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Notices of Intent

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Forestry Commission

and
Department of Revenue

Tax Commission

1998 Timber Stumpage Values
(LAC 7:XXXIX.101)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Forestry Commission, and the
Department of Revenue and Taxation, Tax Commission
propose to amend rules regarding the value of timber stumpage
for calendar year 1998. These rules comply with and are
enabled by R.S. 3:3101 et seq.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS

Part XXXIX. Forestry
Chapter 1. Timber Stumpage RULE TITLE: 1998 Timber Stumpage Values
§101. Stumpage Values

The Louisiana Forestry Commission and the Louisiana Tax
Commission, as required by R.S. 47:633, determined the
following timber stumpage values, based on current average
stumpage market values, to be used for severance tax
computations for 1998.

Trees and Timber Price/Scale Price/Ton

1. Pine Sawtimber $392.40/MBF $49.05/ton

2. Hardwood Sawtimber $207.96/MBF $21.89/ton

3. Pine Chip and Saw $89.53/cord $33.16/ton

Pulpwood III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS

5. Pine Pulpwood $25.46/cord $9.43/ton

6. Hardwood Pulpwood $15.79/cord $5.54/ton

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 3:3.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Natural

Resources, Office of Forestry, and the Louisiana Forestry
Commission, LR 4:9 (January 1978), amended LR 5:7 (January
1979), LR 6:728 (December 1980), LR 7:627 (December 1981), LR
8:651 (December 1982), LR 9:848 (December 1983), LR 10:1038
(December 1984), LR 11:1178 (December 1985), amended by the
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Forestry, and the
Louisiana Forestry Commission, LR 12:819 (December 1986), LR
13:432 (August 1987), LR 14:9 (January 1988), LR 15:5 (January
1989), LR 16:16 (January 1990), LR 17:476 (May 1991), LR 18:6

(January 1992), LR 19:611 (May 1993), LR 20:408 (April 1994), LR
21:930 (September 1995), LR 21:1069 (October 1995), amended by
the Louisiana Forestry Commission and Louisiana Tax Commission,
LR 22:581 (July 1996), LR 23:943 (August 1997), amended by the
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Forestry Commission, and
the Department of Revenue, Tax Commission, LR 24:

All interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rules through February 25, 1998, to Don Feduccia,
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida
Boulevard., Baton Rouge, LA 70806. No preamble concerning
the proposed rules is available.

Billy Weaver, Chairman
Forestry Commission

Malcolm Price, Chairman
Tax Commission

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no additional costs or savings to state or local

governments required by the implementation of this action.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The net result of this action adjusts average stumpage values

upward for timber harvested. The severance tax revenue
received by state and local governments will increase if 1998
timber production levels equal 1996 production. State revenue
would increase by $200,705 and local government revenues
would increase by $602,114 during fiscal year 97-98, and again
in the first half of fiscal year 98-99, based on the assumptions
used in this analysis.

TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Although the estimated total tax paid by timber sellers and
reported and remitted by wood-using industries will increase as
a result of this action, the prevailing severance tax rate for
timber harvesting remains constant by statute. No increases in
paperwork or procedures will result from this action.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This action is taken on an annual basis and should have
negligible effect on competition or employment. The tax
revenue increases that may result from the stumpage prices set
by this action should have a beneficial effect on parish and state
government.

Skip Rhorer Richard W. England
Assistant Commissioner Assistant to the
9801#077 Legislative Fiscal Officer
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Tuition Opportunity Program for Students
 (TOPS) (LAC 28:IV.Chapters 1-21)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission
(LASFAC) advertises its intention to adopt rules for the
Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS). In
accordance with R.S. 17:3021-3036, the Louisiana Student
Financial Assistance Commission intents to adopt the
following rule governing the Scholarship and Grant Programs
administered by the commission. The purpose of this proposed
rule is to govern the allocation and award of scholarship and
grant funds under these programs.

Title 28
EDUCATION

Part IV. Higher Education Scholarship and Grant
Programs

Chapter 1. Scope
§101. Introduction

A. Statutory Authority. The Louisiana Student Financial
Assistance Commission (LASFAC) was created by Chapter
20, Higher Education Assistance, Louisiana Revised Statutes
of 1950, comprised of R.S. 17:3021-3036, for the purpose of
supervising, controlling, directing and administering state and
federal programs to provide loans to assist persons in meeting
the expenses of higher education, and state and federal
scholarship and grant programs for higher education. The
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA),
under authority of the commission, administers state and
federal postsecondary student scholarship, grant and loan
programs.

B. Agency's Mission Statement. The mission of LOSFA is
to provide resources to Louisiana residents for the pursuit of
postsecondary education.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§103. Purpose

A. LAC 28:IV provides the rules and regulations governing
participation in the scholarship and grant programs
administered by LASFAC, including, but not limited to:

1. applicants and recipients;
2. high school counselors;
3. principals and headmasters;
4. superintendents;
5. college and university financial aid directors and staff;

and
6. federal and state authorities.

B. LAC 28:IV was developed to meet the following
objectives:

1. establish scholarship and grant policies and
procedures that implement and explain or interpret statutes;

2. define the program responsibilities of participants
(applicants, recipients, and high school, school board and
postsecondary institution officials);

3. ensure that scholarships and grants are awarded in
accordance with statute and legislative intent;

4. establish procedures to monitor the performance of
scholarship and grant recipients;

5. ensure compliance with statutory and regulatory
provisions governing the administered programs.

C. Since these rules and regulations can neither anticipate
nor address every situation that might be encountered in the
administration of the scholarship and grant programs included
herein, participants in doubt about the applicability or
interpretation of a rule or regulation in LAC 28:IV are advised
to contact LOSFA for guidance.

D. LAC 28:IV shall be amended and updated as necessary.
Such updates will be forwarded to institutions in the form of
Scholarship and Grant Program Memoranda (SGPM). SGPM
will cover additions, deletions, revisions and clarifications to
the rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana Student
Financial Assistance Commission, Louisiana Office of Student
Financial Assistance LR 24:
§105. Effective Date

These rules and regulations are effective for awards
beginning with the 1998-99 academic year.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§107. Authority to Audit

By participating in the scholarship and grant programs
administered by LASFAC and described in LAC 28:IV, all
participants, including high schools and postsecondary
institutions, grant LASFAC and the Louisiana legislative
auditor the right to inspect records and perform on-site audits
of each institution's administration of the programs for the
purpose of determining the institution's compliance with state
law and LASFAC's rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§109. Discrimination Prohibition

The exclusion of a person from equal opportunity for a
Louisiana scholarship and/or grant program administered by
LASFAC because of race, religion, sex, handicap, national
origin or ancestry is prohibited. No policy or procedure of this
agency shall be interpreted as superseding or contradicting this
prohibition.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
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§111. Criminal Penalties
All certifications of student performance which are

submitted to LASFAC for the purpose of determining a
student's eligibility for an award under a student aid program
administered by LASFAC shall be by sworn affidavit of the
certifying official and such official shall be subject to criminal
law applicable to false swearing.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 3. Definitions
§301. Definitions

Where the masculine is used, in these rules, it includes the
feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is used, it includes
the plural, and vice versa.

Academic Year (College)— the two- and four-year college
and university academic year begins with the fall term of the
award year, includes the winter term, if applicable, and
culminates with the completion of the spring term of the award
year. The two- and four-year college and university academic
year does not include summer sessions or intersessions. The
Louisiana Technical College academic year begins with the fall
quarter, includes the winter and spring quarters and culminates
with the summer quarter.

Academic Year (High School)— the annual academic year
for high school begins with the summer session, includes the
fall and winter terms and ends at the conclusion of the spring
term, in that order. For example, for a high school graduate to
be considered for award of a scholarship to attend college in
the 1998 fall semester, he or she must have graduated by the
spring term 1998 (usually May or June), but may have
graduated during the summer term 1997 (usually June or July)
or midterm 1997 (usually December). This definition is not to
be confused with the Louisiana Department of Education's
definit ion of school year, which is found in Louisiana
Department of Education Bulletin 741.

Average Public Tuition— the amount of a TOPS tuition
award (Opportunity, Performance and Honors) that will be
received by a student attending a private college or university
that is a member of the Louisiana Association of Independent
Colleges and Universities (LAICU), calculated using the
program's prior year average annual tuition amount received
by students attending public two- and four-year institutions in
the prior award year.

Basic Course Enrollment Charges— those institutional
tuition and mandatory fees universally charged to all full-time
students for purposes of enrollment.

Core Curriculum—
a. at the time of high school graduation, an applicant

must have successfully completed 16.5 units of high school
course work constituting a core curriculum as follows:

Units Course

1 English I

1 English II

1 English III

1 English IV

1 Algebra I (No substitutions)

1 Algebra II

1 Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or Comparable
Advanced Math

1 Biology I

1 Chemistry I

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical
Science, Biology II, Chemistry II or Physics

1 American History

1 World History, World Culture, Western Civilization or
World Geography

1 Civics and/or Economics/Free Enterprise

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute two units Performance
courses in Music, Dance and/or Theater; or two units of
Studio Art; or one elective from among the other
subjects listed in this core curriculum)

2 In the Same Foreign Language

½ Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Data
Processing (or substitute at least one-half unit of an
elective from among the other subjects listed in this core
curriculum)

b. Core units are waived upon sworn affidavit by the
school board superintendent for public schools or by the
principal or headmaster for nonpublic high schools that the
course was not available to the student at the school attended.

Cost of Education— the total amount it will cost a student
to go to school, usually expressed as an academic year figure.
This cost is determined by the school in compliance with Title
IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, and is
annually updated and adopted by the institution. The cost of
education covers tuition and fees, on-campus room and board
(or a housing and food allowance for off-campus students) and
allowances for books, supplies, transportation, child care,
costs related to a disability, and miscellaneous expenses. Also
included are reasonable costs for eligible programs of study
abroad. An allowance (determined by the school) is included
for reasonable costs connected with a student's employment as
part of a cooperative education program.

Dependent Student— a student who is dependent on his or
her parents or legal guardian for support and therefore is
required to include parental information on the FAFSA or
renewal FAFSA.

Eligible Noncitizen— an individual who can provide
documentation from the Immigration and Naturalization
Service (INS) that he or she is in the U.S. for other than a
temporary purpose with the intention of becoming a citizen or
permanent resident. Including, but not limited to, refugees,
persons granted asylum, Cuban-Haitian entrants, temporary
residents under the recent Immigration Reform and Control
Act of 1986, and others. A permanent resident of the U.S. must
provide documentation from the INS to verify permanent
residency.

Expected Family Contribution (EFC)— an amount,
determined by a formula established by Congress, that
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indicates how much of a family's financial resources should be
available to help pay for the dependent's cost of education.
Factors such as taxable and nontaxable income, assets (such as
savings and checking accounts), and benefits (for example,
unemployment or Social Security) are all considered in this
calculation.

Fee Schedule— a listing of the actual tuition and Rockefeller and SSIG recipients who must have continuously
mandatory fees for attendance at a postsecondary school as resided in Louisiana for the previous 12 months; and
defined by the institution. b. unless designated as an independent student, as

First-Time Freshman— a student is a first-time freshman
the first fall, winter or spring semester or quarter, subsequent
to high school graduation, in which a student enrolls as a
full-time student and continues to be enrolled full time on the
fourteenth class day (ninth class day for Louisiana Tech). A
student who begins postsecondary or university attendance in
a summer session will be considered a first-time enrollee for
the immediately succeeding fall term.

Full-Time Student—
a. a student enrolled in an institution of higher

education who is carrying a full-time academic workload as
determined by the school under the standards applicable to all
students enrolled;

b. for continuation purposes, a student is considered
to have met the full-time requirement if by the completion of
the spring term he or she has earned at least 24 hours of total
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms at an institution
defining 12 semester or eight quarter hours as the minimum for
full-time undergraduate status.

c. for programs which permit graduate study, a
graduate student must have earned at least 18 hours of total
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms;

d. a workload of at least 30 clock hours per week is
the full-time equivalent at a technical college.

Graduate (High School)— for the purposes of this
Chapter, a high school graduate is defined as a student
certified by award of a high school diploma to have
satisfactorily completed the required units at a Louisiana
public- or BESE-approved nonpublic high school or certified
by award of a high school diploma from an eligible
non-Louisiana high school.

Independent Student— those students required to report
only student information on the FAFSA, or if married, student
and spouse information, and information on any dependent
children. An independent student is a student who meets at
least one of the criteria listed in Subparagraphs a.-f or has been
determined independent by a financial aid officer exercising
professional judgment in accordance with applicable
provisions of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended:

a. reached 24 years of age prior to January of the year
preceding the academic year for which the student is applying
for aid;

c. is a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, including a
student who was activated to serve in Operation Desert Storm;

c. is an orphan or a ward of the court or was a ward of
the court until age 18;

d. has legal dependents other than a spouse;
e. is a graduate or professional student;
f. is married.

Louisiana Resident— any person who has manifested
intent to remain in this state by establishing Louisiana as legal
domicile, as demonstrated by compliance with all of the
following:

a. has continuously resided in Louisiana during the 24
months preceding college or university enrollment, except for

defined in LAC 28:IV, has a parent or legal guardian who is
domiciled in Louisiana; and

c. if registered to vote, is registered to vote in
Louisiana; and,

d. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, is in possession
of a Louisiana driver's license; and

e. if owning a motor vehicle located within Louisiana,
is in possession of a Louisiana registration for that vehicle;
and,

f. if earning an income, has complied with Louisiana
state income tax laws and regulations.

Merit Ranking Formula— an index incorporating selected
merit factors which is used to rank eligible applicants in the
priority by which competitive scholarships are to be awarded.
As of July 1, 1997, the TOPS Teacher Award and Rockefeller
Scholarship are the only programs in which applicants are
competitively ranked. The following formulas for the merit
ranking of scholarship applicants provide for the equating of
scores for high school graduating seniors and college students.

a. Formula I— utilized for applicants with less than 24
hours of graded college credit:

b. Formula II— utilized for applicants with 24 or more
hours of graded college credit:

c. Formula III— utilized for applicants for the TOPS
Teacher Award. For those applicants majoring in math or
chemistry, an additional 10 points are added to the merit score
determined by Formula I or II, resulting in an adjusted merit
score.

d. Applicants' merit scores are ranked in descending
order with the applicant with the highest merit score ranked
first. The number of applicants selected for award is dependent
upon the amount of award funds available.

Monetary Repayment— for purposes of the Rockefeller
State Wildlife Scholarship and TOPS Teacher Award
Programs, repaying the scholarship funding received, plus any
interest accrued under the terms of the promissory note signed
by the recipient, if the recipient fails to fulfill the terms of the
program. See Repayment.

Overaward— for the purposes of LAC 28:IV, an over
award occurs when a student received financial aid in excess
of the cost of education as established in accordance with
federal Title IV regulations or an award under state programs
to which the student was not entitled.

Refund— a refund of school charges that the school makes
to a student, usually after the student has withdrawn from
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school. The refund to the student is the difference between the 4. For priority consideration for award years after
amount the student paid toward school charges minus the 1998-99, applicants must submit the FAFSA to be postmarked
amount the school keeps for the portion of the payment period by April 15, or to be received by the federal processor by
that the student was enrolled. May 1, preceding the award year.

Repayment— the amount of the cash disbursement that a
student must pay back to the school if the student withdraws
from the program. If the cash disbursement was greater than
the student's living expenses (student's education costs above
and beyond the amount of tuition and fees) up to the
withdrawal date, the student must repay the excess amount.
The actual amount of the refund/repayment is determined
according to the school's policy in accordance with federal
regulations. See Monetary Repayment.

Substantial Financial Need— for purposes of the SSIG
program only, substantial financial need is the difference
between the student's cost of education and the sum of that
student's expected family contribution (EFC) plus other
student aid the student is due to receive. The difference thus
computed must exceed $199.

Undergraduate Student— a student who has not
completed the requirements for a baccalaureate degree
program and/or is not classified as a professional student for
the purposes of receipt of federal student aid.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 5. Application; Application Deadlines and

Proof of Compliance
§501. Application

All new applicants for, and all continuing recipients of,
Louisiana scholarship and grant programs must annually apply
for state and federal aid by completing the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the renewal FAFSA,
whichever is applicable to the individual student. The deadline
for priority consideration for state aid is published in the
FAFSA's instructions and may be revised annually by the
LASFAC.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§503. Application Deadlines

A. Deadline for Priority Consideration
1. For priority consideration for the 1998-99 award year,

applicants must submit the FAFSA to be received by the
federal processor by June 1, 1998.

2. Priority consideration means that an applicant who
submits a FAFSA by this date shall, under normal
circumstances, receive notification of his eligibility for a
noncompetitive award (TOPS Opportunity, Performance and
Honors Awards) prior to enrolling in the fall term.

3. An applicant for a competitively awarded scholarship
(TOPS Teacher Award and Rockefeller State Wildlife
Scholarship) who submits a FAFSA by this date shall be
considered for selection of award in the first round of
applicants awarded.

B. Final Deadline. The final deadline to apply for state aid
is March 1 of the award year, by which time the FAFSA must
have been received by the federal processor. For example, for
the 1998-99 award year, the final deadline date for receipt of
the application by the federal processor is March 1, 1999.

C. If a prescribed deadline date falls on a weekend or
holiday, it will automatically be extended to the next business
day.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§505. Proof of Compliance

As proof of compliance with the state's final deadline for
submitting the FAFSA, LASFAC will accept the
documentation listed in Paragraph 1. through 3. No other form
of verification, including notarized or certified statements, will
be accepted as proof of compliance with the deadline
requirement.

1. A certificate of mailing, registered, certified,
certified/return receipt requested, priority or overnight mail
receipt from the United States Postal Service, or other
authorized mail carriers such as United Parcel Service and
Federal Express, which is dated prior to the state's final
deadline.

2. The Electronic Student Aid Report (ESAR), produced
by the federal processor, shows that the original application
was received by the state's final deadline.

3. The federal processor provides verbal or written
verification to LASFAC that the original application was
received by the state's final deadline.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§507. Final Deadline for Submitting Documentation of

Eligibility
A. LASFAC will continue to process eligibility for both

new and renewal applicants during each award year until
May 1 of the spring term of that award year.

B. Students not determined eligible by May 1 of the spring
term of the award year are ineligible to receive program
funding that award year.

C. All documentation and certifications necessary to
establish student eligibility, including but not limited to high
school and/or college transcripts and certifications, copies of
Student Aid Reports, applicant confirmation forms, promissory
notes and other documents which may be utilized in
determining eligibility, must be received by LASFAC no later
than May 1 of the award year. For example, to receive an
award for the 1998-99 award year, LASFAC must have in its
possession all documents relevant to establishing eligibility by
May 1, 1999.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for Students

(TOPS) Opportunity; Performance and
Honors Awards

§701. General Provisions
A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS Opportunity,

Performance and Honors Awards were created by Act 1375 of
the 1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. This
Act amended and reenacted R.S. 17:3026(J) and (K), 3042.36,
Chapter 20-G of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950,
comprised of R.S. 17:3048.1 and 3048.2, and R.S.
47:1508(B)(18).

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Tuition
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) is a comprehensive,
merit-based student aid program consisting of a series of
components, with each component having its own eligibility
criteria and titled award. The purpose of TOPS is to provide an
incentive for Louisiana residents to academically prepare for
and pursue postsecondary education in this state, resulting in
an educated work force enabling Louisiana to prosper in the
global market of the future. The major components of TOPS
are the opportunity award, the performance award and the
honors award.

C. The opportunity, performance and honors awards, which
will be funded for the 1998-99 academic year, combine former
programs (Louisiana Tuition Assistance Plan [TAP] and the
Louisiana Honors Scholarship Program) with a new
component, the honors award, to produce a comprehensive
program of state scholarships.

D. The purposes of this program are to:
1. financially assist those students who are academically

prepared to continue their education at a Louisiana
postsecondary institution; and

2. encourage academic excellence; and
3. provide incentives for Louisiana high school

graduates to pursue postsecondary education in this state.
E. Award Amounts. The specific award amounts for each

component of TOPS are as follows.
1. The TOPS Opportunity Award provides

undergraduate tuition for full-time attendance at Louisiana
public two- and four-year colleges and universities and
Louisiana Technical College.

2. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400
annual stipend, in addition to tuition.

3. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 annual
stipend, in addition to tuition.

4. Performance and Honors Award recipients attending
Louisiana Technical College are restricted to the receipt of the
amount of tuition charged by the institution and are not eligible
for annual stipends.

5. Students attending a regionally accredited
independent college or university which is a member of the
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and
Universities (LAICU) receive the average public tuition
amount, as defined in §301 plus any applicable stipend.

6. Recipients of TOPS Awards who are also
beneficiaries of Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust

(START) Saving Program accounts, may apply the START
disbursements to pay tuition, and any remaining tuition due
may be paid by the TOPS award. Any balance of the TOPS
award which remains after payment of the institution's charges,
shall be credited to the student's account and treated in
accordance with institutional policies.

7. For the 1998-99 award year only, students funded
under the Tuition Assistance Plan (TAP) or the Louisiana
Honors Scholarship during the 1997-98 award year, who have
maintained eligibility for the 1998-99 award year, shall receive
awards under the TOPS Opportunity or Performance Awards,
respectively. For 1997 high school graduates receiving a TAP
or Louisiana Honors Scholarship award during the 1997-98
award year, who meet the criteria for establishing and
maintaining eligibility for a TOPS Performance and/or Honors
Award as specified in §§703-705, may at their option elect to
be awarded under that program which provides the higher
monetary award. Students electing an award with a higher
monetary value, will be required to meet continuation
requirements for the higher award.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§703. Establishing Eligibility

To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity,
Performance or Honors Award, the student applicant must
meet all of the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,
and be registered with the Selective Service, if required; and

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in Chapter 3 of
LAC 28:IV; and

3. annually submit the completed Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA by the
applicable state aid deadline defined in §503; and

4. initially apply and enroll in an eligible postsecondary
institution within two years of the date of high school
graduation and for Opportunity Awards only, enroll as a
first-time freshman, as defined in Section §301 in an eligible
postsecondary institution within two years of the date of high
school graduation.

5. graduate from a BESE-approved,
provisionally-approved, or probationally-approved public or
nonpublic high school or eligible non-Louisiana high school as
defined in §1701; or for Performance Awards only, be enrolled
in a state-approved home study program; and

6. at the time of high school graduation, have
successfully completed 16.5 units of high school course work
constituting a core curriculum as defined in §301. Applicants
for the TOPS Performance Award are not required to complete
the core curriculum until the graduating class of 2001; and

7. at the time of high school graduation have taken the
American College Test (ACT) and received composite test
score results, or an equivalent concordant value on the
Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT), of at least:

a. the state's reported prior year average, rounded, but
never less than 19, for the Opportunity Award; or

b. a 23 for the Performance Award; or
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c. a 27 for the Honors Award; and 8. not be placed on academic probation by the
8. have attained a cumulative high school grade point postsecondary institution attended; and

average, based on a 4.00 maximum scale for all courses 9. maintain, by the end of each academic year (the
reflected on the high school transcript of at least: conclusion of the spring term), a cumulative college grade

a. a 2.50 for the Opportunity Award; or point average on a 4.00 maximum scale of at least:
b. a 3.50 for either the Performance or Honors a. a 2.10 after the completion of less than 48 credit

Awards; and hours, a 2.30 after the completion of 48 credit hours, and a
9. for the Performance Award only, be certified as 2.50 after the completion of 72 credit hours, for continuing

graduating in the top 5 percent of the high school graduating receipt of an Opportunity Award; or
class, as defined in Chapter 19 of LAC 28:IV or be enrolled in b. a 3.00 for continuing receipt of either a
a state-approved home study program and score in the upper Performance or Honors Award.
5 percent in the state on the National Merit Examination; and B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in

10. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and §705.A.8 and 9.a and b may have their tuition awards
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and reinstated upon the lifting of academic probation and/or
which are administered by LASFAC; and attainment of the required grade point average, if the period of

11. not have a criminal conviction, except for ineligibility did not persist for more than two years from the
misdemeanor traffic violations; and date of loss of eligibility. Reinstated students are ineligible for

12. agree that awards will be used exclusively for receipt of annual stipends.
educational expenses; and

13. enroll as a full-time undergraduate student, as defined
in §301, in a LASFAC approved eligible postsecondary
institution, as defined in §1901; and

14. if academically eligible for more than one of the
TOPS components, excluding the TOPS Teacher Award, be
awarded under that component which requires the highest
academic standards.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§705. Maintaining Eligibility

A. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity,
Performance or Honors Awards, the recipient must meet all of
the following criteria:

1. have received less than four years or eight semesters
of TOPS Award funds; and

2. annually submit the Free Application for Federal
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA by the applicable
state aid deadline defined in §501; and

3. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

4. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

5. agree that awards will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

6. continue to enroll as a full-time undergraduate student
in an eligible postsecondary institution, as defined in
§705.A.13, unless granted an exception for cause by LASFAC;
and

7. earn at least 24 college credit hours during the fall and
spring semesters or fall, winter and spring quarters, or
complete an average of 30 clock hours per week, as evaluated
at the conclusion of the spring term. Unless granted an
exception for cause by LASFAC, failure to earn the required
number of hours will result in permanent cancellation of the
recipient's eligibility; and

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 9. TOPS Teacher Award
§901. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS Teacher Award
Program was created by Act 476, of the 1997 Regular Session
of the Louisiana Legislature. This bill amended and reenacted
R.S. 17:3042.1(A)(3) and (4), (B), (C), and (D) and
3042.2(A) and (B); reenacted R.S. 17:3042.1(A)(5) and (6)
and 3042.8; and renamed Chapter 20-B of Title 17 of the
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950.

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Tuition
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Teacher Award:

1. annually provides approximately 90 competitively
awarded educational loans to residents of Louisiana who
commit to teach at the elementary or secondary school level in
Louisiana. When the recipient teaches at an approved school
in Louisiana, the loans are forgiven in the ratio of one year of
loan forgiveness for each year of teaching, or two years of loan
forgiveness for each year of teaching in an elementary or
secondary school which is located in an economically
disadvantaged region of the state as determined by the Board
of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE);

2. was first funded for the 1997-98 award year;
3. was created to provide an incentive for Louisiana's

best and brightest students to become tomorrow's classroom
teachers and to provide an incentive that will attract highly
qualified teachers in mathematics and chemistry at the
elementary and secondary school levels.

C. Award Amounts
1. Loans are made in the amount of $6,000 per award

year for mathematics and chemistry majors.
2. Loans are made in the amount of $4,000 per year for

teacher education majors other than those listed in §901.C.1.
3. Recipient may receive a maximum of four years of

funding.
4. Recipients receive one half of the annual award

($3,000 or $2,000, respectively) at the beginning of the fall
and spring terms.
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5. Recipients may, in conjunction with the Teachers
Award, receive another TOPS Award.

6. Recipients may not receive aid which, together with
the TOPS Teacher Award, would exceed the students' total
cost of education as determined by the institution in
accordance with regulations implementing federal Title IV
student aid.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§903. Establishing Eligibility

To establish eligibility the student applicant must meet all of
the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. Citizen or National or eligible non-citizen,
and be registered with the Selective Service, if required; and

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in Chapter 3 of
LAC 28:IV; and

3. annually submit the completed Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal FAFSA, whichever
is applicable to the student, by the state aid deadline defined in
§503; and

4. graduate from a Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (BESE)-approved, provisionally-approved, or
probationally-approved public or nonpublic high school; and

5. at the time of high school graduation, have
successfully completed 16.5 units of high school course work
constituting a core curriculum as defined in Chapter 3 of LAC
28:IV; and

6. at the time of high school graduation, have attained a
composite score on the American College Test (ACT) or the
Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) which is, or is equivalent to,
at least a 23 on the 1990 version of the ACT; and

7. graduate with a cumulative high school grade point
average of at least a 3.25, calculated on a 4.00 scale, for all
courses reflected on the high school transcript; and

8. if by the end of June in the year of application, the
student will have completed 24 or more hours of graded
college credit, have at least a 3.25 cumulative college grade
point average on a 4.00 scale; and

9. complete and submit such documentary evidence as
may be required by LASFAC by the deadline specified in
§503; and

10. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

11. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

12. agree that the award will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

13. enroll during the fall term at an eligible college or
university, as defined in §1901, as a full-time undergraduate
student, as defined in §301, in a degree program or course of
study leading to a degree in education or an alternative
program leading to regular certification as a teacher at the
elementary or secondary level in mathematics or chemistry.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§905. Selection Criteria

Recipients are competitively selected for the award based
upon the merit rank score assigned to each eligible applicant.
The merit ranking formula is defined in §301.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§907. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue receiving the TOPS Teacher Award, recipients
must meet all of the following criteria:

1. have received less than four years or eight semesters
of TOPS Teacher Award funding; and

2. at the close of each academic year (ending with the
spring semester or quarter), have earned at least 24 hours total
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms; and

3. achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least
a 3.00 calculated on a 4.00 scale at the end of each academic
year; and

4. not be placed on academic probation as determined by
the college or university attended; and

5. continue to enroll each subsequent semester or
quarter as a full-time undergraduate student, unless granted an
exception for cause, in a degree program or course of study
leading to a degree in education or alternative program leading
to regular certification as a teacher at the elementary or
secondary level; or

6. enter a program approved by the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) which leads to
a degree in education or to regular certification as a teacher as
soon as sufficient credits have been earned to do so; and

7. annually apply for federal and state student aid by
completing the FAFSA or Renewal FAFSA, whichever is
applicable to the student, by the state deadline; and

8. have no criminal convictions, except for misdemeanor
traffic violations; and

9. be in compliance with the terms of all other federal
and state aid programs which the student may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§909. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance of

Award
Prior to receiving an award, the recipient must agree to the

terms and conditions contained in the TOPS Teacher Award
Program Promissory Note by completing the form and
returning it to LASFAC by the specified deadline. The
promissory note obligates the recipient to teach one year for
each year of funding received; or, if teaching in a school
located in an economically disadvantaged region of the state,
as defined by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (BESE), teach one year for every two years of
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funding received, or repay the funds received, plus accrued
interest and any collection costs incurred.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§911. Discharge of Obligation

A. The loan obligation may be discharged by teaching
fulfillment, monetary repayment or cancellation.

B.1. Teaching fulfillment is accomplished by:
a. within two years of the date of certification as a

teacher, perform service as a full-time classroom teacher in a
Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
(BESE)-approved, provisionally-approved, or
probationally-approved elementary or secondary school;

b. each one-half year or more of full-time service as a
teacher will fulfill an equivalent period of funding (one
semester). However, if teaching in an elementary or secondary
school which is located in an economically disadvantaged
region of the state, as defined by BESE, one-half year of
teaching will fulfill one year of funding.

2. The first semester of full-time teaching will be applied
toward fulfillment of the earliest dated disbursement not
previously paid under §911.C, the second semester the next
earliest dated disbursement, and continuing until all
disbursements have been fulfilled.

3. Teaching to fulfill requirements must be completed
within six years of the date of certification as a teacher.

C. Monetary Repayment. Recipients who elect not to
discharge the obligation by teaching fulfillment and who are
not eligible for discharge by cancellation must repay the loan
principal plus accrued interest and any collection costs
incurred.

1. Interest will accrue on the outstanding principal at the
rate of 8 percent per annum.

2. Interest on each disbursement will accrue from the
date of disbursement until repaid, canceled or fulfilled.
Accrued interest will be capitalized when the recipient enters
repayment status.

3. Repayment Status. The recipient enters repayment
status the first of the month following:

a. determination by LASFAC that the recipient cannot
complete fulfillment by teaching within the required time
period;

b. notification of LASFAC by the recipient that
monetary repayment is desired;

c. six months after LASFAC determines that the
recipient is no longer pursuing a degree program or course of
study leading to a degree in education or alternative program
leading to regular certification as a teacher at the elementary or
secondary school level.

4. The annual repayment amount will be the greater of:
a. the amount necessary to repay the capitalized

amount within 10 years; or
b. $1,200 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever

is less.
5. Recipients in repayment status may have their

payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B, Deferment of

Repayment Obligation.
6. During the period of time a recipient is in deferment

status, a recipient is not required to make repayments and
interest does not accrue.

7. The period of time for completion of repayment will
be extended by a period of time equal to the length of time the
recipient is in deferment status.

D. Cancellation. The obligation to repay any remaining
unpaid balance of the TOPS Teacher Award shall be canceled
in the event either of the following conditions occur:

1. upon submission to LASFAC of a sworn affidavit of
a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded from
gainful employment because of a complete and permanent
medical disability or condition.

2. Upon submission to LASFAC of a death certificate,
or other evidence conclusive under State law, that the recipient
is deceased.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 11. Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship
§1101. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority. The Louisiana State Wildlife
Scholarship Program was created and amended by the
following Acts of the Louisiana Legislature:

1. Act 807 of the 1980 Regular Legislative Session;
2. Act 849 of the 1987 Regular Legislative Session;
3. Act 707 of the 1989 Regular Legislative Session.

B. Description, History and Purpose
1. The Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program:

a. is funded with dedicated monies and offers
competitively awarded scholarships valued at $1,000 per
academic year to both undergraduate and graduate students
majoring in forestry, wildlife, or marine science as it pertains
to wildlife;

b. was established in 1980.
2. In accepting the Rockefeller State Wildlife

Scholarship, the student agrees to attain a degree in one of the
required fields at a Louisiana public college or university
offering such degrees. If the student fails to successfully
complete an eligible course of study, as per the agreement
made between LASFAC and the student, the funds must be
repaid with interest.

C. Award Amounts
1. The annual award is $1,000.
2. The cumulative maximum award is $7,000 for up to

five years of undergraduate and two years of graduate study.
3. Recipients receive $500 each fall and spring term.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1103. Establishing Eligibility

To establish eligibility, the student applicant must meet all
of the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,
and be registered with the Selective Service, if required; and
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2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in Chapter 3 of 3. achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least
LAC 28:IV; and 2.50 at the end of the first academic year and each academic

3. annually, submit the completed Free Application for year thereafter; and
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the Renewal FAFSA, 4. continue to enroll each subsequent semester or
whichever is applicable to the student, by the state aid deadline quarter (excluding summer sessions and intersessions) at the
defined in §503; and same institution unless granted an exception for cause and/or

4. complete and submit such documentary evidence as approval for transfer of the award by LASFAC; and
may be required by LASFAC; and 5. continue to pursue a course of study leading to an

5. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and undergraduate or graduate degree in wildlife, forestry or
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and marine science.
which are administered by LASFAC; and

6. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

7. agree that award proceeds will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

8. be enrolled or accepted for enrollment as a full-time
undergraduate or graduate student at a Louisiana public
college or university majoring in forestry, wildlife or marine
science, with the intent of obtaining a degree from a Louisiana
public college or university offering a degree in one of the
three specified fields; and

9. must have graduated from high school and, if at the
time of application the student applicant has earned less than
24 hours of graded college credit since graduating from high
school, have earned a minimum cumulative high school grade
point average of at least 2.50 calculated on a 4.00 scale for all
courses completed in grades nine through 12 and have taken
the ACT or SAT and received test score results; or

10. if at the time of application, the student applicant has 24:
earned 24 or more hours of college credit, then the applicant §1111. Discharge of Obligation
must have at least a 2.50 cumulative college grade point
average.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1105. Selection Criteria

Recipients are competitively selected for an award based
upon the merit rank score assigned to each eligible applicant.
The merit ranking formula is defined in §301.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1107. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue receiving the Rockefeller State Wildlife interest will be capitalized when the recipient enters repayment
Scholarship, recipients must meet all of the following criteria: status.

1. have received less than seven academic years (five 3. Repayment Status. The recipient enters repayment
undergraduate and two graduate) of funding under the status the first day of the month following:
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program; and a. notification of LASFAC by the recipient that

2. at the close of each academic year (ending with the monetary repayment is desired; or
spring semester or quarter), have earned at least 24 hours total b. six months after LASFAC determines that the
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms at an institution recipient is no longer pursuing a degree program or course of
defining 12 semester or eight quarter hours as the minimum for study leading to a degree in wildlife, forestry or marine
full-time undergraduate status or earn at least 18 hours total science.
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms at an institution 4. The annual repayment amount will be the greater of:
defining nine semester hours as the minimum for full-time a. the amount necessary to repay the capitalized
graduate status; and amount within seven years; or

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1109. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance

of Award
Prior to receiving an award, the recipient must agree to the

terms and conditions contained in the Rockefeller State
Wildlife Scholarship Program Promissory Note
(LASFAC-RS02), by completing the form and returning it to
LASFAC by the specified deadline. The promissory note
obligates the recipient to obtain a Wildlife, Forestry or Marine
Science degree or repay the scholarship funds received, plus
accrued interest and any collection costs incurred.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

A. The loan obligation may be discharged by graduation in
an eligible major, monetary repayment or cancellation.

B. Graduation Fulfillment. Fulfillment of undergraduate
awards is accomplished by the recipient's attainment of a
bachelor's degree; fulfillment of graduate awards is
accomplished by attainment of a master's or doctorate degree,
in wildlife, forestry or marine science.

C. Monetary Repayment. Recipients who do not discharge
the obligation by graduation fulfillment and who are not
eligible for discharge by cancellation must repay the loan
principal, plus accrued interest and any collection costs
incurred.

1. Interest accrues on the outstanding principal at the
rate of 8 percent per annum.

2. Interest on each disbursement accrues from the date
of disbursement until repaid, canceled or fulfilled. Accrued
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b. $1,200 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever financial aid office at the institution and is governed by the
is less. number of recipients selected and the amount of funds

5. Recipients in repayment status may have their available. Awards are based upon a full academic year,
payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B, titled excluding summer sessions and intersession, beginning with
Deferment of Repayment Obligation. the fall term and concluding with the spring term.

a. During the period of time a recipient is in deferment E. Allocation of Funds. Annually, funds are allocated to
status, the recipient is not required to make payments and postsecondary institutions based on school type, the school's
interest does not accrue. prior year first-time, full-time enrollment and the amount of the

b. The period of time for completion of repayment will prior year's allocation that was expended. Initial funds, for
be extended by a period of time equal to the length of time the first-t ime recipients, are computed as a percentage of all
recipient is in deferment status. participating institutions first-time, full-time enrollment as of

D. Cancellation. The obligation to repay all or part of October 10 of the prior fiscal year. Continuation funds for
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program funds shall be students who had previously received SSIG are computed as a
canceled in the event either of the following occur: percentage of the allocated funds used during the previous

1. Upon submission to LASFAC of a sworn affidavit of year. The continuation formula applies 60 percent for four year
a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded from schools and 40 percent for two year schools.
completing the educational program and/or from gainful F. Reallocation of Funds. Uncommitted institutional
employment because of a complete and permanent medical allotted funds are reallocated if not committed by the deadline
disability or condition. of November 1 for colleges and universities and January 1 for

2. Upon submission to LASFAC of a death certificate, proprietary schools and campuses of Louisiana Technical
or other evidence conclusive under state law, that the recipient College. The method of reallocation is dependent upon the
is deceased. amount of funds available for reallocation. If the reallocation

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 13. State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG)
§1301. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority
1. Federal

a. Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965;
b. 34 CFR Part 692, as amended;
c. Title IV of the Higher Education Amendments of

1992 (Public Law 102-325). SSIG applicants must meet all of the following criteria:
2. State 1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,

a. R.S. 17:3032.5; and registered with the Selective Service, if required; and
b. Act 632 of the 1974 Regular Legislative Session; 2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301; and
c. Act 228 of the 1977 Regular Legislative Session. 3. annually, submit the completed Free Application for

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Louisiana State Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal FAFSA, whichever
Student Incentive Grant Program (SSIG), first funded in 1975, is available to the applicant, by the state deadline defined in
provides need-based grants to academically qualified students §503 and any deadline imposed by the institution attended; and
using federal and state funds. These grants are to be used for 4. have a high school diploma with at least a 2.00
educational expenses including tuition and fees, books and cumulative grade point average, or a minimum average score
supplies, and living expenses, such as room, board and of 45 on the General Educational Development (GED) test, or
transportation. an ACT composite score of at least 20, or a postsecondary

C. Louisiana administers a decentralized SSIG Program. grade point average of at least 2.00 from the most recent term;
Certain functions of the program are delegated to participating and
schools. Schools approved for participation in the Louisiana 5. be selected and certified by the school for receipt of
SSIG Program must have federal eligibility and must annually an SSIG award, contingent upon final approval by LASFAC;
submit a state application and be approved for state and
participation. Funding available for a specific award year is 6. meet any additional selection criteria established by
allocated to eligible in-state postsecondary institutions, who the individual institution participating in the SSIG Program;
select and certify recipients to LASFAC. LASFAC forwards and
award funding to the institutions for disbursement to the 7. be certified as a full-time undergraduate student in an
student or student's account. eligible program at an eligible postsecondary institution, as

D. Award Amounts. Individual grants range from an annual defined in §1901; and either:
minimum of $200 to a maximum of $2,000; however, the a. be enrolled full time at the time of disbursement if
actual amount of each student's award is determined by the disbursement occurs on or prior to the fourteenth class day

amount is less then $50,000, then only two and four year
colleges and universities, which have fully committed their
original allotment by the appropriate deadline, receive a
reallotment. If $50,000 or more is available for reallocation, it
is reallotted to eligible schools of all types, which have fully
committed their original allotment by the appropriate deadline.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1303. Establishing Eligibility

(ninth class day for Louisiana Tech); or
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b. be enrolled full time as of the fourteenth class day Recipients receive $200 each fall and spring term, less a $5
(ninth class day at Louisiana Tech) and is enrolled at least half- award fee.
time at the time of disbursement if disbursement occurs after
the fourteenth class day (ninth class day at Louisiana Tech);
and

8. have substantial financial need, as defined in §301;
and

9. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

10. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

11. agree that the award proceeds will be used exclusively
for educational expenses; and

12. not be in default of an educational loan.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1305. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue receiving an SSIG Award, the recipient must 3.00, on a 4.00 scale, at the conclusion of the spring term each
meet all of the following criteria: academic year; and

1. meet all of the initial eligibility criteria listed in 6. have received less than 10 semesters of T.H. Harris
§1303; and funding.

2. maintain a cumulative postsecondary grade point
average of at least 2.00 calculated on a 4.00 scale by the
conclusion of the spring term.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24: Boards, the Louisiana Department of
Chapter 15. T.H. Harris Scholarship Education and LASFAC on Behalf of
§1501. General Provisions Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools

A. Legislative Authority
1. R.S. 17:3036.1; Graduates of the following high schools are eligible to
2. Act 24 of the 1938 Regular Legislative Session; participate in LASFAC Scholarship and Grant programs.
3. Act 199 of the 1940 Regular Legislative Session; 1. Louisiana Public High Schools. Louisiana public high
4. Act 19 of the 1942 Regular Legislative Session;
5. Act 499 of the 1948 Regular Legislative Session;
6. Act 83 of the 1977 Regular Legislative Session;
7. Act 710 of the 1985 Regular Legislative Session;
8. Act 663 of the 1990 Regular Legislative Session.

B. Description, History and Purpose. The T. H. Harris
Scholarship Program was first funded with state general funds
in 1942 for the purpose of granting scholarships to deserving
youth enrolling at state-supported colleges or universities. A
maximum cumulative award, assuming the recipient maintains
eligibility, is $2,000 for five years of study. Effective with
award year 1996-97, applications are not being accepted and
the program is being phased out. Students awarded during the
1995-96 award year, continue to receive an award, as long as
funds are available and they maintain continuing academic
eligibility.

C. Award Amounts. The annual award is $400, with a
cumulative maximum award of $2,000 for five years.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1503. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue to receive T. H. Harris Scholarship funds,
recipients must meet all of the following criteria:

1. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

2. agree that award proceeds will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

3. continue to enroll as a full-time undergraduate student
in a two- or four-year public college or university, unless
granted an exception for cause by LASFAC; and

4. successfully complete the minimum number of hours
required for a full-time student as defined in §301; and

5. achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 17. Responsibilities of High Schools, School

Boards, Special School Governing

§1701. High School Eligibility to Participate

schools as listed in the Louisiana School Directory (Louisiana
Department of Education Bulletin 1462).

2. Approved Nonpublic High Schools. Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) approved
nonpublic high schools as listed in the Louisiana School
Directory (Bulletin 1462), as an approved nonpublic school
which meets the standards specified in The Louisiana
Handbook for School Administrators (Bulletin 741). For the
purposes of LAC 28:IV, approved nonpublic schools include
private or diocesan high schools classified annually by the
Department of Education as approved, provisionally-approved
or probationally-approved.

3. Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools. Eligible non-
Louisiana high schools are defined as high schools which meet
all of the following criteria:

a. are in a state adjoining the state of Louisiana; and
b. have provided LASFAC with acceptable evidence

of an agreement dated prior to June 5, 1994, between a parish
school system and the high school's local governing authority,
which authorizes the attendance of students who are residents
of Louisiana; and



Quality Points Awarded for the Course
Maximum Points Possible for the Course

'
X (Converted Quality Points)

4.00 (Maximum Scale)

3.00 ' X
5.00 ' 4.00

5X ' 12; X ' 2.40
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c. have students who graduate during the academic e. the total number of graduates in the graduating
year preceding the award year, who were residing in Louisiana class;
and who are Louisiana domiciled and were funded through the f. those students who graduated in the top 5 percent
Louisiana Minimum Foundation Program; and in accordance with §1703.C.2.a.i.

d. have certified the academic performance of B. Certification of Cumulative High School Grade Point
Louisiana graduates, in accordance with §1703. Average (HSGPA). High school officials are required to certify

4. Other Out-of-State High Schools. Graduates of other to LASFAC the final cumulative high school grade point
out-of-state high schools located in the United States are average of each applicant and average shall be:
eligible to participate in the Rockefeller State Wildlife 1. inclusive of the grades recorded for all courses on the
Scholarship and the State Student Incentive Grant Programs applicant's official high school transcript;
only. 2. each applicant's final cumulative high school grade

5. General Education Diploma Recipients. Non-high point average must be reported on a maximum 4.00 scale.
school graduates earning a General Education Diploma (GED) a. The following grading conversion shall be used to
in lieu of a high school diploma are eligible for participation in report the applicant's cumulative high school grade point
the State Student Incentive Grant Program only. average:

6. Home Study Program Students. Students enrolled in i. letter grade A = 4 quality points;
a state-approved home study program who score in the upper ii. letter grade B = 3 quality points;
5 percent in the state on the National Merit Examination and iii. letter grade C = 2 quality points;
meet other requirements of the program are eligible for the iv. letter grade D = 1 quality point.
TOPS Performance Award only. b. Schools which award more than 4 quality points for

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1703. High School's Certification of Student

Achievement
A. Certification Form and Data Elements

1. Responsibility for identification and certification of
high school graduates who qualify for TOPS awards is as
follows:

a. each city and parish school board for the high
schools under their jurisdiction.

b. the principal or headmaster of each nonpublic high
school approved by the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education (BESE)

c. the principal or headmaster of eligible
non-Louisiana high schools,

2. The Louisiana Department of Education shall report
to LASFAC the names of students enrolled in a state-approved
home study program who score in the upper 5 percent in the
state on the National Merit Examination.

3. The certification form shall be completed, certified
and returned to LASFAC annually.

4. The certification shall be returned to LASFAC by the
deadline specified on the form.

5. The certification shall be on a form provided by
LASFAC or in an electronic format pre-approved by LASFAC.

6. The certification form includes, but is not limited to,
the following data elements:

a. student's name, address, phone number and social
security number;

b. month and year of high school graduation;
c. final cumulative high school grade point average for

all courses reflected on the transcript, converted to a maximum
4.00 scale, if applicable;

d. the number of core units earned and the number of
core units unavailable to the student at the school attended;

a course must convert the course grade to a maximum 4.00
scale using the formula described in the example that follows.
[In this example, the school awards one extra quality point for
an honors course.]

i. Example. An applicant earned a C in an Honors
English IV course and received 3 out of the 5 possible quality
points that could have been awarded for the course.

ii. In converting this course grade to a standard 4.00
maximum scale, the following formula must be used:

By cross multiplying,

iii. In this example, the quality points for this Honors
English IV course should be recorded as 2.40 when the school
calculates and reports the student's cumulative high school
grade point average.

C. Certifying Graduates for the TOPS Performance Award
1. Policies for Determining the Top 5 Percent of Each

Graduating Class. City and parish school boards, nonpublic
high schools, special school governing boards, and LASFAC
on behalf of eligible non-Louisiana high schools, shall adopt,
publish and forward to LASFAC criteria for ranking graduates
and determining the top 5 percent of the graduating class for
high schools under their jurisdiction. Such criteria shall:

a. consider only the academic grades for those courses
recorded on the student's official high school transcript; and

b. define the academic courses which are to be
considered in determining academic class ranking; and

c. define the procedure by which students who would
otherwise have equal academic class ranking may be ranked
(tie-breaker procedure). This may include an evaluation of
students' academic grades on a set of predetermined core
academic courses such as English, math and science or an



(2%7%79) ' 88; (88 x 0.05) ' 4.4;

Total Graduates ' 69; (69 x 0.05) ' 3.45;

MFP Graduates ' 23; (23 x 0.05) ' 1.15

134Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

evaluation of the level of difficulty of the courses taken by the class, as well as in the top 5 percent of MFP-funded Louisiana
students, such as honors courses and higher level math or residents in the graduating class.
science courses; and iv. In the examples provided above, the maximum

d. be adopted by an affirmative act taken during a number of Louisiana residents to be certified for the
public meeting. performance award is two, and the minimum number is zero.

2. Formula for Determining the Number of Graduates in If only one Louisiana resident ranked in the top 5 percent (4 of
the Top 5 Percent 69) of the total graduates, then only one student could be

a. In computing the top 5 percent of each Louisiana certified to the performance award. Conversely, if three
high school's graduating class, apply the following formula to Louisiana residents ranked in the top 5 percent (4 of 69), only
compute the maximum number of graduates who may rank in the top two of these three could be certified.
the top 5 percent for the purposes of the performance award: 3. Ensure that the approved selection criteria are

i. the total number of students who are Louisiana publicly posted in each high school under the board or
residents receiving high school diplomas from the institution headmaster's jurisdiction and provide a copy of the criteria to
during the academic year preceding the award year, multiplied LASFAC.
by the figure 0.05, and, if not a whole number, rounded up to 4. Ensure that amendments to the criteria, as approved
the next whole number. Foreign exchange students and other by the board or headmaster, shall only be effective for the years
nonresidents shall not be counted as members of the following the year in which amended.
graduating class for the purpose of this computation. 5. Certifying Students for the TOPS Performance

ii. Example. For a high school that awarded state Award. Of the students ranked in the top 5 percent of their
high school diplomas to two summer graduates, seven midyear graduating class in accordance with this §1703, only those
graduates and 79 spring graduates during the academic year, meeting the following criteria may be listed on the certification
the following computation would apply. form:

4.4 rounds up to 5.0

iii. Accordingly, five students may be selected for the
performance award at the high school depicted in the example.

b. In computing the top 5 percent of each eligible non-
Louisiana high school's graduating class and calculating the
number of Louisiana residents to be named as performance
award recipients, apply the following formulas.

i. The total number of students, both Louisiana
residents and non-Louisiana residents, receiving a high school
diploma from the institution during the academic year
preceding the award year, multiplied by the figure 0.05, and,
if not a whole number, rounded up to the next whole number.
Example:

rounds up to 4.0

ii. The number of academic year graduates who are
Louisiana residents funded through the Louisiana Minimum
Foundation Program (MFP), multiplied by the figure 0.05, and,
if not a whole number, rounded up to the next whole number.
(Louisiana resident graduates not funded through MFP shall
not be counted in this calculation). Example:

rounds up to 2.0

iii. To be certified as a performance award recipient,
the student must rank both in the top 5 percent of the
non-Louisiana high school's total academic year graduating

a. those students who have attained a final cumulative
high school grade point average of at least a 3.50 on a 4.00
maximum scale; and

b. for graduates of the 2001 high school graduating
class who have successfully completed the core curriculum as
defined in Section §301.

D. Certification by Sworn Affidavit. The school board
superintendent or nonpublic high school headmaster or
principal shall certify by sworn affidavit that:

1. all data supplied on the certification form are true and
reflect the official records of the school for the students listed;
and

2. records pertaining to the listed students will be
maintained and available upon request to LASFAC and the
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until
audited, whichever occurs first; and

3. the school board or school under the superintendent's
or principal's jurisdiction will reimburse LASFAC for any
awards disbursed to postsecondary institutions on behalf of
students who were incorrectly certified.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1705. Notification of Certified Students

A. High schools are required to present a certificate of
achievement during the graduation ceremony or other school
reception to students qualifying as recipients of TOPS
Performance and Honors Awards.

B. High schools are required to invite members of the
Louisiana Legislature representing the school's district to
attend the ceremony or reception and make the presentation
awarding the endorsed certificates of achievement.

C. If the certifying authority (school board, principal,
headmaster or State Department of Education) elects to notify
students of their certification, then the following disclaimer
shall be included in any communication to the student:
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"Although you have been certified as academically eligible for a
Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a scholarship under this
program:

1. You must be a Louisiana resident as defined by the Louisiana
Student Financial Assistance Commission; and

2. You must be accepted for enrollment by an eligible Louisiana
college or university or campus of Louisiana Technical College and be
registered as a full-time undergraduate student; and

3. You must annually apply for federal student aid by the deadline
required for consideration for state aid; and

4. You must have met all academic and nonacademic requirements and
be officially notified of your award by the Louisiana Student Financial
Assistance Commission (LASFAC)."
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 19. Responsibilities of Postsecondary

Institutions
§1901. Postsecondary Institution's Eligibility to

Participate
A. Louisiana two- and four-year public colleges and

universities are authorized to participate in the Tuition
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS), Rockefeller State
Wildlife Scholarship, State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG)
and the T.H. Harris Scholarship.

B. Regionally accredited private colleges and universities
which are members of the Louisiana Association of
Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU) are
authorized to participate in TOPS and SSIG. As of November
1997, LAICU membership included Centenary College,
Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola University, Our
Lady of the Lake College of Nursing and Allied Health, Our
Lady of Holy Cross College, Tulane University and Xavier
University.

C. Campuses of Louisiana Technical College are
authorized to participate in TOPS and SSIG.

D. Approved Louisiana proprietary and beauty schools are
authorized to participate in SSIG only.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§1903. Postsecondary Institution Responsibilities

A. Certification of Student Data. Upon request by
LASFAC, and for the purpose of determining an applicant's
eligibil ity for a program award, an institution will report the
following student data:

1. admission and full-time undergraduate enrollment;
and

2. eligibility for, or enrollment in, a course of study
leading to initial teacher certification; and

3. enrollment in math or chemistry as a major while
pursuing teacher certification; and

4. graduate or undergraduate enrollment in wildlife
forestry or marine science; and

5. cumulative college grade point average; and
6. cumulative college credit hours earned;
7. academic year hours earned.

B. Program Billing. Each term, institutions shall bill
LASFAC for students who are recipients of a TOPS Award and
who have enrolled at the institution in accordance with the
following terms and conditions:

1. institutions may bill only for students certified eligible
by LASFAC; and

2. institutions will bill LASFAC based on their
certification that the recipient of a TOPS Award is enrolled full
time, as defined in §301, as of the fourteenth class day (ninth
class day for Louisiana Tech, first class day for campuses of
Louisiana Technical College, and for any qualifying summer
sessions as of the last day to drop and receive a full refund for
the full summer session). Institutions shall not bill for students
who are enrolled less than full time on the fourteenth class day
(ninth class day for Louisiana Tech, first class day for
campuses of Louisiana Technical College, and for any
qualifying summer sessions as of the last day to drop and
receive a full refund for the summer session), unless the
student qualifies for payment for less than full-time enrollment
as defined in §2103.B. Students failing to meet the full-time
enrollment requirement are responsible for reimbursing the
insti tution for any awards received. Refunds of awards to
students who are not receiving federal Title IV aid, for less
than full-time enrollment after the fourteenth class day, shall be
returned to the state. Refunds to students who are receiving
federal Title IV aid shall be refunded to the state in accordance
with the institution's federal Title IV aid refund procedures;
and

3. institutions will not bill LASFAC for any awardee
who has elected to accept a full tuition waiver or award from
another source which is specifically designated for tuition only;
and

4. to prevent the student's total financial assistance from
exceeding the institution's cost of education or some other
limitation established by the institution which may be less than
the cost of education, the institution may reduce the amount of
the award to be paid by the TOPS Opportunity, Performance,
Honors or Teacher Awards and subsequently billed to
LASFAC; and

5. annually, two- and four-year institutions are required
to provide LASFAC a current fee schedule, as defined in §301,
for TOPS billing purposes. The schedule must include:

a. the total cost of tuition, which shall not include any
fees charged by the institution that are in addition to the basic
course enrollment charges, as defined in §301; and

b. an itemized description of the composition of the
mandatory fees listed on the fee schedule must also be
supplied;

6. campuses of Louisiana Technical College are exempt
from furnishing a schedule of fees, but must bill LASFAC on
the first class day of each quarter for three times the monthly
amount established by the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (BESE) for full-time attendance; and

7. certify that the institution will reimburse LASFAC for
any award funds incorrectly disbursed to ineligible students;
and

8. upon the school's certification that a recipient of a
TOPS Award is enrolled full time, institutions may bill for
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and LASFAC will reimburse the institution for each such November 1 for public and LAICU member two- and four-year
recipient as follows: colleges and universities and January 1 for campuses of

a. public two- and four-year colleges and universities Louisiana Technical College and proprietary institutions; and
may bill for an amount up to the maximum amount listed on the b. submit changes to the recipient roster by
approved fee schedule at that institution; completing a replacement roster, provided by LASFAC; and

b. Louisiana Technical College campuses may bill c. certify that if any SSIG funds are released in error
each quarter for three times the monthly amount established by to ineligible students, the institution will either recover the
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) for award amount from the students and refund to LASFAC or
full-time attendance; remit the refund due.

c. LAICU member colleges and universities may bill D. Disbursement of Funds. Upon receipt of award funds
for an amount up to the average public tuition amount, as and prior to their disbursement to students, the institution will:
defined in §301; 1. for TOPS Teacher Award recipients:

d. for recipients of the performance and honors a. verify that the recipient is enrolled full time, in an
awards, institutions may bill LASFAC for the stipend that approved degree program or course of study leading to a
accompanies these awards, in the amounts of $200 or $400 per degree in education or alternative program leading to regular
semester, respectively; certification as a teacher at the elementary or secondary level;

e. Louisiana Technical College campuses may not bill or
LASFAC for stipends. b. if designated as a math or chemistry major, verify

C. Annual Application for Participation in, and enrollment in a course of study leading to certification as a
Certification of Recipients of, the SSIG Program math or chemistry teacher;

1. Annually, LASFAC forwards SSIG institutional 2. for Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship recipients
participation agreements to those schools participating in the verify undergraduate or graduate enrollment, whichever is
program during the prior award year and, upon written applicable to the student, in
requests received, to schools not participating in the SSIG a. wildlife; or
Program during the prior award year. To be eligible for b. forestry; or
allotment of SSIG funds the institution must meet all of the c. marine science; or
following requirements: d. other major specified by the Louisiana Department

a. complete and return the annual SSIG application by of Wildlife and Fisheries as meeting their criteria for receipt of
the specified deadline; and scholarship funds;

b. certify that students and parents will not be charged 3. release award funds by crediting the student's account
a fee for the collection of information used to determine the within 14 days of the institution's receipt of funds or disbursing
student's eligibility for SSIG; and individual award checks to recipients as instructed by

c. certify that students listed on the recipient roster LASFAC. Individual award checks for the T.H. Harris
meet federal, state and institutional specific SSIG eligibility Scholarship, Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, TOPS
criteria; and Teacher Award and SSIG must be released to eligible

d. certify that if the institution's SSIG allotment is recipients within 30 days of receipt by the school or be
based in part on the financial need of independent students, as returned to LASFAC.
defined by the U.S. Department of Education, a reasonable E. Reporting of Academic Data. At the conclusion of each
portion of the institution's allotment is being made available to academic year, the institution will complete and return to
independent students; and LASFAC, a College Academic Grade Report, including but not

e. certify that each SSIG recipient's total package of limited to the following data elements:
aid does not exceed the student's financial need; and 1. academic year hours earned; and

f. certify that SSIG funds recovered from overawards, 2. cumulative hours earned; and
refunds, and/or repayments, as defined in §301, during the 3. cumulative grade point average;
applicable award period shall be returned to LASFAC to be 4. academic standing and, if applicable, date of
reissued to other qualified students. Funds recovered from placement on academic probation; and
overawards, refunds and/or repayments after the applicable 5. upon graduation, degree date and type and name of
award period shall be returned to LASFAC for return to the degree.
U.S. Department or Education and/or the state of Louisiana. F. Records Retention. Records pertaining to the students
The amount of overaward, refund and/or repayment shall be listed on the billing certification form will be subject to audit
determined according to the school's policy established in as required by state statute. Such records will be maintained
accordance with federal regulations. for a minimum of three years and be available upon request to

2. Annually, LASFAC provides eligible institutions an LASFAC and the Louisiana legislative auditor.
official allotment schedule, recipient roster and institution
certification forms. Institutions are required to:

a. complete and return recipient rosters and
institutional certification forms to ensure expenditure of
allotted SSIG awards by the school specific deadlines of

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
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Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions
§2101. Academic Suspension of Awards and

Reinstatement
A. Students denied an award for their failure to maintain involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and

the required cumulative college grade point average and ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment.
academic good standing may be reinstated upon attainment of d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
the required cumulative grade point average and the lifting of file a completed exception request form, with the required
academic probation provided that the period of ineligibility did certification and documentation, within 60 days after the
not persist for more than two years from the date of loss of occurrence of the qualifying exception.
eligibility. e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one academic

B. Students whose TOPS Performance and Honors Awards year per child.
are reinstated are ineligible for annual stipends. 2. Rehabilitation Program

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§2103. Exceptions to the Continuous Enrollment

Requirement
A. Continuous Enrollment Requirement. To maintain

eligibility, all scholarship programs require recipients to
continue to enroll as full-time students, as defined in §301,
each consecutive semester or quarter, excluding summer
sessions and intersession, at two and four year colleges and
universities. Recipients who cannot meet this requirement may
be granted an exception for cause, as determined by LASFAC.

B. Less Than Full-Time Attendance. The LASFAC will
authorize awards under the TOPS Opportunity, Performance,
Honors and Teachers Awards and the T.H. Harris Scholarship
Program for less than full-time enrollment provided that the
student meets all other eligibility criteria and at least one of the
following:

1. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete the
undergraduate degree; or

2. is enrolled in a degree program that defines full time
as less than 12 hours per semester or eight hours per quarter;
or

3. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete
requirements for a specified course of study or clinical
program.

C. Procedure for Requesting Exceptions to the Continuous
Enrollment Requirement

1. Recipient must submit the exception request form,
with documentary evidence, within the deadline specified.

2. If determined eligible for an exception, the recipient
will be awarded if he or she enrolls in the first fall, winter or
sprint term immediately following the exception ending date.

3. If determined ineligible for an exception, subsequent
appeals are to be processed in accordance with LASFAC's
appeal procedures as defined in §2109.

D. Qualifying Exceptions to the Continuous Enrollment
Requirement

1. Parental Leave
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be pregnant

or caring for a newborn or newly-adopted child.
b. Certification Requirements. A completed exception

request form, certified by a written statement from a doctor of
medicine who is legally authorized to practice or an authorized
official of the adoption agency.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing,
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days

a. Definition. The student/recipient must be receiving
rehabilitation in a program administered by a licensed
rehabilitation center under a written individualized plan with
specific dates of beginning and ending services.

b. Certification Requirements. A completed exception
request form, certified by a rehabilitation counselor and doctor
of medicine.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing,
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days
involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and
ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment.

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
file a completed exception request form, with the required
certification and documentation, within 60 days after
occurrence of the qualifying exception.

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two
academic years per occurrence.

3. Temporary Disability
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be

recovering from an accident, injury, illness or required surgery
that did not previously exist when he or she originally applied
for the applicable scholarship and grant program(s), or his or
her pre-existing condition has substantially deteriorated since
the time of application, or the student/recipient's spouse,
dependent, parent or guardian requires continuous care for
similar conditions for at least 60 days due to an accident,
illness, injury or required surgery.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a doctor of
medicine who is legally authorized to practice and by a
completed exception request form.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing,
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days
involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and
ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment.

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
file a completed exception request form, with the required
certification and documentation, within 60 days after
occurrence of the qualifying exception.

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two
academic years for recipient; up to a maximum of one
academic year for care of a disabled dependent, spouse or
parent.

4. Internship/Residency Program
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be enrolled

in a required program that must be completed in order to begin
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professional practice or service; it must be a program where necessity of withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the semester(s)
the student is working toward an appropriate scholarship and or number of days involved, the length of the religious
grant program degree. obligation.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
statement from an internship or residency program official and file a completed exception request form, with the required
a completed exception request form. certification and documentation, within 60 days after accepting

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of or committing to the religious obligation.
required leave of absence from the school's dean, academic e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two
counselor, or major professor stating that the academic years.
residency/internship is a requirement toward fulfilling an 7. Death of Immediate Family Member
appropriate scholarship and grant program degree, and that the a. Definition. The student cannot attend school for at
student has been accepted into the residency/internship least 30 days due to recovering from the death of a spouse,
program, the semester(s) or number of days involved, the parent, guardian, dependent, sister or brother or grandparent.
length of the internship/residency period, the beginning and b. Certification Requirements. A written statement
ending dates of the leave of absence. from the college official, a completed exception request form,

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must and a copy of the death certificate or a doctor's or funeral
file a completed exception request form, with the required director's verifying statement or a copy of the obituary
certification and documentation, within 60 days of notification published in the local newspaper.
of acceptance into the internship. c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of leave

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two of absence from the school's registrar, a doctor's statement if
academic years of required program or study. student/recipient care was needed, the necessity of

5. Cooperative Work/Study Program withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be a of days involved.

registered student in the appropriate school offering the d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
cooperative work/study program. Even though the school may file a completed exception request form with certification and
have entrance requirements for the cooperative work/study documentation requirements within 60 days of the date of
programs, the student/recipient must continue to meet and death.
maintain scholarship and grant program cumulative grade e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one academic
point average requirements. semester or two quarters per death.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written 8. Military Service, Peace Corps, National Service
statement from the college/school official including dates of Corps, VISTA
enrollment and termination and a completed exception request a. Definition. The student/recipient is called on active
form. duty status with the United States Armed Forces or is

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of leave performing emergency state service with the National Guard
of absence from the school's dean, academic counselor, or or is serving in the Peace Corps, National Service Corps or
major professor stating that the student is enrolled in an official VISTA.
cooperative work/study program sponsored by the university, b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written
the semester(s) or number of days involved, the beginning and statement from the commanding officer or regional supervisor
ending dates of the cooperative work/study program. or certified military orders and by a completed exception

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must request form.
file a completed exception request form, with the required c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
certification and documentation, within 60 days of acceptance required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing,
into the cooperative work/study program. dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one academic involved, the length of duty (beginning and ending dates).
year or required program of study. d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must

6. Religious Commitment file a completed exception request form, with the required
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be a member certification and documentation, within 60 days after receipt of

of a religious group that requires the student to perform certain military orders or letter of appointment.
activities or obligations which necessitate taking a leave of e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to the length of
absence from school. the required service period.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written 9. Exceptional Circumstances
statement from the college official, a completed exception a. Definition. The student/recipient has exceptional
request form, and a statement from the religious group's circumstances, other than those listed in §2103.D.1-8, which
governing official. are beyond his immediate control and which necessitates full

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the or partial withdrawal from, or non-enrollment in, an eligible
required leave of absence from the religious group's governing postsecondary institution.
official, a completed exception request form, the b. Certification Requirement. Certified by a notarized

statement and by a completed exception request form.
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c. Acceptable Documentation. The notarized c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the
statement should include attachments of copies of all required leave of absence, the semester(s) or number of days
documents relevant to the exceptional circumstance. involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and

d. Filing Requirement. The student/recipient must file ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment.
a completed exception request form, with the required d. Filing Requirements. The recipient must file a
notarized statement and documentation, within 60 days after written request, with the required certification and
the occurrence of the exceptional circumstance. documentation, within 60 days after occurrence of the

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one academic qualifying treatment.
year. e. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to two

E. Nonqualifying Exceptions. Nonqualifying Exceptions academic years.
include, but are not limited to: 3. Temporary Disability of Recipient, Child, Parent,

1. the student is unaware of the continuation renewal Spouse, or Guardian
requirements for a program and fails to meet such a. Definition. Temporary total disability of recipient
requirements; or recipient's dependent, parent, guardian or spouse of whom

2. the student failed to timely submit an exception recipient is primary care-giver.
request form for an exception to the continuous enrollment b. Certification Requirements. Certification by a
requirement. qualified physician.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment and

Cancellation
A. Monetary Repayment. Recipients of the Rockefeller

State Wildlife Scholarship who do not meet their obligation to
obtain a degree in wildlife, forestry or marine science and
recipients of the TOPS Teacher Award who do not fulfill their
obligation to teach the required number of years and who are
not eligible for Discharge by Cancellation, must repay the loan
principal plus accrued interest as delineated in §§1111 and
911, respectively.

B. Deferment of Repayment Obligation. Recipients of the
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship or TOPS Teacher
Award who are in repayment status may have their payments
deferred for the following reasons:

1. Parental Leave
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be pregnant

or caring for a newborn or newly-adopted child.
b. Certification Requirements. Certification by a

written statement from a doctor of medicine who is legally
authorized to practice or an authorized official of the adoption
agency.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
required leave of absence, the number of days involved, the
length of the recovery period, the beginning and ending dates
of the doctor's care, and the required treatment.

d. Filing Requirements. The recipient must request by
letter, with the required certification and documentation,
within 60 days after the occurrence of the qualifying event.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to one
academic year.

2. Rehabilitation Program
a. Definition. The recipient must be receiving

rehabilitation in a program administered by a licensed
rehabilitation center under a written individualized plan with
specific dates of beginning and ending services.

b. Certification Requirements. Certification by a
rehabilitation counselor or doctor of medicine.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the
required leave, the length of the recovery or disability period,
the beginning and ending dates of the doctor's care, the
required treatment.

d. Filing Requirements. The recipient must file a
written request with the required certification and
documentation no earlier than 30 days but within 60 days after
the occurrence of disability.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. A deferment under
§2105.B.3 for Temporary Disability of the Maker shall not
exceed 36 months. A deferment under §2105.B.3 for
Temporary Disability of any other person shall not exceed 12
months.

4. Military Service, Peace Corps, National Service
Corps, VISTA

a. Definition. The recipient is called on active duty
status with the United States Armed Forces or is performing
emergency state service with the National Guard or is serving
in the Peace Corps, National Service Corps or VISTA.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written
statement from the commanding officer or regional supervisor
or certified military orders.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
required leave of absence, the semester(s) or number of days
involved, the length of duty (beginning and ending dates).

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
file a written request with the required certification and
documentation, within 60 days after receipt of military orders
or letter of appointment.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to the length of
the required service period.

5. Recipient is engaging in a full-time course of study at
an institution of higher education at the baccalaureate level or
higher. A deferment under §2105.B.5 shall not exceed 36
months; or

6. Recipient is:
a. seeking and unable to find full-time employment for

a single period not to exceed 12 months; or
b. seeking and unable to find full-time teaching

employment at a qualifying Louisiana school for a period of
time not to exceed 27 months; or
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C. Cancellation of Repayment Obligation. Upon
submission of applicable proof, loans may be canceled for the
following reasons:

1. death of the recipient;
2. complete and permanent disability of the recipient

which precludes the recipient from gainful employment.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
2107. Funding and Fees

A. Limitation of Terms Funded
1. Routine funding for all Scholarship and Grant

Programs is limited to the fall, winter and spring school terms.
2. Extensions will be granted for the TOPS Opportunity,

Performance, and Honors Awards for an institution's
educational programs that require recipients to attend summer
sessions to complete the program’s mandatory courses when
such courses are not offered during regular terms.

B. Fees. The LASFAC may charge a variable fee not to
exceed $10 for each award check processed for recipients of
the T.H. Harris Scholarship. This fee will be charged only if
the Louisiana Legislature fails to appropriate sufficient state
general funds for administration of this program. The
LASFAC, at its discretion, may automatically deduct the fee
from each T.H. Harris Scholarship award check.

C. Less than Full-Time Attendance. The LASFAC will
authorize awards under the TOPS Opportunity, Performance,
Honors and Teachers Awards and the T.H. Harris Scholarship
Program for less than full-time enrollment provided that the
student meets all other eligibility criteria and at least one of the
following:

1. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete the
undergraduate degree; or

2. is enrolled in a degree program that defines full time
as less than 12 hours per semester or eight hours per quarter;
or

3. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete
requirements for a specified course of study or clinical
program.

D. Insufficient Funds Appropriated
1. All State Scholarship and Grant Program Awards are

contingent upon the annual appropriation of funds by the
Louisiana Legislature.

2. In the event appropriated funds are insufficient to
fully reimburse institutions for tuition awards and stipends for
all students determined eligible for the TOPS Opportunity and
Honors Awards for a given academic year, funding shall be
allocated in the following priority:

a. the number of students to whom awards shall be
made shall be reduced by the number necessary to remain
within budgetary expenditure authority;

b. those students from families with the greatest ability
to pay the student's tuition, as evidenced by the adjusted gross
income reported by the family on the prior year's state and
federal tax returns, shall be denied an award.

c. funding is provided first to those students
determined to have the most need, as evidenced by their
families' smaller adjusted gross income;

d. from among those students otherwise eligible who
are denied an award, those students whose families have the
least capacity to pay, as evidenced by their families' lower
adjusted gross income, shall be the first to receive an award if
monies become available.

E. Stop Payment of Uncleared Checks. The LASFAC may
stop payment on checks which are issued as scholarship or
grant awards but not negotiated by September 1 following the
close of the academic year for which they were issued.

F. Transferability of Funds. A student receiving an award
under the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS),
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship and/or the T.H. Harris
Scholarship may have his award transferred to another
postsecondary institution which is authorized to participate in
these programs, as described in §1901. The student must meet
all continuation requirements and submit a Scholarship and
Grant Transfer Request Form.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§2109. Appeal of Adverse Discretionary Decisions

A. Appeal of Adverse Discretionary Decisions Policy
1. The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance

Commission (LASFAC or commission) has established a
formal appeal process consistent with the Louisiana
Administrative Procedure Act by which aggrieved parties may
appeal an agency adverse discretionary decision. An agency
adverse discretionary decision is a decision made by agency
staff based on an interpretation of legislative or regulatory
intent and which has an adverse impact on an applicant or
participant in a program administered by the commission. An
applicant or program participant who believes the agency has
incorrectly interpreted legislative or regulatory intent in
making a decision and, said decision having adversely affected
the applicant or participant, may file an appeal.

2. The appeal process allows for an initial review or
hearing to be held by a hearing officer or an appeal committee
appointed by the commission, depending upon the level of
review requested.

3. If after the decision of the appeal committee or
hearing officer the appellant is not satisfied, then he will have
the right to seek review of the decision by the full commission.

4. If the commission refuses to review the decision of the
hearing officer or the appeal committee, then the aggrieved
party has the right to seek a rehearing on the matter by the full
commission.

5. If the application for a rehearing is denied, then the
aggrieved party has the right to seek judicial review.

B. Appeal of Adverse Discretionary Decisions Procedure
1. Adverse discretionary decisions made by the

Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance may be
appealed to the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance
Commission.

a. Petitions for appeal must be in writing and filed
within 30 days of notice of the decision or, if no notice is given
within 30 days from becoming aware of or the date the
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aggrieved party should have been aware of the adverse
decision.

b. The appeal must be addressed to the Executive
Director, Office of Student Financial Assistance and sent to
Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202, or hand delivered
to the physical address of LASFAC in Baton Rouge.

c. Appeals may not be supplemented or amended after
the lapse of 30 days. An appellant has the right to file a written
appeal or have his appeal heard orally. Requests for an oral
hearing must be made within the 30-day time period to file the
appeal.

i. If no request for an oral hearing is made, then the
appellant may submit documentation and/or written
memorandum to support his appeal at least 15 days prior to the
review of the commission or the appeal committee appointed
by the commission. Appellant will be notified at least 30 days
prior to the date of the review by the commission or the appeal
committee appointed by the commission. The commission or
the appeal committee will review all the evidence submitted
and render a decision.

ii. If the appellant requests an oral hearing, then
appellant will be given at least 30 days prior notice of the
hearing. The commission shall appoint a hearing officer to hear
the appeal of the appellant. All hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

2. If after the review of the appeal committee or after a
hearing held before the hearing officer a decision adverse to
the appellant is made, then appellant may seek to have the
decision reviewed by the full commission.

a. The application for review must be made within 15
days of appellant receiving notice of the decision. The
appellant may submit exceptions, written arguments or briefs
to support the application for review.

b. No oral hearing shall be held at this level of review.
All action is stayed pending review by the full commission.

i. If the full commission denies the application for
review, then the action becomes final as of the date of the
denial for review.

ii. If the full commission denies the application for
review then it shall set a hearing date to review the decision of
the hearing officer.

3. The appellant may seek a rehearing of an adverse
decision made by the full commission. The request for
rehearing must conform to the provisions and time limits set by
R.S. 49:959. An application for rehearing does not stay any
action taken by the commission.

4. Oral Hearing. All hearings shall be held pursuant to
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq.

a. On the day of the oral hearing appellant and
appellee shall be prepared to start the hearing at the time
specified in the notice of hearing.

b. The hearing may be continued for good cause
provided a written request for extension is received at the
commission at least seven days prior to the date of the hearing.

i. All parties will be notified of a rescheduling or
postponement of the hearing.

ii. Failure to be present at the hearing and ready to
proceed may result in an adverse decision against the
nonappearing party.

iii. Strict rules of evidence will not apply in these
hearings. The appellant shall have the following rights at the
hearing:

(a). the right to present testimony, introduce
evidence, and call witnesses on his behalf;

(b). the right to cross exam witnesses called by the
agency;

(c). the right to subpoena witnesses;
(d). the right to take depositions;
(e). prior to the hearing, the right and the

opportunity to review agency records that are relevant to his
appeal; and to make copies of those records at a cost of $.20
per page;

(f). the right to be represented by counsel.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:

Interested persons may submit written comments on the
statement until 4:30 p.m., February 20, 1998 to Jack L. Guinn,
Executive Director, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202.

Jack L. Guinn
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Tuition Opportunity Program for Students
 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Estimated costs to implement the program for FY 97-98 are

$6,240; for FY 98-99, $13,313,321; and for FY 1999-2000,
$17,723,748. This includes an estimated $6,240 for publication
in the Louisiana Register in FY 1997-98; salaries for three
positions of $114,113 in FY 1998-99, and $118,678 in FY
1999-2000; the costs for operating expenses, equipment, and
professional services are expected to be $64,337 in FY 1998-99
and $37,292 in FY 1999-2000. Also included is $13,134,871 in
FY 1998-99 and $17,567,778 in FY 199-2000 for the
scholarship awards.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No impact on revenue collections is anticipated to result from
this action.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

This proposed rule establishes procedures whereby students
may apply for the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students
(TOPS) award.
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No impact on competition and employment is anticipated to
result from this change.

Jack L. Guinn H. Gordon Monk
Executive Director Staff Director
9801#079 Legislative Fiscal Office

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection

Air Quality Division

Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant Emission Control
Program (LAC 33:III.5101, 5103, 5107, 5112)(AQ169)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division regulations,
LAC 33:III.5101, 5103, 5107, 5122 (AQ169).

This proposed rule revises text to clarify the air toxic
regulations, to correct some misspelled words, to revise
paperwork requirements, and to revise the release reporting
requirements during control equipment bypassing events. The
rule also delists caprolactam from the Toxic Air Pollutants
Supplemental List because EPA delisted this compound from
the Clean Air Act Section 112 list of Hazardous Air Pollutants;
also, there are no sources in Louisiana reporting caprolactam. Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December 1991),

The basis and rationale for this proposed rule is to clarify the
intent of the regulations and to reduce some of the reporting
and paperwork requirements. The basis and rationale for
delisting caprolactam are to mirror the federal regulations.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019(D)(3) and R.S.49:953(G)(3); therefore, no
report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Part III. Air
Chapter 51. Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant

Emission Control Program
Subchapter A. Applicability, Definitions, and General

Provisions
§5101. Applicability

The provisions of this Subchapter apply to the owner or
operator of any major source, as defined herein. The
provisions of LAC 33:III.5105.A, 5107.A, B, and C,
5111.A.4, and 5113 apply to the owner or operator of any
stationary source which was a major source upon promulgation
of this Subchapter but which has achieved minor source status HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
through reduction of emissions and reduction of potential to
emit. Effective upon promulgation of applicable source
category rules in accordance with R.S. 30:2060, the provisions
of this Subchapter apply to the owner or operator of any minor

source, if specified by such rules. The provisions of this
Subchapter do not apply to the consumer use, in a duration and
frequency intended by the manufacturer, of products obtained
through retail commerce, or to activities conducted on
residential property. The provisions of this Subchapter do not
apply to the distribution or application of pesticides.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December 1991),
amended LR 18:1362 (December 1992), LR 23:56 (January 1997),
LR 24:
§5103. Definitions, Units, and Abbreviations

A. The terms in this Subchapter are used as defined in LAC
33:III.111 except for those terms defined herein as follows:

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Major Source— any stationary source (including all
emission points and units of such source located within a
contiguous area and under common control) of air pollutants
that emits, or has the potential to emit, in the aggregate, 10
tons per year or more of any toxic air pollutant or 25 tons per
year or more of any combination of toxic air pollutants listed
in Table 51.2.

* * *
[See Prior Text in A.Maximum Achievable Control Technology

(MACT) - B.4]
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation

amended LR 18:1362 (December 1992), LR 23:57 (January 1997),
LR 24:
§5107. Reporting Requirements, Availability of

Information, and Public Notice Provisions
* * *

[See Prior Text in A-B.1]
2. Emission Control Bypasses. Except as provided in

Subsection B.6 of this Section, for any unauthorized discharge
into the atmosphere of a toxic air pollutant as a result of
bypassing an emission control device, where the emission
control bypass was not the result of an upset, the owner or
operator of the source shall notify the Air Quality Division of
the bypass by telephone no later than 24 hours after the
beginning of the bypass at (504) 765-0219. In the event the
Air Quality Division is unable for any reason(s) to receive the
notification as required, the owner or operator shall notify the
department at (504) 342-1234 within 24 hours after the
beginning of the bypass.

* * *
[See Prior Text in B.3-D.2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December 1991),
amended LR 18:1363 (December 1992), LR 19:890 (July 1993),
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 19:1022 (August 1993),



143 Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

repromulgated LR 19:1142 (September 1993), amended by the
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division,
LR 23:58 (January 1997), LR 24:
§5112. Tables

Table 51.1 Minimum Emission Rates Toxic Air Pollutants

CLASS I - Known and Probable Human Carcinogens

Compounds Cas Number Synonyms Minimum Emission Rate (Pounds/ Year)

* * *
[See Prior Text in Acrylonitrile -Nickel (and compounds) [1]]

Nickel (refinery dust) [1] 7440-02-0 25.0

* * *
[See Prior Text in Propylene Oxide-Vinyl Chloride]

CLASS II - Suspected Human Carcinogens and Known or Suspected Human Reproductive Toxins

Compounds SynonymsCas Minimum Emission Rate Pounds/ Year)
Number

***
[See Prior Text in Acetaldehyde-Trichloroethylene]

Vinylidene Chloride 75-35-4 1, 1-dichloroethylene 1,500.0

* * *
[See Prior Text in Xylene (mixed isomers) [9]-Zinc (and compounds) [1]]

* * *
[See Prior Text in Table 51.1.Class III.Acute and Chronic (Non-Carcinogenic) Toxins-Table 51.2.Explanatory Note [12]]

Table 51.3 Louisiana Toxic Air Pollutants Supplemental List*

Compounds Cas Number Class Synonyms

* * *
[See Prior Text in Acetamide-Bromoform]

Calcium Cyanamide 156-62-7 III

Captan 133-06-2 II

* * *
[See Prior Text in Carbaryl-1,3-Propane Sultone]

beta-Propiolactone 57-57-8 II 2-oxetanone

* * *
[See Prior Text in Propoxur-Vinyl Bromide]

* * * need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
[See Prior Text in Explanatory Notes]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2060 and R.S. 30:2001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:1331 (December 1995),
amended LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on February 27, 1998, at 1:30
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability

Deaville at the address given below or at (504)765-0399.
All interested persons are invited to submit written

comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ169. Such comments
must be received no later than March 6, 1998, at 4:30 p.m.,
and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and
Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge,
LA 70884 or to FAX (504)765-0486. Copies of this proposed
regulation can be purchased at the above referenced address.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.:
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7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA been promulgated. The state is required by Louisiana's part 70
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State Operating Permit Program and 40 CFR part 63, subpart B, to
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA adopt a 112(g) program that complies with the requirements of
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501 40 CFR part 63, sections 63.40-63.44. This proposed rule,
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma adopting and implementing the 112(g) program, carries out
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet those requirements by requiring new major sources of air
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/olaeregs.htm. toxics to do MACT prior to EPA establishing a federal MACT

Gus Von Bodungen with direction and instruction in regards to applicability
Assistant Secretary determinations, application requirements, and administrative

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant Emission
Control Program

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No implementation costs (savings) from this proposed rule on

state or local government are anticipated. Continued failure to adopt this rule could result in EPA
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There is no effect on state or local governmental revenue

collections from this rulemaking.
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS

TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

No costs and no significant economic benefits on
nongovernmental groups by this rulemaking are anticipated.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There is no effect on competition and employment from this
rulemaking.

Gus Von Bodungen Richard W. England
Assistant Secretary Assistant to the
9801#045 Legislative Fiscal Office

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection

Air Quality Division

Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP) Control Technology
Requirements for New Sources (LAC 33:III.551)(AQ168)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division regulations, LAC
33:III.551 (AQ168). Available Information— for the purposes of identifying

As required by section 112(g) of the Clean Air Act, all new control technology options for the affected source, information
major sources of air toxics are required to have a case-by-case contained in the following information sources as of the date of
maximum achievable control technology (MACT) approval of the MACT determination by the department:
determination when no federal MACT emission limitation has

standard. This proposed rule provides the affected facilities

procedures. In addition to adopting and implementing this
proposed rule by June 28, 1998, the department must also
certify to EPA that this program meets all requirements in 40
CFR part 63, sections 63.40-63.44. In the event the state fails
to adopt this program, the state may still be able to make the
case-by-case MACT determinations, or they may request that
EPA make these determinations.

The basis and rationale for this proposed rule are to comply
with the requirements of Louisiana's part 70 Operating Permit
Program to adopt and implement the 112(g) program.

sanctions for the state's failure to adequately administer and
enforce Louisiana's part 70 Operating Permit Program.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S.
30:2019(D)(3) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic
costs is required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Part III. Air
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures
§551. Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP) Control

Technology Requirements for New Sources
A. Applicability. The provisions of this Section apply to

any owner or operator who constructs or reconstructs a major
source of hazardous air pollutants after June 29, 1998. The
provisions of this Section do not apply to major sources
specifically regulated or exempted from regulation under a
standard issued in accordance with section 112(d), 112(h), or
112(j) of the Clean Air Act and incorporated in 40 CFR part
63 or to major sources for which the owner or operator has
received all necessary air quality permits for construction or
reconstruction prior to June 29, 1998.

B. Definitions. The terms used in this Section have the
meaning given to them in LAC 33:III.111 and 5103, the Clean
Air Act, and 40 CFR part 63, subpart A except for those terms
defined herein as follows:

Affected Source— the stationary source or group of
stationary sources that, when fabricated, erected, or installed
(on-site), meets the definition of "construct a major source" or
the definition of "reconstruct a major source" contained in this
Section.
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a. a relevant proposed regulation, including all v. if any commentor has asserted that a prior BACT,
supporting information; LAER, T-BACT, or state air toxic rule MACT determination

b. background information documents for a draft or is no longer adequate, the department shall determine that the
proposed regulation; level of control required by that prior determination remains

c. data and information available for the Control adequate; and
Technology Center developed in accordance with section 113 vi. any emission limitations, work practice
of the Clean Air Act; requirements, or other terms and conditions upon which the

d. data and information contained in the Aerometric above determinations by the department are applicable
Information Retrieval System, including information in the requirements under section 504(a) of the Clean Air Act either
MACT database; have been incorporated into any existing Title V permit for the

e. any additional information that can be expeditiously affected facility or will be incorporated into such permit upon
provided by the administrator; and issuance.

f. for the purpose of determinations by the
department, any additional information provided by the
applicant or others and any additional information considered
available by the department.

Construct a Major Source— a. reduce the quantity of, or eliminate emissions of,
a. to fabricate, erect, or install at any greenfield site a such pollutant through process changes, substitution of

stationary source or group of stationary sources that is located materials, or other modifications;
within a contiguous area and under common control and that b. enclose systems or processes to eliminate
emits, or has the potential to emit, 10 tons per year of any HAP emissions;
or 25 tons per year of any combination of HAPs; or c. collect, capture, or treat such pollutants when

b. to fabricate, erect, or install at any developed site a released from a process, stack, storage, or fugitive emissions
new process or production unit that in and of itself emits, or point;
has the potential to emit, 10 tons per year of any HAP or 25 d. are design, equipment, work practice, or
tons per year of any combination of HAPs, unless the process operational standards (including requirements for operator
or production unit satisfies the following criteria: training or certification) as provided in 42 U.S.C. 7412(h); or

i. all HAPs emitted by the process or production
unit that would otherwise be controlled under the requirements
of this Section are controlled by emission control equipment
that was previously installed at the same site as the process or
production unit;

ii. the department determines:
(a). within a period of five years prior to the

fabrication, erection, or installation of the process or
production unit, that the existing emission control equipment
represents the best available control technology (BACT),
lowest achievable emission rate (LAER) under 40 CFR part 51
or 52, toxics-best available control technology (T-BACT), or
MACT based on state air toxics rules for the category of
pollutants that includes those HAPs to be emitted by the
process or production unit; or

(b). that the control of HAP emissions provided by
the existing equipment will be equivalent to that level of
control currently achieved by other well-controlled similar
sources (i.e., equivalent to the level of control that would be
provided by a current BACT, LAER, T-BACT, or state air
toxic rule determination);

iii. the department determines that the percent
control efficiency for emissions of HAP from all sources to be
controlled by the existing control equipment will be equivalent
to the percent control efficiency provided by the control
equipment prior to the inclusion of the new process or
production unit;

iv. the department provides notice and an
opportunity for public comment concerning its determination
that criteria in §551.B.Construct a Major Source.b.i-iii apply
and concerning the continued adequacy of any prior BACT,
LAER, T-BACT, or state air toxic rule MACT determination;

Control Technology— measures, processes, methods,
systems, or techniques to limit the emissions of HAPs through
process changes, substitution of materials, or other
modifications which:

e. are the combination of §551.B.Control
Technology.a-d.

