable state. 

E. The hospital shall have policies and procedures that 
define how the facility will comply with current regulations 
regarding healthcare screenings of hospital personnel. 

F. The hospital shall have policies and procedures and 
require all personnel to immediately report any signs or 

symptoms of a communicable disease or personal illness to 
their supervisor or administrator as appropriate for possible 
reassignment or other appropriate action to prevent the 
disease or illness from spreading to other patients or 
personnel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2407 (November 2003). 
§9325. Staff Orientation, Training, Education and 

Evaluation 
A. New employees, including contract employees , shall 

have an orientation program of sufficient scope and duration 
to inform the individual about his/her responsibilities and 
how to fulfill them. 

B. The orientation program shall include, at least, a 
review of policies and procedures, job descriptions, 
competency evaluation and performance expectations prior 
to the employee performing his/her responsibilities. 

C. A staff development program shall be conducted by 
educationally competent staff and/or consultants and planned 
based upon annual employee performance appraisals, patient 
population served by the hospital, information from quality 
assessment and improvement activities, and/or as determined 
by facility staff. 

D. The hospital shall document appropriate training and 
orientation prior to reassignment of currently employed staff. 

E. Records shall be maintained that indicate the training 
content, time, names of employees in attendance and the 
name of the presenter.  

F. At least annually the performance of all hospital and 
contract employees shall be evaluated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2407 (November 2003). 
§9327. Emergency Services 

A. If emergency services are provided, the emergency 
services shall be on a 24-hour/seven-day basis in an 
emergency care area. The hospital shall have at least 1 
physician available to the emergency care area within 30 
minutes through a medical call roster.  

B. Organization 
1. Emergency services shall have written policies and 

procedures which: 
a. define and describe the scope of services offered; 
b. assures the integration of emergency services 

with other hospital services, delineating when the hospital 
shall divert emergency patients, the criteria for the diversion, 
and the notification of local emergency medical services and 
hospitals of the diversion; and 

c. governs referrals if a clinical specialty service is 
not provided. 

2. The emergency services shall be organized under 
the direction of a qualified member of the medical staff and 
a roster of on-call medical staff with service specialties shall 
be maintained. The services shall be integrated with other 
departments of the hospital. Ancillary services routinely 
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available at the hospital for inpatients shall be available to 
patients presenting with emergency medical conditions. 

3. The emergency service area shall be supplied with: 
a. basic trauma equipment and drugs; 
b. suction and oxygen equipment; and 
c. cardiopulmonary resuscitation equipment. 

C. All licensed hospitals shall comply with current 
provisions of the Emergency Medical Treatment and Active 
Labor Act (EMTALA). 

D. In accordance with R.S. 40:2113.6, no officer or 
member of the medical staff of a hospital licensed by the 
department shall deny emergency services available at the 
hospital to a person diagnosed by a licensed physician as 
requiring emergency services because the person is unable to 
establish his ability to pay for the services or his race, 
religion or national ancestry. In addition, the person needing 
the services shall not be subjected to arbitrary, capricious or 
unreasonable discrimination based on age, sex, physical 
condition or economic status. Emergency services are 
services that are usually and customarily available at the 
hospital and that must be provided immediately to stabilize a 
medical condition which if not stabilized could reasonably 
be expected to result in the loss of life, serious permanent 
disfigurement or loss or impairment of the function of a 
bodily member or organ, or for the care of a woman in active 
labor if the hospital is so equipped. If not so equipped, the 
hospital must provide treatment to allow the patient to travel 
to a more appropriate facility without undue risk of serious 
harm. 

E. Personnel 
1. The emergency services shall make provisions for 

physician coverage at all hours and a qualified member of 
the medical staff shall be designated to supervise emergency 
services. There shall be a registered nurse and other nursing 
service personnel qualified in emergency care to meet 
written emergency procedures and needs anticipated by the 
hospital. All registered nurses working in emergency 
services shall be trained in advanced cardiac life support, 
pediatric trauma and pediatric advanced life support. 

2. There are specific assigned duties for emergency 
care personnel with a clear chain of command. 

F. The hospital shall maintain an emergency service 
register on every individual seeking care. At a minimum, the 
register shall contain the following data: 

1. name, age and sex of patient; 
2. date, time and means of arrival; 
3. nature of complaint; 
4. disposition; 
5. time of departure; 
6. name of the on-call or treating physician. 

G. Trauma Center. In addition to the requirements above, 
all hospitals that request official designation by the 
Department as a "Trauma Center" must meet the 
requirements provided under state law (R.S. 40:2171). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2407 (November 2003). 

§9329. After Life Care 
A. The hospital shall establish and implement written 

policies and procedures governing after life care that are 
reviewed annually and revised as needed. These policies 
shall delineate the responsibilities of the medical staff, 
nursing and morgue staff, and shall include procedures for at 
least the following: 

1. identifying the body; 
2. safe and proper handling to prevent damage to the 

body; 
3. safeguarding the personal effects of the deceased 

and release of personal effects to the appropriate individual;  
4. handling of toxic chemicals by morgue and 

housekeeping staff;  
5. infection control, including disinfecting of 

equipment; 
6. identifying and handling high-risk and/or infectious 

bodies in accordance with Centers for Disease Control 
guidelines and in compliance with Louisiana law; 

7. release of the body to the funeral director;  
8. release of the body to the coroner upon his request 

for autopsy; 
9. policy for autopsy requests by the physician or 

family and physician communication to family members 
regarding the autopsy requests/results; 

10. availability of autopsy reports, including reports of 
microscopic autopsy findings, to physicians and in the 
medical records within specified time frames; and 

11. completion of the autopsy, including microscopic 
and other procedures, within specified time frames. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2408 (November 2003). 
§9331. Organ or Tissue Donation 

A. The hospital shall have policies and procedures for 
organ and tissue donation and requests for donation, 
approved by the governing body. 

B. The hospital shall have an agreement with the 
designated organ procurement agency for the state and at 
least one tissue bank and one eye bank, if the organ 
procurement agency does not include these services. 

C. When death is imminent or has occurred in a hospital, 
to a person determined to be a suitable candidate for organ 
or tissue donation, based on accepted medical standards, the 
hospital administrator or designated representative shall 
request the appropriate person described herein to consent to 
the gift of any part of the decedent's body as an anatomical 
gift. 

D. No request shall be required when the requesting 
person has actual notice of contrary intention by the 
decedent or those persons described in this regulation 
according to the priority stated therein, or reason to believe 
that an anatomical gift is contrary to the decedent's religious 
beliefs. 

E. Upon approval of the donation, the OPO or retrieval 
organization shall be notified and shall cooperate in the 
procurement of the anatomical gift. When a request is made, 
the person making the request shall complete a certificate of 
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request for an anatomical gift on a form approved by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals. 

F. The certificate shall include the following: 
1. a statement indicating that a request for an 

anatomical gift was made; 
2. the name and affiliation of the person making the 

request;  
3. an indication of whether consent was granted and, 

if so, what organs and tissues were donated; 
4. the name of the person granting or refusing the 

request, and his relationship to the decedent. 
G. A copy of the certificate of request shall be included 

in the decedent's medical records. 
H. The following persons shall be requested to consent to 

a gift, in the order of priority stated: 
1. the spouse if one survives; if not: 

a. an adult son or daughter;  
b. either parent; 
c. an adult brother or sister;  
d. the curator or tutor of the decedent at the time of 

death; 
e. any other person authorized or under obligation 

to dispose of the body. 
I. Upon the arrival of a person who is dead or near 

death, a reasonable search for a document of gift or other 
information which may indicate that a person is a donor or 
has refused to make such a donation shall be made by the 
hospital. 

J. If a person at or near death has been admitted or is in 
transit to a hospital and has been identified as a donor of his 
body, organs, tissue or any part thereof, the hospital shall 
immediately notify the named recipient if one is named and 
known, and if not, the OPO federally approved organ 
procurement agency. 

K. The hospital shall cooperate in the implementation of 
the anatomical gift, including the removal and release of 
organs and tissue, or any parts thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2408 (November 2003). 
§9333. Specialty Units  

A. Specialty units are designated areas in a hospital 
organized and dedicated to providing a specific, 
concentrated service to a targeted group of patients. 

B. Each unit shall be organized and function as a 
physically identifiable section with beds that are not 
commingled with other hospital beds. 

C. Each unit shall be staffed with professional and 
support personnel, appropriate to the scope of services 
provided. Central support services such as dietary, 
housekeeping, maintenance, administration and therapeutic 
services may be shared with the rest of the hospital. 

D. There shall be written policies and procedures that 
define and describe the scope of services offered, including 
admission criteria. The policies and procedures shall be 
developed and approved by the governing body. They shall 
be reviewed at least annually and revised as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2409 (November 2003). 
§9335. Emergency Preparedness 

A. The hospital shall have an emergency preparedness 
plan designed to manage the consequences of natural 
disasters or other emergencies that disrupt the hospital's 
ability to provide care and treatment or threatens the lives or 
safety of the hospital patients and/or the community it 
serves. The emergency preparedness plan shall be made 
available, upon request or if mandated to do so, to local, 
parish, regional and/or state emergency planning 
organizations, DHH and the Office of the State Fire Marshal. 

B. As a minimum, the plan shall include the following: 
1. identification of potential hazards that could 

necessitate an evacuation, including internal and external 
disasters such as a natural disaster, acts of bio-terrorism, 
weapons of mass destruction, labor work stoppage, or 
industrial or nuclear accidents; 

2. emergency procedures for evacuation of the 
hospital; 

3. comprehensive measures for receiving and 
managing care for a large influx of emergency patients. At a 
minimum, these measures shall include the following roles: 

a. the emergency department/services; 
b. surgical suite; and 
c. patient care units; 

4. comprehensive plans for receiving patients who are 
being relocated from another facility due to a disaster. This 
plan shall include at least an estimate of the number and type 
of patients the facility would accommodate; 

5. procedures in the case of interruption of utility 
services in a way that affects the health and safety of 
patients; 

6. identification of the facility and an alternate facility 
to which evacuated patients would be relocated; 

7. the estimated number of patients and staff that 
would require relocation in the event of an evacuation; 

8. the system or procedure to ensure that medical 
charts accompany patients in the event of a patient 
evacuation and that supplies, equipment, records and 
medications would be transported as part of an evacuation; 
and 

9. the roles and responsibilities of staff members in 
implementing the disaster plan. 

C. The hospital shall assure that patients receive nursing 
care throughout the period of evacuation and while being 
returned to the original hospital. 

D. The hospital shall ensure that evacuated patients, who 
are not discharged, are returned to the hospital after the 
emergency is over, unless the patient prefers to remain at the 
receiving facility or be discharged instead of being returned 
to the original hospital. 

E. Any staff member who is designated as the acting 
administrator shall be knowledgeable about, and authorized 
to implement the hospital's plans in the event of an 
emergency. 

F. The hospital administrator shall appoint an individual 
who shall be responsible for disaster planning for the 
hospital. 
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G. While developing the hospital's plan for evacuating 
patients, the disaster planner shall communicate with the 
facility or facilities designated to receive relocated patients. 

H. The hospital shall conduct at least one evacuation drill 
each year, either simulated or using selected patients. An 
actual evacuation shall be considered a drill, if it is 
documented. 

I. The hospital shall conduct at least one drill each year, 
in which a large influx of emergency patients is simulated. 
An actual emergency of this type shall be considered a drill, 
if it is documented. 

J. In case of an emergency, the hospital shall have a 
policy for supply of food and water.  

K. The hospital shall have a policy for the provision of 
emergency sources of critical utilities such as electricity, 
natural gas, water and fuel during any period in which the 
normal supply is temporarily disrupted. 

L. The hospital's plan shall be developed in coordination 
with the local/parish office of emergency preparedness, 
utilizing community wide resources. 

M. A hospital may temporarily exceed its licensed 
capacity in emergency situations, such as natural disasters or 
disease related emergencies. Such hospitals shall notify 
DHH in writing of the situation within 24 hours or as soon 
as practical thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2409 (November 2003). 
§9337. Smoking Prohibition 

A. Smoking shall be prohibited in all areas of the 
hospital that are heated and air-conditioned. At the discretion 
of the hospital's governing body, smoking may be permitted 
in patient rooms, but only: 

1. upon the consent of the patient's primary treating 
physician; 

2. with the consent of all patients in the room;  
3. in accordance with all standards established by the 

Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care 
Organizations and all other applicable state and federal laws. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of the above, the 
hospital's governing body may designate a well-ventilated 
area for smokers. Additionally, the governing body of a 
psychiatric hospital shall establish polic ies to reasonably 
accommodate inpatients that smoke. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40: 2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2410 (November 2003). 
§9339. Safety 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 29:2410 (November 2003). 

§9341. Personnel 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 29:2410 (November 2003). 
Subchapter C. Nursing Services 
§9343. Organization and Staffing 

A. There shall be an organized nursing service that 
provides 24-hour nursing services. The nursing services shall 
be under the direction and supervision of a registered nurse 
licensed to practice in Louisiana, employed full time, 40 
hours per week. There shall be a similarly qualified 
registered nurse to act in the absence of the director of 
nursing services. 

B. Written nursing policies and procedures shall define 
and describe the patient care provided. There shall be a 
written procedure to ensure that all licensed nurses  providing 
care in the hospital have a valid and current Louisiana 
license to practice, prior to providing any care. 

C. Nursing services are either furnished or supervised 
and evaluated by a registered nurse. 

D. There shall be at least one registered nurse on duty at 
all times, assigned to each inpatient nurse's station. 

E. A registered nurse shall assign the nursing service 
staff for each patient in the hospital. Staffing shall be 
planned in accordance with the nursing needs of the patients, 
as demonstrated by a specific assessment process, 
specialized qualifications and competence of the nursing 
staff available. 

F. The nursing staff shall be assigned clinical and/or 
management responsibilities according to education, 
experience and assessment of current competency and 
applicable laws. 

G. There shall be at least two hospital employees, one of 
whom shall be a registered nurse, physically present in the 
hospital when there is one or more hospitalized patients. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2410 (November 2003). 
§9345. Delivery of Services 

A. A registered nurse shall perform an initial assessment 
of the patient upon admission and identify problems for each 
patient. The registered nurse may delegate part(s) of the data 
collection to other nursing personnel, however the registered 
nurse shall by signature validate the assessment. 

B. A nursing plan of care shall be developed based on 
identified nursing diagnoses and/or patient care needs and 
patient care standards, implemented in accordance with the 
Louisiana Nurse Practice Act, and shall be consistent with 
the plan of all other health care disciplines. 

C. Isolation precautions shall be instituted when 
appropriate to prevent the spread of communicable diseases 
within the hospital. 

D. All drugs and biologicals shall be administered in 
accordance with the orders of the practitioner(s) responsible 
for the patient's care and accepted standards of practice. 
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E. Blood transfusions and intravenous medications shall 
be handled, labeled and administered according to state law 
and approved medical staff and nursing service policies and 
procedures. 

F. Blood and blood products shall be refrigerated 
separately from food, beverages and laboratory specimens. 

G. An appropriate patient consent form shall be signed 
prior to blood transfusion administration. 

H. There shall be policies and procedures for reporting 
transfusion reactions, adverse drug reactions and errors in 
the administration of drugs. It shall include immediate oral 
reporting to the treating physician, a written report to the 
director of pharmacy and the appropriate hospital 
committee, and an appropriate entry in the patient's record. 

I. Safety policies and procedures shall be established for 
the care of patients, who because of their condition, are not 
responsible for their acts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2410 (November 2003). 
§9347. Equipment and Records  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 29:2411 (November 2003). 
Subchapter D. Pharmaceutical Services 
§9349. General Provisions 

A. The hospital shall provide pharmaceutical services 
that meet the needs of the patients. The hospital shall have a 
pharmacy directed by a registered pharmacist or a drug 
storage area supervised by a registered pharmacist. The 
hospital pharmacy shall have a permit, issued by the 
Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, allowing the ordering, 
storage, dispensing and delivering of legend prescription 
orders. The hospital shall have a current controlled 
dangerous substance (CDS) license to dispense controlled 
substances to patients in the hospital. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2411 (November 2003). 
§9351. Organization and Staffing 

A. Pharmaceutical services shall be directed by a 
registered pharmacist, licensed to practice in Louisiana on 
either a full-time, part-time or consulting basis. The director 
of pharmacy shall be responsible for the procurement, 
storage, dispensing, supervision and management of all 
legend and non-legend drugs for the hospital, and shall 
maintain complete and accurate records of all drug 
transactions by the pharmacy. There shall be an adequate 
number of personnel to ensure quality services, including 
emergency services, 24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

A pharmacist shall be on call after hours, whenever the 
pharmacy does not provide 24-hour service. 

B. Hospital pharmacies that are not staffed on a 24-hour 
basis shall have an adequate security detection device. 

C. Hospital pharmacies that are not open after regular 
working hours shall make drugs available for the staff by use 
of a night drug cabinet. The hospital pharmacy shall 
maintain an inventory and a list of these drugs, which are 
approved by the pharmacy director and the appropriate 
hospital committee. 

D. Each off-site campus shall have a site specific 
controlled dangerous substance (CDS) license if they will be 
dispensing controlled dangerous substances. 

AUTHORIT Y NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2411 (November 2003). 
§9353. Delivery of Services 

A. All compounding, packaging, and dispensing of 
drugs, biologicals, legend and controlled substances shall be 
accomplished in accordance with Louisiana law and Board 
of Pharmacy regulations and be performed by or under the 
direct supervision of a registered pharmacist currently 
licensed to practice in Louisiana. 

B. Dispensing of prescription legend or controlled 
substance drugs direct to the public or patient by vending 
machines is prohibited. 

C. Current and accurate records shall be maintained on 
the receipt, distribution and dispensing of all scheduled 
drugs in such a manner as to facilitate complete accounting 
for the handling of these controlled substances. An annual 
inventory, at the same time each year, shall be conducted for 
all schedule I, II, III, IV and V drugs. 

D. A hospital outpatient pharmacy shall maintain all 
records and inventory separate and apart from that of the 
inpatient pharmacy, and shall require a separate pharmacy 
permit to operate. 

E. Medications are to be dispensed only upon written 
orders, electromechanical facsimile, or oral orders from a 
physician or other legally authorized prescriber, and be taken 
by a qualified professional. 

F. All inpatient drug containers shall be labeled to show 
at least the patient's full name, room number, the chemical or 
generic drug's name, strength, quantity and date dispensed 
unless a unit dose system is utilized. Appropriate accessory 
and cautionary statements as well as the expiration date shall 
be included. Floor stock containers shall contain the name 
and strength of the drug, lot and control number or 
equivalent, and the expiration date. In unit dose systems, 
each single unit dose package shall contain the name and 
strength of the drug, lot and control number or equivalent, 
and expiration date. Outpatient drug containers shall be 
labeled to show at least the patient's full name, the 
prescriber's name, the chemical or generic drug's name, 
directions, name of the pharmacy and pharmacist, 
prescription number, and appropriate accessory and 
cautionary statements. Outdated, mislabeled or otherwise 
unusable drugs and biologicals shall be separated from 
useable stock, shall not be available for patient or other use
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and shall be returned to an authorized agency for credit or 
destroyed according to current state or federal laws as 
applicable. 

G. Drugs and biologicals not specifically prescribed as to 
time or number of doses shall automatically be stopped after 
a reasonable time that is predetermined by the medical staff. 

H. The director of pharmacy shall develop and 
implement a procedure that in the event of a drug recall, all 
employees involved with the procurement, storage, 
prescribing, dispensing and administering of recalled drugs 
in the facility will be notified to return these drugs to the 
pharmacy for proper disposition. 

I. Drug administration errors, adverse drug reactions, 
and incompatibilities shall be immediately reported to the 
attending physician, pharmacist and, if appropriate, to the 
hospital-wide quality assessment and improvement program. 
An entry shall be made in the patient's record. 

J. Abuses and losses of controlled substances shall be 
reported to the individual responsible for pharmaceutical 
services, the chief executive officer, the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy, and to the Regional Drug Enforcement 
Administration (DEA) office, as appropriate. 

K. Information relating to drug interactions, drug 
therapy, side effects, toxicology, dosage, indications for use 
and routes of administration shall be available to the staff. 

L. A formulary system shall be established by the 
appropriate hospital committee to assure quality 
pharmaceuticals at reasonable costs, subject only to the 
restrictions of R.S. 37:1226.1 and LAC 46:LIII.1109.B.6. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2411 (November 2003). 
§9355. Environment 

A. All drugs and biologicals shall be kept in a locked, 
well illuminated clean medicine cupboard, closet, cabinet, or 
room under proper temperature controls and accessible only 
to individuals authorized to administer or dispense drugs. A 
list of authorized individuals shall be developed in 
cooperation with the medical, nursing, admin istrative and 
pharmaceutical staff. Compartments appropriately marked 
shall be provided for the storage of poisons and external use 
drugs and biologicals, separate from internal and injectable 
medications. 

B. All controlled substances shall be kept separately 
from other non-controlled substances in a locked cabinet or 
compartment. Exceptions may be made, if listed in the 
pharmacy policy and procedures manual and deemed 
necessary by the director of pharmacy, to allow some 
abusable nonscheduled drugs to be maintained in the same 
locked compartment. 

C. Drugs and biologicals that require refrigeration shall 
be stored separately from food, beverages, blood and 
laboratory specimens. 

D. The area within the pharmacy used for the 
compounding of sterile parenteral preparations shall be 
separate and apart, shall meet the requirements of the Board 
of Pharmacy regulation §2541 and be designed and equipped 
to facilitate controlled aseptic conditions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 
(April 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2412 (November 2003). 
§9357. Organization and Staffing 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2412 (November 2003). 
§9359. Content 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 21:177 (February 1995), 
repealed LR 29:2412 (November 2003). 
Subchapter E. Radiologic Services 
§9361. General Provisions 

A. The hospital shall maintain, or have available through 
written contract, radiologic services according to the needs 
of the patients. If therapeutic services are also provided, 
they, as well as the diagnostic services, shall meet 
professionally approved standards for safety and personnel 
qualifications. The hospital shall comply with periodic 
inspections by the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Radiation Protection Division and shall promptly correct any 
identified hazards. 

B. Radiologic services shall be supervised by a qualified 
radiologist on either a full-time, part-time or consulting 
basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2412 (November 2003). 
§9363. Safety 

A. The radiologic services, particularly ionizing 
radiology, shall adopt written policies and procedures to 
provide for the safety and health of patients and hospital 
personnel. The policies and procedures shall be available to 
all staff in the radiology department. At a minimum, the 
policies and procedures shall cover the following: 

1. shielding for patients, personnel and facilities; 
2. storage, use and disposal of radioactive materials; 
3. periodic inspection of equipment and handling of 

identified hazards; 
4. periodic checks by exposure meters or test badges 

on radiation workers; 
5. radiologic services provided on the orders of 

practitioners with clinical privileges or other practitioners 
authorized by the medical staff and the governing body to 
order the service; and 

6. managing medical emergencies in the radiologic 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
§9365. Personnel 

A. A qualified full-time, part-time, or consulting 
radiologist must supervise the ionizing radiology services 
and must interpret only those radiologic tests that are 
determined by the medical staff to require a radiologist's 
specialized knowledge. The radiologist shall have clinical 
privileges delineated by the medical staff. 

B. Only personnel who are registered and/or licensed in 
the appropriate radiologic technology modality or category 
by the Louisiana State Radiologic Technology Board of 
Examiners and designated as qualified by the medical staff 
may use the radiologic equipment and administer procedures 
under the direction of a physician. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
§9367. Records  

A. Radiologic reports shall be signed by the practitioner 
who reads and interprets them. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, LR 13:246 (April 
1987), amended LR 21:177 (February 1995), LR 29:2413 
(November 2003). 
§9369. Clinical Plan 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
Subchapter F.  Laboratory Services 
§9371. Organization and Staffing 

A. The hospital shall provide laboratory services or make 
contractual arrangements with a laboratory certified in 
accordance with the Clinical Laboratory Improvement 
Amendments (CLIA) of 1988 to perform services 
commensurate with patient needs as determined by the 
medical staff on a 24-hour basis. Laboratory services shall 
be directed by an individual who meets appropriate 
qualifications of a director and is credentialed by the medical 
staff. 

B. There shall be sufficient licensed qualified clinical 
laboratory scientists with documented training and 
experience to supervise the testing and sufficient numbers of 
licensed clinical laboratory scientists and supportive 
technical staff to perform the tests required of the clinical 
laboratory services. 

C. The hospital shall have policies and procedures that 
address the administration of potentially HIV infectious 
blood or blood products, and the notification of patient, legal 
representative or relative within a specified time frame. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
§9373. Equipment and Records  

A. There shall be sufficient supplies, equipment and 
space to perform the required volume of work with optimal 
accuracy, precision, efficiency, timeliness and safety. 

B. The laboratory shall ensure that satisfactory 
provisions are maintained for an instrumentation preventive 
maintenance program, an acceptable quality control program 
and an approved proficiency testing program covering all 
types of analysis performed by the laboratory services. 
Records and reports shall be maintained, retrievable, and as 
appropriate, filed in the patient's medical record. 

C. The hospital shall make adequate provisions for the 
immediate pathological examination of tissue specimens by 
a pathologist. 

D. The hospital shall make provisions for the 
procurement, storage and transfusion of blood and blood 
products. 

E. The administration of blood shall be monitored to 
detect any adverse reaction as soon as it occurs. Prompt 
investigation of the cause of an adverse reaction shall be 
instituted. The results of all tests performed in the evaluation 
of an actual or suspected blood transfusion reaction shall be 
a permanent part of the patient's medical record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
§9375. General Provisions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
Subchapter G.  Food and Dietetic Services 
§9377. General Provisions 

A. There shall be an organized dietary service that 
provides nutritional care to patients. All hospital contracts or 
arrangements for off-site food preparation shall be with a 
provider who is licensed by the department's healthcare 
division or operating under the authority of the federal 
government. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
§9379. Organization and Staffing 

A. Food and dietetic services shall be under the 
supervision of a registered dietitian, licensed to practice in 
Louisiana, who is employed either full time, part time or on 
a consulting basis. If the registered dietitian is not full time, 
there shall be a full time dietary manager. 

B. The dietary manager shall: 
1. be a qualified dietitian; or 
2. be a graduate of a dietetic technician program, 

correspondence program or otherwise approved by the 
American Dietetics Association; or 
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3. have successfully completed a course of study, by 
correspondence or classroom, which meets the eligibility 
requirements for certification by the Dietary Manager's 
Association; or 

4. have successfully completed a training course at a 
state approved school, vocational or university, which 
includes course work in foods and food service, supervision 
and diet therapy. Documentation of an eight-hour course of 
formalized instruction in diet therapy conducted by the 
employing facility's qualified dietitian is permissible if the 
course meets only the foods, food service and supervision 
requirements. 

a. Exception. Hospitals with 25 or fewer beds that 
do not have on site food preparation for patient meals and 
contract for food services, another full-time employee, i.e., 
RN or LPN, will be allowed to carry out the responsibilities 
of the dietary manager. The RN or LPN must be qualified by 
training and experience and employed full time. The director 
of nursing shall not hold this position. 

C. The registered dietitian shall be responsible for 
assuring that quality nutritional care is provided to patients. 
This shall be accomplished by providing and supervising the 
nutritional aspects of patient care including nutritional 
screening, nutritional assessments of patients at nutritional 
risk, patient education related to nutritional intake and diet 
therapy, and recording information in the medical record 
regarding the nutritional status and care of the patient and 
the patient's response to the therapeutic diet. 

D. The hospital shall employ sufficient support 
personnel, competent in their respective duties, to carry out 
the function of the dietary service. 

E. For hospitals that provide dietary services in 
accordance with §9377 above, a registered dietician shall be 
employed or under contract to assure proper dietary services 
are being provided in accordance with §9379.B. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2413 (November 2003). 
§9381. Menus and Therapeutic Diets 

A. Menus shall be prepared in advance, meet the 
nutritional needs of the patients in accordance with the 
recommended dietary allowances of the Food and Nutrition 
Board of the National Research Council, National Academy 
of Sciences, or as modified in accordance with the orders of 
the practitioner(s) responsible for the care of the patient, and 
followed as planned.  

B. Therapeutic diets shall be prescribed by the 
practitioner(s) responsible for the care of the patient. Each 
patient's diet shall be documented in the patient's medical 
record. There shall be a procedure for the accurate 
transmittal of dietary orders to the dietary service and for 
informing the dietary service when the patient does not 
receive the ordered diet or is unable to consume the diet. 

C. There shall be a current therapeutic diet manual, 
which shall be the guide used for ordering and serving diets. 
The manual shall be approved by the dietitian and medical 
staff and be readily available to all medical, nursing and 
food service personnel. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2414 (November 2003). 
§9383. Sanitary Conditions 

A. Food shall be in good condition, free from spoilage, 
filth, or other contamination and shall be safe for human 
consumption. All food shall be procured from sources that 
comply with all laws and regulations related to food and 
food labeling. The use of food in hermetically sealed 
containers that was not prepared in a food processing 
establishment is prohibited. 

B. All food shall be stored, prepared, distributed and 
served under sanitary conditions to prevent food borne 
illness. This includes keeping all readily perishable food and 
drink at or below 41?F, except when being prepared and 
served. Refrigerator temperatures shall be maintained at 
41?F. or below, freezers at 0?F or below. 

C. Hot foods shall leave the kitchen or steam table at or 
above 140?F., and cold foods at or below 41?F In-room 
delivery temperatures shall be maintained at 120?F or above 
for hot foods and 50?F or below for cold items, except for 
milk which shall be stored at 41?F. Food shall be transported 
to the patients' rooms in a manner that protects it from 
contamination, while maintaining required temperatures. 

D. All equipment and utensils used in the preparation 
and serving of food shall be properly cleansed, sanitized and 
stored. This includes maintaining a water temperature in dish 
washing machines at 140?F during the wash cycle (or 
according to the manufacturer's specifications or 
instructions) and 180?F for the final rinse. Low temperature 
machines shall maintain a water temperature of 120?F with 
50 parts per million (ppm) of hypochlorite (household 
bleach) on dish surfaces. For manual washing in a 3 
compartment sink, a wash water temperature of 75?F with 
50 ppm of hypochlorite or equivalent, or 12.5 ppm of iodine; 
or a hot water immersion at 170?F for at least 30 seconds 
shall be maintained. An approved lavatory shall be 
convenient and equipped with hot and cold water tempered 
by means of a mixing valve or combination faucet for 
dietary services staff use. Any self-closing, slow-closing, or 
metering faucet shall be designed to provide a flow of water 
for at least 15 seconds without the need to reactivate the 
faucet. Effective with the promulgation of these 
requirements, an additional lavatory shall be provided in the 
dishwasher area in newly constructed hospitals or in existing 
hospitals undergoing major dietary alterations. 

E. Dietary staff shall not store personal items within the 
food preparation and storage areas. 

F. Dietary staff shall use good hygienic practices. Staff 
with communicable diseases or infected skin lesions shall 
not have contact with food, if that contact will transmit the 
disease. 

G. Toxic items such as insecticides, detergents, polishes 
and the like shall be properly stored, labeled and used. 

H. Garbage and refuse shall be kept in durable, easily 
cleanable, insect and rodent-proof containers that do not leak 
and do not absorb liquids. Containers used in food 
preparation and utensil washing areas shall be kept covered 
after they are filled. 
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I. The physical environment in which all food 
preparation takes place shall be kept clean and in good 
repair. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2414 (November 2003). 
§9385. Equipment 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2415 (November 2003). 
Subchapter H. Medical Record Services 
§9387. Organization and Staffing 

A. There shall be a medical records department that has 
administrative responsibility for maintaining medical records 
for every person evaluated or treated as an inpatient, 
outpatient or emergency patient. Medical records for patients 
at off-site campuses shall be integrated into the unified 
records system of the provider. 

B. Medical records shall be under the supervision of a 
medical records practitioner (i.e., registered record 
administrator or accredited record technician) on either a 
full-time, part -time or consulting basis. 

C. Medical records shall be legibly and accurately 
written in ink, dated and signed by the recording person or, 
if a computerized medical records system is  used, 
authenticated, complete, properly filed and retained, and 
accessible. 

D. If a facsimile communications system (fax) is used, 
the hospital shall take precautions when thermal paper is 
used to ensure that a legible copy is retained as long as the 
medical record is retained. 

E. Written orders signed by a member of the medical 
staff shall be required for all medications and treatments 
administered to patients. There shall be a reliable method for 
personal identification of each patient. The medical staff 
bylaws shall include specifications for orders for the care or 
treatment of patients which are given to the hospital verbally 
or transmitted to the hospital electronically, whether by 
telephone, facsimile transmission or otherwise. The bylaws 
may grant the medical staff up to ten days following the date 
an order is transmitted verbally or electronically to provide 
the signature or countersignature for such order.  

F. If rubber stamp signatures are authorized for 
physician use, the administrative office shall have on file a 
signed statement from the medical staff member whose 
stamp is involved that ensures that he/she is the only one 
who has the stamp and uses it. The delegation of their use by 
others is prohibited. 

G. If electronic signatures are used, the hospital shall 
develop a procedure to assure the confidentiality of each 
electronic signature and to prohibit the improper or 
unauthorized use of any computer generated signature. 

H. There shall be adequate medical record personnel to 
ensure prompt completion, filing and retrieval of records. 

I. The hospital shall have a system of coding and 
indexing medical records. The system shall allow for timely 

retrieval by diagnosis and procedure, in order to support 
quality assessment and improvement evaluations. 

J. The hospital shall ensure that all medical records are 
completed within 30 days following discharge. 

K. A patient or his/her personal representative shall be 
given reasonable access to the information contained in 
his/her hospital record. The hospital shall, upon request in 
writing signed and dated by either the patient or personal 
representative initiating the request, furnish a copy of the 
hospital record as soon as practicable, not to exceed 15 days 
following the receipt of the request and written authorization 
and upon payment of the reasonable cost of reproduction in 
accordance with Louisiana R.S. 40:1299.96. However, the 
hospital may deny the patient access if a licensed health care 
professional has determined, in the exercise of professional 
judgment, that the access requested is reasonably likely to 
endanger the life or physical safety of the patient or another 
person. 

L. A hospital record may be kept in any written, 
photographic, microfilm, or other similar method or may be 
kept by any magnetic, electronic, optical or similar form of 
data compilation which is approved for such use by the 
department. No magnetic, electronic, optical or similar 
method shall be approved unless it provides reasonable 
safeguards against erasure or alteration. 

M. A hospital may at its discretion, cause any hospital 
record or part to be microfilmed, or similarly reproduced, in 
order to accomplish efficient storage and preservation of 
hospital records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2415 (November 2003). 
§9389. Content 

A. The medical record shall contain the following 
minimum data: 

1. unique patient identification data; 
2. admission and discharge dates; 
3. complete history and physical examination, in 

accordance with medical staff policies and procedures; 
4. provisional admitting diagnosis and final diagnosis; 
5. medical staff orders; 
6. progress notes; 
7. nursing documentation and care plans; 
8. record of all medical care or treatments; and 
9. discharge summary. 

B. The medical record shall contain the following when 
applicable: 

1. clinical laboratory, pathological, nuclear medicine, 
radiological and/or diagnostic reports; 

2. consultation reports; 
3. pre-anesthesia note, anesthesia record, and post-

anesthesia notes; 
4. operative reports; 
5. obstetrical records, including: 

a. record of mother's labor, delivery, and 
postpartum period; 

b. separate infant record containing date and time of 
birth, condition at birth, sex, weight at birth if condition 
permits weighing, and condition of infant at time of 
discharge; 
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c. autopsy reports; and/or 
d. any other reports pertinent to the patient's care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2415 (November 2003). 
§9391. Registers and Reports 

A. The hospital shall have the following registers and 
reports, where applicable, which may be computer 
generated: 

1. patients' register; 
2. emergency room register; 
3. birth register; 
4. delivery room register; 
5. operating room register; 
6. death register;  
7. analysis of hospital service via the quality 

assessment and improvement program, based on patient 
statistics; and 

8. daily census report of admissions, births, discharges 
and deaths. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2416 (November 2003). 
§9393. Confide ntiality 

A. The hospital shall ensure the confidentiality of patient 
records, including information in a computerized medical 
record system, in accordance with the HIPAA Privacy 
Regulations (Title 45, Part 164, Subpart E of the Code of 
Federal Regulations) and any Louisiana state laws and 
regulations which provide a more stringent standard of 
confidentiality than the HIPAA Privacy Regulations. 
Information from or copies of records may be released only 
to authorized individuals, and the hospital must ensure that 
unauthorized individuals cannot gain access to or alter 
patient records. Original medical records shall not be 
released outside the hospital unless under court order or 
subpoena or in order to safeguard the record in the event of a 
physical plant emergency or natural disaster. Psychiatric 
medical records shall be segregated to ensure confidentiality. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2416 (November 2003). 
§9395. Retention 

A. Hospital records shall be retained by the hospital in 
their original, microfilmed or similarly reproduced form for 
a minimum period of 10 years from the date a patient is 
discharged. 

