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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agro-Consumer Services 

Metrology Laboratory Fee Structure 
(LAC 7:XXXV.125) 

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry hereby 
adopts the following Emergency Rule for the 
implementation of regulations governing the calibration and 
registration of taxi meters in accordance with R.S. 3:4622 
and the Emergency Rule provisions of R.S. 49:953(B), of the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry is 
the only governmental agency that checks on the accuracy of 
taxi meters in the state of Louisiana. The fee for registering 
and inspecting taxi meters has been set at $15. This fee, 
however, falls far short of the cost incurred by the 
department in ensuring the accuracy of taxi meters. The 
registration and testing of taxi meters is vital and important 
to the citizens of Louisiana because the registering and 
testing of taxi meters insures that the public who utilizes 
taxis are not subjected to fraud and illegal and excessive 
fares. The people who use taxis are individuals who cannot 
either afford to own a vehicle of their own or are 
businessmen and tourists coming into the state.  

The department, as a result of state budget deficits and 
cuts to the department's appropriations, is forced to look for 
ways to bring its budget in line with current appropriations. 
Therefore, the department is forced to either cut services, 
such as calibration of taxi meters or to increase fees to cover 
the cost of services provided.  

If the department ceases to enforce the registration and 
calibration of register taxi meters, the citizens of the state 
and visitors to the state who utilize taxi services will be 
subject to fraud and illegal and excessive fares by taxi 
operators. In order to protect the public and taxi services 
from inaccurate fares, it is necessary to immediately increase 
the fees charged for calibrating and registering taxi meters in 
Louisiana.  

This Rule becomes effective upon signature, December 3, 
2003, and will remain in effect 120 days, unless renewed by 
the Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry or until 
permanent Rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXV.  Agro-Consumer Services 
Chapter 1. Weights and Measures 
§125. Metrology Laboratory Fee Structure 

A. - E. … 
F. The annual fee for registration of taxi meters is 

$50.00. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:4608, 3:4622. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Division of Weights and Measures, LR 19:1534 (December 1993), 
amended LR 23:857 (July 1997), LR 30: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0312#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Management Service Fees (LAC 7:XXXIX.701) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 3:4274 and R.S. 3:3, the Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry declares an emergency to exist and 
adopts by emergency process the attached rules and 
regulations for the adjustment of the fee schedule for certain 
forest management services provided by the Office of 
Forestry. 

Forestry practices, such as prescribed burning, tree 
planting, and other services are essential tools of forest 
management that directly affect the health of Louisiana's 
forests. Prescribed burning, in particular, is critical in order 
to reduce the risk of hazardous wildfires that destroy forest 
resources and may also threaten the lives and property of 
Louisiana citizens. Federal funds have been allocated to 
Louisiana to provide cost-share assistance to private 
landowners as a direct incentive for private owners to 
actively manage their forestlands which will result in 
improved forest health. The Office of Forestry is a primary 
provider of these services.  

The Office of Forestry must adjust rates for these forest 
health-related management services to bring the fees in line 
with actual costs and to end below market rate pricing which 
has prevented the private sector from being able to offer 
these services at competitive rates. Adjustment of the Office 
of Forestry fees, along with new federal cost-share funding, 
is critical to the creation of a forest management service 
provider network that can meet the needs of our state's 
landowners. Failure to adopt this fee schedule will delay or 
prevent the critical implementation of appropriate forest 
health practices throughout the state. Therefore, it is 
imperative that this  Emergency Rule be adopted in order to 
maintain healthy forests, protect lives and property and to 
otherwise provide for the health, welfare and safety of 
Louisiana's citizens. This Emergency Rule becomes effective 
on January 1, 2004 and will remain in effect for 120 days or 
until permanent through the normal promulgation process.  
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Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXXIX.  Forestry 
Chapter 7. Forest Landowner Assistance 
§701. Management Service Fees 

A. The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office o f 
Forestry, shall, under the direction of the state forester, 
provide private landowners with assistance in the 
management of their forestlands.  

1. Basic Services. Performed on an as-requested basis 
in all Office of Forestry districts. 

 
1. Prescribed Burning Services   
  a. Reforestation 
(cutover areas) 

$25/acre plus $70/hour for 
fireline establishment  
$300 minimum charge 

  b. Afforestation  
(pasture, etc.) 

$15/acre plus $70/hour for 
fireline establishment. 
$300 minimum charge. 

  c. Helicopter Assisted Burns $10/acre plus $70/hour for 
fireline establishment. 
$300 minimum charge. 

  d. Other Prescribed Burns (fuel 
reduction, hardwood control, 
wildlife habitat, etc.) 

$20/acre 
$300 minimum charge. 

  e. Fireline Plowing Only  $70/hour 
$100 minimum charge. 

2. Timber Marking $25/acre 

 
2. Special Services. Performed when approved on a 

case-by-case basis. 
 

1. Tree Planting * $46/acre 
2. Direct Seeding * $10/acre 
3. Tractor Work $70/hour 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:1476 (renumbered R. S. 3:4276) and R. S. 3: 4274 and R.S. 3:3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Forestry, LR 8:419 (August 1982), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Forestry, Forestry Commission, LR 11:1178 (December 1985), LR 
19:1414 (November 1993), LR 23:553 (May 1997), LR 30: 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0312#001 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs ? Maintaining Eligibility 
(LAC 28:IV.705 and 805) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and re-promulgate the rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1). 

The Emergency Rules are necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 

in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that 
these Emergency Rules are necessary in order to prevent 
imminent financial peril to the welfare of the affected 
students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 19, 
2003, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance? Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs  

Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for 
Students (TOPS) Opportunity, 
Performance, and Honors Awards  

§705. Maintaining Eligibility 
A. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity, 

Performance or Honors Awards, the recipient must meet all 
of the following criteria: 

1. - 6.a. … 
b. in a program for a vocational or technical 

education certificate or diploma or a non-academic 
undergraduate degree at an eligible college or university, 
earn a total of at least 24 college credit hours as determined 
by totaling the earned hours reported by the institution for 
each semester or term in the program year (Non-Academic 
Program) . Unless granted an exception for cause by 
LASFAC, failure to earn the required number of hours will 
result in permanent cancellation of the recipient's eligibility; 
or 

A.7. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:637 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR 25:257 (February 1999), 
LR 25:656 (April 1999), LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 26:67 
(January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1996, 2001 
(September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1853 (November 2001), 
amended LR 28:447 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 
28:2332 (November 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), LR 
29:2373 (November 2003), LR 30: 
Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award 
§805. Maintaining Eligibility 

A. To continue receiving the TOPS-TECH Award, the 
recipient must meet all of the following criteria: 

1. have received the TECH Award for not more than 
two years, except as provided by §805.C, or unless reduced 
as required by §503.D; 

2. - 7. … 
8. maintain, by the end of the spring term, a 

cumulative college grade point average of at least 2.50 on a 
4.00 maximum scale; and 

9. earn a total of at least 24 college credit hours as 
determined by totaling the earned hours reported by the 
institution for each semester or term in the program year 
(Non-Academic Program) . Unless granted an exception for 
cause by LASFAC, failure to earn the required number of 
hours will result in permanent cancellation of the recipient's 
eligibility. 

B. - C. … 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 12   December 20, 2003 2614

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:1905 (October 1998), amended LR 25:1091 (June 1999), LR 
26:68 (January 2000), LR 26:689 (April 2000), LR 26:1997, 2002 
(September 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1856 (November 2001), 
amended LR 28:774 (April 2002), LR 28:2332 (November 2002), 
LR 29:2373 (November 2003), LR 30: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0312#051 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment  

Environmental Planning Division 

Notification Requirements for Unauthorized Emissions 
(LAC 33:I.3925 and 3931)(OS052E1) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, which 
allows the Department of Environmental Quality 
("department") to use emergency procedures to establish 
rules, and R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the department 
hereby finds that imminent peril to the public welfare exists 
and accordingly adopts the following Emergency Rule. 

This is a renewal of Emergency Rule OS052E, which was 
effective August 12, 2003, and published with a correction in 
the Louisiana Register on September 20, 2003. The 
department is drafting a rule to promulgate these regulation 
changes. 