Electric Utility Steam Generating Units— any fossil
fuel-fired combustion unit, of more than 25 megawatts, that
serves a generator that produces electricity and supplies more
than one third of its potential electrical output capacity and
more than 25 megawatts electrical output to any utility power
distribution system for sale.

Greenfield Site— a contiguous area under common control
that is an undeveloped site.

Maximum Achievable Control Technology (MACT)
Emission Limitation for New Sources— the emission limitation
that is not less stringent that the emission limitation achieved
in practice by the best controlled similar source and that
reflects the maximum degree of reduction in emissions that the
department, taking into consideration the cost of achieving
such emission reduction and any non-air quality health and
environmental impacts and energy requirements, determines is
achievable by the constructed or reconstructed major source.

Process or Production Unit— any collection of structures
and/or equipment that processes, assembles, applies, or
otherwise uses material inputs to produce or store an
intermediate or final product. A single facility may contain
more than one process or production unit.

Reconstruct a Major Source— the replacement of
components at an existing process or production unit that in
and of itself emits, or has that potential to emit, 10 tons per
year of any HAP or 25 tons per year of any combination of
HAPs whenever:

a. the fixed capital cost of the new components
exceeds 50 percent of the fixed capital cost that would be
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required to construct a comparable process or production unit; permit application requiring a case-by-case MACT
and determination concerning construction or reconstruction of a

b. it is technically and economically feasible for the major source and all subsequent review of and actions taken
reconstructed major source to meet the applicable maximum concerning such an application by the department:
achievable control technology emission limitation for new 1. the MACT emission limitation or MACT
sources established under this Subsection. requirements recommended by the applicant and approved by

Research and Development Activities— activities
conducted at a research or laboratory facility whose primary
purpose is to conduct research and development into new
processes and products, where such source is operated under
the close supervision of technically trained personnel and is
not engaged in the manufacture of products for sale or
exchange for commercial profit, except in a de minimis
manner.

Similar Source— a stationary source or process that has
comparable emissions and is structurally similar in design and
capacity to a constructed or reconstructed major source such
that the source could be controlled using the same control
technology.

C. Exemptions and Prohibitions. The requirements of this
Section do not apply to:

1. electric utility steam generating units unless and until
such time as these units are added to the source category list in
accordance with section 112(c)(5) of the Clean Air Act;

2. stationary sources that are within a source category
that has been deleted from the source category list in
accordance with section 112(c)(9) of the Clean Air Act; and

3. research and development activities, as defined
herein.

D. Source Obligation
1. No person may begin actual construction or

reconstruction of a major source of hazardous air pollutants
after June 29, 1998, unless the owner or operator obtains or
revises a permit issued in accordance with Louisiana's part 70
Program (LAC 33:III.507) and follows the administrative
procedures of that program; and

a. the department has made a final and effective
case-by-case determination in accordance with the provisions
of this Section such that emissions from the affected source
will be controlled to a level no less stringent than the MACT
emission limitation for new sources; or

b. the major source in question is specifically
regulated by or exempted from regulation under a standard
issued in accordance with section 112(d), 112(h), or 112(j) of
the Clean Air Act and incorporated in 40 CFR part 63.

2. The owner or operator may request approval of
case-by-case MACT determinations for alternative operating
scenarios. Approval of such data satisfies the requirements of
this Section for each such scenario.

3. The MACT emission limitation and requirements
established shall be effective as required by, supported by
information listed in §551.E and consistent with principles
established in §551.E. The owner or operator shall comply
with requirements in §551.G and J, and with all applicable
requirements in 40 CFR part 63, subpart A.

E. Principles of Case-by-Case MACT Determinations. The
following general principles shall govern preparation of each

the department shall not be less stringent than the emission
control that is achieved in practice by the best controlled
similar source as determined by the department;

2. based upon available information, the MACT
emission limitation and control technology (including any
requirements under §551.E.3) recommended by the applicant
and approved by the department shall achieve the maximum
degree of reduction in emissions of hazardous air pollutants
that can be achieved by utilizing those control technologies
that can be identified from the available information, taking
into consideration the costs of achieving such emission
reduction, any non-air quality health and environmental
impacts, and energy requirements associated with the emission
reduction;

3. the applicant may recommend a specific design,
equipment, work practice, operational standard, or a
combination thereof. The department may approve such a
standard based on these recommendations if the department
specifically determines that it is not feasible to prescribe or
enforce an emission limitation as defined herein; and

4. if the administrator has either proposed a relevant
emission standard in accordance with section 112(d) or 112(h)
of the Clean Air Act or adopted a presumptive MACT
determination for the source category that includes the
constructed or reconstructed major source, then the MACT
requirements applied to the affected source shall have
considered those MACT emission limitations and requirements
of the proposed standard or presumptive MACT determination.

F. Application Requirements for Case-by-Case MACT
Determination

1. The application shall specify a control technology
selected by the owner or operator that, if properly operated and
maintained, will meet the MACT emission limitation or
standard as determined by §551.E.

2. In the event that an affected source would require
addit ional control technology or a change in control
technology, the application for a MACT determination shall
contain the following information:

a. identifying information, including company name,
physical address and mailing address, facility name and
address, if different from the company, a map showing the
location of the facility, owner's and operator's names and agent,
and telephone number and name of plant manager or contact;

b. a brief description of the major source to be
constructed or reconstructed and identification of any listed
source category or categories in which it is included;

c. the expected commencement date for the affected
source;

d. the expected completion date for the affected
source;
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e. the anticipated date of start-up for the affected determination in accordance with this Section, the owner or
source; operator of the source(s) shall comply with the promulgated

f. the hazardous air pollutant emitted by the affected standard or determination rather than any MACT
source and the estimated emission rate for each such hazardous determination in accordance with this Section and the owner or
air pollutant, to the extent this information is needed by the operator shall comply with the promulgated standard by the
department to determine MACT; compliance date in the promulgated standard.

g. any federally enforceable emission limitations 2. If the administrator promulgates an emission standard
applicable to the affected source; under Section 112(d) or 112(h) of the Clean Air Act or the

h. the maximum and expected utilization of capacity department makes a determination under section 112(j) of the
of the affected source, to the extent this information is needed Clean Air Act that is applicable to a stationary source or group
by the department to determine MACT; of sources that was deemed to be an affected source under this

i. the controlled emissions for the affected source in Section and has been subject to a prior case-by-case MACT
tons per year at expected and maximum utilization of capacity, determination in accordance with this Section and the owner or
to the extent this information is needed by the department to operator obtained a final and legally effective case-by-case
determine MACT; MACT determination prior to the promulgation date of such

j. a recommended emission limitation for the affected emission standard, then the department shall issue an initial
source consistent with the principles set forth in Subsection E operating permit that incorporates the emission standard or
of this Section; determination or revise the operating permit according to the

k. the selected control technology to meet the reopening procedures in LAC 33:III.529, whichever is
recommended MACT emission limitation, including technical relevant, to incorporate the emission standard or
information on the design, operation, size, and estimated determination.
control efficiency of the control technology (and the a. The EPA may include in the emission standard
manufacturer's name, address, telephone number, and relevant established under section 112(d) or 112(h) of the Clean Air
specifications and drawings, if requested by the department); Act a specific compliance date for those sources that have

l. supporting documentation including identification obtained a final and legally effective MACT determination in
of alternative control technologies considered by the applicant accordance with this Section and that have submitted the
to meet the emission limitation, and analysis of cost and information required by this Section to the EPA before the
non-air quality health environmental impacts or energy close of the public comment period for the standards
requirements for the selected control technology; and established under section 112(d) of the Clean Air Act. Such

m. any other relevant information required in date shall assure that the owner or operator shall comply with
accordance with 40 CFR part 63, subpart A. the promulgated standard as expeditiously as practicable, but

3. In the event that an affected source will be in not longer than eight years after such standard is promulgated.
compliance, upon start-up, with the case-by-case MACT In that event, the department shall incorporate the applicable
provisions in accordance with this Section without a change in compliance date in the part 70 permit.
control technology, the application for a MACT determination b. If no compliance date has been established in the
shall also contain documentation of the control technology in promulgated 112(d) or section 112(h) standard or section
place. 112(j) determination of the Clean Air Act, for those sources

G. Compliance with MACT Determination. An owner or that have obtained a final and legally effective MACT
operator of an affected source that has obtained a MACT determination in accordance with this Section, then the
determination shall be deemed to be in compliance with department shall establish a compliance date in the permit that
section 112(g)(2)(B) of the Clean Air Act only to the extent assures that the owner or operator shall comply with the
that the affected source is in compliance with all part 70 permit promulgated standard or determination as expeditiously as
requirements. Any violation of such requirements by the owner practicable, but not longer than eight years after such standard
or operator shall be deemed by the department and by EPA to is promulgated or a section 112(j) determination is made.
be a violation of the prohibition on construction or 3. Notwithstanding the requirements of §551.H.1 and 2,
reconstruction in section 112(g)(2)(B) for whatever period the if the administrator promulgates an emission standard under
owner or operator is determined to be in violation of such section 112(d) or 112(h) of the Clean Air Act or the
requirements, and shall subject the owner or operator to department issues a determination under section 112(j) of the
appropriate enforcement action under the Clean Air Act. Clean Air Act that is applicable to a stationary source or group

H. Requirement for Affected Source Subject to a of sources that was deemed to be an affected source under this
Subsequently Promulgated MACT Standard or MACT Section and that is the subject of a prior case-by-case MACT
Requirement determination in accordance with this Section, and the level of
 1. If the administrator promulgates an emission standard control required by the emission standard issued under section
under section 112(d) or 112(h) of the Clean Air Act or the 112(d) or 112(h) or the determination issued under section
department issues a determination under section 112(j) of the 112(j) is less stringent than the level of control required by any
federal Clean Air Act that is applicable to a stationary source emission limitation or standard in the prior MACT
or group of sources that would be deemed to be an affected determination, the department is not required to incorporate
source under this Section before the date that the owner or any less stringent terms of the promulgated standard in the part
operator has obtained a final and legally effective MACT 70 permit applicable to such source(s) and may in its
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discretion consider any more stringent provisions of the prior
MACT determination to be applicable legal requirements
when issuing or revising such an operating permit.

I. Effective Date of MACT Determination. The effective
date of a MACT determination shall be the date of issuance of
a part 70 permit incorporating a MACT determination.

J. Compliance Date. On and after the date of start-up, an
affected source that is subject to the requirements of this
Section shall be in compliance with all applicable EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
requirements specified in the MACT determination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 and 2060.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on February 27, 1998, at 1:30
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ168. Such comments
must be received no later than March 6, 1998, at 4:30 p.m.,
and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and
Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge,
LA 70884 or to FAX (504) 765-0486.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.:
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/olaeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP) Control
Technology Requirements for New Sources

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
No significant effect of this proposed rule on state or local

government expenditures is anticipated. The proposed rule will
update state regulations to maintain equivalency with federal
regulations.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No significant effect of this proposed rule on state or local
governmental revenue collections is anticipated.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

This regulation would require a new major source of air toxins
to install maximum achievable control technology (MACT)

upon startup. The MACT determination is to fill the gap
between the startup of the facility and the promulgation of a
federal MACT standard. Eventually, all facilities installing
MACT due to this rulemaking would have been required to
install MACT in the future. If the State fails to adopt this
program, EPA will still require that these facilities do MACT.
Therefore there are no additional costs or benefits to directly
affected persons.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

No significant effect of this proposed amendment on
competition and employment is anticipated.

Gus Von Bodungen Richard W. England
Assistant Secretary Assistant to the
9801#044 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection

Air Quality Division

Refinery Vacuum Producing Systems
Exemption (LAC 33:III.2139)(AQ167)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division regulations,
LAC 33:III.2139 (AQ167).

Refinery vacuum producing systems shall be exempt from
the requirements of LAC 33:III.2139 if controls are installed
and maintained in accordance with a more stringent regulation.
The basis and rationale for this proposed rule are to change
LAC 33:III.2139 in order to eliminate unnecessary
recordkeeping and reporting requirements. Facilities affected
by the proposed change will comply with one set of reporting
and recordkeeping requirements rather than two.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019(D)(3) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no
report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Part III. Air
Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic

Compounds
Subchapter G. Petroleum Refinery Operations
§2139. Refinery Vacuum Producing Systems

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-B]

C. Exemptions. This Section does not apply to refinery
vacuum producing systems that are required by another federal
or state regulation to implement controls that reduce VOCs to
a more stringent standard than would be required by this
Section.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division,
LR 17:654 (July 1991), LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on February 27, 1998, at
1:30 p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326,
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810.
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals
with a disability need an accommodation in order to
participate, contact Patsy Deaville at the address given below
or at (504)765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ167. Such comments
must be received no later than March 6, 1998, at 4:30 p.m.,
and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and
Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge,
LA 70884 or to FAX (504) 765-0486.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.:
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/olaeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Refinery Vacuum Producing Systems
Exemption

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no costs or savings to state or local

governmental units for this proposal.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or local

governmental units as a result of this rule.
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Regulated facilities affected by the proposed rulemaking will
have the benefit of fewer recordkeeping and reporting
requirements.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This proposal will not have any known effect on competition
and employment.

Gus Von Bodungen Richard W. England
Assistant Secretary Assistant to the
9801#043 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of the Secretary

Laboratory Accreditation
(LAC 33:I.Chapters 45-57)(OS007)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Office of the Secretary regulations, LAC
33:I.Subpart 3 (OS007).

The laboratory accreditation rule will require accreditation
of commercial environmental laboratories by DEQ every three
years. The accreditation program will require third-party
laboratory audits, submission of samples for independent
analysis, and inspections of regulated laboratories. The rule
will also provide for quality assurance/quality control
procedures, laboratory personnel qualifications, and sampling
protocol and integrity. This proposed rule and the
accompanying program will enhance the accuracy, reliability,
and veracity of environmental laboratory data in the state. This
will help to promote and maintain public, government, and
customer confidence in laboratory data in Louisiana. The
program will also promote improved permitting and
enforcement indirectly by promoting quality data.

The basis and rationale for this proposed rule are to
implement R.S. 30:2012.D(22), which provide for the
secretary to promulgate regulations for certification of
commercial laboratories that provide chemical analysis,
analytical results, or other appropriate test data to the
department required as part of any permit application, by any
order of the agency, to be included in any monitoring report
submitted to the agency, or by any regulation of the agency.

The department has submitted a report to the Legislative
Fiscal Office and the Joint Legislative Committee on the
budget demonstrating that the environmental and public health
benefits outweigh the social and economic costs reasonably
expected to result from the proposed rule. This report is
published in the Potpourri Section of this issue of the
Louisiana Register.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Part I. Office of the Secretary
Subpart 3. Laboratory Accreditation

Chapter 45. Policy and Intent
§4501. Description and Intent of Program

A. These regulations provide requirements for an
accreditation program specifically applicable to commercial
laboratories and federal, state, and local government
laboratories performing analyses reportable to the Louisiana
Department of Environmental Quality (the department). The
department laboratory accreditation program is designed to
ensure the accuracy, precision, and reliability of the data
generated, as well as the use of department-approved
methodologies in the generation of that data. Laboratory data
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generated by commercial environmental laboratories that are the use of department-approved methodology for the
not accredited under these regulations will not be accepted by generation of the data, and the utilization of an acceptable
the department. quality control/quality assurance program to document the

B. This accreditation covers the following fields of testing: quality of the data produced.
1. air emissions;
2. wastewater/surface water;
3. groundwater;
4. solid/hazardous wastes;
5. soils, sediments, and sludges;
6. biological materials;
7. radiologicals/radioassays; and
8. bioassays/biomonitoring/toxicological testing.

C. Each field of testing is divided into test categories.
Applications for accreditation may be made for one or more
test categories within specified fields of testing. To apply the
laboratory must identify the specific department-approved
methods it will be using for each test category and participate
in all relevant department-approved proficiency testing
programs. Any variance from approved protocol or procedure
is acceptable only with prior written confirmation by the
department.

D. Applicants must have an acceptable quality control
system and associated documentation. Accreditation earned
from other states or regulatory agencies may be accepted by
the department, provided that a review shows that the
requirements are no less stringent than those required by these
regulations. Reciprocity with other state accreditation
programs will be reviewed by the department, and if the
requirements of these regulations are met, then accreditation
may be granted.

E. This Subpart shall not apply to laboratory analyses
programs accredited under the regulatory and statutory
authority of the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4503. Definitions

When used in these rules and regulations, the following
words and phrases shall have the meanings ascribed to them
below:

Accreditation— the formal recognition by the department
of a laboratory's competence wherein specific tests or types of
tests can be accurately and successfully performed in
compliance with all minimum requirements set forth in these
regulations.

Annual Renewal Date— July 1.
Applicant— the laboratory requesting accreditation.
Commercial Laboratory— any laboratory that performs

analyses or tests for third parties for a fee or other
compensation, except those commercial laboratories
accredited by the Department of Health and Hospitals in
accordance with R.S. 49:1001 et seq.

Department— the Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality.

Department Accreditation Program— a program
insti tuted by the department by which a laboratory that
generates data for submittal to any area of the department may
be deemed an accredited laboratory producing acceptable data,
based upon the accuracy and reliability of the generated data,

Department-Approved Testing Methods— the laboratory
and field procedures that have been approved by the
department. These include all EPA-recognized methods, as
well as those deemed equivalent by the department, that are
adopted from existing standards and regulations or developed
for specific fields of testing, specific testing technologies, or
specific types of tests. This refers to the methods cited in the
40 CFR and subsequent changes published in the Federal
Register from such sources as U.S. EPA, Standard Methods
for the Examination of Water and Wastewater, ASTM,
NIOSH, SW-846, American Public Health Association for
Microbiological Methods, USGS, AOAC, and alternate test
procedures approved for use.

Discreditation— the revocation by the department of the
formal recognition of the laboratory's accredited status because
of a violation of LAC 33:I.5705.F.

EPA— the United States Environmental Protection
Agency.

EPA-Accepted Methods— the methods cited in the 40 CFR
and subsequent changes published in the Federal Register;
from such sources as EPA, Standard Methods for the
Examination of Water and Wastewater, ASTM, NIOSH,
SW846, American Public Health Association for
Microbiological Methods, USGS, AOAC, and alternate test
procedures approved for nationwide use, as well as any method
approved by the department.

Field of Testing— air emissions; wastewater/surface water;
groundwater; soils, sediments, and sludges; solid/ hazardous
wastes; biological materials; radiologicals/ radioassays; and
bioassays/biomonitoring/toxicological testing.

Laboratory— any facility, whether fixed-based, mobile, or
field, that analyzes environmental samples and that seeks
accreditation by the department.

Laboratory Representative— the laboratory employee who
is designated as the contact person responsible for the
information provided in the application and for ensuring
compliance with the requirements for accreditation.

Mobile Laboratory— any facility that analyzes
environmental samples and that seeks accreditation by the
department that is capable of moving or being moved from one
site to another.

NIST— National Institute of Standards and Technology.
NRC— Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
Pending Accreditation— a status that exists in the

accreditation process wherein all application requirements
have been met by the laboratory, but formal accreditation
status has not been granted by the department.

Proficiency Evaluation Test Sample (PE)— a sample of
known composition (unknown to laboratory) provided by an
external source (e.g., EPA) that is used to evaluate lab
performance.

Reaccreditation— the reinstatement of a fully accredited
status by the department, thereby signifying that all violations
of LAC 33:I.5705.F that initiated the discreditation action have
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been corrected and that the laboratory is deemed in compliance address and telephone number. The applicant laboratory must
with requirements of these regulations. have the staff and resources in order to satisfactorily

Reciprocity— a method of obtaining accreditation,
whereby the applicant laboratory provides documentation that
demonstrates that its current certification or accreditation is no
less stringent than required by these regulations. All fees
associated with accreditation in the state of Louisiana shall be
applicable. Laboratories located within the state of Louisiana
shall be required to apply for a certification and shall not be
eligible for reciprocity.

Small Laboratory— a laboratory consisting of 10 or fewer
people who influence the quality of data from sample
collection through report generation.

Suspension— a temporary removal by the department of
the accredited status, in part or whole, of a laboratory because
of an infraction(s) of LAC 33:I.5705.F until such time that the
infraction(s) is satisfactorily corrected and the laboratory is
returned to a fully accredited status or the infraction(s) is not
corrected and the laboratory is discredited.

Test Category— any one of the 10 categories listed in LAC
33:I.4705.B in which a laboratory may request department
accreditation for a specific test or analysis.

Variance— any deviation from a department-approved
method that has the potential for affecting the analytical results
generated from a test procedure.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
Chapter 47. Program Requirements
§4701. Accreditation Process

A. The department accreditation process comprises four
basic steps:

1. the submittal to the department of a written request
from the laboratory in the form of an application provided by
the department, along with payment of all applicable fees;

2. an on-site assessment/evaluation of the laboratory
submitting the request/application by authorized
representatives of the department with the appropriate
laboratory background;

3. the successful participation in department-approved
applicable proficiency evaluations; and

4. both periodic technical evaluation of the laboratory
and periodic submittal by the laboratory of written
documentation that all requirements of the department
accreditation program are being fulfilled in order to maintain
accreditation.

B. When all requirements for accreditation have been
successfully fulfilled, the department shall grant the applicant
laboratory a formal notice of accreditation and a certificate of
accreditation that lists those parameters for which the
laboratory is accredited. The certificate of accreditation must
be posted within public view in the laboratory setting.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4703. Application for Accreditation

A. An applicant for environmental laboratory accreditation
must be legally identifiable and possess a permanent business

accomplish those analyses/tests for which accreditation is
requested.

B. An application for environmental laboratory
accreditation shall be made in writing to the department. This
application will provide all requested information and be
accompanied by the appropriate application fee. Information
will include at least one round of the most recent
department–specified proficiency evaluation test results or an
analytical data package for test categories where no accessible
proficiency tests exist. Supplemental information may be
required.

C. Laboratories maintained on separate premises, even
though operated under the same management, shall be required
to maintain distinct accreditation. If a laboratory is located
outside of the state of Louisiana, it shall be considered a
separate and distinct laboratory and shall require individual
accreditation. Separate accreditation is not required for
buildings on the same or adjoining grounds. If a mobile
laboratory is operating independently within the state, separate
accreditation may be necessary.

D. Each laboratory must identify an official to represent it
in all matters related to attaining and maintaining
environmental laboratory accreditation. This official is the
point of contact with the laboratory and is known as the
laboratory representative. The laboratory representative may
be any senior person from either the technical or managerial
staff. The laboratory representative should be in a position of
authority to ensure that the laboratory complies with the
criteria and conditions for accreditation and should have the
authority to bind the company in a legal manner.

E. In cases where all application requirements have been
met, including review of all methodology and quality assurance
program data, a special status of "pending accreditation" may
be granted at the discretion of the department. Before a
laboratory is granted full accreditation, all requirements of
these regulations must be met.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4705. Categories of Accreditation

A. At the time of application each applicant must clearly
identify both the fields of testing and the test categories for
which accreditation is sought. A copy of the relevant test
method documentation and the requisite equipment for the
method must be available at the laboratory. A current list of
approved methodologies for each parameter/analyte will be
maintained by the department accreditation office, and a copy
of the list will become a part of the application package. In
cases were the methodology used by the laboratory is not
listed, the laboratory shall submit documentation that will
verify that the results obtained from the method in use are
equal to or better than those results obtained from the
approved methodology. The department will review the data
submitted by the laboratory and will notify the laboratory in
writing within 60 calendar days if the method is acceptable or
unacceptable as an alternate method of analysis.
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B. A laboratory may apply for accreditation in any one or
more of the eight fields of testing (e.g., air emissions,
wastewater/surface water, etc.) and in one or more of the 10
test categories applicable to the field(s) of testing selected. The
laboratory shall be accredited in those parameters within the
test category(ies) for which the laboratory demonstrates
acceptable performance on proficiency samples (when
available) and meets all other requirements of the department
accreditation program. The accreditation test categories are as
follows:

1. metals;
2. air pollutants (including industrial hygiene and Toxic

Organic Compounds (T.O.) methods);
3. nutrients, minerals, ions, demands, classical wet

chemistry, and total and fecal coliform;
4. microbiology (including fecal coliform and total

coliform);
5. bioassay and biomonitoring;
6. organics (including volatiles, semi-volatiles,

pesticides, herbicides, and PCBs);
7. dioxins and furans;
8. radiochemistry and radio assay;
9. asbestos; and
10. minor conventional parameters-BOD , oil and grease,5

TSS, pH, fecal and total coliform, and residual chlorine.
C. An accredited laboratory may request the addition of

field(s) of testing and test category(ies) to its scope of
accreditation at any time. Such a request must be submitted in
writing to the department. Unless the previous on-site
inspection can verify the competence of the laboratory to
perform the additional tests, another on-site inspection may be
required.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4707. Fees

A. Testing laboratories applying for accreditation or
renewal of accreditation shall submit the appropriate fee
calculated from the fee schedule along with the required
application or update materials. Fees are nonrefundable. Fees
are based on test categories and not the fields of testing.

B. In-house laboratories owned and/or operated by the
state, local, or federal government are exempt from the fee
requirements paid to the department, but shall make
appropriate application for accreditation in accordance with
other provisions of these regulations. Required proficiency
samples shall be purchased by the laboratory and the required
third-party audit shall be billed directly to the laboratory.

C. The annual fees shall not be prorated and shall apply in
full to any portion of the fiscal year that remains prior to the
annual renewal date (July 1).

D. The following basic fee structure will be used in
determining the initial or annual fees due to the department:

Accreditation application fee payable every $500
three years

Per major test category payable every year $250

Minor conventional category payable every $200
year

Annual surveillance and evaluation applicable $250
to minor conventional facilities and facilities
applying for only one category of accreditation

Proficiency samples biannually to be purchased by the
laboratory

Bioassay/biomonitoring annually to be purchased by the
laboratory

Third-party audit to be billed directly to
the laboratory

E. Additional fees may be charged for the expansion of
accreditation to include new test categories. Fees must be
received prior to granting accreditation. Fee assessment will
depend on the category(ies) of analyses and the need for a
supplemental on-site inspection.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4709. Inspection of Laboratory

A. As a condition of obtaining and maintaining
accreditation, a laboratory shall permit and facilitate
inspections by personnel or designated representatives of the
department. The specific requirements of an on-site inspection
are outlined in LAC 33:I.Chapter 51.

B. Inspectors shall conform to appropriate safety
procedures during an on-site inspection. The authorized
representatives of the department who perform the on-site
evaluation must be experienced professionals and hold at least
a bachelor's degree in a science-related field with technical
experience in a laboratory. The representative(s) must
successfully complete a laboratory certification course
presented by the United States Environmental Protection
Agency, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, or
other department-approved training group.

C. Regular inspections of accredited laboratories shall be
conducted at intervals of not more than two years. Such
inspections shall be conducted by representatives of the
department upon presentation of credentials. Prior to granting
initial accreditation and after all documentation provided to the
department has been reviewed, an announced on-site
laboratory inspection shall be performed.

D. Inspections may include on-site proficiency test
sample(s) analyses but shall not exceed 10 percent of the test
category(ies). If there is a cost for these samples, the
department will bill the laboratory, and the laboratory shall
remit within 30 calendar days.

E. Laboratories that utilize mobile and/or field laboratories
shall not be required to certify each laboratory individually.
The mobile and/or field facilities shall be considered a part of
the fixed-based laboratory and shall be required to participate
in performance evaluation studies. Mobile and/or field
laboratories shall not be exempt from any applicable
requirements of an on-site evaluation as outlined in LAC
33:I.Chapter 5l. Mobile and/or field laboratories may be
inspected at the discretion of the department. In the event an
organization is composed entirely of mobile and/or field
laboratories and no fixed-based laboratory exists, the business
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address of the organization shall be utilized as the location for
accreditation purposes.

F. Fixed-base laboratories that have moved to a new
location shall be inspected within 30 calendar days after the
laboratory has notified the department, in writing, of such
change in location as required in LAC 33:I.5707.

G. The department shall reserve the right to inspect or
observe the testing procedure(s) of the laboratory if such
action is deemed necessary by the department.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4711. Proficiency Testing Participation

A. All accredited environmental laboratories or
laboratories seeking accreditation must participate in
department-approved proficiency testing programs relevant to
their scope of accreditation, except when determined by the
department that an appropriate proficiency test is not
accessible or readily available. The department may provide
appropriate commercial test samples at the applicant's expense
whenever necessary.

B. If proficiency test samples are not available for
particular test categories, the laboratory requesting
accreditation will submit an "analytical data package." An
"analytical data package" shall include all relevant analytical
methodology, technical information, and quality assurance
results concerning a particular type of analysis for which there
is no current proficiency testing program.

C. Department-approved proficiency tests shall be used to
provide suitable evidence of laboratory proficiency.

D. Proficiency testing studies will be available at a
minimum of every six months. Laboratories may set up round
robin testing programs under the department's supervision in
order to satisfy this requirement, where appropriate.

E. Laboratories shall satisfactorily analyze at least one of
the two proficiency test studies offered per year for each test
category accredited. A year shall be considered as the
12–month period from the first day of July until the last day of
June. Results shall be considered satisfactory when they are
within the acceptable limits established by the testing agency
or the department.

F. Each participating laboratory must supply the
department with a copy of the proficiency evaluation (PE) test
results within 30 days of receipt by the laboratory. Every
laboratory that receives test results that are "unacceptable" for
a specific analyte must investigate and identify likely causes
for these results, resolve any problems, and report such activity
to the department along with the submittal of test results.

G. In cases of on-site proficiency testing, the department
shall inform the laboratory of the results of the evaluation. The
department may require the laboratory to analyze additional
proficiency samples if the results of such test are
"unacceptable."

H. Results of proficiency testing during the preceding 12
months shall be made available by the laboratory, upon
request, to any person utilizing or requesting the services of
the laboratory.

I. Accredited laboratories that desire to extend the range
of tests or analyses offered shall submit a written request with
the appropriate fees, shall comply with the requirements of
these regulations, and shall demonstrate satisfactory results in
at least one round of proficiency testing samples prior to
receiving accreditation.

J. Laboratories shall bear the cost of any subscription(s)
to a proficiency testing program required by the department for
compliance purposes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4713. Interim Acceptance of Accreditation by Another

Accrediting Authority for In-State Laboratories
A. Acceptance of accreditation from another accrediting

authority as equivalent accreditation shall be determined by the
department.

B. All of the following requirements must be fulfilled:
1. a completed application form and support documents

submitted;
2. any appropriate fee(s) paid;
3. evidence of successful participation in a proficiency

testing program or its equivalent;
4. written documentation of accreditation sent to the

department;
5. a comparison of certification requirements from the

accredited laboratory; and
6. an on-site evaluation/inspection conducted by

authorized representatives of the department or the previous
inspection conducted by the accrediting authority.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4715. Accreditation for Laboratories not Located in

Louisiana
A. Out-of-state laboratories may receive accreditation via

two mechanisms:
1. direct application to the department based on the

requirements of this program; or
2. reciprocity based on evaluation of current

accreditation maintained. Reciprocal accreditation is based on
meeting the requirements set forth in LAC 33:I.4713.

B. A testing laboratory located outside of Louisiana may
receive accreditation from the department or from another
agency having environmental regulatory responsibility or
delegated administrative authority, if approved by the
department. The laboratory shall comply with all
documentation and fee requests from the department.

C. If the out-of-state laboratory's accreditation is revoked,
the Louisiana authorization is thereby automatically canceled.
The environmental representative shall notify the state and all
clients in Louisiana that utilize the laboratory of the revocation
within 10 calendar days.

D. When accreditation of the laboratory has been
reinstated, the department will request adequate
documentation from the laboratory indicating that the
laboratory is in compliance with these regulations. The
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following requirements must be fulfilled before the department
reinstates the laboratory as accredited:

1. a completed application form and support documents
submitted;

2. fee(s) paid in accordance with LAC 33:I.4707; A. Managerial Staff. The laboratory shall have the
3. evidence of successful participation in a proficiency managerial staff with the authority and resources needed to

testing program or its equivalent; discharge their duties. The laboratory shall be organized in
4. written documentation of accreditation sent to the such a way that confidence in its independence of judgment

department; and and integrity is maintained at all times. The laboratory shall
5. an on-site evaluation/inspection conducted by specify and document the responsibility, authority, and

authorized representatives of the department. interrelation of all personnel who manage, perform, or verify
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2011.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4717. Accreditation for Laboratories Participating in

the NELAP Certification Program
In-state laboratories participating in the National

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program (NELAP)
shall be certified under standards established by these
regulations and those of the NELAP program as found at
http://134.67.104.12/html/nelac/standards.htm or by writing
NELAP, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (MD-75A),
Research Triangle Park, NC 27711, attention: NELAC
Director, telephone (919) 541-1120. NELAP-certified
laboratories shall be required to meet the requirements for
reciprocity as set forth in LAC:33:I.4713.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§4719. Implementation

A. All commercial laboratories analyzing data as of the
effective date of these regulations that are directly or indirectly
submitting data to the department must submit an application
for accreditation as required in LAC 33:I.4701.A.1, including
the review fee, within 180 days of the effective date of these
regulations. The department will not accept laboratory data
generated by laboratories that do not comply with this deadline
until such laboratories receive accreditation and fully comply
with the requirements of this Section.

B. All laboratories subject to these regulations must
receive accreditation from the department, as provided in these
regulations, undergo an on-site inspection as specified in LAC
33:I.4701.A.2, and successfully participate in proficiency
evaluations as required in LAC 33:I.4701.A.3 within one year
of the effective date of these regulations. The department will
not accept data generated by laboratories that do not comply
with this deadline until such laboratories receive accreditation
and fully comply with the requirements of this Section.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011. D. Supervisors

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:

Chapter 49. Organization and Personnel
Requirements

§4901. Laboratory Staff for All Programs Covered by
these Regulations

work affecting the quality of calibrations and tests. Such
documentation shall include:

1. a clear description of the lines of responsibility in the
laboratory;

2. personnel proportioned such that adequate
supervision is ensured. An organizational chart is
recommended; and

3. job descriptions for all positions.
B. Laboratory Technical Director

1. Academic Training. The laboratory technical director
must have a bachelor's degree in science or a minimum of four
year's equivalent experience in a related field.

2. Experience. The laboratory technical director must
have a minimum of two year's experience in the area of
environmental analysis.

C. Quality Assurance Manager
1. Academic Training. The quality assurance manager

must have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in science or four
year's equivalent experience in a related field.

2. Experience. The quality assurance manager must have
a minimum of two year's environmental laboratory experience.

3. Reporting Authority. The quality assurance manager
must have direct access to the highest level of management for
decisions regarding laboratory quality assurance policy and
resources. He or she must have independent authority
regarding quality assurance oversight and implementation of
the quality assurance program. This organizational position
must not report through the technical management of the
laboratory. The quality assurance manager must have the
opportunity and freedom to evaluate data objectively without
influence from technical or financial management.

4. Technical Knowledge. The quality assurance manager
must have a general knowledge of all analytical methods that
are performed by the laboratory.

5. Small Laboratories. In smaller laboratories (staff less
than 10 total employees), the quality assurance manager's
responsibilities may be performed by an upper level technical
or operational manager of the facility. Academic and
experience requirements apply.

1. Academic Training. Supervisors must have a
minimum of a bachelor's degree or a minimum of four year's
experience in a related field.
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2. Experience. Supervisors must have a minimum of one sample preparation and radioanalytical procedures provided
year of experience in the area to be supervised, preferably with that the work is supervised and validated by a qualified analyst
a minimum of six month's supervisory experience. and/or laboratory supervisor.

3. Radiochemistry. If the individual is supervisor of a 4. Biomonitoring Procedures
radiochemistry laboratory, the individual must have a a. Academic Training. An analyst must have a
minimum of four year's experience in the field/area of minimum of a high school diploma, or the equivalent, and
radiochemistry; however, each year of additional college-level documented training by a qualified analyst. EPA video training
training in related fields may substitute for one year of tapes should be utilized where available.
experience, up to a maximum of two years. b. Experience. An analyst must have six months of

E. Instrument Operators on-the-job training with documentation of acceptable results
1. Academic Training. Instrument operators must have from standard reference toxicant tests performed by the

a minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent and analyst.
satisfactory completion of a short course or structured c. On-the-Job Training. During on-the-job training to
in–house equivalent on the operation of the instrument (by fulfill the requirements for experience, data produced by the
equipment manufacturer, professional organization, university, analyst shall be deemed acceptable when validated and
or other qualified training facility). reviewed by a qualified analyst and/or laboratory supervisor.

2. Experience. Instrument operators must have a G. Information on the relevant qualifications, training, and
minimum of six month's experience in the operation of the experience of the technical staff shall be maintained by the
instrument with documentation that acceptable results are laboratory.
achieved by the operator (performance evaluation and quality H. The laboratory shall provide additional training as
control samples successfully analyzed). needed in order to keep personnel current with new

3. On-the-Job Training. During on-the-job training to procedures, changes in existing procedures, and/or equipment
fulfill the requirement for experience, the data produced by the changes or improvements.
operator shall be deemed acceptable when validated and
reviewed by a qualified instrument operator and/or laboratory
supervisor.

F. Analyst
1. Chemistry Procedures

a. Academic Training. An analyst must have a
minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent, plus proper
training in a methods training course or by a qualified analyst.

b. Experience. An analyst must have a minimum of six
month's laboratory experience with the analysis procedure(s)
with documentation that acceptable results are achieved by the
analyst (performance evaluation and quality control samples
successfully analyzed).

c. On-the-Job Training. During on-the-job training to
fulfill the requirement for experience, data produced by the
analyst shall be deemed acceptable when validated and
reviewed by a qualified analyst and/or laboratory supervisor.

2. Microbiological Procedures
a. Academic Training. An analyst must have a

minimum of a bachelor's degree in science or four year's
experience in a related field. He or she must have training in
water analyses for total coliform and fecal coliform, a
minimum of a high school diploma, or the equivalent, and
satisfactory completion of a short course or structured
in–house equivalent on the proper techniques of analysis.

b. Experience. An analyst must have a minimum of six
month's experience in microbiological analysis and techniques.

3. Radiological Procedures (Gross Alpha, Gross Beta,
and Specific Radionuclides)

a. Academic Training. An analyst must have a
minimum of a high school diploma or equivalent, plus
specialized training in standards and sample preparation,
instrument calibration, calculations, and data handling.

b. Experience. An analyst must have a minimum of six
months of on-the-job training. An analyst may assist in routine

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
Chapter 51. On-site Inspection/Evaluation
§5101. Inspection Procedures

A. The authorized representative(s) of the department shall
schedule the initial on-site inspection with the applicant
laboratory. The authorized representative(s) of the department
may make an announced or unannounced inspection or
examination of an accredited laboratory whenever the
department, in its discretion, considers such an inspection or
examination necessary to determine the extent of the
laboratory's compliance with the conditions of its accreditation
and these regulations. Any refusal to allow entry to this
representative shall constitute a violation of a condition of
accreditation and is grounds for discreditation. The laboratory
shall provide appropriate safety equipment for the department
representative(s) when required.

B. Additional inspections may be conducted when
evaluations and submissions from the laboratory or its clients
indicate significant technical changes in the capability of the
laboratory have occurred.

C. The following shall be available for review at the
laboratory:

1. quality assurance plan;
2. approved methodology manual;
3. quality assurance data; and
4. proficiency test data.

D. During inspections, consideration will be given to:
1. competence of the staff;
2. working conditions, including adequacy of space;
3. lighting, equipment, and supplies;
4. efficient organization of the laboratory;
5. testing or analytical methods used;
6. quality control procedures;
7. maintenance of all required records; and
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8. compliance with all the requirements of these
regulations. A. The testing laboratory shall have adequately

E. Laboratory inspection will follow this general outline: documented instructions on the use and operation of all
1. an entry briefing with laboratory management; relevant equipment, on the handling and preparation of test
2. review of quality documentation, sample handling, items, where applicable, and on standard testing techniques,

and records, such as typical lab results and reports of test data; where the absence of such instructions could jeopardize the
3. interviews with technical staff; efficiency of the testing process. All instructions, standards,
4. demonstration of selected tests, as necessary; manuals, and reference data relevant to the work of the testing
5. examination of equipment and calibration records; laboratory shall be maintained up-to-date and be readily
6. an exit briefing including the specific identification of available to the staff.

any deficiencies; and B. The testing laboratory shall use department-approved
7. a written report of inspection findings to be forwarded methodologies. These methodologies shall be available to the

to the laboratory within 60 working days after the on-site visit. staff performing the tests.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2011.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5103. Laboratory Facilities

A. The laboratory conditions in which the tests are
undertaken shall not invalidate the test results or adversely
affect the required accuracy of measurement. The laboratory
shall have the equipment and energy sources needed for proper
testing. They shall be equipped with devices to monitor
essential environmental conditions. Specifically, the testing
laboratory shall include the following:

1. adequate work space, ventilation, light, and access to
stable power sources at work stations;

2. exhaust hoods for proper elimination of volatile
materials;

3. contamination-free work areas as necessary;
4. chemical and sample handling areas that will provide

safe working areas and prevent cross contamination of
samples;

5. adequate storage facilities for samples, extracts,
reagents, solvents, reference materials, and standards to
preserve their identity, concentration, purity, and stability;

6. adequate procedures and facilities in place for
collection, storage, and disposal of wastes;

7. where relevant, adequate procedures and facilities for
handling materials that may transmit infectious agents and
radioactive materials;

8. appropriate storage for volatile, corrosive, or
explosive chemicals and flammable solvents;

9. adequate separation of activities to ensure that no
activity has an adverse effect on analyses;

10. separate culturing and testing facilities for
biomonitoring laboratories; and

11. counting rooms that are physically separated from A. Whenever deviations or deficiencies are found during an
other activities in radiological laboratories. inspection, documentation of same will be included in the

B. Access to and use of all test areas shall be regulated in written report as required in LAC 33:I.5101.E.7. The
a manner appropriate to their designated purpose, and entry by laboratory representatives (or designees) will be asked to attest
persons external to the laboratory shall be controlled. to (sign) receipt of the on-site inspection form and review

C. Adequate measures shall be taken to ensure cleanliness same with the representative of the department conducting the
in the testing laboratory. inspection. The laboratory shall have a period of 30 calendar

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:

§5105. Test Methods and Procedures

1. Any variance from department-approved methodology
is acceptable with prior written confirmation by the
department. When an approved method or an appropriate
modification is not available, the data may be accepted when
submitted with the method validation package that must
include, at a minimum, the requirements found in Subsection
B.2 of this Section.

2. Where it is necessary to deviate from
department–approved methods, a method validation package
shall be submitted. This validation package must include, at a
minimum, the following:

a. origin of method;
b. deviations from standard;
c. reason for deviations;
d. effects of deviations; and
e. comparison with the department-approved methods

replaced, with documentation indicating results achieved from
the modified method are equal to or better than the original
method.

C. Any federal and/or state regulations applicable to the
request for alternate methodology shall have priority over these
regulations, and shall be utilized in the assessment of the
request.

D. The testing laboratory shall have implemented the
written standard operating procedures (SOPs), which shall be
available to the staff and the inspector.

E. The testing laboratory shall have an acceptable and
written quality assurance program plan that is implemented by
the staff and readily available to the inspector.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5107. Deficiencies Identified During On-Site Inspection

days from date of receipt of the laboratory inspection report in
which to respond to the deficiencies reported and submit a plan
for correcting all identified deficiencies. If the laboratory fails
to respond, the accreditation process will terminate and the
laboratory will be considered as nonaccredited.
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B. The laboratory shall correct any deficiencies or maintained by the quality assurance manager. The quality
deviations within six months from the date of receipt of the assurance manual shall contain information regarding:
inspection report. If deficiencies affecting the accuracy of 1. the structure of the laboratory (organizational charts
results are found, the accreditation shall be immediately and generic position descriptions);
suspended or revoked. 2. the operational and functional duties and services

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5109. Report of On-Site Inspection

A. The department shall prepare for each accredited
laboratory a listing of the test categories for which the
laboratory has demonstrated proficiency during inspections.
Inspection reports and listings shall be deemed public records.
The department shall prepare a certificate of accreditation
identifying the test categories for which the laboratory has
been approved.

