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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Forestry 

Forest Landowner Assistance (LAC 7:XXXIX.701) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and under 
the authority of R.S. 3:4274 and R.S. 3:3, the Commissioner 
of Agriculture and Forestry amends the rules and regulations 
for the adjustment of the fee schedule for certain forest 
management services provided by the Office of Forestry. 

The amendment of this Section increases fees for certain 
forest management services provided to private landowners 
by the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of Forestry by $30 per hour with a minimum of one 
hour for forest management services. The fee for tractor 
work will increase from $70 an hour, with a minimum of one 
hour, to $100 an hour with a minimum of one hour. 

This Rule is enabled by R.S. 3:4276. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXXIX.  Forestry 

Chapter 7. Forest Landowner Assistance 
§701. Management Service Fees 

A. The Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Forestry, shall, under the direction of the state forester, 
provide private landowners with assistance in the 
management of their forestlands.  

1. Basic Services. Performed on an as-requested basis 
in all Office of Forestry districts. 

 
a. Prescribed Burning Services 
  i. Reforestation  

(cutover areas) 
$25/acre plus $70/hour for 
fireline establishment  
$300 minimum charge 

  ii. Afforestation  
(pasture, etc.) 

$15/acre plus $70/hour for 
fireline establishment. 
$300 minimum charge. 

 iii.  Helicopter Assisted 
Burns 

$10/acre plus $70/hour for 
fireline establishment. 
$300 minimum charge. 

  iv.  Other Prescribed 
Burns (fuel reduction, 
hardwood control, 
wildlife habitat, etc.) 

$20/acre 
$300 minimum charge. 

   v.   Fireline Plowing Only $70/hour 
$100 minimum charge. 

b. Timber Marking $25/acre 
 

2. Special Services. Performed when approved on a 
case-by-case basis. 

 
a. Tree Planting* $46/acre 
b. Direct Seeding* $10/acre 
c. Light tractor (dozer) work 

[650 John Deere (or other 
brand of equal power) or less]  

$70/hour (1 hour minimum) 
 

d. Heavy tractor (dozer) work 
[over 650 John Deere or other 
brand of equal power] 

$100/hour (1 hour minimum) 
 

*Seedlings or seed not included.   
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:4276, R.S. 3: 4274 and R.S. 3:3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Forestry, LR 8:419 (August 1982), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Forestry, Forestry Commission, LR 11:1178 (December 1985), LR 
19:1414 (November 1993), LR 23:553 (May 1997), amended by 
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, LR 
32:1782 (October 2006). 

 
Bob Odom 
Commissioner 

0610#052 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for  
State Certification of School Personnel  

(LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapters 1-10) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education adopted Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel. Bulletin 746 will be 
printed in codified format as Part CXXXI of the Louisiana 
Administrative Code. This document replaces any 
previously advertised versions. Bulletin 746 has not been 
updated for many years; this revision will give clear, precise 
information on the guidelines for Louisiana certification. 
Bulletin 746 will assist individuals, principals, school 
districts, higher education personnel, and policy makers with 
policy adopted by the state board and will identify all 
certification guidelines for Louisiana school employees and 
administrators. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards  
for State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 1. Introduction 
§101. Purpose 

A. Certification is a licensing process whereby qualified 
professionals become legally authorized to teach or to 
perform designated duties in K-12 schools under the 
jurisdiction of the Louisiana Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (BESE). The certification process 
provides a systematic and nondiscriminatory procedure for 
the credentialing of teachers and other school personnel. 

B. Certification policies and statutes are designed to 
identify and support high quality teachers in all Louisiana 
classrooms; promote higher standards in the teaching
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profession; and provide for growth and development of the 
teaching profession. The Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education, implements and maintains teacher certification 
procedures as mandated by legislation and BESE policy. 

C. Certification policies are adopted and implemented in 
a manner, and with a timeline, that allows for smooth 
transition from old to new requirements. Any certification 
change made by the BESE shall include implementation 
dates to be specified at the time of recommendation to the 
BESE for action. In particular, changes in Praxis exam 
scores will allow for a 12-month period from the date of 
adoption by the BESE to the effective date. 

D. When revised certification policy requirements 
necessitate a program change at the college level, a notice 
shall be given to those institutions of higher education that 
have teacher preparation programs so that catalogs can be 
revised and incoming freshman can be notified of the 
changes. 

E. This bulletin will serve as a reference for current state 
policy relative to initial certification and to certification 
endorsement options for those who wish to become teachers, 
those who are practicing teachers, personnel from both 
school districts and institutions of higher education, and 
anyone else who may seek certification assistance.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1782 (October 2006). 
Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
§201. Overview 

A. Louisiana Revised Statutes 17:7 provides for the 
duties, functions, and responsibilities of the board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE). Specifically, 
17:7(6)(a)(i) states that BESE shall prescribe qualifications 
and provide for certification of teachers in accordance with 
applicable law, and that such qualifications and requirements 
shall ensure that certification shall be a reliable indicator of 
minimum current ability and proficiency of the teacher to 
educate at the grade level and in the subject(s) to which the 
teacher is assigned.  

B. Louisiana teacher preparation programs are jointly 
reviewed by the Louisiana Board of Regents and by the 
BESE in a program approval process that culminates in 
formal adoption of each approved program. The BESE first 
approves certification structures that specify minimum 
semester hours, types of coursework, and other guidelines to 
be included in a teacher preparation program. Louisiana 
institutions of higher education and private program 
providers then propose programs designed to these 
specifications for official approval by the state through the 
program approval process. For a listing of state-approved 
teacher preparation programs by grade level and content 
area, see the Teach Louisiana website at teachlouisiana.net. 

C. When a candidate has successfully completed a state-
approved program and met state testing and grade point 
average certification requirements, the program provider 
recommends the candidate for certification.  

NOTE: The Louisiana Department of Education will accept no 
final grade below a "C" in coursework within the approved 
undergraduate program, with the exception of the general 
education requirements. All coursework used for certification 

purposes must be for regular credit and not of a remedial or 
developmental nature.  

D. There are two types of teacher preparation programs:  
1. A traditional teacher preparation program is a 

Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science degree program that 
includes general education courses, a certification focus 
area, professional education courses, field experiences, and 
student teaching in a school setting. 

2. An alternate teacher preparation program is a 
pathway designed for candidates with a minimum of a 
baccalaureate degree earned at a regionally accredited 
institution. Applicants must demonstrate content mastery for 
admission to an alternate program, which combines 
professional knowledge with field experiences, including a 
student teaching experience or a one year supervised 
internship in a school setting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1783 (October 2006). 
Subchapter A. Traditional Teacher Preparation 

Programs 
§203. Introduction 

A. For the traditional teacher preparation program 
certification structures that BESE has adopted, the following 
notes apply. 

1. Students must spend a minimum of 270 clock hours 
in student teaching, with at least 180 of such hours spent in 
actual teaching. A substantial portion of the 180 hours shall 
be on an all-day basis. 

2. In addition to the student teaching experience, the 
student should be provided actual teaching experience (in 
addition to observations) in classroom settings during the 
sophomore, junior, and senior years within schools with 
varied socioeconomic and cultural characteristics. It is 
recommended that pre-service teachers be provided a 
minimum of 180 hours of direct teaching experience in field-
based settings prior to student teaching. 

3. Three of the flexible hours allowed in the program 
structure must be in the "humanities." This must occur to 
meet general education requirements for the board of 
regents. 

4. If students do not possess basic technology skills, 
they should be provided coursework or opportunities to 
develop those skills early in their program. 

5. Minimum credit hours have been listed. Programs 
may use the flexible hours to add more content hours to the 
various elements of the program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1783 (October 2006). 
§205. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades PK-3: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a teacher in grades pre-
kindergarten through third (PK-3) in the state of Louisiana, 
the focus is on the areas of Early Childhood, 
Reading/Language Arts, and Mathematics.  

1. General Education—39 semester hours: 
Requirements provide the prospective PK-3 teacher with 
basic essential knowledge and skills. 
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English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics   9 semester hours 
Sciences   9 semester hours 
Social studies   6 semester hours 
Arts   3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus on Early Childhood, Reading/Language Arts, 

and Mathematics—33 semester hours: Requirements provide 
a greater depth of knowledge in early childhood education. 

 
Nursery school and kindergarten coursework 12 semester hours 
Reading/language arts (Additional Content and 
Teaching Methodology) 12 semester hours 
Mathematics   9 semester hours 
Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on Early 
Childhood 15 semester hours  

 
a. Requirements provide the prospective PK-3 

teacher with a fundamental understanding of the learner and 
the teaching and learning process. Coursework should 
address the needs of the regular and the exceptional child, as 
follows: 
 i. child/adolescent development/psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

3. Methodology and Teaching—15 semester hours: 
Requirements provide the prospective PK-3 teacher with 
fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology    6 semester hours 
Student teaching    9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use   22 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1783 (October 2006). 
§207. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades 1-5: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a teacher in elementary grades 1-5 
in the state of Louisiana, the focus is on the areas of 
Reading/Language Arts and Mathematics. 

1. General Education―54 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective elementary grades 1-5 
teacher with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 15 semester hours 
Social studies 12 semester hours 
Arts   3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus on Reading/Language Arts and 

Mathematics―21 semester hours. Requirements provide the 
prospective elementary grades 1-5 teacher with fundamental 
pedagogical skills. 

 

Reading/language arts (additional content and 
teaching methodology) 12 semester hours 
Mathematics (additional content and teaching 
methodology)   9 semester hours 
Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on the 
Elementary School Student 15 semester hours  

 
a. Requirements provide the prospective elementary 

grades 1-5 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching and learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child, as follows: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

3. Methodology and Teaching: 15 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective elementary grade 1-5 
teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology    6 semester hours 
Student teaching    9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use   19 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1784 (October 2006). 
§209. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades 4-8: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a teacher in middle grades 4-8 in 
the state of Louisiana, the focus is on two in-depth teaching 
areas. 

1. General Education―54 semester hours. 
Requirements provide prospective middle grades 4-8 
teachers with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 15 semester hours 
Social Studies 12 semester hours 
Arts   3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area #1—19 hours total combined general 

education and focus area coursework. 
 

English 7 or more hours 
Mathematics 7 or more hours 
Social Studies 7 or more hours 
Science 4 or more hours 

 
3. Focus Area #2—19 hours total combined general 

education and focus area coursework. 
 

English 7 or more hours 
Mathematics 7 or more hours 
Social Studies 7 or more hours 
Science 4 or more hours 
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4. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on the Middle School 
Student―15 semester hours. 

a. Requirements provide the prospective middle 
grades 4-8 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching and learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child/adolescent development/psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

5. Methodology and Teaching―24 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective middle grades 4-8 
teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology    9 semester hours 
Reading    6 semester hours 
Student teaching    9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use  19 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1784 (October 2006). 
§211. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education Programs for Grades 6-12: Adopted 
May 24, 2001; Effective July 1, 2002 

A. For certification as a secondary teacher in grades 6-12 
in the state of Louisiana, the focus is on content, with a 
primary teaching area and a secondary teaching area. 

1. General Education―30 semester hours. 
Requirements provide prospective secondary grades 6-12 
teachers with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 6 semester hours 
Mathematics 6 semester hours 
Sciences 9 semester hours 
Social Studies 6 semester hours 
Arts 3 semester hours 

 
2. Primary Teaching Area―A total of 31 hours of 

combined general education and focus area coursework. 
These focus hours prepare a prospective secondary teacher 
of grades 6-12 in the content area essential to the primary 
certification area. 

 
English, Social Studies, or Mathematics 25 or more hours 

-or- 
Science 22 or more hours 

-or- 
Other focus areas 31 or more hours 

 
3. Secondary Teaching Area―A total of 19 hours of 

combined general education and focus area coursework. 
These focus hours prepare a prospective teacher of grades 6-
12 with the essential knowledge to be certified in a 
secondary teaching area. 

 
English, social studies, or mathematics 13 or more hours 

-or- 

Science 10 or more hours 
-or- 

Other focus areas 19 or more hours 
 
NOTE:  To achieve certification in the secondary teaching 
focus area, a candidate must either pass the content specialty 
Praxis exam or comply with endorsement guidelines for add-
on certification as specified in Chapter 6 of this bulletin. 

4. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on the Secondary School 
Student―15 semester hours. 

a. Requirements provide the prospective secondary 
grades 6-12 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching/learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

5. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective secondary grade 6-12 
teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Teaching methodology       6 semester hours 
Reading        3 semester hours 
Student teaching        9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use 17-26 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program     124 semester hours 
 
NOTE:  The following areas are approved primary teaching 
focus areas, to include a minimum of 31 semester hours of 
credit: Agriculture; Biology; Business; Chemistry; Computer 
Science; Earth Science; English; Environmental Science; 
Family and Consumer Sciences; a specific Foreign Language; 
General Science; Marketing; Mathematics; Physics; Social 
Studies; Speech; Technology Education. 
NOTE:  The following areas are approved secondary teaching 
focus areas, to include a minimum of 19 semester hours of 
credit: Biology; Business; Chemistry; Computer Science; 
Earth Science; English; Environmental Science; a specific 
Foreign Language; Journalism; Marketing; Mathematics; 
Physics; Social Studies; Speech. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1785 (October 2006). 
§213. College of Arts/Humanities/Sciences Degree 

Pathway to Secondary Education Certification 
(Grades 6-12): Adopted November 18, 2003; 
Effective January 1, 2004 

A. This certification structure identifies courses that 
candidates must complete if pursuing a degree through the 
College of Arts/Humanities/Sciences, with an education 
minor, to become certified to teach secondary grades 6-12. 

1. General Education―30 semester hours. These 
requirements provide prospective secondary grades 6-12 
teachers with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 6 semester hours 
Mathematics 6 semester hours 
Sciences 9 semester hours 
Social Studies 6 semester hours 
Arts 3 semester hours 
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2. Focus Areas—Content Area (semester hours can 
include general education coursework, if appropriate, and 
additional coursework)―31 semester hours. 

3. Focus Areas—Education―33 semester hours. 
a. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 

Environment with the Emphasis on the Secondary School 
Student―15 semester hours: 
 i. adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

b. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective secondary grades. 
 i. 6-12 teacher with fundamental pedagogical 
skills: 
 ii. teaching methodology (six semester hours); 
 iii. reading (three semester hours); 
 iv. student teaching (nine semester hours). 

4. Flexible hours for the university's use―30-39 
semester hours. The number of flexible hours is dependent 
upon the number of general education courses in English, 
mathematics, science, and social studies that can be applied 
toward the major. The number of hours for a content area 
focus should be a minimum of 31 hours, and the total 
curriculum (including flexible hours) should be 124 hours. 

5. Total required hours in the program 124 semester 
hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1785 (October 2006). 
§215. Minimum Requirements for Approved Regular 

Education All-Level Programs for Grades K-12: 
Adopted November 2003; Effective August 1, 
2005 

A. General Education―A minimum of 30 semester 
hours of credit designed to develop a broad cultural 
background. The work must be taken in the following five 
areas. 

 
English 6 semester hours 
Mathematics 6 semester hours 
Sciences 9 semester hours 
Social Studies 6 semester hours 
Arts 3 semester hours 

 
 

B. Focus Area 
 
Art 31 semester hours of Art coursework 
Dance 31 semester hours of Dance coursework 
Health and 
Physical 
Education 

31 semester hours of Health and Physical 
Education coursework 

Vocal Music 31 semester hours of Vocal Music coursework 
Instrumental 
Music 

31 semester hours of Instrumental Music 
coursework 

Vocal and 
Instrumental 
Music 

50 semester hours vocal and instrumental music 
coursework 

Foreign 
Language 

31 semester hours of the language (If French, at 
least 12 hours must be earned through a two (2) 
semester residence in a university abroad or 
through two (2) summers of intensive immersion 
study on a Louisiana campus, an out-of-state 
university, or abroad) 

 
C. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 

Environment―18 semester hours. 
1. Coursework should address needs of the regular 

and exceptional child and certification grade categories PK-
3, 1-5, 4-8, and 6-12: 

a. child development; 
b. adolescent psychology; 
c. educational psychology; 
d. the learner with special needs; 
e. classroom organization and management; 
f. multicultural education. 

D. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
 

Reading    3 semester hours 
Teaching methodology    6 semester hours 
Student teaching    9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for university use   22 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1786 (October 2006). 
§217. Minimal Requirements for Approved Teacher 

Education Programs for Teachers of 
Mild/Moderate Impairments 1-12; Effective 
September 1, 1998 

A. General Education*―a minimum of 46 semester 
hours of credit designed to develop a broad cultural 
background. The work must be taken in the five areas listed 
below. 

1. English—12 semester hours, including three 
semester hours in grammar and three semester hours in 
composition. 

2. Social Studies (anthropology, economics, 
geography, history, political science, psychology, sociology, 
and survey of social science)—12 semester hours, including 
at least three semester hours in United States history and 
three semester hours in geography (other than the geography 
of a state). 

3. Science—12 semester hours, including at least 
three semester hours in biological science and at least three 
semester hours in physical science. 

4. Mathematics—six semester hours. 
5. Health and Physical Education—four semester 

hours. 
B. *Universities that wish to require three hours of 

computer science should require a minimum of six hours in 
mathematics and a minimum of nine hours in science. 

C. Professional Education―a minimum of 27 semester 
hours of credit, taken in the four areas listed below. 
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1. History of education, introduction to education, 
foundations of education, and/or philosophy of education—
three semester hours. 

2. Educational psychology and/or principles of 
teaching—three semester hours. 

3. Student teaching in elementary or secondary 
mild/moderate*—nine semester hours. 

4. Professional teacher education courses—12 
semester hours, as follows: 

a. child or adolescent psychology—three semester 
hours; 

b. teaching of reading—nine semester hours, 
including at least three semester hours of credit for a 
practicum or laboratory situation involving work with 
children and materials of instruction. 

*In the event that student teaching cannot be done in a 
mild/moderate classroom, student teaching must be done in at 
least two categorical situations (MR, LD, OH, ED, SL) in the 
public and/or nonpublic schools supervised according to 
certification requirements for supervisor of student teachers 
referred to in Bulletin 746 and according to mandates R.S. 
17:7.1-R.S. 17:7.2. For students pursuing a double major in 
regular and special education, the student teaching 
requirement will be fulfilled according to mandates of R.S. 
17:7.1-R.S. 17:7.2 and will be equally divided between regular 
education and special education. 

D. Specialized Academic Education, Elementary and 
Secondary―33 semester hours of credit, as follows. 

1. General Knowledge—three semester hours in one 
of the following: 

a. Introduction to Education of the Exceptional 
Child; or 

b. Introduction to Education of Students with 
Mild/Moderate Disabilities. 

2. Methods and Materials—nine semester hours, 
including 60 contact hours of field experiences, as follows: 

a. Vocational and Transition Services for Students 
with Disabilities—three semester hours; 

b. Methods of Teaching Students with Learning and 
Behavior Problems—three semester hours; 

c. Methods of Teaching Basic Subjects to Students 
with Mild/Moderate Disabilities—three semester hours. 

3. Management—six semester hours, including at 
least 60 contact hours of field experiences, as follows: 

a. Methods of Classroom Organization and 
Management—three semester hours; 

b. Approaches to Managing Students with 
Mild/Moderate Disabilities—three semester hours. 

4. Practicum in Assessment—three semester hours. 
5. Mainstreaming/Inclusive Education Practicum, 

including at least 60 contact hours—three semester hours. 
NOTE:  For students pursuing a double major in regular 
education and special education, the student teaching in 
regular education will fulfill the requirement for the 
practicum. 

6. Professional Electives—nine semester hours. 
NOTE:  Electives must include competencies in inclusive 
education and coordination with regular education and be 
approved by the Dean of the College of Education. 

E. Specialized Academic Education: Secondary: The 
secondary teacher of students with mild/moderate 
disabilities who is to award Carnegie units in various 
subjects must meet minimal requirements for the various 
subjects in addition to the general education and professional 
education requirements as outlined in Bulletin 746 minimal 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1786 (October 2006). 
§219. Minimum Requirements for Approved Blended 

General/Special Education Mild-Moderate 
Program for Grade Levels 1-5: Adopted 
September 14, 2004; Effective July 1, 2007. 

A. Students who complete an approved blended 
general/special education mild/moderate program for 
elementary grade levels 1-5 are eligible for certification in 
the areas of mild/moderate and elementary grades 1-5. The 
program focus is on the areas of Reading/Language Arts and 
Mathematics.  

1. General Education―54 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective elementary grades 1-5 
teacher with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 15 semester hours 
Social studies 12 semester hours 
Arts   3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area, Special Education and Content―39 

semester hours. 
 

Additional Content and Teaching Methodology 
Reading/language arts 12 semester hours 
Mathematics   9 semester hours 
Special Education Content* 18 semester hours 

 
*NOTE: Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) 
performance-based standards for accreditation and licensure 
must be met. 

3. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with Emphasis on the Elementary School 
Student―15 semester hours. 

a. Requirements provide the prospective elementary 
grades 1-5 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching and learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. cassroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

4. Methodology and Teaching―15 semester hours. 
a. Requirements provide the prospective elementary 

grades 1-5 teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 
 

Teaching methodology (science and 
social studies must be addressed)    6 semester hours 
Student teaching*    9 semester hours 
*(50 percent of the student teaching must include working with and 
actual teaching of students with disabilities) 
Flexible hours for the university's use  19 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1787 (October 2006). 
§221. Minimum Requirements for Approved Blended 

General/Special Education Mild-Moderate 
Program for Grade Levels 4-8: Adopted 
September 14, 2004; Effective July 1, 2007. 

A. Students who complete an approved blended 
general/special education mild/moderate program for middle 
grades 4-8 are eligible for certification in the areas of 
mild/moderate and the selected middle grades 4-8 content 
area. The program focus is on special education and one 
middle school content area. 

1. General Education―54 semester hours. 
Requirements provide the prospective middle grades 4-8 
teacher with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 15 semester hours 
Social studies 12 semester hours 
Arts   3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area, Special Education and Content―37 

semester hours (combined general education and focus area 
content semester hours should equal 19). 

 
Middle School Content Area (English, 
mathematics, science, or social studies) 19 semester hours 
Special Education Content* 18 semester hours 

 
*NOTE: Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) 
performance-based standards for accreditation and licensure 
must be met. 

3. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on the Middle School 
Student―15 semester hours. 

a. Requirements provide the prospective middle 
grades 4-8 teacher with a fundamental understanding of the 
learner and the teaching/learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

4. Methodology and Teaching―21 semester hours. 
These requirements provide the prospective middle grades 4-
8 teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Reading 6 semester hours 
Teaching methodology 6 semester hours 
Student teaching 9 semester hours 
(50 percent of the student teaching must include working with and 
actual teaching of students with disabilities) 
Flexible hours for the university's use 9-12 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1788 (October 2006). 
§223. Minimum Requirements for Approved Blended 

General/Special Education Mild-Moderate 
Program for Grade Levels 6-12: Adopted 
September 14, 2004; Effective July 1, 2007. 

A. Students who complete an approved blended 
general/special education mild/moderate program for 
secondary grade levels 6-12 are eligible for certification in 
the areas of mild/moderate and in the selected secondary 
grades 6-12 content area. The program focus is on special 
education and one high school content area. 

1. General Education―30 semester hours. These 
requirements provide the prospective secondary grades 6-12 
teacher with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English  6 semester hours 
Mathematics  6 semester hours 
Sciences  9 semester hours 
Social studies  6 semester hours 
Arts  3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area, Special Education and Content―49 

semester hours (combined general education and focus area 
content semester hours should equal 31). 

 
Secondary school content area 31 semester hours 
Special education content 18 semester hours 

 
*NOTE:  Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) 
performance-based standards for accreditation and licensure 
must be met. 

3. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment―15 semester hour. 

a. These requirements provide the prospective 
secondary grades 6-12 teacher with a fundamental 
understanding of the learner and the teaching/learning 
process. Coursework should address the needs of the regular 
and the exceptional child: 
 i. child/adolescent development or psychology; 
 ii. educational psychology; 
 iii. the learner with special needs; 
 iv. classroom organization and management; 
 v. multicultural education. 

4. Methodology and Teaching―18 semester hours. 
These requirements provide the prospective secondary 
grades 6-12 teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Reading  3 semester hours 
Teaching methodology  6 semester hours 
Student teaching*  9 semester hours 
*(50 percent of the student teaching must include working with and 
actual teaching of students with disabilities) 
Flexible hours for the university's use 12-21 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1788 (October 2006). 
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§225. Minimum Requirements for Approved Early 
Interventionist Special Education Birth to Five 
Years Program: Adopted November 18, 2004; 
Effective January 1, 2007. 

A. For Louisiana certification as a teacher for Early 
Interventionist: Birth to Five Years, the focus of the program 
is on early childhood and early interventionist. 

1. General Education―48 semester hours. These 
requirements provide the prospective early interventionist 
teacher with basic essential knowledge and skills. 

 
English 12 semester hours 
Mathematics 12 semester hours 
Sciences 12 semester hours 
Social studies  9 semester hours 
Arts  3 semester hours 

 
2. Focus Area—The Young Child: 30 semester hours. 
 

Nursery school and kindergarten.  9 semester hours 
Reading content.  3 semester hours 
Special education content* (with 
emphasis on infants, toddlers, and 
preschoolers): Foundations In early 
childhood education and early 
intervention; physical and medical 
management; motor speech/language 
development; sensory and 
communication differences; 
understanding and working with families 18 semester hours 

*NOTE: Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) 
performance-based standards for accreditation and licensure 
must be met. 

3. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 
Environment, with the Emphasis on Infants, Toddlers, and 
Preschoolers―15 semester hours. 

a. These requirements provide prospective Early 
Interventionist teachers with a fundamental understanding of 
the learner and the teaching/learning process. Coursework 
should address the needs of the regular and the exceptional 
child: 
 i. child development/psychology; 
 ii. learning environments/diversity/behavior 
analysis; 
 iii. curriculum; 
 iv. assessment; 
 v. interdisciplinary and interagency teaming and 
consultation. 

4. Methodology and Teaching―15 semester hours. 
These requirements provide the prospective early 
interventionist teacher with fundamental pedagogical skills. 

 
Reading methodology  6 semester hours 
Teaching methodology (early intervention 
methods infant, toddler, preschool), 
understanding and facilitating play, teaching 
mathematics  9 semester hours 
Student teaching (infant, toddler, preschool areas)  9 semester hours 
Flexible hours for the university's use  7 semester hours 
Total required hours in the program 124 semester hours 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1789 (October 2006). 

§227. Minimal Guidelines for Approved Teacher 
Education Program for Speech, Language, and 
Hearing Specialists 

A. For certification as a Speech, Language, and Hearing 
Specialist through a traditional teacher preparation program, 
emphasis is placed upon general, professional, and special 
education coursework.  

1. General Education—46 semester hours designed to 
develop a broad cultural background. The work must be 
taken in the five areas listed below. 

 
English, including at least three semester 
hours in grammar and three semester hours 
in composition  12 semester hours 
Social studies (anthropology, economics, 
geography, history, political science, 
sociology, and survey of social science), 
including at least three semester hours in 
United States history 12 semester hours 
Science, including at least three semester 
hours in biological science, three semester 
hours in physical science, and three 
semester hours in anatomy and physiology 12 semester hours 
Mathematics  6 semester hours 
Health and physical education  4 semester hours 

 
a. Universities that wish to require three semester 

hours of computer science should require a minimum of six 
semester hours in mathematics and a minimum of nine 
semester hours in science. 

2. Professional Education—33 semester hours, which 
must be taken in the four areas listed below. 

a. History of education, introduction to education, 
foundations of education, and/or philosophy of education―3 
semester hours. 

b. Educational psychology and/or principles of 
teaching―3 semester hours. 

c. Student teaching in speech, language, and 
hearing therapy with individuals from birth to 22 years of 
age, in public or nonpublic schools―9 semester hours. 
 i. Student teaching must be supervised according 
to certification requirements for supervisor of student 
teachers referred to in Bulletin 746 and according to the 
mandates of R.S. 17:7.1-R.S. 17:7.2. 

d. At least 18 hours of professional education, to 
include the following. 

 
Adolescent psychology 3 semester hours 
Child psychology 3 semester hours 
Introduction to exceptional children 3 semester hours 
Teaching of reading 3 semester hours 

 
3. Special Education Requirements for Speech, 

Language, and Hearing Services (*Indicates those courses 
recommended to be taught at the bachelor's level) 

a. Basic Requirements 
 i. *Educational and/or psychological tests and 
measurements―3 semester hours. 
 ii. *Counseling methods for teaching or 
psychological counseling―3 semester hours. 
 iii. *Abnormal psychology (e.g., Psychology of 
adjustment, mental hygiene, psychology of the emotionally 
disturbed)―3 semester hours. 

b. Basic Professional Courses: 
 i. *American phonetics―3 semester hours. 
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 ii. *Anatomy and physiology of the speech and 
hearing mechanism―3 semester hours. 
 iii. *Normal speech and language acquisition (to 
include cultural and regional variations)―3 semester hours. 
 iv. Voice science and/or acoustics―3 semester 
hours. 
 v. *Methods and materials in speech, 
language,and hearing therapy in public schools―3 semester 
hours. 

c. Hearing and Hearing Disorders 
 i. *General foundations in audiology (including 
hearing testing)―3 semester hours. 
 ii. Advanced hearing testing―3 semester hours. 
 iii. *Aural rehabilitation―3 semester hours. 

d. Speech and Language Disorders: A minimum of 
30 hours, to include the following: 

NOTE:  No more than six of the following semester hours 
may be counted in clinical practicum credits. 

 i. *Survey or introduction to communicative 
disorders―3 semester hours;  
 ii. *Articulation disorders―3 semester hours; 
 iii. *Language disorders―3 semester hours; 
 iv. *Disorders of rhythm (to include stuttering)―3 
semester hours; 
 v. *Voice disorders―3 semester hours; 
 vi. Cleft palate, orofacial disorders―3 semester 
hours; 
 vii. Neurological disorders (cerebral and peripheral 
neurological disorders)―3 semester hours; 
 viii. Aphasia―3 semester hours; 
 ix. Diagnosis and diagnostic practicum with 
speech and language disorders―3 semester hours; 
 x. A minimum of 30 semester hours must be 
earned at the graduate level, excluding six semester hours of 
practicum. 

e. A minimum of 375 clock hours of supervised 
clinical practicum is required, of which at least 100 clock 
hours must have been earned at the undergraduate level. 
These hours must include experiences with individuals from 
birth to 21 years of age and shall include at a minimum the 
following distribution of hours or the distribution of hours as 
specified for clinical practicum be the American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (ASHA). A minimum of: 
 i. 50 hours in diagnosis; 
 ii. 50 hours in hearing, testing, and auditory 
rehabilitation; 
 iii. 75 hours in language disorders; 
 iv. 30 hours in articularion disorders; 
 v. 30 hours in rhythm disorders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1789 (October 2006). 
Subchapter B. Alternate Teacher Preparation Programs 
§231. Introduction 

A. Current BESE policy allows for alternate certification 
pathways listed in this section. Previous policy was limited 
to the alternate program pathway entitled "Post-
Baccalaureate Program." In the period in which the State 
transitions from previous policy to current policy, the 
following are deadline dates for candidates enrolled in a 
Louisiana post-baccalaureate alternate program prior to 

implementation of the current Practitioner Teacher, Master's 
Degree, and Non-master's/Certification-Only alternate 
certification programs. 

B. Candidates in Early Childhood Education, 
Elementary, Secondary, and Mild/Moderate Special 
Education 

1. Spring Semester 2003—last date for students to be 
accepted into Post-Baccalaureate Programs. 

2. August 31, 2006—last date for candidates who 
were already in the Post-Baccalaureate Programs to 
complete those programs. 

C. Candidates in the all-level (K-12) areas of art, dance, 
foreign language, health and physical education, and music. 

1. Spring Semester 2005—last date for students to be 
accepted into Post-Baccalaureate Programs.  

2. August 31, 2008—last date for candidates who are 
already in Post- Baccalaureate Programs to complete those 
programs. 

D. Candidates in the areas of Early Interventionist, 
Hearing Impaired, Significant Disabilities, and Visual 
Impairments/Blind. 

1. Spring Semester 2006—last date for candidates to 
be accepted into Post-Baccalaureate Programs. 

2. August 31, 2009—last date for candidates who are 
already in Post-Baccalaureate Programs to complete those 
programs. 

E. The alternate program certification structures shown 
below became effective on July 1, 2002, and supersede 
previous alternate program guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1790 (October 2006). 
§233. The Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative 

Path to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. State-approved private providers and Louisiana 

colleges or universities with an approved teacher education 
program may choose to offer a Practitioner Teacher Program 
for certification in Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, All-Level K-
12 (art, dance, foreign language, health and physical 
education, and music), or Mild-Moderate Special Education. 
The Practitioner Teacher Program is a streamlined 
certification path that combines intensive coursework and 
full-time teaching. 

B. Admission to the Program. Program providers work 
with district personnel to identify Practitioner Teacher 
Program candidates who will be employed by districts 
during fall and spring. For admission, candidates must: 

1. possess a non-education baccalaureate degree from 
a regionally accredited university; 

2. have 2.50 or higher grade point average (GPA) on a 
4.00 scale to enter a private provider program; 

3. have 2.20 or higher grade point average (GPA) on a 
4.00 scale to enter a college or university program;  

4. pass the Praxis Pre-Professional Skills Tests 
(PPSTs) in reading, writing, and mathematics. Candidates 
who already possess a graduate degree will be exempted 
from this requirement; 

5. pass the Praxis content specific examinations: 
a. candidates for grades PK-3: pass Elementary 

Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 
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b. candidates for grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate): pass Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014); 

c. candidates for grades 4-8 (regular education and 
mild/moderate): pass the middle school subject-specific 
licensing examination(s) for the content area(s) to be 
certified; 

d. candidates for grades 6-12 (regular education and 
mild/moderate): pass the secondary subject-specific 
examination(s) for the content area(s) to be certified. Special 
education mild/moderate candidates seeking admission to an 
alternate program must pass a Praxis core subject area exam 
(English/language arts, foreign language, mathematics, the 
sciences, or social studies). If no examination has been 
adopted for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates 
must present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area; 

e. candidates for all-level K-12 areas of art, dance, 
foreign language, health and physical education, and music: 
pass the subject-specific examination for content area(s) to 
be certified. If no examination has been adopted for 
Louisiana in the certification area, candidates must present a 
minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework specific to the 
content area for admission to the program. The provider 
must develop a process to ensure that candidates 
demonstrate necessary performance skills in the all-level 
certification area; 

6. meet other non-course requirements established by 
college or university. 

C. Teaching Preparation (Summer) 
1. All teachers will participate in field-based 

experiences in school settings while completing the summer 
courses (or equivalent contact hours). 

2. Grades PK-3 practitioner teachers will successfully 
complete courses or equivalent contact hours that focus on 
child development or psychology, family and community 
relationships, the diverse learner, classroom 
management/organization, assessment, instructional design, 
and instructional strategies before starting their teaching 
internships. (12 credit hours or equivalent 180 contact hours) 

3. Grades 1-5, 4-8, and 6-12 practitioner teachers will 
successfully complete courses or equivalent contact hours 
that focus on child or adolescent development or 
psychology, the diverse learner, classroom 
management/organization, assessment, instructional design, 
and instructional strategies before starting their teaching 
internships. (9 credit hours or equivalent 135 contact hours) 

4. Mild/Moderate Special Education practitioner 
teachers will successfully complete courses or equivalent 
contact hours that focus on special needs of the 
mild/moderate exceptional child, classroom management, 
behavioral management, assessment and evaluation, 
methods and materials for mild/moderate exceptional 
children, and vocational and transition services for students 
with disabilities. (9 credit hours or equivalent 135 contact 
hours) 

5. All-Level K-12 practitioner teachers will 
successfully complete courses or equivalent contact hours 
that focus on child and adolescent psychology, the diverse 
learner, classroom management and organization, 
assessment, instructional design, and instructional strategies 

across grade levels K-12 before starting their teaching 
internships. (9 credit hours or equivalent 135 contact hours) 

D. Teaching Internship and First-Year Support: 12 credit 
hours or equivalent 180 contact hours. 

1. Practitioner teachers assume full-time teaching 
positions in districts. During the school year, candidates 
participate in two seminars (during the fall and during the 
spring) that address immediate needs of the Practitioner 
Teacher Program teachers, and receive one-on-one 
supervision through an internship provided by the program 
providers.  

2. Practitioner teachers participating in the LaTAAP 
will receive support from school-based mentor teachers 
provided by the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program (LaTAAP) and principals. Practitioner 
teachers who are not participating in the LaTAAP or who 
have successfully completed the LaTAAP will be provided a 
mentor by the program provider.  

3. For all-level areas (art, dance, foreign language, 
health and physical education, and music), field experiences 
should be provided across grades K-12. 

E. Teaching Performance Review (End of First Year) 
1. Program providers, principals, mentors, and 

practitioner teachers form teams to review first-year teaching 
performance of practitioner teachers and determine the 
extent to which the practitioner teachers have demonstrated 
teaching proficiency.  

2. If weaknesses are cited, teams will identify 
additional types of instruction to address areas of need. 
Prescriptive plans that require from one to nine credit hours 
of instruction, or 15 to 135 equivalent contact hours, will be 
developed for practitioner teachers.  

F. Prescriptive Plan Implementation (Second Year)—
One to nine credit hours, or 15 to 135 contact hours. 
Candidates who demonstrate areas of need will complete 
prescriptive plans. 

G. Total Hours Required in the Program 
1. Grades PK-3 Program―24-33 credit hours (or 

equivalent 360-495 contact hours). 
2. Grades 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, All-Level (K-12), and 

Mild/Moderate Special Education Programs―21-30 credit 
hours (or equivalent 315-450 contact hours). 

H. Praxis Review (Second Year). Program providers will 
offer review sessions to prepare practitioner teachers to pass 
remaining components of the Praxis. 

I. Program Requirements must be met within a three 
year time period. For certification purposes, private 
providers and colleges or universities will submit signed 
statements to the Department of Education indicating that 
the student completing the Practitioner Teacher Program 
alternative certification path met the following requirements: 

1. passed the PPST components of the Praxis (Note: 
This test was required for admission); 

2. completed all program requirements including the 
internship with a 2.50 or higher GPA (this applies to 
candidates in a university program); 

3. completed prescriptive plans (if weaknesses were 
demonstrated); 

4. passed the Praxis specialty examination for the 
area(s) of certification. (Note: This test was required for 
admission): 
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a. grades PK-3: Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014); 

b. grades 1-5 (regular and special education): 
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

c. grades 4-8 (regular and special education): 
Middle school subject-specific licensing examination(s) for 
the content area(s) to be certified; 

d. grades 6-12 (regular and special education): 
Secondary subject-specific examination(s) for the content 
area(s) to be certified. Special education mild/moderate 
candidates must pass a Praxis core subject area exam 
(English/language arts, foreign language, mathematics, the 
sciences, or social studies). If no examination has been 
adopted for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates 
must present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area for admission to the program; 

e. all-level K-12 areas (art, dance, foreign language, 
health and physical education, and music): Subject-specific 
examination(s) for content area(s) to be certified. If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

5. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis):  
a. grades PK-3: Early Childhood Education 

(#0020); 
b. grades 1-5: Principles of Learning and Teaching 

K-6 (#0522); 
c. grades 4-8: Principles of Learning and Teaching 

5-9 (#0523); 
d. grades 6-12: Principles of Learning and Teaching 

7-12 (#0524); 
e. all-level K-12 Certification: Principles of 

Learning and Teaching K-6, 5-9, or 7-12; 
f. mild/moderate special education: Education of 

Exceptional Students: Core Content Knowledge (#0353) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities (#0542); 

6. all candidates entering an alternate certification 
program after May 1, 2004, must demonstrate proficiency in 
the Reading Competencies as adopted by the BESE through 
either of the following: 

a. successfully complete the same number of 
semester hours in reading as required for undergraduate 
teacher preparation programs:  
 i. early childhood PK-3 or elementary 1-5 
programs, nine hours; 
 ii. middle grades 4-8 programs, six hours;  
 iii. secondary 6-12 or all-level K-12 programs, 
three hours; 
 iv. special education areas (Early Interventionist, 
Hearing Impaired, Mild/Moderate 1-12, Significant 
Disabilities, or Visually Impaired), nine hours; or 

b. pass a reading competency assessment.  
J. Ongoing Support (Second and Third Year): Program 

providers will give support services to practitioner teachers 
during their second and third years of teaching. Support 
types may include online support, internet resources, special 
seminars, etc. 

K. Professional License: A practitioner teacher will be 
issued a Practitioner License in a specific level and area 
upon entrance to the program. The practitioner teacher is 

restricted to the specific level and area as designated on the 
Practitioner License. He/she will be issued a Level 1 
Professional License upon successful completion of all 
program requirements. After three years of teaching in the 
area of certification and successful completion of the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program, 
he/she will be eligible for a Level 2 license. 

L. Undergraduate, Graduate Courses; Graduate 
Programs. Universities may offer the Practitioner Teacher 
Program courses at the undergraduate or graduate level. 
Efforts should be made to allow students to use graduate 
hours as electives if they are pursuing a graduate degree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1790 (October 2006). 
§235. The Master's Degree Program Alternative Path 

to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. A Louisiana college or university with an approved 

teacher education program may choose to offer an 
alternative certification program that leads to a master's 
degree. The college or university may offer the master's 
degree program as either a Master of Education or a Master 
of Arts in Teaching. Master's Degree Programs may offer 
certification in Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, All-Level K-12 
(art, dance, foreign language, health and physical education, 
music), Early Interventionist Birth to Five Years, 
Mild/Moderate, Significant Disabilities 1-12, Hearing 
Impaired K-12, and Visual Impairments/Blind K-12. 

B. For all special education programs, the Council for 
Exceptional Children (CEC) performance-based standards 
for accreditation and licensure must be met. 

C. Admission to the Program. To be admitted, candidates 
must: 

1. possess a non-education baccalaureate degree from 
a regionally accredited university; 

2. have a 2.50 or higher grade point average (GPA) on 
a 4.00 scale;  

3. pass the Praxis Pre-Professional Skills Tests 
(PPSTs) in reading, writing, and mathematics (individuals 
who already possess a graduate degree will be exempted 
from this requirement); 

4. pass the Praxis content-specific subject area 
examination: 

a. candidates for PK-3 (regular education)—
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

b. candidates for Grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014); 

c. candidates for Grades 4-8 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—the middle school subject-specific 
licensing examination(s) for the content area(s) to be 
certified; 

d. candidates for Grades 6-12 (regular education 
and mild/moderate)—the secondary subject-specific 
examination(s) for the content area(s) to be certified. Special 
education mild/moderate candidates seeking admission to an 
alternate program must pass a Praxis core subject area exam 
(English/language arts, foreign language, mathematics, the 
sciences, or social studies). If no examination has been 
adopted for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates 
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must present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area; 

e. candidates for All-Level K-12 areas of art, dance, 
foreign language, health and physical education, and 
music—the subject-specific examination(s) for the content 
area(s) to be certified. If no examination has been adopted 
for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates must 
present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area for admission to the program. 
The provider must develop a process to ensure that 
candidates demonstrate necessary performance skills in the 
all-level certification area; 

f. candidates for special education Early 
Interventionist Birth to Five Years, Significant Disabilities 1-
12, Hearing Impaired K-12, Visual Impairments/Blind K-
12—Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

5. meet other non-course requirements established by 
the college/university. 

D. Program Requirements 
1. Knowledge of Learner and the Learning 

Environment: 15 credit hours. 
a. Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12—Child or 

adolescent development or psychology; the diverse learner; 
classroom management/organization; assessment; 
instructional design and instructional strategies. 

b. Special education Mild/Moderate—Special needs 
of the mild/moderate exceptional child; classroom 
management; behavioral management; assessment and 
evaluation; methods and materials for mild/moderate 
exceptional children; vocational and transition services for 
students with disabilities. 

c. All-Level (grades K-12)—Coursework across 
grade levels K-12, as follows: Child and adolescent 
psychology; the diverse learner; classroom 
management/organization; assessment; instructional design 
and instructional strategies. 

d. Special Education Early Interventionist Birth to 
Five Years (coursework specific to infants, toddlers, and 
preschoolers)—Child development or psychology; learning 
environment and behavior analysis; motor, sensory, and 
communication differences; teaming, physical, and medical 
management; understanding and working with families; 
communication and literacy in early intervention. 

e. Special Education Significant Disabilities 1-12 
(coursework specific to needs of children with significant 
disabilities)—Assessment and evaluation, including IEP and 
ESYP; communication strategies; behavior support; 
collaborative techniques and family partnerships; physical 
support, health and safety; special education law; 
characteristics of individuals with significant disabilities. 

f. Special Education Hearing Impaired K-12 
(coursework specific to the needs of general education 
students)—Assessment and evaluation; special needs of 
students with disabilities; transition; instructional strategies 
and planning in the content areas; instructional strategies in 
literacy; education law, special education law, school 
structure; technology in schools; diversity in schools. 

g. Special education Visual Impairments/Blind K-
12 (coursework specific to the needs of visually impaired 
students)—Educational implications of low vision and 
blindness; orientation and mobility for the classroom 
teacher; assessment/evaluation techniques, including 

functional vision evaluation and reading media assessment; 
assistive technology for the visually impaired; education 
law, special education law, school structure; transition. 

2. Methodology and Teaching: 12 to 15 credit hours. 
a. For Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, All-Level K-12 

(art, dance, foreign language, health and physical education, 
and music), and special education mild/moderate: Methods 
courses and field experiences.  

NOTE:  For All-Level K-12 areas (art, dance, foreign 
language, health and physical education, and music), 
experiences should be provided across grades K-12. 

b. For special education Early Interventionist Birth 
to Five Years (coursework specific to needs of infants, 
toddlers, and preschoolers)—Curriculum; assessment; early 
intervention methods; understanding and facilitating play; 
teaching of reading and mathematics. 

c. For special education Significant Disabilities 1-
12 (coursework specific to needs of children with significant 
disabilities, across grades 1-12)—Curriculum development 
and modifications; transition planning; instructional 
strategies; inclusive education practices. 

d. For special education Hearing Impaired K-12 
(coursework specific to needs of children with hearing 
impairments across grades K-12)—Language development 
and linguistic principles in language acquisition; speech 
development, speech reading, audition training; assessment 
and evaluation; instructional strategies; audiology, and 
audiology training; anatomy and physiology of the hearing 
mechanism; auditory assistive devices; history and 
psychology of deafness; assistive devices and technology; 
proficiency in either signed, cued, or oral communication. 

e. For special education Visual Impairments/Blind 
K-12 (coursework specific to needs of visually impaired 
students, across grades K-12)—Instructional strategies; 
Braille code, teaching Braille reading (with proficiency as 
defined in LA State Competencies); Nemeth code, teaching 
Braille mathematics; using slate and stylus. 

3. Student Teaching or Internship―6-9 credit hours  
NOTE:  For all-level K-12 areas of art, dance, foreign 
language, health and physical education, and music, 
experiences should be provided across grades K-12. 

4. Total hours required in the program―33-39 credit 
hours 

E. Certification Requirements. Colleges/universities will 
submit signed statements to the Louisiana Department of 
Education indicating that the student completing the Master's 
Degree Program alternative certification path met the 
following requirements: 

1. passed PPST components of Praxis (as required for 
admission); 

2. completed all coursework in the Master's Degree 
alternate certification program with a 2.50 or higher grade 
point average (GPA); 

3. passed the specialty examination (Praxis) for the 
area of certification (this test was required for admission): 

a. grades PK-3 (regular education)—Elementary 
Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

b. grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014);  

c. grades 4-8 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Middle school subject-specific licensing 
examination for content area to be certified; 
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d. grades 6-12 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Secondary subject-specific examination 
for content area(s) to be certified. Special education 
mild/moderate candidates must pass a Praxis core subject 
area exam (English/language arts, foreign language, 
mathematics, the sciences, or social studies). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

e. all-level K-12 Certification—Subject-specific 
examination for content area(s) to be certified. If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

f. Special Education Early Interventionist (Birth to 
Five Years), Significant Disabilities 1-12, Hearing Impaired 
K-12, and Visual Impairments/Blind K-12—Elementary 
Education: Content Knowledge (#0014) specialty 
examination; 

4. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis):  
a. grades PK-3—Early Childhood Education 

(#0020); 
b. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

K-6 (#0522); 
c. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

5-9 (#0523); 
d. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 

Teaching 7-12 (#0524); 
e. all-level K-12 Certification—Principles of 

Learning and Teaching K-6, 5-9, or 7-12; 
f. Special Education Mild/Moderate—Education of 

Exceptional Students: Core Content Knowledge (#0353) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities (#0542); 

g. Special Education Early Interventionist Birth to 
Five Years—Education of Exceptional Students: Core 
Content Knowledge (#0353) and Early Childhood Education 
(#0020); 

h. Special Education Significant Disabilities 1-12—
Education of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (#0353) and Education of Exceptional Students: 
Severe to Profound Disabilities (#0544); 

i. Special Education Hearing Impaired K-12—
Education of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (#0353) and Education of Exceptional Students: 
Hearing Impairment (#0271); 

j. Special Education Visual Impairments/Blind K-
12—Education of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (#0353); 

5. prior to receiving a Level 1 or higher professional 
teaching certificate, a candidate who entered an alternate 
certification program after May 1, 2004, is required to 
demonstrate proficiency in the Reading Competencies as 
adopted by the BESE through either of the following: 

a. successfully complete the same number of 
semester hours in reading as required for undergraduate 
teacher preparation programs:  
 i. early Childhood PK-3 or Elementary 1-5 
programs, nine hours; 
 ii. middle Grades 4-8 programs, 6 hours;  

 iii. secondary 6-12 or All-Level K-12 programs, 3 
hours;  
 iv. special Education areas (Early Interventionist, 
Hearing Impaired, Mild/Moderate 1-12, Significant 
Disabilities, or Visually Impaired), nine hours; or 

b. pass a reading competency assessment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1792 (October 2006). 
§237. Non-Masters/Certification-Only Program 

Alternative Path to Certification 
A. This program is designed to serve candidates who 

may not elect participation in or be eligible for certification 
under either the Practitioner Teacher Alternate Certification 
Program or the Master's Degree Alternate Certification 
Program. The program may also be accessible in some areas 
of the state in which the other alternate certification 
programs are not available.  

B. Non-Master's/Certification-Only Programs may offer 
certification in Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, All-Level K-12 
(art, dance, foreign language, health and physical education, 
and music), Early Interventionist Birth to Five Years, 
Mild/Moderate, Hearing Impaired K-12, Significant 
Disabilities 1-12, and Visual Impairments/ Blind K-12. 

C. For all special education programs, the Council for 
Exceptional Children (CEC) performance-based standards 
for accreditation and licensure must be met. 

D. Admission to the Program—Candidates must: 
1. possess a non-education baccalaureate degree from 

a regionally accredited university; 
2. have a 2.20 or higher grade point average (GPA) on 

a 4.00 scale; 
3. pass the Praxis Pre-Professional Skills Tests 

(PPSTs). Candidates who already possess a graduate degree 
will be exempted from this requirement; 

4. pass the Praxis content-specific subject area 
examination: 

a. candidates for PK-3 (regular education)—
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (#0014);  

b. candidates for Grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014);  

c. candidates for Grades 4-8 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Pass the middle school subject-specific 
examination for the content area(s) to be certified; 

d. candidates for Grades 6-12 (regular education 
and mild/moderate)—Pass the secondary subject-specific 
examination for the content area(s) to be certified. Special 
education mild/moderate candidates seeking admission to an 
alternate program must pass a Praxis core subject area exam 
(English/language arts, foreign language, mathematics, the 
sciences, or social studies). If no examination has been 
adopted for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates 
must present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area; 

e. candidates for All-Level K-12 areas of art, dance, 
foreign language, health and physical education, and 
music—Pass the subject-specific examination for the content 
area(s) to be certified. If no examination has been adopted 
for Louisiana in the certification area, candidates must
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present a minimum of 31 semester hours of coursework 
specific to the content area for admission to the program. 
Provider must develop a process to ensure that candidates 
demonstrate necessary performance skills in the all-level 
certification area; 

f. candidates for special education Early 
Interventionist Birth to Five Years, Significant Disabilities 1-
12, Hearing Impaired K-12, and Visual Impairments/Blind 
K-12—Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (#0014).  

E. Program Requirements and Structure 
1. Knowledge of the Learner and the Learning 

Environment—12 hours. All courses for regular and special 
education will integrate effective teaching components, 
content standards, technology, reading, and portfolio 
development. Field-based experiences will be embedded in 
each course. Courses must address the following: 

a. Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12—child/adolescent 
development or psychology, the diverse learner, classroom 
management/organization/ environment, assessment, 
instructional design, and reading/ instructional strategies that 
are content and level appropriate; 

b. Special Education Mild/Moderate (1-5, 4-8, 6-
12)—special needs of the special education mild/moderate 
exceptional child, classroom management, behavioral 
management, assessment and evaluation, methods and 
materials for Special Education Mild/Moderate exceptional 
children, vocational and transition services for students with 
disabilities; 

c. All-Level K-12 areas—child psychology and 
adolescent psychology; the diverse learner; classroom 
management/organization/environment; assessment; 
instructional design; and reading/instructional strategies (all 
coursework should address grade levels K-12); 

d. Special Education Early Interventionist birth to 
five years (coursework specific to infants, toddlers, and 
preschoolers)—child development or psychology; 
foundations in early childhood education; teaming, physical, 
and medical management; understanding and working with 
families; communication and literacy in early intervention; 

e. Special Education Significant Disabilities 1-12 
(coursework specific to needs of children with significant 
disabilities)—assessment and evaluation; communication 
strategies; behavior support; collaborative techniques and 
family partnerships; physical support, health and safety; 
special education law; characteristics of individuals with 
significant disabilities; 

f. Special Education Hearing Impaired K-12 
(coursework specific to the needs of general education 
students)—assessment and evaluation; special needs of 
students with disabilities; transition; instructional strategies 
and planning in the content areas; instructional strategies in 
literacy; education law, special education law, school 
structure; technology in schools; diversity in schools; 

g. Special Education Visual Impairments/Blind K-
12 (coursework specific to the needs of visually impaired 
students)—educational implications of low vision and 
blindness; orientation and mobility for the classroom 
teacher; assessment/evaluation techniques, including 
functional vision evaluation and reading media assessment; 
assistive technology for the visually impaired; education 
law, special education law, school structure; transition. 

2. Methodology and Teaching: Content-specific 
methods courses and field/clinical experiences, six hours. 

a. For Grades PK-3, 1-5, 4-8, 6-12, All-Level K-12 
(art, dance, foreign language, health and physical education, 
and music), and special education mild/moderate—methods 
courses to include case studies and field experiences. NOTE: 
For All-Level K-12 areas (Art, Dance, Foreign Language, 
Health and Physical Education, and Music), experiences 
should be provided across grades K-12. 

b. For special education Early Interventionist Birth 
to Five Years (coursework specific to needs of infants, 
toddlers, and preschoolers)—curriculum; assessment; early 
intervention methods (including understanding and 
facilitating play); teaching of reading and mathematics. 

c. For special education Significant Disabilities 1-
12 (coursework specific to the needs of children with 
significant disabilities)—curriculum development and 
modifications; transition planning; instructional strategies; 
inclusive education practices. 

d. For special education Hearing Impaired K-12 
(coursework specific to needs of children with hearing 
impairments, across grades K-12)—language development 
and linguistic principles in language acquisition; speech 
development, speech reading, audition training; assessment 
and evaluation; instructional strategies; audiology and 
audiology training; anatomy and physiology of the hearing 
mechanism; auditory assistive devices; history and 
psychology of deafness; assistive devices and technology; 
proficiency in either signed, cued, or oral communication. 

e. For special education Visual Impairments/Blind 
K-12 (coursework specific to needs of visually impaired 
students, across grades K-12)—instructional strategies; 
Braille code, teaching Braille reading (with proficiency as 
defined in LA State Competencies); Nemeth code, teaching 
Braille mathematics; using slate and stylus. 

3. Internship or Student Teaching―six hours, to 
include participant-oriented methodology seminars.  

a. For all-level K-12 areas (art, dance, foreign 
language, health and physical education, and music), 
internship or student teaching experiences should be 
provided across grades K-12. 

b. If the candidate has accumulated three years of 
successful teaching experience in an approved Louisiana 
school in the area(s) of certification, the university may 
substitute the three years of successful teaching experience 
for the required internship or student teaching portion of the 
program. Experience accumulated by elementary education 
certification candidates must be in core content areas at 
appropriate grade levels. Successful experience is 
determined by the following: 
 i. recommendation for certification from the most 
recent employing school district;  
 ii. verification of assessment results:  

(a). in the case of a public school candidate, 
successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program (LaTAAP); 

(b). in the case of a nonpublic school candidate, 
provide evidence of successful completion of a teacher 
assessment program. 

4. Prescriptive Plan―one to nine hours. The 
prescriptive plan can be pre-planned courses for individual
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programs or can be individualized courses for the candidate 
who demonstrates areas of need, not to exceed nine semester 
hours. 

5. Total hours required in the program―24-33 credit 
hours. 

F. Certification Requirements. Colleges or universities 
will submit signed statements to the Louisiana Department 
of Education that indicate the student completing the Non-
Master's/Certification-Only alternative certification path met 
the following requirements: 

1. passed the PPST components of the Praxis (Note: 
These tests were required for admission). Individuals who 
already possess a graduate degree will be exempted from 
this requirement; 

2. completed all coursework in the Non-Master/s 
alternate certification program with a 2.50 or higher GPA; 

3. passed the specialty examination (Praxis) for the 
area(s) of certification (Note: This test was required for 
admission); 

a. grades PK-3 (regular education)—Elementary 
Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

b. grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014); 

c. grades 4-8 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Middle school subject-specific licensing 
examination for area(s) to be certified; 

d. grades 6-12 (regular education and 
mild/moderate) and all-level K-12 certification―subject-
specific examination for content areas to be certified. Special 
education mild/moderate candidates must pass a Praxis core 
subject area exam (English/language arts, foreign language, 
mathematics, the sciences, or social studies). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

e. all-level K-12 certification―subject-specific 
examination for content area(s) to be certified. If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

f. Special Education Early Interventionist (birth to 
five years), Significant Disabilities 1-12, Hearing Impaired 
K-12, and Visual Impairments/Blind K-12—Elementary 
Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

4. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis): 
a. grades PK-3—Early Childhood Education 

(#0020); 
b. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

K-6 (#0522); 
c. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

5-9 (#0523); 
d. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 

Teaching 7-12 (#0524); 
e. all-level K-12 certification—Principles of 

Learning and Teaching K-6, 5-9, or 7-12; 
f. Special Education Mild/Moderate—Education of 

Exceptional Students: Core Content Knowledge (#0353) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities (#0542); 

g. Special Education Early Interventionist Birth to 
Five Years—Education of Exceptional Students: Core 
Content Knowledge (#0353) and Early Childhood Education 
(#0020); 

h. Special Education Significant Disabilities 1-12—
Education of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (#0353) and Education of Exceptional Students: 
Severe to Profound Disabilities (#0544); 

i. Special Education Hearing Impaired K-12—
Education of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (#0353) and Education of Exceptional Students: 
Hearing Impairment (#0271); 

j. Special Education Visual Impairments/Blind K-
12—Education of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (#0353); 

k. prior to receiving a Level 1 or higher professional 
teaching certificate candidates entering an alternate 
certification program after May 1, 2004, are required to 
demonstrate proficiency in the reading competencies as 
adopted by the BESE through either of the following 
options: 
 i. successfully complete same number of 
semester hours in reading as required for undergraduate 
teacher preparation programs:  
 ii. early childhood PK-3 or elementary 1-5 
programs, nine hours; 
 iii. middle grades 4-8 programs, six hours;  
 iv. secondary 6-12 or all-level K-12 programs, 
three hours; 
 v. special education areas (Early Interventionist, 
Hearing Impaired, Mild/Moderate 1-12, Significant 
Disabilities, or Visually Impaired), nine hours; or 

5. pass a reading competency assessment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1794 (October 2006). 
§239. The State as a Private Provider 

A. The Louisiana Department of Education, Division of 
Teacher Certification and Higher Education, may act as a 
program provider in directing certification efforts of 
candidates who meet these criteria. 

1. Candidate must accumulated three years of 
successful experience in an approved Louisiana school in the 
area(s) of certification, which experience can be used by the 
Louisiana Department of Education in lieu of the internship 
or student teaching portion of the program. Experience 
accumulated by elementary education certification 
candidates must be in core content areas at appropriate grade 
levels. 

2. Successful experience is determined by the 
following:  

a. in the case of a public school candidate, 
successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher Assistance and 
Assessment Program (LaTAAP);  

b. in the case of a nonpublic school candidate, 
provide evidence of successful completion of a teacher 
assessment program. 

B. Candidate must have experienced difficulty in 
completing alternate program requirements, through no fault 
of his/her own. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1796 (October 2006). 
Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 

Certifications 
§301. Overview 

A. An individual must have an official teaching 
authorization to provide instructional or other designated 
services in the Louisiana K-12 schools. Louisiana issues 
three categories of teaching authorizations: Standard; 
Nonstandard; and Ancillary. The first three Subchapters of 
this Chapter are devoted to these categories; a fourth 
Subchapter presents a policy entitled "Special 
Considerations for Teachers Called to Active Military Duty." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006). 
Subchapter A. Standard Teaching Authorizations  
§303. Introduction 

A. There are six types of standard teaching 
authorizations issued by the state of Louisiana:  

1. professional Level 1, 2, and 3 certificates;  
2. type C, B, and A certificates;  
3. out-of-state certificate;  
4. foreign language special certificate PK-8;  
5. practitioner 1, 2, 3, and 4 licenses; and  
6. standard certificates for teachers in non-public 

schools.  
B. A Level 1 certificate is the entry-level professional 

certificate typically held during the first three years of the 
teaching career while a teacher completes the state's 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program 
(LaTAAP) and gains experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006). 
§305. Professional Level Certificates 

A. Issued beginning July 1, 2002, at three levels. Level 1 
is the entry-level professional certificate, valid for three 
years and allowing the holder to complete the Louisiana 
Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program (LaTAAP) and 
accrue three years of teaching experience in the area of 
certification. The Level 2 and Level 3 certificates are valid 
for five years, with renewal involving completion of a 
specified number of Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
professional development. 

1. Level 1 Professional Certificate—valid for three 
years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements 
 i. Louisiana graduate: 

(a). successfully complete a state-approved 
traditional or alternate teacher preparation program; 

(b). have a minimum 2.50 grade point average 
(GPA) on a 4.00 scale; 

(c). present appropriate scores on the NTE core 
battery (common exams) or the corresponding Praxis exams 
(Pre-Professional Skills Tests in reading, writing, and

mathematics); the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
(PLT) or other pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of 
certification; and the specialty area exam in the certification 
area in which the teacher preparation program was 
completed or in which the initial certificate was issued; and 

(d). be recommended by a state-approved 
university or private program provider for certification. 

b. Out-of-State Graduate 
 i. Eligibility requirements: 

(a). possess a minimum of a baccalaureate 
degree from a regionally accredited college or university; 

(b). hold a standard out-of-state teaching 
certificate; or if no certificate was issued, a letter from the 
State Department of Education in the state of origin 
verifying eligibility in that state for a certificate in the 
certification area(s); 

(c). pass all parts of Praxis exam(s) required for 
Louisiana certification: 
 (i). present appropriate scores on the NTE 
core battery (common exams) or the corresponding Praxis 
exams (Pre-Professional Skills Tests in reading, writing, and 
mathematics); the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
(PLT) or other pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of 
certification; and the specialty area exam in the certification 
area in which the teacher preparation program was 
completed or in which the initial certificate was issued; 
 (ii). if applicant has obtained National 
Board Certification (NBC) in corresponding areas for which 
certification is being sought as well as certification/licensure 
in the state of origin, the examination required for NBC will 
be accepted to fulfill the testing requirements for 
certification. 

(d). has completed student teaching, an 
internship, or three years of teaching experience in the 
candidate's area of certification; and 

(e). has not been out of teaching in the five years 
immediately preceding first employment or application for a 
Louisiana certificate. 
 ii. A candidate who is certified in another state 
can qualify for exclusion from the Praxis exam(s) required 
for Louisiana certification under the following criteria. 

(a). He/she meets all requirements for Louisiana 
certification except the Praxis exam requirements; has at 
least four years of successful teaching experience in another 
state, as determined by the board; and teaches on an out-of-
state certificate for one year in a Louisiana public school 
system.  

(b). The teacher's employing authority must 
verify that he/she has completed one year of successful 
teaching experience in a Louisiana public school and that 
he/she has been recommended for further employment. 

(c). The employing authority must request that 
he/she be granted a valid Louisiana teaching certificate. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. A Level 1 certificate is valid 
for three years and may be renewed once. While holding a 
Level 1 certificate, a teacher must successfully complete the 
LaTAAP and accrue three years of teaching experience in 
the area of certification. 

B. Level 2 Professional Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal.  
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1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a Level 

1 certificate;  
b. successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher 

Assistance and Assessment Program (LaTAAP); and 
c. accrue three years of experience in area(s) of 

certification in an approved educational setting. 
2. If the Level 2 certificate is the applicant's first 

certificate, a state-approved teacher preparation program 
provider must submit the request.  

3. If the Level 1 certificated teacher qualifies for 
advancement to a Level 2 certificate, the request for the 
higher certificate must be submitted directly to the Louisiana 
Department of Education by the employing authority. 

C. Level 3 Professional Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a Level 

2 certificate; 
b. a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university;  
c. five years of experience in area(s) of certification 

in an approved educational setting. 
2. If the Level 3 certificate is applicant's first 

certificate, a state-approved teacher preparation program 
provider must submit the request. 

3. If the Level 2 certificated teacher qualifies for 
advancement to a Level 3 certificate, the request for the 
higher certificate must be submitted directly to the Louisiana 
Department of Education by the employing authority. 

D. Renewal Guidelines for Level 2 and Level 3 
Certificates  

1. A teacher must complete 150 continuing learning 
units (CLUs) of district-approved and verified professional 
development over the five year time period during which 
he/she holds the certificate, or during the five year time 
period immediately preceding the request for renewal. The 
Louisiana employing authority must request renewal of a 
Level 2 or Level 3 certificate. 

2. A teacher with an existing Level 2 or Level 3 
teaching certificate may renew that certificate based upon 
completion of NBC during the period of certificate validity, 
as satisfaction in full of the 150 CLUs required for renewal. 

3. If the holder of an expired Level 2 or Level 3 
certificate has not earned the required 150 CLUs of 
professional development, the expired certificate may be 
reactivated upon request of the employing authority (at the 
level that was attained prior to expiration) for a period of one 
year, during which time the certificate holder must present 
evidence of successful completion of the required 150 CLUs 
to the Division of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education. Failure to complete necessary CLUs during the 
one year reactivation period will result in an expired 
certificate that cannot be reinstated until evidence is 
provided of completed professional development 
requirements. 

4. A continuing learning unit (CLU) is a professional 
development activity that builds capacity for effective, 
research-based, content-focused teaching and learning that 
positively impacts student achievement. As a unit of 

measure, the CLU is used to quantify an educator's 
participation in a district- or system-approved, content-
focused professional development activity aligned with the 
educator's individual professional growth plan.  

a. Educators may earn one CLU for each clock hour 
of active engagement in a district- or system-approved high 
quality professional development activity. Each educator is 
responsible for maintaining required documentation and for 
reporting earned CLUs in a manner prescribed by the district 
or system. Earned CLUs transfer across Local Education 
Agencies (LEAs). 

b. An educator who holds a Level 2 or Level 3 
Professional license is responsible for maintaining 
documentation regarding acquisition of 150 CLUs for 
purposes of renewal and for completing the necessary 
paperwork every five years to renew his/her license. Upon 
submission of the renewal application to the State, the 
district or system must provide an assurance statement 
signed by the superintendent or his/her designee, with the 
required listing of earned CLUs as documented by the 
educator seeking licensure. 

