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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Enterprise Zone Program (LAC 13:I.701) 

The Louisiana Department of Economic Development, 
Office of Business Development, pursuant to the Emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B), amends the rules for the Louisiana Enterprise 
Zone Program. This Rule change, adopted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
shall become effective November 14, 2006, and shall remain 
in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act, or 
until the adoption of a permanent Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, has found an immediate need to 
allow for the qualification of multi-family housing for the 
Enterprise Zone Program to immediately provide an 
incentive for the restoration of residential housing within the 
Gulf Opportunity Zone and Rita Gulf Opportunity Zone to 
replace housing destroyed by Hurricanes Katrina and Rita. 
An immediate threat to the public welfare exists due to the 
lack of adequate housing in these areas. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 7. Enterprise Zone Program 
§701. Scope 

A. - C.4. ... 
D. Qualifications 

1. The applicant's current level of employment must 
be increased by 10 percent (minimum of one net new job) 
within the first 12 months or a minimum of five net new jobs 
must be added to the current payroll within the first two 
years of the contract period. See §703.Minimum Net New 
Jobs Required. Thirty-five percent net new employees must 
meet §§709, 711, 713, or 715 as applicable. 

2. a. Except as provided in Subparagraph b, any 
business, except residential developments, (including but not 
limited to the construction, selling, or leasing of single-
family or multi-family dwellings, apartment buildings, 
condominiums, town houses, etc), churches, and businesses 
with gaming (see LAC 13:I.Chapter 3, Gaming Ineligibility) 
may apply for enterprise zone benefits. 

b. A residential development is eligible and may 
apply for enterprise zone benefits if it meets the following 
requirements: 
 i. it is a multi-family residential development; 
 ii. it is located in the areas defined in the 2005 
Gulf Opportunity Zone Act as the "Gulf Opportunity Zone" 
or the "Rita Gulf Opportunity Zone" meaning that portion of 
the Hurricane Katrina disaster area or the Hurricane Rita 
disaster area determined by the President of the United State 
to warrant individual or individual and public assistance 

from the federal government under the Robert T. Stafford 
Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act by reason of 
Hurricane Katrina or Hurricane Rita; 
 iii. it consists of a minimum of 20 units and a 
maximum of 100 units on a single contiguous site; 

(a). unit―a "rental unit" is a dwelling unit 
providing complete, independent living facilities for one or 
more persons, including permanent provisions for living, 
sleeping, eating, cooking and sanitation; 
 iv. the board may, in its discretion, for good cause, 
approve an application for a development consisting of more 
than 100 units; 
 v. it otherwise meets the requirements of the 
enterprise zone program; and  
 vi. an advance notification for the project is filed 
prior to January 1, 2008. 

3. An applicant in an urban parish must certify that a 
minimum of 35 percent of its net new employees meet the 
requirements of §709. 

4. An applicant located in a rural parish and in an 
enterprise zone must certify that a minimum of 35 percent of 
its net new employees meet the requirements of §711. 

5. An applicant located in a rural parish and not in an 
enterprise zone must certify that a minimum of 35 percent of 
its net new employees meet the requirements of §713. 

6. An applicant located in an economic development 
zone must certify that a minimum of 35 percent of its net 
new employees meet the requirements of §715. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:1786(5) 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Commerce and Industry, 
Finance Division, LR 17:252 (March 1991), amended by 
Department of Economic Development, Office of Commerce and 
Industry, LR 22:446 (June 1996), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Business Development, LR 
29:2298 (November 2003), LR 33: 

 
Michael J. Olivier 
Secretary 

0611#002 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs 
(LAC 28:IV.101, 301, 503, 1301,  

2103, 2105, 2109, and 2303) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and re-promulgate the Rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs [R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 56:797.D(2)]. 
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The Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that this 
Emergency Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 15, 
2006, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. (SG0779E) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 1. Scope 
§101. Introduction 

A. … 
B. Agency's Mission Statement. The mission of LOSFA 

is to administer the federal and state student aid programs 
that are assigned to the Louisiana Student Financial 
Assistance Commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1897 (October 1998), LR 27:1841 (November 
2001), LR 33: 
Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Eligible Noncitizen―an individual who can provide 

documentation from the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
Services (USCIS) or its successor that he is in the U.S. for 
other than a temporary purpose with the intention of 
becoming a citizen or permanent resident, including, but not 
limited to, refugees, persons granted asylum, Cuban-Haitian 
entrants, temporary residents under the recent Immigration 
Reform and Control Act of 1986, and others. A permanent 
resident of the United States must provide documentation 
from the USCIS to verify permanent residency. For 1997, 
1998 and 1999 high school graduates, an eligible noncitizen 
shall be treated as meeting the citizenship requirements for 
an award under this Part. 

* * * 
Qualified Summer Session―those summer sessions 

(includes terms and semesters conducted during the summer) 
for which the student's institution certifies that: 

a. the summer session is required in the student's 
degree program for graduation and the student enrolled for at 
least the minimum number of hours required for the degree 
program for the session; or 

b. the student can complete his program's 
graduation requirements in the summer session; or 

c. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
required for graduation in the program in which the student 
is enrolled and is only offered during the summer session; or 

d. the course(s) taken during the summer session is 
in a program for a vocational or technical education 
certificate or diploma or a non-academic undergraduate 
degree; or 

e. for the summer of 2006 only, the student is a 
displaced student as identified in § 2103.G.1 of these rules, 
whose TOPS award was not paid for one or more semesters 
during the 2005-2006 academic year. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458, 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1842 (November 2001), 
amended LR 27:1875 (November 2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), 
LR 28:446 (March 2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 
2331 (November 2002), LR 29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 
2003), LR 30:1159 (June 2004), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 
31:36 (January 2005), LR 31:3112 (December 2005), LR 33: 
Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid and ACT 

Test 
§503. Application Deadlines for High School 

Graduates of 2003 and Earlier 
A. - B.2. … 

3. Returning Students 
a. Notwithstanding the deadline established by 

§503.B.1 above, returning students, who graduated from 
high school during the 2001-2002 academic year (high 
school) and who enroll in an eligible college or university in 
the spring semester of 2003, must submit the FAFSA to be 
received by the federal processor no later than July 1, 2004. 

b. Notwithstanding the deadline established by 
§503.B.1 above, returning students, who enroll in an eligible 
college or university in the fall semester of 2003 or later, 
must submit the FAFSA to be received by the federal 
processor no later than July 1 following the first semester of 
enrollment. 

c. Examples 
 i A student who seeks to enroll in an eligible 
college or university for the spring semester of 2004 must 
submit his FAFSA to be received by the federal processor no 
later than July 1, 2004. 
 ii A student who seeks to enroll in an eligible 
college or university for the fall semester of 2004 must 
submit his FAFSA to be received by the federal processor no 
later than July 1, 2005. 

C. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998),



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 12   December 20, 2006 2208

LR 24:1900 (October 1998), amended LR 25:655 (April 1999), LR 
25:2396 (December 1999), LR 26:1994 (September 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1847 (November 2001), amended LR 28:447 
(March 2002), LR 28:1760 (August 2002), LR 29:554 (April 
2003), LR 30:1471 (July 2004), LR 30:2016 (September 2004), LR 
33: 
Chapter 13. Leveraging Educational Assistance 

Partnership (LEAP) 
§1301. General Provisions 

A. - D. … 
E.1. Allocation of Funds. Annually, funds are allocated to 

post-secondary institutions based on school type, the 
school's prior year first-time, full-time enrollment and the 
amount of the prior year's allocation that was expended. 
Initial funds, for first-time recipients, are computed as a 
percentage of all participating institutions first-time, full-
time enrollment as of October 10 of the prior fiscal year. A 
student's enrollment in an undergraduate degree granting 
school which is a component of a state supported medical 
center, shall be a first-time, full-time freshman for the 
purpose of this program. Continuation funds for students 
who had previously received LEAP are computed as a 
percentage of the allocated funds used during the previous 
year. The continuation formula applies 60 percent for four-
year schools and 40 percent for two-year schools. 

2. For the 2006-2007 academic year (college), the 
allocations described in E.1 above shall be made to 
postsecondary institutions based on 2004-2005 academic 
year (college) formula data. 

F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:641 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR 25:1458 (August 1999), 
repromulgated LR 27:1860 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:2332 (November 2002), LR 33: 
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions 
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the 

Initial and Continuous Enrollment 
Requirements 

A. - D.3. … 
E. Qualifying Exceptions to the Initial and Continuous 

Enrollment Requirement. A student who has been declared 
ineligible for TOPS, TOPS-Tech, TOPS Teacher, the 
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship or the Louisiana GO 
Youth ChalleNGe Program because of failure to meet the 
initial or continuous enrollment requirements may request 
reinstatement in that program based on one or more of the 
following exceptions. 

1. Parental Leave 
E.1.a. - F. … 
G. Natural Disaster Exceptions 

1. For the purposes of this Subsection, displaced 
students are TOPS recipients and students eligible for TOPS 
and: 

a. on August 26, 2005: 
 i were enrolled at one of the following eligible 
college or university campuses: 

(a). University of New Orleans; 
(b). Dillard University; 
(c). Delgado Community College; 

(d). Nunez Community College; 
(e). Louisiana State University Health Sciences 

Center at New Orleans; 
(f). Southern University at New Orleans; 
(g). Loyola University; 
(h). New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary; 
(i). Our Lady of Holy Cross College; 
(j). Tulane University; 
(k). Xavier University; 
(l). St. Josephs Seminary College; or 
(m). Louisiana Technical College: 

 (i). Jefferson Campus; 
 (ii). Sidney N. Collier Campus; 
 (iii). Slidell Campus; 
 (iv). Sullivan Campus; 
 (v). West Jefferson Campus; or 
 ii. whose home of record was one of the 
following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Jefferson; 
(b). Lafourche; 
(c). Orleans; 
(d). Plaquemine; 
(e). St. Bernard; 
(f). St. Tammany; 
(g). Tangipahoa; or 
(h). Washington; or 

b. on September 23, 2005: 
 i. were enrolled at one of the following eligible 
college or university campuses: 

(a). SOWELA Technical Community College; 
(b). Louisiana Technical College: 

 (i). Gulf Area Campus; 
 (ii). Morgan Smith Campus; 
 (iii). Lamar Salter Campus; 
 (iv). Oakdale Campus; or 
 (v). Sabine Valley Campus; or 
 ii. whose home of record was one of the 
following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Acadia; 
(b). Allen; 
(c). Beauregard; 
(d). Calcasieu; 
(e). Cameron; 
(f). Iberia; 
(g). Jefferson Davis; 
(h). Lafayette; 
(i). St. Mary; 
(j). Terrebonne; or 
(k). Vermilion. 

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, home of record 
is: 

a. the domiciliary address of a dependent student's 
parent or court ordered custodian; or 

b. the domiciliary address of an independent 
student. 

3. For the purposes of this Subsection, natural 
disaster is limited to Hurricane Katrina and/or Hurricane 
Rita.  

4.a. For the 2005-2006 academic year (college), 
displaced students are not required to enroll as full time 
students, to maintain continuous enrollment or to earn at 
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least 24 hours during the 2005-2006 academic year 
(college). 

b. Displaced students may enroll on a part-time 
basis in an eligible college or university without losing 
TOPS eligibility. Upon request by the student, the eligible 
college or university may bill for these part-time students. 

c. The terms of eligibility for a displaced student 
whose part-time enrollment is paid by TOPS will be reduced 
by one full semester (term) for each semester (term) (part or 
full-time) paid. 

d. Institutions must document the displaced 
student's request for part-time payment of the award. 

e. If a displaced student enrolls in an eligible 
college or university during the 2005-2006 academic year 
(college) and receives grades, those grades will be included 
in calculating the student's cumulative grade point average. 

5.a. For the 2005-2006 academic year (college), 
students who are not displaced students, but due to the 
effects of a natural disaster were unable to enroll for the first 
time as full time students by the deadline or to enroll as full 
time students or to maintain continuous enrollment or to earn 
at least 24 hours during the academic year (college), may 
submit a request for an exception in accordance with 
§2103.D, based on one of the circumstances listed in 
§2103.E, or in accordance with the following procedures for 
the circumstances described in this Subsection. 
 i. The student should file the application for 
exception as soon as it is known that the student will not 
meet one or more of the continuing eligibility requirements 
to ensure the earliest reinstatement of the award. The student 
must submit the application for exception no later than six 
months after the date of the notice of cancellation. The 
deadline for filing the exception shall be prominently 
displayed on the notice of cancellation. If the applicant for 
an exception is a dependent student, a parent or court 
ordered custodian of the dependent student may submit the 
application for exception on behalf of the applicant. 
 ii. If determined eligible for an exception, the 
recipient will be reinstated if he or she enrolls in the first 
fall, winter or spring semester or term immediately 
following the exception ending date. 

b. Natural Disaster Exception (For Other Than 
Displaced Students) 
 i. Definition. The effects of a natural disaster 
prevented the student/recipient from enrolling as a full time 
student or continuing enrollment or earning 24 hours during 
the 2005-2006 academic year (college). 
 ii. Certification Requirements. The 
student/recipient must submit: 

(a). a completed exception request form; and 
(b). written statement detailing the natural 

disaster's impact on the student and/or the student's 
immediate family (mother, father, custodian, siblings and/or 
spouse and children), which prevented the student from 
meeting the continuation requirements, including the length 
of the impact; and 

(c). documentation corroborating the student's 
statement (examples: photographs of damage; insurance, 
FEMA, fire and/or police reports; statements from public 
officials; statements from family members or other persons 
with actual knowledge; receipts and invoices for work done 
and materials purchased). 

 iii. Maximum Length of Exception―up to two 
consecutive semesters (three consecutive quarters). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1 and R.S. 17:3050.1-
3050.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), amended LR 23:1648 (December 1997), 
repromulgated LR 24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1916 
(October 1998), LR 26:1015 (May 2000), LR 26:2002 (September 
2000), LR 27:36 (January 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1866 
(November 2001), amended LR 27:1875 (November 2001), LR 
28:46 (January 2002), LR 28:449 (March 2002), LR 28:775 (April 
2002), LR 28:2330, 2333 (November 2002), LR 29:126 (February 
2003), LR 29:2373, 2373 (November 2003), LR 30:785 (April 
2004), LR 30:1167 (June 2004), LR 31:1060 (May 2005), LR 33: 
§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment, Cancellation 

and Reduced Payments 
A. - B.8.b. … 

9. Natural Disaster Deferments 
a. For the purposes of this subsection, displaced 

students are recipients of the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or TOPS Teacher Award who are in repayment 
status and:  
 i. on August 26, 2005, whose home of record was 
one of the following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Jefferson; 
(b). Lafourche; 
(c). Orleans; 
(d). Plaquemine; 
(e). St. Bernard; 
(f). St. Tammany; 
(g). Tangipahoa; or 
(h). Washington; or 

 ii. on September 23, 2005, whose home of record 
was one of the following Louisiana parishes: 

(a). Acadia; 
(b). Allen; 
(c). Beauregard; 
(d). Calcasieu; 
(e). Cameron; 
(f). Iberia; 
(g). Jefferson Davis; 
(h). Lafayette; 
(i). St. Mary; 
(j). Terrebonne; or 
(k). Vermilion. 

b. For the purposes of this subsection, home of 
record is: 
 i. the domiciliary address of a dependent 
student's parent or court ordered custodian; or 
 ii. the domiciliary address of an independent 
student. 

c. For the purposes of this subsection, natural 
disaster is limited to Hurricane Katrina and/or Hurricane 
Rita. 

d. The loan payments for displaced students are 
deferred and accrual of interest is suspended from August 
26, 2005 through August 31, 2006. 

e. For the period of August 26, 2005 through 
August 31, 2006, recipients of the Rockefeller State Wildlife 
Scholarship or TOPS Teacher Award who are in repayment 
status and who are not displaced students, but who are
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unable to repay their loan during the academic year (college) 
due to the effects of a natural disaster, may submit a request 
for deferment of payments and suspension of accrual of 
interest in accordance with §2105.D, based on one of the 
circumstances listed in §2103.B.1 through 8 or the following 
circumstance: 
 i. The effects of a natural disaster prevented the 
student/recipient from making payments during the period of 
August 26, 2005, through August 31, 2006. 
 ii. Certification Requirements. The 
student/recipient must submit: 

(a). a completed exception request form; and 
(b). a written statement detailing the natural 

disaster's impact on the student and/or the student's 
immediate family (mother, father, custodian, siblings and/or 
spouse and children), which prevented the student from 
meeting the repayment requirements, including the length of 
the impact; and 

(c). documentation corroborating the student's 
statement (examples: photographs of damage; insurance, 
FEMA, fire and/or police reports; statements from public 
officials; statements from family members or other persons 
with actual knowledge; receipts and invoices for work done 
and materials purchased). 
 iii. Maximum Length of Exception―through 
August 31, 2006. 

C. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1918 (October 1998), LR 
26:1603 (August 2000), repromulgated LR 27:1868 (November 
2001), amended LR 28:775 (April 2002), LR 30:781 (April 2004), 
LR 30:1167, 1168 (June 2004), LR 33: 
§2109. Agency Decisions Subject to Appeal 

A. - C.3. … 
4. The petition of appeal must be addressed to the 

Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission, in care 
of the Executive Director, Office of Student Financial 
Assistance and sent to Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-
9202, or hand delivered to 1885 Wooddale Boulevard, 
Wooddale Tower, Room 602, Baton Rouge, LA. 

C.5. - D.1. … 
2. If LOSFA's decision remains adverse, LOSFA will 

prepare and forward the appellate's file (including the 
petition of appeal, the original request for reinstatement, 
LOSFA records relating to the appeal, and a written 
statement of LOSFA's position regarding the appeal) to the 
rules committee of the commission. 

3. If the petition of appeal contains the appellant's 
request to make an oral presentation or argument, LOSFA 
shall notify the appellant in sufficient time to permit the 
appellant to be present when the appeal is scheduled to be 
heard by the rules committee and the commission. 

4. Pending a final decision by the commission, no 
further action will be taken in the matter by LOSFA. 

5. The rules committee will review the appellate file 
and make one of the following recommendations to the 
commission: 

a. recommend that LOSFA's decision be upheld; or 

b. recommend that LOSFA's decision be reversed; 
or 

c. remand the appellate file to LOSFA for further 
specified action(s); or 

d. remand the appellate file to the commission 
without recommendation. 

6. The rules committee will forward the appellate file 
and its recommendation to the commission. The commission 
will review the recommendations of the committee and the 
appellate file. 

D.7. - 9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:650 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1920 (October 1998), LR 26:1261 (June 2000), 
repromulgated LR 27:1870 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:2333 (November 2002). 
Chapter 23. Tuition Payment Program for Medical 

School Students 
§2303. Establishing Eligibility 

A. - A.5. … 
6. complete and submit such other documentary 

evidence as may be required by LASFAC within the 
deadline specified; and 

7. not have a criminal conviction, except for 
misdemeanor traffic violations; and 

8. agree that the award will be used exclusively for 
educational expenses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3041.10-3041.15. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 25:1461 (August 1999) amended LR 25:2177 (November 
1999), LR 26:2754 (December 2000), LR 27:1220 (August 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1872 (November 2001), amended LR 28:777 
(April 2002), LR 28:2333 (November 2002), LR 31:40 (January 
2005) LR 33: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0612#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Tuition Trust Authority 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

START Savings Program 
(LAC 28:VI.107, 301, 309 and 311) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend rules of the 
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START 
Saving) Program (R.S. 17:3091 et seq.). 

The Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LATTA has determined that this
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Emergency Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. 

This Declaration of Emergency is effective on November 
15, 2006, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act. (ST0778E) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
Subchapter A. Tuition Trust Authority 
§107. Applicable Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this Rule 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in this Rule, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:2260 (October 2000), LR 27:1876 (November 2001), 
LR 28:450 (March 2002), LR 28:777 (April 2002), LR 28:2334 
(November 2002), LR 29:556 (April 2003), LR 30:786 (April 
2004), LR 30:1169 (June 2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 
31:639 (March 2005), LR 32:1433 (August 2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§301. Education Savings Accounts 

A. - E.2. … 
F. Citizenship Requirements. Both an account owner 

who is not a legal entity and the beneficiary must meet the 
following citizenship requirements: 

1. be a United States citizen; or 
2. be a permanent resident of the United States as 

defined by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor and provide copies of USCIS 
documentation with the submission of the owner's 
agreement. 

G. - G.2. … 
H. Providing Personal Information 

1. The account owner is required to disclose personal 
information in the owner's agreement, including: 

a. his Social Security number; 
b. the designated beneficiary's Social Security 

number; 
c. the beneficiary's date of birth; 
d. the familial relationship between the account 

owner and the designated beneficiary, if any; 
e. the account owner's prior year's federal adjusted 

gross income as reported to the Internal Revenue Service; 
and 

f.  in the case of an account owner classified under 
§303.A.5: 
 i. the Social Security number of the beneficiary's 
family and authorization from that person for the LATTA to 
access his annual tax records through the Louisiana 
Department of Revenue, for the purpose of verifying federal 
adjusted gross income; and 
 ii. if applicable, proof that the beneficiary is a 
ward of the court; or 

 iii. if applicable, proof the beneficiary is eligible 
for a free lunch under the Richard B. Russell National 
School Act (42 USC 1751 et seq.). 

2. … 
3. By signing the owner's agreement: 

a. the account owner who is a natural person, other 
than a natural person classified as an account owner under 
§303.A.5, certifies that: 
 i. both account owner and beneficiary are United 
States citizens or permanent residents of the United States as 
defined by the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS) or its successor and, if permanent residents have 
provided copies of USCIS documentation with the 
submission of the application and owner's agreement; and 
 ii. the information provided in the application is 
true and correct; 

H.3.b. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:713 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:436 (March 1998), LR 24:1269 (July 1998), 
LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 26:2262 (October 2000), LR 
27:1878 (November 2001), LR 28:450 (March 2002), LR 28:778 
(April 2002), LR 28:2334 (November 2002), LR 30:786 (April 
2004), LR 33: 
§309. Disbursement of Account Funds for Payment of 

Qualified Higher Education Expenses of a 
Beneficiary 

A. - D.3. … 
E. Receipt of Scholarships 

1. If the designated beneficiary of an education 
savings account is the recipient of a scholarship, waiver of 
tuition, or similar subvention which cannot be converted into 
money by the beneficiary, the account owner or beneficiary 
may request a refund from the education savings account in 
the amount equal to the value of the scholarship, waiver or 
similar subvention up to the balance of principal and interest 
in the account. 

E.2. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:716 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1272 (July 1998), LR 24:2238 (December 
1998), LR 26:2265 (October 2000), LR 27:1881 (November 2001), 
LR 30:789 (April 2004), LR 30:1169 (June 2004), LR 32:1433 
(August 2006), LR 33: 
§311. Termination and Refund of an Education 

Savings Account  
A. - G. … 
H. Refund Payments. Payment of refunds for voluntary 

termination under §311.F or partial refunds of accounts 
pursuant to §311.F.3 shall be made within 30 days of the 
date on which the account was terminated. The termination 
refund shall consist of the principal remaining in the account 
and interest remaining in the account accrued on the 
principal through the end of the last calendar year. Interest 
earned in excess of $3 during the calendar year of 
termination will be refunded within 45 days of the date the 
state treasurer has announced the interest rate for the 
preceding year. Interest earned of $3 or less during the
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calendar year of termination will be forfeited to the 
Louisiana Education and Tuition Savings Fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3091-3099.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:717 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1273 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2265 (October 2000), amended LR 27:38 (January 2001), LR 
27:1882 (November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:790 
(April 2004), LR 31:639 (March 2005), LR 32:1434 (August 
2006), LR 33: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

0612#008 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Louisiana International Banking  
(LAC 10:III.1101-1105) 

The Office of Financial Institutions, pursuant to the 
emergency provision of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953.(B), adopts the following Emergency Rule of 
the International Banking Statutes as authorized by R.S. 
6:551.7 and 6:551.24. This Rule is adopted in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., 
shall become effective November 20, 2006, and shall remain 
in effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or 
until adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first.  

The Office of Financial Institutions has found an 
immediate need, since no such rules exist at this time, to 
provide rules for the establishment of fees and assessments 
to ensure that the costs of regulation of international banking 
activities in Louisiana are adequately recaptured. Without 
this Emergency Rule the public welfare may be harmed as a 
result of the inability for international banks to establish 
facilities to engage in activities that could enhance economic 
growth in Louisiana. The failure to adopt this Rule may 
impede economic development in Louisiana that could 
improve the standard of living and enrich the quality of life 
for citizens of this state. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT,  

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part III.  Banks 

Chapter 11 Louisiana International Banking 
§1101. General Provisions 

The Depository Institutions' Section of the Louisiana 
Office of Financial Institutions ("OFI") is funded entirely 
through assessments and fees levied on state-chartered 
depository institutions for services rendered. All fees 
detailed in this Rule are nonrefundable and must be paid at 
the time the application is filed with this office. An applicant 
may request that a reduced fee be charged for the 
simultaneous filing of multiple applications. This privilege

will not be afforded to applications that will not be expected 
to be consummated within 12 months of the filing date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:551.7 and 6:551.24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 33: 
§1103. Fees and Assessments 

Pursuant to the authority granted under R.S. 6:551.7 and 
6:551.24, the following fee and assessment structure is 
hereby established to cover necessary costs associated with 
the administration of the International Banking Statutes, R.S. 
6:551.1 et seq. 

 
Description Fee 

A. Application for a foreign bank, bank 
holding company, or financial holding 
company, to establish and operate a 
subsidiary bank in Louisiana. 

$10,000 

B. Application for a foreign bank to establish 
and operate a branch, an international 
banking facility, a representative office, or 
an agency in Louisiana. 

$2,000 

C. Application for a U.S. bank or foreign 
bank to organize or acquire a subsidiary to 
engage in international banking activities 
specifically authorized in the Edge Act or 
to operate as an agreement corporation. 

$2,000 

D. Application for a foreign bank to establish 
and operate an administrative office in 
Louisiana. 

$1,000 

E. Examination fee for each foreign bank, 
branch, agency, representative office, 
international banking facility, 
administrative office, or Edge Act 
subsidiary operating in Louisiana. Fee per 
examiner. 

$50 per hour 

F. Examination fee for each branch, agency, 
representative office, international banking 
facility, administrative office, or Edge Act 
subsidiary of an out-of-state foreign bank. 
This fee shall be billed to the primary state 
regulator of the out-of-state foreign bank 
being examined, and due upon receipt of 
the OFI invoice. 

The greater of $50 per 
hour per examiner or 
the actual expenses 
incurred by this office 
to conduct or assist in 
conducting such 
examinations. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:551.7 and 6:551.24. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 33: 
§1105. Administration 

The commissioner may increase any of the fees in §1103 
when a combination of two or more of the transactions 
described in that Section occur, said fee not to exceed the 
lesser of $50 per hour, or the combined fees as stated above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:551.7 and 6:551.24. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 33: 

 
John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner 

0612#003 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded 
Reimbursement of Medical Supplies 

(LAC 50:VII.32901-32903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to 
amend LAC 50:VII.32901-32903 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded 
(ICFs/MR) that included the Inventory for Client and 
Agency Planning (ICAP) instruments (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 31, Number 9). The bureau adopted an Emergency 
Rule to amend the provisions of the September 20, 2005 
Rule governing the reimbursement methodology for 
ICFs/MR to include reimbursement of certain medical 
supply costs for Medicaid recipients who are medically 
fragile. (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 9). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the September 20, 2006 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to protect the health and welfare 
of Medicaid recipients by encouraging the continued 
participation of ICF/MR providers in the Medicaid Program.  

Effective January 7, 2007, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amends the provisions contained in the September 
20, 2005 Rule governing the reimbursement methodology 
for intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally 

Retarded 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Reimbursement Components 
§32901. Cost Reports 

A. - C.1 ... 
2. For providers receiving pervasive plus supplements 

and other client specific adjustments to the rate in 
accordance with §32903.I.,the facility wide direct care floor 
is established at 94 percent of the per diem direct care 
payment, the pervasive plus supplement, and other client 
specific adjustments to the rate. The direct care floor will be 
applied to the cost reporting year in which the facility 
receives a pervasive plus supplement and/or a client specific 
rate adjustment. In no case, however, shall a facility 
receiving a pervasive plus supplement and/or client specific 
rate adjustment have total facility payments reduced to less 
than 104 percent of the total facility cost as a result of 
imposition of the direct care floor. 

3 - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1592 (July 2005), repromulgated LR 
31:2252 (September 2005), amended LR 32: 
§32903. Rate Determination 

A. - H.2. ... 
I. Other Client Specific Adjustments to the Rate. A 

facility may request a client specific rate supplement for 
reimbursement of the costs for enteral nutrition, ostomy, 
tracheotomy medical supplies or a vagus nerve stimulator. 

1. The provider must submit sufficient medical 
supportive documentation to the DHH ICAP Review 
Committee to establish medical need for enteral nutrition, 
ostomy or tracheotomy medical supplies. 

a. The amount of reimbursement determined by the 
ICAP Review Committee shall be based on the average daily 
cost for the provision of the medical supplies. 

b. The provider must submit annual documentation 
to support the need for the adjustment to the rate. 

2. The provider must submit sufficient medical 
supportive documentation to the Unisys Prior Authorization 
Unit to establish medical necessity for a vagus nerve 
stimulator. 

a. The amount of reimbursement shall be the 
established fee on the Medicaid Fee Schedule for medical 
equipment and supplies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1592 (July 2005), repromulgated LR 
31:2253 (September 2005), amended LR 32:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA  70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0612#079 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Emergency Ambulance Services 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
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XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing provides reimbursement for 
emergency ambulance transportation services. 
Reimbursement for these services is the base rate established 
by the bureau minus the amount which any third party 
coverage would pay. During the 2001 and 2002 Regular 
Sessions of the Louisiana Legislature additional funds were 
allocated and the bureau subsequently increased the 
reimbursement rate for certain designated procedure codes 
for emergency ambulance transportation services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 27, Number 11; Volume 28, Number 12).  

