Rules

RULE

Department of Economic Development
Real Estate Appraisers Board of Certification

Real Estate Appraisers
(LAC 46:LXVI11.10101, 10301-10317,
10401-10425, 10501-10507)

Under the authority of the Louisiana Real Estate
Appraisers Certification Law, R.S. 37:3395, and in
accordance with the provisions of the Louisiana
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers State Board of
Certification has repealed LAC  46:LXVIl.Real
Estate.Subpart 2.Appraisers, Chapter 101, Authority;
Chapter 103, Certification; and Chapter 105, Investigations
and Adjudicatory Proceedings, in its entirety, and
promulgated rules and regulations which will administer the
state real estate appraiser certification program in
accordance with current federal guidelines.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LXVIl. Real Estate
Subpart 2. Appraisers
Chapter 101. Authority
§10101. Adoption

A. The rules and regulations of the Louisiana Real Estate
Appraisers State Board of Certification contained herein
have been adopted pursuant to and in compliance with R.S.
37:3391 et seq. and any violation of these rules or
regulations shall be sufficient cause for any disciplinary
action permitted by law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1425 (August 1999).

Chapter 103.  Certification
810301. Applications

A. Applications for examination must be submitted on
forms prescribed by the board and must be notarized and
accompanied by the prescribed fees specified in R.S.
37:3407.

B. An examination authorization will be issued by the
board on receipt of a properly completed application.

C. When an applicant has made a false statement of
material fact on an application for certification, or in any
document submitted in connection with the application
process, such false statement may in itself be grounds for
refusal of a certificate.

D. A person who has applied for certification and has
been denied by the board for having made a false statement
of material fact on an application for certification, or for
having submitted an appraisal report for experience credit
which has been altered in any way or which contains false
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information, shall not be considered by the board for
certification for a period of two years from the date the
application was denied.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1425 (August 1999).

§10303. Examination

A. Any applicant who fails to pass his initial examination
may reapply to take a subsequent examination, provided he
remits a new examination processing fee within 90 days of
his last test date and obtains a new examination
authorization. After 90 days the board's files shall be cleared
and remittance of all prescribed fees and a new application
shall be required. The board, at its discretion, may extend the
90 day retake period upon showing that factors beyond the
control of the applicant warrants such an extension.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1425 (August 1999).

810305. Fees

A. Except as otherwise provided in the rules and
regulations, all fees submitted to the board are non-
refundable.

B. The application fee for certification shall cover a
period of two calendar years and shall not be prorated.

C. The initial education provider fee shall cover a period
of one calendar year and shall not be prorated.

D. Payment of any fee with a check which is returned by
a financial institution wherein the reason for not paying the
check is not the fault of the financial institution shall be
grounds for the cancellation of the transaction for which the
fee was submitted and/or the suspension or revocation of a
certified appraisers certificate or a certification as a
continuing education provider.

E. Persons issuing checks which are returned by
financial institutions will be notified of the return of the
check by certified mail to the address registered by that
person with the board. Within ten days from the mailing of
the notification, the person issuing the check will remit a
certified check, cashier's check or money order payable to
the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers State Board of
Certification in the amount of the returned check.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1425 (August 1999).

§10307. Basic Education Requirement for Certification

A. The board shall prescribe and define the subjects
related to real property appraisal that will satisfy the
educational requirements for qualifying and continuing
education, including:

1. specific appraisal subjects to be mandatory
requirements for residential and general appraiser
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certification, including the minimum number of hours that
must be completed in each subject; and

2. appraisal subjects to be designated as "electives",
including the maximum number of hours of elective study
acceptable toward residential and general appraiser
certification.

B. Any applicant completing appraisal courses through
education providers not certified by the board must apply for
and receive approval for such course work being used for
certification or renewal. The applicant must provide proof
of:
course completion;
number of classroom hours;
examination requirement;
detailed course content;
any additional information on the subject matter
deemed necessary by the board for the rendering of an
informed decision on the request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1425 (August 1999).

810309. Experience Credit/Review Procedure

A. The chairman and members of the Experience Review
Committee shall be appointed by the chairman of the
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers State Board of
Certification.

B. In accordance with R.S. 1950, Title 50, Chapter 51,
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Certification Law, it is the
responsibility of the board to verify that applicants for
residential and general certification have met the experience
requirement prior to issuance of an examination
authorization. The committee shall have the authority to
request and review copies of any appraisal reports listed in
the application for experience credit.

C. Applicants shall list their appraisal experience on the
application provided by the board. Computer generated
forms will be accepted, provided that all necessary data is
submitted in a format similar to that published by the board.

D. The board shall consider for experience credit toward
appraiser certification only those real property appraisals
which include, but are not limited to, the appraisal of real
property consistent with the Uniform Standards of
Professional Appraisal Practice.

E. Applications for experience credit shall only be
accepted from individuals who have satisfied the education
requirement for the type of certification for which they have
applied.

F. The board may require an applicant to obtain
additional educational training consisting of not less than 15
or more than 30 classroom hours of course work.

G. Appraisals performed by an applicant for an owner or
instructor of a school certified by the Louisiana Real Estate
Commission within one year from the date the applicant
completed prequalifying education course work at the school
shall not be used to satisfy any requirement for experience
credit for certification as a residential or general real estate
appraiser.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

arONE
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1426 (August 1999).

§10311. Residential Certification Minimum Experience

A. A minimum of 250 credit points is required for
residential certification. Regardless of the number of
experience points earned in any given year, the maximum
allowable credit that can be applied toward the experience
requirement is 125 points. There is no minimum point
requirement. For example:

1997 | 140 points 5 1.0 experience year
1996 | 120 points = 0.9 experience year
1995 | 100 points =5 0.8 experience year

360 points =| 2.76| experience years

1. When an appraisal report is signed by more than
one person, credit for said assignment must be divided
equally among all signatories. For the purpose of granting
credit, a person signing in the capacity of a Review or
Supervisory Appraiser is not considered as a co-signer on
the report, provided that his role as such is clearly indicated
in the report.

2. If the person applying for experience credit was
unable to sign the report but is mentioned in the certification
as having provided significant professional assistance, a
proportional amount of credit based on the number of
contributors to the report can be requested.

3. Credit will not be granted if professional assistance
was not disclosed.

B. Only appraisals of single-family, one to four unit
residential property, or vacant sites suitable for single-family
or farm/timber acreage which included the valuation of a
single-family dwelling shall be considered for residential
experience.

C. A minimum of two years (24 months) of experience
shall be required for residential certification.

D. Residential appraisal points shall be awarded as
follows.

1. one unit dwelling
(house, townhouse, condominium) 1 point
2. two to four unit dwelling 2 points
(apartment, duplex, condominium)
3. residential lot
(1-4 family) /2 point
4. residential subdivision sites 2 point
(not to exceed five points per subdivision)
5. farm or timber acreage suitable for a house
site
less than 10 acres 1 point
10to 100 acres 2 points
over 100 acres 3 points
6. rural residence - one unit primary
dwelling,
10 acres or less 1 point
7. ranchette - part time rural use, 10 to 25
acres, with main dwelling and outbuildings,
such as additional residence, barns, and/or other
outbuildings 3 points
8. all other unusual structures or acreage, Submitted to
larger or more complex than typical properties| board for
described herein determination
("2 to 5 points)




9. instruction of an approved residential course
consisting of at least 20 classroom hours (not

o

exceed 16 points per year) 4 points
10. residential appraisal textbook authorship | Submitted to
(not to exceed 20 points per year) board for

determination

11. residential journal articles in journals of
approved national appraisal organizations (noj
to exceed 20 points per year) 10 points

NOTE: The Cumulative Points For Items 9, 10, And 11 Shall Notl

Exceed 25% Of The Total Points For Residential Certification.

12. review of appraisals shall be worth 20% of the points awardjgd
for the appraisal (not to exceed 20 points per year)

E. Applications for experience credit must be submitted
on forms prescribed by the board and must be notarized and
accompanied by the prescribed fees specified in R.S.
37:3407.

F. Verification of experience may include any or all of
the following:

1. client verification of appraisal reports for which the
applicant has requested experience credit;

2. submission of selected reports to the board upon
request to determine compliance with the Uniform Standards
of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP);

3. field inspection of all reports identified by the
applicant at the applicant's office during normal business
hours;

4. requiring an applicant to personally appear before
the board, or provide additional information deemed
necessary by the board to make an informed decision on an
application for certification;

5. atleast 125 experience credit points from complete
appraisals reported in self contained or summary appraisal.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1426 (August 1999).

§10313. General Certification Experience

A. A minimum of 300 credit points is required for
general certification. Regardless of the number experience
points earned in any given year, the maximum allowable
credit that can be applied toward the experience requirement
is 100 points. There is no minimum point requirement. For
example:

1996 103 points| = 1.0Q experience year
1995 145 points| = 1.00 experience year
1994 53 points| = .53 experience year
1993 60 points| = .60 experience year
361 points| = 3.13| experience years

1. When an appraisal report is signed by more than
one person, credit for said assignment must be divided
equally among all signatories. For the purpose of granting
credit, a person signing in the capacity of a Review or
supervisory Appraiser is not considered as a co-signer on the
report, provided that his role as such is clearly indicated in
the report.

2. If the person applying for experience credit was
unable to sign the report but is mentioned in the certification
as having provided significant professional assistance, a

1427

proportional amount of credit based on the number of
contributors to the report can be requested.

3. Credit will not be granted if professional assistance
was not disclosed.

B. A minimum of three years (36 months) of experience
shall be required for general certification.

C. No more than 100 residential experience points shall
be accepted for credit toward general certification.

1. A certified residential appraiser applying for
general certification shall be granted the maximum
allowable credit of 100 residential experience credit points
upon request.

D. General appraiser points shall be awarded as follows:

1. apartments
5 - 20 units 4 points
21 - 100 units 8 points
over 100 units 10 points
2. hotels/motels
50 or fewer units 6 points
51 - 150 units 8 points
over 150 units 10 points
3. meeting/conference/auditorium
20,000 square feet or less 4 points
over 20,000 square feet 6 points
4. industrial/warehouse buildings
20,000 square feet or less 4 points
over 20,000 square feet 8 points
over 100,000 square feet
(multiple tenants) 10 points
5. office buildings
10,000 square feet or less 4 points
over 10,000 square feet 8 points
over 100,000 square feet
(multiple tenants) 10 points
6. condominium (must include income approach)
5 - 30 units 6 points
over 30 units 10 points
7. retail buildings
10,000 square feet or less 6 points
over 10,000 square feet
(single tenant) 8 points
over 50,000 square feet
(multiple tenants) 10 points
8. acreage of non-residential land for commercial or multiple
family use
100 acres or less 3 points
over 100 acres (direct sales analysis only) 6 pointg
over 100 acres (including income approach) 8 pointg
9. timber/farm acreage for commercial or multiple family use
100 - 200 acres 3 points
over 200 acres (direct sales analysis only) 6 pointg
over 200 acres (including income approach
to value) 8 points
10. all other unusual structures which are Submitted to
much larger or more complex than the typical | board for
properties described herein items (1) - (9) determination
11. pasture or grazing enterprises
25 - 50 acres | 1 Point
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51-100 acres 2 Points
101 - 500 acres 3 Points
501 - 2,000 acres 6 Points
over 2,000 acres 8 Points
12. row crop enterprises
25 - 50 acres 2 Points
51 - 100 acres 3 Points
101 - 500 acres 4 Points
501 - 2,000 acres 6 Points
over 2,000 acres 10 Points
13. orchard/vineyard, plant nursery enterprises
50 acres or less 2 Points
51 - 100 acres 4 Points
101 - 500 acres 8 Points
over 500 acres 10 Points
14. aquaculture enterprises
50 acres or less 2 Points
51-100 acres 4 Points
101 - 500 acres 8 Points
over 500 acres 10 Points
15. truck farm enterprises
50 acres or less 2 Points
51 -100 acres 4 Points
101 - 500 acres 6 Points
over 500 acres 8 Points
16. dairy enterprises
50 or less cow milking herd 4 Points
51 - 100 cow milking herd 6 Points
over 100 cow milking herd 8 Points
17. diversified agricultural operations of over
500 acres involving two or more of the above
enterprises, assuming multiple disciplines are
exhibited in the report 10 Poaints
18. timberland appraisals
40 - 100 acres 2 Points
100 - 500 acres 3 Points
500 - 2,000 acres 5 Points
2,000 - 10,000 acres 7 Points
over 10,000 acres Submitted tq
board for
determination
19. specialized agricultural Submitted to
properties board for

determination

Note: No more than 40% of the cumulative points may be
earned from any one category (items 1-19). The applicant may
request a waiver of this requirement based on his unique depth

of experience in a single area.

20. Review of appraisals shall be worth 20% of the points
awarded for the appraisal (not to exceed 20 points per year).

21. instruction of an approved general course
consisting of at least 20 classroom hours (not

to exceed 20 points per year) 10 points
22. appraisal textbook authorship in general Submitted to
appraisal topics (not to exceed 20 points per board for

year)

determination

23. general field journal articles in journal of
an approved national appraisal organization

(not to exceed 20 points per year)

10 points
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NOTE: The cumulative points for ltems 21, 22, and 23 shall not
exceed 25% of the total points for general certification.

E. Atleast 150 experience credit points must come from
complete appraisals reported in self contained or summary
appraisal reports. The reports must include a direct sales
approach, cost data approach, and income data approach.

F. Verification of experience may include any or all of
the following:

1. client verification of appraisal reports for which the
applicant has requested experience credit;

2. submission of selected reports to the board upon
request to determine compliance with the Uniform Standards
of Professional Appraisal Practice;

3. field inspection of all reports identified by the
applicant at the applicant's office during normal business
hours;

4. requiring an applicant to personally appear before
the board, or provide additional information deemed
necessary by the board to make an informed decision on an
application for certification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1427 (August 1999).

§10315. Appraisal Review Requirements

A. In reviewing an appraisal, an appraiser must observe
the following specific guidelines:

1. identify the report being reviewed, the real estate
and real property interest being appraised, the effective date
of the opinion in the report being reviewed, and the date of
the review;

2. identify the scope of the review process to be
conducted,;

3. form an opinion as to the adequacy and relevance
of the data and the propriety of any adjustments to the data;

4. form an opinion as to the appropriateness of the
appraisal methods and techniques used to develop the
reasons for any disagreements;

5. form an opinion as to the correctness and
appropriateness of the analyses, opinions, and/or conclusions
in the report being reviewed, and develop the reasons for any
disagreement;

6. state in the letter of transmittal whether or not
exterior or interior building inspections were made and, if
so, when and by whom;

7. the review must be in writing and include items
1-6.

B. In reporting the results of an appraisal review, and
appraiser must:

1. disclose the nature, extent, and detail of the review
process undertaken;

2. disclose the information that must be considered in
Section 10315.A.1 and 2;

3. set forth the opinions, reasons, and conclusions
required in Section 10315.A.3, 4, and 5;

4. include a signed certification.

C. Inreviewing an appraisal and reporting the results of
that review, an appraiser must separate the review function
from any other function.

D. No more than 20 points shall be awarded as
experience credit in any one year for review of appraisals.



AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1428 (August 1999).

§10317. Co-signed Reports, Reviews, Articles and
Textbooks

A. The prorata number of points of each co-signed
report, review, article and textbook shall be awarded to each
signer of the report.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1429 (August 1999).

Chapter 104. Education Providers/Course Approval
§10401. Qualifying and Continuing Education Course
Providers

A. Educational courses offered by
providers will be considered by the board:

1. appraisal organizations;

2. colleges and universities;

3. schools certified by the Louisiana Real Estate
Commission;

4. federal or state entities;

5. proprietary schools registered with the Louisiana
Proprietary School Commission, a division of the Louisiana
State Department of Education; and,

6. other educational providers approved by the board.

B. Education providers must apply directly to the board
for qualifying and continuing education course approval.
Application forms will be provided by the board.
Information to be submitted for each course offering shall
include:

1. course content;

2. program structuring;

3. course completion standards;

4. instructor qualifications;
5
6
7

the following

minimum number of classroom hours;

textbook and course materials;

. any additional information as requested by the
board.

C. Any request from an approved education provider for
an additional course must be submitted to the board and
approval granted by the board at least 30 days prior to the
course presentation.

D. Upon approval by the board, courses for each
provider will be listed on the board's approved course list
through December 31 following the date approved. The
board may extend such approval for the next renewal period
if course materials remain current or are updated as law or
rule changes may require.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1429 (August 1999).

§10403. Certification of Education Providers

A. Certification as an education provider shall be granted
only to persons who bear a good reputation for honesty,
trustworthiness, integrity, and competence to deliver quality
instructional services, and only when proof of such
gualifications has been presented to the board. The
occurrence of any of the following events shall constitute
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grounds for refusal to grant a certification as an education
provider:

1. the applicant has been convicted of forgery,
embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses,
larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or theft, or has
been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral
turpitude in any court of competent jurisdiction;

2. the applicant had made a false statement of material
fact on the application;

3. the applicant refuses to agree to monitoring of
courses by the board or its authorized representatives.

B. Upon approval by the board, education providers will
be certified for a period of one year with the certification
expiring annually on December 31.

C. Certificates issued to education providers will be
issued in the legal name of the applicant.

D. Education providers shall:

1. submit monthly schedules and attendance reports to
the board as required;

2. insure that all course offerings satisfy the minimum
standards of approval endorsed by the Appraisal
Qualifications Board of The Appraisal Foundation as
established by the Federal Financial Institutions
Examination Council or its successor;

3. insure that course offerings specified by the board
satisfy all requirements mandated by the board;

4. maintain the attendance records of each student for
a period of five years following the date the student
completed a course offered by the provider;

5. provide each student with a written cost and refund
policy regarding the course offering;

6. insure that all advertisements published or
distributed include the name of the provider as registered
with the board;

7. report any change in business address or telephone
number to the board in writing within 10 days of the date of
the change.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1429 (August 1999).

§10405. Course Requirements

A. The board may require approved providers to follow
model curriculum guidelines to assure comprehensive
coverage of appraisal topics which meet the educational
requirements for residential and general appraiser
certification.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1429 (August 1999).

§10407. Qualifying Education

A. Courses accepted for qualifying education credit
toward residential or general appraiser certification must
include subjects related to real estate appraisal as specified
in the following areas.

1. Residential Appraiser Certification
Influences on real estate value.

Legal consideration in appraisal.
Types of value.
Economic principles.

apow

Louisiana Register Vol. 25, No. 8 August 20, 1999



Real estate market and analysis.
Valuation process.

Property description.

Highest and best use analysis.
Appraisal math and statistics.
Sales comparison approach.
Site value.

Cost approach.

Income approach.

Valuation of partial interests.
Appraisal standards and ethics.
Narrative report writing.

2. General Appraiser Certification
Influences on real estate value.
Legal considerations in appraisals.
Types of value.

Economic principles.

Real estate markets and analysis.
Valuation process.

Property description.

Highest and best use analysis.
Appraisal math and statistics.
Sales comparison approach.
Site value.

Cost approach.

Income approach.

Valuation of partial interests.
Appraisal standards and ethics.
Narrative report writing.

B. Cred|t toward the qualifying educational requirement
for residential and general appraiser certification will only
be granted to those courses which include at least 15 hours
of instruction, require successful completion of a final
examination and cover specific subjects as defined by the
board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1429 (August 1999).

§10409. Continuing Education

A. Courses accepted for credit toward the continuing
education requirement for residential and general certified
appraisers may include, but are not limited to, the following
topics:

1. ad valorem taxation;

2. arbitration;

3. business courses related to the practice of real estate
appraisal;

4. development cost estimating;

5. ethics and standards of professional practice;
6. land use planning, zoning, and taxation;
7
8
9
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management, leasing, brokerage, and timesharing;
property development;
real estate appraisal;
. real estate financing and investment;
. real estate law;
. real estate litigation;
. real estate appraisal related computer applications;
. real estate appraisal securities and syndication;
. real property exchange;
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16. Louisiana Real Estate Appraiser Certification Law
and the rules and regulations of the Louisiana Real Estate
Appraisers State Board of Certification.

B. Courses of instruction for continuing education for
state certified appraisers must consist of at least two
instructional hours. A final examination is not required on
courses administered for the purpose of continuing
education; however, if a final examination is given, proof of
passage shall be furnished to students successfully
completing the examination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1430 (August 1999).

§10411. Instructor Qualifications

A. Instructors for qualifying education courses must
satisfy at least one of the following qualification
requirements:

1. a baccalaureate degree in any field and three years
of experience directly related to the subject matter to be
taught; or

2. a masters degree in any field and one year of
experience directly related to the subject matter to be taught;
or

3. a masters or higher degree in a field that is directly
related to the subject matter to be taught; or

4. five years of real estate appraisal teaching
experience directly related to the subject matter to be taught;
or

5. seven years of real estate appraisal experience
directly related to the subject matter to be taught.

B. Instructors for continuing education courses must
satisfy at least one of the following qualification
requirements:

1. three years of experience directly related to the
subject matter to be taught; or

2. a baccalaureate or higher degree in a field directly
related to the subject matter to be taught; or

3. three years of experience teaching the subject
matter to be taught; or

4. a combination of education and experience
equivalentto 1, 2, or 3 above.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1430 (August 1999).

810413. Classroom Hour Defined

A. Consistent with the requirements of the Appraiser
Quialification Board of the Federal Financial Institutions
Examination Council, a classroom hour is defined as 60
minutes, of which 50 minutes are instruction. The prescribed
number of classroom hours may include time devoted to
examinations which are considered to be part of the course.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1430 (August 1999).



810415. Compliance with Americans With Disabilities
Act (ADA)

A. For purposes of meeting the requirements of the
Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA), the board may
permit an alternative method of course delivery other than
the regular classroom method of presentation. Verification of
disability of the individual requiring the completion of
course work through an alternative delivery method may be
required by the board prior to granting such a request.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).

810417. Distance Education Courses

A. Distance education courses may be used for
qualifying education credit for certification and continuing
education after certification provided the courses meet the
conditions prescribed by the Appraiser Qualification Board
of the Appraisal Foundation regarding the accreditation of
the presenter of the course or approval of the course by the
American Council on Education's Program on Non-
Collegiate Sponsored Instruction or under the Appraiser
Qualification Board's Course Approval Program.

B. Any educational course based on the geographical
separation of the learner and the instructor (e.g. CD ROM,
on-line learning, correspondence courses, video
conferencing, etc.) must provide for interaction between the
learner and the instructor. Courses designed for both
qualifying education credit and continuing education credit
must include testing and proof of passage shall be furnished
to students successfully completing the examination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).

810419. Video Presentations in Classroom Instruction

A. Video presentations will be accepted for qualifying
and continuing education credit only when used as a training
aid by an instructor in a classroom setting.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of

Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999),
§10421. Combining Appraisal and Real Estate
Prelicensing Courses Prohibited
A. Appraisal courses combined with real estate

salesperson and/or broker prelicensing courses offered by
schools certified by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission
and approved by the board as education providers will not be
accepted by the board as qualifying education.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).
§10423. Determination of Credit Hours For Qualifying

Education

A. Each course credited toward an individual's
educational requirement must represent a progression in
which the individual's knowledge is increased. Full credit
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will not be granted to an individual for courses completed
which are repetitive in nature.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).

§10425. Final Examination on Additional Education
Required by Board

A. A final examination is required on courses
administered for the purpose of additional education when
directed by the board. Completion of these courses shall be
evidenced by a certificate of course completion issued by the
education provider. Such courses shall not be used to satisfy
the requirement for continuing education in the applicable
recertification period.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisers Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).

Chapter 105. Investigations and Adjudicatory
Proceedings
§10501. Investigations

A. The board may, upon its own motion, and shall upon
the verified complaint in writing of any person, investigate
the actions of a certificate holder, or any person who
assumes to act as such. Written complaints shall bear the
signature of the complainant or that of his legal
representative before any action will be taken thereon by the
board.

B. Upon documented probable cause the executive
director of the board may issue written authorization to
investigate apparent violations of the Louisiana Real Estate
Appraisers Certification Law and/or the rules and
regulations of the board.

C. If during the conduct of an investigation documented
probable cause is established indicating that violations of the
Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers Certification Law and/or
the rules and regulations of the board have been committed
by any certificate holder other than the certificate holder
against whom the original complaint was made, the
additional certificate holders may be added as respondents to
the investigation in the absence of any written complaint
alleging such violations.

D. Investigations alleging violations of the Louisiana Real
Estate Appraisers Certification Law and/or the rules and
regulations of the board shall be investigated by the staff of
the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).

§10503. Technical Assistance

A. In any investigation conducted by the staff of the
Commission, the chairman of the board may be requested to
assign a member of the board to provide technical assistance
to the investigator conducting the investigation.

B. When a member of the board has been assigned to
provide technical assistance to a Commission investigator,
the member shall review the findings and recommendation
resulting from the investigation. A written certification of the
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review signed by the board member shall be provided to the
Commission investigator and appended to the report of
investigation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1431 (August 1999).

§10505. Cooperation

A. Every certificate holder shall cooperate fully with and
answer all questions propounded by Commission personnel
conducting an investigation for the board.

B. Every certificate holder shall produce any document,
book, or record in the certificate holder's possession, or
under his control, concerning any matter under investigation
by Commission personnel conducting an investigation for
the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1432 (August 1999).

§10507. Adjudicatory Proceedings

A. When, as a result of an investigation, it appears that
violations of the Louisiana Certified Real Estate Appraisers
Certification Law may have been committed by a certificate
holder, the violations may be adjudicated through informal
or formal adjudicatory proceedings.

B. The complaint may be concluded informally without
public hearing on the recommendation of the hearing
examiner and the concurrence of the executive director.

1. Apreliminary notice of adjudication shall be issued
to advise the respondent of the violation or violations alleged
and to advise the respondent that the matter can be resolved
informally should the respondent desire to admit to
committing any act or acts specified and submits a written
request that the matter be resolved informally.

2. A hearing officer shall be appointed by the
executive director to conduct an informal hearing with the
respondent.

3. The informal hearing shall be attended by the case
investigator, or in the absence of the case investigator, the
chief real examiner, who shall respond to questions
concerning the investigation which resulted in the
allegations, and the hearing examiner, who shall inform the
hearing officer of the administrative, jurisdictional, and other
matters relevant to the proceedings. No evidence shall be
presented, no witnesses shall be called, and no formal
transcript of the proceedings shall be prepared. Statements
made during the informal proceedings may not be
introduced at any subsequent formal adjudicatory
proceedings without the written consent of all parties to the
informal hearing.

4. Following an admission by the respondent at the
informal hearing that violations were committed as alleged,
the hearing officer may enter into a recommended stipulation
and consent order to include the imposition of any sanctions
authorized by the Louisiana Real Estate Appraisers
Certification Law. In the written document, the respondent
must stipulate to having committed an act or acts in violation
of the Louisiana Real Estate Certification Law or the rules
and regulations of the board, accept the sanctions
recommended by the hearing officer, and waive any rights to
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request a rehearing, reopening, or reconsideration by the
board, and the right to judicial appeal of the consent order.

5. If, at the informal hearing, the respondent does not
admit to having committed the act or acts specified, does not
accept the sanctions recommended by the hearing officer, or
does not waive the specified appellate rights, the alleged
violations shall be referred to a formal adjudicatory hearing.

6. If the respondent does execute a stipulation and
consent order, the executive director shall submit the
document to the board at the next regular meeting for
approval and authorization for the executive director to
execute the Consent Order in the name of the board.

7. The actions of the board relative to all consent
orders shall be noted in the minutes of the meeting at which
the consent order is approved and authorization is granted to
the executive director to execute the order in the name of the
board.

8. Any consent order executed as a result of an
informal hearing shall be effective on the date approved by
the board.

C. All formal public adjudicatory hearings shall be
conducted under the auspices of R.S. 37:3409 and Chapter
13 of Title 49 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.

1. Board members who have provided technical
assistance in any matter being adjudicated at formal
adjudicatory proceedings shall recuse themselves and not
participate in any portion of the proceedings.

2. The order issued by the board pursuant to any
formal public adjudicatory proceeding shall become
effective on the eleventh day following the date the order is
issued by the board and entered into the record at the
proceedings.

3. The date of entry is the date the order is issued by
the board and entered into the record at the formal
adjudicatory proceedings.

4. If a request for rehearing, reopening, or
reconsideration of the order of the board is timely filed and
denied by the board, the order of the board shall become
final on mailing of the notice of the boasdfinal decision on
the request.

5. An order of the board shall be subject to rehearing,
reopening or reconsideration by the board on receipt of a
written request from a respondent. An application for
rehearing, reopening or reconsideration must be received at
the office of the board within 10 days from the date of entry
of the order rendered by the board.

6. The request shall be reviewed by the board attorney
for compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act. A
finding by the board attorney that the request does not
establish grounds for rehearing, reopening or reconsideration
shall result in a denial for the request.

7. Proceedings for judicial review of an order issued
by the board may be instituted by filing a petition for judicial
review in the Nineteenth Judicial District Court in the parish
of East Baton Rouge.

8. In the event a request for rehearing, reopening or
reconsideration has been file with the board, the party
making the request shall have 30 days from the final
decision on the request within which to file a petition for
judicial review.

9. If a request for rehearing, reopening or
reconsideration is not filed with the Board, the petition for



judicial review must be filed in the Nineteenth Judicial
District Court within 30 days after the mailing of the order
of the board.

10. The filing of a petition for judicial review by a
respondent certificate holder does not itself stay enforcement
of an order of the board. A stay of enforcement shall be
granted only when directed by the court conducting a
judicial review of adjudication.

D. On a finding that a respondent has committed the
violations as alleged in any formal or informal adjudicatory

proceedings, the board may assess the respondent the

administrative costs of the proceedings, as determined by the
board. Payment of these costs shall be a condition of
satisfying any order issued by the board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:3395

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Economic Development, Real Estate Appraisal Board of
Certification, LR 25:1432 (August 1999).

Julius C. Willie

Executive Director
9908#020

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 741 Louisiana Handbook for School
Administrators Adult Education Program
(LAC 28:1.901)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education adopted an amendment to Bulletin 741,
referenced in LAC 28:1.901.A, promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:483
(November 1975). The proposed amendment revises all
policies related to the high school equivalency diploma
being issued by the State Department of Education rather
than a local high school. The amendment revises the
wording to provide adult education as stipulated in the
Workforce Investment Act of 1998.

Title 28
EDUCATION

Part I. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations
8901. School Approval Standards and Regulations

A. Bulletin 741

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 17:6(A)
(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, II; R.S. 17:22 (2).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education LR 1:483 (November 1975), amended LR 24:1085
(June 1998), LR 25:1433 (August 1999).

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook
for School Administrators

1.124.00 The Adult Education program shall be
administered by the State Department of Education (SDE)
and operated by eligible entities as stipulated in Title Il of
the Workforce Investment Act. The State Department of
Education shall certify adult education sites of instruction
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using procedures as approved by the Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education.

1.124.01 State or federally funded entities operating an
adult education program or activity shall not exclude
exceptional persons.

Requirements for Taking the General
Educational Development (GED) Test

1.124.03A Any State-approved adult education site of
instruction may recommend an individual to take the
General Educational Development (GED) Test.

Issuance of Equivalency Diplomas

1.124.11 A high school equivalency diploma will be
issued from the Louisiana State Department of Education
after the student has successfully completed the test of
General Educational Development (GED).

1.124.12 Repealed.

1.124.13 Repealed.

1.124.14 A Louisiana resident who successfully
completes the General Educational Development (GED) Test
at an official out-of-state GED testing center may be entitled
to receive an equivalency diploma provided that an official
copy of the GED Test results are submitted for review to the
Division of Adult Education and Training in the Louisiana
Department of Education, and provided the student meets all
other qualifications to receive an equivalency diploma.
Veterans do not need to submit qualifying scores.

1.124.18 Public high school equivalency diplomas shall
be signed by the State Superintendent of Education and the
President of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education.

Weegie Peabody

Executive Director
9908#049

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 741 Louisiana Handbook for School
Administrators Test Security Policy/Erasure
Analysis Procedures (LAC 28:1.901)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education adopted an amendment to the Addendum in
Bulletin 741, referenced in LAC 28:1.901.A, promulgated by
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education in LR
[:483 (November, 1975). The revised Test Security Policy
provides school districts with acceptable practices for
administering and using state tests. The Erasure Analysis
Policy outlines the procedures for conducting erasure
analysis, and will be placed in the Addendum immediately
following the Test Security Policy.

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part I. Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Chapter 9. Bulletins, Regulations, and State Plans
Subchapter A. Bulletins and Regulations
8901. School Approval Standards and Regulations
A. Bulletin 741

* % %
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:6(A) (10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7 (5), (7), (11); R.S. 17:10, II; R.S.
17:22 (2).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 1:483 (November,
1975), amended LR 23:560 (May 1997), LR 23:709 (June 1997),
LR 23:1644 (December 1997), LR 24:1495 (June 1998), LR
24:1085 (August 1998), LR 24:1896 (October 1998), LR 25:1433
(August 1999).

Test Security Policy

The Board of Elementary and Secondary Education holds
the test security policy to be of utmost importance and
deems any violation of test security to be serious.

Test Security

1. Tests administered by or through the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education shall include, but not
be limited to:

a. Graduation Exit Examination (GEE);

b. all criterion-referenced tests (CRTs) and norm-
referenced tests (NRTS).

2. For purposes of this policy, school districts shall
include local education agencies; Special School District
Number 1 schools; approved special schools such as the
Louisiana School for the Visually Impaired and Louisiana
School for the Deaf; laboratory schools, charter schools,
Louisiana School for Math, Science and the Arts, and
participating nonpublic/other schools which utilize tests
administered through the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education or the Louisiana Department of
Education.

It shall be a violation of test security for any person to do
any of the following:

a. administer tests in a manner that is inconsistent
with the administrative instructions provided by the
Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) which would
give examinees an unfair advantage or disadvantage;

b. give examinees access to test questions prior to
testing; no one is to have the opportunity to examine any test
item at any time except the student during the test;

c. copy, reproduce, or use in any manner
inconsistent with test regulations all or part of any secure
test booklet or answer document;

d. coach examinees in any manner during testing or
alter or interfere with examinees' responses in any manner;

e. provide answers to students in any manner during
the test, including provision of cues, clues, hints, and/or
actual answers in any form-written, printed, verbal or
nonverbal;

f. administer published parallel or current forms of
a test (e.g., Forms K, L, and M of The lowa Tests) as a
practice test; such parallel forms of a test must be kept in a
predetermined, locked, secure area at the district office;

g. fail to follow security regulations for distribution
and return of secure test booklets and answer documents as
well as overages as directed; or fail to account for and secure
test materials before, during, or after testing; all secure
materials must be kept in locked storage at both the district
and school levels; secure materials must never be left in
open areas or unattended;

h. conduct testing in environments that differ from
the usual classroom environment without prior written
permission from the Louisiana Department of Education,
Division of Student Standards and Assessments;
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i. fail to report any testing irregularities to the
District Test Coordinator (a "testing irregularity" is any
incident in test handling or administration that leads to a
guestion regarding the security of the test or the accuracy of
the test data);

j- participate in, direct, aid, counsel, assist in,
encourage, or fail to report any of the acts prohibited in this
section.

3. Each school district as described in this policy shall
develop and adopt a district test security policy that is in
compliance with the state test security policy. A "Statement
of Assurance" regarding the LEA test security policy must
be submitted annually to the Louisiana Department of
Education, Division of Student Standards and Assessments.
This statement must include the name of the individual
designated by the district superintendent or institution to
procure test materials. The policy shall provide:

a. for the security of the test materials during
testing, including test booklets, answer documents, test
administrators' manuals, observational answers, video tapes,
and completed observation sheets;

b. for the storage of all test materials except test
administrators' manuals in a predetermined, secure, locked
area before, during, and after testing;

c. a description and record of professional
development on test security and test administration
provided for all individuals with access to test materials
(access to test materials by school personnel meandling
the materials but does not include reviewing tests or
analyzing test items, which are prohibited);

d. a list of personnel authorized to have access to
the locked, secure storage area;

e. a procedure for investigating any testing
irregularities, especially erasure analysis.

4. Test materials, including all test booklets and
answer documents containing secure test questions, shall be
kept secure and accounted for in accordance with the
procedure specified in the examination program
administration manuals and other communications provided
by the Louisiana Department of Education. Secure test
materials include test administrators' manuals, test booklets,
and answer documents.

The manual procedures shall include, but are not limited
to, the following.

a. All test booklets and answer documents shall be
kept in a predetermined, secure, locked storage area prior to
and after administration of any test; test administrators are to
be given access to the tests only on the day the test is to be
administered, and the tests are to be retrieved immediately
after testing is completed for the day and stored in a locked,
secure location each day of testing.

b. All test booklets and answer documents shall be
accounted for and written documentation kept by test
administrators and proctors for each point at which test
materials are distributed and returned.

c. Any discrepancies noted in the number of serial
numbers of test booklets and answer documents received
from contractors shall be reported to the Director, Division
of Student Standards and Assessments (LDE) by the
designated institutional or school district personnel prior to
the administration of the test.



d. In the event the test booklets or answer
documents are determined to be missing while in the
possession of the institution or school district, the designated
institutional or school district personnel shall immediately
notify by telephone the Director, Division of Student
Standards and Assessments (LDE). The designated
institutional or school District personnel shall investigate the
cause of the discrepancy and provide the Louisiana
Department of Education with a report of the investigation
within thirty (30) calendar days of the initiation of the
investigation. At a minimum, the report shall include the
nature of the situation, the time and place of occurrence, and
the names of the persons involved in or witnesses to the
occurrence. Officials from the Louisiana Department of
Education are authorized to conduct additional
investigations.

5. Only trained personnel shall be allowed to have
access to or administer any standardized tests.

6. Each district superintendent or institution shall
annually designate one individual in the district or institution
who is authorized to procure test materials that are utilized
in testing programs administered by or through the State
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education or the
Louisiana Department of Education. The name of the
individual designated shall be provided, in writing, to the
Director, Division of Student Standards and Assessments
(LDE), and included on the "Statement of Assurance."

7. Testing shall be conducted in class-sized groups.
Bulletin 741 (2.038.01-02) states that K-3 classroom
enrollment should be no more than 26 students, and in
grades 4-12, no more than 33, "except in certain activity
types of classes in which the teaching approach and the
materials and equipment are appropriate for large groups.”
For grades K-8, the maximum class size for Health and
Physical Education classes may be no more than 40. Class
size for exceptional students is generally smaller (Bulletin
741, 2.038.05). Permission for testing in environments that
differ from the usual classroom environment must be
obtained in writing from the Louisiana Department of
Education, Division of Student Standards and Assessments
at least thirty (30) days prior to testing. If testing outside the
usual classroom environment is approved by the Division of
Student Standards and Assessments, the LEA must provide
at least one proctor for every 30 students.

8. The State Superintendent of Education may
disallow test results which may have been achieved in a
manner which is violative of test security.

9. The Louisiana Department of Education shall
establish procedures to identify:

a. improbable achievement of test score gains in
consecutive years;

b. situations in which collaboration between or
among individuals may occur during the testing process;

c. a verification of the number of all tests
distributed and the number of tests returned,;

d. excessive erasures for multiple-choice tests;

e. any violation to written composition or open-
ended responses that involves plagiarism;

f. any other situation which may
invalidation of test results.

10. In cases where test results are not accepted because
of breach of test security or action by the Louisiana

result in
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Department of Education, any programmatic, evaluative, or
graduation criteria dependent upon the data shall be deemed
not to have been met.

11. Individuals shall adhere to all procedures specified
in all operational manuals that govern mandated testing
programs.

12. Any individual(s) who knowingly engages in any
activity during testing which results in invalidation of scores
derived from the Graduation Exit Examination shall forfeit
the test results and will be allowed to retake the test at the
next test administration; beginning in 2000, any
individual(s) who knowingly engages in any activity during
testing which results in invalidation of scores derived from
LEAP for the 21st Century shall forfeit the test results and
will be allowed to retake the test at the next test
administration;

13. Anyone known to be involved in the presentation of
forged, counterfeit, or altered identification for the purposes
of obtaining admission to a test administration site for any
test administered by or through the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education or the Louisiana
Department of Education shall have breached test security.
Any individual(s) who knowingly causes or allows the
presentation of forged, counterfeit, or altered identification
for the purpose of obtaining admission to any test
administration site shall forfeit all test scores and will be
allowed to retake the test at the next test administration.

14. Any teachers or other school personnel who breach
test security or allow breaches in test security shall be
disciplined in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:416
et seq., R.S. 17:441 et seq., policy and regulations adopted
by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, and
any and all laws that may be enacted by the Louisiana
Legislature.

Louisiana Educational Assessment Program
Erasure Analysis Procedures
In order to investigate erasures to student answer
documents for the multiple-choice portions of the state
criterion-referenced and norm-referenced testing programs,
the following procedures have been developed.

1. The scoring contractor will scan every answer
document for wrong-to-right erasures, and the state average
and standard deviation will be computed for each subject at
each grade level.

2. Classrooms of six or more students that exceed the
state average by more than four standard deviations will be
identified for further investigation.

3. The scoring contractor will producgchool/Class
Erasure Analysis Reportdor those districts that have
classrooms exceeding the four standard deviation criterion.
This is a classroom-level report, aggregated to the district
level.

4. For each classroom identified using the four
standard deviation criterion, the LDE will receive from the
scoring contractor:

School/Class Erasure Analysis Repgtfiree copies,
sorted by district) for districts having classrooms that exceed
the four standard deviation criterion.

Student Erasure Analysis Repddr students in the
identified classrooms that exceed the four standard deviation
criterion. This report contains student demographic
information, an item-by-item analysis of wrong-to-right
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erasures, and a statement showing that the student exceeded
the four standard deviation criterion. The scoring contractor
will maintain answer documents for the students exceeding
the four standard deviation criterion (who are in classrooms
that exceed the four standard deviation criterion), sorted by
district/school/class. The answer documents will be available
for review upon request.

5. Upon receipt of th&chool/Class Erasure Analysis
Reports LDE staff will notify the State Superintendent of
Education regarding which schools have been identified.

6. The correspondence from the State Superintendent
of Education to the local superintendent will state that a
classroom (or classrooms) has been identified as having
excessive erasures. Based on the number of erasures found,
scores for students exceeding the four standard deviation
criterion (who are in classrooms that exceed the four
standard deviation criterion) will be voided. The individual
student reports from the testing program will reflect the
voided scores. In the aggregation of scores at the school,
district, and state levels, the voided scores will have the
effect of a "zero" score. Included with the correspondence

will be the following documentation:
School/Class Erasure Analysis Report Student Erasure
Analysis Reports
Copies of this correspondence will be provided to the Deputy
Superintendent of Education, the Assistant Superintendent of
the Office of Student and School Performance, the Director of
the Division of Student Standards and Assessments, and the
local District Test Coordinator.

7. When the correspondence is mailed (certified), the
local superintendent will be advised to investigate the case
of the irregularity and provide a written plan of action to the
State Superintendent of Education within twenty working
days.

8. A roster of classrooms will be generated where
each identified classroom has an average of wrong-to-right
erasures greater than three standard deviations above the
state average, but less than or equal to four standard
deviations above the state average of wrong-to-right
erasures. These student scores will not be voided; however,
local districts are expected to closely monitor security
procedures at those schools.

9. A summary report of erasure analysis irregularities
will be presented to the Louisiana Educational Assessment
Testing Commission and the Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education after each LEAP test administration.

Weegie Peabody

Executive Director
9908#041

RULE

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education

Bulletin 1794 State Textbook Adoption Policy and
Procedure Manual
(LAC 28:XXXII1.101-2133)

Editor's Note: Bulletin 1794 was promulgated as a rule in LR
2:110 (April 1976), and LR 13:496 (September 1987),
amended LR 14:227 (April 1988), LR 16:956 (November
1990), LR 16:957 (November 1990), LR 18:255 (March
1992), LR 18:955 (September 1992), LR 21:201(February
1995), LR 21:551 (June 1995), LR 21:1329 (December 1995),
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and LR 24:434 (March 1998) in uncodified format. As a
codified document, historical notes will reflect activity from
this time forward.

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education adopted revised Bulletin 1794,
promulgated in LR 2:110 (April 1976), referenced in LAC
28:1.919.A. Bulletin 1794 contains procedures and
guidelines for the adoption of state approved textbooks and
reference materials.

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part XXXIII. Bulletin 1794 —State Textbook Adoption
Policy and Procedure Manual
Chapter 1. Purpose
§101. Introduction

A. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (SBESE), in accordance with Chapter 1 of Title
17 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Part |,
Sections 7 (4), 8(A)(1)(a) and Part IV, Section 351(A)(1),
has responsibility to prescribe, adopt, control and supervise
the distribution and use of free school books and other
materials of instruction in elementary, secondary, special,
post secondary and vocational-technical schools across the
state of Louisiana. Funds are appropriated by the Louisiana
Legislature in accordance with Article VIII, Section 13(A)
of the Constitution for the purpose of providing school
books and other materials of instruction free of charge to the
children of this state at the elementary and secondary levels.