In the last two years, the Baton Rouge Nonattainment 
Area (the parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, 
Iberville, Livingston, and West Baton Rouge) has 
experienced exceedances of the one-hour ozone National 
Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) promulgated by the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA). 
These exceedances did not occur during circumstances that 
typically result in excessive ozone formation and led to 
ozone readings the Baton Rouge area has not experienced in 
a decade. The ozone readings for two separate episodes in 
September 2002 and July 2003 were 164 parts per billion 
(ppb) and 174 ppb respectively, over 30 percent above the 
standard. Monitoring results from these exceedances indicate 
a high rate and efficiency of ozone production, which was 
limited spatially to the immediate Baton Rouge area. These 
ozone episodes correspond very well to the kind of episodes 
that have occurred in the Houston/Galveston areas. The 
Texas Air Quality Study, conducted in the 
Houston/Galveston areas, concluded that the reactivity of the 
hydrocarbons was most often dominated by low molecular 
weight alkenes and aromatics resulting in explosive ozone 
formation. Results from computer simulations based on 
Houston's industrial regions suggest emissions of as little as 
100 pounds of light alkenes and aromatics can lead to 50 ppb 
or greater enhancements of ozone concentrations. Air quality 
sampling in the Baton Rouge area also showed substantial 
quantities of the mentioned ozone precursors. Baton Rouge's 
type of industry (petrochemical plants and refineries) and 
meteorological conditions are similar enough to Houston to 

warrant further investigation. The ozone formation 
experienced in the Baton Rouge area may similarly be the 
result of the emissions of "highly reactive" ozone precursors.  

The department needs additional information regarding 
the unauthorized releases of these highly reactive ozone 
precursors to understand, predict, and prevent further 
exceedances of the ozone standard. This information is 
needed immediately to monitor the remainder of the 2003 
and the 2004 ozone season in the hopes of achieving 
attainment of the standard. Facilities are to continue to 
follow the LAC 33:I.Chapter 39 reporting protocols and, 
whenever possible, to utilize the new notification procedures 
found at http://www.deq.state.la.us/surveillance/irf/forms 
and http://www.deq.state.la.us/surveillance. 

Some revisions have been made to the original Emergency 
Rule. Additional information is to be included on the written 
notification report required in LAC 33:I.3925. This 
information will enhance the investigation of highly reactive 
VOC that is in progress. The table in LAC 33:I.3931 is being 
further amended for clarification, and a footnote is revised to 
clarify that for releases of highly reactive VOC, the lowered 
Reportable Quantity only applies to releases to the 
atmosphere.  

This Emergency Rule is effective on December 10, 2003, 
and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or 
until a final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For 
more information concerning OS052E1, you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 2.  Notification 

Chapter 39. Notification Regulations and Procedures 
for Unauthorized Discharges 

Subchapter D. Notification Procedures 
§3925. Written Notification Procedures for the 

Department of Environmental Quality 
A. - B.3. … 

4. details of the circumstances (unauthorized 
discharge description and root cause) and events leading to 
any unauthorized discharge, including incidents of loss of 
sources of radiation, and if the release point is permitted: 

a. the current permitted limit for the pollutant(s) 
released; 

b. the permitted release point/outfall ID; and 
c. which limits were exceeded (SO2 limit, mass 

emission limit, opacity limit, etc.) for air releases; 
5. common or scientific chemical name of each 

specific pollutant that was released as the result of an 
unauthorized discharge, including the CAS number and U.S. 
Department of Transportation hazard classification, and best 
estimate of amounts of any or all released pollutants (total 
amount of each compound expressed in pounds, include 
calculations); 

B.6. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2025(J), 2060(H), 2076(D), 2183(I), 2194(C) and 2204(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:182 (February 
1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2443 (November 2000), 
LR 30: 
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Subchapter E. Reportable Quantities for Notification of 
Unauthorized Discharges 

§3931. Reportable Quantity List for Pollutants 
A. - A.2. … 
B. Modifications or Additions. The following table 

contains modifications to the federal reportable quantity lists 
incorporated by reference in Subsection A of this Section, as 
well as reportable quantities for additional pollutants. 

 

Pollutant CAS No.1 
RCRA2 
Waste 
Number 

Pounds  

Acetaldehyde 75070 U001 100+  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in Allyl chlo ride – Antimony*] 
Antimony Compounds 20008   100  
Barium* 7440393   100  
Barium compounds 20020   100  
Biphenyl 92524   100 
1-Butanol 71363 U031 5000/1000 @ 
Butenes (all isomers except 1,3 
butadiene) 

25167673   100+  

n-Butyl alcohol 71363 U031 5000/1000 @ 
* * *  

[See Prior Text in Carbonic dichloride] 
Carbonyl sulfide 463581   100 

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Chlorinated Dibenzo Furans, all isomers - Chromium3 *] 

Chromium compounds 20064   100  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in Copper3] 
Copper Compounds 20086   100  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Cumene] 

1,3-Dichloropropylene 542756   100  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in Ethyl acrylate] 
Ethylene 74851   5000  

or 100+  
Ethylene glycol 107211   5000  
Glycol ethers **     100  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Hexane - 1,3-Isobenzofurandione] 

Manganese* 7439965   100  
Manganese compounds     100  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Methanethiol] 

Methyl acrylate 96333   10  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in Methyl ethyl ketone (MEK)- 4-Methyl-2-pentanone] 
Methylene diphenyl isocyanate 101688   1000  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Nitric acid – Propionaldehyde] 

Propylene 115071   100+  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in Strontium sulfide – Thiomethanol] 
Toluene 108883 U220 100+  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in Vinyl acetate - Volatile Organic Compounds not otherwise 

listed4] 
Highly reactive volatile 
organic compounds listed 
below: acetaldehyde; butenes 
(all isomers); ethylene; 
propylene; toluene; xylene (all 
isomers); and/or isoprene5 

    100+  

* * *  
[See Prior Text in F003 – F005, Methyl ethyl ketone] 

 
Note * - Note 4 … 
5 The combined emission of these highly reactive VOC 
shall be totaled to determine if a RQ has been exceeded. 

Note @ … 
+ The RQ listed denotes the reportable quantities that will 
apply to unauthorized emissions based on total mass emitted 
into the atmosphere for facilities in the following parishes: 
Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, West 
Baton Rouge, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, 
Pointe Coupee, and West Feliciana. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2025(J), 2060(H), 2076(D), 2183(I), 2194(C), 2204(A), and 
2373(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:183 (February 
1994), amended by the Department of Environmental Quality,  
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:341 (May 1996), 
amended by the Department of Environmental Quality, Office of 
the Secretary, LR 24:1288 (July 1998), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
27:2229 (December 2001), LR 28:994 (May 2002), LR 29:698 
(May 2003), LR 30: 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary 

0312#057 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of Environmental Assessment 

Environmental Planning Division 

Remediation of Sites with Contaminated Media  
(LAC 33:V.109)(HW084E1) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), which allows 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish Rules, and under the authority of 
R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the department hereby 
declares that an emergency action is necessary in order to 
implement Rules to address the remediation of sites with 
contaminated environmental media. 

This is a renewal of Emergency Rule HW084, which was 
effective August 10, 2003, and published in the Louisiana 
Register on August 20, 2003. The department is drafting a 
Rule to promulgate these regulation changes. 

Current regulation causes contaminated environmental 
media to retain the description of having RCRA -listed waste 
"contained-in," therefore slowing the remediation of the site 
or possibly halting it completely due to administration and 
disposal issues. This Rule will remove a regulatory hurdle 
that deters site remediation. The incentive to remediate 
pollution stems from the resulting substantially reduced 
disposal and transportation costs for contaminated 
environmental media that are not required to be managed in 
the same manner as hazardous waste. The Rule will also 
result in simplification of the waste handling process by 
reducing administrative requirements and providing greater 
consistency with non-RCRA waste handling requirements 
and practices. This will provide strong motivation to initiate 
and accelerate voluntary remediation of contaminated sites 
without increasing risks to human health or the environment. 
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This Emergency Rule is effective on December 8, 2003, 
and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or 
until a final Rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For 
more information concerning HW084E1 you may contact 
the Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

Quality? Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms 
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Hazardous Waste? a solid waste, as defined in this 

Section, is a hazardous waste if: 
1. - 2.c.vii. … 

d. it consists of environmental media (soil, 
sediments, surface water, or groundwater) that contain one 
or more hazardous wastes listed in LAC 33:V.4901 (unless 
excluded by one of the exclusions contained in this 
definition) or that exhibit any of the characteristics of 
hazardous waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903. 
Environmental media no longer contain a hazardous waste 
when concentrations remaining in the media are below 
RECAP Screening Standards (LAC 33:I.Chapter 13) and the 
media no longer exhibit any of the characteristics of 
hazardous waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903. However, 
land disposal restrictions (LAC 33:V.Chapter 22) apply to 
such environmental media even though the media may no 
longer contain a hazardous waste. 

e. Rebuttable Presumption for Used Oil. Used oil 
containing more than 1,000 ppm total halogens is presumed 
to be a hazardous waste because it has been mixed with 
halogenated hazardous waste listed in LAC 33:V.4901. 
Persons may rebut this presumption by demonstrating that 
the used oil does not contain hazardous waste (e.g., by using 
an analytical method from LAC 33:V.Chapter 49.Appendix 
A to show that the used oil does not contain significant 
concentrations of halogenated hazardous constituents listed 
in LAC 33:V.3105.Table 1). 
 i. The rebuttable presumption does not apply to 
metalworking oils/fluids containing chlorinated paraffins, if 
they are processed, through a tolling agreement, to reclaim 
metalworking oils/fluids. The presumption does apply to 
metalworking oils/fluids if such oils/fluids are recycled in 
any other manner or disposed. 
 ii. The rebuttable presumption does not apply to 
used oils contaminated with Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) 
removed from refrigeration units where the CFCs are 
destined for reclamation. The rebuttable presumption does 
apply to used oils contaminated with CFCs that have been 
mixed with used oil from sources other than refrigeration 
units. 

