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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 10-20 

Executive BranchExpenditure Reduction 

WHEREAS, pursuant to R.S. 39:75(A)(1), the 
Division of Administration is directed to submit a monthly 
budget status report to the Joint Legislative Committee on 
the Budget (hereafter "Committee") indicating the balance of 
the budget for the state general fund and dedicated funds by 
comparing the official forecast for these funds to the total 
authorized appropriations from each fund; once approved by 
the Committee, the most recent budget status report becomes 
the official budget status of the state; 

WHEREAS, pursuant to R.S. 39:75(A)(2), the 
budget status report presented at the first meeting of the 
Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget after October 
fifteenth of any fiscal year shall reflect the balance in any 
fund for the previous fiscal year and said budget status 
report indicates that the previous Fiscal Year, Fiscal Year 
2009-2010, ended with a projected deficit of $106,832,546; 

WHEREAS, Article VII Section 10 (G) of the 
Constitution of Louisiana and R.S. 39:76 state that if a 
deficit exists in any fund at the end of a fiscal year, that 
deficit shall be eliminated no later than the end of the next 
fiscal year;  

WHEREAS, if the most recently approved budget 
status report indicates that the total appropriation from any 
fund will exceed the official forecast for that fund, R.S. 
39:75(B) requires the Committee to immediately notify the 
governor that a projected deficit exists for that fund; 

WHEREAS, the Committee notified the governor 
that it approved a budget status report at its October 22, 
2010 meeting, indicating a projected deficit of one hundred 
six million seven hundred thirty-two thousand five hundred 
forty-six dollars ($106,732,546) exists in the state general 
fund for Fiscal Year 2010-2011, based on the official 
forecast of revenue available for appropriation adopted by 
the Revenue Estimating Conference on June 21, 2010, 
compared to total appropriations; 

WHEREAS, once notified that a projected deficit 
exists, pursuant to Article VII, Section 10 of the Constitution 
of Louisiana and R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a), the governor has 
interim budget balancing powers to adjust the budget, 
including the authority to reduce appropriations for the 
executive branch of government for any program that is 
appropriated from a fund that is in a deficit posture, not 
exceeding three percent (3%) in the aggregate of the total 
appropriations for each budget unit for the fiscal year, and if 
the governor does not make necessary adjustments in the 
appropriations to eliminate the projected deficit within thirty 
(30) days of the determination of the projected deficit in a 
fund, R.S. 39:75(D) mandates the governor call a special 
session of the legislature for that purpose; 

WHEREAS, as authorized by R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a), I 
am exercising my unilateral interim budget balancing 
powers to reduce the projected deficit by $106,732,546, 
resulting in a 1.38% overall reduction in total state general 

fund and a 0.35% reduction in the total appropriation for the 
state; 

WHEREAS, as authorized by R.S. 39:75(C)(3), my 
executive order may utilize all or a portion of the general 
fund dollar savings objective specified in Executive Order 
BJ 2010-12. 

NOW THEREFORE, I, Bobby Jindal, Governor of the 
state of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by the 
Constitution and laws of the state of Louisiana, do hereby 
order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The following departments, agencies, 
and/or budget units (hereafter "Unit" and/or "Units") of the 
executive branch of the state of Louisiana, as described in 
and/or funded by appropriations through Acts 11 and 41 of 
the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature 
(hereafter "the Acts"), shall reduce expenditure of funds 
appropriated to the Unit from the state general fund by the 
Acts, in the amounts shown below: 

 
State General Fund 
Schedule 01-Executive Department $ 6,094,311 
Schedule 03-Veterans Affairs $ 350,495 
Schedule 04-Elected Officials 

04-139 Secretary of State $ 2,430,964 
04-141 Office of Attorney General $ 350,000 
04-146 Lieutenant Governor $ 93,129 
04-160 Agriculture and Forestry $ 1,646,031 

Schedule 05-Economic Development $ 1,195,191 
Schedule 06-Culture, Recreation and Tourism $ 1,350,618 
Schedule 08A-Corrections Services $ 5,071,813 
Schedule 08B-Public Safety Services $ 3,485,973 
Schedule 08C-Juvenile Justice $ 4,564,339 
Schedule 09-Health and Hospitals $20,804,466 
Schedule 10-Children and Family Services $11,711,646 
Schedule 14-Louisiana Workforce Commission $ 275,000 
Schedule 17-Civil Service 

17-562 Ethics Administration $ 115,216 
17-563 State Police Commission $ 17,998 
17-564 Division of Administrative Law $ 19,645 

Schedule 19A-Higher Education $34,745,030 
Schedule 19B-Special Schools and Commissions 

19-657 Louisiana School for Math, Science, & the Arts $ 134,066 
19-662 Louisiana Educational Television Authority $ 100,000 
19-666 State Board of Elementary & Secondary 

Education 
$ 72,040 

19-673 New Orleans Center for the Creative Arts $ 155,875 
Schedule 19D-Education $ 6,320,266 
Schedule 19E-LA Health Care Services Division $ 5,307,534 
Schedule 20-Other Requirements 

20-452 Local Housing of State Juvenile Offenders $ 201,430 
20-933 Governor’s Conferences and Interstate Compacts $ 15,778 
20-941 Agriculture and Forestry—Pass Through Funds $ 102,692 

Schedule 21-Ancillary 
21-804 Office of Risk Management $ 1,000 

 
SECTION 2:  

A. No later than November 5, 2010, the head of 
each Unit listed in Section 1 of this Order shall submit to the 
commissioner of administration (hereafter "commissioner") 
a mid-year budget reduction plan, on the BA-7 form and 
questionnaire, which reflects the Unit’s proposed allocation 
of the expenditure reduction ordered in Section 1 of this 
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Order (hereafter "mid-year budget reduction plan"), and a 
description of the methodology used to formulate the mid-
year budget reduction plan. The heads of each department 
may exercise discretion and reallocate the aggregate 
reduction within the department to maximize recurring 
savings to the state fiscal for future fiscal years, while 
remaining in compliance with R.S. 39:75(C)(1)(a)by 
ensuring that no reduction to any budget unit exceeds 3% of 
the total appropriation of that budget unit. 

B. In the event that positions of employment will be 
affected by the midyear budget reduction these positions 
should be included in your midyear budget reduction plan. 

C. No Unit shall implement the expenditure 
reduction mandated by Section 1 of this Order without the 
commissioner’s prior written approval of the Unit’s mid-year 
budget reduction plan. 

D. After the commissioner has given approval of a 
Unit’s mid-year budget reduction plan, any change to the 
mid-year budget reduction plan requires prior written 
approval from the commissioner. 

SECTION 3: The commissioner of administration is 
authorized to develop additional guidelines as necessary to 
facilitate the administration of this Order. 

SECTION 4: All departments, commissions, boards, 
offices, entities, agencies, and officers of the state of 
Louisiana, or any political subdivision thereof, are 
authorized and directed to cooperate in the implementation 
of the provisions of this Order. 

SECTION 5: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect through June 30, 2011, unless 
amended, modified, terminated, or rescinded prior to that 
date. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the city of Baton Rouge, on this 
22nd day of October, 2010. 

 
Bobby Jindal 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Jay Dardenne 
Secretary of State 
1011#135 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agro-Consumer Services 

Agricultural Commodities CommissionOfficial Services 
(LAC 7:XXVII.128) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and the 
authority of R.S. 3:3405, the Louisiana Agricultural 
Commodities Commission proposes to adopt by emergency 
rule fees for the testing and sampling of aflatoxin for corn. 

Aflatoxin is a toxic metabolite produced primarily by a 
naturally occurring fungus that affects corn. Aflatoxin is 
listed as a human and animal carcinogen. Aflatoxicosis in 
humans is characterized by vomiting, abdominal pain, 
pulmonary edema, convulsions, coma and death with 
cerebral edema and fatty involvement of the liver, kidneys 
and heart. Aflatoxicosis in animals causes liver damage, 
cancer, decreased mild and egg production, increased 
infections due to immunity suppression, anemia, jaundice 
and death. Aflatoxicosis in humans and animals results from 
the eating of food contaminated with aflatoxin. The United 
States Food and Drug Administration have established a 
limit of 20 parts per billion for aflatoxin in foods to be 
consumed by humans. 

The presence and levels of aflatoxin in corn can be 
determined only by sampling and testing the corn. The 
accuracy and reliability of the methods of testing corn 
directly affect both the marketability of the corn and the 
price received for the corn by the farmer and operators of 
grain elevators. Failure to immediately implement 
regulations governing the testing of corn at grain elevators 
creates and imminent peril to the public health, safety and 
welfare of the farmers and economy of this state. 

The Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission 
has, therefore, determined that these emergency rules are 
necessary in order to ensure an accurate and reliable 
sampling and testing of corn for aflatoxin.  

This Emergency Rule becomes effective on October 14, 
2010 and will remain in effect for 120 days, unless renewed 
or until permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with 
law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXVII.  Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 
Warehouse Law 

Chapter 1. Agricultural Commodities Commission 
Subchapter E. Assessments and Fees 
§128. Fees: Amount, Time of Payment 

A. - C.3. … 
4. Official Services (including sampling except as 

indicated) 
 

Online D/T sampling inspection service  
(sampling, grading and certification), per regular hour 

$25.00  

Overtime hourly rate, per hour $40.00 
Unit Inspection Fees: 

Aflatoxin Testing, per sample $30.00 
Hopper Car, per car $20.00 
Boxcar, per car $15.00 
Truck/Trailer, per carrier $10.00 
Barge, per 1,000 bushels $ 2.50 
Submitted sample inspection $12.00 
Re-grade grain sample $15.00 

 
D. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3405, R.S. 3:3414.3 and R.S. 3:3422. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended LR 
14:528 (August 1988), LR 19:889 (July 1993), LR 23:196 
(February 1997), LR 27:815 (June 2001), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 30:197 
(February 2004), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, LR 37: 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1011#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Structural Pest Control Commission 

Bait and Baiting System Requirements (LAC 7:XXV.141) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B), and under the 
authority of R.S. 3:3306, the Structural Pest Control 
Commission declares an emergency to exist and adopts by 
emergency process the attached regulations to supersede the 
current permanent regulations found at LAC 7:XXXV.141.J. 
The regulations that are being put into place by this 
declaration of emergency are in the process of being 
promulgated as permanent rules and are anticipated to 
become effective on January 20, 2011. The implementation 
of these regulations by the emergency process is necessary 
in order to allow pest control operators in Louisiana who 
install and monitor bait and baiting systems for termites to 
participate in a nationwide program initiated by a 
manufacturer of a bait and baiting termiticide. Under the 
current regulations pest control operators in this state would 
not be able to participate and take advantage of the program, 
thereby placing them at a severe disadvantage and creating 
an economic hardship on them. The implementation of these 
rules will also allow pest control operators to immediately 
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use a new bait product, thereby increasing the amount of 
termite protections that they can offer to the public to protect 
homes and other structures from infestation by termites. 

This Emergency Rule becomes effective November 1, 
2010 when signed by the commissioner and shall remain in 
effect for 120 days, unless renewed or until the permanent 
rules and regulations become effective. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part XXV.  Structural Pest Control 

Chapter 1. Structural Pest Control Commission   
§141. Minimum Specifications for Termite Control 

Work 
A. - I.2.c. … 
J. Requirements for Baits and Baiting Systems 

1. Any licensee or any person working under the 
supervision of a licensee, who applies baits and/or baiting 
systems, shall be certified in the use of the baits and baiting 
systems, by the manufacturer of the product, prior to any 
application of the bait or baiting system. Manufacturer 
certification and training programs shall have department 
approval of the agenda prior to the program presentation.  

2. All baits and baiting systems applications shall be 
contracted and reported according to R.S. 3:3370 and LAC 
7:XXV.119.D and pay the fee as described in LAC 
7:XXV.119.E. 

3. Bait and baiting systems shall be used according to 
label and labeling. 

4. Above ground bait stations shall be used according 
to their label and labeling when the presence of subterranean 
termites are detected in the contracted structure. 

5. All bait stations, except those products in the pilot 
project, shall be monitored\inspected according to the label 
and labeling. 

6. Monitoring and ground bait stations shall surround 
the contracted structure and shall not be more than 20 feet 
apart, where soil is available unless the label requires 
stations closer and\or does not allow for "where soil is 
available." 

7. Monitoring and ground bait stations, where soil is 
available, shall be no further than 20 feet from the slab or 
pier's outside perimeter except for non-structural wood 
elements including but not limited to trees, stumps, wood 
piles, landscape timbers and detached fences. 

8. Records of contracts, graphs, monitoring, and bait 
applications shall be kept according to LAC 7:XXV.117.I. 

9. A consumer information sheet, supplied by the 
manufacturer and approved by the commission, shall be 
supplied to the registered pest control operator. The pest 
control operator shall, in turn, supply a copy of the consumer 
information sheet to all persons contracted. 

10. All monitoring and bait stations shall be removed 
by the pest control operator from the contracted property 
within 30 days of the termination of the contract. In the 
event the bait and baiting system manufacturer stops the use 
by the pest control operator of their bait and baiting system; 
all monitoring and bait stations shall be removed by the pest 
control operator from the contracted property within 90 days 
of the stop use notification. 

11. The commission hereby establishes a pilot program 
for the use of bait and baiting systems and shall include but 
not be limited to the following. 

a. All baits and baiting systems products shall be 
subject to the pilot project for a period of a minimum of one 
year. The commission shall reevaluate the products in the 
pilot program prior to the end of the first quarter of every 
calendar year. 

b. Pilot project bait and baiting system products 
shall, upon approval of the commission, be listed in the 
Louisiana Register. 

c. Pilot project bait and baiting system products are 
subject to all regulations in LAC 7:XXV.141.J. 

d. Baits and baiting systems may be used as a stand-
alone termite treatment only with written approval by LDAF. 

e. Baits and baiting systems may be used as a 
supplement to traditional ground termiticide treatments. 

f. Ground bait delivery shall begin when the 
presence of subterranean termites are detected in the 
monitoring station or if the label allows, Ground bait stations 
may be used as monitoring stations and inspected as required 
in LAC 7:XXV.141.J.11. 

g. Ground monitoring and bait stations, used as 
monitors, shall be inspected monthly, not to exceed 35 days, 
from the date of installation or last inspection. When there is 
no termite feeding on any bait or monitoring station for 90 
days from the date of installation or last inspection; monitor 
as required in LAC 7:XXV.141.J.11. 

h. When there is termite feeding on any bait and/or 
monitoring station(s) at the contracted structure; all above 
ground bait stations and ground monitoring and bait stations 
shall be inspected monthly, not to exceed 35 days from the 
date of installation or last inspection and such inspections 
shall continue until there is no termite feeding on any bait 
and\or monitoring station, in any station, at the contracted 
structure for 90 days from the date of installation or last 
inspection. When there is no termite feeding on any bait or 
monitoring station for 90 days from the date of installation 
or last inspection; monitor as required in LAC 
7:XXV.141.J.11. 

i. When there is no termite feeding on any bait or 
monitoring station for 90 days from the date of installation 
or last inspection; monitoring shall resume at regular 
intervals, not to exceed 90 days from the date of the last 
inspection; when termites are detected again, monitoring 
and/or baiting shall follow the requirements set forth in LAC 
7:XXV.141.J.11. 

j. Pilot project bait and baiting system products are 
subject to all regulations in LAC 7:XXV.141.J. 

K - M.9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3366. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 11:330 (April 
1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Structural Pest Control Commission, LR 15:958 (November 1989), 
LR 20:644 (June 1994), LR 21:931 (September 1995), LR 23:1285 
(October 1997), LR 25:235 (February 1999), LR 25:1620 
(September 1999), LR 26:2437 (November 2000), LR 27:1180 
(August 2001), LR 29:1063 (July 2003), LR 30:1145 (June 2004), 
repromulgated LR 30:1614 (August 2004), amended LR 35:207 
(February 2009), LR 35:1469 (August 2009), repromulgated LR 
35:1872 (September 2009), amended LR 37: 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1011#002 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Portability of Criminal History, Religious  
Exemption, and Sex Offender Rule  

(LAC 67:III.Chapter 73) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
has exercised the emergency provision in accordance with 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative Code Act to adopt 
LAC 67, Part III, Subpart 21 Chapter 73, Sections 7302, 
7303, 7305, 7311, 7357, 7359, 7361 and 7365 Child Care 
Licensing to comply with Acts 429, 508 and 569 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and Act 210 of 
the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. This 
emergency rule is effective upon the signature of the DCFS 
secretary and shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days. 

The Department of Children and Family Services finds 
that an imminent threat to the safety and welfare of children 
in licensed child care facilities exists. Pursuant to Act 508 of 
the 2010 Legislative Session, the Department of Children 
and Family Services finds it necessary to allow for the 
portability of criminal history information. This rule shall 
allow an individual applying for a position of supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children in a child care facility, or 
an independent contractor who performs work in a child care 
facility, to receive a certified copy of his/her criminal history 
information upon written request to the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police. The certified copy of the criminal 
background check may be accepted by a prospective 
employer and shall be deemed to satisfy the requirements of 
R.S. 15:587.1 for each facility requesting criminal history 
information for a period of one year from the date of 
issuance of the certified copy. 

In accordance with Acts 429 and 569 of the 2010 
Legislative Session a recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, which remains 
open for not more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week, 
and in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay shall not be considered a "day 
care center" for the purposes of this Chapter. In addition, 
there shall be a moratorium on the enforcement of any rule 
and regulation by the Department of Children and Family 
Services upon a child care facility, operated by a religious, 
nonprofit organization which is exempt from federal income 
taxes pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3), and which was not 
licensed as either a Class “A” or Class “B” facility on June 
1, 2010, and provides childcare for not less than 25 hours 
and not more than 40 hours in a continuous 7-day week. 
This moratorium shall terminate and cease to be effective 
upon July 1, 2011. 

Pursuant to Act 210 of the 2009 Legislative Session, any 
person that has been convicted of a sex offense as defined in 
R.S. 15:541, is prohibited from owning, operating, or in any 
way participating in the governance of a child day care 
facility. The department also prohibits any employer from 
knowingly employing a person convicted of a sex offense as 

defined in R.S. 15:541, to work in a day care center or a 
child day care facility. This rule shall also require any 
owner/owners of a child day care facility to provide 
documentation of a satisfactory criminal record check, as 
required by R.S. 15:587.1. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 

Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter A. Licensing Class “A” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7302. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions. The State of Louisiana, 
Department of Children and Family Services, is charged 
with the responsibility for developing and publishing 
standards for the licensing of child care centers. The 
licensing authority of the Department of Children and 
Family Services is established by R.S. 46:1401 et seq., 
making mandatory the licensing of all child care facilities 
and child placing agencies, including child care centers. R.S. 
46:1403 defines a child day care facility as any place or 
facility operated by any institution, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the 
purpose of providing care, supervision, and guidance of 
seven or more children, not including those related to the 
caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day 
week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or adopted 
child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal 
custody of the caregiver.  

In accordance with Act 429 and Act 569 of the 2010 
Legislative Session, a recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, which remains 
open for not more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week, 
and in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay shall not be considered a "day 
care center" for the purposes of this Chapter. In addition, 
there shall be a moratorium on the enforcement of any rule 
and regulation by the Department of Children and Family 
Services upon a child care facility, operated by a religious, 
nonprofit organization which is exempt from federal income 
taxes pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3), and which was not 
licensed as either a Class A or Class B facility on June 1, 
2010, and provides childcare for not less than 25 hours and 
not more than 40 hours in a continuous 7-day week. This 
moratorium shall terminate and cease to be effective upon 
July 1, 2011. 

B. - F.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1107 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2755 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:332 (February 2010), LR 
36:847 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, LR 37: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2459 

§7303. Procedures 
A.1. - A.2.g.viii. ... 

 ix. three current, positive, signed references on 
director designee (if applicable); 
 x. licensure survey verifying compliance with all 
minimum standards; 
 xi. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
clearance for all staff including all owners and operators; 
and 
 xii. documentation of completed State Central 
Registry Disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
of abuse and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from 
the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative 
Law noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

3. - 4.h.  ... 
i. three current, positive, signed references on 

director designee (if applicable); 
j. copy of bill of sale;  
k. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and operators and all staff not 
employed by the previous owner; and  

l. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from the Risk 
Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children. 

NOTE: If the above information is not received prior 
to the sale or day of the sale, the new owner must not operate 
until a license is issued. When the application is received, it 
will be treated as an initial application rather than a change of 
ownership. 

A.5. - C.3. ... 
4. The bureau shall be notified prior to making 

changes which may have an effect upon the license, e.g., age 
range of children served, usage of indoor and outdoor space, 
director, hours/months/days of operation, transportation, etc. 

D. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License. An 
application for a license may be denied, or a license may be 
revoked, or renewal denied, for any of the following reasons: 

1. - 14. ... 
15. presence or use of any recalled product by the 

provider that is listed in the newsletters issued by the Office 
of the Attorney General; 

16. failure to attend any mandatory training session 
offered by the bureau; 

17. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 
finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry until a determination by 
the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

18. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the 
individual poses a risk to children and the individual has not 
requested an appeal hearing by the Division of 
Administrative Law within the required time frame; 

19. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; or  

20. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 

and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 
management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge. 

E. - H.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1108 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2756 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), LR 
36:832 (April 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1272 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1279 (June 2010), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7305. General Requirements 

A. - M. ... 
N. Conditions for Participation in a Child-Related 

Business 
1. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 

provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A 
criminal background check shall be required of each owner 
of a facility submitting a new application, change of 
ownership application, change of location application, 
and/or application for renewal for a child day care license. 
No person with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, or plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate or participate 
in the governance of a child care facility. 

2. New members/owners added to a partnership, 
church, corporation, limited liability corporation or 
governmental entity which does not constitute a change of 
ownership shall provide documentation of a satisfactory 
criminal record check as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 
15.587.1. No member/owner with a criminal conviction of 
conviction of a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of 
a felony, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 
included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any 
offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate or participate in the governance of a 
child care facility. 

3. Every owner shall submit the criminal background 
check showing that he or she has not been convicted of any 
offense enumerated in R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, or plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, together with the initial application or, in the 
case of an existing center, with the application for renewal of 
the license. If the criminal background check shows that any 
owner has been convicted of any enumerated offense under 
R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
of a felony, or any offense involving a juvenile victim, the 
owner or director shall submit the information to the 
licensing section management staff within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is sooner, upon 
receipt of the result. 

4. The physical presence of a sex offender in, on, or 
within 1,000 feet of a child day care facility is prohibited. 
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Providers and child care staff shall not permit an individual 
convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 physical 
access to a child day care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

5. The owner or director of a child day care facility 
shall be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies 
and the licensing section management staff if a sex offender 
is on the premises of the child day care facility or within 
1,000 feet of the child day care facility. The licensing office 
shall be contacted immediately. The verbal report shall be 
followed by a written report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1112 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2759 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7311. Personnel Records 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be eligible to 
own, operate, and/or be present in any capacity in any 
licensed child care facility. For any owner or operator, a 
clear criminal background check in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2 shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a license or 
approval of a change of ownership. In addition, neither an 
owner, nor a director, nor a director designee shall have a 
conviction of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any crime 
in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is an element of 
the offense. 

a. An individual who applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police. If an individual provides a certified 
copy of their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana State Police to the provider, this criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the department for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility in which the individual is currently employed. 
However, prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the provider shall 
request and obtain a satisfactory criminal check from 
Louisiana State Police in order for the individual to continue 
employment at the center. If the clearance is not obtained by 
the provider prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the staff person is no 
longer allowed on the child care premises until a clearance is 
received. 

B. The following information shall be kept on file for 
independent contractors including therapeutic professionals 
and extracurricular personnel, e.g. computer instructors, 

dance instructors, librarians, tumble bus personnel, speech 
therapists, licensed health care professionals, state-certified 
teachers employed through a local school board, art 
instructors, and other outside contractors: 

1. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be present in 
any capacity in any child care facility. 

a. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
being present and working with a child or children at the 
facility. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified copy, the 
individual shall request and obtain a current certified copy of 
their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police in order to continue 
providing services to a child or children at the child care 
facility. If the clearance is not obtained by the provider prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the individual shall no longer be allowed 
on the child care premises until a clearance is received. This 
criminal background check shall be accepted by the 
department for a period of one year from the date of issuance 
of the certified copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall 
be kept on file at the facility. 

B.2. - C.3.d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1114 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2762 
(December 2007), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, LR 37: 

Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 
Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter B. Licensing Class “B” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7357. Definitions 

A. The following are definitions of terms used in these 
minimum standards. 

* * * 
Child Day Care Centera child day care facility as 

defined in R.S. 46:1403, including vehicles or other 
structures owned or operated by the provider where care and 
supervision of children are provided, or where some process 
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or operation integral to providing or facilitating care or 
supervision is conducted. 

* * * 
Extra-Curricular Personnel/Therapeutic Professionals 

individuals who are not employees of the center, but who 
come to the center to provide therapy, services, or 
enrichment activities for an individual child or group of 
children. Examples: computer instructor, dance instructor, 
librarian, tumble bus personnel, therapeutic personnel 
(occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech therapist), 
nutritionist, early interventionist, and nurse. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2770 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:334 (February 2010), LR 36:850 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7359. Procedures 

A.1. - A.2.f.v. ... 
 vi. licensure survey verifying compliance. with all 
minimum standards; 
 vii. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
clearance for all staff including all owners and operators; 
 viii. documentation of completed State central 
registry disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
of abuse and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from 
the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative 
Law noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

3. - 4. ... 
a. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and operators and all staff not 
employed by the previous owner; and  

b. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from the Risk 
Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children. 

A.5. - F.10. ... 
11. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 

finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry until a determination by 
the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

12. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the 
individual poses a risk to children and the individual has not 
requested an appeal hearing by the Division of 
Administrative Law within the required time frame; 

13. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; 

14. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 
and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 

management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge. 

G. - J.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2771 (December 2007), amended by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support LR 
36:832 (April 2010), LR 36:1272(June 2010), LR 36:1279 (June 
2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, LR 37: 
§7361. General Requirements 

A. - L. ... 
M. Conditions for participation in a child-related 

business. 
1. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 

provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A 
criminal background check shall be required of each owner 
of a facility submitting a new application, change of 
ownership application, change of location application, 
and/or application for renewal for a child day care license. 
No person with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, or plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate or participate 
in the governance of a child care facility. 

2. New members/owners added to a partnership, 
church, corporation, limited liability corporation or 
governmental entity which does not constitute a change of 
ownership shall provide documentation of a satisfactory 
criminal record check as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 
15.587.1. No member/owner with a criminal conviction of 
conviction of a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of 
a felony, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 
included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any 
offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate or participate in the governance of a 
child care facility. 

3. Every owner shall submit the criminal background 
check showing that he or she has not been convicted of any 
offense enumerated in R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, or plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, together with the initial application or, in the 
case of an existing center, with the application for renewal of 
the license. If the criminal background check shows that any 
owner has been convicted of any enumerated offense under 
R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
of a felony, or any offense involving a juvenile victim, the 
owner or director shall submit the information to the 
licensing section management staff within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is sooner, upon 
receipt of the result. 

4. The physical presence of a sex offender in, on, or 
within 1,000 feet of a child day care facility is prohibited. 
Providers and child care staff shall not permit an individual 
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convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 physical 
access to a child day care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

5. The owner or director of a child day care facility 
shall be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies 
and the licensing management staff if a sex offender is on 
the premises of the child day care facility or within 1,000 
feet of the child day care facility. The licensing office shall 
be contacted immediately. The verbal report shall be 
followed by a written report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1638 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2773 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:335 (February 2010), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7365. Center Staff 

A. - C.3. ... 
4. Criminal Records Check. Documentation of a 

satisfactory criminal records check from Louisiana State 
Police as required by R.S. 46:51.2. This check shall be 
obtained prior to the individual being present in the child 
care facility. No person who has been convicted of, or pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to, any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, shall be eligible to own, operate, and/or 
be present in any capacity in any licensed child care facility. 
For any owner or operator, a clear criminal background 
check in accordance with R.S. 46:51.2 shall be obtained 
prior to the issuance of a license or approval of a change of 
ownership. In addition, neither an owner, nor a director, nor 
a director designee shall have a conviction of, or pled guilty 
or nolo contender to any crime in which an act of fraud or 
intent to defraud is an element of the offense. 

a. An individual who applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 
Police. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility in 
which the individual is currently employed. However, prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the provider shall request and obtain a 
satisfactory criminal check from Louisiana State Police in 
order for the individual to continue employment at the 
center. If the clearance is not obtained by the provider prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the staff person is no longer allowed on 
the child care premises until a clearance is received.  

b. The following information shall be kept on file 
for independent contractors including therapeutic 
professionals and extracurricular personnel, e.g. computer 

instructors, dance instructors, librarians, tumble bus 
personnel, speech therapists, licensed health care 
professionals, state-certified teachers employed through a 
local school board, art instructors, and other outside 
contractors. 
 i. Documentation of a satisfactory criminal 
record check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be present in 
any capacity in any child care facility. 
 ii. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
being present and working with a child or children at the 
facility. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified copy, the 
individual shall request and obtain a current certified copy of 
their criminal background check obtained from the Bureau 
of Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police in order to continue providing 
services to a child or children at the child care facility. If the 
clearance is not obtained by the provider prior to the one 
year date of issuance of the certified criminal background 
check, the individual shall no longer be allowed on the child 
care premises until a clearance is received. This criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the department for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility. 

c. No felon shall be employed in a Class “B” 
facility, unless approved in writing by a district judge of the 
parish and the local district attorney. This statement shall be 
kept on file at all times by the child care facility and shall be 
produced upon request to any law enforcement officer. 

C.5. - D.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1639 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2774 (December 2007), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, LR 37: 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1011#127 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Finanical Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsGO Grant Summer Billing 
(LAC 28:IV.1205) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) is exercising the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend 
and re-promulgate the rules of the Scholarship/Grant 
programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, and 
R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, 17:3046-3046.2, R.S. 17:3048.1, 
R.S. 56:797.D(2)). 

This rulemaking will add language to the GO Grant 
Program eligibility requirements regarding qualified summer 
sessions that is consistent with the GO Grant Program billing 
requirements for qualified summer sessions. To be eligible 
and for an institution to bill, the student who enrolls in a 
qualified summer session must be enrolled through the last 
day to drop and receive a full refund for the summer session. 

This Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Scholarship/Grant programs to allow the Louisiana 
Office of Student Financial Assistance and state educational 
institutions to effectively administer these programs. A delay 
in promulgating rules would have an adverse impact on the 
financial welfare of the eligible students and the financial 
condition of their families. LASFAC has determined that this 
Emergency Rule is necessary in order to prevent imminent 
financial peril to the welfare of the affected students. This 
Declaration of Emergency is effective October 19, 2010, and 
shall remain in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Administrative Procedure Act. (SG11124E) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education  

Scholarship and Grant Programs 
Chapter 12. Louisiana GO Grant 
§1205. Application and Initial Eligibility 

A. - B.4.c. … 
C. In order to receive a grant under this Chapter, an 

eligible student must be enrolled in an undergraduate 
program at an eligible Louisiana institution through the 14th 
class day for semester schools, or the 9th class day for 
quarter and term schools, or for any qualifying summer 
sessions, at the end of the last day to drop and receive a full 
refund for the full summer session. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3023 and R.S. 17:3046 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 33:2616 (December 2007), amended LR 34:238 (February 
2008), LR 35:2349 (November 2009), LR 37: 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1011#008 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXIII.1301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XXIII.1301 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.”This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the Program of All Inclusive Care for 
the Elderly (PACE) to: 1) remove the requirement that 
eligibility decisions be approved by the state administering 
agency; 2) revise PACE disenrollment criteria; 3) allow for 
service area specific rates instead of one statewide rate; and 
4) clarify when the obligation for patient liability begins 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 5). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for PACE to reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to avoid 
a budget deficit in the medical assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the Program 
of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2464 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXIII.  All Inclusive Care for the Elderly 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1301. Payment 

A. - J.3. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the monthly capitated amount paid to a PACE 
organization shall be reduced by 2 percent of the capitated 
amount on file as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254, Title XIX of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 460 et 
seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:250 (February 2004), amended LR 
33:850 (May 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#087 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Ambulatory Surgical Centers 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XI.7503) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.7503 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 

Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for ambulatory 
surgical centers to reduce the reimbursement rates paid for 
ambulatory surgical services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 10).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ambulatory surgical centers to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XI.7503 as a result of the 
promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule governing 
ambulatory surgical centers. This action is being taken to 
ensure that these provisions are appropriately incorporated 
into the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for ambulatory 
surgical centers. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 11.  Ambulatory Surgical Centers 

Chapter 75. Reimbursement 
§7503. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for surgical services provided by 
an ambulatory surgical center shall be reduced by 4.4 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1889 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2278 (October 2010), 
LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#075 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

CommunityCARE Program 
Primary Care ProvidersReimbursement Rate Adjustment 

(LAC 50:I.2913) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repeals the August 20, 2002 Rule 
governing reimbursement rates in the CommunityCARE 
Program and amends LAC 50:I.2913 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the CommunityCARE Program in 
order to increase the reimbursement rates for designated 
services rendered to CommunityCARE recipients by 
providers enrolled in the CommunityCARE Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 28, Number 8). The department 
repromulgated the Rules governing the CommunityCARE 
Program in a codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, 
Number 6).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which repealed the August 20, 2002 Rule and amended the 
provisions governing reimbursements to primary care 
providers in the CommunityCARE Program to align these 
reimbursements with the established fees for primary care 
services rendered by providers in the Professional Services 
Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 8). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing repeals 
the August 20, 2002 Rule and amends the provisions 
governing the reimbursements to CommunityCARE 
providers to adjust the rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 3.  Medicaid Coordinated Care 

Chapter 29. CommunityCARE§2913. Primary Care 
Provider Reimbursement 

A. The management fee paid to primary care providers in 
the CommunityCARE Program is $3 per enrolled recipient 
per month. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, primary care providers enrolled in the 
CommunityCARE Program shall be reimbursed at the 
established fees on file for professional services in the 
Professional Services Program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and §1915(b)(1) of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, 29:910 (June 2003), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#088 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Coordinated Care Network 
(LAC 50:I.Chapters 31-39) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing rescinds the October 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule governing the Coordinated Care Network 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted an Emergency Rule to 
establish the provisions governing the implementation of 
coordinated care networks in the Louisiana Medicaid 
Program (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10). As a 
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result of consultations with the legislative oversight 
committee, the department has determined that it is 
necessary to rescind the October 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. 

Effective October 20, 2010, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the 
Emergency Rule adopting provisions governing the 
implementation of coordinated care networks which was 
published on page 2192 of the October 20, 2010 edition of 
the Louisiana Register. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#006 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Dental ProgramCovered Services and Reimbursement 

Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.6903 and 6905) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50: XV.6903 and 
§6905 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 
services in the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
Treatment (EPSDT) Program to reduce the reimbursement 
fees (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for EPSDT dental services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates. In addition, this emergency rule 
also amended the provisions governing the covered services 
and reimbursement methodology for the EPSDT Dental 
Program to include an additional dental procedure 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
now proposes to amend the provisions of the August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule to revise the formatting of LAC 
50:XV.6905 as a result of the promulgation of the September 
20, 2010 final Rule governing EPSDT dental services. This 
action is being taken to ensure that these provisions are 

appropriately incorporated into the Louisiana Administrative 
Code. 

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for EPSDT 
dental services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, 

Diagnosis and Treatment 
Chapter 69. Dental Services 
§6903. Covered Services 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective August 1, 2010, the prefabricated esthetic 

coated stainless steel crown-primary tooth dental procedure 
shall be included in the service package for coverage under 
the EPSDT Dental Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:175 (February 2003), amended LR 
30:252 (February 2004), LR 31:667 (March 2005), LR 33:1138 
(June 2007), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1889 (September 
2009), amended LR 36: 
§6905. Reimbursement 

A. - D.3. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees for EPSDT dental services 
shall be reduced to the following percentages of the 2009 
National Dental Advisory Service Comprehensive Fee 
Report 70th percentile, unless otherwise stated in this 
Chapter: 

1. 69 percent for the following oral evaluation 
services: 

a. periodic oral examination; 
b. oral examination—patients under three years of 

age; and 
c. comprehensive oral examination—new patient; 

2. 65 percent for the following annual and periodic 
diagnostic and preventive services: 

a. radiographs—periapical, first film;  
b. radiograph—periapical, each additional film; 
c. radiograph—panoramic film; 
d. prophylaxis—adult and child; 
e. topical application of fluoride—adult and child 

(prophylaxis not included); and 
f. topical fluoride varnish, therapeutic application 

for moderate to high caries risk patients (under 6 years of 
age); 

3. 50 percent for the following diagnostic and 
adjunctive general services: 

a. oral/facial images; 
b. non-intravenous conscious sedation; and 
c. hospital call; and 

4. 58 percent for the remainder of the dental services. 
F. Removable prosthodontics and orthodontic services 

are excluded from the August 1, 2010 rate reduction. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:1138 (June 2007), amended LR 34:1032 
(June 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1890 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:2040 (September 2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#076 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XI.6901 and 6903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.6901 and 
§6903 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for end stage 
renal disease (ESRD) facilities to reduce the reimbursement 
rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ESRD facilities to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 

Number 8). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XI.6901-6903 as a result of the 
promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing ESRD facilities. This action is being taken to 
ensure that these provisions are appropriately incorporated 
into the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for end stage 
renal disease facilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 9.  End Stage Renal Disease Facilities 

Chapter 69. Reimbursement 
§6901. Non-Medicare Claims 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities shall be reduced 
by 4.6 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1022 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1891 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2040 
(September 2010), LR 36: 
§6903. Medicare Part B Claims 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement to ESRD facilities for Medicare 
Part B claims shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates in 
effect on July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1891 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2040 (September 
2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#077 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Family Planning ClinicsReimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XI.3501) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.3501 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., 
and shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under 
the Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

The Department of Health and Human Resources, Office 
of Family Services adopted a Rule which established the 
method of payment for services rendered by mental health 
clinics, substance abuse clinics and family planning clinics 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 4, Number 5). The provisions 
governing family planning clinic services were 
repromulgated in their entirety for inclusion in the Louisiana 
Administrative Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 30, 
Number 5). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for family planning clinics to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for family planning clinics to reduce the reimbursement 
rates.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 5.  Family Planning 

Chapter 35. Reimbursement 
§3501. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The reimbursement for family planning clinics is a 
flat fee for each covered service as specified on the 
established Medicaid fee schedule. Fee schedule rates are 
based on a percentage of the Louisiana Medicare Region 99 
allowable for a specified year. 

1. - 2. Repealed. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for family planning clinic 
services shall be 75 percent of the 2009 Louisiana Medicare 
Region 99 allowable or billed charges, whichever is the 
lesser amount minus any third party liability coverage. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:1022 (May 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#089 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Family Planning Waiver 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXII.2701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXII.2701 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for family 
planning waiver services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
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which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for family planning waiver services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XXII.2701 as a result of the 
promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule governing 
family planning waiver services. This action is being taken 
to ensure that these provisions are appropriately incorporated 
into the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the family 
planning waiver. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXII.  1115 Demonstration Waivers 
Subpart 3.  Family Planning Waiver  

Chapter 27. Reimbursement 
§2701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B. … 
C.  Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for services provided in the 
Family Planning Waiver shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of 
the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1461 (August 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2280 (October 2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#078 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Adult Day Health CareReimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXI.2915) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XXI.2915 in the Medical 

Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging 
and Adult Services amended the provisions governing the 
Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Waiver to redefine and 
clarify the provisions of the waiver relative to the target 
population, the request for services registry, the 
comprehensive plan of care, and support coordination 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 10). The 
October 20, 2008 Rule also amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology to reduce the 
comprehensive ADHC rate paid to providers as a result of 
adding support coordination as a separate service since these 
services were traditionally reimbursed as part of the 
comprehensive ADHC rate. These provisions were 
repromulgated in December 2009 to correct an error of 
omission in the publication (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, 
Number 12). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for the Adult Day Health Care Waiver to 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the Adult Day Health Care Waiver to reduce the 
reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 3.  Adult Day Health Care 

Chapter 29. Reimbursement 
§2915. Provider Reimbursement 

A. - D.2. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for ADHC services shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:2170 (October 2008), repromulgated LR 34:2575 (December 
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2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#090 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Elderly and Disabled AdultsReimbursement Rate 

Reduction (LAC 50:XXI.9101 and 9107-9121) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XX1.9101 and adopts §§9107-9121 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2009, the department amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for the Elderly and Disabled 
Adult (EDA) Waiver to reduce the reimbursement rates paid 
for designated services (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for EDA Waiver services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates for personal assistance and adult day 
health care services and adopted provisions governing the 
reimbursement for adult day health care services (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 
avoid a budget deficit in the medical assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for EDA Waiver 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates and adopt 
provisions governing the reimbursement for adult day health 
care services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 7.  Elderly and Disabled Adults 

Chapter 91. Reimbursement 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§9101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for EDA Waiver services, with the 
exception of ADHC services, shall be a prospective flat rate 
for each approved unit of service provided to the recipient. 
Adult day health care services shall be reimbursed according 
to the provisions of Subchapter B of this Chapter 91. 

B. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for personal assistance 
services in the EDA Waiver shall be reduced by 2 percent of 
the rates on file as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 
34:251 (February 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 35:1893 (September 2009), amended 
LR 36: 
Subchapter B. Adult Day Health Care Services 

Reimbursement 
§9107. General Provisions 

A. Providers of adult day health care services shall be 
reimbursed a per diem rate for services rendered under a 
prospective payment system (PPS). The system shall be 
designed in a manner that recognizes and reflects the cost of 
direct care services provided. The reimbursement 
methodology is designed to improve the quality of care for 
waiver recipients by ensuring that direct care services are 
provided at an acceptable level while fairly reimbursing the 
providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9109. Cost Reporting 

A. Cost Centers Components 
1. Direct Care Costs. This component reimburses for 

in-house and contractual direct care staffing and fringe 
benefits and direct care supplies. 

2. Care Related Costs. This component reimburses for 
in-house and contractual salaries and fringe benefits for 
activity and social services staff, raw food costs and care 
related supplies for activities and social services. 
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3. Administrative and Operating Costs. This 
component reimburses for in-house or contractual salaries 
and related benefits for administrative, dietary, housekeeping 
and maintenance staff. Also included are: 

a. utilities; 
b. accounting; 
c. dietary; 
d. housekeeping and maintenance supplies; and 
e. all other administrative and operating type 

expenditures. 
4. Property. This component reimburses for 

depreciation, interest on capital assets, lease expenses, 
property taxes and other expenses related to capital assets. 

B. Providers of ADHC services are required to file 
acceptable annual cost reports of all reasonable and 
allowable costs. An acceptable cost report is one that is 
prepared in accordance with the requirements of this Section 
and for which the provider has supporting documentation 
necessary for completion of a desk review or audit. The 
annual cost reports are the basis for determining 
reimbursement rates. A copy of all reports and statistical data 
must be retained by the center for no less than five years 
following the date reports are submitted to the bureau. A 
chart of accounts and an accounting system on the accrual 
basis or converted to the accrual basis at year end are 
required in the cost report preparation process. The bureau or 
its designee will perform desk reviews of the cost reports. In 
addition to the desk review, a representative number of the 
facilities shall be subject to a full-scope, annual on-site audit. 
All ADHC cost reports shall be filed with a fiscal year from 
July 1 through June 30. 

C. The cost reporting forms and instructions developed 
by the bureau must be used by all facilities participating in 
the Louisiana Medicaid Program who render ADHC 
services. Hospital based and other provider based facilities 
which use Medicare forms for step down in completing their 
ADHC Medicaid cost reports must submit copies of the 
applicable Medicare cost report forms also. All amounts 
must be rounded to the nearest dollar and must foot and 
cross foot. Only per diem cost amounts will not be rounded. 
Cost reports submitted that have not been rounded in 
accordance with this policy will be returned and will not be 
considered as received until they are resubmitted. 

D. Annual Reporting. Cost reports are to be filed on or 
before the last day of September following the close of the 
reporting period. Should the due date fall on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or an official state or federal holiday, the due date 
shall be the following business day. The cost report forms 
and schedules must be filed in duplicate together with two 
copies of the following documents: 

1. a working trial balance that includes the appropriate 
cost report line numbers to which each account can be 
traced. This may be done by writing the cost report category 
and line numbers by each ending balance or by running a 
trial balance in cost report category and line number order 
that totals the account; 

2. a depreciation schedule. The depreciation schedule 
which reconciles to the depreciation expense reported on the 
cost report must be submitted. If the center files a home 
office cost report, copies of the home office depreciation 
schedules must also be submitted with the home office cost 
report. All hospital based facilities must submit two copies 

of a depreciation schedule that clearly shows and totals 
assets that are hospital only, ADHC only and shared assets; 

3. an amortization schedule(s), if applicable; 
4. a schedule of adjustment and reclassification 

entries; 
5. a narrative description of purchased management 

services and a copy of contracts for managed services, if 
applicable; 

6. For management services provided by a related 
party or home office, a description of the basis used to 
allocate the costs to providers in the group and to non-
provider activities and copies of the cost allocation 
worksheet, if applicable. Costs included that are for related 
management/home office costs must also be reported on a 
separate cost report that includes an allocation schedule; and 

7. all allocation worksheets must be submitted by 
hospital-based facilities. The Medicare worksheets that must 
be attached by facilities using the Medicare forms for 
allocation are: 

a. A; 
b. A-6; 
c. A-7 parts I, II and III; 
d. A-8; 
e. A-8-1; 
f. B part 1; and 
g. B-1. 

E. Each copy of the cost report must have the original 
signatures of an officer or center administrator on the 
certification. The cost report and related documents must be 
submitted to the address indicated on the cost report 
instruction form. In order to avoid a penalty for delinquency, 
cost reports must be postmarked on or before the due date. 

F. When it is determined, upon initial review for 
completeness, that an incomplete or improperly completed 
cost report has been submitted, the provider will be notified. 
The provider will be allowed a specified amount of time to 
submit the requested information without incurring the 
penalty for a delinquent cost report. For cost reports that are 
submitted by the due date, 10 working days from the date of 
the provider’s receipt of the request for additional 
information will be allowed for the submission of the 
additional information. For cost reports that are submitted 
after the due date, five working days from the date of the 
provider’s receipt of the request for additional information 
will be allowed for the submission of the additional 
information. An exception exists in the event that the due 
date comes after the specified number of days for 
submission of the requested information. In these cases, the 
provider will be allowed to submit the additional requested 
information on or before the due date of the cost report. If 
requested additional information has not been submitted by 
the specified date, a second request for the information will 
be made. Requested information not received after the 
second request may not be subsequently submitted and shall 
not be considered for reimbursement purposes. An appeal of 
the disallowance of the costs associated with the requested 
information may not be made. Allowable costs will be 
adjusted to disallow any expenses for which requested 
information is not submitted. 

G. Accounting Basis. The cost report must be prepared 
on the accrual basis of accounting. If a center is on a cash 
basis, it will be necessary to convert from a cash basis to an 
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accrual basis for cost reporting purposes. Particular attention 
must be given to an accurate accrual of all costs at the year-
end for the equitable distribution of costs to the applicable 
period. Care must be given to the proper allocation of costs 
for contracts to the period covered by such contracts. 
Amounts earned although not actually received and amounts 
owed to creditors but not paid must be included in the 
reporting period. 

H. Supporting Information. Providers are required to 
maintain adequate financial records and statistical data for 
proper determination of reimbursable costs. Financial and 
statistical records must be maintained by the center for five 
years from the date the cost report is submitted to the 
Bureau. Cost information must be current, accurate and in 
sufficient detail to support amounts reported in the cost 
report. This includes all ledgers, journals, records, and 
original evidences of cost (canceled checks, purchase orders, 
invoices, vouchers, inventories, time cards, payrolls, bases 
for apportioning costs, etc.) that pertain to the reported costs. 
Census data reported on the cost report must be supportable 
by daily census records. Such information must be adequate 
and available for auditing. 

I. Employee Record 
1. The provider shall retain written verification of 

hours worked by individual employees. 
a. Records may be sign-in sheets or time cards, but 

shall indicate the date and hours worked. 
b. Records shall include all employees even on a 

contractual or consultant basis. 
2. Verification of criminal background check. 
3. Verification of employee orientation and in-service 

training. 
4. Verification of the employee’s communicable 

disease screening. 
J. Billing Records 

1. The provider shall maintain billing records in 
accordance with recognized fiscal and accounting 
procedures. Individual records shall be maintained for each 
client. These records shall meet the following criteria.  

a. Records shall clearly detail each charge and each 
payment made on behalf of the client. 

b. Records shall be current and shall clearly reveal 
to whom charges were made and for whom payments were 
received.  

c. Records shall itemize each billing entry. 
d. Records shall show the amount of each payment 

received and the date received. 
2. The provider shall maintain supporting fiscal 

documents and other records necessary to ensure that claims 
are made in accordance with federal and state requirements. 

K. Non-acceptable Descriptions. “Miscellaneous”, 
“other” and “various”, without further detailed explanation, 
are not acceptable descriptions for cost reporting purposes. If 
any of these are used as descriptions in the cost report, a 
request for information will not be made and the related line 
item expense will be automatically disallowed. The provider 
will not be allowed to submit the proper detail of the 
expense at a later date, and an appeal of the disallowance of 
the costs may not be made. 

L. Exceptions. Limited exceptions to the cost report 
filing requirements will be considered on an individual 

provider basis upon written request from the provider to the 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, Rate and Audit 
Review Section. If an exception is allowed, the provider 
must attach a statement describing fully the nature of the 
exception for which prior written permission was requested 
and granted. Exceptions which may be allowed with written 
approval are as follows. 

1. If the center has been purchased or established 
during the reporting period, a partial year cost report may be 
filed in lieu of the required 12-month report. 

2. If the center experiences unavoidable difficulties in 
preparing the cost report by the prescribed due date, an 
extension may be requested prior to the due date. Requests 
for exception must contain a full statement of the cause of 
the difficulties that rendered timely preparation of the cost 
report impossible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9111. Cost Categories Included in the Cost Report 

A. Direct Care (DC) Costs 
1. Salaries, Aides-gross salaries of certified nurse 

aides and nurse aides in training. 
2. Salaries, LPNs-gross salaries of nonsupervisory 

licensed practical nurses and graduate practical nurses. 
3. Salaries, RNs-gross salaries of nonsupervisory 

registered nurses and graduate nurses (excluding director of 
nursing and resident assessment instrument coordinator). 

4. Salaries, Social Services-gross salaries of 
nonsupervisory licensed social services personnel providing 
medically needed social services to attain or maintain the 
highest practicable physical, mental, or psychosocial well 
being of the residents. 

5. Salaries, Activities―gross salaries of 
nonsupervisory activities/recreational personnel providing 
an ongoing program of activities designed to meet, in 
accordance with the comprehensive assessment, the interest 
and the physical, mental, and psychosocial well being of the 
residents. 

6. Payroll Taxes—cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for direct care employees. 

7. Group Insurance, DC―cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for direct care employees. 

8. Pensions, DC―cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for direct care employees. 

9. Uniform Allowance, DC―employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for direct care 
employees. 

10. Worker's Comp, DC―cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for direct care employees. 

11. Contract, Aides―cost of aides through contract that 
are not center employees. 

12. Contract, LPNs―cost of LPNs and graduate 
practical nurses hired through contract that are not center 
employees. 

13. Contract, RNs―cost of RNs and graduate nurses 
hired through contract that are not center employees. 
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14. Drugs, Over-the-Counter and Legend―cost of 
over-the-counter and legend drugs provided by the center to 
its residents. This is for drugs not covered by Medicaid. 

15. Medical Supplies―cost of patient-specific items of 
medical supplies such as catheters, syringes and sterile 
dressings. 

16. Medical Waste Disposal―cost of medical waste 
disposal including storage containers and disposal costs. 

17. Other Supplies, DC—cost of items used in the 
direct care of residents which are not patient-specific such as 
recreational/activity supplies, prep supplies, alcohol pads, 
betadine solution in bulk, tongue depressors, cotton balls, 
thermometers, and blood pressure cuffs. 

18. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based—the amount of 
costs that have been allocated through the step-down process 
from a hospital or state institution as direct care costs when 
those costs include allocated overhead. 

19. Total Direct Care Costs—sum of the above line 
items. 

B. Care Related (CR) Costs 
1. Salaries—gross salaries for care related supervisory 

staff including supervisors or directors over nursing, social 
service and activities/recreation. 

2. Salaries, Dietary—gross salaries of kitchen 
personnel including dietary supervisors, cooks, helpers and 
dishwashers. 

3. Payroll Taxes—cost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for care related employees. 

4. Group Insurance, CR—cost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for care related employees. 

5. Pensions, CR—cost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for care related employees. 

6. Uniform Allowance, CR—employer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for care related 
employees. 

7. Worker's Comp, CR—cost of worker's 
compensation insurance for care related employees.  

8. Barber and Beauty Expense—the cost of barber and 
beauty services provided to patients for which no charges are 
made. 

9. Consultant Fees, Activities—fees paid to activities 
personnel, not on the center’s payroll, for providing advisory 
and educational services to the center. 

10. Consultant Fees, Nursing—fees paid to nursing 
personnel, not on the center’s payroll, for providing advisory 
and educational services to the center. 

11. Consultant Fees, Pharmacy—fees paid to a 
registered pharmacist, not on the center’s payroll, for 
providing advisory and educational services to the center. 

12. Consultant Fees, Social Worker—fees paid to a 
social worker, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the center. 

13. Consultant Fees, Therapists—fees paid to a 
licensed therapist, not on the center’s payroll, for providing 
advisory and educational services to the center. 

14. Food, Raw—cost of food products used to provide 
meals and snacks to residents. Hospital based facilities must 
allocate food based on the number of meals served. 

15. Food, Supplements—cost of food products given in 
addition to normal meals and snacks under a doctor's orders. 
Hospital based facilities must allocate food-supplements 
based on the number of meals served. 

16. Supplies, CR—the costs of supplies used for 
rendering care related services to the patients of the center. 
All personal care related items such as shampoo and soap 
administered by all staff must be included on this line. 

17. Allocated Costs, Hospital Based—the amount of 
costs that have been allocated through the step-down process 
from a hospital or state institution as care related costs when 
those costs include allocated overhead. 

18. Total Care Related Costs—the sum of the care 
related cost line items. 

19. Contract, Dietary—cost of dietary services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the center. 

C. Administrative and Operating Costs (AOC) 
1. Salaries, Administratorgross salary of 

administrators excluding owners. Hospital based facilities 
must attach a schedule of the administrator's salary before 
allocation, the allocation method, and the amount allocated 
to the nursing center. 

2. Salaries, Assistant Administratorgross salary of 
assistant administrators excluding owners. 

3. Salaries, Housekeepinggross salaries of 
housekeeping personnel including housekeeping supervisors, 
maids and janitors. 

4. Salaries, Laundrygross salaries of laundry 
personnel. 

5. Salaries, Maintenancegross salaries of personnel 
involved in operating and maintaining the physical plant, 
including maintenance personnel or plant engineers. 

6. Salaries, Driversgross salaries of personnel 
involved in transporting clients to and from the center. 

7. Salaries, Other Administrativegross salaries of 
other administrative personnel including bookkeepers, 
receptionists, administrative assistants and other office and 
clerical personnel. 

8. Salaries, Owner or Owner/Administratorgross 
salaries of all owners of the center that are paid through the 
center. 

9. Payroll Taxescost of employer's portion of 
Federal Insurance Contribution Act (FICA), Federal 
Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA), State Unemployment Tax 
Act (SUTA), and Medicare tax for administrative and 
operating employees. 

10. Group Insurance, AOCcost of employer's 
contribution to employee health, life, accident and disability 
insurance for administrative and operating employees. 

11. Pensions, AOCcost of employer's contribution to 
employee pensions for administration and operating 
employees. 

12. Uniform Allowance, AOCemployer's cost of 
uniform allowance and/or uniforms for administration and 
operating employees. 

13. Worker's Compensation, AOCcost of worker's 
compensation insurance for administration and operating 
employees. 
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14. Contract, Housekeepingcost of housekeeping 
services and personnel hired through contract that are not 
employees of the center. 

15. Contract, Laundrycost of laundry services and 
personnel hired through contract that are not employees of 
the center. 

16. Contract, Maintenancecost of maintenance 
services and persons hired through contract that are not 
employees of the center. 

17. Consultant Fees, Dieticianfees paid to consulting 
registered dieticians. 

18. Accounting Feesfees incurred for the preparation 
of the cost report, audits of financial records, bookkeeping, 
tax return preparation of the adult day health care center and 
other related services excluding personal tax planning and 
personal tax return preparation. 

19. Amortization Expense, Non-Capitalcosts 
incurred for legal and other expenses when organizing a 
corporation must be amortized over a period of 60 months. 
Amortization of costs attributable to the negotiation or 
settlement of the sale or purchase of any capital asset on or 
after July 18, 1984, whether by acquisition or merger, for 
which any payment has previously been made are 
nonallowable costs. If allowable cost is reported on this line, 
an amortization schedule must be submitted with the cost 
report. 

20. Bank Service Chargesfees paid to banks for 
service charges, excluding penalties and insufficient funds 
charges. 

21. Dietary Suppliescosts of consumable items such 
as soap, detergent, napkins, paper cups, straws, etc., used in 
the dietary department. 

22. Duesdues to one organization are allowable. 
23. Educational Seminars and Trainingthe 

registration cost for attending educational seminars and 
training by employees of the center and costs incurred in the 
provision of in-house training for center staff, excluding 
owners or administrative personnel. 

24. Housekeeping Suppliescost of consumable 
housekeeping items including waxes, cleaners, soap, brooms 
and lavatory supplies. 

25. Insurance, Professional Liability and 
Otherincludes the costs of insuring the center against 
injury and malpractice claims. 

26. Interest Expense, Non-Capital and 
Vehiclesinterest paid on short term borrowing for center 
operations.  

27. Laundry Suppliescost of consumable goods used 
in the laundry including soap, detergent, starch and bleach. 

28. Legal Feesonly actual and reasonable attorney 
fees incurred for non-litigation legal services related to 
patient care are allowed. 

29. Linen Suppliescost of sheets, blankets, pillows, 
gowns, under-pads and diapers (reusable and disposable).  

30. Miscellaneouscosts incurred in providing center 
services that cannot be assigned to any other line item on the 
cost report. Examples of miscellaneous expense are small 
equipment purchases, all employees’ physicals and shots, 
nominal gifts to all employees, such as a turkey or ham at 
Christmas, allowable advertising, and flowers purchased for 

the enjoyment of the clients. Items reported on this line must 
be specifically identified. 

31. Management Fees and Home Office Coststhe 
cost of purchased management services or home office costs 
incurred that are allocable to the provider. Costs included 
that are for related management/home office costs must also 
be reported on a separate cost report that includes an 
allocation schedule. 

32. Nonemergency Medical Transportationthe cost of 
purchased nonemergency medical transportation services 
including, but not limited to, payments to employees for use 
of personal vehicle, ambulance companies and other 
transportation companies for transporting patients of the 
center. 

33. Office Supplies and Subscriptionscost of 
consumable goods used in the business office such as: 

a. pencils, paper and computer supplies; 
b. cost of printing forms and stationery including, 

but not limited to, nursing and medical forms, accounting 
and census forms, charge tickets, center letterhead and 
billing forms; 

c. cost of subscribing to newspapers, magazines and 
periodicals. 

34. Postagecost of postage, including stamps, 
metered postage, freight charges and courier services. 

35. Repairs and Maintenancesupplies and services, 
including electricians, plumbers, extended service 
agreements, etc., used to repair and maintain the center 
building, furniture and equipment except vehicles. This 
includes computer software maintenance. 

36. Taxes and Licensesthe cost of taxes and licenses 
paid that are not included on any other line on Form 6. This 
includes tags for vehicles, licenses for center staff (including 
nurse aide re-certifications) and buildings. 

37. Telephone and Communicationscost of telephone 
services, wats lines and fax services. 

38. Travelcost of travel (airfare, lodging, meals, etc.) 
by the administrator and other authorized personnel to attend 
professional and continuing educational seminars and 
meetings or to conduct center business. Commuting 
expenses and travel allowances are not allowable. 

39. Vehicle Expensesvehicle maintenance and 
supplies, including gas and oil. 

40. Utilitiescost of water, sewer, gas, electric, cable 
TV and garbage collection services. 

41. Allocated Costs, Hospital Basedcosts that have 
been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital as administrative and operating costs. 

42. Total Administrative and Operating Costs. 
D. Property and Equipment 

1. Amortization Expense, Capitallegal and other 
costs incurred when financing the center must be amortized 
over the life of the mortgage. Amortization of goodwill is 
not an allowable cost. Amortization of costs attributable to 
the negotiation or settlement of the sale or purchase of any 
capital asset on or after July 18, 1984, whether by 
acquisition or merger, for which any payment has previously 
been made are nonallowable costs. If allowable cost is 
reported on this line, an amortization schedule must be 
submitted with the cost report. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2475 

2. Depreciationdepreciation on the center’s 
buildings, furniture, equipment, leasehold improvements and 
land improvements. 

3. Interest Expense, Capitalinterest paid or accrued 
on notes, mortgages, and other loans, the proceeds of which 
were used to purchase the center’s land, buildings and/or 
furniture, equipment and vehicles. 

4. Property Insurancecost of fire and casualty 
insurance on center buildings, equipment and vehicles. 
Hospital-based facilities and state-owned facilities must 
allocate property insurance based on the number of square 
feet. 

5. Property Taxestaxes levied on the center’s 
buildings, equipment and vehicles. Hospital-based facilities 
and state-owned facilities must allocate property insurance 
based on the number of square feet. 

6. Rent, Buildingcost of leasing the center’s real 
property. 

7. Rent, Furniture and Equipmentcost of leasing the 
center’s furniture and equipment, excluding vehicles. 

8. Lease, Automotivecost of leases for vehicles 
used for patient care. A mileage log must be maintained. If a 
leased vehicle is used for both patient care and personal 
purposes, cost must be allocated based on the mileage log. 

9. Allocated Costs, Hospital Basedcosts that have 
been allocated through the step-down process from a 
hospital or state institution as property costs when those 
costs include allocated overhead. 

10. Total Property and Equipment. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9113. Allowable Costs 

A. Allowable costs include those costs incurred by 
providers to conform to state licensure and federal 
certification standards. General cost principles are applied 
during the desk review and audit process to determine 
allowable costs. 

1. These general cost principles include determining 
whether the cost is: 

a. ordinary, necessary, and related to the delivery of 
care;  

b. what a prudent and cost conscious business 
person would pay for the specific goods or services in the 
open market or in an arm’s length transaction; and 

c. for goods or services actually provided to the 
center. 

B. Through the desk review and/or audit process, 
adjustments and/or disallowances may be made to a 
provider’s reported costs. The Medicare Provider 
Reimbursement Manual is the final authority for allowable 
costs unless the department has set a more restrictive policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9115. Nonallowable Costs 

A. Costs that are not based on the reasonable cost of 
services covered under Medicare and are not related to the 
care of recipients are considered nonallowable costs. 

B. Reasonable cost does not include the following: 
1. costs not related to client care; 
2. costs specifically not reimbursed under the 

program; 
3. costs that flow from the provision of luxury items 

or services (items or services substantially in excess or more 
expensive than those generally considered necessary for the 
provision of the care); 

4. costs that are found to be substantially out of line 
with other centers that are similar in size, scope of services 
and other relevant factors; 

5. costs exceeding what a prudent and cost-conscious 
buyer would incur to purchase the goods or services. 

C. General nonallowable costs: 
1. services for which Medicaid recipients are charged 

a fee; 
2. depreciation of non-client care assets; 
3. services that are reimbursable by other state or 

federally funded programs; 
4. goods or services unrelated to client care; 
5. unreasonable costs. 

D. Specific nonallowable costs (this is not an all 
inclusive listing): 

1. advertisingcosts of advertising to the general 
public that seeks to increase patient utilization of the ADHC 
center; 

2. bad debtsaccounts receivable that are written off 
as not collectible; 

3. contributionsamounts donated to charitable or 
other organizations; 

4. courtesy allowances; 
5. director’s fees; 
6. educational costs for clients; 
7. gifts; 
8. goodwill or interest (debt service) on goodwill; 
9. costs of income producing items such as fund 

raising costs, promotional advertising, or public relations 
costs and other income producing items; 

10. income taxes, state and federal taxes on net income 
levied or expected to be levied by the federal or state 
government; 

11. insurance, officerscost of insurance on officers 
and key employees of the center when the insurance is not 
provided to all employees; 

12. judgments or settlements of any kind; 
13. lobbying costs or political contributions, either 

directly or through a trade organization; 
14. non-client entertainment; 
15. non-Medicaid related care costs—costs allocated to 

portions of a center that are not licensed as the reporting 
ADHC or are not certified to participate in Title XIX; 

16. officers’ life insurance with the center or owner as 
beneficiary; 

17. payments to the parent organization or other related 
party; 

18. penalties and sanctionspenalties and sanctions 
assessed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, 
the Internal Revenue Service or the State Tax Commission; 
insufficient funds charges; 

19. personal comfort items; and 
20. personal use of vehicles. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9117. Audits 

A. Each provider shall file an annual center cost report 
and, if applicable, a central office cost report. 

B. The provider shall be subject to financial and 
compliance audits. 

C. All providers who elect to participate in the Medicaid 
Program shall be subject to audit by state or federal 
regulators or their designees. Audit selection shall be at the 
discretion of the department. 

1. The department conducts desk reviews of all of the 
cost reports received and also conducts on-site audits of 
provider cost reports. 

2. The records necessary to verify information 
submitted to the department on Medicaid cost reports, 
including related-party transactions and other business 
activities engaged in by the provider, must be accessible to 
the department’s audit staff. 

D. In addition to the adjustments made during desk 
reviews and on-site audits, the department may exclude or 
adjust certain expenses in the cost report data base in order 
to base rates on the reasonable and necessary costs that an 
economical and efficient provider must incur. 

E. The center shall retain such records or files as 
required by the department and shall have them available for 
inspection for five years from the date of service or until all 
audit exceptions are resolved, whichever period is longer. 

F. If a center’s audit results in repeat findings and 
adjustments, the department may: 

1. withhold vendor payments until the center submits 
documentation that the non-compliance has been resolved; 

2. exclude the provider’s cost from the database used 
for rate setting purposes; and 

3. impose civil monetary penalties until the center 
submits documentation that the non-compliance has been 
resolved. 

G. If the department’s auditors determine that a center’s 
financial and/or census records are unauditable, the vendor 
payments may be withheld until the center submits auditable 
records. The provider shall be responsible for costs incurred 
by the department’s auditors when additional services or 
procedures are performed to complete the audit. 

H. Vendor payments may also be withheld under the 
following conditions: 

1. a center fails to submit corrective action plans in 
response to financial and compliance audit findings within 
15 days after receiving the notification letter from the 
department; or 

2. a center fails to respond satisfactorily to the 
department’s request for information within 15 days after 
receiving the department’s notification letter. 

I. The provider shall cooperate with the audit process 
by: 

1. promptly providing all documents needed for 
review; 

2. providing adequate space for uninterrupted review 
of records; 

3. making persons responsible for center records and 
cost report preparation available during the audit; 

4. arranging for all pertinent personnel to attend the 
closing conference; 

5. insuring that complete information is maintained in 
client’s records; 

6. developing a plan of correction for areas of 
noncompliance with state and federal regulations 
immediately after the exit conference time limit of 30 days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9119. Exclusions from the Database 

A. The following providers shall be excluded from the 
database used to calculate the rates: 

1. providers with disclaimed audits; and  
2. providers with cost reports for periods other than a 

12-month period. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 
§9121. Provider Reimbursement 

A. Cost Determination Definitions 
Adjustment Factorcomputed by dividing the value of 

the index for December of the year preceding the rate year 
by the value of the index one year earlier (December of the 
second preceding year). 

Base Ratecalculated in accordance with §9121.B.5, 
plus any base rate adjustments granted in accordance with 
§9121.B.7 which are in effect at the time of calculation of 
new rates or adjustments. 

Base Rate Componentsthe base rate is the summation 
of the following: 

a. direct care;  
b. care related costs; 
c. administrative and operating costs; and 
d. property costs. 

Indices 
a. CPI, All Items—the Consumer Price Index for 

All Urban Consumers-South Region (All Items line) as 
published by the United States Department of Labor. 

b. CPI, Medical Services—the Consumer Price 
Index for All Urban Consumers-South Region (Medical 
Services line) as published by the United States Department 
of Labor. 

B. Rate Determination 
1. The base rate is calculated based on the most recent 

audited or desk reviewed cost for all ADHC providers filing 
acceptable full year cost reports. 

2. Audited and desk reviewed costs for each 
component are ranked by center to determine the value of 
each component at the median. 

3. The median costs for each component are 
multiplied in accordance with §9121.B.4 then by the 
appropriate economic adjustment factors for each successive 
year to determine base rate components. For subsequent 
years, the components thus computed become the base rate 
components to be multiplied by the appropriate economic 
adjustment factors, unless they are adjusted as provided in 
§9121.B.7 below. Application of an inflationary adjustment 
to reimbursement rates in non-rebasing years shall apply 
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only when the state legislature allocates funds for this 
purpose. The inflationary adjustment shall be made prorating 
allocated funds based on the weight of the rate components. 

4. The inflated median shall be increased to establish 
the base rate median component as follows. 

a. The inflated direct care median shall be 
multiplied times 115 percent to establish the direct care base 
rate component. 

b. The inflated care related median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the care related 
base rate component. 

c. The administrative and operating median shall be 
multiplied times 105 percent to establish the administrative 
and operating base rate component. 

5. At least every three years, audited and desk 
reviewed cost report items will be compared to the rate 
components calculated for the cost report year to insure that 
the rates remain reasonably related to costs. 

