Notices of Intent

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of the Commissioner

Alternative Livestock—Imported Exotic Deer and Imported
Exotic Antelope, Elk, and Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer
(LAC 7:XX1.1501-1523)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., The Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner proposes
to amend the permanent regulations regulating Alternative
Livestock—Imported Exotic Deer and Imported Antelope, Elk
and Farm Raised White-Tailed Deer. These rules comply with
and are enabled by R.S. 3:3101 et seq.

Thetext of this proposed rule can be viewed in its entirety in
the emergency rule section of this issue of the Louisiana
Register.

All interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rules through June 26, 1998, to Dr. Maxwell Lea, Jr.,
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida
Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. All interested persons
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or
arguments in writing at the address above. No preamble
concerning the proposed rules is available.

Bob Odom
Commissioner

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Alternative Livestock—Imported Exotic
Deer and Imported Exotic Antelope, Elk,
and Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There will be no implementation costs or savings to state or

local governmental units.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry would

establish requirements and feesfor the permitting of commercial
farms raising alternative livestock and farm-raised white-tailed
deer (previously regulated by the Department of Wildlife and
Fisheries). The one-time game breeders permit fee of $75 would
decreaseto $50 and the yearly permit renewal fee of $30 would
increase to $50. Estimating that 25 new farms would be
permitted and 200 permits renewed, state revenues would
increase from $7,875 to $11,250, or $3,375 annually.
Additionally, a $50 harvesting permit fee would have to be paid
by any individuals intending to kill alternative livestock for
purposes other than sending to an approved slaughter facility.
Estimating 400 permits issued times $50 would increase state
revenues by $20,000. Individuals, who harvest these animals,
would have to pay a $5 alternative livestock tag fee for each
animal harvested. Estimating that 600 livestock would be

harvested, state revenue would increase by $3,000. The total
increase in state revenue would be $26,375.

I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY AFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Farmers of alternative livestock would be affected by this rule.
The one time fee for permitting a farm would decrease by $25
under the Department of Agriculture and Forestry. The annual
renewal fee would increase by $20. Individuals owning farms
who harvest aternative livestock for purposes other than selling
to an approved slaughterhouse would have to pay a $50
harvesting permit fee per farm and a $5 alternative livestock tag
fee per animal killed. This would cost this group a total of
$26,375.

All farm-raised, white-tailed deer would have to be
permanently identified by an implanted electronic device
(microchip). The cost to these owners would be approximately
$10 per animal In addition to this method, owners of al other
alternative livestock would have the option of tagging and
tattooing their animals which would cost less than $5.

Owners of dl of these animals would be economically
benefitted by permanent identification in cases of theft or
insuring that the animals purchased are the ones listed on the hill
of sale and health certificate.

Farms that allow on site harvesting of alternative livestock
would benefit economically by charging an average of $3,425
per person. Estimating 40 hunters the first year would increase
their income by $137,000. Additional income would be derived
from conducting tours, allowing photographers to photograph
the animals and allowing the filming of movies.

Louisiana businesses would benefit economically by the
individuals using hotels, restaurants, shops, etc. Louisiana's
economy would also be benefitted by individuals buying and
sdlling an increased number of alternative livestock in the state
and selling to out-of-state buyers.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is estimated that there will be 10 new farms the first year
that would hire three to five additional people creating 30 to 45
new jobsin the state. This number would increase as more farms
become licensed.

Skip Rhorer Richard W. England
Assistant Commissioner Assistant to the
98054048 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of the Commissioner

Brucellosis Vaccination
(LAC 7:XX1.101, 305, 307, 309, and 311)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner proposes
to amend regulations governing livestock auction
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market requirements. These rules comply with and are
enabled by R.S. 3:2093, R.S. 3:2221, and R.S. 3:2228.
No preamble concerning the proposed rules is available.
Title7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXI. Diseases of Animals
Chapter 1. General Provisions
§101. Definitions
* *x %

Brucellosis Test Eligible—all cattle which are one year of
age and older except:

1. steers;

2. spayed heifers;

3. dairy cattle that are official brucellosis calfhood
vaccinates less than 20 months of age which are not parturient
or preparturient (springers);

4. Dbeef cattle that are official brucellosis calfhood
vaccinates less than 24 months of age which are not parturient
or preparturient (springers).

* * %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:2093.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:230 (March 1985),
amended LR 12:289 (May 1980), amended by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 12:498
(August 1986), LR 14:129 (April 1988), LR 15:812 (October 1989),
LR 16:391 (May 1990), LR 17:29 (January 1991), LR 18:840
(August 1992), LR 23:949 (August 1997), amended by the
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner,
LR 24:

Chapter 3. Cattle
§305. Brucellosis Vaccination and Fee

A.-C. ..

D. All heifer calves between 4 and 12 months of age not
vaccinated for brucellosis which are sold through an approved
livestock auction market and are to remain in Louisiana more
than 360 days must be vaccinated with USDA approved
brucellosis vaccine prior to being shipped from said approved
livestock auction market. There shall be afee to be paid by the
buyer of $2 for each heifer calf required to be vaccinated for
brucellosis, which fee shall be known as the brucellosis
vaccination fee. The brucellosis vaccination fee shall be
collected on the date of the sale from the buyer by the approved
livestock auction market and forwarded to the Louisiana
Department of Agriculture and Forestry no later that the 10"
day of the month following the month in which the fee was
collected.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:2221 and R.S. 3:2223.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 15:75
(February 1989), amended LR 22:960 (October 1996), amended by
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the
Commissioner, LR 24:

8307. Livestock Auction Market Reguirements

A.-Ala

b.i. All cattlethat are offered for sale through Louisiana
livestock auction markets, which are brucellosis test eligible,
must be identified by an official back tag; those animals two
years of age or older, shall have this official back tag placed
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immediately behind the shoulder of the animal. The market
shall furnish the Livestock Sanitary Board's official
representative a copy of each check-in slip, showing the name
of the auction market, the date, the name and complete address
of each consignor, and the official back tag numbers applied to
the consignor's livestock. The check-in slip shall be made
available to the Livestock Sanitary Board's official
representative, before the animals can be tested for brucellosis.
ii. Itshal beaviolation of thisregulation for anyone
to consign livestock to a Louisiana livestock auction market
and give aname and address that are not the name and address
of the owner consigning the livestock to the auction market.

Ci.-iv. ...

d. All heifer calves, between 4 and 12 months of age
not vaccinated for brucellosis, which are to remain in
Louisiana more than 30 days must be vaccinated with USDA
approved Brucellosis vaccine prior to being shipped from an
approved livestock auction market. The responsibility for the
brucellosis vaccination of those heifer calves sold through a
Louisianalivestock auction market and remaining in Louisiana
more than 30 days after the sale shall be placed upon the buyer
and the livestock auction market through which said heifer
calvesaresold. Failureto accomplish this vaccination shall be
aviolation of this regulation and violators shall be subject to
penalties which may be imposed by the Louisiana Livestock
Sanitary Board as granted in R.S. 3:2093.

d.i. - g.ii.

AUTHORIgI'Y NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:2093, R.S. 3:2221, and R.S. 3:2228.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:237 (March 1985),
amended LR 11:615 (June 1985), amended LR 12:501 (August
1986), LR 12:598 (September 1986), LR 13:556 (October 1987), LR
14:220 (April 1988), LR 14:695 (October 1988), LR 15:813
(October 1989), LR 17:30 (January 1991), LR 18:837 (August
1992), LR 22:960 (October 1996), amended by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
8§309. Governing the Sale of Cattle in Louisiana by

Livestock Dealers

All cattle which are sold or offered for sale by livestock
dealers must meet the general requirements of 8115 and the
following specific requirements:

A. - 2.biii. ...

3.a. All heifer calves between 4 and 12 months of age
must be vaccinated with USDA approved Brucellosis vaccine
prior to being sold if they are to remain in Louisiana more than
30 days. The responsibility for the brucellosis calfhood
vaccination of those heifer calves sold by a livestock dealer
and remaining in Louisiana more than 30 days after the sale
shall be placed upon the buyer and the livestock dealer through
which said calves are sold. Failure to accomplish this
vaccination shall be aviolation of this regulation and violators
shall be subject to penalties which may be imposed by the
Louisiana Livestock Sanitary Board as granted in R.S. 3:2093.

A.3.b.-B.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:562, R.S. 3:2221 and R.S. 3:2228.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:237



(March 1985), LR 11:651 (June 1985), amended LR 12:502 (August
1986), LR 13:558 (October 1987), LR 14:221 (April 1988), LR
17:31 (January 1991), LR 18:838 (August 1992), LR 22:960

(October 1996), amended by the Department of Agriculture and

Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:

8§311. Governingthe Sale of Purchases, within Louisiana,
of all Livestock not Governed by Other Regulations
(Brucellosis Requirements)

A .

1. Heifer calves 4 to 12 months of age, which are to
remain in Louisiana more than 30 days after being sold must be
vaccinated with USDA approved brucellosis vaccine prior to
being sold.

2.-5. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:2093, R.S. 2221 and R.S. 3:2228.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture, Livestock Sanitary Board, LR 11:238 (March 1985), LR
11:615 (June 1985), amended 12:502 (August 1986), LR 13:559
(October 1987), LR 17:31 (January 1991), LR 18:837 (August
1992), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry,
Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:

All interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rules through June 26, 1998, to Dr. Maxwell Lea, Jr.,
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida
Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. All interested persons
will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views or
arguments in writing at the address above.

Bob Odom
Commissioner

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Brucellosis Vaccination

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Currently, there are about 98,000 calves vaccinated yearly at
Louisiana livestock auctions. These vaccinations cost the state
about $39,200 a year ($.40 per calf). Under the proposed rule
there will be a 90 percent reduction in vaccinations. About
9,800 calves will be vaccinated at a cost of $3,920. This results
in an estimated reduction of costs of $35,280 to state
governmental units.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There is a $2 per calf fee charged for vaccinations at the
livestock auctions. Of this fee, $.25 is collected by the state.
Dueto the 90 percent reduction in vaccinations, there will be a
decrease in revenues of $22,050.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Louisiana cattle producers selling nonvaccinated calves at
livestock auction markets will benefit by this rule change
because they will no longer haveto pay a $2 per head fee to have
their calves vaccinated against brucellosis. It is estimated
98,000 calves per year are vaccinated saving this group
$196,000 per year.

Louisiana cattle producers buying nonvaccinated calves at
livestock auction markets to take back to a Louisiana farm will
be adversely affected by this rule change. Approximately 90
percent of the calves sold at Louisiana auction markets move
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directly out of state. The 10 percent returning to Louisiana farms will
need to be vaccinated to protect them against this devastating disease.
Producers who buy these calvesto take back to farms will have to pay
a vaccination fee of $2 per head for atotal cost of $19,600. The
accredited veterinarians who vaccinate calves at auction markets will
be adversely affected because they will be vaccinating 90 percent
fewer calves. The veterinarians receive a $1.75 per head of the fee
charged, thus decreasing their revenues by $154,350.
IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
It is estimated that the proposed action will have no impact on
competition or employment in the public or private sectors.

Skip Rhorer Richard W. England
Assistant Commissioner Assistant to the
98054049 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of the Commissioner

Forestry Productivity Program
(LAC 7:XXXIX.Chapter 13)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner proposes
to adopt regulations governing the Louisiana Forestry
Productivity Program, enacted by Act 1377 of 1997. These
rules comply with and are enabled by R.S. 3:3101 et seq.

No preamble concerning the proposed rules is available.

Title7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXXIX. Forestry
Chapter 13. Forestry Productivity Program
§1301. Authority

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry adopts the
following regulations under the authority of R.S. 3:4413 for the
purpose of implementing the provisions of R.S. 3:4410 - 4416,
the Louisiana Forestry Productivity Program, enacted by Act
1377 of 1997.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1303. Definitions

The terms defined in this Section have the meanings given
to them herein, for purposes of these regulations, except where
the context expressly indicates otherwise.

Approved Forestry Practice—aforestry practice approved
by the Department, for which the landowner is authorized to
receive reimbursement under the cooperative agreement.

Commissioner—commissioner of the Louisiana
Department of Agriculture and Forestry.

Cooperative Agreement—the written and signed contract
including all other documents made a part of the agreement or
incorporated by reference between the Department and a
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landowner, together with any written and signed amendments
or addendums to the original cooperative agreement,
establishing the terms of the agreement between the
Department and the landowner under the Louisiana Forestry
Productivity Program.

Department—the Louisiana Department of Agriculture
and Forestry, Office of Forestry.

Forestry Practice—any procedure or method used in the
establishment and management of timber species.

Fund—the Forestry Productivity Fund established at
R.S. 3: 4411.B.

Landowner—any individual, corporation, partnership,
association, trust, joint venture, other legal entity or
combination thereof who owns five contiguous acres or more
of land located in Louisiana. For purposes of these regulations
a joint ownership of property is considered to be one
landowner separate and apart from the individuals or entities
who own the property jointly.

Program—the Forestry Productivity Program authorized
by R.S. 3:4410- 4416.

Sate—collectively, the State of Louisiana, the Department
of Agriculture and Forestry, the State Forestry Commission
and the Commissioner of Agriculture and Forestry.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1305. Application and Fee

A. Anylandowner desiring to apply for participation in this
program must first submit an application to the Department on
aform supplied by the Department.

B. Each landowner submitting an application must also
submit a $25 nonrefundable application fee at the time the
landowner's application is initially submitted to the
Department.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1307. Extent of State Participation

A. Financial assistance by the state to any one landowner
participating in this program shall be limited to atotal value of
ten thousand dollars during afiscal year.

B. The state’s participation under any cooperative
agreement shall be limited to either or both of the following
types of assistance:

1. a direct grant, for the purpose of assisting the
landowner in implementing an approved forestry practice
authorized by a cooperative agreement through the use of the
landowner’ s resources or through the landowner’s contacts
with private firms; or

2. utilization of the state’s personnel, equipment, or
materials to implement an approved forestry practice
authorized by a cooperative agreement, if private sector
services are unavailable.

C. Adirect grant shall not exceed 50 percent of the cost of
implementing the cooperative agreement or the maximum cost
sharerates established by these regulations, whichever is less.
In the event that state personnel, equipment or materials are

Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 5 May 20, 1998

utilized to implement an approved forestry practice the
landowner shall be invoiced by the Department for the cost of
implementing the forestry practice. The landowner shall
promptly pay such invoice and may subsequently submit the
paid invoice for reimbursement under this program and these
rules and regulations.

D. The maximum cost share rates are established as
follows:

MAXIMUM COST-SHARE RATES—50 per cent
of the cost not to exceed the following rates.

FPP1 ARTIFICIAL REGENERATION COMPONENT

Code (Tree Planting) Maximum
C/S Rate
01 Pine (loblolly or slash, planting and seedling $40/acre
cost)
02 Hardwood (planting and seedling cost) $70/acre
03 Labor Only (pine or hardwood) $23/acre
04 Longleaf Pine (planting and seedling cost $65/acre
Direct Seeding
05 Pine (seed and labor cost) $12/acre
06 Hardwood (seed and labor cost) $28/acre
Site Preparation
11 Light (discing, mowing, or sub-soiling $10/acre
12 Burn Only (cut-over areas or agricultural $8/acre
lands)
13 Chemical and Burn (aerial, ground, or $60/acre
injection)
14 Mechanical and Burn $60/acre
15 Post-site Preparation (aerial, ground, or $45/acre

injection)

FPP2 SITE PREPARATION FOR NATURAL REGENERATION

21 Burning Only $8/acre
22 Chemical or Mechanical $45/acre
23 Chemical and Burning $60/acre
FPP3 CONTROL OF COMPETING VEGETATION
31 Chemical Release (aerial, ground, or $45/acre
injection)
32 Precommercial Thinning (mechanical) $41/acre
33 Burning Only (longleaf pine) $4/acre

SITE PREPARATION FOR NATURAL REGENERATION

Burning Only $8/acre
Chemical or Mechanical $45/acre
Chemical and Burning $60/acre




CONTROL OF COMPETING VEGETATION
Chemical Release (aerial, ground, or $45/acre
injection)
Precommercial Thinning (mechanical) $41/acre
Burning Only (longleaf pine) $4/acre

E. The commissioner, with the advice of the State
Forester’ s Forestry Planning Committee, shall review annually
the cost share rates established in this Section and determine
if any of the rates require adjustment.

F. The state shall not provide reimbursement under this
program for any forestry practice implemented by a landowner
unless a cooperative agreement is on file with the department
prior to implementation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4412 and R.S. 3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1309. Land and LandownersEligibility, Exclusions and

Limitations

A. Anylandowner owning five contiguous acres or morein
Louisiana suitable for growing atimber species approved by
the Department is eligible for participation in this program
unless excluded by these regulations or otherwise excluded by
law.

B. Thefollowing landowners are not eligible to participate
in this program:

1. landownersowning less than five contiguous acres of
land;

2. public utilities companies;

3. landowners engaged in the manufacturing or
production of forestry products;

4. any federal, state, or loca government agency or
political subdivision;

5. corporations with publicly traded stock;

6. any landowner with joint ownership in an eligible
tract of land unless all joint owners and usufructaries or duly
authorized agent or agents, if any, sign the cooperative
agreement;

7. any entity, other than anatural person, including but
not limited to trusts, joint ventures, partnership, limited
liability companies or successions, which have a set legal
existence of less than ten years unless all persons or legal
entities who would, by law, be entitled to receive title to the
land upon dissolution of the entity sign the cooperative
agreement.

C. Thefollowing landsarenot eligible to participate in this
program:

1. any tract of land that is less than five contiguous
acres; 2. lands owned by any landowner not eligible for
participation;

3. land subject, at the time of application, to a
reforestation contract with any federal, state or local
government agency or under a private reforestation program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:44413 and R.S. 3:4414.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
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§1311. Obligations of the Landowner

A. Thelandowner shall abide by the provision of the law
establishing this program, these regulations, and the
cooperative agreement.

B. The landowner shall maintain the land subject to the
cooperative agreement in forestry usage in accordance with the
cooperative agreement for a period of at least ten years from
the date the Department issues a certification of performance
of the terms of the cooperative agreement.

C. Thelandowner shall not sell, convey, or otherwise lose
control of land subject to a cooperative agreement under this
program without placing a provision in the act transferring the
land requiring the new landowner to assume responsibility for
abiding by the terms of the cooperative agreement and to
mai ntain the approved forestry practices for the life of the
cooperative agreement.

D. Thelandowner shall reimburse the department the cost
of the state' s involvement in the cooperative agreement plus
court costs and reasonable attorney fees if the landowner
violates thelaw establishing the program, these regulations or
the cooperative agreement.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1313. Approved Forestry Practices

Forestry practices approved by the commissioner for
purposes of this program are:

1. site preparation for reforestation by natural or
artificial means;

2. planting of seeds or seedlings;

3. timber stand improvement through removal of
undesirable vegetation or trees; and

4. post planting procedures that to improve the growth,
productivity, or viability of trees planted under this program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1315. Forestry Practice |mplementation Period

Each landowner shall have eighteen months to complete the
forestry practice or practices authorized by the cooperative
agreement. A landowner may apply, in writing, for an
extension of up to six monthsinwhich to complete the practice
or practices. The department may grant the extension if it
determines that the practice or practices were not completed as
aresult of circumstances beyond the landowner’ s control.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413 and R.S. 3:4415.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1317. Payment by the Department

A. Payment by the department to any landowner under any
cooperative agreement entered into under this program shall be
made by the department only out of monies that are in the fund
at the time payment is due.

B. The department shall make payment under any
cooperative agreement only when:

1. thelandowner has completed, to the department’s
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satisfaction, all forestry practices stated in the cooperative
agreement;

2. thelandowner has complied with al other terms of the
cooperative agreement;

3. thelandowner has submitted invoices paid by him for
all forestry practices authorized by the cooperative agreement.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1319. Repayment by Landownersto the Department

A. The Department may seek repayment from a landowner
when:

1. the landowner has, for any reason, received monies
over and above the amount allowed by law or these
regulations;

2. the landowner has failed to maintain the approved
forestry practices for the life of the cooperative agreement;

3. thelandowner has failed to abide by the terms of the
cooperative agreement;

4. the landowner sells, conveys, or otherwise loses
control of land subject to a cooperative agreement under this
program and the new landowner does not abide by the terms of
the cooperative agreement or does not maintain the approved
forestry practices for the life of the cooperative agreement;

5. the department determines that a landowner has
committed program violations or abuses that require
repayment from the landowner or has violated any of the
provisions of §1311 of these regulations.

B. A landowner may appeal a department’s demand for
repayment of monies paid the landowner under this program by
filing with the Commissioner a written request for an
administrative review by him of the department’ s demand for
repayment. The landowner’s request for an administrative
review must be postmarked within 15 days after the landowner
receives the department’ s demand for repayment. A copy of
the request must also be sent to the state forester who, upon
receipt of the landowner’s request shall forward all of the
department’ s pertinent documentation to the commissioner
with a copy to the landowner.

C. The landowner's request for an administrative
adjudicatory hearing shall contain the following information:

1. the name, address and telephone number of the
landowner and of any party that the landowner believes may be
adversely affected by the commissioner’ s determination;

2. astatement of the facts known to the landowner and
the reasons why he believes that the department is not entitled
to repayment; and

3. acopy of al invoices and documents relating to the
cooperative agreement.

D. The commissioner, upon receipt of all documentation
from the department and the landowner shall either review the
information and make a decision or appoint a hearing officer
to conduct an administrative adjudicatory hearing and submit
areport and recommendation to the Commissioner for afinal
decision. Any administrative adjudicatory hearing shall be
conducted in accordance with the Administrative Procedure
Act.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413 and R.S. 3:4415.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:
§1321. Competitive Research and Cooper ative Extension

Grants

A. A competitive grant process is hereby created, subject
to the following provisions, in order to provide for research
and cooperative extension activities to enhance reforestation,
increase productivity; and to further knowledge regarding the
proper application of forestry principles.

B. Each fiscal year the commissioner shall set aside a
portion of the monies in the fund to be used for competitive
grants.

C. All competitive grants shall be awarded on a matching
fund basis, with no more than 50 percent of the cost of the
program being funded to be paid by the fund.

D. No grant shall be awarded under this program for any
purposes other than research or cooperative extension
activities intended to enhance reforestation, increase
productivity, or to further knowledge regarding the proper
application of forestry principles.

E. All grant proposals must be submitted, in writing, to the
department no later than May 1 of each year. Each grant
proposal must state in detail the purpose, goals, procedures,
completion date and budget of the project as well as any
additional information requested by the department.

F. The commissioner may award grants, no later than
July 1 of each year, if the commission determines that an award
of a grant will fulfill the purposes of the program. Upon the
award of a grant the department and the grant recipient will
enter into a written cooperative agreement detailing the terms
and conditions of the grant.

G. Any grant that is awarded for a project that extends
beyond the fiscal year in which the initial grant award is made
may be renewed for the following fiscal year but any payment
of monies by the department under the extended grant shall be
subject to the availability of grant money in the fund.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:4413 and R.S. 3:4416.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:

All interested persons may submit written comments on the
proposed rules through June 26, 1998, to Don Feduccia,
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida
Boulevard, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70806. All interested
persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit data, views
or arguments in writing at the address above.

Bob Odom
Commissioner

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Forestry Productivity Program

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
The Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry,



Office of Forestry will expend approximately $3,486,865 on the
Forest Productivity Program (FPP) in FY 1998-99. An estimate
of $20,000 of that amount may come from self-generated
revenue directly related to this rule. The remainder is dedicated
revenue from La. R.S. 3:4413. Of the total expenditure amount,
$346,686 isalotted to fund 12 new positions and the remaining
amount isto fund the activities of the FPP. No local government
impact will occur.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Approximately $3,466,865 in dedicated revenue is expected
for the Office of Forestry in FY 98-99, with an additional
$20,000 in self-generated revenue for the agency. The monies
collected in dedicated revenue are expected to increase in
subsequent fiscal years. Nolocal government impact will occur.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY AFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

The FPP will provide approximately $3,140,179 the first year
in state cost-share assistance to forest landowners for the
purpose of reforestationin Louisiana. Those funds will be spent
with forestry service providers including tree nurseries, tree
planters, site preparation vendors, and other providers of goods
and services related to reforestation.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This program will result in a very significant increase in
reforestation activity in Louisiana. A host of private sector
businesses will benefit from the FPP due to the increase in
reforestation activities. Specific areas of increase will be tree
seedling sales, tree planting services, site preparation services,
and other associated business activities which support
reforestation efforts. There will be a smaller public sector
impact within the Office of Forestry where tree seedling demand
will increase, and some site preparation activities, such as
prescribed burning will also increase.

Skip Rhorer
Assistant Commissioner
9805#047

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Coupled Entries; Fields (LAC 35:X111.11113)

The Louisiana State Racing Commission hereby gives notice
that it intendsto repeal LAC 35:X111.11113 “ Coupled Entries;
Fields’ to eliminate the prohibition of coupled entries and
fieldsin trifecta races.

Title 35
HORSE RACING
Part X111. Wagering
Chapter 111. Trifecta
§11113. Coupled Entries; Fields

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:149, R.S.4:149.1 and R.S.4:149.2.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 11:616 (June 1985), repealed
by the Department of Economic Development, Racing Commission,
LR 24:

The domicile office of the Louisiana State Racing
Commission is open from 8AM to 4PM and interested parties
may contact Paul D. Burgess, executive director; C. A. Rieger,
assistant director; or Tom Trenchard, administrative manager,
at (504) 483-4000 (FAx 483-4898), holidays and weekends
excluded, for more information.

All interested persons may submit written comments relative
to this proposed rule through June 6, 1998, to 320 North
Carrollton Avenue, Suite 2-B, New Orleans, Louisiana 70119-
5100.

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Coupled Entries; Fields

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no costs to implement this action.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
This action is not anticipated to affect revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY AFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL

GROUPS (Summary)

This action benefits patrons and horsemen by no longer
prohibiting coupled entries and fields in races with trifecta
wagering.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This action has no effect on competition nor employment.

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director
9805#054

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 904—Guidelines for the Submission
of a Charter School Proposal (LAC 28:1.904)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seg., the Administrative
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education adopted Bulletin 904,
Guidelines for the Submission of a Charter School Proposal .
The bulletin contains regul ations and guidelines pertaining to
the submission of Type 2 and Type 4 Charter School
Proposals. The guidelines describe the educational program;
financial component; eligibility criteria; application
requirements; and, the application review and approval
process. The Louisiana Administrative Code will be amended
to include LAC 28:1.904 as follows:
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Title 28
EDUCATION
Part |. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations
8904. Guidelinesfor Submission of a Charter School
Proposal

A. Bulletin 904, Guidelines for Submission of a Charter
School Proposal, is adopted.

B. This Bulletin contains regulations and guidelines
pertaining to the submission of Type 2 and Type 4 charter
school proposals. It includes guidelines for describing the
educational program and financial component of the proposed
charter school. Also included are eligibility criteria,
application requirements, and the application review and
approval process. These guidelines comply with Louisiana's
revised Charter Schools Demonstration Program Law, Act 477
of 1997, which isincluded in the guidelines.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3971-3973, 3981-3983, 3991-3993, 3995-3999, and 4001; and
R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(b).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education, LR 24:

Copies of the Guidelines for the Submission of a Charter
School Proposal, Bulletin 904, may be seen in its entirety at
the Office of the State Register, 900 Riverside North, Baton
Rouge, or at the office of the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education, 626 North Fourth Street, Room 104,
Baton Rouge, LA.

Interested persons may submit written comments until
4:30 p.m., July 10, 1998 to Jeannie Stokes, Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, Box 94064, Capitol
Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064.

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Bulletin 904—Guidelines for
the Submission of a Charter School Proposal

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

BESE's estimated cost for printing this policy change and first
page of the fiscal and economic impact statement in the
Louisiana Register is approximately $40. Funds are available.

Costs associated with the implementation of Act 477 of 1997
are dependent upon the number of charters granted in each fiscal
year. Type 2 Charter Schools will cause an increase in state
expenditures asthe state will fund both the state and local share
of costs for students. As per the FY 97-98 MFP Budget Letter,
the state cost per student is $2,730, while the local cost is
$1,824. Also, the number of non-public school students
transferring into charter schools will determine any additional
increases in state expenditures.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Act 477 of 1997 states that the monies in the Charter School
Start-Up Loan Fund shall be invested by the state treasurer and
interest earned shall be credited to the fund. The fund currently
totals $3 million, while the appropriation from this fund for FY
97-98 is $1.3 million. Revenues generated will be dependent
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upon both the amount available from the fund for investment
and market conditions.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Students attending these charter schools are expected to
benefit from aless structured learning environment. As many of
these schools will be directed toward at-risk children, there will
beincreased instructional flexibility to deal with problems which
are not typical to mainstream students.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

Charter schools could attract a number of teachers from the
local school systems because the law requires that 75 percent of
the charter school teachers must be certified. Also, the law
allows these teachers to leave the local system for up to three
years with the ability to then return to their previous school.
These factors could potentially combine to create teacher
shortages in some local school systems.

Weegie Peabody
Executive Director
9805#043

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Emissions (LAC 33:111.5116, 5122, and 5311)(AQ174*)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Regulatory Division
Regulations, LAC 33:111.5116, 5122, and 5311 (AQ174*).

Thisproposed rule isidentical to afederal regulation found
in 40 CFR part 61, subparts L, N, O, and P; 40 CFR part 63,
subparts L and EE; 62 FR 37720 (subparts U & JJJ)
July 15, 1997, Number 135; 62 FR 42918 (subpart N)
August 11, 1997, Number 154; 62 FR 52382 (subpart LL)
October 7, 1997, Number 194; and 62 FR 64736 (subpart O)
December 9, 1997, Number 236, which is applicable in
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal
requirement, contact the Investigations and Regulation
Development Division at the address or phone number given
below. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the
proposed rule; therefore, the rule will be promulgated in
accordance with R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4).

This proposed rule incorporates by reference, into
LAC 33:111.Chapters 51 and 53, additional federal regulations
in 40 CFR parts 61 and 63, National Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP). These changes will
expedite both the EPA approval process and the state
implementation of delegation of authority. Authorization for
EPA to delegate authority of that program to the state is
established in the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990, section
112. This rulemaking is applicable to stationary sources



statewide. The state has received delegation of authority from
EPA to implement NESHAP by "straight" delegation, which
requiresthe state to incorporate into their regulations, rules as
promulgated by EPA without change. Louisiana incorporated
certain  NESHAP  regulations by reference on
January 20, 1997. In agreement with the revised delegated
authority mechanism and with EPA grant objectives, the
department is now incorporating additional NESHAP
regulations by reference. The basis and rationale for this
proposed rule are to mirror the federal regulations. If the rule
is not adopted, it would be a hindrance to Louisiana's authority
to implement the NESHAP Program. Louisiana would also fail
to meet its 1997/98 EPA grant objectives related to this
proposed rule and to delegation revisions.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019 (D) (3) and R.S. 49:953 (G) (3); therefore, no

report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.
Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I11. Air

Chapter 51. Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant
Emission Control Program

Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR

Part 61 (National Emission Standards

for Hazardous Air Pollutants)

§5116. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 61
(National Emission Standards for Hazardous
Air Pollutants)

A. Except asmodified in this Section and specified below,
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
published in the Code of Federal Regulations at 40 CFR part
61, revised as of July 1, 1997, and specifically listed in the
following table are hereby incorporated by reference as they
apply to sources in the State of Louisiana.

Subchapter B.

40 CFR 61 | Subpart/Appendix Heading

* kK

[See Prior text in Subpart A-J]

Subpart L National Emission Standard for Benzene Emissions from

Coke By-Product Recovery Plants

Subpart N National Emission Standard for Inorganic Arsenic

Emissions from Glass Manufacturing Plants

Subpart O National Emission Standard for Inorganic Arsenic

Emissions from Primary Copper Smelters

Subpart P National Emission Standard for Inorganic Arsenic
Emissions from Arsenic Trioxide and Metallic Arsenic

Production Facilities

* kK

[See Prior Text in Subpart V-Appendix C]

B. Corrective changes are made to 40 CFR part 61 subpart
A, section 61.04(b)(T), to read as follows: State of Louisiana:
Air Toxics Section Program Manager, Air Quality Regulatory
Division, Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality,
Box 82135, Baton Rouge, LA 70884-2135.
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C. Copies of documents incorporated by reference in this
Chapter are available for review at the Air Quality Division
Information Center, Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality, or may be obtained from the Superintendent of
Documents, U.S. Government Printing Office, Washington,
D.C. 20242.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997), LR
23:1658 (December 1997), amended LR 24:

Subchapter C. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR
Part 63 (National Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories) asit Appliesto M ajor
Sour ces
§5122. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63
(National Standardsfor Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories) asit Applies
to Major Sources

A. Except asmodified in this Section and specified below,
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for
Source Categories published in the Code of Federal
Regulations at 40 CFR part 63, revised as of July 1, 1997, and
specifically listed in the following table are hereby
incorporated by reference asthey apply to major sources in the
State of Louisiana.

40 CFR 63 | Subpart/Appendix Heading

* kK

[See Prior Text in Subpart A-1]

Subpart L | National Emission Standards for Coke Oven Batteries

* kK

[See Prior Text in M-DD]

Subpart EE | National Emission Standards for Magnetic Tape

Manufacturing Operations

* kK

[See Prior Text in Subpart GG-Appendix D]

B. Except as modified in this Section and specified below,
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for
Source Categories published in the Federal Register as
promulgated from July 2, 1997, through December 31, 1997,
and specifically listed in the following table are hereby
incorporated by reference asthey apply to major sources in the
State of Louisiana.

