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Emergency Rules

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Advisory Commission on Pesticides

Pesticide Restrictions (LAC 7:XXIII.143) force or coerce applicators to apply azinphos-methyl to their

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. Pesticide Laws and Rules and Regulations or to the pesticide
49:953(B) and R.S. 3:3203(A), the commissioner of label, deem it unsafe to make such applications. Growers
Agriculture and Forestry is exercising the emergency found to be in violation of this section shall forfeit their right
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act in amending to use azinphos-methyl on their crops, subject to appeal to the
the following rules for the implementation of regulations Advisory Commission on Pesticides.
governing the use of the pesticide, azinphos-methyl. 3. Azinphos-methyl Application Restriction

Azinphos-methyl is an essential pesticide in the control of a. Application of azinphos-methyl on sugarcane is
sugarcane pests. Without its use a substantial portion of the limited to one application per season.
sugarcane crop in Louisiana could be damaged by pests. b. Do not apply by ground within 25 feet, or by air
Because of it effectiveness as a pesticide azinphos-methyl within 150 feet of lakes; reservoirs; rivers; permanent streams,
poses a substantial threat to the environment if it is misapplied. marshes or natural ponds; estuaries and commercial fish farm
It was the cause of substantial fish kills in 1991. Because of its ponds.
substantial threat to the environment the department has 4. Procedures for Permitting Applications of Azinphos-
severely limited the use of azinphos-methyl, even though its methyl
label allows a wider use. The application of azinphos-methyl a. Prior to any application or recommendation for
in accordance with its label, but inconsistent with the application of azinphos-methyl, approval shall be obtained in
department’s rules and regulation and the misuse of this writing from the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and
pesticide poses an imminent peril to the public health, safety Forestry (LDAF). Such approval is good for five days from the
and welfare and to the environment, especially if it gets into the date issued. Approval may be obtained by certified agricultural
waterways of this state. consultants from the DPEP. Where farmers do not use

The department has, therefore, determined that these agricultural consultants, approval must be obtained by the
emergency rules are necessary in order to implement a private applicator or aerial applicators employed by such
monitoring program and registration and permitting farmers from DPEP.
requirements during the current crop year. Information will be b. The determination as to whether a permit for
gathered to determine whether the effectiveness of this application is to be given shall be based on criteria including
chemical outweighs any potential risk to the public or the but not limited to:
environment. The rule becomes effective upon signature and i. weather patterns and predictions;
will remain in effect 120 days. ii. soil moisture;

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS

Part XXIII. Pesticides
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides
§143. Restrictions on Application of Certain Pesticides

A. - M.2. ... vii. water monitoring results;
N. Reserved for Restriction on Application of Certain viii. targeted pest must exceed the following

Pesticides prescribed thresholds;
O. Application of Azinphos-Methyl (a). Yellow sugarcane aphid, 20-25 live aphids per

1. Registration Requirements leaf or sugarcane borer - a three-fold threshold (15 percent)
a. The commissioner hereby declares that prior to (i.e., one or more live borers in 15 different stalks per 100

making any aerial application of azinphos-methyl to sugarcane, stalks);
the aerial owner/operator must first register such intent by ix. azinphos-methyl total acreage target shall not
notifying the Division of Pesticides and Environmental exceed 80,000 acres; and
Programs (DPEP) in writing. x. any other relevant data.

b. The commissioner hereby declares that prior to 5. Monitoring of Azinphos-methyl
selling azinphos-methyl to be applied on sugarcane, the dealer

must first register such intent by notifying the DPEP in writing.
c. The commissioner hereby declares that prior to

making recommendation for application of azinphos-methyl to
sugarcane, the agricultural consultant must first register such
intent by notifying the DPEP in writing.

2. Grower Liability. Growers of sugarcane shall not

crops when the applicators, conforming to the Louisiana

iii. propensity for run-off;
iv. drainage patterns;
v. quantity of acreage to be treated;

vi. extent and presence of vegetation in the buffer
zone between application site and water body;

a. Agricultural consultants registered to recommend on forms prescribed by the commissioner, all
azinphos-methyl on sugarcane shall report daily to the DPEP, recommendations for applications of azinphos-methyl to
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sugarcane.
b. Certified applicators registered to apply

azinphos-methyl on sugarcane shall maintain a daily record of
azinphos-methyl applications and provide a summary to the
DPEP within 60 days of the end of the application season.

6. Determination of Appropriate Action A. - B.17. ...
a. Upon determination by the commissioner that a C. The pesticides listed in §143.B shall not be applied by

threat or reasonable expectation of a threat to human health or commercial applicators between March 15 and September 15
to the environment exists, he may consider: in the following parishes:

i. stop orders for use, sales, or application;
ii. label changes;

iii. remedial or protective orders;
iv. any other relevant remedies.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:3203.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April
1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984), LR 11:219 (March 1985),
LR 11:942 (October 1985), amended by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental
Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), LR 19:791 (September
1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry,
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Services, Advisory
Commission on Pesticides, LR 21:668 (July 1995), LR 24:

Bob Odom
Commissioner

9807#008

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Advisory Commission on Pesticides

Pesticide Restrictions (LAC 7:XXIII.143)

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et seq. and R.S. 3:3203(A), the commissioner of
Agriculture and Forestry is amending the following rules and
regulations for the implementation of regulations governing the
use of pesticides in Ward 3 of Evangeline Parish.

The amendment of these regulations is necessary in order
that the department may immediately prohibit the current
application of certain pesticides which is causing substantial
economic and environmental injury.

The Department of Agriculture and Forestry deems the
implementation of these rules and regulations necessary to
prevent the aforesaid substantial economic and environmental
adverse injury.

The effective date of these rules and regulations is June 19,
1998, and shall remain in effect 120 days or until these rules
are adopted through the normal promulgation process.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS

Part XXIII. Pesticide
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides
§143. Restrictions on Application of Certain Pesticides

 1. Avoyelles 14. Madison

 2. Bossier 15. Morehouse

 3. Caddo 16. Natchitoches

 4. Caldwell 17. Ouachita

 5. Catahoula 18. Pointe Coupee, Ward 2

 6. Claiborne, Ward 4 19. Rapides

 7. Concordia 20. Red River

 8. DeSoto, Ward 7 21. Richland

 9. East Carroll 22. St. Landry, Wards 4 and 5

 10. Evangeline, Wards 1, 3 and 23. Tensas
5

 11. Franklin 24. Union

 12. Grant 25. West Carroll

 13. LaSalle 26. Winn, Ward 7

* * *
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

3:3203.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April
1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984), LR 11:219 (March 1985),
LR 11:942 (October 1985), amended by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental
Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), LR 19:791 (September
1993), LR 21:668 (July 1993), LR 21:668 (July 1995), LR 24:

Bob Odom
Commissioner

9807#007

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Office of the Secretary

Economic Development Award Program (EDAP)
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 60)

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the
Secretary, is exercising the emergency provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), to promulgate
emergency rules of the Louisiana Economic Development
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Award Program (EDAP) effective immediately. These rules responsible for performing and/or monitoring implementation
will prescribe in accordance with LAC 13:1. Chapter 60. of the project and monitoring the company’s compliance with
These emergency rules shall be effective July 5, 1998 and shall the terms and conditions of the award agreement.
remain in effect for a period of 120 days or until a final rule is
promulgated, whichever occurs first.

The Department of Economic Development is exercising the
emergency provision of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953(B), in order to publish these rules because of a
recognized immediate need to assist businesses with
infrastructure improvements necessary for economic growth in
Louisiana.

The emergency action is deemed necessary to prevent delays
in the awarding of grants for economic development-related
infrastructure improvements under the provisions of the
Economic Development Award Program, inasmuch as such
delays could result in the loss of industry and jobs to other
states. Such disruption would likely result in diminished job
creation and increased risk of higher unemployment.

The proposed emergency rules are intended to mitigate the
disruptions described above.

Title 13
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Part I. Commerce and Industry
Subpart 3. Financial Incentives

Chapter 60. Economic Development Award Program
(EDAP)

§6001. Purpose
The purpose of the program is to finance publicly owned

infrastructure for industrial or business development projects (December, 1997), amended LR 24:
that promote economic development and that require state §6007. Eligibility
assistance for basic infrastructure development.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December, 1997), LR 24:
§6003. Definitions

Applicant— the sponsoring entity requesting financial
assistance from DED under this program.

Award— funding approved under this program for eligible
applicants.

Awardee— an applicant (and/or company(ies)) receiving an
award under this program.

Basic Infrastructure— refers to the construction,
improvement or expansion of roadways, parking facilities,
equipment, bridges, railroad spurs, water works, sewerage,
buildings, ports, waterways and publicly owned or regulated
utilities.

Company— the business enterprise for which the project is
being undertaken.

DED— Louisiana Department of Economic Development.
Program— the Economic Development Award Program.
Project— an expansion, improvement and/or provision of

basic infrastructure that promotes economic development, for
which DED assistance is requested under this program as an
incentive to influence a company’s decision to locate in
Louisiana, maintain or expand its Louisiana operations, or
increase its capital investment in Louisiana.

Secretary— the secretary of the Department of Economic
Development.

Sponsoring Entity— the public or quasi-public entity

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December 1997), LR 24:
§6005. General Principles

The following principles will direct the administration of the
Economic Development Award Program.

1. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement for
companies locating or located in Louisiana.

2. An award must reasonably be expected to be a
significant factor in a company’s location, investment and/or
expansion decisions.

3. Awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result in
the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local
communities.

4. The retention and strengthening of existing businesses
will be evaluated using the same procedures and with the same
priority as the recruitment of new businesses to the state.

5. The anticipated economic benefits to the state will be
considered in making the award.

6. Appropriate cost sharing among project beneficiaries.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

51:2341, et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638

A. An eligible applicant for the Grant Award must be one
of the following:

1. a public or quasi-public state entity; or
2. a political subdivision of the state.

B. A company shall be considered ineligible for this
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities
relative to failure or inability to pay its obligations; including
state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceeding, or if it has
pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any proceeding
concerning denial or revocation of a necessary license or
permit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December, 1997), LR 24:
§6009. Criteria

A. Preference will be given to projects for industries
identified by the state as target industries, and to projects
located in areas of the state with high unemployment levels.

B. Preference will be given to projects intended to expand,
improve or provide basic infrastructure supporting mixed use
by the company and the surrounding community.

C. Companies must be in full compliance with all state and
federal laws.

D. No assistance may be provided for Louisiana companies
relocating their operations to another labor market area (as
defined by the US Census Bureau) within Louisiana, except
when company gives sufficient evidence that it is otherwise
likely to relocate out of Louisiana.

E. The minimum award request size shall be $25,000.
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F. Projects must create or retain at least 10 permanent jobs days before the next scheduled meeting of the Joint Legislative
in Louisiana. Committee on the Budget.

G. Preference given for wages substantially above the D. The final 15 percent of the grant amount will not be paid
prevailing regional wage. until DED staff or its designee inspects the project to assure

H. If a company does not begin construction of the project that all work in the EDAP contract has been completed.
within 365 calendar days after application approval, the
secretary, at his discretion, may cancel funding for the project.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December, 1997), amended LR 24:
§6011. Application Procedure

The sponsoring entity must submit an application on a form will specify the performance objectives expected of the
provided by DED which shall contain, but not be limited to, company(ies) and the sponsoring entity and the compliance
the following: requirements to be enforced in exchange for state assistance,

1. an overview of the company, its history, and the including, but not limited to, time lines for investment and job
business climate in which it operates; creation. Under the agreement, the sponsoring entity will

2. a description of the project along with the factors monitor the progress of the project. DED will disburse funds
creating the need, including construction, operation and to the sponsoring entity in a manner determined by DED.
maintenance plans, and a timetable for the project’s B. Funding
completion; 1. Eligible project costs may include, but not be limited

3. evidence of the number, types and compensation to, the following:
levels of jobs to be created or retained by the project;

4. any additional information the Secretary may require.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

51:2341, et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December, 1997), amended LR 24:
§6013. Submission and Review Procedure

A. Applicants must submit their completed application to
DED. Submitted applications will be reviewed and evaluated
by DED staff. Input may be required from the applicant, other
divisions of the Department of Economic Development, and
other state agencies as needed in order to:

1. evaluate the strategic importance of the project to the
economic well-being of the state and local communities;

2. validate the information presented;
3. determine the overall feasibility of the company’s

plan.
B. An economic cost-benefit analysis of the project,

including an analysis of the net economic and fiscal benefits to
the state and local communities, will be prepared by DED.

C. Upon determination that an application meets the
criteria for this program, DED staff will then make a
recommendation to the secretary of the Department of
Economic Development.

1. The application will then be reviewed and approved
by the following entities in the following order:

a. the secretary of the Department of Economic
Development;

b. the governor; and
c. the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

2. The secretary can invoke emergency procedures and
approve an application under the following conditions. The
company documents in writing to the secretary of Economic
Development with copies to the governor and chairman of the
Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget that a serious time
constraint exists and that a new plant, expansion or closure
decision is to be made in fewer than 21 days or more than 31

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December, 1997), amended LR 24:
§6015. General Award Provisions

A. Award Agreement. A contract will be executed between
DED, the sponsoring entity and the company. The agreement

a. engineering and architectural expenses;
b. site acquisition;
c. site preparation;
d. construction expenses;
e. building materials;
f. capital equipment.

2. Project costs ineligible for award funds include, but
are not limited to:

a. recurrent expenses associated with the project (e.g.,
operation and maintenance costs);

b. company moving expenses;
c. expenses already approved for funding through the

state’s capital outlay process for which the Division of
Administration and the Bond Commission have already
approved a line of credit and the sale of bonds;

d. improvements to privately-owned property, unless
provisions are included in the project for the transfer of
ownership to a public or quasi-public entity;

e. refinancing of existing debt, public or private;
f. furniture, fixtures, computers, consumables,

transportation equipment, rolling stock or equipment with
useful life of less than seven years.

C. Amount of Award
1. The portion of the total project costs financed by the

award may not exceed:
a. 90 percent for projects located in parishes with per

capita personal income below the median for all parishes; or
b. 75 percent for projects in parishes with

unemployment rates above the statewide average; or
c. 50 percent for all other projects.

2. Other state funds cannot be used as the match for
EDAP funds.

3. The award amount shall not exceed 25 percent of the
total funds available to the program during a fiscal year.

4. The secretary, in his discretion, may limit the amount
of awards to effect the best allocation of resources based upon
the number of projects requiring funding and the availability of
program funds.
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D. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds implementation of funding grants for economic development
1. Grant award funds will be available to the sponsoring related to regional economic development marketing efforts

entity on a reimbursement basis following submission of under the provisions of the Regional Initiatives Program.
required documentation to DED from the sponsoring entity.
Only funds spent on the project after the secretary’s approval
will be considered eligible for reimbursement.

2. Award funds will not be available for disbursement Title 13
until: ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

a. DED receives signed commitments by the project’s Part I. Commerce and Industry
other financing sources (public and private); Subpart 3. Financial Incentives

b. DED receives signed confirmation that all technical Chapter 70. Regional Initiatives Program
studies or other analyses (e.g., environmental or engineering §7001. Purpose
studies), and licenses or permits needed prior to the start of the
project have been completed or obtained;

c. all other closing conditions specified in the award
agreement have been satisfied.

E. Compliance Requirements
1. Companies and sponsoring entities shall be required

to submit progress reports, as specified in the award
agreement, describing the progress towards the performance
objectives specified in the award agreement.

2. In the event a company or sponsoring entity fails to
meet its performance objectives specified in its agreement with
DED, DED shall retain the rights to withhold award funds,
modify the terms and conditions of the award, and to reclaim
disbursed funds from the company and/or sponsoring entity in
an amount commensurate with the scope of the unmet
performance objectives and the foregone benefits to the state.

3. In the event a company or sponsoring entity
knowingly files a false statement in its application or in a
progress report, the company or sponsoring entity shall be
guilty of the offense of filing false public records and shall be
subject to the penalty provided for in La. R.S. 14:133.

4. DED shall retain the right to require and/or conduct
financial and performance audits of a project, including all
relevant records and documents of the company and the
sponsoring entity.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341, et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1638
(December, 1997), amended LR 24:

Kevin P. Reilly, Sr.
Secretary

9807#076

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Office of the Secretary

Regional Initiatives Program
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 70)

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act and the
authority of R.S. 51:2341, the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary, hereby finds that
emergency action is deemed necessary for the timely

This emergency rule is effective June 12, 1998, and shall
remain in effect for 120 days or until adoption of the rule,
whichever occurs first.

The purpose of the program is to stimulate regional
economic development efforts by encouraging existing public
and private organizations to combine financial and leadership
resources to market their shared strengths to overcome their
common deficits. The program serves to help create a “spirit
of regional cooperation.”

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§7003. Definitions

Applicant— the entity requesting financial assistance from
DED under this program.

Award— grant funding approved under this program for
eligible applicants.

Awardee— an applicant receiving an award under this
program.

DED— Louisiana Department of Economic Development.
Operating Costs— ongoing administrative, salary and travel

expenses of the organization(s) applying for program funds.
Program— the Regional Initiatives Program.
Secretary— the secretary of the Department of Economic

Development.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

51:2341 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
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§7005. General Principles
The following principles will direct the administration of the accomplished, the duration of the project, how the proposed

Regional Initiatives Program. project will have a positive economic impact on the parish or
1. Awards should be considered to be one time only region and how the proposed effort will be continued beyond

funding to achieve a specific goal for a regional (multi-parish) the funding requested.
economic development organization or coalition of 2. Copy of letter(s) notifying the applicant’s local
organizations. governments, area legislators, and the prevailing economic

2. Grant proposals must delineate clearly what is development organization of your intent to apply for R.I.P.
proposed and what is to be achieved by the award. funding.

3. Awards are not for the purpose of replacing existing 3. Quantifiable objectives and deliverables for the
costs, creating new, additional organizations, paying salaries, project and plans to measure the effectiveness of the project
construction of facilities or acquisition of equipment, unless according to those objectives and deliverables.
approved by the secretary. 4. A detailed budget for the project including sources of

4. Projects to be funded must augment the Louisiana funds and letters of commitment from the funding sources as
Economic Development Council’s plan and the objectives and well as written commitment of the 25 percent match to be used
strategies of DED. for the project.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§7007. Eligibility

An eligible applicant for the Grant Award can include but is
not limited to one of the following.