B. Itis hoped that the policies and procedures contained
in this bulletin will help local school districts to provide
textbooks that will have a significant, positive impact on
student achievement, student attitudes and behaviors, and on
the interactions in the learning environment for students of
all ages, abilities, backgrounds and areas of interest. Any
interested citizen may request their name be placed on the
mailing list for textbook adoption information (R.S.
17:415.1A) by writing to:

State Department of Education
Division of School Standards,
Accountability and Assistance
7th Floor, Room 740
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802
Attn: State Textbook Administrator

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1436 (August 1999).
Chapter 3. General Provisions
8301. Definitions

Ancillary materials shall be defined as materials that are
intended and designed to be used with a comprehensive
basal program submitted by the same publisher, and may
include materials such as workbooks, puzzles, assessment
materials, black line masters, transparencies, &tillary
materials will be added to the publishers' contract after
BESE approval of the basal textbook and teacher's edition.

Basal shall be defined as student-based curricular
materials (print or non-print) which encompass the BESE-
approved Louisiana Content Standards for specified subject



areas. These curricular materials are considered a major
teacher and student resource for attainment of the state
standards and benchmarks and for the locally designed and
aligned curriculum and course.

Core Subject Cyclerefers to the adoption period for
English/Language Arts, Science, Social Studies, and
Mathematics.

Teacher's Edition shall be defined as materials used for
informing teachers' instruction that are not designed or
intended to be used by students. Teacher's editions may
include teacher guides or instructor's manuals.

Textbook shall be defined as any medium or material
(print or non-print), book, or electronic medium that
constitutes therincipal source for teaching and learnirig
a specified subject area. A textbook shall be a systematically
organized core oftand alondnstructional materials (which
may be hardbound, softbound, electronic or other media)
designed to support the teaching and learning of a
curriculum based on the state-approved content or state
curriculum guides [e.g., home economics, foreign language,
health, business education], as approved by BESE.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1436 (August 1999).
§303. Textbook Approval

A. "The state shall prescribe and adopt free school books
and other materials of instruction for use in elementary and
secondary schools."

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:8(A)(B); R.S. 17: 351(A)(B).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1437 (August 1999).
8305. Textbooks and Materials of Instruction

A. State Screening of Textbooks and Materials of
Instruction

1. "The state shall assure that all school books, films,
related booklets, audio-visual devices, and any other similar
materials of instruction are thoroughly screened, reviewed
and approved as to their content by BESE and the local
parish or city school board." Textbooks and teaching
materials shall be available for public inspection at the
Department's book depository and public libraries during
regular office hours.

B. Adequate and Appropriate Instructional Materials

1. Instruction [at the local level] shall be supported
with adequate and appropriate instructional materials,
equipment, and available community resources that support
the stated philosophy and purposes of the school system and
state adopted content standards.

C. Formal Adoption and Implementation of Textbooks

1. Each school district shall make a formal adoption
of textbooks within3 monthsfrom the date of state-level
approval by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (BESE). (Refer to Section |Il, LEA
Responsibilities.)

2. School systems shall implement the latest textbook
adoption for core subject areas of English/Language Arts,
Science, Social Studies, and Mathematics within a three year
period, in accordance with locally determined levels of
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access to be provided to students (i.e. classroom sets,
personal copy). (Refer to Section Il, LEA Responsibilities.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4);8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1437 (August 1999).
§307. Louisiana State Adoption Cycle and Time

Lines

A. Texts for specific subject areas shall be adopted every
seven years. See appendix for adoption cycles.

B. Broad time lines governing the adoption process are
listed on the following page. The Department of Education
shall annually specify dates to be followed in each adoption
year, per the Invitation Circular Letter to Submit Textbooks
and Materials of Instruction for State Adoption which is
issued annually to publishers.

C. Time Lines

Invitation to Submit Textbooks and Materials of
Instruction Issued by SDE Early March
Notice of Publishers' Intent to Participate Due to SOE End March
SDE Supplies Submission Packet and Forms to End March
Requesting Publishers
State Committee Appointed (confidential letter) Apfil
SDE Informs Participating Publishers of State
Committee Names/Publicly Names State Adoption April
Committee
Publishers' Mandatory Orientation Apnl
Submission Forms Due from Publishers to SDE; Ma
Manufacturing Standards on each Book Due to SDE y
Detailed Specifications Filed by Publishers with SDE
Regarding Hardware, Software, Special Equipment May
needed to review any item included in bid
Detailed Correlations to State Content
Standards/Curriculum Guides Due to SDE from May
Publishers
State Committee Orientation June/Jdyly
State Committee Files List with SDE of Equipment
) June/July
Needed to Review Textbooks
Publishers Supply Textbooks for Review to Designatefl
j June/July
Locations
State Committee Review of Textbooks June/July-
Mid-
September
Public Review of Textbooks June/July-
Mid-
September
Final Date for State Committee Members to Submit Mid
Written Questions for Publishers on Books Under
] ) September
Consideration
Final Date for Publishers to Submit copies to SDE of
. ) . October 1
Answers to Written Questions from State Committee
SDE to Forward to State Committee Publishers' Writtgn First Week
Answers October
SDE to Forward to State Committee All Written Public| First Week
Comments October
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State Committee Makes Final Recommendations for
Adoption; State Committee files Affidavit Regarding
Contact with or by Publishers

Mid-October

Publishers File Affidavit Regarding Contacts with Stat¢
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
Members, Textbook and Media Advisory Council and
Members of the Statewide Adoption Committee.

End October

Receive the Report on public comments by Textbook and
. . . End October
Media Advisory Council

Publishers Submit Final Versions of Texts to Replace

- End October
Initial Galley Proofs

BESE Approval of Textbooks Recommended for Curr¢

nt
. . End October
Adoption & Contact Affidavits.

Publishers/Contracts Approved by BESE November/
December

Final Date for Publishers of Adopted Textbooks to

Comply with SDE Directives on Production of Braille End March

Materials

Textbook Caravan November

January

Local Adoption November-
End March

Initial Local Ordering March-Mid-

May

Note: Specific dates and timelines to be specified by SDE each year with
Invitation Circular Letter.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4);8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1437 (August 1999).
§309. Funding for Textbooks

A. The Constitution provides that the Legislature shall
appropriate funds to supply free school books and other
materials of instruction prescribed by the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education (SBESE) to the
children of this state at the elementary and secondary levels.
The SBESE annually develops andoats a formula to
determine the cost of a minimum foundation program of
education. Additional funds for textbooks may be awarded
through state grants (e.g., 8g Quality Educators and K-3
Reading) and through federal grants.

B. State funds shall be used for the purchase of
textbooks on the SBESE-adopted textbook list and
academically related ancillary materials according to state
guidelines (Bulletin 741, 3.026.13). Funds may also be used
to purchase instructional materials for grades Kindergarten -
Three and appropriate special education classes that are
manipulative and concrete in nature in order to support the
instructional program at these grade levels. Waivers for
purchase of non-adopted textbooks/materials which exceed
10 percent of the state allocations may be granted to local
school systems in special circumstances.

C. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education, at its meeting of June 22, 1989, exercised those
powers conferred by the emergency provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 B, and adopted
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the following guidelines to allow state textbook funds to be
used to purchase instructional materials for Grade K-3 as
recommended by the Department of Education.

1. For classes K-3, the school superintendents are
authorized to use textbook funds to purchase textbooks and
other materials that can be used to support the instruction in
these four elementary grades (K-3).

2. The major emphasis in selecting instructional
materials for K-3 should be on manipulative and concrete
materials such as blocks, dramatic/housekeeping toys,
manipulative (puzzles, legos, etc.), gross motor materials
(jump ropes, balls, etc.) and other manipulative materials.

3. The characteristics and needs of the child in grades
K-3 should be considered when selecting appropriate
materials.

D. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education may authorize the Louisiana School of Math,
Science and the Arts and other parish or city school boards
with programs for gifted students to select and purchase
textbooks not included on the lists adopted by the Board
pursuant to the provisions of this Section, provided that such
authorization shall be on an ad hoc basis and shall be subject
to prior approval by the Board. Such purchases may be made
using funds appropriated by the Legislature for the purchase
of textbooks as provided for herein.

E. Public Schools

1. State and local funding for approved textbooks is
generated through the Minimum Foundation Program (MFP)
funding formula. The formula determines the minimum cost
of total operational expenditures for each school system.
Districts receive the state's share as part of a monthly
allotment with provision for local flexibility that allows
funds to be used as deemed appropriate by school systems.
The amount of funding needed to supply an adequate
number of new textbooks for any given adoption can be
estimated using the following formula:

October 1 Student Membership X Textbook Unit Price =
Estimated Textbook Costs
(By Grade Level) (As adopted by LEA)
(Costs Shared State and Locally)

2. ltis required that districts take no more than three
years to purchase newly adopted textbooks for core
curriculum areas at all grade levels. The following example
provides a method of estimating minimum expenditures for
any given adoption cycle.

E.G., Math Adoption Cycle:

Step 1
OCTOBER 1 UNIT | ESTIMATED
MEMBERSHIP PRICE COSTS
1,000 (Grades K-6) X $30.00 = $30,000 Full Implementatign
+1,000 (Grades 7-12) X~ $40.00 = $40,000 Full Implementatipn

2,000 (Total)
Or;

=$70,000 Full Implementatiol

$70,000 / 3 = $23,333 Estimated Minimum First Year
Math Implementation for a school district with

student population of 2,000

Step 2




F.  Nonpublic Schools

1. Each nonpublic school receives a textbook
allocation based on the number of K-12 nonpublic students
enrolled in BESE and Brumfield-Dodd approved nonpublic
schools. Reimbursement will be made to local school
districts for purchases of nonsectarian books for nonpublic
school students at the rate of $27.02 per student. All books
(textbooks, library books, encyclopedias and encyclopedic
references) that go through a state adoption process are
considered appropriate and may be purchased for nonpublic
school studentsOrders for textbooks and materials of
instruction must be delivered during each fiscal year (i.e.,
July 1 to June 30) in order to be eligible for reimbursement

October 1 Student Enrollment X $27.02 = State Nonpublic
Textbook Allocation (Academically and Brumfield approved
schools)

2. If materials and supplies are included in purchase
orders, it will be the responsibility of the local school district
to conduct audits to ensure that the materials and supplies
are used to provide students with nonsectarian instruction.
Furthermore, all textbooks must be purchased and
distributed through the local school district for each eligible
nonpublic school in their area. It is requested that
reimbursement requests be submitted in a timely manner.
Payments will be made only from invoicetn no event
should these funds be distributed directly to nonpublic
schools.

3. Payments for textbooks and textbook
administration will be made upon receipt of the completed
Nonpublic School Textbook Invoice form provided through
the Division of Educational Finance Services.

G. Special Funding For Textbooks

1. 8(g) Quality Education Support Fund

a. School districts and approved nonpublic schools
may use 8(g) Quality Education Support Funds to
supplement state MFP and local funding for textbooks and
materials of instruction. The purpose of these funds is to
ensure an adequate supply of superior textbooks, library
books, and/or reference materials for these approved
schools.

b. Effective with the 1996-97 granting cycle,
Consent Judgement 90-880-A enjoins the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education from making grant
awards for library books and/or reference materials to non-
public agencies that are determined to be pervasively
sectarian entities.

c. Guidelines, issued each year by the State Board
of Elementary and Secondary Education, should be
consulted for specific requirements related to expenditures
and for funding allocations.

H. Availability of Prestige License Plates and Applicable
Revenues. R.S. 47:463.46, enacted during the 1997
Legislative Session, provides for a prestige license plate to
provide special funding for the purchase of textbooks in
approved elementary and secondary schools. The plate,
bearing the words "Helping Schools," is available for
purchase from the Department of Public Safety and
Corrections at an annual fee of $25.00, in addition to the
regular fee. Revenues must be invested by the State
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Treasurer, on behalf of SBESE. Funds must be used solely
for the purchase of textbooks.

I. Use of Federal Funds. School districts are encouraged
to develop a consolidated plan, using all available funding
streams, including federal funds, in order that adequate and
appropriate textbooks and materials of instruction are
available for students.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172;351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1438 (August 1999).
8311. Invitation Circular Letter

A. Specific dates are determined each year and are
documented in the Invitation Circular notice issued to
publishers.

B. The Invitation Circular Letter shall be sent to
interested publishers from the Office of Student and School
Performance (tentatively set fiMarch 1 of each year; refer
to specific guidelines issued by the SDE each ye&@he
invitation will announce the subject and disciplines of
materials being considered for adoption. Included in the
invitation will be written guidelines and instructions
covering the adoption process. The review of materials and
adoption vote will bdimited to the student book (basal) and
the teacher editionPublishers are also required to list on
appropriate forms all ancillary and free materials which will
accompany the basal texts. (Refer to 8301 for definitions of
textbooks, basal, teachers' edition, ancillary, and core subject
cycle.)

C. The SDE shall provide specific forms to be used for
textbook submissions. Publishers must lisach book
separately, along with copyright, price, printing edition, and
grade/subject area to be considered for adoption, even if part
of a series.

D. No substitutionsshall be allowed to the list of
textbooks once publishers submit the response to "Louisiana
Textbook (LT)" forms. Publisherg/ILL NOT be allowed to
discuss upcoming editions or pending revisions of teatts
any meetingef the State Textbook Selection Committee.

E. EACH book must be evaluated on the basis of its
current content. Final bound galley proofs may be submitted
under certain circumstances, providing that the final
hardbound copy is submitted, received and approved by the
SDE prior to the final vote of the State Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education. (Refer to specific timelines issued
by the SDE for each adoption cycle.) Unbound manuscripts
will not be accepted.

F. Publishers must guarantee that textbooks and
materials of instruction which are submitted for
consideration in the "LT Submission" form will be made
available for duration of a seven-year contract periDd.
not submit materials that cannot be guaranteed for the
duration of the contracted periodNo substitutions of texts
or prices are allowed (unless the price is lowered, per
Favored Nations clause) once the Submission Form is
received by the SDE.

G. The Invitation Circular Letter shall also include an
"Intent to Participaté form which shall be returned to the
SDE by all publishers interested in responding to the
Invitation.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361- 365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1439 (August 1999).
§313. Establish State Textbook Adoption Committee

A. All textbook adoption committees appointed by the
Superintendent of Education shall contain a membership of
not less than one-third of which are teachers, not less than
one-third of which are parents who are not public educators,
and the remainder of which are other persons. For purposes
of this section, the termeacher shall mean any person
employed by a city or parish school board, who, as a
condition of employment, is required to hold a valid
teaching certificate issued by the Department of Education
(R.S. 17:415.1).

B. Nominations for membership may be made by the
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, local
school superintendents, and representatives of the BESE
Nonpublic School Commission, as well as the State
Superintendent of Education. The Committee shall contain a
broad cross section in membership, to include parents,
nonpublic educators, special educators, district-level
curriculum supervisors, classroom teachers, and others who
have interest and or knowledge of curriculum and subject
matter under adoption.

C. Potential committee members shall be screened for
potential conflict of interest with textbook publishers.
Appointed members shall have no direct or indirect contact
with publishers nor shall members have any business
relationship, previous or planned, with any publisher.
Committee members shall receive nothing of value from
publishers or representatives in the state textbook adoption
procedures, nor shall they accept any gratuity or offer of
payment for services or attendance at publisher-sponsored
functions. Potential members shall be asked to submit
background information, including training and experience,
willingness and availability to serve, and also an affidavit
attesting that no conflict of interest with textbook publishers
exists.

D. Committee members and publishers shall be informed
in writing of appointment to the State Selection Committee
by the State Superintendent according to the time line
specified.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172;351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1440 (August 1999).
8315. Establish Criteria and Procedure for

Evaluation and Selection of Textbooks and Materials

of Instruction

A. The following SBESE-approved definition shall serve
as a framework for the review of textbooks and materials of
instruction which are offered for adoption.

1. A State-Approved Textbooks defined as a
systematically organized core of instructional materials
(which may be hardbound, softbound, electronic or other
media) designed to support the teaching and learning of a
curriculum based on the state-approved content standards
and state assessmead approved by SBESE. This definition
includes any medium or material (print or non-print), book,
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or electronic medium that constitutes the principal source of
study for teaching in specified subject areas.

B. At a minimum, the following framework shall guide
evaluation.

1. Textbooks and materials of instruction shall align
with the standards and benchmarks of the State content
standards, state-approved curriculum guides and state
assessment program.

2. Textbooks and materials of instruction should
promote an understanding of the history and values of the
people of the United States and Louisiana, including the free
enterprise system, private property, constitutional liberties,
democratic values, and traditional standards of moral values.
(R.S. 17:351).

3. Textbooks and materials of instruction should
accurately reflect the contributions and achievements of
people of differing races. (R.S. 17:351).

4. Other criteria as specified in the SDE-developed
evaluation instrument (s).

Note: The SDE shall establish an appropriate evaluation instrument(s)
which shall be used by State Textbook Adoption Committee members, and
their local subcommittees, as tools for final decision making. In addition to
the above frameworks, additional evaluation criteria shall focus on
alignment of proposed textbooks and materials with the SBESE-approved
state content standard/curriculum guides and assessment programs.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1440 (August 1999).
8317. Provide for a Publishers' Orientation

A. The SDE shall schedule an Orientation for all
interested publishers. Publishers who are interested in
submitting textbooks and materials of instruction for
consideration aregequired to have representation at the
orientation or be eliminated.

B. Publishers will receive information regarding
expectations for content of state-adopted textbooks and
materials of instruction. Procedures for submission, review
and evaluation, and contracting will be discussed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1440 (August 1999).
8319. Establish Procedures for Concerned Citizens'

Involvement in the Review Process and a
Procedure for Response by Textbook Publishers

A. A minimum of eight public sites shall be established
for display and review of all basal textbooks presented for
consideration. Sites shall include, at a minimum, New
Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Monroe, Alexandria,
Lake Charles, Lafayette, and Houma.

B. The SDE shall establish, in accordance with R.S.
17:415.1, a procedure which allows interested persons who
are legal residents of Louisiana to inspect and review the
books offered for adoption at the public review sites. Said
procedure shall allow for written comments by citizens and
written responses by publishers, and if requested, oral
presentations by citizens and publishers.

C. Interested citizenswho choose to make oral
objections before theState Textbook Adoption Committee



shall be allotted a maximum of 10 minutes. Oral objections
by citizens shall be limited to those objections which have
been previously filed in writing with the Department of
Education following review at the public display sites. Upon
request, citizens may also request to state oral objections
before theTextbook, Media and Library Advisory Counof
SBESE who will report findings to the Student Standards
and Assessment Committee of SBESE. Comments shall be
limited to 10 minutes and include only those previously filed
in writing with the Department of Education.

D. Publishersshall provide a written response and shall
have an option (maximum of 10 minutes) to present a
response before the State Textbook Selection Committee and
the Textbook, Media and Library Advisory Council of
SBESE.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1440 (August 1999).
§321. Role and Responsibilities of the State

Textbook Adoption Committee

A. Committee members shall receive nothing of value
from potential bidders for state textbook adoption at any
time during the adoption process, nor shall they accept any
gratuity or offer of payment for services or attendance at
publisher-sponsored functions. Potential members shall be
asked to submit background information, including training
and experience, willingness and availability to serve, and
also an affidavit attesting that no conflict of interest with
textbook publishers exists.

1. Members shall be informed in writing that they
shall have no contact with publishersonce formal
appointment to the State Adoption Committee is received.
Publishers shall not attempt to influence the deliberations or
vote of a Committee member, either directly or through third
parties. Violations of this requirement may result in
immediate disqualification of the publisher and committee
member.

2. State Committee members shall be provided
orientation and training by the Department of Education on
purposes of the adoption, criteria for evaluation, use of the
evaluation instrument(s), and procedures to be followed if
local subcommittees are used to assist in the review process.
Staff members of the Department of Education shall serve as
consultants on curricular content and adoption procedures
during all meetings of the Committee.

3. Committee members areequired to be in
attendance and participate in all scheduledtivities of the
Committee. Members must be in attendance at all scheduled
meetings of the Committee in order to cast a vote for
textbooks under consideration. The committee chair shall
verify the attendance of the members.

4. State Committee members shall evaluate all titles
submitted for adoption using the state-approved evaluation
instrument(s). One evaluation form shall be completed by
each State Committee member on each title reviewed.
Evaluation forms are designed to assist the State Committee
member in formulating a final decision and vote. Forms
shall in no way be considered as binding upon the final vote
of the committee member. In accordance with public records
law, evaluation forms used for decision making will be
collected by the SDE.
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a. Part of the evaluation allows each State
Committee member to formulate and prioritizelevant
guestiongo be addressed by publishers on each book. Said
guestions shall be forwarded to the SDE by each Committee
member by a date to be specified by the SDE.

b. The Committee may elect to move titles of
textbooks from one subject area to another if it is felt that the
book was placed inappropriately in a subject area by the
publisher.

B. Each State Committee member may select, with
assistance of the local textbook supervisor, a local five-
member subcommittee. The department encourages that
local subcommittees be made up of a broad cross section in
membership, and may include parents, nonpublic educators,
special educators, district-level curriculum supervisors,
classroom teachers, and others who have interest and or
knowledge of curriculum and subject matter under adoption
to assist in the evaluation process.

1. Each subcommittee should evaluate textbook
materials using procedures and instruments that parallel
those specified by the Department of Education for the State
Committee. The evaluation instrument(s) include an area for
written questions to be addressed by publishers on specific
textbooks which may then be submitted to the State
Committee member for consideration.

2. Evaluation forms  completed by local
subcommittees are to assist the State Committee member.
Only those forms used by the State Committee member for
decision making will be collected by the SDE.

C. The final vote on each textbook under consideration
shall be through a voice roll-call vote which shall be duly
recorded by the SDE. The State Committee member shall
have discretion and final authority in the vote on each
textbook under consideration for adoption.

1. Each book must receive &vorable majority
(defined as one vote over half of appointed committee
members in attendance) of votes of the State Textbook
Selection Committee in order to be placed on the state
adopted list.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1441 (August 1999).
§325. Adopting Authority

A. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (SBESE) is the official adopting authority in the
state of Louisiana. SBESE will receive the report from the
Textbook, Media, and Library Advisory Council regarding
public comments on textbooks proposed for adoption.

B. Oral objections shall be limited to those which have
been previously filed in writing with the Department of
Education following review at the public display sites.
Persons choosing to make oral objections shall be allotted a
maximum of 10 minutes to address the full Board.

C. Publishers shall be allowed to provide a written
response and or allotted a maximum of 10 minutes to present
relevant information before the full Board.

D. The Textbook, Media, and Library Advisory Council
shall be composed of members appointed by the State Board
of Elementary and Secondary Education. The Council's
function is to review relevant legislation, proposed SBESE
policy, hear public comments regarding textbooks and
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materials of instruction proposed for state adoption and
report findings to the Student Standards and Assessment
Committee.

E. The Student Standards and Assessment Committee is
made up of members of the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education. The Committee may hear public
comments which have been scheduled as a result of written
comments received during the public review period. The
Committee will in turn make recommendations to the full
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1441 (August 1999).
Chapter 5. Local School System Responsibilities
§501. Local Planning

A. Local school systems shall develop a plan for
providing adequate and appropriate instructional materials
for students. Such plans shall include formal adoptions and
appropriate procedures, as well as plans for implementation
of policies included in Section I, CDistricts must submit
plans to SDE by June 30 of each year.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1442 (August 1999).
8503. Formal Adoption (see also, Bulletin 741,

1.070.03)

A. School systems shall make a formal adoption of
textbooks according to the state adoption cycle within 3
months from the date of formal approval by the State Board
of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE).

Note: Will require a change in Bulletin 741.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1442 (August 1999).
8505. Local Implementation

A. Adequate and Appropriate Instructional Materials

1. Textbooks and materials of instruction for all
curriculum areas at the local level shall be supported with
adequate and appropriate instructional materials, equipment,
and available community resources that support the stated
philosophy and purposes of the school system (see also,
Bulletin 741, 1.070.00).

a. School systems shall make a formal adoption of
textbooks within 3 monthsfrom the date of state-level
approval by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education (BESE). Local school systems shall provide
students with access to current textbooks that conform to
minimum standards of quality.

2. Textbooks for Core Curriculum Areas

a. School systems shall implement the latest
textbook adoption for core subject areas of
English/Language Arts, Science, Social Studies, and

Mathematics within a three-year period, in accordance with
locally determined levels of access to be provided to
students (i.e. classroom sets, personal copy, other specified
arrangement).
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b. Currency. A school system shall implement the
latest textbook adoption for core subject areas within a three-
year period. Waivers of this policy shall be approved by
BESE only upon extenuating circumstances as documented
in the local Plan of Implementation to be submitted by June
30 of each year to the Department of Education.

c. Quality. A school system shall annually provide
students with textbooks and materials of instruction that are
useable and functional. Upon initial adoption textbooks and
materials must conform to the Minimum Manufacturing
Standards and Specifications for Textbooks as developed by
the National Association of State Textbook Administrators
(NASTA) in consultation with the American Publishers and
Book Manufacturers' Institute.

d. Access. A school system shall, based on input
from local teachers, principals, administrators, and others,
determine how access to textbooksore subject areawiill
be made available to students. School systems must ensure
that each child within the classroom will have equal access
to any available instructional materials. School systems shall
alsoinform each parent/guardian in writingt the beginning
of each school year of the method of access to textbooks
which has been selected for each course or grade level. A
contact person and phone number should be provided.

i. Options for providing textbook access for
students may include:

(a). textbooks provided for each student;
(b). textbooks provided via a classroom set;
(c). textbooks provided as both a classroom set and

take home copy for each student; or

(d). other specified arrangement as
appropriate to the subject area by local officials.

3. Textbooks for Areas Other than Core Curriculum

a. Local school systems shall fully implement
adoption in subjecareas other than coras soon as funds
will permit or as programmatic needs dictate. School
systems must ensure that each child within the classroom
will have equal access to any available instructional
materials for non-core subject areas.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1442 (August 1999).
8507. Local Adoption Procedures

A. Purpose

1. To assure local public school systems have a
defined procedure for textbook adoption.

2. To provide an opportunity for appropriate input in
textbook selection.

3. To ensure curriculum content that reflects current
national, state, and local standards of instruction.

B. Each local school system will hold a formal textbook
adoption. The local textbook adoption process shall focus on
those textbooks selected at the state levdTER state
committee textbook recommendations are approved by the
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, withirty
dayslocal school systems will be provided the list of state
approved textbooks. Additional information regarding cost
items included with the basal text, as well as all items to be
given at no cost to local school systems, shall also be made
available.
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C. Local Adoption Procedures

1. An Established Time Line

a. Local school systemsmust hold textbook
adoption each year following BESE approval of newly
adopted texts. Districts are encouraged to hold local
adoptions betweerNovember and the end of March
Participation in the State Textbook Caravan is optional but
may be used as a part of the local adoption procedures (see
8507 D).

b. The SDE must be notified as to the locally
adopted textbooks and the school system's Plan for
Implementation byJune 30in the school year of the
adoption.

2. Properly Constituted and Trained Local Adoption
Committee

a.i. All textbook adoption committees shall contain a
membership of not less than one-third of which are teachers,
not less than one-third of which are parents who are not
public educators, and the remainder of which are other
persons. For purposes of this section, the tezachershall
mean any person employed by a city or parish school board,
who, as a condition of employment, is required to hold a
valid teaching certificate issued by the Department of
Education (R.S. 17:415.1).

ii. Diverse membership is encouraged to include
parents, nonpublic educators, special educators, district-level
curriculum supervisors, classroom teachers, and others who
have interest and or knowledge of curriculum and subject
matter under adoption.

b. Local adoption committee members are to
receive special training in textbook selection criteria (i.e.,
knowledge of subject area content standards and
assessments), voting procedure and integrity of interaction
with publishers.

D. Participation in State Textbook Caravan

1. School systems are encouraged to participate in the
State Textbook Caravan as scheduled by the SDE. The State
Textbook Caravan affords all school systems an equal
opportunity to preview all state adopted textbooks and
ancillary materials with onsite availability of publishers to
answer questions.

2. All school systems, public, private and parochial,
are eligible to participate in the State Textbook Caravan.

E. Provision for Publishers' Contact with Local School
District; Optional Requests for Local Presentations

1. Local school systems are strongly encouraged to
establish a formal policyegarding the method, time line,
and procedure for publishers seeking to have contact with
personnel at central offices and local school sites. Such
policies may also address the provision of written materials
to school and central office personnel as well as attendance
of school and central office personnel at functions sponsored
by publishers. Local school systems are further encouraged
to inform publisherof local policy.

2. Local school systems may use the State Textbook
Caravan as the single opportunity for publishers'
presentations within the parish OR as a vehicle for
identifying those publishers to be called for a local
presentation.

3. At the district's request, onadditional presentation
by a publisher will be permitted at the local level for
clarification of information on textbooks under consideration
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for adoption. However, such follow up presentatimay not
occurprior to conclusion of the State Textbook Caravan.

F. Sampling of Textbooks by Publishers; Violation will
disqualify publisher.

1. Publishers are to furnish examination copety at
the written requestof the local school system textbook
adoption coordinator after state committee review.

2. Samples are to Hamited to sufficient quantities for
the designated local adoption committee members only, as
determined by the local system textbook adoption
coordinator.

3. Other persons choosing to examine samjphesst
use samples provided by the SDE at predesignated sites for
public review.

4. No other examination copies will be permitted.

5. Publishers must notify local school systems, in
writing, of the need to have samples returned. If notified by
publishers, all samples received by local school systems
must be picked up by the publisher withiinirty daysafter
the local adoption.

6. Publishers must make all necessary arrangements
for sample returns at publisher's expense.

G. Local Selection of Textbooks

1. An evaluation instrument must be used by local
school districts. Alignment with state adopted content
standards and state and local curriculum objectives, where
applicable shall be a primary consideration in the evaluation
process. Local school districts may model state developed
procedures and evaluation instruments.

2. An official summary report of local evaluation
results is to be kept on file for a minimum of three years.

H. Notifying State of Local Textbook Selections

1. Local school districts shall notify the SDE of all
textbooks selected by discipline and course via the local Plan
of Implementation. Said notification must be made June
30in the school year of the state adoption (Refer to Records
and Reporting Requirements).

I.  Notifying Schools of Locally Selected Textbooks

1. Each school shall be provided a list of all
components of the locally adopted basal textbook in each
subject area, including those items which may be purchased
with textbook funds, and those items to be supplied by the
publishers at no cost.

2. Local school systems may share with each school a
list of the strengths and weakness of all textbooks selected.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1442 (August 1999).
§509. Ordering

A. Alllocal systems must establish the amount of monies
to be used for textbooks, library books, and school supplies
from their MFP allocation. This breakdown shall be
forwarded to the Office of Student and School Performance
with its Plan of Implementationfor the purchase of
textbooks each year. The Plan of Implementation shall be
submitted byJune 30of each year.

B. Once the LEA determines the need of the schools
based on the adoption schedule, orders may be placed with
the SDE-designated textbook depository or directly with
publishers.
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C. When placing orders with the depository, the
following schedule is suggested for ordering:

1. March 15 - May 15. Initial Ordering (*suggested
time for ordering textbooks to be placed in schools for the
first time in the coming school year).

2. May 15 - October 15. Second Ordering (*suggested
time for revising initial order, ordering replacement or
additional copies of texts already in use in the schools).

3. School systems may place orders in advance of the
starting dates of each cycle.

D. All orders placed with the depository shall be
delivered within 90 days of the end of each ordering cycle
unless a later delivery date is requested by the LEA.
Publishers and or the state textbook depository may be fined
1 percent of all outstanding balances on orders not delivered
within ninety (90) days of the end of each ordering cycle, or
within thirty (30) days for orders not placed during the
ordering period, based upon complaints of local school
districts and follow up review by the SDE. See §1901 of
Appendix F.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1443 (August 1999).
8511. Direct Order of Textbooks

A. Effective January 1, 1998, HB 1057 of the 1997
Regular Session provides that aggverning authorityof a
public elementary or secondary school may order and
receive state adopted textbooks directly from a textbook
publisher. Textbooks purchased directly from the publisher
must be the same price or lower than can be purchased from
any other source.

B. Publishers may be fined 1 percent of all outstanding
balances on orders not delivered within ninety (90) days of
the end of each ordering cycle, based upon complaints of
local school districts and follow up review by the SDE. (See
§519 and §1901 of Appendix F.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1444 (August 1999).
8513. Waivers

A. Purchasing Books not on the Approved State List

1. Alocal school system or school may uge to but
not to exceed 10 percent of its textbook allotmfemtthe
purchase of non-state adopted textbooks and materials of
instruction. Approval by the State Board of Elementary and
Secondary Education is not required.

B. Special Waiver to Exceed 10 percent of Textbook
Allotment on Non-adopted State Textbooks and Materials of
Instruction

1. Alocal school system, with the approval of its local
school board or chartering authority, and may petition in
writing the State Department of Education for permission to
spendin excess of the 10 perceallowance for non-adopted
state textbooks. The Office of Student and School
Performance will present the petition to BESE for action and
notify systems of the results.

2. Requests shall be accepted fravtarch through
May 31.Textbook orders may not be processed until waivers
have been approved. The last month for BESE action on
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such waivers shall be June. Any extenuating circumstances
shall be handled on an individual basis.

C. Purchase of Instructional Materials for Grades K-3

1. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education, at its meeting of June 22, 1989, exercised those
powers conferred by the emergency provision of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953 B, and adopted
the following guidelines to allow state textbook funds to be
used to purchase instructional materials for Grade K-3 as
recommended by the Department of Education.

a. For classes K-3, the school superintendents are
authorized to use textbook funds to purchase textbooks and
other materials that can be used to support the instruction in
these four elementary grades (K-3).

b. The major emphasis in selecting instructional
materials for K-3 should be on manipulative and concrete
materials such as blocks, dramatic/housekeeping toys,
manipulative (puzzles, legos, etc.), gross motor materials
(jump ropes, balls, etc.) and other manipulative materials.

c. The characteristics and needs of the child in
grades K-3 should be considered when selecting appropriate
materials.

D. Special Purchase for Gifted Programs

1. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education may authorize the Louisiana School of Math,
Science and the Artand other parish or city school boards
with programs forgifted studentsto select and purchase
textbooksnot included on the lists adoptdoly the Board
pursuant to the provisions of this Section, provided that such
authorization shall be on an ad hoc basis and shall be subject
to prior approval by the Board Such purchases may be
made using funds appropriated by the Legislature for the
purchase of textbooks as provided for herein.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1444 (August 1999).
§515. Records and Reporting Requirements (see also,

Bulletin 741, 1.026.12-13; 3.026.12)

A. School systems shall maintain an inventory system
for use in submitting records and reports, as required by the
Department of Education, and include all textbooks on hand
at the beginning of the session, as well as records of those
added, worn out and in need of replacement.

1. Local Plan of Implementation

a. Local school systems shall submit an anriRlah
of Implementatiorfor textbook adoption to the SDE by June
30 of each year. Such plans shall document local
implementation of adequate and appropriate instructional
materials. Specific forms for this purpose will be provided
by the SDE. In addition, an ongoing textbook inventory
system should be used to maintain records for a minimum of
three years.

b. The SDE must be notified of all textbook titles
selected by discipline/course. This plan must address the
number of books to be ordered by subject, course, and grade
level. The school system shalhdicate which of the
following optionswill be applicable to the latest subject
adoption:

i. textbooks will be provided for each student;
ii. textbooks will be provided via a classroom set;



iii. textbooks will be provided as both a classroom
set and take home copy for each student;
iv. other specified arrangement as
appropriate to the subject area by local officials.
2. Textbooks Used By Blind and Visually Impaired
Students
a. School systems in need of books and materials
for use by blind and visually impaired students should begin
by contacting the school district's special education
supervisor to ensure the student has an approved
Individualized Educational Plan (IEP) that states the need
for braille or large print materials. The Local Textbook
Implementation Plan submitted to the State Textbook
Administrator each year should include a statement of need
and a plan for securing textbooks for students who are blind
or visually impaired. This plan should include the following:
i. procedures for requesting/ordering from
Louisiana Learning Resource System (LLRS);
ii. procedures for securing textbooks not available
from LLRS;
iii. number of students included on the census of
students with visual impairments compiled by LLRS school
code;
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iv. number of students reported visually impaired
and or blind to the Student Information System (SIS) at each
school code.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1444 (August 1999).
8§517. Textbooks for Home Study Program

A. The following procedures shall be used for ordering
of textbooks to be used in approved home study programs.
Parents and or guardiansustproceed through the following
steps in order to access textbooks for students in home
study:

1. submit application to SDE and obtain approval for
participation in the Home Study Program;

2. present copy of approved Home Study Application
form to the local Textbook Supervisor or designee at local
school board office;

3. select the textbooks and/or materials needed from
the listing provided by the textbook personnel at each local
school board office (only materials approved by SBESE and
adopted by local school districts are providedhen
available);

4. provide a deposit equal to fifty percent (50 percent)
of the replacement cost. Such deposit will be returned when
the books are returned. If books are not returned or paid for,
the parent or legal guardian shall not be eligible to continue
participation in the textbooks rental program until all
textbooks debts are cleared.

Note: Only one grade level set of texts per child per subject is available
at any single time.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13 (A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236-236.1;
351-353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1445 (August 1999).
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8519. Report on Status of Local Ordering-Late
Delivery by Publishers

A. LEAs shall inform the SDE of any publisher who fails
to provide textbooks within ninety(90) days of the end of
each ordering cycle, or within thirty (30) days for orders not
placed during the ordering period. Such notice shall be on
forms prescribed by the SDE. (See §1901 of Appendix F).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1445 (August 1999).
8521. Sale of Textbooks No Longer in Use

A. LEAs shall request permission of the SDE to dispose,
sell, or donate out-of-date or unusable or unsalable
textbooks Limitation: Textbooks no longer in use may not be
sold to anyone whose intent is to resell them.

B. In order to obtain the greatest utility from out-of-use
textbooks and to assist local school districts and schools, the
following options are available to local school districts.

1. If atextbook or library book has beet of use for
over a yeara parish or city school board may, with the
approval of the [State] board, donasaid book to any public
hospital, any jail or prison, or any public institution, or to
any individual for private use free of charge.

a. Any textbook or library book which a parish or
city school board is unable to sell or donate after being out
of usein excess of eighteen monthsr any textbook or
library book which is deemed by said board to be unusable
or unsalable, shall baisposedf in an appropriate manner.

b. A parish or city school board, with the prior
approval of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education, may by the debinding and shredding method,
dispose of any textbook or library book that has not been
sold or donated and has been out of use parish wide in
excess of eighteen months. If the debinding and shredding
method is chosen the following procedures are to be
followed:

i. submit request(s) to the SDE between March -
June 30 of each year;

i. upon submission of request, local school
districts shall notify all SBESE and Brumfield-Dodd
approved non-public schools within their district of the
availability of these textbooks by disciplines, giving them
three weekso express their interest in securing any of these
textbooks;

iii. the local school district may select a vendor
and enter into a contract for the debinding and shredding of
those books no longer in use;

iv. the local school
appropriate records fdhree years;

v. the local school district shall derive all funds
from the debinding. Funds derived from such sale shall be
used by the parish or city school boaalelyfor textbook or
library book purchases.

c. The reproduction of any textbook or library book
no longer in use by a parish or city school system and the
use of multiple copies of such books by organized groups or
by an educational agency or entity is prohibited, per R.S.
17:8.1.

district shall maintain
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIIl, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1445 (August 1999).
8§523. Reasonable and Proper Care for and Control

over Textbooks and Other Materials of
Instruction

Note: This policy shall also be applicable to instructional materials,
supplies, and equipment (see also Bulletin 741).

A. HB 2175, of the 1997 Regular Session, authorizes
local school systems to establish methods by which
responsibility for reasonable and proper care for and control
over textbooks and other materials of instruction is ensured.
The SDE recommends that Student Handbooks, issued to
students at the beginning of each school year, include a
policy statement that stipulates responsibility for proper use
and control over textbooks and other materials of instruction
that are on loan to the student during the school year.
Signature lines should be included for both student and
parent/legal guardian acknowledgment of responsibility. In
addition, a contact name and phone number should be
provided. Payment plans for restitution by parents/guardians
may be specified.

B. Each school system, as part of their responsibility to
ensure proper care and control of textbooks, shall adopt
procedures which hold students and parents/guardians
responsible for exercising reasonable and proper care of
textbooks and materials of instruction.

C. Such procedures may provide that parents and/or
legal guardians may be required to compensate the school
district for lost, destroyed, or unnecessarily damaged books
and materials, and for any books which are not returned to
the proper schools at the end of each school year or upon
withdrawal of their dependent child. Under no circumstances
may a student of school age be held financially responsible
for fees associated with textbook replacement.

D. Compensation by parents or guardians may be in the
form of monetary fees or community/school service
activities, as determined by the school governing authority.
In the case of monetary fees, fines shall be limited to no
more than the replacement cost of the textbook or material,
but may, at the discretion of the governing authority, be
adjusted according to the physical condition of the lost or
destroyed textbook. A school system may waive or reduce
the payment required if the student is from a family of low
income and may provide for a method of payment other than
lump-sum payment.

E. In lieu of monetary payments, both school systems
and parents/guardians may elect to have students perform
school/community service activities, provided that such are
arranged so as not to conflict with school instructional time,
are properly supervised by school staff, and are suitable to
the age of the child.

F. School systems may withhold the grades of a student
if a parent or guardian fails to adequately compensate the
school or school system for lost, destroyed, or unnecessarily
damaged books  (through monetary  fees  or
community/school service activities).

G. However, under NO circumstances may a school or
school district refuse the parent/guardian the right to inspect
relevant grades or records pertaining to the child NOR may
the school or school district refuse to promptly transfer the
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records of any child withdrawing or transferring from the
school, per requirements of the Federal Family Educational
Rights and Privacy Act. Transfer of records shall not exceed
45 days from the date of request.

H. Under NO circumstances may a school or school
district deny a student promotional opportunities, as a result
of failure to compensate the school district for lost or
damaged textbooks. Students shall not be denied continual
enrollment each grading period nor re-entry in succeeding
school years as a result of lost or damaged books.

I.  Students shall not be denied the use of a textbook
during school hours each day. Each school system shall
annually inform parents and/or legal guardians of the locally
adopted procedures pursuant to state law and regulation,
regarding reasonable and proper control of textbooks (See
also Bulletin 741, School Administrators Handboofor
policy regarding this legislation).

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1446 (August 1999).
8525. Ongoing Inventory System

A. School are required to develop and maintain an
ongoing textbook inventory system. Records should be kept
on file a minimum of three years. Data elements should
include those requested for the district's Plan of
Implementation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1446 (August 1999).
Chapter 7. Publishers' Responsibilities
8§701. Requirements for Publishers' Participation in

State Textbook Adoption

A. Publishers arerequired to follow the procedures
below in order to be eligible to participate in any state
textbook adoption process. Publishemsust provide the
required information to the Department of Education by the
specified time each year in order for a bid to be accepted for
consideration.

B. An Intent to Participateform shall be mailed during
each adoption year to publishers whose names and addresses
are on file in the Department of Education.

C. Publishers are required to file an Intent to Participate
form with the SDE by the assigned date in March each year
in order to receive a full textbook submission packet.

D. Publishers are required to provide proof of
registration with the Louisiana Secretary of State's Office in
order for contracts to be legally negotiated. It is the
responsibility of the publisheto ensure that proper forms
are completed and that the company is registered according
to state laws and regulations.

E. Publishers are encouraged to submit such
documentation along with the return of the Intent to
Participate form. However, publishers may submit the
verification at a later date, but no later than October 1 of
each year. Under no circumstances will a contract be
negotiated with a publisher without such documentation.

F. Publishers are required to provide the name, address,
telephone, fax number, and electronic mail address, if
applicable, of one local representative and one corporate



representative  of the company. The designated
representatives should be those officials who are authorized
to speak on behalf of the company within the State of
Louisiana, and at the corporate level, are authorized to enter
into contract agreements with the Department of
Education/BESE. Such information shall babmitted with
the Notice of Intent to Participate forto be submitted each
year by interested publishers.

G. Publishers are required provide written notification
to the Office of Student and School Performance of changes

in agents or representatives, addresses or phone numbers. No

more than two (2) names and addresses may be designated
to receive information at any one time for any one person,
firm, corporation or organization.