Federal
40 CFR A Date . .
63 Regl;ter Promulgated Subpart/Appendix Heading
Citation
Subpart 62 FR August 11, National Emission Standards
N 42918 1997 for Chromium Emissions from

Hard and Decorative
Chromium Electroplating and
Chromium Anodizing Tanks
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Subpart 62 FR
O 64736

National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutants
for Ethylene Oxide
Commercial Sterilization and
Fumigation Operations

December 9,
1997

Subpart 62 FR
U 37720

July 15, 1997 National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutant
Emissions: Group | Polymers

and Resins

62 FR
52383

National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutants
for Source Categories;
National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutants
for Primary Aluminum
Reduction Plants

Subpart
LL

October 7,
1997

62 FR
37720

National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutant
Emissions: Group IV Polymers
and Resins

Subpart
JA

July 15, 1997

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997), amended
LR 23:1659 (December 1997), LR 24:

Chapter 53. Area Sources of Toxic Air Pollutants
Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR
Part 63 (National Emission Standards
for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories) asit Appliesto Area
Sour ces
§5311. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63
(National Emission Standardsfor Hazardous
Air Pollutants for Source Categories) as it
Appliesto Area Sour ces

Except as modified in this Section and specified below,
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for
Source Categories published in the Code of Federal
Regulations at 40 CFR part 63, revised as of July 1, 1997, and
specifically listed in the following table are hereby
incorporated by reference as they apply to area sources in the
State of Louisiana.

40 CFR 63 Subpart/Appendix Heading
Subpart A General Provisions
Subpart M National Perchloroethylene Air Emission Standards
for Dry Cleaning Facilities
Subpart X National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants From Secondary Lead Smelting

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:63 (January 1997), amended
LR 23:1660 (December 1997), LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 1998, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
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persons areinvited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ174*. Such
comments must be received no later than June 24, 1998, at
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations
and Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton
Rouge, LA 70884 or to Fax (504) 765-0486. The comment
period for this rule ends on the same date as the public hearing.
Copies of this proposed regulation can be purchased at the
above referenced address. Contact the Investigations and
Regulation Development Division at (504) 765-0399 for
pricing information. Check or money order is required in
advance for each copy of AQ174*.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 am. until 4:30 p.m.:

7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/ol aeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen

Assistant Secretary
9805#042

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Federal Transportation Conformity
(LAC 33:111.Chapter 14)(AQ172*)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division Regulations,
LAC 33:111.Chapter 14.Subchapter B (AQ172*).

Thisproposed rule isidentical to afederal regulation found
in 40 CFR part 63, subpart A as amended in 62 FR
43802-43818, August 15, 1997, Number 158, which is
applicable in Louisiana. For more information regarding the
federal requirement, contact the Investigations and Regulation
Development Division at the address or phone number given
below. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the
proposed rule; therefore, the rule will be promulgated in
accordance with R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4).

The proposed rule repeals the existing state transportation
conformity rule with the exception of two sections. The rule
incorporates by reference the federal requirements established
in 40 CFR part 93, subpart A, that transportation plans,



programs, and projects which are developed, funded, or
approved under Title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Act
conform to state or federal implementation plans. The stateis
required to submit a State Implementation Plan (SIP) revision
to EPA that includes an enforceable transportation conformity
rule. Promulgation of this rule will enable the state to submit
the required transportation conformity SIP. The basis and
rationale for this proposed rule are to mirror the amendments
to thefederal transportation conformity regulations published
on August 15, 1997 in 62 FR 43802-43818.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019 (D) (3) and R.S. 49:953 (G) (3); therefore, no

report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.
Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I11. Air

Chapter 14. Conformity

Subchapter B. Conformity to State or Federal
Implementation Plans of
Transportation Plans, Programs, and
Proj ects Developed, Funded, or
Approved Under Title23 U.S.C. or the
Federal Transit Act

LAC 33:ll1.Chapter 14.Subchapter B is hereby repealed
with the exception of LAC 33:111.1431. In addition, §1441 is
being renumbered to §1434.

81432. Incorporation by Reference

40 CFR part 93, subpart A, sections 101-123 found in the
Federal Register, volume 62, No. 158, August 15, 1997,
pages 43802-43818 are hereby incorporated by reference with
the exclusion of sections 102(d) and 105.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 24:

§1433. Definitions

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1434. Consultation (Previously §1441)
* * %
[See Prior Text in A-E]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repromulgated LR 24:

§1435. Applicability

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:
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§1437. Priority

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81439. Frequency of Conformity Determinations

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1441. Consultation—moved to §1434

8§1443. Content of Transportation Plans

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

8§1445. Relationship of Transportation Plan and TIP
Conformity with the NEPA Process

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81447. Fiscal Constraintsfor Transportation Plans and
TIPs

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81449. Criteria and Procedures for Determining
Conformity of Transportation Plans, Programs,
and Projects: General

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1451. Criteria and Procedures:
Assumptions

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

Latest Planning
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8§1453. Criteriaand Procedures: Latest Emissions M odel

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1455. Criteria and Procedures: Consultation

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81457. Criteriaand Procedures: Timely Implementation
of TCMs

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1459. Criteria and Procedures: Currently Conforming
Transportation Plan and TIP

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81461. Criteria and Procedures: Projects from a Plan
and TIP

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81463. Criteriaand Procedures: Localized CO and PM 4,
Violations (Hot-Spots)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81465. Criteria and Procedures: Compliance with PM 4
Control M easures

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:
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81467. Criteria and Procedures: Motor Vehicle
Emissions Budget (Transportation Plan)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81469. Criteria and Procedures: Motor
Emissions Budget(s) (TIP)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81471. Criteria and Procedures: Motor Vehicle
Emissions Budget (Project not from a Plan and
TIP)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81473. Criteriaand Procedures: Localized CO Violations
(Hot-Spots) in the Interim Period

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81475. Criteria and Procedures:
Reductions in  Ozone
(Transportation Plan)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81477. Criteria and Procedures: Interim Period
Reductionsin Ozone and CO Areas (TIP)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81479. Criteria and Procedures: Interim Period
Reductionsfor Ozone and CO Areas (Project not
From a Plan and TIP)

Repeal ed.

Vehicle

Interim Period
and CO Areas



AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81481. Criteria and Procedures: Interim Period

Reductions for PM,, and NO, Areas
(Transportation Plan)
Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81483. Criteria and Procedures: Interim Period
Reductionsfor PM ;;and NO, Areas (TIP)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81485. Criteria and Procedures: Interim Period
Reductions for PM ;; and NO, Areas (Project not
from a Plan and TIP)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1487. Transition from thelnterim Period to the Control
Strategy Period

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1489. Reguirements for Adoption or Approval of
Projects by Recipients of Funds Designated
Under Title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Act

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

8§1491. Procedures  for Determining
Transportation-Related Emissions

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

Regional
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81493. Procedures for Determining Localized CO and
PM ,, Concentrations (Hot-Spot Analysis)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

8§1495. UsingtheMotor Vehicle Emissions Budget in the
Applicable Implementation Plan (or
Implementation Plan Submission)

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81496. Enforceability of Design Concept and Scope and
Project-Level Mitigation and Control M easures

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1497. Exempt Projects

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

§1498. Projects Exempt
Analysis

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

81499. Special Provisions for Nonattainment Areas
Which are not Required to Demonstrate
Reasonable Further Progress and Attainment

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
repealed LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 1998, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. This hearing
will also be for arevision to the State Implementation Plan
(SIP) toincorporate this proposed rule. Interested persons are
invited to attend and submit oral comments on the proposed
amendments. Should individuals with a disability need an

from Regional Emissions
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accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy Deaville
at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ172*. Such
comments must be received no later than June 24, 1998, at
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations
and Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton
Rouge, LA 70884 or to Fax (504) 765-0486. The comment
period for this rule ends on the same date as the public hearing.
Copies of this proposed regulation can be purchased at the
above referenced address. Contact the Investigations and
Regulation Development Division at (504) 765-0399 for
pricing information. Check or money order is required in
advance for each copy of AQ172*.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 am. until 4:30 p.m.:

7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-First Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/ol aeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen

Assistant Secretary
9805#039

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Federal Transportation Conformity
(LAC 33:111.1431 and 1441)(AQ173)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division regulations,
LAC 33:111.1431 and 1441 (AQ173).

This proposed rule establishes policy, criteria, and
procedures for demonstrating and assuring conformity of
transportation plans, programs, and projects that are
developed, funded, or approved by the U.S. Department of
Transportation and by Metropolitan Planning Organizations
under Title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Act of state or
federal air quality implementaion plans developed in
accordance with section 110 and part D of the Clean Air
Act. To be consistent with the federal transportation
conformity regulations, LAC 33:111.1431 and 1441 are being
amended. The proposed rule amends the interagency
consultation process requirements in accordance with the
federal transportation conformity rule that was amended
August 15, 1997. In addition, the proposed rule amends the
public consultation procedures requirements. The federal
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transportation conformity rule has been amended three times.
This proposed rule incorporates the changes. This action is
mandated by section 176(c) of the Clean Air Act, as amended
(42 U.S.C. 7401 et seg.), and the related requirements of 23
U.S.C. 109(j). Federal requirements for transportation
conformity are established in 40 CFR part 63, subpart A and
in 40 CFR 51.390. The basis and rationale for this proposed
rule are to comply with the federal transportation conformity
requirements for states published on August 15, 1997 in 62 FR
43802-43818.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019(D)(3) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no

report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.
Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I11. Air

Chapter 14. Conformity

Subchapter B. Conformity to Stateor Federal
I mplementation Plans of Transportation
Plans, Programs, and Projects Developed,
Funded, or Approved Under Title23
U.SC. or theFederal Transt Laws

§1431. Purpose

The purpose of this regulation is to implement section
176(c) of the Clean Air Act (CAA), as amended (42 U.S.C.
7401 et seq.), the related requirements of 23 U.S.C. 109(j),
and regulations under 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
part 93, subpart A with respect to the conformity of
transportation plans, programs, and projects that are
developed, funded, or approved by the United States
Department of Transportation (DOT) and by metropolitan
planning organizations (MPOSs) or other recipients of funds
under title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Laws (49 U.S.C
1601 et seq.). This regulation sets forth policy, criteria, and
procedures for demonstrating and ensuring conformity of such
activities to applicable implementation plans developed
according to section 110 and part D of the CAA.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
amended LR 24:

§1441. Consultation

A. Pursuant to 40 CFR 93.105 interagency consultation
(federal, state, and local) shall be undertaken before making
conformity determinations and before adopting applicable
State Implementation Plan (SIP) revisions.

[See Prior Text in B-B.6.c]

d. FHWA—division administrator or designee;

e. FTA—director, Office of Program Development or
designee;

f. EPA—regional administrator or designee; and

g. local publicly-owned transit agencies—general
manager or designee.

7. Beforeadoption and approval of conformity analyses

prepared for plans, Transportation Improvement Plans (TIPs),
and projects, the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO)



and/or Department of Transportation and Development
(DOTD) shall distribute a final draft of the documents,
including supporting technical materials, to the consulting
agencies for review and comments. Lead agencies shall
respond to significant comments made by the consulting
agencieson plans, TIPs, projects, or SIPs in writing within 30
working days. Comments and responses to comments shall be
distributed for review by all agencies identified in Subsection
B.2 of this Section. Following resolution of all significant
issues, final documents shall be revised accordingly and
submitted to the designated lead agency for formal adoption
and approval.

* * %
[See Prior Text in B.8-C.1.b]

c. the MPO shall submit alist of exempt projects to
agencies specified in Subsection B.2 of this Section to evaluate
whether projects otherwise exempted from meeting the
reguirements of 40 CFR part 93, subpart A (see sections 126
and 127) should be treated as nonexempt in cases where
potential adverse emissions impacts may exist for any reason.
The MPO shall allow 30 days for comments;

d. theMPO and/or DOTD, in cooperation with DEQ,
shall make a determination, as required by 40 CFR
93.113(c)(1), whether past obstacles to implementation of
TCMs that are behind the schedule established in the
applicable implementation plan have been identified and are
being overcome and whether state and local agencies with
influence over approvals or funding for TCMs are giving
highest priority to approval or funding for TCMs. This process
shall also consider whether delays in TCM implementation
necessitate revisions to the applicable implementation plan to
remove TCMs or substitute TCMs or other emission reduction
measures;

e. theMPO and/or DOTD, in cooperation with DEQ,
shall identify, as required by 40 CFR 93.123(b), projects
located at sites in PM,, nonattainment areas that have vehicle
and roadway emission and dispersion characteristics that are
essentialy identical to those at sites which have violations
verified by monitoring and, therefore, require quantitative
PM,, hot-spot analysis;

f. the MPO shall notify the agencies specified in
Subsection B.2 of this Section of transportation plan or TIP
revisions or amendments which merely add or delete exempt
projectslisted in 40 CFR 93.126 or 93.127 and allow a 30-day
comment period; and

g. DOTD, in consultation with applicable agencies
specified in Subsection B.2 of this Section, shall cooperatively
choose the appropriate conformity test(s) and methodologies
for useinisolated rural nonattainment and maintenance areas,
asrequired by 40 CFR 93.109(g)(2)(iii).

* * %
[See Prior Text in C.2]

a. DEQ, in cooperation with the MPO and DOTD,
shall evaluate events that will trigger new conformity
determinations in addition to those triggering events
established in 40 CFR 93.104. DEQ may require a new
conformity determination in the event of any unforeseen
circumstances; and

* * %

[See Prior Text in C.2.b-C.3]
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4. The MPO, in accordance with Subsection B of this
Section and with the cooperation of DOTD and local
transportation agencies and recipients of funds designated
under title 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Laws, shall
coordinate and ensure that plans for construction of regionally
significant projectsthat are not FHWA/FTA projects including
projects for which alternate locations, design concept and
scope, or the no-build option are still being considered, as well
as all those by recipients of funds designated under title 23
U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Laws, are disclosed to the MPO
on aregular basis and ensure that any changes to those plans
are immediately disclosed. The sponsors of non-FHWA/FTA
projects and recipients of funds designated under title 23
U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Laws shall disclose to the MPO
on aregular basis significant projects and their status.

5. TheMPO, in accordance with Subsections B and C.4
of this Section, and other recipients of funds designated under
titte 23 U.S.C. or the Federal Transit Laws, shall cooperatively
assume the location and design concept and scope of projects
that are disclosed to the MPO as required by Subsection C.4 of
this Section, but whose sponsors have not yet decided these
features in sufficient detail to perform the regional emissions
analysis according to the requirements of 40 CFR 93.122.

* *x %
[See Prior Text in C.6-D.4]

E. Public Consultation Procedures. Consistent with the
requirements of 23 CFR 450.316(b), relating to public
involvement, affected agencies making conformity
determinations on transportation plans, programs, and projects
shall establish a proactive public involvement process that
provides opportunity for public review and comment. This
process shall, at aminimum, provide reasonable public access
to technical and policy information considered by the agency
at the beginning of the public comment period and before
taking formal action on conformity determinations for all TPs
and TIPs. Any charges imposed for public inspection and
copying of conformity-related materials shall be consistent
with the fee schedule contained in 49 CFR 7.95. In addition,
any such agency must specifically address in writing any public
comments claiming that known plans for a regionally
significant project that is not receiving FHWA or FTA funding
or approval have not been properly reflected in the emissions
analysis supporting a proposed conformity finding for a
transportation plan or TIP. Any such agency shall also provide
opportunity for public involvement in conformity
determinations for projects where otherwise required by law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1278 (November 1994),
amended LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 1998, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. This hearing
will also be for arevision to the State Implementation Plan
(SIP) toincorporate this proposed rule. Interested persons are
invited to attend and submit oral comments on the proposed
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amendments. Should individuals with a disability need an
accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy Deaville
at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ173. Such comments
must be received no later than July 1, 1998, at 4:30 p.m., and
should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and Regulation
Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA 70884
or to FAX (504) 765-0486. Copies of this proposed regulation
can be purchased at the above referenced address. Contact the
Investigations and Regulation Development Division at (504)
765-0399 for pricing information. Check or money order is
required in advance for each copy of AQ173.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 am. until 4:30 p.m.:

7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/ol aeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Federal Transportation Conformity

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No costs or savings to state or local governmental units are
anticipated as a result of the implementation of this proposed
rule.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Revenue collections of state or local governmental units will
not be affected by this proposed rule.

I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY AFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

The proposed amendment to the rule will result in no
additional estimated economic costs or economic benefits to
directly affected persons or nongovernmental groups.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

Implementation of this proposed rule will not affect
competition and employment in the public and private sectors.

Gus Von Bodungen Richard W. England

Assistant Secretary Assistant to the
98054038 Legislative Fiscal Officer
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

Lead-Based Paint Activities
(LAC 33:111.2801)(AQ140)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seg., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division regulations,
LAC 33:111.2801.B (AQ140).

This proposed rule amends LAC 33:111.2801.B by changing
"individuals" to "persons." The department is seeking
authorization for itslead program from the federal government.
The department believes that making this one word change will
make the state's rule consistent with the intent of the federal
rule and remove an impediment to authorization of the state's
program. The basis and rationale for this proposed rule are to
make the state's rule consistent with the intent of the federal
rule and clarify an area of concern by the Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA) in their review of the state's
authorization package, which was submitted to EPA on March
5, 1998.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019(D)(3) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no
report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I11. Air

Chapter 28. Lead-Based Paint Activities—Recognition,

Accreditation, Licensure, and Standar dsfor

Conducting L ead-Based Paint Activities
§2801. Scope and Applicability

* * %
[See Prior Text in A]

B. ThisChapter appliestoall persons and contractors who
are engaged in lead-based paint activities, as defined in
LAC 33:111.2803, except persons who perform these activities
within residential dwellings that they own, unless the
residential dwelling is occupied by a person or persons other
than the owner or the owner's immediate family while these
activities are being performed, or a child residing in the
building has been identified as having an elevated blood lead
level.

* * %
[See Prior TextinC - G]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054 and R.S. 30:2351 et seq.



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:1662 (December 1997),
amended LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 1998, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
persons areinvited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ140. Such comments
must be received no later than July 1, 1998, at 4:30 p.m., and
should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and Regulation
Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge, LA 70884
or to FAX (504) 765-0486. Copies of this proposed regulation
can be purchased at the above referenced address. Contact the
Investigations and Regulation Development Division at (504)
765-0399 for pricing information. Check or money order is
required in advance for each copy of AQ140.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 am. until 4:30 p.m.:
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/ol aeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen
Assistant Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Lead-Based Paint Activities

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This revision has no implementation costs to state or local
governmental units.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

This revision will have no effects on revenue collections of
state or local governmental units.

I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

This revision will have no costs and/or economic benefits to
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

This revision will have no effect on competition and
employment.

Gus Von Bodungen Richard W. England
Assistant Secretary Assistant to the
98054037 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection
Air Quality Division

New Stationary Sources
(LAC 33:l1l.Chapters 5, 15, 21, 23, 25, and 30)(AQ171*)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Air Quality Division Regulations,
LAC 33:ll1.Chapters 5, 15, 21, 23, 25, and 30 (AQ171*).

Thisproposedrule isidentical to afederal regulation
foundin 40 CFR Part 60, July 1, 1997, which is applicable in
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal
requirement, contact the Investigations and Regulation
Development Division at the address or phone number given
below. No fiscal or economic impact will result from the
proposed rule; therefore, the rule will be promulgated in
accordance with R.S. 49:953(F)(3) and (4).

This proposed rule updates the reference to the Code
of Federal Regulations (CFR) contained in LAC 33:111.Chapter
30 to those regulations published in 40 CFR part 60 in July
1997. This revision clarifies that al 40 CFR part 60
references that appear in LAC 33:111.Chapters 5, 15, 21, 23,
25, and 30 are as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:111.Chapter 30. Areas of state and federal authority
are more clearly defined with this proposed rule. The basis
and rationale for this proposed rule are to update the CFR
reference and clarify the department's authority related to
40 CFR part 60 and proper reporting procedures.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in
R.S. 30:2019(D)(3) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no
report regarding environmental/health benefits and
social/economic costs is required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part I11. Air
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures
§509. Prevention of Significant Deterioration

* *x %
[See Prior Text in A-A.2]
B. Definitions. For the purpose of this Part the terms
below shall have the meaning specified herein as follows:

* * %
[See Prior Text]

Reconstruction—will be presumed to have taken place
where the fixed capital cost of the new component exceeds 50
percent of the fixed capital cost of acomparable entirely new
source. Any final decision as to whether reconstruction has
occurred must be made in accordance with the provisions of 40
CFR 60.15(f).(1)-(3), as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:I11.Chapter 30.

* * %

[See Prior Text in B. Secondary Emissions-S.4]
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR
14:348 (June 1988), LR 16:613 (July 1990), amended by the Office
of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR
17:478 (May 1991), LR 21:170 (February 1995), LR 22:339 (May
1996), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), LR 24:

Chapter 15. Emission Standards for Sulfur Dioxide
§1503. Emission Limitations

As used in this Section a three-hour average means the
average emissions for any three consecutive one-hour periods
(each commencing on the hour), provided that the number of
three-hour periods during which the SO, limitation is exceeded
is not greater than the number of one-hour periods during
which the SO, limitation is exceeded.

A. Sulfuric Acid Plants—New and Existing. The emissions
of sulfur dioxide and acid mist from new sulfuric acid
production units that commence construction or modification
after August 17, 1971, shall be limited to that specified in
40 CFR 60.82 and 60.83, as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:11l.Chapter 30, i.e., 4.0 pounds/ton of 100 percent
H,SO, (2 kilograms/metric ton) and 0.15 pounds/ton of
100 percent H,SO, (.075 kilograms/metric ton) respectively
(three-hour averages). Emissions from existing units shall be
limited as follows: SO,—not more than 2000 ppm by volume
(three-hour average); acid mist—not more than 0.5 pounds/ton
of 100 percent H,SO, (three-hour average).

B. Sulfur Recovery Plants—New and Existing. The
emission of sulfur oxides calculated as sulfur dioxide from a
new sulfur recovery plant that commences construction or
modification after October 4, 1976, shall be limited to that
specified in 40 CFR 60.104(a)(2), as incorporated by
reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter 30. The emission of sulfur
oxides calculated as sulfur dioxide from an existing plant shall
be limited to a sulfur dioxide concentration of not more than
1,300 ppm by volume (three-hour average).

* * %

[See Prior Text in C-Table 4]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and
Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:374 (April 1992),
LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), LR
24:

§1507. Exceptions
A. Start-up Provisions

1. A four-hour (continuous) start-up exemption from the
emission limitations of LAC 33:111.1503.A may be authorized
by the administrative authority for plants not subject to 40 CFR
60.82 and 60.83, as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, that have been shut down. A report, in
writing, explaining the conditions and duration of the start-up
and listing the steps necessary to remedy, prevent, and limit the
excess emission shall be submitted to the administrative
authority within seven calendar days of the occurrence.
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* * %
[See Prior Text in A.2-B]

1. A four-hour (continuous) exemption from emission
limitations of LAC 33:111.1503.A may be extended by the
administrative authority to plants not subject to 40 CFR 60.82
and 60.83, asincorporated by reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter
30, where upsets have caused excessive emissions and on-line
operating changes will eliminate a temporary condition. A
report, in writing, explaining the conditions and duration of the
upset and listing the steps necessary to remedy, prevent, and
limit the excess emission shall be submitted to the
administrative authority within seven calendar days of the
occurrence.

* * %
[See Prior Text in B.2-C]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Department of Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and
Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:375 (April 1992),
LR 23:1678 (December 1997), LR 24:

Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic
Compounds
Subchapter A. General
§2108. Marine Vapor Recovery
* * %
[See Prior Text in A-E.1.b]

2. Vapor processing systems utilizing a flare stack to
destruct the collected VOCs will be exempt from testing and
must be designed and operated in accordance with 40 CFR
60.482-10(d), as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:I11.Chapter 30.

* * %
[See Prior Text in E.3-H.2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 14:704 (October 1988), amended by the
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division,
LR 16:959 (November 1990), LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR
23:1678 (December 1997), LR 24:

§2122. Fugitive Emission Control for  Ozone
Nonattainment Areas
* * %

[See Prior Text in A-A.5]

6. Applicable facilities as defined in Subsection A.1 of
this Section, which are subject to New Source Performance
Standards, 40 CFR 60.480-489 (Subpart VV),60.590-593
(Subpart GGG), 60.630-636 (Subpart KKK), or 61.240-247
(Subpart V), as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, may become exempt from this Section
by:

a. submitting a written notice to the administrative
authority” informing them of the facility's request to become
exempt from this Section and how 40 CFR 60.480-489
(Subpart VV), 60.590-593 (Subpart GGG), 60.630-636
(Subpart KKK), or 61.240-247 (Subpart V), as incorporated
by referencein LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, will be administered to
obtain that exemption;



b. applying 40 CFR 60.480-489 (Subpart VV),
60.590-593 (Subpart GGG), 60.630-636 (Subpart KKK), or
61.240-247 (Subpart V), as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:lll.Chapter 30, to leak limitations specified in
Subsection C.1 of this Section rather than 10,000 ppm as
specified in 40 CFR 60.480-489 (Subpart VV), 60.590-593
(Subpart GGG),60.630-636 (Subpart KKK), or 61.240-247
(Subpart V), as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:I11.Chapter 30;

c. including connectors as leak sources monitored and
repaired using therestrictionsin 40 CFR 60.480-489 (Subpart
VV), 60.590-593 (Subpart GGG), 60.630-636 (Subpart
KKK), or 61.240-247 (Subpart V), as incorporated by
reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, which apply to valves;
and

d. increasing monitoring frequency only when the
leaking sources monitored and repaired using the restrictions
in 40 CFR 60.480-489 (Subpart VV), 60.590-593 (Subpart
GGG), 60.630-636 (Subpart KKK), or 61.240-247 (Subpart
V), as incorporated by reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter 30,
which apply to valves, equal or exceed 2 percent of the valves
monitored at or above 10,000 ppm.

* * %
[See Prior Text in B-C.1.c]

d. Anypump or valvein heavy liquid service observed
leaking by sight, sound, or smell shall be monitored within five
days by the method specified in 40 CFR part 60, appendix A
(Method 21), as incorporated by reference in
LAC 33:111.Chapter 30. If the pump or valve is determined to
be leaking in excess of the applicable limits given in this
Subsection, it shall be repaired according to Subsection C.3 of
this Section.

* * %
[See Prior Text in C.2-G.6]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1102 (October 1994),
repromulgated LR 20:1279 (November 1994), amended LR 22:1129
(November 1996), LR 22:1212 (December 1996), repromulgated LR
23:197 (February 1997), amended LR 23:1678 (December 1997),
LR 24:22 (January 1998), LR 24:

Subchapter B. Organic Solvents
§2123. Organic Solvents
* * %
[See Prior Text in A-E.5]

6. Performance test procedures described in 40 CFR
60.444, as incorporated by reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter
30;

* * %
[See Prior Text in E.7-G. Repair and
Maintenance Thermoplastic Coating]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR
16:119 (February 1990), amended by the Office of Air Quality and
Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:654 (July 1991),
LR 18:1122 (October 1992), LR 22:340 (May 1996), LR 22:1212
(December 1996), LR 23:1678 (December 1997), LR 24:23 (January
1998), LR 24:
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Subchapter J. Limiting Volatile Organic Compound
(VOC) Emissions from Reactor
Processes and Distillation Operationsin
the Synthetic Organic Chemical

M anufacturing Industry (SOCMI)
§2147. Limiting VOC Emissions from SOCM | Reactor

Processes and Distillation Operations

* * %
[See Prior Text in A-D.2]
3. Thefollowing methods in 40 CFR part 60, appendix
A, as incorporated by reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter 30,
shall be used to demonstrate compliance with the emission
limit or percent reduction efficiency requirement listed in
Subsection C.1.a of this Section.

* * %
[See Prior Text in D.3.a-€]

4. When a flare is used to comply with the control
requirements of this Subchapter, the flare shall comply with
the requirements of 40 CFR 60.18, as incorporated by
reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter 30.

* * %
[See Prior Text in D.5-Figure 1]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:380 (April 1995), amended
LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 23:1508 (November 1997), LR
23:1510 (November 1997), LR 23:1679 (December 1997), LR 24:
§2160. Procedures

Thefollowing are Procedures F.1, F.2, G.1, G.2, L, and T to
be used with the test protocols above:

* * %
[See Prior Text in A-A.4.c.i.(d)]

d. Alternative Procedure. The direct interface
sampling and analysis procedure described in 40 CFR part 60,
appendix A, Method 18, 7.2-7.2.5, as incorporated by
referencein LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, may be used to determine
the gas VOC concentration. The system must be designed to
collect and analyze at least one sample every 10 minutes.

* * %
[See Prior Text in A.5-C.4.c.iv]

d. Alternative Procedure. The direct interface
sampling and analysis procedure described in 40 CFR part 60,
appendix A, Method 18, 7.2-7.2.5, as incorporated by
referencein LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, may be used to determine
the gas VOC concentration. The system must be designed to
collect and analyze at least one sample every 10 minutes.

* * %
[See Prior Text in C.5-D.4.c.iv]

d. Alternative Procedure. The direct interface
sampling and analysis procedure described in 40 CFR part 60,
appendix A, Method 18, 7.2-7.2.5, as incorporated by
referencein LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, may be used to determine
the gas VOC concentration. The system must be designed to
collect and analyze at least one sample every 10 minutes.

* * %
[See Prior Text in D.5-F.6.b.iii]
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:653 (July 1991), amended
LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 23:1680 (December 1997), LR
24:

Chapter 23. Control of Emissions for Specific
Industriest

Subchapter D. Nitric Acid Industry
§2307. Emission Standardsfor the Nitric Acid Industry

* * %
[See Prior Text in A-C.1]

a. A four-hour start-up exemption from emission
regulations may be authorized by the administrative authority
for plants not subject to 40 CFR part 60, subpart G, as
incorporated by reference in LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, which
have been shut down. It is recognized that existing nitrogen
oxide abatement equipment is effective only at normal
operating temperatures. This provision allows the necessary
timeto bring up afacility from a cold start to near steady state
condition. A report, in writing, explaining the conditions and
duration of the start-up and listing the steps necessary to
remedy, prevent, and limit the excess emissions, shall be
submitted to the administrative authority within seven calendar
days of the occurrence.

* * %
[See Prior Text in C.1.b-C.2]

a. A four-hour exemption from emission regulations
may be extended by the administrative authority to plants not
subject to 40 CFR part 60, subpart G, as incorporated by
referencein LAC 33:111.Chapter 30, where upsets have caused
excessive emissions and on-line operating changes will
eliminate a temporary condition. A report, in writing,
explaining the conditions and duration of the upset and listing
the steps necessary to remedy, prevent, and limit the excess
emissions shall be submitted to the administrative authority
within seven calendar days of the occurrence.

* * %
[See Prior Text in C.2.b-H.2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy,
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division,
LR 23:1680 (December 1997), LR 24:

Chapter 25. Miscellaneous I ncineration Rules
Subchapter B. Biomedical Waste Incinerators
§2511. Standards of Performance for Biomedical
Waste Incinerators
* * %
[See Prior Text in A-A.2]

B. Definitions. The words and terms used in this
Subchapter are defined in LAC 33:11l.Chapter 51, and
LAC 33:111.111 and 40 CFR 60.2, asincorporated by reference
in LAC 33:lll.Chapter 30, unless otherwise specifically
defined as follows:

* * %
[See Prior Text in B. Antineoplastic Agents-L]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
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Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:1098 (October 1994),
amended LR 21:1081 (October 1995), LR 22:1212 (December
1996), LR 23:1680 (December 1997), LR 24:

Chapter 30. Standards of Performance for New
Stationary Sour ces (NSPS)
Subchapter A. Incorporation by Reference (IBR)
§3003. BR 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part
60

A. Except as modified in this Section, regulations at 40 CFR
part 60 asrevised July 1, 1997, and specified below in Tables
1 and 1.A are hereby incorporated by reference as they apply
to the State of Louisiana.

Table 1. 40 CFR Part 60

40 CFR
Part 60
Subpart

Subpart Heading

* kK

[See Prior Text in A-Ca]

Cb Emissions Guidelines and Compliance Schedules for
Municipal Waste Combustors That Are Constructed on or

Before December 19, 1995

Cc Emission Guidelines and Compliance Times for Municipal

Solid Waste Landfills

Cd Emissions Guidelines and Compliance Times for Sulfuric

Acid Production Units

D Standards of Performance for Fossil-Fuel-Fired Steam
Generators for Which Construction Is Commenced After
August 17, 1971

* kK

[See Prior Text in Da-K]

Ka Standards of Performance for Storage Vessels for
Petroleum Liquids for Which Construction,
Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced After

May 18, 1978, and Prior to July 23, 1984

Kb Standards of Performance for Volatile Organic Liquid
Storage Vessels (Including Petroleum Liquid Storage
Vessels) for Which Construction, Reconstruction, or

Modification Commenced after July 23, 1984

* kK

[See Prior Text in L-M]

N Standards of Performance for Primary Emissions from
Basic Oxygen Process Furnaces for Which Construction is
Commenced After June 11, 1973

* kK

[See Prior Text in Na-X]

Y Standards of Performance for Coal Preparation Plants

* kK

[See Prior Text in Z-LL]

MM Standards of Performance for Automobile and Light-Duty

Truck Surface Coating Operations

* kK

[See Prior Text in NN-SS]

TT Standards of Performance for Metal Coil Surface Coating

* kK

[See Prior Text in UU-MMM]




NNN Standards of Performance for V olatile Organic Compound
(VOC) Emissions From Synthetic Organic Chemical

Manufacturing Industry (SOCMI) Distillation Operations

* kK

[See Prior Text in OOO-WWW]

* *x %
[See Prior Text in Table 1.A. 40 CFR Part 60 Appendices|
B. Final regulations published in the Federal Register on
September 15, 1997, and specified below in Table 2, are
hereby incorporated by reference as they apply to the State of
Louisiana

Table 2. 40 CFR Part 60

40 CFR Federal Date
Part 60 Subpart Register Promulgated
Subpart/ Heading/Appendix Citation
Appendix
Subpart A General Provisions 62 FR September 15,
48379 1997

* kK

[See Prior Text in Subpart Ce-Subpart Ec]

C. Corrective modification and clarification are made as
follows:

1. whenever the referenced regulations (i.e., 40 CFR
part 60) provide authority to “the Administrator,” such
authority in accordance with these regulations shall be
exercised by the assistant secretary of the Office of Air Quality
and Radiation Protection subject to continuing supervision by
the secretary, not withstanding any authority exercised by the
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Reports,
notices, or other documentation required by the referenced
regulations (i.e., 40 CFR part 60) to be provided to “the
Administrator” shall be provided to the Office of Air Quality
and Radiation Protection where the state is designated
authority by EPA as “the Administrator” or shall be provided
to the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection and EPA
where EPA retains authority as “the Administrator”;

2. 40 CFR Part 60 Subpart A, Section 60.4 (b)(T), to
read as follows. State of Louisiana: Program Administrator,
Air Quadlity Division, Louisiana Department of Environmental
Quality, Post Office Box 82135, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
70884-2135; and

3. theavailability to the public of information provided
to or otherwise obtained by the state under this Chapter shall
be governed by LAC 33:1.501-509.

