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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Construction and Demolition Debris Tonnage Fee 
(LAC 33:VII.529)(SW041E1) 

In accordance with the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), which allows 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish rules, and under the authority of R.S. 
30:2011, the secretary of the department hereby declares that 
an emergency action is necessary to secure additional 
funding to support the department's continued surveillance 
and oversight activities to prevent improper disposal of solid 
waste in order to protect the public health and the 
environment. This is a renewal of Emergency Rule SW041E, 
which was effective on July 10, 2006, and published in the 
Louisiana Register on July 20, 2006. 

Hurricanes Katrina and Rita of 2005 produced an 
extraordinary amount of waste that is being handled as 
construction or demolition debris. This has enlarged a pre-
existing lack of adequate funding for surveillance of landfills 
permitted to accept construction or demolition debris 
collected from these facilities. Prior to Act 718 of the 2006 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, there was no 
source of funding for the department to finance the 
additional surveillance and oversight necessary to assure the 
proper cleanup and disposal of this waste. This Emergency 
Rule implements the provisions of Act 718 of the 2006 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature regarding the 
imposition of a $0.20 per ton fee assessed on construction or 
demolition debris deposited in a facility permitted as a 
construction or demolition debris landfill. Permitted, as 
defined in the regulations (LAC 33:VII.115), in brief, is any 
written authorization issued by the administrative authority. 
Written authorizations include, but are not limited to, 
standard permits, temporary disposal site authorizations, 
orders to upgrade, or orders to close. This fee will apply to 
construction or demolition debris which is subject to a fee 
imposed by the facility. Submittal of the fee is not due to the 
department until the invoicing for Fiscal Year 2007-2008. 
Recordkeeping of data on which invoicing will be based 
begins on July 1, 2006. The department has begun 
rulemaking to promulgate this regulation change.  

This Emergency Rule is effective on November 7, 2006, 
and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or 
until a final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For 
more information concerning SW041E1 you may contact the 
Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

This Emergency Rule is available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx, and 
is available for inspection at the following DEQ office 
locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, 

LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, 
Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, 
LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 
Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, 
Suite C, Mandeville, LA 70471. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 5. Solid Waste Management System 
Subchapter D. Solid Waste Fees 
§529. Annual Monitoring and Maintenance Fee 

A. - B.2.b. … 
c. for construction or demolition debris deposited at 

permitted construction or demolition debris facilities (Type 
III facilities), $0.20/ton; and the fee is only applicable to 
construction or demolition debris that is subject to a fee 
imposed by the facility;  

d. for surface impoundments, no tonnage fee; 
e. for publicly operated facilities that treat domestic 

sewage sludge, no tonnage fee; and 
f. for Type I-A, II-A, III (except for construction or 

demolition debris disposal facilities), and beneficial-use 
facilities, no tonnage fee. 

B.3. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq and specifically 2014(D)(5).  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Solid 
Waste Division, LR 19:187 (February 1993), amended by the 
Office of Management and Finance, Fiscal Services Division, LR 
22:18 (January 1996), LR 25:427 (March 1999), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 29:689 (May 2003), LR 29:2051 (October 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division,  
LR 33: 

 
Mike D. McDaniel, Ph.D. 
Secretary  

0611#010 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary  
Legal Affairs Division 

Expedited Penalty Agreement 
(LAC 33:I.801, 803, 805, and 807)(OS054E11) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allow 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish rules, and of R.S. 30:2011 and 2074, 
which allow the department to establish standards, 
guidelines, and criteria, to promulgate rules and regulations, 
and to issue compliance schedules, the secretary of the 
department hereby declares that an emergency action is 
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necessary in order to implement expedited penalty 
agreements. 

This is a renewal of Emergency Rule OS054E10, which 
was effective on July 18, 2006, and published in the 
Louisiana Register on August 20, 2006. Minor grammatical 
edits are made in this renewal of the Emergency Rule. 

The Emergency Rule will abate the delay in correcting 
minor and moderate violations of the Environmental Quality 
Act.  Delays in enforcement reduce the effectiveness of the 
action, unnecessarily utilize resources, and slow down the 
enforcement process.  In the past three years alone, the 
Enforcement Division has received 8,139 referrals and has 
issued 4,259 actions.  Currently strained budget and resource 
issues pose imminent impairment to addressing minor and 
moderate violations.  This Rule will provide an alternative 
penalty assessment mechanism that the department may 
utilize, at its discretion, to expedite penalty agreements in 
appropriate cases.  The report to the Governor by the 
Advisory Task Force on Funding and Efficiency of the 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality 
recommended this action as a pilot program.  The legislature 
approved the report and passed Act 1196 in the 2003 Regular 
Session allowing the department to promulgate rules for the 
program.  This Emergency Rule allows the operation of the 
pilot program to commence immediately, without the delay 
and inflexibility of a permanent rule. The department has 
begun rulemaking to promulgate these regulations. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on November 15, 2006, 
and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or 
until a final rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For 
more information concerning OS054E11 you may contact 
the Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550.  

This Emergency Rule is available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx, and 
is available for inspection at the following DEQ office 
locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, 
LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, 
Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, 
LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 
Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, 
Suite C, Mandeville, LA  70471. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 8. Expedited Penalty Agreement 
§801. Definitions 

Agency Interest Number―a site-specific number assigned 
to a facility by the department that identifies the facility in a 
distinct geographical location. 

Expedited Penalty Agreement―a predetermined penalty 
assessment issued by the department and agreed to by the 
respondent, which identifies violations of minor or moderate 
gravity as determined by LAC 33:I.705, caused or allowed 
by the respondent and occurring on specified dates, in 
accordance with R.S. 30:2025(D). 

LPDES General Permit―for the purposes of this Chapter, 
any Louisiana Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
Permit in the LAG530000, LAG540000, LAG750000, 
LAR050000, or LAR100000 series. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33: 
§803. Purpose 

A. The purpose of this Chapter is to provide an 
alternative penalty assessment mechanism that the 
department may utilize, at its discretion, to expedite penalty 
assessments in appropriate cases. This Chapter: 

1. addresses common violations of minor or moderate 
gravity;  

2. quantifies and assesses penalty amounts for 
common violations in a consistent, fair, and equitable 
manner; 

3. ensures that the penalty amounts are appropriate, in 
consideration of the nine factors listed in R.S. 
30:2025(E)(3)(a); 

4. eliminates economic incentives for noncompliance 
for common minor and/or moderate violations; and 

5. ensures expeditious compliance with environmental 
regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33: 
§805. Applicability 

A. Limit of Penalty Amount. The total penalty assessed 
for the expedited penalty agreement shall not exceed $1,500 
for one violation or $3,000 for two or more violations. 

B. Departmental Discretion. The secretary of the 
department or his designee, at his sole discretion, may 
propose an expedited penalty agreement for any violation 
described in LAC 33:I.807.A and considered in accordance 
with Subsection E of this Section. The expedited penalty 
agreement shall specify that the respondent waives any right 
to an adjudicatory hearing or judicial review regarding 
violations identified in the signed expedited penalty 
agreement. The respondent must concur with and sign the 
expedited penalty agreement in order to be governed by this 
Chapter and R.S. 30:2025(D). 

C. Notification to the Respondent. The expedited penalty 
agreement shall serve as notification to the respondent of the 
assessed penalty amount for the violations identified on the 
specified dates. 