6. Formulae. Each median cost component shall be 
calculated as follows. 

a. Direct Care Cost Component. Direct care per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports, except 
those for which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at the midpoint of 
the array shall be the median cost. Should there be an even 
number of arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint 
centers shall be the median cost. The median cost shall be 
trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for Medical 
Services. The direct care rate component shall be set at 115 
percent of the inflated median. 
 i. For dates of service on or after February 9, 
2007, and extending until the ADHC rate is rebased using a 
cost report that begins after July 1, 2007, the center-specific 
direct care rate will be increased by $1.11 to include a direct 
care service worker wage enhancement. It is the intent that 
this wage enhancement be paid to the direct care service 
workers. 

b. Care Related Cost Component. Care related per 
diem costs from all acceptable full year cost reports, except 
those for which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost of the center at the 
midpoint of the array shall be the median cost. Should there 
be an even number of arrayed cost, an average of the two 
midpoint centers shall be the median cost. The median cost 
shall be trended forward using the Consumer Price Index for 
All Items. The care related rate component shall be set at 
105 percent of the inflated median. 

c. Administrative and Operating Cost Component. 
Administrative and operating per diem cost from all 
acceptable full year cost reports, except those for which an 
audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be arrayed from 
lowest to highest. The cost of the midpoint of the array shall 
be the median cost. Should there be an even number of 
arrayed cost, an average of the two midpoint centers shall be 
the median cost. The median cost shall be trended forward 
by dividing the value of the CPI-All Items index for 
December of the year proceeding the base rate year by the 
value of the index for the December of the year preceding 
the cost report year. The administrative and operating rate 
component shall be set at 105 percent of the inflated median. 

d. Property Cost Component. The property per diem 
costs from all acceptable full year cost reports, except those 

for which an audit disclaimer has been issued, shall be 
arrayed from lowest to highest. The cost at the midpoint of 
the array shall be the median cost. This will be the rate 
component. Inflation will not be added to property costs. 

7. Interim Adjustments to Rates. If an unanticipated 
change in conditions occurs that affects the cost of at least 
50 percent of the enrolled ADHC providers by an average of 
five percent or more, the rate may be changed. The 
department will determine whether or not the rates should be 
changed when requested to do so by 25 percent or more of 
the enrolled providers, or an organization representing at 
least 25 percent of the enrolled providers. The burden of 
proof as to the extent and cost effect of the unanticipated 
change will rest with the entities requesting the change. The 
department may initiate a rate change without a request to do 
so. Changes to the rates may be temporary adjustments or 
base rate adjustments as described below. 

a. Temporary Adjustments. Temporary adjustments 
do not affect the base rate used to calculate new rates. 
 i. Changes Reflected in the Economic Indices. 
Temporary adjustments may be made when changes which 
will eventually be reflected in the economic indices, such as 
a change in the minimum wage, a change in FICA or a utility 
rate change, occur after the end of the period covered by the 
indices, i.e., after the December preceding the rate 
calculation. Temporary adjustments are effective only until 
the next annual base rate calculation. 
 ii. Lump Sum Adjustments. Lump sum 
adjustments may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment requires a substantial financial outlay, such as a 
change in certification standards mandating additional 
equipment or furnishings. Such adjustments shall be subject 
to the bureau’s review and approval of costs prior to 
reimbursement. 

b. Base Rate Adjustment. A base rate adjustment 
will result in a new base rate component value that will be 
used to calculate the new rate for the next fiscal year. A base 
rate adjustment may be made when the event causing the 
adjustment is not one that would be reflected in the indices. 

8. Provider Specific Adjustment. When services 
required by these provisions are not made available to the 
recipient by the provider, the department may adjust the 
prospective payment rate of that specific provider by an 
amount that is proportional to the cost of providing the 
service. This adjustment to the rate will be retroactive to the 
date that is determined by the department that the provider 
last provided the service and shall remain in effect until the 
department validates, and accepts in writing, an affidavit that 
the provider is then providing the service and will continue 
to provide that service. 

C. Cost Settlement. The direct care cost component shall 
be subject to cost settlement. The direct care floor shall be 
equal to 90 percent of the median direct care rate component 
trended forward for direct care services (plus 90 percent of 
any direct care incentive added to the rate). The Medicaid 
Program will recover the difference between the direct care 
floor and the actual direct care amount expended. If a 
provider receives an audit disclaimer, the cost settlement for 
that year will be based on the difference between the direct 
care floor and the lowest direct care per diem of all facilities 
in the most recent audited and/or desk reviewed database 
trended forward to the rate period related to the disclaimer. 
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D. Support Coordination Services Reimbursement. 
Support coordination services previously provided by 
ADHC providers and included in the rate, including the 
Minimum Data Set Home Care (MDS/HC), the social 
assessment, the nursing assessment, the CPOC and home 
visits will no longer be the responsibility of the ADHC 
provider. Support coordination services shall be provided as 
a separate service covered in the waiver. As a result of the 
change in responsibilities, the rate paid to providers shall be 
adjusted accordingly.  

1. Effective January 1, 2009, the rate paid to ADHC 
providers on December 31, 2008 shall be reduced by $4.67 
per day which is the cost of providing support coordination 
services separately. 

2. This rate reduction will extend until such time that 
the ADHC provider’s rate is rebased using cost reports that 
do not reflect the cost of delivering support coordination 
services. 

E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the reimbursement rate for ADHC services provided in 
the EDA Waiver shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in 
effect on July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#091 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
New Opportunities WaiverReimbursement Rate 

Reduction (LAC 50:XXI.14301) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amend LAC 50:XXI.14301 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 

the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the New 
Opportunities Waiver (NOW) to reduce the reimbursement 
rates paid for NOW services (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 6).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for the New Opportunities Waiver to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in 
the medical assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for the New Opportunities Waiver to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 11.  New Opportunities Waiver  

Chapter 143. Reimbursement  
§14301. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - I. … 
J. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for New Opportunity Waiver 
services shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates in effect 
on July 31, 2010. 

1. The following services shall be excluded from the 
rate reduction: 

a. environmental accessibility adaptations; 
b. specialized medical equipment and supplies;  
c. personal emergency response systems;  
d. one-time transitional expenses; and  
e. individualized and family support services—

night and shared night.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of 
Community Supports and Services, LR 30:1209 (June 2004), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 34:252 (February 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens 
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with Developmental Disabilities, LR 35:1851 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:1247 (June 2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#092 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Residential Options Waiver 

(LAC 50:XXI.Chapters 161-169) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amends LAC 50:XXI.Chapters 
161-169 under the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B()1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities adopted provisions 
establishing the Residential Options Waiver (ROW), a home 
and community-based services (HCBS) waiver program, to 
promote independence for individuals with developmental 
disabilities by offering a wide array of services, supports and 
residential options that assist individuals to transition from 
institutional care (Louisiana Register, Volume 33, Number 
11). The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the November 20, 2007 Rule to revise the 
provisions governing the allocation of waiver opportunities 
and the delivery of services in order to provide greater 
clarity (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 4). As a 
result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended 
the provisions governing the Residential Options Waiver to 
clarify the provisions governing the annual service budget 
for waiver participants and to reduce the reimbursement 
rates for waiver services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions of the May 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule to incorporate the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 Emergency Rule (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the August 20, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. The action is being taken to comply with the 

provisions of the approved waiver application and to secure 
enhanced federal funding. 

Effective December 19, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services and the Office for 
Citizens with Developmental Disabilities amend the 
provisions governing the Residential Options Waiver. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 13.  Residential Options Waiver 

Chapter 161. General Provisions 
§16101. Introduction 

A. The Residential Options Waiver (ROW), a 1915(c) 
home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver, is 
designed to enhance the long-term services and supports 
available to individuals with developmental disabilities. 
These individuals would otherwise require an intermediate 
care facility for persons with developmental disabilities 
(ICF/DD) level of care. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2441 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16103. Program Description 

A. The ROW is designed to utilize the principles of self 
determination and to supplement the family and/or 
community supports that are available to maintain the 
individual in the community. In keeping with the principles 
of self-determination, ROW includes a self-direction option 
which allows for greater flexibility in hiring, training and 
general service delivery issues. ROW services are meant to 
enhance, not replace existing informal networks. 

B. ROW offers an alternative to institutional care that: 
1. utilizes a wide array of services, supports and 

residential options which best meet the individual’s needs 
and preferences; 

2. meets the highest standards of quality and national 
best practices in the provision of services; and  

3. ensures health and safety through a comprehensive 
system of participant safeguards. 

4. Repealed. 
C. All ROW services are accessed through the support 

coordination agency of the participant’s choice. 
1. The plan of care (POC) shall be developed using a 

person-centered process coordinated by the participant’s 
support coordinator. 

D. All services must be prior authorized and delivered in 
accordance with the approved POC. 

E. The total expenditures available for each waiver 
participant is established through an assessment of 
individual support needs and will not exceed the approved 
ICF/DD ICAP rate established for that individual. 

1. When the department determines that it is necessary 
to adjust the ICF/DD ICAP rate, each waiver participant’s 
annual service budget shall be adjusted to ensure that the 
participant’s total available expenditures do not exceed the 
approved ICAP rate. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2480 

F. No reimbursement for ROW services shall be made 
for a participant who is admitted to an inpatient setting. 

G. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2441 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16105. Participant Qualifications 

A. In order to qualify for services through the ROW, an 
individual must be offered a ROW opportunity and meet all 
of the following criteria:  

1. have a developmental disability as specified in the 
Louisiana Developmental Disability Law and determined 
through the developmental disabilities system entry process; 

2. meet the requirements for an ICF/DD level of care 
which requires active treatment for developmental 
disabilities under the supervision of a qualified 
developmental disabilities professional; 

3. meet the financial eligibility requirements for the 
Louisiana Medicaid Program; 

4. be a resident of Louisiana; and 
5. be a citizen of the United States or a qualified alien. 

B. Assurances are required that the health, safety and 
welfare of the individual can be maintained in the 
community with the provision of ROW services. 

1 - 3.c. Repealed. 
C. Justification must be documented in the OCDD 

approved POC that the ROW services are appropriate, cost 
effective and represent the least restrictive environment for 
the individual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2441 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, 
LR 36: 
§16106. Money Follows the Person Rebalancing 

Demonstration 
A. The Money Follows the Person (MFP) Rebalancing 

Demonstration is a federal demonstration grant awarded by 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to the 
Department of Health and Hospitals. The MFP 
demonstration is a transition program that targets individuals 
using qualified institutional services and moves them to 
home and community-based long-term care services. 

1. For the purposes of these provisions, a qualified 
institution is a nursing facility, hospital, or Medicaid 
enrolled intermediate care facility for people with 
developmental disabilities (ICF/DD). 

B. Participants must meet the following criteria for 
participation in the MFP Rebalancing Demonstration. 

1. Participants with a developmental disability must: 
a. occupy a licensed, approved Medicaid enrolled 

nursing facility, hospital or ICF/DD bed for at least three 
consecutive months; and  

b. be Medicaid eligible, eligible for state 
developmental disability services, and meet an ICF/DD level 
of care. 

2. The participant or his/her responsible representative 
must provide informed consent for both transition and 
participation in the demonstration. 

C. Participants in the demonstration are not required to 
have a protected date on the developmental disabilities 
request for services registry. 

D. All other ROW provisions apply to the Money 
Follows the Person Rebalancing Demonstration. 

E. MFP participants cannot participate in ROW shared 
living services which serve more than four persons in a 
single residence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16107. Programmatic Allocation of Waiver 

Opportunities 
A. ROW opportunities will be offered to individuals in 

the following targeted population groups: 
1. children:  

a. who are from birth through age 18;  
b. who reside in a nursing facility;  
c. who meet the high-need requirements for a 

nursing facility level of care as well as the ROW level of 
care requirements;  

d. who are participants in the MFP Rebalancing 
Demonstration; and  

e. whose parents or legal guardians wish to 
transition them to a home and community-based residential 
services waiver; and 

2. individuals who reside in a Medicaid enrolled 
ICF/DD and wish to transition to a home and community-
based residential services waiver through a voluntary ICF-
DD bed conversion process. 

B. ROW opportunities will be offered to:  
1. children who are currently residing in a Medicaid 

enrolled nursing facility and will be participating in the MFP 
Rebalancing Demonstration; and  

2. individuals who are currently residing in a 
Medicaid enrolled facility that goes through the ICF-DD bed 
conversion process. 

C. After an individual is offered a ROW opportunity, the 
individual shall then choose a support coordination agency 
that will assist in the gathering of the documents needed for 
both the financial eligibility and medical certification 
process for the level of care determination. 

1. If the individual is determined to be ineligible, 
either financially or medically, that individual shall be 
notified in writing.  

a. - c. Repealed. 
2. A waiver opportunity shall be assigned to an 

individual when eligibility is established and the individual 
is certified.  

C.3. - E. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2441 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
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§16109. Admission Denial or Discharge Criteria 
A. Admission to the ROW Program shall be denied if 

one of the following criteria is met.  
1. The individual does not meet the financial 

eligibility requirements for the Medicaid Program. 
2. The individual does not meet the requirements for 

an ICF/DD level of care. 
3. The individual does not meet developmental 

disability system eligibility. 
4. The individual is incarcerated or under the 

jurisdiction of penal authorities, courts or state juvenile 
authorities. 

5. The individual resides in another state. 
6. The health and welfare of the individual cannot be 

assured through the provision of ROW services. 
7. The individual fails to cooperate in the eligibility 

determination process or in the development of the POC. 
8. Repealed. 

B. Participants shall be discharged from the ROW 
Program if any of the following conditions are determined: 

1. loss of Medicaid financial eligibility as determined 
by the Medicaid Program; 

2. loss of eligibility for an ICF/DD level of care; 
3. loss of developmental disability system eligibility; 
4. incarceration or placement under the jurisdiction of 

penal authorities, courts or state juvenile authorities; 
5. change of residence to another state ; 
6. admission to an ICF/DD or nursing facility with the 

intent to stay and not to return to waiver services; 
7. the health and welfare of the participant cannot be 

assured through the provision of ROW services in 
accordance with the participant’s approved POC; 

8. the participant fails to cooperate in the eligibility 
renewal process or the implementation of the approved POC, 
or the responsibilities of the ROW participant; or 

9. continuity of stay for consideration of Medicaid 
eligibility under the special income criteria is interrupted as 
a result of the participant not receiving ROW services during 
a period of 30 consecutive days;  

a. continuity of stay is not considered to be 
interrupted if the participant is admitted to a hospital, 
nursing facility or ICF/DD; 
 i. the participant shall be discharged from the 
ROW if the treating physician documents that the 
institutional stay will exceed 90 days; 

10. continuity of services is interrupted as a result of 
the participant not receiving ROW services during a period 
of 30 consecutive days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2443 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
Chapter 163. Covered Services 
§16301. Assistive Technology and Specialized Medical 

Equipment and Supplies 
A. Assistive technology and specialized medical 

equipment and supplies (AT/SMES) are equipment, devices, 
controls, appliances, supplies and services which enable the 
participant to: 

1. have life support; 
2. address physical conditions; 
3. increase ability to perform activities of daily living; 
4. increase, maintain or improve ability to function 

more independently in the home and/or community; and 
5. increase ability to perceive, control or 

communicate.  
B. AT/SMES services provided through the ROW 

include the following services: 
1. evaluation of participant needs; 
2. customization of the equipment or device; 
3. coordination of necessary therapies, interventions 

or services; 
4. training or technical assistance on the use and 

maintenance of the equipment or device for the participant 
or, where appropriate, his/her family members, legal 
guardian or responsible representative;  

5. training or technical assistance, when appropriate, 
for professionals, other service providers, employers, or 
other individuals who are substantially involved in the 
participant’s major life functions; 

6. all service contracts and warranties included in the 
purchase of the item by the manufacturer; and 

7. equipment or device repair and replacement of 
batteries and other items that contribute to ongoing 
maintenance of the equipment or device; 

a. separate payment will be made for repairs after 
expiration of the warranty only when it is determined to be 
cost effective. 

C. Approval of AT/SMES services through ROW is 
contingent upon the denial of a prior authorization request 
for the item as a Medicaid State Plan service and 
demonstration of the direct medical, habilitative or remedial 
benefit of the item to the participant.  

1. Items reimbursed in the ROW may be in addition to 
any medical equipment and supplies furnished under the 
Medicaid State Plan.  

C.1.a. - D. … 
E. Service Exclusions 

1. Assistive technology devices and specialized 
equipment and supplies that are of general utility or 
maintenance and have no direct medical or remedial benefit 
to the participant are excluded from coverage.  

2. Any equipment, device, appliance or supply that is 
covered and has been approved under the Medicaid State 
Plan, Medicare or any other third party insurance is excluded 
from coverage.  

3. For adults over the age of 20 years, specialized 
chairs, whether mobile or travel, are not covered. 

F. Provider Participation Requirements. Providers of 
AT/SMES services must meet the following participation 
requirements. The provider must:  

1. be enrolled in the Medicaid Program as a assistive 
devices or durable medical equipment provider and must 
meet all applicable vendor standards and requirement for 
manufacturing, design and installation of technological 
equipment and supplies; 

2. furnish written documentation of authorization to 
sell, install and/or repair technological equipment and 
supplies from the respective manufacturer of the designated 
equipment and supplies; and  
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3. provide documentation of individual employees’ 
training and experience with the application, use, fitting and 
repair of the equipment or devices which they propose to sell 
or repair;  

a. upon completion of the work and prior to 
payment, the provider shall give the participant a certificate 
of warranty for all labor and installation and all warranty 
certificates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2443 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16303. Community Living Supports 

A. Community living supports (CLS) are services 
provided to assist participants to achieve and maintain the 
outcomes of increased independence, productivity and 
inclusion in the community by utilizing teaching and support 
strategies. CLS may be furnished through self-direction or 
through a licensed, enrolled agency.  

B. Community living supports are related to acquiring, 
retaining and improving independence, autonomy and 
adaptive skills. CLS may include the following services:  

1. direct support services or self-help skills training 
for the performance of all the activities of daily living and 
self-care;  

2. socialization skills training;  
a. Repealed. 

3. cognitive, communication tasks, and adaptive skills 
training; and  

a. Repealed. 
4. development of appropriate, positive behaviors. 

a. - b. Repealed. 
C. ... 
D. Community living supports may be shared by up to 

three recipients who may or may not live together, and who 
have a common direct service provider. In order for CLS 
services to be shared, the following conditions must be met:  

1. an agreement must be reached among all involved 
participants or their legal guardians regarding the provisions 
of shared CLS services;  

2. the health and welfare of each participant must be 
assured though the provision of shared services;  

3. services must be reflected in each participant’s 
approved plan of care and based on an individual-by-
individual determination; and 

4. a shared rate must be billed. 
E. - E.1. ... 

2. Routine care and supervision that is normally 
provided by the participant’s spouse or family, and services 
provided to a minor by the child’s parent or step-parent, are 
not covered.  

3. CLS services may not be furnished in a home that 
is not leased or owned by the participant or the participant’s 
family.  

4. Participants may not live in the same house as CLS 
staff. 

5. Room and board or maintenance, upkeep and 
improvement of the individual’s or family’s residence is not 
covered.  

6. Community living supports shall not be provided in 
a licensed respite care facility. 

a. - d. Repealed. 
7. Community living supports services are not 

available to individuals receiving the following services: 
a. shared living; 
b. home host; or  
c. companion care. 

8. Community living supports cannot be billed or 
provided for during the same hours on the same day that the 
participant is receiving the following services: 

a. day habilitation; 
b. prevocational;  
c. supported employment; 
d. respite-out of home services; or 
e. transportation-community access. 

F. - F.1. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2443 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16305. Companion Care  

A. Companion care services assist the recipient to 
achieve and/or maintain the outcomes of increased 
independence, productivity and inclusion in the community. 
These services are designed for individuals who live 
independently and can manage their own household with 
limited supports. The companion provides services in the 
participant’s home and lives with the participant as a 
roommate. Companion care services may be furnished 
through self-direction or through a licensed provider agency 
as outlined in the participant’s POC. This service includes: 

1. providing assistance with all of the activities of 
daily living as indicated in the participant’s POC; and 

2. community integration and coordination of 
transportation services, including medical appointments.  

3. Repealed. 
B. Companion care services can be arranged by licensed 

providers who hire companions, or services can be self-
directed by the participant. The companion is a principal 
care provider who is at least 18 years of age who lives with 
the participant as a roommate and provides services in the 
participant’s home. 

1. - 2. Repealed. 
C. Provider Responsibilities  

1. The provider organization shall develop a written 
agreement as part of the participant’s POC which defines all 
of the shared responsibilities between the companion and the 
participant. The written agreement shall include, but is not 
limited to: 

a. - c. …  
2. Revisions to this agreement must be facilitated by 

the provider and approved by the support team. Revisions 
may occur at the request of the participant, the companion, 
the provider or other support team members.  

3. The provider is responsible for performing the 
following functions which are included in the daily rate:  

a. arranging the delivery of services and providing 
emergency services as needed; 
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b. making an initial home inspection to the 
participant’s home, as well as periodic home visits as 
required by the department;  

c. contacting the companion a minimum of once per 
week or as specified in the participant’s POC; and 

d. providing 24-hour oversight and supervision of 
the companion care services, including back-up for the 
scheduled and unscheduled absences of the companion. 

4. The provider shall facilitate a signed written 
agreement between the companion and the participant. 

a. - b. Repealed. 
D. Companion Responsibilities  

1. The companion is responsible for: 
a. participating in and abiding by the POC; 
b. …  
c. purchasing his/her own food and personal care 

items.  
E. Service Limits 

1. The provider agency must provide relief staff for 
scheduled and unscheduled absences, available for up to 360 
hours (15 days) as authorized by the POC. Relief staff for 
scheduled and unscheduled absences is included in the 
provider agency’s rate. 

F. Service Exclusions 
1. Companion care is not available to individuals 

receiving the following services: 
a. respite care service–out of home; 
b. shared living; 
c. community living supports; or 
d. host home. 

2. - 2.d.  Repealed. 
G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2444 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16307. Day Habilitation Services 

A. Day habilitation services are aimed at developing 
activities and/or skills acquisition to support or further 
community integration opportunities outside of an 
individual’s home. These activities shall promote 
independence, autonomy and assist the participant with 
developing a full life in his community. The primary focus 
of Day Habilitation services is acquisition of new skills or 
maintenance of existing skills based on individualized 
preferences and goals. 

1. The skill acquisition and maintenance activities 
should include formal strategies for teaching the 
individualized skills and include the intended outcome for 
the participant.  

2. … 
3. As an individual develops new skills, training 

should progress along a continuum of habilitation services 
offered toward greater independence and self-reliance.  

B. Day habilitation services shall: 
1. focus on enabling participants to attain maximum 

skills; 
2. be coordinated with any physical, occupational or 

speech therapies included in the participant’s POC;  

3. - 4. … 
a. services are based on a one-half day unit of 

service and on time spent at the service site by the 
participant; 

b. the one-half day unit of service requires a 
minimum of 2.5 hours; 

c. two one-half day units may be billed if the 
participant spends a minimum of five hours at the service 
site; 

d. any time less than 2.5 hours of services is not 
billable or payable; and 

e. no rounding up of hours is allowed. 
C. The provider is responsible for all transportation from 

the agency to all work sites related to the provision of 
service. 

1. Transportation to and from the service site is 
offered and billable as a component of the Day Habilitation 
service; however, transportation is payable only when a Day 
Habilitation service is provided on the same day. 

2. - 4.c. Repealed. 
D. Participants may receive more than one type of 

vocational/habilitative service per day as long as the service 
and billing criteria are followed and as long as requirements 
for the minimum time spent on site are adhered to. 

E. Service Exclusions 
1. Time spent traveling to and from the day 

habilitation program site shall not be included in the 
calculation of the total number of day habilitation service 
hours provided per day. 

a. Travel training for the purpose of teaching the 
participant to use transportation services may be included in 
determining the total number of service hours provided per 
day, but only for the period of time specified in the POC. 

2. Transportation-community access will not be used 
to transport ROW participants to any day habilitation 
services. 

3. Day habilitation services cannot be billed or 
provided during the same hours on the same day as any of 
the following services: 

a. community living supports; 
b. professional services, except those direct contacts 

needed to develop a behavioral management plan or any 
other type of specialized assessment/plan; or 

c. respite care services–out of home. 
F. Provider Qualifications. Providers must be licensed as 

an adult day care agency. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2445 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16309. Dental Services 

A. Dental services are available to adult participants over 
the age of 21 as a component of the ROW. Covered dental 
services include:  

1. diagnostic services; 
2. preventative services; 
3. restorative services; 
4. endodontic services; 
5. periodontal services; 
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6. removable prosthodontics services; 
7. maxillofacial prosthetics services; 
8. fixed prosthodontics services; 
9. oral and maxillofacial surgery; 
10. orthodontic services; and 
11. adjunctive general services. 

B. Service Exclusion. Participants must first access 
dental services covered under the Medicaid State Plan before 
utilizing dental services through the Residential Options 
Waiver.  

C. Provider Qualifications. Providers must have a 
current, valid license to provide dental services from the 
Louisiana State Board of Examiners for Dentistry for the 
specific dental services in all specialty areas provided to the 
participant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2445 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16311. Environmental Accessibility Adaptations 

A. Environmental accessibility adaptations are physical 
adaptations to the participant’s home or vehicle which must 
be specified in the POC as necessary to enable the 
participant to integrate more fully into the community and to 
ensure his/her health, welfare and safety. 

1. Reimbursement shall not be paid until receipt of 
written documentation that the job has been completed to the 
satisfaction of the participant. 

B. Environmental adaptation services to the home and 
vehicle include the following: 

1. assessments to determine the types of modifications 
that are needed; 

2. training the participant and appropriate direct care 
staff in the use and maintenance of devices, controls, 
appliances and related items; 

3. repair of all equipment and/or devices, including 
replacement of batteries and other items that contribute to 
the ongoing maintenance of the adaptation(s); and 

4. all service contracts and warranties which the 
manufacturer includes in the purchase of the item. 

C. In order to accommodate the medical equipment and 
supplies necessary to assure the welfare of the participant, 
home accessibility adaptations may include the following: 

1. installation of ramps and grab-bars; 
2. widening of doorways; 
3. modification of bathroom facilities; or 
4. installation of specialized electric and plumbing 

systems. 
D. Home accessibility adaptations may be applied to 

rental or leased property only under the following 
conditions: 

1. the participant is renting or leasing the property; 
and 

2. written approval is obtained from the landlord and 
OCDD. 

E. - F.4.g. ... 
5. Home modifications shall not be paid for in the 

following residential services: 
a. host home; or 

b. shared living settings which are provider owned 
or leased. 

G. Vehicle adaptations are modifications to an 
automobile or van that is the waiver participant’s primary 
means of transportation in order to accommodate his/her 
special needs. 

1. The modifications may include the installation of a 
lift or other adaptations to make the vehicle accessible to the 
participant or for him/her to drive.  

2. Repealed. 
H. Service Exclusions for Vehicle Adaptations  

1. Payment will not be made to:  
a. adapt vehicles that are owned or leased by paid 

caregivers or providers of waiver services; or  
b. to purchase or lease a vehicle. 

2. - 4. ... 
I. Provider Responsibilities 

1. The environmental accessibility adaptation(s) must 
be delivered, installed, operational and reimbursed in the 
POC year in which it was approved. 

a. - b. Repealed. 
2. A written itemized detailed bid, including drawings 

with the dimensions of the existing and proposed floor plans 
relating to the modifications, must be obtained and 
submitted for prior authorization. 

a. Repealed. 
3. Vehicle modifications must meet all applicable 

standards of manufacture, design and installation for all 
adaptations to the vehicle. 

4. Upon completion of the work and prior to payment, 
the provider shall give the participant a certificate of 
warranty for all labor and installation and all warranty 
certificates from manufacturers. 

J. Provider Qualifications. In order to participate in the 
Medicaid Program, providers must meet the following 
qualifications. 

1. Providers of environmental accessibility 
adaptations for the home must be registered through the 
Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors as a home 
improvement contractor.  

a. In addition, these providers must:  
 i. meet the applicable state and/or local 
requirements governing their licensure or certification; and  
 ii. comply with the applicable state and local 
building or housing code standards governing home 
modifications.  

b. The individuals performing the actual service 
(building contractors, plumbers, electricians, carpenters, 
etc.) must also comply with the applicable state and/or local 
requirements governing individual licensure or certification.  

2. Providers of environmental accessibility 
adaptations to vehicles must be licensed by the Louisiana 
Motor Vehicle Commission as a specialty vehicle dealer and 
accredited by the National Mobility Equipment Dealers 
Association under the Structural Vehicle Modifier category. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2446 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
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§16313. Host Home 
A. Host home services assist participants in meeting their 

basic adaptive living needs and offer direct support where 
required. Participants are afforded a welcoming, safe and 
nurturing family atmosphere in a family home environment 
in which the participant may receive supports, services and 
training in accordance with the POC. Host home services 
take into account compatibility, including individual 
interests, age, needs for privacy, supervision and support 
needs. These services are provided in a private home by a 
contractor of the host home agency who lives in the home, 
and either rents or owns the residence. The contractor 
utilizes specific teaching strategies to encourage 
independence and autonomy when required as a part of the 
participant’s POC. 

1. Repealed.  
B. Host home services include: 

1. assistance with the activities of daily living sand 
adaptive living needs;  

2. assistance to develop leisure interests and daily 
activities in the home setting;  

3. assistance to develop relationships with other 
members of the household; 

4. supports in accessing community services, 
activities and pursuing and developing recreational and 
social interests outside the home; and 

5. teaching community living skills to achieve 
participant’s goals concerning community and social life as 
well as to maintain contacts with biological families and 
natural supports. 

C. Host home provider agencies oversee and monitor the 
Host Home contractor to ensure the availability, quality, and 
continuity of services as specified in the ROW manual. Host 
Home provider agencies are responsible for the following 
functions: 

1. arranging for a host home;  
2. making an initial and periodic inspections of the 

host home; and  
3. providing 24-hour oversight and supervision of 

Host Home services including providing emergency services 
and back-up for the scheduled and nonscheduled absences of 
the contractor. 

a. Repealed. 
D. Host home contractors are responsible for: 

1. assisting with the development of the participant’s 
POC and complying with the provisions of the plan; 

2. maintaining and providing data to assist in the 
evaluation of the participant’s personal goals; 

3. maintaining adequate records to substantiate service 
delivery and producing such records upon request; 

4. undergoing any specialized training deemed 
necessary by the provider agency, or required by the 
department, to provide supports in the Host Home setting; 
and  

5. immediately reporting to the department and 
applicable authorities any major issues or concerns related to 
the participant’s safety and well-being. 

6. - 10. Repealed. 
E. ... 
F. Host home contractors serving adults are required to 

be available for daily supervision, support needs or 
emergencies as outlined in the adult participant’s POC based 

on medical, health and behavioral needs, age, capabilities 
and any special needs. 

F.1. - I.1. ... 
2. Separate payment will not be made for the 

following residential service models if the participant is 
receiving host home services: 

2.a. - 3. … 
J. Provider Qualifications 

1. All agencies must: 
a. have experience in delivering therapeutic 

services to persons with developmental disabilities; 
b. have staff who have experience working with 

persons with developmental disabilities;  
c. screen, train, oversee and provide technical 

assistance to the host home contractors in accordance with 
OCDD requirements, including the coordination of an array 
of medical, behavioral and other professional services 
appropriate for persons with developmental disabilities; and 

d. provide on-going assistance to the Host Home 
contractors so that all HCBS requirements are met. 

2. Agencies serving children must be licensed by the 
Department of Social Services as a Class “A” Child Placing 
Agency. 

3. Agencies serving adults must be licensed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals as a provider of 
substitute family care services.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2447 (November 2007) , amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16315. Intensive Community Supports 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2448 (November 2007), repealed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16317. Nursing Services 

A. Nursing services are medically necessary services 
ordered by a physician and provided by a licensed registered 
nurse or a licensed practical nurse within the scope of the 
State’s Nurse Practice Act. Nursing services provided in the 
ROW are an extension of nursing services provided through 
the Home Health Program covered under the Medicaid State 
Plan. 

1. The services require an individual nursing service 
plan and must be included in the plan of care.  

2. The nurse must submit updates of any changes to 
the individual’s needs and/or the physician’s orders to the 
support coordinator every 60 days. 

3. Repealed. 
B. Nursing consulting services include assessments and 

health related training and education for participants and 
caregivers. 

1. - 2. ... 
3. The health related training and education service is 

the only nursing service which can be provided to more than 
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one participant simultaneously. The cost of the service is 
allocated equally among all participants.  

C. Service Requirement. Participants over the age of 21 
years must first exhaust all available nursing visits provided 
under the Medicaid State Plan prior to receiving services 
through the waiver program.  

D. Provider Qualifications 
1. In order to participate in the Medicaid Program, the 

provider agency must possess a current, valid license as a 
home health agency or, if under the ROW Shared Living 
Conversion Model, be an enrolled Shared Living Services 
agency with a current, valid license as a Supervised 
Independent Living agency.  

E. Staffing Requirements 
1. ... 
2. The RN or the LPN must possess one year of 

service delivery experience to persons with developmental 
disabilities defined under the following criteria: 

a. full-time experience gained in advanced and 
accredited training programs (i.e. masters or residency level 
training programs), which includes treatment services for 
persons with developmental disabilities; 

b. paid, full-time nursing experience in specialized 
service/treatment settings for persons with developmental 
disabilities (i.e. intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities; 

c. paid, full-time nursing experience in multi-
disciplinary programs for persons with developmental 
disabilities (i.e. mental health treatment programs for 
persons with dual diagnosis – mental illness and 
developmental disabilities); or 

d. paid, full-time nursing experience in specialized 
educational, vocational and therapeutic programs or settings 
for persons with developmental disabilities (i.e. school 
special education program). 

3. Two years of part-time experience with a minimum 
of 20 hours per week may be substituted for one year of full-
time experience. 

4. The following activities do not qualify for the 
required experience: 

a. volunteer nursing experience; or 
b. experience gained by caring for a relative or 

friend with developmental disabilities. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2449 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16319. One Time Transitional Services 

A. One-time transitional services are one-time, set-up 
services to assist individuals in making the transition from 
an ICF/DD to their own home or apartment in the 
community of their choice. 

1. - 1.d.iii. Repealed. 
B. Allowable transitional expenses may include: 

1. nonrefundable security deposits that do not include 
rental payments; 

2. set-up fees for utilities; 
3. essential furnishings to establish basic living 

arrangements, including: 

a. bedroom and living room furniture; 
b. table and chairs; 
c. window blinds; and 
d. food preparation items and eating utensils; 

4. set-up/deposit fee for telephone service; 
5. moving expenses; and 
6. health and safety assurances including: 

a. pest eradication; or 
b. one-time cleaning prior to occupancy.  

C. Service Limits 
1. One time transitional expenses are capped at $3,000 

per person over a participant’s lifetime.  
D. Service Exclusions 

1. One-time transitional services may not be used to 
pay for: 

a. housing, rent or refundable security deposits; or 
b. furnishings or setting up living arrangements that 

are owned or leased by a waiver provider. 
2. One-time transitional services are not available to 

participants who are receiving host home services. 
3. One-time transitional services are not available to 

participants who are moving into a family member’s home.  
E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2449 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16321. Personal Emergency Response System (PERS) 

A. Personal Emergency Response System (PERS) is a 
system connected to the participant’s telephone that 
incorporates an electronic device which enables the 
participant to secure help in an emergency. The device can 
be worn as a portable “help” button and when activated, a 
response center is contacted.  

B. Participant Qualifications. PERS services are 
available to individuals who: 

1. … 
2. are unable to use other communication systems due 

to experiencing difficulty in summoning emergency 
assistance; or 

3. … 
C. PERS services includes rental of the electronic 

device, initial installation, training the participant to use the 
equipment, and monthly maintenance fees. 

D. Service Exclusions  
1. Separate payment will not be made for shared 

living services. 
E. Provider Qualifications 

1. The provider must be authorized by the 
manufacturer to install and maintain equipment for personal 
emergency response systems. 

2. The provider shall be in compliance with all 
applicable federal, state, and local regulations governing the 
operation of personal emergency response systems including 
staffing requirements for the response center.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2249 (November 2007), amended by the 
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Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16323. Prevocational Services 

A. Prevocational services are activities designed to assist 
participants in acquiring and maintaining basic work-related 
skills necessary to acquire and retain meaningful 
employment. Services should include real and simulated 
employment tasks to assist in determining their vocational 
potential. Overall goals include regular community inclusion 
and development of work skills and habits to improve the 
participant’s employability. Services must be reflective of 
the participant’s POC and focused toward habilitation rather 
than teaching a specific job skill.  

1. - 2.b. ... 
B. In the event participants are compensated while 

receiving prevocational services, the compensation must be 
in accordance with the United States Fair Labor Standards 
Act of 1985. 

1. If participants are paid in excess of 50 percent of 
the minimum wage, the provider must, at a minimum: 

a. - c. ... 
C. The provider is responsible for all transportation from 

the agency to all vocational sites related to provision of 
services. 

1. Travel training may be included in determining the 
number of hours of services provided per day for the period 
of time specified in the participant’s POC.  

a. Repealed. 
D. Service Limits 

1. Services shall be limited to no more than eight 
hours per day, five days per week.  

2. Services are based on a one-half day unit of service 
and time spent at the service site by the participant: 

a. the one-half day unit of service requires a 
minimum of 2.5 hours at the service site by the participant; 

b. two one-half day units may be billed in one day if 
the participant spends a minimum of five hours at the service 
site; 

c. any time less than 2.5 hours of service is not 
billable or payable; and 

d. no rounding up of hours is allowed. 
3. Participants may receive more than one 

vocational/habilitative service per day as long as the billing 
criteria are followed for each service and the requirements 
for the minimum time spent on site are adhered to. 

3.a. - 5.a. Repealed. 
E. Service Exclusions 

1. Prevocational services are not available to 
participants who are eligible to participate in programs 
funded under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act. 

2. Multiple vocational/habilitative services cannot be 
provided or billed for during the same hours on the same day 
as the following services: 

a. community living supports; 
b. professional services, except those direct contacts 

needed to develop a behavioral management plan or other 
type of specialized assessment/plan; or 

c. respite care services–out of home. 
3. Transportation to and from the service site is only 

payable when a vocational/habilitative service is provided on 
the same day. 

4. Time spent in traveling to and from the 
prevocational program site shall not be included in the 
calculation of the total number of service hours provided per 
day. 

a. During travel training, providers must not also 
bill for the transportation component as this is included in 
the rate for the number of service hours provided. 

5. Transportation-community access shall not be used 
to transport ROW participants to any prevocational services. 

F. Provider Qualifications. Providers must have a 
current, valid license as an adult day care center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2450 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16325. Professional Services 

A. Professional services are direct services to 
participants, based on need, that may be utilized to increase 
the individual’s independence, participation and productivity 
in the home, work and community. Service intensity, 
frequency and duration will be determined by individual 
need. Professional services must be delivered with the 
participant present and in accordance with approved POC. 

1. - 8.a. Repealed. 
B. Professional services include the services provided by 

the following licensed professionals: 
1. occupational therapist; 
2. physical therapist; 
3. speech therapist; 
4. registered dietician; 
5. social worker; and 
6. psychologist. 

C. Professional services may be utilized to: 
1. perform assessments and/or re-assessments specific 

to professional disciplines to accomplish the desired 
outcomes for the participant and to provide 
recommendations, treatment, and follow-up;  

a. - b. Repealed. 
2. provide training or therapy to a participant and/or 

natural and formal supports necessary to either develop 
critical skills that may be self-managed by the participant or 
maintained according to the participant’s needs; 

3. intervene in and stabilize a crisis situation 
(behavioral or medical) that could result in the loss of home 
and community-based services, including the development, 
implementation, monitoring, and modification of behavioral 
support plans;  

a. Repealed. 
4. provide consultative services and 

recommendations; 
5. provide necessary information to the participant, 

family, caregivers, and/or team to assist in planning and 
implementing services or treatment; 

6. provide caregiver counseling for the participant’s 
natural, adoptive, foster, or host family members in order to 
develop and maintain healthy, stable relationships among all 
caregivers, including family members, to support meeting 
the needs of the participant; 
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a. emphasis is placed on the acquisition of coping 
skills by building upon family strengths; and 

b. services are intended to maximize the emotional 
and social adjustment and well-being of the individual, 
family, and caregiver; and 

7. provide nutritional services, including dietary 
evaluation and consultation with individuals or their care 
provider; 

a. services are intended to maximize the 
individual’s nutritional health. 

NOTE: Psychologists and social workers will provide supports 
and services consistent with person-centered practices and 
Guidelines for Support Planning. 

D. Service Exclusions 
1. Professional services may only be furnished and 

reimbursed through ROW when the services are medically 
necessary, or have habilitative or remedial benefit to the 
participant.  

a. Repealed. 
2. Recipients who are participating in ROW and are 

up to the age of 21 must access these services through the 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
(EPSDT) Program. 

a. - d. Repealed.  
E. Provider Qualifications 

1. Enrollment of Individual Practitioners. Individual 
practitioners who enroll as providers of professional services 
must: 

a. have a current, valid license from the appropriate 
governing board of Louisiana for that profession; and 

b. possess one year of service delivery experience 
with persons with developmental disabilities; 

c. in addition, the specific service delivered must be 
consistent with the scope of the license held by the 
professional. 

2. Provider agency enrollment of professional 
services. 

a. The following provider agencies may enroll to 
provide professional services: 
 i. a Medicare certified free-standing 
rehabilitation center;  
 ii. a licensed home health agency;  
 iii. a supervised independent living agency 
licensed by the department to provide shared living services; 
or  
 iv. a substitute family care agency licensed by the 
department to provide host home services. 

b. Enrolled provider agencies may provide 
professional services by one of the following methods: 
 i. employing the professionals; or 
 ii. contracting with the professionals. 

c. Provider agencies are required to verify that all 
professionals employed by or contracted with their agency 
meet the same qualifications required for individual 
practitioners as stated in §16325.E.1.a-c. 

3. All professionals delivering professional services 
must meet the required one year of service delivery 
experience as defined by the following: 

a. full-time experience gained in advanced and 
accredited training programs (i.e. master’s or residency level 
training programs), which includes treatment services for 
persons with developmental disabilities;  

b. paid, full-time experience in specialized 
service/treatment settings for persons with developmental 
disabilities (i.e. ICFs/DD);  

c. paid, full-time experience multi-disciplinary 
programs for persons with developmental disabilities (i.e. 
mental health treatment programs for persons with dual 
diagnosis–mental illness and developmental disability); or 

d. paid, full-time experience in specialized 
educational, vocational, and therapeutic programs or settings 
for persons with developmental disabilities (i.e. school 
special education program); 

e. two years of part-time experience with a 
minimum of 20 hours per week of the qualifying work 
experience activities may be substituted for one year of full-
time experience. 

4. The following activities do not qualify for the 
professional’s required service delivery experience: 

a. volunteer experience; or 
b. experience gained by caring for a relative or 

friend with developmental disabilities. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2450 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16327. Respite Care Services–Out of Home 

A. Respite care services–out of home are supports and 
services provided for the relief of those unpaid caregivers 
who normally provide care to participants who are unable to 
care for themselves. These services are furnished on a short-
term basis in a licensed respite care center. 

1. A licensed respite care facility shall insure that 
community activities are available to the participant in 
accordance with the approved POC, including transportation 
to and from these activities. 

a. … 
2. While receiving respite care services, the 

participant’s routine is maintained in order to attend school, 
school activities, or other community activities that he/she 
would typically participate in if not in the center-based 
respite facility.  

B. Service Limits 
1. Respite care services are limited to 720 hours per 

participant per POC year. 
2. Requests for an extension of the service limit are 

subject to the department’s established approval process and 
require proper justification and documentation. 

C. Service Exclusions 
1. … 
2. Respite care services-Out of Home may not be 

billed for participants receiving the following services: 
a. shared living; 
b. companion care; or 
c. host home. 
d. Repealed. 

D. Provider Qualifications. The provider must possess a 
current, valid license as a respite care center issued by the 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2451 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16329. Shared Living Services  

A. Shared living services assist the participant in 
acquiring, retaining and improving the self-care, adaptive 
and leisure skills needed to reside successfully in a shared 
home setting within the community. Services are chosen by 
the participant and developed in accordance with his/her 
goals and wishes with regard to compatibility, interests, age 
and privacy in the shared living setting. 

1. A shared living services provider delivers supports 
which include: 

a. 24-hour staff availability; 
b. assistance with activities of daily living included 

in the participant’s POC; 
c. a daily schedule; 
d. health and welfare needs; 
e. transportation; 
f. any non-residential ROW services delivered by 

the shared living services provider; and 
g. other responsibilities as required in each 

participant’s POC.  
2. - 3. Repealed. 

B. An ICF/DD may elect to permanently relinquish its 
ICF/DD license and all of its Medicaid Facility Need 
Review approved beds from the total number of Certificate 
of Need (CON) beds for that home and convert it into a 
shared living waiver home or in combination with other 
ROW residential options as deemed appropriate in the 
approved conversion agreement. 

1. In order to convert, provider request must be 
approved by the department and by OCDD. 

2. ICF/DD residents who choose transition to a shared 
living waiver home must also agree to conversion of their 
residence.  

3. If choosing ROW services, persons may select any 
ROW services and provider(s) based upon freedom of 
choice. 

C. Shared Living Options 
1. Shared Living Conversion Option. The shared 

living conversion option is only allowed for providers of 
homes which were previously licensed and Medicaid 
certified as an ICF/DD for up to a maximum of eight 
licensed and Medicaid-funded beds on October 1, 2009. 

a. The number of participants for the shared living 
conversion option shall not exceed the licensed and 
Medicaid-funded bed capacity of the ICF/DD on October 1, 
2009, or up to six individuals, whichever is less. 

b. The ICF/DD used for the shared living 
conversion option must meet the department’s operational, 
programming and quality assurances of health and safety for 
all participants. 

c. The provider of shared living services is 
responsible for the overall assurances of health and safety 
for all participants. 

d. The provider of shared living conversion option 
may provide nursing services and professional services to 
participants utilizing this residential services option. 

2. Shared Living Non-Conversion (New) Option. The 
shared living non-conversion option is allowed only for new 
or existing ICF/DD providers to establish a shared living 
waiver home for up to a maximum of three individuals. 

a. The shared living waiver home must be located 
separate and apart from any ICF/DD. 

b. The shared living waiver home must be either a 
home owned or leased by the waiver participants or a home 
owned or leased and operated by a licensed shared living 
provider. 

c. The shared living waiver home must meet 
department’s operational, programming and quality 
assurances for home and community-based services. 

d. The shared living provider is responsible for the 
overall assurances of health and safety for all participants. 

D. Service Exclusions  
1. ... 
2. Payments shall not be made for environmental 

accessibility adaptations when the provider owns or leases 
the residence. 

3. Participants may receive one-time transitional 
services only if the participant owns or leases the home and 
the service provider is not the owner or landlord of the 
home.  

a. - d. Repealed. 
4. MFP participants cannot participate in ROW shared 

living services which serve more than four persons in a 
single residence. 

5. Transportation-community access services cannot 
be billed or provided for participants receiving shared living 
services, as this is a component of shared living services. 

6. The following services are not available to 
participants receiving shared living services: 

a. community living supports; 
b. respite care services; 
c. companion care;  
d. host home; or 
e. personal emergency response system. 

E. Provider Qualifications. Providers must be approved 
by the department and have a current, valid license as a 
Supervised Independent Living agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2452 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16331. Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2452 (November 2007), repealed by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16333. Support Coordination 

A. Support coordination services are provided to all 
ROW participants to assist them in gaining access to needed 
waiver services, Medicaid State Plan services, as well as 
needed medical, social, educational and other services, 
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regardless of the funding source for the services. Support 
coordinators provide information and assistance to waiver 
participants by directing and managing their services in 
compliance with the rules and regulations governing case 
management services. 

1. Support coordinators shall be responsible for 
ongoing monitoring of the provision of services included in 
the participant’s approved POC. 

2. Support coordinators shall also participate in the 
evaluation and re-evaluation of the participant’s POC. 

B. Support coordinators are responsible for providing 
assistance to participants who choose the self-direction 
option with their review of the Self-Direction Employer 
Handbook and for being available to these participants for 
on-going support and help with carrying out their employer 
responsibilities. 

C. Provider Qualifications. Providers must have a 
current, valid license as a case management agency and meet 
all other requirements for targeted case management services 
as set forth in LAC 50:XV.Chapter 105 and the Medicaid 
Targeted Case Management Manual. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2453 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16335. Supported Employment 

A. Supported employment provides assistance in an 
integrated work setting to assist in the achievement and 
attainment of work related skills and includes on-going 
support to maintain employment.  

1. - 3. Repealed. 
B. Supported Employment services include: 

1. … 
2. services that assist a participant to develop and 

operate a micro-enterprise;  
a. this service consists of:  

 i. assisting the participant to identify potential 
business opportunities; 
 ii. … 
 iii. identification of the supports that are necessary 
in order for the participant to operate the business; and 
 iv. … 

3. enclave services which is an employment situation 
in competitive employment in which a group of eight or 
fewer workers with disabilities are working at a particular 
work setting. The workers with disabilities may be disbursed 
throughout the company and among workers without 
disabilities or congregated as a group in one part of the 
business;  

4. mobile work crews which is a group of eight or 
fewer workers with disabilities who perform work in a 
variety of locations under the supervision of a permanent 
employment specialist (job coach/supervisor); and  

5. all transportation from the agency to all work sites 
related to provision of the service. The provider is 
responsible for furnishing the transportation. 

C. Service Limits 
1. The required minimum number of service hours per 

day per participant is as follows for:  
a. individual placement services, the minimum is 

one hour;  
b. services that assist a participant to develop and 

operate a micro-enterprise, the minimum is one hour; 
c. an enclave, the minimum is 2.5 hours; and 
d. a mobile work crew, the minimum is 2.5 hours. 

2. Two half-day units may be billed if the participant 
spends a minimum of five hours at the service site. 

3. Participants may receive more than one vocational 
or habilitative service per day as long as the service and 
billing requirements for each service are met. 

4. Transportation to and from the service site is 
offered and billable as a component of the support 
employment service; however, transportation is payable only 
when a supported employment service is provided on the 
same day. 

D. Service Exclusions  
1. ... 
2. Any time less than one hour for individual 

placement and micro-enterprise is not billable or payable. 
3. - 3.c. ... 
4. Any time less than 2.5 hours for enclaves and 

mobile crews is not billable or payable.  
5. ... 

a. Travel training for the purpose of teaching the 
recipient how to use transportation services may be included 
in determining the total service numbers hours provided per 
day, but only for the period of time specified in the POC.  

6. - 6.c. ... 
7. Services are not available to individuals who are 

eligible to participate in programs funded under the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 or the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act. 

8. No rounding up of hours is allowed. 
E. Provider Qualifications. In order to enroll in the 

Medicaid Program, providers must have a compliance 
certificate from the Louisiana Rehabilitation Services as a 
Community Rehabilitation Program or a current, valid 
license as an Adult Day Care Center. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2453 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16337. Transportation-Community Access 

A. Transportation-community access services enable 
participants to gain access to waiver and other community 
services, activities and resources. These services are 
necessary to increase independence, productivity, 
community inclusion and to support self-directed employees 
benefits as outlined in the participant’s POC. Transportation-
community access services shall be offered as documented 
in the participant’s approved POC. 

1. The participant must be present to receive this 
service. 
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2. Whenever possible, the participant must utilize the 
following resources for transportation:  

a. - b. ... 
B. Service Limits 

1. Community access trips are limited to three per day 
and must be arranged for geographic efficiency.  

2. Greater than three trips per day require approval 
from the department or its designee. 

a. Repealed. 
C. Service Exclusions 

1. Transportation services offered through ROW shall 
not replace the medical transportation services covered 
under the Medicaid State Plan or transportation services 
provided as a means to get to and from school. 

2. Separate payment will not be made for 
transportation-community access and the following services: 

a. shared living services; or 
b. community living services. 

3. Transportation-community access will not be used 
to transport participants to day habilitation, pre-vocational, 
or supported employment services. 

D. Provider Qualifications. Friends and family members 
who furnish transportation-community access services to 
waiver participants must be enrolled as Medicaid Friends 
and Family Transportation providers. 

1. In order to receive reimbursement for transporting 
Medicaid recipients to waiver services, family and friends 
must maintain: 

a. the state minimum automobile liability insurance 
coverage; 

b. a current state inspection sticker; and 
c. a current valid driver’s license. 

2. No special inspection by the Medicaid agency will 
be conducted. 

a. - b. Repealed. 
3. Documentation of compliance with the three listed 

requirements for this class of provider must be submitted 
when enrollment in the Medicaid agency is sought. 
Acceptable documentation shall be the signed statement of 
the individual enrolling for payment that all three 
requirements are met.  

a. The statement must also have the signature of 
two witnesses. 

4. Family and friends transportation providers are 
limited to transporting up to three specific waiver 
participants. 

E. Vehicle Requirements. All vehicles utilized by for 
profit and non-profit transportation services providers for 
transporting waiver recipients must comply with all of the 
applicable state laws and regulations and are subject to 
inspection by the department or its designee. 

E.1. - G. Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2454 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 

Chapter 165. Self-Direction Initiative 
§16501. Self-Direction Service Option 

A. The self-direction initiative is a voluntary, self-
determination option which allows the waiver participant to 
coordinate the delivery of designated ROW services through 
an individual direct support professional rather than through 
a licensed, enrolled provider agency. Selection of this option 
requires that the recipient utilize a payment mechanism 
approved by the department to manage the required fiscal 
functions that are usually handled by a provider agency. 

B. Recipient Responsibilities. Waiver participants 
choosing the self-direction service option must understand 
the rights, risks and responsibilities of managing their own 
care and individual budget. If the participant is unable to 
make decisions independently, he must have an authorized 
representative who understands the rights, risks and 
responsibilities of managing his care and supports within his 
individual budget. Responsibilities of the participant or 
authorized representative include: 

1. - 2. … 
a. Participants must adhere to the health and 

welfare safeguards identified by the support team, including: 
 i. … 
 ii. compliance with the requirement that 
employees under this option must have criminal background 
checks prior to working with waiver participants; 

3. … 
a. This annual budget is determined by the 

recommended service hours listed in the participant’s POC 
to meet his needs. 

b. The participant’s individual budget includes a 
potential amount of dollars within which the participant, or 
his authorized representative, exercises decision-making 
responsibility concerning the selection of services and 
service providers. 

C. Termination of Self-Direction Service Option. 
Termination of participation in the self-direction service 
option requires a revision of the POC, the elimination of the 
fiscal agent and the selection of the Medicaid-enrolled 
waiver service provider(s) of choice. 

1. Voluntary Termination. The waiver participant may 
choose at any time to withdraw from the self-direction 
service option and return to the traditional provider agency 
management of services. 

2. Involuntary Termination. The department may 
terminate the self-direction service option for a participant 
and require him to receive provider-managed services under 
the following circumstances: 

a. the health or welfare of the participant is 
compromised by continued participation in the self-direction 
service option; 

b. the participant is no longer able to direct his own 
care and there is no responsible representative to direct the 
care; 

c. there is misuse of public funds by the participant 
or the authorized representative; or  

d. over three payment cycles in the period of a year, 
the participant or authorized representative: 
 i. … 
 ii. fails to follow the Personal Purchasing Plan 
and the POC;  
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C.2.d.iii. - D. … 
E. Relief coverage for scheduled or unscheduled 

absences, which are not classified as respite care services, 
can be covered by other participant-directed providers and 
the terms can be part of the agreement between the 
participant and the primary Companion Care provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2455 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
Chapter 167. Provider Participation 
§16701. General Provisions 

A. … 
1. meet all of the requirements for licensure and the 

standards for participation in the Medicaid Program as a 
home and community-based services provider in accordance 
with state laws and the rules promulgated by the department; 

2. comply with the regulations and requirements 
specified in LAC 50:XXI, Subparts 1 and 13 and the ROW 
provider manual;  

3. comply with all of the state laws and regulations for 
conducting business in Louisiana, and when applicable, with 
the state requirements for designation as a non-profit 
organization; and 

4. comply with all of the training requirements for 
providers of waiver services. 

B. Providers must maintain adequate documentation to 
support service delivery and compliance with the approved 
POC and provide said documentation upon the department’s 
request.  

C. In order for a provider to bill for services, the waiver 
participant and the direct service worker or professional 
services practitioner rendering service must be present at the 
time the service is rendered. 

1. Exception. The following services may be provided 
when the participant is not present: 

a. - c. ... 
2. All services must be documented in service notes 

which describe the services rendered and progress towards 
the participant’s personal outcomes and his/her POC. 

D. If transportation is provided as part of a waiver 
service, the provider must comply with all of the state laws 
and regulations applicable to vehicles and drivers. 

E. All services rendered shall be prior approved and in 
accordance with the POC. 

F. Providers, including direct care staff, cannot live in 
the same residence as the participant, except host home 
contractors and companion care workers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2455 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16703. Staffing Restrictions and Requirements  

A. Payments shall not be made to persons who are 
legally responsible for the care of the waiver participants 
which include: 

1. parents of minor children; 
2. spouses for each other; 
3. legal guardians for adults or children with 

developmental disabilities; or 
4. parents for their adult child with developmental 

disabilities, regardless of the legal status of the adult child. 
B. In order to receive payment, relatives must meet the 

criteria for the provision of the service and the same 
provider qualifications specified for the service as other 
providers not related to the participant. 

1. Relatives must also comply with the following 
requirements: 

a. become an employee of the participant’s chosen 
waiver provider agency; 

b. become a Medicaid enrolled provider agency; or 
c. if the self-direction option is selected, relatives 

must: 
 i. become an employee of the self-direction 
participant; and 
 ii. have a Medicaid provider agreement executed 
by the fiscal agent as authorized by the Medicaid agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36: 
Chapter 169. Reimbursement 
§16901. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Reimbursement for the following services shall be a 
prospective flat rate for each approved unit of service 
provided to the waiver participant. One quarter hour (15 
minutes) is the standard unit of service, which covers both 
the service provision and administrative costs for these 
services:  

1. - 3.e. … 
f. registered dietician; 

4. support coordination; or  
5. supported employment: 

a. individual placement; and 
b. micro-enterprise. 

6. Repealed.  
B. The following services are reimbursed at the cost of 

the adaptation device, equipment or supply item: 
1. environmental accessibility adaptations; and 

a. upon completion of the environmental 
accessibility adaptations and prior to submission of a claim 
for reimbursement, the provider shall give the participant a 
certificate of warranty for all labor and installation work and 
supply the participant with all manufacturers’ warranty 
certificates; 

2. assistive technology/specialized medical equipment 
and supplies.  

3. Repealed. 
C. The following services are reimbursed at a per diem 

rate: 
1. … 
2. companion cares; and 
3. shared living services; 

a. per diem rates are established based on the 
number of individuals sharing the living service module for 
both shared living non-conversion and shared living 
conversion services.  
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D. The following services are reimbursed at a per one-
half-day unit of service based on a minimum of 2.5 hours 
spent on-site by the participant: 

1. day habilitation; 
2. pre-vocational; and 
3. supported employment: 

a. mobile crew; and 
b. enclave.  

E. ... 
F. Nursing services are reimbursed at either an hourly or 

per visit rate for the allowable procedure codes. 
G. ... 
H. Transition expenses from an ICF/DD or nursing 

facility to a community living setting are reimbursed at the 
cost of the service(s) up to a lifetime maximum rate of 
$3,000. 

I. - J. ... 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for Residential Options Waiver 
services shall be reduced by two percent of the rates in effect 
on July 31, 2010. 

1. The following services shall be excluded from the 
rate reduction: 

a. personal emergency response services; 
b. environmental accessibility adaption services; 
c. specialized medical equipment and supplies; and 
d. support coordination services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2456 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36: 
§16903. Direct Support Staff Wages 

A. In order to maximize staffing stability and minimize 
turnover among direct support staff, providers of the 
following services furnished under the Residential Options 
Waiver are required to pay direct support workers an hourly 
wage that is at least 29 percent ($1.50) more than the federal 
minimum wage in effect as of July 23, 2007 or the current 
federal minimum wage, whichever is higher: 

1. community living supports; 
2. respite services-out of home;  
3. shared living; 
4. day habilitation; 
5. prevocational services; and 
6. supported employment. 
7. Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 33:2456 (November 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities, LR 36:  

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1008#107 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Supports WaiverReimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXI.6101) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amend LAC 50:XXI.6101 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for Supports 
Waiver services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 10).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for Supports Waiver services to further reduce 
the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XXI.6101 as a result of the 
promulgation of the October 20, 2010 final Rule governing 
the Supports Waiver. This action is being taken to ensure that 
these provisions are appropriately incorporated into the 
Louisiana Administrative Code.  

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities amend 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
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governing the reimbursement methodology for Supports 
Waiver services.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 5.  Supports Waiver 

Chapter 61. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6101. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - K.1. … 
L. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for Supports Waiver services 
shall be reduced by 2 percent of the rates on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

1. Support coordination services and personal 
emergency response system services shall be excluded from 
the rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Office for Citizens 
with Developmental Disabilities, LR 32:1607 (September 2006), 
amended LR 34:662 (April 2008), amended by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, LR 36:2281 
(October 2010), amended LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#079 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesReimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:V.Chapter 7, 953, 955, 959, and 967) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.Chapter 7 and 
amends §§953,955,959 and 967 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of 
the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature which 
states: “The secretary is directed to utilize various cost 
containment measures to ensure expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program do not exceed the level appropriated in 
this Schedule, including but not limited to precertification, 
preadmission screening, diversion, fraud control, utilization 
review and management, prior authorization, service 
limitations, drug therapy management, disease management, 
cost sharing, and other measures as permitted under federal 

law.” This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing promulgated 
a Rule which established the provisions governing a 
prospective reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services (Louisiana Register, Volume 20, Number 
6). These provisions included the establishment of general 
and specialized peer group per diem rates, level of care 
criteria and staffing requirements for certain resource 
intensive inpatient services and an appeals procedure for 
adjustment of rate components. The department 
subsequently established a Medicaid upper payment limit 
financing mechanism to provide supplemental payments to 
hospitals for providing healthcare services to low income 
and needy patients. As a result of a budgetary shortfall in 
state fiscal year 2010, the department also reduced the 
reimbursement rates for inpatient hospital services rendered 
by non-rural, non-state hospitals (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 11). 

As a result of a continuing budgetary shortfall in state 
fiscal year 2011, the department promulgated an Emergency 
Rule which amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for inpatient hospital services 
to further reduce the reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, 
non-state hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 
8). The August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule also amended the 
provisions governing the appeals procedure that address the 
criteria for qualifying loss. 

Taking the proposed per diem rate reductions into 
consideration, the department has carefully reviewed the 
proposed rates and is satisfied that they are consistent with 
efficiency, economy and quality of care and are sufficient to 
enlist enough providers so that private (non-state) inpatient 
hospital services and children’s specialty hospital services 
under the State Plan are available at least to the extent that 
they are available to the general population in the state. 

The department now proposes to amend the provisions of 
the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise the formatting 
of LAC 50:V.953, §955, §959 and §967 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing inpatient hospital services. This action is being 
taken to ensure that these provisions are appropriately 
incorporated into the Louisiana Administrative Code.  

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Sevices 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 7. Prospective Reimbursement 
Subchapter A. Appeals Procedure 
§701. Request for Administrative Review 

A. Any hospital seeking an adjustment to its rate, shall 
submit a written request for administrative review to the 
Medicaid director (hereafter referred to as director) within 
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30 days after receipt of the letter notifying the hospital of its 
rates.  

1. The receipt of the letter notifying the hospital of its 
rates shall be deemed to be 5 days from the date of the letter.  

2. The time period for requesting an administrative 
review may be extended upon written agreement between 
the department and the hospital. 

B. The department will acknowledge receipt of the 
written request within 30 days after actual receipt. 
Additional documentation may be requested from the 
hospital as may be necessary for the director to render a 
decision. The director shall issue a written decision upon the 
hospital’s request for a rate adjustment within 90 days after 
receipt of all additional documentation or information 
requested. 

C. Any hospital seeking an adjustment to its rate, must 
specify all of the following: 

1. the nature of the adjustment sought; 
2. the amount of the adjustment sought; and 
3. the reasons or factors that the hospital believes 

justify an adjustment. 
D. Any request for an adjustment must include an 

analysis demonstrating the extent to which the hospital is 
incurring or expects to incur a qualifying loss in providing 
covered services to Medicaid and indigent patients. 

1. For purposes of these provisions, qualifying loss 
shall mean that amount by which the hospital’s allowable 
costs (excluding disproportionate share payment 
adjustments) exceed the Medicaid reimbursement 
implemented pursuant to these provisions. 

2. “Cost” when used in the context of allowable shall 
mean a hospital’s costs incurred in providing covered 
inpatient services to Medicaid and indigent patients, as 
calculated in the relevant definitions governing cost 
reporting. 

E. The hospital will not be required to present an 
analysis of its qualifying loss where the basis for its appeal is 
limited to a claim that: 

1. the rate-setting methodology or criteria for 
classifying hospitals or hospital claims under the State Plan 
were incorrectly applied;  

2. that incorrect or incomplete data or erroneous 
calculations were used in establishment of the hospital rates; 
or 

3. the hospital had incurred additional costs because 
of a catastrophe that meets certain conditions. 

F. Except in cases where the basis for the hospital’s 
appeal is limited to a claim that rate-setting methodologies 
or principles of reimbursement established under the 
reimbursement plan were incorrectly applied, or that the 
incorrect or incomplete data or erroneous calculations were 
in the establishment of the hospital’s rate, the department 
will not award additional reimbursement to a hospital, unless 
the hospital demonstrates that the reimbursement it receives 
based on its prospective rate is 70 percent or less of the 
allowable costs it incurs in providing Medicaid patients care 
and services that conform to the applicable state and federal 
laws of quality and safety standards.  

1. The department will not increase a provider’s rate 
to more than 105 percent of the peer group rate. 

G. In cases where the rate appeal relates to an unresolved 
dispute between the hospital and its Medicare fiscal 

intermediary as to any cost reported in the hospital’s base 
year cost report, the director will resolve such disputes for 
purposes of deciding the request for administrative review. 

H. The following matters will not be subject to appeal: 
1. the use of peer grouped rates; 
2. the use of teaching, non-teaching and bed-size as 

criteria for hospital peer groups; 
3. the use of approved graduate medical education and 

intern and resident full time equivalents as criteria for major 
teaching status; 

4. the use of fiscal year 1991 medical education costs 
to establish a hospital-specific medical education component 
of each teaching hospital’s prospective rate; 

5. the application of inflationary adjustments 
contingent on funding appropriated by the legislature; 

6. the criteria used to establish the levels of neonatal 
intensive care; 

7. the criteria used to establish the levels of pediatric 
intensive care; 

8. the methodology used to calculate the boarder baby 
rates for nursery; 

9. the use of hospital specific costs for transplant per 
diem limits; 

10. the criteria used to identify specialty hospital peer 
groups; and 

11. the criteria used to establish the level of burn care. 
I. The hospital shall bear the burden of proof in 

establishing facts and circumstances necessary to support a 
rate adjustment. Any costs that the provider cites as a basis 
for relief under this provision must be calculable and 
auditable. 

J. The department may award additional reimbursement 
to a hospital that demonstrates by clear and convincing 
evidence that: 

1. A qualifying loss has occurred and the hospitals 
current prospective rate jeopardized the hospital’s long-term 
financial viability; and 

2. the Medicaid population served by the hospital has 
no reasonable access to other inpatient hospitals for the 
services that the hospital provides and that the hospital 
contends are under reimbursed; or 

3. Alternatively, demonstrates that its uninsured care 
hospital costs exceeds 5 percent of its total hospital costs, 
and a minimum of $9,000,000 in uninsured care hospital 
cost in the preceding 12 month time period and the hospital’s 
uninsured care costs has increased at least 35 percent during 
a consecutive six month time period during the hospital’s 
latest cost reporting period.  

a. For purposes of these provisions, an uninsured 
patient is defined as a patient that is not eligible for 
Medicare or Medicaid and does not have insurance.  

b. For purposes of these provisions, uninsured care 
costs are defined as uninsured care charges multiplied by the 
cost to charge ratios by revenue code per the last filed cost 
report, net of payments received from uninsured patients.  
 i. The increase in uninsured care costs must be a 
direct result of a permanent or long term (no less than six 
months) documented change in services that occurred at a 
state owned and operated hospital located less than eight 
miles from the impacted hospital.  
 ii. For the purpose of this Rule, if a hospital has 
multiple locations of service, each location shall measure 
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uninsured care costs separately and qualify each location as 
an individual hospital. Rate adjustments awarded under this 
provision will be determined by the secretary of the 
department and shall not exceed 5 percent of the applicable 
per diem rate. 

K. In determining whether to award additional 
reimbursement to a hospital that has made the showing 
required, the director shall consider one or more of the 
following factors and may take any of these actions. 

1. The director shall consider whether the hospital has 
demonstrated that its unreimbursed costs are generated by 
factors generally not shared by other hospitals in the 
hospital’s peer group. Such factors may include, but are not 
limited to extraordinary circumstances beyond the control of 
the hospital and improvements required to comply with 
licensing or accrediting standards. Where it appears from the 
evidence presented that the hospital’s costs are controllable 
through good management practices or cost containment 
measures or that the hospital has through advertisement to 
the general public promoted the use of high costs services 
that could be provided in a more cost effective manner, the 
director may deny the request for rate adjustment. 

2. The director may consider, and may require the 
hospital to provide financial data, including but not limited 
to financial ratio data indicative of the hospital’s 
performance quality in particular areas of hospital operation. 

3. The director shall consider whether the hospital has 
taken every reasonable action to contain costs on a hospital-
wide basis. In making such a determination, the director may 
require the hospital to provide audited cost data or other 
quantitative data including, but not limited to: 

a. occupancy statistics; 
b. average hourly wages paid; 
c. nursing salaries per adjusted patient day; 
d. average length of stay; 
e. cost per ancillary procedure; 
f. average cost per meal served; 
g. average cost per pound of laundry; 
h. average cost per pharmacy prescription; 
i. housekeeping costs per square foot; 
j. medical records costs per admission; 
k. full-time equivalent employees per occupied bed; 
l. age of receivables; 
m. bad debt percentage; 
n. inventory turnover rate; and 
o. information about actions that the hospital has 

taken to contain costs. 
4. The director may also require that an onsite 

operational review/audit of the hospital be conducted by the 
Department of its designee. 

L. In awarding relief under this provision, the director 
shall: 

1. Make any necessary adjustments so as to correctly 
apply the rate-setting methodology, to the hospital 
submitting the appeal, or to correct calculations, data errors 
or omissions; or 

2. increase one or more of the hospital’s rates by an 
amount that can reasonably be expected to ensure continuing 
access to sufficient inpatient hospital services of adequate 
quality for Medicaid patients served by the hospital. 

M. The following decisions by the director shall not 
result in any change in the peer group rates: 

1. the decision to: 
a. recognize omitted, additional or increased costs 

incurred by any hospital;  
b. adjust the hospital rates; or  
c. otherwise award additional reimbursement to any 

hospital. 
N. Hospitals that qualify under this provision must 

document their continuing eligibility at the beginning of 
each subsequent state fiscal year. Rate adjustments granted 
under this provision shall be effective from the first day of 
the rate period to which the hospital’s appeal relates. 
However, no retroactive adjustments will be made to the rate 
or rates that were paid during any prior rate period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
§703. Administrative Appeal and Judicial Review 

A. If the director’s decision is adverse to the hospital, the 
hospital may appeal the director’s decision to the Bureau of 
Appeals or its successor. The appeal must be lodged within 
30 days of receipt of the written decision of the director. The 
receipt of the decision of the director shall be deemed to be 
five days from the date of the decision. The administrative 
appeal shall be conducted in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act (APA). The Bureau of 
Appeals shall submit a recommended decision to the 
secretary of the department. The secretary will issue the final 
decision of the department. 