* *x %
[See Prior Text in D]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 22:1212 (December 1996),
amended LR 23:1681 (December 1997), LR 24:

985

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 1998, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326,
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810.
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals
with a disability need an accommodation in order to
participate, contact Patsy Deaville at the address given below
or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by AQ171*. Such
comments must be received no later than June 24, 1998, at
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations
and Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton
Rouge, LA 70884 or to FAx (504) 765-0486. The comment
period for this rule ends on the same date as the public hearing.
Copies of this proposed regulation can be purchased at the
above referenced address. Contact the Investigations and
Regulation Development Division at (504) 765-0399 for
pricing information. Check or money order is required in
advance for each copy of AQ171*.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 am. until 4:30 p.m.:
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-First Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/ol aeregs.htm.

Gus Von Bodungen

Assistant Secretary
9805#040

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Waste Services
Hazardous Waste Division

Universal Waste
(LAC 33:V.105,305,1501,2201 and Chapter 38)
(HWO059)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been
initiated to amend the Hazardous Waste Division regulations,
LAC 33:V.Chapters 1, 3, 15, 22, and 38 (HWO059).

This proposed rule will alow waste antifreeze and
fluorescent lamps to be handled as universal wastes rather than
hazardous wastes. As this change will facilitate recycling,
regulating these items as universal wastes is more cost-
effective and environmentally beneficial. The basis for this
rule is to utilize LAC 33:V.Chapter 38. The rationale is to
improve implementation of the hazardous waste program by
regulating potentially hazardous waste antifreeze and
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fluorescent lamps as universal wastes instead of as hazardous
wastes. Thisisexpected toimprove the management practices
for these wastes by increasing the likelihood that the wastes
will be diverted from nonhazardous and hazardous waste
management systems to recycling.

This proposed rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S.
30:2019 (D) (3) and R.S.49:953 (G) (3); therefore, no report
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic
costsis required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part V. Hazardous Waste and Hazardous M aterials
Subpart 1. Department of Environmental
Quality—Hazardous Waste
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions
§105. Program Scope

These rules and regulations apply to owners and operators
of al facilities that generate, transport, treat, store, or dispose
of hazardous waste, except as specifically provided otherwise
herein. The procedures of these regulations also apply to denial
of apermit for the active life of ahazardous waste management
facility or TSD unit under LAC 33:V.706. Definitions
appropriate to these rules and regulations, including solid
waste and hazardous waste, appear in LAC 33:V.109. Those
wastes which are excluded from regulation are found in this
Section.

* * %

[See Prior Textin A-D.7.8]

pesticides as described in LAC 33:V.3805;
thermostats as described in LAC 33:V.3807;
lamps as described in LAC 33:V.3809; and
antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3811.

* *x %

[See Prior Text in E-N.5]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 (May
1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR
13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 15:181
(March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:217 (March 1990),
LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July
1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:368 (April 1991), LR 17:478
(May 1991), LR 17:883 (September 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992),
LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992),
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 19:1022 (August 1993),
amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous
Waste Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March
1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:813 (September 1996),
LR 22:831 (September 1996), amended by the Office of the
Secretary, LR 23:298 (March 1997), amended by the Office of Solid
And Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:564 (May
1997), LR 23:567 (May 1997), LR 23:721 (June 1997), amended by
the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:952
(August 1997), LR 23:1511 (November 1997), LR 24:298 (February
1998), LR 24:

® oo
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Chapter 3. General Conditionsfor Treatment, Storage,
and Disposal Facility Permits
§305. Scope of the Permit

* % %
[See Prior Textin A-C.11.a]
pesticides as described in LAC 33:V.3805;
thermostats as described in LAC 33:V.3807;
lamps as described in LAC 33:V.3809; and
antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3811.

* * %

PoooT

[See Prior Text in D-G.3]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August
1987), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), LR 17:658
(July 1991), LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October
1994), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 23:567 (May 1997),
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division,
LR 24:
Chapter 15. Treatment, Storage, and Disposal
Facilities
§1501. Applicability

* *x %

[See Prior Text in A-C.11.a]

pesticides as described in LAC 33:V.3805;
thermostats as described in LAC 33:V.3807;
lamps as described in LAC 33:V.3809; and
antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3811.

* *x %

[See Prior Text in D-G]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
18:1256 (November 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944
(September 1995), LR 23:565 (May 1997), LR 23:568 (May 1997),
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division,
LR 24:

Chapter 22. Prohibitionson Land Disposal
Subchapter A. Land Disposal Restrictions
§2201. Purpose, Scope, and Applicability

* * %

Pooo

[See Prior Text in A-1.5.8]
b. pesticides as described in LAC 33:V.3805;
c. thermostats as described in LAC 33:V.3807;
d. lampsas described in LAC 33:V.3809; and
e. antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3811.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 15:378 (May 1989), amended LR
16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:658 (July
1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 22:22



(January 1996), LR 23:568 (May 1997), amended by the Office
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:300
(February 1998), LR 24:
Chapter 38. Universal Wastes
Subchapter A. General
§3801. Scope and Applicability
A. This Chapter establishes requirements for managing
batteries, pesticides, thermostats, lamps, and antifreeze as
described in LAC 33:V.3813. This Chapter provides an
alternative set of management standards in lieu of regulations
under this Subpart.

* * %

[See Prior Textin B - C]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:568 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§3809. Applicability—Lamps

A. Lamps Covered Under this Chapter. The requirements
for this Chapter apply to persons managing lamps as described
in LAC 33:V.3813, except those listed in Subsection B of this
Section.

B. Lamps Not Covered Under this Chapter. The
requirements of this Chapter do not apply to persons managing
the following lamps:

1. lamps that are not yet wastes under LAC
33:V.Chapter 49. Subsection C of this Section describes when
lamps become wastes; and

2. lamps that are not hazardous waste. A lamp is a
hazardous waste if it exhibits one or more of the characteristics
identified in LAC 33:V.4903.

C. Generation of Waste Lamps

1. Thedateaused lamp becomes awaste is the date the
generator permanently removes it from its fixture.

2. Thedate anunused lamp becomes awaste is the date
the generator discards it.

3. A waste lamp is a hazardous waste if it exhibits one
or more of the characteristics identified in LAC 33:V.4903.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:

§3811. Applicability—Antifreeze

A. Antifreeze Covered Under this Chapter.  The
requirements for this Chapter apply to persons managing
antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3813, except those listed
in Subsection B of this Section.

B. Antifreeze Not Covered Under this Chapter. The
requirements of this Chapter do not apply to persons managing
the following antifreeze:

1. antifreeze that is not yet a waste under LAC
33:V.Chapter 49. Subsection C of this Section describes when
antifreeze becomes awaste; and

2. antifreeze that is not yet a hazardous waste.
Antifreeze is a hazardous waste if it exhibits one or more of the
characteristics identified in LAC 33:V.4903.

C. Generation of Waste Antifreeze

1. Used or unused antifreeze becomes a waste on the
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date it is discarded (e.g., when sent for reclamation).

2. Waste antifreeze is a hazardous waste if it exhibits
one or more of the characteristics identified in LAC
33:V.4903.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:

§3813. Definitions

Antifreeze—an ethylene glycol based mixture that lowers the

freezing point of water and is used as an engine coolant.

* * %
[See Prior Text]

Lamp—the bulb or tube portion of a lighting device
specifically designed to produce radiant energy, most often in
the ultraviolet (UV), visible, and infra-red (IR) regions of the
electromagnetic spectrum. Examples of common electric
lampsinclude, but are not limited to, incandescent, fluorescent,
high intensity discharge, and neon lamps.

Large Quantity Handler of Universal Waste—a universal
waste handler (as defined in this Section) who accumulates
5,000 kilograms or more total of universal waste (batteries,
pesticides, thermostats, lamps, or antifreeze, calculated
collectively) at any time. This designation as alarge quantity
handler of universal waste is retained through the end of the
calendar year in which 5,000 kilograms or more total of
universal waste is accumulated.

Mercury-Containing Lamp—an electric lamp in which
mercury is purposely introduced by the manufacturer for the
operation of the lamp.

* *x %
[See Prior Text]

Small Quantity Handler of Universal Waste—a universal
waste handler (as defined in this Section) who does not
accumulate more than 5,000 kilograms total of universal waste
(batteries, pesticides, thermostats, lamps, or antifreeze,
calculated collectively) at any time.

* * %

[See Prior Text]

Universal Waste—any of the following hazardous wastes
that are subject to the universal waste requirements of this
Chapter:

1. Dbatteries as described in LAC 33:V.3803;
2. pesticides as described in LAC 33:V.3805;
3. thermostats as described in LAC 33:V.3807;
4. lamps as described in LAC 33:V.3809; and
5. antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3811.
* *x %
[See Prior Text]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:570 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter B. Standardsfor Small Quantity Handlers

of Universal Waste
§3821. Waste M anagement

* * %

[See Prior Text in A-C.3.b]
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D. Universal Waste Lamps. A small quantity handler of
universal waste must manage universal waste lamps in away
that prevents releases of any universal wastes or a component
of any universal waste to the environment, as follows:

1. a small quantity handler of universal waste must
contain unbroken lamps in packaging that will minimize
breakage during normal handling conditions; and

2. a small quantity handler of universal waste must
contain broken lamps in packaging that will minimize the
releases of lamp fragments and residues.

E. Universal Waste Antifreeze. A small quantity handler
of universal waste must manage universal waste antifreeze in
a way that prevents releases of any universal waste or
component of a universal waste to the environment. The
universal waste antifreeze must be contained in one or more of
the following:

1. acontainer that remains closed, structurally sound,
and compatible with the antifreeze and that lacks evidence of
leakage, spillage, or damage that could cause |eakage under
reasonably foreseeable conditions;

2. acontainer that does not meet the requirements of
Subsection E.1 of this Section, provided that the unacceptable
container is overpacked in a container that does meet the
requirements of Subsection E.1 of this Section;

3. a tank that meets the requirements of LAC
33:V.1915.C; or

4. atransport vehicle or vessel that is closed, structurally
sound, and compatible with the antifreeze and that lacks
evidence of leakage, spillage, or damage that could cause
leakage under reasonably foreseeable conditions.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,

Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:571 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:

§3823. Labeling/Marking

A small quantity handler of universal waste must label or
mark the universal waste to identify the type of universal waste
as specified below:

* * %
[See Prior Text in A.1-4]

5. universal wastelamps (i.e., each lamp), or a container
in which the lamps are contained, must be labeled or marked
clearly with any one of the following phrases: "U niversal
Waste - Lamps," or "Waste Lamps," or "Used Lamps;"

6. universal waste antifreeze, or a container in which the
antifreeze is contained, must be labeled or marked clearly with
any one of the following phrases: "Universal Waste -
Antifreeze," or "Waste Antifreeze," or "Used Antifreeze."

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:572 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter C. Standardsfor Large Quantity Handlers

of Universal Waste
§3841. Notification

* k* %

[See Prior Text in A-B.3]
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4. alist of al of thetypes of universal waste managed by
the handler (e.g, batteries, pesticides, thermostats, lamps,
antifreeze); and

5. astatement indicating that the handler is accumulating
more than 5,000 kilograms of universal waste at one time and
the types of universa waste (e.g, batteries, pesticides,
thermostats, lamps, antifreeze) the handler is accumulating
above this quantity.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:574 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§3843. Waste M anagement

* * %
[See Prior Text in A-C.3.b]

D. Universal Waste Lamps. A large quantity handler of
universal waste must manage universal waste lamps in away
that prevents releases of any universal waste or component of
auniversal waste to the environment, as follows:

1. a large quantity handler of universal waste must
contain unbroken lamps in packaging that will minimize
breakage during normal handling conditions; and

2. a large quantity handler of universal waste must
contain broken lamps in packaging that will minimize the
releases of lamp fragments and residues.

E. Universal Waste Antifreeze. A large quantity handler
of universal waste must manage universal waste antifreeze in
a way that prevents releases of any universal waste or
component of a universal waste to the environment. The
universal waste antifreeze must be contained in one or more of
the following:

1. acontainer that remains closed, structurally sound,
and compatible with the antifreeze and that lacks evidence of
leakage, spillage, or damage that could cause |eakage under
reasonably foreseeable conditions;

2. acontainer that does not meet the requirements of
Subsection E.1 of this Section, provided that the unacceptable
container is overpacked in a container that does meet the
requirements of Subsection E.1 of this Section;

3. a tank that meets the requirements of LAC
33:V.Chapter 19, except for LAC 33:V.1915.C;

4. atransport vehicle or vessel that is closed, structurally
sound, and compatible with the antifreeze and that lacks
evidence of leakage, spillage, or damage that could cause
leakage under reasonably foreseeable conditions.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:574 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§3845. Labeling/Marking

A large quantity handler of universal waste must label or
mark the universal waste to identify the type of universal waste
as specified below:

* * %
[See Prior Text in A.1-4]
5. Universa waste lamps (i.e., each lamp), or a
container in which the lamps are contained, must be labeled or



marked clearly with any one of the following phrases:
"Universal Waste - Lamps," or "Waste Lamps," or "Used
lamps."

6. Universal waste antifreeze, or acontainer in which the
antifreeze is contained, must be labeled or marked clearly with
any one of the following phrases. "Universal Waste -
Antifreeze," or "Waste Antifreeze," or "Used Antifreeze."

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:575 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
§3855. Tracking Universal Waste Shipments

[See Prior Text in A-A.1]

2. the quantity of each type of universal waste received
(e.g., batteries, pesticides, thermostats, lamps, antifreeze); and
[See Prior Textin A.3-B.1]

2. thequantity of each type of universal waste sent (e.g.,
batteries, pesticides, thermostats, lamps, antifreeze); and

* * %
[See Prior Text in B.3-C.2]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:576 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:
Subchapter E. Standardsfor Destination Facilities
§3877. Tracking Universal Waste Shipments

* * %
[See Prior Text in A-A.1]

2. the quantity of each type of universal waste received
(e.g., batteries, pesticides, thermostats, lamps, antifreeze); and
* * %

[See Prior Text in A.3-B]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste,
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 23:578 (May 1997), amended by the
Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:

A public hearing will be held on June 24, 1998, at 1:30 p.m.
in the Maynard Ketcham Building, Room 326, 7290
Bluebonnet Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70810. Interested
persons areinvited to attend and submit oral comments on the
proposed amendments. Should individuals with a disability
need an accommodation in order to participate, contact Patsy
Deaville at the address given below or at (504) 765-0399.

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Commentors should
reference this proposed regulation by HWO059. Such
comments must be received no later than July 1, 1998, at 4:30
p.m., and should be sent to Patsy Deaville, Investigations and
Regulation Development Division, Box 82282, Baton Rouge,
LA 70884 or to Fax (504) 765-0486. Copies of this proposed
regulation can be purchased at the above referenced address.
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You may contact the Investigations and Regulation
Development Division at (504) 765-0399 for pricing
information. Check or money order is required in advance for
each copy of HW059.

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the
following DEQ office locations from 8 am. until 4:30 p.m.:
7290 Bluebonnet Boulevard, Fourth Floor, Baton Rouge, LA
70810; 804 Thirty-first Street, Monroe, LA 71203; State
Office Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA
71101; 3519 Patrick Street, Lake Charles, LA 70605; 3501
Chateau Boulevard, West Wing, Kenner, LA 70065; 100 Asma
Boulevard, Suite 151, Lafayette, LA 70508; or on the Internet
at http://www.deq.state.la.us/olae/irdd/ol aeregs.htm.

H. M. Strong
Assistant Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Universal Waste

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

No significant costs to state or local governments are
anticipated as aresult of the implementation of this rule.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There should be no significant effect on current revenue

collections of state or local governments as aresult of this rule.

I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO

DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Generators of waste fluorescent lamps and antifreeze will
benefit to the extent that they avoid the additional costs of
hazardous waste regulation including fees and the hazardous
waste disposal tax.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

Adoption of this rule will ease the regulatory burden on
industry. Competition will not be significantly affected since al
parties must follow the same rules. Employment in the
regulated industries will not be affected much since, in this case,
the environmental compliance costs are a small part of total
business costs. Employment in the recycling industry will be
stimulated as the proposed rule will encourage recycling.

H.M. Strong
Assistant Secretary
9805#035

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT
Louisiana Lottery Corporation
On-Line Lottery Games (LAC 42:XV.105)
The Louisiana Lottery Corporation in compliance with, and

under authority of R.S. 49:950 et seq., and R.S. 47:9001 et
seq., hereby gives notice of its intent to amend the rules and

Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 5 May 20, 1998



regulations pertaining to the operations of on-line lottery
games, in particular LAC 42:XV.105, to alow the Louisiana
Lottery Corporation to offer the following on-line lottery
games: "Cash Quest" and "Pick 4."
Title 42
LOUISIANA GAMING

Part XV. Lottery
Chapter 1. On-LineLottery Games
8105. General Provisions

A. These game rules authorize the corporation to offer the
following on-line lottery games.

1. Pick 3 Daly Game. An on-line numbers game
permitting aplayer to choose a three-digit number, the winner
being determined by a drawing.

2. Lotto. An on-line lotto game permitting a player a
choice of six numbers out of a specified field of numbers, the
winner being determined by a drawing.

3. Easy 5. An on-line lotto game permitting a player a
choice of five numbers out of a specified field of numbers, the
winner being determined by a drawing.

4. CashQuest. An on-linelotto game providing a player
multiple sets of four numbers out of a specified field of
numbers, the winner being determined by a drawing.

5. Pick 4 Game. An on-line numbers game permitting a
player to choose a four-digit number, the winner being
determined by a drawing.

B. Introduction of a new on-line lottery game may only be
accomplished by amendment of these game rules to include the
game as an authorized game. These game rules shall apply to
the on-line lottery games listed in this Section. The detailed
information regarding each on-line game will be contained in
a game directive promulgated by the president. The game
directive must be signed by the president prior to the start of
the game. Each game directive will be distributed and posted
at every corporation office and will be available for public
inspection during the sales period of the particular game.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
47:9001 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Louisiana Lottery
Corporation on October 22, 1992 and promulgated in The Advocate
November 3, 1992, amended October 21, 1994, promulgated in The
Advocate October 28, 1994, repromulgated LR 23:63 (January
1997), amended LR 24:

All interested persons are invited to submit written
comments on the proposed regulations. Such comments should
be submitted no later than June 25, 1998, at 9 am., to John
Carruth, Louisiana Lottery Corporation, Box 90008, Baton
Rouge, LA 70879.

A public hearing will be held on June 26, 1998 at 9 am., at
the offices of the Louisiana Lottery Corporation, 11200
Industriplex Boulevard, Suite 190, Baton Rouge, LA.
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral
comments on the proposed amendments.

Charles R. Davis
President

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: On-LineLottery Games

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
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STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

The Louisiana Lottery Corporation (corporation) was created
by R.S. 47:9000 et seg. and exists as a quasi-public corporation.
All costs of the corporation are funded by revenue generated by
the corporation. The direct costs associated with any on-line
game operated by the corporation totals approximately 60.175
percent of sales, including prize expense (50.0 percent), retailer
commissions (5.5 percent), and on-line vendor commissions
(4.675 percent). With sales estimates for the new games of
almost $10 million for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1999 and
over $19 million for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2000, the
direct expenses are projected to be $6 million and $11.5 million,
respectively. The general and administrative costs associated
with the new games are projected to be $20,000 for the fiscal
year ending June 30, 1999 with no increase in general or
administrative costs in subsequent years. Attachment IV outlines
all costs associated with the revenue from the proposed new
games.

Attachment |V

% to % to % to

FY 98-99  Revenue FY 99-2000 Revenue  FY 2000-2001 Revenue

Additional Revenue from

the New Games $9910,117  100.00%  $19,072,300 100.00%  $20,194200  100.00%

Expenses
Direct Operating Expenses

Prize Expense (50% of sales) $4,955,059 50.00% $9,536,150 50.00%  $10,097,100 50.00%

Retailer Commissions

(estimated @5.50% of sales) 545,056 5.50% 1,048,977 5.50% 1,110,681 5.50%

Online Vendor Commissions
(estimated @4.675% of

sales) $463,298 4.675% $891,630 4.675% $944,079 4.675%

Total Direct Operating

Expenses $5963413 60.175%  $11,476,757 60.175%  $12,151860 60.175%

General Operating

Expenses

Automated Drawing Machine

Modifications $20,000 0.20% $0 0.00% $0 0.00%

Total All Operating

Expenses $5,983,413 60.38%  $11476,757 60.18%  $12,151,860 60.18%

Required Transfer tothe

State 3,468,541

35.00% 6,675,305 35.00% 7,067,970 35.00%

Funds Used to Cover

Overhead Costs of the

Corporation 458,163 4.62% 4.83% 4.82%

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

As required by R.S. 47:9029, the Louisiana Lottery
Corporation transfers not less than 35 percent of gross revenues
to the lottery proceeds fund in the state treasury. As aresult of
the introduction of the new games, sales are expected to increase
by approximately $10 million for the fiscal year ending June 30,
1999 and over $19 million for the fiscal year ending June 30,
2000. The corresponding additional revenue to the lottery
proceeds fund is estimated to be $3.5 million for the fiscal year
ending June 30, 1999 and $6.7 million for the fiscal year ending
June 30, 2000. Please note that the additional revenue is
estimated based on the start dates of October 1998 for Cash



Quest and March 1999 for Pick 4. The first full year of sales will be

the fiscal year ending June 30, 2000.

I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

The corporation pays approximately 50 percent of sales as
prizes, the remaining 50 percent is used to generate revenue to
the state, compensate retailers, and fund the operations of the
lottery. The distribution of each dollar received from the new
games is shown in Attachment 1V (above).

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

The additional revenue from the new games will be generated
from consumer's discretionary income. The specific effects on
competition and employment cannot be determined.

Charles R. Davis
President
9805#034

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Dentistry

Mobile Dental Clinics (LAC 46:XXX111.312)

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Dental
Practice Act, R.S. 37:751 et seq., and particularly R.S.
37:760(8), notice is hereby given that the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry intends to enact LAC
46:XXX111.312, Mobile Dental Clinics. No preamble has
been prepared.

Title 46

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part XXXIII. Dental Health Professions
Chapter 3. Dentists
§312. Mobile Dental Clinics

A. Déefinition. Mobile Dental Clinic or Mobile Dental Unit
means any self-contained facility in which dentistry will be
practiced which may be moved, towed, or transported from one
location to another.

B. Application for Permit. A licensed dentist who wishes
to operate a mobile dental clinic shall apply to the board for a
permit on an application form to be provided by the board and
by providing evidence of compliance with the requirements of
this section and paying all appropriate fees.

C. Exempt from the requirements of this rule are al
federal, state, or local governmental agencies.

D. Requirements

1. Theapplicant shall certify that:

a. thereisawritten agreement for emergency follow-
up carefor patients treated in the mobile dental clinic and that
such agreement includes identification of and arrangements for
treatment in adental facility which is permanently established
in the immediate area. Such agreement shall be filed with the
initial application and all subsequent renewals thereof;
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b. the mobile dental clinic has communication
facilities which will enable the operator thereof to contact
necessary parties in the event of a medical or dental
emergency;

c. themobile dental clinic conformsto al applicable
federal, state, and local laws, regulations, and ordinances
dealing with radiographic equipment, flammability,
construction, sanitation, zoning, and Federal Centers for
Disease Control Guidelines and the applicant possesses all
applicable parish and city licenses or permits to operate the
unit.

2. The applicant shall maintain an official business or
mailing address of record which shall not be a post office box
and which shall be filed with the board. The board shall be
notified within 30 days of any change in the address of record.
All written or printed documents available from or issued by
the mobile dental clinic shall contain the official address of
record for the mobile dental clinic. When not in transit, all
dental and official records shall be maintained at the official
office address of record.

3. Each mobile dental clinic shall:

a. haveready access to aramp or lift;

b. have aproperly functioning sterilization system;

c. haveready access to an adequate supply of potable
water, including hot water;

d. have ready access to toilet facilities;

e. haveacovered galvanized, stainless steel, or other
non-corrosive metal container for deposit of refuse and waste
materials;

f. prominently display al applicable licenses and
permits in compliance with LAC 46: XX X111.104.

4. The applicant shall identify and advise the board
within 30 days of any personnel change relative to all licensed
dentists, dental hygienists, laboratory technicians, and
auxiliary personnel associated with the mobile dental clinic by
providing their full name, address, telephone numbers, and
license numbers where applicable.

5. Theapplicant shall provide the exact street address or
location of each and every place within this state where the
mobile or movable dental office will provide dental services,
and the dates and times such services will be provided at each
location. This notification shall be updated within 10 days of
any addition or deletion of alocation and shall be sent to the
board in writing.

E. Transferability. A permit to operate a mobile dental
clinic is not transferable.

F. Renewal. A permit to operate a mobile dental clinic
expires at the same time as the permit holder's dental license.
The permit holder may apply for renewal.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:

Interested persons may submit written comments on these
proposed rules to C. Barry Ogden, Executive Director, Board
of Dentistry, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 1850, New Orleans,
La 70112. Written comments must be submitted to and
received by the Board within 60 days of this notice. A request
pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument,
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or public hearing must be made in writing and received by the
Board within 20 days of the date of this notice.

C. Barry Ogden
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Mobile Dental Clinics

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
A cost of $100 is estimated to implement this rule.

Notification of thisrule change will be provided to our licensees
via newsletter and/or pamphlet which is already budgeted.
Further, those dentists who are already identified as providing a
mobile dentistry will be notified by regular U.S. Mail.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There will be no effect on revenue collections by the Board of
Dentistry or any other state or local governmental unit.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY AFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

There will be no costs and/or economic benefit to directly
affected persons or non-governmental groups. At present, there
is no regulation concerning mobile dental clinics, and this rule
inintended to bring those mobile dental clinics into compliance
with all applicable federal, state, and local laws and regulations.
Assuch, each mobile dental clinic may incur costs to bring them
into compliance.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no effect on competition and employment.

C. Barry Ogden
Executive Director
9805#014

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Clinical Exercise Physiologists—Licensure
(LAC 46:XLV.3741, 3743, and 3763)

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et
seq., that the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
(Board) pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the
Louisiana Clinical Exercise Physiologists Licensing Act, R.S.
37:3421-3433, the Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S.
37:1270(B)(6), and in accordance with applicable provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, proposes to amend its
existing rules governing the licensure of clinical exercise
physiologists, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 2, Chapter 37, 883741,
3743 and 3763, to implement and provide for the annual
renewal of licensure on or before the first day of month in
which the licensee was born. The proposed rule amendments,
which are set forth below, add new Subsections B to §83741
and 3743; amend §3743.C; and remove the word “calendar”
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from 83763.B. All other provisions of the sections, some of
which are re-lettered, remain as originally promulgated.
Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 2. Licensure and Certification
Chapter 37. Clinical Exercise Physiologists
Subchapter E. Licensurelssuance, Expiration, Renewal
and Termination
§3741. Expiration of License

A ..

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§3741.A, every
license issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective
on or after January 1, 1999, and each year thereafter, shall
expire, and thereby become null, void and to no effect the
following year on the first day of month in which the licensee
was born.

C. Thetimely submission of an application for renewal of
license shall operate to continue the expiring license in full
force and effect pending the board’s issuance or denial of
issuance, of the renewal license.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3421-3433 and R.S. 37:1270(A)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 23:405 (April 1997),
amended LR 24:

§3743. Renewal of License

A ..

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§3743.A, every
license issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective
on or after January 1, 1999, shall be renewed in the year 2000,
and each year thereafter, on or before the first day of the month
inwhich the licensee was born. Renewal fees shall be prorated
if the license is to be effective for more than one year.

C. Anapplication for renewal of license shall be mailed by
the board to each person holding a license at least 30 days
prior to the expiration of the license each year. Such form
shall be mailed to the most recent address of each licensee as
reflected in the official records of the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3421-3433 and R.S. 37:1270(A)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 23:405 (April 1997),
amended LR 24:

Subchapter G. Continuing Professional Education
§3763. Failureto Satisfy Continuing Professional
Education Requirements
A .
1.-3 ..

B. Thelicenseof aclinical exercise physiologist which has
expired by nonrenewal or has been revoked for failure to
satisfy continuing professional education requirements of these
rules may be reinstated by the board upon written application
to the Board, accompanied by payment of the reinstatement fee
prescribed by §3745.B hereof, together with documentation
and certification that the applicant has, for each year since the
date on which the applicant’s license lapsed, expired or was
revoked, completed an aggregate of 10 contact hours (1.0



CEU) of qualifying continuing professional education.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3421-3433 and R.S. 37:1270(A)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 23:405 (April 1997),
amended LR 24:

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be
directed in writing to Delmar Rorison, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set
forth below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information or comments on the proposed rule amendments, in
writing, to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners,
630 Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana 70130. Written
comments must be submitted to and received by the Board
within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request pursuant
to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument or public
hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board
within 20 days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Clinical Exercise Physiologists —Licensure

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will

result in any additional coststo the Board of Medical Examiners.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any effect on the board’ s revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected
licenses, asthe proposed rule amendments will not result in any
fee increase to such licensees. During the implementation year
for the modified renewa cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to
the licensees’ birth month during the year 2000.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any significant impact on competition or employment in
either the public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director
9805#057

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer
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NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Occupational Therapists and Occupational
Therapy Assistants—Licensure
(LAC 46:XLV.1945, 1947, and 1975)

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et
seq., that the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
(Board), pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the
Louisiana Occupational Therapy Practice Act and the Medical
Practice Act, R.S. 37:3012(A), (B) and 37:1270(B)(6), and
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, intends to
amend its rules governing the licensure of occupational
therapists and occupational therapy assistants, LAC 46: XLV,
Subpart 2, Chapter 19, 881945, 1947 and 1975, to implement
and provide for the annual renewal of licensure on or before
thefirst day of the month in which the licensee was born. The
proposed rule amendments, which are set forth below, include
new Subsections B in §81945 and 1947, amend Subsection C
of §1947 and remove theword “calendar” from §1975.B.1. All
other provisions of the Sections, some of which are re-lettered,
remain as originally promulgated.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 2. Licensure and Certification

Chapter 19. Occupational Therapists and Occupational

Therapy Assistants
Subchapter F. Licenselssuance, Termination, Renewal

and Reingtatement

§1945. Expiration of License

A .

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§1945.A, every
license issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective
on or after January 1, 1999, and each year thereafter, shall
expire, and thereby become null, void and to no effect the
following year on the first day of the month in which the
licensee was born.

C. Thetimely submission of an application for renewal of
alicense shall operate to continue the expiring license in full
force and effect pending issuance of the renewal license.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3001-3014 and R.S. 37:1270(B)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 12:767
(November 1986), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 20:1003 (September

1994), LR 24:
81947. Renewal of License
A

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§1947.A, every
license issued by the board under this Subchapter to be
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effective on or after January 1, 1999, shall be renewed in the
year 2000, and each year thereafter, on or before the first day
of the month in which the licensee was born. Renewal fees
shall be prorated if the license is to be effective for more than
one year.

C. An application for renewal of license form shall be
mailed by the board to each person holding alicense at |east
thirty days prior to the expiration date of the license each year.
Such form shall be mailed to the most recent address of each
licensee as reflected in the official records of the board.

D. Therenewal of alicense which has expired for 60 days
or less may be renewed by submitting to the board an
application for renewal upon forms supplied by the board
together with the late renewal fee prescribed in Chapter 81 of
these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3001-3014 and R.S. 37:1270(B)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 12:767
(November 1986), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 20:1003 (September
1994), LR 24:

Subchapter H. Continuing Professional Education
81975. Failureto Satisfy Continuing Professional
Education Requirements

A .

1.-3 ..