D. Certification by the Respondent. By signing the 
expedited penalty agreement, the respondent certifies that all 
cited violations in the expedited penalty agreement have 
been or will be corrected, and that the assessed penalty 
amount has been or will be paid, within 30 days of receipt of 
the expedited penalty agreement. 

E. Nine Factors for Consideration. An expedited penalty 
agreement may be used only when the following criteria for 
the nine factors for consideration listed in R.S. 
30:2025(E)(3)(a) are satisfied. 

1. The History of Previous Violations or Repeated 
Noncompliance. The violation identified in the expedited 
penalty agreement is not the same as or similar to a violation 
that occurred within the previous two years at the facility 
under the same agency interest number, and that was 
identified in any compliance order, penalty assessment, 
settlement agreement, or expedited penalty agreement issued 
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to the respondent by the department. Site-specific 
enforcement history considerations will only apply to 
expedited penalty agreements.  

2. The Nature and Gravity of the Violation. The 
violation identified is considered to be minor or moderate 
with regard to its nature and gravity. 

a. The violation identified in the expedited penalty 
agreement deviates somewhat from the requirements of 
statutes, regulations, or permit; however, the violation 
exhibits at least substantial implementation of the 
requirements. 

b. The violation identified is isolated in occurrence 
and limited in duration. 

c. The violation is easily identifiable and corrected. 
d. The respondent concurs with the violation 

identified and agrees to correct the violation identified and 
any damages caused or allowed by the identified violation 
within 30 days of receipt of the expedited penalty 
agreement. 

3. The Gross Revenues Generated by the Respondent. 
By signing the expedited penalty agreement, the respondent 
agrees that sufficient gross revenues exist to pay the assessed 
penalty and correct the violation identified in the expedited 
penalty agreement within 30 days of receipt of the expedited 
penalty agreement. 

4. The Degree of Culpability, Recalcitrance, Defiance, 
or Indifference to Regulations or Orders. The respondent is 
culpable for the violation identified, but has not shown 
recalcitrance, defiance, or extreme indifference to 
regulations or orders. Willingness to sign an expedited 
penalty agreement and correct the identified violation within 
the specified time frame demonstrates respect for the 
regulations and a willingness to comply.  

5. The Monetary Benefits Realized Through 
Noncompliance. The respondent's monetary benefit from 
noncompliance for the violation identified shall be 
considered. The intent of these regulations is to eliminate 
economic incentives for noncompliance. 

6. The Degree of Risk to Human Health or Property 
Caused by the Violation. The violation identified does not 
present actual harm or substantial risk of harm to the 
environment or public health. The violation identified is 
isolated in occurrence or administrative in nature, and the 
violation identified has no measurable detrimental effect on 
the environment or public health. 

7. Whether the Noncompliance or Violation and the 
Surrounding Circumstances Were Immediately Reported to 
the Department and Whether the Violation or 
Noncompliance Was Concealed or There Was an Attempt to 
Conceal by the Person Charged. Depending upon the type of 
violation, failure to report may or may not be applicable to 
this factor. If the respondent concealed or attempted to 
conceal any violation, the violation shall not qualify for 
consideration under these regulations. 

8. Whether the Person Charged Has Failed to Mitigate 
or to Make a Reasonable Attempt to Mitigate the Damages 
Caused by the Noncompliance or Violation. By signing the 
expedited penalty agreement, the respondent states that the 
violation identified and the resulting damages, if any, have 
been or will be corrected. Violations considered for 
expedited penalty agreements are, by nature, easily 

identified and corrected. Damages caused by any violation 
identified are expected to be nonexistent or minimal. 

9. The Costs of Bringing and Prosecuting an 
Enforcement Action, Such as Staff Time, Equipment Use, 
Hearing Records, and Expert Assistance. Enforcement costs 
for the expedited penalty agreement are considered minimal. 
Enforcement costs for individual violations are covered with 
the penalty amount set forth for each violation in  
LAC 33:I.807. 

F. Schedule. The respondent must return the signed 
expedited penalty agreement and payment for the assessed 
amount to the department within 30 days of the respondent's 
receipt of the expedited penalty agreement. If the department 
has not received the signed expedited penalty agreement and 
payment for the assessed amount by the close of business on 
the thirtieth day after the respondent's receipt of the 
expedited penalty agreement, the expedited penalty 
agreement may be withdrawn at the department's discretion. 

G. Extensions. If the department determines that 
compliance with the cited violation is technically infeasible 
or impracticable within the initial 30-day period for 
compliance, the department, at its discretion, may grant 
additional time in order for the respondent to correct the 
violation cited in the expedited penalty agreement. 

H. Additional Rights of the Department 
1. If the respondent signs the expedited penalty 

agreement, but fails to correct the violation identified, pay 
the assessed amount, or correct any damages caused or 
allowed by the cited violation within the specified time 
frame, the department may issue additional enforcement 
actions, including, but not limited to, a civil penalty 
assessment, and may take any other action authorized by law 
to enforce the terms of the expedited penalty agreement. 

2. If the respondent does not agree to and sign the 
expedited penalty agreement, the department shall consider 
the respondent notified that a formal civil penalty is under 
consideration. The department may then pursue formal 
enforcement action against the respondent in accordance 
with R.S. 30:2025(C), 2025(E), 2050.2, and 2050.3. 

I. Required Documentation. The department shall not 
propose any expedited penalty agreement without an 
affidavit, inspection report, or other documentation to 
establish that the respondent has caused or allowed the 
violation to occur on the specified dates. 

J. Evidentiary Requirements. Any expedited penalty 
agreement issued by the department shall notify the 
respondent of the evidence used to establish that the 
respondent has caused or allowed the violation to occur on 
the specified dates.  

K. Public Enforcement List. The signed expedited 
penalty agreement is a final enforcement action of the 
department and shall be included on the public list of 
enforcement actions referenced in R.S. 30:2050.1(B)(1). 

L. Date of Issuance. When an expedited penalty 
agreement is issued in conjunction with a Notice of Potential 
Penalty, the issuance date shall be the date on the document 
of initial signature by the administrative authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33: 
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§807. Types of Violations and Expedited Penalty 
Amounts 

A. The types of violations listed in the following table 
may qualify for coverage under this Chapter; however, any 
violation listed below, which is identified in an expedited 
penalty agreement, must also meet the conditions set forth in 
LAC 33:I.805.E. 

 
Expedited Penalties 

Violation Citation Amount Frequency
ALL MEDIA 

Failure to provide timely 
notification for the 
unauthorized discharge of any 
material that exceeds the 
reportable quantity but does 
not cause an emergency 
condition. LAC 33.I.3917.A $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to provide prompt 
notification of any 
unauthorized discharge that 
results in the contamination of 
the groundwaters of the state 
or that otherwise moves in, 
into, within, or on any 
saturated subsurface strata in 
accordance with LAC 
33:I.3923. LAC 33:I.3919.A $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to provide timely 
written notification of the 
unauthorized discharge of any 
material that exceeds the 
reportable quantity but does 
not cause an emergency 
condition. LAC 33:I.3925.A $500 

Per 
occurrence

AIR QUALITY 
40 CFR Part 70 General 
Permit conditions (Part K, L, 
M, or R): Failure to timely 
submit any applicable annual, 
semiannual, or quarterly 
reports. 