B. Judicial review of the secretary’s decision shall be in 
accordance with the APA and shall be filed in the nineteenth 
Judicial District Court. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - O.1. … 
P. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to acute care hospitals 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

1. Payments to small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300 shall be exempt from this reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:1552(July 2010), LR 36:2531 (November 
2010), LR 36: 
§955. Long Term Hospitals 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to long term hospitals 
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shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR: 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2562 (November 2010), LR 36: 
§959. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-
state free-standing psychiatric hospitals and distinct part 
psychiatric units within non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the per diem rate 
on file as of July 31, 2010.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2562 (November 2010), LR 36: 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A.-C above 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of 90.63 percent of allowable inpatient acute care and 
psychiatric costs as determined by the cost report or the 
Medicaid discharges or days as specified per §967.A.-C for 
the period, multiplied by 90.63 percent of the target rate per 
discharge or per diem limitation as specified per §967.A.-C 
for the period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
amended LR 36:2562 (November 2010), LR 36:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#080 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesSmall Rural Hospitals 
Upper Payment Limit (LAC 50:V.1125 and 1127) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.1125 and 1127 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. In compliance with Act 327 of 
the 2007 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
reimbursement methodology governing state fiscal year 
2009 Medicaid payments to small rural hospitals for 
inpatient acute care services and psychiatric services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 5).  

Act 883 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature directed the department to implement a payment 
methodology to optimize Medicaid payments to rural 
hospitals for inpatient and outpatient services. In compliance 
with the directives of Act 883, the department promulgated 
an Emergency Rule which amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for small rural 
hospitals to reimburse inpatient hospital services up to the 
Medicare inpatient upper payment limits (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by ensuring sufficient provider participation and 
recipient access to services.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for inpatient hospital services rendered by small rural 
hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 11. Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§1125. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. - C. ... 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement for inpatient acute care services 
rendered by small rural hospitals shall be up to the Medicare 
upper payment limits for inpatient hospital services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:955 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
§1127. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. - C. ... 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid for psychiatric services 
rendered by distinct part psychiatric units in small rural 
hospitals shall be up to the Medicare inpatient upper 
payment limits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:955 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#094 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesState Hospitals 
Supplemental Payments (LAC 50:V.551) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.551 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in June of 1983 that established the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in acute care 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 9, Number 6). 
Inpatient hospital services were reimbursed in accordance 
with the Medicare reimbursement principles utilizing a 
target rate set based on the cost per discharge for each 
hospital, except that the base year to be used in determining 
the target rate was the fiscal year ending on September 29, 
1982. In October 1984, the department established separate 
per diem limitations for neonatal and pediatric intensive care 

and burn units using the same base period as the target rate 
per discharge calculation (Louisiana Register, Volume 10, 
Number 10). In October 1992, the department promulgated a 
Rule which provided that inpatient hospital services to 
children under one year of age shall be reimbursed as pass-
through costs and shall not be subject to per discharge or per 
diem limits applied to other inpatient hospital services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 18, Number 10). The 
department subsequently amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to establish a 
prospective payment methodology for non-state hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The per 
discharge and per diem limitations in state acute care 
hospitals were rebased by a Rule promulgated in December 
of 2003 (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 12). The 
Bureau subsequently amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in state acute 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 2).  

The department now proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services to provide a supplemental Medicaid 
payment to state-owned acute care hospitals, and to 
promulgate these provisions in a codified format for 
inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative Code. This action 
is being taken to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by ensuring sufficient provider participation and 
recipient access to services. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will have no 
programmatic costs for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective October 16, 2010, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
inpatient hospital services rendered by state-owned acute 
care hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 5. State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§551. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after October 16, 
2010, a quarterly supplemental payment up to the Medicare 
upper payment limits will be issued to qualifying state-
owned hospitals for inpatient acute care services rendered. 

B. Qualifying Criteria 
1. State-owned acute care hospitals located in DHH 

Administrative Region 8 (Monroe) will receive a quarterly 
supplemental payment. 

2. Medicaid rates to non-qualifying state hospitals 
shall be 60 percent of allowable Medicaid costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
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responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#005 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with  
Developmental Disabilities 

Non-State FacilitiesReimbursement Methodology  
(LAC 50:VII.32903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:VII.32903 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953.B(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
legislature during the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 
disabilities (ICFs/DD) to increase the per diem rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 7). As a result of a 
budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the department 
determined that it was necessary to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-state 
ICFs/DD to reduce the per diem rates (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 8). 

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for non-state ICFs/DD to restore the per diem 
rates paid to private providers who have downsized large 
facilities to less than 35 beds and incurred unusually high 
capital costs as a result of the downsizing (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to 
protect the health and welfare of Medicaid recipients and to 
insure continued provider participation in the Medicaid 
Program.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for non-state intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Developmental Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32903. Rate Determination 

A. - J. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the per diem rates for non-state intermediate care 
facilities for persons with developmental disabilities shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rates on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

L. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 
2010, the per diem rates for ICFs/DD which have downsized 
from over 100 beds to less than 35 beds prior to December 
31, 2010 shall be restored to the rates in effect on January 1, 
2009. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:2253 (September 2005), amended LR 
33:462 (March 2007), LR 33:2202 (October 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1555 (July 2010), amended LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#095 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with  
Developmental Disabilities 

Public FacilitiesReimbursement Methodology 
(LAC 50:VII.32965-32969) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:VII.32965-32969 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
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49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing the reimbursement methodology for 
state-operated intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities (ICFs/DD) and established 
payments using a formula that established per diem rates at 
the Medicare upper payment limit for these services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 11). Upon 
submission of the corresponding State Plan amendment to 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for review 
and approval, the department determined that it was also 
necessary to establish provisions in the Medicaid State Plan 
governing the reimbursement methodology for quasi-public 
ICFs/DD. The department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for public ICFs/DD to establish a transitional 
Medicaid reimbursement rate for community homes that are 
being privatized (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). 
This Emergency Rule also adopted all of the provisions 
governing reimbursements to state-owned and operated 
facilities and quasi-public facilities in a codified format for 
inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative Code. This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for public intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care 
Subpart 3.  Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Developmental Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter C. Public Facilities 
§32965. State-Owned and Operated Facilities 

A. Medicaid payments to state-owned and operated 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental 
disabilities are based on the Medicare formula for 
determining the routine service cost limits as follows: 

1. calculate each state-owned and operated ICF/DD’s 
per diem routine costs in a base year; 

2. calculate 112 percent of the average per diem 
routine costs; and 

3. inflate 112 percent of the per diem routine costs 
using the skilled nursing facility (SNF) market basket index 
of inflation.  

B. Each state-owned and operated facility’s capital and 
ancillary costs will be paid by Medicaid on a “pass-through” 
basis. 

C. The sum of the calculations for routine service costs 
and the capital and ancillary costs “pass-through” shall be 
the per diem rate for each state-owned and operated 
ICF/DD. The base year cost reports to be used for the initial 
calculations shall be the cost reports for the fiscal year ended 
June 30, 2002. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
§32967. Quasi-Public Facilities 

A. Medicaid payment to quasi-public facilities is a 
facility-specific prospective rate based on budgeted costs. 
Providers shall be required to submit a projected budget for 
the state fiscal year beginning July 1. 

B. The payment rates for quasi-public facilities shall be 
determined as follows: 

1. determine each ICF/DD’s per diem for the base 
year beginning July 1; 

2. calculate the inflation factor using an average CPI 
index applied to each facility’s per diem for the base year to 
determine the inflated per diem; 

3. calculate the median per diem for the facilities’ base 
year; 

4. calculate the facility’s routine cost per diem for the 
SFY beginning July 1 by using the lowest of the budgeted, 
inflated or median per diem rates plus any additional 
allowances; and 

5. calculate the final approved per diem rate for each 
facility by adding routine costs plus any “pass through” 
amounts for ancillary services, provider fees, and grant 
expenses. 

C. Providers may request a final rate adjustment subject 
to submission of supportive documentation and approval by 
the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
§32969. Transitional Rates for Public Facilities 

A. Effective August 1, 2010, the department shall 
establish a transitional Medicaid reimbursement rate of 
$302.08 per day per individual for a public ICF/DD 
community home that is transitioning to a private facility, 
provided that the community home meets the following 
criteria. The community home: 

1. shall have a fully executed Cooperative Endeavor 
Agreement (CEA) with the Office for Citizens with 
Developmental Disabilities for the private operation of the 
facility; 

2. shall have a high concentration of medically fragile 
individuals being served, as determined by the department; 
and  

a.  For purposes of these provisions, a medically 
fragile individual shall refer to an individual who has a 
medically complex condition characterized by multiple, 
significant medical problems that require extended care.  

3. incurs or will incur higher existing costs not 
currently captured in the private ICF/DD rate methodology.  

B. The transitional Medicaid reimbursement rate shall 
only be for the period of transition, which is defined as the 
term of the CEA or a period of three years, whichever is 
shorter. 

C. The transitional Medicaid reimbursement rate is all-
inclusive and incorporates the following cost components: 

1. direct care staffing; 
2. medical/nursing staff, up to 23 hours per day;  
3. medical supplies;  
4. transportation; 
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5. administrative; and  
6. the provider fee.  

D. If the community home meets the criteria in §32969.C 
and the individuals served require that the community home 
has a licensed nurse at the facility 24 hours per day, seven 
days per week, the community home may apply for a 
supplement to the transitional rate. The supplement to the 
rate shall not exceed $25.33 per day per individual.  

E. The total transitional Medicaid reimbursement rate, 
including the supplement, shall not exceed $327.41 per day 
per individual. 

F. The transitional rate and supplement shall not be 
subject to the following: 

1. inflationary factors or adjustments; 
2. rebasing; 
3. budgetary reductions; or 
4. other rate adjustments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#096 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Developmental 
DisabilitiesReimbursement Rate Reduction  

(LAC 50:VII.32903) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:VII.32903 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 

Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of the allocation of additional funds by the 
legislature during the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau 
of Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for intermediate 
care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities 
(ICFs/DD) to increase the per diem rates (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 7).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for ICFs/DD to reduce the per diem rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This 
action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the medical 
assistance programs.  

Taking the proposed per diem rate reduction into 
consideration, the department has carefully reviewed the 
proposed rates and is satisfied that they are consistent with 
efficiency, economy and quality of care and are sufficient to 
enlist enough providers so that private (non-state) 
intermediate care facility services for persons with 
developmental disabilities under the State Plan are available 
at least to the extent that they are available to the general 
population in the state.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities to reduce the per diem rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH─MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII. Long Term Care 
Subpart 3. Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with 

Developmental Disabilities 
Chapter 329. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. Non-State Facilities 
§32903. Rate Determination 

A. - J. … 
K. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the per diem rates for non-state intermediate care 
facilities for persons with developmental disabilities shall be 
reduced by 2 percent of the per diem rates on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:2253 (September 2005), amended LR 
33:462 (March 2007), LR 33:2202 (October 2007), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1555 (July 2010), amended LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
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responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#097 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Laboratory and Radiology Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 4333-4337) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 
§§4334-4337 and repeals LAC 50:XIX.4333 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for laboratory 
and radiology services to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for laboratory and radiology services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). In addition, the provisions contained in this 
Chapter governing the reimbursement for outpatient hospital 
laboratory services were repealed as these provisions have 
been amended and repromulgated in LAC 50:V.Chapter 57. 
The department now proposes to amend the provisions of the 
August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise the formatting of 
LAC 50:XIX.4329 and §§4334-4337 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing laboratory and radiology services. This action is 
being taken to ensure that these provisions are appropriately 
incorporated into the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 

governing the reimbursement methodology for laboratory 
and radiology services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and Radiology 

Chapter 43. Billing and Reimbursement 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement 
§4329. Laboratory Services (Physicians and 

Independent Laboratories)  
A. - H. … 
I. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall 
be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1025 (May 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1897 (September 2009), LR 36:1248 (June 
2010), LR 36: 
§4333. Outpatient Hospital Laboratory Services 

Reimbursement 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Service Financing (for inclusion in the LAC) LR 28:1026 (May 
2002), amended LR 29:1096 (July 2003), repealed LR 36:  
§4334. Radiology Services 

A. - G. … 
H. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be 
reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1897 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36: 
§4335. Portable Radiology Services 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee amounts 
on file as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
30:1026 (May 2004), amended LR 35:1898 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 36: 
§4337. Radiation Therapy Centers 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services 
provided by radiation therapy centers shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee amounts on file as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1898 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#081 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XXVII.573) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXVII.573 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency medical transportation services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for non-emergency medical transportation 
services to further reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department 
now proposes to amend the provisions of the August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule to revise the formatting of LAC 

50:XXVII.573 as a result of the promulgation of the 
November 20, 2010 final Rule governing non-emergency 
medical transportation services. This action is being taken to 
ensure that these provisions are appropriately incorporated 
into the Louisiana Administrative Code.  

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for non-
emergency medical transportation services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII.  Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§573. Non-Emergency, Non-Ambulance 

Transportation 
A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for non-emergency, non-
ambulance medical transportation services shall be reduced 
by 4.5 percent of the rates in effect on July 31, 2010. 

1. Friends and family providers are excluded from the 
rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2565 (November 2010), amended LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#082 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 
Termination of Parent/Family Intervention (Intensive) 

Services and Continued Treatment Clarifications 
(LAC 50:XV.335, 501-505 and 901) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing repeals LAC 50:XV.335 and 
amends LAC 50:XV.501-505 and §901 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
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directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for the Mental 
Health Rehabilitation (MHR) Program to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid for mental health rehabilitation 
services (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
terminated the coverage of Parent/Family Intervention 
(Intensive) (PFII) services in the MHR Program and 
amended the provisions governing medical necessity for 
MHR services in order to establish continued treatment 
criteria (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 8). 
Recipients who currently receive PFII services shall be 
transitioned to comparable services available in the MHR 
Program. The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XV.901 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing mental health rehabilitation services. This action 
is being taken to ensure that these provisions are 
appropriately incorporated into the Louisiana Administrative 
Code. 

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for mental health 
rehabilitation services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 1.  Mental Health Rehabilitation 

Subchapter C. Optional Services 
§335. Parent/Family Intervention (Intensive) 

Repealed.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1085 (May 2005), amended LR 32:2067 
(November 2006), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:2758 
(December 2009), repealed LR 36: 
Chapter 5. Medical Necessity Criteria 
§501. General Provisions 

A. - C. ... 
D. Initially all recipients must meet the medical necessity 

criteria for diagnosis, disability, duration and level of care. 
MHR provican’ders shall rate recipients on the 

CALOCUS/LOCUS at 90 day intervals, or at an interval 
otherwise specified by the bureau, and these scores and 
supporting documentation must be submitted to the bureau 
or its designee upon request. Ongoing services require 
authorization which may occur every 90 days or at any 
interval requested by the bureau or its designee, based on 
progress towards goals, individual needs, and level of care 
requirements which are consistent with the medical necessity 
criteria. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1086 (May 2005) amended LR 32:2067 
(November 2006), LR 34:1914 (September 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
§503. Adult Criteria for Services 

A. - A.3.d.Note. ... 
B. Criteria for Continued Treatment. Continuation of 

MHR treatment is medically necessary for individuals who 
meet all of the following criteria: 

1. clinical evidence indicates a persistence of the 
problems that necessitated the provision of MHR services; 

2. clinical evidence indicates that a less intensive level 
of care would result in exacerbation of the symptoms of the 
individual’s mental disorder and clinical deterioration; 

3. the ISRP has been developed, implemented and 
updated based on the individual recipient’s clinical condition 
and response to treatment, as well as the strengths and 
availability of natural supports, with realistic goals and 
objectives clearly stated; 

4. the recipient is actively engaged in treatment as 
evidenced by regular participation in services as scheduled; 

5. progress is evident that the individual’s disorder can 
be expected to improve significantly through medically 
necessary, appropriate therapy and that the individual is able 
to benefit from the therapy provided; and 

6. there is clinical evidence of symptom improvement. 
If there has been no improvement, the ISRP may be 
reviewed and the frequency, amount or duration of services 
may be adjusted to a clinically appropriate level as 
determined by the bureau. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, amended LR 32:2068 (November 2006), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
§505. Child/Adolescent Criteria for Services 

A. - A.3.d. ... 
B. Criteria for Continued Treatment. Continuation of 

MHR treatment is medically necessary for children/youth 
who meet all of the following criteria: 

1. clinical evidence indicates a persistence of the 
problems that necessitated the provision of MHR services; 

2. clinical evidence indicates that a less intensive level 
of care would result in exacerbation of the symptoms of the 
child’s mental or behavioral disorder and clinical 
deterioration; 

3. the ISRP has been developed, implemented and 
updated based on the individual child’s clinical condition 
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and response to treatment, as well as the strengths and 
availability of natural supports, with realistic goals and 
objectives clearly stated; 

4. the recipient and family are actively engaged in 
treatment as evidenced by regular participation in services as 
scheduled; 

5. progress is evident that the child’s mental or 
behavioral disorder can be expected to improve significantly 
through medically necessary, appropriate therapy and that 
the child is able to benefit from the therapy provided; and 

6. there is clinical evidence of symptom improvement. 
If there has been no improvement, the ISRP may be 
reviewed and the frequency, amount or duration of services 
may be adjusted to a clinically appropriate level as 
determined by the bureau.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:2068 (November 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 9. Reimbursement 
§901. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - F. … 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after August, 1, 

2010, Medicaid reimbursement shall be terminated for 
parent/family intervention (intensive) services.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgate by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1091 (May 2005), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1899 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1249 
(June 2010), LR 36:2565 (November 2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#083 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.25701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.25701 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 

directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing multi-systemic therapy (MST) to reduce the 
reimbursement rates and to establish prior authorization 
requirements (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for multi-systemic therapy services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XV.25701 as a result of the 
promulgation of the November 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing MST services. This action is being taken to ensure 
that these provisions are appropriately incorporated into the 
Louisiana Administrative Code.  

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for multi-
systemic therapy services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 17.  Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Chapter 257. Reimbursement 
§25701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for multi-systemic therapy 
services shall be reduced by 2.63 percent of the rates on file 
as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services financing, LR 
35:247 (February 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 
36:2566 (November 2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
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responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#084 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
Hospitals and Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC:V.5109, 5313, 5317, 5513,  
5517, 5713, 5719, 6115 and 6119) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.5109 and 
amends §5313, §5317, §5513, §5517, §5713, §5719, §6115 
and §6119 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act and as directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislature which states: “The 
secretary is directed to utilize various cost containment 
measures to ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do 
not exceed the level appropriated in this Schedule, including 
but not limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which revised the reimbursement methodology for 
outpatient services rendered by children’s specialty hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 9). In January 
2010, the department established a Medicaid upper payment 
limit financing mechanism to provide supplemental 
payments to hospitals for providing healthcare services to 
low income and needy patients (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 1). As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state 
fiscal year 2010, the department amended the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services to reduce the 
reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state hospitals 
and children’s specialty hospitals (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 36, Number 9). This Rule also incorporated the 
provisions of the September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule, with 
the exception of §5109, and the January 1, 2010 Emergency 
Rule.  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for outpatient hospital services to further 
reduce the reimbursement rates paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals and children’s specialty hospitals (Louisiana 

Register, Volume 36, Number 8). The department now 
proposes to amend the provisions of the August 1, 2010 
Emergency Rule to incorporate the provisions in §5109 of 
the September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule and to revise the 
formatting as a result of the promulgation of the September 
20, 2010 final Rule governing outpatient hospital services. 
This action is being taken to ensure that these provisions are 
appropriately incorporated into the Louisiana Administrative 
Code.  

Taking the proposed reductions into consideration, the 
department has carefully reviewed the proposed rates and is 
satisfied that they are consistent with efficiency, economy 
and quality of care and are sufficient to enlist enough 
providers so that private (non-state) outpatient hospital 
services and children’s specialty hospital services under the 
State Plan are available at least to the extent that they are 
available to the general population in the state.  

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing outpatient hospital services rendered by non-rural, 
non-state hospitals and children’s specialty hospitals.  

Title 50 
PULIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospitals 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 51. General Provisions 
§5109. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for 
outpatient services as a children’s specialty hospital, the 
acute care hospital must meet the following criteria: 

1. be recognized by Medicare as a prospective 
payment system (PPS) exempt children’s specialty hospital; 

2. does not qualify for Medicare disproportionate 
share hospital payments; and 

3. have a Medicaid inpatient days utilization rate 
greater than the mean plus two standard deviations of the 
Medicaid utilization rates for all hospitals in the state 
receiving Medicaid payments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5313. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
D.1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2041 (September 2010), 
LR 36: 
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§5317. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 
A. - B.1. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient surgery shall be reduced by 4.6 
percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 87.91 percent of the 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2042 (September 2010), amended LR 36: 
Chapter 55. Clinic Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5513. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinic services shall be reduced by 
4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2042 (September 2010), 
LR 36: 
§5517. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital clinic services shall be 
reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 
31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2042 (September 2010), amended LR 36: 
Chapter 57. Laboratory Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5713. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient laboratory services shall be reduced 
by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule on file as of July 31, 2010. 

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 

amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), LR 36:2042 (September 2010), 
LR 36: 
§5719. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient clinical diagnostic laboratory 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the fee schedule 
on file as of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2043 (September 2010), amended LR 36: 
Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6115. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

A. - D. … 
1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 

40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-rural, non-state 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than clinical 
diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient surgeries, 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates effective as of 
July 31, 2010. Final reimbursement shall be at 71.13 percent 
of allowable cost through the cost settlement process.  

1. Small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300.143 shall be exempted from this rate reduction.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:153 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Service Financing, LR 
35:1900 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1250 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2043 
(September 2010), LR 36: 
§6119. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. - B.1. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees paid to children’s specialty 
hospitals for outpatient hospital services other than 
rehabilitation services and outpatient hospital facility fees 
shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rates effective as of 
July 31, 2010. 

1. Final reimbursement shall be 87.91 percent of 
allowable cost as calculated through the cost report 
settlement process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2044 (September 2010), amended LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
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copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#085 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Small Rural HospitalsUpper Payment Limit 
(LAC 50:V.5311, 5511, 5711, 5911, and 6113) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.5311, §§5511, 
5711, 5911, and 6113 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first.  

In compliance with Act 327 of the 2007 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing amended the reimbursement methodology 
governing state fiscal year 2009 Medicaid payments to small 
rural hospitals for outpatient hospital services (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 35, Number 5).  

Act 883 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature directed the department to implement a payment 
methodology to optimize Medicaid payments to rural 
hospitals for inpatient and outpatient services. In compliance 
with the directives of Act 883, the department promulgated 
an Emergency Rule which amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for small rural 
hospitals to reimburse outpatient hospital services up to the 
Medicare outpatient upper payment limits (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is 
being promulgated to continue the provisions of the August 
1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This Emergency Rule is being 
promulgated to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by ensuring sufficient provider participation and 
recipient access to services.  

Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for outpatient hospital services rendered by small rural 
hospitals. 

Title 50 
PULIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospitals 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 53. Outpatient Surgery 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5311. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. - A.2.a. ... 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, small rural hospitals shall be reimbursed for outpatient 

hospital surgery services up to the Medicare outpatient upper 
payment limits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:956 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 55. Clinic Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5511. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. - A.2.a. ... 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, small rural hospitals shall be reimbursed for outpatient 
hospital clinic services up to the Medicare outpatient upper 
payment limits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:956 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 57. Laboratory Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5711. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. ... 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, small rural hospitals shall be reimbursed for outpatient 
clinical diagnostic laboratory services up to the Medicare 
outpatient upper payment limits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:956 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 59. Rehabilitation Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§5911. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. - A.2.a. ... 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, small rural hospitals shall be reimbursed for 
rehabilitation services up to the Medicare outpatient upper 
payment limits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:956 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 
Chapter 61. Other Outpatient Hospital Services 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§6113. Small Rural Hospitals 

A. - A.2. ... 
B. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, small rural hospitals shall be reimbursed for services 
other than clinical diagnostic laboratory services, outpatient 
surgeries, rehabilitation services, and outpatient hospital 
facility fees up to the Medicare outpatient upper payment 
limits. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:956 (May 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#098 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Personal Care ServicesLong-Term 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.12917) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amend LAC 50:XV.12917 in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and 
pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services amended the provisions governing the 
reimbursement methodology for long-term personal care 
services (LT-PCS) to reduce the reimbursement rates 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 6).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for long-term personal care services to further 

reduce the reimbursement rates (Louisiana Register, Volume 
36, Number 8). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated 
to continue the provisions of the August 21, 2010 
Emergency Rule. This action is being taken to avoid a 
budget deficit in the medical assistance programs.
 Effective November 30, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the 
Office of Aging and Adult Services amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for long-term 
personal care services to reduce the reimbursement rates. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 9.  Personal Care Services 

Chapter 129. Long-Term Care 
§12917. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - E. ... 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement rate for long-term personal care 
services shall be reduced by 4.6 percent of the rate on file as 
of July 31, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:913 (June 2003), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, LR 34:253 (February 2008), LR 34:2581 (December 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of Aging and 
Adult Services, LR 35:1901 (September 2009), LR 36:1251 (June 
2010), LR 36:  

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#099 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pregnant Women Extended Services 
Dental ServicesReimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XV.16107) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XV.16107 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
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ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2010, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 
services to reduce the reimbursement rates for services 
rendered to Medicaid eligible pregnant women (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 36, Number 9).  

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2011, the department promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for dental services to further reduce the 
reimbursement rates for services rendered to Medicaid 
eligible pregnant women (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 8). The department now proposes to amend the 
provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule to revise 
the formatting of LAC 50:XV.16107 as a result of the 
promulgation of the September 20, 2010 final Rule 
governing the Pregnant Women Extended Services Dental 
Program. This action is being taken to ensure that these 
provisions are appropriately incorporated into the Louisiana 
Administrative Code.  

Effective November 20, 2010, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions of the August 1, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for dental 
services rendered to Medicaid eligible pregnant women.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 13.  Pregnant Women Extended Services 

Chapter 161. Dental Services 
§16107. Reimbursement 

A. - D.3.q. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 

2010, the reimbursement fees for dental services provided to 
Medicaid eligible pregnant women shall be reduced to the 
following percentages of the 2009 National Dental Advisory 
Service Comprehensive Fee Report 70th percentile, unless 
otherwise stated in this Chapter: 

1. 69 percent for the comprehensive periodontal 
evaluation exam; 

2. 65 percent for the following diagnostic services: 
a. intraoral-periapical first film; 
b. intraoral-periapical, each additional film; and 
c. panoramic film and prophylaxis, adult; and 

3. 58 percent for the remaining diagnostic services 
and all periodontic procedures, restorative and oral and 
maxillofacial surgery procedures which includes the 
following dental services: 

a. intraoral, occlusal film;  

b. bitewings, two films;  
c. amalgam (one, two or three surfaces) primary or 

permanent;  
d. amalgam (four or more surfaces); 
e. resin-based composite (one, two or three 

surfaces), anterior;  
f. resin-based composite (four or more surfaces) or 

involving incisal angle, anterior;  
g. resin-based composite crown, anterior;  
h. resin-based composite (one, two, three, four or 

more surfaces), posterior; 
i. prefabricated stainless steel crown, primary or 

permanent tooth; 
j. prefabricated resin crown; 
k. periodontal scaling and root planning (four or 

more teeth per quadrant);  
l. full mouth debridement to enable comprehensive 

evaluation and diagnosis; 
m. extraction, coronal remnants-deciduous tooth; 
n. extraction, erupted tooth or exposed root 

(elevation and/or forceps removal);  
o. surgical removal of erupted tooth requiring 

elevation of mucoperiosteal flap and removal of bone and/or 
section of tooth;  

p. removal of impacted tooth, soft tissue; and 
q. removal of impacted tooth, partially bony. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:434 (March 2004), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1902 (September 2009), amended LR 36:2044 
(September 2010), LR 36: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#086 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Board of Parole (LAC 22:XI.103, 503, 511, and 1301) 

The Board of Parole is exercising the emergency 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act [R.S. 
49:953(B)] to amend and re-promulgate the rules of the 
Louisiana Board of Parole. 

The Emergency Rule implements several Acts of the 2010 
Regular Session as follows: 
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Act No. 469 provides for membership of the board; 
specifically an ex officio member. The ex officio member 
shall not be a voting member nor shall he be counted or 
permitted to be counted for purposes of members necessary 
to take board action or to establish quorum. 

Act No. 566 allows the Board to grant parole by 2/3 vote 
of a three-member panel or if the number exceeds a three 
member panel, a majority vote of those present if all of the 
following conditions are met: 

(1) the offender has not been convicted of a crime of 
violence or a sex crime;  

(2) the offender has not committed any disciplinary 
offenses in the 12 consecutive months prior to the parole 
eligibility date;  

(3) the offender has completed the mandatory 
minimum of 100 hours of pre-release programming;  

(4) the offender has completed substance abuse 
treatment as applicable;  

(5) the offender has obtained a GED credential, unless 
the offender is deemed incapable of obtaining a GED 
credential, then the offender must complete at least one of 
the following: a literacy program, an adult basic education 
program or a job skills training program;  

(6) the offender has obtained a low-risk level 
designation determined by a validated risk assessment 
instrument approved by the Secretary of the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections. 

Act No. 792 allows an offender to earn good behavior 
credit while on parole. 

Act No. 961 amends the method by which one 
appointment to the Parole Board is made relative to victim's 
rights advocacy organizations.  

The Emergency Rule is necessary to implement the 
changes to the Louisiana Board of Parole’s Rules to allow 
the Louisiana Board of Parole to immediately start using a 
2/3 vote at the hearings of offenders who qualify under this 
section, to add an ex officio member to the board 
membership, to provide that offenders may earn credit for 
good behavior while on parole and to provide for 
appointments to the Parole Board on or after August 15, 
2010. Implementation of the changes could possibly result in 
a cost savings to the State if the offender is released from 
physical custody of the Louisiana Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections. A delay in promulgation of the rules 
would have an adverse impact on the offenders who fall 
under the new conditions.  

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 20, 
2010, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or until 
adoption of the final rule, whichever occurs first. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part XI.  Board of Parole 

Chapter 1. Administration 
§103. Composition of the Board 

A.1. The board shall be composed of seven members 
appointed by the governor and one ex-officio member. Of 
the seven members appointed by the Governor, one shall be 
the chairman of the board. 

a. The warden, or in his absence the deputy warden, 
of the correctional facility in which the offender is 

incarcerated shall be an ex officio member of the board. 
When the offender is housed in a local correctional facility 
and the warden or deputy warden of that facility is not able 
to attend the offender's parole hearing, the warden, or in his 
absence the deputy warden, of the facility where the 
offender's parole hearing is held may serve as an ex officio 
member. The ex officio member shall not be a voting 
member nor shall he be counted or permitted to be counted 
for purposes of the number of members necessary to take 
board action or the number of members necessary to 
establish quorum. In all other respects, the ex officio 
member shall have all duties, authority, requirements and 
benefits of any other board member. 

2. … 
3. One member shall be appointed from a list of 

names submitted by any victim's rights advocacy 
organization which is recognized as a nonprofit with the 
Internal Revenue Service, incorporated or organized in the 
state of Louisiana and in good standing and does not engage 
in political activity, with each organization submitting a list 
of three names. However, no person nominated by any 
victim's rights advocacy organization shall be appointed to 
serve as a member of the board who has previously been 
confirmed by the senate and has served as a member of the 
board. 

4. Each member shall, except the ex officio member, 
devote full time to the duties of the office and shall not 
engage in any other business or profession or hold any other 
public office. 

B. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 2:113 (April 1976), amended by 
the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, 
LR 24:2292 (December 1998), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Meetings and Hearing of the Board of 

Parole 
§503. Selection of Three-Member Panels 

A. The board shall meet in a minimum of three-member 
panels, except as otherwise provided in these rules. 

B. The chairman of the board shall randomly assign all 
three-member panels. Each panel shall appoint the 
chairperson of that three-member panel. 

C. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq. and R.S. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2298 
(December 1998), amended LR 37: 
§511. Public Hearings 

A. - B.2. … 
C.1. A unanimous vote is required to grant parole or to 

recommend work release regardless of the number of board 
members at the parole hearing, except as provided for in 
Subparagraph C.1.a. of this Subsection. 

a. The board may grant parole with two votes of a 
three-member panel, or, if the number exceeds a three-
member panel, a majority vote of those present if all of the 
following conditions are met: 
 i. the offender has not been convicted of a crime 
of violence as defined in R.S. 14:2(B) or a sex offense as 
defined in R.S. 15:541, or convicted of an offense which 
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would constitute a crime of violence as defined in R.S. 
14:2(B) or a sex offense as defined in R.S.15:541, regardless 
of the date of conviction. 
 ii. the offender has not committed any 
disciplinary offenses in the twelve consecutive months prior 
to the parole eligibility date. 
 iii. the offender has completed the mandatory 
minimum of one hundred hours of pre-release programming 
in accordance with R.S. 15:827.1. 
 iv. the offender has completed substance abuse 
treatment as applicable. 
 v. the offender has obtained a GED credential, 
unless the offender has previously obtained a high school 
diploma or is deemed by a certified educator as being 
incapable of obtaining a GED credential due to a learning 
disability. If the offender is deemed incapable of obtaining a 
GED credential, the offender must complete at least one of 
the following:  

(a). a literacy program; 
(b). an adult basic education program; or  
(c). a job skills training program; 

 vi. the offender has obtained a low-risk level 
designation determined by a validated risk assessment 
instrument approved by the secretary of the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections. 

b. Notwithstanding any other provision of law in 
this section, no person convicted of a crime of violence 
against any peace officer as defined in R.S. 14.30(B), shall 
be granted parole except after a meeting, duly noticed and 
held on a date to be determined by the chairman, at which at 
least five of the seven members of the board are present and 
all members present vote to grant parole. 

C.2. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq. and RS. 15:540 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2299 
(December 1998), amended LR 28:1597 (July 2002), amended LR 
37: 
Chapter 13. Time Served 
§1301. Time Must Be Served if Revoked 

A.1. An offender returned to incarceration for a parole 
violation that does not include a new sentence for a felony 
offense will be returned to serve the remainder of the 
original sentence as of the date of his release on parole, 
subject to applicable commutation statutes or good time 
credits and any credit for time served for good behavior 
while on parole. 

2. … 
B. An offender returned to incarceration as a parole 

violator who has received a new sentence for a felony 
offense while on parole shall serve the remainder of the 
original sentence as of the date of his release on parole, 
subject to applicable commutation statutes or good time 
credits and any credit for time served for good behavior 
while on parole. The new sentence shall be served 
consecutively to the previous sentence unless a concurrent 
term of imprisonment is expressly directed by the court. 

C. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:574.2 et seq., R.S. 15:535 et seq., R.S. 15:540 et seq. and R.S. 
15:571.5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Board of Parole, LR 24:2306 
(December 1998), amended LR 37: 

 
C. A. Lowe, Jr. 
Chairman 

1011#022 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for Adult Offenders 
(LAC 22:I.341 and 363) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections is 
exercising the emergency provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act [R.S. 49:953(B)] to amend and re-promulgate 
the rules of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections. 

The Emergency Rule implements Acts of the 2010 
Regular Session as follows. 

Act No. 379 enacts a new law which prohibits fire-raising 
in a correctional facility. 

Act No. 505 amends the definition of contraband in a 
correctional facility. 

The Emergency Rule is necessary to implement changes 
to the Department of Public Safety and Corrections' 
Offender Rule Book which are effective August 15, 2010. A 
delay in promulgation of the rules would have an adverse 
impact on the Department's primary mission which is to 
provide for staff and offender safety by maintaining an 
organized and disciplined system of operations which 
enhance the stability of correctional facility operations.  

This Declaration of Emergency is effective November 20, 
2010, and shall remain in effect for the maximum period 
allowed under the Administrative Procedure Act or until 
adoption of the final rule, whichever occurs first. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
Subchapter B. Disciplinary Rules and Procedures for 

Adult Offenders 
§351. Correcting Disciplinary Reports 

A. - B.NOTE. … 
C. Evidence. The disciplinary board shall carefully 

evaluate all evidence presented or stipulated. In situations 
where the disciplinary report is based solely on information 
from a confidential informant or from an offender whose 
identity is known, there must be other evidence to 
corroborate the violation. That evidence may include, but is 
not limited to, witness statements from another confidential 
informant who has not been unreliable in the past and has 
legitimate knowledge of the present incident(s), the record 
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(investigative report) or other evidence. If requested, the 
accusing employee must be summoned to testify about the 
reliability and credibility of the confidential informant when 
the report is based solely on information from a confidential 
informant. (In order to accomplish this, the informant must 
have been reliable in the past and/or have legitimate 
knowledge of the present incident(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:823, Wolff v. McDonnell, 94 S.Ct. 2963 (1974), Ralph v. Dees, 
C.A. 71-94, USDC (Md. La.) and Sandin V. Conner, 115 S.Ct. 2293 
(1995). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR27:417 (March 2001), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, LR 34:2199 (October 2008), amended LR 37: 
§363. Disciplinary Rules 

A. … 
B. Contraband (Schedule B). No offender shall have 

under his immediate control any illicit drugs, any product 
that could be used to adulterate a urine sample, unauthorized 
medication, alcoholic beverage, yeast, tattoo machine, tattoo 
paraphernalia, syringe, any type weapon, cellular phone or 
component hardware or other electronic communications 
device, whether operational or not, (including but not limited 
to beepers, pagers, subscriber identity module (SIM) cards, 
portable memory chips, batteries for these devices, chargers, 
global satellite system equipment), or any other item not 
permitted by department regulation or institutional posted 
policy to be received or possessed or any other item 
detrimental to the security of the facility. Money is 
contraband. Any item not being used for the purpose for 
which it was intended will be considered contraband if it is 
being used in a manner that is clearly detrimental to the 
security of the facility. Possession and/or use of lighted 
cigarettes or other smoking materials are deemed to be 
contraband in non-smoking areas. To smuggle or attempt to 
smuggle prohibited items into or out of the facility will be in 
violation of this rule. 

B.1. - X.20. … 
21. Starting, causing, assisting in the creation of any 

fire, heat or spark of any nature by any means or methods, or 
attempting to start a fire and/or attempting to heat substances 
utilizing electrical/mechanical devices or any other means, 
other than in the performance of an approved work 
assignment; 

22 - 23. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:823, Wolff v. McDonnell, 94 S.Ct. 2963 (1974), Ralph v. Dees, 
C.A. 71-94, USDC (Md. La.) and Sandin v. Conner, 115 S.Ct. 2293 
(1995), Cassels v. Stalder, 342 F. Supp. 2d 555. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 27:419 (March 2001), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, LR 31:1099 (May 2005), LR 34:2201 
(October 2008), amended LR 37: 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

1011#021 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Electronic Filing Mandate for Reports and Returns Related 
to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund (LAC 61:III.1527) 

Under the authority or R.S. 47:1520 and 1511 and in 
accordance with provisions of the Administrative Procedure 
Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of Revenue, Policy 
Services Division, proposes to adopt LAC 61:III.1527 to 
mandate the electronic filing of any report or return related 
to the Sports Facility Assistance Fund. 

The Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the Department 
of Revenue to require electronic filing of these reports and 
returns for the 2010 taxable year. Without this Rule, all 
professional athletic teams and professional athletes that 
participate in athletic events within the state of Louisiana 
and are therefore required to file certain reports and returns 
will not know which method to use in order to file these 
reports and returns. 

This Rule, adopted in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., shall become effective on 
January 1, 2011 and shall remain in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the act.  

Title 61 
REVENUE 

Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 
Returns and Payments 

§1527. Electronic Filing Mandate for Reports and 
Returns Related to the Sports Facility Assistance 
Fund 

A. R.S. 47:1520(A)(1)(e) allows the secretary to require 
electronic filing of any return or report filed by a 
professional athletic team or a professional athlete which is 
required to be filed by the Department of Revenue for the 
administration of the Sports Facility Assistance Fund. 

B. Effective for the 2010 tax year filings and all tax year 
thereafter, all reports and returns filed by a professional 
athletic team or a professional athlete shall be filed 
electronically with the Department of Revenue using the 
electronic format provided by the department. 

1. The returns and reports to be filed electronically 
include, but are not limited to, the following: 

a. L-1 with the team roster attached; 
b. L-3 reconciliation with attached, completed W-2s 

containing all federal information; 
c. IT 540B-NRA for nonresident athletes; 
d. IT 540 for resident athletes. 

2. The team rosters attached to the L-1 should include 
the following information: 

a. team or franchise name; 
b. team or franchise account number; 
c. type of game or sporting event; 
d. sporting event or event locations; 
e. practice date if applicable; 
f. sporting event or game date; 
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g. the names of each player and staff member who 
traveled to the sporting game or event in Louisiana; 

h. the social security numbers of each player and 
staff member; 

i. the addresses of each player and staff member; 
j. the job description of each player and staff 

member; 
k. the quarter salary of each player and staff 

member; 
l. total duty as defined in LAC 61:I.1304(I)(2); 
m. Louisiana duty days which includes days of all 

practices, meetings and games; 
n. the Louisiana wages of each athlete and staff 

member; 
o. the Louisiana withholding tax of each athlete and 

staff member; and 
p. the total roster Louisiana withholding tax. 

C. Failure to comply with this electronic filing 
requirement will result in the assessment of a penalty $1,000 
per failure. 

D. If it is determined that the failure to comply is 
attributable, not to the negligence of the taxpayer, but to 
other causes set forth in written form and considered 
reasonable by the secretary, the secretary may remit or waive 
payment of the whole or any part of the penalty. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1520 and 1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 36: 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

1011#024 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Crab Fishery Opening 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allows 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission to use emergency procedures to set 
shrimp seasons, oyster seasons and finfish seasons and R.S. 
56:6.1 which provides the secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries with authority to declare a closed 
season on any and all species of fish found or existing in the 
waters of the state, and a declaration of emergency adopted 
by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on November 4, 
2010 which grants authority to the Secretary to broaden or to 
reopen the area closed to fishing if biological and technical 
data indicate the need to do so, the Secretary hereby opens 
commercial crab fishing in that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters seaward of a line extending one-
quarter mile or more from the shoreline beginning at 29 
degrees 12 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 01 
minutes 05 seconds west longitude; thence south to 29 
degrees 11 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 01 

minutes 10 seconds west longitude; thence west southwest to 
29 degrees 11 minutes 10 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence west 
southwest to 29 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 25 seconds west longitude; 
thence south southwest to 29 degrees 08 minutes 55 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 06 minutes 15 seconds west 
longitude; thence east southeast to 29 degrees 08 minutes 15 
seconds north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 10 seconds 
west longitude; thence south southwest to 29 degrees 04 
minutes 50 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 04 minutes 10 
seconds west longitude; thence north northwest to 29 
degrees 06 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 06 
minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence south southwest 
to 28 degrees 59 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 
degrees 08 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence south 
southwest to 28 degrees 59 minutes 15 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 08 minutes 15 seconds west longitude; 
thence south southwest to 28 degrees 58 minutes 20 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 10 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude; thence north northwest to 29 degrees 02 minutes 
40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 16 minutes 20 seconds 
west longitude; thence south southwest to 28 degrees 54 
minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 25 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude including those waters within North 
Pass west of 89 degrees 01 minutes 05 seconds west 
longitude, Pass a Loutre west of 89 degrees 02 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude, Northeast Pass west of 89 degrees 
02 minutes 10 seconds west longitude, Southeast Pass west 
of 89 degrees 04 minutes 10 seconds west longitude and 
South Pass west of 89 degrees 08 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude and Southwest Pass east of 89 degrees 25 minutes 
00 seconds west longitude and excluding that portion of state 
inside and outside territorial waters bounded by the 
following coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 12 minutes 35 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 01 minutes 05 seconds west 
longitude, 2) 29 degrees 11 minutes 35 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 01 minutes 10 seconds west longitude, 3) 
29 degrees 11 minutes 10 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 11 
minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 55 
seconds west longitude effective November 8, 2010. 

The Deepwater Horizon drilling rig accident has resulted 
in a significant release of hydrocarbon pollutants into the 
waters offshore of southeast Louisiana and these pollutants 
have the potential to impact fish and other aquatic life in 
portions of Louisiana’s coastal waters. Efforts have been 
made and are continuing to minimize the potential threats to 
fish and other aquatic life. The secretary has determined that 
these portions of state inside and outside waters shall open to 
the commercial harvest of crabs November 8, 2010.  

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1011#031 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Fisheries Opening  
in Portions of the Mississippi River Delta  

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons, and R.S. 56:6.1 which 
provides the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries with authority to declare a closed season on any 
and all species of fish found or existing in the waters of the 
state, and a declaration of emergency adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on October 7, 2010 
which grants authority to the secretary to broaden or to 
reopen the area closed to fishing if biological and technical 
data indicate the need to do so, the secretary hereby opens to 
commercial fishing except for the harvest of crabs and 
oysters that portion of state inside and outside territorial 
waters south of the northern shore of Pass a Loutre and 29 
degrees 12 minutes 40 seconds north latitude seaward of a 
line extending one-quarter mile or more from the shoreline 
beginning at 29 degrees 12 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 
89 degrees 01 minutes 05 seconds west longitude; thence 
south to 29 degrees 11 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 
degrees 01 minutes 10 seconds west longitude; thence west 
southwest to 29 degrees 11 minutes 10 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; 
thence west southwest to 29 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 25 seconds west 
longitude; thence south southwest to 29 degrees 08 minutes 
55 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 06 minutes 15 seconds 
west longitude; thence east southeast to 29 degrees 08 
minutes 15 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 10 
seconds west longitude; thence south southwest to 29 
degrees 04 minutes 50 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 04 
minutes 10 seconds west longitude; thence west northwest to 
29 degrees 06 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
06 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence south 
southwest to 28 degrees 59 minutes 35 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 08 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; 
thence south southwest to 28 degrees 59 minutes 15 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 08 minutes 15 seconds west 
longitude; thence south southwest to 28 degrees 58 minutes 
20 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 10 minutes 00 seconds 
west longitude; thence north northwest to 29 degrees 02 
minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 16 minutes 20 
seconds west longitude; thence south southwest to 28 
degrees 55 minutes 10 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 25 
minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence south to 28 
degrees 54 minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 25 
minutes 00 seconds west longitude including those waters 
within North Pass, Pass a Loutre, Northeast Pass, Southeast 
Pass, South Pass and Southwest Pass effective October 28, 
2010. 

The Deepwater Horizon drilling rig accident has resulted 
in a significant release of hydrocarbon pollutants into the 
waters offshore of southeast Louisiana and these pollutants 
have the potential to impact fish and other aquatic life in 
portions of these coastal waters. Efforts have been made and 

are continuing to be made to minimize the potential threats 
to fish and other aquatic life. The secretary has determined 
that these portions of state inside and outside waters shall 
open to commercial fishing except for the harvest of crabs 
and oysters October 28, 2010.  

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

 
1011#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Commercial Greater Amberjack Closure 

The commercial season for the harvest of greater 
amberjack in Louisiana state waters will close effective 
12:01 a.m. on October 28, 2010. The secretary has been 
informed that the commercial season for greater amberjack 
in the Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of 
Louisiana will close at 12:01 a.m. on October 28, 2010, and 
will remain closed until 12:01 a.m. January 1, 2011.  

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 49:953, which 
allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use seasonal rules to 
set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which provides that the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set seasons for 
saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the secretary of 
the department by the commission in its resolution of 
January 7, 2010 to modify opening and closing dates of 2010 
commercial reef fish seasons in Louisiana state waters when 
he is informed by the Regional Director of NOAA Fisheries 
that the seasons have been closed in adjacent Federal waters, 
and that NOAA Fisheries requests that the season be 
modified in Louisiana state waters, the secretary hereby 
declares: 

The commercial fisheries for greater amberjack in 
Louisiana waters will close at 12:01 a.m. on October 28, 
2010, and remain closed until 12:01 a.m., January 1, 2011. 
Effective with this closure, no person shall commercially 
harvest, possess, purchase, barter, trade, sell or attempt to 
purchase, barter, trade or sell greater amberjack whether 
within or without Louisiana waters. Nothing shall prohibit 
the possession or sale of fish legally taken prior to the 
closure providing that all commercial dealers possessing 
greater amberjack taken legally prior to the closure shall 
maintain appropriate records in accordance with R.S. 
56:306.5 and R.S. 56:306.6. 

The secretary has been notified by NOAA Fisheries that 
the commercial greater amberjack season in Federal waters 
of the Gulf of Mexico will both close at 12:01 a.m. on 
October 28, 2010, and the season will remain closed until 
12:01 a.m. January 1, 2011. Having compatible season 
regulations in state waters is necessary to provide effective 
rules and efficient enforcement for the fishery, to prevent 
overfishing of the species in the long term. 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1011#007 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Oyster Season Delay 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of Louisiana 
Revised Statutes (R.S.) 49:953, and under the authority of 
R.S. 56:433, R.S. 56:435.1 and R.S. 56:435.1.1(D) notice is 
hereby given that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby declare that the 2010/2011 oyster season opening in 
the following areas shall be delayed until further notice: 

1. The primary public oyster seed grounds east of the 
Mississippi River, as described in Louisiana Administrative 
Code (LAC) 76:VII.511 and LAC 76:VII.513, including the 
Lake Machias/Fortuna Sacking-Only Area of the public 
grounds which is generally Lake Fortuna and Lake Machias 
to a line from Mozambique Point to Point Gardner to Grace 
Point at the Mississippi River Gulf Outlet, and the Sacking-
Only Area in the American Bay area which shall be that 
portion of the public grounds within Bay Long west of a line 
running generally north/south from a point at 29 degrees 31 
minutes 13.78 seconds N latitude, 89 degrees 34 minutes 
9.79 seconds W longitude to a point at 29 degrees 29 
minutes 40.67 seconds N latitude, 89 degrees 34 minutes and 
8.48 seconds W longitude. 

2. The Hackberry Bay Public Oyster Seed Reservation 
as described in R.S. 56:434.E. 

All other 2010/2011 oyster season details as outlined by 
the August 5, 2010 Declaration of Emergency passed by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission shall remain in effect at 
this time. 

This oyster season delay is necessary to protect and 
conserve oyster resources in these areas for long-term 
sustainability. Significant spat catch has been documented in 
portions of these areas by the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries during recent biological sampling. Additionally, 
sampling revealed late-summer oyster mortalities which 
further decreased a much-reduced oyster stock assessment in 
portions of these areas. Due to low resource availability and 
the presence of significant spat catches, an oyster season 
delay is ordered as a conservation measure to protect oyster 
resources in these areas. 

The secretary is authorized to take emergency action to 
reopen areas previously closed or delayed if the threat to the 
oyster resource has ended, or may open areas if substantial 
oyster resources are located. 

Notice of any opening, delaying or closing of a season 
will be made by public notice at least 72 hours prior to such 
action unless such closure is ordered by the Louisiana 
Department of Health and Hospitals for public health 
concerns. 

 
Stephen J. Oats 
Chairman 

1011#030 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Recreational and Commercial Fisheries Closure 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, and under the 
authority of R.S. 56:6.1, the Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission hereby closes all commercial fishing, effective 
immediately November 4, 2010, in the following area:  

That portion of state and territorial waters bounded by the 
following coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 12 minutes 35 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 01 minutes 05 seconds west 
longitude, 2) 29 degrees 11 minutes 35 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 01 minutes 10 seconds west longitude, 3) 
29 degrees 11 minutes 10 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 11 
minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 55 
seconds west longitude and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters south of the southern shore of Pass 
a Loutre and 29 degrees 11 minutes 25 seconds north 
latitude westward to 89 degrees 25 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude and the eastern shore of Southwest Pass of the 
Mississippi River and south of 29 degrees 08 minutes 35 
seconds north latitude inside of a line extending seaward 
one-quarter mile or more from the shoreline beginning at 29 
degrees 11 minutes 25 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 03 
minutes 30 seconds west longitude; thence east southeast to 
29 degrees 11 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
02 minutes 25 seconds west longitude; thence south 
southwest to 29 degrees 08 minutes 55 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 06 minutes 15 seconds west longitude; 
thence east southeast to 29 degrees 08 minutes 15 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 02 minutes 10 seconds west 
longitude; thence south southwest to 29 degrees 04 minutes 
50 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 04 minutes 10 seconds 
west longitude; thence north northwest to 29 degrees 06 
minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 06 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude; thence south southwest to 28 
degrees 59 minutes 35 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 08 
minutes 00 seconds west longitude; thence south southwest 
to 28 degrees 59 minutes 15 seconds north latitude 89 
degrees 08 minutes 15 seconds west longitude; thence south 
southwest to 28 degrees 58 minutes 20 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 10 minutes 00 seconds west longitude; 
thence north northwest to 29 degrees 02 minutes 40 seconds 
north latitude 89 degrees 16 minutes 20 seconds west 
longitude; thence south southwest to 28 degrees 54 minutes 
40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 25 minutes 00 seconds 
west longitude excluding those waters within Pass a Loutre 
west of 89 degrees 02 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 
Northeast Pass west of 89 degrees 02 minutes 10 seconds 
west longitude, Southeast Pass west of 89 degrees 04 
minutes 10 seconds west longitude and South Pass west of 
89 degrees 08 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, and that 
portion of state inside waters north of 29 degrees 26 minutes 
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00 seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 30 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude from 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude westward to the eastern shore of the 
Barataria Waterway, and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters bounded by the following 
coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 21 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 2) 
29 degrees 18 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 3) 29 degrees 15 
minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 56 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 17 minutes 10 
seconds north latitude 89 degrees 57 minutes 30 seconds 
west longitude. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission also closes all 
commercial crab fishing, effective immediately November 4, 
2010, in that portion of state inside waters south of the 
northern shore of Pass a Loutre and the Mississippi River 
Channel at 29 degrees 09 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 
westward to the western shore of Southwest Pass of the 
Mississippi River, and that portion of state outside territorial 
waters south of 29 degrees 12 minutes 40 seconds north 
latitude westward to 89 degrees 25 minutes 00 seconds west 
longitude. 

Recreational fishing is open in all state inside and outside 
territorial waters, except in the following areas, where only 
recreational angling and charter boat angling is allowed: that 
portion of state inside waters north of 29 degrees 26 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 30 minutes 
00 seconds north latitude from 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude westward to the eastern shore of the 
Barataria Waterway, and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters bounded by the following 
coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 21 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 2) 
29 degrees 18 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 3) 29 degrees 15 
minutes 40 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 56 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude, 4) 29 degrees 17 minutes 10 
seconds north latitude 89 degrees 57 minutes 30 seconds 
west longitude. 

The Deepwater Horizon drilling rig accident has resulted 
in a significant release of hydrocarbon pollutants into the 
waters offshore of southeast Louisiana and these pollutants 
have the potential to impact fish and other aquatic life in 
portions of Louisiana’s coastal waters. Efforts have been 
made and are continuing to minimize the potential threats to 
fish and other aquatic life.  

The commission hereby grants authority to the Secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to open, close, 
reopen-reclose, broaden or otherwise modify the areas 
closed and opened to fishing if biological, environmental 
and technical data indicate the need to do so, or as needed to 
effectively implement the provisions herein. 

 
Stephen J. Oats 
Chairman 

1011#029 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Recreational and Commercial Fisheries  
OpeningBarataria Basin 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons, and R.S. 56:6.1 which 
provides the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and 
Fisheries with authority to declare a closed season on any 
and all species of fish found or existing in the waters of the 
state, and a declaration of emergency adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission on October 7, 2010 
which grants authority to the secretary to broaden or to 
reopen the area closed to fishing if biological and technical 
data indicate the need to do so, the secretary hereby opens to 
recreational and commercial fishing within the Barataria 
Basin that portion of state inside and outside territorial 
waters bounded by the following coordinates: 1) 29 degrees 
15 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 32 minutes 
30 seconds west longitude, 2) 29 degrees 13 minutes 40 
seconds north latitude 89 degrees 33 minutes 00 seconds 
west longitude, 3) 29 degrees 18 minutes 00 seconds north 
latitude 89 degrees 48 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, 4) 
29 degrees 20 minutes 00 seconds north latitude 89 degrees 
48 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, and that portion of 
state inside and outside territorial waters north of 29 degrees 
18 minutes 00 seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 
22 minutes 00 seconds north latitude from 89 degrees 48 
minutes 00 seconds west longitude westward to 89 degrees 
52 minutes 00 seconds west longitude, and that portion of 
state inside waters north of 29 degrees 23 minutes 00 
seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 26 minutes 00 
seconds north latitude from 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude westward to the eastern shore of the 
Barataria Waterway, and that portion of state inside and 
outside territorial waters north of 29 degrees 08 minutes 15 
seconds north latitude and south of 29 degrees 11 minutes 40 
seconds north latitude from 90 degrees 03 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude westward to 90 degrees 07 minutes 
00 seconds west longitude, effective October 14, 2010. 

The Deepwater Horizon drilling rig accident has resulted 
in a significant release of hydrocarbon pollutants into the 
waters offshore of southeast Louisiana and these pollutants 
have the potential to impact fish and other aquatic life in 
portions of these coastal waters. Efforts have been made and 
are continuing to be made to minimize the potential threats 
to fish and other aquatic life. The secretary has determined 
that these portions of state inside and outside waters shall 
open to recreational and commercial fishing except for the 
harvest of oysters October 14, 2010. 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1011#001 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Board of Animal Health 

Trichomoniasis (LAC 7:XXI.339) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 
(R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and with the enabling statutes, R.S. 
3:2093, 3:2095, and 3:2097, the Louisiana Board of Animal 
Health has amended the attached regulations to provide for 
the testing and reporting of cattle for trichomoniasis, 
movement and disposition of bulls and cows that test 
positive, the quarantine of cattle relative to trichomoniasis, 
and to provide for related matters. 

Trichomoniasis is a venereal disease of cattle brought 
about by Tritrichomonas foetus, a protozoal parasite, which 
may cause early embryonic death of the fetus or late term 
abortion. Bulls carry the parasite, pass it on to cows during 
breeding, and the parasite may be transmitted from the cow 
to her calf during birthing. The parasite is almost impossible 
to detect in cows and is difficult to detect in bulls. The cost 
of testing a bull is $100, but the financial losses caused by 
trichomoniasis are substantial. Infected herds have a 
decrease in the number of calves being born, sometimes as 
much as a 55 percent decrease. The Louisiana cattle industry 
has approximately 420,000 breeding age cows and 25,600 
bulls. Based on this number of cows the calving rate is 
approximately 85 percent, for a total of 544,000 calves a 
year. A breeding cow will sell, on average, for approximately 
$1,200 and a breeding bull will sell, on average for 
approximately $2,000. A calf will sell, on average, for $500. 
A cow or bull sold for slaughter will bring, on average, 
$500. If Louisiana’s cattle become infected statewide with 
trichomoniasis it is conservatively estimated that 50 percent 
of the cows and bulls will be infected and that the calving 
rate will decrease to a 50 percent birthing rate. Based on this 
estimate the Louisiana cattle industry would lose 
$112,000,000 from unborn calves, $22,400,000 from the sale 
of infected breeding cows for slaughter rather than as a 
breeder, and $19,200,000 from the sale of infected bulls for 
slaughter, rather than as a breeding bull. The cost for 
replacing the infected cows and bulls with cows and bulls 
capable of breeding immediately would be $38,400,000 for 
replacement cows and $25,600,000 for replacement bulls. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXI.  Diseases of Animals 
Chapter 3. Cattle 
§339. Trichomoniasis Testing and Movement 

Requirements for Cattle 
A. Every bull moved into this state and every bull within 

this state which is sold, exchanged, leased, rented, sold, or 
otherwise transferred in ownership or possession (hereafter 
collectively referred to as “transferred”) from one person to 
another shall be accompanied by a test result showing that 
the bull is free from Trichomoniasis (hereafter referred to as 

“negative test result” or “testing negative”) except for the 
following bulls. 

1. Exhibition and rodeo bulls that are temporarily in 
the state only for the purpose of the event and will be 
leaving the state immediately after the event.  

2. Bulls going direct to slaughter or being sold to go 
direct to slaughter. 

3. Virgin bulls accompanied by a certification of 
virgin status signed by the owner of the bull, or the owner's 
representative or an accredited veterinarian and including the 
bull’s individual identification. 

4. Bulls being transported through this state in 
interstate commerce unless offloaded and comingled with 
female cattle already in this state that are not going direct to 
slaughter. 

B. Every bull required to be accompanied by a negative 
test result shall be tested no later than 30 days prior to being 
moved into the state or the date of transfer, except for bulls 
that are in a trichomoniasis-free certification program or a 
semen certification program, recognized by the state 
veterinarian.  

C. Every bull moved into this state and every bull within 
this state which is transferred from one person to another, 
except for the bulls listed in Subparagraph 1-4 of Subsection 
A of this Section, shall be identified by one or more of the 
following means: 

1. Brucellosis ear tag;  
2. official 840 radio frequency identification device 

(RFID); 
3. official 840 flap or bangle tag; 
4. official individual animal breed registry brand; 
5. official individual animal breed registry tattoo; or  
6. an official state of origin trichomoniasis tag. 

D. The requirements for testing a bull for trichomoniasis 
are as follows. 

1. All test samples shall be drawn by an accredited 
veterinarian. 

2. The testing of samples shall be through the use of a 
test approved by the state veterinarian or by USDA APHIS 
VS that is performed at an official laboratory or by an 
accredited veterinarian qualified to test for trichomoniasis. 

3. Test results that show that the tested animal has 
trichomoniasis (hereafter referred to as “positive test results” 
or “testing positive”) shall immediately cause the tested 
animal to be classified as trichomoniasis infected and subject 
to the restrictions set out in this Section. 

4. An additional test to confirm the presence of 
trichomoniasis may be requested in the event of an initial 
positive test result, but the request for the confirmatory test 
must be made to the state veterinarian within 5 business days 
of notification of the positive test result. 

a. If the confirming test comes back negative then 
the tested animal is considered negative for trichomoniasis 
and may be moved as such. 

b. If the confirming test comes back positive then 
the tested animal shall be subject to the restrictions set out in 
this Section. 
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5. A bull being tested for trichomoniasis shall be kept 
separate from female cattle at all times during the entire test 
period from the taking of samples until receipt of the results 
of the initial test results. A bull testing negative on the initial 
test may be comingled with female cattle upon receipt of the 
test results while a bull testing positive shall be immediately 
subject to the restriction on trichomoniasis infected bulls set 
out in this Section. 

6. All test results for trichomoniasis, whether negative 
or positive, shall be reported to the state veterinarian within 
24 hours after receipt of the results. 

7. When a positive test result is received the treating 
veterinarian shall consult with the state veterinarian on the 
first business day after receipt of the test results to determine 
a plan of action regarding the animal testing positive. 

E. Bulls that are required to be tested for trichomoniasis 
prior to being moved into this state or prior to being 
transferred from one person to another but which have not 
been tested shall be kept separate from breedable-type cattle 
until tested and a negative result is obtained. 

F. Bulls, except for virgin bulls, that are not required to 
be tested for trichomoniasis prior to being moved into this 
state or prior to being transferred from one person to another 
shall, at all times, be kept separate from female cattle until 
tested and a negative result is obtained. However, a bull 
being moved direct to slaughter or sold to go direct to 
slaughter may be comingled with breedable-type cattle also 
being moved direct to slaughter or being sold to go direct to 
slaughter.  

G. Bulls testing positive for trichomoniasis are subject to 
the following restrictions. 

1. No known trichomoniasis infected bull shall be 
moved into or within this state or transferred within this state 
from one person to another, unless the bull is going direct to 
slaughter or being sold to go direct to slaughter.  

2. No known trichomoniasis infected bull, whether 
being moved into or within this state, shall be used for 
breeding purposes and shall be kept separate from female 
cattle, from the time the first positive test result is received. 

3. A trichomoniasis infected bull shall be moved 
direct to slaughter, or sold to go direct to slaughter within 30 
days from receipt of the positive results of the original test or 
the results of the confirming test, whichever is later. 

4. A trichomoniasis infected bull may be moved only 
after a VS 1-27 permit is issued by the testing veterinarian or 
the state veterinarian or his representative. The VS 1-27 
permit shall accompany the bull upon movement of the 
animal. 

H. If a trichomoniasis infected bull has been in a herd 
with female cattle then the infected bull and the other bulls 
in the herd are subject to the following requirements. 

1. The trichomoniasis infected bull shall be 
immediately separated from the herd and all other bulls in 
the herd and shall be moved or transferred only as allowed 
by this Section. 

2. If there is any other bull or bulls in the herd then all 
other such bulls shall be immediately separated from, and 
kept separate from all female cattle. 

3  Each such bull shall be tested for trichomoniasis as 
soon as possible. Test samples shall not be pooled. 

4. A bull testing negative shall be immediately 
removed from all other bulls that have not been tested or for 
which the test results have not been received and shall be 
considered to be a negative bull for all purposes. 

5. A bull testing positive shall immediately be 
classified as a Trichomoniasis infected bull and shall be 
subject to the restrictions imposed in this Section on such 
bulls. 

6. An additional test to confirm the presence of 
trichomoniasis may be requested in the event of an initial 
positive test result, but the request for the confirmatory test 
must be made to the state veterinarian within 5 business days 
of notification of the positive test result. 

a. If the confirming test comes back negative then 
the bull shall be considered negative for trichomoniasis. 

b. If the confirming test comes back positive then 
the bull shall be considered to be infected with 
trichomoniasis and subject to the restrictions imposed in this 
Section on such bulls. 

I. A trichomoniasis infected herd is a herd known to 
contain or have contained a trichomoniasis infected bull or 
cow. If a virgin bull or bull that has tested negative for 
trichomoniasis is comingled with female cattle from a 
trichomoniasis infected herd then the virgin bull or bull with 
negative test results shall be tested for and found to be free 
of trichomoniasis before being moved, placed into another 
herd, or transferred from one person to another. 

J. A cow is not required to be tested for trichomoniasis 
before being moved into this state or transferred from one 
person to another but if a cow is tested then the same 
procedure set out in this Section for testing a bull shall apply 
to the testing of a cow. 

K. A cow testing positive for trichomoniasis shall be 
subject to the following restrictions: 

1. A cow testing positive for trichomoniasis shall not 
be moved into this state, except to go direct to slaughter or to 
be sold to go direct to slaughter. 

2. A cow within this state that has tested positive for 
trichomoniasis shall be immediately separated from, and 
kept separate from all bulls. 

a. The cow shall be moved direct to slaughter or 
sold to go direct to slaughter within 30 days from receipt of 
the positive result of the original test or the confirming test, 
whichever is later, unless placed under a quarantine program 
approved by the state veterinarian. 

b. If the cow is quarantined then it may not be 
moved from quarantine until the quarantine is released in 
writing by the state veterinarian. The cow may be released 
from quarantine only if the cow is subsequently tested and 
found to be free from trichomoniasis or if the cow is to be 
moved direct to slaughter or to be sold to go direct to 
slaughter. 

3. A trichomoniasis infected cow may be moved only 
after a VS 1-27 permit is issued by the testing veterinarian or 
the state veterinarian or his representative. The VS 1-27 
permit shall accompany the cow upon movement of the 
animal. 

L. Quarantine Facilities 
1. A livestock owner or lessor, livestock dealer, and a 

public livestock market facility may, with the written 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2520 

approval of the state veterinarian, establish a quarantine 
facility to hold bulls being moved into this state or being 
sold in this state until they can be tested for trichomoniasis. 

2. The quarantine facility shall be inspected and 
approved by the state veterinarian or his representative prior 
to being placed into use. 

3. The fencing or railing of the quarantine facility 
must be of material that will keep a bull from being able to 
breed with a cow located in an adjacent pen or pasture and 
of sufficient strength to keep a bull from escaping the 
quarantine facility. 

4. A bull in a quarantine facility testing positive for 
trichomoniasis shall be immediately separated from, and 
kept separate from, all female cattle and shall be subject to 
the restrictions imposed by this Section on a trichomoniasis 
infected bull.  

M. The state veterinarian may grant a written exception 
or variance to the provisions of this Section, with such 
conditions as the state veterinarian may impose, if such 
action is necessary to provide for unforeseen situations or 
circumstances. Any such exception or variance shall balance 
the need to protect cattle from trichomoniasis with the need 
to allow cattle to move in commerce.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:2093, 3:2095, and 3:2097. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Animal Health, LR 35:1466 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:2518 (November 2010). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

1011#066 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Landscape Irrigation Contractors Insurance Waiver 
(LAC 7:XXIX.117 and 119) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., and with the enabling statute, R.S. 
3:3801 and 3:3808, the Horticulture Commission, has 
amended LAC 7:XXIX.117 to allow the waiver of the 
insurance requirement for licensed landscape irrigation 
contractors who only provide consulting or associated 
services in regard to landscape irrigation systems or work on 
such systems. 

LAC 7:XXIX.119.A has been amended to make a 
technical correction in the legal citation contained therein. 
Paragraph (A) was promulgated in 1982 and referred to 
statutes previously found in Part I, entitled “Agricultural 
Poisons” of Chapter 12 of Title 3 of the Revised Statutes. In 
1983 Part I of Chapter 12 was repealed and the subject 
matter was transferred to Chapter 20 of Title 3, which is the 
Louisiana Pesticide Law. This amendment merely provides 
the correct citation to the applicable statutory law.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXIX.  Horticulture Commission 
Chapter 1. Horticulture 
§117. Professional and Occupational Standards and 

Requirements 
A - H.5. …  
I. Landscape Irrigation Contractor  

1. Before the commission issues a landscape irrigation 
contractor license the person to be licensed shall first furnish 
to the commission a certificate of insurance, written by an 
insurance company authorized to do business in Louisiana, 
covering the public liability of the applicant, as a licensee, 
for personal injuries and property damages. The insurance 
policy shall provide for not less than $25,000 per personal 
injuries and not less than $50,000 for property damages, 
both limits applicable to each separate accident. The 
certificate of insurance must provide for 30 days' written 
notice to the commission prior to cancellation. The 
commission may, however, waive the requirement for the 
stated insurance coverage for any licensed landscape 
irrigation contractor who does not physically work on 
landscape irrigation systems or accept responsibility for 
work on landscape irrigation systems but only provides 
consultation or other associated services with respect to 
landscape irrigation systems or the work performed on such 
systems. 