H. Publishers who are interested in submitting textbooks
and materials of instruction for consideration azquired to
have representation at the Orientationp be scheduled
annually by the SDE. Failure to have representation will
result in disqualification of the publisher.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1446 (August 1999).
8§703. Publishers' Formal State Textbook and

Materials of Instruction Submission

A. Publishers shall submit a formal response on state
developed forms.

1. State Submission Forms for
Materials of Instruction

a. Publishers must submit thetent to Participate
Form by the prescribed deadline each year in order to
receive the Invitation Circular Letter and accompanying
state textbook submission packet.

b. All state forms must be fully and accurately
completed. Publishers' submission forms must clearly state
each book or series of books the publishing company intends
to offer in the appropriate subject area and grade level.

c. All submissions must be received in the Office of
Student and School Performance, Department of Education
building, by4:30 p.m. on the date specified each y&drere
will be no exceptions.

d. Failure to complete all required information on
the submission form may result in disqualification of the
publisher.

e. Publishers are required to submit detailed
manufacturing standardsn each book listed on the state
submission forms. Manufacturing standards must be
submittedalong with the submission forms.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1447 (August 1999).
§705. Natification of Required Hardware, Software,

Special Equipment Needed by State Textbook
Adoption Committee Members to Review
Textbooks and Materials Submitted by
Publishers

A. Publishers are required to submit in writing to the
SDE by the designated time each year, a detailed list of
hardware, software, and any special equipmesiich may

Textbooks and
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be needed by State Textbook Adoption Committee members
for review of textbooks and materials of instruction.

B. Publisherswill be responsible for costs associated
with rental of needed equipment by State Committee
members, if other means are not available to the member.
Publishers will be billed by the SDE for rental of such
equipment.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1447 (August 1999).
8§707. Submission of Correlations to State-Approved

Content Standards/Curriculum Guides

A. Publishers are required to submit in writing detailed
correlations to State Content Standards/Curriculum Guides
for subject/content areas under adoption by the specified
time each year.

B. Specific requirements shall be issued by the SDE
regarding the format and methods to be used in preparing
and reporting of correlations.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1447 (August 1999).
8§709. Textbook Samples for Review by State Textbook

Adoption Committee Members and State
Citizens

A. Publishers aregequiredto place a fixed label on the
outside of each booto be mailed to Committee members or
to Public Review sites. Each label shall clearly identify the
following, in this order:

1. traditional; non traditional; thematic;
2. subject area which corresponds to the state bid
form;
applicable grade level;
title;
teacher or student edition;
publisher; and
. copyright date.
B. Achecklist of titles should be enclosed with each box.
1. The checklist should include the following, in this
order:
a. book title;
b. corresponding state bid subject area;
c. applicable grade level;
d
e
f.

Nookow

teacher or student edition;
publisher; and
copyright date.

2. In addition, a list ofall textbookssubmitted for
state adoption is required in order to determine whether total
shipments from the publisher have arrived.

C. Publishersshall not provide any item of valug no
matter how insignificant, to State Committee members (i.e..
NO mugs, book bags, pens, or other token of appreciation)
when samples are distributedo brochures or marketing
information shall be included with shipments

D. Publishers shall send appropriately labeled samples of
all basal and teachers' editions listed on submission forms to
location(s) designated by the Department of Education.

E. Publishers should obtain a returned signed receipt as
verification thatall titles submitted for state review have
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been received at designated location(s). Publishers shall be
responsible for ensuring that books are received at
designated location(s) for subsequent review by State
Textbook Adoption Committee members. A summary check
list that corresponds with materials submitted for review is
required in addition to individual packing lists.

F. If samples arenot receivedby the SDE-specified
deadline, or are not of sufficient quantity for distribution, the
bookshall be disqualifiedrom the adoption process.

G. The publisher will have the responsibility of making
arrangements to have materials picked up from the
Committee members at the conclusion of the voting process.
If the publisher fails to make the necessary arrangements
within 30 days after the adoption, the materials will become
the property of the Committee members.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1447 (August 1999).
§711. Submission of Galley Proofs

A. Galley proofs may be submitted to designated
location(s) as samples for review by State Committee
membersprovided that the finished books will be available
by the date specified by the SDE each year.

B. A galley proofshall be defined as thénal bound
manuscript set in type with all corrections made and the
elements of the pages arranged in their final form [i.e., only
book binding required for completion].

C. In the case of galley submissions, publisherast
also submit detailed manufacturing standards which will be
used when the final book is published.

D. Publishers shall pick up galleys from the designated
public review sites and replace them with finished books
prior to the State Caravan.

E. Any new or updated editions of the originally adopted
book must be provided to the state of Louisiana at the same
price and terms as stipulated in the bid form and state
contract. Updateeditions or additions to complete a series
previously adopted must be submitted to the SDE for review
and recommendation to BESE by the specified time each

ear.
Y AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1448 (August 1999).
§713. Samples for Public Review

A. Publishers are required to supply an adequate
quantity of textbooks/materials of instruction for placement
at the public review sites.

B. The SDE shall arrange sites for public display of
proposed textbooks and shall provide a written form for
public comment. Copies of basal textbooks being considered
for adoption shall be placed in cooperating public libraries in
those cities named in La. R.S. 17:415.1: New Orleans, Baton
Rouge, Shreveport, Monroe, Alexandria, Lake Charles,
Lafayette and Houma, with the addition of Natchitoches.
Public libraries must be contacted initially for use of their
facilities for public display, and if they are unable to
accommodate the display, the State Department of Education
may select an alternate site.
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C. Publishers shall pick up galleys from the designated
regional library/ public review sites and replace them with
finished books prior to the State Caravan.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1448 (August 1999).
§715. Role of the Publisher During State Committee

Review

A. The SDE shall inform all publishers submitting an
Intent to Participate form of the names of appointed State
Committee members. Publishers shall have personal
contactwith the State Committee members once names of
Committee members are released by the SD& until such
time as the state adoption process has been completed.

B. Personal contact shall be defined as any one-on-one,
written, or third parties contact, other than the presentation
of materials or provision of SDE requested materials at
state-requested or conducted textbook adoption proceedings.

C. Publishers shall not attempt to influence the
deliberations or vote of a Committee member, either directly
or through third partiesViolations of this requirement will
result in immediate disqualification of the publisher.

D. Publishers shall provide nothing of value to any
committee member at any time during, or after the adoption
process.

E. Publishers shall be required to file written affidavits
regarding any contact with State Textbook Adoption
Committee members AND with State Board of Elementary
and Secondary Education members.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1448 (August 1999).
8717. Written Questions and Responses to Questions

Regarding Textbooks Under Consideration

A. Each State Textbook Adoption Committee member
may formulate and prioritize relevant questions to be
addressed by publishers on each book under consideration
for adoption. Questions shall be forwarded to the SDE by
each Committee member on forms prescribed for such
purpose by a date to be determined by the SDE.

B. Questionsmay address the physical characteristics
and layout, factual content of the book, relationship to state
content standards and assessment, organization, presentation
and sequencing of content, and any other area specified for
evaluation on the state evaluation form. Questiovay not
addressitems contained on the Ancillary Materials Bid
Form, Free Materials Bid Form, including in-service
offerings. Questions will be forwarded to publishers.

C. Written responses shall be developed by publishers
according to SDE instruction. Failure to respond according
to the specified time line will disqualify the book for
consideration of adoption.

D. Responseshy publishers may not addressitems
contained on the Ancillary Materials Bid Form, Free
Materials Bid Form, including in-service offerings.

E. Sufficient copies of thewritten responseshall be
forwarded to the SDE by respective publishers according to
the specified time each year. The SDE shall be responsible



for forwarding copies of the written responses to State
Committee members.

F. All meetings of the textbook adoption committees
shall be open to the publicThe SDE shall post official
public notice of all meetings of the State Textbook Adoption
Committee.

G. Each publisher shall be invited to a question/answer
session during which time State Committee members may
seek further clarification to written responses provided by
publishers or pose additional questions for publishers'
response. Publishers shall be allowed to discuss how their
basal and teacher's editions align with the state content
standards and assessment progrdatublishers may not
address ancillary or free materials proposed for addition
after SBESE approval of basal.

H. Publishers shall be allocated a maximum time period
for the question/answer session, as specified by the SDE.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172;236; 351-353;
361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1448 (August 1999).
§719. Publisher Conduct During the State Caravan

A. Publishersshall not provide any item of value, no
matter how insignificant to State committee members (i.e.,
NO mugs, book bags, pens, or other tokens of appreciation)
when samples are distributetlo brochures or marketing
information shall be included with shipments.

B. Publishers shall NOT solicit names or make requests
related to samples.

C. No sample books are to be removed from the
Caravan.

D. Publisher fees will be collected to cover costs of
refreshments at each location.

E. Folders of product information may be offered.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1449 (August 1999).
§721. Obligations to Provide Textbooks and

Materials of Instruction within Prescribed Time
Periods

A. Publishers must ensure that textbooks are delivered to
local school systems within 90 days of the end of the
appropriate ordering cycle as specified. The SDE may
authorize fines on textbook publishers who fail to deliver
ordered materials within the 90 day time line. Said fine shall
equal 1 percent of the outstanding balance for any order that
has not been received by the local school system within 90
days after the closing date of the appropriate ordering cycle.

1. State Contract for Adopted Textbooks and
Materials of Instruction
a. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary
Education, at its meeting of June 28, 1990, exercised those
powers conferred by the emergency provisions of the
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Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953B, and approved
the following amendments to textbook adoption procedures
effective June 28, 1990:

In the 1990-91 adoption and all other adoptions thereatfter,
all titles approved through the state textbook adoption
process will carry a definite contract not to exceed seven
years.

b. The state textbook adoption shall be limited to
Basal Textbooks and Teacher's Edition only. Ancillary
materials will carry a fixed cost for the life of the contract.
Free materials, included in the formal submission by
publishers, must clearly indicate period of availability, if
other than the seven-year contractual period.

c. Publishers with materials under contract with the
State of Louisiana may add materials during the specified
time each year. Thaddition can be only textbooks that
complete an adopted series, ancillary materials that
accompany an adopted basal program, or a new copyright
edition of an adopted textbook. If a new copyright edition is
requested for addition inustbe priced as the same cost of
the copyright edition under contract. At any time during the
life of this contract, if the publisher should charge less to
others for materials under contract, publisher agrees to
reduce the price to the State of Louisiana.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1449 (August 1999).
§723. Braille Accessibility (R.S. 17:1985; SCR 15 of

1997; SCR 149 of 1997)

A. SCR15, of the 1997 Regular Session, requires the
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education
(SBESE) to coordinate a statewide system of providing
braille books to visually impaired students by tracking
braille books already available and supplying funds for those
needed. In addition, SCR 149, of the 1997 Regular Session,
provides foraccess and use of technolodpy blind and
visually impaired students.

B. Publishers shall furnish, within 90 days of state
adoption, to the American Printing House for the Blind
computer diskettes for state-adopted literary subjects in an
electronic text file from which braille or large print versions
can be produced. Files will be used by blind or visually
impaired students in Louisiana. Electronic text files for
nonliterary subjects, including natural science, computer
science, mathematics, and music must be provided when
braille specialty code translation software is available.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1449 (August 1999).
Chapter 9. Appendix A

Note: Forms contained in the Appendix are subject to
revision by SDE.
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§901.

Adoption Cycle

Louisiana State Textbook Adoption Cycle:

Core Subject Areas Are Adopted Every Seven Years.

1998-99 1999-2000 2000-2001 2001-2002 2002-2003 2003-2004 2004-2005
Social Language Language Vocational Science K-12 Foreign Math K-12
Studies K-12 | Arts K-8 Arts 9-12 Agricultural Language

Grades 6-12 | Reading K-8 | Business Health and Handwriting Computer
Literature Education Physical Music/Fine Science
Education Arts
Computer Home Computer
Literacy Economics Literacy
Health
Occupations

NOTE: Separate categories for special education are no longer adopted.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

Louisiana Register Vol. 25, No. 8 August 20, 1999

1450

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1450 (August 1999).

the

Board

of



Chapter 11.  Appendix B 81101. Publisher Affidavit

State of Louisiana
Department of Education
State Textbook Adoption

LOCAL ADOPTION SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBER S AFFIDAVIT
I, (printed name), do hereby certify the following:
A) No representative from any publisher or affiliated company will influence my vote, either directly or
through a third party;
B) No item of value, no matter how insignificant, will be accepted from publishers or affiliated compganies
once selected by the State Adoption Committee Member. Items of value shall include money, trips,|meals,
mugs, book bags, pens and any other item of value or token of appreciation.
In the event that | have within thiast yeartaken any item of value from a publisher submitting materip
for adoption, | shall immediatelgwithin 10 days)nform the State Adoption Committee Member in writing pf
such gift. The written correspondence shall describe the nature of the gift and shall be mailed to tHe LDE
Textbook Administrator;
C) | assure the Department that | have no affiliation or business arrangement with any Publishef or its
affiliated company.
In the event that | have within thiast yearhad an affiliation with or any business arrangement with a
publisher submitting materials for adoption, | shall immediatglthin 10 days)inform the State Adoption
Committee Member in writing of such relationship. The written correspondence shall describe the naturg of the
business arrangement or affiliation and shall be mailed to the LDE Textbook Administrator;
D) | assure that | will comply with all directives of the State Board of Elementary and Secordary
Education and the LDE regarding materials to be provided and procedures to be followed during th¢ State
Textbook adoption process;

S

Signature of Local Adoption Subcommittee Member Date

Note: REQUIRED FORM: -- To be collected by State Committee Member

Revised 1998

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351- Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1451 (August 1999).
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.
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Chapter 13.  Appendix C 81301. State Adoption Committee Affidavit

State of Louisiana
Department of Education
State Textbook Adoption

STATE ADOPTION COMMITTEE MEMBER'S AFFIDAVIT
I, (printed name), do hereby certify the following:
A) No representative from any publisher or affiliated company will influence my vote, either directly or thrpugh

a third party;
B) No item of value, no matter how insignificant, will be accepted from publishers or affiliated companieq once
the Louisiana Department of Education (LDE) discloses the names of the State Committee members. Iltems|of value
shall include money, trips, meals, mugs, book bags, pens and any other item of value or token of appreciatior].

In the event that | have within thiast yeartaken any item of value from a publisher submitting materials [for
adoption, | shall immediatelgwithin 10 daysof naming the State Textbook Adoption Committee) inform the LDH of
such gift. The written correspondence shall describe the nature of the gift and shall be mailed to the LDE Tgxtbook
Administrator;

C) | assure the Department that | have no affiliation or business arrangement with any Publisher or its affiliated
company. In the event that | have within tlest yearhad an affiliation with or any business arrangement with a
publisher submitting materials for adoption, | shall immediat@ljthin 10 daysof naming the State Textboo
Adoption Committee) inform the LDE in writing of such relationship. The written correspondence shall descripe the
nature of the business arrangement or affiliation and shall be mailed to the LDE Textbook Administrator;

D) lassure that | will comply with all directives of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Educatipn and
the LDE regarding materials to be provided and procedures to be followed during the state textbook apoption
process;

E) |assure the Department that | will attend two mandatory meetings, the orientation to be held

and full committee review
(Date) (Date)

Signature of State Adoption Committee Member (Date)

NOTE: REQUIRED FORM : Return to LDE by
Attn: Jackie Bobbett
626 N. 4th Street, Room 740
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
PH: (225) 342-3599
FAX: (225) 342-3463
Revised 1998

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351- Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1452 (August 1999).

353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.
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Chapter 15.  Appendix D 81501. Local Adoption Subcommittee Affidavit

State of Louisiana
Department of Education
State Textbook Adoption

LOCAL ADOPTION SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBER'S AFFIDAVIT

I (printed name), do hereby certify the following:

by the State Adoption Committee Member. Items of value shall include money, trips, meals, mugs, book bags, pins,
other item of value or token of appreciation. In the event that | have idattteyeartaken any item of value from a publish
submitting materials for adoption, | shall immediatéhithin 10 daysjnform the State Adoption Committee Member in writi
of such gift. The written correspondence shall describe the nature of the gift and shall be mailed to the LDE T
Administrator;

Q) | assure the Department that | have no affiliation or business arrangement with any Publisher or its affiliated co
In the event that | have within thiast yearhad an affiliation with or any business arrangement with a publisher subm
materials for adoption, | shall immediatelwithin 10 days)inform the State Adoption Committee Member in writing of su
relationship. The written correspondence shall describe the nature of the business arrangement or affiliation and shall
to the LDE Textbook Administrator;

regarding materials to be provided and procedures to be provided and procedures to be followed during the State
adoption process.

Signature of Local Adoption Subcommittee Member Date

Note REQUIRED FORM-- To be collected by State Committee Member

A) No representative from any publisher or affiliated company will influence my vote, either directly or through a third
party;
B) No item of value, no matter how insignificant, will be accepted frpublishers or affiliated companies once selected

and any
Br

g
extbook

mpany.
tting

ch

be mailed

D) | assure that | will comply with all directives of the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and the LDE

Textbook

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351- Chapter 17.  Appendix E
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46. §1701. Public Comment Form
HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1453 (August 1999).

State of Louisiana
Department of Education
Division of School Standards, Accountability, and Assistance
1998 State Textbook Adoption
PUBLIC COMMENT FORM

Forms must be typed or neatly printed. A separate form should be completed for each textbook.

The State is currently considering textbooks and materials of instruction for social studies classrooms, grades K-12. This form is intendeduisialf@icitizens to make comments regarding those

textbooks under consideration.

Publisher: Subject Area:
Title: Author:
Grade Level: Copyright: Name of person making comment:
Address: Area Code/Telephone Numbefine () Work: ()

Parish of Residence:
Do you represent: O Yourself O An Organization (Name):
Do you have children of school age?Yes O No;
If yes, what type of school do they attend? Public O Non-Public (Receive State Funds)a Non-Public (Does not Receive State Funds)
o | would like to present my comments in the form of an oral presentation before the state committee(s) involved with adoption.
The following information must be completed:

| object to the following materials in this textbook. Please be specific, i.e. cite passages, pages, ideas, pictures, chart, copyright, etse gdititional

sheets if needed.)
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Signature

Have you personally reviewed the material in its entirety?/es

Is your objection to this material based uporty Personal exposure?0 Reports you have heard?o Both?

Are you in anyway affiliated with a publishing company presenting material for adoptian?es
Would the publication have merit if the objectionable pages were removdgiglain:

Form must be returned by 4:30 p.m. December 28, 1998 to Jackie Bobbett, State Textbook Administrator
Division of School Standards, Accountability, and Assistance Louisiana Department of Education
P. O. Box 94064
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064
FAX: (504) 342-5736

ONo O Segments Only

O No

Date

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1453 (August 1999).

Chapter 19.  Appendix F
81901. Notice Of Publisher's Failure To Deliver

balance of delinquent order.

and void.

STATE OF LOUISIANA
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

NOTICE OF PUBLISHERS FAILURE TO DELIVER
STATE ADOPTED TEXTBOOKS AND MATERIALS OF INSTRUCTION IN
ACCORDANCE WITH STATE CONTRACTS
School districts should complete the following form asubmit an original signed copy to the
state textbook administrator ithe event that state adopted textbooks and materials of instruction
are not delivered within 90 days of the last ordering cycle.
Department of Education, local school systems may fine a publisher 1 percent of the outstandipg
State contracts stipulate that failure to deliver textbooks arld
materials of instruction within 90 days of the last ordering cycle may render state contracts nyll

Upon approval by the Stat¢

Date

Name of School District

ISBN NO.

(Mo/Day/Year)

Date order was placed (attach copy of invoice)

Name of Publisher

Title of Book

Briefly explain steps taken to date to trace/recover state adopted textbook order:

Signature District Superintendent

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1454 (August 1999).
Chapter 21.  Appendix, State Laws
§2101. Free School Books

The legislature shall appropriate funds to supply free
school books and other materials of instruction prescribed by
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the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education to
the children of this state at the elementary and secondary
levels. (Article VIII, Section 13(A) of the Louisiana
Constitution of 1984)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1454 (August 1999).



§2103. Duties, Functions, And Responsibilities Of
Board [R.S. 17:7(4)]

The board shall prescribe and adopt free school books and
other materials of instruction for the children of this state at
the elementary and secondary levels and all other schools
and programs under its jurisdiction for which the legislature

provides funds, in accordance with law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1455 (August 1999).

§2105. School Books Prescribed By Board; Contracts

With Publishers [R.S. 17:8]

A.(1)(a) The board shall prescribe and adopt and shall exercise control
and supervision over the distribution and use of free school books and other
materials of instruction for use in elementary and secondary schools and
special schools, as provided by Part IV of Chapter 1 of Title 17 of the
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, and shall adopt necessary rules and
regulations governing their use by schools, parish and city school boards,
and parish and city superintendents of education. Such rules and regulations
shall include but not be limited to a requirement that each parish and city
school board shall adopt by not later than the beginning of the 1991-1992
school year procedures permitting any public school student to have use
after regular school hours during the week and on weekends of any school
book used to teach reading. Any public school student using any school
book pursuant to the provisions of this Subsection shall be responsible for
such school book. These procedures shall not be applicable to basal readers
and programs.

(b)(i) All school students and persons responsible for a student's
school attendance shall be accountable for exercising reasonable and
proper care for and control over school books and other instructional
materials, supplies, and equipment.

(i) Notwithstanding any law or rule or regulation to the contrary, the
governing authority of an elementary or secondary school may
withhold the grades of a student who does not reimburse the school or
school system for the student's failure to exercise reasonable and
proper care for and control over school books or other instructional
materials, supplies, and equipment.

(iii) In accordance with the authority granted to the State Board of
elementary and Secondary Education by the provisions of this
Subsection, the board shall formulate, develop, adopt, and provide for
implementation by not later than January 1, 1998, by each governing
authority of a public elementary or secondary school of appropriate
policies and procedures consistent with the provisions of this
Subparagraph, including meaningful sanctions and penalties, to enable
school administrators to hold public school students and persons
responsible for a student's school attendance accountable for failing to
exercise reasonable and proper care for and control over any public
school book or other instructional materials, supplies, and equipment.
(c) The board shall adopt lists of basic textbooks and shall adopt one
or more lists thereof. It may authorize and approve revised editions of
any school book it adopts.

(2) The board may authorize the Louisiana School of Math, Science
and the Arts and other parish or city school boards with programs for
gifted students to select and purchase textbooks not included on the
lists adopted by the board pursuant to the provisions of this Section,
provided that such authorization shall be on an ad hoc basis and shall
be subject to prior approval by the board. Such purchases may be
made using funds appropriated by the legislature for the purchase of

textbooks as provided for herein.

B. The board shall prescribe and adopt and shall exercise supervision and
control over the distribution and use of school books and other learning
materials, supplies, and equipment for post secondary and vocational-
technical schools and programs.
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C. Each contract with a publisher for school books shall be awarded on a
competitive basis. Each such contract shall be made without determinate
date of expiration and shall be so made as to run without change until
properly terminated. Each contract shall be so made as to authorize either
party to terminate it upon ninety days notice. The mode of procedure for the
announcement of bids, examining books, and awarding contracts shall be
under the control of the board and in accordance with any applicable law.

D. Each contract shall stipulate that the publisher shall automatically
reduce the net cost of textbooks in the state when the net cost of the
publisher for books covered by the contract are reduced anywhere in the
United States, so that no edition of that textbook shall at any time be sold in
this state at a higher net cost than that received for that book elsewhere in
the United States.

E. Each contract with a publisher shall stipulate that the book or books
covered by the contract to be sold in this state shall be identical with the
official samples filed with the board with respect to size, paper, binding,
print, illustrations, subject matter, and all other particulars which may affect
the value of said books. However, during the period of the contract, the
board may approve revised editions of an adopted textbook or service at the
bid price, which will authorize a publisher to provide such revisions.

F. Each contract with a publisher shall stipulate that whenever five
thousand or more copies of a textbook of a single title and edition are to be
purchased by the state from a single publishers during a twelve month
period which shall be established by the board by rule, not less than eighty
percent of the total number of the copies of such book purchased by the
state shall be printed and bound by a printer licensed to do business and
doing business within the state, provided that the publisher receives a timely
bid made according to the publisher's bid-making requirements from such a
printer and provided that the printer is able to print and bind such book in
accordance with the manufacturer's specifications for state dektbas
promulgated by the state Department of Education and at a cost equal to or
less than the unit cost per book for the same number of books made in a
otherwise qualified bid by any out-of-state printer bidding on the same
work. Whenever two or more printers in this state submit bids which would
qualify all of them to print and bind textbooks pursuant to this Section and
one such printer is a minority-owned business as defined in R.S.
39:1952(13), the minority-owned business shall be awarded not less than
ten percent of the printing and binding required by this Section to be done
in this state.

G. The state Department of Education shall be the depository in the state
for books for the schools. The superintendent may do all things necessary
and proper for the department to function as such depository, including but
not limited to the power to enter into contracts or agreements and to acquire
property, through lease or purchase, in which the depository is to be located,
and to determine the location or locations of the depository. The
superintendent may require publishers to maintain a depository in the state
or may contract, in accordance with the procedures for the letting of
contracts set forth in Part || of Chapter 10 of title 38 of the Louisiana
Revised Statutes, with any other public or private agency to act as the
depository.

H. The state Department of Education shall require any depository with
whom the department does business to provide the department a written
summary of all purchase orders for textbooks received by the depository
from the department. The depository shall transmit such summary within
three business days whenever the department requests it to do so and the
department shall make such a request upon the written request of any
printer licensed to and actually doing business in Louisiana. Such a
summary shall be a public record. The summary shall itemize the total
number of copies each book which is the subject of a purchase order, the
unit price of each book, the commissions paid to or the discounts received
by the depository, and the publishers of each book.

I. The books shall be distributed to the several parish and city school
boards from the depository on requisition of the superintendent of education
for public elementary and secondary education.

J. (1) The board shall establish a procedure enabling any governing
authority of a public elementary or secondary school, effective January 1,
1998, and thereafter, to order and receive textbooks approved by the board
directly from textbook publishers. The procedure shall include but not be
limited to permitting a public elementary or secondary school governing
authority to contract with a textbook publisher and receive any applicable
publisher's discount. However, any textbook purchased under the provision
of this Paragraph shall be purchased at the same or lower price than such
textbook can be purchased from any source other than the publisher.

(2) The board shall adopt necessary rules and regulations in
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act to implement the
provision of the Subsection.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1455 (August 1999).

§2107. Sale Of Textbooks No Longer In Use [R.S. 17.8]

A parish or city school board with the prior approval of the State Board
of Elementary and Secondary Education, may sell any textbook or library
book no longer in use in the school system to any person or entity for
private use at a fee established by the parish or city school board. Funds
derived from such sale shall be used by the parish or city school board
solely for textbook or library book purchases.

If a textbook or library book has been out of use for over a year a parish
or city school board may, with the approval of the [State] board, donate said
book to any public hospital, any jail or prison, or any public institution, or
to any individual for private use free of charge.

Any textbook or library book which a parish or city school board is
unable to sell or donate after being out of use in excess of eighteen months,
or any textbook or library book which is deemed by said board to be
unusable or unsalable shall be disposed of in an appropriate manner. The
reproduction of any textbook or library book no longer in use by a parish or
city school system and the use of multiple copies of such books by
organized groups or by an educational agency or entity is prohibited.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1456 (August 1999).
§2109. Operation Of Public Elementary And Secondary

Schools In Accordance with State Law or Policy:
Penalties For Violation [R.S. 17:172]

No free school books or other school supplies shall be furnished nor shall
any state funds for the operation of school lunch programs, or any other
school funds be furnished or given to any elementary or secondary school
which violates the provision of this Section.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1456 (August 1999).
82111. Free School Books and other Materials of

Instruction [R.S. 17:351]

A.(1) The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education shall
prescribe and adopt school books and other materials of instruction, which
it shall supply without charge to the children of this state at the elementary
and secondary levels out of funds appropriated therefore by the legislature

in accordance with the requirements of Article VIII, Section 13(A) of the
Constitution of Louisiana.

(2) The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education shall
prescribe and adopt those school books and other materials of
instruction which accurately reflect the contributions and
achievements of people of differing races.

(3) The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education shall
prescribe and adopt those school books and other materials of
instruction which promotes an understanding of the history and values
of the people of the United States and Louisiana, including the free
enterprise system, private property, constitutional liberties values, and

traditional standards of moral values.

B. The board also shall prescribe and supply school books and other
materials of instruction for use by students attending vocational-technical
schools and program under the jurisdiction of the board.

C.(1) The board shall establish rules and procedures for supplying
schoolbooks and other materials of instruction approved by the State Board
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of Elementary and Secondary Education as required by this Section for
children participating in any home study program approved by the board
when available. Such rules and procedures shall include but not be limited
to a requirement that any school books and other materials of instruction
provided pursuant to this Subsection shall be made available only to the
child or children of the parent or legal guardian obtaining approval for a
home study program.

(2) The board shall provide a copy of such rules and procedures to any

parent or legal guardian applying for approval of a home study

program.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.
HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1456 (August 1999).

§2113. Books, Films, Other School Materials; Screening

Required [R.S. 17:352]

A. (1)The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, the State
Department of Education or either of these shall take such action as is
necessary to assure that all school books, films and booklets related thereto,
other similar audio-visual devices, and any other similar materials of
instruction are thoroughly screened, reviewed and approved as to their
content by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education and the
local parish or city school board concerned.

(2) The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education or the
State Department of Education shall take such action as is necessary
to assure that any state committee or other group responsible for
screening, reviewing, and evaluating any materials of instruction and
computer and related technological equipment and supplies, including
but not limited to any group created pursuant to the provision of R.S.
17:415.1, shall contain a membership not less than one-third of which

are teachers as defined in R.S. 17:415.1.

B. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education shall
maintain a copy of all approved textbooks and teaching materials. Such
textbooks and teaching materials shall be maintained in the Department of
Education for a period of one year following their initial approval and
thereafter shall be maintained in the department's book depository during
the time they are approved for use in Louisiana's public schools. Such
textbooks are teaching materials shall be available for public inspection
during regular office hours.

C. The State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education shall adopt
rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of this Section.

D. Whoever intentionally violates any provision of this Section shall be
guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a
fine not to exceed five hundred dollars or by imprisonment for not to exceed
six months, or both.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1456 (August 1999).
§2115. Costs Of Administration; Textbooks and

Instructional Material Distribution to Nonpublic
School Students [R.S. 17:353]

A. Beginning with the 1993-1994 school year, each city and parish
school board which disburses school library books, textbooks, and other
materials of instruction to nonpublic school students shall submit to the
superintendent of education such documentation as he may require to verify
the administrative costs incurred by the school board in the disbursement of
such books and instructional materials.

B. The verified costs of administration incurred by each city and parish
school board shall be paid by the state.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1456 (August 1999).



§2117. Required Reports and Records; Cost
Reimbursement to Approved Nonpublic Schools
(Reimbursement Of Required Costs) [R.S.
17:361]

The superintendent of education,
regulations adopted by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education,
shall annually reimburse each approved nonpublic school, for each school
year beginning on and after July, 1979, an amount equal to the actual cost
incurred by each such school during the preceding school year for providing
school services, maintaining records and completing and filing reports
required by law, regulation or requirement of a state department, state
agency, or local school board to be rendered to the state, including but not
limited to any forms, reports or records relative to school approval or
evaluation, public attendance, pupil health and pupil health testing,
transportation of pupils, federally-funded educational programs including
school lunch and breakfast programs, school textbooks and supplies, library
books, pupil appraisal, pupil progress, transfer of pupils, teacher
certification, teacher continuing education programs, unemployment, annual
school data, and any other education-related data which are not or hereafter
shall be required of such nonpublic school by law, regulation or requirement

of a state department, state agency, or local school board.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

§2119. Applications For Reimbursement [R.S. 17:362]

Each school which seeks reimbursement pursuant to this Part shall
submit to the superintendent an application therefore, together with such
additional reports and documents as the superintendent may require, at such
times, in such form, and containing such information as the superintendent

may prescribe in order to carry out the purposes of this Part.
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

§2121. Maintenance Of Records [R.S. 17:363]

Each school which seeks reimbursement pursuant to this Part shall
maintain a separate account or system of accounts for the expenses incurred
in rendering the required services for which reimbursement is authorized by
R.S. 17:361. Such records and accounts shall contain such information and
be maintained in accordance with regulations adopted by the board, but for
expenditures made in the school year 1979-1980, the application for
reimbursement made in 1980, pursuant to R.S. 17:361 shall be supported by
such reports and documents as the superintendent shall require. In
promulgating such regulations concerning records and accounts and in
requiring supportive documents with respect to expenditures incurred in the
school year 1979-1980, the superintendent shall implement the audit
procedures provided in R.S. 17:365. The records and accounts supporting
reimbursement for each school year shall be preserved at the school until

the completion of such audit procedures.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

§2123. Payment [R.S. 17:364]

No payment to a school shall be made pursuant to this Part until the
superintendent has approved the application submitted pursuant to R.S.
17:362.

in accordance with rules and
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

§2125. Audit [R.S. 17:365]

No application for reimbursement under this Part shall be approved
except upon such audit of vouchers or other documents by the
superintendent as is necessary to insure that such payment is lawful and
proper.

The legislative auditor may from time to time examine, in accordance
with the provision of R.S. 24:513, any and all accounts and records of a
school which have been maintained pursuant to this Part in support of an
application for reimbursement for the purpose of determining the cost to
such school of rendering the services referred to in R.S. 17:361. If after
such audit it is determined that any school has received funds in excess of
the actual cost of providing such services, such school shall immediately
reimburse the state in such excess amount.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

§2127. Materials; Adoption Procedures [R.S. 17:415.1]

A. Any interested citizen may request that his name be included on the
mailing list for textbook adoption information by writing to the Director of
the Bureau of Materials of Instruction and Textbooks. State Department of
Education, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Any person who has
made this request shall be timely notified of the name and address of each
member of all textbook adoption committees and the Textbook and Media
Advisory Council, the times, places, and agenda of all committee and
council meetings, and the titles, authors, and publishers of all textbooks
proposed for adoption.

B. (1) Al textbook adoption committees appointed by the
superintendents of elementary and secondary education shall contain a
membership not less than one-third of which are teachers, not less than one-
third of which are parents who are not public educators, and the remainder
of which are other persons. All meetings of textbook adoption committees
and the Textbook and Media Advisory Council shall be open to the public.
Any member of the public may attend and file written or make oral
objections to any textbook under consideration. The State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education shall adopt a form whereby any
member of the public may file written objections to any textbook being
considered for adoption.

(2) For purposes of this Subsection, the term "teacher" shall mean any

persons employed by a city or parish school board who, as a condition

of employment, is required to hold a valid teaching certificate issued

by the Department of Education.

C. During the period commencing on September 1 and ending December
31 of each year, all textbooks being considered for adoption shall be placed
by the Department of Education in a cooperating public library in New
Orleans, Baton Rouge, Shreveport, Monroe, Alexandria, Lake Charles,
Lafayette, Houma, and any other city designated by the superintendent of
elementary and secondary education. Any interested person may inspect
and review the books during the period when they are on display.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

§2129. SCR 15 of 1997, Regular Session

The Legislature of Louisiana urges and requests the State Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education to coordinate a statewide system of
providing braille books to visually impaired students by tracking the braille
books already available and providing funding for those books which are
needed.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1457 (August 1999).

8§2131. SCR 149 of 1997, Regular Session

The Legislature of Louisiana hereby urges and requests that information
technology programs and activities of the state which are supported in
whole or in part by public funds incorporate aspects which facilitate access
to and use of such technology by the blind and visually impaired. In
addition, the Louisiana Data Base Commission and other state entities
involved in the development of information technology adopt guidelines
which shall ensure the following, to the extent feasible,

(1) That information technology, equipment, or software used by

employees or program participants who are blind or visually impaired

can present information for effective, interactive control and use by
both visual and non-visual means; is compatible with equipment and
software used by other individual with whom the blind or visually
impaired must interact; and can be integrated into the network or
networks used to share communications among employees or program
participants.

(2) That information technology used in the dissemination of services

to the public provides blind or visually impaired individuals with

access, including interactive use of equipment and services, which is

equivalent to that provided to individuals who are not blind or visually
impaired; and that such information technology is designed to present
information, including prompts used for interactive communications,

in formats intended for both visual and non-visual use.

(3) That the procurement of information technology, whether through

contract or agreement, shall be accomplished so as to provide

equivalent access for effective use by both visual and non-visual use;
and can be integrated into networks for obtaining, retrieving, and
disseminating information used by individual who are not blind or
visually impaired.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VIII, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1458 (August 1999).
§2133. Books for School; Special Plates [R.S. 47:463.46]

A. The Secretary of the Department of Public Safety and Corrections
shall establish a prestige license plate for motor vehicles, restricted to
passenger cars, pickup trucks, and vans for the purpose of promoting
support for elementary and secondary education. The Secretary shall
determine the design of the special prestige license plate issues under the
provisions of this Section, provided such design shall bear the words
"Helping Schools" and include a logo which is a symbol for reading
programs in education.

B. The prestige plate shall be issued upon application to any citizen of
Louisiana in the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

C. The charge for this special license plate shall be $25.00 annually in
addition to the regular fee charged under the provisions of R.S. 47:463.

D. The revenue from the additional $25.00 fee imposed by Subsection C
of this Section, shall be deposited immediately upon receipt into the state
treasury. After compliance with the requirements of Article 7, Section 9(B)
of the Constitution of Louisiana relative to the Bond, Security and
Redemption Fund, and prior to monies being placed in the state general
fund, an amount equal to that deposited shall be credited to the State Board
of Elementary and Secondary Education and shall be used solely for the
purchase of textbooks to be used in approved elementary and secondary
schools of the State. The monies in this fund shall be invested by the state
treasurer in the same manner as monies in the state general fund.

E. The superintendent of the Department of Education shall promulgate
rules and regulations as necessary to implement the provisions of this
Subsection relative to the purchase and distribution of textbooks.

F. The secretary shall promulgate rules and regulations to implement the
provisions of Subsections A, B, C and D of this Section.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Article
VI, Section 13(A) of 1984; R.S. 17:7(4); 8-8.1; 172; 236; 351-
353; 361-365; 415.1; 463.46.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 25:1458 (August 1999).

Weegie Peabody

Executive Director
99084050

RULE

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Leveraging Educational Assistance
Partnership (LEAP) Eligibility
(LAC 28:1v.301, 1301-1305, 1901, 1903)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission
(LASFAC) hereby amend rules of the Leveraging
Educational Assistance Partnership (LEAP) Program,
formerly State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG) Program
(R.S. 17:3032.5).

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part IV. Student Financial Assistance-Higher
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs
Chapter 3. Definitions
§301. Definitions
* % %

Substantial Financial Needfor purposes of the LEAP
(formerly SSIG) program only, substantial financial need is
the difference between the student's cost of attendance and
the sum of that student's expected family contribution
(EFC), plus other student aid the student is due to receive.
The difference thus computed must exceed $199.

* % %

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR
25:, LR 25:1458 (August 1999).

Chapter 13.  Leveraging Educational Assistance
Partnership (LEAP) Program [formerly
State Student Incentive Grant (SSIG)
Program]
81301. General Provisions
A.-A2c. ..

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Louisiana
Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership (LEAP)
Program, first funded in 1975, provides need-based grants to
academically qualified students using federal and state
funds. These grants are to be used for educational expenses
including tuition and fees, books and supplies, and living
expenses, such as room, board and transportation.

C. Louisiana administers a decentralized LEAP Program.
Certain functions of the program are delegated to
participating schools. Schools approved for participation in
the Louisiana LEAP Program must have federal eligibility
and must annually submit a state application and be
approved for state participation. Funding available for a
specific award year is allocated to eligible in-state



postsecondary institutions who select and certify recipients
to LASFAC. LASFAC forwards award funding to the
institutions for disbursement to the student or student's
account.

D. ..

E. Allocation of Funds. Annually, funds are allocated to
postsecondary institutions based on school type, the school's
prior year first-time, full-time enrollment and the amount of
the prior year's allocation that was expended. Initial funds,
for first-time recipients, are computed as a percentage of all
participating institutions first-time, full-time enrollment as of
October 10 of the prior fiscal year. A student's enroliment in
an undergraduate degree granting school which is a
component of a state supported medical center, shall be a
first-time, full-time freshman for the purpose of this
program. Continuation funds for students who had
previously received LEAP are computed as a percentage of
the allocated funds used during the previous year. The
continuation formula applies 60 percent for four year
schools and 40 percent for two-year schools.

Foo..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:641 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR
25:1458 (August 1999).

§1303. Establishing Eligibility

LEAP applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

1.-4. ..

5. be selected and certified by the school for receipt of
an LEAP award, contingent upon final approval by
LASFAC; and

6. meet any additional selection criteria established by
the individual institution participating in the LEAP Program;
and

7.-12. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:641 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1910 (October 1998), LR
25:1459 (August 1999).

§1305. Maintaining Eligibility

To continue receiving an LEAP Award, the recipient must
meet all of the following criteria:

1.-2. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:642 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1911 (October 1998), LR
25:1459 (August 1999).

Chapter 19.  Eligibility and Responsibilities of
Postsecondary Institutions
§1901. Eligibility of Postsecondary Institutions to
Participate

A. Undergraduate degree granting schools which are
components of Louisiana public university medical centers
and two- and four-year public colleges and universities are
authorized to participate in the Tuition Opportunity Program
for Students (TOPS), Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship,
Leveraging Educational Assistance Partnership (LEAP)
Program and the T. H. Harris Scholarship.

1459

B. Regionally accredited private colleges and
universities which are members of the Louisiana Association
of Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU) are
authorized to participate in TOPS and LEAP. As of
November 1997, LAICU membership included Centenary
College, Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola
University, Our Lady of the Lake College of Nursing and
Allied Health, Our Lady of Holy Cross College, Tulane
University and Xavier University.

C. Campuses of Louisiana Technical College are
authorized to participate in TOPS-TECH and LEAP.

D. Approved Louisiana proprietary and beauty schools
are authorized to participate in LEAP only.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:645 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR
25:1459 (August 1999).

81903. Responsibilities of Postsecondary Institutions

A.-B.7.d. ...

C. Annual Application for Participation
Certification of Recipients of the LEAP Program
1. Annually, LASFAC forwards LEAP institutional
participation agreements to those schools participating in the
program during the prior award year, and upon written
requests received, to schools not participating in the LEAP
Program during the prior award year. To be eligible for

allotment of LEAP funds the institution must meet all of the
following requirements:

a. complete and return the annual LEAP application
by the specified deadline; and

b. certify that students and parents will not be
charged a fee for the collection of information used to
determine the student's eligibility for LEAP; and

c. certify that students listed on the recipient roster
meet federal, state and institutional specific LEAP eligibility
criteria; and

d. certify that if the institution's LEAP allotment is
based in part on the financial need of independent students,
as defined by the U.S. Department of Education, a
reasonable portion of the institution's allotment is being
made available to independent students; and

e. certify that each LEAP recipient's total package
of aid does not exceed the student's financial need; and

f. certify that LEAP funds recovered from over
awards, refunds, and/or repayments, as defined in 8301,
during the applicable award period shall be returned to
LASFAC to be reissued to other qualified students. Funds
recovered from over awards, refunds and/or repayments
after the applicable award period shall be returned to
LASFAC for return to the U.S. Department or Education
and/or the state of Louisiana. The amount of over award,
refund and/or repayment shall be determined according to
the school's policy established in accordance with federal
regulations.

2. Annually, LASFAC provides eligible institutions an

official allotment schedule, recipient roster and institution
certification forms. Institutions are required to:

in, and
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a. complete and return recipient rosters and
institutional certification forms to ensure expenditure of
allotted LEAP awards by the school specific deadlines of
November 1 for public and LAICU member two- and
four-year colleges and universities and January 1 for
campuses of Louisiana Technical College and proprietary
institutions; and

b. submit changes to the recipient roster by
completing a replacement roster, provided by LASFAC; and

c. certify that if any LEAP funds are released in
error to ineligible students, the institution will either recover
the award amount from the students and refund to LASFAC
or remit the refund due.

D.1.-D.2.b.

3. release award funds by crediting the student's
account within 14 days of the institution's receipt of funds or
disbursing individual award checks to recipients as
instructed by LASFAC. Individual award checks for the T.
H. Harris Scholarship, Rockefeller State Wildlife
Scholarship, TOPS Teacher Award and LEAP must be
released to eligible recipients within 30 days of receipt by
the school or be returned to LASFAC.

E.-F. ...

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:645 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1914 (October 1998), LR
25:1459 (August 1999).

Jack L. Guinn

Executive Director
9908001

RULE

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Tuition Opportunity Program for Students (TOP$jigher
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs
(LAC 28:1v.301)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission
(LASFAC) hereby amends rules of the Tuition Opportunity
Program for Students, LAC 28:IV.