3. - 6.b.… 
* * *  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319  
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 
LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218 
(March 1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), 
LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 
(April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 
18:1375 (December 1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid 
and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 
1993), amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 
20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 
(September 1995), LR 22:814 (September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 
1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 
24:1688 (September 1998), LR 25:433 (March 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 1999), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:269 (February 2000), LR 26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 
(March 2001), LR 27:708 (May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 
28:1191 (June 2002), LR 29:318 (March 2003), LR 30: 

 
L. Hall Bohlinger 
Secretary  

0312#058 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Claiming Rule (LAC 35:XI.9905 and 9913) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts the following Emergency Rule 
effective August 18, 2003, and it shall remain in effect for 
120 days or until this Rule takes effect through the normal 
promulgation process, whichever comes first. 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it 
necessary to (1) readopt §9905 to ensure proper timing when 
claiming a horse, and (2) amend §9913 to protect the 
successful claimant's ownership at the moment the horse 
becomes a starter. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part XI.  Claiming Rules and Engagements 
Chapter 99. Claiming Rule 
§9905. Timing of Entering Next Claiming Race 

Note: This Section is being reinstated; it was repealed in 1996. 
A. Except as otherwise provided herein, a claimed horse 

shall not enter in starter, optional or claiming races for 30 
days after being claimed in a race in which the determining 
eligibility price is less than 25 percent more than the price at 
which the horse was claimed. The day claimed shall not 
count, but the following calendar day shall be the first day
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and the horse shall be entitled to enter whenever necessary 
so the horse may start on the 31st day following the claim 
for any claiming price. This provision shall not apply to 
starter handicaps in which the weight to be carried is 
assigned by the handicapper. A similar rule in other states 
will be recognized and enforced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 30:  
§9913. Vesting of Title; Tests 

A. Title to a claimed horse shall be vested in the 
successful claimant at the time the horse becomes a starter. 
The successful claimant shall then become the owner of the 
horse whether alive or dead, sound or unsound, or injured at 
any time after leaving the paddock, during the race or after. 
However, the successful claimant may request on the claim 
blank at the time he makes his claim that the horse be tested 
for the presence of equine infections anemia via a Coggins 
test. Should this tes t prove positive, it shall be cause for a 
horse to be returned to his previous owner and barred from 
racing in the state of Louisiana. The expense of the Coggins 
test and the maintenance of the horse during the period 
requested for the test shall be absorbed by the successful 
claimant. If such a test is requested the claimed horse will be 
sent to the retention barn of the Louisiana State Racing 
Commission where the state veterinarian will draw a blood 
sample, which sample shall be sent to a laboratory approved 
by the Louisiana Livestock Sanitary Board for the conduct 
of such test. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, amended by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:446 (December 1976), repromulgated LR 3:42 
(January 1977), LR 4:285 (August 1978), amended LR 5:136 (June 
1979), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Racing Commission LR 30:  

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

0312#013 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor  
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Penalty Guidelines (LAC 35:I.1797) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts the following Emergency Rule 
effective December 1, 2003, and it shall remain in effect for 
120 days or until this Rule takes effect through the norma l 
promulgation process, whichever comes first. 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it 
necessary to adopt this Rule to protect horse owners from 
inflexibility in penalties (mandatory purse redistribution to 
be changed to optional) for equine drug violations in classes 

4 and 5, particularly when the trainer, not the owner, should 
be held accountable. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 17. Corrupt and Prohibited Practices 
§1797. Penalty Guidelines 

A. - B.3. ... 
4. Classes IV and V: the trainer may be suspended for 

a period not more than 60 days and a fine of not less than 
$500 nor more than $1,500, or both, depending on the 
severity and number of violations occurring within a  
12-month period. The purse may be redistributed on referral 
to the commission at its discretion. 

a. On ordinary violation(s) of Classes IV or V 
within a 12-month period the trainer shall be fined $500 on 
the first violation; $1,000 on the second violation; $1,000 on 
the third and subsequent violations and referred to the 
commission. 

b. On extraordinary violation(s) of Classes IV or V 
in a manner that might affect the performance of a horse 
within a 12-month period the trainer shall be fined $1,000 on 
the first offense; $1,000 and referred to the commission for 
further action on second and subsequent violations. 

c. On gross violation(s) of Classes IV or V in a 
manner that intends to affect the performance of a horse the 
trainer shall be fined not less than $1,000 and referred to the 
commission for further action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 19:613 (May 
1993), amended by the Office of the Governor, Division of 
Administration, Racing Commission, LR 28:1014 (May 2002), LR 
30: 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

0312#014 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Durable Medical Equipment Progra m 
Motorized Wheelchairs  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for manual and motorized
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wheelchairs under the Durable Medical Equipment Program. 
The bureau promulgated an Emergency Rule to adopt new 
policy governing recipient qualifications for motorized 
wheelchairs (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 9). 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions contained in the September 21, 2002 Rule. This 
action is being taken to promote the health and welfare of 
Medicaid recipients by facilitating access to medically 
necessary motorized wheelchairs and thereby avoiding 
further deterioration of their physical functioning.  

Emergency Rule 
Recipient Criteria 

A. Motorized Wheelchairs 
1. For purposes of this rule, the term motorized shall 

have the same meaning as power, electric or any means of 
propulsion other than manual. Effective for dates of service 
on or after January 18, 2004, the recipient must meet all of 
the following criteria in order to be considered for a 
motorized wheelchair: 

a. the recipient must be non-ambulatory and have 
severe weakness of the upper extremities due to a 
neurological or muscular disease/condition; 

b. the recipient?s condition is such that without the 
use of a wheelchair, he/she would otherwise be bed or chair 
confined;  

c. the recipient?s condition is such that a wheelchair 
is medically necessary and he/she is unable to operate a 
wheelchair manually; and 

d. the recipient is capable of safely operating the 
controls for a motorized wheelchair.  
Prior Authorization 

A. All wheelchairs and modifications required to meet 
the needs of a particular recipient are subject to prior 
authorization. In addition, all requests must include the 
following documentation: 

1. a completed PA -01 form;  
2. a physician?s prescription for the wheelchair. The 

physician must specifically state whether the prescription is 
for a motorized wheelchair or a custom motorized 
wheelchair. Medical documentation from a physician is 
required to support the modifications for wheelchairs with 
specialized seating or individualized features; 

3. a seating evaluation performed in cooperation with 
a physical therapist or occupational therapist. The seating 
evaluation must include the following documentation: 

a. the appropriateness of the specific wheelchair 
requested and all modifications and/or attachments to the 
specific wheelchair and its ability to meet the recipient?s 
long-term medical needs. Options that are primarily 
beneficial in allowing the recipient to perform leisure or 
recreational activities are not covered;  

b. documentation that the recipient does not have 
the upper extremity function necessary to operate a manual 
wheelchair; and 

c. the dated signature of the physician who 
prescribed the motorized wheelchair and the dated signature 
of the physical or occupational therapist that participated in 
the seating evaluation; 

4. documentation that the recipient can safely operate 
the controls for a motorized wheelchair; 

a. the ability to safely operate the controls of a 
motorized wheelchair shall be verified by the notes and 

recommendation of the recipient?s physician, physical 
therapist, or occupational therapist; 

b. such documentation shall be dated and include 
the name and signature of the physician, physical therapist 
or occupational therapist who has determined that the 
recipient can safely operate the controls of the motorized 
wheelchair; 

c. it is not sufficient for a Medicaid provider of 
motorized wheelchairs to indicate that a recipient can safely 
operate the controls for a motorized wheelchair.  

B. A motorized wheelchair is covered if the recipient's 
condition is such that the requirement for a motorized 
wheelchair is long term (at least six months). Approval will 
be made for only one wheelchair at a time. Backup chairs, 
either motorized or manual, will be denied as not medically 
necessary. 
Repairs 

A. Repairs to motorized wheelchairs will be considered 
if the request is for basic repairs only, not for major 
modifications or reconstruction of the chair.  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at the Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0312#083 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
KidMed Services 

(LAC 50:XV.6701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing hereby 
adopts LAC 50:XV.6701 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
reimbursement for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment (EPSDT) KidMed Services under the 
Medicaid Program. The administrative simplification 
provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) requires national 
standards for electronic health care transactions and national 
identifiers for providers, health plans, and employers 
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(Federal Register, Volume 65, Number 160). In compliance 
with HIPAA requirements, the Bureau proposes to 
promulgate an emergency rule to require Medicaid providers 
performing EPSDT preventive screening services to submit 
specific information regarding KidMed services.  