2. - 5.e. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3801, and R.S. 3:3808. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Horticulture Commission, LR 8:185, (April 1982), 
amended LR 9:410 (June 1983), LR 11:317 (April 1985), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Horticulture 
Commission, LR 14:8 (January 1988), LR 20:640 (June 1994), LR 
27:1832 (November 2001), LR 31:1054 (May 2005), LR 32:78 
(January 2006), LR 32:1010 (June 2006), LR 33:1854 (September 
2007), LR 35:1225 (July 2009), LR 36:2520 (November 2010). 
§119. Prohibition 

A. No licensee or permittee of the commission may 
apply pesticides to any properties which are not owned, 
rented, or leased by the licensee or permittee or persons 
engaged in any regulated profession or occupation unless 
such licensee or permittee, or persons engaged in any 
regulated profession or occupation is properly licensed or 
certified by the department in accordance with the Louisiana 
Pesticide Law (R.S. 3:3201 et seq.). 

B. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3801. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Horticulture Commission, LR 8:186 (April 1982), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Horticulture Commission, LR 29:1460 (August 2003), LR 36:2520 
(November 2010). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner  

1011#067 
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RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Child Welfare Section 

and 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

Daycare Services―Residential Licensing  
(LAC 67:III.7303,7359; V.6706 and 6955) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Child and Family Services (DCFS), has amended rules in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) Title 67, Part III, 
Subpart 21, Chapter 73, Child Day Care Licensing, and LAC 
Title 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapters 67-69 Residential 
Licensing pursuant to the general rule-making authority of 
the Department under La. R.S. 46:51 and the specific rule-
making authority over child care facilities and child placing 
agencies granted by the Child Care Facility and Child-
Placing Agency Licensing Act, La. R.S. 46:1401-1426.  

State licensing regulations for child care facilities and 
child placing agencies provide for a disqualification period 
for licensees who have had a prior license revoked for 
failure to comply with state laws and regulations governing 
facilities providing out-of-home care for children.  

The amendments to Title 67, Part III, Subpart 21, Chapter 
73, Child Day Care Licensing, and LAC Title 67, Part V, 
Subpart 8, Chapters 67-69 propose to clarify the definition 
of the term "Affiliate." 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 

Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter A. Licensing Class "A" Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7303. Procedures 

A. - G.1. ... 
* * * 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed due 

to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing rules, 
the department shall not accept a subsequent application 
from the provider for that facility or any new facility for a 
minimum period of two years after the effective date of 
revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of two years 
after all appeal rights have been exhausted, whichever is 
later (the disqualification period). Any pending application 
by the same provider shall be treated as an application for a 
new facility for purposes of this section and shall be denied 
and subject to the disqualification period. Any subsequent 
application for a license shall be reviewed by the secretary 
or their designee prior to a decision being made to grant a 
license. The department reserves the right to determine, at its 
sole discretion, whether to issue any subsequent license. 

b. - c. ... 
d. With respect to an application in connection with 

the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1108 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2756 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), LR 
36:832 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic and Self-Sufficiency Section LR 
36:2521 (November 2010). 
§7359. Procedures 

A. - I.1. … 
* * * 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 
rules, the department shall not accept a subsequent 
application from the provider for that facility or any new 
facility for a minimum period of two years after the effective 
date of revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 
two years after all appeal rights have been exhausted, 
whichever is later (the disqualification period). Any pending 
application by the same provider shall be treated as an 
application for a new facility for purposes of this section and 
shall be denied and subject to the disqualification period. 
Any subsequent application for a license shall be reviewed 
by the secretary or their designee prior to a decision being 
made to grant a license. The department reserves the right to 
determine, at its sole discretion, whether to issue any 
subsequent license. 

b. - c. ... 
d. With respect to an application in connection with 

the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2771 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:335 (February 2010), LR 36:833 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic and Self-
Sufficiency Section LR 36:2521 (November 2010). 

Part V.  Community Services 
Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 67. Maternity Homes 
§6703. Definition 

A. - B.1. ... 
* * * 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 
rules, the department shall not accept a subsequent 
application from the provider for that facility or any new 
facility for a minimum period of two years after the effective 
date of revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 
two years after all appeal rights have been exhausted, 
whichever is later (the disqualification period). Any pending 
application by the same provider shall be treated as an 
application for a new facility for purposes of this Section 
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and shall be denied and subject to the disqualification 
period. Any subsequent application for a license shall be 
reviewed by the secretary or their designee prior to a 
decision being made to grant a license. The department 
reserves the right to determine, at its sole discretion, whether 
to issue any subsequent license. 

b. - c. ... 
d. With respect to an application in connection with 

the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and R.S. 46:1401et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, LR 33:2694 (December 
2007), repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office 
of Community Services, LR 35:1570 (August 2009), amended LR 
36:799, 835 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Child Welfare Section LR 36:2521 
(November 2010).  
§6955. Procedures Child Residential Care 

A. - F.1. ... 
* * * 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 
rules, the department shall not accept a subsequent 
application from the provider for that facility or any new 
facility for a minimum period of two years after the effective 
date of revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 
two years after all appeal rights have been exhausted, 
whichever is later (the disqualification period). Any pending 
application by the same provider shall be treated as an 
application for a new facility for purposes of this Section 
and shall be denied and subject to the disqualification 
period. Any subsequent application for a license shall be 
reviewed by the secretary or their designee prior to a 
decision being made to grant a license. The department 
reserves the right to determine, at its sole discretion, whether 
to issue any subsequent license. 

b. - c. ... 
d. With respect to an application in connection with 

the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401 et seq.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
27:1565 (September 2001), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential 
Licensing, LR 33:2740 (December 2007), repromulgated by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 
35:1617 (August 2009), amended LR 36:331 (February 2010), LR 
36:836, 842 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Child Welfare Section LR 36:2522 
(November 2010). 

 

Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1011#129 

RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Child Welfare Section 

Legal Representation in Child Protection Cases 
(LAC 67:V.5701, 5703, 5705, 5901 and 5903) 

 In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B), the Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS), Child Welfare Section, has repealed the 
LAC 67:V, Subpart 7, Chapter 57, Billing Policies and Fee 
Review Procedures, and promulgated LAC 67:V, Subpart 7, 
Chapter 59, relative to the provision of Legal Representation 
in Child Protection Cases. 

These changes were necessitated by full implementation 
of the new statewide system of legal representation for 
children and indigent parents in child protection cases 
consistent with the expedited implementation plan 
unanimously approved by the Task Force on Legal 
Representation in Child Protection Cases. 

As of July 1, 2010, state funding for legal representation 
in child protection cases was confined to the new system. 
The Mental Health Advocacy Service/Child Advocacy 
Program (MHAS/CAP) receives state funds to represent 
children in child protection proceedings in the following 
jurisdictions: 1st JDC, 14th JDC, 16th JDC, 19th JDC, 21st 
JDC, 22nd JDC (except Slidell City Court), 25th JDC, 38th 
JDC and Orleans Parish Juvenile Court. The Supreme Court 
will receive state funds for administration by the Louisiana 
Bar Foundation to Legal Services of North Louisiana, 
Acadiana Legal Services, Capital Area Legal Services, and 
Southeast Louisiana Legal Services for representation of 
children in child protection proceedings in jurisdictions not 
served by MHAS/CAP. The Louisiana Public Defender 
Board receives state funds to provide for representation of 
indigent parents through local defender offices statewide and 
will retain all children’s cases to which they were formerly 
appointed. The state funds are used only to pay for attorneys 
hired or contracted by MHAS/CAP, LPDB, or the Legal 
Services Corporations, not for ad hoc attorney 
representation.  

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Community Services 
Subpart 7.  Payment of Legal Fees in Child Protection 

Cases 
Chapter 57. Billing Policies and Fee Review 

Procedures  
§5701. Purpose 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:460.21.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 32:112 
(January 2006), repealed by Department of Children and Family 
Services, Child Welfare Section LR 36:2522 (November 2010). 
§5703. Billing policies 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:460.21.  
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Community Services, LR 32:112 (January 
2006), repealed by Department of Children and Family Services, 
Child Welfare Section LR 36:2522 (November 2010). 
§5705. Fee review procedures 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:460.21.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 32:112 
(January 2006), repealed by Department of Children and Family 
Services, Child Welfare Section LR 36:2523 (November 2010). 
Chapter 59. Legal Representation of Children and 

Indigent Parents Pursuant to La. R.S. 
46:460.21 

§5901. Implementation of New Statewide System of 
Legal Representation of Children and Indigent 
Parents 

A. Full implementation of the new statewide system of 
legal representation of children and indigent parents in child 
protection cases is effective July 1, 2010. 

B. Pursuant to implementation of the new statewide 
system consistent with the expedited implementation plan 
unanimously approved by the Task Force on Legal 
Representation in Child Protection Cases, the department 
will not pay for ad hoc legal representation of children or 
indigent parents for services provided after June 30, 2010 or 
services in new cases during the January 1 – June 30, 2010 
transition period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:460.21. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Child Welfare Section LR 36:2523 
(November 2010). 
§5903. DSS Final Payment to ad hoc Attorneys 

Appointed Prior to January 1, 2010 
A. Subject to available funds pursuant to R.S. 46:460.21, 

the department will pay properly documented and authorized 
requests for payment of services of ad hoc attorneys who 
were appointed to represent children and/or indigent parents 
prior to January 1, 2010 and delivered services through June 
30, 2010. The department will not pay for legal 
representation services delivered to children or indigent 
parents for ad hoc appointment made in new cases on or 
after January 1, 2010. Attorneys shall follow the former 
billing procedures when submitting requests for payment. To 
be considered for payment, attorneys must submit properly 
documented and authorized requests for payment to the 
department by July 16, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:460.21. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Child Welfare Section LR 36:2523 
(November 2010).  

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1011#128 
 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), Family 
Independence Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP), 

Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP), and Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)  

(LAC 67:III. 201, 1223, 1229, 1257, 1501, 1701, 1703, 
1709, 1711, 1713, 1911, 1913, 1915, 1917, 1919, 1921, 
1923, 1927, 1931, 1932, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1940, 1941, 
1945, 1949, 1951, 1953, 1961, 1967, 1969, 1975, 1977, 
1978, 1980, 1981, 1983, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1991, 1993, 
1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2013, 2103, 
2105, 2107, 2113, 2117, 5102, 5104, 5106, 5107, 5111, 

5113, 5329, 5347, and 5501) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
has amended the Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC), 
Title 67, Part III. Office of Family Support. Adoption is 
pursuant to the authority granted to the department by the 
Food and Nutrition Act of 2008, in accordance with federal 
regulations for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 
Program (SNAP) in 7 CFR, Department of Defense 
Appropriations Act of 2010 (Section 8120, P.L.111-118), 
Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) Block Grant and the Child Care and Development 
Fund (CCDF). 

LAC 67:III. Subpart 3. Food Stamp Program is being 
changed to LAC 67:III. Subpart 3. Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP).  

LAC 67: III. Sections 201, 1257, 1701, 1703, 1709, 1711, 
1713, 1911, 1913, 1915, 1917, 1919, 1921, 1923, 1927, 
1935, 1938, 1940, 1941, 1945, 1951, 1953, 1961, 1967, 
1969, 1975, 1977, 1978, 1981, 1980, 1981, 1985, 1988, 
1991, 1993, 1997, 1998, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2013, 2103, 
2105, 2107, 2113, 2117, 5104, and 5347 has been amended 
to change the name of the program and other requirements 
and language clarifications related to SNAP. The name of the 
Food Stamp Program was changed as part of the Food and 
Nutrition Act of 2008. States were encouraged to change 
their program name. 

LAC 67:III. Sections 1229, 1949, 1980, 1983, 1987, and 
5329 has been amended to implement broad based-
categorical eligibility which will make most if not all 
households categorically eligible for SNAP benefits while 
amending countable income and resources. This is a result of 
the Mississippi Canyon 252 Well Incident. 

LAC 67:III. Sections 1223, 1931, 1934, and 1995 has 
been amended to change alien eligibility criteria to include 
an Iraqi or Afghan immigrant who has been granted Special 
Immigrant Visa (SIV) status. Section 1932 has been repealed 
to remove the time limitations for certain aliens. This is per a 
directive from the Department of Agriculture, Food and 
Nutrition Service (FNS) and 7 CFR Part 273 Food Stamp 
Program: Eligibility and Certification Provisions of the Farm 
and Rural Investment Act of 2002; Final Rule, Section 
273.4.  



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2524 

LAC 67:III. Section 1999 has been amended to remove 
the requirement to send a Notice of Adverse Action when 
mail is returned by the Post Office as undeliverable. This is 
per a directive from the Department of Agriculture, Food 
and Nutrition Services, regarding Simplified Reporting 
requirements. 

LAC 67:III. Sections 1501, 5106, 5107, 5111 and 5113 
has been amended to change the Intentional Program 
Violation (IPV) disqualification time periods for clients 
participating in the Family Independence Temporary 
Assistance Program (FITAP) and the Child Care Assistance 
Program (CCAP) to match the IPV disqualification time 
periods in SNAP. This amendment will align IPV 
disqualification time periods in FITAP, CCAP, and SNAP 
which will provide consistency, thus making it easier for 
staff to apply IPV disqualification periods and for 
participants to understand these penalties. Provider 
eligibility requirements and disqualification time periods has 
been amended. 

LAC 67:III. Section 5102 has been amended to redefine a 
Household Designee (HD) where a responsible household 
member or authorized representative will also be allowed to 
drop off or pick up a child from an authorized CCAP 
Provider. 

LAC 67:III. Section 5111 is being repealed because the 
language is being included in Section 5106. 

LAC 67:III. Section 5501 has been added to further clarify 
TANF Initiatives. 

These amendments are necessary to align with the 
Louisiana’s Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) Block Grant; Department of Agriculture, Food and 
Nutrition Service (FNS); and the Child Care and 
Development Fund (CCDF). 

Title 67  
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Services  
Subpart 1.  General Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 2. Voter Registration Services 
§201. Voter Registration by Mail 

A. The Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) as administrator of the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) and the Family Independence 
Temporary Assistance Program is a designated voter 
registration agency. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

18:116 and P.L. 103-31, amended in accordance with  
P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support in LR 21:273 (March 
1995), amended LR 21:958 (September 1995), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 (November 2010). 
Subpart 2.  Family Independence Temporary Assistance 

Program 
Chapter 12. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§1223. Citizenship 

A. - A.10. ... 
11. an Iraqi or Afghan immigrant who has been granted 

Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) status. 
B. - B.8. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 
111-118, Section 8120). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2448 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 27:2263 (December 
2001), LR 28:1599 (July 2002), LR 32:1911 (October 2006), 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 
(November 2010). 
§1229. Income 

A. - A.31. ... 
32. any payments other than wages received as a result 

of the Mississippi Canyon 252 Well Incident in the Gulf of 
Mexico on April 20, 2010. 

B. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq. and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B., 
R.S. 46:231.2, P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, 7 CFR 
273.2, (j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:2449 (December 
1999), amended LR 26:1342 (June 2000), LR 26:2831 (December 
2000), LR 31:2956 (November 2005), LR 32:1616 (September 
2006), LR 32:1912 (October 2006), LR 34:2678 (December 2008), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 
(November 2010). 
§1257. Reporting Requirements 

A. Effective February 1, 2004, a FITAP household that is 
not included in a SNAP semi-annual reporting household 
shall report any change that affects eligibility or the amount 
of monthly benefits. Changes in income must be reported if 
the household's gross monthly income changes by more than 
$100 in earned income or $50 in unearned income. Changes 
shall be reported within 10 days of the knowledge of the 
change. 

B. A FITAP household that is included in a SNAP semi-
annual reporting household is subject to the semi-annual 
household reporting requirements in accordance with §2013 
and must report if the only eligible child moves out of the 
home. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231 et seq. 7 CFR Part 
273, 42 U.S.C. 608, et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:522 (March 
2002), amended LR 30:1486 (July 2004), LR 32:264 (February 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2524 (November 2010). 
Chapter 15. General Program Administration 
Subchapter A. Fraud 
§1501. Fraud Control Program 

A. - B.3. ... 
C. If an individual who is a member of a family applying 

for or receiving FITAP is found by a federal or state court or 
by an administrative hearing to have intentionally made a 
false or misleading statement or misrepresented, concealed, 
or withheld facts, or committed any act intended to mislead, 
misrepresent, conceal or withhold facts or propound a 
falsity, for the purpose of establishing or maintaining the 
family's eligibility for aid or of increasing or preventing a 
reduction in benefits, then that individual's needs shall not be 
taken into account in making the eligibility or benefits 
determination. That individual shall be disqualified for a 
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period of 12 months for the first offense, 24 months for the 
second offense, and permanently for the third offense. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

100-203 and CFR 235, P.L. 104-193, amended in accordance with 
P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, LR 14:439 (July 1988), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 
20:1019 (September 1994), LR 23:449 (April 1997), amended by 
the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2524 (November 
2010). 
Subpart 3.  Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

(SNAP) 
Chapter 17. Administration 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1701. Authority 

A. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP) is administered under the authority of applicable 
federal and state laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
applicable Sections of 7 CFR and R.S. 36:474, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 17:1226 (December 
1991), amended LR 24:108 (January 1998), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2525 (November 2010). 
Subchapter B. General Administrative Requirements 
§1703. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

(SNAP) Manual 
A. Rules and regulations regarding the implementation 

of the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-246) have 
been adopted effective January 1, 2010. 

B. The Office of the State Register has determined that 
publication of these rules would be unduly cumbersome and 
exercised its privilege to omit them from the Louisiana 
Register, as per R.S. 49:954.1(C). The new Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) Manual may be 
obtained from the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Post Office Box 94065, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 
70804. Also, copies of the SNAP Manual are available for 
public inspection at each parish office and on the DCFS 
website at www.dcfs.louisiana.gov. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
43:47846 et seq. and R.S. 49:954.1(C), 7 CFR 271 et seq., P.L. 110-
246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 4:511 
(December 1978), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2525 (November 2010). 
§1709. Purchasing Prepared Meals 

A. Effective May 1, 1987 homeless Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) recipients (including 
newly eligible residents of temporary shelters for the 
homeless) may use their SNAP benefits to purchase prepared 
meals served by an authorized public or nonprofit 
establishment that feeds homeless people. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
52:7554 et seq., 7 CFR 274, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
13:437 (August 1987), amended by the Department of Children and 

Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2525 (November 2010). 
§1711. Disabled People in Group Living Arrangements 

A. All individuals residing in group living arrangements 
who meet the Food and Nutrition Act of 2008 definition of 
disabled (as defined in Section 3(r) of the Food and 
Nutrition Act) are eligible to receive SNAP benefits to 
purchase their prepared meals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
271.2, 273.1(e)(1)(iii), 278.1(f), P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 18:1267 (November 
1992), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2525 (November 2010). 
Subchapter C. Disaster Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program (DSNAP) 
§1713. Emergency Food Assistance Program for 

Disaster Victims 
A. Under the authority of Food and Nutrition Act of 

2008 and 7 CFR Part 280, the Department of Children and 
Family Services does hereby establish an Emergency Food 
Assistance Program for Victims of Disaster. 

B. This program provides emergency Disaster 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (DSNAP) 
benefits to households in an area which has been included in 
a disaster declaration. The Secretary of the U.S. Department 
of Agriculture (USDA), or his designee, determines the areas 
to be included in such a declaration, the temporary eligibility 
standards, grant amounts, and duration of the program. 

C. In order for a parish or community to be eligible for 
inclusion in a DSNAP declaration, the following criteria 
must be met. 

1. Normal commercial channels for food distribution 
were disrupted by the disaster. 

2. Normal food distribution channels were restored. 
3. The normal, ongoing Supplemental Nutrition 

Assistance Program is unable to expeditiously handle the 
volume of households affected by the disaster. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
280 and Section 5(h)(1) of the Food Stamp Act of 1977, P.L. 110-
246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 19:213 (February 
1993), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2525 (November 2010). 
Chapter 19. Certification of Eligible Households 
Subchapter B. Application Processing 
§1911. Households Eligible for Expedited Service 

A. Expedited service is defined as the providing of 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits 
no later than seven calendar days from the application date. 

B. Households entitled to receive benefits under the 
SNAP Program's expedited service procedure are defined as 
follows: 

B.1. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

46:44712 et seq., F.R. 52:36390 et seq., 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 104-193, 
P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 8:10 
(January 1982), amended LR 14:150 (March 1988), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 
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23:80 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2525 (November 2010). 
§1913. Determination of Eligibility of Migrant or 

Seasonal Farmworkers 
A. Two provisions of the Drought Relief Act changed 

SNAP’s procedures pertaining to the determination of 
eligibility and benefit levels for migrant or seasonal 
farmworkers. This is effective for applications received as of 
September 1, 1988 or allotments issued for the month of 
September, 1988. 

1. Proration of Initial Month's Benefits. The first 
provision affects the proration of benefits after a break in 
participation in SNAP. This provision requires that migrant 
and seasonal farmworkers receive the full allotment for a 
month of application when the household has participated in 
the program within 30 days prior to the date of application. 
Thus, unless the household’s break in participation exceeds 
30 days, the migrant or seasonal farm worker household is 
eligible for a full month's allotment, rather than a 
prorated allotment, in the month of application. 

A.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

273.2, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 14:871 
(December 1988), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 24:1782 (September 1998), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2526 (November 
2010). 
§1915. Homeless SNAP Household 

A. The definition of "homeless SNAP household" is 
being replaced by the definition of a "homeless individual." 

B. - B.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

52:7554 et seq, F.R. 52:36390 et seq., 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 104-193, 
P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, amended 
LR 13:437 (August 1987), LR 14:87 (February 1988), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support LR 
23:80 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2526 (November 2010). 
§1917. Homeless Meal Provider 

A. A homeless meal provider is a public or private 
nonprofit establishment, (e.g., soup kitchen, temporary 
shelter) approved by the department, that feeds homeless 
SNAP households. To be eligible to accept SNAP benefits, a 
meal provider must also be authorized by Food and Nutrition 
Services (FNS) after the department approves it. 

B. ... 
C. Only those SNAP households determined to be 

homeless shall be permitted to use SNAP benefits to 
purchase prepared meals served by authorized homeless 
meal providers. To ensure that the use of SNAP benefits for 
prepared meals is restricted to homeless persons, homeless 
meal providers shall establish that person's right to use 
SNAP benefits to purchase meals. 

D. Applicant meal providers must apply for approval at 
the departmental office in their parish. An approval review at 
the provider's establishment will be conducted by the 
regional agency representative. After approval has been 

granted by the department, the provider must then make 
application to an FNS field office to receive authorization to 
accept SNAP benefits. 

E. Homeless meal providers may accept SNAP benefits 
as authorized retail redemption points after authorization 
from the department and FNS. The provider will receive 
settlement from the Federal Treasury as an electronic deposit 
directly to the provider’s account at a financial institution. 
Homeless meal providers that redeem SNAP benefits in 
excess of $100 per month will be provided equipment that 
will allow acceptance, redemption and settlement of 
program funds electronically. Others may participate by 
using manual vouchers. 

F. The use of SNAP benefits to purchase meals from 
homeless meal providers is voluntary on the part of SNAP 
recipients. SNAP recipients must continue to be given the 
option of using cash if payment for a meal is required. In 
addition, if others have the option of eating free or making a 
monetary donation, homeless SNAP recipients must be 
given the same option (eat free, or donate money or SNAP 
benefits). The amount requested from homeless SNAP 
recipients using SNAP benefits to purchase meals may not 
exceed the average cost to the homeless meal provider of the 
food contained in a meal served to the patrons of the meal 
provider. If a homeless recipient voluntarily pays more than 
the average cost of food contained in a meal served, such 
payment may be accepted by the meal provider. 

G. Homeless meal providers will not be permitted to 
serve as "authorized representative" for homeless SNAP 
households. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
52:7554 et seq., 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
13:437 (August 1987), amended by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:1782 (September 1998), 
LR 29:606 (April 2003), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Section, LR 36:2526 (November 2010). 
§1919. Certification of Information 

A. Effective August 1, 1986, one adult member in all 
applicant households must certify in writing under penalty of 
perjury, the truth of the information contained in the 
application for the household's allotment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:953(B), 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:768 (November 1986), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Section, LR 36:2526 (November 2010). 
§1921. SSI and Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program (SNAP) Application by Residents of 
Public Institutions 

A. Effective May 1, 1989 residents of public institutions 
who apply for SSI prior to their release from an institution 
under the Social Security Administration's Prerelease 
Program for the Institutionalized (42 U.S.C. 1383) shall be 
permitted to apply for SNAP benefits at the same time they 
apply for SSI. 

B. When a resident of an institution is jointly applying 
for SSI and SNAP prior to leaving the institution, the filing 
date of the application to be recorded by the department on 
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the application is the date of release of the applicant from the 
institution. 

C. The department shall make an eligibility 
determination and issue SNAP benefits to a resident of a 
public institution who applies jointly for SSI and SNAP 
within 30 days (or five days if expedited processing is 
appropriate) following the date of the applicant's release 
from the institution. Expedited processing time standards for 
an applicant who has applied for SNAP and SSI prior to 
release shall also begin on the date of the applicant's release 
from the institution. SSA shall notify the department of the 
date of release of the applicant from the institution. 

D. If, for any reason, the department is not notified on a 
timely basis of the applicant's release date, the department 
shall restore benefits to such applicant back to the date of 
release. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
54:4249 et seq., 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 15:497 
(June 1989), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2526 (November 2010). 
§1923. Verification 

A. Effective April 1, 1987, in addition to federally 
required verification, the department may mandate 
verification of any other factor which affects household 
eligibility or allotment level, including household size. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
52:26937 et seq., 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
13:657 (November 1987), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Section, LR 36:2527 (November 2010). 
§1927. Disclosure of Information 

A. Effective February 1, 1985, use or disclosure of 
information obtained from SNAP applicant households, 
exclusively for SNAP, shall be restricted to the following 
persons: 

1. persons directly connected with the administration 
or enforcement of the provisions of the Food and Nutrition 
Act or regulations, other federal assistance programs, or 
federally assisted state programs which provide assistance, 
on a means-tested basis, to low income individuals; 

2. ... 
3. local, state or federal law enforcement officials, 

upon their written request, for the purpose of investigating 
an alleged violation of the Food and Nutrition Act or 
regulations. The written request shall include the identity of 
the individual requesting the information, and his authority 
to do so, the violation being investigated and the identity of 
the person on whom the information is requested. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

49:48677 et seq., 7 CFR 273.2, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security LR 
11:349 (April 1985), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2527 (November 2010).  

Subchapter D. Citizenship and Alien Status 
§1931. Qualified Aliens 

A. - A.10. ... 
11. An Iraqi or Afghan immigrant who has been 

granted Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) status. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, P.L. 104-208, P.L. 105-33, P.L. 105-185, and P.L. 106-
386. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:130 
(March 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 25:710 (April 1999), LR 28:1600 
(July 2002), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2527 (November 2010). 
§1932. Time Limitations for Certain Aliens 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, P.L. 105-33, P.L. 105-185, and P.L. 107-171. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 25:711 (April 1999), 
amended LR 28:1600 (July 2002), LR 29:606 (April 2003), LR 
30:493 (March 2004), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2527 (November 2010). 
§1934. Alien Eligibility Criteria 

A. The following qualified aliens are eligible for 
benefits: 

1. refugees admitted under §207 of the Immigration 
and Nationality Act (INA); 

2. asylees admitted under §208 of the INA; and 
3. an alien whose deportation is withheld under 

§243(h) of such ACT (as in effect immediately before 
effective date [April 1, 1997] of §307 of division C of P.L. 
104-208) or §241(b)(3) of such Act (as amended by Section 
305(a) of Division C of P.L. 104-208); 

4. Cuban and Haitian entrants as defined in §501(e) 
of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980; 

5. Amerasian immigrants admitted pursuant to §584 
of the Foreign Operations, Export Financing, and Related 
Programs Appropriations Act of 1988 as contained in 
§101(e) of P.L. 100-202 and amended by the 9th provision 
under migration and refugee assistance in Title II of the 
Foreign Operations, Export Financing, and Related 
Programs Appropriations Act, 1989, P.L. 100-461,as 
amended; 

6. an alien who is the victim of a severe form of 
trafficking in persons; 

7. veterans who have met the minimum active-duty 
service requirements of Section 5303 A(d) of Title 38, 
United States Code, who were honorably discharged for 
reasons other than alienage and their spouses or unremarried 
surviving spouses, if the marriage fulfills the requirements of 
Section 1304 of Title 38, United States Code, and unmarried 
dependent children; 

8. active-duty personnel (other than active duty for 
training) and their spouses, or unremarried surviving 
spouses, if the marriage fulfills the requirements of Section 
1304 of Title 38, United States Code, and unmarried 
dependent children; 
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9. aliens who have worked 40 qualifying quarters of 
coverage under Title II of the Social Security Act or can be 
credited with such qualifying quarters; 

10. effective October 1, 2002, individuals who are 
lawfully residing in the United States and are receiving 
benefits or assistance for blindness or disability as defined in 
§3(r) of the Food Stamp Act of 1997; 

11. individuals who were lawfully residing in the 
United States on August 22, 1996 and were 65 years of age 
or older; 

12. effective October 1, 2003, individuals who are 
lawfully residing in the United States and are under 18 years 
of age; 

13. effective April 1, 2003, individuals who have been 
lawful, permanent residents or otherwise qualified aliens for 
at least five years beginning on the date the immigrant was 
designated as a qualified alien by the Immigration and 
Naturalization Service; 

14. an Iraqi or Afghan immigrant who has been granted 
Special Immigrant VISA (SIV) status. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 
104-193, P.L. 105-33, P.L. 105-185, P.L. 107-171, and P.L. 111-
118. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2527 (November 2010). 
Subchapter E. Students 
§1935. Student Provisions (Effective March 1, 2006) 

A. An individual enrolled at least half-time (as defined 
by the institution) in an institution of higher education is 
considered a student. A student is ineligible to receive SNAP 
benefits unless the individual meets at least one of the 
following conditions: 

1. - 9.b. ... 
c. a SNAP employment and training program 

(LaJET); 
A.9.d. - B.2. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

273.5., P.L. 107-171, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:131 
(March 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 24:1783 (September 1998), LR 
32:1616 (September 2006), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2528 (November 2010). 
Subchapter G. Work Requirements 
§1938. Work Registration Requirements 

A. - A.1.f. ... 
2. If it is determined that an individual other than the 

head of the household has violated the work requirements 
without good cause, that individual shall be ineligible to 
participate in SNAP as follows: 

A.2.a. - B.4 ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:80 (January 
1997), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2528 (November 2010). 

§1940. Work Participation Requirements for Able-
Bodied Adults Without Dependents  
[Effective 10/1/97 by ER] 

A. Individuals are ineligible to continue to receive SNAP 
benefits if, during the preceding 36-month period they 
received SNAP benefits for at least three months 
(consecutive or otherwise) while that individual did not 
either: 

1. work an average of 20 hours per week; 
A.2. - B.2. ... 

3. a parent of a household member under age 18, even 
if the household member who is under age 18 does not 
receive SNAP benefits;  

4. residing in a household where a household member 
is under age 18, even if the household member who is under 
age 18 does not receive SNAP benefits; 

5. - 6. ... 
C. - C.1.b. ... 

c. participates in and complies with a workfare 
program (under Section 20 of the Food and Nutrition Act of 
2008 or a comparable state or local program) for 80 hours or 
more. 

C.2. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 

104-193, 7 CFR 273.24, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:81 (January 
1997), amended LR 34:885 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2528 (November 2010). 
§1941. Work Requirements of the SNAP Household 

A. - B. ... 
C. Employment and Training (E and T) Programs 

1. The department submitted an Employment and 
Training Program Plan to the United States Department of 
Agriculture, Food and Nutrition Service (FNS) Dallas 
Regional Office and the FNS Office of Alexandria, Virginia. 
A copy of the plan is available for public inspection at the 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Office, 627 
North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802. 

C.2 - C.4.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

273.7 (c) (2), P.L. 104-193, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
13:394 (July 1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 15:96 (February 1989), 
amended by the Department of Social Services, Office of Family 
Support, LR 18:748 (July 1992), LR 18:1268 (November 1992), 
LR 23:81 (January 1997), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Section, LR 36:2528 (November 2010). 
Subchapter H. Resource Eligibility Standards 
§1945. Resource Test 

A. Effective June 1, 1983, households in which all 
members receive Family Independence Temporary 
Assistance (FITAP) and whose income meets the gross 
income eligibility standards will be considered to have 
satisfied SNAP’s resource test. However, the households 
must continue to meet all other SNAP eligibility standards, 
including the net income standards.  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
47:55907 et seq., 7 CFR 273.8, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:324 
(May 1983), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2528 (November 2010). 
§1949. Exclusions from Resources 

A. All resources other than those listed in Section 1947 
of this Title shall be excluded from countable resources. 

B. All of the resources of individuals who are included 
in a household that is categorically eligible are excluded. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
52:26937 et seq., 7 CFR 273.8 and 273.9C(v), P.L. 103-66, P.L. 
106-387, 45 CFR 263.20, and P.L. 107-171, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
13:657 (November 1987), amended by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 18:1267 (November 1992), 
LR 21:187 (February 1995), LR 27:867 (June 2001), LR 27:1934 
(November 2001), LR 28:1031 (May 2002), LR 29:606 (April 
2003), LR 32:646 (April 2006), LR 34:2679 (December 2008), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2529 
(November 2010). 
Subchapter I. Income and Deductions 
§1951. Strikers 

A. For SNAP purposes, a striker is defined as anyone 
involved in a strike or concerted stoppage of work by 
employees (including a stoppage by reason of the expiration 
of a collective-bargaining agreement) and any concerted 
slowdown or other concerted interruption of operations by 
employees. Any employee engaged in a lockout, however, is 
not deemed to be a striker. 

B. ... 
C. Effective March 1, 1983, households with striking 

members shall be ineligible to participate in SNAP unless 
the household was eligible for benefits the day prior to the 
strike and is otherwise eligible at the time of application. 
However, such a household shall not receive an increased 
allotment as the result of a decrease in the income of the 
striking member(s) of the household. Eligibility shall be 
determined by considering the day prior to the strike as if it 
were the day of application and assume the strike did not 
occur. Eligibility at time of application shall be determined 
by comparing the striking member's income before the strike 
to the striker's current income and adding the higher of the 
two to the current income of nonstriking members during the 
month of application. To determine benefits, deduction shall 
be calculated for the month of application as for any other 
household. Whether the striker's pre-striker earnings are 
used or his current income is used, the earnings deduction 
shall be allowed if appropriate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
46:44712 et seq., F.R. 47:52328 et seq., 7 CFR 273.9, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 8:9 
(January 1982), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), amended by 
the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2529 (November 
2010). 
§1953. Income Eligibility Standards 

A. The income eligibility standards for SNAP shall be as 
follows: 

1. ... 

2. Net Income. For households which contain a 
member who is 60 years of age or over, or a member who 
receives Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits under 
Title XVI of the Social Security Act, or disability and 
blindness payments under Titles I, II, X, XIV of the Social 
Security Act, the net income eligibility standards for SNAP 
shall be as follows: The income eligibility standards for the 
contiguous 48 states and the District of Columbia, Guam, 
Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands shall be the Office of 
Management and Budget's (OMB) nonfarm income poverty 
guideline for the 48 states and the District of Columbia. 

3. - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

46:44712 et seq., F.R. 47:55463 et seq. and 47:55903 et seq., 7 
CFR 273.9, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 8:9 
(January 1982), amended LR 9:131 (March 1983), amended by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 
29:606 (April 2003), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2529 (November 2010). 
§1961. Adjustment of Standard Deduction 

A. Effective October 1, 2002, the standard deduction 
shall be set at 8.31 percent of the poverty level based on 
household size of up to six persons. The standard deduction 
will be adjusted in accordance with directives from the 
United States Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition 
Service.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
46:44712 et seq., 7 CFR 273.9, P.L. 107-171. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 8:9 
(January 1982), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 29:606 (April 2003), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2529 (November 2010). 
§1967. Setting the Standard Utility Allowance and Basic 

Utility Allowance 
A. Effective October 1, 1985, and each October 1 

thereafter, the annualized standard utility allowance in the 
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program shall be 
adjusted to reflect changes in the cost of utilities. 

B. The department will conduct an annual statewide 
survey of utility companies to determine the average 
monthly cost of utilities. This methodology is subject to 
approval by the United States Department of Agriculture 
Food and Nutrition Service. The standard allowance 
developed shall also be submitted to USDA FNS for 
approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
273.9(d)(6), P.L. 104-193, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
11:864 (September 1985), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:108 (January 
1998), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2529 (November 2010). 
§1969. Standard Telephone Allowance 

A. Effective May 1, 2002, all SNAP households whose 
only utility cost is a telephone shall use a mandatory 
standard telephone allowance of $24. Each October 1 
thereafter, the mandatory standard telephone allowance shall 
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be adjusted to reflect changes in the cost of basic telephone 
services. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

273.9(d)(6). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
11:1079 (November 1985), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2529 (November 2010). 
§1975. Earned Income Tax Credits (EITC) 

A. Advance payment of EITC will not be counted as 
income for SNAP purposes. However, the amount will be 
counted toward the household's resources just as EITC 
payments made as tax refunds are. 

B. Exclude EITC as resources for 12 months from 
receipt if the recipient is participating in SNAP when the 
EITC is received and continuously participates for the 12 
months following receipt. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
273.9 and P.L. 103-66. P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 15:393 
(May 1989), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office 
of Family Support, LR 21:188 (February 1995), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2530 (November 2010).  
§1977. Cash Charitable Contributions 

A. Effective immediately, cash charitable contributions 
based on need, which are received from private nonprofit 
charitable organizations, not in excess of $300 total per 
federal fiscal year quarter, shall be excluded as SNAP 
household income. 

B. ... 
C. Affected households which were denied benefits 

because the household's eligibility or benefit calculation 
during the second federal fiscal year quarter of 1988 (but not 
prior to February 1, 1988) did not include this income 
exclusion shall be entitled to restored benefits, if otherwise 
eligible, at the time of recertification, whenever the 
household requests a review of its case, or when the 
department otherwise becomes aware that a review of a 
particular case is needed. Restored benefits shall be paid to 
February 1, 1988, or the date of the SNAP application, 
whichever is later. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
53:22291 et seq., 7 CFR 273.9, P.L. 11-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 
14:708 (October 1988), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Section, LR 36:2530 (November 2010). 
§1978. Income Decreased for Failure to Comply With 

Another Program 
A. Effective November 27, 1996, an increase in SNAP 

benefits is prohibited when a household's benefit from 
another federal, state or local means-tested assistance 
program is decreased (reduced, suspended or terminated) 
due to failure to comply with a requirement of the program 
that imposed the benefit decrease. 

B. The procedures for determining SNAP benefits when 
there is such a decrease in income are as follows. 

1. When a recipient's benefits under a federal, state, or 
local means-tested program (such as but not limited to SSI 

or FITAP) is decreased due to noncompliance, SNAP 
identifies that portion of the decrease which is a penalty. 

2. The department calculates the SNAP benefits using 
the benefit amount which would be issued by that program if 
a penalty had not decreased the recipient's benefit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
61:19155 et seq., 7 CFR 272.1, 273.9 and 273.11, P.L. 104-193, 
P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 22:1141 (November 
1996), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2530 (November 2010). 
§1980. Income Exclusions 

A. In addition to those income exclusions previously 
adopted and codified in Chapter 19, Certification of Eligible 
Households, the following income types will be excluded 
from countable income for the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program: 

1. - 42. ... 
43. any payments other than wages received as a result 

of the Mississippi Canyon 252 Well Incident in the Gulf of 
Mexico on April 20, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 
103-66, 7 CFR 273.9(c)(11), P.L. 104-193, P.L. 107-171, P.L. 108-
447, CFR 273.2, (j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 21:188 (February 
1995), amended LR 23:82 (January 1997), LR 29:607 (April 2003), 
LR 31:2956 (November 2005), LR 32:1616 (September 2006), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2530 
(November 2010). 
§1981. Child Support Deduction 

A. Legally obligated child support payments to, or for, 
an individual living outside of the household must be 
included in the deductions from the total monthly income 
when a budget for SNAP eligibility is determined. 
Households that fail or refuse to obtain necessary 
verification of their legal obligation or of their child support 
payments will have their eligibility and benefit level 
determined without consideration of a child support 
deduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
59:63265 et seq., 7 CFR 271, 273, 275, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support in LR 21:958 (September 
1995), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2530 (November 2010). 
§1983. Income Deductions and Resource Limits  

A. In determining eligibility and benefit levels, the 
household is allowed deductions for certain costs. 

1. ... 
2. For fiscal year 2002 and each subsequent fiscal 

year, the maximum shelter deduction will be computed 
based on the amount for the preceding fiscal year, adjusted 
to reflect changes in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban 
Consumers for the 12-month period ending the preceding 
November 30. 

3. - 3.a. ... 
B. The resource limit for a household is $2,000, and 

effective October 1, 2002, the resource limit for a household 
that includes at least one elderly or disabled member is 
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$3,000 for households and individuals who are not 
categorically eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
273.9 (d)(2) and (d)(6), P.L. 104-193, P.L. 106-387 and P.L. 107-
171, Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session, P.L. 108-447, CFR 273.2, (j),P.L. 
110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:423 (July 1986), amended LR 13:181 (March 1987), LR 15:14 
(January 1989), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 19:905 (July 1993), LR 21:188 
(February 1995), LR 23:82 (January 1997), LR 27:867 (June 2001), 
LR 27:1934 (November 2001), LR 29:607 (April 2003), LR 30:495 
(March 2004), LR 35:689 (April 2009), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2530 (November 2010). 
Subchapter J. Determining Household Eligibility and 

Benefit Levels 
§1985. Determining Eligibility 

A. Effective March 1, 1983, the Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program's State Manual has been revised to 
reflect these mandated changes. 

1. - 3. ... 
4. Households participating or applying for 

participation in SNAP shall provide the agency with the 
Social Security Number (SSN) of each household member, 
or apply for one through the agency before certification as a 
condition of eligibility. The member that has applied for an 
SSN shall be allowed to participate for 30 days from the first 
day of the first full month of participation while awaiting 
receipt of the SSN. If the household member(s) can show 
good cause why an SSN has not been obtained in a timely 
manner, they shall be allowed to participate for an additional 
30 days. In determining if good cause exists for failure to 
comply with this requirement, the department shall consider 
information from the household member, the Social Security 
Administration, and its own information. Documentary 
evidence or collateral information that the household has 
applied for the number or made every effort to supply SSA 
with the necessary information shall be considered good 
cause for not complying with this requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
47:53309 et seq., 7 CFR 271, 272, 273.10, 274, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:64 
(February 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 24:1783 (September 1998), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2531 (November 
2010). 
§1987. Categorical Eligibility for Certain Recipients 

A. Households Considered Categorically Eligible 
1. Households in which a member is a recipient of 

benefits from the FITAP, STEP, and/or Kinship Care Subsidy 
Program, and households in which all members are 
recipients of SSI, shall be considered categorically eligible 
for SNAP. 

2. - 4.b. ... 
c. any member of the household is ineligible 

because of a drug related felony.  
5. The following persons shall not be considered a 

member of a household when determining categorical 
eligibility: 

a. an ineligible alien; 

b. an ineligible student; 
c. an institutionalized person; 
d. an individual who is disqualified for failure to 

comply with the work registration requirements; 
e. an individual who is disqualified for failure to 

provide or apply for a social security number; 
f. an individual who is on strike.  

A.6. - 7. ... 
8. Categorically eligible households must meet all 

SNAP eligibility factors except as outlined above. 
9. Changes reported by categorically-eligible SNAP 

households shall be handled according to established 
procedures except in the areas of resources or other 
categorical eligibility factors. 

10. ... 
B. Application Processing 

1. Households in which all members are applying for 
public assistance shall continue to be processed according to 
joint processing procedures. Until a determination is made 
on the public assistance application, the household's SNAP 
eligibility and benefit level shall be based on SNAP 
eligibility criteria. However, the local office shall postpone 
denying a potentially categorically-eligible household until 
the thirtieth day in case the household is determined eligible 
to receive public assistance benefits. 

2. - 4. ... 
5. If eligibility for public assistance is determined 

within the 30-day SNAP processing time, benefits shall be 
provided back to the date of application. If eligibility for 
public assistance is determined after the SNAP application is 
denied, benefits for the initial month shall be prorated from 
the effective date of the public assistance certification or the 
date of the SNAP application, whichever is later. 

C. Certified households which become categorically 
eligible due to receipt of SSI benefits shall be eligible for the 
medical and uncapped shelter deductions from the beginning 
of the period for which the SSI benefits are authorized or the 
date of the SNAP application, whichever is later. These 
additional benefits shall be provided through restoration. 

D. For SNAP purposes, Refugee Cash Assistance (RCA) 
benefits are not considered public assistance and, therefore, 
an RCA household is not categorically eligible. 

E. Households considered broad-based categorically 
eligible for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP) benefits are households who receive a non-cash 
TANF/MOE funded benefit or service. 

1. A household shall not be considered broad-based 
categorically eligible if: 

a. any member of that household is disqualified for 
an intentional program violation; 

b. the household is disqualified for failure to 
comply with the work registration requirements; 

c. any member of the household is ineligible 
because of a drug related felony. 

2. The following persons shall not be considered a 
member of a household when determining broad-based 
categorical eligibility: 

a. an ineligible alien; 
b. an ineligible student; 
c. an institutionalized person; 
d. an individual who is disqualified for failure to 

comply with the work registration requirements; 
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e. an individual who is disqualified for failure to 
provide or apply for a social security number; 

f. an individual who is on strike. 
3. Households which are broad-based categorically 

eligible are considered to have met the resource eligibility 
factor without additional verification. 

4. Broad-based categorically eligible households must 
meet all Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
eligibility factors except as outlined above. 

5. Benefits for broad-based categorically eligible 
households shall be based on net income as for any other 
household. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
51:28196 et seq., 7 CFR 271, 272, 273.10, and 274, F.R. 56:63612-
63613, P.L. 104-193, 7 CFR 273.2(j)(2)(xi), Act 58, 2003 Reg. 
Session, 7 CFR 273.2, (j), P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 13:90 
(February 1987), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 18:1267 (November 1992), LR 
24:1783 (September 1998), LR 26:349 (February 2000), LR 27:867 
(June 2001), LR 27:1934 (November 2001), LR 30:495 (March 
2004), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2531 (November 2010). 
§1988. Eligibility Disqualification of Certain Recipients 

A. ... 
B. Effective May 7, 1998 an individual convicted under 

federal or state law of any offense which is classified as a 
felony by the law of the jurisdiction involved and which has 
as an element the possession, use or distribution of a 
controlled substance (as defined in section 102(6) of the 
Controlled Substances Act, 21 U.S.C. 802[6]) shall be 
disqualified from receiving SNAP benefits for a period of 
one year commencing on the date of conviction if an 
individual is not incarcerated, or from the date of release 
from incarceration if the individual is incarcerated. This 
shall apply to an offense which occurred after August 22, 
1996. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with P.L. 
104-193, R.S. 46:233.1, P.L.105-33, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:83 (January 
1997), amended LR 23:590 (May 1997), LR 23:1710 (December 
1997), LR 24:1783 (September 1998), amended by the Department 
of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2532 (November 2010). 
§1991. Initial Month's Benefits 

A. Effective 10/1/96 by ER Initial month means either the 
first month for which an allotment is issued to a household, 
or the first month for which an allotment is issued to a 
household following any period during which the household 
was not certified for participation in SNAP. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

46:44712 et seq., F.R. 47:55463 et seq. and 47:55903 et seq., 7 
CFR 273.10, P.L. 103-66, P.L. 104-193. P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 8:10 
(January 1982), amended LR 9:131 (March 1983), amended by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 
21:188 (February 1995), LR 23:83 (January 1997), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2532 (November 2010). 

§1993. Replacement of Benefits 
A. Replacement issuances shall be provided only if a 

household timely reports a loss (food purchased with SNAP 
benefits has been destroyed in a household misfortune) and 
executes the proper affidavit. Replacement issuances shall be 
provided in the amount of the loss to the household, up to a 
maximum of one month's allotment, unless the issuance 
includes restored benefits which shall be replaced up to their 
full value. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

54:6989 et seq., 7 CFR 273.10, P.L. 110-246. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Eligibility Determinations, LR 15:629 
(August 1989), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 19:783 (June 1993), LR 24:1783 
(September 1998), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2532 (November 2010). 
Subchapter K. Action on Households with Special 

Circumstances 
§1995. Sponsored Aliens 

A. The full amount of income and resources of an alien's 
sponsor and the sponsor's spouse are counted in determining 
the eligibility and allotment level of a sponsored alien until 
the alien becomes a citizen or has worked 40 qualifying 
quarters of Social Security coverage. These provisions do 
not apply to battered aliens, their children, the alien parent of 
a battered child, or effective October 1, 2003, any alien 
under 18 years of age, or an indigent alien that the state 
agency has determined is unable to obtain food and shelter, 
taking into account the alien’s own income plus, any cash, 
food, housing, or other assistance provided by other 
individuals, including the sponsor(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
47:55463 et seq. and 47:55903 et seq., 7 CFR 273.11, P.L. 104-193, 
P.L. 104-208, P.L. 105-33, and P.L. 107-171, and 7CFR 273.4 
(c)(3)(iv). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:130 
(March 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, 
Office of Family Support, LR 23:83 (January 1997), LR 24:355 
(February 1998), LR 30:493 (March 2004), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2532 (November 2010).  
§1997. Drug and Alcohol Treatment Centers 

A. Residents of publicly operated community mental 
health centers which provide the same type of residential 
programs for alcoholic or drug rehabilitation as private, 
nonprofit institutions will be considered individual 
households and, if eligible, may participate in SNAP. 

B. Drug addicts or alcoholics and their children who are 
residents in an approved public or private, drug or alcohol 
treatment center program may participate in SNAP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
51:6511 et seq., 7 CFR 273.11, P.L. 103-66, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
12:367 (June 1986), amended by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 21:189 (February 1995), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2532 
(November 2010). 
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Subchapter L. Reporting Changes 
§1998. Reporting Requirements 

A. Effective November 2009, all SNAP households are 
included in simplified reporting with the exception of 
households participating in the Louisiana Combined 
Application Project (LaCAP). 

B. Simplified reporting households are required to report 
only: 

1. changes in the household’s gross monthly income 
which result in the household’s income exceeding 130 
percent of the monthly poverty income guideline for the 
household size; and 

2. changes in work hours of able-bodied adults 
without dependents (ABAWDs) who are subject to the time 
limit set forth in Section 1940 if the change results in the 
ABAWD working an average of less than 20 hours per 
week. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
273.12(a), P.L. 107-171. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 30:1486 (July 2004), 
amended LR 35:689 (April 2009), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2533 (November 2010). 
Subchapter M. Notice of Adverse Action 
§1999. Reduction or Termination of Benefits 

A. A notice of adverse action shall be sent at least 13 
days prior to taking action to reduce or terminate benefits. In 
some circumstances advance notice is not required. A 
concurrent notice shall be sent to the household at the time 
of action in the following situations. 

1. The agency disqualifies a household member 
because of an intentional program violation and the benefits 
of the remaining household members are reduced or ended 
because of the disqualification. 

2. Benefits are reduced or terminated at the end of the 
certification period when the client timely reapplies. 

3. The client has been certified in another state and 
that fact has been established. 

4. The client signs a statement requesting closure or 
reduction in benefits and waives the right to advance notice. 

5. Benefits are reduced or terminated effective the 
month following the simplified report month as a result of 
changes reported through the simplified reporting process. 

6. The agency receives a written report signed by the 
head of the household or other responsible household 
member which provides sufficient information for the 
agency to determine the household’s benefit amount or 
ineligibility. 

7. Mass changes. 
8. Based on reliable information, the agency 

determines that the household has moved or will be moving 
out of the state prior to the next monthly issuance. 

9. The household applied for cash assistance and 
SNAP at the same time and has been getting SNAP benefits 
while waiting for approval of the cash assistance grant. 

10. The client was a certified resident in a drug or 
alcohol treatment center or a group living arrangement 
which loses its state certification or FNS disqualifies it as a 
retailer. 

11. A household certified under expedited processing 
rules provides postponed verification which reduces or 
terminates benefits. 

B. - B.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 7 

CFR 273.12(a)(1)(vii), P.L. 110-246  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:324 
(May 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office 
of Family Support, LR 24:108 (January 1998), LR 32: 2270 
(December 2006), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2533 (November 2010). 
Subchapter N. Recertification 
§2003. Recertification of Supplemental Security Income 

Households 
A. Supplemental security income households which have 

received a SNAP notice of expiration shall be entitled to 
make a timely application for SNAP recertification at the 
SSA office. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 
46:44712 et seq., 7 CFR 273.14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 8:10 
(January 1982), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2533 (November 2010). 
Subchapter P. Recovery of Over-Issued SNAP Benefits 
§2005. Claims Against Households 

A. - B.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with F.R. 

48:6837 et seq., P.L.97-35,97-253,101-624 §1746, and 102-237 
§911, 7 CFR 272,273, 276 and 277, P.L.103-66, P.L.104-193, P.L. 
104-134, 7CFR 3 Subpart B., P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 9:323 
(May 1983), amended by the Department of Social Services, Office 
of Family Support, LR 18:1133 (October 1992), LR 20:899 
(August 1994), LR 21:189 (February 1995), LR 22:584 (July 
1996), LR 23:83 (January 1997), LR 23:1710 (December 1997), 
LR 24:2326 (December 1998), LR 27:1017 (July 2001), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2533 (November 
2010). 
§2007. Penalties 

A. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
(SNAP) shall maintain provisions relating to the 
disqualification penalties for intentional program violations. 
These provisions are aimed at deterring SNAP abuse and 
improving recovery of overpayments. 

B. The basis for disqualification includes the intentional 
making of false or misleading statements, 
misrepresentations, or the concealment or withholding of 
facts, as well as the commission of any act that constitutes a 
violation of any state SNAP statute, and the use of SNAP 
benefits in certain illegal purchases. The program will not 
increase the benefits to the household of a disqualified 
person because of the disqualification. 

1. ... 
2. Individuals will be disqualified for two years for a 

first finding by a court that the individual used or received 
SNAP benefits in a transaction involving the sale of a 
controlled substance, and permanently for a second such 
finding. Permanent disqualification will also result for the 
first finding by a court that an individual used or received 
SNAP benefits in a transaction involving the sale of 
firearms, ammunition or explosives with SNAP benefits. 
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3. An individual convicted of trafficking SNAP 
benefits of $500 or more shall be permanently disqualified. 

4. ... 
C. A loss of benefits penalty shall be imposed on those 

SNAP recipients who fail to report earned income in a 
timely manner. When determining the amount of benefits the 
household should have received, the department shall not 
apply the 20 percent earned income deduction to the income 
of the household which did not timely report. By doing this, 
the household that benefited from the failure to timely report 
is penalized since the amount it has to repay in overissuance 
will be increased. This provision shall be applied to 
allotments issued for October 1996 and all allotments issued 
for subsequent months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
272, 273, 276 and 277, P.L.103-66, P.L. 104-193, P.L. 104-134, 7 
CFR 3 Subpart B, and FR 65:41752 et seq., P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of Family Security, LR 
14:150 (March 1988), amended by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 23:84 (January 1997), LR 
27:1017 (July 2001), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2533 (November 2010). 
Subchapter R. Simplified Reporting 
§2013. Simplified Reporting 

A. Effective November 2009, all SNAP households are 
included in simplified reporting with the exception of 
households participating in the Louisiana Combined 
Application Project (LaCAP). 

B. Households subject to simplified reporting will be 
required to report only: 

1. - 2. ... 
C. Households included in Simplified Reporting will be 

assigned a certification period of 12 months. 
D. All households in simplified reporting are required to: 

1. timely provide a completed simplified report form 
and all necessary verification; and 

2. report current household circumstances. 
E. Failure to provide a complete Simplified Report form 

and verification will result in case closure. 
F. ... 
G. Any change in benefits as a result of simplified 

reporting will be effective the month following the month in 
which the Simplified Report was required. 

H. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

273.12(a), P.L. 107-171 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 27:867 (June 2001), 
amended LR 28:103 (January 2002), LR 29:607 (April 2003), LR 
35:689 (April 2009), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2534 (November 2010). 
Chapter 21. Louisiana Combined Application Project 

(LaCAP) 
Subchapter A. Household Concept 
§2103. Household Definition 

A. - A.2. ... 
3. is not institutionalized, or otherwise ineligible for 

SNAP due to immigration status, an Intentional Program 
Violation, or drug conviction; and 

4. lives alone or declares to purchase and prepare food 
separately from others in a shared living situation. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

271.3(c), 7 CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act of 
1977, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010). 
§2105. Application Process 

A. The department shall make an eligibility 
determination and issue SNAP benefits within 30 days 
following the date of application for LaCAP. 

B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

273.2(g), 7 CFR 271.3(c), 7 CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the 
Food Stamp Act of 1977, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010). 
§2107. Benefits 

A. Participants will receive one of four standard amounts 
of SNAP benefits based on the household’s total combined 
shelter (housing and utilities) costs. 

B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

271.3(c), 7CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act of 
1977, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2271 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010). 
§2113. Household Options 

A. Households may choose to opt out of LaCAP at any 
time and participate in regular SNAP, if otherwise eligible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 
271.3(c), 7 CFR Part 282, and Section 17 of the Food Stamp Act of 
1977, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010). 
§2117. Recovery of Overissued Benefits 

A. Establishment of claims, penalties, and collection 
methods for LaCAP households shall be handled in 
accordance with procedures outlined in Chapter 19, 
Subchapter P, Recovery of Over-Issued Supplemental 
Nutrition Assistance Program Benefits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:953.B., 7 CFR 273.18, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2534 (November 2010). 
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Subpart 12.  Child Care Assistance Program 
Chapter 51. Child Care Assistance Program 
Subchapter A. Administration, Conditions of Eligibility, 

and Funding 
§5102. Definitions 

* * * 
Household Designee (HD)―an adult who is designated 

(in writing) by the CCAP Head of Household, other 
responsible household member, or authorized representative 
to drop off and/or pick up the child or children from an 
authorized CCAP provider. Each household designee may be 
finger imaged for identity purposes. In the case of an in-
home provider, a household designee is the person to whom 
the provider may release the child or children when the 
provider leaves the home.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193, 7 CFR Part 273, ACF 
Guidance: ACYF-IM-CC-05-03, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:2826 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1932 (November 2001), LR 28:1490 (June 
2002), LR 29:43 (January 2003), LR 29:189 (February 2003), LR 
30:1484 (July 2004), LR 31:2262 (September 2005), LR 32:1464 
(August 2006), LR 36:845 (April 2010), LR 36:1278 (June 2010), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2535 
(November 2010). 
§5104. Reporting Requirements Effective February 1, 

2004 
A. A low income child care household that is not 

included in a Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 
Simplified Reporting household shall report any change that 
affects eligibility or the amount of monthly benefits. 
Changes in income must be reported if the household’s gross 
monthly income changes by more than $100 in earned 
income or $50 in unearned income. Changes shall be 
reported within 10 days of the knowledge of the change. 

B. A low income child care household that is included in 
a SNAP simplified reporting household is subject to the 
simplified reporting requirements in accordance with LAC 
67:III.2013. In addition, these households must report the 
following changes within 10 days of the knowledge of the 
change: 

1. - 3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193, 7 CFR Part 273, ACF 
Guidance: ACYF-IM-CC-05-03, P.L. 110-246. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:356 (February 
1998), amended LR 25:2444 (December 1999), LR 26:2827 
(December 2000), LR 27:1932 (November 2001), LR 28:1490 
(June 2002), LR 29:43 (January 2003), LR 29:1106 (July 2003), 
LR 29:1833 (September 2003), LR 30:496 (March 2004), LR 
30:1487 (July 2004), LR 31:101 (January 2005), LR 31:2263 
(September 2005), LR 32:1464 (August 2006), LR 33:506 (March 
2007), LR 34:692 (April 2008), LR 36:845 (April 2010), LR 
36:1278 (June 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, 
LR 36:2535 (November 2010). 
§5106. Ineligible Payments 

A. All ineligible benefits are subject to action to recover 
such benefits. 

B. When a participant is suspected of Intentional 
Program Violation (IPV), appropriate referral and forms 

shall be submitted to the Fraud and Recovery Section. The 
Fraud and Recovery Section may then: 

1. refer the case for prosecution; or 
2. refer the case to the Appeals Bureau for a 

Disqualification Hearing if the participant does not sign the 
Waiver of Right to an Administrative Hearing and the facts 
of the case do not warrant civil or criminal prosecution 
through the appropriate court systems; or the case was 
previously referred for prosecution and was declined by the 
appropriate legal authority; or the case was previously 
referred for prosecution and no action was taken within a 
reasonable period of time and the referral was formally 
withdrawn by Fraud and Recovery. 

C. If IPV is established, Fraud and Recovery will send a 
notice to the person to be disqualified and a copy of the 
notice to the parish office. The parish office will take action 
to disqualify for the appropriate situations: 

1. 12 months for the first violation; 
2. 24 months for the second violation; and 
3. permanently for the third violation.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193, Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2535 (November 2010). 
Subchapter B. Child Care Providers 
§5107. Child Care Providers 

A. - B.4. ... 
C. An FCDCH provider must be registered and active in 

the CCAP Provider Directory before payments can be made 
to that provider. 

1. To be eligible for participation, in CCAP, an 
FCDCH provider must meet registration requirements as 
provided in R.S. 46:1441 et seq., complete and sign an 
FCDCH provider agreement, complete a CCAP application 
for registration and Form W-9, pay appropriate fees, furnish 
verification of Social Security number and residential 
address, provide proof that he/she is at least 18 years of age, 
and meet all registration requirements, including: 

C.1.a. - E.6. ... 
F. Under no circumstance can the following be an 

eligible CCAP provider: 
F.1. - G.1.a. ... 

b. an FCDCH provider fails to pass inspection by 
the Fire Marshal; 

c. - f. ... 
g. any action which results in disqualification as 

described in LAC 67: III. Section 5113. 
1.h. - 2. ... 

H.1. Quality incentive bonuses are available to: 
a. effective May 1, 2004, eligible CCAP providers 

who provide special care for children with special needs. 
This special needs care includes but it is not limited to 
specialized facilities/equipment, lower staff ratio, and 
specially trained staff. The amount of these Special Care 
Needs Incentive payments will be in accordance with 
§5109.B.1.b and §5109.B.2.b; 

b. eligible child care centers that employ a teacher 
who attends specified infant/toddler training on a first-come, 
first-serve basis, on a limited basis due to one-time 
American Recovery and Reinvestment ACT (ARRA) 
funding. A maximum of 10 centers per region are eligible to 
receive a $2000 grant for infant/toddler materials and 
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equipment. However, if all applications have been received 
and one region has less than 10 qualified or interested 
centers and another region has additional qualified centers 
that wish to participate, resources may be moved to allow 
full participation and benefit from the ARRA funding. The 
center must meet requirements and participation targets to 
receive the grant. Centers must apply and meet the 
requirements to be eligible. Eligibility will be determined by 
the Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Education; 

c. eligible teachers who work for an eligible center 
as described in LAC 67: 5107.H.1.b. and elect to attend this 
specialized infant/toddler training. Up to four infant/toddler 
teachers employed by the eligible center may attend. 
Teachers can receive wage supplements up to $1500 for 
participation but must meet requirements and participation 
targets to receive wage supplements. Teachers must apply 
and meet the requirements to be eligible. Eligibility will be 
determined by the Division of Child Care and Early 
Childhood Education. 

H.2. - I.3. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193,Act 152, 2002 First 
Extraordinary Session, Act 13, 2002 Reg. Session, Act 58, 2003 
Reg. Session, ACF Guidance: ACYF-IM-CC-05-03. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:357 (February 
1998), amended LR 25:2444 (December 1999), LR 26:2827 
(December 2000), LR 27:1932 (November 2001), LR 28:349 
(February 2002), LR 28:1491 (June 2002), LR 29:43 (January 
2003), LR 29:189 (February 2003), LR 30:496 (March 2004), LR 
30:1484, 1487 (July 2004), LR 31:102 (January 2005), LR 31:2263 
(September 2005), LR 32:1465 (August 2006), LR 32:2097 
(November 2006), LR 33:507 (March 2007), LR 34:692 (April 
2008), LR 36:555 (March 2010), LR 36:845 (April 2010), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Economic 
Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR:36:2535 (November 
2010). 
§5111. Ineligible Payments 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 CFR 

Parts 98 and 99, P.L. 104-193, Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:2830 (December 
2000), amended LR 30:496 (March 2004), LR 31:2266 (September 
2005), repealed by Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2536 
(November 2010). 
§5113. Disqualification Periods for CCAP Providers 

A. A child care provider shall be disqualified from 
receiving CCAP payments if the agency determines that 
certain acts or violations have been committed by that 
provider. CCAP disqualifications shall apply as follows. 

1. A criminal background check (CBC) shows that a 
provider has been convicted of or pled no contest to any 
defense in another jurisdiction whose elements would 
constitute an enumerated offense under in R.S.15:587.1(C) if 
committed within Louisiana, shall result in permanent 
disqualification. If a CBC shows that a person living in or 
working in an FCDCH or a person working in a Class A, 
Class E center, or child care center licensed by the 
Department of Defense (Class M) shows the person has been 
convicted of or pled no contest to any offense enumerated in 
R.S.15:587.1(C), or has been convicted or pled no contest to 
any offense in another jurisdiction whose elements would 

constitute an enumerated offense under R.S. 15:587.1(C) if 
committed within Louisiana, the provider shall be 
disqualified until that person is no longer living in or 
working in the FCDCH or working in the Class A, Class E, 
or Class M center. For purposes of this Section a conviction 
under La C.Cr.P. Artts 893 or 894, or equivalent provisions 
of another jurisdiction, shall constitute a conviction. 

2. A Category 1 validated complaint of child abuse or 
neglect on the provider shall result in permanent 
disqualification. If the Category 1 validated complaint is for 
a person living in or working in an FCDCH or for a person 
working in a Class A, Class E, or Class M center, the 
provider shall be disqualified until that person is no longer 
living in or working in the FCDCH or working in the Class 
A, Class E, or Class M center. The following types of 
validated complaints of child abuse or neglect are considered 
to be Category 1 complaints: bone fracture, factitious 
disorder by proxy/Munchausen by proxy syndrome, 
poisoning or noxious substance ingestion, suffocation, 
whiplash/shaken infant syndrome, HIV/AIDS and hepatitis, 
prostitution, sexual intercourse (vaginal or anal), failure to 
thrive (non-organic), central nervous system damage/brain 
damage/skull fracture, internal injury, subdural hematoma, 
torture, wounds, oral sex, sexual exploitation/pornography, 
sexually transmitted disease, malnutrition/starvation, 
death/abuse, death/neglect, perpetrators who have an 
adjudication of a child in need of care, perpetrators with a 
voluntary or involuntary Termination of Parental Rights 
(TPR) judgment, sexual enticement, simulated intercourse, 
abandonment, burns, eye injury, minor head/facial injuries, 
tying or confinement, passive abuse, exploitation, sexual 
manipulation or fondling, emotional maltreatment, 
bruises/cuts/welts/scratches, dislocations or sprains, human 
bites, mouth/dental trauma, medical neglect, drug/alcohol 
abuse, dependency, and lack of supervision as described in 
§5113A.4. These types of validated complaints of child 
abuse or neglect are defined by the department. 

3. A Category 2 validated complaint of child abuse or 
neglect on the provider shall result in the disqualification 
periods described below. If the Category 2 validated 
complaint is for a person living in or working in an FCDCH 
or working in a Class A, Class E, or Class M center, the 
provider shall be disqualified until that person is no longer 
living in or working in the FCDCH or working in the Class 
A, Class E, or Class M center, or until the disqualification 
period described below ends, whichever is sooner. The 
following types of validated complaints of child abuse or 
neglect are considered to be Category 2 complaints: 
inadequate clothing, inadequate food, inadequate shelter, and 
lack of supervision as described in §5113.A.4. These types 
of validated complaints of child abuse or neglect are defined 
by the department. The disqualification periods for Category 
2 validated complaints are as follows: 

a. six months for first validated complaint;  
b. 12 months for second validated complaint; 
c. 24 months for third and subsequent validated 

complaints. 
4. A validated complaint of child abuse or neglect due 

to lack of supervision shall be deemed by the agency as 
either a Category 1 or a Category 2 complaint, based on the 
severity of the complaint and the circumstances that existed 
at the time of the complaint. 
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5. An Intentional Program Violation (IPV) is any act 
by a CCAP provider that consists of intentionally making a 
false or misleading statement, or misrepresenting, 
concealing, or withholding relevant facts. A provider who 
has committed an IPV will be subject to the following 
disqualification periods: 

a. 12 months for the first violation; 
b. 24 months for the second violation; and,  
c. permanently for the third violations  

6. Non-fraudulent violations of the terms of the CCAP 
Provider Agreement, shall result in the following 
disqualification periods: 

a. three months for first violation; 
b. six months for second violation; and 
c. 12 months for third and subsequent violations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L.104-193. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 34:2208 (October 
2008), amended LR 36:556 (March 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic Stability 
and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2536 (November 2010). 

Subpart 13.  Kinship Care Subsidy Program (KCSP) 
Chapter 53. Application, Eligibility, and Furnishing 

Assistance 
Subchapter B. Conditions of Eligibility 
§5329. Income 

A. - A.31. ... 
32. any payments other than wages received as a result 

of the Mississippi Canyon Well Incident in the Gulf of 
Mexico on April 20, 2010. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 

U.S.C. 601 et seq. and 10602(c), R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231.1.B, R.S. 
46:237, and P.L. 108-447, Act 16, 2005 Reg. Session, 7 CFR 
273.2(j). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 26:353 (February 
2000), amended LR 26:2832 (December 2000), LR 31:2958 
(November 2005), LR 32:1617 (September 2006), LR 32:1913 
(October 2006), repromulgated LR 32:2098 (November 2006), 
amended by the Department of Children and Family Services, 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2537 
(November 2010). 
§5347. Reporting Changes 

A. Effective February 1, 2004, a KCSP household that is 
not included in a SNAP Simplified Reporting household 
shall report any change that affects eligibility. Changes in 
income must be reported if the household's gross monthly 
income changes by more than $100 in earned income or $50 
in unearned income. Changes shall be reported within 10 
days of the knowledge of the change. 

B. A KCSP household that is included in a Simplified 
Reporting household is subject to the simplified household 
reporting requirements in accordance with LAC 67:III.2013 
and must report if the only child moves out of the home. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., R.S. 36:474, R.S. 46:231 et seq., 7 CFR Part 
273, 42 U.S.C., et seq.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 28:2565 (December 
2002), amended LR 30:1487 (July 2004), LR 32:264 (February 
2006), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section, LR 
36:2537 (November 2010). 