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part IV. Student Financial Assistance-Higher
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs
Chapter 3. Definitions
8301. Definitions
*%k%

Merit Ranking Formulasa mathematical equation
incorporating selected merit factors which is used to rank
eligible applicants in the priority by which competitive
scholarships are to be awarded. As of July 1, 1997, the
TOPS Teacher Award and Rockefeller State Wildlife
Scholarship are the only programs in which applicants are
competitively ranked. The following formulas for the merit
ranking of scholarship applicants provide for the equating of
scores for high school graduating seniors and college
students.
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a. Formula | applies to applicants for the
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship with less than 24
hours of graded college credit and to applicants for the
TOPS Teacher Award with less than 48 hours of graded
college credit:

HSGPA ) X 60) + (( ACT

Merit Score = (((
4.00 36

) x 40))

b. Formula Il applies to applicants for the
Rockefeller State Wildlife Scholarship with 24 or more
hours of graded college credit and to applicants for the
TOPS Teacher Award with 48 or more hours of graded
college credit:

College Level

Merit Score = ((( College 2

S22 x90) + ( ) x10))

c. Formula lll applies to applicants for the TOPS
Teacher Award. For those applicants majoring in math or
chemistry, an additional 10 points are added to the merit
score determined by Formula | or Il, resulting in an adjusted
merit score.

d. Applicants' merit scores are ranked in descending
order with the applicant with the highest merit score ranked
first. The number of applicants selected for award is
dependent upon the amount of award funds available.

*%k%
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1.
HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 24:632 (April 1998), amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR
24:2237 (December998), LR 25:1460 (August 1999).

Jack L. Guinn

Executive Director
9908#003

RULE

Student Financial Assistance Commission
Office of Student Financial Assistance

Tuition Payment Program for Medical School Students
(LAC 28:1V.2301-2311, and 2313)

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission
(LASFAC) hereby implements rules for the Tuition Payment
Program for Medical School Students (R.S. 17:3041.10-
3041.15).

Title 28
EDUCATION
Part IV. Student Financial Assistance-Higher
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs
Chapter 23.  Tuition Payment Program for Medical
School Students
§2301. General Provisions

A. Legislative Authority. The Tuition Payment Program
for Medical School Students was created by Act 281 of the
1997 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. This bill
added R.S. 17:3041.10-3041.15.



B. Description, History and Purpose. The Tuition
Payment Program for Medical School Students:

1. annually awards not more than four monetary loans
to eligible students who commit to practice the profession of
medicine as a primary care physician, as defined herein, for
at least four consecutive years in a rural or poor community
in Louisiana designated a "rural health shortage area" by the
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals (hereinafter
referred to as a "Designated Area"). When the individual
receiving the award practices medicine in a Designated Area
for four consecutive years as provided in these rules, the
loans are forgiven in full;

2. was first funded for the 1998-99 award year;

3. was created to provide an incentive for Louisiana's
medical school students to practice as primary care
physicians in a Designated Area.

C. Award Amounts

1. Loans are made in an amount not to exceed the full
tuition and room and board amount for students enrolled at
one of the medical schools of Louisiana State University.

2. Recipients may receive a maximum of two years of
funding.

3. Recipients may receive other financial awards in
conjunction with the Tuition Payment Program for Medical
School Students.

4. Inthe event the student's total aid exceeds the Cost
of Attendance as defined in 8301 of these rules, any federal
loan aid included in the total aid package shall be reduced,
then institutional and other aid in accordance with
institutional practice, then the Tuition Payment for Medical
School Students shall be reduced by the amount of any
remaining over award.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1460 (August 1999).

§2303. Establishing Eligibility

A. To establish eligibility, the student applicant must
meet all of the following criteria:

1. be a U.S. Citizen and be registered with the
Selective Service, if required, unless the institutional
Financial Aid Officer determines that failure to register was
not willful; and

2. be a resident of Louisiana, as defined in 8301 of
LAC 28:1V for at least two years prior to April 15 of the
calendar year in which the award will be made;

3. submit the completed Free Application for Federal
Student Aid (FAFSA) or Renewal FAFSA, whichever is
applicable to the student, by April 15th of the calendar years
in which an award is being sought (for those students
applying for the 1998/1999 academic year, the deadline for
filing the FAFSA is extended to March 1, 1999);

4. be enrolled and entering the third year of study at
one of the LSU medical schools as a full-time student in a
course of study leading to a doctorate degree in medicine
with the intent to enter a residency program leading to a
specialization in a primary care field. A "primary care field"
shall include the following fields of medicine: family
medicine, general internal medicine, general pediatrics,
obstetrics/gynecology or a medical/pediatrics practice;

5. agree to the full time practice of the profession of
medicine as a primary care physician in a Designated Area
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for at least four consecutive years after graduating from
medical school and completing a residency program in a
primary care field as defined in §2303.D, above;

6. complete and submit such other documentary
evidence as may be required by LASFAC within the
deadline specified;

7. be in compliance with the terms of other federal
and state aid programs which the applicant may be receiving
and which are administered by LASFAC;

8. not have a criminal conviction,
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

9. agree that the award will be used exclusively for
educational expenses.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1461 (August 1999).

§2305. Application Process and Selection Criteria

A. The LSU Medical Center shall seek applications from
medical students desiring to apply for a loan under this
program and shall determine and report to the Commission,
no later than the date specified by the Commission:

1. the academic standing of those applicants who meet
the prerequisites of 82303.4 and 5. In determining the
academic standing of applicants, the LSU Medical Center
shall employ an evaluation system which is equitable to all
applicants regardless of the medical school they attend; and

2. those applicants who have demonstrated an interest
in primary care medicine through involvement in student
activities which are supportive of the future practice of
medicine as a primary care physician and which have been
identified by the LSU Medical Center and approved by the
administrator as meriting the award of extra points in the
ranking of applicants.

B. From the list of applicants submitted by the LSU
Medical Center, the Commission shall rank the applicants in
order of merit and select no more than four individuals to
receive the award in any one year (hereinafter
"Recipient(s)"). The applicant's order of merit shall be
determined by the academic standing of the applicant as
reported by the LSU Medical Center and the extra points
earned through student activities related to the practice of
primary care medicine. The award shall be in the form of a
loan to the Recipient as described in these rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1461 (August 1999).

§2307. Award Amount

A. The loan shall not exceed the full cost of tuition plus
room and board, as those terms are defined herein, for two
academic years.

B. The loan disbursement will be in two increments
during each academic year based upon requests for
disbursements submitted by the LSU Medical Schools which
are consistent in timing with the normal payment of tuition
by medical school students.

C. The loans for each of the two academic years are
dependent upon sufficient appropriation by the State
Legislature. Should the State Legislature fail to appropriate
sufficient funds in each year to provide for the amount of the

except for
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award agreed to by the Commission and student, the
obligation to repay the loan will be remitted.

D. The cost of room and board included in an award
under this section shall not exceed the cost allocated to room
and board in the calculation of "cost of attendance"
determined in accordance with 20 U.S.C. 1087II.

E. Tuition shall not exceed the fees, charges and other
costs normally required to be paid by all medical students at
the school attended.

F. The specific award amount for each loan shall be that
amount stated in the agreement between the student and the
Commission and shall not exceed the tuition and room and
board charged at the school attended.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1461 (August 1999).

§2309. Maintaining Eligibility

A. To continue receiving the Tuition Payment for
Medical School Students, Recipients must meet all of the
following criteria:

1. have received less than two years of funding under
the Tuition Payment for Medical School Students;

2. be considered in good standing by the LSU Medical
Center and continue to make satisfactory progress towards a
medical degree in a primary care field,;

3. continue to enroll each subsequent term as a full-
time student, unless granted an exception for cause by
LASFAC, in a course of study leading to a degree in
medicine;

4. annually apply for federal and state student aid by
completing the FAFSA or Renewal FAFSA, whichever is
applicable to the student, by the state deadline;

5. have no criminal convictions, except
misdemeanor traffic violations; and

6. be in compliance with the terms of all other federal
and state aid programs which the student may be receiving
and which are administered by LASFAC.

B. Upon graduation from medical school, an award
Recipient will be continued in a deferred payment status
under the terms of the Tuition Payment Program for Medical
Students Promissory Note ("Promissory Note") as long as
the Recipient is enrolled in a residency program leading to a
medical specialty in a primary care field. The Recipient shall
notify LASFAC of the place and duration of the Recipient's
residency program no later than the Recipient's date of
graduation from medical school. The notice shall include an
endorsement from the LSU Medical Center or its designee
that the residency program is a program that will lead to the
ability to practice as a primary care physician as defined
herein. The LSU Medical Center shall make available to the
Recipient a list of Designated Areas. The Recipient shall
identify the Designated Area in which the Recipient intends
to practice medicine and include this selection in the notice
sent to LASFAC. By July 30 of each year after graduation
from medical school, the Recipient shall notify LASFAC of
the Recipient's current address and include in such notice an
endorsement from an appropriate official of the residency
program in which the Recipient is engaged that the Recipient
is making satisfactory progress in the program. The
Recipient shall notify LASFAC in writing of the completion

for
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of the residency program and the date the Recipient will
initiate practice in a Designated Area. Each year thereafter,
on the anniversary of the date the Recipient enters a primary
care practice in a Designated Area, the Recipient shall send a
written confirmation to LASFAC that the Recipient has
practiced medicine during that year as required under the
terms of the Promissory Note. The written confirmation shall
be in the form of an affidavit executed before a notary public
and shall be endorsed by the Louisiana Department of
Health and Hospitals, affirming that the Recipient has
practiced in a Designated Area. Failure of the Recipient to
send any of the notices required under the terms of the
Promissory Note in a timely manner shall cause the
Recipient to be placed in a repayment status.

C. Students who fail to maintain eligibility for the
second year of the loan will be placed in a repayment status
within six (6) months of their loss of eligibility, unless
granted an exception for cause by the Commission.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1462 (August 1999).

§2311. Completion of Promissory Note and Acceptance
of Award

Prior to receiving an award, the Recipient must agree to
the terms and conditions contained in and execute the
Tuition Payment Program for Medical Students Promissory
Note ("Promissory Note"). The Promissory Note obligates
the Recipient to initiate a primary care practice in a
Designated Area upon the completion of a primary care
residency program. The Recipient shall complete the
primary care residency program within four years of the date
of graduation from medical school and shall initiate the full
time practice of medicine as a primary care physician in a
Designated Area within six (6) months from the date of
completion of the residency program. The Designated Area
in which the Recipient initiates practice shall be that area
designated in the notice required by §2309.B, above, or such
other Designated Area chosen by the Recipient, with the
concurrence of LASFAC, upon completion of the residency
program. The Promissory Note shall provide that if the area
chosen in the notice provided for in §2309.B, above, is no
longer an area designated a "rural health shortage area" by
the Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals at the
time the Recipient finishes the residency program, it shall
continue to be considered a Designated Area for purposes of
discharge of the loan amount under these rules. The
Recipient shall be deemed to be in a full time primary care
practice if the Recipient performs direct patient care for an
average of at least 36 hours per week in a normal annual
work schedule. Should a Recipient fail to enter into the
practice of medicine on a full time basis as a primary care
physician within the time specified herein, the loan shall be
placed in a repayment status and repaid together with all
accrued interest and any collection costs incurred by the
Commission, as specified in the Promissory Note.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1462 (August 19909).



§2313. Discharge of Obligation

A. The loan may be discharged by engaging in a full
time primary care medical practice in a Designated Area for
a period of four years, by monetary repayment or by
cancellation.

B. Discharging the loan by entering into the full time
practice as a primary care physician in a Designated Area is
accomplished by:

1. completing a residency in a primary care field of
medicine within four (4) years of the graduation from
medical school; and

2. practice as a primary care physician on a full time
basis for a period of at least four consecutive years in a
Designated Area.

C. Recipients who fail to complete the medical practice
requirements as specified in the Promissory Note shall be
required to repay the entire loan obligation in accordance
with subsection D, below.

D. Discharging the Promissory Note by Monetary
Repayment. Recipients who elect not to discharge the
obligation by practicing medicine as required in these rules
and the Promissory Note and who are not eligible for
discharge by cancellation must repay the loan principal plus
accrued interest and any collection costs incurred according
to the following terms and conditions:

1. interest shall accrue on the outstanding principal
from the date of disbursement to the Recipient, at the rate
determined by the Commission and reflected in the
Promissory Note, not to exceed the maximum rate of interest
which can be legally charged under Louisiana law for such
loans. Annually, accrued interest shall be capitalized,
meaning added to principal;

2. interest on each disbursement shall accrue from the
date of disbursement until repaid, or fulfilled and shall be
capitalized annually and at the time the Recipient enters
repayment status.

E. Repayment Status

1. The Recipient will enter into a repayment status the
first of the month following:

a. determination by LASFAC that the Recipient
cannot discharge the loan by practicing medicine as required
by these rules and the Promissory Note within the required
time period; or

b. the date the Recipient notifies LASFAC that
monetary repayment is desired; or

c. six months after LASFAC determines that the
Recipient is no longer participating in a residency program
in a primary care medical field or has otherwise failed to
comply with the terms of the Promissory Note;

2. The amount to be repaid annually will be the
greater of:

a. the amount necessary to amortize the loan
principal together with capitalized and accruing interest
within five (5) years; or

b. $5,000 per year or the unpaid balance, whichever
is less.

3. Recipients in repayment status may have their
payments deferred in accordance with §2105.B, Deferment
of Repayment Obligation.

4. During the period of time a Recipient is in a
deferment status, a Recipient is not required to make
payments and interest does not accrue.
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5. The period of time for completion of repayment
will be extended by a period of time equal to the length of
time the Recipient is in deferment status.

D. Cancellation. The obligation to repay any remaining
unpaid balance of the Promissory Note shall be canceled in
the event either of the following occurs:

1. upon submission to LASFAC of a sworn affidavit
from a qualified physician that the Recipient is precluded
from gainful employment because of a complete and
permanent medical disability or condition; or

2. upon submission to LASFAC of a death certificate
or other evidence conclusive under state law, that the
Recipient is deceased.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
17:3041.10-3041.15.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance,
LR 25:1463 (August 1999).

Jack L. Guinn

Executive Director
9908#002

RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Environmental Assessment
Environmental Planning Division

Emissions (LAC 33:111.5116, 5122, and 5311)(AQ193%)

Editor's Note: Due to reengineering at the Department of
Environmental Quality effective July 1, 1999, the Office and

Division names have been changed in the Notice of Intent
heading and in the Historical Note for each section in this rule.
The contents of the Notice and the Rule have not changed.

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary has amended the Air Quality regulations, LAC
33:111.5116, 5122, and 5311 (Log #AQ193%).

This rule is identical to a federal regulation found in 40
CFR Parts 61 and 63, July 1, 1998, which is applicable in
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at
the address or phone number given below. No fiscal or
economic impact will result from the rule; therefore, the rule
will be promulgated in accordance with R.S. 49:953(F)(3)
and (4).

This rule incorporates by reference, additional federal
regulations in 40 CFR Parts 61 and 63, National Emission
Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP). These
changes will expedite both the EPA approval process and the
state implementation of delegation of authority for the
NESHAP program. The NESHAP program and the authority
for EPA to delegate authority of that program to the state is
established in the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990,
Section 112. The State of Louisiana has received delegation
of authority from the EPA to implement NESHAP by
"straight" delegation (incorporation into the LAC rules as
promulgated by EPA without change). Louisiana
incorporated certain NESHAP regulations by reference on
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July 20, 1998. In agreement with the revised delegated
authority mechanism and with EPA grant objectives, the
department is now incorporating additional NESHAP
regulations by reference. The basis and rationale for this rule
is to mirror the federal regulations. If the rule is not adopted,
it would be a hindrance to Louisiana's authority to
implement the NESHAP program. Louisiana would also fail
to meet its 1998/99 EPA grant objectives related to this
rulemaking and to delegation revisions.

This rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019 (D) (3)
and R.S.49:953 (G) (3); therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/leconomic costs is
required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part 1ll. Air

Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant

Emission Control Program
Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR

Part 61 (National Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants)

Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 61
(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants)

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified
below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants published in th€ode of Federal Regulatioret
40 CFR part 61, revised as of July 1, 1998, and specifically
listed in the following table are hereby incorporated by
reference as they apply to sources in the State of Louisiana.

Chapter 51.

§5116.

40 CFR 61 [ Subpart/Appendix Heading

* k%

[See Prior Text in Subpart A-Appendix C]

* % %

[See Prior Text in B-C]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997),
amended LR 23:1658 (Decemb®997), LR 24:1278 (July 1998),
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment,
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1464 (August 1999).
Subchapter C. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR

Part 63 (National Standards for

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source

Categories) as it Applies to Major Sources
Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63
(National Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories) as it Applies to
Major Sources

A. Except as modified in this Section and specified
below, National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories published in €ade of
Federal Regulationat 40 CFR part 63, revised as of July 1,
1998, and specifically listed in the following table are
hereby incorporated by reference as they apply to major
sources in the State of Louisiana.

§5122.
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40 CFR 63 | Subpart/Appendix Heading

* Kk

[See Prior Text in Subpart A-R]

National Emission Standards for

Subpart S Hazardous Air Pollutants from the Pulp
and Paper Industry
* k%
[See Prior Text in Subpart T]
National Emission Standards for
Subpart U Hazardous Air Pollutant Emissions:

Group 1 Polymers and Resins

* Kk

[See Prior Text in Subpart W-KK]

National Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Primary
Aluminum Reduction Plants

Subpart LL

* * *

[See Prior Text in Subpart 0O-QQ]

National Emission Standards for
Subpart RR Individual Drain Systems

* Kk

[See Prior Text in Subpart VV]

National Emission Standards for

Subpart EEE Hazardous Air Pollutants from Hazardous
Waste Combustors
National Emission Standards for

Subpart JJJ Hazardous Air Pollutant Emissions:

Group IV Polymers and Resins

* Kk

[See Prior Text in Appendix A-D]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:61 (January 1997),
amended LR 23:1659 (Decemb&997), LR 24:1278 (July 1998),
LR 24:2240 (December 1998), amended by the Office of
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR
25:1464 (August 1999).

Chapter 53.  Area Sources of Toxic Air Pollutants
Subchapter B. Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR
Part 63 (National Emission Standards for
Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source
Categories) as it Applies to Area Sources
Incorporation by Reference of 40 CFR Part 63
(National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air
Pollutants for Source Categories) as it Applies to
Area Sources

Except as modified in this Section and specified below,
National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants
for Source Categories published in tii@ode of Federal
Regulationsat 40 CFR part 63, revised as of July 1, 1998,
and specifically listed in the following table are hereby
incorporated by reference as they apply to area sources in
the State of Louisiana.

§5311.

40 CFR 63 [ Subpart/Appendix Heading

* %k

[See Prior Text in Subpart A-Subpart X]
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2054.



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 23:63 (January 1997),
amended LR 23:1660 (Decemb&997), LR 24:1279 (July 1998),
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment,
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1464 (August 1999).

James H. Brent, Ph.D.

Assistant Secretary
9908#021

RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Environmental Assessment
Environmental Planning Division

EPA Authorization PackageRCRA VI, VIII, and 1X
(LAC 33:v.517, 519, 1109, 3001, and 4301)(HW069)

(Editor's Note: Due to reengineering at the Department of
Environmental Quality effective July 1, 1999, the Office and

Division names have been changed in the Notice of Intent
heading and in the Historical Note for each section in this rule.
The contents of the Notice and the Rule have not changed.)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary has amended the Hazardous Waste regulations,
LAC 33:V.517, 519, 1109, 3001, and 4301 (Log #HWO069).

This rule adds the requirement for a registered
professional engineer who certifies specific technical data to
be a Louisiana registered professional engineer. The
universal wastes, lamps and antifreeze, were adopted in a
previous regulatory package, but an omission of these wastes
was made in LAC 33:V.4301. This rule is correcting the
omission. LAC 33:V.3001 is being amended to exclude
"conditionally exempt" from conditionally exempt small
guantity generators, because Louisiana does not recognize
conditionally exempt small quantity generators. The basis
and rationale for this rule are to clarify and correct specific
requirements within Louisiana's regulations.

This rule meets the exceptions listed in R.S. 30:2019 (D)
(3) and R.S.49:953 (G) (3); therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
required.

Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part V. Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials
Subpart 1. Department of Environmental
Quality—Hazardous Waste
Chapter 5. Permit Application Contents
Subchapter D.  Part Il General Permit Information
Requirements
Part Il Information Requirements (the Formal
Permit Application)

The formal permit application information requirements
presented in this Section reflect the standards promulgated in
LAC 33:V.Subpart 1. These information requirements are
necessary in order to determine compliance with all
standards. Responses and exhibits shall be numbered
sequentially according to the technical standards. The permit
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§517.

application must describe how the facility will comply with
each of the sections of LAC 33:V.Chapters 15-37 and 41.
Information required in the formal permit application shall
be submitted to the administrative authority and signed in
accordance with requirements in LAC 33:V.509. The
description must include appropriate design information
(calculations, drawings, specifications, data, etc.) and
administrative details (plans, flow charts, decision trees,
manpower projections, operating instructions, etc.) to permit
the administrative authority to determine the adequacy of the
hazardous waste permit application. Certain technical data,
such as design drawings, specifications, and engineering
studies, shall be certified by a Louisiana registered
professional engineer. If a section does not apply, the permit
application must state it does not apply and why it does not
apply. This information is to be submitted using the same
numbering system and in the same order used in these
regulations:

* k *

[See Prior Text in A- W]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazlus Waste,
Hazadous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:280 (April 1984), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 14:790
(November 1988), LR 15:181 (March 1989), LR 15:378 (May
1989), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), LR
16:614 (July 1990), LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:658 (July
1991), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 21:266 (March 1995),
amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste
Division, LR 24:657 (April 1998), LR 24:1691 (September 1998),
LR 25:436 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1465
(August 1999).

Subchapter E.  Specific Information Requirements
§519. Contents of Part Il: General Requirements

Part 1l of the permit application consists of the general
information requirements of this Section, and the specific
information requirements in LAC 33:V:519-549 applicable
to the facility. The Part Il information requirements
presented in LAC 33:V.519-549 reflect the standards
promulgated in LAC 33:V.Chapters 15-37. These
information requirements are necessary in order for the
administrative authority to determine compliance with LAC
33:V.Chapters 15-37. If owners and operators of Hazardous
Waste Management facilities can demonstrate that the
information prescribed in Part Il cannot be provided to the
extent required, the administrative authority may make
allowance for submission of such information on a case-by-
case basis. Information required in Part Il shall be submitted
to the administrative authority and signed in accordance with
requirements in Subchapter B of this Chapter. Certain
technical data, such as design drawings and specifications
and engineering studies, shall be certified by a Louisiana
registered professional engineer. For post-closure permits,
only the information specified in LAC 33:V.528 is required
in Part Il of the permit application.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazmus Waste,
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Hazadous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:280 (April 1984), amended by the Office of Waste Services,
Hazadous Waste Division, LR 25:436 (March 1999), amended by
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 25:1465 (August 1999).

Chapter 11.  Generators

§1109. Pre-Transport Requirements

* % %

[See Prior Textin A- E.1.a.iii.(b)]

iv. in containment buildings and the generator
complies with LAC 33:V.Chapter 43.Subchapter T by
having placed his Louisiana professional engineer
certification that the building complies with the design
standards specified in LAC 33:V.4703 in the facility's
operating record no later than 60 days after the date of initial
operation of the unit. After February 18, 1993, Louisiana PE
certification will be required prior to operation of the unit.
The owner or operator shall maintain the following records
at the facility:

* % %

[See Prior Textin E.1.a.iv.(a) - 7.d.iv.(c).(v)]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazmus Waste,
Hazadous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 13:433 (August 1987), LR 16:47 (January
1990), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:1057 (December 1990),
LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375
(December 1992), LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 20:1109
(October 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), amended by the Office
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:1693
(September 1998), LR 25:437 (March 1999), amended by the
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 25:1466 (August 1999).

Chapter 30. Hazardous Waste Burned in Boilers and
Industrial Furnaces
§3001. Applicability

* % %
[See Prior Text in A- B.2]

3. hazardous wastes that are exempt from regulation
under LAC 33:V.105.D and 4105.B.10-12, and hazardous
wastes that are subject to the special requirements for small
guantity generators under LAC 33:V.Chapter 39; and

* % %
[See Prior Textin B.4 - F.1.c]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazlmus Waste,
Hazadous Waste Division, LR 18:1375 @ember 1992),
amended LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995),
LR 22:821 (September 1996), LR 22:835 (September 1996),
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment,
Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1466 (August 1999).
Chapter 43.  Interim Status
84301. Purpose and Applicability

* % %
[See Prior Textin A- C.13.c]
d. lamps as described in LAC 33:V.3809; and
e. antifreeze as described in LAC 33:V.3811;

* % %
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[See Prior Text in C.14 - 1]

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2180 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazlus Waste,
Hazadous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR
10:496 (July 1984), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 16:220 (March
1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 18:1256 (November 1992), LR
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), amended by
the Office of Waste Services, Hadaus Waste Division, LR
24:1743 (September 1998), LR 25:482 (March 1999), amended by
the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning
Division, LR 25:1466 (August 1999).

James H. Brent, Ph.D.

Assistant Secretary
9908#022

RULE

Department of Environmental Quality
Office of Environmental Assessment
Environmental Planning Division

Louisiana Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (LPDES)
Program (LAC 33:1X.2301, 2531, 2533)(WP032*)

(Editor's Note: Due to reengineering at the Department of
Environmental Quality effective July 1, 1999, the Office and

Division names have been changed in the Notice of Intent
heading and in the Historical Note for each section in this rule.
The contents of the Notice and the Rule have not changed.)

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act,
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
secretary has amended the Water Quality regulations, LAC
33:1X.2301, 2531, and 2533 (Log #WP032*).

This rule is identical to federal regulations found in all 40
CFR sections referenced in LAC 33:I1X.Chapter 23; 40 CFR
136; 40 CFR 401, 402, and 404-471, which are applicable in
Louisiana. For more information regarding the federal
requirement, contact the Regulation Development Section at
the address or phone number given below. No fiscal or
economic impact will result from the rule; therefore, the rule
will be promulgated in accordance with R.S. 49:953(F)(3)
and (4).

This rule will update the incorporation by reference of
federal regulations to refer to those regulations published in
the July 1998Code of Federal Regulationanless otherwise
noted. The basis and rationale for this rule are to clarify
which edition of the federal regulations to consult when
LAC 33:IX.Chapter 23 references the federal regulations.
This will assure consistent application of state and federal
requirements.

This rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019 (D) (3)
and R.S.49:953 (G) (3); therefore, no report regarding
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is
required.



Title 33
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Part IX. Water Quality Regulations

Chapter 23. The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge

Elimination System (LPDES) Program
Subchapter A. Definitions and General Program

Requirements
§2301. General Conditions
* % %
[See Prior Text in A - E]

F. All references to theCode of Federal Regulations
(CFR) contained in this Chapter (e.g., 40 CFR 122.29) shall
refer to those regulations published in the July 1@38le of
Federal Regulationaunless otherwise noted.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945
(September 1995), amended LR 23:199 (February 1997), LR
23:722 (June 1997), amended by the Office of Environmental
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 25:1467
(August 1999).

Subchapter N. Adoption by Reference
The Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality
adopts by reference the following federal requirements.
§2531. 40 CFR Part 136

Title 40 (Protection of the Environmen@ode of Federal
Regulations(CFR) part 136, Guidelines Establishing Test
Procedures for the Analysis of Pollutants, revised July 1,
1998, in its entirety.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945
(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), amended
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental
Planning Division, LR 25:1467 (August 1999).

§2533. 40 CFR Subchapter N

Title 40 (Protection of the Environment) CFR, chapter 1,
subchapter N (Effluent Guidelines and Standards), revised
July 1, 1998, parts 401 and 402, and parts 404 - 471 in their
entirety. (Note: General Pretreatment Regulations for
Existing and New Sources of Pollution found in part 403 of
Subchapter N have been included in these regulations as
Subchapter T.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945
(September 1995), amended LR 23:958 (August 1997), amended
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental
Planning Division, LR 25:1467 (August 1999).

James H. Brent, Ph.D.

Assistant Secretary
9908#023
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RULE

Office of the Governor
Office of Elderly Affairs

GOEA Policy Manual Parish Councils on Aging (PCOAS)
(LAC 4:VIl.Chapter 11)

In accordance with Revised Statutes 49:950 et seq., the
Administrative Procedure Act, the Governor's Office of
Elderly Affairs (GOEA) hereby amends the GOEA Policy
Manual, effective January 1, 2000. The purpose of the
proposed rule change is to update existing policies
governing parish councils on aging (PCOAs). State law
provides that there shall be one PCOA in each of the sixty-
four parishes in Louisiana. The PCOAs receive an annual
appropriation of state funds through the office of elderly
affairs based upon the number of parish residents age sixty
or over. This rule complies with R.S. 46:932, 935,936 and
1601-1606.

Title 4
ADMINISTRATION
Part VII. Governor's Office
Chapter11.  Elderly Affairs
Subchapter C. Councils on Aging
81151. Establishment of Parish Councils on Aging

A. Issuance of Charters. Charters for the establishment of
parish voluntary councils on aging (hereafter referred to as
"council on aging") are issued by the secretary of state upon
the approval of applications by the Governor's Office of
Elderly Affairs (GOEA) pursuant to LA R.S. 46:1602.
Immediately upon issuance of the charter by the secretary of
state, each council on aging is authorized to receive public
funds from any governmental or political subdivision. Such
funds shall be subject to audit by GOEA and the legislative
auditor, or his duly appointed representative.

B. Governance

1. The functions of each council on aging shall
comply with the objectives of state laws and shall be
governed by the policies and regulations established by the
Office of Elderly Affairs. Copies of such policies and
regulations shall be furnished to each council on aging by
GOEA prior to their effective date.

2. Each council on aging shall be voluntary as to its
membership and as to all plans, programs and activities, and
each shall be non-profit making and politically non-partisan
and non-factional and shall be non-sectarian.

3. When GOEA determines, as a result of monitoring
activities or reports from any source, that a council on aging,
through action or inaction of its governing body, is
jeopardizing the welfare of the citizens of that parish, or is in
violation of the requirements of this policy manual or other
state regulations, the following steps shall be taken.
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a. GOEA shall require a meeting with the governing
body to discuss the issues in question.

b. GOEA may require additional written
information and/or records from the council on aging.

c. GOEA shall issue written guidelines and/or
recommendations for the council on aging in order to
remedy the issues under question.

d. GOEA shall provide technical assistance, as
requested by the council on aging and deemed appropriate
by GOEA, in order to facilitate resolution of those issues.

e. In the event that a council on aging refuses to
follow GOEA's guidelines and/or recommendations to
resolve said issues, GOEA may institute procedures to
revoke that council on aging's charter.

C. Duties and Functions

1. Each council on aging shall:

a. collect facts and statistics and make special
studies of conditions pertaining to the employment, financial
status, recreation, social adjustment, mental and physical
health or other conditions affecting the welfare of the aging
people in the parish;

b. keep abreast of the latest developments in these
fields of activity throughout the state and nation;

c. interpretits findings to the citizens of the parish;

d. provide for a mutual exchange of ideas and
information on the parish and state level;

e. conduct public meetings to make
recommendations for needed improvements and additional
resources;

f. promote the welfare of aging people when
requested to do so;

g. coordinate and monitor the services of other local
agencies serving the aging people of the parish;

h. assist and cooperate with the Governor's Office
of Elderly Affairs; and

i. make recommendations relevant to the planning
and delivery of services to the elderly of the parish.

2. Each council on aging may appoint subcommittees
to undertake such special studies as it authorizes and may
appoint to such subcommittees persons qualified in any field
of activity relating to the welfare of aging people.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
39:87.2(E), 46:932(8), 46:1601, 46:1602, 46:1605.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 25:1467 (August 1999).
81153. Membership

A. General Membership

1. Membership in the council on aging shall be open,
without restriction, to residents of the parish who have
reached the age of majority. Membership applications shall
be made available at the council on aging office.
Membership fees shall not be charged.

2. Each council on aging shall conduct an annual
membership drive. The membership rolls shall be closed two
weeks prior to the annual meeting required in Subsection
1161.C of this manual.

3. A current list of the general membership shall be
maintained at the council on aging office.

B. Board of Directors

1. The board of directors (the Board) shall be
composed of no less than eleven members and no more than
twenty-one with provisions in the by-laws for staggered
terms of office. By-laws shall specify the exact number of
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board members. If at any time the board membership is less
than eleven members, the board shall not be considered a
legally constituted board. The remaining members shall fill
the vacancy in accordance with §1153.B.4. of this manual.

2. Members of the Board shall be elected by the
general membership of the council on aging. Ballots shall be
prepared from the list of nominees submitted by the Board
Development Committee. The presiding officer shall allow
ample time for nominations and shall recognize all
nominations, including those from the floor, before declaring
the nominations closed. All nominations from the floor shall
be added to the ballot. Voting shall be conducted by secret
ballot. Ballots shall be counted in full view of the general
membership. If no nominations are received from the floor,
board members may be elected by acclamation.

3. Members of the Board shall be elected for terms of
three years with approximately one-third elected each year.
The word "year" is defined as the period from the date of the
annual meeting of one year to the date of the annual meeting
of the following year, inclusive. Each Board member shall
serve until a replacement is appointed or his/her successor is
elected.

4. Whenever a position on the Board becomes vacant
during the vyear, the Board shall elect a temporary
replacement within sixty days. The replacement shall serve
until the next annual meeting, at which time a successor
shall be elected by the membership to fill the vacancy for the
remainder of the unexpired term. A person elected to fill an
unexpired term for at least eighteen months shall be
considered to have occupied the position for a full term.

5. General Requirements

a. There shall be parish wide representation on the
Board.

b. Members of the Board must have the knowledge
and expertise in the areas of business and financial
management needed to manage the affairs of the council on
aging.

c. Members of the Board shall reside in the parish
throughout their tenure.

d. Not more than one-half of the board membership
may be elected officials.

6. Restrictions

a. Any member of the Board who shall have served
as such for two consecutive full terms shall be ineligible for
re-election for a period of one (1) year immediately
following the expiration of such second full term.

b. Former council on aging staff members shall not
serve on the Board of the same agency for a period of two
(2) years immediately following separation from
employment.

c. Former council on aging board members shall
not serve as paid agency staff of the same agency for a
period of two (2) years immediately following separation
from the Board.

d. Except for the staff director, who may be an ex-
officio member with the a voice in discussions but with no
vote, paid staff members are prohibited from serving on the
Board.

e. Immediate family members shall not serve on the
Board at the same time. Immediate family is defined as
follows: Husband, wife, father, mother, sister, brother, son,
daughter, grandmother, grandfather, father-in-law, mother-



in-law, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-
law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:932(8), 46:1602, 46:1603.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 25:1468 (August 1999).
§1155. Council on Aging Board of Directors

A. Responsibilities of the Board of Directors

1. The Board shall assure the availability of funds
required for the council on aging to function. Additionally,
the Board shall be responsible for accountability of
expenditures of funds.

2. The Board shall establish policies governing all
aspects of the council on aging's operations. These policies
shall be in compliance with state and federal laws and
regulations. Additionally, they shall comply with the policies
established by the Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs and
shall be maintained as a matter of record. The board shall be
responsible for enforcement of these policies.

3. The Board shall employ a paid full-time executive
director, who shall be qualified by education and/or
experience to perform duties which include, but are not
limited to the following:

a. planning and program development;

b. evaluation of programs and operation;
c. resource development and fund raising;
d. fiscal management and budgeting;

e. supervision of day-to-day operation;

f.  community relations;

g. personnel management; and

h. training and staff development.

4. The Board shall delegate the responsibilities listed
in Sections 1157 and 1159 of this manual to the executive
director. The executive director shall perform his/her duties
in accordance with policies established by the Board. The
executive director shall review and report to the Board and
others, as appropriate, on programs, operations, facilities,
equipment, and emergency arrangements.

5. The Board shall establish written procedures for
hearing employee grievances. These procedures shall
provide for an appeal of disciplinary actions by the executive
director.

6. The Board shall ensure that any employee who runs
for public office takes a leave of absence for the period of
time (s)he is actively involved in the campaign. An
employee shall be considered actively involved in the
campaign from the time (s)he qualifies as a candidate to the
time the votes are tabulated. If elected, the employee shall
either resign of be terminated from employment.

7. The Board shall ensure that immediate family
members are not employed by the council on aging in direct
supervisory relationships. Immediate family is defined as
follows: Husband, wife, father, mother, sister, brother, son,
daughter, grandmother, grandfather, father-in-law, mother-
in-law, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-
law.

B. Offices of the Board of Directors

1. Officers of the board of directors shall be elected by
the board members in accordance with the Open Meetings
Law.

a. The minimum offices of the Board shall be
president/chairperson; vice-president/vice-chairperson; and
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secretary/treasurer; or secretary and treasurer. The duties of
each office are defined below:

i. President/Chairpersonthe  President/chair-
person shall preside at all meetings of the Board and shall
perform such other duties as may be assigned by the Board.

ii. Vice-President/Vice-Chairpersorat the
request of the President/chairperson, the Vice
President/Vice-chairperson shall perform the duties and
exercise the powers of the President/chairperson or in his/her
absence or disability. The Vice President/Vice-chairperson
shall perform such duties as may be assigned by the Board.

iii. The Secretaryshall have general charge over
all the Board's records. The Secretary shall keep complete
minutes of all meetings of the Board and Executive
Committee. The Secretary shall serve all notices required by
the corporate laws of the State of Louisiana and the by-laws
of the council on aging. The Secretary shall prepare and
submit the Annual Report required in 81161.D of this
manual. The Secretary shall be responsible for maintaining
the official membership roll of the council on aging. The
Secretary shall have the usual powers and duties of a
Secretary and shall perform such other duties as may be
assigned by the Board.

iv. The Treasurershall have the usual powers and
duties of a Treasurer. The Treasurer shall be responsible for
all funds, property and securities of the Board subject to
State and Federal law and/or regulations. The Treasurer shall
present a quarterly financial statement to the Board to
include a comparison of income and expenditures with
respect to the annual budget. The Treasurer must properly
account for and report to the Board annually regarding all
assets of the council on aging. The Treasurer shall prepare
and submit such reports as are required by law. The
Treasurer shall perform such other duties as may be assigned
by the Board.

b. The by-laws may provide for additional officers,
and must spell out the duties and responsibilities of all
additional officers.

2. Each officer shall be elected by the members of the
Board at the first regular meeting of the Board. The first
regular meeting of the Board shall be held immediately
following adjournment of the Annual Meeting.

3. The term of office for each office shall be one year.
Officers may serve no more than two consecutive terms in
the same office. Terms shall begin when officers are elected.

4. The Board shall elect from among its members, an
officer to fill any office vacated between elections within
thirty days, or at its next scheduled meeting, whichever
comes first. The officer so elected shall serve for the
remainder of the unexpired term. An unexpired term so
filled shall not be considered a term of office as defined in
Paragraph (3) of this Subsection.

C. Committees

1. Standing Committees

a. The Board shall establish the following standing
committees: Executive Committee, Board Development
Committee, Personnel Committee and Finance Committee.
Elections and appointments shall be done annually. The
members of the standing committees shall be named at the
first meeting of the Board following the annual meeting.

b. To the extent feasible, all members of the Board
shall be appointed to at least one standing committee.
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c. The duties and responsibilities of standing
committees established by the Board shall include but not be
limited to the following.

i. TheExecutive Committeghall be composed of
the Officers and such other persons as the Board designates.
The Executive Committee may have the authority to make
decisions as delegated by the Board. Recommendations
developed by the Executive Committee shall be brought
before the full Board for its actions at the next meeting of
the Board.

ii. The Board Development Committeghall be
elected by the Board and shall elect its own Chairperson.
This committee shall nominate temporary replacements to be
elected by the Board to fill vacancies on the Board; present a
slate of nominees for the Board to be voted upon by the
general membership at the annual meeting; and develop a
slate of nominees for officers to be presented to the Board at
the first meeting following the annual meeting. Biographical
information will be obtained by this committee on each
individual being considered for nomination.

iii. The Personnel Committeshall be appointed
by the Board President/chairperson. This committee shall
interview and recommend candidates for the executive
director's position; and recommend salaries and adjustments
for the executive director. It shall develop personnel policies
which ensure compliance with all pertinent federal and state
laws and regulations pertaining to labor standards including
employee rights, compensation, insurance, retirement, social
security and other benefits. It shall hear appeals of
disciplinary actions by the executive director. Its
recommendations shall be presented to the full Board for

approval.

iv. The Finance Committeeshall consist of the
Treasurer and members appointed by the Board
President/Chairperson. The Treasurer shall serve as

chairperson. This committee shall develop fund raising

activities; prepare and submit the budget for the following

fiscal year for approval by the Board; and submit financial

reports and amendments to the budget for the current fiscal
year.

2. Ad hoc Committees. The Board may designhate such
other committees as it deems necessary. Members shall be
appointed by the Board President/chairperson. Ad hoc
committees shall meet at the call of their Chairperson and
shall submit a written report to the Board at the end of their
assignment.

D. Meetings of the Board of Directors

1. Regular Meetings. Regular meetings of the Board
shall be held at least quarterly according to a schedule
determined by the Board.

2. Special Meetings. Special meetings may be called
by the Chairperson; the Executive Committee; one-third
(1/3) of the board members; or twenty-five credentialized
members of the council on aging. The purpose of the
meeting shall be stated in the request. Except in the cases of
emergency, at least twenty-four (24) hours notice shall be
given.

3. Parliamentary Authority. All Board meetings shall
be conducted in accordance with the current edition of
Robert's Rules of Order, provided the rules are not
inconsistent with these policies or statutory regulation.
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4. Open Meetings Law. Meetings of the council on
aging shall be conducted in accordance with R.S. 42:1 et
seq., the Open Meetings Law.

5. Notice. Notice of board meetings shall be given by
regular mail to each member at least five (5) days before the
date designated for such meetings. The notice shall specify
the place, date, time and business to be brought before the
Board.

6. Quorum

a. The presence of a simple majority of the number
of board members stated in the by-laws shall be necessary to
constitute a quorum at any meeting of the full Board to
transact business. An act of a simple majority of the
Directors attending a meeting when a quorum is present
shall be an act of the Board.

b. The quorum for conducting business by all
committees shall be a simple majority of the membership of
each committee. The passage of any motion or resolution
shall be by simple majority voice vote of those present.

7. \oting Procedures. Voting by the Board shall be
conducted by voice vote of "yea" or "nay." No member will
vote by proxy. Each member is to have one (1) vote. All
votes made by members of the Board shall be recorded by
member's name in the minutes of the meeting and as
required by the Louisiana Open Meetings Law (R.S. 42:5 et
seq.).

E. Conflict of Interest

1. All Board members shall avoid conflicts between
their personal interests and the interests of the Council.

a. Conflicts of interesinclude situations wherein a
Board member:

i. is involved in a Council decision or action
regarding another entity in which the member or a member
of his/her immediate family has a financial interest, is an
employee, is a director or is a consultant; or

ii. discloses information relating to the business
of the Council which can be used by another entity to the
detriment of the Council.

b. Other entities include any organization or
individual which does business or seeks to do business with
the Council or competes with the Council.

c. Immediate familys defined as follows: Husband,
wife, father, mother, sister, brother, son, daughter,
grandmother, grandfather, father-in-law, mother-in-law,
sister-in-law, brother-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law.

2. If a board member is aware of any personal interest
related to an issue that exists or is under consideration by the
Council, the individual shall immediately and prior to the
discussion about or action on the issue:

a. disclose the existence of all personal interests;
and

b. abstain from voting and/or to
influence the decision.

3. The President/Chairperson, after reviewing the
matter with the Executive Committee, shall have the
authority to determine whether a conflict of interest exists.

F. Removal of Board Member or Officer

1. Reasons for Removal. Any Board member or
officer may be removed from the Board, after a hearing, for
the following reasons:

attempting



a. failure to perform duties;

b. conduct which is injurious to the council on
aging or its purposes;

c. absence from two (2) consecutive regular
meetings of the Board without a valid reason. The secretary
shall mail a letter of notification after a member has missed
two (2) regular meetings.

2. Notice of Removal. Any officer or member
proposed to be removed shall be entitled to at least five (5)
days notice in writing, of the meeting at which such removal
is to be voted upon. Such notice shall be sent by registered
mail, and shall include the reason(s) for the proposed
removal. The officer or member proposed to be removed
shall be entitled to appear and be heard at such meeting, and

may present such witnesses and make such defense as he/she

deems proper.

3. Process of Removal. Any officer or member may
be removed from office by the affirmative vote of two-thirds
(2/3) of the board members present at any regular meeting or
special meeting called for that purpose. The Board may
declare a seat vacant or void the election of a board member.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S.46:932(8), 46:1605.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 25:1469 (August 1999).
§1157. Administrative and Personnel Responsibilities

A. Administrative Responsibilities

1. Administrative records and reports shall be
established and maintained on the council on aging's total
operation to satisfy legal requirements and for use as a
management tool. These should include:

a. written records of all policies set forth by the
governing body;

b. minutes of meetings of the Board;

c. minutes of committee meetings,
records of major decisions;

d. personnel records;

e. fiscal records;

f. correspondence;

g. safety, fire inspection, public health inspection,
and related reports;

h. accident reports and procedures;

i. statistical information;

j- annual reports, reflecting fiscal and program
activity of the council on aging; and

k. historical records, clippings,
documents.