B. Graphic matter, images, x-ray films, nuclear medicine 
reports and like matter that were necessary to produce a 
diagnostic or therapeutic report shall be retained, preserved 
and properly stored by the hospital in their original, 
microfilmed or similarly reproduced form for a minimum 
period of three years from the date a patient is discharged. 
(Note: Medicare and/or Medicaid participating hospitals 
must maintain copies of reports and printouts, films, scans 

and other image records for at least five years). Such graphic 
matter, images, x-ray film and like matter shall be retained 
for longer periods when requested in writing by any one of 
the following: 

1. an attending or consulting physician of the patient; 
2. the patient or someone acting legally in his/her 

behalf; 
3. legal counsel for a party having an interest affected 

by the patient's medical records. 
C. A hospital that is closing shall notify the department 

in writing at least 30 days prior to cessation of operation for 
approval of their plan for the disposition of patients' medical 
records. The plan shall contain provisions that comply with 
state laws on the storage, maintenance, access and 
confidentiality of the closed hospital's patient medical 
records. It shall consists of an appointed custodian who shall 
provide physical and environmental security that protects 
against fire, water, intrusion, unauthorized access, loss and 
destruction. The plan shall also provide public notice on 
access in the newspaper, with the largest circulation, in close 
proximity of the closing hospital. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2416 (November 2003). 
§9397. Waste and Hazardous Materials Management 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2416 (November 2003). 
Subchapter I. Quality Assessment and Improvement 
§9399. General Provisions 

A. The governing body shall ensure that there is an 
effective, written, ongoing, hospital-wide program designed 
to assess and improve the quality of patient care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2416 (November 2003). 
§9401. Clinical Plan 

A. There is a written plan for assessing and improving 
quality that describes the objectives, organization, scope and 
mechanisms for overseeing the effectiveness of monitoring, 
evaluation, and improvement activities. All organized 
services related to patient care, including services furnished 
by a contractor, shall be evaluated. Nosocomial infections 
and medication therapy shall be evaluated. All medical and 
surgical services and other invasive procedures performed in 
the hospital shall be evaluated as they relate to 
appropriateness of diagnosis and treatment. The services 
provided by each practitioner with hospital privileges shall 
be periodically evaluated to determine whether they are of 
an acceptable level of quality and appropriateness. 

B. Each department or service of the hospital shall 
address: 

1. patient care problems; 
2. cause of problems; 
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3. documented corrective actions; and 
4. monitoring or follow-up to determine effectiveness 

of corrective actions taken. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2416 (November 2003). 
§9403. Implementation 

A. Each department or service of the hospital, through its 
governing body, shall take and document appropriate 
remedial action to address deficiencies found through the 
quality assessment and improvement program. The hospital 
shall document the outcome of all remedial actions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
§9405. Patient Care Services 

A. The hospital shall have an on-going plan, consistent 
with available community and hospital resources, to provide 
or make available social work, psychological and 
educational services to meet the medically related needs of 
its patients. 

B. The hospital shall also have an effective, on-going 
discharge planning program that facilitates the provision of 
follow-up care. Each patient's record shall be annotated with 
a note regarding the nature of post hospital care 
arrangements. Discharge planning shall be initiated in a 
timely manner. Patients, along with necessary medical 
information (e.g., the patient's functional capacity, nursing 
and other care requirements, discharge summary, referral 
forms) shall be transferred or referred to appropriate 
facilities, agencies or outpatient services, as needed, for 
follow-up or ancillary care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
§9407. Post-Operative Area 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
Subchapter J. Physical Environment 
§9409. General Provisions 

A. The hospital shall be constructed, arranged and 
maintained to ensure the safety and well being of the patient. 

B. Hospitals with specialty units such as psychiatric or 
rehabilitative units must also comply with the physical 
environment requirements as expressed within those 
particular chapters. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 

Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
§9411. Buildings 

A. The buildings shall reflect good housekeeping and 
shall by means of an effective pest control program, be free 
of insects and rodents. 

B. The hospital shall maintain hospital-wide ventilation, 
lighting and temperature controls. 

C. There shall be a provision of emergency sources of 
critical utilities such as electricity, natural gas, water and fuel 
during any period in which the normal supply is temporarily 
disrupted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
§9413. Nursing Units 

A. A nurses' station equipped with a telephone and a 
nurse call system shall be provided in a suitable location on 
each nursing unit. 

B. An adequate and properly equipped utility space or 
area shall be provided on each nursing unit for the 
preparation, cleaning and storage of nursing supplies and 
equipment used on the nursing unit. This utility space shall 
be so arranged as to provide for separation of clean and 
soiled supplies and equipment. 

1. Grab bars properly located and securely mounted 
shall be provided at patient bathing facilities and toilet bowl 
with accessories. 

2. A lavatory basin shall be provided in or convenient 
to every toilet bowl with accessories. 

3. Paper towels in a satisfactory dispenser or some 
other acceptable type of single use towel and a satisfactory 
receptacle for used towels shall be provided at all lavatories. 

C. Areas for the isolation of patients with communicable 
diseases may be established on a temporary basis as the need 
arises. A private room or a corridor wing may be used 
provided appropriate isolation techniques are enforced, 
including identifying signs to warn and restrict the public. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
§9415. Patient Rooms  

A. Except as provided for in intensive care units, all 
patient rooms shall be outside rooms with a window area of 
clear glass of not less than 12 square feet. 

B. In hospitals constructed prior to November 20, 1990 
single rooms shall contain at least 80 square feet and multi-
bed rooms shall contain at least 70 square feet per bed. In 
hospitals constructed subsequent to November 20, 1990 
single rooms must contain at least 100 square feet and multi-
bed rooms shall contain at least 80 square feet per bed, 
exclusive of fixed cabinets, fixtures, and equipment, in 
accordance with Guidelines for Construction and Equipment 
of Hospital and Medical Facilities, 1987 Edition. In 
hospitals constructed subsequent to March 1, 1995, single 
rooms must contain at least 120 square feet and multi-bed 
rooms shall contain at least 100 square feet per bed,
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exclusive of fixed cabinets, fixtures, and equipment, in 
accordance with Guidelines for Construction and Equipment 
of Hospitals and Medical Facilities, Current Edition. Any 
patient room shall not contain more than four beds. Rooms 
shall have at least a 7 1/2 foot ceiling height over the 
required area. 

C. There shall be at least 3 feet between beds. 
D. Rooms shall be arranged so as to permit the 

movement of a wheeled stretcher to the side of each bed. 
E. There shall be sufficient and satisfactory separate 

storage space for clothing, toilet articles and other personal 
belongings of patients. 

F. Every patient room shall have a lavatory. This 
lavatory is not necessary in rooms with an adjoining toilet or 
bathroom that has a lavatory. In new construction, lavatory 
requirements will be directed by Guidelines for Construction 
and Equipment of Hospitals and Medical Facilities Current 
Edition. 

G. There shall be at least one toilet bowl with 
accessories, lavatory basin and bathing facility reserved for 
patient use on each patient floor and additional toilets, 
lavatories, and bathing facilities to adequately meet the 
needs of employees, professional personnel and patients  on 
each nursing unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2417 (November 2003). 
§9417. Patient Room Furnishings 

A. A hospital type bed with suitable mattress, pillow and 
necessary coverings shall be provided for each patient. There 
shall be a bedside stand, chair, and wardrobe, locker, or 
closet suitable for hanging full-length garments and storing 
personal effects for each patient. 

B. A nurses call system, within easy reach of each bed, 
shall be provided. The call system shall also be provided in 
each patient toilet and bathing area. 

C. Each bed in multi-bed rooms shall have approved 
ceiling suspended curtains, which extend around the bed to 
provide total visual privacy in combination with adjacent 
walls and curtains. A properly designed lamp or over-bed 
light, which can be operated by the patient, shall be provided 
at each bed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2418 (November 2003). 
§9419. Equipment 

A. Equipment shall be clean and in good repair for the 
safety and well-being of the patients. 

B. Therapeutic, diagnostic and other patient care 
equipment shall be maintained and serviced in accordance 
with the manufacturer's recommendations. 

C. All patients, when appropriate due to diagnosis, shall 
be provided with patient care items such as a bedpan, 
washbasin, emesis basin, drinking glass and soap dish. These 
supplies and equipment shall be properly cleaned and in 
appropriate cases shall be sterilized between use for different 
patients if disposable items are not used. 

D. Methods for cleaning, sanitizing, handling and storing 
of all supplies and equipment shall be such as to prevent the 
transmission of infection through their use. 

E. After discharge of a patient, the bed, mattress, cover, 
bedside furniture, and equipment shall be properly cleaned. 
Mattresses, blankets and pillows assigned to patients shall be 
in a sanitary condition. The mattress, blankets and pillows 
used for a patient with an infection shall be sanitized in an 
acceptable manner before they are assigned to another 
patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2418 (November 2003). 
§9421. Facilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2418 (November 2003). 
Subchapter K. Infection Control 
§9423. Organization and Policies 

A. The hospital shall provide a sanitary environment to 
avoid sources and transmission of infections and 
communicable diseases. 

B. There shall be an effective infection control program 
for the prevention, control, investigation and reporting of 
communicable disease and infections. The infection control 
program shall meet or exceed the latest criteria established 
by the following: 

1. Centers for Disease Control; 
2. Occupational Safety and Health Administration; 

and  
3. Sanitary Code of the state of Louisiana. 

C. A person or persons qualified by education and 
experience and competent in infection control practices shall 
be designated as infection control officer(s). This 
individual(s) shall be responsible for the development and 
implementation of a hospital-wide infection control 
program. 

D. The infection control officer(s) shall develop, with 
approval of the medical director and governing body, 
policies and procedures for identifying, reporting, 
investigating, preventing and controlling infections and 
communicable diseases of patients and hospital personnel. 
The infection control officer(s) shall maintain a log of 
incidents related to infections and communicable diseases. 

E. Employees with symptoms of illness that have the 
potential of being communicable (i.e. diarrhea, skin lesions, 
respiratory symptoms) shall be either evaluated by hospital 
staff or restricted from patient care activities during the 
infectious stage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2418 (November 2003). 
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§9425. Responsibilities 
A. The chief executive officer or administrator, the 

medical staff and the director of nursing services shall 
ensure that the hospital-wide quality assessment and 
improvement program and training programs address 
problems identified by the infection control officer(s). They 
shall be responsible for the implementation of successful 
corrective action plans in affected problem areas. Infection 
control activities or programs conducted or instituted in 
different departments of the hospital shall have the approval 
of the infection control officer(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9427. Laundry Services 

A. A supply of clean linen, sufficient to meet the 
requirements of the patients, shall be provided by a laundry 
service either in-house, contracted with another healthcare 
facility or in accordance with an outside commercial laundry 
service. All linens shall be handled, cleaned, sanitized, 
stored and transported in such a way as to prevent infection. 

B. Clean linen shall be delivered in such a way as to 
minimize microbial contamination from surface contact or 
airborne deposition. Soiled linen shall be collected in such a 
manner as to minimize microbial dissemination into the 
environment. All linen shall be laundered between patient 
use. 

C. Contaminated laundry shall be specially handled 
according to the hospital's written protocol, which is 
approved by the infection control officer(s). If laundry 
chutes exist, linen shall be bagged and the chutes shall 
empty into an enclosed collection room. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9429. Central Supply 

A. Space shall be provided for the preparation, storage, 
handling and distribution of sterile supplies and other patient 
care items. Functional design shall provide for the separation 
of soiled and contaminated supplies from those that are clean 
and sterile. All central supply departments shall adhere to 
strict traffic control in their departments. Air circulation 
systems in central supply shall be negative pressure in 
decontamination and ethylene oxide areas and positive 
pressure in all clean areas. 

B. Hand washing facilities shall be provided in all work 
areas. There shall be written policies and procedures  for the 
decontamination and sterilization of supplies and equipment, 
shelf life of all stored sterile items and reuse of disposable 
items in accordance with the latest criteria established by the 
Centers for Disease Control. 

C. All steam sterilizing equip ment shall have live 
bacteriological spore monitoring performed at least weekly 
and with each load containing an implantable device. If tests 
are positive, a system shall be in place to recall supplies. 

D. All ethylene oxide sterilizing equipment shall have 
live bacteriological spore monitoring performed with each 
load. There shall be ventilation of the room used for this 
sterilization to the outside atmosphere and there shall be a 
system in place to monitor trace gases of ethylene oxide at 
least monthly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9431. Isolation 

A. The hospital shall have appropriate facilities and 
procedures for infection control and the isolation of patients 
as necessary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9433. Waste and Hazardous Materials Management 

A. The hospital shall have a written and implemented 
waste management program that identifies and controls 
wastes and hazardous materials. The program shall comply 
with all applicable laws and regulations governing wastes 
and hazardous materials. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9435. Organization 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
Subchapter L. Surgical Services (Optional) 
§9437. General Provisions 

A. Surgical services are provided. The services shall be 
well organized and provided in accordance with acceptable 
standards of practice. If outpatient surgical services are 
offered, the services shall be consistent in quality with 
inpatient care in accordance with the complexity of services 
offered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9439. Organization and Staffing 

A. Surgical services shall be under the medical direction 
of a qualified physician who is a member of the medical 
staff and appointed by the governing body. 

B. Surgical privileges shall be delineated for all 
practitioners performing surgery in accordance with the 
competencies of each practitioner. The surgical services shall 
maintain a roster of practitioners specifying the surgical 
privileges of each practitioner. 
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C. The surgical suite shall be supervised by a registered 
nurse experienced and competent in the management of 
surgical services. 

D. A qualified registered nurse shall perform circulating 
duties for surgical procedures performed. In accordance with 
the needs of patients and the complexity of services 
performed, licensed practical nurses and operating room 
technicians may assist in circulatory duties under the 
supervision of a registered nurse who is immediately 
available to respond to emergencies. Licensed practical 
nurses and operating room technicians may perform scrub 
functions under the supervision of a registered nurse. 

E. The operating room register shall be complete and up-
to-date. It shall include at least the following: 

1. patient's name; 
2. patient's hospital identification number; 
3. date of the operation; 
4. inclusive or total time of the operation; 
5. name of the surgeon and any assistant(s);  
6. name of nursing personnel (scrub and circulating);  
7. type of anesthesia used; 
8. name of the person administering the anesthesia; 

and 
9. operation performed. 

F. An operative report describing techniques, findings, 
and tissue removed or altered shall be written or dictated 
immediately following surgery and signed by the surgeon. It 
shall include at least: 

1. the name and hospital identification number of the 
patient; 

2. date of surgery; 
3. name of the surgeon and assistant(s);  
4. pre-operative and post-operative diagnoses; 
5. name of the specific surgical procedure(s) 

performed; 
6. type of anesthesia administered; 
7. complications, if any; 
8. a description of techniques, findings, and the tissues 

removed or altered; and 
9. prosthetic devices or implants used, if any. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2419 (November 2003). 
§9441. Delivery of Service 

A. There shall be a complete history and physical work-
up in the chart of every patient prior to surgery, except in 
emergency surgery. If the history and physical has been 
dictated, but not yet recorded in the patient's chart, there 
shall be a statement to that effect and an admission note in 
the chart by the practitioner who admitted the patient. 

B. A properly executed informed consent form for the 
procedure must be in the patient's chart before surgery, 
except in emergencies. The consent form shall contain at 
least the following: 

1. name of the patient; 
2. hospital and patient identification number; 
3. name of the procedure(s) or operation; 
4. the reasonably foreseeable risks and benefits 

involved; 
5. name of the practitioner(s);  

6. signature of the patient or legal guardian; 
7. date and time the consent is obtained; and 
8. signature and professional designation of the person 

witnessing the consent. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2420 (November 2003). 
§9443. Surgery Suite and Equipment 

A. The surgical suite shall be appropriately equipped and 
consist of a clear floor area to accommodate the equipment 
and personnel required, allowing for aseptic technique. 

B. The surgical suite(s) shall be located in a segregated 
area out of the line of traffic of visitors and personnel from 
other departments and arranged so as to prevent traffic 
through them. 

C. There shall be scrub-up facilities in the surgical suite 
providing hot and cold running water and equipped with 
knee, foot or elbow faucet controls. 

D. There shall be a provision for washing instruments 
and equipment, which are to be cleaned within the surgical 
suite. If an autoclave is present, the same operating 
requirements referenced in Subchapter K, Infection Control 
shall be implemented. 

E. There shall be policies and procedures, approved by 
the Infection Control Committee that addresses terminal 
cleaning of the operating room as well as cleaning of the 
room between surgical cases. 

F. The emergency equipment in the surgical suite shall 
include: 

1. a communication system that connects each 
operating room with a control center; 

2. cardiac monitor; 
3. resuscitator; 
4. defibrillator; 
5. aspirator; and 
6. tracheotomy set. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2420 (November 2003). 
§9445. Post-Operative Area 

A. There shall be a post-operative care area (recovery 
room) which is a separate area of the hospital, unless 
provisions are made for close observation of the patient until 
they have regained consciousness (e.g., direct observation by 
an RN in the patient's room). Access shall be limited to 
authorized personnel. There shall be policies and procedures 
which specify transfer requirements to and from the post-
operative area. 

B. There shall be at least two health care personnel, one 
of which is a registered nurse, present whenever there is a 
patient. There shall be emergency equipment and monitoring 
equipment in the immediate area of the post-operative area. 
The equipment shall be commensurate with the surgical 
procedure and the medical requirements of the patient. That 
equipment shall include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. EKG/ECG monitor; 
2. pulse oxymeter monitor; 
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3. temperature monitoring equipment; 
4. equipment to administer oxygen; 
5. equipment necessary to monitor vital signs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2420 (November 2003). 
§9447. Facilities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2421 (November 2003). 
Subchapter M. Anesthesia Services (Optional) 
§9449. General Provisions 

A. If anesthesia services are provided, which is 
mandatory when surgical or obstetric services are provided, 
they must be provided in a well organized manner under the 
direction of a qualified doctor of medicine or osteopathy. 

B. The standards in this Chapter apply to services for all 
patients who: 

1. receive general, spinal, or other major regional 
anesthesia; or 

2. undergo surgery or other invasive procedures when 
receiving general, spinal, or other major regional anesthesia 
and/or intravenous, intramuscular, or inhalation 
sedation/analgesia, including conscious sedation, that, in the 
manner used in the hospital, may result in the loss of the 
patient's protective reflexes. 

C. Invasive procedures include, but are not limited to, 
percutaneous aspirations and biopsies, cardiac and vascular 
catheterization, and endoscopies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2421 (November 2003). 
§9451. Organization and Staffing 

A. Anesthesia services shall be administered by 
practitioners with appropriate clinical privileges obtained 
through a mechanism that assures that each practitioner 
provide only those services for which they have been 
licensed, trained and deemed to be competent to administer 
anesthesia within the scope of their practice. Those 
practitioners include: 

1. a qualified anesthesiologist; 
2. a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; 
3. a dentist, oral surgeon, or podiatrist who is qualified 

to administer anesthesia under state law; 
4. a certified registered nurse anesthetist (CRNA) 

licensed by the Louisiana State Board of Nursing who is 
under the supervision of the operating practitioner or of an 
anesthesiologist who is immediately available if needed as 
defined in the medical staff bylaws; or 

5. a bona fide student enrolled in a school of nurse 
anesthesia accredited by the Council on Accreditation of 
Nurse Anesthesia educational programs whose graduates are 
acceptable for certification by a nationally recognized 
certifying body may administer anesthesia as related to such 

course of study under the direct supervision of a certified 
registered nurse anesthetist or an anesthesiologist. 

B. The individual administering the anesthesia shall be 
present throughout its administration and attending the 
patient until the patient is under the care of post-anesthesia 
staff. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2421 (November 2003). 
§9453. Delivery of Service 

A. Policies on anesthesia procedures must include the 
delineation of pre-anesthesia and post-anesthesia 
responsibilities. As a minimum, they shall address: 

1. the qualifications, responsibilities and supervision 
required of all personnel who administer anesthesia; 

2. patient consent for anesthesia; 
3. infection control measures; 
4. safety practices in all anesthetizing areas; 
5. protocol for supportive life functions, e.g., cardiac 

and respiratory emergencies; 
6. reporting requirements; 
7. documentation requirements; 
8. inspection and maintenance reports on all supplies 

and equipment used in anesthesia; and 
9. trace gas reports. 

B. The policies must also ensure that the following are 
provided for each patient: 

1. a pre-anesthesia evaluation performed and recorded 
within 48 hours prior to surgery by an individual qualified to 
administer anesthesia; 

2. a reevaluation of each patient immediately prior to 
induction of anesthesia; 

3. an intra-operative anesthesia record that records 
monitoring of the patient during anesthesia and 
documentation of at least the following: 

a. prior to induction of the anesthesia, all anesthesia 
drugs and equipment to be used have been checked and are 
immediately available and are determined to be functional 
by the practitioner who is to administer the anesthetic; 

b. dosages and total dosages of all drugs and agents 
used; 

c. type and amount of all fluid administered, 
including blood and blood products; 

d. technique(s) used; 
e. unusual events during the anesthesia period;  
f. the status of the patient at the conclusion of 

anesthesia; 
g. a post-anesthesia follow-up report written within 

48 hours after surgery on inpatients and prior to discharge 
for patients undergoing one-day/same-day surgery by the 
individual who administers the anesthesia or another fully 
qualified practitioner within the anesthesia section; and 

h. a post-anesthesia evaluation on outpatients for 
proper anesthesia recovery performed in accordance with 
policies and procedures approved by the medical staff. 

C. The anesthesia policy and procedure manual shall 
ensure that the following are provided for each patient 
undergoing: 

1. general anesthesia: 
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a. the use of an anesthesia machine that provides 
the availability and use of safety devices including, but not 
limited to, an oxygen analyzer, pressure and disconnect 
alarm, pin-index safety system, gas-scavenging system, and 
oxygen pressure interlock system;  

b. continuous monitoring of the patient's 
temperature and vital signs, as well as the continuous use of 
an EKG/ECG , pulse oximeter monitor, end tidal carbon 
dioxide volume monitor, and peripheral nerve stimulator 
monitor; 

2. regional anesthesia (major nerve blocks): 
a. all equipment listed in the above list for general 

anesthesia shall be immediately available and in the 
operating room where the procedure is being performed; and 

b. continuous monitoring of the patient's vital signs, 
and temperature, as well as the continuous use of an 
EKG/ECG, and pulse oximeter monitor; and 

c. monitored by the practitioner who administered 
the regional anesthetic or individuals identified as a 
practitioner listed in §9451.A; 

3. local anesthesia (infiltration or topical). There shall 
be: 

a. continuous monitoring of the patient's vital signs 
and temperature as well as the continuous use of an 
EKG/ECG, and pulse oximeter monitor; and 

b. monitoring by the practitioner who administered 
the local anesthetic or a practitioner listed within §9451.A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2421 (November 2003). 
§9455. General Provisions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2422 (November 2003). 
Subchapter N. Nuclear Medicine Services (Optional) 
§9457. General Provisions 

A. If the hospital provides nuclear medicine services or 
contracts for the services, those services must meet the needs 
of the patients in accordance with acceptable standards of 
practice and be provided in a safe and effective manner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2422 (November 2003). 
§9459. Organization and Staffing 

A. The organization of the nuclear medicine services 
shall be appropriate to the scope and complexity of the 
services offered. There shall be a director who is a doctor of 
medicine or osteopathy qualified in nuclear medicine and 
named in the Department of Environmental Quality, 
Radiation Protection Division radioactive material license as 
authorized to use radioactive materials in humans. 

B. Nuclear medicine services shall be ordered only by a 
practitioner whose scope of federal or state licensing and 
defined staff privileges allow such referrals. 

C. The performance of nuclear medicine diagnostic 
procedures and the administration of radioactive material to 
humans may be accomplished only by the licensed physician 
practitioner or by the licensed nuclear medicine technologist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2422 (November 2003). 
§9461. Delivery of Service 

A. Radioactive materials shall be prepared, labeled, used, 
transported, stored and disposed of in accordance with 
acceptable standards of practice. 

B. In-house preparation of radiopharmaceuticals shall be 
by, or under the supervision of an appropriately trained 
registered pharmacist or a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 
whose use of radioactive materials is authorized in the 
facility's Department of Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Protection Division radioactive material license. 

C. There shall be proper storage and disposal of 
radioactive materials. If clinical laboratory tests are 
performed in the nuclear medicine service, the service shall 
meet the requirements for clinical laboratories with respect 
to management, adequacy of facilities, proficiency testing 
and quality control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2422 (November 2003). 
§9463. Facilities 

A. Equipment and supplies shall be appropriate for the 
types of nuclear medicine services offered and shall be 
maintained for safe and efficient performance. 

B. The equipment shall be maintained in safe operating 
condition, and inspected, tested, and calibrated at least 
annually by qualified personnel. The nuclear medicine 
service shall have and follow a preventive maintenance 
schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2422 (November 2003). 
§9465. Records  

A. The hospital shall maintain signed and dated reports 
of nuclear medicine interpretations, consultations and 
procedures. The hospital shall maintain copies of nuclear 
medicine reports in accordance with the retention 
requirement specified in Subchapter H, Medical Record 
Services. 

B. The practitioner approved by the medical staff and 
authorized by the facility's Department of Environmental 
Quality, Radiation Protection Division radioactive material 
license to interpret diagnostic procedures shall sign and date 
the interpretations of these tests. 

C. The hospital shall maintain records of the receipt and 
disposition of radiopharmaceuticals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2422 (November 2003). 
§9467. Obstetrical Unit Functions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 
Subchapter O. Outpatient Services (Optional) 
§9469. General Provisions and Organization 

A. If the hospital provides outpatient services, the 
services must meet the needs of the patients in accordance 
with acceptable standards of practice. 

B. Outpatient services shall be appropriately organized, 
integrated with, and provided in accordance with the 
standards applicable to the same service provided by the 
hospital on an inpatient basis. There shall be established 
methods of communication as well as established procedures 
to assure integration with inpatient services that provide 
continuity of care. When outpatients are admitted, pertinent 
information from the outpatient record shall be in the 
inpatient record. 

C. Any room designated for procedures or treatment 
involving conscious sedation shall have policies and 
procedures established by the medical staff to insure quality 
of care and safety of patients. Such guidelines shall include 
at a minimum: 

1. pre-procedure preparation; 
2. patient monitoring; 
3. discharge criteria; and 
4. staff competency requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 
§9471. Personnel 

A. The hospital shall assign an individual to be 
responsible for the outpatient services. There shall be 
appropriate professional and non-professional personnel 
available. 

B. There must be a registered nurse on the observation 
unit as long as there are patients admitted to the unit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 
§9473. Facilities 

A. All outpatient facilities shall be accessible to and 
usable by handicapped employees, staff, visitors and 
patients. Where appropriate, there shall be at least: 

1. a receptionist desk; 
2. waiting space; 
3. an examination room equipped with a lavatory and 

nurse call system;  
4. public toilet facilities; 
5. public telephone; and 

6. drinking fountain. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 
§9475. Neonatal Unit Functions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 
Subchapter P.  Rehabilitation Services (Optional) 
§9477. General Provisions 

A. If the hospital provides a range of rehabilitation 
services, including but not limited to physical therapy, 
occupational therapy, audiology or speech pathology 
services, the services shall be organized, operated and 
staffed in accordance with the provisions of this Subchapter 
P to ensure the health and safety of patients. 

B. A rehabilitation unit or facility is defined as a 
designated unit or hospital that primarily provides 
physiological rehabilitation services to inpatients and/or 
outpatients. 

C. For rehabilitation services that have multiple 
geographic locations, each geographical site shall meet the 
requirements in §9483. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 
§9479. Organization and Staffing 

A. The organization of services shall be appropriate to 
the scope of the services offered. The rehabilitation service 
shall employ and define the leadership structure in 
accordance with the facility administration. The medical 
director of rehabilitation services shall: 

1. be a doctor of medicine or osteopathy; 
2. be licensed to practice medicine or surgery in 

accordance with state law; 
3. have completed a one year hospital internship; and 
4. have had at least two years of training or 

experience, within the last five years, in the medical 
management of patients requiring rehabilitation services. 

B. Medical Director 
1. It is expected that the experience and training of the 

medical director of rehabilitation services will be sufficient 
to provide the expertise to perform all of the functions 
within the service. 

2. The medical director of rehabilitation services will 
be responsible to ensure that the objectives of each of the 
therapeutic disciplines of the rehabilitation program are 
efficiently conducted within the stated mission of the 
program and in accordance with current standards of 
rehabilitation medicine. 

C. Physical therapy, occupational therapy, 
psychology/neuropsychology, speech therapy and audiology 
services shall be provided by staff that meet the 
qualifications in accordance with Louisiana law. All 
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rehabilitation staff shall be duly licensed to practice in the 
areas in which they provide service. 

D. A rehabilitation unit in a general hospital shall employ 
a full-time registered nurse as director of rehabilitation 
nursing services who is not shared with any other hospital 
department and who has three years clinical nursing 
experience, one of which shall be in providing rehabilitative 
nursing care. The unit shall provide 24-hour registered nurse 
coverage with an adequate number of licensed nurses and 
rehabilitative workers to provide the nursing care necessary 
under each patient's active treatment program. 

E. In a rehabilitation hospital, the director of nursing 
services  shall be a full-time registered nurse who has three 
years clinical nursing experience, one of which shall be in 
providing rehabilitative nursing care. In addition to the 
director of nursing services, the hospital shall provide 24-
hour registered nurse coverage with an adequate number of 
licensed nurses and rehabilitative workers to provide the 
nursing care necessary under each patient's active treatment 
program. 

F. If provided, psychological services shall be provided 
by or supervised by a psychologist licensed by the Louisiana 
State Board of Examiners of Psychologists. 

G. Social services shall be provided by a licensed clinical 
social worker and shall meet the needs of the patients. 

H. If the hospital provides a range of rehabilitation 
services, the services must define criteria for admission to 
the inpatient rehabilitation program and discharge from the 
inpatient program. 

I. There shall be an interdisciplinary team which should 
include, but not be limited to: 

1. a registered nurse with rehabilitation experience on 
each shift; 

2. restorative nursing assistants and/or certified 
nursing aides; 

3. a physical therapist; 
4. an occupational therapist; 
5. a psychologist/neuropsychologist; 
6. a physician experienced in rehabilitation medicine; 
7. a social worker; 
8. a speech-language pathologist. 

J. The program should provide or make arrangements 
for: 

1. audiology services; 
2. driver assessment; 
3. driver education; 
4. medical nutrition therapy; 
5. orthotic services; 
6. prosthetic services; 
7. rehabilitation resources (independent centers);  
8. vocational rehabilitation; 
9. durable medical equipment; 
10. specialty consultants; 
11. other services consistent with the criteria for 

admission. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2423 (November 2003). 

§9481. Delivery of Services 
A. Rehabilitation services shall be furnished in 

accordance with a written plan of treatment based upon an 
assessment performed by the qualified professional. The 
written plan of treatment shall be established prior to the 
beginning of treatment. The plan of treatment shall consist of 
at least the treatment goals, type, amount, frequency and 
duration of services. 

B. Rehabilitation services shall be given in accordance 
with the orders of practitioners who are authorized by the 
medical staff to order the services. The orders shall be 
incorporated in the patient's medical record. 

C. The patient's progress shall be documented on a 
timely and regular basis in accordance with written policies 
and procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2424 (November 2003). 
§9483. Facilities? Physical Space 

A. Space and equipment shall be appropriate for the 
types of rehabilitation services offered and shall be 
maintained for safe and efficient performance and in 
accordance with the Rehabilitation Chapter and General 
Hospital Chapter of the AIA Guidelines for Design and 
Construction of Hospital and Health Care Facilities, 2001 
(or most recent edition).  

B. The Activities of Daily Living (ADL) room is in 
addition to the licensed bed capacity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2424 (November 2003). 
§9485. Pediatric Intensive Care Units 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2424 (November 2003). 
Subchapter Q. Respiratory Care Services (Mandatory) 
§9487. General Provisions 

A. The hospital shall provide respiratory care services. 
The services shall meet the needs of the patients in 
accordance with acceptable standards of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2424 (November 2003). 
§9489. Organization and Staffing 

A. The organization of the respiratory care services shall 
be appropriate to the scope and complexity of the services 
offered. There shall be a director of the service who shall 
have the administrative authority and responsibility for 
implementing the hospital's policies. The director shall be a 
doctor of medicine or osteopathy with the knowledge, 
experience and capabilities to supervise and administer the 
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services properly. The director may serve on either a full-
time or part-time basis. 

B. There shall be adequate numbers of respiratory 
therapists, respiratory therapy technicians and other 
personnel who meet the qualifications specified by the 
medical staff and approved by the governing body, 
consistent with Louisiana law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2424 (November 2003). 
§9491. Delivery of Services 

A. Respiratory care services shall be delivered in 
accordance with medical staff directives and incorporated in 
the patient's medical record. The order shall specify the type, 
frequency and duration of treatment, and as appropriate, the 
type and dose of medication, type of diluent, and the oxygen 
concentration. All respiratory care services provided shall be 
documented in the patient's medical record, including the 
type of therapy, date and time of administration, effects of 
therapy, and any adverse reactions. 

B. Personnel qualified to perform specific procedures 
and the amount of supervision required for personnel to 
carry out specific procedures shall be designated in writing. 

C. If blood gases or other clinical laboratory tests are 
performed in the respiratory care unit, the unit shall meet the 
requirement for clinical laboratories with respect to 
management, adequacy of facilities, proficiency testing and 
quality control as set forth in Subchapter F of these 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2425 (November 2003). 
§9493. Staffing 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2100-2115. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), repealed LR 
29:2424 (November 2003). 
Subchapter R. Psychiatric Services (Optional) 
§9495. General Provisions 

A. These requirements are applicable to those hospitals 
which are primarily engaged in providing psychiatric 
services for the diagnosis and treatment of mentally ill 
persons or have organized a physically and functionally 
distinct part unit within the hospital to provide these 
services. Pediatric and adolescent psychiatric units shall be 
physically separated from adult psychiatric units. Facilities 
without separate pediatric and adolescent units shall have 
policies and procedures that prevent adult patients from co-
mingling with pediatric and/or adolescent psychiatric 
patients. 

B. For psychiatric services/facilities that have multiple 
geographic locations, each geographical site shall meet the 
requirements in §9497, §9499 and §9501. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2425 (November 2003). 
§9497. Facilities 

A. The layout, design of details, equipment and 
furnishings shall be such that patients shall be under close 
observation and shall not be afforded opportunities for 
hiding, escape or injury to themselves or others. The 
environment of the unit shall be characterized by a feeling of 
openness with emphasis on natural light and exterior views. 
Interior finishes, lighting and furnishings shall suggest a 
residential rather than an institutional setting while 
conforming with applicable fire safety codes. Security and 
safety devices shall not be presented in a manner to attract or 
challenge tampering by patients. 

B. Windows or vents shall be arranged and located so 
that they can be opened from the inside to permit venting of 
combustion products and to permit occupants direct access 
to fresh air in emergencies. The operation of windows shall 
be restricted to inhibit possible escape or suicide. Where 
windows or vents require the use of tools or keys for 
operation, the tools or keys shall be either located on the 
same floor in a prominent location accessible to staff or 
carried by every staff member. With hospitals that have 
approved engineered smoke control systems, the windows 
may be fixed. Where glass fragments pose a hazard to 
certain patients, safety glazing and/or other appropriate 
security features shall be used. There shall be no curtain or 
venetian blind chords. 

C. Where grab bars are provided, they shall be 
institutional type, shall not rotate within their fittings, be 
securely fastened with tamper-proof screw heads, and shall 
be free of any sharp or abrasive elements. If grab bars are 
mounted adjacent to a wall, the space between the wall and 
the grab bar shall be 1 1/2 inches. 