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2006 Regular Session, the bureau 
adopted an Emergency Rule to increase the base rate and 
ground mileage reimbursement rate for emergency 
ambulance transportation services. (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 32, Number 9). This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to continue the provisions of the September 1, 
2006 Emergency Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of recipients and to maintain access to emergency 
ambulance transportation services by encouraging the 
continued participation of these providers in the Medicaid 
Program.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after December 31, 

2006, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
base rate for emergency ambulance transportation services 
by 5 percent and ground mileage reimbursement rate for 
emergency ambulance transportation services by 17 percent 
of the rates in effect on August 31, 2006.  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0612#081 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Services 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for non-emergency medical 
transportation services. Reimbursement for these services is 
the base rate established by the bureau minus the amount 
which any third party coverage would pay. During the 2003 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature additional 
funds were allocated and the bureau subsequently increased 
the reimbursement rates for certain designated procedures 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 30, Number 1). As a result of 
the allocation of additional funds by the Legislature during 
the 2006 Regular Session, the bureau promulgated an 
Emergency Rule that increased the reimbursement rates for 
non-emergency, non-ambulance medical transportation 
services by 5 percent (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, 
Number 9). The bureau now proposes to amend the 
provisions governing non-emergency, non-ambulance 
medical transportation services to increase the rate on file by 
an additional 9 percent.  

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of recipients and to maintain access to  
non-emergency medical transportation services by 
encouraging the continued participation of these providers in 
the Medicaid Program. It is estimated that implementation of 
this Emergency Rule will increase expenditures for non-
emergency medical transportation services by approximately 
$402,240 for the state fiscal year 2006-2007. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after December 1, 

2006, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the 
reimbursement rate for non-emergency, non-ambulance 
medical transportation services by 9 percent of the rates in 
effect on November 30, 2006. Non-emergency medical 
transportation provided by friends and family is not included 
in this reimbursement rate increase.  
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Implementation of the provisions of this Emergency Rule 
shall be contingent upon the approval of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0612#031 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation Services 

Reimbursement Rate Increase 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq. and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the Final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing provides 
coverage and reimbursement for non-emergency medical 
transportation services. Reimbursement for these services is 
the base rate established by the Bureau minus the amount 
which any third party coverage would pay. During the 2003 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature additional 
funds were allocated and the Bureau subsequently increased 
the reimbursement rates for certain designated procedures 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 30, Number 1).  

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
Legislature during the 2006 Regular Session, the bureau has 
adopted an Emergency Rule to increase the reimbursement 
rates for non-emergency, non-ambulance medical 
transportation services. (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, 
Number 9). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the September 1, 2006 Emergency 
Rule. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of recipients and to maintain access to non-
emergency medical transportation services by encouraging 
the continued participation of these providers in the 
Medicaid Program.  

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after December 31, 

2006, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing increases the

reimbursement rate for non-emergency, non-ambulance 
medical transportation services by 5 percent of the rates in 
effect on August 31, 2006. Non-emergency medical 
transportation provided by friends and family is not included 
in this reimbursement rate increase.  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0612#080 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of the Secretary 

Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program―Physician Services 
Concurrent Care 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgates 
the following Emergency Rule in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49: 953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Human Resources, Office 
of Family Security adopted provisions limiting the coverage 
of inpatient hospital physician visits to one per day for each 
day of an eligible hospital admission (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 6, Number 11). The Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing adopted provisions governing inpatient concurrent 
care services provided by physicians to Medicaid recipients 
under the age of 21 (Louisiana Register, Volume 18, Number 
1). Concurrent care services are necessary when a patient’s 
condition and diagnosis require the services of more than 
one physician at the same time to assure that the patient 
receives the appropriate standard of treatment. In 
compliance with Section 1905 of the Omnibus Budget 
Reconciliation Act of 1989, the bureau amended the 
provisions of the January 20, 1992 Rule governing 
concurrent care services by physicians for Medicaid 
beneficiaries up to age 21 (Louisiana Register, Volume 19, 
Number 6). The bureau now proposes to repeal the 
November 20, 1980 Rule and amend the January 20, 1992 
Rule governing concurrent care services to allow for the



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 12   December 20, 2006 2216

reimbursement of up to three inpatient evaluation and 
management services per day for recipients age 21 and over. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient 
provider participation in the Medicaid Program and recipient 
access to providers of these medically necessary services. It 
is estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule 
will increase expenditures for physician services by 
approximately $9,525,797 for state fiscal year 2006-2007. 

Emergency Rule 
Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2007, 

the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals the 
November 20, 1980 Rule which limited the coverage of 
inpatient hospital physician visits to one per day for each 
day of an eligible hospital admission. The department also 
amends the provisions governing concurrent care to allow 
for the reimbursement of up to three medically necessary 
inpatient evaluation and management services by providers 
of different specialties per recipient, per day, for recipients 
age 21 and over. 

Implementation of this Emergency Rule shall be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Jerry 
Phillips, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Frederick P. Cerise, M.D., M.P.H. 
Secretary 

0612#078 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 
Tax Commission 

Ad Valorem Taxation  
(LAC 61:V.101, 307, 309, 703, 705, 901, 907, 1103,  

1307, 1503, 2501, 2503, 2901-2909, 3101, 3103, 3105, 
3106, 3107, 3501, 3503, 3509, 3511, 3513, 3515, 3517, 

3519, 3521, 3523, 3701, 3702) 

The Louisiana Tax Commission, at its meeting of October 
18, 2006, exercised the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and pursuant 
to its authority under R.S. 47:1837, adopted the following 
additions, deletions and amendments to the Real/Personal 
Property Rules and Regulations. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary in order for ad valorem 
tax assessment tables to be disseminated to property owners 
and local tax assessors no later than the statutory valuation 
date of record of January 1, 2007. Cost indexes required to 
finalize these assessment tables are not available to this 
office until late October 2006. The effective date of this 
emergency rule is January 1, 2007. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 
Part V.  Ad Valorem Taxation 

Chapter 1. Constitutional and Statutory Guides to 
Property Taxation 

§101. Constitutional Principles for Property Taxation 
A. - E. ... 
F. Special Assessment Level 

1. ... 
2. Any person or persons shall be prohibited from 

receiving the special assessment as provided in this Section 
if such person's or persons' adjusted gross income, as 
reported in the federal tax return for the year prior to the 
application for the special assessment, exceeds $60,498 for 
tax year 2007 (2008 Orleans Parish). For persons applying 
for the special assessment whose filing status is married 
filing separately, the adjusted gross income for purposes of 
this Section shall be determined by combining the adjusted 
gross income on both federal tax returns. 

3. - 9. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

Louisiana Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 15:1097 (December 1989), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:477 (March 
1998), LR 26:506 (March 2000), LR 31:700 (March 2005), LR 
32:425 (March 2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 3. Real and Personal Property 
§307. Personal Property Report Forms 

A. - A.3. ... 
4. LAT Form 7, Cellular Industry Form, should be 

furnished to all cellular industry companies doing business 
in the parish or taxing district. 

5. LAT Form 8, Cable TV Industry Form, should be 
furnished to all cable television industry companies doing 
business in the parish or taxing district. 

6. LAT Form 11, Watercraft Form, should be sent to 
owners of watercraft domiciled in the parish and to all 
owners operating watercraft out of the parish on the 
assessment date. This form should be used as a supplement 
to LAT Form 5 for companies that own such property but are 
not interstate towing or barge line companies, whose 
watercraft are assessed by the Tax Commission as public 
service properties. 

7.a. LAT Form 11A, Watercraft-Outer Continental Shelf 
Waters Form, shall be furnished to all corporations, 
partnerships, sole proprietorships, joint ventures, partners in 
commendam, limited liability partnerships, limited liability 
corporations or individuals engaged in outer continental 
shelf waters operations, who shall submit said report form as 
follows:  
 i. local parish assessor;  
 ii. Department of Revenue and Taxation, 
Secretary (pursuant to Act 59 of 1994); and  
 iii. local tax collector.  

b. All forms shall bear original signatures by the 
applicable taxpayer for certification purposes. 

8. LAT Form 12, Oil and Gas Property Form, should 
be sent to any company, business or individual having such
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property in the parish or taxing district. Refer to the oil and 
gas properties section (§903) for specific instructions on 
completion of this form. 

9. LAT Form 13, Drilling Rig and Related Equipment 
Form, should be sent, in addition to LAT Form 5, to any 
company, business or individual having such property in the 
parish or taxing district. Refer to the drilling rigs and related 
equipment section (§1101) for specific instructions on 
completion of this form. 

10. LAT Form 14, Pipelines Form, should be furnished 
to all companies owning and/or operating pipelines other 
than pipelines which are assessed as public service 
properties by the Tax Commission. This form is considered 
to be a supplement to LAT Form 5 and LAT Form 12. Refer 
to the pipelines section (§1301) for specific instructions on 
completion of this form. 

11. LAT Form 15, Aircraft Form, should be furnished 
to all individuals, partnerships, corporations, associations, 
etc., owning and/or operating an aircraft in Louisiana as of 
the assessment date. This form is considered to be a 
supplement to LAT Form 5. Refer to the aircraft Section 
(§1501) for specific instructions on completion of this form. 

B. - B.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2326. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tax Commission, 

LR 2:358 (November 1976), amended by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 
1990), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 33: 
§309. Tax Commission Miscellaneous Forms 

A. - G. ... 
H. TC Form TC-TU01-A, Tulane Non-Exempt Property 

Report. 
I. TC Form TC-TU01-B, Tulane Non-Exempt Property 

Report of the Pre-Exemption Property Values. 
J. TC Form TC-TU02, Tulane University Exemption 

Allocation Report. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1712, R.S. 47:1835, R.S. 47:1837, R.S. 47:1966, R.S. 47:1990. 
R.S. 47:1991 and R.S. 47:2326. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 21:186 (February 
1995), amended LR 22:117 (February 1996), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:479 (March 
1998), LR 27:424 (March 2001), LR 28:517 (March 2002), LR 
30:487 (March 2004), LR 32:430 (March 2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 7. Watercraft 
§703. Tables―Watercraft 

A. Floating Equipment―Motor Vessels 
 

Table 703.A 
Floating Equipment―Motor Vessels 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
12 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2006 0.979 1 94 .92 
2005 1.024 2 87 .89 
2004 1.102 3 80 .88 

Table 703.A 
Floating Equipment―Motor Vessels 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
12 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2003 1.140 4 73 .83 
2002 1.159 5 66 .76 
2001 1.166 6 58 .68 
2000 1.176 7 50 .59 
1999 1.197 8 43 .51 
1998 1.201 9 36 .43 
1997 1.211 10 29 .35 
1996 1.231 11 24 .30 
1995 1.249 12 22 .27 
1994 1.294 13 20 .26 

 
B. Floating Equipment―Barges (Non-Motorized) 
 

Table 703.B 
Floating Equipment―Barges (Non-Motorized) 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
20 Years 

Year Index Effective 
Age 

Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2006 0.979 1 97 .95 
2005 1.024 2 93 .95 
2004 1.102 3 90 .99 
2003 1.140 4 86 .98 
2002 1.159 5 82 .95 
2001 1.166 6 78 .91 
2000 1.176 7 74 .87 
1999 1.197 8 70 .84 
1998 1.201 9 65 .78 
1997 1.211 10 60 .73 
1996 1.231 11 55 .68 
1995 1.249 12 50 .62 
1994 1.294 13 45 .58 
1993 1.331 14 40 .53 
1992 1.356 15 35 .47 
1991 1.373 16 31 .43 
1990 1.401 17 27 .38 
1989 1.438 18 24 .35 
1988 1.515 19 22 .33 
1987 1.580 20 21 .33 
1986 1.603 21 20 .32 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:924 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:204 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:479 (March 1998), LR 25:312 (February 1999), LR 26:506 
(March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), 
LR 29:368 (March 2003), LR 30:487 (March 2004), LR 31:715 
(March 2005), LR 32:430 (March 2006), LR 33: 
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§705. Tables―Watercraft 
A. Table 705.A―140' – 159' 
 

Table 705.A 
140' - 159' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Supply Vessel (OSV) $4,500 $1,400,000 1.14 1373 1149 926 703 479 
Offshore Towing $3,300 $1,400,000 0.97 1167 978 788 598 408 

 
B. Table 705.B―160' - 179' 

 
Table 705.B 
160' - 179' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Supply Vessel (OSV) $5,000 $2,400,000 1.21 2497 2091 1684 1278 871 
Offshore Towing $5,000 $2,400,000 1.21 2497 2091 1684 1278 871 

 
C. Table 705.C―180' - 199' 
 

Table 705.C 
180' - 199' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Supply Vessel (OSV) $6,500 $3,200,000 1.43 3935 3295 2654 2013 1373 
Offshore Towing $6,250 $3,200,000 1.39 3825 3203 2580 1957 1334 

 
D. Table 705.D―180' - 199' 
 

Table 705.D 
180' - 199' 

Type 2007  LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

AHT Tug/Supp $6,500 $3,750,000 1.43 4611 3861 3110 2360 1609 
 

E. Table 705.E―200' - 219' 
 

Table 705.E 
200' - 219' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Supply Vessel (OSV) $8,500 $5,400,000 1.71 7941 6649 5356 4063 2770 
AHT Tug/Supp $8,000 $5,400,000 1.64 7616 6376 5137 3897 2657 

Offshore Towing $8,750 $5,400,000 1.75 8127 6804 5481 4158 2835 
 

F. Table 705.F―220' - 230' 
 

Table 705.F 
220' - 230' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Supply Vessel (OSV) $10000 $6,400,000 1.93 10623 8893 7164 5435 3706 
AHT Tug/Supp $14000 $6,400,000 2.50 13760 11520 9280 7040 4800 

Offshore Towing $9,000 $6,400,000 1.78 9797 8202 6607 5012 3418 
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G. Table 705.G―231' and Longer 
 

Table 705.G 
231' and Longer 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Supply Vessel (OSV) $11250 $8,140,000 2.11 14770 12365 9961 7558 5153 
AHT Tug/Supp $16300 $8,140,000 2.83 19810 16584 13360 10137 6911 

 
H. Table 705.H―60' - 70' 

 

Table 705.H 
60' - 70' 

Type 2007  LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Offshore Crew $600 $312,000 1.10 295 248 199 151 103 

 
I. Table 705.I―85' - 99' 
 

Table 705.I 
85' - 99' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Offshore Crew $1,000 $416,000 1.13 405 339 272 207 141 
 

J. Table 705.J―100' - 119' 
 

Table 705.J 
100' - 119' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Offshore Crew $2,500 $884,000 1.33 1011 847 682 517 353 
Utility Vessel $2,300 $884,000 1.27 965 809 652 494 337 

 
K. Table 705.K―120' - 140' 

 

Table 705.K 
120' - 140' 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Offshore Crew $2,900 $1,248,000 1.23 1320 1106 891 675 460 
Utility Vessel $2,500 $1,248,000 1.13 1213 1016 818 620 423 

 
L. Table 705.L―141' - 165' 

 

Table 705.L 
141’ - 165’ 

Type 2007 LAA Day Rate Base Cost Multiplier 

2006 
- 

2002 
.86 

2001 
- 

1997 
.72 

1996 
- 

1992 
.58 

1991 
- 

1987 
.44 

1986 
- 

Earlier 
.30 

Offshore Crew $4,000 $2,392,000 1.17 2407 2015 1624 1232 840 
Utility Vessel $4,000 $2,392,000 1.17 2407 2015 1624 1232 840 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 
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Chapter 9. Oil and Gas Properties 
§901. Guidelines for Ascertaining the Fair Market 

Value of Oil and Gas Properties 
A. - B.3. ... 
C. Explanations 

* * * 
Production Depth--is the depth from the surface to the 

active lower perforation in each producing zone in which the 
well is completed. As an example, a well completed in three 
separate zones is a triple completion and will have three 
different production depths as determined by the depth of the 
active lower perforation for each completion. Provided, 
however, that in the case of wells drilled with a minimum of 
80 degrees deviation from vertical for a distance of at least 
50 feet, production depth shall mean the true vertical 
distance from the surface of the earth to the lowest point in 
the formation that is penetrated by a horizontal lateral. 

D. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 2:359 (November 1976), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 
(February 1982), LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 17:1213 (December 
1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 31:717 (March 2005), LR 
33: 
§907. Tables—Oil and Gas 

A. ... 
1. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1―North 

Louisiana 
 

Table 907.A-1 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 1―North Louisiana 

Producing Depths Cost―New by depth, 
per foot 

15% of Cost―New by 
depth, per foot 

     $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0-1,249 ft. 15.42 46.62 2.31 6.99 

1,250-2,499 ft. 14.39 27.32 2.16 4.10 
2,500-3,749 ft. 18.27 24.62 2.74 3.69 
3,750-4,999 ft. 28.38 29.21 4.26 4.38 
5,000-7,499 ft. 27.83 29.61 4.17 4.44 
7,500-9,999 ft. 60.89 43.34 9.13 6.50 

10,000-12,499 ft. 53.17 53.65 7.98 8.05 
12,500-14,999 ft. N/A 108.67 N/A 16.30 
15,000-Deeper ft. N/A 138.59 N/A 20.79 

 
2. Oil. Gas and Associated Wells; Region 2―South 

Louisiana 
 

Table 907.A-2 
Oil, Gas and Associated Wells 

Region 2 - South Louisiana 

Producing Depths Cost―New by depth, 
per foot 

15% of Cost―New 
by depth, per foot 

    $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0-1,249 ft. 186.98 121.55 28.05 18.23 

1,250-2,499 ft. 97.70 226.09 14.66 33.91 
2,500-3,749 ft. 96.47 154.15 14.47 23.12 
3,750-4,999 ft. 70.77 120.96 10.62 18.14 
5,000-7,499 ft. 86.53 101.74 12.98 15.26 
7,500-9,999 ft. 102.81 99.35 15.42 14.90 

10,000-12,499 ft. 119.99 105.29 18.00 15.79 
12,500-14,999 ft. 131.60 132.79 19.74 19.92 
15,000-17,499 ft. 215.81 173.56 32.37 26.03 
17,500-19,999 ft. 215.66 226.64 32.35 34.00 
20,000-Deeper ft. 184.09 355.33 27.61 53.30 

 

3. Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 3―Offshore 
State Waters* 

 
Table 907.A-3 

Oil, Gas and Associated Wells; Region 3―Offshore State Waters 
Producing Depths Cost―New by depth, 

per foot 
15% of Cost―New 
by depth, per foot 

   $ Oil $ Gas $ Oil $ Gas 
0-1,249 ft. N/A N/A N/A N/A 

1,250-2,499 ft. 516.47 544.41 77.47 81.66 
2,500-3,749 ft. 299.82 410.71 44.97 61.61 
3,750-4,999 ft. 299.77 422.88 44.97 63.43 
5,000-7,499 ft. 283.82 332.95 42.57 49.94 
7,500-9,999 ft. 277.72 298.87 41.66 44.83 

10,000-12,499 ft. 368.39 302.23 55.26 45.33 
12,500-14,999 ft. 392.48 280.02 58.87 42.00 
15,000-17,499 ft. 222.45 343.97 33.37 51.60 
17,500-Deeper ft. N/A 318.87 N/A 47.83 

 
a. The determination of whether a well is a Region 

2 or Region 3 well is ascertained from its onshore/offshore 
status as designated on the Permit to Drill or Amended 
Permit to Drill form (Location of Wells Section), located at 
the Department of Natural Resources as of January 1 of each 
tax year. Each assessor is required to confirm the 
onshore/offshore status of wells located within their parish 
by referring to the Permit to Drill or Amended Permit to 
Drill form on file at the Department of Natural Resources. 
The listing of each well and their onshore/offshore status 
will also be posted on the Louisiana Tax Commission 
website on or before January 15 of each respective tax year. 

B. - B.1. Table. ... 
2. Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 

 
Table 907.B-2 

Serial Number to Percent Good Conversion Chart 
Year Beginning 

Serial Number 
Ending 

 Serial Number 
25 Year Life 

Percent Good 
2006 232639 Higher 96 
2005 230643 232638 92 
2004 229010 230642 88 
2003 227742 229009 84 
2002 226717 227741 80 
2001 225352 226716 76 
2000 223899 225351 72 
1999 222882 223898 68 
1998 221596 222881 64 
1997 220034 221595 60 
1996 218653 220033 56 
1995 217588 218652 52 
1994 216475 217587 48 
1993 215326 216474 44 
1992 214190 215325 40 
1991 212881 214189 36 
1990 211174 212880 32 
1989 209484 211173 28 
1988 207633 209483 24 
1987 Lower 207632 20* 
VAR. 900000 Higher 50 

 
B.3. -C.6.Tables ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2326. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 
1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), 
LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
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17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission. LR 24:480 (March 1998), LR 25:313 
(February 1999), LR 26:507 (March 2000), LR 27:425 (March 
2001), LR 28:518 (March 2002), LR 29: 368 (March 2003), LR 
30:488 (March 2004), LR 31:717 (March 2005), LR 32:431 (March 
2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 11. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment 
§1103. Drilling Rigs and Related Equipment Tables 

A. Land Rigs 
 

Table 1103.A 
Land Rigs 

Depth "0" to 7,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
3,000 627,800 94,200 
4,000 729,500 109,400 
5,000 908,000 136,200 
6,000 1,219,000 182,900 
7,000 1,554,500 233,200 

Depth 8,000 to 10,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
8,000 1,914,400 287,200 
9,000 2,298,800 344,800 
10,000 2,707,700 406,200 

Depth 11,000 to 15,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
11,000 3,141,100 471,200 
12,000 3,598,900 539,800 
13,000 4,081,200 612,200 
14,000 4,587,900 688,200 
15,000 5,119,200 767,900 

Depth 16,000 to 20,000 Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
16,000 5,674,900 851,200 
17,000 6,255,000 938,300 
18,000 6,859,700 1,029,000 
19,000 7,488,800 1,123,300 
20,000 8,142,400 1,221,400 

Depth 21,000 + Feet 
Depth (Ft.) Fair Market Value Assessment 

  $ $ 
21,000 8,820,400 1,323,100 

25,000 + 9,584,100 1,437,600 
 
B. Jack-Ups 
 

Table 1103.B 
Jack-Ups 

Type Water Depth 
Rating 

Fair Market 
Value 

Assessment 

* * * 
IC 200-299 FT. 40,000,000 6,000,000 

  300-Up FT. 55,000,000 8,250,000 
* * * 

 
C. ... 
D. Well Service Rigs Land Only (Good Condition)  
 

Table 1103.D 
Well Service Rigs Land Only (Good Condition) 

Class Mast Engine Fair Market 
Value 

Assessment 

I 72’ X 125M# 
75’ X 150M# 

6V71 217,875 32,680 

Table 1103.D 
Well Service Rigs Land Only (Good Condition) 

Class Mast Engine Fair Market 
Value 

Assessment 

II 96’ X 150M# 
96’ X 180M# 
96’ X 185M# 
96’ X 205M# 
96’ X 210M# 
96’ X 212M# 
96’ X 215M# 

8V71 295,750 44,400 

III 96’ X 240M# 
96’ X 250M# 
96’ X 260M# 
102’ X 215M# 

8V92 346,500 51,980 

IV 102’ X 224M# 
102’ X 250M# 
103’ X 225M# 
103’ X 250M# 
104’ X 250M# 
105’ X 225M# 
105’ X 250M# 

12V71 409,500 61,430 

V 105’ X 280M# 
106’ X 250M# 
108’ X 250M# 
108’ X 260M# 
108’ X 268M# 
108’ X 270M# 
108’ X 300M# 

12V71 
12V92 

393,750 59,100 

VI 110’ X 250M# 
110’ X 275M# 
112’ X 300M# 
112’ X 350M# 

12V71 
(2) 

8V92 

490,000 73,500 

VII 117’ X 215M# (2)  
8V92 

(2) 
12V71 

551,250 82,700 

 
E. - E.1. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:939 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), 
LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 
23:205 (February 1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, 
Tax Commission, LR 24:487 (March 1998), LR 25:315 (February 
1999), LR 26:508 (March 2000), LR 27:426 (March 2001), LR 
28:519 (March 2002), LR 30:488 (March 2004), LR 31:718 (March 
2005), LR 32:431 (March 2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 13. Pipelines 
§1307. Pipeline Transportation Tables 

A. Current Costs for Other Pipelines Onshore 
 

Table 1307.A 
Current Costs for Other Pipelines 

Onshore 
Diameter (inches) Cost per Mile 15% of Cost per Mile 

2 $ 129,140 $ 19,370 
4 152,490 22,870 
6 180,070 27,010 
8 212,620 31,890 

10 251,070 37,660 
12 296,460 44,470 
14 350,070 52,510 
16 413,360 62,000 
18 488,100 73,220 
20 576,360 86,450 
22 680,570 102,090 
24 803,620 120,540 
26 948,920 142,340 
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Table 1307.A 
Current Costs for Other Pipelines 

Onshore 
Diameter (inches) Cost per Mile 15% of Cost per Mile 

28 1,120,500 168,080 
30 1,323,090 198,460 
32 1,562,320 234,350 
34 1,844,800 276,720 
36 2,178,360 326,750 
38 2,572,230 385,830 
40 3,037,310 455,600 
42 3,586,480 537,970 
44 4,234,950 635,240 
46 5,000,670 750,100 
48 5,904,840 885,730 

 
B. Current Costs for Other Pipelines Offshore 
 

Table 1307.B 
Current Costs for Other Pipelines 

Offshore 
Diameter (inches) Cost per Mile 15% of Cost per Mile 

6 $ 1,053,120 $ 157,970 
8 1,069,160 160,370 
10 1,085,440 162,820 
12 1,101,970 165,300 
14 1,119,180 167,880 
16 1,148,070 172,210 
18 1,188,650 178,300 
20 1,240,910 186,140 
22 1,304,860 195,730 
24 1,380,490 207,070 
26 1,467,810 220,170 
28 1,566,810 235,020 
30 1,677,500 251,630 
32 1,799,880 269,980 
34 1,933,940 290,090 
36 2,079,680 311,950 
38 2,237,110 335,570 
40 2,406,230 360,930 
42 2,587,030 388,050 
44 2,779,520 416,930 
46 2,983,690 447,550 
48 3,199,550 479,930 

 
C. - Table[Note] ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:941 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), amended by the Department 
of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:489 (March 1998), LR 
25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:426 
(March 2001), LR 31:719 (March 2005), LR 32:432 (March 2006), 
LR 33: 
Chapter 15. Aircraft 
§1503. Aircraft (Including Helicopters) Table 

A. Aircraft (Including Helicopters 
 

Table 1503 
Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
(20 Years) 

Year Index Age Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2006 0.979 1 97 .95 
2005 1.024 2 93 .95 
2004 1.102 3 90 .99 
2003 1.140 4 86 .98 

Table 1503 
Aircraft (Including Helicopters) 

Cost Index 
(Average) 

Average Economic Life 
(20 Years) 

Year Index Age Percent 
Good 

Composite 
Multiplier 

2002 1.159 5 82 .95 
2001 1.166 6 78 .91 
2000 1.176 7 74 .87 
1999 1.197 8 70 .84 
1998 1.201 9 65 .78 
1997 1.211 10 60 .73 
1996 1.231 11 55 .68 
1995 1.249 12 50 .62 
1994 1.294 13 45 .58 
1993 1.331 14 40 .53 
1992 1.356 15 35 .47 
1991 1.373 16 31 .43 
1990 1.401 17 27 .38 
1989 1.438 18 24 .35 
1988 1.515 19 22 .33 
1987 1.580 20 21 .33 
1986 1.603 21 20 .32 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 13:764 (December 1987), LR 
14:872 (December 1988), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 
16:1063 (December 1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 
19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 21:186 
(February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 1996), LR 23:206 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:316 (February 1999), LR 26:509 
(March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), 
LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 30:489 (March 2004), LR 31:719 
(March 2005), LR 32:433 (March 2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 25. General Business Assets 
§2501. Guidelines for Ascertaining the Fair Market 

Value of Office Furniture and Equipment, 
Machinery and Equipment and Other Assets 
Used In General Business Activity 

A. - B. ... 
1. total acquisition costs of equipment including 

freight, installation, taxes and fees, as well as, date of 
purchase; 

B.2. - F.1.d. ... 
e. in the year in which the personal property has 

reached its minimum percent good, the applicable composite 
multiplier in use at that time is "frozen". For the assessment 
years that follow, the RCNLD value does not change until 
the personal property is permanently taken out of service. An 
exception to this rule applies when the property has been 
reconditioned to extend its remaining economic life. 

F.2. - G.1.e. ... 
f. in the year in which the personal property has 

reached its minimum percent good, the applicable composite 
multiplier in use at that time is "frozen". For the assessment 
years that follow, the RCNLD value does not change until 
the personal property is permanently taken out of service. An 
exception to this rule applies when the property has been 
reconditioned to extend its remaining economic life. 

G.2. - H.2.e. ... 
f. in the year in which the personal property has 

reached its minimum percent good, the applicable composite 
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multiplier in use at that time is "frozen". For the assessment 
years that follow, the RCNLD value does not change until 
the personal property is permanently taken out of service. An 
exception to this rule applies when the property has been 
reconditioned to extend its remaining economic life. 

3. - 5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 10:943 (November 1984), LR 12:36 (January 
1986), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 
1990), LR 17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
31:719 (March 2005), LR 33: 
§2503. Tables Ascertaining Economic Lives, Percent 

Good and Composite Multipliers of Business 
and Industrial Personal Property 

A. ... 
 

Table 2503.A 
Suggested Guidelines for Ascertaining Economic Lives of Business 

and Industrial Personal Property 

Business Activity/Type of Equipment 

Average 
Economic 

Life in Years 
Agricultural Machinery and Equipment * * * 
  Feed Mill Equipment (Production Line) 20 
Air Conditioning & Heat Repair 10 
Air Conditioning Single Room Unit 8 
Aircraft Parts Mfg. M&E 12 

* * * 
Amusement Devices (Music, Pinball Mach., etc.) * * * 
  VCR and DVD Players 5 

* * * 
Amusement and Theme Parks 12 
Antenna (ex. Mounted on Towers)for Telephone 
Cellular and CATV, etc. 