This action is being taken to avoid federal sanctions by 
complying with the mandates of the Health Insurance 
Portability and Accountability Act. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will be revenue 
neutral for state fiscal year 2003-2004. 

Effective December 20, 2003, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing adopts the following procedures for 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
(EPSDT) KidMed Services in order to conform to HIPAA 
requirements. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and 

Treatment 
Chapter 67. KidMed 
§6701. General Provisions 

A. All providers of Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) preventive screening 
services shall be required to submit information to the 
Medicaid Program regarding recipient immunizations, 
referrals and health status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0312#081 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid Eligibility? Medically Needy  
Program? Incurred Deductions 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by the  
2002-2003 General Appropriation Act, which states: "The 
Secretary shall implement reductions in the Medicaid 
Program as necessary to control expenditures to the level 
approved in this schedule. The secretary is hereby directed to 
utilize various cost containment measures to accomplish 

these reductions, including but not limited to pre-
certification, pre-admission screening and utilization review, 
and other measures as allowed by federal law." This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and shall 
be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act 
or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule promulgating the Medicaid Eligibility Manual in its 
entirety by reference in May of 1996 (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 5). The department provides Medicaid 
coverage under the Medically Needy Program that is 
optional under Title XIX of the Social Security Act Section 
1902(a)(10) and 42 CFR Subpart D Section 435.300. The 
Medically Needy Program includes those individuals or 
families who meet all AFDC or SSI related categorical 
requirements and whose income is within the Medically 
Needy Income Eligibility Standard. It also includes those 
individuals or families whose resources fall within the 
categorical limits, but whose income is above the Medically 
Needy Income Eligibility Standard. These individuals or 
families having income in excess of the Medically Needy 
Income Eligibility Standard can reduce excess income by 
incurring medical and/or remedial care expenses. This 
method used for determining eligibility is referred to as 
spend-down. A state may choose to exclude from incurred 
expenses those bills for services furnished more than three 
months before the Medicaid application is filed for initial 
eligibility or in the case of a renewal more than three months 
before the first month of the new budget period or quarter of 
coverage. A state is required to deduct any current payment 
on such excluded expenses. 

In compliance with Executive Order MJF 02-29, the 
department amended the policy governing the consideration 
of incurred expenses in the eligibility determination process 
for the Medically Needy Program (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 1). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions contained in the 
January 1, 2003 Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a 
budget deficit in the medical assistance programs. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for applications filed on or after December 30, 

2003, and those cases in which the eligibility renewal is due 
on or after January 1, 2003, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends the provisions governing deductions for 
incurred medical expenses in the eligibility determination 
process for the Medically Needy Program. Those bills for 
necessary medical and remedial services furnis hed more 
than three months before the Medicaid application is filed or 
for renewals more than three months before the first month 
of a new budget period or quarter of coverage will be 
excluded as an incurred expense. Current payments on 
excluded expenses will be allowed as an incurred expense. 

Implementation of this Emergency Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
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for responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency 
Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review 
by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0312#084 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Services? Reimbursement Methodology 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Depart ment of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for non-emergency medical 
transportation services. Reimbursement for these services is 
the base rate established by the bureau minus the amount 
which any third party coverage would pay.  

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2003 Regular Session, the bureau 
increased the reimbursement fees for certain designated 
procedures (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 7). The 
bureau subsequently promulgated an Emergency Rule to 
clarify provisions contained in the August 1, 2003 
Emergency Rule (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 
9). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue 
the provisions contained in the September 12, 2003 Rule. 
This action is necessary to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs that could result from the 
failure to clarify the intent of the reimbursement changed in 
the August 1, 2003 Emergency Rule. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after January 11, 2004, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
August 1, 2003 Emergency Rule to clarify the intent of 
provisions contained in the Emergency Rule.  
Non-emergency medical transportation provided by friends 
and family is not included in the August 1, 2003 
reimbursement increase. These services shall continue to be 
reimbursed at rates in effect on July 31, 2003. 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0312#085 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
Physician Services 

Reimbursement Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing reimburses 
professional services in accordance with an established fee 
schedule for Physicians' Current Procedural Terminology 
(CPT) codes, locally assigned codes and Health Care 
Financing Administration Common Procedure Codes 
(HCPC). Reimbursement for these services is a flat fee 
established by the bureau minus the amount which any third 
party coverage would pay. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2000 Second Extraordinary Session, 
the Bureau restored a seven percent reduction to the 
reimbursement rates for selected locally assigned HCPCS 
and specific CPT-4 procedure codes. In addition, the 
reimbursement fees for certain CPT-4 designated procedure 
codes were increased (Louisiana Register, Volume 27, 
Number 5). The bureau subsequently promulgated a rule to 
increase the reimbursement for certain designated CPT 
procedure codes related to speciality services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 28, Number 8). As a result of the allocation 
of additional funds by the Legislature during the 2003 
Regular Session, the bureau has determined it is necessary to 
increase reimbursement for selected CPT surgical and 
medical codes. This action is being taken to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
sufficient provider participation in the Professional Services 
Program and recipient access to providers of these medically 
necessary services. It is estimated that implementation of 
this Emergency Rule will increase expenditures for 
physician services by approximately $2,500,000 for state 
fiscal year 2003-2004. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2004, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement paid to physicians for surgical and medical 
services provided to Medicaid recipients.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 12   December 20, 2003 2621

Pediatric Surgery Services 
A. Services include selected surgery services provided 

by the primary servicing physician to Medicaid recipients 
from 11 through 15 years of age. Physicians? Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) surgical procedure codes 
(10021-69990) shall be reimbursed at 100 percent of the 
Medicare Region 99 allowable for 2002, except for 
procedure codes on file that are in non-pay status, procedure 
codes for deliveries (59410) and (59415) or those payable 
with a fee greater than 100 percent of the Medicare Region 
99 allowable for 2002. 

B. Surgical services modified with modifier 63 
(procedure performed on infants less than 4 kg) shall be 
reimbursed at 125 percent of the fee on file. 
Pediatric Medical Services 

A. Services include selected medical services provided 
by the primary servicing physician to Medicaid recipients 
from birth through 15 years of age. Physicians? Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) medical procedure codes 
(90918-99199) shall be reimbursed at 100 percent of the 
Medicare Region 99 allowable for 2002, except for 
procedure codes on file that are in non-pay status, procedure 
codes for conscious sedation (99141) and (99142) or those 
payable with a fee greater than 100 percent of the Medicare 
Region 99 allowable for 2002. 

Implementation of this Emergency Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. Interested persons may submit written 
comments to Ben A. Bearden, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. 
He is responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0312#082 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Public Nursing Facilities? Reimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:VII.1309) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 694 of the 2001 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature mandated that the Department of Health and 
Hospitals establish a case-mix reimbursement methodology 
for nursing homes. In accordance with Act 694, the bureau 
repealed the June 20, 1984 Rule and established a new 
reimbursement methodology based on a case-mix  

price-based reimbursement system for private and public 
nursing facilities (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 
8). The department subsequently promulgated an Emergency 
Rule revising the reimbursement methodology for state-
operated nursing facilities in order to reimburse these 
facilities in accordance with the Medicare upper payment 
limit (Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 11). The 
bureau amended the provisions contained in the August 20, 
2002 Rule governing the reimbursement methodology for 
public nursing facilities. In addition the bureau repealed the 
October 14, 2002 Emergency Rule (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 29, Number 1). 

This action is being taken to enhance federal revenue. This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions contained in the January 1, 2003 Rule. 

Effective for dates of services on or after December 30, 
2003, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals the 
October 14, 2002 Emergency Rule and amends the 
provisions contained in the August 20, 2002 Rule governing 
the reimbursement methodology for public nursing facilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH? MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care Services 
Subpart 1.  Nursing Facilities 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1309. State -Owned or Operated and Nonstate 

Government-Owned or Operated Facilities 
A. Nonstate government-owned or operated nursing 

facilities will be paid a prospective reimbursement rate. Each 
facility will receive a Medicaid base rate calculated in 
accordance with other sections of this Rule. Nonstate 
government-owned or operated nursing facilities may also 
receive a supplemental Medicaid payment on a quarterly 
basis. The aggregate supplemental payments for these 
facilities, calculated on a quarterly basis, will be the state's 
best estimate of what nonstate government-owned or 
operated facilities would be paid under Medicare's 
prospective payment system for skilled nursing facilities less 
the aggregate Medicaid base payments for these facilities. 
The acuity measurements used in the supplemental Medicaid 
payment calculations will be the acuity of each facility's 
Medicaid residents, as determined under Medicare's 44 RUG 
classification methodology. Adjustments to the aggregate 
supplemental Medicaid payments will be made to account 
for differences in coverage between the Medicare and 
Medicaid programs. 