LAC 
33:III.501.C.4 $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit an Annual 
Criteria Pollutant Emissions 
Inventory in a timely and 
complete manner when 
applicable. LAC 33:III.919 $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit an Annual 
Toxic Emissions Data 
Inventory in a timely and 
complete manner when 
applicable. LAC 33:III.5107 $500 

Per 
occurrence

Control of Fugitive 
Emissions, sandblasting 
facilities: Failure to take all 
reasonable precautions to 
prevent particulate matter 
from becoming airborne. LAC 33:III.1305.A $250 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to provide notice of 
change of ownership within 
45 days after the change. LAC 33:III.517.G $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to timely submit any 
applicable Specific Condition 
or General Condition report as 
specified in a minor source 
permit. 

LAC 
33:III.501.C.4 $250 

Per 
occurrence

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to timely submit any 
applicable Specific Condition 
or General Condition report 
(other than those specified 
elsewhere in this Section) as 
specified in a Part 70 (Title V) 
air permit. 

LAC 
33:III.501.C.4 $350 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit an updated 
Emission Point List, 
Emissions Inventory 
Questionnaire (EIQ), 
emissions calculations, and 
certification statement as 
described in LAC 
33:III.517.B.1 within seven 
calendar days after effecting 
any modification to a facility 
authorized to operate under a 
standard oil and gas permit. 

LAC 
33:III.501.C.4 $750 

Per 
occurrence/ 

emission 
point 

Failure to submit the Title V 
permit renewal application at 
least six months prior to the 
date of expiration, applicable 
only when the renewal 
application is submitted prior 
to permit expiration and a 
renewal permit is issued on or 
before the expiration date. LAC 33:III.507.E.4 $1,000 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to maintain records for 
glycol dehydrators subject to 
LAC 33:III.2116. LAC 33:III.2116.F $250 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit an initial 
perchloroethylene inventory 
report. LAC 33:III.5307.A $250 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit a 
perchloroethylene usage 
report by July 1 for the 
preceding calendar year. LAC 33:III.5307.B $250 

Per 
occurrence

Stage II Vapor Recovery 
Note: LAC 33:III.2132 is only applicable to subject gasoline dispensing 
facilities in the parishes of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, West Baton 
Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, and Pointe Coupee. 
Failure to submit an 
application to the 
administrative authority prior 
to installation of the Stage II 
vapor recovery system. 

LAC 
33:III.2132.B.6 $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to have at least one 
person trained as required by 
the regulations. LAC 33:III.2132.C $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to test the vapor 
recovery system prior to start-
up of the facility and annually 
thereafter. LAC 33:III.2132.D $750 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to post operating 
instructions on each pump. LAC 33:III.2132.E $100 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to maintain equipment 
and tag defective equipment 
"out of order." 

LAC 
33:III.2132.F.1 and 
3-4 $500 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to perform daily 
inspections and accurately 
record results. 

LAC 
33:III.2132.F.2 $300 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to maintain records 
on-site for at least two years 
and present them to an 
authorized representative 
upon request. 

LAC 
33:III.2132.G.1-7 $300 

Per 
compliance 
inspection 
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Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to use and/or 
diligently maintain, in proper 
working order, all air 
pollution control equipment 
installed at the site. LAC 33:III.905 $100 

Per 
occurrence

HAZARDOUS WASTE 
Used Oil 

Failure of a used oil generator 
to stop, contain, clean up, 
and/or manage a release of 
used oil, and/or repair or 
replace leaking used oil 
containers or tanks prior to 
returning them to service. LAC 33:V.4013.E $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of a used oil transfer 
facility to stop, contain, clean 
up, and/or manage a release of 
used oil, and/or repair or 
replace leaking used oil 
containers or tanks prior to 
returning them to service. LAC 33:V.4035.H $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of a used oil processor 
or re-refiner to stop, contain, 
clean up, and/or manage a 
release of used oil, and/or 
repair or replace leaking used 
oil containers or tanks prior to 
returning them to service. LAC 33:V.4049.G $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of a used oil burner to 
stop, contain, clean up, and/or 
manage a release of used oil, 
and/or repair or replace 
leaking used oil containers or 
tanks prior to returning them 
to service. LAC 33:V.4069.G $500 

Per 
occurrence

SOLID WASTE 
Failure to report any 
discharge, deposit, injection, 
spill, dumping, leaking, or 
placing of solid waste into or 
on the water, air, or land. LAC 33:VII.315.K $500 

Per 
occurrence

Waste Tires 
Storage of more than 20 
whole tires without 
authorization from the 
administrative authority. 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.B $200 

Per 
occurrence

Transporting more than 20 
tires without first obtaining a 
transporter authorization 
certificate. 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.C $200 

Per 
occurrence

Storing tires for greater than 
365 days. 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.E $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to maintain all 
required records for three 
years on-site or at an 
alternative site approved in 
writing by the administrative 
authority. 

LAC 
33:VII.10509.G $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to obtain a waste tire 
generator identification 
number within 30 days of 
commencing business 
operations. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.A $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to accept one waste 
tire for every new tire sold 
unless the purchaser chooses 
to keep the waste tire. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.B $100 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to remit waste tire fees 
to the state on a monthly basis 
as specified. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.D $100 

Per 
occurrence

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to post required 
notifications to the public. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.E $100 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to list the waste tire 
fee on a separate line on the 
invoice so that no tax will be 
charged on the fee. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.F $100 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to keep waste tires or 
waste tire material covered as 
specified. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.H $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to segregate waste 
tires from new or used tires 
offered for sale. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.M $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to provide a manifest 
for all waste tire shipments 
containing more than 20 tires.

LAC 
33:VII.10533.A $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to maintain completed 
manifests for three years and 
have them available for 
inspection. 

LAC 
33:VII.10533.D $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to collect appropriate 
waste tire fee for each new 
tire sold. 

LAC 
33:VII.10519.C, 
10535.B $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit application 
and fees for transporter 
authorization. 

LAC 
33:VII.10523.A $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to use a manifest 
when transporting greater 
than 20 waste tires. 

LAC 
33:VII.10523.C $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of transporter to 
transport all waste tires to an 
authorized collection center or 
a permitted processing 
facility. 

LAC 
33:VII.10523.D $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of out-of-state or out-
of-country transporter to 
comply with state waste tire 
regulations. 

LAC 
33:VII.10523.E $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to provide notification 
in writing within 10 days 
when any information on the 
authorization certificate form 
changes, or if the business 
closes and ceases transporting 
waste tires. 

LAC 
33:VII.10523.G $100 

Per 
occurrence

Failure by a collector or 
collection center to follow the 
requirements for receipt of 
tires. 

LAC 
33:VII.10527.A $200 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of collection center 
operator to meet the standards 
in LAC 33:VII.10525.D.1-10 
and 12-24. 

LAC 
33:VII.10527.B $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of recycler to provide 
notification of its existence 
and obtain an identification 
number. 

LAC 
33:VII.10531.A $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure of waste tire or waste 
tire material recycler to meet 
the requirements of LAC 
33:VII.10525.D. 

LAC 
33:VII.10531.B $300 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to follow the 
requirements for manifest 
discrepancies. 