8 

* * * 
Auto Parts Retail 10 
Auto Quick Service 10 
Auto Repair M & E 8 
  Diagnostic Equipment (Electronic) 5 

* * * 
  Small Tools 5 

* * * 
Banks  
  Alarm Systems 5 

* * * 
  Vault Doors 25 
  Video Equipment 5 

* * * 
C.A.T.V. Equipment  

* * * 
  Headend Active (Equipment & Tower) 8 
  House Drops & Converters 3 
  P & E (Distribution) 10 
  Test Equipment and Tools 5 
  Tower 20 
Cabinet Shop M & E 8 

* * * 
Cash Registers & Scanners (Also See Supermarkets) 5 
Cellular Telephone Handset 3 

* * * 
Chiropractic Equipment 10 

* * * 
Cold Storage Warehouse Equipment 12 
Compressors (General Business Assets Only) 12 
Computers  
  Desktops 3 

Table 2503.A 
Suggested Guidelines for Ascertaining Economic Lives of Business 

and Industrial Personal Property 

Business Activity/Type of Equipment 

Average 
Economic 

Life in Years 
  Handhelds 3 
  Laptops 3 
  Main Frame 5 
  Midrange 5 
  Peripherals 3 
  Personal Computers 3 
  Servers 5 

* * * 
Construction M & E  

* * * 
  Mobile Telescopic 8 

* * * 
Converters (Residential Type) 3 

* * * 
Coolers  
  Water (Installed/Water Fountain) 10 
  Water (Portable) 5 
  Water Bottles (5 gallon) 3 
Copy Machines 3 

* * * 
Cotton Gins 12 

* * * 
Credit Card Machine (In Store Swipe-Type) 5 
Credit Card Machines (See Supermarket POS)  

* * * 
Day Care 
  (Exclude Office, Kitchen and Computer Assets) 

5 

* * * 
Digital Cameras & Recorders 5 

* * * 
Electronic Equipment 5 

* * * 
Fitness Equipment  
  Manual 8 
  Electronic 5 
Florist Retail  
   (Except Computers and Other Office Equipment) 

8 

* * * 
Gaming Equipment  

* * * 
  Lotto Machines 3 

* * * 
Garage M&E 8 
General Contractor M&E 8 

* * * 
GPS Receivers (Hand Held) 3 

* * * 
Hospital and Nursing Home Equipment * * * 
  High Tech (Computer Integrated) Equipment 3 

* * * 
Machine Shop M & E (Maintenance) 8 
Machine Shop M & E (Production) 8 

* * * 
Medical Equipment * * * 
  Computer Driven 5 

* * * 
Metal Sheet Fabrication 8 

* * * 
Movie (Film Making) 8 

* * * 
Music Studio Recording Equipment 5 
Music Systems (Background) 5 

* * * 
Newspaper M&E  
  Press * * * 
  Photographic * * * 
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Table 2503.A 
Suggested Guidelines for Ascertaining Economic Lives of Business 

and Industrial Personal Property 

Business Activity/Type of Equipment 

Average 
Economic 

Life in Years 
  Other M&E * * * 
Nursing Home Equipment  
  Mattresses 3 
Nursing & Greenhouse M&E * * * 
Office Copy Machines, Faxes & Printers 3 
Office Electronic Machines 5 
Office F&F 12 
Office Mailing Machines * * * 

* * * 
Photography Equipment 8 

* * * 
Plumbing Shop Equipment 8 

* * * 
Portalets 5 

* * * 
Radio & Television  
  Broadcasting Equipment 8 

* * * 
  Digital Radio Equipment 5 

* * * 
Rental Equipment  
  Public U-Rent (except heavy equipment) 5 

* * * 
  Video Tape, DVD & Game Rental 3 

* * * 
Sheet Metal Fabrication 8 

* * * 
Supermarkets  

* * * 
  PA Systems (Public Address) 5 
  POS Computer Systems 3 

* * * 
Surveying Equipment  
  (Also See Professional Equipment) 

8 

* * * 
Theater  
  Projection Equipment 8 

 
 

Table 2503.A 
Suggested Guidelines for Ascertaining Economic Lives of Business 

and Industrial Personal Property 

Business Activity/Type of Equipment 

Average 
Economic 

Life in Years 
* * * 

VCR & DVD Equipment  
   (If Rental Units, See Rental) 

5 

* * * 
Woodworking Shop M&E 8 

* * * 
 
B. Cost Indices 
 

Table 2503.B 
Cost Indices 

Year Age National Average 
1926 = 100 

January 1, 2006 = 
100* 

2006 1 1302.3 0.979 
2005 2 1244.5 1.024 
2004 3 1157.3 1.102 
2003 4 1118.6 1.140 
2002 5 1100.0 1.159 
2001 6 1093.4 1.166 
2000 7 1084.3 1.176 
1999 8 1065.0 1.197 
1998 9 1061.8 1.201 
1997 10 1052.7 1.211 
1996 11 1036.0 1.231 
1995 12 1020.4 1.249 
1994 13 985.0 1.294 
1993 14 958.0 1.331 
1992 15 939.8 1.356 
1991 16 928.5 1.373 
1990 17 910.2 1.401 
1989 18 886.5 1.438 
1988 19 841.4 1.515 
1987 20 806.9 1.580 
1986 21 795.4 1.603 
1985 22 787.9 1.618 
1984 23 776.4 1.642 
1983 24 755.8 1.687 
1982 25 742.4 1.717 
1981 26 709.2 1.798 

*Reappraisal Date: January 1, 2006 – 1274.8 (Base Year) 

C. ... 
 
D. Composite Multipliers 2007 (2008 Orleans Parish) 
 

Table 2503.D 
Composite Multipliers 

2007 (2008 Orleans Parish) 
Age 3 Yr 5 Yr 8 Yr 10 Yr 12 Yr 15 Yr 20 Yr 25 Yr 

1 .69 .83 .88 .90 .92 .93 .95 .96 
2 .50 .71 .81 .86 .89 .92 .95 .97 
3 .37 .57 .74 .84 .88 .94 .99 1.02 
4 .18 .39 .62 .76 .83 .90 .98 1.03 
5   .27 .50 .67 .76 .85 .95 1.01 
6   .21 .38 .57 .68 .79 .91 .98 
7     .31 .46 .59 .73 .87 .95 
8     .26 .36 .51 .66 .84 .93 
9     .24 .29 .43 .59 .78 .90 
10       .25 .35 .52 .73 .86 
11       .25 .30 .46 .68 .84 
12         .27 .39 .62 .80 
13         .26 .34 .58 .78 
14           .31 .53 .75 
15           .28 .47 .71 
16           .27 .43 .66 
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Table 2503.D 
Composite Multipliers 

2007 (2008 Orleans Parish) 
Age 3 Yr 5 Yr 8 Yr 10 Yr 12 Yr 15 Yr 20 Yr 25 Yr 
17             .38 .62 
18             .35 .56 
19             .33 .52 
20             .33 .47 
21             .32 .45 
22               .42 
23               .39 
24               .34 
25               .34 
26               .36 

 
 
D.1. - D.1.c. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:2323. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), amended LR 9:69 (February 1983), LR 10:944 (November 
1984), LR 12:36 (January 1986), LR 13:188 (March 1987), LR 
13:764 (December 1987), LR 14:872 (December 1988), LR 
15:1097 (December 1989), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 
17:1213 (December 1991), LR 19:212 (February 1993), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), LR 23:207 (February 1997), amended by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:490 (March 1998), LR 25:317 
(February 1999), LR 26:509 (March 2000), LR 27:427 (March 
2001), LR 28:520 (March 2002), LR 29:370 (March 2003), LR 
30:489 (March 2004), LR 31:719 (March 2005), LR 32:433 (March 
2006), LR 33: 
Chapter 29. Public Service Properties 
§2901. Non-Operating or Non-Utility Property 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1853 and R.S. 47:1855. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 4:30 (February 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 13:764 
(December 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:212 
(February 1993), repealed by the Department of Revenue, Tax 
Commission, LR 33: 
§2903. Immovable Property of Electric Membership 

Corporations, Electric Power Companies, Gas 
Companies, Pipeline Companies, Railroad 
Companies, Telegraph Companies, Telephone 
Companies and Water Companies Assessed as 
Public Service Companies by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1853 and R.S. 47:1855. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 4:30 (February 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 13:764 
(December 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:212 
(February 1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), repealed by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 
§2905. Report of Values to the Assessor 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1853 and R.S. 47:1855. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 4:30 (February 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 13:764 
(December 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:212 
(February 1993), repealed by the Department of Revenue, Tax 
Commission, LR 33: 
§2907. Exceptions to Valuation or Allocation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1853 and R.S. 47:1855. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 4:30 (February 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 13:764 
(December 1987), LR 16:1063 (December 1990), LR 19:212 
(February 1993), repealed by the Department of Revenue, Tax 
Commission, LR 33: 
§2909. Appraisal of Public Service Properties  

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1853 and R.S. 47:1855. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 19:212 (February 
1993), repealed by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 33: 
Chapter 31. Public Exposure of Assessments; Appeals 
§3101. Public Exposure of Assessments, Appeals to the 

Board of Review and Board of Review Hearings 
A. ... 
B. Each assessor shall publish the dates, time and place 

of the public exposure of the assessment lists of both real 
and personal property in a newspaper of general circulation 
in their respective parishes. Notice shall be published at least 
twice within a period of not sooner than 21 days nor later 
than seven days prior to the beginning of the 15 calendar day 
period of exposure. 

C. - E. ... 
F. The Parish Police Jury or Parish Council shall sit as 

the Board of Review. The Board of Review shall convene 
hearings within 10 days of its receipt of the certified rolls. 
The Board of Review shall conduct hearings for all persons 
or their representatives desiring to be heard on the 
assessments of immovable and movable property. On the 
fifteenth day after the Board of Review begins the public 
hearings, the assessment lists, together with any changes in 
connection therewith, shall be certified and sent to the Tax 
Commission within three days. R.S. 47:1992. 

G. - K. ... 
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Form 3101 
Exhibit A 

Appeal to Board of Review by Taxpayer 
for Real and Personal Property 

Name:__________________Parish/District:_______________________ 
                  Taxpayer 
Address:_________________City, State, Zip:______________________ 
Ward:___________________ Assessment/Tax Bill Number:__________ 
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed (Also, please 

identify building by place of business for convenience of appraisal) 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
I hereby request the review of the assessment of the above described 

property pursuant to L.R.S. 47:1992. I timely filed my reports (if personal 
property) as required by law, and I have reviewed my assessment with my 
assessor. 

The assessor has determined Fair Market Value of this property at: 
Land $_________ Improvement $_______ Personal Property* $ ________ 
                                                              Total $__________ 

I am requesting that the Fair Market Value of this property be fixed at: 
Land $_________ Improvement $_________ Personal Property* $ _______  
                                                                      Total $____________ 
* If you are not appealing personal property, leave this section blank.  

I understand that property is assessed at a percentage of fair market value 
which means the price for the property which would be agreed upon 
between a willing and informed buyer and a willing and informed seller 
under usual and ordinary circumstances, the highest price the property 
would bring on the open market if exposed for sale for a reasonable time. I 
understand that I must provide the Board of Review with evidence of fair 
market value to support my claim.  

Please notify me of the date, place and time of my appeal at the address 
shown below. 

NOTE: If appellant disputes 
Board of Review’s decision, 
appellant may appeal to La. 
Tax Commission by completing 
and submitting Appeal Form 
3103.A to LTC within 10 days 
of postal date of BOR’s written 
determination. For further 
information, call LTC at (225) 
925-7830. 

 
______________________________ 
Appellant (Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 

Address: _______________________________ 

_______________________________________ 

Telephone No.___________________________ 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with LSA-
Constitution of 1974, Article VII, §18, R.S. 47:2302, R.S. 47:2303 
and R.S. 47:2304. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 3:289 (June 1977), amended by the Department 
of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 8:102 (February 
1982), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 19:212 (February 1993), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:512 (March 2000), LR 30:492 
(March 2004), LR 32:435 (March 2006), LR 33: 
§3103. Appeals to the Louisiana Tax Commission 

A. - B. ... 
C. All initial filings to the Louisiana Tax Commission 

shall be filed with the Office of General Counsel. They shall 
be deemed filed only when actually received, in proper form, 
and accompanied by a $50 filing fee. All filings shall be in 
the form of an original and seven copies. 

D. - N. ... 
O. Any evidence which would be admissible under the 

Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be deemed admissible by 
the commission. The Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be 
applied liberally in any proceeding before the commission. 
Either party may object to evidence not previously disclosed 
by the opposing party. The commission may exclude 

evidence, which is deemed by the commission to be 
incompetent, immaterial or unduly repetitious. 

P. - T. ... 
 

Form 3103.A 
Exhibit A 

Appeal to Louisiana Tax Commission 
by Taxpayer or Assessor 

for Real and Personal Property 

La. Tax Commission 
P. O. Box 66788 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 
(225) 925-7830 

Name:___________________ Parish/District: _______________________ 
                 Taxpayer 
Address:_____________________City,State,Zip:_____________________ 
 Board of Review 
Ward:_______ Assessment Tax Bill No.:_________ Appeal No.:_________ 
(Attach copy of complete appeal submitted to the Board of Review) 
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed. Also, please 
identify building by place of business for convenience of 
appraisal._____________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
I hereby appeal the decision of the Board of Review on the assessment of 
the above described property pursuant to L.R.S. 47:1992. I timely filed my 
appeal as required by law. 
The original Fair Market Value by the assessor was: 
Land $_____________ Improvement $___________ Total $____________ 
If you are appealing personal property*: 
The original Fair Market Value by the assessor was: 
$ _______________________ 
The proposed Fair Market Value by the taxpayer was (at the Board of 
Review): 
Land $___________ Improvement $__________ Total $_______________ 
The revised Fair Market Value by the Board of Review was: 
Land $___________ Improvement $__________ Total $_______________ 
The Fair Market Value by the Board of Review was: 
Personal Property: $ ____________________ 
* If you are not appealing personal property leave this section blank. 
I understand that property is assessed at a percentage of fair market value, 
which means the price for the property which would be agreed upon 
between a willing and informed buyer and a willing and informed seller, 
under usual and ordinary circumstances, the highest price the property 
would bring on the open market, if exposed for sale for a reasonable time. 
_____________________________________________________ 
Appellant(Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 
Address:_________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
Telephone No.:______________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
                  Date of Appeal 

U. - X. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837, R.S. 47:1989 and R.S. 47:1992. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 

Commission, LR 4:339 (September 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:947 
(November 1984), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 22:117 (February 
1996), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:492 (March 1998), LR 25:319 (February 1999), LR 26:512 
(March 2000), LR 28:521 (March 2002), LR 31:721 (March 2005), 
LR 32:436 (March 2006), LR 33: 
§3105. Practice and Procedure for Public Service 

Properties Hearings 
A. ... 
B. All initial filings to the Louisiana Tax Commission 

shall be filed with the Office of General Counsel. They shall 
be deemed filed only when actually received, in proper form, 
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and accompanied by a $50 filing fee. All filings shall be in 
the form of an original and seven copies. 

C. - N. ... 
O. Any evidence which would be admissible under the 

Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be deemed admissible by 
the commission. The Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be 
applied liberally in any proceeding before the commission. 
Either party may object to evidence not previously disclosed 
by the opposing party. The commission may exclude 
evidence, which is deemed by the commission to be 
incompetent, immaterial or unduly repetitious. 