2. Administrative records and reports should be
reviewed periodically by appropriate staff to evaluate their
adequacy and continued usefulness.

3. An appropriate  policy, consistent  with
administrative and legal requirements, should be established
for retaining records and reports.

B. Personnel Responsibilities

1. Personnel Management

a. Staffing. A council on aging shall have a staffing
pattern that clearly defines the positions necessary to
implement the organization's goals and objectives and
specifies appropriate relationships among all levels of
administration and supervision.

b. Staff Supervision

i. acouncil on aging should have a formal system
of staff supervision for paid and volunteer personnel to help

including

and other
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improve their performance and develop their abilities.
Supervision should include regular individual conferences
and staff meetings.

ii. a council on aging should have a development
program for paid and volunteer staff to encourage
participation in educational and training opportunities that
will enhance their skills and job performance.

c. Staff Training

i. Councils on Aging shall provide training for
staff and volunteers who are assigned to record keeping.
Such training should include:

(a). information about the council on aging's
system of record keeping (for example, types of records and
reports and how they are used);

(b). training for computer-based
systems, if used by the council on aging; and

(c). instruction about procedures to ensure
confidentiality of participants and staff.

2. Personnel Policies, Practices and Procedures
a. Personnel policies shall be written in a handbook
or other suitable form and provided to staff, board members,
and, as appropriate, other agencies. Procedures and criteria
in the following areas should be included as applicable:
i. recruitment, hiring, probation, dismissal;
i. insurance;

iii. leave, vacation, holidays, other benefits;

iv. retirement;

v. grievances and disciplinary actions;

vi. performance appraisal and promotion;

vii. salary ranges and increases ;

viii ~ staff development and training;

ix. channels for staff communication
management;

x. family leave, if agency meets Family Medical
Leave Act (FMLA) requirements;

xi. protection from discrimination based on age,
race, sex, sexual preference, disability, and religious
preference;

xii. protection from sexual harassment; and

xiii  Equal Employment Opportunity.

b. Hiring practices shall be consistent
requirements of government laws and regulations.

c. Job Descriptions

i. There shall be a written job description for
each staff and volunteer position.

ii. Each job description shall state at a minimum:;

(a). position title;

(b). qualifications;

(c). duties and responsibilities;

(d). scope of authority; and

(e). lines of communication for supervision and
reporting.

iii. Each staff member and volunteer shall be given
a copy of his or her job description, and it must be discussed
at the time of employment or job assignment.
iv. Management shall annually review each job
description with staff and revise it as appropriate.
d. An employee record shall be maintained, and
should contain at least the following:
i. application for employment,
résume;
ii. letters of reference;

information
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iii. job description;
iv. letters of employment;
v. record of compensation, promotion, and salary

adjustments;
vi. evaluation and commendations;
vii. disciplinary actions; and
viii  correspondence on personnel matters.

e. Each employee's performance shall be evaluated
regularly, according to an established procedure.
Performance appraisals should include:

i. a written performance appraisal based on
objective and job-related criteria;
i. review of the appraisal in a face-to-face
interview; and
iii. opportunity for written dissent to be part of the
personnel record.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:932(8), 46:1605.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 25:1471 (August 1999).
81159. Fiscal Responsibility

A. Fiscal Planning

1. A council on aging's financial operation shall be
based on sound planning and prudent management of all
resources.

2. The budget shall specify and allocate all anticipated
income, from all sources, and all projected expenditures
related to services regardless of the funding source.

3. Procedures shall be established and records kept so
that a cost analysis of services and activities can be made
and the results used in the planning process and in
evaluation.

B. Accountability and Reporting

1. Regular fiscal reports disclosing the council on
aging's full financial condition shall be prepared. These
reports shall include balance sheets, statements of income
and expense, and cumulative and comparative budgets.
Fiscal reports shall be submitted to the Governor's Office of
Elderly Affairs (GOEA) and made available to the public on
request.

2. The accounting records of the council on aging
shall be audited annually within 180 days of Fiscal Year
close by a Certified Auditor or Certified Public Accountant
whose report shall be rendered to the Board and sent to
GOEA as required.

3. The audit report shall be submitted to the Board and
the executive director and made available to the public on
request.

4. Reports related to income provided for special
purposes (grants, contracts, special projects, etc.) shall be
prepared and submitted to GOEA as required.

5. Each council on aging annually shall file with
GOEA a financial statement for the previous year of all
receipts and disbursements of funds allocated pursuant to
R.S. 46:1606. Such statement shall be filed no later than
thirty days after the close of each fiscal year.

C. Legal and Administrative Requirements

1. A council on aging's financial operation shall
conform to all applicable legal and administrative
requirements.

2. Budgeting, accounting, and financial reporting
practices shall conform to generally accepted accounting
principles.
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3. Budgeting, accounting, and financial reporting
practices shall conform to requirements of a council on
aging's funding sources.

D. Management Procedures

1. Accurate and complete bookkeeping records shall
be maintained.

2. A council on aging or its Board shall have an
internal control system consisting of written procedures for:

a. centralized cash control, including recording cash
receipts and expenditures, depositing cash, separation of
cash handling from record-keeping, and periodic checks of
petty cash and other cash funds;

b. purchasing, including an approval system for all
purchases, names of persons authorized to contract or
purchase for the council on aging, obtaining competitive
price quotes or bids, and separation of ordering and
receiving functions;

c. storage and inventory control; and

d. bonding of persons who handle the council on
aging's funds.

E. Risk Protection

1. A council on aging shall have a risk protection
program (insurance coverage) that:

a. meets legal requirements;

b. is adequate to preserve the council on aging's
assets; and

c. compensates claimants for reasonable claims.

F. Administrative staff or Board members shall procure
information on insurance needs and available types of
protection. Such information should be reviewed by the
Board or the executive director at least annually.

3. A council on aging shall have insurance policies
covering:

a. loss from fire, theft, vandalism, and natural
disasters;

b. comprehensive general liability;

c. vehicle insurance;

d. liability for use of private automobiles by paid or
volunteer staff on official business;

e. workers' compensation; and

f.  liability for acts of volunteers.

F. Compensation. The members of the Board shall
receive no per diem or other compensation for their services.

G. Travel Reimbursement. Members of the Board may
receive reimbursement for in-parish travel for the purpose of
attending meetings of the Board or any committee. At the
option of the Board, Board members may receive
reimbursement for out-of-parish travel conducted in
connection with business of the Board. Such travel shall
receive prior approval of the Board at a regularly scheduled
meeting. State travel regulations shall govern the rate of
reimbursement.

H. Bonding. A fidelity bond shall be maintained by the
council on aging to cover all board officers, all board
members authorized to sign checks, and all council on aging
employees who handle cash or other funds administered by
the Board.

I. Bank Accounts. The Board shall designate all
authorized check signers through passage of a resolution. All
checks issued by the council on aging shall have two
signatures. At least one of the signatures shall be that of a



duly authorized board member. The bookkeeper or person
preparing the checks shall not be authorized to sign checks.

J.  Ownership and Transfer of Property

1. Acquisition. Assets derived from funds
administered by the council on aging are assets of the
council on aging.

2. Disposition. In the event of the dissolution of the
council on aging, no assets shall be used to benefit any
private person, corporation, or group. GOEA shall ensure
that such assets are transferred to a unit of government or to
another private non-profit agency holding a 501(3)(c)
Certificate.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:932(8), 46:1606.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 25:1472 (August 1999).
81161. General Requirements

A. Council on Aging By-laws

1. By-laws shall be reviewed and updated as
necessary, at least every two years. A copy of each council
on aging's by-laws or a "Board of Directors By-laws
Certification Form" (HCBS1A02) shall be sent to the
Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs by July thirty-first of
each year. Revisions must be accompanied by a copy of the
by-laws and GOEA Form (HCBS1AO01), "Evaluation of
Board of Directors By-laws" Form (HCBS1R01) and
forwarded to GOEA within 30 days of the revision.

2. By-laws shall contain procedures for amendment.
Due notice of not less than 14 days shall be given to all
board members and the public. Proposed changes in the by-
laws shall not be voted on at the meeting at which they are
presented for consideration, but shall be laid over to the next
regularly scheduled board meeting unless a special meeting
is called for that purpose.

B. Membership List. The secretary shall maintain a list
of the Board members using GOEA Form HCBS1CO01 and
HCBS1C02. The list shall be available at all regular and
special meetings of the membership. Only those members
who have been identified as current members will be
permitted to vote at meetings of the general membership.

C. Annual Meeting

1. There shall be an annual meeting of the general
membership of the council on aging for the purpose of
nominating and electing board members, receiving reports,
and conducting any other business that may arise.

2. The Annual Meeting shall be advertised in the
official parish journal twenty-one (21) days in advance.
Notices shall be posted at all council on aging activity sites
for at least seven (7) days immediately prior to the meeting.

3. Those members of the council on aging present at
the annual meeting and who have been credentialed by the
Secretary shall constitute a quorum.

D. Annual Report. An annual report shall be prepared at
least two weeks prior to the annual meeting. It shall include
a list of board members; a comprehensive financial
statement that identifies all revenues, expenses, sources of
funding and ending balances; a summary of activities
conducted pursuant to Subsection 1151.C, including findings
and recommendations of subcommittees appointed by the
council on aging during the most recently completed State
fiscal year. Copies of the annual report shall be provided to
GOEA. Copies shall be made available to the general public
and may be provided at cost.
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E. Ethics

1. Purchases

a. Funds administered by the council on aging shall
be neither obligated nor expended for the purchase or rental
of goods, space, or services if any of the following persons
has a substantial interest in the purchase or rental unless it is
documented that it is the cheapest or sole source, and the
person who has an interest plays no part in making the
decision:

i. aboard member;

ii. the executive director or assistant director;

iii. any employee who has responsibility for
procurement of goods, space or services;

iv. anyone who is a member of the immediate
family of a board member or employee referred to above; or

V. Any individual referred to above, who has a
direct or indirect financial or executive interest in any
contract or transaction with the council on aging shall
disclose such interest to the Board.

b. The individual concerned shall not participate in
discussion or vote relating to the subject of their interest.

F. Coercion. Neither the Board nor the executive
director shall impose upon any employee or prospective
employee of the council on aging any conditions of
employment, either expressed or implied, which are not job
related in terms of qualifications, duties and responsibilities.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1601 and R.S. 46:1602.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984), amended
LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 25:1473 (August 1999).

§1163. Dissolution of Councils on Aging

A. The Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs, with
approval of the Governor, and upon review and
recommendation of the Louisiana Executive Board on
Aging, may revoke the charter of any council on aging for
noncompliance with law, policies and/or regulations.

B. Any council on aging may be dissolved and surrender
its charter upon a decision to do so reached by a majority
vote of the total membership of the Board. Upon revocation
or surrender of the charter, a council on aging shall cease to
function under the provisions of Chapter 16 of the Louisiana
Revised Statutes.

C. Within sixty days of the revocation or surrender of a
charter, GOEA shall accept applications from any group of
five or more citizens of the parish for a new charter. The
application shall set forth the names, addresses, and
occupations of the persons who are to serve as the charter
members and such other information as required by Chapter
16 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes. Charter members in
the council on aging shall consist of those persons who
associate themselves together, and receive an original
charter. Not more than half of the charter membership of a
council on aging shall be elected officials.

D. Immediately upon receipt of an application, GOEA
shall make such examination and investigation as it deems
advisable. After the application has been approved by the
executive director of GOEA, it shall be transmitted to the
secretary of state, who is authorized to issue a charter which
thereafter shall constitute authority of the council on aging to
function in the parish for which the charter was issued in
accordance with the provisions of Chapter 16 of the
Louisiana Revised Statutes.
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E. Immediately upon issuance of the charter by the
secretary of state, the newly established council on aging
will be authorized to receive public funds from any
governmental or political subdivision. Such funds shall be
subject to audit by GOEA and the legislative auditor, or his
duly appointed representative.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1602 and R.S. 46:1606

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 25:1473 (August
1999).

81165. Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1604.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), repealed LR 25:1474
(August 1999).

81167. Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.
46:1605 and R. S. 42:1119.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 10:1023 (Decemb#®84), LR 11:1078 (November
1985), LR 13:23 (January 1987), LR 13:569 (October 1987), LR
17:602 (June 1991), repealed LR 25:1474 (August 1999).

81169. Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
46:1602.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), repealed LR 25:1474
(August 1999).

P.F. "Pete" Arceneaux, Jr.

Executive Director
9908#063

RULE

Office of the Governor
Office of Elderly Affairs

GOEA Policy Manual Purchasing
(LAC 4:VI1.1201-1207)

In accordance with Revised Statutes 49:950 et seq., the
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that
the Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs (GOEA) hereby
amends Sections 1201 through 1207 of the GOEA Policy
Manual effective August 20, 1999. The purpose of the
proposed rule change is to update existing policies affecting
service providers responsible for administering programs
funded through GOEA. This rule complies with the Older
Americans Act (OAA) (Public Law 89-73), 45 CFR Part
1321, and LAR.S. 44:36.

Title 4
ADMINISTRATION
Part VII. Governor's Office
Chapter 11.  Elderly Affairs
Subchapter D. Service Provider Responsibilities
81201. Purchasing
A. Applicability
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This Section covers all purchases of supplies, equipment
or services by Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs (GOEA)
recipients under allowable cost funding. Older Americans
Act Title 11l service procurement and professional service
procurement are not covered by this Section.

B. Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs Purchasing
Policy

1. GOEA recipients shall make positive efforts to
utilize small businesses and minority-owned business
sources of supplies and services. Such efforts should allow
these sources the maximum feasible opportunity to compete
for contracts utilizing federal and state funds. Agencies shall
maintain a list of small or minority-owned businesses to be
contacted for potential purchases. The following
organizations may be contacted for information:

a. Louisiana Office of Minority Business
Enterprise;

b. Louisiana Office of Women's Business
Enterprise;

c. Small Business Administration;

d. Louisiana Minority Business
Authority (LAMBDA); and

e. Louisiana Department of Commerce.

2. GOEA recipients are encouraged to utilize State
contracts in making purchases. GOEA can provide a listing
of State Purchasing personnel and telephone numbers to
contact for price, vendor, and contract number information.
Normally a local vendor will be listed on State contract. The
use of State contract(s) eliminates all need for bidding and
advertisements.

3. ..

C. Methods of Purchasing

1. Small Purchases. Any procurement not exceeding
$10,000 shall be made in accordance with the small
purchase procedures in Subsection D of this Section. Those
purchases defined in Paragraph 7 of Subsection D of this
Section shall be deemed small purchases regardless of price.
Procurement requirements shall not be artificially divided so
as to constitute a small purchase under this Section.

2. Competitive Sealed Bidding. Purchases exceeding
$10,000 shall be by competitive sealed bidding.

D. Small Purchase Procedures

1. For purchases equal to or less than $500, no
competitive bidding is required.

2. Purchases over $500 but less than or equal to
$2,000.00 shall be made by soliciting three (3) price
guotations except in cases of emergency. (Emergencies shall
be documented.) The quotations may be solicited by
telephone, facsimile, or other means. Whenever possible, at
least one (1) of the bona fide, qualified bidders shall be a
certified economically disadvantaged business. Agency files
shall document and list all solicited bidders and each bidder's
contact person, summarize bid responses, indicate the
awarded bid, and state the reason any lower bid was
rejected. If no bid was solicited from a certified
economically disadvantaged business, agency files shall
contain a written explanation of why such a bid was not
solicited. Agency files should also contain written
confirmation of the bid from the successful bidder.

3. Purchases Over $2,000 But Less Than or Equal To
$10,000

Development



a. Purchases over $2,000 but less than or equal to
$10,000 shall not be made except by soliciting price
guotations either written or by facsimile from at least five
(5) bona fide qualified bidders. Whenever possible, at least
two (2) of the bona fide, qualified bidders shall be certified
economically disadvantaged businesses. Solicitations shall
allow for bids to be accepted for a minimum period of ten
(10) calendar days.

b. All solicitations shall include the closing date,
time, and all pertinent competitive specifications, including
guantities, units of measure, packaging, delivery
requirements, ship-to location, terms and conditions, and
other information sufficient for a supplier to make an
acceptable bid.

c. Precautionary measures shall be taken to
safeguard the confidentiality of bid responses prior to the
closing time for receipt of bids. No bid shall be evaluated
using criteria not disclosed in the solicitation.

d. Agency files shall document and list all solicited
bidders and each bidder's response, summarize bid

responses, indicate the awarded bid, and state the reason

why any lower bid was rejected. If fewer than two (2) bids
were solicited from certified economically disadvantaged
businesses, agency files shall contain a written explanation
of why two (2) bids were not solicited.

4. No purchase where the estimated cost is over
$10,000 shall be made except by advertising in accordance
with Subsection E of this Section and sending out written
invitations for bids to at least eight bona fide qualified
bidders.

5. Automotive, Machinery and Equipment Parts.

Repairs and parts associated with repairs for automobiles
and machinery shall be obtained by either:

a. the use of an authorized dealer - a dealer certified
by the manufacturer to perform maintenance on their
equipment; or

b. obtaining competitive bids as indicated above.

6. Exceptions to minimum competitive requirements
include:

a. federal government surplus property;

b. textbooks, newspapers, subscriptions, or foreign
publications, and membership;

c. all public utilities;

d. all services provided by
(Example: garbage pick-up); and

e. parcel services, including but not limited to
Federal Express, United Parcel Service, Airborne Express,
and Express Mail.

7. Quotations should be obtained from at least three
bona fide, qualified bidders where possible in the purchase
of perishable foods. When possible, at least one (1) of the
bona fide, qualified bidders shall be a certified economically
disadvantaged business.

E. Competitive Sealed Bidding Process

1. ..

2. Public Notice

a. Written public notice of the invitation for bids
shall be given at least ten days prior to the date set forth
therein for the opening of bids. If the amount of the purchase
is ten thousand dollars ($10,000) or more, such notice shall
be mailed to persons in a position to furnish the supplies,

local government
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services, or major repairs required, as shown by its records,
and by advertising.

b. The advertisements or written notices shall
contain general descriptions of the supplies, services, or
major repairs for which bids are wanted and shall state:

i. The names and locations of the departments or
institutions for which the purchases are to be made;

i. Where and how specifications and quotation
forms may be obtained; and

iii. The date and time not later than which bids
must be received and will be opened.

c. Each advertisement shall be published in the
official journal of parish government.

3.-4.

5. Correction or Withdrawal of Bids. Patent errors in
bids or errors in bids supported by clear and convincing
evidence may be corrected, or bids may be withdrawn, if
such correction or withdrawal does not prejudice other
bidders. Such actions may be taken only to the extent
permitted under regulations.

6. Award

a. ..

b. Responsive bidder means a person who has
submitted a bid which conforms in all substantive respects to
the invitation for bids, including the specifications set forth
in the invitation.

c. The term "responsible bidder" means a person
who has the capability in all respects to perform the contract
requirements and the integrity and reliability which will
assure good faith performance.

F. Responsibility of Bidders and Offerors

1. ..

2. Whenever the board of directors proposes to
disqualify the lowest bidder on bids of more than $10,000,
the board shall do the following:

a. give written notice of
disqualification to such bidder and

include in the written notice all reasons for the proposed
disqualification; and

b. give such bidder who is proposed to be
disqualified, a reasonable opportunity to be heard at an
informal hearing at which such bidder is afforded the
opportunity to refute the reasons for the disqualification.

G. Specifications

1.-2.

H.-K. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with OAA
Section 307(a)(7).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), amended LR 18:610 (June
1992), amended LR 25:1474 (August 1999).

81203. Applicable Laws and Standards

Service providers shall comply with all state licensing
standards, all applicable accrediting standards, any
applicable federal standards and all applicable state and
federal laws as well as Governor's Office of Elderly Affairs
policies, procedures, and rules.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45
CFR 1321.9(e)(3).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),

the proposed
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amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 25:1475 (August
1999).
81205. Records and Reports

Repealed. (Information will be relocated to §1189.)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
44:36.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 25:1476 (August
1999).

§1207. Monitoring by GOEA

A L

B. GOEA shall be permitted to audit, examine and make
excerpts from invoices, materials, payroll, records of
personnel, conditions of employment and other data relating
to matters covered by the subcontract.

C. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with OAA
Section 307(a)(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the
Governor, Office of Elderly Affairs, LR 10:464 (June 1984),
amended LR 11:1078 (November 1985), LR 25:1476 (August
1999).

P.F. "Pete" Arceneaux, Jr.

Executive Director
9908#047

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Dentistry

Advertising; Dental Assistant Duties; Local Anesthesia;
Notice of Hearing; Conduct of Hearings; Decisions;
HIV/HIB/HCB Authorization to Practice;
Air Abrasion Units; and Rule Making
(LAC 46:XXXIII.301, 502, 710, 907,
923, 929, 1210, 1305, 1401, and 1403)

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751 et seq., and particularly
R.S. 37:760(8), notice is hereby given that the Department
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry hereby amends
LAC 46:XXXI11.301, 502, 710, 907, 923, 929, 1210, 1305,
1401, and 1403. No preamble has been prepared.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XXXIII. Dental Health Professions
Chapter 1. General Provisions
§301. Advertising and Soliciting by Dentists

A -G ..

H. Disclosure of Area of Practice

1.-4. ..

5. When a licensee advertises any specialty which is
not recognized by the board or the American Dental
Association as a specialty, a disclaimer must be included in
the advertisement stating that "This area of practice is not a
recognized specialty of the Louisiana State Board of
Dentistry or the American Dental Association."

l. - K.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health
and Human Resources, Board of Dentistry, December 1970,
amended 1971, amended and promulgated LR 13:179 (March
1987), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board
of Dentistry, LR 15:996 (November 1989), LR 18:739 (July 1992),
LR 20:657 (June 1994), LR 21:567 (June 1995), LR 22:23 (January
1996), LR 22:1215 (Decembe996), repromulgated LR 23:199
(February 1997), amended LR 23:1524 (November 1997), LR
25:509 (March 1999), LR 25:1476 (August 1999).

Chapter 5. Dental Assistants
8502. Authorized Duties of Expanded Duty Dental
Assistants

A. A person licensed to practice dentistry in the State of
Louisiana may delegate to any expanded duty dental
assistant any chairside dental act that said dentist deems
reasonable, using sound professional judgment. Such act
must be performed properly and safely on the patient and
must be reversible in nature. Furthermore, the act must be
under the direct supervision of the treating dentist. However,
a dentist may not delegate to an expanded duty dental
assistant:

1.-3. ..
4. placement and removal of antimicrobial agents;
5.-16.

B.-C. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:205 (February
1993), amended LR 21:569 (June 1995), LR 22:1217 (December
1996), LR 24:1115 (June 1998), LR 25:1476 (August 1999).
Chapter 7. Dental Hygienists
§710. Administration of Local Anesthesia for Dental

Purposes

A.-C.

D. The applicant must pass the board approved written
examination in the administration of local anesthesia,
depending upon the circumstances, if deemed necessary by
the board.

E.-F ..

G. A licensed dental hygienist who has demonstrated
competence to the satisfaction of the board may qualify for a
special endorsement and may undertake the administration
of local anesthesia by:

1. successfully  completing
administered or approved by the board;
2.-3.

H.-1. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:1292 (July 1998),
amended LR 25:1476 (August 1999).

Chapter 9. Formal Adjudication
8907. Notice of Hearing

A ..

B. A written notice of the time, date, and place of the
hearing regarding the matters set forth in the complaint shall
be served upon the respondent by certified mail, return-
receipt-requested first class mail, at the most current address
for the respondent reflected in the official records of the
board or by any other means authorized by the

the examination



Administrative Procedure Act or the Louisiana Code of Civil
Procedure. The notice shall include a statement of the legal
authority and jurisdiction under which the hearing is to be
held and shall be accompanied by a certified copy of the
administrative complaint.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and (4).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1318 (October
1993), amended LR 22:25 (January 1996), LR 25:1476 (August
1999).

§923. Conduct Of Hearing; Record

A. Unless otherwise requested by the respondent,
adjudication hearings shall be conducted in closed session.
The provisions of this paragraph do not apply to non-
licensed persons named defendant(s) in a disciplinary
administrative adjudication.

B.-F. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(4), (5), and (8)

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1319 (October
1993), amended LR 25:1477 (August 1999).

§929. Decisions; Notice

A ..

B. Upon issuance of a final decision, a certified copy
thereof shall promptly be served upon respondent's counsel
of record, or upon respondent personally in the absence of
counsel, by first class mail. The day after mailing of the
decision shall be considered as the date of service on the
respondent.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.
37:760 (4), (5), and (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1320 (October
1993), amended LR 25:1477 (August 1999).

Chapter 12.  Transmission Prevention of Hepatitis B
Virus, Hepatitis C Virus, and Human
Immunodeficiency Virus

81210. Authorization To Practice; Expert Review Panel

A. -B.

C. Licensees who are HBV or HCV seropositive may be
authorized to continue practice without the necessity of
receiving authorization from an expert review panel. This
determination will be made by the board's committee on
HIV/HBV/HCV on a case-by-case determination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:1747.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 18:743 (July 1992),
amended LR 21:573 (June 1995), LR 25:1477 (August 1999).
Chapter 13.  Dental Laser and Air Abrasion Utilization
81305. AirAbrasion Units

Utilization of air abrasion units by licensed dental
hygienists and dental auxiliaries is prohibited. However, this
does not prevent the utilization of air polishing units by
licensed dental hygienists.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:334 (March 1993),
amended LR 25:1477 (August 1999).
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Chapter 14. Rulemaking, Declaratory Opinions and
Rules
81401. Scope of Chapter

The rules of this Chapter govern the board's processes to
consider petitions from interested persons relative to the
adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or the request for
the issuance of a declaratory order or ruling in accordance
with the Administrative Procedure Act.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.
37:760 (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1322 (October
1993), amended LR 24:1117 (June 1998), LR 25:1477 (August
1999).

81403. Forms

A. All petitions, whether requesting the adoption,
amendment, repeal, applicability of a rule, statutory
provision, or order of the board or the request for the
issuance of a declaratory order or ruling shall be submitted
on plain white, letter size (8 1/2" by 11") bond; with margins
of at least one inch on all sides and text double-spaced
except as to quotations and other matter customarily single-
spaced; shall bear the name, address, and phone number of
the person requesting the action; and shall also state the
complete and full name of each person(s), organization, or
entity the requester represents along with sufficient
information to identify and fully describe said person(s),
organization, or entity.

B. The petition relative to rules shall fully and succinctly
state the reasons for the requested action, and what results, if
any, would be expected from such action, and an estimate of
any expenditures or increases in revenue reasonably
expected if said rule is adopted, amended, or repealed.

C. All petitions for declaratory orders or rulings shall set
forth the specific statute or rule and the pertinent factual
circumstances, as well as those reasons in support of or in
opposition to the issue presented.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S.
37:760 (8).

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 19:1322 (October
1993), amended LR 24:1117 (June 1998), LR 25:1477 (August
1999).

C. Barry Ogden

Executive Director
9908#010

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Board of Dentistry

Fees for Dentists and Dental Hygienists
(LAC 46:XXXI11.415 and 419)

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751 et seq., particularly R.S.
37:760(8) and R.S. 37:795, notice is hereby given that the
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry
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hereby amends LAC 46:XXXIII.415 and 419. No preamble

has been prepared.
Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XXXIII. Dental Health Professions
Chapter 4. Fees and Costs
Subchapter C. Fees for Dentists
8415. Licenses, Permits, and Examinations (Dentists)

For processing applications for licensure, permits, and
examinations, the following fees shall be payable in advance

to the board:

1.-3.
4. Biennial renewal fee for dental $400.00
license

5. Annual renewal fee for restricted $150.00
dental license (excluding advanced education
students and dental residents)

6. Replacement or duplicate dental $50.00
license, certificate, temporary permit
7. Delinquency fee in addition to  $250.00

renewal fee for any dental license

8. Reinstatement of a license which $500.00
has been suspended, revoked or which has
lapsed by non renewal

9. Restricted dental license, advanced
education students and dental residents:

a. For period July 1-December 31 $100.00
b. For each full year $200.00
(January 1-December 31) thereafter

c. For period January 1-June 30 $100.00

10. Dental application and licensure hy $2,000.00
credentials (nonrefundable)

11. Application and permitting for $50.00
anesthesia permit
12. Renewal of anesthesia permit $50.00

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.

37:760(8) and R.S. 37:795.

6. Reinstatement of a dental hygienist $250.00
license which has been suspended, revoked,
or which has lapsed by non renewal.

7. Dental hygiene application and $800.00
licensure by credentials (nonrefundable)

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:760(8), R.S. 37:768, and R.S. 37:795.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November
1988), amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992),
LR 23:1527 (November 1997), LR 24:1115 (June 1998), LR
25:1478 (August 1999).

C. Barry Ogden
Executive Director
9908009

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of Management and Finance
Division of Research and Development

Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility ProgranCritical
Access Hospitals (LAC 48:1.7601-7615)

Effective August 20, 1999, the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Division of Research and Development
implements the Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program
(MRHF) creating the Critical Access Hospital (CAH) as a
limited service hospital eligible for Medicare certification
and reimbursement. To qualify as a CAH, the small rural
hospital must complete the following licensing and
certification process.

Title 48
PUBLIC HEALTH —GENERAL
Part I. General Administration
Subpart 3. Licensing and Certification
Chapter 76.  Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility
Program (MRHF)

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health & Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November
1988), amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992),
LR 23:1526 (November 1997), LR 24:1115 (June 1998), LR
25:1478 (August 1999).

Chapter 4. Fees and Costs

Subchapter D. Fees for Dental Hygienists

8419. Licenses, Permits, And Examinations (Dental
Hygienists)

For processing applications for licensure, permits, and
examinations, the following fees shall be payable in advance
to the board:

1. Examination and
dental hygienist applicant
2. . $150.00

Subchapter A. Critical Access Hospitals
§7601. Definitions

A. The following words and terms, when used in this
Chapter shall have the following meanings, unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise.

CAH Critical Access Hospital.

EACH/RPCH-Essential Access Community
Hospital/Rural Primary Care Hospitala limited service
rural hospital program.

DR&D Division of Research and Development.

EMS Emergency Medical Services.

HCFA Health Care Financing Administration.

HEALTH CARE NETWORKan organization consisting
of at least one CAH and one acute care hospital with
agreements for patient referral, emergency/non-emergency

licensing c¢f $200.00

3. Biennial renewal fee for dental $150.00 transportation and other services as feasible.
hygienist license HPSA Health Professional Shortage Area designated
4. Replacement or duplicate dental  $50.00 by the federal Office of Shortage Designations.
hygienist license, certificate, temporary HSS Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of
permit Health Services Financing, Health Standards Section.
5. Delinquency fee in addition to  $100.00 MSA Metropolitan Statistical Area.
renewal fee for any dental hygienist license MRHF Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program.
1478
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MUA Medically Underserved Area designated by the
federal Office of Shortage Designations.

Necessary Providera facility located in a primary care
HPSA or MUA; or located in a parish in which the
percentage of Medicare beneficiaries is higher than the
percentage of Medicare beneficiaries residing in the state; or
a facility located in a parish in which the percentage of the
population under 100 percent of the federal poverty level is
higher than the percentage of the state population under 100
percent of the federal poverty level.

Not-for-Profit incorporated as a non-profit corporate
entity.

Primary Care basic ambulatory health services that
provide preventive, diagnostic and therapeutic care.

Primary Care Physiciansincludes general, family and
internal medicine, pediatrics and obstetrics/gynecology.

PRO Peer Review Organization.

Public Hospital hospital supported by public funds
including city, service district and state hospitals.

Rural must be a full county (parish) located outside of
a Metropolitan Statistical Area, as defined by the Office of
Management and Budget.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1478 (August 1999).
87603. Criteria for Designation as a CAH

A. A hospital must submit an application to the DR&D
and must meet the following criteria, or affirm that it can
meet these criteria at the time of certification, to be
designated as a CAH:

1. Dbe a not-for-profit or public hospital;

2. be currently participating in the Medicare program
and meet applicable conditions of participation;

3. belocated in a rural area;

4.a. be located more than a thirty-five (35)-mile drive,
or a fifteen (15)-mile drive in mountainous terrain or areas
with secondary roads, from the nearest hospital or CAH; OR

b. be certified as a Necessary Provider by meeting
at least one of the following:

i. belocated in a primary care HPSA or a MUA,;

i. be located in a parish in which the percentage
of Medicare beneficiaries is higher than the percentage of
Medicare beneficiaries residing in the state;

iii. be located in a parish in which the percentage
of the population under 100 percent of the federal poverty
level is higher than the percentage of the state population
under 100 percent of the federal poverty level.

c. Provides not more than 15 acute care inpatient

beds, meeting such standards as the Secretary may establish,

for providing inpatient care for a period not to exceed 96
hours (unless a longer period is required because transfer to
a hospital is precluded because of inclement weather or other
emergency conditions), except that a peer review
organization or equivalent entity may, on request, waive the
96-hour restriction on a case-by-case basis.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1479 (August 1999).
§7605. Services and Staffing

A. The facility makes available 24-hour emergency
medical care services. This is to include the provision of
immediate availability of on-line medical control.

B. The facility meets the staffing requirements that apply
to rural hospitals (as found in section 1861(e) of the Social
Security Act), except that:

1. the facility need not meet hospital standards
regarding the number of hours per day or days per week in
which it must be open and fully staffed, except as required to
make emergency medical care services available and to have
nursing staff present if an inpatient is in the facility;

2. the facility may provide the services of a dietitian,
pharmacist, laboratory technician, medical technologist,
and/or radiological technologist on a part-time, off site basis;
and

3. inpatient care may be provided by a physician
assistant, nurse practitioner, or clinical nurse specialist,
subject to the oversight of a physician who need not be
present in the facility but immediately available in
accordance with state requirements for scope of practice.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1479 (August 1999).

§7607. Network Membership

A. The facility is a member of a rural health network and
provides the following:

1. documentation of agreements with at least one
hospital that is a member of the network for:

a. patient referral and transfer;

b. development and use of communications systems
(including, where feasible, telemetry systems and systems
for electronic sharing of patient data); and

c. provision of emergency and non-emergency
transportation between the CAH and the hospital; and

2. documentation of an agreement for credentialing
and quality assurance with at least one of the following:

a. ahospital that is a member of the network; or

b. a professional review organization (PRO) or
equivalent entity.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1479 (August 1999).

§7609. Application Submission and Review

A. A hospital that wishes to be designated as a CAH is
required to submit an application to the DR&D. Application
forms may be requested and submitted by interested
hospitals at any time following HCFA approval of the State's
Rural Health Care Plan and Application.

B. On receipt of an application, the DR&D will conduct
a review to determine the eligibility of the applicant hospital
for conversion and consistency with the criteria for
designation detailed in §7603.
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C. The supporting information to be included with the
application is:

1. documentation of public or not-for-profit status;

2. board resolution to seek CAH certification;

3. documentation of Medicare participation;

4. notification from State Office of Primary Care and
Rural Health that location is in a HPSA or MUA;

5. affirmation that 24-hour Emergency Medical Care
services and medical control agreements are available
including information on staffing arrangements;

6. documentation that facility meets rural hospital
staffing requirements with the following exceptions:

a. the facility need not meet hospital standards
regarding the number of hours per day or days per week in
which it must be open and fully staffed, except as required to
make emergency medical care services available and to have
nursing staff present if an inpatient is in the facility;

b. the facility may provide the services of a
dietitian, pharmacist, laboratory technician, medical
technologist, and/or radiological technologist on a part-time,
off site basis; and

c. inpatient care may be provided by a Physician
Assistant, Nurse Practitioner, or Clinical Nurse Specialist,
subject to the oversight of a physician who need not be
present in the facility but must be immediately available in
accordance with state requirements for scope of practice.

7. copy of needs assessment, if available;

8. copy of strategic plan for conversion;

9. copy of financial feasibility assessment.

D. Decision. If an application is complete, and all
supporting documentation provided, the DR&D will provide
written notice to the applicant hospital.

1. If the application and required documentation
supports conversion to a MRHF, after the effective date of
the published rule, the DR&D will provide written notice of
the designation to the applicant hospital and HSS.

2. If the application is incomplete or otherwise
insufficient to allow designation, the DR&D will provide
written notice to the applicant outlining the actions
necessary to correct the deficiencies. The hospital may then
address the deficiencies and resubmit its application.

E. Once designated, a hospital may apply to the Bureau
of Health Services Financing, Health Standards Section
(HSS) of the Department of Health and Hospitals for an on-
site survey.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1479 (August 1999).

87611. Technical Assistance

A. The DR&D is available to furnish basic technical
assistance to hospitals and communities interested in CAH
conversion, such as providing program information, helping
with interpretation and completion of the application for
designation, and identifying other sources of assistance and
information.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1480 (August 1999).
§7613. Program Monitoring and Evaluation

A. Ongoing monitoring and evaluation of the program
will be conducted by the Quality Management Section of the
DR&D.

1. Strengths and weaknesses of the program and state
policy affecting CAHs will be assessed, with the goal of
identifying problem areas and developing solutions.

2. Results will be reported to the DR&D Director who
will assign program staff to work with other state agencies
and interested parties to determine the necessity of changes
and updates to the Plan and state policy.

3. All Plan changes will be forwarded to HCFA for
review and approval.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1480 (August 1999).
87615. Process for Conversion Back to a Hospital

A. If afacility has been certified as a CAH and wishes to
convert back to a hospital or to another type of provider, the
facility must go through the certification process appropriate
for that provider type.

1. Conversion to a hospital will not require
compliance with the most recent life safety codes if the
facility had been "grandfathered" under previous codes.
Such facilities will be required, however, to meet the most
recent applicable conditions of participation.

2. CAHs considering conversion back to a hospital
should notify the DR&D and contact the Bureau of Health
Services Financing, HSS for more information.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the
Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (PL 105-33) and Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Office of Management and Finance, Division
of Research and Development, LR 25:1480 (August 1999).

David W. Hood

Secretary
9908#062

RULE

Department of Health and Hospitals
Office of the Secretary

Maternal and Child Health Block
Grant Application FY 1999-2000

The Department of Health and Hospitals (DHH) is
applying for Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Block Grant
Federal Funding for FY 1999-2000 in accordance with
Public Law 97-35, the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
of 1981, and with federal regulations as set forth in the
Federal RegisteNol. 47, No. 129, Tuesday, July 6, 1982,
pages 29472-29493.



DHH will continue to administer programs funded under
the MCH Block Grant in accordance with provisions set
forth in Public Law 97-35 and the federal regulations. The
Office of Public Health is the office responsible for program
administration of the grant.

David W. Hood

Secretary
9908#061

RULE

Department of Insurance
Office of the Commissioner

Regulation 33 Medicare Supplement Insurance
Minimum Standards (LAC 37:XIll.Chapter 5)

(Editor's Note: The following rules, which appeared on
pages 1100 through 1142 of the June 20, 19BBuisiana
Register,are being republished in their entirety to correct
typographical errors.)

Title 37
INSURANCE
Part XlIl. Regulations
Chapter 5. Regulation 33-Medicare Supplement
Insurance Minimum Standards
8501. Purpose

A. The purpose of this regulation is:

1. to provide for the reasonable standardization of
coverage and simplification of terms and benefits of
Medicare supplement policies;

2. to facilitate public understanding and comparison
of such policies;

3. to eliminate provisions contained in such policies
which may be misleading or confusing in connection with
the purchase of such policies or with the settlement of
claims; and

4. to provide for full disclosures in the sale of accident
and sickness insurance coverages to persons eligible for
Medicare.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999).

§502. Applicability and Scope

A. Except as otherwise specifically provided in §8510,
540, 545, 560 and 585, this Regulation shall apply to:

1. all Medicare supplement policies delivered or
issued for delivery in this state on or after the effective date
of this regulation; and

2. all certificates issued under group Medicare
supplement policies which certificates have been delivered
or issued for delivery in this state.

B. This regulation shall not apply to a policy or contract
of one or more employers or labor organizations, or of the
trustees of a fund established by one or more employers or
labor organizations, or combination thereof, for employees
or former employees, or a combination thereof, or for
members or former members, or a combination thereof, of
the labor organizations.
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1101 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999).

8503. Definitions

A. For purpose of this regulation:

Applicant means:

a. inthe case of an individual Medicare supplement
policy, the person who seeks to contract for insurance
benefits; and

b. in the case of a group Medicare supplement
policy, the proposed certificate holder.

Bankruptcy means when a  Medicare+Choice
organization that is not an issuer has filed, or has had filed
against it, a petition for declaration of bankruptcy and has
ceased doing business in the state.

Certificate means any certificate delivered or issued
for delivery in this state under a group Medicare supplement
policy.

Certificate  Form means the form on which the
certificate is delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.

Continuous Period of Creditable Coveragmeans the
period during which an individual was covered by creditable
coverage, if during the period of the coverage the individual
had no breaks in coverage greater than sixty-three (63) days.

Creditable Coverage

a. means with respect to an individual, coverage of
the individual provided under any of the following:

i. agroup health plan;

ii. health insurance coverage;

iii. Part A or Part B of Title XVIII of the Social
Security Act (Medicare);

iv. Title XIX of the Social Security Act
(Medicaid), other than coverage consisting solely of benefits
under section 1928;

v. Chapter 55 of Title 10 United States Code
(CHAMPUS);

vi. a medical care program of the Indian Health
Service or of a tribal organization;

vii. a State health benefits risk pool;

viii. a health plan offered under chapter 89 of Title
5 United States Code (Federal Employees Health Benefits
Program);

ix. a public health plan as defined in federal
regulation; and

X. a health benefit plan under Section 5(e) of the
Peace Corps Act (22 United States Code 2504(e)).

b. creditable coverage shall not include one or
more, or any combination of, the following:

i. coverage only for accident or disability income
insurance, or any combination thereof;

ii. coverage issued as a supplement to liability
insurance;

iii. liability insurance, including general liability
insurance and automobile liability insurance;

iv. workers' compensation or similar insurance;

v. automobile medical payment insurance;

vi. credit-only insurance;

vii. coverage for on-site medical clinics; and
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viii. other similar insurance coverage, specified in
federal regulations, under which benefits for medical care
are secondary or incidental to other insurance benefits.

c. creditable coverage shall not include the
following benefits if they are provided under a separate
policy, certificate or contract of insurance or are otherwise
not an integral part of the plan:

i. limited scope dental or vision benefits;

ii. benefits for long-term care, nursing home care,
home health care, community-based care, or any
combination thereof; and

iii. such other similar, limited benefits as are
specified in federal regulations.

d. creditable coverage shall not include the
following benefits if offered as independent, noncoordinated
benefits:

i. coverage only for a specified disease or illness;
and

ii. hospital indemnity or other fixed indemnity
insurance.

e. creditable coverage shall not include the
following if it is offered as a separate policy, certificate or
contract of insurance:

i. Medicare supplemental health insurance as
defined under section 1882(g)(1) of the Social Security Act;

i. coverage supplemental to the coverage
provided under chapter 55 of title 10, United States Code;
and

iii. similar supplemental coverage provided to
coverage under a group health plan.

Employee Welfare Benefit Plameans a plan, fund or
program of employee benefits as defined in 29 U.S.C.
Section 1002 (Employee Retirement Income Security Act).

Insolvency means the inability to pay its obligations
when they are due, or a condition when its admitted assets
do not exceed its liabilities plus the greater of:

a. any capital and surplus required by law for its
organization; and

b. the total par or stated value of its authorized and
issued capital stock.

c. for purposes of this subsection, liabilities shall
include but not be limited to reserves required by statute, by
general regulations of the Department of Insurance or by
specific requirements imposed by the commissioner upon a
subject company at the time of admission or subsequent
thereto.

Issuer includes insurance companies, fraternal benefit
societies, health care service plans, health maintenance
organizations, and any other entity authorized to deliver or
issue for delivery in this state Medicare supplement policies
or certificates.

Medicare means the "Health Insurance for the Aged
Act," Title XVIII of the Social Security Amendments of
1965, as then constituted or later amended.

Medicare+Choice Plan means a plan of coverage for
health benefits under Medicare Part C as defined in Section
1859 found in Title IV, Subtitle A, Chapter 1 of P.L. 105-33,
and includes:

a. coordinated care plans which provide health care
services, including but not limited to health maintenance
organization plans (with or without a point-of-service
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option), plans offered by provider-sponsored organizations,
and preferred provider organization plans;

b. medical savings account plans coupled with a
contribution into a Medicare+Choice medical savings
account; and

c. Medicare+Choice private fee-for-service plans.