LAC 
33:VII.10533.C $300 

Per 
occurrence

WATER QUALITY 

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG530000 Schedule A 
permit.  LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$200 and 
completion 
of a 
department-
sponsored 
compliance 
class 

10 or fewer 
violations 
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Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG530000 Schedule A 
permit.  LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$400 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

More than 
10 violations

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG530000 Schedule B 
permit.  LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$300 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

10 or fewer 
violations 

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG530000 Schedule B 
permit.  LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

More than 
10 violations

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG540000 permit. LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$400 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

10 or fewer 
violations 

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG540000 permit.  LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$600 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

More than 
10 violations

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG750000 permit.  LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$400 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

10 or fewer 
violations 

Failure to comply with any 
portion(s) of an LPDES 
LAG750000 permit. LAC 33:IX.2701.A 

$600 and 
completion 
of a 
department-
sponsored 
compliance 
class 

More than 10 
violations 

Failure to develop and/or 
implement a Spill Prevention 
and Control Plan (SPC):       
  1. Failing to develop an SPC 
plan for any applicable 
facility. LAC 33:IX.905 $500 

Per 
occurrence

  2. Failing to implement any 
component of an SPC plan. LAC 33:IX.905 $100 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit certain 
reports as required by any 
LPDES permit not previously 
defined as an LPDES General 
Permit in LAC 33:I.801, 
including noncompliance 
reports, storm water reports, 
pretreatment reports, 
biomonitoring reports, 
overflow reports, construction 
schedule progress reports, 
environmental audit reports as 
required by a municipal 
pollution prevention plan, and 
toxicity reduction evaluation 
reports. LAC 33:IX.2701.A $300 

Per required 
submittal 

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to prepare and/or 
implement any portion or 
portions of a Storm Water 
Pollution Prevention Plan 
(SWPPP), Pollution 
Prevention Plan (PPP), or 
Best Management 
Practices/Plan (BMP) as 
required by any LPDES 
permit not previously defined 
as an LPDES General Permit 
in LAC 33:I.801. LAC 33:IX.2701.A $500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to submit a Notice of 
Intent for coverage under the 
LAR050000 or LAR100000 
LPDES Storm Water General 
Permit. 

LAC 
33:IX.2511.C.1 $1,000 

Per 
occurrence

Unauthorized discharge of oil 
field wastes, including 
produced water. LAC 33:IX.1901.A $1,000 

Per 
occurrence

Unauthorized discharge of 
oily fluids. LAC 33:IX.1701.B $1,000 

Per 
occurrence

UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANKS 
Failure to register an existing 
or new UST containing  a 
regulated substance. 

LAC  
33:XI.301.A-B $300 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to certify and provide 
required information on the 
department’s approved 
registration form. 

LAC 
33:XI.301.B.1-2 $300 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to provide notification 
within 30 days after selling a 
UST system or acquiring a 
UST system; failure to keep a 
current copy of the 
registration form on-site or at 
the nearest staffed facility. 

LAC 
33:XI.301.C.1-3 $300 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to provide corrosion 
protection to tanks that 
routinely contain regulated 
substances using one of the 
specified methods. 

LAC 
33:XI.303.B.1 

$500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to provide corrosion 
protection to piping that 
routinely contains regulated 
substances using one of the 
specified methods. 

LAC 
33:XI.303.B.2 

$250 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to provide corrosion 
protection to flex hoses and/or 
sub-pumps that routinely 
contain regulated substances 
using one of the specified 
methods. 

LAC 
33:XI.303.B.2 

$100 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to provide spill and/or 
overfill prevention equipment 
as specified.  

LAC 
33:XI.303.B.3 

$300 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to upgrade an existing 
UST system to new system 
standards as specified. LAC 33:XI.303.C 

$500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 
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Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to pay fees by the 
required date. LAC 33:XI.307.D $200 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to report, investigate, 
and/or clean up any spill and 
overfill. LAC 33:XI.501.C $1,500 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to continuously 
operate and maintain 
corrosion protection to the 
metal components of portions 
of the tank and piping that 
routinely contain regulated 
substances and are in contact 
with the ground or water. 

LAC 
33:XI.503.A.1 

$300 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to have a UST system 
equipped with a cathodic 
protection system inspected 
for proper operation as 
specified. 

LAC 
33:XI.503.A.2 

$500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to inspect a UST 
system with an impressed 
current cathodic protection 
system every 60 days to 
ensure that the equipment is 
running properly. 

LAC 
33:XI.503.A.3 

$300 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to comply with 
recordkeeping requirements. LAC 33:XI.503.B 

$200 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to meet requirements 
for repairs to UST systems. LAC 33:XI.507 $300  

Per 
inspection 

Failure to follow reporting 
requirements, maintain 
required information, and/or 
keep records at the UST site 
and make them immediately 
available or keep them at an 
alternative site and provide 
them after a request. LAC 33:XI.509 

$300 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to meet the 
performance requirements 
when performing release 
detection required in LAC 
33:XI.703. LAC 33:XI.701 

$750 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to use a method or 
combination of methods of 
release detection described in 
LAC 33:XI.701 for all new or 
existing tank systems. 

LAC 
33:XI.703.A.1 

$1,500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to satisfy the 
additional requirements for 
petroleum UST systems as 
specified. LAC 33:XI.703.B 

$350 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Expedited Penalties 
Violation Citation Amount Frequency

Failure to maintain release 
detection records. LAC 33:XI.705 

$200 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to report any 
suspected release within 24 
hours after becoming aware of 
the occurrence or when a leak 
detection method indicates 
that a release may have 
occurred. 

LAC 
33:XI.703.A.2 or 
707 

$500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to investigate and 
confirm any suspected release 
of a regulated substance that 
requires reporting under LAC 
33:XI.707 within seven days. LAC 33:XI.711 $1,500 

Per 
occurrence

Failure to maintain corrosion 
protection and/or release 
detection on a UST system 
that is temporarily closed and 
contains more than 2.5 cm (1 
inch) of residue, or 0.3 
percent by weight of the total 
capacity of the UST system. LAC 33:XI.903.A 

$500 and 
completion 
of a 
department
-sponsored 
compliance 
class 

Per 
inspection 

Failure to comply with 
permanent closure and/or 
changes in service procedures. LAC 33:XI.905 $500 

Per 
inspection 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and in particular R.S. 30:2025(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33: 

 
Mike D. McDaniel, Ph.D. 
Secretary  

0611#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Remediation of Sites with Contaminated Media  
(LAC 33:V.109)(HW084E10) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), which allows 
the Department of Environmental Quality to use emergency 
procedures to establish Rules, and under the authority of 
R.S. 30:2011, the secretary of the department hereby 
declares that an emergency action is necessary in order to 
implement Rules to address the remediation of sites with 
contaminated environmental media. 

This is a renewal of Emergency Rule HW084E9, which 
was effective July 25, 2006, and published in the Louisiana 
Register on August 20, 2006. The department begun 
rulemaking to promulgate these regulation changes.  
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Current regulation causes contaminated environmental 
media to retain the description of having RCRA-listed waste 
"contained-in," therefore slowing the remediation of the site 
or possibly halting it completely due to administration and 
disposal issues. This Rule will remove a regulatory hurdle 
that deters site remediation. The incentive to remediate 
pollution stems from the resulting substantially reduced 
disposal and transportation costs for contaminated 
environmental media that are not required to be managed in 
the same manner as hazardous waste. Language has been 
added to further define the management of contaminated 
media as nonhazardous. The Rule will also result in 
simplification of the waste handling process by reducing 
administrative requirements and providing greater 
consistency with non-RCRA waste handling requirements 
and practices. This will provide strong motivation to initiate 
and accelerate voluntary remediation of contaminated sites 
without increasing risks to human health or the environment. 
Any person claiming this exclusion shall have records 
supporting the exclusion. 