P. - T. ... 
LTC Docket No._________________________ 

Form 3105.A 
Exhibit A 

Appeal to Louisiana Tax Commission 
by Taxpayer or Assessor 

for Public Service Property 

La. Tax Commission 
P. O. Box 66788 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 
(225) 925-7830 

 
Name:____________________ Parish/District:_______________________ 
                Taxpayer 
Address:____________________ City,State,Zip:_____________________ 
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed______________ 
____________________________________________________________ 
I hereby appeal the decision of the Board of Review on the assessment of 
the above described property. 
The Fair Market Value of the Louisiana Tax Commission is: 
Land $______________________ Improvement $____________________  
Personal Property* $ __________________ Total $ ___________________  
I am requesting that the Fair Market Value be fixed at: 
Land $______________________ Improvement $____________________  
Personal Property* $ ________________ Total $ _____________________  
* If you are not appealing personal property, leave this section blank. 
I understand that property is assessed at a percentage of fair market value 
which means the price for the property which would be agreed upon 
between a willing and informed buyer and a willing and informed seller 
under usual and ordinary circumstances, the highest price the property 
would bring on the open market if exposed for sale for a reasonable time.  
____________________________________________________ 
  Appellant(Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 
Address:_____________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________ 
Telephone No.:________________________________________ 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission, LR 4:339 (September 1978), amended by the 
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 10:947 
(November 1984), LR 15:1097 (December 1989), LR 20:198 
(February 1994), LR 21:186 (February 1995), LR 23:209 (February 
1997), amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, 
LR 24:493 (March 1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 
(March 2000), LR 30:492 (March 2004), LR 31:723 (March 2005), 
LR 32:438 (March 2006), LR 33: 
§3106. Practice and Procedure for the Appeal of Bank 

Assessments 
A. The Tax Commission or its designated representative, 

as provided by law, shall conduct hearings to consider the 
written protest of an appellant taxpayer. The appeal shall be 
filed within 30 days of the dated Certificate of Value to the 
taxpayer. In order to institute a proceeding before the 
commission, the taxpayer shall file Form 3106.A and, if 
applicable Form 3103.B. 

B. All initial filings to the Louisiana Tax Commission 
shall be filed with the Office of General Counsel. They shall 
be deemed filed only when actually received, in proper form, 

and accompanied by a $50 filing fee. All filings shall be in 
the form of an original and seven copies. 

C. At the close of the time period for filing protests, the 
commission shall assign each case to the docket and notify 
the parties of the time and place of the hearing. 

D. Ten days prior to said hearings, the protesting 
taxpayer shall file a signed, pleading, specifying each 
respect in which the initial determination is contested, 
setting forth the specific basis upon which the protest is 
filed, together with a statement of the relief sought and four 
copies of all hearing exhibits to be presented; which shall be 
marked "Exhibit Taxpayer _____" and shall be consecutively 
numbered. Legal memorandum submitted by the parties will 
be made part of the record of proceedings before the 
commission, but shall not be filed as exhibits to be offered 
into evidence for the hearing before the commission. 

E. Every taxpayer, witness, attorney or other 
representative shall conduct themselves in all proceedings 
with proper dignity, courtesy and respect for the hearing 
officer or the commission, and all other parties. Disorderly 
conduct will not be tolerated. Attorneys shall observe and 
practice the standards of ethical behavior prescribed for 
attorneys at law by the Louisiana Bar Association. Any 
taxpayer, witness, attorney or other representative may be 
excluded by the hearing officer or the commission of any 
hearing for such a period and upon such conditions as are 
just for violation of this rule. 

F. Upon written notice by the commission, the parties 
and/or their attorneys or other representatives may be 
directed to meet and confer together by telephone or 
otherwise, prior to the hearings and/or prior to the setting of 
a date for a hearing, for the purpose of formulating issues 
and considering: 

1. simplification of issues; 
2. a limitation, where possible, of the number of 

witnesses; 
3. possible consolidation of like protests; 
4. the time required for presentations; 
5. stipulations as to admissibility of exhibits; 
6. submission of proposed findings of fact; 
7. such other matters as may aid in the simplification 

of the proceedings and the disposition of the matters in 
controversy. 

G. Actions requested and agreed upon at the conference 
shall be recorded in an appropriate statement by the taxpayer 
and filed with the commission seven days prior to the 
hearing. In the event of a disagreement over any item 
discussed at the conference, the statement filed with the 
commission shall state the specific item as to which there is 
a disagreement, together with a brief summary of the nature 
of the disagreement. 

H. A motion for consolidation of two or more protests, if 
made prior to hearing, shall be in writing, signed by the 
mover, his attorney or representative, and filed with the 
commission prior to the date set for the hearing. No two or 
more protests shall be consolidated or heard jointly without 
the consent of the taxpayer and by consent of the 
commission, unless the commission shall find that the two or 
more protest involve common questions of law and fact, and 
shall further find that separate hearings would result in 
unwarranted expenses, delays or substantial injustice. 
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I. All hearings shall be open to the public. All hearings 
shall be held in Baton Rouge, LA, unless the commission 
shall designate another place of hearing. 

J. Hearings may be conducted by a hearing officer 
selected and appointed by the commission. The hearing 
officer shall have the authority to administer oaths, may 
examine witnesses and rule upon the admissibility of 
evidence and amendments to pleadings. The hearing officer 
shall have the authority to recess any hearing from day to 
day. 

K. The hearing officer shall have the responsibility and 
duty of assimilating testimony and evidence, compiling a 
written summary of the testimony and evidence, and 
presenting a proposed order to the commission. The 
proposed order shall be served upon the protesting taxpayer 
by mailing of the notice of final decision by the commission. 

L. The commission or hearing officer shall direct the 
taxpayer to enter their appearance on the record. In all 
proceedings, the protesting taxpayer shall open with a 
statement and/or argument. After the protesting taxpayer has 
presented all its evidence, the commission or hearing officer 
may call upon any witness or the staff of the commission for 
further material or relevant evidence upon any issue. 

M. The commission shall provide an official reporter to 
make and transcribe a stenographic record of the hearing and 
shall provide for such copies of the transcript as may be 
requested by any party or as may be required for the 
purposes of the commission upon payment of the cost of 
transcribing the hearing. 

N. Upon written notice by the commission the parties or 
their attorneys, or other representative, may be directed to 
file legal memorandums with the commission seven days 
prior to the hearing. The legal memorandum shall address in 
a concise manner the legal issues presented in the appeal to 
the commission together with a statement of any legal 
authority supporting the party's position. 

O. Any evidence which would be admissible under the 
Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be deemed admissible by 
the commission. The Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be 
applied liberally in any proceeding before the commission. 
Either party may object to evidence not previously disclosed 
by the opposing party. The commission may exclude 
evidence, which is deemed by the commission to be 
incompetent, immaterial or unduly repetitious. 

P. Any party, with leave of the commission or hearing 
officer, may present prepared sworn deposition testimony of 
a witness, either narrative or in question and answer form, 
which shall be incorporated into the record as if read by the 
witness. The opposing party will be allowed to cross-
examine the witness and/or submit any sworn testimony 
given by the witness in the deposition. Seven copies of the 
prepared deposition testimony shall be filed with the 
commission. 

Q. The commission or hearing officer shall have the right 
in any proceeding to limit the number of witnesses whose 
testimony is merely cumulative. 

R. Subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses or for the 
production of books, papers, accounts or documents at a 
hearing, may be issued by the commission upon its own 
motion, or upon the written motion of the taxpayer showing 
that there is good cause for the issuance of same. No 
subpoenas shall be issued until the taxpayer who wishes to 

subpoena the witness first deposits with the agency a sum of 
money sufficient to pay all fees and expenses to which a 
witness in a civil case is entitled pursuant to R.S. 13:3661 
and R.S. 13:3671. Any subpoena duces tecum shall allow no 
less than five days to assimilate and to deliver said 
documents subpoenaed by the subpoena recipient. 

S. The taxpayer/taxpayer agent and the assessor shall be 
notified in writing by certified mail of the final decision of 
the commission. The taxpayer or assessor shall have 30 days 
from receipt of the order to appeal to a court of competent 
jurisdiction. 

T. The word "commission" as used herein refers to the 
chairman and the members or its delegate appointed to 
conduct the hearings. 

LTC Docket No._________________________ 
 

Form 3106.A 
Appeal to Louisiana Tax Commission  

by Taxpayer 
for Bank Stock Assessments 

LA Tax Commission 
P.O. Box 66788 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 
(225) 925-7830 

Name:______________________ Parish/District:_____________________ 
                Taxpayer 
Address:____________________ City, State, Zip: ____________________ 
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed______________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 
The Fair Market Value of the Louisiana Tax Commission is: 
$___________________ 
I am requesting that the Fair Market Value be fixed at: 
$___________________  

____________________________________________________ 
                    Appellant (Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 

Address:____________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________ 
___________________________________________________ 
Telephone No.:_______________________________________ 
Date: ______________________________________________ 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 
§3107. Practice and Procedure for the Appeal of 

Insurance Credit Assessments 
A. The Tax Commission or its designated representative, 

as provided by law, shall conduct hearings to consider the 
written protest of an appellant taxpayer. The appeal shall be 
filed within 30 days of the dated Certificate of Value to the 
taxpayer. In order to institute a proceeding before the 
commission, the taxpayer shall file Form 3107.A and, if 
applicable Form 3103.B. 

B. All initial filings to the Louisiana Tax Commission 
shall be filed with the Office of General Counsel. They shall 
be deemed filed only when actually received, in proper form, 
and accompanied by a $50 filing fee, if any. All filings shall 
be in the form of an original and seven copies. 

C. At the close of the time period for filing protests, the 
commission shall assign each case to the docket and notify 
the parties of the time and place of the hearing. 

D. Ten days prior to said hearings, the protesting 
taxpayer shall file a signed, pleading, specifying each 
respect in which the initial determination is contested, 
setting forth the specific basis upon which the protest is 
filed, together with a statement of the relief sought and four 
copies of all hearing exhibits to be presented; which shall be 
marked "Exhibit Taxpayer_____" and shall be consecutively 
numbered. Legal memorandum submitted by the parties will 
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be made part of the record of proceedings before the 
commission, but shall not be filed as exhibits to be offered 
into evidence for the hearing before the commission. 

E. Every taxpayer, witness, attorney or other 
representative shall conduct themselves in all proceedings 
with proper dignity, courtesy and respect for the hearing 
officer or the commission, and all other parties. Disorderly 
conduct will not be tolerated. Attorneys shall observe and 
practice the standards of ethical behavior prescribed for 
attorneys at law by the Louisiana Bar Association. Any 
taxpayer, witness, attorney or other representative may be 
excluded by the hearing officer or the commission of any 
hearing for such a period and upon such conditions as are 
just for violation of this rule. 

F. Upon written notice by the commission, the parties 
and/or their attorneys or other representatives may be 
directed to meet and confer together by telephone or 
otherwise, prior to the hearings and/or prior to the setting of 
a date for a hearing, for the purpose of formulating issues 
and considering: 

1. simplification of issues; 
2. a limitation, where possible, of the number of 

witnesses; 
3. possible consolidation of like protests; 
4. the time required for presentations; 
5. stipulations as to admissibility of exhibits; 
6. submission of proposed findings of fact; 
7. such other matters as may aid in the simplification 

of the proceedings and the disposition of the matters in 
controversy. 

G. Actions requested and agreed upon at the conference 
shall be recorded in an appropriate statement by the taxpayer 
and filed with the commission seven days prior to the 
hearing. In the event of a disagreement over any item 
discussed at the conference, the statement filed with the 
commission shall state the specific item as to which there is 
a disagreement, together with a brief summary of the nature 
of the disagreement. 

H. A motion for consolidation of two or more protests, if 
made prior to hearing, shall be in writing, signed by the 
mover, his attorney or representative, and filed with the 
commission prior to the date set for the hearing. No two or 
more protests shall be consolidated or heard jointly without 
the consent of the taxpayer and by consent of the 
commission, unless the commission shall find that the two or 
more protest involve common questions of law and fact, and 
shall further find that separate hearings would result in 
unwarranted expenses, delays or substantial injustice. 

I. All hearings shall be open to the public. All hearings 
shall be held in Baton Rouge, LA, unless the commission 
shall designate another place of hearing. 

J. Hearings may be conducted by a hearing officer 
selected and appointed by the commission. The hearing 
officer shall have the authority to administer oaths, may 
examine witnesses and rule upon the admissibility of 
evidence and amendments to pleadings. The hearing officer 
shall have the authority to recess any hearing from day to 
day. 

K. The hearing officer shall have the responsibility and 
duty of assimilating testimony and evidence, compiling a 
written summary of the testimony and evidence, and 
presenting a proposed order to the commission. The 

proposed order shall be served upon the protesting taxpayer 
by mailing of the notice of final decision by the commission. 

L. The commission or hearing officer shall direct the 
taxpayer to enter their appearance on the record. In all 
proceedings, the protesting taxpayer shall open with a 
statement and/or argument. After the protesting taxpayer has 
presented all its evidence, the commission or hearing officer 
may call upon any witness or the staff of the commission for 
further material or relevant evidence upon any issue. 

M. The commission shall provide an official reporter to 
make and transcribe a stenographic record of the hearing and 
shall provide for such copies of the transcript as may be 
requested by any party or as may be required for the 
purposes of the commission upon payment of the cost of 
transcribing the hearing. 

N. Upon written notice by the commission the parties or 
their attorneys, or other representative, may be directed to 
file legal memorandums with the commission seven days 
prior to the hearing. The legal memorandum shall address in 
a concise manner the legal issues presented in the appeal to 
the commission together with a statement of any legal 
authority supporting the party's position. 

O. Any evidence which would be admissible under the 
Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be deemed admissible by 
the commission. The Louisiana Rules of Evidence shall be 
applied liberally in any proceeding before the commission. 
Either party may object to evidence not previously disclosed 
by the opposing party. The commission may exclude 
evidence, which is deemed by the commission to be 
incompetent, immaterial or unduly repetitious. 

P. Any party, with leave of the commission or hearing 
officer, may present prepared sworn deposition testimony of 
a witness, either narrative or in question and answer form, 
which shall be incorporated into the record as if read by the 
witness. The opposing party will be allowed to cross-
examine the witness and/or submit any sworn testimony 
given by the witness in the deposition. Seven copies of the 
prepared deposition testimony shall be filed with the 
commission. 

Q. The commission or hearing officer shall have the right 
in any proceeding to limit the number of witnesses whose 
testimony is merely cumulative. 

R. Subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses or for the 
production of books, papers, accounts or documents at a 
hearing, may be issued by the commission upon its own 
motion, or upon the written motion of the taxpayer showing 
that there is good cause for the issuance of same. No 
subpoenas shall be issued until the taxpayer who wishes to 
subpoena the witness first deposits with the agency a sum of 
money sufficient to pay all fees and expenses to which a 
witness in a civil case is entitled pursuant to R.S. 13:3661 
and R.S. 13:3671. Any subpoena duces tecum shall allow no 
less than five days to assimilate and to deliver said 
documents subpoenaed by the subpoena recipient. 

S. The taxpayer/taxpayer agent and the assessor shall be 
notified in writing by certified mail of the final decision of 
the commission. The taxpayer or assessor shall have 30 days 
from receipt of the Order to appeal to a court of competent 
jurisdiction. 