B. Whenever an accredited laboratory completes the
requirements for increasing the scope of accredited analyses
performed, another on-site inspection may be required, unless
the previous annual on-site inspection verifies the competency
of the laboratory to perform the additional tests.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5111. Laboratory Safety Program

While specific safety criteria are not an aspect of laboratory
accreditation, laboratory personnel should apply general and
customary safety practices as part of good laboratory
procedures. Each laboratory is strongly encouraged to have a
written safety plan as part of their standard operating
procedures. However, when safety practices are included in
any approved method, those procedures become mandatory
and must be strictly followed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011. and proprietary rights;

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
Chapter 53. Quality System Requirements
§5301. Quality Assurance/Quality Control

Requirements
A. Each laboratory seeking accreditation shall:

1. have documented quality control procedures in use for
each analytical procedure;

2. comply with all quality control procedures required by
applicable federal, state, or public health agencies when
performing analyses; and

3. have procedures to be followed for feedback and
corrective action whenever testing discrepancies are detected
or departures from documented policies and procedures occur.

B. The laboratory shall operate an internal quality
assurance program appropriate to the type, range, and volume
of work performed. A person/persons having responsibility for
quality assurance within the laboratory shall be designated by
the laboratory management and have direct access to top
management.

C. The quality assurance program shall be documented in
a quality assurance manual that is available for use by the
laboratory staff. The quality assurance manual shall be

pertaining to quality assurance, so that each person concerned
knows the extent and the limits of his/her responsibility;

3. general quality assurance procedures;
4. procedures for feedback and corrective action

whenever testing discrepancies are detected;
5. chain of custody procedures;
6. a quality policy statement, including objectives and

commitments, by management;
7. references to procedures for the control and

maintenance of documentation, including document control of
laboratory notebooks, instrument logbooks, standards
logbooks, and records for data reduction, validation, storage,
and reporting;

8. the laboratory's procedures for achieving traceability
of measurements;

9. the laboratory's scope of tests;
10. references to procedures for handling submitted

samples;
11. references to major equipment, as well as the facilities

and services used by the laboratory;
12. references to procedures for calibration, verification,

and maintenance of equipment;
13. references to verification practices including

interlaboratory comparisons, proficiency testing programs, use
of reference materials, and internal quality control schemes;

14. the laboratory management arrangements for
departures from documented policies and procedures or from
standard specifications;

15. references to procedures for dealing with complaints;
16. references to procedures for protecting confidentiality

17. references to procedures for audit and review; and
18. references to processes/procedures for establishing

that personnel are adequately experienced in the duties they are
expected to carry out and/or receive any needed training.

D. The quality assurance system shall be reviewed annually
by management to ensure its continued effectiveness. Such
reviews shall be documented with details of any changes.

E. Standard operating procedures (SOPs) shall be kept in
a manual available to the analyst and the inspector. SOPs may
be included as a part or section of the laboratory's quality
assurance manual. The laboratory shall have clearly defined,
written SOPs or an equivalent, addressing, at a minimum, and
as appropriate:

1. methods of analysis;
2. sample collection, preservation, storage, handling,

and chain of custody;
3. procurement and inventory procedures;
4. preventive maintenance;
5. recordkeeping and record storage (archives);
6. data reduction, validation, and reporting;
7. correcting erroneous reports;
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8. management of laboratory wastes and hazardous C. Defective equipment shall be removed from service and
materials; and labeled until it has been repaired and shown to function

9. complaints registered against the laboratory's testing satisfactorily.
procedures, reporting procedures, and/or other general
operating procedures.

F. Supervisory staff shall be responsible for quality
assurance/quality control implementation and compliance.

G. The following general quality control principles shall
apply, where applicable, to all testing laboratories. The
manner in which they are implemented is dependent on the
types of tests performed by the laboratory (e.g., chemical,
microbiological, radiological). The standards for any given test
type shall assure that the following applicable principles are
addressed:

1. all laboratories shall have protocols in place to
monitor the following quality controls:

a. adequate controls to monitor tests such as blanks,
spikes, or reference toxicants;

b. adequate tests to define the variability and/or
reproducibility of the laboratory results such as duplicates;

c. measures to ensure the accuracy of the test data,
including sufficient calibration and/or continuing calibrations,
use of certified reference materials, proficiency test samples,
or other measures;

d. measures to evaluate test performance, such as
method detection limits, or range of applicability such as
linearity;

e. selection of appropriate formulae to reduce raw
data to final results such as linear regression, internal
standards, or statistical packages;

f. selection and use of reagents and standards of
appropriate quality; and

g. measures to assure constant and consistent test
conditions (both instrumental and environmental) where
required by the method, such as temperature, humidity, light,
or specific instrument conditions;

2. all quality control measures shall be assessed and
evaluated on an ongoing basis, and quality control acceptance
limits shall be used to determine the validity of the data. The
acceptance/rejection criteria shall be updated at a frequency
established by the method or by the department's standards;

3. the laboratory shall have procedures for the
development of acceptance/rejection criteria where no method
or regulatory criteria exists; and

4. the method-specified and/or method-recommended
quality control protocols shall be followed. The essential
standards shall be used if no protocols are written into the
method or if the method protocols are less stringent.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5303. Equipment and Supplies

A. The laboratory shall be furnished with or have access to
all items of equipment required for correct performance of the
analytical procedures for which it is accredited.

B. All equipment shall be properly maintained.
Maintenance shall be documented.

D. Maintenance log book(s) shall be maintained for all
major equipment. Each log shall include:

1. the name of the item of equipment;
2. the manufacturer's name, type identification, and

serial number;
3. the date received and the date placed in service;
4. the condition of equipment when placed in service

(new, used, or reconditioned);
5. the current location;
6. the location of manufacturer's instruction manual (if

available); and
7. the details of maintenance.

E. In the case of measuring equipment, calibration records
shall be maintained.

F. Records shall be maintained for acquisition of all
equipment, reagents, and support services utilized by the
laboratory in the generation of analytical data.

G. Supplies used for environmental testing shall meet the
following minimums:

1. analytical reagents:
a. analytical reagent grade (AR) chemicals or

equivalent are acceptable, unless individual procedures specify
other reagent requirements;

b. stock and working standard solutions shall be
checked regularly for signs of decomposition and expiration;

c. all solutions shall be labeled with identification of
the compound, concentration, date prepared, analyst who
prepared solution, and expiration date;

d. all purchased chemicals, solutions, and standards
shall be labeled with dates of receipt, the dates of expiration on
the container, and the date when the container is opened;

e. when reagents are removed from a container, they
shall be used entirely or the unused portion discarded. Unused
portions of a reagent may not be returned to the original
container; and

f. compressed gases shall be of commercial grade,
unless individual procedures specify other requirements.

2. glassware shall be cleaned and maintained properly as
required by the test methodology; and

3. thermometers:
a. the laboratory shall have access to a NIST (National

Institute of Standards and Technology) traceable thermometer
where applicable;

b. the calibration of working thermometers, with the
exception of dial thermometers, shall be checked at least
annually against a NIST traceable certified thermometer and
results recorded and documented per thermometer;

c. the calibration of dial-type thermometers shall be
checked at least quarterly against a NIST traceable
thermometer and results recorded per thermometer; and

d. thermometers shall be labeled when calibrated and
the correction factor recorded.

H. Equipment used for environmental testing shall meet the
following minimums:

1. analytical balances/pan balances:
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a. records of balance calibration shall be kept for at
least two ranges with Class S or S-1 reference weights
(weights should be recertified every two years). Records
showing daily (or before each use) functional/calibration
checks for analytical balances and monthly
functional/calibration checks for pan balances shall be
maintained;

b. balances shall be calibrated and serviced at a
minimum of once per year and service date recorded on the
balance; and

c. balances may only be used with suitable support;
2. pH meters:

a. the laboratory shall use a pH meter with appropriate
electrode with scale graduations at least 0.1 pH units
(calibrated to ± 0.1 pH units for each use period) with
temperature correction;

b. either a thermometer or a temperature sensor for
automatic compensation shall be in use;

c. records shall be maintained indicating calibration
daily or before each use, whichever is less frequent; and

d. aliquots of standard pH 4 and pH 7 or pH 7 and
pH 10 shall be used only once;

3. conductivity meter:
a. a conductivity meter and probe of sufficient

sensitivity shall be in use;
b. records shall be kept to show a daily or before each

use calibration check, whichever is less frequent. Calibration
shall be within the range of interest using standard solutions;
and

c. records shall be kept showing that the cell constant
is determined annually;

4. refrigeration equipment:
a. thermometer(s) in each refrigerator shall be

immersed in liquid to the appropriate immersion line;
b. thermometers shall be graduated in increments no

larger than 1 C;o

c. temperatures for each refrigerator shall be recorded
for each day in use for laboratory activities;

d. samples shall be stored in separate refrigerators
from all standards where a potential for cross-contamination
exists; and

e. refrigerator temperature should be maintained at
4EC + 2EC and freezer temperature shall be less than 0EC;

5. visual comparison devices:
a. visual devices shall be calibrated according to

manufacturer's specifications and/or test methodologies; and
b. results shall be recorded and maintained; and

6. Ovens/incubators/baths:
a. temperature shall be adequately controlled; and
b. records shall be kept to show that temperature is

maintained (e.g., beginning and end of each use cycle or daily
for extended drying periods).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5305. Calibration

A. Measuring and testing equipment used by the testing
laboratory shall be calibrated, where appropriate, before being

put into service and thereafter according to an established
program.

B. The overall program of calibration of equipment shall
be designed and operated so as to ensure that measurements
made in the testing laboratory are traceable (where the concept
is applicable) to national standards of measurement and, where
available, to international standards of measurement specified
by the International Committee of Weights and Measures.
Where the concept of traceability to national or international
standards of measurement is not applicable, the testing
laboratory shall provide satisfactory evidence of correlation or
accuracy of test results (e.g., by participation in a suitable
program of interlaboratory comparisons).

C. The laboratory shall record all calibration data including
frequency, conditions, and standards used for all analytical
methodology.

D. The laboratory shall verify and document all standards
versus primary (reference) standards.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5307. Test Methods and Procedures

A. The laboratory shall have procedures for making and
controlling revisions to in-house SOPs, using revised SOPs
only after written authorization from the designated laboratory
authority.

B. Quality control procedures shall be documented and
available to the staff as required in LAC 33:I.5301.C.

C. All manual calculation and data transfers shall be
subject to appropriate checks.

1. When manual calculations are checked by a
supervisor or another analyst, the results shall be initialed and
dated on the work sheet by the individual who verified the
results.

2. Where results are derived by electronic data
processing techniques, the stability of the system shall be such
that the accuracy of the results is not affected. This generally
implies an ability to detect malfunctions in the hardware during
program execution and take appropriate corrective action.
Adherence to good automated laboratory practices (GALP) is
recommended; however, at a minimum the laboratory must
comply with the following:

a. computer software must be appropriate for the
intended use;

b. procedures must be established and implemented
for the protection of the integrity of data. Such procedures shall
include:

i. integrity of data entry or capture;
ii. data storage;

iii. data transmission; and
iv. data processing;

c. computer and automated equipment must be
provided with acceptable environmental operating conditions
in order to maintain the operating integrity of the system; and

d. appropriate procedures must be implemented in
order to maintain the security of data. These procedures must
include prevention of unauthorized access to computer records
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and prevention of unauthorized amendments or changes to
computer records.

D. Whenever samples are subcontracted to another
environmental testing laboratory, the original laboratory shall
maintain a verifiable copy of results with a chain of custody.
This procedure may not be used to circumvent proper
accreditation or any state requirements. The original laboratory
is responsible for ensuring that the secondary laboratory used
is properly accredited for the scope of testing performed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5309. Radiochemistry and Radionuclide Assay

A. General Requirements. Radiochemistry and
radionuclide assay laboratories shall be subject to the
requirements set forth throughout these regulations and to
those specific requirements established in this Section. These
are minimum specifications, and more stringent criteria may be
utilized.

B. Quality Control Practices
1. The laboratory shall continually evaluate its

performance for each method and matrix that includes the
determination of accuracy and precision.

2. Supervisory personnel shall conduct a documented
review of the data calculations and quality control (QC)
results.

3. Deviations or deficiencies shall be reported to
management and documented. QC data shall be retrievable for
all analyses.

4. Method detection limits shall be determined and
documented. Confirmation of detection limits shall be done
yearly or as required by the method.

C. Quality Assurance Checks
1. Radiochemistry and Radionuclide Assay. Ten percent

of all analyses shall be QC, unless otherwise specified by the
specific method. A minimum of three QC samples should be
performed for each batch. The lab should repeat all samples if
the QC check standard is outside the 95 percent confidence
interval (± two standard deviations). Samples should be
performed as follows:

a. QC samples should include one spike in 10 or one
spike per batch if less than 10;

b. QC samples should include one blank in 10 or one
blank per batch if less than 10;

c. QC samples should include one duplicate or spiked
duplicate in 20 or one duplicate per batch if less than 20; and

d. spike samples should be representative of specified
regulatory limits and/or they should approach the
method–specific minimum detectable activities or lower limit
of detections.

2. Radionuclide Assay Other than Radiochemistry.
Twenty percent of all analyses shall be QC, unless otherwise
specified by the method. A minimum of three QC samples
should be performed for each batch. The lab should repeat all
samples if the QC check standard is outside the 95 percent
confidence interval ± two standard deviations. Samples should
be performed as follows:

a. QC samples should include one spike in 20 or one
spike per batch if less than 20;

b. QC samples should include one blank in 20 or one
blank per batch if less than 20;

c. QC samples should include one duplicate or spiked
duplicate in 20 or one duplicate or spiked duplicate per batch
if less than 20;

d. spike samples should be representative of specified
regulatory limits and/or they should approach the
method–specific minimum detectable activities or lower limit
of detections; and

e. standard NIST traceable sources may be substituted
for spike analysis.

D. General Equipment and Supplies
1. Supplies

a. Distilled and/or deionized water shall be
demonstrated to be free of interferants at applicable detection
limits. This may be accomplished through the use of blanks.

b. Analytical reagents shall be demonstrated to be free
of interferants at applicable detection limits. This may be
accomplished through the use of blanks.

c. Reference sources should be traceable to NIST or
an equivalent and shall be replaced after an appropriate period
of time, not to exceed five half-lives of a single nuclide or, in
the case of mixed nuclide standards, they should be replaced
after they have been determined to be unusable. Unusable is
determined by the inability to meet calibration criteria as set
forth by the method or technical manual.

2. Equipment— Auto Pipetors/Diluters
a. Apparatus having sufficient sensitivity for the

application shall be used.
b. Records shall be kept showing delivery volumes

are checked periodically.
c. Laboratory technicians shall periodically

demonstrate the ability to properly use the equipment. This
shall be documented.

E. Analytical Instrumentation. Maintenance log book(s)
shall be maintained on all instrumentation or measuring
devices. Each log shall include:

1. information as set forth in LAC 33:I.5303.D;
2. calibration frequency;
3. standards used for calibration;
4. calibration history;
5. the authorized calibration personnel or institute; and
6. records of all maintenance performed.

F. Environmental Testing Equipment. Equipment used for
environmental testing shall meet the following minimums:

1. low background alpha/beta counting systems:
a. the systems shall be calibrated at least yearly;
b. the systems shall be calibrated in accordance with

the appropriate methodologies or their appropriate technical
manual;

c. attenuation curves shall be developed for
appropriate alpha/beta energies that best represent the
energies of the radionuclide of concern;

d. voltage plateaus shall be performed yearly,
whenever counting gas has been changed, or if major
maintenance is performed to the system. If the voltage plateau
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changes by more than 50 volts, the calibration curves shall be G. Laboratory Environment
performed; 1. Radiochemistry and radionuclide assay counting

e. daily backgrounds and reference source checks
shall be performed when in use or weekly when not in use; and

f. sample log books shall be maintained for all
samples that were counted/analyzed on the appropriate
systems; rooms shall be adequately monitored for room temperature,

2. gamma spectroscopy systems:
a. the systems shall be calibrated at least yearly and

shall include energy, peak width, and efficiency;
b. the systems shall be calibrated according to the

appropriate methodologies or the manufacturer's technical
manual;

c. daily reference source checks shall be performed
when in use or weekly when not in use;

d. monthly background checks should be performed;
and

e. sample log books shall be maintained for all
samples that were counted/analyzed on the appropriate
systems;

3. liquid scintillation systems:
a. the systems shall be calibrated at least yearly and

shall include energy, peak width, and efficiency;
b. the systems shall be calibrated according to the

appropriate methodologies or the manufacturer's technical
manual;

c. daily backgrounds and reference source checks
shall be performed when in use or weekly when not in use; and

d. sample log books shall be maintained for all
samples that were counted/analyzed on the appropriate
systems;

4. alpha spectroscopy systems:
a. the systems shall be calibrated at least yearly;
b. the systems shall be calibrated according to the

appropriate methodologies or the manufacturer's technical
manual;

c. daily reference source checks shall be performed
when in use or weekly when not in use;

d. monthly background checks shall be performed; and
e. sample log books shall be maintained for all

samples that were counted/analyzed on the appropriate
systems; and

5. analytical instrumentation not mentioned above, such
as counter scalers or ionizing radiation detection equipment:

a. the instrumentation shall be calibrated at least
yearly or as mandated by a specific regulatory agency such as
EPA, Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), or state
governments;

b. the instrumentation shall be calibrated according to
the appropriate methodologies or to the manufacturer's
technical manual;

c. daily backgrounds and reference source checks
shall be performed when in use or weekly when not in use, if
applicable; and

d. sample log books shall be maintained for all
samples that were counted/analyzed on the appropriate
systems.

rooms, wet chemistry rooms, and sample preparation and
sample storage rooms shall be physically separated. Access
and egress shall be controlled.

2. Radiochemistry and radionuclide assay counting

humidity, pressure, and electrical supply characteristics on a
daily basis when in use. These characteristics shall be
maintained to ensure proper operation of the analytical
equipment. Records shall be maintained.

3. Adequate measures shall be taken to ensure good
housekeeping in the laboratory.

H. Waste Disposal. Radioactive waste disposal shall be
thoroughly documented. The documentation shall include the
following:

1. quantity disposed of;
2. where the radioactive material was disposed;
3. when it was disposed;
4. who disposed of the material; and
5. activity of disposed material, as applicable.

I. Records (Control Charts)
1. Control charts shall be updated at least monthly.
2. Copies of the control charts shall be available for

technician review.
3. Control charts shall have at a minimum the following

information:
a. all axes labeled;
b. instrument I.D. and/or serial number;
c. one and two sigma values as well as the normal

expected values; and
d. applicable units as necessary.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5311. Quality Assurance for Biomonitoring

Laboratories
A. Quality assurance practices for toxicity testing

laboratories must address all activities that affect the quality of
the final effluent toxicity data, such as:

1. effluent sampling and handling;
2. the source and condition of the test organisms;
3. condition of equipment;
4. test conditions;
5. instrument calibration;
6. replication;
7. use of reference toxicants;
8. recordkeeping; and
9. data evaluation.

B. Facilities, Equipment, and Test Chambers
1. Separate test organism culturing and toxicity testing

areas shall be provided to avoid loss of cultures to
cross–contamination. Ventilation systems shall be designed to
prevent recirculation of air from chemical analysis laboratories
into organism culturing or testing areas and from sample
preparation areas into culture rooms.

2. Laboratory and toxicity test temperature control
equipment shall be adequate to maintain recommended test
water temperatures.
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3. Recommended materials shall be used for test 2. New batches of food used in culturing and testing
equipment and test chambers. should be analyzed for toxic organics and metals or whenever

C. Laboratory Water Used for Culturing and Test Dilution difficulty is encountered meeting minimum acceptability
Water criteria for control survival and reproduction or growth. Foods

1. The dilution water used in effluent toxicity tests will exceeding the requirements in the test manuals should not be
depend on the objectives of the study or requirements of used.
discharge permits. H. Test Acceptability

2. Water used for culturing organisms, dilutions, and 1. A control shall be run with each toxicity test.
internal quality assurance tests with food, organisms, and 2. The minimum criteria stated in the appropriate test
reference toxicants shall be analyzed for toxic metals and manuals and/or the discharge permit must be met for a test to
organics annually or whenever difficulty is encountered be valid.
meeting minimum acceptability control requirement. The 3. Individual tests may be conditionally acceptable if
concentration of the metals Al, As, Cr, Co, Cu, Fe, Pb, Ni, and temperature, dissolved oxygen (DO), and other specified
Zn, expressed as total metals, shall not exceed one ug/L each, conditions fall outside specifications, depending on the degree
and Cd, Hg, and Ag, expressed as total metals shall not exceed of departure and objectives of the test. The acceptability will
100 ng/L. Total organochlorine pesticides plus PCBs shall be depend on the experience and professional judgment of the
less than 50 ng/L. Pesticide levels shall not exceed EPA's laboratory investigator and reviewing staff of the regulatory
ambient water quality chronic criteria values where available. agency.

3. Water used for culturing and test dilutions shall be I. Analytical methods for analyses of culture and dilution
prepared using methods in the test manuals. water, food, and test solutions must include established quality

D. Sample holding times and temperatures of effluent assurance practices outlined in EPA manuals (USEPA 1979a
samples must conform to conditions described in the test and USEPA 1979b).
methods and/or the discharge permit. J. Calibration and Standardization

E. Test Conditions 1. Instruments used for routine measurements of
1. Water temperature shall be maintained within limits chemical and physical parameters such as pH, DO,

specified for each test. temperature, and conductivity must be calibrated and
2. Test chambers/rooms shall be adequately monitored standardized according to the instrument manufacturer's

by utilizing a seven-day continuous recording chart for procedures as indicated in LAC 33:I.5301 on quality
temperature and light/dark cycle. Verification that the assurance. Calibration data is recorded in a permanent log
light/dark cycle is maintained shall be done at a minimum of book.
twice monthly if a recording device is not utilized. 2. Wet chemical methods used to measure hardness,
Temperature recording charts shall be maintained in record alkalinity, and total residual chlorine must be standardized
form. prior to use each day according to the procedures for these

F. Test Organism Quality specific EPA methods.
1. If the laboratory does not maintain in-house cultures K. The minimum number of replicates stated in the test

of test organisms and obtains organisms from an outside methods and/or permit shall be used for each toxicity test.
source, the sensitivity of each batch of test organisms shall be L. It is the laboratory's responsibility to demonstrate its
determined with the appropriate reference toxicant test ability to obtain consistent, precise results with reference
performed concurrently with the effluent test, unless the toxicants before it performs toxicity tests with effluents for
organism supplier provides control chart data from, at a permit compliance purposes. To meet this requirement, the
minimum, the last five monthly reference toxicity tests. intralaboratory precision, expressed as percent coefficient of

2. If the laboratory maintains in-house cultures, the variation (CV percent), of each type of test used in the
sensitivity of the offspring shall be determined with the laboratory shall be determined by performing five or more tests
appropriate toxicity test performed with a reference toxicant at with different batches of test organisms, using the same
least once each month. If a given species of test organisms is reference toxicant at the same concentrations, with the same
used only monthly, or less frequently, in toxicity tests, a test conditions and the same data analysis methods. A
reference toxicant test shall be performed with each effluent reference toxicant concentration series (0.5 or higher) shall be
and/or receiving water toxicity test. selected that will consistently provide partial mortalities at two

3. If the laboratory maintains in-house cultures, records or more concentrations.
shall be maintained on organism health, mortality, water M. Documenting Ongoing Laboratory Performance
quality, and culture system maintenance. 1. Satisfactory laboratory performance shall be

4. Test organisms shall be positively identified to demonstrated by performing one acceptable test per month
species. with a reference toxicant for each test method used in the

G. Food Quality laboratory. For a given test method, successive tests must be
1. Problems with nutritional suitability of food will be performed with the same reference toxicant, at the same

reflected in the survival, growth, and reproduction in cultures concentrations, in the same dilution, and using the same data
and toxicity tests. Artemia cysts and other foods shall be analysis methods.
obtained and analyzed as described in the test manuals. 2. A control chart should be prepared for each

combination of reference toxicant, test species, test conditions,
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and end points. Control limits are stated in test method C. Corrections or additions to a test report after issue shall
manuals. be made only by a further document suitably marked (e.g.,

N. Reference toxicants such as sodium chloride (NaCl), "Supplement to test report log number..." or as otherwise
potassium chloride (KCl), cadmium chloride (CdCl ), copper identified) and shall meet the relevant requirements of this2

sulfate (CaSO ), sodium dodecyl sulfate (SDS), and potassium Section.4

dichromate (K Cr O ) are suitable for use by the laboratory. D. In instances where the laboratory transmits a report via2 2 7

Standard reference materials can be obtained from commercial telephone, telex, facsimile (FAX), or any other means of
supply houses or can be prepared in-house using reagent grade electronic transmittal, the laboratory must have in place a
chemicals. written procedure that will provide protection and/or

O. A complete file shall be maintained for each individual preservation of client confidentiality.
toxicity test or group of tests on closely related samples.
Original data sheets shall be signed and dated by the personnel
performing the tests. The file should contain:

1. a record of the chain of custody;
2. a copy of the sample log sheet;
3. the original bench sheets;
4. chemical analysis data on the sample(s);
5. detailed records of the test organisms used in the test,

such as species, source, age, date of receipt, and other
pertinent information relating to their history and health;

6. information on calibration of equipment and
instruments; and

7. results of reference toxicant tests.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2011.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5313. Reports

A. The work carried out by the testing laboratory shall be such anomalies, and a report has been issued, then the
covered by a report that accurately, clearly, and unambiguously laboratory shall immediately notify the client. A written,
presents the test results and all other relevant information. The corrected or amended report must be forwarded to the client.
report format should be specifically designed for the type of D. Current reference documents (e.g., EPA manuals, CFRs,
test/analysis reported, but standardized headings should be Standard Methods) shall be maintained and available to the
utilized whenever possible. staff.

B. Each test report shall include at least the following E. Entries to all laboratory analytical records shall be made
information: in a legible, permanent fashion and corrections made without

1. name and address of testing laboratory; obliterating original entries. All corrections shall be initialed
2. title of report, unique identification of report (such as and dated.

log number), identification of each page of the report by F. A permanent record of employees' signatures and
number, and total number of pages in the report; initials shall be maintained.

3. description and identification of the sample(s);
4. date of receipt of sample(s) and date(s) of

performance of test, as appropriate;
5. identification of the test method;
6. any deviations, additions to, or exclusions from the

test method and any other information relevant to a specific
test;

7. disclosure of any nonstandard test method utilized;
8. measurements, examinations, and results,

accompanied by appropriate quality assurance (QA)
documents;

9. a statement on measurement uncertainty (where
relevant);

10. a signature and title of person(s) accepting technical
responsibility for the test report and date of issue;

11. if applicable, a statement that indicates that the results
relate only to the items tested; and

12. if applicable, a statement that indicates that the report
shall not be reproduced in full (or in part, if required) without
the written approval of the customer.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5315. Records

A. The testing laboratory shall retain on record all raw data
and observations, calculations and derived data, calibration
records, and the final test report for a minimum of five years or
as required by regulatory or legal requirement.

B. All records and test reports shall be held securely and in
confidence to the client, unless otherwise required by law.

C. The testing laboratory shall maintain a system that
provides for retrievability of the chain of custody of the sample
source, the analytical method, results (including calibration
and instrument checks), the analyst performing the analysis,
and the date. If laboratory records indicate that incorrect or
questionable data has been generated by defective or
improperly operated equipment, erroneous data entry, or other

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
Chapter 55. Sample Protocol/Sample Integrity
§5501. Unacceptable Samples

When a sample is received by the testing laboratory and it is
apparent or suspected that the sample protocol has not been
followed, the laboratory should have a written procedure for
handling of the questionable sample. The laboratory may
choose to notify the customer and either request another
sample or, if the customer insists upon analysis of the sample,
reserve the right to include a disclaimer in the final report
identifying the sample anomaly. This disclaimer must be
permanently attached to the final report.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
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Chapter 57. Maintenance of Accreditation
§5701. Display of Accreditation Certificate

A. A current accreditation document shall be displayed at 3. misrepresentations or falsifications made to the
all times in a location visible to the public in each accredited department, including any documents associated with
laboratory. In cases of suspension or discreditation, the accreditation applications;
document shall be immediately removed. 4. demonstrable nonconformance with the requirements

B. The accreditation documents shall note the scope of of these regulations, including failure to correct deficiencies;
accreditation (classes/parameters of approved testing) as well 5. nonpayment of applicable fees;
as the time frame for which the laboratory is accredited. 6. demonstrating incompetence or making consistent

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5703. Renewal of Accreditation

A. Accreditation shall be renewed annually, provided the
testing laboratory has maintained compliance with these
regulations, has reported acceptable proficiency test values for
accredited classes, and has paid appropriate fees.

B. Failure to receive a renewal notice does not exempt
laboratories from meeting the renewal date requirements.

C. Failure to pay the required renewal fees for 30 days
shall automatically suspend accreditation of the laboratory
until the fee is received by the department.

D. Failure to pay the required renewal fees for 90 days
shall automatically result in discreditation of the laboratory. A
laboratory whose accreditation has expired may reapply.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5705. Discreditation and Suspension

A. The department may suspend or discredit a laboratory
in any or all test categories when the laboratory fails to fully
meet all requirements of these regulations. Factors such as the
gravity of the offense, the danger to the public of the offense,
the intent of the violation, the extent of the violation, and the
proposed correction of the problem will be considered to
determine if suspension or discreditation is to be imposed. An
emergency order immediately discrediting the laboratory may
be issued if any conditions exist that present an eminent danger
to public health and safety.

B. The department shall notify the laboratory by registered
or certified letter of the suspension or discreditation and the
reasons for the action.

C. Suspensions shall not be withdrawn until the basis for
the suspension has been eliminated or rectified.

D. Appeals for laboratories that have received
discreditation notices are governed by applicable statutes.

E. If the testing laboratory's accreditation is revoked by the
department or another agency having primary enforcement
responsibility or delegated administrative responsibility (e.g., Reaccreditation shall require the submission of a new,
out-of-state laboratories), the laboratory management shall revised application demonstrating and documenting corrective
notify, in writing, all clients that utilize the laboratory for action implemented since loss of accreditation status.
analysis of samples and reporting of data to the department that
the laboratory's accreditation has been revoked. Clients must
be advised of the change in accreditation status within 10
calendar days from the official notice of the action.

F. The following shall be considered grounds for
discreditation/suspension:

1. violation of a condition of the accreditation;

2. violation of a statute, regulation, or order of the
department;

errors in analyses or erroneous reporting;
7. failure to report, in writing within 30 days, any

changes in location, ownership, management and supervisory
staff , authorized representative, major facilities of the
laboratory, modification of technique, or any revisions to the
accreditation application or required support documentation;

8. failure to employ approved testing methods in the
performance of analyses;

9. failure to maintain facilities or equipment properly;
10. failure to report analytical test results as required or

to maintain required records of test results;
11. failure to participate successfully in a required

performance evaluation program;
12. violation or aiding and abetting in the violation of any

provision of these regulations or the rules promulgated
hereunder;

13. advertising false credentials;
14. failure to indicate clearly in the records when analyses

were subcontracted to another laboratory;
15. performing and charging for additional tests or

analyses that have not been requested by the customer,
falsifying analyses, or engaging in other unethical or fraudulent
practices; and

16. subcontracting performance evaluation samples to
another laboratory and using the results to satisfy requirements
for accreditation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5707. Changes in Laboratory Operation

Changes in laboratory name, ownership, location, personnel,
facilities, methodology, or any factors significantly affecting
the performance of analyses for which the laboratory was
originally accredited shall be reported to the department within
30 days.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§5709. Reaccreditation

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2011.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on February 27, 1998, at 1:30
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
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persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should RCRA Updates
reference this proposed regulation by OS007. Such comments (LAC 33:V.Chapters 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15,
must be received no later than March 6, 1998, at 4:30 p.m., 22, 25, 31, 33, 38, 41, 43, and 49)(HW061*)
and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and
Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S.
LA 70884 or FAX (504) 765-0486. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste Division regulations,
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State LAC 33:V.Chapters 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15, 22, 25, 31, 33,
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 38, 41, 43, and 49 (HW061*).
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501 This proposed rule is identical to a federal law or regulation,
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma 60 FR 35703-35706, 50426-50430, 55202-55206,
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet 63417-63434; 61 FR 4903-4916, 13103-13106, 15566-
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/olaeregs.htm. 15660, 15660-15668, 16290-16316, 19117, 33680-33690,

Herman Robinson is applicable in Louisiana. For more information regarding the
Assistant Secretary federal requirement, contact the Investigations and Regulation

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Laboratory Accreditation

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Implementation of the proposed rule by the department is
estimated to cost the agency a total of $571,402 over the first
three years. Most, if not all, local government-owned This proposed rule includes the addition of tests to
laboratories will not be affected as they are not commercial
laboratories. Local government-owned facilities that utilize
commercial environmental laboratories may see some increased
cost through higher prices from the commercial laboratories.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is estimated that the Department of Environmental Quality
will collect $555,000 in fees from the regulated laboratories over
the first three full years of the program. No other revenue
collections are expected to be affected.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Commercial environmental laboratories, which are to be
regulated by this rule, are estimated to incur $11,148,700 in
additional costs due to the implementation of this proposed rule
over the first three full years of the program. This number
includes the estimated $555,000 in fees that will be collected
from the regulated laboratories in the first three years.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

As this rule will apply minimum standards to all commercial
environmental laboratories in the state, it is expected to promote
fairer competition between commercial environmental
laboratories. It is not expected to significantly impact
employment in the state.

J. Dale Givens Richard W. England
Secretary Assistant to the
9801#076 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Waste Services

33691, 36419-36421, 43924-43931; 62 FR 7502-7600, which

Development Division at the address or phone number given
below. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the
proposed rule. Therefore, the rule will be promulgated in
accordance with R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4). This proposed
rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(3) and
R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
required.

demonstrate that a sorbent is nonbiodegradable. It will
improve the process for permitting facilities that store, treat, or
dispose of hazardous waste by providing opportunities for
public involvement earlier in the process and by expanding
public access to information throughout the permitting process
and the operational lives of facilities, requiring prospective
applicants to hold an informal public meeting before
submitting an application for a RCRA permit and to advertise
this meeting in the newspaper, through broadcast media, and
on a sign posted at or near the property. A permitting agency
may mail a notice to interested persons when the facility
submits its application and, as the agency deems necessary,
may require a facility owner or operator to set up an
information repository that will hold all information and
documents the permitting agency has decided is necessary, and
may require combustion facilities (i.e., incinerators and other
facilities that burn hazardous wastes) to notify the public
before they hold a trial burn. An error in the text pertaining to
regulatory exclusion from the definition of solid waste for
recovered oil that is inserted into the petroleum refining
process is corrected. The rule adds procedural controls
governing the export and import of wastes when shipped for
recovery among Organization for Economic Cooperation and
Development (OECD) countries. The basis and rationale for
this rule are to make the state regulations equivalent with
federal regulations.
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Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Part V. Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials
Subpart 1. Department of Environmental

Quality— Hazardous Waste
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions
§105. Program Scope

These rules and regulations apply to owners and operators
of all facilities that generate, transport, treat, store, or dispose
of hazardous waste, except as specifically provided otherwise
herein. The procedures of these regulations also apply to denial
of a permit for the active life of a hazardous waste management
facility or TSD unit under LAC 33:V.706. Definitions
appropriate to these rules and regulations, including "solid
waste" and "hazardous waste," appear in LAC 33:V.109.
Those wastes which are excluded from regulation are found in
this Section.

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-D.44.f]

g. recovered oil from petroleum refining, exploration
and production, and from transportation incident thereto,
which is to be inserted into the petroleum refining process
(SIC Code 2911) at or before a point (other than direct
insertion into a coker) where contaminants are removed. This
exclusion applies to recovered oil stored or transported prior
to insertion, except that the oil must not be stored in a manner
involving placement on the land, and must not be accumulated
speculatively, before being so recycled. Recovered oil is oil
that has been reclaimed from secondary materials (such as
wastewater) generated from normal petroleum refining,
exploration and production, and transportation practices.
Recovered oil includes oil that is recovered from refinery
wastewater collection and treatment systems, oil recovered
from oil and gas drilling operations, and oil recovered from
wastes removed from crude oil storage tanks. Recovered oil
does not include (among other things) oil-bearing hazardous
wastes listed in LAC 33:V.4901 (e.g., K048-K052, F037,
F038). However, oil recovered from such wastes may be
considered recovered oil. Recovered oil also does not include
used oil as defined in LAC 33:V.4001.

* * *
[See Prior Text in D.44-M.10]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 (May
1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR
13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 15:181
(March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:217 (March 1990),
LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July
1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:368 (April 1991), LR 17:478
(May 1991), LR 17:883 (September 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992),
LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992),
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 19:1022 (August 1993),
amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous
Waste Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March
1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:813 (September 1996),
LR 22:831 (September 1996), amended by the Office of the
Secretary, LR 23:298 (March 1997), amended by the Office of Solid
and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:564 (May

1997), LR 23:567 (May 1997), LR 23:721 (June 1997), amended by
the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:952
(August 1997), LR 23:1511 (November 1997), LR 24:
§109. Definitions

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings,
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise:

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Competent Authorities— the regulatory authorities of
concerned countries having jurisdiction over transfrontier
movements of wastes destined for recovery operations.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Concerned Countries— the exporting and importing
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
(OECD) member countries and any OECD member countries
of transit.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Consignee— (as used in LAC 33:V.1131) the person to
whom possession or other form of legal control of the waste is
assigned at the time the waste is received in the importing
country.

Consignee— (as used in LAC 33:V.Chapter 11, except
§1131) the ultimate treatment, storage, or disposal facility in
a receiving country to which the hazardous waste will be sent.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Country of Transit— any designated OECD country in
LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a and b other than the exporting or
importing country across which a transfrontier movement of
wastes is planned or takes place.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Exporting Country— any designated OECD member country
in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a from which a transfrontier movement
of wastes is planned or has commenced.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Importing Country— any designated OECD country in
LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a to which a transfrontier movement of
wastes is planned or takes place for the purpose of submitting
the wastes to recovery operations therein.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Notifier— the person under the jurisdiction of the exporting
country who has, or will have at the time the planned
transfrontier movement commences, possession or other forms
of legal control of the wastes and who proposes their
transfrontier movement for the ultimate purpose of submitting
them to recovery operations. When the United States is the
exporting country, notifier is interpreted to mean a person
domiciled in the United States.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development
(OECD) Area— all land or marine areas under the national
jurisdiction of any designated OECD member country in
LAC 33:V.1113.I. When the regulations refer to shipments to
or from an OECD country, this means OECD area.
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* * *
[See Prior Text]

Recognized Trader— a person who, with appropriate
authorization of concerned countries, acts in the role of
principal to purchase and subsequently sell wastes; this person
has legal control of such wastes from time of purchase to time
of sale; such a person may act to arrange and facilitate
transfrontier movements of wastes destined for recovery
operations.

Recovery Facility— an entity which, under applicable
domestic law, is operating or is authorized to operate in the 1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 18:723
importing country to receive wastes and to perform recovery
operations on them.

Recovery Operations— activities leading to resource
recovery, recycling, reclamation, direct reuse or alternative
uses as listed in Table 2.B of the Annex of OECD Council
Decision C(88)90(Final) of 27 May 1988, (available from the
Environmental Protection Agency, RCRA Information Center
(RIC), 1235 Jefferson-Davis Highway, First Floor, Arlington,
VA 22203 (Docket Number F-94-IEHF-FFFFF) and the
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development,
Environment Directorate, 2 rue Andre Pascal, 75775 Paris
Cedex 16, France), which include the following operations:

Code Recovery Operations

R1 Use as a fuel (other than in direct incineration) or other
means to generate energy

R2 Solvent reclamation/regeneration

R3 Recycling/reclamation of organic substances that are not Just prior to distillation in Method 9065, adjust the sulfuric
used as solvents

R4 Recycling/reclamation of metals and metal compounds

R5 Recycling/reclamation of other inorganic materials

R6 Regeneration of acids or bases

R7 Recovery of components used for pollution control

R8 Recovery of components from catalysts

R9 Used oil re-refining or other reuses of previously used oil

R10 Land treatment resulting in benefit to agriculture or
ecological improvement

R11 Uses of residual materials obtained from any of the
operations numbered R1-R10

R12 Exchange of wastes for submission to any of the
operations numbered R1-R11

R13 Accumulation of material intended for any operation in
Table 2.B of the Annex of OECD Council Decision

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Transfrontier Movement— any shipment of wastes destined
for recovery operations from an area under the national
jurisdiction of one OECD member country to an area under the
national jurisdiction of another OECD member country.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 (May
1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR
13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 15:378
(May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:47 (January
1990), LR 16:218 (March 1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR
16:399 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:683 (August

(July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), repromulgated LR
19:626 (May 1993), amended LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR
20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944
(September 1995), LR 22:814 (September 1996), LR 23:564 (May
1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:
§110. References

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-A.15]

0010 Modified Method 5 Sampling Train

* * *
[See Prior Text]

9320 Radium-228

*When Method 9066 is used it must be preceded by the
manual distillation specified in procedure 7.1 of Method 9065.

acid-preserved sample to pH 4 with 1 + 9 NaOH. After the
manual distillation is completed, the autoanalyzer manifold is
simplified by connecting the re-sample line directly to the
sampler.

16. The OECD Green List of Wastes (revised May 1994),
the Amber List of Wastes and Red List of Wastes (both revised
May 1993) as set forth in Appendix 3, Appendix 4, and
Appendix 5, respectively, to the OECD Council Decision
C(92)39/FINAL (Concerning the Control of Transfrontier
Movements of Wastes Destined for Recovery Operations).
These incorporations by reference were approved by the
Director of the Federal Register in accordance with
5 U.S.C. 552(a) and 1 CFR part 51 on July 11, 1996. These
materials are incorporated as they exist on the date of the
approval and a notice of any change in these materials will be
published in the Federal Register. The materials are available
for inspection at: the Office of the Federal Register, 800 North
Capitol Street, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C.; the U.S.
Environmental Protection Agency, RCRA Information Center
(RIC), 1235 Jefferson-Davis Highway, First Floor, Arlington,
VA 22203 (Docket Number F-94-IEHF-FFFFF); and may be
obtained from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and
Development, Environment Directorate, 2 Rue Andre Pascal,
75775 Paris Cedex 16, France.

* * *
[See Prior Text in B]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 22:814 (September 1996), amended
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by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 3. General Conditions for Treatment, Storage,

and Disposal Facility Permits
§309. Conditions Applicable to All Permits

Each permit shall include permit conditions necessary to
achieve compliance with the Act and these regulations,
including each of the applicable requirements specified in LAC
33:V.Subpart 1. In satisfying this provision, the administrative
authority may incorporate applicable requirements of LAC
33:V.Subpart 1 directly into the permit or establish other
permit conditions that are based on LAC 33:V.Subpart 1. The
following conditions apply to all hazardous waste permits. All
conditions applicable to permits shall be incorporated into the
permits either expressly or by reference. If incorporated by
reference, a specific citation to these regulations must be given
in the permit.