This Emergency Rule is effective on November 22, 2006, 
and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120 days or 
until a final Rule is promulgated, whichever occurs first. For 
more information concerning HW084E10 you may contact 
the Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-3550. 

This Emergency Rule is available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx, and 
is available for inspection at the following DEQ office 
locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 546, West Monroe, 
LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, 
Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, 
LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 
Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 70374; 645 N. Lotus Drive, 
Suite C, Mandeville, LA 70471. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental 

Quality―Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms 
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Hazardous Waste―a solid waste, as defined in this 

Section, is a hazardous waste if: 
1. - 2.c.vii. … 

d. it consists of environmental media (soil, 
sediments, surface water, or groundwater) that contain one 
or more hazardous wastes listed in LAC 33:V.4901 (unless 
excluded by one of the exclusions contained in this 
definition) or that exhibit any of the characteristics of 
hazardous waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903. 
Environmental media no longer contain a hazardous waste 
when concentrations of the hazardous constituents that serve 
as the basis for the hazardous waste being listed (as shown in 
LAC 33:V.4901.Table 6, Table of Constituents that Serve as 
a Basis for Listing Hazardous Waste, or if constituents are

not listed in Table 6 refer to LAC 33:V.2299 for appropriate 
constituents, or if not listed in either of these locations shall 
be determined by the department on a case-by-case basis) 
remaining in the media are below applicable RECAP 
Screening Standards (LAC 33:I.Chapter 13) and the media 
no longer exhibit any of the characteristics of hazardous 
waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903. Land disposal treatment 
standards (LAC 33:V.2299) apply prior to placing such 
environmental media into a land disposal unit even though 
the media may no longer contain a hazardous waste. Any 
person claiming this exclusion shall have records supporting 
the exclusion. 

e. Rebuttable Presumption for Used Oil. Used oil 
containing more than 1,000 ppm total halogens is presumed 
to be a hazardous waste because it has been mixed with 
halogenated hazardous waste listed in LAC 33:V.4901. 
Persons may rebut this presumption by demonstrating that 
the used oil does not contain hazardous waste (e.g., by using 
an analytical method from LAC 33:V.Chapter 49.Appendix 
A to show that the used oil does not contain significant 
concentrations of halogenated hazardous constituents listed 
in LAC 33:V.3105.Table 1). 
 i. The rebuttable presumption does not apply to 
metalworking oils/fluids containing chlorinated paraffins, if 
they are processed, through a tolling agreement, to reclaim 
metalworking oils/fluids. The presumption does apply to 
metalworking oils/fluids if such oils/fluids are recycled in 
any other manner or disposed. 
 ii. The rebuttable presumption does not apply to 
used oils contaminated with Chlorofluorocarbons (CFCs) 
removed from refrigeration units where the CFCs are 
destined for reclamation. The rebuttable presumption does 
apply to used oils contaminated with CFCs that have been 
mixed with used oil from sources other than refrigeration 
units. 

3. - 6.b.  … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 
LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218, 
220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:478 
(May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 
1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 1993), amended by 
the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October 
1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 
22:814 (September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 1997), amended by the 
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:655 
(April 1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 24:1688 (September 
1998), LR 25:433 (March 1999), repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 
1999), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:269 (February 2000), LR 
26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 (March 2001), LR 27:708 
(May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 28:1191 (June 2002), LR 
29:318 (March 2003), amended by the Office of the Secretary,
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Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2452 (October 2005), LR 31:3116 
(December 2005), LR 32:606 (April 2006), LR 32:822 (May 2006), 
LR 33: 

 
Mike D. McDaniel, Ph.D. 
Secretary 

0611#008 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration  

Racing Commission 

Protective Helmets and Safety Vests (LAC 35:I.309) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts the following Emergency Rule 
effective October 20, 2006, and it shall remain in effect for 
120 days or until this Rule takes effect through the normal 
promulgation process, whichever comes first. 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it 
necessary to amend this Rule to require safety vests for all 
persons while riding a horse on the racetrack proper. The 
practice is currently in place but the requirement for wearing 
a safety vest is only applicable to jockeys. The amendment 
makes the requirement applicable to all persons riding a 
horse, including exercise riders. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 3. General Rules 
§309. Protective Helmets and Safety Vests 

A. All persons exercising or schooling horses are 
compelled to wear protective helmets recommended by the 
stewards and approved by the commission, and a safety vest 
designed to provide shock-absorbing protection to the upper 
body, as evidenced by a label with a rating of 5, by the 
British Equestrian Trade Association. This shall also apply to 
association outriders and pony riders in post parade. Anyone 
failing to comply with this requirement may be fined or 
suspended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:141, R.S. 4:142 and R.S. 4:148. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in 
1971, promulgated by the Department of Commerce, Racing 
Commission, LR 2:423 (December 1976), amended LR 3:19 
(January 1977), LR 4:271 (August 1978), amended by the Office of 
the Governor, Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 
33: 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

0611#006 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Racing Commission 

Total Dissolved Carbon Dioxide Testing (LAC 35:I.1720) 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission is exercising the 
emergency provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under 
R.S. 4:141 et seq., adopts the following Emergency Rule 
effective October 20, 2006, and it shall remain in effect for 
120 days or until this Rule takes effect through the normal 
promulgation process, whichever comes first. 

The Louisiana State Racing Commission finds it 
necessary to amend this Rule to correct the penalty phase of 
the current Rule. Currently, penalties for violations of the 
Total Dissolved Carbon Dioxide Rule are applicable only for 
positive tests discovered through post-race analysis. The 
amendment allows for violators to be sanctioned where 
analysis reveals a positive, both from post- and pre-race 
analysis. Additionally, this action adds the penalty of a 
redistributed purse to a second offense. 

Title 35 
HORSE RACING 

Part I.  General Provisions 
Chapter 17. Corrupt and Prohibited Practices 
§1720. Total Dissolved Carbon Dioxide Testing 

A. – B.3. … 
4. In the event a sample drawn from a horse contains 

an amount of TCO2 which exceeds the levels described 
above, the following penalties shall apply. 

a. … 
b. The second time the laboratory reports an 

excessive TCO2 level, the stewards shall suspend the trainer 
for the duration of the race meeting plus ten days or for a 
period not to exceed six months, whichever is greater, the 
purse shall be redistributed and the case referred to the 
commission. 

B.4.c. - B.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

4:148. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Economic Development, Racing Commission LR 26:1992 
(September 2000), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration, Racing Commission, LR 32:1221 (July 
2006), LR 33: 

 
Charles A. Gardiner III 
Executive Director 

0611#007 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Dental Program―Reimbursement Rate Increase  

(LAC 50:XV.6901, 6903 and 6905) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
amend LAC 50:XV.6903 and to adopt §6905 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement of dental services under the 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
(EPSDT) Program. Reimbursement for these services is a 
flat fee established by the bureau minus the amount that any 
third party coverage would pay (Louisiana Register, Volume 
29, Number 2). Additional funds were allocated by the 
Legislature during the 2003 and 2004 Regular Sessions and 
the bureau subsequently increased the reimbursement rate 
for certain dental procedures and established coverage for 
additional procedures (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 2; Volume 31, Number 3). As a result of the 
allocation of additional funds by the Legislature during the 
2006 Regular Session, the bureau proposes to increase the 
reimbursement fees for certain dental procedures and 
establish coverage for additional procedures.  