B. State-owned or operated nursing facilities will be paid 
a prospective reimbursement rate. The payment rate for each 
of these facilities will be calculated on a quarterly basis and 
shall be the greater of the state's best estimate of what the 
facility would be paid under Medicare prospective payment 
system for skilled nursing facilities or the nursing facility's 
allowable cost from the most recent filed Medicaid cost 
report trended forward to the midpoint of the rate year using 
the index factor. The acuity measurements used in the 
quarterly rate calculations will be the acuity of each facility's 
Medicaid residents, as determined under Medicare's 44 RUG 
classification methodology. Adjustments to these gross 
Medicare prospective payment rates will be made to account 
for differences in coverage between the Medicare and 
Medicaid programs. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, R.S. 46:2742, and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1475 (June 2002), repromulgated LR 
28:1793 (August 2002), amended LR 30: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Emergency Rule 
shall be delayed until January 31, 2003 and will be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Ben 
A. Bearden at Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. 
Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible 
for responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
David W. Hood 
Secretary 

0312#086 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 
Tax Commission 

Ad Valorem Taxation  
(LAC 61.V.303, 309, 703, 907, 1103, 1503, 2503, 2703, 

2705, 2707, 2711, 2713, 2717, 3101, 3105, and 3501) 

The Louisiana Tax Commission, at its meeting of August 
25, 2003, exercised the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to its authority under R.S. 47:1837, adopted the following 
additions, deletions and amendments to the Real/Personal 
Property Rules and Regulations. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary in order for ad valorem 
tax assessment tables to be disseminated to property owners 
and local tax assessors no later than the statutory valuation 
date of record of January 1, 2004. Cost indexes required to 
finalize these assessment tables are not available to this 
office until late October 2003. The effective date of this 
Emergency Rule is January 1, 2004. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 
Part V.  Ad Valorem Taxation 

Chapter 3. Real and Personal Property 
§303. Real Property 

A. - B. ... 
1. Improvements shall be added to the rolls based 

upon the condition of things existing on January 1 of each 
year (except Orleans Parish). New improvements for 
Orleans Parish shall be added to the next year's tax roll, 
based upon the condition of things existing on August 1 of 
each year. Value of the improvements will be indexed to the 
date of the last reappraisal. 

B.2. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 7:44 (February 1981), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 9:69 
(February 1983), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:764 (December 

1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:611 (June 1991), LR 
21:186 (February 1995), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 (March 
2000), LR 29:367 (March 2003), LR 30:  
§309. Tax Commission Miscellaneous Forms  

A. - C. ... 
D. TC Forms C01, C02, C03, C04A and C04B, should 

be used to electronically process change order requests 
submitted by tax assessor's offices. 

1. All change order forms TC-21, Alpha 4 
(Electronic), and/or LTC web site format shall be submitted 
in accordance with the provisions of Title 47, Sections 1835, 
1966, 1990 and 1991. The assessor shall provide each 
affected taxpayer with a copy of any change order that has 
been issued. 

E. - F. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1712, R.S. 47:1835, R.S. 47:1837, R.S. 47:1966, R.S. 47:1990, 
R.S. 47:1991 and R.S. 47:2326. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 21:186 (February 
1995), amended LR 22:117 (February 1996), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:479 (March 
1998), LR 27: 424 (March 2001), LR 28:517 (March 2003), LR 30:  
Chapter 7. Watercraft 
§703. Tables? Watercraft  

A. Floating Equipment? Motor Vessels  
 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life  
12 Years  

Year Index Effective 
Age  

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2003 .995 1 94 .94 
2002 1.012 2 87 .88 
2001 1.018 3 80 .81 
2000 1.027 4 73 .75 
1999 1.045 5 66 .69 
1998 1.048 6 58 .61 
1997 1.057 7 50 .53 
1996 1.074 8 43 .46 
1995 1.091 9 36 .39 
1994 1.130 10 29 .33 
1993 1.162 11 24 .28 
1992 1.184 12 22 .26 
1991 1.199 13 20 .24 

 
B. Floating Equipment? Barges (Non-Motorized) 
 

Cost Index 
Average  

Average Economic Life  
20 Years  

Year Index Effective 
Age  

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2003 .995 1 97 .97 
2002 1.012 2 93 .94 
2001 1.018 3 90 .92 
2000 1.027 4 86 .88 
1999 1.045 5 82 .86 
1998 1.048 6 78 .82 
1997 1.057 7 74 .78 
1996 1.074 8 70 .75 
1995 1.091 9 65 .71 
1994 1.130 10 60 .68 
1993 1.162 11 55 .64 
1992 1.184 12 50 .59 
1991 1.199 13 45 .54 
1990 1.223 14 40 .49 
1989 1.256 15 35 .44 
1988 1.323 16 31 .41 
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1987 1.379 17 27 .37 
1986 1.399 18 24 .34 
1985 1.413 19 22 .31 
1984 1.434 20 21 .30 
1983 1.473 21 20 .29 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:924 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:204 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:479 (March 1998), LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 
(March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), 
LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 30:  
Chapter 9. Oil and Gas Properties 
§907. Tables–Oil and Gas 

A. ... 
1. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1? North 

Louisiana 
 

Producing Depths Cost – New 
By depth, per foot 

15% of Cost - New 
by depth, per foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 – 1,249 ft. 13.61 38.78 2.04 5.82 

1,250 – 2,499 ft. 13.54 22.68 2.03 3.40 
2,500 – 3,749 ft. 16.46 20.35 2.47 3.05 
3,750 – 4,999 ft. 20.09 25.06 3.01 3.76 
5,000 – 7,499 ft. 25.20 25.01 3.78 3.75 
7,500 – 9,999 ft. 35.74 35.38 5.36 5.31 

10,000 – 12,499 ft. 47.55 44.67 7.13 6.70 
12,500 – Deeper ft. N/A 77.26 N/A 14.59 

 
2. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells Region 2? South 

Louisiana 
 

Producing Depths Cost – New  
by depth, per foot 

15% of Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 – 1,249 ft. 66.58 92.73 9.99 13.91 

1,250 – 2,499 ft. 66.22 124.84 9.93 18.73 
2,500 – 3,749 ft. 73.23 102.78 10.98 15.42 
3,750 – 4,999 ft. 47.12 76.04 7.07 11.41 
5,000 – 7,499 ft. 75.30 73.24 11.30 10.99 
7,500 – 9,999 ft. 88.46 77.47 13.27 11.62 

10,000 – 12,499 ft. 96.34 87.88 14.45 13.18 
12,500 – 14,999 ft. 92.51 108.85 13.88 16.33 
15,000 – 17,499 ft. 142.72 135.14 21.41 20.27 
17,500 – 19,999 ft. 109.17 164.69 16.38 24.70 
20,000 – Deeper ft. 163.52 243.97 24.53 36.60 

 
3. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 3? Offshore 

State Waters* 
 

Producing Depths Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

15% of Cost – New 
by depth, per foot 

  $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0 – 1,249 ft. N/A N/A N/A N/A 

1,250 – 2,499 ft. 363.54 494.92 54.53 74.24 
2,500 – 3,749 ft. 272.56 369.11 40.88 55.37 
3,750 – 4,999 ft. 279.91 406.55 41.99 60.98 
5,000 – 7,499 ft. 231.95 239.64 34.79 35.95 
7,500 – 9,999 ft. 224.79 214.19 33.72 32.13 

10,000 – 12,499 ft. 229.55 220.43 34.43 33.06 
12,500 – 14,999 ft. 227.13 209.90 34.07 31.49 
15,000 – 17,499 ft. 189.70 243.52 28.46 36.53 
17,500 – Deeper ft. N/A 310.10 N/A 46.52 

*As classified by Louisiana Office of Conservation. 
 
B. - B.1. ... 

2. Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 
 

Year Beginning Serial 
Number 

Ending Serial 
Number 

25 Year Life 
Percent 
Good 

2003 227742 Higher 96 
2002 226717 227741 92 
2001 225352 226716 88 
2000 223899 225351 84 
1999 222882 223898 80 
1998 221596 222881 76 
1997 220034 221595 72 
1996 218653 220033 68 
1995 217588 218652 64 
1994 216475 217587 60 
1993 215326 216474 56 
1992 214190 215325 52 
1991 212881 214189 48 
1990 211174 212880 44 
1989 209484 211173 40 
1988 207633 209483 36 
1987 205211 207632 32 
1986 Lower 205210 30* 
VAR. 900000 Higher 50 

*Reflects residual or floor rate. 
 

* * * 
3. Adjustments for Allowance of Economic 

Obsolescence 
a. All wells producing 10 bbls oil or 100 mcf gas, 

or less, per day, as well as, all active service wells (i.e. 
injection, salt water disposal, water source, etc.) shall be 
allowed a 40 percent reduction. Taxpayer shall provide the 
assessor with proper documentation to claim this reduction. 

