Emergency Rules

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences

Application of Azinphos-methyl (LAC 7:XXI11.143)

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act
R.S. 49:953(B) and R.S. 3:3203(A), the Commissioner of
Agriculture and Forestry is exercising the emergency
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act in adopting
the following rules for the implementation of regulations
governing the use of the pesticide, azinphos-methyl.

Azinphos-methyl is an essential pesticide in the control of
sugarcane pests. Without its use a substantial portion of the
sugarcane crop in Louisiana could be damaged by pests.
Because of it effectiveness as a pesticide Azinphos-methyl
poses a substantial threat to the environment if it is
misapplied. It was the cause of substantial fish kills in 1991.
Because of its substantial threat to the environment the
Department has severely limited the use of Azinphos-
methyl, even though its label allows a wider use. The
application of Azinphos-methyl in accordance with its label,
but inconsistent with the Department's rules and regulation
and the misuse of this pesticide poses an imminent peril to
the public health, safety and welfare and to the environment,
especially if it gets into the waterways of this state.

The Department has, therefore, determined that these
emergency rules are necessary in order to implement a
monitoring program and registration and permitting
requirements during the current crop year. Information will
be gathered to determine whether the effectiveness of this
chemical outweighs any potential risk to the public or the
environment. The rule becomes effective upon signature and
will remain in effect 120 days.

Title 7
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS
Part XXIII. Pesticide
Chapter 1. Advisory Commission on Pesticides
Subchapter I. Regulations Governing Application of
Pesticides
8143. Restrictions on Application of Certain Pesticides

A -M. ..

N. 1999 Regulations
Azinphos-methyl

1. Registration Requirements

a. The Commissioner hereby declares that prior to
making any aerial application of azinphos-methyl to
sugarcane, the aerial owner/operator must first register such
intent by notifying the Division of Pesticides and
Environmental Programs ("DPEP") in writing.

b. The Commissioner hereby declares that prior to
selling azinphos-methyl to be applied on sugarcane, the
dealer must first register such intent by notifying the DPEP
in writing.
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c. The Commissioner hereby declares that prior to
making recommendation for application of azinphos-methyl
to sugarcane, the agricultural consultant must first register
such intent by notifying the DPEP in writing.

2. Grower Liability

Growers of sugarcane shall not force or coerce applicators

to apply azinphos-methyl to their crops when the applicators,
conforming to the Louisiana Pesticide Laws and Rules and
Regulations or to the pesticide label, deem it unsafe to make
such applications. Growers found to be in violation of this
section shall forfeit their right to use azinphos-methyl on
their crops, subject to appeal to the Advisory Commission
on Pesticides.

3. Azinphos-methyl Application Restriction

a. Application of Azinphos-methyl on sugarcane is
limited to one (1) application per season.

b. Do not apply by ground within 25 feet, or by air
within 150 feet of lakes; reservoirs; rivers; permanent
streams, marshes or natural ponds; estuaries and commercial
fish farm ponds.

4. Procedures
Azinphos-methyl

a. Prior to any application or recommendation for
application of Azinphos-methyl, approval shall be obtained
in writing from the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and
Forestry ("LDAF"). Such approval is good for five (5) days
from the date issued. Approval may be obtained by certified
agricultural consultants from the DPEP. Where farmers do
not use agricultural consultants, approval must be obtained
by the private applicator or aerial applicators employed by
such farmers from DPEP.

b. The determination as to whether a permit for
application is to be given shall be based on criteria including
but not limited to:

i. weather patterns and predictions;
ii. soil moisture;
iii. propensity for run-off;
iv. drainage patterns;
v. quantity of acreage to be treated;
vi. extent and presence of vegetation in the buffer
zone between application site and water body;

vii. water monitoring results;

viii. targeted pest must exceed the following
prescribed thresholds:

(a). Yellow sugarcane aphid, 20 - 25 live aphids
per leaf or sugarcane borer - a three-fold threshold (15%) i.e.
1 or more live borers in 15 different stalks per 100 stalks;
ix. Azinphos-methyl total acreage target shall not
exceed 80,000 acres; and
X. any other relevant data.
5. Monitoring of Azinphos-methyl

a. Agricultural consultants registered to recommend
azinphos-methyl on sugarcane shall report daily to the
DPEP, on forms prescribed by the Commissioner, all
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recommendations for applications of azinphos-methyl to
sugarcane.

b. Certified applicators registered to apply
azinphos-methyl on sugarcane shall maintain a daily record
of azinphos-methyl applications and provide a summary to
the DPEP within 60 days of the end of the application
season.

6. Determination of Appropriate Action

a. Upon determination by the Commissioner that a
threat or reasonable expectation of a threat to human health
or to the environment exists, he may consider:

i. stop orders for use, sales, or application;
ii. label changes;
iii. remedial or protective orders;
iv. any other relevant remedies.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
3:3203.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Agriculture, Advisory Commission on Pesticides, LR 9:169 (April
1983), amended LR 10:193 (March 1984), LR 11:219 (March
1985), LR 11:942 (October 1985), amended by the Department of
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental
Sciences, LR 18:953 (September 1992), amended LR 19:791
(September 1993), LR 21:668 (July 1993), LR 21:668 (July 1995),
LR 24:281 (February 1998), LR 24:2076 (November 1998), LR 25:

Bob Odom

Commissioner
9906#031

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Student Tuition and Revenue Trust (START Saving)
Program (LAC 28:VI1.107, 301, 307)

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority (LATTA) is
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend rules of the
Student Tuition Assistance and Revenue Trust (START
Saving) Program (R.S. 17:3091-3099.2).

The emergency rules are necessary to allow the Louisiana
Office of Student Financial Assistance and educational
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial
condition of their families. The commission has, therefore,
determined that these emergency rules are necessary in order
to prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the
affected students.

This declaration of emergency is effective May 11, 1999,
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed
under the Administrative Procedure Act.
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Title 28
EDUCATION
Part VI. Student Financial Assistance-Higher
Education Savings
Chapter 1. General Provisions
Subchapter A.  Student Tuition Trust Authority
8107. Applicable Definitions
* * %

Tuition Assistance Granta payment allocated to an
education assistance account, on behalf of the beneficiary of
the account, by the state. The grant amount is calculated
based upon the account owner's annual federal adjusted
gross income and total annual deposits of principal. The
grant and interest earned may only be used to pay the
beneficiary's tuition, or portion thereof, at an eligible
educational institution.

* * %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3091-3099.2.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:712 (June
1997), amended LR 24:1268 (July 1998), LR 25:

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account

* % %

§301. Education Assistance Accounts (EAA)

AL

B. Program Enrollment Period. An account may be
opened and an eligible beneficiary may be enrolled at any
time during the calendar year. Tuition Assistance Grants
shall be allocated only to those accounts which have been
opened by November 1 of the calendar year preceding the
allocation.

C.-J. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3091-3099.2.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:713 (June
1997), amended LR 24:1269 (July 1998), LR 25:

8307. Allocation of Tuition Assistance Grants
A.-D. ..
E.1.-3. ..

4. have an account owner who is a resident of the
State of Louisiana, as defined in 8107 in the year for which a
tuition assistance grant is disbursed.

F.-G
H. Restriction on Use of Tuition Assistance Grants

1. Tuition assistance grants, and any interest which
may accrue thereon, may only be expended in payment of
the beneficiary's tuition, or a portion thereof, at an eligible
educational institution.

2. Tuition assistance grants may not be used to pay for
any qualified higher education expenses other than tuition.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3091-3099.2.



HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust
Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June
1997), amended LR 24:1271 (July 1998), LR 25:

Jack L. Guinn

Executive Director
9906#019

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Tuition Opportunity Program for Students
(TOPS) (LAC 28:1V.301, 703, 803, 2115)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend
rules of the Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (R.S.
17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1).

The emergency rules are necessary to allow the Louisiana
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial
condition of their families. The commission has, therefore,

determined that these emergency rules are necessary in order

to prevent imminent financial peril to the welfare of the
affected students.

This declaration of emergency is effective May 11, 1999,
and shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed
under the Administrative Procedure Act.

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part IV. Student Financial Assistance-Higher
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs
Chapter 3. Definitions
8301. Definitions
* * %

Eligible Non-Louisiana High School and Eligible Out of
State High Schoelsee 81701.A.3 and 1701.A.4,
respectively.

* k%

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR
25:

Chapter 7. Tuition Opportunity Program for
Students (TOPS) Opportunity;
Performance and Honors Awards
§703. Establishing Eligibility

A. To establish eligibility for a TOPS Opportunity,
Performance or Honors Award, the student applicant must
meet all of the following criteria:

1.-5a. ..

i. at the time of high school graduation, an
applicant must have successfully completed 16.5 units of
high school course work constituting a core curriculum as
follows:
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Course

English |

English Il

English Il

English IV

Algebra | (one unit) or Applied Algebra 1A and 1B (two

units)

Algebra Il

Geometry, Trigonometry, Calculus or Comparable

Advanced Math

Biology |

Chemistry |

Earth Science, Environmental Science, Physical Science,

Biology Il, Chemistry Il or Physics, Physics Il or

Physics for Technology

1 American History

1 World History, World Culture, Western Civilization or
World Geography

1 Civics and Free Enterprise (one unit combined) or
Civics (one unit, nonpublic)

1 Fine Arts Survey; (or substitute two units Performance
courses in Music, Dance and/or Theater; or two units of
Studio Art or Visual Art; or one elective from among the
other subjects listed in this core curriculum)

2 In the Same Foreign Language (one unit or credit for
three or more hours of college foreign language for
students graduating from high school during the 1996-97
and 1997-98 school years).