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-L.12]

M. Information Repository. The administrative authority
may require the permittee to establish and maintain an
information repository at any time, based on the factors set
forth in LAC 33:V.708.C.2. The information repository will be the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
governed by the provisions in LAC 33:V.708.C.3-6.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:614 (July
1990), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 20:1000 (September
1994), LR 21:944 (September 1995), amended by the Office of
Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 5. Permit Application Contents
Subchapter D. Part II General Permit Information

Requirements
§517. Part II Information Requirements (the Formal

Permit Application)
The formal permit application information requirements

presented in this Section reflect the standards promulgated in
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1. These information requirements are
necessary in order to determine compliance with all standards.
Responses and exhibits shall be numbered sequentially
according to the technical standards. The permit application
must describe how the facility will comply with each of the
sections of LAC 33:V.Chapters 15-37 and 41. Information
required in the formal permit application shall be submitted to
the administrative authority and signed in accordance with
requirements in LAC 33:V.509. The description must include
appropriate design information (calculations, drawings,
specifications, data, etc.) and administrative details (plans,
flow charts, decision trees, manpower projections, operating
instructions, etc.) to permit the administrative authority to
determine the adequacy of the hazardous waste permit
application. Certain technical data, such as design drawings,
specifications, and engineering studies, shall be certified by a
registered professional engineer. If a section does not apply,
the permit application must state it does not apply and why it
does not apply. This information is to be submitted using the

same numbering system and in the same order used in these
regulations:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-U]

V. for land disposal facilities, if a case-by-case extension
has been approved under LAC 33:V.2239 or a petition has
been approved under LAC 33:V.2241 or 2242, a copy of the
notice of approval for the extension or petition is required; and

W. a summary of the preapplication meeting, along with a
list of attendees and their addresses, and copies of any written
comments or materials submitted at the meeting, as required
under LAC 33:V.708.A.3.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:280 (April 1984), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 14:790
(November 1988), LR 15:181 (March 1989), LR 15:378 (May
1989), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), LR 16:614
(July 1990), LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR
18:1256 (November 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), amended by

Subchapter F. Special Forms of Permits
§537. Permits for Boiler and Industrial Furnaces

Burning Hazardous Waste for Recycling Purposes
Only (boilers and industrial furnaces burning
hazardous waste for destruction are subject to
permit requirements for incinerators)

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-B.2.f]

g. The administrative authority must send a notice to
all persons on the facility mailing list, as set forth in
LAC 33:V.717.A.5, and to the appropriate units of state and
local government, as set forth in LAC 33:V.717.A.2,
announcing the scheduled commencement and completion
dates for the trial burn. The applicant may not commence the
trial burn until after the administrative authority has issued
such notice.

i. This notice must be mailed within a reasonable
time period before the trial burn. An additional notice is not
required if the trial burn is delayed due to circumstances
beyond the control of the facility or the permitting agency.

ii. This notice must contain:
(a). the name and telephone number of the

applicant's contact person;
(b). the name and telephone number of the

permitting agency's contact office;
(c). the location where the approved trial burn plan

and any supporting documents can be reviewed and copied;
and

(d). an expected time period for commencement
and completion of the trial burn.

h. During each approved trial burn (or as soon after
the burn as is practicable), the applicant must make the
following determinations and analyses:

i. a quantitative analysis of antimony, arsenic,
barium, beryllium, cadmium, chromium, lead, mercury,
thallium, silver, and chlorine/chloride in the feedstreams
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(hazardous waste, other fuels, and industrial furnace
feedstocks) to the boiler or industrial furnace is required;

ii. a quantitative analysis of the stack gas for the
concentration and mass emissions of the trial POHCs is
required;

iii. if dioxin and furan testing is required under
LAC 33:V.3009.E, a quantitative analysis of the stack gas for
the concentration and mass emission rate of the
2,3,7,8-chlorinated tetra-octa congeners of chlorinated
dibenzo-p-dioxins and furans, and a computation showing
conformance with the emission standard are required;

iv. a quantitative analysis of the stack gas for the
concentration and mass emission of particulate matter,
metal(s) or hydrogen chloride (HCl) and chlorine gas (Cl ) and2

a computation showing conformance with the metals or HCl
emission performance standard in LAC 33:V.3011 and 3015
are required;

v. a quantitative analysis of the scrubber water (if
any), ash residues, and other residues is required for the
purpose of estimating the fate of the trial POHCs, the fate of
any metal, and the fate of chlorine/chloride subject to
emissions testing under LAC 33:V.537.B.2.g.iii.(b);

vi. destruction and removal efficiency (DRE) must
be computed in accordance with the DRE formula specified in
LAC 33:V.3009.A;

vii. sources of fugitive emissions and their means of
control must be identified;

viii. carbon monoxide, total hydrocarbons, and oxygen
in the stack gas must be continuously measured. The
administrative authority may approve an alternative scheme for
monitoring total hydrocarbons;

ix. a quantitative analysis of the exhaust gas for the
concentration and mass emission of particulate matter, and a
computation showing conformance with the particulate matter
standard in LAC 33:V.3011 is required; and

x. any other information will be required that the
administrative authority specifies as necessary to ensure that
the trial burn will reveal whether the facility complies with the
performance standards required by LAC 33:V.3009-3015.

i. The applicant must submit to the administrative
authority a certification that the trial burn has been conducted
in accordance with the approved trial burn plan and must
submit the results of all the analyses and determinations
required in Subsection B.2.h of this Section. This submission
shall be made within 90 days of completion of the trial burn, or
later if approved by the administrative authority.

j. All data collected during any trial burn must be
submitted to the administrative authority after completion of
the trial burn.

k. All submissions required by this Paragraph must be
certified on behalf of the applicant by the signature of a person
authorized to sign a permit application or a report under LAC
33:V.507 and 509.

l. Based on the results of the trial burn, the
administrative authority shall specify the operating
requirements in the final permit according to
LAC 33:V.3005.E. The permit modification shall proceed as
a minor modification according to LAC 33:V.323.

* * *

[See Prior Text in B.3-4]
C. Interim Status Boilers and Industrial Furnaces

1. For the purpose of determining feasibility of compliance
with the performance standards of LAC 33:V.3009-3015 of
this Chapter and of determining adequate operating conditions
under LAC 33:V.3007, applicants owning or operating
existing boilers or industrial furnaces operated under the
interim status standards of LAC 33:V.3007 must either
prepare and submit a trial burn plan and perform a trial burn
in accordance with the requirements of this Section or submit
other information as specified in LAC 33:V.535.A.6. The
administrative authority must announce his or her intention to
approve of the trial burn plan in accordance with the timing
and distribution requirements of Subsection B.2.g of this
Section. The contents of the notice must include:

a. the name and telephone number of a contact person
at the facility;

b. the name and telephone number of a contact office
at the permitting agency;

c. the location where the trial burn plan and any
supporting documents can be reviewed and copied; and

d. a schedule of the activities that are required prior to
permit issuance, including the anticipated time schedule for
agency approval of the plan and the time periods during which
the trial burn would be conducted.

2. Applicants who submit a trial burn plan and receive
approval before submission of part II of the permit application
must complete the trial burn and submit the results specified in
LAC 33:V.537.B.2.h with part II of the permit application. If
completion of this process conflicts with the date set for
submission of part II, the applicant must contact the
administrative authority to establish a later date for submission
of part II or the trial burn results. If the applicant submits a
trial burn plan with part II of the permit application, the trial
burn must be conducted and the results submitted within a time
period prior to permit issuance to be specified by the
administrative authority.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:737 (September 1989), amended
LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:818
(September 1996), LR 22:832 (September 1996), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 7. Administrative Procedures for Treatment,

Storage, and Disposal Facility Permits
Subchapter A. Permits
§701. Emergency Permits

Notwithstanding any other provision, in the event the
administrative authority finds an imminent and substantial
endangerment to human health or the environment, he may
issue a temporary emergency permit (1) to a nonpermitted
facility to allow treatment, storage, or disposal of hazardous
waste or (2) to a permitted facility to allow treatment, storage,
or disposal of a hazardous waste not covered by an effective
permit. This emergency permit:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-D]
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E. shall be accompanied by a public notice published under
LAC 33:V.715 including:

* * *
[See Prior Text in E.1-F]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter B. Hearings employ another medium with prior approval of the
§708. Preapplication Public Meeting and Notice, Public

Notice Requirements at the Application Stage,
and Information Repository

A. Preapplication Public Meeting and Notice
1. Applicability. The requirements of this Section shall

apply to all RCRA part II applications seeking initial permits
for hazardous waste management units over which the
department has permit issuance authority. The requirements of
this Section shall also apply to RCRA part II applications
seeking renewal of permits for such units where the renewal
application is proposing a significant change in facility
operations. For the purposes of this Section a "significant
change" is any change that would qualify as a class 3 permit
modification under LAC 33:V.321.C. The requirements of this
Section do not apply to permit modifications under
LAC 33:V.321.C or to applications that are submitted for the
sole purpose of conducting post-closure activities or
post-closure activities and corrective action at a facility.

2. Prior to the submission of a part II RCRA permit
application for a facility, the applicant must hold at least one
meeting with the public in order to solicit questions from the
community and inform the community of proposed hazardous
waste management activities. The applicant shall post a sign-in
sheet or otherwise provide a voluntary opportunity for
attendees to provide their names and addresses.

3. The applicant shall submit a summary of the meeting,
along with the list of attendees and their addresses developed
under Subsection A.2 of this Section, and copies of any written
comments or materials submitted at the meeting to the
permitting agency as a part of the part II application, in
accordance with LAC 33:V.517.

4. The applicant must provide public notice of the
preapplication meeting at least 30 days prior to the meeting.
The applicant must maintain, and provide to the permitting
agency upon request, documentation of the notice.

a. The applicant shall provide public notice in all of
the following forms:

i. a newspaper advertisement. The applicant shall
publish a notice, fulfilling the requirements in Subsection
A.4.b of this Section, in a newspaper of general circulation in
the parish or equivalent jurisdiction that hosts the proposed
location of the facility. In addition, the administrative authority
shall instruct the applicant to publish the notice in newspapers
of general circulation in adjacent parishes or equivalent
jurisdictions where the administrative authority determines that
such publication is necessary to inform the affected public.
The notice must be published as a display advertisement;

ii. a visible and accessible sign. The applicant shall
post a notice on a clearly marked sign at or near the facility,
fulfilling the requirements in Subsection A.4.b of this Section.
If the applicant places the sign on the facility property, then the
sign must be large enough to be readable from the nearest
point where the public would pass by the site;

iii. a broadcast media announcement. The applicant
shall broadcast a notice, fulfilling the requirements in
Subsection A.4.b of this Section, at least once, on at least one
local radio station or television station. The applicant may

administrative authority;
iv. a notice to the department. The applicant shall

send a copy of the newspaper notice to the department and to
the appropriate units of state and local government, in
accordance with LAC 33:V.717.A.2.

b. The notices required under Subsection A.4.a of this
Section must include:

i. the date, time, and location of the meeting;
ii. a brief description of the purpose of the meeting;

iii. a brief description of the facility and proposed
operations, including the address or a map (e.g., a sketched or
copied street map) of the facility location;

iv. a statement encouraging people to contact the
facility at least 72 hours before the meeting if they need special
access to participate in the meeting; and

v. the name, address, and telephone number of a
contact person for the applicant.

B. Public Notice Requirements at the Application Stage
1. Applicability. The requirements of this Section shall

apply to all RCRA part II applications seeking initial permits
for hazardous waste management units over which the
department has permit issuance authority. The requirements of
this Section shall also apply to RCRA part II applications
seeking renewal of permits for such units under
LAC 33:V.315.A. The requirements of this Section do not
apply to permit modifications under LAC 33:V.321.C or
permit applications submitted for the sole purpose of
conducting post-closure activities or post-closure activities
and corrective action at a facility.

2. Notification at Application Submittal
a. The administrative authority shall provide public

notice, as set forth in LAC 33:V.717.A.5, and notice to
appropriate units of state and local government, as set forth in
LAC 33:V.717.A.2, that a part II permit application has been
submitted to the department and is available for review.

b. The notice shall be published within a reasonable
period of time after the application is received by the
administrative authority. The notice must include:

i. the name and telephone number of the applicant's
contact person;

ii. the name and telephone number of the permitting
agency's contact office and a mailing address to which
information, opinions, and inquiries may be directed
throughout the permit review process;

iii. an address to which people can write in order to
be put on the facility mailing list;

iv. the location where copies of the permit
application and any supporting documents can be viewed and
copied;
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v. a brief description of the facility and proposed
operations, including the address or a map (e.g., a sketched or
copied street map) of the facility location on the front page of * * *
the notice; and

vi. the date that the application was submitted.
3. Concurrent with the notice required under

Subsection B.2 of this Section, the administrative authority
must place the permit application and any supporting
documents in a location accessible to the public in the vicinity
of the facility or at the permitting agency's office.

C. Information Repository
1. Applicability. The requirements of this Section apply

to all applications seeking RCRA permits for hazardous waste
management units over which the department has permit
issuance authority.

2. The administrative authority may assess the need, on
a case-by-case basis, for an information repository. When
assessing the need for an information repository, the
administrative authority shall consider a variety of factors
including the level of public interest, the type of facility, the
presence of an existing repository, and the proximity to the
nearest copy of the administrative record. If the administrative
authority determines, at any time after submittal of a permit
applicat ion, that there is a need for a repository, then the
administrative authority shall notify the facility that it must
establish and maintain an information repository. (See
LAC 33:V.309.M for similar provisions relating to the
information repository during the life of a permit.)

3. The information repository shall contain all
documents, reports, data, and information deemed necessary by
the administrative authority to fulfill the purposes for which
the repository is established. The administrative authority shall
have the discretion to limit the contents of the repository.

4. The information repository shall be located and
maintained at a site chosen by the facility. If the administrative
authority finds the site unsuitable for the purposes and persons
for which it was established, due to problems with the location,
hours of availability, access, or other relevant considerations,
then the administrative authority shall specify a more
appropriate site.

5. The administrative authority shall specify
requirements for informing the public about the information
repository. At a minimum, the administrative authority shall
require the facility to provide a written notice about the
information repository to all individuals on the facility mailing
list.

6. The facility owner/operator shall be responsible for
maintaining and updating the repository with appropriate
information throughout a time period specified by the
administrative authority. The administrative authority may
close the repository at his or her discretion, based on the
factors in Subsection C.2 of this Section.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:

Chapter 9. Manifest System for TSD Facilities
§905. Use of the Manifest System

[See Prior Text in A-C]
D. Within three working days of the receipt of a shipment

subject to LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B, the owner or
operator of the facility must provide a copy of the tracking
document bearing all required signatures to the notifier, to the
Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance, Office of
Compliance, Enforcement Planning, Targeting and Data
Division (2222A), Environmental Protection Agency, 401 M
Street, SW, Washington, D.C. 20460, and to competent
authorities of all other concerned countries. A copy of the
tracking document must be maintained at the facility for at
least three years from the date of signature.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
17:364 (April 1991), amended by the Office of Waste Services,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 11. Generators
Subchapter A. General
§1101. Applicability

* * *
[See Prior Text in A]

B. Any person who exports or imports hazardous waste
subject to the manifesting requirements of this Chapter, or
subject to the universal waste management standards of LAC
33:V.Chapter 38, to or from the countries listed in LAC
33:V.1113.I.1.a for recovery must comply with Subchapter B
of this Chapter.

C. Any person who imports hazardous waste from a foreign
country into the state of Louisiana must comply with the
standards applicable to generators established in this Chapter.

D. A farmer who generates waste pesticides which are
hazardous waste and who complies with all of the requirements
of LAC 33:V.105.D.5 is not required to comply with other
standards in this Chapter or LAC 33:V.Subpart 1 with respect
to such pesticides.

E. A person who generates a hazardous waste as defined in
LAC 33:V.109 and further specified in LAC 33:V.Chapter 49
is subject to the requirements of this Chapter and penalties
prescribed in the Act for noncompliance.

F. An owner or operator who initiates a shipment of
hazardous waste from a treatment, storage, or disposal facility
must comply with the generator standards established in this
Chapter. The provisions of LAC 33:V.1109.E are applicable
to the on-site accumulation of hazardous waste by generators.
Therefore, the provisions of LAC 33:V.1109.E only apply to
owners or operators who are shipping hazardous waste which
they generated at that facility. A generator who treats, stores,
or disposes of hazardous waste on-site must comply with the
applicable standards and permit requirements set forth in
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1.

G. A person who generates a hazardous waste as defined in
LAC 33:V.109 and further specified in LAC 33:V.Chapter
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49 is subject to the requirements of these chapters and shall hazardous waste in LAC 33:V.109 and is subject to either the
register with the department in accordance with the applicable manifesting requirements in LAC 33:V.1107 or to the
provisions of LAC 33:V.303. universal waste management standards of LAC 33:V.Chapter

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
16:398 (May 1990), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 20:1000
(September 1994), LR 22:20 (January 1996), amended by the Office
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§1113. Exports of Hazardous Waste

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-H.2]

I. International Agreements
1. Any person who exports or imports hazardous waste

subject to manifest requirements of this Chapter, or subject to
the universal waste management standards of
LAC 33:V.Chapter 38, to or from designated member
countries of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and
Development (OECD), as defined in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a, for
purposes of recovery is subject to Subchapter B of this
Section. The requirements of this Section and LAC 33:V.1123
do not apply.

a. For the purposes of these regulations the designated
OECD countries consist of Australia, Austria, Belgium,
Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland,
Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway,
Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United
Kingdom, and the United States.

b. For the purposes of these regulations, Canada and
Mexico are considered OECD member countries only for the
purpose of transit.

2. Any person who exports hazardous waste to or
imports hazardous waste from a designated OECD member
country for purposes other than recovery (e.g., incineration,
disposal), Mexico (for any purpose), or Canada (for any
purpose) remains subject to the requirements of this Section
and LAC 33:V.1123.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
16:220 (March 1990), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 20:1000
(September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:944
(September 1995), LR 22:20 (January 1996), LR 22:344 (May
1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:
Subchapter B. Transfrontier Shipments of Hazardous

Waste
§1127. Transfrontier Shipments of Hazardous Waste

for Recovery Within the OECD
A. Applicability

1. The requirements of this Subchapter apply to imports
and exports of wastes that are considered hazardous under
United States national procedures and are destined for
recovery operations in the countries listed in
LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a. A waste is considered hazardous under
United States national procedures if it meets the definition of

38.
2. Any person (notifier, consignee, or recovery facility

operator) who mixes two or more wastes (including hazardous
and nonhazardous wastes) or otherwise subjects two or more
wastes (including hazardous and nonhazardous wastes) to
physical or chemical transformation operations, and thereby
creates a new hazardous waste, becomes a generator and
assumes all subsequent generator duties under RCRA and any
notifier duties, if applicable, under this Subchapter.

B. General Conditions
1. Scope. The level of control for exports and imports of

waste is indicated by assignment of the waste to a green,
amber, or red list and by United States national procedures as
defined in Subsection A.1 of this Section. The green, amber,
and red lists are incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:V.110.A.16.

a. Wastes on the green list are subject to existing
controls normally applied to commercial transactions, except
as provided in the following:

i. green-list wastes that are considered hazardous
under United States national procedures are subject to
amber-list controls;

ii. green-list wastes that are sufficiently
contaminated or mixed with amber-list wastes such that the
waste or waste mixture is considered hazardous under United
States national procedures are subject to amber-list controls;

iii. green-list wastes that are sufficiently
contaminated or mixed with other wastes subject to red-list
controls such that the waste or waste mixture is considered
hazardous under United States national procedures must be
handled in accordance with the red-list controls.

b. Wastes on the amber list that are considered
hazardous under United States national procedures as defined
in Subsection A.1 of this Section are subject to the amber-list
controls of this Subchapter.

i. If amber-list wastes are sufficiently contaminated
or mixed with other wastes subject to red-list controls such
that the waste or waste mixture is considered hazardous under
United States national procedures, the wastes must be handled
in accordance with the red-list controls.

ii. Reserved
c. Wastes on the red list that are considered hazardous

under United States national procedures as defined in
Subsection A.1 of this Section are subject to the red-list
controls of this Subchapter.

Note: Some wastes on the amber or red lists are not
listed or otherwise identified as hazardous under RCRA
(e.g. , polychlorinated biphenyls) and, therefore, are not
subject to the amber-list or red-list controls of this
Subchapter. Regardless of the status of the waste under
RCRA, however, other federal environmental statutes
(e.g., the Toxic Substances Control Act) may restrict
certain waste imports or exports. Such restrictions
continue to apply without regard to this Subchapter.

d. Wastes not yet assigned to a list are eligible for
transfrontier movements, as follows:
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i. if such wastes are considered hazardous under notification to and consent of the competent authorities of the
United States national procedures as defined in Subsection A.1 original OECD member country of export and any OECD
of this Section, these wastes are subject to the red-list controls; member countries of transit is required as specified in
or Subsection B.3.a-b of this Section in addition to compliance

ii. if such wastes are not considered hazardous under with all international agreements and arrangements to which
United States national procedures as defined in Subsection A.1 the first importing OECD member country is a party and all
of this Section, such wastes may move as though they appeared applicable regulatory requirements for exports from the first
on the green list. importing country.

2. General Conditions Applicable to Transfrontier C. Notification and Consent
Movements of Hazardous Waste 1. Applicability. Consent must be obtained from the

a. The waste must be destined for recovery operations competent authorities of the relevant OECD importing and
at a facility that, under applicable domestic law, is operating or transit countries prior to exporting hazardous waste destined
is authorized to operate in the importing country. for recovery operations subject to this Subchapter. Hazardous

b. The transfrontier movement must be in compliance wastes subject to amber-list controls are subject to the
with applicable international transport agreements. requirements of Subsection C.2 of this Section; hazardous

Note: These international agreements include, but are
not limited to, the Chicago Convention (1944), ADR
(1957), ADNR (1970), MARPOL Convention
(1973/1978), SOLAS Convention (1974), IMDG Code
(1985), COTIF (1985), and RID (1985).

c. Any transit of waste through a non-OECD member
country must be conducted in compliance with all applicable
international and national laws and regulations.

3. Provisions Relating to Re-export for Recovery to a
Third Country

a. Re-export of wastes subject to the amber-list
control system from the United States, as the importing
country, to a third country listed in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a may
occur only after a notifier in the United States provides
notification to and obtains consent of the competent authorities
in the third country, the original exporting country, and new
transit countries. The notification must comply with the notice
and consent procedures in Subsection C of this Section for all
concerned countries, and the original exporting country. The
competent authorities of the original exporting country as well
as the competent authorities of all other concerned countries
have 30 days to object to the proposed movement.

i. The 30-day period begins once the competent
authorities of both the initial exporting country and new
importing country issue Acknowledgements of Receipt of the
notification.

ii. The transfrontier movement may commence if no
objection has been lodged after the 30-day period has passed
or immediately after written consent is received from all
relevant OECD importing and transit countries.

b. Re-export of wastes subject to the red-list control
system from the original importing country to a third country
listed in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a may occur only following
notification of the competent authorities of the third country,
the original exporting country, and new transit countries by a
notifier in the original importing country in accordance with
Subsection C of this Section. The transfrontier movement may
not proceed until receipt by the original importing country of
written consent from the competent authorities of the third
country, the original exporting country, and new transit
countries.

c. In the case of re-export of amber-list or red-list
wastes to a country other than those in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a,

wastes subject to red-list controls are subject to the
requirements of Subsection C.3 of this Section; and wastes not
identified on any list are subject to the requirements of
Subsection C.4 of this Section.

2. Amber-List Wastes. The export from the United
States of hazardous wastes as described in Subsection A.1 of
this Section that appear on the amber list is prohibited unless
the notification and consent requirements of this Subsection
are met.

a. Transactions Requiring Specific Consent
i. Notification. At least 45 days prior to

commencement of the transfrontier movement, the notifier
must provide written notification in English of the proposed
transfrontier movement to the Office of Enforcement and
Compliance Assurance, Office of Compliance, Enforcement
Planning, Targeting and Data Division (2222A),
Environmental Protection Agency, 401 M Street, SW,
Washington, DC 20460, with the words "Attention: OECD
Export Notification" prominently displayed on the envelope.
This notification must include all of the information identified
in Subsection C.5 of this Section. In cases where wastes
having similar physical and chemical characteristics, the same
United Nations classification, and the same RCRA waste codes
are to be sent periodically to the same recovery facility by the
same notifier, the notifier may submit one notification of intent
to export these wastes in multiple shipments during a period of
up to one year.

ii. Tacit Consent. If no objection has been lodged by
any concerned country (i.e., exporting, importing, or transit
countries) to a notification provided pursuant to Subsection
C.2.a.i of this Section within 30 days after the date of issuance
of the Acknowledgment of Receipt of notification by the
competent authority of the importing country, the transfrontier
movement may commence. Tacit consent expires one calendar
year after the close of the 30-day period; renotification and
renewal of all consents are required for exports after that date.

iii. Written Consent. If the competent authorities of
all the relevant OECD importing and transit countries provide
written consent in a period less than 30 days, the transfrontier
movement may commence immediately after all necessary
consents are received. Written consent expires for each
relevant OECD importing and transit country one calendar
year after the date of that country's consent unless otherwise
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specified; renotification and renewal of each expired consent g. countries of transit and relevant competent
is required for exports after that date. authorities and points of entry and departure;

b. Shipments to Facilities Preapproved by the h. country of import and relevant competent authority
Competent Authorities of the Importing Countries to Accept and point of entry;
Specific Wastes for Recovery i. statement of whether the notification is a single

i. The notifier must provide EPA the information notification or a general notification. If general, include the
identified in Subsection C.5 of this Section, in English, at least period of validity requested;
10 days in advance of commencing shipment to a preapproved j. date foreseen for commencement of transfrontier
facility. The notification should indicate that the recovery movement;
facility is preapproved and may apply to a single specific k. designation of waste type(s) from the appropriate
shipment or to multiple shipments as described in Subsection list (amber or red and waste list code), descriptions of each
C.2.a.i of this Section. This information must be sent to the waste type, estimated total quantity of each, RCRA waste code,
Office of Enforcement and Compliance Assurance, Office of and United Nations number for each waste type; and
Compliance, Enforcement Planning, Targeting and Data l. certification/declaration signed by the notifier that
Division (2222A), Environmental Protection Agency, 401 M states:
Street, SW, Washington, DC 20460, with the words "OECD
Export Notification-Preapproved Facility" prominently
displayed on the envelope.

ii. Shipments may commence after the notification
required in Subsection C.2.a.i of this Section has been
received by the competent authorities of all concerned
countries, unless the notifier has received information
indicating that the competent authorities of one or more
concerned countries objects to the shipment.

3. Red-List Wastes. The export from the United States
of hazardous wastes as described in Subsection A.1 of this
Section that appear on the red list is prohibited unless notice
is given in accordance with Subsection C.2.a.i of this Section
and the notifier receives written consent from the importing
country and any transit countries prior to commencement of the
transfrontier movement.

4. Unlisted Wastes. Wastes not assigned to the green,
amber, or red list that are considered hazardous under United
States national procedures as defined in Subsection A.1 of this
Section are subject to the notification and consent
requirements established for red-list wastes in accordance with
Subsection C.3 of this Section. Unlisted wastes that are not
considered hazardous under United States national procedures
as defined in Subsection A.1 of this Section are not subject to
amber or red controls when exported or imported.

5. Notification Information. Notifications submitted
under this Section must include:

a. serial number or other accepted identifier of the
notification form;

b. notifier name and EPA identification number (if
applicable), address, and telephone and telefax numbers;

c. importing recovery facility name, address,
telephone and telefax numbers, and technologies employed;

d. consignee name (if not the owner or operator of the
recovery facility), address, and telephone and telefax numbers;
whether the consignee will engage in waste exchange or
storage prior to delivering the waste to the final recovery
facili ty and identification of recovery operations to be
employed at the final recovery facility;

e. intended transporters and/or their agents;
f. country of export and relevant competent authority

and point of departure;

"I certify that the above information is complete and correct to the best
of my knowledge. I also certify that legally enforceable written
cont ractual obligations have been entered into and that any applicable
insurance or other financial guarantees are or shall be in force covering
the transfrontier movement."
Name: _________________________
Signature: ______________________
Date: __________________________

Note: The United States does not currently require financial assurance;
however, United States exporters may be asked by other governments to
provide and certify to such assurance as a condition of obtaining consent
to a proposed movement.
D. Tracking Document

1. All United States parties subject to the contract
provisions of Subsection E of this Section must ensure that a
tracking document meeting the conditions of Subsection D.2
of this Section accompanies each transfrontier shipment of
wastes subject to amber-list or red-list controls from the
initiation of the shipment until it reaches the final recovery
facility, including cases in which the waste is stored and/or
exchanged by the consignee prior to shipment to the final
recovery facility, except as provided in Subsection D.1.a-b of
this Section.

a. For shipments of hazardous waste within the United
States solely by water (bulk shipments only) the generator
must forward the tracking document with the manifest to the
last water (bulk shipment) transporter to handle the waste in
the United States if exported by water (in accordance with the
manifest routing procedures in LAC 33:V.1107.D.3).

b. For rail shipments of hazardous waste within the
United States which originate at the site of generation, the
generator must forward the tracking document with the
manifest (in accordance with the routing procedures for the
manifest in LAC 33:V.1107.D.4) to the next nonrail
transporter, if any, or the last rail transporter to handle the
waste in the United States if exported by rail.

2. The tracking document must include all information
required under Subsection C of this Section for notification
and the following:

a. date shipment commenced;
b. name (if not notifier), address, and telephone and

telefax numbers of primary exporter;
c. company name and EPA ID number of all

transporters;
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d. identification (license, registered name, or b. each person who will have physical custody of the
registration number) of means of transport, including types of wastes;
packaging; c. each person who will have legal control of the

e. any special precautions to be taken by transporters; wastes; and
f. certification/declaration signed by notifier that no d. the recovery facility.

objection to the shipment has been lodged as follows: 3. Contracts or equivalent arrangements must specify
"I certify that the above information is complete and correct to the best

of my knowledge. I also certify that legally enforceable written
contractual obligations have been entered into, that any applicable
insurance or other financial guarantees are or shall be in force covering
the transfrontier movement, and that:
[List the following sentence that is applicable]

1. all necessary consents have been received; or
2. the shipment is directed at a recovery facility within the

OECD area and no objection has been received from any of the
concerned countries within the 30 day tacit consent period; or

3. the shipment is directed at a recovery facility preauthorized
for that type of waste within the OECD area; such an authorization has not
been revoked, and no objection has been received from any of the
concerned countries."
Name: __________________________
Signature: _____________________
Date: _________________________

and
g. appropriate signatures for each custody transfer

(e.g., transporter, consignee, and owner or operator of the
recovery facility).

3. Notifiers also must comply with the special manifest
requirements of LAC 33:V.1113.E.1, 2, 3, 5, and 9; and
consignees must comply with the import requirements of
LAC 33:V. 1123.

4. Each United States person that has physical custody
of the waste from the time the movement commences until it
arrives at the recovery facility must sign the tracking document
(e.g., transporter, consignee, and owner or operator of the
recovery facility).

5. Within three working days of the receipt of imports
subject to this Subchapter, the owner or operator of the United
States recovery facility must send signed copies of the tracking
document to the notifier, to the Office of Enforcement and
Compliance Assurance, Office of Compliance, Enforcement
Planning, Targeting and Data Division (2222A),
Environmental Protection Agency, 401 M Street, SW,
Washington, D.C. 20460, and to the competent authorities of
the exporting and transit countries.

E. Contracts
1. Transfrontier movements of hazardous wastes subject

to amber or red control procedures are prohibited unless they
occur under the terms of a valid written contract, chain of
contracts, or equivalent arrangements (when the movement
occurs between parties controlled by the same corporate or
legal entity). Such contracts or equivalent arrangements must
be executed by the notifier and the owner or operator of the
recovery facility and must specify responsibilities for each.
Contracts or equivalent arrangements are valid for the
purposes of this Section only if persons assuming obligations
under the contracts or equivalent arrangements have
appropriate legal status to conduct the operations specified in
the contract or equivalent arrangement.

2. Contracts or equivalent arrangements must specify the
name and EPA ID number, where available, of:

a. the generator of each type of waste;

which party to the contract will assume responsibility for
alternate management of the wastes if its disposition cannot be
carried out as described in the notification of intent to export.
In such cases, contracts must specify that:

a. the person having actual possession or physical
control over the wastes will immediately inform the notifier
and the competent authorities of the exporting and importing
countries and, if the wastes are located in a country of transit,
the competent authorities of that country; and

b. the person specified in the contract will assume
responsibility for the adequate management of the wastes in
compliance with applicable laws and regulations including, if
necessary, arranging their return to the original country of
export.

4. Contracts must specify that the consignee will provide
the notification required in Subsection B.3 of this Section prior
to re-export of controlled wastes to a third country.

5. Contracts or equivalent arrangements must include
provisions for financial guarantees, if required by the
competent authorities of any concerned country, in accordance
with applicable national or international law requirements.

Note: Financial guarantees so required are intended to
provide for alternate recycling, disposal, or other means of
sound management of the wastes in cases where
arrangements for the shipment and the recovery operations
cannot be carried out as foreseen. The United States does
not require such financial guarantees at this time;
however, some OECD countries do. It is the responsibility
of the notifier to ascertain and comply with such
requirements; in some cases, transporters or consignees
may refuse to enter into the necessary contracts absent
specific references or certifications to financial
guarantees.

6. Contracts or equivalent arrangements must contain
provisions requiring each contracting party to comply with all
applicable requirements of this Subchapter.

7. Upon request by EPA, United States notifiers,
consignees, or recovery facilities must submit to EPA copies
of contracts, chain of contracts, or equivalent arrangements
(when the movement occurs between parties controlled by the
same corporate or legal entity). Information contained in the
contracts or equivalent arrangements for which a claim of
confidentiality is asserted in accordance with 40 CFR 2.203(b)
will be treated as confidential and will be disclosed by EPA
only as provided in 40 CFR 260.2.

Note: Although the United States does not require
routine submission of contracts at this time, OECD
Council Decision C(92)39/FINAL allows members to
impose such requirements. When other OECD countries
require submission of partial or complete copies of the
contract as a condition to granting consent to proposed
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movements, EPA will request the required information; absent
submission of such information, some OECD countries may
deny consent for the proposed movement.

F. Provisions Relating to Recognized Traders
1. A recognized trader who takes physical custody of a

waste and conducts recovery operations (including storage
prior to recovery) is acting as the owner or operator of a
recovery facility and must be so authorized in accordance with
all applicable federal laws.

2. A recognized trader acting as a notifier or consignee
for transfrontier shipments of waste must comply with all the
requirements of this Subchapter associated with being a
notifier or consignee.

G. Reporting and Recordkeeping
1. Annual Reports. For all waste movements subject to

this Subchapter, persons (e.g., notifiers, recognized traders)
who meet the definition of primary exporter in LAC 33:V.109
shall file an annual report with the Office of Enforcement and
Compliance Assurance, Office of Compliance, Enforcement
Planning, Targeting and Data Division (2222A),
Environmental Protection Agency, 401 M Street, SW,
Washington, DC 20460, no later than March 1 of each year
summarizing the types, quantities, frequency, and ultimate
destination of all such hazardous waste exported during the
previous calendar year. (If the primary exporter is required to
file an annual report for waste exports that are not covered
under this Subchapter, he may include all export information
in one report provided the information required by this
Subsection on exports of waste destined for recovery within
the designated OECD member countries is contained in a
separate Section.) Such reports shall include the following:

a. the EPA identification number, name, and mailing
and site address of the notifier filing the report;

b. the calendar year covered by the report;
c. the name and site address of each final recovery

facility;
d. by final recovery facility, for each hazardous waste

exported, a description of the hazardous waste, the EPA
hazardous waste number (from LAC 33:V.Chapter 49),
designation of waste type(s) from OECD waste lists and
applicable waste code from the OECD lists, the DOT hazard
class, the name and U.S. EPA identification number (where
applicable) for each transporter used, the total amount of
hazardous waste shipped pursuant to this Subchapter, and the
number of shipments pursuant to each notification;

e. in even numbered years, for each hazardous waste
exported, except for hazardous waste produced by exporters of
greater than 100kg but less than 1,000 kg in a calendar month
and except for hazardous waste for which information was
already provided pursuant to LAC 33:V.1111.B:

i. a description of the efforts undertaken during the
year to reduce the volume and toxicity of waste generated; and

ii. a description of the changes in volume and
toxicity of the waste actually achieved during the year in
comparison to previous years to the extent such information is
available for years prior to 1984; and

f. a certification signed by the person acting as
primary exporter that states:

"I certify under penalty of law that I have personally examined and am
fami liar with the information submitted in this and all attached
documents, and that based on my inquiry of those individuals immediately
responsible for obtaining the information, I believe that the submitted
information is true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are
significant penalties for submitting false information including the
possibility of fine and imprisonment."

2. Exception Reports. Any person who meets the
definition of primary exporter in LAC 33:V.109 must file an
exception report, in lieu of the requirements of
LAC 33:V.1111.C, with the administrative authority if any of
the following occurs:

a. he has not received a copy of the tracking
documentation signed by the transporter stating point of
departure of the waste from the United States within 45 days
from the date it was accepted by the initial transporter;

b. within 90 days from the date the waste was accepted
by the initial transporter, the notifier has not received written
confirmation from the recovery facility that the hazardous
waste was received; or

c. the waste is returned to the United States.
3. Recordkeeping

a. Persons who meet the definition of primary exporter
in LAC 33:V.109 shall keep the following records:

i. a copy of each notification of intent to export and
all written consents obtained from the competent authorities of
concerned countries for a period of at least three years from the
date the hazardous waste was accepted by the initial
transporter;

ii. a copy of each annual report for a period of at
least three years from the due date of the report; and

iii. a copy of any exception reports and a copy of each
confirmation of delivery (i.e., tracking documentation) sent by
the recovery facility to the notifier for at least three years from
the date the hazardous waste was accepted by the initial
transporter or received by the recovery facility, whichever is
applicable.

b. The periods of retention referred to in this Section
are extended automatically during the course of any unresolved
enforcement action regarding the regulated activity or as
requested by the administrative authority.

H. Preapproval for United States Recovery Facilities
Reserved.
I. OECD Waste Lists

1. General. For the purposes of this Subchapter, a waste
is considered hazardous under United States national
procedures, and hence subject to this Subchapter, if the waste:

a. meets the definition of hazardous waste in
LAC 33:V.109; and

b. is subject to either the manifesting requirements of
this Chapter or to the universal waste management standards
of LAC 33:V.Chapter 38.

2. If a waste is hazardous under Subsection I.1.a of this
Section and it appears on the amber or red list, it is subject to
amber-list or red-list requirements respectively.

3. If a waste is hazardous under Subsection I.1.a of this
Section and it does not appear on either the amber or red list,
it is subject to red-list requirements.

4. The appropriate control procedures for hazardous
wastes and hazardous waste mixtures are addressed in
Subsection B of this Section.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:
Chapter 13. Transporters
§1301. Applicability

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-D.2]

E. A transporter of hazardous waste must also comply with
LAC 33:V.Chapter 11 if he transports hazardous waste into
Louisiana from abroad or mixes hazardous wastes of different
United States Department of Transportation shipping
descriptions by placing them into a single container.

F. A transporter of hazardous waste subject to the
manifesting requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter 11 or subject
to the waste management standards of LAC 33:V.Chapter 38
that is being imported from or exported to any of the countries
listed in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a for purposes of recovery is
subject to this Chapter and to all other relevant requirements
of LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B including, but not
limited to, LAC 33:V.1127.D for tracking documents.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended by
the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§1307. The Manifest System

A. A transporter may not accept hazardous waste from a
generator or another transporter unless it is accompanied by a
manifest, signed by the generator in accordance with the
provisions of LAC 33:V.1107. The transportation of any
hazardous wastes without a manifest shall be deemed a
violation of these regulations and the Act. In the case of
exports other than those subject to LAC 33:V.Chapter
11.Subchapter B, a transporter may not accept such waste from
a primary exporter or other person:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A.1]

2. unless, in addition to a manifest signed in accordance
with LAC 33:V.1107, such waste is also accompanied by an
EPA Acknowledgment of Consent which, except for shipment
by rail, is attached to the manifest (or shipping paper for
exports by water [bulk shipment]). For exports of hazardous
waste subject to the requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter
11.Subchapter B, a transporter may not accept hazardous
waste without a tracking document that includes all
information required by LAC 33:V.1127.D.

* * *
[See Prior Text in B-H]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
16:220 (March 1990), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 20:1109
(October 1994), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous
Waste Division, LR 24:

Chapter 15. Treatment, Storage, and Disposal
Facilities

§1531. Required Notices
A. The owner or operator of a facility that has arranged to

receive hazardous waste from a foreign source must notify the
administrative authority in writing at least four weeks in
advance of the date the waste is expected to arrive at the
facility. Notice of subsequent shipments of the same waste
from the same foreign source is not required.

B. The owner or operator of a recovery facility that has
arranged to receive hazardous waste subject to
LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B must provide a copy of
the tracking document bearing all required signatures to the
notifier, to the Office of Enforcement and Compliance
Assurance, Office of Compliance, Enforcement Planning,
Targeting and Data Division (2222A), Environmental
Protection Agency, 401 M Street, SW, Washington, DC
20460, and to the competent authorities of all other concerned
countries within three working days of receipt of the shipment.
The original of the signed tracking document must be
maintained at the facility for at least three years.

C. The owner or operator of a facility that receives
hazardous waste from an off-site source (except where the
owner or operator is also the generator) must inform the
generator in writing that he has the appropriate permit(s) for,
and will accept, the waste the generator is shipping. The owner
or operator must keep a copy of this written notice as part of
the operating record.

D. Before transferring ownership or operation of a facility
during its operating life, or of a disposal facility during the
post-closure care period, the owner or operator must notify the
new owner or operator in writing of the requirements of
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1.

E. An owner's or operator's failure to notify the new owner
or operator of the requirements in no way relieves the new
owner or operator of his obligation to comply with all
applicable requirements.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
15:378 (May 1989), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May
1990), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), amended by the Office of
Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 22. Prohibitions on Land Disposal
Subchapter A. Land Disposal Restrictions
§2201. Purpose, Scope, and Applicability

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-G.3]

4. wastes that are hazardous only because they exhibit a
hazardous characteristic, and which are otherwise prohibited
under this Chapter, are not prohibited if the wastes:

a. are disposed into a nonhazardous or hazardous
injection well as defined in LAC 43:XVII.203.C; and

b. do not exhibit any prohibited characteristic of
hazardous waste identified in LAC 33:V.4903 at the point of
injection at the well head.
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5. wastes that are hazardous only because they exhibit a
hazardous characteristic and which are otherwise prohibited A. Except as provided in Subsection B of this Section, no
under this Chapter are not prohibited if the wastes meet any of generator, transporter, handler, or owner or operator of a
the following criteria, unless the wastes are subject to a treatment, storage, or disposal facility shall in any way dilute
specified method of treatment other than DEACT in Table 2 of a prohibited waste or the residual from treatment of a
this Chapter, or are D003 reactive cyanide: prohibited waste as a substitute for adequate treatment to

a. the wastes are managed in a treatment system which achieve compliance with this Chapter, to circumvent the
subsequently discharges to waters of the United States effective date of or otherwise avoid a prohibition listed in
pursuant to a permit issued under section 402 of the Clean Subchapter A of this Chapter, or to circumvent a land disposal
Water Act; or prohibition imposed by RCRA section 3004.

b. the wastes are treated for purposes of the B. Dilution of wastes that are hazardous only because they
pretreatment requirements of section 307 of the Clean Water exhibit a characteristic in a treatment system that include land-
Act; or based units which treat wastes subsequently discharged to a

c. the wastes are managed in a zero discharge system water of the United States pursuant to a permit issued under
engaged in Clean Water Act-equivalent treatment as defined in section 402 of the Clean Water Act (CWA) or which treat
LAC 33:V.2221.D.1; and wastes in a CWA-equivalent treatment system or which treat

d. the wastes no longer exhibit a prohibited wastes for purposes of pretreatment requirements under
characteristic at the point of land disposal (i.e., placement in section 307 of the CWA is not impermissible dilution for
a surface impoundment). purposes of this Section unless a method other than DEACT

* * * has been specified in LAC 33:V.2223 as the treatment
[See Prior Text in H-I.5.c]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658 (July
1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:22
(January 1996), LR 23:568 (May 1997), amended by the Office of
Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§2203. Definitions Applicable to this Chapter

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-A.Injection Zone]

Inorganic Metal-Bearing Waste— a waste for which the
department has established treatment standards for metal
hazardous constituents and which does not otherwise contain
significant organic or cyanide content as described in
LAC 33:V.2207.C.1, and is specifically listed in Table 12 of
this Chapter.

* * *
[See Prior Text]

Underlying Hazardous Constituent— any constituent listed
in LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Table 7, Universal Treatment
Standards, except fluoride, vanadium, and zinc, which can
reasonably be expected to be present at the point of generation
of the hazardous waste, at a concentration above the
constituent-specific UTS treatment standard.

Wastewaters— wastes that contain less than 1 percent by
weight total organic carbon (TOC) and less than 1 percent by
weight total suspended solids (TSS).

* * * 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:22
[See Prior Text in B]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:221 (March 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658
(July 1991), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:22 (January 1996),
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division,
LR 24:

§2207. Dilution Prohibited as a Substitute for Treatment

standard, or unless the waste is a D003 reactive cyanide
wastewater or nonwastewater.

C. Combustion of the hazardous waste codes listed in
Table 12 of this Chapter is prohibited, unless the waste, at the
point of generation, or after any bona fide treatment, such as
cyanide destruction prior to combustion, can be demonstrated
to comply with one or more of the following criteria (unless
otherwise specifically prohibited from combustion):

1. the waste contains hazardous organic constituents or
cyanide at levels exceeding the constituent-specific treatment
standard found in Table 7 of this Chapter;

2. the waste consists of organic, debris-like materials
(e.g., wood, paper, plastic, or cloth) contaminated with an
inorganic metal-bearing hazardous waste;

3. the waste, at point of generation, has reasonable
heating value, such as greater than or equal to 5,000 BTU per
pound;

4. the waste is cogenerated with wastes for which
combustion is a required method of treatment;

5. the waste is subject to federal and/or state
requirements necessitating reduction of organics (including
biological agents); or

6. the waste contains greater than 1 percent Total
Organic Carbon (TOC).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR

(January 1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous
Waste Division, LR 24:
§2221. Schedule of Wastes Identified or Listed After

November 8, 1984
* * *

[See Prior Text in A-E.5]
F. Waste-Specific Prohibitions: Spent Aluminum Potliners

and Reactive and Carbamate Wastes
1. Effective March 20, 1998, the wastes specified as

EPA Hazardous Waste Numbers K156-K159, K161, P127,
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P128, P185, P188-P192, P194, P196-P199, P201-P205, requirements of this Chapter are applicable, except as
U271, U277-U280, U364-U367, U372, U373, U375-U379, otherwise specified.
U381-U387, U389-U396, U400-U404, U407, and
U409-U411 are prohibited from land disposal. In addition, soil
and debris contaminated with these wastes are prohibited from
land disposal.