E. Process for Reinstating Lapsed Level 1, 2, 3 
Certificate 

1. A certificate will lapse for disuse if the holder 
allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in 
which he/she is not a regularly employed teacher for at least 
one semester, or 90 consecutive days. 

2. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of 
credit in state-approved courses (see Appendix C) during the 
five year period immediately preceding request for 
reinstatement. 

3. If the holder did not earn six semester hours or 
equivalent, the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon 
request (at the level that was attained prior to disuse) for a 
period of one year, during which time the holder must 
complete reinstatement requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006). 
§307. Type C, B, and A Certificates 

A. Effective July 1, 2002, these certificates are no longer 
issued for initial certification. The Type C certificate is valid 
for three years to allow time for the holder to complete the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program 
(LaTAAP) and to accrue three years of teaching experience 
in the candidate's area(s) of certification. Teachers who hold 
Type B and Type A lifetime certificates will continue to hold 
these certificates. 

B. Type C Certificate—valid for three years.  
1. Eligibility Requirements: 

a. successfully complete a state-approved 
traditional or alternate teacher preparation program; 

b. a minimum 2.50 GPA on a 4.00 scale; 
c. present appropriate scores on the NTE core 

battery (common exams) or the corresponding Praxis 
exams—the Pre-Professional Skills Tests (PPST) in reading, 
writing, and mathematics; the Principles of Learning and 
Teaching (PLT) or other pedagogy exam required for the 
area(s) of certification; and the specialty area exam in the 
certification area(s) in which the teacher preparation 
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program was completed or in which the initial certificate 
was issued; 

d. be recommended by a university or private 
program provider for certification; or meet the requirements 
of an out-of-state certified teacher (see below for 
requirements for the Out-of-State Certificate). 

2. Renewal Guidelines. The Type C certificate may be 
renewed for an additional three year period upon the request 
of the Louisiana employing authority, subject to the approval 
of the Division of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education.  

C. Type B Certificate—a lifetime certificate for 
continuous service, provided the holder does not allow any 
period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue 
in which he is not a regularly employed teacher for at least 
one semester, or 90 consecutive days, and/or the certificate is 
not revoked by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a Type C 

certificate; 
b. successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher 

Assistance and Assessment Program (LaTAAP); and 
c. three years of experience in area(s) of 

certification in an approved educational setting. 
2. The request for the higher certificate must be 

submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the employing authority. 

D. Type A Certificate—a lifetime certificate for 
continuous service, provided the holder does not allow any 
period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue 
in which he/she is not a regularly employed teacher for at 
least one semester, or 90 consecutive days, and/or the 
certificate is not revoked by the State Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education (BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a Type C 

certificate; 
b. successfully complete the LaTAAP;  
c. a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; and 
d. five years of experience in area(s) of certification 

in an approved educational setting. 
2. The request for the higher certificate must be 

submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the employing authority. 

E. Process for Reinstating Lapsed Type C, B, and A 
Certificates 

1. A certificate will lapse for disuse if the holder 
allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in 
which he/she is not a regularly employed teacher for at least 
one semester, or 90 consecutive days. 

2. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of 
credit in state-approved courses (see Appendix C) during the 
five year period immediately preceding request for 
reinstatement. 

3. If the holder did not earn six semester hours or 
equivalent, the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon 
request (at the level that was attained prior to disuse) for a 
period of one year, during which time the holder must 
complete reinstatement requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1798 (October 2006). 
§309. Out-of-State (OS) Certificate 

A. An Out-of-State (OS) Certificate, valid for a three 
year period, is not renewable. It is issued to a teacher who 
has completed an out-of-state teacher preparation program 
and either holds or is eligible for a certificate in the state in 
which the program was completed. The teacher is not 
initially eligible for a Level 1, 2, or 3 Louisiana certificate 
but meets Louisiana certification requirements with the 
exception of the Praxis/National Teacher Exam 
requirements. It provides a transition period that permits the 
holder to be employed in Louisiana K-12 schools while 
he/she complies with Louisiana Praxis/NTE requirements or 
meets Praxis exclusion eligibility requirements. For 
continued employment as a teacher in a Louisiana school 
system after the three year period has elapsed, the OS 
certificate holder must fulfill guidelines for a Level 1 or 
higher-level certificate. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university; 
2. completed a teacher preparation program in another 

state; 
3. standard teaching certificate issued by the state in 

which the teacher preparation program was completed; or if 
no certificate was issued, a letter from the State Department 
of Education verifying eligibility in that state for a certificate 
in the certification area(s); 

4. completed student teaching or internship in a 
certification area, or in lieu of student teaching or internship 
has three years of successful teaching experience in a 
certification area; and 

5. if applicant earned a degree five or more years prior 
to the date of application, he/she must have been a regularly 
employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, within the five year period immediately 
preceding first employment in Louisiana or application for a 
Louisiana certificate. Lacking this experience, he/she must 
earn six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses 
(see Appendix C) during the five year period immediately 
preceding application. 

C. Advancing from OS to Professional Level 1, 2, or 3 
Certificate  

1. Pass all parts of Praxis exam(s) required for 
Louisiana certification: 

a. present appropriate scores on the NTE core 
battery (common exams) or the corresponding Praxis exams 
(Pre-Professional Skills Tests in reading, writing, and 
mathematics); the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
(PLT) or other pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of 
certification; and the specialty area exam in the certification 
area in which the teacher preparation program was 
completed or in which the initial certificate was issued; 

b. if applicant has obtained National Board 
Certification (NBC) in corresponding areas for which 
certification is being sought as well as certification/licensure 
in the state of origin, the examination required for NBC will 
be accepted to fulfill the testing requirements for 
certification; 
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c. a candidate who is certified in another state can 
qualify for exclusion from the Praxis exam(s) required for 
Louisiana certification under these criteria:  
 i. he/she meets all requirements for Louisiana 
certification except the Praxis exam requirements; has at 
least four years of successful teaching experience in another 
state, as determined by the board; and teaches on an OS 
certificate for one year in a Louisiana public school system;  
 ii. the teacher's Louisiana employing authority 
verifies that he/she has completed one year of successful 
teaching experience in a Louisiana public school and that 
he/she has been recommended for further employment; and 
 iii. the employing authority requests that he/she be 
granted a valid Louisiana teaching certificate. 
 iv. Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment 
Program (LaTAAP) Exclusion Options 

(a). For an out-of-state teacher to be considered 
for LaTAAP exclusion, the Request for Exclusion and 
Release of Evaluation Information Form must be completed, 
signed, and returned to the employing school system within 
six weeks of employment. The teacher's signature indicates 
willingness to release the results of previous evaluation 
information to the Louisiana Department of Education. An 
unsigned form will automatically deny a request for 
exclusion. 

(b). Out-of-state teachers who provide NBC or 
appropriate evaluation results from their immediate previous 
teaching assignment will be exempt from participation in 
LaTAAP. Appropriate evaluation results shall be defined as 
satisfactory annual evaluation results identified by and 
certified by the immediate previous out-of-state school 
district(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1799 (October 2006). 
§311. Foreign Language Special Certificate PK-8 

A. Valid for three years and renewable once for an 
additional three years, with evidence of an offer of 
employment in a Louisiana school district. 

B. This certificate may be issued to a foreign associate 
teacher who participates in the Louisiana Department of 
Education (LDE) Foreign Associate Teacher Program, and 
who teaches Foreign Language in the Elementary School 
(FLES) in grades PK-8 and/or foreign language immersion 
in grades PK-8. 

C. This certificate allows the holder to receive the same 
benefits as any other regularly certified teacher. 

D. Eligibility guidelines: 
1. a bachelor's degree in education or equivalent 

preparation in education from a foreign country. The status 
of this degree will be determined by the Louisiana 
Department of Education (LDE), Division of Student 
Standards and Assessments. If LDE staff cannot make a 
degree equivalent determination, the candidate's credentials 
must be evaluated by the American Association of Collegiate 
Registrars and Admissions Officers (AACRAO). In the case 
of an AACRAO evaluation, the determination must be on 
"safe script" paper and must include a course-by-course 
evaluation; 

2. a teaching certificate in the foreign country for the 
certification area and/or grade level that the candidate will 
teach in Louisiana; 

3. evidence of two years of successful teaching 
experience in the country of origin; and  

4. a native speaker of the language to be taught. 
E. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed for an 

additional three year period upon request of the Louisiana 
employing authority, subject to the approval of the Division 
of Teacher Certification and Higher Education. 

F. A teacher may hold a Foreign Language Special 
certificate for no more than six years. After three years on 
such a certificate, the teacher may apply for a Louisiana 
Level 1 professional teaching certificate. To receive a Level 
1 teaching certificate, the teacher must meet all certification 
requirements, including Praxis examinations for the area(s) 
and level(s) of certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1800 (October 2006). 
§313. Practitioner Licenses 

A. Practitioner licenses may be issued for one school 
year, renewed annually, and held a maximum of three years 
while the holder completes an alternate program. Upon 
completion of the three years of employment on this 
certificate, the holder must fulfill guidelines for a Level 1 or 
higher-level certificate for continued employment in a 
Louisiana school system. 

B. Practitioner License 1—issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved Practitioner 
Teacher Program. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. baccalaureate degree from regionally accredited 

college or university; 
b. 2.50 or higher grade point average (GPA) on a 

4.00 scale to enter a private provider program; or a 2.20 or 
higher grade point average (GPA) on a 4.00 scale to enter a 
college or university program; and 

c. passing scores on Praxis Pre-Professional Skills 
Tests (PPST) and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. Candidates possessing a graduate 
degree from a regionally accredited college or university 
will be exempted from the PPST requirement.  

NOTE:  Special education mild/moderate certification 
candidates must qualify for admission to alternate programs 
by passing a Praxis specialty area exam. Secondary education 
candidates (grades 6-12) must pass a Praxis core subject area 
exam. If there is no content Praxis exam adopted by the State 
in the specific secondary core subject area, candidates must 
demonstrate content mastery by presenting 31 semester credit 
hours in the core subject area. 

2. The approved teacher preparation program provider 
must submit the request for the initial practitioner license 
directly to the Louisiana Department of Education. 

3. Renewal Requirements. The candidate must remain 
enrolled in the Practitioner Teacher Program and fulfill a 
minimum of six semester hours of coursework or equivalent
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contact hours per year (to the extent that required semester 
hours remain in the program to be completed), teaching 
assignments, and prescribed activities identified by the 
program provider.  

4. Program requirements must be completed within 
the three year maximum that the license can be held.  

C. Practitioner License 2—issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved Non-
Master's/Certification-Only Alternate Certification Program. 

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. baccalaureate degree from regionally accredited 

college or university; 
b. a 2.20 GPA on a 4.00 scale; and 
c. passing scores on Praxis Pre-Professional Skills 

Tests (PPST) and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. Candidates possessing a graduate 
degree from a regionally accredited college or university 
will be exempted from the PPST requirement. 

NOTE:  Special education mild/moderate certification 
candidates must qualify for admission to alternate programs 
by passing a Praxis specialty area exam. Secondary education 
candidates (grades 6-12) must pass a Praxis core subject area 
exam. If no examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area.  

2. The request for the initial practitioner license as 
well as renewals of the license must be submitted directly to 
the Louisiana Department of Education by the employing 
authority. 

3. Renewal Requirements. The candidate must remain 
enrolled in the Non-Master's/Certification-Only Alternate 
Certification Program and fulfill a minimum of nine 
semester hours of coursework per year (to the extent that 
required semester hours remain in the program to be 
completed), teaching assignments, and prescribed activities 
identified by the program provider.  

4. Program requirements must be completed within 
the three year maximum that the license can be held.  

D. Practitioner License 3—issued to a candidate who is 
admitted to and enrolled in a state-approved Master's Degree 
Alternate Certification Program. 

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. baccalaureate degree from regionally accredited 

college or university; 
b. 2.50 GPA on a 4.00 scale; and  
c. passing scores on Praxis Pre-Professional Skills 

Tests (PPST) and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program. Candidates possessing a graduate 
degree from a regionally accredited college or university 
will be exempted from the PPST requirement. 

NOTE:  Special education mild/moderate certification 
candidates must qualify for admission to alternate programs 
by passing a Praxis specialty area exam. Secondary education 
candidates (grades 6-12) must pass a Praxis core subject area 
exam. If no examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area.  

2. The request for the initial practitioner license as 
well as renewals of the license must be submitted directly to 

the Louisiana Department of Education by the employing 
authority. 

3. Renewal Requirements: The candidate must remain 
enrolled in the Master's Degree Alternate Certification 
Program and fulfill a minimum of nine semester hours of 
coursework per year (to the extent that required semester 
hours remain in the program to be completed), teaching 
assignments, and prescribed activities identified by the 
program provider.  

4. Program requirements must be completed within 
the three year maximum that the license can be held.  

E. Practitioner License 4  
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current enrollment in (or has completed) an 
Alternate Post-Baccalaureate Program; cannot be enrolled in 
a redesigned program (Practitioner Teacher, Master's 
Degree, or Non-Master's/Certification-Only Alternate 
Program); 

b. passed the Praxis Pre-Professional Skills Tests 
(PPSTs) and current Praxis content area exam(s). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

c. has achieved a 2.50 GPA on a 4.00 scale; and  
d. has not yet completed all requirements for full 

certification.  
2. The request for the initial practitioner license as 

well as renewals of the license must be submitted directly to 
the Louisiana Department of Education by the employing 
authority. 

3. Renewal Requirements: Program requirements 
must be completed within the three year maximum that the 
license can be held. A candidate must remain enrolled in the 
alternate program, if applicable, and address his/her specific 
certification deficiency in all areas that apply: 

a. if deficient in coursework, candidate must fulfill 
a minimum of six semester hours of coursework per year (to 
the extent that required semester hours remain in the 
program to be completed); 

b. if deficient in Praxis requirements for the area of 
certification, he/she must attempt any remaining exams at 
least twice per year; or 

c. if deficient in program requirements for the 
internship, he/she must demonstrate progress toward 
fulfillment of these requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1800 (October 2006). 
§315. Standard Certificates for Teachers in Nonpublic 

Schools 
A. A standard certificate with an asterisk (*) following 

the certificate type is issued to a teacher in a non-public 
school setting who has not participated in the state's 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program 
(LaTAAP). The asterisk (*) refers to a statement printed at 
the bottom of the certificate: "If this teacher enters a public 
school system in Louisiana, he/she will be required to 
successfully complete the state teacher assessment 
program."  
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B. Level 2* (2-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal.  

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. a Louisiana Level 1 certificate;  
b. successfully taught for three years in area(s) of 

certification;  
c. completed a teacher assessment program for 

three years at the same nonpublic school, with the principal 
as evaluator and the teacher performance rated as 
satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. The request for the Level 2* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the Louisiana employing authority. 

3. The Level 2* certificate is valid in a nonpublic 
school setting. If the teacher enters a Louisiana public school 
system, he/she will be required to successfully complete the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program. 
Upon employment in a public school system, this teacher 
must begin to complete 150 clock hours of professional 
development over a five year period to renew the higher 
level certificate. 

C. Level 3* (3-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal.  

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a Louisiana Level 1 or Level 2* certificate; 
b. successfully taught for five years in the area(s) of 

certification;  
c. master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university; and  
d. completed a teacher assessment program for 

three consecutive years at the same nonpublic school, with 
the principal as evaluator and the teacher performance rated 
as satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. The request for the Level 3* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the Louisiana employing authority. 

3. The Level 3* certificate is valid in a nonpublic 
school setting. If the teacher enters a Louisiana public school 
system, he/she will be required to successfully complete the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program. 
Upon employment in a public school system, this teacher 
must begin to complete 150 clock hours of professional 
development over a five year period to renew the higher 
level certificate. 

D. Type B* (B-asterisk) Certificate—a lifetime 
nonpublic school certificate for continuous service, provided 
the holder does not allow any period of five or more 
consecutive years of disuse to accrue in which he is not a 
regularly employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, and/or certificate is not revoked by the 
Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a Louisiana Type C certificate; 
b. successfully taught for three years in area(s) of 

certification; and 

c. completed a teacher assessment program for 
three consecutive years at the same nonpublic school, with 
the principal as evaluator and the teacher performance rated 
as satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. The request for the Type B* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the Louisiana employing authority. 

3. The Type B* certificate is valid for life of 
continuous service in a nonpublic school setting. If the 
teacher enters a Louisiana public school system, he/she will 
be required to successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher 
Assistance and Assessment Program. 

E. Type A* (A-asterisk) Certificate—a lifetime 
nonpublic school certificate for continuous service, provided 
the holder does not allow any period of five or more 
consecutive years of disuse to accrue in which he is not a 
regularly employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, and/or certificate is not revoked by the 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. a Louisiana Type C, Type B, or Type B* 

certificate; 
b. successfully taught for five years in the area(s) of 

certification; 
c. master's degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university;  
d. completed a teacher assessment program for 

three consecutive years at the same nonpublic school, with 
the principal as evaluator and the teacher performance rated 
as satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. The request for the Type A* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the Louisiana employing authority. 

3. The Type A* certificate is valid for life of 
continuous service in a nonpublic school setting. If this 
teacher enters a Louisiana public school system, he/she will 
be required to successfully complete the Louisiana Teacher 
Assistance and Assessment Program. 

F. Renewal Guidelines for Level 2* and Level 3* 
Certificates 

1. A teacher must complete 150 continuing learning 
units (CLUs) of district-approved and verified professional 
development over the five year time period during which 
he/she holds the certificate, or during the five-year time 
period immediately preceding the request for renewal. The 
request for the Level 2* or Level 3* certificate must be 
submitted directly to the Louisiana Department of Education 
by the Louisiana employing authority. 

2. A teacher with an existing Level 2* or Level 3* 
teaching certificate may renew that certificate based upon 
completion of NBC during the period of certificate validity, 
as satisfaction in full of the 150 CLUs required for renewal. 

3. If the holder of an expired Level 2* or Level 3* 
certificate has not earned the required 150 CLUs of 
professional development, the expired certificate may be 
reactivated upon request of the Louisiana employing 
authority (at the level that was attained prior to expiration) 
for a period of one year, during which time the certificate 
holder must present evidence of successful completion of the 
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required 150 CLUs to the Division of Teacher Certification 
and Higher Education. Failure to complete necessary CLUs 
during the one year reactivation period will result in an 
expired certificate that cannot be reinstated until evidence is 
provided of completed professional development 
requirements. 

4. A Continuing Learning Unit (CLU) is a 
professional development activity that builds capacity for 
effective, research-based, content-focused teaching and 
learning that positively impacts student achievement. As a 
unit of measure, the CLU is used to quantify an educator's 
participation in a district- or system-approved, content-
focused professional development activity aligned with the 
educator's individual professional growth plan.  

a. Educators may earn one CLU for each clock hour 
of active engagement in a high quality professional 
development activity approved by the employing authority. 
Each educator is responsible for maintaining required 
documentation and for reporting earned CLUs in a manner 
prescribed by the employing authority. Earned CLUs 
transfer across Local Education Agencies (LEAs). 

b. An educator who holds a Level 2* or Level 3* 
professional license is responsible for maintaining 
documentation regarding acquisition of 150 CLUs for 
purposes of renewal and for completing the necessary 
paperwork every five years to renew his/her license. Upon 
submission of the renewal application to the State, the 
employing authority must provide an assurance statement 
signed by the superintendent or his/her designee, with the 
required listing of earned CLUs as documented by the 
educator seeking licensure. 

G. Reinstating Lapsed Levels 2* or 3*, Types B* or A* 
Certificates 

1. If the holder of a Level 2*, Level 3*, Type B*, or 
Type A* certificate allows a period of five consecutive 
calendar years to pass in which he/she is not a regularly 
employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, the certificate will lapse for disuse. 

2. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of 
credit in state-approved courses (see Appendix C) during the 
five year period immediately preceding request for 
reinstatement. 

3. If the holder did not earn six semester hours or 
equivalent, the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon 
request (at the level that was attained prior to disuse) for a 
period of one year, during which time the holder must 
complete reinstatement requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1801 (October 2006). 
Subchapter B. Nonstandard Teaching Authorizations 
§321. Introduction 

A. There are four types of nonstandard teaching 
authorizations issued in Louisiana: Temporary Authority to 
Teach (TAT); Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT); 
Temporary Employment Permit (TEP); and Nonpublic 
Temporary Certificate (T). Nonstandard authorizations are of 
a temporary nature but may be renewed under specified 
guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1803 (October 2006). 
§323. Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT) 

A. Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT)—issued for one 
school year, renewed annually, and held a maximum of three 
years while the holder pursues alternate certification 
program admission requirements or certification 
requirements. Upon completion of the three years of 
employment on this certificate, for continued employment as 
a teacher in a Louisiana school system, the holder must 
fulfill guidelines for a Practitioner License or a higher-level 
certificate.  

B. An applicant must have passing scores on the Praxis 
Pre-professional Skills Tests (PPSTs) Reading and Writing 
examinations and at least a 2.0 GPA. Applicants who meet 
this eligibility standard can apply for a TAT based on the 
following four conditions of eligibility. 

1. Condition 1: Issued to an applicant who graduates 
from a teacher preparation program, does not pass all Praxis 
exams, and who has not previously qualified for a Louisiana 
standard teaching authorization.  

a. Renewal Guidelines 1: The teacher must take the 
necessary Praxis examinations at least twice a year. 

2. Condition 2: Issued to an applicant who holds a 
minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a regionally-
accredited institution, who applies for admission to a 
Practitioner Teacher or other alternate program, but does not 
pass the Praxis examination(s) required for admission to the 
program, and/or has a minimum of a 2.0 GPA but does not 
have the required 2.20 GPA for admission to an alternate 
program: 

a. Renewal Guidelines. Teacher must successfully 
complete a minimum of six credit hours per year in the 
subject area(s) that he/she is attempting to pass on the Praxis 
and take the necessary examinations at least once a year; 
and/or 

b. Renewal Guidelines. The teacher must 
successfully complete a minimum of six credit hours per 
year to raise the GPA to a 2.20 as required for admission to 
an alternate program.  

3. Condition 3: Issued to an applicant who holds a 
minimum of a baccalaureate degree from a regionally-
accredited college or university and is hired after the start of 
an available alternate certification program. 

a. Renewal Guidelines 3: The teacher must take the 
appropriate Praxis examinations required for admission to an 
alternate certification program and, if successful, apply for 
admission to the alternate program. 

4. Condition 4: Issued to an applicant who has a 
minimum of a 2.35 GPA on a 4.00 scale and has completed 
all other requirements for certification. 

a. Renewal Guidelines 4: Teacher must successfully 
complete a minimum of six credit hours per year to obtain 
the required 2.50 GPA on a 4.00 scale that is required for 
certification purposes. 

C. TAT Stipulations 
1. Districts may recommend that teachers be given the 

one year TAT according to the stipulated eligibility and 
renewal conditions.  
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2. Districts submit the application and provide an 
affidavit signed by the local superintendent verifying that 
good faith efforts for recruiting certified personnel have been 
made, including posting all positions for which TATs are 
issued on the Teach Louisiana website; that "there is no 
regularly certified, competent, and suitable person available 
for the position;" and that applicant is the best-qualified 
person for the position.  

D. If an applicant fails to complete required renewal 
guidelines, the TAT will not be renewed. Exception to this 
policy will be considered in the case of a serious medical 
condition. 

1. Medical Excuse: When serious medical problems of 
the teacher or his/her immediate family exist, a doctor's 
statement is required with a letter of assurance from the 
teacher that the unmet requirements will be completed prior 
to the beginning of the next school year. See Appendix D of 
this bulletin for the form entitled "Certification of Teacher's 
or Family Member's Serious Health Condition" and for 
definition of "Serious Health Condition" as set forth under 
the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1803 (October 2006). 
§325. Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT) 

A. Out-of-Field Authorization to Teach (OFAT)—issued 
for one school year, renewable annually, and may be held a 
maximum of three years while the holder pursues 
endorsement (add-on) certification requirements. If the 
teacher is actively pursuing certification in the field and the 
Louisiana Department of Education has designated the area 
as an area that requires extensive hours for completion, up to 
two additional years of renewal may be granted.  

B. Eligibility Requirements: Issued to an applicant who 
holds a valid Louisiana Out-of-State Certificate; Temporary 
Employment Permit; or a Type C, Type B, Type A, Level 1, 
Level 2, or Level 3 teaching certificate but is teaching 
outside of the certified area(s).  

C. Renewal Requirements: Teacher must successfully 
complete one of the following: 

1. six semester hours per year in the area(s) that 
he/she is teaching;  

2. the Praxis exam(s) required for certification in the 
area(s) that he/she is teaching. Under this stipulation, the 
exam(s) must be attempted at least twice per year. 

NOTE:  The coursework and Praxis exam(s) required for 
certification will be per official evaluation provided by the 
Division of Teacher Certification and Higher Education. 

D. OFAT Stipulations 
1. Districts must submit the application and provide 

an affidavit signed by the local superintendent verifying that 
good faith efforts for recruiting certified personnel have been 
made, including consulting the Teach Louisiana website; that 
"there is no regularly certified, competent, and suitable 
person available for the position;" and that the applicant is 
the best-qualified person for the position.  

2. If the teacher is actively pursuing certification in 
the field and the Louisiana Department of Education 
designates the area as an area that requires extensive hours 
for completion, up to two additional years of renewal may be 
granted. Designated areas are as follows. 

a. Applicants pursuing certification in Academically 
Gifted, Significant Disabilities, Early Interventionist, 
Hearing Impaired, and Visual Impairments/Blind may be 
granted two additional years of renewal. 

b. Applicants pursuing certification in 
Mild/Moderate may be granted one additional year of 
renewal. 

3. If an applicant fails to complete the required 
renewal guidelines, the OFAT will not be renewed. 
Exception to this policy will be considered in the case of a 
serious medical condition or the unavailability of required 
coursework. 

a. Medical Excuse. When serious medical problems 
of the teacher or his/her immediate family exist, a doctor's 
statement is required with a letter of assurance from the 
teacher that the unmet requirements will be completed prior 
to the beginning of the next school year. See Appendix D of 
this bulletin for the form entitled "Certification of Teacher's 
or Family Member's Serious Health Condition" and for 
definition of "Serious Health Condition" as set forth under 
the Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993. 

b. Required Courses not Available. Documentation 
that necessary coursework was not available must be 
provided in the form of letters of verification from all 
universities in the accessible geographic area of the teacher's 
domicile. The university letter must verify that the necessary 
coursework was not offered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1804 (October 2006). 
§326. Temporary Employment Permit (TEP) 

A. Temporary Employment Permit (TEP)—Issued for 
one school year, renewable annually, and may be held a 
maximum of three years while the holder pursues 
satisfaction of state Praxis requirements. Upon completion 
of the three years of employment on this certificate, for 
continued employment in a Louisiana school system, the 
holder must fulfill guidelines for a Level 1 or higher-level 
certificate. 

B. Eligibility Guidelines 1: Issued to an applicant who 
meets all certification requirements with the exception of 
passing all portions of the NTE Commons examination 
completed prior to February 20, 1985, but who scores within 
10 percent of the composite score required for passage of all 
exams. 

NOTE:  This was formerly classified as an Emergency Permit. 
1. The Louisiana employing authority must submit the 

application to the Department of Education. 
2. The Louisiana employing authority must submit a 

signed affidavit to the State Department of Education 
stipulating that there is no other applicant meeting all 
certification requirements who is available for employment 
for a specific teaching position. 

3. Granting of this permit shall not waive the 
requirement that the person successfully complete the exam.  

C. Eligibility Guidelines 2: Issued to an individual who 
meets all certification requirements with the exception of 
passing one of the components of the NTE/Praxis 
examination(s) completed after February 20, 1985, but who 
has an aggregate score equal to or above the total required
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on all NTE/Praxis exams for the area of certification. The 
individual must submit the application and all required 
materials to the Department of Education. 

D. Renewal Requirements: An individual can be reissued 
a permit two times only if evidence is presented that the 
required exam has been retaken twice within one year from 
the date the permit was last issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1804 (October 2006). 
§327. Nonpublic Temporary Certificate (T) 

A. Nonpublic Temporary Certificate (T)—valid for one 
year; renewable.  

B. Eligibility Guidelines. This certificate is granted to 
teachers practicing in a nonpublic school setting who need 
temporary credentialing to meet nonpublic school standards.  

C. Renewal Guidelines. The holder must earn six 
semester hours of professional coursework annually. 
Exception to this policy will be considered in the case of 
serious medical condition or unavailability of required 
coursework. 

D. Medical Excuse. When serious medical problems of 
the teacher or immediate family exist, a doctor's statement is 
required with a letter of assurance from the teacher that the 
unmet requirements will be completed prior to the beginning 
of the next school year. See Appendix D of this bulletin for 
the form entitled "'Certification of Teacher' or Family 
Member's Serious Health Condition" and for definition of 
"Serious Health Condition" as set forth under the Family and 
Medical Leave Act of 1993.  

E. Required Courses Not Available. Documentation that 
necessary coursework was not available must be provided in 
the form of letters of verification from all universities in the 
accessible geographic area of the teacher. The university 
letter must verify that the necessary coursework was not 
offered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006). 
Subchapter C. Ancillary Teaching Certificates 
§341. Introduction 

A. Ancillary certificates are issued by Louisiana for 
those who provide teaching, support, administrative, or 
supervisory services to children in K-12 schools. See 
Chapter 4 of this bulletin for an explanation of ancillary 
certificates issued for those who provide support services in 
K-12 schools. See Chapter 7 of this bulletin for an 
explanation of ancillary certificates issued for those who 
provide administrative and supervisory services in K-12 
schools. There are three types of ancillary teaching 
certificates: Ancillary Artist or Talented Certificate; 
Nonpublic Montessori Teacher Certificate; and Certificate 
for Family and Consumer Sciences—Occupational 
Programs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006). 

§343. Artist or Talented Certificate 
A. An Ancillary Artist or Talented certificate is issued to 

an applicant who has earned an advanced degree in an 
artistic or talented field, or who has produced evidence of 
creative accomplishments over an extended period of time. 
An Ancillary Artist or Ancillary Talented certificate allows 
the holder to provide artistic and/or creative services in a 
regular classroom to children at any age level. 

B. Artists Certificate (Art, Creative Writing, Drama, 
Dance, Music, Theatre, Visual Arts)—valid for one year.  

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a written request from the Louisiana employing 

authority indicating that the person will be employed once 
the certification is granted; 

b. substantive evidence of artistic and/or creative 
accomplishment over an extended period of time, submitted 
in the form of newspaper articles, brochures, catalogs, 
playbills, programs, magazines, published music, letters 
from accomplished peers, etc. (photographs, slides and 
actual artwork are not acceptable). 

2. Renewal Guidelines. The Louisiana employing 
school district must request renewal of this certificate for 
each school year of employment at the time of re-
employment.  

3. The person holding such certification is not eligible 
for tenure. 

C. Talented Certificate (Music, Theatre, or Visual 
Arts)—Valid for continuous service in one school system.  

1. This certificate allowing the certificate holder to 
provide talented services is valid only for the period and 
district of employment. 

2. Certification is granted only in the specific talented 
area requested (visual art, music, or theatre).  

3. Eligibility requirements: 
a. master's degree in Art, Music, Theatre Liberal 

Arts, or Theatre Education; or substantive evidence of 
artistic and/or creative accomplishment over an extended 
period of time, submitted in the form of newspaper articles, 
brochures, catalogs, playbills, programs, magazines, 
published music, letters from accomplished peers, etc. 
(photographs, slides and actual artwork are not acceptable); 

b. written request from the Louisiana employing 
authority indicating that the person will be employed as a 
talented teacher once the certification is granted; and 

c. the individual must have a minimum of one year 
of successful experience working with students in the 
specific arts area and at the level for which employment is 
being sought. 

4. Renewal Guidelines: If the holder of this certificate 
changes school systems, the Louisiana employing school 
district must request a change of job assignment. 

5. Persons holding a talented certificate are not 
eligible for tenure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006). 
§345. Nonpublic Montessori Teacher Certificate 

A. Nonpublic Montessori Teacher Certificate—Valid for 
life of continuous service.  
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B. Louisiana Montessori teachers will be certified and 
issued Louisiana Montessori teaching certificates by the 
Louisiana Department of Education.  

C. Eligibility Guidelines 
1. For a Type C Montessori Certificate—the teacher 

shall have completed training from one of the following:  
a. American Montessori Society; 
b. Association Montessori Internationale; 
c. St. Nicholas Training Course of London; 
d. The Montessori World Education Institute; 
e. Montessori Institute of America; 
f. Southwestern Montessori Training Institute; 
g. Any other training course jointly approved by the 

Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
and the Louisiana Montessori Association. 

2. For a Type B Montessori Certificate: 
a. at least one year of successful teaching 

experience in a Montessori school; and  
b. completed training from one of the following:  

 i. American Montessori Society; 
 ii. Association Montessori Internationale; 
 iii. St. Nicholas Training Course of London; 
 iv. The Montessori World Education Institute; 
 v. Montessori Institute of America; 
 vi. Southwestern Montessori Training Institute; 
 vii. Any other training course jointly approved by 
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and the 
Louisiana Montessori Association. 

3. For Type A, Junior Class A, and Junior Montessori 
certificates: 

a. a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited 
college or university; 

b. at least one year of successful teaching 
experience in a Montessori school; and 

c. completed training from one of the following:  
 i. American Montessori Society; 
 ii. Association Montessori Internationale; 
 iii. St. Nicholas Training Course of London; 
 iv. The Montessori World Education Institute; 
 v. Montessori Institute of America; 
 vi. Southwestern Montessori Training Institute; 
 vii. Any other training course jointly approved by 
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and the 
Louisiana Montessori Association. 

D. The certificate lapses for disuse if the holder allows a 
period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which 
he/she is not a regularly employed teacher for at least one 
semester, or 90 consecutive days. To reinstate a lapsed 
certificate, the holder must present evidence that he/she 
earned six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses 
(see Appendix C) during the five year period immediately 
preceding request for reinstatement.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1805 (October 2006). 
§346. Family and Consumer Sciences (Occupational 

Programs) 
A. An ancillary certificate issued in Family and 

Consumer Sciences (Occupational Programs) authorizes an 
individual to teach in the areas of child care, clothing 

service, food service, housing and interior design, and 
institutional home management. 

B. Provisional Certification: Valid for three years.  
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. bachelor's degree in a Family and Consumer 
Sciences specialty area; 

b. 12 semester hours in professional education 
courses, to include organization and administration of 
Family and Consumer Sciences occupational programs; and 

c. minimum of 2,000 hours of successful work 
experience in the area of occupational certification. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed upon request 
of the Louisiana employing authority. 

C. Permanent Certification. Valid for life with 
continuous service. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. completed requirements for provisional 

certification; 
b. three years of teaching experience in Family and 

Consumer Sciences occupational programs; and 
c. reinstatement of a lapsed certificate: If the 

certificate holder allows a period of five consecutive 
calendar years to pass in which he/she is not a regularly 
employed teacher for at least one semester (90 consecutive 
days), the certificate lapses for disuse. To reinstate a lapsed 
certificate, the holder must present evidence that he/she 
earned six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses 
during the five year period immediately preceding request 
for reinstatement (see Appendix C). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1806 (October 2006). 
Subchapter D. Special Considerations for Teachers 

Called to Active Military Duty 
§361. Introduction 

A. A teacher employed on a Louisiana certificate of any 
type who is called to active military duty will not be 
penalized for the time spent in active service. He or she must 
present copies of official documents indicating beginning 
and ending dates of active military duty when applying for 
renewal or extension of the certificate. 

B. For the period of military service: 
1. renewal guidelines specifying required coursework 

and/or Praxis exams for temporary certificates will be 
waived; 

2. renewal guidelines specifying Continuing Learning 
Units (CLUs) for Level 2 and Level 3 certificates will be 
waived; and 

3. additional time commensurate with the amount of 
time spent in active duty will be allowed on the temporary or 
regular certificate, in terms of the school year(s) or portion 
thereof spent in active military service. 

C. Once the time spent has been restored to an individual 
who was called to active duty, the renewal guidelines for 
temporary and/or regular certificates will be effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1806 (October 2006). 
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Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
§401. Introduction 

A. An individual must have an official authorization 
from the state to provide services to children in a Louisiana 
school setting. An ancillary certificate allows a qualified 
person who is not a certified teacher to provide such 
services. The holder of an ancillary certificate is authorized 
to perform only those services that are specifically stated on 
the certificate in the school systems of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006). 
Subchapter A. Child Nutrition Program Supervisor 
§403. Introduction 

A. Child Nutrition Program Supervisor—Valid for life 
with continuous service. 

B. Basic Eligibility Requirements: A master's degree in 
home economics, institutional management, nutrition, 
dietetics, business administration, food technology, or public 
health nutrition from a regionally accredited institution of 
higher education. 

C. Eligibility Requirements in Areas of Specialty 
1. Specialty in food service: 

a. a minimum of three years of successful 
experience in home economics education or quantity food 
service management; and 

b. a minimum of 21 semester hours—six semester 
hours in nutrition related to humans, three semester hours in 
quantity food preparation, and 12 semester hours in at least 
four of the following subjects: 
 i. Quantity Food Service; 
 ii. Organization and Management; 
 iii. Quantity Food Service Equipment and Layout; 
 iv. Accounting; 
 v. Statistics; 
 vi. Microbiology; 
 vii. Food Service or Technology. 

2. Specialty in nutrition: 
a. a minimum of three years of successful 

experience in teaching, nutrition education, public health 
nutrition, clinical or administrative dietetics, cooperative 
extension, or food service management; 

b. graduate and/or undergraduate course work, as 
follows: 
 i. nutrition, 18 semester hours—six semester 
hours in nutrition related to humans, and 12 semester hours 
may include nutrition, physiology, biochemistry, 
microbiology, or bacteriology; 
 ii. foods, nine semester hours; 
 iii. statistics, research methodology, or evaluative 
techniques, three semester hours; and 
 iv. a minimum of 12 semester hours in at least two 
of the following subjects: 

(a). Quantity Food Preparation or Quantity 
Cookery; 

(b). Child or Adolescent Psychology; 
(c). Communication and Speech; 
(d). Educational Materials and/or Methods; 
(e). Personnel or Institutional Management. 

D. Reinstatement of a lapsed Certificate: If certificate 
holder allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to 
pass in which he/she is not regularly employed as a Child 
Nutrition Program Supervisor for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, he/she must present evidence of having 
earned six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses 
(see Appendix C). The six semester credit hours must be 
earned during the five year period immediately preceding 
reinstatement. 

E. A special provisional certificate, Acting Child 
Nutrition Program Supervisor, may be issued to an 
individual employed in this capacity. 

1. Eligibility Requirements. A baccalaureate or 
master's degree in home economics, institutional 
management, nutrition, dietetics, business administration, 
food technology, or public health nutrition from a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. Valid for one year and 
renewable each year thereafter upon presentation of six 
semester hours of applicable credit toward completion of all 
requirements for permanent certification as a Child Nutrition 
Program Supervisor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006). 
§405. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) 

A. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting)—
Valid for three years; upon verification by employer of three 
years of successful experience as a school counselor, the 
certificate becomes valid for life of continuous service. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. master's degree in school counseling from a 

regionally accredited institution, or a master's degree with 
the equivalent hours and courses required for a master's 
degree in school counseling; and 

2. graduate training must include 24 semester hours of 
professional courses distributed so that at least one course 
will be taken in each of the basic areas listed below: 

a. Principles and Administration of School 
Counseling Programs; 

b. Career and Lifestyle Development; 
c. Individual Appraisal; 
d. Counseling Theory and Practice; 
e. Group Processes; 
f. Human Growth and Development; 
g. Social and Cultural Foundations in Counseling; 
h. Supervised Practicum in a School Setting. 

C. Renewal Guidelines. If certificate holder allows a 
period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which 
he/she is not a regularly employed educator for at least one 
semester [90 consecutive days], the certificate lapses for 
disuse. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of 
credit in state-approved courses during the five year period 
immediately preceding request for reinstatement (see 
Appendix C). 

D. Professional Counselor in the School Setting: 
Applicant must meet the above requirements for counselor 
in a school setting and hold current licensure as a Licensed
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Professional Counselor in Louisiana (LPC), in accordance 
with Act 892 L.S. 1987 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1807 (October 2006). 
§407. Educational Interpreter and/or Transliterator: 

Effective December 6, 2001 
A. An Educational Interpreter and/or Transliterator is an 

individual who facilitates communication within an 
instructional environment via an enhanced visual and/or 
tactile mode between and among deaf/hard of hearing and 
hearing individuals in situations in which those individuals 
are unable to communicate with one another using a speech 
and hearing mode.  

B. These certifications are issued to individuals who 
have at least a standard high school diploma or a General 
Equivalency Diploma (GED) and who meet the guidelines 
outlined in this document. 

C. Provisional Certificate 
1. Eligibility Requirements—fulfill one of the 

following:  
a. complete an accredited interpreter preparation 

program with a minimum of a certificate of completion;  
b. certification as a cued speech transilterator from 

a national or state recognized organization or certifying 
body; 

c. certification as a sign language 
interpreter/transliterator by a national or state organization or 
certifying body;  

d. advanced level or higher, as measured by the 
Sign Language Proficiency Interview (SLPI) or Sign 
Communication Proficiency Interview (SCPI); or 

e. specified level or higher as measured on the Pre-
Hiring Assessment of the Educational Interpreter 
Performance Assessment (EIPA) or the Cued American 
English Competency Screening expressive and receptive. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. Valid for one year and 
renewable at the request of a Louisiana employing authority. 

D. Qualified Certificate 
1. Issued to persons who meet the criteria for 

certification as an educational interpreter or transliterator.  
2. The certificate has endorsement areas of 

Elementary and/or Secondary, indicating competency in one 
of the following modes of sign language systems: American 
Sign Language (ASL), Manually Coded English (MCE), 
Signing Exact English (SEEII), or Cued Speech.  

3. Eligibility requirements: 
a. candidate satisfies conditions for ancillary 

provisional certificate and meets the criteria for this 
certificate; or 

b. candidate was providing interpreter or 
transliterator services prior to the implementation of these 
standards (December 6, 2001), as verified by the Division of 
Special Populations, and satisfies one of the following: 
 i. 20 hours of professional development accrued 
beginning December 6, 2001; 
 ii. interpreters shall pass the Educational 
Interpreter Performance Assessment, Written Test; 

 iii. passes the standardized videotape version of 
the Educational Interpreter Performance Assessment at a 
level of 3.0; transliterators shall pass the Cued Language 
Transliterator State level Assessment. 

4. Renewal Guidelines 
a. May be renewed every five years if the applicant 

satisfactorily completes six semester hours of credit or the 
equivalent of continuing professional development (90 
contact hours). 

b. The six hours of credit or 90 equivalent clock 
hours shall be directly and substantively related to one or 
more of the permits or certificates held by applicant or 
related to the applicant's professional competency. 

c. These hours shall be accrued beginning the date 
of issuance of the Ancillary Qualified Certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006). 
§409. School Librarian 

A. School Librarian—valid for five years.  
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. master's degree in library science from a 
regionally accredited institution; and 

b. passing score on Praxis Library Media Specialist 
examination (#0310). 

2. Renewal guidelines: 
a. complete 150 continuing learning units of 

district-approved and verified professional development over 
the five year time period during which the certificate is held; 

b. the Louisiana employing authority must request 
renewal of an Ancillary School Librarian Certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006). 
§411. School Nurse 

A. Type C School Nurse—valid for three years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. minimum of two years experience as a registered 
nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed once for a 
three year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

B. Type B School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. three years of experience as a Type C School 
Nurse. 

2. Renewal guidelines:  
a. six semester hours earned in nursing, education, 

or other health-related subjects completed since the Type B 
certificate was issued; and 

b. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse. 
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C. Type A School Nurse—valid for life with continuous 
service. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 

professional nurse; 
b. baccalaureate degree in nursing or a health-

related field from a regionally accredited college or 
university; and 

c. five years experience as a certified Type B school 
nurse. 

2. Renewal guidelines: 
a. six semester hours of nursing, education, or other 

health-related subjects completed since the Type A 
certificate was issued; and 

b. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006). 
§413. Social Worker 

A. Social Worker—issued to individuals with master's 
degrees in social work or social welfare. 

B. Provisional School Social Worker—valid for three 
years. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a provisional Graduate Social Work Certificate 

(GSW) issued under R.S. 37:2701 et seq; 
b. an individual must work under the supervision of 

a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) for a minimum 
of one hour per week if providing clinical social work 
services. 

2. Renewal guidelines: nonrenewable. 
C. Qualified School Social Worker 

1. Eligibility requirements—one of the following: 
a. Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), in 

accordance with R.S.37:2701 et seq. 
b. Certificate as a Graduate Social Worker (GSW), 

in accordance with R.S. 37:201et seq.; receive a minimum of 
one hour per week of supervision by a LCSW, if providing 
clinical social work services; and have work experience in 
one or more of the following social work practice settings 
within the past five years: 
 i. school setting; 
 ii. mental health setting; 
 iii. correction setting; 
 iv. family/child/community service agency; 
 v. medical social services in which social services 
were delivered to families and children; 
 vi. private clinical practice in which social work 
services were delivered to adults, children, and families; or 
 vii. have graduate Social Worker field experience 
in the above Social Work practice settings plus two years of 
work experience, to be judged by the Louisiana State Board 
of Certified Social Work Examiners. 

2. This certificate is valid provided the holder 
maintains current Louisiana licensure as a Social Worker. A 
social worker who changes employing school systems must 
provide a copy of his/her current Louisiana license to serve 
as a social worker. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1809 (October 2006). 
§415. Special Education Examiners (Required by R.S. 

17:1941) 
A. State statute requires that each school district have 

assessment teams for the purpose of identifying and 
evaluating the individual needs of each child with 
exceptionalities. These teams may include any number of the 
specialists outlined in this Section.  

NOTE:  Persons serving on multidisciplinary teams who have 
competent authority numbers may continue to serve in this 
capacity.  

B. Audiologist  
1. Provisional certificate—valid for three years.  

a. Eligibility requirements: 
 i. master's degree in audiology or equivalent, as 
specified in R.S. 37:2651 et seq.; 
 ii. must work under supervision of a licensed 
audiologist. 

b. Renewal guidelines: nonrenewable. 
2. Qualified Licensed Audiologist—valid for life with 

continuous service. 
a. Eligibility requirements: 

 i. master's degree in audiology or equivalent, as 
specified in R.S. 37:2651 et seq.; 
 ii. current Louisiana licensure as an Audiologist. 

b. Renewal guidelines: holder must present current 
Louisiana credential as a licensed Audiologist. 

C. Educational Diagnostician. This is not an ancillary 
certification area but rather an endorsement to a standard 
certificate. See certification guidelines for Educational 
Diagnostician in Chapter 6 of this bulletin. 

D. School Psychologist  
1. Standard certificate—valid for five years. 

a. Eligibility requirements—one of the following: 
 i. completion of a school psychology training 
program that meets requirements of the current Standards for 
Training and Field Placement Programs in School 
Psychology established by the National Association of 
School Psychologists;  
 ii. evidence of current and continuous 
certification as a Nationally Certified School Psychologist. 

b. Levels 
 i. Level A—Applicants must meet requirements 
for the standard certificate and possess a doctoral degree 
(such as Ph.D., Ed. D., or Psy.D.) from a regionally 
accredited institution in school psychology or in psychology 
with a program of study emphasizing child development and 
knowledge and skills in education and assessment. 
 ii. Level B—Applicants must meet requirements 
for the standard certificate and possess a master's or 
specialist degree from a school psychology training program 
in a regionally accredited institution. 

c. Renewal Guidelines: The standard certificate 
must be renewed by the expiration date, every five years. A 
one month grace period is allowed before the certificate is 
considered lapsed. The certificate may be renewed upon 
completion of the following:  
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 i. at least one year of experience, or equivalent, 
as a school psychologist;  
 ii. one of the following: 

(a). six semester hours of additional graduate 
credit in any of the areas specified in the Standards for 
Training and Field Placement Programs in School 
Psychology established by the National Association of 
School Psychologists;  

(b). an equivalent number of Continuing 
Professional Development/Education Units (9.0 CEU or 90 
contact hours) in a variety of activities designed to maintain 
and expand a school psychologist's skills, and to ensure the 
provision of quality services;  

(c). a combination of graduate credit hours and 
Continuing Professional Development/Education Units 
equivalent to six semester hours (each semester hour equals 
1.5 Continuing Professional Development/Education Units), 
for a total of 9.0 Continuing Professional 
Development/Education Units;  

(d). evidence of current and continuous 
certification as a Nationally Certified School Psychologist 
since the last date of state certification or renewal. 

2. Provisional Certificate—Valid for one year and 
renewable once for the completion of internship for the 
standard Level A or B certificate.  

a. Eligibility requirements: 
 i. completed academic preparation in school 
psychology that meets requirements of current Standards for 
Training and Field Placement Programs in School 
Psychology established by the National Association of 
School Psychologists, except for the internship. The 
internship shall be completed during the time of the 
provisional certificate, in accordance with internship 
requirements in current Standards for Training and Field 
Placement Programs in School Psychology established by 
the National Association of School Psychologists; 
 ii. holder of a lapsed standard Level A or B 
certificate who has not met requirements for certification 
renewal. 

b. Renewal Guidelines: May be renewed for one 
additional year when necessary to complete the internship, 
and upon written request of applicant and of the director of 
the training program or intern supervisor. 

3. Lapsed School Psychologist certificates may be 
reinstated upon verification that the following conditions 
have been met. Credits submitted must have been earned 
within the five years of the last renewal request. A 
provisional certificate may be awarded for a one year period, 
during which time the individual must meet renewal 
requirements for the standard certificate: 

a. at least one year of experience or equivalent as a 
school psychologist;  

b. one of the following: 
 i. six semester hours of additional graduate credit 
in any of the areas specified in the Standards for Training 
and Field Placement Programs in School Psychology 
established by the National Association of School 
Psychologists;  
 ii. an equivalent number of Continuing 
Professional Development/Education Units (9.0 CEU or 90 
contact hours) in a variety of activities designed to maintain 

and expand a school psychologist's skills, and to ensure the 
provision of quality services;  
 iii. a combination of graduate credit hours and 
Continuing Professional Development/Education Units 
equivalent to six semester hours (each semester hour equals 
1.5 Continuing Professional Development/Education Units), 
for a total of 9.0 Continuing Professional 
Development/Education Units;  
 iv. evidence of current and continuous 
certification as a Nationally Certified School Psychologist 
since the last date of State certification or renewal. 

E. Supervisor of School Psychological Services—
eligibility guidelines: 

1. hold valid Louisiana Level A or Level B School 
Psychologist certification under current requirements; and 

2. have at least three years of supervised experience as 
a school psychologist, of which at least two years have been 
in Louisiana. 

F. Speech Pathology Assistant—valid for three years and 
renewable.  

1. The word assistant designates that direct 
supervision by a certified and licensed speech/language 
pathologist is required. 

2. Ancillary Speech/Language Pathology Assistant 
certificates authorize service as a speech pathology assistant 
only, not as a regular classroom teacher. 

3. Eligibility requirements: 
a. an earned baccalaureate degree in 

speech/language pathology from a regionally accredited 
institution; 

b. completed at least 100 clock hours of supervised 
clinical practicum. 

4. Renewal guidelines: 
a. may be renewed by request of the Louisiana 

employing authority; 
b. certificate may be changed to "valid for life with 

continuous service" with verification of three years of 
service as a speech therapist. 

5. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate. If certificate 
holder allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to 
pass in which he/she is not a regularly employed speech 
pathology assistant for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, the certificate lapses for disuse. To 
reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must present 
evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of credit in 
state-approved courses during the five year period 
immediately preceding the request for reinstatement (see 
Appendix C). 

G. Speech Pathologist 
1. Provisional Certificate in Speech Pathology—valid 

for three years. 
a. Eligibility requirements: master's degree from a 

regionally accredited college or university in speech 
pathology.  

b. Renewal guidelines: nonrenewable. 
2. Qualified Certificate in Speech Pathology—valid 

for life with continuous service, provided holder maintains 
current Louisiana license to serve as a speech pathologist. 
Eligibility Requirements: 

a. master's degree from a regionally accredited 
college or university in speech pathology, as specified under 
Speech Pathology Guidelines; and 
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b. a valid Louisiana license to serve as a speech 
pathologist. 

3. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate. If certificate 
holder allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to 
pass in which he/she is not regularly employed as a school 
speech pathologist for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, he/she must present evidence of having 
earned six semester hours of credit in state-approved courses 
(see Appendix C). The six semester credit hours must be 
earned during the five year period immediately preceding 
reinstatement. 

H. Speech Therapist/American Speech and Hearing 
Association (ASHA)—A person who provides speech 
therapy services to students with speech and/or language 
impairments. Valid for three years. 

1. Eligibility requirements―one of the following:  
a. verification that applicant holds ASHA 

Certificate of Clinical Competence; 
b. ASHA verification that individual has met 

requirements for Certificate of Clinical Competence (with 
possible exception of the clinical fellowship year); or 

c. verification from the director of an ASHA-
certified training program, in which the applicant has 
completed a master's degree, that ASHA requirements for the 
Certificate of Clinical Competence have been met (with the 
possible exception of the clinical fellowship year). 

2. For those persons who have not completed the 
clinical fellowship year, this designation will be so noted on 
the certificate. 

3. Renewal Guidelines 
a. Louisiana employing authority may request 

renewal of the certificate. 
b. Certificate may be changed to "valid for life with 

continuous service" with verification of three years of 
service as a speech therapist.  

4. Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate: If certificate 
holder allows a period of five consecutive calendar years to 
pass in which he/she is not regularly employed as a speech 
therapist in a school setting for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, the certificate lapses for disuse. To 
reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must present 
evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of credit in 
state-approved courses during the five year period 
immediately preceding request for reinstatement (see 
Appendix C). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1809 (October 2006). 
Subchapter B. School Therapists 
§421. Overview 

A. School Art Therapist—Valid as long as holder 
remains in the same school system. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. evidence of successful completion of accredited 

art therapy degree program, and current 
registration/membership in the American Art Therapy 
Association; 

b. requirements of the educational program: 
 i. three semester hours, Introduction to Education 
of Exceptional Children;  

 ii. three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; 

c. 50 percent of preclinical experience must have 
been directed toward a population aged zero through 21 
years, in both institutional and school settings. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. The Louisiana employing 
authority must request renewal at the time of any change of 
employment systems.  

B. Dance Therapist—valid as long as holder remains in 
same school system. 

1. Master's Level 
a. Eligibility requirements:  

 i. master's degree in dance therapy; 
 ii. requirements of the educational program: 

(a). three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; and 

(b). three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; 
 iii. current registration or membership in the 
American Dance Therapy Association. 

b. Renewal Guidelines: The Louisiana employing 
authority must request a renewal at the time of any change of 
employment systems.  

2. Bachelor's Level 
a. Eligibility requirements:  

 i. bachelor's degree in dance therapy; 
 ii. requirements of the educational program: 

(a). three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; and 

(b). three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children.  
 iii. practicum for two semesters in both a clinical 
and a school setting. Fifty percent of the practicum must 
involve work with a population aged zero through 21 years; 
and 
 iv. current registration or membership the 
American Dance Therapy Association. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. The Louisiana employing 
authority must request renewal at the time of any change of 
employment systems.  

C. Music Therapist—valid as long as holder remains in 
same school system. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. evidence of successful completion of an 

accredited music therapy degree program, and registration 
by the National Association of Music Therapy, Inc.; 

b. meet the following course requirements of the 
music therapy component of the degree program: 

c. three semester hours, Introduction to Education 
of Exceptional Children; 

d. three semester hours, Psychology of Exceptional 
Children; and 

e. recreational music; school music; 
f. fifty percent of pre-clinical and clinical 

experiences should be directed toward a population aged 
zero through 21 years, in both institutional and school 
settings. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. The Louisiana employing 
authority must request renewal at the time of any change of 
employment systems.  
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D. Occupational Therapist 
1. Provisional Certification—valid for two years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A temporary license to 
practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3009, as administered by the Louisiana State 
Board of Medical Examiners. 

b. Renewal guidelines: nonrenewable. 
2. Full Certificate—valid for five years; renewable. 

a. Eligibility requirements: 
 i. a valid license to practice occupational therapy 
in Louisiana in compliance with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as 
administered by the Board of Medical Examiners; and 
 ii. two years of successful work experience as an 
occupational therapist with children, and the 
recommendation of applicant's employer; 

b. Renewal Guidelines: Applicant must present 
copy of current licensure, and request by the Louisiana 
employing authority. 

E. Physical Therapist  
1. Provisional Certification—valid for two years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A temporary license to 
practice physical therapy in compliance with R.S. 37:2402, 
as administered by the Louisiana State Board of Physical 
Therapy Examiners.  

b. Renewal guidelines: nonrenewable. 
2. Full Certificate―valid for five years. 

a. Eligibility requirements: 
 i. a valid Louisiana license to practice physical 
therapy in compliance with R.S. 37:2402, as administered by 
the Louisiana State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners; 
and 
 ii. two years of successful work experience as a 
physical therapist with children, and the recommendation of 
applicant's employer. 

b. Renewal guidelines: current licensure, and 
request of the Louisiana employing authority. 

F. Recreational Therapist—valid as long as individual is 
employed in the same school system. 

1. Master's Level 
a. Eligibility requirements: 

 i. evidence of successful completion of an 
accredited recreation therapy degree program, and 
registration with the National Therapeutic Society; 
 ii. requirements as part of recreation therapy 
degree program: 

(a). three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; and 

(b). three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; 
 iii. 50 percent of pre-clinical and clinical 
experiences should be directed toward a population aged 
zero through 21 years in both institutional and school 
settings. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. The Louisiana employing 
authority must request renewal at the time of any change of 
employment systems.  

2. Bachelor's Level 
a. Eligibility requirements: 

 i. evidence of successful completion of an 
accredited recreation therapy degree program, and 
registration with the National Therapeutic Society; and 

 ii. requirements as part of Recreation Therapy 
Degree Program: 

(a). three semester hours, Introduction to 
Education of Exceptional Children; and 

(b). three semester hours, Psychology of 
Exceptional Children; 
 iii. fifty percent of preclinical and clinical 
experiences should be directed toward a population aged 
zero through 21 years in both institutional and school 
settings; 
 iv. current registration/membership in the National 
Therapeutic Society, with a rating on level no lower than 
Therapeutic Recreation Leader (TRL). 

b. Renewal Guidelines. The Louisiana employing 
authority must request renewal at the time of any change of 
employment locations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1811 (October 2006). 
Chapter 5. Standards for Secondary Career and 

Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
Personnel 

§501. Introduction 
A. Career and Technical Trade and Industrial Education 

(CTTIE) certificates authorize employment for instructors of 
CTTIE classes. The applicant being certified under 
requirements found in this bulletin may teach CTTIE 
programs (e.g., Auto Mechanics, Carpentry, Certified 
Nursing Assistant, Welding) in secondary grades 9-12 only. 
CTTIE does not apply to Technology Education (Industrial 
Arts). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1812 (October 2006). 
§503. CTTIE Certificate Types 

A. Vocational Technical Industrial Education (VTIE) 
Certificates—Issued prior to July 1, 2004. 

1. Vocational Temporary (VT)—Valid for one year; 
renewable for a maximum of five years while holder 
completes required coursework. 

2. Vocational Permanent (VP)—Lifetime certificate 
for continuous service. 

B. Career and Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
(CTTIE) Certificates—Issued between July 1, 2004, and 
June 30, 2006.  

1. CTTIE Temporary Certificate (CT)—Valid for one 
year; renewable for a maximum of five years while holder 
completes required coursework. 

2. CTTIE Permanent Certificate (CP)—Lifetime 
certificate for continuous service. 

C. Career and Technical Trade and Industrial Education 
Certificates 1 and 2 (CTTIE-1, CTTIE-2)—Issued beginning 
July 1, 2006. 

1. CTTIE-1 Certificate—Valid for one year; 
renewable for a maximum of five years while holder 
completes required coursework. 

2. CTTIE-2 Certificate—Valid for five years and 
renewable. To qualify for this certificate, an individual must 
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meet requirements for a CTTIE-1 certificate and have earned 
the appropriate CTTIE coursework. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1812 (October 2006). 
§505. CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 Certificates 

A. CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 certificates are issued to 
instructors in the areas of Trade and Industrial Education 
(T&I), Health Professions, and Jobs for America's Graduates 
(JAG). CTTIE courses are not required prior to issuance of 
an initial CTTIE-1 certificate. 

B. Trade and Industrial Education Instructor (e.g., 
Carpentry, Air Conditioning/Refrigeration, Culinary Arts, 
Cosmetology, Graphic Arts, Electronics, Plumbing, Welding) 
Eligibility Requirements 

1. Applicant must hold a high school diploma, or have 
passed an equivalency test approved by the State Department 
of Education. 

2. Applicant must have a minimum of four years of 
successful full-time experience in the selected career and 
technical field: 

a. at least one full year of the work experience must 
have been served within the five years immediately prior to 
certification; 

b. graduates of community and technical colleges 
may receive credit for up to two years of occupational 
experience if the training is in the area for which the 
applicant is applying; and 

c. graduates with a bachelor's degree from a 
regionally accredited college or university will be given 
credit for two of the four years of experience. The remaining 
two years of work experience must be continuous and  
full-time. 

3. If requested by the Louisiana Department of 
Education, applicant must show that one year of the required 
work experience has been at a level above starting 
requirements and that he/she has progressed in knowledge 
and skills of the trade. 

4. Applicants holding current approved industry-based 
certification or who pass the approved NOCTI exam if 
industry-based certification is not available may be given 
credit for two of the required four years of work experience. 
An industry-based certification may not be combined with 
educational attainment to qualify for a waiver from all 
required work experience, except as stipulated in Paragraph 
5 below. 

5. Applicants with an earned baccalaureate degree and 
who hold an industry-based certification in an information 
technology area may also apply years of teaching experience 
toward the required work experience. 

6. Applicants with prior teaching experience at a 
postsecondary institution in the selected CTTIE field may 
apply those years of teaching at a postsecondary institution 
toward the required work experience. 

7. In addition to CTTIE certification, a current license 
must be held when a state or national license is required in 
the workplace. A state or national license will be recognized 
as an industry–based certification. 

C. Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) Eligibility 
Requirements 

1. Applicant must be a professional diploma nursing 
program graduate with current Louisiana licensure as a 
registered nurse or practical nurse. 

2. Applicant must have a minimum of two of the past 
four years of experience in staff nursing or nursing education 
(school nurses must have staff nursing experience within 
five years of the date of application). 

3. Licensed practical nurses may serve as a certified 
nursing assistant instructor under the direct supervision of a 
registered nurse. 

4. All instructors must have a "Train the Trainer 
Certificate" and meet Certified Nursing Assistant 
Regulations, as mandated by the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals (DHH).  

D. Emergency Medical Technician/First Responder  
1. An Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) 

instructor must be a paramedic in good standing with the 
Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Board or be a 
registered nurse with current license as well as EMT-Basic 
certification and be in good standing with the EMS Board.  

2. First Responder instructors must meet one of the 
following: 

a. EMT-basic or paramedic in good standing with 
the State EMS Board;  

b. registered nurse with current license and First 
Responder Certification or Emergency Medical Technician 
Certification and is in good standing with the State EMS 
Board; or  

c. secondary instructor with a valid Louisiana 
secondary teacher certificate and participate in the 
Department of Education's First Responder Training 
conducted during the Super Summer Institute (SSI) and be in 
good standing with the State EMS Board. 

E. Other Health Professions/Related Fields Instructor 
(e.g., Dental Assistant, Sports Medicine, Pharmacy 
Technician, Patient Care Technician)—Eligibility 
Requirements 

1. Applicant must be a graduate of an approved 
program in the area to be taught, with current state license or 
national certification where required. Nutrition instructors in 
nursing programs may meet certification requirements with a 
degree in Family and Consumer Sciences and a minimum of 
12 semester hours in Foods and Nutrition. 

2. Applicant must have a minimum of two years of 
occupational experience in the area in which he/she is to 
teach. One year of this experience must have been served 
within the last five years.  

3. Pharmacy Technician instructors shall have a valid 
Louisiana secondary mathematics or science certification or 
CTTIE certification in a health occupations field and must 
provide proof of participation in the Department of 
Education's SSI Pharmacy Technical Session. 

4. Sports Medicine instructors shall have a Bachelor 
of Science degree in sports medicine or athletic training and 
have received a state or national certification as an athletic 
trainer and meet all CTTIE requirements. 

5. All instructors must meet requirements mandated 
by the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals 
(DHH).  

F. Health Professions, Department Head—Eligibility 
Requirements 
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1. Applicant must be a professional diploma nursing 
program graduate with current Louisiana licensing as a 
Registered Nurse.  

2. Applicant must have a minimum of three years 
teaching experience as a certified Practical Nursing 
Instructor in Louisiana, as specified by DHH. 

G. Jobs for America's Graduates (JAG) Louisiana Job 
Specialist eligibility requirements (one of the following): 

1. a bachelor's degree from a state-approved and 
regionally accredited college or university, preferably in 
education, business administration, marketing, or related 
field, plus two years of full-time work experience, preferably 
in business, marketing, or related field; or 

2. a high school diploma or general equivalency 
diploma (GED) plus five years of full-time work experience, 
preferably in business, marketing, or related field. 
(Exceptions to the number of required years of experience 
may be approved by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1813 (October 2006). 
§507. VTIE, CTTIE, and CTTIE-1 Certificates 

Renewal Guidelines 
A. Holder must earn at least three semester hours in 

professional coursework each year until a minimum number 
of required semester hours have been completed, as follows: 

1. with no degree—15 semester hours;  
2. with an associate degree—12 semester hours;  
3. with a baccalaureate or graduate degree—nine 

semester hours;  
4. with a degree in education—six semester hours.  

B. The coursework must be completed from the 
following approved list: 

1. New Instructor Workshop (mandatory for all 
instructors); 

2. Foundations of Vocational Technical Education; 
3. Preparation of Vocational Technical Education 

Instructional Materials; 
4. Management of the Vocational Technical Education 

Classroom(s)/Laboratory(ies); 
5. Occupational Safety and Health; 
6. Testing and Evaluation in Vocational Technical 

Education; 
7. Teaching Special Needs Students in Vocational 

Technical Education; 
8. Methods of Teaching Vocational Technical 

Education; 
9. Occupational Analysis and Course Development; 
10. Ethics and Diversity in the Workplace/Classroom; 
11. Computer Technology in the Classroom. 

C. If a state or national license is required in the 
workplace, a current license must be held. A state or national 
license will be recognized as an industry-based certification. 

D. Upon successful completion of the required hours, 
and upon written request, a VTIE or a CTTIE temporary 
certificate was converted to a permanent CTTIE certificate 
until June 30, 2006. After June 30, 2006, certificates for all 
holders of VTIE, CTTIE, and CTTIE-1 certificates who are 
completing the required hours will be converted to five year 
CTTIE-2 certificates upon written request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006). 
§509. CTTIE-2 Certificates Renewal Guidelines  

A. Certificate holder must complete 150 continuing 
learning units (CLUs) of district-approved and district-
verified professional development over the five year time 
period during which the certificate is held.  

B. The Louisiana employing authority must request 
renewal of the certificate directly from the State Department 
of Education. 