1. An existing regional economic development A. Applicants must submit their completed application and
organization. proposal to the secretary of DED. Submitted applications will

2. Local chambers of commerce. be reviewed and evaluated by DED staff. Input may be
3. Local economic development organizations. required from the applicant and other state agencies as needed
4. Multi parish organizations funded by local governing in order to:

authorities and the federal government with an agreement 1. evaluate the strategic importance of the project to the
signed by parish heads of government authorizing the group to economic well-being of the state and region;
apply for funds under the Regional Initiatives Program. 2. determine whether the project’s funding requirements

5. Consortium of local economic development are best met by the proposed award;
organizations as evidenced by a written agreement to enter into 3. validate the information presented;
a proposal for the purposes of the Regional Initiatives 4. determine the overall feasibility of the applicant’s
Program. plan.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§7009. Criteria

A. Preference will be given to projects that are regional
(multi-parish) in scope.

B. Projects must have a positive economic impact on at
least an entire parish.

C. Preference will be given to projects that enhance,
expand or are intended to foster cooperation among both
public and private development entities on a regional basis.

D. Preference will be given to rural areas and to proposals
from organizations not already receiving economic
development funds from the state.

E. No DED award funds can be used to fund ongoing
operating costs.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§7011. Application Procedure

The applicant must submit an application on a form provided
by DED which shall contain, but not be limited to, the
following.

1. A narrative proposal (maximum of three pages) that

states the objectives and details of the project, what is to be

5. Résumé(s) of consultants involved with the project.
6. Any additional information the Secretary may require.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§7013. Submission and Review Procedure

B. Upon determination that an application meets the
eligibility criteria for this program and is deemed to be
beneficial to the well-being of the state, DED staff will then
make a recommendation to the secretary. If the secretary finds
the application complies with the requirements of this
program, he may approve the application for funding.

1. No funds spent on the project prior to the secretary’s
approval will be considered eligible project costs.

2. The secretary will issue a Letter of Commitment to the
applicant within five working days of the application review
and approval.

3. The final 10 percent of the award amount will not be
paid until DED staff reviews the deliverables of the grant
agreement to assure that all work has been completed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:
§7015. General Award Provisions

A. Award Agreement. A grant agreement will be executed
between DED and the awardee. The agreement will specify the
performance objectives and deliverables expected of the
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awardee and the compliance requirements to be enforced in
exchange for state assistance, including, but not limited to,
time lines for program completion.

B. Use of Funds
1. Any salary of the applicant related to the project is to

be funded through the applicant’s match.
2. Project costs ineligible for award funds include, but

are not limited to:
a. ongoing operating costs;
b. furniture, fixtures, computers, transportation

equipment, rolling stock or equipment, unless approved by the
secretary.

C. Amount of Award
1. The portion of the total project costs financed by the

award may not exceed 75 percent of the total project cost.
2. The applicant shall provide at least 25 percent of the

total cost; 12½ percent of the total project cost may be inkind.
For the purposes of this program, inkind is the use, as a match,
of the awardee’s own resources to accomplish the goals of the
project being funded.

3. The secretary, in his discretion, may limit the amount
of awards to effect the best allocation of resources based upon
the number of projects requiring funding and the availability of
program funds.

D. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds
1. Upon notification of the award by the secretary, the

awardee can begin spending funds on the project.
2. Award funds will be available to the awardee upon

execution of a grant agreement.
3. Award funds will not be available for disbursement

until:
a. DED receives signed commitments by the project’s

other financing sources (public and private);
b. all other closing conditions specified in the award

agreement have been satisfied.
E. Compliance Requirements

1. The awardee shall be required to submit progress
reports, as specified in the award agreement, describing the
progress towards the performance objectives specified in the
award agreement.

2. In the event an awardee fails to meet its performance
objectives specified in its agreement with DED, DED shall
retain the rights to withhold award funds, modify the terms and
conditions of the award, and to reclaim disbursed funds from
the awardee in an amount commensurate with the scope of the
unmet performance objectives and the foregone benefits to the
state.

3. In the event an awardee knowingly files a false
statement in its application or in a progress report, the
company or sponsoring entity shall be guilty of the offense of
filing false public records and shall be subject to the penalty
provided for in La. R.S. 14:133.

4. DED shall retain the right to require and/or conduct
financial and performance audits of a project, including all
relevant records and documents of the company and the
sponsoring entity.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2341 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 24:

Kevin P. Reilly, Sr.
Secretary

9807#075

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Office of the Secretary

Workforce Development and Training Program
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 50)

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the
Secretary, is exercising the emergency provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), to promulgate
emergency rules of the Louisiana Workforce Development and
Training Program effective immediately. These rules will
prescribe in accordance with LAC 13:I.Chapter 50. These
emergency rules shall be effective July 5, 1998 and shall
remain in effect for a period of 120 days or until a final rule is
promulgated, whichever occurs first.

The Department of Economic Development is exercising the
emergency provision of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953(B), in order to publish these rules because of a
recognized immediate need to assist businesses with
customized workforce training programs in order to create and
retain jobs statewide and to reduce confusion regarding the
intent, criteria and process for the program.

The emergency rule changes will provide clarification of
issues related to the eligible costs of the program. Without
these changes, businesses will be severely impacted and the
state’s workforce will experience a disruption due to an
absence of training assistance for continued employment and
job retention. Such disruption would likely result in diminished
job creation and increased risk of higher unemployment.

The proposed emergency rules are intended to mitigate the
disruptions described above.

Title 13
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
Part I. Commerce and Industry
Subpart 3. Financial Incentives

Chapter 50. Workforce Development and Training
Program

§5001. Purpose
The purpose of the program is to develop and provide

customized workforce training programs to existing and
prospective Louisiana businesses as a means of:

1. improving the competitiveness and productivity of
Louisiana’s workforce and business community;

2. upgrading employee skills for new technologies or
production processes; and

3. assisting Louisiana businesses in promoting
employment stability.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
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LR 24: Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
§5003. Definitions

Applicant— the entity requesting training assistance from
DED under this program.

Award— funding approved under this program for eligible
training activities.

Awardee— an applicant (and/or company(ies)) receiving a
training award under this program.

Contract— a legally enforceable agreement between DED,
the awardee and a monitoring entity governing the terms and
conditions of the training award.

Contractee— the awardee and monitoring entity that are
party to a training award contract with DED under this
program.

DED— Louisiana Department of Economic Development.
Labor Demand Occupation— an occupation for which there

is, or is likely to be, greater demand than supply of adequately
trained workers.

Monitoring Entity— a public or not-for-profit entity
contracted to monitor the compliance of an awardee with the
terms and conditions of a training award contract, and to
reimburse the awardee for eligible training costs.

Program— the Workforce Development and Training
Program.

Secretary— the secretary of the Department of Economic §5009. Eligibility
Development.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
LR 24:
§5005. General Principles

The following principles will direct the administration of the
Customized Workforce Training Program:

1. training awards are not to be construed as an
entitlement for companies locating or located in Louisiana;

2. awards must reasonably be expected to be a
significant factor in companies’location, investment, and/or
expansion decisions;

3. awards must reasonably be demonstrated to result in
the enhanced economic well-being of the state and local
communities;

4. the retention and strengthening of existing Louisiana
businesses will be evaluated using the same procedures and
with the same priority as the recruitment of new businesses to LR 24:
the state; §5011. Criteria

5. the anticipated economic benefits to the state will be
considered in making the award;

6. awards will be coordinated with the existing plans and
programs of other government agencies whenever appropriate;
and

7. a train-the-trainer approach will be adopted whenever
appropriate in order to strengthen the institutional capacity of
public and private sector training providers.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic

LR 24:
§5007. Program Descriptions

This program provides 3 types of training assistance for
companies seeking prospective employees who possess
sufficient skills to perform the jobs to be created by the
companies. The training to be funded can include:

1. pre-employment training for which prospective
employees are identified and recruited for training with the
knowledge that the company will hire a portion of the trainees;

2. on-the-job (and/or upgrade) training for employees
that is needed to bring the employees up to a minimum skill
and/or productivity level; and

3. incumbent training for companies seeking to improve
the skills of existing employees in response to technological
advances or improved production processes, or the need to
ensure compliance with accepted international and industrial
quality standards (e.g., ISO standards, proprietary technology).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
LR 24:

A. An eligible applicant is: an employer, labor
organization, or community-based organization that seeks
customized training services to provide training for a labor
demand occupation in a particular industry.

B. Employees to be trained must be employed in Louisiana,
except for projects locating at Stennis Space Center in
Mississippi. Employees to be trained for projects at Stennis
Space Center must be Louisiana residents.

C. A company shall be considered ineligible for this
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities
relative to failure or inability to pay its obligations; including
state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceeding, or if it has
pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any proceeding
concerning denial or revocation of a necessary license or
permit.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),

A. General (These apply to all training programs
administered under these rules.)

1. Preference will be given to applicants in industries
identified by the state as target industries, and to applicants
located in areas of the state with high unemployment levels.

2. Employer(s) must be in full compliance with
Louisiana unemployment insurance laws.

3. If a company does not begin the project within 365
days of application approval, the secretary, at his discretion,
may cancel funding of the training.

B. Pre-employment and On-the-job Training
1. Applicants must create at least 10 net new jobs in the

state.
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2. Participation in pre-employment training does not 2. the training award is expected to be a significant
guarantee students a job upon completion of their training. factor in the company’s location, investment, and/or expansion

C. Incumbent Retraining. Applicants must request training decision; and
for at least five employees. 3. the fiscal impact of the proposed training on state and

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
LR 24:
§5013. Application Procedure

DED will provide a standard form which applicants will use
to apply for assistance. The application form will contain, but
not be limited to, detailed descriptions of the following:

1. an overview of the company, its history, and the
business climate in which it operates;

2. the company’s overall training plan, including a
summary of the types and amounts of training to be provided
and a description of how the company determined its need for
training;

3. the specific training programs for which DED
assistance is requested, including descriptions of the methods, A. Award Agreement
providers and costs of the proposed training; and 1. A contract will be executed between DED, the

4. any additional information the secretary may require. applicant (and/or company(ies) receiving training) and an
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

51:2331 et seq.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
LR 24:
§5015. Submission and Review Procedure

A. Applicants must submit their completed application to
DED. Submitted applications will be reviewed and evaluated
by DED staff. Input may be required from the applicant, other
divisions of the Department of Economic Development, and
other state agencies as needed, in order to:

1. evaluate the importance of the proposed training to
the economic well-being of the state and local communities;

2. identify the availability of existing training programs
which could be adapted to meet the employer’s needs;

3. verify that the business will continue to operate during
the period of the contract;

4. determine if employer’s training plan is cost effective.
B. A cost-benefit analysis tailored to applicants’specific

industries shall be conducted by DED to determine the net
benefit to the state of the proposed training award. Such
analysis will include, but not be limited to, evaluations of:

1. the importance of the proposed training to the
recruitment/retention of businesses and/or jobs in the state;

local governments.
C. Upon determination that an application meets the

criteria for this program, DED staff will then make a
recommendation to the secretary of the Department of
Economic Development. The application will then be reviewed
and approved by the following entities in the following order:

1. the secretary of the Department of Economic
Development;

2. the governor; and
3. the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
LR 24:
§5017. General Award Provisions

appropriate monitoring entity from the same geographic area
as the applicant. The contract will specify the performance
objectives expected of the company(ies) and the compliance
requirements to be enforced in exchange for state assistance,
including, but not limited to, time lines for job training and job
creation.

2. DED will disburse funds to the monitoring entity in a
manner determined by DED.

3. The monitoring entity will monitor the progress of the
training and reimburse the applicant from cost reports
submitted by the applicant on a form approved by DED. DED,
at its discretion, may request the monitor to obtain additional
information.

4. The cost associated with this contract incurred by the
monitoring entity will be considered part of the total training
award, but will not exceed 5 percent of the award amount or
$10,000.00, whichever is less.

5. Funds may be used for training programs extending
up to two years in duration.

6. Contracts issued under previous rules may be
amended to reflect current regulations as of the date of the
most recent change, upon request and approval of the
contractor and the secretary.

B. Funding. Award may include pre-employment, new
employee and/or incumbent training not to exceed $500,000
for total amount.

1. The Louisiana Workforce Development and Training
Program offers financial assistance in the form of a grant for
reimbursement of eligible training costs specified in the award
agreement.

2. Eligible training costs may include the following:
a. Instruction Costs: wages for company trainers and

training coordinators, Louisiana public and/or private school
tuition, contracts for vendor trainers, training seminars;

b. Travel Costs: travel for trainers and training
coordinators, and travel for trainees.
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c. Materials and Supplies Costs: training texts and 4. In the event a company or monitoring entity
manuals, audio/visual materials, raw materials and Computer knowingly files a false statement in its application or in a
Based Training (CBT) software; and progress report, the company or monitoring entity shall be

d. Other Costs: facility rental and fees or service costs guilty of the offense of filing false public records and shall be
incurred by the monitoring entity associated with the contract subject to the penalty provided for in La. R.S. 14:133.
to monitor the training and to disburse award funds, as limited 5. DED shall retain the right to require and/or conduct
by §5017.A.4 above. financial and performance audits of a project, including all

3. Training costs ineligible for reimbursement include: relevant records and documents of the company and the
a. trainee wages and fringe benefits; monitoring entity.
b. non-consumable tangible property (e.g., equipment,

calculators, furniture, classroom fixtures, non-Computer Based
Training (CBT) software), unless owned by a public training
provider;

c. out-of-state, publicly supported schools;
d. employee handbooks;
e. scrap produced during training;
f. food, refreshments; and
g. awards.

4. Training activities eligible for funding consist of:
a. transferable skills: skills which will enhance an

employee’s general knowledge, employability and flexibility
in the workplace (e.g., welding, computer skills, blueprint
reading, etc.);

b. company-specific skills: skills which are unique to
a company’s workplace, equipment and/or capital investment;

c. quality standards skills: skills which are intended to
increase the quality of a company’s products and/or services
and ensure compliance with accepted international and
industrial quality standards (e.g., ISO standards); and

d. skills pertaining to instructional methods and
techniques used by trainers (e.g., train-the-trainer activities).

C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds
1. Funds will be available on a reimbursement basis

following submission of required documentation to DED by
monitoring entity. Funds will not be available for
reimbursement until a training agreement between the
applicant (and/or company(ies) receiving the training) and an
approved training provider has been executed. Only funds
spent on the project after the secretary’s approval will be
considered eligible for reimbursement.

2. Companies will be eligible for reimbursement at 90
percent until all contracted performance objectives have been
met. After the company has achieved 100 percent of its
contracted performance objectives, the remaining 10 percent
of the grant award will be made available for reimbursement.

D. Compliance Requirements
1. Contractees shall be required to complete quarterly

reports describing progress toward the performance objectives
specified in their contract with DED.

2. The termination of employees during the contract
period who have received program-funded training shall be for
documented cause only, which shall include voluntary
termination.

3. In the event a company or sponsoring entity fails to
meet its performance objectives specified in its contract with
DED, DED shall retain the rights to withhold award funds,
modify the terms and conditions of the award, and to reclaim
disbursed funds from the company and/or sponsoring entity in
an amount commensurate with the scope of the unmet
performance objectives and the foregone benefits to the state.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
51:2331 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Economic Development Corporation, LR
23:43 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Economic
Development, Office of the Secretary LR 23:1641 (December 1997),
LR 24:

Kevin P. Reilly, Sr.
Secretary

9807#082

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Apprentice Contract (LAC 35:XLI.705)

The Racing Commission is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under R.S.
4:141 et seq., adopts the following emergency rule effective
June 11, 1998. This rule shall remain in effect for 120 days or
until it takes effect through the normal promulgation process,
whichever comes first.

The Racing Commission finds it necessary to amend this rule
to shorten an apprentice jockey's apprentice period from three
to two years, which will be consistent with other racing
jurisdictions.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL

STANDARDS
Part XLI. Horseracing Occupations

Chapter 7. Jockeys and Apprentice Jockeys
§705. Apprentice's Contract

A. ...
B. An apprentice shall start with 5 pounds allowance. He

shall continue this allowance for one year from the date of his
fifth winner, after which, if he has not ridden 40 winners in the
year following the date of his fifth winner, he shall continue the
allowance for a period not to exceed two years from the date of
his first winner or until he has ridden 40 winners, whichever
occurs first.

C. - D. ...
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

4:148, R.S. 4:150 and R.S. 4:151.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Racing Commission in

1971, amended by the Department of Commerce, Racing
Commission, LR 2:431 (December 1976), LR 3:27 (January 1977),
repromulgated LR 4:276 (August 1978), amended by the Department
of Economic Development, Racing Commission, LR 17:588 (June
1991), LR 24:
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Paul D. Burgess 4:141 et seq., adopts the following emergency rule effective
Executive Director June 11, 1998, and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or

9807#006

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Displaying Daily Double Rule (LAC 35:XIII.10521)

The Racing Commission is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under R.S.
4:141 et seq., adopts the following emergency rule effective
June 11, 1998, and it shall remain in effect for 120 days or
until this rule takes effect through the normal promulgation
process, whichever comes first.

The Racing Commission finds it necessary to amend this rule
to allow racing associations to display the full daily double rule
in the betting area as opposed to printing it in their daily racing
program, which is consistent with other wagering rules.

Title 35
HORSE RACING

Part XIII. Wagering
Chapter 105. Daily Double
§10521. Displaying Daily Double Rule

This rule shall be prominently displayed throughout the
betting area of each track conducting the trifecta and printed
copies of this rule shall be distributed by the track to patrons
upon request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 11:616 (June 1985), amended
by the Department of Economic Development, Racing Commission,
LR 24:

Paul D. Burgess (LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the
Executive Director Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to adopt rules

9807#004

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Economic Development
Racing Commission

Field Less Than Six (LAC 35:XIII.11115)

The Racing Commission is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953(B), and pursuant to the authority granted under R.S.

until this rule takes effect through the normal promulgation
process, whichever comes first.

The Racing Commission finds it necessary to amend this rule
to permit trifecta wagering when there are six or more horses
running (previously eight) in a race.

Title 35
HORSE RACING

Part XIII. Wagering
Chapter 111. Trifecta Wagering
§11115. Field Less Than Six

A. Trifecta wagering will be permitted when the number of
scheduled starters in a thoroughbred or quarter horse race is
six or more. A late scratch after wagering begins on that race
will not cancel trifecta wagering.