Subpart 15.  Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 
(TANF) Initiatives 

Chapter 55. TANF Initiatives 
§5501. Introduction to the TANF Initiatives 

A. The programs known collectively as the TANF 
Initiatives provide benefits in the form of services to needy 
families, defined as families who have earned income at or 
below 200 percent of the federal poverty level, or a family in 
which any member receives a Family Independence 
Temporary Assistance Program (FITAP) grant, Kinship Care 
Subsidy Program (KCSP) grant, Supplemental Nutrition 
Assistance Program (SNAP) benefits, Child Care Assistance 
Program (CCAP) services, Title IV-E, Medicaid, Louisiana 
Children's Health Insurance Program (LaCHIP) benefits, 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or free or reduced 
school lunch. 

B. Not all TANF Initiatives require a family to be 
"needy" as defined above in order to receive services. There 
are initiatives that target children, parents, or caretaker 
relatives of minor children and require only that the person 
be in need of the services provided by the initiative. 

C. The goals of the TANF Initiatives are: 
1. to provide assistance to needy families so that 

children may be cared for in their own homes or in the 
homes of relatives; 

2. to end dependence of needy parents on government 
benefits by promoting job preparation, work, and marriage; 

3. to prevent and reduce the incidence of out-of-
wedlock pregnancies; and 

4. to encourage the formation and maintenance of 
two-parent families. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 42 
U.S.C. 601 et seq., P.L. 104-193. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Economic Stability and Self-
Sufficiency Section, LR 36:2537 (November 2010). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1011#130 
 

RULE 

Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism 
State Library of Louisiana 

State Library (LAC 25:VII.Chapters 1-53) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority 
granted in R.S. 44:718(D), that the State Library of 
Louisiana has amended the content of Chapters 1, 3, 5, 13, 
23, 31, 43, 45, 51 and 53 to reflect agency and departmental 
name changes as well as changes in procedures within the 
agency. 

Title 25 
CULTURAL RESOURCES 

Part VII.  State Library 
Subpart 1.  Readers' Services 

Chapter 1. Eligible Public 
§101. Use of Library 

A. Any citizen or any public, school, academic, special, 
or state institutional library is eligible to use without charge 
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the library materials and services of the State Library of 
Louisiana, as provided in these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9 
and R.S. 25:16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2537 (November 2010). 
§103. Information and Loan 

A. Any citizen may use library materials and receive 
information and reference service at the State Library. 

B. Any citizen registered for library service with his 
local public library shall borrow State Library printed 
materials through his local library. Exceptions to this rule 
are: 

1. if the State Library receives telephone or written 
authorization from a patron's parish library including 
facsimile or electronic mail, he may borrow direct with the 
materials being charged to the parish library. 

C. Students and faculty in institutions of higher learning, 
and residents and staff of other state institutions may, within 
the library regulation of such institutions, borrow State 
Library printed materials through those libraries. 

D. Elementary and secondary school libraries may 
borrow State Library materials through their local public 
libraries. 

E. Information, reference, and loan services of the State 
Library are available direct to: 

1. state elected and appointed officials and state 
employees including those who are retired; 

2. accredited members of the Louisiana public 
information media; 

3. officers and employees of agencies listed in the 
Louisiana State Government Directory; 

4. students and faculty members of the Louisiana 
State University Graduate School of Library and Information 
Science; 

5. all public, academic, special, and state institutional 
libraries whether in or outside of the state; 

6. State Library of Louisiana Board of 
Commissioners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9 
and R.S. 25:16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2538 (November 2010). 
§107. Blind and Physically Handicapped 

A. Any Louisiana resident who cannot use standard 
printed materials because of temporary or permanent visual 
impairment or physical handicap may use directly the 
special library materials and services of the State Library's 
Talking Books and Braille Library. Eligibility based on this 
qualification required by the federal government must be 
certified by a professional in the medical, social work, or 
educational field. 

B. This service is also extended to schools, hospitals, 
nursing homes and other agencies having one or more 
eligible handicapped persons in their care. 

C. Eligible Louisiana residents temporarily out of state 
(for not longer than three months) may continue to be served 
at their destination point. For longer periods, it is 
recommended that temporary service be applied for from the 

library for the blind and physically handicapped regularly 
serving the area of their temporary residence. United States 
citizens who move either temporarily or permanently 
overseas (including Puerto Rico, Guam and the Canal Zone) 
will be referred to the Library of Congress, Division for the 
Blind and Physically Handicapped, for service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9 
and R.S. 25:16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2538 (November 2010). 
Chapter 3. Library Materials 
§301. Information and Loan of Materials 

A. Library materials available for use in the State Library 
or on loan and the conditions for use are: 

1. books, pamphlets, documents, audio-visual 
materials; 

a. all may be used in the State Library; 
b. all are available for loan except volumes of 

expensive reference sets, the current editions of heavily used 
reference books, certain other reference books when needed 
pages can be Xeroxed, genealogy books, rare books, and 
books in fragile condition; 

c. the normal loan period for materials is 28 days. 
Materials with reserves are loaned for 21 days. Materials 
may be renewed twice for a total loan period of 84 days. 
Renewals will not be made on materials with reserves; 

2. magazines: 
a. all may be used in the State Library and all may 

circulate except the current issue and those in fragile 
condition in which case a photocopy of the desired article 
may be made; 

b. loan periods and extensions are the same as for 
books above; 

3. newspapers. Newspapers in print may be used in 
the library. Although newspapers do not circulate photo 
copies can be provided at $0.10 per exposure; 

4. microfilm. All microfilm which include among 
other items Louisiana newspapers, Louisiana census records, 
some parish records such as marriage, succession, and 
probate may be used in the State Library. Microfilm reader-
printers are available for patrons' use. Rolls that are in 
duplicate circulate for two weeks only with a limitation of 
five rolls to patron per loan; 

5. maps. All maps may be used in the State Library. 
Maps that are in duplicate circulate for 28 days; 

6. photographs and art works. All photographic art 
works may be used in the State Library, but do not circulate; 

7. slides. All slides may be used in the State Library.; 
8. vertical file material. All vertical file materials 

(clipped and mounted newspapers and magazine articles, 
current and retrospective) may be used in the library; 

B. Fines and fees for library materials are: 
 

Fine for Overdue Materials $.10 per day per item up to a maximum of 
$10.00 per item 

Replacement Cost for Lost 
Materials 

Replacement cost plus $25.00 processing 
fee 

 
1. The State Library offers a 3-day grace period on 

overdue items. On the fourth day, the fine is charged for 
every day the item is late, including the grace period, 
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weekends and holidays. The State Library offers an after-
hours deposit box for returning items when the library is 
closed. Items retrieved from this box will be assumed to 
have been returned on the last day the library was open. 

2. If an item has been published in the past five years, 
the retail price of the item plus the processing fee will be 
considered replacement cost and invoiced to the user when it 
is three months overdue. If an item was published six or 
more years ago, then the current replacement cost will be 
charged. If an item is out-of-print, the average out-of-print 
cost will be charged. 

3. If an item is returned within the same fiscal year in 
which it was lost and paid, then the user is entitled to a full 
refund of the charges. No refund is available after the end of 
the fiscal year. 

C. Meeting Rooms. The primary purpose of the meeting 
rooms within the State Library is for library programs and 
training. When not in use, meeting rooms may be available 
to other entities. Fees are outlined below: 

 

Room Maximum 
Seating 

CRT 
Use 

Other 
Governmental 

Agency Use 
Private Use 

Seminar Center 
(1st Floor) 

100 $0 $200 per day 
$125 per half day 

$500 per day 
$300 per half day 

Capitol View 
Room (5th floor) 

15 tables; 30 
classroom 

style 

$0 $200 per day 
$125 per half day 

$500 per day 
$300 per half day 

Room 221 (2nd 
Floor) 

15 $0 $100 per day 
$65 per half day 

$200 per day 
$125 per half day 

Rooms 128, 
132 (1st Floor) 

8 $0 $75 per day 
$40 per half day 

$125 per day 
$75 per half day 

 
1. Additional charges: 

a. $200 cleaning deposit for any event at which 
food is served (may be waived for governmental agency use) 
(refundable); 

b. $25 per instance for use of library laptop; 
c. $25 for use of library LCD projector and screen; 
d. $25 for use of flip chart (includes one pad of 

paper) and markers. 
2. Users of the meeting room must abide by the State 

Library meeting room policy (i.e., user cannot charge 
admission, cannot sell anything, etc.). Meeting rooms are 
only available during the normal business hours of the State 
Library. 

3. Priority for use of library meeting facilities is as 
follows: 

a. State Library activities; 
b. other library-related activities and organizations; 
c. CRT agencies; 
d. other governmental agencies; 
e. non-governmental agencies or individuals (may 

only reserve it 30 days in advance). 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 

the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library 
of Louisiana, LR 36:2538 (November 2010). 
§305. Blind and Physically Handicapped Materials 

A. Library materials available include books and 
magazines recorded on discs, open-reel magnetic tapes, and 
cassettes; and books and magazines printed in large type and 
embossed in Braille. Most of these materials are provided by 

the Library of Congress through its national books for the 
blind and handicapped program. 

B. Library materials are delivered to borrowers' homes 
and agencies by parcel post, and must be returned to the 
State Library by parcel post. All postage service is free. 
Users may borrow direct from the State Library if they wish. 

C. The loan period is one month for individuals, the 
school year for schools. Renewals are granted depending on 
the demand for specific titles. 

D. The number of books per loan is determined by the 
patrons themselves, the speed with which they read and 
return books, their needs, and their storage facilities. 
Agencies may arrange for deposit collections. 

E. Especially designed talking book machines cassette 
and digital players are provided on loan from the State 
Library or Talking Book and Braille Library. Patrons must 
provide their own open-reel tape playing equipment. 

F. Repair and maintenance of equipment is arranged by 
the official equipment lending agency which is the Talking 
Books and Braille Library. 

G. Application forms for use and information about the 
service are available from the State Library, any Louisiana 
public library, and the Talking Books and Braille Library, or 
any of its area offices. Applications may be filed with any of 
the above. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 

the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2539 (November 2010). 
Chapter 5. Services 
§501. Information and Loan Services 

A. Services include: 
1. filling requests for information; for specific titles, 

by specific authors, and for material on a particular subject; 
2. verifying and locating books and/or other materials 

not in the State Library collection for direct borrowing by 
the requesting library; 

3. making referrals to other sources; 
4. selecting books, periodicals, and other materials for 

purchase to meet demand, and to develop the collection; 
5. making or ordering photo copies, or microform 

prints, for all authorized users and borrowers; 
6. compiling bibliographies; 
7. instructing patrons in the use of the State Library. 

B. Limitations on services include: 
1. not performing genealogical research; 
2. assisting but not providing extensive research for 

students; 
3. assisting, but not searching indexes where available 

to patrons; 
4. not borrowing books on genealogy, juvenile books, 

popular fiction, best-selling nonfiction likely to be in current 
demand, medical or legal texts (except for a member of the 
medical or legal professions); 

5.  not borrowing from an academic institution for a 
student of that institution. 

C. Charges for Service. Services are free except for 
photocopying and microform prints. The charge for this 
service is $0.10 per exposure; a minimum of $1 is charged 
for mail orders. 

D. Use of Gumbo Digital Images are subject to fees as 
listed below: 
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Entity Use Price per 
Image 

Individual Personal/Educational $10 

Non-profit Editorial 
Film/video/advertising 

$20 
$50 

Commercial Editorial 
Film/video/advertising 

$50 
$100 

NOTE:  Rates and fees will be less than local commercial 
pricing and may be adjusted as needed to keep up with general 
business practices. In addition, the state librarian may make 
exceptions to fees as deemed necessary. The existing price 
structure as well as the Request for Permission to use is on our 
website. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 

the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2539 (November 2010). 
§505. Blind and Physically Handicapped Services 

A. Services include: 
1. lending library materials from the Talking Books 

and Braille Library collection; 
2. making every effort to locate outside the state any 

title the patron may request; 
3. making selections from lists of requests submitted 

by the patron. Catalogs of the collection are sent to the 
patron upon registration, and periodically thereafter; 

4. making selections for patron on request based on 
his personal interests and on information provided in his 
online profile; 

5. purchasing, or producing by volunteers, after 
evaluation of the request, materials for college or vocational 
use and titles of Louisiana or regional interest; 

6. sending names of patrons to the American 
Foundation for the Blind to assure patrons' receipt of official 
publications; 

7. sending on request for addition to mailing lists 
names of patrons to publishers of magazines available 
without charge. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 

the Office of the State Register December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2540 (November 2010). 
§507. Patrons' Right to Privacy  

A. State Library employees shall not divulge information 
regarding the materials used by any patron nor shall they 
identify the users of particular library materials without the 
consent of the individuals concerned. Such privileged client 
information will only be made available by the State Library 
on order from a court of competent jurisdiction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 

the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, repromulgated 
by Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the 
State Library, LR 28:1576 (July 2002), amended by the Department 
of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2540 
(November 2010). 

Subpart 2.  Library Technical Services 
Chapter 13. Louisiana Union Catalog 
§1301. Louisiana Union Catalog Program Functions 

A. The Louisiana Union Catalog Program provides a 
continually updated electronic file listing and description of 
all library materials by publicly funded public and academic 
libraries. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
25:451 and R.S. 25:453. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2540 (November 2010). 
§1303. Incorporation of Titles Submitted by Libraries 

A. Responsibility for the currency and accuracy of 
holdings information in the electronic databases is charged 
to each individual library. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
25:451 and R.S. 25:453. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2540 (November 2010). 
§1305. Bibliographic and Location Information 

A. Bibliographic and location information contained in 
the central electronic file is available to anyone on request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 
25:451 and R.S. 25:453. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2540 (November 2010). 

Subpart 3.  Library Development  
Chapter 23. Regional Library Systems 
§2305. Definitions of Conditions for Qualifying for a 

Library System Grant 
Designated as a System―parishes grouped geographically 

in natural trade areas for library cooperation. 
Director of the System―the chief administrative officer. 
Expenditures for Service—expenditures for personnel, 

library materials, binding and supplies, purchase, repair or 
replacement of furnishings and equipment, and costs 
necessary for the maintenance of the plant. It does not 
include capital expenditures which result in the acquisition 
of or addition to fixed assets, e.g., building sites, new 
buildings and building additions, equipment (including 
initial book stock), furnishings for new or expanded 
buildings. It excludes income in kind (free rent and utilities, 
staff members paid by another agency, the value of volunteer 
staff time, gift books and gift subscriptions to periodicals). If 
funds are saved over a period of years for replacement of 
equipment (or for the purchase of new equipment), the 
amount saved during the year under consideration may be 
counted in the expenditures for service for that year; 
however, when the total amount is spent during one year 
(example: for purchase of a bookmobile) only the amount 
budgeted for that year may be counted in expenditures for 
service. 

Library Center―the administrative unit to house the staff 
required to administer the system, to accommodate the 
services performed, and to provide an in-depth collection of 
library materials to permit ready access by the total citizenry 
of the system. 

Library System―a group of libraries within a defined 
geographical area working together for the improvement of 
library service for all residents of the area. 

Membership in the System―participation in the plan of 
service developed by the executive council which is made up 
of the administrative librarians of the member libraries of the 
system. 
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Resources―all types of library materials including books, 
periodicals, films, recordings, microfilm, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Adopted in accordance with R.S. 25:9, 
R.S. 25:14 and R.S. 25:15. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Filed by the Louisiana State Library at 
the Office of the State Register, December 11, 1974, amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2540 (November 2010). 

Subpart 4.  State Aid to Public Libraries Grant 
Chapter 31. Disbursement of State Aid Grants 
§3101. Definitions 

A. The following terms have the respective meanings 
ascribed to them, except in those instances where the context 
clearly indicates a different meaning. 

Audiovisual Materials―educational materials directed 
at both the senses of hearing and sight, and includes motion 
pictures, videocassette, audiocassettes, CDs, DVDs, sound 
and silent filmstrips, slide sets, recordings, microprint, and 
art works used in library collections. 

Consolidated Library System―a library system, 
established by the governing bodies or authorities of two or 
more parishes as provided in R.S. 25:211, which crosses 
parish lines and is governed by a single board of trustees, 
administered by a single head librarian, and within which all 
of the service outlets are branches of a single institution. 

District Library―a library established by state law, for 
a defined district within a parish, to serve residents of the 
district. 

Free Basic Library Service―standard library service 
including the use of the principal circulating collection of the 
library standard reference/information services and 
electronic materials without charge. 

Municipal Library―a library, established by one or 
more municipal governing authorities as provided by law to 
serve all residents of the municipality or municipalities and 
which may or may not serve additional persons. 

Nonconsolidated Library System―a library system 
which is composed of two or more autonomous member 
libraries, each having its own board of trustees, controlled by 
representatives of member libraries, and operated from a 
designated library center under the supervision of a system 
director, and which receives special financial support from 
local, regional or state appropriations to provide more 
comprehensive library service in the geographical area 
served by the system. 

Parish Library―a library, established by a parish 
governing authority, as provided by law to serve all residents 
of the parish. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
6:107 (March 1980), amended LR 13:392 (July 1987), LR 24:2232 
(December 1998), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2541 (November 
2010). 
§3103. Submission of Applications 

A. The state librarian shall establish a program of 
supplemental grants to libraries for the purchase of 
technology enhancement, technological information 
resources, books, audiovisual materials, newspapers, and 
periodicals in accordance with the provisions of this Part. 
The state librarian may establish rules and regulations for 
implementation of this program in accordance with the 

Administrative Procedure Act. Grants may be made from 
funds appropriated to the State Library for allocation to 
libraries as provided herein. 

B. Any parish library which serves all residents of the 
parish, any municipal library which serves all residents of a 
parish which does not have a parish library, any consolidated 
library system, and any district library shall be entitled to 
apply annually to the state librarian to receive supplemental 
grants in accordance with the provisions of this Part. 

C. Applications to receive supplemental grants shall be 
submitted with the written approval of the Library Board of 
Control. 

D. Grants shall be made by the state librarian on the 
basis of annual applications for grants submitted to the state 
librarian. Applications for state fiscal year must be made by 
November 1 of the same state fiscal year. Exceptions for 
extending expenditures to the next fiscal year may be 
granted by the state librarian. 

E. Applications shall contain such information as may be 
requested by the state librarian to establish the eligibility of 
the library under the provisions of this Part and rules and 
regulations promulgated by the state librarian. Applications 
shall also contain a proposal for expenditure of funds for 
which application is made. 

F. Funds granted under the provisions of this Part shall 
be expended only for the purchase of technology 
enhancement, technological information resources, books, 
audiovisual materials, newspapers, and periodicals. 
Exceptions for expenditures on items other than those listed 
above may be granted by the state librarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
6:108 (March 1980), amended LR 24:2232 (December 1998), 
amended by the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, 
State Library, LR 36:2541 (November 2010). 
§3105. Eligibility 

A. Each library or consolidated library system 
represented by the applicant must be legally established 
according to Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 25, Section 
211, except for the New Orleans Public Library which was 
established prior to the enactment of Title 25. 

B. Each library or consolidated library system must 
agree to serve all patrons with free basic library service with 
no denial of service by reason of race, color, national origin, 
religion, sex, age, marital status, or political affiliation. 

C. Each library or consolidated library system shall show 
evidence of working toward the standards for public library 
service in Louisiana as adopted by the Louisiana Library 
Association. 

D. Each library or consolidated library system 
participating in the program of supplemental grants shall 
endorse and comply with the interlibrary loan code adopted 
by the Louisiana Library Association to assure the 
interlibrary availability of materials purchased from funds 
granted herein. 

E. A parish library which serves all residents of the 
parish, a municipal library which serves all residents of a 
parish which does not have a parish library, and a 
consolidated library system shall be eligible to apply to 
receive supplemental grants if other conditions of eligibility 
are met. 
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F. If eligibility to receive state grants under the rules is 
lost for any reason, the following conditions must be met to 
re-establish eligibility. 

1. The state librarian will be notified that the library or 
consolidated library system will be ineligible to participate 
in the program of supplemental grants by submission of the 
annual report which when filed by July 1 will indicate the 
inability to "maintain effort". Said library or consolidated 
library system shall not be declared ineligible until after the 
receipt of their annual report. 

2. The library or consolidated library system which 
has been declared ineligible in writing by the state librarian 
shall not receive state aid funds for the succeeding state 
fiscal year (July 1-June 30). 

3. The ineligible library or consolidated library system 
shall continue to make annual application to the State 
Library to be filed for the next succeeding year so when 
circumstances permit participation in the supplemental 
grants program the library or consolidated system will have 
an application on file and will be eligible. 

4. When an ineligible library or consolidated library 
system submits evidence in the form of the annual report of 
a return to the required level of maintenance of effort for the 
expenditure on library materials and total income received 
from local sources for the stipulated period of time, that 
library or consolidated library system will be declared 
eligible for participation in this program. Payments will 
begin with the state's next fiscal year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
6:108 (March 1980), amended LR 13:392 (July 1987), amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2541 (November 2010). 
§3113. Appeal Process 

A. If a public library, consolidated library system, or 
district library is denied the grant for technology materials 
and/or library materials, the avenue to appeal this decision 
will be first the state librarian, next, to the secretary of the 
Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, and finally, 
to the lieutenant governor of the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:14. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
6:109 (March 1980), amended LR 13:392 (July 1987), LR 24:2232 
(December 1998), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2542 (November 
2010). 

Subpart 5.  Public Document Depository System 
Chapter 43. Deposit of Publications 
§4303. Public Documents Required to be Deposited 

A. The public documents required to be deposited are 
those defined in R.S. 25:121.1.  

1. Electronic documents denotes any discrete public 
document published in a static electronic or digital format. 
Excluded from the definition of public documents are 
correspondence, interoffice or intra-office memoranda, 
records of an archival nature; interactive, non-discrete, 
constantly changing electronic items such as Web sites, 

databases, ASP (active server pages), or software programs. 
2. Public document means informational matter, 

regardless of format, method of reproduction, source, or 
copyright, originating in or produced with the imprint of, by 
the authority of, or at the total or partial expense of, any state 
agency, including material published with federal funds or 
by sub-state planning districts. This definition incorporates 
publications released by private bodies such as research and 
consultant firms under a contract with and/or under the 
supervision of any state agency. Further, this definition 
specifically includes journals, laws or bills, statutes, codes, 
rules, regulations; newsletters, bulletins, state plans, 
brochures, periodicals or magazines; minutes of meetings of 
boards and commissions, transcripts of public hearings; 
reports, directories, statistical compendiums, bibliographies, 
pamphlets, lists, books; charts, maps, surveys; other printed 
matter; microfilm, microfiche, audiovisuals; electronic 
documents.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:122(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
8:187 (April 1982), amended LR 28:1577 (July 2002), amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2542 (November 2010). 
Chapter 45. Depository Library System 
§4501. Statutory Depositories 

A. The State Library of Louisiana and Louisiana State 
University Library at Baton Rouge are legally designated 
complete depository libraries. They shall be the historical 
depository libraries, shall receive two copies of all public 
documents received by the recorder for distribution, and 
shall retain permanently one copy of each. The State Library 
of Louisiana is responsible for archiving and providing 
permanent public access to documents it receives that are 
issued solely in electronic formats. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:122(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
8:188 (April 1982), amended LR 28:1577 (July 2002), amended by 
the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, State Library, 
LR 36:2542 (November 2010). 
§4507. Termination of Depository Contract 

A. Termination of the contract between the State Library 
of Louisiana and the depository shall be by written notice six 
months in advance of the proposed date of termination. The 
state documents received shall be retained by the depository 
until the normal retention date, unless otherwise advised by 
the recorder of documents. 

B. Failure of a depository to abide by the depository law, 
rules and regulations and guidelines shall result in 
termination of depository contract by the state librarian upon 
six months written notice. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:122(B). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
8:188 (April 1982), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2542 (November 
2010). 
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Subpart 6.  Board of Library Examiners 
Chapter 51. Certification 
§5103. Candidate Requirements 

A. Requirements to be met by candidates for executive 
certificates are: 

1. a baccalaureate degree; 
2. professional education, culminating in a Masters 

Degree in Library and Information Science representing a 
minimum of five years of study beyond secondary school 
level. This degree must have been granted by a library 
school accredited by the American Library Association; 

3. three years executive experience in a public library 
of recognized standing, after receiving the library science 
degree. 

B. Candidates for temporary certificates must have all of 
the above qualifications except the years of executive 
experience. Such certificates are issued by the board only as 
emergency measures. It is expected that individuals holding 
temporary certificates will qualify for executive certificates 
within three years. 

C. Candidates must attain a grade of at least 75 in the 
examination to be granted a certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:222-223. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
11:250 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2543 (November 
2010). 
Chapter 53. Examination 
§5301. Examination Criteria 

A. The examination covers the following aspects of 
public library service: 

1. library organization and administration; 
2. library budgets and financial operation; 
3. standards for library service; 
4. Louisiana laws pertaining to libraries and library 

administration; 
5. current status of library development in Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:222-223. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
11:250 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2543 (November 
2010). 
§5305. Application 

A. Application blanks for permission to take the 
examination may be obtained from the State Board of 
Library Examiners, State Library of Louisiana, Box 131, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
25:222-223. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Culture, Recreation and Tourism, Office of the State Library, LR 
11:250 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Culture, 
Recreation and Tourism, State Library, LR 36:2543 (November 
2010). 

 
Rebecca Hamilton 
State Librarian 

1011#040 
 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Ports of Louisiana Tax Credits: Investor Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 39) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of the 
Secretary, as authorized by and pursuant to the provisions of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and in 
accordance with R.S. 36:104 hereby adopts the following 
Rules of the Ports of Louisiana Tax Credits: Investor Tax 
Credit Program as LAC 13:I.Chapter 39. 

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 39. Ports of Louisiana Tax Credits  
Subchapter A. Investor Tax Credit 
§3901. Purpose and Definitions 

A. Purpose 
1. The primary purpose of this Subchapter is to 

encourage private investment in public port facilities in 
Louisiana. The development, improvement, expansion, and 
maintenance of the state's ports and port infrastructure 
facilities, is essential to Louisiana's economic health and the 
ability of business and industry associated with the maritime 
industry to compete cost effectively on a regional, national, 
and global scale. 

B. Definitions 
Applicant―investing company or proposing entity 

submitting application for certification of 
project/expenditures/tax credits 

Application Date―the date an application for 
preliminary certification of a project is received by LED. 

Capital Costs― 
a. all costs and expenses incurred by an investing 

company.  
 i. in connection with acquisition, construction, 
installation, and equipping of a qualifying project; 
 ii. during the period commencing with the date on 
which the acquisition, construction, installation, and 
equipping commences and ending on the date on which the 
qualifying project is placed in service. 

b. Capital costs shall include, but are not limited to: 
 i. costs of acquiring, constructing, installing, 
equipping, and financing a qualifying project, including all 
obligations incurred for labor and to contractors, 
subcontractors, builders, and materialmen; 
 ii. the costs of acquiring land or rights in land and 
any cost incidental thereto, including recording fees; 
 iii. the costs of contract bonds and of insurance of 
any kind that may be required or necessary during the 
acquisition, construction, or installation of a qualifying 
project; 
 iv. the costs of architectural and engineering 
services, including test borings, surveys, estimates, plans, 
and specifications, preliminary investigations, environmental 
mitigation, and supervision of construction, as well as for the 
performance of all the duties required by or consequent upon 
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the acquisition, construction, and installation of a qualifying 
project; 
 v. the costs associated with installation of fixtures 
and equipment; surveys, including archaeological and 
environmental surveys; site tests and inspections; subsurface 
site work; excavation; removal of structures, roadways, 
cemeteries, and other surface obstructions; filling, grading, 
paving, and provisions for drainage, storm water retention, 
installation of utilities, including water, sewerage treatment, 
gas, electricity, communications, and similar facilities; off-
site construction of utility extensions to the boundaries of the 
property; 
 vi. costs otherwise defined as capital costs 
incurred by the investing company where the investing 
company is the lessee under a lease that contains a term of 
not less than five years and is characterized as a capital lease 
for federal income tax purposes; 
 vii. all other costs of a nature comparable to those 
described, including but not limited to all project costs 
required to be capitalized for federal income tax purposes 
pursuant to the provisions of 26 U.S.C. §263(A). 

c. Capital costs shall not include property owned or 
leased by the investing company or a related party before the 
commencement of the acquisition, construction, installation, 
or equipping of the qualified project unless such property 
was physically located outside the state for a period of at 
least one year prior to the date on which the qualifying 
project was placed in service. 

COA―the Commissioner of Administration of the State 
of Louisiana 

DOTD―the Louisiana Department of Transportation 
and Development. 

Estimated Start Date―the estimated date on which the 
acquisition, construction, installation, or equipping of the 
qualifying project was commenced or is expected to 
commence. 

Investing Company―any corporation, partnership, 
limited liability company, proprietorship, trust, or other 
business entity, regardless of form, making a qualified 
investment. 

Investors―shareholders, partners, members, owners, or 
beneficiaries of an investing company. 

JLCB–the Joint Legislative Committee on the Budget. 
LED―the Louisiana Department of Economic 

Development. 
LDR–the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 
Port Activity―any trade or business described in the 

1997 North American Industry Classification System 
(NAICS) within Subsector 493 (Warehousing and Storage), 
Industry Number 488310 (Port and Harbor Operations), or 
Industry Number 488320 (Marine Cargo Handling), when 
the trade or business is conducted on premises in which a 
public port has an ownership, leasehold, or other possessory 
interest and such premises are used as part of the operations 
of a public port, including the above trades and businesses as 
they may hereafter be reclassified in any subsequent 
publication of the NAICS or similar classification system 
developed in conjunction with the United States Department 
of Commerce and Office of Management and Budget. 

Project―any land, building, or other improvement, and 
all real and personal properties deemed necessary or useful 
in connection therewith, whether or not previously in 

existence, located or to be located in a public port of the 
state. 

Proposing Entity―The public port, upon whose 
property, a qualifying project is to be undertaken. 

Public Port―any deep-water port commission or port, 
harbor and terminal district as defined in Article VI, Section 
44 of the Constitution of Louisiana, and any other port, 
harbor, and terminal district established under Title 34 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950. 

Qualified Investment―the financial undertaking by an 
investing company of a qualifying project. 

Qualifying Expenditures―Expenditures in the state, 
after the application date, for capital costs of a qualifying 
project. 

Qualifying Project―a project sponsored or undertaken 
by a public port and an investing company. 

a. with a capital cost of not less than five million 
dollars, and 

b. at which the predominant trade or business 
activity conducted will constitute industrial, warehousing, or 
port and harbor operations and cargo handling, including any 
port or port and harbor activity. 

State―the State of Louisiana. 
SBC―the Louisiana State Bond Commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2543 
(November 2010). 
§3903. Preliminary Certification 

A. Preliminary certification of the project is the initial 
step in the tax credit process. An application for preliminary 
certification as a qualifying project must be submitted to 
LED prior to the start of the project. 

B. The application for preliminary certification shall 
include the following information: 

1. a detailed project description; 
2. a preliminary budget including the following 

information 
a. the estimated capital costs; and 
b. the estimated Louisiana payroll; 

3. the estimated start date and the estimated 
completion date; 

4. an explanation of why the proposed project is a 
qualifying project; 

5. the names of each investing company or the name 
or names of the investors to become entitled to the tax credit; 

6. a copy of the cooperative endeavor agreement 
between the investing company and the public port in whose 
geographic jurisdiction the proposed qualifying project is to 
be located indicating cooperation and support among all of 
the parties; 

7. any additional information required by LED; 
8. project plans, specifications, contracts, purchase 

orders and other appropriate design and/or expenditure 
documentation; if the foregoing information is not made 
available to DOTD during preliminary certification, then the 
project owner/sponsor must provide these items to DOTD 
prior to project construction. 

C. An application fee shall be submitted with the 
application based on the following: 
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1. 0.2 percent (.002) times the estimated total 
incentive rebates (see application fee worksheet to 
calculate); 

2. the minimum application fee is $200 and the 
maximum application fee is $5,000 for a single project; 

D. LED shall review the application and determine 
whether the project is a qualifying project, taking into 
consideration, the following factors;  

1. the impact of the project on the immediate and 
long-term objectives of the tax credit provided for such 
investment; 

2. the impact of the project on the employment of 
Louisiana residents; 

3. the impact of the project on the overall economy of 
the State; 

4. the availability of similar infrastructure or facilities 
within fifty miles of the proposed project; 

5. the economic impact of the project on similar, 
existing private or public projects within 50 miles of the 
proposed qualifying project; 

6. LED may require the investing company to conduct 
a public meeting, in the project location area to obtain 
additional information regarding the impact of the proposed 
project. 

E. If LED determines that the project is a qualifying 
project, LED shall issue a preliminary certification of the 
qualifying project which shall include. 

1. a unique identifying number for each project; 
2. the estimated total amount of tax credits that will be 

issued; 
3. the estimated amount of tax credits to be taken at 

five percent per year; 
F. The preliminary certification shall be valid only for a 

period of thirty months, from the date of approval by the 
JLCB and SBC, during which time the qualifying project 
must be completed or the preliminary certification shall 
expire; 

1. if a project is project to take longer than 30 months, 
the applicant may request an extension of the preliminary 
certification by providing sufficient justification; 

2. an extension of the preliminary certification 
requested after approval by the JLCB and SBC will require a 
new certification of sufficient revenue as provided in §3905. 

G. LED shall send the preliminary certification to the 
proposing entity, the investing company, the LDR and the 
COA. LED shall send the preliminary certification and a 
copy of the application to DOTD. 

H. LED shall prepare, and send to the COA with the 
preliminary certification, an economic analysis of the 
qualifying project. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2544 
(November 2010). 
§3905. Certification of Sufficient Revenue 

A. After receipt of the LED preliminary certification and 
economic impact analysis, the COA shall review the project 
and determine whether a certification of sufficient revenue 
may be issued. 

1. COA may issue a certification if he finds that there 
will be sufficient revenue received by the state to offset the 
effect to the state of the tax credits as a result of either: 

a. increased port activity because of grant; or 
b. otherwise. 

2. The COA’s certification shall state the amount of 
tax credits for which sufficient revenues are determined. 

3. The COA’s certification shall be submitted to the 
JLCB and the SBC for approval. 

4. If the COA’s certification is approved by both the 
JLCB and the SBC, it shall be delivered to the Secretary of 
LED 

5. The certification of the COA shall be valid for a 
period of 30 months after it is approved by the JLCB and 
SBC, unless an extension is requested as provided in 
§3903.F. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2545 
(November 2010). 
§3907. Certification of Qualifying Expenditures 

A. After approval of the certification of sufficient 
revenue, the applicant may submit a request to LED for 
certification of qualifying expenditures as follows: 

1. The applicant must submit a cost report to LED 
prepared by an independent certified public accountant and 
prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles. 

2. DOTD shall inspect the site and verify that the 
capital costs expenditures were made by verifying that the 
project components identified in the detailed project 
description are complete and in place 

3. LED may require an additional audit by an LED-
selected CPA, the cost of which shall be reimbursed by 
applicant. 

4. LED shall determine and certify qualifying 
expenditures. 

5. Qualifying expenditures shall be certified by LED 
no more than twice for a project, unless the applicant 
reimburses LED for the cost of additional certifications. 

B. A request for the certification of qualifying 
expenditures must be filed no later than six months after the 
project becomes operational. 

C. Except as provided in paragraph §3907.C.1., LED 
shall not certify as qualifying expenditures any expenditures 
incurred prior to the application date. 

1. LED may certify expenditures incurred prior to the 
application date if: 

a. the expenditures are directly related to 
performance of due diligence for the qualifying project; and  

b. the expenditures are capital costs as defined in 
§3901. 

D. LED and DOTD shall have reasonable access to the 
project site (or location of the fabrication) during and upon 
completion of activities related to project construction or 
installation, for the purpose of conducting periodic 
inspections during project construction or a final inspection. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2545 
(November 2010). 
§3909. Certification of tax credits 

A. LED may issue a certification of tax credits to the 
Applicant only after all of the following have occurred: 

1. LED has certified the project as a qualifying 
project. 

2 COA has issued a certification of sufficient 
revenue, which has been approved by both JLCB and SBC. 

3. LED has certified qualifying expenditures. 
6. The applicant has reimbursed any audit and 

additional certification costs. 
B. LED shall issue to the applicant a tax credit 

certification letter, stating:  
1. the dollar amount of tax credits certified, which 

shall not exceed the qualifying expenditures or the amount 
of tax credits certified by the COA, whichever is less ; and 

2. the amount of tax credit to be taken each year, 
which shall be five percent of the total tax credit per year. 

C. tax credits shall not be carried back to any tax year 
prior to the year capital cost expenditures are incurred, but 
may be claimed beginning either the tax year the 
expenditures are incurred or the tax year in which the 
expenditures were certified, for a period of 20 years. 

D. Tax credits are earned by investors when expenditures 
are made by investing company. 

E. LED shall send the tax credit certification letter to the 
investing company and to LDR. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2546 
(November 2010). 
§3911. Claiming Tax Credits 

A. All entities taxed as corporations for Louisiana 
income tax purposes shall claim any credit allowed under 
this Subsection on their corporation income tax return. 

B. Individuals, estates, and trusts shall claim any credit 
allowed under this Subsection on their income tax return. 

C. Entities not taxed as corporations shall claim any 
credit allowed under this Subsection on the returns of the 
partners or members as follows. 

1. Corporate partners or members shall claim their 
share of the credit on their corporation income tax returns. 

2. Individual partners or members shall claim their 
share of the credit on their individual income tax returns. 

3. Partners or members that are estates or trusts shall 
claim their share of the credit on their fiduciary income tax 
returns. 

D. If the tax credit allowed exceeds the amount of taxes 
due for the tax period, then any unused credit may be carried 
forward as a credit against subsequent tax liability for a 
period not to exceed 10 years. 

E. The investing company shall attach the tax 
certification letter to their return when claiming the credits.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2546 
(November 2010). 

§3913. Recapture and Recovery of Tax Credits 
A. Recapture 

1. If LED finds that funds for which an investing 
company received tax credits were not expended as 
qualifying expenditures, LED shall notify the investing 
company and reissue the tax certification letter to LDR 
within 15 days of the discovery. The investing company's 
state income tax liability for such taxable period shall be 
increased by an amount necessary for the recapture of the 
tax credits allowed. LED may delegate its audit authority to 
LDR. 

B. Recovery 
1. Credits previously granted to a taxpayer, but later 

disallowed, may be recovered by LDR through any 
collection remedy authorized by R.S. 47:1561 and initiated 
within three years from December 31 of the year in which 
the credits were earned 

2. Interest may be assessed and collected, but only at a 
rate of three percentage points above the rate provided in 
R.S. 39:3500(B)(1), which shall be computed from the 
original due date of the return on which the credit was taken. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2546 
(November 2010). 
§3915. Termination of Program 

A. No investor tax credits shall be granted after January 
1, 2015. Audited cost reports must be submitted no later than 
October 1, 2014 to allow sufficient time for certification of 
the tax credits by December 31, 2014. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6036. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, LR 36:2546 
(November 2010). 
Subchapter B. Import Export Cargo Credit (Reserved) 

 
Kristy G. McKearn 
Undersecretary 

1011#122 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel—Requirements to Add a Non-NCLB 

Secondary (Grades 6-12) Specialty Content Area  
(LAC 28:CXXXI.613) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §613, 
Requirements to Add a Non-NCLB Secondary (grades 6-12) 
Specialty Content Area (Agriculture, Business, Computer 
Science, Family and Consumer Sciences, Journalism, 
Marketing, Speech, Technology Education). This policy 
revision will allow individuals that currently hold secondary 
teaching certificates the option of taking a Praxis content 
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exam or completing 21 semester hours to add a Non-NCLB 
secondary area to their certificate.  

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter A. Regular Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§613. Requirements to Add a Non-NCLB Secondary 

(Grades 6-12) Specialty Content Area 
(Agriculture, Business, Computer Science, 
Family and Consumer Sciences, Journalism, 
Marketing, Speech, Technology Education) 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), or special education certificate must achieve 
the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis secondary specialty area 
exam in the content area; or 21 credit hours in the specialty 
content area; or 

2. passing Praxis score for Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 7-12 exam. 

B. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate (e.g., 
6-12, 7-12, 9-12) or an all-level K-12 certificate (art, dance, 
foreign language, health, physical education, health and 
physical education, and music) must achieve one of the 
following:  

1. passing score for the Praxis secondary specialty 
area exam; and 

2. 21 credit hours in the specialty content area. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1816 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2547 (November 2010). 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1011#044 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel—Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT) 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.323) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §323, 
Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT). This revision in policy 
would reduce the number of years a Temporary Authority to 
Teach (TAT) can be issued to an individual from three years 
to one year. Current BESE policy allows a noncertified 
teacher to instruct students for three years on a Temporary 
Authority to Teach (TAT). The proposed policy will reduce 
the number of years. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 
Certifications 

Subchapter B. Nonstandard Teaching Authorizations 
§323. Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT) 

A. Temporary Authority to Teach (TAT)—issued for one 
calendar year, while the holder pursues alternate certification 
program admission requirements or certification 
requirements. Upon completion of one year of employment 
on this certificate, for continued employment as a teacher in 
a Louisiana school system, the holder must fulfill guidelines 
for a Practitioner License or a higher-level certificate. A TAT 
cannot be issued to teachers who previously held a 
Temporary Employment Permit (TEP) or a standard teaching 
certificate.  

B. An applicant must have a baccalaureate degree from a 
regionally accredited institution; passing scores on the Praxis 
Pre-professional Skills Tests (PPSTs) Reading and Writing 
examinations or appropriate scores on the ACT or SAT and 
at least a 2.20 GPA. Applicants who meet these eligibility 
requirements can apply for a TAT through their employing 
school district.  

C. Districts submit the application and provide an 
affidavit signed by the local superintendent verifying that 
good faith efforts for recruiting certified personnel have been 
made, including posting all positions for which TATs are 
issued on the Teach Louisiana website; that "there is no 
regularly certified, competent, and suitable person available 
for the position."  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1803 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:2547 (November 2010). 

 

Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

1011#043 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs—Chafee Educational and 
Training Voucher Program (LAC 28:IV.Chapter 18) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) has amended its Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 
17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5 and R.S. 17:3048.6).(SG10117R) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 18. Chafee Educational and Training Voucher 
Program 

§1801. General Provisions  
A. The Chafee Educational and Training Voucher (ETV) 

Program is administered by the Louisiana Office of Student 
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Financial Assistance (LOSFA) in accordance with a 
Memorandum of Understanding by and between the 
Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) and the Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS). 

B. Description, History and Purpose. The Chafee ETV 
Program is administered in accordance with the federal 
Chafee Act, 42 U.S.C.A. 677 et seq., to provide grants to 
certain students who have been in the foster care system to 
pursue postsecondary education or training to enter the 
workforce.  

C. Effective Date. The Chafee ETV Program will be 
administered by LOSFA beginning with the 2010-2011 
academic year.  

D. Eligible Semesters/Terms. The Chafee ETV is 
available to students throughout the academic year.  

E. Award Amount. A Chafee ETV recipient may receive 
up to $5,000 during the academic year. The award amount is 
determined by the recipient’s financial need as calculated in 
accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2547 (November 2010). 
§1803. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 
Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Academic Year―the academic year begins with the fall 
semester or term of the award year, includes the winter term, 
if applicable, the spring semester or term, and concludes 
with the completion of the summer session, if applicable. 

Educational and Training Voucher―a federal grant that 
is available to certain students who have been in the foster 
care system based on the student’s financial need. 

Foster Care System―a protective service administered 
by the Louisiana Department of Children and Family 
Services or by a similar agency in another state, for children 
who must live apart from their parents due to neglect, abuse, 
or special family circumstances which requires that the child 
be cared for outside the family home.  

Institution of Higher Education―a school that: 
a. is eligible to receive funds under Title IV of the 

Higher Education Act of 1965; and 
b. awards a bachelor’s degree; or  
c. provides a program of study that is at least 2 

years long in which a student can earn credit toward a 
bachelor’s degree; or  

d. provides not less than one year of training 
towards gainful employment; or  

e. provides vocational training for gainful 
employment and has been in existence for at least two years. 

Legal Guardianship―the duty and authority to make 
important decisions in matters having a permanent effect on 
the life and development of the child and the responsibility 
for the child's general welfare until he reaches the age of 
majority, subject to any residual rights possessed by the 
child's parents. It shall include, but not necessarily be limited 

to, the rights and responsibilities of legal custody as 
established in the Louisiana Children’s Code. 

Postsecondary Education―any educational program at 
an institution of higher education which admits as regular 
students those individuals with a high school diploma or 
equivalent, or admits as regular students persons who are 
beyond the age of compulsory school attendance, including, 
but not limited to, academic programs leading to an 
associate or baccalaureate, graduate or professional degree, 
or training which leads to a skill, occupational, or technical 
certificate or degree.  

Satisfactory Academic Progress―a standard established 
in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended, by the institution at which a Chafee ETV recipient 
will be enrolled when receiving the ETV for measuring a 
student's progress in his or her educational program.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2548 (November 2010). 
§1805. Eligibility 

A. To establish eligibility, a student must: 
1. be ages 15 to 21, except that a student who was 

participating in the Chafee ETV Program at age 21 may 
continue to receive ETVs until he attains the age of 23; and 

2. be in the foster care system, or aged out of the 
foster care system, or was under legal guardianship, or was 
in the foster care system or under legal guardianship and was 
adopted after age 16; and 

3. be enrolled in postsecondary education; and 
4. annually complete the Free Application for Federal 

Student Aid. 
B. To continue to receive Chafee ETV, a student must: 

1. not have attained the age of 21, or the age of 23 if 
the student was receiving a Chafee ETV at the age of 21 and 
received the Chafee ETV continuously; and 

2. be making satisfactory academic progress in his 
program of study. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2548 (November 2010). 
§1807. Eligibility of Institutions of Higher Education 

A. Institutions of Higher Education Eligible to 
Participate 

1. Louisiana public colleges and universities are 
authorized to participate in the Chafee ETV Program.  

2. Regionally accredited private colleges and 
universities that are members of the Louisiana Association 
of Independent Colleges and Universities, Inc. (LAICU) are 
authorized to participate in the Chafee ETV Program. As of 
June 2010, LAICU membership included Centenary 
College, Dillard University, Louisiana College, Loyola 
University, New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, Our 
Lady of the Lake College, Our Lady of Holy Cross College, 
St. Joseph Seminary College, Tulane Medical Center, Tulane 
University and Xavier University. 

3. Louisiana proprietary schools licensed pursuant to 
Chapter 24-A of Title 17 of the Revised Statutes are 
authorized to participate in the Chafee ETV Program. 
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4. Any other institution of learning that is an 
institution of higher education. 

B. Audits. Institutions of higher education that 
participate in the Chafee ETV Program grant LOSFA, the 
Louisiana legislative auditor, and the Louisiana Department 
of Children and Family Services the right to inspect records 
and perform on-site audits of each institution's 
administration of the program for the purpose of determining 
the institution's compliance with state law and applicable 
program rules and regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2548 (November 2010). 
§1809. Responsibilities of Participating Institutions of 

Higher Education 
A. Preliminary Eligibility Determination 

1. Institutions of higher education must verify the 
student’s age. 

2. Institutions of higher education must determine 
whether the student is or was prior to age 18 an orphan or 
ward of the court in accordance with procedures established 
by the postsecondary institution for verifying information 
reported by the student on the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid. 

3. If the school determines that the student is an 
orphan or ward of the court in accordance with its 
procedures and this Section, it shall provide to LOSFA the 
student’s name, social security number, and current address.  

B. Continuing Eligibility 
1. Institutions of higher education must verify the 

student is making satisfactory academic progress. 
2. If a prior recipient is making satisfactory academic 

progress, it shall provide to LOSFA the student’s name, 
social security number, and current address.  

C. Award Amount Determination 
1. Institutions of higher education will determine the 

student’s Chafee ETV amount based upon his financial need 
in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as 
amended, and will report that award amount to LOSFA. 

2. Institutions of higher education shall provide 
students the opportunity to appeal the amount of the Chafee 
ETV amount if the award to the student is less than $5,000. 
Such appeals shall be conducted in accordance with the 
institution of higher education’s procedures for appealing 
Title IV student aid eligibility. Immediately upon receipt of 
an appeal, the institution of higher education shall notify 
LOSFA of the appeal, the student’s name, and the reason for 
awarding less than the full grant amount. In the event the 
student is not satisfied with the school’s final decision on the 
appeal, the institution of higher education shall advise the 
student that he may appeal the institution of higher 
education’s decision to the Department of Children and 
Family Services. 

D. Certification of Student Data  
1. Upon request by LOSFA, and for the purpose of 

meeting federal audit requirements for the Chafee Grant, an 
institution of higher education shall report the following 
data: 

a. admission and enrollment; and 

b. semester hours attempted; and 
c. semester hours earned; and  
d. semester quality points earned; and 
e. resignation from the institution or withdrawal 

from all courses. 
E. Program Billing 

1. If the institution of higher education operates on a 
semester or term basis, it shall divide the student’s annual 
Chafee ETV amount by the number of semester/terms the 
student will be attending and it shall bill LOSFA for the 
resulting amount at the beginning of each semester or term 
the student attends. 

2. If the institution of higher education operates on a 
basis other than semester or term, it shall bill LOSFA for one 
quarter of the student’s Chafee grant amount on September 
1, December 1, March 1, and June 1, if the student’s 
program of study is at least one full year. If the student’s 
program of study is less one full year, the school will divide 
the Chafee ETV amount by the number of billing dates 
encompassed by that program and bill LOSFA the resulting 
amount. 

3. Submission of a bill for a student is certification by 
the post-secondary institution that the student is enrolled at 
the institution and has maintained satisfactory academic 
progress. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2549 (November 2010). 
§1813. Responsibilities of the Louisiana Department of 

Social Services  
A. The Department of Children and Family Services 

shall verify that a student: 
1. was in the foster care system , or aged out of the 

foster care system; or  
2. was under legal guardianship; or  
3. was in the foster care system or under legal 

guardianship and was adopted after age 16; or 
4. is a Native American whose Indian tribe has an 

approved plan under Title IV-E of the Social Security Act for 
foster care, adoption assistance, and kinship guardianship 
within that Indian tribe. 

B. The Department of Children and Family Services will 
notify LOSFA of any students who are eligible to receive a 
Chafee ETV and for whom LOSFA did not previously 
request verification in accordance with §1817.A, including 
those students who may be attending school in a state other 
than Louisiana. 

C. In the event of receipt of notice of a shortfall and 
additional funds are not allocated for payment of all 
anticipated awards for subsequent semesters, terms and 
sessions during the academic year, the Department of 
Children and Family Services shall develop, approve and 
deliver a plan to LOSFA to address the shortfall. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2549 (November 2010). 
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§1817. Responsibilities of LOSFA 
A. LOSFA shall: 

1. verify a student’s eligibility to receive a Chafee 
ETV with the Department of Children and Family Services; 

2. pay program funds to the eligible post-secondary 
institution in which the student is enrolled; 

3. maintain a secure database of all information 
collected on recipients and former recipients, including 
name, address, social security number, program of study, 
name of the institution(s) the recipient attended, and 
amounts disbursed; 

4. notify the Department of Children and Family 
Services immediately if projections indicate that sufficient 
funds will not be available to pay all eligible students the 
amount originally awarded to those students at the beginning 
of the academic year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2550 (November 2010). 
§1819. Responsibilities of LASFAC 

A. LASFAC shall promulgate administrative rules in 
accordance with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure 
Act, in consultation with the Department of Children and 
Family Services and in accordance with a memorandum of 
understanding entered into by and between LASFAC and the 
Department of Children and Family Services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, and R.S. 17:3048.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 
Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 36:2550 (November 2010). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1011#016 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs 
Healthcare Educator Loan Forgiveness Program 

Eligible Schools 
(LAC 28:IV.1603) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) has amended its Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 
17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 
17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5, and R.S. 17:3048.6).(SG10118R) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 16. Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness 
Program 

§1603. Definitions 
A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 

Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 

rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Participating Institution―a postsecondary institution 

that has been approved by the Board of Regents to 
participate in the Health Care Educator Loan Forgiveness 
Program. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1 and R.S. 17:3048.5.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 35:224 (February 2009), amended LR 36:2550 (November 
2010). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1011#015 
 

RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

START Saving Program Account Deposits/Documentations 
(LAC 28:VI.305, 307, and 311) 

The Louisiana Tuition Trust Authority has amended its 
START Saving Program rules (R.S. 17:3091 et seq.). 
(ST10119R) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part VI.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Savings 

Chapter 3. Education Savings Account 
§305. Deposits to Education Savings Accounts 

A. - A.2. … 
3. An initial deposit is not required to open an 

Education Savings Account; however, a deposit of at least 
$10 must be made within 180 days from the date on the 
letter of notification of approval of the account. 

A.4. - E.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1270 (July 1998), LR 26:2263 (October 
2000), LR 27:1880 (November 2001), LR 30:788 (April 2004), LR 
30:1169 (June 2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 32:1433 
(August 2006), LR 32:2240 (December 2006), LR 35:236 
(February 2009), LR 35:1234 (July 2009), LR 36:492 (March 
2010), LR 36:2550 (November 2010). 
§307. Allocation of Earnings Enhancements 

A. - B.4. … 
5. If an account owner is classified in §305.A.1 or 2 

and the tax documents required by §307.B.2 are not received 
by February 15 immediately following the year for which 
the beneficiary of the account is being considered for an 
earnings enhancement, as an exception to §307.D, the 
account shall be allocated an earnings enhancement for the 
year being considered at the earnings enhancement rate 
shown in §307.D for account owners who are members of 
the family of the beneficiary who report an adjusted gross 
income of $100,000 and above.  
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6. Example. An account owner has made deposits in a 
START account for a beneficiary during calendar year 2010 
and desires to receive the highest earnings enhancement rate 
authorized for those deposits. If the account owner did not 
file a Louisiana Income Tax Return for the tax year 2009 or 
is notified by LATTA that the Louisiana Department of 
Revenue could not validate his federal adjusted gross 
income, he must submit the tax documents for tax year 2009 
required by §307.B.2.b so that they are received by LATTA 
no later than February 15, 2011, or his earnings 
enhancement rate will be defaulted to the rate for account 
owners who are members of the family of the beneficiary 
who report an adjusted gross income of $100,000 and above. 

C. - J.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:715 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1271 (July 1998), LR 25:1794 (October 
1999), LR 26:1263 (June 2000), LR 26:2263 (October 2000), LR 
27:37 (January 2001), LR 27:1222 (August 2001), LR 27:1880 
(November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:788 (April 
2004), LR 30:2302 (October 2004), LR 34:1886 (September 2008), 
LR 36:2550 (November 2010). 
§311. Termination, Refund, and Rollovers of an 

Education Savings Account  
A. - B.2. … 

3. The LATTA may terminate an account if no deposit 
of at least $10 has been made within 180 days from the date 
on the letter of notification of approval of the account. 

B.4. - I.2.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3091-3099.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Tuition Trust 

Authority, Office of Student Financial Assistance, LR 23:717 (June 
1997), amended LR 24:1273 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 
26:2265 (October 2000), amended LR 27:38 (January 2001), LR 
27:1882 (November 2001), LR 28:779 (April 2002), LR 30:790 
(April 2004), LR 31:639 (March 2005), LR 32:1434 (August 
2006), LR 32:2240 (December 2006), LR 33:444 (March 2007), 
LR 35:236 (February 2009), LR 36:492 (March 2010), LR 36:2551 
(November 2010). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1011#017 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Incorporation by Reference―2009 
(LAC 33:III.506)(MM014ft) 

Editor’s Note: Section 506 is being repromulgated to correct a 
citation error. The original Rule may be viewed in its entirety 
on pages 2271-2275 of the October 20, 2010 edition of the 
Louisiana Register. 
 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Environmental Quality 

regulations, LAC 33:I.3931; III.506, 507, 2160, 3003, 5116, 
5122, 5311 and 5901; V.3099; IX.2301, 4901 and 4903; 
XV.1599 (Log #MM014ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 10 
CFR 71, App. A, 1/1/10; 40 CFR 51, App. M, 60-61, 63, 68, 
70, 6(a), 117.3, 136, 266, App. I-IX and XI-XIII, 302.4, 
302.6(e), 355.40(a)(2)(vii), 401 and 405-471, 7/1/09; and 
subsequent revisions to 40 CFR 60 and 63 in the Federal 
Register (see rule text), which are applicable in Louisiana. 
For more information regarding the federal requirement, 
contact the Regulation Development Section at (225) 219-
3985 or Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302. No Fiscal 
or Economic Impact will result from the Rule. This Rule was 
promulgated in accordance with the procedures in R.S. 
49:953(F)(3) and (4). 

This Rule incorporates by reference (IBR) into LAC 33:I, 
III, V, IX and XV the corresponding federal reportable 
quantity list of hazardous substances in 40 CFR 117.3 and 
302.4, July 1, 2009; administrative reporting exemptions for 
certain air releases of Nox in 40 CFR 302.6(e) and 
355.40(a)(2)(vii), July 1, 2009; Capture Efficiency Test 
Procedures in 40 CFR Part 51, Appendix M, July 1, 2009; 
Federal So2 Model Rule in 40 CFR Part 96, July 1, 2009; 
Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources in 40 
CFR Part 60, July 1, 2009; National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) in 40 CFR Part 61, 
July 1, 2009; NESHAP for Source Categories in 40 CFR 
Part 63, July 1, 2009; Chemical Accident Prevention and 
Minimization of Consequences in 40 CFR Part 68, July 1, 
2009; Part 70 Operating Permits Program in 40 CFR 70.6(a), 
July 1, 2009; hazardous waste regulations in 40 CFR Part 
266, Appendices I-IX and XI-XIII, July 1, 2009; National 
Pollutant Discharge Elimination System regulations in 40 
CFR Parts 136, 401, 405-471, July 1, 2009; and radiation 
regulations in 10 CFR Part 71, Appendix A, January 1, 2010. 
Also incorporated are subsequent revisions to 40 CFR Part 
60 and 63 promulgated in the Federal Register. 

In order for Louisiana to maintain equivalency with 
federal regulations, the most current Code of Federal 
Regulations must be adopted in the LAC. This rulemaking is 
necessary to maintain delegation, authorization, etc., granted 
to Louisiana by EPA. This incorporation by reference 
package was proposed to keep Louisiana's regulations 
current with their federal counterparts. 

The basis and rationale for this Rule are to mirror the 
federal regulations in order to maintain equivalency. This 
Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and 
R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§506. Clean Air Interstate Rule Requirements 

A. - B.4. … 
C. Annual Sulfur Dioxide. Except as specified in this 

Section, The Federal SO2 Model Rule, published in the Code 
of Federal Regulation at 40 CFR Part 96, July 1, 2009, is 
hereby incorporated by reference, except for Subpart III—
CAIR SO2 OPT-In Units and all references to opt-in units. 

D. - E. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30.2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 32:1597 (September 2006), amended LR 33:1622 
(August 2007), LR 33:2083 (October 2007), LR 34:978 (June 
2008), LR 35:1107 (June 2009), LR 36:2272 (October 2010), 
repromulgated LR 36:2551 (November 2010). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

1011#011 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Miscellaneous Amendments and Corrections 
(LAC 33:I.903, 1905, 1909, 1911, and 3925; III.502; V.109, 

4489, and 4901; VII.303; and XV.588)(MM013) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Radiation Protection regulations, 
LAC 33:I.903, 1905, 1909, 1911, and 3925; III:502; V.109, 
4489, and 4901; VII:303; and XV:588 (MM013). 

This Rule corrects errors that have been found in the 
Environmental Quality regulations. Language found to be 
unclear has been clarified, grammatical errors have been 
corrected, some wording as been restructured, and instances 
of improper regulation citations have been corrected. 

Maintenance of the regulations is part of the responsibility 
of the department. An aspect of maintenance is for the 
department to correct errors when they are found. The basis 
and rationale of this Rule is to maintain the regulations that 
protect the environment and public health of the state, as 
authorized by the Environmental Quality Act. This Rule 
meets an exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part I.  Office of the Secretary 
Subpart 1.  Departmental Administrative Procedures 

Chapter 19. Facility Name and Ownership/Operator 
Changes Process 

§1903. Liability 
A. ... 
B. The previous owner or operator retains responsibility 

for compliance with the financial requirements until the new 
owner or operator has demonstrated that he or she is 
complying with the specified financial requirements of Title 
33 of the Louisiana Administrative Code (e.g., LAC 
33:V.Chapter 37, LAC 33:VII.Chapter 13, and LAC 
33:IX.Chapter 67 and Section 7307). 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2428 (October 2005), LR 36:2552 (November 
2010). 

§1905. Name Change 
A. - B. ... 
C. For permitted hazardous waste facilities, the permittee 

shall send a notice of the name change to all persons on the 
facility mailing list maintained by the administrative 
authority, and to the appropriate units of state and local 
government, as specified in LAC 33:V.717. This notification 
shall be made within 90 calendar days after the change is 
effective. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2428 (October 2005), LR 36:2552 (November 
2010). 
§1909. Change of Ownership/Operator—Financial 

Assurance Required 
A. - B.2. ... 

3. When a transfer of ownership or operational control 
occurs, the previous owner or operator shall comply with the 
applicable requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter 37 (hazardous 
waste financial requirements), LAC 33:VII.Chapter 13 (solid 
waste financial assurance requirements), and LAC 
33:IX.Chapter 67 (water financial security requirements) and 
Section 7307 (sewage sludge financial assurance 
requirements) until the new owner or operator has 
demonstrated that he or she is complying with the applicable 
requirements of LAC 33:V.Chapter 37, LAC 33:VII.Chapter 
13, and LAC 33:IX.Chapter 67 and Section 7307. 

C. The new owner or operator shall demonstrate 
compliance with the applicable requirements of LAC 
33:V.Chapter 37, LAC 33:VII. Chapter 13, and LAC 
33:IX.Chapter 67 and Section 7307 within six months of the 
date of the change of ownership or operational control of the 
facility. Upon adequate demonstration to the administrative 
authority by the new owner or operator of compliance with 
these financial assurance requirements, the administrative 
authority shall notify the previous owner or operator that he 
or she no longer needs to comply with the financial 
assurance requirements as of the date of demonstration. 

D. ... 
E. For permitted hazardous waste facilities, the new 

permittee shall send a notice of the change of ownership or 
operational control to all persons on the facility mailing list 
maintained by the administrative authority, and to the 
appropriate units of state and local government, as specified 
in LAC 33:V.717. This notification shall be made within 90 
calendar days after the administrative authority has provided 
a written response approving the transfer of the permit and 
the change has been put into effect. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2429 (October 2005), LR 36:2552 (November 
2010). 
§1911. Fees for Name and Ownership/Operator Changes 

A. Notifications of name or ownership/operator changes 
at a facility shall be submitted by the new owner or operator 
with the appropriate fees. The fees listed below cover the 
cost of reviewing, evaluating, and processing a name or 
ownership/operator change that has occurred at the facility. 
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Name and Ownership/Operator Change Fees 
Program LAC Citation for Fee 

Air LAC 33:III.223, 
Fee Number 2000 

Hazardous Waste LAC 33:V.5123.A 
Solid Waste: Type I, I-A, II, and 
II-A Facilities 

LAC 33.VII.1501.C 
(N/A for name change alone) 

Solid Waste: Type III Facilities 
or Beneficial Use Facilities 

LAC 33.VII.1501.D 
(N/A for name change alone) 

LPDES LAC 33:IX.1309.D.4 
(N/A for name change alone) 

 
B. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and R.S. 49:316.1(A)(2)(a) and (c). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2429 (October 2005), amended LR 35:2178 
(October 2009), LR 36:2552 (November 2010). 

Subpart 2. Notification 
Chapter 39. Notification Regulations and Procedures for 

Unauthorized Discharges 
Subchapter D. Procedures for Notifying the Department 
§3923. Notification Procedures for Other Regulatorily 

Required Reporting 
A. - B. ... 
C. The party who is required to give prompt notification 

shall provide the following information, as applicable: 
C.1. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2025(J), 2060(H), 2076(D), 2183(I), 2194(C), and 2204(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), amended by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, 
LR 30:1668 (August 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2434 (October 2005), LR 
33:2080 (October 2007), LR 36:1240 (June 2010), LR 36:2553 
(November 2010). 
§3925. Written Notification Procedures 

A. Written reports for any unauthorized discharge that 
requires notification under LAC 33:I.3915.A, 3917, 3919, or 
3923 shall be submitted by the discharger to SPOC in 
accordance with this Section within seven calendar days 
after the expiration of the time allowed for the notification 
required by LAC 33:I.3915.A, 3917, 3919, or 3923, unless 
otherwise provided for in a valid permit or other department 
regulation. 

A.1. - C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2025(J), 2060(H), 2076(D), 2183(I), 2194(C), and 2204(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, LR 11:770 (August 
1985), amended LR 19:1022 (August 1993), LR 20:182 (February 
1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2443 (November 2000), 
LR 30:1669 (August 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2434 (October 2005), LR 
33:2080 (October 2007), LR 33:2628 (December 2007), LR 
36:1240 (June 2010), LR 36:2553 (November 2010). 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§502. Definitions 

A. Except where specifically provided in another Section 
herein, the following definitions apply to terms used in this 
Chapter. Except as provided in this Chapter, terms used in 

this Chapter retain the definition provided them in LAC 
33:III.111 or the Louisiana Air Quality regulations. 
Wherever provisions related to the Acid Rain Program are 
concerned, the definitions provided in 40 CFR Part 72 shall 
apply. 

* * * 
Title I Modification—any physical change or change in 

the method of operation of a stationary source which 
increases the amount of any regulated air pollutant emitted 
or which results in the emission of any regulated air 
pollutant not previously emitted and which meets one or 
more of the following descriptions. 

a. ... 
b. The change will result in a significant net 

emissions increase under the Prevention of Significant 
Deterioration (PSD) Program, as defined in LAC 
33:III.509.B. 

c. - d. ... 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:1950 (September 2002), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 36:2553 (November 2010). 

Part V.  Hazardous Waste and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 1.  Department of Environmental Quality—

Hazardous Waste 
Chapter 1. General Provisions and Definitions 
§105. Program Scope 

These rules and regulations apply to owners and operators 
of all facilities that generate, transport, treat, store, or 
dispose of hazardous waste, except as specifically provided 
otherwise herein. The procedures of these regulations also 
apply to the denial of a permit for the active life of a 
hazardous waste management facility or TSD unit under 
LAC 33:V.706. Definitions appropriate to these rules and 
regulations, including solid waste and hazardous waste, 
appear in LAC 33:V.109. Wastes that are excluded from 
regulation are found in this Section. 

A. Notification of Hazardous Waste Activity 
1. Within 90 days after the promulgation of these 

regulations anyone subject to these regulations who has not 
previously notified the department on the Notification of 
Hazardous Waste Activity Form HW-1, or whose 
notification on Form HW-1 is not approved, must notify the 
Office of Environmental Services, using Form HW-1.  

2. Within 90 days after changes in waste 
characteristics or changes in these regulations that result in 
changes in the notification, interim status facilities must 
revise their notification form by resubmitting a corrected 
copy of Form HW-1. 

3. All notifications received must be in accordance 
with EPA notification procedures and must receive an EPA 
identification number issued through the state of Louisiana. 

4. All facilities with an active EPA identification 
number shall be subject to requirements in LAC 
33:V.Subpart 1. 

B. - P.2. ... 
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AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2180 et seq., and in particular, 2186(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790 (November 1988), LR 
15:181 (March 1989), LR 16:47 (January 1990), LR 16:217, LR 
16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:398 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 
1990), LR 17:362, 368 (April 1991), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 
17:883 (September 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1256 
(November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, LR 19:1022 (August 1993), amended by 
the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), 
LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:813, 831 (September 1996), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 23:298 (March 1997), 
amended by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, Hazardous 
Waste Division, LR 23:564, 567 (May 1997), LR 23:721 (June 
1997), amended by the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste 
Division, LR 23:952 (August 1997), LR 23:1511 (November 
1997), LR 24:298 (February 1998), LR 24:655 (April 1998), LR 
24:1093 (June 1998), LR 24:1687, 1759 (September 1998), LR 
25:431 (March 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:268 
(February 2000), LR 26:2464 (November 2000), LR 27:291 
(March 2001), LR 27:706 (May 2001), LR 29:317 (March 2003), 
LR 30:1680 (August 2004), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, LR 30:2463 (November 2004), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2451 (October 2005), LR 32:605 (April 2006), LR 32:821 (May 
2006), LR 33:450 (March 2007), LR 33:2097 (October 2007), LR 
34:614 (April 2008), LR 34:1008 (June 2008), LR 34:1893 
(September 2008), LR 34:2395 (November 2008), LR 35:1878 
(September 2009), LR 36:2553 (November 2010). 
§108. Special Requirements for Hazardous Waste 

Generated by Conditionally Exempt Small 
Quantity Generators 

A. - F.5. ... 
G. In order for hazardous waste generated by a 

conditionally exempt small quantity generator in quantities 
of less than 100 kg of hazardous waste during a calendar 
month to be excluded from full regulation under this 
Section, the generator must comply with the following 
requirements: 

1. - 3.g. ... 
4. notify the department in accordance with LAC 

33:V.105.A.1; and 
G.5. - J. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2180 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:706, 716 (May 2001), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2540 (October 2005), LR 32:606 (April 2006), LR 36:2554 
(November 2010). 
§109. Definitions 

For all purposes of these rules and regulations, the terms 
defined in this Chapter shall have the following meanings, 
unless the context of use clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Solid Waste— 

1.a - 4.c.iii. ... 

5. Materials That Are Not Solid Waste When 
Recycled 

a. - b.ii. … 
 iii materials accumulated speculatively; or 
 iv. inherently waste-like materials listed in 
Paragraph 4 of this definition; 

6. respondents in actions to enforce regulations who 
raise a claim that a certain material is not a solid waste, or is 
conditionally exempt from regulation, must demonstrate that 
there is a known market or disposition for the material, and 
that they meet the terms of the exclusion or exemption. In 
doing so, they must provide appropriate documentation 
(such as contracts showing that a second person uses the 
material as an ingredient in a production process) to 
demonstrate that the material is not a waste, or is exempt 
from regulation. In addition, owners or operators of facilities 
claiming that they actually are recycling materials must 
show that they have the necessary equipment to do so: 

Table 1. - Zone of Engineering Control. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq and specifically 2180.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 13:651 (November 1987), LR 14:790, 791 (November 1988), 
LR 15:378 (May 1989), LR 15:737 (September 1989), LR 16:218, 
220 (March 1990), LR 16:399 (May 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
LR 16:683 (August 1990), LR 17:362 (April 1991), LR 17:478 
(May 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 
1992), repromulgated by the Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 19:626 (May 1993), amended LR 
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 20:1109 (October 1994), LR 21:266 
(March 1995), LR 21:944 (September 1995), LR 22:814 
(September 1996), LR 23:564 (May 1997), amended by the Office 
of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:655 (April 
1998), LR 24:1101 (June 1998), LR 24:1688 (September 1998), LR 
25:433 (March 1999), repromulgated LR 25:853 (May 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:269 (February 2000), LR 
26:2465 (November 2000), LR 27:291 (March 2001), LR 27:708 
(May 2001), LR 28:999 (May 2002), LR 28:1191 (June 2002), LR 
29:318 (March 2003); amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2452 (October 2005), LR 31:3116 
(December 2005), LR 32:606 (April 2006), LR 32:822 (May 2006), 
LR 33:1625 (August 2007), LR 33:2098 (October 2007), LR 34:71 
(January 2008), LR 34:615 (April 2008), LR 34:1009 (June 2008), 
LR 34:1894 (September 2008), LR 34:2396 (November 2008), LR 
36:1235 (June 2010), LR 36:2554 (November 2010). 
Chapter 41. Recyclable Materials 
§4143. Recyclable Materials Utilized for Precious Metal 

Recovery 
A. - B.1. ... 