C. If holder of an expired certificate has not earned the 
required 150 CLUs of professional development, the expired 
certificate may be reactivated upon request of the Louisiana 
employing authority (at the level that was attained prior to 
expiration) for a period of one year, during which time 
holder must complete the required 150 CLUs and present 
evidence of successful completion to the Division of Teacher 
Certification and Higher Education. Failure to complete 
necessary CLUs during the one year reactivation period will 
result in an expired certificate that cannot be reinstated until 
evidence is provided of completed professional development 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006). 
§511. Process for Reinstating Lapsed CTTIE or VTIE 

Certificates 
A. If holder allows a period of five consecutive calendar 

years to pass in which he/she is not a regularly employed 
teacher for at least one semester, or 90 consecutive days, the 
certificate will lapse for disuse. 

B. To reinstate a CTTIE or VTIE certificate if a license 
is required in the workplace, holder must present evidence 
that he/she has a current state or national license. Holder 
must also present evidence that he/she earned six semester 
hours of credit in state-approved courses (see III.B.) during 
the five year period immediately preceding request for 
reinstatement.  

C. If a license is not required in the workplace, to 
reinstate a CTTIE or VTIE certificate the holder must 
present evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of 
credit in state-approved courses (see III.B.) during the five 
year period immediately preceding request for reinstatement.  

D. If holder did not earn the required six semester hours, 
the lapsed certificate may be reactivated upon request (at the 
level that was attained prior to disuse) for a period of one 
year, during which time the holder must complete 
reinstatement requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006). 
Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
§601. Introduction 

A. Endorsement areas are permanent authorizations 
added to a teaching certificate. Upon completing all 
requirements for an additional area of certification, as 
outlined in this bulletin, the holder of a valid Louisiana 
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teaching certificate may have the certificate authorization 
extended to include the newly achieved qualifications. For 
endorsement purposes, the following notes apply: 

1. when a generalized reference is made to a Praxis 
exam, this means the current applicable exam(s) in policy, 
with the current established passing score(s); 

2. semester hours earned to add certification areas 
and/or levels to an existing certificate cannot include repeat 
(or duplicate) coursework; 

3. a National Board Certified (NBC) teacher with an 
existing Louisiana teaching certificate is eligible for the 
addition (add-on) or endorsement to his/her certificate of the 
corresponding area for which NBC is held. 

B. A formal request for an additional authorization on a 
certificate must be directed to the Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education. For authorizations that require coursework, an 
official transcript from a regionally accredited institution 
must accompany the request. The final authority for 
approval of an additional authorization is the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

C. This Chapter has been divided into three sections, as 
follows:  

1. regular education level and area endorsements;  
2. special education level and area endorsements; and  
3. all other endorsement areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006). 
Subchapter A. Regular Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§603. Introduction 

A. The following requirements must be completed to add 
an education certification level and/or a certification area to 
an existing valid teaching certificate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006). 
§605. Requirements to add Early Childhood  

(Grades PK-3) 
A. Individuals holding a valid elementary certificate 

(e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-6, or 1-8) must achieve one of the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis Early Childhood Education 
exam (#0020); or 

2. 12 semester hours of combined Nursery School and 
Kindergarten coursework. 

B. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or 
middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary 
school certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), special education 
certificate (other than Early Interventionist), or an All-Level 
K-12 certificate (art, dance, foreign language, health, 
physical education, health and physical education, music) 
must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis Elementary Education: 
Content Knowledge exam (#0014); 

2. passing score for Praxis Early Childhood Education 
exam (#0020) OR accumulate 12 credit hours of combined 
Nursery School and Kindergarten coursework; 

3. nine semester hours of reading coursework. 
C. Individuals holding a valid Early Interventionist 

Certificate must achieve the following: 
1. passing score for Praxis Elementary Education: 

Content Knowledge exam (#0014); 
2. 12 credit hours of combined Nursery School and 

Kindergarten coursework (art, math, science, social studies); 
and 

3. nine semester hours of reading coursework. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006). 
§607. Requirements to add Elementary (Grades 1-5) 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3) must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis Elementary Education: 
Content Knowledge exam (#0014); 

2. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 exam; and 

3. nine semester hours of reading, 12 semester hours 
of mathematics, 12 semester hours of science, and 12 
semester hours of social studies coursework. 

B. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or 
middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary 
certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), special education 
certificate, or all-level K-12 certificate (art, dance, foreign 
language, health, physical education, health and physical 
education, and music) must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis Elementary Education: 
Content Knowledge exam (#0014); or accumulate 12 
semester hours of mathematics, 12 semester hours of 
science, 12 semester hours of English language arts, and 12 
semester hours of social studies; 

2. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 exam; and 

3. nine semester hours of reading. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006). 
§609. Requirements to add Middle School (Grades 4-

8) Specialty Area Endorsement for English, 
Mathematics, Science, or Social Studies 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis middle school specialty 
area exam in the specific content area; or accumulate 30 
credit hours in the specialty content area; 
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2. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 5-9 exam; and 

3. six semester hours of reading.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006). 
§611. Requirements to add a Secondary (grades 6-12) 

Specialty Core Content Area as defined in the 
No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001 
(English, Math, Foreign Language, Science, and 
Social Studies) 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), or special education certificate must achieve 
the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis secondary specialty area 
exam in the content area; or 30 credit hours in the specialty 
content area; and 

2. passing Praxis score for Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 7-12 exam. 

B. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate (e.g., 
6-12, 7-12, 9-12) or an All-Level K-12 certificate (art, dance, 
foreign language, health, physical education, health and 
physical education, and music), achieve one of the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis secondary specialty area 
exam(s) required for the content area; or 

2. 30 credit hours in the specialty content area. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1816 (October 2006). 
§613. Requirements to Add a Non-NCLB Secondary 

(grades 6-12) Specialty Content Area 
(Agriculture, Business, Computer Science, 
Family and Consumer Sciences, Journalism, 
Marketing, Speech, Technology Education) 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), or special education certificate must achieve 
the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis secondary specialty area 
exam in the content area; or 21 credit hours in the specialty 
content area; and 

2. passing Praxis score for Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 7-12 exam. 

B. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate (e.g., 
6-12, 7-12, 9-12) or an all-level K-12 certificate (art, dance, 
foreign language, health, physical education, health and 
physical education, and music) must achieve one of the 
following:  

1. passing score for the Praxis secondary specialty 
area exam; and 

2. 21 credit hours in the specialty content area. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1816 (October 2006). 
§615. Requirements to Add an All-Level (K-12) Area 

(Art, Dance, Foreign Language, Health and 
Physical Education, and Music) 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an all-level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve one 
of the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis specialty area exam in the 
area of endorsement; and 

2. 30 semester hours in the specialty area. 
B. To Add a Second Music Area Endorsement: An 

individual already certified in either Instrumental Music or 
Vocal Music may add the second music area with 
coursework, as follows: 

1. to add Instrumental Music, 12 semester hours to 
include brass, percussion, string, and woodwind instruments; 
or 

2. to add Vocal Music, 12 semester hours to include 
piano and voice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1816 (October 2006). 
Subchapter B. Special Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§621. Requirements 

A. The following requirements must be completed to add 
a special education certification level and/or area to an 
existing valid teaching certificate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1816 (October 2006). 
§623. Requirements to add Academically Gifted 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve A-C 
below: 

1. master's degree from an accredited institution of 
higher education; 

2. 15 graduate semester hours of prescribed 
coursework from the following list, either within a master's 
degree program or as an add-on to an existing master's 
degree: 

a. characteristics/study of gifted individuals; 
b. methods of teaching the gifted; 
c. social and emotional needs of the gifted; 
d. creative thinking and problem solving or 

curriculum development for the gifted; 
e. educational technology; 
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3. three semester hours in a practicum for 
academically gifted; or an internship for college credit in 
academically gifted; or three years of successful teaching 
experience in academically gifted. 

4. special notes relative to Academically Gifted 
Certification. 

a. Academically gifted certification will be valid 
only in the teaching area(s) in which the individual is 
certified. 

b. The secondary teacher of academically gifted 
students who is to award Carnegie Units in the secondary 
subject area(s) must be certified in the subject area(s) in 
which Carnegie Units are awarded. 

c. Elementary and secondary teachers who are also 
certified in academically gifted may offer approved special 
education elective (enrichment) courses at either the 
elementary or secondary level. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1816 (October 2006). 
§625. Requirements to add Early Interventionist Birth 

to Five Years  
A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 

(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis exams: Early Childhood 
Education (#0020) and Education of Exceptional Children: 
Core Content Knowledge (#0353); 

2. 18 credit hours that pertain to infants, toddlers, and 
preschoolers, as follows: 

a. foundations in early childhood education and 
early intervention; 

b. understanding and working with families of 
young children; 

c. assessment in early intervention; 
d. early intervention methods; 
e. teaming, physical and medical management in 

early intervention; 
f. communication and literacy in early intervention; 

3. nine semester hours of reading coursework. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006). 
§627. Requirements to add Hearing Impaired K-12 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 21 semester credit hours that pertain to children 
with hearing impairments, as follows: 

2. introduction to special education; 
3. physiological, psychosocial, historical, sociological, 

and cultural aspects of deafness; 
4. language development that includes linguistic 

principles and assessment strategies in language acquisitions 
for deaf and hard of hearing; 

5. speech and speech reading; 
6. educational audiology, auditory assistive devices 

and technology; 
7. instructional strategies and curriculum development 

for deaf and hard of heading students; 
8. communication methodology. 

B. Three semester hours of internship of students with 
hearing impairments; or three years of successful teaching 
experience of students with hearing impairments. 

C. Proficiency in signed, cued, or oral communication, 
as evidenced by one or more of the following means: 

1. signed: one of the following: 
a. Intermediate on the Educational Sign Skills 

Evaluation: Teacher (ESSE:T); 
b. Advanced on the Signed Communication 

Proficiency Interview (SCPI); 
c. Level III of the Educational Interpreter 

Performance Assessment; 
2. cued: mini-proficiency, as measured on the Basic 

Cued Speech Proficiency Rating Test (BCSPR c1983, 
Beaupre); or 

3. oral: successfully passing an additional course in 
Methods in Oral/Auditory Education. 

D. Passing score for Praxis exams: Education of 
Exceptional Students: Core Content Knowledge (#0353) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Hearing Impairment 
(#0271). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006). 
§629. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 15 semester hours of special education coursework, 
as follows: 

a. methods/materials for mild/moderate exceptional 
children; 

b. assessment and evaluation of exceptional 
learners; 

c. behavioral management of mild/moderate 
exceptional children; 

d. vocational and transition services for students 
with disabilities; 

e. practicum in assessment and evaluation of M/M 
exceptional learners. 

2. Passing score for Praxis exams: Education of 
Exceptional Students: Core Content Knowledge (#0353) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Mild Moderate 
Disabilities (#0542). 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006). 
§631. Requirements to add Significant Disabilities 1-12 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 21 semester hours that pertain to children with 
significant disabilities, as follows: 

a. assessment and evaluation; 
b. curriculum development, modifications, and 

transition planning; 
c. behavior support; 
d. instructional strategies; 
e. communication; 
f. collaborative techniques and family partnerships; 
g. characteristics of students with significant 

disabilities, physical support, health and safety; 
2. three semester hours of internship of students with 

significant disabilities; or three years of successful teaching 
experience of students with significant disabilities; and 

3. passing score for Praxis exams: Education of 
Exceptional Students: Core Content Knowledge (#0353) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Severe to Profound 
Disabilities (#0544). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006). 
§633. Requirements to add Visual Impairments/Blind 

K-12 
A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 

(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 21 semester hours that pertain to children with 
visual impairments: 

a. educational implications of low vision and 
blindness; 

b. orientation and mobility for the classroom 
teacher; 

c. assessment and evaluation techniques, including 
functional vision evaluation and reading media assessment; 

d. assistive technology for students with visual 
impairments; 

e. instructional strategies and materials for students 
with visual impairments; 

f. introduction to Braille, including literary and 
Nemeth codes; 

g. Braille II; 

2. three semester hours of internship of students who 
are visually impaired; or three years of successful teaching 
experience of students who are visually impaired or blind; 

3. a passing score for Praxis Education of Exceptional 
Students: Core Content Knowledge exam (#0353). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006). 
Subchapter C. All Other Teaching Endorsement Areas 
§641. Introduction 

A. Information on endorsements for administrative and 
supervisory areas can be found in Chapter 7 of this bulletin. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006). 
§643. Adapted Physical Education 

A. Adapted physical education eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Louisiana teaching certificate in physical 

education; 
2. basic requirements—three semester hours in each 

of the following: 
a. motor development and learning; 
b. introduction to the study of exceptional children; 
c. tests and measurements (physical education, or 

educational, or psychological); 
3. specialized coursework requirements, as follows: 

a. introducing physical education for all children 
with disabilities, three semester hours; 

b. behavioral and educational impairment and 
physical education, two semester hours; plus practicum in 
behavioral and educational impairment and physical 
education, one semester hour (for a total of three semester 
hours);  

c. chronic disability and physical education, two 
semester hours; plus practicum in chronic disability and 
physical education, one semester hour (for a total of three 
semester hours); and 

d. the physical education curriculum for children 
with disabilities, three semester hours (Prerequisite: Courses 
in 1-2 above). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006). 
§645. Adult Education Instructor 

A. Eligibility Requirements: 
1. valid standard Louisiana teaching certificate; and 
2. one of the following: 

a. five years of adult education experience prior to 
implementation of certification requirements (September 
1982); or 

b. 12 semester hours, as follows: 
 i. introduction to or foundations of adult 
education, three semester hours; 
 ii. practicum in adult education, three semester 
hours; and 
 iii. six semester hours from the following areas: 
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(a). materials, methods, and/or curricular 
development in adult education; 

(b). reading instruction in adult education; 
(c). adult learning and development; 
(d). use of community resources; 
(e). administration and supervision of adult 

education; 
(f). guidance and counseling in adult education; 
(g). competency-based adult education; 
(h). independent study, special problems, or 

issues in adult education. 
B. An individual who holds certification both as an adult 

education instructor and as a parish/city supervisor of 
instruction may qualify to serve as Administrator and/or 
Supervisor of Adult Education.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006). 
§647. Aerospace Education 

A. Aerospace education eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Louisiana teaching certificate; 

a. one of the following: 
 i. six semester credit hours in approved 
aerospace education; or 
 ii. valid private pilot's license or higher rating and 
at least three semester hours of credit in an approved 
aerospace education workshop. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006). 
§649. Bilingual Specialist 

A. An elementary, secondary, or all-level certified 
foreign language teacher may be certified as a bilingual 
specialist upon completion of the following: 

1. Bilingual Methods I (practical training in the 
teaching of language arts and social studies in a bilingual-
bicultural setting)—three semester hours; and 

2. Bilingual Methods II (practical training in the 
teaching of math and science in a bilingual-bicultural 
setting)—three semester hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006). 
§651. Child Search Coordinator 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. certification as a teacher, social worker, guidance 

counselor, school psychologist, psychologist, speech 
therapist, or other related special education field; 

2. master's degree; 
3. six semester hours in special education; and 
4. three years of experience in the certified or licensed 

special education area. 
B. Persons functioning as Child Search Coordinators 

prior to September 1, 1989, who are certified/licensed 
special education personnel are not bound by these 
requirements and will be certified, provided they are 
recommended for continuation of employment by the parish 

supervisor/director of special education and approved by the 
superintendent of the LEA. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006). 
§655. Computer Literacy 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. elementary or secondary certificate; and 
2. nine semester hours of coursework in educational 

technology or computer science. 
B. For certified business education teachers who 

completed a data processing course and a word processing 
course that included computer applications, six semester 
hours of the requirement for computer literacy certification 
(A.1.b. and A.1.c.) may be waived. 

C. A person who was successfully employed as a teacher 
of computer education for a minimum of three years prior to 
September 1, 1986, may be certified in computer literacy 
and have the authorization added to his/her Louisiana 
elementary or secondary teaching certificate, entitling 
him/her to teach computer literacy at the elementary or the 
secondary level, depending upon the level of certification. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006). 
§657. Cooperative Office Education  

A. Cooperative office education eligibility requirements: 
1. hold a secondary teaching certificate in Business 

Education; 
2. have completed six semester hours, to include 

Principles and/or Philosophy of Vocational Education and 
Cooperative Education Methods (Method and/or Techniques 
of Teaching Cooperative Education); 

3. have a minimum of 1,500 hours of employment in 
business and office occupations approved by the Office of 
Vocational Education, Louisiana Department of Education. 
Partial fulfillment of this work experience may be met 
through completion of a practicum for credit (supervised 
work experience) offered by the institution concerned. Two 
hours will be credited for each hour of supervised practicum 
work experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006). 
§659. Counselor K-12 (Counselor in a School Setting) 

A. Eligibility requirements:  
1. valid teaching certificate; 
2. master's degree in school counseling from a 

regionally accredited institution, or a master's degree with 
the equivalent hours and courses required for a master's 
degree in school counseling; and 

3. graduate training must include 24 semester hours of 
professional courses distributed so that at least one course 
will be taken in each of the basic areas listed below: 

a. Principles and Administration of School 
Counseling Programs; 

b. Career and Lifestyle Development; 
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c. Individual Appraisal; 
d. Counseling Theory and Practice; 
e. Group Processes; 
f. Human Growth and Development; 
g. Social and Cultural Foundations in Counseling; 
h. Supervised Practicum in a School Setting. 

B. Renewal Guidelines: If certificate holder allows a 
period of five consecutive calendar years to pass in which 
he/she is not a regularly employed educator for at least one 
semester (90 consecutive days), the certificate lapses for 
disuse. To reinstate a lapsed certificate, the holder must 
present evidence that he/she earned six semester hours of 
credit in state-approved courses during the five year period 
immediately preceding request for reinstatement (see 
Appendix C). 

C. Professional Counselor in the School Setting: 
Applicant must meet the above requirements for counselor 
in a school setting and hold current licensure as a Licensed 
Professional Counselor in Louisiana (LPC), in accordance 
with Act 892 L.S. 1987 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1819 (October 2006). 
§661. Driver and Traffic Safety Education 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Louisiana teaching certificate; 
2. valid Louisiana driver's license; 
3. driving record free of conviction of major accidents 

and/or repeated traffic violations; and 
4. specialized education, as follows: 

a. general safety education, three semester hours 
(basic safety information—home, school, traffic, 
community, and industrial safety—and general information 
on the psychology of accident prevention); 

b. basic information course in driver education, 
three semester hours (investigation of problems facing 
drivers, such as those of pedestrians, cycles, alcohol and 
drugs, and traffic engineering; and study in the philosophy of 
driver education as it exists in our society); and 

c. curricular innovations and instructional devices, 
three semester hours (in-depth study of driver education and 
traffic safety curricular materials, and familiarization with 
related instructional devices). 

B. Conviction of repeated traffic violations or any major 
crime or accident involved in or related to the operation of a 
motor vehicle could result in revocation of this endorsement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1820 (October 2006). 
§663. Educational Diagnostician (Special Education) 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. a minimum of a master's degree in education earned 

from a regionally accredited institution of higher education; 
2. hold a valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana teaching 

certificate, and meet one of the following guidelines: 
a. hold generic special education certification, with 

at least one year of classroom teaching experience in a 
properly certified area of special education; 

b. hold certification in at least two special education 
disability areas (e.g., mentally retarded, learning disabled), 
with at least one year of teaching experience in a properly 
certified area of special education. Academically gifted is 
not an accepted special education area; 

3. reading credit, as follows: 
a. elementary/middle grades majors: six semester 

hours in diagnosis and remediation of reading problems, 
three semester hours of which may be undergraduate 
coursework; or 

b. secondary/all-level majors: nine semester hours 
of reading coursework, with six of the semester hours in 
diagnosis and remediation of reading problems and three of 
the semester hours in foundations of reading. Three of the 
required semester hours may be undergraduate coursework; 

4. have completed a minimum of 21 semester hours of 
graduate credit, as follows: 

a. applied learning theory, three semester hours; 
b. behavioral intervention strategies, including 

systematic behavioral assessment (this course must include 
25 child contact hours), three semester hours; 

c. consulting teacher strategies, three semester 
hours; 

d. precision assessment and diagnostic/prescriptive 
strategies, three semester hours; 

e. test theory, three semester hours; 
f. educational diagnosis, three semester hours; and 
g. supervised internship, to include 100 child 

contact clock hours*, three semester hours. 
*This course must include fieldwork involving the 
administration, scoring, and interpretation of norm-referenced 
and criterion-referenced individual educational tests; working 
with School Building Level Committees; teacher consultation, 
and implications for educational intervention through the 
development of the individualized assessment/intervention 
plan. This course may be completed while employed on a 
provisional endorsement. 

B. Provisional Educational Diagnostician. A one year 
provisional endorsement as an Educational Diagnostician 
may be issued if all requirements have been completed, with 
the exception of the 100-contact-hour internship. The intern 
employed on a provisional endorsement must work under a 
certified Educational Diagnostician who has a minimum of 
five years of field experience in that position. At the time of 
employment, the Louisiana employing authority must submit 
verification of the supervision component. Until the 
internship is completed and the provisional status is removed 
from the intern's certificate, the supervising Educational 
Diagnostician shall sign all reports and evaluations involving 
the intern. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1820 (October 2006). 
§665. Educational Technology Areas 

A. Educational Technology Facilitation 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana teaching 
certificate (requires three years of teaching experience); 

b. complete one of the following options: 
 i. Option A: a minimum of nine semester hours 
of graduate credit in educational technology (three semester 
hours per course): 
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(a). design and development of multimedia 
instructional units; 

(b). educational telecommunications, networks, 
and the internet; 

(c). technology leadership in schools; or 
 ii. Option B: a minimum of three online courses, 
to include: 

(a). effective instructional technology: an 
introduction (this course focuses on the National Education 
Technology for Teachers Standards (NETS-T) and will 
include an introduction to educational telecommunications, 
networks and the Internet); 

(b). effective instructional technology: building a 
portfolio of exemplars (this course focuses on building a 
portfolio of teacher and student work that demonstrates the 
understandings and skills as they relate to the NETS-T and 
the Louisiana K-12 Educational Technology Standards); and 

(c). an additional course to be selected from a 
menu of department-approved online course offerings, 
which includes lessons by design; bridging the gap; 
universal design for learning—technology support for math 
and the K-12 classroom; and universal design for  
learning—technology support for reading and the K-12 
classroom; 

c. a certified teacher who serves as facilitator of 
educational technology at the building level may petition the 
Division of Teacher Certification and Higher Education to be 
granted an Educational Technology Facilitation endorsement 
if he/she met one of the following qualifications by August 
31, 2002: 
 i. hold certification in computer literacy; earned 
an additional six semester hours in educational technology 
courses; and served as a facilitator of educational technology 
at the school, district, regional, or state level successfully for 
the past three years as verified by the employing authority; 
or 
 ii. served as a facilitator of educational 
technology at school, district, regional, or state level 
successfully for the past five years, as verified by the 
employing authority. 

B. Educational Technology Leadership 
1. Eligibility requirements:  

a. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching 
certificate (requires five years of teaching experience); 

b. master's degree from a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education; and 

c. minimum of 21 semester hours of graduate 
credit, as follows: 
 i. education technology coursework, nine 
semester hours: 

(a). design and development of multimedia 
instructional units; 

(b). educational telecommunications, networks, 
and the internet; 

(c). technology leadership in schools; 
 ii. educational technology leadership coursework, 
12 semester hours:  

(a). technology planning and administration; 
(b). professional development for K-12 

technology integration; 
(c). educational technology research, evaluation, 

and assessment; 

(d). advanced telecommunications and distance 
education. 

2. Persons who have met requirements B.1.a and B.1.c 
may be issued a non-renewable, non-extendable Educational 
Technology Leadership provisional certificate that is valid 
for three years. 

3. Certified teachers who served as coordinators of 
educational technology at the district, regional, and/or state 
levels may petition the Division of Teacher Certification and 
Higher Education to be granted an Educational Technology 
Leadership certification if they met the following 
qualifications by August 31, 2002: 

a. hold certification in computer literacy; earned an 
additional nine semester hours in educational technology 
courses; and served as a coordinator of educational 
technology above the building level (at the district, regional, 
or state level) for the past three years, as verified by the 
employing authority; or 

b. served as a coordinator of educational technology 
above the building level (at the district, regional, or state 
level) successfully for the past five years, as verified by the 
employing authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1820 (October 2006). 
§667. English as a Second Language 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid standard teaching certificate; and 
2. successful completion of the following coursework: 

a. Methods for Teaching English as a Second 
Language, three semester hours (theories and practical 
approaches and techniques for teaching English as a second 
language to elementary, secondary, and adult education 
students); 

b. Introduction to Language and Culture, three 
semester hours (the relationship of language acquisition to 
social and cognitive development); 

c. Structure of the English Language, three 
semester hours (a study of the distinctive sound patterns and 
grammatical systems of American English); and 

d. Curriculum Design for the Multicultural 
Classroom, three semester hours (adapting curricula for the 
multi-ethnic classroom as well as a review of existing 
English as a second language materials—elementary, 
secondary, and adult education levels). 

B. English as a Second Language certification will be 
valid only in the teaching area(s) in which an individual is 
certified and in teaching English as a Second Language I, II, 
III, and IV elective courses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1821 (October 2006). 
§669. Montessori Teacher Certification 

A. An authorization to teach Montessori at the age levels 
prescribed by the training institution may be added to a 
standard teaching certificate for teachers who have 
completed training from one of the following entities: 

1. American Montessori Society; 
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2. Association Montessori Internationale; 
3. St. Nicholas Training Course of London; 
4. The Montessori World Education Institute; 
5. Montessori Institute of America; 
6. Southwestern Montessori Training Institute; 
7. Any other course jointly approved by the State 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and the 
Louisiana Montessori Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1821 (October 2006). 
§671. Reading Specialist  

A. This certification will be valid for teaching and/or 
supervision of reading in grades 1-12. 

B. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana teaching 

certificate;  
2. advanced degree from a regionally accredited 

institution; and 
3. included in or beyond the advanced degree of study 

must be 12 graduate hours of course work in reading 
education, including: 

a. three semester hours of foundations or survey of 
reading instruction; 

b. six semester hours of diagnosis and correction of 
reading difficulties, including a testing/tutorial practicum 
under the supervision of qualified personnel; and 

c. reading in the content areas, three semester 
hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006). 
§673. School Librarian 

A. School library service eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Louisiana elementary or secondary teaching 

certificate; 
2. 18 semester hours in library science, as follows: 

a. elementary and/or secondary school library 
materials, nine semester hours; 

b. organization, administration, and interpretation of 
elementary and/or secondary school library service, six 
semester hours; and 

c. elementary and/or secondary school library 
practice, three semester hours. 

NOTE:  Persons who have already served three years as full-
time school librarians and who completed all library science 
courses except elementary and secondary school library 
practice, may satisfy this requirement by a minimum one year, 
on-the-job internship with supervision provided by the Library 
Science faculty of the College of Education for six semester 
hours of credit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006). 

Chapter 7. Administrative and Supervisory 
Credentials 

§701. Overview 
A. An individual who serves as an administrator and/or 

supervisor in Louisiana schools is required to obtain the 
appropriate credential for the area of assignment. A teacher 
already certified in Louisiana can have a leadership or 
supervisory endorsement added to an existing certificate.  

B. This Chapter is divided into three parts, as follows:  
1. Educational Leadership Certification Structure;  
2. Administrative and Supervisory Endorsements that 

were superseded by the Educational Leadership Certification 
Structure, including a section showing educational 
leadership title equivalencies; and  

3. all Other Supervisory Endorsements. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006). 
Subchapter A. The Educational Leadership Certification 

Structure―Effective July 1, 2006 
§703. Introduction 

A. The Educational Leadership Certification structure, 
effective July 1, 2006, provides for four levels of leader 
certification: Teacher Leader; Educational Leader Level 1; 
Educational Leader Level 2; and Educational Leader  
Level 3. The Teacher Leader Endorsement is an option for a 
teacher to be identified as a teacher leader; it is not a state-
required credential for a specific administrative position. The 
Educational Leader Level 1 license is an entry-level license 
for individuals seeking to qualify for school and/or district 
leadership positions (e.g., assistant principals, principals, 
parish or city supervisors of instruction, supervisors of child 
welfare and attendance, special education supervisors, or 
comparable school/district leader positions). An individual 
moves from a Level 1 to a Level 2 license upon completion 
of the Educational Leader Induction Program and the 
required years of experience. The Level 3 license qualifies 
an individual for employment as a district superintendent.  

B. Educational leadership preparation programs, 
induction programs, and continuing learning units required 
for re-licensure are aligned with the following state and 
national standards:  

1. Standards for School Principals in Louisiana;  
2. Interstate School Leaders License Consortium 

[ISLLC] Standards for School Leaders; and  
3. Educational Leadership Constituent Council 

[ELCC] Standards for Advanced Programs in Educational 
Leadership, the standards used by the National Council for 
the Accreditation of Colleges of Teachers Evaluation 
[NCATE] for university program reviews. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1822 (October 2006). 
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§705. Educational Leader Certificate Level 1  
A. This is the certification authorization needed by those 

who fill school and district educational leadership positions 
(e.g., assistant principal, principal, parish or city supervisor 
of instruction, supervisor of child welfare and attendance, 
special education supervisor, or comparable school/district 
leader positions). This endorsement is valid for five years 
and is renewable every five years based upon successful 
completion and verification of required continuing learning 
units. An Educational Leader Certificate Level 1 may be 
obtained through either a master's degree path or through an 
alternate program path.  

1. Master's Degree Path. To receive an entry-level 
certificate in educational leadership, the candidate must: 

a. hold or be eligible to hold a valid Louisiana Type 
A or Level 3 teaching certificate or have a comparable level 
out-of-state teaching certificate and five years of teaching 
experience in his/her area of certification; 

b. complete a competency-based graduate degree 
preparation program in the area of educational leadership 
from a regionally accredited institution of higher education; 
and 

c. have a passing score on the School Leaders 
Licensure Assessment (SLLA), in accordance with state 
requirements. 

2. Alternate Program Path. The Alternate Program 
Path is for persons who already hold a master's degree and 
are seeking to add Educational Leader certification to a valid 
teaching certificate: 

a. hold or be eligible to hold a valid Louisiana Type 
A or Level 3 teaching certificate or have a comparable level 
out-of-state teaching certificate and five years of teaching 
experience in his/her area of certification; 

b. have previously completed a graduate degree 
program from a regionally accredited institution of higher 
education; 

c. meet competency-based requirements, as 
demonstrated by completion of an individualized program of 
educational leadership from a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education. An individualized program 
will be developed based on a screening of each candidate's 
competencies upon entering into the graduate alternative 
certification program; and 

d. have a passing score on the School Leaders 
Licensure Assessment (SLLA) in accordance with state 
requirements.  

3. Renewal Requirements. For purposes of 
maintaining a valid endorsement, holders of an Educational 
Leader Level 1 endorsement are required to complete 150 
continuing learning units of professional development 
consistent with the Individual Professional Growth Plan 
(IPGP) over a five year time period. The starting date of the 
five year cycle depends on the type of teaching certificate 
that the individual holds. 

a. If an individual holds a Louisiana Professional 
Teaching Certificate Level 3, then the renewal date is tied to 
the renewal date on the professional teaching certificate. 

b. If an individual holds a Louisiana Type A 
Teaching Certificate or a comparable level out-of-state 
teaching certificate, then the renewal time period begins with 
the date of issue of the Educational Leader Level 1 
endorsement. 

4. Upon employment as a school/district educational 
leader, an individual with an Educational Leader Level 
endorsement must enroll in the state-approved Educational 
Leader Induction Program under the direction of the 
Louisiana Department of Education. Once employed as a 
school/district educational leader, the individual has three 
years to complete the induction program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1823 (October 2006). 
§707. Educational Leader Certificate Level 2 

A. This endorsement is valid for five years and is 
renewable every five years based upon successful 
completion and verification of required continuing learning 
units. 

1. To receive an Educational Leader Certificate Level 
2, the individual must: 

a. hold a valid Level 1 Educational Leader 
certificate, Louisiana provisional principal certification, or 
comparable level out-of-state educational leader certificate; 

b. have five years of teaching experience in his/her 
area of certification; 

c. have completed the Educational Leader Induction 
Program under the administration of the Louisiana 
Department of Education; 
 i. the induction period begins upon the 
candidate's first full-time administrative appointment 
(permanent or acting) as an assistant principal, principal, 
parish or city supervisor of instruction, supervisor of child 
welfare and attendance, or comparable school/district leader 
position; 
 ii. the Educational Leader Induction Program 
must be completed within a three year period; 

d. have three years of educational leadership 
experience at the level of assistant principal or above. 

2. Renewal Requirements: For purposes of 
maintaining a valid endorsement, holders of an Educational 
Leader Level 2 endorsement are required to complete 150 
continuing learning units of professional development 
consistent with the Individual Professional Growth Plan 
(IPGP) over a fiveyear time period. The starting date of the 
five year cycle depends on the type of teaching certificate 
that the individual holds. 

a. If an individual holds a Louisiana Professional 
Teaching Certificate Level 3, then the renewal date is tied to 
the renewal date on the professional teaching certificate. 

b. If an individual does not hold a Louisiana 
Professional Teaching Certificate Level 3, but does hold an 
Educational Leader Level 1 endorsement, then the renewal 
date is tied to the renewal date on the Educational Leader 
Level 1 endorsement. 

c. If an individual holds neither a Louisiana 
Professional Teaching Certificate Level 3 nor an Educational 
Leader Level 1 endorsement, then the renewal time period 
begins with the date of issue of the Educational Leader 
Level 2 endorsement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1823 (October 2006). 
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§709. Education Leader Certificate Level 3 
(Superintendent) 

A. This certification endorsement is required to serve as 
a school system superintendent or assistant superintendent. 
This certificate is valid for five years and is renewable every 
five years, based upon successful completion and 
verification of required continuing learning units.  

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. valid Louisiana Level 2 Educational Leader 

certificate or one of the Louisiana administrative/supervisory 
certifications that preceded the 2006 Educational Leadership 
Certification structure;  

b. five years of teaching experience in his/her area 
of certification; 

c. five years of successful administrative or 
management experience in education at the level of assistant 
principal or above. The assistant principal experience would 
be limited to a maximum of two years of experience in that 
position; and 

d. passing score on the School Superintendent 
Assessment (SSA), in keeping with state requirements. 

2. Renewal Requirements: For purposes of 
maintaining a valid endorsement, holders of an Educational 
Leader Level 3 endorsement are required to complete 150 
continuing learning units of professional development 
consistent with the Individual Professional Growth Plan 
(IPGP) over a five year time period. The starting date of the 
five year cycle depends on the type of teaching certificate 
that the individual holds. 

a. If an individual holds a Louisiana Professional 
Teaching Certificate Level 3, then the renewal date is tied to 
the renewal date on the professional teaching certificate. 

b. If an individual does not hold a Louisiana 
Professional Teaching Certificate Level 3, but does hold an 
Educational Leader Level 2 endorsement, then the renewal 
date is tied to the renewal data that is in use for the previous 
Educational Leader endorsement. 

c. If an individual holds neither a Louisiana 
Professional Teaching Certificate Level 3, nor an 
Educational Leader Level 2 endorsement, then the renewal 
time period begins with the date of issue of the Educational 
Leader Level 3 endorsement.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1824 (October 2006). 
§711. Teacher Leader Endorsement (Optional) 

A. As part of the educational leader certification 
structure, there is an option for a teacher to become certified 
as a teacher leader. Eligibility requirements:  

1. valid Type B, Level 2, or higher Louisiana teaching 
certificate;  

2. completion of a state-approved teacher leader 
program that requires, at minimum, the equivalent of six 
graduate hours, or 90 contact hours, including a combination 
of face-to-face and field-based professional development 
activities that: 

a. may include the use of a cohort approach; 

b. provides support from and monitoring by current 
outstanding administrators serving as mentors and/or 
facilitators; 

c. includes an electronic component (online and/or 
compressed video) to ensure each participant's access to key 
resources and to build a statewide network of qualified 
administrator candidates that could include the development 
of cohorts; and  

d. requires the development and presentation of a 
culminating portfolio that provides evidence that knowledge 
gained and skills acquired are aligned with national and state 
leader standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1824 (October 2006). 
Subchapter B. Out-of-State Administrative Certification 

Structure 
§721. Out-of-State Principal Level 1 (OSP1)  

A. This is a standard, three year, non-renewable 
Louisiana certificate issued to an individual who holds out-
of-state certification as a principal (or comparable 
educational leader certificate) and has not met Louisiana's 
Praxis and/or NTE requirements. It authorizes the individual 
to serve as a principal in a Louisiana public school system, 
and is issued when the individual anticipates immediate 
administrative employment in a Louisiana public school 
system. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. a valid out-of-state certificate as a principal or 

comparable educational leader certificate; 
b. a minimum of four years of successful 

experience as a principal in another state, as verified by the 
previous out-of-state school district(s) from satisfactory 
annual evaluation results; 

c. the candidate meets all other requirements for a 
Louisiana certificate as required by law or board policy. 

2. An applicant who meets the above stated eligibility 
requirements shall not have to complete the required 
examinations or to submit scores from any examinations 
previously taken in another state as a prerequisite to the 
granting of certification as out-of-state principal level 2 
(OSP2), provided that:  

a. the applicant completes one year of employment 
as a principal in a Louisiana public school system while 
holding the three-year OSP1 certificate; and 

b. the local superintendent (or designee) of the 
employing Louisiana public school system has 
recommended him/her for continued administrative 
employment in the following school year. 

3. Upon employment as a principal or an assistant 
principal in a Louisiana public school system, an individual 
holding an OSP1 certificate must enroll or be enrolled in the 
state-approved Educational Leader Induction Program under 
the direction of the Louisiana Department of Education. The 
individual has three years to complete the induction 
program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 10   October 20, 2006 1825

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1824 (October 2006). 
§723. Out-of-State Principal Level 2 (OSP2)  

A. This certificate is valid for five years and is renewable 
every five years, based upon successful completion and 
verification of required continuing learning units.  

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. a valid OSP1 certificate and satisfaction of 

Louisiana Praxis and/or NTE requirements; 
b. completed the Educational Leader Induction 

Program under the administration of the Louisiana 
Department of Education: 
 i. the induction period begins upon the 
candidate's first full-time administrative appointment 
(permanent or acting) as an assistant principal or principal; 
 ii. the Educational Leader Induction Program 
must be completed within a three year period; 

c. three years of educational leadership experience 
at the level of assistant principal or above. 

2. Renewal Requirements. To maintain a valid OSP2 
certificate, the holder is required to complete 150 continuing 
learning units of professional development consistent with 
the Individual Professional Growth Plan (IPGP) over a five 
year time period, beginning with issuance date of the OSP2 
certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006). 
§725. Out-of-State Superintendent (OSS) 

A. This special Out-of-State Superintendent (OSS) 
certificate is valid only for the employing Louisiana public 
school district requesting its issuance. It is valid for five 
years from date of first appointment as a superintendent and 
is renewable every five years. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. employed by a Louisiana public school system to 

serve as a superintendent or an assistant superintendent; 
b. a valid teaching certificate from another state 

with authorization to serve as a school superintendent; 
c. a master's degree from a regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; 
d. five years of successful administrative or 

management experience in education at the level of assistant 
principal or above. The assistant principal experience would 
be limited to a maximum of two years of experience in that 
position; and 

e. five years of successful teaching experience in a 
properly certified field. 

2. Renewal Requirements. Over a five year time 
period from date of appointment as a superintendent, the 
holder of an OSS certificate must complete a minimum of 
150 continuing learning units of professional development 
that is consistent with the leader's Individual Professional 
Growth Plan (IGP). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006). 

Subchapter C. Administrative and Supervisory 
Endorsements Superseded by the 
Educational Leadership Certification 
Structure 

§741. Introduction 
A. The effective date for implementation of redesigned 

leadership programs is July 1, 2006. After June 30, 2006, 
universities cannot admit candidates into a 
leadership/administration program that has not undergone 
the redesign and review process. Since some individuals will 
already be in the process of working toward one of the older 
leadership certifications (e.g., Principal, Supervisor, 
Superintendent), those individuals will be given a transition 
time to complete all coursework. Consequently, some 
universities may be admitting students into a redesigned 
educational leadership program and at the same time 
allowing students to pursue coursework that meets old 
certification requirements. Individuals attempting to add one 
of the older, job-specific certifications outlined in this 
Section of Chapter 7 to their certificate can do so until 
December 31, 2008. The certificates identified below will 
not be issued after December 31, 2008: 

1. Elementary School Principal; 
2. Secondary School Principal; 
3. Parish or City School Superintendent; 
4. Parish or City School Supervisor of Instruction; 
5. Parish or City School Supervisor/Director of 

Special Education; 
6. Special School Principal; 
7. Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006). 
§743. Elementary School Principal 

A. Eligibility requirements:  
1. Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching certificate for 

the elementary school; 
2. master's degree from regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; 
3. five or more years of classroom teaching at 

elementary school level; 
4. score of 620 on the Educational Administration and 

Supervision Area Exam of the NTE (mandatory for 
individuals seeking initial certification as a principal on or 
after August 16, 1986); 

5. minimum of 30 semester hours of graduate credit, 
as follows: 

a. educational administration and instructional 
supervision, nine semester hours:  
 i. Foundations of or Introduction to Educational 
Administration, or Theory of Educational Administration; 
 ii. Elementary School Principal; 
 iii. Principles of Instructional Supervision in the 
Elementary School; 

b. professional education, 21 semester hours: 
 i. eighteen semester hours: 

(a). Educational Research (three); 
(b). History or Philosophy of Education (three); 
(c). Elementary School Curriculum (three); 
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(d). School Law (three); 
(e). School Finance (three); 
(f). School Personnel Administration (three); 

 ii. three semester hours of educational 
administration electives to be selected from the following: 

(a). School-Community Relations; 
(b). School Facilities; 
(c). Program Development and Evaluation 

(either in professional education or in areas outside of 
professional education). 

B. Persons who meet requirements of Item A above are 
eligible for a provisional elementary school principal 
endorsement. Upon employment as a principal or assistant 
principal, an individual with provisional principal 
endorsement must enroll in the two year Principal Internship 
Program. 

C. A regular elementary school principal endorsement 
will be added to the standard Type A certificate upon 
satisfactory completion of the two year Principal Internship 
Program. 

D. Persons holding provisional or regular principal 
endorsements at the elementary school level may serve as 
principal of an elementary, middle, secondary, or 
combination grade-level school. 

E. Elementary school assistant principals are required to 
meet the same standards as elementary school principals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006). 
§745. Secondary School Principal  

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching 

certificate for the secondary school; 
2. master's degree from regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; 
3. five or more years of classroom teaching at 

secondary school level; 
4. score of 620 on the Educational Administration and 

Supervision Area Exam of the NTE (mandatory for 
individuals seeking initial certification as a principal on or 
after August 16, 1986); 

5. minimum of 30 semester hours of graduate credit, 
as follows: 

a. Educational Administration and Instructional 
Supervision, nine semester hours: 
 i. Foundations of or Introduction to Educational 
Administration, or Theory of Educational Administration 
(three); 
 ii. Secondary School Principal (three); 
 iii. Principles of Instructional Supervision in the 
Secondary School (three); 

b. Professional Education, 21 semester hours: 
 i. 18 semester hours, to include three semester 
hours from each of the following: 

(a). Educational Research; 
(b). History or Philosophy of Education; 
(c). Secondary School Curriculum; 
(d). School Law; 
(e). School Finance; 
(f). School Personnel Administration; 

 ii. three semester hours of educational 
administration electives to be selected from the following 
courses: 

(a). School-Community Relations; 
(b). School Facilities; 
(c). Program Development and Evaluation 

(either in professional education or in areas outside of 
professional education). 

B. Persons who meet the requirements of Item A above 
are eligible for a provisional secondary school principal 
endorsement. Upon employment as a principal or assistant 
principal, an individual with provisional principal 
endorsement must enroll in the two year Principal Internship 
Program under the auspices of the Administrative 
Leadership Academy. 

C. A regular secondary school principal endorsement 
will be added to the standard Type A certificate upon 
satisfactory completion of the two year Principal Internship 
Program. 

D. Persons holding provisional or regular principal 
endorsements at the secondary school level may serve as 
principal of an elementary, middle, secondary, or 
combination grade-level school. 

E. Secondary school assistant principals are required to 
meet the same standards as elementary school principals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1826 (October 2006). 
§747. Parish or City School Superintendent 

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching 

certificate; 
2. five years of successful school experience (state, 

parish, or city) as superintendent, assistant superintendent, 
supervisor of instruction, principal, or assistant principal in a 
State-approved system, or experience certified as equivalent 
to any of these by the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education. Assistant principal experience is limited to a 
maximum of two years of experience in that position; 

3. master's degree from regionally accredited 
institution of higher education; 

4. 48 semester hours of graduate credit: 
a. 30 semester hours in educational administration 

and supervision of instruction, as follows: 
 i. 18 semester hours, to include three semester 
hours in each of the following areas: 

(a). Foundations of (Introductory) Educational 
Administration; or Theory of Educational Administration; 

(b). School Law; 
(c). Principles of Instructional Supervision 

(Elementary or Secondary); 
(d). School Community Relations; 
(e). Principalship (Secondary or Elementary 

School); 
(f). School Finance; 

 ii. 12 semester hours of electives in educational 
administration and instructional supervision from the 
following areas: 

(a). School Facilities; 
(b). School Personnel Administration; 
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(c). Group Dynamics; 
(d). Office and Business Management; 
(e). Clinical Supervision or Internship or 

Practicum in Educational Administration or Instructional 
Supervision; 

(f). Program Development and Evaluation (in 
professional education or areas outside professional 
education). 

5. professional education, 12 semester hours to 
include three semester hours in each of the following: 

a. Educational Research; 
b. History or Philosophy of Education; 
c. Elementary School Curriculum; 
d. Secondary School Curriculum; 

6. electives from cognate fields outside of 
professional education, six semester hours, related to 
educational administration and supervision in business, 
political science, psychology, sociology, or speech. 

B. Assistant superintendents who supervise any part of 
the instructional program are required to meet the same 
standards as superintendents. 

C. Assistant superintendents for non-instructional areas 
(finance, management, facilities planning, and ancillary 
programs) shall be certified as a school superintendent or 
meet the following requirements: 

1. a minimum of five years of demonstrated 
successful administrative experience at a managerial level in 
education and/or related fields, either in the public or private 
sector; 

2. master's degree from a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education in educational administration, 
business administration, public administration, or a related 
area of study including but not limited to accounting, 
finance, banking, insurance and law; 

3. responsibilities assumed by this category of 
administrators must be related to non-instructional programs, 
and experience obtained while at that level may not be used 
for meeting the certification requirements for superintendent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1826 (October 2006). 
§749. Parish or City School Supervisor of Instruction  

A. Eligibility requirements: 
1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana Teaching 

Certificate; 
2. master's degree from regionally accredited 

institution of higher education; and 
3. minimum of 33 semester hours of graduate credit, 

to include: 
a. 15 semester hours in Educational Administration 

and Supervision: 
 i. Foundations and Theory of Educational 
Administration (three); 
 ii. Principles of Instructional Supervision (six); 
 iii. Elementary School Curriculum (three); 
 iv. Secondary School Curriculum (three); 

b. Professional Education, 15 semester hours: 
 i. Educational Research (three); 
 ii. History or Philosophy of Education (three); 
 iii. School Law (three); 

 iv. six semester hours of electives from 
Instructional Evaluation, Statistics, Testing and 
Measurement, Learning Theory, or Program Development 
and Evaluation (in professional education or area/s outside 
professional education); 

c. three semester hours to be selected from 
Practicum in Instructional Supervision or Internship in 
Instructional Supervision. Internship or clinical experience 
as an elementary or secondary school principal or 
instructional supervisor may be substituted for this 
requirement. 

B. Persons who meet requirements of Paragraphs A.1, 2, 
and Subparagraph 3.a may be issued a non-renewable, non-
extendable supervisor of instruction provisional certificate 
valid for three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1827 (October 2006). 
§751. Parish or City School Supervisor/Director of 

Special Education 
A. Eligibility requirements: 

1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching 
certificate with certification as a special education teacher;  

2. five years of successful professional experience, at 
least three of which must have been in special education; 

3. master's degree from regionally accredited 
institution of higher education; 

4. minimum of 33 semester hours of graduate credit: 
a. six semester hours of special education 

administration, with three semester hours in each area of 
special education administration that address the following 
competencies: 
 i. administration and organization of special 
education; 
 ii. special education compliance; 

b. professional education, 24 semester hours of 
instructional supervision, to include three semester hours in 
each of the following: 
 i. Foundations and Theory of Educational 
Administration; 
 ii. Educational Research; 
 iii. History and Philosophy of Education; 
 iv. School Law; 
 v. School Finance; 
 vi. Curriculum; 
 vii. Principles of Instructional Supervision; 
 viii. three semester hours of electives to be selected 
from Instructional Evaluation, Statistics, Testing and 
Measurement, Learning Theory, or Program Development 
and Evaluation (in professional education or areas outside 
professional education); 

c. three semester hours in either Practicum in 
Special Education Administration or Internship in Special 
Education Administration. 

B. Persons who have met the requirements of Paragraphs 
A.1-3, three semester hours from A.4.a, and 12 semester 
hours from A.4.b may be issued a non-renewable, non-
extendable Supervisor/Director of Special Education 
provisional certificate, valid for three years. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1827 (October 2006). 
§753. Special School Principal 

A. Special School Principal Eligibility Requirements 
1. Certification requirements for elementary or 

secondary school principal must be completed. The same 
certification standards as those required of principals apply 
if an individual is serving as an assistant principal; 

2. graduate training in special education, including at 
least one course in administration/supervision of special 
education, and generic certification in one or more areas of 
exceptionalities served by that school; and 

C. five years of successful professional experience, at 
least three years of which must have been in special 
education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006). 
§755. Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance 

and/or Visiting Teacher  
A. Eligibility requirements: 

1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching 
certificate; 

2. master's degree from regionally accredited 
institution, including 15 semester hours of professional 
education at the graduate level to include three semester 
hours in each of the following areas: 

a. principles of guidance and counseling; 
b. supervision of child welfare and attendance 

and/or visiting teacher work; 
c. school law; 
d. social psychology; 
e. psychology of child growth and development or 

human growth and development. 
B. Social Workers licensed under R.S. 37:2701 et seq. 

may be certified as visiting teachers. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006). 
Subchapter D. Educational Leadership Title 

Equivalencies 
§761. Title Equivalencies 
 

Administrative 
Guidelines from 
Bulletin 741 

Certification Endorsement 
Prior to Educational Leader 
Licensure Structure 

Certification under 
Educational Leader 
Licensure Structure 

Superintendent School Superintendent 
Educational Leader 
Level 3 

Assistant 
Superintendent School Superintendent 

Educational Leader 
Level 3 

Special Parish/City 
Educational Leader 
Level 1 

Education 
Supervisor 

Supervisor/Director of Special 
Education 

Educational Leader 
Level 2  

Child welfare and 
Attendance 
Supervisor 

Supervisor of Child welfare 
and Attendance and/or 
Visiting Teacher 

Educational Leader 
Level 1 
Educational Leader 
Level 2 

Principal or 
Assistant 
Principal 

Provisional Elementary 
Principal 
Elementary Principal 
Provisional Secondary 
Principal 
Secondary Principal 
Provisional Principal 
Principal 
Combination School Principal 

Educational Leader 
Level 1 
Educational Leader 
Level 2 

Supervisor 
Parish/City Supervisor of 
Instruction 

Educational Leader 
Level 1 
Educational Leader 
Level 2 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006). 
Subchapter E. All Other Supervisory Endorsements 
§781. Introduction 

A. In addition to those areas of 
supervision/administration embraced within the Educational 
Leader Certification Structure, the following supervisory 
endorsements are available to candidates holding a 
Louisiana teaching certificate: 

1. Supervisor of School Libraries; 
2. Supervisor of Parish or City Materials and Media 

Centers; 
3. Supervisor of Student Teaching. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006). 
§783. Supervisor of School Libraries—Eligibility 

Requirements 
A. Supervisor of school libraries eligibility requirements: 

1. Type A or Level 3 Louisiana certificate authorizing 
school library service; 

2. five or more years of successful experience as a 
school librarian; 

3. master's degree in library science from a regionally 
accredited institution, including 12 semester hours of 
graduate training in library science and a minimum of 21 
semester hours of undergraduate credit in library science. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006). 
§785. Supervisor of Parish or City Materials and/or 

Media Centers 
A. Supervisor of parish or city materials and/or media 

centers eligibility requirements: 
1. Type A or Level 3 Louisiana teaching certificate; 
2. advanced degree from a regionally accredited 

institution; 
3. 15 semester hours of graduate course work in non-

book media: 
a. utilization of audiovisual materials (three); 
b. media design and production (three); 
c. administration of media programs (three); 
d. six semester hours of electives from courses such 

as photography, educational television, programmed 
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instruction, media research, advanced production techniques, 
and communication theory. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1828 (October 2006). 
§787. Supervisor of Student Teaching 

A. This is no longer a required endorsement that must 
appear on a certificate.  

B. To qualify to perform this supervisory service, a 
teacher must meet one of the following eligibility criteria: 

1. valid Type A or Level 3 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment; 

2. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment and successfully 
complete the three semester-hour course in the supervision 
of student teaching;  

3. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment and successfully 
complete assessor training through the Louisiana Teacher 
Assistance and Assessment Program; and 

4. valid Type B or Level 2 Louisiana certificate in the 
field of the supervisory assignment and National Board 
Certification in the field of the supervisory assignment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006). 
Chapter 8. Certification Appeal Process 
§801. Overview 

A. The certification appeal process is available to an 
individual who has applied for certification and has been 
denied the requested certification due to the absence of 
certification requirements. The process provides such an 
individual the opportunity to petition the Teacher 
Certification Appeals Council (TCAC) to consider other 
factors and evidence, in lieu of the missing certification 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006). 
§803. Appeal Process 

A. An applicant who is denied certification but who 
believes that he/she has legitimate grounds for an appeal, 
may submit a Certification Appeal Application to the Board 
of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) office. 
Only an individual who has been evaluated and denied 
certification through the Division of Teacher Certification 
and Higher Education is eligible to file an appeal. The 
following restrictions apply: 

1. an appeal cannot be initiated until an applicant has 
submitted a complete certification application to the 
Louisiana Department of Education, Division of Teacher 
Certification and Higher Education; the application is 
reviewed by a certification specialist; and the applicant is 
notified that he/she is denied the requested certification; 

2. the BESE Office must receive an appeal within 120 
days from the date that the certification request was denied; 

3. certification requirements mandated by state or 
federal law, as cited below, cannot be waived through the 
appeal process: 

a. NTE/Praxis requirements for initial certification; 
b. a grade point average of 2.50 for initial 

certification; 
c. for those who have participated in any 

undergraduate teacher education program, reading 
requirements per 17:7.1.A.(4)(a) of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes provide for a prescribed number of semester hours 
in the teaching of reading, as established in policy by the 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education in 
accordance with the level of certification to be awarded, 
such requirement to be in addition to requirements for 
English courses, and such courses in the teaching of reading 
to emphasize techniques of teaching reading and the 
recognition and correction of reading problems of the 
student. State Board policy has set these requirements as 
follows:  
 i. for elementary grades undergraduate programs, 
nine hours of reading coursework; 
 ii. for middle grades undergraduate programs, six 
hours of reading coursework; or 
 iii. for secondary grades undergraduate programs, 
three hours of reading coursework; 

d. for those who have participated in any alternate 
teacher education program, as provided pursuant to reading 
requirements per 17:7.1.A.(4)(b) and to rules and regulations 
adopted by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education, the applicant shall be given the option of either 
completing the same amount of semester hours as required 
for the teaching of reading for undergraduate program 
applicants as shown in Subparagraph A.3.c above or in lieu 
of such semester hour requirements shall possess the reading 
and literacy competencies identified in scientifically based 
reading research at the national level and approved by the 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education for the 
teaching of reading. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006). 
§805. Application Packet 

A. An individual seeking an appeal of his/her 
certification decision is advised to read carefully all 
information about completing the BESE Certification 
Appeal Application before beginning the process. The 
complete application packet is located in the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) section of the 
Department of Education website at teachlouisiana.net. If 
there are questions regarding the appeal packet, an applicant 
can contact the BESE office at 225-342-5840. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1829 (October 2006). 
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Chapter 9. Actions Related to Criminal Offenses 
and/or the Submission of Fraudulent 
Documentation 

§901. Overview 
A. Teaching certificates can be denied, suspended, or 

revoked for certain criminal offenses and/or for the 
submission of fraudulent documentation. This Chapter 
presents those circumstances plus the circumstances under 
which certificates can possibly be reinstated. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1830 (October 2006). 
§903. Definitions 

A. For the purposes of this policy: 
Applicant―any person applying for a Louisiana 

teaching authorization of any kind. 
Board―the Board of Elementary and Secondary 

Education as a whole and/or any of its standing committees. 
Convicted or Conviction―any proceedings in which the 

accused person pleads guilty or no contest, and those 
proceedings that are tried and result in a judgment of guilty. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Education. 
Fraudulent Document―any paper, instrument, or other 

form of writing that is false, altered, or counterfeit and that is 
used as a subterfuge or device to induce the issuance of a 
certificate. 

Offense or Crime―those listed in R.S. 15.587.1(C) and 
any felony offense whatsoever. 

Teaching Certificate or Certificate―any license, permit, 
or certificate issued by the Division of Teacher Certification 
and Higher Education of the Department of Education. 

B. The following crimes are reported under 
R.S.15:587.1: 

1. R.S. 14:30, R.S. 14:30.1, R.S. 14:31, R.S. 14:41 
through R.S.14:45, R.S. 14:74, R.S. 14:78, R.S. 14:79.1, 
R.S. 14:80 through R.S. 14:86, R.S. 14:89, R.S. 4:89.1, R.S. 
14:92, R.S. 14:93, R.S. 14:93.2.1, R.S. 14:93.3, R.S. 14:106, 
R.S. 14:282, R.S. 14:286, R.S. 40:966(A), R.S. 40:967(A), 
R.S. 40:968(A), R.S. 40:969(A), and R.S. 40:970(A) or 
convictions for attempt or conspiracy to commit any of those 
offenses;  

2. those of a jurisdiction other than Louisiana which, 
in the judgment of the bureau employee charged with 
responsibility for responding to the request, would constitute 
a crime under the provisions cited in this Subsection, and 
Those under the Federal Criminal Code having analogous 
elements of criminal and moral turpitude. (Federal Criminal 
Code provisions are in Title 18 of U.S.C.A.) Specifically: 

 
* R.S. 14:30 First degree murder 
* R.S. 14:30.1 Second degree murder 
 R.S. 14:31 Manslaughter 
* R.S. 14:41 Rape 
* R.S. 14:42 Aggravated rape 
* R.S. 14:42.1 Forcible rape 
* R.S. 14:43 Simple rape 
* R.S. 14:43.1 Sexual battery 
* R.S. 14:43.2 Aggravated sexual battery 
* R.S. 14:43.3 Oral sexual battery 
* R.S. 14:43.4 Aggravated oral sexual battery 

* R.S. 14:43.5 
Intentional exposure to the 
AIDS virus 

* R.S. 14:44 Aggravated kidnapping 
* R.S. 14:44.1 Second degree kidnapping 
* R.S. 14:45 Simple kidnapping 
 R.S. 14:74 Criminal neglect of family 
* R.S. 14:78 Incest 
* R.S. 14:79.1 Criminal abandonment 
* R.S. 14:80 Carnal knowledge of a juvenile 

* R.S. 14:81 
Indecent behavior with a 
juvenile 

* R.S. 14:81.1 Pornography involving juveniles 
* R.S. 14:81.2 Molestation of a juvenile 
 R.S. 14:82 Prostitution 

* R.S. 14:82.1 
Prostitution; Persons under 
seventeen; Additional offenses 

 R.S. 14:83 Soliciting for prostitutes 
 R.S. 14:83.1 Inciting prostitution 
 R.S. 14:83.2 Promoting prostitution 
 R.S. 14:83.3 Prostitution by massage 

 R.S. 14:83.4 
Massage; sexual content 
prohibited 

 R.S. 14:84 Pandering 
 R.S. 14:85 Letting premises for prostitution 
 R.S. 14:85.1 Letting premises for obscenity 

* R.S. 14:86 
Enticing persons into 
prostitution 

* R.S. 14:89 Crime against nature 
* R.S. 14:89.1 Aggravated crime against nature 

 R.S. 14:92 
Contributing to the delinquency 
of juveniles 

* R.S. 14:93 Cruelty to juveniles 
* R.S. 14:93.2.1 Child desertion 
 R.S. 14:93.3 Cruelty to the infirm 
 R.S. 14:106 Obscenity 

 R.S. 14:282 
Operation of places of 
prostitution  

* R.S. 14:286 Sale of minor children 

 R.S. 40:966(A) 

Penalty for distribution or 
possession with intent to 
distribute narcotic drugs listed in 
Schedule I; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:967(A) 

Prohibited acts; Schedule II, 
penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:968(A) 

Prohibited acts; Schedule III; 
penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:969(A) 

Prohibited acts; Schedule IV; 
penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 R.S. 40:970(A) 

Prohibited acts; Schedule V; 
penalties; Manufacture; 
Distribution 

 
*Certificate issuance/reinstatement will never be considered 
for crimes marked with an asterisk. 

C. Convictions that are set aside pursuant to Articles 893 
or 894 of the Louisiana Code of Criminal Procedures, 
expunged, or which are pardoned subject to Louisiana first 
offender pardon laws nonetheless, shall be treated as 
convictions for the purpose of denial. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1830 (October 2006). 
§905. Denial of Certificates for Criminal Offenses 

and/or for the Submission of Fraudulent 
Documentation 

A. An application for a Louisiana teaching certificate 
shall be denied if the individual applying for the certificate 
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has been convicted of any offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C) 
or any felony offense whatsoever and/or has submitted 
fraudulent documentation as determined by the department. 
A person convicted of an offense as defined herein and/or 
has submitted fraudulent documentation as determined by 
the department may apply for a certificate after three years 
have elapsed from date of entry of final conviction or from 
date of the submission of fraudulent documentation.  

B. The applicant shall be notified by certified mail and 
by any other appropriate means of notice that his/her 
certificate has been denied. The applicant shall provide 
copies of any documents that verify his/her identity, refute 
the existence of a criminal conviction, and/or verify the 
accuracy of documentation as submitted. If a conviction 
upon which the certificate has been denied is reversed, such 
action should be communicated to the department through 
documentation provided by the applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1830 (October 2006). 
§907. Suspension and Revocation of Certificates for 

Criminal Offenses 
A. A Louisiana teaching certificate shall be suspended 

and revoked if the individual holding the certificate has been 
convicted of any offense listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C) (See 
Section I.B) or any felony offense whatsoever.  

B. When the Department is Notified that any Teacher has 
been Convicted of a Specific Crime 

1. Department staff shall attempt to contact the 
teacher to inform him/her that the department has 
information regarding a criminal conviction and is 
proceeding under this policy to suspend the certificate. 

2. The teacher shall have 10 working days from the 
date of notification to provide verification that he/she has not 
been convicted of a criminal offense. This opportunity for 
response is intended as a check against mistaken identity or 
other incorrect information and the requested verification 
may be provided through a telephone conversation or written 
correspondence. 

3. If the teacher cannot be reached and/or if his/her 
employment status cannot be determined, suspension of the 
certificate shall proceed, as will all other steps in the process 
outlined in this policy. 

4. If the department determines that there is evidence 
that a teacher has been convicted of a criminal offense, that 
teacher's certificate shall be suspended. The board, the 
teacher, and the employing school system shall be notified 
that the teacher's certificate has been suspended pending 
official board action. 

5. The teacher shall be notified by certified mail and 
by any other appropriate means of notice that his/her 
certificate has been suspended and that the certificate will be 
revoked unless the teacher can provide documentation that 
he/she was not convicted of the crime. The teacher shall 
provide copies of any documentation that verifies his/her 
identity and refutes the existence of a criminal conviction. 

6. If the conviction upon which a teacher's certificate 
has been suspended and/or revoked is reversed, such action 
shall be communicated to the board through documentation 
provided by the applicant. The board may receive such 

information and order reinstatement of the teacher's 
certificate 

7. Upon official action by the board, any teacher 
whose certificate has been revoked shall be notified of such 
action by certified mail. The correspondence shall include 
instructions for and identification of the date when the 
individual may apply to the board for reinstatement of 
his/her certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1831 (October 2006). 
§909. Suspension and Revocation of Certificates due to 

Fraudulent Documentation Pertaining to 
Certification 

A. A Louisiana teaching certificate may be suspended 
and/or revoked if a teacher presents fraudulent 
documentation pertaining to his/her certificate to the State 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education or the 
Department of Education.  

B. The department shall investigate prior to determining 
that a teacher has submitted fraudulent documentation 
pertaining to his/her teaching certificate. Upon confirmation 
of the information investigated, the department shall notify 
the teacher by certified mail that his/her certificate has been 
suspended pending official board action and that a hearing 
will be conducted by the board to consider revocation. 

C. Such hearing will be limited to the issue of whether or 
not the document submitted was fraudulent. The teacher 
shall provide the board with documentation that will refute 
the fraudulent nature of the document. 

D. The Due Process Committee shall make a 
recommendation to the full board, based on documentation 
received from the department and the teacher, whether the 
teaching certificate should be revoked. The decision of the 
board shall be transmitted to the local school board and to 
the teacher affected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1831 (October 2006). 
§911. Procedures and Rules for Issuance or 

Reinstatement of Certificates Suspended or 
Revoked due to Criminal Convictions and/or 
Submission of Fraudulent Documents 

A. Issuance/reinstatement will never be considered  
for teachers convicted of the following crimes: 14:30, 
14:30.1, 14:41, 14:42, 14:42.1, 14:43, 14:43.1, 14:43.2, 
14:43.3, 14:43.4, 14:43.5, 14:44, 14:44.1, 14:45, 14:78, 
14:79.1, 14:80, 14:81, 14:81.1, 14:81.2, 14:82.1, 14:86, 
14:89, 14:89.1, 14:93, 14:93.2.1, and 14:286. 

B. Issuances/reinstatements of certificates shall not be 
considered until at least three years have elapsed from the 
date of entry of final conviction or from date of the 
submission of fraudulent documentation. 

C. An applicant may apply to the board for 
issuance/reinstatement of his/her teaching certificate after 
the lapse of time indicated above and under the following 
conditions. 

1. There have been no further convictions and/or 
submissions of fraudulent documentation. The applicant 
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must provide a current state and FBI criminal history 
background check from state police that is clean and clear.  

2. There has been successful completion of all 
conditions/requirements of any parole and/or probation. The 
applicant must provide relevant documentation.  

D. Applicant Responsibilities 
1. Contact the office of the Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education and request a hearing for 
issuance/reinstatement of the certificate. 

2. Provide each applicable item identified above in 
Section C, evidence that all requirements for certification 
have been successfully completed, and further 
documentation evidencing rehabilitation. The applicant is 
recommended to provide letters of support from past/present 
employers, school board employees and officials, faculty, 
and administrative staff from the college education 
department, law enforcement officials and/or from other 
community leaders.  

E. State Board Responsibilities 
1. The board will consider the request for 

issuance/reinstatement and documentation provided. The 
board is not required to conduct an issuance/reinstatement 
hearing and may summarily deny a request for 
issuance/reinstatement. 

2. If the board or its designees decide to conduct an 
issuance/reinstatement hearing, board staff shall notify the 
applicant of a date, time, and place when a committee of the 
board shall consider the applicant's request. The applicant 
may be represented and/or accompanied by legal counsel. In 
addition to the applicant and his/her legal counsel, a 
maximum of three witnesses may be called to provide 
testimony regarding the applicant's rehabilitation. Testimony 
and information considered will be limited to evidence of 
rehabilitation. Any conviction will be given full faith and 
credit, and no testimony will be taken to refute the finding of 
the court. The written documentation provided prior to the 
hearing will also be considered. 