B. ...
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

4:149, R.S. 4:149.1 and R.S. 4:149.2.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Commerce, Racing Commission, LR 11:616 (June 1985), amended
by the Department of Economic Development, Racing Commission,
LR 18:366 (April 1992), LR 22:13 (January 1996), LR 24:

Paul D. Burgess
Executive Director

9807#005

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Student Financial Assistance Commission
 Office of Student Financial Assistance

Tuition Opportunity Program for Students
(TOPS)(LAC 28:IV.Chapters 1-21)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission

to implement Act 165 of the 1998 First Extraordinary
Legislative Session as it affects the Tuition Opportunity
Program for Students (R.S. 17:3048.1) and the Tuition
Opportunity Program for Teachers (R.S. 17:3042.1).

The emergency rules are necessary to implement the new
statutory provisions effective for the 1998-99 school year and
to allow the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance
and state educational institutions to prepare for the
implementation of these programs. A delay in promulgating
rules would have an adverse impact on the financial welfare of
the eligible students and the financial condition of their
families. The commission has, therefore, determined that these
emergency rules are necessary in order to prevent imminent
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students.

This declaration of emergency is effective June 20, 1998,
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed
under the Administrative Procedure Act.

Title 28 Part IV. Student Financial Assistance— Higher
EDUCATION Education Scholarship and Grant Programs
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Chapter 1. Scope
§101. Introduction

A. Statutory Authority. The Louisiana Student Financial the rules and regulations.
Assistance Commission (LASFAC) was created by Chapter
20, Higher Education Assistance, Louisiana Revised Statutes
of 1950, comprised of R.S. 17:3021-3036, for the purpose of
supervising, controlling, directing and administering state and
federal programs to provide loans to assist persons in meeting
the expenses of higher education, and state and federal
scholarship and grant programs for higher education. The
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA),
under authority of the commission, administers state and
federal postsecondary student scholarship, grant and loan
programs.

B. Agency's Mission Statement. The mission of LOSFA is 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
to provide resources to Louisiana residents for the pursuit of §107. Authority to Audit
postsecondary education.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§103. Purpose

A. LAC 28:IV provides the rules and regulations governing
participation in the scholarship and grant programs
administered by LASFAC including, but not limited to:

1. applicants and recipients;
2. high school counselors;
3. principals and headmasters; 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR:24:
4. superintendents; §109. Discrimination Prohibition
5. college and university financial aid directors and staff;

and
6. federal and state authorities.

B. LAC 28:IV was developed to meet the following
objectives:

1. establish scholarship and grant policies and
procedures that implement and explain or interpret statutes;

2. define the program responsibilities of participants
(applicants, recipients, and high school, school board and
postsecondary institution officials);

3. ensure that scholarships and grants are awarded in
accordance with statute and legislative intent;

4. establish procedures to monitor the performance of
scholarship and grant recipients;

5. ensure compliance with statutory and regulatory
provisions governing the administered programs.

C. Since these rules and regulations can neither anticipate
nor address every situation that might be encountered in the
administration of the scholarship and grant programs included
herein, participants in doubt about the applicability or
interpretation of a rule or regulation in LAC 28:IV are advised
to contact LOSFA for guidance.

D. LAC 28:IV shall be amended and updated as necessary.
Such updates will be forwarded to institutions in the form of

Scholarship and Grant Program Memoranda (SGPM). SGPM
will cover additions, deletions, revisions and clarifications to

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance LR
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§105. Effective Date

These rules and regulations are effective for awards
beginning with the 1998-99 academic year.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

By participating in the scholarship and grant programs
administered by LASFAC and described in LAC 28:IV, all
participants, including high schools and postsecondary
institutions, grant LASFAC and the Louisiana legislative
auditor the right to inspect records and perform on-site audits
of each institution's administration of the programs for the
purpose of determining the institution's compliance with state
law and LASFAC's rules and regulations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

The exclusion of a person from equal opportunity for a
Louisiana scholarship and/or grant program administered by
LASFAC because of race, religion, sex, handicap, national
origin or ancestry is prohibited. No policy or procedure of this
agency shall be interpreted as superseding or contradicting this
prohibition.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§111. Criminal Penalties

All certifications of student performance which are
submitted to LASFAC for the purpose of determining a
student's eligibility for an award under a student aid program
administered by LASFAC shall be by sworn affidavit of the
certifying official and such official shall be subject to criminal
law applicable to false swearing.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 3. Definitions
§301. Definitions

Where the masculine is used, in these rules, it includes the
feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is used, it includes
the plural, and vice versa.
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Academic Year (College)— the two- and four-year college
and university academic year begins with the fall term of the
award year, includes the winter term, if applicable, and
culminates with the completion of the spring term of the award
year. The two- and four-year college and university academic Disabled Student— a student who has one or more
year does not include summer sessions or intersessions. The learning, visual, hearing, or physical disabilities diagnosed by
Louisiana Technical College academic year begins with the fall a person licensed or certified to diagnose such disability, when
quarter, includes the winter and spring quarters and culminates the diagnosis states the need for the student to be provided
with the summer quarter. special accommodations relative to the curriculum

Academic Year (High School)— the annual academic year
for high school begins with the fall session, includes the winter
and spring terms and ends at the conclusion of the summer
term, in that order. For purposes of determining the top 5
percent of the 1997-98 graduating class only, the annual
academic year for high school begins with the summer session,
includes the fall terms and ends at the conclusion of the spring
term, in that order. This definition is not to be confused with
the Louisiana Department of Education's definition of school
year , which is found in Louisiana Department of Education
Bulletin 741.

ACT Score— the highest composite score achieved by the
student on the official American College Test prior to the date
of high school graduation or an equivalent score, as determined
by the comparison tables used by LOSFA, on the Scholastic
Aptitude Test (SAT) taken prior to the date of high school
graduation. ACT test scores which are unofficial, including
so-called “residual” test scores, are not acceptable for
purposes of determining program eligibility.

BESE— Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,
elected and appointed body with statutory oversight of
Louisiana special, elementary and secondary schools.

Cost of Attendance— the total amount it will cost a student
to go to school, usually expressed as an academic year figure.
This cost is determined by the school in compliance with Title
IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, and is
annually updated and adopted by the institution. The cost of
education covers tuition and fees, on-campus room and board
(or a housing and food allowance for off-campus students) and
allowances for books, supplies, transportation, child care,
costs related to a disability, and miscellaneous expenses. Also
included are reasonable costs for eligible programs of study
abroad. An allowance (determined by the school) is included
for reasonable costs connected with a student's employment as
part of a cooperative education program.

Cumulative High School Grade Point Average— the final
cumulative high school grade point average calculated on a
4.00 scale for all courses attempted. For those high schools
that utilize other than a 4.00 scale, all grade values must be
converted to a 4.00 scale utilizing the following formula:

By cross multiplying,

Quality points = Credit for course multiplied by the value
assigned to the letter grade.

Dependent Student— a student who is dependent on his or

her parents or legal guardian for support and therefore is
required to include parental information on the Free
Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal
FAFSA.

requirement.
Eligible Noncitizen— an individual who can provide

documentation from the Immigration and Naturalization
Service (INS) that he is in the U.S. for other than a temporary
purpose with the intention of becoming a citizen or permanent
resident. Including, but not limited to, refugees, persons
granted asylum, Cuban-Haitian entrants, temporary residents
under the recent Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986,
and others. A permanent resident of the U.S. must provide
documentation from the INS to verify permanent residency.

Eligible Non-Louisiana High School and Eligible Out of
State High School— See §1701.A.4.

Exceptional Child — a student defined as an exceptional
child in accordance with R.S.17:1943(2), excluding gifted and
talented.

Expected Family Contribution (EFC)— an amount,
determined by a formula established by Congress, that
indicates how much of a family's financial resources should be
available to help pay for the student’s cost of attendance.
Factors such as taxable and nontaxable income, assets (such as
savings and checking accounts), and benefits (for example,
unemployment or Social Security) are all considered in this
calculation.

Fee Schedule— a listing of the actual tuition and
mandatory fees for attendance at a postsecondary school as
defined by the institution.

First-Time Freshman— a student who enrolls for the first
time as a full-time freshman in a postsecondary school
subsequent to high school graduation, and continues to be
enrolled full time on the fourteenth class day (ninth class day
for Louisiana Tech). A student who begins postsecondary or
university attendance in a summer session will be considered
a first-time enrollee for the immediately succeeding fall term.
As a one time exception and for the purposes of the TOPS
Program, students who graduated from high school in
Academic Year 1996-97 are considered first time freshman for
the 1998 fall term, if they are in academic good standing.

Full-Time Student—
a. a student enrolled in an institution of higher

education who is carrying a full-time academic workload as
determined by the school under the standards applicable to all
students enrolled;

b. for continuation purposes, a student is considered
to have met the full-time requirement if by the completion of
the spring term he has earned at least 24 hours of total credit
during the fall, winter and spring terms at an institution
defining 12 semester or eight quarter hours as the minimum for
full-time undergraduate status;

c. for programs which permit graduate study, a
graduate student must have earned at least 18 hours of total
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms;
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d. a workload of at least 30 clock hours per week is ranked. The following formulas for the merit ranking of
the full-time equivalent at a technical college. scholarship applicants provide for the equating of scores for

High School Graduate— for the purposes of these rules,
is defined as a student certified by award of a high school
diploma to have satisfactorily completed the required units at
a Louisiana public or BESE-approved nonpublic high school
or certified by award of a high school diploma from an Eligible
Non-Louisiana High School or certified by award of a high
school diploma from an eligible out-of -state public or non-
public high school approved by the appropriate state agency in
said state or a student who has completed at least the final two
years of a BESE-approved home study program and has
reported such to BESE.

Independent Student— a student who meets at least one
of the criteria listed in Subparagraphs a. - f. or has been
determined independent by a financial aid officer exercising
professional judgment in accordance with applicable
provisions of the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended:

a. reached 24 years of age prior to January of the year
preceding the academic year for which the student is applying
for aid;

b. is a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, including a
student who was activated to serve in Operation Desert Storm;

c. is an orphan or a ward of the court or was a ward of
the court until age 18;

d. has legal dependents other than a spouse;
e. is a graduate or professional student;
f. is married.

Louisiana Resident—
a. any person or independent student who has resided

in the state for a period of two years or more, or for some other
period of residency which is required to qualify the person for
a specific program administered by the LASFAC, and has
manifested an intent to permanently reside in the state by
establishing Louisiana as their legal domicile and by
complying with all of the following that are applicable to that
person:

i. if registered to vote, is registered to vote in
Louisiana; and

ii. if licensed to drive a motor vehicle, is in
possession of a Louisiana driver's license; and

iii. if owning a motor vehicle located within
Louisiana, is in possession of a Louisiana registration for that
vehicle; and

iv. if earning an income, has complied with
Louisiana state income tax laws and regulations.

b. any dependent student who has at least one parent
or a legal guardian who qualifies as a resident in accordance
with a, above.

c. any member of the Armed Forces on active duty
whose official military personnel or pay records show that the
member claims Louisiana as his home of record and who has
filed a Louisiana tax return for the most recent two years in
compliance with a.iv, above.

Merit Ranking Formula— a mathematical equation
incorporating selected merit factors which is used to rank
eligible applicants in the priority by which competitive
scholarships are to be awarded. As of July 1, 1997, the TOPS
Teacher Award and Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship are
the only programs in which applicants are competitively

high school graduating seniors and college students.
a. Formula I— applies to applicants for the

Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship with less than 24 hours
of graded college credit and to applicants for the
TOPS— Teacher Award with less than 48 hours of graded
college credit:

b. Formula II— applies to applicants for the
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship with 24 or more hours
of graded college credit and to applicants for the
TOPS— Teacher Award with 48 or more hours of graded
college credit:

c. Formula III— applies to applicants for the TOPS
Teacher Award. For those applicants majoring in math or
chemistry, an additional 10 points are added to the merit score
determined by Formula I or II, resulting in an adjusted merit
score.

d. Applicants' merit scores are ranked in descending
order with the applicant with the highest merit score ranked
first. The number of applicants selected for award is dependent
upon the amount of award funds available.

Monetary Repayment— for purposes of the Rockefeller
State Wildlife Scholarship and TOPS Teacher Award
Programs, repaying the scholarship funding received, plus any
interest accrued under the terms of the promissory note signed
by the recipient, if the recipient fails to fulfill the terms of the
program. See Repayment.

Over Award— for the purposes of LAC 28:IV, an over
award occurs when a student received financial aid in excess
of the cost of attendance as established in accordance with
federal Title IV regulations or an award under state programs
to which the student was not entitled.

Refund— a refund of school charges that the school makes
to a student or to a creditor on behalf of the student, usually
after the student has withdrawn from school. The refund to the
student is the difference between the amount the student paid
toward school charges minus the amount the school keeps for
the portion of the payment period that the student was enrolled.

Repayment— the amount of the cash disbursement that a
student must pay back to the school if the student withdraws
from the program. If the cash disbursement was greater than
the student's cost of attendance (student's education costs
above and beyond the amount of tuition and fees) up to the
withdrawal date, the student must repay the excess amount.
The actual amount of the refund/repayment is determined
according to the school's policy in accordance with federal
regulations. See Monetary Repayment.
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Substantial Financial Need— for purposes of the SSIG
program only, substantial financial need is the difference
between the student's cost of attendance and the sum of that
student's expected family contribution (EFC), plus other
student aid the student is due to receive. The difference thus
computed must exceed $199.

Tuition— the fee charged each student by a postsecondary
institution to cover the student’s share of the cost of
instruction, including all other mandatory enrollment fees
charged to all students, except for the Technology Fee
authorized by Act 1450 of the 1997 Regular Session of the
Legislature, which were in effect as of January 1, 1998, and
any changes in the cost of instruction authorized by the
legislature and implemented by the institution after that date.

Undergraduate Student— a student who has not
completed the requirements for a baccalaureate degree
program and/or is not classified as a professional student for
the purposes of receipt of federal student aid.

Weighted Average Tuition— the total dollar value of
awards made under the TOPS in the prior academic year,
excluding award stipends, to students attending public colleges
and universities that offer academic degrees at the
baccalaureate level, divided by the total number of students
that received the awards. For the 1998-99 award year only, the
Weighted Average Tuition shall be computed using the total
dollar value of awards made to students during academic year
1997-98 under the TAP and Louisiana Honors Scholarship
Programs who attended public institutions which offer
academic undergraduate degrees.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 5. Application; Application Deadlines and

Proof of Compliance
§501. Application

All new applicants for, and all continuing recipients of,
Louisiana scholarship and grant programs must annually apply
for state and federal aid by completing the Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the renewal FAFSA,
whichever is applicable to the individual student. The deadline
for priority consideration for state aid is published in the
FAFSA's instructions and may be revised annually by the
LASFAC.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§503. Application Deadlines

A. Deadline for Priority Consideration
1. For priority consideration for the 1998-99 award year,

applicants must submit the FAFSA to be received by the
federal processor by June 1, 1998.

2. Priority consideration means that an applicant who
submits a FAFSA by this date shall, under normal
circumstances, receive notification of his eligibility for a
noncompetitive award (TOPS Opportunity, Performance and
Honors Awards) prior to enrolling in the fall term.

3. An applicant for a competitively awarded scholarship

(TOPS Teacher Award and Rockefeller State Wildlife
Scholarship) who submits a FAFSA by this date shall be
considered for selection of award in the first round of
applicants awarded.

4. For priority consideration for award years after
1998-99, applicants must submit the FAFSA to be postmarked
by April 15, or to be received by the federal processor by May
1, preceding the award year.

B. Final Deadline. The final deadline to apply for state aid
is March 1 of the award year, by which time the FAFSA must
have been received by the federal processor. For example, for
the 1998-99 award year, the final deadline date for receipt of
the application by the federal processor is March 1, 1999.

C. If a prescribed deadline date falls on a weekend or
holiday, it will automatically be extended to the next business
day.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§505. Proof of Compliance

As proof of compliance with the state's final deadline for
submitting the FAFSA, LASFAC will accept the
documentation listed in §505.1-3. No other form of
verification, including notarized or certified statements, will be
accepted as proof of compliance with the deadline
requirement.

1. A certificate of mailing, registered, certified,
certified/return receipt requested, priority or overnight mail
receipt from the United States Postal Service, or other
authorized mail carriers such as United Parcel Service and
Federal Express, which is dated prior to the state's final
deadline.

2. The Institutional Student Information Report (ESAR
ISIR), produced by the federal processor, shows that the
original application was received by the state's final deadline.

3. The federal processor provides verbal or written
verification to LASFAC that the original application was
received by the state's final deadline.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§507. Final Deadline for Submitting Documentation of

Eligibility
A. LASFAC will continue to process eligibility for both

new and renewal applicants during each award year until May
1 of the spring term of that award year.

B. Students not determined eligible by May 1 of the spring
term of the award year are ineligible to receive program
funding that award year.

C. All documentation and certifications necessary to
establish student eligibility including, but not limited to, high
school and/or college transcripts and certifications, copies of
Student Aid Reports, applicant confirmation forms, promissory
notes and other documents which may be utilized in
determining eligibility, must be received by LASFAC no later
than May 1 of the award year. For example, to receive an
award for the 1998-99 award year, LASFAC must have in its
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possession all documents relevant to establishing eligibility by plus any applicable TOPS stipend and a sum of not more than
May 1, 1999. $150 per semester or $300 annually for the actual cost of

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for Students

(TOPS) Opportunity; Performance and
Honors Awards

§701. General Provisions
A. Legislative Authority. Awards under the Louisiana

Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS), the
Opportunity, Performance and Honors Awards, are established
as set forth in R.S. 17:3048.1 et seq., as amended.

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Tuition
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) is a comprehensive,
merit-based student aid program consisting of a series of
components, with each component having its own eligibility
criteria and titled award. The purpose of TOPS is to provide
an incentive for Louisiana residents to academically prepare
for and pursue postsecondary education in this state, resulting
in an educated work force enabling Louisiana to prosper in the
global market of the future. The major components of TOPS
are the Opportunity award, the Performance award and the
Honors award.

C. The Opportunity, Performance and Honors awards,
which will be funded for the 1998-99 academic year, combine
former programs (Louisiana Tuition Assistance Plan [TAP]
and the Louisiana Honors Scholarship Program) with a new
component, the Honors award, to produce a comprehensive
program of state scholarships.