Y Computer Science, Computer Literacy or Business

Computer Applications (or substitute at least one-half

unit of an elective course related to computers that is

approved by the State Board of Elementary and

Secondary Education; (or substitute at least one-half unit

of an elective from among the other subjects listed in

this core curriculum)

Units

PR RPRRRR

R e

or

b. graduate from a BESE approved, provisionally-
approved or probationally-approved public or nonpublic
Louisiana high school or eligible non-Louisiana high school
as defined in 81701.A.3 and have completed the core
curriculum defined in 8703.A.5.a.i, unless the following
exceptions apply:

(R
ii. fora Disabled Student or an Exceptional Child,
as defined in 8301, who have met the criteria set forth in
§2115, one or more core units are waived;
* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR
24: 2237 (December 1998), LR 25:

Chapter 8. TOPS-TECH Award
§803. Establishing Eligibility

Al-6.b.

c. for a student who is a Disabled Student or an
Exceptional Child, as defined in 8301, one or more core
units may be waived if the student has met the criteria set
forth in §2115;

Al-7a. ..

b. if qualifying under 8§703.A.5.b, c, or d, the state's
reported prior year average ACT composite score, rounded,
plus 3 points, but never less than 22; and

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
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LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1904 (October 1998), LR
24: 2237 (December 1998), LR 25:
Chapter 21.  Miscellaneous Provisions and Exceptions
§2115. Procedures for Disabled Students and

Exceptional Children

A. As provided for in §703.A.5.b.ii, a core curriculum
course shall be waived for a student who is a Disabled
Student or an Exceptional Child, as defined in 8301, whose
school certifies that it has the following documentation:

1. For a student claiming the status of a Disabled
Student:

a. a written diagnosis from a person licensed or
certified to diagnose the disability of the student, which
diagnosis specifies the need for special accommodation by
the student's high school; and

b. a written statement from the principal of the high
school that a plan of accommodation under Section 504 of
the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (8504 Plan) has been
established, and the high school was unable to provide the
special accommodation, or, if the special accommodation
was provided by the high school, the failure to complete the
specified core curriculum course was due solely to the
student's diagnosed disability.

2. For a student claiming the status of an Exceptional
Child:

a. a written Individual Education Program (IEP) in
accordance with R.S. 17:1941 et seq. and Louisiana
Department of Education Bulletin 1706; and

b. a written statement from the principal of the high
school that the failure to complete the specified core
curriculum course was due solely to the student's
exceptionality.

B. For Disabled Students graduating prior to the 1999-
2000 high school academic year and who are requesting a
waiver of a core curriculum course based upon their status as
a Disabled Student, those students must provide the
documentation provided in §2115.A.1, above, however,

those students need not establish the existence of a 504 Plan.

C. A school official must obtain the consent from the
student's parent or legal guardian, as required by law, prior
to the release of information concerning a student who is
requesting a waiver of a core course by reason of that
student being a Disabled Student or an Exception Child.

D. If a core curriculum course is waived based upon the
determination that a student's disability or exceptionality,
then the grade achieved for that course will not be included
in the determination of the student's grade point average for
purposes of qualifying for a TOPS award.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:

Jack L. Guinn

Executive Director
9906#003
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Office of the Governor
Division of Administration
Board of Trustees of the State Employees
Group Benefits Program

EPO Plan Document

Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:871(C) and
874(B)(2), vesting the Board of Trustees with the
responsibility for administration of the State Employees
Group Benefits Program and granting the power to adopt
and promulgate rules with respect thereto, the Board of
Trustees hereby invokes the Emergency Rule provisions of
La R.S. 49:953(B).

The text of this emergency rule may be viewed in its
entirety at the office of Board of Trustees for the State
Employees Group Benefits Program, 5825 Florida
Boulevard, Second Floor, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, or the
Office of the State Register, 1051 N. Third Street, Baton
Rouge, Louisiana.

The Board finds that it is necessary to adopt an entire new
Plan Document for the State Employees Group Benefits
Program, designating it as the EPO Plan Document. The
EPO Plan Document sets forth the terms and conditions
pursuant to which eligibility and benefit determinations are
made with regard to the self-insured health and accident
benefits plan, designated as the EPO Plan, to be
implemented July 1, 1999, for state employees and their
dependents pursuant to R.S. 42:851 et seq. Failure to adopt
this rule on an emergency basis will result in a financial
impact adversely affecting the availability of services
necessary to maintain the health and welfare of the covered
employees and their dependents, which is crucial to the
delivery of vital services to the citizens of the state.
Accordingly, the following Emergency Rule is effective July
1, 1999, and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120
days or until promulgation of the final Rule, whichever
occurs first.

Jack W. Walker, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer
9906#037

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Office of the Governor
Division of Administration
Board of Trustees of the State Employees
Group Benefits Program

Fee Schedule

Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:871(C) and
874(B)(2), vesting the Board of Trustees with the



responsibility for administration of the State Employees
Group Benefits Program and granting the power to adopt
and promulgate rules with respect thereto, and in order to
comply with R.S. 42:851.5 which requires the Board to adopt
and promulgate a schedule of maximum fees for medical and
surgical services and for professional services provided in
hospitals, the Board of Trustees hereby invokes the
Emergency Rule provisions of La R.S. 49:953(B).

Failure to adopt this rule on an emergency basis will result
in a financial impact adversely affecting the availability of
services necessary to maintain the health and welfare of the
covered employees and their dependents, which is crucial to
the delivery of vital services to the citizens of the state.
Accordingly, the following Emergency Rule is effective July
1, 1999, and shall remain in effect for a maximum of 120
days or until promulgation of the final Rule, whichever
occurs first.

The maximum fees for medical and surgical services and
for professional services provided in hospitals, when such
medical, surgical, or professional services are rendered by
providers who have not entered into contracts with the State
Employees Group Benefits Program establishing the allowed
charges for the services, shall be the"6percentile of
MDR's MediCode allowed charge. In the event that an
allowed fee for the CPT code is not found in MDR's
Medicode schedule, the maximum fee will be 75 percent of
the provider's billed charge.

Jack W. Walker, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer
9906#039

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Office of the Governor
Division of Administration
Board of Trustees of the State Employees
Group Benefits Program

PPO Plan Document

Pursuant to the authority granted by R.S. 42:871(C) and
874(B)(2), vesting the Board of Trustees with the
responsibility for administration of the State Employees
Group Benefits Program and granting the power to adopt
and promulgate rules with respect thereto, and in accordance
with R.S. 40:2204(D), the Board of Trustees hereby invokes
the Emergency Rule provisions of La R. S. 49:953(B).

The text of this emergency rule may be viewed in its
entirety at the office of the Board of Trustees for State
Employees Group Benefits Program, 5825 Florida
Boulevard, Second Floor, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and the
Office of the State Register, 1051 N. Third Street, Baton
Rouge, Louisiana.

The Board finds that it is necessary to repeal the previous
Plan Document and promulgate the new Plan Document for
the State Employees Group Benefits Program, designating it
as the PPO Plan Document. The PPO Plan Document sets
forth the terms and conditions pursuant to which eligibility
and benefit determinations are made with regard to the self-
insured health and accident benefits plan, designated as the
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PPO Plan, effective July 1, 1999, provided for state
employees and their dependents pursuant to R.S. 42:851 et
seq. Failure to adopt this rule on an emergency basis will
result in a financial impact adversely affecting the
availability of services necessary to maintain the health and
welfare of the covered employees and their dependents,
which is crucial to the delivery of vital services to the
citizens of the state.

Accordingly, the following Emergency Rule is effective
January 1, 1999, and shall remain in effect for a maximum
of 120 days or until promulgation of the final Rule,
whichever occurs first.

Jack W. Walker, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer
9906#038

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment Methodologies

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing will adopt
the following emergency rule in the Medical Assistance
Program as authorized by LA. R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to
Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This rule is in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S.
49:953B(1) et seq. and shall be in effect for the maximum
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the rule,
whichever occurs first.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a
rule March 20, 1998 governing the disproportionate share
payment methodologies for hospitalo(iisiana Register
Volume 24, Number 3). This rule was adopted pursuant to
Act 19 of 1998 (General Appropriations Act) and Act 1485
of 1997. Act 19 provides for different treatment of
disproportionate share funds for uncompensated costs in
small non-state operated local government hospitals and
private rural hospitals with 60 beds or less. Act 1485 allows
rural hospitals to meet less stringent criteria in order to
receive the maximum disproportionate share funding
available in accordance with the amounts appropriated by
the Legislature and to the extent authorized by federal law.

The Department adopted an emergency rule effective
March 1, 1999 l(ouisiana Register Volume 25, No. 2)
which increased the disproportionate share payment for large
public non-state rural hospitals for state fiscal year 1999
only, by allowing these qualifying hospitals to certify
uncompensated care expenditures as match and receive the
equivalent of Federal Financial Participation (FFP) in the
same manner as small public non-state rural hospitals. This
payment is in lieu of a lower payment that these hospitals
would have otherwise been paid under the disproportionate
share payment methodologies for other hospitals receiving
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disproportionate share payments contained in the March 20,
1998 rule.