2. Effective March 20, 1998, the wastes identified in
LAC 33:V.4903.D as D003 that are managed in systems other
than those whose discharge is regulated under the Clean Water
Act (CWA) or that inject in Class I deep wells regulated under
the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) or that are zero
dischargers that engage in CWA-equivalent treatment before
ultimate land disposal, are prohibited from land disposal. This
prohibition does not apply to unexploded ordnance and other
explosive devices, which have been the subject of an
emergency response. Such D003 wastes are prohibited unless
they meet the treatment standard of DEACT before land
disposal (see LAC 33:V.2223).

3. Effective March 20, 1998, the wastes specified in
LAC 33:V.4901.C as EPA Hazardous Waste Number K088
are prohibited from land disposal. In addition, soil and debris
contaminated with these wastes are prohibited from land
disposal.

4. On April 8, 1998, radioactive wastes mixed with
K088, K156-K161, P127, P128, P185, P188-P192, P194,
P196-P199, P201-P205, U271, U277-U280, U364-U367,
U372, U373, U375-U379, U381-U387, U389-U396,
U400-U404, U407, and U409-U411 are also prohibited from
land disposal. In addition, soil and debris contaminated with
these radioactive mixed wastes are prohibited from land
disposal.

5. Between March 20, 1998, and April 8, 1998, the
wastes included in Subsection F.1, 3, and 4 of this Section may
be disposed in a landfill or surface impoundment, only if such
unit is in compliance with the requirements specified in LAC
33:V.2239.I.2.

6. The requirements of Subsection F.1-4 of this Section
do not apply if:

a. the wastes meet the applicable treatment standards
specified in this Chapter;

b. persons have been granted an exemption from a
prohibition pursuant to a petition under LAC 33:V.2241, with
respect to those wastes and units covered by the petition;

c. the wastes meet the applicable alternate treatment
standards established pursuant to a petition granted under LAC
33:V.2231; or

d. persons have been granted an extension to the
effective date of a prohibition pursuant to LAC 33:V.2239,
with respect to these wastes covered by the extension. (March 1995), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:819 (September

7. To determine whether a hazardous waste identified in
this Section exceeds the applicable treatment standards
specified in LAC 33:V.2223, the initial generator must test a
sample of the waste extract or the entire waste, depending on
whether the treatment standards are expressed as
concentrations in the waste extract or the waste, or the
generator may use knowledge of the waste. If the waste
contains constituents in excess of the applicable treatment
levels, the waste is prohibited from land disposal and all

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
17:658 (July 1991), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:22 (January
1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:
§2223. Applicability of Treatment Standards

A. A prohibited waste identified in the LAC 33:V.Chapter
22.Table 2 may be land disposed only if it meets the
requirements found in Table 2. For each waste, the table
identif ies one of the three types of treatment standard
requirements:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A.1-B]

C. For characteristic wastes (D001-D003, and D012-
D043) that are subject to treatment standards in
LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Table 2, "Treatment Standards for
Hazardous Wastes," all underlying hazardous constituents (as
defined in LAC 33:V.2203) must meet Universal Treatment
Standards, found in LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Table 7, prior to
land disposal as defined in LAC 33:V.2203.

* * *
[See Prior Text in D]

E. Between August 26, 1996, and August 26, 1997, the
treatment standards for the wastes specified as EPA Hazardous
Waste Numbers K156-K159, K161,P127, P128, P185,
P188-P192, P194, P196-P199, P201-P205, U271, U278-
U280, U364-U367, U372, U373, U375-U379, U381-U387,
U389-U396, U404, and U409-U411 and soil contaminated
with these wastes were satisfied by either meeting the
constituent concentrations presented in LAC 33:V.Chapter
22.Table 2, or by treating the waste by the following
technologies: combustion, as defined by the technology code
CMBST at LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Table 3, for
nonwastewaters; and biodegradation as defined by the
technology code BIODG, carbon adsorption as defined by the
technology code CARBN, chemical oxidation as defined by the
technology code CHOXD, or combustion as defined as
technology code CMBST at LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Table 3, for
wastewaters.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 21:266

1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:
§2235. Landfills and Surface Impoundments Disposal

Restrictions
Repealed.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2180 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 22:22
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(January 1996), repealed by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous
Waste Division, LR 24:
§2245. Generators' Waste Analysis, Recordkeeping, and

Notice Requirements
A. Except as specified in LAC 33:V.2213, if a generator's

waste is listed in LAC 33:V.Chapter 49, the generator must
test his or her waste or test an extract using Method 1311, the
Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure, described in "Test
Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical
Methods," EPA Publication SW-846, as incorporated by
reference at LAC 33:V.110, or use knowledge of the waste to
determine if the waste is prohibited from land disposal under
this Chapter. Except as specified in LAC 33:V.2213, if a
generator's waste exhibits one or more of the characteristics set
out at LAC 33:V.4903, the generator must test an extract using
Method 1311, the Toxicity Characteristic Leaching Procedure,
described in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste,
Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication SW-846, as
incorporated by reference at LAC 33:V.110, or use knowledge
of the waste, to determine if the waste is prohibited from land
disposal under this Chapter. If the generator determines that
his waste exhibits the characteristic of ignitability (D001) (and
is not in the High TOC Ignitable Liquids Subcategory or is not
treated by CMBST or RORGS of Table 3 of this Chapter)
and/or the characteristic of corrosivity (D002) and/or reactivity
(D003) and/or the characteristic of organic toxicity (D012-
D043),and the waste is prohibited under LAC 33:V.2221.D-F,
the generator must determine the underlying hazardous
constituents, as defined in LAC 33:V.2203, in the D001,
D002, D003, or D012-D043 waste.

* * *
[See Prior Text in B-B.1]

2. the waste constituents that the person treating the
waste will monitor, if monitoring will not include all regulated
constituents, for wastes F001-F005, F039, D001, D002,
D003, and D012-D043. Generators must also include whether
the waste is a nonwastewater or wastewater (as defined in
LAC 33:V.2203) and indicate the subcategory of the waste
(such as "D003 reactive cyanide"), if applicable;

* * *
[See Prior Text in B.3-4]

5. for hazardous debris, the contaminants subject to
treatment as provided by LAC 33:V.2230 and the following
statement: "This hazardous debris is subject to the alternative
treatment standards of LAC 33:V.2230."

C. If a generator determines that he or she is managing a
waste prohibited under this Chapter and determines that the
waste can be land disposed without further treatment, with
each shipment of waste he or she must submit to the treatment,
storage, or land disposal facility a notice and certification
stating that the waste meets the applicable treatment standards
set forth in LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Subchapter A and the
applicable prohibitions set forth in LAC 33:V.2213.
Generators of hazardous debris that is excluded from the
definition of hazardous waste under LAC 33:V.109 (i.e.,
debris that the administrative authority has determined does
not contain hazardous waste), however, are not subject to these (January 1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous
notification and certification requirements.

* * *
[See Prior Text in C.1-1.a]

b. the waste constituents that the person treating the
waste will monitor, if monitoring will not include all regulated
constituents, for wastes F001-F005, F039, D001, D002,
D003, and D012-D043. Generators must also include whether
the waste is a nonwastewater or wastewater (as defined in
LAC 33:V.2203) and indicate the subcategory of the waste
(such as "D003 reactive cyanide"), if applicable;

* * *
[See Prior Text in C.1.c-D.1]

2. the waste constituents that the person treating the
waste will monitor, if monitoring will not include all regulated
constituents, for wastes F001-F005, F039, D001, D002,
D003, and D012-D043. Generators must also include whether
the waste is a nonwastewater or wastewater (as defined in
LAC 33:V.2203) and indicate the subcategory of the waste
(such as "D003 reactive cyanide"), if applicable;

* * *
[See Prior Text in D.3-K]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 21:266
(March 1995), LR 21:267 (March 1995), LR 21:1334 (December
1995), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:820 (September 1996), LR
22:1130 (November 1996), LR 23:565 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§2246. Special Rules Regarding Wastes That Exhibit a

Characteristic
A. The initial generator of a solid waste must determine

each EPA Hazardous Waste Number (waste code) applicable
to the waste in order to determine the applicable treatment
standards under this Chapter. For purposes of this Chapter,
the waste will carry the waste code for any applicable listing
under LAC 33:V.4901. In addition, the waste will carry one or
more of the waste codes under LAC 33:V.4903, where the
waste exhibits a characteristic, except in the case when the
treatment standard for the waste code listed in LAC 33:V.4901
operates in lieu of the standard for the waste code under LAC
33:V.4903, as specified in LAC 33:V.2246.B. If the generator
determines that his waste displays a hazardous characteristic
(and the waste is not a D004-D011 waste, a High TOC D001,
or is not treated by CMBST, or RORGS of LAC 33:V.Chapter
22.Table 3), the generator must determine what underlying
hazardous constituents (as defined in LAC 33:V.2203.A) are
reasonably expected to be present above the universal
treatment standards found in LAC 33:V.2233.

* * *
[See Prior Text in B-E.3.c]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 16:1057 (December 1990), amended
LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:22

Waste Division, LR 24:
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§2247. Owners or Operators of Treatment or Disposal
Facilities: Testing, Waste Minimization,
Recordkeeping, and Notice Requirements

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-B.1]

2. the waste constituents to be monitored, if monitoring
will not include all regulated constituents, for wastes
F001-F005, F039, D001, D002, D003, and D012-D043.
Generators must also include whether the waste is a
nonwastewater or wastewater (as defined in LAC 33:V.2203)
and indicate the subcategory of the waste (such as "D003
reactive cyanide"), if applicable;

* * *
[See Prior Text in B.3-C.3]

4. For characteristic wastes D001, D002, D003, and
D012-D043 that are subject to the treatment standards in
LAC 33:V.2223 (other than those expressed as a required
method of treatment), that are reasonably expected to contain
underlying hazardous constituents as defined in
LAC 33:V.2203, that are treated on-site to remove the
hazardous characteristic and are then sent off-site for treatment
of underlying hazardous constituents, the certification must
state the following: 1995), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:820 (September 1996), LR

"I certify under penalty of law that the waste has been treated in
accordance with the requirements of LAC 33:V.2223 to remove the
hazardous characteristic. This decharacterized waste contains underlying
hazardous constituents that require further treatment to meet

universal treatment standards. I am aware that there are significant
penalties for submitting a false certification, including the possibility of
fine and imprisonment."

5. For characteristic wastes D001, D002, D003, and
D012-D043 that contain underlying hazardous constituents, as
defined in LAC 33:V.2203.A, and that are treated on-site to
remove the hazardous characteristic and to treat underlying
hazardous constituents to levels in LAC 33:V.2233.Universal
Treatment Standards, the certification must state the following:

"I certify under penalty of law that the waste has been treated in
accordance with the requirements of LAC 33:V.2223 to remove the
hazardous characteristic and that underlying hazardous constituents, as
defined in LAC 33:V.2203.A, have been treated on-site to meet the
LAC 33:V.2233.Universal Treatment Standards. I am aware that there are
significant penalties for submitting a false certification, including the
possibility of fine and imprisonment."

* * *
[See Prior Text in D-H]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 21:266
(March 1995), LR 21:267 (March 1995), LR 21:1334 (December

23:566 (May 1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:

Appendix

Table 2. Treatment Standards for Hazardous Wastes

Waste
Code

Waste Description and
Treatment/Regulatory

Subcategory1

Regulated Hazardous Constituent Wastewaters Nonwastewaters

Common Name CAS Number mg/l ; or2
Concentration

3

Technology Code4

Concentration in mg/kg5

unless noted as "mg/l
TCLP" or Technology

Code4

D001 Ignitable Characteristic Wastes, NA NA DEACT and meet DEACT and meet LAC9

except for the LAC LAC 33:V.2233 33:V.2233 standards ; or
33:V.4903.B.1 High TOC standards ; or RORGS; or CMBST
Subcategory RORGS; or

8

CMBST

8

High TOC Ignitable NA NA NA RORGS; or CMBST
Characteristic Liquids
Subcategory based on LAC 33:V
4903.B.1. - Greater than or equal
to 10 percent total organic
carbon. (Note: This subcategory
consists of nonwastewaters only.)

D002 Corrosive Characteristic Wastes NA NA DEACT DEACT9

and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
33:V.2233 standards
standards8

8

* * *
[See Prior Text in D002, D004-D011 Radioactive High Level Wastes]
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D003 Reactive Sulfides Subcategory NA NA DEACT DEACT9

based on LAC 33:V.4903.D.5.

Explosives Subcategory based on NA NA DEACT and meet DEACT and meet LAC
LAC 33:V.4903.D.6, 7, and 8. LAC 33:V.2233 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

Unexploded ordnance and other NA NA DEACT DEACT
explosive devices that have been
the subject of emergency
response.

Other Reactives Subcategory NA NA DEACT and meet DEACT and meet LAC
based on LAC 33:V.4903.D.1. LAC 33:V.2233 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

Water Reactive Subcategory NA NA NA DEACT and meet LAC
based on LAC 33:V.4903.D.2, 3, 33:V.2233 standards
and 4. (Note: This subcategory
consists of nonwastewaters only.)

8

Reactive Cyanides Subcategory Cyanides (Total) 57-12-5 Reserved 590
based on LAC 33:V.4903.D.5.

7

Cyanides (Amenable) 57-12-5 0.86 307

* * *
[See Prior Text in D004 - D011]

D012 Wastes that are TC for Endrin Endrin 72-20-8 BIODG; or CMBST 0.139

based on the TCLP in SW846 and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. standards8

Endrin aldehyde 7421-93-4 BIODG; or CMBST 0.13
and meet LAC 33:V.2233

standards8

D013 Wastes that are TC for Lindane alpha-BHC 319-84-6 CARBN; or 0.0669

based on the TCLP in SW846 CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. standards8

beta-BHC 319-85-7 CARBN; or 0.066
CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233

standards8

delta-BHC 319-86-8 CARBN; or 0.066
CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233

standards8

gamma-BHC (Lindane) 58-89-9 CARBN; or 0.066
CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233

standards8

D014 Wastes that are TC for Methoxychlor 72-43-5 WETOX or 0.189

Methoxychlor based on the TCLP CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233
in SW846 Method 1311. standards8

D015 Wastes that are TC for Toxaphene Toxaphene 8001-35-2 BIODG or CMBST 2.69

based on the TCLP in SW846 and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. standards8

D016 Wastes that are TC for 2,4-D (2,4- 2,4-D (2,4-Dichlorophenoxy- 94-75-7 CHOXD, BIODG, 109

Dichlorophenoxyacetic acid) acetic acid) or CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233
based on the TCLP in SW846 standards
Method 1311.

8

D017 Wastes that are TC for 2,4,5-TP 2,4,5-TP (Silvex) 93-72-1 CHOXD or 7.99

(Silvex) based on the TCLP in CMBST and meet LAC 33:V.2233
SW846 Method 1311. standards8
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D018 Wastes that are TC for Benzene Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 109

based on the TCLP in SW846 and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311 and that are 33:V.2233 standards
managed in non-CWA/non-CWA standards
equivalent/non-Class I SDWA
systems only.

8

8

D019 Wastes that are TC for Carbon Carbon tetrachloride 56-23-5 0.057 6.09

tetrachloride based on the TCLP and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D020 Wastes that are TC for Chlordane Chlordane (alpha and gamma 57-74-9 0.0033 0.269

based on the TCLP in SW846 isomers) and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D021 Wastes that are TC for Chlorobenzene 108-90-7 0.057 6.09

Chlorobenzene based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311 . 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D022 Wastes that are TC for Chloroform 67-66-3 0.046 6.09

Chloroform based on the TCLP in and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D023 Wastes that are TC for o-Cresol o-Cresol 95-48-7 0.11 5.69

based on the TCLP in SW846 and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D024 Wastes that are TC for m-Cresol m-Cresol 108-39-4 0.77 5.69

based on the TCLP in SW846 (difficult to distinguish from and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. p-cresol) 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D025 Wastes that are TC for p-Cresol p-Cresol 106-44-5 0.77 5.69

based on the TCLP in SW846 (difficult to distinguish from and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. m-cresol) 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D026 Wastes that are TC for Cresols Cresol-mixed isomers 1319-77-3 0.88 11.29

(Total) based on the TCLP in (Cresylic acid) and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
SW846 Method 1311. (sum of o-, m-, and p-cresol 33:V.2233 standards

concentrations) standards8

8

D027 Wastes that are TC for p- p-Dichlorobenzene (1,4- 106-46-7 0.090 6.09

Dichlorobenzene based on the Dichlorobenzene) and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D028 Wastes that are TC for 1,2- 1,2-Dichloroethane 107-06-2 0.21 6.09

Dichloroethane based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D029 Wastes that are TC for 1,1- 1,1-Dichloroethylene 75-35-4 0.025 6.09

Dichloroethylene based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D030 Wastes that are TC for 2,4- 2,4-Dinitrotoluene 121-14-2 0.32 1409

Dinitrotoluene based on the TCLP and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8
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D031 Wastes that are TC for Heptachlor Heptachlor 76-44-8 0.0012 0.0669

based on the TCLP in SW846 and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

Heptachlor epoxide 1024-57-3 0.016 0.066
and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233

33:V.2233 standards
standards8

8

D032 Wastes that are TC for Hexachlorobenzene 118-74-1 0.055 109

Hexachlorobenzene based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D033 Wastes that are TC for Hexachlorobutadiene 87-68-3 0.055 5.69

Hexachlorobutadiene based on and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
the TCLP in SW846 Method 33:V.2233 standards
1311. standards8

8

D034 Wastes that are TC for Hexachloroethane 67-72-1 0.055 309

Hexachloroethane based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D035 Wastes that are TC for Methyl Methyl ethyl ketone 78-93-3 0.28 369

ethyl ketone based on the TCLP and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D036 Wastes that are TC for Nitrobenzene 98-95-3 0.068 149

Nitrobenzene based on the TCLP and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D037 Wastes that are TC for Pentachlorophenol 87-86-5 0.089 7.49

Pentachlorophenol based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D038 Wastes that are TC for Pyridine Pyridine 110-86-1 0.014 169

based on the TCLP in SW846 and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D039 Wastes that are TC for Tetrachloroethylene 127-18-4 0.056 6.09

Tetrachloroethylene based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D040 Wastes that are TC for Trichloroethylene 79-01-6 0.054 6.09

Trichloroethylene based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D041 Wastes that are TC for 2,4,5- 2,4,5-Trichlorophenol 95-95-4 0.18 7.49

Trichlorophenol based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D042 Wastes that are TC for 2,4,6- 2,4,6-Trichlorophenol 88-06-2 0.035 7.49

Trichlorophenol based on the and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
TCLP in SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

D043 Wastes that are TC for Vinyl Vinyl chloride 75-01-4 0.27 6.09

chloride based on the TCLP in and meet LAC and meet LAC 33:V.2233
SW846 Method 1311. 33:V.2233 standards

standards8

8

* * *
[See Prior Text in F001 - K087]
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K088 Spent potliners from primary Acenaphthene 83-32-9 0.059 3.4
aluminum reduction.

Anthracene 120-12-7 0.059 3.4

Benz(a)anthracene 56-55-3 0.059 3.4

Benzo(a)pyrene 50-32-8 0.061 3.4

Benzo(b)fluoranthene 205-99-2 0.11 6.8

Benzo(k)fluoranthene 207-08-9 0.11 6.8

Benzo(g,h,i)perylene 191-24-2 0.0055 1.8

Chrysene 218-01-9 0.059 3.4

Dibenz(a,h)anthracene 53-70-3 0.055 8.2

Fluoranthene 206-44-0 0.068 3.4

Indeno (1,2,3-c,d)pyrene 193-39-5 0.0055 3.4

Phenanthrene 85-01-8 0.059 5.6

Pyrene 129-00-0 0.067 8.2

Antimony 7440-36-0 1.9 2.1 mg/l TCLP

Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.4 5.0 mg/l TCLP

Barium 7440-39-3 1.2 7.6 mg/l TCLP

Beryllium 7440-41-7 0.82 0.014 mg/l TCLP

Cadmium 7440-43-9 0.69 0.19 mg/l TCLP

Chromium (Total) 7440-47-3 2.77 0.86 mg/l TCLP

Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.37 mg/l TCLP

Mercury 7439-97-6 0.15 0.025 mg/l TCLP

Nickel 7440-02-0 3.98 5.0 mg/l TCLP

Selenium 7782-49-2 0.82 0.16 mg/l TCLP

Silver 7440-22-4 0.43 0.30 mg/l TCLP

Cyanide (Total) 57-12-5 1.2 5907

Cyanide (Amenable) 57-12-5 0.86 307

Fluoride 16984-48-8 35 48 mg/l TCLP

* * *
[See Prior Text in K093 -K151]
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K156 Organic waste (including heavy Acetonitrile 75-05-8 5.6 38
ends, still bottoms, light ends,
spent solvents, filtrates, and
decantates) from the production
of carbamates and carbamoyl
oximes.10 

Acetophenone 96-86-2 0.010 9.7

Aniline 62-53-3 0.81 14

Benomyl 17804-35-2 0.056 1.4

Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 10

Carbaryl 63-25-2 0.006 0.14

Carbenzadim 10605-21-7 0.056 1.4

Carbofuran 1563-66-2 0.006 0.14

Carbosulfan 55285-14-8 0.028 1.4

Chlorobenzene 108-90-7 0.057 6.0

Chloroform 67-66-3 0.046 6.0

o- 95-50-1 0.088 6.0
Dichlorobenzene

Methomyl 16752-77 0.028 0.14

Methylene chloride 75-09-2 0.089 30

Methyl ethyl ketone 78-93-3 0.28 36

Naphthalene 91-20-3 0.059 5.6

Phenol 108-95-2 0.039 6.2

Pyridine 110-86-1 0.014 16

Toluene 108-88-3 0.080 10

Triethylamine 121-44-8 0.081 1.5

K157 Wastewaters (including scrubber Carbon 56-23-5 0.057 6.0
waters, condenser waters, tetrachloride
washwaters, and separation
waters) from the production
 of carbamates and carbamoyl
oximes.10

Chloroform 67-66-3  0.046 6.0

 Chloromethane 74-87-3 0.19 30

Methomyl 16752-77-5 0.028 0.14

Methylene chloride 75-09-2 0.089 30

Methyl ethyl ketone 78-93-3 0.28 36

o-Phenylenediamine 95-54-5 0.056 5.6

Pyridine 110-86-1 0.014 16

Triethylamine 121-44-8 0.081 1.5
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K158 Bag house dusts and Benomyl 17804- 35-2 0.056 14
filter/separation solids from the
production of carbamates and
carbamoyl oximes.10

Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 10

Carbenzadim 10605-21-7 0.056 1.4

Carbofuran 1563-66-2 0.006 0.14

Carbosulfan 55285-14-8 0.028 1.4

Chloroform 67-66-3 0.046 6.0

Methylene chloride 75-09-2 0.089 30

Phenol 108-95-2 0.039 6.2

K159  Organics from the treatment of Benzene 71-43-2 0.14 10
thiocarbamate wastes.10

Butylate 2008-41-5 0.042 1.4

EPTC (Eptam) 759-94-4 0.042 1.4

Molinate 2212-67-1 0.042 1.4

Pebulate 1114-71-2 0.042 1.4

Vernolate 1929-77-7 0.042 1.4

K161 Purification solids (including Antimony 7440-36-0 1.9 2.1 mg/l TCLP
filtration,
evaporation, and centrifugation
solids), baghouse dust, and floor
sweepings from the production of
dithiocarbamate acids and their
salts.10

Arsenic 7440-38-2 1.9 5.0 mg/l TCLP

Carbon disulfide 75-15-0 3.8 4.8 mg/l TCLP

Dithiocarbamates (total) NA 0.028 28

Lead 7439-92-1 0.69 0.37 mg/l TCLP

Nickel 7440-02-0 3.98 5.0 mg/l TCLP

Selenium 7782-49-2 0.82 0.16 mg/l TCLP

* * *
[See Prior Text in P001 - P123]

P127 Carbofuran Carbofuran 1563-66-2 0.006 0.1410

P128 Mexacarbate Mexacarbate 315-18-4 0.056 1.410

P185 Tirpate Tirpate 26419-73-8 0.056 0.2810

P188 Physostigmine salicylate Physostigmine 57-64-7 0.056 1.410 

salicylate

P189 Carbosulfan Carbosulfan 55285-14-8 0.028 1.410

P190 Metolcarb Metolcarb 1129-41-5 0.056 1.410

P191 Dimetilan Dimelitan 644-64-4 0.056 1.410

P192 Isolan Isolan 119-38-0 0.056 1.410
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P194 Oxamyl Oxamyl 23135-22-0 0.056 0.2810

P196 Manganese Dithiocarbamates (total) NA 0.028 28
dimethyldithiocarbamate 10

P197 Formparanate Formparanate 17702-57-7 0.056 1.410

P198 Formetanate hydrochloride Formetanate hydrochloride 23422-53-9 0.056 1.410

P199 Methiocarb Methiocarb 2032-65-7 0.056 1.410

P201 Promecarb Promecarb 2631-37-0 0.056 1.410

P202 m-Cumenyl methylcarbamate m-Cumenyl 64-00-6 0.056 1.410

meth ylcarbamate

P203 Aldicarb sulfone Aldicarb sulfone 1646-88-4 0.056 0.2810

P204 Physostigmine Physostigmine 57-47-6 0.056 1.410

P205 Ziram Dithiocarbamates (total) NA 0.028 28 10

* * *
[See Prior Text in U001 - U249]

U271 Benomyl Benomyl 17804-35-2 0.056 1.410

U278 Bendiocarb Bendiocarb 22781-23-8 0.056 1.410

U279 Carbaryl Carbaryl 63-25-2 0.006 0.1410

U280 Barban Barban 101-27-9 0.056 1.410

* * *
[See Prior Text in U328 - U359]

U364 Bendiocarb phenol Bendiocarb phenol 22961-82-6 0.056 1.410

U367 Carbofuran phenol Carbofuran phenol 1563-38-8 0.056 1.410

U372 Carbendazim Carbendazim 10605- 21-7 0.056 1.410

U373 Propham Propham 122-42-9 0.056 1.410

U387 Prosulfocarb Prosulfocarb 52888-80-9 0.042 1.410

U389 Triallate Triallate 2303-17-5 0.042 1.410

U394 A2213 A2213 30558-43-1 0.042 1.410

U395 Diethylene glycol, dicarbamate Diethylene glycol, 5952-26-1 0.056 1.410

dicarbamate

U404 Triethylamine Triethylamine 101-44-8 0.081 1.510

U409 Thiophanate-methyl Thiophanate-methyl 23564-05-8 0.056 1.410

U410 Thiodicarb Thiodicarb 59669-26-0 0.019 1.410

U411 Propoxur Propoxur 114-26-1 0.056 1.410

* * *
[See Prior Text in Note 1 - Note 7]

These wastes, when rendered nonhazardous and then subsequently8

managed in CWA or CWA-equivalent systems, are not subject to treatment
standards. (See LAC 33:V.2201.G.4 and G.5.)

These wastes, when rendered nonhazardous and then subsequently9

injected in a Class I SDWA well, are not subject to treatment standards. (See
LAC 33:V.Chapter 22.Subchapter B.)

Between August 26, 1996, and August 26, 1997, the treatment standards10

for this waste were satisfied in 40 CFR 268.40(g)by either meeting the

constituent concentrations in this table or by treating the waste by the specified
technologies: combustion, as defined by the technology code CMBST at LAC
33:V.Chapter 22.Table 3, for nonwastewaters; and biodegradation, as defined
by the technology code BIODG, carbon adsorption, as defined by the
technology code CARBN, chemical oxidation, as defined by the technology
code CHOXD, or combustion, as defined as technology code CMBST at LAC
33:V.Chapter 22,Table 3, for wastewaters. Note: NA means not applicable.

* * *
[See Prior Text in Table 3 - Table 6]
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Table 7. Universal Treatment Standards

Regulated Constituent-Common Wastewater Standard Concentration in mg/kg unless
Name Concentration in mg/l noted as "mg/l TCLP"CAS Number1

2

Nonwastewater Standard
3

A2213 30558-43-1 0.042 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Acenaphthylene - Acrylonitrile]

Aldicarb sulfone 1646-88-4 0.056 0.286

* * *
[See Prior Text in Aldrin - gamma - BHC]

Barban 101-27-9 0.056 1.46

Bendiocarb 22781-23-3 0.056 1.46

Bendiocarb phenol 22961-82-6 0.056 1.46

Benomyl 17804-35-2 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Benzene -n-Butyl alchol]

Butylate 2008-41-5 0.042 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Butyl benzyl phthalate - 2-sec-Butyl-4,6-dinitrophenol/Dinoseb]

Carbaryl 63-25-2 0.006 0.146

Carbenzadim 10605-21-7 0.056 1.46

Carbofuran 1563-66-2 0.006 0.146

Carbofuran phenol 1563-38-8 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Carbon disulfide - Carbon tetrachloride]

Carbosulfan 55285-14-8 0.028 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Chlordane (alpha and gamma isomers) - p-Creosol]

m-Cumenyl methylcarbamate 64-00-6 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Cyclohexanone -Diethyl phthalate]

Diethylene glycol, dicarbamate 5952-26-1 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in 2-4-Dimethyl phenol - Dimethyl phthalate]

Dimetilan 644-64-4 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Di-n-butyl phthalate - Disulfoton]

Dithiocarbamates (total) 137-30-4 0.028 286

* * *
[See Prior Text in Endosulfan I - Flourene]

Formetanate hydrochloride 23422-53-9 0.056 1.46

Formparanate 17702-57-7 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Heptochlor - Isodrin]

Isolan 119-38-0 0.056 1.46
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* * *
[See Prior Text in Isosafrole - Methapyrilene]

Methiocarb 2032-65-7 0.056 1.46

Methomyl 16752-77-5 0.028 0.146

* * *
[See Prior Text in Methoxychlor - Methyl parathion]

Metolcarb 1129-41-5 0.056 1.46

Mexacarbate 315-18-4 0.056 1.46

Molinate 2212-67-1 0.042 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Napthalene - N-Nitrosopyrrolidine]

Oxamyl 23135-22-0 0.056 0.286

* * *
[See Prior Text in Parathion - Total PCBs]

Pebulate 1114-71-2 0.042 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Pentachlorobenzene - Phenol]

o-Phenylenediamine 95-54-5 0.056 5.66

* * *
[See Prior Text in Phorate - Phthalic anhydride]

Physostigmine 57-47-6 0.056 1.46

Physostigmine salicylate 57-64-7 0.056 1.46

Promecarb 2631-37-0 0.056 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Pronamide]

Propham 112-42-9 0.056 1.46

Propoxur 114-26-1 0.056 1.46

Prosulfocarb 52888-80-9 0.042 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Pyrene - 2,3,4,6-Tetrachlorophenol]

Thiodicarb 59669-26-0 0.019 1.46

Thiophanate-methyl 23564-05-8 0.056 1.46

Tirpate 26419-73-8 0.056 0.286

* * *
[See Prior Text in Toluene - Toxaphene]

Triallate 2303-17-5 0.042 1.46

* * *
[See Prior Text in Bromoform (Tribromomethane) - Cyanides (Amenable)]

Fluoride 16964-48-8 35 NA5

* * *
[See Prior Text in Lead - Thallium]

Vanadium 7440-62-2 4.3 0.23 mg/l TCLP 5

* * *
[See Prior Text in Zinc]

* * * * * *
[See Prior Text Note 1 - Note 4] [See Prior Text in Table 8 - Table 11.Certification Statements A-G]

These constituents are not "underlying hazardous constituents" in5

characteristic wastes, according to the definition at LAC 33:V.2203.A.
Between August 26, 1996 and August 26, 1997, these constituents were6

not "underlying hazardous constituents" (under 40 CFR 268.2(i)) as defined
 in LAC 33:V.2203.A.

Note: NA means not applicable
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Table 12. Metal-Bearing Wastes Prohibited From Dilution in a
Combustion Unit According to LAC 33:V.2207.C1

Waste code Waste description

D004 Toxicity characteristic for arsenic.

D005 Toxicity characteristic for barium.

D006 Toxicity characteristic for cadmium.

D007 Toxicity characteristic for chromium.

D008 Toxicity characteristic for lead.

D009 Toxicity characteristic for mercury.

D010 Toxicity characteristic for selenium.

D011 Toxicity characteristic for silver.

F006 Wastewater treatment sludges from electroplating
operations except from the following processes:
(1) sulfuric acid anodizing of aluminum; (2) tin
plating carbon steel; (3) zinc plating (segregated
basis) on carbon steel; (4) aluminum or zincplating
on carbon steel; (5) cleaning/stripping associated
with tin, zinc, and aluminum plating on carbon P029 Copper cyanide Cu(CN).
steel; and (6) chemical etching and milling of
aluminum.

F007 Spent cyanide plating bath solutions from
electroplating operations.

F008 Plating bath residues from the bottom of plating
baths from electroplating operations where
cyanides are used in the process.

F009 Spent stripping and cleaning bath solutions from
electroplating operations where cyanides are used
in the process.

F010 Quenching bath residues from oil baths from metal
treating operations where cyanides are used in the
process.

F011 Spent cyanide solutions from salt bath pot cleaning
from metal heat treating operations.

F012 Quenching waste water treatment sludges from
metal heat treating operations where cyanides are
used in the process.

F019 Wastewater treatment sludges from the chemical
conversion coating of aluminum except from
zirconium phosphating in aluminum car washing
when such phosphating is an exclusive conversion
coating process.

K002 Wastewater treatment sludge from the production
of chrome yellow and orange pigments.

K003 Wastewater treatment sludge from the production
of molybdate orange pigments.

K004 Wastewater treatment sludge from the production
of zinc yellow pigments.

K005 Wastewater treatment sludge from the production
of chrome green pigments.

K006 Wastewater treatment sludge from the production
of chrome oxide green pigments (anhydrous and
hydrated).

K007 Wastewater treatment sludge from the production (1984a)-Standard Practice for Determining Resistance of
of iron blue pigments.

K008 Oven residue from the production of chrome oxide
green pigments.

K061 Emission control dust/sludge from the primary
production of steel in electric furnaces.

K069 Emission control dust/sludge from secondary lead
smelting.

K071 Brine purification muds from the mercury cell
processes in chlorine production, where separately
prepurified brine is not used.

K100 Waste leaching solution from acid leaching of
emission control dust/sludge from secondary lead
smelting.

K106 Sludges from the mercury cell processes for
making chlorine.

P010 Arsenic acid H AsO .3 4

P011 Arsenic oxide As O2 5.

P012 Arsenic trioxide.

P013 Barium cyanide.

P015 Beryllium.

P074 Nickel cyanide Ni(CN)2.

P087 Osmium tetroxide.

P099 Potassium silver cyanide.

P104 Silver cyanide.

P113 Thallic oxide.

P114 Thallium (I) selenite.

P115 Thallium (I) sulfate.

P119 Ammonium vanadate.

P120 Vanadium oxide V O2 5.

P121 Zinc cyanide.

U032 Calcium chromate.

U145 Lead phosphate.

U151 Mercury.

U204 Selenious acid.

U205 Selenium disulfide.

U216 Thallium (I) chloride.

U217 Thallium (I) nitrate.

A combustion unit is defined as any thermal technology subject to1

LAC 33:V.Chapter 30, Chapter 31, and/or Chapter 43.Subchapter N.

Chapter 25. Landfills
§2515. Special Requirements for Bulk and

Containerized Liquids
* * *

[See Prior Text in A-F.2]
a. The sorbent material is determined to be

nonbiodegradable under ASTM Method G21-70

Synthetic Polymer Materials to Fungi.
b. The sorbent material is determined to be

nonbiodegradable under ASTM Method G22-76
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(1984b)-Standard Practice for Determining Resistance of ii. placement in such owner’s or operator's landfill
Plastics to Bacteria. will not present a risk of contamination of any underground

c. The sorbent material is determined to be source of drinking water (as that term is defined in
nonbiodegradable under OECD test 301B: [CO Evolution LAC 33:V.109.)2

(Modified Sturm Test)].
d. Effective March 20, 1998, the placement of any

liquid which is not a hazardous waste in a landfill is prohibited
unless the owner or operator of such landfill demonstrates to
the administrative authority, or the administrative authority
determines, that:

i. the only reasonably available alternative to the
placement in such landfill is placement in a landfill or unlined
surface impoundment, whether or not permitted or operating
under interim status, which contains, or may reasonably be
anticipated to contain, hazardous waste; and

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, in LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended
LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266
(March 1995), LR 22:821 (September 1996), amended by the Office
of the Secretary, LR 23:299 (March 1997),amended by the Office of
Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 31. Incinerators
§3105. Applicability

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-E]

Table 1. Hazardous Constituents

Common Name Chemical Abstracts Name Chemical Abstracts Hazardous Waste
Number Number

* * *
[See Prior Text in Acetonitrile - Beryllium compounds, N.O.S. ]1

Bis (pentamethylene)- Piperidine, 120-54-7 U400
thiuram tetrasulfide 1,1'-(tetrathiodicarbonothioyl)-bis-

* * *
[See Prior Text in Bromoacetone - Butyl benzyl phthalate]

Butylate Carbamothioic acid, bis 2008-41-5 U392
(2-methylpropyl)-, S-ethyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Cacodylic acid - Copper Cyanide]

Copper dimethyl- Copper, 137-29-1 U393
dithiocarbamate bis(dimethylcarbamodithioato-S,S')-,

* * *
[See Prior Text in Creosote - Cycasin]

Common Name Chemical Abstracts Name Chemical Abstracts Hazardous Waste
Number Number

Cycloate Carbamothioic acid, cyclohexylethyl-, 1134-23-2 U386
S-ethyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in 2-Cyclohexyl-4,6- dinitrophenol - Daunomycin]

Dazomet 2H-1,3,5-thiadiazine-2-thione, 533-74-4 U366
tetrahydro-3,5-dimethyl

* * *
[See Prior Text in DDD - Di-n-propylnitrosamine]

Disulfiram Thioperoxydicarbonic diamide, 97-77-8 U403
tetraethyl

* * *
[See Prior Text in Disulfoton - Epinephrine]

EPTC Carbamothioic acid, dipropyl-, S-ethyl 759-94-4 U390
ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Ethyl carbamate (urethane) - Ethyl methanesulfonate]



* * *
[See Prior Text in Acetonitrile - Beryllium compounds, N.O.S. ]1

Bis (pentamethylene)- Piperidine, 120-54-7 U400
thiuram tetrasulfide 1,1'-(tetrathiodicarbonothioyl)-bis-

* * *
[See Prior Text in Bromoacetone - Butyl benzyl phthalate]

Butylate Carbamothioic acid, bis 2008-41-5 U392
(2-methylpropyl)-, S-ethyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Cacodylic acid - Copper Cyanide]

Copper dimethyl- Copper, 137-29-1 U393
dithiocarbamate bis(dimethylcarbamodithioato-S,S')-,

* * *
[See Prior Text in Creosote - Cycasin]

193 Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

Ethyl Ziram Zinc, bis(diethylcarbamodithioato-S,S')- 14324-55-1 U407

* * *
[See Prior Text in Famphur]

Ferbam Iron, 14484-64-1 U396
tris(dimethylcarbamodithioato-S,S')-,

* * *
[See Prior Text in Fluoranthene - Hydrogen sulfide]

3-Iodo-2-propynyl Carbamic acid, butyl-, 55406-53-6 U375
n-butylcarbamate 3-iodo-2-propynyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Indeno[1,2,3-cd]pyrene - Mercury fulminate]

Common Name Chemical Abstracts Name Chemical Abstracts Hazardous Waste
Number Number

Metam Sodium Carbamodithioic acid, methyl-, 137-42-8 U384
monosodium salt

* * *
[See Prior Text in Methacrylonitrile - MNNG]

Molinate 1H-Azepine-1-carbothioic acid, 2212-67-1 U365
hexahydro-, S-ethyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Mustard gas - Parathion]

Pebulate Carbamothioic acid, butylethyl-, 1114-71-2 U391
S-propyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Pentachlorobenzene - Potassium cyanide]

Potassium Carbamodithioic acid, dimethyl, 128-03-0 U383
dimethyldithiocarbamate potassium salt

Potassium hydroxymethyl- Carbamodithioic acid, 51026-28-9 U378
n-methyl- dithiocarbamate (hydroxymethyl)methyl-, monopotassium

salt

Potassium n- Carbamodithioic acid, 137-41-7 U377
methyldithiocarbamate methyl-monopotassium salt

* * *
[See Prior Text in Potassium pentachlorophenate - Selenium sulfide]

Selenium, tetrakis Carbamodithioic acid, dimethyl-, 144-34-3 U376
(dimethyl-dithiocarbamate tetraanhydrosulfide with

orthothioselenious acid

Common Name Chemical Abstracts Name Chemical Abstracts Hazardous Waste
Number Number



* * *
[See Prior Text in Acetonitrile - Beryllium compounds, N.O.S. ]1

Bis (pentamethylene)- Piperidine, 120-54-7 U400
thiuram tetrasulfide 1,1'-(tetrathiodicarbonothioyl)-bis-

* * *
[See Prior Text in Bromoacetone - Butyl benzyl phthalate]

Butylate Carbamothioic acid, bis 2008-41-5 U392
(2-methylpropyl)-, S-ethyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Cacodylic acid - Copper Cyanide]

Copper dimethyl- Copper, 137-29-1 U393
dithiocarbamate bis(dimethylcarbamodithioato-S,S')-,

* * *
[See Prior Text in Creosote - Cycasin]
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* * *
[See Prior Text in Selenourea - Sodium cyanide]

Sodium Carbamodithioic acid, dibutyl, sodium 136-30-1 U379
dibutyldithiocarbamate salt

Sodium Carbamodithioic acid, diethyl-, sodium 148-18-5 U381
diethyldithiocarbamate salt

Sodium Carbamodithioic acid, dimethyl-, sodium 128-04-1 U382
dimethyldithiocarbamate salt

* * *
[See Prior Text in Sodium pentachlorophenate - Strychnine salts]

Sulfallate Carbamodithioic acid, diethyl-, 95-06-7 U277
2-chloro-2-propenyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in TCDD]

Tetrabutylthiuram disulfide Thioperoxydicarbonic diamide, 1634-02-2 U402
tetrabutyl

Tetrabutylthiuram Bis (dimethylthiocarbamoyl) sulfide 97-74-5 U401
monosulfide

* * *
[See Prior Text in 1,2,4,5-Tetrachlorobenzene - Vanadium pentoxide]

Vernolate Carbamothioic acid, dipropyl-, S-propyl 1929-77-7 U385
ester

* * *
[See Prior Text in Vinyl chloride - Zinc phosphide]

Common Name Chemical Abstracts Name Chemical Abstracts Hazardous Waste
Number Number

Ziram Zinc, bis(dimethylcarbamodithioato- 137-30-4 P205
S,S’)-,(T-4)-

The abbreviation N.O.S. (not otherwise specified) signifies those members1

of the general class not specifically listed by name in this table.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2180 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
11:1139 (December 1985), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 14:424
(July 1988), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:399 (May 1990),
LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR
22:835 (September 1996), amended by the Office of Waste Services,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:

§3115. Incinerator Permits for New or Modified
Facilities

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-B.11.d]

12. The administrative authority must send a notice to all
persons on the facility mailing list, as set forth in
LAC 33:V.717.A.5, and to the appropriate units of state and
local government, as set forth in LAC 33:V.717.A.2,
announcing the scheduled commencement and completion
dates for the trial burn. The applicant may not commence the
trial burn until after the administrative authority has issued
such notice.
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a. This notice must be mailed within a reasonable 17. based on the results of the trial burn, the
time period before the scheduled trial burn. An additional administrative authority shall set the operating requirements in
notice is not required if the trial burn is delayed due to the final permit according to LAC 33:V.3117. The permit
circumstances beyond the control of the facility or the modification shall proceed according to LAC 33:V.321.C.
permitting agency. * * *

b. This notice must contain:
i. the name and telephone number of the applicant's

contact person;
ii. the name and telephone number of the permitting

agency's contact office;
iii. the location where the approved trial burn plan

and any supporting documents can be reviewed and copied;
and

iv. an expected time period for commencement and
completion of the trial burn.

13. during, or immediately after, each approved trial burn
the applicant must make the following determinations when a
DRE trial burn is required under LAC 33:V.3009.A:

a. a quantitative analysis of the trial POHCs in the
waste feed;

b. a quantitative analysis of the exhaust gas for the
concentration and mass emissions of the trial POHCs, oxygen
(O ) and hydrogen chloride (HCl);2

c. a quantitative analysis of the scrubber water (if
any), ash residues, and other residues, for the purpose of
estimating the fate of the trial POHCs;

d. a computation of destruction and removal efficiency
(DRE), in accordance with the DRE formula specified in LAC
33:V.3111;

e. if the HCl emission rate exceeds 1.8 kilograms of
HCl per hour (four pounds per hour), a computation of HCl
removal efficiency in accordance with LAC 33:V.3111;

f. a computation of particulate emissions, in
accordance with LAC 33:V.3111;

g. an identification of sources of fugitive emissions
and their means of control;

h. a measurement of average, maximum, and minimum
temperatures and combustion gas velocity;

i. a continuous measurement of carbon monoxide
(CO) in the exhaust gas; and

j. such other information as the administrative
authority may specify as necessary to ensure that the trial burn
will determine compliance with the performance standards in
LAC 33:V.3111 and to establish the operating conditions
required by LAC 33:V.3117 as necessary to meet that
performance standard.