B.3.b. - C.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2326. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 
1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), 
LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission. LR 24:480 (March 1998), LR 25:313 
(February 1999), LR 26:507 (March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 
2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 30: 
Chapter 11. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment 
§1103. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment Tables 

A. Land Rigs  
 

Depth "0" To 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $  $  
3,000 351,200 52,700 
4,000 422,000 63,300 
5,000 502,500 75,400 
6,000 583,000 87,500 
7,000 762,500 114,400 
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Depth 8,000 To 10,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $  $  
8,000 975,000 146,300 
9,000 1,209,500 181,400 

10,000 1,510,000 226,500 
Depth 11,000 To 15,000 Feet 

Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 
  $  $  

11,000 1,810,500 271,600 
12,000 1,934,000 290,100 
13,000 1,998,500 299,800 
14,000 2,167,200 325,100 
15,000 2,648,500 397,300 

Depth 16,000 To 20,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $  $  
16,000 3,129,000 469,400 
17,000 3,612,900 541,900 
18,000 4,096,600 614,500 
19,000 4,525,500 678,800 
20,000 4,790,000 718,500 

Depth 21,000 + Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $  $  
21,000 5,054,500 758,200 

25,000 + 6,112,500 916,900 

 
B. Jack-Ups 
 

Type 
Water Depth  

Rating 
Fair Market 

Value Assessment 

IC 0-199 FT. $ 13,500,000 $ 2,025,000 
  200-299 FT. 20,000,000 3,000,000 
  300- Up FT. 50,000,000 7,500,000 
        

IS 0-199 FT. 15,000,000 2,250,000 
  200-299 FT. 25,000,000 3,750,000 
  300- Up FT. 30,000,000 4,500,000 
        

MC 0-199 FT 5,000,000 750,000 
  200-299 FT. 10,000,000 1,500,000 
  300- Up FT. 20,670,000 3,100,500 
        

MS 0-249 FT. 10,500,000 1,575,000 
  250- Up FT. 20,670,000 3,100,500 

 
* * * 

C. ... 
D. Well Service Rigs Land Only (Good Condition) 
 

Class Mast Engine Fair Market 
Value Assessment 

I 72'X 125M# 
75' X 150M# 

6V71 161,875 24,280 

II 96' X 150M# 
96' X 180M# 
96' X 185M# 
96' X 205M# 
96' X 210M# 
96' X 212M# 
96' X 215M# 

8V71 210,875 31,600 

III 96' X 240M# 
96' X 250M# 
96' X 260M# 
102' X 215M# 

8V92 209,125 31,400 

IV 102' X 224M# 
102' X 250M# 
103' X 225M# 
103' X 250M# 
104' X 250M# 
105' X 225M# 
105' X 250M# 

12V71 259,875 39,000 

V 105' X 280M# 
106' X 250M# 
108' X 250M# 
108' X 260M# 
108' X 268M# 
108' X 270M# 
108' X 300M# 

12V71 
12V92 

285,250 42,800 

VI 110' X 250M# 
110' X 275M# 
112' X 300M# 
112' X 350M# 

12V71 
(2) 

8V92 

329,875 49,500 

VII 117' X 215M# (2) 
8V92 

(2) 
12V71 

422,625 63,400 

 
* * * 

Note: These tables assume complete rigs in good condition. If 
it is documented to the assessor that any rig is incomplete or is 
in less than good condition, these amounts should be adjusted. 

* * * 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:939 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), 
LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 24:487 (March 1998), LR 25:315 (February 
1999), LR 26:508 (March 2000), LR 27:426 (March 2001), LR 
28:519 (March 2002), LR 30:  
Chapter 15. Aircraft 
§1503. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) Table 

A. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 
 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life  
(10 Years) 

Year Index Effective  
Age  

Percent 
Good 

Composite  
Multiplier 

2003 .995 1 92 .92 
2002 1.012 2 84 .85 
2001 1.018 3 76 .77 
2000 1.027 4 67 .69 
1999 1.045 5 58 .61 
1998 1.048 6 49 .51 
1997 1.057 7 39 .41 
1996 1.074 8 30 .32 
1995 1.091 9 24 .26 
1994 1.130 10 21 .24 
1993 1.162 11 20 .23 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:206 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 
(March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), 
LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 30:  
Chapter 25. General Business Assets  
§2503. Tables Ascertaining Economic Lives, Percent 

Good and Composite Multipliers of Business 
and Industrial Personal Property 

A. ... 
* * * 

B. Cost Indices 
 

Year Age  
National 
Average  

1926 = 100 

January 1, 
2003 = 100* 

2003 1 1118.6 .995 
2002 2 1100.0 1.012 
2001 3 1093.4 1.018 
2000 4 1084.3 1.027 
1999 5 1065.0 1.045 
1998 6 1061.8 1.048 
1997 7 1052.7 1.057 
1996 8 1036.0 1.074 
1995 9 1020.4 1.091 
1994 10 985.0 1.130 
1993 11 958.0 1.162 
1992 12 939.8 1.184 
1991 13 928.5 1.199 
1990 14 910.2 1.223 
1989 15 886.5 1.256 
1988 16 841.4 1.323 
1987 17 806.9 1.379 
1986 18 795.4 1.399 
1985 19 787.9 1.413 
1984 20 776.4 1.434 
1983 21 755.8 1.473 
1982 22 742.4 1.499 
1981 23 709.2 1.570 
1980 24 642.8 1.732 
1979 25 584.4 1.905 
1978 26 534.7 2.082 

*Reappraisal Date: January 1, 2003 – 1113.1 (Base Year) 
 

 
 
C. ... 
D. Composite Multipliers 2004 (2005 Orleans Parish) 
 

Age  3 Yr 5 Yr 8 Yr 10 Yr 12 Yr 15 Yr 20 Yr 25 Yr 
1 .70 .85 .90 .92 .94 .95 .97 .98 
2 .50 .70 .80 .85 .88 .91 .94 .96 
3 .35 .53 .68 .77 .81 .87 .92 .95 
4 .21 .35 .55 .69 .75 .81 .88 .92 
5   .24 .45 .61 .69 .76 .86 .91 
6   .21 .35 .51 .61 .71 .82 .88 
7     .27 .41 .53 .66 .78 .86 
8     .24 .32 .46 .59 .75 .84 
9     .22 .26 .39 .53 .71 .82 

10       .24 .33 .49 .68 .80 
11       .23 .28 .43 .64 .79 
12         .26 .37 .59 .76 
13         .24 .31 .54 .72 
14           .28 .49 .68 
15           .26 .44 .65 
16           .26 .44 .64 
17             .37 .61 
18             .34 .55 
19             .31 .48 
20             .30 .43 
21             .29 .38 
22               .34 
23               .33 
24               .35 
25               .38 
26               .42 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 10:944 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:207 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:317 
(February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 
2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 30: 
Chapter 27. Guidelines for Application, Classification 

and Assessment of Land Eligible to be 
Assessed at Use Value 

§2703. Eligibility Requirements and Application for Use 
Value Assessment 

A. ... 
1. meet the definition of bona fide agricultural, 

horticultural, marsh or timberland as described in Section 
2302 of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 
and the eligibility requirements of R.S. 47:2303; and 

A.2 - B.1. ... 
2. the landowner must sign an agreement that the land 

will be devoted to one or more of the designated uses as 
defined in Section 2302 of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950 and meet the eligibility requirements of 
R.S. 47:2303. 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA 

Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
25:318 (February 1999), LR 26:510 (March 2000), LR 30:  

§2705. Classification 
A. - B. ... 
 

Vernon 
 
C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA – 

Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:208 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 25:318 (February 1999), LR 26:510 (March 
2000), LR 27:428 (March 2001), LR 28:521 (March 2002), LR 
29:372 (March 2003), LR 30:  
§2707. Map Index Table 

A. Listing of General Soil Maps and Modern Soil 
Surveys for the State of Louisiana Published by U.S. Dept. 
of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service in 
Cooperation with Louisiana Agricultural Experiment Station 

 

Parish Date 
(General) 

Map No. 
(General) 

Date Published 
or Status(Modern) 

* * *  
Bienville Nov., 1971 4-R-16791-B August, 2003 

* * *  
Jeff Davis Jan., 1970 4-R-28746-A September, 2003 

* * *  
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:2301 and R.S. 47:2308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 3:290 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:946 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:208 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:511 
(March 2000), LR 27:428 (March 2001), LR 28:521 (March 2002), 
LR 29:372 (March 2003), LR 30:  

 
 
§2711. Tables? Agricultural and Horticultural Lands  

     * * * 
A. Weighted Average Income Per Acre 1999 - 2002 
 

Commodity Acres Percent Net 
Income 

Weighted 
Fractional 

Beef ** 2,335,838 37.298 (27.22) -0- 
Soybeans (Wheat) * 845,000 13.493 (16.36) -0- 
Cotton 678,750 10.838 (44.37) -0- 
Rice (Crawfish) * 548,250 8.754 69.19 605.67 
Sugarcane 456,250 7.285 205.39 1,496.33 
Corn 403,750 6.447 (43.67) -0- 
Idle Crop *** 362,516 5.789   -0- 
Grain Sorghum 217,500 3.473 (10.90) -0- 
Conservation Reserve 200,899 3.208 43.73 140.29 
Dairy ** 171,466 2.738 (126.61) -0- 
Sweet Potatoes 23,500 0.375 210.87 79.13 
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Commodity Acres Percent Net 
Income 