In addition, Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 48 directs
the Department to amend the date by which hospitals qualify
for status as small rural hospitals. Therefore, Item IIl.B.1.a)
of the May 20, 1999 rule is amended to modify the date by
which hospitals had no more than sixty hospital beds to
October 1, 1994 l(ouisiana RegisterVolume 25, Number
5).

This action is hecessary to enhance federal revenues and is
in accordance with the Joint Legislative Budget Committee's
directive of October 16, 1998 to change the disproportionate
share payment methodology for large public non-state rural
hospitals for state fiscal year 1999. It is estimated that the
expenditures necessary to implement this rule will be
$3,236,885 in federal funds only for state fiscal year 1999.
This rule will not require the expenditure of any additional
state general funds.

Emergency Rule

Effective June 21, 1999, the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services
Financing establishes an additional disproportionate share
hospital group designed for state fiscal year 1999 only, for
large public non-state rural hospitals having at least twenty-
five percent (25%) Medicaid inpatient days utilization, by
allowing these qualifying hospitals to certify uncompensated
care expenditures as match and receive the equivalent of
Federal Financial Participation (FFP) in the same manner as
small public non-state rural hospitals. Qualifying hospitals
must meet qualifying criteria contained in Il. A, B, or C and
E in the May 20, 1999 rule. The provisions contained in the
May 20, 1999 rule otherwise remain intact.

A large public non-state rural hospital is a hospital owned
by a local government that is not included in section III.A or
B of the May 20, 1999 rule and did not qualify for DSH
payment in accordance with the March 1, 1999 emergency
rule and meets the following criteria:

(1) is located in a parish with a population of less than
fifty thousand, or

(2) is located in a municipality with a population of less
than twenty thousand, and

(3) has Medicaid inpatient days utilization rate in excess
of 25 percent for the hospital's fiscal year end cost report
ending during the period April 1, 1997 through March 31,
1998. The Medicaid inpatient days utilization percentage is
derived from Medicaid reported days per the hospital's fiscal
year end cost report ending during the period April 1, 1997
through March 31, 1998. Non-covered Medicaid days or
days for which another payor is primary to Medicaid
coverage may not be included in order to qualify for this
payment. This designation includes distinct-part psychiatric
units, but excludes long-term, rehabilitation, or free-standing
psychiatric hospitals.

Disproportionate share payments for state fiscal year 1999
to each qualifying large public non-state rural hospital are
equal to that hospital's pro rata share of uncompensated costs
for all hospitals meeting these criteria for the cost reporting
period ended during the period April 1, 1997 through March
31, 1998 multiplied by the amount set for this pool. If the
cost reporting period is not a full period (twelve months),
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actual uncompensated cost data for the previous cost
reporting period may be used on a pro rata basis to equate to
a full year.

A pro rata adjustment necessitated by the conditions
specified in section I.B of the May 20, 1999 rule for
hospitals described in this section will be calculated using
the ratio determined by dividing the qualifying hospital's
uncompensated costs by the uncompensated costs for all
qualifying large public non-state rural hospitals, then
multiplying by the amount of disproportionate share
payments calculated in excess of the federal disproportionate
share allotment or the state disproportionate share
appropriated amount.

In addition Item 111.B.1.a) of the May 20, 1999 rule is
modified to read "had no more than sixty hospital beds as of
October 1, 1994; and."

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
following address: Thomas D. Collins, Bureau of Health
Services Financing, P.O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge, LA
70821-9030. He is the person responsible for responding to
all inquiries regarding this emergency rule. A copy of this
emergency rule is available for review by interested parties
at parish Medicaid offices.

David W. Hood

Secretary
9906#041

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Durable Medical Equipment Prograsdugmentative and
Alternative Communication (AAC) Devices

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the
following emergency rule as authorized by LA. R.S. 46:153
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This
emergency rule is in accordance with the Administrative
Procedure Act R.S. 49:950 et seq. and shall be in effect for
the maximum period allowed under the Administrative
Procedure Act, or until adoption of the rule, whichever
occurs first.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Service Financing currently provides coverage for
durable medical equipment under the Medicaid Program. All
medical equipment, appliances and supplies must be prior
authorized in order to determine medical necessity.
Currently, augmentative and alternative communication
devices are approved for prior authorization for rental or
purchase under the durable medical equipment program
according to specific criteria set forth in the Medicaid
Eligibility Manual. However, only recipients under the age
of 21 are eligible to receive these devicekoyisiana
Register VWolume 22, No. 5). The Department has
determined that it is necessary to amend the current rule
regarding prior  authorization of  augmentative



communication devices by removing the age restriction for
rental or purchase by eligible recipients, which will ensure
availability to recipients of all ages, and by expanding the
criteria for consideration of these devices for prior

authorization. This change is necessary to avoid imminent
peril to the public health, safety or welfare. It is estimated

that implementation of this rule will increase expenditures in
the Durable Medical Equipment Program by approximately
$60,250 for state fiscal year 1999-2000.

Emergency Rule

Effective June 5, 1999 and after, the Department of Health
and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health
Services Financing removes the age restriction for rental or
purchase of augmentative and alternative communication
devices by eligible recipients and expands the criteria for
consideration of these devices for prior authorization under
the Durable Medical Equipment Program.

I. Definitions

Augmentative and Alternative Communications (AAC)
Devices-electronic or non-electronic aids, devices, or
systems that assist a Medicaid beneficiary to overcome or
ameliorate (reduce to the maximum degree possible) the
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with
meaningful participation in current and projected daily
activities. Examples of AAC devices include:

1. communication boards or books, speech amplifiers,
and electronic devices that produce speech and/or written
output;

2. devices that are constructed for use as
communication devices as well as systems that may include
a computer, when the primary use of the computer serves as
the beneficiary's communication device; and

3. related components and accessories, including
software programs, symbol sets, overlays, mounting devices,
switches, cables and connectors, auditory, visual, and tactile
output devices, printers, and necessary supplies, such as
rechargeable batteries.

Meaningful  Participatior-effective  and  efficient
communication of messages in any form the beneficiary
chooses.

Speech-Language Pathologistn individual who has:

1. a certificate of clinical competence from the
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association;

2. completed the equivalent educational requirements
and work experience necessary for the certificate; or

3. completed the academic program and is acquiring
supervised work experience to qualify for the certificate.

Il. General Provisions

Consideration shall be given for Medicaid reimbursement
for AAC devices for Medicaid recipients of all ages if the
device is considered medically necessary, the recipient has
the ability to physically and mentally use a device and its
accessories, and if any one or more of the following criteria
is met.

A. Medical Necessity Determinations

1. The following medically necessary conditions shall
be established for recipients who/whose:

a. have a diagnosis of a significant expressive or
receptive  (language comprehension) communication
impairment or disability;
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b. impairment or disability either temporarily or
permanently causes communication limitations that preclude
or interfere with the recipient's meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities; and

c. had a speech-language pathologist (and other
health professional, as appropriate):

i. perform an assessment and submit a report
pursuant to the criteria set forth in sub-section C.
Assessment/Evaluation; and

ii. recommend speech-language pathology
treatment in the form of AAC devices and services; and

iii. document the mental and physical ability of a
recipient to use, or learn to use, a recommended AAC device
and accessories for effective and efficient communication;
and

iv. prepare a speech-language pathology treatment
plan that describes the specific components of the AAC
devices and the required amount, duration, and scope of the
AAC services that will overcome or ameliorate
communication limitations that preclude or interfere with the
beneficiary's meaningful participation in current and
projected daily activities; and

d. requested AAC devices constitute the least
costly, equally effective form of treatment that will
overcome or ameliorate communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with the beneficiary's meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities.

2. The following are additional general principles
relating to medical necessity determinations for AAC
devices.

a. The cause of the recipient's impairment or
disability (e.g., congenital, developmental, or acquired), or
the recipient's age at the onset of the impairment or
disability, are irrelevant considerations in the determination
of medical need.

b. Recipient participation in other services or
programs (e.g., school, early intervention services, adult
services programs, employment) is irrelevant to medical
necessity determination for AAC devices.

c. No cognitive, language, literacy, prior treatment,
or other similar prerequisites must be satisfied by a recipient
in advance of a request for AAC devices.

d. The unavailability of an AAC device,
component, or accessory for rental will not serve as the basis
for denying a prior approval request for that device,
component, or accessory.

3. When the medical necessity cannot be determined
for an AAC device pursuant to the criteria stated above and
to the information submitted in support of a prior
authorization request, the following steps shall be taken.

a. If Medicaid determines that any essential
information in establishing medical necessity for the AAC
device is incomplete, or has been omitted in the prior
authorization request as required in sub-section C.
Assessment/Evaluation, Medicaid will make direct contact
with the speech-language pathologist who conducted the
assessment for the recipient. Medicaid will then identify the
specific, additional information that is needed and request
that the additional information be submitted; and/or

b. If Medicaid determines that an additional
interpretation of information in the prior authorization
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request is needed by the medical reviewer in establishing
medical necessity for an AAC device, Medicaid will seek
the advice of speech language pathologist(s) with extensive
AAC experience recommended to Medicaid by the
American Speech Language & Hearing Association
(ASHA), the United States Society for Augmentative &
Alternative Communication (USSAAC), and/or RESNA,
who shall provide the required interpretation.

i. Only one request for additional information by
direct contact with the speech/language pathologist and/or
only one interpretation will be made per prior authorization
request;

ii. If additional information requested by
Medicaid from the speech/language pathologist who
conducted the assessment, or if an additional interpretation
requested from a consulting speech-language pathologist, is
not received by Medicaid within the 25 day time frame
required of Medicaid for a prior authorization determination,
a decision will be made by the medical reviewer for
Medicaid based on the information that has been submitted
with the prior authorization request and on the reviewer's
interpretation of that information. If the additional
information or additional interpretation is provided at a later
time, another request will need to be submitted by the
provider to the Prior Authorization Unit for additional
review.