14. the applicant must submit to the administrative
authority a certification that the trial burn has been carried out
in accordance with the approved trial burn plan, and must
submit the results of all the determinations required in
Subsection B.13 of this Section. This submission shall be
made within 90 days of completion of the trial burn, or later if
approved by the administrative authority.

15. all data collected during any trial burn must be
submitted to the administrative authority following the
completion of the trial burn.

16. all submissions required by this Subsection must be
certified on behalf of the applicant by the signature of a person
authorized to sign a permit application or a report under LAC
33:V.507 and 509.

[See Prior Text in C-C.2]
D. For the purposes of determining feasibility of

compliance with the performance standards of LAC 33:V.3111
and of determining adequate operating conditions under LAC
33:V.3117, the applicant for a permit for an existing hazardous
waste incinerator must prepare and submit a trial burn plan
and perform a trial burn in accordance with LAC 33:V.529.B
and Subsection B, B.1-11, and 13-16 or, instead, submit other
information as specified in LAC 33:V.529.C. The
administrative authority must announce his or her intention to
approve the trial burn plan in accordance with the timing and
distribution requirements of Subsection B.12 of this Section.
The contents of the notice must include: the name and
telephone number of a contact person at the facility; the name
and telephone number of a contact office at the permitting
agency; the location where the trial burn plan and any
supporting documents can be reviewed and copied; and a
schedule of the activities that are required prior to permit
issuance, including the anticipated time schedule for agency
approval of the plan and the time period during which the trial
burn would be conducted. Applicants submitting information
under LAC 33:V.529.A are exempt from compliance with
LAC 33:V.3111 and 3117 and, therefore, are exempt from the
requirements to conduct a trial burn. Applicants who submit
trial burn plans and receive approval before submission of a
permit application must complete the trial burn and submit the
results, specified in Subsection B.13 of this Section, with Part
II of the permit application. If completion of this process
conflicts with the date set for submission of the Part II appli-
cation, the applicant must contact the administrative authority
to establish a later date for submission of the Part II
application or the trial burn results. Trial burn results must be
submitted prior to issuance of a permit. When the applicant
submits a trial burn plan with Part II of the permit application,
the administrative authority will specify a time period prior to
permit issuance in which the trial burn must be conducted and
the results submitted.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 18:1256 (November
1992), LR 22:828 (September 1996), LR 22:835 (September 1996),
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division,
LR 24:
Chapter 33. Groundwater Protection
§3309. Concentration Limits

A. The administrative authority will specify in the facility
permit concentration limits in the groundwater for hazardous
constituents established under LAC 33:V.3307. The
concentration of a hazardous constituent:

1. must not exceed the background level of that
constituent in the groundwater at the time that limit is specified
in the permit; or
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2. for any of the constituents listed in Table 1 of this i. the potential damage to wildlife, crops, vegetation,
Section, must not exceed the respective value given in that and physical structures caused by exposure to waste
table if the background level of the constituent is below the constituents; and
value given; or j. the persistence and permanence of the potential

3. must not exceed an alternative limit established by the adverse effects.
administrative authority under Subsection B of this Section. C. In making any determination under Subsection B of this

* * * Section about the use of groundwater in the area around the
[See Prior Text in Table 1-Note 1]

B. The administrative authority may establish an alternate
concentration limit for a hazardous constituent if he finds that
the constituent will not pose a substantial present or potential
hazard to human health or the environment as long as the
alternate concentration limit is not exceeded. In establishing
alternate concentration limits, the administrative authority will
consider the following factors:

1. potential adverse effects on groundwater quality,
considering:

a. the physical and chemical characteristics of the
waste in the regulated unit, including its potential for
migration;

b. the hydrogeological characteristics of the facility
and surrounding land;

c. the quantity of groundwater and the direction of
groundwater flow;

d. the proximity and withdrawal rates of groundwater
users;

e. the current and future uses of groundwater in the
area;

f. the existing quality of groundwater, including other
sources of contamination and their cumulative impact on the
groundwater quality; 30:2180 et seq.

g. the potential for health risks caused by human
exposure to waste constituents;

h. the potential damage to wildlife, crops, vegetation,
and physical structures caused by exposure to waste
constituents;

i. the persistence and permanence of the potential
adverse effects; and

2. potential adverse effects on hydraulically-connected
surface water quality, considering:

a. the volume and physical and chemical
characteristics of the waste in the regulated unit;

b. the hydrogeological characteristics of the facility
and surrounding land;

c. the quantity and quality of groundwater and the
direction of groundwater flow;

d. the patterns of rainfall in the region;
e. the proximity of the regulated unit to surface

waters;
f. the current and future uses of surface waters in the

area and any water quality standards established for those
surface waters;

g. the existing quality of surface water, including other
sources of contamination and the cumulative impact on surface
water quality;

h. the potential for health risks caused by human
exposure to waste constituents;

facility, the administrative authority will consider any
identification of underground sources of drinking water and
exempted aquifers identified in the permit application under
LAC 33:V.Chapter 3.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:280 (April 1984), LR 10:496 (July 1984), LR 16:614 (July 1990),
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division,
LR 24:
Chapter 38. Universal Wastes
Subchapter B. Standards for Small Quantity Handlers

of Universal Waste
§3835. Exports

A small quantity handler of universal waste who sends
universal waste to a foreign destination, other than to those
OECD countries specified in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a (in which
case the handler is subject to the requirements of
LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B), must:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A.1-3]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:573 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter C. Standards for Large Quantity Handlers

of Universal Waste
§3857. Exports

A large quantity handler of universal waste who sends
universal waste to a foreign destination other than to those
OECD countries specified in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a (in which
case the handler is subject to the requirements of
LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B) must:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A.1-3]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:577 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter D. Standards for Universal Waste

Transporters
§3871. Exports

A universal waste transporter transporting a shipment of
universal waste to a foreign destination other than to those
OECD countries specified in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a (in
which case the transporter is subject to the requirements of
LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B) may not accept a



197 Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

 shipment if the transporter knows the shipment does not 6. precious metals exported to or imported from
conform to the EPA Acknowledgment of Consent. In addition designated OECD member countries for recovery are subject
the transporter must ensure that: to the requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B

* * * and LAC 33:V.4311. Precious metals exported to or imported
[See Prior Text in A.1-2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:578 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter F. Import Requirements
§3879. Imports

Persons managing universal waste that is imported from a
foreign country into the United States are subject to the
applicable requirements of this Chapter, immediately after the
waste enters the United States, as indicated in Subsections A-C
of this Section.

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-C]

D. Persons managing universal waste that is imported
from an OECD country as specified in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a
are subject to Subsections A-C of this Section, in addition to
the requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:578 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 41. Recyclable Materials
§4105. Requirements for Recyclable Material

Recyclable materials are subject to additional regulations as
follows:

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-E] c. The sorbent material is determined to be

F. Hazardous waste that is exported to or imported from
designated member countries of the Organization for
Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) (as defined
in LAC 33:V.1113.I.1.a) for the purpose of recovery is subject
to the requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter 11.Subchapter B, if
it is subject to either the manifesting requirements of
LAC 33:V.Chapter 11 or to the universal waste management
standards of LAC 33:V.Chapter 38.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 11:988 (October 1985), amended LR
11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 (May 1986), LR 13:84
(February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 16:219 (March
1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), repromulgated LR 18:1256
(November 1992), amended LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:837
(September 1996), LR 23:579 (May 1997), amended by the Office
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§4143. Recyclable Materials Utilized for Precious Metal

Recovery
* * *

[See Prior Text in A-B.4]
5. generators are subject to the requirements of

Subchapter B of this Chapter; and

from non-OECD countries for recovery are subject to the
requirements of LAC 33:V.1113 and 1123.

* * *
[See Prior Text in C-D]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 11:988 (October 1985), amended LR
11:1139 (December 1985), amended by the Office of Waste Services,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 43. Interim Status
Subchapter A. General Facility Standards
§4311. Required Notices

Interim status facilities must comply with LAC 33:V.1531.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2180 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), amended by the Office of Waste Services,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter M. Landfills
§4507. Special Requirements for Bulk and

Containerized Liquids
* * *

[See Prior Text in A-F.2.a]
b. The sorbent material is determined to be

nonbiodegradable under ASTM Method G22-76 (1984b)-
Standard Practice for Determining Resistance of Plastics to
Bacteria; or

nonbiodegradable under OECD test 301B: [CO Evolution2

(Modified Sturm Test)].
* * *

[See Prior Text in G-G.2]
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

30:2180 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), LR 21:266
(March 1995), LR 22:829 (September 1996), amended by the Office
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes
§4901. Category I Hazardous Wastes

* * *
[See Prior Text in A-Table 3]

F. Commercial chemical products or manufacturing
chemical intermediates or off-specification commercial
chemical products referred to in LAC 33:V.4901.D.1-4 are
identified as toxic wastes (T) unless otherwise designated and
are subject to the small quantity generator exclusion defined in
LAC 33:V.3903, 3913, and 3915.A and C. These wastes and
their corresponding EPA Hazardous Waste Numbers are listed
in Table 4. [Comment: For the convenience of the regulated
community, the primary hazardous properties of these
materials have been indicated by the letters T (Toxicity), R
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(Reactivity), I (Ignitability), and C (Corrosivity). Absence of
a letter indicates that the compound is listed only for toxicity.]

Table 4. Toxic Wastes

EPA Chemical Abstract Hazardous Waste
Hazardous Number

Waste Number

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U119 62-50-0 Ethyl methanesulfonate

U396 14484-64-1 Ferbam

U120 206-44-0 Fluoranthene

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U182 123-63-7 Paraldehyde

U391 1114-71-2 Pebulate

U183 608-93-5 Pentachlorobenzene

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U179 100-75-4  Piperidine, 1-nitroso-

U400 120-54-7 Piperidine,
1,1'-(tetrathiodicarbonothioyl
)-bis-

U383 128-03-0 Potassium
dimethyldithiocarbamate

U378 51026-28-9 Potassium n-hydroxymethyl-
n-methyldi-thiocarbamate

U377 137-41-7 Potassium
n-methyldithiocarbamate

U192 23950-58-5 Pronamide

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U205 7488-56-4 Selenium sulfide SeS (R,T)2

U376 144-34-3 Selenium,
tetrakis(dimethyldithiocarba
mate)

U015 115-02-6 L-Serine, diazoacetate (ester)

See F027 93-72-1 Silvex(2,4,5-TP)

U379 136-30-1 Sodium
dibutyldithiocarbamate

U381 148-18-5 Sodium
diethyldithiocarbamate

U382 128-04-1 Sodium
dimethyldithiocarbamate

U206 18883-66-4 Streptozotocin

U277 95-06-7 Sulfallate

U103 77-78-1 Sulfuric acid, dimethyl ester

* * *
[See Prior Text]

See F027 93-76-5  2,4,5-T

U402 1634-02-2 Tetrabutylthiuram disulfide

U207 95-94-3 1,2,4,5-Tetrachlorobenzene

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U213 109-99-9 Tetrahydrofuran (I)

U401 97-74-5 Tetramethylthiuram
monosulfide

U214 563-68-8 Thallium(I) acetate

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U217 10102-45-1  Thallium(I) nitrate

U366 533-74-4 2H-1,3,5-Thiadiazine-
2-thione,
tetrahydro-3,5-dimethyl-

U218 62-55-5 Thioacetamide

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U244 137-26-8 Thioperoxydicarbonic
diamide [(H N)C(S)] S ,2 2 2

tetramethyl-

U402 1634-02-2 Thioperoxydicarbonic
diamide, tetrabutyl

U403 97-77-8 Thioperoxydicarbonic
diamide, tetraethyl

U219 62-56-6 Thiourea

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U177 684-93-5 Urea, N-methyl-N-nitroso-

U385 1929-77-7 Vernolate

U043 75-01-4 Vinyl chloride

* * *
[See Prior Text]

U200 50-55-5  Yohimban-16-carboxylic
acid,11,17-dimethoxy-18-
[(3,4,5-trimethoxybenzoyl)ox
y]-, methyl ester,(3beta,
16beta,17alpha,18beta,20alp
ha)-

U407 14324-55-1 Zinc,
bis(diethylcarbamodithioato-
S,S')-

U249 1314-84-7 Zinc phosphide Zn P , when3 2

present at concentrations of
10 percent or less

CAS Number given for parent compound only.1

* * *
[See Prior Text in G]

Table 6 lists constituents that serve as a basis for listing
hazardous waste.



199 Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

Table 6. Table of Constituents that Serve as a Basis for
Listing Hazardous Waste

* * * reference this proposed regulation by HW061*. Such
[See Prior Text in F001-K151]

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K156
benomyl
carbaryl
carbendazim
carbofuran
carbosulfan
formaldehyde
methylene chloride
triethylamine

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K157
Carbon tetrachloride
formaldehyde
methyl chloride
methylene chloride
pyridine
triethylamine

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K158
benomyl
carbendazim
carbofuran
carbosulfan
chloroform
methylene chloride

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K159
benzene
butylate
EPTC
molinate
pebulate
vernolate

EPA Hazardous Waste Number K161
antimony
arsenic
metam-sodium
ziram

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:320 (May
1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR
14:426 (July 1988), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 15:182
(March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990),
LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:369
(April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR
18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375
(December 1992), LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266
(March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:829 (September
1996), LR 22:840 (September 1996), amended by the Office of
Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:1522 (November
1997), LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on February 27, 1998, at 1:30
p.m. in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
persons are invited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
Deaville at the address given below or at (504)765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should

comments must be received no later than February 27, 1998,
at 4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Patsy Deaville,
Investigations and Regulation Development Division, Box
82282, Baton Rouge, LA 70884 or to FAX (504)765-0486.
The comment period for this rule ends on the same date as the
public hearing.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.:
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100
Asthma Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the
Internet at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/olaeregs.htm.

H.M. Strong
Assistant Secretary

9801#073

NOTICE OF INTENT

Firefighters' Pension and Relief Fund
City of New Orleans and Vicinity

Domestic Relations Orders

The Board of Trustees of the Firefighters' Pension and Relief
Fund for the City of New Orleans and Vicinity (the "fund"),
pursuant to R.S. 11:3363(F), proposes to amend and adopt
rules and regulations for Determining Qualified Status of
Domestic Relations Orders.

These rules were originally promulgated on pages 501 and
502 of the June 20, 1990 issue of the Louisiana Register, and
were amended on pages 1303-1306 of the October 1997 issue
of the Louisiana Register.

On June 20, 1990, the Board of Trustees of the Firefighters'
Pension and Relief Fund for the City of New Orleans ("the
trustees") adopted and implemented Procedural Rules for
Determining the Qualified Status of Domestic Relations
Orders; and the trustees now wish to amend these rules to
incorporate the guidance and comments published more
recently by the Internal Revenue Service, the Department of
Labor, and the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. The
aforesaid rules are hereby amended to incorporate and
substitute the provisions appearing below.

Determining Qualified Status of
Domestic Relations Orders

1. Intent and Construction
These procedural rules are adopted in order to satisfy the

requirements of all applicable state law including, but not
limited to, R.S. 11:291, and 292, R.S. 11:3408, Subsection
206(d) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of
1974, 29 U.S.C. §1056(d), and §414(p) of the Internal
Revenue Code, 26 U.S.C. §414(p), and shall be construed
consistently with this purpose.
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The trustees are aware that §401(a)(13)(A) of the code assigned therein have already been assigned by reason of an
provides that benefits under a qualified plan may not be earlier QDRO validly served upon the fund.
assigned or alienated. Section 401(a)(13)(B) establishes an
exception to the anti-alienation rule for assignments made
pursuant to domestic relations orders that constitute Qualified
Domestic Relations Orders ("QDROs") within the meaning of
§414(p)(1)(B) and of Paragraph 2 hereof. Moreover,
R.S. 11:291 and 292 similarly establish exceptions to the
anti-assignment prohibition imposed by R.S. 11:3408 in
regard to this fund. In view of the trustees' intent to administer
the fund as a qualified plan, as well as their awareness that
R.S. 11:291 and 292 require the fund to honor certain court-
ordered assignments relating to community property rights and
child support, these rules hereby establish the trustees'
willingness to recognize and enforce any QDRO that meets the
requirements set forth herein.

It is further intended that the provisions of §414(p)(3) of the
code and R.S. 11:291 and 292 be strictly observed. Therefore,
the trustees shall not honor the terms of any QDRO that
purports to require the fund to provide any type or form of
benefit, or any option, not otherwise provided under the fund;
that requires the fund to provide increased benefits
(determined on the basis of actuarial value); or that requires
the payment of benefits to an alternate payee that are required
to be paid to another alternate payee under another order
previously determined to be a QDRO.

However, the trustees shall not treat a domestic relations
order as failing to meet the requirements of §414(p)(3)(A) and
thus to constitute a QDRO solely because the order requires
payment of benefits to an alternate payee on or after the
participant's earliest retirement age, even if the participant has
not separated from service at that time.

Finally, it is the trustees' intent to honor the provision of any
QDRO that the participant's former spouse shall be treated as
the participant's surviving spouse for purposes of the right to
receive all or part of any survivor benefits payable, and that
any other spouse of the participant shall not be treated as a
spouse of the participant for these purposes, except as to
portions of the survivor benefits not assigned to the former
spouse via the QDRO. In the event the participant's former
spouse is required by the provisions of a QDRO to be treated
as a surviving spouse for these purposes, the former spouse
must be accorded the same rights that would otherwise accrue
to the surviving spouse.
2. Definitions

As used in these procedural rules, unless the context
indicates otherwise, the following terms shall have the
following meanings:

Alternate Payee— the participant's spouse (or former
spouse) or child, or any parent, guardian, government entity,
or other agent authorized by the terms of a judicial order to act
on the child's behalf, who is entitled to receive some or all of
the fund's benefit payments with respect to the participant
under the terms of the QDRO. The same QDRO may identify
more than one alternate payee; and several alternate payees
may be identified in multiple QDROs. However, the trustees
shall not recognize the entitlement of any alternate payee, even
if specified in a domestic relations order, if the benefits

Domestic Relations Order— any judgment, decree, or
order (including approval of a property settlement or
community property partition) that:

(i) relates to the provision of child support, alimony
payments, or marital property rights to a spouse, former
spouse, child, or other dependent of a participant; and

(ii) is made pursuant to a state domestic relations law
(including a community property law).

A state court shall actually issue an order or formally
approve a proposed property settlement in order for it to be
recognized by the trustees as a domestic relations order. A
property settlement or community property partition signed by
a participant and the participant's former spouse, or a draft
order to which both parties consent, shall not be considered a
domestic relations order until the state authority has adopted it
as an order or formally approved it and made it part of the
domestic relations proceeding.

Earliest Retirement Date— the earlier of:
(i) the date on which the participant is entitled to a

distribution under the fund; or
(ii) the later of:

(A) the date the participant attains age 50; or
(B) the earliest date on which the participant could

begin receiving benefits under the fund if the participant
separated from service.

Participant— any employee or former employee of an
employer in relation to the fund who is or may become eligible
to receive a benefit of any type from the fund, and who is the
individual whose benefits under the fund are being divided by
the QDRO.

Qualified Domestic Relations Order— a domestic
relations order that creates or recognizes the existence of an
alternate payee's right (or assigns to an alternate payee the
right) to receive all or a portion of the benefits payable with
respect to a participant in the fund, provided that the order:

(i) clearly specifies:
(A) the name and last known mailing address (if any)

of the participant and the name and mailing address of each
alternate payee covered by the order or, in the event the
alternate payee is a minor or legally incompetent, the name and
address of the alternate payee's legal representative; provided,
however, that the trustees shall not withhold recognition as a
QDRO of a judicial order issued in connection with a
participant's child support obligations merely because the
name of the child on whose behalf the order has been issued is
not specified therein, so long as the order identifies the name
of the authorized individual or agency, with appropriate
address to which the benefit assignment is to be forwarded, and
so long as the order specifically identifies the payment as a
child support obligation;

(B) the amount or percentage of the participant's or
the survivor benefits to be paid by the fund to each such
alternate payee, or the manner in which such amount or
percentage is to be determined;

(C) the number of payments or the period to which
such order applies, and
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(D) the name and identity of the fund;
(ii) does not require: Upon the fund's receipt of a domestic relations order with

(A) the fund to provide any type or form of benefits, respect to a participant, the trustees shall promptly give notice
or any option, not otherwise provided under the fund; of these procedural rules to the participant and to each person

(B) the fund to provide increased benefits specified in the order as entitled to payment of any fund
(determined on the basis of actuarial value); or benefits under the order, at the address the order specifies.

(C) the payment of benefits to an alternate payee that
are required to be paid to another alternate payee under (a) The trustees shall determine whether a domestic
another order previously determined to be a qualified domestic relations order is a qualified domestic relations order within a
relations order. reasonable time after it is received, and shall have the right to

Trustees— the Board of Trustees for the Firefighters'
Pension and Relief Fund for the City of New Orleans, or such
person or entity to whom the board has delegated
responsibility to make determinations on its behalf under these
rules.
3. QDRO Language

Many factors should be taken into account by the drafters of
a QDRO in determining which benefits to assign to an
alternate payee and how these benefits are to be assigned.
Because of the complexity and variety of the factors that should
be considered and the need to tailor the assignment of benefits
under a QDRO to the individual circumstances of the parties,
it would be inappropriate for the trustees to propose specific
sample language for inclusion in a QDRO. Instead, individual
participants and alternate payees, and their respective
attorneys, are directed to collaborate jointly upon the drafting
of orders that meet their individual needs. Nevertheless, if so
requested, the trustees shall review any proposed order
submitted to the fund prior to its submission to the appropriate
court for execution and entry, with a view to indicating the
trustees' probable determination concerning its status as a
QDRO. The trustees are required by law to honor and enforce
the terms of any QDRO which meets the conditions specified
in these rules and as may subsequently be determined by the
applicable statutes and the courts' interpretations thereof.

For further guidance concerning those matters that should be 6. Payments Pending Determination
considered when drafting a QDRO (e.g., types of benefits,
approaches to dividing retirement benefits, form and
commencement of payment to alternate payees, survivor
benefits and treatment of former spouse as participant's
spouse, and tax treatment of benefit payments made pursuant
to a QDRO) the parties are encouraged to consult Notice
97-11 issued by the Internal Revenue Service and appearing in
Internal Revenue Bulletin 1997-2 dated January 13, 1997.
Additional guidance may be found in the Pension Benefit
Guaranty Corporation's booklet entitled Divorce Orders and
PBGC, which discusses the special QDRO rules that apply for
plans that have been terminated and are trusteed by PBGC, and
provides model QDROs for use with those plans. The
publication may be obtained by calling PBGC's Customer
Service Center at 1-800-400-PBGC, or electronically via the
PBGC Internet site at "http://www.pbgc.gov." However, some
or all of the principles there set forth may not apply to this fund
by reason of its status as a statutory governmental plan and/or
the types of benefits payable under R.S. 11:3361 et seq.

4. Notice

5. Determination

require such evidence as he may reasonably need to make the
determination.

(b) The trustees shall notify the participant and the alternate
payee of the determination no less than 30 days before making
any payment pursuant to the order, if it is determined to be a
qualified order, or within a reasonable time if it is determined
not to be a qualified order.

(c) The participant may appeal such a determination to the
trustees upon written application to the trustees. The
participant may review any documents pertinent to the appeal
and may submit issues and comments in writing to the trustees.
No appeal shall be considered unless it is received by the
trustees within 90 days after receipt by the participant of
written notice of the determination.

(d) The trustees shall decide the appeal within 60 days after
it is received. If special circumstances require an extension of
time for processing, however, a decision shall be rendered as
soon as possible, but not later than 120 days after the appeal is
received. If such an extension of time for deciding the appeal
is required, written notice of the extension shall be furnished
to the participant prior to the commencement of the extension.

(e) The trustees' decision shall be in writing and shall
include specific reasons for the decision, expressed in a
manner calculated to be understood by the participant and the
alternate payee.

During any period in which the issue whether a domestic
relations order is a qualified domestic relations order is being
determined (by the trustees, by a court of competent
jurisdiction, or otherwise), the trustees shall segregate in a
separate account in the fund the amounts that would have been
payable to the alternate payee during such period if the order
had been determined to be a qualified domestic relations order.

(a) To the extent that the domestic relations order is
determined to be qualified, the fund shall pay the segregated
amounts (plus any interest on them) to the person or persons
entitled to them according to the terms of the order. In the case
of determinations appealed under these procedural rules, the
payment shall be made not less than 10 days nor more than 30
days after the issuance of the trustees' disposition of the appeal.

(b) To the extent that the domestic relations order is
determined not to be qualified, the fund shall pay the
segregated amounts (plus any interest on them) to the person
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or persons who would have been entitled to such amounts
without regard to the terms of the order. In the case of
determinations appealed under these procedures, the payment
shall take place not less than 10 days nor more than 30 days
after the issuance of the trustees' disposition of the appeal.

(c) To the extent that the issue whether the domestic
relations order is qualified is not resolved within 18 months Code of Professional Conduct
after the fund receives notice of the order, the trustees shall pay Asset Forfeiture (LAC 22:III.Chapter 61)
the segregated amounts (plus any interest on them) to the
person or persons who would have been entitled to these In accordance with the provision of R.S. 15:1204,
amounts without regard to the terms of the order. R.S. 15:1207, and R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
7. Representative of Alternate Payee

An alternate payee, by written notice to the trustees, may Administration of Criminal Justice hereby gives notice of its
designate a representative for receipt of copies of notices that intent to adopt rules and regulations relative to a code of
are sent to the alternate payee with respect to a domestic professional conduct for asset forfeiture.
relations order.

A public hearing will be conducted by the Board of Trustees
of the Firefighters' Pension and Relief Fund for the City of New
Orleans and Vicinity at 10 a.m. on February 26, 1998 at 329
South Dorgenois Street, New Orleans, LA 70119.

Any interested party may submit data, views or arguments
orally or in writing concerning these rules or may make
inquiries concerning the adoption of these rules to Richard J.
Hampton, Jr., Secretary-Treasurer of the Board of Trustees, The Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement and
329 South Dorgenois Street, New Orleans, LA 70119. Administration of Criminal Justice has adopted a code of

William M. Carrouché Tuesday, December 2, 1997.
President

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Domestic Relations Orders
 §6102. Introduction
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no estimated costs or savings to the state or local

governmental units as a result of this proposed measure.
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Adoption and implementation of the proposed amended rules

and regulations for determining qualified status of domestic
relations orders will have no effect on revenue collections of
state or local governmental units.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Adoption and implementation of the proposed amendments
will have no cost impact, nor provide an economic benefit to any effective investigation and prosecution of criminal offenses,
person or nongovernmental group.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

Adoption and implementation of the proposed amendments
for determining qualified status of domestic relations orders will
have no effect on competition and employment.

Marie Healey H. Gordon Monk
Fund Counsel Staff Director
9801#055 Legislative Fiscal Office

NOTICE OF INTENT

Office of the Governor
Commission on Law Enforcement and

Administration of Criminal Justice

Procedure Act, the Commission on Law Enforcement and

Title 22
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE, AND LAW

ENFORCEMENT
Part III. Commission on Law Enforcement and

Administration of Criminal Justice
Subpart 7. Asset Forfeiture

Chapter 61. Code of Professional Conduct
§6101. Adoption

professional conduct for asset forfeiture at a meeting held

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice, LR 24:

The purpose of the Code of Professional Conduct is to
establish ethical standards applicable to asset forfeiture
programs throughout the state of Louisiana. These standards
are similar to the National Code of Professional Conduct for
Asset Forfeiture.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice, LR 24:
§6103. Code of Professional Conduct

A. Law enforcement is the principal objective of forfeiture.
Potential revenue must not be allowed to jeopardize the

officer safety, the integrity of ongoing investigations, or the
due process rights of citizens.

B. A prosecutor's or sworn law enforcement officer's
employment or salary shall not be contingent upon the level of
seizures or forfeitures he or she achieves.

C. Whenever practical, and in all cases involving real
property, a judicial finding of probable cause shall be secured
when property is seized for forfeiture. Seizing agencies shall
strictly comply with all applicable legal requirements
governing seizure practice and procedure.



203 Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

D. A judicial finding of probable cause must be secured as
provided by law.

E. Seizing entities shall have a manual detailing the
statutory grounds for forfeiture and all applicable policies and
procedures.

F. The manual shall include procedures for prompt notice
to interest holders, the expeditious release of seized property
where appropriate, and the prompt resolution of claims of
innocent ownership. IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

G. All property forfeited must be sold at public sale, and
the proceeds distributed according to law.

H. Unless otherwise provided by law, forfeiture proceeds
shall be maintained in a separate fund or account subject to
appropriate accounting controls and annual financial audits of
all deposits and expenditures.

I. Seizing agencies shall strive to ensure that seized
property is protected and its value preserved.

J. Seizing entities shall avoid any appearance of
impropriety in the sale or acquisition of forfeited property.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
15:1204 and R.S. 15:1207.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of
Criminal Justice, LR 24:

Interested persons may submit written comments on this
proposed rule no later that February 8, 1998, at 5 p.m. to Judy
Mouton, Deputy Director, Commission on Law Enforcement
and Administration of Criminal Justice, 1885 Wooddale
Boulevard, Room 708, Baton Rouge, LA 70806.

Michael A. Ranatza
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Ethical Standards for Asset Forfeiture
 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rules will

increase expenditures to the Commission on Law Enforcement
and Administration of Criminal Justice by $340 in printing costs
to publish the rules in the Louisiana Register. These proposed
rules are being promulgated in accordance with HCR 156 of the
1997 Regular Session which directed the commission to
promulgate guidelines similar to the National Asset Forfeiture
Ethical Standards. These guidelines will detail the statutory
grounds for forfeiture, procedures for prompt notice, and prompt
resolution of claims. These proposed rules will require those
local governmental units with asset forfeiture programs to
update their policy and procedure manuals and to disseminate
copies to certain personnel. These copying charges should be
minimal to local governmental units.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is estimated that implementation of the proposed rules will
have no effect on revenue collections of state governmental
units. The effect on revenue collections of local governmental
units is unknown. These rules will establish ethical standards
applicable to asset forfeiture programs throughout the state.
There could be a potential reduction in revenue collections for
those local law enforcement agencies with forfeiture and seizure

practices which would be prohibited by the Code of Professional
Conduct for Asset Forfeiture; however, the exact amount is
unknown.
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS

TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Individual persons or nongovernmental groups would not be
directly affected by the establishment of ethical standards for
asset forfeiture.

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There is no effect on competition or employment in the public

or private sector as a result of these proposed rules.

Michael A. Ranatza Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to the
9801#074 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Dentistry

Comprehensive Rule Revisions
(LAC 46:XXXIII.Chapters 1-17)

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Dental
Practice Act, R.S. 37:751 et seq., and particularly
R.S. 37:760(8), notice is hereby given that the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry intends to amend
LAC 46:XXXIII.Chapters 1-17. No preamble has been
prepared.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part XXXIII. Dental Health Professions

Chapter 1. General Provisions
§103. Evidence of Graduation

A. All applicants for a dental or dental hygiene license
shall furnish the board with satisfactory evidence of graduation
from an accredited dental school, dental college, or educational
program prior to the examination given by the board for such
licensure. An accredited dental school, dental college, or
educational program shall be one that has been certified as
accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the
American Dental Association.

B. The phrase "satisfactory evidence of graduation from an
accredited dental school, dental college or educational
program" shall mean receipt of satisfactory evidence from the
dean of the applicant's school specifically stating that the
applicant will indeed graduate within 90 days following the
administration of the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry
clinical licensing examination.

C. The president of the board shall withhold his signature
on the license of the applicant pending receipt of satisfactory
evidence of graduation before awarding the applicant's license
to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the state of Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Dentistry, LR 10:88 (February
1984), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board
of Dentistry, LR 24:
§108. Levels and Definitions of Supervision

Licensed dentists who employ dental assistants, expanded
duty dental assistants, and dental hygienists shall be
responsible for the supervision of those employees' authorized
duties. Authorized duties of dental assistants, expanded duty
dental assistants, and dental hygienists may also be under the
supervision of a licensed dentist who assumes responsibility
for the treatment of that patient.

1. Direct Supervision. A licensed dentist personally
diagnoses the condition to be treated; personally authorizes the
procedures; is in the dental office or treatment facility during A. No board member, during his or her term of office, shall
the performance of the authorized procedures; and, before simultaneously serve or hold the following appointive or
dismissal of the patient, evaluates the performance of the elective offices in any local or statewide voluntary dental or
dental assistant, expanded duty dental assistant, or dental dental hygiene association, organization, or society:
hygienist. 1. president;

2. General Supervision. The licensed dentist has 2. president-elect;
authorized the procedures, which are being carried out by the 3. vice-president;
dental hygienist in accordance with the dentist's treatment 4. secretary;
plan; however, the dentist is not required to be present in the 5. treasurer;
dental office or treatment facility during the performance of the 6. board of directors (elected or ex-officio);
supervised procedures. 7. peer review committee;

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§110. Licensees Suffering Impairment Due to Alcohol or

Substance Abuse
A. After considerable study and review of other state

practices in regards to evaluation, diagnosis, prognosis, and
treatment of licensees suffering impairment through chemical
or drug abuse, the board shall hereby abide by the following
procedures. Any licensee seeking the reinstatement of his or her license

1. The board shall attempt to have the Louisiana Dental to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the state of Louisiana
Association, the Louisiana Dental Hygiene Association, or a shall request, in writing, the reinstatement of his or her license,
constituent association thereof, conduct an intervention with and personally appear before the board for an interview to
the alleged impaired licensee. determine the merits of the request for reinstatement.

2. Where possible, a member of the Louisiana State
Board of Dentistry may attend said intervention on either an
official or unofficial basis according to his judgment in each
particular case.

3. If the alleged impaired licensee fails to comply with
the wishes and instructions of the intervention within seven
days following said intervention, the board may order said
alleged licensee into a properly equipped and board-approved
facility for evaluation and, if necessary, treatment for the
impairment, if same is proven positive. Should the evaluation
prove that the licensee is not impaired, the cost of the
evaluation shall be borne by the board. If the evaluation is
positive for impairment, the cost for evaluation and all
treatment thereof shall be borne by the licensee.

4. Should the alleged impaired licensee fail to comply
with the order of the board relative to evaluation and treatment,
formal proceedings may be brought against the alleged
impaired licensee as soon as practicality dictates.

B. Any adverse action taken as a result thereof shall be
reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank. However, if

there is no action taken by the board in these matters, any
required reporting to the National Practitioner Data Bank shall
not be the responsibility of the Louisiana State Board of
Dentistry.

C. If the impaired licensee has violated any other
provisions of the Louisiana Dental Practice Act, said violation
shall be prosecuted and any subsequent action taken thereof
shall be reported to the National Practitioner Data Bank.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(2) and (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§112. Avoidance of Conflict of Interest by Board

Members

8. delegate or alternate delegate.
B. However, §112 shall not prohibit a board member from

participating in any capacity relative to the administration of
continuing education in any local or statewide voluntary dental
association, organization, or society.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§114. Reinstatement of Licenses Revoked for Nonpayment

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§116. Reconsideration of Adverse Sanctions

A. Any person wishing to initiate an application for
reconsideration of an adverse disciplinary decision of the
board or consent decree must make the request in writing and
it shall be received by the board at its office at least 30 days
prior to the next scheduled meeting of the board.

B. The request for reconsideration should be accompanied
by supporting documentation and other pertinent information
demonstrating his/her professional and/or personal
rehabilitation since the adverse disciplinary sanctions or
decision of the board.

C. If timely received, the applicant's written request and all
supporting documentation and/or information are delivered to
the board's disciplinary committee which originally rendered
the adverse decision to the applicant, and said committee shall
determine if the applicant's request for reconsideration has
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substantial merit. In the course of the committee's review, if it the examination in jurisprudence and ethics as given by the
deems necessary, it may require the applicant and all board, and make full payment of all necessary fees.
supporting references to appear in person before the
committee for the purpose of affording the committee an
opportunity to personally interview each person. All expenses
for the attendance of the applicant and his/her personal
references shall be borne by the applicant. Because of the
nature of the request, the committee may entertain it in
executive session at the option of the applicant. Moreover, the
committee shall prescribe time limitations for all speakers
appearing before it and order such other considerations as will
promote a fair and orderly review of the subject matter. After
review of the documentation and completion of the interviews,
if any, the committee will determine if the request for
reconsideration has sufficient merit to warrant the committee's
favorable recommendation to the full board. If the committee
rules favorably to the applicant, then the applicant's entire
request for reconsideration and all supporting documentation
and/or information are forwarded to the full board for its
further consideration at the next scheduled board meeting.

D. If the committee decides that the application is without
substantial merit, it shall so inform the officers of the board
and, thereafter, one officer shall be appointed to notify the
applicant, in writing, of said unfavorable action.

E. The full board, at its next meeting, may consider the
matter in open meeting if requested to do so by the applicant.
In the absence of such consent, the board shall entertain the
matter in executive session. In the course of the board's review,
if it deems necessary, it may require the applicant and all
supporting references to appear in person before the board for
the purpose of affording the board an opportunity to interview
each person first hand. All expenses for the attendance of the
applicant and his/her personal references shall be borne by the
applicant. Moreover, the board shall prescribe time limitations
for all speakers appearing before it and order such other
considerations as will promote a fair and orderly meeting.

F. If the full board concurs with the favorable
recommendations of the disciplinary committee, then the board
shall decide upon the exact terms and conditions of any
amendment, modification, or other change in the original
decision rendered against the applicant. Thereafter, the
applicant shall be notified, in writing, of the board's decision.

G. If the full board does not concur with the favorable
recommendations of the disciplinary committee, then the board
shall so notify the applicant in writing. 37:760(8).

H. Any person desiring to file an application for a
reconsideration with the board shall be permitted to do so only
once every 12 months. If an application is denied, then that
person must wait at least until the expiration of 12 months
from the date appearing on the board's denial letter before
submitting a subsequent application.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§118. Guidelines for Granting Return to Active Status

In addition to the continuing education requirements set
forth in LAC 46:XXXIII.1601 et seq., an applicant must pass

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§120. Temporary Licenses

Under R.S. 37:760(6), the board is authorized to issue
licenses in conformity with the Louisiana Dental Practice Act.
However, under R.S. 37:752(8), dentists and dental hygienists
may obtain a temporary license without satisfying all licensing
requirements of the Louisiana Dental Practice Act provided the
applicant applies for a full license by taking an examination at
the next time the clinical licensure examination is given by the
board or by applying for licensure by credentials. In order to
protect the public and to avoid abuses of this exemption, the
board shall not award a temporary license to any dentist under
the provisions of R.S. 37:752(8), and will not award a
temporary license to any dental hygienist within 60 days before
or 60 days after the clinical licensing examination is given.
Section 120 does not prohibit the awarding of temporary
licenses to dentists who are seeking exemptions under R.S.
37:752(4).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§122. Scopes of Practice

A. The board has reviewed and approved the "Standards
for Advanced Specialty Education Programs" set forth by the
Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental
Association and approves of the following specialties:

1. dental public health;
2. endodontics;
3. oral and maxillofacial surgery;
4. oral pathology;
5. orthodontic and facial orthopedics;
6. pediatric dentistry;
7. periodontics; and
8. prosthodontics.

B. The board approves of the definition of the specialties
listed in §122.A and as set forth in §301.D, and acknowledges
that those definitions set forth the scope of practice of said
specialties.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
Chapter 3. Dentists
§306. Requirements of Applicants for Licensure by

Credentials
A. Before any applicant is awarded a license according to

his/her credentials in lieu of an examination administered by
the board, said applicant shall provide to the board satisfactory
documentation evidencing that he/she:

1. has satisfactorily passed an examination administered
by the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry testing the
applicant's knowledge of the Louisiana Dental Practice Act and
the jurisprudence affecting same;
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2. currently possesses a nonrestricted license in another
state as defined in R.S. 37:751(L);

3. has been in active practice, while possessing a
nonrestricted license in another state, by working full-time as
a dentist at a minimum of 1,000 hours per year for the
preceding five years before applying for licensure in Louisiana
or full-t ime dental education as a teacher for a minimum of
three years immediately prior to applying for licensure; or has
completed a two-year general dentistry residency program or
successfully completed a residency program in one of the
board recognized dental specialties as defined in §301;

4. - 18. ...
19. is free of any communicable or contagious disease,

including but not limited to Human Immunodeficiency Virus
and Hepatitis B Virus, and provide a notarized certificate of
health from a medical doctor relative to his physical and
mental condition;

20. has completed continuing education equivalent to the
state of Louisiana's for the two years prior to applying for
licensure by credentials.

B. The applicant must also:
1. show or provide a sworn affidavit that there are no

unresolved complaints against him/her;
2. provide a notarized statement from the local peer

review chairman where he/she is presently practicing stating
that there have been no negative cases within the preceding
five years relative to the applicant;

3. sign a release authorizing the peer review chairman to
provide such information to the board;

4. show that his professional liability insurance has
never been revoked, modified, or nonrenewed;

5. show proof that he/she has not failed the Louisiana
State Board of Dentistry clinical licensure examination within
the preceding 10 years;

C. A person in a residency program may not apply for
licensure by credentials unless they have held an active license
for at least two years during said residency. The fact of passing
a regional board examination is not acceptable unless the
license has been activated.

D. Applicants must also meet those requirements set forth
in R.S. 37:761 and LAC 46:XXXIII.103.

E. Regardless of the applicant's compliance with the
foregoing requirements, the board may refuse to issue a dental
or dental hygiene license based on the applicant's credentials
for any reason listed in R.S. 37:775 and R.S. 37:776.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:768.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 18:739 (July 1992), amended
LR 21:571 (June 1995), LR 22:23 (January 1996), LR 23:1528
(November 1997), LR 24:
Chapter 4. Fees and Costs
Subchapter A. General Provisions
§405. Payments Nonrefundable

Except as may be expressly provided by these rules, all fees
and costs paid to the board shall be nonrefundable in their
entirety. All licenses renewed for two years shall be paid in full
whether the licensee intends to retire within the two-year
period or not.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:795.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:791 (November 1988),
amended LR 24:
Subchapter C. Fees for Dentists
§415. Licenses, Permits, and Examinations

For processing applications for licensure, permits, and
examinations, the following fees shall be payable in advance
to the board:

1. Examination and licensing of dental applicant $500

2. - 11. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:795.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November 1988),
amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992), LR
23:1526 (November 1997), LR 24:
Subchapter D. Fees for Dental Hygienists
§419. Licenses, Permits, and Examinations

For processing applications for licensure, permits, and
examinations, the following fees shall be payable in advance
to the board:

1. Examination and licensing of dental hygienist $200
applicant

2. - 8. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:795.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November 1988),
amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992), LR
23:1527 (November 1997), LR 24:
Chapter 5. Dental Assistants
§502. Authorized Duties of Expanded Duty Dental

Assistants
A. A person licensed to practice dentistry in the state of

Louisiana may delegate to any expanded duty dental assistant
any chairside dental act that said dentist deems reasonable,
using sound professional judgment. Such act must be
performed properly and safely on the patient and must be
reversible in nature. Furthermore, the act must be under the
direct supervision of the treating dentist. However, a dentist
may not delegate to an expanded duty dental assistant:

1. periodontal screening and probing, or subgingival
exploration for hard and soft deposits and sulcular irrigations;

2. the removal of calculus, deposits or accretions from
the natural and restored surfaces of teeth or dental implants in
the human mouth using hand, ultrasonic, sonic, or air polishing
instruments;

3. root planing or the smoothing and polishing of
roughened root surfaces using hand, ultrasonic, or sonic
instruments;

4. placement and removal of antimicrobial impregnated
fibers;

5. comprehensive examination or diagnosis and
treatment planning;

6. a surgical or cutting procedure on hard or soft tissue
including laser and micro abrasion reduction of tooth material;

7. the prescription of a drug, medication, or work
authorization;
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8. the taking of an impression for a final fixed or drug evaluation, medical laboratory reports, ascertaining the
removable restoration or prosthesis; patient's chief dental problem);

9. the final placement and intraoral adjustment of a fixed 7. overview of dental materials: cavity liners,
appliance; temporary crown materials, periodontal dressings,

10. the final placement and intraoral or extraoral post-surgical packs and acid-etch materials;
adjustment of a removable appliance; 8. coronal polishing: rationale, materials, techniques

11. the making of any intraoral occlusal adjustment; and contraindications;
12. the performance of direct pulp capping or pulpotomy; 9. lab on coronal polishing and performance
13. the placement or finishing of any final restoration; evaluation; half of the lab period shall be spent practicing on
14. the final placement of orthodontic bands or brackets typodonts while the second half shall be spent practicing on

except in indirect bonding procedures in which the dentist has partners;
either performed the final placement of the brackets on the 10. lecture on use of gingival retraction cords; types
model or when the dentist has written a detailed prescription of cords placement; and removal of cords.
to the laboratory for placement of the bracket; 11. lab on placement and removal of retraction cords;

15. the administration of a local anesthetic, parenteral, and performance evaluation-lab period shall be practicing on
Intravenous (IV), inhalation sedative agent or any general mannequins;
anesthetic agent; and 12. lab on placement of cavity liners; placement of

16. placement of pit and fissure sealants. temporary restorations; fabrications and placement of
B. The delegating dentist shall remain responsible for any temporary crowns; placement of periodontal dressings;

dental act performed by an expanded duty dental assistant. placement of post-surgical packs; performance of acid-etch
C. Certified expanded duty dental assistants may not hold techniques; placement and removal of wedges and matrices;

themselves out to the public as authorized to practice dentistry and performance evaluation;
or dental hygiene. 13. lecture on monitoring nitrous oxide/oxygen (N 0/0 )

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:205 (February 1993),
amended LR 21:569 (June 1995), LR 22:793 (August 1996), LR
22:1217 (December 1996), LR 24:
§503. Guide to Curriculum Development for Expanded

Duty Dental Assistants
A. Cognitive Objectives. Before becoming registered to

perform expanded duty dental assistant functions, dental
assistants should be tested on the reasons for doing these
procedures, the criteria for correct performance of these
procedures, and the effects of improper performance of these
procedures. The dental assistant shall be familiar with the state
Dental Practice Act and the rules and regulations governing
dental auxiliaries. This testing shall be included within at least
30 hours of instruction.