2. generators shall operate in accordance with LAC 
33:V.1107, 1108 and 1109.F; 

3. ... 
4. persons who store shall operate in accordance with 

LAC 33:V.1516.B and C; and 
B.5 - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and specifically 2180.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
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Hazardous Waste Division, LR 11:988 (October 1985), amended 
LR 11:1139 (December 1985), amended by the Office of Waste 
Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 24:685 (April 1998), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
32:611 (April 2006), LR 36:2554 (November 2010). 
Chapter 43. Interim Status 
Subchapter L. Land Treatment 
§4489. Closure and Post-Closure 

A. - E. ... 
F. In addition to the requirements of LAC 33:V.4389, 

during the post-closure care period the owner or operator of 
a land treatment unit must: 

1. continue soil-core monitoring by collecting and 
analyzing samples in a manner and frequency specified in 
the post-closure plan;  

2. - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq and specifically 2180. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Solid and Hazardous Waste, 
Hazardous Waste Division, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 18:723 (July 1992), amended by the Office 
of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, 
LR 26:2509 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2483 (October 2005), LR 
33:2135 (October 2007), LR 34:1006 (June 2008), LR 36:2555 
(November 2010). 
Chapter 49. Lists of Hazardous Wastes 

[Comment: Chapter 49 is divided into two sections: Category I 
Hazardous Wastes, which consist of Hazardous Wastes from 
nonspecific and specific sources (F and K wastes), Acute 
Hazardous Wastes (P wastes), and Toxic Wastes (U wastes) 
(LAC 33:V.4901); and Category II Hazardous Wastes, which 
consist of wastes that are ignitable, corrosive, reactive, or 
toxic (LAC 33:V.4903).] 

§4901. Category I Hazardous Wastes 
A. - B.1. ... 

NOTE: EPA, in January 1985, added new listed hazardous 
wastes. 
 

Table 1. Hazardous Wastes from Nonspecific Sources 
Industry and 

EPA 
Hazardous 

Waste 
Number 

Hazard 
Code 

Hazardous 
Waste   Generic 

* * * 
(See Prior Text in F001 through F035) 

F037 (T) Petroleum refinery primary oil/water/solids 
separation sludge—Any sludge generated from 
the gravitational separation of oil/water/solids 
during the storage or treatment of process 
wastewaters and oily cooling wastewaters from 
petroleum refineries. Such sludges include, but are 
not limited to, those generated in oil/water/solids 
separators, tanks and impoundments, ditches and 
other conveyances sumps, and stormwater units 
receiving dry weather flow. Sludge generated in 
stormwater units that do not receive dry weather 
flow, sludges generated from non-contact once-
through cooling waters segregated for treatment 
from other process or oily cooling waters, sludges 
generated in aggressive biological treatment units 
as defined in LAC 33:V.4901.B.2.b (including 
sludges generated in one or more additional units 
after wastewaters have been treated in aggressive 
biological treatment units), and K051 wastes are 
not included in this listing. This listing does 
include residuals generated from processing or 
recycling oil-bearing hazardous secondary 
materials excluded under LAC 33:V.105.D.1.l, if 
those residuals are to be disposed of. 

Table 1. Hazardous Wastes from Nonspecific Sources 
* * * 

 (See Prior Text in F038 though F039)  

* (I,T) should be used to specify mixtures that are ignitable and 
contain toxic constituents. 
 

B.2. - G.Table 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq., and specifically 2180. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, LR 10:200 (March 1984), amended LR 
10:496 (July 1984), LR 11:1139 (December 1985), LR 12:319 
(May 1986), LR 13:84 (February 1987), LR 13:433 (August 1987), 
LR 14:426 (July 1988), LR 14:791 (November 1988), LR 15:182 
(March 1989), LR 16:220 (March 1990), LR 16:614 (July 1990), 
LR 16:1057 (December 1990), LR 17:369 (April 1991), LR 17:478 
(May 1991), LR 17:658 (July 1991), LR 18:723 (July 1992), LR 
18:1256 (November 1992), LR 18:1375 (December 1992), LR 
20:1000 (September 1994), LR 21:266 (March 1995), LR 21:944 
(September 1995), LR 22:829, 840 (September 1996), amended by 
the Office of Waste Services, Hazardous Waste Division, LR 
23:1522 (November 1997), LR 24:321 (February 1998), LR 24:686 
(April 1998), LR 24:1754 (September 1998), LR 25:487 (March 
1999), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 27:304 (March 2001), LR 
27:715 (May 2001), LR 28:1009 (May 2002), LR 29:324 (March 
2003), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 
31:1573 (July 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 32:831 (May 2006), LR 33:1627 (August 
2007), LR 34:635 (April 2008), LR 34:1020 (June 2008), LR 
34:2392 (November 2008), LR 36:2555 (November 2010). 

Part VII.  Solid Waste 
Subpart 1.  Solid Waste Regulations 

Chapter 13. Financial Assurance for all Processors 
and Disposers of Solid Waste 

§1303. Financial Responsibility for Closure and Post-
Closure Care 

A. - C.9. ... 
D. Surety Bonds. A permit holder or applicant may 

satisfy the requirements of this Section by obtaining a surety 
bond that conforms to the following requirements and 
submitting the bond to the Office of Environmental Services. 

1. - 7. ... 
8. The wording of the surety bond guaranteeing 

payment into a standby trust fund shall be identical to the 
wording in LAC 33:VII.1399.Appendix E, except that the 
instructions in brackets are to be replaced with the relevant 
information and the brackets deleted. 

E. - L.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2001 et seq. and in particular R.S. 30:2154. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 33:1090 (June 2007), amended LR 33:2154 (October 
2007), LR 36:2555 (November 2010). 

Part XV.  Radiation Protection 
Chapter 5. Radiation Safety Requirements for Industrial 

Radiographic Operations 
Subchapter C. Precautionary Procedures in 

Radiographic Operations 
§588. Documents and Records Required at Temporary 

Job Sites and Applicable Field Stations 
A. Each licensee or registrant conducting industrial 

radiography at a temporary job site or applicable field station 
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shall have the following documents and records available at 
that job site or field station for inspection by the department: 

1. - 3. … 
4. survey records required pursuant to LAC 

33:XV.472 and 587. E for the period of operation at the site; 
5. - 11. ... 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Nuclear Energy Division, LR 13:569 
(October 1987), amended by the Office of Air Quality and 
Radiation Protection, Radiation Protection Division, LR 20:653 
(June 1994), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2772 (December 2000), 
LR 27:1236 (August 2001), LR 28:1952 (September 2002), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, LR 31:54 
(January 2005), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs, LR 36:2555 (November 2010). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

1011#010 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Prevention of Significant Deterioration (Significance Level 
for Direct PM2.5 Emissions)(LAC 33:III.509)(AQ311ft) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Air Regulations, LAC 
33:III.509.B (Log #AQ311ft). 

This Rule is identical to federal regulations found in 40 
CFR 51.166(b)(23)(i), which are applicable in Louisiana.  

This Rule amends LAC 33:III.509.B to establish a 
significance level for direct PM2.5 emissions equivalent to 
the federal rule. On May 16, 2008, the Environmental 
Protection Agency (EPA) promulgated a rule entitled 
"Implementation of the New Source Review (NSR) Program 
for Particulate Matter Less Than 2.5 Micrometers (PM2.5)" 
(73 FR 28321). The Rule establishes a significance level for 
direct PM2.5 emissions equal to 10 tons per year. 

The basis and rationale for this Rule is to maintain 
equivalency with the federal regulation 40 CFR 
51.166(b)(23)(i). This Rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§509. Prevention of Significant Deterioration 

A. - B. Secondary Emissions … 
Significant— 

a. in reference to a net emissions increase or the 
potential of a source to emit any of the following pollutants, 
a rate of emissions that would equal or exceed any of the 
following rates: 

Pollutant Emission Rate 
Carbon monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 
Nitrogen oxides 40 tpy 
Sulfur dioxide 40 tpy 
Particulate matter 25 tpy of particulate emissions 
  15 tpy of PM10 emissions 
  10 tpy of direct PM2.5 emissions 
Ozone 40 tpy of volatile organic compounds or 

nitrogen oxides 
Lead 0.6 tpy 
Fluorides 3 tpy 
Sulfuric acid mist 7 tpy 
Hydrogen sulfide (H2S) 10 tpy 
Total reduced sulfur (including 
H2S) 

10 tpy 

Reduced sulfur compounds 
(including H2S) 

10 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
organics1 

0.0000035 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
metals2 

15 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
acid gases3 

40 tpy 

Municipal solid waste landfills 
emissions4 

50 tpy 

1Measured as total tetra- through octa-chlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans. 
2Measured as particulate matter. 
3Measured as sulfur dioxide and hydrogen chloride. 
4Measured as nonmethane organic compounds. 

 

b. - c. … 
B. Significant Emissions Increase – AA.15.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:348 (June 1988), LR 16:613 (July 1990), amended by the Office 
of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 
17:478 (May 1991), LR 21:170 (February 1995), LR 22:339 (May 
1996), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), LR 24:654 (April 1998), LR 
24:1284 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 25:259 (February 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2447 (November 2000), 
LR 27:2234 (December 2001), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2437 (October 2005), LR 
31:3135, 3156 (December 2005), LR 32:1600 (September 2006), 
LR 32:1843 (October 2006), LR 36:2556 (November 2010). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

1011#012 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Division of Administration 

Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board 

Actuary; Annual Actuarial Study; Risk Rating; Rates; 
Surcharges (LAC 37:III.701-713) 

The Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, under 
authority of the Louisiana Medical Malpractice Act, R.S. 
40:1299.41 et seq., and in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., has 
amended LAC 37:III.701-713, to clarify the Oversight 
Board's role in administering the Fund; to clarify the role of 
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the Oversight Board's consulting actuary; to clarify and be 
consistent with recently amended statutory law the 
circumstances under which a reduction in the aggregate 
annual surcharges could be accomplished; to require the 
executive director to give notice of rates or rate changes via 
the Oversight Board's website; to provide, consistent with 
recently amended statutory law, that the Oversight Board 
determines surcharge rates in an open meeting following 
notice and public comment; to clarify to be consistent with 
statutory law that the late payment penalty will be set 
annually by the Oversight Board not to exceed 12 percent; to 
require payment of NSF charges; and to clarify time delays 
for certain health care providers to pay surcharges to 
continue PCF qualification. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part III.  Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board 
Chapter 7. Surcharges 
§701. PCF Consulting Actuary 

A. In accordance with the provisions of law applicable to 
contracting for personal, professional, or consulting services, 
the board shall retain a qualified, competent, and 
independent consulting actuary to advise and consult the 
board on all aspects of the board's administration, operation, 
and defense of the fund which require application of the 
actuarial science. Each year, the board shall cause the 
consulting actuary to prepare an annual actuarial study 
required by the Act and these rules. An individual actuary 
contracted by the board, or a principal actuary assigned to 
the engagement and employed by a partnership, firm, or 
corporation contracted by the board, shall possess formal 
education and at least a baccalaureate degree in the actuarial 
sciences, shall be a full member of the Casualty Actuarial 
Society, and shall have had substantial prior experience in 
providing services as a consulting actuary to insurance 
companies underwriting professional health care liability 
insurance. 

B. The board's contract with a consulting actuary shall 
provide that the consulting actuary shall be responsible for: 

1. – 2. … 
3. performing actuarial analysis of claims experience 

data collected and maintained by the executive director with 
respect to the fund, commercial professional liability 
insurers doing business in this state, self-insured health care 
providers, together, as necessary or appropriate, with 
regional or national professional health care liability claims 
experience data, and development, in consideration of the 
fund's allocated and unallocated expenses, its organization, 
administration, and legal and regulatory constraints, of a 
surcharge rate structure, rated and classified according to the 
several classes or risks against which the fund provides 
compensation, that shall reasonably ensure that the fund is 
sufficiently funded so as to be and remain financially and 
actuarially capable of providing the compensation for which 
it is organized; 

4. developing, in conjunction with the executive 
director, proposed surcharge rates and surcharge rate 
changes in accordance with the consulting actuary's actuarial 
analyses, for submission to the board; 

5. as requested by the executive director, personal 
presentation of proposed surcharge rates and surcharge rate 
changes at meetings of the board; and 

6. generally advising and consulting with the 
executive director on all actuarial questions affecting the 
board's administration, operation, and defense of the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:174 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003), 
amended by the Division of Administration, Patient's 
Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2557 (November 
2010). 
§703. Annual Actuarial Study 

A. An actuarial study of the fund and the surcharge rate 
structure necessary and appropriate to ensure that it is and 
remains financially and actuarially sound shall be performed 
annually by the board's consulting actuary on the basis of an 
actuarial analysis of all relevant claims experience data 
collected and maintained by the board. 

B. In the performance of the board's annual actuarial 
study and the development of a financially sound and 
appropriate surcharge rate structure for the fund, the board's 
consulting actuary and the executive director shall accord 
the greatest weight to the claims experience of the fund and 
of commercial professional health care liability insurance 
underwriters and self-insurance funds with respect to the risk 
underwritten by such insurers and self-insurance funds in 
this state and as particularly reflected in such insurers' then 
most recent premium rate filings with the Louisiana 
Department of Insurance (LDOI) or such self-insurance 
funds' current rate structure and supporting data, provided, 
however, that such data shall be viewed in light of national 
claims experience data and provided further that the board's 
consulting actuary may place reliance on national claims 
experience data when, in the opinion of such actuary, claims 
experience within the state of Louisiana as to any class of 
risks provides an insufficient basis for reliance thereon for 
purposes of actuarial analysis or in calculating indicated 
surcharge rates. 

C. Without respect to the rate structure indicated by any 
annual actuarial study of the fund, no changes to surcharge 
rates or to the surcharge rate structure shall be approved by 
the board when the total assets of the fund could become less 
than the amount provided for in R.S. 40:1299.44(A)(6)(a) 
and (b). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 19:204 (February 1993), LR 
24:1111 (June 1998), amended by the Division of Administration, 
Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2557 
(November 2010). 
§705. Risk Rating 

A. Surcharge rates collected by the board shall be based 
on and classified according to the classes and categories of 
health care liability risks underwritten by the fund with 
respect to each class of health care practitioners and 
institutions eligible for enrollment with the fund. With 
regard to hospitals, surcharge rates collected by the board 
shall be based on the annual average number of occupied 
beds. Risk classifications and ratings adopted by the board 
shall be based on actuarial analysis of the claims experience 
of health care provider groups enrolled with the fund and 
equivalent data and practices of commercial insurance 
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underwriters and self-insurance funds insuring such groups. 
Risk rating classifications for health care providers eligible 
for enrollment with the fund shall be based on Louisiana 
claims experience data, including the fund's own claims 
experience, unless the board's actuary affirmatively 
demonstrates that, as respects any class of provider, 
reasonably obtainable, competent, and credible Louisiana 
claims experience data provides an insufficient basis for 
such classifications under generally accepted insurance 
actuarial standards, in which case regional or national claims 
experience data and statistics relative to such classes of 
health care provider may be utilized. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 29:346 (March 2003), 
amended by the Division of Administration, Patient's 
Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2557 (November 
2010). 
§707. Determination of Rates; Notice of Rates 

A. The board shall determine surcharge rates in a public 
meeting held pursuant to Louisiana’s open meetings laws 
based upon actuarial principles and reports, experience and 
prudent judgment of the board. The board shall provide 
written or electronic notice of the meeting at least 15 days in 
advance of the meeting and provide an opportunity for 
public comment at the meeting before determining surcharge 
rates. 

B. Within 30 days of the date on which the board 
determines surcharges rates or rate changes, the executive 
director shall give notice of such rates or rate changes via the 
board’s website and any other means at the discretion of the 
executive director. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:175 (February 1992), amended LR 24:1112 (June 1998), 
amended by the Division of Administration, Patient's 
Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2558 (November 
2010). 
§709. Interim, Emergency Rates 

A. Interim or emergency surcharge rates or rate changes 
may be determined by the board at any time when the board, 
in consultation with its consulting actuary, determines that a 
new surcharge rate or rate changes are necessary. The board 
shall comply with the notice and comment provisions set 
forth in §707 prior to determining interim or emergency 
surcharge rates or rate changes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:176 (February 1992), amended by the Division of 
Administration, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
36:2558 (November 2010). 
§711. Payment of Surcharges: Insurers and Self-

Insurance Trusts 
A. Applicable surcharges for enrollment and 

qualification with the fund shall be collected on behalf of the 
board by commercial professional health care liability 
insurance companies and approved self-insurance trusts 
from insured health care providers electing to enroll and 

qualify with the fund. Such surcharges shall be collected by 
such insurers and trusts at the same time and on the same 
basis as such insurers' and trust's collection of premiums or 
contributions from such insureds. Surcharges collected by 
such insurers and trusts on behalf of the board shall be due 
and payable and remitted to the board by such insurers and 
trusts within 45 days from the date on which such surcharges 
are collected from any insured health care provider. 

B. Annual surcharges for initial PCF coverage for 
insured health care providers whose surcharges are collected 
by insurers and trusts for enrollment and qualification with 
the fund shall be due and payable to the collecting insurers 
and trusts on or before the date of initial PCF coverage. 
Annual surcharges for renewal coverage due the board by 
insured health care providers whose surcharges are collected 
by insurers and trusts for enrollment and qualification with 
the fund shall be due and payable to the collecting insurers 
and trusts on or before 30 days following the expiration of 
the prior enrollment period. Remittance of surcharges to the 
board by the insurers and trusts shall be made in such form 
and accompanied by records in such forms or on such forms 
as may be prescribed by the executive director so as to 
provide for proper accounting of remitted surcharges and the 
identity and class of health care providers on whose behalf 
such surcharges are remitted. Such insurers and funds 
remitting surcharges to the board shall certify to the board, at 
the time of remitting such surcharge to the board, the date 
that the surcharges were collected by them from the health 
care providers. The payment of surcharges by an approved 
self-insurance trust that does not collect premiums or 
contributions from insureds will be governed by §713 
hereof. 

C. Failure of the commercial professional health care 
liability insurers, commercial insurance underwriters, and 
approved self-insurance trust funds to remit payment within 
45 days of collecting such annual surcharge shall subject the 
commercial professional liability insurers, commercial 
insurance underwriters, and approved self-insurance trust 
funds to a penalty, the amount of which will be set by the 
board on an annual basis, not to exceed 12 percent of the 
annual surcharge, and all reasonable attorney fees. Upon the 
failure of the commercial professional health care liability 
insurers, commercial insurance underwriters and approved 
self-insurance trust funds to remit as provided in §711, the 
board may institute legal proceedings to collect the 
surcharge, together with penalties, legal interest, and all 
reasonable attorney fees. 

D. If the instrument used to pay the surcharge is returned 
to the board by the payor institution and/or payment hereon 
is denied for any reason, the health care provider shall be 
notified thereof by the board. If the surcharge and any 
insufficient funds (NSF) charge incurred by the board is not 
paid in full by certified check, cashier's check, money order, 
or cash equivalent funds received by the board within 10 
calendar days of the provider's receipt of said notice, then 
the provider's coverage with the fund shall be terminated as 
of the end of the previous enrollment period. 

E. It is the purpose of §711 that insurers and approved 
self-insurance trust funds remit surcharges collected from 
their insured providers to the board timely. The timeliness of 
surcharge remittances to the board by insurers and approved 
self-insurance trust funds shall not affect the effective date 
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of fund coverage. However, the failure of insured health care 
providers to timely remit applicable surcharges to insurers 
and approved self-insurance trust funds for renewal may 
result in lapses of coverage with the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 20:432 (April 1994), LR 
23:69 (January 1997), LR 29:346 (March 2003), amended by the 
Division of Administration, Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight 
Board, LR 36:2558 (November 2010). 
§713. Payment of Surcharges: Self-Insureds 

A. … 
B. Annual surcharges for initial PCF coverage for self-

insured health care providers for enrollment and 
qualification with the fund shall be due and payable to the 
board on or before the date of initial PCF coverage. 
Surcharges due the board by self-insured health care 
providers for enrollment with the fund for an enrollment 
year shall be due and payable to the board on or before 30 
days following the expiration of the prior enrollment period. 
Remittance of surcharges to the board shall be made in such 
form and accompanied by records in such form or on such 
forms as may be prescribed by the executive director so as to 
provide for proper accounting of remitted surcharges and the 
identity and class of health care provider remitting 
surcharges. 

C. If the instrument used to pay the surcharge is returned 
to the board by the payor institution and/or payment hereon 
is denied for any reason, the health care provider shall be 
notified thereof by the board. If the surcharge and any 
insufficient funds (NSF) charge incurred by the board is not 
paid in full by certified check, cashier's check, money order, 
or cash equivalent funds received by the board within 10 
calendar days of the provider's receipt of said notice, then 
the provider's coverage with the fund shall be terminated as 
of the end of the previous enrollment period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.44.D(3). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Patient’s Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 
18:176 (February 1992), amended LR 20:432 (April 1994), LR 
23:69 (January 1997), amended by the Division of Administration, 
Patient's Compensation Fund Oversight Board, LR 36:2559 
(November 2010). 

 
Lorraine LeBlanc 
Executive Director 

1011#041 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Licensure Exemptions; Emergency Transfer of Patients 
(LAC 46:XLV.423) 

The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners (board), 
pursuant to the authority of the Louisiana Medical Practice 
Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292, and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., has amended its administrative rules 

governing licensure and certification of physicians, LAC 
46:XLV, Subpart 2 (Licensure and Certification), Chapter 3 
(Physicians), Subchapter I, (License Issuance, Termination, 
Renewal and Reinstatement), by adopting a new Section 423 
(Exemptions to Licensure; Emergency Transfer of Patients). 
The Rule is set forth below 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 3. Physicians 
Subchapter I. License Issuance, Termination, Renewal, 

Reinstatement and Exemptions 
§423. Exemptions to Licensure; Emergency Transfer 

of Patients 
A. In addition to the exemptions to licensure provided by 

R.S. 37:1291, a license to practice medicine shall not be 
required for a physician-member of a transport team 
providing emergency or other medical care to an acutely ill 
patient during transfer or transportation to or from a hospital 
in this state provided such physician is duly licensed to 
practice medicine by the medical licensing authority of 
another state. 

B. The exemption provided by Subsection A of this 
Section, shall also apply to any license, certificate or 
registration of any allied health care professional, which the 
board is authorized to issue, who is a member of a transport 
team providing emergency or other medical care to an 
acutely ill patient during transfer or transportation to or from 
a hospital in this state provided such allied health care 
practitioner is duly licensed to practice his profession by the 
medical licensing authority of another state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1261-1292, and 37:1270. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR. 36:2559 
(November 2010). 

Robert L. Marier, M.D. 
Executive Director 

1011#118 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Practical Nurse Examiners 

Adjudication, Definitions, Licensure Qualifications, and 
Name Change (LAC 46:XLVII.306, 501, 1701, and 1709) 

The Board of Practical Nurse Examiners hereby amends 
LAC 46:XLVII.101 et seq., in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and the Practical Nursing Practice Act, R.S. 37:961-
979. No preamble has been prepared. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLVII.  Nurses 

Subpart 1.  Practical Nurses 
Chapter 3. Board of Practical Nurse Examiners 
§306. Adjudication Proceedings 

A. - G. … 
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H. The formal complaint shall be sent by mail, at least 20 
days, including weekends and holidays, prior to the hearing 
date, to the last known address of the respondent. It is the 
licensee’s obligation and duty to keep the board informed of 
his/her whereabouts. 

I. - P. … 
Q. The board shall make a decision based on the entire 

record, including the hearing officer’s report and determine 
what sanctions, if any, should be imposed and issue an 
appropriate order with respect thereto. This order of the 
board shall be sent to the respondent by mail. 

R. - V. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:969 and 37:978 and Acts 675 and 827, 1993. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, LR 2:275 (September 1976), 
amended LR 3:193 (April 1977), LR 10:336 (April 1984), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical 
Nurse Examiners, LR 18:1126 (October 1992), repromulgated LR 
18:1259 (November 1992), amended LR 20:663 (June 1994), LR 
26:2614 (November 2000), LR 28:2353 (November 2002), LR 
30:1478 (July 2004), LR 34:1912 (September 2008), LR 35:1247 
(July 2009), LR 35:2757 (December 2009), LR 36:2559 
(November 2010). 
Chapter 5. Definitions 
§501. Terms in the Manual 

* * * 
Survey—periodic review of a practical nursing program 

by the board to determine compliance with the adopted 
minimum requirements contained herein. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:961 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, 
LR 3:193 (April 1977), amended LR 10:337 (April 1984), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical 
Nurse Examiners, LR 18:1126 (October 1992), repromulgated LR 
18:1259 (November 1992), amended LR 26:2617 (November 
2000), LR 32:637 (April 2006), LR 36:2560 (November 2010). 
Chapter 17. Licensure 
§1701. Qualifications 

A. A person applying for a license to practice as a 
practical nurse in the state of Louisiana shall: 

1. be of good moral character; 
2. be a graduate of an accredited program in practical 

nursing; 
3. attain a score of 350 or above for those writing the 

board-approved licensure examination for practical nursing 
prior to October 1988, or a result of "Pass" for those writing 
the examination in October 1988 and beyond; 

4. complete and submit the required application 
accompanied by the specified fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:969 and 37:970. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, 
LR 3:199 (April 1977), amended LR 10:341 (April 1984), amended 
by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Practical 
Nurse Examiners, LR 18:1129 (October 1992), repromulgated LR 
18:1263 (November 1992) amended LR 36:2560 (November 
2010). 

§1709. Name Change 
A. A licensee requesting a name change on the license 

form shall forward a request to the board accompanied by a 
certified and true copy of a legal document. Licensees shall 
sign all practice related documents legibly using the name 
printed on the license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:969. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Board of Practical Nurse Examiners, 
LR 3:200 (April 1977), amended LR 10:342 (April 1984), LR 
36:2560 (November 2010). 

 
Claire Doody Glaviano 
Executive Director 

1011#004 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors 

Wholesale Drug Distribution―Exemptions 
(LAC 46:XCI.105) 

The Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors has 
amended LAC 46:XCI.105 in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. and R.S. 37:3467 et seq., of the Louisiana 
Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors Practice Act. These 
rule amendments will support the board’s ability to license 
entities and regulate the wholesale distribution of legend 
drugs and devices into and within the state of Louisiana in 
its effort to safeguard the life and health of its citizens and 
promote the public welfare. The amendments to the Rule are 
set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATION STANDARDS 

Part XCI.  Wholesale Drug Distributors 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§105. Wholesale Drug Distribution—Exemptions 

A. Wholesale drug distribution does not include: 
1. intra-company sales; 
2. the sale, purchase or trade of a drug or device or an 

offer to sell, purchase, or trade a drug or device by a 
charitable organization described in section 501(c)(3) of the 
Internal Revenue Code of 1954 to a nonprofit affiliate of the 
organization to the extent otherwise permitted by law; 

3. the sale, purchase, or trade of a drug or device or an 
offer to sell, purchase, or trade a drug or device among 
hospitals or other health care entities that are under common 
ownership; 

4. the sale, purchase, or trade of a drug or device or an 
offer to sell, purchase, or trade a drug or device for 
emergency medical reasons; for purposes of this Section, 
emergency medical reasons include transfers of prescription 
drugs or devices by a retail pharmacy to another retail 
pharmacy to alleviate a temporary shortage that arises from 
delays in or interruptions of regular distribution schedules; 

5. the dispensing of a drug or device pursuant to a 
prescription; 
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6. the distribution of drug samples by manufacturers' 
representatives or distributors' representatives;  

7. the sale, purchase, or trade of blood and blood 
components intended for transfusion; or 

8. the sale of legend drugs by retail pharmacies to 
licensed practitioners for office use where the annual dollar 
volume of legend drugs sold to licensed practitioners does 
not exceed five percent of the dollar volume of that retail 
pharmacy's annual legend drug sales. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 
35:1537 (August 2009), amended LR 36:321 (February 2010), LR 
36:2560 (November 2010). 

 
John Liggio 
Executive Director 

1011#019 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment 
Personal Care Services Reimbursement Methodology  

(LAC 50:XV.7321) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XV.7321 
under the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 5.  Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 

Treatment 
Chapter 73. Personal Care Services 
§7321. Reimbursement 

A. Reimbursement for EPSDT personal care services 
shall be the lesser of billed charges or the maximum unit rate 
set by the department. The maximum rate is a flat rate for 
each approved unit of service provided to the recipient. This 
rate shall be adjusted as necessary by the department. 

1. One quarter hour (15 minutes) is the standard unit 
of service, exclusive of travel time to arrive at the recipient’s 
home. 

2. The entire 15 minutes shall have been spent 
providing personal care services in order to be reimbursed 
for a unit. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 29:179 (February 2003), amended LR 
33:2202 (October 2007), repromulgated LR 33:2425 (November 
2007), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:2561 (November 
2010). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#101 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:V.953, 955, 959 and 967) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:V.953, 
§955, §959, and adoped §967 in the Medical Assistance 
Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title 
XIX of the Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§953. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. - M. … 
N. Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration. Effective 

for dates of service on or after January 1, 2010, quarterly 
supplemental payments will be issued to qualifying non-
rural, non-state acute care hospitals for inpatient services 
rendered during the quarter. Maximum aggregate payments 
to all qualifying hospitals in this group shall not exceed the 
available upper payment limit per state fiscal year.  

1. Qualifying Criteria. In order to qualify for the 
supplemental payment, the non-rural, non-state hospital 
must be affiliated with a state or local governmental entity 
through a Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration 
Agreement.  

a. A non-state hospital is defined as a hospital 
which is owned or operated by a private entity.  

b. A Low Income and Needy Care Collaboration 
Agreement is defined as an agreement between a hospital 
and a state or local governmental entity to collaborate for 
purposes of providing healthcare services to low income and 
needy patients. 

2. Each qualifying hospital shall receive quarterly 
supplemental payments for the inpatient services rendered 
during the quarter. Quarterly payment distribution shall be 
limited to one-fourth of the lesser of: 

a. the difference between each qualifying hospital’s 
inpatient Medicaid billed charges and Medicaid payments 
the hospital receives for covered inpatient services provided 
to Medicaid recipients. Medicaid billed charges and 
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payments will be based on a 12 consecutive month period 
for claims data selected by the department; or 

b. for hospitals participating in the Medicaid 
Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Program, the 
difference between the hospital’s specific DSH limit and the 
hospital’s DSH payments for the applicable payment period. 

O. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 
2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to acute care hospitals 
shall be reduced by 5 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of February 2, 2010. 

1. Payments to small rural hospitals as defined in R.S. 
40:1300 shall be exempt from this reduction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended LR 34:877 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:1552 (July 2010), LR 36:2561 (November 
2010). 
§955. Long Term Hospitals 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 

2010, the inpatient per diem rate paid to long term hospitals 
shall be reduced by 5 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of February 2, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR: 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2562 (November 2010). 
§959. Inpatient Psychiatric Hospital Services 

A. - G. … 
H. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 

2010, the prospective per diem rate paid to non-rural, non-
state free-standing psychiatric hospitals and distinct part 
psychiatric units within non-rural, non-state acute care 
hospitals shall be reduced by 5 percent of the per diem rate 
on file as of February 2, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:876 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1895 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1554 
(July 2010), LR 36:2562 (November 2010). 
§967. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. Routine Pediatric Inpatient Services. These services 
shall be paid at the lesser of cost or the target rate per 
discharge ceiling. The base period target rate per discharge 
ceiling amount shall be calculated using the allowable 
inpatient cost per discharge per the cost reporting period 
ended in state fiscal year (SFY) 2009. The target rate shall 
be inflated using the update factors published by the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) beginning with 
cost reporting periods starting on or after January 1, 2010. 

1. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2009, 
payment shall be the lesser of the allowable inpatient costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 

for the period multiplied times the target rate per discharge 
for the period. 

B. Inpatient Psychiatric Services. These services shall be 
paid at the lesser of cost or the target rate per discharge 
ceiling. The base period target rate per discharge ceiling 
amount shall be calculated using the allowable inpatient cost 
per discharge per the cost reporting period ended in state 
fiscal year (SFY) 2009. The target rate shall be inflated 
using the update factors published by CMS beginning with 
cost reporting periods starting on or after January 1, 2010. 

1. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2009, 
payment shall be the lesser of the allowable inpatient costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid discharges 
for the period multiplied times the target rate per discharge 
for the period. 

C. Carve-Out Specialty Services. These services are 
rendered by neonatal intensive care units, pediatric intensive 
care units, burn units and include transplants. Payment shall 
be the lesser of costs or the per diem limitation for each 
specialty service or type of transplant. The base period per 
diem limitation amounts shall be calculated using the 
allowable inpatient cost per day for each specialty or type of 
transplant per the cost reporting period ended in SFY 2009. 
The target rate shall be inflated using the update factors 
published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) beginning with cost reporting periods 
starting on or after January 1, 2010. 

1. For dates of service on or after September 1, 2009, 
payment shall be the lesser of the allowable inpatient costs 
as determined by the cost report or the Medicaid days for the 
period for each specialty or type of transplant multiplied 
times the per diem limitation for the period. 

D. Children’s specialty hospitals shall not be eligible for 
outlier payments after September 1, 2009. 

1. Outlier payments made in SFY 2010 in excess of 
$12,798,000 shall be considered as an interim payment in 
the determination of the cost settlement. 

E. These provisions shall not preclude children’s 
specialty hospitals from participation in the Medicaid 
Program under the high Medicaid or graduate medical 
education supplemental payment provisions.  

1. All Medicaid supplemental payments shall be 
included as an interim Medicaid inpatient payment in the 
determination of cost settlement amounts on the filed cost 
report. 

F. Effective for dates of service on or after February 3, 
2010, the per diem rates as calculated per §967.A.-C above 
shall be reduced by 5 percent. Final payment shall be the 
lesser of 95 percent of allowable inpatient acute care and 
psychiatric costs as determined by the cost report or the 
Medicaid discharges or days as specified per §967.A.-C for 
the period, multiplied by 95 percent of the target rate per 
discharge or per diem limitation as specified per §967.A.-C 
for the period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, 
amended LR 36:2562 (November 2010). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#102 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Laboratory and Radiology Services  
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 4334-4337) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XIX.4329 
and §§4334-4337 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254, pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. 
S. 49:950 et seq.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XIX.  Other Services 
Subpart 3.  Laboratory and Radiology 

Chapter 43. Billing and Reimbursement 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement 
§4329. Laboratory Services (Physicians and 

Independent Laboratories)  
A. - G. … 
H. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for laboratory services shall 
be reduced by 4.42 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1025 (May 2002), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1897 (September 2009), LR 36:1248 (June 
2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010). 
§4334. Radiology Services 

A. - F. …  
G. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services shall be 
reduced by 4.42 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1897 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010). 
§4335. Portable Radiology Services 

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for portable radiology 
services shall be reduced by 4.42 percent of the fee amounts 
on file as of January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
30:1026 (May 2004), amended LR 35:1898 (September 2009), 
amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 36:2563 (November 2010). 

§4337. Radiation Therapy Centers 
A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for radiology services 
provided by radiation therapy centers shall be reduced by 
4.42 percent of the fee amounts on file as of January 21, 
2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
35:1898 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1248 (June 2010), LR 
36:2563 (November 2010). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#103 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Necessity Criteria (LAC 50:I.1101) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:I.Chapter 11 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions  

Chapter 11. Medical Necessity 
§1101. Definition and Criteria  

A. Medically necessary services are defined as those 
health care services that are in accordance with generally 
accepted evidence-based medical standards or that are 
considered by most physicians (or other independent 
licensed practitioners) within the community of their 
respective professional organizations to be the standard of 
care. 

B. In order to be considered medically necessary, 
services must be: 

1. deemed reasonably necessary to diagnose, correct, 
cure, alleviate or prevent the worsening of a condition or 
conditions that endanger life, cause suffering or pain or have 
resulted or will result in a handicap, physical deformity or 
malfunction; and 

2. those for which no equally effective, more 
conservative or less costly course of treatment is available or 
suitable for the recipient. 

C. Any such services must be individualized, specific 
and consistent with symptoms or confirmed diagnosis of the 
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illness or injury under treatment, and neither more nor less 
than what the recipient requires at that specific point in time. 

D. Although a service may be deemed medically 
necessary, it doesn’t mean the service will be covered under 
the Medicaid Program. Services that are experimental, non-
FDA approved, investigational or cosmetic are specifically 
excluded from Medicaid coverage and will be deemed "not 
medically necessary." 

1. The Medicaid director, in consultation with the 
Medicaid medical director, may consider authorizing 
services at his discretion on a case-by-case basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2563 (November 2010). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#104 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Emergency Ambulance Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.325 and 353) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XXVII.325 
and §353 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized 
by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 
49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII. Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 3. Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter B. Ground Transportation 
§325. Reimbursement 

A. - F.2. ... 
G. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for emergency ambulance 
transportation services shall be reduced by 5 percent of the 
rate on file as of January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:878 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:1248 (June 2010), amended LR 36:2564 
(November 2010). 

Subchapter C. Aircraft Transportation 
§353. Reimbursement  

A. - D. … 
E. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for fixed winged and rotor 
winged emergency air ambulance services shall be reduced 
by 5 percent of the rate on file as of January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 35:70 (January 2009), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2564 (November 2010). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#105 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Medical Transportation Program 

Non-Emergency Ambulance Service 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXVII.571) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XXVII.571 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
and as directed by Act. This Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part. XXVII. Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§571. Non-Emergency Ambulance Transportation 

A. - C. … 
D. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the ground mileage and ancillary services 
reimbursement rates for non-emergency ambulance 
transportation services shall be reduced by 5 percent of the 
rate in effect on January 21, 2010.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 33:462 (March 2007), LR 34:878 (May 
2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:2564 (November 
2010). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#106 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medical Transportation Program 
Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.573) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XXVII.573 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXVII. Medical Transportation Program 

Chapter 5. Non-Emergency Medical Transportation 
Subchapter D. Reimbursement 
§573. Non-Emergency, Non-Ambulance 

Transportation 
A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for non-emergency, non-
ambulance medical transportation services shall be reduced 
by 5 percent of the rates in effect on January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:879 (May 2008), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2565 (November 2010). 

Implementation of these provisions may be contingent 
upon the approval of the U.S. Department of Health and 
Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS), if it is determined that submission to CMS 
for review and approval is required. 
 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#108 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 

Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.901) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XV.901 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254, pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

This Rule is being promulgated to continue the provisions 
of the January 22, 2010 Emergency Rule.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV. Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 1. Mental Health Rehabilitation 

Chapter 9. Reimbursement 
§901. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - E. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for Mental Health 
Rehabilitation services shall be reduced by 1.62 percent of 
the rates on file as of January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgate by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1091 (May 2005), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1899 (September 2009), amended LR 36:1249 
(June 2010), LR 36:2565 (November 2010). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 
 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#109 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Multi-Systemic Therapy—Prior Authorization and 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.25305 and 25701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:XV.25305 
and amended §25701 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XV.  Services for Special Populations 
Subpart 17.  Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Chapter 253. Services 
§25305. Prior Authorization 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 
2010, prior authorization is required for services in excess of 
244 units or four months. 

1. Proof of medical necessity must be submitted in 
accordance with department guidelines. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services financing, LR 
36:2565 (November 2010). 
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Chapter 257. Reimbursement 
§25701. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - B. … 
C. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement rates for multi-systemic therapy 
services shall be reduced by 5 percent of the rates on file as 
of January 21, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services financing, LR 
35:247 (February 2009), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:1250 (June 
2010), amended LR 36:2566 (November 2010). 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#110 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Nursing Facilities—Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:VII.1305) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:VII.1305 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950 et seq.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part VII.  Long Term Care Services 
Subpart 1.  Nursing Facilities 

Chapter 13. Reimbursement 
§1305. Rate Determination 

A. - E. ... 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement paid to non-state nursing facilities 
shall be reduced by 1.5 percent of the per diem rate on file as 
of January 21, 2010 ($1.95 per day). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 28:1791 (August 2002), amended LR 
31:1596 (July 2005), LR 32:2263 (December 2006), LR 33:2203 
(October 2007), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 36:325 
(February 2010), repromulgated LR 36:520 (March 2010), 
amended LR 36:1556 (July 2010), LR 36:2566 (November 2010). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#111 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program—Family Planning Services 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:IX.15141-15143) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:IX.15141-
15143 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 15.  Reimbursement  

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter E. Family Planning Services 
§15141. General Provisions (Reserved) 
§15143. Reimbursement 

A. The reimbursement for family planning services shall 
be a flat fee for each covered service as specified on the 
established Medicaid fee schedule. Fee schedule rates are 
based on a percentage of the Louisiana Medicare Region 99 
allowable for a specified year. 

B. Family planning services are currently reimbursed at 
a rate that is between 90 percent and 120 percent of the 2008 
Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable or billed charges, 
whichever is the lesser amount. 

C. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 
2010, the reimbursement rates for family planning services 
rendered by a physician shall be 75 percent of the 2009 
Louisiana Medicare Region 99 allowable or billed charges, 
whichever is the lesser amount. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
36:2566 (November 2010). 

 
Bruce D . Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#112 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

 
Prosthetics and Orthotics―Reimbursement Rate Reduction 

(LAC 50:XVII.501) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has amended LAC 50:XVII.501 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This  Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:9530 et seq. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XVII. Prosthetics and Orthotics 
Subpart 1.General Provisions 

Chapter 5. Reimbursement 
§501. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. - E.1. … 
F. Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 

2010, the reimbursement for prosthetic and orthotic devices 
shall be reduced by 5 percent of the fee amounts on file as of 
January 21, 2010. 

1. The rate reduction shall not apply to items that do 
not appear on the fee schedule and are individually priced. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 31:1597 (July 2005), amended LR 34:881 
(May 2008), amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 35:1903 (September 
2009), amended LR 36:1253 (June 2010), LR 36:2567 (November 
2010). 
 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#113 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Fees (LAC 43:XIX.701, 703, and 707) 

Pursuant to power delegated under the laws of the state of 
Louisiana, and particularly Title 30 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950, as amended, the Office of Conservation 
amends LAC 43:XIX.701, 703, and 707 (Statewide Order 
No. 29-R) in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. This 
action will adopt Statewide Order No. 29-R-10/11 (LAC 
43:XIX, Subpart 2, Chapter 7), which establishes the annual 
Office of Conservation Fee Schedule for the collection of 
Application, Production, and Regulatory Fees, and will 
replace the existing Statewide Order No. 29-R-09/10. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation―General Operations 
Subpart 2.  Statewide Order No. 29-R 

Chapter 7. Fees 
§701. Definitions 

Application Fee—an amount payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, by industries under the jurisdiction 
of the Office of Conservation. 

Application for Automatic Custody Transfer—an 
application for authority to measure and transfer custody of 
liquid hydrocarbons by the use of methods other than 
customary gauge tanks, as authorized by Statewide Order 
No. 29-G-1 (LAC 43:XVII.2304 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well—an 
application to construct and/or operate a commercial Class I 
injection well, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 

(LAC 43:XVII.101 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)—an application to construct and/or 
operate additional Class I injection wells within the same 
filing, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 (LAC 
43:XVII.101 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 (LAC 
43:XVII.201 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class I1 Injection Well—an 
application to construct and/or operate a commercial Class II 
injection well, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 
(LAC 43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well 
(Additional Wells)—an application to construct and/or 
operate additional Class II injection wells within the same 
filing, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.401 et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 (LAC 
43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Multiple Completion—an application to 
multiple complete a new or existing well in separate 
common sources of supply, as authorized by Statewide 
Order N. 29-C-4 (LAC 43:XIX.1301 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 

Application for Non Commercial Injection Well―an 
application to construct and/or operate a Class I, II, III, or V 
noncommercial injection well, as authorized by Statewide 
Order Nos. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.401 et seq.), 29-M (LAC 
43:XVII.301 et seq.), 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.101 et seq.), 
29-N-2 (LAC 43:XVII.201 et seq.), 29-M-2 (LAC 
43:XVII.3101 et seq.), successor regulations. 

Application for Permit to Drill (Minerals)—an application 
to drill in search of minerals (six-months or one-year), as 
authorized by R.S. 30:28. 

Application for Public Hearing—an application for a 
public hearing as authorized by R.S.30:1, et. seq. 

Application for Site Clearance—an application to approve 
a procedural plan for site clearance verification of platform, 
well or structure abandonment developed by an 
operator/lessee and submitted to the Commissioner of 
Conservation, as authorized by LAC 43:XI.311 et seq., or 
successor regulations. 

Application for Substitute Unit Well—an application for a 
substitute unit well as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-
K-1 (LAC 43:XIX.2901 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Development Operations 
Permit—an application to remove coal, lignite, or 
overburden for the purpose of determining coal or lignite 
quality or quantity or coal or lignite mining feasibility, as 
authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-O-1 (LAC 43:XV.101 
et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Exploration Permit—an 
application to drill test holes or core holes for the purpose of 
determining the location, quantity, or quality of a coal or 
lignite deposit, as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-O-1 
(LAC 43:XV.101 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application for Surface Mining Permit—an application 
for a permit to conduct surface coal or lignite mining and 
reclamation operations, as authorized by Statewide Order 
No. 29-O-1 (LAC 43:XV.101 et seq.), or successor 
regulations. 
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Application for Unit Termination—an application for unit 
termination as authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-L-3 
(LAC 43:XIX.3100 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application to Amend Permit to Drill (Injection or 
Other)—an application to alter, amend, or change a permit to 
drill, construct and/or operate an injection, or other well after 
its initial issuance, as authorized by R.S. 30:28. 

Application to Amend Permit to Drill (Minerals)—an 
application to alter, amend, or change a permit to drill for 
minerals after its initial issuance, as authorized by R.S. 
30:28.* 

*Application to Amend Operator (transfer of ownership, 
including any other amendment action requested at that time) 
for any orphaned well, any multiply completed well which has 
reverted to a single completion, any non-producing well which 
is plugged and abandoned within the time frame directed by 
the commissioner, as well as any stripper crude oil well or 
incapable gas well so certified by the Department of Revenue 
shall not be subject to the application fee provided herein. 

Application to Commingle—an application for authority to 
commingle production of gas and/or liquid hydrocarbons 
and to use methods other than gauge tanks for allocation, as 
authorized by Statewide Order No. 29-D-1 (LAC 
43:XIX.1500 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

Application to Process Form R-4—application for 
authorization to transport oil from a lease as authorized by 
Statewide Order No. 25 (LAC 43:XIX.900 et seq.), or 
successor regulations. 

BOE―annual barrels oil equivalent. Gas production is 
converted to BOE by dividing annual mcf by a factor of 
13.0. 

Capable Gas―natural and casing head gas not classified 
as incapable gas well gas or incapable oil well gas by the 
Department of Revenue, as of December 31, 2009. 

Capable Oil―crude oil and condensate not classified as 
incapable oil or stripper oil by the Department of Revenue, 
as of December 31, 2009. 

Class I Well—a Class I injection well used to inject 
hazardous or nonhazardous, industrial, or municipal wastes 
into the subsurface, which falls within the regulatory 
purview of Statewide Order No. 29-N-1 (LAC 43:XVII.101 
et seq.), Statewide Order No. 29-N-2 (LAC 43:XVII.201 et 
seq.), or successor regulations. 

Class I Well Fee—an annual fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, on Class I wells in an amount not to 
exceed $400,000 for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 and thereafter. 

Class II Well—a Class II injection well which injects 
fluids which are brought to the surface in connection; with 
conventional oil or natural gas production, for annular 
disposal wells, for enhanced recovery of oil or natural gas, 
and for storage of hydrocarbons. For purposes of 
administering the exemption provided in R.S. 
30:21(B)(1)(c), such exemption is limited to operators who 
operate Class II wells serving a stripper oil well or an 
incapable gas well certified pursuant to R.S. 47:633 by the 
Severance Tax Section of the Department of Revenue and 
located in the same field as such Class II well. 

Class III Well—a Class III injection well which injects for 
extraction of minerals or energy. 

Emergency Clearance—emergency authorization to 
transport oil from lease. 

Production Fee—an annual fee payable to the Office of 
Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by the 
Office of Conservation, by oil and gas operators on capable 
oil wells and capable gas wells based on a tiered system to 
establish parity on a dollar amount between the wells. The 
tiered system shall be established annually by rule on 
capable oil and capable gas production, including 
nonexempt wells reporting zero production during the 
annual base period, in an amount not to exceed $2,450,000 
for fiscal year 2002/2003 and thereafter. 

Production Well―any well which has been permitted by 
and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Office of 
Conservation, excluding wells in the permitted and drilling 
in progress status, Class II injection wells, liquid storage 
cavity wells, commercial salt water disposal wells, Class V 
injection wells, wells which have been plugged and 
abandoned, wells which have reverted to landowner for use 
as a fresh water well (Statewide Order No. 29-B, LAC 
43:XIX.137.G, or successor regulations), multiply completed 
wells reverted to a single completion, and stripper oil wells 
or incapable oil wells or incapable gas wells certified by the 
Severance Tax Section of the Department of Revenue, as of 
December 31, 2009. 

Regulatory Fee―an amount payable annually to the 
Office of Conservation, in a form and schedule prescribed by 
the Office of Conservation, on Class II wells, Class III wells, 
storage wells, Type A facilities, and Type B facilities in an 
amount not to exceed $875,000 for Fiscal Year 2000-2001 
and thereafter. No fee shall be imposed on a Class II well of 
an operator who is also an operator of a stripper crude oil 
well or incapable gas well certified pursuant to R.S. 47.633 
by the Severance Tax Section of the Department of Revenue 
as of December 31, 2009, and located in the same field as 
such Class II well. Operators of Record, excluding operators 
of wells and including, but not limited to, operators of 
gasoline/cycling plants, refineries, oil/gas transporters, 
and/or certain other activities subject to the jurisdiction of 
the Office of Conservation are required to pay an annual 
registration fee of $105. Such payment is due within the time 
frame prescribed by the Office of Conservation. 

Type A Facility—commercial E and P waste disposal 
facilities within the State that utilize technologies 
appropriate for the receipt, treatment, storage, or disposal of 
oilfield waste solids and liquids for a fee or other 
consideration, and fall within the regulatory purview of 
Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 43:CIC.501 et seq.), 
Statewide Order No. 29-M-2 (LAC 43:XVII.3101 et seq.), or 
successor regulations. 

Type B Facility—commercial E and P waste disposal 
facilities within the State that utilize underground injection 
technology for the receipt, treatment, storage, or disposal of 
only produced saltwater, oilfield brine, or other oilfield 
waste liquids for a fee or other consideration, and fall within 
the regulatory purview of Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.501 et seq.), or successor regulations. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:21 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:542 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:551 (July 1989), LR 21:1249 (November 
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1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2127 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1873 (October 1999), LR 26:2302 (October 2000), LR 
27:1919 (November 2001), LR 28:2366 (November 2002), LR 
29:2499 (November 2003), LR 31:2950 (November 2005), LR 
32:2087 (November 2006), LR 33:2461 (November 2007), LR 
34:2404 (November 2008), LR 35:2463 (November 2009). LR 
36:2567 (November 2010). 
§703. Fee Schedule for Fiscal Year 2010-2011 

A. Fee Schedule 
 

Application Fees Amount 
Application for Unit Termination $ 252 
Application for Substitute Unit Well $ 252 
Application for Public Hearings $ 755 
Application for Multiple Completion $ 126 
Application for Commingle $ 252 
Application for Automatic Custody Transfer $ 252 
Application for Noncommercial Injection Well $ 252 
Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well $ 1,264 
Application for Commercial Class I Injection Well 
(Additional Wells) $ 631 
Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well $ 631 
Application for Commercial Class II Injection Well 
(Additional Wells) $ 314 
Application for Permit to Drill—Minerals:  
0’-3,000’ (6 months) 

$ 126 

Application for Permit to Drill—Minerals:  
3,001’-10,000’ (6 months) 

$ 631 

Application for Permit to Drill—Minerals: 10,001’+  
(6 months) 

$ 1,264 

Application for Permit to Drill—Minerals: 0’-3,000’ 
(1 year) $ 252 
Application for Permit to Drill—Minerals:  
3,001’-10,000’ (1 year) $ 1,262 
Application for Permit to Drill—Minerals: 10,001’+  
(1 year) $ 2,528 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 3,000’) (1 year) $ 1,008 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 10,000’) (1 year) $ 1,264 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 3,000’) (6 months) $ 504 
Drill Minerals Deeper (> 10,000’) (6 months) $ 632 
Application for Amend Permit to Drill—Minerals $ 126 
Application for Permit to Drill—Injection or Other $ 126 
Application for Surface Mining Exploration Permit $ 65 
Application for Surface Mining Development 
Operations Permit $ 94 
Application for Surface Mining Permit $ 2,212 
Application to Process Form R-4 $ 36 
Application to Reinstate Suspended Form R-4 $ 65 
Application for Emergency Clearance Form R-4 $ 65 
Application for Site Clearance $ 600 

 
B. Regulatory Fees 

1. Operators of each permitted Type A Facility are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of $6,942 per 

facility. 
2. Operators of each permitted Type B Facility are 

required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of $3,471 per 
facility. 

3. Operators of record of permitted non-commercial 
Class II injection/disposal wells are required to pay $704 per 

well. 
4. Operators of record of permitted Class III and 

Storage wells are required to pay $704 per well. 
C. Class I Well Fees. Operators of permitted Class I 

wells are required to pay $11,111 per well. 
D. Production Fees. Operators of record of capable oil 

wells and capable gas wells are required to pay according to 
the following annual production fee tiers. 

Tier 
Annual Production 

(Barrel Oil Equivalent) Fee ($ per Well) 
Tier 1 0 18 
Tier 2 1 - 5,000 98 
Tier 3 5,001 - 15,000 284 
Tier 4 15,001 - 30,000 467 
Tier 5 30,001 - 60,000 742 
Tier 6 60,001 - 110,000 1,027 
Tier 7 110,001 - 9,999,999 1,271 

 
E. Exceptions 

1. Operators of record of each Class I 
injection/disposal well and each Type A and B commercial 
facility that is permitted, but has not yet been constructed, 
are required to pay an annual fee of 50 percent of the 
applicable fee for each well or facility. 

2. Operators of record of each inactive Type A and B 
facility which have voluntarily ceased the receipt and 
disposal of E and P waste and are actively implementing an 
Office of Conservation approved closure plan are required to 
pay an annual Regulatory Fee of 50 percent of the annual fee 
for each applicable Type A or B facility. 

3. Operators of record of each inactive Type A or B 
facility which have voluntarily ceased the receipt and 
disposal of E and P waste, have completed Office of 
Conservation approved closure activities and are conducting 
a post-closure maintenance and monitoring program, are 
required to pay an annual Regulatory Fee of 25 percent of 
the annual fee for each applicable Type A or B facility. 

F.  Pipeline Safety Inspection Fees 
1. Owners/operators of jurisdictional gas pipeline 

facilities are required to pay an annual Gas Pipeline Safety 
Inspection Fee of $22.40 per mile, or a minimum of $400, 
whichever is greater. 

2. Owners/operators of jurisdictional hazardous 
liquids pipeline facilities are required to pay an annual 
Hazardous Liquids Pipeline Safety Inspection Fee of $22.40 
per mile, or a minimum of $400, whichever is greater. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq., R.S. 30:560 and 706. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:543 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1250 (November 
1995), LR 24:458 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October 2000), LR 
27:1920 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:350 (March 2003), LR 29:2501 (November 2003), LR 30:2494 
(November 2004), LR 31:2950 (November 2005), LR 32:2088 
(November 2006), LR 33:2461 (November 2007), LR 34:2405 
(November 2008), LR 35:2463 (November 2009), LR 36:2569 
(November 2010). 
§705. Failure to Comply 

A. Operators of operations and activities defined in §701 
are required to timely comply with this order. Failure to 
comply by the due date of any required fee payment will 
subject the operator to civil penalties provided in Title 30 of 
the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, including but not 
limited to R.S. 30:18. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2304 (October 2000), LR 
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27:1921 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:2501 (November 2003), LR 34:2406 (November 2008), LR 
36:2569 (November 2010). 
§707. Severability and Effective Date 

A. The fees set forth in §703 are hereby adopted as 
individual and independent rules comprising this body of 
rules designated as Statewide Order No. 29-R-10/11 and if 
any such individual fee is held to be unacceptable, pursuant 
to R.S. 49:968(H)(2), or held to be invalid by a court of law, 
then such unacceptability or invalidity shall not affect the 
other provisions of this order which can be given effect 
without the unacceptable or invalid provisions, and to that 
end the provisions of this order are severable. 

B. This order (Statewide Order No. 29-R-10/11) 
supersedes Statewide Order No. 29-R-09/10 and any 
amendments thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:21 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 14:544 (August 
1988), amended LR 15:552 (July 1989), LR 21:1251 (November 
1995), LR 24:459 (March 1998), LR 24:2128 (November 1998), 
LR 25:1874 (October 1999), LR 26:2305 (October 2000), LR 
27:1921 (November 2001), LR 28:2368 (November 2002), LR 
29:2502 (November 2003), LR 30:2494 (November 2004), LR 
31:2950 (November 2005), LR 32:2088 (November 2006), LR 
33:2462 (November 2007), LR 34:2406 (November 2008), LR 
35:2464 (November 2009), LR 36:2570 (November 2010). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

1011#035 
 

RULE 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Order No. 29-B 
(LAC 43:XIX.301, 303, 501, 519 and 565) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation has amended LAC 
43:XIX.303, 501, 519 and 545 in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and pursuant to the power delegated under the laws 
of the State of Louisiana. The amendment would allow 
commercial facilities to reclaim material that would 
otherwise be disposed of as E and P Waste and use said 
material solely as media during Office of Conservation 
permitted hydraulic fracture stimulation operations. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation—General Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 3. Pollution Control—Onsite Storage, 
Treatment and Disposal of Exploration 
and Production Waste (E&P Waste) 
Generated from the Drilling and 
Production of Oil and Gas Wells (Oilfield 
Pit Regulations) 

§301. Definitions 
* * * 

FSR Fluid—fracture stimulation reclamation fluid as 
defined in §501. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2798 (December 
2000), amended LR 33:1653 (August 2007), LR 36:2570 
(November 2010). 
§303. General Requirements 

A. - O.6 … 
P. FSR fluid received by an operator regulated pursuant 

to this Chapter shall be used solely as media for hydraulic 
fracture stimulation operations. Upon receiving possession 
of FSR fluid from a commercial facility, the operator shall 
be solely responsible for ensuring that this requirement is 
met. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2799 (December 
2000), amended LR 30:254 (February 2004), LR 33:1654 (August 
2007), LR 36:2570 (November 2010). 
Chapter 5. Off-Site Storage, Treatment and/or 

Disposal of Exploration and Production 
Waste Generated from Drilling and 
Production of Oil and Gas Wells 

§501. Definitions 
* * * 

Fracture Stimulation Reclamation Fluid (FSR fluid)—a 
material that would otherwise be classified as E&P Waste, 
but which has been reclaimed for the sole use as media for 
Office of Conservation permitted hydraulic fracture 
stimulation operations. 

* * * 
Reusable Material—a material that would otherwise be 

classified as E&P Waste, but which is capable of resource 
conservation and recovery and has been processed in whole 
or in part for reuse. To meet this definition, the material must 
have been treated physically, chemically, or biologically or 
otherwise processed so that the material is significantly 
changed (i.e., the new material is physically, chemically, or 
biologically distinct from the original material), and meets 
the criteria §565.F. This term does not include FSR Fluid. 

* * * 
Type A Facility—a commercial E&P Waste disposal 

facility within the state that utilizes technologies appropriate 
for the receipt, storage, treatment, reclamation, or disposal of 
E and P Waste solids and fluids (liquids) for a fee or other 
consideration. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2811 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1898 (November 2001), LR 29:937 (June 
2003), LR 34:1421 (July 2008), LR 36:2570 (November 2010). 
§519. Permit Application Requirements for 

Commercial Facilities 
A - A.1. … 

2. A major modification to an existing commercial 
facility or transfer station permit is one in which the facility 
requests approval to include FSR fluid operations or make 
significant technological changes to an existing E and P 
Waste treatment and/or disposal system, including the 
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construction and operation of additional equipment or 
systems to treat and/or dispose of E and P Waste streams 
other than those previously accepted by the facility. A major 
modification request may include a request to expand an 
existing commercial facility or transfer station onto adjacent 
property not previously permitted for E and P Waste disposal 
activities. 

A.3. - C.21. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:4 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 26:2823 (December 
2000), amended LR 27:1905 (November 2001), LR 29:938 (June 
2003), LR 36:2570 (November 2010). 
§565. Resource Conservation and Recovery of 

Exploration and Production Waste 
A. In order to encourage the conservation and recovery 

of resources in the oilfield industry, the processing of E and 
P Waste into reusable materials or FSR fluid, in addition to 
or beyond extraction and separation methods which reclaim 
raw materials such as crude oil, diesel oil, etc., is recognized 
as a viable alternative to other methods of disposal. 

B. Commercial facilities may function for the purpose of 
generating reusable material or FSR fluid only, or they may 
generate reusable material or FSR fluid in conjunction with 
other storage, treatment or disposal operations. 

C. Commercial facilities that generate reusable material 
or FSR fluid are subject to all of the permitting requirements 
imposed on other commercial facilities. They are also 
subject to the same operational requirements without regard 
to the distinction between E and P Waste and reusable 
material or FSR fluid. Existing permits may be amended to 
allow re-use or FSR fluid operations at commercial facilities 
which acquire the capability to engage in processing for re-
use or FSR fluid operations. Commercial facilities which 
utilize extraction or separation methods to reclaim raw 
materials such as crude oil, diesel oil, etc. may do so without 
amendment of existing permits. 

D. - H. … 
I. Reporting. Each company which generates reusable 

material must furnish the commissioner a monthly report 
showing the disposition of all such material. 

J. Onsite temporary use of E and P Waste for hydraulic 
fracture stimulation operations is permissible only as 
authorized by the Office of Conservation and in accordance 
with the requirements of LAC 43:XIX.313.J. 

K. Existing commercial facilities who desire to 
commence FSR fluid operations must comply with the 
notification, application and permitting requirements of LAC 
43:XIX.519. 

L. The Commissioner of Conservation, the Secretary of 
the Department of Natural Resources, and the State of 
Louisiana upon issuance of a permit to a commercial facility 
operator for FSR fluid operations shall be held harmless 
from and indemnified for any and all liabilities arising from 
such operations and use of FSR fluid, and the commercial 
facility operator shall execute such agreements as the 
commissioner requires for this purpose. 

M. Reporting. Each commercial facility which generates 
FSR fluid must furnish the commissioner a monthly report 
showing the disposition of all such material. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 27:1916 (November 
2001), amended LR 29:939 (June 2003), LR 34:1422 (July 2008), 
LR 36:2571 (November 2010). 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1011#062 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Emergency Powers of Director (LAC 55:IX.103 and 301) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, in accordance with 
R.S. 40:1846 and with the Administrative Procedure Act., 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., and Act 211 of the 2009 regular session 
of the Louisiana Legislature, enacted as R.S. 40:1846(1) has 
amended Sections 103, "Definitions" and 301 "Emergency 
Powers of Director." This text has been amended to comply 
with the above legislative Act to allow the Director of the 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission the authority to 
suspend non safety related rules of the commission by the 
majority vote of the commission when the governor has 
declared an emergency or disaster under R.S. 29:721 et seq. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part IX.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Chapter 1. General Requirements 
Subchapter A. New Dealers 
§103. Definitions 

A. … 
* * * 

Materially Affect Safety―any action or inaction that 
significantly and adversely affects the public health, safety 
or welfare, whether caused by deliberate act or negligence. 

* * * 
State of Emergency or Disaster―any event declared by 

the governor of the state by his authority under the 
"Louisiana Homeland Security and Emergency Assistance 
and Disaster Act" under R.S. 39:721 et seq. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Public 

Safety, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, November 1972, 
amended December 1974, amended by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission, LR 
24:459 (March 1998), LR 29:2508 (November 2003), LR 31:2556 
(October 2005), LR 33:1139 (June 2007), effective July 1, 2007, 
LR 36:2571 (November 2010). 
Chapter 3. Emergency Powers 
§301. Procedure 

A. During a declared emergency or disaster by the 
governor, the commission may delegate authority to the 
director for the purposes of waving any rule under Part IX of 
Title 55 that does not materially affect safety. 

B. The delegation shall be by majority vote of the 
commission. 

C. If the commission cannot meet in person to vote on 
the delegation due to an inability to travel because of the 
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declared emergency or disaster, the director may make 
contact with each commissioner by any form of 
communications available at the time. 

D. The director shall make a written record of each vote 
cast by the individual commissioners. This record shall 
contain: 

1. the date of the vote; 
2. the name of the commissioners available for vote; 
3. the method of communication used to contact each 

commissioner including any contact information; 
4. the affirmative or negative vote of each 

commissioner. 
E. If the director cannot make contact with enough 

commissioners to make a quorum, he may act in on behalf of 
the commission during the declared emergency or disaster. 
Once the commission is able to meet, it shall review all 
exemptions granted by the director during the declared 
emergency or disaster. The commission may ratify any 
actions taken on behalf of the commission by the director. 

F. The emergency powers of the director under this 
Section shall expire upon either of the following: 

1. a majority vote of the commission; 
2. the expiration of the declaration of emergency or 

disaster by the governor. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1846(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Commission, LR 36:2571 (November 2010). 

 
John W. Alario 
Executive Director 

1011#025 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Attorney Visits (LAC 22:I.317) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, has amended 
the contents of §317 Attorney Visits. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
§317. Attorney Visits 

A. Purpose―to provide uniform procedures for the 
approval and conduct of visits by attorneys to offenders. 

B. Applicability―deputy secretary, chief of operations, 
regional wardens and wardens. Each warden is responsible 
for ensuring that appropriate unit written policy and 
procedures are in place to comply with the provisions of this 
regulation and for conveying its contents to all offenders, 
affected employees and attorneys seeking to visit. 

C. Policy. It is the secretary’s policy that attorney visits 
shall be conducted in accordance with the procedures of this 
regulation. 

D. General 
1. Offenders may refuse to see any attorney; such 

refusal shall be in writing and filed in the offender's master 
record. 

2. A log shall be maintained of all visits by attorneys, 
paralegals, legal assistants, law clerks and investigators. 

3. Visits may be visually observed, but conversations 
between offenders and counsel shall not, under any 
circumstance, be monitored. 

4. Visits between death row offenders and attorneys, 
paralegals, legal assistants, law clerks and investigators may 
be non-contact at the warden’s discretion. 

5. Attorneys, paralegals, legal assistants, law clerks 
and investigators are subject to searches according to 
established procedures, as are all other visitors. 

E. Procedures 
1. Approval of Attorneys. An attorney’s credentials 

shall be verified through the State Bar Association prior to 
being approved to visit or initiate privileged communication 
with offenders. 

2. Approval of authorized representatives: Paralegals, 
legal assistants, law clerks and investigators may be 
permitted to enter the institution to conduct interviews with 
offender clients of their supervising attorney, either with the 
attorney or alone. Such permission is at the discretion of the 
warden, who may approve or disapprove these requests. 
Prior to a paralegal, legal assistant, law clerk or investigator 
being approved to enter the grounds of the institution, the 
following criteria shall be met by the employing attorney: 

a. The paralegal, legal assistant, law clerk or 
investigator must not be on the visiting list of any offender 
confined in a state institution (except for immediate family 
members). 

b. A paralegal must have completed a paralegal or 
legal assistant study program at an accredited four-year 
college or junior college, or have completed a paralegal or 
legal assistant study program approved by the American Bar 
Association. (Certification by the National Association of 
Legal Assistants, Inc. as a Certified Legal Assistant (CLA) 
may be substituted for the aforementioned programs.) 

c. The employing or supervising attorney shall 
submit a paralegal, legal assistant, law clerk or investigator 
affidavit to the warden of the institution to be visited 
certifying the following prior to the approval for a paralegal, 
legal assistant, law clerk or investigator to enter institutional 
grounds: 
 i. the individual’s name, social security number 
and birth date; 
 ii. the length of time the individual has been 
employed or supervised by the attorney; 
 iii. paralegals and investigators must attach a copy 
of their certification or license to the affidavit, if applicable. 
 iv. representatives of attorneys who seek 
authorization to visit a client on behalf of their supervising 
attorney, but do not possess a certificate and/or license shall 
not be authorized or approved except by special permission 
from the warden. 

d. Paralegals, legal assistants, law clerks and 
investigators shall complete the department's "Orientation 
for Legal Representatives" training prior to being allowed to 
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visit an offender. This training may be conducted using the 
automated presentation on the department's website or upon 
arrival at the institution for an approved visit. The person 
taking the training on-line shall be required to submit the 
printable certificate of training with their affidavit. The visit 
may be prohibited if the required training is not completed. 

e. This information shall then be verified and the 
attorney notified of the disposition of the request. Thereafter, 
for a period not to exceed one year from the date of 
approval, as long as the paralegal, legal assistant, law clerk 
or investigator continues in the employ or under the 
supervision of the same attorney, visits may be approved. 

3. Scheduling. Visits by attorneys and their authorized 
representatives shall be scheduled through the institution at 
least 24 hours in advance. 

4. Time of Visits. Visits by attorneys and their 
authorized representatives must normally take place Monday 
through Friday, excluding holidays, between the hours of 
8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. 

5. Exceptions 
a. The warden may approve special visits not in 

conformity with Paragraphs E.1, 2, 3 and 4 when unusual 
circumstances warrant. 

b. Any improper acts or unethical behavior with an 
offender during a visit may result in an attorney or their 
authorized representatives being denied future requests to 
visit an offender. 