Medicare Supplement Polieyneans a group or
individual policy of health insurance or a subscriber contract
of hospital and medical service associations or health
maintenance organizations, other than a policy issued
pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of the federal
Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. Section 1395 et. seq.) or an
issued policy under a demonstration project specified in 42
U.S.C. 8§ 1395ss(g)(1), which is advertised, marketed or
designed primarily as a supplement to reimbursements under
Medicare for the hospital, medical or surgical expenses of
persons eligible for Medicare. Also, it includes those plans
commonly known as health care prepayment plans (HCPPs).

Policy Form means the form on which the policy is
delivered or issued for delivery by the issuer.

Qualified Actuary means an actuary who is a member
of either the Society of Actuaries or the American Academy
of Actuaries.

Secretary means the Secretary of the United States
Department of Health and Human Services.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 43 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1481 (August 1999).

8504. Policy Definitions and Terms

A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate unless the policy or certificate contains
definitions or terms which conform to the requirements of
this section.

Accident, Accidental Injury, or Accidental Meanshall
be defined to employ "result" language and shall not include
words which establish an accidental means test or use words
such as "external, violent, visible wounds" or similar words
or description or characterization.

a. The definition shall not be more restrictive than
the following:

"Injury or injuries for which benefits are provided
means accidental bodily injury sustained by the
insured person which is the direct result of an
accident, independent of disease or bodily
infirmity or any other cause, and occurs while
insurance coverage is in force."

b. The definition may provide that injuries shall not
include injuries for which benefits are provided or available
under any workers' compensation, employer's liability or
similar law, or motor vehicle no-fault plan, unless prohibited
by law.

Benefit Periodor Medicare Benefit Periodshall not be
defined more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare
program.

Convalescent Nursing HomExtended Care Facilityor
Skilled Nursing Facility shall not be defined more
restrictively than as defined in the Medicare program.

Health Care Expensesneans expenses of health
maintenance organizations associated with the delivery of



health care services, which expenses are analogous to
incurred losses of insurers. Expenses shall not include:

a. home office and overhead costs;

b. advertising costs;

c. commissions and other acquisition costs;

d. taxes;

e. capital costs;

f. administrative costs; and
. claims processing costs.

Hospital may be defined in relation to its status,
facilities and available services or to reflect its accreditation
by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospitals, but
not more restrictively than as defined in the Medicare
program.

Medicare shall be defined in the policy and certificate.
Medicare may be substantially defined as "The Health
Insurance for the Aged Act, Title XVIII of the Social
Security Amendments of 1965 as Then Constituted or Later
Amended," or "Title I, Part | of Public Law 89-97, as
Enacted by the Eighty-Ninth Congress of the United States
of America and popularly known as the Health Insurance for
the Aged Act, as then constituted and any later amendments
or substitutes thereof," or words of similar import.

Medicare Eligible Expenseshall mean expenses of the
kinds covered by Medicare, to the extent recognized as
reasonable and medically necessary by Medicare.

Physician shall not be defined more restrictively than
as defined in the Medicare program.

Sicknessshall not be defined to be more restrictive
than the following.

a. Sickness means illness or disease of an insured
person which first manifests itself after the effective date of
insurance and while the insurance is in force.

b. The definiton may be further modified to
exclude sicknesses or diseases for which benefits are
provided under any workers' compensation, occupational
disease, employer's liability or similar law.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1482 (August 1999).

8505. Policy Provisions

A. Except for permitted preexisting condition clauses as
described in 8510.A.1 and 8§515.A.1 of this regulation, no
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited or issued
for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement policy if
the policy or certificate contains limitations or exclusions on
coverage that are more restrictive than those of Medicare.

B. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate may use
waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits for
specifically named or described preexisting diseases or
physical conditions.

C. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate in force
in the state shall contain benefits which duplicate benefits
provided by Medicare.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1102 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999).
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8506. Reserved.
8507. Reserved.
8508. Reserved.
8509. Reserved.
8510. Minimum Benefit Standards for Policies or

Certificates Issued for Delivery Prior to July 20,
1992
A. No policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited

or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate unless it meets or exceeds the following
minimum standards. These are minimum standards and do
not preclude the inclusion of other provisions or benefits
which are not inconsistent with these standards.

1. General Standards. The following standards apply
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in
addition to all other requirements of this regulation.

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than
six (6) months from the effective date of coverage because it
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate
shall not define a preexisting condition more restrictively
than a condition for which medical advice was given or
treatment was recommended by or received from a physician
within six (6) months before the effective date of coverage.

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a
different basis than losses resulting from accidents.

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts
under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide
with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible
amount and copayment percentage factors. Premiums may
be modified to correspond with such changes.

d. A noncancellable, guaranteed renewable, or
noncancellable and guaranteed renewable Medicare
supplement policy shall not:

i. provide for termination of coverage of a spouse
solely because of the occurrence of an event specified for
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the
nonpayment of premium; or

ii. be cancelled or nonrenewed by the issuer
solely on the grounds of deterioration of health.

e.i. Except as authorized by the Commissioner of this
state, an issuer shall neither cancel nor nonrenew a Medicare
supplement policy or certificate for any reason other than
nonpayment of premium or material misrepresentation.

i. If a group Medicare supplement insurance
policy is terminated by the group policyholder and not
replaced as provided in 8510.A.1.e.iv, the issuer shall offer
certificate holders an individual Medicare supplement
policy. The issuer shall offer the certificate holder at least the
following choices:

(a). an individual Medicare supplement policy
currently offered by the issuer having comparable benefits to
those contained in the terminated group Medicare
supplement policy; and

(b). an individual Medicare supplement policy
which provides only such benefits as are required to meet
the minimum standards as defined in 8515.A.2 of this
regulation.
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(c). Group contracts in force prior to the
effective date of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
(OBRA) of 1990 may have existing contractual obligations
to continue benefits contained in the group contract. This
section is not intended to impair those obligations.

iii. If membership in a group is terminated, the
issuer shall:

(a). offer the certificate holder the conversion
opportunities described in 8510.A.1.e.ii; or

(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer
the certificate holder continuation of coverage under the
group policy.

iv. If a group Medicare supplement policy is
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons
covered under the old group policy on its date of
termination. Coverage under the new group policy shall not
result in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would
have been covered under the group policy being replaced.

f.  Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the
policy was in force may be predicated upon the continuous
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the
policy benefit period, if any, or to payment of the maximum
benefits.

2. Minimum Benefit Standards

a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses
for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare
benefit period;

b. Coverage for either all or none of the Medicare
Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount;

c. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses
incurred as daily hospital charges during use of Medicare's
lifetime hospital inpatient reserve days;

d. Upon exhaustion of all Medicare hospital
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days,
coverage of ninety percent (90%) of all Medicare Part A
eligible expenses for hospitalization not covered by
Medicare subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an
additional 365 days;

e. Coverage under Medicare Part A for the
reasonable cost of the first three (3) pints of blood (or
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance
with federal regulations or already paid for under Part B;

f. Coverage for the coinsurance amount of
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of
hospital confinement, subject to a maximum calendar year
out-of-pocket amount equal to the Medicare Part B
deductible [$100];

g. Effective January 1, 1990, coverage under
Medicare Part B for the reasonable cost of the first three (3)
pints of blood (or equivalent quantities of packed red blood
cells, as defined under federal regulations), unless replaced
in accordance with federal regulations or already paid for
under Part A, subject to the Medicare deductible amount.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1103 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1483 (August 1999).

§511. Reserved.
§512. Reserved.
§513. Reserved.
§514. Reserved.
8515. Benefit Standards for Policies or Certificates

Issued or Delivered on or After July 20, 1992

A. The following standards are applicable to all
Medicare supplement policies or certificates delivered or
issued for delivery in this state on or after July 20, 1992. No
policy or certificate may be advertised, solicited, delivered
or issued for delivery in this state as a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate unless it complies with these benefit
standards.

1. General Standards. The following standards apply
to Medicare supplement policies and certificates and are in
addition to all other requirements of this regulation.

a. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
not exclude or limit benefits for losses incurred more than
six (6) months from the effective date of coverage because it
involved a preexisting condition. The policy or certificate
may not define a preexisting condition more restrictively
than a condition for which medical advice was given or
treatment was recommended by or received from a physician
within six (6) months before the effective date of coverage.

b. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
not indemnify against losses resulting from sickness on a
different basis than losses resulting from accidents.

c. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
provide that benefits designed to cover cost sharing amounts
under Medicare will be changed automatically to coincide
with any changes in the applicable Medicare deductible
amount and copayment percentage factors. Premiums may
be modified to correspond with such changes.

d. No Medicare supplement policy or certificate
shall provide for termination of coverage of a spouse solely
because of the occurrence of an event specified for
termination of coverage of the insured, other than the
nonpayment of premium.

e. Each Medicare supplement policy shall be
guaranteed renewable.

i. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the
policy solely on the ground of health status of the individual;

ii. The issuer shall not cancel or nonrenew the
policy for any reason other than nonpayment of premium or
material misrepresentation;

iii. If the Medicare supplement policy is
terminated by the group policyholder and is not replaced as
provided under 8515.A.5.e.v, the issuer shall offer certificate
holders an individual Medicare supplement policy which (at
the option of the certificate holder):

(a). provides for continuation of the benefits
contained in the group policy; or

(b). provides for benefits that otherwise meet the
requirements of this subsection.

iv. ifanindividual is a certificate holder in a group
Medicare supplement policy and the individual terminates
membership in the group, the issuer shall:

(a). offer the certificate holder the conversion
opportunity described in 8515.A.1.e.iii; or



(b). at the option of the group policyholder, offer
the certificate holder continuation of coverage under the
group policy.

v. If a group Medicare supplement policy is
replaced by another group Medicare supplement policy
purchased by the same policyholder, the issuer of the
replacement policy shall offer coverage to all persons
covered under the old group policy on its date of
termination. Coverage under the new policy shall not result
in any exclusion for preexisting conditions that would have
been covered under the group policy being replaced.

f. Termination of a Medicare supplement policy or
certificate shall be without prejudice to any continuous loss
which commenced while the policy was in force, but the
extension of benefits beyond the period during which the
policy was in force may be conditioned upon the continuous
total disability of the insured, limited to the duration of the
policy benefit period, if any, or payment of the maximum
benefits.

g.i. A Medicare supplement policy or certificate shall
provide that benefits and premiums under the policy or
certificate shall be suspended at the request of the
policyholder or certificate holder for the period (not to
exceed twenty-four (24) months), or upon discovering
thereof by the insurer in which the policyholder or certificate
holder has applied for and is determined to be entitled to
medical assistance under Title XIX of the Social Security
Act, but only if the policyholder or certificate holder notifies
the issuer of the policy or certificate within ninety (90) days
after the date the individual becomes entitled to assistance.

ii. If suspension occurs and if the policyholder or
certificate holder loses entitlement to medical assistance, the
policy or certificate shall be automatically reinstituted
(effective as of the date of termination of such entitlement)
as of the termination of entitlement if the policyholder or
certificate holder provides notice of loss of entitlement
within ninety (90) days after the date of loss and pays the
premium attributable to the period, effective as of the date of
termination of entitlement.

iii. Reinstitution of coverages:

(a). shall not provide for any waiting period with
respect to treatment of preexisting conditions;

(b). shall provide for coverage which is
substantially equivalent to coverage in effect before the date
of suspension; and

(c). shall provide for classification of premiums
on terms at least as favorable to the policyholder or
certificate holder as the premium classification terms that
would have applied to the policyholder or certificate holder
had the coverage not been suspended.

2. Standards for Basic (Core) Benefits Common to All
Benefit Plans. Every issuer shall make available a policy or
certificate including only the following basic core package
of benefits to each prospective insured. An issuer may make
available to prospective insureds any of the other Medicare
Supplement Insurance Benefit Plans in addition to the basic
core package, but not in lieu of it.

a. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses
for hospitalization to the extent not covered by Medicare
from the 61st day through the 90th day in any Medicare
benefit period,;
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b. Coverage of Part A Medicare eligible expenses
incurred for hospitalization to the extent not covered by
Medicare for each Medicare lifetime inpatient reserve day
used;

c. Upon exhaustion of the Medicare hospital
inpatient coverage including the lifetime reserve days,
coverage of the Medicare Part A eligible expenses for
hospitalization paid at the diagnostic related group (DRG)
day outlier per diem or other appropriate standard of
payment, subject to a lifetime maximum benefit of an
additional 365 days;

d. Coverage under Medicare Parts A and B for the
reasonable cost of the first three (3) pints of blood (or
equivalent quantities of packed red blood cells, as defined
under federal regulations) unless replaced in accordance
with federal regulations;

e. Coverage for the coinsurance amount (or, in the
case of hospital outpatient department services under a
prospective payment system, the copayment amount) of
Medicare eligible expenses under Part B regardless of
hospital confinement, subject to the Medicare Part B
deductible;

3. Standards for Additional Benefits. The following
additional benefits shall be included in Medicare
Supplement Benefit Plans "B" through "J" only as provided
by §520 of this regulation.

Medicare Part A Deductiblecoverage for all of the
Medicare Part A inpatient hospital deductible amount per
benefit period.

Skilled Nursing Facility Care coverage for the actual
billed charges up to the coinsurance amount from the 21st
day through the 100th day in a Medicare benefit period for
posthospital skilled nursing facility care eligible under
Medicare Part A.

Medicare Part B Deductiblecoverage for all of the
Medicare Part B deductible amount per calendar year
regardless of hospital confinement.

Eighty Percent (80%) of the Medicare Part B Excess
Charges coverage for eighty percent (80%) of the
difference between the actual Medicare Part B charge as
billed, not to exceed any charge limitation established by the
Medicare program or state law, and the Medicare-approved
Part B charge.

One Hundred Percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B
Excess Chargescoverage for all of the difference between
the actual Medicare Part B charge as billed, not to exceed
any charge limitation established by the Medicare program
or state law, and the Medicare-approved Part B charge.

Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug
Benefit coverage for fifty percent (50%) of outpatient
prescription drug charges, after a two hundred fifty dollar
($250) calendar year deductible, to a maximum of one
thousand two hundred fifty dollars ($1,250) in benefits
received by the insured per calendar year, to the extent not
covered by Medicare.

Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug
Benefit coverage for fifty percent (50%) of outpatient
prescription drug charges, after a two hundred fifty dollar
($250) calendar year deductible to a maximum of three
thousand dollars ($3,000) in benefits received by the insured
per calendar year, to the extent not covered by Medicare.
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Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign
Country coverage to the extent not covered by Medicare for
eighty percent (80%) of the billed charges for Medicare-
eligible expenses for medically necessary emergency
hospital, physician, and medical care received in a foreign
country, which care would have been covered by Medicare if
provided in the United States and which care began during
the first sixty (60) consecutive days of each trip outside the
United States, subject to a calendar year deductible of two
hundred fifty dollars ($250), and a lifetime maximum benefit
of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). For purposes of this
benefit, "emergency care" shall mean care needed
immediately because of an injury or an illness of sudden and
unexpected onset.

Preventive Medical Care Benefitoverage for the
following preventive health services:

i. an annual clinical preventive medical history
and physical examination that may include tests and services
from Subparagraph (b) and patient education to address
preventive health care measures;

ii. any one or a combination of the following
preventive screening tests or preventive services, the
frequency of which is considered medically appropriate:

(a). fecal occult blood test or digital rectal
examination, or both;

(b). mammogram;

(c). dipstick urinalysis for hematuria, bacteriuria
and proteinuria;

(d). pure tone (air only) hearing screening test,
administered or ordered by a physician;

(e). serum cholesterol screening (every five (5)
years);

(f. thyroid function test;

(9). diabetes screening.

iii. influenza vaccine administered at any
appropriate time during the year and tetanus and diphtheria
booster (every ten (10) years);

iv. any other tests or preventive measures

determined appropriate by the attending physician.
Reimbursement shall be for the actual charges up to one
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare-approved amount for
each service, as if Medicare were to cover the service as
identified in American Medical Association Current
Procedural Terminology (AMA CPT) codes, to a maximum of
one hundred twenty dollars ($120) annually under this benefit.
This benefit shall not include payment for any procedure
covered by Medicare.

At-Home Recovery Benefitoverage for services to
provide short term, at-home assistance with activities of
daily living for those recovering from an illness, injury, or
surgery.

i. For purposes of this benefit, the following
definitions shall apply:

Activities of Daily Living include, but are not limited
to bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, transferring, eating,
ambulating, assistance with drugs that are normally self-
administered, and changing bandages or other dressings.

Care Provider means a duly qualified or licensed
home health aide or homemaker, personal care aide or nurse
provided through a licensed home health care agency or
referred by a licensed referral agency or licensed nurses
registry.
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Home shall mean any place used by the insured as a
place of residence, provided that such place would qualify as
a residence for home health care services covered by
Medicare. A hospital or skilled nursing facility shall not be
considered the insured's place of residence.

At-Home Recovery Visitmeans the period of a visit
required to provide at home recovery care, without limit on
the duration of the visit, except each consecutive four (4)
hours in a twenty-four-hour period of services provided by a
care provider is one visit.

ii. Coverage Requirements and Limitations

(a). At-home recovery services provided must be
primarily services which assist in activities of daily living.

(b). The insured's attending physician must
certify that the specific type and frequency of at-home
recovery services are necessary because of a condition for
which a home care plan of treatment was approved by
Medicare.

(c). Coverage is limited to:

(). no more than the number and type of
at-home recovery Vvisits certified as necessary by the
insured's attending physician. The total number of at-home
recovery visits shall not exceed the number of Medicare
approved home health care visits under a Medicare approved
home care plan of treatment;

(ii). the actual charges for each visit up to a
maximum reimbursement of forty dollars ($40) per visit;

(iif). one thousand six hundred dollars
($1,600) per calendar year;

(iv). seven (7) visits in any one week;
(v). care furnished on a visiting basis in the
insured's home;
(vi). services provided by a care provider as
defined in this section;
(vii). at-home recovery visits while the

insured is covered under the policy or certificate and not
otherwise excluded;

(viii). at-home recovery visits received
during the period the insured is receiving Medicare approved
home care services or no more than eight (8) weeks after the
service date of the last Medicare approved home health care
visit.

iii. Coverage is excluded for:
(a). home care visits paid for by Medicare or
other government programs; and
(b). care provided by family members, unpaid
volunteers, or providers who are not care providers.

New or Innovative Benefitaan issuer may, with the
prior approval of the Commissioner, offer policies or
certificates with new or innovative benefits in addition to the
benefits provided in a policy or certificate that otherwise
complies with the applicable standards. The new or
innovative benefits may include benefits that are appropriate
to Medicare supplement insurance, new or innovative, not
otherwise available, cost-effective, and offered in a manner
which is consistent with the goal of simplification of
Medicare supplement policies.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.



HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1104 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1484 (August 1999).

§516. Reserved.
§517. Reserved.
§518. Reserved.
§519. Reserved.
§520. Standard Medicare Supplement Benefit Plans

A. An issuer shall make available to each prospective
policyholder and certificate holder a policy form or
certificate form containing only the basic core benefits, as
defined in 8515.A.2 of this regulation.

B. No groups, packages or combinations of Medicare
supplement benefits other than those listed in this section
shall be offered for sale in this state, except as may be
permitted in §8515.A.3ew and Innovative Benefiand in
8525 of this regulation.

C. Benefit plans shall be uniform in structure, language,
designation and format to the standard benefit plans "A"
through "J" listed in this subsection and conform to the
definitions in 8503 of this regulation. Each benefit shall be
structured in accordance with the format provided in
8515.A.2 and 8515.A.3 and list the benefits in the order
shown in this subsection. For purposes of this section,
"structure, language, and format" means style, arrangement
and overall content of a benefit.

D. An issuer may use, in addition to the benefit plan
designations required in Subsection C, other designations to
the extent permitted by law.

E. Make-up of Benefit Plans

1. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit pkdh "
shall be limited to the basic (core) benefits common to all
benefit plans, as defined in §515.A.2 of this regulation.

2. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit pBth "
shall include only the following: The core benefit as defined
in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A
deductible as defined in 8515.AMBedicare Part A
Deductible.

3. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit ptah "
shall include only the following: the core benefit as defined
in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare Part B
deductible and medically necessary emergency care in a
foreign country, as defined in 8515.AM8edicare Part A
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B
Deductibleand Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a
Foreign Countryrespectively.

4. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit p@h "
shall include only the following: the core benefit as defined
in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary
emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-home
recovery benefit as defined in §515.AvBdicare Part A
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medically
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, and At-
Home Recovery Benefigspectively.

5. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit plan "E"
shall include only the following: the core benefit as defined
in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, medically necessary
emergency care in a foreign country, and preventive medical
care as defined in 8515.ANedicare Part A Deductible,
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Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medically Necessary
Emergency Care in a Foreign Country, and Preventive
Medical Care Benefitrespectively.

6. Standardized Medical supplement benefit pl&h "
shall include only the following: the core benefit as defined
in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A
deductible, the skilled nursing facility care, the Part B
deductible, one hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare
Part B excess charges, and medically necessary emergency
care in a foreign country, as defined in 8515.M&dicare
Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare
Part B Deductible, One Hundred Percent (100%) of the
Medicare Part B Excess Charges, and Medically Necessary
Emergency Care in a Foreign Countrgspectively.

7. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high
deductible plan "F" shall include only the following: 100%
of covered expenses following the payment of the annual
high deductible plan "F" deductible. The covered expenses
include the core benefit as defined in 8515.A.2 of this
regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled
nursing facility care, the Medicare Part B deductible, one
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess
charges, and medically necessary emergency care in a
foreign country as defined in 8515.AMedicare Part A
Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B
Deductible, One Hundred Percent (100%) of the Medicare
Part B Excess Charges, and Medically Necessary
Emergency Care in a Foreign Countmespectively. The
annual high deductible plan "F" deductible shall consist of
out-of-pocket expenses, other than premiums, for services
covered by the Medicare supplement plan "F" policy, and
shall be in addition to any other specific benefit deductibles.
The annual high deductible Plan "F" deductible shall be
$1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be based on the calendar
year. It shall be adjusted annually thereafter by the Secretary
to reflect the change in the Consumer Price Index for all
urban consumers for the twelve-month period ending with
August of the preceding year, and rounded to the nearest
multiple of $10.

8. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit pah "
shall include only the following: the core benefit as defined
in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare Part A
deductible, skilled nursing facility care, eighty percent
(80%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, medically
necessary emergency care in a foreign country, and the at-
home recovery benefit as defined in 8515.M8dicare Part
A Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Eighty Percent
(80%) of the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Medically
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country,
respectively.

9. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit ptah "
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as
defined in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, basic
outpatient prescription drug benefit, and medically necessary
emergency care in a foreign country, as defined in §515.A.3.
Medicare Part A Deductible, Skilled Nursing Facility Care,
Basic Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit and Medically
Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country,
respectively

10. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit pldn "
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as
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defined in 8515.A.2. of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, one hundred
percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess charges, basic
outpatient prescription drug benefit, medically necessary
emergency care in a foreign country and at-home recovery
benefit as defined in §515.ARedicare Part A Deductible,
Skilled Nursing Facility Care, One Hundred Percent (100%)
of the Medicare Part B Excess Charges, Basic Outpatient
Prescription Drug Benefit, Medically Necessary Care in a
Foreign Country and At-Home Recovery Benefit,
respectively.

11. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit pEn "
shall consist of only the following: The core benefit as
defined in 8515.A.2 of this regulation, plus the Medicare
Part A deductible, skilled nursing facility care, Medicare
Part B deductible, one hundred percent0@%) of the
Medicare Part B excess charges, extended prescription drug
benefit, medically necessary emergency care in a foreign
country, preventive medical care and at-home recovery
benefit as defined in §515.ARedicare Part A Deductible,
Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible,
One Hundred Percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B Excess
Charges, Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit,
Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country,
Preventive Medical Care Benefit and At-Home Recovery
Benefit,respectively.

12. Standardized Medicare supplement benefit high
deductible plan "J" shall consist of only the following: 100%
of covered expenses following the payment of the annual
high deductible plan "J" deductible. The covered expenses
include the core benefit as defined in 8515.A.2 of this
regulation, plus the Medicare Part A deductible, skilled
nursing facility care, Medicare Part B deductible, one
hundred percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B excess
charges, extended outpatient prescription drug benefit,
medically necessary emergency care in a foreign country,
preventive medical care benefit and at-home recovery
benefit as defined in §515.A@edicare Part A Deductible,
Skilled Nursing Facility Care, Medicare Part B Deductible,
One Hundred Percent (100%) of the Medicare Part B Excess
Charges, Extended Outpatient Prescription Drug Benefit,
Medically Necessary Emergency Care in a Foreign Country,
Preventive Medical Care Benefit and At-Home Recovery
Benefit respectively. The annual high deductible plan "J"
deductible shall consist of out-of-pocket expenses, other
than premiums, for services covered by the Medicare
supplement plan "J" policy, and shall be in addition to any
other specific benefit deductibles. The annual deductible
shall be $1500 for 1998 and 1999, and shall be based on a
calendar year. It shall be adjusted annually thereafter by the
Secretary to reflect the change in the Consumer Price Index
for all urban consumers for the twelve-month period ending
with August of the preceding year, and rounded to the
nearest multiple of $10.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1106 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1487 (August 1999).
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8521. Reserved.
8522. Reserved.
8523. Reserved.
8524. Reserved.
8525. Medicare Select Policies and Certificates
A.1. This section shall apply to Medicare Select policies

and certificates, as defined in this Section.

2. No policy or certificate may be advertised as a
Medicare Select policy or certificate unless it meets the
requirements of this Section.

B. For the purposes of this Section:

Complaint means any dissatisfaction expressed by an
individual concerning a Medicare Select issuer or its
network providers.

Grievance means dissatisfaction expressed in writing
by an individual insured under a Medicare Select policy or
certificate with the administration, claims practices, or
provision of services concerning a Medicare Select issuer or
its network providers.

Medicare Select Issuemeans an issuer offering, or
seeking to offer, a Medicare Select policy or certificate.

Medicare Select Policy or Medicare Select
Certificate means respectively a Medicare supplement
policy or certificate that contains restricted network
provisions.

Network Provider means a provider of health care, or a
group of providers of health care, which has entered into a
written agreement with the issuer to provide benefits insured
under a Medicare Select policy.

Restricted Network Provisiormeans any provision
which conditions the payment of benefits, in whole or in
part, on the use of network providers.

Service Area means the geographic area approved by
the Commissioner within which an issuer is authorized to
offer a Medicare Select policy.

C. The Commissioner may authorize an issuer to offer a
Medicare Select policy or certificate, pursuant to this section
and Section 4358 of the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act
(OBRA) of 1990 if the Commissioner finds that the issuer
has satisfied all of the requirements of this regulation.

D. A Medicare Select issuer shall not issue a Medicare
Select policy or certificate in this state until its plan of
operation has been approved by the Commissioner.

E. A Medicare Select issuer shall file a proposed plan of
operation with the Commissioner in a format prescribed by
the Commissioner. The plan of operation shall contain at
least the following information:

1. evidence that all covered services that are subject to
restricted network provisions are available and accessible
through network providers, including a demonstration that:

a. services can be provided by network providers
with reasonable promptness with respect to geographic
location, hours of operation and after-hour care. The hours
of operation and availability of after-hour care shall reflect
usual practice in the local area. Geographic availability shall
reflect the usual travel times within the community.

b. the number of network providers in the service
area is sufficient, with respect to current and expected
policyholders, either:



i. to deliver adequately all services that are
subject to a restricted network provision; or
ii. to make appropriate referrals.
c. there are written agreements with network
providers describing specific responsibilities.
d. emergency care is available twenty-four (24)
hours per day and seven (7) days per week.
e. inthe case of covered services that are subject to
a restricted network provision and are provided on a prepaid
basis, there are written agreements with network providers
prohibiting the providers from billing or otherwise seeking
reimbursement from or recourse against any individual
insured under a Medicare Select policy or certificate. This
paragraph shall not apply to supplemental charges or
coinsurance amounts as stated in the Medicare Select policy
or certificate.

2. a statement or map providing a clear description of
the service area.

3. a description of the grievance procedure to be
utilized.

4. a description of the quality assurance program,
including:

a. the formal organizational structure;

b. the written criteria for selection, retention and
removal of network providers; and

c. the procedures for evaluating quality of care
provided by network providers, and the process to initiate
corrective action when warranted.

5. alist and description, by specialty, of the network
providers.

6. copies of the written information proposed to be
used by the issuer to comply with §525.1.

7. any other information requested
Commissioner.

F.1. A Medicare Select issuer shall file any proposed
changes to the plan of operation, except for changes to the
list of network providers, with the Commissioner prior to
implementing the changes. Changes shall be considered
approved by the Commissioner after thirty (30) days unless
specifically disapproved.

2. An updated list of network providers shall be filed
with the Commissioner at least quarterly.

G. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall not
restrict payment for covered services provided by non-
network providers if:

1. the services are for symptoms requiring emergency
care or are immediately required for an unforeseen iliness,
injury or a condition; and

2. itis not reasonable to obtain such services through
a network provider.

H. A Medicare Select policy or certificate shall provide
payment for full coverage under the policy for covered
services that are not available through network providers.

I. A Medicare Select issuer shall make full and fair
disclosure, in writing, of the provisions, restrictions, and
limitations of the Medicare Select policy or certificate to
each applicant. This disclosure shall include at least the
following:

1. an outline of coverage sufficient to permit the
applicant to compare the coverage and premiums of the
Medicare Select policy or certificate with:

by the
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a. other Medicare supplement
certificates offered by the issuer; and
b. other Medicare Select policies or certificates;

2. adescription (including address, phone number and
hours of operation) of the network providers, including
primary care physicians, specialty physicians, hospitals and
other providers;

3. a description of the restricted network provisions,
including payments for coinsurance and deductibles when
providers other than network providers are utilized;

4. a description of coverage for emergency and
urgently needed care and other out-of-service area coverage;

5. adescription of limitations on referrals to restricted
network providers and to other providers;

6. a description of the policyholder's rights to
purchase any other Medicare supplement policy or
certificate otherwise offered by the issuer;

7. adescription of the Medicare Select issuer's quality
assurance program and grievance procedure.

J. Prior to the sale of a Medicare Select policy or
certificate, a Medicare Select issuer shall obtain from the
applicant a signed and dated form stating that the applicant
has received the information provided pursuant to
Subsection | of this section and that the applicant
understands the restrictions of the Medicare Select policy or
certificate.

K. A Medicare Select issuer shall have and use
procedures for hearing complaints and resolving written
grievances from the subscribers. The procedures shall be
aimed at mutual agreement for settlement and may include
arbitration procedures.

1. The grievance procedure shall be described in the
policy and certificates and in the outline of coverage.

2. At the time the policy or certificate is issued, the
issuer shall provide detailed information to the policyholder
describing how a grievance may be registered with the
issuer.

3. Grievances shall be considered in a timely manner
and shall be transmitted to appropriate decision-makers who
have authority to fully investigate the issue and take
corrective action.

4. |If a grievance is found to be valid, corrective action
shall be taken promptly.

5. All concerned parties shall be notified about the
results of a grievance.

6. The issuer shall report no later than each March
31st to the Commissioner regarding its grievance procedure.
The report shall be in a format prescribed by the
Commissioner and shall contain the number of grievances
filed in the past year and a summary of the subject, nature
and resolution of such grievances.

L. At the time of initial purchase, a Medicare Select
issuer shall make available to each applicant for a Medicare
Select policy or certificate the opportunity to purchase any
Medicare supplement policy or certificate otherwise offered
by the issuer.

M.1. At the request of an individual insured under a
Medicare Select policy or certificate, a Medicare Select
issuer shall make available to the individual insured the
opportunity to purchase a Medicare supplement policy or
certificate offered by the issuer which has comparable or
lesser benefits and which does not contain a restricted

policies or
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network provision. The issuer shall make such policies or
certificates available without requiring evidence of
insurability after the Medicare Select policy or certificate
has been in force for six (6) months.

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more
significant benefits not included in the Medicare Select
policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this
Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs,
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part
B excess charges.

N. Medicare Select policies and certificates shall provide
for continuation of coverage in the event the Secretary of
Health and Human Services determines that Medicare Select
policies and certificates issued pursuant to this Section
should be discontinued due to either the failure of the
Medicare Select Program to be reauthorized under law or its
substantial amendment.

1. Each Medicare Select issuer shall make available to
each individual insured under a Medicare Select policy or
certificate the opportunity to purchase any Medicare
supplement policy or certificate offered by the issuer which
has comparable or lesser benefits and which does not contain
a restricted network provision. The issuer shall make the
policies and certificates available without requiring evidence
of insurability.

2. For the purposes of this Subsection, a Medicare
supplement policy or certificate will be considered to have
comparable or lesser benefits unless it contains one or more
significant benefits not included in the Medicare Select
policy or certificate being replaced. For the purposes of this
Paragraph, a significant benefit means coverage for the
Medicare Part A deductible, coverage for prescription drugs,
coverage for at-home recovery services or coverage for Part
B excess charges.

O. A Medicare Select issuer shall comply with
reasonable requests for data made by state or federal
agencies, including the United States Department of Health
and Human Services, for the purpose of evaluating the
Medicare Select Program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1108 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1488 (August 1999).

8526. Reserved.
8527. Reserved.
8528. Reserved.
8529. Reserved.
8530. Open Enrollment

A. An issuer shall not deny or condition the issuance or
effectiveness of any Medicare supplement policy or
certificate available for sale in this state, nor discriminate in
the pricing of a policy or certificate because of the health
status, claims experience, receipt of health care, or medical
condition of an applicant in the case of an application for a
policy or certificate that is submitted prior to or during the
six (6) month period beginning with the first day of the first
month in which an individual is enrolled for benefits under
Medicare Part B. Each Medicare supplement policy and
certificate currently available from an insurer shall be made
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available to all applicants who qualify under this Subsection
without regard to age.

B.1. If an applicant qualifies under Subsection A and
submits an application during the time period referenced in
Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a
continuous period of creditable coverage of at least six (6)
months, the issuer shall not exclude benefits based on a
preexisting condition.

2. If the applicant qualifies under Subsection A and
submits an application during the time period referenced in
Subsection A and, as of the date of application, has had a
continuous period of creditable coverage that is less than six
(6) months, the issuer shall reduce the period of any
preexisting condition exclusion by the aggregate of the
period of creditable coverage applicable to the applicant as
of the enrollment date. The Secretary shall specify the
manner of the reduction under this Subsection.

C. Except as provided in Subsection B and 8590,
Subsection A shall not be construed as preventing the
exclusion of benefits under a policy, during the first six (6)
months, based on a preexisting condition for which the
policyholder or certificate holder received treatment or was
otherwise diagnosed during the six (6) months before the
coverage became effective.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999).

§531. Reserved.
§532. Reserved.
§533. Reserved.
§534. Reserved.
8§535. Guaranteed Issue for Eligible Persons

A. Guaranteed Issue

1. Eligible persons are those individuals described in
subsection B who apply to enroll under the policy not later
than sixty-three (63) days after the date of the termination of
enrollment described in subsection B, and who submit
evidence of the date of termination or disenroliment with the
application for a Medicare supplement policy.

2. With respect to eligible persons, an issuer shall not
deny or condition the issuance or effectiveness of a
Medicare supplement policy described in Subsection C that
is offered and is available for issuance to new enrollees by
the issuer, shall not discriminate in the pricing of such a
medicare supplement policy because of health status, claims
experience, receipt of health care, or medical condition, and
shall not impose an exclusion of benefits based on a
preexisting condition under such a Medicare supplement
policy.

B. Eligible Person. An eligible person is an individual
described in any of the following paragraphs.

1. The individual is enrolled under an employee
welfare benefit plan that provides health benefits that
supplement the benefits under Medicare; and the plan
terminates, or the plan ceases to provide some or all such
supplemental health benefits to the individual; or the
individual is enrolled under an employee welfare benefit
plan that is primary to Medicare and the plan terminates or
the plan ceases to provide some or all health benefits to the
individual because the individual leaves the plan;



2. The individual is enrolled with a Medicare+Choice
organization under a Medicare+Choice plan under part C of
Medicare, and any of the following circumstances apply:

a. The organization's or plan's certification [under
this part] has been terminated or the organization has
terminated or otherwise discontinued providing the plan in
the area in which the individual resides;

b. The individual is no longer eligible to elect the
plan because of a change in the individual's place of
residence or other change in circumstances specified by the
Secretary, but not including termination of the individual's
enrollment on the basis described in Section 1851(g)(3)(B)
of the federal Social Security Act (where the individual has
not paid premiums on a timely basis or has engaged in
disruptive behavior as specified in standards under section
1856), or the plan is terminated for all individuals within a
residence area;

c. The individual demonstrates, in accordance with
guidelines established by the Secretary, that:

i. the organization offering the plan substantially
violated a material provision of the organization's contract
under this part in relation to the individual, including the
failure to provide an enrollee on a timely basis medically
necessary care for which benefits are available under the
plan or the failure to provide such covered care in
accordance with applicable quality standards; or

ii. the organization, or agent or other entity acting
on the organization's behalf, materially misrepresented the
plan's provisions in marketing the plan to the individual; or

d. The individual meets such other exceptional
conditions as the Secretary may provide.

3.a. The individual is enrolled with:

i. an eligible organization under a contract under
Section 1876 (Medicare risk or cost);

ii. a similar organization operating under
demonstration project authority, effective for periods before
April 1, 1999;

iii. an organization under an agreement under
Section 1833(a)(1)(A) (health care prepayment plan); or

iv. an organization under a Medicare Select
policy; and

b. the enrollment ceases under the same
circumstances that would permit discontinuance of an
individual's election of coverage under §535.B.2.

4. The individual is enrolled under a Medicare
supplement policy and the enroliment ceases because:

a.i. of the insolvency of the issuer or bankruptcy of
the nonissuer organization; or

ii. of other involuntary termination of coverage or
enrollment under the policy;

b. the issuer of the policy substantially violated a
material provision of the policy; or

c. the issuer, or an agent or other entity acting on
the issues behalf, materially misrepresented the pokcy
provisions in marketing the policy to the individual;

5.a. The individual was enrolled under a Medicare
supplement policy and terminates enrollment and
subsequently enrolls, for the first time, with any
Medicare+Choice organization under a Medicare+Choice
plan under part C of Medicare, any eligible organization
under a contract under Section 1876 (Medicare risk or cost),
any similar organization operating under demonstration
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project authority, an organization under an agreement under
section 1833(a)(1)(A) (health care prepayment plan), or a
Medicare Select policy; and

b. the subsequent enrollment under subparagraph
(a) is terminated by the enrollee during any period within the
first twelve (12) months of such subsequent enroliment
(during which the enrollee is permitted to terminate such
subsequent enrollment under section 1851(e) of the federal
Social Security Act); or

6. the individual, upon first becoming enrolled for
benefits under Medicare part B, enrolls in a
Medicare+Choice plan under part C of Medicare, and
disenrolls from the plan by not later twelve (12) months after
the effective date of enroliment.

C. Products to Which Eligible Persons are Entitled. The
Medicare supplement policy to which eligible persons are
entitled under:

1. Section 535.B.1.2.3 and 4 is a Medicare supplement
policy which has a benefit package classified as Plan A, B,
C, or F offered by any issuer.

2. Section 535.B.5 is the same Medicare supplement
policy in which the individual was most recently previously
enrolled, if available from the same issuer, or, if not so
available, a policy described in 8535.C.1.

3. Section 535.B.6 shall include any Medicare
supplement policy available by any issuer.

D. Notification provisions

1. At the time of an event described in Subsection B
of this Section because of which an individual loses
coverage or benefits due to the termination of a contract or
agreement, policy, or plan, the organization that terminates
the contract or agreement, the issuer terminating the policy,
or the administrator of the plan being terminated,
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights
under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of
Medicare supplement policies under Subsection A. Such
notice shall be communicated contemporaneously with the
notification of termination.

2. At the time of an event described in Subsection B
of this Section because of which an individual ceases
enrollment under a contract or agreement, policy, or plan,
the organization that offers the contract or agreement,
regardless of the basis for the cessation of enrollment, the
issuer offering the policy, or the administrator of the plan,
respectively, shall notify the individual of his or her rights
under this Section, and of the obligations of issuers of
Medicare supplement policies under 8535.A. Such notice
shall be communicated within ten working days of the issuer
receiving notification of disenrollment.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1110 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1490 (August 1999).

§536. Reserved.
§537. Reserved.
§538. Reserved.
§539. Reserved.
§540. Standards for Claims Payment

A. An issuer shall comply with section 1882(c)(3) of the
Social Security Act (as enacted by section 4081(b)(2)(C) of
the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA)
1987, Pub. L. No. 100-203) by:
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1. accepting a notice from a Medicare carrier on
dually assigned claims submitted by participating physicians
and suppliers as a claim for benefits in place of any other
claim form otherwise required and making a payment
determination on the basis of the information contained in
that notice;

2. notifying the participating physician or supplier and
the beneficiary of the payment determination;

3. paying the participating physician or supplier
directly;

4. furnishing, at the time of enroliment, each enrollee
with a card listing the policy name, number, and a central
mailing address to which notices from a Medicare carrier
may be sent;

5. paying user fees for claim notices that are
transmitted electronically or otherwise; and

6. providing to the Secretary of Health and Human
Services, at least annually, a central mailing address to
which all claims may be sent by Medicare carriers.

B. Compliance with the requirements set forth in
Subsection A above shall be certified on the Medicare
supplement insurance experience reporting form.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1111 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1491 (August 1999).

§541. Reserved.

§542. Reserved.

§543. Reserved.

§544. Reserved.

8545. Loss Ratio Standards and Refund or Credit of
Premium

A. Loss Ratio Standards

l.a. A Medicare Supplement policy form or certificate
form shall not be delivered or issued for delivery unless the
policy form or certificate form can be expected, as estimated
for the entire period for which rates are computed to provide
coverage, to return to policyholders and certificate holders in
the form of aggregate benefits (not including anticipated
refunds or credits) provided under the policy form or
certificate form:

i. at least seventy-five percent (75%) of the
aggregate amount of premiums earned in the case of group
policies; or

i. at least sixty-five percent (65%) of the
aggregate amount of premiums earned in the case of
individual policies;

b. Calculated on the basis of incurred claims
experience or incurred health care expenses where coverage
is provided by a health maintenance organization on a
service rather than reimbursement basis and earned
premiums for the period and in accordance with accepted
actuarial principles and practices.

2. All filings of rates and rating schedules shall
demonstrate that expected claims in relation to premiums
comply with the requirements of this Section when
combined with actual experience to date. Filings of rate
revisions shall also demonstrate that the anticipated loss
ratio over the entire future period for which the revised rates
are computed to provide coverage can be expected to meet
the appropriate loss ratio standards.
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3. For purposes of applying Subsection A.1 of this
Section and §550.C.3. only, policies issued as a result of
solicitations of individuals through the mails or by mass
media advertising (including both print and broadcast
advertising) shall be deemed to be individual policies.

4. For policies issued prior to January 20, 1991,
expected claims in relation to premiums shall meet:

a. the originally filed anticipated loss ratio when
combined with the actual experience since inception;

b. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from
§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. when combined with actual experience
beginning with January 1, 1998 to date; and

c. the appropriate loss ratio requirement from
§545.A.1.a.i. and ii. over the entire future period for which
the rates are computed to provide coverage.

B. Refund or Credit Calculation

1. An issuer shall collect and file with the
Commissioner by May 31 of each year the data contained in
the applicable reporting form contained in Appendix A for
each type in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan.

2. If, on the basis of the experience as reported, the
benchmark ratio since inception (ratio 1) exceeds the
adjusted experience ratio since inception (ratio 3), then a
refund or credit calculation is required. The refund
calculation shall be done on a statewide basis for each type
in a standard Medicare supplement benefit plan. For
purposes of the refund or credit calculation, experience on
policies issued within the reporting year shall be excluded.

3. For the purposes of this Section, policies or
certificates issued prior to January 20, 1991, the issuer shall
make the refund or credit calculation separately for all
individual policies (including all group policies subject to an
individual loss ratio standard when issued) combined and all
other group policies combined for experience after January
1, 1998. The first report shall be due by May 31, 2000.

4. A refund or credit shall be made only when the
benchmark loss ratio exceeds the adjusted experience loss
ratio and the amount to be refunded or credited exceefis a
minimislevel. The refund shall include interest from the end
of the calendar year to the date of the refund or credit at a
rate specified by the Secretary of Health and Human
Services, but in no event shall it be less than the average rate
of interest for thirteen-week Treasury notes. A refund or
credit against premiums due shall be made by September 30
following the experience year upon which the refund or
credit is based.

C. Filing of Rates and Rating Schedules. All filings of
rates and rating schedules shall demonstrate that expected
claims in relation to premiums comply with the requirements
of this Section when combined with actual experience to
date. Filings of rate revisions shall also demonstrate that the
anticipated loss ratio over the entire future period for which
the revised rates are computed to provide coverage can be
expected to meet the appropriate loss ratio standards.