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients and to maintain access to 
EPSDT dental services by encouraging the continued 
participation of dental providers in the Medicaid Program. It 
is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 
will increase expenditures for EPSDT dental services by 
approximately $13,563,937 for state fiscal year 2006-2007 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening,  

Diagnosis and Treatment 
Chapter 69. Dental 
§6901. General Provisions 

A. Medicaid recipients who are under 21 years of age are 
eligible to receive services covered by the EPSDT Dental 
Program. 

B. Provider Participation is limited to those dentists who 
are duly licensed and authorized to practice dentistry in the 
state of Louisiana and who are enrolled in the Medicaid 
Program as a dental provider. 

C. Prior authorization is required for certain dental 
services covered in the EPSDT Dental Program. Services 
requiring prior authorization are identified in the Dental 
Services Manual, EPSDT Dental Program Fee Schedule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33: 
§6903. Covered Services 

A. Effective November 1, 2006, the following dental 
procedures are reimbursed at the state's established fee 
schedule: 

1. prefabricated stainless steel crown with resin 
window; and 

2. appliance removal (not by the dentist who placed 
the appliance), including removal of archbar. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:175 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:252 (February 2004), LR 31:667 (March 2005), LR 33: 
§6905. Reimbursement 

A. Services covered in the EPSDT Dental Program shall 
be reimbursed at the lower of either: 

1. the dentist's billed charges minus any third party 
coverage; or  

2. the state's established schedule of fees minus any 
third party coverage. 

B. The EPSDT Program Dental Fee Schedule is 
available in the Dental Services Manual. 

C. Effective for dates of service on and after November 
1, 2006, the reimbursement fees for:  

1. comprehensive orthodontic treatment services shall 
be increased to the 2006 National Dental Advisory Service 
Comprehensive Fee Report 70th Percentile rate; and 

2. all other dental services are increased by 25 percent 
of the fees on file in the EPSDT Dental Program Fee 
Schedule as of October 31, 2006 unless otherwise stated in 
this Chapter. 

D. The following dental services will be excluded from 
the rate increase: 

1. Complete Denture, Maxillary; 
2. Complete Denture, Mandibular; 
3. Immediate Denture, Maxillary; 
4. Immediate Denture, Mandibular; 
5. Maxillary Partial Denture, Resin Base (including 

clasps); 
6. Mandibular Partial Denture, Resin Base (including 

clasps); 
7. Reline Complete Maxillary Denture (Laboratory); 
8. Reline Complete Mandibular Denture (Laboratory); 
9. Reline Maxillary Partial Denture (Laboratory); 
10. Reline Mandibular Partial Denture (Laboratory);  
11. Hospital Call; and 
12. Behavior Management, By Report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A
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copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0611#005 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services―Private Hospitals 
Reimbursement Rate Increase 

Editor's Note: This Emergency Rule refers to an August 1, 
2006 Emergency Rule, which was not submitted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, specifically R.S. 
49:953(B)(1). 

 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in June of 1994 which established the prospective 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient services provided 
in private (non-state) acute care general hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The reimbursement 
methodology was subsequently amended to establish a 
weighted average per diem for each hospital peer group and 
discontinue the practice of automatically applying an 
inflation adjustment to the reimbursement rates in those 
years when the rates are not rebased (Louisiana Register, 
Volumes 22 and 25, Numbers 1 and 5). The May 20, 1999 
Rule was later amended to reduce the reimbursement paid to 
private (non-state) acute hospitals for inpatient services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 30, Number 6). 

Act 17 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor 
Program to increase the Medicaid reimbursement rates paid 
to private providers for inpatient and outpatient hospital 
services. In compliance with the directives of Act 17, the 
department by Emergency Rule amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to increase the 
Medicaid reimbursement rates paid to private hospitals. 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 10). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2006 Emergency Rule. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
sufficient provider participation in the Hospital Services 
Program and recipient access to providers of these medically 
necessary services. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after November 30, 

2006, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
prospective per diem rate paid to private (non-state) 
hospitals, including long term hospitals and hospital 
intensive neurological rehabilitation care units, for inpatient 
services by 3.85 percent of the rate on file for July 31, 2006.  

Implementation of the provisions of this proposed Rule 
shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0611#068 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Psychiatric Services―Private Hospitals 
Reimbursement Rate Increase 

Editor's Note: This Emergency Rule refers to an August 1, 
2006 Emergency Rule, which was not submitted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, specifically R.S. 
49:953(B)(1). 

 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule which established the prospective reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient psychiatric hospital services 
provided in either a free-standing psychiatric hospital or 
distinct part psychiatric unit of an acute care general hospital 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 19, Number 6). The June 20, 
1993 Rule was later amended to discontinue the practice of 
automatically applying an inflation adjustment to the 
reimbursement rates for inpatient psychiatric services in 
those years when the rates are not rebased (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 25, Number 5). The May 1999 Rule was 
subsequently amended to increase the reimbursement rates 
for inpatient psychiatric hospital services provided in private 
and public non-state owned and operated free-standing 
psychiatric hospitals and distinct part psychiatric units based 
on the weighted average costs reported on the cost report 
ending in SFY 2002 (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 11). 

Act 17 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor 
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Program to increase the Medicaid reimbursement rates paid 
to private providers for hospital inpatient and outpatient 
services. In compliance with the directives of Act 17, the 
Department by Emergency Rule amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient psychiatric services to increase 
the Medicaid reimbursement rates paid to private (non-state) 
distinct part psychiatric units and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals. (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 10). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2006 Emergency Rule. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
sufficient provider participation in the Medicaid Program for 
the provision of inpatient psychiatric services and recipient 
access to providers of these medically necessary services.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after November 30, 

2006, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
prospective per diem rate paid to private (non-state) distinct 
part psychiatric units and freestanding psychiatric hospitals 
for inpatient services by 3.85 percent of the rate on file for 
July 31, 2006. 

Implementation of the provisions of this proposed Rule 
shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0611#070 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Assistance―Pharmacy  
(LAC 50:XXIX.971) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
repeal LAC 50:XXIX.971 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
a Rule to reduce the estimated acquisition cost 
reimbursement rate for Antihemophilia drugs, Factor product 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 2). The bureau 
subsequently repromulgated all rules governing Medicaid 
covered pharmacy services under the Louisiana 

Administrative Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, 
Number 6). The bureau by Emergency Rule repealed the 
provisions of the June 20, 2006 Rule governing 
reimbursement for Antihemophilia drugs. (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 32, Number 8. This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 
20, 2006 Emergency Rule.) 