B. Thelicense of an occupational therapist or occupational
therapy assistant whose license has expired by nonrenewal or
has been revoked for failure to satisfy the continuing
professional education requirements of these rules may be
reinstated by the board upon written application to the board,
accompanied by payment of a reinstatement fee, in addition to
all other applicable fees and costs, of Fifty Dollars ($50.00),
together with documentation and certification that:

1. the applicant has, during each year since the date on
which the applicant’s license lapsed, expired, or was revoked,
completed 12 contact hours (1.2 CEUs) of qualifying
continuing professional education and the following additional
continuing professional education, as applicable:

B.la-2 ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3012(B) and R.S. 37:1270(B)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 20:1006 (September
1994), amended LR 24:

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be
directed, in writing, to: Delmar Rorison, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set
forth below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information, or comments on the proposed rule amendments,
inwriting, to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners,
at 630 Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130. Written
comments must be submitted to and received by the Board
within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request pursuant
to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for ora presentation, argument, or
public hearing must be made, in writing, and

Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 5 May 20, 1998

994

received by the Board within 20 days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Occupational Therapists and Occupational
Therapy Assistants—L icensure

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will

result in any additional coststo the Board of Medical Examiners.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any effect on the Board's revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected
licensees, asthe proposed rule amendments will not result in any
feeincrease to such licensees. During the implementation year
for the modified renewa cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to
the licensees' birth month during the year 2000.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any significant impact on competition or employment in
either the public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director
9805#059

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Physician Assistants—Licensure
(LAC 46:XLV.1517)

Noticeis hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:953, that
the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (Board),
pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the Louisiana
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270(B)(6), the Physician
Assistants Practice Act, R.S. 37:1360.23(B) and (F), and in
accordance with applicable provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, proposes to amend its rules governing the
licensure of physician assistants, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 2,
Chapter 15, 81517, to implement and provide for the annual
renewal of licensure on or before the first day of the month in
which the licensee was born. The proposed rule amendments,
which are set forth below, amend §1517.B. Section 1517.A
and 81517.C - F remain as originally promulgated.



Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions

Subpart 2. Licensing and Certification
Chapter 15. Physician Assistants
8§1517. Expiration of Licensure; Renewals; M odification;

Notification of Intent to Practice

A .

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§1517.A, every
license issued under this Chapter to be effective on or after
January 1, 1999, and each year thereafter, shall expire, and
thereby become null, void and to no effect the following year
on the first day of the month in which the licensee was born.
Every license issued under this Chapter shall be renewed on or
before December 31, 1998 for the year 1999, as well as
through the first day of the month in which the licensee was
borninthe year 2000, and each year thereafter, by submitting
to the board an application for renewal upon forms supplied by
the board, together with satisfactory documentation of current
certification or recertification by the National Commission on
Certification of Physicians' Assistants. Each application for
renewa shall be accompanied by afee of $100. Renewal fees
shall be prorated if the license is to be effective for more than
one year.

C.-F ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270(B)(6) and R.S. 37:1360.23(B), (F).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 4:111
(April 1978), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals,
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 17:1104 (November 1991), LR
22:201 (March 1996), LR 24:

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be
directed in writing to: Delmar Rorison, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set
forth below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information or comments on the proposed rule amendments, in
writing, to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners,
630 Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130. Written
comments must be submitted to and received by the Board
within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request pursuant
to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument or public
hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board
within 20 days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Physician Assistants—L icensure

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will

result in any additional coststo the Board of Medical Examiners.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
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It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any effect on the Board's revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected
licensees, asthe proposed rule amendments will not result in any
fee increase to such licensees. During the implementation year
for the modified renewa cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to
the licensees' birth month during the year 2000.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any significant impact on competition or employment in
either the public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director
9805#060

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Physicians and Surgeons—L.icensure
(LAC 46:XLV.415 and 417)

Noticeis hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:953, that
the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (Board),
pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the Louisiana
Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270(B)(6), and the provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, intends to amend its rules
governing the licensure of physicians and surgeons, LAC
46:XLV, Subpart 2, Chapter 3, §§415 and 417, to implement
and provide for the annual renewal of licensure on or before
thefirst day of the month in which the licensee was born. The
proposed rule amendments, which are set forth below, include
a new 8415.B and §417.B and amend §417.C. All other
provisions of the Sections, some of which are re-lettered,
remain as originally promulgated.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 2. Licensure and Certification

Chapter 3. Physicians and Surgeons
Subchapter |. Licenselssuance, Termination, Renewal

and Reinstatement
§415. Expiration of Licenses and Permits

A .

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8415.A, every license
issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective on or
after January 1, 1999, and each year thereafter, shall expire,
and thereby become null, void and to no effect the following
year on the first day of the month in which the licensee was
born.

C. The timely submission of a properly completed
application for renewal of a license, but not a permit, as
provided by 8417 of this Chapter, shall operate to continue the
expiring licensing in full force and effect pending issuance of
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the renewal license.

D. Permits are not subject to renewal, except as expressly
provided in these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:1280.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 10:914
(November 1984), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitds, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:523 (June 1990), LR
22:212 (March 1996 [withdrawn LR 22:280 April 1996]), LR 24:

8417. Renewal of License

A .

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8417.A, every license
issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective on or
after January 1, 1999, shall be renewed in the year 2000, and
each year thereafter, on or before the first day of the month in
which the licensee was born. Renewal fees shall be prorated if
the license is to be effective for more than one year.

C. An application for renewal of license form shall be
mailed by the board to each person holding alicense issued
under this Chapter at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the
license each year. Such form shall be mailed to the most recent
address of each licensee as reflected in the official records of
the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270, R.S. 37:1280 and R.S. 37:1281.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 10:914
(November 1984), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitds, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 16:523 (June 1990), LR
24:

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be
directed in writing to: Delmar Rorison, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set
forth below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information or comments on the proposed rule amendments, in
writing, to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners,
630 Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130. Written
comments must be submitted to and received by the Board
within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request pursuant
to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument or public
hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board
within 20 days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Physicians and Surgeons—L icensure

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
result in any additional coststo the Board of Medical Examiners.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any effect on the Board's revenue collections.
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I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected
licensees, asthe proposed rule amendments will not result in any
fee increase to such licensees. During the implementation year
for the modified renewa cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to
the licensees' birth month during the year 2000.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any significant impact on competition or employment in
either the public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director
9805#060

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Podiatrists—Licensure
(LAC 46:XLV.1359-1361)

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et
seq., that the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
(Board), pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the
Louisiana Medical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292, the
Louisiana Podiatry Practice Act, R.S. 37:621, and the
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, intends to
adopt rules governing the licensure and certification of
podiatrists, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 2, Chapter 13, §81359 and
1361, to implement and provide for the annual renewal of
licensure on or before the first day of the month in which the
licenseewas born. The proposed rules, as well as an index to
future rules which may be adopted, are set forth below.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 2. Licensure and Certification
Chapter 13. Podiatrists
Subchapter A. General Provisions
§1301. Scope of Chapter [Reserved]
§1303. Definitions [Reserved]
Subchapter B. Requirements and Qualifications for
Licensure
Scope of Subchapter [Reserved]
Qualifications for Licensure [Reserved]
Procedural Requirements [Reserved]
Waiver of Examination Requirements
[Reserved]
Subchapter C. Board Approval of Podiatry
Schools and Colleges
§1313. Scope of Subchapter [Reserved]
§1315. Applicability of Approval [Reserved]
§1317. List of Approved Schools [Reserved]

§1305.
§1307.
§1309.
§1311.



Subchapter D. Licensure by Reciprocity

§1319. Definitions [Reserved]

§1321. Qualificationsfor Podiatry Licensure by
Reciprocity [Reserved]

Subchapter E. Application

§1323. Purpose and Scope [Reserved]

§1325. Application Procedure [Reserved]

§1327. Effect of Application [Reserved]

Subchapter F. Examination

§1329. Designation of Examinations [Reserved]

§1331. Eligibility for Examination [Reserved]

§1333. Observance of Examination [Reserved]

§1335. Subversion of Examination Process [Reserved]

§1337. Finding of Subversion [Reserved]

§1339. Sanctions for Subversion of Examination

[Reserved]

Passing Scores [Reserved]

Restriction, Limitations on Examinations

[Reserved]

Examinationsin or for Another State

[Reserved]

Lost, Stolen or Destroyed Examinations

[Reserved]

Subchapter G. Temporary License

81349. Temporary Licensein General [Reserved]

81351. License Pending Examination [Reserved]

§1353. Provisional Temporary Permit Pending
Application for Visa [Reserved]

81355. License Pending Reexamination [Reserved]

Subchapter H. Licensure Issuance, Termination,

Renewal, Reinstatement

§1357. Issuance of License [Reserved]

§1359. Expiration of License or Permit

A. Every license or permit issued by the board under this
Chapter, the expiration date of which is not stated thereon or
provided by these rules, shall expire, and thereby become null,
void and to no effect, on the last day of the year in which such
license or permit was issued.

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§1359.A, every
license, but not a permit, issued by the board under this
Chapter to be effective on or after January 1, 1999, and each
year thereafter, shall expire, and thereby become null, void and
to no effect the following year, on the first day of the month in
which the licensee was born.

C. The timely submission of a properly completed
application for renewal of a license, as provided in §1361,
shall operate to continue the expiring licensing in full force and
effect pending issuance of the renewal license.

D. Permits are not subject to renewal, except as expressly
provided in these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:621.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:

§1361. Renewal of License

A. Every license issued by the board under this Chapter
shall be renewed annually on or before its date of expiration by
submitting to the board a properly completed application for
renewal, upon forms supplied by the board, together with the
renewal fee prescribed by the Board.

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§1361.A, every
license issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective
on or after January 1, 1999, shall be renewed in the year 2000,

§1341.
§1343.

§1345.

§1347.
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and each year thereafter, on or before the first day of the month
inwhich the licensee was born. Renewal fees shall be prorated
if the license is to be effective for more than one year.

C. An application for renewal of license form shall be
mailed by the board to each person holding alicense issued
under this Chapter at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the
license each year. Such form shall be mailed to the most recent
address of each licensee as reflected in the official records of
the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270 and R.S. 37:621.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:

§1363. Reinstatement of Expired License [Reserved]
Subchapter |. Podiatry Advisory Committee

§1365. Constitution of Committee [Reserved]

8§1367. Composition; Appointment [Reserved]

§1369. Delegated Duties and Responsibilities [Reserved]

Inquiries concerning the proposed rules may be directed in
writing to: Delmar Rorison, Executive Director, Louisiana
State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set forth
below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information or comments on the proposed rules, in writing, to
the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 630 Camp
Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130. Written comments
must be submitted to and received by the Board within 60 days
from the date of this notice. A request pursuant to R.S.
49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument or public hearing
must be made in writing and received by the Board within 20
days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Podiatrists—Licensure

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rules will result in any
additional costs to the Board of Medical Examiners.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rules will have any
effect on the Board's revenue collections.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rules will have any
adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected licensees,
as the proposed rules will not result in any fee increase to such
licensees. During the implementation year for the modified
renewal cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to the first day of
the month in which the licensee was born during the year 2000.
. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rules will have any
significant impact on competition or employment in either the
public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
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98054061 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Registered Dispensing Physicians—Registration
Renewal/Expiration (LAC 46:XLV.6523 and 6525)

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et
seq., that the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
(Board), pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the
LouisianaMedical Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292, and R.S.
37:1204, and the provisions of the Administrative Procedure
Act, intends to amend its existing rules governing the licensure
of registered dispensing physicians, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 3,
Chapter 65, §86523 and 6525, to implement and provide for
theannual renewal of registration on or before the first day of
the month in which the registrant was born. The proposed rule
amendments, which are set forth below, include a new
Subsection B to each Section and amend §6525.C. All other
provisions of the Sections, some of which are re-lettered,
remain as originally promulgated.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 3. Practice

Chapter 65. Dispensation of M edications
Subchapter C. Registration

86523. Expiration of Registration

A .

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 86523.A, every
registration issued by the board under this Chapter, to be
effective on or after January 1, 1999, and each year thereafter,
shall expire, and thereby become null, void and to no effect the
following year on the first day of the month in which the
registrant was born.

C. Thetimely submission of an application for renewal of
registration as adispensing physician, as provided by 86525 of
this Chapter, shall operate to continue the expiring registration
in effect pending certification of renewal registration or other
final action by the board on such application for renewal.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1261-1292 and R.S. 37:1204.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 13:570
(October 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals,
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:

86525. Renewal of Registration

A .

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of 8§6525.A, every
registration issued by the board under this Chapter to be
effective on or after January 1, 1999 shall be renewed in the
year 2000, and each year thereafter, on or before the first day
of the month in which the registrant was born. Renewal fees
shall be prorated if the registration is to be effective for more
than one year.

C. An application for registration renewal form shall be
mailed by the board to each registrant at least 30 days prior to
the expiration of the registration each year. Such form shall
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be mailed to the most recent address of each registrant as
reflected in the official records of the board.

D. Registration as a dispensing physician which has
expired by virtue of nonrenewal shall not be reinstated by the
board except upon the applicant's satisfaction of the
qualifications, requirements and procedures prescribed by this
Chapter for original application for registration.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1261-1292 and R.S. 37:1204.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 13:570
(October 1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals,
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 24:

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be
directed in writing to Delmar Rorison, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set
forth below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information or comments on the proposed rule amendments, in
writing, to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners,
630 Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130. Written
comments must be submitted to and received by the Board
within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request pursuant
to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument or public
hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board
within 20 days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Registered Dispensing
Physicians—Registration Renewal/Expiration

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will

result in any additional costs to the Board of Medial Examiners.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any effect on the Board's revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected
licensees, asthe proposed rule amendments will not result in any
feeincrease to such licensees. During the implementation year
for the modified renewa cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to
the licensees' birth month during the year 2000.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any significant impact on competition or employment in
either the public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director
9805#056

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer



NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of M edical Examiners

Respiratory Therapists and Respiratory
Therapy Technicians—Licensure
(LAC 46:XLV.2541, 2543 and 2565)

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et
seq., that the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners
(Board), pursuant to the authority vested in the Board by the
Louisiana Respiratory Act, R.S. 37:3351-3361, and
particularly 37:3355(3) and 37:3357, the Louisiana Medical
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1270(B)(6), and the provisions of the
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, intends to amend its
rules governing the licensure of respiratory therapists and
respiratory therapy technicians, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 2,
Chapter 25, §82541, 2543 and 2565, to implement and
provide for the annual renewal of licensure on the first day of
the month in which the licensee was born. The proposed rule
amendments, which are set forth below, add a new
Subsection B to §2541, amend Subsection B of §2543 and
replace the word “calendar” with the word “year” in
§2565.B.1. All other provisions of the Sections, some of
which are re-lettered, remain as originally promulgated.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLV. Medical Professions
Subpart 2. Licensure and Certification
Chapter 25. Respiratory Therapists and Respiratory
Therapy Technicians
Subchapter E. Licensure, Issuance, Termination,
Renewal, Temporary | ssuance and
Reinstatement
§2541. Expiration of License

A ..

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of §2541.A, every
license issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective
on or after January 1, 1999, and each year thereafter, shall
expire, and thereby become null, void and to no effect the
following year on the first day of the month in which the
licensee was born.

C. Thetimely submission of an application for renewal of
a license, as provided by 82543 hereof, shall operate to
continue the expiring license in force and effect pending the
board’ sissuance, or denial of issuance, of the renewal license.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270(B)(6) and R.S. 37:3351-3361.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 12:767
(November 1986), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:1218 (December

1996), LR 24:
§2543. Renewal of License
A

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of §2543.A, every
license issued by the board under this Chapter to be effective
on or after January 1, 1999, shall be renewed in the year 2000,
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and each year thereafter, on or before the first day of the month
inwhich the licensee was born. Renewal fees shall be prorated
if the license is to be effective for more than one year. An
application for renewal of license shall be mailed by the board
to each person holding a license issued under this Chapter at
least 30 days prior to the expiration of the license each year.
Such form shall be mailed to the most recent address of each
licensed respiratory therapist or licensed respiratory therapy
technician as reflected in the official records of the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1270(B)(6) and R.S. 37:3351-3361.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 12:767
(November 1986), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:1218 (December
1996), LR 24:

Subchapter G. Continuing Professional Education
§2565. Failureto Satisfy Continuing Professional
Education Requirements
A ..
1.-3 ..

B. The license of a respiratory therapist or respiratory
therapy technician whose license has expired by nonrenewal or
has been revoked for failure to satisfy the continuing
professional education requirements of these rules may be
reinstated by the board upon written application to the board,
made not more than two years from the date of expiration or
revocation, accompanied by payment of a reinstatement fee, in
addition to all other applicable fees and costs, of fifty dollars
($50.00), together with documentation and certification that:

1. the applicant has, for each year since the date on
which the applicant’ s license lapsed, expired or was revoked,
completed eight (8) hours (0.8 CEU) of qualifying continuing
professional education, and if the application for reinstatement
is made more than one year following the date on which such
license lapsed, expired or was revoked, the applicant shall
evidence completion of an additional four (4) hours of
qualifying continuing professional education since the date on
which the applicant’ s license lapsed, expired or was revoked;
or

B.2.-C.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3357(D) and R.S. 37:1270(B)(6).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:1218 (December
1996), amended LR 24:

Inquiries concerning the proposed amendments may be
directed in writing to: Delmar Rorison, Executive Director,
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at the address set
forth below.

Interested persons may submit data, views, arguments,
information or comments on the proposed rule amendments, in
writing, to the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners,
630 Camp Street, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70130. Written
comments must be submitted to and received by the Board
within 60 days from the date of this notice. A request pursuant
to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, argument or public
hearing must be made in writing and received by the Board
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within 20 days of the date of this notice.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Respiratory Therapists and
Respiratory Therapy Technicians—Licensure

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will

result in any additional coststo the Board of Medical Examiners.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any effect on the Board's revenue collections.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any adverse costs and/or economic impact on the affected
licensees, asthe proposed rule amendments will not result in any
fee increase to such licensees. During the implementation year
for the modified renewa cycle, licensure fees will be prorated to
the licensees' birth month during the year 2000.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will
have any significant impact on competition or employment in
either the public or private sector.

Delmar Rorison
Executive Director
9805#058

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

M edicaid—Electric Wheelchair Repairs

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing is proposing
to adopt the following rule as authorized by LA R.S. 46:153
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This
proposed rule is in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

Current policy governing electric wheelchair repairs require
that repairs must be prior authorized and that authorization is
granted only if the recipient is in an educational or training
program or is employed. The Bureau seeks to amend the
previous prior authorization criteria by establishing additional
criteria for the coverage of repairs to electric wheelchairs
under the Durable Medical Equipment Program.

Proposed Rule
The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health
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Services Financing replaces previous criteria governing
repairs of electric wheelchairs with the following:

(1) repairs for electric wheelchairs may be considered if
the recipient is in an educational or training program or is
employed; or

(2) repairsof electric wheelchairs may also be considered
for recipients who already own an electric wheelchair, even if
they are not currently enrolled in an educational or training
program, or not employed, if the following conditions are met:

(a) the electric wheelchair is the recipient’s only
wheelchair;

(b) theonly aternativeto the repairs is replacement by
anew manual type wheelchair;

(c) the repairs do not cost more than the estimated
replacement cost of a new appropriate, manual type chair; and

(d) only basic repairs, not major modifications or
reconstruction, of the chair is being requested.

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
following address: Thomas D. Collins, Bureau of Health
Services Financing, P. O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA
70821-9030. He is the person responsible for responding to
inquiries regarding this proposed rule.

A public hearing on this proposed rule is scheduled for
Friday, June 26, 1998 at 9:30 am. in the Department of
Transportation and Development Auditorium, First Floor,
1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. At that
time all interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to
submit data, views or arguments, orally or in writing. The
deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 p.m. on
the next business day following the public hearing.

David W. Hood
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Medicaid—Electric Wheelchair Repairs

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no costs or savings to the state as a result of this
proposed rule. However, $80 will beincurred in SFY 1998 for
the state's administrative expense of promulgating this proposed
rule as well asthe final rule.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Thereisno estimated effect on revenue collections. However,
$80 will be incurred in SFY 1998 for the federal share of
promulgating this proposed rule as well as the final rule.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Repairs to electric wheelchairs of persons not in educational
or training programs, or employed will be covered when the only
alternative is replacements by new manual type, custom
wheelchairs. Therefore, there are no costs and/or economic
benefits. Medicaid recipients requiring repairs to electric
wheelchairs must meet the established criteria for prior
authorization of these devices offered through the Durable
Medical Equipment Program.



IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
There is no known effect on competition and employment.

Thomas D. Collins
Director
9805#046

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Gaming Control Board

Video Poker—Code of Conduct of Licensees
(LAC 42:X1.2417)

The Gaming Control Board hereby gives notice that it
intends to amend LAC 42:X1.2417 in accordance with
R.S. 27:15 and 24, et seq., and the Administrative Procedure
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

Title 42
LOUISIANA GAMING
Part XI. Video Poker
Chapter 24. Video Draw Poker
§2417. Code of Conduct of Licensees

Al -3

B. Unsuitable Conduct

1.-5. ..

6.a. No licensee or any partner, shareholder, officer,
director or employee of alicensee shall play or participate in
the play of any video draw poker device operated under
authority of the licensee’ s video draw poker license.

b. The prohibition contained in §2417.B.6.a. shall not
apply to certified technicians performing service and/or
repairing a video draw poker device at any licensed
establishment.

c. Nolicensee shall permit the operation of any video
draw poker device at any time the licensed establishment is not
open for business to the general public.

C.-Ds.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
27:15 and 24.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, Gaming Enforcement
Section, Video Gaming Division, LR 18:196 (February 1992),
amended LR 21:582 (June 1995), amended by the Department of
Public Safety and Corrections, Gaming Control Board, LR 24:

All interested persons may contact Tom Warner, Attorney
General’s Gaming Division, telephone number (504)
342-2465, and may submit written comments rel ative to these
proposed rules, through June 9, 1998, to 339 Florida
Boulevard, Suite 500, Baton Rouge, LA 70801.

Hillary J. Crain
Chairman

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Code of Conduct of Licensees

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no implementation costs to state or local
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government units estimated.

Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Thereisno determinable effect on revenue collections of state
or local government units.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

No significant cost and/or economic benefit to directly
affected persons or non-governmental groups is estimated.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No effect on competition or employment is estimated.
Hillary J. Crain H. Gordon Monk
Chairman Staff Director
98054036 Legislative Fiscal Office

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Office of Motor Vehicles

Compulsory Liability Insurance
(LAC 55:111.Chapter 17)
(Repeal of LAC 37:VI1.125 and 127)

Noticeis hereby given that the Department of Public Safety
and Corrections, Office of Motor V ehicles proposes to adopt
new rulesrelating to notification of the initiation, termination,
or modification of liability security pursuant to R.S. 32:863.2,
and to repeal the existing rules contained in LAC 37:V11.125
and 127. These rules implement the significant change in the
reporting period for liability insurance information from 45
days to 15 working days. These rules also contain the only
acceptable reporting method for compliance in accordance
with R.S. 32:861-866.

The Fisca and Economic Impact Statement for
Administrative Rules has been approved by the Legislative
Fiscal Office and follows this notice of intent.

Title 55
PUBLIC SAFETY
Part I11. Motor Vehicles

Chapter 17. Compulsory Insurance
Subchapter B. Reporting of I nitiation and any Subsequent
Changein Insurance Coverage
§1751. Definitions
As used in this subchapter, the following terms have the
meanings described below.
Department—Department  of
Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles.
Edit Error—arecord submitted by an insurance company
or servicing agent unacceptable for filing purposes due to the
absence of information in arequired field or the presence of
invalid information in the key datafields identified and detailed
in the technical filing specifications given to the security
provider by the department pursuant to LAC 55:111.Chapter 17,
Subchapter B. Any record which is returned to an insurance
company or servicing agent as an edit error is not afiling and
counts against the overall match rate. The filing must be
corrected and re-reported within 15 days. (Disposition code is
"E.")

Public Safety and
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Filing Report—areport prepared by the department for an
insurance company or servicing agent following completion of
processing (record matching) containing the disposition of
each record. It is the responsibility of the insurance company
or servicing agent to review and take the necessary corrective
action as required by these regulations. This return report is
written on the same medium submitted by the insurance
company, i.e., tape or cartridge.

Fleet Policy—a policy insuring a business with a fleet of
five or more vehicles registered in Louisiana, issued on a fleet
basis, by any insurance company, either admitted or
non-admitted, writing motor vehicle liability insurance.

Hit—a record submitted by an insurance company or
servicing agent which matches the department vehicle
registration record. (Disposition code is "H.")

Insurance Company Code—a unique humber assigned to
each insurance company. National Association of Insurance
Commissioners Code (NAIC code) will be used or atemporary
identification number assigned by the department to an
insurance company for the purpose of R.S. 32:863.2 of the
Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability Security Law.

Insured Owner—the name of the lessee or owner of the
listed motor vehicle as obtained by the security provider.

Magnetic Tape—a magnetically encoded computer tape
or cartridge which is machine readable by the installed
computer system of the department and which conforms with
the technical filing specifications given to the security provider
by the department.

Match Rate—the percentage of hits relative to the total
number of filings reported.

Nonrenewal —

a. anonrenewal of amotor vehicle liability insurance
policy shall include:
i. arefusal by the insurer to issue a superseding
policy or arenewal of such policy;
ii. areguest by theinsured that a superseding policy
not be issued or such policy not be renewed; or
iii. afailure of theinsured to make the first premium
payment due upon a superseding policy or arenewal of such
policy offered by the insurer;
b. nonrenewalsareto be reported in the same manner
as cancellations or terminations.

Notification—the furnishing of information by a security
provider to the department concerning liability security or lack
of liability security on a motor vehicle, or a change or
correction of data concerning the item of security, the vehicle
or the lessee or owner, as required by R.S. 32:863.2 of the
Motor Vehicle Liability Security Law and these regulations.

Owner—every person who holds the legal title to a motor
vehicle or in the event a motor vehicle is the subject of an
agreement for the conditional sale, lease or transfer of the
possession, however, thereof, with the right of purchase upon
performance of the condition stated in the agreement and with
an immediate right of possession vested in the conditional
vendee, lessee, possessor or in the event such or similar
transaction is had by means of a mortgage, and the mortgagor
of a vehicle is entitled to possession, then such conditional
vendee, lessee, possessor or mortgagor shall be deemed the
owner for the purpose of this Chapter.
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Owner ID Number—driver's license number for an
individual lessee or owner (the leftmost nine characters of
driver's license number) or federal tax identification number
for the lessee or owner if the lessee or owner is not a natural
person.

Recall of Notification—a notice submitted to the
department by a security provider or servicing agent, which
rescinds anotification previously submitted to the department
inerror.

Record—insurance information pertaining to the items
required by law and these regulations for an individual vehicle
or fleet coverage.

Resolved No-Hit Exception—a no-hit exception which is
resolved during the department's exception matching process
and results in a match to the department's vehicle registration
record. Effective October 1, 1998, the department will no
longer attempt to resolve no-hits. (Disposition code is"R.")

Return Date—the department will provide areturn date in
its filing report. The date, in year, month, date (YYMMDD)
format, will be placed in character positions 237-242 of the
returned filing record. The return date will be the date the
department writes the filing report to tape and will equal the
date in the DATE-PROCESSED field of the trailer record.

Security Provider—aliability insurance company or other
provider of liability security required under the Compulsory
Motor Vehicle Liability Security Law (R.S. 32:861 et seq.).

Servicing Agent—any person or organization duly
designated by a security provider to prepare, transmit or
deliver records on behalf of such insurance company.

Tape Receipt—a two-part document furnished and
prepared by an insurance company or servicing agent
containing information prescribed in the technical filing
specifications. Such receipt, along with a self-addressed return
envel ope, must accompany each magnetic tape or cartridge
transmitted to the department, one copy of which, when duly
endorsed and dated upon delivery and returned to the insurance
company, shall constitute proof that such magnetic tape or
cartridge was received by the department.

Termination/Cancellation of Liability Security—any
cancellation or termination of liability security on a motor
vehicle (whether caused by the insurer or insured).

Unresolved No-Hit Exception—a no-hit exception which
is not resolved during the department's exception matching
process. Insurance company must respond with corrected
information within 15 days from department's returned filing
report. (Disposition code is"U.") (See §1761.B.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:
§1753. Introduction

A. Effectiveduly 1, 1988, security providers shall report to
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of
Motor Vehicles, certain information, on a vehicle-by-vehicle
basis, with certain exceptions, in accordance with the
Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability Security Law (R.S.
32:861 et seq.), the Compulsory Security Law, and with these
regulations regarding the initiation of liability coverage.

B. EffectiveJuly 9, 1988, security providers shall report to
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of



Motor Vehicles, certain information, on a vehicle by vehicle
basis, with certain exceptions, in accordance with the
Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability Security Law
(R.S. 32:861 et seq.), the Compulsory Security Law, and with
these regulations regarding the termination, withdrawal,
cancellation, lapsing, or otherwise rendering ineffective of
liability coverage.

C. As required by law and LAC 55:I11.Chapter 17,
Subchapter B, reports shall be made to the department
whenever a liability policy on a motor vehicle is issued,
procured, recalled, reinstated, terminated, canceled, or to
change binder status to active policy number. Such information
must be transmitted to the department in an efficient and timely
manner in accordance with these regulations. Security
providers shall not provide information to the department
except as required by law or LAC 55:11l.Chapter 17,
Subchapter B. Examples of information which shall not be
submitted to the department by security providers include, but
are not limited to, the following:

1. information on non-liability coverage such as
collision and comprehensive palicies;

2. information on liability policies not in compliance
with the Compulsory Security Law such as umbrella policies
with excess coverage and non-ownership policies;

3. addition or deletion of other drivers.

D. The notification required by R.S. 32:863.2 and
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B, shall be made in the
manner and form required by the department as set forth in
these regulations. A separate notice shall be submitted for each
vehicle. Thefailure of a security provider to properly notify the
department may result in the imposition of the fee authorized
in R.S. 32:863.2(B).

E. The purpose of the required information is to enforce
the Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Law, R.S. 32:851 et
seq., and particularly the Compulsory Security Law,
R.S. 32:861 et seg. Consistently with this purpose, the
information maintained by the department shall only be
provided to a person making proper written request under R.S.
32:863.2(C) and R.S. 32:871 only after an accident is reported
in accordance with R.S. 32:871. The information will be
provided on asingle individual or vehicle basis only. In order
to preserve the proprietary information of security providers,
insurance coverage information compiled by company, by zip
code, or by other classifications shall not be made available to
inquirers. Additionally, the department will not develop or
maintain any composite list by insurance company or insurance
company identifier except for unresolved no-hits and edit
errors. The department will cooperate fully with the insurance
industry in preserving the security of customer lists and related
data.

F. Louisiana Administrative Code 55:I11.Chapter 17,
Subchapter B provides for adjustments to technical
specifications of reporting requirements. The security
providers will be advised by mail of any changes in the
technical specifications of the reporting requirements. The
department will always attempt to give 90 days notice of these
adjustments so that security providers may have enough time
to implement the changes, however, legislative changes or

other circumstances may result in notice of less than 90 days.
Such mailings may be caled "Advisory Bulletins' or
"Memorandums' from the assistant secretary, Office of Motor
Vehicles. These bulletins or memorandums may also contain
clarifications, helpful hints, and such additional information as
may be deemed applicable to compliance with the Compulsory
Security Law. Moreover, in the event that an unusual situation
is not covered by these regulations, a reasonable procedure
consistent with the Compul sory Security Law will be followed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

81755. Failureto Comply with Reporting Requirements

A. Incaseswhere, after written notice, a security provider
fails to supply the information required by R.S. 32:863.2 and
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B in the manner approved
by the department for the security provider, or fails to provide
the information required by R.S. 32:863.3 and
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B within the 15 working
day period established in R.S. 32:863.2, the fees as provided
by R.S. 32:863.2(B) may be imposed. A security provider will
not be charged a fee for providing data based on a reasonable
assumption, such as assuming in good faith that the owner's
address is the same as the named insured's address. Special
consideration shall be given to unusual problems in
compliance, proved in writing.

B. The security provider shall have 30 days from the date
of the notice imposing a fee to make a written request for an
administrative hearing to review the imposition of the fee. The
security provider may also make a written request for an
informal review of the imposition of the fee described in
81755.A. A request for an informal review shall suspend the
running of the 30-day period contained in this Subsection.
Upon completion of the informal review and the issuance of a
written determination by the Office of Motor Vehicles, the
remaining balance of the 30-day period within which to
request an administrative hearing shall resume running.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

81757. Questions  Regarding Procedures  and
Technical/Data | ssues

A. Procedural questions concerning LAC 55:111.Chapter
17, Subchapter B, or the official questions concerning policies
of the department shall be referred to the Louisiana
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 17 Office of
Motor Vehicles, Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896,
Attention: Cancellation Unit, telephone (504) 925-7285, (504)
925-6983, or FAX (504) 922-0158.

B. Technical/dataquestions concerning the official policies
of the department should be referred to the Louisiana
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Data Processing
Center, 8001 Independence Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA
70806, DMB Project Leader, telephone (504) 925-6246, or
FAX (504) 925-4019.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1759. Match Rate and Reporting Period

A. The department shall enforce a 92 percent match rate
insofar as reporting liability insurance information in
accordance with R.S. 32:863.2 and LAC 55:111.Chapter 17,
Subchapter B. The 92 percent match rate is one of the criteria
used to evaluate compliance with reporting requirements.

B. The match rate is evaluated on any given one year
reporting period. The match rate will not be evaluated for a
period to exceed one year. This reporting period will be used
in determining any possible fee assessments for failure to
report or successfully report information in accordance with
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B. The department will
send to the security provider at least once a year a report of
said company's current match rate. The notice provided for in
this Section may be combined with any notice issued pursuant
to 81755.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

81761. Credit for Correcting Unresolved No-Hits

A. A direct "match" or "hit" is based on the Vehicle
Identification Number (VIN). When the vehicle identification
number does not match with Louisiana motor vehicle records
and fails the vehicle identification number edit check, the
record is coded "Unresolved." In accordance with LAC
55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B, the security provider has 15
days from receipt of the return filing to correct the vehicle
identification number and resubmit the report. The failure to
resubmit the report or the failure to submit corrected vehicle
identification number data results in a "no-hit" filing which
goes against the match rate.

B. A credit is given when an identified "Unresolved" is
resubmitted with the correct vehicle identification number and
matches with the Department's motor vehicle files. The
programwill "+1" in Hitsand "-1" in the Unresolved category.
Any vehicle data resubmitted with corrected vehicle
identification number information will be coded as transaction
"C" or "1" and will not count against the match rate a second
timeif the corrected information is unmatched and it will also
not apply as a credit to the original error. In cases of
resubmitted information, the original "unresolved" will be
counted against the match rate only once.