D. The purposes of this program are to:
1. financially assist those students who are academically

prepared to continue their education at a Louisiana
postsecondary institution; and

2. encourage academic excellence; and
3. provide incentives for Louisiana high school

graduates to pursue postsecondary education in this state.
E. Award Amounts. The specific award amounts for each A. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity,

component of TOPS are as follows. Performance or Honors Award, the student applicant must
1. The TOPS Opportunity Award provides an amount meet all of the following criteria:

equal to undergraduate tuition for full-time attendance at 1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,
Louisiana public two- and four-year colleges and universities. and be registered with the Selective Service, if required, unless

2. The TOPS Performance Award provides a $400 the institutional Financial Aid Officer determines that failure
annual stipend, in addition to an amount equal to tuition for to register was not wilful; and
full-t ime attendance at Louisiana public two- and four-year 2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 of LAC
colleges and universities. 28:IV for not less than two years prior to the date of high

3. The TOPS Honors Award provides an $800 annual school graduation, or if completing an approved home study
stipend, in addition to an amount equal to tuition for full-time program, no less than two years prior to the FAFSA processor
attendance at Louisiana public two- and four-year colleges and receipt date; and
universities. 3. annually submit the completed Free Application for

4. In lieu of the amount equal to tuition as provided by Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA by the
§701.E.1-3, students participating in the program provided by applicable state aid deadline defined in §503; and
R.S. 29:36.1 for persons serving in the Louisiana National a. students who can demonstrate to LASFAC that they
Guard shall receive the tuition exemption as provide therein, do not qualify for federal grant aid because of their family’s

books and other instructional materials.
5. Students attending a regionally accredited

independent college or university which is a member of the
Louisiana Association of Independent Colleges and
Universities (LAICU) receive an amount equal to the
Weighted Average Tuition, as defined in §301, plus any
applicable stipend.

6. Recipients of TOPS Awards who are also
beneficiaries of Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust
(START) Saving Program accounts, may apply the START
disbursements to pay tuition, and any remaining tuition due
may be paid by the TOPS award. Any balance of the TOPS
award which remains after payment of the institution's charges,
shall be credited to the student's account and treated in
accordance with institutional policies. In the event the
student’s total aid, including Vocational Rehabilitation
Awards, exceeds the Cost of Attendance, any federal loan aid
included in the total aid package shall be reduced, then
institutional and other aid in accordance with institutional
practice, then the TOPS Award shall be reduced by the amount
of any remaining over award.

7. Students funded under the Tuition Assistance Plan
(TAP) or the Louisiana Honors Scholarship during the
1997-98 award year, who have maintained eligibility for the
1998-99 award year, shall be continued as TOPS Opportunity
or Performance recipients, respectively.

8. Prior recipients of the Louisiana Honors Scholarship
who attend a campus of the Louisiana Technical College may
continue to attend that institution as a recipient of TOPS
Performance award; however, they are not eligible to receive
the stipend that normally accompanies that award.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:635 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§703. Establishing Eligibility

financial condition are not required to complete those sections
of the FAFSA related to the income and assets of the applicant
and the applicant’s parents;

b. the dependents of Louisiana residents on active duty with the Armed Forces stationed outside of the state of
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Louisiana must enter a Louisiana postsecondary institution in
that section of the FAFSA which asks the applicant to name the
colleges he plans to attend; and

4. initially apply and enroll as a First-Time Freshman as
defined in §301, unless granted an exception for cause by
LASFAC, in an eligible postsecondary institution defined in
§1901, and:

a. if graduating from an eligible Louisiana or an
eligible non-Louisiana high school, enroll not later than the
semester or term, excluding summer semesters or sessions,
immediately following the first anniversary of the date that the
student graduated from high school; or

b. if the student joins the United States Armed Forces
within one year after graduating from an approved high school,
enroll not later than the semester, excluding summer semesters
or sessions, immediately following the fifth anniversary of the
date that the student graduated from high school or within one
year from the date of discharge, whichever is earlier;

c. if the student is eligible under the provisions of
§703.A.5.c, enroll not later than the semester or term,
excluding summer semesters or sessions, immediately
following the first anniversary of the receipt date on the initial
FAFSA submitted by the student; or

d. if the student is eligible under the provisions of
§703.A.5.c and has joined and is on active duty with the United
States Armed Forces within one year of completion of the
twelfth grade of an approved home study program, enroll not
later than the semester or term, excluding summer semesters
or sessions, immediately following the fifth anniversary of the
completion of the approved home study program or within one
year from the date of discharge, whichever is earlier; or

e. if a 1996-97 graduate who is an otherwise eligible
applicant, enroll as a full-time student during fall, 1998;

5.a. graduate from a BESE-approved, provisionally-
approved, or probationally-approved public or nonpublic
Louisiana high school or eligible non-Louisiana high school as
defined in §1703.A.3; and

i. at the time of high school graduation, an applicant
must have successfully completed 16.5 units of high school
course work constituting a core curriculum as follows:

Units Course

1 English I

1 English II

1 English III

1 English IV

1 Algebra I (one unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (two
units)

1 Algebra II

1 Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or Comparable
Advanced Math

1 Biology I

1 Chemistry I

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science,
Biology II, Chemistry II or Physics, Physics II or Physics
for Technology

1 American History

1 World History, World Culture, Western Civilization or
World Geography

1 Civics and/or Economics/Free Enterprise

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute two units Performance
courses in Music, Dance and/or Theater; or two units of
Studio Art or Visual Art; or one elective from among the
other subjects listed in this core curriculum)

2 In the Same Foreign Language (one unit or credit for three
or more hours of college foreign language for students
graduating from high school during the 1996-97 and
1997-98 school years).

½ Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business
Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half unit
of an elective course related to computers that is approved
by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education; (or substitute at least one-half unit of an
elective from among the other subjects listed in this core
curriculum)

ii. core units are waived upon sworn affidavit by the
school board superintendent for public schools or by the
principal or headmaster for nonpublic high schools that the
course was not available to the student at the school attended;
or

b. graduate from a BESE approved,
provisionally-approved or probationally-approved public or
nonpublic Louisiana high school or eligible non-Louisiana
high school as defined in §1703.A.3. and have completed the
core curriculum defined in §703.A.5.a.i, unless the following
exceptions apply:

i. for students in graduating classes prior to the year
2001, one or more core units are waived based upon a sworn
affidavit by the principal or headmaster or authorized designee
that the course was not available to the student at the school
attended;

ii. for students who are exceptional or disabled, as
defined in §301, be unable to complete one or more units in the
core curriculum solely because of the exceptionality or
disability;

iii. for students graduating in academic years
1996-97 and 1997-98, have successfully completed all
requirements of the core curriculum except Foreign Language,
and have successfully completed at least one unit of high
school Foreign Language or three credit hours of Foreign
Language in a postsecondary institution and have forwarded to
LASFAC a transcript from the institution showing successful
completion of at least three credit hours of Foreign Language;
or

c. graduate from an out-of-state public or private high
school approved by the chief state and territorial school officer
(or the state agency which is the equivalent of Louisiana’s
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education) of the state in
which the school is located (See §1701.A.4.); or

d. successfully complete at least the eleventh and
twelfth grade levels of a home study program approved by
BESE; and if having previously attended a Louisiana public
high school, a Louisiana nonpublic high school, or an
approved non-Louisiana high school, has provided LASFAC
with certification by the previously attended high school that
said student was in good standing at the time the student last
attended such school; and

6. at the time of high school graduation, have taken the
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American College Test (ACT) and have correctly entered the earned and the student shall first be awarded for the semester
applicant’s high school code published by ACT, or for or term following that in which eligibility was established.
graduates of out-of-state high schools or approved home-study Under this provision, eligibility must be established not later
programs, that code assigned by ACT and have a composite than the conclusion of the 1998-99 award year.
test score or an equivalent concordant value on the Scholastic
Aptitude Test (SAT) of at least:

a. if qualifying under the terms of §703.A.5.a or b;
i. the state's reported prior year ACT composite

average, rounded, but never less than 19 for the Opportunity
Award; or

ii. a 23 for the Performance Award; or
iii. a 27 for the Honors Award; or

b. if qualifying under §703.A.5.c or d;
i. the state's reported prior year average plus 3

points, rounded, but never less than 22 for the Opportunity
Award; or

ii. a 26 for the Performance Award; or
iii. a 30 for the Honors Award; and

7. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

8. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations, and if the student has been in
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such
service, has received an honorable discharge or general
discharge under honorable conditions; and

9. agree that awards will be used exclusively for
educational expenses.

B. Students qualifying under §703.A.5.a and b, must have
attained a cumulative high school grade point average, based
on a 4.00 maximum scale, for all courses attempted and
recorded on the high school transcript of at least:

a. a 2.50 for the Opportunity Award; or
b. a 3.50 for either the Performance or Honors

Awards.
C. Students qualifying under §703.A.5.a and b, for the

Performance Award only, must be certified as graduating in the
top 5 percent of the 1997-98 high school graduating class, as
defined in LAC 28:IV §1703.B.4, in lieu of completing the
core curriculum.

D. Students who have qualified academically for more than
one of the TOPS awards, excluding the TOPS Teacher Award,
shall choose the award they wish to receive and thereafter must
meet the renewal requirements of the award chosen. This
choice, once made, is irrevocable.

E. Students graduating in academic years 1996-97 and
1997-98 who qualify under §703.A.5.b.iv, (graduates who did
not complete one year of high school foreign language), must
provide LASFAC a copy of their college transcript showing
completion of one or more foreign language courses.
Eligibility for an award is not established until receipt of the
transcript verifying that the foreign language credit was

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:636 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§705. Maintaining Eligibility

A. To continue receiving the TOPS Opportunity,
Performance or Honors Awards, the recipient must meet all of
the following criteria:

1. have received less than four years or eight semesters
of TOPS Award funds; and

2. annually submit the Free Application for Federal
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA by the applicable
state aid deadline defined in §501; and

3. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

4. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations and if the student has been in
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such
service, has received an honorable discharge or general
discharge under honorable conditions; and

5. agree that awards will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

6. continue to enroll and accept the TOPS award as a
full-time undergraduate student in an eligible postsecondary
institution, as defined in §1901, unless granted an exception
for cause by LASFAC; and

7. earn at least 24 college credit hours during the fall and
spring semesters or fall, winter and spring quarters, as
evaluated at the conclusion of the spring term. Unless granted
an exception for cause by LASFAC, failure to earn the required
number of hours will result in permanent cancellation of the
recipient's eligibility; and

8. not be on academic probation the prior academic year,
term, or semester at the postsecondary institution attended; and

9. maintain, by the end of each academic year (the
conclusion of the spring term), a cumulative college grade
point average (GPA) on a 4.00 maximum scale of at least:

a. a 2.30 with the completion of less than 48 credit
hours, a 2.50 after the completion of 48 credit hours, for
continuing receipt of an Opportunity Award; or

b. a 3.00 for continuing receipt of either a
Performance or Honors Award.

B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in
§705.A.8 or §705.A.9.a or b may have their tuition awards
reinstated upon the lifting of academic probation and/or
attainment of the required GPA, if the period of ineligibility
did not persist for more than two years from the date of loss of
eligibility. Students who are reinstated to a Performance or
Honors Award are no longer eligible to receive the annual
stipends that normally accompany these awards.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award
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§801. General Provisions
A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS-TECH Award was Louisiana nonpublic high school, or an approved

created by Act of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the non-Louisiana high school, has provided LASFAC with
Louisiana Legislature. certif ication by the previously attended high school that said

B. Description, History and Purpose. The TOPS-TECH student was in good standing at the time the student last
award is a merit based scholarship program for Louisiana attended such school;
residents pursuing skill or occupational training at a Louisiana 6. if qualifying under the terms of §703.A.5.a, at the time
public community or technical college. The purpose of TOPS- of high school graduation, have successfully completed 16.5
TECH is to provide an incentive for qualified Louisiana units of high school course work constituting the TOPS core
residents to prepare for and pursue technical positions in curriculum as defined in §703.A.5. or the TOPS-TECH core
Louisiana. curriculum as follows:

C. TOPS-TECH shall be first awarded beginning with the a. Core Curriculum— TOPS-TECH Award
1998-99 academic year to 1998 high school graduates and
graduates in subsequent years.

D. TOPS-TECH provides an amount equal to tuition for up
to two years of technical training at a public postsecondary
institution that offers a vocational or technical education
certificate or diploma program or a non-academic
undergraduate degree.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§803. Establishing Eligibility

A. To establish eligibility for the TOPS-TECH Award, the
student applicant must meet the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,
and be registered with the Selective Service, if required, unless
the institutional Financial Aid Officer determines that failure
to register was not wilful; and

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 of LAC
28:IV, for not less than two years prior to the date of high
school graduation, or if completing an approved home study
program, no less than two years prior to the FAFSA processor
receipt date; and

3. annually, submit the completed Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA by the
applicable state aid deadline defined in §503; and

4. initially apply and enroll in a technical program as a
First-Time Freshman, as defined in §301, in a public
community or Louisiana Technical College, unless granted an
exception for cause by LASFAC, not later than the term or
semester excluding summer semesters or sessions,
immediately following the first anniversary of the date that the
student graduated from high school or, if the student joins the
United States Armed Forces within one year after graduating
from high school, has enrolled in such eligible institution as a
first-time freshman not later than the semester, excluding
summer semesters or sessions, immediately following the fifth
anniversary of the date that the student graduated from high
school; and

5. graduate from:
a. a BESE-approved, provisionally-approved, or

probationally-approved public or nonpublic high school or
eligible non-Louisiana high school, as defined in §1701.A.1,
2 and 3; or

b. an out-of-state high school defined in §1701.A.4;
or

c. successfully complete the eleventh and twelfth
grades of a home study program approved by BESE; and if

having previously attended a Louisiana public high school, a

Units Course

1 English I

1 English II

1 English III

1 English IV or Business English

1 Algebra I (one unit) or Applied Algebra IA and 1B (two
units)

1 Algebra II

1 Geometry, Applied Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus
or comparable Advanced Math

1 Biology I

1 Chemistry I or Applied Physics

1 Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science,
Biology II, Chemistry II Physics, Physics II or Physics for
Technology

1 American History

1 World History, Western Civilization or World
Geography

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (one unit combined) or
Civics (one unit, non-public)

1 Fine Arts Survey or any approved vocational course in the
areas of Agriscience, Business Education, Family and
Consumer Science, Health Occupations, Marketing
Education, Technology Education, or Trade and Industrial
Education; (or substitute two units of performance courses
in music, dance and/or theater; or two units of studio art or
two units of visual art courses; or one elective from among
the other subjects listed in this core curriculum)

2 In the same Foreign Language. (one unit for students
graduating from high school during the 1996-97 and 1997-
98 school years.) or Technical Writing, Speech I or
Speech II (two units).

½ Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business
Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half unit
of an elective course related to computers that is approved
by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education; or substitute at least one-half unit of an elective
from among the other subjects listed in this core
curriculum)

b. for students in graduating classes prior to 2001,
core units may be waived upon sworn affidavit by the principal
or headmaster or authorized designee that the course was not
available to the student at the school attended;

7. at the time of high school graduation, have taken the
American College Test (ACT) and received composite test
score, or an equivalent concordant value on the Scholastic
Aptitude Test (SAT), of at least:
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a. if qualifying under §703.A.5.a, the state's reported §805.A.8 and 9 may have their tuition awards reinstated upon
prior year average ACT composite score, rounded, but never the lifting of academic probation and/or attainment of the
less than 19; required grade point average, if the period of ineligibility did

b. if qualifying under §703.A.5.b or c, the state's not persist for more than one year from the date of loss of
reported prior year average ACT composite score, rounded, eligibility.
plus 3 points, but never less than 22; and

8. if qualifying under §703.A.5.a, have attained a
cumulative high school grade point average, based on a 4.00
maximum scale, for all courses attempted and recorded on the
high school transcript of at least 2.50; and

9. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

10. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations, and if the student has been in
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such
service, has received an honorable discharge or general
discharge under honorable conditions; and

11. agree that awards will be used exclusively for
educational expenses.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
§805. Maintaining Eligibility

A. To continue receiving the TOPS-TECH Award, the in Louisiana, the loans are forgiven in the ratio of one year of
recipient must meet all of the following criteria: loan forgiveness for each year of teaching, or two years of loan

1. have received the TECH Award for less than two forgiveness for each year of teaching in an elementary or
years; and secondary school which is located in an economically

2. annually, submit the Free Application for Federal disadvantaged region of the state as determined by the Board
Student Aid (FAFSA) or renewal FAFSA by the applicable of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE);
state aid deadline defined in §501; and 2. was first funded for the 1997-98 award year;

3. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and 3. was created to provide an incentive for Louisiana's
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and best and brightest students to become tomorrow's classroom
which are administered by LASFAC; and teachers and to provide an incentive that will attract highly

4. not have a criminal conviction, except for qualified teachers in mathematics and chemistry at the
misdemeanor traffic violations and if the student has been in elementary and secondary school levels.
the United States Armed Forces and has separated from such C. Award Amounts
service, has received an honorable discharge or general 1. Loans are made in the amount of $6,000 per award
discharge under honorable conditions; and year for mathematics and chemistry majors.

5. agree that awards will be used exclusively for 2. Loans are made in the amount of $4,000 per year for
educational expenses; and teacher education majors other than those listed in §901.C.1.

6. enroll continuously as a full-time student and accept 3. Recipient may receive a maximum of four years of
the TECH Award at an eligible postsecondary institution funding.
defined in §1901, unless granted an exception for cause by 4. Recipients receive one half of the annual award
LASFAC; and ($3,000 or $2,000, respectively) at the beginning of the fall

7. earn at least 24 college credit hours during the fall and and spring terms.
spring semesters or fall, winter and spring quarters, or 5. Recipients may, in conjunction with the Teachers
complete an average of 30 clock hours per week, as evaluated Award, receive another TOPS Award.
at the conclusion of the spring term. Unless granted an 6. In the event the student’s total aid, including
exception for cause by LASFAC, failure to earn the required Vocational Rehabilitation Awards, exceeds the Cost of
number of hours will result in permanent cancellation of the Attendance, any federal loan aid included in the total aid
recipient's eligibility; and package shall be reduced, then institutional and other aid in

8. not be placed on academic probation by the accordance with institutional practice, then the TOPS-Teacher
postsecondary institution attended the previous term or Award shall be reduced by the amount of any remaining over
semester; and award.

9. maintain, by the end of each academic year (the
conclusion of the spring term), a cumulative college grade
point average of at least 2.50 on a 4.00 maximum scale.