3. The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
reserves the right to accept or reject any document or 
testimony offered as evidence of rehabilitation and the right 
to determine if adequate rehabilitation has occurred and will 
itself determine if and when an applicant is eligible for 
issuance/reinstatement of a teaching certificate. The board 
further reserves the right to deny a request for 
issuance/reinstatement based upon the applicant's dishonesty 
in failing to disclose a prior criminal conviction and/or for 
falsifying academic records. (If the board denies 
issuance/reinstatement, the applicant must wait one year 
prior to re-application.) 

4. The committee of the board shall make a 
recommendation to the full board regarding whether the 
applicant's teaching certificate should be issued, reinstated, 
suspended for an additional period of time, or remain 
revoked. Board staff shall notify the applicant of the board's 
action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1831 (October 2006). 

Chapter 10. Definitions 
§1001. Terms 

Alternate Teacher Preparation Program―a pathway 
designed for candidates with a minimum of a baccalaureate 
degree earned at a regionally accredited institution. An 
alternate program combines professional knowledge with 
field experiences, including a one year supervised internship 
in a school setting. For admission to an alternate program, 
applicants must demonstrate content mastery. 

Ancillary Certificate―a type of Louisiana certificate that 
allows a qualified person who is not a certified teacher to 
provide services in a school setting. 

Baccalaureate―a term used to denote an undergraduate 
degree or program (e.g., Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of 
Science). 

Certification―a licensing process whereby qualified 
professionals become legally authorized to teach or to 
perform designated duties in the schools under the 
jurisdiction of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education (BESE). 

Continuing Learning Unit (CLU)―a professional 
development activity that builds capacity for effective, 
research-based, content-focused teaching and learning that 
positively impacts student achievement. As a unit of 
measure, the CLU is used to quantify an educator's 
participation in a system-approved content-focused 
professional development activity aligned with the 
educator's individual professional growth plan.  

Core Subject Areas (per No Child Left Behind federal 
legislation)―English, reading, language arts; mathematics; 
science; foreign languages; civics and government; 
economics; arts; history; and geography. 

Endorsement―a permanent certification authorization 
added to an existing teaching certificate. 

Graduate―a term used to denote a degree, coursework, or 
program beyond the baccalaureate degree level (e.g., 
Masters of Education, Masters of Arts in Teaching). 

Industry Based Certification―a certificate that provides 
evidence that an individual has successfully demonstrated 
skill competencies in a specific set of work related tasks, 
single occupational area, or a cluster of related occupational 
areas (e.g., Certified Landscape Technician, ASE 
Certification, Licensed Cosmetologist). 

Non-Standard Certificate―a one year temporary 
authorization that can be issued three times to an applicant 
who is pursuing full credentialing as a teacher. To have this 
certificate re-issued for Year 2 and for Year 3, an applicant 
must meet specified renewal requirements.  

Paraprofessional―an employee who provides 
instructional support in a program supported with Title I, 
Part A funds. 

Post-Baccalaureate (or old) Alternate Certification 
Program―a program offered prior to July 1, 2002, that 
provided opportunities for individuals with a minimum of a 
baccalaureate degree to become certified public school 
teachers. Applicants seeking certification under this program 
submitted an official transcript for evaluation to a Louisiana 
college or university that had an approved teacher education 
program. 
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Regionally Accredited―a term used to denote the status of 
public recognition that a regionally recognized accrediting 
agency grants to an educational institution or program that 
meets the agency's standards and requirements. 

Regularly Employed―a term used to denote an individual 
who is a full-time or part-time employee of a school system, 
and who is not hired on a day-to-day basis. 

Standard Certificate―a credential issued by the State to 
an individual who has met all requirements for full 
certification as a teacher.  

Teacher―an employee of a city or parish school board or 
of a BESE special school who holds a teaching certificate 
and whose legal employment requires certification under the 
regulations of BESE. 

Teacher Education Program Completer―an individual 
who satisfies all requirements of a traditional teacher 
preparation undergraduate degree program or of an approved 
alternate teacher preparation program. 

Teaching Certificate―a license, permit, or certificate 
issued by the Louisiana Department of Education to an 
individual who has met all state requirements for 
certification as a teacher. 

Temporary License―a teaching authorization held for a 
short period that is not a standard certificate (see non-
standard certificate above). 

Traditional Teacher Preparation Program―a Bachelor of 
Arts or Bachelor of Science degree program that includes 
general education courses, certification focus area(s), 
professional education courses, field experiences, and 
student teaching in a school setting. 

Undergraduate―a term used to denote a degree, 
coursework, or program at the baccalaureate degree level 
(e.g., Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Sciences). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1832 (October 2006). 
§1003. Acronyms 

BESE—Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. 
CLU—Continuing Learning Unit (professional 

development). 
CTTIE—Career and Technical Trade and Industrial 

Education. 
HOUSSE (per the federal No Child Left Behind Act of 

2001—High Objective Uniform State Standard of 
Evaluation (for highly qualified status of teachers). 

INTASC—Interstate New Teacher Assessment and Support 
Consortium. 

LaTAAP—Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment 
Program. 

LCET—Louisiana Components of Effective Teaching. 
NASDTEC—National Association of State Directors of 

Teacher Education and Certification. 
NCATE—National Council for Accreditation of Teacher 

Education. 
NCLB—No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (federal law). 
OFAT—Out-of-Field Authority to Teach, a non-standard 

license. 
TAT—Temporary Authorization to Teach, a non-standard 

license. 

TEP—Temporary Employment Permit, a non-standard 
license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0610#011 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel―ACT/SAT  

Scores in Lieu of PRAXIS I Scores 
(LAC 28:CXXXI.243) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel. This policy 
specifies prospective teachers in Louisiana may use an ACT 
composite score of 22 or a SAT combined verbal and math 
score of 1030 as an alternative to taking the PRAXIS I PPST 
Exams. A resolution from the Louisiana Association of 
Colleges of Teacher Education (LACTE) Deans requested 
consideration of this policy by the board. The board 
periodically reviews exams for certification in Louisiana and 
sets the cut scores for these exams. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards  
for State Certification of School Personel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
§243. ACT/SAT Scores in Lieu of PRAXIS I SCORES 

A. Pre-Professional Skills Tests  
1. "Paper Administrations" 
(Required for all Louisiana candidates to enter teacher 
preparation programs.) 

 
PRE-PROFESSIONAL SKILLS 

TEST 
Test # Score Effective 

Date 
0710 
0720 
0730 

172 
171 
170 

Effective 
1/16/02 

0710 
0720 
0730 

174 
173 
172 

Effective 
7/1/07 

PPST:R –  Pre-Professional Skills 
Test:  Reading 

 
 
PPST:W – Pre-Professional Skills 

Test: Writing 
 
 
PPST:M –  Pre-Professional Skills 

Test:  Mathematics 

0710 
0720 
0730 

176 
175 
175 

Effective 
7/1/10 

 

2. "Computer Based Administrations" 
 

PRE-PROFESSIONAL SKILLS TEST Test  # Score Effective 
Date 

PPST:R –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Reading 

PPST:W – Pre-Professional Skills Test: 
Writing 

PPST:M –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Mathematics 

0711 
 

0721 
 

0731 

319 
 

316 
 

315 

Prior 
to1/16/02 
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PRE-PROFESSIONAL SKILLS TEST Test  # Score Effective 
Date 

5710 
5720 
5730 

172 
171 
170 

Effective 
1/16/02 

5710 
5720 
5730 

174 
173 
172 

Effective 
7/1/07 

PPST:R –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Reading  

PPST:W – Pre-Professional Skills Test: 
Writing  

PPST:M –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Mathematics 

5710 
5720 
5730 

176 
175 
175 

Effective 
7/1/10 

3. Core Battery Exams 
 

Communications Skills (CS) 
General Knowledge (GK) 
Professional Knowledge (PK) 

0500 
0510 
0520 

645 
644 
645 

Prior to 
9/1/99 

 
Effective September 1, 2006:  An ACT composite score of 22 
or a SAT combined verbal and math score of 1030 may be 
used in lieu of Praxis 1 PPST Exams by prospective teachers 
in Louisiana. 

 
B. Content and Pedagogy Requirements 
 

Pedagogy: Principles of Learning & 
Teaching 

 
 

Certification Area 

 
 

Name of Praxis Test 

 
Content 

Exam Score PLT K-6 
(#0522) 

PLT 5-9 
(#0523) 

PLT  7-12 
(#0524) 

Early Childhood PK-3 Elementary Content Knowledge (0014)  
                                                                        Prior to 5/31/04 
                                                                        Effective 6/1/04 

 
        147 
        150 

Prior to 6/1/04: PLT K-6 or ECE 0020; 
After 5/31/04: Early Childhood Education 
0020 (Score 510) 

Grades 1-5  Elementary Content Knowledge (0014) 
                                                                        Prior to 5/31/04  
                                                                        Effective 6/1/04 

 
        147 
        150 

161 --- --- 

Grades 4-8 Generic Middle School: Content Knowledge (0146) 
Effective 6/1/04, this exam not available for certification 
purposes; middle grades candidates required to pass one or 
more content specific middle grades exams. 

150 --- 154 --- 

Grades 4-8 Mathematics Middle School Mathematics (0069) 148 --- 154 --- 
Grades 4-8 Science 
    

Middle School Science (0439) 
                                                                    Prior to 5/31/2006 
                                                                    Effective 6/1/2006 
                                                                    Effective 6/1/2009 

 
140 
145 
150 

--- 154 --- 

Grades 4-8 Social Studies Middle School Social Studies (0089) 149 --- 154 --- 
Grades 4-8 
English/Language Arts 

Middle School English/Language Arts (0049) 160 --- 154 --- 

 
C. Certification Areas 

1. Grades 6-12 Certification 
 

GRADES 6-12 CERTIFICATION AREAS 
  Score     PLT 7-12 

Agriculture Agriculture (0700)                                          Effective 7/1/05 510 --- --- 161 
Biology Biology & General Science (0030)                Prior to 6/30/05 

Biology: Content Knowledge (0235)             Effective 7/1/05 
580 
150 

--- --- 161 

Business Business Education (0100)                             Prior to 5/31/04 
                                                                        Effective 6/1/04 

540 
570 

--- --- 161 

Chemistry Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070)   Prior to 6/30/06 
Chemistry: Content Knowledge (0245)         Effective 7/1/06 

530 
151 

  161 

English English Language, Literature, & Composition: 
     Content Knowledge (0041) 

     Pedagogy (0043) 

 
160 
130 

 
 

--- 

 
 

--- 

 
 

161 
Family & Consumer 
Sciences (formerly Home 
Economics) 

Family & Consumer Sciences (0120) 510 --- --- 161 

French French  (0170)                                                Prior to 5/31/04 
French: Content Knowledge (0173)              Effective 6/1/04 

520 
156 

--- --- 161 

General Science Biology & General Science (0030) –OR— 
Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070)   Prior to 6/30/05 
General Science: Content Knowledge (0435)  

Effective 7/1/05 

580 
530 

 
156 

--- --- 161 

German German (0180) 
German: Content Knowledge (0181)            Effective 7/1/06 

500 
151 

--- --- 161 

Mathematics Mathematics (0060)                                       Prior to 5/31/04 
Mathematics: Content Knowledge (0061)     Effective 6/1/04 
                                                                       Effective 6/1/07 
                                                                       Effective 6/1/10 

550 
125 
130 
135 

--- --- 161 

Physics Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070)  Prior to 6/30/06 
Physics: Content Knowledge (0265)             Effective 7/1/06 

530 
        141 

  161 

School Librarian Library Media Specialist (0310) 560 --- --- --- 
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Social Studies Social Studies: 
    Content Knowledge (0081)  
    Interpretation of Materials (0083) 

 
149 
152 

 
--- 

 
--- 

161 

Spanish Spanish (0190)                                               Prior to 5/31/04 
Spanish: Content Knowledge (0191)             Effective 6/1/04 

540 
160 

--- --- 161 

Speech Speech Communications (0220)                    Effective 7/1/05 575 --- --- 161 
Technology Education 
   (formerly Industrial Arts) 

Technology Education (0050)                       Effective 7/1/05 600 --- --- 161 

Computer Science 
Earth Science 
 Environmental Science 
Journalism  
Latin 
Marketing (formerly 
Distributive Education) 

At this time, a content area exam is not required for 
certification in Louisiana. 

--- --- --- 161 

 
2. All-Level K-12 Certification 

 
ALL-LEVEL K-12 CERTIFICATION AREAS 

   Score PLT K-6 PLT 5-9 PLT 7-12 
Grades K-12 Art  Art: Content Knowledge (0133)                         Effective 7/1/05 155 161 or 154 or 161 
Grades K-12 Dance None Available** --- 161 or 154 or 161 

French  (0170)                                                    Prior to 5/31/04 
French: Content Knowledge (0173)                   Effective 6/1/04 

520 
156 

German (0180) 
German: Content Knowledge (0181)                 Effective 7/1/06 

500 
151 

 
 
Grades K-12 Foreign 
Languages 
 Spanish (0190)                                                    Prior to 5/31/04 

Spanish: Content Knowledge (0191)                 Effective 6/1/04 
540 
160 

 
 

161 

 
 

or 

 
 

154 

 
 

or 

 
 

161 

Grades K-12 Music Music Education (0110)                                     Prior to 5/31/04 
Music: Content Knowledge (0113)                    Effective 6/1/04 

530 
151 

161 or 154 or 161 

Grades K-12 Health 
and Physical 
Education 

Physical Education (0090)                                  Prior to 5/31/04 
Phys. Education: Content Knowledge (0091)    Effective 6/1/04 

550 
146 

161 or 154 or 161 

**At this time, a content area exam is not required for certification in Louisiana. 

 
D. Special Education Areas 
 

Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
All Special Education Area(s) Prior to 6/1/04:  PLT K-6 (161), PLT 5-9 (154) OR PLT 7-12 (161) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                                           Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353)                Effective 6/1/04 
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge  (0353) & Early Childhood Education 
(0020)                                                 Effective 7/1/05 

 
143 

 
143 
510 

Hearing Impaired Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                                           Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) &  
Educ. of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students (0271) 

Effective 6/1/04 

143 
 

160 

Effective 6/1/04  ALL Candidates must pass a content area 
exam appropriate to certification level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12  
 (e.g.,  0014, or core subject-specific exams for middle or 
secondary grades)  

Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities 

Prior to 6/1/04, a content area exam was required only for 
entry into a Mild/ Moderate 1-12 Practitioner Teacher 
Program, Non-Master’s Certification-Only Alternate 
Program, and Master’s Alternate Program.   

*Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) &  
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Mild/Moderate 
Disabilities (0542)                               Effective 6/1/04 
 
*Note:  (0353) and (0542) are not content area exams. 

143 
141 

Significant 
Disabilities 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                              Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) &  
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Severe to Profound 
Disabilities (0544)                               Effective 6/1/04 

143 
 
 

147 
Visual 
Impairments/Blind 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                             Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353)                 Effective 6/1/04 

143 

 
E. Administrative Areas 
 

Certification Area Name of Praxis Test Area Test Score 
Principal Educational Leadership: Administration & Supervision (0410)      Prior to 1/1/09 620 
Educational Leader – Level 1 School Leaders Licensure Assessment (1010)                              Effective 7/1/06 168 
Educational Leader – Level 3 School Superintendent Assessment (1020)                                  Effective 7/1/06 154 

All Praxis scores used for certification must be sent directly from ETS to the State Department of Education electronically, or the original Praxis score 
report from ETS must be submitted with candidate’s application. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0610#008 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State  
Certification of School Personnel―PRAXIS I Scores 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.241) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel. This policy 
specifies that effective July 1, 2007, the PRAXIS PPST 
scores be aligned with those of the University of Louisiana 
System in the following score requirements: Reading 174, 
Writing 173, and Mathematics 172. In addition, effective 
July 1, 2010, the scores will be raised to the following 
requirements: Reading 176, Writing 175, and Mathematics 
175. This policy would raise standards for entry into 
alternate certification programs and for certification as a 
teacher in Louisiana. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards  
for State Certification of School Personel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
§241. PRAXIS I SCORES 

A. Pre-Professional Skills Tests 
1. "Paper Administrations" 
(Required for all Louisiana candidates to enter teacher 
preparation programs.) 

 
PRE-PROFESSIONAL SKILLS 

TEST 
 

Test  # 
 

Score 
Effective 

Date 
0710 
0720 
0730 

172 
171 
170 

Effective 
1/16/02 

0710 
0720 
0730 

174 
173 
172 

Effective 
7/1/07 

PPST:R – Pre-Professional Skills 
Test:  Reading 

PPST:W – Pre-Professional Skills 
Test: Writing 

PPST:M –  Pre-Professional Skills 
Test:  Mathematics 

0710 
0720 
0730 

176 
175 
175 

Effective 
7/1/10 

 
2. "Computer Based Administrations" 
 

 
PRE-PROFESSIONAL SKILLS TEST 

 
Test  # 

 
Score 

Effective 
Date 

PPST:R –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Reading 

PPST:W – Pre-Professional Skills Test: 
Writing  

PPST:M –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Mathematics 

0711 
 

0721 
 

0731 

319 
 

316 
 

315 

Prior 
to1/16/02 

 

5710 
5720 
5730 

172 
171 
170 

Effective 
1/16/02 

5710 
5720 
5730 

174 
173 
172 

Effective 
7/1/07 

PPST:R –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  

Reading      

PPST:W – Pre-Professional Skills Test: 
Writing  

PPST:M –  Pre-Professional Skills Test:  
Mathematics 

 

5710 
5720 
5730 

176 
175 
175 

Effective 
7/1/10 

 
3. Core Battery Exams 
 

Communications Skills (CS) 
General Knowledge (GK) 
Professional Knowledge (PK) 

0500 
0510 
0520 

645 
644 
645 

Prior to 
9/1/99 

 
 

Effective September 1, 2006:   An ACT composite score of 22 
or a SAT combined verbal and math score of 1030 may be 
used in lieu of Praxis 1  PPST Exams by prospective teachers 
in Louisiana. 
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B. Content and Pedagogy Requirements 
 

 
Certification Area 

 
Name of Praxis Test 

Pedagogy: Principles of Learning & 
Teaching 

      
Content 

Exam Score PLT K-6 
(#0522) 

PLT 5-9 
(#0523) 

PLT  7-12 
(#0524) 

Early Childhood PK-3 
Elementary Content Knowledge (0014)                             Prior to 5/31/04 
                                                                                            Effective 6/1/04 

147 
150 

Prior to 6/1/04: PLT K-6 or ECE 0020; 
After 5/31/04: Early Childhood Education 
0020 (Score 510) 

Grades 1-5 Elementary Content Knowledge (0014)                             Prior to 5/31/04 
                                           Effective 6/1/04 

147 
150 

161 --- --- 

Grades 4-8 Generic Middle School: Content Knowledge (0146) 
Effective 6/1/04, this exam not available for certification purposes; 
middle grades candidates required to pass one or more content specific 
middle grades exams. 

150 --- 154 --- 

Grades 4-8 
Mathematics 

Middle School Mathematics (0069) 148 --- 154 --- 

Grades 4-8 Science Middle School Science (0439)                                       Prior to 5/31/2006 
                                                                                        Effective 6/1/2006 
                                                                                        Effective 6/1/2009 

140 
145 
150 

--- 154 --- 

Grades 4-8 Social 
Studies 

Middle School Social Studies (0089) 149 --- 154 --- 

Grades 4-8 
English/Language Arts 

Middle School English/Language Arts (0049) 160 --- 154 --- 

 

C. Certification Areas 
1. Grades 6-12 Certification 
 

GRADES 6-12 CERTIFICATION AREAS 
   Score    PLT 7-12 
Agriculture Agriculture (0700)                                                              Effective 7/1/05 510 --- --- 161 
Biology Biology & General Science (0030)                                    Prior to 6/30/05 

Biology: Content Knowledge (0235)                                 Effective 7/1/05 
580 
150 

--- --- 161 

Business Business Education (0100)                                                 Prior to 5/31/04 
                                                                                            Effective 6/1/04 

540 
570 

--- --- 161 

Chemistry Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070)                       Prior to 6/30/06 
Chemistry: Content Knowledge (0245)                             Effective 7/1/06 

530 
151 

  161 

English English Language, Literature, & Composition: 
     Content Knowledge (0041) 

     Pedagogy (0043) 

 
160 
130 

 
 

--- 

 
 

--- 

 
 

161 
Family & Consumer 
Sciences (formerly 
Home Economics) 

Family & Consumer Sciences (0120) 510 --- --- 161 

French French  (0170)                                                           Prior to 5/31/04 
French: Content Knowledge (0173)                         Effective 6/1/04 

520 
156 

--- --- 161 

General Science Biology & General Science (0030) –OR— Chemistry/Physics/General 
Science (0070)                                                                  Prior to 6/30/05 
General Science: Content Knowledge (0435)          Effective 7/1/05 

580 
530 
156 

--- --- 161 

German German (0180) 
German: Content Knowledge (0181)                       Effective 7/1/06 

500 
151 

--- --- 161 

Mathematics Mathematics (0060)                                                 Prior to 5/31/04 
Mathematics: Content Knowledge (0061)               Effective 6/1/04 
                                                                             Effective 6/1/07 
                                                                             Effective 6/1/10 

550 
 

125 
130 
135 

--- --- 161 

Physics Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070)            Prior to 6/30/06 
Physics: Content Knowledge (0265)                       Effective 7/1/06 

530 
141 

  161 

School Librarian Library Media Specialist (0310) 560 --- --- --- 
Social Studies Social Studies: 

    Content Knowledge (0081)  
    Interpretation of Materials (0083) 

 
149 
152 

 
--- 

 
--- 

161 

Spanish Spanish (0190)                                                       Prior to 5/31/04 
Spanish: Content Knowledge (0191)                      Effective 6/1/04 

540 
160 

--- --- 161 

Speech Speech Communications (0220)                           Effective 7/1/05 575 --- --- 161 
Technology Education    
(formerly Industrial 
Arts) 

Technology Education (0050)                                 Effective 7/1/05 600 --- --- 161 

Computer Science 
Earth Science 
 Environmental 
Science Journalism  
Latin 
Marketing (formerly 
Distributive 
Education) 

At this time, a content area exam is not required for certification in 
Louisiana. 

--- --- --- 161 
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2. All-Level K-12 Certification 
 

ALL-LEVEL K-12 CERTIFICATION AREAS 
   Score PLT K-6 PLT 5-9 PLT 7-12 

Grades K-12 Art  Art: Content Knowledge (0133)                         Effective 7/1/05 155 161 or 154 or 161 
Grades K-12 Dance None Available** --- 161 or 154 or 161 

French  (0170)                                                    Prior to 5/31/04 
French: Content Knowledge (0173)                   Effective 6/1/04 

520 
156 

German (0180) 
German: Content Knowledge (0181)                 Effective 7/1/06 

500 
151 

 
 
Grades K-12 Foreign 
Languages 
 Spanish (0190)                                                    Prior to 5/31/04 

Spanish: Content Knowledge (0191)                 Effective 6/1/04 
540 
160 

 
 

161 

 
 

or 

 
 

154 

 
 

or 

 
 

161 

Grades K-12 Music Music Education (0110)                                     Prior to 5/31/04 
Music: Content Knowledge (0113)                    Effective 6/1/04 

530 
151 

161 or 154 or 161 

Grades K-12 Health 
and Physical 
Education 

Physical Education (0090)                                  Prior to 5/31/04 
Phys. Education: Content Knowledge (0091)    Effective 6/1/04 

550 
146 

161 or 154 or 161 

**At this time, a content area exam is not required for certification in Louisiana. 
 
D. Special Education Areas 
 

Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
All Special Education Area(s) Prior to 6/1/04:  PLT K-6 (161), PLT 5-9 (154) or PLT 7-12 (161) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                                           Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353)                Effective 6/1/04 
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge  (0353) & Early Childhood Education 
(0020)                                                 Effective 7/1/05 

 
143 

 
143 
510 

Hearing Impaired Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                                           Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) &  
Educ. of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students (0271) 

Effective 6/1/04 

143 
 

160 

Effective 6/1/04  ALL Candidates must pass a content area 
exam appropriate to certification level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12   
(e.g.,  0014, or core subject-specific exams for middle or 
secondary grades)  

Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities 

Prior to 6/1/04, a content area exam was required only for 
entry into a Mild/ Moderate 1-12 Practitioner Teacher 
Program, Non-Master's Certification-Only Alternate 
Program, and Master's Alternate Program.   

*Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) &  
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Mild/Moderate 
Disabilities (0542)                               Effective 6/1/04 
 
 
 
*Note:  (0353) and (0542) are not content area exams. 

143 
141 

Significant 
Disabilities 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                                           Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) &  
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Severe to Profound 
Disabilities (0544)                               Effective 6/1/04 

143 
 
 

147 
Visual 
Impairments/Blind 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014)                                           Effective 7/1/05 

 
150 

Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353)                 Effective 6/1/04 

143 

 
E. Administrative Area 
 

Certification Area Name of Praxis Test Area Test Score 
Principal Educational Leadership: Administration & Supervision (0410)       Prior to 1/1/09 620 
Educational Leader – Level 1 School Leaders Licensure Assessment (1010)                               Effective 7/1/06 168 
Educational Leader – Level 3 School Superintendent Assessment (1020)                                    Effective 7/1/06 154 

All Praxis scores used for certification must be sent directly from ETS to the State Department of Education electronically, or the original Praxis score 
report from ETS must be submitted with candidate’s application. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1836 (October 2006). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0610#007 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―Special Education 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.231) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel. This policy 
specifies the effective dates of the following special 
education certifications: Blended General/Special Education 
Mild-Moderate in Grade Levels 1-5, 4-8, and 6-12, an 
implementation date of July 1, 2007; and Early 
Interventionist Special Education Birth to Five Years, 
Significant Disabilities, Hearing Impaired, and Visually 
Impaired, an implementation date of January 1, 2007. The 
submission and approval of programs leading to certification 
in these redesigned areas have been delayed because of 
issues with the hurricanes of 2005 that hit Louisiana and 
with capacity issues at some of the state's universities. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
Subchapter B. Alternate Teacher Preparation Programs 
§231. Introduction 

A. Current BESE policy allows for alternate certification 
pathways listed in this Section. Previous policy was limited 
to the alternate program pathway entitled "Post-
Baccalaureate Program." In the period in which the state 
transitions from previous policy to current policy, the 
following are deadline dates for candidates enrolled in a 
Louisiana post-baccalaureate alternate program prior to 
implementation of the current Practitioner Teacher, Master's 
Degree, and Non-Master's/Certification-Only alternate 
certification programs. 

B. Candidates in Early Childhood Education, 
Elementary, Secondary, and Mild/Moderate Special 
Education 

1. Spring Semester 2003—last date for students to be 
accepted into Post-Baccalaureate Programs. 

2. August 31, 2006—last date for candidates who 
were already in the Post-Baccalaureate Programs to 
complete those programs. 

C. Candidates in the All-Level (K-12) Areas of Art, 
Dance, Foreign Language, Health and Physical Education, 
and Music 

1. Spring Semester 2005—last date for students to be 
accepted into Post-Baccalaureate Programs. 

2. August 31, 2008—last date for candidates who are 
already in Post- Baccalaureate Programs to complete those 
programs. 

D. Candidates in the Areas of Early Interventionist, 
Hearing Impaired, Significant Disabilities, and Visual 
Impairments/Blind 

1. Spring Semester 2006—last date for candidates to 
be accepted into Post-Baccalaureate Programs. 

2. August 31, 2009—last date for candidates who are 
already in Post-Baccalaureate Programs to complete those 
programs. 

E. The alternate program certification structures shown 
below became effective on July 1, 2002, and supersede 
previous alternate program guidelines. 

F. The implementation date for Early Interventionist 
Birth to Five Years, Significant Disabilities, Hearing 
Impaired, and Visually Impaired is January 1, 2007. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1839 (October 2006). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0610#009 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1922―Compliance Monitoring Procedures  
(LAC 28:XCI.107, 109, and 309) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 1922―Compliance 
Monitoring Procedures (LAC Part Number XCI). The Rule 
reverts back to having the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (SBESE), not the Superintendent of 
Education, withhold federal funds under the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) when continuing 
noncompliance with IDEA is noted in a local school district. 
The state may determine what entity may withhold IDEA 
funds due to continuing noncompliance. The action was not 
required by federal law or regulation. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XCI.  Bulletin 1922―Compliance Monitoring 
Procedures 

Chapter 1. Overview 
§107. Corrective Action and Sanctions 

A. … 
B. The LDE is authorized to take actions necessary to 

ensure compliance. Failure on the part of a participating 
agency to comply may result in the LDE, with the approval 
of its governing authority, the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, withholding funds from the said 
agency. Prior to withholding any funds under this Section, 
the LDE shall provide reasonable notice and an opportunity 
for a hearing to the LEA involved. 

C. - F. … 
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G. When an LEA has not produced sufficient data to 
indicate that compliance has been met through the approved 
Corrective Action Plan, the department will require that an 
Intensive Corrective Action Plan (ICAP) be developed by 
the LEA in collaboration with the department to address the 
continuing non-compliant findings. In conjunction with the 
implementation of the approved plan, the department will 
take one or more of the following sanctions described below. 

1. Advise the LEA of available sources of technical 
assistance that may help the LEA. 

2. Direct the LEA to present the ICAP to the local 
school board for approval. 

3. Direct the LEA to use IDEA Part B flow-through 
funds on the area or areas that the LEA is non-compliant. 
The LEA will submit evidence to the department of the 
specific funds targeted for areas of non-compliance. The 
department will monitor the expenditure of such funds on a 
consistent basis. The department will appoint a special 
consultant or management team to oversee the intensive 
CAP, which will be funded at the local level. The CAP 
appointment of the special consultant or management team 
must be submitted to the local school board. 

4. The LDE, in collaboration with the LEA, will 
determine a special consultant or management team to 
oversee the ICAP, which will be funded at the local level. 
The ICAP appointment of the special consultant or 
management team must be submitted to the local board. 

5. Identify the LEA as a high-risk grantee and impose 
special conditions on the LEA's IDEA Part B grant. The 
department will impose one or more of the following special 
conditions. 

a. For each year of continuing non-compliance, 
withhold not less than 20 percent and not more than 50 
percent of the LEA's IDEA Part B grant until the department 
determines the LEA has sufficiently addressed the areas in 
which the LEA needs intervention. 

b. Seek to recover funds under Section 452 of the 
General Education Provisions Act. 

c. Withhold, in whole or in part, any further 
payments to the LEA under this part pursuant to 
Subparagraph a. 

d. Refer the matter for other appropriate 
enforcement action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:415 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3105 (December 2005), LR 32:1839 (October 
2006). 
§109. Components of the Continuous Improvement 

Monitoring Process 
A. … 
B. The monitoring system will incorporate and utilize 

strategies and components as listed below. 
1. - 10. … 
11. Review the personnel files related to certification, 

experience and training documentation. 
12. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:416 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3106 (December 2005), LR 32:1840 (October 
2006). 
Chapter 3. Operational Procedures for Compliance 

Monitoring 
§309. Activities Conducted Prior to the On-Site Visit 

A. - B. … 
C. A meeting with the selected team members will be 

conducted to: 
1. summarize, analyze, and review the school system's 

data; 
2. - 6. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1944. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the State Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:418 (March 2004), 
amended LR 31:3107 (December 2005), LR 32:1840 (October 
2006). 

 
Weegie Peabody 
Executive Director 

0610#010 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Control of Emissions from the 
Chemical Woodpulping Industry  

(LAC 33:III.2301)(AQ264) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.2301 
(Log #AQ264). 

LAC 33:III.2301 regulates opacity and emissions of 
particulate matter, sulfur oxides, and total reduced sulfur 
(TRS) at certain pulp manufacturing plants. 40 CFR Part 60, 
Subpart BB, Standards of Performance for Kraft Pulp Mills 
(NSPS BB), also regulates particulate, TRS, and opacity 
from these sources. The TRS and opacity standards 
established by NSPS BB are equivalent to or more stringent 
than those set forth in the state regulation. Therefore, in 
order to simplify regulatory applicability, this rule revision 
will provide an exemption from the TRS and opacity 
portions of LAC 33:III.2301 for sources subject to NSPS 
BB. This Rule is also a revision to the Louisiana State 
Implementation Plan for air quality. The basis and rationale 
for this Rule are to simplify regulatory applicability due to 
overlapping state and federal regulations. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 
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Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 23. Control of Emissions for Specific 

Industries1 
1Regulation of emissions of volatile organic compounds for 
certain industries are presented in Chapter 21. 

Subchapter A. Chemical Woodpulping Industry 
§2301. Control of Emissions from the Chemical 

Woodpulping Industry 
A. - D.4.a.ii. … 
E. Exemptions. The total reduced sulfur limitations of 

Paragraph D.3 of this Section and the opacity limitation of 
Paragraph D.4 of this Section do not apply to affected 
facilities subject to 40 CFR 60, Subpart BB―Standards of 
Performance for Kraft Pulp Mills. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 19:1564 (December 1993), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2454 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2442 (October 2005), LR 32:1841 
(October 2006). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

0610#044 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Correction of Term Used for Version of Permit 
(LAC 33:III.531)(AQ268) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.531 
(Log #AQ268). 

LAC 33:III.531.B.3 incorrectly uses the term "draft 
permit" to denote the version of the permit being referred to 
in the regulation. Draft permit is not defined in LAC 
33:III.Chapter 5. Proposed permit is the term defined by 
LAC 33:III.502 and used elsewhere in Chapter 5 to denote 
the version of the permit for which the department offers 
public participation, affected-state review, or EPA review. 
This rule revision will correct the error. This Rule is also a 
revision to the Louisiana State Implementation Plan for air 
quality. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to correct 
the term used to denote a proposed permit the department 
offers for public participation, affected-state review, or EPA 
review. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§531. Public Notice and Affected State Notice 

A. - B.2. … 
3. Notice of any proposed permit pertaining to a major 

stationary source or major modification under LAC 
33:III.504, Nonattainment New Source Review Procedures, 
shall be provided to any affected federal land manager or 
Indian governing body. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:1841 (October 2006). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

 
0610#046 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Emissions Factors (LAC 33:III.501)(AQ240) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.501 
(Log #AQ240). 

This rule clarifies requirements in LAC 33:III.919 
concerning emission inventory and in LAC 33:III.507.H 
concerning annual compliance certification. The intent of 
this rule is to permit the department to determine the actual 
basis of apparent changes in emissions when there is an 
emission limit discrepancy between a facility's permitted 
limit (pursuant to Chapter 5) and the emission estimate 
reported in the facility's emission inventory statement 
(pursuant to Chapter 9). This rule provides a mechanism to 
allow the department an opportunity to assess and validate 
the basis of the noted emission level change. The rule 
clarifies how facility compliance is to be assessed when 
prescribed emission factors are changed. Emission factors 
set forth in the EPA-approved Compilation of Air Pollution 
Emission Factors (AP-42) and other department-approved 
estimation methods may be revised. A periodic review of the 
approved AP-42 factors or department estimation methods 
may cause such emission factors to be changed upward or 
downward due to receipt of improved data. Emissions 
changes due solely to changes in AP-42 factors, for some 
facilities, may result in changes in calculations of emissions 
from levels that were previously in compliance with permit 
limits to levels that exceed those permit limits. Those 
facilities that have been reporting emissions in compliance
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with their permits may now be reporting emissions that 
exceed permit limits, even though their actual emissions 
have not changed. As a result, these facilities face potential 
enforcement actions, including substantial civil penalties. 
Some affected facilities may elect to reduce or cease 
operations due to the economic burden of these enforcement 
actions. This would have economic consequences for the 
firms involved, as well as their employees, suppliers, and 
customers. This regulation allows the department to review 
these emission factor changes on a case-by-case basis. This 
rule will promulgate Emergency Rule AQ240E6, which was 
effective August 20, 2006, and published in the September 
20, 2006, issue of the Louisiana Register. The basis and 
rationale for this rule is to allow the department to review 
emission factor changes on a case-by-case basis prior to any 
actions taken by the department. 

The department has made substantive changes to further 
clarify the hierarchy of selecting the available methods to 
estimate emissions and reflect existing language as specified 
in LAC 33:III.919 regarding emission data, and to establish 
a notification mechanism as a means of ascertaining 
background information to validate reported changes in 
emissions (that are currently reported under LAC 33:III.919) 
to assist in the department's ability to conduct case-by-case 
reviews as provided for in the current proposed rule. No 
additional fiscal or economic impact will result from the 
substantive changes. 

This rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - C.10. ... 
11. Emissions shall be calculated in accordance with 

LAC 33:III.919.C. 
12. Emissions estimation methods set forth in the 

Compilation of Air Pollution Emission Factors (AP-42) and 
other department-accepted estimation methods may be 
promulgated or revised. As a result of new or revised AP-42 
emission factors for sources or source categories and/or 
department-accepted estimation methods, changes in 
calculated emissions may occur. Changes in reported 
emission levels as required by LAC 33:III.919.B.2.a due 
solely to revised AP-42 emission factors or department-
accepted estimation methods do not constitute violations of 
the air permit; however, the department may evaluate 
changes in emissions on a case-by-case basis, including but 
not limited to, assessing compliance with other applicable 
Louisiana air quality regulations. 

13. If the emission factors or estimation methods for 
any source or source category used in preparing the Annual 
Emission Statement required by LAC 33:III.918 and 919 
differ from the emission factors or estimation methods used 
in the current air permit such that resulting “calculated” 
emissions reflect a change as defined in LAC 
33:III.919.B.2.a, notification of the use of updated emission 

factors or estimation methods shall be included in the Title V 
Annual Certification, as specified in the affected permit. The 
notification shall include the old and new emission factor or 
estimation method reference source and the date, volume, 
and edition (if applicable); the raw data for the reporting 
year used for that source category calculation; and 
applicable emission point and permit numbers that are 
impacted by such change. The notification shall include any 
other explanation, as well as the facility's intended time 
frame to reconcile the emission limits in the applicable 
permit. The department reserves the right to reopen a permit 
pursuant to LAC 33:III.529. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 
19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1281 (November 1994), LR 
20:1375 (December 1994), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1063 (May 2005), amended by the Office of 
the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), 
LR 32:1842 (October 2006). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

0610#043 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Environmental Quality Regulations―Cleanup Package  
(LAC 33:I.705 and 909; III.509; V.2299 and 3325;  

IX.107 and 7107; XI.301; and XV.102 and 399)(OS070) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Environmental Quality 
regulations, LAC 33:I.705 and 909; III.509; V.2299 and 
3325; IX.107 and 7107; XI.301; and XV.102 and 399 (Log 
#OS070). 

Minor changes are being incorporated into LAC 33:Parts 
I, III, V, IX, XI, and XV. These amendments involve 
clarification in language and correction of several minor 
mistakes and omissions. This Rule will address 
typographical errors, incorrect references, minor mistakes, 
and inadvertent omissions that have been found in the 
regulations. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to 
incorporate necessary corrections into the regulations. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 
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Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 7. Penalties 
§705. Penalty Determination Method 

A. - D. ... 
E. The information obtained from the violation-specific 

and violator-specific factors can be entered into one of the 
following formulas to obtain a penalty amount (Pn) for each 
penalty event: 

Pn = An + (Bn x [Cn - An ]) 
Pn = 2(An +[Bn x (Cn - An )]) * 
where: 
Pn = penalty amount for a given penalty event. 
An = the minimum value of the penalty range for the cell located 

on the penalty matrix for a given penalty event. 
Bn = the sum of percentage adjustments calculated for a given 

penalty event, where 100 percent ≥ B ≥ -100 percent. 
Cn = the maximum value of the penalty range for the cell located 

on the penalty matrix for a given penalty event. 
* [NOTE: For violation of a previous enforcement action the 
penalty is multiplied by 2. The statutory maximum is $50,000 
in circumstances where the penalty event constitutes a 
violation of a previous enforcement action as stated in R.S. 
30:2025(E)(2).] 

F. - J. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2050.3. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:658 (April 
1999), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:2400 (December 1999), 
LR 30:421 (March 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 30:2802 (December 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:1843 (October 
2006). 
Chapter 9. Petition for Rulemaking 
§909. Processing a Rulemaking Petition 

A. ... 
B. Within 90 days of receipt of the petition for 

rulemaking, the administrative authority shall deny the 
petition in writing, stating reasons for the denial, or shall 
initiate rulemaking by providing the petitioner with the 
necessary, completed form as provided in the department's 
Policy Number 0003-88, "Rule Development Procedure." 

1. - 2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:298 (March 
1997), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2440 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:1843 (October 2006). 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§509. Prevention of Significant Deterioration 

A. - A.4.e. ... 
f. Hybrid Test for Projects That Involve Multiple 

Types of Emissions Units. A significant emissions increase 
of a regulated NSR pollutant is projected to occur if the sum 
of the emissions increases for each emissions unit, using the 
method specified in Subparagraphs A.4.c-d of this Section as 
applicable with respect to each emissions unit, for each type 
of emissions unit equals or exceeds the significant amount 
for that pollutant, as defined in Subsection B of this Section. 

A.5. - AA.15.b. ... 
Figure 1, AQCR, Map of Louisiana. Repealed. 

[Editor's Note: Map is located after Section 509, Historical 
Note.] 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:348 (June 1988), LR 16:613 (July 1990), amended by the Office 
of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 
17:478 (May 1991), LR 21:170 (February 1995), LR 22:339 (May 
1996), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), LR 24:654 (April 1998), LR 
24:1284 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 25:259 (February 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2447 (November 2000), 
LR 27:2234 (December 2001), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2437 (October 2005), LR 
31:3135, 3156 (December 2005), LR 32:1600 (September 2006), 
LR 32:1843 (October 2006). 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

Quality―Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 22. Prohibitions on Land Disposal 
Subchapter B. Hazardous Waste Injection Restrictions 
§2299. Appendix―Tables 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 
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Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes 

    Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters Non-Wastewaters 
Waste Code Waste Description and 

Treatment/Regulatory Subcategory1 

Common Name 
CAS2 

Number 

Concentration 
in mg/L3; or 
Technology 

Code4 

Concentration in 
mg/kg5 unless noted 

as "mg/L TCLP" 
or Technology 

Code4 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in D0019 – F028] 
F032 Wastewaters (except those that have not  Acenaphthene 83-32-9 0.059 3.4 

  come into contact with process Anthracene 120-12-7 0.059 3.4 
  contaminants), process residuals, Benz(a)anthracene 56-55-3 0.059 3.4 
  preservative drippage, and spent 

formulations from wood preserving 
processes generated at plants that 

Benzo(b)fluoranthene (difficult 
to distinguish from 
benzo(k)fluoranthene) 

205-99-2 0.11 6.8 

  currently use or have previously used 
chlorophenolic formulations (except 
potentially cross-contaminated wastes 

Benzo(k)fluoranthene (difficult 
to distinguish from 
benzo(b)fluoranthene) 

207-08-9 0.11 6.8 

  that have had the F032 waste code Benzo(a)pyrene 50-32-8 0.061 3.4 
  deleted in accordance with LAC Chrysene 218-01-9 0.059 3.4 
  33:V.4901.B.3 or potentially cross- Dibenz(a,h)anthracene 53-70-3 0.055 8.2 
  contaminated wastes that are otherwise 2-4 Dimethylphenol 105-67-9 0.036 14 
  currently regulated as hazardous wastes Fluorene 86-73-7 0.059 3.4 
  (i.e., F034 or F035), and where the 

generator does not resume or initiate use 
Hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins NA 0.000063, or 

CMBST11 
0.001, or CMBST11 

  of chlorophenolic formulations). This 
listing does not include K001 bottom 

Hexachlorodibenzofurans NA 0.000063, or 
CMBST11 

0.001, or CMBST11 

  sediment sludge from the treatment of Indeno (1,2,3-c,d) pyrene 193-39-5 0.0055 3.4 
  wastewater from wood preserving Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6 
  processes that use creosote and/or 

pentachlorophenol. 
Pentachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins NA 0.000063, or 

CMBST11 
0.001, or CMBST11 

    Pentachlorodibenzofurans NA 0.000035, or 
CMBST11 

0.001, or CMBST11 

    Pentachlorophenol 87-86-5 0.089 7.4 
    Phenanthrene 85-01-8 0.059 5.6 
    Phenol 108-95-2 0.039 6.2 
    Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2 
    Tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins NA 0.000063, or 

CMBST11 
0.001, or CMBST11 

    Tetrachlorodibenzofurans NA 0.000063, or 
CMBST11 

0.001, or CMBST11 

    2,3,4,6- Tetrachlorophenol 58-90-2 0.030 7.4 
    2,4,6- Trichlorophenol 88-06-2 0.035 7.4 
    Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 5.0 mg/L TCLP 
    Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 

F034 Wastewaters (except those that have not  Acenaphthene 83-32-9 0.059 3.4 
  come into contact with process Anthracene 120-12-7 0.059 3.4 
  contaminants), process residuals, Benz(a)anthracene 56-55-3 0.059 3.4 
  preservative drippage, and spent 

formulations from wood preserving  
Benzo(b)fluoranthene (difficult 
to distinguish from 
benzo(k)fluoranthene) 

205-99-2 0.11 6.8 

  processes generated at plants that use 
creosote formulations. This listing does  

Benzo(k)fluoranthene (difficult 
to distinguish from 
benzo(b)fluoranthene) 

207-08-9 0.11 6.8 

  not include K001 bottom sediment Benzo(a)pyrene 50-32-8 0.061 3.4 
  sludge from the treatment of wastewater Chrysene 218-01-9 0.059 3.4 
  from wood preserving processes that use Dibenz(a,h)anthracene 53-70-3 0.055 8.2 
  creosote and/or pentachlorophenol. Fluorene 86-73-7 0.059 3.4 
    Indeno (1,2,3-c,d) pyrene 193-39-5 0.0055 3.4 
    Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6 
    Phenanthrene 85-01-8 0.059 5.6 
    Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2 
    Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 5.0 mg/L TCLP 
    Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 
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Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes 

    Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters Non-Wastewaters 
Waste Code Waste Description and 

Treatment/Regulatory Subcategory1 

Common Name 
CAS2 

Number 

Concentration 
in mg/L3; or 
Technology 

Code4 

Concentration in 
mg/kg5 unless noted 

as "mg/L TCLP" 
or Technology 

Code4 
F035 Wastewaters (except those that have not 

come into contact with process 
contaminants), process residuals, 
preservative drippage, and spent 
formulations from wood preserving 
processes generated at plants that use  

Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 5.0 mg/L TCLP 

  inorganic preservatives containing arsenic 
or chromium. This listing does not 
include K001 bottom sediment sludge 
from the treatment of wastewater from 
wood preserving processes that use 
creosote and/or pentachlorophenol. 

Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 

F037 Petroleum refinery primary  Acenaphthene 83-32-9 0.059 NA 
  oil/water/solids separation sludge. Any Anthracene 120-12-7 0.059 3.4 
  sludge generated from the gravitational Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 10 
  separation of oil/water/solids during the Benz(a)anthracene 56-55-3 0.059 3.4 
  storage or treatment of process Benzo(a)pyrene 50-32-8 0.061 3.4 
  wastewaters and oily cooling bis(2-Ethylhexyl) phthalate 117-81-7 0.28 28 
  wastewaters from petroleum refineries. Chrysene 218-01-9 0.059 3.4 
  Such sludges include, but are not limited  Di-n-butyl phthalate 84-74-2 0.057 28 
  to, those generated in: oil/water/solids Ethylbenzene 100-41-4 0.057 10 
  separators; tanks and impoundments; Fluorene 86-73-7 0.059 NA 
  ditches and other conveyances; sumps; Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6 
  and stormwater units receiving dry Phenanthrene 85-01-8 0.059 5.6 
  weather flow. Sludge generated in Phenol 108-95-2 0.039 6.2 
  stormwater units that do not receive dry Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2 
  weather flow, sludges generated from Toluene 108-88-3 0.080 10 
  noncontact once-through cooling waters 

segregated for treatment from other 
process or oily cooling waters, sludges 

Xylenes-mixed isomers (sum of 
o-, m-, and p-xylene 
concentrations) 

1330-20-7 0.32 30 

  generated in aggressive biological Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 
  treatment units as defined in Cyanides (Total)7 57-12-5 1.2 590 
  LAC 33:V.4901.B.2.b. (including Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 NA 
  sludges generated in one or more 

additional units after wastewaters have 
been treated in aggressive biological 
treatment units) and K051 wastes are not 
included in this listing. This listing does 
include residuals generated from 
processing or recycling oil-bearing 
hazardous secondary materials excluded 
under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.1, if those 
residuals are to be disposed. 

Nickel 7440-02-0 NA 11mg/L TCLP 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in F038] 

F039 Leachate (liquids that have percolated 
through land disposed wastes) resulting 
from the disposal of more than one 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Acenaphthylene – Endosulfan II] 

  restricted waste classified as hazardous 
under LAC 33:V.Subchapter A. (Leachate 
resulting from the disposal of one or more 

Endosulfan sulfate 1031-07-8 0.029 0.13 

  of the following EPA Hazardous Wastes 
and no other Hazardous Wastes retains its 
EPA Hazardous Waste Number(s): F020, 
F021, F022, F026, F027, and/or F028.) 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Endrin – Vanadium] 

K001 Bottom sediment sludge from the  Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6 
  treatment of wastewaters from wood Pentachlorophenol 87-86-5 0.089 7.4 
  preserving processes that use creosote Phenanthrene 85-01-8 0.059 5.6 
  and/or pentachlorophenol. Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2 
    Toluene 108-88-3 0.080 10 
    Xylenes-mixed isomers 

(sum of o-, m-, and p-xylene 
concentrations) 

1330-20-7 0.32 30 

    Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.75 mg/L TCLP 
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Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes 

    Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters Non-Wastewaters 
Waste Code Waste Description and 

Treatment/Regulatory Subcategory1 

Common Name 
CAS2 

Number 

Concentration 
in mg/L3; or 
Technology 

Code4 

Concentration in 
mg/kg5 unless noted 

as "mg/L TCLP" 
or Technology 

Code4 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in K002 – K010] 
K011 Bottom stream from the wastewater  Acetonitrile 75-05-8 5.6 38 

  stripper in the production of Acrylonitrile 107-13-1 0.24 84 
  acrylonitrile. Acrylamide 79-06-1 19 23 
    Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 10 
    Cyanide (Total) 57-12-5 1.2 590 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in K013 – K060] 

K061 Emission control dust/sludge from the  Antimony 7440-36-0 NA 1.15 mg/L TCLP 
  primary production of steel in electric Arsenic 7440-38-2 NA 5.0 mg/L TCLP 
  furnaces. Barium 7440-39-3 NA 21 mg/L TCLP 
    Beryllium 7440-41-7 NA 1.22 mg/L TCLP 
    Cadmium 7440-43-9 0.69 0.11 mg/L TCLP 
    Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 
    Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.75 mg/L TCLP 
    Mercury 7439-97-6 NA 0.025 mg/L TCLP 
    Nickel 7440-02-0 3.98 11 mg/L TCLP 
    Selenium 7782-49-2 NA 5.7 mg/L TCLP 
    Silver 7440-22-4 NA 0.14 mg/L TCLP 
    Thallium 7440-28-0 NA 0.20 mg/L TCLP 
    Zinc 7440-66-6 NA 4.3 mg/L TCLP 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in K062 – K085] 

K086 Solvent wastes and sludges, caustic  Acetone 67-64-1 0.28 160 
  washes and sludges, or water washes Acetophenone 96-86-2 0.010 9.7 
  and sludges from cleaning tubs and bis(2-Ethylhexyl) phthalate 117-81-7 0.28 28 
  equipment used in the formulation of n-Butyl alcohol 71-36-3 5.6 2.6 
  ink from pigments, driers, soaps, and Butylbenzyl phthalate 85-68-7 0.017 28 
  stabilizers containing chromium and Cyclohexanone 108-94-1 0.36 NA 
  lead. o-Dichlorobenzene 95-50-1 0.088 6.0 
    Diethyl phthalate 84-66-2 0.20 28 
    Dimethyl phthalate 131-11-3 0.047 28 
    Di-n-butyl phthalate 84-74-2 0.057 28 
    Di-n-octyl phthalate 117-84-0 0.017 28 
    Ethyl acetate 141-78-6 0.34 33 
    Ethylbenzene 100-41-4 0.057 10 
    Methanol 67-56-1 5.6 NA 
    Methyl ethyl ketone 78-93-3 0.28 36 
    Methyl isobutyl ketone 108-10-1 0.14 33 
    Methylene chloride 75-09-2 0.089 30 
    Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6 
    Nitrobenzene 98-95-3 0.068 14 
    Toluene 108-88-3 0.080 10 
    1,1,1-Trichloroethane 71-55-6 0.054 6.0 
    Trichloroethylene 79-01-6 0.054 6.0 
    Xylenes-mixed isomers 

(sum of o-, m-, and p-xylene 
concentrations) 

1330-20-7 0.32 30 

    Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 
    Cyanides (Total)7 57-12-5 1.2 590 
    Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.75 mg/L TCLP 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in K087] 

K088 Spent potliners from primary aluminum  Acenaphthene 83-32-9 0.059 3.4 
  reduction. Anthracene 120-12-7 0.059 3.4 
    Benzo(a)anthracene 56-55-3 0.059 3.4 
    Benzo(a)pyrene 50-32-8 0.061 3.4 
    Benzo(b)fluoranthene 205-99-2 0.11 6.8 
    Benzo(k)fluoranthene 207-08-9 0.11 6.8 
    Benzo(g,h,i)perylene 191-24-2 0.0055 1.8 
    Chrysene 218-01-9 0.059 3.4 
    Dibenz(a,h)anthracene 53-70-3 0.055 8.2 
    Fluoranthene 206-44-0 0.068 3.4 
    Indeno (1,2,3-c,d)pyrene 193-39-5 0.0055 3.4 
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Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes 

    Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters Non-Wastewaters 
Waste Code Waste Description and 

Treatment/Regulatory Subcategory1 

Common Name 
CAS2 

Number 

Concentration 
in mg/L3; or 
Technology 

Code4 

Concentration in 
mg/kg5 unless noted 

as "mg/L TCLP" 
or Technology 

Code4 
    Phenanthrene 85-01-8 0.059 5.6 
    Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2 
    Antimony 7440-36-0 1.9 1.15 mg/L TCLP 
    Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 26.1 
    Barium 7440-39-3 1.2 21 mg/L TCLP 
    Beryllium 7440-41-7 0.82 1.22 mg/L TCLP 
    Cadmium 7440-43-9 0.69 0.11 mg/L TCLP 
    Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.60 mg/L TCLP 
    Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.75 mg/L TCLP 
    Mercury 7439-97-6 0.15 0.025 mg/L TCLP 
    Nickel 7440-02-0 3.98 11 mg/L TCLP 
    Selenium 7782-49-2 0.82 5.7 mg/L TCLP 
    Silver 7440-22-4 0.43 0.14 mg/L TCLP 
    Cyanide (Total)7 57-12-5 1.2 590 
    Cyanide (Amenable)7 57-12-5 0.86 30 
    Fluoride 16984-48-8 35 N/A 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in K093 – K161] 

K169 Crude oil tank sediment from petroleum  Benz(a)anthracene 56-55-3 0.059 3.4 
  refining operations. Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 10 
    Benzo(g,h,i)perylene 191-24-2 0.0055 1.8 
    Chrysene 218-01-9 0.059 3.4 
    Ethyl Benzene 100-41-4 0.057 10 
    Fluorene 86-73-7 0.059 3.4 
    Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6 
    Phenanthrene 81-05-8 0.059 5.6 
    Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2 
    Toluene (Methyl Benzene) 108-88-3 0.080 10 
    Xylene(s) (Total) 1330-20-7 0.32 30 

* * * 
[See Prior Text in K170 – K174] 

K175 Wastewater treatment sludge from the  Arsenic 7440-36-0 1.4 5.0 mg/L TCLP 
  production of vinyl chloride monomer Mercury12 7438-97-6 NA 0.025 mg/L TCLP 
  using mercuric chloride catalyst in an 

acetylene-based process. 
pH12   NA pH≤6.0 

  All K175 wastewaters. Mercury 7438-97-6 0.15 NA 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in K176 – P064] 
P065 Mercury fulminate nonwastewaters, 

regardless of their total mercury content, 
that are not incinerator residues or are not 
residues from RMERC. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA IMERC 

  Mercury fulminate nonwastewaters that 
are either incinerator residues or are 
residues from RMERC; and contain 
greater than or equal to 260 mg/kg total 
mercury. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA RMERC 

  Mercury fulminate nonwastewaters that 
are residues from RMERC and contain 
less than 260 mg/kg total mercury. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA 0.20 mg/L TCLP 

  Mercury fulminate nonwastewaters that 
are incinerator residues and contain less 
than 260 mg/kg total mercury. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA 0.025 mg/L TCLP 

  All mercury fulminate wastewaters. Mercury 7439-97-6 0.15 NA 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in P066 – P089] 
P092 Phenyl mercuric acetate nonwastewaters, 

regardless of their total mercury content, 
that are not incinerator residues or are not 
residues from RMERC. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA IMERC; or RMERC 

  Phenyl mercuric acetate nonwastewaters 
that are either incinerator residues or are 
residues from RMERC; and still contain 
greater than or equal to 260 mg/kg total 
mercury. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA RMERC 
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Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes 

    Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters Non-Wastewaters 
Waste Code Waste Description and 

Treatment/Regulatory Subcategory1 

Common Name 
CAS2 

Number 

Concentration 
in mg/L3; or 
Technology 

Code4 

Concentration in 
mg/kg5 unless noted 

as "mg/L TCLP" 
or Technology 

Code4 
  Phenyl mercuric acetate nonwastewaters 

that are residues from RMERC and 
contain less than 260 mg/kg total 
mercury. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA 0.20 mg/L TCLP 

  Phenyl mercuric acetate nonwastewaters 
that are incinerator residues and contain 
less than 260 mg/kg total mercury. 

Mercury 7439-97-6 NA 0.025 mg/L TCLP 

  All phenyl mercuric acetate wastewaters. Mercury 7439-97-6 0.15 NA 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in P093 – U411] 

 
Footnote 1. - Footnote 12. ... 

[Note: NA means Not Applicable.] 
Table 3. - Table 12. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), 
amended LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 
22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:834 (September 1996), LR 23:566

(May 1997), LR 24:301 (February 1998), LR 24:670 (April 1998), 
LR 24:1732 (September 1998), LR 25:451 (March 1999), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 26:282 (February 2000), LR 27:295 (March 
2001), LR 29:322 (March 2003), LR 30:1682 (August 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:828 (May 2006), LR 32:1843 (October 2006). 
Chapter 33. Ground Water Protection 
§3325. Ground Water Monitoring List 

Table 4 lists ground water monitoring constituents. 
 