B. Assessment/Evaluation

1. An assessment, or evaluation, of individual
functioning and communication limitations that preclude or
interfere with meaningful participation in current and
projected daily activities must be completed by a speech-
language pathologist with input from other health
professionals, (e.g., occupational therapists and
rehabilitation engineers) based on the recommendation of
the speech language pathologist and a physician's
prescription, as appropriate.

2. Requests for AAC devices must include a
description of the speech-language pathologist's
qualifications, including a description of the speech-

language pathologists AAC services training and
experience.
3. An assessment (augmentative & alternative

communication evaluation) must include the following
information about the recipient:
a. lIdentifying Information
i. name;
ii. Medicaid identification number;
iii. date of the assessment;
iv. medical and neurological; diagnoses (primary,
secondary, tertiary);
v. significant medical history;
vi. mental or cognitive status; and
vii. educational level and goals;
b. Sensory Status
i. vision and hearing screening (no more than one
year prior to AAC evaluation);
ii. if vision screening is failed, a complete vision
evaluation;
iii. if hearing screening is failed, a complete
hearing evaluation;
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iv. description of how vision, hearing, tactile,
and/or receptive communication impairments or disabilities
affect expressive communication;

c. Postural, Mobility, & Motor Status
i. gross motor assessment;

ii. fine motor assessment;

iii. optimal positioning;

iv. integration of mobility with AAC devices;

v. beneficiary's access methods (and options) for
AAC devices;

d. Current Speech, Language, & Expressive
Communication Status

i. identification and description of the
beneficiary's  expressive  or  receptive  (language

comprehension) communication impairment diagnosis;
ii. speech skills and prognosis;
iii. language skills and prognosis;
iv. communication behaviors and interaction skills
(i.e., styles and patterns);
v. functional communication
including ecological inventory;
vi. indication of past treatment, if any;
vii. description of current communication

strategies, including use of an AAC device, if any;
NOTE: If an AAC device is currently used, describe the
device, when and by whom it was previously purchased, and
why it is no longer adequate for communication needs).

e. Communication Needs Inventory

i. description of beneficiary's
projected communication needs;

ii. communication partners and tasks, including
partners' communication abilities limitations, if any;

iii. communication environments and constraints
which affect AAC device selection and/or features (e.g.,
verbal and/or visual output and/or feedback; distance
communication needs);

f. Summary of Communication Limitations.
Description of the communication limitations that preclude
or interfere with meaningful participation in current and
projected daily activities (i.e., why the beneficiary's current
communication skills and behaviors prevent meaningful
participation in the beneficiary's current and projected daily
activities);

g. AAC Devices Assessment Components

i. vocabulary requirements;

ii. representational system(s);

iii. display organization and features;

iv. rate enhancement techniques;

V. message characteristics, speech synthesis,
printed output, display characteristics, feedback, auditory
and visual output;

vi. access techniques and strategies; and

vii. portability and durability concerns, if any;

h. Identification of AAC Devices Considered for
Beneficiary

i. identification of the significant characteristics
and features of the AAC devices considered for the
beneficiary;

ii. identification of the cost of the AAC devices
considered for the beneficiary (including all required

assessment,

current and



components, accessories, peripherals, and supplies, as
appropriate);
i. AAC Device Recommendation

i. identification of the requested AAC devices
including all required components, accessories, software,
peripheral devices, supplies, and the device vendor;

ii. identification of the beneficiary's and
communication partner's AAC devices preference, if any;

iii. assessment of the beneficiary's ability
(physically and mentally) to use, or to learn to use, the
recommended AAC device and accessories for effective and
efficient communication;

iv. justification stating why the recommended
AAC device (including description of the significant
characteristics, features, and accessories) is better able to
overcome or ameliorate the communication limitations that
preclude or interfere with the beneficiary's meaningful
participation in current and projected daily activities, as
compared to the other AAC devices considered;

v. justification stating why the recommended
AAC device (including description of the significant
characteristics, features, and accessories) is the least costly,
equally effective, alternative form of treatment to overcome
or ameliorate the communication limitations that preclude or
interfere with the beneficiary's meaningful participation in
current and projected daily activities;

j- Treatment Plan and Follow-Up

i. description of short term communication goals
(e.g., 6 months);

ii. description of long term communication goals
(e.g., 1 year);

iii. assessment criteria to measure beneficiary's
progress toward achieving short and long term
communication goals;

iv. description of amount, duration, and scope of
AAC services required for the beneficiary to achieve short
and long term communication goals;

v. identification and experience of AAC service
provider responsible for training (these service providers
may include, e.g.. speech-language pathologists,
occupational therapists, rehabilitation engineers, the
beneficiary's parents, teachers and other service providers);

k. Summary of Alternative Funding Source for
AAC Device;
i. description of availability or lack of availability,
of purchase of AAC device through other funding sources.
C. Trial Use Periods

1. Ininstances where the appropriateness of a specific
AAC device is not clear, a trial use period for an AAC
device may be recommended (although it is not required) by
the speech-language pathologist who conducts the AAC
evaluation.

2. Prior authorization for rental of AAC devices shall
be approved for trial use periods when the speech-language
pathologist prepares a request consistent with the established
requirements. The reasons for a trial use period request
include, but are not limited to:

a. the characteristics
communication limitations;
b. lack of familiarity with a specific AAC device;

of the recipient's

and
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c. whether there are sufficient AAC services to
support the beneficiary's use of the AAC device, or other
factors.

3. If the speech-language pathologist seeks a trial use
period, s/he must prepare a trial use period request that
includes the following information:

a. the duration of the trial period;

b. the speech-language pathologist information and
the beneficiary information as required in B. Assessment/
Evaluation;

c. the AAC device to be examined during the trial
period, including all the necessary components (e.g.,
mounting device, software, switches, or access control
mechanism);

d. the identification of the AAC services provider(s)
who will assist the beneficiary during the trial period;

e. the identification of the AAC services provider(s)
who will assess the trial period; and

f. the evaluation criteria, specific to the beneficiary,
that will be used to determine the success or failure of the
trial period.

4. Trial use period requests must request Medicaid
funding for the rental of all necessary components and
accessories of the AAC device. If an accessory necessary for
the trial use of a device by a recipient is not available for
rental, but the communication device is available for rental
for trial use, Medicaid may consider the purchase of the
accessory for the trial use of the communication device by
that recipient.

5. Trial periods may be extended and/or different
AAC devices provided, when requested by the speech-
language pathologist responsible for evaluating the trial use
period.

6. Results of trial use periods must be included with
any subsequent request for prior authorization of purchase of
the AAC device. Recommendations for the purchase of an
AAC device, as a result of a trial use period of the device,
must clearly indicate the patient's ability to use the device
during the trial period.

D. Repairs

1. Medicaid will cover repairs to keep AAC devices,
accessories, and other system components in working
condition. Medicaid coverage for repairs will include the
cost of parts, labor, and shipping, when not otherwise
available without charge pursuant to a manufacturer's
warranty.

a. Providers of AAC devices are expected to
comply with the Louisiana New Assistive Devices Warranty
Act.

i. On of the provisions of this law is that all
persons who make, sell, or lease assistive devices, including
AAC devices, must provide those who buy or lease the
equipment with a warranty which lasts at least one year from
the time the equipment is delivered to the customer.

i If, during the warranty period, the equipment
does not work, the manufacturer or dealer must make an
attempt to repair the equipment.

b. Medicaid additionally requires providers to
provide the recipient with a comparable, alternate AAC
device while repairing the recipient's device during a
warranty period.
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c. Medicaid coverage may be provided for rental of
an alternate AAC device during a repair period after
expiration of the warranty.

d. Medicaid will not cover repairs, or rental of a
loaner device, when repairs are made during a warranty
period.

2. When a device is received by the provider for the
purpose of repair, the provider will conduct an assessment of
the device to determine whether it can be repaired, and if so,
prepare a written estimate of the parts, labor, and total cost
of the repair, as well as the effectiveness (i.e., estimated
durability) of the repair. If the manufacturer or provider
concludes that the device is not repairable and the
replacement device is needed, written notice will be
provided to the recipient.

3. Medicaid coverage for repairs greater than $300.00
must be accompanied by a statement from the speech-
language pathologist. The statement must indicate:

a. whether there have been any significant changes
in the sensory status (e.g., vision, hearing, tactile); postural,
mobility or motor status; speech, language, and expressive
communication status; or any other communication need or
limitation of the recipient as described in B.2. (b through g,
and j); and

b. whether the device remains the speech language
pathologist's recommendation for recipient's use.