C. If a security provider submits a vehicle identification
number (vIN) for a 1981 or newer vehicle, and the
Department's VIN check determines that the vIN is valid, but
theVvIN isnot matched to aVviN in the department's records, the
company is returned a disposition "R," resolved. In these
records, the insurance company vIN and the vIN returned as the
"Matched" vIN are identical. Effective October 1, 1998, the
disposition code will change to "H," Hit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

81763. Reporting an Initiation of Coverage and
Cancellation of Coverage at the Same Time
All records must be submitted in chronological order. The
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last record received from a security provider for avehicle is
considered to reflect the status of the vehicle with the
company. Multiplefilings for a single vehicle having the same
company code and owner-1D will result in the last record
received being maintained by the department.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:
8§1765. Recalling Notification by Security Provider

When a security provider discovers that a cancellation or
initiation of coverage was reported by mistake, the security
provider shall submit to the department a notice of recall of
notification. All the data but the transaction type must be the
same as originally submitted in order to match the recall with
the notification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:
8§1767. Warning on Notice of Acknowledgment of

Termination to Insured
The Notice of Acknowledgment of Termination sent to an

insured shall contain the following warning notice:
"1f you do not keep your liability insurance in force during the
entire registration period, your registering privileges will be subject
to revocation. By law your insurance carrier is required to report
specific termination information to the Secretary of the Department
of Public Safety and Corrections."

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

8§1769. Timely Insurance Filings

A. Inaccordancewith LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter
B, the security provider shall notify the department after motor
vehicle liability security is initiated, terminated, or modified.
Such notification shall be made within 15 working days of the
effective date of the initiation or termination of coverage and
shall not be reported prior to the effective date. The security
provider has 15 days from receipt of the department's returned
filings to correct the "Unresolved No-Hit Exception" and
resubmit the report.

B. Any report submitted prior to the effective date will
result in an edit error. An edit error is not afiling. Edit errors
shall be corrected and resubmitted.

C. A security provider who violates 81769 may be subject
to possible fee assessments pursuant to R.S. 32:863.2(B) even
though a 92 percent match rate is maintained.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1771. Manual Filings

A. Eligibility. The department may authorize a security
provider to use manual filing of reports of initiation,
termination and other reportable information changes by a
security provider insuring less than 250 motor vehicles
registered in this state on a calendar year basis.

B. Authorization. Any requests shall be in writing and
made on a company by company basis. A request for
authorization should be mailed to the Department of Public



Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, Box 64886,
Baton Rouge, LA 70896, Attention: Cancellation Unit. If
approval is granted, these filings shall to be mailed to
Cancellation Unit.

C. Conditions of Filing. A security provider must notify the
department after motor vehicle liability security is initiated,
terminated, or in certain ways modified. Such notification shall
be made within 15 working days of the effective date of the
initiation, termination, or modification.

D. Format and Content. Each notification must be
transmitted by an official of the company on the company's
letterhead in atypewritten or typeset format. Multiple notices
may be reported under a single submission. However, notices
so submitted shall be numbered in asequential order beginning
with the designation "Notice 1:". Information items shall be
inset, and single spaced separated by a double space. Notices
must be submitted as specified in the manual filing data field
requirements using the formats provided in
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B.

E. Alternative Format. A security provider may, at its
option, develop its own form based upon the sample below,
provided that the same formatting and display of information
are utilized. Any alternative format is subject to prior approval
by the department.

F. Frequency of Filing. Security providers shall not submit
written notices more frequently than weekly.

G. Confirmation of Receipt. The department shall provide
afiling report to the security provider. If the notice information
provided by an insurance company is not in accordance with
format and reporting requirements, or does not match a
corresponding registration record, or if there are discrepancies
in informational content, the company will be so advised. All
filings will contain a disposition code indicating the
disposition of each notice.

H. Recalling Notification. When a security provider
discovers that a cancellation or initiation of coverage was
reported by mistake, the security provider shall submit to the
department a notice of recall of notification. All the data but
the transaction type must be the same as originally submitted
inorder to match the recall with the notification. (See Record
Format and Field Descriptions.)

I. Field Requirements. The following fields are required
for reporting new business, termination or modification of
liability security. (See Record Format and Field Descriptions):

1. vehicleidentification number (vIN);

2. year of vehicle;

3. make or model of vehicle;

4. insurance company code;

5. type of transaction;

6. lessee or owner's address(to be reported only for
termination);

7. lessee or owner's city(to be reported only for
termination);

8. lessee or owner's state(to be reported only for
termination);

9. lessee or owner's zip code;

10. policy number (or "binder");

11. termination, change date, or effective date;

12. lessee or owner's hame;

13. lessee or owner's name indicator;
14. lessee or owner's identification number;
J.  Sample Manual Filing

INSURANCE COMPANY LETTERHEAD ( RESERVED )
FOR

(DPS&C USE )

DATE:

TO: Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections

Pursuant to R.S. 32:863.2 of the Louisiana Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability
Security Law and the Rules and Regulations of the Department, the following
information is hereby submitted for filing with your office.

MANUAL REPORTING
OF
LIABILITY SECURITY
NOTICE 1:
VIN:  12345678901234567
YEAR: 85
MAKE/MODEL:  FORD
INS. CO. CODE: 11000
TYPE OF TRANSACTION: 0
LESSEE OR OWNER ADDRESS: 100 South Swan Street
LESSEE OR OWNER CITY:  New Orleans
LESSEE OR OWNER STATE:  Louisiana
LESSEE OR OWNER ZIP CODE: ~ 70110
POLICY NUMBER (OR "BINDER"): 0013081883

TERMINATION, CHANGE DATE OR
EFFECTIVE DATE: 880115

LESSEE OR OWNER NAME:  Motorist Michael A
LESSEE OR OWNER NAME 2
LESSEE OR OWNER IDENTIFIGAVIBER: 1234567

NOTICE 2:
VIN: 2314567890232224567
YEAR: 85
etc.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1773. Guidelinesfor Fleet Filings

A. Eligibility. Any insurance company writing motor
vehicle liability insurance in Louisiana and insuring a fleet of
five or more vehiclesregistered in Louisiana for which vehicle
identification number (VIN) information is not maintained on
each vehicle must manually report said fleet coverage as
specified in LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B. If the
insurance company maintains the viN number of each vehicle
within the fleet, the filing shall be reported on a
vehicle-by-vehicle basis.

B. Conditionsof Filing. A security provider must notify the
department after motor vehicle liability security has begun,
ended, or in certain ways modified. Such notification shall be
made within 15 working days of the effective date of the
beginning, ending, or modification. After the initiation has
been reported, the cancellation is not to be reported until the
entire fleet policy has been canceled. (Do not report the
addition or deletion of individual vehicles.)

C. Format and Content. Each notification must be
transmitted by an official of the company on the company's
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letterhead in atypewritten or typeset format. Multiple notices
may be reported under a single submission. However, notices
so submitted shall be numbered in asequential order beginning
with the designation "Notice 1:." Information items shall be
inset, and single spaced separated by a double space. Notices
must be submitted as specified in the manual filing data field
requirements using the formats provided in these rules and
regulations.

D. No Specia Forms Required. A company may, at its
option, develop its own form based upon our sample, provided
that the same formatting and display of information are
utilized, and the form has received prior approval of the
department.

E. Frequency of Filing. Insurance companies may submit
written notices daily.

F. Confirmation of Receipt. The department shall provide
a filing report to the insurance company. If the notice
information provided by an insurance company is not in
accordance with format and reporting requirements or if there
are discrepancies in informational content, the company will
be so advised. All filings will contain a disposition code
indicating disposition of such notice.

G. Number of Vehicles. The estimated number of vehicles
in afleet is reported in lieu of vehicle identification number
information on a vehicle-by-vehicle basis.

H. Recalling Notification. When a security provider
discovers that a cancellation or initiation of coverage was
reported by mistake, the security provider must submit to the
department a notice of recall of notification. All the data but
the transaction type must be the same as originally submitted
inorder to match the recall with the notification. (See Record
Format and Field Descriptions.)

I. Fields. The following fields are required for reporting
new business, termination, or modification of liability security
(See Record Format and Field Descriptions.):

1. insurance company code;

2. type of transaction;

3. lessee or owner's address (to be reported only for
termination);

4. lessee or owner's city (to be reported only for
termination);

5. lessee or owner's state (to be reported only for
termination);

6. lessee or owner's zip code;

7. policy number (or "binder");

8. termination, change date, or effective date;

9. lessee or owner's name;

10. lessee or owner's name indicator;

11. lessee or owner's federal tax identification number
driver's license number for individual;

12. estimated number of vehiclesin fleet.

J. Sample Fleet Filing

INSURANCE COMPANY LETTERHEAD ( RESERVED )
( FOR )
(DPS&C USE)

DATE:

To: Louisiana Department of Public Safety & Corrections
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Pursuant to R.S. 32:863.2 of the Louisiana Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability
Security Law and the Rules and Regul ations of the Department, the following
information is hereby submitted for filing with your office:

MANUAL REPORTING
OF
LIABILITY SECURITY
NOTICE 1:
INS. CO. CODE: 11000
TYPE OF TRANSACTION: 0
LESSEE OR OWNER ADDRESS: 321 Tulane Avenue
LESSEE OROWNERCITY: New Orleans
LESSEE OR OWNER STATE:  Louisiana
LESSEE OR OWNER ZIP CODE: 70734
POLICY NUMBER ( OR BINDER): 0013081883
TERMINATION, CHANGE DATE, OR 880201
EFFECTIVE DATE:
LESSEE OR OWNER NAME: JRSTOOL CO.
LESSEE OR OWNER NAME INDICATOR: 4
LESSEE OR OWNER IDENTIFICATION 721234567
NUMBER:
ESTIMATED NUMBER OF VEHICLES: 25

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

81775. Fee Assessments

A. Thefailure by asecurity provider to report the required
information, failure to timely report the required information
and/or failureto maintain at least a 92 percent match rate may
result in the insurance company being assessed a $50 fee per
vehicle coverage in accordance with R.S. 32:863.2(B).

B. Thedepartment's motor vehicle records will be checked
against liability insurance filings on an ongoing basis. Fees
will continue to be assessed to those companies in
noncompliance with the statute and LAC 55:111.Chapter 17,
Subchapter B. Further, in cooperation with the insurance
commissioner's  office, continuous violations and
noncompliance could result in additional administrative or
judicial action.

C. Fees will not be assessed to those security providers
who continue to report al insured vehicles, report on atimely
basis, and maintain at least a 92 percent match rate during any
given one-year reporting period.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

81777. Transaction Types and How the Transaction
Typesare Used

A. Described below are the transaction types and how each
may be used for cancellations.

1. O=Termination. A termination or cancellation notice
is submitted whenever liability security is canceled or
terminated as described in the following circumstances.

a.  Anindividual sells avehicle and drops it from his
policy. A cancellation notice is submitted.

b. An individual drops liability coverage from his
policy but maintains comprehensive coverage on his vehicles.
A cancellation notice is submitted for each vehicle affected.

c. A noticewith atransaction type of "0" was returned
as an edit error. It is resubmitted with corrected information.

2. 1=Recadl. Therecal isused whenever a cancellation



notice is submitted in error. A cancellation notice was
incorrectly reported. The cancellation date was reported as
February 2 instead of February 13. A recall of the February 2
cancellation notice is submitted followed by a cancellation
notice of having a canceled date of February 13.

3. 2 =Re-reporting. A re-reporting is used whenever
the department returns a cancellation notice with a disposition
of "U." A cancellation notice was returned with a disposition
of "U." Corrected information isavailable and the cancellation
notice is resubmitted.

4. 4 = Back-dated. Back-dating is used whenever a
company back-dates a cancellation at the request of the
insured, and where it would be impossible to submit a
cancellation notice within 15 working days of the date of
cancellation. As an example, an individual notifies his
insurance company that he sold one of his vehicles two months
ago. Hereguests a credit for two months of coverage. A back-
dated cancellation notice is submitted with the cancellation
date equaling the date the vehicle was sold.

B. Described below arethe transaction types and how each
may be used for initiations of coverage.

1. A = Initiation. An initiation notice is submitted
whenever liability security isinitiated (new business).

a.  Anindividual purchases avehicle and has it added
to an existing policy. An initiation notice is submitted for the
new vehicle.

b. A noticewith atransaction type of "A" was returned
as an edit error. It is resubmitted with corrected information.

2. B=Recdl. Therecall is used whenever an initiation
noticeis submitted in error. Asan example, an initiation notice
was incorrectly reported with a starting date reported as
February 2 instead of February 13. A recall of the February 2
initiation notice is submitted followed by an initiation notice
having a starting date of February 13.

3. C=Re-reporting. A re-reporting is used whenever
the department returns an initiation notice with a disposition of
"U." As an example, an initiation notice was returned with a
disposition of "U." Corrected information is available and the
initiation notice is resubmitted.

4. E = Back-dated. Back-dating is used whenever a
company back-dates new business at the request of the insured,
and where it would be impossible to submit an initiation notice
within 15 working days of the date of inception of the policy.
As an example, an individual notifies his insurance company
that he purchased a vehicle two months ago. The insured's
company back-dates the coverage to the date the vehicle was
purchased. A back-dated initiation notice is submitted with the
starting date equal to the date the vehicle was purchased.

5. F = Change. A change notice is submitted only for
changing the policy number from a binder to an active policy
number. As an example, an initiation notice was submitted
with a policy number of "Binder." A change notice is
submitted with an active policy number.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1779. Contact Person Information

A. Certain updated information is periodically needed by
the department in order for the department to implement
and enforce the provisions of R.S. 32:863.2 and
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B. Each security provider
shall give the department the name of a contact person within
the insurance company to provide the most updated
information or to correct problems as they arise.

B. The contact information sheet shall be completed and
returned to this department. The contact sheet shall be
submitted during January of each year and whenever thereisa
change in any of a security provider's contact personnel. A
contact information sheet shall be submitted for each insurance
company.

C. The security provider shall furnish the name of the
company representative responsible for compliance with each
of the following areas:
administrative reporting requirements
data processing;
commercial lines;
personal lines;
manual /fleet filings;
other personnel responsible for filings or fee

assessments.
CONTACT PERSON INFORMATION SHEET
LA. OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
CANCELLATION UNIT
P.O. BOX 64886
BATON ROUGE, LA 70896

Certain updated information is needed periodically by this agency in order for
usto contact the correct person within your insurance company to provide the
most updated information or to correct problem areas. The contact information
sheet isto be completed and returned to this department. The contact sheet must
be submitted during the month of January each year and whenever there is a
changein any of your company's contact personnel. A contact information sheet
must be submitted for each insurance company. Please furnish the name of the
representative responsible for compliance with administrative reporting
requirements, data processing, commercial lines, personal lines, manual/fleet
filings, and other personnel responsible for filings or fee assessments. This
information will assist us in contacting your company's representative(s) in
regard to specific compliance regulations.

oA wWNE

NAIC# NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY

ADMINISTRATIVE DATA
COMPLIANCE PROCESSING
NAME: NAME:
ADDRESS: ADDRESS:

PHONE: ()
FAX: ()

PHONE: ()
FAX: ()

E-MAIL ADDRESS: E-MAIL ADDRESS:
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AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY:

AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

NAME: NAME:
ADDRESS: ADDRESS:
PHONE: () PHONE: ()
FAX: () FAX: ()

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

CONTACT PERSON INFORMATION SHEET
LA. OFFICE OF MOTOR VEHICLES
CANCELLATION UNIT
P.O. BOX 64886
BATON ROUGE, LA 70896

NAIC#

NAME OF INSURANCE COMPANY

AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY:

AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

NAME: NAME:
ADDRESS: ADDRESS:
PHONE: () PHONE: ()
FAX: (1) FAX: ()

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY:

AREA OF RESPONSIBILITY:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

NAME: NAME:
ADDRESS: ADDRESS:
PHONE: () PHONE: ()
FAX: (1) FAX: ()

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public

Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1781. Reporting M ethods

A. Reporting via Magnetic Tape

1. The magnetic tapel/cartridge sent by a security
provider or servicing agent shall be received during business
hours only, 8 am. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday,
excluding state holidays, by the Louisiana Department
of Public Safety and Corrections, Data Control,
8001 Independence Boulevard, Baton Rouge, LA 70806.

2. Each magnetic tape containing required notices shall
be accompanied by, and uniquely identified with, a duly
prepared tape receipt in accordance with the technical filing
specifications. Such magnetic tape may contain all types of
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notification. Insurance groups may report multiple companies
on the same tape provided the servicing agent code is the same
for al records on the tape.

3. When the department receives a magnetic tape from
a security provider or servicing agent, an employee of the
department shall endorse a copy of the tape receipt with the
date of delivery and return such copy to the insurance company
or servicing agent.

4. Each record accepted as a filing shall be deemed
received by the department on the date the magnetic tape
containing said record was delivered to the department as
evidenced in the tape receipt.

B. Frequency of Filing and First Time Filing. A security
provider may not submit notices more frequently than weekly.
First time filings should be coordinated by contacting the
department prior to the filing. All contact information must be
provided and a test tape/cartridge processed and checked
before live data will be processed on aroutine basis.

C. Reporting via File Transfer Protocol. Effective
October 1, 1998, security providers which currently file via
magnetic tape shall begin filing using the file transfer protocol
method. The only acceptable procedures for contacting the
department's computer shall be via the Internet, dedicated data
circuit, or dia-in access. All record formats shall be as
described in LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B. The
department will provide, upon request, all technical
specifications to accomplish this connectivity. Any security
provider requiring additional assistance may contact the
Information Services Deputy Director of the Data Processing
Center at (504) 925-6226. Section 1785.C shall not apply to
security providers authorized to file reports manually or fleet
coverage reports.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1783. Technical Specifications

A. The technical specifications for magnetic tape and
cartridges are contained in Office of Motor Vehicles policies,
and shall be made available to a security provider upon the
security provider notifying the department that the security
provider will be submitting the reports required by
R.S. 32:863.2 and LAC 55:I11.Chapter 17, Subchapter B.
The technical specifications are not contained in
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B, so as to allow for
flexibility as technology changes.

B. The technical specifications for reporting via file
transfer protocol are contained in Office of Motor Vehicles
policies, and shall be made available to a security provider
upon the security provider notifying the department that the
security provider will be submitting the reports required
by R.S. 32:863.2 and LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B.
The technical specifications are not contained in
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B, so as to allow for
flexibility as technology changes.

C. Thedepartment shall provide the security provider with
the appropriate technical specifications, and the security
provider shall acknowledge receipt of the technical
specifications in writing, on company letterhead, dated, and
signed by a company officer, director, or other person



authorized to sign on behalf of the company.

D. The failure of a security provider to submit a report
pursuant to the technical specifications provided by the
department pursuant to 81785.C shall be deemed afailure to
provide the information required by R.S. 32:863.2 and
LAC 55:111.Chapter 17, Subchapter B in the manner approved
by the department for the security provider as provided in
81755 for purposes of assessing the fee authorized in
R.S. 32:863.2(B).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1785. Editing Vehicle Identification Numbers for
Improved M atch Rates

A. In order to insure high match rates, security providers
should check the vehicle identification numbers (vIN) for a
valid check digit as 1981 and newer motor vehicles have a
17-digit vehicle identification number in which the check digit
is the ninth character of the viIn.

B. A worksheet with instructions for computing the check
digit follows 81787. A security provider may write a computer
program from the information on the worksheet. A security
provider may also obtain copies of the department's coBoL
program to compute the check digit upon receipt of awritten
request. Such aprogram used at the insurance agent, or policy
initiation level would greatly increase the likelihood that the
VINS on 1981 and newer motor vehicles are correct when they
enter the insurance company's database.

C. Security providers needing assistance may contact the
DMB Project Leader of the Data Processing Center at
(504) 925-6246.

COMPUTING THE VIN CHECK DIGIT
(9TH CHARACTER OF THE 17-DIGIT VIN)

CHECK DIGIT COMPUTATION WORKSHEET
N VINT 2] 2f 3] 4 [ o 7] o of 0] 11 12| a3 14 15[ 6] 17
Digit
[INEA

LINE B

LINEC

LINED 0 Find Sum

1. OnLINEA, enter 17-digit VIN.

2. On LINE B, enter "Assigned Value" of each vIN
character using the ASSIGNED VALUE TABLE below.

3. Multiply the numbers in LINE B by the numbers in
LINE € for each of the 17 digits in the vIN. Record the product
of each of these separate computations in LINE D of the same
column.

4. Add together all the numbers recorded in LINE D and
enter the FINAL suM in the space provided.

5. Divide the FINAL suM by the number "11." If the
remainder of this division is a single digit number, then this
number must equal the ninth character of the 17-digit vIN. If

the remainder is the number "10," then the check digit (ninth
character of vIN) must be the letter "X."

ASSIGNED VALUE TABLE

A-1]1 J1 | T-3 | 1-1 | 6-6 |[RECORD THE NUMBER ASSIGNED
B2 | K2 | U4 | 22 | 7-7 |[TOEACH VIN CHARACTER IN THE
APPROPRIATE BOX ON LINE B.

C3|L3]|V5]|33]88

D-4 [M-4 |w-6 | 44 | 99 |THE LETTERS"I," "O,” AND "Q," ARE
Es | N5 | x7 | 55 | 0.0 INEVER USED IN THE 17-DIGIT VIN.

F6|P7 Y-8
G7|R9|z9
H-8 | s2

Example:

1981 Ford Mustang 1FABP12A4BR101093, FINAL SUM = 246
u
246 Divided By 11=22R 4

Year of Manufactured Code Values
(10th Character of VIN)
1980 - A 1990 - L 2000 - Y
1981 -B 1991 - M 2001 -1
1982 -C 1992 - N 2002 - 2
1983 -D 1993 -P 2003 - 3
1984 - E 1994 - R 2004 - 4
1985 - F 1995-S 2005 - 5
1986 - G 1996 - T 2006 - 6
1987 - H 1997 -V 2007 - 7
1988 - J 1998 - W 2008 - 8
1989 - K 1999 - X 2009 - 9

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:
§1787. ldentification Card Specifications

A. General Information

1. Pursuant to R.S. 32:863, which became effective
July 1, 1985, all vehicles registered in the state of Louisiana
must contain within the vehicle, documentation indicating
compliance with the Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability
Security Law. An identification card (1D card) may be used in
lieu of the actual policy as a means of showing evidence of
liability insurance coverage.

2. Thepurpose of developing an approved ID card isto
provide insured owners with a document to be used as proof of
compliance with Louisiana's compulsory insurance laws.

3. Those ID cards, in conformance with the attached
specifications as to content, will be accepted as proof of
liability insurance by law enforcement and the Office of Motor
Vehicles.

4. Inorder for the security provider to insure compliance
with specification requirements, the security provider shall
furnish the department with sample copies of the Louisiana
Liability Insurance Identification Card provided
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to the security provider's insured. The sample copies shall be
mailed to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and
Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, Cancellation Unit,
Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896-4886, or sent by FAX to
(504) 922-0158, Attention: Cancellation Unit.

5. A security provider with any questions in regard to
implementation of §1789 may call the Cancellation Unit at
(504) 925-7285.

B. Louisiana ldentification Card Specifications

1. The size of document need not be uniform.

2. Theidentification card should be a one-part form on
at least 20-pound white paper stock.

3. The security provider shall designate on the card in
either bold print or contrasting color the following
information:

a. onthefront of the identification card:
i. thefollowing language, verbatim:
"Louisiana Auto Insurance ldentification Card",
ii. thefollowing language, verbatim:

"An insurer authorized to transact business in Louisiana has issued

the Motor Vehicle Policy identified hereon. The coverage provided

by this policy meets the minimum liability insurance limits

prescribed by law.";

iii. thefollowing language, verbatim:

"Thiscard must be carried in the vehicle at all times as evidence of

liability insurance.";

b. onthereverseor backside of theidentification card,

the following language, verbatim:
"IMPORTANT NOTICE. La R.S. 32:863.1 requires that an
operator of a motor vehicle produce upon demand by a law
enforcement officer documentation of motor vehicle security which
isrequired to be maintained within the vehicle at all times. Failure
to comply may result in fines, revocation of registration privileges

and block against the renewal or issuance of adriver's license.".

4. The security provider shall include the following
information on the identification card:

a. onthefront of the identification card:
i. the name, address, and NAIC number of the
insurance company;
ii. thename of insured, policy number, effective date
and expiration date;

iii. vehicle description: the year may be shown as two
digits and the make may be abbreviated. The full 17-digit
vehicle identification number, with the exception of those
model vehicles 1981 or older, must be shown. Only when the
insurer does not have the viN information under afleet policy,
istheword "Fleet" to be entered. The federal tax identification
number of the listed insured must be provided when "Fleet" is
used;

iv. any excluded drivers onthe policy shall be listed.
The inclusion of the following information is optional: the
excluded driver's date of birth and/or operator's license
number;

b. on thefront or back of the identification card: the
insurance agent's name, address and telephone number.

5. The identification card shall be provided to each
liability policy holder at least annually or at each renewal, at
the discretion of the security provider.

6. Other items may beincluded on the reverse side of the
card, at the discretion of the security provider, including but
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not limited to the company logo or trademark, or any other
message including claim locations, what actions to take in the
event of an accident or other claim.

C. Example of Louisiana Identification Card

LOUISIANA AUTO INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD

An insurer authorized to transact business in Louisiana has issued the
Motor Vehicle Policy identified hereon. The coverage provided by this
policy meets the minimum liability insurance limits prescribed by law.

NAIC NUMBER COMPANY

POLICY NUMBER EFFECTIVE DATE EXPIRATION DATE
VEHICLE DESCRIPTION
YEAR MAKE/MODEL VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

INSURED

THIS CARD MUST BE IN THE VEHICLE AT ALL TIMES
AS EVIDENCE OF INSURANCE

IMPORTANT NOTICE

La R.S. 32:863.1 requires that an operator of a motor vehicle produce
upon demand by a law enforcement officer documentation of motor
vehicle security which is required to be maintained within the vehicle
at all times.

Failure to comply may result in fines, revocation of registration
privileges and block against the renewal or issuance of adriver's
license.

INSURANCE AGENT:

EXCLUDED DRIVERS:

1. Sample with Vehicle Identification Number
LOUISIANA AUTO INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD

An insurer authorized to transact business in Louisiana has issued the
Motor Vehicle Policy identified hereon. The coverage provided by this
policy meets the minimum liability insurance limits prescribed by law.

NAIC NUMBER COMPANY

12345 Compulsory Insurance Company
1234 Liability Lane
Security, LA 10000

POLICY NUMBER
ABC 12345

EFFECTIVE DATE
01/01/95

EXPIRATION DATE
01/01/96

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION
YEAR MAKE/MODEL
95 Chev/Cam

VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER
1GTCE1456PB123456

INSURED

John Doe

203 Doe Street

Baton Rouge, LA 70895

THIS CARD MUST BE IN THE VEHICLE AT ALL TIMES
AS EVIDENCE OF INSURANCE




IMPORTANT NOTICE

La R.S. 32:863.1 requires that an operator of a motor vehicle produce
upon demand by a law enforcement officer documentation of motor
vehicle security which is required to be maintained within the vehicle
at all times.

Failure to comply may result in fines, revocation of registration
privileges and block against the renewal or issuance of a driver's
license.

INSURANCE AGENT:
All Day Insurance Agency
1000 Anywhere Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Phone# (504) 123-4567

EXCLUDED DRIVERS: Johnny Doe DOB 10/01/75 DL# 1234567

2. Sample with Fleet Information

LOUISIANA AUTO INSURANCE IDENTIFICATION CARD

An insurer authorized to transact business in Louisiana has issued the
Motor Vehicle Policy identified hereon. The coverage provided by this
policy meets the minimum liability insurance limits prescribed by law.

NAIC NUMBER
12345

COMPANY

Compulsory Insurance Company
1234 Liability Lane

Security, LA 10000

POLICY NUMBER
ABC 12345

EFFECTIVE DATE
01/01/95

EXPIRATION DATE
01/01/96

VEHICLE DESCRIPTION
YEAR MAKE/MODEL VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

FLEET - FEDERAL TAX ID# 720000000

INSURED

John Doe Trucking, Inc.
203 Doe Street

Baton Rouge, LA 70895

THIS CARD MUST BE IN THE VEHICLE AT ALL TIMES
AS EVIDENCE OF INSURANCE

IMPORTANT NOTICE

La R.S. 32:863.1 requires that an operator of a motor vehicle produce
upon demand by a law enforcement officer documentation of motor
vehicle security which is required to be maintained within the vehicle
at all times.

Failure to comply may result in fines, revocation of registration
privileges and block against the renewal or issuance of adriver's
license.

INSURANCE AGENT:
All Day Insurance Agency
1000 Anywhere Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Phone # (504) 123-4567

EXCLUDED DRIVERS: N/A
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

§1789. Declaratory Ordersand Rulings

A. Any persondesiring aruling on the applicability of R.S.
32:863.2, or any other statute, or the applicability or validity
of any rule, to the reporting of initiation and any subsequent
changein insurance coverage shall submit awritten petition to
the assistant secretary for the Office of Motor Vehicles. The
written petition shall cite all, constitutional provisions,
statutes, ordinances, cases, and rules which are relevant to the
issue presented or which the person wishes the assistant
secretary to consider prior to rendering an order or ruling in
connection with the petition. The petition shall be typed,
printed or written legibly, and signed by the person seeking the
ruling or order. The petition shall also contain the person's full
printed name, the complete physical and mailing address of the
person, and a daytime telephone number.

B. If the petition seeks an order or ruling on a report
submitted to the Office of Motor Vehicles by a security
provider, the person submitting the petition shall notify the
security provider who submitted the report, if the person
submitting the petition is not the security provider. Such notice
shall be sent by certified mail, return receipt requested. In such
case, the petition shall not be considered until proof of such
notice has been submitted to the assistant secretary, or until the
person petitioning for the order or ruling establishes that the
security provider cannot be notified after a due and diligent
effort. The notice shall include a copy of the petition submitted
to the assistant secretary.

C. The assistant secretary may request the submission of
legal memoranda to be considered in rendering any order or
ruling. The assistant secretary or his designee shall base the
order or ruling on the documents submitted including the
petition and legal memoranda. If the assistant secretary or his
designee determines that the submission of evidence is
necessary for aruling, the matter may be referred to a hearing
officer prior to the rendering of the order or ruling for the
taking of such evidence.

D. Noticeof the order or ruling shall be sent to the person
submitting the petition as well as the security provider
receiving notice of the petition at the mailing addresses
provided in connection with the petition.

E. The assistant secretary may decline to render an order
or ruling if the person submitting the petition has failed to
comply with any requirement in this Section.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2 and R.S. 49:962.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 24:

Title 37
INSURANCE
Part VII. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 1. Insurance
Subchapter B. Compulsory Motor Vehicle Liability
Security
8125. Termination of Liability Insurance Coverage,
Motor Vehicle Liability Bonds and Deposits of
Security with State Treasurer
Repeal ed.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicle, LR 11:874
(September 1985), amended LR 13:667 (November 1987), repealed
LR 24:

§127. Record Format and Field Descriptions

Repeal ed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
32:863.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, LR 11:874
(September 1985), amended LR 13:667 (November 1987), repealed
LR 24:

Persons having comments or inquiries may contact
Stephen A. Quidd, attorney for the Office of Motor V ehicles by
writing to Box 66614, Baton Rouge, LA 70896, by calling
(504) 925-4068, or by sending a FAX to (504) 925-3974.
These comments and inquiries must be received by
June 20, 1998.

A public hearing on these rules is tentatively scheduled for
Monday, June 29, 1998, in the Executive Conference Room at
the Office of Mator Vehicles Headquarters at 109 South Foster
Drive, Baton Rouge, LA 70806. Any person wishing to attend
the public hearing should call to confirm the time and the
location of the hearing.

Thomas Normile
Undersecretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Compulsory Liability Insurance

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There should be no implementation costs or savings to the
department as the department is currently accepting insurance
coverage reports from security providers. These rules are being
proposed to address changes in the law which shorten the
reporting period for insurance companies from 45 days to 15
days. These rules also change the manner in which security
providers submit reports to the department with certain
exceptions.
There should be no implementation costs or savings to local
governments as only the state administers this program.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There should be no effect on the revenue collections of either
state or local governments. As stated above, local governments
arenot involved in the reporting process. The state only charges
thefee authorized by R.S. 32:863.2 in those cases in which the
security provider fails to report the reguired insurance
information in atimely and appropriate manner. These fees have
been assessed in the past and will continue to be assessed to
those security providers who fail to report information in the
approved manner.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Insurance companies are already required by state law to
submit the reports of insurance information to the department,
so there should be no increased costs. There may be anegligible
reduction in the supply costs of these companies as they will no
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longer have to buy the supplies such as the tapes or cartridges

effective October 1, 1998.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There should be no effect on competition or employment as
security providers are already required to submit insurance
information to the department. The only changes are the 15-day
reporting requirement mandated by state law, R.S. 32:863.2, and
the manner in which the reports are to be submitted to the
department. In both cases, the changes will apply equally to al
security providers.

H. Gordon Monk
Staff Director
Legislative Fiscal Office

Thomas Normile
Undersecretary
98054053

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Public Safety and Corrections
Office of the State Fire M ar shal

Boilers (LAC 55:V.Chapters 50-58)

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:950 et seq., and
R.S. 40:1563(D), relative to the authority of the Office of the
State Fire Marshal to promulgate rules and regulations, notice
is hereby given that the Office of the State Fire Marshal intends
to repeal LAC 46:V I, Chapters 3 - 13 in their entirety and
replace these existing Boiler Inspectors rules with new rulesin
LAC 55:V.Chapters 50 - 58.