B. The following is a model outline for the expanded
duty dental assistant course. The hours are to be allocated by
the instructor in accordance with current law:

1. introduction: what is an expanded duty dental
assistant?;

2. jurisprudence: legal duties of auxiliaries; limitation
of auxiliary services; responsibility of dentists for all service
provided under dentist's supervision; responsibility of
auxiliaries to perform only those functions that are legally
delegated; penalties for violation of Dental Practice Act; and
mechanism to report to the board violations of dentists and/or
auxiliaries;

3. infection control and prevention of disease
transmission; dental assistants' responsibilities in upholding
universal barrier techniques; and OSHA rules;

4. handling dental emergencies;
5. charting;
6. oral anatomy; morphology of the teeth; and medical

and dental history for the dentist's review (vital signs,

2 2

sedation;
14. Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Course "C," Basic

Life Support for Health Care Providers as defined by the
American Heart Association or the Red Cross Professional
Rescue Course; this course may count for three hours of
instruction provided this course has been successfully
completed within six months prior to certification;

15. clinical exam instructions;
16. clinical and written exams.

C. All applicants for expanded duty dental assistant
certificate confirmation must successfully complete a course in
x-ray function and safety approved by the Louisiana State
Board of Dentistry. Any dental assistant who may have been
grandfathered in 1984 with the amendment to R.S. 37:792
must still take a radiology course as described herein in order
to seek the certificate confirmation as an expanded duty dental
assistant.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:205 (February 1993),
amended LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 24:
§507. High School Diploma Requirement

Effective January 1, 1998, all applicants for expanded duty
dental assistant certificate confirmation shall present
satisfactory documentation evidencing their graduation from an
accredited high school or receipt of a general equivalency
diploma (GED).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
Chapter 7. Dental Hygienists
§701. Authorized Duties

A. Dental hygienists are expressly authorized to perform
the procedure referred to as an oral prophylaxis, which is
defined as the removal of plaque, calculus and stains from the
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exposed and unexposed surfaces of the teeth by scaling and 18. is free of any communicable or contagious disease,
polishing as a preventive measure for the control of local including but not limited to Human Immunodeficiency Virus
irritational factors. and Hepatitis B Virus, and provide a notarized certificate of

B. A person licensed to practice dentistry in the state of health from a medical doctor relative to his/her physical and
Louisiana may delegate to any dental hygienist any chairside mental condition;
dental act which said dentist deems reasonable, using sound 19. has completed continuing education equivalent to the
professional judgment. Such act must be performed properly state of Louisiana's for the two years prior to applying for
and safely on the patient. Furthermore, the act must be under licensure by credentials.
the direct on-premises supervision of the treating dentist. B. The applicant must also:
However, dental hygienists who perform authorized duties in 1. show or provide a sworn affidavit that there are no
any public institution or school may perform authorized duties unresolved complaints against him/her;
under the general supervision of a licensed dentist. A dentist 2. show that his/her professional liability insurance has
may not delegate to a dental hygienist: never been revoked, modified, or nonrenewed;

1. comprehensive examination or diagnosis and 3. show proof that he/she has not failed the Louisiana
treatment planning; State Board of Dentistry clinical licensing examination within

2. a surgical or cutting procedure on hard or soft tissue the preceding 10 years.
including laser and micro abrasion reduction of tooth material; C. Applicants must also meet those requirements set forth

3. the prescription of a drug, medication, or work in R.S. 37:764 and LAC 46:XXXIII.103.
authorization; D. Further, applicants must be in compliance with or not

4. the taking of an impression for a final fixed or found guilty of any violations of R.S. 37:775 and/or
removable restoration or prosthesis; R.S. 37:777.

5. the final placement and intraoral adjustment of a fixed E. Regardless of the applicant's compliance with the
appliance; foregoing requirements, the board may refuse to issue a dental

6. the final placement and intraoral or extraoral or dental hygiene license based on the applicant's credentials
adjustment of a removable appliance; for any reason listed in R.S. 37:775 or R.S. 37:777.

7. the making of any intraoral occlusal adjustment;
8. the performance of direct pulp capping or pulpotomy;
9. the placement or finishing of any final restoration

except for the polishing of an amalgam restoration;
10. the final placement of orthodontic bands or brackets

except in indirect bonding procedures in which the dentist has
either performed the final placement of the brackets on the
model or when the dentist has written a detailed prescription
to the laboratory for placement of the bracket; and

11. the administration of local anesthetic, parenteral,
Intravenous (IV), inhalation sedative agent, or any general
anesthetic agent (exception: see §710, "Administration of Local Anesthesia
for Dental Hygiene Purposes").

C. The delegating dentist shall remain responsible for any
dental act performed by a dental hygienist.

D. Registered dental hygienists may not hold themselves
out to the public as authorized to practice dentistry.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:791 (November 1988),
amended LR 15:965 (November 1989), LR 19:206 (February 1993),
LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:1217 (December 1996), LR 24:
§706. Requirements of Applicants for Licensure by

Credentials
A. Before any applicant is awarded a license according to

his/her credentials in lieu of an examination administered by
the board, said applicant shall provide to the board satisfactory
documentation evidencing that he/she:

1. has satisfactorily passed an examination administered
by the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry testing the
applicant's knowledge of the Louisiana Dental Practice Act and
the jurisprudence affecting same;

2. - 17. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:768.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 18:737 (July 1992), amended
LR 21:570 (June 1995), LR 22:23 (January 1996), LR 24:
§710. Administration of Local Anesthesia for Dental

Purposes
A. After satisfying the board of his or her competence to

administer local anesthesia, a licensed dental hygienist may
qualify for a special endorsement to administer local anesthesia
for dental procedures under the direct on-premises supervision
of a licensed dentist.

B. Competence to administer local anesthesia must be
demonstrated to the board by successful completion of a course
of study of at least 72 hours of instruction in a formal program
in administration of local anesthesia sponsored by an
institutional program accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation of the American Dental Association and
approved by the board. A certificate of course completion and
a copy of the syllabus must be submitted to the board for
approval. The course must include didactic studies and clinical
experience in the administration of long buccal, maxillary and
mandibular infiltration anesthesia; mental block anesthesia;
lingual nerve block; and inferior alveolar nerve block
anesthesia; medical history and physical evaluation of the
patient; and the prevention, diagnosis, and management of
medical emergencies which can be encountered in the dental
patient. A minimum of 20 satisfactory injections is required.

C. The curriculum for required study must include, but is
not necessarily limited to:

1. medical history evaluation procedures;
2. physical evaluation;
3. CPR certification in accordance with board rules;
4. understanding pharmacology of local anesthesia and

vasoconstrictors;
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5. local anesthesia, didactic, and clinical course:
a. anatomy of head, neck, and oral cavity as it relates

to administering local anesthetic agents;
b. indications and contraindications for administration

of local anesthesia;
c. selection and preparation of the armamentaria and

record keeping for administering various local anesthetic
agents;

d. medical and legal management complications;
e. recognition and management of post-injection

complications and management of reactions to injections;
f. proper infection control techniques with regard to

local anesthesia and proper disposal of sharps;
g. methods of administering local anesthetic agents

with emphasis on:
i. technique;
(a). aspiration;
(b). slow injection; and

ii. minimum effective dosage;
6. medical emergency, prevention, diagnosis, and

management.
D. Upon satisfactory completion of the application process,

the applicant must pass the board-administered written
examination in the administration of local anesthesia.

E. A dental hygienist who has been licensed and trained in
a course equivalent to §710.B and C to administer local
anesthesia in another state may qualify, at the discretion of the
board, to take the exam by presenting written documentation
of such licensure and training to the board and documentation
of experience in the past two years and by gaining approval of
the board through the interview process; 37:760(8).

F. A dental hygienist can maintain local anesthesia
privileges by administering at least 50 patient visits using local
anesthetic injection during the previous five years, documented
by a log book to include date of visit, patient name, supervising
dentist, purpose of injection, and any adverse reaction or
complication. Otherwise, he or she must satisfy the board of
competence to administer local anesthesia by successfully
completing a course of 72 hours of studies that satisfies the
curriculum requirements of §710.

G. A licensed dental hygienist who has demonstrated
competence to the satisfaction of the board may qualify for a
special endorsement and may undertake the administration of
local anesthesia by:

1. successfully completing the written examination
administered by the board;

2. substantiating the adequacy of training; and
3. limiting administration of local anesthesia as provided

by these rules.
H. The endorsement shall be for a period of five years and

renewable with documentation of experience as described in
§710.F.

I. Any hygienist who is not certified by the state of
Louisiana in local anesthesia and who performs such a
procedure is subject to severe sanctions up to and including
revocation of his/her license. The dentist under whose
instructions he/she performed the procedure will be subject to
severe sanctions up to and including revocation of the dentist's
license.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§714. Administration of Local and/or Block Anesthesia by

Dental Hygienists Licensed by Credentials
Dental hygienists who are licensed in the state of Louisiana

by credentials and who have been certified to administer long
buccal, maxillary and mandibular infiltration anesthesia;
mental block anesthesia; lingual nerve block; and inferior
alveolar nerve block anesthesia, in a state of previous
licensure, and who wish to administer long buccal, maxillary
and mandibular infiltration anesthesia; mental block
anesthesia; lingual nerve block; and inferior alveolar nerve
block anesthesia in Louisiana, must have gained their
certification by successfully completing a course in the
administration of anesthesia equivalent to or greater than the
course required of Louisiana dental hygienists as set forth in
this Chapter.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
Chapter 13. Dental Laser and Air Abrasion

Utilization
§1305. Air Abrasion Units

Utilization of air abrasion units by licensed dental hygienists
and dental auxiliaries is prohibited. However, this does not
prevent the utilization of air polishing units by licensed dental
hygienists and dental auxiliaries.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
Chapter 14. Rulemaking
§1401. Scope of Chapter

The rules of this Chapter govern the board's process to
consider petitions from interested persons relative to the
adoption, amendment, repeal, or applicability of any statutory
provision, rule, or order of the board in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1322 (October 1993), LR
24:
§1403. Forms

All petitions requesting the adoption, amendment, repeal, or
applicability of a rule, statutory provision, or order of the
board, shall be submitted on plain white, letter size (8½" by
11") bond; with margins of at least 1 inch on all sides and text
double-spaced except as to quotations and other matter
customarily single-spaced; shall bear the name, address, and
phone number of the person requesting the action; and shall
also state the complete and full name of each person(s),
organization, or entity the requester represents along with
sufficient information to identify and fully describe said
person(s), organization, or entity.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).



210Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 1 January 20, 1998

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1322 (October 1993),
amended LR 24:
Chapter 16. Continuing Education Requirements
§1607. Exemptions

A. Continuing education requirements shall not apply to:
1. - 2. ...
3. dentists in the first calendar year of their graduation

from dental school;
4. dental hygienists in the first calendar year of their

graduation from dental hygiene school.
B. ...
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:760(8) and (13).
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 20:661(June 1994), amended
LR 24:
Chapter 16. Continuing Education Requirements
§1611. Continuing Education Requirements for

Relicensure of Dentists
A. Unless exempted under §1607, each dentist shall

complete a minimum of 20 hours of continuing education
during each calendar year for the renewal of his/her license to
practice dentistry. Dentists whose licenses are renewed for a
two-year period are allowed to accumulate 40 hours over the
two-year period.

B. ...
C. No more than 10 of the required 20 hours can be

completed from the following:
1. - 2. ...
3. three credit hours for successful completion of

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Course "C", Basic Life
Support for Healthcare Providers as defined by the American
Heart Association or the Red Cross Professional Rescue
Course. When being audited for compliance with
cardiopulmonary resuscitation course completion, a photocopy
of the CPR card evidencing successful completion of the
course for each year shall be appended to the form.

D. - J. ...
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:760(8) and (13).
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR: 20:661(June 1994), amended
LR 21:569 (June 1995), LR 22:24 (January 1996), LR 22:1216
(December 1996), LR 23:1526 (November 1997), LR 24:
§1613. Continuing Education Requirements for

Relicensure of Dental Hygienists
A. Unless exempted under §1607, each dental hygienist

shall complete a minimum of 12 hours of continuing education
during each calendar year for the renewal of his/her license to
practice dental hygiene. Dental hygienists whose licenses are
renewed for a two-year period are allowed to accumulate 24
hours over the two-year period.

B. ...
C. No more than six of the required 12 hours can be

completed from the following:
1. - 2. ...
3. three credit hours for successful completion of

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Course "C", Basic Life

Support for Healthcare Providers as defined by the American
Heart Association or the Red Cross Professional Rescue
Course. When being audited for compliance with
cardiopulmonary resuscitation course completion, a photocopy
of the CPR card evidencing successful completion of the
course for each year shall be appended to the form.

D. - J. ...
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:760(8) and (13).
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR: 20:661 (June 1994), amended
LR 21:570 (June 1995), LR 22:24 (January 1996), LR 22:1217
(December 1996), LR 23:1526 (November 1997), LR 24:
§1615. Approved Courses

A. Courses sponsored or approved by the following
organizations shall be accepted by the board:

1. - 2. ...
3. Academy of General Dentistry courses when set forth

on official documentation;
4. - 9. ...

B. The following standards represent minimum criteria to
which component societies, as referred to in §1615.A.7 of this
rule, should adhere to if they wish the board to allow the
participants to receive continuing education credits.

1. Each sponsoring organization will be responsible for
developing its own specific policies for accreditation of
continuing education programs and/or activities, and awarding
credit hours. These policies must be filed with the board.
Satisfactory documentation evidencing approval of continuing
education courses must be kept by the sponsoring or approving
organization on file for a minimum of four years after the
presentation of the course.

2. The program shall be under the continuous guidance
of an administrative authority and/or individual responsible for
its quality, content, and ongoing conduct.

a. Each program or activity must have specific
educational objectives or goals that relate to the dental as well
as the overall healthcare needs of the public and/or the interest
and needs of the dental profession. The content of the program
will be directed at achieving the stated objectives or goals.

b. The instructor or instructors in charge of the
program or activity must be qualified by education to provide
instruction in the relevant subject matter.

c. Facilities selected for each activity must be
appropriate to accomplish:

i. the educational methods being used;
ii. the stated educational objectives or goals.

C. In general, continuing education activities shall be made
available to all dental healthcare workers. The board does
recognize that facilities and the number of instructors may
limit the number of participants.

D. Clinical credit will only be given to lectures and/or
participation programs or activities that deal with the actual
delivery of dental services to the patient.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and (13).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR: 20:662 (June 1994), amended
LR 22:24 (January 1996), LR 24:
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Chapter 17. Licensure Examinations
§1701. Scope of Chapter

This Chapter shall describe all procedures relative to the 4. has successfully completed the National Board of
administration of the clinical licensing examinations for Dental Examiners Dental Examination within 10 years of the
persons wishing to practice dentistry or dental hygiene in the date of application.
state of Louisiana. C. To be licensed as a dentist in this state, an applicant

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(1) and (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§1703. Candidate's Manual for the Dental Licensure

Examination of the Louisiana State Board of
Dentistry

This manual is too voluminous to print in LAC 46:XXXIII.
Section 1703 is intended to put the public on notice that the
board utilizes examination manuals which are revised every A. Any person desiring to be licensed as a dental hygienist
year. A copy is on file with the Office of the State Register; and shall apply to the board to take the licensure examination and
copies may be obtained from the board office. shall verify the information required on the application by oath.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(1) and (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§1705. Candidate's Manual for the Dental Hygiene

Licensure Examination of the Louisiana State
Board of Dentistry

This manual is too voluminous to print in LAC 46:XXXIII.
Section 1705 is intended to put the public on notice that the
board utilizes examination manuals which are revised every
year. A copy is on file with the Office of the State Register; and
copies may be obtained from the board office.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(1) and (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§1707. Religious Obligations

There will be no exceptions relative to religious obligations
in the conducting of the clinical licensing examinations of the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(1) and (8). 1. a written examination on the jurisprudence and ethics

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§1709. Examination of Dentists

A. Any person desiring to be licensed as a dentist shall
apply to the board to take the licensure examination and shall
verify the information required on the application by oath. The
application shall include two recent photographs. There shall
be an application fee set by the board not to exceed $600
which shall be nonrefundable. There shall also be an
examination fee set by the Louisiana State University School
of Dentistry which shall not exceed $200 and which may be
refundable if the applicant is found ineligible to take the
examination.

B. An applicant shall be entitled to take the examinations
required in this Section to practice dentistry in this state if such
applicant:

1. is 18 years of age or older;
2. is of good moral character;
3. is a graduate of a dental school accredited by the

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental

Association or its successor agency, if any, or any other
nationally recognized accrediting agency; and

must successfully complete the clinical licensing examination.
D. The board is expressly authorized to utilize the services

of other Louisiana licensed dentists to facilitate the
examination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(1) and (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
§1711. Examination of Dental Hygienists

The application shall include two recent photographs of the
applicant. There shall be a nonrefundable application fee not
to exceed $400, and a clinical fee payable to the Louisiana
State University School of Dentistry which shall not exceed
$100 and which may be refundable if the applicant is found
ineligible to take the examination.

B. An applicant shall be entitled to take the examinations
required in this Section to practice dental hygiene in this state
if such applicant:

1. is 18 years of age or older;
2. is of good moral character;
3. is a graduate of a dental hygiene college or school

approved by the board or accredited by the Commission on
Accreditation of the American Dental Association or its
successor agency; and

4. has successfully completed the National Board of
Dental Hygiene Examiners Dental Examination within 10
years of the date of application.

C. To be licensed as a dental hygienist in this state, an
applicant must successfully complete the following:

of the state regulating the practice of dental hygiene;
2. a practical or clinical examination which shall test the

competency of the applicant's ability.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:760(1) and (8).
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:
Interested persons may submit written comments on this

proposed rule to C. Barry Ogden, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Dentistry, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite
1850, New Orleans, LA 70112. Written comments must be
submitted to and received by the board within 60 days of this
notice. A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral
presentation, argument, or public hearing must be made in
writing and received by the board within 20 days of the date of
this notice.

C. Barry Ogden
Executive Director
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Comprehensive Rule Revisions
 In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and the Pharmacy

TO STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS Law,R.S. 37:1178, the Board of Pharmacy hereby gives notice
(Summary) to amend LAC 46:LIII.2929.

A cost of $1,280 is estimated to publish this notice of
intent and final rule. Notification of this rule change will
be provided to our licensees via newsletter and/or
pamphlet which is already budgeted.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS
OF STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS
(Summary) A.1. - 2. ...

There will be no effect on revenue collections by the a. Pharmacies electronically accessing the same
Louisiana State Board of Dentistry or any other state or prescription drug records may transfer up to the maximum
local governmental unit. refills permitted by law and the prescriber's authorization.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC 3. - 4. ...
BENEFITS TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR B. Manual Filing System. If a pharmacy maintains
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary) prescription information in a manual system, the transfers are

Re: §103— This change will allow applicants to take our subject to the following requirements.
licensing examination who will graduate from dental 1. - 2.b.ii. ...
school or dental hygiene school within 90 days from the iii. number of valid refills remaining, the date of last
date the examination is administered. This will help those refill and, if a controlled substance, date(s), and location(s) of
applicants in that they will not have to wait a full year to previous refill(s).
take the clinical licensing examination. iv. - v. ...

Re: §110— If it becomes necessary for the board to C. Computerized Filing System. If a pharmacy maintains
suspend or revoke a license for failure to comply with this prescription information in a data processing system, the
rule, those persons would suffer an economic loss. transfers are subject to the following requirements:

Re: §415— There will be an increase of $200 to persons 1. - 2. ...
taking the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry clinical 3. The data processing system shall have a mechanism
licensing examination. to prohibit the transfer of controlled substance prescriptions

Re: §419— There will be an increase of $25 to persons which have previously been transferred, unless the pharmacy
taking the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry dental can electronically access the prescription drug records at the
hygiene clinical licensing examination. pharmacy from which a transfer is requested.

Re: §502— Dentists who utilize the services of 4. The original prescription, in a data processing system,
expanded duty dental assistants have a potential for which has been transferred must be invalidated in the data
economic benefit as a result of cost savings which may or processing for purposes of refilling unless other pharmacies
may not be passed on to the patient who would in turn may electronically access the prescription drug records for
benefit as well. purposes of transfer. All required information must be

Re: §701— Dentists who utilize the services of dental maintained for at least five years.
hygienists have a potential for economic benefit as a result 5. ...
of cost savings which may or may not be passed on to the D. ...
patient who would in turn benefit as well.

Re: §710 and §714— There will be an economic benefit
to 1) dentists employing dental hygienists; 2) dental
hygienists; and 3) patients. There will be no costs and/or
economic benefits to other nongovernmental groups.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no effect on competition and employment.

C. Barry Ogden Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to the
9801#007 LegislativeFiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Pharmacy

Pharmacy Records— Transfer of Prescription
Information (LAC 46:LIII.2929)

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part LIII. Pharmacists

Chapter 29. Pharmacy Records
§2929. Transfer of Prescription Information

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1178.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 1988),
amended LR 15:967 (November 1989), amended LR 24:

Any person may submit data, views, or positions orally or in
writing to Fred H. Mills, Jr., Executive Director,
5615 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton Rouge, LA 70808,
phone (504) 925-6496. Comments will be accepted through
4 p.m. on February 20, 1998.

Under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
if a public hearing is necessary, it will be held from 10 a.m. to
12 noon, Wednesday, February 25, 1998, at the Board of
Pharmacy office, 5615 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton
Rouge, LA 70808, phone (504) 925-6496.

Fred H. Mills, Jr.
Executive Director
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Pharmacy Records— Transfer of
Prescription Information

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The only cost associated with the implementation of the
proposed amendment of LAC 46:LIII.2929 will be the cost of permit fee shall be determined by the legislature and/or the
printing and distribution of the new regulation. It is estimated
that the Louisiana Register cost of $300, printing cost of $500,
and postage for distribution is estimated at $640; or, a total of
$1,440 will be expended in FY 97/98.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This proposed amendment would have no effect on any
revenue collections for this board or any state or local
government entity.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no economic benefits to be gained by this
regulation.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no effect on competition or employment.

Fred H. Mills, Jr. Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to the
9801#024 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Pharmacy

Provisional Community Pharmacy
(LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 14)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and the Pharmacy Law,
R.S. 37:1178, the Board of Pharmacy hereby gives notice to
adopt LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 14 (Provisional Community
Pharmacy).

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part LIII. Pharmacists

Chapter 14. Provisional Community Pharmacy
§1401. Provisional Community Pharmacy

Provisional Community Pharmacy— the practice of
pharmacy at a site where prescriptions are dispensed free of
charge to appropriately screened and qualified indigent Any person may submit data, views, or positions orally or in
patients. writing to Fred H. Mills, Jr., Executive Director,

Qualified Patients— those patients not served by
Medicaid/Medicare, uninsured, and with insufficient funds, as
determined by strict screening guidelines, to obtain needed
medications.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1178.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 24:

§1403. Provisional Community Pharmacy Permit
A. A provisional community pharmacy permit shall be

required to operate a pharmacy in the state to transact business
by dispensing free prescription drugs to patients in Louisiana.
This permit shall only be granted to an organization qualified
as a charitable organization in the Internal Revenue Code
under §501(c)(3).

B. Permit Fee. The provisional community pharmacy

board.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:1178.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 24:
§1405. Compliance

The provisional community pharmacy must be in compliance
with applicable federal, and state laws and/or regulations
pertaining to the practice of pharmacy, except as exempted in
§1407.C. All screening guidelines and revisions shall be
submitted to the board upon request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1178.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 24:
§1407. Additional Requirements

A. Parenteral/Enteral dispensing. A provisional community
pharmacy engaging in the dispensing of parenteral/enteral
preparations as defined in §2101, shall obtain a
parenteral/enteral permit and comply with all requirements in
LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 21.

B. Accessibility. A provisional community pharmacy shall
be directly accessible to the general public.

C. Pharmacy Operations. A provisional community
pharmacy shall comply with the provisions of
LAC 46:LIII.Chapter 11, with the exception of §§1103 and
1127.8.b.i and ii, with written board approval, in order to
provide free medications to qualified indigent patients.

D. Prescription Legend Drug Samples. A provisional
community pharmacy may not sell, purchase, trade, or possess
prescription legend drug samples, unless the following
conditions are satisfied:

1. The prescription legend drug samples are dispensed
at no charge to the qualified indigent patient of the provisional
community pharmacy.

2. The prescription legend drug samples are possessed
in compliance with the federal Prescription Drug Marketing
Act of 1986.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1178.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 24:

5615 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton Rouge, LA 70808,
phone (504) 925-6496. Comments will be accepted through
4 p.m. on February 20, 1998.

Under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
if a public hearing is necessary, it will be held from 10 a.m. to
12 noon, Wednesday, February 25, 1998, at the Board of
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Pharmacy office, 5615 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton
Rouge, LA 70808, phone (504) 925-6496.

Fred H. Mills, Jr.
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Provisional Community Pharmacy

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The only cost associated with the adoption of Chapter 14,
Provisional Pharmacy Permit, will be the cost of printing and
distribution of the new regulation. It is estimated that the following form:
Louisiana Register cost of $300, printing cost of $500, and
postage for distribution is estimated at $640; or, a total of
$1,440 will be expended in FY 97/98.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Revenue collections will be the collections of fees to permit
these provisional pharmacy permits. Projection for fiscal year
1998-1999 is $1,000. Projection for fiscal year 1999-2000 is
$1,400.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS e. dosage form;
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

The proposed regulation may have a positive economic benefit
for affected persons. Many Louisiana citizens cannot afford
necessary prescription medications; this modification will allow
the board to permit and regulate free pharmacy services to the
indigent who are unable to qualify for Medicaid services.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There is no effect on competition or employment.

Fred H. Mills, Jr. Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to the
9801#023 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Pharmacy

Schedule Drug Prescriptions (LAC 46:LIII.3531)

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and Pharmacy Law,
R.S. 37:1178, the Board of Pharmacy hereby gives notice to
amend LAC 46:LIII. 3531.

(Editor 's Note: Section 3531 is being published in full to reflect new
codification, with the agency being charged for the amended portion only;
therefore the agency's fiscal impact [printing, etc.] remains the same.

The revisions to §3531 refine accessibility of controlled substances
in: emergency situations; for hospice patients; and for patients in long term care
facilities. Revision of §3531 reflects advances in communications technology
via facsimile. The revision also eliminates the duplication of paperwork.)

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part LIII. Pharmacists

Chapter 35. Pharmacy Prescription Drugs
§3531. Schedule Drug Prescription Requirements

A. A schedule drug prescription or order must be issued for
a legitimate medical purpose by a licensed medical practitioner
in the usual course of professional practice and dispensed by
a licensed pharmacist.

B. Schedule Drug Prescription Form. Schedule drug
prescriptions/orders shall be written or reduced to writing with
ink, indelible pencil, or typewritten in compliance with the

1. patient's:
a. full name; and
b. address;

2. schedule drug:
a. name;
b. strength;
c. quantity;
d. instructions; and

3. authorized prescriber's:
a. full name;
b. address;
c. signature for Schedule II drugs; and
d. DEA registration number.

C. Schedule II Drug Prescriptions or Orders. Schedule II
prescriptions must be issued and signed by an authorized
practitioner.

1. Schedule II Drug Oral Prescriptions/Orders. A
pharmacist may dispense an oral Schedule II controlled
substance prescription authorized by a medical practitioner, in
the case of a bona fide emergency situation, upon a prescribing
practitioner's verbal authorization.

2. Emergency. A bona fide emergency situation exists
when:

a. need— schedule drug administration is necessary
for immediate treatment;

b. availability— non-available appropriate alternate
treatment;

c. reasonable— the prescribing practitioner cannot
reasonably provide a written prescription.

3. Adequate Regime. Dispense a limited amount of
schedule drugs to treat the patient during the emergency
period.

4. Reduced to Writing. An oral prescription/order shall
be immediately reduced to writing, in proper form, by the
dispensing pharmacist with his signature.

5. Verification. A pharmacist shall verify the
authenticity of a verbal Schedule II prescription/order.

6. Schedule Prescription Retrieval. A signed written
Schedule II prescription/order, in proper form, shall be
received from the practitioner within seven days.

7. Schedule II Prescriptions/Orders. Schedule II
prescriptions are non-refillable.
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8. Schedule II Drug Via Facsimile. A prescription dispensed, and pharmacist's name or initials or the same
written for a Schedule II controlled substance may be notations shall be made into a computer system.
transmitted by the practitioner or the practitioner's agent to a E. Schedule Prescription Drug Labeling. A schedule
pharmacy via facsimile equipment, provided that the original prescription label shall be affixed to a suitable container and
signed prescription is presented to the pharmacist for review exhibit the following information:
prior to the actual dispensing of the controlled substance, 1. pharmacy name;
except as noted in §3531.C.8.a and b. 2. pharmacy address;

a. A prescription written for a Schedule II narcotic 3. date filled or refilled;
substance to be compounded for direct administration to a 4. serial number;
patient by parenteral, intravenous, intramuscular, 5. patient's name;
subcutaneous, or intraspinal infusion may be transmitted by the 6. authorized prescriber's name;
practitioner or his agent to the pharmacy by facsimile. The 7. drug name and strength;
facsimile serves as the original written prescription. 8. direction;

b. A prescription written for a Schedule II narcotic 9. pharmacist's last name and initial; and
substance for a hospice or terminally ill patient may be 10. federal transfer caution label.
transmitted by the practitioner or his agent to the dispensing F. Schedule V Drugs. Schedule V dispensing requires a
pharmacy by facsimile. The practitioner or his agent will note prescription except for the following:
on the prescription that the patient is a hospice or terminally ill 1. Schedule V Exempt Narcotics. Exempt narcotics are
patient. The facsimile serves as the original written preparations dispensed without a prescription containing
prescription. limited quantities of certain narcotic drugs dispensed by a

9. Schedule II Drug/Partial Filling. A prescription licensed pharmacist, generally for antidiarrheal purposes, to a
written for a Schedule II controlled substance for a patient in person of majority with suitable identification and the
a Long Term Care Facility (LTCF) or for a patient with a transaction properly recorded in a bound Schedule V Exempt
terminal illness may be filled in partial quantities. The Narcotic Book containing the name and address of purchaser,
pharmacist must record on the prescription whether the patient and name and quantity of exempt narcotic dispensed, with the
is terminally ill or an LTCF patient. For each partial filling, date of sale and the dispensing pharmacist's name or initials.
the dispensing pharmacist shall record on the back of the 2. Schedule V Exempt Preparation. An exempt narcotic
prescription (or on another appropriate record, uniformly transaction shall not exceed 240 cc/ml. (8 fluid ounces), or not
maintained, and readily retrievable) the date of the partial more than 48 solid dosage units, which may be dispensed to
filling, quantity dispensed, remaining quantity authorized to be the same person in any given 48-hour period, containing
dispensed, and the identification of the dispensing pharmacist. limited narcotic quantities with non-narcotic active medicinal
The total quantity of schedule II controlled substance ingredients in sufficient proportion to confer upon the
dispensed in all patrial fillings must not exceed the total compound, mixture, or preparation valuable medicinal
quantity prescribed and must be executed within 60 days from qualities other than those possessed by the narcotic drug alone.
the date of issue. 3. Exempt Narcotic Record. A bound Exempt Narcotic

D. Schedule III/IV Prescriptions/Orders. Schedule III and Book shall be maintained in the pharmacy for exempt Schedule
IV prescriptions may be issued upon oral or written orders of V drugs sold, with purchaser's name and address, date of sale,
an authorized practitioner. name and quantity of exempt narcotic dispensed and the

1. Schedule III/IV Oral Prescriptions/Orders. Oral pharmacist's initials. The exempt narcotic book shall be
prescriptions/orders shall be promptly reduced to writing. maintained for a period of five years from the date of the last

2. Refillable Schedule III/IV Prescriptions/Orders. entered transaction, and shall be made available for board
Schedule III and IV prescriptions are refillable, with inspection.
appropriate authorization. 4. Identification. The pharmacist must ascertain suitable

3. Schedule III/IV Prescription Order Form. Schedule III identification of buyer and proof of age, when appropriate.
and IV prescriptions shall conform to the following. 5. Authorized Dispensing. Schedule V exempt narcotic

a. Authorized Practitioners Instructions— Refillable preparations must be dispensed by a pharmacist.
Authority. An authorized practitioner must orally approve or G. Schedule Prescription Files. Schedule prescription files
inscribe refillable instructions on the face of the prescription must be maintained on premises.
or order. In the absence of specific refill instructions, the 1. Schedule II Prescription Files. Schedule II
prescription is non-refillable. prescriptions shall be maintained separately from other

b. Refillable Prescription Period. Schedule III, IV, and prescription records and contain the name or initials of the
V prescriptions shall not be refilled more than five times pharmacist that dispensed the prescription.
within six months of the date of issue. Schedules III, IV, and V 2. Schedule III, IV, and V Prescription Files. Schedule
prescriptions shall become null and void after six months or III, IV, and V dispensed prescriptions may be filed separately,
after five authorized refills, whichever comes first. or, in the alternative, they may be filed in numerical sequence

c. Schedule III/IV/V Prescription Refill Records. The with either Schedule II prescriptions or with noncontrolled
pharmacist dispensing Schedule III, IV, and V prescriptions prescriptions. When filed with other prescriptions, Schedule
shall note on the reverse side of the original prescription refill III, IV and V prescriptions must be stamped with a red-inked
information such as date, with quantity or variation of quantity
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"C" at least one inch high in the lower right-hand corner of the pharmacist-in-charge and verified by the incoming pharmacist-
prescriptions. However, if a pharmacy maintains computerized in-charge.
dispensing records, then the requirement to mark the hard copy h. Schedule Drugs Central Records. Schedule Drug
prescription with a red "C" is waived. Dispensing pharmacists' Central Records repository shall be permitted upon board and
name or initials and dispensing date shall be placed on the DEA approval.
prescription.

3. Schedule III, IV, and V Prescription Files
Maintenance. Schedule III, IV, and V prescription files must
be maintained in a readily available and retrievable manner.

H. Record Keeping
1. Registrant must maintain readily retrievable, complete

and accurate transaction records, as follows:
a. DEA order forms;
b. Schedule II receiving invoices shall be maintained

separately. Schedule III, IV, and V receiving invoices may be
maintained with general records and shall be readily
retrievable;

c. schedule drug prescription files;
d. schedule drug inventories— initial, annual, and

current.
2. Schedule Drugs Inventory Records. Schedule drug

inventories must be complete and reflect an accurate
accounting of schedule drug transactions.

a. Inventory Content. The inventory record shall
reflect the following:

i. an accurate schedule drug inventory shall
comprise the drug name, strength, and correct accounting  
supported with invoices, prescriptions/orders, and/or transfers;

ii. registrant's name;
iii. registrant's DEA number;
iv. inventory date;
v. inventory period;

vi. available prior inventory;
vii. preparer's signature;

viii. inventory records shall be maintained for five
years. STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

b. Initial Inventory Record. An initial schedule drug
physical inventory shall be conducted when the registrant
commences to dispense schedule prescriptions.

c. Annual Inventory Records. A complete and
accurate Schedule II drug physical inventory shall be
conducted annually following the anniversary date of the initial
inventory.

d. Biennial Inventory Record. An estimated Schedule
III, IV, and V drug physical inventory shall be conducted
biennially following the anniversary date of the initial
inventory, unless the container holds more than 1,000 tablets
or capsules in which case an exact inventory shall be made.

e. Schedule Drug Theft Inventory. A schedule drug
inventory shall be conducted when there is a loss or theft of
schedule drugs and reported to the Regional DEA office on
DEA Form 106, and a copy sent to the board.

f. Business Termination Inventory. A schedule CDS
inventory must be taken when a registrant's pharmacy is sold,
exchanged, assigned, closed, or transferred, with a copy mailed
to the board and the DEA.

g. Pharmacist-in-Charge Termination Inventory. A
schedule drug inventory must be conducted by the outgoing

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1178.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708 (October 1988),
amended LR 24:

Any person may submit data, views or positions orally or in
writing to Fred H. Mills, Jr., Executive Director, 5615
Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton Rouge, LA 70808,
phone (504) 925-6496. Comments will be accepted through
4 p.m. on February 20, 1998.

Under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
if a public hearing is necessary, it will be held from 10 a.m. to
12 noon, Wednesday, February 25, 1998, at the Board of
Pharmacy Office, 5615 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton
Rouge, LA 70808, phone (504) 925-6496.

Fred H. Mills, Jr.
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Drug Prescriptions

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The only cost associated with the implementation of the
proposed LAC 46:LIII.3531 amendment will be the cost of
printing and distribution of the new regulation. It is estimated
that the Louisiana Register publication cost of $300, printing
cost of $500, and postage for distribution is estimated at $640;
or, a total of $1,440 will be expended in FY 97/98.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

This proposed amendment would have no effect on any
revenue collections for this board or any state or local
governmental entity.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no economic benefits to be gained by this proposed
regulation.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no effect on competition or employment.

Fred H. Mills, Jr. Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to
9801#022 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Pharmacy

Transmission of Prescriptions (LAC 46:LIII.1111)

In accordance with provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and Pharmacy Law,
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R.S. 37:1178, the Board of Pharmacy hereby gives notice to
amend LAC 46:LIII.1111.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part LIII. Pharmacists

Chapter 11. Pharmacies
§1111. Transmission of Prescriptions

A. ...
1. - 2. ...
3. Electronic Transmission. A pharmacist may receive

and dispense a bona fide prescription communicated from a
practitioner, via facsimile or other means, and then reduce to
hard copy if necessary. When receiving a prescription
transmitted in this manner, the pharmacist must indicate on the
hard copy the mode of transmission as well as the phone
number of the practitioner making the transmission.

B. ...
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:1178.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 23:1311 (October 1997),
amended LR 24:

Any person may submit data, views or positions orally or in
writing to Fred H. Mills, Executive Director, 5615 Corporate
Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton Rouge, LA 70808, phone (504)
925-6496. Comments will be accepted through 4 p.m. on
February 20, 1998.

Under the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
if a public hearing is necessary, it will be held from 10 a.m. to
12 noon, Wednesday, February 25, 1998, at the Board of
Pharmacy office, 5615 Corporate Boulevard, Suite 8E, Baton
Rouge, LA 70808, phone (504) 925-6496.

Fred H. Mills, Jr.
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Transmission of Prescriptions

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The only cost associated with the implementation of the
proposed amendment of LAC 46:LIII.1111 will be the cost of
printing and distribution of the new regulation. It is estimated
that the Louisiana Register cost of $300; printing cost of $500;
and postage for distribution estimated at $640; or a total of
$1,440 will be expended in FY 97/98.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This proposed amendment would have no effect on any
revenue collections for this board or any state or local
governmental entity.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS supervision of a licensed veterinarian, except:
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

There are no economic benefits to be gained by this
regulation.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no effect on competition or employment.

Fred H. Mills, Jr. Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to the
9801#021 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Veterinary Medicine

Boarding and Nonboarding Animals
(LAC 46:LXXXV.700 and 702)

The Board of Veterinary Medicine proposes to amend
LAC 46:LXXXV.700 and 702 in accordance with the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950
et seq., and the Veterinary Practice Act, R.S. 37:1518 et seq.

The proposed amendments define the care that may be
provided to boarding and nonboarding animals by Registered
Veterinary Technicians (RVT) and lay persons with and
without the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian, as
well as clearly stating the ultimate responsibility the licensed
veterinarian has for the proper diagnosis and treatment of the
animal. Under current rules, there are very few tasks that can
be performed by RVTs and/or lay persons without a licensed
veterinarian on the premises. The proposed rule is intended to
provide more flexibility to veterinarians in providing for care
of animals who are boarded or hospitalized while at the same
time maintaining adequate standards of care.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part LXXXV. Veterinarians

Chapter 7. Veterinary Practice
§700. Definitions

* * *
Boarding Animal— an animal which is being housed at a

veterinary facility and is not actively undergoing diagnosis or
treatment for illness. A boarding animal which becomes ill
while in a veterinary facility ceases to be a boarding animal
under this definition.

* * *
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:1518 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health

and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1328 (October
1993), amended LR 20:1381 (December 1994), LR 24:
§702. Direct Supervision

A. - C. ...
D. A Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT) as defined

in §700 shall perform all tasks or procedures under direct

1. an RVT may perform the duties listed in §702.F.1
without the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian, but
the RVT is required to follow the record keeping requirements
found in §702.F.3; and
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2. an RVT may administer medications and/or Interested parties may submit written comments to Charles
treatments to nonboarding (hospitalized or ill) animals without B. Mann, Executive Director, Board of Veterinary Medicine,
direct supervision by a licensed veterinarian under the 263 Third Street, Suite 104, Baton Rouge, LA 70801.
following conditions: Comments will be accepted through the close of business on

a. the licensed veterinarian must chart the precise February 26, 1998.
treatment plan to be used in the animal's medical record. This A public hearing on the proposed changes will be held on
treatment plan may include oral, topical, and injectable February 26, 1998, at 9 a.m. at the office of the Board of
treatments, including fluid therapy; Veterinary Medicine, 263 Third Street, Suite 104,

b. no diagnostic decisions or treatment changes may Baton Rouge, LA. All interested persons will be afforded an
be made by an RVT; opportunity to submit data, views or arguments, orally or in

c. the licensed veterinarian must personally check the writing at said hearing.
animal and update the treatment plan at least once every 24
hours; Charles B. Mann

d. the licensed veterinarian has the ultimate Executive Director
responsibility for the proper diagnosis and treatment of the
animal, including the work delegated to the RVT;

e. the licensed veterinarian has the responsibility to
verify that any person who is assigned duties under §702 is
legally licensed in Louisiana as an RVT. Failure to verify this
information shall be considered unprofessional conduct within
the meaning of R.S. 37:1526;

f. if the animal's medical condition changes, the
licensed veterinarian must be available for consultation and
reevaluation of the animal. the amendments (estimated $160). The veterinary profession

E. ...
F. A lay person shall perform all tasks or procedures under

direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian under the
following conditions and with the exception described in
§702.F.1:

1. a lay person may administer medications to boarding
animals without direct supervision by a licensed veterinarian
if the medication is directed to be used orally or topically and
if the licensed veterinarian has recorded the exact treatments
to be given in the animal's medical record;

2. when a lay person administers medications to
nonboarding animals under the direct supervision of a licensed
veterinarian, the licensed veterinarian must personally check
the animal and update the treatment plan in the medical record
at least once every 24 hours;

3. when a lay person administers medications, with or
without direct supervision, the lay person shall keep a written
record of all treatments which are performed, and that written
record shall be incorporated into the animal's medical record;

4. the licensed veterinarian has the ultimate
responsibility for the proper diagnosis and treatment of the
animal, including the work delegated to a lay person.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1518 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 8:65
(February 1982), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 (March 1990),
LR 19:1328 (October 1993), LR 24:

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

RULE TITLE: Boarding and Nonboarding Animals
 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no costs or savings to state or local

governmental units, except for those associated with publishing

will be informed of this proposed rule change via the board's
regular newsletter, which is already a budgeted cost of the board.

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or local
governmental units. There will be no revenue impact as no
increase in fees will result from these amendments.

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS
TO DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR
NONGOVERNMENTAL GROUPS (Summary)

Licensed veterinarians, registered veterinary technicians, and
lay persons employed by the veterinarians will be affected by the
proposed action. However, no costs are anticipated to affect
these persons unless a licensed veterinarian chooses to hire a
registered veterinary technician in light of the RVT's
authorization to administer medications and/or treatments to
nonboarding animals without direct supervision under the
conditions prescribed in the amendments. There is no
requirement for a licensed veterinarian to hire an RVT.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No impact on competition and employment is anticipated as
a result of the proposed rule changes, although RVTs may find
some increased employment opportunities because of the
slightly expanded authority these proposed amendments give
them.

Charles B. Mann Richard W. England
Executive Director Assistant to the
9801#017 Legislative Fiscal Officer
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