B. Students failing to meet the requirements listed in

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:
Chapter 9. TOPS Teacher Award
§901. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority. The TOPS Teacher Award
Program was created by Act 476, of the 1997 Regular Session
of the Louisiana Legislature and amended by Act 165 of the
1998 First Extraordinary Session of the Louisiana Legislature.
This bill amended and reenacted R.S. 17:3042.1(A)(3) and
(4), (B), (C), and (D) and 3042.2(A) and (B); reenacted R.S.
17:3042.1(A)(5) and (6) and 3042.8; and renamed Chapter
20-B of Title 17 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950.

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Tuition
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Teacher Award:

1. annually provides approximately 90 competitively
awarded educational loans to residents of Louisiana who
commit to teach at the elementary or secondary school level in
Louisiana. When the recipient teaches at an approved school

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
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24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§903. Establishing Eligibility

To establish eligibility the student applicant must meet all of
the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. Citizen or National or eligible non-citizen,
and be registered with the Selective Service, if required, unless
the institutional Financial Aid Officer determines that failure
to register was not wilful; and

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 of LAC
28:IV for at least two years prior to July 1 of the Award Year;
and

3. annually submit the completed Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal FAFSA, whichever
is applicable to the student, by the state aid deadline defined in
§503; and

4. either;
a. graduate from a Board of Elementary and

Secondary Education (BESE)-approved, provisionally-
approved, or probationally-approved public or nonpublic high
school; and

i. at the time of high school graduation, have
successfully completed 16.5 units of high school course work
constituting a core curriculum as defined in §703.A.1.a of LAC
28:IV; and

ii. at the time of high school graduation, have
attained a composite score on the American College Test
(ACT) or the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) which is, or is
equivalent to, at least a 23 on the 1990 version of the ACT;
and

iii. graduate with a cumulative high school grade
point average of at least a 3.25, calculated on a 4.00 scale, for
all courses attempted and reported on the high school
transcript; or

b. if by the end of June in the year of application, the
student will have completed 24 or more but less that 48 hours
of graded college credit, have at least a 3.25 cumulative
college grade point average on a 4.00 scale; or

c. if by the end of June in the year of application, the
student will have completed 48 or more hours of graded
college credit, have at least a 3.00 cumulative college grade
point average on a 4.00 scale; or

d. have received a baccalaureate degree from an
accredited college or university and have a cumulative
undergraduate grade point average of at least 3.00 calculated
on a 4.00 scale; or

e. have received at least a master’s degree from an
accredited college or university; and

5. complete and submit such documentary evidence as
may be required by LASFAC by the deadline specified in
§503; and

6. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

7. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

8. agree that the award will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

9. enroll during the fall term at an eligible college or
university, as defined in §1901, as a full-time student, as
defined in §301, in a degree program or course of study leading
to a degree in education or an alternative program leading to
regular certification as a teacher at the elementary or secondary
level in mathematics or chemistry.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:637 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§905. Selection Criteria

Recipients are competitively selected for the award based
upon the merit rank score computed and assigned to each
eligible applicant. The formula for computing the merit rank
score is defined in §301.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§907. Maintaining Eligibility

A. To continue receiving the TOPS Teacher Award,
recipients must meet all of the following criteria:

1. have received less than four years or eight semesters
of TOPS Teacher Awards ; and

2. at the close of each academic year (ending with the
spring semester or quarter), have earned at least 24 hours total
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms; and

3. achieve a cumulative GPA of at least a 3.00 calculated
on a 4.00 scale at the end of each academic year; and

4. not be placed on academic probation as determined by
the college or university attended; and

5. continue to enroll each subsequent semester or
quarter as a full-time student, unless granted an exception for
cause by LASFAC, in a degree program or course of study
leading to a degree in education or alternative program leading
to regular certification as a teacher at the elementary or
secondary level; or

6. enter a program approved by the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) which leads to
a degree in education or to regular certification as a teacher as
soon as sufficient credits have been earned to do so; and

7. annually apply for federal and state student aid by
completing the FAFSA or Renewal FAFSA, whichever is
applicable to the student, by the state deadline; and

8. have no criminal convictions, except for misdemeanor
traffic violations; and
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9. be in compliance with the terms of all other federal rate of 8 percent per annum;
and state aid programs which the student may be receiving and 2. interest on each disbursement will accrue from the
which are administered by LASFAC. date of disbursement until repaid, canceled or fulfilled.

B. Recipients who do not maintain eligibility under the Accrued interest will be capitalized when the recipient enters
provisions of §907.A.3 or 4, may be reinstated upon attainment repayment status;
of the required GPA and/or academic standing and upon 3. repayment status. The recipient enters repayment
application for reinstatement addressed to LASFAC, provided status the first of the month following:
the period of ineligibility did not exceed two years. a. determination by LASFAC that the recipient cannot

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§909. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance of

Award
Prior to receiving an award, the recipient must agree to the

terms and conditions contained in the TOPS Teacher Award
Program Promissory Note by completing the form and
returning it to LASFAC by the specified deadline. The
promissory note obligates the recipient to teach one year for
each year of funding received; or, if teaching in a school
located in an economically disadvantaged region of the state,
as defined by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (BESE), teach one year for every two years of
funding received, or repay the funds received, plus accrued
interest and any collection costs incurred.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§911. Discharge of Obligation

A. The loan may be discharged by teaching for the required D. Cancellation. The obligation to repay any remaining
period of obligation, by monetary repayment or by unpaid balance of the TOPS Teacher Award shall be canceled
cancellation. in the event either of the following occurs:

B. Discharging the loan by teaching fulfillment is 1. upon submission to LASFAC of a sworn affidavit
accomplished by: from a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded from

1. within two years of the date of certification as a gainful employment because of a complete and permanent
teacher, perform service as a full-time classroom teacher in a medical disability or condition; or
Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 2. upon submission to LASFAC of a death certificate or
(BESE)-approved, provisionally-approved, or other evidence conclusive under state law, that the recipient is
probationally-approved elementary or secondary school; deceased.

2. each year of full-time service as a teacher will fulfill
an equivalent period of funding. However, if teaching in an
elementary or secondary school which is located in an
economically disadvantaged region of the state, as defined by
BESE, one year of teaching will fulfill two years of funding;

3. the first semester of full-time teaching will be applied
toward of the earliest dated disbursement not previously paid
under §911.C, the second semester the next earliest dated
disbursement, and continuing until all disbursements have
been fulfilled;

4. teaching to discharge the loan must be completed
within six years from the date of certification as a teacher.

C. Discharging the loan by Monetary Repayment.
Recipients who elect not to discharge the obligation by
teaching and who are not eligible for discharge by cancellation
must repay the loan principal plus accrued interest and any
collection costs incurred according to the following terms and
conditions:

1. interest will accrue on the outstanding principal at the

discharge the loan by teaching within the required time period;
b. the date the recipient notifies LASFAC by the

recipient that monetary repayment is desired; or
c. six months after LASFAC determines that the

recipient is no longer pursuing a degree program or course of
study leading to a degree in education or alternative program
leading to regular certification as a teacher at the elementary or
secondary school level;

4. the amount to be repaid annually will be the greater
of:

a. the amount necessary to repay the capitalized loan
principal within 10 years; or

b. $1,200 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever
is less;

5. recipients in repayment status may have their
payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B., Deferment of
Repayment Obligation;

6. during the period of time a recipient is in deferment
status, a recipient is not required to make repayments and
interest does not accrue;

7. the period of time for completion of repayment will be
extended by a period of time equal to the length of time the
recipient is in deferment status.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:638 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 11. Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship
§1101. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority. The Louisiana State Wildlife
Scholarship Program was created and amended by the
following Acts of the Louisiana Legislature:

1. Act 807 of the 1980 Regular Legislative Session;
2. Act 849 of the 1987 Regular Legislative Session;
3. Act 707 of the 1989 Regular Legislative Session.

B. Description, History and Purpose
1. The Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program

was established in 1980 and is funded with dedicated
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monies and offers competitively awarded scholarships valued point average.
at $1,000 per academic year to both undergraduate and
graduate students majoring in forestry, wildlife, or marine
science as it pertains to wildlife;

2. In accepting the Rockefeller State Wildlife
Scholarship, the student agrees to attain a degree in one of the
required fields at a Louisiana public college or university
offering such degrees. If the student fails to successfully
complete an eligible course of study, as per the agreement
made between LASFAC and the student, the funds must be
repaid with interest.

C. Award Amounts
1. The annual award is $1,000.
2. The cumulative maximum award is $7,000 for up to

five years of undergraduate and two years of graduate study. 24:640 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
3. The award is disbursed at the rate of $500 each fall §1107. Maintaining Eligibility

and spring term.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:639 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1103. Establishing Eligibility

To establish eligibility, the student applicant must meet all
of the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,
and be registered with the Selective Service if required, unless
the institutional Financial Aid Officer determines that failure
to register was not wilful; and

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 of LAC
28:IV for at least one year prior to July 1 of the Award Year;
and

3. annually, submit the completed Free Application for
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or the Renewal FAFSA,
whichever is applicable to the student, by the state aid deadline
defined in §503; and

4. complete and submit such documentary evidence as
may be required by LASFAC; and

5. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

6. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

7. agree that award proceeds will be used exclusively for 24:640 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
educational expenses; and §1109. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance

8. be enrolled or accepted for enrollment as a full-time of Award
undergraduate or graduate student at a Louisiana public
college or university majoring in forestry, wildlife or marine
science, with the intent of obtaining a degree from a Louisiana
public college or university offering a degree in one of the
three specified fields; and

9.a. must have graduated from high school, and if at the
time of application the student applicant has earned less than
24 hours of graded college credit since graduating from high
school, have earned a minimum cumulative high school grade
point average of at least 2.50 calculated on a 4.00 scale for all
courses completed in grades 9 through 12 and have taken the
ACT or SAT and received test score results; or

b. if, at the time of application, the student applicant
has earned 24 or more hours of college credit, then the
applicant must have at least a 2.50 cumulative college grade

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:639 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1105. Selection Criteria

Recipients are competitively selected for an award based
upon the merit rank score computed and assigned to each
eligible applicant. The formula for computing the merit rank
score is defined in §301.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

To continue receiving the Rockefeller State Wildlife
Scholarship, recipients must meet all of the following criteria:

1. have received the scholarship for not more than seven
academic years (five undergraduate and two graduate) ; and

2. at the close of each academic year (ending with the
spring semester or quarter), have earned at least 24 hours total
credit during the fall, winter and spring terms at an institution
defining 12 semester or eight quarter hours as the minimum for
full-time undergraduate status or earn at least 18 hours total
graduate credit during the fall, winter and spring terms at an
institution defining nine semester hours as the minimum for
full-time graduate status unless granted an exception for cause
by LASFAC; and

3. achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least
2.50 at the end of the first academic year and each academic
year thereafter; and

4. continue to enroll each subsequent semester or
quarter (excluding summer sessions and intersessions) at the
same institution unless granted an exception for cause and/or
approval for transfer of the award by LASFAC; and

5. continue to pursue a course of study leading to an
undergraduate or graduate degree in wildlife, forestry or
marine science.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

Prior to receiving an award, the recipient must agree to the
terms and conditions contained in the Rockefeller State
Wildlife Scholarship Program Promissory Note
(LASFAC-Form RS02), by completing the form and returning
it to LASFAC by the specified deadline. The promissory note
obligates the recipient to obtain a Wildlife, Forestry or Marine
Science degree or repay the scholarship funds received, plus
accrued interest and any collection costs incurred.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:640 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1111. Discharge of Obligation

A. The loan obligation may be discharged by graduation in
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an eligible major, monetary repayment or cancellation.
B. Graduation In an Eligible Major. Awards to

undergraduates are discharged by the recipient's attainment of A. Legislative Authority
a bachelor's degree; graduate awards are discharged by 1. Federal
attainment of a master's or doctorate degree in wildlife, a. Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965;
forestry or marine science. b. 34 CFR Part 692, as amended;

C. Monetary Repayment. Recipients who do not discharge c. Title IV of the Higher Education Amendments of
the obligation by graduating in an eligible major and who are 1992 (Public Law 102-325).
not eligible for discharge by cancellation must repay the loan 2. State
principal, plus accrued interest and any collection costs a. R.S. 17:3032.5;
incurred in accordance with the following terms and b. Act 632 of the 1974 Regular Legislative Session;
conditions: c. Act 228 of the 1977 Regular Legislative Session.

1. interest accrues on the outstanding principal at the B. Description, History and Purpose. The Louisiana State
rate of 8 percent per annum; Student Incentive Grant Program (SSIG), first funded in 1975,

2. interest on each disbursement accrues from the date provides need-based grants to academically qualified students
of disbursement until repaid, canceled or fulfilled. Accrued using federal and state funds. These grants are to be used for
interest will be capitalized when the recipient enters repayment educational expenses including tuition and fees, books and
status; supplies, and living expenses, such as room, board and

3. repayment status. The recipient enters repayment transportation.
status the first day of the month following: C. Louisiana administers a decentralized SSIG Program.

a. the date the recipient notifies LASFAC that Certain functions of the program are delegated to participating
monetary repayment is desired; or schools. Schools approved for participation in the Louisiana

b. six months after LASFAC determines that the SSIG Program must have federal eligibility and must annually
recipient is no longer pursuing a degree program or course of submit a state application and be approved for state
study leading to a degree in wildlife, forestry or marine participation. Funding available for a specific award year is
science; allocated to eligible in-state postsecondary institutions who

4. the annual repayment amount will be the greater of: select and certify recipients to LASFAC. LASFAC forwards
a. the amount necessary to repay the capitalized loan award funding to the institutions for disbursement to the

principal within seven years; or student or student's account.
b. $1,200 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever D. Award Amounts. Individual grants range from an annual

is less; minimum of $200 to a maximum of $2,000; however, the
5. recipients in repayment status may have their actual amount of each student's award is determined by the

payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B, titled financial aid office at the institution and is governed by the
Deferment of Repayment Obligation; number of recipients selected and the amount of funds

a. during the period of time a recipient is in deferment available. Awards are based upon a full academic year,
status, the recipient is not required to make payments and excluding summer sessions and intersession, beginning with
interest does not accrue; the fall term and concluding with the spring term.

b. the period of time for completion of repayment will E. Allocation of Funds. Annually, funds are allocated to
be extended by a period of time equal to the length of time the postsecondary institutions based on school type, the school's
recipient is in deferment status. prior year first-time, full-time enrollment and the amount of the

D. Cancellation. The obligation to repay all or part of prior year's allocation that was expended. Initial funds, for
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship Program funds shall be first-t ime recipients, are computed as a percentage of all
canceled in the event either of the following occurs: participating institutions first-time, full-time enrollment as of

1. upon submission to LASFAC of a sworn affidavit October 10 of the prior fiscal year. A student’s enrollment in
from a qualified physician that the recipient is precluded from an undergraduate degree granting school which is a component
completing the educational program and/or from gainful of a state supported medical center, shall be a first-time,
employment because of a complete and permanent medical full-time freshman for the purpose of this program.
disability or condition; Continuation funds for students who had previously received

2. upon submission to LASFAC of a death certificate, or SSIG are computed as a percentage of the allocated funds used
other evidence conclusive under state law, that the recipient is during the previous year. The continuation formula applies 60
deceased. percent for four year schools and 40 percent for two-year

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:640 (April 1998), amended LR 24:

Chapter 13. State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG)
§1301. General Provisions

schools.
F. Reallocation of Funds. Uncommitted institutional

allotted funds are reallocated if not committed by the deadline
of November 1 for colleges and universities and January 1 for
proprietary schools and campuses of Louisiana Technical
College. The method of reallocation is dependent upon the
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amount of funds available for reallocation. If the reallocation
amount is less then $50,000, then only two- and four-year
colleges and universities, which have fully committed their
original allotment by the appropriate deadline, receive a
reallotment. If $50,000 or more is available for reallocation, it
is reallotted to eligible schools of all types, which have fully
committed their original allotment by the appropriate deadline.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:641 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1303. Establishing Eligibility 17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

SSIG applicants must meet all of the following criteria:
1. be a U.S. citizen or national or eligible noncitizen,

and registered with the Selective Service, if required; and
2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in §301 for at

least one year prior to July 1 of the Award Year; and
3. annually, submit the completed Free Application for

Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal FAFSA, whichever
is available to the applicant, by the state deadline defined in
§503 and any deadline imposed by the institution attended; and

4. have a high school diploma with at least a 2.00
cumulative grade point average, or a minimum average score
of 45 on the General Educational Development (GED) test, or
an ACT composite score of at least 20, or a postsecondary
grade point average of at least 2.00 from the most recent term;
and

5. be selected and certified by the school for receipt of
an SSIG award, contingent upon final approval by LASFAC;
and

6. meet any additional selection criteria established by
the individual institution participating in the SSIG Program;
and

7. be certified as a full-time undergraduate student in an
eligible program at an eligible postsecondary institution, as
defined in §1901; and either:

a. be enrolled full time at the time of disbursement if
disbursement occurs on or prior to the fourteenth class day
(ninth class day for Louisiana Tech); or

b. be enrolled full time as of the fourteenth class day
(ninth class day at Louisiana Tech) and is enrolled at least half-
time at the time of disbursement if disbursement occurs after
the fourteenth class day (ninth class day at Louisiana Tech);
and

8. have substantial financial need, as defined in §301;
and

9. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

10. not have a criminal conviction, except for
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

11. agree that the award proceeds will be used exclusively
for educational expenses; and

12. not be in default of an educational loan.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:641 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1305. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue receiving an SSIG Award, the recipient must
meet all of the following criteria:

1. meet all of the initial eligibility criteria listed in
§1303; and

2. maintain a cumulative postsecondary grade point
average of at least 2.00 calculated on a 4.00 scale by the
conclusion of the spring term.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:642 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 15. T. H. Harris Scholarship
§1501. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority
1. R.S. 17:3036.1;
2. Act 24 of the 1938 Regular Legislative Session;
3. Act 199 of the 1940 Regular Legislative Session;
4. Act 19 of the 1942 Regular Legislative Session;
5. Act 499 of the 1948 Regular Legislative Session;
6. Act 83 of the 1977 Regular Legislative Session;
7. Act 710 of the 1985 Regular Legislative Session;
8. Act 663 of the 1990 Regular Legislative Session.

B. Description, History and Purpose. The T.H. Harris
Scholarship Program was first funded with state general funds
in 1942 for the purpose of granting scholarships to deserving
youth enrolling at state-supported colleges or universities. A
maximum cumulative award, assuming the recipient maintains
eligibility, is $2,000 for five years of study. Effective with
award year 1996-97, applications are not being accepted and
the program is being phased out. Students awarded during the
1995-96 award year, continue to receive an award, as long as
funds are available and they maintain continuing academic
eligibility.