Title 55
PUBLIC SAFETY
Part V. Fire Protection
Subpart 2. Boilers
Chapter 50. General Provisions
8§5001. Preface

A. The objective of these rules is to promote safe and
efficient boiler practices for the construction, repair, alteration,
operation and inspection of al boilers, and to provide for
inspection during fabrication, assembly, modification, repair
or alteration of those pressure vessels which are required by
the owner or user to:

1. meet American Society of Mechanical Engineers
(ASME) rules for construction, and the National Board
Inspection Code (NBIC) rules for repair; and

2. be stamped as meeting those rules, thereby insuring
better protection of life and property. To this end we invite the
cooperation of all boiler and pressure vessel manufacturers,
owners, users, operators and insurance companies.

B. Itisintended that these rules will effect reasonable and
adequate regulations governing the construction, maintenance,
inspection and use of boilers, and provide for the inspection
during fabrication, repair or alteration of those pressure
vessels that are required by the owner or user to:

1. meet ASME and NBIC requirements; and

2. be stamped as meeting those rules.

C. These rules are not designed to provide an inspection
program for unfired pressure vessels, except as provided for by
the Act, however, inspections will be provided when requested
by the owner or user. They are intended to promote uniform



standards for the design, fabrication, repair, alteration and
inspection of steam and hot water boilers, and the inspection
during fabrication, repair or alteration of those pressure
vessels that are required by the owner or user to:

1. meet ASME and NBIC requirements; and

2. be stamped as meeting those rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5003. Application

A. Therulesherein promulgated apply to all boilers subject
to the provisions of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950,
Title 23, Chapter 5, Part Ill, Sections 531 through 545,
[Except boilers exempted by R.S. 23:540 and R.S.
23:541(D)], and to those pressure vessels that are required by
the owner or user to:

1. meet ASME and NBIC requirements; and
2. bestamped as meeting those rules, as provided for by
R.S. 23:531.

B. Theserulesshall conform as nearly as practicable to the

ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Codes:

1. Section |—Power Boilers;

2. Section IV—Heating Boilers;

3. Section V—Nondestructive Examination;

4. Section VI—Recommended Rules for the Care and
Operation of Heating Boilers;

5. Section VII—Recommended Guidelines for the Care
of Power Boilers;

6. Section VIll—Pressure Vesselsto the extent the rules
and regulations apply;

7. Section IX—Welding and Brazing Qualifications;

8. ASME B31.1—Power Piping;

9. ASME C.S.D.-1—Controls and Safety Devices for
Automatically Fired Boilers; and

10. NAPA 54—National Fuel Gas Code, with the
addenda, code cases, and interpretations adopted by the
council of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers; and
the National Board Inspection Code, current edition.

C. Where the application of a rule would cause expense
materially out of proportion to the increase of safety secured
thereby, or would be unreasonable under the facts of the
particular case, and safety can be secured in other ways, the
assistant secretary may, upon adequate showing by the owner
or user, grant an exemption or modification of the rule
complained of, under such requirements as will secure a
reasonable condition of safety.

D. Therules providing for inspection of new and existing
installations shall apply to al boilers subject to the provisions
of Act 264 of the Regular Session of 1938, as continued or
substituted for by Title 23, Chapter 5, Part 111, of the Louisiana
Revised Statutes of 1950, regardless of whether inspected by
an inspector employed by the Department of Public Safety or
by an insurance company inspector, and shall apply to all
boilers whether stationary or portable, insofar asis practical.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:

§5005. Definitions

Act—regulations affecting boilers, as enacted, amended and
reenacted by the Legislature of Louisiana, herein referred to as
the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Title 23, Chapter 5,
Part 111, Sections R.S. 23:531-545.

Alteration—a change in any item described on the original
manufacturers' Data Report which effects the pressure
containing capability of the boiler or pressure vessel.
Nonphysical changes such as an increase in maximum
allowable working pressure (internal or external) or design
temperature shall be considered an alteration. A reduction in
minimum temperature such that additional mechanical tests are
required shall also be considered an alteration.

Assistant Secretary—as used herein shall be the fire marshal
for the State of Louisiana.

ASME—the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

ASME Code—the American Society of Mechanical
Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
published by that society, including addenda and code cases,
approved by its council and adopted by the assistant secretary,
shall hereafter be known asthe Louisiana Boiler Construction
Code. A copy of this code will be on file at the State of
Louisiana, Department of Public Safety, Office of the State
Fire Marshal, Boiler Inspection Section, Baton Rouge,
Louisiana

Authorized Inspection Agency—one of the following:

1. adepartment or division established by ajurisdiction
which has adopted and does administer one or more sections
of the ASME Code, one of which shall be Section | as alegal
requirement, and whose inspectors hold valid commissions
issued by the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel
Inspectors. For these rules this shall be the Boiler Inspection
Section, Office of the State Fire Marshal, State of Louisiang;

2. an insurance company which has been licensed or
registered by the appropriate authority of a state of the United
States or a province of Canada, to write and does write boiler
and pressure vessel insurance, and to provide inspection
service of boilers and pressure vessels that they insure in such
state or province, and whose inspectors meet the requirements
of authorized inspector above.

Authorized Inspector—an inspector who holds a current
commission as an inspector of boilers and other pressure
vessels, issued by the National Board of Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Inspectors; a certificate of competency and commission
asaboiler inspector, issued by the Boiler Inspection Section,
Office of the State Fire Marshal, State of Louisiana.

Boiler—a vessel in which water is heated, steam is
generated, steam is superheated, or any combination thereof,
under pressure or vacuum for use external to itself, by the
direct application of heat, that is heat resulting from the
combustion of fuel, electrical elements, nuclear fuel, or waste
gases. Vessels known as evaporators or heat exchangers and
vesselsin which steam and other vapor is generated by the use
of heat resulting from operation of a processing system
containing a number of pressure vessels such as used in the
manufacture of chemical and petroleum products, would be
exempted from jurisdictional inspection requirements. The
term boiler shall include the following.
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1. Electric Boiler—apower boiler or ahot water heating
or supply boiler in which the source of heat is electricity.

2. Heat Recovery Boiler—avessel or system of vessels
comprised of one or more heat exchanger surfaces used for the
recovery of waste heat. V essels known as evaporators or heat
exchangers in which steam and other vapors generated by the
use of heat resulting from the operation of a processing system
containing a number of pressure vessels such as used in the
manufacturing of chemical and petroleum products, are to be
exempted from jurisdictional inspection requirements.

3. Heating Boiler—a steam boiler operating at pressures
not exceeding 15 psig, or a hot water boiler operating at
pressures not exceeding 160 psig or temperatures not
exceeding 250EF.

4. High Pressure/High Temperature Water Boiler—a
water boiler intended for operation at pressures in excess of
160 psig and/or temperatures in excess of 250EF.

5. Hot Water Heating Boiler—a boiler in which no
steam is generated, from which hot water is circulated for
heating purposes and then returned to the boiler, and which
operates at a pressure not exceeding 160 psig and/or a
temperature of 250EF at or near the boiler outlet.

6. Hot Water Supply Boiler—a boiler completely filled
with water that furnishes hot water to be used externally to
itself at pressures not exceeding 160 psig or atemperature not
exceeding 250EF at or near the boiler outlet.

7. Miniature Boiler—a power boiler or a
high-temperature water boiler which does not exceed the
following limits:

a 16 inchesinside diameter of shell;

b. 20 sguare feet heating surface (not applicable to
electric boilers);

c. 5 cubic feet gross volume exclusive of casing and
insulation;

d. 100 psig maximum allowable working pressure.

8. Potable Boiler— aboiler which is primarily intended
for temporary location and the construction and usage permits
it to be readily moved from one location to another.

9. Potable Water Boiler—a vessel in which water is
heated and withdrawn for use external to itself at pressures not
exceeding 160 psig and temperatures not exceeding 210EF.
This shall include hot water heaters (fired and electric),
supplying potable hot water, 50 gallons and over in capacity;
coil water heaters and fired jacketed kettles. This includes all
size hot water heaters when not exempt by R.S. 23:541(D).

10. Power Boiler—a boiler in which steam is generated
at apressure of more than 15 psig.

11. Steam Heating Boiler—a steam boiler for operation
at pressures not exceeding 15 psig, used for heating purposes.

12. Unfired Steam Boiler—an unfired vessel intended for
operation at a pressure in excess of 15 psig steam for the
purpose of producing and controlling an output of thermal
energy. Vessels known as evaporators or heat exchangers and
vesselsin which steam and other vapor is generated by the use
of heat resulting from the operation of a processing system
containing a number of pressure vessels such as used in the
manufacture of chemical and petroleum products, are to be
exempted from jurisdictional inspection requirements.
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13. Waste Heat Boiler—an unfired vessel or system of
unfired vessels intended for operation in excess of 15 psig
steam for the purpose of producing and controlling an output
of thermal energy. Vessels known as evaporators or heat
exchangers and vessels in which steam and other vapor is
generated by the use of heat resulting from the operation of a
processing system containing a number of pressure vessels
such as used in the manufacture of chemical and petroleum
products, are exempted from jurisdictional inspection
requirements.

Certificate I nspection—an inspection, the report of which
is used by the chief inspector as justification for issuing,
withholding or revoking the inspection certificate. This
certificate inspection shall be an internal inspection when
required, otherwise, it shall be as complete an inspection as
possible.

1. Internal Inspection—as complete an examination as
can be made of the internal and external surface of aboiler or
pressure vessel whileit is shut down and manhole plates, hand
hole plates or other inspection opening closures are removed
as required by the inspector.

2. External Inspection—an inspection made when a
boiler or pressure vessel isin operation, if possible.

Certificate of Competency—a certificate issued to a person
who has passed the examination prescribed by the assistant
secretary.

Certificate of Inspection—a certificate issued by the chief
inspector for the operation of a boiler or pressure vessel as
required by the Act.

Commission—National Board—the commission issued by
the National Board of Boiler and Pressure V essel Inspectors to
a holder of a certificate of competency who desires to make
shop inspections or field inspections in accordance with the
national board bylaws and whose employer submits the
inspector application to the national board for such
commission.

Condemned Boiler or Pressure Vessel—aboiler or pressure
vessel that has been inspected and declared unsafe, or
disqualified by legal requirements, by an inspector and a
stamping or marking designating its condemnation has been
applied by the chief inspector, deputy or special inspector.

Existing Installation—includes any boiler constructed,
installed, placed in operation, or contracted for before July 7,
1938 and any pressure vessel (when required by the Act)
before July 16, 1975.

Inspector—the chief inspector, any deputy inspector or
special inspector.

1. Chief Inspector—the chief boiler and pressure vessel
inspector, appointed under the Act.

2. Deputy Inspector—any inspector, employed by this
state and appointed by the assistant secretary under the
provisions of the Act.

3. Special Inspector—an inspector holding a Certificate
of Competency, and who is regularly employed by an insurance
company authorized to insure against loss from explosion of
boilers or pressure vesselsin this state.

Jurisdiction—a state, commonwealth, county or
municipality of the United States or a province of Canada,
which has adopted one or more sections of the ASME Code, or



other codes and standards accepted by the National Board of
Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors, and maintains a duly
constituted department, bureau or division for the purpose of
enforcement of such Code.

National Board—the National Board of Boiler and Pressure
Vessel Inspectors, 1055 Crupper Avenue, Columbus, Ohio
43229, whose membership is composed of the chief inspectors
of jurisdictions, who are charged with the enforcement of the
provisions of the ASME Code.

National Board I nspection Code—the manual for boiler and
pressure vessel inspectors published by the National Board of
Boiler and Pressure Vessdl Inspectors, from which copies may
be obtained.

New Boiler or Pressure Vessel—includes al boilers
constructed, installed, placed in operation or contracted for
after July 7, 1938, or pressure vessels (when requested) after
July 16, 1975.

Nonstandard Boiler or Pressure Vessel—a boiler or
pressure vessel that does not bear the ASME stamp, the
API-ASME stamp, or the stamp of any jurisdiction which has
adopted a standard of construction equivalent to that required
by these rules.

Owner or User—any person, firm or corporation legally
responsible for the safe installation, operation and maintenance
of any boiler or pressure vessel within this jurisdiction.

Pressure Vessel—avessel in which the pressure is obtained
from an external source, or by the application of heat from an
indirect source, or from adirect source other than those boilers
defined herein, and shall be those vessels within the scope of
Section VI1II of the ASME Code.

PSI G—pounds per square inch gauge.

Reinstalled Boiler or Pressure Vessel—aboiler or pressure
vessel removed from its original setting and reinstalled at the
same location or at a new location without change of
ownership.

Repair—the work necessary to restore a boiler or pressure
vessel to a safe and satisfactory operating condition, provided
there is no deviation from the original design.

Repair/Pressure  Relief ~ Valve—the  replacement,
re-machining or cleaning of any critical part, lapping of seat
and disk or any other operation which may affect the flow
passage, capacity function or pressure retaining ability of the
valve. Disassembly, reassembly and/or adjustments which
affect the pressure relief valve function are also considered
repair.

Second Hand Boiler or Pressure Vessel—a boiler or
pressure vessel which has changed both locations and
ownership since its primary use.

Standard Boiler or Pressure Vessel—a boiler or pressure
vessel which bearsthe stamp of the state, the ASME stamp, the
API-ASME stamp, both the ASME and national board stamp,
or the stamp of another jurisdiction which has adopted a
standard of construction equivalent to that required by this
state.

Water Heater—a vessel in which water is heated by
combustion of fuel or electricity, for use external to the system
at pressures not exceeding 160 psig and shall include all
controls and devices necessary to prevent water temperatures
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from exceeding 210EF as well as storage vessels connected to
the water heater (also defined as a potable water boiler).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
Chapter 52.  Administration
§5201. Compliance with Code Reguirements

A. No boiler shall be installed in this state unless it has
been constructed, inspected and stamped in conformity with
the ASME Code and registered with the National Board except:

1. those exempt by the Act;
2. those existing installations (see definitions);
3. those potable water heaters exempted by Part

HLW-101, Section IV of the ASME Code, that are required by
the Act, to comply with these rules. (Those heaters must be
designed and constructed according to Underwriter's
Laboratories or other nationally recognized standards, and
shall bear their label on the completed unit);

4. those approved as "Louisiana Special."

B. Louisiana Special. If, due to a valid impediment to
compliance with the original code of construction, a boiler
cannot bear the required construction code and national board
stamping, details in the English language and United States
customary units of the proposed construction, material
specifications and calculations, approved by a registered
professional engineer experienced in boiler systems design,
shall be submitted to the chief inspector by the owner or user
and approval as Louisiana Special obtained before
construction is started.

C. A boiler having a standard or special stamping of
another state that has adopted a standard of construction
equivalent to that required for Louisiana, may be accepted by
the assistant secretary. The owner/user desiring to install such
aboiler shall make application for the installation of same and
shall file with the application of a manufacturer's data report
covering the construction of the boiler in question and a copy
of the approval for construction from the state in which the
boiler was fabricated.

D. Thestamping, ASME, NB, or Standard Label, shall not
be concealed by lagging or paint and shall be exposed at all
times unless a suitable cover is provided and identifies the
stamping as beneath the cover, or asuitable record is kept of
the location of the stamping so that it may be readily
uncovered.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5203. Boiler Inspections

A. Upon completion of installation, all boilers shall be
inspected by an inspector commissioned to inspect boilersin
this state, and shall be inspected thereafter as follows.

1. Power boilers shall receive an internal certificate
inspection annually, with the exception of those covered by
R.S. 23:536(A), and may receive an external inspection while
under pressure at approximately six months following the
internal inspection.
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2. High temperature and high pressure water boilers
shall receive an external inspection annually, with an internal
inspection done every six years based on the date of
manufacture.

3. Low pressure boilers and potable water boilers shall
receive a certificate inspection annually as follows.

a. Steam heating boilers shall receive an internal
inspection every two years where construction permits,
otherwise, athorough external inspection shall be performed.

b. Hotwater heating and hot water supply boilers shall
receive an external inspection every two years and where
construction permits an internal inspection every six years
based on the date of manufacture.

c. All potable water boilers/water heaters shall
receive an external inspection, including the functions of all
controls and devises, at the initial installation, except those
located in privately owned residences. Those potable water
boilers/water heaters 50 gallons in capacity and larger
(including any attached storage vessels) and/or 100,000 Btu/hr
heat input, shall be issued a state jurisdiction number and a
certificate to operate. Those heaters issued an operating
certificate will require an external inspection every two years
thereafter.

B. Upon application from the owner or user with the
recommendation of a deputy inspector or special inspector, the
chief inspector may authorize an extension of the internal
inspection period, as provided for by the Act.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5205. Second-Hand Installations to Comply with New

Installation Requirements

In any case where a second-hand boiler isinstalled, that is,
both the ownership and location of which is changed, all
fittings and appliances must comply with the applicable
current ASME Code section for New Installations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5207. Application of State Serial Numbers

A. Upon completion of theinstallation of a boiler, or at the
time of the initial certificate inspection of an already installed
boiler that has not been inspected and stamped according to
these rules, each power boiler and high pressure high
temperature water boiler shall be stamped by the inspector
with a serial nhumber of the state, consisting of letters and
figures to be not less 5/16 inch in height and arranged as
follows: 00000LA (state serial numbers 00001-49999 shall be
referred to as high pressure numbers and used for power
boilers and high pressure high temperature water boilers.
Numbers 50000 and above shall be referred to as low pressure
numbers and a decal provided for attachment to all other
boilers).

B. All other low pressure boilers, potable water boilers and
water heaters shall have securely attached to the front of the
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unit, if possible, the low pressure decal provided by the boiler
inspection section, containing the state serial number.

C. Pressurevessels when requested to be inspected by the
owner or user shall have securely attached one of the low
pressure decals provided by the boiler inspection section
containing the state serial number, and shall be stamped under
the same pressure and temperature guidelines provided for
boilers by these rules.

D. State serial numbers that have been stamped or
otherwise attached to a boiler shall not be defaced or removed
except as provided for by these rules and regul ations, and shall
not be covered by insulation or other material.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5209. Examination for an Inspector's Certificate of

Competency

A. Examination for aninspector's certificate of competency
shall be held at the Office of the State Fire Marshal or any
other location to be selected by the chief inspector, four times
each year, namely the first Wednesday and one-half day
Thursday in the months of March, June, September and
December. An applicant for an examination shall have
education and experience equal to at least one of the following:

1. from an accredited school, a degree in engineering
plus oneyear of experience in design, construction, operation
or inspection of high-pressure boilers and pressure vessels;

2. an associate degree in mechanical technology plus
two years of experience in design, construction, operation or
inspection of high-pressure boilers and pressure vessels;

3. ahigh school education or the equivalent plus three
years of experience:

a. in high-pressure boiler and pressure vessel
construction or repair; or

b. incharge of high-pressure boiler operation; or

c. in the inspection of high-pressure boilers and
pressure vessels.

B. Applications for examination shall be in writing on a
form to be furnished by the chief inspector stating the
education of the applicant, alist of the applicant’ s employers,
the applicant’ s period of employment and position held with
each employer. Applications containing willful falsifications
or untruthful statements shall be cause for rejection.
Applications shall be submitted to the chief inspector at least
45 days prior to the date of examination. If the applicant's
education and experience are acceptable to the chief inspector,
the applicant shall be given awritten examination prepared by
the National Board of Boiler and Pressure Vessel Inspectors or
the American Petroleum Institute, as applicable, dealing with
the construction, maintenance and repair of boilers and
pressure vessels and appurtenances, and the applicant shall be
accepted or rejected on the merits of this examination. If the
applicant is successful in meeting the requirements, a
certificate of competency will be issued by the chief inspector,



when the applicant is employed on a full-time basis by an
authorized inspection organization (see definitions). Upon the
expiration of 90 days, an applicant who failed to pass the
examination will be permitted to take another written
examination and applicant's acceptance or rejection will be
determined on the basis of this examination.

C. AnNDE Level Il examiner of ASME Code boilers and
pressure vessels may be credited one year toward the
experience requirements above, provided the applicant has
five years of documented experience in that position and meets
all other requirements.

D. A quality control inspector of ASME Code boilers and
pressure vessels, applying under §5209.A.3, may be credited
with 4 months of experience under the experience
requirements of such section for each year of documented,
diversified experience he/she possesses in the implementation
of an ASME accepted written quality control/assurance
system, up to a maximum of 24 months of such credit,
provided that the applicant meets all other applicable
requirements and provided that he/she has the balance of
experience required under 85209.A.3 in actual work described
in 85209.A.3.a, b, or c.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5211. Examination Fees

A fee of $25 will be charged for each applicant taking the
examination for a certificate of competency.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5213. Certificate of Competency and Identification

Card

A. Upon request of an employer, a certificate of
competency and an identification card may be issued by the
chief inspector to:

1. aninspector employed by the jurisdiction;

2. an inspector who is employed full-time by an
insurance company which is authorized to insure and does
insure against loss from explosions of boilers and pressure
vessels in thisjurisdiction;

3. an inspector employed as described in either one or
two above who conducts shop or field inspections of new
boilers, pressure vessels, or nuclear components in accordance
with the applicable ASME Code requirements.

B. The request for the certificate of competency and
identification card shall be completed on forms to be provided
by the chief inspector and shall be accompanied by, when
applicable, a facsimile of the applicant's commission and
commission card, certificate of competency and identification
card as named above, and a fee of $40.

C. The certificate of competency and valid identification
card shall be returned to the chief inspector when the inspector
to whom they were issued is no longer employed by the
organization employing that inspector at the time that the
certificate was issued. Each person holding avalid certificate
of competency and who conducts inspections as provided by
the Act shall apply to the chief inspector on forms provided

and obtain arenewal identification card annually, not later than
March 31 of each year. A fee of $20 for each card shall
accompany each applicant.

D. An inspector's certificate of competency may be
suspended by the chief inspector after due investigation for
neglect of duty, incompetency, untrustworthiness or conflict of
interest of the holder thereof, or for willful falsification of any
matter or statement contained in his/her application, or in a
report of any inspection made by him/her. Written notice of any
such suspension shall be given to the inspector and his/her
employer by the chief inspector within not more than 10 days
after the effective date of such suspension. Persons whose
certificates of competency have been suspended shall be
entitled to an appeal to the assistant secretary and to be present
in person and represented by counsel at the hearing of the
appeal.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5215. Conflict of Interest

An inspector shall not engage in the sale of any services,
article or device relating to boilers, pressure vessels, or their
appurtenances.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5217. Inspection Reportstobe Submitted by Inspectors

A. Insurance companies inspecting boilers subject to the
rules and regulations herein, shall be responsible for the
proper invoicing of any fees due for the certificates of
operation on any boilers inspected by such company.

B. Reportsshall be submitted on approved forms or format
within 30 from the date of the inspection. The copy of the
report filed with the assistant secretary shall be filled out in ink
or typewritten, and shall be signed by the inspector.

C. External inspection reports are required when they are
used to support a request for an extension of internal
inspection, when the design of a vessel does not provide for an
internal inspection an annual external certificate inspection
shall be completed, and to report unsafe conditions or code
violations which would affect the safety of the boiler.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5219. Insurance Companiesto Notify Chief Inspector of

New, Canceled or Suspended Insurance on
Boilers, Pressure Vessels, or Nuclear Systems

All insurance companies shall notify the chief inspector,
within 30 days, of all boilers, pressure vessels, or nuclear
systems on which insurance is written, canceled, not renewed
or suspended because of unsafe conditions.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5221. Special Inspectors to Notify Chief Inspector of

Unsafe Boilers
If a special inspector, upon first inspection of a new risk,
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finds that a boiler or any appurtenance thereof, is in such
condition that the special inspector’s company would refuse
insurance, the company shall immediately notify the chief
inspector and submit a report on the defects. If, upon
inspection, a special inspector finds a boiler to be unsafe for
further operation, the special inspector shall promptly notify
the owner or user, stating what repairs or other corrective
measures are required to bring the object into compliance with
these rules. If the owner or user fails to make such repairs or
adopt such other corrective measures promptly, the special
inspector shall immediately notify the chief inspector. Until
such corrections have been made, no further operation of the
boiler involved shall be permitted. If an inspection certificate
for the object is required and isin force, it shall be suspended
by the chief inspector. When reinspection establishes that the
necessary repairs have been made or corrective actions have
been taken and that the boiler is safe to operate, the chief
inspector shall be notified. At that time an inspection
certificate, where applicable, will be issued.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5223. Defective Conditions Disclosed at Time of

External I nspection

If, upon an external inspection, there is evidence of aleak or
crack, sufficient covering of the boiler shall be removed to
permit the inspector to satisfactorily determine the safety of the
boiler. If the covering cannot be removed at that time, he/she
may order the operation of the boiler stopped until such time
as the covering can be removed and proper examination made.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
Chapter 54. Existing Installations: Power, Steam, Hot

Water Heating and Hot Water Supply
Boilers
§5401. Age Limitsof Existing Boilers

A. Theagelimit of any boiler of nonstandard construction,
installed prior to the date the Act became effective, shall be 30
years except that, a boiler having other than a lap-riveted
longitudinal joint, after a thorough internal and external
inspection, and when required by the inspector, a hydrostatic
test of one and one half times the allowable working pressure
held for a period of at least 30 minutes during which no
distress or leakage develops, may be continued in operation at
the working pressure determined by 85405. The age limit on
any nonstandard boiler having lap-riveted longitudinal joints
and operating at a pressure in excess of 50 psig shall be 20
years. This type of boiler, when removed from an existing
setting shall not be reinstalled for a pressure in excess of 15
psig. A reasonable time for replacement, not to exceed one
year, may be given at the discretion of the assistant secretary.

B. The age limit of boilers of standard construction
instal led prior to the date this law, Title 23, Chapter 5, Page
11, of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, became
effective shall be dependent on thorough internal and external
inspection and where required by the inspector, a hydrostatic
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pressure test not exceeding one and one-half times the
allowable working pressure, if the boiler, under these test
conditions, exhibits no distress or leakage, it may be continued
in operation at the working pressure determined by §5403.

C. Theshél or drum of aboiler in which alap seam crack
develops along a longitudinal lap-riveted joint shall be
condemned. A lap seam crack is a crack found in lap seams
extending parallel to the longitudinal joint and located either
between or adjacent to rivet holes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5403. Maximum Allowable Working Pressure for

Standard Boilers

The maximum allowable working pressure for standard
boilers shall be determined in accordance with the applicable
provisions of the edition of the ASME Code under which they
were constructed and stamped.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5405. Maximum Allowable Working Pressure for

Nonstandard Boilers

A. The maximum allowable working pressure for boilers
fabricated by riveting shall be determined by the applicable
rules of the 1971 Edition of Section | of the ASME Code.

B. The lowest factor of safety permissible on existing
installations shall be 5 except for horizontal-return-tubular
boilers having continuous longitudinal lap seams more than 12
feet in length, the factor of safety shall be 8. When this |atter
type of boiler is removed from its existing setting, it shall not
be reinstalled for pressure in excess of 15 psig.

C. The maximum allowable working pressure for boilers
of welded construction in service may not exceed that
alowablein Section | of the ASME Code for new boilers of the
same construction.

D. Themaximum allowable working pressure on the shell
of aboiler or drum shall be determined by the strength of the
weakest course computed from the thickness of the plate, the
tensile strength of the plate, the efficiency of the longitudinal
joint, theinside diameter of the course, and the factor of safety
allowed by these rules and regulations in accordance with the
following formula:

TSE .

OFS maximum allowable working pressure, psig

where:

TS = specified minimum tensile strength of shell plate
material, psi. When the tensile strength of steel or
wrought-iron shell plate is not known, it shall be taken as
55,000 psi for steel and 45,000 psi for wrought iron.

t = minimum thickness of shell plate, in weakest course,
inches.

E = efficiency of longitudinal joint, method of determining
which is given in Paragraph PG-27 of Section | of the ASME
Code.



R =inside radius of the weakest course of the shell of drum,
inches.
FS = factor of safety which shall be at least 5.

E. The inspector may increase the factor of safety, if the
condition and safety of the boiler warrant it.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5407. Cast-Iron Headersand Mud Drums

The maximum allowable working pressure on awater tube
boiler, the tubes of which are secured to cast-iron or
malleable-iron headers or which have cast-iron mud drums,
shall not exceed 160 psig.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
8§5409. Pressureon Cast-lron Boilers

The maximum allowable working pressure for any cast-iron
boiler, except hot water boilers, shall be 15 psig.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5411. Safety Valves

A. Theuseof weighted-lever safety valves or safety valves
having either the seat or disk of cast-iron is prohibited; valves
of thistype of construction shall be replaced by direct, spring-
loaded, pop-type valves that conform to the requirements of
ASME Code, Section I.

B. Eachboiler shall have at least one ASME/NB stamped
and certified safety valve, and if it has more than 500 square
feet of water-heating surface, or an electric power input of
more than 1,100 KW, it shall have two or more safety valves
of the same type.

C. Thevalve or valves shall be connected to the boiler,
independent of any other steam connection and attached as
close as possible to the boiler without unnecessary intervening
pipe or fittings. Where alteration is required to conform to this
requirement, owner or user shall be allowed reasonable time
in which to complete the work as permitted by the chief
inspector.

D. No valves of any description shall be placed between
the safety valve and the boiler nor on the escape pipe, if used.
When an escape pipeis used, it shall be at least the full size of
the safety valve discharge and fitted with an open drain to
prevent water lodging in the upper part of the safety valve or
in the escape pipe. When an elbow is placed on a safety valve
escape pipe, it shall be located close to the safety valve outlet
or the escape pipe shall be anchored and supported securely.
All safety discharges shall be so located or piped as to be
carried clear from walkways or platforms.

E. The safety valve capacity of each boiler shall be such
that the safety valve or valves will discharge all the steam that
can be generated by the boiler without allowing the pressure to
rise more than 6 percent above the highest pressure to which
any valve is set, and in no case to more than 6 percent above
the maximum allowable working pressure.

F. Oneor more safety valves on every boiler shall be set at
or below the maximum allowable working pressure. The
remaining valves may be set within arange of 3 percent above
the maximum allowable working pressure, but the range of
setting of al the safety valves on a boiler shall not exceed 10
percent of the highest pressure to which any valve is set.

G. Whenboailers of different maximum allowable working
pressures with minimum safety valve settings varying more
than 6 percent are so connected that steam can flow toward the
lower pressure units, the latter shall be protected by additional
safety valve capacity, if necessary, on the lower pressure side
of the system. The additional safety valve capacity shall be
based upon the maximum amount of steam which can flow into
the lower pressure system.

H. In those cases where the boiler is supplied with
feedwater directly from water mains without the use of feeding
apparatus (not to include return traps), no safety valve shall be
set at apressure greater than 94 percent of the lowest pressure
obtained in the supply main feeding the boiler.

I.  Therelieving capacity of the safety valves on any boiler
shall be done by one of the three following methods and, if
found to be insufficient, additional valves shall be provided:

1. by making an accumulation test, which consists of
shutting off all other steam discharge outlets from the boiler
and forcing the fires to the maximum. The safety valve capacity
shall be sufficient to prevent arise of pressure in excess of 6
percent of the maximum allowable working pressure. This
method should not be used on a boiler with a superheater or
reheater;

2. by measuring the maximum amount of fuel that can be
burned and computing the corresponding evaporative capacity
(steam generating capacity) upon the basis of the heating value
of this fuel. These computations shall be made as outlined in
the Appendix of the ASME Code, Section I;

3. by measuring the maximum amount of feedwater that
can be evaporated. When either of the methods outlined in
§5411.1.2 or 3 is employed, the sum of the safety valve
capacities shall be equal to or greater than the maximum
evaporative capacity (maximum steam generating capacity) of
the boiler.

J. Repairs to safety and safety-relief valves shall be
conducted only by holders of the National Board "VR"
Certificate of Authorization, or by owner/users that have
obtai ned the state certificate of authorization to repair safety
and safety-relief valves.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5413. Boiler Feeding

A. Each boiler shall have afeed supply which will permit
it to be fed at any time while under pressure.

B. A boiler having more than 500 square feet of water
heating surface shall have at least two suitable means of
feeding, at least one of which shall be afeed pump. A source
of feed at a pressure 6 percent greater than the set pressure of
the safety valve with the highest setting may be considered one
of the means. Boilers fired by gaseous, liquid, or solid
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fuel in suspension may be equipped with a single means of
feeding water provided means are furnished for the shutoff of
heat input prior to the water level reaching the lowest safe
level.

C. Thefeedwater shall be introduced into aboiler in such
amanner that the water will not be discharged directly against
surfaces exposed to gases of high temperature to direct
radiation from the fire. For pressures of 400 psig over, the
feedwater inlet through the drum shall be fitted with shields,
sleeves, or other suitable means to reduce the effects of
temperature differentials in the shell or head.

D. The feed piping to the boiler shall be provided with a
check valve near the boiler and a valve or cock between the
check valve and the boiler. When two or more boilers are fed
from a common source, there shall also be a valve on the
branch to each boiler between the check valve and the source
of supply. Whenever a globe valve is used on feed piping, the
inlet shall be under the disk of the valve.

E. In all cases where returns are fed back to the boiler by
gravity, there shall be a check valve and stop valve in each
return line, the stop valve to be place between the boiler and
the check valve, and both shall be located as close to the boiler
as practicable. It isrecommended that no stop valves be placed
in the supply and return pipe connections of a single boiler
installation.

F. Where deaerating heaters are not employed, it is
recommended that the temperature of the feedwater be not less
than 120EF to avoid the possibility of setting up localized
stress. Where deaerating heaters are employed, it is
recommended that the minimum feedwater temperature be not
less than 215EF so that dissolved gases may be thoroughly
released.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5415. Water Level Indicators

A. Each boiler, except forced-flow steam generators with
no fixed steam and waterline, and high-temperature water
boiler of the forced circulation type that have no steam and
waterline, shall have at least one water gage glass. Boilers
operated at pressures over 400 psig shall be provided with two
water gage glasses which may be connected to a single water
column or connected directly to the drum.