This action is being taken to avoid federal sanctions.  
Effective December 18, 2006, the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing repeals the provisions contained in the 
June 20, 2006 Rule governing the estimated acquisition cost 
reimbursement rate for Antihemophilia drugs, Factor 
product. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 9. Methods of Payment 
Subchapter F. Antihemophilia Drugs 
§971. Reimbursement 

A. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1066 (June 2006), repealed LR 33: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for responding to 
inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A copy of this 
Emergency Rule is available for review by interested parties 
at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0611#067 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services―Private Hospitals 
Reimbursement Rate Increase 

Editor's Note: This Emergency Rule refers to an August 1, 
2006 Emergency Rule, which was not submitted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, specifically R.S. 
49:953(B)(1). 

 
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 

Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in January of 1996 which established the 
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reimbursement methodology for outpatient hospital services 
at an interim rate of 60 percent of billed charges and cost 
settlement adjusted to 83 percent of allowable costs 
documented in the cost report, except for laboratory services 
subject to the Medicare fee schedule, outpatient 
rehabilitation and outpatient surgeries (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 22, Number 1). The January 20, 1996 Rule was 
subsequently amended to reduce the reimbursement paid for 
outpatient services (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 
12). Rules were later promulgated to increase the 
reimbursement paid for outpatient hospital rehabilitation 
services rendered to Medicaid recipients who are age 3 and 
older, outpatient clinic services, and outpatient laboratory 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 7). 

Act 17 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized expenditures to the Medical Vendor 
Program to increase the Medicaid reimbursement rates paid 
to private providers for hospital inpatient and outpatient 
services. In compliance with the directives of Act 17, the 
department by Emergency Rule has amended the 
reimbursement methodology for outpatient services to 
increase the Medicaid reimbursement rates paid for 
outpatient services rendered in private (non-state) acute 
hospitals. (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 10). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2006 Emergency Rule. 

This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to promote the 
health and welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring 
sufficient provider participation in the Hospital Services 
Program and recipient access to providers of these medically 
necessary services.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after November 30, 

2006, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement rate paid to private (non-state) hospitals for 
cost-based outpatient services by 3.85 percent of the rate on 
file for July 31, 2006. Final reimbursement shall be 86.2 
percent of allowable cost through the cost report settlement 
process. This change does not include the fee schedule 
amounts for outpatient laboratory services, outpatient 
rehabilitation services, outpatient surgery, and outpatient 
clinic (facility fees). 

Implementation of the provisions of this proposed Rule 
shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0611#071 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 
Division of Long Term Supports and Services  

Home and Community Based Services Waivers  
Termination of Services for Displaced Recipients  

(LAC 50:XXI.301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities and the Division of Long Term Supports and 
Services adopts LAC 50.XXI.301 as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is being promulgated in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et 
seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed 
under the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever 
occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions governing eligibility for home and community-
based services waivers (Louisiana Register, Volume 24, 
Number 3). The Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities and the Division of Long Term Supports and 
Services adopted provisions governing the termination of 
services and limited retention of waiver opportunities for 
waiver recipients displaced by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 4). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the April 20, 2006 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid federal sanctions for failure to 
comply with federal requirements to assure the health and 
welfare of recipients of home and community-based waiver 
services.  

Effective December 18, 2006, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities and the Division of Long 
Term Supports and Services adopts the following provisions 
governing the eligibility for home and community-based 
waiver services.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 3. Eligibility 
§301. Termination of Coverage for Displaced 

Recipients 
A. Effective July 1, 2006, waiver recipients who have 

been displaced by Hurricanes Katrina or Rita and are 
currently residing in other states will no longer be able to 
receive waiver services under the Louisiana Medicaid 
Program.  

B. This termination of coverage is applicable to 
recipients receiving services in the following home and 
community-based waivers:  
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1. the New Opportunities Waiver; 
2. Children's Choice;  
3. the Elderly and Disabled Adult Waiver; and 
4. the Adult Day Health Care Waiver.  

C. If the individual returns to live in Louisiana on or 
before June 2008, he/she must contact the department to 
report his/her address and to request that waiver services be 
restarted.  

D. The individual's name will be placed on a preferred 
registry with other hurricane evacuees who have returned to 
live in Louisiana and requested that their waiver services be 
restarted.  

E. Waiver opportunities shall be offered to individuals 
on the preferred registry on a first come, first served basis. 

1. The first available waiver opportunity shall be 
offered to an individual on this registry based on the date 
that the request to restart services was received.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities and the Division of Long Term 
Supports and Services, LR 33: 

Implementation of this Emergency Rule is contingent 
upon approval by the United States Department of Health 
and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Kathy 
Kliebert, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, P. O. Box 3117, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3117 
or Hugh Eley, Division of Long Term Supports and Services, 
P.O. Box 3767, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3767. They are 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0611#066 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

Earned Income Tax Credit and Tax Assistance Program  
for Filers Without Children (LAC 67:III.Chapter 58) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B) to adopt LAC 
67:III, Subpart 17, Chapter 58, the Earned Income Tax 
Credit and Tax Assistance Program for Filers Without 
Children. This rule shall remain in effect for a period of 120 
days. 

Pursuant to Executive Order KBB 2005-17, Section 2C, 
the agency shall adopt Subpart 17, Chapter 58, the Earned 
Income Tax Credit and Tax Assistance Program for Filers 
Without Children, to provide a tax filing service offered free 
of charge to low-income taxpayers. This program serves 
EITC filers who are not TANF-eligible. 

The authorization for emergency action in this matter is by 
the Solutions to Poverty Network Council, created by 

Executive Order KBB 2005-17. The federal Earned Income 
Tax Credit (EITC), a tax credit for low-income individuals 
and families whose income derives from employment, is the 
nation's largest anti-poverty program. Over 10 percent of 
low-income filers in Louisiana who qualify for EITC do not 
claim it due to lack of awareness and education on income 
tax issues. Of the number of filers who claim the credit, a 
large number needlessly pay fees disproportionate to their 
income level to access their own tax refunds. The Earned 
Income Tax Credit and Tax Assistance Program for Filers 
Without Children educates low-income taxpayers on 
eligibility for EITC and other credits, and provides a free tax 
filing service to those who can least afford to pay a 
commercial preparer. In improving Louisiana's access to and 
retention of a major federal tax credit for low-wage workers, 
the program rewards work while reducing poverty. The 
program meets the Solutions to Poverty Executive Order's 
stated objective to encourage family and individual self-
sufficiency. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 17.  Earned Income Tax Credit and Tax 
Assistance Program for Filers Without Children 

Chapter 58. Earned Income Tax Credit and Tax 
Assistance Program for Filers Without 
Children 

Subchapter A. Designation and Authority of State 
Agency 

§5801. Authority 
A. The Earned Income Tax Credit and Tax Assistance 

Program for Filers Without Children Program is established 
in accordance with Executive Order KBB 2005-17 Louisiana 
Solutions to Poverty Network Council, effective November 
1, 2006, to provide a tax filing service offered free of charge 
to low-income taxpayers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Executive Order KBB 2005-17 Louisiana Solutions to Poverty 
Network Council. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33: 
§5803. Administration 

A. The Earned Income Tax Credit and Tax Assistance 
Program for Filers Without Children Program shall be 
administered by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support through contracts with outside entities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Executive Order KBB 2005-17 Louisiana Solutions to Poverty 
Network Council. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33: 

Subchapter B.  Eligibility 
§5805. Conditions of Eligibility 

A. Eligibility for services is limited to: 
1. individuals without minor children who meet the 

U.S. Department of the Treasury Internal Revenue Service's 
Earned Income Tax Credit income eligibility standard; or 

2. married couples without minor children who meet 
the U.S. Department of the Treasury Internal Revenue 
Service's Earned Income Tax Credit income eligibility 
standard. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
Executive Order KBB 2005-17 Louisiana Solutions to Poverty 
Network Council. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33: 

 
Ann Silverberg Williamson 
Secretary 

0611#016 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

TANF Initiatives―Earned Income  
Tax Credit (EITC) Program  

(LAC 67:III.5581) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, to amend LAC 
67:III, Subpart 15, Chapter 55 TANF Initiatives, §5581, 
Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Program. This Emergency 
Rule effective November 1, 2006, will remain in effect for a 
period of 120 days. 