Table 4. Ground Water Monitoring List1 

Common Name2 CAS RN3 Chemical Abstracts 
Service Index Name4 

Acenaphthene 83-32-9 Acenaphthylene, 1,2-dihydro- 
Acenaphthylene 208-96-8 Acenaphthylene 
Acetone 67-64-1 2-Propanone 
Acetophenone 98-86-2 Ethanone, 1-phenyl- 
Acetonitrile; Methyl cyanide 75-05-8 Acetonitrile 
2-Acetylamino-fluorene; 2-AAF 53-96-3 Acetamide, N-9H-fluoren-2-yl- 
Acrolein 107-02-8 2-Propenal 
Acrylonitrile 107-13-1 2-Propenenitrile 
Aldrin 309-00-2 1,4:5,8-Dimethano-naph-thalene, 1,2,3,4,10,10- hexachloro-1,4,4a,5,8, 

8a,-hexa-hydro (1α,4α, 4aβ,5β,8α,8aβ) 
Allyl chloride 107-05-1 1-Propene, 3-chloro- 
4-Amino-biphenyl 92-67-1 [1,1'-Biphenyl]-4-amine 
Aniline 62-53-3 Benzenamine 
Anathracene 120-12-7 Anthracene 
Antimony (Total) Antimony 
Aramite 140-57-8 Sulfurous acid,2-chloro-ethyl 2-[4-(1,1-di-methylethyl) phenoxy]-1-

methyl-ethyl ester 
Arsenic (Total) Arsenic 
Barium (Total) Barium 
Benzene 71-43-2 Benzene 
Benzo[a]anthracene; Benzanthracene 56-55-3 Benz[a]anthracene 
Benzo[b]-fluor-anthene 205-99-2 Benz[e]acephen-anthry-lene 
Benzo[k]-fluor-anthene 207-08-9 Benzo[k]fluoranthene 
Benzo[ghi]perylene 191-24-2 Benzo[ghi]perylene 
Benzo[a]pyrene 50-32-8 Benzo[a]pyrene 
Benzyl alcohol 100-51-6 Benzenemethanol  
Beryllium (Total) Beryllium 
alpha-BHC 319-84-6 Cyclohexane,1,2,3,4,5, 6-hexachloro-, (1α,2α,3β,4α,5β,6β) 
beta-BHC 319-85-7 Cyclohexane, 1,2,3,4,5, 6-hexachloro-, (1α,2β,3α,4β,5α,6β)- 
delta-BHC 319-86-8 Cyclohexane, 1,2,3,4,5, 6-hexachloro-, (1α,2α,3α, 4β,5α,6β)- 
gamma-BHC; Lindane 58-89-9 Cyclohexane, 1,2,3,4,5, 6-hexachloro-, (1α,2α,3β,4α,5α,6β) 
Bis(2-chloroethoxy) methane- 111-91-1 Ethane,1,1'-[methyl- enebis(oxy)]bis[2- chloro- 
Bis(2-chloroethyl) ether 111-44-4 Ethane, 1,1'-oxybis[2- chloro- 
Bis(2-chloro-1-methylethyl)ether; 2,2'-Dichlorodi- isopropyl 
ether 

108-60-1 Propane, 2,2'-oxybis [1-chloro- 

Bis(2-ethyl-hexyl) phthalate 117-81-7 1,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid,bis(2-ethylhexyl) ester 
Bromodichloro- methane 75-27-4 Methane, bromodichloro- 
Bromoform;Tri-bromomethane 75-25-2 Methane, tribromo- 
4-Bromophenyl-phenyl ether 101-55-3 Benzene,1-bromo-4- phenoxy- 
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Table 4. Ground Water Monitoring List1 

Common Name2 CAS RN3 Chemical Abstracts 
Service Index Name4 

Butyl benzyl phthalate;Benzyl butyl phthalate 85-68-7 1,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid, butyl phenyl- methyl ester 
Cadmium (Total) Cadmium 
Carbon disulfide 75-15-0 Carbon disulfide 
Carbon tetrachloride 56-23-5 Methane, tetrachloro- 
Chlordane 57-74-9 4,7-Methano-1H-indene, 1,2,4,5,6,7,8,8-octa-chloro-2,3,3a,4,7,7a- 

hexahydro- 
p-Chloroaniline 106-47-8 Benzenamine, 4 chloro- 
Chlorobenzene 108-90-7 Benzene, chloro- 
Chloro- benzilate 510-15-6 Benzeneacetic acid, 4-chloro-α -(4-chloro- phenyl)-α -hydroxy-, ethyl 

ester 
p-Chloro- m-cresol 59-50-7 Phenol, 4-chloro-3- methyl- 
Chloroethane; Ethyl chloride 75-00-3 Ethane, chloro- 
Chloroform 67-66-3 Methane, trichloro- 
2-Chloro- naphthalene 91-58-7 Naphthalene, 2-chloro- 
2-Chlorophenol 95-57-8 Phenol, 2-chloro- 
4-Chlorophenyl phenyl ether 7005-72-3 Benzene, 1-chloro-4- phenoxy- 
Chloroprene 126-99-8 1,3-Butadiene, 2-chloro- 
Chromium (Total) Chromium 
Chrysene 218-01-9 Chrysene 
Cobalt (Total) Cobalt 
Copper (Total) Copper 
m-Cresol 108-39-4 Phenol, 3-methyl- 
o-Cresol 95-48-7 Phenol, 2-methyl- 
p-Cresol 106-44-5 Phenol, 4-methyl- 
Cyanide 57-12-5 Cyanide 
2,4-D; 2,4-Di-chlorophenoxy-acetic acid 94-75-7 Acetic acid, (2,4- dichlorophenoxy)- 
4,4'-DDD 72-54-8 Benzene, 1,1'-(2,2- dichloroethylidene) bis[4-chloro- 
4,4'-DDE 72-55-9 Benzene, 1,1'-(dichloro- ethenylidene) bis[4- chloro- 
4,4'-DDT 50-29-3 Benzene, 1,1'-(2,2,2- trichloroethylidene) bis[4-chloro- 
Diallate 2303-16-4 Carbamothioic acid, bis(1-methylethyl)-, S-(2,3-dichloro-2- 

propenyl)ester 
Dibenz[a,h] anthracene 53-70-3 Dibenz[a,h]anthracene 
Dibenzofuran 132-64-9 Dibenzofuran 
Dibromochloro- methane; Chlorodi- bromomethane 124-48-1 Methane, dibromo- chloro- 
1,2-Dibromo-3-chloropropane; DBCP 96-12-8 Propane, 1,2-dibromo- 3-chloro- 
1,2-Dibromoethane; Ethylene dibromide 106-93-4 Ethane, 1,2-dibromo- 
Di-n-butyl phthalate 84-74-2 1,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid, dibutyl ester 
o-Dichlorobenzene 95-50-1 Benzene, 1,2-dichloro- 
m-Dichlorobenzene 541-73-1 Benzene, 1,3-dichloro- 
p-Dichlorobenzene 106-46-7 Benzene, 1,4-dichloro- 
3,3'-Dichloro- benzidine 91-94-1 [1,1'-Biphenyl]4,4'- diamine, 3,3'-dichloro- 
trans-1,4- Dichloro-2-butene 110-57-6 2-Butene,1,4- dichloro-, (E)- 
Dichlorodifluoro- methane 75-71-8 Methane, dichloro- difluoro- 
1,1-Dichloro-ethane 75-34-3 Ethane,1,1-dichloro- 
1,2-Dichloro-ethane; Ethylene dichloride 107-06-2 Ethane, 1,2-dichloro- 
1,1-Dichloro- ethylene; Vinylidene chloride 75-35-4 Ethene, 1,1-dichloro- 
trans-1,2- Dichloroethylene 156-60-5 Ethene,1,2-dichloro-(E)- 
2,4-Dichlorophenol 120-83-2 Phenol, 2,4-dichloro- 
2,6-Dichlorophenol 87-65-0 Phenol, 2,6-dichloro- 
1,2-Dichloro-propane 78-87-5 Propane, 1,2- dichloro- 
cis-1,3- Dichloro- propene 10061-01-5 1-Propene, 1,3- dichloro-,(Z)- 
trans-1,3- Dichloropropene 10061-02-6 1-Propene, 1,3- dichloro-, (E)- 
Dieldrin 60-57-1 2,7:3,6-Dimethanonaphth [2,3-b]oxirene,3,4,5, 6,9,9- hexachloro- 

1a,2,2a,3,6,6a,7,7a-octahydro-, (1aα,2β,2aα,3β,6β,6aα,7β,7aα)- 
Diethyl phthalate 84-66-2 1,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid, diethyl ester 
O,O-Diethyl O-2-pyrazinyl phosphorothioate; Thionazin 297-97-2 Phosphorothioic acid, O,O-diethyl O-pyrazinyl ester 
Dimethoate 60-51-5 Phosphorodithioic acid, O,O-dimethyls-[2-(methylamino)-2-oxoethyl] 

ester 
p-(Dimethyl-amino)azobenzene 60-11-7 Benzenamine, N,N-di-methyl-4- (phenylazo)- 
7,12-Dimethyl- benz[a] anthracene 57-97-6 Benz[a]anthracene, 7,12-dimethyl- 
3,3'-Dimethyl- benzidine 119-93-7 [1,1'-Biphenyl]-4,4'- diamine, 3,3'-dimethyl- 
alpha, alpha- Dimethyl- phenethylamine 122-09-8 Benzeneethanamine, α,α-dimethyl- 
2,4-Dimethyl- phenol 105-67-9 Phenol, 2,4-dimethyl- 
Dimethyl phthalate 131-11-3 1,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid, dimethyl ester 
m-Dinitrobenzene 99-65-0 Benzene, 1,3-dinitro- 
4,6-Dinitro-o- cresol 534-52-1 Phenol, 2-methyl-4,6- dinitro- 
2,4-Dinitrophenol 51-28-5 Phenol, 2,4-dinitro- 
2,4-Dinitro- toluene 121-14-2 Benzene, 1-methyl-2, 4-dinitro- 
2,6-Dinitro- toluene 606-20-2 Benzene, 2-methyl- 1,3-dinitro- 
Dinoseb; DNBP; 2-sec-Butyl- 4,6-dinitrophenol 88-85-7 Phenol, 2-(1-methyl- propyl)-4,6-dinitro- 
Di-n-octyl phthalate 117-84-0 1,2-Benzenedicarboxylic acid, dioctyl ester 
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1,4-Dioxane 123-91-1 1,4-Dioxane 
Diphenylamine 122-39-4 Benzenamine, N-phenyl- 
Disulfoton 298-04-4 Phosphorodithioic acid, O,O-diethyl S-[2- (ethylthio)ethyl]ester 
Endosulfan I 959-98-8 6,9-Methano-2,4,3- benzodioxathiepin 6,7,8, 9,10,10-hexachloro-1,5, 

5a,6,9,9a-hexahydro-, 3-oxide, (3α,5aβ,6α,9α,9aβ)- 
Endosulfan II 3213-65-9 6,9-Methano-2,4,3- benzodioxathiepin, 6,7,8,9,10,10-hexa-chloro- 

1,5,5a,6,9, 9a-hexahydro-, 3-oxide, (3α,5aα,6β,9α,9aα)- 
Endosulfan sulfate 1031-07-8 6,9-Methano-2,4,3- benzodioxathiepin, 6,7,8,9,10,10-hexa-chloro-

1,5,5a,6,9,9a- hexahydro-, 3,3-dioxide 
Endrin 72-20-8 2,7:3,6-Dimethanonaphth[2,3-b]oxirene,3,4,5,6,9,9-hexachloro-

1a,2,2a,3,6,6a,7,7a-octahydro-, (1aα,2β,2aβ, 3α,6α,6aβ, 7β,7aα)-  
Endrin aldehyde 7421-93-4 1,2,4-Methenocyclopenta[cd] pentalene- 5-carboxaldehyde, 2,2a,3,3,4,7-

hexachloro-decahydro-,(1α,2β,2aβ, 4β,4aβ,5β,6aβ,6bβ,7R*)- 
Ethylbenzene 100-41-4 Benzene, ethyl- 
Ethyl methacrylate 97-63-2 2-Propenoic acid, 2-methyl-, ethyl ester 
Ethyl methane- sulfonate 62-50-0 Methanesulfonic acid, ethyl ester 
Famphur 52-85-7 Phosphorothioic acid, O-[4-[(dimethylamino) sulfonyl]phenyl]-O,O-di-

methyl ester 
Fluoranthene 206-44-0 Fluoranthene 
Fluorene 86-73-7 9H-Fluorene 
Heptachlor 76-44-8 4,7-Methano-1H-indene, 1,4,5,6,7,8,8-hepta-chloro-3a,4,7,7a-

tetrahydro- 
Heptachlor epoxide 1024-57-3 2,5-Methano-2H-indeno [1,2-b]oxirene,2,3,4,5, 6,7,7-heptachloro-

1a,1b,5,5a, 6,6ahexa-hydro-,(1aα,1bβ,2α, 5α,5aβ,6β,6aα) 
Hexachlorobenzene 118-74-1 Benzene, hexachloro- 
Hexachlorobutadiene 87-68-3 1,3-Butadiene, 1,1,2,3,4,4- hexachloro- 
Hexachloro- cyclopentadiene 77-47-4 1,3-Cyclopentadiene, 1,2,3,4,5,5-hexachloro- 
Hexachloroethane 67-72-1 Ethane, hexachloro- 
Hexachlorophene 70-30-4 Phenol,2,2'-methyl-enebis [3,4,6- tri-chloro- 
Hexachloropropene 1888-71-7 1-Propene,1,1,2,3,3,3-hexachloro 
2-Hexanone 591-78-6 2-Hexanone 
Indeno(1,2,3- cd) pyrene 193-39-5 Indeno[1,2,3-cd] pyrene 
Isobutyl alcohol 78-83-1 1-Propanol, 2-methyl- 
Isodrin 465-73-6 1,4,5,8-Dimethano- naphthalene,1,2,3,4,10,10-hexachloro-1,4,4a,5,8,8a-

hexahydro- (1α,4α,4aβ, 5β,8β,8aβ) - 
Isophorone 78-59-1 2-Cyclohexen-1-one,3,5,5-trimethyl- 
Isosafrole 120-58-1 1,3-Benzodioxole,5-(1- propenyl)- 
Kepone 143-50-0 1,3,4-Metheno-2H-cylo-buta-[cd]pentalen-2- 

one,1,1a,3,3a,4,5,5,5a,5b,6-decachloroocta-hydro- 
Lead (Total) Lead 
Mercury (Total) Mercury 
Methacrylonitrile 126-98-7 2-Propenenitrile, 2-methyl- 
Methapyrilene 91-80-5 1,2,Ethanediamine, N,N- dimethyl-N'-2-pyridinyl-N'-(2-thienylmethyl)- 
Methoxychlor 72-43-5 Benzene,1,1'-(2,2,2, trichloroethylidene) bis[4-methoxy- 
Methyl bromide; Bromomethane 74-83-9 Methane, bromo- 
Methyl chloride; Chloromethane 74-87-3 Methane, chloro- 
3-Methyl-cholanthrene 56-49-5 Benz[j]aceanthrylene, 1,2-dihydro-3-methyl- 
Methylene bromide; Dibromomethane 74-95-3 Methane, dibromo- 
Methylene chloride; Dichloromethane 75-09-2 Methane, dichloro- 
Methyl ethyl ketone; MEK 78-93-3 2-Butanone 
Methyl iodide; Iodomethane 74-88-4 Methane, iodo- 
Methylmethacrylate 80-62-6 2-Propenoic acid, 2- methyl-, methyl ester 
Methyl methanesulfonate 66-27-3 Methanesulfonic acid, methyl ester 
2-Methyl-naphthalene 91-57-6 Naphthalene, 2-methyl- 
Methyl parathion; Parathion methyl 298-00-0 Phosphorothioic acid, O,O-dimethyl O-(4-nitrophenyl)ester 
4-Methyl-2- pentanone; Methylisobutyl ketone 108-10-1 2-Pentanone, 4-methyl 
Naphthalene 91-20-3 Naphthalene 
1,4-Naphthoquinone 130-15-4 1,4-Naphthalene-dione 
1-Naphthylamine 134-32-7 1-Naphthalenamine 
2-Naphthylamine 91-59-8 2-Naphthalenamine 
Nickel (Total) Nickel 
o-Nitroaniline 88-74-4 Benzenamine, 2-nitro- 
m-Nitroaniline 99-09-2 Benzenamine, 3-nitro- 
p-Nitroaniline 100-01-6 Benzenamine, 4-nitro- 
Nitrobenzene 98-95-3 Benzene, nitro- 
o-Nitrophenol 88-75-5 Phenol, 2-nitro- 
p-Nitrophenol 100-02-7 Phenol, 4-nitro- 
4-Nitroquinoline, 1-oxide 56-57-5 Quinoline, 4-nitro-, 1-oxide 
N-Nitrosodi-n- butylamine 924-16-3 1-Butanamine, N-butyl-N-nitroso 
N-Nitroso- diethylamine 55-18-5 Ethanamine, N-ethyl- N-nitroso 
N-Nitroso- dimethylamine 62-75-9 Methanamine, N- methyl-N-nitroso- 
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N-Nitroso- diphenylamine 86-30-6 Benzenamine, N-nitroso-N-phenyl- 
N-Nitrosodipropyl-amine;Di-n-propyl-nitrosamine 621-64-7 1-Propanamine, N-nitroso-N-propyl- 
N-Nitrosom- ethylethylamine 10595-95-6  Ethanamine, N-methyl- N-nitroso- 
N-Nitrosomor- pholine 59-89-2 Morpholine, 4-nitroso- 
N-Nitrosopiperi-dine 100-75-4 Piperidine, 1- nitroso- 
N-Nitrosopyrroli-dine 930-55-2 Pyrrolidine, 1- nitroso- 
5-Nitro-o- toluidine 99-55-8 Benzenamine,2-methyl-5-nitro- 
Parathion 56-38-2 Phosphorothioic acid, O,O-diethyl-O-(4-nitro-phenyl) ester 
Polychlorinated biphenyls; PCBs See Note 5 1,1'-Biphenyl, chloro derivatives 
Polychlorinated dibenzo-p- dioxins; PCDDs See Note 6  Dibenzo[b,e][1,4]dioxin, chloro derivatives 
Polychlorinated dibenzofurans; PCDFs See Note 7  Dibenzofuran, chloro derivatives 
Pentachlorobenzene 608-93-5 Benzene, pentachloro- 
Pentachloroethane 76-01-7 Ethane, pentachloro- 
Pentachloro- nitrobenzene 82-68-8 Benzene, pentachloro- nitro- 
Pentachlorophenol 87-86-5 Phenol, pentachloro- 
Phenacetin 62-44-2 Acetamide, N-(4- ethoxyphenyl) 
Phenanthrene 85-01-8 Phenanthrene 
Phenol 108-95-2 Phenol 
p-Phenylenediamine 106-50-3 1,4- Benzenediamine 
Phorate 298-02-2 Phosphorodithioic acid, O,O-diethyl S-[(ethylthio)methyl] ester 
2-Picoline 109-06-8 Pyridine, 2-methyl- 
Pronamide 23950-58-5 Benzamide, 3,5-dichloro-N-(1,1-dimethyl-2-pro-pynyl)- 
Propionitrile; Ethyl cyanide 107-12-0 Propanenitrile 
Pyrene 129-00-0 Pyrene 
Pyridine 110-86-1 Pyridine 
Safrole 94-59-7 1,3-Benzodioxole, 5- (2-propenyl)- 
Selenium (Total) Selenium 
Silver (Total) Silver 
Silvex; 2,4,5-TP 93-72-1 Propanoic acid,2-(2,4, 5-trichlorophenoxy)- 
Styrene 100-42-5 Benzene, ethenyl- 
Sulfide 18496-25-8 Sulfide 
2,4,5-T; 2,4,5-, Trichlorophenoxy-acetic acid 93-76-5 Acetic acid, (2,4,5- trichlorophenoxy)- 
2,3,7,8-TCDD; 2,3,7,8-Tetra-chlorodibenzo-p- dioxin 1746-01-6 Dibenzo[b,e][1,4]dioxin 2,3,7,8-tetrachloro- 
1,2,4,5-Tetra- chlorobenzene 95-94-3 Benzene, 1,2,4,5-tetrachloro- 
1,1,1,2-Tetra- chloroethane 630-20-6 Ethane, 1,1,1,2- tetrachloro- 
1,1,2,2-Tetra- chloroethane 79-34-5 Ethane, 1,1,2,2- tetrachloro- 
Tetrachloro- ethylene; Perchloroethylene; Tetrachloroethene 127-18-4 Ethene, tetrachloro- 
2,3,4,6-Tetra- chlorophenol 58-90-2 Phenol, 2,3,4,6- tetrachloro- 
Tetraethyl dithio-pyrophosphate; Sulfotepp 3689-24-5 Thiodiphosphoric acid ([(HO)2P(S)]2O), tetraethyl ester 
Thallium (Total) Thallium 
Tin (Total) Tin 
Toluene 108-88-3 Benzene, methyl- 
o-Toluidine 95-53-4 Benzenamine, 2-methyl- 
Toxaphene 8001-35-2 Toxaphene 
1,2,4-Tri-chlorobenzene 120-82-1 Benzene, 1,2,4-trichloro- 
1,1,1-Tri-chloroethane; Methylchloroform 71-55-6 Ethane, 1,1,1-trichloro- 
1,1,2-Tri- chloroethane 79-00-5 Ethane, 1,1,2-trichloro- 
Trichloro- ethylene; Trichloroethene 79-01-6 Ethene, trichloro- 
Trichlorofluoro-methane 75-69-4 Methane, trichlorofluoro- 
2,4,5-Tri- chlorophenol 95-95-4 Phenol, 2,4,5-trichloro- 
2,4,6-Tri- chlorophenol 88-06-2 Phenol, 2,4,6-trichloro- 
1,2,3-Tri- chloropropane 96-18-4 Propane, 1,2,3-tri-chloro- 
O,O,O-Triethyl phosphorothioate 126-68-1 Phosphorothioic acid, O,O,O-triethyl ester 
sym-Trinitro- benzene 99-35-4 Benzene, 1,3,5- trinitro 
Vanadium (Total) Vanadium 
Vinyl acetate 108-05-4 Acetic acid, ethenyl ester 
Vinyl chloride 75-01-4 Ethene, chloro- 
Xylene (total) 1330-20-7 Benzene, dimethyl- 
Zinc (Total) Zinc 

1The regulatory requirements pertain only to the list of substances. 
2Common names are those widely used in government regulations, scientific publications, and commerce; synonyms exist for many chemicals. 
3Chemical Abstracts Service registry number. Where "Total" is entered, all species in the ground water that contain this element are included. 
4CAS index names are those used in the ninth Cumulative Index. 
5Polychlorinated biphenyls (CAS RN 1336-36-3); this category contains congener chemicals, including constituents of Aroclor-1016 (CAS RN 12674-11-2), 

Aroclor-1221 (CAS RN 11104-28-2), Aroclor-1232 (CAS RN 11141-16-5), Aroclor-1242 (CAS RN 53469-21-9), Aroclor-1248 (CAS RN 12672-29-6), Aroclor-
1254 (CAS RN 11097-69-1), and Aroclor-1260 (CAS RN 11096-82-5). 

6This category contains congener chemicals, including tetrachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins (see also 2,3,7,8-TCDD), pentachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins, and 
hexachlorodibenzo-p-dioxins. 

7This category contains congener chemicals, including tetrachlorodibenzofurans, pentachlorodibenzofurans, and hexachlorodibenzofurans. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:399 (May 1990), amended LR 
18:1256 (November 1992), amended by the Office of Waste 
Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:1742 (September 
1998), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 32:1848 (October 2006). 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Subpart 1.  Water Pollution Control 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§107. Definitions 

* * * 
Designated Water Use―repealed.  

* * * 
Primary Contact―repealed.  

* * * 
Secondary Contact―repealed.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 11:1066 
(November 1985), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2538 
(November 2000), LR 30:1473 (July 2004), amended by the Office 
of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:1852 (October 
2006). 

Subpart 2.  The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge 
Elimination System (LPDES) Program 

Chapter 71. Appendices 
§7107. Appendix D―Permit Application Testing 

Requirements (LAC 33:IX.2501) 
 

Table I.  Testing Requirements for Organic Toxic Pollutants by Industrial Category for Existing Dischargers 
 GC/MS Fraction(1) 

Industrial Category Volatile Acid Base/Neutral Pesticides 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in Adhesives and Sealants – Petroleum Refining] 
Pharmaceutical Preparations * * *   

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Photographic Equipment and Supplies – Timber Products Processing] 

(1) The toxic pollutants in each fraction are listed in Table II. 
* Testing required. 

 
Table II. – Table V.Editorial Note. ... 
For the duration of the suspensions, therefore, Table I effectively reads: 
 

Table 1.  Testing Requirements for Organic Toxic Pollutants by Industry Category 
 GC/MS Fraction(1) 

Industrial Category Volatile Acid Base/Neutral Pesticides 
* * * 

[See Prior Text in Adhesives and Sealants - Foundries] 
Gum and Wood (All Subparts except D 
and F)  

* *     

 Subpart D—tall oil rosin * * *   
 Subpart F—rosin-based 
derivatives 

* * *   

Inorganic Chemicals Manufacturing * * *   
* * * 

[See Prior Text in Iron and Steel Manufacturing - Petroleum Refining] 
Pharmaceutical Preparations * * *   
Photographic Equipment and Supplies * * *   

* * * 
[See Prior Text in Plastic and Synthetic Materials Manufacturing - Timber Products Processing] 

(1) The pollutants in each fraction are listed in Item V-C in the NPDES permit application. 
*Testing required. 

 
Table I.A. – Footnote †. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), repromulgated by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:233 
(February 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 32:1852 (October 2006). 

Part XI.  Underground Storage Tanks 
Chapter 3. Registration Requirements, Standards, 

and Fee Schedule 
§301. Registration Requirements 

A. - B.1. ... 

a. tank and piping installation in accordance with 
LAC 33:XI.303.B.4; 

b. cathodic protection of steel tanks and piping in 
accordance with LAC 33:XI.303.B.1-2; 

B.1.c. - C.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Underground Storage Tank Division, LR 11:1139 (December 
1985), amended LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), 
LR 18:727 (July 1992), LR 20:294 (March 1994), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2558 (November 2000), LR 28:475 (March 2002),
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amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:1066 
(May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2520 (October 2005), repromulgated LR 32:393 
(March 2006), amended LR 32:1852 (October 2006). 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§102. Definitions and Abbreviations 

As used in these regulations, these terms have the 
definitions set forth below. Additional definitions used only 
in a certain chapter may be found in that chapter. 

* * * 
Byproduct Material― 

1. ... 
2. the tailings or wastes produced by the extraction or 

concentration of uranium or thorium (R.S. 30:2103) from 
ore processed primarily for its source material content, 
including discrete surface wastes resulting from uranium or 
thorium solution extraction processes. Underground ore 
bodies depleted by these solution extraction operations do 
not constitute byproduct material within this definition. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 (January 
1992), LR 19:1421 (November 1993), LR 20:650 (June 1994), LR 
22:967 (October 1996), LR 24:2089 (November 1998), 
repromulgated LR 24:2242 (December 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2563 (November 2000), LR 26:2767 (December 
2000), LR 30:1171, 1188 (June 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 31:44 (January 2005), LR 31:1064 
(May 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 32:811 (May 2006), LR 32:1853 (October 2006). 
Chapter 3. Licensing of Radioactive Material 
Subchapter Z. Appendices 
§399. Schedules A and B, and Appendices A, B, C, D, 

E, and F 
Schedule A. - Note 4. ... 
 

Schedule B 
Exempt Quantities 

Byproduct Material Microcuries 
Antimony 122 (Sb 122) 100 
Antimony 124 (Sb 124)  10 
Antimony 125 (Sb 125) 10 
Arsenic 73 (As 73) 100 
Arsenic 74 (As 74) 10 
Arsenic 76 (As 76) 10 
Arsenic 77 (As 77) 100 
Barium 131 (Ba 131) 10 
Barium 133 (Ba 133) 10 
Barium 140 (Ba 140) 10 
Bismuth 210 (Bi 210) 1 
Bromine 82 (Br 82) 10 
Cadmium 109 (Cd 109) 10 
Cadmium 115m (Cd 115m) 10 
Cadmium 115 (Cd 115) 100 
Calcium 45 (Ca 45) 10 
Calcium 47 (Ca 47) 10 
Carbon 14 (C 14) 100 
Cerium 141 (Ce 141) 100 
Cerium 143 (Ce 143) 100 
Cerium 144 (Ce 144) 1 
Cesium 131 (Cs 131) 1,000 

Schedule B 
Exempt Quantities 

Byproduct Material Microcuries 
Cesium 134m (Cs 134m) 100 
Cesium 134 (Cs 134) 1 
Cesium 135 (Cs 135) 10 
Cesium 136 (Cs 136) 10 
Cesium 137 (Cs 137) 10 
Chlorine 36 (Cl 36) 10 
Chlorine 38 (Cl 38) 10 
Chromium 51 (Cr 51) 1,000 
Cobalt 58m (Co 58m) 10 
Cobalt 58 (Co 58) 10 
Cobalt 60 (Co 60) 1 
Copper 64 (Cu 64) 100 
Dysprosium 165 (Dy 165) 10 
Dysprosium 166 (Dy 166) 100 
Erbium 169 (Er 169) 100 
Erbium 171 (Er 171) 100 
Europium 152 9.2h (Eu 152 9.2h) 100 
Europium 152 13 yr (Eu 152 13 yr) 1 
Europium 154 (Eu 154) 1 
Europium 155 (Eu 155) 10 
Fluorine 18 (F 18) 1,000 
Gadolinium 153 (Gd 153) 10 
Gadolinium 159 (Gd 159) 100 
Gallium 67 (Ga 67) 100 
Gallium 72 (Ga 72) 10 
Germanium 71 (Ge 71) 100 
Gold 198 (Au 198) 100 
Gold 199 (Au 199) 100 
Hafnium 181 (Hf 181) 10 
Holmium 166 (Ho 166) 100 
Hydrogen 3 (H 3) 1,000 
Indium 113m (In 113m) 100 
Indium 114m (In 114m) 10 
Indium 115m (In 115m) 100 
Indium 115 (In 115) 10 
Iodine 125 (I 125) 1 
Iodine 126 (I 126) 1 
Iodine 129 (I 129) 0.1 
Iodine 131 (I 131) 1 
Iodine 132 (I 132) 10 
Iodine 133 (I 133) 1 
Iodine 134 (I 134) 10 
Iodine 135 (I 135) 10 
Iridium 192 (Ir 192) 10 
Iridium 194 (Ir 194) 100 
Iron 55 (Fe 55) 100 
Iron 59 (Fe 59) 10 
Krypton 85 (Kr 85) 100 
Krypton 87 (Kr 87) 10 
Lanthanum 40 (La 140) 10 
Lutetium 177 (Lu 177) 100 
Manganese 52 (Mn 52) 10 
Manganese 54 (Mn 54) 10 
Manganese 56 (Mn 56) 10 
Mercury 197m (Hg 197m) 100 
Mercury 197 (Hg 197) 100 
Mercury 203 (Hg 203) 10 
Molybdenum 99 (Mo 99) 100 
Neodymium 147 (Nd 147) 100 
Neodymium 149 (Nd 149) 100 
Nickel 59 (Ni 59) 100 
Nickel 63 (Ni 63) 10 
Nickel 65 (Ni 65) 100 
Niobium 93m (Nb 93m) 10 
Niobium 95 (Nb 95) 10 
Niobium 97 (Nb 97) 10 
Osmium 185 (Os 185) 10 
Osmium 191m (Os 191m) 100 
Osmium 191 (Os 191) 100 
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Schedule B 
Exempt Quantities 

Byproduct Material Microcuries 
Osmium 193 (Os 193) 100 
Palladium 103 (Pd 103) 100 
Palladium 109 (Pd 109) 100 
Phosphorus 32 (P 32) 10 
Platinum 191 (Pt 191) 100 
Platinum 193m (Pt 193m) 100 
Platinum 193 (Pt 193) 100 
Platinum 197m (Pt 197m) 100 
Platinum 97 (Pt 197) 100 
Polonium 210 (P 210) 0.1 
Potassium 42 (K 42) 10 
Praseodymium 142 (Pr 142) 100 
Praseodymium 143 (Pr 143) 100 
Promethium 147 (Pm 147) 10 
Promethium 149 (Pm 149) 10 
Rhenium 186 (Re 186) 100 
Rhenium 188 (Re 188) 100 
Rhodium 103m (Rh 103m) 100 
Rhodium 105 (Rh 105) 100 
Rubidium 86 (Rb 86) 10 
Rubidium 87 (Rb 87) 10 
Ruthenium 97 (Ru 97) 100 
Ruthenium 103 (Ru 103) 10 
Ruthenium 105 (Ru 105) 10 
Ruthenium 106 (Ru 106) 1 
Samarium 151 (Sm 151) 10 
Samarium 153 (Sm 153) 100 
Scandium 46 (Sc 46) 10 
Scandium 47 (Sc 47) 100 
Scandium 48 (Sc 48) 10 
Selenium 75 (Se 75) 10 
Silicon 31 (Si 31) 100 
Silver 105 (Ag 105) 10 
Silver 110m (Ag 110m) 1 
Silver 111 (Ag 111) 100 
Sodium 24 (Na 24) 10 
Strontium 85 (Sr 85) 10 
Strontium 89 (Sr 89) 1 
Strontium 90 (Sr 90) 0.1 
Strontium 91 (Sr 91) 10 
Strontium 92 (Sr 92) 10 
Sulfur 35 (S 35) 100 
Tantalum 182 (Ta 182) 10 
Technetium 96 (Tc 96) 10 
Technetium 97m (Tc 97m) 100 
Technetium 97 (Tc 97) 100 
Technetium 99m (Tc 99m) 100 
Technetium 99 (Tc 99) 10 
Tellurium 125m (Te 125m) 10 
Tellurium 127m (Te 127m) 10 
Tellurium 127 (Te 127) 100 
Tellurium 129m (Te 129m) 10 
Tellurium 129 (Te 129) 100 
Tellurium 131m (Te 131m) 10 
Tellurium 132 (Te 132) 10 
Terbium 60 (Tb 160) 10 
Thallium 200 (Tl 200) 100 
Thallium 201 (Tl 201) 100 
Thallium 202 (Tl 202) 100 
Thallium 204 (Tl 204) 10 
Thulium 170 (Tm 170) 10 
Thulium 171 (Tm 171) 10 
Tin 113 (Sn 113) 10 
Tin 125 (Sn 125) 10 
Tungsten 181 (W 181) 10 
Tungsten 185 (W 185) 10 
Tungsten 187 (W 187) 100 
Vanadium 48 (V 48) 10 
Xenon 131m (Xe 131m) 1,000 

Schedule B 
Exempt Quantities 

Byproduct Material Microcuries 
Xenon 133 (Xe 133) 100 
Xenon 135 (Xe 135) 100 
Ytterbium 175 (Yb 175) 100 
Yttrium 90 (Y 90) 10 
Yttrium 91 (Y 91) 10 
Yttrium 92 (Y 92) 100 
Yttrium 93 (Y 93) 100 
Zinc 65 (Zn 65) 10 
Zinc 69m (Zn 69m) 100 
Zinc 69 (Zn 69) 1,000 
Zirconium 93 (Zr 93) 10 
Zirconium 95 (Zr 95) 10 
Zirconium 97 (Zr 97) 10 
Any byproduct material not listed above other 
than alpha-emitting byproduct material. 

0.1 

 
Appendix A. - Appendix F.   ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 18:34 
(January 1992), LR 20:180 (February 1994), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 26:2574 (November 2000), LR 27:1228 (August 
2001), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:46 (January 2005), LR 31:1580 (July 2005), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2528 
(October 2005), LR 32:820 (May 2006), LR 32:1853 (October 
2006). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

0610#047 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Public Notice Requirements for General Permits 
(LAC 33:III.513)(AQ267) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.513 
(Log #AQ267). 

The department is allowed by regulation to issue general 
permits intended to cover numerous similar sources or 
activities. General permits are issued in accordance with 
LAC 33:III.519 and, prior to issuance, must undergo public 
notice and review by affected states and EPA in accordance 
with LAC 33:III.531 and 533. Applicants applying for 
authorization to operate under the general permit must also 
publish a notice of the application in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the local area where the source is or would be 
located. These procedures are appropriate for general 
permits intended to cover Part 70 sources. However, for 
general permits intended to cover minor sources, review by 
affected states and EPA is not necessary, nor is publication of 
a notice of the application. This rule revision specifies that 

Section 399 
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the aforementioned requirements are only required for 
general permits intended to cover Part 70 sources. This Rule 
is also a revision to the Louisiana State Implementation Plan 
for air quality. The basis and rationale for this Rule are to 
clarify the public notice requirements for general permits. 

This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) 
and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. This Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§513. General Permits, Temporary Sources, and 

Relocation of Portable Facilities 
A. General Permits 

1. The permitting authority may issue a general permit 
intended to cover numerous similar sources or activities. 
General permits shall be issued in accordance with LAC 
33:III.519 and, prior to issuance, shall undergo public notice 
and, if the general permit is intended to cover a Part 70 
source as defined in LAC 33:III.502, review by affected 
states and EPA in accordance with LAC 33:III.531 and 533. 
Each general permit shall incorporate terms and conditions 
applicable to sources that would qualify for the general 
permit. Any general permit shall identify criteria by which 
sources may qualify for the general permit, and may provide 
for applications which deviate from the requirements of 
LAC 33:III.517. 

2. The owner or operator of any source that would 
qualify for the general permit may apply for authorization to 
operate under the general permit. The application must 
include all information necessary to determine qualification 
for and to assure compliance with the general permit. The 
owner or operator of a Part 70 source as defined in LAC 
33:III.502 shall publish a notice of the application in a 
newspaper of general circulation in the local area where the 
source is or would be located. 

3. - 5. … 
6. General permits shall not be issued for new major 

stationary sources and major modifications as defined in 
LAC 33:III.504 or 509. 

B. – C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2448 (November 2000), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:1855 (October 2006). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

0610#045 
 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

EPO Plan of Benefits 
(LAC 32:V.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(1), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
EPO Plan Document. The reason for this action is to 
enhance member clarification and enable fair and effective 
administration health care benefits effectively for the 
program and members. 

Accordingly, OGB hereby adopts the following Rule to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part V.  Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO)  
Plan of Benefits 

Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to Be Covered 

Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, including the PPO plan, the EPO plan, the MCO 
plan, an HMO plan, or the life insurance plan. 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. Effective Dates of Coverage, New Employee, 

Transferring Employee. Coverage for each employee who 
completes the applicable enrollment form and agrees to 
make the required payroll contributions to his participant 
employer is effective as follows. 

a. If employment begins on the first day of the 
month, coverage is effective on the first day of the following 
month (For example, if hired on July 1, coverage will begin 
on August 1). 

b. If employment begins on or after the second day 
of the month, coverage is effective on the first day of the 
second month following employment (For example, if hired 
on July 15, coverage will begin on September 1). 

c. Employee coverage will not become effective 
unless the employee completes an enrollment form within 30 
days following the date of employment. If completed after 
30 days following the date of employment, the employee 
will be considered an overdue applicant. 

d. An employee who transfers employment to 
another participating employer must complete a transfer 
form within 30 days following the date of transfer to 
maintain coverage without interruption. If completed after
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30 days following the date of transfer, the employee will be 
considered an overdue applicant. 

4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Employment for Health 
Benefits and Life Insurance 

A.4.a. - B.1.a. ... 
b. An employee retired from a participant employer 

may not be covered as an employee. 
c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 

applicants. 
2. Effective Date of Coverage 

a. Retiree coverage will be effective on the first day 
of the month following the date of retirement if the retiree 
and participant employer have agreed to make and are 
making the required contributions (For example, if retired 
July 15, coverage will begin August 1). 

C. - C.2. ... 
a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage will be 

effective on the date the employee becomes eligible for 
dependent coverage. 

C.2.b. - D. ... 
1. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to all 

eligible employees who apply for coverage after 30 days 
from the date the employee became eligible for coverage and 
to all eligible dependents of employees and retirees for 
whom the application for coverage was not completed 
within 30 days from the date acquired. 

D.2. - E.2. ... 
a. A special enrollment application must be made 

within 30 days of either the termination date of the prior 
coverage or the date the new dependent is acquired. If it is 
made more than 30 days after eligibility, they will be 
considered overdue applicants subject to a pre-existing 
condition limitation. 

b. … 
i. For loss of other coverage or marriage, the first 

day of the month following the date the program receives all 
required forms for enrollment; 
 ii. - iii. … 

c. Special enrollment applicants must complete the 
"Acknowledgment of Pre-existing Condition" form and 
"Statement of Physical Condition" form. 

E.2.d. - G.3. ... 
H. Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage Option for 

Retirees (effective July 1, 1999). Retirees who are eligible to 
participate in a Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage Plan 
who cancel coverage with the program upon enrollment in a 
Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage Plan may re-enroll in 
the program upon withdrawal from or termination of 
coverage in the Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage Plan, 
at the earlier of the following: 

1. - 2. … 
I. Tricare for Life Option for Military Retirees. Retirees 

eligible to participate in the Tricare for Life (TFL) option on 
and after October 1, 2001 who cancel coverage with the 
program upon enrollment in TFL may re-enroll in the 
program in the event that the TFL option is discontinued or 
its benefits significantly reduced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1804 (October 1999), amended LR 27:718 (May 2001), LR 

28:2339 (November 2002), LR 29:336,338 (March 2003), LR 
32:1855 (October 2006). 
§103. Continued Coverage 

A. ... 
1. Leave of Absence without Pay, Employer 

Contributions to Premiums 
a. A participating employee who is granted leave of 

absence without pay due to a service related injury may 
continue coverage and the participating employer shall 
continue to pay its portion of health plan premiums for up to 
twelve months. 

b. A participating employee who suffers a service 
related injury that meets the definition of a total and 
permanent disability under the workers' compensation laws 
of Louisiana may continue coverage and the participating 
employer shall continue to pay its portion of the premiums 
until the employee becomes gainfully employed or is placed 
on state disability retirement. 

c. A participating employee who is granted leave of 
absence without pay in accordance with the federal Family 
and Medical Leave Act (F.M.L.A.) may continue coverage 
during the time of such leave and the participating employer 
may continue to pay its portion of premiums.  

2. Leave of Absence without Pay; No Employer 
Contributions to Premiums. An employee granted leave of 
absence without pay for reasons other than those stated in 
Paragraph A, may continue to participate in an Office of 
Group Benefits benefit plan for a period up to twelve months 
upon the employee's payment of the full premiums due. 

B. - B.2. ... 
C. Surviving Dependents/Spouse 

1. Benefits under the plan for covered dependents of a 
deceased covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurred unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage. 

a. The surviving legal spouse of an employee or 
retiree may continue coverage unless or until the surviving 
spouse is or becomes eligible for coverage in a Group Health 
Plan other than Medicare. 

b. The surviving never married dependent child of 
an employee or retiree may continue coverage unless or until 
such dependent child is or becomes eligible for coverage 
under a group health plan other than Medicare, or until 
attainment of the termination age for children, whichever 
occurs first. 

c. Surviving dependents will be entitled to receive 
the same participant employer premium contributions as 
employees and retirees, subject to the provisions of 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 42, Section 851 and rules 
promulgated pursuant thereto by the Office of Group 
Benefits. 

d. Coverage provided by the Civilian Health and 
Medical Program for the Uniformed Service 
(CHAMPUS/TRICARE) or successor program will not be 
sufficient to terminate the coverage of an otherwise eligible 
surviving legal spouse or a dependent child. 

2. A surviving spouse or dependent child cannot add 
new dependents to continued coverage other than a child of 
the deceased employee born after the employee's death.  

3. Participant Employer/Dependent Responsibilities 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 10   October 20, 2006 1857

a. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
and surviving covered dependent to notify the program 
within 60 days of the death of the employee or retiree. 

b. The program will notify the surviving dependents 
of their right to continue coverage. 

c. Application for continued coverage must be 
made in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification, and premium payment must be made within 45 
days of the date continued coverage is elected for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. 

d. Coverage for the surviving spouse under this 
section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
 ii. eligibility of the surviving spouse for coverage 
under a Group Health Plan other than Medicare. 

e. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events:  
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
 ii. eligibility of the surviving dependent child for 
coverage under any group health plan other than Medicare.  
 iii. the attainment of the termination age for 
children. 

4. The provisions of paragraphs 1 through 3 this 
subsection are applicable to surviving dependents who, on or 
after July 1, 1999, elect to continue coverage following the 
death of an employee or retiree. Continued coverage for 
surviving dependents who made such election before July 1, 
1999, shall be governed by the rules in effect at the time. 

D. - D.3. ... 
E. Military Service. Members of the National Guard or 

of the United States military reserves who are called to 
active military duty, and who are OGB participating 
employees or covered dependents will have access to 
continued coverage under OGB's health and life plans. 

1. Health Plan Participation. When called to active 
military duty, participating employees and covered 
dependents may: 

a. continue participation in the OGB health plan 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
the participating employer may continue to pay its portion of 
premiums; or 

b. cancel participation in the OGB health plan 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
such plan participants may apply for reinstatement of OGB 
coverage within 30 days of: 
 i. the date of the employee's reemployment with 
a participating employer,  
 ii. the dependent's date of discharge from active 
military duty, or 
 iii. the date of termination of extended health 
coverage provided as a benefit of active military duty, such 
as TRICARE Reserve Select; 
 iv. plan participants who elect this option and 
timely apply for reinstatement of OGB coverage will not be 
subject to a pre-existing condition (PEC) limitation, and the 
lapse in coverage during active military duty or extended 
military coverage will not result in any adverse 
consequences with respect to the participation schedule set 
forth in R.S. 42:851.E and the corresponding Rules 
promulgated by OGB. 

2. Life Insurance. When called to active military duty, 
employees with OGB life insurance coverage may: 

a. continue participation in the OGB life insurance 
during the period of active military service, however, the 
accidental death and dismemberment coverage will not be in 
effect during the period of active military duty; or 

b. cancel participation in the OGB life insurance 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
such employee may apply for reinstatement of OGB life 
insurance within 30 days of the date of the employee's 
reemployment with a participating employer; employees 
who elect this option and timely apply for reinstatement of 
OGB life insurance will not be required to provide evidence 
of insurability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1806 (October 1999), amended LR 30:1190 (June 2004),  
LR 32:1856 (October 2006). 
§105. COBRA 

A. Employees 
1. Coverage under this plan for a covered employee 

will terminate on the last day of the calendar month during 
which employment is terminated (voluntarily or 
involuntarily) or significantly reduced, the employee no 
longer meets the definition of an employee, or coverage 
under a leave of absence has expired, unless the covered 
employee elects to continue coverage at the employee's own 
expense. Employees terminated for gross misconduct are not 
eligible for COBRA coverage.  

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
notify the program within 30 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated because of any of the foregoing 
events, and the program will notify the employee within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. 

3. Application for continued coverage must be made 
in writing to the program within 60 days of the date of the 
election notification and premium payment must be made 
within 45 days of the date the employee elects continued 
coverage, for coverage retroactive to the date coverage 
would have otherwise terminated. After the first payment for 
COBRA coverage, monthly payments for each subsequent 
month of COBRA coverage are due on the first day of the 
month for that month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 
30 days after the first day of the month will be provided for 
each monthly payment. 

4. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 18 months from the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

5. If employment for a covered employee is 
terminated (voluntarily or involuntarily) or significantly 
reduced, the employee no longer meets the definition of an
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employee, or a leave of absence has expired, and the 
employee has not elected to continue coverage, the covered 
spouse and/or covered dependent children may elect to 
continue coverage at his/her/their own expense. The elected 
coverage will be subject to the above-stated notification and 
termination provisions. 

B. Surviving Dependents 
1. Coverage under this plan for covered surviving 

dependents of an employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurs, unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage at his/her own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
or surviving covered dependents to notify the program 
within 30 days of the death of the employee or retiree. The 
Program will notify the surviving dependents of their right to 
continue coverage. Application for continued coverage must 
be made in writing to the program within 60 days of the date 
of the election notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date the continued coverage was elected, retroactive to 
the date coverage would have terminated. After the first 
payment for COBRA coverage, monthly payments for each 
subsequent month of COBRA coverage are due on the first 
day of the month for that month's COBRA coverage. A grace 
period of 30 days after the first day of the month will be 
provided for each monthly payment. 

4. Coverage for the surviving dependents under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan for 
a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

C. Divorced Spouse 
1. Coverage under this plan for an employee's spouse 

will terminate on the last day of the month during which 
dissolution of the marriage occurs by virtue of a legal decree 
of divorce from the employee or retiree, unless the covered 
divorced spouse elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense.  

2. It is the responsibility of the divorced spouse to 
notify the program within 60 days from the date of divorce 
and the program will notify the divorced spouse within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of the election notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date continued coverage is elected, for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. After the first payment for COBRA coverage, 
monthly payments for each subsequent month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for the divorced spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the Employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

D. Dependent Children 
1. Coverage under this plan for a covered dependent 

child of a covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month during which the dependent child no 
longer meets the definition of an eligible covered dependent, 
unless the dependent elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the dependent to notify the 
program within 60 days of the date coverage would have 
terminated and the program will notify the dependent within 
14 days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application 
for continued coverage must be made in writing to the 
program within 60 days of receipt of the election 
notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date the continued coverage is elected, for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. After the first payment for COBRA coverage, 
monthly payments for each subsequent month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the Employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

E. Dependents of COBRA Participants 
1.a. If a covered terminated employee has elected to 

continue coverage and if during the period of continued 
coverage the covered spouse or a covered dependent child 
becomes ineligible for coverage due to: 

i. death of the employee; 
ii. divorce from the employee; or 
iii. a dependent child no longer meets the definition 

of an eligible covered dependent; 
b. Then, the spouse and/or dependent child may 

elect to continue COBRA coverage at his/her own expense. 
Coverage will not be continued beyond 36 months from the 
date coverage would have otherwise terminated. 
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2. It is the responsibility of the spouse and/or the 
dependent child to notify the program within 60 days of the 
date COBRA coverage would have terminated. 

3. Monthly payments for each month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

F. Disability COBRA 
1. If a covered employee or covered dependent is 

determined by the Social Security Administration or by the 
program staff (in the case of a person who is ineligible for 
Social Security disability benefits due to insufficient 
"quarters" of employment), to have been totally disabled on 
the date the covered person became eligible for continued 
coverage or within the initial 18 months of coverage, 
coverage under this plan for the covered person who is 
totally disabled may be extended at his or her own expense 
up to a maximum of 29 months from the date coverage 
would have otherwise terminated. 

2. To qualify the covered person must: 
a. submit a copy of his or her Social Security 

Administration's disability determination to the program 
before the initial 18-month continued coverage period 
expires and within 60 days after the latest of: 
 i. the date of issuance of the Social Security 
Administration's disability determination; and 
 ii. the date on which the qualified beneficiary 
loses (or would lose) coverage under the terms of the plan as 
a result of the covered employee's termination or reduction 
of hours. 

b. In the case of a person who is ineligible for 
Social Security disability benefits due to insufficient 
"quarters" of employment, submit proof of total Disability to 
the program before the initial 18-month continued coverage 
period expires. The staff and medical director of the program 
will make the determination of total Disability based upon 
medical evidence, not conclusions, presented by the 
applicant's physicians, work history, and other relevant 
evidence presented by the applicant. 

3. For purposes of eligibility for continued coverage 
under this Section, total disability means the inability to do 
any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to last for a continuous period of 12 months. To 
meet this definition one must have a severe impairment 
which makes one unable to do his previous work or any 
other substantial gainful activity which exists in the national 
economy, based upon a person's residual functional capacity, 
age, education, and work experience. 

4. Monthly payments for each month of extended 
COBRA coverage are due on the first day of the month for 
that month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days 
after the first day of the month will be provided for each 
monthly payment.  

5. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 29 months from the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; 

e. the Employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees; or 

f. 30 days after the month in which the Social 
Security Administration determines that the covered person 
is no longer disabled. (The covered person must report the 
determination to the program within 30 days after the date of 
issuance by the Social Security Administration.) In the case 
of a person who is ineligible for Social Security disability 
benefits due to insufficient "quarters" of employment, 30 
days after the month in which the program determines that 
the covered person is no longer disabled. 

G. Medicare COBRA 
1. If an employee becomes entitled to Medicare less 

than 18 months before the date the employee's eligibility for 
benefits under this plan terminates, the period of continued 
coverage available for the employee's covered dependents 
will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months from the date of the employee's 

Medicare entitlement; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

2. Monthly payments for each month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

H. Miscellaneous Provisions. During the period of 
continuation, benefits will be identical to those provided to 
others enrolled in this plan under its standard eligibility 
provisions for employees and retirees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1807 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1857 (October 2006). 
§107. Change of Classification 

A. Adding or Deleting Dependents. The plan member 
must notify the program when a dependent is added to or 
deleted from the plan member's coverage that results in a 
change in the class of coverage. Notice must be provided 
within 30 days of the addition or deletion. 
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B. Change in Coverage 
1. When there is a change in family status (e.g., 

marriage, birth of child) that affects the class of coverage, 
the change in classification will be effective on the date of 
the event. Application for the change must be made within 
30 days of the date of the event. 

2. When the addition of a dependent changes the class 
of coverage, the additional premium will be charged for the 
entire month if the date of change occurs before the 15th day 
of the month. If the date of change occurs on or after the 
15th day of the month, an additional premium will not be 
charged until the first day of the following month. 

C. Notification of Change. It is the employee's 
responsibility to notify the program of any change in 
classification of coverage that affects the employee's 
contribution amount. If failure to notify is later determined, 
it will be corrected on the first day of the following month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1809 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1859 (October 2006). 
Chapter 2. Termination of Coverage 
§201. Active Employee and Retired Employee 

Coverage 
A. … 

1. the date the program terminates; 
2. the date the group or agency employing the covered 

employee terminates or withdraws from the program; 
3. the date contribution is due if the group or agency 

fails to pay the required contribution for the covered 
employee; 

4. the date contribution is due if the covered person 
fails to make any contribution which is required for the 
continuation of coverage; 

5. the last day of the month of the covered employee's 
death; 

6. the last day of the month in which the covered 
employee ceases to be eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1809 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1860 (October 2006). 
§203. Dependent Coverage 

A. … 
1. the last day of the month the employee ceases to be 

covered; 
2. the last day of the month in which the dependent, as 

defined in this plan, ceases to be an eligible dependent of the 
covered employee; 

3. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1) 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1809 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1860 (October 2006). 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Eligible Expenses 

A. Eligible Expenses are the charges incurred for the 
following services, drugs, supplies, and devices, when 
performed, prescribed, or ordered by a physician and 
medically necessary for the treatment of a covered person. 
All charges are subject to applicable deductibles, 

copayments, and/or coinsurance amounts (unless otherwise 
specifically provided), fee schedule limitations, Schedule of 
Benefits, exclusions, and other provisions of the plan. A 
charge is incurred on the date that the service, drug, supply, 
or device is performed or furnished. 

1. - 3. … 
4. anesthesia and its administration when ordered by 

the operating physician and administered by an appropriately 
licensed nurse anesthetist or physician in conjunction with a 
covered surgical service; 

5. - 6. … 
7. Blood, blood derivatives, and blood processing, 

when not replaced; 
8. - 8.c. ... 
d. Ostomy Supplies, except supplies for nutritional 

and/or enteral feeding; 
e. - l. … 

9. Services of a licensed speech therapist when pre-
approved through Outpatient Procedure Certification (§309, 
below) for the purpose of restoring partial or complete loss 
of speech resulting from stroke, surgery, cancer, radiation 
laryngitis, cerebral palsy, accidental injury, or other similar 
structural or neurological disease, limited to 26 visits per 
plan year; 

10. … 
11. Services rendered by a Doctor of Dental Surgery 

(D.D.S.) or Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.) for the 
treatment of accidental injury to a covered person's natural 
teeth, under the following conditions: 

a. Coverage was in effect with respect to the 
individual at the time of the accident; 

b. Treatment commences within 90 days from the 
date of the accident and is completed within two years from 
the date of the accident;  

c. Coverage remains continuously in effect with 
respect to the covered person during the course of the 
treatment; 

d. Eligible expenses are limited to the cost of 
treatment as estimated at the time of initial treatment; 

e. Eligible expenses may include dental braces and 
orthodontic appliances, upon review and approval by the 
program's dental consultant, and only under the following 
circumstances: 
 i. to return the alveolar alignment to its former 
state prior to a covered dental accident. The program will 
allow benefits for orthopedic correction to establish 
reasonable occlusal function; 
 ii. a covered surgery that requires the use of 
braces for stabilization; 
 iii. severe skeletal deformity (i.e., cleft palate). 
The program will allow benefits for orthopedic correction to 
establish reasonable occlusal function;  

f. As used herein Accidental Injury means a 
condition occurring as a direct result of a traumatic bodily 
injury sustained solely through accidental means from an 
external force, and with respect to injuries to teeth, the act of 
chewing does not constitute an external force. 

12. Durable medical equipment subject to the lifetime 
maximum payment limitation as listed in the schedule of 
benefits. The program will require written certification by 
the treating physician to substantiate the medical necessity 
for the equipment and the length of time that it will be used. 
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The purchase of durable medical equipment will be 
considered an eligible expense only upon a showing that the 
rental cost would exceed the purchase price. Under no 
circumstances may the eligible expense for an item of 
durable medical equipment exceed the purchase price of 
such item; 

13. - 17 . … 
18. Orthopedic shoes prescribed by a physician and 

completely custom built, limit one pair per plan year; 
19. Acupuncture when rendered by a medical doctor 

licensed in the state in which the services are rendered; 
20. - 20.d. … 
21. Services of a physical therapist or occupational 

therapist licensed in the state in which the services are 
rendered, under the following conditions: 

a. services are prescribed by a licensed physician 
and rendered in an individual setting; 

b. restorative potential exists; 
c. services meet the generally accepted standards 

for medical practice; 
d. services are reasonable and medically necessary 

for treatment of a disease, illness, accident, injury, or post-
operative condition; 

e. services are approved through case management 
when rendered in the home; 

f. services are limited to 50 visits per plan year. 
Additional visits subject to approval by UTILIZATION 
MANAGEMENT. 

22. Cardiac Rehabilitation when: 
a. Rendered at a medical facility under the 

supervision of a licensed physician; 
b. - c. … 

NOTE: Charges incurred for dietary instruction, educational 
services, behavior modification literature, biofeedback, health 
club membership, exercise equipment, preventive programs, 
and any other items excluded by the plan are not covered, 
unless provided for under Paragraph 30 of this subsection. 

23. Preventive care consisting of routine physical 
examinations, lab work, and immunizations (including a 
yearly influenza vaccination) as follows: 

a. Well baby care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. newborn facility and professional charges; 
 ii. birth to age 1―all office visits for scheduled 
immunizations and screening; 

b. Well child care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. age 1 until age 3―three office visits per year 
for scheduled immunizations and screening; 
 ii. age 3 until age 15―one office visit per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 

c. Well adult care expenses, not subject to the 
annual deductible, but limited to a maximum benefit of 
$200.00: 
 i. age 16 until age 40―once during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50―once during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and over―once during a 1-year period. 

NOTE: Benefits for well baby care, well child care and routine 
physical examinations for well adult care, including 
immunizations, are based on the U.S. Preventive Services 
Task Force guidelines and recommendations of the National 
Immunization Program of the Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention. All services must be rendered on an outpatient 
basis to monitor and maintain health and to prevent illness. 

24. Specialized, age-appropriate wellness care, not 
subject to the annual deductible, as follows: 

a. One pap test for cervical cancer per plan year; 
b. Mammographic examinations performed 

according to the following schedule: 
 i. one mammogram during the five-year period a 
person is 35-39 years of age;  
 ii. one mammogram every two Plan Years for any 
person who is 40-49 years of age; 
 iii. one mammogram every 12 months for any 
person who is 50 years of age or older; 

c. Testing for detection of prostate cancer, including 
digital rectal examination and prostate-specific antigen 
testing, once every 12 months for men over the age of 50 
years; 

25. - 26. … 
27. Services rendered by the following, when billed by 

the supervising physician: 
a. perfusionists and registered nurse assistants 

assisting in the operating room; 
b. physician assistants and registered nurse 

practitioners; 
28. - 30.c. … 
31. Testing of sleep disorders only when the tests are 

performed at either:  
a. a facility accredited by the American Academy of 

Sleep Medicine or the Joint Commission on Accreditation of 
Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO); or  

b. a sleep study facility located within a healthcare 
facility accredited by JCAHO. No benefits are payable for 
surgical treatment of sleep disorders (including LAUP) 
except following demonstrated failure of non-surgical 
treatment and upon approval by the program; 

32. - 33.c. … 
34. Treatment provided in accordance with a clinical 

trial for cancer, including costs of investigational treatments 
and of associated protocol-related patient care if all of the 
following criteria are met: 

a. treatment is being provided with a therapeutic or 
palliative intent for patients with cancer, or for the 
prevention or early detection of cancer; 

b. treatment is being provided or the studies are 
being conducted in a Phase II, Phase III, or Phase IV clinical 
trial for cancer; 

c. treatment is being provided in accordance with a 
clinical trial approved by one of the following entities: 
 i. one of the United States National Institutes of 
Health; 
 ii. a cooperative group funded by one of the 
United States National Institutes of Health; 
 iii. the FDA in the form of an investigational new 
drug application; 
 iv. the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; 
 v. the United States Department of Defense; 
 vi. a federally funded general clinical research 
center;  
 vii. the Coalition of National Cancer Cooperative 
Groups; 

d. the proposed protocol has been reviewed and 
approved by a qualified institutional review board which 
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operates in this state and which has a multiple project 
assurance contract approved by the office of protection from 
research risks; 

e. the facility and personnel providing the protocol 
provided the treatment within their scope of practice, 
experience, and training and are capable of doing so by 
virtue of their experience, training, and volume of patients 
treated to maintain expertise; 

f. there is no clearly superior, non-investigational 
approach; 

g. the available clinical or preclinical data provide a 
reasonable expectation that the treatment will be at least as 
efficacious as the non- investigational alternative; and 

h. the patient has signed an institutional review 
board-approved consent form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1810 (October 1999), amended LR 28:478 (March 2002), 
LR 29:334, 338 (March 2003), LR 30:1190 (June 2004), LR 31:440 
(February 2005), LR 32:1860 (October 2006). 
§303. Fee Schedule  

A. The fee schedule establishes the maximum allowable 
charges for eligible expenses. The fee schedule applies to 
both contracted (EPO) health care providers, who have 
entered into agreements with OGB regarding reimbursement 
under this plan, and to non-contracted (non-EPO) health care 
providers who have not entered into such agreements. 

B. Plan members may be subject to greater financial 
responsibility for services, drugs, supplies, and devices 
provided by non-contracted health care providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1811 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§305. Automated Claims Adjusting 

A. OGB utilizes commercially licensed software that 
applies all claims against its medical logic program to 
identify improperly billed charges and charges for which this 
plan provides no benefits. Any claim with diagnosis or 
procedure codes deemed inadequate or inappropriate will be 
automatically reduced or denied. Providers accepting 
assignment of benefits cannot bill the plan member for the 
differential on the denial amount, in whole or in part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1811 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§307. Utilization Review―Pre-Admission 

Certification, Continued Stay Review 
A. - A.2. ... 
B. For a routine vaginal delivery, PAC is not required for 

a stay of two days or less. If the mother's stay exceeds or is 
expected to exceed two days, PAC is required within 24 
hours after delivery or on the date on which any 
complications arose, whichever is applicable. If the baby's 
stay exceeds the mother's stay, PAC is required within 72 
hours of the mother's discharge, and a separate pre-
certification number must be obtained for the baby. In the 
case of a caesarean section, PAC is required if the mother's 
stay exceeds or is expected to exceed four days. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1812 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§309. Outpatient Procedure Certification (OPC) 

A. The purpose of OPC is for the plan to certify that 
particular outpatient procedures and therapies are medically 
necessary. If OPC is not obtained when required, no benefits 
are payable under this Plan. 

A.1. - B. … 
1. Speech therapy, subject to the limitations set forth 

in §301.A.9 of this part. 
2. - 7.d. repealed. 

C. - C.2. … 
D. repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1812 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§311. Case Management 

A. - D.3.b. … 
E. repealed. 
F. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1812 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§313. Dental Surgical Benefits 

A. … 
B. If a covered person requires dental treatment in a 

hospital setting that is otherwise an Eligible Expense, the 
plan will provide benefits for anesthesia rendered in the 
hospital and associated hospital charges. Prior authorization 
for hospitalization for dental treatment is required in the 
same manner as prior authorization is required for other 
covered medical services. 

C. Eligible Expenses incurred in connection with the 
removal of impacted teeth, including pre-operative and post-
operative care, anesthesia, radiology, pathology services, and 
facility charges, are subject to a deductible, co-insurance, 
and the maximum benefit provisions of the plan. 

D. The provisions of this section shall not apply to 
treatment rendered for Temporomandibular joint (TMJ) 
diseases or disorders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1813 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§315. Medicare Reduction 

A. … 
B. Retiree 100-Medicare COB. Upon enrollment and 

payment of the additional monthly premium, a plan member 
and dependents who are covered under Medicare Parts A and 
B (both) may choose to have full coordination of benefits 
with Medicare. Enrollment must be made within 30 days of 
eligibility for Medicare, or within 30 days of retirement if 
already eligible for Medicare, and at the annual enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1813 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1862 (October 2006). 
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions  

A. No benefits are provided under this Plan for the 
following: 

1. injury compensable under any worker's 
compensation program, regardless of whether the patient has 
filed a claim for benefits. This applies to compensation 
provided on an expense-incurred basis or blanket settlements 
for past and future losses; 

2. maintenance therapy consisting of convalescent, 
skilled nursing, sanitarium, custodial care, assisted living 
facilities, or rest cures designed to assist in daily living 
activities, maintain present physical and/or mental condition, 
or provide a structured or safe environment; 

3. expenses for elective, non-therapeutic voluntary 
abortions (abortions performed for reasons other than to save 
the life of the mother); 

4. injuries sustained by a covered person while in an 
aggressor role; 

5. expenses incurred as a result of a covered person's 
commission or attempted commission of an illegal act; 

6. services, supplies, or treatment for cosmetic 
purposes, including cosmetic surgery and any cosmetic 
complications of cosmetic surgery, unless necessary for the 
immediate repair of a deformity caused by a disease and/or 
injury that occurs while coverage is in force. No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred in connection with the 
treatment of any body part not affected by the disease and/or 
injury; 

7. shoes and related items, such as wedges, cookies, 
and arch supports; 

8. dental and orthodontic services, appliances, 
supplies, and devices, including, but not limited to the 
following: 

a. dental braces and orthodontic appliances, except 
as specifically provided in §301.A.11.e of this Part; 

b. treatment of periodontal disease; 
c. dentures, dental implants, and any surgery for 

their use, except if needed as the result of an accident that 
meets the program's requirements; 

d. treatment for Temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) 
diseases or disorders, except as specifically provided in 
§301.A.28 of this Part; 

e. expenses incurred for services rendered by a 
dentist or oral surgeon and any ancillary or related services, 
except for covered dental surgical procedures, as specifically 
set forth herein, dental procedures which fall under the 
guidelines of treatment of accidental injury, procedures 
necessitated as a result of or secondary to cancer, or oral and 
maxillofacial surgeries which are shown to the satisfaction 
of the program to be medically necessary, non-dental, non-
cosmetic procedures; 

9. medical services, supplies, treatments, and 
prescription drugs provided without charge to the covered 
person or for which the covered person is not legally 
obligated to pay; 

10. maternity expenses incurred by any person other 
than the employee or the employee's legal spouse; 

11. personal convenience items including, but not 
limited to, admit kits, bedside kits, telephone, television, 
guest meals, and beds, and charges for luxury 

accommodations in any hospital or allied health facility 
provided primarily for the patient's convenience which are 
not deemed medically necessary by the program; 

12. charges for services, supplies, treatment, drugs, and 
devices which are in excess of the maximum allowable 
under the medical fee schedule, outpatient surgical facility 
fee schedule, or any other limitations of the plan; 

13. services, supplies, treatment, drugs, devices, and 
deluxe medical equipment which are not deemed medically 
necessary by the program; 

14. services rendered for remedial reading and 
recreational, visual, and behavioral modification therapy, 
biofeedback, pain rehabilitation control and/or therapy, and 
dietary or educational instruction for all diseases and/or 
illnesses, except diabetes; 

15. services and supplies for the treatment of and/or 
related to gender dysphoria or reverse sterilization; 

16. artificial organ implants, penile implants, 
transplantation of non-human organs, and any surgery and 
other treatment, services, or supplies, related to such 
procedures, or to complications related to such procedures; 

17. expenses subsequent to the initial diagnosis for 
infertility and complications, including but not limited to, 
services, drugs, procedures, or devices to achieve fertility, 
in-vitro fertilization, low tubal transfer, artificial 
insemination, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, embryo 
transfer, gamete transfer, zygote transfer, surrogate 
parenting, donor semen, donor eggs, and reversal of 
sterilization procedures; 

18. non-medical supplies such as air conditioners 
and/or filters, dehumidifiers, air purifiers, wigs or toupees, 
heating pads, cold devices, home enema equipment, rubber 
gloves, swimming pools, saunas, whirlpool baths, home 
pregnancy tests, lift chairs, devices or kits to stimulate the 
penis, exercise equipment, any other items not normally 
considered medical supplies, and any items the program 
determines are not medical supplies; 

19. administrative fees, interest, penalties, or sales tax; 
20. marriage counseling, family relations counseling, 

divorce counseling, parental counseling, job counseling, and 
career counseling; 

21. charges for physician services rendered to a 
covered person over the telephone or in a non-face-to-face 
setting; 

22. radial keratotomy, laser surgery, and any other 
procedures, services, or supplies for the correction of 
refractive errors of the eyes; 

23. services, supplies, surgeries, and treatments for 
excess body fat, resection of excess skin and/or fat following 
weight loss or pregnancy, and/or obesity, and morbid 
obesity; 

24. hearing aids and any examination to determine the 
fitting or necessity of hearing aids, except as specifically 
provided for in §301(A)(33) of this Part; 

25. hair plugs and/or transplants; 
26. routine physical examinations and/or 

immunizations not provided for under eligible expenses; 
27. eye examinations, glasses, and contact lenses, 

except as specifically provided for as an eligible expense in 
§301.A.15 of this Part; 

28. diagnostic or treatment measures that are not 
recognized as generally accepted medical practice; 
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29. medical supplies not listed under eligible expenses; 
30. treatment or services for mental health and 

substance abuse provided outside the treatment plan 
developed by the program's managed care contractor or by 
therapists with whom or at facilities with which the 
program's managed care contractor does not have a contract; 

31. genetic testing, except when determined to be 
medically necessary during a covered pregnancy; 

32. services rendered by a private-duty registered nurse 
(R.N.) or by a private-duty licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.); 

33. services rendered by a physician or other health 
care provider related to the patient by blood, adoption, or 
marriage; 

34. expenses for services rendered by a physician or 
other health care provider who is not licensed in the state 
where such services are rendered or in any facility not 
holding a valid license in the state and for the services 
rendered; 

35. facility fees for services rendered in a physician's 
office or in any facility not approved by the federal Health 
Care Finance Administration for Medicare reimbursement; 

36. glucometers; 
37. augmentative communication devices; 
38. charges to obtain medical records or any other 

information needed and/or required to adjudicate a claim; 
39. charges greater than the global allowance for any 

laboratory, pathology, or radiological procedure; 
40. speech therapy or the services of a speech therapist 

except as specifically provided in §301.A.9. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1813 (October 1999), amended LR 26:487 (March 2000), 
LR 27:717 (May 2001), LR 28:2340 (November 2002), LR 31:440 
(February 2005), LR 32:1863 (October 2006). 
§321. Exclusive Provider Program 

A. The Program may implement Exclusive Provider 
Organization (EPO) arrangements or other agreements to 
discount payable fees. The program reserves the right to 
negotiate the amount of discounts, incentives offered to plan 
members, and all other provisions which are a part of any 
discount fee arrangement. To be eligible, the program must 
be the primary carrier at the time services are rendered. 

1. If a covered person obtains medical services or 
hospital services from an eligible provider who has agreed to 
provide the services at a mutually agreed upon discount from 
the maximum medical fee schedule or at a per diem or 
discounted rate from a hospital, the program will pay, after 
applicable copays, as specified in the Schedule of Benefits. 
There is a contractual assignment to all EPO providers. 

2. If a covered person receives services from a non-
EPO Provider, the program will pay, after satisfaction of 
applicable deductibles, as specified in the Schedule of 
Benefits. Eligible Expenses of non-EPO Providers are based 
upon the OGB's fee schedule. 

NOTE: Both EPO and non-EPO services are subject to the 
applicable co-pays or deductibles, limitations, and exclusions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1835 (October 1999), amended LR 27:722 (May 2001), LR 
29:339 (March 2003), LR 32:1864 (October 2006). 

§325. Prescription Drug Benefits 
A. This Plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 

approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor that require a prescription and are dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company. 

1. These include and shall not be limited to: 
a. Insulin; 
b. Retin-A dispensed for covered persons under the 

age of 27; 
c. Vitamin B-12 injections; 
d. prescription Potassium Chloride; and 
e. over-the-counter diabetic supplies including, but 

not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. 
2. In addition, this plan allows benefits limited to 

$200 per month for expenses incurred for the purchase of 
low protein food products for the treatment of inherited 
metabolic diseases if the low protein food products are 
medically necessary and are obtained from a source 
approved by the OGB. Such expenses shall be subject to 
coinsurance and co-payments relating to prescription drug 
benefits. In connection with this benefit, the following words 
shall have the following meanings: 

a. Inherited Metabolic Disease―a disease caused 
by an inherited abnormality of body chemistry and shall be 
limited to: 
 i. Phenylketonuria (PKU); 
 ii. Maple Syrup Urine Disease (MSUD); 
 iii. Methylmalonic Acidemia (MMA); 
 iv. Isovaleric Acidemia (IVA); 
 v. Propionic Acidemia; 
 vi. Glutaric Acidemia; 
 vii. Urea Cycle Defects; or 
 viii. Tyrosinemia. 

b. Low Protein Food Products―food products that 
are especially formulated to have less than 1 gram of protein 
per serving and are intended to be used under the direction 
of a physician for the dietary treatment of an inherited 
metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall not 
include natural foods that are naturally low in protein. 

B. The following drugs, medicines, and related services 
and supplies are not covered: 

1. appetite suppressant drugs; 
2. dietary supplements; 
3. topical forms of Minoxidil; 
4. Retin-A dispensed for a covered person over  

age 26; 
5. amphetamines dispensed for diagnoses other than 

Attention Deficit Disorder or Narcolepsy; 
6. nicotine, gum, patches, or other products, services, 

or programs intended to assist an individual to reduce or 
cease smoking, or other use of tobacco products; 

7. nutritional or parenteral therapy; 
8. vitamins and minerals; 
9. drugs available over the counter; 
10. serostim dispensed for any diagnoses or therapeutic 

purposes other than AIDS wasting; 
11. drugs prescribed for the treatment of impotence, 

except following the surgical removal of the prostate gland; 
and 

12. glucometers. 
C. - C.7 … 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 10   October 20, 2006 1865

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1815 (October 1999), amended LR 27:717,718 (May 2001), 
LR 27:1886 (November 2001), LR 28:2340 (November 2002), LR 
29:337 (March 2003), LR 32:1864 (October 2006). 
Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§401. Statement of Contractual Agreement 

A. This plan, as amended, including the schedule of 
benefits, together with the application for coverage and any 
related documents executed by or on behalf of the covered 
employee, constitute the entire agreement between the 
parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1816 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 
§403. Properly Submitted Claim 

A. For Plan reimbursement, a claim must include: 
1. - 4. … 
5. type of services rendered, with diagnosis and/or 

procedure codes that are valid and current for the date of 
service; 

6. date and place of service; 
7. - 10. … 

B. The program may require additional documentation in 
order to determine the extent of coverage or the appropriate 
reimbursement. Failure to furnish information within 90 
days of the request will constitute a reason for the denial of 
benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1816 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 
§405. When Claims Must Be Filed 

A. - B. … 
C. Requests for review of payment or corrected bills 

must be submitted within 18 months of receipt date of the 
original claim. Requests for review of payment or corrected 
bills received after that time will not be considered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1816 (October 1999), amended LR 28:476 (March 2002), 
LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 
§407. Right to Receive and Release Information 

A. Without notice or consent the program may release to 
or obtain from any company, organization, or person, any 
information regarding any person which the program deems 
necessary to carry out the provisions of this Plan, or to 
determine how, or if, they apply. Any claimant under the 
plan must furnish the program with any information 
necessary to implement this provision. OGB retains 
information for the minimum period of time required by law. 
After such time, information may no longer be available. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1816 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 

§409. Legal Limitations  
A. … 
B. Information provided by the program or any of its 

employees or agents to plan members does not modify or 
override the terms and provisions of the plan. In the event of 
any conflict between the written provisions of this plan and 
any information provided, the written provisions of this Plan 
shall supercede and control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1816 (October 1999), amended LR 28:477 (March 2002), 
LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 
§413. Recovery of Overpayments 

A. If an overpayment occurs, the program retains the 
right to recover the overpayment. The covered person, 
institution, or provider receiving the overpayment must 
return the overpayment. At the plan's discretion, the 
overpayment may be deducted from future claims. Should 
legal action be required as a result of fraudulent statements 
or deliberate omissions on the application for coverage or a 
claim for benefits, the defendant will be responsible for 
attorney fees of 25 percent of the overpayment or $1,000, 
whichever is greater. The defendant will also be responsible 
for court costs and legal interest from the date of judicial 
demand until paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1816 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 
§415. Subrogation and Reimbursement 

A. Upon payment of any eligible benefits covered under 
this Plan, the Office of Group Benefits shall succeed and be 
subrogated to all rights of recovery of the covered employee, 
his dependents or other covered persons, or their heirs or 
assigns, for whose benefit payment is made, and they shall 
execute and deliver instruments and papers and do whatever 
is necessary to secure such rights, and shall do nothing after 
loss to prejudice such rights. 