E. Replacement or Modification

1. Modification or replacement of AAC devices will
be covered by Medicaid subject to the following limitations:

a. requests for modification or replacement of AAC
devices and/or accessories may be considered for coverage
after the expiration of three (3) or more years from the date
of purchase of the current device and accessories in use;

b. requests for modification or replacement require
prior authorization and must include the recommendation of
the speech-language pathologist;

c. requests for replacements of AAC devices may
be submitted for identical or different devices;

d. requests for replacements of identical AAC
devices must be accompanied by a statement from the
provider that the current device can not be repaired or that
replacement will be more cost effective than repair of the
current device. Data must be provided about the following:

i. age;

ii. repair history;

(&) frequency,
(b) duration, and
(c) cost; and
iii. repair projections (estimated durability of
repairs);

e. requests for modification or replacement of AAC
devices with different devices must include the following
additional information:

i. a significant change has occurred in the
recipient's expressive communication, impairments, and/or
communication limitations. Modification or replacement
requests due to changed individual circumstances must be
supported by a new assessment of communication
limitations by a speech-language pathologist, and may be
submitted at any time; or

i. even though there has been no significant
change in the recipient's communication limitations, there
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has been a significant change in the features or abilities of
available AAC devices (i.e., a technological change) that
will overcome or permit an even greater amelioration of the
recipient's communication limitations as compared to the
current AAC device. A detailed description of all AAC
device changes and the purpose of the changes must be
provided with the results of a re-evaluation by a speech-
language pathologist;

f. requests for replacements of AAC devices due to
loss or damage (either for identical or different devices)
must include a complete explanation of the cause of the loss
or damage and a plan to prevent the recurrence of the loss or
damage.

[ll. Prior Authorization

A. All requests for AAC devices and accessories must be
prior authorized by Medicaid in accordance with the criteria
described in this rule.

B. Medicaid will not consider purchase of an AAC
device when an alternative means of funding through
another agency or other source (e.g., Louisiana
Rehabilitation Services, school systems, private insurance,
etc.) is available for the recipient. All requests should
indicate the availability, or lack of availability, of purchase
through other funding sources.

Interested persons may submit written comments to the
following address: Thomas D. Collins, Bureau of Health
Services Financing, P. O. Box 91030, Baton Rouge,
Louisiana 70821-9030. He is the person responsible for
responding to inquiries regarding this emergency rule. A
copy of this emergency rule is available for review by
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices.

David W. Hood

Secretary
9906#042

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Inpatient Hospital Reimbursemertedicare Part A Claims

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Services Financing has adopted the following
emergency rule in the Medical Assistance Program as
authorized by R.S. 46:153 and pursuant to Title XIX of the
Social Security Act. This emergency rule is in accordance
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Services Financing adopted an emergency rule
effective April 1, 1999 to amend the reimbursement
methodology under the Louisiana Medicaid Program for
Medicare Part A claims for inpatient hospital services. This
rule limited the reimbursement of Medicare Part A claims
for inpatient hospital services rendered to dually eligible
Medicare/Medicaid recipients and Qualified Medicare
Beneficiaries (QMBSs) to the Medicaid maximum payment.



Small rural hospitals, as defined in state law, were exempted
from this limitation on payment of Medicare Part A claims
to the Medicaid maximum payment. As a result of a
legislative oversight hearing, the Department has been
directed to withdraw this emergency rule. Therefore, the
following emergency rule is being adopted to repeal the
April 1, 1999 emergency rule that limited the reimbursement
for Medicare Part A claims to the Medicaid maximum
payment for inpatient hospital services rendered to dually
eligible Medicare/Medicaid recipients and Qualified
Medicare Beneficiaries.
Emergency Rule

Effective June 8, 1999, the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals the
April 1, 1999 emergency rule that amended the
reimbursement methodology for Medicare Part A claims for
inpatient hospital services rendered to dually eligible
Medicare/Medicaid recipients and Qualified Medicare
Beneficiaries by limiting the reimbursement to the Medicaid
maximum payment. The April 1, 1999 emergency rule was
published in the March 31, 1999 editions of the stateajor
newspapers.

David Hood

Secretary
9906#043

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Targeted Case Management Services

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts the
following emergency rule wunder the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and shall be in effect for
the maximum period allowed or until adoption of the rule,
whichever occurs first.

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
Health Services Financing adopted a rule in June of 1997
governing the provision of case management services to
targeted populations and certain home and community based
services waiver groups.¢uisiana RegisteMNol. 23, Number
6). This rule addressed programmatic requirements including
general provisions, standards for provider participation,

standards for payment, consumer eligibility and
reimbursement methodology.
The Department has subsequently determined it is

necessary to restructure targeted case management services
under the Medicaid Program in order to enhance the quality
of services and assure statewide access to services. Section
4118(l) of the "Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of
1987" permits the State to limit the case managers available
with respect to case management services for eligible
individuals with developmental disabilities or chronic
mental iliness in order to ensure that the case managers are
capable of ensuring that such individuals receive needed
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services. Therefore, the Department has decided to limit the
number of case management agencies that may be enrolled
to provide services to recipients in the Mentally
Retarded/Developmentally Disabled (MR/DD) Waiver
Program by means of a selective contract. The participation
of case management agencies providing service to other
targeted and waiver populations will also be limited
contingent on the approval of a 1915(b)(4) waiver by the
Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA). In addition,
all case management agencies shall be required to
incorporate personal outcome measures in the development
of comprehensive plans of care and to implement procedures
for self-evaluation of the agency. [An emergency rule was
promulgated effective March 1, 1999 establishing the above
provisions for case management serviceloufsiana
Register Volume 25, Number 2.)] This subsequent
emergency rule shall continue the provisions for case
management services in force.
Emergency Rule

Effective June 28, 1999 the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals the
June 20, 1997 rule and adopts the following rule governing
the provision of case management services to targeted
population groups and certain home and community based
services waiver groups. The number of case management
agencies that may be enrolled to provide services to
recipients in the Mentally Retarded/Developmentally
Disabled (MR/DD) Waiver Program shall be limited to those
agencies who have been awarded a contract by the
Department. The participation of case management agencies
providing service to other targeted and waiver populations
will also be limited contingent on the approval of a
1915(b)(4) waiver by the Health Care Financing
Administration (HCFA). In addition, all case management
agencies shall be required to incorporate personal outcome
measures in the development of comprehensive plans of care
and to implement procedures for self-evaluation of the
agency. All case management agencies must comply with
the policies contained in this rule and the Medicaid Case
Management Services Provider Manual issued March 1,
1999 and all subsequent changes.
I.  General Provisions

A. Case Management Agency Responsibilities. Case
Management is defined as services provided to individuals
to assist them in gaining access to the full range of needed
services including medical, social, educational, and other
support services. The Department utilizes a broker model of
case management in which recipients are referred to other
agencies for the specific services they need. These services
are determined by individualized planning with the
recipient's family, and other persons/professionals deemed
appropriate. Services are provided in accordance with a
written comprehensive plan of care which includes
measurable person-centered outcomes. All Medicaid
enrolled case management agencies are required to perform
the following core elements of case management services.

1. Case Management Intake. The purpose of intake is
to serve as an entry point for case management services and
to gather baseline information to determine the recipient's
need, appropriateness, eligibility and desire for case
management.
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2. Case Management Assessment. Assessment is the
process of gathering and integrating formal and informal
information regarding a recipient's goals, strengths, and
needs to assist in the development of a person centered
comprehensive plan of care. The purpose of the assessment
is to establish a contract between the case manager and
recipient for the provision of service. The assessment shall
be performed in the recipiesthome.

3. Comprehensive Plan of Care Development. The
comprehensive plan of care (CPOC) is a written plan based
upon assessment data (which may be multidisciplinary),
observations and other sources of information which reflect
the recipient's needs, capacities and priorities. The purpose
of the CPOC is to identify the services required and the
resources available to meet these needs.

a. The CPOC must be developed through a
collaborative process involving the recipient, family, case
manager, other support systems, appropriate professionals
and service providers. It shall be developed in the presence
of the recipient; therefore, it cannot be completed prior to a
meeting with the recipient. The recipient, family, case
manager, support system and appropriate professional
personnel must be directly involved and agree to assume
specific functions and responsibilities.

b. The CPOC must be completed and submitted for
approval within 35 calendar days of the referral for case
management services.

4. Case Management Linkage. Linkage is the
arranging of services agreed upon with the recipient and
identified in the CPOC. Upon the request of the recipient or
responsible party, attempts must be made to meet service
needs with informal resources as much as possible.

5. Case Management Follow-Up/Monitoring. Follow-
up/monitoring is the mechanism used by the case manager to
assure the appropriateness of the CPOC. The purpose of
follow-up/monitoring contacts is to determine if the services
are being delivered as planned; are effective and adequate to
meet the recipierd needs; and whether the recipient is
satisfied with the services. Through follow-up/monitoring
activity, the case manager not only determines the
effectiveness of the CPOC in meeting the recipient's needs,
but identifies when changes in the recipient's status
necessitate a revision in the CPOC.

services or transferring to another
management services.

8. Maintenance of Records. All agency records must
be maintained in an accessible, standardized order and
format at the DHH enrolled office site. The agency must
have sufficient space, facilities and supplies to ensure
effective record keeping.

a. Administrative and recipient records must be
maintained in a manner to ensure confidentiality and
security against loss, tampering, destruction or unauthorized
use.

agency for case

b. The case management agency must retain its
records for the longer of the following time frames:

(1) Five years from the date of the last payment; or
(2) Until the records are audited and all audit
guestions are answered.

c. Agency records must be available for review by
the appropriate state and federal personnel at all reasonable
times.