T. The word "commission" as used herein refers to the 
chairman and the members or its delegate appointed to 
conduct the hearings. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 32, No. 12   December 20, 2006 2230

LTC Docket No._________________________ 
 

Form 3107.A 
Appeal To Louisiana Tax Commission  

by Taxpayer 
for Insurance Assessments 

LA Tax Commission 
P. O. Box 66788 
Baton Rouge, LA 70896 
(225) 925-7830 

 
Name:______________________ Parish/District:_____________________ 
    Taxpayer 
Address:_____________________ City, State, Zip:___________________ 
Address or Legal Description of Property Being Appealed______________ 
_____________________________________________________________ 
The Fair Market Value of the Louisiana Tax Commission is: 
$___________________ 
I am requesting that the Fair Market Value be fixed at: 
$___________________  

____________________________________________________ 
      Appellant (Taxpayer/Taxpayer's Rep./Assessor) 

Address:_____________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________ 
Telephone No.:________________________________________ 

Date: ________________________________________________ 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 
Chapter 35. Miscellaneous 
§3501. Service Fees―Tax Commission 

A. The Tax Commission is authorized by R.S. 47:1838 to 
levy and collect fees on an interim basis for the period 
beginning on July 1, 2006, and ending on June 30, 2008, in 
connection with services performed by the Tax Commission 
as follows: 

A.1. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1835 and R.S. 47:1838. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 19:212 (February 
1993), amended LR 20:198 (February 1994), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:494 (March 
1998), LR 25:320 (February 1999), LR 26:513 (March 2000), LR 
28:521 (March 2002), LR 30:493 (March 2004), LR 31:724 (March 
2005), LR 32:439 (March 2006), LR 33: 
§3503. Homestead Exemptions 

A. - A.7.b. ... 
8. Homestead exemptions are allowable in any year in 

which the owner occupied the home prior to December 31 of 
that year. 

A.9. - C.8. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 16:1064 (December 
1990), amended LR 17:611 (June 1991), LR 19:212 (February 
1993), LR 20:198 (February 1994), LR 23:209 (February 1997), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 
25:320 (February 1999), LR 32:440 (March 2006), LR 33: 
3509. Tulane University―Exemption Allocation 

Regulation 
A. This Regulation shall be titled and known as "Tulane 

University―Exemption Allocation Regulation". 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission, LR 16:1064 (December 
1990), amended LR 19:212 (February 1993), amended by the 
Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 

§3511. Tulane Universtiy―Purpose 
A. - B.3. ... 
C. Section 3509 allocates the $5,000,000 exemption 

equitably among all Tulane University income producing 
property subject to ad valorem taxation in the state of 
Louisiana. 

D. Louisiana Constitution, Article VII, Section 21 
provides that all non-profit companies are exempt from 
property taxes. 

E. The Supreme Court of Louisiana held in Board of 
Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund vs. Louisiana 
Tax Commission consolidated with Thomas L. Arnold, 
Assessor, vs. Board of Administrators of the Tulane 
Educational Fund, dated January 30, 1998, denying an 
appeal of the decision of the Court of Appeal, Fourth Circuit, 
dated October 1, 1997, that non-income producing or vacant 
properties owned by a non-profit company are exempt from 
property taxes under the Louisiana Constitution. The 
Louisiana Attorney General agreed in Opinion Number 01-
323, dated September 13, 2001. 

F. Louisiana Constitution, Article VIII, Section 14, 
reconfirming Act No. 43 of July 21, 1884, provides that, in 
addition to Tulane's full exemption on properties used for 
educational purposes and properties that are non-income 
producing or vacant, Tulane is exempt from property taxes 
on its first $5,000,000 in Fair Market Value of all income 
producing properties in Louisiana. This exemption was 
confirmed in the decision of the Civil District Court for the 
Parish of Orleans, Division "J", Case No. 89-14534, Board 
of Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund vs. The 
Louisiana Tax Commission, dated April 19, 1990, which was 
never appealed and is therefore final. The Louisiana Tax 
Commission also confirmed this $5,000,000 exemption in 
LTC Regulation No. 3509. 

G. To administer this exemption, which extends 
throughout the state and requires coordination among all 
assessors, the Louisiana Tax Commission established LTC 
Regulation No. 3509 procedures to be followed by all 
assessors when assessing property owned by Tulane. The 
commission instructs each assessor to list each property 
owned by Tulane as exempt and, at the time the rolls are 
filed with the commission, all assessors shall deliver a list of 
all Tulane properties in their parish or municipal district that 
are not otherwise exempt from taxation pursuant to 
Louisiana law (i.e., not used for educational purposes or 
non-income producing). See: Memo of Louisiana Tax 
Commission to all Assessors, dated December 18, 1991. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:724 (March 2005), amended LR 
33: 
§3513. Tulane University―Definitions 

A. For the purpose of this Section, the following 
definitions apply. 

Allocation Formula―defined in LTC Regulation 3519. 
Assessed Value (AV)―determined according to 

Louisiana law. 
Commission―the Louisiana Tax Commission 

(sometimes referred to as "LTC"). 
Fair Market Value (FMV)―defined by Louisiana law. 
FMV Each Improvement―the Fair Market Value of all 

buildings and improvements in each tax assessment. (Tax 
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assessors should issue one tax assessment amount for all 
buildings and improvements.) 

FMV Each Land Parcel―the Fair Market Value of all 
land in each tax assessment included in Non-Exempt 
Property. 

FMV Improvements Statewide―the total Fair Market 
Value of all buildings and improvements included in Non-
Exempt Property. 

FMV Land Statewide―the total Fair Market Value of all 
land included in Non-Exempt Property. 

Improvement Assessment Ratio―for Commercial 
Properties, 15 percent of the Fair Market Value of the 
buildings and other improvements only and for Residential 
Properties, 10 percent of the Fair Market Value of the 
buildings and other improvements only. 

Land Assessment Ratio―10 percent of the Fair Market 
Value of the land only. 

Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01-A (Tulane 
Non-Exempt Property Report)―the form adopted by the 
Commission for Tulane University to provide its list of Non-
Exempt Property. 

Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01-B (Tulane 
Non-Exempt Property Report of the Pre-Exemption Property 
Values)―the form completed by the Tax Assessor to provide 
to Tulane University and the commission the Tax Assessor's 
proposed Fair Market Value and Assessed Value of Tulane 
University's Non-Exempt Property. 

Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU02 (Tulane 
University Exemption Allocation Report)―the form adopted 
by the commission in the form of a spreadsheet with 
formulas to be used for allocation of the Tulane Exemption. 

Net Fair Market Value of a Property―the Fair Market 
Value of that property minus its Pro-rata Share. 

Non-Exempt Property―any property owned by Tulane 
University in the state of Louisiana that is not exempt by 
Louisiana law for ad valorem tax purposes prior to 
application of the Tulane exemption. 

Pro-Rata Share―that portion of the Tulane Exemption 
allocated to each Non-Exempt Property according to the 
Allocation Formula. 

Tax Assessor―all tax assessors within the state of 
Louisiana, individually and/or jointly, whose jurisdiction 
includes property owned by Tulane University. 

Tulane Exemption―the $5,000,000 exemption as 
provided in Act 1884, No. 43. 

Tulane Hearing Date―the first Wednesday and/or 
Thursday of each December shall be the commission hearing 
date for resolution of any property valuation issues, and/or 
allocation of the Tulane Exemption, and/or ordering issuance 
of supplements and change orders to the tax rolls. If after the 
closing of the rolls in all Louisiana parishes in which Tulane 
University owns Non-Exempt Property, there is no dispute 
as to the Fair Market Value of any Non-Exempt Property, the 
commission, at its discretion, may hold a hearing at an 
earlier date. 

Tulane University―the Administrators of the Tulane 
Educational Fund, a Louisiana Non-Profit Corporation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:724 (March 2005), amended LR 
33: 

§3515. Tulane University―General Rule 
A. - D. ... 
E. All Tax Assessors and related governmental entities 

shall use current, accurate property legal descriptions found 
in the public records for all real estate assessments, 
correspondence, and notices when complying with Section 
3509. 

F. All Tulane University property tax bills and related 
correspondence shall be sent to: 

The Administrators of the Tulane Educational Fund 
Office of the General Counsel 
6823 St. Charles Avenue 
New Orleans, Louisiana 70118 

G. ... 
H. All correspondence to each Tax Assessor related to 

Section 3509 shall be sent to its address as shown in the 
public record. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:725 (March 2005), amended LR 
33: 
§3517. Tulane University―Reporting and Valuation 

Procedure 
A. ... 

1. On or before June 30 of each year, Tulane 
University shall deliver, in writing, to the Commission and 
the Tax Assessor for each municipal district/parish in which 
Tulane University owns Non-Exempt Property a report on 
each Non-Exempt Property on Louisiana Tax Commission 
Form TC-TU01-A. 

2. Each year, on or before the date the roll opens for 
public review and inspection, each Tax Assessor shall 
complete, sign and deliver to Tulane University and the 
Commission Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01-B 
for each property submitted on Louisiana Tax Commission 
Form TC-TU01-A and each property in such Tax Assessor's 
jurisdiction that the Tax Assessor intends to assess as Non-
Exempt Property, showing the proposed Fair Market Value 
and Assessed Value of the land and of the improvements for 
each such property. The Tax Assessor shall determine one 
Assessed Value for the land and one Assessed Value for the 
improvements. 

3. Should Tulane University agree with the Fair 
Market Value and Assessed Value of each Land Parcel and 
the Fair Market Value and Assessed Value of each 
Improvement proposed by the Tax Assessor, then Tulane 
University shall sign each form and forward it to the 
Commission and each respective Tax Assessor. Should 
Tulane University disagree with the Fair Market Value and 
Assessed Value of each Land Parcel and the Fair Market 
Value and Assessed Value of each Improvement proposed by 
the Tax Assessor, then Tulane University shall note its 
objection on each form and forward it to the Commission 
and each respective Tax Assessor. 

4. All Tax Assessors may make reasonable inquiry of 
Tulane University in an effort to determine all property 
owned by Tulane University within the Tax Assessor's 
jurisdiction. 

5. All Tax Assessors shall list all Non-Exempt 
Property as exempt and indicate the Tax Assessor's proposed 
Fair Market Value of each property in the tax rolls, until the
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Allocation Formula is applied and approved by the 
Commission and the Tax Assessor receives a change order 
from the Commission. 

6. In each Board of Review certification to the 
Commission, the Board of Review shall list all Non-Exempt 
Property as exempt and indicate the Board of Review's 
recommended Fair Market Value of each property in the tax 
rolls, until the Allocation Formula is applied and approved 
by the Commission and the Tax Assessor receives a change 
order from the Commission. 

7. All Board of Review decisions on appeals of the 
proposed assessments by the Tax Assessor shall be delivered 
to the Commission according to standard procedures and 
deadlines as the Board of Review’s recommended 
assessment. 

8.a. On the Tulane Hearing Date of each year, the 
Commission shall: 
 i. hold all appeal hearings involving Non-Exempt 
Property; 
 ii. decide each appeal and issue written reasons 
for decisions on all such appeals; and 
 iii. allocate the Tulane Exemption across all Non-
Exempt Property according to the Allocation Formula, and 
LTC Form TC-TU02, then order issuance of all supplements 
and change orders of the tax rolls to each reporting 
municipal district/parish, establishing the Land Parcel 
Assessed Value after Exemption and the Improvement 
Assessed Value after Exemption for each Non-Exempt 
Property. 

b. Upon receipt of said change orders, the Tax 
Assessor shall adjust the tax rolls to reflect the commission's 
change orders. 

9. Nothing in these regulations shall alter or diminish 
in any way Tulane University's right to appeal a proposed or 
actual assessment by any Tax Assessor or any decision or 
ruling of any Board of Review or the commission under the 
administrative and judicial remedies available to all 
taxpayers. The proposed assessment by the Tax Assessor, the 
Board of Review's recommended assessment, and the 
commission's determination shall be treated in the same 
manner as if the property were not marked exempt on the tax 
rolls and the proposed assessment was the Tax Assessor's 
final assessment on the tax rolls, the Board of Review's 
recommended assessment and/or the commission's 
determination was its final assessment decision. 

10. Nothing in these regulations shall alter or diminish 
in any way Tulane University's right or any Tax Assessor's 
right to appeal, by all available administrative and judicial 
remedies the commission's allocation of the Tulane 
Exemption. 

11. After allocation of the Tulane Exemption and 
issuance of the requisite supplements and change orders by 
the commission, the total amount of the Tulane Exemption 
allocated to each property (as shown in the column entitled 
"FMV Reduction by Exemption" of the Louisiana Tax 
Commission Form TC-TU02) shall remain unchanged 
thereafter and not be later readjusted, regardless of the 
outcome of subsequent appeals of valuation of assessments 
for that tax year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:725 (March 2005), amended LR 
33: 
§3519. Tulane University―Allocation Formula 

A. - A.1. ... 
a. (FMV Land Statewide) (x) (Land Assessment 

Ratio) (=) (Land Assessed Value Statewide) 
b. (FMV Improvements Statewide) (x) 

(Improvement Assessment Ratio) (=) (Improvement 
Assessed Value Statewide) 

c. (Land Assessed Value Statewide) (+) 
(Improvement Assessed Value Statewide) (=) (Total 
Assessed Value Statewide) 

d. (Land Assessed Value Statewide) (÷) (Total 
Assessed Value Statewide) (=) (Land Exemption Percentage 
Statewide) 

e. (Improvement Assessed Value Statewide) (÷) 
(Total Assessed Value Statewide) (=) (Improvement 
Exemption Percentage Statewide) 

f. (Land Exemption Percentage Statewide) (x) 
(Tulane Exemption) (=) (Land Exemption Amount 
Statewide) 

g. (Improvement Exemption Percentage Statewide) 
(x) (Tulane Exemption) (=) (Improvement Exemption 
Amount Statewide) 

2. ... 
a. (FMV each Land Parcel) (÷) (FMV Land 

Statewide) (=) (Land Parcel FMV %) 
b. (Land Parcel FMV %) (x) (Land Exemption 

Amount Statewide) (=) (Land Parcel FMV Reduction by 
Exemption) 

c. (FMV each Land Parcel) (-) (Land Parcel FMV 
Reduction by Exemption) (=) (Land Parcel FMV after 
Exemption Reduction) 

d. (Land Parcel FMV after Exemption Reduction) 
(x) (Land Assessment Ratio) (=) (Land Parcel Assessed 
Value after Exemption) 

3. ... 
a. (FMV each Improvement) (÷) (FMV 

Improvements Statewide) (=) (Improvement FMV %) 
b. (Improvement FMV %) (x) (Improvement 

Exemption Amount Statewide) (=) (Improvement FMV 
Reduction by Exemption) 

c. (FMV each Improvement) (-) (Improvement 
FMV Reduction by Exemption) (=) (Improvement FMV 
after Exemption Reduction) 

d. (Improvement FMV after Exemption Reduction) 
(x) (Improvement Assessment Ratio) (=) (Improvement 
Assessed Value after Exemption) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005), amended 
LR: 33: 
§3521. Tulane University―Allocation Report 

A. On the Tulane Hearing Date, the commission shall 
calculate and adopt the Allocation Formula and evidence its 
application on the report entitled Tulane University 
Exemption Allocation Report (LTC Form TC-TU02). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005), amended LR 
33: 
§3523. Tulane University―Forms 

A. ... 
1. Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01-A, 

Tulane Non-Exempt Property Report. 
2. Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU01-B, 

Tulane Non-Exempt Property Report of the Pre-Exemption 
Property Values. 