1. Each Medicare supplement policy or certificate
form shall be accompanied, upon submission for approval,
by an original and one copy of an actuarial memorandum.
The memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a
qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at
least the information listed in the following subparagraphs:



a. the form number that the actuarial memorandum
addresses;

b. a brief description of benefits provided;

c. aschedule of rates to be used;

d. a certification that the anticipated lifetime loss
ratio is at least 65% (for individual coverage) or at least 75%
(for group coverage);

e. a table of anticipated loss ratio experience for
each year from issue over a reasonable number of years;

f. a certification that the premiums are reasonable
in relation to the benefits provided; and

g. the memorandum shall be filed in duplicate;

h. any additional information requested by the
Commissioner.

2. Subsequent rate adjustments filings, except for
those rates filed solely due to a change in the Part A calendar
year deductible, shall also provide an original and one copy
of an actuarial memorandum, prepared, signed and dated by
a qualified actuary, in accordance with generally accepted
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at
least the following:

a. the form number addressed by the actuarial
memorandum;

b. a brief description of benefits provided;

c. a schedule of rates before and after the rate
change;

d. a statement of the reason and basis for the rate
change;

e. ademonstration and certification by the qualified
actuary showing that the past plus future expected
experience after the rate change will result in an aggregate
loss ratio equal to, or greater than, the required minimum
aggregate loss ratio;

i. this rate change and demonstration shall be
based on the experience of the named form in Louisiana
only, if that experience is credible.

ii. the rate change and demonstration shall be
based on experience of the named form nationwide, if the
named form is used nationwide and the Louisiana
experience is not credible, but the nationwide experience is
credible.

f.  for policies or certificates in force less than three
years, a demonstration shall be included to show that the
third-year loss ratio is expected to be equal to, or greater
than, the applicable percentage;

g. a certification by the qualified actuary that the
resulting premiums are reasonable in relation to the benefits
provided;

h. the memorandum shall be filed in duplicate;

i. any additional information requested by the
Commissioner.

3.a. An issuer of Medicare supplement policies and
certificates issued before or after the effective date of
Regulation 33 (Revised, 1992) in this state shall file
annually no later than December 31 its rates for the
upcoming calendar year. Also, supporting documentation
including ratios of incurred losses to earned premiums by
policy duration shall be submitted for approval by the
Commissioner. The supporting documentation shall also
demonstrate in accordance with actuarial standards of
practice using reasonable assumptions that the appropriate
loss ratio standards can be expected to be met over the entire
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period for which rates are computed. The demonstration
shall exclude active life reserves. An expected third-year
loss ratio which is greater than or equal to the applicable
percentage shall be demonstrated for policies or certificates
in force less than three (3) years.

b. The filing for purposes of this subsection shall
contain all Medicare supplement plans issued by the issuer
and shall not include rate adjustments. An actuarial
memorandum shall be prepared, signed and dated by a
qualified actuary in accordance with generally accepted
actuarial principles and practices. The filing shall contain at
least the following:

i. the form number for each plan;

i. plan type designation (for example: Plan A,
Plan B, Pre-standardized);

iii. the rates for each plan;

iv. yearly loss ratios for each plan;

v. lifetime expected loss ratios for each plan;

vi. identify filing as "ANNUAL MEDICARE
SUPPLEMENT FILING' on the face page of the memorandum.

vii. the memorandum shall be filed in duplicate;

viii. any additional information requested by the
Commissioner.

4. As soon as practicable, but prior to the effective
date of enhancements in Medicare benefits, every issuer of
Medicare supplement policies or certificates in this state
shall file with the Commissioner, in accordance with the
applicable filing procedures of this state:

a.i. appropriate premium adjustments necessary to
produce loss ratios as anticipated for the current premium for
the applicable policies or -certificates. The supporting
documents necessary to justify the adjustment shall
accompany the filing.

ii. an issuer shall make premium adjustments
necessary to produce an expected loss ratio under the policy
or certificate to conform to minimum loss ratio standards for
Medicare supplement policies and which are expected to
result in a loss ratio at least as great as that originally
anticipated in the rates used to produce current premiums by
the issuer for the Medicare supplement policies or
certificates. No premium adjustment which would modify
the loss ratio experience under the policy other than the
adjustments described herein shall be made with respect to a
policy at any time other than upon its renewal date or
anniversary date.

iii. if an issuer fails to make premium adjustments
acceptable to the Commissioner, the Commissioner may
order premium adjustments, refunds or premium credits
deemed necessary to achieve the loss ratio required by this
Section.

b. any appropriate riders, endorsements or policy
forms needed to accomplish the Medicare supplement policy
or certificate modifications necessary to eliminate benefit
duplications with Medicare. The riders, endorsements or
policy forms shall provide a clear description of the
Medicare supplement benefits provided by the policy or
certificate.

D. Public Hearings. The Commissioner may conduct a
public hearing to gather information concerning a request by
an issuer for an increase in a rate for a policy form or
certificate form issued before or after the effective date of
Regulation 33 as revised July 20, 1992 if the experience of
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the form for the previous reporting period is not in
compliance with the applicable loss ratio standard. The
determination of compliance is made without consideration
of any refund or credit for the reporting period. Public notice
of the hearing shall be furnished in a manner deemed
appropriate by the Commissioner.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1112 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1492 (August 1999).

8546. Reserved.
8547. Reserved.
8548. Reserved.
8549. Reserved.
8550. Filing and Approval of Policies and Certificates

and Premium Rates

A. An issuer shall not deliver or issue for delivery a
policy or certificate to a resident of this state unless the
policy form or certificate form has been filed with and
approved by the Commissioner in accordance with filing
requirements and procedures prescribed by the
Commissioner.

B. Anissuer shall not use or change premium rates for a
Medicare supplement policy or certificate unless the rates,
rating schedule and supporting documentation have been
filed with and approved by the Commissioner in accordance
with the filing requirements and procedures prescribed by
the Commissioner.

C.1. Except as provided in C.2 of this Subsection, an
issuer shall not file for approval more than one form of a
policy or certificate of each type for each standard Medicare
supplement benefit plan.

2. An issuer may offer, with the approval of the
Commissioner, up to four (4) additional policy forms or
certificate forms of the same type for the same standard
Medicare supplement benefit plan, one for each of the
following cases:

a. the inclusion of new or innovative benefits;

b. the addition of either direct response or agent
marketing methods;

c. the addition of either guaranteed
underwritten coverage;

d. the offering of coverage to individuals eligible
for Medicare by reason of disability.

3. For the purposes of this Section, a "type" means an
individual policy, a group policy, an individual Medicare
Select policy, or a group Medicare Select policy.

D.1. Except as provided in D.l.a, an issuer shall
continue to make available for purchase any policy form or
certificate form issued after the effective date of this
regulation that has been approved by the Commissioner. A
policy form or certificate form shall not be considered to be
available for purchase unless the issuer has actively offered
it for sale in the previous twelve (12) months.

a. An issuer may discontinue the availability of a
policy form or certificate form if the issuer provides to the
Commissioner, in writing, its decision at least thirty (30)
days prior to discontinuing the availability of the form of the
policy or certificate. After receipt of the notice by the
Commissioner, the issuer shall no longer offer for sale the
policy form or certificate form in this state.

issue or

Louisiana Register Vol. 25, No. 8 August 20, 1999 1494

b. An issuer that discontinues the availability of a
policy form or certificate form pursuant to Subparagraph (a)
shall not file for approval a new policy form or certificate
form of the same type for the same standard Medicare
supplement benefit plan as the discontinued form for a
period of five (5) years after the issuer provides notice to the
Commissioner of the discontinuance. The period of
discontinuance may be reduced if the Commissioner
determines that a shorter period is appropriate.

2. The sale or other transfer of Medicare supplement
business to another issuer shall be considered a
discontinuance for the purposes of this Subsection.

3. A change in the rating structure or methodology
shall be considered a discontinuance under D.1 unless the
issuer complies with the following requirements:

a. The issuer provides an actuarial memorandum, in
a form and manner prescribed by the Commissioner,
describing the manner in which the revised rating
methodology and resultant rates differ from the existing
rating methodology and existing rates.

b. The issuer does not subsequently put into effect a
change of rates or rating factors that would cause the
percentage differential between the discontinued and
subsequent rates as described in the actuarial memorandum
to change. The Commissioner may approve a change to the
differential which is in the public interest.

E.1. Except as provided in E.2, the experience of all
policy forms or certificate forms of the same type in a
standard Medicare supplement benefit plan shall be
combined for purposes of the refund or credit calculation
prescribed in 8545 of this Regulation.

2. Forms assumed under an assumption reinsurance
agreement shall not be combined with the experience of
other forms for purposes of the refund or credit calculation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1113 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999).

§551. Reserved.
§552. Reserved.
§553. Reserved.
§554. Reserved.
§555. Permitted Compensation Arrangements

A. An issuer or other entity may provide commission or
other compensation to an agent or other representative for
the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only
if the first year commission or other first year compensation
is no more than two hundred percent (200%) of the
commission or other compensation paid for selling or
servicing the policy or certificate in the second year or
period.

B. The commission or other compensation provided in
subsequent (renewal) years must be the same as that
provided in the second year or period and must be provided
for no fewer than five (5) renewal years.

C. No issuer or other entity shall provide compensation
to its agents or other producers, and no agent or producer
shall receive compensation greater than the renewal
compensation payable by the replacing issuer on renewal
policies or certificates if an existing policy or certificate is
replaced.



D. For purposes of this Section, "compensation” includes
pecuniary or non-pecuniary remuneration of any kind
relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate
including, but not limited to, bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards
and finders fees.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1494 (August 1999).

8556. Reserved.
8557. Reserved.
8558. Reserved.
8559. Reserved.
8560. Required Disclosure Provisions

A. General Rules

1. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall
include a renewal or continuation provision. The language or
specifications of the provision shall be consistent with the
type of contract issued. The provision shall be appropriately
captioned and shall appear on the first page of the policy,
and shall include any reservation by the issuer of the right to
change premiums and any automatic renewal premium
increases based on the policyholder's age.

2. Except for riders or endorsements by which the
issuer effectuates a request made in writing by the insured,
exercises a specifically reserved right under a Medicare
supplement policy, or is required to reduce or eliminate
benefits to avoid duplication of Medicare benefits, all riders
or endorsements added to a Medicare supplement policy
after date of issue or at reinstatement or renewal which
reduce or eliminate benefits or coverage in the policy shall
require a signed acceptance by the insured. After the date of
policy or certificate issue, any rider or endorsement which
increases benefits or coverage with a concomitant increase
in premium during the policy term shall be agreed to, in
writing, signed by the insured, unless the benefits are
required by the minimum standards for Medicare
supplement policies, or if the increased benefits or coverage
is required by law. Where a separate additional premium is
charged for benefits provided in connection with riders or
endorsements, the premium charge shall be set forth in the
policy.

3. Medicare supplement policies or certificates shall
not provide for the payment of benefits based on standards
described as "usual and customary," "reasonable and
customary" or words of similar import.

4. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate
contains any limitations with respect to preexisting
conditions, such limitations shall appear as a separate
paragraph of the policy and be labeled as "Preexisting
Condition Limitations."

5. Medicare supplement policies and certificates shall
have a notice prominently printed on the first page of the
policy or certificate or attached thereto stating in substance
that the policyholder or certificate holder shall have the right
to return the policy or certificate within thirty (30) days of its
delivery and to have the premium refunded if, after
examination of the policy or certificate, the insured person is
not satisfied for any reason.

6.a. Issuers of accident and sickness policies or
certificates which provide hospital or medical expense
coverage on an expense incurred or indemnity basis to
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persons eligible for Medicare shall provide to those
applicants a Guide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare in the form developed jointly by the National
Association of Insurance Commissioners and the Health
Care Financing Administration and in a type size no smaller
than 12 point type. Delivery of the Guide shall be made
whether or not the policies or certificates are advertised,
solicited, or issued as Medicare supplement policies or
certificates, as defined in this regulation. Except in the case
of direct response issuers, delivery of the Guide shall be
made to the applicant at the time of application, and
acknowledgement of receipt of the Guide shall be obtained
by the issuer. Direct response issuers shall deliver the Guide
to the applicant upon request but not later than at the time
the policy is delivered.

b. For the purposes of this Section, "form" means
the language, format, type size, type proportional spacing,
bold character, and line spacing.

B. Notice Requirements.

1. As soon as practicable, but no later than thirty (30)
days prior to the annual effective date of any Medicare
benefit changes, an issuer shall notify its policyholders and
certificate holders of modifications it has made to Medicare
supplement insurance policies or certificates in a format
acceptable to the Commissioner. The notice shall:

a. include a description of revisions to the Medicare
program and a description of each modification made to the
coverage provided under the Medicare supplement policy or
certificate; and

b. inform each policyholder or certificate holder as
to when any premium adjustment is to be made due to
changes in Medicare.

2. The notice of benefit modifications and any
premium adjustments shall be in outline form and in clear
and simple terms so as to facilitate comprehension.

3. The notices shall not contain or be accompanied by
any solicitation.

C. Outline of Coverage Requirements for Medicare
Supplement Policies.

1. Issuers shall provide an outline of coverage to all
applicants at the time application is presented to the
prospective applicant and, except for direct response
policies, shall obtain an acknowledgement of receipt of the
outline from the applicant; and

2. If an outline of coverage is provided at the time of
application and the Medicare supplement policy or
certificate is issued on a basis which would require revision
of the outline, a substitute outline of coverage properly
describing the policy or certificate shall accompany the
policy or certificate when it is delivered and contain the
following statement, in no less than twelve (12) point type,

immediately above the company name:
"NOTICE: Read this outline of coverage carefully. It is not
identical to the outline of coverage provided upon application
and the coverage originally applied for has not been issued."

3.a. The outline of coverage provided to applicants
pursuant to this  Section consists of four parts:
i. acover page;
ii. premium information;
iii. disclosure pages, and
iv. charts displaying the features of all benefit
plans available by the issuer.
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b. The outline of coverage shall be in the language

and format prescribed below in no less than twelve (12)
point type. All plans A-J shall be shown on the cover page,
and each Medicare supplement policy and certificate
currently available by an issuer shall be prominently
identified. Premium information for plans that are available
shall be shown on the cover page or immediately following
the cover page and shall be prominently displayed. The
premium and mode shall be stated for all plans that are
available to the prospective applicant. All possible premiums
for the prospective applicant shall be illustrated.

4. The following items shall be included in the outline
of coverage in the order prescribed below.

[COMPANY NAME ]
Outline of Medicare Supplement Coverageover Page:

Benefit Plan(s) [insert letter(s) of plan(s) available from the issuer]
Medicare supplement insurance can be sold in only 10 standard plans plus
two high deductible plans. This chart shows the benefits included in each
plan. Every company must make available Plan A. Some plans may not be
available in your state.

BASIC BENEFITS: Included in All Plans.

Hospitalization: Part A coinsurance plus coverage for 365 additional
days after Medicare benefits end.

Medical Expenses: Part B coinsurance (Generally, 20 percent) of
Medicare-approved expenses), or, in the case of hospital outpatient
department services under a prospective payment system, applicable

copayment.

Blood: First three pints of blood each year.

A B C D E
Basic Basic Basic Basic Basic
Benefits Benefits Benefits Benefits Benefits
Skilled Skilled Skilled
Nursing Nursing Nursing Co-
Co- Co- Insurance
Insurance Insurance
Part A Part A Part A Part A
Deductible | Deductible | Deductible | Deductible
Part B
Deductible
Foreign Foreign Foreign
Travel Travel Travel
Emergency| Emergency| Emergency
At-Home
Recovery
Preventive
Care
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F F* G H | J J*
Basic Basic Basic Basic Basic
Benefits Benefits Benefits Benefits Benefits
Skilled Skilled Skilled Skilled Skilled
Nursing Nursing Nursing Nursing Nursing
Co- Co- Co- Co- Co-
Insurance | Insurance | Insurance | Insurance Insurance
Part A Part A Part A Part A Part A
Deductible | Deductible | Deductible | Deductible | Deductible
Part B Part B
Deductible Deductible
Part B Part B Part B Part B
Excess Excess Excess Excess
(100%) (80%) (100%) (100%)
Foreign Foreign Foreign Foreign Foreign
Travel Travel Travel Travel Travel
Emergency| Emergency| Emergency| Emergency| Emergency
At-Home At-Home At-Home
Recovery Recovery Recovery
Basic Basic Extended
Drugs Drugs Drugs
($1,250 ($1,250 (3,000
Limit) Limit) Limit)
Preventive
Care

*Plan F and J also have an option called a high deductible Plan F and a high
deductible Plan J. These high deductible plans pay the same or offer the
same benefits as Plan F and J after one has paid a calendar year [$1500]
deductible. Benefits from high deductible Plans F and J will not begin until
out-of-pocket expenses are [$1500]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this
deductible are expenses that would ordinarily be paid by the policy. These
expenses include the Medicare deductibles for Part A and Part B, but does
not include, in Plan J, the plan's separate prescription drug deductible or, in
Plans F and J, the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.

PREMIUM INFORMATION

[Boldface Type]

We [insert issuer's name] can only raise your premium if we raise the
premium for all policies like yours in this state. [If the premium is based on
the increasing age of the insured, include information specifying when
premiums will change.]

DISCLOSURES
[Boldface Type]

Use this outline to compare benefits and premiums among policies.

READ YOUR POLICY VERY CAREFULLY
[Boldface Type]

This is only an outline describing your policy's most important features.
The policy is your insurance contract. You must read the policy itself to
understand all of the rights and duties of both you and your insurance
company.



RIGHT TO RETURN POLICY
[Boldface Type]

If you find that you are not satisfied with your policy, you may return it
to [insert issuer's address]. If you send the policy back to us within 30 days
after you receive it, we will treat the policy as if it had never been issued
and return all of your payments.

POLICY REPLACEMENT
[Boldface Type]

If you are replacing another health insurance policy, do NOT cancel it
until you have actually received your new policy and are sure you want to
keep it.

NOTICE
[Boldface Type]

This policy may not fully cover all of your medical costs.
[for agents:]

Neither [insert company's name] nor its agents are connected with
Medicare.

[for direct response:]
[insert company's hame] is not connected with Medicare.

This outline of coverage does not give all the details of Medicare
coverage. Contact your local Social Security Office or consthie
Medicare Handbookor more details.

COMPLETE ANSWERS ARE VERY IMPORTANT
[Boldface Type]

When you fill out the application for the new policy, be sure to answer
truthfully and completely all questions about your medical and health
history. The company may cancel your policy and refuse to pay any claims
if you leave out or falsify important medical information. [If the policy or
certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.]

Review the application carefully before you sign it. Be certain that all
information has been properly recorded.

[Include for each plan prominently identified in the cover page, a
chart showing the services, Medicare payments, plan payments and
insured payments for each plan, using the same language, in the same
order, using uniform layout and format as shown in the charts below.
No more than four plans may be shown on one chart. For purposes of
illustration, charts for each plan are included in this Regulation. An
issuer may use additional benefit plan designations on these charts
pursuant to 8520.D of this Regulation.]

[Include an explanation of any innovative benefits on the cover
page and in the chart, in a manner approved by the Commissioner.]

PLAN A
MEDICARE (PART A)--HOSPITAL SERVICES--PER BENEFIT PERIOD
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.
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SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU PAY

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous

HOSPITALIZATION*

services and supplies

First 60 days

61st thru 90th day

91st day and after:

--While using 60
lifetime reserve days

--Once lifetime

reserve days are used|

--Additional 365 days

--Beyond the
Additional 365 days

All but $768 $0
All but $192/day
$192/day
All but $384/day
$384/day
$0 100% of
Medicare
Eligible
Expenses
$0 $0

$768 (Part
Deductible)

>~

$0

$0

$0

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*

You must meet Medicare's requirements including having been in a
hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved

facility within 30 days

after leaving the hospital.

First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
amounts
21st thru 100th day All but $0 Up to
$96/day $96/day
101st day and after $0 $0 All costs
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0
Additional amounts 100% $0 $0
HOSPICE CARE All but very
Available as long as | limited
your doctor certifies | coinsurance
you are terminally ill | for out-patient | $0 Balance
and you elect to drugs and
receive these serviceq inpatient
respite care
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PLAN A First $100 of $0 $0 $100 (Part B
MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR Medicare Deductible)
YEAR Approved
Amounts*
*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible Remainder of | 80% 20% $0
will have been met for the calendar year. Medicare
Approved
Amounts
SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY PLAN B
PAYS PAYS MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT
PERIOD

MEDICAL EXPENSES*
IN OR OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL
TREATMENT, such as Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical services and supplies, physical and

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not

received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.
speech therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment.

First $100 of Medicare| $0 $0 $100 (PartB
. SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY
Approved Amounts* Deductible)
PAYS PAYS
Remainder of Generally, Generally, | $0
*
Medicare Approved 80% 20% o HOSPITALIZATION ) )
Amounts Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous
services and supplies
Part B Excess Chargeq ]
(Above Medicare $0 $0 All Costs First 60 dayS All but $768 $768 (Part/l $0
Approved Amounts) Deductible)
BLOOD 61st thru 90th day All but $192/day $0
$192/day
First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0 91st day and after:
ZeXt $10d0:f Medt'cfre $0 $0 slgo(:_);" B While using 60 All but $384/day | $0
pproved Amounts eductible) lifetime reserve days | $384/day
Remainder of 80% 20% $0 o
) Once lifetime
Medicare Approved
reserve days are used
Amounts
Additional 365 days | $0 100% of | $0
CLINICAL Medicare
LABORATORY Eligible
SERVICES-BLOOD Expenses
TESTS FOR 100% $0 $0
DIAGNOSTIC Beyond the $0 $0 All Costs
SERVICES Additional
365 days
PARTS Aand B
SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES You must meet Medicare's requirements including having been in a
hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved
Medically 100% $0 $0 facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital.
necessary
skilled care First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
services and amounts
medical
. 21st thru 100th day All but $0 Up to
supplies
$96/day $96/day
Du.rable 101st day and after $0 $0 All costs
medical
equipment BLOOD
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and you elect to
receive these services|

drugs and
inpatient
respite care

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0
Additional amounts 100% $0 $0
HOSPICE CARE All but very

Available as long as limited

your doctor certifies coinsurance

you are terminally ill for out-patient | $0 Balance

PLAN B

MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR

YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible

will have been met for the calendar year.

SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS PAYS
MEDICAL EXPENSES--

IN OR OUT OF THE HOSPITALAND OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL
TREATMENT, such as Physician's services, inpatient and

outpatient medical and surgical services and supplies, physical and

speech therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment.

First $100 of Medicare
Approved Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

Part B Excess Charge
(Above Medicare
Approved Amounts)

$0

Generally,
80%

$0

$0

Generally,
20%

$0

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

$0

All Costs

BLOOD

First 3 pints

Next $100 of Medicare
Approved Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

$0

$0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES--BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100%

$0

$0
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PARTS Aand B

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES

Medically necessary
skilled care services
and medical supplies

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of Medicare
Approved Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible

$0

PLANC

MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not

PERIOD

received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous

services and supplies

First 60 days

61st thru 90th day

91st day and after:

While using 60
lifetime reserve days

Once lifetime
reserve days are used

Additional 365 days

Beyond the
Additional 365 days

All but $768

All but
$192/day

All but

$384/day

$0

$0

$768 (Part
A
Deductible)

$192/day

$384/day

100% of
Medicare
Eligible
Expenses

$0

$0

$0

$0

$0

All Costs
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SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
You must meet Medicare's requirements including having been in a
hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved
facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital.
First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
amounts
21st thru 100th day All but Up to $0
$96/day $96/day
101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0
Additional amounts 100% $0 $0
HOSPICE CARE All but very
Available as long as limited
your doctor certifies coinsurance
you are terminally ill for out-patient | $0 Balance
and you elect to drugs and
receive these services| inpatient
respite care
PLANC
MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR
YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible

will have been met for the calendar year.

MEDICAL EXPENSES--
IN OR OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL
TREATMENT,
such as Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient medical and
surgical services and supplies, physical and speech therapy,
diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment.
SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS PAYS
First $100 of Medicare| $0 $100 (PartB| $0
Approved Amounts* Deductible)
Remainder of Generally, Generally, | $0
Medicare Approved 80% 20%
Amounts
Part B Excess Charges $0 $0 All Costs
(Above Medicare
Approved Amounts)
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0
Next $100 of Medicargl $0 $100 (PartB| $0
Approved Amounts* Deductible)
Remainder of 80% 20% $0
Medicare Approved
Amounts
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CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100% $0 $0

PARTS Aand B

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES

Medically necessary| 100% $0 $0
skilled care services

and medical supplies

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of Medicare
Approved Amounts*

$0 $100 (Part B

Deductible)

$0

Remainder of 80% 20% $0

Medicare Approved
Amounts

OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during thd
first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

h

First $250 each $0 $0 $250
calendar year
Remainder of $0 80%to a 20% and
Charges lifetime amounts
maximum over the
benefit of $50,000
$50,000 lifetime
maximum
PLAN D
MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT
PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not

received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS PAYS
HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous
services and supplies
First 60 days All but $768 $768 (Part4 $0
Deductible)
61st thru 90th day All but $192/day $0
$192/day

91st day and after;

While using 60 All but $384/day $0
lifetime reserve days | $384/day

Once lifetime
reserve days are useq:

Additional 365 days| $0 100% of $0




Beyond the
Additional 365 days

$0

Medicare
Eligible
Expenses

$0

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
You must meet Medicare's requirements including have been in a
hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved

facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital.

services

respite care

First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
amounts

21st thru 100th day All but Up to $0
$96/day $96/day

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs

BLOOD

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0

HOSPICE CARE All but very

Available as long as | limited

your doctor certifies | coinsurance

you are terminally for out-patient | $0 Balance

ill and you elect to drugs and

receive these inpatient

PLAN D

MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR

YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible
will have been met for the calendar year.

SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS PAYS
MEDICAL EXPENSES —

IN OR OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL
TREATMENT, such as Physician's services, inpatient and
outpatient medical and surgical services and supplies, physical and
speech therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment.

First $100 of Medicare| $0 $0 $100 (PartB
Approved Amounts* Deductible)
Remainder of Generally, Generally, | $0
Medicare Approved 80% 20%

Amounts

Part B Excess Charge$ $0 $0 All Costs
(Above Medicare

Approved Amounts)

BLOOD

First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0

Next $100 of $0 $0 $100 (PartB
Medicare Approved Deductible)
Amounts*

Remainder of 80% 20% $0
Medicare Approved

Amounts

CLINICAL
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LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100%

$0

$0

PARTS Aand B

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES

Medically necessary
skilled care services
and medical supplies

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of Medicare
Approved Amounts

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

$0

AT-HOME
RECOVERY
SERVICES—NOT
COVERED BY
MEDICARE

Home care certified
by your doctor, for
personal care during
recovery from an
injury or sickness for
which Medicare
approved a Home
Care Treatment Plan

Benefit for each visit

Number of visits
covered (must be
received within 8
weeks of last
Medicare Approved
visit)

Calendar year
maximum

$0

$0

$0

Actual
Charges to
$40 a visit

Up to the
number of
Medicare
Approved
visits, not
to exceed 7
each week

$1,600

Balance

OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during thq

first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

First $250 each $0 $0 $250

calendar year

Remainder of Chargey  $0 80%toa | 20% and
lifetime amounts
maximum over the
benefit of $50,000
$50,000 lifetime

maximum
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PLAN E
MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU
PERIOD PAYS PAYS PAY
*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient MEDICAL EXPENSES--
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not IN OR OUT OF THE HOSPITAL AND OUTPATIENT
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row. HOSPITAL TREATMENTS, such as Physician's services, inpatient
and outpatient medical and surgical services and supplies, physical
and speech therapy, diagnostic tests, durable medical equipment.
SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS PAYS
First $100 of $0 $0 $100
HOSPITALIZATION* Medicare Approved (PartB
Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous Amounts* Deduct-
services and supplies ible)
First 60 days Allbut $768 | $768 (PartA $0 Remainder of Generally, Generally, $0
Deductible) Medicare Approved | 80% 20%
Amounts
61st thru 90th day All but $192/day $0
$192/day Part B Excess $0 $0 All Costs
Charges (Above
91st day and after: Medicare Approved
Amounts)
While using 60 All but $384/day $0
lifetime reserve days | $384/day BLOOD
Once lifetime First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0
reserve days are used
Next $100 of $0 $0 $100
Additional 365 days | $0 100% of $0 Medicare Approved (PartB
Medicare Amounts* Deduct-
Eligible ible)
Expenses
Remainder of 80% 20% $0
Beyond the $0 $0 All costs Medicare Approved
Additional 365 days Amounts
SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE* CLINICAL
You must meet Medicare's requirements including having been in a LABORATORY
hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved SERVICES—BLOOD
facility within 30 days after lea in the hospital. TESTS FOR 100% $0 $0
) DIAGNOSTIC
First 20 days All approved | $0 $0 SERVICES
amounts
21st thru 100th Daily | Al but Up to $0 PARTS Aand B
$96/day $96/day
101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES
BLOOD .
Medically 100% $0 $0
First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0 necessary skilled care
services and medical
Additional Amounts 100% $0 $0 supplies
HOSPICE CARE All but very Durable medical
Available as long as | limited equipment
your doctor certifies coinsurance
you are terminally ill for out-patient | $0 Balance First $100 of 0 0 $100
and you elect to drugs and Medi A d Part B
receive these services| inpatient A € |catr e* pprove (D "’g ‘
respite care mounts Deauct:
ible)
PLAN E . o o
MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR Remainder of 80% 20% $0
YEAR Medicare Approved
Amounts

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible
will have been met for the calendar year.
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OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during thg

first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

First $250 each $0 $0 $250

calendar year

Remainder of $0 80%to a 20% and

Charges lifetime amounts
maximum over the
benefit of $50,000
$50,000 lifetime

maximum

PREVENTIVE MEDICAL CARE BENEFIT —NOT COVERED
BY MEDICARE

Some annual physical and preventive tests and services, such as:
fecal occult blood test, digital rectal exam, mammogram, hearing
screening, dipstick urinalysis, diabetes screening, thyroid function
test, influenza shot, tetanus and diphtheria booster and education,
administered or ordered by your doctor when not covered by

Medicare

First $120 each $0 $120 $0
calendar year

Additional charges $0 $0 All Costs

*Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the Gz to
Health Insurance for People with Medicare.

PLAN F or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN F

MEDICARE
PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as
plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1500] deductible. Benefits from
the high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are
[$1500]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for
Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel
emergency deductible.

(PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT

SERVICES MEDICARE AFTER YOU IN
PAYS PAY $1500 ADDITION
DEDUCTIBLE, TO $1500
** PLAN PAYS DEDUCT-
IBLE, **
YOU PAY

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous
services and supplies

First 60 days All but $768 $768 (PartA $0
Deductible)
61st thru 90th day| All but $192/day $0
$192/day
91st day and after;
While using 60 | All but $384/day $0
lifetime reserve $384/day
days

1503

Once lifetime
reserve days are
used:
Additional 365 | $0 100% of $0
days Medicare
Eligible
Expenses
Beyond the $0 $0 All Costs
Additional 365
days
SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
You must meet Medicare's requirements, including having been in a
hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved facility
within 30 days after leaving the hospital.
First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
amounts
21st thru 100th All but Up to $96/day $0
day $96/day
101st day and afte] $0 $0 All Costs
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0
Additional o
amounts 100% $0 $0
HOSPICE CARE
Available as long A” .bUt very
limited
as your doctor .
certifies you are coinsurance
3 . for out-patient | $0 Balance
terminally ill and
drugs and
you elect to . -
- inpatient
receive these .
. respite care
services
PLAN F
MEDICARE PART (B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR
YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible
will have been met for the calendar year.

**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as
plan F after one has paid a calendar year [$1500] deductible. Benefits from
the high deductible Plan F will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are
[$1500]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for
Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate foreign travel
emergency deductible.

SERVICES MEDICARE AFTER YOU IN
PAYS PAY $1500 ADDITION
DEDUCTIBLE, TO $1500
**PLAN PAYS DEDUCT-
IBLE, **
YOU PAY
MEDICAL EXPENSES--

in or out of the hospital and outpatient hospital treatment, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic testg

durable medical equipment.

First $100 of $0 $100 (PartB $0
Medicare Approved Deductible)
Amounts*
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Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

Part B Excess
Charges (Above
Medicare Approved
Amounts)

Generally,
80%

$0

Generally, 20%

100%

$0

$0

BLOOD

First 3 pints

Next $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

$0
$0

80%

All Costs

$100 (Part B
Deductible

20%

$0
$0

$0

CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100%

$0

$0

PARTS Aand B

HOME HEATH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of

Amounts*

Remainder of

Amounts

Medicare Approved

Medicare Approved

Medically necessary| 100%
skilled care services
and medical supplies

$0

80%

$0

$100 (Part B
Deductible)

20%

$0

$0

$0

OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

AFTER YOU
PAY $1500
DEDUCTIBLE,
** PLAN PAYS

IN
ADDITION
TO $1500
DEDUCT-
IBLE, **
YOU PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during the
first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

First $250 each
calendar year

Remainder of
Charges

$0

$0

$0

80% to a lifetime|
maximum
benefit of
$50,000

$250

20% and
amounts
over the
$50,000
lifetime
maximum
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PLAN G
MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT
PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU
PAYS PAYS PAY

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous
services and supplies

First 60 days All but $768 $768 (PartA| $0
Deductible)
61st thru 90th day All but $192/day $0
$192/day

91st day and after:

While using 60 All but $384/day $0
lifetime reserve $384/day
days

Once lifetime
reserve days are

used:
Additional 365 $0 100% of $0
days Medicare
Eligible
Expenses
Beyond the $0 $0 All Costs

Additional 365 days

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*

You must meet Medicare's requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved
facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital

First 20 days All Approved | $0 $0
amounts
21st thru 100th day All but Up to $0
$96/day $96/day
101st day and after $0 $0 All Cost
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0
Additional amounts 100% $0 $0
HOSPICE CARE All but very
Available as long limited
as your doctor coinsurance
certifies you are for out- $0 Balance
terminally ill and patient drugs
you elect to receive | and inpatient
these services respite care
PLAN G
MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR

YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible
will have been met for the calendar year.



SERVICES

MEDICARE

PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tesf

MEDICAL EXPENSES--
in or out of the hospital and outpatient hospital treatment, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical

durable medical equipment.

iy

First $100 of $0 $0 $100
Medicare Approved (PartB
Amounts* Deduct-
ible)
Remainder of Generally, Generally, $0
Medicare Approved | 80% 20%
Amounts
Part B Excess $0 80% 20%
Charges (Above
Medicare Approved
Amounts)
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0
Next $100 of $0 $0 $100
Medicare Approved (PartB
Amounts* Deduct-
ible)
Remainder of 80% 20% $0
Medicare Approved
Amounts
CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD 100% $0 $0
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES
PARTS Aand B
SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU
PAYS PAYS PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES

Medically
necessary skilled
care services and
medical supplies

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100
(PartB
Deduct-
ible)

$0

AT-HOME
RECOVERY
SERVICES—-NOT
COVERED BY

1505

MEDICARE

Home care certified
by your doctor, for
personal care
during recovery
from an injury or
sickness for which
Medicare approved
a Home Care
Treatment Plan

Benefit for each
visit

Number of visits
covered (must be
received within 8
weeks of last
Medicare Approved
visit)

Calendar year
maximum

$0

$0

$0

Actual
Charges to
$40 a visit

Up to the
number of
Medicare
Approved
visits, not to
exceed 7
each week

$1,600

Balance

OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during thg

first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

First $250 each $0 $0 $250
calendar year
Remainder of $0 80%to a 20% and
Charges lifetime amounts
maximum over the
benefit of $50,000
$50,000 lifetime
maximum
PLAN H
MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT
PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU
PAYS PAYS PAY
HOSPITALIZATION*

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous

services and supplies

First 60 days

61st thru 90th day

91st day and after:

While using 60
lifetime reserve days

All but $768

All but
$192/day

All but $384
day

$768 (Part A
Deductible)

$192/day

$384/day

$0

$0

$0
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Once lifetime
reserve days are

used:
Additional 365 $0 100% of $0
days Medicare
Eligible
Expenses
Beyond the $0 $0 All Costs

Additional 365 days

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*

You must meet Medicare's requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved
facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital.

First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
amounts

21st thru 100th day All but Up to $0
$96/day $96/day

101st day and after $0 $0 All Cost

BLOOD

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0

Additional amounts 100% $0 $0

HOSPICE CARE All but very

Available as long as | limited

your doctor coinsurance

certifies you are for out-patient | $0 Balance

terminally ill and drugs and

you elect to receive | inpatient

these services respite care

PLAN H
MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR
YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible
will have been met for the calendar year.

SERVICES MEDICARE PLAN YOU
PAYS PAYS PAY
MEDICAL EXPENSES--
in or out of the hospital and outpatient hospital treatment, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tests,
durable medical equipment
First $100 of $0 $0 $100 (PartB
Medicare Approved Deductible)
Amounts*
Remainder of Generally, 80% Generally|] $0
Medicare Approved , 20%
Amounts
Part B Excess $0 $0 All Costs
Charges (Above
Medicare Approved
Amounts)
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 All Costs $0
Next $100 of $0 $0 $100 (Part B
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Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

80%

20%

Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100%

$0

$0

PARTS Aand

B

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE A

PPROVED SERVICES

[JMedically
necessary skilled
care services and
medical supplies

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

100%

$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100
(PartB
Deductible)

$0

OTHER BEN

EFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

Medically
necessary
emergency care
services beginning
during the first 60
days of each trip
outside the USA

First $250 each $0 $0 $250
calendar year
Remainder of $0 80%to a 20% and
Charges lifetime amounts
maximum over the
benefit of $50,000
$50,000 lifetime
maximum
BASIC OUTPATIENT PRESCRIPTION DRUGS-NOT
COVERED BY MEDICARE
First $250 each $0 $0 $250
calendar year
Next $2,500 each $0 50% 50%
calendar year $1,250
calendar




year

maximum
benefit
Over $2,500 each $0 $0 All Costs
calendar year
PLAN |
MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT

PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

HOSPITALIZATION*

services and supplies

Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous

First 60 days

61st thru 90th day

91st day and after:

While using 60
lifetime reserve
days

Once lifetime
reserve days are
used:

Additional 365
days

Beyond the
Additional 365
days

All but $768 $768 (Part A
Deductible)
All but $192/day
$192/day
All but $384/day
$384/day
$0 100% of
Medicare
Eligible
Expenses
$0 $0

$0

$0

$0

$0

All Costs

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*
You must meet the Medicare's requirements, including having
been in a hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-
approved facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital

First 20 days All approved $0 $0
amounts
21st thru 100th day All but $96/day Upto $0
$96/day
101st day and after $0 $0 All Cost
BLOOD
First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0
Additional amounts 100% $0 $0
HOSPICE CARE
Available as long A" .bUt very
limited
as your doctor .
certifies you are coinsurance for
. p out-patient $0 Balance
terminally ill and
drugs and
you elect to . - .
- inpatient respite
receive these
. care
services
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MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR

YEAR

PLAN I

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible
will have been met for the calendar year.

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES —

in or out of the hospital and outpatient hospital treatment, such as

Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical

services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic tesf
durable medical equipment.

First $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

Part B Excess
Charges (Above
Medicare Approved
Amounts)

$0

Generally, 80%

$0

$0

Generally,
20%

100%

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

$0

$0

BLOOD

First 3 pints

Next $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

$0

%0

80%

All Costs

$0

20%

$0

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

$0

CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100%

$0

$0

PARTS Aand

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE Al

PPROVED SERVICES

Medically
necessary skilled
care services and
medical supplies

Durable medical
equipment

First $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
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$0

80%

$0

$0

20%

$0

$100
(PartB
Deductible

)

$0




Amounts

AT-HOME
RECOVERY
SERVICES—NOT
COVERED BY
MEDICARE

Home care certified
by your doctor, for
personal care
during recovery
from an injury or
sickness for which
Medicare approved
a Home Care
Treatment Plan

Benefit for each $0 Actual Balance
visit Charges to
$40 a visit
Number of visits | $0 Up to the
covered (must be number of
received within 8 Medicare
weeks of last Approved
Medicare Approved visits, not
visit) to exceed
7 each
week
Calendar year $0 $1,600
maximum
OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE

SERVICES

MEDICARE

PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during thg
first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

First $250 each
calendar year $0 $0 $250
i 0,
Remainder of 80% to a 20% and
Charges e amounts
lifetime
$0 maximum over the
) $50,000
benefit of lifetime
$50,000 .
maximum
BASIC OUTPATIENT
PRESCRIPTION
DRUGS—NOT
COVERED BY
MEDICARE
First $250 each
calendar year $0 $0 $250
Next $2,500 each 50%
calendar year $1,250
$0 calendar 50%
year
maximum
benefit
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Over $2,500 each

calendar year $0 $0 All Costs

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J
MEDICARE (PART A) HOSPITAL SERVICES PER BENEFIT
PERIOD

*A benefit period begins on the first day you receive service as an inpatient
in a hospital and ends after you have been out of the hospital and have not
received skilled care in any other facility for 60 days in a row.

**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as
Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1500] deductible. Benefits from
high deductible Plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are
[$1500]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for
Part A and Part B, but does not include the plan's separate prescription drug
deductible or the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.

SERVICES MEDICARE AFTER IN
PAYS YOU PAY ADDITION
$1500 TO $1500
DEDUCT- DEDUCT-
IBLE, ** IBLE, **
PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS

HOSPITALIZATION*
Semiprivate room and board, general nursing and miscellaneous
services and supplies

First 60 days All but $768 $768 (PartA $0
Deductible)
61st thru 90th day All but $192/day $0
$192/day

91st day and after:

While using 60 All but $384/day $0
lifetime reserve $384/day
days
Once lifetime
reserve days are
used:
Additional 365 $0 100% of $0
days Medicare
Eligible
Expenses
Beyond the $0 $0 All Costs

Additional 365 days

SKILLED NURSING FACILITY CARE*

You must meet Medicare's requirements, including having been in
a hospital for at least 3 days and entered a Medicare-approved
facility within 30 days after leaving the hospital.

First 20 days All approved | $0 $0
amounts

21st thru 100th day All but Up to $0
$96/day $96/day

101st day and after $0 $0 All Costs

BLOOD

First 3 pints $0 3 pints $0

Additional amounts |  100% $0 $0




HOSPICE CARE
Available as long
as your doctor
certifies you are
terminally ill and
you elect to receive
these services

All but very
limited
coinsurance
for out-
patient drugs
and inpatient

$0

respite care

Balance

PLAN J or HIGH DEDUCTIBLE PLAN J
MEDICARE (PART B) MEDICAL SERVICES PER CALENDAR

YEAR

*Once you have been billed $100 of Medicare-Approved amounts for
covered services (which are noted with an asterisk), your Part B Deductible

will have been met for

the calendar year.

**This high deductible plan pays the same or offers the same benefits as
Plan J after one has paid a calendar year [$1500] deductible. Benefits from
high deductible Plan J will not begin until out-of-pocket expenses are
[$1500]. Out-of-pocket expenses for this deductible are expenses that would
ordinarily be paid by the policy. This includes the Medicare deductibles for
Part Aand Part B, but does not include the plan's separate prescription drug

deductible or the plan's separate foreign travel emergency deductible.

SERVICES

MEDICARE
PAYS

PLAN
PAYS

YOU
PAY

MEDICAL EXPENSES--

in or out of the hospital and outpatient hospital treatment, such as
Physician's services, inpatient and outpatient medical and surgical
services and supplies, physical and speech therapy, diagnostic test

durable medical equipment.

First $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

Part B Excess
Charges (Above
Medicare Approved
Amounts)

$0

Generally, 80%

$0

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

Generally,
20%

100%

$0

$0

$0

BLOOD

First 3 pints

Next $100 of
Medicare Approved
Amounts*

Remainder of
Medicare Approved
Amounts

$0
$0

80%

All Costs

$100 (PartB
Deductible)

20%

$0
$0

$0

CLINICAL
LABORATORY
SERVICES—BLOOD
TESTS FOR
DIAGNOSTIC
SERVICES

100%

$0

$0

PARTS Aand B

HOME HEALTH CARE MEDICARE APPROVED SERVICES

skilled care services

Medically necessary

100%

$0

$0

1509

and medical supplies
and medical supplies
Durable medical

equipment
First $100 of Medicare $0 $100 (PartB $0
Approved Amounts* Deductible)
Remainder of
Medicare Approved 80% 20% $0
Amounts
SERVICES MEDICARE AFTER IN
PAYS YOU PAY | ADDITION
$1500 TO $1500
DEDUCT- DEDUCT-
IBLE,** IBLE, **
PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS

HOME HEALTH CARE (contd.)