C. Award Amounts. The annual award is $400, with a
cumulative maximum award of $2,000 for five years.
Recipients receive $200 each fall and spring term, less a $5
award fee.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:642 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1503. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue to receive T.H. Harris Scholarship funds,
recipients must meet all of the following criteria:

1. be in compliance with the terms of other federal and
state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving and
which are administered by LASFAC; and

2. agree that award proceeds will be used exclusively for
educational expenses; and

3. continue to enroll as a full-time undergraduate student
in a two- or four-year public college or university, unless
granted an exception for cause by LASFAC; and

4. successfully complete the minimum number of hours
required for a full-time student as defined in §301; and

5. achieve a cumulative grade point average of at least
3.00, on a 4.00 scale, at the conclusion of the spring term each
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academic year; and Louisiana residents or the dependents of a Louisiana resident
6. have received less than 10 semesters of T.H. Harris serving on active duty with the Armed Forces or who have a

funding. parent who is a Louisiana resident are eligible to participate in
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:642 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 17. Responsibilities of High Schools, School

Boards, Special School Governing
Boards, the Louisiana Department of
Education and LASFAC on Behalf of
Eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools

§1701. Eligibility of Graduates Based Upon the High 24:642 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
School Attended §1703. High School's Certification of Student

A. Graduates of the following high schools are eligible to
participate in LASFAC’s Scholarship and Grant programs, as A. Responsibility for Reporting and Certifying Student
authorized herein: Performance

1. Louisiana Public High Schools— public high schools 1. Responsibility for the identification and certification
listed in the Louisiana School Directory (Louisiana
Department of Education Bulletin 1462);

2. approved Nonpublic High Schools— nonpublic high
schools approved by the Louisiana Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education (BESE) and listed in the Louisiana
School Directory (Bulletin 1462), as an approved nonpublic
school which meets the standards specified in The Louisiana
Handbook for School Administrators (Bulletin 741). For the
purposes of LAC 28:IV, approved nonpublic schools include
private or diocesan high schools classified annually by the
Department of Education as approved, provisionally-approved
or probationally-approved;

3. eligible Non-Louisiana High Schools— eligible
non-Louisiana high schools are high schools which meet all of
the following:

a. are in a state adjoining the state of Louisiana; and
b. have provided LASFAC with acceptable evidence

of an agreement dated prior to June 5, 1994, between a parish
school system in the state of Louisiana and the high school's
local governing authority, which authorizes the attendance of
students who are residents of Louisiana; and

c. have students who graduate during the academic
year preceding the award year, who were residents of
Louisiana and who were funded through the Louisiana
minimum foundation program; and

d. have certified the academic performance of
Louisiana graduates, in accordance with §1703;

4. Out-of-State High Schools— all other public or non-
public high schools located in one of the United States other
than Louisiana, which have been approved by the state’s chief
state or territorial school officer listed in the Louisiana
Department of Education Bulletin 1462, or by the public body
which is that state's equivalent of Louisiana's Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, and those high schools
located in foreign countries which have been authorized or
approved by a Department in the Executive Branch of the
United States government to teach the dependents of members
of the U.S. Armed Forces stationed abroad;

a. graduates of out-of-state high schools are eligible
to participate in the Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship and
the State Student Incentive Grant Programs;

b. graduates of out-of-state high schools who are

TOPS.
B. Non-high school graduates who have earned a General

Education Diploma (GED) in lieu of a high school diploma are
eligible to participate in the State Student Incentive Grant
Program and if they have completed a BESE approved home
study program, are eligible to participate in TOPS.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

Achievement

of high school graduates who meet the academic qualifications
for a TOPS award is as follows:

a. the principal or the principal’s designee for public
high schools;

b. the principal or headmaster or designee of each
nonpublic high school approved by the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE);

c. the principal or headmaster or designee of an
eligible non-Louisiana high school;

d. the principal or headmaster or designee of an
out-of-state high school is responsible only for providing the
high school transcript or the date of graduation for those
students who have applied for a student aid program
administered by LASFAC.

2. The Louisiana Department of Education shall report
to LASFAC the names of students who are enrolled in and have
completed all mandatory requirements through the twelfth
grade level of a state-approved home study program. B.
Procedures for Reporting and Certifying Student Performance

1. The responsible high school authority shall record
student performance on the form provided by LASFAC or in an
electronic format pre-approved by LASFAC. The certification
form shall be completed, certified and returned to LASFAC by
the deadline specified on the form.

2. The certification form shall contain, but is not limited
to, the following reportable data elements:

a. student's name, address, phone number and social
security number;

b. month and year of high school graduation;
c. final cumulative high school grade point average for

all courses attempted and recorded on the transcript, converted
to a maximum 4.00 scale, if applicable;

d. number of core units earned and the number of core
units unavailable to the student at the school attended;

e. total number of graduates in the graduating class
and the names of those students who graduated in the top 5
percent of the class in accordance with §1703.B.4.a.

3. The responsible high school authority shall certify to
LASFAC the final cumulative high school grade point average
of each applicant and that average shall be inclusive of grades
for all courses attempted and recorded on the applicant's
official high school transcript and shall be computed and



Quality Points Awarded for the Course
Maximum Points Possible for the Course

'
X (Converted Quality Points)

4.00 (Maximum Scale)

3.00
5.00

'
X

4.00

5X ' 12; X ' 2.40

(2%7%79) ' 88; (88 x 0.05) ' 4.4;

Total Graduates ' 69; (69 x 0.05) ' 3.45;

MFP Graduates ' 23; (23 x 0.05) ' 1.15
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reported on a maximum 4.00 grading scale. (a). the total number of students who are Louisiana
a. The following grading conversion shall be used to residents receiving high school diplomas from the institution

report the applicant's cumulative high school grade point during the academic year preceding the award year, multiplied
average: by the figure 0.05, and, if not a whole number, rounded up to

i. letter grade A = 4 quality points; the next whole number. Foreign exchange students and other
ii. letter grade B = 3 quality points; nonresidents shall not be counted as members of the

iii. letter grade C = 2 quality points; graduating class for the purpose of this computation.
iv. letter grade D = 1 quality point. (b). Example: for a high school that awarded state

b. Schools which award more than 4 quality points for high school diplomas to two summer graduates, seven midyear
a course must convert the course grade to a maximum 4.00 graduates and 79 spring graduates during the academic year,
scale using the formula described in the example that follows. the following computation would apply:
[In this example, the school awards one extra quality point for an honors
course.]

i. Example: an applicant earned a C in an Honors
English IV course and received 3 out of the 5 possible quality
points that could have been awarded for the course.

ii. In converting this course grade to a standard 4.00
maximum scale, the following formula must be used:

By cross multiplying,

iii. In this example, the quality points for this Honors
English IV course should be recorded as 2.40 when the school
calculates and reports the student's cumulative high school
grade point average.

4. Determine the number of 1998 graduates who are in
the top 5 percent of their high school graduating class using the
procedures previously adopted for the former Honors
Scholarship Program and which comply with the following:

a. city and parish school boards, nonpublic high
schools, special school governing boards, and LASFAC on
behalf of eligible non-Louisiana high schools, shall adopt,
publish and forward to LASFAC criteria for ranking graduates
and determining the top 5 percent of the graduating class for
high schools under their jurisdiction. Such criteria shall:

i. consider only the academic grades for those
courses recorded on the student's official high school
transcript; and

ii. define the academic courses which are to be
considered in determining academic class ranking; and

iii. define the procedure by which students who
would otherwise have equal academic class ranking may be
ranked (tie-breaker procedure). This may include an evaluation
of students' academic grades on a set of predetermined core
academic courses such as English, math and science or an
evaluation of the level of difficulty of the courses taken by the
students, such as honors courses and higher level math or
science courses; and

iv. be adopted by an affirmative act taken during a
public meeting;

b. using the following formula, determine the number
of graduates in the top 5 percent:

i. in computing the top 5 percent of each Louisiana
high school's graduating class, apply the following formula to
compute the maximum number of graduates who may rank in
the top 5 percent for the purposes of the performance award:

4.4 rounds up to 5.0
(c). accordingly, five students may be selected for

the performance award at the high school depicted in the
example;

ii. in computing the top 5 percent of each eligible
non-Louisiana high school's graduating class and calculating
the number of Louisiana residents to be named as performance
award recipients, apply the following formulas:

(a). the total number of students, both Louisiana
residents and non-Louisiana residents, receiving a high school
diploma from the institution during the academic year
preceding the award year, multiplied by the figure 0.05, and,
if not a whole number, rounded up to the next whole number.
Example:

rounds up to 4.0
(b). the number of academic year graduates who are

Louisiana residents funded through the Louisiana minimum
foundation program (MFP), multiplied by the figure 0.05, and,
if not a whole number, rounded up to the next whole number.
(Louisiana resident graduates not funded through MFP shall
not be counted in this calculation). Example:

rounds up to 2.0
(c). to be certified as a performance award

recipient, the student must rank both in the top 5 percent of the
non-Louisiana high school's total academic year graduating
class, as well as in the top 5 percent of minimum foundation
program-funded Louisiana residents in the graduating class;

(d). in the examples provided above, the maximum
number of Louisiana residents to be certified for the
performance award is two, and the minimum number is zero.
If only one Louisiana resident ranked in the top 5 percent (4 of
69) of the total graduates, then only one student could be
certified to the performance award. Conversely, if three
Louisiana residents ranked in the top 5 percent (4 of 69), only
the top two of these three could be certified.

c. ensure that the approved selection criteria are
publicly posted in each high school under the board or
headmaster's jurisdiction and provide a copy of the criteria to
LASFAC;

d. ensure that amendments to the criteria, as approved
by the board or headmaster, shall only be effective for the years
following the year in which amended.

C. Certifying 1998 Graduates for the TOPS Performance
Award. 1998 Graduates who are ranked in the top 5 percent of
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their graduating class in accordance with §1703 shall be
credited with having completed the core curriculum for
purposes of the TOPS; however, only those meeting the
following criteria shall be eligible for the Performance Award:

1. those students who have attained a final cumulative
high school grade point average of at least a 3.50 on a 4.00
maximum scale; and

2. an ACT score of at least 23.
D. Certif ication by Sworn Affidavit. The high school

headmaster or principal or designee shall certify by sworn
affidavit that:

1. all data supplied on the certification form are true and
correct, to the best of his knowledge or belief, and that they
reflect the official records of the school for the students listed;
and

2. records pertaining to the listed students will be
maintained and available upon request to LASFAC and the
legislative auditor for a minimum of three years or until
audited, whichever occurs first; and

3. the school under the principal's jurisdiction shall
reimburse LASFAC for the amount of a program award which
was disbursed on behalf of a graduate of the school, when it is
subsequently determined by audit that the school incorrectly
certified the graduate.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:643 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1705. Notification of Certified Students

A. High schools are required to present a certificate of
achievement during the graduation ceremony or other school
reception to students qualifying as recipients of TOPS
Performance and Honors Awards.

B. High schools are required to invite members of the
Louisiana Legislature representing the school's district to
attend the ceremony or reception and to make the presentation
awarding the endorsed certificates of achievement.

C. If the certifying authority elects to notify students of
their certification, then the following disclaimer shall be
included in any communication to the student:

"Although you have been certified as academically eligible for a
Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) Award, you must
satisfy all of the following conditions to redeem a scholarship under this
program:

1. You must be a Louisiana resident as defined by the Louisiana
Student Financial Assistance Commission; and

2. You must be accepted for enrollment by an eligible Louisiana
college and be registered as a full-time undergraduate student; and

3. You must annually apply for federal student aid by the deadline
required for consideration for state aid; and

4. You must have met all academic and nonacademic requirements and
be officially notified of your award by the Louisiana Student Financial
Assistance Commission (LASFAC)."
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:644 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 19. Eligibility and Responsibilities of

Postsecondary Institutions
§1901. Eligibility of Postsecondary Institutions to

Participate
A. Undergraduate degree granting schools which are

components of Louisiana public university medical centers and
two- and four-year public colleges and universities are
authorized to participate in the Tuition Opportunity Program
for Students (TOPS), Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship,
State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG) and the T.H. Harris
Scholarship.

B. Regionally accredited private colleges and universities
which are members of the Louisiana Association of
Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU) are
authorized to participate in TOPS and SSIG. As of November
1997, LAICU membership included Centenary College,
Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola University, Our
Lady of the Lake College of Nursing and Allied Health, Our
Lady of Holy Cross College, Tulane University and Xavier
University.

C. Campuses of Louisiana Technical College are
authorized to participate in TOPS-TECH and SSIG.

D. Approved Louisiana proprietary and beauty schools are
authorized to participate in SSIG only.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:645 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§1903. Responsibilities of Postsecondary Institutions

A. Certification of Student Data. Upon request by
LASFAC, and for the purpose of determining an applicant's
eligibil ity for a program award, an institution will report the
following student data:

1. admission and full-time undergraduate enrollment;
and

2. eligibility for, or enrollment in, a course of study
leading to initial teacher certification; and

3. enrollment in math or chemistry as a major while
pursuing teacher certification; and

4. graduate or undergraduate enrollment in wildlife
forestry or marine science; and

5. cumulative college grade point average; and
6. cumulative college credit hours earned;
7. academic year hours earned.

B. Program Billing. Each term, institutions shall bill
LASFAC for students who are recipients of a TOPS Award and
who have enrolled at the institution in accordance with the
following terms and conditions:

1. institutions may only bill for students who have been
certified by LASFAC as eligible for a TOPS award; and
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2. institutions will bill LASFAC based on their C. Annual Application for Participation in, and
certification that the recipient of a TOPS Award is enrolled full Certification of Recipients of the SSIG Program
time, as defined in §301, as of the fourteenth class day (ninth 1. Annually, LASFAC forwards SSIG institutional
class day for Louisiana Tech, first class day for campuses of participation agreements to those schools participating in the
Louisiana Technical College, and for any qualifying summer program during the prior award year, and upon written
sessions as of the last day to drop and receive a full refund for requests received, to schools not participating in the SSIG
the full summer session). Institutions shall not bill for students Program during the prior award year. To be eligible for
who are enrolled less than full time on the fourteenth class day allotment of SSIG funds the institution must meet all of the
(ninth class day for Louisiana Tech, first class day for following requirements:
campuses of Louisiana Technical College, and for any a. complete and return the annual SSIG application by
qualifying summer sessions as of the last day to drop and the specified deadline; and
receive a full refund for the summer session), unless the b. certify that students and parents will not be charged
student qualifies for payment for less than full-time enrollment a fee for the collection of information used to determine the
as defined in §2103.B. Students failing to meet the full-time student's eligibility for SSIG; and
enrollment requirement are responsible for reimbursing the c. certify that students listed on the recipient roster
insti tution for any awards received. Refunds of awards to meet federal, state and institutional specific SSIG eligibility
students who are not receiving federal Title IV aid, for less criteria; and
than full-time enrollment after the fourteenth class day, shall be d. certify that if the institution's SSIG allotment is
returned to the state. Refunds to students who are receiving based in part on the financial need of independent students, as
federal Title IV aid shall be refunded to the state in accordance defined by the U.S. Department of Education, a reasonable
with the institution's federal Title IV aid refund procedures; portion of the institution's allotment is being made available to
and independent students; and

3. in the event the student’s total aid, including e. certify that each SSIG recipient's total package of
Vocational Rehabilitation Awards, exceeds the Cost of aid does not exceed the student's financial need; and
Attendance, any federal loan aid included in the total aid f. certify that SSIG funds recovered from over awards,
package shall be reduced, then institutional and other aid in refunds, and/or repayments, as defined in §301, during the
accordance with institutional practice, then the TOPS award applicable award period shall be returned to LASFAC to be
shall be reduced by the amount of any remaining over award; reissued to other qualified students. Funds recovered from over

4. annually, two- and four-year institutions are required awards, refunds and/or repayments after the applicable award
to provide LASFAC a current fee schedule. The schedule must period shall be returned to LASFAC for return to the U.S.
include an itemized description of the composition of the Department or Education and/or the state of Louisiana. The
mandatory fees listed on the fee schedule; amount of over award, refund and/or repayment shall be

5. campuses of Louisiana Technical College are exempt determined according to the school's policy established in
from furnishing a schedule of fees, but must bill LASFAC on accordance with federal regulations.
the first class day of each quarter for three times the monthly 2. Annually, LASFAC provides eligible institutions an
amount established by the Board of Elementary and Secondary official allotment schedule, recipient roster and institution
Education (BESE) for full-time attendance; and certification forms. Institutions are required to:

6. certify that the institution will reimburse LASFAC for a. complete and return recipient rosters and
any award funds incorrectly disbursed to ineligible students; institutional certification forms to ensure expenditure of
and allotted SSIG awards by the school specific deadlines of

7. upon the school's certification that a recipient of a November 1 for public and LAICU member two- and four-year
TOPS Award is enrolled full time, institutions shall bill for colleges and universities and January 1 for campuses of
and LASFAC will reimburse the institution for each such Louisiana Technical College and proprietary institutions; and
recipient as follows: b. submit changes to the recipient roster by

a. public two- and four-year colleges and universities completing a replacement roster, provided by LASFAC; and
may bill for an amount up to the maximum tuition for that c. certify that if any SSIG funds are released in error
institution, as defined in §301; to ineligible students, the institution will either recover the

b. Louisiana Technical College campuses may bill award amount from the students and refund to LASFAC or
each quarter for three times the monthly amount established by remit the refund due.
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) for D. Disbursement of Funds. Upon receipt of award funds
full-time attendance; and prior to their disbursement to students, the institution

c. LAICU member colleges and universities may bill shall:
for an amount up to the weighed average tuition , as defined in 1. for TOPS Teacher Award recipients:
§301; a. verify that the recipient is enrolled full time in an

d. for recipients of the Performance and Honors approved degree program or course of study leading to a
awards, institutions may bill LASFAC for the stipend that degree in education or alternative program leading to regular
accompanies these awards, in the amounts of $200 or $400 per
semester, respectively;

certification as a teacher at the elementary or secondary level; or
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b. if designated as a math or chemistry major, verify 2. shall remain ineligible until achieving a cumulative
enrollment in a course of study leading to certification as a grade point average necessary to return to academic good
math or chemistry teacher; standing at the institution that originally placed the student on

2. for Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship recipients, academic probation.
verify undergraduate or graduate enrollment, whichever is
applicable to the student, in:

a. Wildlife, Forestry or Marine Science; or,
b. another major specified by the Louisiana

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries as meeting their criteria
for receipt of scholarship funds;

3. release award funds by crediting the student's account
within 14 days of the institution's receipt of funds or disbursing
individual award checks to recipients as instructed by
LASFAC. Individual award checks for the T.H. Harris
Scholarship, Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship, TOPS
Teacher Award and SSIG must be released to eligible
recipients within 30 days of receipt by the school or be
returned to LASFAC.