B. Two independent remote level indicators may be
provided instead of one of the two required gage glasses for
boiler drum water level indication in the case of power boilers
with all drum safety valves set at or above 400 psig. When
both remote level indicators are in reliable operation, the
remaining gage glass may be shut off, but shall be maintained
in serviceable condition.

C. Whenthedirect reading of gage glass water level is not
readily visible to the operator in his’her working area, two
dependable indirect indications shall be provided, either by
transmission of the gage glass image or by remote level
indicators.

D. Thelowest visible part of the water gage glass shall be
at least 2 inches above the lowest permissible water level, at
which level there will be no danger of overheating any part of
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the boiler when in operation at that level. When remote level
indication is provided for the operator in lieu of the gage glass,
the same minimum level reference shall be clearly marked.

E. Connections from the boiler to the remote level
indicator shall be at least ¥+-inch pipe size to and including the
isolation valve and from there to the remote level indicator at
least ¥2-inch outside diameter (0.d.) tubing. These connections
shall be completely independent of other connections for any
function other than water level indication. For pressures of 400
psig or over, lower connections to drums shall be provided
with shields, sleeves, or other suitable means to reduce
temperature differentials in the shells or heads.

F. Boilers of the horizontal firetube types shall be so set
that when the water is at the lowest reading in the water gage
glass there shall be at least 3 inches of water over the highest
point of the tubes, flues, or crown sheets.

G. Boilers of locomotives shall have at least one water
glass provided with top and bottom shutoff cocks and lamp,
and two gage cocks for boilers 36 inches in diameter and
under, and three gage cocks for boilers over 36 inches in
diameter.

H. The lowest gage cock and the lowest reading of water
glassshall not be less that 2 inches above the highest point of
crown sheet on boilers 36 inches in diameter and under, nor
lessthan 3 inchesfor boilers over 36 inches in diameter. These
are minimum dimensions, and on larger locomotives and those
operating on steep grades, the height should be increased, if
necessary, to compensate for change of water level on
descending grades.

I.  The bottom mounting for water glass and for water
column if used must extend not less than 1%z inches inside the
boiler and beyond any obstacle immediately above it, and the
passage therein must be straight and horizontal.

J. Tubular water glasses must be equipped with a
protecting shield.

K. All connections on the gage glass shall be not less than
Y-inch pipe size. Each water gage glass shall be fitted with a
drain cock or valve having an unrestricted drain opening of not
less than %-inch diameter to facilitate cleaning. When the
boiler operating pressure exceeds 100 psig the glass shall be
furnished with a connection to install avalved drain to the ash
pit or other safe discharge point.

L. Eachwater gage glass shall be equipped with atop and
bottom shutoff valve of such through-flow construction as to
prevent stoppage by deposits of sediments. If the lowest valve
ismorethan 7 feet above the floor or platform from which it is
operated, the operating mechanism shall indicate by its
position whether the valve is open or closed. The
pressure-temperature rating shall be at least equal to that if the
lowest set pressure of any safety valve on the boiler drum and
the corresponding saturated-steam temperature.

M. Straight-run globe valves shall not be used on such
connections.

N. Automatic shutoff valves, if permitted to be used, shall
conform to the requirements of Section | of the ASME Code.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:



§5417. Water Columns

A. The water column shall be so mounted that it will
maintai n its correct position relative to the normal waterline
under operating conditions.

B. Theminimum size of pipes connecting the water column
to aboiler shall be 1 inch. For pressures of 400 psig or over,
lower water column connections to drums shall be provided
with shields, sleeves or other suitable means to reduce the
effect of temperature differentials in the shells or heads. Water
glass fittings or gage cocks may be connected directly to the
boiler.

C. The steam and water connections to awater column or
awater gage glass shall be such that they are readily accessible
for internal inspection and cleaning. Some acceptable methods
of meeting this requirement are by providing a cross or fitting
with aback outlet at each right-angle turn to permit inspection
and cleaning in both directions, or by using pipe bends or
fittings of atype which does not leave an internal shoulder or
pocket in the pipe connection and with aradius of curvature
which will permit the passage of a rotary cleaner. Screwed
plug closures using threaded connections as allowed by
Section | of the ASME Code are acceptable means of access for
this inspection and cleaning. For boilers with all drum safety
valves set at or above 400 psig, socket-welded plugs may be
used for this purpose in lieu of screwed plugs. The water
column shall be fitted with a connection for a drain cock or
drainvalve to install apipe of at least ¥ inch pipe size to the
ash pit or other safe point of discharge. If the water connection
to the water column has arising bend or pocket which cannot
be drained by means of the water column drain, an additional
drain shall be placed on this connection in order that it may be
blown off to clear any sediment from the pipe.

D. Thedesignand materia of awater column shall comply
with the requirements of Section | of the ASME Code. Water
columns made of cast iron in accordance with SA-278 may be
used for maximum boiler pressures not exceeding 250 psig.
Water columns made of ductile iron in accordance with SA-
395 may be used for maximum boiler pressures not exceeding
350 psig. For higher pressures, steel construction shall be
used.

E. Shutoff valves shall not be used in the pipe connections
between a boiler and awater column or between a boiler and
the shutoff valves required for the gage glass, unless they are
either outside-screw- and-yoke or lever-lifting type gate valves
or stopcocks with lever permanently fastened thereto and
marked in line with their passage, or of such other through-
flow construction as to prevent stoppage by deposits of
sediment, and to indicate by the position of the operating
mechanisms whether they are in open or closed position; and
such valves or cocks shall be locked or sealed open. Where
stopcocks are used, they shall be of atype with the plug held in
place by aguard or gland.

F. Nooutlet connections, except for control devices (such
as damper regulators and feedwater regulators), drains, steam
gages, or apparatus of such form as does not permit the escape
of an appreciable amount of steam or water therefrom shall be
placed on the pipes connecting a water column or gage glass
to aboiler.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5419. Gage Glass Connections

A. Gage glasses and/or gage cocks that are not connected
directly to a shell or drum of the boiler shall be connected by
one of the following methods.

1. Thewater gage glass or glasses and gage cocks shall
be connected to an intervening water column.

2. When only water gage glasses are used, they may be
mounted away from the shell or drum and the water column
omitted, provided the following requirements are met:

a. thetop and bottom gage glass fittings are aligned,
supported, and secured so as to maintain the alignment of the
gage glass; and

b. the steam and water connections are not less than
one inch pipe size and each water glass is provided with a
valved drain; and

c. the steam and water connections comply with the
requirements of the following:

i. thelower edge of the steam connection to a water
column or gage glass in the boiler shall not be below the
highest visible water level in the water gage glass. There shall
be no sag or offset in the piping which will permit the
accumulation of water; and

ii. theupper edge of thewater connection to a water
column or gage glass and the boiler shall not be above the
lowest visible water level in the gage glass. No part of this
pipe connection shall be above the point of connection at the
water column.

B. Each boiler (except those not requiring water level
indicators) shall have three or more gage cocks located within
the visible length of the water glass, except when the boiler has
two water glasses located on the same horizontal lines.

C. Boilers not over 36 inches in diameter in which the
heating surface does not exceed 100 square feet require two
gage cocks.

D. Thegage cock connections shall be not less than ¥2-inch
pipe size.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5421. Pressure Gages

A. Eachboiler shall have a pressure gage so located that it
iseasily readable. The pressure gage shall be installed so that
it shall at all times indicate the pressure in the boiler. Each
steam boiler shall have the pressure gage connected to the
steam space or to the water column or its steam connection. A
valve or cock may be located near the boiler providing it is
locked or sealed in the open position. No other shutoff valves
shall be located between the gage and the boiler. The pipe
connection shall be of ample size and arranged so that it maybe
cleared by blowing out. For a steam boiler the gage or
connection shall contain a siphon or equivalent device which
will develop and maintain awater seal that will prevent steam
from entering the gage tube. Pressure gage connections shall
be suitable for the maximum allowable working pressure and
temperature but, if the temperature exceeds 406EF, brass or
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copper pipe or tubing shall not be used. The connections to the
boiler, except the siphon, if used, shall not be less than ¥ainch
inside the diameter standard pipe size but where steel or
wrought iron pipe or tubing is used they shall not be less than
Y inch. The minimum size of a siphon, if used, shall be ¥ inch
inside diameter. The dial of the pressure gage shall be
graduated to approximately double the pressure at which the
safety valveis set, but in no case no less than one and 1% times
this pressure.

B. Each force-flow steam generator with no fixed steam
and water line shall be equipped with pressure gages or other
pressure measuring devices located as follows:

1. attheboiler or superheater outlet (following the last
section which involves absorption of heat); and

2. at the boiler or economizer inlet (preceding any
section which involves absorption of heat); and

3. upstream of any shutoff valve which may be used
between any two sections of the heat absorbing surface.

C. Each high-temperature water boiler shall have a
temperature gage so located and connected that it shall be
easily readable. The temperature gage shall be installed so that
it at all times indicates the temperature in degrees Fahrenheit
of the water in the boiler, at or near the outlet connection.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5423. Stop Valves

A. Each steamoutlet from aboiler (except safety valve and
water column connections) shall be fitted with a stop valve
located as close as practicable to the boiler.

B. When a stop valve is so located that water can
accumulate, ample drains shall be provided. The drainage shall
be piped to a safe location and shall not be discharged on the
top of the boiler or its settings.

C. When bailers provided with manholes are connected to
acommon steam main, the steam piping connected from each
boiler shall befitted with two stop valves having an ample free
blow drain between them. The discharge of the drain shall be
visible to the operator while manipulating the valves and shall
be piped clear of the boiler setting. The stop
valves shall consist preferably of one automatic
nonreturn valve (set next to the boiler) and a second valve of
the outside-screw-and-yoke type.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5425. Blowoff Piping

A. A blowoff as required herein is defined as a pipe
connection provided with valves located in the external piping
through which the water in the boiler may be blown out under
pressure, excepting drains such as are used on water columns,
gage glasses, or piping to feedwater regulators, etc., used for
the purpose of determining the operating conditions of such
equipment. Piping connections used primarily for continuous
operation, such as deconcentrators or continuous blowdown
systems, are not classed as blowoffs but the pipe connections
and all fittings up to and including the first shutoff valve shall
be equal at least to the pressure requirements for the lowest set
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pressure of any safety valve on the boiler drum and with the
corresponding saturated-steam temperature.

B. A surface blowoff shall not exceed 2-Y%-inch pipe size,
and the internal pipe and the terminal connection for the
external pipe, when used, shall form a continuous passage, but
with clearance between their ends and arranged so that the
removal of either will not disturb the other. A properly
designed steel bushing, similar to or the equivalent of those
shown in Figure PG-59.1 of Section | of the ASME Code or a
flanged connection shall be used.

C. Eachboiler except forced-flow steam generators with no
fixed steam and waterline and high-temperature water boilers
shall have abottom blowoff outlet in direct connection with the
lowest water space practicable for external piping conforming
to PG-58.3.6 of Section | of the ASME Code.

D. AIll water walls and water screens which do not drain
back into the boiler, and all integral economizers, shall be
equipped with outlet connections for a blowoff or drain line
and conform to the requirements of PG-58.3.6 or PG-58.3.7 of
the ASME Code.

E. Except as permitted for miniature boilers, the minimum
size of piping and fittings shall be 1 inch, and the maximum
size shall be 2%z inches, except that for boilers with 100 square
feet of heating surface or less, the minimum size of pipe and
fittings may be % inch.

F. Condensate return connections of the same size or larger
than the size herein specified may be used, and the blowoff
may be connected to them. In such case, the blowoff shall be so
located that the connection may be completely drained.

G. A bottom blowoff pipe when exposed to direct furnace
heat shall be protected by firebrick or other heat resisting
material which is so arranged that the pipe may be inspected.

H. Anopeningintheboiler setting for a blowoff pipe shall
be arranged to provide free expansion and contraction.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
8§5427. Repairs, Renewals and Alterations

A. Boiler Fittings and Appliances. Whenever repairs are
made to fittings or appliances or it becomes necessary to
replace them, thework shall comply with the requirements for
new installations.

B. Boilersand Pressure Vessels. Repairs and alterations to
boilers and pressure vessels shall be made, in accordance with
the latest edition of the National Board Inspection Code
(NBIC), only by, or on behalf of, an owner/user, a repair
organization, or an individual having a valid Certificate of
Authorization for use of the "R" Symbol stamp issued by the
National Board of Boiler and Pressure V essel |nspectors.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5429. Conditions Not Covered by these Requirements

All cases not specifically covered by these requirements
shall be treated as new installations or may be referred to the
chief inspector for instructions concerning the requirements.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.



40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5431. Standard Boilers

The maximum allowable working pressure of standard
boilers shall in no case exceed the pressure indicated by the
manufacturer's identification stamped or cast on the boiler or
on aplate secured to it.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5433. Nonstandard Boilers

A. Riveted Boilers. The maximum allowable working
pressure on the shell of a nonstandard riveted heating boiler
shall be determined in accordance with §5405.D, Power
Boilers, except that in no case shall the maximum allowable
working pressure of a steam heating boiler exceed 15 psig, or
ahot water boiler exceed 160 psig or 250EF temperature.

B. Welded Boilers. The maximum allowable working
pressure of a nonstandard steel or wrought iron heating boiler
of welded construction shall not exceed 15 psig for steam. For
other than steam service, the maximum allowable working
pressure shall be calculated in accordance with Section IV of
the ASME Code, but in no case shall it exceed 30 psig.

C. CastlronBoilers

1. The maximum allowable working pressure of a
nonstandard boiler composed principally of cast iron shall not
exceed 15 psig for steam service or 30 psig for hot water
service.

2. The maximum allowable working pressure of a
nonstandard boiler having cast iron shell or heads and steel or
wrought iron tubes shall not exceed 15 psig for steam service
or 30 psig for hot water service.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5435. Potable Water Heaters

A potable water heater shall not be installed or used at
pressures exceeding 160 psig or water temperatures exceeding
210EF. Water heaters may be used to simultaneously provide
potable hot water and space heat in combination, except in
places of public assembly.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5437. Safety Valves

A. Each steam boiler shall have one or more
ASME/National Board stamped and certified safety valves of
the spring pop-type adjusted and sealed to discharge at a
pressure not to exceed 15 psig. Seals shall be attached in a
manner to prevent the valve from being taken apart without
breaking the seal. The safety valves shall be arranged so that
they cannot be reset to relieve at a higher pressure than the
maximum allowable working pressure on the boiler. A body
drain connection below seat level shall be provided by the
manufacturer and this drain shall not be plugged during or after
field inspection. For valves exceeding 2 inches pipe size, the
drain hole or holes shall be tapped not less than 3d -inch pipe

size. For valves less than 2 inches, the drain hole shall not be
less than ¥z inch in diameter.

B. Nosafety valve for a steam boiler shall be smaller than
% inch. No safety valve shall be larger than 4%z inches. The
inlet opening shall have an inside diameter equal to, or greater
than, the seat diameter.

C. The minimum relieving capacity of the valve or valves
shall be governed by the capacity marking on the boiler. The
minimum valve capacity in pounds per hour shall be the
greater of that determined by dividing the maximum Btu output
at the boiler nozzle obtained by the firing of any fuel for which
the unit is installed by 1,000, or shall be determined on the
basis of the pounds of steam generated per hour per square foot
of boiler heating surface as given in Table EHB-6. In many
casesagreater relieving capacity of valves than the minimum
specified by these rules will haveto be provided. In every case,
the requirements of §5437.D shall be met.

Table EHB-6
Minimum Pounds of Steam per Hour
per Square Foot of Heating Surface

Firetube Watertube
Boilers Boilers
Boiler Heating Surface:
Hand fired 5 6
Stoker fired 7 8
Qil, gas, or pulverized fuel fired 8 10
Waterwall Heating Surface:
Hand fired 8 8
Stoker fired 10 12
Qil, gas, or pulverized fuel fired 14 16

1. When a boiler is fired only by a gas giving a heat
value not in excess of 200 Btu per cubic foot, the minimum
safety valve or safety relief valve relieving capacity may be
based on the value given for hand fired boilers above.

2. The minimum safety valve or safety relief valve
relieving capacity for electric boilers shall be 3¥2 pounds per
hour per kilowatt input.

3. For heating surface determination see ASME Code
Section IV, Paragraph HG-403.

D. Thesafety valve capacity for each steam boiler shall be
such that with the fuel burning equipment installed and
operating at maximum capacity, the pressure cannot rise more
than 5 psig above the maximum allowable working pressure.

E. When operating conditions are changed, or additional
boiler heating surface is installed, the valve capacity shall be
increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions and be in
accordance with 8§5437.D. When additional valves are
required, they may be installed on the outlet piping provided
there is no intervening valve.

F. If there is any doubt as to the capacity of the safety
valve, an accumulation test shall be run (See ASME Code,
Section VI, Recommended Rules for Care and Operation of
Heating Boilers).

G. Novalve of any description shall be placed between the
safety valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe between
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the safety valve and the atmosphere. THE DISCHARGE PIPE
SHALL BE AT LEAST FULL SIZE AND BE FITTED WITH AN OPEN
DRAIN TO PREVENT WATER LODGING IN THE UPPER PART OF THE
SAFETY VALVE OR IN THE DISCHARGE PIPE. When an elbow is
placed on the safety valve discharge pipe, it shall be located
close to the safety valve outlet or the discharge pipe shall be
securely anchored and supported. All safety valve discharges
shall be so located or piped as not to endanger persons
working in the area.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
8§5439. Safety Relief Valve Requirementsfor Hot Water

Heating and Hot Water Supply Boilers

A. Each hot water heating and hot water supply boiler shall
have at least one ASME/National Board stamped and certified
safety relief valve set to relieve at or below the maximum
allowable working pressure of the boiler. Each hot water
supply boiler shall have at least one ASME/National Board
stamped and certified safety relief valve of the automatic
reseating type set to relieve at or below maximum allowable
working pressure of the boiler. Safety relief valves
ASME/National Board stamped and certified as to capacity
shall have pop action when tested by steam. When more than
one safety relief valve is used on either a hot water heating or
hot water supply bailer, the additional valve or valves shall be
ASME/National Board stamped and certified and may be set
within a range not to exceed 6 psig above the maximum
allowable working pressure of the boiler up to and including
60 psig and 10 percent for those having a maximum allowable
working pressure exceeding 60 psig. Safety relief valves shall
be spring loaded. Safety relief valves shall be so arranged that
they cannot be reset at a higher pressure than the maximum
indicated in this Subsection.

B. No materias liable to fail due to deterioration or
vulcanization when subject to saturated steam temperature
corresponding to capacity test pressure shall be used for any
part.

C. No safety relief valve shall be smaller than %2 inch nor
larger than 4%-inch standard pipe size, except that boilers
having a heat input not greater than 15,000 Btu per hour may
be equipped with a safety relief valve of ¥2-inch standard pipe
size. The inlet opening shall have an inside diameter
approximately equal to, or greater than, the seat diameter. In
no case shall the minimum opening through any part of the
valve be less than ¥4 inch in diameter or its equivalent area.

D. The required steam relieving capacity, in pounds per
hour, of the pressure relieving device or devices on a boiler
shall be the greater of that determined by dividing the
maximum output in Btu at the boiler nozzle obtained by the
firing of any fuel for which the unit is installed by 1,000 or
shall be determined on the basis of pounds of steam generated
per hour per square foot of boiler heating surface as given in
Table EHB-6. In many cases, a greater relieving capacity of
vaveswill have to be provided than the minimum specified by
theserules. In every case, the requirements of 85439.F shall be
met.

E. When operating conditions are changed, or additional
boiler heating surface is installed the valve capacity shall be
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increased, if necessary, to meet the new conditions and shall be
in accordance with 85439.F. The additional valves required
because of changed conditions may be installed on the outlet
piping provided there is no intervening valve.

F. Safety relief valve capacity for each boiler shall be such
that, with the fuel burning equipment installed and operated at
maximum capacity, the pressure cannot rise more than 6 psi
above the maximum allowable working pressure for pressures
up to and including 60 psi and 10 percent of maximum
allowable working pressure over 60 psi.

G. Ifthereisany doubt asto the capacity of the safety relief
valve, an accumulation test shall be run. (See ASME Code,
Section VI, Recommended Rules for Care and Operation of
Heating Boilers.)

H. Novalve of any description shall be placed between the
safety relief valve and the boiler, nor on the discharge pipe
between the safety relief valve and the atmosphere. THE
DISCHARGE PIPE SHALL BE NOT LESS THAN THE DIAMETER OF THE
SAFETY RELIEFVALVE OUTLET AND FITTED WITH AN OPEN DRAIN
TOPREVENT WATER LODGING IN THE UPPER PART OF THE SAFETY
RELIEF VALVE OR IN THE DISCHARGE PIPE. When an elbow is
placed on the safety relief valve discharge pipe, it shall be
located close to the safety relief valve outlet or the discharge
pipe shall be securely anchored and supported. All safety relief
valve discharges shall be so located or piped as not to
endanger persons working in the area.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5441. Steam Gages for Steam Heating Boilers

A. Each steambailer shall have a steam gage or compound
steam gage connected to its steam space or to its water column
or to its steam connection. The gage or connection shall
contain a siphon or equivalent device which will develop and
maintain awater seal that will prevent steam from entering the
gage tube. The connection shall be so arranged that the gage
cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a cock placed in
the pipe at the gage and provided with atee or lever handle
arranged to be parallel to the pipe in which it is located when
the cock is open. The connectionsto the boiler shall be not less
than Yz-inch standard pipe size, but where steel or wrought iron
pipe or tubing is used, they shall not be less than %4-inch
standard pipe size. The minimum size of a siphon, if used,
shall be %sinch inside diameter. Ferrous and nonferrous tubing
having inside diameters at least equal to that of standard pipe
sizes listed above may be substituted for pipe.

B. The scale on the dial of a steam boiler gage shall be
graduated to not less than 30 psig nor more than 60 psig. The
travel of the pointer from 0 to 30 psig pressure shall be at least
3 inches.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
8§5443. Pressure or Altitude Gages and Thermometer

A. Each hot water boiler shall have a pressure or atitude
gage connected toit or to its flow connection in such a manner
that it cannot be shut off from the boiler except by a cock with
tee or lever handle placed on the pipe near the gage. The



handle of the cock shall be parallel to the pipe in which it is
located when the cock is open.

B. The scale on the dial of the pressure of altitude gage
shall be graduated approximately to not less than 1% nor more
than 3 timesthe pressure at which the safety relief valve is set.

C. Piping or tubing for pressure or altitude-gage
connections shall be of nonferrous metal when smaller than 1
inch pipe size.

D. Each hot water boiler shall have a thermometer so
located and connected that it shall be easily readable when
observing the water pressure or altitude. The thermometer
shall be so located that it shall at al times indicate the
temperature in degrees Fahrenheit of the water in the boiler at
or near the outlet.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5445. Water Gage Glasses

A. Each steam boiler shall have one or more water gage
glasses attached to the water column or boiler by means of
val ved fittings not less than Y2-inch pipe size, with the lower
fitting provided with a drain valve of a type having an
unrestricted drain opening not less than % inch in diameter to
facilitate cleaning. Gage glass replacement shall be possible
under pressure. Water glass fittings may be attached directly to
aboiler.

B. Boilershaving aninternal vertical height of less than 10
inches may be equipped with a water level indicator of the
glass bull's-eye type provided the indicator is of sufficient size
to show the water at both normal operating and low water
cutoff levels.

C. Thelowest visible part of the water gage glass shall be
at least 1 inch above the lowest permissible water level
recommended by the boiler manufacturer. With the boiler
operating at thislowest permissible water level, there shall be
no danger of overheating any part of the boiler.

D. Eachboailer shall be provided at the time of manufacture
with a permanent marker indicating the lowest permissible
water level. The marker shall be stamped, etched, or cast in
metal; or it shall be a metallic plate attached by rivets, screws,
or welding; or it shall consist of material with documented
tests showing its suitability as permanent marking for the
application. This marker shall be visible at all times. Where
the boiler is shipped with ajacket, this marker may be located
on the jacket.

E. Inelectric boilers of the submerged electrode type, the
water gage glass shall be so located to indicate the water levels
both at startup and under maximum steam load conditions as
established by the manufacturer.

F. Inelectric boilers of the resistance heating element type
the lowest visible part of the water gage glass shall not be
below the top of the electric resistance heating element. Each
boiler of this type shall also be equipped with an automatic
low-water electrical power cutoff so located as to
automatically cut off the power supply before the surface of the
water falls below the top of the electrical resistance heating
elements.

G. Tubular water glasses on electric boilers having a
normal water content not exceeding 100 gallons shall be
equipped with a protective shield.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5447. Stop Valves

A. Whenastop valveisused in the supply pipe connection
of asingle steam boiler, there shall be one used in the return
pipe connection.

B. Stop valvesin single hot water heating boilers shall be
located at an accessible point in the supply and return pipe
connections, as near the boiler nozzle as is convenient and
practicable, to permit draining the boiler without emptying the
system.

C. Whentheboiler islocated above the system and can be
drained without draining the system, stop valves may be
eliminated.

D. A stop valve shall be used in each supply and return
pipe connection of two or more boilers connected to a common
system.

E. All valves or cocks shall conform to the applicable
portions of HF-203 of Section 1V of the ASME Code and may
be ferrous or nonferrous.

F.  The minimum pressure rating of all valves or cocks
shall be at least equal to the pressure stamped upon the boiler,
and the temperature rating of such valves or cocks, including
all internal components, shall be not less than 250EF.

G. Vavesor cocksshal be flanged, threaded or have ends
suitable for welding or brazing.

H. All valves or cocks with stems or spindles shall have
adjustable pressure type packing glands and, in addition, all
plug type cocks shall be equipped with aguard or gland. The
plug or other operating mechanism shall be distinctly marked
in line with the passage to indicate whether it is opened or
closed.

I.  All valvesor cocks shall have tight closure when under
boiler pressure test.

J. When stop valves are used, they shall be properly
designated substantially by tags of metal or other durable
material fastened to them.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5449. Feedwater Connections

A. Feedwater, makeup water, or water treatment shall be
introduced into a boiler through the return piping system.
Alternatively, makeup water or water treatment may be
introduced through an independent connection. The water flow
from the independent connection shall not discharge directly
against parts of the boiler exposed to direct radiant heat from
the fire. Makeup water or water treatment shall not be
introduced through openings or connections provided
inspection or cleaning, safety valve, safety relief valve,
blowoff, water column, water gage glass, pressure gage, or
temperature.
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B. Themakeup water pipe shall be provided with a check
valve near the boiler and a stop valve or cock between the
check valve and the boiler or between the check valve and the
return pipe system.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5451. Water Column and Water Level Control Pipes

A. The minimum size of ferrous or nonferrous pipes
connecting a water column to a steam boiler shall be 1 inch.
No outlet connections, except for damper regulator, feedwater
regulator, steam gages, or apparatus which does not permit the
escape of any steam or water except for manually operated
blowdowns, shall be attached to awater column or the piping
connecting awater column to aboiler. (See HG-705 of Section
IV of the ASME Code for introduction of feedwater into a
boiler.) If thewater column, gage glass, low-water fuel cutoff,
or other water level control deviceis connected to the boiler by
pipe and fittings, no shutoff valves of any type shall be placed
insuch pipe, and a cross or equivalent fitting to which adrain
valve and piping may be attached shall be placed in the water
piping connection at every right angle turn to facilitate
cleaning.

B. The steam connections to the water column of a
horizontal firetube wrought iron boiler shall be taken from the
top of the shell or the upper part of the head, and the water
connection shall be taken from apoint not above the center line
of the shell. For acast iron boiler, the steam connection to the
water column shall be taken from the top of an end section or
the top of the steam header, and the water connection shall be
made on an end section not less than 6 inches below the bottom
connection to the water gage glass.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5453. Return Pump

A. Each boiler equipped with a condensate return pump
shall be provided with a water level control arranged to
automatically maintain the water level in the boiler within the
range of the gage glass.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
Chapter 56. Potable Water Heaters (Hot Water

Heaters Other Than Hot Water Supply
Boilers)
8§5601. Service Restrictionsand Exceptions

A. Potable water heaters supplying potable hot water for
commercial purposes that exceed a heat input of 200,000 Btu
per hour or a nominal water-containing capacity of 120
gallons, shall be designed, constructed, inspected and stamped
in conformity with Part "HLW" of the ASME Code, Section IV.

B. Potable water heaters supplying potable hot water for
commercial purposes that do not exceed a heat input of
200,000 Btu per hour or anominal water-containing capacity
of 120 gallons, but exceeds a nominal water-containing

Louisiana Register Vol. 24, No. 5 May 20, 1998

1026

capacity of 50 gallons, shall be designed and constructed to
Underwriter's Laboratories or other nationally recognized
standard and shall bear their label on the completed unit.

C. All other potable water heaters not otherwise exempted
by the Act, shall be designed and constructed to Underwriter's
Laboratories or other Nationally Recognized Standard and
shall bear their label on the completed unit.

D. Themaximum allowable working pressure of a potable
water heater shall in no case exceed the pressure indicated by
the manufacturer’ sidentification stamped or cast on the heater
or aplate or label secured toit. In no case shall the maximum
allowable working pressure of a potable water heater exceed
160 psi or awater temperature of 210EF.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5603. Safety Relief Valves

A. Each potable water heater shall have at least one ASME
certified pressure temperature relief valve of the automatic
reseating type set to relieve at or below the maximum
allowable working pressure of the potable water heater and/or
no greater than 210EF. Safety relief valves officially rated as
to capacity shall have pop action when tested by steam. When
more than one safety relief valve is used on a potable water
hester, the additional valve or valves shall be ASME rated and
may be set within arange not to exceed 10 percent of the set
pressure of thefirst valve. Safety relief valves shall be spring-
loaded. Safety relief valves shall be so arranged that they
cannot be reset at a higher pressure.

B. When water supply to apotable water heater exceeds 75
percent of the design pressure of the water heater, a pressure
reducing valve is required.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5605. Controls

A. Each individual automatically-fired potable water
heater, in addition to the operating control used for normal
water heater operation shall have a separate high limit
temperature actuated combustion control that will
automatically cut off the fuel supply. The temperature range of
the high limit temperature actuated control shall not allow a
setting over 210EF.

1. Ongasfired water heaters, the high limit temperature
control when actuated shall shut off the fuel supply with a shut
off means other than the operating control valve. Separate
valves may have a common body.

2. Onélectricaly-heated potable water heaters, the high
limit temperature control when actuated shall cut off all power
to the operating controls.

3. On oil-fired potable water heaters, the limit
temperature control when actuated shall cut off all current flow
to the burner mechanism.

B. All potable water heaters shall be equipped with
suitable primary (flame safeguards) safety controls, safety limit
switches, and burners, or electrical elements as required by
one of the following nationally recognized standards:



1. ANSI C95.3 Standard for Safety Oil-Fired Water
Heaters (UL 732).

2. NASI Z 21.10.3 American National Standards for
Gas Water Heaters, Volume IllI, Circulating Rank,
Instantaneous and Large Automatic Storage Type water
Heaters.

3. Underwriter's Laboratories Inc. UL 795. Standards
for Safety, Commercial-Industrial Gas-Heating Equipment.

4. Underwriter's Laboratories Inc. UL 1453, Standards
for Safety, Electric Booster and Commercial Storage Tank
Water Heaters.

C. The symboal of the certifying organization which has
investigated such as having complied with a nationally
recognized standard shall be affixed to the equipment and shall
be considered as evidence that controls and heat generating
apparatus were manufactured in accordance with that standard.
(A certifying organization is one that provides uniform testing,
examination, and listing procedures under established,
nationally recognized standards and that is acceptable to the
jurisdiction.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5607. Repairs

Whenever repairs are made to fittings or appliances, or it
becomes necessary to replace them, the repairs must comply
with Section IV of the ASME Code for new construction.
Welded repairs must meet the additional requirements of
§5427.B.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
Chapter 58. General Requirements
8§5801. Notice of Internal Inspection of Boilers

The owner or user of aboiler or boilers not exempted by the
Act or by rules and regulations promulgated under the Act,
shall be provided 14 days notice of impending internal
inspection requirements, by the inspector responsible for
inspections of subject boiler(s). No such notice shall be
required for external inspections. No inspection shall be made
on Sunday or other legal holiday by an inspector employed by
the Department of Public Safety except in case of accident or
other emergency.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5803. Preparation for Internal Inspection

The owner or user shall prepare each boiler for internal
inspection, and shall prepare for and apply a hydrostatic
pressure test, whenever necessary, on the date arranged by the
inspector. The boiler shall be prepared for internal inspection
as follows.

1. Water shall be drawn off and the boiler washed
thoroughly.

2. Manhole and handhole plates, washout plugs and
inspection plugs in water column connections shall be
removed as required by the inspector. The furnace and

combustion chambers shall be cooled and thoroughly cleaned.

3. All gratesof internally fired boilers shall be removed.

4. Insulation or brickwork shall be removed as required
by the inspector in order to determine the condition of the
boiler, headers, furnace, supports or other parts.

5. The pressure gauge shall be removed for testing, as
required by the inspector.

6. Any leakage of steam or hot water into the boiler shall
be prevented by disconnecting the pipe or valve(s) at the most
convenient point or any appropriate means approved by the
inspector.