Weighted 
Fractional 

Catfish 13,466 0.215 (72.71) -0- 
Watermelon 2,975 0.047 (292.79) -0- 
Southern Peas 1,561 0.025 341.93 8.52 
Tomatoes 562 0.009 10,841.73 97.21 
Strawberries 388 0.006 9,779.33 60.51 
Total 6,262,669 100.000 --- 2,487.65 

Weighted Average Net Income - $24.88 
 
  
    

* * * 
B. Suggested Capitalization Rate for Agricultural and 

Horticultural Lands 
 

Risk Rate 1.86% 
Illiquidity Rate 0.09% 
Safe Rate * 5.68% 
Capitalization Rate ** 7.63% 

 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:2301 through R.S. 47:2308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 17:1213 (December 
1991), LR 22:117 (February 1996), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 26:511 (March 2000), LR 30:  
§2713. Assessment of Timberland 

A. - C.4. ... 
D. Production Costs of Timberland. The average 

timberland production costs are hereby established to be 
$10.46/acre/year. 

E. Gross Returns of Timberland. The gross value per 
cubic foot of timber production is hereby established to be 
$0.81/cubic/foot. 

F. Capitalization Rate for Timberland. The capitalization 
rate for determining use value of timberlands is hereby 
established to be as follows. 

 
Timberland Class 1, 2, and 3 Class 4 

Risk Rate 0.97% 4.47% 
Illiquidity Rat e 0.10% 3.60% 

Safe Rate 5.68% 5.68% 
Other Factors 5.55% 5.55% 
Capitalization 

Rate 
12.30% 19.30% 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:2301 through R.S. 47:2308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:248 (April 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 22:117 (February 1996), amended 
by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 26:511 
(March 2000), LR 30:  
§2717. Tables? Use Value 

A. Average Assessed Value Per Acre of Agricultural and 
Horticultural Land, by Class 

 

Assessed Value  Class 

Per Acre  
Upper 

Per Acre  
Lower 

Class I $34.79 $29.40 
Class II $29.19 $21.94 
Class III $21.52 $19.04 
Class IV $18.62 $12.40 

 
B. Average Assessed Value Per Acre of Timberland, by 

Class 
 

Class Assessed Value Per Acre  
Class 1 $40.52 
Class 2 $29.34 
Class 3 $13.95 
Class 4 $8.89 

 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:2301 through R.S. 47:2308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:248 (April 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:110 (February 1988), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 22:117 
(February 1996), LR 23:208 (February 1997), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:491 (March 
1998), LR 26:511 (March 2000), LR 30:  
Chapter 31. Public Exposure of Assessments; Appeals 
§3101. Public Exposure of Assessments, Appeals to the 

Board of Review and Board of Review Hearings 
A. - J. ... 

Form 3101 
Exhibit A 

Appeal to Board of Review 
By Taxpayer 

For Real and Personal Property 
* * * 

I feel that the Fair Market Value of this real property as of January 1, 
2003, the official reappraisal valuation date on which assessments are 
currently based was: 

* * * 
Form 3103.A 

Exhibit A 
Appeal To Louisiana Tax Commission 

By Taxpayer or Assessor 
For Real and Personal Property 

* * * 
I understand that property is assessed at a percentage of fair market 

value, which means the price for the property which would be agreed upon
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between a willing and informed buyer and a willing and informed seller, 
under usual and ordinary circumstances, the high est price the property 
would bring on the open market, if exposed for sale for a reasonable time. I 
feel that the Fair Market Value of this real property, as of January 1, 2003, 
the official reappraisal valuation date on which assessments are based, was: 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA-

Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:512 (March 2000), LR 30: 
§3105. Practice and Procedure for Public Service 

Properties Hearings 
A. - S. ... 

Form 3105.A 
Exhibit A 

Appeal To Louisiana Tax Commission 
By Taxpayer or Assessor 

For Public Service Property 
* * * 

I feel that the Fair Market Value of this real property, as of January 1, 
2003, the official reappraisal valuation date on which assessments are 
currently based, was: 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 4:339 (September 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:947 
(November 1984), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 23:209 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:493 (March 1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 
(March 2000), LR 30: 
Chapter 35. Miscellaneous 
§3501. Service Fees? Tax Commission 

A. The Tax Commission is authorized by R.S. 47:1838 to 
levy and collect fees on an interim basis for the period 
beginning on July 1, 2003 and ending on June 30, 2004, in 
connection with services performed by the Tax Commission 
as follows: 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1835 and R.S. 47:1838. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 19:212 (February 
1993), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:494 (March 
1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 (March 2000), LR 
28:521 (March 2002), LR 30:  

 
Russell R. Gaspard 
Chairman 

0312#103 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Treasury 
Board of Trustees of the  

Louisiana State Employees' Retirement System 

Self-Directed Plan (LAC 58:I.Chapter 39) 

Under the authority of R.S. 11:515 and in accordance with 
R.S. 49:951 et seq., the Department of the Treasury, Board 
of Trustees of the Louisiana State Employees' Retirement 
System ("LASERS") advertises its intent to enact LAC 
58:I.3901 through 3931. 

This emergency enactment is made necessary by the 
passage into law of Act 818 of the Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. That Act established the Self-Directed 
Plan ("SDP"), a new form of the Deferred Retirement Option 
Plan ("DROP") already administered by LASERS. Act 818 
becomes effective January 01, 2004. These Rules are 
necessary to complete the implementation of the SDP. 

This Rule shall become effective on January 01, 2004, and 
shall remain in effect for 120 days. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part I.  State Employees' Retirement 
Chapter 39. The Self-Directed Plan 
§3901. SDP Provider 

A.  System shall procure a single provider, selected by a 
competitive process, for participants in the Self-Directed 
Plan ("SDP") to utilize in providing investment options for 
the deposits made during the accumulation period in the 
Deferred Retirement Option Plan ("DROP") or funds 
acquired through the Initial Benefit Option ("IBO"). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3903. Persons Vesting for DROP Prior to  

January 01, 2004 
A. Persons who became eligible for regular retirement 

prior to January 01, 2004 are eligible for participation in the 
SDP. Those persons may make an irrevocable election to 
transfer their DROP funds into the SDP. The DROP or IBO 
participants electing to transfer their funds into the SDP 
must transfer their entire DROP or IBO balance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3905. Eligibility for Transfer of Funds into SDP 

A. The only funds which may be transferred into the 
SDP are LASERS DROP or IBO funds. Transfers or 
rollovers from other sources shall not be allowed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3907. Rollovers Out of SDP to Other Providers  

A. At all times after becoming eligible to withdraw funds 
from the SDP, DROP participants may elect to rollover funds 
to eligible providers. Such rollovers shall be subject to 
applicable Federal laws and the terms of the SDP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3909. Right to Recover Overpayments  

A. In the event of overpayment of funds are made by 
LASERS, then LASERS retains the ability at all times to 
recall funds from member at provider or to reduce future 
benefits pursuant to R.S. 11:192 to recover any such 
overpayment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3911. Time to Transfer Funds  

A. LASERS shall forward the entire deposit balance of a 
participant to the third party administrator within five 
working days from the end of the DROP accumulation 
period. LASERS may supplement or otherwise correct 
balances forwarded in those instances where there are errors, 
missing documents or incomplete reports submitted by 
agencies reporting earnings for the participant. 

B. For participants in the Initial Benefit Option (“IBO”) 
or for those DROP participants whose accumulation period 
is less than six mo nths, LASERS shall transfer 80 percent of 
the DROP/IBO balance within 45 days from the date of 
initial transfer into the SDP.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3913. Spousal Consent 

A. LASERS may halt the processing of a participant's 
request to enter the SDP until any spousal consent form 
required by law or proof of divorce has been presented to the 
system. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3915. Completion of Notification Form 

A. All DROP participants shall complete and submit a 
form (#9-2 or #9-2a) to inform LASERS that they are ending 
the accumulation period. This form shall be submitted at 
least 30 days prior to that date. Failure to submit this form 
could result in delaying access to DROP funds. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 

§3917. Distributions 
A. Distributions shall be in accordance with the 

provisions of Title 58, Part I, Chapter 27 of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3919. No In-Service Distribution 

A. Distributions prior to the date of termination from 
employment with the state of Louisiana are strictly 
prohibited in accordance with applicable Internal Revenue 
Code Provisions. The selected provider shall not make a 
distribution without a verification of termination from 
LASERS.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3921. Civil Service Reinstatement 

A. DROP participants who have been removed from 
state employment, then reinstated pursuant to a ruling by the 
Civil Service board, shall immediately notify LASERS in 
writing of their reinstatement, along with a projected date of 
retirement.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3923. Beneficiary 

A. Each participant shall initially designate a beneficiary 
or beneficiaries to receive any amounts which may be 
distributed in the event of the death of the participant prior to 
the complete distribution of benefits. A participant may 
change the designation of beneficiaries at any time by filing 
a written notice on a form approved by LASERS. If no such 
designation is in effect at the time of participant's death, or if 
the designated beneficiary does not survive the participant 
by 30 days, his beneficiary shall be his surviving spouse, if 
any, and then his estate  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3925. Investment Options  

A. LASERS shall in its sole discretion select certain 
investment options to be used to determine income to be 
accrued on deferrals. These investment options may include 
specified life insurance policies, annuity contracts, or 
investment media issued by an insurance company. In any 
event, it shall be the sole responsibility of LASERS to 
ensure that all investment options offered under the plan are 
appropriate and in compliance with any and all state laws 
pertaining to such investments.  