B. Monitoring Provision. The Department of Health and
Hospitals and the Department of Health and Human Services
have the authority to monitor and audit all case management
agencies in order to determine continued compliance with
the rules, regulations, policies, and procedures governing
case management services.

C. Agency Caseload Limitations. Under the terms of the
contractual agreement, case management agencies have a
restriction on the total number of recipients it may serve. In
a region where there are two agencies providing services, the
maximum number of recipients that any one agency may
serve is sixty percent (60 percent) of the available recipient
population. In a regions where there are three agencies
providing services, the maximum number of recipients that
any one agency may serve is forty percent (40 percent) of
the available recipient population.

D. Recipient Freedom of Choice. Selection of Case
Management Agency. Recipients have the right to select the
provider of their case management services from among
those available agencies enrolled to participate in the
Program. Recipients are requested to indicate a first and
second choice of a provider from among those available
providers in the region. If the recipient fails to respond or
fails to indicate a second choice of provider and their first

6. Case Management Reassessment. Reassessment is choice is full, the Department will automatically assign them

the process by which the baseline assessment is reviewed
and information is gathered for evaluating and revising the
overall CPOC. At least every quarter, a complete review of
the CPOC must be performed to assure that the goals and
services are appropriate to the recipient's needs as identified

to an available provider. Recipients who are auto-assigned
may change once, after 30 days but before 45 days of auto
assignment, to an available provider.

Recipients must be linked to a case management agency
for a six-month period before they can transfer to another

in the assessment/reassessment process. A reassessment isagency unless there is good cause for the transfer. Good

also required when a major change occurs in the status of the
recipient and/or his family.

7. Case Management Transition/Closure. Discharge
from a case management agency must occur when the
recipient no longer requires services, desires to terminate
services, becomes ineligible for services, or chooses to
transfer to another case management agency; provided that
the recipient has satisfied the requirements of linkage under
Section B below. The closure process must ease the
transition to other services or care systems. The agency shall
not retaliate in any way against the recipient for terminating
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cause is determined to exist under the following
circumstances: 1) the recipient moves to another DHH
Region or 2) there are irreconcilable differences between the
agency and the recipient. Approval of good cause shall be
made by the DHH Case Management Administrator.

Recipients who are being transitioned from a
developmental centers into the MD/DD Waiver Program
shall receive their case management services through the
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities
(OCDD).



Recipients who are under the age of 21 and require
ventilator assisted care may receive case management
services through the Children's Hospital Ventilator Assisted
Care Program.

Il. Standards of Participation

A. In order to participate as a case management services
provider in the Medicaid Program, an agency must comply
with licensure and certification requirements, provider
enrollment requirements, the case management manual, and
the specific terms of individual contractual agreements.

B. Provider Enrollment Requirements. A separate PE-50
and Disclosure of Ownership form is required for each
targeted or waiver population and DHH designated region
that the agency plans to serve, as well as for each office site
it plans to operate. The agency shall provide services only in
the parishes of the DHH administrative region for which
approval has been granted. The following enrollment
requirements are applicable to all case management
agencies, regardless of the targeted or waiver group served
and failure to comply with these requirements may result in
sanctions and/or recoupment and disenrollment.

To serve the MR/DD waiver recipients the agency must
have a contract with Medicaid and comply with the terms of
the contract.

1. demonstrate direct experience in successfully
serving the target population and have demonstrated
knowledge of available community services and methods for
accessing them including the following:

a. maintain a current file of community resources
available to the target population and have established
linkages with those resources;

b. demonstrate knowledge of the eligibility
requirements and application procedures for federal, state,
and local government assistance programs which are
applicable to the target population served;

c. employ a sufficient number of case manager and
supervisory staff to comply with the staff coverage, staffing
gualifications and maximum caseload size requirements
described in Section IIl.A, B, and D;

2. demonstrate administrative capacity and financial
resources to provide all core elements of case management
services and ensure effective service delivery in accordance
with DHH licensing and programmatic requirements;

3. submit a yearly audit of case management costs
only and have no outstanding or unresolved audit
disclaimer(s) with DHH;

4. assure that all agency staff is employed in
accordance with Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and
Department of Labor regulations. The subcontracting of
individual case managers and/or supervisors is prohibited.
However, those agencies who have been awarded Medicaid
contracts for case management services may subcontract
with another licensed case management agency for case
manager and/or supervisory staff if prior approval has been
obtained from the Department;

5. assure that all new staff satisfactorily completes an
orientation and training program in the first 90 days of
employment. All case managers must attend all training
mandated by the Department. Each case manager and
supervisor must satisfactorily complete case management
related training annually to meet the minimum training
requirements;
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6. implement and maintain an ongoing quality
assurance plan and a self-evaluation plan evidenced by
written documentation approved by the Department to
determine program compliance and effectiveness;

7. document and maintain recipient records in
accordance with federal and state regulations governing
confidentiality and licensing requirements;

8. assure the recipient's right to elect to receive or
terminate case management services (except for recipients in
the MR/DD or Elderly and Disabled Adult Waiver
Programs). Assure that each recipient has freedom of choice
in the selection of an available case management agency
(every six months), a qualified case manager, or other
service providers and the right to change providers or case
managers; all the above are subject to the recipient's freedom
of choice requirements contained in Section I.B. of this rule;

9. assure that the agency and case managers will not
provide case management and Medicaid reimbursed direct
services to the same recipient(s) unless by an affiliate agency
with a separate board of directors;

10. with the recipient's permission, agree to maintain
regular contact, share relevant information and coordinate
medical services with the recipient's attending physician;

11. demonstrate the capacity to participate in the
department's electronic data gathering system(s). All
requirements for data submittal must be followed and
participation is required for all enrolled case management
agencies. The software is the property of the department;

12. complete management reports as described in the
provider manual.

C. Agencies serving certain specific target groups must
meet the following additional participation requirements:

1. Case management agencies serving high risk
pregnant women must also demonstrate successful
experience with the coordination and/or delivery of services
for pregnant women; have a working relationship with a
local obstetrical provider and acute care hospital that
provides deliveries for 24-hour medical consultation; and
have a multidisciplinary team which consists, at a minimum,
of the following professionals: a physician, primary nurse
associate or certified hurse manager, registered nurse, social
worker, and nutritionist. The team members must meet the
licensure and perinatal experience requirements applicable
for services to high-risk pregnant women; and

2. Case managers serving HIV-infected individuals
must also satisfactorily complete a one-day training
approved by the Department's HIV Program Office.

lll. Standards for Payment. In order to be reimbursed by the
Medicaid Program, an enrolled provider of targeted or
waiver case management service must comply with all of the
requirements listed below.

A. Staff Coverage

1. Case management agencies must maintain
sufficient staff to serve recipients within the mandated
caseload size of 35 with a supervisor to staff ratio of no more
than eight case managers per supervisor. All case managers
must be employed by the agency at least 40 hours per week
and work at least 50 percent of the time during normal
business hours (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through
Friday). Case management supervisors must be full time
employees and must be continuously available to case
managers by telephone or beeper at all other times when not
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on site when case management services are being provided.
All exceptions to the maximum caseload size or full time
employment of staff requirements must be prior authorized
by the Bureau. The agency must have a written policy to
ensure service coverage for all recipients during the normal
absences of case managers and supervisors or prior to the
filling of vacated staff positions.

2. The agency must maintain a toll-free telephone
number to ensure that recipients have access to case
management services 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
Recipients must be able to reach an actual person in case of
an emergency, not a recording.

B. Staff Qualifications. Each Medicaid-enrolled agency
must ensure that all staff providing case management
services meet the following qualifications, skills and training
requirements prior to assuming any full caseload
responsibilities.

1. Education and Experience for Case Managers. All
case managers must meet one of the following minimum
education and experience qualifications.

a. a bachelor's degree in a human-service-related
field such as psychology, education, rehabilitation
counseling, or counseling from an accredited college or
university and one year of paid experience in a human-
service-related field providing direct services or case
management services; or

b. a licensed registered nurse with one year of paid
experience as a registered nurse in public health or a human-
service-related field providing direct services or case
management services; or

c. a bachelor's or master's degree in social work
from a social work program accredited by the Council on
Social Work Education.

The above-referenced minimum qualifications for case
managers are applicable for all targeted and waiver groups.
Thirty hours of graduate level course credit in a human-
service-related field may be substituted for the one year of
required paid experience.

In addition, case managers serving High-Risk Pregnant
Women must demonstrate knowledge about perinatal care
and meet either one of the qualifications cited above or the
following qualification:

d. a registered dietician with one year of paid
experience in providing nutrition services to pregnant
women.