D. Where towel racks, closet and shower curtain rods are 
provided, they shall be the breakaway type. 

E. Plastic bags and/or trash can liners shall not be used 
in patient care areas. 

F. Electrical receptacles shall be of the safety type or 
protected by 5-milliampere ground-fault-interrupters. 

G. There shall be outdoor space for patient recreation. 
H. Patient Rooms  

1. A nurses call system is not required, but if it is 
included, provisions shall be made for easy removal, or for 
covering call button outlets. A hospital shall have written 
policies and procedures to address call where no electronic 
system is in place. 

2. Bedpan-flushing devices may be omitted from 
patient room toilets in psychiatric nursing units. 

3. Visual privacy (e.g., cubicle curtains) in multi-bed 
rooms is not required. 

4. Free standing closets shall be secured to the wall. 
5. Electric patient beds are not to be used. 

I. Service Areas 
1. A secured storage area controlled by staff shall be 

provided for patients' belongings that are determined to be 
potentially harmful (e.g., razors, nail files, cigarette lighters). 

2. Drugs and biologicals shall be stored in locked 
compartments under proper temperature controls, and only 
authorized personnel shall have access to the keys. 
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3. Food service may be one or a combination of the 
following: 

a. a nourishment station; 
b. a kitchenette designed for patient use with staff 

control of heating and cooking devices; 
c. a kitchen service including a hand washing 

fixture, storage space, refrigerator, and facilities for meal 
preparation. 

4. Storage space for stretchers and wheelchairs may 
be outside the psychiatric unit, provided that provisions are 
made for convenient access as needed for handicapped 
patients. 

5. A separate charting area shall be provided with 
provisions for acoustical privacy. A viewing window to 
permit observation of patient areas by the charting nurse or 
physician may be used if the arrangement is such that patient 
files cannot be read from outside the charting space. 

6. At least two separate social spaces, one appropriate 
for noisy activities and one for quiet activities shall be 
provided. The combined area shall be at least 40 square feet 
per patient with at least 120 square feet for each of the two 
spaces. This space may be shared by dining activities. 

7. Space for group therapy shall be provided. This 
may be combined with the quiet space noted above when the 
unit accommodates not more than 12 patients, and when at 
least 225 square feet of enclosed private space is available 
for group therapy activities. 

8. An automatic washer and dryer shall be provided 
for patient laundry. 

9. Room(s) for examination and treatment with a 
minimum area of 120 square feet shall be provided within or 
in close proximity to the unit. 

10. Separate consultation room(s) with minimum floor 
space of 100 square feet each, provided at a room-to-bed 
ratio of one consultation room for each 12 psychiatric beds 
shall be provided within the unit for interviews with patients 
and their families. The room(s) shall be designed for 
acoustical and visual privacy and constructed to achieve a 
noise reduction of at least 45 decibels. 

11. Psychiatric hospitals or units shall provide 15 
square feet of separate space per patient for occupational 
therapy, with a minimum total area of at least 200 square 
feet, whichever is greater. This space shall include provision 
for hand washing, work counter(s), storage and displays. 
Occupational therapy areas may serve more than one nursing 
unit. When the psychiatric nursing unit(s) contain fewer than 
12 beds, the occupational therapy functions may be 
performed within the noisy activities area, if at least an 
additional 10 square feet per patient served is included. 

12. A conference and treatment planning room for use 
by the psychiatric unit shall be provided. This room may be 
combined with the charting room. 

J. Seclusion Treatment Room 
1. There shall be at least one seclusion room for up to 

24 beds or a major fraction thereof. It  is intended for short-
term occupancy by violent or suicidal patients and provides 
for patients requiring security and protection. The room(s) 
shall be either located for direct nursing staff supervision or 
observed through the use of electronic monitoring 
equipment. 

2. If electronic monitoring equipment is used, it shall 
be connected to the hospital's emergency electrical source. 

3. Each room shall be for single occupancy and 
contain at least 60 square feet. It shall be constructed to 
prevent patient hiding, escape, injury or suicide. 

4. Where restraint beds are required by the functional 
program, 80 square feet shall be required. 

5. If a facility has more than one psychiatric unit, 
located at the same geographical address, the number of 
seclusion rooms shall be determined by the total number of 
psychiatric beds at that location. However, if there are 
psychiatric units located at multiple and different 
geographical addresses, there shall be a seclusion room that 
meets these requirements at each off-site camp us that offers 
inpatient psychiatric services. 

6. Special fixtures and hardware for electrical circuits 
shall be used.  

7. The minimum ceiling height shall be 9 feet. 
8. Doors shall be 3 feet 8 inches wide, and shall 

permit staff observation of the patient while also maintaining 
provisions for patient privacy. 

9. Seclusion rooms shall be accessed by an anteroom 
or vestibule which also provides direct access to a toilet 
room. 

K. Ceiling construction in psychiatric patient rooms and 
seclusion room(s) shall be monolithic or tamper proof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing LR 21:177 (February 1995), amended LR 
29:2425 (November 2003). 
§9499. Supplies and Equipment 

A. Restraint equipment shall be immediately available 
and accessible to staff. 

B. Recreational supplies and therapy equipment shall be 
available and in locked storage. 

C. Locked storage areas shall be available for 
safekeeping of patient luggage and contraband items. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2426 (November 2003). 
§9501. Staffing 

A. The hospital or unit shall provide qualified 
professional, technical and consultative personnel to 
evaluate patients, formulate written individualized 
comprehensive treatment plans, provide active treatment 
measures and engage in discharge planning. 

B. The hospital or unit shall employ a clinical director, 
who meets the training and experience requirements for 
examination by the American Board of Psychiatry and 
Neurology, or the American Osteopathic Board of 
Neurology and Psychiatry. The clinical director shall 
monitor and evaluate the quality and appropriateness of 
services and treatment provided by the medical staff. 

C. The hospital or unit shall employ a full-time 
registered nurse as director of psychiatric nursing services, 
who is not shared with any other hospital department and 
who has: 

1. a master's degree in psychiatric or mental health 
nursing; or 

2. a master's degree in a related field such as 
psychology or nursing education and five years nursing 
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experience and three years providing nursing care to the 
mentally ill; or 

3. a bachelor's, associate degree or diploma in nursing 
with documented evidence of educational programs focused 
on treating psychiatric patients, which has occurred at 
intervals sufficient enough to keep the nurse current on 
psychiatric nursing techniques. In addition, the nurse shall 
have at least five years of nursing experience, three years of 
which were providing nursing care to the mentally ill, or 
receive regula r, documented supervision/consultation from a 
master's prepared psychiatric nurse. 

D. In addition to the director of psychiatric nursing 
service, the hospital or unit shall provide 24-hour registered 
nurse coverage with an adequate number of licensed nurses 
and mental health workers to provide the nursing care 
necessary under each patient's active treatment program. 

E. Psychological services shall be provided by or 
supervised by a psychologist licensed by the Louisiana State 
Board of Examiners of Psychologists.  

F. Social services shall be provided by a director who is 
a licensed clinical social worker and is experienced in the 
social service needs of the mentally ill. 

G. Therapeutic activities such as art leisure  counseling, 
recreational therapy, etc., shall be provided by licensed or 
certified therapists, adequate in number to respond to the 
therapeutic activity needs of the patient population being 
served. A certified therapist is a person with a college degree 
who has obtained a certification as an activity therapist, 
recreational therapist, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2426 (November 2003). 
Subchapter S. Obstetrical and Newborn Services 

(Optional) 
§9505. General Provisions 

A. These requirements are applicable to hospitals that 
provide obstetrical and newborn services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2427 (November 2003). 
§9507. Obstetrical Units 

A. There are four obstetrical level-of-care units 
established: Obstetrical Level I Unit; Obstetrical Level II 
Unit; Obstetrical Level III Unit; and Obstetrical Level III 
Regional Unit. If obstetrical services are provided, the 
hospital shall satisfy the basic Obstetrical Level I Unit 
requirements. Obstetrical services shall be provided in 
accordance with acceptable standards of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2427 (November 2003). 
§9509. Obstetrical Unit Functions 

A. Obstetrical Level I Unit 
1. Care and supervision for low risk pregnancies shall 

be provided. 
2. A triage system shall exist for identification, 

stabilization and referral of high risk maternal and fetal 
conditions beyond the scope of care of a Level I Unit. 

3. There shall be a transfer agreement with a hospital 
which has an Obstetrical Level III Unit and/or Obstetrical 
Level III Regional Unit. 

4. The unit shall provide detection and care for 
unanticipated maternal-fetal problems encountered in labor.  

5. The unit shall have the capability to perform 
cesarean delivery within 30 minutes of the decision to do so. 

6. Blood and fresh frozen plasma for transfusion shall 
be immediately available. 

7. Anesthesia, radiology, ultrasound, electronic fetal 
monitoring (along with personnel skilled in its use) and 
laboratory services shall be available on a 24-hour basis. 

8. Postpartum care facilities shall be available. 
9. There shall be resuscitation and stabilization 

capability of all inborn neonates. 
10. A qualified physician or certified nurse midwife 

shall attend all deliveries. 
B. Obstetrical Level II Unit 

1. This unit shall meet all requirements of all 
Obstetrical Level I Unit services at a superior level. 

2. There shall be management of high risk conditions 
appropriate for the level of medical, nursing support and 
technical expertise available. 

3. The role of an Obstetrical Level II Unit is to 
provide excellent levels of care for most obstetric conditions 
in its population, but not to accept transports of obstetrical 
patients with a gestation age of less than 30 weeks or 1,250 
grams if delivery is imminent and likely to result in the 
delivery of such infant. 

4. Conditions which would result in the delivery of an 
infant weighing less than 1,250 grams or less than 30 weeks 
gestation shall be referred to a Level III or Level III 
Regional obstetrical unit unless the patient is too unstable to 
transport safely. Written cooperative agreements with 
Obstetrical Level III and/or Obstetrical III Regional Units 
for transfer of these patients shall exist for all Obstetrical 
Level II Units. 

5. There shall be performance of all Level I unit 
services at a superior level. 

6. The unit shall be able to manage maternal 
complications of a mild to moderate nature that do not 
surpass the capabilities of a well trained board-certified 
obstetrician/gynecologist. 

7. The needed subspecialty expertise is predominantly 
neonatal although perinatal cases might be appropriate to co-
manage with a perinatologist. 

8. Ultrasound shall be available on labor and delivery 
24 hours a day. 

C. Obstetrical Level III Unit 
1. The unit shall meet all Obstetrical Level I and II 

Unit services at a superior level. 
2. There shall be provision of comprehensive perinatal 

care for high risk mothers both admitted and transferred. 
Pregnancies at highest risk shall be managed in these units. 
Pregnancies marked by extreme prematurity, need for fetal 
intervention, significant maternal illness (acute or chronic) 
shall be referred to an Obstetrical Level III or III Regional 
Unit. 

3. Obstetric imaging capabilities to perform targeted 
ultrasound examinations in cases of known abnormalities 
shall be available. 
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4. Genetic counseling and diagnostics shall be 
provided as a comprehensive service. 

5. Research and educational support to practitioners in 
the community shall be provided through organized outreach 
educational programs. 

6. This unit shall provide for and coordinate maternal 
transport with Obstetrical Level I and II Units. 

7. Cooperative transfer agreements with Obstetrical 
Level III Regional Units shall exist for the transport of 
mothers or fetuses requiring care unavailable in an 
Obstetrical Level III Unit or that are better coordinated at an 
Obstetrical Level III Regional Unit. 

8. There shall be an initial evaluation of new high-risk 
technologies. 

9. There shall be performance of all Level I and II 
Unit services at a superior level. 

10. The unit shall provide care for the most premature 
labors. 

11. The unit shall provide care for the most challenging 
of fetal conditions. Only those conditions requiring a 
medical team approach not available to the perinatologist in 
an Obstetrical Level III Unit shall be transported to an 
Obstetrical Level III Regional Unit. 

12. The unit shall provide for the most challenging of 
maternal conditions. Only those conditions requiring an 
OB/ICU environment or specialty support unavailable in an 
Obstetrical Level III Unit shall be transported to an 
Obstetrical Level III Regional Unit. 

13. Anesthesia services shall be in-house 24 hours per 
day. 

D. Obstetrical Level III Regional Unit 
1. The unit shall meet all requirements and 

performance of Level I, II and III NICU Unit services at a 
superior level. 

2. There shall be a continuing commitment to 
maintain a depth and breadth of support specialties available 
in only the most sophisticated of medical centers. 

3. These units shall provide for and coordinate 
maternal and neonatal transport with Level I, II and III 
NICU Units throughout the state. 

4. Initial evaluation of new technologies shall be a 
goal of an Obstetrical Level III Regional Unit. 

5. Hospitals with these units shall be recognized as a 
medical center of excellence, and a center of research, 
educational and consultative support to the medical 
community. 

6. The unit shall have the ability to care for both 
mother and fetus in a comprehensive manner in an area 
dedicated to the care of the critically ill parturient. 

7. An organized team dedicated to the care of the 
mother and of the fetus both in utero and after delivery shall 
be maintained. The team shall consist of, but is not limited 
to, specialist in the following areas: maternal fetal medicine, 
cardiology, neurology, neurosurgery and hematology. 
Additionally, sub-specialists to provide expertise in the care 
of the critically ill parturient shall be on staff in the 
following areas: adult critical care, cardiothoracic surgery, 
nephrology, pulmonary medicine, cardiology, endocrinology, 
urology, neurosurgery, infectious disease and 
gastroenterology. A nutritionist shall also be available in the 
care of these patients. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2427 (November 2003). 
§9511. Medical Staff 

A. Obstetrical Level I Unit 
1. Obstetrical services shall be under the medical 

direction of a qualified physician who is a member of the 
medical staff with obstetric privileges and is appointed by 
the governing body. This physician has the responsibility of 
coordinating perinatal services with the pediatric medical 
director. 

B. Obstetrical Level II Unit 
1. The chief of obstetric services shall be a board 

certified/board eligible obstetrician with special interest and 
experience in maternal-fetal medicine. This obstetrician has 
the responsibility of coordinating perinatal services with the 
neonatologist in charge of the NICU. 

2. Anesthesia personnel with credentials to administer 
obstetric anesthesia shall be readily available. 

3. Policies regarding the availability of anesthesia for 
routine and emergency deliveries shall be developed. 
Specialized medical and surgical consultation shall be 
readily available by medical staff me mbers. 

4. A board certified radiologist and a board certified 
clinical pathologist shall be available 24 hours a day. 
Specialized medical and surgical consultation shall be 
readily available. 

C. Obstetrical Level III Unit 
1. The chief of the obstetrical unit providing maternal-

fetal medicine services at a Level III Unit shall be a board 
certified or board eligible maternal-fetal medicine specialist 
or a board certified obstetrician with special interest and 
experience in maternal-fetal medicine who shall be 
designated as the chief to assure that appropriate care is 
provided by the primary attending physician for high risk 
maternal patients. 

2. If there is no hospital based maternal-fetal medicine 
specialist, a strong consultative agreement shall exist 
through a formal transfer agreement with an Obstetrical 
Level III or Level III Regional Obstetrical Unit with a 
hospital based maternal-fetal medicine specialist. The 
agreement shall also provide for the review of outcomes and 
case management for all high risk obstetrical patients for 
educational purposes. 

3. A board-certified anesthesiologist with special 
training or experience in maternal-fetal anesthesia shall be in 
charge of obstetric anesthesia services at a Level III Unit. 
Personnel with credentials to administer obstetric anesthesia, 
which would include CRNAs, shall be in-house 24 hours a 
day. Personnel with credentials to administer neonatal and 
pediatric anesthesia shall be available as required. Medical 
and surgical consultation shall be readily available and on 
staff. 

D. Obstetrical Level III Regional Unit 
1. The medical staff as outlined in the Level III Unit 

classification shall be available and shall coordinate care 
with the subspecialties as listed within an Obstetrical Level 
III Regional Unit function. 

2. The chief of the perinatal team at the Level III 
Regional Unit shall be a board-certified maternal-fetal 
specialist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2428 (November 2003). 
§9513. Facilities 

A. Obstetrical patients shall not be placed in rooms with 
other types of patients. 

B. At least one toilet and lavatory basin shall be 
provided for the use of obstetrical patients. 

C. The arrangement of the rooms and areas used for 
obstetrical patients shall be such as to minimize traffic of 
patients, visitors and personnel from other departments and 
prevent traffic through the delivery room(s). 

D. There shall be an isolation room provided with hand 
washing facilities for immediate segregation and isolation of 
a mother and/or baby with a known or suspected 
communicable disease. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2429 (November 2003). 
§9515. Newborn Units 

A. There are four neonatal level-of-care units 
established: Level I Neonatal Unit; Level II NICU Unit; 
Level III NICU Unit; and Level III Regional NICU Unit. If 
neonatal services are provided, the hospital shall satisfy the 
basic Neonatal Level I NICU Unit requirements. Neonatal 
services shall be provided in accordance with acceptable 
standards of practice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2429 (November 2003). 
§9517. Neonatal Unit Functions 

A. Level I Neonatal Unit 
1. The unit shall be able to evaluate the condition of 

healthy neonates and provide continuing care of these 
neonates until their discharge in compliance with state 
regulations regarding eye care, hearing screening and 
metabolic screening. 

2. The unit shall stabilize unexpectedly small or sick 
neonates before transfer to a Level II, III or III Regional 
NICU Unit. 

3. The unit shall maintain consultation and transfer 
agreements with a Level II, III and III Regional NICU Units, 
emphasizing maternal transport when possible. 

4. There shall be resuscitation and stabilization of all 
inborn neonates. 

5. There shall be a defined nursery area with limited 
access and security or rooming-in facilities. 

6. Parent-neonate visitation/interaction shall be 
provided. 

7. There shall be the capability of data collection and 
retrieval. 

B. Level II NICU Unit 
1. The unit shall meet all requirements and 

performance of all Level I Neonatal Unit services at a 
superior level. 

2. There shall be management of small, sick neonates 
with a moderate degree of illness that are admitted or 
transferred. 

3. There shall be neonatal ventilatory support, vital 
signs monitoring and fluid infusion in the defined area of the 
nursery. 

4. Neonates born in a Level II NICU Unit with a birth 
weight of less than 1,000 grams shall be transferred to a 
Level III or Level III Regional NICU Unit once they have 
been stabilized if they require prolonged ventilatory support 
or have life threatening diseases or surgical complications 
requiring a higher level of care. 

5. Neonates with a birth weight in excess of 1,000 
grams who require prolonged ventilation therapy shall be 
cared for in a Level II NICU Unit, provided such facility 
performs a minimum of 72 days of ventilator care annually. 
A day of ventilator care is defined as any period of time 
during a 24-hour period. 

6. If a Level II NICU Unit performs less than 72 
ventilator days per year, it shall transfer any neonate 
requiring prolonged (greater than 24 consecutive hours) 
ventilator therapy to a Level III or Level III Regional NICU 
Unit. Neonates requiring transfer to a Level III or Level III 
Regional NICU Unit may be returned to a Level II NICU 
Unit for convalescence. 

C. Level III NICU Unit 
1. The unit shall meet all requirements of the Level I 

Neonatal Unit and Level II NICU Unit services at a superior 
level. 

2. There shall be provision of comprehensive care of 
high risk neonates of all categories admitted and transferred. 

3. There shall be a neonatal transport agreement with 
Level III Regional Units and shall be involved in organized 
outreach educational programs. 

4. There shall be one neonatalogist for every 10 
patients in intensive care (Level III NICU unit) area. If the 
neonatalogist is not in-house, there shall be one licensed 
physician who has successfully completed the Neonatal 
Resuscitation Program (NRP), or one neonatal nurse 
practitioner in -house for Level III NICU unit patients who 
require intensive care. A five-year phase-in period shall be 
allowed in order for the hospital to recruit adequate staff to 
meet these requirements. 

5. Obstetrics and neonatal diagnostic imaging, 
provided by obstetricians or radiologists who have special 
interest and competence in maternal and neonatal disease 
shall be available 24 hours a day. 

6. There shall be a neonatalogist or a licensed 
physician who has successfully completed the Neonatal 
Resuscitation Program (NRP), or a neonatal nurse 
practitioner in-house at all times. 

D. Neonatal Level III Regional NICU Unit 
1. The unit shall meet all requirements of the Level I 

Neonatal Unit and Level II and III NICU unit services at a 
superior level. 

2. The unit shall have a transport team and provide for 
and coordinate a maternal and neonatal transport with Level 
I, Level II and Level III NICU's throughout the state. 

3. The unit shall be recognized as a medical center of 
excellence, and a center of research, educational and 
consultative support to the medical community. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2429 (November 2003). 
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§9519. Medical Staff 
A. Level I Neonatal Unit. The unit's medical director 

and/or department chief shall be a board-eligible or board-
certified pediatrician; or a board-eligible or board-certified 
family practitioner on staff. 

B. Level II NICU Unit. A board-certified pediatrician of 
a Level II NICU unit with subspecialty certification in 
neonatal medicine shall be the medical director and/or 
department chief. In existing units consideration shall be 
given to waiving this requirement for board-certified 
pediatricians with a minimum of five years experience in 
neonatal care who are currently serving as medical directors 
of Level II NICU units. The request for waiver shall be made 
in writing to the Office of the Secretary. 

C. Level III NICU Unit. The medical director and/or 
department chief of a Level III NICU unit shall be a board-
certified pediatrician with subspecialty certification in 
neonatal medicine. The following exceptions are recognized. 

1. Board eligible neonatonologists shall achieve board 
certification within five years of completion of fellowship 
training. 

2. In existing units, consideration shall be given to 
waiving this requirement for neonatalogists who are 
currently medical directors and/or department chiefs of 
Level III NICUs. The request for waiver shall be made in 
writing to the Office of the Secretary/Bureau of Health 
Services Financing. This exception applies only to the 
individual at the hospital where the medical director and/or 
department chief position is held. The physician can not 
relocate to another hospital nor can the hospital replace the 
medical director and/or department chief for whom the 
exception was granted and retain the exception. 

3. There shall be one neonatalogist for every 10 
patients in the intensive care Level III NICU unit area. If the 
neonatalogist is not in-house, there shall be one licensed 
physician (who has successfully completed the neonatal 
resuscitation program (NRP)), or one neonatal nurse 
practitioner in -house for Level III NICU unit patients who 
require intensive care. A five-year phase-in period shall be 
allowed in order for the hospital to recruit adequate staff to 
meet these requirements. A Level III NICU unit shall have a 
neonatalogist, or a licensed physician (who has successfully 
completed the neonatal resuscitation program (NRP)), or a 
neonatal nurse practitioner in-house at all times. 

4. Medical and surgical consultation shall be readily 
available and pediatric sub-specialists may be used in 
consultation with a transfer agreement with a Level III 
Regional NICU unit. 

D. Level III Regional NICU Unit 
1. The medical director and/or department chief shall 

be a board-certified neonatalogist. 
2. The unit shall have the following subspecialties on 

staff and clinical services available to provide consultation 
and care in a timely manner: 

a. pediatric surgery; 
b. pediatric cardiology; 
c. pediatric neurology; 
d. pediatric hematology; 
e. genetics; 
f. pediatric nephrology; 
g. endocrinology; 
h. pediatric gastroenterology; 

i. pediatric infectious disease; 
j. pediatric pulmonary medicine; 
k. cardiovascular surgery; 
l. neurosurgery; 
m. orthopedic surgery; 
n. pediatric urologic surgery; 
o. pediatric ophthalmology; 
p. pediatric ENT surgery; 
q. pediatric nutritionist; 
r. pediatric PT/OT; 
s. neonatal social services; 
t. bioethics committee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2430 (November 2003). 
§9521. Staffing 

A. Level I Neonatal Unit. A registered nurse manager 
dedicated for the neonatal care area shall be available to all 
units. The registered nurse manager shall have specific 
training and experience in neonatal care. The registered 
nurse manager shall participate in the development of 
written policies and procedures for the neonatal care areas, 
coordinate staff education and budget preparation with the 
medical director. The nurse manager shall name qualified 
substitutes to fulfill his or her duties during their absences. 
Nurse to patient ratios will vary with patient needs; however, 
the range for Level I shall be 1:8. 

B. Level II NICU Unit. A registered nurse manager 
dedicated for the neonatal care area shall be available to all 
units. The registered nurse manager shall have specific 
training and experience in the development of written 
policies and procedures for the neonatal care areas and shall 
coordinate staff education and budget preparation with the 
medical director. The nurse manager shall name qualified 
substitutes to fulfill his or her duties during their absences. 
Nurse to patient ratios will vary with patient needs; however, 
the range for Level II shall be 1:3-4. 

C. Level III NICU Unit. A registered nurse manager 
dedicated for the neonatal care area shall be available to all 
units. The nurse manager shall have specific training and 
experience in the development of written policies and 
procedures for the neonatal care areas and shall coordinate 
staff education and budget preparation with the medical 
director. The nurse manager shall name qualified substitutes 
to fulfill his or her duties during their absences. Nurse-to-
patient ratios will vary with patient needs, however, the 
range for Level III NICU unit shall be 1:2-3. 

D. Level III Regional NICU Unit. A registered nurse 
manager dedicated for the neonatal care area shall be 
available to all units. The nurse manager shall have specific 
training and experience in neonatal intensive care. The nurse 
manager shall participate in the development of written 
policies and procedures for the neonatal care areas and shall 
coordinate staff education and budget preparation with the 
medical director. The nurse manager shall name qualified 
substitutes to fulfill his or her duties during their absences. 
Nurse to patient ratios will vary with patient needs, however, 
the range for Level III regional unit shall be 1:1-2. 

E. The following support personnel shall be available to 
the perinatal care service of Level II, III and III Regional 
NICU units: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2431

1. at least one full-time medical social worker who 
has experience with the socioeconomic and psychosocial 
problems of high-risk mothers and fetuses, sick neonates, 
and their families (additional medical social workers may be 
required if the patient load is heavy);  

2. at least one occupational or physical therapist with 
neonatal expertise; 

3. at least one registered dietitian/nutritionist who has 
special training in perinatal nutrition and can plan diets that 
meet the special needs of high-risk mothers and neonates; 

4. qualified personnel for support services such as 
laboratory studies, radiologic studies and ultrasound 
examinations (these personnel shall be readily available 24 
hours a day); and 

5. respiratory therapists or nurses with special training 
who can supervise the assisted ventilations of neonates with 
cardiopulmonary disease (optimally, one therapist is needed 
for each four neonates who are receiving assisted 
ventilation). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2430 (November 2003). 
Subchapter T.  Pediatric Services (Optional) 
§9525. General Provisions 

A. Pediatric services shall be under the medical direction 
of a qualified physician who is a member of the medical 
staff with pediatric privileges and appointed by the 
governing body. Hospitals admitting children shall have 
proper facilities for their care apart from adult patients and 
the newborn. Children under 14 years of age shall not be 
placed in rooms with adult patients. 

B. In hospitals with a separate designated pediatric unit 
in existence prior to March 1, 1995, the maximum number 
of beds permitted in each pediatric room shall be eight and 
shall meet the same spatial standards as specified in 
Subchapter J of these requirements. In hospitals with a 
separate designated pediatric unit subsequent to March 1, 
1995, the maximum number of beds permitted in each 
pediatric room shall be four and shall meet the same spatial 
standards as specified in Subchapter J of these requirements. 
Patient rooms containing cribs shall provide at least 60 
square feet minimum clear floor area for each crib, with no 
more than six cribs in each room. Provisions for hygiene, 
toilets, sleeping and personal belongings shall be included 
where the program indicates that parents are allowed to 
remain with pediatric patients. Equipment and supplies shall 
be readily available and appropriate for pediatric services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2431 (November 2003). 
§9527. Personnel 

A. Every registered nurse who works in the pediatric unit 
shall be trained in an emergency pediatric nursing course 
that includes training in pediatric trauma and pediatric 
advanced life support and that has been conducted pursuant 
to guidelines established by the Louisiana State Board of 
Nursing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2431 (November 2003). 
§9529. Pediatric Intensive Care Units 

A. There are two levels of pediatric care units: Level I; 
and Level II. If pediatric intensive care services are 
provided, the hospital shall satisfy the Level II PICU 
requirements. 

B. Levels I and II units shall have a PICU Committee 
established as a standing committee of the hospital. It shall 
be composed of at least physicians, nurses, respiratory 
therapists and other disciplines as appropriate to the specific 
hospital unit. The committee shall participate in the 
delineation of privileges for all personnel (both MD and 
non-MD) within the unit. Policies and procedures shall be 
established by the medical director and the registered nurse 
manager in collaboration with the committee and with 
approval of the medical staff and the governing body. These 
written policies and procedures shall include, but not be 
limited to, safety procedures infection control, visitation, 
admission and discharge criteria, patient monitoring and 
record keeping, equipment preventive maintenance and 
repair. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2431 (November 2003). 
§9531. Facilities 

A. The Levels I and II shall be distinct, separate units 
within the hospital. There shall be clean and soiled utility 
rooms, isolation room capabilities, medication and a 
conference area available on the units. 

B. Level I units shall be located in the Category 1 facility 
as defined by the American Academy of Pediatrics.  

C. The Emergency Department (ED) shall have a 
separate covered entrance. Two or more areas within the ED 
shall have the capacity and equipment to resuscitate any 
pediatric patient with any medical, surgical or traumatic 
illness within facilities with Level I units. Hospitals with 
Level II units only need one such area. The emergency room 
shall be staffed 24 hours a day in facilities with either Level 
I of II units. 

D. There shall be an operating suite with one room 
available within 30 minutes and a second room within 45 
minutes, 24 hours a day. Hospitals with Level I units must 
have the capability of providing cardiopulmonary bypass, 
pediatric bronchoscopy and radiography. 

E. Clinical Laboratories 
1. Clinical laboratories shall have microspecimen 

capability and the capability to perform clotting studies with 
one-hour turn around. There must also be the capability to 
perform: 

a. complete blood cell count; 
b. differential count; 
c. platelet count; 
d. urinalysis; 
e. electrolytes; 
f. blood urea nitrogen; 
g. creatinine; 
h. glucose calcium;  
i. prothrombin time; 
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j. partial thromboplastin time; and 
k. cerebrospinal fluid cell counts. 

2. Preparation of gram stains and bacteriologic 
cultures shall be available 24 hours per day. Blood gas 
values must be available within 15 minutes. Results of drug 
screening and levels of serum ammonia, serum and urine 
osmolarity, phosphorus and magnesium shall be available 
within three hours for Level I units. 

F. There must be a blood bank able to provide all blood 
components 24 hours a day in both Levels I and II. Cross 
matching shall allow for transfusions within one hour unless 
some unusual antibody is encountered. 

G. Hospitals with Level I units must have radiology 
services capable of radiography, fluoroscopy, computerized 
tomography scanning, ultrasonography and nuclear scanning 
angiography. 

H. Diagnostic cardiac and neurologic studies shall be 
available to both Levels I and II unit facilities. 

I. A catheterization laboratory or angiography suite 
must be present in facilities with Level I units. 

J. Level I units shall have the capability to provide 
hemodialysis 24 hours a day. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2432 (November 2003). 
§9533. Patient Rooms  

A. The head of each bed and/or crib shall be rapidly 
accessible for emergency airway management. 

B. Electrical power, oxygen, medical compressed air and 
vacuum outlets shall be available at each bed/crib. 

C. There shall be walls or curtains available at each 
bedside to provide for full visual privacy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2432 (November 2003). 
§9535. Medical Staff 

A. The medical director in Level I units shall be: 
1. board certified in pediatrics and board certified or 

in the process of board certification in pediatric critical care 
medicine (certification must be completed within five years);  

2. board certified in anesthesiology with practice 
limited to infants and children with special qualifications (as 
defined by the American Board of Anesthesiology) in critical 
care medicine; or 

3. board certified in pediatric care medicine (as 
defined by the American Board of Surgery). A Level II 
medical director shall meet the same criteria of Level I 
except the board certification in Pediatric Critical Medicine 
is not required. The medical director shall name a qualified 
alternate to serve in his or her absence. 

B. In existing units, consideration will be given to 
waiving this requirement for board certified pediatricians 
with a minimum of five years experience in pediatric care 
who are currently serving as medical directors of Levels I 
and II units. The request for waiver shall be made in writing 
to the Office of the Secretary. 

C. Levels I and II units must have at least one physician 
of at least the postgraduate year two assigned to the PICU 
in-house 24 hours per day. 

D. Other physicians including the attending physician or 
designee shall be available within 30 minutes. 

E. Level I units shall have on staff a pediatric 
anesthesiologist, surgeon, cardiothoracic surgeon, 
neurosurgeon, intensivist, cardiologist, neurologist, 
pulmonologist, hematologist/oncologist, endocrinologist, 
gastroenterologist, allergist or immunologist, as well as a 
radiologist, pathologist, and psychiatrist or psychologist. 
Level II units shall meet the above medical staffing 
requirements, except the cardiothoracic surgeon and the 
pediatric subspecialties. There shall be a five-year phase in 
period with regard to staffing requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2432 (November 2003). 
§9537. Staffing 

A. Levels I and II shall have a unit manager dedicated to 
the unit who is a registered nurse with specific training and 
experience in pediatric critical care. The Level I manager 
shall be certified in critical-care nursing. The registered 
nurse manager shall name a qualified alternate to act in 
his/her absence. 

1. The staff to patient ratio shall vary with the acuity 
of the patients; however, the minimum shall be 1:3. 

2. There shall be an organized written orientation 
program as well as an ongoing in-service/continuing 
education program. 

B. For the Level I units the respiratory therapy staff 
assigned to a unit shall be in -house 24 hours per day. 

1. Biomedical technicians shall be available within 
one hour, 24 hours a day. 

2. The unit clerk shall be readily available to the unit 
24 hours a day. 

3. A pharmacist and licensed radiographer shall be in- 
house 24 hours per day. 

4. Social workers, physical therapists and nutritionists 
shall be assigned to the unit as applicable. 

C. For Level II Units the respiratory therapist shall be in -
house 24 hours a day. 

1. The biomedical technician shall be available within 
one hour, 24 hours a day. 

2. The pharmacist and radiologist shall be on call 24 
hours a day. 

3. Unit clerks, social workers, physical therapists and 
nutritionists shall be available as applicable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2432 (November 2003). 
§9539. Supplies and Equipment 

A. There shall be lifesaving, therapeutic and monitoring 
equipment present in Level I and II units. There shall be a 
complete "code" or "crash" cart available on both Level I 
and II units. The cart contents available on Level I and II
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units should include, but not be limited to, approved 
medications, a defibrillator/cardioverter, automated blood 
pressure apparatus devices. All equipment shall be of proper 
size for infants and children. Oxygen tanks are needed for 
transport and backup for both Levels I and II units. 

B. There shall be additional equipment available to meet 
the needs of the patient population. 

C. Level I units shall have the capability of ventilator 
support. 

D. There shall be bedside monitoring in Level I and II 
PICUs with the capability for continuously monitoring heart 
rate and rhythm, respiratory rate, temperature and one 
hemodynamic pressure. Level I units shall also have the 
ability to monitor systemic arterial, central venous, 
pulmonary arterial and intracranial pressures. The monitors 
must have alarms with both high and low settings and they 
must also have both audible and visible capability. There 
shall be a maintenance and calibration schedule maintained 
for all monitoring devices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2432 (November 2003). 
§9541. Miscellaneous 

A. PICUs shall be integrated with the regional EMS 
system as available. Rapid access to a poison control center 
is essential. Each PICU shall have or be affiliated with a 
transport system and team to assist other hospitals in 
arranging safe patient transport. 

B. Each Level I PICU shall offer pediatric critical care 
education for EMS providers, emergency department and 
transport personnel as well as for the general public. The 
staff nurses and respiratory therapists must also have basic 
life support certification. 

C. Level I PICUs offering a fellowship program in 
pediatric critical care will possess sufficient patient volume, 
teaching expertise, and research capability to support such a 
fellowship. Programs providing sub-specialty training in 
critical care must possess approval by the residency review 
committee of the Accreditation Council on Graduate 
Medical Education. Research is essential for improving our 
understanding of the pathophysiology affecting vital organ 
systems. Such knowledge is vital to improve patient care 
techniques and therapies and thereby decrease morbidity and 
mortality. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2100-2115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:2433 (November 2003). 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0311#087 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospi tals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Estate Recovery Program 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals the 
October 20, 2001 Rule governing Medicaid Estate Recovery. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0311#086 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Emergency and Non-Emergency Ambulance Services 

Certification for Ambulance Services 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Rule in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing establishes 
the following criteria for the certification of emergency and 
non-emergency ambulance transportation services. 