B. In the absence of a written directive from the 
participant, the provider shall automatically invest the 
participant's DROP funds in its discretion in an appropriate 
interim investment until specific investment directions are
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received. Such instructions regarding the delegation of 
investment responsibility shall remain in force until revoked 
or amended in writing by the participant. LASERS shall not 
be responsible for the propriety of any directed investment. 

C. LASERS may, from time to time, change the 
investment options under the plan. If LASERS eliminates a 
certain investment option, all participants who had chosen 
that investment shall select another option. If no new option 
is selected by the participant, money remaining in the 
eliminated investment option shall be moved at the direction 
of LASERS. The participants shall have no right to require 
LASERS to select or retain any investment option. To the 
extent permitted by and subject to any rules or procedures 
adopted by the administrator, a participant may, from time to 
time, change his choice of investment option. Any change 
with respect to investment options made by LASERS or a 
participant, however, shall be subject to the terms and 
conditions (including any rules or procedural requirements) 
of the affected investment options and may affect only 
income to be accrued after that change.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3927. Participant Investment Direction  

A. Participants shall have the option to direct the 
investment of their personal contributions and their share of 
any employer contributions among alternative investment 
options established as part of the overall SDP, unless 
otherwise specified by LASERS. A participant's right to 
direct the investment of any contribution shall apply only to 
making selections among the options made available under 
the SDP.  

B. Each participant shall designate on the proper form or 
via website or telephone direction the investment that shall 
be used to determine the income to be accrued on amounts 
deposited. If the investment chosen by the participant 
experiences a gain, the participant's benefits under the SDP 
likewise shall reflect income for that period. If the 
investment chosen by a participant experiences a loss, or if 
charges are made under such investment, the participant's 
benefits under the SDP likewise shall reflect such loss or 
charge for that period.  

C. Neither the state of Louisiana, LASERS, the 
administrator, nor any other person shall be liable for any 
losses incurred by virtue of following the participant's 
directions or with any reasonable administrative delay in 
implementing such directions.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3929. Distributions from the Plan  

A. The payment of benefits in accordance with the terms 
of the plan may be made by the trustee, or by any custodian 
or other person so authorized by LASERS to make such 
distribution. Neither LASERS, the trustee nor any other 
person shall be liable with respect to any distribution from 
the plan made at the direction of the employer or a person 
authorized by the employer to give disbursement direction.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 
§3931. Disclaimer  

A. LASERS makes no endorsement, guarantee or any 
other representation and shall not be liable to the plan or to 
any participant, beneficiary, or any other person with respect 
to:  

1. the financial soundness, investment performance, 
fitness, or suitability (for meeting a participant's objectives, 
future obligations under the plan, or any other purpose) of 
any investment option in which amounts deferred under the 
plan are actually invested; or  

2. the tax consequences of the plan to any participant, 
beneficiary or any other person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:511 and R.S. 11:515.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Treasury, Board of Trustees of the State Employees' Retirement 
System, LR 30: 

 
Robert L. Borden 
Executive Director 

0312#067 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2003 Fall Commercial Red Snapper Season Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
Secretary of the Department, by the Commission in its 
resolution of January 9, 2003, to close the 2003 fall 
commercial red snapper season in Louisiana state waters 
when he is informed that the designated portion of the 
commercial red snapper quota for the Gulf of Mexico has 
been filled, or projected to be filled, the Secretary hereby 
declares: 

Effective 12 noon, December 7, 2003, the commercial 
fishery for red snapper in Louisiana waters will close and 
remain closed until 12 noon, February 1, 2004. Nothing 
herein shall preclude the legal harvest of red snapper by 
legally licensed recreational fishermen. Effective with any 
commercial closure, no person shall commercially harvest, 
transport, purchase, barter, trade, sell or attempt to purchase, 
barter, trade or sell red snapper. Effective with the closure, 
no person shall possess red snapper in excess of a daily bag 
limit, whether taken from within or without Louisiana 
territorial waters. Provided however that fish in excess of the 
daily bag limit which were legally taken prior to the closure 
may be purchased, possessed, transported and sold by a 
licensed wholesale/retail dealer if appropriate records in 
accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and R.S. 56:306.6 are



Louisiana Register   Vol. 29, No. 12   December 20, 2003 2631

properly maintained, and those other than wholesale/retail 
dealers may purchase such fish in excess of the daily bag 
limit from wholesale/retail dealers for their own use or for 
sale by a restaurant as prepared fish. 

The secretary has been notified by National Marine 
Fisheries Service that the commercial red snapper season in 
Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico will close at 12 noon, 
December 7, 2003. Closing the season in State waters is 
necessary to provide effective rules and efficient 
enforcement for the fishery, to prevent overfishing of this 
species in the long term. 

 
James H. Jenkins, Jr. 
Secretary 

0312#005 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Little Lake Temporary Natural Reef 

In accordance with emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) and in 
accordance with R.S. 56:6(12) and R.S. 56:433, the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission and the Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries continue to declare and designate those water 
bottoms of Little Lake and vicinity in Jefferson and 
Lafourche Parishes more specifically described below to be 
a designated temporary natural reef. This area was originally 
declared as such at the August 6, 2003 Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission meeting through a Declaration of Emergency. 

Inasmuch as the Davis Pond Freshwater Diversion is 
anticipated to resume normal operations within 6 months, 
standard rulemaking procedures and timeframes would leave 
little, if any, time for an orderly and efficient harvest of this 
resource. Therefore, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
and the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries continue to 
hereby declare the water bottoms of Little Lake and vicinity 
in Jefferson and Lafourche parishes as described below a 
designated temporary natural reef:  

Beginning at the point on the western bank of the 
Barataria Waterway, latitude of 29o 34? 40?  North, longitude 
90o 03' 35.070? West; thence southerly along the western 
bank of the Barataria Waterway to a point, latitude 29o 30? 
27.226? North, longitude 90o 01? 25.438? West; thence 
southwesterly to a point, latitude 29o 26? 37.361? North, 
longitude 90o 07? 26.119? West; thence northwesterly to a 
point, latitude 29o 28? 50.000? North, longitude 90o 11? 
40.000? West; thence North to a point, latitude 29o 34? 

40.000? North, longitude 90o 11? 40.000? West; thence East 
to the point of beginning. 

All statutes, regulations, and policies pertaining to the use 
of public oyster grounds will be in force in this temporary 
natural reef with the exception of any additional mitigation 
requirements levied from time to time for construction, oil 
and gas exploration, or pipeline construction activities. 

This Declaration of Emergency will become effective on 
January 1, 2004, and shall remain in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or 
until revocation by the commission and the department. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0312#004 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Spotted Seatrout Recreational Harvest 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967, 
R.S. 56:326.3 which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission may set size limits for saltwater finfish, and 
R.S. 56:325.1(A)2 and B; the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby adds the following rule for the 
recreational harvest of spotted seatrout to be effective 12:01 
a.m., Monday, December 29, 2003: 

Except as provided in R.S. 56:325.1, within those areas of 
the state, including coastal territorial waters, south of 
Interstate 10 from its junction at the Texas-Louisiana 
boundary eastward to its junction with Louisiana Highway 
171, south to Highway 14, and then south to Holmwood, and 
then south on Highway 27 through Gibbstown south to 
Louisiana Highway 82 at Creole and south on Highway 82 
to Oak Grove, and then due south to the western shore of the 
Mermentau River, following this shoreline south to the 
junction with the Gulf of Mexico, and then due south to the 
limit of the state territorial sea, no person shall possess, 
regardless of where taken, more than five spotted seatrout 
exceeding 25 inches total length. The spotted seatrout 
exceeding 25 inches in length shall be considered as part of 
the daily recreational bag limit and possession limit. 

 
Terry D. Denmon 
Chairman 

0312#003 
 

 


	Louisiana Register
	Table of Contents
	Executive Orders
	Rules
	Notices of Intent
	Potpourri
	Index