2. Education and Experience for Case Management
Supervisors. All case management supervisors must meet
one of the following education and experience requirements.
Supervisors of case managers for High-Risk Pregnant
Women must demonstrate knowledge about perinatal care in
addition to meeting one of these qualifications:

a. a master's degree in social work, psychology,
nursing, counseling, rehabilitation counseling, education
(with special education certification), occupational therapy,
speech therapy or physical therapy from an accredited
college or university and two years of paid post-master's
degree experience in a human-service related field providing
direct services or case management services. One year of
this experience must be in providing direct services to the
target population served; or

b. a bachelor's degree in social work from a social
work program accredited by the Council on Social Work
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Education and three years of paid post-bachelor's degree
experience in a human-service related field providing direct
services or case management services. One year of this
experience must be in providing direct services to the target
population served; or

c. a licensed registered nurse with three years of
paid post-licensure experience as a registered nurse in public
health or a human service-related field providing direct
services or case management services. Two years of this
experience must be in providing direct services to the target
population served; or

d. a bachelor's degree in a human-service-related
field such as psychology, education, rehabilitation
counseling, or counseling from an accredited college or
university and four years of paid post-bachelor's degree
experience in a human service related field providing direct
services or case management services. Two years of this
experience must be in providing direct services to the target
population served.

The above minimum qualifications for case management
supervisors are applicable for all targeted and waiver groups.

Thirty hours of graduate level course credit in a human-
service-related field may be substituted for one year of the
required paid experience.

3. Training. Training for case managers and
supervisors must be provided or arranged for by the case
management agency at its own expense. Agencies must send
the appropriate staff to all training mandated by DHH.

a. Training for New Staff. A minimum of sixteen
(16) hours of orientation must be provided to all staff,
volunteers, and students within one week of employment. A
minimum of eight hours of the orientation training must
address the target population including, but not limited to,
specific service needs, available resources and other topics.
In addition to the required 16 hours of orientation, all new
employees who have no documentation of previous training
must receive a minimum of 16 hours of training during the
first 90 calendar days of employment related to the target
population and the skills and techniques needed to provide
case management to that population.

b. Annual Training. Case managers and supervisors
must satisfactorily complete a minimum of forty (40) hours
of case-management related training annually which may
include updates on subjects covered in orientation and initial
training. The 16 hours of orientation training required for
new employees are not included in the annual training
requirement of at least 40 hours.

c. Documentation. All training required in a. and b.
above must be evidenced by written documentation and
provided to the Department upon request.

C. Supervisory Responsibilities. Each case management
supervisor shall be responsible for assessing staff
performance, reviewing individual cases, providing
feedback, and assisting staff to develop problem solving
skills using two or more of the following methods:

1. individual, face-to-face sessions with staff;

2. group face-to-face sessions with all
management staff; or

3. sessions in which the supervisor accompanies a
case manager to meet with recipients.

IV. Reimbursement. The reimbursement methodology for
optional targeted and waiver case management services is a

case



fixed monthly rate for the provision of the core elements of
case management services as described in Section I. A. and
in acceptance with the terms of contract with the Bureau.
The primary objective of case management is the attainment
of the personal outcomes identified in the recip®nt
comprehensive plan of care.

In addition to the provision of the core elements, a
minimum of one home visit per quarter is required for all
recipients of optional targeted and waiver case management
services. The agency shall ensure that more frequent home
visits are performed if indicated in the recipient's CPOC.
The purpose of the home visit is to assess the effectiveness
of support strategies and to assist the individual to address
problems, maximize opportunities and/or revise support
strategies or personal outcomes if it is determined necessary.

The case management agency shall also be responsible for
monitoring service providers quarterly through telephone
monitoring, on-site observation of service visits and review
of the service providers' records. The agency must also
ensure that the service provider and recipient are given a
copy of the recipient's most current CPOC and any
subsequent updates.

A technical amendment (Public Law 100-617) in 1988
specifies that the Medicaid Program is not required to pay
for case management services that are furnished to
consumers without charge. This is in keeping with
Medicaid's longstanding position as the payer of last resort.
With the statutory exceptions of case management services
included in the Individualized Education Programs (IEP'S)
or Individualized Family Service Plans (IFSP's) and services
furnished through Title V public health agencies,
reimbursement by Medicaid payment for case management
services cannot be made when another third party payer is
liable, nor may payments be made for services for which no
payment liability is incurred.

David W. Hood

Secretary
9906#040

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY

Department of Natural Resources
Office of Conservation

Pollution Control-Statewide Order No. 29-B
(LAC 43:XIX.129)

Order requiring testing of exploration and production
(E&P) waste upon receipt by a commercial facility, and
identification of acceptable storage, treatment and disposal
methods for certain E&P waste types.

Pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the
State of Louisiana, and particularly Title 30 of the Revised
Statutes of 1950, as amended, and in conformity with the
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act,
Title 49, Sections 953(B)(1) and (2), 954(B)(2), as amended,
the following Emergency Rule and reasons therefor are now
adopted and promulgated by the Commissioner of
Conservation as being necessary to protect the public health,
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safety and welfare of the people of the State of Louisiana, as

well as the environment generally, by continuing a procedure

for testing E&P waste after receipt at a commercial facility

and identifying acceptable storage, treatment and disposal

methods for certain E&P wastes at commercial facilities.
Need and Purpose

Certain oil and gas exploration and production waste
(E&P waste) is exempt from the hazardous waste regulations
under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act
(RCRA). This exemption is based on findings from a 1987-
1988 Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) study and
other studies that determined this type of waste does not
pose a significant health or environmental threat when
properly managed. The EPA, in its regulatory determination,
found that these wastes are adequately regulated under
existing federal and state programs.

Existing Louisiana State regulations governing the
operations of commercial E&P waste disposal facilities
(Statewide Order No. 29-B) require only very limited testing
of the waste received for storage, treatment and disposal at
each commercial facility. Such limited testing finds its basis
in the above-mentioned national exemption for E&P waste
recognized by the EPA. However, public concern warranted
the Commissioner of Conservation to issue a first
Emergency Rule effective May 1, 1998 (May 1, 1998
Emergency Rule), the purpose of which was to gather
technical data regarding the chemical and physical makeup
of E&P waste disposed of at permitted commercial E&P
waste disposal facilities within the State of Louisiana. The
May 1, 1998 Emergency Rule had an effective term of 120
days. However, technical experts under contract with the
Office of Conservation determined during the term of the
May 1, 1998 Emergency Rule that sampling and testing
should be extended for an additional 30 days for the purpose
of receiving additional data in order to strengthen the
validity of the inferred concentration distributions within the
various E&P waste types. Therefore, a Second Emergency
Rule was issued on August 29, 1998, and effective through
September 30, 1998.

The second Emergency Rule required continued
comprehensive analytical testing of E&P waste at the site of
generation together with verification testing at the
commercial E&P waste disposal facility. During the terms of
the first and second Emergency Rules, approximately 1,800

E&P waste testing batches were analyzed, with the raw
data results being filed with the Office of Conservation.
Technical experts under contract with the Office of
Conservation, together with staff of the Office of
Conservation, determined that the number of raw data sets of
E&P waste types, along with other published analytical
results of E&P waste testing, provided adequate numbers of
validated test results of the various generic E&P waste types
to reach statistically valid conclusions regarding the overall
chemical and physical composition of each type of E&P
waste.

Therefore, continued testing of E&P waste at the site of
generation was unnecessarily redundant, and was
discontinued. The third Emergency Rule adopted on October
1, 1998 required continued testing of each E&P waste
shipment at the commercial disposal facility according to
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procedures described in Section D. Such continued testing
was required to assure that E&P waste shipments received
for disposal at commercial facilities were consistent with
evolving E&P waste profiles.

The fourth Emergency Rule, adopted January 29, 1999,
provided requirements for continued testing of all E&P
waste shipments received for disposal at commercial E&P
waste disposal facilities, as well as identifying acceptable
methods of storage, treatment and disposal of certain E&P
waste types at such commercial facilities. However, since
evaluation of data generated by Emergency Rules 1 and 2
has not been completed and a permanent rule has not been
promulgated, it is necessary to adopt a Fifth Emergency
Rule, effective May 29, 1999, to continue the requirements
of the Fourth Emergency Rule.

Concurrent with implementation of this Emergency Rule,
the Office of Conservation will continue development of a
permanent rule for the management and disposal of E&P
waste at commercial facilities within the State of Louisiana.
Best E&P waste management practices, based on established
E&P waste profiles, will be incorporated into the permanent
rule. Such permanent rule will also address specific storage,
treatment and disposal options for the various categories of
E&P waste.

Synopsis
1. E&P Waste Will be Transported With Identification
Each load of E&P waste transported from the site of
generation to a commercial facility for disposal will be
accompanied by an Oilfield Waste Shipping Control Ticket
(Form UIC-28) and presented to the operator before
offloading. Copies of completed Form UIC-28 are required
to be timely filed with the Office of Conservation.

Produced water, produced formation fresh water and other
E&P waste fluids are exempt from certain provisions of the
testing requirements provided they are:

1) transported in enclosed tank trucks, barges, or
other enclosed containers;

2) stored in enclosed tanks at a commercial facility;
and

3) disposed by deepwell injection.

Such provision is reasonable because, provided the above
conditions are met, exposure to the public and to the
environment would be minimal.

2. Each Load of E&P Waste Will Be Tested At
Commercial Facility

Before offloading at a commercial E&P waste

disposal facility and in order to verify that the waste
qualifies for the E&P category, each load of E&P waste shall
be sampled for required parameters. Additionally, the
presence and concentration of BTEX (benzene, toluene,
ethyl benzene and xylene) compounds and hydrogen sulfide

injection in Class Il wells, after storage in a closed system,
shall be utilized for Waste Types 01 and 14. The remainder
of the E&P waste types are currently under study to confirm
acceptable storage, treatment and disposal methods. Any
additional acceptable storage, treatment and disposal
methods will be promulgated in the near future.