Pursuant to the authority granted to the Department by 
Louisiana's TANF Block Grant, the agency is amending 
language in §5581 so that financial literacy will be provided 
to families receiving services through the Earned Income 
Tax Credit (EITC) Program. Additionally, the agency is 
amending the TANF goal being met by the services provided 
as well as restricting eligibility factors. The authorization for 
emergency action in this matter is contained in Act 16 of the 
2005 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 67  
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5581. Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) Program 

A. The agency has entered into contracts to provide 
public awareness, education and targeted outreach strategies 
regarding the benefits of claiming the Earned Income Tax 
Credit (EITC) Program, state tax credit programs, and free 
taxpayer assistance to EITC-eligible families and to provide 
financial literacy to families receiving services under this 
program. Strategies include collaboration with the Internal 
Revenue Service, various state departments and the targeted 
expansion of existing outreach activities to assure that free 
taxpayer assistance to EITC-eligible families is available 
statewide. 

B. These services meet the TANF goal to end 
dependence of needy parents by promoting job preparation, 
work, and marriage. 

C. Eligibility for services is limited to those families 
with minor children who meet the Internal Revenue 
Service's EITC income eligibility standards. 

D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 1, 2004 Reg. 
Session, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 31:1610 (July 2005), 
amended LR 33: 

 
Ann Silverberg Williamson 
Secretary 

0611#015 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Transportation and Development 
Office of Public Works 

Hurricane Flood Control Protection Program 
(LAC 56:III.901) 

The Department of Transportation and Development, 
Office of Public Works, Hurricane Flood Protection and 
Intermodal Transportation, has exercised the emergency 
provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B), to enact LAC 70:XV, Chapter 3, effective 
November 20, 2006. This Rule shall remain in effect for a 
period of 120 days, during which time a permanent Rule will 
be promulgated.  

The Rule, entitled "Hurricane Flood Control Protection 
Program", is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of R.S. 38:241-248. This body of statutory law recognizes 
the statewide concern with coastal protection which was 
made more urgent by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita. This law 
recognizes the need for development of a single coast-wide 
plan for both coastal restoration and hurricane flood 
protection, both vital to the public welfare and both issues 
which require immediate attention. This department has been 
charged by law with oversight of the design, construction, 
extension, improvement, repair and regulation of hurricane 
flood protection projects in the coastal zone and these rules 
are necessary in order to achieve that goal. This Rule 
addresses the responsibility of the Department of 
Transportation and Development to enact immediate rules 
for those applicants which will be applying for funding to 
erect hurricane flood control structures which must be begun 
immediately in order to minimize risk to life and property 
during the upcoming storm seasons. Without immediate 
implementation of this Rule, projects which could save lives 
and reduce damage from hurricane flooding will be delayed. 

Title 56 
PUBLIC WORKS 

Part III.  Flood Control and Water Management 
Chapter 9. Hurricane Flood Control Protection 

Program Rules 
§901. Framework for Receipt and Evaluations of 

Funding Applications 
A. Applications are to be prepared in accordance with 

the provisions of R.S. 38:244. 
B. Applications may be submitted beginning November 

1, 2006, to Hurricane Flood Protection Program, 8900 
Jimmy Wedell Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70807. 

C. The Office of Public Works, Hurricane Flood 
Protection and Intermodal Transportation shall evaluate the 
applications in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 
38:244 with points established as follows. 

1. Documentation of flood problem―20 points 
maximum 
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2. Local support―5 points maximum 
3. Technical feasibility―45 points maximum 
4. Prevention of loss of life and improved public 

safety―5 points maximum 
5. Environmental effects and impact on 

development―15 points maximum 
6. Projects recommended but not funded―10 points 

maximum 
D. The following guidelines will be used by the 

Evaluation Committee to rate applications to the program. 
This scoring procedure pertains to projects which meet the 
legislative intent of the program. Projects that are 
engineeringly unsound, cause unreasonable flooding in other 
areas, cause unacceptable or unmitigable environmental 
damages or otherwise do not meet the objectives of the 
program will not be scored.  

1. Documentation of the Flood Problem category 
takes into consideration the adequacy of documentation 
which demonstrates the existence and severity of risk of 
flood damages from hurricanes. 

2. Local Support category takes into consideration the 
following: 

a. letters of support on file from the respective 
legislative delegation; 

b. no letters of objection from public officials, 
neighboring authorities, citizens groups, etc.; and 

c. multiple sponsorship. 
3. Technical Feasibility category takes into 

consideration the following: 
a. completeness of project design; 
b. due consideration of alternatives (structural and 

non-structural); 
c. compatibility of the project to other Federal, state 

and local projects; and 
d. impact on flooding in areas upstream, 

downstream and adjacent to the benefitted area. 
4. Prevention of Loss of Life category takes into 

consideration the following: 
a. historical losses of life that may have been 

prevented by the project; and 
b. the degree of success of the project at 

maintaining access to vital services such as hospitals, and 
protection of evacuation routes. 

5. Environmental Effects and Impact on Development 
category takes into consideration the following:  

a. no letters of objection from public agencies; 
b. no impact on special historical, archeological, 

geological features, or environmentally sensitive areas; and 
c. effectiveness of the project in relation to 

encroachment into flood prone area (i.e., 100 year 
floodplain). 

6. In the Projects Recommended but not Funded 
category, points may be added for each year (up to a four 
year maximum) that the proposed project has been on the list 
of recommended projects but has not received funding. 

E. Procedure for Application Evaluation Form―Part B 
1. Ratings are computed on the basis of potential 

damage reductions associated with the design flood and do 
not include efforts to annualize benefits and costs. 

Part B Score = Total Damages*              X    90                         
  Total Construction Cost         90 - (PLM 10) 
PLM = percent local match 
*Total damages are any damages from the design storm which 
will be prevented by the project including agricultural crop 
and land damages, agricultural building damages, damages to 
residential, commercial, public and other buildings; damages 
to roads, damages to buildings, and damages to industries. 

F. Application Evaluation Form―Total Score 
1. The score from Paragraph C is multiplied by the 

score in Paragraph E to obtain a total score. This score is an 
absolute score and not a score relative to when the 
application was submitted. 

G. A recommended list of projects shall be submitted to 
the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority and public 
hearings will be held as required. 

H. Upon funding by the Legislature, the Office of Public 
Works, Hurricane Flood Protection and Intermodal 
Transportation will enter into funding agreements with the 
sponsors establishing the duties and responsibilities of each 
and providing program funds not to exceed the amount made 
available by the Legislature. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
38:241-248. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Public Works, LR 33: 

 
Johnny B. Bradberry 
Secretary 

0611#060 
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