B. The Office of Group Benefits shall be entitled, to the 
extent of any payment made to a covered employee, his 
dependents or other covered persons, to the proceeds of any 
settlement or judgment that may result from the exercise of 
any rights of recovery of a covered employee, his 
dependents or other covered persons, against any person or 
entity legally responsible for the disease, illness, accident or 
injury for which said payment was made. To this end, 
covered employees, their dependents, or other covered 
persons agree to immediately notify the Office of Group 
Benefits of any action taken to attempt to collect any sums 
against any person or entity responsible for the disease, 
illness, accident or injury. 

C. These subrogation and reimbursement rights also 
apply when a covered person recovers under, but not limited 
to, an uninsured or underinsured motorist plan, homeowner's 
plan, renter's plan, medical malpractice plan, worker's 
compensation plan or any general liability plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1817 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1865 (October 2006). 
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§417. Employer Responsibility 
A. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 

submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation to the program on behalf of its employees. 
employees of a participant employer will not, by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to the program, be considered 
agents of the program, and no representation made by any 
such person at any time will change the provisions of this 
Plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform 
OGB when a retiree with OGB coverage returns to full-time 
employment. The employee shall be placed in the Re-
employed retiree category for premium calculation. The Re-
employed retiree premium classification applies to retirees 
with and without Medicare. The premium rates applicable to 
the re-employed retiree premium classification shall be 
identical to the premium rates applicable to the classification 
for retirees without Medicare. 

C. A participant employer that receives a Medicare 
secondary payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the OGB MSP Adjuster 
within 15 days of receipt. If timely forwarded, OGB will 
assume responsibility for medical benefits, interest, fines and 
penalties due to Medicare for a covered employee. If not 
timely forwarded, OGB will assume responsibility only for 
covered plan benefits due to Medicare for a covered 
employee. The participant employer will be responsible for 
interest, fines, and penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1817 (October 1999), amended LR 29:1819 (September 
2003), LR 32:1866 (October 2006). 
§419. Program Responsibility 

A. OGB will administer the plan in accordance with its 
terms, state and federal law, the OGB's established policies, 
interpretations, practices, and procedures. OGB will have 
maximum legal discretionary authority to construe and 
interpret the terms and provisions of the plan, to make 
determinations regarding eligibility for benefits and to 
decide disputes which may arise relative to a covered 
person's rights. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1817 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1866 (October 2006) 
§423. Amendments to or Termination of the Plan 

and/or Contract 
A. OGB has the statutory responsibility of providing 

health and accident and death benefits to covered persons to 
the extent that funds are available. OGB reserves the right to 
terminate or amend the eligibility and benefit provisions of 
the plan from time to time as necessary to prudently 
discharge its duties. Such modifications will be promulgated 
subject to the applicable provisions of law, and nothing 
contained herein shall be construed to guarantee or vest 
benefits for any employee, whether active or retired. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1818 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1866 (October 2006). 

Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

Accidental Injury―a condition occurring as a direct result 
of a traumatic bodily injury sustained solely through 
accidental means from an external force. With respect to 
injuries to teeth, the act of chewing does not constitute an 
external force. 

Appeal―a request by a plan member for and a formal 
review of a medical claim for benefits or an eligibility 
determination. 

Benefit Payment―payment of eligible expenses due or 
owing by a covered person, after applicable deductibles, co-
payments, and coinsurance, and subject to all limitations and 
exclusions, at the rate shown under Percentage Payable in 
the Schedule of Benefits. 

Board of Trustees―repealed. 
Brand Drug―the trademark name of a drug approved by 

the U. S. Food and Drug Administration. 
Calendar Year―repealed. 

* * * 
Child or Children includes― 

1. a legitimate, duly acknowledged, and/or legally 
adopted child of the employee and/or the employee's legal 
spouse's who is dependent upon the employee for support; 

2. a child in the process of being adopted by the 
employee through an agency adoption, who is living in the 
household of the employee, and is or will be included as a 
dependent on the employee's federal income tax return for 
the current or following tax year (if filing is required); 

3. a child in the legal custody of the employee, who 
lives in the household of the employee and is or will be 
included as a dependent on the employee's federal income 
tax return for the current or following tax year (if filing is 
required); 

4. a grandchild of the employee that is not in the legal 
custody of the employee, who is dependent upon the 
employee for support and whose parent is a covered 
dependent. If the employee seeking to cover a grandchild is 
a paternal grandparent, the program will require that the 
biological father, i.e., the covered son of the employee, 
execute an acknowledgement of paternity.  

NOTE: If the employee dependent parent becomes ineligible 
for coverage under the program, the employee's grandchild 
will also be ineligible for coverage, unless the employee has 
legal custody of his/her grandchild. 

COBRA―the federal continuation of coverage laws 
originally enacted in the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended from time to time. 

Committee―repealed. 
Convalescent, Maintenance Care, or Rest 

Cures―treatment or services, regardless of by whom 
recommended or where provided, in which the service could 
be rendered safely and reasonably by oneself, family, or 
other caregivers who are not eligible providers. The services 
are primarily designed to help the patient with daily living 
activities, maintain the patient's present physical and mental 
condition, and/or provide a structured or safe environment. 

Covered Person―an active or retired employee, his/her 
eligible dependent, or any other individual eligible for 
coverage for whom the necessary application forms have 
been completed and for whom the required contribution is 
made. 
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Covered Services―to those health care services for which 
a plan member is entitled to receive benefit payments in 
accordance with the terms of this plan. 

Custodial Care― 
1. care designed to assist an individual in the 

performance of daily living activities (i.e., services which 
constitute personal care such as walking, getting in and out 
of bed, bathing, dressing, eating, and using the toilet) that 
does not require admission to a hospital or other institution 
for the treatment of a disease, illness, accident, or injury, or 
for the performance of surgery; 

2. care primarily intended to provide room and board 
to an individual with or without routine nursing care, 
training in personal hygiene, or other forms of self-care; 

3. supervisory care provided by a physician whose 
patient who is mentally or physically incapacitated and is not 
under specific medical, surgical, or psychiatric treatment, 
when such care is intended to reduce the patient's incapacity 
to the extent necessary to enable the patient to live outside of 
an institution providing medical care, or when, despite 
treatment, there is not reasonable a likelihood that the 
incapacity will be reduced. 

Date Acquired―the date a dependent of a covered 
employee is acquired in the following instances and on the 
following dates only: 

1. legal spouse―the date of marriage; 
2. child or children: 

a. natural child―the date of birth; 
b. child in the process of being adopted: 
c. agency adoption―the date the adoption contract 

was executed between the employee and the adoption 
agency; 

d. private adoption―the date the Act of Voluntary 
Surrender is executed in favor of the employee. The program 
must be furnished with certification by the appropriate clerk 
of court setting forth the date of execution of the Act and the 
date the Act became irrevocable, or the date of the first court 
order granting legal custody, whichever occurs first; 

e. child who lives in the household of the covered 
employee and is currently or will be included as a dependent 
on the employee's federal income tax return―the date of the 
court order granting legal custody; 

f. grandchild of the employee that is not in the legal 
custody of the employee, but who is dependent upon the 
employee for support and whose parent is a covered 
dependent: 
 i. the date of birth of the Grandchild, if all of the 
above requirements are met at the time of birth; or 
 ii. the date on which the coverage becomes 
effective for the covered dependent, if all of the above 
requirements are not met at the time of birth. 

Deductible―the dollar amount that a covered person must 
pay as shown in the schedule of benefits before benefits will 
be paid in a plan year. 

Dependent―any of the following persons who are 
enrolled for coverage as dependents, if they are not also 
covered as an employee: 

1. the covered employee's legal spouse; 
2. a never married child from date of birth up to 21 

years of age and dependent upon the employee for support; 

3. a never married child who is a fulltime student 
under 24 years of age and financially dependent upon the 
employee for support; 

4. a never married child of any age who meets the 
criteria set forth in §103.D, above; 

*** 
Durable Medical Equipment (DME)―equipment which 

can withstand repeated use, is primarily and customarily 
used to serve a medical purpose, is not generally useful to a 
person in the absence of a illness or injury, and is 
appropriate for use in the home. DME includes, but is not 
limited to, items such as wheelchairs, hospital beds, 
respirators, braces (non-dental), custom orthotics which 
must be specially made and not available at retail stores. 

Emergency Medical Condition―a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) such that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in 
placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 
child) in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to bodily 
functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part, 
or with respect to a pregnant woman who is having 
contractions that there is inadequate time to effect a safe 
transfer to another hospital before delivery, or the transfer 
may pose a threat to the health or safety of the woman or 
unborn child. 

Emergency Room Services―medical services eligible for 
reimbursement that are necessary to screen, evaluate, and 
stabilize an emergency medical condition and are provided 
at a hospital emergency room and billed by a hospital. 

Employee―a full-time employee as defined by a 
participant employer and in accordance with state law. 

* * * 
Family Unit Limit―each of three covered members of a 

family unit have met the dollar amount shown in the 
schedule of benefits as plan year deductible for an 
individual. Once the family unit limit is met, the deductibles 
of all other covered members of the family unit will be 
considered satisfied for that plan year. 

Fee Schedule―the maximum allowable charges for 
professional or hospital services adopted by the OGB that 
may be considered as an eligible expense. 

Future Medical Recovery―repealed. 
Generic Drug―a chemically equivalent copy of a "brand 

name" drug. 
Group Health Plan―a plan (including a self-insured plan) 

offered or contributed to, by an employer (including a self-
employed person) or employee organization to provide 
health care to employees, former employees, the employer, 
others associated or formerly associated with the employer 
in a business relationship, and/or their families. 

Health Insurance Coverage―benefits consisting of 
medical care offered by a health insurance issuer under any 
hospital or medical service policy or certificate, hospital or 
medical service plan contract, or HMO contract. 

* * * 
HIPAA―the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 (U.S. Public Law 104-191) and 
Federal Regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 
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Hospital―an institution that is currently licensed as a 
hospital by the state in which services are rendered and is 
not primarily an institution for rest, the aged, the treatment 
of pulmonary tuberculosis, a nursing home, extended care 
facility, remedial training institution, or a facility primarily 
for the treatment of conduct and behavior disorders. 

Incurred Date―the date when a particular service or 
supply is rendered or obtained. When a single charge is 
made for a series of services, each service will bear a 
prorated share of the charge. 

* * * 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit―the maximum amount of 

benefits that will be paid under the plan for all Eligible 
Expenses incurred by a covered person. 

Medically Necessary―a service, treatment, procedure, 
equipment, drug, device, item, or supply, which, in the 
judgment of the program: 

1. is appropriate and consistent with a covered 
person's diagnosis and treatment as well as with nationally 
accepted medical standards; and 

2. is not primarily for personal comfort or 
convenience or Custodial Care. 

Medicare―the health insurance available through 
Medicare laws enacted by the Congress of the United States. 

* * * 
Occupational Therapy―the application of any activity 

one engages in for the purposes of evaluation, interpretation, 
treatment planning, and treatment of problems interfering 
with functional performance in persons impaired by physical 
illness or injury in order to significantly improve 
functioning. 

* * * 
Participating Provider―an EPO, as defined herein. 
Physical Therapy means the evaluation of physical status 

as related to functional abilities and treatment procedures as 
indicated by that evaluation. And licensed for the state where 
services are rendered. 

Physician— 
1. Physician means the following persons, 

appropriately licensed to practice their respective 
professional skills at the time and place the service is 
rendered: 

a. a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.); 
b. a Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.); 
c. a Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.); 
d. a Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.); 
e. a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.); 
f. a Doctor of Chiropractic (D.C.); 
g. a Doctor of Optometry (O.D.); 
h. a psychologist meeting the requirements of the 

National Register of Health Service Providers in 
Psychology; 

i. a mental health counselor; 
j. a substance abuse counselor; 
k. an Audiologist. 

2. The term physician does not include a medical 
doctor in the capacity of supervising interns, residents, 
senior residents, or fellows enrolled in a training program 
who does not personally provide medical treatment or 
perform a surgical procedure for the covered person. 

Plan―coverage offered by the Office of Group Benefits 
under this contract including EPO benefits, prescription drug 

benefits, mental health and substance abuse benefits, and 
comprehensive medical benefits. The term plan as defined 
herein is used interchangeably with the term program as 
defined below. 

* * * 
Plan Year―the period from July 1, or the date the covered 

person first becomes covered under the plan, through the 
next following June 30. Each successive Plan Year will be 
the twelve month period from July 1 through the next 
following June 30. 

PPO―repealed. 
Program―the Office of Group Benefits and/or the plan. 
Provider―one or more entities which offer health care 

services and shall include but not be limited to individuals, 
or groups of physicians, individuals or groups of 
psychologists, nurse midwives, ambulance service 
companies, hospitals, and other health care entities that 
provide covered services to covered individuals. 

Recovery―with respect to subrogation and reimbursement 
(§413) recovery means any and all monies paid to the 
covered person by way of judgment, settlement, or otherwise 
to compensate for losses allegedly caused by injury or 
sickness, whether or not the losses reflect medical or dental 
charges covered by the program. 

Referee―repealed. 
Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation Therapy―care 

concerned with the management and functional ability of 
patients disabled by disease, illness, accident, or injury. 

Reimbursement―repayment to the program for Benefits 
Payments made by the program. 

Retiree― 
1. Retiree means an individual who was a covered 

employee immediately prior to the date of retirement and 
who, upon retirement, satisfied one of the following 
categories: 

a. immediately received retirement benefits from an 
approved state or governmental agency defined benefit plan; 

b. was not eligible for participation in such plan or 
legally opted not to participate in such plan; and either: 
 i. began employment prior to September 15, 
1979, has 10 years of continuous state service, and has 
reached the age of 65; or 
 ii. began employment after September 16, 1979, 
has 10 years of continuous state service, and has reached the 
age of 70; or 
 iii. was employed after July 8, 1992, has 10 years 
of continuous state service, has a credit for a minimum of 40 
quarters in the Social Security system at the time of 
employment, and has reached the age of 65; or 
 iv. maintained continuous coverage with the 
program as an eligible dependent until he/she became 
eligible as a former state employee to receive a retirement 
benefit from an approved state governmental agency defined 
benefit plan; 

c. immediately received retirement benefits from a 
state-approved or state governmental agency-approved 
defined contribution plan and has accumulated the total 
number of years of creditable service which would have 
entitled him/her to receive a retirement allowance from the 
defined benefit plan of the retirement system for which the 
employee would have otherwise been eligible. The 
appropriate state governmental agency or retirement system 
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responsible for administration of the defined contribution 
plan is responsible for certification of eligibility to the Office 
of Group Benefits. 

2. Retiree also means an individual who was a 
covered employee and continued the coverage through the 
provisions of COBRA immediately prior to the date of 
retirement and who, upon retirement, qualified for any of 
Subparagraphs a., b., and c above. 

Room and Board―all expenses necessary to maintain and 
sustain a covered person upon admittance to a hospital and 
during a hospital confinement. This can include, but is not 
limited to, facility charges for the maintenance of the 
covered person's hospital room, dietary and food services, 
nursing services performed by nurses employed by or under 
contract with the hospital, and housekeeping services. 

* * * 
Utilization Management―the process of evaluating the 

necessity, appropriateness, and efficiency of health care 
services against established guidelines and criteria. 

Utilization Review Organization (URO)―an entity that 
has established one or more utilization review programs 
which evaluates the medical necessity, appropriateness, and 
efficiency of the uses of health care services, procedures, 
and facilities. 

Well Adult Care―covered persons age 16 and older and 
means a routine physical examination by a physician that 
may include an influenza vaccination, lab work, and x-rays 
performed as part of the exam in that physician's office, 
when such services are billed by that physician with 
wellness procedure and diagnosis codes. Other health care 
services billed with wellness procedures and diagnosis 
codes, as well as treatment and/or diagnosis of a specific 
illness, will not be considered as well adult care. 

Well Baby Care―covered persons from birth until age 1 
and means routine care to a well, newborn infant that may 
include physical examinations and active immunizations 
provided by a physician when such services are billed by 
that physician with wellness procedure and diagnosis codes. 
Other health care services billed with wellness procedures 
and diagnosis codes, as well as treatment and/or diagnosis of 
a specific illness, will not be considered as well baby care. 

Well Child Care―covered persons from age 1 through age 
15 and means routine physical examinations and active 
immunizations provided by a physician, when such services 
are billed by that physician with wellness procedure and 
diagnosis codes. Other health care services billed with 
wellness procedure and diagnosis codes, as well as treatment 
and/or diagnosis of a specific illness, will not be considered 
as well child care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1820 (October 1999), amended LR 29:335 (March 2003), 
LR 32:1866 (October 2006). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits―EPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. Eligible expenses for professional medical services are 
reimbursed on a fee schedule of maximum allowable 
charges. All eligible expenses are determined in accordance 
with plan limitations and exclusions. 

 
 

Lifetime maximum for all benefits, except outpatient 
prescription drug benefits, per person  $2,000,000 
Lifetime maximum for outpatient prescription drug 
benefits, per person $250,000 

 
1. … 
2. Percentage Payable, Member Co-Payments 

A.2.a. - C.3. ... 
2Participating providers are reimbursed at 100 percent of 
Eligible Expenses up to the maximum benefit; Non-
Participating providers are reimbursed at 70 percent of 
Eligible Expenses up to the maximum benefit 
Services include screenings to detect illness or health risks 
during a Physician office visit. The covered services are based 
on prevailing medical standards and may vary according to 
age and family history.  
Specialized age appropriate wellness (not subject to 
deductible). For a complete list of benefits, see §301(A)24 of 
this Part. 

D. Pre-Natal and Postpartum Maternity. See percentage 
payable after member co-payment and satisfaction of 
applicable deductibles (§701.A.2.a above). $90 one-time 
member copay to include physician delivery charge, all pre-
natal, and one post-partum visit. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1823 (October 1999), amended LR 26: 487 (March 2000), 
LR 27:717, 719 (May 2001), LR 27:1886 (November 2001), LR 
28:476 (March 2002), LR 28:2342, 2343 (November 2002), LR 
28:2509 (December 2002), LR 29:335, 337, 338 (March 2003), LR 
30:1190 (June 2004), LR 32:1869 (October 2006). 

 
Tommy D. Teague 
Chief Executive Officer 

0610#072 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

MCO Plan of Benefits 
(LAC 32:IX.Chapters 1-6) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(1), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
MCO Plan Document. The reason for this action is to 
enhance member clarification and be able to administer 
health care benefits effectively for the program and member. 

Accordingly, OGB hereby adopts the following Rule to 
become effective upon promulgation. 
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Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part IX.  Managed Care Option (MCO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to Be Covered 

NOTE: Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
Program, including the PPO plan, the MCO plan, the MCO 
plan, an HMO plan, or the life insurance plan. 

A. - A.2. … 
3. Effective Dates of Coverage, New Employee, 

Transferring Employee. Coverage for each employee who 
completes the applicable enrollment form and agrees to 
make the required payroll contributions to his participant 
employer is effective as follows. 

a. If employment begins on the first day of the 
month, coverage is effective on the first day of the following 
month (for example, if hired on July 1, coverage will begin 
on August 1). 

b. If employment begins on or after the second day 
of the month, coverage is effective on the first day of the 
second month following employment (for example, if hired 
on July 15, coverage will begin on September 1). 

c. Employee coverage will not become effective 
unless the employee completes an enrollment form within 30 
days following the date of employment. If completed after 
30 days following the date of employment, the employee 
will be considered an overdue applicant. 

d. An employee who transfers employment to 
another participating employer must complete a transfer 
form within 30 days following the date of transfer to 
maintain coverage without interruption. If completed after 
30 days following the date of transfer, the employee will be 
considered an overdue applicant. 

4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Employment for Health 
Benefits and Life Insurance 

A.4.a. - B.1.a. … 
b. An employee retired from a participant employer 

may not be covered as an employee. 
c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 

applicants. 
2. Effective Date of Coverage 

a. Retiree coverage will be effective on the first day 
of the month following the date of retirement if the retiree 
and participant employer have agreed to make and are 
making the required contributions (For example, if retired 
July 15, coverage will begin August 1). 

C. - C.2. … 
a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage will be 

effective on the date the employee becomes eligible for 
dependent coverage. 

C.2.b. - D. … 
1. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to all 

eligible employees who apply for coverage after 30 days 
from the date the employee became eligible for coverage and 
to all eligible dependents of employees and retirees for 
whom the application for coverage was not completed 
within 30 days from the date acquired. 

D.2.-E.1.c. … 
2. After Acquired Dependents. Special enrollment will 

be permitted for employees or dependents for whom the 
option to enroll for coverage was previously declined when 
the employee acquires a new dependent by marriage, birth, 
adoption, or placement for adoption. 

a. A special enrollment application must be made 
within 30 days of either the termination date of the prior 
coverage or the date the new dependent is acquired. If it is 
made more than 30 days after eligibility, they will be 
considered overdue applicants subject to a pre-existing 
condition limitation. 

b. … 
 i. for loss of other coverage or marriage, the first 
day of the month following the date the program receives all 
required forms for enrollment; 
 ii. - iii. … 

c. Special enrollment applicants must complete the 
"Acknowledgment of Pre-existing Condition" form and 
"Statement of Physical Condition" form. 

E.2.d. - G.3. … 
H. Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage Option for 

Retirees (effective July 1, 1999). Retirees who are eligible to 
participate in a Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage plan 
who cancel coverage with the program upon enrollment in a 
Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage plan may re-enroll in 
the program upon withdrawal from or termination of 
coverage in the Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage plan, 
at the earlier of the following: 

H.1. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:883 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1870 (October 2006). 
§103. Continued Coverage 

A. … 
1. Leave of Absence without Pay, Employer 

Contributions to Premiums 
a. A participating employee who is granted leave of 

absence without pay due to a service related injury may 
continue coverage and the participating employer shall 
continue to pay its portion of health plan premiums for up to 
12 months. 

b. A participating employee who suffers a service 
related injury that meets the definition of a total and 
permanent disability under the workers' compensation laws 
of Louisiana may continue coverage and the participating 
employer shall continue to pay its portion of the premiums 
until the employee becomes gainfully employed or is placed 
on state disability retirement. 

c. A participating employee who is granted leave of 
absence without pay in accordance with the federal Family 
and Medical Leave Act (F.M.L.A.) may continue coverage 
during the time of such leave and the participating employer 
may continue to pay its portion of premiums. 

2. Leave of Absence without Pay; No Employer 
Contributions to Premiums. An employee granted leave of 
absence without pay for reasons other than those stated in 
Paragraph A, may continue to participate in an Office of 
Group Benefits benefit plan for a period up to 12 months 
upon the employee's payment of the full premiums due. 

B. - B.2. … 
C. Surviving Dependents/Spouse 

1. Benefits under the plan for covered dependents of a 
deceased covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurred unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage. 
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a. The surviving legal spouse of an employee or 
retiree may continue coverage unless or until the surviving 
spouse is or becomes eligible for coverage in a Group Health 
Plan other than Medicare. 

b. The surviving never married dependent child of 
an employee or retiree may continue coverage unless or until 
such dependent child is or becomes eligible for coverage 
under a Group Health Plan other than Medicare, or until 
attainment of the termination age for children, whichever 
occurs first. 

c. Surviving dependents will be entitled to receive 
the same participant employer premium contributions as 
employees and retirees, subject to the provisions of 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 42, Section 851 and rules 
promulgated pursuant thereto by the Office of Group 
Benefits. 

d. Coverage provided by the Civilian Health and 
Medical Program for the Uniformed Service 
(CHAMPUS/TRICARE) or successor program will not be 
sufficient to terminate the coverage of an otherwise eligible 
surviving legal spouse or a dependent child. 

2. A surviving spouse or dependent child cannot add 
new dependents to continued coverage other than a child of 
the deceased employee born after the employee's death. 

3. Participant Employer/Dependent Responsibilities 
a. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 

and surviving covered dependent to notify the program 
within 60 days of the death of the employee or retiree. 

b. The program will notify the surviving dependents 
of their right to continue coverage. 

c. Application for continued coverage must be 
made in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification, and premium payment must be made within 45 
days of the date continued coverage is elected for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. 

d. Coverage for the surviving spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
 ii. eligibility of the surviving spouse for coverage 
under a Group Health Plan other than Medicare. 

e. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
 ii. eligibility of the surviving dependent child for 
coverage under any Group Health Plan other than Medicare; 
 iii. the attainment of the termination age for 
children. 

4. The provisions of Paragraphs 1 through 3 this 
Subsection are applicable to surviving dependents who, on 
or after July 1, 1999, elect to continue coverage following 
the death of an employee or retiree. Continued coverage for 
surviving dependents who made such election before July 1, 
1999, shall be governed by the rules in effect at the time. 

D. - D.3. … 
E. Military Service. Members of the National Guard or 

of the United States military reserves who are called to 
active military duty, and who are OGB participating 
employees or covered dependents will have access to 
continued coverage under OGB's health and life plans. 

1. Health Plan Participation. When called to active 
military duty, participating employees and covered 
dependents may: 

a. continue participation in the OGB health plan 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
the participating employer may continue to pay its portion of 
premiums; or 

b. cancel participation in the OGB health plan 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
such plan participants may apply for reinstatement of OGB 
coverage within 30 days of: 
 i. the date of the employee's reemployment with 
a participating employer; 
 ii. the dependent's date of discharge from active 
military duty; or 
 iii. the date of termination of extended health 
coverage provided as a benefit of active military duty, such 
as TRICARE Reserve Select; 
 iv. plan participants who elect this option and 
timely apply for reinstatement of OGB coverage will not be 
subject to a pre-existing condition (PEC) limitation, and the 
lapse in coverage during active military duty or extended 
military coverage will not result in any adverse 
consequences with respect to the participation schedule set 
forth in R.S. 42:851(E) and the corresponding rules 
promulgated by OGB. 

2. Life Insurance. When called to active military duty, 
employees with OGB life insurance coverage may: 

a. continue participation in the OGB life insurance 
during the period of active military service, however, the 
accidental death and dismemberment coverage will not be in 
effect during the period of active military duty; or 

b. cancel participation in the OGB life insurance 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
such employee may apply for reinstatement of OGB life 
insurance within 30 days of the date of the employee's 
reemployment with a participating employer; employees 
who elect this option and timely apply for reinstatement of 
OGB life insurance will not be required to provide evidence 
of insurability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:885 (June 2003), amended LR 30:1191 (June 2004), LR 
32:1870 (October 2006). 
§105. COBRA 

A. Employees 
1. Coverage under this plan for a covered employee 

will terminate on the last day of the calendar month during 
which employment is terminated (voluntarily or 
involuntarily) or significantly reduced, the employee no 
longer meets the definition of an employee, or coverage 
under a leave of absence has expired, unless the covered 
employee elects to continue coverage at the employee's own 
expense. Employees terminated for gross misconduct are not 
eligible for COBRA coverage. 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
notify the program within 30 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated because of any of the foregoing 
events, and the program will notify the employee within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. 
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3. Application for continued coverage must be made 
in writing to the program within 60 days of the date of the 
election notification and premium payment must be made 
within 45 days of the date the employee elects continued 
coverage, for coverage retroactive to the date coverage 
would have otherwise terminated. After the first payment for 
COBRA coverage, monthly payments for each subsequent 
month of COBRA coverage are due on the first day of the 
month for that month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 
30 days after the first day of the month will be provided for 
each monthly payment. 

4. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 18 months from the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

5. If employment for a covered employee is 
terminated (voluntarily or involuntarily) or significantly 
reduced, the employee no longer meets the definition of an 
employee, or a leave of absence has expired, and the 
employee has not elected to continue coverage, the covered 
spouse and/or covered dependent children may elect to 
continue coverage at his/her/their own expense. The elected 
coverage will be subject to the above-stated notification and 
termination provisions. 

B. Surviving Dependents 
1. Coverage under this plan for covered surviving 

dependents of an employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurs, unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage at his/her own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
or surviving covered dependents to notify the program 
within 30 days of the death of the employee or retiree. The 
program will notify the surviving dependents of their right to 
continue coverage. Application for continued coverage must 
be made in writing to the program within 60 days of the date 
of the election notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date the continued coverage was elected, retroactive to 
the date coverage would have terminated. After the first 
payment for COBRA coverage, monthly payments for each 
subsequent month of COBRA coverage are due on the first 
day of the month for that month's COBRA coverage. A grace 
period of 30 days after the first day of the month will be 
provided for each monthly payment. 

4. Coverage for the surviving dependents under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan for 

a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

C. Divorced Spouse 
1. Coverage under this plan for an employee's spouse 

will terminate on the last day of the month during which 
dissolution of the marriage occurs by virtue of a legal decree 
of divorce from the employee or retiree, unless the covered 
divorced spouse elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the divorced spouse to 
notify the program within 60 days from the date of divorce 
and the program will notify the divorced spouse within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of the election notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date continued coverage is elected, for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. After the first payment for COBRA coverage, 
monthly payments for each subsequent month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for the divorced spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

D. Dependent Children 
1. Coverage under this plan for a covered dependent 

child of a covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month during which the dependent child no 
longer meets the definition of an eligible covered dependent, 
unless the dependent elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the dependent to notify the 
program within 60 days of the date coverage would have 
terminated and the program will notify the dependent within 
14 days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application 
for continued coverage must be made in writing to the 
program within 60 days of receipt of the election 
notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date the continued coverage is elected, for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. After the first payment for COBRA coverage, 
monthly payments for each subsequent month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 
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4. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

E.  Dependents of COBRA Participants 
1. If a covered terminated employee has elected to 

continue coverage and if during the period of continued 
coverage the covered spouse or a covered dependent child 
becomes ineligible for coverage due to: 

a. death of the employee; 
b. divorce from the employee; or 
c. a dependent child no longer meets the definition 

of an eligible covered dependent; then, the spouse and/or 
dependent child may elect to continue COBRA coverage at 
his/her own expense. Coverage will not be continued beyond 
36 months from the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. 

2. It is the responsibility of the spouse and/or the 
dependent child to notify the program within 60 days of the 
date COBRA coverage would have terminated. 

3. Monthly payments for each month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

F. Disability COBRA 
1. If a covered employee or covered dependent is 

determined by the Social Security Administration or by the 
program staff (in the case of a person who is ineligible for 
Social Security disability benefits due to insufficient 
"quarters" of employment), to have been totally disabled on 
the date the covered person became eligible for continued 
coverage or within the initial 18 months of coverage, 
coverage under this plan for the covered person who is 
totally disabled may be extended at his or her own expense 
up to a maximum of 29 months from the date coverage 
would have otherwise terminated. 

2. To qualify the covered person must: 
a. submit a copy of his or her Social Security 

Administration's disability determination to the program 
before the initial 18-month continued coverage period 
expires and within 60 days after the latest of: 

 i. the date of issuance of the Social Security 
Administration's disability determination; and 
 ii. the date on which the qualified beneficiary 
loses (or would lose) coverage under the terms of the plan as 
a result of the covered employee's termination or reduction 
of hours; 

b. in the case of a person who is ineligible for 
Social Security disability benefits due to insufficient 
"quarters" of employment, submit proof of total disability to 
the program before the initial 18-month continued coverage 
period expires. The staff and medical director of the program 
will make the determination of total disability based upon 
medical evidence, not conclusions, presented by the 
applicant's physicians, work history, and other relevant 
evidence presented by the applicant. 

3. For purposes of eligibility for continued coverage 
under this Section, total disability means the inability to do 
any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to last for a continuous period of 12 months. To 
meet this definition one must have a severe impairment 
which makes one unable to do his previous work or any 
other substantial gainful activity which exists in the national 
economy, based upon a person's residual functional capacity, 
age, education, and work experience. 

4. Monthly payments for each month of extended 
COBRA coverage are due on the first day of the month for 
that month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days 
after the first day of the month will be provided for each 
monthly payment. 

5. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 29 months from the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees; or 

f. 30 days after the month in which the Social 
Security Administration determines that the covered person 
is no longer disabled. (The covered person must report the 
determination to the program within 30 days after the date of 
issuance by the Social Security Administration.) In the case 
of a person who is ineligible for Social Security disability 
benefits due to insufficient "quarters" of employment, 30 
days after the month in which the program determines that 
the covered person is no longer disabled. 

G. Medicare COBRA 
1. If an employee becomes entitled to Medicare less 

than 18 months before the date the employee's eligibility for 
benefits under this plan terminates, the period of continued 
coverage available for the employee's covered dependents 
will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months from the date of the employee's 

Medicare entitlement; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
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d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 
after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

2. Monthly payments for each month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

H. Miscellaneous Provisions. During the period of 
continuation, benefits will be identical to those provided to 
others enrolled in this plan under its standard eligibility 
provisions for employees and retirees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:886 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1871 (October 2006). 
§107. Change of Classification 

A. Adding or Deleting Dependents. The plan member 
must notify the program when a dependent is added to or 
deleted from the plan member's coverage that results in a 
change in the class of coverage. Notice must be provided 
within 30 days of the addition or deletion. 

B. Change in Coverage 
1. When there is a change in family status (e.g., 

marriage, birth of child) that affects the class of coverage, 
the change in classification will be effective on the date of 
the event. Application for the change must be made within 
30 days of the date of the event. 

2. When the addition of a dependent changes the class 
of coverage, the additional premium will be charged for the 
entire month if the date of change occurs before the fifteenth 
day of the month. If the date of change occurs on or after the 
fifteenth day of the month, an additional premium will not 
be charged until the first day of the following month. 

C. Notification of Change. It is the employee's 
responsibility to notify the program of any change in 
classification of coverage that affects the employee's 
contribution amount. If failure to notify is later determined, 
it will be corrected on the first day of the following month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:887 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1874 (October 2006). 
Chapter 2. Termination of Coverage 
§201. Active Employee and Retired Employee 

Coverage 
A. … 

1. the date the program terminates; 
2. the date the group or agency employing the covered 

employee terminates or withdraws from the program; 
3. the date contribution is due if the group or agency 

fails to pay the required contribution for the covered 
employee; 

4. the date contribution is due if the covered person 
fails to make any contribution which is required for the 
continuation of coverage; 

5. the last day of the month of the covered employee's 
death; 

6. the last day of the month in which the covered 
employee ceases to be eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:888 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1874 (October 2006). 
§203. Dependent Coverage 

A. … 
1. the last day of the month the employee ceases to be 

covered; 
2. the last day of the month in which the dependent, as 

defined in this plan, ceases to be an eligible dependent of the 
covered employee; 

3. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1) 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:888 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1874 (October 2006). 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Eligible Expenses 

A. Eligible expenses are the charges incurred for the 
following services, drugs, supplies, and devices, when 
performed, prescribed, or ordered by a physician and 
medically necessary for the treatment of a covered person. 
All charges are subject to applicable deductibles, 
copayments, and/or coinsurance amounts (unless otherwise 
specifically provided), Fee Schedule limitations, Schedule of 
Benefits, exclusions, and other provisions of the plan. A 
charge is incurred on the date that the service, drug, supply, 
or device is performed or furnished. 

1. - 3. … 
4. anesthesia and its administration when ordered by 

the operating physician and administered by an appropriately 
licensed nurse anesthetist or physician in conjunction with a 
covered surgical service; 

5. - 6. … 
7. blood, blood derivatives, and blood processing, 

when not replaced; 
8. - 8.c. … 

d. ostomy supplies, except supplies for nutritional 
and/or enteral feeding; 

e. - l. … 
9. services of a licensed speech therapist when pre-

approved through Outpatient Procedure Certification (§309, 
below) for the purpose of restoring partial or complete loss 
of speech resulting from stroke, surgery, cancer, radiation 
laryngitis, cerebral palsy, accidental injury, or other similar 
structural or neurological disease, limited to 26 visits per 
plan year; 

10. … 
11. services rendered by a Doctor of Dental Surgery 

(D.D.S.) or Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.) for the 
treatment of accidental injury to a covered person's natural 
teeth, under the following conditions: 

a. coverage was in effect with respect to the 
individual at the time of the accident; 

b. treatment commences within 90 days from the 
date of the accident and is completed within two years from 
the date of the accident; 
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c. coverage remains continuously in effect with 
respect to the covered person during the course of the 
treatment; 

d. eligible expenses are limited to the cost of 
treatment as estimated at the time of initial treatment; 

e. eligible expenses may include dental braces and 
orthodontic appliances, upon review and approval by the 
program's dental consultant, and only under the following 
circumstances: 
 i. to return the alveolar alignment to its former 
state prior to a covered dental accident. The program will 
allow benefits for orthopedic correction to establish 
reasonable occlusal function; 
 ii. a covered surgery that requires the use of 
braces for stabilization; 
 iii. severe skeletal deformity (i.e., cleft palate). 
The program will allow benefits for orthopedic correction to 
establish reasonable occlusal function; 

f. as used herein accidental injury means a 
condition occurring as a direct result of a traumatic bodily 
injury sustained solely through accidental means from an 
external force, and with respect to injuries to teeth, the act of 
chewing does not constitute an external force; 

12. durable medical equipment subject to the lifetime 
maximum payment limitation as listed in the Schedule of 
Benefits. The program will require written certification by 
the treating physician to substantiate the medical necessity 
for the equipment and the length of time that it will be used. 
The purchase of durable medical equipment will be 
considered an eligible expense only upon a showing that the 
rental cost would exceed the purchase price. Under no 
circumstances may the eligible expense for an item of 
durable medical equipment exceed the purchase price of 
such item; 

13. - 17. … 
18. orthopedic shoes prescribed by a physician and 

completely custom built, limit one pair per plan year; 
19. acupuncture when rendered by a medical doctor 

licensed in the state in which the services are rendered; 
20. - 20.d. … 
21. services of a physical therapist or occupational 

therapist licensed in the state in which the services are 
rendered, under the following conditions: 

a. services are prescribed by a licensed physician 
and rendered in an individual setting; 

b. restorative potential exists; 
c. services meet the generally accepted standards 

for medical practice; 
d. services are reasonable and medically necessary 

for treatment of a disease, illness, accident, injury, or post-
operative condition; 

e. services are approved through case management 
when rendered in the home; 

f. services are limited to 50 visits per plan year. 
Additional visits subject to approval by utilization 
management; 

22. cardiac rehabilitation when: 
a. rendered at a medical facility under the 

supervision of a licensed physician; 
b. - c. … 

NOTE: Charges incurred for dietary instruction, educational 
services, behavior modification literature, biofeedback, health 
club membership, exercise equipment, preventive programs, 

and any other items excluded by the plan are not covered, 
unless provided for under Paragraph 30 of this Subsection. 

23. preventive care consisting of routine physical 
examinations, lab work, and immunizations (including a 
yearly influenza vaccination) as follows: 

a. well baby care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. newborn facility and professional charges; 
 ii. birth to age 1―all office visits for scheduled 
immunizations and screening; 

b. well child care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. age 1 until age 3―three office visits per year 
for scheduled immunizations and screening; 
 ii. age 3 until age 15―one office visit per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 

c. well adult care expenses, not subject to the 
annual deductible, but limited to a maximum benefit of 
$200.00: 
 i. age 16 until age 40―once during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50―once during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and over―once during a 1-year period. 

NOTE: Benefits for well baby care, well child care and 
routine physical examinations for well adult care, including 
immunizations, are based on the U.S. Preventive Services 
Task Force guidelines and recommendations of the National 
Immunization Program of the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention. All services must be rendered on an outpatient 
basis to monitor and maintain health and to prevent illness. 

24. specialized, age-appropriate wellness care, not 
subject to the annual deductible, as follows: 

a. one Pap test for cervical cancer per plan year; 
b. mammographic examinations performed 

according to the following schedule: 
 i. one mammogram during the five-year period a 
person is 35-39 years of age; 
 ii. one mammogram every two plan years for any 
person who is 40-49 years of age; 
 iii. one mammogram every 12 months for any 
person who is 50 years of age or older; 

c. testing for detection of prostate cancer, including 
digital rectal examination and prostate-specific antigen 
testing, once every 12 months for men over the age of 50 
years; 

25. - 26. … 
27. services rendered by the following, when billed by 

the supervising physician: 
a. perfusionists and registered nurse assistants 

assisting in the operating room; 
b. physician assistants and registered nurse 

practitioners; 
28. - 30.c. … 
31. testing of sleep disorders only when the tests are 

performed at either: 
a. a facility accredited by the American Academy of 

Sleep Medicine or the Joint Commission on Accreditation of 
Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO); or 

b. a sleep study facility located within a healthcare 
facility accredited by JCAHO. No benefits are payable for 
surgical treatment of sleep disorders (including LAUP) 
except following demonstrated failure of non-surgical 
treatment and upon approval by the program; 
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32. - 33.c. … 
34. treatment provided in accordance with a clinical 

trial for cancer, including costs of investigational treatments 
and of associated protocol-related patient care if all of the 
following criteria are met: 

a. treatment is being provided with a therapeutic or 
palliative intent for patients with cancer, or for the 
prevention or early detection of cancer; 

b. treatment is being provided or the studies are 
being conducted in a Phase II, Phase III, or Phase IV clinical 
trial for cancer; 

c. treatment is being provided in accordance with a 
clinical trial approved by one of the following entities: 
 i. one of the United States National Institutes of 
Health; 
 ii. a cooperative group funded by one of the 
United States National Institutes of Health; 
 iii. the FDA in the form of an investigational new 
drug application; 
 iv. the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; 
 v. the United States Department of Defense; 
 vi. a federally funded general clinical research 
center;  
 vii. the Coalition of National Cancer Cooperative 
Groups; 

d. the proposed protocol has been reviewed and 
approved by a qualified institutional review board which 
operates in this state and which has a multiple project 
assurance contract approved by the office of protection from 
research risks; 

e. the facility and personnel providing the protocol 
provided the treatment within their scope of practice, 
experience, and training and are capable of doing so by 
virtue of their experience, training, and volume of patients 
treated to maintain expertise; 

f. there is no clearly superior, non-investigational 
approach; 

g. the available clinical or preclinical data provide a 
reasonable expectation that the treatment will be at least as 
efficacious as the non- investigational alternative; and 

h. the patient has signed an institutional review 
board-approved consent form. 

B. Emergency Services. Subject to all applicable terms 
of the plan, emergency services will be considered eligible 
expenses whether rendered by a participating provider or 
non-participating provider, as follows. 

1. Emergency services provided to a covered person 
who is later determined not to have required emergency 
services will be considered eligible expenses except: 

a. when the covered person's medical condition 
would not have led a prudent lay person, acting reasonably 
and possessing an average knowledge of health and 
medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate medical 
attention could reasonably be expected to result in serious 
jeopardy to health, serious impairment to bodily functions, 
or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ, unless the 
covered person was referred for emergency services by a 
participating provider or by an agent of OGB; or 

b. when there was material misrepresentation, 
fraud, omission, or clerical error. 

2. If a covered person requires hospitalization at a 
non-participating provider medically necessary inpatient 
services rendered by the non-participating provider will be 
considered eligible expenses until the covered person can be 
transferred to a participating provider. 

3. OGB must be notified of the emergency services 
within 48 hours following commencement of treatment or 
admission, or as soon as medical circumstances permit. See 
also §307.C regarding the requirement for pre-admission 
certification (PAC) for emergency admissions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:888 (June 2003), amended LR 30:1191 (June 2004), LR 31:440 
(February 2005), LR 32:1874 (October 2006). 
§303. Fee Schedule 

A. The fee schedule establishes the maximum allowable 
charges for eligible expenses. The fee schedule applies to 
both contracted (MCO) health care providers, who have 
entered into agreements with OGB regarding reimbursement 
under this plan, and to non-contracted (non-MCO) health 
care providers who have not entered into such agreements. 

B. Plan members may be subject to greater financial 
responsibility for services, drugs, supplies, and devices 
provided by non-contracted health care providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:890 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1876 (October 2006). 
§305. Automated Claims Adjusting 

A. OGB utilizes commercially licensed software that 
applies all claims against its medical logic program to 
identify improperly billed charges and charges for which this 
plan provides no benefits. Any claim with diagnosis or 
procedure codes deemed inadequate or inappropriate will be 
automatically reduced or denied. Providers accepting 
assignment of benefits cannot bill the plan member for the 
differential on the denial amount, in whole or in part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:890 (June 2003), LR 32:1876 (October 2006). 
§307. Utilization Review―Pre-Admission 

Certification, Continued Stay Review 
A. … 
B. For a routine vaginal delivery, PAC is not required for 

a stay of two days or less. If the mother's stay exceeds or is 
expected to exceed two days, PAC is required within 24 
hours after delivery or on the date on which any 
complications arose, whichever is applicable. If the baby's 
stay exceeds the mother's stay, PAC is required within 72 
hours of the mother's discharge, and a separate pre-
certification number must be obtained for the baby. In the 
case of a Caesarean section, PAC is required if the mother's 
stay exceeds or is expected to exceed four days. 

C. - C.4. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:890 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1876 (October 2006). 
§309. Outpatient Procedure Certification (OPC) 

A. The purpose of OPC is for the plan to certify that 
particular outpatient procedures and therapies are medically 
necessary. If OPC is not obtained when required, no benefits 
are payable under this plan. 

B. OPC is required on the following procedures: 
1. - 3. … 
4. all PET scans and MRI's, as follows: 

a.  brain/head; 
b. upper extremity; 
c. lower extremity; 
d. spine; 

5. - 7.d. … 
8. 23 hour observation; 
9. hyperbaric treatment. 

C. - C.2. … 
D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:891 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1877 (October 2006). 
§311. Case Management 

A. - D.3.b. … 
E. - E.8. Repealed. 
F. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:891 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1877 (October 2006). 
§313. Dental Surgical Benefits 

A. … 
B. If a covered person requires dental treatment in a 

hospital setting that is otherwise an eligible expense, the 
plan will provide benefits for anesthesia rendered in the 
hospital and associated hospital charges. Prior authorization 
for hospitalization for dental treatment is required in the 
same manner as prior authorization is required for other 
covered medical services. 

C. Eligible expenses incurred in connection with the 
removal of impacted teeth, including pre-operative and post-
operative care, anesthesia, radiology, pathology services, and 
facility charges, are subject to a deductible, co-insurance, 
and the maximum benefit provisions of the plan. 

D. The provisions of this section shall not apply to 
treatment rendered for Temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) 
diseases or disorders. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:891 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1877 (October 2006). 
§315. Medicare Reduction 

A. … 
B. Retiree 100-Medicare COB―Upon enrollment and 

payment of the additional monthly premium, a plan member 
and dependents who are covered under Medicare Parts A and 
B (both) may choose to have full coordination of benefits 

with Medicare. Enrollment must be made within 30 days of 
eligibility for Medicare, or within 30 days of retirement if 
already eligible for Medicare, and at the annual enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:891 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1877 (October 2006). 
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions 

A. No benefits are provided under this plan for the 
following: 

1. injury compensable under any worker's 
compensation program, regardless of whether the patient has 
filed a claim for benefits. This applies to compensation 
provided on an expense-incurred basis or blanket settlements 
for past and future losses; 

2. maintenance therapy consisting of convalescent, 
skilled nursing, sanitarium, custodial care, assisted living 
facilities, or rest cures designed to assist in daily living 
activities, maintain present physical and/or mental condition, 
or provide a structured or safe environment; 

3. expenses for elective, non-therapeutic voluntary 
abortions (abortions performed for reasons other than to save 
the life of the mother); 

4. injuries sustained by a covered person while in an 
aggressor role; 

5. expenses incurred as a result of a covered person's 
commission or attempted commission of an illegal act; 

6. services, supplies, or treatment for cosmetic 
purposes, including cosmetic surgery and any cosmetic 
complications of cosmetic surgery, unless necessary for the 
immediate repair of a deformity caused by a disease and/or 
injury that occurs while coverage is in force. No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred in connection with the 
treatment of any body part not affected by the disease and/or 
injury; 

7. shoes and related items, such as wedges, cookies, 
and arch supports; 

8. dental and orthodontic services, appliances, 
supplies, and devices, including, but not limited to the 
following: 

a. dental braces and orthodontic appliances, except 
as specifically provided in §301.A.11.e of this Part; 

b. treatment of periodontal disease; 
c. dentures, dental implants, and any surgery for 

their use, except if needed as the result of an accident that 
meets the program's requirements;  

d. treatment for Temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) 
diseases or disorders, except as specifically provided in 
§301.A.28 of this Part; 

e. expenses incurred for services rendered by a 
dentist or oral surgeon and any ancillary or related services, 
except for covered dental surgical procedures, as specifically 
set forth herein, dental procedures which fall under the 
guidelines of treatment of accidental injury, procedures 
necessitated as a result of or secondary to cancer, or oral and 
maxillofacial surgeries which are shown to the satisfaction 
of the program to be medically necessary, non-dental, non-
cosmetic procedures; 

9. medical services, supplies, treatments, and 
prescription drugs provided without charge to the covered 
person or for which the covered person is not legally 
obligated to pay; 
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10. maternity expenses incurred by any person other 
than the employee or the employee's legal spouse; 

11. personal convenience items including, but not 
limited to, admit kits, bedside kits, telephone, television, 
guest meals, and beds, and charges for luxury 
accommodations in any hospital or allied health facility 
provided primarily for the patient's convenience which are 
not deemed medically necessary by the program; 

12. charges for services, supplies, treatment, drugs, and 
devices which are in excess of the maximum allowable 
under the Medical Fee Schedule, Outpatient Surgical Facility 
Fee Schedule, or any other limitations of the plan; 

13. services, supplies, treatment, drugs, devices, and 
deluxe medical equipment which are not deemed medically 
necessary by the program; 

14. services rendered for remedial reading and 
recreational, visual, and behavioral modification therapy, 
biofeedback, pain rehabilitation control and/or therapy, and 
dietary or educational instruction for all diseases and/or 
illnesses, except diabetes; 

15. services and supplies for the treatment of and/or 
related to gender dysphoria or reverse sterilization; 

16. artificial organ implants, penile implants, 
transplantation of non-human organs, and any surgery and 
other treatment, services, or supplies, related to such 
procedures, or to complications related to such procedures; 

17. expenses subsequent to the initial diagnosis for 
infertility and complications, including but not limited to, 
services, drugs, procedures, or devices to achieve fertility, 
in-vitro fertilization, low tubal transfer, artificial 
insemination, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, embryo 
transfer, gamete transfer, zygote transfer, surrogate 
parenting, donor semen, donor eggs, and reversal of 
sterilization procedures; 

18. non-medical supplies such as air conditioners 
and/or filters, dehumidifiers, air purifiers, wigs or toupees, 
heating pads, cold devices, home enema equipment, rubber 
gloves, swimming pools, saunas, whirlpool baths, home 
pregnancy tests, lift chairs, devices or kits to stimulate the 
penis, exercise equipment, any other items not normally 
considered medical supplies, and any items the program 
determines are not medical supplies; 

19. administrative fees, interest, penalties, or sales tax; 
20. marriage counseling, family relations counseling, 

divorce counseling, parental counseling, job counseling, and 
career counseling; 

21. charges for physician services rendered to a 
covered person over the telephone or in a non-face-to-face 
setting; 

22. radial keratotomy, laser surgery, and any other 
procedures, services, or supplies for the correction of 
refractive errors of the eyes; 

23. services, supplies, surgeries, and treatments for 
excess body fat, resection of excess skin and/or fat following 
weight loss or pregnancy, and/or obesity, and morbid 
obesity; 

24. hearing aids and any examination to determine the 
fitting or necessity of hearing aids, except as specifically 
provided for in §301.A.33 of this Part; 

25. hair plugs and/or transplants; 
26. routine physical examinations and/or 

immunizations not provided for under eligible expenses; 

27. eye examinations, glasses, and contact lenses, 
except as specifically provided for as an eligible expense in 
§301.A.15 of this Part; 

28. diagnostic or treatment measures that are not 
recognized as generally accepted medical practice; 

29. medical supplies not listed under eligible expenses; 
30. treatment or services for mental health and 

substance abuse provided outside the treatment plan 
developed by the program's managed care contractor or by 
therapists with whom or at facilities with which the 
program's managed care contractor does not have a contract; 

31. genetic testing, except when determined to be 
medically necessary during a covered pregnancy; 

32. services rendered by a private-duty Registered 
Nurse (R.N.) or by a private-duty Licensed Practical Nurse 
(L.P.N.); 

33. services rendered by a physician or other health 
care provider related to the patient by blood, adoption, or 
marriage; 

34. expenses for services rendered by a physician or 
other health care provider who is not licensed in the state 
where such services are rendered or in any facility not 
holding a valid license in the state and for the services 
rendered; 

35. facility fees for services rendered in a physician's 
office or in any facility not approved by the federal Health 
Care Finance Administration for Medicare reimbursement; 

36. glucometers; 
37. augmentative communication devices; 
38. charges to obtain medical records or any other 

information needed and/or required to adjudicate a claim; 
39. charges greater than the global allowance for any 

laboratory, pathology, or radiological procedure; 
40. speech therapy or the services of a speech therapist 

except as specifically provided in §301.A.9. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1834 (October 1999), amended LR 26:488 (March 2000), 
LR 27:720 (May 2001), LR 28:2343 (November 2002), LR 29:892 
(June 2003), LR 31:441 (February 2005), LR 32:1877 (October 
2006). 
§323. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 
approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor that require a prescription and are dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company. 

1. These include and shall not be limited to: 
a. insulin; 
b. Retin-A dispensed for covered persons under the 

age of 27; 
c. Vitamin B12 injections; 
d. prescription potassium chloride; and 
e. over-the-counter diabetic supplies including, but 

not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. 
2. In addition, this plan allows benefits limited to 

$200 per month for expenses incurred for the purchase of 
low protein food products for the treatment of inherited 
metabolic diseases if the low protein food products are 
medically necessary and are obtained from a source 
approved by the OGB. Such expenses shall be subject to 
coinsurance and co-payments relating to prescription drug 
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benefits. In connection with this benefit, the following words 
shall have the following meanings: 

a. "inherited metabolic disease" shall mean a 
disease caused by an inherited abnormality of body 
chemistry and shall be limited to: 
 i. Phenylketonuria (PKU); 
 ii. Maple Syrup Urine Disease (MSUD); 
 iii. Methylmalonic Acidemia (MMA); 
 iv. Isovaleric Acidemia (IVA); 
 v. Propionic Acidemia; 
 vi. Glutaric Acidemia; 
 vii. Urea Cycle Defects; or 
 viii.  Tyrosinemia; 

b. "low protein food products" mean food products 
that are especially formulated to have less than one gram of 
protein per serving and are intended to be used under the 
direction of a physician for the dietary treatment of an 
inherited metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall 
not include natural foods that are naturally low in protein. 

B. The following drugs, medicines, and related services 
and supplies are not covered: 

1. appetite suppressant drugs; 
2. dietary supplements; 
3. topical forms of Minoxidil; 
4. Retin-A dispensed for a covered person over age 

26; 
5. amphetamines dispensed for diagnoses other than 

Attention Deficit Disorder or Narcolepsy; 
6. nicotine, gum, patches, or other products, services, 

or programs intended to assist an individual to reduce or 
cease smoking, or other use of tobacco products; 

7. nutritional or parenteral therapy; 
8. vitamins and minerals; 
9. drugs available over the counter; 
10. serostim dispensed for any diagnoses or therapeutic 

purposes other than AIDS wasting; 
11. drugs prescribed for the treatment of impotence, 

except following the surgical removal of the prostate gland; 
and 

12. glucometers. 
C. - C.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:893 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1878 (October 2006). 
Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§401. Statement of Contractual Agreement 

A. This plan, as amended, including the Schedule of 
Benefits, together with the application for coverage and any 
related documents executed by or on behalf of the covered 
employee, constitute the entire agreement between the 
parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:894 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1879 (October 2006). 
§403. Properly Submitted Claim 

A. For plan reimbursement, a claim must include: 
1. - 4. … 

5. type of services rendered, with diagnosis and/or 
procedure codes that are valid and current for the date of 
service; 

6. date and place of service; 
7. - 10. … 

B. The program may require additional documentation in 
order to determine the extent of coverage or the appropriate 
reimbursement. Failure to furnish information within 90 
days of the request will constitute a reason for the denial of 
benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:894 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1879 (October 2006). 
§405. When Claims Must Be Filed 

A. - B. … 
C. Requests for review of payment or corrected bills 

must be submitted within 18 months of receipt date of the 
original claim. Requests for review of payment or corrected 
bills received after that time will not be considered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1879 (October 2006). 
§407. Right to Receive and Release Information 

A. Without notice or consent the program may release to 
or obtain from any company, organization, or person, any 
information regarding any person which the program deems 
necessary to carry out the provisions of this plan, or to 
determine how, or if, they apply. Any claimant under the 
plan must furnish the program with any information 
necessary to implement this provision. OGB retains 
information for the minimum period of time required by law. 
After such time, information may no longer be available. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1879 (October 2006). 
§409. Legal Limitations  

A. … 
B. Information provided by the program or any of its 

employees or agents to plan members does not modify or 
override the terms and provisions of the plan. In the event of 
any conflict between the written provisions of this plan and 
any information provided, the written provisions of this plan 
shall supersede and control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1879 (October 2006). 
§413. Recovery of Overpayments 

A. If an overpayment occurs, the program retains the 
right to recover the overpayment. The covered person, 
institution, or provider receiving the overpayment must 
return the overpayment. At the plan's discretion, the 
overpayment may be deducted from future claims. Should 
legal action be required as a result of fraudulent statements
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or deliberate omissions on the application for coverage or a 
claim for benefits, the defendant will be responsible for 
attorney fees of 25 percent of the overpayment or $1,000, 
whichever is greater. The defendant will also be responsible 
for court costs and legal interest from the date of judicial 
demand until paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1879 (October 2006). 
§415. Subrogation and Reimbursement 

A. Upon payment of any eligible benefits covered under 
this plan, the Office of Group Benefits shall succeed and be 
subrogated to all rights of recovery of the covered employee, 
his dependents or other covered persons, or their heirs or 
assigns, for whose benefit payment is made, and they shall 
execute and deliver instruments and papers and do whatever 
is necessary to secure such rights, and shall do nothing after 
loss to prejudice such rights. 

B. The Office of Group Benefits shall be entitled, to the 
extent of any payment made to a covered employee, his 
dependents or other covered persons, to the proceeds of any 
settlement or judgment that may result from the exercise of 
any rights of recovery of a covered employee, his 
dependents or other covered persons, against any person or 
entity legally responsible for the disease, illness, accident or 
injury for which said payment was made. To this end, 
covered employees, their dependents, or other covered 
persons agree to immediately notify the Office of Group 
Benefits of any action taken to attempt to collect any sums 
against any person or entity responsible for the disease, 
illness, accident or injury. 

C. These subrogation and reimbursement rights also 
apply when a covered person recovers under, but not limited 
to, an uninsured or underinsured motorist plan, homeowner's 
plan, renter's plan, medical malpractice plan, worker's 
compensation plan or any general liability plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:895 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1880 (October 2006). 
§417. Employer Responsibility 

A. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation to the program on behalf of its employees. 
Employees of a participant employer will not, by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to the program, be considered 
agents of the program, and no representation made by any 
such person at any time will change the provisions of this 
plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform 
OGB when a retiree with OGB coverage returns to full-time 
employment. The employee shall be placed in the re-
employed retiree category for premium calculation. The re-
employed retiree premium classification applies to retirees 
with and without Medicare. The premium rates applicable to 
the re-employed retiree premium classification shall be 
identical to the premium rates applicable to the classification 
for retirees without Medicare. 

C. A participant employer that receives a Medicare 
Secondary Payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the OGB MSP Adjuster 
within 15 days of receipt. If timely forwarded, OGB will 
assume responsibility for medical benefits, interest, fines and 
penalties due to Medicare for a covered employee. If not 
timely forwarded, OGB will assume responsibility only for 
covered plan benefits due to Medicare for a covered 
employee. The participant employer will be responsible for 
interest, fines, and penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1880 (October 2006). 
§419. Program Responsibility 

A. OGB will administer the plan in accordance with its 
terms, state and federal law, the OGB's established policies, 
interpretations, practices, and procedures. OGB will have 
maximum legal discretionary authority to construe and 
interpret the terms and provisions of the plan, to make 
determinations regarding eligibility for benefits and to 
decide disputes which may arise relative to a covered 
person's rights. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1880 (October 2006). 
§423. Amendments to or Termination of the Plan 

and/or Contract 
A. OGB has the statutory responsibility of providing 

health and accident and death benefits to covered persons to 
the extent that funds are available. OGB reserves the right to 
terminate or amend the eligibility and benefit provisions of 
the plan from time to time as necessary to prudently 
discharge its duties. Such modifications will be promulgated 
subject to the applicable provisions of law, and nothing 
contained herein shall be construed to guarantee or vest 
benefits for any employee, whether active or retired. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:896 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1880 (October 2006). 
Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

Accidental Injury―a condition occurring as a direct result 
of a traumatic bodily injury sustained solely through 
accidental means from an external force. With respect to 
injuries to teeth, the act of chewing does not constitute an 
external force. 

Appeal―a request by a plan member for and a formal 
review of a medical claim for benefits or an eligibility 
determination. 

Benefit Payment―payment of eligible expenses due or 
owing by a covered person, after applicable deductibles, co-
payments, and coinsurance, and subject to all limitations and 
exclusions, at the rate shown under percentage payable in 
the Schedule of Benefits. 

Brand Drug―the trademark name of a drug approved by 
the U. S. Food and Drug Administration. 
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*** 
Child or Children includes― 

1. a legitimate, duly acknowledged, and/or legally 
adopted child of the employee and/or the employee's legal 
spouse's who is dependent upon the employee for support; 

2. a child in the process of being adopted by the 
employee through an agency adoption, who is living in the 
household of the employee, and is or will be included as a 
dependent on the employee's federal income tax return for 
the current or following tax year (if filing is required); 

3. a child in the legal custody of the employee, who 
lives in the household of the employee and is or will be 
included as a dependent on the employee's federal income 
tax return for the current or following tax year (if filing is 
required); 

4. a grandchild of the employee that is not in the legal 
custody of the employee, who is dependent upon the 
employee for support and whose parent is a covered 
dependent. If the employee seeking to cover a grandchild is 
a paternal grandparent, the program will require that the 
biological father, i.e., the covered son of the employee, 
execute an acknowledgement of paternity. 

NOTE: If the employee dependent parent becomes ineligible 
for coverage under the program, the employee's grandchild 
will also be ineligible for coverage, unless the employee has 
legal custody of his/her grandchild. 

COBRA―the federal continuation of coverage laws 
originally enacted in the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended from time to time. 

Committee―Repealed. 
Convalescent, Maintenance Care, or Rest 

Cures―treatment or services, regardless of by whom 
recommended or where provided, in which the service could 
be rendered safely and reasonably by oneself, family, or 
other caregivers who are not eligible providers. The services 
are primarily designed to help the patient with daily living 
activities, maintain the patient's present physical and mental 
condition, and/or provide a structured or safe environment. 

Covered Person―an active or retired employee, his/her 
eligible dependent, or any other individual eligible for 
coverage for whom the necessary application forms have 
been completed and for whom the required contribution is 
made. 

Covered Services―those health care services for which a 
plan member is entitled to receive benefit payments in 
accordance with the terms of this plan. 

Custodial Care― 
1. care designed to assist an individual in the 

performance of daily living activities (i.e., services which 
constitute personal care such as walking, getting in and out 
of bed, bathing, dressing, eating, and using the toilet) that 
does not require admission to a hospital or other institution 
for the treatment of a disease, illness, accident, or injury, or 
for the performance of surgery;  

2. care primarily intended to provide room and board 
to an individual with or without routine nursing care, 
training in personal hygiene, or other forms of self-care; 

3. supervisory care provided by a physician whose 
patient who is mentally or physically incapacitated and is not 
under specific medical, surgical, or psychiatric treatment, 
when such care is intended to reduce the patient's incapacity 
to the extent necessary to enable the patient to live outside of 
an institution providing medical care, or when, despite 

treatment, there is not reasonable a likelihood that the 
incapacity will be reduced. 

Date Acquired―the date a dependent of a covered 
employee is acquired in the following instances and on the 
following dates only: 

1. legal spouse―the date of marriage; 
2. child or children� 

a. natural child―the date of birth; 
b. child in the process of being adopted: 
c. agency adoption―the date the adoption contract 

was executed between the employee and the adoption 
agency; 

d. private adoption―the date the Act of Voluntary 
Surrender is executed in favor of the employee. The program 
must be furnished with certification by the appropriate clerk 
of court setting forth the date of execution of the Act and the 
date it Act became irrevocable, or the date of the first court 
order granting legal custody, whichever occurs first; 

e. child who lives in the household of the covered 
employee and is currently or will be included as a dependent 
on the employee's federal income tax return―the date of the 
court order granting legal custody; 

f. grandchild of the employee that is not in the legal 
custody of the employee, but who is dependent upon the 
employee for support and whose parent is a covered 
dependent: 
 i. the date of birth of the grandchild, if all of the 
above requirements are met at the time of birth; or 
 ii. the date on which the coverage becomes 
effective for the covered dependent, if all of the above 
requirements are not met at the time of birth. 

Deductible―the dollar amount that a covered person must 
pay as shown in the Schedule of Benefits before benefits 
will be paid in a plan year. 

Dependent―any of the following persons who are 
enrolled for coverage as dependents, if they are not also 
covered as an employee: 

1. the covered employee's legal spouse; 
2. a never married child from date of birth up to 21 

years of age and dependent upon the employee for support; 
3. a never married child who is a fulltime student 

under 24 years of age and financially dependent upon the 
employee for support; 

4. a never married child of any age who meets the 
criteria set forth in §103.D, above; 

 
*** 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME)―equipment which 
can withstand repeated use, is primarily and customarily 
used to serve a medical purpose, is not generally useful to a 
person in the absence of a illness or injury, and is 
appropriate for use in the home. DME includes, but is not 
limited to, items such as wheelchairs, hospital beds, 
respirators, braces (non-dental), custom orthotics which 
must be specially made and not available at retail stores. 

 
*** 

Employee―a full-time employee as defined by a 
participant employer and in accordance with state law. 

 
*** 
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Family Unit Limit―that each of three covered members 
of a family unit have met the dollar amount shown in the 
Schedule of Benefits as plan year deductible for an 
individual. Once the family unit limit is met, the deductibles 
of all other covered members of the family unit will be 
considered satisfied for that plan year. 

Fee Schedule―the maximum allowable charges for 
professional or hospital services adopted by the OGB that 
may be considered as an eligible expense. 

Future Medical Recovery―Repealed. 
Generic Drug―a chemically equivalent copy of a "brand 

name" drug. 
Group Health Plan―a plan (including a self-insured plan) 

offered or contributed to, by an employer (including a self-
employed person) or employee organization to provide 
health care to employees, former employees, the employer, 
others associated or formerly associated with the employer 
in a business relationship, and/or their families. 