1. The medical certification form shall be used to 
document the recipient's condition at the time the ambulance 
services were ordered and to establish medical necessity for 
the ambulance services. The signature of the following 
licensed medical professionals who render medical care to 
the recipient shall be acceptable on the medical certification 
form: 

a. a physician; 
b. a registered nurse; 
c. the director of nursing at a nursing facility; 
d. a nurse practitioner; 
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e. a physician assistant; or 
f. a clinical nurse specialist. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0311#084 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

State-Operated Intermediate Care Facilities for 
the Mentally Retarded? Upper Payment Limit 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has 
promulgated the following Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Rule 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
reimbursement methodology for state operated intermediate 
care facilities for the mentally retarded (ICFs-MR) and 
establishes payments using a formula for establishing per 
diem rates at the Medicare Upper Payment Limit for these 
services. 

A. Medicaid payments to state-owned and operated 
ICFs-MR shall be based on the basic Medicare formula for 
determining the routine service cost limits, as follows: 

1. calculate each state owned and operated ICFs-MR 
per diem routine costs in a base year;  

2. calculate 112 percent of the average per diem 
routine costs; and  

3. inflate 112 percent of the per diem routine costs 
using the skilled nursing facility (SNF) market basket index 
of inflation. Each state-owned and operated facility's capital 
and ancillary costs will be paid by Medicaid on a "pass-
through" basis. 

B. The sum of the calculations for routine service costs 
and the capital and ancillary costs "pass-through" shall be 
the per diem rate for each state-owned and operated  
ICF-MR. The base year cost reports to be used for the initial 
calculations shall be the cost reports for the fiscal year ended 
June 30, 2002. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0311#088 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation 33? Medicare Supplement  
Insurance Minimum Standards  

(LAC 37:XIII.Chapter 5) 

This regulation is authorized by R.S.22:2 and 22:224, and 
amends existing laws that pertain to the Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards. These standards 
are required to bring existing laws into compliance with the 
new federal standards created by the Benefits Improvement 
and Protection Act (hereinafter referred to as BIPA). The 
Medicare, Medicaid and SCHIP Benefits Improvement and 
Protection Act was enacted on December 21, 2000. The 
Department of Insurance is adopting the NAIC Model 
Regulation in order to imp lement the NAIC Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Minimum Standards Model Act, 
which comply with Federal law. Additionally, technical 
corrections are grammatical in nature and adjustments were 
made to the Outline of Coverage Charts to address the 
current amounts mandated by the federal government. 

The department is clarifying existing laws in reference to 
notice requirements, rate increase requirements, grievance 
procedures and premium requirements. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 5. Regulati on 33? Medicare Supplement 

Insurance Minimum Standards  
§501. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this regulation is: 
1. to provide for the reasonable standardization of 

coverage and simplification of terms and benefits of 
Medicare supplement policies; 

2. to facilitate public understanding and comparison 
of such policies; 

3. to eliminate provisions contained in such policies 
which may be misleading or confusing in connection with 
the purchase of such policies or with the settlement of 
claims; and 

4. to provide for full disclosures in the sale of accident 
and sickness insurance coverages to persons eligible for 
Medicare. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 
29:2434 (November 2003). 
§502. Applicability and Scope 

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in §§510, 
540, 545, 560 and 585, this regulation shall apply to: 

1. all Medicare supplement policies delivered or 
issued for delivery in this state on or after the effective date 
of this regulation; and 

2. all certificates issued under group Medicare 
supplement policies which certificates have been delivered 
or issued for delivery in this state. 
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B. This regulation shall not apply to a policy or contract 
of one or more employers or labor organizations, or of the 
trustees of a fund established by one or more employers or 
labor organizations, or combination thereof, for employees 
or former employees, or a combination thereof, or for 
members or former members, or a combination thereof, of 
the labor organizations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), LR 29:2434 (November 
2003). 
§503. Definitions 

A. For purpose of this regulation: 
Applicant?  

a. in the case of an individual Medicare supplement 
policy, the person who seeks to contract for insurance 
benefits; and 

b. in the case of a group Medicare supplement 
policy, the proposed certificateholder. 

Bankruptcy? when a Medicare+Choice organization that 
is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed against it, a petition 
for declaration of bankruptcy and has ceased doing business 
in the state. 

Certificate? any certificate delivered or issued for 
delivery in this state under a group Medicare supplement 
policy. 

Certificate Form? the form on which the certificate is 
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.  

Continuous Period of Creditable Coverage? the period 
during which an individual was covered by creditable 
coverage, if during the period of the coverage the individual 
had no breaks in coverage greater than 63 days.  

Creditable Coverage?  
a. with respect to an individual, coverage of the 

individual provided under any of the following: 
 i. a group health plan; 
 ii. health insurance coverage; 
 iii. Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social 
Security Act (Medicare); 
 iv. Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
(Medicaid), other than coverage consisting solely of benefits 
under section 1928; 
 v. Chapter 55 of Title 10 United States Code 
(CHAMPUS); 
 vi. a medical care program of the Indian Health 
Service or of tribal organization; 
 vii. a State health benefits risk pool;  
 viii. a health plan offered under chapter 89 of Title 
5 United States Code (Federal Employees Health Benefits 
Program); 
 ix. a public health plan as defined in federal 
regulation; and 
 x. a health benefit plan under Section 5(e) of the 
Peace Corps Act [22 United States Code 2504(e)]. 

b. creditable coverage shall not include one or 
more, or any combination of, the following: 
 i. coverage only for accident or disability income 
insurance, or any combination thereof; 
 ii. coverage issued as a supplement to liability 
insurance; 

 iii. liability insurance, including general liability 
insurance and automobile liability insurance; 
 iv. workers compensation or similar insurance; 
 v. automobile medical payment insurance; 
 vi. credit-only insurance; 
 vii. coverage for on-site medical clinics; and 
 viii. other similar insurance coverage, specified in 
federal regulations, under which benefits for medical care 
are secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits. 

c. creditable coverage shall not include the 
following benefits if they are provided under a separate 
policy, certificate or contract of insurance or are otherwise 
not an integral part of the plan: 
 i. limited scope dental or vision benefits; 
 ii. benefits for long-term care, nursing home care, 
home health care, community-based care, or any 
combination thereof; and 
 iii. such other similar, limited benefits as are 
specified in federal regulations; 

d. creditable coverage shall not include the 
following benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated 
benefits: 
 i. coverage only for a specified disease or illness; 
and 
 ii. hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity 
insurance; 

e. creditable coverage shall not include the 
following if it is offered as a separate policy, certificate or 
contract of insurance: 
 i. Medicare supplemental health insurance as 
defined under section 1882 (g)(1) of the Social Security Act; 
 ii. coverage supplemental to the coverage 
provided under chapter 55 of title 10, United States Code; 
and 
 iii. similar supplemental coverage provided to 
coverage under a group health plan. 

Employee Welfare Benefit Plan? a plan, fund or program 
of employee benefits as defined in 29 U.S.C. Section 1002 
(Employee Retirement Income Security Act). 

Insolvency? inability to pay its obligations when they 
are due, or a condition when its admitted assets do not 
exceed its liabilities plus the greater of: 

a. any capital and surplus required by law for its 
organization; and 

b. the total par or stated value of its authorized and 
issued capital stock; 

c. for purposes of this Subsection, liabilities shall 
include but not be limited to reserves required by statute, by 
general regulations of the Department of Insurance or by 
specific requirements imposed by the commissioner upon a 
subject company at the time of admission or subsequent 
thereto. 

Issuer? includes insurance companies, fraternal benefit 
societies, health care service plans, health maintenance 
organizations, and any other entity authorized to deliver or 
issue for delivery in this state Medicare supplement policies 
or certificates. 

Medicare? "Health Insurance for the Aged Act," Title 
XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 1965, as then 
constituted or later amended. 
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Medicare+Choice Plan? a plan of coverage for health 
benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in Section 1859 
found in Title IV, Subtitle A, Chapter 1 of P.L. 105-33, and 
includes: 

a. coordinated care plans which provide health care 
services, including but not limited to health maintenance 
organization plans (with or without a point-of-service 
option), plans offered by provider-sponsored organizations, 
and preferred provider organization plans; 

b. medical savings account plans coupled with a 
contribution into a Medicare+Choice medical savings 
account; and 

c. Medicare+Choice private fee-for-service plans. 
Medicare Supplement Policy? a group or individual 

policy of health insurance or a subscriber contract of hospital 
and medical service associations or health maintenance 
organizations, other than a policy issued pursuant to a 
contract under Section 1876 of the federal Social Security 
Act (42 U.S.C. Section 1395 et. seq.) or an issued policy 
under a demonstration project specified in 42 U.S.C. 
§1395ss(g)(1), which is advertised, marketed or designed 
primarily as a supplement to reimbursements under 
Medicare for the hospital, medical or surgical expenses of 
persons eligible for Medicare. Also, it includes those plans 
commonly known as health care prepayment plans (HCPPs). 

Policy Form? the form on which the policy is delivered 
or issued for delivery by the issuer.  

Qualified Actuary? an actuary who is a member of 
either the Society of Actuaries or the American Academy of 
Actuaries. 

Secretary? the Secretary of the United States 
Department of Health and Human Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 43 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999), LR 29:2435 (November 
2003). 
§504. Policy Definitions and Terms  

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited 
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless the policy or certificate contains 
definitions or terms, which conform to the requirements of 
this Section. 

Accident, Accidental Injury, or Accidental Means? to 
employ "result" language and shall not include words, which 
establish an accidental means test or use words such as 
"external, violent, visible wounds" or similar words or 
description or characterization. 

a. The definition shall not be more restrictive than 
the following: 

"Injury or injuries for which benefits are provided means 
accidental bodily injury sustained by the insured person which 
is the direct result of an accident, independent of disease or 
bodily infirmity or any other cause, and occurs while 
insurance coverage is in force." 

b. The definition may provide that injuries shall not 
include injuries for which benefits are provided or available 
under any workers' compensation, employer's liability or 
similar law, or motor vehicle no-fault plan, unless prohibited 
by law. 

Benefit Period or Medicare Benefit Period? shall not be 
defined more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare 
program. 

Convalescent Nursing Home , Extended Care Facility, or 
Skilled Nursing Facility? shall not be defined more 
restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program. 

Health Care Expenses? expenses of health maintenance 
organizations associated with the delivery of health care 
services, which expenses are analogous to incurred losses of 
insurers. Expenses shall not include: 

a. home office and overhead costs; 
b. advertising costs; 
c. commissions and other acquisition costs; 
d. taxes; 
e. capital costs; 
f. administrative costs; and 
g. claims processing costs. 

Hospital? may be defined in relation to its status, 
facilities and available services or to reflect its accreditation 
by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals, but 
not more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare 
program. 

Medicare? in the policy and certificate. Medicare may 
be substantially defined as "The Health Insurance for the 
Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of 
1965 as Then Constituted or Later Amended," or "Title I, 
Part I of Public Law 89-97, as Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth 
Congress of the United States of America and popularly 
known as the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, as then 
constituted and any later amendments or substitutes thereof," 
or words of similar import. 

Medicare Eligible Expenses? expenses of the kinds 
covered by Medicare, to the extent recognized as reasonable 
and medically necessary by Medicare. 

Physician? shall not be defined more restrictively than 
as defined in the Medicare program. 

Sickness? shall not be defined to be more restrictive 
than the following. 

a. Sickness means illness or disease of an insured 
person which first manifests itself after the effective date of 
insurance and while the insurance is in force. 

b. The definition may be further modified to 
exclude sicknesses or diseases for which benefits are 
provided under any workers' compensation, occupational 
disease, employer's liability or similar law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1482 (August 1999), LR 29:2436 (November 
2003). 
§505. Policy Provisions 

A. Except for permitted preexisting condition clauses as 
described in §510.A.1. and §515.A.1 of this regulation, no 
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or issued 
for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement policy if 
the policy or certificate contains limitations or exc lusions on 
coverage that are more restrictive than those of Medicare. 

B. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate may use 
waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits for 
specifically named or described preexisting diseases or 
physical conditions. 

C. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate in force 
in the state shall contain benefits, which duplicate benefits 
provided by Medicare. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999), LR 29:2436 (November 
2003). 
§506. Premium Increase Requirements 

A. Every insurer issuing or renewing a Medicare 
Supplement policy shall notify the policyholder and each 
member of an association in writing at least 45 days before 
any premium increase.  

B. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 
policy or certificate stating in substance that policyholder or 
certificateholder will be notified at least 45 days before any 
premium increase.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29:2436 (November 
2003). 
§507. Rate Increases Requirements 

A. Every insurer issuing a Medicare supplement policy 
shall not increase their premium rates during the initial 12 
months of coverage and not more than once in any six-
month period following the initial 12-month period for any 
policy, certificate, rider, or amendment issued in or for 
residents of the state, no matter the date of commencement 
or renewal of coverage. This Subsection does not affect 
increases in the premium amount due to the addition of a 
newly covered person or change in age or geographic 
location of an individual insured or policyholder or an 
increase in the policy benefit level. 

B. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 
policy or certificate stating in substance that the premium 
rates will not increase during the initial 12-months of 
coverage and not more than once in any six-month period 
following the initial 12-month period. The notice may 
include that this requirement does not affect increases in the 
premium amount due to the addition of a newly covered 
person or change in age or geographic location of an 
individual insured or policyholder or an increase in the 
policy benefit level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 29:2436 (November 
2003). 
§508. Reserved. 
§509. Reserved. 
§510. Minimum Benefit Standards for Policies or 

Certificates Issued for Delivery Prior to July 20, 
1992 

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited 
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the following 
minimum standards. These are minimum standards and do 
not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or benefits 
which are not inconsistent with these standards. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 
addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 
six months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
shall not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 
within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 
under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 
with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible 
amount and copayment percentage factors. Premiums may 
be modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. A noncancellable, guaranteed renewable, or 
noncancellable and guaranteed renewable Medicare 
supplement policy shall not: 
 i. provide for termination of coverage of a spouse 
solely because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium; or 
 ii. be cancelled or nonrenewed by the issuer 
solely on the grounds of deterioration of health. 

e.i. Except as authorized by the commissioner of 
this state, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate for any reason 
other than nonpayment of premium or material 
misrepresentation. 
 ii. If a group Medicare supplement insurance 
policy is terminated by the group policyholder and not 
replaced as provided in §510.A.1.e.iv, the issuer shall offer 
certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement policy. 
The issuer shall offer the certificateholder at least the 
following choices: 

(a). an individual Medicare supplement policy 
currently offered by the issuer having comparable benefits to 
those contained in the terminated group Medicare 
supplement policy; and 

(b). an individual Medicare supplement policy 
which provides only such benefits as are required to meet 
the minimum standards as defined in §515.A.2 of this 
regulation;  

(c). Group contracts in force prior to the 
effective date of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
(OBRA) of 1990 may have existing contractual obligations 
to continue benefits contained in the group contract. This 
Section is not intended to impair those obligations. 
 iii. If membership in a group is terminated, the 
issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 
opportunities described in §510.A.1.e.ii; or 

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 
the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy. 
 iv. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 
covered under the old group policy on its date of 
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termination. Coverage under the new group policy shall not 
result in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would 
have been covered under the group policy being replaced. 

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous 
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 
policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the maximum 
benefits. 

2. Minimum Benefit Standards 
a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 

for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare 
benefit period; 

b. coverage for either all or none of the Medicare 
Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount; 

c. coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 
incurred as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's 
lifetime hospital inpatient reserve days; 

d. upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital 
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days, 
coverage of 90 percent of all Medicare Part A eligible 
expenses for hospitalization not covered by Medicare subject 
to a lifetime maximum benefit of an additional 365 days; 

e. coverage under Medicare Part A for the 
reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or equivalent 
quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 
regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 
regulations or already paid for under Part B; 

f. coverage for the coinsurance amount, or in the 
case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount, of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year 
out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B 
deductible ($100); 

g. effective January 1, 1990, coverage under 
Medicare Part B for the reasonable cost of the first three 
pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood 
cells, as defined under federal regulations), unless replaced 
in accordance with federal regulations or already paid for 
under Part A, subject to the Medicare deductible amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1103 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2437 
(November 2003). 
§511. Reserved. 
§512. Reserved. 
§513. Reserved. 
§514. Reserved. 
§515. Benefit Standards for Policies or Certificates 

Issued or Delivered on or After July 20, 1992 
A. The following standards are applicable to all 

Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or 
issued for delivery in this state on or after July 20, 1992. No 
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered 
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit 
standards. 

1. General Standards. The following standards apply 
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in 
addition to all other requirements of this regulation. 

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than 
six months from the effective date of coverage because it 
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate 
may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively 
than a condition for which medical advice was given or 
treatment was recommended by or received from a physician 
within six months before the effective date of coverage. 

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a 
different basis than losses resulting from accidents. 

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall 
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts 
under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide 
with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible 
amount and copayment percentage factors. Premiums may 
be modified to correspond with such changes. 

d. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely 
because of the occurrence of an event specified for 
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the 
nonpayment of premium. 

e. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be 
guaranteed renewable. 
 i. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the 
policy solely on the ground of health status of the individual. 
 ii. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the 
policy for any reason other than nonpayment of premium or 
material misrepresentation. 
 iii. If the Medicare supplement policy is 
terminated by the group policyholder and is not replaced as 
provided under §515.A.5.e.v, the issuer shall offer 
certificateholders an individual Medicare supplement policy 
which (at the option of the certificateholder): 

(a). provides for continuation of the benefits 
contained in the group policy; or 

(b). provides for benefits that otherwise meet the 
requirements of this Subsection. 
 iv. If an individual is a certificateholder in a group 
Medicare supplement policy and the individual terminates 
membership in the group, the issuer shall: 

(a). offer the certificateholder the conversion 
opportunity described in §515.A.1.e.iii; or 

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer 
the certificateholder continuation of coverage under the 
group policy. 

v. If a group Medicare supplement policy is 
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy 
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the 
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons 
covered under the old group policy on its date of 
termination. Coverage under the new policy shall not result 
in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have 
been covered under the group policy being replaced. 

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss 
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the 
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the 
policy was in force may be conditioned upon the continuous 
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total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the 
policy benefit period, if any, or payment of the maximum 
benefits. 

g.i. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
shall provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or 
certificate shall be suspended at the request of the 
policyholder or certificateholder for the period (not to 
exceed 24 months), or upon discovering thereof by the 
insurer in which the policyholder or certificateholder has 
applied for and is determined to be entitled to medical 
assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security Act, but 
only if the policyholder or certificateholder notifies the 
issuer of the policy or certificate within 90 days after the 
date the individual becomes entitled to assistance. 
 ii. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 
certificateholder loses entitlement to medical assistance, the 
policy or certificate shall be automatically reinstituted 
(effective as of the date of termination of such entitlement) 
as of the termination of entitlement if the policyholder or 
certificateholder provides notice of loss of entitlement within 
90 days after the date of loss and pays the premium 
attributable to the period, effective as of the date of 
termination of entitlement. 
 iii. Each Medicare supplement policy shall provide 
that benefits and premiums under the policy shall be 
suspended (for any period that may be provided by federal 
regulation) at the request of the policyholder if the 
policyholder is entitled to benefits under Section 226 (b) of 
the Social Security Act and is covered under a group health 
plan [as defined in Section 1862 (b)(1)(A)(v) of the Social 
Security Act]. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or 
certificateholder loses coverage under the group health plan, 
the policy shall be automatically reinstituted (effective as of 
the date of loss of coverage) if the policyholder provides 
notice of loss of coverage within 90 days after the date of the 
loss and pays the premium attributable to the period, 
effective as of the date of termination of enrollment in the 
group health plan. 
 iv. Reinstitution of coverage as described in 
Clauses g.ii and iii: 

(a). shall not provide for any waiting period with 
respect to treatment of preexisting conditions; 

(b). shall provide for coverage which is 
substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the date 
of suspension; and 

(c). shall provide for classification of premiums 
on terms at least as favorable to the policyholder or 
certificateholder as the premium classification terms that 
would have applied to the policyholder or certificateholder 
had the coverage not been suspended. 

2. Standards for Basic (Core) Benefits Common to All 
Benefit Plans. Every issuer shall make available a policy or 
certificate including only the following basic core package 
of benefits to each prospective insured. An issuer may make 
available to prospective insureds any of the other Medicare 
Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in addition to the basic 
core package, but not in lieu of it: 

a. coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 
for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare 
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare 
benefit period; 

b. coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses 
incurred for hospitalization to the extent not covered by 
Medicare for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day 
used; 

c. upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital 
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days, 
coverage of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for 
hospitalization paid at the diagnostic related group (DRG) 
day outlier per diem or other appropriate standard of 
payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an 
additional 365 days; 

d. coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the 
reasonable cost of the first three pints of blood (or equivalent 
quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined under federal 
regulations) unless replaced in accordance with federal 
regulations; 

e. coverage for the coinsurance amount (or, in the 
case of hospital outpatient department services paid under a 
prospective payment system, the copayment amount) of 
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of 
hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B 
deductible. 

3. Standards for Additional Benefits. The following 
additional benefits shall be included in Medicare 
Supplement Benefit Plans "B" through "J" only as provided 
by §520 of this regulation. 

a. Medicare Part A Deductible? coverage for all of 
the Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per 
benefit period. 

b. Skilled Nursing Facility Care? coverage for the 
actual billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 
21st day through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period 
for post hospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under 
Medicare Part A. 

c. Medicare Part B Deductible? coverage for all of 
the Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year 
regardless of hospital confinement. 

d. Eighty Percent of the Medicare Part B Excess 
Charges? coverage for 80 percent of the difference between 
the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed 
any charge limitation established by the Medicare program 
or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

e. One Hundred Percent of the Medicare Part B 
Excess Charges ? coverage for all of the difference between 
the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed 
any charge limitation established by the Medicare program 
or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge. 

f. Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug 
Benefit? coverage for 50 percent of outpatient prescription 
drug charges, after a $250 calendar year deductible, to a 
maximum of $1,250 in benefits received by the insured per 
calendar year, to the extent not covered by Medicare. 

g. Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug 
Benefit? coverage for 50 percent of outpatient prescription 
drug charges, after a $250 calendar year deductible to a 
maximum of $3,000 in benefits received by the insured per 
calendar year, to the extent not covered by Medicare. 

h. Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a 
Foreign Country? coverage to the extent not covered by 
Medicare for 80 percent of the billed charges for Medicare -
eligible expenses for medically necessary emergency
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hospital, physician, and medical care received in a foreign 
country, which care would have been covered by Medicare if 
provided in the United States and which care began during 
the first 60 consecutive days of each trip outside the United 
States, subject to a calendar year deductible of $250, and a 
lifetime maximum benefit of $50,000. For purposes of this 
benefit, emergency care shall mean care needed immediately 
because of an injury or an illness of sudden and unexpected 
onset. 

i. Preventive Medical Care Benefit? coverage for 
the following preventive health services: 
 i. an annual clinical preventive medical history 
and physical examination that may include tests and services 
from Subparagraph ii. and patient education to address 
preventive health care measures; 
 ii. any one or a combination of the following 
preventive screening tests or preventive services, the 
frequency of which is considered medically appropriate: 

(a). digital rectal examination; 
(b). dipstick urinalysis for hematuria, bacteriuria 

and proteinuria; 
(c). pure tone (air only) hearing screening test, 

administered or ordered by a physician; 
(d). serum cholesterol screening (every five 

years); 
(e). thyroid function test; 
(f). diabetes screening. 

 iii. tetanus and diphtheria booster (every 10 years);  
 iv. any other tests or preventive measures 
determined appropriate by the attending physician. 

Reimbursement shall be for the actual charges up to 100 
percent of the Medicare-approved amount for each service, as 
if Medicare were to cover the service as identified in 
American Medical Association Current Procedural 
Terminology (AMA CPT) codes, to a maximum of 120 
annually under this benefit. This benefit shall not include 
payment for any procedure covered by Medicare. 

j. At-Home Recovery Benefit? coverage for 
services to provide short term, at-home assistance with 
activities of daily living for those recovering from an illness, 
injury, or surgery. 
 i. For purposes of this benefit, the following 
definitions shall apply: 

Activities of Daily Living? include, but are not 
limited to bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, transferring, 
eating, ambulating, assistance with drugs that are normally 
self-administered, and changing bandages or other dressings. 

At-Home Recovery Visit? the period of a visit 
required to provide at home recovery care, without limit on 
the duration of the visit, except each consecutive four hours 
in a twenty-four-hour period of services provided by a care 
provider is one visit. 
 ii. Coverage Requirements and Limitations 

(a). At-home recovery services provided must be 
primarily services, which assist in activities of daily living. 

(b). The insured's attending physician must 
certify that the specific type and frequency of at-home 
recovery services are necessary because of a condition for 
which a home care plan of treatment was approved by 
Medicare. 

(c). Coverage is limited to: 
 (i). no more than the number and type of 
at-home recovery visits certified as necessary by the 
insured's attending physician. The total number of at-home 

recovery visits shall not exceed the number of Medicare 
approved home health care visits under a Medicare approved 
home care plan of treatment; 
 (ii). the actual charges for each visit up to a 
maximum reimbursement of $40 per visit; 
 (iii). one thousand six hundred dollars per 
calendar year; 
 (iv). seven visits in any one week; 
 (v). care furnished on a visiting basis in the 
insured's home; 
 (vi). services provided by a care provider as 
defined in this Section; 
 (vii). at-home recovery visits while the 
insured is covered under the policy or certificate and not 
otherwise excluded; 
 (viii). at-home recovery visits received 
during the period the insured is receiving Medicare approved 
home care services or no more than eight weeks after the 
service date of the last Medicare approved home health care 
visit. 
 iii. Coverage is excluded for: 

(a). home care visits paid for by Medicare or 
other government programs; and 

(b). care provided by family members, unpaid 
volunteers, or providers who are not care providers. 

Care Provider? a duly qualified or licensed home 
health aide or homemaker, personal care aide or nurse 
provided through a licensed home health care agency or 
referred by a licensed referral agency or licensed nurses 
regis try. 

Home? any place used by the insured as a place 
of residence, provided that such place would qualify as a 
residence for home health care services covered by 
Medicare. A hospital or skilled nursing facility shall not be 
considered the insured's place of residence. 

New or Innovative Benefits? an issuer may, with 
the prior approval of the commissioner, offer policies or 
certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to the 
benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise 
complies with the applicable standards. The new or 
innovative benefits may include benefits that are appropriate 
to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not 
otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered in a manner 
which is consistent with the goal of simp lification of 
Medicare supplement policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1104 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1484 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2438 
(November 2003). 
§516. Reserved. 
§517. Reserved. 
§518. Reserved. 
§519. Reserved. 
§520. Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans 

A. An issuer shall make available to each prospective 
policyholder and certificateholder a policy form or 
certificate form containing only the basic core benefits, as 
defined in §515.A.2. of this regulation. 

B. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare 
supplement benefits other than those listed in this Section 
shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be 
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permitted in §515.A.3 New and Innovative Benefits and in 
§525 of this regulation. 

C. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language, 
designation and format to the standard benefit plans "A" 
through "J" listed in this Subsection and conform to the 
definitions in §503 of this regulation. Each benefit shall be 
structured in accordance with the format provided in 
§§515.A.2 and 515.A.3 and list the benefits in the order 
shown in this Subsection. For purposes of this Section, 
"structure, language, and format" means style, arrangement 
and overall content of a benefit. 

D. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan 
designations required in Subsection C, other designations to 
the extent permitted by law. 

E. Make-up of Benefit Plans 
1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "A" 

shall be limited to the basic (core) benefits common to all 
benefit plans, as defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation. 

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "B" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible as defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A 
Deductible. 

3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "C" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B 
deductible and medically necessary emergency care in a 
foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3. Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B 
Deductible and Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a 
Foreign Country, respectively. 

4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "D" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 
recovery benefit as defined in §515.A.3.Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medically 
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, and At-
Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. 

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "E" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and preventive medical 
care as defined in §515.A.3.Medicare Part A Deductible, 
Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medically Necessary 
Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, and Preventive 
Medical Care Benefit, respectively. 

6. Standardized Medical supplement benefit plan "F" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, the Part B 
deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess 
charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a 
foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B 
Deductible, One Hundred Percent of the Medicare Part B 
Excess Charges, and Medically Necessary Emergency Care 
in a Foreign Country, respectively. 

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 
deductible plan "F" shall include only the following: 100 
percent of covered expenses following the payment of the 
annual high deductible plan "F" deductible. The covered 
expenses include the core benefit as defined in §515.A.2 of 
this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 
nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, 100 
percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, and 
medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country as 
defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled 
Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible, 100 
Percent of the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, and 
Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country 
respectively. The annual high deductible plan "F" deductible 
shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other than 
premiums, for services covered by the Medicare supplement 
plan "F" policy, and shall be in addition to any other specific 
benefit deductibles. The annual high deductible Plan "F" 
deductible shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be 
based on the calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually 
thereafter by the secretary to reflect the change in the 
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the 12-
month period ending with August of the preceding year, and 
rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan " G" 
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined 
in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A 
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 80 percent of the 
Medicare Part B excess charges, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home 
recovery benefit as defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A 
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Eighty Percent of 
the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Medically Necessary 
Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, respectively. 

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "H" 
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 
defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic 
outpatient prescription drug benefit, and medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3 
Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, 
Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit and Medically 
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, 
respectively. 

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "I" 
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 
defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, 100 percent 
of the Medicare Part B excess charges, basic outpatient 
prescription drug benefit, medically necessary emergency 
care in a foreign country and at-home recovery benefit as 
defined in §515.A.3 Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled 
Nursing Facility Care, 100 Percent of the Medicare Part B 
Excess Charges, Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit, 
Medically Necessary Care in a Foreign Country and  
At-Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. 

11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "J" 
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as 
defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare 
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part
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B deductible, 100 percent of the Medicare Part B excess 
charges, extended prescription drug benefit, medically 
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, preventive 
medical care and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 
§515.A.3 Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing 
Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible, 100 Percent of 
the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Extended Outpatient 
Prescription Drug Benefit, Medically Necessary Emergency 
Care in a Foreign Country, Preventive Medical Care Benefit 
and At-Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. 

12. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high 
deductible plan "J" shall consist of only the following: 100 
percent of covered expenses following the payment of the 
annual high deductible plan "J" deductible. The covered 
expenses include the core benefit as defined in §515.A.2 of 
this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled 
nursing facility care,  Medicare Part B deductible, 100 
percent of the Medicare Part B excess charges, extended 
outpatient prescription drug benefit, medically necessary 
emergency care in a foreign country, preventive medical care 
benefit and at-home recovery benefit as defined in 
§515.A.3.Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing 
Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible, 100 Percent of 
the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Extended Outpatient 
Prescription Drug Benefit, Medically Necessary Emergency 
Care in a Foreign Country, Preventive Medical Care Benefit 
and At-Home Recovery Benefit, respectively. The annual 
high deductible plan "J" deductible shall consist of out-of-
pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services covered 
by the Medicare supplement plan "J" policy, and shall be in 
addition to any other specific benefit deductibles. The annual 
deductible shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be 
based on a calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually 
thereafter by the secretary to reflect the change in the 
Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers for the 12-
month period ending with August of the preceding year, and 
rounded to the nearest multiple of $10. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1106 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1487 (August 1999), LR 29:2440 (November 
2003). 
§521. Reserved. 
§522. Reserved. 
§523. Reserved. 
§524. Reserved. 
§525. Medicare Select Policies and Certificates 

A.1. This Section shall apply to Medicare select policies 
and certificates, as defined in this Section. 

2. No policy or certificate may be advertised as a 
Medicare select policy or certificate unless it meets the 
requirements of this Section. 

B. For the purposes of this Section: 
Complaint? any dissatisfaction expressed by an 

individual concerning a Medicare select issuer or its network 
providers. 

Grievance? dissatis faction expressed in writing by an 
individual insured under a Medicare select policy or 
certificate with the administration, claims practices, or 
provision of services concerning a Medicare select issuer or 
its network providers. 

Medicare Select Issuer? an issuer offering, or seeking to 
offer, a Medicare select policy or certificate. 

Medicare Select Policy or Medicare Select 
Certificate? respectively a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate that contains restricted network provisions. 

Network Provider? a provider of health care, or a group 
of providers of health care, which has entered into a written 
agreement with the issuer to provide benefits insured under a 
Medicare select policy. 

Restricted Network Provision? any provision, which 
conditions the payment of benefits, in whole or in part, on 
the use of network providers. 

Service Area? the geographic area approved by the 
commissioner within which an issuer is authorized to offer a 
Medicare select policy. 

C. The commissioner may authorize an issuer to offer a 
Medicare select policy or certificate, pursuant to this Section 
and Section 4358 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act 
(OBRA) of 1990 if the commissioner finds that the issuer 
has satisfied all of the requirements of this regulation. 

D. A Medicare select issuer shall not issue a Medicare 
select policy or certificate in this state until its plan of 
operation has been approved by the commissioner.  

E. A Medicare select issuer shall file a proposed plan of 
operation with the commissioner in a format prescribed by 
the commissioner. The plan of operation shall contain at 
least the following information: 

1. evidence that all covered services that are subject to 
restricted network provisions are available and accessible 
through network providers, including a demonstration that: 

a. services can be provided by network providers 
with reasonable promptness with respect to geographic 
location, hours of operation and after-hour care. The hours 
of operation and availability of after-hour care shall reflect 
usual practice in the local area. Geographic availability shall 
reflect the usual travel times within the community; 

b. the number of network providers in the service 
area is sufficient, with respect to current and expected 
policyholders, either: 
 i. to deliver adequately all services that are 
subject to a restricted network provision; or 
 ii. to make appropriate referrals; 

c. there are written agreements with network 
providers describing specific responsibilities; 

d. emergency care is available 24 hours per day and 
seven days per week; 

e. in the case of covered services that are subject to 
a restricted network provision and are provided on a prepaid 
basis, there are written agreements with network providers 
prohibiting the providers from billing or otherwise seeking 
reimbursement from or recourse against any individual 
insured under a Medicare select policy or certificate. This 
Paragraph shall not apply to supplemental charges or 
coinsurance amounts as stated in the Medicare select policy 
or certificate; 

2. a statement or map providing a clear description of 
the service area; 

3. a description of the grievance procedure to be 
utilized; 

4. a description of the quality assurance program, 
including: 
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a. the formal organizational structure; 
b. the written criteria for selection, retention and 

removal of network providers; and 
c. the procedures for evaluating quality of care 

provided by network providers, and the process to initiate 
corrective action when warranted; 

5. a list and description, by specialty, of the network 
providers; 

6. copies of the written information proposed to be 
used by the issuer to comply with §525.I;  

7. any other information requested by the 
commissioner. 

F.1. A Medicare select issuer shall file any proposed 
changes to the plan of operation, except for changes to the 
list of network providers, with the commissioner prior to 
implementing the changes. Changes shall be considered 
approved by the commissioner after 30 days unless 
specifically disapproved. 

2. An updated list of network providers shall be filed 
with the commissioner at least quarterly. 

G. A Medicare select policy or certificate shall not 
restrict payment for covered services provided by non-
network providers if: 

1. the services are for symptoms requiring emergency 
care or are immediately required for an unforeseen illness, 
injury or a condition; and 

2. it is not reasonable to obtain such services through 
a network provider. 

H. A Medicare select policy or certificate shall provide 
payment for full coverage under the policy for covered 
services that are not available through network providers. 

I. A Medicare select issuer shall make full and fair 
disclosure, in writing, of the provisions, restrictions, and 
limitations of the Medicare select policy or certificate to 
each applicant. This disclosure shall include at least the 
following: 

1. an outline of coverage sufficient to permit the 
applicant to compare the coverage and premiums of the 
Medicare select policy or certificate with: 

a. other Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates offered by the issuer;  and 

b. other Medicare select policies or certificates; 
2. a description (including address, phone number and 

hours of operation) of the network providers, including 
primary care physicians, specialty physicians, hospitals and 
other providers; 

3. a description of the restricted network provisions, 
including payments for coinsurance and deductibles when 
providers other than network providers are utilized; 

4. a description of coverage for emergency and 
urgently needed care and other out-of-service area coverage; 

5. a description of limitations on referrals to restricted 
network providers and to other providers; 

6. a description of the policyholder's rights to 
purchase any other Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate otherwise offered by the issuer;  

7. a description of the Medicare select issuer's quality 
assurance program and grievance procedure. 