3. Louisiana Tax Commission Form TC-TU02, Tulane 
University Exemption Allocation Report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1837 and R.S. 47:1856. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 31:726 (March 2005), amended LR 
33: 
Chapter 37. Reassessment Guidelines Pursuant to  

R.S. 47.1978 and 1978.1 
§3701. Listing and Assessing of Overflowed Lands 

A. Whenever lands or other property are overflowed by 
the waters of the Mississippi River, or by the waters of any 
other river, lake, bayou, or backwater, the assessors within 
whose parishes such lands or other property may be situated, 
shall reassess such lands or property for their actual cash 
value, and in so doing they shall specially take into 
consideration all the damages to the lands or property and 
the depreciation of the value of such land or property caused 
by the overflow. The assessors throughout the state shall 
make these reassessments whether the time fixed by law for 
filing assessment rolls has elapsed or not, and in case of 
reassessments, as provided by this Section, the assessor shall 
prepare supplemental rolls of overflowed lands and other 
overflowed property, which they shall file in the manner 
provided by law for general assessment rolls; such 
reassessment shall be subject to the same rights as to contest 
as to assessment generally. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1978 and R.S. 47:1978.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 
§3702. Listing and Assessing of Land and Property 

Damaged or Destroyed during a Disaster or 
Emergency Declared by the Governor or Fire 

A. If lands or property, including buildings, structures, or 
personal property, are damaged or destroyed, non-
operational, or uninhabitable due to an emergency declared 
by the governor or to a disaster or fire, the assessor or 
assessors within such parish shall assess such lands or 
property for the year in which damage has occurred at the 
percentage of fair market value provided in the Constitution 
of Louisiana by taking into consideration all the damages to 
the lands or other property, including obsolescence, and the 
depreciation of the value of such land or other property 
caused by the disaster, fire, or emergency described in this 
Section. Notwithstanding other provisions of law to the 
contrary, the assessor shall make these assessments whether 
the time fixed by law for filing assessment rolls has elapsed 
or not. 

B. The assessments provided for in this Section and in 
§3701 shall be completed no later than six months following 
the implementation of §3701 or this Section. The Louisiana 
Tax Commission shall grant the assessor an additional six 

months to complete the assessments referred to in §3701 or 
this Section upon a reasonable showing by the assessor that 
additional time is needed to complete the assessment of the 
property described in §3701 or this Section. 

C. The assessor shall assess such damaged, destroyed, 
non-operational, or uninhabitable property in one of the 
following three manners. 

1. The assessments of such property shall be reflected 
on the general assessment roll if at the time lands and other 
property are damaged, destroyed, non-operational, or 
uninhabitable due to an emergency declared by the governor 
or due to a disaster or fire, the general assessment roll has 
not been certified by the assessor to the local Board of 
Review. The procedures for public inspection of the general 
assessment rolls, review of assessments by the Board of 
Review, and certification of the assessment rolls to the 
Louisiana Tax Commission shall be followed. The rolls shall 
be open for public inspection for a period of 15 days, and the 
assessor shall advertise such public exposure dates and dates 
for board of review as provided for by existing law. If the 
dates provided for by existing law have expired, the assessor 
shall advertise new exposure dates and dates for the board of 
review even if those dates are not within the time period 
provided for by existing law. 

2. If, at the time such lands and other property are 
damaged, destroyed, non-operational, or uninhabitable due 
to an emergency declared by the governor or due to a 
disaster or fire, the general assessment rolls have already 
been certified by the assessor to the local Board of Review, 
the assessor shall prepare a supplemental roll of land or 
property damaged or destroyed as the result of the events 
described in this Section, which rolls shall be filed in the 
same manner as provided for in this Section for general 
assessment rolls, and such assessments shall be subject to 
the same rights as to contest as to assessments generally. 

3. If, after the filing of the assessment roll with the 
Louisiana Tax Commission, the assessor requests a change 
order as a result of the events described in this Section, such 
request for change order shall be signed by the assessor or 
his deputy and shall contain a declaration that the property 
owner agrees to the change in the assessment and that the 
property owner waives any right to further contest the 
correctness of the assessment. In the event the request for 
change order is not agreed upon by the assessor and the 
property owner, the assessor shall mail to the property owner 
the assessor's determination of the assessed value of the 
property. If the property owner is dissatisfied with the 
assessor's determination of assessed value, the property 
owner shall have 15 days from the mailing of the 
notification by the assessor of the determination of assessed 
value to contest the assessment to the Louisiana Tax 
Commission. All decisions by the Louisiana Tax 
Commission are final unless appealed to the district court 
within 15 days from the mailing of the decision of the 
Louisiana Tax Commission. If the assessor requests change 
orders in lieu of an original assessment roll or supplemental 
roll under this Section, the assessor shall submit an amended 
grand recap reflecting the changes in assessed values 
requested in such change orders. 

D. The assessment provided for in this Section shall not 
be considered an implementation of the reappraisal and 
valuation provisions of Article VII, Section 18(F) of the 
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Constitution of Louisiana, nor shall such assessment result in 
the adjustment of ad valorem tax millages pursuant to Article 
VII, Section 23 of the Constitution of Louisiana. 

E. The provisions of this Section shall apply to the 
Louisiana Tax Commission in the assessment of public 
service properties. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1978 and R.S. 47:1978.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 33: 

 
Elizabeth L. Guglielmo 
Chairman 

0612#060 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Social Services 
Office of Family Support 

TANF Homeless Initiative (LAC 67:III.5589) 

The Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, has exercised the emergency provision of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, to adopt LAC 
67:III, Subpart 15, Chapter 55, §5589, Homeless Initiative as 
a new TANF Initiative. This Emergency Rule effective 
December 1, 2006, will remain in effect for a period of 120 
days. 

Pursuant to Act 17 of the 2006 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, the agency is adopting the Homeless 
Initiative to end the cycle of homelessness in Louisiana by 
stabilizing homeless families and aiding these families in 
establishing permanent housing and becoming  
self-sufficient.  

The authorization for emergency action in this matter is 
contained in Act 17 of the 2006 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature. 

Title 67  
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 

(TANF) Initiatives 
Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5589. Homeless Initiative 

A. Effective December 1, 2006, the Office of Family 
Support shall enter into contracts with public agencies, non-
profit organizations, or for-profit organizations to end the 
cycle of homelessness in Louisiana by providing services to 
homeless families which include but are not limited to 
comprehensive case management, educational and 
employment opportunities for adult participants, community 
referrals, life skill modules, housing options and direct 
services to provide for basic needs. 

B. These services meet the TANF goals to provide 
assistance to needy families so children may be cared for in 
their own homes or in the homes of relatives. 

C. Eligibility for services is limited to needy families, 
that is, a family in which any member receives a Family 
Independence Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP) 
grant, Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) grant, Food 
Stamp benefits, Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) 
services, Title IV-E, Medicaid, Louisiana Children's Health 

Insurance Program (LaChip) benefits, Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI), Free or Reduced Lunch, or who has 
earned income at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty 
level. A needy family consists of minor children, custodial 
parents, legal guardians, or caretaker relatives of minor 
children.  

D. Services are considered non-assistance by the agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

USC 601 et seq.; R.S. 46:231 and R.S. 36:474; Act 17, 2006 Reg. 
Session 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33: 

 
Ann Silverberg Williamson 
Secretary 

0612#016 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Red Snapper Season Extension 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B), the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
Secretary of the Department by the Commission in its 
resolution of January 5, 2006 to re-open the fall commercial 
red snapper season in Louisiana state waters if the 
commercial season dates in the Federal waters of the Gulf of 
Mexico have been modified, and that NMFS requests that 
the season be modified in Louisiana state waters, the 
secretary hereby declares: 

The commercial fishery for red snapper in Louisiana 
waters will be extended through noon, December 26, 2006 
unless the secretary is informed by the Regional 
Administrator of the National Marine Fisheries Service that 
the season date in federal waters has been modified. Nothing 
herein shall preclude the legal harvest of red snapper by 
legally licensed commercial fishermen during the 
commercial season. Upon closure, no person shall 
commercially harvest, purchase, barter, trade, sell or attempt 
to purchase, barter, trade or sell red snapper. Nothing shall 
prohibit the possession or sale of fish legally taken prior to 
the closure provided that all commercial dealers possessing 
red snapper taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 
appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 
R.S. 56:306.6. 

The secretary has been notified by National Marine 
Fisheries Service that the commercial red snapper season in 
Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico will remain open 
through noon, December 26, 2006. Closing the season in 
State waters is necessary to provide effective rules and 
efficient enforcement for the fishery, to prevent overfishing 
of this species in the long term. 

The commercial fishery for red snapper in Louisiana 
waters will re-open at noon, December 31, 2006, unless the 
Secretary is informed by the Regional Administrator of the 
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National Marine Fisheries Service that season dates in 
federal waters have been modified.  

Nothing herein shall preclude the legal harvest of red 
snapper by legally licensed commercial fishermen during 
open commercial seasons. Upon closure, no person shall 
commercially harvest, purchase, barter, trade, sell or attempt 
to purchase, barter, trade or sell red snapper. Nothing shall 
prohibit the possession or sale of fish legally taken prior to 
the closure provided that all commercial dealers possessing 
red snapper taken legally prior to the closure shall maintain 
appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 
R.S. 56:306.6. 

 
Bryant O. Hammett, Jr. 
Secretary 

0612#059 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Office of Fisheries 

Invasive Noxious Aquatic Plants (LAC 76:VII.1101) 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
does hereby exercise the emergency provision of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B). A Notice of 
Intent was filed in late October announcing the department’s 
intent to promulgate rules to control, eradicate, and prevent 
the spread or dissemination within the state of Louisiana of 
all invasive noxious aquatic plants that pose a threat to the 
wildlife and fisheries resources of the state. Act 400 of the 
2006 Legislative Session goes into effect on January 1, 2007 
and abolishes the list of prohibited noxious, aquatic plants 
from R.S. 56:358(B). This Declaration of Emergency shall 
become effective January 1, 2007 and shall remain in effect 
for the maximum period allowed under the Administrative 
Procedure Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever 
occurs first. The emergency procedure is necessary to ensure 
that there is a list of prohibited noxious, aquatic plants 
between January 1, 2007 and such time that the Rule goes 
into effect. The absence of a specific list of prohibited 
noxious, aquatic plants during this period of time will pose 
an imminent peril to the public health, safety and welfare. In 
addition to being a navigational impediment or hazard and 
providing a breeding ground for pests such as mosquitoes, 
noxious aquatic plants have a serious negative effect on the 
state’s aquatic resources. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 11. Invasive Noxious Aquatic Plants 
§1101. Invasive Noxious Aquatic Plants 

A. Definitions. The following words and phrases for 
purposes of these regulations shall have the meaning 
ascribed to them in this section, unless the context wherein 
the particular word or phrase is used clearly indicates a 
different meaning: 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries or an authorized employee of the Department. 

Invasive Noxious Aquatic Plant Permit―the official 
document that identifies the terms of and allows for the 

importation, transportation or possession of any of the listed 
prohibited aquatic plants. 

Listed Plant―any of the listed invasive, noxious aquatic 
plants. 

Permittee―person or organization that possesses a valid 
permit to possess, import or transport invasive noxious 
aquatic plants. A permittee may represent himself, a 
business, corporation or organization. The permittee is 
responsible for compliance with all stipulations in the 
permit.  

Secretary―the Secretary of the Louisiana Department 
of Wildlife and Fisheries.  

B. Importation, transportation and possession of invasive 
noxious aquatic plants; permit required. 

1. No person shall at any time import or cause to be 
transported into the jurisdiction of the state of Louisiana, 
from any other state or country any of the invasive noxious 
aquatic plants listed below, without first obtaining an 
Invasive, Noxious Aquatic Plant permit from the department. 
Prohibited Invasive Noxious Aquatic Plants: 

a. Eichhornia azurea (rooting or anchoring 
hyacinth); 

b. Elodea canadensis (Elodea); 
c. Hydrilla verticillata (Hydrilla); 
d. Lagarosiphon muscoides and Lagarosiphon 

major (African Elodea); 
e. Myriophyllum spicatum (Eurasian watermilfoil); 
f. Najas marina (Marine naiad); 
g. Najas minor (Slender naiad); 
h. Panicum repens (torpedograss); 
i. Pontederia rotundifolia (Pickerelweed); 
j. Spirodela oligorrhiza (giant duckweed); 
k. Trapa natans (waterchestnut); 
l. Melaleuca quinquenervia (kapok tree); 
m. Pistia stratiotes (Water lettuce); 
n. Salvinia spp. (Salvinia); 
o. Lythrum salicaria (Purple loosestrife); 
p. Eichhornia crassipes (Water hyacinth); 
q. Limnophila sessiliflora (Asian marshweed); 
r. Hygrophila polysperma (Indian swampweed); 
s. Solanum tampicense (Aquatic soda apple or 

Wetland nightshade); 
t. Urochloa mutica (Paragrass); 
u. Nymphoides indica and Nymphoides cristata 

(Little floating hearts); 
v. Rotala rotundifolia (roundleaf toothcup); 
w. Marsilea mutica (Australian water clover); 
x. Marsilea minuta (Asian water clover). 

C. Permits may be issued by the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries or his designee for the 
importation, transportation or possession of any invasive 
noxious aquatic plant for the purpose of conducting 
scientific investigations. 

1. Application Requirements 
a. Individuals wishing to import, transport, or 

possess any listed plant for the purpose of conducting 
scientific investigations in Louisiana must first request an 
Invasive Noxious Aquatic Plant permit from the department 
through an application form furnished by the department. 

b. Site visits will be made to inspect the facility and 
determine if all possible safeguards have been taken to 
prevent escape into the natural habitat. 
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c. The department shall ensure that the applicant is 
furnished with a copy of the terms and conditions pertaining 
to the importation, transportation or possession of any of the 
listed plants. 

d. The secretary or his designee shall notify the 
applicant in writing as to whether or not the permit has been 
granted and if not, the reasons therefore. In the event of 
disapproval, applicants may re-apply after meeting 
department requirements. 

2. Terms and Conditions of Permit 
a. Permits are not transferable from person to 

person or from site location to site location. 
b. Specimens of the listed plant(s) shall be handled 

deliberately, cautiously, and in controlled settings to avoid 
contamination of state habitats. 

c. Specimens shall be processed and grown within 
the confines of controlled facilities (growth chambers, 
greenhouses, laboratories, etc.). 

d. Reproductive parts of plants (seeds, tubers, roots, 
etc.) that are collected in the field shall be transported in 
double zip lock bags such that the reproductive part cannot 
escape en route. 

e. A U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) 
permit shall be required to import and possess specimens of 
prohibited plants from other countries and such plants shall 
be sent through a USDA inspection center at a port of entry 
as described by the USDA permit. 

f. Before processing, the plants or plant parts shall 
be stored in a locked office or laboratory. Only qualified 
individuals shall have access to these materials. 

g. Any part of the plant used for molecular work 
shall be subjected to a departmentally approved procedure 
that will render the plant material incapable of further 
growth or reproduction. 

h. Specimens to be used for environmental studies 
(e.g., climate, shading, etc.) shall be grown in pots within the 
confines of growth chambers or greenhouses. 

i. After the experimental work is completed, all 
plant materials, and the soil within the growth pots, and the 
pots shall be sterilized in some manner (e.g., autoclaved) to 
kill any remaining seeds or living plant material to render 
the plant material incapable of further growth or 
reproduction. 

j. All collections by and shipments to or from the 
permittee shall be reported to the department one week prior 
to said collections or shipments. Information to be included 
shall be the type of material (whole plant, leaves, seeds, etc.) 
and the quantity collected or shipped. 

k. The disposition of the plant material at the 
conclusion of the experimental work shall be reported to the 
department. 

l. Personnel from the department shall have the 
authority to inspect the facility and operation with 24 hours 
notice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:328 (C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Fisheries, LR 33: 

 
Bryant O. Hammett, Jr. 
Secretary 

0612#058 
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