Health Insurance Coverage―benefits consisting of 
medical care offered by a health insurance issuer under any 
hospital or medical service policy or certificate, hospital or 
medical service plan contract, or HMO contract. 

 
*** 

HIPAA―the Health Insurance Portability and 
Accountability Act of 1996 (U.S. Public Law 104-191) and 
Federal Regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

Hospital―an institution that is currently licensed as a 
hospital by the state in which services are rendered and is 
not primarily an institution for rest, the aged, the treatment 
of pulmonary tuberculosis, a nursing home, extended care 
facility, remedial training institution, or a facility primarily 
for the treatment of conduct and behavior disorders. 

Incurred Date―the date when a particular service or 
supply is rendered or obtained. When a single charge is 
made for a series of services, each service will bear a 
prorated share of the charge. 

 
*** 

Lifetime Maximum Benefit―the maximum amount of 
benefits that will be paid under the plan for all eligible 
expenses incurred by a covered person. 

Medically Necessary―a service, treatment, procedure, 
equipment, drug, device, item, or supply, which, in the 
judgment of the program: 

1. is appropriate and consistent with a covered 
person's diagnosis and treatment as well as with nationally 
accepted medical standards; and 

2. is not primarily for personal comfort or 
convenience or custodial care. 

Medicare―the health insurance available through 
Medicare laws enacted by the Congress of the United States. 

Occupational Therapy―the application of any activity 
one engages in for the purposes of evaluation, interpretation, 
treatment planning, and treatment of problems interfering 
with functional performance in persons impaired by physical 
illness or injury in order to significantly improve 
functioning. 

 
*** 

Physical Therapy―the evaluation of physical status as 
related to functional abilities and treatment procedures as 

indicated by that evaluation. And licensed for the state where 
services are rendered. 

Physician― 
1. the following persons, appropriately licensed to 

practice their respective professional skills at the time and 
place the service is rendered: 

a. a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.); 
b. a Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.); 
c. a Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.); 
d. a Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.); 
e. a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.); 
f. a Doctor of Chiropractic (D.C.); 
g. a Doctor of Optometry (O.D.); 
h. a Psychologist meeting the requirements of the 

National Register of Health Service Providers in 
Psychology; 

i. a mental health counselor; 
j. a substance abuse counselor; 
k. an Audiologist. 

2. does not include a medical doctor in the capacity of 
supervising interns, residents, senior residents, or fellows 
enrolled in a training program who does not personally 
provide medical treatment or perform a surgical procedure 
for the covered person. 

Plan―coverage offered by the Office of Group Benefits 
under this contract including MCO benefits, prescription 
drug benefits, mental health and substance abuse benefits, 
and comprehensive medical benefits. The term plan as 
defined herein is used interchangeably with the term 
program as defined below. 

 
*** 

Plan Year―the period from July 1, or the date the covered 
person first becomes covered under the plan, through the 
next following June 30. Each successive plan year will be 
the 12 month period from July 1 through the next following 
June 30. 

Program―the Office of Group Benefits and/or the plan. 
Provider―one or more entities which offer health care 

services and shall include but not be limited to individuals, 
or groups of physicians, individuals or groups of 
psychologists, nurse midwives, ambulance service 
companies, hospitals, and other health care entities that 
provide covered services to covered individuals. 

Recovery―with respect to Subrogation and 
Reimbursement (§415) recovery means any and all monies 
paid to the covered person by way of judgment, settlement, 
or otherwise to compensate for losses allegedly caused by 
injury or sickness, whether or not the losses reflect medical 
or dental charges covered by the program. 

Referee―Repealed. 
Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation Therapy―care 

concerned with the management and functional ability of 
patients disabled by disease, illness, accident, or injury. 

Reimbursement―repayment to the program for benefits 
payments made by the program. 

Retiree― 
1. an individual who was a covered employee 

immediately prior to the date of retirement and who, upon 
retirement, satisfied one of the following categories: 

a. immediately received retirement benefits from an 
approved state or governmental agency defined benefit plan; 
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b. was not eligible for participation in such plan or 
legally opted not to participate in such plan; and either: 
 i. began employment prior to September 15, 
1979, has 10 years of continuous state service, and has 
reached the age of 65; or 
 ii. began employment after September 16, 1979, 
has 10 years of continuous state service, and has reached the 
age of 70; or 
 iii. was employed after July 8, 1992, has 10 years 
of continuous state service, has a credit for a minimum of 40 
quarters in the Social Security system at the time of 
employment, and has reached the age of 65; or 
 iv. maintained continuous coverage with the 
program as an eligible dependent until he/she became 
eligible as a former state employee to receive a retirement 
benefit from an approved state governmental agency defined 
benefit plan; 

b. immediately received retirement benefits from a 
state-approved or state governmental agency-approved 
defined contribution plan and has accumulated the total 
number of years of creditable service which would have 
entitled him/her to receive a retirement allowance from the 
defined benefit plan of the retirement system for which the 
employee would have otherwise been eligible. The 
appropriate state governmental agency or retirement system 
responsible for administration of the defined contribution 
plan is responsible for certification of eligibility to the Office 
of Group Benefits; 

2. also means an individual who was a covered 
employee and continued the coverage through the provisions 
of COBRA immediately prior to the date of retirement and 
who, upon retirement, qualified for any of Paragraphs 1, 2, 
or 3 above. 

Room and Board―all expenses necessary to maintain and 
sustain a covered person upon admittance to a hospital and 
during a hospital confinement. This can include, but is not 
limited to, facility charges for the maintenance of the 
covered person's hospital room, dietary and food services, 
nursing services performed by nurses employed by or under 
contract with the hospital, and housekeeping services. 

 
*** 

Utilization Management―the process of evaluating the 
necessity, appropriateness, and efficiency of health care 
services against established guidelines and criteria. 

Utilization Review Organization (URO)―an entity that 
has established one or more utilization review programs 
which evaluates the medical necessity, appropriateness, and 
efficiency of the uses of health care services, procedures, 
and facilities. 

Well Adult Care―applies to covered persons age 16 and 
older and means a routine physical examination by a 
physician that may include an influenza vaccination, lab 
work, and X-rays performed as part of the exam in that 
physician's office, when such services are billed by that 
physician with wellness procedure and diagnosis codes. 
Other health care services billed with wellness procedures 
and diagnosis codes, as well as treatment and/or diagnosis of 
a specific illness, will not be considered as well adult care. 

Well Baby Care―applies to covered persons from birth 
until age 1 and means routine care to a well, newborn infant 
that may include physical examinations and active 

immunizations provided by a physician when such services 
are billed by that physician with wellness procedure and 
diagnosis codes. Other health care services billed with 
wellness procedures and diagnosis codes, as well as 
treatment and/or diagnosis of a specific illness, will not be 
considered as well baby care. 

Well Child Care―applies to covered persons from age 1 
through age 15 and means routine physical examinations and 
active immunizations provided by a physician, when such 
services are billed by that physician with wellness procedure 
and diagnosis codes. Other health care services billed with 
wellness procedure and diagnosis codes, as well as treatment 
and/or diagnosis of a specific illness, will not be considered 
as well child care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 29:898 (June 2003), amended LR 32:1880 (October 2006). 

 
Tommy D. Teague 
Chief Executive Officer 

0610#071 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO Plan of Benefits 
(LAC 32:III.Chapters 1-7) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(1), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO Plan Document. The reason for this action is to enhance 
member clarification and be able to administer health care 
benefits effectively for the program and member. 

Accordingly, OGB hereby adopts the following Rule to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider (PPO) Plan of Benefits 
Chapter 1. Eligibility 
§101. Persons to Be Covered 

Eligibility requirements apply to all participants in the 
program, including the PPO plan, the EPO plan, the MCO 
plan, an HMO plan, or the life insurance plan. 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. Effective Dates of Coverage, New Employee, 

Transferring Employee. Coverage for each Employee who 
completes the applicable Enrollment Form and agrees to 
make the required payroll contributions to his Participant 
Employer is effective as follows: 

a. if employment begins on the first day of the 
month, coverage is effective on the first day of the following 
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month (For example, if hired on July 1, coverage will begin 
on August 1); 

b. if employment begins on or after the second day 
of the month, coverage is effective on the first day of the 
second month following employment (For example, if hired 
on July 15, coverage will begin on September 1); 

c. employee coverage will not become effective 
unless the Employee completes an Enrollment Form within 
30 days following the date of employment. If completed 
after 30 days following the date of employment, the 
Employee will be considered an overdue applicant; 

d. an Employee who transfers employment to 
another Participating Employer must complete a transfer 
form within 30 days following the date of transfer to 
maintain coverage without interruption. If completed after 
30 days following the date of transfer, the Employee will be 
considered an overdue applicant. 

4. Re-Enrollment, Previous Employment for Health 
Benefits and Life Insurance 

A.4.a. - B.1.a. ... 
b. An Employee retired from a Participant 

Employer may not be covered as an Employee. 
c. Retirees are not eligible for coverage as overdue 

applicants. 
2. Effective Date of Coverage 

a. Retiree coverage will be effective on the first day 
of the month following the date of retirement if the Retiree 
and Participant Employer have agreed to make and are 
making the required contributions (For example, if retired 
July 15, coverage will begin August 1). 

C. - C.2. ... 
a. Dependents of Employees. Coverage will be 

effective on the date the Employee becomes eligible for 
Dependent Coverage. 

C.2.b. - D. … 
1. The terms of the following paragraphs apply to all 

eligible Employees who apply for coverage after 30 days 
from the date the Employee became eligible for coverage 
and to all eligible Dependents of Employees and Retirees for 
whom the application for coverage was not completed 
within 30 days from the Date Acquired. 

D.2. - E.2. ... 
a. A special enrollment application must be made 

within 30 days of either the termination date of the prior 
coverage or the date the new Dependent is acquired. If it is 
made more than 30 days after eligibility, they will be 
considered overdue applicants subject to a pre-existing 
condition limitation. 

b. … 
 i. for loss of other coverage or marriage, the first 
day of the month following the date the program receives all 
required forms for enrollment; 
 ii. - iii. … 

c. Special enrollment applicants must complete the 
"Acknowledgment of Pre-existing Condition" form and 
"Statement of Physical Condition" form. 

E.2.d. - G.2. ... 
H. Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage Option for 

Retirees (effective July 1, 1999). Retirees who are eligible to 
participate in a Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage plan 
who cancel coverage with the program upon enrollment in a 
Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage plan may re-enroll in 

the program upon withdrawal from or termination of 
coverage in the Medicare+Choice/Medicare Advantage plan, 
at the earlier of the following: 

H.1. - I. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1825 (October 1999), amended LR 27:721 (May 2001), LR 
28:2343 (November 2002), LR 29:341, 342 (March 2003), LR 
32:1883 (October 2006). 
§103. Continued Coverage 

A. ... 
1. Leave of Absence without Pay, Employer 

Contributions to Premiums 
a. A participating employee who is granted leave of 

absence without pay due to a service related injury may 
continue coverage and the participating employer shall 
continue to pay its portion of health plan premiums for up to 
12 months. 

b. A participating employee who suffers a service 
related injury that meets the definition of a total and 
permanent disability under the workers' compensation laws 
of Louisiana may continue coverage and the participating 
employer shall continue to pay its portion of the premiums 
until the employee becomes gainfully employed or is placed 
on state disability retirement. 

c. A participating employee who is granted leave of 
absence without pay in accordance with the federal Family 
and Medical Leave Act (F.M.L.A.) may continue coverage 
during the time of such leave and the participating employer 
may continue to pay its portion of premiums. 

2. Leave of Absence without Pay; No Employer 
Contributions to Premiums. An employee granted leave of 
absence without pay for reasons other than those stated in 
Paragraph A, may continue to participate in an Office of 
Group Benefits benefit plan for a period up to 12 months 
upon the employee's payment of the full premiums due. 

B. - B.2. … 
C. Surviving Dependents/Spouse 

1. Benefits under the Plan for covered Dependents of 
a deceased covered Employee or Retiree will terminate on 
the last day of the month in which the Employee's or 
Retiree's death occurred unless the surviving covered 
Dependents elect to continue coverage. 

a. The surviving legal spouse of an Employee or 
Retiree may continue coverage unless or until the surviving 
spouse is or becomes eligible for coverage in a Group Health 
Plan other than Medicare. 

b. The surviving never married Dependent Child of 
an Employee or Retiree may continue coverage unless or 
until such Dependent Child is or becomes eligible for 
coverage under a Group Health Plan other than Medicare, or 
until attainment of the termination age for Children, 
whichever occurs first. 

c. Surviving Dependents will be entitled to receive 
the same Participant Employer premium contributions as 
Employees and Retirees, subject to the provisions of 
Louisiana Revised Statutes, Title 42, Section 851 and rules 
promulgated pursuant thereto by the Office of Group 
Benefits. 

d. Coverage provided by the Civilian Health and 
Medical Program for the Uniformed Service 
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(CHAMPUS/TRICARE) or successor program will not be 
sufficient to terminate the coverage of an otherwise eligible 
surviving legal spouse or a Dependent Child. 

2. A surviving spouse or dependent child cannot add 
new dependents to continued coverage other than a child of 
the deceased employee born after the employee's death. 

3. Participant Employer/Dependent Responsibilities 
a. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 

and surviving covered dependent to notify the program 
within 60 days of the death of the employee or retiree. 

b. The program will notify the surviving dependents 
of their right to continue coverage. 

c. Application for continued coverage must be 
made in writing to the program within 60 days of receipt of 
notification, and premium payment must be made within 45 
days of the date continued coverage is elected for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. 

d. Coverage for the surviving spouse under this 
section will continue until the earliest of the following: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
 ii. eligibility of the surviving spouse for coverage 
under a group health plan other than Medicare. 

e. Coverage for a surviving dependent child under 
this section will continue until the earliest of the following 
events: 
 i. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
 ii. eligibility of the surviving dependent child for 
coverage under any group health plan other than Medicare; 
 iii. the attainment of the termination age for 
children. 

4. The provisions of Paragraphs 1 through 3 this 
subsection are applicable to surviving dependents who, on or 
after July 1, 1999, elect to continue coverage following the 
death of an employee or retiree. Continued coverage for 
surviving dependents who made such election before July 1, 
1999, shall be governed by the rules in effect at the time. 

D. - D.3. ... 
E. Military Service. Members of the National Guard or 

of the United States military reserves who are called to 
active military duty, and who are OGB participating 
employees or covered dependents will have access to 
continued coverage under OGB's health and life plans. 

1. Health Plan Participation. When called to active 
military duty, participating employees and covered 
dependents may: 

a. continue participation in the OGB health plan 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
the participating employer may continue to pay its portion of 
premiums; or 

b. cancel participation in the OGB health plan 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
such plan participants may apply for reinstatement of OGB 
coverage within 30 days of: 
 i. the date of the employee's reemployment with 
a participating employer; 
 ii. the dependent's date of discharge from active 
military duty; or 
 iii. the date of termination of extended health 
coverage provided as a benefit of active military duty, such 
as TRICARE Reserve Select; 

 iv. plan participants who elect this option and 
timely apply for reinstatement of OGB coverage will not be 
subject to a pre-existing condition (PEC) limitation, and the 
lapse in coverage during active military duty or extended 
military coverage will not result in any adverse 
consequences with respect to the participation schedule set 
forth in R.S. 42:851E and the corresponding Rules 
promulgated by OGB. 

2. Life Insurance. When called to active military duty, 
employees with OGB life insurance coverage may: 

a. continue participation in the OGB life insurance 
during the period of active military service, however, the 
accidental death and dismemberment coverage will not be in 
effect during the period of active military duty; or 

b. cancel participation in the OGB life insurance 
during the period of active military service, in which case 
such employee may apply for reinstatement of OGB life 
insurance within 30 days of the date of the employee's 
reemployment with a participating employer; employees 
who elect this option and timely apply for reinstatement of 
OGB life insurance will not be required to provide evidence 
of insurability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1827 (October 1999), amended LR 30:1191 (June 2004), LR 
32:1884 (October 2006). 
§105. COBRA 

A. Employees 
1. Coverage under this plan for a covered employee 

will terminate on the last day of the calendar month during 
which employment is terminated (voluntarily or 
involuntarily) or significantly reduced, the Employee no 
longer meets the definition of an employee, or coverage 
under a leave of absence has expired, unless the covered 
employee elects to continue coverage at the employee's own 
expense. Employees terminated for gross misconduct are not 
eligible for COBRA coverage. 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
notify the program within 30 days of the date coverage 
would have terminated because of any of the foregoing 
events, and the program will notify the employee within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. 

3. Application for continued coverage must be made 
in writing to the program within 60 days of the date of the 
election notification and premium payment must be made 
within 45 days of the date the employee elects continued 
coverage, for coverage retroactive to the date coverage 
would have otherwise terminated. After the first payment for 
COBRA coverage, monthly payments for each subsequent 
month of COBRA coverage are due on the first day of the 
month for that month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 
30 days after the first day of the month will be provided for 
each monthly payment. 

4. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 18 months from the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
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d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 
after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

5. If employment for a covered employee is 
terminated (voluntarily or involuntarily) or significantly 
reduced, the employee no longer meets the definition of an 
employee, or a leave of absence has expired, and the 
employee has not elected to continue coverage, the covered 
spouse and/or covered dependent children may elect to 
continue coverage at his/her/their own expense. The elected 
coverage will be subject to the above-stated notification and 
termination provisions. 

B. Surviving Dependents 
1. Coverage under this plan for covered surviving 

dependents of an employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month in which the employee's or retiree's 
death occurs, unless the surviving covered dependents elect 
to continue coverage at his/her own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the participant employer 
or surviving covered dependents to notify the program 
within 30 days of the death of the employee or retiree. The 
program will notify the surviving dependents of their right to 
continue coverage. Application for continued coverage must 
be made in writing to the program within 60 days of the date 
of the election notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date the continued coverage was elected, retroactive to 
the date coverage would have terminated. After the first 
payment for COBRA coverage, monthly payments for each 
subsequent month of COBRA coverage are due on the first 
day of the month for that month's COBRA coverage. A grace 
period of 30 days after the first day of the month will be 
provided for each monthly payment.  

4. Coverage for the surviving dependents under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan for 
a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

C. Divorced Spouse 
1. Coverage under this plan for an employee's spouse 

will terminate on the last day of the month during which 
dissolution of the marriage occurs by virtue of a legal decree 
of divorce from the employee or retiree, unless the covered 
divorced spouse elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the divorced spouse to 
notify the program within 60 days from the date of divorce 
and the program will notify the divorced spouse within 14 
days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application for 
continued coverage must be made in writing to the program 
within 60 days of the election notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date continued coverage is elected, for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. After the first payment for COBRA coverage, 
monthly payments for each subsequent month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for the divorced spouse under this 
Section will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

D. Dependent Children 
1. Coverage under this Plan for a covered dependent 

child of a covered employee or retiree will terminate on the 
last day of the month during which the dependent child no 
longer meets the definition of an eligible covered dependent, 
unless the dependent elects to continue coverage at his or her 
own expense. 

2. It is the responsibility of the dependent to notify the 
program within 60 days of the date coverage would have 
terminated and the program will notify the dependent within 
14 days of his or her right to continue coverage. Application 
for continued coverage must be made in writing to the 
program within 60 days of receipt of the election 
notification. 

3. Premium payment must be made within 45 days of 
the date the continued coverage is elected, for coverage 
retroactive to the date coverage would have otherwise 
terminated. After the first payment for COBRA coverage, 
monthly payments for each subsequent month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

E. Dependents of COBRA Participants 
1.a. If a covered terminated employee has elected to 

continue coverage and if during the period of continued 
coverage the covered spouse or a covered dependent child 
becomes ineligible for coverage due to: 
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 i. death of the employee; 
 ii. divorce from the employee; or 
 iii. a dependent child no longer meets the 
definition of an eligible covered dependent. 

b. Then, the spouse and/or dependent child may 
elect to continue COBRA coverage at his/her own expense. 
Coverage will not be continued beyond 36 months from the 
date coverage would have otherwise terminated. 

2. It is the responsibility of the spouse and/or the 
dependent child to notify the program within 60 days of the 
date COBRA coverage would have terminated. 

3. Monthly payments for each month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

4. Coverage for children under this Section will 
continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months beyond the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a Group Health Plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

F. Disability COBRA 
1. If a covered employee or covered dependent is 

determined by the Social Security Administration or by the 
program staff (in the case of a person who is ineligible for 
Social Security disability benefits due to insufficient 
"quarters" of employment), to have been totally disabled on 
the date the covered person became eligible for continued 
coverage or within the initial 18 months of coverage, 
coverage under this plan for the covered person who is 
totally disabled may be extended at his or her own expense 
up to a maximum of 29 months from the date coverage 
would have otherwise terminated. 

2. To qualify the covered person must: 
a. submit a copy of his or her Social Security 

Administration's disability determination to the program 
before the initial 18-month continued coverage period 
expires and within 60 days after the latest of: 
 i. the date of issuance of the Social Security 
Administration's disability determination; and 
 ii. the date on which the qualified beneficiary 
loses (or would lose) coverage under the terms of the plan as 
a result of the covered employee's termination or reduction 
of hours; 

b. in the case of a person who is ineligible for 
Social Security disability benefits due to insufficient 
"quarters" of employment, submit proof of total disability to 
the program before the initial 18-month continued coverage 
period expires. The staff and medical director of the program 
will make the determination of total disability based upon 
medical evidence, not conclusions, presented by the 
applicant's physicians, work history, and other relevant 
evidence presented by the applicant. 

3. For purposes of eligibility for continued coverage 
under this section, total disability means the inability to do 

any substantial gainful activity by reason of any medically 
determinable physical or mental impairment which can be 
expected to last for a continuous period of 12 months. To 
meet this definition one must have a severe impairment 
which makes one unable to do his previous work or any 
other substantial gainful activity which exists in the national 
economy, based upon a person's residual functional capacity, 
age, education, and work experience. 

4. Monthly payments for each month of extended 
COBRA coverage are due on the first day of the month for 
that month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days 
after the first day of the month will be provided for each 
monthly payment.  

5. Coverage under this Section will continue until the 
earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 29 months from the date coverage would have 

otherwise terminated; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees; or 

f. 30 days after the month in which the Social 
Security Administration determines that the Covered Person 
is no longer disabled. (The covered person must report the 
determination to the program within 30 days after the date of 
issuance by the Social Security Administration.) In the case 
of a person who is ineligible for Social Security disability 
benefits due to insufficient "quarters" of employment, 30 
days after the month in which the program determines that 
the covered person is no longer disabled. 

G. Medicare COBRA 
1. If an employee becomes entitled to medicare less 

than 18 months before the date the employee's eligibility for 
benefits under this plan terminates, the period of continued 
coverage available for the employee's covered dependents 
will continue until the earliest of the following: 

a. failure to pay the applicable premium timely; 
b. 36 months from the date of the employee's 

medicare entitlement; 
c. entitlement to Medicare; 
d. coverage under a group health plan, but only 

after any pre-existing condition exclusions of that other plan 
for a pre-existing condition of the covered person have been 
exhausted or satisfied; or 

e. the employer ceases to provide any group health 
plan for its employees. 

2. Monthly payments for each month of COBRA 
coverage are due on the first day of the month for that 
month's COBRA coverage. A grace period of 30 days after 
the first day of the month will be provided for each monthly 
payment. 

H. Miscellaneous Provisions. During the period of 
continuation, benefits will be identical to those provided to 
others enrolled in this plan under its standard eligibility 
provisions for employees and retirees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1828 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1885 (October 2006). 
§107. Change of Classification 

A. Adding or Deleting Dependents. The plan member 
must notify the program when a dependent is added to or 
deleted from the plan member's coverage that results in a 
change in the class of coverage. Notice must be provided 
within 30 days of the addition or deletion. 

B. … 
1. When there is a change in family status (e.g., 

marriage, birth of child) that affects the class of coverage, 
the change in classification will be effective on the date of 
the event. Application for the change must be made within 
30 days of the date of the event. 

2. When the addition of a dependent changes the class 
of coverage, the additional premium will be charged for the 
entire month if the date of change occurs before the 15th day 
of the month. If the date of change occurs on or after the 
15th day of the month, an additional premium will not be 
charged until the first day of the following month. 

C. Notification of Change. It is the employee's 
responsibility to notify the program of any change in 
classification of coverage that affects the employee's 
contribution amount. If failure to notify is later determined, 
it will be corrected on the first day of the following month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1829 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1888 (October 2006). 
Chapter 2. Termination of Coverage 
§201. Active Employee and Retired Employee 

Coverage 
A. … 

1. the date the program terminates; 
2. the date the group or agency employing the covered 

employee terminates or withdraws from the program; 
3. the date contribution is due if the group or agency 

fails to pay the required contribution for the covered 
employee; 

4. the date contribution is due if the covered person 
fails to make any contribution which is required for the 
continuation of coverage; 

5. the last day of the month of the covered employee's 
death; 

6. the last day of the month in which the covered 
employee ceases to be eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1830 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1888 (October 2006). 
§203. Dependent Coverage 

A. … 
1. the last day of the month the employee ceases to be 

covered; 
2. the last day of the month in which the dependent, as 

defined in this plan, ceases to be an eligible dependent of the 
covered employee; 

3. - 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1830 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1888 (October 2006). 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Eligible Expenses 

A. Eligible Expenses are the charges incurred for the 
following services, drugs, supplies, and devices, when 
performed, prescribed, or ordered by a physician and 
medically necessary for the treatment of a covered person. 
All charges are subject to applicable deductibles, 
copayments, and/or coinsurance amounts (unless otherwise 
specifically provided), fee schedule limitations, schedule of 
benefits, exclusions, and other provisions of the plan. A 
charge is incurred on the date that the service, drug, supply, 
or device is performed or furnished. Eligible expenses are: 

1. - 3. … 
4. anesthesia and its administration when ordered by 

the operating physician and administered by an appropriately 
licensed nurse anesthetist or physician in conjunction with a 
covered surgical service; 

5. - 6. … 
7. blood, blood derivatives, and blood processing, 

when not replaced; 
8. - 8.c. ... 

d. ostomy supplies, except supplies for nutritional 
and/or enteral feeding; 

e. - l. … 
9. services of a licensed speech therapist when pre-

approved through outpatient procedure certification (§309, 
below) for the purpose of restoring partial or complete loss 
of speech resulting from stroke, surgery, cancer, radiation 
laryngitis, cerebral palsy, accidental injury, or other similar 
structural or neurological disease, limited to 26 visits per 
Plan Year; 

10. … 
11. services rendered by a Doctor of Dental Surgery 

(D.D.S.) or Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.) for the 
treatment of accidental injury to a Covered Person's natural 
teeth, under the following conditions: 

a. coverage was in effect with respect to the 
individual at the time of the accident; 

b. treatment commences within 90 days from the 
date of the accident and is completed within two years from 
the date of the accident; 

c. coverage remains continuously in effect with 
respect to the covered person during the course of the 
treatment; 

d. eligible expenses are limited to the cost of 
Treatment as estimated at the time of initial Treatment; 

e. eligible expenses may include dental braces and 
orthodontic appliances, upon review and approval by the 
program's dental consultant, and only under the following 
circumstances: 
 i. to return the alveolar alignment to its former 
state prior to a covered dental accident. The Program will 
allow benefits for orthopedic correction to establish 
reasonable occlusal function; 
 ii. a covered surgery that requires the use of 
braces for stabilization; 
 iii. severe skeletal deformity (i.e., cleft palate). 
The program will allow benefits for orthopedic correction to 
establish reasonable occlusal function;  
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f. as used herein accidental injury means a 
condition occurring as a direct result of a traumatic bodily 
injury sustained solely through accidental means from an 
external force, and with respect to injuries to teeth, the act of 
chewing does not constitute an external force; 

12. durable medical equipment subject to the lifetime 
maximum payment limitation as listed in the Schedule of 
benefits. The program will require written certification by 
the treating physician to substantiate the medical necessity 
for the equipment and the length of time that it will be used. 
The purchase of durable medical equipment will be 
considered an eligible expense only upon a showing that the 
rental cost would exceed the purchase price. Under no 
circumstances may the eligible expense for an item of 
durable medical equipment exceed the purchase price of 
such item; 

13. - 17 . … 
18. orthopedic shoes prescribed by a physician and 

completely custom built, limit one pair per plan year; 
19. acupuncture when rendered by a medical doctor 

licensed in the state in which the services are rendered; 
20. … 
21. services of a physical therapist or occupational 

therapist licensed in the state in which the services are 
rendered, under the following conditions: 

a. services are prescribed by a licensed physician 
and rendered in an individual setting; 

b. restorative potential exists; 
c. services meet the generally accepted standards 

for medical practice; 
d. services are reasonable and medically necessary 

for treatment of a disease, illness, accident, injury, or post-
operative condition; 

e. services are approved through case management 
when rendered in the home; 

f. services are limited to 50 visits per plan year. 
Additional visits subject to approval by utilization 
management; 

22. cardiac rehabilitation when: 
a. rendered at a medical facility under the 

supervision of a licensed physician; 
b. - c. … 

NOTE: Charges incurred for dietary instruction, educational 
services, behavior modification literature, biofeedback, health 
club membership, exercise equipment, preventive programs, 
and any other items excluded by the plan are not covered, 
unless provided for under Paragraph 30 of this Subsection. 

23. preventive care consisting of routine physical 
examinations, lab work, and immunizations (including a 
yearly influenza vaccination) as follows: 

a. well baby care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. newborn facility and professional charges; 
 ii. birth to age 1―all office visits for scheduled 
immunizations and screening; 

b. well child care expenses subject to the annual 
deductible and co-payments: 
 i. age 1 until age 3―three office visits per year 
for scheduled immunizations and screening; 
 ii. age 3 until age 15―one office visit per year for 
scheduled immunizations and screening; 

c. well adult care expenses, not subject to the 
annual deductible, but limited to a maximum benefit of 
$200: 
 i. age 16 until age 40―once during a 3-year 
period; 
 ii. age 40 until age 50―once during a 2-year 
period; 
 iii. age 50 and over―once during a 1-year period; 

NOTE: Benefits for well baby care, well child care and routine 
physical examinations for well adult care, including 
immunizations, are based on the U.S. Preventive Services 
Task Force guidelines and recommendations of the National 
Immunization Program of the Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention. All services must be rendered on an outpatient 
basis to monitor and maintain health and to prevent illness. 

24. specialized, age-appropriate wellness care, not 
subject to the annual deductible, as follows: 

a. one pap test for cervical cancer per plan year; 
b. mammographic examinations performed 

according to the following schedule: 
 i. one mammogram during the five-year period a 
person is 35-39 years of age; 
 ii. one mammogram every two plan years for any 
person who is 40-49 years of age; 
 iii. one mammogram every 12 months for any 
person who is 50 years of age or older; 

c. testing for detection of prostate cancer, including 
digital rectal examination and prostate-specific antigen 
testing, once every 12 months for men over the age of 50 
years; 

25. - 26. … 
27. services rendered by the following, when billed by 

the supervising physician: 
a. perfusionists and registered nurse assistants 

assisting in the operating room; 
b. physician assistants and registered nurse 

practitioners; 
28. - 30. … 
31. testing of sleep disorders only when the tests are 

performed at either: 
a. a facility accredited by the American Academy of 

Sleep Medicine or the Joint Commission on Accreditation of 
Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO); or 

b. a sleep study facility located within a healthcare 
facility accredited by JCAHO. No benefits are payable for 
surgical treatment of sleep disorders (including LAUP) 
except following demonstrated failure of non-surgical 
treatment and upon approval by the program; 

32. - 33.c. … 
34. treatment provided in accordance with a clinical 

trial for cancer, including costs of investigational treatments 
and of associated protocol-related patient care if all of the 
following criteria are met: 

a. treatment is being provided with a therapeutic or 
palliative intent for patients with cancer, or for the 
prevention or early detection of cancer; 

b. treatment is being provided or the studies are 
being conducted in a Phase II, Phase III, or Phase IV clinical 
trial for cancer; 

c. treatment is being provided in accordance with a 
clinical trial approved by one of the following entities: 
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 i. one of the United States National Institutes of 
Health; 
 ii. a cooperative group funded by one of the 
United States National Institutes of Health; 
 iii. the FDA in the form of an investigational new 
drug application; 
 iv. the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; 
 v. the United States Department of Defense; 
 vi. a federally funded general clinical research 
center; 
 vii. the Coalition of National Cancer Cooperative 
Groups; 

d. the proposed protocol has been reviewed and 
approved by a qualified institutional review board which 
operates in this state and which has a multiple project 
assurance contract approved by the office of protection from 
research risks; 

e. the facility and personnel providing the protocol 
provided the treatment within their scope of practice, 
experience, and training and are capable of doing so by 
virtue of their experience, training, and volume of patients 
treated to maintain expertise; 

f. there is no clearly superior, non-investigational 
approach; 

g. the available clinical or preclinical data provide a 
reasonable expectation that the treatment will be at least as 
efficacious as the non- investigational alternative; and 

h. the patient has signed an institutional review 
board-approved consent form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1830 (October 1999), amended LR 28:480 (March 2002), 
LR 29:339,343 (March 2003), LR 30:1192 (June 2004), LR 31:441 
(February 2005), LR 32:1888 (October 2006). 
§303. Fee Schedule  

A. The fee schedule establishes the maximum allowable 
charges for eligible expenses. The fee schedule applies to 
both contracted (PPO) health care providers, who have 
entered into agreements with OGB regarding reimbursement 
under this plan, and to non-contracted (non-PPO) health care 
providers who have not entered into such agreements. 

B. Plan members may be subject to greater financial 
responsibility for services, drugs, supplies, and devices 
provided by non-contracted health care providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1832 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1890 (October 2006). 
§305. Automated Claims Adjusting 

A. OGB utilizes commercially licensed software that 
applies all claims against its medical logic program to 
identify improperly billed charges and charges for which this 
plan provides no benefits. Any claim with diagnosis or 
procedure codes deemed inadequate or inappropriate will be 
automatically reduced or denied. Providers accepting 
assignment of benefits cannot bill the plan member for the 
differential on the denial amount, in whole or in part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1832 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1890 (October 2006). 
§307. Utilization Review―Pre-Admission 

Certification, Continued Stay Review 
A. - A.2. … 
B. For a routine vaginal delivery, PAC is not required for 

a stay of two days or less. If the mother's stay exceeds or is 
expected to exceed two days, PAC is required within 24 
hours after delivery or on the date on which any 
complications arose, whichever is applicable. If the baby's 
stay exceeds the mother's stay, PAC is required within 72 
hours of the mother's discharge, and a separate pre-
certification number must be obtained for the baby. In the 
case of a caesarean section, PAC is required if the mother's 
stay exceeds or is expected to exceed four days. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1832 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1890 (October 2006). 
§309. Outpatient Procedure Certification (OPC) 

A. The purpose of OPC is for the plan to certify that 
particular outpatient procedures and therapies are medically 
necessary. If OPC is not obtained when required, no benefits 
are payable under this Plan. 

A.1. - B. ... 
1. Speech therapy, subject to the limitations set forth 

in §301.A.9 of this Part. 
2. - 7.d. Repealed. 

C - C.2. ... 
D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1832 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1890 (October 2006). 
§311. Case Management 

A - D.3.b. .... 
E. - E.8. repealed. 
F. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1833 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1890 (October 2006). 
§313. Dental Surgical Benefits 

A. … 
B. If a covered person requires dental treatment in a 

hospital setting that is otherwise an eligible expense, the 
plan will provide benefits for anesthesia rendered in the 
hospital and associated hospital charges. Prior authorization 
for hospitalization for dental treatment is required in the 
same manner as prior authorization is required for other 
covered medical services. 

C. Eligible Expenses incurred in connection with the 
removal of impacted teeth, including pre-operative and post-
operative care, anesthesia, radiology, pathology services, and 
facility charges, are subject to a deductible, co-insurance, 
and the maximum benefit provisions of the Plan. 

D. The provisions of this section shall not apply to 
treatment rendered for temporomandibular joint (TMJ) 
diseases or disorders. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1833 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1890 (October 2006). 
§315. Medicare Reduction 

A. … 
B. Retiree 100-Medicare COB. Upon enrollment and 

payment of the additional monthly premium, a plan member 
and dependents who are covered under Medicare Parts A and 
B (both) may choose to have full coordination of benefits 
with Medicare. Enrollment must be made within 30 days of 
eligibility for Medicare, or within 30 days of retirement if 
already eligible for Medicare, and at the annual enrollment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1833 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1891 (October 2006). 
§317. Exceptions and Exclusions  

A. No benefits are provided under this Plan for the 
following: 

1. injury compensable under any worker's 
compensation program, regardless of whether the patient has 
filed a claim for benefits. This applies to compensation 
provided on an expense-incurred basis or blanket settlements 
for past and future losses; 

2. maintenance therapy consisting of convalescent, 
skilled nursing, sanitarium, custodial care, assisted living 
facilities, or rest cures designed to assist in daily living 
activities, maintain present physical and/or mental condition, 
or provide a structured or safe environment; 

3. expenses for elective, non-therapeutic voluntary 
abortions (abortions performed for reasons other than to save 
the life of the mother); 

4. injuries sustained by a covered person while in an 
aggressor role; 

5. expenses incurred as a result of a covered person's 
commission or attempted commission of an illegal act; 

6. services, supplies, or treatment for cosmetic 
purposes, including cosmetic surgery and any cosmetic 
complications of cosmetic surgery, unless necessary for the 
immediate repair of a deformity caused by a disease and/or 
injury that occurs while coverage is in force. No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred in connection with the 
treatment of any body part not affected by the disease and/or 
injury; 

7. shoes and related items, such as wedges, cookies, 
and arch supports; 

8. dental and orthodontic services, appliances, 
supplies, and devices, including, but not limited to the 
following: 

a. dental braces and orthodontic appliances, except 
as specifically provided in §301.A.11.e of this Part; 

b. treatment of periodontal disease; 
c. dentures, dental implants, and any surgery for 

their use, except if needed as the result of an accident that 
meets the program's requirements; 

d. treatment for Temporomandibular Joint (TMJ) 
diseases or disorders, except as specifically provided in 
§301.A.28 of this Part; 

e. expenses incurred for services rendered by a 
dentist or oral surgeon and any ancillary or related services, 
except for covered dental surgical procedures, as specifically 
set forth herein, dental procedures which fall under the 
guidelines of treatment of accidental injury, procedures 
necessitated as a result of or secondary to cancer, or oral and 
maxillofacial surgeries which are shown to the satisfaction 
of the program to be medically necessary, non-dental, non-
cosmetic procedures; 

9. medical services, supplies, treatments, and 
prescription drugs provided without charge to the Covered 
Person or for which the Covered Person is not legally 
obligated to pay; 

10. maternity expenses incurred by any person other 
than the employee or the employee's legal spouse; 

11. personal convenience items including, but not 
limited to, admit kits, bedside kits, telephone, television, 
guest meals, and beds, and charges for luxury 
accommodations in any hospital or allied health facility 
provided primarily for the patient's convenience which are 
not deemed medically necessary by the program; 

12. charges for services, supplies, treatment, drugs, and 
devices which are in excess of the maximum allowable 
under the medical fee schedule, outpatient surgical facility 
fee schedule, or any other limitations of the Plan; 

13. services, supplies, treatment, drugs, devices, and 
deluxe medical equipment which are not deemed medically 
necessary by the program; 

14. services rendered for remedial reading and 
recreational, visual, and behavioral modification therapy, 
biofeedback, pain rehabilitation control and/or therapy, and 
dietary or educational instruction for all diseases and/or 
illnesses, except diabetes; 

15. services and supplies for the treatment of and/or 
related to gender dysphoria or reverse sterilization; 

16. artificial organ implants, penile implants, 
transplantation of non-human organs, and any surgery and 
other treatment, services, or supplies, related to such 
procedures, or to complications related to such procedures; 

17. expenses subsequent to the initial diagnosis for 
infertility and complications, including but not limited to, 
services, drugs, procedures, or devices to achieve fertility, 
in-vitro fertilization, low tubal transfer, artificial 
insemination, intracytoplasmic sperm injection, embryo 
transfer, gamete transfer, zygote transfer, surrogate 
parenting, donor semen, donor eggs, and reversal of 
sterilization procedures; 

18. non-medical supplies such as air conditioners 
and/or filters, dehumidifiers, air purifiers, wigs or toupees, 
heating pads, cold devices, home enema equipment, rubber 
gloves, swimming pools, saunas, whirlpool baths, home 
pregnancy tests, lift chairs, devices or kits to stimulate the 
penis, exercise equipment, any other items not normally 
considered medical supplies, and any items the Program 
determines are not medical supplies; 

19. administrative fees, interest, penalties, or sales tax; 
20. marriage counseling, family relations counseling, 

divorce counseling, parental counseling, job counseling, and 
career counseling; 
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21. charges for physician services rendered to a 
covered person over the telephone or in a non-face-to-face 
setting; 

22. radial keratotomy, laser surgery, and any other 
procedures, services, or supplies for the correction of 
refractive errors of the eyes; 

23. services, supplies, surgeries, and treatments for 
excess body fat, resection of excess skin and/or fat following 
weight loss or pregnancy, and/or obesity, and morbid 
obesity; 

24. hearing aids and any examination to determine the 
fitting or necessity of hearing aids, except as specifically 
provided for in §301.A.33 of this Part; 

25. hair plugs and/or transplants; 
26. routine physical examinations and/or 

immunizations not provided for under eligible expenses; 
27. eye examinations, glasses, and contact lenses, 

except as specifically provided for as an eligible expense in 
§301.A.15 of this Part; 

28. diagnostic or treatment measures that are not 
recognized as generally accepted medical practice; 

29. medical supplies not listed under eligible expenses; 
30. treatment or services for mental health and 

substance abuse provided outside the treatment plan 
developed by the program's managed care contractor or by 
therapists with whom or at facilities with which the 
program's managed care contractor does not have a contract; 

31. genetic testing, except when determined to be 
medically necessary during a covered pregnancy; 

32. services rendered by a private-duty registered nurse 
(R.N.) or by a private-duty licensed practical nurse (L.P.N.); 

33. services rendered by a physician or other health 
care provider related to the patient by blood, adoption, or 
marriage; 

34. expenses for services rendered by a physician or 
other health care provider who is not licensed in the state 
where such services are rendered or in any facility not 
holding a valid license in the state and for the services 
rendered; 

35. facility fees for services rendered in a physician's 
office or in any facility not approved by the federal Health 
Care Finance Administration for Medicare reimbursement; 

36. glucometers; 
37. augmentative communication devices; 
38. charges to obtain medical records or any other 

information needed and/or required to adjudicate a claim; 
39. charges greater than the global allowance for any 

laboratory, pathology, or radiological procedure; 
40. speech therapy or the services of a speech therapist 

except as specifically provided in §301.A.9. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1834 (October 1999), amended LR 26:488 (March 2000), 
LR 27:720 (May 2001), LR 28:2343 (November 2002), LR 31:441 
(February 2005), LR 32:1891 (October 2006). 
§321. Preferred Provider Program 

A. The program may implement preferred provider 
organization (PPO) arrangements or other agreements to 
discount payable fees. The program reserves the right to 
negotiate the amount of discounts, incentives offered to plan 
members, and all other provisions which are a part of any 

discount fee arrangement. To be eligible, the program must 
be the primary carrier at the time services are rendered. 

1. - 2.a. … 
b. If a covered person receives services from a PPO 

provider, services are reimbursed at 90 percent of the 
eligible expenses, and payments made to the PPO provider. 
There is a contractual assignment to every PPO provider. If a 
non-PPO provider is used by a plan member who resides in 
Louisiana, the plan member is reimbursed 70 percent of the 
Eligible Expenses. If a non-PPO provider is used by a plan 
member who resides outside Louisiana, the Plan Member is 
reimbursed 90 percent of the eligible expenses. Eligible 
expenses of non-PPO Providers are based upon the OGB's 
fee schedule. 

NOTE: Both PPO and non-PPO services are subject to the 
applicable deductibles, limitations, and exclusions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1835 (October 1999), amended LR 27:722 (May 2001), LR 
29:339 (March 2003), LR 32:1892 (October 2006). 
§323. Prescription Drug Benefits 

A. This plan allows benefits for drugs and medicines 
approved by the Food and Drug Administration or its 
successor that require a prescription and are dispensed by a 
licensed pharmacist or pharmaceutical company. 

1. These include and shall not be limited to: 
a. insulin; 
b. Retin-A dispensed for covered persons under the 

age of 27; 
c. vitamin B-12 injections; 
d. prescription potassium chloride; and 
e. over-the-counter diabetic supplies including, but 

not limited to, strips, lancets, and swabs. 
2. In addition, this plan allows benefits limited to 

$200 per month for expenses incurred for the purchase of 
low protein food products for the treatment of inherited 
metabolic diseases if the low protein food products are 
medically necessary and are obtained from a source 
approved by the OGB. Such expenses shall be subject to 
coinsurance and co-payments relating to prescription drug 
benefits. In connection with this benefit, the following words 
shall have the following meanings: 

a. Inherited metabolic disease shall mean a disease 
caused by an inherited abnormality of body chemistry and 
shall be limited to: 
 i. Phenylketonuria (PKU); 
 ii. Maple Syrup Urine Disease (MSUD); 
 iii. Methylmalonic Acidemia (MMA); 
 iv. Isovaleric Acidemia (IVA); 
 v. Propionic Acidemia; 
 vi. Glutaric Acidemia; 
 vii. Urea Cycle Defects; or 
 viii. Tyrosinemia. 

b. Low protein food products mean food products 
that are especially formulated to have less than 1 gram of 
protein per serving and are intended to be used under the 
direction of a physician for the dietary treatment of an 
inherited metabolic disease. Low protein food products shall 
not include natural foods that are naturally low in protein. 

B. The following drugs, medicines, and related services 
and supplies are not covered: 
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1. appetite suppressant drugs; 
2. dietary supplements; 
3. topical forms of Minoxidil; 
4. Retin-A dispensed for a covered person over age 

26; 
5. amphetamines dispensed for diagnoses other than 

Attention Deficit Disorder or Narcolepsy; 
6. nicotine, gum, patches, or other products, services, 

or programs intended to assist an individual to reduce or 
cease smoking, or other use of tobacco products; 

7. nutritional or parenteral therapy; 
8. vitamins and minerals; 
9. drugs available over the counter;  
10. Serostim dispensed for any diagnoses or therapeutic 

purposes other than AIDS wasting; 
11. drugs prescribed for the treatment of impotence, 

except following the surgical removal of the prostate gland; 
and 

12. glucometers. 
C. - C.7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1835 (October 1999), amended LR 27:720, 721 (May 2001), 
LR 27:1887 (November 2001), LR 28:2344 (November 2002), LR 
29:342 (March 2003), LR 32:1892 (October 2006). 
Chapter 4. Uniform Provisions 
§401. Statement of Contractual Agreement 

A. This plan, as amended, including the schedule of 
benefits, together with the application for coverage and any 
related documents executed by or on behalf of the covered 
employee, constitute the entire agreement between the 
parties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1836 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§403. Properly Submitted Claim 

A. For plan reimbursement, a claim must include: 
1. - 4. … 
5. type of services rendered, with diagnosis and/or 

procedure codes that are valid and current for the date of 
service; 

6. date and place of service; 
7. - 10. … 

B. The program may require additional documentation in 
order to determine the extent of coverage or the appropriate 
reimbursement. Failure to furnish information within 90 
days of the request will constitute a reason for the denial of 
benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1836 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§405. When Claims Must Be Filed 

A. - B. … 
C. Requests for review of payment or corrected bills 

must be submitted within 18 months of receipt date of the 
original claim. Requests for review of payment or corrected 
bills received after that time will not be considered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1836 (October 1999), amended LR 28:479 (March 2002), 
LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§407. Right to Receive and Release Information 

A. Without notice or consent the program may release to 
or obtain from any company, organization, or person, any 
information regarding any person which the program deems 
necessary to carry out the provisions of this plan, or to 
determine how, or if, they apply. Any claimant under the 
plan must furnish the program with any information 
necessary to implement this provision. OGB retains 
information for the minimum period of time required by law. 
After such time, information may no longer be available. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1836 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§409. Legal Limitations  

A. … 
B. Information provided by the program or any of its 

employees or agents to plan members does not modify or 
override the terms and provisions of the plan. In the event of 
any conflict between the written provisions of this plan and 
any information provided, the written provisions of this plan 
shall supercede and control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1836 (October 1999), amended LR 28:479 (March 2002), 
LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§413. Recovery of Overpayments 

A. If an overpayment occurs, the program retains the 
right to recover the overpayment. The covered person, 
institution, or provider receiving the overpayment must 
return the overpayment. At the plan's discretion, the 
overpayment may be deducted from future claims. Should 
legal action be required as a result of fraudulent statements 
or deliberate omissions on the application for coverage or a 
claim for benefits, the defendant will be responsible for 
attorney fees of 25 percent of the overpayment or $1,000, 
whichever is greater. The defendant will also be responsible 
for court costs and legal interest from the date of judicial 
demand until paid. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§415. Subrogation and Reimbursement 

A. Upon payment of any eligible benefits covered under 
this plan, the Office of Group Benefits shall succeed and be 
subrogated to all rights of recovery of the covered 
Employee, his dependents or other covered persons, or their 
heirs or assigns, for whose benefit payment is made, and 
they shall execute and deliver instruments and papers and do 
whatever is necessary to secure such rights, and shall do 
nothing after loss to prejudice such rights. 

B. The Office of Group Benefits shall be entitled, to the 
extent of any payment made to a covered employee, his 
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dependents or other covered persons, to the proceeds of any 
settlement or judgment that may result from the exercise of 
any rights of recovery of a covered employee, his 
dependents or other covered persons, against any person or 
entity legally responsible for the disease, illness, accident or 
injury for which said payment was made. To this end, 
covered employees, their dependents, or other covered 
persons agree to immediately notify the Office of Group 
Benefits of any action taken to attempt to collect any sums 
against any person or entity responsible for the disease, 
illness, accident or injury. 

C. These subrogation and reimbursement rights also 
apply when a covered person recovers under, but not limited 
to, an uninsured or underinsured motorist plan, homeowner's 
plan, renter's plan, medical malpractice plan, worker's 
compensation plan or any general liability plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1893 (October 2006). 
§417. Employer Responsibility 

A. It is the responsibility of the participant employer to 
submit enrollment and change forms and all other necessary 
documentation to the program on behalf of its employees. 
Employees of a participant employer will not, by virtue of 
furnishing any documentation to the program, be considered 
agents of the program, and no representation made by any 
such person at any time will change the provisions of this 
plan. 

B. A participant employer shall immediately inform 
OGB when a retiree with OGB coverage returns to full-time 
employment. The employee shall be placed in the  
re-employed retiree category for premium calculation. The 
re-employed retiree premium classification applies to 
retirees with and without Medicare. The premium rates 
applicable to the re-employed retiree premium classification 
shall be identical to the premium rates applicable to the 
classification for retirees without Medicare. 

C. A participant employer that receives a medicare 
secondary payer (MSP) collection notice or demand letter 
shall deliver the MSP notice to the OGB MSP Adjuster 
within 15 days of receipt. If timely forwarded, OGB will 
assume responsibility for medical benefits, interest, fines and 
penalties due to Medicare for a covered employee. If not 
timely forwarded, OGB will assume responsibility only for 
covered plan benefits due to Medicare for a covered 
employee. The participant employer will be responsible for 
interest, fines, and penalties due. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), amended LR 29:1819 (September 
2003), LR 32:1894 (October 2006). 
§419. Program Responsibility 

A. OGB will administer the Plan in accordance with its 
terms, state and federal law, the OGB's established policies, 
interpretations, practices, and procedures. OGB will have 
maximum legal discretionary authority to construe and 
interpret the terms and provisions of the plan, to make 
determinations regarding eligibility for benefits and to 

decide disputes which may arise relative to a covered 
person's rights. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1894 (October 2006). 
§423. Amendments to or Termination of the Plan 

and/or Contract 
A. OGB has the statutory responsibility of providing 

health and accident and death benefits to covered persons to 
the extent that funds are available. OGB reserves the right to 
terminate or amend the eligibility and benefit provisions of 
the plan from time to time as necessary to prudently 
discharge its duties. Such modifications will be promulgated 
subject to the applicable provisions of law, and nothing 
contained herein shall be construed to guarantee or vest 
benefits for any employee, whether active or retired. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1837 (October 1999), amended LR 32:1894 (October 2006). 
Chapter 6. Definitions 
§601. Definitions 

Accidental Injury―a condition occurring as a direct result 
of a traumatic bodily injury sustained solely through 
accidental means from an external force. With respect to 
injuries to teeth, the act of chewing does not constitute an 
external force. 

Appeal―a request by a plan member for and a formal 
review of a medical claim for benefits or an eligibility 
determination. 

Benefit Payment―payment of eligible expenses due or 
owing by a covered person, after applicable deductibles, co-
payments, and coinsurance, and subject to all limitations and 
exclusions, at the rate shown under percentage payable in 
the schedule of benefits. 

Board of Trustees―repealed. 
Brand Drug―the trademark name of a drug approved by 

the U. S. Food and Drug Administration. 
Calendar Year―repealed. 

* * * 
Child or Children includes― 

1. a legitimate, duly acknowledged, and/or legally 
adopted child of the employee and/or the employee's legal 
spouse's who is dependent upon the employee for support; 

2. a child in the process of being adopted by the 
employee through an agency adoption, who is living in the 
household of the employee, and is or will be included as a 
dependent on the employee's federal income tax return for 
the current or following tax year (if filing is required); 

3. a child in the legal custody of the employee, who 
lives in the household of the employee and is or will be 
included as a dependent on the employee's federal income 
tax return for the current or following tax year (if filing is 
required); 

4. a grandchild of the employee that is not in the legal 
custody of the employee, who is dependent upon the 
employee for support and whose parent is a covered 
dependent. If the employee seeking to cover a grandchild is 
a paternal grandparent, the program will require that the 
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biological father, i.e. the covered son of the employee, 
execute an acknowledgement of paternity. 

NOTE: If the Employee Dependent parent becomes ineligible 
for coverage under the Program, the Employee's Grandchild 
will also be ineligible for coverage, unless the Employee has 
legal custody of his/her Grandchild. 

COBRA―the federal continuation of coverage laws 
originally enacted in the Consolidated Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended from time to time. 

Committee―repealed. 
Convalescent, Maintenance Care, or Rest 

Cures―treatment or services, regardless of by whom 
recommended or where provided, in which the service could 
be rendered safely and reasonably by oneself, family, or 
other caregivers who are not eligible providers. The services 
are primarily designed to help the patient with daily living 
activities, maintain the patient's present physical and mental 
condition, and/or provide a structured or safe environment. 

Covered Person―an active or retired employee, his/her 
eligible dependent, or any other individual eligible for 
coverage for whom the necessary application forms have 
been completed and for whom the required contribution is 
made. 

Covered Services―to those health care services for which 
a plan member is entitled to receive benefit payments in 
accordance with the terms of this plan. 

Custodial Care― 
1. care designed to assist an individual in the 

performance of daily living activities (i.e., services which 
constitute personal care such as walking, getting in and out 
of bed, bathing, dressing, eating, and using the toilet) that 
does not require admission to a hospital or other institution 
for the treatment of a disease, illness, accident, or injury, or 
for the performance of surgery; 

2. care primarily intended to provide room and board 
to an individual with or without routine nursing care, 
training in personal hygiene, or other forms of self-care; 

3. supervisory care provided by a physician whose 
patient who is mentally or physically incapacitated and is not 
under specific medical, surgical, or psychiatric treatment, 
when such care is intended to reduce the patient's incapacity 
to the extent necessary to enable the patient to live outside of 
an institution providing medical care, or when, despite 
treatment, there is not reasonable a likelihood that the 
incapacity will be reduced. 

Date Acquired―the date a dependent of a covered 
employee is acquired in the following instances and on the 
following dates only: 

1. legal spouse―the date of marriage; 
2. child or children: 

a. natural child―the date of birth; 
b. child in the process of being adopted: 
c. agency adoption―the date the adoption contract 

was executed between the employee and the adoption 
agency; 

d. private adoption―the date the Act of Voluntary 
Surrender is executed in favor of the employee. The program 
must be furnished with certification by the appropriate clerk 
of court setting forth the date of execution of the Act and the 
date it Act became irrevocable, or the date of the first court 
order granting legal custody, whichever occurs first; 

e. child who lives in the household of the covered 
employee and is currently or will be included as a dependent 
on the employee's federal income tax return―the date of the 
court order granting legal custody; 

f. grandchild of the employee that is not in the legal 
custody of the employee, but who is dependent upon the 
employee for support and whose parent is a covered 
dependent: 
 i. the date of birth of the grandchild, if all of the 
above requirements are met at the time of birth; or 
 ii. the date on which the coverage becomes 
effective for the covered dependent, if all of the above 
requirements are not met at the time of birth. 

Deductible―the dollar amount that a covered person must 
pay as shown in the schedule of benefits before benefits will 
be paid in a plan year. 

Dependent―any of the following persons who are 
enrolled for coverage as dependents, if they are not also 
covered as an employee: 

1. the covered employee's legal Spouse; 
2. a never married child from date of birth up to 21 

years of age and dependent upon the Employee for support ; 
3. a never married child who is a fulltime student 

under 24 years of age and financially dependent upon the 
employee for support; 

4. a never married child of any age who meets the 
criteria set forth in §103.D, above; 

*** 
Durable Medical Equipment (DME)―equipment which 

can withstand repeated use, is primarily and customarily 
used to serve a medical purpose, is not generally useful to a 
person in the absence of a illness or injury, and is 
appropriate for use in the home. DME includes, but is not 
limited to, items such as wheelchairs, hospital beds, 
respirators, braces (non-dental), custom orthotics which 
must be specially made and not available at retail stores. 

Emergency Medical Condition―a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity 
(including severe pain) such that the absence of immediate 
medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in 
placing the health of the individual (or, with respect to a 
pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her unborn 
child) in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to bodily 
functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part, 
or with respect to a pregnant woman who is having 
contractions that there is inadequate time to effect a safe 
transfer to another hospital before delivery, or the transfer 
may pose a threat to the health or safety of the woman or 
unborn child. 

Emergency Room Services―medical services eligible for 
reimbursement that are necessary to screen, evaluate, and 
stabilize an emergency medical condition and are provided 
at a hospital Emergency Room and billed by a hospital. 

Employee―a full-time employee as defined by a 
participant employer and in accordance with state law. 

* * * 
Family Unit Limit―that each of three covered members 

of a family unit have met the dollar amount shown in the 
schedule of benefits as plan year deductible for an 
individual. Once the family unit limit is met, the deductibles
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of all other covered members of the family unit will be 
considered satisfied for that plan year. 

Fee Schedule―the maximum allowable charges for 
professional or hospital services adopted by the OGB that 
may be considered as an eligible expense. 

Future Medical Recovery―repealed. 
Generic Drug―a chemically equivalent copy of a "brand 

name" drug. 
Group Health Plan―a plan (including a self-insured plan) 

offered or contributed to, by an employer (including a self-
employed person) or employee organization to provide 
health care to employees, former employees, the employer, 
others associated or formerly associated with the employer 
in a business relationship, and/or their families. 

Health Insurance Coverage―benefits consisting of 
medical care offered by a health insurance issuer under any 
hospital or medical service policy or certificate, hospital or 
medical service plan contract, or HMO contract. 

* * * 
HIPAA―the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 (U.S. Public Law 104-191) and 
Federal Regulations promulgated pursuant thereto. 

Hospital―an institution that is currently licensed as a 
hospital by the state in which services are rendered and is 
not primarily an institution for rest, the aged, the treatment 
of pulmonary tuberculosis, a nursing home, extended care 
facility, remedial training institution, or a facility primarily 
for the treatment of conduct and behavior disorders. 

Incurred Date―the date when a particular service or 
supply is rendered or obtained. When a single charge is 
made for a series of services, each service will bear a 
prorated share of the charge. 

* * * 
Lifetime Maximum Benefit―the maximum amount of 

benefits that will be paid under the plan for all eligible 
expenses incurred by a covered person. 

Medically Necessary―a service, treatment, procedure, 
equipment, drug, device, item, or supply, which, in the 
judgment of the program: 

1. is appropriate and consistent with a covered 
person's diagnosis and treatment as well as with nationally 
accepted medical standards; and 

2. is not primarily for personal comfort or 
convenience or custodial care. 

Medicare―the health insurance available through 
Medicare laws enacted by the congress of the United States. 

* * * 
Occupational Therapy―the application of any activity 

one engages in for the purposes of evaluation, interpretation, 
treatment planning, and treatment of problems interfering 
with functional performance in persons impaired by physical 
illness or injury in order to significantly improve 
functioning. 

* * * 
Participating Provider―a PPO, as defined herein. 
Physical Therapy―the evaluation of physical status as 

related to functional abilities and treatment procedures as 
indicated by that evaluation. And licensed for the state where 
services are rendered. 

Physician— 
1. Physician means the following persons, 

appropriately licensed to practice their respective 
professional skills at the time and place the service is 
rendered: 

a. a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.); 
b. a Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.); 
c. a Doctor of Dental Medicine (D.M.D.); 
d. a Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.); 
e. a Doctor of Podiatric Medicine (D.P.M.); 
f. a Doctor of Chiropractic (D.C.); 
g. a Doctor of Optometry (O.D.) 
h. a Psychologist meeting the requirements of the 

National Register of Health Service Providers in 
Psychology; 

i. a mental health counselor; 
j. a substance abuse counselor; 
k. an Audiologist. 

2. The term physician does not include a medical 
doctor in the capacity of supervising interns, residents, 
senior residents, or fellows enrolled in a training program 
who does not personally provide medical treatment or 
perform a surgical procedure for the covered person. 

Plan―coverage offered by the Office of Group Benefits 
under this contract including PPO benefits, prescription drug 
benefits, mental health and substance abuse benefits, and 
comprehensive medical benefits. The term plan as defined 
herein is used interchangeably with the term program as 
defined below. 

* * * 
Plan Year―the period from July 1, or the date the covered 

person first becomes covered under the plan, through the 
next following June 30. Each successive plan year will be 
the twelve month period from July 1 through the next 
following June 30. 

* * * 
Program―the Office of Group Benefits and/or the plan. 
Provider―one or more entities which offer health care 

services and shall include but not be limited to individuals, 
or groups of physicians, individuals or groups of 
psychologists, nurse midwives, ambulance service 
companies, hospitals, and other health care entities that 
provide covered services to covered individuals. 

Recovery―with respect to Subrogation and 
Reimbursement (§ 413) recovery means any and all monies 
paid to the covered person by way of judgment, settlement, 
or otherwise to compensate for losses allegedly caused by 
injury or sickness, whether or not the losses reflect medical 
or dental charges covered by the program. 

Referee―Repealed. 
Rehabilitation and Rehabilitation Therapy―care 

concerned with the management and functional ability of 
patients disabled by disease, illness, accident, or injury. 

Reimbursement―repayment to the program for benefits 
payments made by the program. 

Retiree― 
1. Retiree means an individual who was a covered 

Employee immediately prior to the date of retirement and
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who, upon retirement, satisfied one of the following 
categories: 

a. immediately received retirement benefits from an 
approved state or governmental agency defined benefit plan;  

b. was not eligible for participation in such plan or 
legally opted not to participate in such plan; and either: 
 i. began employment prior to September 15, 
1979, has 10 years of continuous state service, and has 
reached the age of 65; or 
 ii. began employment after September 16, 1979, 
has 10 years of continuous state service, and has reached the 
age of 70; or 
 iii. was employed after July 8, 1992, has 10 years 
of continuous state service, has a credit for a minimum of 40 
quarters in the Social Security system at the time of 
employment, and has reached the age of 65; or 
 iv. maintained continuous coverage with the 
program as an eligible dependent until he/she became 
eligible as a former state employee to receive a retirement 
benefit from an approved state governmental agency defined 
benefit plan; 

c. immediately received retirement benefits from a 
state-approved or state governmental agency-approved 
defined contribution plan and has accumulated the total 
number of years of creditable service which would have 
entitled him/her to receive a retirement allowance from the 
defined benefit plan of the retirement system for which the 
employee would have otherwise been eligible. The 
appropriate state governmental agency or retirement system 
responsible for administration of the defined contribution 
plan is responsible for certification of eligibility to the Office 
of Group Benefits. 

2. Retiree also means an individual who was a 
covered employee and continued the coverage through the 
provisions of COBRA immediately prior to the date of 
retirement and who, upon retirement, qualified for any of 
Subparagraphs i, ii, or iii above. 

Room and Board―all expenses necessary to maintain and 
sustain a covered person upon admittance to a hospital and 
during a hospital confinement. This can include, but is not 
limited to, facility charges for the maintenance of the 
covered person's hospital room, dietary and food services, 
nursing services performed by nurses employed by or under 
contract with the hospital, and housekeeping services. 

* * * 
Utilization Management―the process of evaluating the 

necessity, appropriateness, and efficiency of health care 
services against established guidelines and criteria.  

Utilization Review Organization (URO)―an entity that 
has established one or more utilization review programs 
which evaluates the medical necessity, appropriateness, and 
efficiency of the uses of health care services, procedures, 
and facilities. 

Well Adult Care―covered persons age 16 and older and 
means a routine physical examination by a physician that 
may include an influenza vaccination, lab work, and X-rays 
performed as part of the exam in that physician's office, 
when such services are billed by that physician with 
wellness procedure and diagnosis codes. Other health care 
services billed with wellness procedures and diagnosis

codes, as well as treatment and/or diagnosis of a specific 
illness, will not be considered as well adult care. 

Well Baby Care―covered persons from birth until age 1 
and means routine care to a well, newborn infant that may 
include physical examinations and active immunizations 
provided by a physician when such services are billed by 
that physician with wellness procedure and diagnosis codes. 
Other health care services billed with wellness procedures 
and diagnosis codes, as well as treatment and/or diagnosis of 
a specific illness, will not be considered as well baby care. 

Well Child Care―covered persons from age 1 through age 
15 and means routine physical examinations and active 
immunizations provided by a physician, when such services 
are billed by that physician with wellness procedure and 
diagnosis codes. Other health care services billed with 
wellness procedure and diagnosis codes, as well as treatment 
and/or diagnosis of a specific illness, will not be considered 
as well child care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1840 (October 1999), amended LR 29:339 (March 2003), 
LR 32:1894 (October 2006). 
Chapter 7. Schedule of Benefits―PPO 
§701. Comprehensive Medical Benefits 

A. Eligible expenses for professional medical services 
are reimbursed on a fee schedule of maximum allowable 
charges. All eligible expenses are determined in accordance 
with plan limitations and exclusions. 

 
Lifetime maximum for all benefits, except outpatient 
prescription drug benefits, per person 

$1,000,000 

Lifetime maximum for outpatient prescription drug 
benefits, per person 

$250,000 

 
A. - C.3.  ... 

2Participating providers are reimbursed at 100 percent of 
Eligible Expenses up to the maximum benefit; Non-
Participating providers are reimbursed at 70 percent of 
Eligible Expenses up to the maximum benefit 
Services include screenings to detect illness or health risks 
during a Physician office visit. The covered services are based 
on prevailing medical standards and may vary according to 
age and family history.  
Specialized age appropriate wellness (not subject to 
deductible) – For a complete list of benefits, see §301.A.24 of 
this Part. 

D. … 
E. repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1843 (October 1999), amended LR 26: 488 (March 2000), 
LR 27:719, 720, 722 (May 2001), LR 27:1887 (November 2001), 
LR 28:2345 (November 2002), LR 29:340, 342, 343 (March 2003), 
repromulgated LR 29:578 (April 2003), amended LR 30:1192 
(June 2004), LR 32:1897 (October 2006). 