J. Prior to the sale of a Medicare select policy or 
certificate, a Medicare select issuer shall obtain from the 
applicant a signed and dated form stating that the applicant 
has received the information provided pursuant to 

Subsection I of this Section and that the applicant 
understands the restrictions of the Medicare select policy or 
certificate. 

K. A Medicare select issuer shall have and use 
procedures for hearing complaints and resolving written 
grievances from the subscribers. The procedures shall be 
aimed at mutual agreement for settlement and may include 
non-binding arbitration procedures. 

1. The grievance procedure shall be described in the 
policy and certificates and in the outline of coverage. 

2. At the time the policy or certificate is issued, the 
issuer shall provide detailed information to the policyholder 
describing how a grievance may be registered with the 
issuer. 

3. Grievances shall be considered in a timely manner 
and shall be transmitted to appropriate decision-makers who 
have authority to fully investigate the issue and take 
corrective action. 

4. If a grievance is found to be valid, corrective action 
shall be taken promptly. 

5. All concerned parties shall be notified about the 
results of a grievance. 

6. The issuer shall report no later than each March 
31st to the commissioner regarding its grievance procedure. 
The report shall be in a format prescribed by the 
commissioner and shall contain the number of grievances 
filed in the past year and a summary of the subject, nature 
and resolution of such grievances. 

L. At the time of initial purchase, a Medicare select 
issuer shall make available to each applicant for a Medicare 
select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate otherwise offered 
by the issuer. 

M.1. At the request of an individual insured under a 
Medicare select policy or certificate, a Medicare select issuer 
shall make available to the individual insured the 
opportunity to purchase a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate offered by the issuer which has comparable or 
lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted 
network provision. The issuer shall make such policies or 
certificates available without requiring evidence of 
insurability after the Medicare select policy or certificate has 
been in force for six months. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have 
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more 
significant benefits not included in the Medicare select 
policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this 
Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the 
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs, 
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part 
B excess charges. 

N. Medicare select policies and certificates shall provide 
for continuation of coverage in the event the secretary of 
Health and Human Services determines that Medicare select 
policies and certificates issued pursuant to this Section 
should be discontinued due to either the failure of the 
Medicare Select Program to be reauthorized under law or its 
substantial amendment. 

1. Each Medicare select issuer shall make available to 
each individual insured under a Medicare select policy or 
certificate the opportunity to purchase any Medicare 
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supplement policy or certificate offered by the issuer which 
has comparable or lesser benefits and which does not contain 
a restricted network provision. The issuer shall make the 
policies and certificates available without requiring evidence 
of insurability. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have 
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more 
significant benefits not included in the Medicare select 
policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this 
Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the 
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs, 
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part 
B excess charges. 

O. A Medicare select issuer shall comply with reasonable 
requests for data made by state or federal agencies, including 
the United States Department of Health and Human 
Services, for the purpose of evaluating the Medicare Select 
Program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1108 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1488 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2441 
(November 2003). 
§526. Reserved. 
§527. Reserved. 
§528. Reserved. 
§529. Reserved. 
§530. Open Enrollment 

A. An issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance or 
effectiveness of any Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate available for sale in this state, nor discriminate in 
the pricing of a policy or certificate because of the health 
status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical 
condition of an applicant in the case of an application for a 
policy or certificate that is submitted prior to or during the 
six month period beginning with the first day of the first 
month in which an individual is enrolled for benefits under 
Medicare Part B. Each Medicare supplement policy and 
certificate currently available from an insurer shall be made 
available to all applicants who qualify under this Subsection 
without regard to age. 

B.1. If an applicant qualifies under Subsection A and 
submits an application during the time period referenced in 
Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a 
continuous period of creditable coverage of at least six 
months, the issuer shall not exclude benefits based on a 
preexisting condition. 

2. If the applicant qualifies under Subsection A and 
submits an application during the time period referenced in 
Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a 
continuous period of creditable coverage that is less than six 
months, the issuer shall reduce the period of any preexisting 
condition exclusion by the aggregate of the period of 
creditable coverage applicable to the applicant as of the 
enrollment date. The secretary shall specify the manner of 
the reduction under this Subsection. 

C. Except as provided in Subsection B and §590, 
Subsection A shall not be construed as preventing the 
exclusion of benefits under a policy, during the first six 
months, based on a preexisting condition for which the 
policyholder or certificateholder received treatment or was 

otherwise diagnosed during the six months before the 
coverage became effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999), LR 29:2444 (November 
2003). 
§531. Reserved. 
§532. Reserved. 
§533. Reserved. 
§534. Reserved. 
§535. Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons 

A. Guaranteed Issue 
1. Eligible persons are those individuals described in 

Subsection B who seek to enroll under the policy during the 
period specified in Subsection C, and who submit evidence 
of the date of termination or disenrollment with the 
application for a Medicare supplement policy. 

2. With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall not 
deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of a 
Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection E that 
is offered and is available for issuance to new enrollees by 
the issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a 
Medicare supplement policy because of health status, claims 
experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and 
shall not impose an exclusion of benefits based on a 
preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement 
policy. 

B. Eligible Persons. An eligible person is an individual 
described in any of the following Paragraphs. 

1. The individual is enrolled under an employee 
welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits that 
supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan 
terminates, or the plan ceases to provide some or all such 
supplemental health benefits to the individual; or the 
individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit 
plan that is primary to Medicare and the plan terminates or 
the plan ceases to provide some or all health benefits to the 
individual or the individual leaves the plan. 

2. The individual is enrolled with a Medicare+Choice 
organization under a Medicare+Choice plan under Part C of 
Medicare, and any of the following circumstances apply, or 
the individual is  65 years of age or older and is enrolled with 
a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 
provider under Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, and 
there are circumstances similar to those described below that 
would permit discontinuance of the individual's enrollment 
with such provider if such individual were enrolled in a 
Medicare + Choice plan. 

a. The certification of the organization or plan has 
been terminated, or the organization has terminated or 
otherwise discontinued providing the plan in the area in 
which the individual resides. 

b. The individual is no longer eligible to elect the 
plan because of a change in the individual's place of 
residence or other change in circumstances specified by the 
secretary, but not including termination of the individual's 
enrollment on the basis described in Section 1851(g)(3)(B) 
of the federal Social Security Act (where the individual has 
not paid premiums on a timely basis or has engaged in 
disruptive behavior as specified in standards under section 
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1856), or the plan is terminated for all individuals within a 
residence area. 

c. The individual demonstrates, in accordance with 
guidelines established by the secretary, that: 
 i. the organization offering the plan substantially 
violated a material provision of the organization's contract 
under this Part in relation to the individual, including the 
failure to provide an enrollee on a timely basis medically 
necessary care for which benefits are available under the 
plan or the failure to provide such covered care in 
accordance with applicable quality standards; or 
 ii. the organization, or agent or other entity acting 
on the organization's behalf, materially misrepresented the 
plan's provisions in marketing the plan to the individual; or 

d. The individual meets such other exceptional 
conditions as the secretary may provide. 

3.a. The individual is enrolled with: 
 i. an eligible organization under a contract under 
Section 1876 of the Social Security Act (Medicare cost);  
 ii. a similar organization operating under 
demonstration project authority, effective for periods before 
April 1,1999; 
 iii. an organization under an agreement under 
Section 1833(a)(1)(A) of the Social Security Act (health care 
prepayment plan); or 
 iv. an organization under a Medicare select policy; 
and 

b. the enrollment ceases under the same 
circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an 
individual's election of coverage under §535.B.2. 

4. The individual is enrolled under a Medicare 
supplement policy and the enrollment ceases because: 

a.i. of the insolvency of the issuer or bankruptcy of 
the nonissuer organization; or 
 ii. of other involuntary termination of coverage or 
enrollment under the policy; 

b. the issuer of the policy substantially violated a 
material provision of the policy; or 

c. the issuer, or an agent or other entity acting on 
the issuer's behalf, materially misrepresented the policy's 
provisions in marketing the policy to the individual;  

5.a. The individual was enrolled under a Medicare 
supplement policy and terminates enrollment and 
subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any 
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice 
plan under Part C of Medicare, any eligible organization 
under a contract under Section 1876 of the Social Security 
Act (Medicare cost), any similar organization operating 
under demonstration project authority, any PACE provider 
under Section 1894 of the Social Security Act, or a Medicare 
select policy; and 

b. the subsequent enrollment under Subparagraph a 
is terminated by the enrollee during any period within the 
first 12 months of such subsequent enrollment [during which 
the enrollee is permitted to terminate such subsequent 
enrollment under Section 1851(e) of the federal Social 
Security Act]; or 

6. the individual, upon first becoming enrolled for 
benefits under Medicare Part B, enrolls in a 
Medicare+Choice plan under Part C of Medicare, or with a 
PACE provider under Section 1894 of the Social Security 

Act, and disenrolls from the plan by not later 12 months 
after the effective date of enrollment. 

C. Guaranteed Issue Time Periods 
1. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 

B.1, the guaranteed issue period begins on the date the 
individual receives a notice of termination or cessation of all 
supplemental health benefits (or, if a notice is not received, 
notice that a claim has been denied because of such a 
termination or cessation) and ends 63 days after the date of 
the applicable notice; 

2. in the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 
B.2, 3, 5 or 6 whose enrollment is terminated involuntarily, 
the guaranteed issue period begins on the date that the 
individual receives a notice of termination and ends 63 days 
after the date the applicable coverage is terminated; 

3. in the case of an individual described in 
Subparagraph B.4.a, the guaranteed issue period begins on 
the earlier of:  

a. the date that the individual receives a notice of 
termination, a notice of the issuer's bankruptcy or 
insolvency, or other such similar notice if any; and  

b. the date that the applicable coverage is 
terminated, and ends on the date that is 63 days after the date 
the coverage is terminated; 

4. in the case of an individual described in Paragraphs 
B.2, 4.b, 4.c, 5 or 6 who disenrolls voluntarily, the 
guaranteed issue period begins on the date that is 60 days 
before the effective date of the disenrollment and ends on the 
date that is 63 days after the effective date; and 

5. in the case of an individual described in Subsection 
B but not described in the preceding provisions of this 
Subsection, the guaranteed issue period begins on the 
effective date of disenrollment and ends on the date that is 
63 days after the effective date. 

D. Extended Medigap Access for Interrupted Trial 
Periods 

1. In the case of an individual described in Paragraph 
B.5 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 
Paragraph) whose enrollment with an organization or 
provider described in Paragraph B.5.a is involuntarily 
terminated within the first 12 months of enrollment, and 
who, without an intervening enrollment, enrolls with another 
such organization or provider, the subsequent enrollment 
shall be deemed to be an initial enrollment described in 
Section 12B(5); 

2. in the case of an individual described in Paragraph 
B.6 (or deemed to be so described, pursuant to this 
Paragraph) who enrollment with a plan or in a program 
described in Paragraph B.6 is involuntarily terminated 
within the first 12 months of enrollment, and who, without 
an intervening enrollment, enrolls in another such plan or 
program, the subsequent enrollment shall be deemed to be 
an initial enrollment described in Section 12B(6); and 

3. for purposes of Paragraphs B.5 and 6, no 
enrollment of an individual with an organization or provider 
described in Subparagraph B.5.a, or with a plan or in a 
program described in Paragraph B.6, may be deemed to be 
an initial enrollment under this Paragraph after the two-year 
period beginning on the date on which the individual first 
enrolled with such an organization, provider, plan or 
program. 
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E. Products to Which Eligible Persons are Entitled. The 
Medicare supplement policy to which eligible persons are 
entitled under: 

1. Section 535.B.1.2.3 and 4 is a Medicare supplement 
policy which has a benefit package classified as Plan A, B, 
C, or F offered by any issuer;  

2. Section 535.B.5 is the same Medicare supplement 
policy in which the individual was most recently previously 
enrolled, if available from the same issuer, or, if not so 
available, a policy described in §535.C.1; 

3. Section 535.B.6 shall include any Medicare 
supplement policy available by any issuer. 

F. Notification Provisions 
1. At the time of an event described in Subsection B 

of this Section because of which an individual loses 
coverage or benefits due to the termination of a contract or 
agreement, policy, or plan, the organization that terminates 
the contract or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy, 
or the administrator of the plan being terminated, 
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 
under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of 
Medicare supplement policies under Subsection A. Such 
notice shall be communicated contemporaneously with the 
notification of termination. 

2. At the time of an event described in Subsection B 
of this Section because of which an individual ceases 
enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan, 
the organization that offers the contract or agreement, 
regardless of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the 
issuer offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan, 
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights 
under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of 
Medicare supplement policies under §535.A. Such notice 
shall be communicated within 10 working days of the issuer 
receiving notification of disenrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2444 
(November 2003). 
§536. Reserved. 
§537. Reserved. 
§538. Reserved. 
§539. Reserved. 
§540. Standards for Claims Payment 

A. An issuer shall comply with section 1882(c)(3) of the 
Social Security Act (as enacted by section 4081(b)(2)(C) of 
the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA) 
1987, Pub. L. No. 100-203) by: 

1. accepting a notice from a Medicare carrier on 
dually assigned claims submitted by participating physicians 
and suppliers as a claim for benefits in place of any other 
claim form otherwise required and making a payment 
determination on the basis of the information contained in 
that notice; 

2. notifying the participating physician or supplier and 
the beneficiary of the payment determination; 

3. paying the participating physician or supplier 
directly; 

4. furnishing, at the time of enrollment, each enrollee 
with a card listing the policy name, number, and a central 

mailing address to which notices from a Medicare carrier 
may be sent; 

5. paying user fees for claim notices that are 
transmitted electronically or otherwise; and 

6. providing to the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services, at least annually, a central mailing address to 
which all claims may be sent by Medicare carriers. 

B. Compliance with the requirements set forth in 
Subsection A above shall be certified on the Medicare 
supplement insurance experience reporting form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1111 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1491 (August 1999), LR 29:2446 (November 
2003). 
§541. Reserved. 
§542. Reserved. 
§543. Reserved. 
§544. Reserved. 
§545. Loss Ratio Standards and Refund or Credit of 

Premium 
A. Loss Ratio Standards 

1.a. A Medicare supplement policy form or certificate 
form shall not be delivered or issued for delivery unless the 
policy form or certificate form can be expected, as estimated 
for the entire period for which rates are computed to provide 
coverage, to return to policyholders and certificateholders in 
the form of aggregate benefits (not including anticipated 
refunds or credits) provided under the policy form or 
certificate form: 
 i. at least 75 percent of the aggregate amount of 
premiums earned in the case of group policies; or 
 ii. at least 65 percent of the aggregate amount of 
premiums earned in the case of individual policies. 

b. Calculated on the basis of incurred claims 
experience or incurred health care expenses where coverage 
is provided by a health maintenance organization on a 
service rather than reimbursement basis and earned 
premiums for the period and in accordance with accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. 

2. All filings of rates and rating schedules shall 
demonstrate that expected claims in relation to premiums 
comply with the requirements of this Section when 
combined with actual experience to date. Filings of rate 
revisions shall also demonstrate that the anticipated loss 
ratio over the entire future period for which the revised rates 
are computed to provide coverage can be expected to meet 
the appropriate loss ratio standards. 

3. For purposes of applying Paragraph A.1 of this 
Section and §550.C.3 only, policies issued as a result of 
solicitations of individuals through the mails or by mass 
media advertising (including both print and broadcast 
advertising) shall be deemed to be individual policies. 

4. For policies issued prior to January 20, 1991, 
expected claims in relation to premiums shall meet: 

a. the originally filed anticipated loss ratio when 
combined with the actual experience since inception; 

b. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from 
§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. when combined with actual experience 
beginning with January 1, 1998 to date; and 
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c. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from 
§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. over the entire future period for which 
the rates are computed to provide coverage. 

B. Refund or Credit Calculation 
1. An issuer shall collect and file with the 

commissioner by May 31 of each year the data contained in 
the applicable reporting form contained in Appendix A for 
each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. 

2. If, on the basis of the experience as reported, the 
benchmark ratio since inception (ratio 1) exceeds the 
adjusted experience ratio since inception (ratio 3), then a 
refund or credit calculation is required. The refund 
calculation shall be done on a statewide basis for each type 
in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. For 
purposes of the refund or credit calculation, experience on 
policies issued within the reporting year shall be excluded. 

3. For the purposes of this Section, policies or 
certificates issued prior to January 20, 1991, the issuer shall 
make the refund or credit calculation separately for all 
individual policies (including all group policies subject to an 
individual loss ratio standard when issued) combined and all 
other group policies combined for experience after January 
1, 1998. The first report shall be due by May 31, 2000. 

4. A refund or credit shall be made only when the 
benchmark loss ratio exceeds the adjusted experience loss 
ratio and the amount to be refunded or credited exceeds a de 
minimis level. The refund shall include interest from the end 
of the calendar year to the date of the refund or credit at a 
rate specified by the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services, but in no event shall it be less than the average rate 
of interest for 13-week treasury notes. A refund or credit 
against premiums due shall be made by September 30 
following the experience year upon which the refund or 
credit is based. 

C. Filing of Rates and Rating Schedules. All filings of 
rates and rating schedules shall demonstrate that expected 
claims in relation to premiums comply with the requirements 
of this Section when combined with actual experience to 
date. Filings of rate revisions shall also demonstrate that the 
anticipated loss ratio over the entire future period for which 
the revised rates are computed to provide coverage can be 
expected to meet the appropriate loss ratio standards. 

1. Each Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
form shall be accompanied, upon submission for approval, 
by an original and one copy of an actuarial memorandum. 
The memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a 
qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 
least the information listed in the following Subparagraphs: 

a. the form number that the actuarial memorandum 
addresses; 

b. a brief description of benefits provided; 
c. a schedule of rates to be used; 
d. a certification that the anticipated lifetime loss 

ratio is at least 65 percent (for individual coverage) or at 
least 75 percent (for group coverage);  

e. a table of anticipated loss ratio experience for 
each year from issue over a reasonable number of years; 

f. a certification that the premiums are reasonable 
in relation to the benefits provided; and  

g. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate;  

h. any additional information requested by the 
commissioner. 

2. Subsequent rate adjustments filings, except for 
those rates filed solely due to a change in the Part A calendar 
year deductible, shall also provide an original and one copy 
of an actuarial memorandum, prepared, signed and dated by 
a qualified actuary, in accordance with generally accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 
least the following: 

a. the form number addressed by the actuarial 
memorandum;  

b. a brief description of benefits provided; 
c. a schedule of rates before and after the rate 

change; 
d. a statement of the reason and basis  for the rate 

change; 
e. a demonstration and certification by the qualified 

actuary showing that the past plus future expected 
experience after the rate change will result in an aggregate 
loss ratio equal to, or greater than, the required minimum 
aggregate loss ratio: 
 i. this rate change and demonstration shall be 
based on the experience of the named form in Louisiana 
only, if that experience is credible; 
 ii. the rate change and demonstration shall be 
based on experience of the named form nationwide, if the 
named form is used nationwide and the Louisiana 
experience is not credible, but the nationwide experience is 
credible; 

f. for policies or certificates in force less than three 
years, a demonstration shall be included to show that the 
third-year loss ratio is expected to be equal to, or greater 
than, the applicable percentage; 

g. a certification by the qualified actuary that the 
resulting premiums are reasonable in relation to the benefits 
provided;  

h. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 
i. any additional information requested by the 

commissioner.  
3.a. An issuer of Medicare supplement policies and 

certificates issued before or after the effective date of 
Regulation 33 (Revised, 1992) in this state shall file 
annually no later than December 31 its rates for the 
upcoming calendar year. Also, supporting documentation 
including ratios of incurred losses to earned premiums by 
policy duration shall be submitted for approval by the 
commissioner. The supporting documentation shall also 
demonstrate in accordance with actuarial standards of 
practice using reasonable assumptions that the appropriate 
loss ratio standards can be expected to be met over the entire 
period for which rates are computed. The demonstration 
shall exclude active life reserves. An expected third-year loss 
ratio which is greater than or equal to the applicable 
percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates 
in force less than three years. 

b. The filing for purposes of this Subsection shall 
contain all Medicare supplement plans issued by the issuer 
and shall not include rate adjustments. An actuarial 
memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a 
qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted 
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at 
least the following: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2448

 i. the form number for each plan; 
 ii. plan type designation (for example: Plan A, 
Plan B, Pre -standardized); 
 iii. the rates for each plan; 
 iv. yearly loss ratios for each plan; 
 v. lifetime expected loss ratios for each plan; 
 vi. identify filing as "ANNUAL MEDICARE 
SUPPLEMENT FILING" on the face page of the memorandum;  
 vii. the entire filing shall be provided in duplicate; 
 viii. any additional information requested by the 
commissioner. 

4. As soon as practicable, but prior to the effective 
date of enhancements in Medicare benefits, every issuer of 
Medicare supplement policies or certificates in this state 
shall file with the commissioner, in accordance with the 
applicable filing procedures of this state: 

a. appropriate premium adjustments necessary to 
produce loss ratios as anticipated for the current premium for 
the applicable policies or certificates. The supporting 
documents necessary to justify the adjustment shall 
accompany the filing; 

b. an issuer shall make premium adjustments 
necessary to produce an expected loss ratio under the policy 
or certificate to conform to minimum loss ratio standards for 
Medicare supplement policies and which are expected to 
result in a loss ratio at least as great as that originally 
anticipated in the rates used to produce current premiums by 
the issuer for the Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates. No premium adjustment which would modify 
the loss ratio experience under the policy other than the 
adjustments described herein shall be made with respect to a 
policy at any time other than upon its renewal date or 
anniversary date; 

c. if an issuer fails to make premium adjustments 
acceptable to the commissioner, the commissioner may order 
premium adjustments, refunds or premium credits deemed 
necessary to achieve the loss ratio required by this Section. 

5. Any appropriate riders, endorsements or policy 
forms needed to accomplish the Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate modifications necessary to eliminate benefit 
duplications with Medicare. The riders, endorsements or 
policy forms shall provide a clear description of the 
Medicare supplement benefits provided by the policy or 
certificate. 

D. Public Hearings. The commissioner may conduct a 
public hearing to gather information concerning a request by 
an issuer for an increase in a rate for a policy form or 
certificate form issued before or after the effective date of 
Regulation 33 as revised July 20, 1992 if the experience of 
the form for the previous reporting period is not in 
compliance with the applicable loss ratio standard. The 
determination of compliance is made without consideration 
of any refund or credit for the reporting period. Public notice 
of the hearing shall be furnished in a manner deemed 
appropriate by the commissioner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1112 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1492 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2447 
(November 2003). 

§546. Reserved. 
§547. Reserved. 
§548. Reserved. 
§549. Reserved. 
§550. Filing and Approval of Policies and Certificates 

and Premium Rates 
A. An issuer shall not deliver or issue for delivery a 

policy or certificate to a resident of this state unless the 
policy form or certificate form has been filed with and 
approved by the commissioner in accordance with filing 
requirements and procedures prescribed by the 
commissioner. 

B. An issuer shall not use or change premium rates for a 
Medicare supplement policy or certificate unless the rates, 
rating schedule and supporting documentation have been 
filed with and approved by the commissioner in accordance 
with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by 
the commissioner. 

C.1. Except as provided in Paragraph C.2 of this 
Subsection, an issuer shall not file for approval more than 
one form of a policy or certificate of each type for each 
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. 

2. An issuer may offer, with the approval of the 
commissioner, up to four additional policy forms or 
certificate forms of the same type for the same standard 
Medicare supplement benefit plan, one for each of the 
following cases: 

a. the inclusion of new or innovative benefits; 
b. the addition of either direct response or agent 

marketing methods; 
c. the addition of either guaranteed issue or 

underwritten coverage; 
d. the offering of coverage to individuals eligible 

for Medicare by reason of disability. 
3. For the purposes of this Section, a "type" means an 

individual policy, a group policy, an individual Medicare 
select policy, or a group Medicare select policy. 

D.1. Except as provided in Subparagraph D.1.a, an issuer 
shall continue to make available for purchase any policy 
form or certificate form issued after the effective date of this  
regulation that has been approved by the commissioner. A 
policy form or certificate form shall not be considered to be 
available for purchase unless the issuer has actively offered 
it for sale in the previous 12 months. 

a. An issuer may discontinue the availability of a 
policy form or certificate form if the issuer provides to the 
commissioner, in writing, its decision at least 30 days prior 
to discontinuing the availability of the form of the policy or 
certificate. After receipt of the notice by the commissioner, 
the issuer shall no longer offer for sale the policy form or 
certificate form in this state. 

b. An issuer that discontinues the availability of a 
policy form or certificate form pursuant to Subclause (a) 
shall not file for approval a new policy form or certificate 
form of the same type for the same standard Medicare 
supplement benefit plan as the discontinued form for a 
period of five years after the issuer provides notice to the 
commissioner of the discontinuance. The period of 
discontinuance may be reduced if the commissioner 
determines that a shorter period is appropriate. 
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2. The sale or other transfer of Medicare supplement 
business to another issuer shall be considered a 
discontinuance for the purposes of this Subsection. 

3. A change in the rating structure or methodology 
shall be considered a discontinuance under Paragraph D.1 
unless the issuer complies with the following requirements. 

a. The issuer provides an actuarial memorandum, in 
a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner, 
describing the manner in which the revised rating 
methodology and resultant rates differ from the existing 
rating methodology and existing rates. 

b. The issuer does not subsequently put into effect a 
change of rates or rating factors that would cause the 
percentage differential between the discontinued and 
subsequent rates as described in the actuarial memorandum 
to change. The commissioner may approve a change to the 
differential, which is in the public interest. 

E.1. Except as provided in Paragraph E.2, the experience 
of all policy forms or certificate forms of the same type in a 
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan shall be 
combined for purposes of the refund or credit calculation 
prescribed in §545 of this regulation. 

2. Forms assumed under an assumption reinsurance 
agreement shall not be combined with the experience of 
other forms for purposes of the refund or credit calculation. 

F.1. An issuer that fails to implement an approved rate 
increase within six months after the approval date shall be 
prohibited fro m implementing such increase on future dates. 
The issuer shall notify the commissioner when any approved 
rate increase has not been implemented.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1113 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2448 
(November 2003). 
§551. Reserved. 
§552. Reserved. 
§553. Reserved. 
§554. Reserved. 
§555. Permitted Compensation Arrangements 

A. An issuer or other entity may provide commission or 
other compensation to an agent or other representative for 
the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only 
if the first year commission or other first year compensation 
is no more than 200 percent of the commission or other 
compensation paid for selling or servicing the policy or 
certificate in the second year or period. 

B. The commission or other compensation provided in 
subsequent (renewal) years must be the same as that 
provided in the second year or period and must be provided 
for no fewer than five renewal years. 

C. No issuer or other entity shall provide compensation 
to its agents or other producers, and no agent or producer 
shall receive compensation greater than the renewal 
compensation payable by the replacing issuer on renewal 
policies or certificates if an existing policy or certificate is 
replaced. 

D. For purposes of this Section, "compensation" includes 
pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration of any kind 
relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate 
including, but not limited to, bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards 
and finders fees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Dep artment of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999), LR 29:2449 (November 
2003). 
§556. Reserved. 
§557. Reserved. 
§558. Reserved. 
§559. Reserved. 
§560. Required Disclosure Provisions 

A. General Ru les 
1. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 

include a renewal or continuation provision. The language or 
specifications of the provision shall be consistent with the 
type of contract issued. The provision shall be appropriately 
captioned and shall appear on the first page of the policy, 
and shall include any reservation by the issuer of the right to 
change premiums and any automatic renewal premium 
increases based on the policyholder's age. 

2. Except for riders or endorsements by which the 
issuer effectuates a request made in writing by the insured, 
exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare 
supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate 
benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all riders 
or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement policy 
after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal which 
reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the policy shall 
require a signed acceptance by the insured. After the date of 
policy or certificate issue, any rider or endorsement which 
increases benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase 
in premium during the policy term shall be agreed to, in 
writing, signed by the insured, unless the benefits are 
required by the minimum standards for Medicare 
supplement policies, or if the increased benefits or coverage 
is required by law. Where a separate additional premium is 
charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or 
endorsements, the premium charge shall be set forth in the 
policy. 

3. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall 
not provide for the payment of benefits based on standards 
described as "usual and customary," "reasonable and 
customary" or words of similar import. 

4. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
contains any limitations with respect to preexisting 
conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate 
paragraph of the policy and be labeled as "Preexisting 
Condition Limitations." 

5. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall 
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the 
policy or certificate stating in substance that the policyholder 
or certificateholder shall have the right to return the policy 
or certificate within 30 days of its delivery and to have the 
premium refunded if, after examination of the policy or 
certificate, the insured person is not satisfied for any reason. 

6.a. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or 
certificates which provide hospital or medical expense 
coverage on an expense incurred or indemnity basis to 
persons eligible for Medicare shall provide to those 
applicants a Guide to Health Insurance for People with 
Medicare in the form developed jointly by the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners and the Health
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Care Financing Administration and in a type size no smaller 
than 12 point type. Delivery of the guide shall be made 
whether or not the policies or certificates are advertised, 
solicited, or issued as Medicare supplement policies or 
certificates, as defined in this regulation. Except in the case 
of direct response issuers, delivery of the guide shall be 
made to the applicant at the time of application, and 
acknowledgement of receipt of the guide shall be obtained 
by the issuer. Direct response issuers shall deliver the guide 
to the applicant upon request but not later than at the time 
the policy is delivered. 

b. For the purposes of this Section, form means the 
language, format, type size, type proportional spacing, bold 
character, and line spacing. 

B. Notice Requirements. 
1. As soon as practicable, but no later than 30 days 

prior to the annual effective date of any Medicare benefit 
changes, an issuer shall notify its policyholders and 
certificateholders of modifications it has made to Medicare 
supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format 
acceptable to the commissioner. The notice shall: 

a. include a description of revisions to the Medicare 
program and a description of each modification made to the 
coverage provided under the Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate; and 

b. inform each policyholder or certificateholder as 
to when any premium adjustment is to be made due to 
changes in Medicare. 

2. The notice of benefit modifications and any 
premium adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear 
and simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension. 

3. The notices shall not contain or be accompanied by 
any solicitation. 

C. Outline of Coverage Requirements for Medicare 
Supplement Policies 

1. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all 
applicants at the time application is presented to the 
prospective applicant and, except for direct response 
policies, shall obtain an acknowledgement of receipt of the 
outline from the applicant; and 

2. if an outline of coverage is provided at the time of 
application and the Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate is issued on a basis which would require revision 
of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage properly 
describing the policy or certificate shall accompany the 
policy or certificate when it is delivered and contain the 
following statement, in no less than 12 point type, 
immediately above the company name: "NOTICE: Read this 
outline of coverage carefully. It is not identical to the outline 
of coverage provided upon application and the coverage 
originally applied for has not been issued." 

3.a. The outline of coverage provided to applicants 
pursuant to this Section consists of four parts: 
 i. a cover page; 
 ii. premium information; 
 iii. disclosure pages; and 
 iv. charts displaying the features of all benefit 
plansavailable by the issuer. 

b. The outline of coverage shall be in the language 
and format prescribed below in no less than 12 point type. 
All plans A-J shall be shown on the cover page, and each 
Medicare supplement policy and certificate currently 
available by an issuer shall be prominently identified. 
Premium information for plans that are available shall be 
shown on the cover page or immediately following the cover 
page and shall be prominently displayed. The premium and 
mode shall be stated for all plans that are available to the 
prospective applicant. All possible premiums for the 
prospective applicant shall be illustrated. 

4. The following items shall be included in the outline 
of coverage in the order prescribed below. 
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[COMPANY NAME] 

Outline of Medicare Supplement Coverage-Cover Page: 
 

Benefit Plan(s)_____[insert letter(s) of plan(s) available from the issuer] 
 

Medicare supplement insurance can be sold in only 10 standard plans plus two high deductible plans. This chart shows the benefits included in each plan. Every 
company must make available Plan A. Some plans may not be available in your state. 

 
BASIC BENEFITS : Included in all plans. 
Hospitalization: Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional days after Medicare benefits end. 
Medical Expenses: Part B coinsurance (Generally, 20% of Medicare-approved expenses), or, in the case of hospital outpatient department services under a 
prospective payment system, applicable copayments.  
Blood: First three pints of blood each year. 

 
A B C D E F F* G H I J J* 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

Basic 
Benefits 

    Skilled 
Nursing Co- 
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co- 
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Co-
Insurance  

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing 
Co-
Insurance 

Skilled 
Nursing Co-
Insurance 

  Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A  
Deductible 

Part A  
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A 
Deductible 

Part A  
Deductible 

    Part B 
Deductible 

    Part B 
Deductible 

      Part B 
Deductible 

          Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 
(80%) 

  Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

Part B 
Excess 
(100%) 

    Foreign  
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign  
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

Foreign 
Travel 
Emergency 

      At-Home 
Recovery 

    At-Home 
Recovery 

  At-Home 
Recovery 

At-Home 
Recovery 

              Basic Drugs 
($1,250 
Limit) 

Basic 
Drugs 
($1,250 
Limit) 

Extended 
Drugs 
($3,000 
Limit) 

        Preventive 
Care 

        Preventive 
Care 

*Plans F and J also have an option called a high deductible Plan F and a high deductible Plan J. These high deductible plans pay the same or offer the same benefits 
as Plan F and J after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from high deductible Plans F and J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are 
[$1650]. Out -of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. These expenses include the Medicare deductibles for 
Part A and Part B, but does not include, in Plan J, the plan's separate prescription drug deductible or, in Plans F and J, the plan's separate foreign travel emergency 
deductible. 
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PREMIUM INFORMATION [Boldface Type] 
We [insert issuer's name] can only raise your premium if we raise the premium for all policies like yours in this State. [If the premium is based on the increasing 
age of the insured, include information specifying when premiums will change.] 

 
DISCLOSURES [Boldface Type] 

Use this outline to compare benefits and premiums among policies.  
 

READ YOUR POLICY VERY CAREFULLY [Boldface Type] 
This is only an outline describing your policy's most important features. The policy is your insurance contract. You must read the policy itself to understand all of 
the rights and duties of both you and your insurance company. 

 
RIGHT TO RETURN POLICY [Boldface Type] 

If you find that you are not satisfied with your policy, you may return it to [insert issuer's address]. If you send the policy back to us within 30 days after you 
receive it, we will treat the policy as if it had never been issued and return all of your payments. 

 
POLICY REPLACEMENT [Boldface Type] 

If you are replacing another health insurance policy, do NOT cancel it until you have actually received your new policy and are sure you want to keep it. 
 

NOTICE [Boldface Type] 
This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs. 

 
[for agents:] 
Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected with Medicare. 

 
[for direct response:] 
[insert company's name] is not connected with Medicare. 

 
This outline of coverage does not give all the details of Medicare coverage. Contact your local Social Security Office or consult The Medicare Handbook for more 
details.  

 
COMPLETE ANSWERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT [Boldface Type] 

When you fill out the application for the new policy, be sure to answer truthfully and completely all questions about your medical and health history. The company 
may cancel your policy and refuse to pay any claims if you leave out or falsify important medical information. [If the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this 
paragraph need not appear.] 
 
Review the application carefully before you sign it. Be certain that all information has been properly recorded. 
 