Reasons

Recognizing the potential advantages of a testing program
that is fully protective of public health and the environment
and that adequately characterizes such waste as to its
potentially toxic constituents, and by the identification of
acceptable storage, treatment and disposal methods for
certain types of E&P waste, it has been determined that
failure to establish such procedures and requirements in the
form of an administrative rule may lead to the existence of
an imminent peril to the public health, safety and welfare of
the people of the State of Louisiana, as well as the
environment generally.

Protection of the public and our environment therefore
requires the Commissioner of Conservation to take
immediate steps to assure that adequate testing is performed
and acceptable storage, treatment and disposal methods for
certain types of E&P waste are employed at commercial
facilities. The Emergency Rule, Amendment to Statewide
Order No. 29-B (Emergency Rule) set forth hereinafter, is
now adopted by the Office of Conservation.

Title 43
NATURAL RESOURCES
Part X1X. Office of Conservation - General Operations
Subpart 1. Statewide Order No. 29-B
Chapter 1. General Provisions
§129. Pollution Control
* k%

M. Off-site Storage, Treatment and/or Disposal of E &P
Waste Generated From Drilling and Production of Oil and
Gas Wells

1. Definitions
* k%

Commercial Facility-a legally permitted waste storage,
treatment and/or disposal facility which receives, treats,
reclaims, stores, or disposes of exploration and production
waste for a fee or other consideration, and shall include the
term "transfer station".

Exploration and Production (E&P) Wastdrilling fluids,
produced water, and other waste associated with the
exploration, development, or production of crude oil or
natural gas and which is not regulated by the provisions of
the Louisiana Hazardous Waste Regulations and the
Louisiana Solid Waste Regulations. Such wastes include, but
are not limited to, the following:

must be determined. Appropriate records of tests shall be
kept at each commercial facility for review by the Office of

Conservation.
3. Identification of Acceptable Storage, Treatment and
Disposal Methods (Options) for E&P Waste

It is required that all offsite storage, treatment and

disposal methods for E&P waste utilize approved

technologies that are protective of public health and the

environment. This Fifth Emergency Rule requires that

V'\I'/)?S;e Waste Description

01 salt water (produced brine or produced water), except for galt
water whose intended and actual use is in drilling, workover
or completion fluids or in enhanced mineral recovery
operations

02 oil-base drilling mud and cuttings

03 water-base drilling mud and cuttings

04 workover and completion fluids

05 production pit sludges

06 production storage tank sludges
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07 produced oily sands and solids M.5.i.iii - 5.1
83 Ir);%w:t?e? ;?Jrr:?::lonlér\?j:sgitgr its at production and drilli m. It is required that all offsite storage, treatment
faaiios 9 prsatp 9 and disposal methods for E&P waste utilize approved
10 washout water generated from the cleaning of containers fhat technologles that are protective (_)f public health and the
transport E&P waste and are not contaminated by hazardgus environment. The following chart includes acceptable and
waste or material i _ _ required storage, treatment and disposal methods for each
11 washout pltv_vater and solids from oilfield related ca_rrlerst at type of E&P waste disposed of at commercial facilities
are not permitted to haul hazardous waste or material ithin the State of Louisi )
12 natural gas plant processing (E&P) waste which is or may|pe within the olate ot Louisiana.
commingled with produced formation water
13 waste from approyed salvage oil operators who only receilye Waste Type | Required Storage, Treatment and Disposal Method(s)
O'.I (B.S&W) from oil an_d gas leases - — 01 Injection in Class Il well utilizing a closed system
14 pipeline test water which does not meet discharge limitatigns
established by the appropriate state agency, or pipeline 02 (reserved)
pigging waste, i.e., waste fluids/solids generated from the 03 (reserved)
cleaning of a pipeline
15 wastes from permitted commercial facilities 04 (reserved)
16 crude oil spill clean-up waste 05 (reserved)
50 salvageable hydrocarbons 06 (reserved)
99 other approved E&P waste 07 (reserved)
. . 08 (reserved)
NOW-exploration and prfijgctmn waste 55 (reserved)
M2 -5 10 (reserved)
i. Receipt, Sampling and Testing of E&P Waste 11 (reserved)
T 12 (reserved)
ii. Testing Requirements 13 (reserved)
(a). Before offloading E&P waste at a 14 Pipeline test water - Injection in Class Il well utilizing a
commercial facility, including a transfer station, each load of gfsefi‘?]sysiteri‘:] waste - (reserved
E&P waste shall be sampled and analyzed by commercial petine pigging ( )
facility personnel for the following: 15 (reserved)
(). pH, electrical conductivity (EC - 16 (reserved)
mmbhos/cm) and chloride (CI) content; and 50 Commercial salvage oil facility
(ii). The presence and concentration of BTEX 99 (reserved)
(benzene, toluene, ethyl benzene, and xylene) compounds
using an organic vapor monitor or other procedures
fficient to identify and tify BTEX; M8.-S...
sufficient to icen ify and quantify ' AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
(). The sample temperature (degrees 30.4 et seq.

Fahrenheit) representing actual testing conditions of the
sample obtained for BTEX analysis by methodology that
will assure sufficient accuracy; and

(iv). The presence and concentration
hydrogen sulfide (b5) using a portable gas monitor.

(b). The commercial facility operator shall enter
the pH, electrical conductivity, chloride (CI) content, BTEX,
BTEX sample temperature and hydrogen sulfide
measurements on the manifest (Form UIC-28) which
accompanies each load of E&P waste.

(c). Produced water, produced formation fresh
water, and other E&P waste fluids are exempt from organic
vapor monitoring measurement (BTEX), and the,SH
measurement in (a) above if the following conditions are

met:

(). if transported by the generator or
transporter in enclosed tank trucks, barges, or other enclosed
containers; and

(ii). if stored in an enclosed container at a
commercial facility; and

(iii). if disposed by deep well injection.

(d). Records of these tests shall be kept on file at
each commercial facility for a period of three years and be
available for review by the Commissioner or his designated
representative. Copies of completed Form UIC-28 shall be
filed with the Office of Conservation as provided in
129.M.6.d.

of
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of
Conservation (August 1943), promulgated by the Department of
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 6:307 (July 1980),
amended LR 8:79 (February 1982), LR 9:337 (May 1983), LR
10:210 (March 1984), LR 12:26 (January 1986), LR 16:855
(October 1990), LR 17:382 (April 1991), LR 25:

Summary

The Emergency Rule hereinabove adopted evidences the
finding of the Commissioner of Conservation that failure to
adopt the above rules may lead to an imminent risk to public
health, safety and welfare of the citizens of Louisiana, and
that there is not time to provide adequate notice to interested
parties. However, the Commissioner of Conservation notes
again that a copy of the permanent Amendment to Statewide
Order No. 29-B will be developed in the immediate future,
with a public hearing to be held as per the requirements of
the Administrative Procedure Act.

The Commissioner of Conservation concludes that the
above Emergency Rule will better serve the purposes of the
Office of Conservation as set forth in Title 30 of the Revised
Statutes, and is consistent with legislative intent. The
adoption of the above Emergency Rule meets all the
requirements provided by Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes. The adoption of the above Emergency Rule is not
intended to affect any other provisions, rules, orders, or
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regulations of the Office of Conservation, except to the Effective Date and Duration

extent specifically provided for in this Emergency Rule. 1. The effective date for this emergency rule shall be
Within five days from date hereof, notice of the adoption =~ May 29, 1999. _
of this Emergency Rule shall be given to all parties on the 2. The Emergency Rule herein adopted as a part

mailing list of the Office of Conservation by posting a copy thereof, shall remain effective for a period of not less than
of this Emergency Rule with reasons therefor to all such 120 days hereafter, or until the adoption of the final version
parties. This Emergency Rule with reasons therefor shall be  Of an Amendment to Statewide Order No. 29-B as noted

published in full in theLouisiana Registeas prescribed by herein, whichever occurs first. = _
law. Written notice has been given contemporaneously Signed at Baton Rouge, Louisiana, this 1st day of June,

herewith notifying the Governor of the State of Louisiana, 1999.

the attorney general of the State of Louisiana, the Speaker of o .
the House of Representatives, the President of the Senate Philip N Asprodltes
and the State Register of the adoption of this Emergency 99064022 Commissioner

Rule and reasons for adoption.

Louisiana Register Vol. 25, No. 6 June 20, 1999 1082



Filename: 9906mrgeEMR.doc

Directory: GAINTERNET\REG\9906
Template: D:\doaapps\msoffice\Templates\Register.dot
Title: Emergency Rules
Subject:

Author: cfrilou

Keywords:

Comments:

Creation Date: 06/17/99 8:40 AM
Change Number: 2

Last Saved On: 06/17/99 8:40 AM

Last Saved By: osrstudent

Total Editing Time: 0 Minutes

Last Printed On: 06/18/99 10:30 AM

As of Last Complete Printing
Number of Pages: 18
Number of Words: 13,922 (approx.)
Number of Characters: 79,356 (approx.)



	Louisiana Register
	Table of Contents
	Executive Orders
	Policy and Procedure Memoranda
	Rules
	Notices of Intent
	Committee Report
	Potpourri
	Index