E. Reporting of Academic Data. At the conclusion of each
academic year, the institution will complete and return to
LASFAC, a College Academic Grade Report including, but not
limited to, the following data elements:

1. academic year hours earned; and
2. cumulative hours earned; and
3. cumulative grade point average;
4. academic standing, and if applicable, date of

placement on academic probation; and
5. upon graduation, degree date and type and name of

degree.
F. Records Retention. Records pertaining to the students

listed on the billing certification form will be subject to audit
as required by state statute. Such records will be maintained
for a minimum of three years and be available upon request to
LASFAC and the Louisiana legislative auditor.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:645 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
Chapter 21. Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions
§2101. Academic Suspension of Awards and

Reinstatement
A. Students denied an award for their failure to maintain

the required cumulative college grade point average and
academic good standing may be reinstated upon attainment of
the required cumulative grade point average and the lifting of
academic probation provided that the period of ineligibility did
not persist for more than two years from the date of loss of
eligibility.

B. Students whose TOPS Performance and Honors Awards
are reinstated are ineligible for annual stipends.

C. Transfer of Students on Academic Probation
1. Students who transfer while on academic probation

are ineligible for a prior award for a minimum of one semester
at the latest institution attended, regardless of the student's
status at that institution; and

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:646 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§2103. Circumstances Warranting Exception to the

Initial and Continuous Enrollment Requirements
A. Initial Enrollment Requirement. Initially apply and

enroll as a First-Time Freshman as defined in §301, unless
granted an exception for cause by LASFAC, in an eligible
postsecondary institution defined in §1901. Initial enrollment
requirements specific to the TOPS are defined in §703A.4.

B. Continuous Enrollment Requirement. To maintain
eligibility, all scholarship programs require recipients to
continue to enroll as full-time students, as defined in §301,
each consecutive semester or quarter, excluding summer
sessions and intersession, at two-and four-year colleges and
universities. Recipients who cannot meet this requirement may
be granted an exception for cause, as determined by LASFAC.

C. Less Than Full-Time Attendance. The LASFAC will
authorize awards under the TOPS Opportunity, Performance,
Honors and Teachers Awards and the T.H. Harris Scholarship
Program for less than full-time enrollment provided that the
student meets all other eligibility criteria and at least one of the
following:

1. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete the
undergraduate degree; or

2. is enrolled in a degree program that defines full-time
as less than 12 hours per semester or eight hours per quarter;
or

3. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete
requirements for a specified course of study or clinical
program.

D. Procedure for Requesting Exceptions to the Initial and
Continuous Enrollment Requirement

1. Recipient must submit the exception request form,
with documentary evidence, within the deadline specified.

2. If determined eligible for an exception, the recipient
will be awarded if he or she enrolls in the first fall, winter or
spring term immediately following the exception ending date.

3. If determined ineligible for an exception, subsequent
appeals are to be processed in accordance with LASFAC's
appeal procedures as defined in §2109.

E. Qualifying Exceptions to the Initial and Continuous
Enrollment Requirement

1. Parental Leave
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be pregnant

or caring for a newborn or newly-adopted child less than one
year of age.

b. Certification Requirements. A completed exception
request form, certified by a written statement from a doctor of
medicine who is legally authorized to practice or an authorized
official of the adoption agency.
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c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the student is working toward an appropriate scholarship and
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing, grant program degree. Participation in an
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days Internship/Residency Program does not qualify as an exception
involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and to the initial enrollment requirement.
ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment. b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must statement from an internship or residency program official and
file a completed exception request form, with the required a completed exception request form.
certification and documentation, within 60 days after the c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
occurrence of the qualifying exception. required leave of absence from the school's dean, academic

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one academic counselor, or major professor stating that the
year per child. residency/internship is a requirement toward fulfilling an

2. Rehabilitation Program appropriate scholarship and grant program degree, and that the
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be receiving student has been accepted into the residency/internship

rehabilitation in a program administered by a licensed program, the semester(s) or number of days involved, the
rehabilitation center under a written individualized plan with length of the internship/residency period, the beginning and
specific dates of beginning and ending services. ending dates of the leave of absence.

b. Certification Requirements. A completed exception d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
request form, certified by a rehabilitation counselor and doctor file a completed exception request form, with the required
of medicine. certification and documentation, within 60 days of notification

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the of acceptance into the internship.
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing, e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days academic years of required program or study.
involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and 5. Cooperative Work/Study Program
ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment. a. Definition. The student/recipient must be a

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must registered student in the appropriate school offering the
file a completed exception request form, with the required cooperative work/study program. Even though the school may
certification and documentation, within 60 days after have entrance requirements for the cooperative work/study
occurrence of the qualifying exception. programs, the student/recipient must continue to meet and

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two maintain scholarship and grant program cumulative grade
academic years per occurrence. point average requirements. Participation in a Cooperative

3. Temporary Disability Work/Study Program does not qualify as an exception to the
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be initial enrollment requirement.

recovering from an accident, injury, illness or required surgery b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written
that did not previously exist when he or she originally applied statement from the college/school official including dates of
for the applicable scholarship and grant program(s), or his or enrollment and termination and a completed exception request
her pre-existing condition has substantially deteriorated since form.
the time of application, or the student/recipient's spouse, c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of leave
dependent, parent or guardian requires continuous care for of absence from the school's dean, academic counselor, or
similar conditions for at least 60 days due to an accident, major professor stating that the student is enrolled in an official
illness, injury or required surgery. cooperative work/study program sponsored by the university,

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a doctor the semester(s) or number of days involved, the beginning and
of medicine who is legally authorized to practice and by a ending dates of the cooperative work/study program.
completed exception request form. d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the file a completed exception request form, with the required
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing, certification and documentation, within 60 days of acceptance
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days into the cooperative work/study program.
involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one
ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment. academic year or required program of study.

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must 6. Religious Commitment
file a completed exception request form, with the required a. Definition. The student/recipient must be a
certification and documentation, within 60 days after member of a religious group that requires the student to
occurrence of the qualifying exception. perform certain activities or obligations which necessitate

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two taking a leave of absence from school.
academic years for recipient; up to a maximum of one b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written
academic year for care of a disabled dependent, spouse or statement from the college official, a completed exception
parent. request form, and a statement from the religious group's

4. Internship/Residency Program governing official.
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be enrolled c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the

in a required program that must be completed in order to begin required leave of absence from the religious group's governing
professional practice or service. It must be a program where official, a completed exception request form, the necessity of
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withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number statement should include attachments of copies of all
of days involved, the length of the religious obligation. documents relevant to the exceptional circumstance.

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must d. Filing Requirement. The student/recipient must file
file a completed exception request form, with the required a completed exception request form, with the required
certification and documentation, within 60 days after accepting notarized statement and documentation, within 60 days after
or committing to the religious obligation. the occurrence of the exceptional circumstance.

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to two e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one
academic years. academic year.

7. Death of Immediate Family Member E. Nonqualifying Exceptions. Nonqualifying Exceptions
a. Definition. The student cannot attend school for at include, but are not limited to:

least 30 days due to recovering from the death of a spouse, 1. the student is unaware of the continuation renewal
parent, guardian, dependent, sister or brother or grandparent. requirements for a program and fails to meet such

b. Certification Requirements. A written statement requirements;
from the college official, a completed exception request form, 2. the student failed to timely submit an exception
and a copy of the death certificate or a doctor's or funeral request form for an exception to the continuous enrollment
director's verifying statement or a copy of the obituary requirement.
published in the local newspaper.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of leave
of absence from the school's registrar, a doctor's statement if
student/recipient care was needed, the necessity of
withdrawing, dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number
of days involved.

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
file a completed exception request form with certification and
documentation requirements within 60 days of the date of
death.

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to one
academic semester or two quarters per death.

8. Military Service, Peace Corps, National Service
Corps, VISTA. Service in the Peace Corps, National Service
Corps and VISTA does not qualify as an exception to initial
enrollment requirement.

a. Definition. The student/recipient is called on active
duty status with the United States Armed Forces or is
performing emergency state service with the National Guard
or is serving in the Peace Corps, National Service Corps or
VISTA.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written
statement from the commanding officer or regional supervisor
or certified military orders and by a completed exception
request form.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
required leave of absence, the necessity of withdrawing,
dropping hours, etc., the semester(s) or number of days
involved, the length of duty (beginning and ending dates).

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
file a completed exception request form, with the required
certification and documentation, within 60 days after receipt of
military orders or letter of appointment.

e. Maximum Length of Exception. Up to the length of
the required service period.

9. Exceptional Circumstances
a. Definition. The student/recipient has exceptional

circumstances, other than those listed in §2103.E.1-8, which
are beyond his immediate control and which necessitates full
or partial withdrawal from, or non-enrollment in, an eligible
postsecondary institution.

b. Certification Requirement. Certified by a notarized
statement and by a completed exception request form.

c. Acceptable Documentation. The notarized

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:647 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§2105. Repayment Obligation, Deferment and

Cancellation
A. Monetary Repayment. Recipients of the Rockefeller

State Wildlife Scholarship who do not meet their obligation to
obtain a degree in wildlife, forestry or marine science and
recipients of the TOPS Teacher Award who do not fulfill their
obligation to teach the required number of years and who are
not eligible for Discharge by Cancellation, must repay the loan
principal plus accrued interest as delineated in §§1111 and
911, respectively.

B. Deferment of Repayment Obligation. Recipients of the
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship or TOPS Teacher
Award who are in repayment status may have their payments
deferred for the following reasons.

1. Parental Leave
a. Definition. The student/recipient must be pregnant

or caring for a newborn or newly-adopted child.
b. Certification Requirements. Certification by a

written statement from a doctor of medicine who is legally
authorized to practice or an authorized official of the adoption
agency.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
required leave of absence, the number of days involved, the
length of the recovery period, the beginning and ending dates
of the doctor's care, and the required treatment.

d. Filing Requirements. The recipient must request by
letter, with the required certification and documentation,
within 60 days after the occurrence of the qualifying event.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to one
academic year.

2. Rehabilitation Program
a. Definition. The recipient must be receiving

rehabilitation in a program administered by a licensed
rehabilitation center under a written individualized plan with
specific dates of beginning and ending services.

b. Certification Requirements. Certification by a
rehabilitation counselor or doctor of medicine.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the
required leave of absence, the semester(s) or number of days
involved, the length of the recovery period, the beginning and
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ending dates of the doctor's care, the required treatment. which precludes the recipient from gainful employment.
d. Filing Requirements. The recipient must file a

written request, with the required certification and
documentation, within 60 days after occurrence of the
qualifying treatment.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to two
academic years.

3. Temporary Disability of Recipient, Child, Parent,
Spouse, or Guardian

a. Definition. Temporary total disability of recipient
or recipient's dependent, parent, guardian or spouse of whom
recipient is primary care-giver.

b. Certification Requirements. Certification by a
qualified physician.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of the
required leave, the length of the recovery or disability period,
the beginning and ending dates of the doctor's care, the
required treatment.

d. Filing Requirements. The recipient must file a
written request with the required certification and
documentation no earlier than 30 days but within 60 days after
the occurrence of disability.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. A deferment under
§2105.B.3 for Temporary Disability of the Maker shall not
exceed 36 months. A deferment under §2105.B.3 for
Temporary Disability of any other person shall not exceed 12
months.

4. Military Service, Peace Corps, National Service
Corps, VISTA

a. Definition. The recipient is called on active duty
status with the United States Armed Forces or is performing
emergency state service with the National Guard or is serving
in the Peace Corps, National Service Corps or VISTA.

b. Certification Requirements. Certified by a written
statement from the commanding officer or regional supervisor
or certified military orders.

c. Acceptable Documentation. Includes dates of
required leave of absence, the semester(s) or number of days
involved, the length of duty (beginning and ending dates).

d. Filing Requirements. The student/recipient must
file a written request with the required certification and
documentation, within 60 days after receipt of military orders
or letter of appointment.

e. Maximum Length of Deferment. Up to the length
of the required service period.

5. Recipient is engaging in a full-time course of study at
an institution of higher education at the baccalaureate level or
higher. A deferment under §2105.B.5 shall not exceed 36
months; or

6. Recipient is:
a. seeking and unable to find full-time employment for

a single period not to exceed 12 months; or
b. seeking and unable to find full-time teaching

employment at a qualifying Louisiana school for a period of
time not to exceed 27 months.

C. Cancellation of Repayment Obligation. Upon
submission of applicable proof, loans may be canceled for the
following reasons:

1. death of the recipient;
2. complete and permanent disability of the recipient

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§2107. Funding and Fees

A. Limitation of Terms Funded
1. Routine funding for all Scholarship and Grant

Programs is limited to the fall, winter and spring school terms.
2. Extensions will be granted for the TOPS Opportunity,

Performance, and Honors Awards for an institution's
educational programs that require recipients to attend summer
sessions to complete the program’s mandatory courses when
such courses are not offered during regular terms.

B. Fees. The LASFAC may charge a variable fee not to
exceed $10 for each award check processed for recipients of
the T.H. Harris Scholarship. This fee will be charged only if
the Louisiana Legislature fails to appropriate sufficient state
general funds for administration of this program. The
LASFAC, at its discretion, may automatically deduct the fee
from each T.H. Harris Scholarship award check.

C. Less than Full-Time Attendance. The LASFAC will
authorize awards under the TOPS Opportunity, Performance,
Honors and Teachers Awards and the T.H. Harris Scholarship
Program for less than full-time enrollment provided that the
student meets all other eligibility criteria and at least one of the
following:

1. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete the
undergraduate degree; or

2. is enrolled in a degree program that defines full-time
as less than 12 hours per semester or eight hours per quarter;
or

3. requires less than full-time enrollment to complete
requirements for a specified course of study or clinical
program.

D. Insufficient Funds Appropriated
1. All LASFAC administered State Scholarship and

Grant Program Awards are contingent upon the annual
appropriation of funds by the Louisiana Legislature.

2. In the event appropriated funds are insufficient to
fully reimburse institutions for awards and stipends for all
students determined eligible for the TOPS Opportunity,
Performance, Honors and TECH Awards for a given academic
year, then the number of eligible students shall be reduced in
accordance with the following procedures until such funds are
sufficient.

a. Applicants who do not submit financial data on the
FAFSA to allow determination of eligibility for federal aid will
be the first students eliminated from consideration if
insufficient funds are appropriated for the program.



1256

b. After the elimination of students under
§2107.D.2.a, if funds are still insufficient to award all of those
students who remain eligible for award year 1998-99, then
those students qualified by the actions of the First
Extraordinary Session of 1998 shall be funded only after all
awards to all students who are eligible pursuant to the
requirements of this Chapter as they existed prior to any Act of
the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the Legislature are
fully funded. Students qualified by actions of the First
Extraordinary Session of 1998 include the following:

i. students qualified by reduction of Foreign
Language requirement for 1996-97 and 1997-98 graduates;

ii. students qualified as Exceptional
Students/Students with disabilities;

iii. students who graduated from out-of-state high
schools; and,

iv. students who completed an Approved Home
Study Program.

c. After the elimination of students in §2107.D.2.a and
b, if funds are still insufficient to award all of the remaining
students, then those who remain will be prioritized according
to their ACT score and, within ACT score, by their EFC in
ranges of $1,000, from lowest to highest. Beginning with the
lowest qualifying ACT score, the students with the highest
EFC shall be eliminated until the funds available are sufficient
to award all remaining students or until all students with that
ACT score have been eliminated. This process shall be
repeated, beginning with the lowest ACT score and
progressing to the highest ACT score, until the projected
expenditure for awards equals the funds appropriated for that
purpose.

d. After the elimination of students in §2107.D.2.a, if
funds are sufficient to award all students who were eligible
prior to the Act of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the
Legislature, but are insufficient to award all students made
eligible under such Act and listed in §2107.D.2.b, then those
students made eligible by such Act shall be rendered ineligible
by application of §2107.D.2.c, above, until funds available are
sufficient to award all remaining students.

3. From among those students otherwise eligible who are
denied an award because of the imposition of the procedures
in §2107.D.2, if additional funds subsequently become
available for expenditure in the same award year, those
students who have the highest ACT scores and the least
capacity to pay, as evidenced by their families' lower EFC,
shall be the first to be awarded by reversing the procedure
described in §2107.D.2.c.

E. Stop Payment of Uncleared Checks. The LASFAC may
stop payment on checks which are issued as scholarship or
grant awards but not negotiated by September 1 following the
close of the academic year for which they were issued. F .

Transferability of Funds. A student receiving an award
under the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS),
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship and/or the T.H. Harris
Scholarship may have his award transferred to another
postsecondary institution which is authorized to participate in
these programs, as described in §1901. The student must meet
all continuation requirements and submit a Scholarship and
Grant Transfer Request Form.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:649 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§2109. Appeal of Adverse Discretionary Decisions

A. Policies for Appeal of Adverse Discretionary Decisions
1. The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance

Commission (LASFAC or commission) has established a
formal appeal process consistent with the Louisiana
Administrative Procedure Act by which aggrieved parties may
appeal an agency adverse discretionary decision. An agency
adverse discretionary decision is a decision made by agency
staff based on an interpretation of legislative or regulatory
intent and which has an adverse impact on an applicant or
participant in a program administered by the commission. An
applicant or program participant who believes the agency has
incorrectly interpreted legislative or regulatory intent in
making a decision and, said decision having adversely affected
the applicant or participant, may file an appeal.

2. The appeal process allows for an initial review or
hearing to be held by a hearing officer or an appeal committee
appointed by the commission, depending upon the level of
review requested.

3. If after the decision of the appeal committee or
hearing officer the appellant is not satisfied, then he will have
the right to seek review of the decision by the full commission.

4. If the commission refuses to review the decision of the
hearing officer or the appeal committee, then the aggrieved
party has the right to seek a rehearing on the matter by the full
commission.