[Include for each plan prominently identified in the cover page, a chart showing the services, Medicare payments, plan payments and insured payments for each 
plan, using the same language, in the same order, using uniform layout and format as shown in the charts below. No more than four plans may be shown on one 
chart. For purposes of illustration, charts for each plan are included in this regulation. An issuer may use additional benefit plan designations on these charts 
pursuant to §520.D of this regulation.] [Include an explanation of any innovative benefits on the cover page and in the chart, in a manner approved by the 
commissioner.] 
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Plan A 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and  
miscellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
All but $[420] a day 
$0 
$0 

$0 
$[210] a day 
$[420] a day 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$0 
$0 
$0 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day $0 

$0 
$0 
$0 

$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

$0 
100% 

3 pints 
$0 

$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for out -
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan A 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100 (Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100 (Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100 (Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
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Plan B 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 
  
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out - 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan B 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 

Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
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Plan C  
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

$0 
100% 

3 pints 
$0 

$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

All but very limited 
coinsurance for out - 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

$0 
 

Balance 
 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan C  
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 

Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  

 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  
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Plan D 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to receive these 
services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out -patient 
drugs and inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
 

Plan D 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic Services 

 
100% 

 
$0 

 
$0 
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Plan D (continued) 
Parts A and B 

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not 
Covered By Medicare  
Home care certified by your 
doctor, for personal care 
during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare 
approved a Home Care Treatment 
Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 
 --Calendar year maximum  

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a visit  
 
 
 
Up to the number of Medicare 
Approved visits, not to exceed 7 
each week 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
 

 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  

 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum 
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Plan E 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  doctor 
certifies you are terminally ill and you 
elect to receive these services 

 
All but very limited coinsurance 
for out-patient drugs and inpatient 
respite care 

 
$0 
 

 
Balance 
 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
 

Plan E 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
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Parts A and B 
 

Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

 
 

Plan E (Continued) 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  

 
Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  

***Preventive Medical Care  
Benefit--Not Covered By 
Medicare  
Some annual physical and preventive tests 
and services such as: digital rectal exam, 
hearing screening, dipstick urinalysis, 
diabetes screening, thyroid function test, 
tetanus and diphtheria booster and 
education, administered or ordered by your 
doctor when not covered by Medicare 
 
 First $120 each calendar year 
 Additional charges 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$120 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
All Costs 

 

***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare. 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2463

Plan F or High Deductible Plan F 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1580] deductible. Benefits from the high 
deductible Plan F will not begin until out -of-pocket expenses are [$1580]. Out -of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by 
the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays 
After You Pay$1650 

Deductible,** 
Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible,** 

You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out - 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare 
would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the 
balance on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan F or High Deductible Plan F (Continued) 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from the high 
deductible Plan F will not begin until out -of-pocket expenses are [$1650]. Out -of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by 
the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays 

After You Pay 
$1650 

Deductible,** 
Plan Pays 

In Addition To  
$1650 

Deductible,** 
You Pay 

Medical Ex penses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
100% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
 

Parts A and B  
 

Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
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Plan F or High Deductible Plan F (Continued) 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  

 

Services Medicare Pays 

After You Pay 
$1650 

Deductible,** 
Plan Pays 

In Addition To  
$1650 

Deductible,** 
You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare  
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  

 
 

Plan G 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out  of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
$[420] a day 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out - 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 
 

 
Balance 
 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2466

Plan G 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Ye ar 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
20% 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Plan G (Continued) 

Parts A and B 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not 
Covered By Medicare  
Home care certified by your 
doctor, for personal care 
during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare 
approved a Home Care Treatment 
Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 
 --Calendar year maximum  

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
20% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a visit  
 
Up to the number of 
Medicare Approved visits, not to 
exceed 7 
each week 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
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Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  
 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  

 
Plan H 

Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 
 

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare  Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and miscellaneous services 
and supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  
doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited 
coinsurance for out - 
patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2468

Plan H 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 

 
$0 

 
$0 

 
Parts A and B 

 

Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

100% 
$0 
80% 

$0 
$0 
20% 

$0 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
$0 

 
Plan H (Continued) 

Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  

Basic Outpatient Prescription 
Drugs--Not Covered By Medicare 
First $250 each calendar year 
Next $2,500 each calendar year 
 
Over $2,500 each calendar year 

 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
$0 
50%--$1,250 calendar 
year maximum benefit  
$0 

 
 
$250 
50% 
 
All Costs 
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Plan I 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  doctor certifies 
you are  terminally ill and you elect to 
receive these services 

 
All but very limited coinsurance for 
out-patient drugs and inpatient 
respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 
**NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare would 
have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the balance 
based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 

 
Plan I 

Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 
 

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remain der of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
100% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$0 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
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Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 

 
$0 

 
$0 

 
Plan I (Continued) 
Parts A and B 

 

Services Medicare Pays Plan Pays You Pay 
Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical 
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not 
Covered By Medicare  
Home care certified by your 
doctor, for personal care 
during recovery from an injury 
or sickness for which Medicare 
approved a Home Care Treatment 
Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 
 --Calendar year maximum  

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
$0 
 
80% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
20% 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a 
visit  
 
Up to the number of 
Medicare Approved visits, 
not to exceed 7 
each week 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
$0 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
 

 
Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  

 
Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare 
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  

Basic Outpatient Prescription 
Drugs--Not Covered By Medicare 
First $250 each calendar year 
Next $2,500 each calendar year 
 
Over $2,500 each calendar year 

 
 
$0 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
$0 
50%--$1,250 calendar 
year maximum benefit  
$0 

 
 
$250 
50% 
 
All Costs 
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Plan J or High Deductible Plan J 
Medicare (Part A) --Hospital Services--Per Benefit Period 

 
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not received 
skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.  
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from high deductible 
Plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are [$1650]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. 
This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate prescription drug deductible or the plan's separate foreign 
travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Hospitalization* 
Semiprivate room and board, 
general nursing and mis- 
cellaneous services and 
supplies 
 First 60 days 
 61st thru 90th day 
 91st day and after: 
 --While using 60 lifetime  
 reserve days 
 --Once lifetime reserve 
 days are used: 
 --Additional 365 days 
 --Beyond the additional  
 365 days 

 
 
 
 
 
All but $[840] 
All but $[210] a day 
 
 
All but $[420] a day 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$[840](Part A Deductible) 
$[210] a day 
 
 
$[420] a day 
 
 
100% of Medicare 
Eligible Expenses 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
All Costs 

Skilled Nursing Facility Care* 
You must meet Medicare's 
requirements, including having 
been in a hospital for at least  
3 days and entered a Medicare- 
approved facility within 30 
days after leaving the hospital 
 First 20 days 
 21st thru 100th day 
 101st day and after 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
All approved amounts 
All but $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
Up to $[105.00] a day 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 
All costs 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Additional amounts 

 
$0 
100% 

 
3 pints 
$0 

 
$0 
$0 

Hospice Care  
Available as long as your  doctor certifies you are  
terminally ill and you elect to receive these 
services 

 
All but very limited coinsurance 
for out-patient drugs and 
inpatient respite care 

 
$0 

 
Balance 

 

***NOTICE: When your Medicare Part A hospital benefits are exhausted, the insurer stands in the place of Medicare and will pay whatever amount Medicare 
would have paid for up to an additional 365 days as provided in the policy's "Core Benefits." During this time the hospital is prohibited from billing you for the 
balance based on any difference between its billed charges and the amount Medicare would have paid. 
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Plan J or High Deductible Plan J (Continued) 
Medicare (Part B) --Medical Services--Per Calendar Year 

 
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible will have been 
met for the calendar year. 
**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1650] deductible. Benefits from high deductible 
Plan J will not begin until out -of-pocket expenses are [$1650]. Out -of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. 
This includes the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate prescription drug deductible or the plan's separate foreign 
travel emergency deductible. 
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Medical Expenses-- 
In Or Out Of The Hospital And 
Outpatient Hospital Treatment, 
such as physician's services,  
inpatient and outpatient 
medical and surgical services 
and supplies, physical and 
speech therapy, diagnostic 
tests, durable medical 
equipment, 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 
 Part B Excess Charges (Above 
 Medicare Approved Amounts)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
Generally, 80% 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
Generally, 20% 
 
100% 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Blood 
First 3 pints 
Next $100 of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts* 
Remainder of Medicare Approved 
 Amounts 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
All Costs 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

Clinical Laboratory Services-- 
Blood Tests For Diagnostic 
Services 

 
100% 
 

 
$0 
 

 
$0 
 

 
Parts A and B 

 
Home Health Care  
Medicare Approved Services 
 --Medically necessary skilled 
 care services and medical  
 supplies 
 --Durable medical equipment 
 First $100 of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts*  
 Remainder of Medicare 
 Approved Amounts 

 
 
 
 
100% 
 
 
$0 
 
80% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$100(Part B Deductible) 
 
20% 

 
 
 
 
$0 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
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Plan J or High Deductible Plan J (Continued) 
Medicare (Part B) - Medical Services - Per Calendar Year 

Parts A and B (Continued) 
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Home Health Care(Cont'd) 
At-Home Recovery Services--Not Covered By 
Medicare  
Home care certified by your  
doctor, for personal care 
beginning during recovery from 
an injury or sickness for which 
Medicare approved a Home Care 
Treatment Plan 
 --Benefit for each visit 
 
 --Number of visits covered 
 (must be received within 8 
 weeks of last Medicare 
 Approved visit) 
 --Calendar year maximum  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
 
 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Actual Charges to $40 a 
visit  
Up to the number of 
Medicare Approved visits, 
not to exceed 7 each week 
 
$1,600 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Balance 
 

 

Plan J or High Deductible Plan J (Continued) 
Parts A and B (Continued) 

Other Benefits--Not Covered By Medicare  
 

Services Medicare Pays After You Pay $1650 
Deductible, ** Plan Pays 

In Addition To $1650 
Deductible, ** You Pay 

Foreign Travel-- 
Not Covered By Medicare  
Medically necessary emergency 
care services beginning during 
the first 60 days of each trip 
outside the USA 
 First $250 each calendar year 
 Remainder of Charges  

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
80% to a lifetime maximum 
benefit of $50,000 

 
 
 
 
 
 
$250 
20% and amounts over the 
$50,000 lifetime maximum  

Extended Outpatient 
Prescription Drugs--Not Covered By 
Medicare  
First $250 each calendar year 
 
Next $6,000 each calendar year 
 
Over $6,000 each calendar year 

 
 
 
$0 
 
$0 
 
$0 

 
 
 
$0 
 
50%--$3,000 calendar 
year maximum benefit  
$0 

 
 
 
$250 
 
50% 
 
All Costs 

***Preventive Medical Care Benefit--Not 
Covered By Medicare  
Some annual physical and preventive tests and 
services such as: digital rectal exam, hearing 
screening, dipstick urinalysis, diabetes 
screening, thyroid function test, tetanus and 
diphtheria booster and education, administered 
or ordered by your doctor when not covered by 
Medicare 
 First $120 each calendar year 
 Additional charges 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$120 
$0 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
$0 
All Costs 

 
***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the latest Guide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare. 
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D. Notice Regarding Policies or Certificates which are 
not Medicare Supplement Policies 

1. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or 
certificate, other than a Medicare supplement policy; a 
policy issued pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of 
the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. §1395 et seq.), 
disability income policy; or other policy identified in §502.B 
of this regulation, issued for delivery in this state to persons 
eligible for Medicare shall notify insureds under the policy 
that the policy is not a Medicare supplement policy or 
certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to 
the first page of the outline of coverage delivered to insureds 
under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is delivered, to 
the first page of the policy, or certificate delivered to 
insureds. The notice shall be in no less than 12 point type 
and shall contain the following language: "This [policy or 
certificate] is not a medicare supplement [policy or contract]. 
If you are eligible for Medicare, review the Guide to Health 
Insurance for People with Medicare available from the 
company." 

2. Applications provided to persons eligible for 
Medicare for the health insurance policies or certificates 
described in Paragraph D.1 shall disclose, using the 
applicable statement in Appendix C, the extent to which the 
policy duplicates Medicare. The disclosure statement shall 
be provided as a part of, or together with, the application for 
the policy or certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1495 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2449 
(November 2003). 
§561. Reserved. 
§562. Reserved. 
§563. Reserved. 
§564. Reserved. 
§565. Requirements for Application Forms and 

Replacement Coverage 
A. Application forms shall include the following 

questions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of 
the date of the application, the applicant has another 
Medicare supplement or other health insurance policy or 
certificate in force or whether a Medicare supplement policy 
or certificate is intended to replace any other accident and 
sickness policy or certificate presently in force. A 
supplementary application or other form to be signed by the 
applicant and agent containing such questions and 
statements may be used. 

B. An application for a Medicare supplement policy 
shall not be combined with an application for any other type 
of insurance coverage. The application may not make 
reference to or include questions regarding other types of 
insurance coverage except for those questions specifically 
required under this Section. 

1. [Statements] 
a. You do not need more than one Medicare 

supplement policy. 
b. If you purchase this policy, you may want to 

evaluate your existing health coverage and decide if you 
need multiple coverages. 

c. You may be eligible for benefits under Medicaid 
and may not need a Medicare supplement policy. 

d. The benefits and premiums under your Medicare 
supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, during 
your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid for 24 months. 
You must request this suspension within 90 days of 
becoming eligible for Medicaid. If you are no longer entitled 
to Medicaid, your policy will be reinstituted if requested 
within 90 days of losing Medicaid eligibility. 

e. Counseling services may be available in your 
state to provide advice concerning your purchase of 
Medicare supplement insurance and concerning medical 
assistance through the state Medicaid program, including 
benefits as a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a 
Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB). 

2. [Questions] 
a. To the best of your knowledge: 

 i. Do you have another Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate in force? 

(a). If so, with which company? 
(b). If so, do you intend to replace your current 

Medicare supplement policy with this policy [certificate]? 
 ii. Do you have any other health insurance 
coverage that provides benefits similar to this Medicare 
supplement policy? 

(a). If so, with which company? 
(b). What kind of policy? 

 iii. Are you covered for medical assistance 
through the state Medicaid program: 

(a). As a Specified Low-Income Medicare 
Beneficiary (SLMB)? 

(b). As a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary 
(QMB)? 

(c). For other Medicaid medical benefits? 
C. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies 

they have sold to the applicant: 
1. list policies sold which are still in force; 
2. list policies sold in the past five years, which are no 

longer in force. 
D. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the 

application or supplemental form, signed by the applicant, 
and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the 
applicant by the insurer upon delivery of the policy. 

E. Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement 
of Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer, other than a 
direct response issuer, or its agent, shall furnish the 
applicant, prior to issuance or delivery of the Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate, a notice regarding 
replacement of Medicare supplement coverage. One copy of 
the notice, signed by the applicant and the agent, except 
where the coverage is sold without an agent, shall be 
provided to the applicant and an additional signed copy shall 
be retained by the issuer. A direct response issuer shall 
deliver to the applicant, at the time of the issuance of the 
policy, the notice regarding replacement of Medicare 
supplement coverage. 

F. The notice required by Subsection D above for an 
issuer shall be provided in substantially the following form 
in no less than 12 point type: 
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NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT 
OF MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

[Insurance company's name and address] 
 

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO YOU IN THE FUTURE. 
 

According to [your application] [information you have furnished], you intend to terminate existing Medicare supplement insurance and replace it 
with a policy to be issued by [Company Name] Insurance Company. Your new policy will provide 30 days within which you may decide without 
cost whether you desire to keep the policy. 
 
You should review this new coverage carefully. Compare it with all accident and sickness coverage you now have. If, after due consideration, you 
find that purchase of this Medicare supplement coverage is a wise decision, you should terminate your present Medicare supplement coverage. 
You should evaluate the need for other accident and sickness coverage you have that may duplicate this policy. 

 
STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY ISSUER, AGENT [BROKER OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]: 

 
I have reviewed your current medical or health insurance coverage. To the best of my knowledge, this Medicare supplement policy will not 
duplicate your existing Medicare supplement coverage because you intend to terminate your existing Medicare supplement coverage. The 
replacement policy is being purchased for the following reason (check one): 
 

_____ Additional benefits. 
_____ No change in benefit, but lower premiums. 
_____ Fewer benefits and lower premiums. 
_____ Other. (please specify) 
_______________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________ 
_______________________________________________________ 
 
1. Health conditions which you may presently have (preexisting conditions) may not be immediately or fully covered under the new 

policy. This could result in denial or delay of a claim for benefits under the new policy, whereas a similar claim might have been 
payable under your present policy. 

 
2. State law provides that your replacement policy or certificate may not contain new preexisting conditions, waiting periods, 

elimination periods or probationary periods. The insurer will waive any time periods applicable to preexisting conditions, waiting 
periods, elimination periods, or probationary periods in the new policy (or coverage) to the extent such time was spent (depleted) 
under the original policy. 

 
3. If, you still wish to terminate your present policy and replace it with new coverage, be certain to truthfully and completely answer 

all questions on the application concerning your medical and health history. Failure to include all material medical information on 
an application may provide a basis for the company to deny any future claims and to refund your premium as though your policy 
had never been in force. After the application has been completed and before you sign it, review it carefully to be certain that all 
information has been properly recorded. [If the policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.] 

 
Do not cancel your present policy until you have received your new policy and are sure that you want to keep it. 
 
______________________________________________________ 
(Signature of Agent, Broker or Other Representative)* 
 
[Typed Name and Address of Issuer, Agent or Broker] 
 
______________________________________________________ 
(Applicant's Signature) 
 
______________________________________________________ 
(Date) 
 
*Signature not required for direct response sales. 
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G. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the replacement notice 
(applicable to preexisting conditions) may be deleted by an 
issuer if the replacement does not involve application of a 
new preexisting condition limitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1130 (June 1999). 
repromulgated LR 25:1510 (August 1999), LR 29:2474 (November 
2003). 
§566. Reserved. 
§567. Reserved. 
§568. Reserved. 
§569. Reserved. 
§570. Filing Requirements for Advertising 

A. An issuer shall provide a copy of any Medicare 
supplement advertisement intended for use in this state 
whether through written, radio or television medium to the 
commissioner of Insurance of this state for review and 
approval by the commissioner to the extent permitted under 
the Insurance Code, particularly under R.S. 22:1215. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:11512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 
(November 2003). 
§571. Reserved. 
§572. Reserved. 
§573. Reserved. 
§574. Reserved. 
§575. Standards for Marketing 

A. An issuer, directly or through its producers, shall: 
1. establish marketing procedures to assure that any 

comparison of policies by its agents or other producers will 
be fair and accurate; 

2. establish marketing procedures to assure excessive 
insurance is not sold or issued; 

3. display prominently by type, stamp or other 
appropriate means, on the first page of the policy the 
following: "Notice to buyer: This policy may not cover all of 
your medical expenses;" 

4. inquire and otherwise make every reasonable effort 
to identify whether a prospective applicant or enrollee for 
Medicare supplement insurance already has accident and 
sickness insurance and the types and amounts of any such 
insurance; 

5. establish auditable procedures for verifying 
compliance with this Subsection A. 

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in Louisiana 
Revised Statutes 22:1211 et seq. the following acts and 
practices are prohibited. 

1. Twisting. Making any misleading representation or 
incomplete or fraudulent comparison of any insurance 
policies or insurers for the purpose of inducing, or tending to 
induce, any person to lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate, 
retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or convert any insurance 
policy or to take out a policy of insurance with another 
insurer. 

2. High pressure tactics. Employing any method of 
marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the 
purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether 

explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or 
recommend the purchase of insurance. 

3. Cold lead advertising. Making use directly or 
indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to disclose 
in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of 
marketing is solicitation of insurance and that contact will be 
made by an insurance agent or insurance company. 

C. The terms Medicare Supplement, Medigap, Medicare 
Wrap-Around and words of similar import shall not be used 
unless the policy is issued in compliance with this 
regulation. 

D. No insurer providing Medicare supplement insurance 
in this state shall allow its agent to accept premiums except 
by check, money order, or bank draft made payable to the 
insurer. If payment in cash is made, the agent must leave the 
insurer's official receipt with the insured or the person 
paying the premium on behalf of the insured. This receipt 
shall bind the insurer for the monies received by the agent. 
Under this Section, the agent is prohibited from accepting 
checks, money orders and/or bank drafts payable to the 
agent or his agency. The agent is not to leave any receipt 
other than the insurer's for premium paid in cash. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 
2003). 
§576. Reserved. 
§577. Reserved. 
§578. Reserved. 
§579. Reserved. 
§580. Appropriateness of Recommended Purchase and 

Excessive Insurance 
A. In recommending the purchase or replacement of any 

Medicare supplement policy or certificate an agent shall 
make reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of 
a recommended purchase or replacement. 

B. Any sale of Medicare supplement coverage that will 
provide an individual more than one Medicare supplement 
policy or certificate is prohibited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 
2003). 
§581. Reserved. 
§582. Reserved. 
§583. Reserved. 
§584. Reserved. 
§585. Reporting of Multiple Policies 

A. On or before March 1 of each year, an issuer shall 
report the following information for every individual 
resident of this state for which the issuer has in force more 
than one Medicare supplement policy or certificate: 

1. policy and certificate number; and 
2. date of issuance. 

B. The items set forth above must be grouped by 
individual policyholder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2476 (November 
2003). 
§586. Reserved. 
§587. Reserved. 
§588. Reserved. 
§589. Reserved. 
§590. Prohibition Against Preexisting Conditions, 

Waiting Periods, Elimination Periods and 
Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or 
Certificates 

A. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate, 
the replacing issuer shall waive any time periods applicable 
to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination 
periods and probationary periods in the new Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate to the extent such time was 
spent under the original policy. 

B. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate 
which has been in effect for at least six months, the replacing 
policy shall not provide any time period applicable to 

preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods 
and probationary periods. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25.1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999), LR 29:2477 (November 
2003). 
§591. Reserved. 
§592. Reserved. 
§593. Reserved. 
§594. Reserved. 
§595. Separability 

A. If any provision of this regulation or the application 
thereof to any person or circumstance is for any reason held 
to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the 
application of such provision to other persons or 
circumstances shall not be affected thereby. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999), LR 29:2477 (November 
2003). 
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§596. Appendix A 
 

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM 
FOR CALENDAR YEAR __________________ 

 
Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 

LINE  (a) 
Earned Premium3 

(b) 
Incurred Claims4 

1. Current Year's Experience     
   a.  Total (all policy years)     
   b.  Current year's issues5     
   c.  Net (for reporting purposes = 1a-1b     
2. Past Year's Experience (all policy years)     
3. Total Experience 

(Net Current Year + Past Year) 
    

4. Refunds Last Year (Excluding Interest)   
5. Previous Since Inception (Excluding Interest)   
6. Refunds Since Inception (Excluding Interest)   
7. Benchmark Ratio Since Inception (wee worksheet for Ratio 1)   
8. Experienced Ratio Since Inception (Ratio 2) 

 Total Actual Incurred Claims (line 3, col.b) 
 Total Earned Prem. (line 3, col. a)-Refunds Since Inception 

(line 6) 

  

9. Life Years Exposed Since Inception 
If the Experienced Ratio is less than the Benchmark Ratio, and 
there are more than 500 life years exposure, then proceed to calculation of refund. 

  

10. Tolerance Permitted (obtained from credibility table)   

 
Medicare Supplement Credibility Table  

 
   Life Years Exposed 
        Since Inception     Tolerance 

10,000+ 0.0% 
5,000 – 9,999 5.0% 
2,500 – 4,999 7.5% 
1,000 – 2,499 10.0% 
500 - 999 15.0% 

       If less than 500, no credibility. 
 

1. Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2. "SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan – Use "P" for pre-standardized plans. 
3. Includes Modal Loadings and Fees Charged 
4. Excludes Active Life Reserves 
5. This is to be used as "Issue Year Earned Premium" for Year 1 of next year's "Worksheet for Calculation of Benchmark Ratio" 
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MEDICARE SUPPLMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM 
FOR CALENDAR YEAR 

 
Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 
11. Adjustment to Incurred Claims for Credibility 

Ratio 3 = Ratio 2 + Tolerance 
  

 
If Ratio 3 is more than Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1), a refund or credit to premium is not required. 
If Ratio 3 is less than the Benchmark Ratio, then proceed. 
 

12. Adjusted Incurred Claims 
(Total Earned Premiums (Line 3, col. a) - Refund Since Inception (line 6)] x Ratio 3 (line 11) 

 

13. Total Earned Premiums (line 3, col. a) - Refunds Inception (line 6) - [Adjusted Incurred Claims (line 12) / Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1)]  
 
If the amount on line 13 is less than .005 times the annualized premium in force as of December 31 of the reporting year, then no refund is 
made. Otherwise, the amount on line 13 is to be refunded or credited, and a description of the refund or credit against premiums to be used 
must be attached to this form. 
 
I certify that the above information and calculations are true and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 

____________________________________ 
Signature 
____________________________________ 
Name – Please Type 
____________________________________ 
Title 
_____________________________________ 
Date 
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REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF BENCHMARK 
RATIO SINCE INCEPTION FOR GROUP POLICIES  

FOR CALENDAR YEAR __________________ 
 

Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 

(a)3 (b)4 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5 
Year Earned 

Premium 
Factor (b)x(c) Cumulative  

Loss Ratio 
(d)x(e) Factor (b)x(g) Cumulative  

Loss Ratio 
(h)x(i) Policy Year 

Loss Ratio 
1   2.770   0.507   0.000   0.000   0.46 
2   4.175   0.567   0.000   0.000   0.63 
3   4.175   0.567   1.194   0.759   0.75 
4   4.175   0.567   2.245   0.771   0.77 
5   4.175   0.567   3.170   0.782   0.80 
6   4.175   0.567   3.998   0.792   0.82 
7   4.175   0.567   4.754   0.802   0.84 
8   4.175   0.567   5.445   0.811   0.87 
9   4.175   0.567   6.075   0.818   0.88 
10   4.175   0.567   6.650   0.824   0.88 
11   4.175   0.567   7.176   0.828   0.88 
12   4.175   0.567   7.655   0.831   0.88 
13   4.175   0.567   8.093   0.834   0.89 
14   4.175   0.567   8.493   0.837   0.89 
15   4.175   0.567   8.684   0.838   0.89 
Total:     (k):   (l):   (m):   (n):   

 
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (l + n)/(k + m): _______________________________ 

 
___________________________________________________ 
1Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for pre-standardized plans 
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 is 1989, 
etc.) 
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium earned during that year for policies issued in that year. 
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the cumulative 
loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for informational purposes only. 
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REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF BENCHMARK 
RATIO SINCE INCEPTION FOR INDIVIDUAL POLICIES  

FOR CALENDAR YEAR ________________ 
 
 

Type1 ___________________________________ SMSBP2 __________________________________ 
For the State of____________________________ Company Name_____________________________ 
NAIC Group Code_________________________ NAIC Company Code________________________ 
Address__________________________________ Person Completing Exhibit ____________________ 
Title_____________________________________ Telephone Number __________________________ 

 
 

(a)3 (b)4 (c) (d) (e) (f) (g) (h) (i) (j) (o)5 
Year Earned 

Premium 
Factor (b)x(c) Cumulative 

Loss Ratio  
(d)x(e) Factor (b)x(g) Cumulative 

Loss Ratio  
(h)x(i) Policy Year 

Loss Ratio  
1   2.770   0.442   0.000   0.000   0.40 
2   4.175   0.493   0.000   0.000   0.55 
3   4.175   0.493   1.194   0.659   0.65 
4   4.175   0.493   2.245   0.669   0.67 
5   4.175   0.493   3.170   0.678   0.69 
6   4.175   0.493   3.998   0.686   0.71 
7   4.175   0.493   4.754   0.695   0.73 

8   4.175   0.493   5.445   0.702   0.75 
9   4.175   0.493   6.075   0.708   0.76 
10   4.175   0.493   6.650   0.713   0.76 
11   4.175   0.493   7.176   0.717   0.76 
12   4.175   0.493   7.655   0.720   0.77 
13   4.175   0.493   8.093   0.723   0.77 
14   4.175   0.493   8.493   0.725   0.77 
15   4.175   0.493   8.684   0.725   0.77 
Total:    (k):   (l):   (m):   (n):   

 
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (l + n)/(k + m): _______________________________ 

 
1Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select Only. 
2"SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for pre-standardized plans 
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year - 2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 is 1989, 
etc.) 
4For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium earned during that year for policies issued in that year. 
5These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the cumulative 
loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for informational purposes only. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance 

with R.S. 22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department 

of Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 
(June 1999), repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 29:2478 (November 2003). 
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§597. Appendix B 
 

FORM FOR REPORTING 
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICIES  

 
Company Name: __________________________________ 
Address:  __________________________________ 
Phone Number:  __________________________________ 
 

Due: March 1, annually 
 

The purpose of this form is to report the following information on each resident of this state who has in force more than one Medicare 
supplement policy or certificate. The information is to be grouped by individual policyholder. 
 
 

Policy and  
Certificate # 

Date of  
Issuance 

   
    
    
    

 
__________________________________ 
Signature 
________________________________________ 
Name and Title (please type) 
________________________________________ 
Date 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999), repromulgated LR 
29:2482 (November 2003). 
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§598. Appendix C 
 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS 
 

Instructions for Use of the Disclosure Statements for 
Health Insurance Policies Sold to Medicare Beneficiaries 

that Duplicate Medicare  
 

1. Section 1882(d) of the federal Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395ss] prohibits the sale of a health insurance policy (the term policy 
includes certificates) to Medicare beneficiaries that duplicates Medicare benefits unless it will pay benefits without regard to a beneficiary's 
other health coverage and it includes the prescribed disclosure statement on or together with the application for the policy. 

 
2. All types of health insurance policies that duplicate Medicare shall include one of the attached disclosure statements, according to the 

particular policy type involved, on the application or together with the application. The disclosure statement may not vary from the attached 
statements in terms of language or format (type size, type proportional spacing, bold character, line spacing, and usage of boxes around 
text). 

 
3. State law and federal law prohibits insurers from selling a Medicare supplement policy to a person that already has a Medicare supplement 

policy except as a replacement policy. 
 
4. Property/casualty and life insurance policies are not considered health insurance. 
 
5. Disability income policies are not considered to provide benefits that duplicate Medicare. 
 
6. Long-term care insurance policies that coordinate with Medicare and other health insurance are not considered to provide benefits that 

duplicate Medicare. 
 
7. The federal law does not pre-empt state laws that are more stringent than the federal requirements. 
 
8. The federal law does not pre-empt existing state form filing requirements. 
 
9. Section 1882 of the federal Social Security Act was amended in Subsection (d)(3)(A) to allow for alternative disclosure statements. The 

disclosure statements already in Appendix C remain. Carriers may use either disclosure statement with the requisite insurance product. 
However, carriers should use either the original disclosure statements or the alternative disclosure statements and not use both 
simultaneously. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that result from accidental injury. It 
does not pay your M edicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 

 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 
 
?? hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated in the policy 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 
?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 

v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 

v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 
Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for specified limited services.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific services listed in the policy. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 

 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 
 

?? any of the services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare 
 

Medicare pays ext ensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 
?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that reimburse expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified impairments. 
This includes expense-incurred cancer, specified disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit reimbursement to 
named medical conditions.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only when you are treated for one of 
the specific diseases or health conditions listed in the policy. It  does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for 
Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 
 

?? hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated in the policy 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 
 

Before Yo u Buy This Insurance 
 

v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This 
includes cancer, specified disease, and other health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or specific payment based on 
diagnosis of the conditions named in the policy.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the specific diseases or health 
conditions named in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement 
insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits because Medicare generally pays for most of the expenses for the diagnosis and treatment of 
the specific conditions or diagnoses named in the policy. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 

v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for indemnity policies and other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding long-term care 
policies.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It does not pay your 
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 

 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 

 
?? any expenses or services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare 
 

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 

 
?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 

v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity basis] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed amount, regardless of 
your expenses, if you meet other policy conditions. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 
supplement insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when: 
 

?? any expenses or services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare; or 
?? it pays the fixed dollar amount stated in the policy and Medicare covers the same event.  

 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 

v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Original disclosure statement for other health insurance policies not specifically identified in the preceding statements.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS  

 
This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance 

 
This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance 
and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays: 
 

?? the benefits stated in the policy and coverage for the same event is provided by Medicare 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 
 
 

Before You Buy This Insurance 
 

v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review  the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses that result from accidental injury. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for specified limited services.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits under this policy. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for expenses relating to the specific services listed in the policy. It 
does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance . 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that reimburse expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This 
includes expense-incurred cancer, specified disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit reimbursement to named medical 
conditions.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. Medicare generally pays for 
most or all of these expenses. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions, for hospital or medical expenses only when you are treated for one of 
the specific diseases or health conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for 
Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This includes 
cancer, specified disease, and other health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or specific payment based on diagnosis of the 
conditions named in the policy.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you meet the policy conditions, for one of the specific diseases or health 
conditions named in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement 
insurance. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for indemnity policies and other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding long-term care 
policies.] 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 

THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your expenses, for each day you meet the policy conditions. It does not pay your 
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity basis] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed amount, regardless of 
your expenses, if you meet other policy conditions. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare 
supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 

v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
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[Alternative disclosure statement for other health insurance policies not specifically identified in the preceding statements.] 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE 
THIS IS NOT SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE 

 
Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the payment of benefits from this policy. 
 
This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance 
and is not a substitute for Medicare supplement insurance. 
 
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses. 
 
Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services regardless of the reason you need them. These include: 
 

?? hospitalization 
?? physician services 
?? hospice 
?? other approved items and services 

 
This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other 
insurance. 

 
Before You Buy This Insurance 

 
v Check the coverage in all health insurance policies you already have. 
v For more information about Medicare and Medicare supplement insurance, review the Guide to Health Insurance for People with 

Medicare, available from the insurance company. 
v For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program. 
 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999), LR 29:2483 (November 
2003). 
§599. Effective Date 

A. This regulation shall become effective upon final 
publication in the Louisiana Register. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1142 (June 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1522 (August 1999), amended LR 29:2497 
(November 2003). 

 
J. Robert Wooley 
Commissioner 

0311#015 
 

RULE 

Department of Labor 
Office of Workforce Development 

Customized Training? Fund 
(LAC 40:XVI.101, 103, 105, 109, and 113) 

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:905 et 
seq., that the Louisiana Department of Labor, pursuant to 
authority vested in the department by R.S. 23:1514 and in 

accordance with applicable provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, has amended Rules governing the workforce 
development training account, LAC 40:XVI.101, 103, 105, 
109, and 113 to provide for clarification of terms and 
establish requirements for the Small Business Employee 
Training Program. 

Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 
Part XVI.  Customized Training 

Chapter 1. Workforce Development Training Fund 
§101. Definitions 

* * * 
Applicant? the business requesting training assistance 

from LDOL under this program, including a registered joint 
labor and employer group-administered apprenticeship 
program under §103A.4. 

* * * 
Incumbent Worker? a worker who is currently on the 

payroll of the applicant. 
Individual Standardized Training? off-the-shelf training 

that is not customized to the needs of the individual 
applicant and that is currently offered by a training provider 
at the time the application is filed with LDOL; to be 
provided through the Small Business Employee Training 
Program and to be administered in accordance with §113. 

* * *  
Supplant? diversion of normal training funding for other 

uses simply because training funds are awarded under the 
Incumbent Worker Training Program. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2498

* * *  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1514. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 25:1142 (June 1999), 
amended LR 26:1629 (August 2000), LR 29:2497 (November 
2003). 
§103. Eligibility 

A. … 
1. an individual employer that seeks to provide 

customized training for his incumbent workers to prevent 
job loss caused by obsolete skills, technological change, or 
national or global competition; 

2. an individual employer that seeks to provide 
customized training for its incumbent workers to create, 
update, or retain jobs in a labor demand occupation; 

3. an individual employer that seeks to provide 
customized training for its incumbent workers to update or 
retain jobs in an occupation which is not a labor demand 
occupation, if the administrator determines that the services 
are necessary to prevent the likely loss of jobs; 

4. a labor or community-based organization that seeks 
to provide customized training for a labor demand 
occupation for workers who are incumbent to an industry, 
were attached to a contributing employer within the last 12 
months, and are not receiving unemployment insurance 
benefits at time of training; 

5. a consortium made up of one or more educational 
institutions and one or more eligible individual employers, 
labor, or community-based organizations that seeks to 
provide customized training for incumbent workers in labor 
demand occupations; 

6. a local economic development entity and one or 
more eligible individual employers that seek to provide 
customized training for incumbent workers in a labor 
demand occupation. 

B. Qualified businesses currently receiving training for 
their employees may, upon the expiration of contracts, apply 
for new training grants for training of new employees, 
previously untrained employees, or for additional training of 
previously trained employees. 

C. All applications by eligible applicants for customized 
training shall be submitted in conjunction with the entity 
selected by the applicant to provide the customized training. 
All disbursements of funds for the training shall be made to 
the entity actually providing the customized training. To be 
eligible, the training provider selected by the applicant must 
demonstrate a history of: 

1. - 3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

23:1514. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 25:1142 (June 1999), 
amended LR 29:2498 (November 2003). 
§105. Criteria 

A. … 
B. No single employer or consortium shall receive 

training funds more than once in a 24-month time period. No 
single employer or consortium shall receive more than 5 
percent of the total funds available to the program to the 
program during a fiscal year. An employer with multiple 
operations sites and a single unemployment insurance tax 
identification number shall be limited to a single application 

which may encompass training at the various sites, as long 
as the amount awarded under the application does not 
exceed the maximum award amount. When an employer has 
more than one site and each site maintains a different 
unemployment insurance tax identification number, the 
employer may apply for a separate training award under 
each tax identification number. 