 
Tommy D. Teague 
Chief Executive Officer 

0610#070 
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RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 
Office of Group Benefits 

PPO, EPO, and MCO Plans of Benefits―Colorectal 
Screening (LAC 32:III.301; V.301; IX.301) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950, et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:801(C) and 
802(B)(2), as amended and reenacted by Act 1178 of 2001, 
vesting the Office of Group Benefits (OGB) with the 
responsibility for administration of the programs of benefits 
authorized and provided pursuant to Chapter 12 of Title 42 
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, and granting the power to 
adopt and promulgate rules with respect thereto, OGB finds 
that it is necessary to revise and amend provisions of the 
PPO, EPO, and MCO plan documents to authorize benefits 
for routine colorectal screening. This action is necessary to 
comply with the provisions of R.S. 22:215.12. 

Accordingly, OGB hereby adopts the following Rule to 
become effective upon promulgation. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part III.  Preferred Provider Organization (PPO)―Plan 
of Benefits 

Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.33.c. … 

34. treatment provided in accordance with a clinical 
trial for cancer, including costs of investigational treatments 
and of associated protocol-related patient care if all of the 
following criteria are met: 

a. treatment is being provided with a therapeutic or 
palliative intent for patients with cancer, or for the 
prevention or early detection of cancer; 

b. treatment is being provided or the studies are 
being conducted in a Phase II, Phase III, or Phase IV clinical 
trial for cancer; 

c. treatment is being provided in accordance with a 
clinical trial approved by one of the following entities: 
 i. one of the United States National Institutes of 
Health; 
 ii. a cooperative group funded by one of the 
United States National Institutes of Health; 
 iii. the FDA in the form of an investigational new 
drug application; 
 iv. the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; 
 v. the United States Department of Defense; 
 vi. a federally funded general clinical research 
center; 
 vii. the Coalition of National Cancer Cooperative 
Groups; 

d. the proposed protocol has been reviewed and 
approved by a qualified institutional review board which 
operates in this state and which has a multiple project 
assurance contract approved by the office of protection from 
research risks; 

e. the facility and personnel providing the protocol 
provided the treatment within their scope of practice, 
experience, and training and are capable of doing so by 
virtue of their experience, training, and volume of patients 
treated to maintain expertise; 

f. there is no clearly superior, non-investigational 
approach; 

g. the available clinical or preclinical data provide a 
reasonable expectation that the treatment will be at least as 
efficacious as the non- investigational alternative; and 

h. the patient has signed an institutional review 
board-approved consent form; 

35. routine colorectal cancer screening provided in 
accordance with the most recently published 
recommendations established by the American College of 
Gastroenterology, in consultation with the American Cancer 
Society, for the ages, family histories, and frequencies 
referenced in such recommendations, including: 

a. fecal occult blood test; 
b. flexible sigmoidoscopy; or 
c. colonoscopy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1830 (October 1999), amended LR 28:480 (March 2002), 
LR 29:339, 343 (March 2003), LR 30:1192 (June 2004), LR 31:441 
(February 2005), LR 32:1898 (October 2006). 
Part V.  Exclusive Provider Organization (EPO)―Plan 

of Benefits 
Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.33.c. … 

34. treatment provided in accordance with a clinical 
trial for cancer, including costs of investigational treatments 
and of associated protocol-related patient care if all of the 
following criteria are met: 

a. treatment is being provided with a therapeutic or 
palliative intent for patients with cancer, or for the 
prevention or early detection of cancer; 

b. treatment is being provided or the studies are 
being conducted in a Phase II, Phase III, or Phase IV clinical 
trial for cancer; 

c. treatment is being provided in accordance with a 
clinical trial approved by one of the following entities: 
 i. one of the United States National Institutes of 
Health; 
 ii. a cooperative group funded by one of the 
United States National Institutes of Health; 
 iii. the FDA in the form of an investigational new 
drug application; 
 iv. the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; 
 v. the United States Department of Defense; 
 vi. a federally funded general clinical research 
center; 
 vii. the Coalition of National Cancer Cooperative 
Groups; 

d. the proposed protocol has been reviewed and 
approved by a qualified institutional review board which 
operates in this state and which has a multiple project 
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assurance contract approved by the office of protection from 
research risks; 

e. the facility and personnel providing the protocol 
provided the treatment within their scope of practice, 
experience, and training and are capable of doing so by 
virtue of their experience, training, and volume of patients 
treated to maintain expertise; 

f. there is no clearly superior, non-investigational 
approach; 

g. the available clinical or preclinical data provide a 
reasonable expectation that the treatment will be at least as 
efficacious as the non- investigational alternative; and 

h. the patient has signed an institutional review 
board-approved consent form; 

35. routine colorectal cancer screening provided in 
accordance with the most recently published 
recommendations established by the American College of 
Gastroenterology, in consultation with the American Cancer 
Society, for the ages, family histories, and frequencies 
referenced in such recommendations, including: 

a. fecal occult blood test; 
b. flexible sigmoidoscopy; or 
c. colonoscopy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits, 
LR 25:1810 (October 1999), amended LR 28:478 (March 2002), 
LR 29:334, 338 (March 2003), LR 30:1190 (June 2004), LR 31:440 
(February 2005), LR 32:1898 (October 2006). 

Part IX.  Managed Care Option (MCO)―Plan of 
Benefits 

Chapter 3. Medical Benefits 
§301. Medical Benefits Apply When Eligible Expenses 

Are Incurred by a Covered Person 
A. - A.33.c. … 

34. treatment provided in accordance with a clinical 
trial for cancer, including costs of investigational treatments 
and of associated protocol-related patient care if all of the 
following criteria are met: 

a. treatment is being provided with a therapeutic or 
palliative intent for patients with cancer, or for the 
prevention or early detection of cancer; 

b. treatment is being provided or the studies are 
being conducted in a Phase II, Phase III, or Phase IV clinical 
trial for cancer; 

c. treatment is being provided in accordance with a 
clinical trial approved by one of the following entities: 
 i. one of the United States National Institutes of 
Health; 
 ii. a cooperative group funded by one of the 
United States National Institutes of Health; 
 iii. the FDA in the form of an investigational new 
drug application; 
 iv. the United States Department of Veterans 
Affairs; 
 v. the United States Department of Defense; 
 vi. a federally funded general clinical research 
center;  
 vii. the Coalition of National Cancer Cooperative 
Groups; 

d. the proposed protocol has been reviewed and 
approved by a qualified institutional review board which 

operates in this state and which has a multiple project 
assurance contract approved by the office of protection from 
research risks; 

e. the facility and personnel providing the protocol 
provided the treatment within their scope of practice, 
experience, and training and are capable of doing so by 
virtue of their experience, training, and volume of patients 
treated to maintain expertise; 

f. there is no clearly superior, non-investigational 
approach; 

g. the available clinical or preclinical data provide a 
reasonable expectation that the treatment will be at least as 
efficacious as the non- investigational alternative; and 

h. the patient has signed an institutional review 
board-approved consent form; 

35. routine colorectal cancer screening provided in 
accordance with the most recently published 
recommendations established by the American College of 
Gastroenterology, in consultation with the American Cancer 
Society, for the ages, family histories, and frequencies 
referenced in such recommendations, including: 

a. fecal occult blood test; 
b. flexible sigmoidoscopy; or 
c. colonoscopy. 

B. Emergency Services. Subject to all applicable terms 
of the plan, emergency services will be considered eligible 
expenses whether rendered by a participating provider or 
non-participating provider, as follows. 

1. Emergency services provided to a covered person 
who is later determined not to have required emergency 
services will be considered eligible expenses except: 

a. when the covered person's medical condition 
would not have led a prudent lay person, acting reasonably 
and possessing an average knowledge of health and 
medicine, to believe that the absence of immediate medical 
attention could reasonably be expected to result in serious 
jeopardy to health, serious impairment to bodily functions, 
or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ, unless the 
covered person was referred for emergency services by a 
participating provider or by an agent of OGB; or 

b. when there was material misrepresentation, 
fraud, omission, or clerical error. 

2. If a covered person requires hospitalization at a 
non-participating provider medically necessary inpatient 
services rendered by the non-participating provider will be 
considered eligible expenses until the covered person can be 
transferred to a participating provider. 

3. OGB must be notified of the emergency services 
within 48 hours following commencement of treatment or 
admission, or as soon as medical circumstances permit. See 
also §307.C regarding the requirement for pre-admission 
certification (PAC) for emergency admissions. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:801(C) and 802(B)(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Division of Administration, Office of Group Benefits LR 
29:888 (June 2003), amended LR 30:1191 (June 2004), LR 31:440 
(February 2005), LR 32:1899 (October 2006). 

 
Tommy D. Teague 
Chief Executive Officer 

0610#073 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Veterinary Medicine 

Temporary Registration during Declared Public Health 
Emergency (LAC 46:LXXXV.309) 

The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine adopts LAC 
46:LXXXV.309 in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 et seq., and the 
Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act, R.S. 37:1569. In keeping 
with its function as set forth by the state legislature in R.S. 
29:769(E), as amended in the 2006 Regular Session and 
effective on the governor's signature on June 2, 2006, the 
board has developed and adopted this Rule thereby creating 
the process for adopting of a future Emergency Rule 
implementing temporary registration in Louisiana, during a 
public health emergency lawfully declared as such by the 
governor, for out-of-state veterinarians or veterinary 
technicians, whose licenses, certifications or registrations are 
current and unrestricted in another jurisdiction of the United 
States. 

The Rule amendment has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

This Rule is currently in effect as an Emergency Rule, 
adopted on June 9, 2006 and readopted on October 4, 2006, 
for the next 120 days from this date or until adoption of the 
final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LXXXV.  Veterinarians 

Chapter 3. Licensure Procedures 
§309. Temporary Registration during a Declared 

Public Health Emergency 
A. In a public health emergency lawfully declared as 

such by the governor of Louisiana, the requirement for a 
Louisiana license (veterinarian) or Louisiana registration 
(veterinary technician) may be suspended by the board 
through its emergency rule-making authority at that time to 
those out of state veterinarians and/or veterinary technicians, 
whose licenses, certifications or registrations are current and 
unrestricted in another jurisdiction of the United States, for a 
period of time not to exceed the duration and scope of R.S. 
29:769(E), as more particularly set forth in this rule. 

B. The Emergency Rule implemented by the board 
pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Practice Act 
shall address the necessity for such an Emergency Rule and 
the specificity necessary to address the needs of the 
particular declared emergency at issue. Such information 
will be posted on the board's Internet website along with the 
appropriate forms for review and use by interested parties. 

C. Accordingly, the following requirements for 
temporary registration may be imposed pursuant to the 
Emergency Rule issued and/or any other requirements which 
more properly address the needs of the particular declared 
emergency. 

D. A veterinarian or veterinary technician not licensed, 
certified or registered in Louisiana, whose licenses, 
certifications or registrations are current and unrestricted in 
another jurisdiction of the United States, may gratuitously 
provide veterinary services if: 

1. the veterinarian or veterinary technician has photo 
identification and a license to verify a current and 
unrestricted license, certification or registration in another 
jurisdiction of the United States, and properly registers with 
the board prior to providing veterinary services in Louisiana 
as follows; 

2. the veterinarian or veterinary technician is engaged 
in a legitimate relief effort during the emergency period, and 
provides satisfactory documentation to the board of the 
location site(s) that he will be providing gratuitous 
veterinary services; 

3. the veterinarian or veterinary technician shall 
comply with the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act, board 
rules, and other applicable laws, as well as practice in good 
faith, and within the reasonable scope of his skills, training, 
and ability; and 

4. the veterinarian or veterinary technician renders 
veterinary services on a gratuitous basis with no revenue of 
any kind to be derived whatsoever from the provision of 
veterinary services within the state of Louisiana. 

E. The authority provided for in the Emergency Rule 
shall be applicable for a period of time not to exceed 60 days 
at the discretion of the board, with the potential extension of 
up to two additional periods not to exceed 60 days for each 
extension as determined appropriate and necessary by the 
board. 

F. All interested veterinarians or veterinary technicians 
shall submit a copy of their respective current and 
unrestricted licenses, certifications or registrations issued in 
other jurisdictions of the United States and photograph 
identification, as well as other requested information, to the 
Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine Office for 
registration with this agency prior to gratuitously providing 
veterinary services in Louisiana. 

G. Should a qualified veterinarian or veterinarian 
technician registered with the board thereafter fail to comply 
with any requirement or condition established by this rule, 
the board may terminate his registration upon notice and 
hearing. 

H. In the event a veterinarian or veterinarian technician 
fails to register with the board, but practices veterinary 
medicine, whether gratuitously or otherwise, then such 
conduct will be considered the unlawful practice of 
veterinary medicine and prosecuted accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 32:1900 
(October 2006). 

 
Wendy D. Parrish 
Administrative Director 

0610#056 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

CommunityCARE Program (LAC 50:I.2903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
LAC 50:I.2903 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 3.  Medicaid Managed Care 

Chapter 29. CommunityCARE 
§2903. Recipient Participation 

A. - B.11. ... 
12. recipients in foster care, other out-of-home 

placement or receiving adoption assistance; 
13. clients of the Office of Youth Development (in state 

custody); and 
14. children under age 19 who are: 

a. eligible for SSI under Title XVI; 
b. eligible under Section 1902(e)(3) of the Social 

Security Act (New Opportunities Waiver and Children's 
Choice recipients); or 

c. receiving services through a family-centered, 
community-based, coordinated care system that receives 
grant funds under Section 501(a)(1)(D) of Title V, and is 
defined by the state in terms of either program participation 
or special health care needs. 

C. Requests for medical exemptions shall be reviewed 
for approval on a case-by-case basis for certain medically 
high risk recipients that may warrant the direct care and 
supervision of a non-primary care specialist. 

D. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:908 (June 2003), amended LR 32:404 
(March 2006), LR 32:1901 (October 2006). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0610#085 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Federally Qualified Health Centers 
(LAC 50:XI.Chapters 101-107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 
50:XI.Chapters 101 and 107, and to amend Chapters 103-
105 under the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 13.  Federally Qualified Health Centers 

Chapter 101. General Provisions 
§10101. Purpose 

A. Section 330 of the Public Health Service (PHS) Act of 
1991 authorized the development of federally qualified 
health centers (FQHCs) through a grant funding program to 
provide care and improve the health status of medically 
underserved populations. 

B. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 
Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), 
certifies the FQHC status of organizations that receive grant 
funding under Section 330 of the PHS Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1901 (October 2006). 
Chapter 103. Provider Participation 
§10301. Provider Enrollment 

A. In order to enroll and participate in the Medicaid 
Program, an FQHC must submit a completed provider 
enrollment packet that includes a copy of the HRSA grant 
approving its FQHC status. 

B. The effective date of an FQHC's enrollment to 
participate in the Medicaid Program shall not be prior to the 
date of receipt of the completed enrollment packet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2487 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006). 
§10303. Standards for Participation 

A. Federally qualified health centers must comply with 
the applicable licensure, accreditation and program 
participation standards for all services rendered. If an FQHC 
wishes to initiate participation, it shall be responsible for
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meeting all of the enrollment criteria of the program. The 
FQHC provider shall: 

1. maintain an acceptable fiscal record keeping system 
that readily distinguishes one type of service from another 
type of service that may be provided; 

2. retain all records necessary to fully disclose the 
extent of services provided to recipients for five years from 
the date of service and furnish such records, and any 
payments claimed for providing such services, to the 
Medicaid Program upon request; and 

3. abide by and adhere to all federal and state 
regulations and policy manuals. 

B. If an FQHC receives approval for a satellite site, the 
satellite site must enter into a separate provider agreement 
and obtain its own Medicaid provider number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2488 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006). 
Chapter 105. Services 
§10501. Scope of Services 

A. Medicaid reimbursement is limited to medically 
necessary services that are covered by the Medicaid State 
Plan and would be covered if furnished by a physician. The 
following services shall be covered: 

1. services furnished by a physician within the scope 
of practice of his profession under Louisiana law; 

2. services furnished by a: 
a. physician assistant; 
b. nurse practitioner; 
c. nurse midwife; 
d. clinical social worker; 
e. clinical psychologist; or 
f. dentist; 

3. services and supplies that are furnished as an 
incident to professional services furnished by all eligible 
professionals; and 

4. other ambulatory services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2488 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1902 (October 2006). 
§10503. Service Limits 

A. Federally qualified health center visits (encounters) 
are limited to 15 visits per year for medically necessary 
services rendered to Medicaid recipients who are 21 years of 
age or older. Visits for Medicaid recipients who are under 21 
years of age and for prenatal and postpartum care are 
excluded from the service limitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006). 

Chapter 107. Reimbursement Methodology 
§10701. Prospective Payment System 

A. Payments for Medicaid covered services will be made 
under a prospective payment system (PPS) and paid on a per 
visit basis. 

B. A visit is defined as a face-to-face encounter between 
a facility health professional and a Medicaid eligible patient 
for the purpose of providing medically necessary outpatient 
services. 

1. Encounters with more than one facility health 
professional that take place on the same day and at a single 
location constitute a single encounter. 

2. Services shall not be arbitrarily delayed or split in 
order to bill additional encounters. 

NOTE: Refer to the FQHC and Physician's Current Procedural 
Terminology (CPT) Manuals for the definition of an 
encounter. 

C. If an FQHC receives approval for a satellite site, the 
PPS per visit rate paid for the services performed at the 
satellite site would be the weighted average cost payment 
rate per encounter for all FQHCs. 

D. The PPS per visit rate for a facility which enrolls and 
receives approval to operate shall be the weighted average 
cost payment rate per encounter for all FQHCs. 

E. The PPS per visit rate for each facility will be 
increased on July 1 of each year by the percentage increase 
in the published Medicare Economic Index (MEI) for 
primary care services. 

F. Federally qualified health center services furnished to 
dual eligibles will be reimbursed reasonable cost which is 
equivalent to the provider specific prospective payment rate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 

Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0610#086 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Louisiana Hurricane Relief Waiver 
Uncompensated Care Costs Pool 
(LAC 50:XXII.Chapters 41-53) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 
50:XXII.Chapters 41-53 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXII.  1115 Demonstration Waivers 
Subpart 5.  Louisiana Hurricane Relief Waiver 

Chapter 41. General Provisions 
§4101. Purpose 

A. As a result of the devastation caused by Hurricanes 
Katrina and Rita, many Louisiana health care providers have 
incurred costs in furnishing medical services and supplies to 
hurricane evacuees and other affected individuals who do 
not have health care coverage through insurance or any other 
financial mechanism. The purpose of the Uncompensated 
Care Costs (UCC) Pool is to provide reimbursement to 
health care providers through federal financial participation 
for services rendered for which there is no other source of 
payment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
Chapter 43. Eligible Populations 
§4301. Definitions 

Affected Individual—an individual who resided in a 
designated individual assistance county or parish pursuant to 
Section 408 of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and 
Emergency Assistance Act, as declared by the President as a 
result of Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, and continues to 
reside in the same state where such county or parish is 
located. 

Evacuee—an affected individual who has been displaced 
to another state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
§4303. Eligibility Requirements 

A. In order to qualify as a member of the eligible 
population, an individual must be either a United States 
citizen or a legal alien who resided in a designated 
individual assistance county or parish for Hurricane Katrina 
or Hurricane Rita as declared by the President. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
Chapter 45. Covered Services  
§4501. Medicaid State Plan Services  

A. Reimbursement is available through the UCC pool for 
the following services covered under the Louisiana Medicaid 
State Plan: 

1. inpatient and outpatient hospital services, including 
ancillary services; 

2. physician services (inpatient and outpatient); 
3. mental health clinic services; 
4. inpatient psychiatric services (free-standing 

psychiatric hospitals and distinct part psychiatric units); 
5. emergency ambulance services; 
6. home health services: 

a. coverage of durable medical equipment and 
supplies is limited to emergency items; 

7. nursing facility services; 

8. pharmacy services; 
9. laboratory services; 
10. X-ray services; 
11. hemodialysis services; 
12. hospice services; 
13. rural health clinic services; and 
14. federally qualified health center services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
§4503. Non-Medicaid State Plan Services  

A. Reimbursement is available through the UCC pool for 
methadone and suboxone substance abuse treatments only to 
the extent that these services are not otherwise reimbursable 
under other funding sources including, but not limited to, 
grant or reimbursement programs offered through: 

1. the Federal Emergency Management Agency; 
2. the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 

Administration; 
3. the National Institutes of Health; or 
4. any other federal or state program (Medicaid, 

SCHIP, Medicare), private insurance or any private source. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
Chapter 47. Provider Participation 
§4701. Participation Requirements 

A. In order to qualify for reimbursement through the 
UCC pool for Medicaid State Plan covered services, the 
provider must have been enrolled to participate in the 
Louisiana Medicaid Program on or before August 24, 2005. 

B. In order to qualify for reimbursement through the 
UCC pool for methadone and suboxone substance abuse 
treatments, the provider must be approved by the Office of 
Addictive Disorders. 

C. Qualifying providers may be either a public or a 
private provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
Chapter 49. Requests for Payment 
§4901. Submission Requirements 

A. Requests for payment must be "person specific" for 
each Hurricane Katrina or Rita evacuee or other affected 
individual. The request must contain the following data, if 
known, for the evacuee or other affected individual: 

1. last name; 
2. first name; 
3. middle initial; 
4. Social Security number; 
5. date of birth; 
6. residential address the week prior to Hurricane 

Katrina or Hurricane Rita; 
7. parish of residence the week prior to Hurricane 

Katrina or Hurricane Rita; 
8. date(s) of service; and 
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9. any other identifying data that would assist in 
establishing the recipient’s identity in the absence of any of 
the items cited in Paragraphs 1-8 above. 

B. Providers may submit requests for payment of costs 
incurred during the following time periods: 

1. dates of service from August 24, 2005 through 
January 31, 2006 for Hurricane Katrina; and 

2. dates of service from September 23, 2005 through 
January 31, 2006 for Hurricane Rita. 

C. Providers shall be required to sign an attestation that 
confirms that: 

1. the services provided were medically necessary; 
2. they have not received payment from any other 

source; 
3. they will not subsequently bill another source for 

payment; 
4. they are not aware of any other payment source for 

the services rendered; and 
5. payment will be accepted as payment in full for the 

services rendered. 
D. The deadline for submission of all payment requests 

is June 30, 2006. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1903 (October 2006). 
Chapter 51. Uncompensated Care Pool 

Reimbursement 
§5101. Allowable Payment 

A. Reimbursement through the UCC pool is only 
available for covered services provided within the State of 
Louisiana to individuals who meet the requirements to be a 
member of the eligible population. 

B. Payment through the UCC pool for Medicaid State 
Plan services shall be an interim payment up to 70 percent of 
the Medicaid fee-for-service rate currently on file for the 
respective service. Additional payments shall be contingent 
on the availability of funds in the UCC Pool. 

1. UCC pool payments to hospitals that qualify for 
Medicaid disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payments 
will be offset from the cost of treating uninsured patients for 
the state fiscal year to which the DSH payment is applicable 
to determine the hospital specific DSH limits. 

C. Payment through the UCC pool for methadone and 
suboxone substance abuse treatment services shall be an 
interim payment up to 70 percent of the fee schedule 
established by the Office of Addictive Disorders. Additional 
payments shall be contingent on the availability of funds in 
the UCC Pool. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1904 (October 2006). 
Chapter 53. Administrative Appeals 
§5301. Fair Hearings and Appeals 

A. There are no provisions under this demonstration 
waiver for fair hearings for those individuals who have 
received medical services or supplies and do not have 
insurance coverage or any other source of payment. 

B. There are no provisions under this demonstration 
waiver for appeals for health care providers who have 

incurred costs associated with the provision of the 
uncompensated care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1904 (October 2006). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0610#088 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rural Health Clinics (LAC 50:XI.Chapters 161-167) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts LAC 
50:XI.Chapters 161-167 under the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 15.  Rural Health Clinics 

Chapter 161. General Provisions 
§16101. Purpose 

A. The Rural Health Clinic Act of 1977 authorized the 
development of rural health clinics to encourage and 
stabilize the provision of outpatient primary care in rural 
areas through cost-based reimbursement. 

B. Rural health clinics improve the health status of 
Louisiana residents in rural and underserved areas by 
working proactively to build community health systems' 
capacity to provide integrated, efficient and effective health 
care services. 

C. Rural health clinic (RHC) regulations distinguish 
between two types of rural health clinics. 

1. The independent RHC is a free-standing practice 
that is not part of a hospital, skilled nursing facility, or home 
health agency. 

2. The provider-based RHC is an integral and 
subordinate part of a hospital, skilled nursing facility, or 
home health agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1904 (October 2006). 
Chapter 163. Provider Participation 
§16301. Provider Enrollment 

A. In order to enroll and participate in the Medicaid 
Program, a RHC must submit a completed provider 
enrollment packet. 
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B. The effective date of enrollment to participate in the 
Medicaid Program shall not be prior to the date of receipt of 
the completed enrollment packet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1904 (October 2006). 
§16303. Standards for Participation 

A. Rural Health Clinics must comply with the applicable 
licensure, accreditation and program participation standards 
for all services rendered. If a RHC wishes to initiate 
participation, it shall be responsible for meeting all of the 
enrollment criteria of the program. The RHC provider shall: 

1. maintain an acceptable fiscal record keeping system 
that readily distinguishes one type of service from another 
type of service that may be provided; 

2. retain all records necessary to fully disclose the 
extent of services provided to recipients for five years from 
the date of service and furnish such records, and any 
payments claimed for providing such services, to the 
Medicaid Program upon request; and 

3. abide by and adhere to all federal and state 
regulations and policy manuals. 

B. Medicaid enrollment can be no sooner than 
Medicaid's receipt of the complete enrollment packet. A 
complete enrollment packet for RHCs must include a copy 
of the CMS provider certification letter approving rural 
health clinic status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006). 
Chapter 165. Services 
§16501. Scope of Services 

A. Medicaid reimbursement is limited to medically 
necessary services that are covered by the Medicaid State 
Plan and would be covered if furnished by a physician. The 
following services shall be covered: 

1. services furnished by a physician, within the scope 
of practice of his profession under Louisiana law; 

2. services furnished by a: 
a. physician assistant; 
b. nurse practitioner; 
c. nurse midwife; 
d. clinical social worker; 
e. clinical psychologist; or 
f. dentist; 

3. services and supplies that are furnished as an 
incident to professional services furnished by all eligible 
professionals; and 

4. other ambulatory services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006). 

§16503. Service Limits 
A. Rural health clinic visits (encounters) are limited to 

12 visits per year for medically necessary services rendered 
to Medicaid recipients who are 21 years of age or older. 
Visits for Medicaid recipients who are under 21 years of age 
and for prenatal and postpartum care are excluded from the 
service limitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006). 
Chapter 167. Reimbursement Methodology 
§16701. Prospective Payment System 

A. Payments for Medicaid covered services will be made 
under a Prospective Payment System (PPS) and paid on a 
per visit basis.  

B. A visit is defined as a face-to-face encounter between 
a facility health professional and a Medicaid eligible patient 
for the purpose of providing medically needed outpatient 
services. 

1. Encounters with more than one facility health 
professional that take place on the same day and at a single 
location constitute a single encounter. 

2. Services shall not be arbitrarily delayed or split in 
order to bill additional encounters. 

NOTE: Refer to the RHC and Physician's Current 
Procedural Terminology (CPT) Manuals for the definition of 
an encounter. 

C. For facilities that enroll to participate in the Medicaid 
Program on or after the effective date of this rule, the PPS 
per visit rate will be the statewide weighted average payment 
rate per encounter for all RHCs. 

1. A change in the scope of services will not be 
considered for an increase in the rate. An increase in the 
encounters due to the change should compensate the 
increased administrative costs. 

D. The PPS per visit rate for each facility will be 
increased on July 1 of each year by the percentage increase 
in the published Medicare Economic Index (MEI) for 
primary services. 

E. No interim or alternate payment methodologies will 
be developed by the department without prior notification to 
each Medicaid licensed RHC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0610#087 
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RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis  
Methods and Techniques  

(LAC 55:I.503) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S.32:663 relative 
to the authority of the Office of State Police to promulgate 
and enforce rules, the Office of State Police hereby amends 
the following Rule regarding the qualifications of operators 
of the Intoxilyzer 5000. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 5. Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis 
Methods and Techniques 

Subchapter A. Analysis of Breath 
§503. Operator Qualification 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. receipt of a high school diploma or satisfactory 

passing of the General Education Development (GED) test 
or an equivalent or higher educational background; 

4. - 4.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:663. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 4:390 (October 1978), 
amended LR 6:663 (November 1980), amended by the Department 
of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 11:256 
(March 1985), LR 14:362 (June 1988), repromulgated LR 14:442 
(July 1988), amended LR 17:672 (July 1991), repromulgated LR 
17:796 (August 1991), amended LR 27:1929 (November 2001), LR 
32:1906 (October 2006). 

 
Stephen J. Hymel 
Undersecretary 

0610#020 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Fire Marshal 

Equal Access for Disabled Individuals 
(LAC 55:V.1501) 

In accordance with the provisions of 
R.S.40:1563(B)(6)(F) relative to the authority of the Office 
of State Fire Marshal to prepare, adopt and promulgate rules 
and regulations in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Office of State Fire Marshal hereby 
amends LAC 55:V:1501 Equal Access for Disabled 
Individuals to provide for enforcement of the HUD Fair 
Housing Accessibility Guidelines as amended in 1988 and 
published in the Federal Register on June 15, 1990. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY  

Part V.  Fire Protection 
Chapter 15. Public Places in General 
§1501. Equal Access for Disabled Individuals 

A. Buildings, structures, public facilities, governmental 
facilities and improved areas built between January 1, 1978 
and August 14, 1995 shall be covered by the standards put 
forward in ANSI 117.1. Such entities built on or after August 
14, 1995, shall be covered by the ADAAG guidelines to the 
Americans with Disabilities Act in effect on September 1, 
1994. 

B.  Multi-family dwelling units of 15 or more dwelling 
units must have at least 5 percent or one dwelling unit which 
meets the regulations specified by ANSI A117.1 1992 
edition. 

C. Multi-family dwelling units, which are required to be 
accessible by Subsection B, shall comply with the 
requirements for dwelling units set forth in ANSI A117.1-
1992 of the American National Standards Institute entitled 
American National Standard Specifications for Making 
Buildings and Facilities Accessible to and Usable by 
Physically Handicapped People. Purchasing information can 
be obtained from the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

D. Any dwelling unit in a facility which incorporates 
more than four dwelling units shall be made accessible in 
accordance with the HUD Fair Housing Accessibility 
Guidelines published on March 6, 1991, 56 Federal Register 
9472, 24 CFR Chapter 1, Subchapter A, Appendix II and III 
(1991) and the Supplemental Notice to Fair Housing 
Accessibility Guidelines: Questions and Answers about the 
Guidelines, published on June 28, 1994, and the HUD Fair 
Housing Act Design Manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1651(B) and R.S. 40:1734(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of Fire Protection, LR 4:465 (November 
1978), repromulgated LR 6:74 (February 1980), amended by the 
Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 7:588 (November 1981), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 23:1698 (December 1997), LR 
32:1906 (October 2006). 

 
Stephen J. Hymel 
Undersecretary 

0610#021 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Youth Services 

Office of Youth Development 

Reporting and Documenting Escapes, Apprehensions, 
Runaways, and AWOLs (LAC 22:I.771) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Administrative Procedure Act, and 
pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 36:405, the
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Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Division of 
Youth Services, Office of Youth Development promulgates 
§771, Reporting and Documenting Escapes, Apprehensions, 
Runaways, and AWOLs. The purpose of the promulgation of 
this Rule is to establish the deputy secretary's policy and 
procedures regarding reporting and documenting escapes, 
apprehensions, runaways, and AWOLs. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 7. Youth Services 
Subchapter C. Field Operations 
§771. Reporting and Documenting Escapes, 

Apprehensions, Runaways, and AWOLs 
A. Purpose.  This rule establishes the policy and 

procedures for reporting and documenting, escapes, 
apprehensions, runaways, and AWOLs (absent without 
leave). 

B. Applicability. Assistant secretary, facility directors, 
Probation and Parole Program Director, and Youth Services 
(YS) Regional Managers. 

C. Policy. It is the deputy secretary's policy that all 
escapes, apprehensions, runaways, and AWOLs, whether 
from a secure or non-secure facility, shall be reported and 
documented.  Appropriate law enforcement agencies shall be 
notified as outlined herein and each unit shall maintain 
appropriate vigilance in apprehending youth.  

D. Procedures 
1. All escapes, apprehensions, runaways, and AWOLs 

shall be reported to YS Central Office in accordance with YS 
rules. 

2. When an escape from a secure facility occurs, 
appropriate law enforcement agencies shall be notified in 
accordance with R.S. 15:909, as well as the control center at 
the Jetson Center for Youth (JCY). The prosecuting district 
attorney shall be notified immediately if required by YS 
rules. Appropriate law enforcement agencies shall also be 
notified of runaways and AWOLs. 

3. The JCY Control Center is responsible for notifying 
NCIC and appropriate local law enforcement agencies of all 
escapes, runaways, and AWOLs. 

4. The YS Central Office Duty Officer shall confirm 
that all notifications of escapes, apprehensions, runaways, 
and AWOLs have been made or cleared as appropriate. 

5. For escapes from secure care facilities, the Office 
of Youth Development (OYD) will obtain a fugitive warrant 
from an East Baton Rouge Parish judge for the unserved 
portion of the disposition. 

6. Notification of all apprehensions shall be in 
accordance with YS rules. The prosecuting district attorney 
shall be notified of apprehensions if required by YS rules. 

7. Notification to registered crime victims shall be 
made in accordance with YS rules. 

8. Directors of secure care facilities shall maintain a 
record and description of every escape from their facility 
pursuant to R.S. 15:909. 

9. The report shall be available for public inspection 
and shall list any prior escapes within the last five years 
from that facility. 

10. YS Central Office Duty Officer 

a. All escapes and apprehensions shall be reported 
by telephone immediately to the YS Central Office Duty 
Officer and followed up with return receipt e-mail 
notification.  

b. YS Central Office shall monitor facility progress 
of apprehension efforts and shall actively participate in 
apprehension efforts for youth who escape from any 
facilities. Searches shall be coordinated with the facility 
from which the youth escaped and the appropriate law 
enforcement agencies. 

c. Information regarding escapes and apprehensions 
shall be reported pursuant to YS rules. 

11. Investigative Report. After any escape from a 
secure care facility, an investigative report shall be prepared 
and submitted to the deputy secretary outlining any 
operational failures or weaknesses that contributed to the 
escape, as well as a plan of action implemented to minimize 
a recurrence. A critical incident review shall be conducted 
with the facility and central office staff within 14 days of the 
incident. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:549, R.S. 15:909, R.S. 46:1844, and Ch.C. Art. 811.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Youth Services, Office of Youth 
Development, LR 32:1907 (October 2006). 

 
Simon G. Gonsoulin 
Deputy Secretary 

0610#028 
 

RULE 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Presidential Disaster Relief (LAC 61:I.601) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:287.85(C) (2), R.S. 
47:287.785, R.S. 47:293(3) and 47:1511, and in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, amends LAC 61:I.601 to add the Low 
Income Housing Tax Credit and the New Markets Tax Credit 
as disaster relief credits.  

Neither the low income housing tax credit nor the new 
markets tax credit was included in the original version of 
LAC 61:I.601 because the Gulf Opportunity Zone Act of 
2005, Pub. L. No. 109-135, 119 Stat. 2577 (H.R. 4440), 
which extended both of these credits, was passed after the 
original drafting of LAC 61:I.601. The purpose of the Rule 
is to declare these additional two credits as disaster relief 
credits and provide guidance regarding their applicability. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 6. Presidential Disaster Relief 
§601. Presidential Disaster Relief Credits 

A. Definitions 
Gulf Opportunity Zone (GO Zone)—that portion of the 

Hurricane Katrina disaster area determined by the President 
to warrant individual or individual and public assistance 
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from the federal government under the Robert T. Stafford 
Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act. 

Hurricane Katrina Disaster Area—any area with 
respect to which a major disaster has been declared by the 
President before September 14, 2005, under Section 401 of 
the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency 
Assistance Act by reason of Hurricane Katrina. 

Hurricane Katrina Employee—an individual who on 
August 28, 2005, has a principal place of abode in the GO 
Zone and is hired during the two year period beginning on 
such date for a position with the principal place of 
employment in the GO Zone or an individual who on August 
28, 2005, had a principal place of abode in the GO Zone but 
was displaced from such abode due to Hurricane Katrina and 
is hired during the period beginning on such date and ending 
on December 31, 2005, without regard to whether the new 
principal place of employment is in the GO Zone. 

Hurricane Katrina Employer—any employer that 
conducted an active trade or business on August 28, 2005, in 
the GO Zone and the employer's active trade or business 
must have been inoperable on any day after August 28, 
2005, and before January 1, 2006, as a result of damage 
sustained due to Hurricane Katrina. 

Rita Gulf Opportunity Zone (Rita GO Zone)—that 
portion of the Hurricane Rita disaster area determined by the 
President to warrant individual or individual and public 
assistance from the Federal Government under the Robert T. 
Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act by 
reason of Hurricane Rita. 

Hurricane Rita Disaster Area—any area with respect to 
which a major disaster has been declared by the President 
before October 6, 2005, under Section 401 of the Robert T. 
Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act by 
reason of Hurricane Rita. 

Hurricane Rita Employee—an individual who on 
September 23, 2005, has a principal place of abode in the 
Rita GO Zone but was displaced from such abode due to 
Hurricane Katrina and is hired during the period beginning 
on such date and ending on December 31, 2005, without 
regard to whether the new principal place of employment is 
in the Rita GO Zone. 

Hurricane Rita Employer—any employer that 
conducted an active trade or business on September 23, 
2005, in the Rita GO Zone and the employer's active trade or 
business must have been inoperable on any day after 
September 23, and before January 1, 2006, as a result of 
damage sustained due Hurricane Rita. 

B. The Katrina Emergency Tax Relief Act of 2005, Pub. 
L. No. 109-73, 119 Stat. 2016 (H.R. 3768) ("KETRA") and 
the Gulf Opportunity Zone Act of 2005, Pub. L. No. 109-
135, 119 Stat. 2577 (H.R. 4440) provide for the following 
federal income tax credits, which the secretary hereby 
declares as presidential disaster area disaster relief credits. 

1. Employee Retention Credit 
a. This is a new credit. It provides a credit of 40 

percent of the qualified wages paid by an eligible employer 
to an eligible employee in the GO Zone or the Rita GO 
Zone. The wages are capped at $6,000. Thus, the maximum 
amount of the credit is $2,400 or 40 percent of $6,000. 

b. GO Zone Qualified wages as defined in IRC 
51(c)(1) are the wages paid or incurred by an eligible 
employer with respect to an eligible employee on any day 

after August 28, 2005, and before January 1, 2006, during 
the period when the trade or business first became 
inoperable and ending on the date on which the business 
resumed significant operations. Qualified wages include 
wages paid to an employee whether the employee performed 
the service, whether the service was performed elsewhere 
other than the principal place of employment or whether 
paid before significant operations have resumed. 

c. Rita GO Zone qualified wages as defined in IRC 
51(c)(1) are the wages paid or incurred by an eligible 
employer with respect to an eligible employee on any day 
after September 23, 2005, and before January 1, 2006, 
during the period when the trade or business first became 
inoperable and ending on the date on which the business 
resumed significant operations. Qualified wages include 
wages paid to an employee whether the employee performed 
the service, whether the service was performed elsewhere 
other than the principal place of employment or whether 
paid before significant operations have resumed. 

d. The secretary has determined that the Employee 
Retention Credit is a federal disaster relief credit granted for 
Hurricanes Katrina and Rita presidential disaster areas. 

2. Work Opportunity Credit 
a. Pre Hurricane Katrina 

 i. The Work Opportunity Credit is available on 
an elective basis to employers who employ individuals from 
one or more of eight target groups. The eight target groups 
are: 

(a) families that receive benefits from the 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Program; 

(b) high-risk youth; 
(c) qualified ex-felons; 
(d) vocational rehabilitation referrals; 
(e) qualified summer youth employees; 
(f) qualified veterans; 
(g) families receiving food stamps; and 
(h) persons receiving Supplemental Security 

Income benefits. 
 ii. Certification is required for an individual to be 
treated as a member of a targeted group. 
 iii. The credit equals 40 percent of qualified first-
year wages, which are capped at $6,000. The percentage 
decreases to 25 percent if the employee works less than 400 
hours. 
 iv. This credit does not apply to rehires or wages 
paid to individuals who had previously been employed by 
the employer. 
 v. This credit expires December 31, 2005. 

b. Post Hurricane Katrina 
 i. The KETRA Act provides that Hurricane 
Katrina employees are members of a targeted group for the 
purpose of the Work Opportunity Credit. 
 ii. The certification requirement for Hurricane 
Katrina employees is waived. 
 iii. Wages paid to individuals who had previously 
been employed, which would normally not be included in 
qualified first year wages, are now included for Hurricane 
Katrina employee unless they were employed by the 
employer on August 28, 2005. 
 iv. The expiration date is waived for Hurricane 
Katrina employees. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 10   October 20, 2006 1909

 v. The secretary has determined that the Work 
Opportunity Credit, with respect to wages paid to Hurricane 
Katrina employees, is a federal disaster relief credit granted 
for the Hurricane Katrina presidential disaster areas. 

3. Employer-Provided Housing Credit for Individuals 
Affected by Hurricane Katrina 

a. Definitions 
  Qualified Employee—with respect to a month, 
an individual who: 

 (1). on August 28, 2005, had a principal 
residence in the Gulf Opportunity ("GO") Zone; and 

 (2).  performs substantially all of his or her 
employment services in the GO Zone for the qualified 
employer furnishing the lodging. 
  Qualified Employer—any employer with a 
trade or business located in the GO Zone. 

b. Pre-Hurricane Katrina—Employer-Provided 
Housing is includable in income as compensation pursuant 
to IRC §61. 

c. Post-Hurricane Katrina 
 i. The Gulf Opportunity Zone Act of 2005 
provides temporary income exclusion for the value of in 
kind lodging for a month to a qualified employee by or on 
behalf of a qualified employer. 
 ii. The amount of the exclusion for any month can 
not exceed $600. 
 iii. The provision also permits a temporary credit 
to a qualified employer of 30 percent of the value of the 
lodging excluded from the income of a qualified employee. 
The amount taken as a credit is not deductible by the 
employer. 
 iv. The secretary has determined that the 
Employer-Provided Housing Credit, with respect to wages 
paid to Hurricane Katrina employees, is a federal disaster 
relief credit granted for the Hurricane Katrina presidential 
disaster areas. 

4. Rehabilitation Tax Credit 
a. Definitions 

  Certified Historic Structure—any building that 
is listed in the National Register, or that is located in a 
registered historic district and is certified by the Secretary of 
the Interior to the Secretary of the Treasury as being of 
historic significance to the district. 
  Qualified Rehabilitated Building—a building 
that meets the following requirements: retention of existing 
external walls and internal structural framework of the 
building and a substantial rehabilitation requirement credit 
only if the rehabilitation expenditures during the 24-month 
period selected by the taxpayer and ending within the 
taxable year exceed the greater of: 

 (1). the adjusted basis of the building (and 
its structural components); or 

 (2).  $5,000. 
b. Pre-Hurricane Katrina—A 20 percent credit is 

provided for qualified rehabilitation expenditures with 
respect to certified historic structures. A 10 percent credit is 
also provided for qualified rehabilitation expenditure with 
respect with a qualified rehabilitation building placed in 
service before 1936. 

c. Post-Hurricane Katrina 
 i. The Gulf Opportunity Zone Act of 2005 
increases the 20 percent credit to 26 percent with respect to 

certified historic structures. The Act also increases the 10 
percent credit to 13 percent for qualified rehabilitation 
buildings. 
 ii. The qualifying certified historic structures and 
qualified rehabilitation buildings must be located in the GO 
Zone. 
 iii. These expenditures must have been incurred 
with respect to such buildings on or after August 28, 2005, 
and before January 1, 2009. 
 iv. The secretary has determined that the increase 
in the Rehabilitation Tax Credit, with respect to the 
rehabilitation of buildings is a federal disaster relief credit 
granted for the Hurricane Katrina presidential disaster areas. 

5. Hope Scholarship and Lifetime Learning Credits 
a. Pre-Hurricane Katrina 

 i. The Hope Scholarship credit is a 
nonrefundable credit of up to $1,500 per student per year for 
qualified tuition and related expenses paid for the first two 
years of the student's post-secondary education in a degree 
or certificate program. 
 ii. The Lifetime Learning Credit is equal to 20 
percent of qualified tuition and related expenses incurred 
during the taxable year on behalf of the taxpayer, the 
taxpayer's spouse, or any dependents. Up to $10,000 of 
qualified tuition and related expenses per taxpayer return are 
eligible for the Lifetime Learning Credit. A taxpayer may 
claim the Lifetime Learning Credit for an unlimited number 
of taxable years. 
 iii. Both the Hope Scholarship and the Lifetime 
Learning Credits are available for "qualified tuition and 
related expenses," which include tuition and fees (excluding 
nonacademic fees) required to be paid to an eligible 
educational institution as a condition of enrollment or 
attendance of a student at the institution. Charges and fees 
associated with meals, lodging, insurance, transportation, 
and similar personal, living or family expenses are not 
eligible for the credit. The expenses of education involving 
sports, games, or hobbies are not qualified tuition expenses 
unless this education is part of the student's degree program, 
or the education is undertaken to acquire or improve the job 
skills of the student. 

b. Post-Hurricane Katrina 
 i. The provision temporarily expands the Hope 
Scholarship and Lifetime Learning credits for students 
attending an eligible education institution located in the Gulf 
Opportunity Zone. 
 ii. The Hope Scholarship credit is increased to 
100 percent of the first $2,000 in qualified tuition and related 
expenses and 50 percent of the next $2,000 of qualified 
tuition and related expenses for a maximum credit of $3,000 
per student. 
 iii. The Lifetime Learning credit rate is increased 
from 20 percent to 40 percent. Thus, the maximum amount 
of the credit is $4000 or 40 percent of $10,000. 
 iv. The provision expands the definition of 
qualified expenses to mean qualified higher education 
expenses as defined under the rules relating to qualified 
tuition programs, including certain room and board expenses 
for at least half-time students. 
 v. The secretary has determined that the increase 
in the Hope Scholarship and the Lifetime Learning Credits, 
with respect to qualified tuition and related expenses of 
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students in the Gulf Opportunity Zone, are federal disaster 
relief credits granted for the Hurricane Katrina presidential 
disaster areas. 

6. Low Income Housing Credit 
a. Pre Hurricane Katrina 

 i. The low-income housing credit may be 
claimed over a 10-year period for the cost of rental housing 
occupied by tenants having incomes below specified levels. 
The amount of the credit for any taxable year in the credit 
period is the applicable percentage of the qualified basis of 
each qualified low-income building. The qualified basis of 
any qualified low-income building for any taxable year 
equals the applicable fraction of the eligible basis of the 
building. 
 ii. In order to be eligible for the low-income 
housing credit, a qualified low-income building must be part 
of a qualified low-income housing project. In general, a 
qualified low-income housing project is defined as a project 
which satisfies one of two tests at the election of the 
taxpayer. The first test is met if 20 percent or more of the 
residential units in the project are both rent-restricted and 
occupied by individuals whose income is 50 percent or less 
of area median gross income (the "20-50 test"). The second 
test is met if 40 percent or more of the residential units in 
such project are both rent-restricted and occupied by 
individuals whose income is 60 percent or less of area 
median gross income (the "40-60 test"). 
 iii. Generally, the aggregate credit authority 
provided annually to each state for calendar year 2006 is 
$1.90 per resident with a minimum annual cap of $2,180,000 
for certain small population states. These amounts are 
indexed for inflation. These limits do not apply in the case of 
projects that also receive financing with proceeds of tax-
exempt bonds issued subject to the private activity bond 
volume limit. 

b. Post Hurricane Katrina 
 i. The otherwise applicable housing credit ceiling 
amount is increased for each of the states within the Gulf 
Opportunity Zone. This increase applies to calendar years 
2006, 2007, and 2008. The additional credit cap for each of 
the affected states equals $18 times the number of such 
state's residents within the Gulf Opportunity Zone. This 
amount is not adjusted for inflation. For purposes of this 
additional credit cap amount, the determination of 
population for any calendar year is made on the basis of the 
most recent census estimate of the resident population of the 
state in the Gulf Opportunity Zone released by the Bureau of 
the Census before August 28, 2005. 
 ii. Under the provision, the Gulf Opportunity 
Zone, the Rita Go Zone, and the Wilma Go Zone are treated 
as high-cost areas for purposes of the low income housing 
credit for property placed-in-service in calendar years 2006, 
2007, and 2008. Therefore, buildings located in the Gulf 
Opportunity Zone, the Rita Go Zone, and the Wilma Go 
Zone are eligible for the enhanced credit. The 20-percent of 
population restriction is waived for this purpose. This 
enhanced credit applies regardless of whether the building 
receives its credit allocation under the otherwise applicable 
low-income housing credit cap or the additional credit cap. 
 iii. The additional credit cap available for states 
within the Gulf Opportunity Zone for calendar years 2006, 
2007 and 2008 may not be carried forward from any year to 

any other year. The present-law rules apply for purposes of 
the Rita Go Zone and the Wilma Go Zone. 
 iv. The secretary has determined that all amounts 
of the low income housing credit allocated throughout the 
state during calendar years 2006, 2007, and 2008 are federal 
disaster relief credits granted for the Gulf Opportunity Zone. 

7. New Markets Tax Credit 
a. Pre Hurricane Katrina 

 i. IRC Section 45D provides a new markets tax 
credit for qualified equity investments made to acquire stock 
in a corporation, or a capital interest in a partnership, that is 
a qualified community development entity ("CDE"). The 
amount of the credit allowable to the investor (either the 
original purchaser or a subsequent holder) is a 5 percent 
credit for the year in which the equity interest is purchased 
from the CDE and for each of the following two years, and a 
6 percent credit for each of the following four years. The 
credit is determined by applying the applicable percentage (5 
or 6 percent) to the amount paid to the CDE for the 
investment at its original issue, and is available for a taxable 
year to the taxpayer who holds the qualified equity 
investment on the date of the initial investment or on the 
respective anniversary date that occurs during the taxable 
year. The credit is recaptured if at any time during the seven-
year period that begins on the date of the original issue of 
the investment the entity ceases to be a qualified CDE, the 
proceeds of the investment cease to be used as required, or 
the equity investment is redeemed. 
 ii. A qualified CDE is any domestic corporation 
or partnership: (1) whose primary mission is serving or 
providing investment capital for low-income communities or 
low-income persons; (2) that maintains accountability to 
residents of low-income communities by their representation 
on any governing board of or any advisory board to the 
CDE; and (3) that is certified by the Secretary of Treasury as 
being a qualified CDE. A qualified equity investment means 
stock (other than nonqualified preferred stock) in a 
corporation or a capital interest in a partnership that is 
acquired directly from a CDE for cash, and includes an 
investment of a subsequent purchaser if such investment was 
a qualified equity investment in the hands of the prior holder. 
Substantially all of the investment proceeds must be used by 
the CDE to make qualified low-income community 
investments. For this purpose, qualified low-income 
community investments include: (1) capital or equity 
investments in, or loans to, qualified active low-income 
community businesses; (2) certain financial counseling and 
other services to businesses and residents in low-income 
communities; (3) the purchase from another CDE of any 
loan made by such entity that is a qualified low-income 
community investment; or (4) an equity investment in, or 
loan to, another CDE. 
 iii. A "low-income community" is a population 
census tract with either (1) a poverty rate of at least 20 
percent or (2) median family income which does not exceed 
80 percent of the greater of metropolitan area median family 
income or statewide median family income (for a 
nonmetropolitan census tract, does not exceed 80 percent of 
statewide median family income). In the case of a population 
census tract located within a high migration rural county, 
low-income is defined by reference to 85 percent (rather 
than 80 percent) of statewide median family income. For this 
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purpose, a high migration rural county is any county that, 
during the 20-year period ending with the year in which the 
most recent census was conducted, has a net out-migration 
of inhabitants from the county of at least 10 percent of the 
population of the county at the beginning of such period. 
 iv. The maximum annual amount of qualified 
equity investments is capped at $2.0 billion per year for 
calendar years 2004 and 2005, and at $3.5 billion per year 
for calendar years 2006 and 2007. 

b. Post Hurricane Katrina 
 i. The provision allows an additional allocation 
of the new markets tax credit in an amount equal to 
$300,000,000 for 2005 and 2006, and $400,000,000 for 
2007, to be allocated among qualified CDEs to make 
qualified low-income community investments within the 
Gulf Opportunity Zone. To qualify for any such allocation, a 
qualified CDE must have as a significant mission the 
recovery and redevelopment of the Gulf Opportunity Zone. 
The carryover of any unused additional allocation is applied 
separately from the carryover with respect to allocations 
made under present law. 
 ii. The secretary has determined that the 
additional allocation of the new markets tax credit totaling 
$300,000,000 for 2005 and 2006 and $400,000,000 for 2007 
are federal disaster relief credits granted for the Gulf 
Opportunity Zone. 

8. The Employee Retention Credit, the Katrina 
disaster relief portion of the Work Opportunity Credit, the 
Low Income Housing Credit for years 2006, 2007, and 2008 
and the Gulf Opportunity Zone portion of the New Markets 
Tax Credit are part of the general business credit under IRC 
§38. If the general business credit is limited, the lesser of the 
amount equal to total disaster relief credits that are 
components of the general business credit or the general 
business credit will be allowed as disaster relief credits 
granted for the Hurricane Katrina presidential disaster areas 
or Hurricane Rita Disaster presidential disaster areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511, R.S. 47:287.85(C) (2), R.S. 47:293(3) and R.S. 
47.287.785 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 32:1907 (October 2006). 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

0610#017 
 

RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

KCSP-FTAP-STEP―Parent Skills―IFG  
(LAC 67:III.1209,1223, 1225, 1229, 1245,  
1291, 4501, 4701, 4702, 4703, 4704, 5307,  
5321, 5323, 5329, 5339, 5341, 5391,5711) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, amended LAC 67:III, Subpart 2, Subpart 10, 
Subpart 13, and Subpart 16.  

The agency amended §§1209, 1223, 1225, 1229, 1245, 
and 1291 in the Family Independence Temporary Assistance 
Program (FITAP); §§5307, 5321, 5323, 5329, 5339, 5341, 

and 5391 in the Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP)and 
§5711 in the Strategies to Empower People (STEP) Program. 
These amendments were effected by a Declaration of 
Emergency signed May 1, 2006, and published in the May 
issue of the Louisiana Register. 

Additionally, the agency is repealing Subpart 10, 
Individual and Family Grant (IFG) Program because 
effective October 15, 2002, IFG was replaced by the 
Individual and Households Program (IHP) which is 
administered by the Federal Emergency Management 
Agency. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 2.  Family Independence Temporary Assistance 

Program 
Chapter 12. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter A. Application, Determination of Eligibility, 

and Furnishing Assistance 
§1209. Notices of Adverse Action 

A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13 
days prior to taking action to reduce or terminate benefits. In 
some circumstances advance notice is not required. A 
concurrent notice shall be sent to the client at the time of 
action in the following situations: 

1. - 9. ... 
10. repealed. 
11. - 16. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B. and R.S. 46:237; 
Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2447 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 28:2565 
(December 2002), LR 30:493 (March 2004), LR 32:1911 (October 
2006). 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§1223. Citizenship 

A. Each FITAP recipient must be a United States Citizen, 
a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien. A non-citizen 
national is a person born in an outlying possession of the 
United States (American Samoa or Swain's Island) on or 
after the date the U.S. acquired the possession, or a person 
whose parents are U.S. non-citizen nationals. A qualified 
alien is: 

1. - 9. ... 
10. an alien who is a victim of a severe form of 

trafficking in persons or effective May 1, 2006, an eligible 
relative of a victim of a severe form of trafficking in persons. 

B. - B.8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B., P.L. 106-386, Act 
16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2448 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 27:2263 (December 
2001), LR 28:1599 (July 2002), LR 32:1911 (October 2006). 
§1225. Enumeration 

A. Each applicant for, or recipient of, FITAP is required 
to furnish a Social Security number or to apply for a Social 
Security number if such a number has not been issued or is 
not known, unless effective May 1, 2006, good cause has 
been established. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474 and R.S. 46:231.1.B., Act 16, 2005 
Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2449 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 32:1911 (October 
2006). 
§1229. Income 

A. - B.2. ... 
C. Earned Income Deductions. Each individual in the 

income unit who has earned income is entitled to the 
following deductions only. 

1. Standard deduction of $120. 
2. $900 Time-Limited Deduction. This deduction is 

applied for six months when a recipient's earnings exceed 
the $120 standard deduction. The months need not be 
consecutive nor within the same certification periods. The 
deduction is applicable for a six-month lifetime limit for the 
individual. 

3. Dependent Care Deduction. Recipients may be 
entitled to a deduction for dependent care for: 

a. an incapacitated adult; 
b. effective May 1, 2006, a child 13 or older who is 

not receiving CCAP; or 
c. effective May 1, 2006, the amount charged by a 

child care provider that exceeds the CCAP maximum for a 
child in care. 

D. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq. and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B., 
R.S. 46:231.2, P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2449 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 26:2831 (December 
2000), LR 31:2956 (November 2005), LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 
§1245. Parenting Skills Education 

A. Effective May 1, 2006, recipients who are pregnant or 
have a child under age one shall participate in parenting 
skills education as outlined in LAC 67:III.Chapter 57, 
§5711. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474 and R.S. 46:231.5; Act 58, 2003 
Reg. Session. Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2453 (December 
1999), amended LR 30:494 (March 2004), LR 32:1912 (October 
2006). 
Subchapter D. Special Initiatives 
§1291. Substance Abuse Treatment Program 

A. - E.4. ... 
5. Failure to Cooperate. Failure or refusal of a 

recipient to participate in substance abuse screening, testing, 
or participation in the education and rehabilitation program, 
without good cause, will result in the following actions 
effective May 1, 2006. 

a. At application, the application is rejected, unless 
the person is an 18-year-old dependent child. Exclude any 
18-year old dependent child that fails to cooperate until they 
participate. 

b. For certified cases in which the family is not 
work-eligible, the case will be closed for at least one month 
and until the client complies with this requirement, 
whichever is later. 

c. For certified cases in which the family is work-
eligible, a STEP sanction will be imposed with the 
appropriate occurrence and reason. The case must remain 
closed for the duration of the sanction period and until the 
client complies with this requirement, whichever is later. 

d. For certified cases in which an 18-year-old 
dependent child fails to cooperate, exclude him from the 
grant until he participates. 

6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 36:474 and 46:231; and Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:1492 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 

Subpart 10.  Individual and Family Grant Program 
Chapter 45. Administration 
§4501. Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

applicable sections of 44 CFR. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 17:1226 (December 
1991), repealed LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 
Chapter 47. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter A. Need and Amount of Assistance 
§4701. Maximum Grant Amount 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 44 

CFR 206.131, P.L. 93-288 and F.R. 54:58378. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 15:744 
(September 1989), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 17:889 (September 1991), LR 19:213 
(February 1993), LR 19:784 (June 1993), LR 20:449 (April 1994), 
LR 21:403 (April 1995), repealed LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 
§4702. Flood Insurance 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 44 

CFR 206.131 and 44 CFR Part 61 and P.L. 93-288. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR LR 
15:744 (September 1989), amended by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 17:889 (September 1991), 
LR 19:213 (February 1993), LR 19:784 (June 1993), LR 20:449 
(April 1994), LR 21:403 (April 1995), LR 21:837 (August 1995), 
LR 22:1232 (December 1996), repromulgated LR 23:591 (May 
1997), repealed LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 
§4703. Minimum Damage Threshold 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 44 

CFR 206.131. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 22:1232 (December 
1996), repealed LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 
§4704. Special Condition of Eligibility 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193 and P.L. 104-208; 44 CFR Parts 61 and 206. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:1953 (October 
1998), repealed LR 32:1912 (October 2006). 
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Subpart 13.  Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 
Chapter 53. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter A. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
§5307. Notices of Adverse Action 

A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13 
days prior to taking action to terminate benefits. In some 
circumstances advance notice is not required. A concurrent 
notice shall be sent to the client at the time of action in the 
following situations: 

1. - 13. ... 
14. effective May 1, 2006, the child has been certified 

for Supplemental Security Income and that fact has been 
established. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 46:237, Act 
16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:351 (February 
2000), amended LR 28:2565 (December 2002), LR 32:1913 
(October 2006). 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§5321. Age Limit 

A. Effective May 1, 2006, a dependent child must be 
under 18 years of age. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B and R.S. 46:237; 
Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:352 (February 
2000), amended LR 30:496 (March 2004), LR 31:103 (January 
2005), LR 32:1913 (October 2006). 
§5323. Citizenship 

A. Each KCSP recipient must be a United States Citizen, 
a non-citizen national, or a qualified alien. A non-citizen 
national is a person born in an outlying possession of the 
United States (American Samoa or Swain's Island) on or 
after the date the U.S. acquired the possession, or a person 
whose parents are U.S. non-citizen nationals. A qualified 
alien is: 

1. - 9. ... 
10. an alien who is a victim of a severe form of 

trafficking in persons, or effective May 1, 2006, an eligible 
relative of a victim of a severe form of trafficking in persons. 

B. - B. 8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 46:237, P.L. 
106-386, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:352 (February 
2000), amended LR 27:2264 (December 2001), LR 28:1600 (July 
2002), LR 32:1913 (October 2006). 
§5329. Income 

A. Income is any gain or benefit to a household that has 
monetary value and is not considered a resource. Count all 
income in determining pretest eligibility except income 
from: 

1. - 28. ... 
29. effective May 1, 2006, Supplemental Security 

Income (SSI). 
B. - B. 2.c. … 

3. For purposes of this pretest, income is defined as 
countable income belonging to any member of the KCSP 

income unit. Exception effective May 1, 2006: Income for 
children receiving foster care and Supplemental Security 
Income is not included in the income test. 

C. Income after Pretest. The child is determined eligible 
for KCSP if the child's countable income is, effective July 1, 
2006, less than $280. If the child's countable income is 
effective July 1, 2006, $280 or more, the child is ineligible. 

D. Payment Amount. Effective July 1, 2006, payment 
amount is $280 per month for each eligible child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq. and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 
46:237, and P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:353 (February 
2000), amended LR 26:2832 (December 2000), LR 31:2958 
(November 2005), LR 32:1913 (October 2006). 
§5339. Parenting Skill Education 

A. As a condition of eligibility for KCSP benefits, 
effective May 1, 2006, any child under age 18 who is 
pregnant or the parent of a child under the age of one must 
attend a parenting skills education program as outlined in 
LAC 67:III.Chapter 57, §5711. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 46:237, Act 
58, 2003 Reg. Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:355 (February 
2000), amended LR 30:496 (March 2004), LR 32:1913 (October 
2006). 
§5341. Drug Screening, Testing, Education, and 

Rehabilitation 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 46:237; Act 
58, 2003 Reg. Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:355 (February 
2000), amended LR 30:497 (March 2004), repealed LR 32:1913 
(October 2006). 
Subchapter D. Special Initiatives 
§5391. Substance Abuse Treatment Program 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 36:474 and 46:231; and Act 12, 2001 Reg. 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:1493 (June 
2002), repealed LR 32:1913 (October 2006). 

Subpart 16.  Strategies to Empower People (STEP) 
Program 

Chapter 57. Strategies to Empower People (STEP) 
Program 

Subchapter B. Participation Requirements 
§5711. Parenting Skills Education 

A. Effective May 1, 2006, FITAP and KCSP recipients 
who are pregnant or have a child under age one shall 
participate in parenting skills education as the primary work 
activity under the Family Success Agreement. Parenting 
Skills Education consists of family strengthening, parenting 
information, and money management information. The 
lessons provide key parenting practices for parents to learn 
child nurturance that includes care, safety, and understanding 
child development. Applicable child care and transportation 
shall be provided to participants to enable their participation. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 
104-193, R.S. 46:231, R.S. 46:460, Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, and 
Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 30:498 (March 
2004), amended LR 32:1913 (October 2006). 

 
Ann Silverberg Williamson 
Secretary 
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RULE 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

TANF Initiatives―Third Party In-Kind 
Contributions―Microenterprise 

(LAC 67:III.5511 and 5583) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, adopted LAC 67:III, Subpart 15, Chapter 55, §5511 
Micro-Enterprise Development Program and §5583, Third 
Party In-Kind Contributions as TANF MOE. 

As a result of Act 1 of the 2004 Regular Legislative 
Session, the agency repealed several TANF Initiatives 
including Micro-Enterprise Development effective 
September 2004, as funding was no longer available. 
Pursuant to Act 16 of the 2005 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, the agency is re-establishing this 
program as funds have once again been appropriated for this 
initiative. 

As a consequence of two hurricanes striking Louisiana in 
2005, the Red Cross provided certain mass care in Louisiana 
to persons affected by the storms. The value of certain 
goods, services, and expenditures provided to eligible 
families by the Red Cross may count toward the state's 
Maintenance of Effort (MOE) requirement. 

The Department of Social Services (DSS) has requested 
that the Red Cross advise the department of the total value of 
expenses paid by the organization between September 1 and 
December 31, 2005, for mass care so that DSS may count a 
portion of the total value towards the state's MOE 
requirement. This new TANF Initiative, Third Party In-Kind 
Contributions as MOE, provides a mechanism to capture the 
information on third party in-kind contributions for use as 
TANF MOE. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5511. Micro-Enterprise Development Program 

A. Effective May 1, 2006, the Office of Family Support 
shall enter into a Memorandum of Understanding with the 
Department of Economic Development to provide assistance 
to low-income families who wish to start their own 
businesses. 

B. These services meet the TANF goal to end the 
dependence of needy parents on government benefits by 
promoting job preparation, work, and marriage. This goal 
will be accomplished by providing assistance to low-income 

families through the development of comprehensive micro-
enterprise development opportunities as a strategy for 
moving parents into self-sufficiency. 

C. Eligibility for services is limited to needy families, 
that is, a family in which any member receives a Family 
Independence Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP) 
grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) grant, Food 
Stamps, Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) benefits, 
Medicaid, Louisiana Children's Health Insurance Program 
(LaCHIP), Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Free or 
Reduced School Lunch, or who has earned income at or 
below 200 percent of the federal poverty level. Only the 
parent or caretaker relative within the needy family is 
eligible to participate. 

D. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 16, 2005 Reg. 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:1914 (October 
2006). 
§5583. Third Party In-Kind Contributions as TANF 

MOE 
A. The Office of Family Support (OFS) may enter into a 

Memorandum of Understanding with the American Red 
Cross and other third-party organizations to collect 
information on expenditures for services provided to 
families following a federally-declared disaster for the 
purpose of claiming eligible expenditures as TANF 
Maintenance of Effort (MOE). Eligible expenditures include 
activities and services provided on a congregate basis to the 
community as a whole, such as sheltering, feeding, bulk 
distribution of items, but not including any expenses for 
which the federal government is obligated to reimburse the 
third party. 

B. The third party organization shall determine the total 
value of the expenses and advise OFS of this value on a 
periodic basis. 

C.  OFS shall establish a methodology to estimate the 
percentage of total expenses that were made on behalf of 
TANF-eligible families following a federally-declared 
disaster. 

D. These services meet the TANF goal to provide 
assistance to needy families so that children may be cared 
for in their own homes or in the homes of relatives. 

E. Financial eligibility for these services is limited to 
eligible families. A family consists of a minor child living 
with a custodial parent or an adult caretaker relative. An 
eligible family is one with income at or below 200 percent of 
the federal poverty level. 

F. OFS will count eligible third party in kind 
contributions as TANF Maintenance of Effort (MOE) funds 
starting September 2005. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 16, 2005 Reg. 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:1914 (October 
2006). 

 

Ann Silverberg Williamson 
Secretary 
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