AT-HOME RECOVERY SERVICES —NOT COVERED BY

Home care certified by your doctor, for personal care beginning
during recovery from an injury or sickness for which Medicare

MEDICARE

approved a Home Care Treatment Plan

Benefit for each $0 Actual Balance
visit Charges to
$40 a visit
Number of visits $0 Up to the
covered (must be number of
received within 8 Medicare
weeks of last Approved
Medicare Approved visits, not
visit) to exceed 7
each week
Calendar year $0 $1,600
maximum
OTHER BENEFITS NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
SERVICES MEDICARE AFTER IN
PAYS YOU PAY | ADDITION
$1500 TO $1500
DEDUCT- DEDUCT-
IBLE, ** IBLE, **
PLAN YOU PAY
PAYS

FOREIGN TRAVEL —NOT COVERED BY MEDICARE
Medically necessary emergency care services beginning during the

first 60 days of each trip outside the USA

First $250 each
calendar year

Remainder of Chargeg

$0

$0

$0 $250
80%toa| 20% and
lifetime amounts over
maximum the $50,000
benefit of lifetime
$50,000 maximum

EXTENDED
OUTPATIENT

Louisiana Register Vol. 25, No. 8 August 20, 1999



PRESCRIPTION
DRUGS—NOT
COVERED BY
MEDICARE
First $250 each $0 $0 $250
calendar year
Next $6,000 each $0 50% $3,00 | 50%
calendar year 0 calendar
year
maximum
benefit
Over $6,000 each $0 $0 All Costs
calendar year

PREVENTIVE MEDICAL CARE BENEFIT —NOT COVERED
BY MEDICARE
Some annual physical and preventive tests and services such as:
fecal occult blood test, digital rectal exam, mammogram, hearing
screening, dipstick urinalysis, diabetes screening, thyroid function
test, influenza shot, tetanus and diphtheria booster and education,
administered or ordered by your doctor when not covered by

Medicare
First $120 each
calendar year $0 $120 $0
Additional charges $0 $0 All Costs

***Medicare benefits are subject to change. Please consult the igaedt
to health insurance for people with Medicare.

D. Notice Regarding Policies or Certificates Which Are
Not Medicare Supplement Palicies.

1. Any accident and sickness insurance policy or
certificate, other than a Medicare supplement policy; a
policy issued pursuant to a contract under Section 1876 of
the Federal Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 81395 et seq.),
disability income policy; or other policy identified in §502.B
of this regulation, issued for delivery in this state to persons
eligible for Medicare shall notify insureds under the policy
that the policy is not a Medicare supplement policy or
certificate. The notice shall either be printed or attached to
the first page of the outline of coverage delivered to insureds
under the policy, or if no outline of coverage is delivered, to
the first page of the policy, or certificate delivered to
insureds. The notice shall be in no less than twelve (12)
point type and shall contain the following languageHIS
[POLICY OR CERTIFICATE] IS NOT A MEDICARE
SUPPLEMENT [POLICY OR CONTRACTI. you are eligible
for Medicare, review the Guide to Health Insurance for
People with Medicare available from the company."”

2. Applications provided to persons eligible for
Medicare for the health insurance policies or certificates
described in Subsection D.1 shall disclose, using the
applicable statement in Appendix C, the extent to which the
policy duplicates Medicare. The disclosure statement shall
be provided as a part of, or together with, the application for
the policy or certificate.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1114 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1495 (August 1999).
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8561. Reserved.
8562. Reserved.
8563. Reserved.
8564. Reserved.
8565. Requirements for Application Forms and

Replacement Coverage

A. Application forms shall include the following
guestions designed to elicit information as to whether, as of
the date of the application, the applicant has another
Medicare supplement or other health insurance policy or
certificate in force or whether a Medicare supplement policy
or certificate is intended to replace any other accident and
sickness policy or certificate presently in force. A
supplementary application or other form to be signed by the
applicant and agent containing such questions and
statements may be used.

B. An application for a medicare supplement policy shall
not be combined with an application for any other type of
insurance coverage. The application may not make reference
to or include questions regarding other types of insurance
coverage except for those questions specifically required
under this section.

1. [Statements]

a. You do not need more than one Medicare
supplement policy.

b. If you purchase this policy, you may want to
evaluate your existing health coverage and decide if you
need multiple coverages.

c. You may be eligible for benefits under Medicaid
and may not need a Medicare supplement policy.

d. The benefits and premiums under your Medicare
supplement policy can be suspended, if requested, during
your entitlement to benefits under Medicaid for 24 months.
You must request this suspension within 90 days of
becoming eligible for Medicaid. If you are no longer entitled
to Medicaid, your policy will be reinstituted if requested
within 90 days of losing Medicaid eligibility.

e. Counseling services may be available in your
state to provide advice concerning your purchase of
Medicare supplement insurance and concerning medical
assistance through the state Medicaid program, including
benefits as a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary (QMB) and a
Specified Low-Income Medicare Beneficiary (SLMB).

2. [Questions]

a. To the best of your knowledge,

i. Do you have another Medicare supplement
policy or certificate in force?

(a). If so, with which company?
(b). If so, do you intend to replace your current
Medicare supplement policy with this policy [certificate]?

i. Do you have any other health insurance
coverage that provides benefits similar to this Medicare
supplement policy?

(a). If so, with which company?
(b). What kind of policy?

iii. Are you covered for
through the state Medicaid program:

medical assistance



(@). As a Specified Low-Income Medicare
Beneficiary (SLMB)?

(b) As a Qualified Medicare Beneficiary
(QMB)?

(c). For other Medicaid medical benefits?

C. Agents shall list any other health insurance policies

they have sold to the applicant.

1. List policies sold which are still in force.

2. List policies sold in the past five (5) years which
are no longer in force.

D. In the case of a direct response issuer, a copy of the
application or supplemental form, signed by the applicant,
and acknowledged by the insurer, shall be returned to the
applicant by the insurer upon delivery of the policy.

E. Upon determining that a sale will involve replacement
of Medicare supplement coverage, any issuer, other than a
direct response issuer, or its agent, shall furnish the
applicant, prior to issuance or delivery of the Medicare
supplement policy or certificate, a notice regarding
replacement of Medicare supplement coverage. One copy of
the notice, signed by the applicant and the agent, except
where the coverage is sold without an agent, shall be
provided to the applicant and an additional signed copy shall
be retained by the issuer. A direct response issuer shall
deliver to the applicant, at the time of the issuance of the
policy, the notice regarding replacement of Medicare
supplement coverage.

F. The notice required by Subsection D above for an
issuer shall be provided in substantially the following form
in no less than twelve (12) point type:

NOTICE TO APPLICANT REGARDING REPLACEMENT
OF MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

[Insurance company's name and address]

SAVE THIS NOTICE! IT MAY BE IMPORTANT TO YOU IN
THE FUTURE.

According to [your application] [information you have furnished], you
intend to terminate existing Medicare supplement insurance and replace
it with a policy to be issued by [Company Name] Insurance Company.
Your new policy will provide thirty (30) days within which you may
decide without cost whether you desire to keep the policy.

You should review this new coverage carefully. Compare it with all
accident and sickness coverage you now have. If, after due consideration,
you find that purchase of this Medicare supplement coverage is a wise
decision, you should terminate your present Medicare supplement
coverage. You should evaluate the need for other accident and sickness
coverage you have that may duplicate this policy.

STATEMENT TO APPLICANT BY ISSUER, AGENT [BROKER
OR OTHER REPRESENTATIVE]:

| have reviewed your current medical or health insurance coverage. To
the best of my knowledge, this Medicare supplement policy will not
duplicate your existing Medicare supplement coverage because you
intend to terminate your existing Medicare supplement coverage. The
replacement policy is being purchased for the following reason (check
one):
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Additional benefits.

No change in benefit, but lower premiums.

Fewer benefits and lower premiums.

Other. (please specify)

1. Health conditions which you may presently have (preexisting conditions)
may not be immediately or fully covered under the new policy. This
could result in denial or delay of a claim for benefits under the new
policy, whereas a similar claim might have been payable under your
present policy.

2. State law provides that your replacement policy or certificate may not
contain new preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods
or probationary periods. The insurer will waive any time periods
applicable to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination periods,
or probationary periods in the new policy (or coverage) to the extent such
time was spent (depleted) under the original policy.

3. If, you still wish to terminate your present policy and replace it with new
coverage, be certain to truthfully and completely answer all questions on
the application concerning your medical and health history. Failure to
include all material medical information on an application may provide a
basis for the company to deny any future claims and to refund your
premium as though your policy had never been in force. After the
application has been completed and before you sign it, review it carefully
to be certain that all information has been properly recorded. [If the
policy or certificate is guaranteed issue, this paragraph need not appear.]

Do not cancel your present policy until you have received your new policy
and are sure that you want to keep it.

(Signature of Agent, Broker or Other Representative)*

[Typed Name and Address of Issuer, Agent or Broker]

(Applicant's Signature)

(Date)
*Signature not required for direct response sales.

G. Paragraphs 1 and 2 of the replacement notice
(applicable to preexisting conditions) may be deleted by an
issuer if the replacement does not involve application of a
new preexisting condition limitation.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1130 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1510 (August 1999).
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8566. Reserved.
8567. Reserved.
8568. Reserved.
8569. Reserved.
8570. Filing Requirements for Advertising

A. An issuer shall provide a copy of any Medicare
supplement advertisement intended for use in this state
whether through written, radio or television medium to the
Commissioner of Insurance of this state for review and
approval by the Commissioner to the extent permitted under
the Insurance Code, particularly under R. S. 22:1215.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999).

8571. Reserved.
8572. Reserved.
8573. Reserved.
8574. Reserved.
8575. Standards for Marketing

A. Anissuer, directly or through its producers, shall:

1. Establish marketing procedures to assure that any
comparison of policies by its agents or other producers will
be fair and accurate;

2. Establish marketing procedures to assure excessive
insurance is not sold or issued;

3. Display prominently by type, stamp or other
appropriate means, on the first page of the policy the
following: "Notice to buyer: This policy may not cover all of
your medical expenses."

4. Inquire and otherwise make every reasonable effort
to identify whether a prospective applicant or enrollee for
Medicare supplement insurance already has accident and
sickness insurance and the types and amounts of any such
insurance;

5. Establish auditable procedures
compliance with this Subsection A.

B. In addition to the practices prohibited in Louisiana
Revised Statutes 22:1211 et seq. the following acts and
practices are prohibited:

1. Twisting. Making any misleading representation or
incomplete or fraudulent comparison of any insurance
policies or insurers for the purpose of inducing, or tending to
induce, any person to lapse, forfeit, surrender, terminate,
retain, pledge, assign, borrow on, or convert any insurance
policy or to take out a policy of insurance with another
insurer.

2. High pressure tactics. Employing any method of
marketing having the effect of or tending to induce the
purchase of insurance through force, fright, threat, whether
explicit or implied, or undue pressure to purchase or
recommend the purchase of insurance.

3. Cold lead advertising. Making use directly or
indirectly of any method of marketing which fails to disclose
in a conspicuous manner that a purpose of the method of
marketing is solicitation of insurance and that contact will be
made by an insurance agent or insurance company.

C. The terms Medicare Supplement, Medigap, Medicare
Wrap-Around and words of similar import shall not be used
unless the policy is issued in compliance with this
regulation.

for verifying
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D. No insurer providing Medicare supplement insurance
in this state shall allow its agent to accept premiums except
by check, money order, or bank draft made payable to the
insurer. If payment in cash is made, the agent must leave the
insurer's official receipt with the insured or the person
paying the premium on behalf of the insured. This receipt
shall bind the insurer for the monies received by the agent.
Under this section, the agent is prohibited from accepting
checks, money orders and/or bank drafts payable to the
agent or his agency. The agent is not to leave any receipt
other than the insurer's for premium paid in cash.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1131 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999).

§576. Reserved.
8§577. Reserved.
§578. Reserved.
§579. Reserved.
§580. Appropriateness of Recommended Purchase and

Excessive Insurance

A. In recommending the purchase or replacement of any
Medicare supplement policy or certificate an agent shall
make reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of
a recommended purchase or replacement.

B. Any sale of Medicare supplement coverage that will
provide an individual more than one Medicare supplement
policy or certificate is prohibited.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999).

§581. Reserved.
§582. Reserved.
§583. Reserved.
§584. Reserved.
§585. Reporting of Multiple Policies

A. On or before March 1 of each year, an issuer shall
report the following information for every individual
resident of this state for which the issuer has in force more
than one Medicare supplement policy or certificate:

1. policy and certificate number; and
2. date of issuance.

B. The items set forth above must be grouped by
individual policyholder.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999).

§586. Reserved.
§587. Reserved.
§588. Reserved.
§589. Reserved.
§590. Prohibition Against Preexisting Conditions,

Waiting Periods, Elimination Periods and
Probationary Periods in Replacement Policies or
Certificates



A. If a Medicare supplement policy or -certificate
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate,
the replacing issuer shall waive any time periods applicable
to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination
periods and probationary periods in the new Medicare
supplement policy or certificate to the extent such time was
spent under the original policy.

B. If a Medicare supplement policy or certificate
replaces another Medicare supplement policy or certificate
which has been in effect for at least six (6) months, the
replacing policy shall not provide any time period applicable
to preexisting conditions, waiting periods, elimination
periods and probationary periods.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1512 (August 1999).

§591. Reserved.
§592. Reserved.
§593. Reserved.
§594. Reserved.
§595. Separability

A. If any provision of this regulation or the application
thereof to any person or circumstance is for any reason held
to be invalid, the remainder of the regulation and the
application of such provision to other persons or
circumstances shall not be affected thereby.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999).

§596. Appendix A
MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM
FOR CALENDAR YEAR
Type SMSBP

For the State of

Company Name

NAIC Group Code NAIC Company Code

Address

Person Completing This Exhibit

Title Telephone Number
(@) (b)
Earned Incurred
Premiuni Claims*

1 Current Year's Experience
a. Total (all policy years)
b. Current year's issues (5)

c. Net (for reporting purposes =
la-1b)

2 Past Years' Experience (All Policy
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Years)

3 Total Experience (Net Current
Year + Past Years' Experience)

4 Refunds last year (Excluding
Interest)

5 Previous Since Inception
(Excluding Interest)

6 Refunds Since Inception
(Excluding Interest)

7 Benchmark Ratio Since Inception
(SEE WORKSHEET FOR
RATIO 1)

8 Experienced Ratio Since Inception

Total Actual Incurred Claims (line

(line 3, col b) = Ratio 2
Tot. Earned Prem.(line 3, col a) -
Refunds Since Inception (line 6)

9 Life Years Exposed Since Inception

If the Experience Ratio is less than the Benchmark Ratio, and therg are
more than 500 life years exposure, then proceed to calculation of reflind.

10 Tolerance Permitted (obtained from credibility table)

Medicare Supplement Credibility Table

Life Years Exposed Since Inception Tolerancq
10,000 + 0.0%
5,000 - 9,999 5.0%)
2,500 - 4,999 7.5%
1,000 - 2,499 10.0%

500 - 999 15.0%
If less than 500, no credibility.

1 Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select
Only.

2 "SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P"
for pre-standardized plans.

3 Includes Modal Loadings and Fees Charged

4 Excludes Active Life Reserves

5 This is to be used as "Issue Year Earned Premium"” for Year 1 of next
year's "Worksheet for Calculation of Benchmark Ratios"
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MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT REFUND CALCULATION FORM
FOR CALENDAR YEAR

Type SMSBP

For the State of

Company Name

NAIC Group Code NAIC Company Code

Address

Person Completing This Exhibit

Title Telephone Number

11. Adjustment to Incurred Claims for Credibility

Ratio 3 = Ratio 2 + Tolerance

If Ratio 3 is more than benchmark ratio (ratio 1), a refund or credit to
premium is not required.

If Ratio 3 is less than the benchmark ratio, then proceed.

12. Adjusted Incurred Claims =
[Tot. Earned Premiums (line 3, col a)-Refunds Since Inception
(line 6)]
X Ratio 3 (line 11)

13. Refund = Total Earned Premiums (line 3, col a)
Refunds Since Inception (line 6)
-[Adjusted Incurred Claims (line 12)/

Benchmark Ratio (Ratio 1)]

If the amount on line 13 is less than .005 times the annualized pren
in force as of December 31 of the reporting year, then no refund is nj
Otherwise, the amount on line 13 is to beurefled or credited, and

um
hde.

description of the refund or credit against premiums to be used mugt be

attached to this form.
| certify that the above information and calculations are true and acc
to the best of my knowledge and belief.

Signature

Name - please type

Title

Date

rate
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REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF

BENCHMARK RATIO SINCE INCEPTION

FOR GROUP POLICIES

FOR CALENDAR YEAR
Type SMSBP

For the State of

Company Name

NAIC Group Code NAIC Company Code

Address

Person Completing This Exhibit

Title Telephone Number
@y (b)! (©) (d) (e
Year Earned Factor (b)x(c) Cumulative
Premium Loss Ratio
1 2.770 0.507
2 4.175 0.567
3 4.175 0.567
4 4.175 0.567
5 4.175 0.567
6 4.175 0.567
7 4.175 0.567
8 4.175 0.567
9 4.175 0.567
10 4.175 0.567
11 4.175 0.567
12 4.175 0.567
13 4.175 0.567
14 4.175 0.567
15 4.175 0.567
Total: (k):




(f) (@ (h) 0] 0 (o REPORTING FORM FOR THE CALCULATION OF
(d)x(e) Factor | (b)x(g) [ Cumulative (h)x(@)) | Policy BENCHMARK RATIO SINCE INCEPTION
Loss Ratio Year
FOR INDIVIDUAL POLICIES
Loss
Ratio FOR CALENDAR YEAR
0.000 0.000 0.46
0.000 0.000 0.63 Typé SMSBF
1.194 0.759 075 For the State of
2.245 0771 077 Company Name
NAIC Group Code NAIC Company Code
3.170 0.782 0.80
Address
3.998 0.792 0.82
Person Completing This Exhibit
4.754 0.802 0.84
Title Telephone Number
5.445 0.811 0.87
6.075 0.818 0.88
6.650 0.824 0.88
@’ (b)! (© (d) (e) ®
7.176 0.828 0.88
Year | Earned Factor | (b)x(c) | Cumulative (d)x(e)
7.655 0.831 0.88 Premium .
Loss Ratio
8.093 0.834 0.89
1 2.770 0.442
8.493 0.837 0.89
2 4.175 0.493
8.684 0.838 0.89
3 4.175 0.493
o: (m): (n):
4 4.175 0.493
5 4.175 0.493
Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (I + n)/(k + m):
— o . . 6 4.175 0.493
Individual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select
Only. 7 4.175 0.493
2'SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for 8 4175 0.493
pre-standardized plans
9 4.175 0.493
3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year -
2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2 10 4.175 0.493
is 1989, etc.)
11 4.175 0.493
“For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium
. L . 12 4.175 0.493
earned during that year for policies issued in that year.
These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss 13 4.175 0.493
ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the 14 4175 0493
cumulative loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for
informational purposes only 15 4.175 0.493
Total: (k): ):
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@ (h) (i) ) (f
Factor (b)x(@) | Cumulative (h)x(i) Policy Year
Loss Ratio Loss Ratio
0.000 0.000 0.40
0.000 0.000 0.55
1.194 0.659 0.65
2.245 0.669 0.67
3.170 0.678 0.69
3.998 0.686 0.71
4.754 0.695 0.73
5.445 0.702 0.75
6.075 0.708 0.76
6.650 0.713 0.76
7.176 0.717 0.76
7.655 0.720 0.77
8.093 0.723 0.77
8.493 0.725 0.77
8.684 0.725 0.77
(m): (n):

Benchmark Ratio Since Inception: (I + n)/(k + m) :
YIndividual, Group, Individual Medicare Select, or Group Medicare Select
Only.

2'SMSBP" = Standardized Medicare Supplement Benefit Plan - Use "P" for
pre-standardized plans

3Year 1 is the current calendar year - 1. Year 2 is the current calendar year -
2 (etc.) (Example: If the current year is 1991, then: Year 1 is 1990; Year 2
is 1989, etc.)

“For the calendar year on the appropriate line in column (a), the premium
earned during that year for policies issued in that year.

These loss ratios are not explicitly used in computing the benchmark loss
ratios. They are the loss ratios, on a policy year basis, which result in the
cumulative loss ratios displayed on this worksheet. They are shown here for
informational purposes only.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1132 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1513 (August 1999).
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§597. Appendix B

FORM FOR REPORTING

MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT POLICIES

Company Name:

Address:

Phone Number:

Due: March 1, annually

The purpose of this form is to report the following information on egdch
resident of this state who has in force more than one Medi¢are
supplement policy or certificate. The information is to be grouped|by
individual policyholder.

Policy and Certificate # Date of Issuance

Signature

Name and Title (please type)

Date

1516

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999).

§598. Appendix C
DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS

Instructions for Use of the Disclosure Statements for
Health Insurance Policies Sold to Medicare Beneficiaries
that Duplicate Medicare

1. Section 1882(d) of the federal Social Security Act [42 U.S.C. 1395ss]
prohibits the sale of a health insurance policy (the term policy includes
certificates) to Medicare beneficiaries that duplicates Medicare benefits
unless it will pay benefits without regard to a beneficiary's other health
coverage and it includes the prescribed disclosure statement on or
together with the application for the policy.



2. All types of health insurance policies that duplicate Medicare shall
include one of the attached disclosure statements, according to the
particular policy type involved, on the application or together with the
application. The disclosure statement may not vary from the attached
statements in terms of language or format (type size, type proportional
spacing, bold character, line spacing, and usage of boxes around text).

3. State law and federal law prohibits insurers from selling a Medicare
supplement policy to a person that already has a Medicare supplement
policy except as a replacement policy.

4. Property/casualty and life insurance policies are not considered health

insurance.

5. Disability income policies are not considered to provide benefits that
duplicate Medicare.

6. Long-term care insurance policies that coordinate with Medicare and
other health insurance are not considered to provide benefits that
duplicate Medicare.

7. The federal law does not pre-empt state laws that are more stringent than
the federal requirements.

8. The federal
requirements.

law does not pre-empt existing state form filing

9. Section 1882 of the federal Social Security Act was amended in
Subsection (d)(3)(A) to allow for alternative disclosure statements. The
disclosure statements already in Appendix C remain. Carriers may use
either disclosure statement with the requisite insurance product.
However, carriers should use either the original disclosure statements or
the alternative disclosure statements and not use both simultaneously.

[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits
for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions,
for hospital or medical expenses that result from accidental injury. It does
not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays:
hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated in the policy
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
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physician services

other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review th&uide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare
available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits for
specified limited services.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions,
for expenses relating to the specific services listed in the policy. It does not
pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when:
any of the services covered by the policy are also covered by Medicare

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services

other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.
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[Original disclosure statement for policies that reimburse

expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified
impairments. This includes expense-incurred cancer, specified
disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit
reimbursement to named medical conditions.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions,

for hospital or medical expenses only when you are treated for one of the
specific diseases or health conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay
your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays:
hospital or medical expenses up to the maximum stated in the policy
Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services
hospice

other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement

insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with

Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed dollar
amounts for specified diseases or other specified impairments. This
includes cancer, specified disease, and other health insurance policies
that pay a scheduled benefit or specific payment based on diagnosis of
the conditions named in the policy.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS
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This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you
meet the policy conditions, for one of the specific diseases or health
conditions named in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

This
generally pays for most of the expenses for the diagnosis and treatment

insurance duplicates Medicare benefits because Medicare

of the specific conditions or diagnoses hamed in the policy.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services
hospice

other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review th&uide to Health Insurance for People with Medicare
available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement for indemnity policies and other
policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding long-
term care policies.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS
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This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your expenses, for
each day you meet the policy conditions. It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement
insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when:

any expenses or services covered by the policy are also covered by
Medicare

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization



physician services
hospice

other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Original disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits
upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity basis]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you meet the
conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed amount, regardless of
your expenses, if you meet other policy conditions. It does not pay your
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when:

any expenses or services covered by the policy are also covered by
Medicare; or

it pays the fixed dollar amount stated in the policy and Medicare covers
the same event

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services
hospice

other approved items and services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.
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For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program

[Original disclosure statement for other health insurance policies
not specifically identified in the preceding statements.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS INSURANCE DUPLICATES SOME MEDICARE BENEFITS

This is not Medicare Supplement Insurance

This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the conditions listed in
the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is
not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

This insurance duplicates Medicare benefits when it pays:

the benefits stated in the policy and coverage for the same event is
provided by Medicare

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services
hospice

other approved items & services

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide
benefits for expenses incurred for an accidental injury only.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE
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Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions,
for hospital or medical expenses that result from accidental injury. It does
not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services
other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other
insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide
benefits for specified limited services.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits under this policy.

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions,
for expenses relating to the specific services listed in the policy. It does not
pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization
physician services

other approved items and services
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This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other

insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that reimburse
expenses incurred for specified diseases or other specified
impairments. This includes expense-incurred cancer, specified
disease and other types of health insurance policies that limit
reimbursement to named medical conditions.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE
THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits from this policy. Medicare generally pays for most
or all of these expenses.

This insurance provides limited benefits, if you meet the policy conditions,

for hospital or medical expenses only when you are treated for one of the
specific diseases or health conditions listed in the policy. It does not pay
your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for
Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization

physician services

hospice

other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other
insurance.



Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that pay fixed
dollar amounts for specified diseases or other specified
impairments. This includes cancer, specified disease, and other
health insurance policies that pay a scheduled benefit or specific
payment based on diagnosis of the conditions named in the
policy.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance pays a fixed amount, regardless of your expenses, if you
meet the policy conditions, for one of the specific diseases or health
conditions named in the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles
or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization

physician services

hospice

other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other
insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.
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For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for indemnity policies and
other policies that pay a fixed dollar amount per day, excluding
long-term care policies.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance pays a fixed dollar amount, regardless of your expenses, for
each day you meet the policy conditions. It does not pay your Medicare
deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare Supplement
insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization

physician services

hospice

other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other

insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for policies that provide benefits
upon both an expense-incurred and fixed indemnity basis]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE
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Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance pays limited reimbursement for expenses if you meet the
conditions listed in the policy. It also pays a fixed amount, regardless of
your expenses, if you meet other policy conditions. It does not pay your
Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is not a substitute for Medicare
Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:

hospitalization

physician services

hospice

other approved items and services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other

insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

[Alternative disclosure statement for other health insurance
policies not specifically identified in the preceding statements.]

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO PERSONS ON MEDICARE

THIS IS NOT MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE

Some health care services paid for by Medicare may also trigger the
payment of benefits from this policy.

This insurance provides limited benefits if you meet the conditions listed in
the policy. It does not pay your Medicare deductibles or coinsurance and is
not a substitute for Medicare Supplement insurance.

Medicare generally pays for most or all of these expenses.

Medicare pays extensive benefits for medically necessary services
regardless of the reason you need them. These include:
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hospitalization

physician services

hospice

other approved items & services

This policy must pay benefits without regard to other health benefit
coverage to which you may be entitled under Medicare or other
insurance.

Before You Buy This Insurance

Check the coverage il health insurance policies you already have.

For more information about Medicare and Medicare Supplement
insurance, review theGuide to Health Insurance for People with
Medicare available from the insurance company.

For help in understanding your health insurance, contact your state
insurance department or state senior insurance counseling program.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1136 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1516 (August 1999).

8599. Effective Date

This regulation shall be effective on June 18, 1999.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
22:224 and 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 25:1142 (June 1999),
repromulgated LR 25:1522 (August 1999).

James H. "Jim" Brown

Commissioner
9908#011

RULE

Department of Natural Resources
Office of Conservation

Statewide Order No. 29Casing Program
(LAC 43:XIX.109)

Editor's Note: The following rule, published on page 1260 of
the July 20, 1999 issue of thé&ouisiana Registerwas
submitted in error for publication in July. It is being
republished as a rule in this issue effective August 20, 1999,
and the historical note is being corrected.

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act,
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Natural Resources,
Office of Conservation hereby amends Statewide Order No.
29-B.



Title 43
NATURAL RESOURCES
Part X1X. Office of Conservation: General Operations
Subpart 1. Statewide Order No. 29-B
Chapter 1. General Provisions
§109. Casing Program

A. Conductor Pipe. Conductor pipe is that pipe ordinarily
used for the purpose of supporting unconsolidated surface
deposits. The use and removal of conductor pipe during the
drilling of any oil and gas well shall be at the option of the
operator.

* k% %

E. Tubing and Completion

1. Avalve, orits equivalent, tested to a pressure of not
less than the calculated bottomhole pressure of the well,
shall be installed below any and all tubing outlet
connections.

2. When a well develops a casing pressure, upon
completion, equivalent to more than three-quarters of the
internal pressure that will develop the minimum yield point
of the casing, such well shall be required by the district
manager to be killed, and a tubing packer to be set so as to
keep such excessive pressure of the casing.

Foo..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
30:4 et seq.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Conservation (August 1943), amended (February 1951), (August
1958), amended by the Department of Natural Resources, Office of
Conservation, LR 25:1523 (August 1999).

Philip N. Asprodites

Commissioner
9908#007

RULE

Department of Revenue
Office of the Secretary

Drug Free Workplace and Drug Testing
(LAC 61:1.101)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in accordance with
Executive Order MJF 98-38 and R.S. 49:1015 et seq., the
Department of Revenue, Office of the Secretary, has adopted
LAC 61:1.101 to provide for implementation of a drug-
testing program for new and existing employees.

Title 61
REVENUE AND TAXATION
Part I. Taxes Collected and Administered by the
Secretary of Revenue
Chapter 1. Office of the Secretary
8101. Drug Free Workplace and Drug Testing
A. Introduction and Purpose
1. The employees of the Department of Revenue are
among the state's most valuable resources, and the physical
and mental well-being of our employees is necessary for
them to properly carry out their responsibilities. Substance
abuse causes serious adverse consequences to users,
affecting their productivity, health and safety, dependents,
and co-workers, as well as the general public.
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2. The State of Louisiana and the Department of
Revenue have a long-standing commitment to working
toward a drug-free workplace. In order to curb the use of
illegal drugs by employees of the State of Louisiana, the
Louisiana Legislature enacted laws that provide for the
creation and implementation of drug testing programs for
state employees. Further, the Governor of the State of
Louisiana issued Executive Order 98-38 providing for the
promulgation by executive agencies of written policies
mandating drug testing of employees, appointees,
prospective employees and prospective appointees, pursuant
to R.S. 49:1001 et seq.

B. Applicability

1. This regulation shall apply to all Department of
Revenue employees including appointees and all other
persons having an employment relationship with this agency.

C. Definitions

Controlled Substancesa drug, chemical substance or
immediate precursor in Schedules | through V of R.S.
40:964 or Section 202 of the Controlled Substances Act (21
U.S.C. 812).

Designer (Synthetic) Drugsthose chemical substances
that are made in clandestine laboratories where the
molecular structure of both legal and illegal drugs is altered
to create a drug that is not explicitly banned by federal law.

Employee-unclassified, classified, and  student
employees, student interns, and any other person having an
employment relationship with this agency, regardless of the
appointment type (e.g. full time, part time, temporary,
restricted, detailed, job appointment, etc.).

lllegal Drug—any drug that is not legally obtainable or
that has not been legally obtained, to include prescribed
drugs not legally obtained and prescribed drugs not being
used for prescribed purposes or being used by one other than
the person for whom prescribed.

Reasonable Suspicierbelief based upon reliable,
objective and articulable facts derived from direct
observation of specific physical, behavioral, odorous
presence, or performance indicators and being of sufficient
import and quantity to lead a prudent person to suspect that
an employee is in violation of this regulation.

Safety-Sensitiver Security-Sensitive Positiena position
determined by the Appointing Authority to contain duties of
such nature that the compelling state interest to keep the
incumbent drug-free outweighs the employee’s privacy
interests. Positions considered as safety-sensitive or security-
sensitive are listed in 8101.J. These positions were
determined with consideration of statutory law,
jurisprudence, and the practices of this agency. Examples of
safety-sensitive and security-sensitive positions are as
follows:

a. Positions with duties that are required or are
authorized to carry a firearm.

b. Positions with duties that require operation or
maintenance of any heavy equipment or machinery, or the
supervision of such an employee.

c. Positions with duties that require the operation or
maintenance of a public vehicle, or the supervision of such
an employee.

Under the Influence-for the purposes of this regulation, a
drug, chemical substance, or the combination of a drug or
chemical substance that affects an employee in any
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detectable manner. The symptoms or influence are not
confined to that consistent with misbehavior, nor to obvious
impairment of physical or mental ability, such as slurred

speech, or difficulty in maintaining balance. A determination

of influence can be established by a professional opinion or
a scientifically valid test.

Workplace—any location on agency property including all
property, offices, and facilities, including all vehicles and
equipment, whether owned, leased, or otherwise used by the
agency or by an employee on behalf of the agency in the
conduct of its business in addition to any location from
which an individual conducts agency business while such
business is being conducted.

D. Drug-Free Workplace Policy

1. It shall be the policy of the Department of Revenue
to maintain a drug-free workplace and a workforce free of
substance abuse. Employees are prohibited from reporting to
work or performing work with the presence in their bodies
of illegal drugs, controlled substances, or designer
(synthetic) drugs at or above the initial testing levels and
confirmatory testing levels as established in the contract
between the State of Louisiana and the official provider of
drug testing services. Employees are further prohibited from
the illegal use, possession, dispensation, distribution,
manufacture, or sale of controlled substances, designer
(synthetic) drugs, and illegal drugs, at the work site and
while on official state business, on duty or on call for duty.

2. To assure maintenance of a drug-free workplace, it
shall be the policy of the Department of Revenue to
implement a program of drug testing, in accordance with
Executive Order No. MJF 98-38, R.S. 49:1001 et seq., and
all other applicable federal and state laws, as set forth below.

E. Conditions Requiring Drug Tests. Drug testing shall
be required under the following conditions:

1. Reasonable Suspicion. Any employee shall be
required to submit to a drug test if there is reasonable
suspicion, as defined in §101Rkasonable Suspicipthat
the employee is using drugs.

2. Post Accident. Each employee involved in an
accident that occurs during the course and scope of
employment shall be required to submit to a drug test if the
accident:

a. involves circumstances leading to a reasonable
suspicion of the employee's drug use, or
b. results in a fatality.

3. Rehabilitation Monitoring. Any employee who is
participating in a substance abuse after-treatment program or
who has a rehabilitation agreement with the agency
following an incident involving substance abuse shall be
required to submit to random drug testing.

4. Pre-employment. Each prospective employee shall
be required to submit to drug screening at the time and place
designated by the Director of the Human Resources Division
following a job offer contingent upon a negative drug-testing
result. Pursuant to R.S. 49:1008, a prospective employee
who tests positive for the presence of drugs in the initial
screening shall be eliminated from consideration for
employment.

5. Safety-sensitive and Security-sensitive positions.

a. Appointments and Promotions. Each employee
who is offered a safety-sensitive or security-sensitive
position as defined in 8§101.J shall be required to pass a drug
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test before being placed in such position, whether through
appointment or promotion. All such testing shall, if
applicable, occur during the selected employee’s work
schedule.

b. Random testing. Every employee in a safety-
sensitive or security-sensitive position shall be required to
submit to drug testing as required by the Appointing
Authority, who shall periodically call for a sample of such
employees, selected at random by a computer-generated
random selection process, and require them to report for
testing. All such testing shall, if applicable, occur during the
selected employee’s work schedule.

F. Drug-Testing Procedure

1. Drug testing pursuant to this regulation shall be
conducted for the presence of cannabinoids (marijuana
metabolites), cocaine metabolites, opiate metabolites,
phencyclidine, and amphetamines in accordance with the
provisions of R.S. 49:1001 et seq. The Department of
Revenue reserves the right to test its employees for the
presence of any other illegal drug or controlled substance
when there is reasonable suspicion to do so.

2. The Human Resource Director and the Deputy
Undersecretary shall be involved in any determination that
one of the above-named conditions requiring drug testing
exists. All recommendations for drug testing must be
approved by the Secretary of Revenue. Upon such final
determination by the responsible officials, the Director of the
Human Resources Division shall notify the supervisor of the
employee to be tested, who shall immediately notify the
employee where and when to report for the testing.

3. Testing services shall be performed by a provider
chosen by the Office of State Purchasing, Division of
Administration, pursuant to applicable bid laws. At a
minimum, the testing service shall assure the following:

a. All specimen collections will be performed in
accordance with applicable federal and state regulations and
guidelines to ensure the integrity of the specimen and the
privacy of the donor. The Director of Human Resources
shall review and concur in advance with any decision by a
collection site person to obtain a specimen under direct
supervision. All direct observation shall be conducted by a
person of the same-sex at the collection site.

b. Chain of custody forms must be provided to
ensure the integrity of each urine specimen by tracking its
handling and storage from point of collection to final
disposition.

c. Testing shall be performed by a Substance Abuse
Mental Services Health Administration (SAMSHA) certified
laboratory.

d. The laboratory shall use a cut-off of 50 ng/ml for
a positive finding in testing for Cannabinoids.

e. All positives reported by the laboratory must be
confirmed by gas chromatography/mass spectrometry.

4. All positive results of drug-testing shall be reported
by the laboratory to a qualified medical review officer.

G. Confidentiality

1. All information, interviews, reports, statements,
memoranda, or test results received through this drug testing
program are confidential communications, pursuant to R.S.
49:1012, and may not be used or received in evidence,
obtained in discovery, or disclosed in any public or private
proceedings, except in an administrative or disciplinary



proceeding or hearing, or civil litigation where drug use by
the tested individual is relevant.
H. Responsibilities

1. The Secretary of Revenue is responsible for the
overall compliance with this regulation and shall submit to
the Office of the Governor, through the Commissioner of
Administration, a report on this regulation and drug testing
program, describing progress, the number of employees
affected, the categories of testing being conducted, the
associated costs for testing, and the effectiveness of the
program by November 1 of each year.

2. The Director of the Human Resources Division is
responsible for administering the drug testing program;
recommending to the Secretary when drug testing is
appropriate; receiving, acting on, and holding confidential
all information received from the testing services provider
and from the medical review officer; collecting appropriate
information necessary to agency defense in the event of legal
challenge; and providing the Secretary with the data
necessary to submit a detailed report to the Office of the
Governor as described above.

3. All supervisory personnel are responsible for
reporting to the Director of Human Resources any employee
they suspect may be under the influence of any illegal drug
or chemical substance. Supervisory personnel are also
responsible for assuring that each employee under their
supervision understands or is given the opportunity to
understand and have questions answered about this
regualtion's contents.

I. Violation of the Regulation

1. Violation of this regulation, including refusal to
submit to drug testing when properly ordered to do so, will
result in actions up to and including termination of
employment.

2. Each violation and alleged violation of this
regulation will be handled on an individual basis, taking into
account all data, including the risk to self, fellow employees,
and the general public.

J. Safety-Sensitive or Security-Sensitive Positions to be
Randomly Drug Tested.

1. Secretary

2. Deputy Secretary

3. Undersecretary

4. Assistant Secretary

5. Alcohol Beverage Control Investigator Supervisor

6. Alcohol Beverage Control Investigator

7. Alcohol Beverage Control Manager

8. Alcohol Beverage Control Staff Officer
9. Alcohol Beverage Control Special Investigator
. Police Officer/Security Guard
. Maintenance Foreman
. Maintenance Repairer
. Maintenance Repairer Master
Laborer
. Trades Apprentice

16. Helper

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
Executive Order MJF 98-38 and R.S. 49:1015 et seq.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Revenue, Office of the Secretary, LR 25:1523 (August 1999).

Brett Crawford

Secretary
9908#004

RULE

Department of Transportation and Development
Board of Registration for Professional Engineers
and Land Surveyors

Use of Seals (LAC 46:LXI1.1701)

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative
Procedure Act, and House Concurrent Resolution Number 2
of the 1998 First Extraordinary Session of the 1998
Louisiana Legislature, LAC 46:LXI1.1701a, b, d, and e have
been amended. The text of the House Concurrent Resolution
was published in thelLouisiana Register Volume 24,
Number 6, June 1998, page 1207.

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part LXI. Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
Chapter17.  Use of Seals
§1701. Seal and Signature

The following rules for the use of seals to identify work
performed by a registered professional engineer or
professional land surveyor shall be binding on every
registrant.

1. Each registered professional engineer or
professional land surveyor, upon registration, shall obtain an
official seal. The size and design of the seal shall conform to
the specifications in Subsection | of this Section.

2. The registrant shall affix his seal, sign his name,
and place the date of execution on all engineering and
surveying documents that have been issued by the registrant
to a client or any public or governmental agency as
completed work. A facsimile signature is not acceptable.
Preliminary documents, so marked in large bold letters, shall
contain a statement that the documents are not to be used for
construction, bidding, recordation, conveyance, sales, or as
the basis for the issuance of a permit. Preliminary documents
are not required to have the registrant's seal and signature
affixed, but must bear the name and registration number of
the registrant, and the firm's name, if applicable. No seal,
signature or date shall be required in any of the following
situations:

a. on any sewage facility project in which the
estimated number of gallons of sewage affected does not
exceed three thousand per day, as calculated by agency
engineers reviewing the project;

b. on any water facility project in which the
estimated number of gallons of water affected does not
exceed three thousand per day, as calculated by agency
engineers reviewing the project; provided that such project
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does not cause a change in treatment, chemical addition, or
any other process affecting either the quality or quantity of
water being produced;

c. on any project
individual/private water wells;

d. on any project involving both water and sewage
facilities, provided that the estimated number of gallons of
water affected does not exceed three thousand per day nor
the estimated number of gallons of sewage affected does not
exceed three thousand per day, as calculated by agency
engineers reviewing the project;

e. in-kind replacement of water or sewage facilities
in which the estimated number of gallons of water affected
does not exceed three thousand per day nor the estimated
number of gallons of sewage affected does not exceed three
thousand per day, as calculated by agency engineers
reviewing the project.

3.-9.b.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:696.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Transportation and Development, Board of Registration for
Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors, LR 8:112 (April
1982), amended LR 12:692 (October 1986), LR 16:774 (September
1990), LR 17:273 (March 1991), LR 19:58 (January 1993), LR
22:287 (April 1996), LR 23:869 (July 1998), amended by the
Louisiana Legislature, House Concurrent Resolution Number 2 of
the 1998 First Extraordinary Session, LR 24:1207, repromulgated
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Board of
Registration for Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors,
LR:1525 (August 1999).

for the construction of

H. Glen Kent, Jr.

Executive Secretary
9908#018

RULE

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission

Resident Game Hunting Seasdt®99-2000
(LAC 76:XIX.101 and 103)

(Editor's Note: The table in 8103.D is being republished to
correct typographical errors. This rule can be viewed in its
entirety on pages 1289 through 1291 of the July 20, 1999
Louisiana Registey
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Title 76
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES
Part XIX. Hunting and WMA Regulations

1526

Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season
8103. Resident Game Birds and Animals 1999-2000
A.-C.
D. Modern Firearm Schedule (Either Sex Seasons)
- Basic Season Total Exceptions (those portions
Dates Days of the following parishes)

1 Nov. 20-21, 26-28 11 Nov. 20-21, 26-28 (Franklin

Dec. 4-5, 11-12, Catahoula, LaSalle,

18-19 Caldwell)
Nov. 20-21, 26-28, Dec. 11-
12 (Avoyelles), Nov. 20-21,
26-28, Dec.4-5,11-12 (Granlf
and Rapides)

2 Nov. 6-7, 13-14, 13 Nov. 6-7, 26-28 (Caldwell,
20-21, 26-28, Dec. LaSalle)
4-5,11-12 Nov. 6-7, 26-28, Dec. 11-12

(Avoyelles)

3 Oct. 16-17, 23-24, 13 Oct. 16-17, Nov. 26-28, Ded
Oct. 30-31, Nov. 11-12 (St. Landry)
6-7,20-21, 26-28

4 Nov. 20-21, 26-28 5 Nov. 20-21, 26-28, Dec. 4-5
(except East 11-12 (East Carroll That
Carroll) portion between the

Mississippi River Levee and
the Mississippi River)

5 None

6 Nov. 20-21, 26-28, 11 Nov. 20-21, 26-28, Dec. 111
Dec. 4-5, 11-12, 12 (Avoyelles, St. Landry),
18-19 Nov. 20-21, 26-28, Dec. 4-5

11-12 (Rapides)

7 Oct. 16-17, Nov. 11
20-21, 26-28, Dec.

11-12, 18-19

E.-F

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
56:115.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999),
repromulgated LR:1526 (August 1999).

Bill A. Busbice, Jr.

Chairman
9908#072
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