F. Limitations of Visits 
1. Number of Offenders. Generally, no more than ten 

offenders may be seen at any one time, and no more than 
twenty on any one day. Further limitations may be imposed 
by the warden if valid reasons exist. 

2. Number of Attorneys. Generally, no more than two 
persons (attorneys, paralegals, legal assistants, law clerks or 
investigators or any combination thereof) may see an 
offender on any one day; however, the number visiting at 
one time may be limited based on available space and 
security constraints. Exceptions may be approved for good 
cause by the warden. 

G. Exception. Nothing contained in this regulation shall 
apply to attorneys representing the state, the department or 
the institution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
49:950. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 26:1313 
(June 2000), amended LR 31:1098 (May 2005), LR 36:2572 
(November 2010). 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

1011#117 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Motor Carrier Safety―Hazardous Materials 
(LAC 33:V.10305) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
R.S. 32:1501 et seq., hereby amends its Rules regulating 
motor carrier safety and hazardous materials by excluding 
from Federal Motor Carrier Safety regulation those carriers, 
drivers, or vehicles with a single or combined gross vehicle 
weight rating of less than 26,001 pounds, and which carrier, 
driver, or vehicle is engaged in intrastate commerce. This 
adoption will bring the state of Louisiana in line with the 
majority of other states in relation to regulatory enforcement 
of adopted federal regulations. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part V.  Hazardous Wastes and Hazardous Materials 
Subpart 2.  Department of Public Safety and 

Corrections―Hazardous Materials 
Chapter 103. Motor Carrier Safety and Hazardous 

Materials 
§10305. Applicability of Regulations 

A. For the purpose of this Chapter, the federal 
regulations, as adopted or amended herein, shall govern all 
carriers, drivers, persons or vehicles: 

1. to which the federal regulations apply; 
2. engaged in the transportation of hazardous 

materials within this state. 
B. For the purpose of this Chapter, the federal motor 

carrier safety regulations, as adopted or amended herein, 
shall also govern all carriers, drivers, persons or vehicles not 
subject to the federal regulations if the operated vehicle has 
a single or combined gross vehicle weight rating greater than 
26,000 pounds and is used in commerce or industry. 

C. The adopted federal regulations applicable to all 
carriers, drivers, persons or vehicles set forth in Subsections 
A and B of this Section shall be amended as follows. 

1. For the adopted regulations governing all carriers, 
drivers or vehicles as specified in Subsection B, substitute 
"26,000 pounds" for all references made to "10,000 pounds." 

2. - 5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1501 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 14:31 
(January 1988), amended LR 14:298 (May 1988), LR 17:1115 
(November 1991), repromulgated LR 18:78 (January 1992), 
amended LR 18:746 (July 1992), LR 20:58 (January 1994), LR 
36:2573 (November 2010). 

 
Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1011#026 
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RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

State Uniform Construction Code 
(LAC 55:VI.301) 

In accordance with the provisions of Act 12 of the 2005 
First Extraordinary Session, R.S. 40:1730.22 (C) and (D), 
R.S. 40:1730.28 and R.S. 40:1730.34 (B) relative to the 
authority of the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 
Council to promulgate and enforce rules, the Louisiana State 
Uniform Construction Council hereby amends Chapter 3, 
Section 301, which amendments will update the various 
construction codes by adopting the 2009 editions, with 
certain noted deletions and amendments. These updated 
codes are effective 2011. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code 
Chapter 3. Adoption of the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code 
§301. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

A. In accordance with the requirements set forth in R.S. 
40:1730.28, effective January 1, 2011 (excepting the 
National Electric Code which is presently in effect), the 
following is hereby adopted as the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code. (The “Louisiana State Plumbing Code” 
shall replace all references to the “International Plumbing 
Code” in the following codes) 

1.a. International Building Code(IBC), 2009 Edition, 
not including Chapter 1, Administration, Chapter 11, 
Accessibility, Chapter 27, Electrical and Chapter 29, 
Plumbing Systems. The applicable standards referenced in 
that code are included for regulation of construction within 
this state. Furthermore, IBC shall be amended as follows and 
shall only apply to the International Building Code. 
 i. Delete Chapter 4, Section 403.5.5: Luminous 
Egress Path Markings. 
 ii. Substitute Chapter 5, Table 503 Allowable 
Building Height Modifications of the 2006 IBC, in lieu of 
Table 503 of the 2009 IBC.  
 iii. Amend Chapter 10, Section 1018.5 Air 
Movement in corridors. Corridors that require protection 
under Table 1018.1—Corridor Fire-Resistance Rating, shall 
not serve as supply, return, exhaust, relief or ventilation air 
ducts. 
 iv. Amend Chapter 23, Section 2308.2, Exceptions 
4. Wind speeds shall not exceed 110 miles per hour (mph) 
(48.4m/s) (3-second gust) for buildings in Exposure 
Category B. 

2. International Existing Building Code(IEBC), 2009 
Edition, not including Chapter 1, Administration, and the 
standards referenced in that code for regulation of 
construction within this state. 

3.a. International Residential Code, 2009 Edition, not 
including Parts I-Administrative, V-Mechanical, VII-
Plumbing and VIII-Electrical. The applicable standards 
referenced in that code are included for regulation of 
construction within this state. The enforcement of such 
standards shall be mandatory only with respect to new 

construction, reconstruction, additions to homes previously 
built to the International Residential Code, and extensive 
alterations. Appendix J, Existing Buildings and Structures, 
may be adopted and enforced only at the option of a parish, 
municipality, or regional planning commission. For purposes 
of this part, section R301.2.1.1 of the 2003 edition of the 
International Residential Code is hereby specifically adopted 
in lieu of the 2009 edition. Part IV-Energy Conservation of 
the latest edition of the International Residential Code is 
hereby amended to require that supply and return ducts be 
insulated to a minimum of R-6. Furthermore, IRC 
R301.2.1.1 (Design Criteria) shall be amended as follows 
and shall only apply to the International Residential Code:  
 i. amendment of R301.2.1.1 (Design Criteria); 
 ii. item 5, Concrete construction shall be designed 
in accordance with the provisions of the 2009 IRC.  
 iii. item 6, the American Concrete Institute, Guide 
to Concrete Masonry Residential Construction in High 
Winds Areas, shall be added; 
 iv. item 7, Institute for Business and Home Safety, 
Optional Code-plus Fortified for Safer Living, shall be 
added; 
 v. item 8, Federal Alliance for Safe Homes, 
Optional Code-plus Blueprint for Safety, shall be added. 
 vi. item 9, International Code Council ICC 
Standards for Residential Construction in High Wind 
 Regions.(ICC-600), shall be added. 
 vii. item 10, Structural Insulated Panel (SIP) wall 
shall be designed in accordance with the provisions of the 
2009 IRC. 

b. Additionally, Section 302, R302.1 Exterior Walls 
shall be amended to add the following exception. 
 i. On lots that are 50 feet or less in width and that 
contain a one or two family dwelling or townhouse that was 
in existence prior to October 1, 2005, the following are 
permitted for rebuilding: 

(a). a projection 2 feet from the property line 
with a 1 hour minimum fire-resistance rating on the 
underside; 

(b). a wall 3 feet or more from the property with 
a 0 hour minimum fire-resistance rating. 

c. Additionally, IRC shall be amended as follows 
and shall only apply to the International Residential Code. 
 i. Substitute Chapter 3, Section R317 Dwelling 
Unit Separation of the 2006 IRC, in lieu of the Section 313 
Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems of the 2009 IRC.  
 ii. Amend Chapter 3, Section R315.2 Where 
Required in Existing Dwellings: When Alterations, repairs or 
additions occur or where one or more sleeping rooms are 
added or created in existing dwelling that have garages or in 
existing dwellings within which fuel fired appliances exist, 
carbon monoxide alarms shall be provided in accordance 
with Section R315.1. 
 iii. Substitute Chapter 11,Energy Efficiency of the 
2006 IRC, in lieu of Chapter 11 Energy Efficiency of the 
2009 IRC. 

4.a. International Mechanical Code(IMC), 2009 
Edition, and the standards referenced in that code for 
regulation of construction within this state. Also included for 
regulation, the Louisiana One- and Two- Family Supplement 
to the 2006 International Mechanical Code. Furthermore, the 
International Mechanical Code, 2006 Edition, Chapter 1, 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2575 

Section 101.2 Scope is amended as follows: Exception: 
Detached one- and two- family dwellings and multiple 
single-family dwellings (townhouses) not more than three 
stories high with separate means of egress and their 
accessory structures shall comply with the Louisiana One- 
and Two- Family Supplement to the 2006 International 
Mechanical Code. Furthermore, IMC shall be amended to 
include the following: 
 i. Amend Chapter 1, Section 103.2. The code 
official shall be appointed by the chief appointing authority 
of the jurisdiction; and the code official shall not be removed 
from office except for cause and after full opportunity to be 
heard on specific and relevant charges by and before the 
appointing authority.  
 ii. Amend Chapter 6, Section 606.4.1 
Supervision. The duct smoke detectors shall be connected to 
a fire alarm system where a fire alarm system is required by 
Section 907.2 of the International Fire Code or locally 
adopted fire code. The actuation of a duct smoke detector 
shall activate a visible and audible supervisory signal at a 
constantly attended location.  

5. The Louisiana State Plumbing Code [Part XIV 
(Plumbing) of the State Sanitary Code] as amended by the 
state health officer acting through the Office of Public 
Health of the Department of Health and Hospitals. Nothing 
in this Part shall be construed so as to prevent the state 
health officer from enforcing Part XIV (Plumbing) of the 
State Sanitary Code, the enforcement of which is his 
statutory and regulatory responsibility. 

6. International Fuel Gas Code (IFCG), 2009 Edition, 
and the standards referenced in that code for regulation of 
construction within this state. 

7. National Electric Code (NEC), 2008 Edition. This 
Code is to become effective on January 1, 2010. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34: 883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 36:2574 (November 2010). 

 
Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1011#037 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Towing, Recovery and Storage (LAC 55:I.Chapter 19) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Office 
of State Police, in accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
R.S. 32:1711 et seq., hereby promulgates multiple and varied 
amendments to the regulatory requirements regarding the 
towing and storage industry. The Sections to be amended are 
listed above. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 19. Towing, Recovery, and Storage 
Subchapter A. Authority, Exemptions, Definitions, Scope 
§1903. Exemptions 

A. These rules shall not apply to: 
1. - 5.d. … 
e. ensure tow trucks are permanently and 

prominently marked on both side in lettering at least 2 1/2 
inches in height and 1/4 inch in width with the company's 
legal name, city and "NOT FOR HIRE." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1714. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:853 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2575 (November 2010). 
§1905. Definitions 

A. The definitions found in the Louisiana Highway 
Regulatory Act, specifically R.S. 32:1 and the Towing and 
Storage Act, specifically, R.S. 32:1711 et seq., are applicable 
to these rules and shall have the same meaning indicated 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  

Authorized Agent―a suitable company authorized by 
the department in accordance with this Chapter to process 
and exchange the Official Report of Stored Vehicle 
information. 

Automobile Liability Coverage―insurance which 
covers damage to property and/or personal injury to third 
parties. 

Deputy Secretary―the deputy secretary of the 
Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety 
Services. 

Garage Keepers Legal Liability Insurance―insurance 
which provides coverage to owners of storage facilities, 
garages, parking lots, body and repair shops, etc., for 
liability as bailees with respect to damage or loss to vehicles 
and contents left in their custody for safe keeping or repair. 

Garage Liability Insurance―liability insurance 
covering storage facilities, automobile dealers, garages, 
repair shops, and service stations against claims of bodily 
injury and property damage that may arise through operation 
of such businesses. 

Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR)―the value 
specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a 
combination (articulated) motor vehicle. In the absence of a 
value specified by the manufacturer, GCWR will be 
determined by adding the GVWR of the power unit and the 
total weight of the towed unit and any load thereon. 

Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)―the value 
specified by the manufacturer as the loaded weight of a 
single motor vehicle. 

Law Enforcement Hold―a hold placed on a specific 
vehicle by a law enforcement agency due that vehicle’s 
evidentiary value in an active investigation.  

License Holder―shall include, but not be limited to, a 
tow truck operator, towing service, storage facility or other 
entity requiring licensure pursuant to this Chapter. 
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Nonconsensual Tow―the towing of a motor vehicle 
without the prior consent or authorization of the motor 
vehicle owner or operator. 

Offending Vehicle―the tow truck for which a violation 
of law, rule or regulation has been cited by the department 
and a administrative penalty has been assessed. 

Offense―shall be synonymous with violation and mean 
any infraction of law, rule or regulation promulgated in 
accordance with this Chapter. 

On-Hook/In Tow Coverage―insurance specifically 
covering tow truck operators when engaged in the recovery, 
towing or transporting of a vehicle. 

Owner―the last registered owner of a vehicle as shown 
on the records of the Office of Motor Vehicles and/or the 
holder of any lien on a vehicle as shown on the records of 
the Office of Motor Vehicles and/or any other person who 
has a documented ownership interest in a vehicle. 

Place of Business―a permanent structure located within 
Louisiana used for business, staffed during regular business 
hours, equipped with phone and utility services, and houses 
records and other appropriate or required documents. 

Responsible Party―the principal person or business 
that is civilly liable or criminally culpable for the occurrence 
or commission of a violation of law, rule or regulation. 

Storage Area―an approved building, structure, yard, or 
enclosure used for the purposes of storing vehicles in 
Louisiana. 

Storage Facility―any business or company that 
receives direct or indirect compensation for storing vehicles 
in Louisiana. 

Tow Truck―a motor vehicle equipped with a boom or 
booms, winches, slings, tilt beds, wheel lifts, under-reach 
equipment, and/or similar equipment including, but not 
limited to, trucks attached to trailers, tow dollies, and car 
carriers designed for the transportation and/or recovery of 
vehicles and other objects which cannot operate under their 
own power or for some reason must be transported by means 
of towing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1714. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:854 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2575 (November 2010). 
§1907. Administrative Penalty Assessment; Arbitration; 

Recovery of Penalties 
A. Administrative Penalty Assessment 

1. A tow truck owner or operator, an employee or the 
agent of a tow truck owner or operator, a storage facility 
owner or operator, an employee or the agent of a storage 
facility owner or operator, determined by the department to 
have committed a violation of R.S. 32:1711 et seq., or 
adopted and promulgated regulations as provided in this 
Chapter, is subject to legal sanctions being imposed against 
them. Legal sanctions shall include, but are not limited to, 
administrative civil penalties, warnings, and suspension 
and/or revocation of the operator's license, storage 
inspection license, tow truck license plate.  

2. The department shall issue a citation or inspection 
report for violations of law, rule or regulation which shall 
specify the offense committed. The citation or inspection 
report shall provide for the payment of an administrative 
penalty to the department in an amount prescribed by the 

department or if a suspension or revocation is being 
imposed, specify the duration of said suspension or 
revocation. The penalty shall be paid or imposed within 45 
days of issuance and mailing, by first class mail, of the 
initial notice of violation, unless within that period the 
person to whom the citation is issued files a written request 
for an administrative hearing within the 45 days. 

3. … 
4. Schedule of Fines 
 

Schedule of Fines 
Scope and Relationship to Other Laws  

(LAC 55:I.1903 and 1905) 
$100-
$500 

055.1911C5 Vehicle Staging Or Transfer During Private 
Property/Non-Consensual Tow 

$250 055.1939B3 Abuse Of Storage And Permit To Sell 
Process In Order To Obtain Title 

$100-
$500 

055.1911B2A Improper Towing Fees For Non-Consensual 
Tow 

$100-
1000 

055.1909 Failure To Comply With Other 
Laws/Regulations 

$75 055.1909-ISB  Inoperative/No Seatbelt Assembly 
$25 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1909-SB Failure For Tow Truck Operator To Wear 
Seatbelt 

$100 055.1909-UD  Unsecured Dunnage/Tow Equipment 
$200-
1000 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1930-DR  Improper Noncensensual Tow  

$200-
1000 
Company 
Fine 

055.1930-TC  Improper Noncensensual Tow  

 $200 055.1930-NC  Failure To Possess Contract For 
Nonconsensual Tow  

Tow Truck License Plates 
$100 055.1913B2A-IC EXPIRED LA VEHICLE 

INSPECTION CERTIFICATE 
$150 055.1913B2A-SC Switched LA Vehicle Inspection 

Certificate 
$200 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A1-NL Unqualified Driver - No Driver’s 
License 

$100 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A1-EL Unqualified Driver - Expired Driver’s 
License 

$200-500 055.1911B2D Filing A False Or Fictitious Statement 
$100-
1000 

055.1911B2E Employing Prohibited Persons 

$500 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1911B2F-AB Operator Under Influence - Alcoholic 
Beverage 

$500 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1911B2F-CS Operator Under Influence – Narcotics 

$500 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1911B2F-II  Failure For Tow Truck Operator To 
Submit To Chemical Test 

$200-
1000 

055.1911C1 Unauthorized Soliciting Of Tow Business 

$200-
1000 

055.1911C2-DV Unauthorized Moving Of A 
Damaged/Disabled Veh 

$500 055.1911C3 Illegal Possession Of Police Monitoring 
Device(S) 

$100 055.1913A3A Failure To Use Approved Trade Name 
$100 055.1913A3C Failure To Display Trade Name/Phone 

#/Address Tow Truck 
$100 055.1913A3D Failure To Use Unique Trade Name On 

Business Documents 
$250-
1000 

055.1913B1-FI Submitting False Information On 
Towing Application 
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Schedule of Fines 
Scope and Relationship to Other Laws  

(LAC 55:I.1903 and 1905) 
$250-
1000 

055.1913B2-RV Failure To Register Vehicle As La Tow 
Truck 

$125-
1000 

055.1913B2A-NL No Towing License Displayed 

$250-
1000 

055.1913B2E-SP Switched Towing License Plate 

$250-
1000 

055.1913B2C-NT Prohibited Use/Non Transferable 
Towing Plate 

$100-
1000 

055.1913B2D Failure To Surrender Tow Plate 

$200-
1000 

055.1913B2B-AC Failure To Notify Dept. Of Address 
Change 

$100 055.1913B2-NC No La Vehicle Inspection Certificate 
$50 055.1913B2-NR No Vehicle Registration With Tow 

Truck 
$125-
1000 

055.1913B3-UW Licensing Unauthorized Tow Truck / 
GVWR (#) LBS 

$250-
1000 

055.1913B4-EL Expired Towing License Plate 

$100-300 055.1915C-NP No Proof Of All Req Insurances 
W/Tow Truck 

Commercial Driver License, Skill, and Knowledge Required  
(LAC 55:I.1917) 

$50 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A1 No Driver’s License In Possession 

$200 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A1-DD Disqualified Driver – License 
Suspended/Revoked 

$100 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A1-OS Unqualified Driver – Out Of State 
License 

200-1000 055.1917A-UD Allowing Unqualified Driver To 
Operate Veh (Carrier) 

$100 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A2-HM Failure To Have Hazmat 
Endorsement On CDL 

$300 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A2-RL Failure To Obtain Required Cdl For 
Veh Driven 

$100 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A2-CL Unqualified Driver – Improper Class 
License 

$100 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A3-RK Failure To Possess Required 
Knowledge/Ability 

$150 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A3-UO Unsafe Operation Of Tow Truck By 
Driver 

$100 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A4-UA Unqualified Driver – Under 18 Yrs 
Of Age 

$25 
Driver 
Fine 

055.1917A5 Failure Of Driver To Wear Required 
Clothing  

General Tow Truck Lighting and Equipment (LAC 55:I.1919) 
Lights 

$25 (each) 055.1919A-SL {#} Inoperative Stop Lamp(S) 
$25 (each) 055.1919A-FT {#} Inoperative Front Turn Signal 

Lamp(s) 
$25 (each) 055.1919A-RT {#} Inoperative Rear Turn Signal 

Lamp(s) 
WL 055.1919A-RI {#} Inoperative Rear Id Lamp(S) 
WL 055.1919A-FI {#} Inoperative Front Id Lamp(S) 
WL 055.1919A-CL {#} Inoperative Clearance Lamp(s) 
WL 055.1919A-SM {#} Inoperative Side Marker Lamp(s) 
$25 (each) 055.1919A-HL {#} Inoperative Headlamp(s) 
$25 (each) 055.1919A-TL {#} Inoperative Tail Lamp(s) 
WL 055.1919A-BL {#} Inoperative Back Up Lamps(s) 
$75 055.1919A-IW {#} Inoperative Emergency Warning 

Lamp(s) 

Schedule of Fines 
Scope and Relationship to Other Laws  

(LAC 55:I.1903 and 1905) 
WL 055.1919A-CC {#} Clearance Lamp(s) of Improper 

Color 
WL 055.1919A-MC {#} Side Marker Lamp(s) of Improper 

Color 
WL 055.1919A-IC {#} ID Lamp(s) of Improper Color 
WL 055.1919A-BC {#} Back Up Lamp(s) of Improper 

Color 
WL 055.1919A-OL {#} Obscured ________ Lamp(s) 
$100 055.1919A-AL Failure To Use Auxiliary Tow Lights 

When Required 

$100 055.1919C-NB No/Insufficient Amber Warning Lights 
$50-100 055.1919C-IWL  Inadequate Illumination Of Amber 

Warning Lights 
$50 055.1919D Failure To Activate Rotating/Flashing 

Beacon Lights 
Vehicle Components/Accessories 

$50 (each) 055.1919B-WT {#} Tire Violation(S) 
$25 (each) 055.1919B-FL EXCESSIVE FLUID LEAK 
$75 (each) 055.1919B-DW{#} Defective/Cracked Wheel(S) 
$75 (each) 055.1919B-MB {#} Missing/Inop/Defective Brake 

Componets(S) 
$75 (each) 055.1919B-OA {#} Brake(S) Out Of Adjustment 
$75 (each) 055.1919B-DB {#} Defective Brake(S) 
WL-$25 055.1919B-CW Cracked Windshield(S) 
WL- $25 055.1919B-IWW {#} Inoperative Windshield Wipers 
$25 055.1919B-MW {#} Missing Windshield Wiper(S) 
$75 055.1919B-TW Improper Tinting Of Window / 

Windshield(s) 
$25 055.1919B-IH Inoperative Horn 
$25-100 055.1919B-IE Improper Exhaust System 
$25 (each) 055.1919B-RV {#}Missing/Broken Rear View Mirror(s) 
$25 055.1919B-FC Missing/Defective Fuel Cap 
$25 (each) 055.1919B-SG {#} Missing/Defective Splash Guard(s) 

(Mud Flaps) 
Tow Truck Components and Required Equipment must be in Good 

Operating Condition (LAC 55:I.1921) 
$25 055.1921A1-IM  Inadequate Amount Of Oil Absorbing 

Material 
$25 055.1921A1-MC Oil Absorbing Material Exposed To 

The Elements 
$25 055.1921A1-NM No Oil Absorbing Material 
$25 055.1921A2-NB No/Inadequate Broom 
$25 055.1921A3-AS No/Inadequate Shovel 
$25 055.1921A4-IF Inoperative Flashlight 
$25 055.1921A4-NF Insufficient/No Flashlight 
$25 055.1921A5-DE Discharged Fire Extinguisher 
$25 055.1921A5-IE Improper Type Of Fire Extinguisher - 

10BC 
$50 055.1921A5-NE  No Fire Extinguisher 
$25 055.1921A5-UF  Unsecured Fire Extinguisher 
$25 055.1921A6-ME Defective Emergency Warning Devices 
$50 055.1921A6-NE  No Emergency Warning Devices 
$25 055.1921A7-IC Inadequate Steering Wheel Clamp 
$25 055.1921A7-NC  No Steering Wheel Clamp 
$25 055.1921A8-DS  Defective Tow Sling 
$100 055.1921A8-ES  Excessive Slack In Tow Plate 
$25 055.1921A8-IP Improperly/Unsecured Mounted Tow 

Plate 
$25-100 055.1921A8-MS Missing Tow Sling 
$25 055.1921A8-TS Improperly/Unsecured Mounted Tow 

Sling 
$25 055.1921A8-TT Inadequate Tow Sling/Plate/Bar 
$25 055.1921A8-UP  Unsecured Tow Plates/Sling/Bar 
$100 055.1921A9-BC  Improperly Secured Boom Cable 
$25-100 055.1921A9-BL  No/Inadequate Bed Locks (Slide Back 

Vehicles) 
$25 055.1921A9-CS  Cracked/Broken Sheaves 
$25 (each) 055.1921A9-CT  {#}Cracked/Broken/Excessively Worn 

Thimble(S) 
$100 055.1921A9-DC  Excessively Worn/Defective Cable  
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Schedule of Fines 
Scope and Relationship to Other Laws  

(LAC 55:I.1903 and 1905) 
$25 (each) 055.1921A9-MT {#} Missing Sheaves/Thimble(S) 
$25-100 055.1921A9-NC  No/Defective Tow Vehicle Component 
$100 055.1921B1-NC  No/Improper Safety Devices (Chains) 
$100 055.1921B2-IS Improper Securement Of Towed 

Vehicle 
Capacities and Specifications of Towing Equipment  

(LAC 55:I.1923) 
$200-
1000 

055.1923A-LW Improper Licensing Of Gvwr Weight 
Of Tow Truck 

$300-
$500 

055.1923-WE  Exceeding Weight Capacity Of Towing 
Equipment 

$300-
$500 

055.1923-WT  Exceeding Weight Capacity Of Tow 
Truck 

$100-
1000 

055.1923 No / Improperly Certified Tow Assembly 

$100-
1000 

055.1923D-VN Missing Original Vin/Gvwr Label 

Tow Truck Equipment Specifications (LAC 55:I.1925) 
Inspection By The Department (LAC 55:I.1927) 

$300-
1000 

055.1927B-TK Failure To Allow Inspection Of Tow 
Truck(S) 

$1000-
2750 

055.1927B6 Operating Tow Truck Declared Out Of 
Service 

$2750 055.1927B6B Allowing The Operation Of Tow Truck 
Declared Out Of Service 

Towing Services To Use Due Care (LAC 55:I.1929) 
$200-
1000 

055.1929A Failure To Exercise Due Care/Removal 
Operation 

$300-
1000 

055.1929B Failure To Obey Law Enforcement Officer 

Insurance Requirements (LAC 55:I.1931) 
$500 055.1931B6-NI No Required/Storage Insurances  
$100-
1000 

055.1931B6 Improper Amount Of Required 
Towing/Storage Insurance 

$300-
1000 

055.1915C-NP No Proof Of Req Towing/Storage 
Insurance  

Towing/Storage Facility Business Practices (LAC 55:I.1941) 
$100 055.1943B Violation Of Storage Facility Business 

Hours 
$200-
1000 

055.1941A-LF Failure To Store Vehicle In Licensed 
Storage Facility 

$100 055.1941D-AB  No Visible After Business Hours Phone 
# Posted 

$200-
1000 

055.1941E-RI Failure To Allow Removal Of Personal 
Items 

$100-
1000 

055.1941K Improper Third Party Tows / Storage 

$100-
1000 

055.1941L Improper Handling Of Towed/Stored 
Vehicles (Damaged) 

$200-
1000 

055.1941P No Towing Billing Invoices 

$100 055.1941P2B  Billing Invoices Not Consecutively 
Numbered 

$100-
1000 

055.1941P-AI Improper/Incomplete Billing Invoices 
(All Invoices) 

$100-
1000 

055.1941P-TI Improper/Incomplete Billing Invoices 
(Tow Invoices) 

$100-
1000 

055.1941P-IC Failure To Denote Itemized Charges As 
They Occurr. 

$200 055.1941P3-TI Failure To Maintain Tow Invoice With 
Vehicle Towed 

$100-
1000 

055.1941Q-RC Violation Of Business Records 
Keeping Location 

$100-
1000 

055.1943B-SH Failure To Staff Towing Headquarters 
Facility 

$200-
1000 

055.1931D1 Business Records Unavailable For 
Inspection 

Storage Procedures (LAC 55:I.1941) 
$100-
1000 

055.1941B Failure To Properly Release Vehicle 

Schedule of Fines 
Scope and Relationship to Other Laws  

(LAC 55:I.1903 and 1905) 
$100-
1000 

055.1941C-CV Inadequate Safeguards For Vehicle 
And Contents 

$100-
1000 

055.1941L Improper Handling Of Towed/Stored 
Vehicles (Damaged) 

$100-
1000 

055.1941M Illegal Disposition Of Personal Property 

$200-
1000 

055.1941E-RI Failure To Allow Removal Of Personal 
Items 

$100-
1000 

055.1941E-IV Failure To Allow Inspection/Viewing Of 
Vehicle 

$100-
1000 

055.1941E-CV Illegal Charging Of 
Inspection/Viewing Fees 

Storage Facility (LAC 55:I.1941) 
$100-
1000 

055.1941C-IS  Improperly Secured Storage Facility Area 
(Fence Missing, Etc) 

$100-
1000 

055.1941F Improper/Inadequate Storage Lot  

$100-300 055.1941D Failure To Post Sign W/ Required 
Information 

$300-
1000 

055.1927B1  Failure To Make Facility Available For 
Inspection 

$200-
1000 

055.1941G  Failure To Notify Law Enforcement 
Authorities 

$100-
1000 

055.1941H Prohibited Sharing Of Storage Facility 

$300-
1000 

055.1941I-MR Failure To Maintain Required Storage 
Records For Req Period 

$300-
1000 

055.1931D-PR Failure To Provide Storage Records 
For Review 

Storage Fees (LAC 55:I.1945) 
$100-
1000 

055.1943C Excessive/Improper Storage Fees 

$100-
1000 

055.1945B Excessive/Improper Gate Fees 

Notification To Dept. Public Safety & Corrections  
(LAC 55:I.1935) 

$100-
1000 

055.1933A1  FAILURE TO NOTIFY DEPARTMENT 
(3 DAYS, ORSV) 

$100-
1000 

055.1933A1-IF  Incomplete/Improper Filing Of ORSV 

$200-
1000 

055.1935-LM  Failure To Notify Owner/Lien/Mortgage 
Holder 

$200-
1000 

055.1935-RI Failure To Provide Required Information 

$200-
1000 

055.1935-CL Failure To Mail Notice By Cert Of Mailing  

$200-
1000 

055.1937 Excessive Administrative Fees 

$100-
1000 

055.1939 Violation Of Permit To Sell Requirements 

Licensing; Storage Facilities (LAC 55:I.1931) 
$200-
1000 

055.1931 Failure To License Storage Facility 

$200-
1000 

055.1931A4 Expired Storage Inspection License 

$200-
1000 

055.1931D2 Failure To Display Storage Inspection 
License 

$300-
1000 

055.1931A3 Failure To Notify Lsp Of Chg In 
Name/Ownership/Address 

Law Enforcement Rotation Lists (LAC 55:I.1947) 
$100-200 055.1947A4 Failure To Respond Within 45 Minutes 
$25-1000 055.1947A2 Failure To Comply W/LSP Policies and 

Procedures 

 
B. Administrative Hearings 

1. -  3. … 
4. In such cases, on or after the forty-sixth day the 

department shall inform the responsible party by first class 
mail of the conviction and that he has 30 days from the date 
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of this notice to pay the penalty or the Office of Motor 
Vehicles shall suspend his driver's license and/or vehicle 
registration. Suspending the vehicle registration shall mean 
any registration transaction, including renewal, may be 
denied. 

5. … 
C. - D.1.a. … 

i. a tow truck license plate removed or denied 
renewal pursuant to this Part may only be reinstated upon 
receipt of payment of fines and fees owed the department; 

1.b. - 2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:854 (May 2006), amended LR 35:2201 (October 2009), LR 
36:2576 (November 2010). 
§1911. Code of Conduct 

A. - B.2.f.ii. … 
 iii. every owner or operator shall ensure there is no 
presence of an alcoholic beverage, narcotic, or controlled 
dangerous substance within the tow truck. 

C. – C.4.a. … 
5. Vehicle Staging or Transfer 

a. The operator of a tow truck, towing service, 
employee or agent shall not tow any vehicle to any location 
other than that company’s licensed storage facility without 
prior authorization of that vehicle’s owner.  

b. Vehicles shall not be towed from their original 
location to a secondary location for the purpose of transfer to 
another tow truck unless the primary tow truck has become 
disabled and cannot complete the tow. In this case the 
primary tow truck an it’s driver must wait with the towed 
vehicle until a second tow truck arrives to complete the tow. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1714. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:855 (May 2006), LR 36:2579 (November 2010). 
Subchapter B. Tow Truck License Plate; Required 

Insurance 
§1913. Tow Truck License Plate 

A. - B.3.a.i. … 
 ii. a tow truck has a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or 
less and it shall not be used for towing vehicles for 
compensation; unless the year of manufacture is prior to 
2007, in which case, a GVWR of 10,000 pounds shall not be 
cause for denial; or 

B.3.a.iii. - C.1.c. … 
d. Is found to have been convicted of a felony 

relating to auto theft, vehicle insurance fraud, burglary of a 
vehicle and/or possession a stolen vehicle(s) or stolen 
vehicle parts or employs someone convicted of one of the 
above stated offenses. 

D. - D.1.c. … 
d. obtaining a tow truck license plate under false 

pretenses; or is found to have been convicted of felony 
relating to auto theft, vehicle insurance fraud, burglary of a 
vehicle and/or possession of vehicle(s) or stolen vehicle 
parts or employees someone convicted of one of the above 
stated offenses; 

e. - h. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:856 (May 2006), amended LR 36:1270 (June 2010), LR 
36:2579 (November 2010). 
§1930. Vehicles Towed from Private Property 

A. Tow truck company owners, operators, and 
employees shall comply with the provisions of R.S. 32:1736 
when towing vehicles from private property. 

B. Towing and storage companies that conduct 
nonconsensual tows shall possess authority through the 
Louisiana Public Service Commission and a valid storage 
inspection license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:1714. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
36:2579 (November 2010). 
Subchapter D. Vehicle Storage 
§1931. Storage Facility; Licensing, Fees, Inspection, 

Requirements 
A. Storage Facilities 

1. Storage facilities, subject to the provisions of R.S. 
32:1711 et seq., shall be located within Louisiana and make 
application to the department for a storage inspection license 
for each storage facility location. 

2. A valid storage inspection license must be issued by 
the department before conducting business as a storage 
facility or a new storage facility location being utilized. 

A.3. - B.7. … 
8. Storage facilities must have their place of business 

and storage area located on the same piece of property. The 
property may not be subdivided by any public street, right of 
way, or other piece of property not owned or leased by the 
storage facility. This provision will apply to all new storage 
facility applicants effective July 1, 2010 and will not affect 
licensed facilities seeking a renewal. 

C. - C.1.  … 
a. remit the sum of $100 per storage license, 

payable to the Louisiana State Police, Towing and Recovery 
Unit; 

b. … 
D. Inspection of a Storage Facility 

1. Storage facilities shall make business records 
available for inspection by department officers during 
normal business hours, unless exigent circumstances exist 
which may require access to records after hours and shall 
provide copies upon request. Business records shall include 
any records created or obtained while acting as a towing 
and/or storage facility. 

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:861 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2579 (November 2010). 
§1933. Requirements for Official Report of Stored 

Vehicle (ORSV); Filing; Submittal; Option of 
the Department to Send and Receive ORSV 
Information 

A. - A.1. … 
a. File an Official Report of Stored Vehicle (ORSV) 

within three business days of receiving the vehicle in writing 
addressed to the Department of Public Safety and 
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Corrections, Office of Motor Vehicles, Specialized Vehicle 
Unit, P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA 70896, or the 
department's authorized agent. If the vehicle is released to 
the vehicle owner within three business days of towing or 
receiving the vehicle, a storage/towing company shall not be 
required to submit the ORSV notification and if the ORSV 
notification is not made prior to the release of the vehicle, 
there shall be no charge for related administrative fees. 

A.1.b. - B.1.b.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:861 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2579 (November 2010). 
§1937. Administrative Fees 

A. Administrative fees for storage of vehicles shall not 
be charged or otherwise collected without possession of a 
valid storage inspection license, and the timely filing of an 
ORSV prior to the release of the vehicle or other notification 
requirements in the Towing and Storage Act. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:861 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2580 (November 2010). 
§1939. Permits to Sell and Permits to Dismantle 

A. - B.2. … 
3. Licensed storage facilities shall not place a vehicle 

into storage for the purposes of circumventing acceptable 
titling practices and the payment of statutorily required taxes 
and fees. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:862 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2580 (November 2010). 
§1941. Storage and Towing Facilities; General 

Requirements; Procedures 
A. A facility may only store and charge storage on 

vehicles that are in the facility's actual possession, located 
within the licensed storage area and meets the requirements 
of this Chapter. 

B. Vehicles shall be released immediately to the vehicle 
owner or lien holder, or authorized agent once payment is 
made, any applicable lien holder requirements (R.S. 
32:1720.1) are met, and any applicable documented law 
enforcement or department hold orders are released. 

C. Storage and towing facilities shall provide for the 
security and safety of vehicles stored in accordance with this 
Chapter. Storage areas shall have security barriers or safety 
apparatus suitable to insure the security of the property 
contained therein. Outside storage areas shall be enclosed by 
at least a 6 foot high chain link fence, or fence of similar 
strength or solid wall sufficient to protect against loss, 
trespass or vandalism. The loss, damage, theft or 
misappropriation of a stored vehicle or its contents shall be 
evidence of a violation of this provision, if the loss, damage, 
theft or misappropriation was supported by sufficient 
evidence. 

D. - F. … 

G. Whenever any vehicle has been towed to a storage 
facility, other than by owner's request, the owner or operator 
of the storage facility shall comply with the law enforcement 
notification requirements found in R.S. 32:1718. 

H. - M. … 
N. The address that the towing or storage service lists on 

its applications shall be the business location where its 
business records are kept.  

O. - Q.9. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:862 (May 2006), amended LR 36:2580 (November 2010). 
Subchapter E. Rotation List  
§1947. Law Enforcement Tow Truck Rotation List 

A. - A.4. … 
5. Towing and storage facilities storing a vehicle that 

has a law enforcement hold, and the law enforcement agency 
requesting the hold, shall comply with R.S. 32:1735.1. Law 
enforcement agencies requesting to extend the hold beyond 
the initial 14 days shall submit the request in writing, on the 
agency’s letterhead, to the storage facility. This request shall 
be kept on file at the facility and must contain the following 
information: 

a. the name and contact information of the officer 
requesting the hold; 

b. the name of the vehicle’s owner, if available; 
c. the license plate number with state of issue and 

vehicle identification number; 
d. the year, make, and model of the vehicle 

B. - G.13. … 
H. - H.2.a.iii … 

 iii. Tow truck minimum qualifications: 
(a). GVW rating of not less than 10,001 pounds 

as rated by the manufacturer. Tow trucks manufactured prior 
to 2007 shall have a GVW rating of not less than 10,000 
pounds; 

(b). minimum of 60 inches from rear of cab to 
center of rear axle; 

(c). adequate service brake system for normal 
and adverse towing conditions; 
 iii.(d). - iv(a). … 

(b). power winch rated not less than 20,000 
pounds, dual winches must have a minimum of 150 feet wire 
rope per winch with a breaking strength of 21,000 pounds 
and 1/2 inch in diameter. 

b.v. - c. … 
 i. The towing company may own and maintain 
for service at least one heavy duty tow truck in addition to at 
least one light or medium duty tow truck. 

H.2.c.ii. - J.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:1714. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of the State Police, LR 
32:863 (May 2006), amended LR 36:546 (March 2010), LR 
36:2580 (November 2010). 

 
Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1011#023 
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RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

General and WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 
(LAC 76:XIX.113) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
turkey rules and regulations for the 2011 season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§113. General and WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 

A. General Regulations. Only gobblers (male turkeys) 
may be taken. Taking of hen (female) turkeys, including 
bearded hens, is prohibited. Still hunting only. Use of dogs, 
electronic calling devices and live decoys is illegal. Turkeys 
may be hunted with shotguns, including muzzleloading 
shotguns, using shot not larger than #2 lead or BB steel shot, 
and approved archery equipment but by no other means. 
Shooting turkeys from a moving or stationary vehicle is 
prohibited. Shotguns capable of holding more than three 
shells prohibited. The running of coyote with dogs is 
prohibited in all turkey hunting areas during the open turkey 
season. No person shall hunt, trap or take turkeys by the aid 
of baiting or on or over any baited area. Baiting means 
placing, exposing, depositing or scattering of corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed so as to constitute a lure, attraction or enticement to, on 
or over any areas where hunters are attempting to take 
turkeys. A baited area is any area where corn (shelled, 
shucked or unshucked), wheat or other grain, salt, or other 
feed capable of luring, attracting or enticing turkeys is 
directly or indirectly placed, exposed, deposited, distributed 
or scattered. Such areas remain baited areas for 15 days 
following complete removal of all such corn, wheat or other 
grain, salt, or other feed. Wildlife agents are authorized to 
close such baited areas and to place signs in the immediate 
vicinity designating closed zones and dates of closures. No 
person hunting turkeys more than 200 yards from a baited 
area will be in violation of the turkey baiting regulation. 

B. Tags 
1. Prior to hunting turkeys, all turkey hunters, 

regardless of age or license status, must obtain turkey tags 
and have them in their possession while turkey hunting. 
Immediately upon killing a turkey, hunters must attach a 
carcass tag to the turkey before it is moved from the site of 
the kill and must document the kill on the turkey harvest 
report card. The date of kill and parish of kill must be 
recorded on the carcass tag. The tag must remain attached to 
the turkey while kept at camp or while it is transported to the 
domicile of the hunter or to a cold storage facility. Hunters 
who keep the carcass or meat at a camp must also comply 
with game possession tag regulations. Within 72 hours of the 
kill, the hunter must report the kill and record the validation 
number on the turkey harvest report card. Hunters may 
report turkeys by calling the validation phone number or 
using the validation web site. 

2. Turkey hunters purchasing licenses by phone or 
internet will be given an authorization number and a LDWF 

identification number that will serve as their license and tags 
until the physical license and tags arrive by mail. Turkey 
hunters who have purchased a license with tags, but have not 
yet received their physical license and tags, must 
immediately tag their kill with a possession tag before 
moving it from the site of the kill. The authorization number 
and LDWF identification number must be recorded on the 
possession tag. Hunters must retain documentation of any 
turkeys killed and upon receiving their physical tags and 
harvest report card, validate their kill as required in these 
regulations. The tags for turkeys killed prior to receiving the 
physical tags must be removed from the turkey harvest 
report card and discarded. 

3. Tags removed from the turkey harvest report card 
prior to killing a turkey are no longer valid and if lost will 
not be replaced. Duplicate tags and turkey harvest report 
cards are available to replace lost report cards and attached 
tags. Hunters will be charged a fee for duplicate turkey 
harvest report cards and tags. Hunters that have killed a 
turkey prior to losing their remaining tag and harvest report 
card must remove and discard the duplicate tag to account 
for the original tag that was used and validated. Hunters 
must record any previously validated turkey on the duplicate 
turkey harvest report card. 

C. Possession of Live Wild Turkeys. No person shall 
take live wild turkeys or their eggs from the wild. No person 
shall possess captive live wild turkeys, (Meleagris gallopavo 
silvestris, M. g. osceola, M. g. intermedia, M. g. merriami, 
M. g. mexicana) or their eggs, regardless of origin, without a 
valid game breeder license. No pen raised turkeys from 
within or without the state shall be liberated (released) 
within the state. 

D. Statewide Youth and Physically Challenged Season 
Regulations. Only youths 17 years of age or younger or 
hunters possessing a Physically Challenged Hunter Permit 
with wheelchair classification may hunt. Youth must possess 
a hunter safety certification or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course. Youths must be 
accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or older. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for youth younger than 16 years of age. Adults 
accompanying youth may not possess a firearm or bow. 
Youths may possess only one firearm or bow while hunting. 
The supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times. Except properly licensed youths 
16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or older who have 
successfully completed a hunter safety course may hunt 
without a supervising adult. Only one gobbler per day may 
be taken and any gobbler taken by the hunter during this 
special season counts towards their season bag limit of two.  

E. Shooting hours: one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

F. Turkey Hunting Area Descriptions 
1. Area A  

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Beauregard; 
 ii. Bienville; 
 iii. Claiborne (Exception: See Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 iv. East Baton Rouge; 
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 v. East Feliciana; 
 vi. Grant (Exception: See Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 vii. Jackson; 
 viii. LaSalle; 
 ix. Lincoln; 
 x. Livingston; 
 xi. Natchitoches (Exception: see Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 xii. Rapides (Exception: see Federal Lands 
Hunting Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 xiii. Sabine; 
 xiv. St. Helena; 
 xv. Tangipahoa; 
 xvi. Union; 
 xvii. Vernon (Exception: see Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 
 xviii. West Baton Rouge; 
 xix. West Feliciana (including Raccourci Island); 
 xx. Winn (Exception: see Federal Lands Hunting 
Schedule for Kisatchie National Forest dates); 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen: north of LA 104, west of LA 26 south of 
junction of LA 104 to US 190, north of US 190 east of 
Kinder, west of US 165 south of Kinder; 
 ii. Avoyelles: that portion bounded on the east by 
the Atchafalaya River, on the north by Red River to the 
Brouillette Community, on the west by LA 452 from 
Brouillette to LA 1, on the south by LA 1, eastward to 
Hamburg, thence by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection 
levee southward; 
 iii. Calcasieu: north of I-10;  
 iv. Caldwell: west of Ouachita River southward to 
Catahoula Parish line; 
 v. Catahoula: south and west of the Ouachita 
River from the Caldwell Parish line southward to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, north and west of LA 8 from Harrisonburg to 
the LaSalle Parish line. also that portion lying east of LA 15; 
 vi. Evangeline: north and west of LA 115, north of 
LA 106 west of LA 115 to US 167, west of US 167 south to 
LA 10, north of LA 10 west of US 167 to LA 13, west of LA 
13 south of LA 10 to Mamou and north of LA 104 west of 
Mamou; 
 vii. Franklin: that portion lying east of LA 17 and 
east of LA 15 from its juncture with LA 17 at Winnsboro; 
 viii. Iberville: west of LA 1. Exception: see 
Sherburne WMA for special season dates on all state, federal 
and private lands within Sherburne boundaries; 
 ix. Jefferson Davis: north of US 190 from junction 
with LA 26 to Kinder, west of US 165 and north of I-10 west 
from junction of US 165; 
 x. Madison: that portion lying east of US 65 from 
East Carroll Parish line to US 80 and south of US 80. Also, 
all lands east of the main channel of the Mississippi River; 
 xi. Morehouse: west of US 165 from the Arkansas 
line to the junction of LA 140 at Bonita, north and west of 
LA 140 to junction of LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west 
of LA 830-4 to US 165 at Bastrop, south of US 165 to 
junction of LA 3051 (Grabault Road) south of LA 3051 to 
junction of LA 138, west of LA 138 to junction of LA 134, 
north of LA 134 to the Ouachita Parish line; 

 xii. Ouachita: all west of the Ouachita River. That 
portion east of the Ouachita River lying north of US 80 to 
LA 139, west of LA 139 to LA 134, north of LA 134 to the 
Morehouse parish line, south of the Morehouse parish line, 
and east of the Ouachita River. 
 xiii. Pointe Coupee: all of the parish except that 
portion bounded on the north by LA Hwy. 1, from Innis to 
the junction of LA Hwy 417, on the west by LA Hwy. 417 
southward toward McCrea, on the south by LA Hwy. 417 
from McCrea to its junction with Delhi Lane, then by Delhi 
Lane to LA Hwy. 418, then LA Hwy. 418 northward to LA 
Hwy. 1 at Innis. (Exception: see Sherburne WMA for special 
season dates on all state, federal and private lands within 
Sherburne boundaries); 
 xiv. Richland: that portion south of US 80 and east 
of LA 17; 
 xv. St. Landry: that portion bounded on the west 
by the West Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee and on the 
east by the Atchafalaya River. Exception: the Indian Bayou 
Area, see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for Indian Bayou 
Area dates; 
 xvi. Upper St. Martin: all within the Atchafalaya 
Basin. Exceptions: Sherburne WMA and Indian Bayou Area, 
see WMA Turkey Hunting Schedule for special season dates 
on all state, federal and private lands within Sherburne 
WMA boundaries and see Federal Lands Hunting Schedule 
for Indian Bayou dates; 
 xvii. Tensas: that portion west of US 65 from the 
Concordia Parish line to its juncture with LA 128, north of 
LA 128 to St. Joseph; west and north of LA 605, 604 and 
3078 northward to Port Gibson Ferry. Also all lands east of 
the main channel of the Mississippi River. 

2. Area B 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Caddo; 
 ii. DeSoto; 
 iii. Red River; 
 iv. St. Tammany; 
 v. Washington. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Ascension: all east of the Mississippi River; 
 ii. Bossier: all open except that portion bounded 
on the north by I-20, on the west by LA 164, on the south by 
LA 164, and on the east by the Webster Parish Line; 
 iii. East Carroll: east of US 65 from Arkansas state 
line to Madison Parish line; 
 iv. Iberville: all east of the Mississippi River; 
 v. Webster: all open except that portion bounded 
on the north by I-20, on the east by U.S. 371, on the south by 
LA 164, and on the west by the Bossier Parish line 
(Exception: See Federal Lands Hunting Schedule for 
Kisatchie National Forest dates). 

3. Area C  
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Concordia; 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Caldwell: all east of the Ouachita River; 
 ii. Catahoula: all of the parish Except for that 
portion located in Area A; 
 iii. Franklin: west of LA 17 from the Richland 
Parish line southward to Winnsboro, west of LA 15 
southward to the Catahoula Parish line; 
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 iv. Iberia: east of the West Atchafalaya Basin 
Protection Levee; 
 v. Richland: west of LA 17 from Franklin Parish 
line to Ringle Road, south of Ringle Road to Ferguson Road, 
south of Ferguson Road to Little Road, south of Little Road 
to Big Creek, east of Big Creek to Franklin Parish line; 
 vi. Tensas: east and south of US 65 from 
Concordia Parish line to LA 128, south of LA 128 to St. 
Joseph, east and south of LA 605, 604 and 3078 northward 
to Port Gibson Ferry. 

4. Turkey season dates on Wildlife Management 
Areas, National Wildlife Refuges, Kisatchie National Forest 
and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land located within Areas 
A, B, and C may vary from the season set for the parish in 
which they are located. Seasons for these lands are specified 
in LAC 76:XIX.115.  

G. WMA Turkey Hunting Regulations 
1. WMAs with youth turkey hunts are closed to all 

activities except turkey hunting by authorized youth hunt 
participants and fishing on the day(s) of the youth hunt.  

2. Self-Clearing Permits. all turkey hunts, including 
lottery hunts, are self-clearing. Hunters must check in daily 
by obtaining a permit from a self-clearing station prior to 
hunting. The self-clearing permit must be in the hunter’s 
possession while hunting. Upon completion of each days 
hunt, the hunter must check out by completing and 
depositing the hunter report portion of the permit in the 
check-out box at a self-clearing station before exiting the 
WMA. 

3. Lottery Hunts. all or portions of some WMA 
seasons are designated as lottery hunts and are restricted to 
hunters selected by pre-application lottery. To apply for these 
lottery hunts, a hunter must submit a completed official 
application form to the Baton Rouge office by the deadline 
printed on the application. A non-refundable fee of $5 must 
be sent with each application. Applicants for WMA youth 
hunts must be 17 years of age or younger and at least 8 years 
old on the day of the hunt. Applicants may submit only one 
application and may be selected for only one spring WMA 
Turkey Lottery Hunt annually. Submitting more than one 
application will result in disqualification. Hunters must 
abide by self-clearing permit requirements. Hunters chosen 
for WMA lottery hunts may be accompanied by one person. 
The person accompanying a lottery hunter shall not possess 
a firearm/bow or take a turkey, and must remain within a 
distance that allows normal voice contact with the lottery 
hunter at all times. Youths chosen for special youth only 
hunts may be assigned a guide on the day of the hunt 
provided that guides are available. One person may 
accompany the youth and guide, but may not hunt.  

4. WMA Physically Challenged Hunt (wheelchair 
confined). open only to hunters with a physically challenged 
hunter permit with wheelchair classification. During this 
hunt, ATVs may be used by hunters on all designated ATV 
trails in accordance with the physically challenged hunter 
permit. hunters must abide by self-clearing permit 
requirements. 

5. Rules Specific to Certain WMAs 
a. Bens Creek: no turkey hunting within 100 yards 

of food plots identified by two yellow paint rings around the 
nearest tree; 

b. Sandy Hollow: no turkey hunting within 100 
yards of food plots identified by two yellow paint rings 
around the nearest tree; 

c. Sherburne: all turkeys taken must be checked at 
the WMA headquarters.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2263 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2375 (November 
2002), LR 29:2512 (November 2003), LR 30:2874 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2469 (November 2007), LR 35:91 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2478 (November 2009), LR 36:2581 (November 2010). 

 
Stephen J. Oats 
Chairman 
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RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Turkey Seasons (LAC 76:XIX.115) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby 
amend the turkey dates and limits for the 2011 season. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§115. Turkey Hunting Areas, Seasons, and Bag Limits 

A. Daily limit is one gobbler. Season limit is two 
gobblers. Turkeys taken on WMAs are part of the season bag 
limit. Only one turkey may be taken during spring WMA 
lottery hunts. 

B. Turkey season will open in designated areas on the 
Saturday nearest March 22. The Area A turkey season will 
be 30 consecutive days in length, the Area B turkey season 
will be 23 consecutive days in length, and the Area C turkey 
season will be 16 consecutive days in length. Wildlife 
management areas, national forests, national wildlife 
refuges, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers land may vary 
from this framework. Deviation from this framework may 
occur in those years when the Saturday nearest March 22 
falls the day before Easter. 

C. Statewide Youth Turkey and Physically Challenged 
Season on private lands shall be the weekend prior to the 
statewide turkey season.  

D. Only those wildlife management areas listed herein 
are open to turkey hunting. All other wildlife management 
areas are closed. 

E. 2011 Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

Area Season Dates 
A March 19 - April 17 
B March 19 - April 10 
C March 19 - April 3 

Private Lands Youth and 
Physically Challenged 
Hunter (Wheelchair 

Confined) Hunt 

March 12-13 
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F. Wildlife Management Area Turkey Hunting Schedule 
 

WMA Non-Lottery Hunt Dates Lottery Hunt Dates 
Attakapas March 19 – 27 None 
Bayou Macon None April 9-10 
Bens Creek March 19 - April 3 None 
Big Lake March 19 - April 3 None 
Bodcau March 19 - April 3 None 
Boeuf March 19 - 27 None 
Clear Creek March 28 - April 17 March 19 - 20 

March 26 - 27 
Camp 
Beauregard 

March 19 - 27 None 

Dewey Wills None April 9 - 10 
April 16 - 17 

Fort Polk March 19 – April 17 None 
Grassy Lake March 19 - 27 None 
Hutchinson 
Creek 

March 19 – April 17 None 

Jackson- 
Bienville 

March 19 – April 3 None 

Lake Ramsey March 19 – April 3 None 
Little 
River 

March 19 – April 3 None 

Loggy Bayou None April 8 - 10 
Peason 
Ridge 

March 19 – April 17 None 

Red River March 19 – April 3 None 
Sabine None March 19 - 21 

April 1-3 
Sandy 
Hollow 

March 19 – April 3 None 

Sherburne March 24 - 27 March 19-20 
March 21-23 

Sicily 
Island 

None March 19-21 
March 22-24 
March 25-27 
March 28 – April 3 

Tangipahoa 
Parish 
School Board 

March 19 – April 17 None 

Three 
Rivers 

March 19 – April 3 None 

Tunica 
Hills  
South 
Tract 

April 4-10 March 19-20 
March 26-27 
April 2-3 

Tunica 
Hills 
North 
Tract 

April 4-10 March 19-20 
March 26-27 
April 2-3 

Union None April 15-17 
Walnut 
Hills 

March 19 – April 17 None 

West Bay None March 19-20 
March 26-27 

 
G. Wildlife Management Area Lottery Youth Hunts 
 

WMA Lottery Youth Hunt Date 
Attakapas March 12 
Bens Creek March 12 
Big Lake March 12 

WMA Lottery Youth Hunt Date 
Bodcau March 12 
Clear Creek March 12 
Fort Polk/Peason Ridge/ Calcasieu 
Ranger Dist. March 12 

Grassy Lake March 12 
Jackson-Bienville March 12 
Loggy Bayou April 2 
Pearl River April 2 
Pomme de Terre March 12 
Sherburne March 12-13 
Sicily Island March 12 
Spring Bayou March 12 
Thistlethwaite April 2 
Tunica Hills March 12 
Union April 2 
West Bay March 12 

 
H. Non-Lottery Youth Hunts 

1. Bodcau WMA will be open April 9-10 (only youths 
may hunt). 

2. Jackson-Bienville WMA will be open April 9-10 
(only youths may hunt). 

I. Wildlife Management Area Physically Challenged 
(wheelchair confined) Hunt 

1. Jackson-Bienville WMA will be open April 11-17 
to holders of valid Physically Challenged Hunter 
(wheelchair classification) Permits. 

J. Federal Lands Turkey Hunting Schedule 
1. Kisatchie National Forest (KNF) turkey hunting 

schedule: Caney Ranger District, March 19 - April 3; all 
remaining KNF lands, March 19 - April 10 (including 
Catahoula and Red Dirt National Wildlife Management 
Preserves). 

2. U.S. Army Corps of Engineers turkey hunting 
schedule: Indian Bayou Area, March 12-13 physically 
challenged lottery only hunt, lottery hunt only on March 19-
20 and March 21-23, non-lottery hunt March 24-27. Old 
River Control and Lock Areas, March 19 - April 3. 

3. National Wildlife Refuges: Bogue Chitto NWR, 
March 19 - April 10; Lake Ophelia NWR, March 19 - April 
3 hunt ends at 12:00 p.m. each day; Tensas NWR, March 12-
13 (youth only), March 19 - April 3; Upper Ouachita NWR, 
March 12 (youth lottery only).  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:2264 (November 1999), amended LR 26:2634 (November 
2000), LR 27:2270 (December 2001), LR 28:2376 (November 
2002), LR 29:2513 (November 2003), LR 30:2875 (December 
2004), LR 31:3167 (December 2005), LR 32:2272 (December 
2006), LR 33:2470 (November 2007), LR 35:90 (January 2009), 
LR 35:2481 (November 2009), LR 36:2583 (November 2010). 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1011#033 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Agricultural Commodity Dealer and Warehouse Law 
(LAC 7:VII.Chapter 3 and XXVII.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and with the enabling statute, R.S. 3:3405, 
the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission 
(Commission) proposes to amend the Agricultural 
Commodity Dealer and Warehouse Law in order to make 
technical corrections, update language and fees to meet the 
requirements established in the revisions of Act 767 enacted 
in the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, adopt new 
regulations that pertain to the use of Electronic Warehouse 
Receipts as well as adopt fees for the testing and sampling of 
aflatoxin for corn. 

Act No. 767 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session 
adopted, amended and reenacted several sections of R.S. 
3:3401-3425 of the Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 
Warehouse Law pertaining to the seizure of facilities, grain 
dealer license exams, moisture meter devices as well as 
technical corrections. The law also repeals obsolete 
provisions related to certification requirements for grain 
sampling, licensure requirements for weighmasters, policies 
for sampling and grading grain and design approval for scale 
tickets. 

These rules are enabled by R.S. 3:3401 -3425. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part VII.  Dealers in Farm Products 

Chapter 3. Cotton Buyers 
§301. Application 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703 and R.S. 3:702. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:473 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§303. Bonds 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703 and R.S. 3:702. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§305. Fees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 

§307. Term of License; Renewal 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:702 and R.S. 3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§309. Posting of License 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:702 and R.S. 3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§311. Suspension and Revocation of License 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§313. Contracts 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 

Part XXVII.  Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 
Warehouse Law  

Chapter 1. Louisiana Agricultural Commodities 
Commission  
Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§101. Definitions 
Adjudicatory Proceeding―an open public hearing by the 

commission to determine whether violations of R.S. 3401-
3425 or the regulations contained in this Part have occurred. 
Such proceedings are conducted in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et 
seq.). 

Advance―a partial payment against total proceeds due to 
a seller. 

Agricultural Commodities―cotton, all agricultural 
products commonly classed as grain (rice, corn, wheat, oats, 
rye, soybeans, barley, and grain sorghum), and any other 
agricultural commodity which the commission may declare 
to be an agricultural commodity subject to regulation under 
R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

Applicant―any person making application for a license to 
engage in any of the activities regulated under R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or anyone who requests official grain inspection 
services and/or grain weighing services of the department. 

Audited [with respect to a financial statement]―a 
financial statement prepared by an independent certified 
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public accountant, the basis of which financial statement is 
the accountant's independent examination of the books and 
records of the business entity covered by the financial 
statement. 

Authentic Act―a statement executed before a notary 
public and at least two witnesses. 

Authorized Agent―with reference to the authorized agent 
of a warehouse or grain dealer, any representative thereof 
whose name has been filed with the commission as such. A 
person whose name has not been filed with the commission 
as an authorized agent will not be recognized by the 
commission as entitled to act for or on behalf of a warehouse 
or grain dealer. 

Bid Contract―an agreement between a producer and a 
purchaser under which the purchaser examines samples of 
rice and extends to the producer an offer to purchase the rice 
at a price based on the quality of the sample. 

Capacity―all of the area of a licensee which is in any 
kind of protected enclosure. 

CCC―Commodity Credit Corporation. 
Central Filing System (CFS) ―an electronic system 

operated and maintained by a provider where information 
relating to electronic warehouse receipts is recorded and 
maintained in a confidential and secure fashion independent 
of any outside influence or bias in action or appearance, and 
that is authorized by the director. 

Certified―with respect to the financial statements 
required under the Act R.S. 3:3401-3425, a written statement 
signed by the independent certified public accountant 
preparing the financial statement. 

Commission―the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities 
Commission. 

Commissioner―the Louisiana Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry. 

Compilation―with respect to a financial statement, a 
financial statement prepared by an independent certified 
public accountant solely on the basis of representations of 
the management of the business entity covered by the 
financial statement. 

Confirmation Date―the date on which the bid contract 
was confirmed. 

Confirmed―the bid contract has been agreed to by both 
parties. A bid contract is confirmed when the producer and 
the purchaser agree to the quantity and price of the rice to be 
sold. 

Cotton Agent―every person, firm, corporation, 
association, or other legal entity which purchases or 
contracts to purchase cotton grown or to be grown by 
producers in this state for or on behalf of a cotton merchant 
and which is required to be a party to a notarized written 
agency agreement. 

Cotton Merchant―every person, firm, corporation, 
association, or other legal entity which purchases or 
contracts to purchase, either directly or through a cotton 
agent, cotton grown or to be grown by producers in this 
state. 

Current Financial Statement―a financial statement 
containing all of the documents listed in §107.B of this Part 
and presenting financial position as of the close of the 
applicant's or licensee's most recent fiscal year. 

Deferred Price Commodities―commodities purchased by 
a grain dealer from a producer for which the sale price will 

be established after date of the initial agreement between the 
parties. The agreement between the parties covering deferred 
price commodities shall be in writing. The term deferred 
price commodities is the same as the other following terms 
in general usage: price later, no price established (NPE), 
delayed price, basis contract, future settlement delivery, or 
contract for purchase. 

Delivery Date―the date on which the purchaser is 
required to take delivery of the rice, either under the 
provisions of Subchapter O of this Chapter or under the 
provisions of a written agreement between the producer and 
the purchaser. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry. 

Director―the employee of the commission who is 
responsible for implementing the policies of the commission 
and performing the administrative responsibilities delegated 
to the commissioner under R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

Electronic Warehouse Receipt (EWR)― a receipt that is 
issued or transmitted in the form of an electronic document. 

Farm Products―products employed directly in the 
cultivation, production, or harvesting of any agricultural 
commodities or containers for agricultural commodities or 
farm products. 

Fee―any charge imposed by a warehouse, directly or 
indirectly, for care of agricultural commodities belonging to 
any person other than the warehouse owner, including but 
not limited to base price adjustments, storage, handling, 
dockage, commission, drying, and/or conditioning fees or 
any fees as listed on the latest approved schedule of fees 
(§128.D of this Part) for official grain inspections and 
weighing services provided by the department. 

Field Warehouse―a warehouse operated by a 
management organization under a contractual agreement 
between the management organization and the owner of the 
warehouse. 

First Point of Sale― the initial time when title to 
agricultural commodities or farm products passes from a 
seller to a buyer.  

Grain― corn, wheat, oats, rye, soybeans, barley, and grain 
sorghum. 

Grain Dealer―any person who purchases agricultural 
commodities from producers, sells agricultural commodities 
for producers, or represents producers in the purchase or sale 
of agricultural commodities. The term does not include 
producers who purchase grain commodities for their own 
use as feed or seed. 

Hedge [with respect to a contract to sell commodities]―a 
secondary contract to buy commodities to protect the 
obligations incurred with respect to the contract to sell. 
Hedge, with respect to a contract to buy commodities, means 
a secondary contract to sell commodities to protect the 
obligations incurred with respect to the contract to buy. 

Identity Preserve – 1. instances in which a warehouse 
preserves the separate identities of different lots of 
agricultural commodities; or 

2. instances in which a warehouse preserves the separate 
identities of agricultural commodities belonging to different 
owners. 

Independent Certified Public Accountant―a person who 
has completed all requirements established by the American 
Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the state 
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Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants. To be 
recognized as an independent public accountant, the 
accountant, members of his immediate family, and his 
accounting business associates shall be totally free of any 
obligation to or interest in the client, its management, or its 
owners. 

Licensed Capacity―the warehouse area which is bonded 
for the storage of agricultural commodities or farm products 
belonging to a person other than the owner of the warehouse. 

Licensee― any person holding a license as a warehouse, 
cotton merchant or grain dealer issued by the commission. 

Open or Open Position―the grain dealer's contracts for 
purchase or sale of agricultural commodities which are 
unhedged. 

Person―any individual, partnership, company, firm, 
association, corporation, cooperative association, or any 
other legal entity engaged in any of the activities regulated 
under R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

Producer―the owner, tenant, lessee, or operator of land 
within this state who has an interest in or receives all or any 
part of the proceeds from the sale of agricultural 
commodities produced thereon. 

Purchaser―any person who purchases rice from a 
producer under a bid contract. 

Review (with respect to a financial statement)―a financial 
statement prepared by an independent certified public 
accountant, in the preparation of which financial statement 
the accountant makes such inquiries of management and 
performs such analyses and/or comparisons as may appear 
appropriate to the accountant. 

Risk Position―the loss potential to the grain dealer 
resulting from bringing its open position to market. 

Scale Ticket―the document issued to a producer when 
agricultural commodities are delivered to a warehouse or 
grain dealer. 

Spot or Spot Sale―a transaction where title to agricultural 
commodities passes from the producer to the buyer on the 
day of delivery, in which transaction the producer is paid 
promptly at the market price established on the day of 
delivery. 

Storage―the physical possession by a warehouse, in any 
manner and/or under any type of fee arrangement, of 
agricultural commodities belonging to any person other than 
the owner of the warehouse. The term storage does not apply 
to a transaction in which title passes from the seller to the 
buyer upon delivery. 

Warehouse―any building, structure, or any other 
protected enclosure required to be licensed by the 
commission in which agricultural commodities or farm 
products are stored for the public for a fee. The term 
includes facilities which commingle commodities belonging 
to different owners and facilities which preserve the separate 
identities of different lots of agricultural commodities. 

Warehouse Operator―any person or other entity 
operating a warehouse. 

Warehouse Receipts―may be paper or electronic and may 
be negotiable or non-negotiable and are defined as follows. 

1. Non-Negotiable Warehouse Receipts―written 
evidence of the deposit of agricultural commodities or farm 
products in a warehouse, which cannot be sold or traded by 
the holder and cannot be used to secure a loan. 

2. Negotiable Warehouse Receipts―written evidence 
of the deposit of agricultural commodities or farm products 
in a warehouse, which can be sold or traded by the holder 
and can be used to secure a loan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3402 and R.S. 3:3405.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:284 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 
1986), LR 19:1300 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:624 
(April 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§103. Administration of the Affairs of the Commission 

A. The officers of the commission shall be a chairman 
and a vice-chairman, who shall serve for terms concurrent 
with the commissioner, but may be elected for an indefinite 
number of terms. 

B. After the initial election of officers, the chairman and 
vice-chairman shall be elected at the commission's regular 
meeting during the first quarter of each year. 

C. In the absence of the chairman at any meeting of the 
commission, the vice-chairman shall preside. 

D. The commission shall hold at least one regular 
meeting during each quarter of the year, but may meet more 
frequently upon the call of the chairman. 

E. Meetings of the commission shall normally be held in 
its domicile but may be held at other locations upon the 
determination of the chairman or the will of the commission. 

F. The quorum of the commission is five members. 
G. An affirmative vote of a minimum of five members 

shall be required for the adoption of any motion. 
H. There shall be no voting by proxy. 
I. Rules and regulations of the commission, and 

amendments thereto, shall be noticed, adopted, and 
promulgated as required by the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

J. The chairman shall designate a hearing officer, who 
may or may not be a member of the commission, to preside 
at all adjudicatory proceedings of the commission. The 
chairman may, if he so desires, serve as hearing officer at 
any adjudicatory proceeding. 

K. The commission shall serve as the hearing body in all 
adjudicatory proceedings and shall make the final 
determination with regard to the disposition of all matters 
coming to adjudication. 

L. The director shall provide clerical and other support 
services as may be required by the commission and shall 
maintain and distribute appropriate minute records of the 
commission. 

M. No member of the commission shall participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning any matter before the 
commission in which such member has a personal or 
commercial interest. 

N. No member of the commission or the staff shall 
disclose any financial information pertaining to any licensee 
or applicant for license. 

O. The commission may, from time to time, delegate any 
of its responsibilities to subcommittees appointed by the 
chairman. Such subcommittees may perform such specific 
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duties as may be assigned by the chairman but all actions of 
such subcommittees shall be subject to ratification by the 
full commission. 

P. Appointed members of the commission shall be 
entitled to receive a per diem of $40 and to be reimbursed 
for mileage expenses in accordance with the same travel 
regulations applying to state employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 9:287 
(May 1983), amended 12:287 (May 1986), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 24:624 (April 1998), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§105. Agricultural Commodities and Other Farm 

Products Regulated by the Commission 
A. The following agricultural commodities shall be 

regulated by the commission at all times: 
1. rice; 
2. rough rice; 
3. all agricultural commodities commonly classed as 

grain; including: 
a. wheat; 
b. corn; 
c. oats; 
d. rye; 
e. soybeans; 
f. barley; 
g. grain sorghum; 

4. cotton. 
B. Whenever commission warehouse receipts are issued 

to cover any of the following agricultural commodities, the 
following agricultural commodities shall be regulated by the 
commission: 

1. peppers; 
2. oils (vegetables and mineral); 
3. pecans; 
4. molasses and/or syrup; 
5. any canned and/or frozen vegetables/fruits/juices. 