5. If the application for a rehearing is denied, then the
aggrieved party has the right to seek judicial review.

B. Procedure for Appeal of Adverse Discretionary
Decisions

1. Adverse discretionary decisions made by the
Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance may be
appealed to the Louisiana Student Financial Assistance
Commission.

a. Petitions for appeal must be in writing and filed
within 30 days of notice of the decision or, if no notice is given
within 30 days from becoming aware of or the date the
aggrieved party should have been aware of the adverse
decision.

b. The appeal must be addressed to the Executive
Director, Office of Student Financial Assistance and sent to
Box 91202, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9202, or hand delivered
to the physical address of LASFAC in Baton Rouge.

c. Appeals may not be supplemented or amended after
the lapse of 30 days. An appellant has the right to file a written
appeal or have his appeal heard orally. Requests for an oral
hearing must be made within the 30-day time period to file the
appeal.

i. If no request for an oral hearing is made, then the
appellant may submit documentation and/or written
memorandum to support his appeal at least 15 days prior to the
review of the commission or the appeal committee appointed
by the commission. Appellant will be notified at
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least 30 days prior to the date of the review by the commission appeal; and to make copies of those records at a cost of $.20
or the appeal committee appointed by the commission. The per page;
commission or the appeal committee will review all the (f). the right to be represented by counsel.
evidence submitted and render a decision.

ii. If the appellant requests an oral hearing, then
appellant will be given at least 30 days prior notice of the
hearing. The commission shall appoint a hearing officer to hear
the appeal of the appellant. All hearings shall be conducted in
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq.

2. If after the review of the appeal committee or after a
hearing held before the hearing officer a decision adverse to
the appellant is made, then appellant may seek to have the
decision reviewed by the full commission.

a. The application for review must be made within 15
days of appellant receiving notice of the decision. The
appellant may submit exceptions, written arguments or briefs
to support the application for review.

b. No oral hearing shall be held at this level of review.
All action is stayed pending review by the full commission.

i. If the full commission denies the application for
review, then the action becomes final as of the date of the
denial for review.

ii. If the full commission denies the application for
review then it shall set a hearing date to review the decision of
the hearing officer.

3. The appellant may seek a rehearing of an adverse
decision made by the full commission. The request for 24:
rehearing must conform to the provisions and time limits set by
R.S. 49:959. An application for rehearing does not stay any
action taken by the commission.

4. Oral Hearing. All hearings shall be held pursuant to
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et seq.

a. On the day of the oral hearing appellant and
appellee shall be prepared to start the hearing at the time
specified in the notice of hearing.

b. The hearing may be continued for good cause
provided a written request for extension is received at the
commission at least seven days prior to the date of the hearing.

i. All parties will be notified of a rescheduling or
postponement of the hearing.

ii. Failure to be present at the hearing and ready to
proceed may result in an adverse decision against the
nonappearing party.

iii. Strict rules of evidence will not apply in these
hearings. The appellant shall have the following rights at the
hearing:

(a). the right to present testimony, introduce
evidence, and call witnesses on his behalf;

(b). the right to cross exam witnesses called by the
agency;

(c). the right to subpoena witnesses;
(d). the right to take depositions;
(e). prior to the hearing, the right and the

opportunity to review agency records that are relevant to his

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR
24:650 (April 1998), amended LR 24:
§2113. Revision of the Core Curricula

LASFAC shall continually consult with BESE and the
Louisiana Board of Regents to evaluate the adequacy of the
TOPS core curricula to prepare students for postsecondary
studies. Upon receipt of a written recommendation from either
BESE or the Board of Regents that the curricula be revised,
LASFAC shall draft such revision and submit the proposed
revision to BESE and the Board of Regents. BESE and the
Board of Regents shall formally act to recommend or reject the
proposed change and notify LASFAC, in writing, of their
actions. If both boards recommend the proposed change,
LASFAC shall promulgate a notice of intent to adopt rule
amending the core curricula as recommended. Such revisions
of the core curricula shall be limited to updating the names of
courses or establishing course equivalencies for any course
included in the definition of core curriculum.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR

Jack L. Guinn
Executive Director

9807#001

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Office of the Governor
Division of Administration

Board of Trustees of the State
Employees Group Benefits Program

Diabetes Self-Management Training

Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:871(C) and
874(A)(2), vesting the Board of Trustees with the sole
responsibility for administration of the State Employees Group
Benefits Program and granting the power to adopt and
promulgate rules with respect thereto, the Board of Trustees
hereby invokes the emergency rule provisions of R.S.
49:953(B) to adopt amendments to the Plan Document of
Benefits.

This rule shall become effective on July 1, 1998, and shall
remain effective for a maximum of 120 days or until
promulgation of the final rule, whichever occurs first.

The board finds that it is necessary to amend the Plan
Document to implement the provisions of Act Number 1439 of
the 1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature (R.S.
22:215.18), regarding benefits for diabetes self management
training. Accordingly, the Plan Document of Benefits for the
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State Employees Group Benefits Program is hereby amended The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health
in the following particulars: Services Financing provides a pharmacy dispensing fee in the
Amend Article 3, Section I, Subsection F, by adding a new Pharmacy Program in accordance with the methodology
paragraph, 36, to read as follows: established for the Maximum Allowable Overhead Cost which

36. Outpatient self-management training and education, includes a $0.10 provider fee collected on all prescriptions
including medical nutrition therapy, for the treatment of
insulin-dependent diabetes, insulin-using diabetes, gestational
diabetes, and non-insulin using diabetes, when such self-
management training and education is provided by a licensed
health care professional with demonstrated expertise in
diabetes care and treatment who has completed an educational
program required by the appropriate licensing board in
compliance with the National Standards for Diabetes Self-
Management Education Program as developed by the
American Diabetes Association, and only as follows:

a. a one-time evaluation and training program for
diabetes self management, conducted by the health care
professional in compliance with the National Standards for
Diabetes Self-Management Education Program as developed
by the American Diabetes Association, upon certification by
the health care professional that the covered person has
successfully completed the program, such benefits not to
exceed $500;

b. additional diabetes self-management training
required because of a significant change in the covered
person’s symptoms or conditions, limited to benefits of $100
per year and $2,000 per lifetime;

* * *

Ann B. Davenport
Deputy Director

9807#017

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary

Bureau of Health Services Financing

Pharmacy Program— Maximum
Allowable Overhead Cost

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing has adopted
the following rule in the Medical Assistance Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the
Social Security Act and as directed by the 1998-99 General
Appropriation Act, which states: "The Secretary shall
implement reductions in the Medicaid program as necessary to
control expenditures to the level approved in this schedule.
The Secretary is hereby directed to utilize various cost
containment measures to accomplish these reductions
including, but not limited to, pre-certification, pre-admission
screening, and utilization review, and other measures as
allowed by federal law." This emergency rule is adopted in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:950 et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum period
allowed by the Act.

dispensed to Louisiana residents by pharmacists (Louisiana
Register, Volume 18 Number 1). This dispensing fee is called
the Louisiana Maximum Allowable Overhead Cost and is
determined by updating the base rate through the application
of certain economic indices to appropriate cost categories to
assure recognition of costs which are incurred by efficiently
and economically operated providers. During state fiscal years
1995-1996, 1996-97 and 1997-98, the bureau maintained the
Louisiana Maximum Allowable Overhead Cost at the state
fiscal year 1994-1995 level. The bureau has determined it is
necessary to continue the Louisiana Maximum Allowable
Overhead Cost at the state fiscal year 1994-1995 level. This
action is necessary to avoid a budget deficit in the medical
assistance programs. It is difficult to estimate the savings
generated by this action, but a cost avoidance of approximately
$9,305,187 is anticipated for state fiscal year 1998 and 1999.

Emergency Rule
Effective for dates of service July 1, 1998 and after, the

Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary,
Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the following
provisions applicable to the Maximum Overhead Cost under
the Pharmacy Program.

Maximum Allowable Overhead Cost
1. The Maximum Allowable Overhead Cost will remain at

the level established for state fiscal year 1994-95. This
Maximum Allowable Overhead Cost will remain in effect until
the dispensing survey is completed and an alternate
methodology is determined.

2. No inflation indices or any interim adjustments will be
applied to the Maximum Allowable Overhead Costs.

Interested persons may submit written comments to Thomas
D. Collins, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P. O. Box
91030, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030. He is
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding the
emergency rule. A copy of this emergency rule may be
obtained from the Medicaid parish office.

David W. Hood
Secretary

9807#042
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Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Alligator Season— 1998

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and R.S.
49:967(D), which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries

Commission use emergency procedures to set the wild alligator meeting held July 9, 1998, in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, set the
season, the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, at its regular 1998 wild alligator season dates.
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The 1998 wild alligator harvest season shall be from official not later than October 1, 1998.
sunrise September 2, 1998 through official sunset October 1, B. Proof of such income for any of the years 1993, 1994,
1998. Alligators taken from the wild may be removed from and 1995 shall be provided by the applicant using any of the
hook and line, and taken with other legal capture devices only methods listed below.
during daylight hours, between official sunrise and official 1. Method 1. Applicant shall submit to the Department
sunset. of Wildlife and Fisheries (Licensing Section) a copy of his

Emergency procedures are necessary to allow department federal income tax return including all attachments (e.g.,
biologists adequate time to gather the biological data required Schedule C of federal form 1040, form W-2, etc.), which has
to recommend season dates and harvest quotas. been certified by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

The secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 2. Method 2. Applicant shall submit to the Department
shall have the authority to delay, extend, close or reopen this of Wildlife and Fisheries (Licensing Section) a copy of his
season based on technical data or if enforcement problems federal income tax return including all attachments (e.g.,
develop. Schedule C of federal form 1040, form W-2, etc.), which has

Thomas M. Gattle, Jr. accompanied with a signed cover letter acknowledging receipt
Chairman by the IRS.

9807#058
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Commercial Fisherman's Assistance
Program (LAC 76:XVII.101)

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries are exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:953(B). Promulgation of this rule as a declaration of
emergency is necessary to expedite the provisions of Act 1413
of the 1997 Regular Session of the Legislature which
established October 1, 1998 as the deadline for making
applications for assistance under this program.

This declaration of emergency is effective July 30, 1998 and
shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under
the Administrative Procedure Act or until adoption of the final
rule, whichever occurs first.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

Part XVII. Commercial Fisherman’s Assistance
Program

Chapter 1. Proof of Income
§101. Criteria for Establishing Proof of Income and

Procedures
A. The eligibility of applicants for economic assistance

under R.S. 56:13.1, Commercial Fisherman’s Assistance
Program, shall be determined in accordance with the following
criteria:

1. the applicant shall have purchased a saltwater gill net
license in at least two of the years 1993, 1994, and 1995; and

2. the applicant shall have derived more than 50 percent
of his earned income from the legal capture and sale of seafood
species in at least two of the years 1993, 1994, and 1995; and

3. the applicant shall have suffered a loss of income due
to the enactment of the Louisiana Marine Resources
Conservation Act of 1995; and

4. applicant must have been a bona fide resident of
Louisiana on June 30, 1995 and must provide proof of such as
defined under R.S. 56:8(12)(a); and

5. the applicant must have submitted his/her application

been filed and stamped received at a local IRS office

3. Method 3. Applicant shall submit to the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries (Licensing Section) a signed copy of
his federal tax return including all attachments (e.g., Schedule
C of federal form 1040, form W-2, etc.), along with IRS
stamped transcripts and IRS signed cover letter. Transcripts
are available at local IRS offices.

C. The Socioeconomic Section of the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Office of Management and Finance will
review the submitted tax return information and determine
applicant's income eligibility as defined by R.S. 56:13.1.B(1).
Proof of loss of income by the applicant shall be provided in
the form of federal tax returns as specified in §101.B and
determined by using the method below.

1. Proof of income loss will be determined by comparing
the applicant’s average earned income from the legal capture
and sale of seafood species for two of the years 1993, 1994,
and 1995 and the earned income for tax years 1996 or 1997 as
reported on their federal income tax returns. Proof of such
income shall be provided by the applicant using any of the
methods listed in §101.B.

2. The criteria for providing economic assistance shall
be determined by the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries,
and shall be based on an individual’s loss of income due to the
enactment of the Louisiana Marine Resources Conservation
Act of 1995.

D. Applicants who receive economic assistance under the
Commercial Fisherman’s Assistance Program (R.S. 56:13.1)
shall be disqualified from receiving any mullet license permit
pursuant to R.S. 56:333.

E. The Department of Labor will provide to the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Licensing Section a
quarterly status report containing the name, address, social
security number, type of training with beginning date and
estimated ending date, the anticipated cost and actual cost as
incurred, for each fisherman receiving economic assistance
under the Commercial Fisherman’s Assistance Program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:13.1.D.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
22:235 (March 1996), amended LR 24:

Thomas M. Gattle, Jr.
Chairman

9807#059
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Hunting Seasons— Farm-Raised White-Tailed cap and ball cylinder, using black powder or an approved
Deer and Exotics (LAC 76:XIX.109) substitute only, and using ball or bullet projectile, including

In accordance with the emergency provisions of D. Shooting Hours
R.S. 49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act, and 1. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside.
under authority of the Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, 2. Exotics: One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour
Section 7, R.S. 36:601 et seq., R.S. 56:115, R.S. 56:171 et after sunset.
seq., and R.S. 56:651 et seq., the Wildlife and Fisheries E. Bag Limit
Commission hereby adopts the following emergency rule. 1. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside.

A declaration of emergency is necessary to allow for 2. Exotics: No limit.
regulation of hunting of farm-raised white-tailed deer and F. Hunting Permit and Licenses
exotics until permanent rules take effect. Permanent rules are 1. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside.
being developed. This declaration of emergency will provide 2. Exotics: No person shall take or attempt to take any
continuous regulation of farm-raised white-tailed deer and exotic without possessing an Exotic Hunting Permit issued by
exotic hunting until the ratification of permanent rules. the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. An administrative

This emergency rule will supplant any prior declaration of fee of $50 shall be assessed for each Exotic Hunting Permit.
emergency adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission Permits are valid only on the deer farm indicated on the face of
pertaining to hunting of farm-raised deer and exotics that is in the permit. Permits shall be issued on a fiscal year basis
effect on July 30, 1998, the effective date of this declaration of beginning July 1 of each calendar year and shall expire on June
emergency. 30 of the following calendar year.

Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES

Part XIX. Hunting
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Seasons
§109. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer and Exotics

A. Definitions Department of Agriculture and Forestry. The tag shall remain
Exotics— any animal of the family Bovidae (except the

Tribe Bovini [cattle]) or Cervidae which is not indigenous to
Louisiana and which is introduced and kept within an
enclosure for which a current Farm-Raising License has been
issued by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry. Exotics
shall include, but are not limited to, fallow deer, red deer, elk,
sika deer, axis deer, and black buck antelope.

Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer— any animal of the
species Odocoileus virginianus which is introduced and kept
within an enclosure for which a current Farm-Raising License
has been issued by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry.

Same as Outside— hunting within an enclosure must
conform to applicable statutes and rules governing hunting and
deer hunting, as provided for in Title 56 of the Louisiana
Revised Statutes and as established annually by the Wildlife
and Fisheries Commission for the specific geographic area in
which the enclosure is located.

B. Hunting Seasons
1. Farm-Raised White-tailed Deer: Same as outside,

except still hunt only during all segments.
2. Exotics: Year round.
3. A Farm-Raising licensee may kill farm-raised

white-tailed deer within the enclosure for which he is licensed
at any time during daylight hours after proper notice is given
as required by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Alternative Livestock Rules.

C. Methods of Take

1. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside.
2. Exotics: Exotics may be taken with longbow

(including compound bow) and arrow; shotguns not larger than
10 gauge, loaded with buckshot or rifled slug; handguns and
rifles no smaller than .22 caliber center fire; or muzzle loading
rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or shotguns 10 gauge or
smaller, all of which must load exclusively from the muzzle or

saboted bullets only.

G. Tagging
1. Farm-Raised White-Tailed Deer: Same as outside.
2. Exotics: Each exotic shall be tagged in the left ear or

left antler immediately upon being killed and before being
moved from the site of the kill with a tag provided by the

with the carcass at all times.
H. Additional Restrictions. Except as otherwise specified

herein, all of the provisions of Title 56 of the Louisiana
Revised Statutes and the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
rules pertaining to the hunting and possession of white-tailed
deer shall apply to farm-raised white-tailed deer and exotics.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 36:601, R.S.
56:115, R.S. 56:171 et seq., and R.S. 56:651 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 24:

Thomas M. Gattle, Jr.
Chairman

9807#056

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Shrimp Season Closure— Zone 2

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure
Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to
use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons, R.S. 56:497
which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
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shall fix no less than two open seasons each year for all inside
waters and a resolution adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission on May 7, 1998 which authorized the secretary of
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 1998
Spring Inshore Shrimp Season in any area or zone when
biological and technical data indicate the need to do so, the Shrimp Season Closure— Zone 3
secretary hereby declares:

that the 1998 Spring Inshore Shrimp Season shall be In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S.
closed in all of Zone 2, that portion of Louisiana's inshore 49:953(B) and R.S. 49:967 of the Administrative Procedure
waters from the eastern shore of South Pass of the Mississippi Act which allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to
River west to the western shore of Vermilion Bay and use emergency procedures to set shrimp seasons, R.S. 56:497
Southwest Pass at Marsh Island, at 6 a.m., Tuesday, June 30, which provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission
1998. shall fix no less than two open seasons each year for all inside

Substantial numbers of small white shrimp have been taken waters and a resolution adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries
in recent shrimp samples by department personnel. These Commission on May 7, 1998 which authorized the secretary of
small white shrimp are widely distributed throughout Zone 2, the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to close the 1998
and the number of white shrimp is expected to increase Spring Inshore Shrimp Season in any area or zone when
substantially over the next few weeks. biological and technical data indicate the need to do so, the

Zones 1 and 3 will remain open until further notice. secretary hereby declares:

James H. Jenkins, Jr. closed in all of Zone 3, that portion of Louisiana's inshore
Secretary waters from the western shore of Vermilion Bay and Southwest

9807#003
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Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

that the 1998 Spring Inshore Shrimp Season shall be

Pass at Marsh Island west to the Louisiana/Texas State Line,
at 6 p.m., Monday, July 6, 1998.

Small white shrimp have begun to occur in shrimp samples
taken by department personnel throughout Zone 3. The
number of white shrimp has increased substantially since the
previous week, and is expected to continue to increase over the
next few weeks.

James H. Jenkins, Jr.
Secretary

9807#027
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