7. Before opening the manhole or handhole covers and
entering any parts of the steam generating unit connected to a
common header with other boilers, the non-return and steam
stop valves must be closed, tagged and padlocked, and drain
valves or cocks between the two valves opened. The feed
valves must be closed, tagged and padlocked, and drain valves
or cocks located between the two valves opened. After
draining the boiler, the blowoff valves shall be closed, tagged
and padlocked. Blowoff lines, where practicable, shall be
disconnected between pressure parts and valves. All drain and
vent lines shall be opened.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5805. BoilersImproperly Prepared for Inspection

If a boiler has not been properly prepared for an internal
inspection, or if the owner or user fails to comply with the
requirements for a pressure test as set forth in these rules, the
inspector may decline to make the inspection or test and the
inspection certificate shall be withheld or the right to operate
revoked, until the owner or user complies with the
requirement. The owner or user shall be charged the applicable
inspection fees as set by law for this missed inspection.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5807. Removal of Covering to Permit Inspection

If the boiler is jacketed so that the longitudinal seams of
shells, drums or domes cannot be seen, sufficient jacketing,
setting wall, or other form of casing or housing shall be
removed to permit reasonable inspection of the seams and
other areas necessary to determine the condition and safety of
the bailer, provided such information cannot be determined by
other means.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5809. Lap Seam Crack

The shell or drum of aboiler, in which alap seam crack is
discovered along a longitudinal riveted joint, shall be
immediately condemned. Patching is prohibited. (By lap seam
crack is meant a crack found in lap seams, extending parallel
to thelongitudinal joint and located either between or adjacent
to rivet holes.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5811. Pressure Test

A. A pressure test, when applied to boilers or pressure
vessels, need not exceed the maximum allowable working
pressure or the setting of the lowest set safety valves. The
pressure shall be under proper control so that in no case shall
the required test pressure be exceeded.

B. During a pressure test, the safety valve or valves shall
be removed or each valve disk shall be held to its seat by
means of a testing clamp and not by screwing down the
compression screw upon the spring. A plug device designed
for this purpose may be used.

C. Thetemperature of the water used to apply a hydrostatic
test shall be no less than ambient temperature, but in no case
less than 70EF. The maximum temperature of the water during
inspection shall not exceed 120EF.

D. When a hydrostatic test is applied to determine
tightness, the pressure shall be equal to the normal operating
pressure but need not exceed the release pressure of the safety
valve having the lowest release pressure setting.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5813. Inspection of Power Boilers

Theinternal and external inspections of Power Boilers shall
meet the guidelines of Subsection C6 of the ASME Code,
Section VI, Recommended Rules for Care of Power Boilers;
and the National Board Inspection Code.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5815. Inspection of Heating, Supply and Potable Water

Boilers

Theinternal (when required), and the external inspections of
Steam and Hot Water Heating, Hot Water Supply and Potable
Water Boilers (Hot Water Heaters), shall meet the guidelines
of 7.09 and 8.09 of the ASME Code, Section VI,
Recommended Rules for Care of Heating Boilers; and the
National Board Inspection Code.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5817. Changes from Louisiana Boiler Law/Rules and

Regulations

A. On each inspection of a boiler, the inspector shall
determine if changes or departures from the Louisiana Boiler
Law/rules and regulations have taken place since the previous
inspection was made.

B. If repairs have been made to aboiler, the owner or user
shall provide documentation to the inspector determining if the
repairs meet the requirements of these rules and regulations. In
all cases where repairs and/or replacements are made, or new
fittings or appurtenances are installed, the materia and
workmanship must comply with the Louisiana Boiler
Law/rules and regulations for new installations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5819. Defective Conditions Disclosed at Time of

External I nspection

If, upon an external inspection, there is evidence of aleak or
crack, sufficient covering of the boiler shall be removed to
permit the inspector to satisfactorily determine the safety of the
boiler. If the covering cannot be removed at that time, the
inspector may order the boiler taken out of service until such
time as the covering can be removed and proper examination
made.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5821. Unsafe Boilers

Whenever the chief inspector, a deputy inspector or special
inspector finds a boiler in operation or about to be placed in
operation, the continued use of which constitutes an imminent
hazardtolife or limb, he shall order such boiler to be instantly
taken out of service and/or not placed in service until proper
repairs or changes have been made. He shall at that time serve
aNotice of Violation on the owner or user ordering the use of
such boiler discontinued. He shall have the owner or user sign
the Notice of Violation, and submit the original copy to the
chief inspector. He shall notify the chief inspector by telephone
when aNotice of Violation is issued.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5823. Condemned Boilers

A. A boiler having been inspected and declared unfit for
further service by an inspector shall be stamped by the
inspector on either side of the state serial number with the
letters "X X X," which will designate a condemned boiler, as
shown by the following facsimile:

XXX 0000 LA XXX

B. Any person, firm, partnership, or corporation using a
condemned boiler shall be subject to the penalties provided by
the Act.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5825. Owner or User to Notify Chief Inspector of

Accident

When an accident occursto a boiler, the owner or user shall,
within seven calendar days, notify the chief inspector by
submitting a detailed report of the accident. In the event of a
personal injury or any explosion, notice shall be given within
12 hours by telephone, telegraph or messenger, and neither the
boiler, nor any parts thereof, shall be removed or disturbed
before permission has been given by the chief inspector,
except for the purpose of saving human life and limiting
consequential damage.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:



§5827. Automatic Low Water fuel Cutoff and/or Water
Feeding Device

A. Each automatically fired steam boiler shall have an
automatic low-water fuel cutoff so located as to automatically
cut off the fuel supply when the surface of the water falls to the
lowest visible part of the water gauge glass. If awater feeding
deviceisinstalled, it shall be so constructed that the water inlet
valve cannot feed water into the boiler through the float
chamber and so located as to supply requisite feedwater. Such
afuel cutoff or water feeding device shall comply with HG-606
of the ASME Code, Section 1V.

B. Each automatically fired hot water heating boiler with
heat input greater than 400,000 Btu/hr shall have an automatic
low-water fuel cutoff which has been designed for hot water
service, and it shall be located as to automatically cut off the
fuel supply when the surface of the water falls to the lowest
safe water level established by the boiler manufacturer. Such
low-water fuel cutoff shall comply with HG-614 of the ASMIE
Code, Section V.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5829. Pressure Reducing Valves

A. Where pressure reducing valves are used, one or more
safety relief valves shall be provided on the low pressure side
of thereducing valve when the piping or equipment on the low
pressure side does not meet the requirements for the full initial
pressure. The safety or safety relief valves shall be located
adjoining or as close as possible to the reducing valve. Proper
protection shall be provided to prevent injury or damage
caused by the escaping fluid from the discharge of the safety
relief valves if vented to the atmosphere. The combined
discharge capacity of the safety or safety relief valves shall be
such that the pressure rating shall not be exceeded in case the
reducing valve fails in the open position.

B. The use of hand controlled bypasses around the
reducing valves are permissible. If abypass is used around the
reducing valve, the safety valve required on the low pressure
side shall be of sufficient capacity to relieve all the fluid that
can pass through the bypass without over pressuring the low
pressure side.

C. A pressuregauge shall be installed on the low pressure
side of the reducing valve.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5831. Boiler Blowoff Equipment

A. Theblowdown from aboiler that enters a sanitary sewer
system or blowdown which is considered a hazard to life or
property shall pass through some form of blowoff equipment
that will reduce the pressure leaving the blowdown equipment
to not more than 5 psi, and the temperature to no more than
150EF.

B. All blowoff equipment shall be fitted with openings to
facilitate cleaning and inspection and shall conform to the
recommended rules for National Board Boiler Blowoff
Equipment.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5833. Location of Discharge Piping Outlets

The discharge of safety valves, blowoff pipes and other
outlets shall be located and supported so as to prevent injury
to personnel.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5835. Repairsor Alterations

Where repairs or alterations to a boiler are necessary, an
authorized inspector shall be called for consultation and advice
as to the best method of making such repairs or alterations.
After such repairs or aterations are made, they shall be
reviewed by and found acceptable to an authorized inspector.
Organizations making repairs or alterations shall be qualified
in accordance with §5427.B.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5837. Supports

Each boiler shall be supported by masonry or structural
supports of sufficient strength and rigidity to safely support the
boiler and its contents. There shall be no excessive vibration
in either the boiler or its connecting piping.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5839. Boiler Door Latches

A. A watertube boiler shall have the firing doors of the
inward opening type, unless such doors are provided with
substantial and effective latching or fastening devices or
otherwise so constructed as to prevent them, when closed,
from being blown open by pressure on the furnace side.

B. Theselatchesor fastenings shall be of the positive self-
locking type. Friction contacts, latches, or bolts actuated by
springs shall not be used. The foregoing requirements for
latches or fastening shall not apply to coal openings of
downdraft or similar furnaces.

C. All other doors, except explosion doors, not used in the
firing of the boiler, may be provided with bolts or fastenings in
lieu of self-latching devices.

D. Explosion doors, if used and if located in the setting
walls within 7 feet of the firing floor or operating platform,
shall be provided with substantial deflectors to divert the blast.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5841. Clearance

When boilers are replaced or new boilers are installed in
either existing or new buildings, they shall be so located that
adequate space will be provided for the proper operation of the
boilers and their appurtenances, for the inspection of all
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surfaces, tubes, waterwalls economizers, piping, valves and
other equipment, and for their necessary maintenance and
repair and replacement tubes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5843. Laddersand Runways

When necessary for safety, there shall be a steel runway or
platform of standard construction installed across the tops of
adjacent boilers or at some other convenient level for the
purpose of affording safe access. All walkways shall have at
least two means of exit, each to be remotely located from the
other.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5845. Exit from Boiler Room

All boil er rooms exceeding 500 square feet floor area and
containing one or more boilers having a fuel burning capacity
1,000,000 Btu/hr, or equivalent electrical heat input, shall
have at least two means of exit. Each shall be remotely located
from the other. Each elevation in such boiler room shall have
two means of exit, each remotely located from the other.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5847. Air and Ventilation Requirements—Combustion

Air Supply and Ventilation of Boiler Room

A. A permanent source of outside air shall be provided for
each boiler room to permit satisfactory combustion of the fuel
as well as proper ventilation of the boiler room under normal
operating conditions.

B. The total requirements of the burners for al fired
pressure vessels in the boiler room must be used to determine
the louver sizeswhether fired by coal, oil or gas; however, the
minimum net free louvered area must not be less than 1 square
foot. The following table or formula shall be used to determine
the net louvered area in square feet:

Input (Btu/hr) Required Air Minimum Net
(cu. ft./min.) Louvered Area (sq. ft.)

500,000 125 1.0
1,000,000 250 1.0
2,000,000 500 1.6
3,000,000 750 25
4,000,000 1,000 3.3
5,000,000 1,250 4.1
6,000,000 1,500 5.0
7,000,000 1,750 5.8
8,000,000 2,000 6.6
9,000,000 2,250 7.5
10,000,000 2,500 8.3
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BTUH
10,000

C. When mechanical ventilationisused in lieu of §5847.A,
the supply of combustion and ventilation air to the boiler room
and the firing device shall be interlocked with the fan so the
firing device will not operate with the fan off. The velocity of
the air through the ventilating fan shall not exceed 500 feet per
minute and the total air delivered shall be equal to or greater
than shown in §5847.A.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5849. GasBurners

For installations which are gas fired, the burners used shall
conform to the applicable requirements of the American Gas
Association or other Nationally Recognized Standards.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5851. Attendance on Power Boilers

A. No power boiler while in active service, i.e., that
portion of time when the main stop valves are open and the
fires are burning, shall be left unattended longer than it will
take the water level to drop from the normal operating level in
the water gauge glass, or by indicating devices or recorders,
when the feed water is shut off and the boiler is forced to its
maximum capacity unless the following are complied with:

1. theboiler isequipped with an audible alarm that will
operate when the water reaches the highest and/or the lowest
permissible operating level, or, for boilers having no fixed
steam or water line, when the highest permissible operating
temperature isreached. The audible alarm shall be sufficiently
loud that it can be plainly heard at the most remote point from
the boiler that the attendant is required to work; and

2. the boiler is equipped with two independently
connected low water safety devices that will shut off the fuel to
the burner or burners when the water reaches the lowest
permissible operating level, or, for boilers having no fixed
steam or water line, when the highest permissible operating
temperature is reached. These devices shall require manual
resetting; or

3. the attendant shall personally check the operation of
the boiler, the necessary auxiliaries, and the water level in the
boiler at such intervals as are necessary to insure safe
operation of the boiler, and in no case shall this exceed 120
minutes.

B. The operation of the automatic controls shall be checked
at the beginning of each shift.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5853. Restamping of Boilers

When the stamping on a boiler becomes indistinct, the
inspector shall instruct the owner or user to have it restamped.
Request for permission to restamp the boiler shall be made to
the chief inspector and proof of the original stamping shall
accompany the request. The chief inspector may grant such
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authorization. Restamping authorized by the chief inspector
shall be done only in the presence of an Authorized Inspector,
and shall be identical with the original stamping. If the ASVIE
Code symboal is to be restamped, it may only be done by the
original manufacturer of the boiler in the presence of the
inspector who signed the Manufacturers' Data Report. Notice
of completion of such restamping shall be filed with the chief
inspector by the inspector who witnessed the stamping on the
boiler, together with a facsimile of the stamping applied.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5855. Moving of Boilers

When aboiler is moved from one setting to another setting,
the owner or user thereof shall furnish the chief inspector with
a notice of change in location, and shall have the boiler
inspected by an authorized inspector prior to firing of the
boiler at the new location.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5857. Safety Appliances

A. No person shall attempt to remove or do any work on
any safety appliance prescribed by these rules and regulations
while the appliance is subject to pressure.

B. Should any of these appliances be removed for repair
during an outage of the boiler, they must be reinstalled and in
proper working order before the boiler is again placed in
service.

C. Noperson shall alter any safety or safety relief valves or
pressure relief devices in any manner to maintain a working
pressure in excess of that stated on the boiler inspection
certificate.

D. Repairs to safety or safety relief valves shall be made
only by organizations qualified in accordance with §5411.J.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5859. Variations

A. Any person who believes the rules and regulations
promulgated by the assistant secretary are unreasonable or
impose an undue burden upon the owner or user, may request
avariation from such rule or regulation. The request shall be
in writing and shall specify how equivalent safety is to be
maintained. The assistant secretary, after investigation and
such hearing as he may direct, may grant such variation from
the terms of any rule or regulation provided such special
conditions as may be specified are maintained in order to
provide equivalent safety.

B. When there is areason to believe, or upon receipt of a
complaint that a variation does not provide freedom from
danger equivalent to the published rule or regulation, the
assistant secretary, after notice to the owner or user and
complainant after such hearing and investigation as he may
direct, may continue in force, suspend, revoke or modify the
conditions specified in any variation. No declaration, act or
omission of the assistant secretary, or the chief inspector,
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deputy inspector or special inspectors other than a written
order authorizing a variation as permitted above, shall be
deemed to exempt, either wholly or in part, expressly or
implied, any owner or user from full compliance with the terms
of any rule or regulation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5861. Conditions not Covered by These Rules and

Regulations

For any condition not covered by these rules and regulations,
the applicable provisions of the ASME Code or the National
Board Inspection Code shall apply.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:
§5863. Suggestions for Operations

It is suggested that the Recommended Rules for Care of
Power Boilers, Section VI, and the Recommended Rules for
Care and Operation of Heating Boilers, Section VI of the
ASME Code, be used as a guide for proper and safe operating
practices.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
40:1563(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Public
Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Fire Marshal, LR 24:

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part VIII. Boiler Inspectors
Chapters 3 - 13. Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
23:531.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Labor in
1938, filed in the Department of the State Register in 1974, amended
by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the
State Fire Marshal, LR 12:237 (May 1986), repealed LR 24:

Interested persons may submit written comments on these
proposed rules to Bob Cate at 5150 Florida Boulevard, Baton
Rouge, LA 70806. Comments will be accepted through the
close of business June 22, 1998.

Thomas H. Normile
Undersecretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Boailers

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to the
Office of the State Fire Marshal. Local governments'
expenditures will decrease according to the number of objects
not requiring inspection.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
Removing the required inspections of water heaters under 50
gallons in capacity will decrease state fire marshal revenues by
$136,980 per year.
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I1l. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

There is an estimated savings of over $36,000 per year to
daycare operators, nursing homes, group homes and other
affected businesses.

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND
EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

There will be no impact on competition and employment.

Thomas Normile H. Gordon Monk
Undersecretary Staff Director
98054001 Legislative Fiscal Office

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Social Services
Office of Rehabilitation Services

Community Rehabilitation
Program (LAC 67:V11.Chapter 2)

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Social Services,
Louisiana Rehabilitation Services proposes to adopt the
following rule in LAC 67:VIl. Rehabilitation Services,
Community Rehabilitation Program, Program Standards.

The rule governing Louisiana Rehabilitation Services policy
relative to Community Rehabilitation Programs is proposed in
order to establish standards for Community Rehabilitation
Program vendors who provide services to clients of Louisiana
Rehabilitation Services through the V ocational Rehabilitation
Program.

Title 67
SOCIAL SERVICES
Part VII. Rehabilitation Services
Chapter 2. Community Rehabilitation Program
§201. Purpose

A. Principle. The Community Rehabilitation Program
(CRP) shall establish its purpose and direct its activities
toward accomplishment of that purpose.

B. The CRP shall state its goals and purposes clearly in
appropriate publications for distribution to staff, those served,
referral and payment sources, and the public.

C. TheCRP shall describethe specific rehabilitation needs
itis prepared to address as well as the programs and services
available for that purpose.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§203. Organization and M anagement

A. Licenses. All public and private community
rehabilitation programs shall be licensed by the Department of
Social Services, Bureau of Licensing or the Department of
Health and Hospitals, as appropriate, based on the standards
developed and published according to state law.

B. General Requirements

1. The CRP shall alow representatives of Louisiana
Rehabilitation Services (LRS) and the appropriate program
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office in the performance of their mandated duties to monitor
all aspects of a program'’s functioning which impact on clients
and to interview staff members and clients.

2. The CRP shall make any information which the
program is required to have under the present requirements
and any information reasonably related to assessment of
compliance with these requirements available to LRS and the
appropriate program office.

a. Theclient'srights shall not be considered abridged
by this requirement.

b. A CRP shall promptly provide all necessary and
needed information for review.

c. A CRPshall provide adequate space and privacy for
the surveyor to review records uninterrupted.

C. A CRP shall have an administrative file including:

1. documents identifying the governing body and/or
ownership of the agency;

2. list of members and officers of the governing body and
their addresses and terms of membership, if applicable;

3. bylaws of the governing body and minutes of formal
meetings, if applicable;

4. a written statement of the program's mission and
philosophy;

5. documentation of the agency's incorporation in the
state;

6. organizational chart of the agency;

7. al leases, contracts and purchase-of-service
agreements to which the center is a party;

8. insurance policies;

9. annual budgets;

10. master list of all consultants used by the center.

D. Organization and Administration. The CRP should
engage in short-range and long-range planning, and develop or
modify its services according to identified community needs
and other LRS identified needs.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§205. Governing Body

A. The membership of the governing body shall be
representative of the community being served, and include
person(s) with disabilities and/or families of person(s) with
disabilities; or

B. A CRP has for-profit status, it shall have an advisory
board which meets regularly and is representative of the
community being served and include person(s) with
disabilities and/or families of person(s) with disabilities.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§207. Fiscal Accounting Systems and Record K eeping

A. The CRP must maintain adequate fiscal records and
accountability so as to demonstrate, upon request, receipt and
utilization of funds from LRS. Each CRP must have an annual
external audit and management letter and include a single audit
where indicated or required by law.

B. The CRP must have adequate insurance to protect
persons served.



C. A CRP shal not permit funds to be paid, or committed
to be paid, to any corporate person to which any of the
members of the governing body, administrative personnel or
members of the immediate families or members of the
governing body or administrative personnel have any direct or
indirect financial interest, or in which any of these persons
serve as an officer or employee, unless the services or goods
involved are provided at a competitive cost or under terms
favorable to the CRP. The CRP shall have awritten disclosure
of any financial transaction with the agency in which a member
of the governing body, administrative personnel or his/her
immediate family is involved.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§209. Personnel Administration and Staff Development

A. Providersof vocational rehabilitation services shall use
qualified personnel, in accordance with any applicable national
or state-approved or recognized certification, licensing, or
registration requirements, or in the absence of these
requirements, other comparable requirements (including state
personnel requirements), that apply to the profession or
discipline in which that category of personnel is providing
vocational rehabilitation services.

B. The CRP should encourage and support staff growth and
devel opment by providing opportunities for training, education
and interaction with other persons in the rehabilitation field.

C. Providers of vocational rehabilitation services should
take affirmative action to employ and advance in employment
qualified individuals with disabilities.

D. The CRP will include among their personnel or make
available personnel able to communicate in the native
languages of individuals who have limited English proficiency
if those native languages are spoken by substantial segments
of the population of the state; and provide special modes of
communication for individuals who rely on these special
modes.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§211. Physical Plan and Accessibility

The CRP must comply with accessibility requirements as
established in Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,
as amended, and by the Uniform Federal Accessibility
Standards and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§213. Confidentiality and Case Records
A. General

1. All client information is confidential. All personal
information in the possession of the CRP shall be used only for
purposes directly connected with the administration of the
program.

2. A CRP shal have written procedures for the
maintenance and security of records specifying who shall

supervise the maintenance of records, who shall have custody
of records and to whom records may be released. Records shall
be the property of the center and the center, as custodian, shall
secure records against 1oss, tampering or unauthorized use.

B. Noatification to Clients. Individuals asked to supply the
CRP with information concerning themselves shall be
informed of the CRP's need to collect confidential information
and the policies governing its use, release, and access
including:

1. aConsent to Release Case Record Information form
contained in case files which must document that individuals
have been advised of the confidentiality of information
pertinent to their case;

2. the principal purpose for which the CRP intends to
use or release the requested data;

3. whether the individuals may refuse, or are legally
required to supply the requested data;

4. any known consequence arising from not providing
the requested information;

5. theidentity of other agencies to which information is
routinely released.

C. Releaseof Confidential Information. The case file must
contain documentation concerning any information released
with the individual’ s written consent.

D. No use shall be made of the name or picture of an
individual served without the prior written consent of the
individual, or his or her legal guardian.

E. Client Accessto Data. When requested in writing by the
involved individual or an authorized representative, clients or
applicants have the right to see and obtain in a timely manner
copies of any information that the CRP maintains on them,
including information in their case files, except:

1. medical and/or psychological information, when the
service provider states in writing that disclosure to the
individual would be detrimental to the individual's physical or
mental health;

2. medical, psychological, or other information which
the CRP determines harmful to the individual;

Note: Such information may not be released directly to the individual,
but must be released, with the individual’s informed consent, to the
individual’s representative, or a physician or a licensed or certified
psychologist;

3. personal information that has been obtained from
another agency or organization. Such information may be
released only by or under the conditions established by the
other agency or organization.

F. Informed Consent. Informed consent means that the
individual has signed an authorization to release information
and such authorization is as follows:

1. inalanguage that the individual understands;

2. dated;

3. specific asto the nature of the information which may
be released;

4. specificaly designates the parties to whom the
information may be released;

5. specific as to the purpose(s) for which the released
information may be used;

6. specific as to the expiration date of the informed
consent which must not exceed one year.
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G. Release of Client Information Without Informed
Consent

1. The CRP must have written authorization to release
confidential client information except in the following
instance:

a. the CRP can release personal information without
informed written authorization to protect the client or others
when the client poses athreat to his/her safety or to the safety
of others;

b. the CRP can only release that information necessary
to protect the client or others.

c. the CRP or employee providing the information
must carefully record all the facts and circumstances in the
client’s case record.

2. Examples of Emergency Situations. Emergency
situations that might require release of personal information
without informed written authorization could possibly include

the following:

a. threats of murder and/or suicide;
b. threats to the safety of the workplace;
c. national security violations.

H. Confidentiality—HIV Diagnosis. Each time confidential
information isreleased on applicants or clients who have been
diagnosed as HIV positive, aspecific informed written consent
form must be obtained.

I. Location of Records

1. The CRP shall keep on site the following records:
a. al IWRP'sand Agency Service Plans;
b. all client plan updates and progress notes;

c. al client evaluations;

d. a copy of the CRP's policy and procedure
manual (s);

e. acopy of the employee's criminal history check.

2. All other records shall be kept in the main office of
the CRP, if applicable.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:
§215. Available Programs and Program Outcomes

A. Intake and Orientation. The CRP should make a
reasonable effort to obtain necessary case file information
before planning services for an individual, and make
appropriate use of such information throughout the individual's
program.

B. Assessment and Program Planning

1. The CRP should review referral information and,
using appropriate appraisal and evaluation procedures,
determine the individual's need for services.

2. TheCRP's palicies shall specify that the individual's
planfor rehabilitation services will be established with his or
her involvement and that it will focus on the individual’s
achievement of independent functioning in the community
and/or achievement or maintenance of the individual's
appropriate level of employment outcome or independent
functioning.

C. Program Management, Treatment, and Training

1. The CRP shall develop a procedure to insure that

services provided each individual are organized, coordinated
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and reviewed regularly by a program manager or service
coordinator.

2. Theindividual’s progress toward the planned goals
shall be measured and recorded monthly and communicated to
the individual, the referral source, LRS and any other
authorized parties.

3. Individually scheduled conferences shall take place on
atimely basis to review the progress of the individual served
and to develop further plans, if necessary. The results shall be
recorded in the case record and communicated to LRS and any
other appropriate parties.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§217. Public Relations and M arketing

A. Principle. The CRP shall be actively involved in its
community to create acceptance, understanding and support for
itsgoalsand  services.

B. The CRP should thoroughly investigate the employment
and related needs of its current and future users, and organize
its services to meet those needs.

C. The CRP should conduct its activities in a manner that
encourages understanding, cooperation and support from the
public, from other agencies and from other groups in the
community.

D. The CRP should function in the community as an
advocate for those it serves by promoting positive attitudes
toward them, and devel oping awareness of their legal rights.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

§219. Vocational M odules

A. A Vocational Evaluation/Assessment shall utilize
professionally accepted methods based on client-specific needs
to result in a suitable and appropriate employment goal.

B. A Community Based Situational Assessment shall be
client-specific to result in a suitable and appropriate
employment goal.

C. Employment Preparation (Job Club, Job Readiness, Job
Retention Training, etc.)

1. The employment preparation should be provided
according to the needs identified in the eval uation/assessment
and IWRP.

2. The employment preparation should be provided
according to goals that are specific and individualized to meet
the demands of the employment goal.

3. The employment preparation should result in skills
required for successful placement of the individual into ajob
in the community based on the designated employment goal.

D. Job Development/Placement

1. Job development and placement of LRS clients should
meet the employment goal cited in the IWRP.

2. The CRP shall provide documentation of the job
devel opment efforts which are consistent with the employment
goal on the client's IWRP.

3. Client shall be placed into an integrated competitive
employment position and be compensated at or above the



minimum wage, but not less than the customary or usual wage
paid by the employer for the same or similar work performed
by individuals who are not disabled.

4. Individuals should be followed in their employment
progress for at least 90 days and should be contacted at
6-month and 12-month intervals to ascertain progress.

5. The CRP shall have an 80 percent placement and
retention rate of all individuals referred by LRS.

6. The CRP shall maintain and disseminate client
performance information regarding their employment to LRS
staff.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
49:664.4 and R.S. 36:477.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social
Services, Office of Rehabilitation Services, LR 24:

Interested persons may also submit written comments for 40
days from the date of this publication to May Nelson, Director,
Louisiana Rehabilitation Services, 8225 Florida Boulevard,
Baton Rouge, LA 70806-4834. Ms. Nelson is responsible for
responding to inquiries regarding the proposed rule.

Public hearings will be conducted at 10 a.m. on Wednesday,
June 24, 1998, as follows: Shreveport, LRS Regional Office,
1525 Fairfield Avenue; Baton Rouge, LRS Regional Office,
2097 Beaumont Drive; and New Orleans, University of New
Orleans, Training, Resource and Assistive Technology Center,
UNO Lakefront Campus.

Individuals with disabilities who require special services
should contact Marsha Blackmon, Program Manager,
Louisiana Rehabilitation Services, at least 14 working days
prior to the hearing if special services are needed for their
attendance. For information or assistance, call (504) 925-4131
or 1-800-737-2958 or for voice and TDD, 1-800-543-2099.

Madlyn B. Bagneris
Secretary

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Community Rehabilitation Program

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Thereisno projected implementation cost. This rule proposes
to adopt standards for Community Rehabilitation Program
vendorswho provide services to clients through the V ocational

Rehabilitation Program.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

There is no anticipated increase or decrease in revenue.
ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Thisrulewill affect LRS Community Rehabilitation Program
vendors who provide services to LRS' vocational rehabilitation
clients. If avendor does not meet the 80 percent successful job
placement rate, the vendor could potentially be removed from
the LRS list of approved vendors.

There is no effect on the receipts and/or income resulting
from this rule change.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)
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Thereisno proposed change in competition and employment
in the public and private sectors.

May Nelson Richard W. England
Director Assistant to the
98054044 Legislative Fiscal Officer

NOTICE OF INTENT

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Commercial Fisherman's Assistance
Program (LAC 76:XV11.101)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give
notice of itsintent to amend the rule on proof of income for the
Commercial Fisherman's Assistance Program.

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheriesis
authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of the
commission to promulgate and effectuate this notice of intent
and thefinal rule, including but not limited to, the filing of the
Fiscal and Economic Impact statement, the filing of the notice
of intent and final rule and the preparation of reports and
correspondence to other agencies of government.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part XVII. Commercial Fisherman's Assistance
Program
Chapter 1. Proof of Income
8101. Criteriafor Establishing Proof of Income and
Procedures

A. The eligibility of applicants for economic assistance
under R.S. 56:13.1, Commercial Fisherman's Assistance
Program, shall be determined in accordance with the following
criteria:

1. theapplicant shall have purchased a saltwater gill net
licensein at least two of the years 1993, 1994 and 1995; and

2. theapplicant shall have derived more than 50 percent
of his earned income from the legal capture and sale of seafood
species in at least two of the years 1993, 1994 and 1995; and

3. theapplicant shall have suffered aloss of income due
to the enactment of the Louisiana Marine Resources
Conservation Act of 1995; and

4. applicant must have been a bona fide resident of
Louisianaon June 30, 1995 and must provide proof of such as
defined under R.S. 56:8(12)(a); and

5. theapplicant must have submitted his/her application
not later than October 1, 1998.

B. Proof of such income for any of the years 1993, 1994
and 1995 shall be provided by applicant using any of the
methods listed below.

1. Method 1. Applicant shall submit to the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries (Licensing Section) a copy of his
federal income tax return including all attachments (i.e.,
Schedule C of federal form 1040, form W-2, etc.), which has
been certified by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

2. Method 2. Applicant shall submit to the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries (Licensing Section) a copy of his
federal income tax return including all attachments (i.e.,
Schedule C of federal form 1040, form W-2, etc.), which has
been filed and stamped "received" at alocal IRS office
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accompanied with asigned cover letter acknowledging receipt
by the IRS.

3. Method 3. Applicant shall submit to the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries (Licensing Section) a signed copy of
hisfederal tax return including all attachments (i.e., Schedule
C of federal form 1040, form W-2, etc.), along with IRS
stamped transcripts and IRS signed cover letter. Transcripts
are available at local IRS offices.

C. The Socioeconomic Section of the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Management and Finance will
review the submitted tax return information and determine
applicantsincome eligibility as defined by R.S. 56:13.1(B)(1).
Proof of loss of income by the applicant shall be provided in
the form of federal tax returns as specified in §101.B and
determined by using the method below.

1. Proof of incomelosswill be determined by comparing
the applicants average earned income from the legal capture
and sale of seafood species for two of the years 1993, 1994 and
1995 and the earned income for tax years 1996 or 1997 as
reported on their federal income tax returns. Proof of such
income shall be provided by the applicant using any of the
methods listed in §101.B.

2. The criteriafor providing economic assistance shall
be determined by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
and shall be based on an individuals |oss of income due to the
enactment of the Louisiana Marine Resources Conservation
Act of 1995.

D. Applicants who receive economic assistance under the
Commercial Fisherman's Assistance Program (R.S. 56:13.1)
shall be disqualified from receiving any mullet license permit
pursuant to R.S. 56:333.

E. The Department of Labor will provide to the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Licensing Section a
quarterly status report containing the name, address, social
security number, type of training with beginning date and
estimated ending date, the anticipated cost and actual cost as
incurred, for each fisherman receiving economic assistance
under the Commercial Fisherman's Assistance Program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:13.1(D).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
22:235 (March 1996), amended LR 24:
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Interested persons may comment on the proposed rule in
writing to Janis Landry, Fiscal Section, Department of Wildlife
and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000 until
4:30 p.m., July 2, 1998.

Thomas M. Gattle, Jr.
Chairman

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES
RULE TITLE: Commercial Fisherman's Assistance Program

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)
It is the opinion of the department that there will be virtually
no commercial fishers participating in the Commercial
Fisherman's Assistance Program, since applicants receiving
assistance will be disqualified from receiving a mullet permit.
Thus, no costs or savings and no increase or decrease in
workloads is anticipated from the implementation of this rule.
Il. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary)

Effects on state and local revenue collections cannot be
determined at this time and are not anticipated to change from
previous years.

ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEHTS TO
DIRECTLY ARECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL
GROUPS (Summary)

Louisianaresidents who are eligible and choose to participate
in the Commercial Fisherman's Assistance Program will be
directly affected by the proposed rule. Commercia fisher
participants will receive economic assistance to obtain training
at approved Department of Labor educational facilities until July
1, 2000. Those fishers who chose to participate in the program
will be disqualified from receiving any license or permit
pursuant to R.S. 56:333, thus, forgoing any future income
benefits from the capture and sale of Mullet.

. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND

EMPLOYMENT (Summary)

No significant effect on competition and employment in the
public and private sectors is anticipated from the proposed rule
change.

Ronald G. Couvillion, Sr.
Undersecretary
98054051

Richard W. England
Assistant to the
Legislative Fiscal Officer
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