C. Employers receiving awards must provide evidence 
satisfactory to LDOL of their long-range commitment to 
employee training and that funds shall be used to supplement 
and not supplant existing training efforts. 

D. Applicants must request training for at least 15 
employees and where applicable, the training provided must 
meet, at the minimum, the safety standards determined by 
OSHA. 

E. Special emphasis shall be placed on entry 
level/incumbent training programs. 

F. Preference will be given to employers that have: 
1. - 7. … 

G. Employers seeking a training award may not select as 
a training provider: 

1. - 2. … 
H. Nothing contained herein shall prohibit the selection 

of a training proprietary school or private institution as a 
training provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1514. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 
25:1143 (June 1999), amended LR 26:1629 (August 2000), LR 
28:2203 (October 2002), LR 29:2498 (November 2003). 
§109. Submission and Review Procedure 

A. Applicants must submit their completed application to 
LDOL. Submitted applications will be reviewed and 
evaluated by LDOL staff. All applications will be measured 
using a rating system as an evaluation tool that will enable 
LDOL staff to determine which applications should receive 
approval, be deferred to future funding cycles, or be denied 
outright. Input may be required from the applicant, other 
divisions of the Department of Labor, and other state 
agencies as needed, in order to: 

A.1. - B. … 
C.1. Upon determination that an application meets the 

eligibility criteria for this program and is deemed to be 
beneficial to the well-being of the state, LDOL staff will 
then make a recommendation to the secretary of the 
Department of Labor. The application will then be reviewed 
and approved by the following entities in the following 
order: 

a. the secretary of the Department of Labor; 
b. the governor. 

2. A copy of the application shall be sent to the 
executive director of the Louisiana Workforce Commission. 
No funds spent on the project prior to the secretary's 
approval will be considered eligible project costs. 

3. The secretary will issue a letter of commitment to 
the applicant within five working days of the application 
approval by the governor. 

4. If any application is rejected by any of the 
preceding entities, the application shall not be considered by 
the next succeeding entity unless first reconsidered and 
approved by the entity which initially rejected the 
application. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2499

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1514. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 25:1143  
(June 1999), amended LR 26:1630 (August 2000), LR 29:2498 
(November 2003). 
§113. Small Business Employee Training Program 

A. For purposes of this Part, small business is defined as 
a Louisiana based business that has 50 or less employees and 
is an eligible applicant as outlined in §103.A. The applicant 
will be reimbursed for the eligible costs associated with the 
training once the training has been completed and proper 
documentation has been submitted to LDOL. 

B. Applicant can not receive customized training and 
small business employee training concurrently. 

C. The applicant must submit the Small Business 
Employee Training Program application and receive LDOL 
approval, in writing, prior to the start of any training. 

D. Applicant must be current on all state UI tax 
obligations. 

E. Trainees must be incumbent workers for whom the 
applicant incurs a state unemployment tax liability under 
R.S. Title 23, Chapter 11. 

F. The request for training must be in a labor demand 
occupation as defined in the Workforce Investment Act of 
1998 (WIA) or cluster based industry as defined in Vi sion 
2020. 

G. Small business training can consist of the following: 
1. taking a class, either non-credit or credit in an audit 

capacity, at an educational institution under the policy or 
direct management authority of the Board of Regents; 

2. receiving tra ining from a manufacturer or their 
representative within one year of the purchase of equipment 
valued at more than $3,000 where the training is not 
otherwise incorporated into the purchase price of the 
equipment; 

3. receiving training from a manufacturer or their 
representative in order to upgrade computer skills; 

4. receiving training from a national, regional or state 
trade association, that offers an independently certified 
training curricula and testing, which can demonstrate a 
successful training history of at least five years. 

H. The proposed training provider under Paragraph G.1 
must be domiciled in Louisiana and contribute data to LOIS 
Scorecard as required by R.S. 23:75 which shows a 
demonstrated history of successful training in the particular 
instruction that will be given. 

I. Training costs shall not exceed $3,000 per trainee per 
fiscal year. 

J. Training costs can be any of the following: 
1. tuition; 
2. required textbooks and manuals. 

K. Training must be completed by the end of the state 
fiscal year (June 30) in which it was begun. 

L. Upon completion of the training, the employer must 
submit invoices for training expenditures along with proof of 
payment, proof of completion from the training provider, as 
well as proof of a pay increase or wages that were paid for 
the training hours attended, all within 30 days of the 
completion of the training. 

M. An application shall be deemed approved by LDOL 
upon written approval of the Secretary of Labor or their 
designee. A letter of approval shall be forwarded to the 

applicant within five working days of approval of the 
application. 

N. The Small Business Employee Training Program shall 
be funded at 2.3 percent of all funds available for training. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1514. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Labor, Office of Workforce Development, LR 
29:2499 (November 2003). 

 
Dawn Watson 
Secretary 

0311#100 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Fees (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 7) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Office of Conservation hereby amends 
the established fees. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES  

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation? General Operations 
Subpart 2.  Statewide Order No. 29-R 

Chapter 7. Fees 
§701. Definitions 

Application Fee? an amount payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, by industries under the jurisdiction 
of the Office of Conservation.  

Application for Automatic Custody Transfer? an 
application for authority to measure and transfer custody of 
liquid hydrocarbons by the use of methods other than 
customary gauge tanks, as authorized by Statewide Order 
No. 29-G-1 (LAC 43:XIX.2301 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well? an 
application to construct and/or operate a commercial Class I 
injection well, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 
(LAC 43:XVII.101 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)? an application to construct and/or 
operate additional Class I injection wells within the same 
filing, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 (LAC 
43:XVII.101 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 (LAC 
43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well? an 
application to construct and/or operate a commercial Class II 
injection well, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)? an application to construct and/or 
operate additional commercial Class II injection wells within 
the same filing, as authorized by Statewide Order 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 
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Application for Multiple Completion? an application to 
multiply complete a new or existing well in separate 
common sources of supply, as authorized by Statewide 
Order No. 29-C-4 (LAC 43:XIX.1301 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Noncommercial Injection Well? an 
application to construct and/or operate a Class I, II or III 
noncommercial injection well, as authorized by Statewide 
Order Nos. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), 29-M (LAC 
43:XVII.301 et seq.), 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.101 et seq.), 
29-N-2 (LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), 29-M-2 (LAC 
43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Permit to Drill (Minerals)? an application 
to drill in search of minerals, as authorized by R.S. 30:28. 

Application for Public Hearing? an application for a 
public hearing as authorized by R.S. 30:1, et seq. 

Application for Substitute Unit Well? an application for a 
substitute unit well as authorized by Statewide Order No.  
29-K-1 (LAC 43:XIX.2901 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Development Operations 
Permit? an application to remove coal, lignite, or 
overburden for the purpose of determining coal or lignite 
quality or quantity or coal or lignite mining feasibility, as 
authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-O-1 (LAC 43:XV.101 
et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Exploration Permit? an 
application to drill test holes or core holes for the purpose of 
determining the location, quantity, or quality of a coal or 
lignite deposit, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-O-1 
(LAC 43:XV.101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Permit? an application for 
a permit to conduct surface coal or lignite mining and 
reclamation operations, as authorized by Statewide Order 
No. 29-O-1 (LAC 43:XV.101 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Unit Termination? an application for unit 
termination as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-L-2 
(LAC 43:XIX.3100 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application to Amend Permit to Drill (Injection or 
Other)? an application to alter, amend, or change a permit to 
drill, construct and/or operate an injection, or other well after 
its initial issuance, as authorized by R.S. 30:28. 

Application to Amend Permit to Drill (Minerals)? an 
application to alter, amend, or change a permit to drill for 
minerals after its initial issuance, as authorized by R.S. 
30:28.* 

*Application to Amend Operator (transfer of ownership) for 
any multiply completed well which has reverted to a single 
completion, any non-producing well which is plugged and 
abandoned within the time frame directed by the 
Commissioner, as well as any stripper crude oil well or 
incapable gas well so certified by the Department of Revenue 
shall not be subject to the application fee provided herein. 

Application to Commingle? an application for authority to 
commingle production of gas and/or liquid hydrocarbons 
and to use methods other than gauge tanks for allocation, as 
authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-D-1 (LAC 
43:XIX.1500 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application to Process Form R-4? application for 
authorization to transport oil from a lease as authorized by 
Statewide Order No. 25 (LAC 43:XIX.900 et seq.), or 
successor regulations. 

BOE? annual barrels oil equivalent. Gas production is 
converted to BOE by dividing annual mcf by a factor of 7.5. 

Capable Gas? natural and casing head gas not classified 
as incapable gas well gas or incapable oil well gas by the 
Department of Revenue. 

Capable Oil? crude oil and condensate not classified as 
incapable oil or stripper oil by the Department of Revenue. 

Class I Well? a Class I injection well used to inject 
hazardous or nonhazardous, industrial, or municipal wastes 
into the subsurface, which falls within the regulatory 
purview of Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.101 
et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 (LAC 43:XVII.201 et 
seq.), or successor regulations. 

Class I Well Fee? an annual fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, on Class I wells in an amount not to 
exceed $400,000 for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 and thereafter. 

Class II Well? a Class II injection well which injects fluids 
which are brought to the surface in connection with 
conventional oil or natural gas production, for annular 
disposal wells, for enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas, 
and for storage of hydrocarbons. For purposes of 
administering the exemption provided in R.S. 
30:21(B)(1)(c), such exemption is limited to operators who 
operate Class II wells serving a stripper oil well or an 
incapable gas well certified pursuant to R.S. 47:633 by the 
Severance Tax Section of the Department of Revenue and 
located in the same field as such Class II well. 

Class III Well? a Class III injection well which injects for 
extraction of minerals or energy. 

Emergency Clearance? emergency authorization to 
transport oil from lease. 

Production Fee? an annual fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, by oil and gas operators on capable 
oil wells and capable gas wells based on a tiered system to 
establish parity on a dollar amo unt between the wells. The 
tiered system shall be established annually by Rule on 
capable oil and capable gas production, including 
nonexempt wells reporting zero production during the 
annual base period, in an amount not to exceed $2,450,000 
for Fiscal Ye ar 2002 - 2003 and thereafter.  

Production Well? any well which has been permitted by 
and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Office of 
Conservation, excluding wells in the permitted and drilling 
in progress status, Class II injection wells, liquid storage 
cavity wells, commercial salt water disposal wells, Class V 
injection wells, wells which have been plugged and 
abandoned, wells which have reverted to landowner for use 
as a fresh water well (Statewide Order No. 29-B, LAC 
43:XIX.137.G, or successor regulations), multiply completed 
wells reverted to a single completion, and stripper oil wells 
or incapable oil wells or incapable gas wells certified by the 
Severance Tax Section of the Department of Revenue. 

Regulatory Fee? an amount payable annually to the Office 
of Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, on Class II wells, Class III wells, 
storage wells, Type A facilities, and Type B facilities in an 
amount not to exceed $875,000 for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 
and thereafter. No fee shall be imposed on a Class II well of 
an operator who is also an operator of a stripper crude oil 
well or incapable gas well certified pursuant to R.S. 47:633 
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by the Severance Tax Section of the Department of Revenue 
and located in the same field as such Class II well. Operators 
of Record, excluding operators of wells and including, but 
not limited to, operators of gasoline/cycling plants, 
refineries, oil/gas transporters, and/or certain other activities 
subject to the jurisdiction of the Office of Conservation are 
required to pay an annual registration fee of $105. Such 
payment is due within the time frame prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation.  

Type A Facility? commercial E&P waste disposal facilities 
within the state that utilize technologies appropriate for the 
receipt, treatment, storage, or disposal of oilfield waste 
solids and liquids for a fee or other consideration, and fall 
within the regulatory purview of Statewide Order No. 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.501 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or successor regulations.  

Type B Facility? commercial E&P waste disposal facilities 
within the state that utilize underground injection technology 
for the receipt, treatment, storage, or disposal of only 
produced saltwater, oilfield brine, or other oilfield waste 
liquids for a fee or other consideration, and fall within the 
regulatory purview of Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.501 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:542 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:551 (July 1989), LR 21:1249 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2127 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1873 (October 1999), LR 26:2302 (October 2000), LR 
27:1919 (November 2001), LR 28:2366 (November 2002), LR 
29:2499 (November 2003). 
§703. Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2003-2004 

A. Fee Schedule 
 

Application Fees Amount 
Application for Unit Termination $    252 
Application for Substitute Unit Well $    252 
Application for Public Hearing $    755 
Application for Multiple Completion $    126 
Application to Commingle $    252 
Application for Automatic Custody Transfer $    252 
Application for Noncommercial Injection Well $    252 
Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well $ 1,264 
Application for Commercial Class I injection Well 
(Additional Wells)  

$    631 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well $    631 
Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)  

$    314 

Application for Permit to Drill - Minerals: 0' - 3,000' $    126 
Application for Permit to Drill - Minerals: 3,001' - 10,000' $    631 
Application for Permit to Drill - Minerals: 10,001' + $ 1,264 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 3,000') $    504 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 10,000') $    632 
Application to Amend Permit to Drill - Minerals $    126 
Application to Amend Permit to Drill - Injection or Other $    126 
Application for Surface Mining Exploration Permit  $      65 
Application for Surface Mining Development Operations 
Permit  

$      94 

Application for Surface Mining Permit  $ 2,212 
Application to Process Form R-4 $      36 
Application to Reinstate Suspended Form R-4 $      65 
Application for Emergency Clearance Form R-4 $      65 

 

B. Regulatory Fees 
1. Operators of each permitted Type A Facility are 

required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of $6,426 per 
facility.  

2. Operators of each permitted Type B Facility are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of $3,213 per 
facility. 

3. Operators of record of permitted non-commercial 
Class II injection/disposal wells are required to pay $654 per 
well.  

4. Operators of record of permitted Class III and 
Storage wells are required to pay $654 per well. 

C. Class I Well Fees. Operators of permitted Class I 
wells are required to pay $9,876 per well. 

D. Production Fees. Operators of record of capable oil 
wells and capable gas wells are required to pay according to 
the following annual production fee tiers. 

 

Tier Annual Production  
(Barrel Oil Equivalent) 

Fee 
($ per Well) 

Tier 1 0 16 
Tier 2       1-5,000 84 
Tier 3  5,001-15,000 237 
Tier 4 15,001-30,000 397 
Tier 5 30,001-60,000 634 
Tier 6  60,001-110,000 873 
Tier 7   110,001-9,999,999 1,070 

 
E. Exceptions 

1. Operators of record of each Class I 
injection/disposal well and each Type A and B commercial 
facility that is permitted, but has not yet been constructed, 
are required to pay an annual fee of 50 percent of the 
applicable fee for each well or facility. 

2. Operators of record of each inactive Type A and B 
facility which have voluntarily ceased the receipt and 
disposal of E&P waste and are actively implementing an 
Office of Conservation approved closure plan are required to 
pay an annual Regulatory Fee of 50 percent of the annual fee 
for each applicable Type A or B facility. 

3. Operators of record of each inactive Type A or B 
facility which have voluntarily ceased the receipt and 
disposal of E&P waste, have completed Office of 
Conservation approved closure activities and are conducting 
a post-closure maintenance and monitoring program, are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of 25 percent of 
the annual fee for each applicable Type A or B facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:543 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1250 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October 2000), LR 
27:1920 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:350 (March 2003), LR 29:2501 (November 2003). 
§705. Failure to Comply 

A. Operators of operations and activities defined in §701 
are required to timely comply with this order. Failure to 
comply by the due date of any required fee payment will 
subject the operator to civil penalties provided in Title 30 of
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the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, including but not 
limited to R.S. 30:18. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October 2000), LR 
27:1921 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:2501 (November 2003). 
§707. Severability and Effective Date 

A. The fees set forth in §703 are hereby adopted as 
individual and independent rules comprising this body of 
Rules designated as Statewide Order No. 29-R-03/04 and if 
any such individual fee is held to be unacceptable, pursuant 
to R.S. 49:968(H)(2), or held to be invalid by a court of law, 
then such unacceptability or invalidity shall not affect the 
other provisions of this order which can be given effect 
without the unacceptable or invalid provisions, and to that 
end the provisions of this order are severable. 

B. This Order (Statewide Order No. 29-R-03/04) 
supercedes Statewide Order No. 29-R-02/03 and any 
amendments thereof.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2305 (October 2000), LR 
27:1921 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:2502 (November 2003). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

0311#051 
 
RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Crime Victims Services Bureau (LAC 22:I.Chapter 23) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., hereby amends LAC 
22:I.Chapter 23, Crime Victims Services Bureau. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 23. Crime Victims Services Bureau 
§2301. Purpose 

A. To establish the primary functions of the Crime 
Victims Services Bureau, a public service implemented 
through the Secretary's Office, which enables victims of 
crime and others directly affected by that crime to register 
for notification of key events specified in law and policy, 
facilitates general access to information helpful to crime 
victims, and supports development of programming 
responsive to the needs and wishes of crime victims and 
others injured by the criminal acts of persons under the 
state's authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:409 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2502 (November 2003). 
§2303. Applicability 

A. Deputy Secretary, Undersecretary, Assistant 
Secretaries, all Wardens, Director/Probation and 
Parole? Adult, Director/Probation and Parole? Juvenile, 
Board of Parole, and Board of Pardons. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:409 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2502 (November 2003). 
§2305. Definitions 

Designated Family Member? a family member or a legal 
guardian of a minor victim, a homicide victim, or a person 
who is disabled, such designation usually made by local 
authorities. 

Inmate? in this context, anyone committed to the custody 
of the department whether as an adult or a juvenile. 

Other Designated Persons? persons not included above 
who wish to register because of a relationship or other 
circumstances involving the inmate, e.g., estranged or ex-
spouse, previously battered companion, concerned neighbor, 
arresting officer, prosecuting district attorney. 

Victim? a person against whom a felony offense or a 
felony-grade delinquent offense has been committed. 

Victim Notice and Registration Form? a form promulgated 
by the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement (LCLE) 
and provided by a judicial or law enforcement agency, or a 
form available from the department (attached), on which a 
person may indicate a request to be afforded the rights 
prescribed in law and/or policy for victims, witnesses, and 
other designated persons. In the context of this regulation, 
the term also includes letters requesting notification about an 
inmate's movement through the system and can include 
victim requests made by telephone or identified in 
presentence, preparole, or other investigative reports in the 
department's possession. 

Victim's Family? spouse, parent, child, stepchild, sibling, 
or legal representative of the victim, except when that person 
is in custody for an offense or is the defendant. 

Witness? a person who has relevant information about a 
crime that was committed and who, consequently, could be 
or has been called as a witness for the prosecution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:409 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2502 (November 2003). 
§2307. Policy 

A. For many years correctional systems focused 
primarily on the custody, care, and control of the sentenced 
adults and adjudicated juveniles placed under its authority. 
During the 1990s, victim advocacy groups came forward to 
remind justice system officials that crime does not injure 
only or even primarily the state. Crime injures individual 
human beings. So, to be truly effective, the justice system 
must include the fact that a crime has hurt someone and then 
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must develop appropriate ways to respond to and mitigate 
that injury. This is our challenge. It is the secretary's policy 
to ensure compliance with all laws governing the rights of 
victims and witnesses and, through operations of the Crime 
Victims Services Bureau, to facilitate access to those rights 
and encourage programming throughout the agency to 
enhance responsiveness to victims by staff and inmates. This 
policy will be supported by staff education and will include 
new programming in the areas of victim impact classes for 
inmates and victim-initiated victim-offender dialogue. To 
achieve these ends the department will collaborate with 
other justice system agencies, victim advocacy groups, and 
other community-based organizations, and will incorporate 
responsiveness to the victim's role into CORe (Corrections 
Organized for Re-entry), the department's offender re-entry 
initiative. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:410 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2502 (November 2003). 
§2309. General Procedures 

A. The department will maintain a toll-free telephone 
line to the Crime Victims Services Bureau. The bureau will 
help callers register for notification and find answers to 
questions, and will refer callers to other units within the 
agency, the Board of Parole, the Board of Pardons, the 
prosecuting district attorney, and/or other crime victim 
programs and agencies. 

B. When a victim notice and registration form is 
received in any unit of the department, staff will respond 
timely and in a manner consistent with the requirements of 
this and other department regulations governing release of 
information and victims ? and witnesses' rights. However, the 
filing of a victim notice and registration form by an 
incarcerated adult or a juvenile in secure care shall not 
enable that individual to receive information about another 
individual incarcerated or in secure care under the 
department's authority. 

C. As provided by law, a victim or a designated family 
member may use the victim notice and registration form 
promulgated by LCLE to indicate their wish to review and 
comment on information in the postsentence report relating 
to the crime against the victim. The Division of Probation 
and Parole? Adult will oversee access to this information. 

D. Additional assistance is available to employees who 
are victimized while on duty or on personal time, as 
described in Department Regulation No. A-02-024 "Critical 
Incident Stress Management Program." 

E. Persons receiving unsolicited communications by 
telephone or mail from inmates in state custody may contact 
the Crime Victims Services Bureau for assistance in having 
the contacts stopped. The bureau will work with the 
appropriate warden to see that reasonable and necessary 
steps are taken to address the situation. This may involve 
disciplinary action, including loss of good time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:410 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2503 (November 2003). 

§2311. Confidentiality 
A. Both the information contained in a victim notice and 

registration form and the fact that a notification request has 
been made are confidential. Pursuant to provisions of R.S. 
15:574.12, staff may answer inquiries from judicial and law 
enforcement agencies. Any other inquiries from outside the 
department about who is registered or whether a particular 
inmate has a registered victim should be referred to the 
Crime Victims Services Bureau. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:410 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2503 (November 2003). 
§2313. Restitution 

A. When restitution is required as a condition of 
probation, parole, or work release, such cash or service shall 
be monitored and/or collected by the Division of Probation 
and Parole? Adult or Juvenile, as appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:410 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2503 (November 2003). 
§2315. Parole and Pardon Hearings and Related 

Matters 
A. The Board of Parole and the Board of Pardons will 

comply with all laws regarding written notification prior to 
scheduled hearings, including the requirement that notice be 
given to all persons who file a victim notice and registration 
form and to the appropriate district attorney. Notifications 
regarding pending hearings shall be made through action of 
the Division of Probation and Parole? Adult or directly, as 
appropriate. 

B. As provided in law, when a hearing is scheduled by 
either board, the victim or victim's family shall be allowed to 
make written and oral statements concerning the impact of 
the crime and to rebut statements or evidence introduced by 
the inmate. The victim or victim's family, a representative of 
a victim advocacy group, and the district attorney or his 
representative may appear before the boards in person or by 
telephone from the district attorney's office. 

C. As provided in law, the Pardon Board will notify the 
Crime Victims Services Bureau before hearing an applicant. 

D. Wherever Parole Board or Pardon Board hearings are 
held, all reasonable steps will be taken to see that victims 
and their family members and inmates and their family 
members do not have direct contact before or after the 
hearing. This practice should, where possible, begin at the 
entrance to the hearing site and include provision of a 
separate waiting area and access to separate restroom 
facilities. Hearing sites are also encouraged to provide 
victim access to a staff person who can explain the hearing 
process and answer other questions. 

NOTE: Parole Board and Pardon Board procedures provide 
detailed information about each board's policies and practices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:410 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2503 (November 2003). 
§2317. Notifications Regarding Adult Inmates 

A. When a victim notice and registration form is 
received at an institution, it shall become part of the inmate's 
permanent record, and the notes section of the stamp format 
shall be marked to indicate the existence of a notification 
request. 

B. The Crime Victims Services Bureau will acknowledge 
receipt of each victim notice and registration form with a 
letter that includes the possible release dates of the inmate 
named on the form. 

C. When the department receives a victim notice and 
registration form regarding an inmate sentenced on or after 
August 15, 1997, the department must provide the inmate's 
projected release dates to the victim and the sentencing court 
within 90 days of the inmate's commitment date. If those 
dates are not available when the bureau receives the 
registration form, the bureau will flag appropriate inmate 
records staff about the response deadline and will send 
projected release dates as soon as they are available. 

D. If a mistaken calculation is discovered after projected 
release dates have been sent to a victim, the unit that makes 
the correction will send a letter providing corrected release 
dates to all registered victims. This provision does not 
include changes to an inmate's diminution of sentence date 
resulting from earning or losing good time credits. However, 
if educational good time is credited after letters have been 
sent to inform registered victims of an inmate's imminent 
release, a second letter should be sent to inform them of the 
new, closer release date. The second letter need not be 
certified. 

E. In the event an inmate named on a victim notice and 
registration form makes a court appearance that 
subsequently affects sentence length or is approved for 
furlough, placed on a Risk Review Panel docket, transferred 
to work release, or released from prison, persons who have 
filed a victim notice and registration form shall be notified 
by mail. Release from prison includes parole, diminution of 
sentence to parole supervision, diminution of sentence, full 
term, court ordered release (which includes release to 
another jurisdiction, including parish jail), and death while 
incarcerated. These notifications, except in the case of Risk 
Review consideration and transfer to work release, shall be 
made by certified ma il. 

1. Notice of transfer to work release should be mailed 
on the day of the inmate's approval or transfer. If the inmate 
is a sex offender, law requires notice 10 days prior to 
transfer. 

2. Notice of furlough and scheduled release from 
prison should be mailed in time to allow persons requesting 
notice to receive the notice before the inmate is furloughed 
or released to supervision. If the inmate is a sex offender, 
law requires notice 10 days prior to furlough or release. 

3. Notice involving an inmate due for immediate 
release should be by telephone, followed by a letter 
confirming release. 

F. In the event that an inmate named on a victim notice 
and registration form escapes from institutional custody, 
registered persons shall be notified immediately at the most 
current address or phone number on file by the most 
reasonable and expedient means possible. When the inmate 

is recaptured, written notice shall be sent within 48 hours of 
regaining custody. (Notifications required by Department 
Regulation No. C-02-001 "Reporting and Documenting 
Escapes, Absconding and AWOLs" also apply.) 

G. Responsibility for notifications included in 
Subsections D-F above shall be as follows. 

1. The warden of the state-owned institution where the 
inmate is assigned. 

2. The warden of Elayn Hunt Correctional Center, 
David Wade Correctional Center, or Louisiana Correctional 
Institute for Women, as appropriate, if the inmate is assigned 
to the State Police Barracks, a local jail facility, a 
correctional institution in another jurisdiction, or a non-
secure adult contract work release program. 

3. The Assistant Secretary/Adult or his designee if the 
inmate is in a local jail facility and is transferred to a  
non-contract (sheriff's) work release program. 

4. The Risk Review Panel chairman or his designee, if 
an inmate is placed on a Risk Review docket. 

H. When an institution receives an inmate whose file 
already contains a victim notice and registration form, the 
institution is encouraged to send an acknowledgment letter 
to all registered victims in the file. 

I. In the event that an inmate is recommended for a 
regular or medical furlough, medical parole, or work release, 
the Warden shall determine whether there is a victim notice 
and registration form on file and shall so note when 
submitting a recommendation to the secretary. The warden 
should indicate the city or town of residence of any 
registered victim. 

J. If an inmate named in a victim notice and registration 
form was sentenced for a sex offense, the provisions of 
Department Regulation No. B-08-009 "Sex Offender 
Notification and Registration Requirements" also apply. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:411 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2504 (November 2003). 
§2319. CAJUN II Procedures? Adult Inmates 

A. Any addition of or modification to a victim record in 
CAJUN must be supported by written documentation filed 
with the Crime Victims Services Bureau and included in the 
inmate's institutional record or, if the inmate is under 
supervision when a new form or a revision is received, in the 
inmate's master record in the supervising district. 

B. The unit or office that receives an initial victim notice 
and registration form or a revision shall be responsible for 
entering the victim information in CAJUN and sending a 
copy of the form to the Crime Victims Services Bureau. 
Forms received first by the Crime Victims Services Bureau 
or directed there from the Parole Board will be entered by 
the bureau and copied to the appropriate units. 

C. Any victim notice and registration form, promulgated 
by LCLE and received by the bureau, will also be copied by 
the bureau to the probation and parole district serving the 
court in which the inmate was sentenced. 

D. If a person who has previously filed a victim notice 
and registration form withdraws his request, he must do so in 
writing, after which his individual victim record in CAJUN 
will be modified so that CAJUN will not generate 
notification letters. 
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E. When a victim notice and registration form is on 
record, the following applies. 

1. The request will remain active until the inmate's 
CAJUN file is inactivated. When the file is inactivated, 
CAJUN will automatically code existing victims "I" 
(inactive). The inactive flag will prevent CAJUN from 
generating letters to those victims. If the inmate is sentenced 
to additional time before his file is inactivated, registered 
victims will remain active on the record. 

2. If an inmate is released before his full term date and 
subsequently returned to institutional custody, the victim 
will not be notified of the return but will be notified of 
subsequent actions as provided in §2317 of this regulation. 

NOTE:  A "Y" in the CVNR field on the master inquiry screen 
does not necessarily mean that there is a victim who must be 
notified. It indicates only that a victim has been entered on the 
CAJUN victim screen. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:411 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2504 (November 10, 2003). 
§2321. Rights of Victim's Family When an Inmate's 

Sentence is Death 
A. At least 10 days prior to an execution, the secretary 

shall give written notice or verbal notice (followed by 
written notice placed in the United States mail within five 
days thereafter) of the time, date, and place of the execution 
to the victim's parents or guardian, spouse, and any adult 
children who have indicated they desire notice. A minimum 
of two representatives of the victim's family shall have the 
right to be present. 

B. A complete explanation of the department's 
responsibilities in instances where an inmate has been 
sentenced to death appears in Department Regulation No.  
C-03-001 "Death Penalty."?

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:412 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2505 (November 2003). 
§2323. Processing of Requests for Notification 

Regarding Juveniles 
A. Victim notification laws apply only when a juvenile is 

placed in secure care. 
B. A request for notice involving an inmate adjudicated 

as a juvenile must be filed using a victim notice and 
registration form promulgated by LCLE, in compliance with 
Ch. C. Art. 811.1 and R.S. 46:1842(8) and 1844(N)(2). 

C. When the Crime Victims Services Bureau receives a 
victim notice and registration form regarding a juvenile, the 
bureau will retain a copy and forward the original to the 
Office of Youth Development (OYD). OYD will verify the 
offender information in the juvenile database tracking 
system (JIRMS), enter the victim request in JIRMS, and 
forward the request to the juvenile institution where the 
inmate is housed. 

D. When an institution receives a victim request 
involving a juvenile, staff will file it in the inmate's case file 
and track the case according to regulation and policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:412 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2505 (November 2003). 
§2325. Notifications Concerning Juvenile Inmates in 

Secure Care 
A. In the event of an escape, the assigned institution shall 

notify the registered victim immediately by the most 
reasonable and expedient means possible. 

B. In the event of recapture, the Juvenile Reception and 
Diagnostic Center at Jetson Correctional Center for Youth 
(JCCY) shall notify the registered victim within 48 hours of 
the youth's return to custody. 

C. In the event of parole, transfer to a non-secure 
program, or discharge, the assigned institution shall notify 
the registered victim by certified mail. 

D. If a juvenile with a registered victim is released 
directly to adult custody because of a crime committed as an 
adult, the juvenile institution shall inform the receiving adult 
unit of the victim notification request on file. 

E. The Warden of the institution where the inmate is 
assigned is responsible for required notifications, except in 
the case of recapture, when the Warden of JCCY is 
responsible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated by the Secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections in accordance with 
R.S. 36, Chapter 9. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 27:412 
(March 2001), amended LR 29:2505 (November 2003). 

 
Richard L. Stalder 
Secretary 

0311#047 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
GamingControl Board 

Code of Conduct of Licensees, Permittees, Casino Operator, 
and Casino Manager; Methods to Prevent Minors from 

Gaming Area; Licensees and Permittees; Age Restrictions 
for the Casino; Surveillance Personnel Employment 

Provisions; Approval of New Electronic Gaming  
Devices; Enforcement Actions of the Board 

(LAC 42:VII.2901, 2915 and 4209; IX.2901, 2935,  
4103 and 4209; XIII.2901, 2915, 3304 and 4209) 

The Louisiana Gaming Control Board amends LAC 
42:VII.2901, 2915, 4209, IX.2901, 2935, 4103, 4209, 
XIII.2901, 2915, 4209 and repeals LAC 42:XIII.3304.B in 
accordance with R.S. 27:15 and 24, and the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part VII.  Pari-Mutuel Live Racing Facility Slot Machine 
Gaming 

Chapter 29. Operating Standards  
§2901. Code of Conduct of Licensees and Permittees 

A. - B.3.  … 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 11   November 20, 2003 2506

4. Any person required to be found suitable or 
approved in connection with the granting of any license or 
permit shall have a continuing duty to notify the division of 
his/her/its arrest, summons, citation or charge for any 
criminal offense or violation including D.W.I.; however, 
minor traffic violations need not be included. All licensees 
and permittees shall have a continuing duty to notify the 
division of any fact, event, occurrence, matter or action that 
may affect the conduct of gaming or the business and 
financial arrangements incidental thereto or the ability to 
conduct the activities for which the licensee or permittee is 
licensed or permitted. Such notification shall be made within 
fifteen calendar days of the arrest, summons, citation, 
charge, fact, event, occurrence, matter or action. 

B.5. - C.1.j. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:763 
(April 2000), amended LR 27:58 (January 2001), LR 29:2505 
(November 2003). 
§2915. Age Restrictions for the Casino; Methods to 

Prevent Minors from Gaming Area 
A. No persons under the age of 21 shall: 

1. play or be allowed to play any game or gaming 
device in the designated gaming area; 

2. loiter or be permitted to loiter in or about any room, 
premises, or designated area where any game or gaming 
device is located; 

3. be employed as a gaming employee. 
B. The Type A licensee must implement methods to 

prevent minors from entering the designated gaming area of 
the eligible facility. Such methods shall be part of the 
licensee's system of internal controls and shall include, but 
shall not be limited to the following: 

1. posting signs at all entrances to the gaming area 
notifying patrons that persons under 21 years of age are not 
permitted to loiter in or about the gaming area. The signs 
shall be displayed in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese; 

2. posting signs or other approved means displaying 
the date of birth of a person who is 21 years old that date. 

C. Type A licensees shall each quarter report and remit to 
the division all winnings withheld from customers who are 
determined to be under the age of 21. 

D. The Type A license of any person issued pursuant to 
the provisions of the act, who is found by the board to have 
intentionally allowed a person under the age of 21 to play or 
operate a slot machine, shall be revoked. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:764 
(April 2000), amended LR 29:2506 (November 2003). 
Chapter 42. Racetracks: Electronic Gaming Devices 
§4209. Approval of New Electronic Gaming Devices 

A. - A.2.k.x.  … 
l. Accounting Meters 

 i. - iii.  … 
 iv. The required electronic meters are as follows. 

(a). … 
(b). The coin-out meter shall cumulatively count 

the number of coins or credits that are paid as a result of a 
win, or credits that are won, or both. 

 iv.(c). - v.  … 
 vi. EGDs shall have meters which continuously 
display the following information relating to the current play 
or monetary transaction: 

(a). - (b).  … 
(c). the number of coins or credits paid for a 

credit cash out or a direct pay from a winning outcome; 
l.vi.(d). - n.  … 
o. Hopper 

 i. If a hopper is utilized on an EGD it shall be 
designed to detect the following and force the EGD into a tilt 
condition if one of the following occurs: 

(a). jammed coins; 
(b). extra coins paid out; 
(c). hopper runaways; 
(d). hopper empty conditions. 

 ii. The EGD control program shall monitor the 
hopper mechanism, if utilized, for these error conditions in 
all game states in accordance with this LAC 42:XIII.Chapter 
42. 
 iii. All coins paid from the hopper mechanism, if 
utilized, shall be accounted for by the EGD including those 
paid as extra coins during hopper malfunction. 

o.iv. - kk.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:721 
(April 2000), amended LR 29:2506 (November 2003). 

Part IX.  Landbased Casino Gaming 
Subpart 1.  Economic Development and Gaming 

Corporation 
Chapter 29. Operating Standards Generally 
§2901. Code of Conduct of the Casino Operator, Casino 

Manager, Licensees and Permittees 
A. - A.3.  … 
B. Unsuitable Conduct 

1. - 3. … 
4. Any person required to be found suitable or 

approved in connection with the granting of the casino 
operating contract or any permit shall have a continuing duty 
to notify the division of his/her/its arrest, summons, citation 
or charge for any criminal offense or violation including 
D.W.I.; however, minor traffic violations need not be 
included. The casino operator, casino manger and any 
permittee shall have a continuing duty to notify the division 
of any fact, event, occurrence, matter or action that may 
affect the conduct of gaming or the business and financial 
arrangements incidental thereto or the ability to conduct the 
activities for which the casino operator, casino manager or 
permittee is approved or permitted. Such notification shall 
be made within 15 calendar days of the arrest, summons, 
citation, charge, fact, event, occurrence, matter or action. 

B.5. - D.4.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and R.S. 27:24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 25:1950 
(October 1999), amended LR 27:59 (January 2001), LR 29:2506 
(November 2003). 
§2935. Age Restrictions for the Casino; Methods to 

Prevent Minors from Gaming Area 
A. - A.4.  … 
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B. The casino operator shall draft and implement 
policies and procedures designed to satisfy the requirements 
of this Section, including policies and procedures pertaining 
to documentation relating to proof of age and the 
examination of such document by a responsible casino 
employee or employees of security service providers and to 
provide suitable security to enforce the policies and 
procedures. These methods shall be in writing and include, 
but shall not be limited to: 

1. posting signs at all entrances to the gaming area 
notifying patrons that persons under 21 years of age are not 
permitted to loiter in or about the gaming area. The signs 
shall be displayed in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese; 

2. posting signs or other approved means displaying 
the date of birth of a person who is 21 years old that date. 

C. The casino operator shall provide copies of all 
methods implemented in accordance with this Rule to the 
division and the board. The methods implemented by the 
casino operator are subject to the approval by the board. 

D. The casino operator shall each quarter report and 
remit to the division all winnings withheld from customers 
who are determined to be under the age of 21. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.27:15 and R.S. 27:24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 25:1954 
(October 1999), amended LR 29:2506 (November 2003). 
Chapter 41. Enforcement Actions 
§4103. Enforcement Actions of the Board 

A. - B. … 
C. Penalty Schedule 
 

Penalty Schedule 
Section 

Reference Description Base 
Fine 

Proscriptive Period 
(Months) 

* * * * * *  * * *  * * *  

2935 Age Restrictions for 
the Casino $10,000 12 

* * *  * * *  * * *  * * *  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.27:15 and R.S. 27:24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 25:1974 
(October 1999), amended LR 26:2307 (October 2000), LR 27:2255 
(December 2001), repromulgated LR 28:344 (February 2002), 
amended LR 28:1029 (May 2002), LR 29:2507 (November 2003). 
Chapter 42. Electronic Gaming Devices 
§4209. Approval of New Electronic Gaming Devices 

A. - A.2.k.x.  … 
l. Accounting Meters 

 i. - iii.  … 
 iv. The required electronic meters are as follows. 

(a). … 
(b).  The coin-out meter shall cumulatively count 

the number of coins or credits that are paid as a result of a 
win, or credits that are won, or both. 

(c) - (h).  … 
(i). EGDs shall have meters which continuously 

display the following information relating to the current play 
or monetary transaction: 
 (i). - (ii). … 
 (iii). the number of coins or credits paid for 
a credit cash out or a direct pay from a winning outcome; 

l.iv.(i).(iv). - n. … 
o. Hopper 

 i. If a hopper is utilized on an EGD it shall be 
designed to detect the following and force the EGD into a tilt 
condition if one of the following occurs: 

(a). jammed coins; 
(b). extra coins paid out; 
(c). hopper runaways; 
(d). hopper empty conditions. 

 ii. The EGD control program shall monitor the 
hopper mechanism, if utilized, for these error conditions in 
all game states in accordance with this LAC 42:XIII.Chapter 
42. 
 iii. All coins paid from the hopper mechanism, if 
utilized, shall be accounted for by the EGD including those 
paid as extra coins during hopper malfunction. 

o.iv. - 36.a.   … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:721 
(April 2000), amended LR 29:2507 (November 2003). 

Part XIII.  Riverboat Gaming 
Chapter 29. Operating Standards  
§2901. Code of Conduct of Licensees and Permittees 

A. - B.3.  … 
4. Any person required to be found suitable or 

approved in connection with the granting of any license or 
permit shall have a continuing duty to notify the division of 
his/her/its arrest, summons, citation or charge for any 
criminal offense or violation including D.W.I.; however, 
minor traffic violations need not be included. All licensees 
and permittees shall have a continuing duty to notify the 
division or any fact, event, occurrence, matter or action that 
may affect the conduct of gaming or the business and 
financial arrangements incidental thereto or the ability to 
conduct the activities for which the licensee or permittee is 
licensed or permitted. Such notification shall be made within 
15 calendar days of the arrest, summons, citation, charge, 
fact, event, occurrence, matter or action. 

B.5. - C.1.j. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 21:702 (July 1995), amended 
by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming 
Control Board, LR 27:60 (January 2001), LR 29:2507 (November 
2003). 
§2915. Age Restrictions for the Casino; Methods to 

Prevent Minors from Gaming Area 
A. No persons under the age of 21 shall: 

1. play or be allowed to play any game or gaming 
device in the designated gaming area; 

2. loiter or be permitted to loiter in or about any room, 
premises, or designated area where any game or gaming 
device is located; 

3. be employed as a gaming employee. 
B. Each licensee must implement methods to prevent 

minors from entering the designated gaming area of the 
eligible facility. Such methods shall be part of the licensee's 
system of internal controls and shall include, but shall not be 
limited to the following: 
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1. posting signs at all entrances to the gaming area 
notifying patrons that persons under 21 years of age are not 
permitted to loiter in or about the gaming area. The signs 
shall be displayed in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese; 

2. posting signs or other approved means displaying 
the date of birth of a person who is 21 years old that date. 

C. Each licensee shall each quarter report and remit to 
the division all winnings withheld from customers who are 
determined to be under the age of 21. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.4:501 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Riverboat 
Gaming Enforcement Division, LR 21:705 (July 1995), amended 
LR 29:2507 (November 2003). 
Chapter 33. Surveillance and Security 
§3304. Surveillance Personnel Employment Provisions 

A. … 
B. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 27:1559 
(September 2001), amended LR 29:2508 (November 2003). 
Chapter 42. Electronic Gaming Devices 
§4209. Approval of New Electronic Gaming Devices 

A. - 11.j.  … 
12. Accounting Meters 

a. - c. … 
d. The required electronic meters are as follows. 

 i. … 
 ii. The coin-out meter shall cumulatively count 
the number of coins or credits that are paid as a result of a 
win, or credits that are won, or both. 

d.iii. - e.   … 
f. EGDs shall have meters which continuously 

display the following information relating to the current play 
or monetary transaction: 
 i. - ii.   … 
 iii. the number of coins or credits paid for a credit 
cash out or a direct pay from a winning outcome; 

12.f.iv - 14. … 
15. Hopper 

a. If a hopper is utilized on an EGD it shall be 
designed to detect the following and force the EGD into a tilt 
condition if one of the following occurs: 
 i. jammed coins; 
 ii. extra coins paid out; 
 iii. hopper runaways; 
 iv. hopper empty conditions. 

b. The EGD control program shall monitor the 
hopper mechanism, if utilized, for these error conditions in 
all game states in accordance with this LAC 42:XIII.Chapter 
42. 

c. All coins paid from the hopper mechanism, if 
utilized, shall be accounted for by the EGD including those 
paid as extra coins during hopper malfunction. 

15.d. - 36.a.   … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

27:15 and 24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 26:721 
(April 2000), amended LR 29:2508 (November 2003). 

 
Hillary Crain 
Chairman 

0311#017 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

General Requirements 
(LAC 55:IX.103, 105, 107, 113, 
129, 139, 175, 183, and 1547) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
the Administrative Procedure Act, and R.S. 40:1846 and R.S. 
3:1354 relative to the authority of the Liquefied Petroleum 
Gas Commission to make and enforce reasonable rules and 
regulations governing the storage, sale, and transportation of 
liquefied petroleum gases and anhydrous ammonia, the 
commission amends existing Rules. The effective date of 
these changes is December 1, 2003. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part IX.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Chapter 1. General Requirements 
Subchapter A. New Dealers 
§103. Definitions 

* * * 
Reseller or Wholesaler?  

a. a person, firm, or corporation who: 
 i. holds title or ownership of liquefied petroleum 
gas as it leaves the facility or plant of a manufacturer of 
liquefied petroleum gas, or the facility or plant of a 
manufacturer of products of which liquefied petroleum gas 
form a component part, or of a commercial storage facility; 
 ii. transfers such title or ownership to another 
without substantially changing the form of the liquefied 
petroleum gas; 
 iii. transfers such title or ownership to another 
reseller, or to a liquefied petroleum gas dealer for sale at 
retail. 

b. This definition shall include a manufacturer of 
liquefied petroleum gas or a manufacturer of products of 
which liquefied petroleum gas forms a component part, if 
title or ownership transfers directly from the manufacturer to 
a liquefied petroleum gas dealer for sale at retail. 

c. This definition shall not include a manufacturer 
of liquefied petroleum gas or a manufacturer of products of 
which liquefied petroleum gas forms a component part, if 
title or ownership transfers to another manufacturer of 
liquefied petroleum gas, to another manufacturer of products 
of which liquefied petroleum gas forms a component part  or 
to a reseller. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 
Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
24:459 (March 1998), LR 29:2508 (November 2003). 
§105. Applications 

A. Any person, firm, or corporation desiring to enter the 
liquefied petroleum gas business in the state of Louisiana 
must file formal application with the Liquefied Petroleum 
Gas Commission. In the case of Class VI and Class VIII a 
formal application must be filed for each location. Other 
classes of permits and registrations require only one formal 
application to be filed. Formal application(s) must be filed 
for Class I, 90 days, and for Classes II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, 
VIII, and IX, 30 days prior to the date of the commission 
meeting which the application is to be heard. Application for 
Classes VI-X, VII-E, and R-1, R-2 registrations have no 
delay prior to the granting of the permit. These permits will 
be granted by the office of the director, upon complying with 
all commission requirements, and ratified by the Liquefied 
Petroleum Gas Commission at the first subsequent 
commission meeting. Presence of applicant or his authorized 
representative is required at the commission meeting when 
the application is heard, except in the cases of Class VI -X, 
VII-E, and R-1, R-2 registrations where appearance is 
waived. In no case will the applicant's supplier be the 
authorized representative. Only with special approval of the 
commission, under extenuating circumstances, will the 
commission allow the applicant to be represented by another 
party other than a principal officer, director, manager, or 
attorney. The formal application form(s) will be furnished by 
the commission upon request. 

B. No person, firm or corporation engaged in selling of 
liquefied petroleum gas only in small consumer quantities in 
U.S. Department of Transportation specification 2Q 
containers shall be required to obtain a permit as required by 
R.S. 40:1847. These quantities shall not exceed one liter per 
container. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1846. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 
Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
11:557 (May 1985), LR 24:460 (March 1998), LR 25:1262 (July 
1999), LR 29:2509 (November 2003). 
§107. Requirements 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. Must have on file in the office of the director, proof 

of insurance, issued by a Louisiana licensed agent, in the 
minimum sum of $1,000,000, in the classes of insurance as 
required by the commission. This proof of insurance must 
show kinds and amounts in force. A certificate of insurance 
will meet the proof of insurance requirement. Said certificate 
shall be considered evidence of liability insurance coverage: 
said certificate must bear the clause that in the event the 
insurance company intends to cancel, the insurance company 
will notify the director of the Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission 10 days prior to date of cancellation. A binder 
of insurance coverage, within date, will be acceptable as 
proof of insurance until the policy is issued. The $1,000,000 
requirement shall be effective on the first proof of insurance 
required after November 1, 2003. 

a. In lieu of such liability insurance coverage the 
applicant may post with the commission bonds or other 
securities issued by the United States of America or the state 
of Louisiana, or certificates of deposit or similar instruments 
issued by a lending institution regulated by an agency of this 
state or by the federal government, in the minimum sum of 
$1,000,000, which bonds or securities shall be held in trust 
by the commission for the benefit of any person, firm or 
corporation to which such legal liability may accrue; 

3.b. - 15. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, LR 1:315 (July 1975), LR 4:86 (March 
1978), LR 7:633 (December 1981), amended by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission, LR 11:557 (May 1985), LR 15:854 (October 1989), 
LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 20:1400 (December 1994), LR 
24:461 (March 1998), LR 24:2311 (December 1998), LR 25:1262 
(July 1999), LR 25:2410 (December 1999), LR 26:1487 (July 
2000), LR 27:2256 (December 2001), LR 28:2553 (December 
2002), LR 29:2509 (November 2003). 
§113. Classes of Permits and Registrations 

A. - A.1. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

1.a.i. - 2. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

2.a.i. - 3. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

3.a.i. - 4. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

4.a.i. - 5. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

5.a.i. - 6. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

6.a.i. - 7. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

7.a.i. - 8. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 
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8.a.i. - 9. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

9.a.i. - 10. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

10.a.i. - 11.a. ... 
b. Must furnis h evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

11.b.i. - 12. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

12.a.i. - 13. ... 
a. Must furnish evidence of liability insurance in 

the minimum sum of $1,000,000 covering each of the 
following classes of insurance, covering applicant's legal 
liability: 

13.a.i. - c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended and promulgated LR 3:315 
(July 1977), amended LR 7:633 (December 1981), LR 8:53 
(January 1982), amended by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 11:557 
(May 1985), LR 12:841 (December 1986), LR 15:855 (October 
1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:904 (July 1993), LR 
20:1400 (December 1994), LR 21:704 (July 1995), LR 24:464 
(March 1998), LR 25:2411 (December 1999), LR 29:2509 
(November 2003). 
Subchapter B. Dealers 
§129. Odorizing Gases  

A. Odorization and verification of odorization in 
liquefied petroleum gases shall be in accordance with the 
following provisions. 

1. Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, 
each refinery, commercial storage facility, natural gas 
processing plant, pipeline, or other person which sell 
liquefied petroleum gas to a transporter, dealer, or distributor 
for distribution into the distribution chain to consumers shall 
odorize the liquefied petroleum gas in accordance with the 
provisions of this Subchapter. 

2. Liquefied petroleum gas shall not be required to be 
odorized if it is to be delivered to a manufacturer of products 
of which liquefied petroleum gas forms a component part, to 
any facility for further processing, to a commercial storage 
facility, a natural gas processing plant, a refinery, a pipeline, 
or when odorization would be harmful in further use or 
processing of the gas and would not serve a useful purpose 
as a warning agent in further use or processing of the gas. 

3. Liquefied petroleum gas which is required to be 
odorized shall be effectively odorized by an approved agent

of such character as to positively, by a distinctive odor, the 
presence of gas down to concentrations in air of not over 
one-fifth the lower limit of flammability. The presence of 
odorization, when required, shall be positively verified by 
the dealer by a sniff test or other means, and the results shall 
be documented prior to delivery into his bulk plant, or when 
a shipment bypasses a bulk plant, prior to delivery to a 
consumer. It is the intent of this Paragraph to prohibit the 
sale or delivery of liquefied petroleum gas by a dealer to a 
consumer without the required odorization. 

4. - 5. ... 
6. The only approved odorants are those specified in 

Paragraph 4 of this Subsection; however, the commission 
may authorize, by Rule, the use of other odorants which are 
equal in effectiveness to the odorants specified in Paragraph 
4 of this Subsection. 

7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
11:558 (May 1985), LR 29:2510 (November 2003). 
§139. Liquefied Petroleum Gas Systems  

A. - F.1. ... 
2. Failure to properly odorize gas or to verify the 

presence of odorant as require by R.S. 40:1846 and §129 of 
this Subchapter. 

G. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
15:860 (October 1989), LR 24:465 (March 1998), LR 29:2510 
(November 2003). 
Subchapter G.  Systems Utilizing ASME Containers 
§175. Pressure Test and Inspection Required 

A. - A.1.a. ... 
b. with openings capped, test piping at 40 pounds 

per square inch air pressure for a period of at least 15 
minutes. There shall be no loss of pressure; 

1.c. - 2.a. ... 
b. with openings capped, test piping at 40 pounds 

per square inch air pressure for a period of at least 15 
minutes. There shall be no loss of pressure; 

2.c. - 3.a. ... 
b. with openings capped, test piping at 40 pounds 

per square inch air pressure for a period of at least 15 
minutes. There shall be no loss of pressure; 

3.c. - 4.a. ... 
b. with openings capped, test piping at 40 pounds 

per square inch air pressure for a period of at least 15 
minutes. There shall be no loss of pressure; 

4.c. - 5.a. ... 
b. with openings capped, test piping at 40 pounds 

per square inch air pressure for a period of at least 15 
minutes. There shall be no loss of pressure; 

5.c. - 6.a. ... 
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b. with openings capped, test piping at 40 pounds 
per square inch air pressure for a period of at least 15 
minutes. There shall be no loss of pressure; 

6.c. - 9.f. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission, LR 20:1403 (December 1994), amended LR 24:468 
(March 1998), LR 24:2312 (December 1998), LR 29:2510 
(November 2003). 
Subchapter I. Adoption of Standards  
§183. Use of Liquefied Petroleum Gas as a Refrigerant 

Prohibited 
A. No person, firm, or corporation shall use, sell, or 

distribute liquefied petroleum gas for use in mobile air 
conditioning systems. 

B. Mobile Air Conditioning System? mechanized vapor 
compression equipment which is used to cool the driver's or 
passenger's compartment of any motor vehicle. 

C. To determine if a refrigerant is liquefied petroleum 
gas, the proper shipping name shall be used. Proper shipping 
names with a U.N. number and a hazard class and division 
number of liquefied petroleum gas per the U.S. Department 
of Transportation hazardous materials tables shall be prima 
facie evidence that the refrigerant is liquefied petroleum gas 
and is prohibited. 

D. Any advertising or other literature published by the 
manufacturer of a refrigerant promoting it as a replacement 
or drop-in for CFR-12 or HFC 134a, or both, shall be prima 
facie evidence that it is being sold for mobile air 
conditioning systems and is prohibited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1846. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission, LR 23:990 (August 1997), amended LR 29:2511 
(November 2003). 
Chapter 15. Sale, Storage, Transportation and 

Handling of Anhydrous Ammonia 
Subchapter D. Adoption of Standard 
§1547. National Standard 

A. ... 
B. The commission may adopt subsequent editions of 

these standards by a Rule change in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

C. ... 
D. The commission reserves the right to make exceptions 

to any Rule adopted in §1547.A as it applies to local 
conditions as it may deem necessary in the interest of public 
safety. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1354. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Agriculture, Anhydrous Ammonia Commission (January 1967), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 19:903 (July 1993), LR 
29:2511 (November 2003). 

 
Charles M. Fuller 
Director 

0311#031 
 

 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

TANF Initiatives? Community Supervision Program 
(LAC 67:III.5573) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, has adopted LAC 67:III.5573, Community 
Supervision Program (CSP) as a new TANF Initiative. 

This Rule was effected June 17, 2003, by a Declaration of 
Emergency published in the July issue of the Louisiana 
Register. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES  

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5573. Community Supervision Program 

A. OFS shall enter into a Memorandum of 
Understanding (MOU) with the Department of Public Safety 
and Corrections (DPSC), Office of Youth Development 
(OYD), to provide services to youth and their families as a 
result of an adjudication and disposition by a court that 
orders DPSC/OYD to supervise youth in their communities 
in an effort to prevent removal from the home. 

B. OYD/CSP will complete an intake/assessment and 
develop a case plan for addressing the needs of the youth. 
The case plan will contain goals for all need areas and when 
indicated, include referrals to community programs for both 
youth and parents. These referrals may include but are not 
limited to: 

1. case management, counseling, and in-home 
services; 

2. parenting education and training, either in-home or 
out-of-home; 

3. diagnostic and evaluation services provided in an 
attempt to make the most appropriate out-of-home 
placement; 

4. supervision or non-residential programs for youth 
who remain in the home. 

C. The agency will identify eligibility retroactive to 
October 1, 2002. 

D. These services meet the TANF goal to provide 
assistance to needy families so that children may be cared 
for in their own homes or in the homes of relatives by 
providing services to youth, who are in jeopardy of removal 
from their homes, and their families. 

E. Financial eligibility for those services attributable to 
TANF/Maintenance of Effort (MOE) funds is limited to 
eligible families, which include a minor child living with a 
custodial parent, an adult caretaker relative, or a legal 
guardian. An eligible family is one in which any member 
receives a Family Independence Temporary Assistance 
Program (FITAP) grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program 
(KCSP) grant, Food Stamp benefits, Child Care Assistance 
Program (CCAP) services, Title XIX (Medicaid) Medical
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Assistance Program benefits, Louisiana Children's Health 
Insurance Program (LACHIP) benefits, or Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI). 

F. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 29:2511 (November 
2003). 

Gwendolyn P. Hamilton 
Secretary 

0311#054 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2004 Turkey Season 
(LAC 76:XIX.113, 115, and 117) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission amends the turkey 
rules and regulations for the 2004 season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§113. Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler, two gobblers per season. 
Taking of hen turkeys, including bearded hens, is illegal. 
Still hunting only. Use of dogs, baiting, electronic calling 
devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys may be hunted 
with shotguns, including muzzleloading shotguns, using shot 
not larger than #2 lead or BB steel shot, and bow and arrow 
but by no other means. Shooting turkeys from a moving or 
stationary vehicle is prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding 
more than three shells prohibited. 

B. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. 

C. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, shucked 
or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other feed 
capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is directly or 
indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed or 
scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. 

D. Wildlife agents are authorized to close such baited 
areas and to place signs in the immediate vicinity 
designating closed zones and dates of closure. 

E. The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries strongly 
discourages feeding agricultural grains to wild turkeys as 
this practice increases the risk of birds contracting 
potentially lethal diseases. Repeatedly placing grain in the 
same area may expose otherwise healthy birds to disease 
contaminated soils, grain containing lethal toxins and other 
diseased turkeys using the same feeding site. Properly 
distributed food plots (clovers, wheat, millet and chufa) are 

far more desirable for turkeys and have the added benefit of 
appealing to a wide variety of wildlife. 

F. It is unlawful to take from the wild or possess in 
captivity any live wild turkeys or their eggs. No pen raised 
turkeys from within or without the state shall be liberated 
(released) within the state. 

G. All licensed turkey hunters are required to have a 
Turkey Stamp in their possession while turkey hunting in 
addition to basic and big game hunting licenses. 
Additionally, a WMA Hunting Permit is required of any 
person (age 18-59) who hunts on land administered by the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, including Wildlife 
Management Areas, Wildlife Refuges, and Habitat 
Conservation Areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003). 
§115. Statewide Turkey Hunting Areas-Resident Game 

Birds and Animals 
A. Shooting hours ? one-half hour before sunrise to one-

half hour after sunset. 
 
Species Season Dates Daily Bag Limit Possession Limit 
Turkey See Schedule 1 2/Season 
 
B. Turkey season will open in designated areas on the 

fourth Saturday in March. The Area A turkey season will be 
30 consecutive days in length, the Area B turkey season will 
be 23 consecutive days in length, and the Area C turkey 
season will be 9 consecutive days in length. Wildlife 
Management Areas, National Forests, National Wildlife 
Refuges, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land may vary 
from this framework. 

C. Statewide Youth Turkey Season on private lands shall 
be the weekend prior to the statewide turkey season. Only 
youths younger than 16 years of age may hunt. Youth must 
possess a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course. Each youth must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm or 
bow. Youths may possess only one firearm or bow while 
hunting. Legal weapons and shot are the same as described 
for the turkey season. The supervising adult shall maintain 
visual and voice contact with the youth at all times. An adult 
may supervise only one youth during this special hunt. Only 
one gobbler per day may be taken and any gobbler taken by 
the youth during this special season counts towards their 
seasonal bag limit of 2. 

D. 2004 Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Season Dates 
A March 27-April 25 
B March 27-April 18 
C March 27-April 4 

Private Lands Youth Hunt March 20-21 
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E. 2004 Turkey Hunting Season? Open only in the 
following Areas 

1. Area A ? March 27-April 25 
a. All the following parishes are open: 

 i. Beauregard; 
 ii. East Baton Rouge; 
 iii. East Feliciana; 
 iv. LaSalle; 
 v. Livingston; 
 vi. Natchitoches (Exception? See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates);  
 vii. Sabine; 
 viii. St. Helena; 
 ix. St. Tammany; 
 x. Tangipahoa; 
 xi. Vernon (Exception? See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates);  
 xii. Washington; 
 xiii. West Baton Rouge; 
 xiv. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island); 
 xv. Winn (Exception? See Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open. 
 i. Allen? north of LA 104, west of LA 26 south 
of junction of LA 104 to US 190, north of US 190 east of 
Kinder, west of US 165 south of Kinder; 
 ii. Avoyelles? that portion bounded on the east by 
the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
levee southward; 
 iii. Calcasieu? north of I-10; 
 iv. Caldwell? west of Ouachita River southward to 
Catahoula Parish line, east of LA 165 from LaSalle Parish 
line to the junction of LA 126, north of LA 126 westward to 
the Winn Parish line; 
 v. Catahoula? west of Ouachita River southward 
to LA 559 at Duty Ferry, north of LA 559 to LA 124, south 
and west of LA 124 from Duty Ferry to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg and north of LA 8 to LA 126, north and east of 
LA 126. Also that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. Concordia? that portion east of LA 15 and west 
of US 65 from its juncture with LA 15 at Clayton; 
 vii. Evangeline? north and west of LA 115, north 
of LA 106 from St. Landry to LA 13, west of LA 13 from 
Pine Prairie to Mamou and north of LA 104 west of Mamou; 
 viii. Franklin? that portion lying east of LA 17 and 
east of LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 ix. Grant? all the parish except that portion of land 
that lies north of the Red River between US 71 and LA 8. 
Exception? See Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates; 
 x. Iberville? west of LA 1. Exception? see 
Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all state, federal 
and private lands within Sherburne boundaries; 
 xi. Jefferson Davis ? north of US 190 from 
junction with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of 
I-10 west from junction of US 165; 

 xii. Madison? that portion lying west of US 65 and 
south of US 80; 
 xiii. Pointe Coupee? all the parish except that 
portion bounded on the north by LA Hwy. 1, from Innis to 
the junction of LA Hwy 417, on the west by LA Hwy. 417 
southward toward McCrea, on the south by LA Hwy. 417 
from McCrea to its junction with Delhi Lane, then by Delhi 
Lane to LA Hwy. 418, then LA Hwy. 418 northward to LA 
Hwy. 1 at Innis. Exception? see Sherburne WMA for special 
season dates on all state, federal and private lands within 
Sherburne boundaries; 
 xiv. Rapides? all the parish except that portion of 
lands that lies north of the Red River and south of US 71 
from its juncture with the Red River northward to the Grant 
Parish line. Exception? See Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Kisatchie National Forest season dates; 
 xv. Richland? that portion south of US 80 and east 
of LA 17; 
 xvi. St. Landry? that portion bounded on the west 
by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River. Exception? the Indian Bayou 
Area, see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for Indian Bayou 
Area dates; 
 xvii. Upper St. Martin? all within the Atchafalaya 
Basin. Exceptions? Sherburne WMA and Indian Bayou 
Area, see WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season 
dates on all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne 
WMA boundaries and see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Indian Bayou dates; 
 xviii. Tensas ? that portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 
3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry. Also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River.  

2. Area B? March 27-April 18 
a. All the following parishes are open: 

 i. Bienville; 
 ii. Bossier; 
 iii. Caddo; 
 iv. Claiborne (Exception? See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 v. DeSoto; 
 vi. Jackson; 
 vii. Lincoln; 
 viii. Red River; 
 ix. Union; 
 x. Webster (Exception? See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. East Carroll? east of US 65 from Arkansas 
state line to Madison Parish line; 
 ii. Ouachita? east of LA 143 from Union Parish 
line to US 80 in West Monroe, north of US 80 to LA 139, 
west of LA 139 to the Morehouse Parish line; 
 iii. Madison? south of US 80 and east of US 65 to 
Tensas Parish line and all lands lying east of the main 
channel of the Mississippi River;  
 iv. Morehouse? west of US 165 from the Arkansas 
line to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of LA
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830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to US 165, 
north of US 165 to LA 139, west of LA 139 to Ouachita 
Parish line. 

3. Area C? March 27-April 4 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension? all east of the Mississippi River; 
 ii. Catahoula? that portion lying south of Deer 
Creek to Boeuf River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to 
LA 8 at Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 
913 and LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 iii. Concordia? north and east of Sugar Mill Chute 
(Concordia Parish) from the state line westward to Red 
River, east of Red River northward to Cocodrie Bayou, east 
of Cocodrie Bayou northward to US 84, south of US 84 
eastward to LA 15 (Ferriday), east of LA 15 northward to 
US 65 (Clayton), east of US 65 northward to Tensas Parish 
line; 
 iv. Franklin? that portion lying west of LA 17, 
from Richland Parish line to LA 577 at Crowville, north of 
LA 577 to LA 15 at Baskin, east of LA 15 to Big Creek, and 
south and east of Big Creek to Richland Parish line; 
 v. Iberville? all east of the Mississippi River;  
 vi. Richland? west of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Rd., south of Ringle Rd. to Ferguson Rd., 
south of Ferguson Rd. to Little Rd., south of Little Rd. to 
Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
 vii. Tensas ? east and south of US 65 from 
Concordia Parish line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. 
Joseph, east and south of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward 
to Port Gibson Ferry. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
2002), LR 29:2513 (November 2003). 
§117. 2004 Wildlife Management Area 

Turkey? Hunting Regulations 
A. General 

1. The following rules and regulations concerning 
management, protection and harvest of wildlife have been 
officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject the individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

2. Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed are 
open to turkey hunting. 

3. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles cannot be left 
overnight on WMAs EXCEPT in designated camping areas. 
ATVs are prohibited from two hours after sunset to 3:00 a.m. 
All roads including trails and roads designated as ATV only 
trails shall be closed to ATVs from March 1 through August 
31 unless otherwise specified. ATV off-road or off-trail 
travel is prohibited. Certain trails may be open during this 
time period to provide access for fishing or other purposes.

These trails will be marked by signs at the entrance of the 
trail. Otherwise, only walk-in hunting is  permitted (bicycles 
permitted). 

4. Bag limits on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey is allowed to be taken during special 
lottery hunts. 

B. Permits 
1. Self-Clearing Permits. All turkey hunts, including 

lottery hunts, are self-clearing. Hunters must check in daily 
by obtaining a permit from a self-clearing station prior to 
hunting. The self-clearing permit must be in the hunter's 
possession while hunting. Upon completion of each days 
hunt, the hunter must check out by completing and 
depositing the hunter report portion of the permit in the 
check-out box at a self-clearing station before exiting the 
WMA. 

2. Lottery Hunts. Bayou Macon, Boise-Vernon, Loggy 
Bayou, Sabine, Sherburne, Sicily Island, Tunica Hills, Union 
and West Bay WMAs are restricted to those persons selected 
as a result of the pre-application lottery. Special youth only 
lottery hunts will be held on Big Lake, Bens Creek, Fort 
Polk/Peason Ridge, Jackson-Bienville, Loggy Bayou, 
Sherburne, and West Bay WMAs. Deadline for receiving 
applications for all lottery hunts is February 13, 2004. An 
application fee of $5 must be sent with each application. 
Applicants may submit only one application and will be 
selected for one WMA Turkey Lottery Hunt annually. 
Submitting more than one application will result in 
disqualification. Contact any district office for applications. 
Hunters must abide by self-clearing permit requirements. 
Youths chosen for special youth only hunts will be guided by 
members of the Louisiana Chapter of the National Wild 
Turkey Federation. One family member may accompany the 
youth and guide, but may not hunt. 

C. Wildlife Management Area Turkey Hunting 
Schedule* 

 
WMA Season Dates Permit 

Requirements 
Lottery 
Dates** 

Bayou Macon April 10-11 Self-Clearing April 10-11 
Bens Creek1 March 27-April 18 Self-Clearing None 
Big Lake March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Bodcau March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Boeuf March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Boise Vernon March 27-28 

April 3-25 
Self-Clearing March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Camp 
Beauregard 

March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 

Fort Polk  March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 
Grassy Lake March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Hutchinson 
Creek 

March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 

Jackson-
Bienville 

March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 

Lake Ramsey March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Little River March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 
Loggy Bayou April 17-18 Self-Clearing April 17-18 
Pearl River March 27-April 18 Self-Clearing None 
Peason Ridge March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 
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Pomme de 
Terre 

March 27-April 11 Self-Clearing None 

Red River March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Sabine March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Self-Clearing March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Sandy Hollow1 March 27-April 18 Self-Clearing None 
Sherburne2 March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing March 27-28 

March 29-31 
Sicily Island March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing March 27-29 

March 30-
April 1 
April 2-4 

Three Rivers March 27-April 4 Self-Clearing None 
Tunica Hills 
South Tract  

March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Self-Clearing March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Tunica Hills 
Angola Tract3 

March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Self-Clearing March 27-28 
April 3-4 
April 10-11 
April 17-18 

Union April 10-11 Self-Clearing April 10-11 
Walnut Hills March 27-April 25 Self-Clearing None 
West Bay March 27-28 

April 3-4 
Self-Clearing March 27-28 

April 3-4 
*Only those Wildlife Management Areas listed have a turkey 
hunting season. All other areas are closed. 
**The deadline for receiving applications for all turkey 
Lottery Hunts on WMAs is February 13, 2004. 
1No turkey hunting within 100 yards of food plots identified 
by two yellow paint rings around the nearest tree. 
2All turkeys harvested on Sherburne WMA must be weighed 
and checked at WMA headquarters. 
3Scouting access limited. Contact Region 7 office for details 
(225) 765-2360. 

 
D. Wildlife Management Area Youth Hunts  
 

WMA Lottery Youth Hunt Date  
Bens Creek March 20 
Big Lake March 20 
Fort Polk/Peason Ridge March 20 
Jackson-Bienville March 20 
Loggy Bayou April 10 
Sherburne March 20 
West Bay March 20 

 
E. Federal Lands Turkey Hunting Schedule 

1. Kisatchie National Forest (KNF) Turkey Hunting 
Schedule? Caney Ranger District, March 27-April 11; all 
remaining KNF lands, March 27-April 18 (including 

Catahoula and Red Dirt National Wildlife Management 
Preserves). 

2. Indian Bayou Area (U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers), Turkey Hunting Schedule? March 20 handicap 
only hunt, March 27- April 4, lottery hunt only on March 27-
28 and March 29-31. Contact USCOE at 337-585-0853 for 
further info rmation. 

3. National Wildlife Refuges? Bogue Chitto NWR, 
March 27?April 25; Lake Ophelia NWR, March 27-29 
(lottery only), April 3-25; Tensas NWR, March 20-21 (youth 
lottery only), March 27?April 11. Contact the U.S. Fish and 
Wildlife Service for information regarding NWR hunts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission LR 
25:2265 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2636 (November 
2000), LR 27:2272 (December 2001), LR 28:2377 (November 
2002), LR 29:2514 (November 2003). 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0311#039 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Harvest Area Grid System 
(LAC 76:VII.519) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby 
amend the oyster harvest area grid system pursuant to R.S. 
56:430.1. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 5. Oysters 
§519. Establishment of an Oyster Harvest Area Grid 

System 
A. For the purpose of submission of oyster leaseholder 

production information, as required in R.S. 56:430.1, the 
oyster harvest area grid system is established as those grid 
areas detailed on the map which is attached hereto and made 
a part hereof.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:430.1.B. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
28:524 (March 2002), amended LR 29:2515 (November 2003). 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0311#038 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Responsibilities and Powers of Enforcement Officers 
(LAC 76:I.305) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission amends the 
responsibilities and powers of enforcement officers within 
the department. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES  

Part I.  Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and  
Agencies Thereunder 

Chapter 3. Special Powers and Duties 
Subchapter B. Enforcement Officers 
§305. Responsibilities and Powers of Enforcement 

Officers 
A. - B.2.  … 
C. Nets, Traps, Guns, Boats, Lights and other Equipment 

1. - 3. … 
4. Rods, Reels, Tackle and Nets. In addition to the 

other allowable methods of disposal provided for in this 
Subsection, and notwithstanding any other provisions of this 
Subsection, all rods, reels, fishing poles, tackle and nets 
may, upon the passage or occurrence of all pertinent time 
periods or events provided for in Subparagraph C.1.a supra, 
be donated to bona fide charitable organizations, youth 
groups or schools. This disposition may be exercised in lieu 
of other dispositions when the secretary determines it is in 
the best interest of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:60. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
15:554 (July 1989), amended LR 29:2516 (November 2003). 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0311#037 
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