C. Commodities and farm products enumerated in §105.B 
of this Part shall be subject to all requirements set forth in 
the regulations contained in this Part whenever commission 
warehouse receipts are issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:288 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1300 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:624 (April 1998), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Application for Warehouse, Grain Dealer 

and Cotton Merchant Licenses 
§107. Application for License (Initial and Renewal); 

Time for Filing; Contents; Fees; Style of 
Document 

A. Applications for renewal of warehouse, cotton 
merchant and grain dealer licenses shall be received no later 
than April 30 of each year. Applications for initial license 

may be filed at any time during the year. For both initial and 
renewal licenses, the following information shall be 
furnished on the application form provided by the 
commission: 

1. type of application: 
a. warehouse; 
b. grain dealer; 
c. cotton merchant; 

2. date of submission; 
3. nature of application: 

a. initial application; 
b. renewal application; 

4. nature of applicant's business: 
a. sole proprietorship; 
b. partnership; 
c. corporation; 
d. association; 
e. agricultural cooperative; 
f. other; 

5. name under which the business will operate; 
6. address of the principal office of the business, 

either in-state or out-of-state, including mailing address, 
physical location, and telephone number; 

7. name of the person in charge (e.g., manager, 
warehouse operator, principal dealer, etc.) and his residence 
address and telephone number; 

8. if a partnership, the names, addresses, and interests 
of all partners; 

9. if a corporation, the names and addresses of all 
officers; 

10. if an association, including an agricultural 
cooperative, the names and addresses of all members of the 
board of directors; 

11. name and address of the owner of the business, if 
not shown under §107.A.7, 8, and 9 of this Part; 

12. status of the facility in which the business will be 
operated: 

a. owned by applicant; 
b. leased by applicant (short term or long term); 
c. rented by applicant and name and address of 

owner; 
d. other; 

13. type of agricultural commodities that the applicant 
will store or trade; 

14. for all business locations to be operated under one 
license: 

a. number of locations; 
b. address of each location; 
c. total capacity; 
d. capacity of each location to be licensed, if different 

from total capacity; 
e. name of person in charge of each facility; 

15. bond status of the applicant: 
a. amount of bond posted; 
b. name and address of bonding company; 
c. period for which bond written; 

16. insurance of applicant: 
a. amount of provisional stock insurance carried; 
b. name and address of carrier; 
c. term of policy; 
d. physical address of each location covered by stock 

insurance; 
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17. names of all authorized agents; 
18. a statement that the applicant will abide by the 

requirements of R.S. 3:3401-3425 and the regulations 
contained in this Part; 

19. a certified statement that all representations 
contained in the application and in all required attachments 
are true and correct; 

20. grain dealer applicants only: 
a. name of person(s) on grain dealer's staff who is 

certified as a grain sampler and/or grader; 
21. warehouse applicant only: 

a. if utilizing paper warehouse receipts, three 
signature cards, on card forms provided by the commission, 
completed by each person listed as an authorized agent of 
the applicant, together with a resolution from the board of 
directors naming each person, other than the owner or 
president, whose name is listed as an authorized agent; 

b. a copy of the warehouse's current schedule of 
tariffs or charges; 

22. cotton merchant applicants only: 
a. name and written notarized agency agreements of 

cotton agents buying cotton in the state; 
23. grain dealers and cotton merchant applicants only: 

a. aggregate amount paid to producers during 
applicant’s most recent fiscal year. 

24. application for acceptance into the self-insurance 
fund; if applicable. 

B. For initial licensure under R.S. 3:3401-3425, each 
applicant shall provide a financial statement as of the close 
of the applicant’s most recent fiscal year. 

1. The financial statement shall be prepared by an 
accountant who is not a full-time employee of the applicant 
and who meets at least one of the following: 

a. a certified public accountant; 
b. a graduate of an accredited four-year college or 

university with a degree in accounting; or 
c. has passed the examination administered by the 

National Society of Accountants. 
2. The financial statement presented for initial 

licensure under R.S. 3:3401-3425 may be any of the 
following: 

a. compilation; 
b. review; 
c. audited. 

3. The financial statement shall contain: 
a. a balance sheet; 
b. a statement of income (profit and loss); 
c. a statement of retained earnings; 
d. a statement of changes in financial position; 
e. a certificate by the applicant or the chief 

executive officer of the applicant, in the form of an authentic 
act, that the financial statement accurately reflects the 
financial condition of the applicant for the period covered in 
the financial statement; 

f. whenever the certificate required under 
§107.B.3.e of this Part is executed by a representative of the 
applicant other than the owner or president, a resolution of 
the board of directors authorizing such representative to 
execute the certificate is required. 

4. Multi-state and/or multi-national corporations with 
subsidiary divisions located in Louisiana shall either: 

a. submit a fully audited financial statement 
showing the position of the parent company, together with 
sufficient financial information pertaining to the Louisiana 
subsidiary to reasonably reflect the corporation’s ability to 
satisfy all obligations to Louisiana producers; or 

b. pay all expenses necessary for performance of a 
full audit, at one or more locations where pertinent 
corporation records are maintained, by the department’s 
Central Audit Committee. 

5. The financial statement shall be prepared and 
signed by an accountant, as defined in §107.B of this Part, 
and shall be presented in accordance with generally accepted 
accounting principles. 

a. Financial statements shall include contracts 
covering commodities which have not been delivered. 
Contracts covering commodities which have not been 
delivered to the licensee or applicant shall be brought to 
market in the financial statement. Contracts on commodities 
which have not been delivered to the licensee or applicant 
may be made a part of the financial statement by means of a 
footnote to the statement. 

b. Fixed assets shall be presented at cost on 
financial statements. 

6. Only one financial statement shall be required for a 
chain of warehouses covered by a single warehouse license. 

C. Each licensee shall file a financial statement 
conforming to the requirements of §107.B of this Part within 
90 days after the close of the licensee’s fiscal year. 

D. Each applicant shall also provide the following 
information, in addition to completing the required 
application form and providing a financial statement: 

1. evidence of bond or alternate security which meets 
the requirements set forth in §115 of this Part (warehouse 
license applicants), §123.G of this Part (grain dealer license 
applicants) or R.S. 3:3411.1 (cotton merchant license 
applicants); 

2. evidence of provisional stock insurance which 
meets the requirements set forth in §117 of this Part 
(warehouses) or §123 of this Part (grain dealers);  

3. copy of Scale Ticket. Applicants who do not use 
scale tickets in their business operations shall certify to that 
effect in lieu of filing a scale ticket; 

4. applicants who apply under corporate status shall 
provide evidence of compliance with Louisiana’s 
Corporation Laws. 

E. A fee of $200, as required by R.S. 3:3401-3425, shall 
accompany each application at the time of filing. This fee is 
non-refundable, whether or not the license is granted. 

F. All licenses shall signify on the face the following 
information: 

1. name and address of licensee; 
2. if a cotton merchant or grain dealer, the location of 

the principal place of business; 
3. if a warehouse, the licensed capacity of the location 

covered by the license; 
4. amount of bond; 
5. term of license. 

G. Approved licenses shall be issued in the name of the 
commission and signed by the commissioner. 

H. A late fee of $50 may be assessed per application per 
business day when the application is received after April 30. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3408, R.S. 3:3409, R.S. 3:3410, R.S. 3:3411 and 
R.S. 3:3411.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:289 (May 1983), amended LR 
10:75 (February 1984), LR 11:229 (March 1985), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 
1986), LR 19:1300 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:624 
(April 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§109. Grounds for Refusal to Issue or Renew a 

Warehouse, Cotton Merchant, or Grain Dealer 
License 

A. The commission may refuse to issue or renew a 
warehouse, cotton merchant, or grain dealer license in any of 
the following circumstances: 

1. the applicant cannot demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the commission that he is competent to operate the 
business for which the license is sought; 

2. the applicant cannot demonstrate a $100,000 net 
worth; 

3. the applicant has failed to provide all of the 
information required in the application for licensure; 

4. the applicant has previously refused to permit audit 
of his records; 

5. the applicant has not or cannot secure the bond 
required by R.S. 3:3401-3425; 

6. the applicant has not or cannot secure the insurance 
required by R.S. 3:3401-3425; 

7. if an applicant for a warehouse license: the facilities 
in which the business will be operated are not suitable for 
storage of agricultural commodities; 

8. if an applicant for a grain dealer license: the 
applicant has failed to hedge its obligations to producers as 
required by R.S. 3:3401-3425 and the rules contained in this 
Part. 

B. Any cotton merchant, warehouse or grain dealer 
whose application for license is refused by the commission 
may appeal the decision of the commission under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or through the judicial 
process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3412.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:293 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 
1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 (April 1998), amended by 
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Warehouse Licenses 
§111. Requirements Applicable to All Warehouses 

A. No person shall operate a warehouse subject to 
regulation under R.S. 3:3401-3425 unless licensed by the 
commission or under the U.S. Warehouse Act. The following 
types of warehouses are specifically defined as warehouses 
subject to regulation under R.S. 3:3401-3425:  

1. any facility offering storage as defined in §101 of 
this Part; 

2. any facility which issues state warehouse receipts 
covering agricultural commodities or farm products; 

3. all field warehouses. The management organization 
operating a field warehouse shall secure a separate license 
for each location. Field warehouses shall be licensed in the 
same manner as any other warehouses and regulations 
governing other warehouses shall apply equally to field 
warehouses. 

B. Warehouses licensed under the U.S. Warehouse Act 
are not required to submit the application required under 
R.S. 3401-3425 and are not subject to all other requirements 
of R.S. 3:3401-3425 unless licensed under the provisions of 
R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

C. No warehouse, whether licensed under R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or the U.S. Warehouse Act, shall buy or sell 
agricultural commodities for producers unless such 
warehouse is also licensed by the commission as a grain 
dealer. 

D. A single business entity which operates warehouse 
facilities at more than one location may be covered by one 
license. In such instances, the applicant shall provide 
separate capacity and personnel information for each 
location but may submit a consolidated financial statement 
covering all locations. 

E. When two or more businesses which are separate 
legal entities, even though owned and/or operated by the 
same individual or the same legal entity, are operated at one 
or more physical locations, each separate legal entity shall 
obtain a separate license. 

F. Each license is personal to the holder thereof and may 
not be transferred or assigned to another for any purpose or 
any period of time. 

G. Licenses issued by the commission shall be 
consecutively numbered and the number shall include a 
fiscal year designation. 

H. All warehouse licenses issued by the commission 
shall expire on June 30 following the date of issue. 

I. For initial and continuing licensure, the facility shall 
meet all requirements of §113 of this Part. 

J. The warehouse shall meet all bonding and insurance 
requirements set forth in §§115 and 117 of this Part prior to 
issuance of the license. Failure to maintain the required bond 
and insurance in full force and effect for the license period 
shall subject the licensee to revocation of its license. 

K. The person in charge of each warehouse unit shall 
possess the following qualifications: 

1. be of legal age; 
2. demonstrate the following: 

a. knowledge of the practical facts of keeping 
accurate records regarding the storage of agricultural 
commodities; 

b. knowledge of proper pest control and fumigation 
procedures. 

L. Provisions Relative to the Schedule of Tariffs or 
Charges 

1. Each warehouse shall file its current tariff with the 
commission for the commission's approval as to form. 

2. Whenever there is any change in any warehouse's 
tariff, the new tariff shall be filed with the commission prior 
to implementation of any changes. 

3. The director shall note on each warehouse's tariff 
the fact of its receipt by the commission. Upon the 
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warehouse's receipt of the tariff bearing the director's 
notation, the warehouse shall post the copy bearing the 
director's signature in a conspicuous location at the 
warehouse. 

4. Each tariff shall indicate whether charges are made 
on the basis of barrels, bushels, or hundredweights. 

5. The tariff shall contain all fees routinely charged to 
depositors. 

6. The tariffs or charges shall be the same for the same 
class of services to each customer of the warehouse. 

M. Each warehouse shall maintain a daily inventory report 
on forms provided by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3409, R.S. 3:3410 and R.S. 3:3420. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:294 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 (October 1993), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§113. Standards for Approval of Facilities for Storage 

of Agricultural Commodities 
A. The building shall be of sound construction, in good 

physical condition, and suitable for storage of the 
agricultural commodities to be stored therein. 

B. The building shall be weathertight so as to protect the 
commodities stored in it from the elements at all times. 

C. The building and the surroundings shall be reasonably 
clean and free of debris of any kind. 

D. There shall be safe ingress and egress to all storage 
units. 

E. Storage units having entrances more than 20 feet 
above ground or floor level shall be equipped with a safe and 
adequate lift or ladder. 

F. All catwalks shall be equipped with railings, shall be 
structurally sound, and shall be kept free of all grain or other 
matter which might endanger human life. 

G. The facility shall maintain reasonable provisions for 
rodent and insect control. 

H. Commodities or farm products stored in containers 
rather than in bulk shall be separated by an aisle of sufficient 
width to permit passage for inspection. 

I. When different agricultural commodities are stored in 
the same facility in bulk, the different commodities shall be 
separated by a substantial partition. 

J. When a warehouse license covers more than one 
facility, each warehouse unit shall be designated by a 
number, beginning with the number 1, which number may 
not be changed without the prior approval of the 
commission. 

K. Each storage unit, building, bin, or compartment shall 
have painted thereon or securely affixed, in a conspicuous 
manner and location, an identifying number or letter, or 
both, which may not be changed without prior approval of 
the commission. 

L. Bulk grain bins shall be numbered at all openings on 
top and also on or near all outlet valves underneath so as to 
be easily identified. 

M. Each facility shall contain adequate and accurate 
weighing and sampling equipment. All scales in warehouses 

licensed by the commission are subject to examination by 
the Division of Weights and Measures of the department. 

N. Special Requirements for Rice. Provisions for 
identification cards shall be securely attached to all bins and 
when commodities are placed under receipt, an identification 
card showing the following information shall be firmly 
attached to the bin boards: 

1. the lot number; 
2. whether the receipt is negotiable or non-negotiable; 
3. the number of the receipt; 
4. the name of the person or company to whom the 

receipt was issued; 
5. the number of containers of commodities, if not in 

bulk, in the bin. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3405 and R.S. 3:3409. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:296 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§115. Bond Required for Warehouse License; 

Provisions Relative to Licensed Capacities 
A. Each applicant shall execute and file a bond, on bond 

forms provided by the commission, which bond shall be 
issued by a company authorized to do business in Louisiana 
prior to issuance of the license. 

B. Each bond shall be conditioned upon: 
1. the faithful performance of all duties and 

obligations to patrons of the warehouse; and 
2. compliance with all requirements of R.S. 3:3401-

3425 and the regulations contained in this Part. 
C. The amount of the bond shall be established on the 

basis of the capacity of the warehouse to be licensed. 
1. The commission shall establish capacity records for 

all licensed facilities. Whenever there is a discrepancy 
between the capacity claimed by the applicant and the 
commission's capacity figures for the applicant, the bond to 
be required shall be determined by the commission's 
capacity figures. A licensee may, however, appeal the 
decision of the commission whenever it disagrees with the 
capacity figures established by the commission for its 
facility. 

2. All facilities which commingle agricultural 
commodities shall bond 100 percent of their available 
capacity, subject to the exemptions contained in §115.C.5 
and 6 of this Part. 

3. Facilities which store identity-preserved 
commodities may, with the prior approval of the 
commission, bond 75 percent of their available capacity. In 
such event, the amount of the bond shall be increased if 
commodities in storage exceed the licensed capacity. 

4. All capacity under one roof shall be bonded. 
5. Outside tanks which are used solely for storage of 

company-owned commodities are not required to be bonded. 
6. Buildings which are used solely for storage of 

company-owned commodities are not required to be bonded. 
D. The amount of the bond shall be as follows: 

1. $0.20 per bushel for the first million bushels of 
licensed capacity―up to $200,000 for a licensed capacity of 
2 million bushels; 
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2. plus $0.15 per bushel for the second million bushels 
of licensed capacity―a total of $350,000 for a facility with a 
licensed capacity of 2 million bushels; 

3. plus $0.10 per bushel for all bushels over 2 million 
bushels up to 3.5 million bushels of licensed capacity―a 
maximum of an additional $150,000. 

E. A minimum bond of $25,000 is required for all 
facilities of 125,000 bushels or less licensed capacity. 

F. A maximum bond of $500,000 is required for all 
facilities of 3.5 million or more bushels of licensed capacity. 

G. Each bond shall be written for a period of one year, 
beginning on July 1, or for such other period of time as the 
commission may require. 

H. Each bond shall provide for at least 90 days written 
notice to the commission prior to cancellation. 

I. Each bond is subject to final approval by the 
commission and shall be so approved prior to issuance of the 
license. 

J. Provisions for Alternate Security in Lieu of the 
Required Bond 

1. The commission may accept alternate security in 
lieu of the required bond in an amount equal to 100 percent 
of the required bond.  

2. Alternate security may be offered only by: 
a. pledging of certificates of deposit; 
b. filing of an irrevocable letter of credit, which 

shall be non-cancelable for a period of one year; 
c. securing a first mortgage on immovable property 

which is located in Louisiana and which has an appraised 
value of at least one hundred fifty percent of the amount of 
the bond. The appraisal shall be made by an independent 
appraiser jointly designated by the commission and the 
applicant. The applicant shall provide a title insurance policy 
issued by a company authorized to do business in Louisiana 
in the amount of the required bond with the commission 
being an insured under the policy. The applicant shall pay all 
fees involved in providing such security. 

3. Alternate security is subject to the approval of the 
commission. Approval is required prior to issuance of a 
license. 

4. All alternate security instruments shall be assigned 
to the commission and maintained in the commission’s 
office in Baton Rouge. Holders of certificates of deposit will 
continue to draw the interest thereon. 

5. Whenever any warehouse ceases to operate as a 
licensed warehouse, alternate security filed in lieu of the 
required bond shall be retained by the commission: 

a. until public notice, as herein required, is made; 
and 

b. until completion of a final audit, which final 
audit shall be completed in not more than 120 days. Public 
notice of the commission's intent to release alternate security 
shall be made by publication in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the area where the licensee is located, as 
follows: 
 i. if there is a daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published at least three times, beginning at 
least 15 days prior to the date on which the commission will 
release the alternate security; 
 ii. if there is no daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published in a weekly newspaper and shall be 
published once each week for the three weeks preceding the 

date on which the commission will release the alternate 
security.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and 3:3410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:297 (May 1983), amended LR 
10:75 (February 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 (October 1993), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§117. Provisional Stock Insurance Required for 

Warehouse License 
A. At all times, each warehouse shall carry sufficient 

provisional stock insurance to assure protection against fire 
and other disasters for all agricultural commodities in 
storage in an amount proportionate to the licensed capacity 
of the facility. Provisional stock insurance records are 
subject to examination by the commission during audit of 
the facility. 

B. The provisional stock insurance shall be written for a 
period of at least one year by an insurance company 
authorized to do business in Louisiana and shall provide for 
30 days written notice to the commission prior to 
cancellation. 

C. A copy of the insurance policy or a certificate of 
insurance shall be filed with the commission prior to 
issuance of the license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:299 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§119. Amendment to License Required When Change 

of Status Occurs 
A. The licensee shall give written notice to the 

commission within three days after any of the following 
occurs: 

1. loss or damage to stored commodities or licensed 
facilities; 

2. change of ownership of a licensed warehouse, 
including a change in the members of a partnership or in the 
officers of a corporation; 

3. change in management personnel of a licensed 
warehouse; 

4. change in the name of the business operating the 
facility; 

5. any major structural change in the facility; 
6. the termination of a lease covering a licensed 

facility; 
7. change of business address; 
8. filing of any legal action (except filing of suits for 

workmen's compensation) against the warehouse or the 
management personnel of the warehouse. 

B. The licensee shall give prior written or oral notice to 
the commission before use of the facilities for the storage of 
any agricultural commodity not listed on the application and 
before any change in the licensed capacity of the facility 
(except a change resulting from fire or other actions outside 
the control of the warehouse). 
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C. Notice to the commission concerning a change in 
licensed capacity shall include: 

1. name, address, and license number of the 
warehouse; 

2. warehouse or warehouses affected by the change in 
capacity; 

3. current licensed capacity of the affected 
facility(ies); 

4. proposed new capacity (whether increased or 
decreased). 

D. Whenever the licensed capacity of a facility changes, 
the bond required under §115 of this Part shall be changed 
within 45 days to conform to the new capacity. Failure to 
amend the bond as required herein will subject the licensee 
to revocation of its license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:299 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Grain Dealers 
§123. Requirements Applicable to All Grain Dealers 

A. No person shall buy and/or sell agricultural 
commodities for producers, or represent producers in the 
purchase or sale of agricultural commodities, unless licensed 
as a grain dealer by the commission. 

B. No grain dealer may store agricultural commodities 
belonging to any other person unless such grain dealer is 
also licensed by the commission as a warehouse or licensed 
under the U.S. Warehouse Act. 

C. A single business entity which operates grain 
dealerships at more than one location may be covered by one 
license. In such instances, the applicant shall provide 
separate personnel information for each location but may 
submit a consolidated financial statement covering all 
locations. 

D. When two or more businesses which are separate 
legal entities, even though owned and/or operated by the 
same individual or the same legal entity, are operated at one 
or more physical locations, each separate entity shall obtain 
a separate license. 

E. Each grain dealer license issued by the commission 
shall expire on June 30 following the date of issue. 

F. The applicant shall be of legal age and shall be able to 
demonstrate knowledge of the practical facts of keeping 
accurate records regarding the trading of agricultural 
commodities. 

G. The applicant shall execute and file a bond, on forms 
provided by the commission, which is written by a bonding 
company authorized to do business in Louisiana. The bond 
shall be in an amount of $50,000 and shall provide for 90 
days written notice to the commission prior to cancellation. 
The bond shall be conditioned upon: 

1. the faithful performance of all duties and 
obligations to producers; and 

2. compliance with all requirements of R.S. 3:3401-
3425 and the regulations contained in this Part. The bond is 
subject to the approval of the commission and shall be so 
approved prior to issuance of the license. Failure to keep the 

bond in full force and effect shall subject the grain dealer to 
suspension or revocation of its license. 

H. The commission may accept alternate security in an 
amount of $50,000 in lieu of the required bond. 

1. Alternate security may be offered only by: 
a. pledging of certificates of deposit or other similar 

negotiable instruments; or 
b. filing of an irrevocable letter of credit, which 

shall be non-cancelable for a period of one year; or 
c. securing a first mortgage on immovable property 

which is located in Louisiana and which has an appraised 
value of at least one hundred fifty percent of the amount of 
the bond. The appraisal shall be made by an independent 
appraiser jointly designated by the commission and the 
applicant. The applicant shall provide a title insurance policy 
issued by a company authorized to do business in Louisiana 
in the amount of the required bond with the commission 
being an insured under the policy. The applicant shall pay all 
fees involved in providing such security. 

2. All alternate security instruments shall be assigned 
to the commission and will be maintained in the 
commission's office in Baton Rouge. Holders of certificates 
of deposit will continue to draw interest thereon. 

3. Whenever any grain dealer ceases to operate as a 
licensed grain dealer, alternate security filed in lieu of the 
required bond shall be retained by the commission: 

a. until public notice, as herein required, is made; 
and 

b. until completion of a final audit, which final 
audit shall be completed in not more than 120 days. Public 
notice of the commission's intent to release alternate security 
shall be made by publication in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the area where the licensee is located as 
follows: 
 i. if there is a daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published at least three times, beginning at 
least 15 days prior to the date on which the commission will 
release the alternate security; 
 ii. if there is no daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published in a weekly newspaper and shall be 
published once each week for the three weeks preceding the 
date on which the commission will release the alternate 
security. 

4. Alternate security offered in lieu of the required 
bond is subject to the approval of the commission and shall 
be approved prior to issuance of the license. 

I. The applicant shall demonstrate a net worth which is 
reasonably sufficient to assure its ability to meet its 
obligations to producers. The commission shall be the final 
judge of the sufficiency of each applicant's net worth. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 9:301 
(May 1983), amended LR 10:75 (February 1984), LR 12:287 (May 
1986), LR 35:2311 (November 2009), amended by the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§125. Risk Position Requirements 

A. Each grain dealer shall achieve and maintain a 
relatively even hedge position within no more than three 
business days after deposit of agricultural commodities by 
producer. Relatively even hedge position means that the 
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grain dealer has entered into contracts to buy or sell 
commodities which are roughly equal in value to the amount 
of the dealer's outstanding obligations to producers. 

B. Whenever a grain dealer's risk position is brought to 
market, its loss potential shall never exceed 30 percent of the 
grain dealer's current net worth. No grain dealer may 
maintain a risk position in excess of 30 percent of its current 
net worth, provided that the commission may specify a 
lower maximum risk position for any grain dealer in an 
amount having a reasonable relationship to that grain 
dealer's current net worth. 

C. The commission may require a lower maximum risk 
position on any grain dealer by the following procedures. 

1. The commission shall notify the grain dealer that a 
public hearing will be held, within five days after notice, to 
establish for such grain dealer a requirement that its risk 
position will be less than 30 percent of its current net worth. 

2. The grain dealer may appear on its own behalf or 
may be represented by counsel at the hearing, and may show 
cause why such lower maximum risk position shall not be 
established for such grain dealer. 

3. The commission may require the submission of 
interim financial statements in order to make a final 
determination with respect to establishment of a lower risk 
position requirement for such grain dealer. 

4. The commission shall make a determination at the 
public hearing and shall establish an exact risk position as a 
percentage of current net worth for such grain dealer. 
Written notice of the lower risk position requirement shall be 
given by the director immediately following such public 
hearing. 

D. Any grain dealer who does not adhere to the risk 
position requirement imposed for such grain dealer by the 
commission shall be subject to the penalties set forth in §149 
of this Part. 

E. Any grain dealer whose risk position is established by 
the commission at less than 30 percent of its net worth may 
request reconsideration of the established risk position 
whenever its financial position changes. Such request shall 
be made in writing, setting forth the reasons therefore, and 
the commission shall consider the request at the next 
regularly scheduled quarterly meeting following receipt of 
such request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3413.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:302 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter E. Assessments and Fees 
§127. Assessments: Amount, Time of Payment, 

Payment under Special Conditions 
A. Assessments shall be due and payable from the 

producer at the first point of sale as defined in §101 of this 
Part. 

B. Each grain dealer shall deduct the assessments set 
forth in this rule and in R.S. 3:3422 from the proceeds to be 
paid to producers at the time of sale of commodities. 

C. Assessments on commodities normally weighed by 
hundredweight and on commodities normally weighed by 

bushels shall be as set forth in R.S. 3:3422. The weight of 
commodities normally weighed in barrels shall be converted 
to bushels by multiplying the barrel weight by 3.6. 

D. Rates of Assessments 
1. Assessments on regulated commodities listed in 

§105 of this Part shall be at rates comparable to the rates set 
forth in §127.E of this Part. The exact assessment on each 
commodity shall be promulgated in the Louisiana Register 
and when so promulgated shall remain in full force and 
effect until changed by subsequent promulgation in the 
Louisiana Register. Such assessments may be collected as 
soon as promulgated in the Louisiana Register and shall be 
collected in the same manner as the assessments listed in 
§127.C of this Part. 

2. Rates of assessments to be levied at the first point 
of sale of agricultural commodities. 

 
Rough Rice $.01 per hundredweight 
Corn $0.007 per bushel 
Soybeans $0.007 per bushel 
Oats $0.007 per bushel 
Sorghum $0.007 per bushel 
Wheat $0.007 per bushel 
Cotton $0.10 per bale 

 
3. All assessments collected by licensees of the 

commission shall be remitted to the commissioner, together 
with the report form required by the commission, no later 
than the fifteenth day of the month following the month in 
which the assessments are collected. 

4. The above assessments shall remain in effect until 
changed by the commission. 

E. Each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall remit all assessments withheld from producers, or 
otherwise due under this rule, together with a report on the 
form provided by the commission, to the commissioner no 
later than the fifteenth day of each month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3422. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:303 (May 1983), amended LR 
9:459 (July 1983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 (October 1993), 
repromulgated LR 20:154 (February 1994), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§128. Fees: Amount, Time of Payment 

A. Fees are due and payable upon the receipt of an 
invoice from the department. A late payment shall be 
assessed for all invoices paid after 30 days from the date of 
the invoice. The amount which shall be assessed shall be 10 
percent of the outstanding balance. 

B. Applicable fees shall be charged for each request for 
the department to provide official inspection service or 
weighing service. 

C. Schedule of Fees 
1. The regular hours shall be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 

Monday through Friday, except legal holidays and declared 
half-holidays. All hours worked, that are not regular hours, 
shall be considered as overtime. Legal holidays and half-
holidays shall be those legal holidays designated by the 
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legislature in R.S. 1:55.B and any other time declared to be a 
holiday or half-holiday by the governor of Louisiana in 
accordance with R.S. 1:55. 

2. The hourly rate shall be $26 per hour, including 
travel time. Overtime hours shall be billed at one and one-
half times the hourly rate and shall be assessed in half-hour 
increments. 

3. Mileage shall be billed at the IRS standard mileage 
rate and applicable hourly rate for actual miles traveled from 
nearest inspection point. Changes to the mileage rate shall be 
effective when the IRS changes their standard mileage rate. 

4. Official Services (including sampling except as 
indicated) 

 

Online D/T sampling inspection service  
(sampling, grading and certification), per regular hour 

$26 

Overtime hourly rate, per hour $39 
Unit Inspection Fees: 

Aflatoxin Testing, per sample $30 
Rail Car, per car $20.50 
Truck/Trailer, per carrier $10 
Barge, per 1,000 bushels $2.60 
Submitted sample inspection $12.30 
Re-inspection grain sample $15 
 Rail Car (per sample) $10.30 
 Truck/Trailer (per sample) $5.30 
 Barge (per sample) $25.30 
Starlink TM (if applicant supplies kit), per test $6 
Starlink TM (if LDAF provides kit), per test $12 
Factor only determination, per factor 
 (not to exceed full grade fee) 

$5.20 

Probe Sampling Barge (per barge) $100 
On-Line Sampling Barge (per hour) $20 

 

D. Moisture Meter Registration and Inspection Fee 
1. A registration fee of $20 per meter and an 

inspection fee of $40 per meter to shall be paid by the owner 
or user of every moisture measuring device used or held for 
use at any commercial facility which receives, holds, dries, 
stores, mills, processes or otherwise deals in agricultural 
commodities in the state, when such use or intended use is 
for the purpose of determining discounts or other price 
variances in connection with the purchase or sale of such 
commodity, said Each moisture meter device shall be 
registered with the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

2. Registration shall be required on or before May 15 
of each year or within five business days of acquisition of 
new or additional unregistered moisture measuring devices 
for the purpose set forth in Paragraph 1 of this Section. 
Registration forms shall be provided by the department and 
shall state the name and address of the commercial facility 
which owns or uses the device, the number of devices used 
and held for use, the brand name(s) of the device(s), and 
such other information as may be deemed necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this Subchapter. 

3. A moisture measuring device shall be deemed 
defective when an inspector determines after an inspection 
and testing that: 

a. the moisture measuring device varies in tolerance 
in excess of one-half of one per cent with the testing device 
used by the inspector; or  

b. the commercial facility does not have available 
the latest charts and calibration data for the type of 
commodity being tested; or 

c. the facility does not have available accurate and 
proper scales and thermometers for use in conjunction with 
the type of moisture measuring device being used.  

4.a. A moisture measuring device which is determined 
to be defective and which the defect cannot be immediately 
corrected shall be tagged in such a manner as to warn the 
public that the device is not in compliance with the law.  

b. Notice shall be conspicuously posted indicating 
that a moisture measuring device has been deemed defective 
and the percentage by which the device has been determined 
to be out of tolerance.  

5. Moisture measuring devices which have been 
registered and inspected and which have not been found 
defective shall bear an official tag or sticker from the 
department, placed on the devices by the inspector in such a 
manner as to be readily visible, bearing the year of 
inspection. Such tags or stickers shall be nontransferable. 

6. All non-National Type Evaluation Program (NTEP) 
approved moisture measuring devices registered prior to 
May 15, 2010 shall be deemed suitable for use. In the event 
a non-NTEP moisture measuring device is deemed defective 
after May 15, 2010, it shall be taken out of service and 
replaced with an NTEP approved device. 

7. Notwithstanding §128.D of this Part, all moisture 
measuring devices shall be NTEP approved devices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3414.3 and R.S. 3:3422. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended LR 
14:528 (August 1988), LR 19:889 (July 1993), LR 23:196 
(February 1997), LR 27:815 (June 2001), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 30:197 
(February 2004), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter F. Scale Tickets 
§129. Scale Tickets: Filing, Contents, Maintenance in 

Records 
A. Immediately upon deposit with a licensed warehouse 

or a licensed grain dealer of any agricultural commodity or 
farm product regulated under R.S. 3:3401-3425, the 
warehouse or grain dealer shall issue a scale ticket to the 
depositor which conforms to the requirements of this rule. 
Warehouses licensed under the U.S. Warehouse Act may use 
scale tickets approved by the federal licensing agency. 

B. Each scale ticket shall contain the following 
information: 

1. name and location of the licensed warehouse or 
grain dealer; 

2. name and other information sufficient to identify 
the owner of the agricultural commodities or farm products; 

3. the type, quantity, and grade (or applicable grade 
factors) necessary to determine the net value of the 
commodity received; 

4. date the commodity was deposited in the warehouse 
or grain dealer's custody; 

5. one of the following, as appropriate: 
a. if the commodity is deposited on a spot basis, the 

words spot or spot sale, and when so marked the scale ticket 
shall serve as written confirmation of the sale; 

b. if the commodity is deposited for any type of 
storage, including open storage, the word storage; 
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c. if the commodity is deposited for contract, the 
word contract; 

6. such other terms as may be agreed upon between 
the depositor and the warehouse operator or grain dealer. 

C. Scale tickets shall be sequentially pre-numbered and 
shall be issued to depositors in numerical order. Different 
scale ticket books may be used for different scales. 

D. Each scale ticket shall consist of an original and at least 
one copy. The original or a copy of the scale ticket shall be 
maintained in numerical order in the licensee's records and 
shall be available for examination by the commission at all 
times. 

E. Whenever a scale ticket is voided, all copies shall be so 
marked, dated, and signed by an authorized agent of the 
warehouse or grain dealer, and all copies of the voided scale 
ticket shall be maintained in the warehouse or grain dealer's 
records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3415, R.S. 3:3419. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 9:304 
(May 1983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter G. Warehouse Receipts 
§131. Warehouse Receipts: Completion; Issuance; 

Open Storage; Cessation of Business; Other 
Applicable Laws; Cancellation of Receipts; 
Company-Owned Commodities; Form of Non-
negotiable Receipts 

A. A licensee may issue warehouse receipts by use of a 
paper warehouse receipt system, an electronic warehouse 
receipt system, or both.  

B. Except as herein provided, all warehouses shall use 
paper or electronic sequentially numbered warehouse 
receipts. 

C. Warehouses licensed under the U.S. Warehouse Act 
may use receipt forms approved by the federal licensing 
agency.  

D. Issuance of Receipts 
1. Each warehouse shall, on demand, issue a 

warehouse receipt for stored agricultural commodities or 
farm products. 

2. No warehouse shall issue a warehouse receipt 
covering commodities which are already covered by an 
outstanding and uncanceled warehouse receipt, except as 
provided by §133.D of this Part. 

3. No warehouse may issue a warehouse receipt 
covering commodities which are not actually stored in the 
warehouse. 

E. All spaces on the warehouse receipt shall be filled in 
with appropriate information or crossed out (xxxxx). 

F. Warehouse receipts may be signed only by authorized 
agents of the warehouse. 

G. Open Storage 
1. A warehouse which has commodities under open 

storage shall, in all cases when such commodities are not 
physically stored in its facilities (i.e., forwarded), be able to 
produce or secure a warehouse receipt from the warehouse 
to which such commodities were forwarded. The physical 
whereabouts of all agricultural commodities in open storage 
are subject to verification by the commission. 

H. Delivery of Commodities Covered by Warehouse 
Receipt or Scale Ticket Marked for Storage 

1. The holder of a warehouse receipt or a scale ticket 
marked for storage may request delivery of the agricultural 
commodities, or any portion thereof, at any time. 

2. When the depositor of agricultural commodities 
removes such commodities from storage, the warehouse 
shall deliver to the depositor commodities of the same 
quantity and grade as designated on the warehouse receipt or 
scale ticket marked for storage. 

3. The warehouse shall, without unnecessary delay, 
deliver any agricultural commodities or farm products stored 
therein upon demand by the holder of a warehouse receipt or 
scale ticket marked for storage upon the following 
conditions: 

a. full payment of all amounts owed to the 
warehouse; 

b. surrender of the warehouse receipt, if negotiable, 
for cancellation. 

I. Cancellation of Warehouse Receipt 
1. When commodities or farm products are removed 

from storage, the warehouse shall promptly and plainly 
cancel the warehouse receipt covering such commodities or 
farm products. 

2. No warehouse receipt shall be canceled unless: 
a. the commodities have been removed from 

storage, by sale or otherwise; or 
b. a new warehouse receipt has been issued to 

replace a lost or destroyed warehouse receipt, as provided 
under §133.D of this Part. 

J. Warehouse Receipt on Company-Owned 
Commodities 

1. A warehouse may issue and hold a warehouse receipt 
for commodities which are company-owned, in whole or in 
part, and stored in the warehouse, provided that such 
warehouse receipts are subject to all requirements of the 
regulations contained in this Part. 

K. Non-Negotiable Warehouse Receipts 
1. Each person to whom a non-negotiable warehouse 

receipt is issued shall furnish the warehouse with a written 
statement naming persons having power to authorize 
delivery of the commodity covered by the non-negotiable 
warehouse receipt, together with a bona fide signature of 
such person. The warehouse shall not release the commodity 
except to persons so authorized by the owner of the 
commodities or farm products. 

2. The warehouse may release a portion of the 
commodities or farm products covered by a non-negotiable 
warehouse receipt, upon presentation of authorization as 
above required, but may not release all of the commodities 
covered by a non-negotiable warehouse receipt until such 
time as the non-negotiable warehouse receipt is returned and 
canceled. 

L. Cessation of Business 
1. Whenever any warehouse ceases to operate as a 

licensed warehouse, for any reason, the warehouse shall 
satisfy all outstanding obligations to producers and all 
outstanding warehouse receipts shall be canceled. The 
requirement for cancellation does not, however, apply when 
the warehouse is unable, for any reason, to satisfy 
obligations to producers. 

M. Other Applicable Laws 
1. In any circumstances surrounding the issuance of 

warehouse receipts which are not covered by R.S. 3:3401-
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3425 or the regulations contained in this Part, Chapter 7 of 
Title 10 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 shall 
control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3416, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3418. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:305 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§133. Paper Warehouse Receipts: Required Form; 

Issuance; Partial Delivery; Duplicate Receipts; 
Non-Negotiable Receipts 

A. Except as herein provided, all paper warehouse 
receipts shall only be sequentially pre-numbered warehouse 
receipts on forms furnished by the commission. 

B. Agents of the commission shall note the issuance of 
all partial releases, by number of each such partial release, 
on the original receipt. 

C. Whenever a warehouse receipt is voided, all copies 
shall be so marked, dated, and signed by an authorized agent 
of the warehouse; the green and yellow copies of the voided 
receipt shall be maintained in proper sequence in the 
warehouse's receipt records and the pink copy shall be 
mailed to the commission on the day voided. 

D. Issuance of Duplicate Negotiable Warehouse Receipt 
1. If a negotiable warehouse receipt is lost or 

destroyed, the warehouse shall notify the commission of 
such loss or destruction prior to issuance of a duplicate 
warehouse receipt. A duplicate warehouse receipt replacing a 
lost or destroyed negotiable warehouse receipt may be 
issued by the warehouse only upon the written authorization 
of the commission. 

2. Before authorizing issuance of a duplicate 
negotiable warehouse receipt, the commission shall require 
that the person applying for authority to issue the duplicate 
warehouse receipt shall file with the commission a notarized 
statement that: 

a. the applicant is lawfully entitled to possession of 
the duplicate warehouse receipt; 

b. the applicant has not negotiated or assigned the 
lost or destroyed warehouse receipt; and 

c. reports how the original was lost or destroyed. 
3. A duplicate negotiable warehouse receipt issued to 

replace a lost or destroyed receipt shall: 
a. be marked duplicate; 
b. be distributed as required under §131.C of this 

Part; 
c. contain the same terms and conditions as the lost 

or destroyed warehouse receipt; and 
d. bear on its face the number and date of the 

warehouse receipt which it replaces. 
2. The warehouse shall retain both the green and the 

yellow copies of canceled warehouse receipts in numerical 
order in the warehouse records for a period of at least three 
years after date of cancellation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3416, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3418. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:306 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1302 (October 1993), amended 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§134. Electronic Warehouse Receipts (EWR): Validity; 

Format; Issuance; Rights and Obligations; 
Printing; Records Retained; Duplicates 

A. The issuance and transfer of warehouse receipts in 
electronic form are specifically authorized by this Part. Any 
such warehouse receipts shall have the same validity and 
enforceability, for all purposes, as those in paper form. 

B. An EWR shall be in the format prescribed in the 
applicable provider agreement. 

C. An EWR issued in accordance with the R.S. 3:3401-
3425 shall not be denied legal effect, validity, or 
enforceability on the grounds that the information is 
generated, sent, received or stored by electronic or similar 
means. 

D. A warehouse shall not be required to issue a 
warehouse receipt in electronic form. 

E. If a warehouse licensed under R.S. 3:3401-3425 
elects to issue EWRs, and if the depositor or other holder 
prefers a paper receipt, the warehouse shall cancel the EWR 
and issue a paper receipt. 

F. A warehouse operator intending to issue or issuing 
EWRs under the R.S. 3:3401-3425 shall: 

1. issue an EWR through only one authorized provider 
annually; 

2. inform the department of the identity of its provider 
60 calendar days in advance of first issuing an EWR through 
that provider. The department may waive or modify this 60-
day requirement; 

3. before issuing an EWR, request and receive from 
the department a range of consecutive warehouse receipt 
numbers that the warehouse will use consecutively for 
issuing their EWRs; 

4. cancel an EWR only when it is the holder of the 
EWR; 

5. receive written authorization from the department at 
least 30 calendar days before changing providers. Upon 
authorization, a warehouse may request its current provider 
to transfer, and that provider shall transfer, its EWR data 
from the current provider's CFS to the CFS of the authorized 
provider it selects; 

6. notify all holders of EWRs in the CFS at least 30 
calendar days before changing providers, unless otherwise 
allowed or required by FSA; and 

7. for purposes of §134.F.4 of this Part, the warehouse 
is considered a "holder" solely for the purpose of canceling 
an electronic warehouse receipt on the electronic warehouse 
receipt system and the warehouse shall in no way be 
considered the owner of the grain that was covered by the 
canceled electronic warehouse receipt, absent evidence of 
sale of that grain to the warehouse. 

G. EWR Rights and Obligations. An EWR establishes 
the same rights and obligations with respect to an 
agricultural product as a paper warehouse receipt and 
possesses the following attributes: 

1. The holder of an EWR will be entitled to the same 
rights and privileges as the holders of a paper warehouse 
receipt. 

2. Only the current holder of the EWR may transfer 
the EWR to a new holder.  

3. The identity of the holder shall be kept confidential 
by the provider. 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2598 

4. Only one person may be designated as the holder of 
an EWR at any one time. 

5. A warehouse operator may not issue an EWR on a 
specific identity-preserved or commingled lot of grain or any 
portion thereof while another valid warehouse receipt 
representing the same specific identity-preserved or 
commingled lot of grain remains not canceled. No two 
warehouse receipts issued by a warehouse may have the 
same warehouse receipt number or represent the same lot of 
grain. 

6. Holders and warehouse operators may authorize 
any other user of their provider to act on their behalf with 
respect to their activities with this provider. This 
authorization shall be in writing and acknowledged and 
retained by the warehouse and provider. 

H. Printing  
1. Electronic warehouse receipts may be printed by a 

person authorized by the department. The department shall 
authorize persons to print warehouse receipts if they are 
printed in accordance with R.S. 3:3401-3425 and the 
regulations contained in this Part. 

2. All electronic warehouse receipts shall be:  
a. Pprinted only for licenseesp; 
b. numbered consecutively either at the time of 

printing or through the control of a computer generated 
system, and the numbers shall not be duplicated.  

I. A complete record of receipts printed shall be retained 
by the person printing them for five years, showing for 
whom printed, the number printed, and the consecutive 
numbers that were printed on the receipts.  

J. A duplicate copy of any invoice rendered for printing 
warehouse receipts shall be forwarded by the person printing 
them to the department at the same time as billing is made to 
the warehouse. The invoice shall show for whom printed, the 
consecutive numbers that were printed on the receipts, type 
of receipt (whether negotiable or non-negotiable), and 
number of receipts printed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3416, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3418. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter H. Grading; Sampling; Out-of-Condition 

Commodities 
§135. Elevators: Official Grades and Sampling  

A. All agricultural commodities shall be graded and 
sampled in accordance with official USDA grading 
standards, as detailed in The Official United States Standards 
for Grain handbook. 

B. Procedures that result in equivalent results to USDA 
procedures are acceptable. 

C. Requirements for Certification as an Elevator Grain 
Sampler and/or Grader 

1. All persons interested in being certified to grade or 
sample grain for an elevator shall submit an application on a 
form which shall be provided by the commission. 

2. All applicants shall pass an examination which 
shall be given by the department. The examination fee shall 
be $5 and shall be submitted with the application. If the 
applicant successfully completes the examination, he will be 
required to pay a $25 fee in order to be certified. 

3. Each person that has been certified and whose 
certification has not been revoked or suspended may renew 
that certification by submitting an application to renew with 
a fee of $25. 

4. All certifications shall expire on December 31 of 
each year and shall be renewed annually. 

D. One elevator representative may be certified as grader 
and sampler as long as the representative is responsible for 
subordinate graders and samplers. 

E. The commission shall be required to provide each 
grain dealer with a copy of all changes to USDA standards 
prior to the effective date of such changes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.3:3405 and R.S. 3:3414.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:309 (May 1983), amended LR 
12:288 (May 1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§136. State Official Grain Inspections 

A. Standards established in Regulations Under the 
United States Grain Standard Act, As Amended, USDA, 
Federal Grain Inspection Service (CFR, Title 7, Chapter 
VIII, Pt. 800 (Section 800.0 to 800.219), 801 (Section 801.1-
801.12), 802 (Section 802.0 to 802.13), and 810 (Section 
810.201 to 810.555), shall apply to all Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry grain inspections. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.3:3405 and R.S. 3:3414.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:288 (May 1986), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§137. Out-of-Condition Commodities 

A. If a warehouse operator has reason to believe that any 
identity-preserved commodities are out-of-condition, or are 
becoming out-of-condition, he shall give immediate notice 
of such fact to the director of the commission and to the 
owner of the commodities. 

B. The director shall immediately send a representative 
to the warehouse to determine whether out-of-condition 
commodities shall be cleaned, at the cost of the warehouse, 
or disposed of as the law permits and the circumstances 
require. 

C. The storer of such commodities shall notify the 
warehouse operator, within 24 hours after receipt of notice, 
of the disposition to be made of such commodities. If the 
storer of the commodities fails to make such notice to the 
warehouse operator, the warehouse operator may dispose of 
the commodities as authorized by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:309 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter I. Records and Reports 
§141. Records Required to be Maintained 

A. Each grain dealer, cotton merchant and warehouse 
shall maintain the following records, when applicable to the 
commodity stored or traded, on a current basis in the 
company's principal office in this state at all times: 
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1. current financial statement; 
2. bank statements; 
3. bank reconciliations; 
4. broker's statements; 
5. current listing of unpriced commodities; 
6. sequential record of all scale tickets; 
7. sequential record of all warehouse receipts; 
8. settlement or distribution sheets; 
9. weight sheets; 
10. perpetual inventory record; 
11. insurance file, including copies of monthly reports 

to the carrier; 
12. record of all assessments collected and remitted; 
13. copies of all outstanding contracts; 
14. copies of all outstanding notes and mortgages 

affecting the business; 
15. a sample of each lot of grain which contains damage 

in excess of 7 1/2 percent shall be: 
a. maintained for five days from the original grade 

date; and 
b. maintained in separate containers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3419 and R.S. 3:3414.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:309 (May 1983), amended LR 
12:288 (May 1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 (April 1998), LR 
35:2311 (November 2009), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, 
LR 37: 
§143. Reports Required 

A. Each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall file a report of assessments collected from producers, 
on the form provided by the commission, and remit such 
assessments to the commissioner no later than the fifteenth 
day of each month. The assessment report shall be filed each 
month whether or not any assessments were collected during 
the month. 

B. No later than the fifteenth day of each month, each 
warehouse shall file a copy of his daily inventory report for 
the preceding month with the commission. 

1. The reports shall be filed on forms provided by the 
commission. 

2. The commission may accept computer print-outs 
containing the same information as required by the 
commission's form. 

3. The commission may accept any report in 
substantially the same form which is prepared as a result of 
any federal requirement in lieu of the report on the 
commission's form. 

C. Subsequent to initial licensure under R.S. 3:3401-
3425, each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall file a financial statement, containing all of the 
information required under §107.B of this Part, no later than 
90 days after the last day of the warehouse's or grain dealer's 
fiscal year. 

D. Each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall file such unaudited financial statements as and when 
required by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3:3419 and R.S. 3:3422. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:310 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1302 
(October 1993), LR 35:2311 (November 2009), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter J. Access Requirements 
§145. Access Requirements 

A. Each licensee shall permit any officer or authorized 
representative of the commission or the commissioner to 
enter all locations listed on the application for license and 
inspect, examine, and/or audit all contents, facilities, 
equipment, records, books, accounts, samples, and grading 
and sampling practices relating thereto at any time during 
normal working hours, with or without notice. 

B. The warehouse operator, cotton merchant, or grain 
dealer shall provide the necessary assistance required for any 
inspection, examination, and/or audit made in accordance 
with R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

C. Each licensee having physical custody of 
commodities shall permit any authorized representative of 
the commission or the commissioner to sample commodities 
at any time during normal business hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3414.3 and R.S. 3:3419. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:310 (May 1983), amended LR 
12:288 (May 1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 (April 1998), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§Subchapter K. Posting Requirements 
§147. Posting Requirements 

A. Each grain dealer and cotton merchant shall post its 
original license issued by the commission in a conspicuous 
location at its principal place of business. A copy of the 
license shall be posted at all other locations covered by the 
license. 

B. Each warehouse location shall post its original license 
issued by the commission so that it is clearly visible at the 
main entrance to the warehouse. When only a portion of a 
location is licensed by the commission, that portion licensed 
by the commission shall be clearly marked. 

C. The warehouse schedule of tariffs or charges shall be 
posted in a conspicuous location at each location. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3409, R.S. 3:3411 and R.S. 3:3420. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:311 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter L. Suspension/Revocation of License; Other 

Penalties 
§149. Adjudication Required Prior to 

Suspension/Revocation of License or Imposition 
of Other Penalties; Amount of Penalties; 
Surrender of License 

A. Whenever the chairman has any reason to believe that 
a violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the regulations contained 
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in this Part has occurred, he shall call a meeting of the 
commission for the purpose of conducting an adjudicatory 
hearing to make a determination with respect to the 
suspected violation. 

B. Upon any directive of the chairman, the director shall 
give written notice to the person suspected of the violation, 
such notice to comply with the requirements of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, at least five days prior to the 
date set for such adjudicatory hearing. 

C. At any such adjudicatory hearing, the person 
suspected of a violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the 
regulations contained in this Part shall be accorded all of the 
rights set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act. 

D. The commission may suspend or revoke a license for 
any of the grounds set forth in §109 of this Part, or any other 
violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the regulations contained in 
this Part, whenever proof thereof is made at any adjudicatory 
proceeding noticed and conducted as required by the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

E. Whenever the commission makes a determination at 
an adjudicatory hearing that any violation of R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or the regulations contained in this Part has occurred, 
the commission may: 

1. suspend or revoke the license; 
2. impose a monetary fine; 
3. place licensee on probation. 

F. Any suspension of a license shall be for a definite 
period of time and the licensee shall be informed in writing 
of the period of suspension. 

G. The commission may impose a penalty of up to 
$1,000 for each violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the 
regulations contained in this Part which is proven in an 
adjudicatory hearing. 

H. Each separate day on which a violation occurs shall 
be considered a separate violation. 

I. Whenever the commission suspends or revokes a 
warehouse, cotton merchant, or grain dealer license, the 
former licensee shall immediately surrender the original and 
all copies of the license. 

J. No person whose license has been suspended or 
revoked may engage in any of the activities regulated under 
R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

K. Any licensee may appeal any action taken by the 
commission to suspend/revoke a license or impose a 
monetary penalty by either: 

1. applying for a rehearing under the procedures 
provided in the Administrative Procedure Act; or 

2. applying for judicial review of the commission's 
determination, under either the Administrative Procedure Act 
or other applicable laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3410, R.S. 3:3411, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:311 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:288 (May 
1986), LR 19:1303 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 
(April 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 

Subchapter M. Schedule of Inspections; Voluntary 
Inspection 

§151. Inspection of Physical Facilities and Contents; 
Schedule 

A. A complete inspection of the physical facilities and 
the contents thereof shall be made of each licensee at least 
once during each license period, but may be made more 
frequently. Such inspection of facilities and contents may or 
may not be made in conjunction with an audit of the 
licensee's books and records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3406. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:312 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
§153. Voluntary Inspection Service 

A. Warehouses which require more frequent inspection 
and verification of contents, for whatever reason, may secure 
such services by making an application to the commission. 

B. Voluntary inspection of facilities and contents, and 
verification thereof, on a schedule which shall be mutually 
agreed upon between the warehouse applying for voluntary 
inspection services and the commissioner, shall be made for 
a fee of $0.01 per hundredweight for commodities normally 
weighed by hundredweight, $.007 per bushel (or barrel 
weight converted to bushels as provided by R.S. 3:3422 and 
§127.C of this Part) for commodities normally weighed by 
bushel, or such other fee as may be promulgated by the 
commission as an assessment fee on other agricultural 
commodities or farm products. 

C. The fee for voluntary inspection services shall be due 
and payable within 15 days after each inspection is 
completed. 

D. The total fee for each voluntary inspection of facilities 
and contents shall be determined by multiplying the total 
amount of commodities under warehouse receipt at the time 
of voluntary inspection services times the fee set forth in 
§153.B of this Part. 

E. The minimum inspection fee applicable to voluntary 
inspection services, when performed for any licensee of the 
commission, shall be $100. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3422.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:312 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1303 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter N. Exemptions 
§155. Exemptions 

A. The regulations contained in this Part shall not apply 
to the following: 

1. cold storage facilities; 
2. facilities which store only commodities which are 

imported from outside the boundaries of the continental 
United States; 

3. seed dealers licensed under R.S. 3:1431 et seq., 
who store seed for producers, which is identifiable on the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2601 

bag and in the seed dealer's records as to the owner thereof, 
but who do not engage in any other activities regulated 
under R.S. 3:3401-3425. This exemption does not apply to 
seed dealers who issue warehouse receipts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3425 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:313 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37: 
Subchapter O. Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund 
§191. Creation  

A. The Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund is hereby 
created pursuant to R.S. 3:3410.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§193. Definitions 

A. The following words and terms are defined for 
purposes of this Subchapter and supplement the words and 
terms defined in §101 of this Part. 

Claimant—a producer, as defined in §101 of this Part. 
Fund—the Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund. 
Insolvency—the inability of a licensee to meet debts or 

discharge liabilities. 
Licensee—for purposes of this Subchapter only, a 

Licensee is a cotton merchant as defined in R.S. 3:3402(6) or 
a grain dealer as defined in R.S. 3:3402(10). 

Value of Commodity—the quoted price plus or minus 
premiums or discounts such as moisture and quality factors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§195. Purpose 

A. Upon the insolvency of a licensee, the fund shall be 
used to reimburse a producer who has not otherwise been 
fully compensated for grain or cotton sold to the licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§197. Assessments 

A. The commission shall charge an assessment at the rate 
of 1/25 of one percent on the value of all agricultural 
commodities regulated under this Chapter which are 
purchased by grain dealers and cotton merchants licensed in 
this state. 

B. The assessments shall be levied only on commodities 
which are grown in Louisiana and that are regulated by the 
commission. 

C. The assessments shall be due and payable to the 
commission by the licensee at the first point of sale, except 
as otherwise provided for under §199 of this Part. 

D. The assessments shall be due to the commission on a 
monthly basis. 

E. Each grain dealer and cotton merchant shall send a 
completed copy of the Louisiana Grain and Cotton 
Indemnity Fund Monthly Assessment Report (supplied by 
the commission) and assessment to the commission by the 
fifteenth of each month for the preceding month. 

F. In the event no assessments are collected by the 
licensee, the licensee shall still submit a report each month 
to the commission on the approved form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§199. Cotton Merchants Operating on a Cooperative 

Basis 
A. Cotton merchants operating on a cooperative basis 

shall pay the assessment rate of 1/25 of one percent of the 
value of the commodity at the time of each payment, 
including any initial advance payment, progress payments 
and final payment to its members as proceeds of the crop. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§201. Claim Provisions 

A. The monies in the Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund 
shall be used solely for the administration and operation of 
the fund. 

B. Any claimant who wishes to assert a claim shall 
provide, under oath, written and notarized proof of a loss 
covered by this fund within 60 days of the loss. 

C. A written claim shall include all of the following 
information: 

1. name and address of claimant; 
2. name of the licensee against whom claimant is 

asserting a loss; 
3. nature of the relationship and transaction between 

claimant and licensee; 
4. the date of the loss which shall be defined as the 

date on which the claimant knew or should have known that 
a loss had occurred; 

5. the amount of the loss and how calculated; 
6. a concise explanation of the circumstances that 

precipitated the loss; 
7. copies of those documents relied upon by claimant 

as proof of said loss. 
D. Failure to furnish such proof of loss within the 

required time shall not invalidate nor reduce the claim if it 
was not reasonably possible to give proof within such time, 
provided such proof is furnished as soon as reasonably 
possible. 

E. Upon receipt of a proof of loss, the commission shall 
review the claim to determine whether it is covered under 
the program. The burden of proof to establish the loss shall 
be upon the claimant. 

F. Once proof of loss has been filed against a licensee, 
the commission may make a complete inspection of the 
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licensee's physical facilities and the contents thereof, as well 
as an examination of all books and records of the licensee 
and/or claimant, subject to the confidentially requirements of 
R.S. 3:3421. 

G. Once proof of loss has been filed against a licensee, 
any other claimants alleging a loss caused by said licensee 
shall have a period of 60 days within which to post and 
thereby file a written claim. 

H. The said 60 day period shall begin to run upon 
publication by the commission of the notice of claim in the 
official local journal for legal notices, or the print 
publication with the highest circulation in the area serviced 
by the licensee. 

I. If claims for indemnity payments from the fund 
exceed the amount in the fund, the commission shall prorate 
the claims and pay the prorated amounts. As future 
assessments are collected, the commission shall continue to 
forward indemnity payments to each eligible person until the 
person receives the maximum amount payable in accordance 
with this Subchapter. 

J. Distributions from the fund shall be made on a 
periodic basis as deemed necessary by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:630 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§203. Distribution of Funds for Claims from Prior 

Insolvency 
A. Any claimant who wishes to assert a claim against a 

licensee who became or becomes insolvent after January 1, 
2008, but before the promulgation of these rules shall 
provide, under oath, written and notarized proof of a loss 
covered by this fund within 30 days of notification of claim 
process. 

B. A written claim shall include all of the following 
information: 

1. name and address of claimant; 
2. name of the licensee against whom claimant is 

asserting a loss; 
3. nature of the relationship and transaction between 

claimant and licensee; 
4. the date of the loss which shall be defined as the 

date on which the claimant knew or should have known that 
a loss had occurred; 

5. the amount of the loss and how calculated; 
6. a concise explanation of the circumstances that 

precipitated the loss; 
7. copies of those documents relied upon by claimant 

as proof of said loss. 
C. Upon receipt of proof of loss, the commission shall 

review the claim to determine whether it is covered under 
the program. The burden of proof to establish the loss shall 
be upon the claimant. 

D. The said 30 day period shall begin to run upon 
publication by the commission of the notice of claim process 
in the official local journal for legal notices or the print 
publication with the highest circulation in the area serviced 
by the licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:630 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§205. Appeal Procedure 

A. Any decision of the commission to deny or grant a 
claim for payment from the fund may be appealed to the 
commission by the licensee or claimant by seeking an 
adjudicatory hearing to have said decision reconsidered by 
the commission in accordance with Chapter 13 of Title 49 of 
the Louisiana Revised Statutes, as well as all subsequent 
appeals therefrom, provided said appellant files with the 
commission a written notice of appeal within 30 days of the 
mailing of the decision of the commission to the affected 
party. 

B. The notice of appeal shall contain an expressed 
statement of each and every basis upon which said appeal is 
sought and the hearing to consider same shall be limited 
accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE : Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:630 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§207. Subrogation 

A. When a claim is paid by the commission from the 
fund, the claimant, by accepting said payment, subrogates 
his rights to the commission up to the full amount of 
payment. 

B. Any recovery for reimbursement to the fund shall 
include interest computed at the U.S. Treasury two-year note 
coupon rate as published in the Wall Street Journal on the 
date of the claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 
(April 2009), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§209. Reimbursement Limitations 

A. When any loss is or may be covered by other 
insurance or bond, the other insurance or bond is primary 
and the commission shall require the claimant to exhaust his 
remedies as to the other insurer before considering the 
payment of the claim. 

B. After all other remedies are exhausted, claimants shall 
be entitled to recover the full amount of claims filed against 
the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:  
§211. Pending Litigation or Arbitration;Stay of Claims 

A. Where the commission finds that litigation is pending, 
which could determine whether payment of a claim is due or 
to whom payment of a claim is due, the claim in question 
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may be stayed until the judgment in said litigation has 
become final and definitive. The commission shall give 
notice of the stay to any claimants whose claims have been 
stayed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§213. Violations 

A. Providing false information to the commission by a 
claimant or licensee regarding a claim for reimbursement 
from the fund is a violation of this Subchapter, if the person 
providing the information knew or should have known the 
information was false. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§215. Adjudicatory Hearings  

A. Findings of violations and imposition of penalties 
may be made only by a ruling of the commission based upon 
an adjudicatory proceeding held in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act. 

B. Whenever the commissioner has any reason to believe 
that a violation of R.S. 3:3410.2, or of any rules and 
regulations adopted pursuant to this Part has occurred, the 
commissioner may present the alleged violations to the 
commission for a determination. 

C. A hearing officer shall be appointed by the office of 
the attorney general to preside over the hearing. 

D. Notice of the alleged violation, the date of the 
adjudicatory hearing, and the conduct of discovery shall be 
as provided in the Administrative Procedure Act. 

E. The ruling of the commission shall be in writing and 
provided to the person charged with the violation, as 
provided by the Administrative Procedure Act. 

F. Any appeal from a ruling of the commission shall be 
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 
§217. Civil Penalties 

A. Any claimant or licensee who has been found in an 
adjudicatory hearing to be in violation of the provisions of 
this Subchapter shall be subject to the following civil 
penalties. 

B. Any claimant or licensee who knew or should have 
known that he was providing the commission with false 
information regarding a claim may be denied payment of the 
claim on that basis. 

C. Any claimant or licensee who knew or should have 
known that he was providing the commission with false 
information regarding a claim, or regarding any other 
matters pertaining to the fund, shall be subject to a 

maximum civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation. Each 
day the false information is with the commission without 
correction shall be considered a separate violation. 

D. Any licensee who intentionally refuses or fails to 
collect the assessment or refuses to remit the collected 
assessment to the commission shall be subject to a maximum 
civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation. Each day the 
assessment is not collected shall be a separate violation. 
Each day the collected assessment is not remitted to the 
commission shall be a separate violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The impact of the proposed action regarding the 

regulations set out in the Notice of Intent on family 
formation, stability, and autonomy has been considered. It is 
estimated that the proposed action will have no significant 
effect on the (1) stability of the family, (2) authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children, (3) functioning of the family, (4) family 
earnings and family budget, (5) behavior and personal 
responsibility of children, or (6) ability of the family or a 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions, and arguments, whether for, against, or regarding 
these proposed regulations. Written submissions are to be 
directed to Kyra Holden, Assistant Director, Louisiana 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, 5825 Florida Boulevard, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70806 and must be received no later than 4:00 
p.m. on the 30th day of December, 2010. No preamble 
regarding these proposed regulations is available. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM  
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 

Warehouse Law 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units as a result of the proposed 
rule. The proposed action amends the Agricultural Commodity 
Dealer and Warehouse Law in order to make technical 
corrections, update language and fees to meet the requirements 
established in the provisions of Act 767 of the 2010 Regular 
Legislative Session and codify current statutorily allowed 
practices.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed action could increase revenue collections to 
the department by approximately $4,800 per year. The 
proposed administrative rules institutes a $50 per day late fee 
that may impact 12 licensees annually based upon historical 
data. The $4,800 estimate is based upon an average late filing 
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of 8 days; however, the impact of the late fee may have on the 
submission of applications after the required filing deadline is 
unknown. The proposed administrative rule also increases the 
license fee from $100 to $200. However, this change merely 
codifies current practice as Title 3 currently provides for the 
department to assess a $200 license fee. The collected fees will 
be deposited into the Agriculture Commodity Dealers and 
Warehouse Fund (R.S. 3:3423). 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The anticipated economic benefits to directly affected 
persons or non-governmental groups are unknown. However, to 
the extent that applications for licensure are received after the 
required deadline, this proposed action may increase the costs 
to potential late applicants by an aggregate of $4,800 per year 
or approximately $400 per late applicant. Anticipated groups 
impacted include grain dealers, cotton merchants and 
warehouses. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed action is not anticipated to have a direct 
material effect on competition or employment. 

 
Craig Gannuch Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1011#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Feed, Fertilizer, and Agriculture Commission 

Definition of Small Package 
(LAC 7:XI.101) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., and with the enabling statute, R.S. 3: 
1312, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Feed, 
Fertilizer, and Agricultural Liming Commission is intending 
on amending these rules and regulations (“the proposed 
action”) to bring the definition of small packages in line with 
current fertilizer manufacturing and marketing practices.  

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XI.  Fertilizers 
Chapter 1. Sale of Fertilizers 
§101. Definitions 

* * * 
Small Packages―less than 5 gallons of liquid fertilizer 

and less than 50 pounds of dry material. 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:1312. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Fertilizer Commission, LR 7:164 (April 1981), 
amended LR 12:493 (August 1986), amended by the Feed, 
Fertilizer, and Agricultural Liming Commission, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed action will have no 

significant effect on the (1) stability of the family, (2) 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children, (3) functioning of the family, 
(4) family earnings and family budget, (5) behavior and 
personal responsibility of children, or (6) ability of the 

family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed action.  

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed action [may] [will not] 

have a significant adverse impact on small businesses as 
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, 
consistent with health, safety, environmental and economic 
factors has considered and, where possible, utilized 
regulatory methods in drafting the proposed action to 
accomplish the objectives of applicable statutes while 
minimizing any anticipated adverse impact on small 
businesses.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions, and arguments regarding the proposed action. 
Written submissions are to be directed to Mark LeBlanc, 
Director, Agricultural Chemistry, P.O. Box 25060, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70894-5060 and must be received no later than 
4:00 p.m. on December 27, 2010. No preamble regarding 
these proposed regulations is available. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Definition of Small Package 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units as a result of this proposed 
action. The proposed rule changes revise the definition of small 
packages to conform to current fertilizer manufacturing and 
marketing practices. The proposed rule changes the definition 
of small packages from 16 ounces or less of liquid fertilizer and 
10 pounds or less of dry material to less than 5 gallons of liquid 
fertilizer and less than 50 pounds of dry material. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules could have an indeterminable impact 
upon revenue collections of the state. Current rules provide for 
fertilizer producers classified as small package producers pay 
an annual $100 inspection fee as opposed to the $1.00 per ton 
sold. The proposed rule broadens the definition of small 
package, which could result in some producers paying less or 
paying more depending upon the current level of business 
activity. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed administrative rules may impact 
approximately fifteen (15) fertilizer producers within the state. 
Current rules provide for fertilizer producers classified as small 
package producers to pay an annual $100 inspection fee as 
opposed to the $1.00 per ton sold. The proposed rule broadens 
the definition of small package, which could result in some 
producers paying less or paying more depending upon the 
current level of business activity. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed action is not anticipated to have a direct 
material effect on competition or employment. 

 

Craig Gannuch Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1011#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences 

Agriculture Chemistry Lab Fees 
(LAC 7:I.103) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., and with the enabling statute, R.S. 3:16, 
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of 
Agricultural and Environmental Sciences is intending on 
amending these rules and regulations (“the proposed action”) 
to substitutes the Louisiana Agricultural Chemistry 
Laboratory for the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
as the payee for agricultural chemistry laboratory fees. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part I.  Administration 
Chapter 1. Administrative Procedures 
§103. Agriculture Chemistry Lab Fees 

A. - A.1. ... 
B. The laboratory fees shall be paid by the party 

requesting analysis and shall be payable to the Louisiana 
Agricultural Chemistry Laboratory. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:16. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agricultural and Environmental 
Sciences, LR 15:77 (February 1989), amended 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed action will have no 

significant effect on the (1) stability of the family, (2) 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children, (3) functioning of the family, 
(4) family earnings and family budget, (5) behavior and 
personal responsibility of children, or (6) ability of the 
family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed action.  

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed action [may] [will not] 

have a significant adverse impact on small businesses as 
defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, 
consistent with health, safety, environmental and economic 
factors has considered and, where possible, utilized 
regulatory methods in drafting the proposed action to 
accomplish the objectives of applicable statutes while 
minimizing any anticipated adverse impact on small 
businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments, data, 

opinions, and arguments regarding the proposed action. 
Written submissions are to be directed to Mark LeBlanc, 
Director, Agricultural Chemistry, P.O. Box 25060, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70894-5060 and must be received no later than 
4:00 p.m. on December 27, 2010. No preamble regarding 
these proposed regulations is available. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Agriculture Chemistry Lab Fees 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units as a result of this proposed 
rule change. The proposed action substitutes “Louisiana 
Agricultural Chemistry Laboratory” for “Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry” as the payee for agricultural 
chemistry laboratory fees. The Louisiana Agricultural 
Chemistry Laboratory is an entity within the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated material effect on the revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units as a result of 
this proposed rule change. The proposed rule change codifies 
the current payment practice for fees charged for chemical and 
other analyses performed by the agricultural chemistry 
laboratory. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of this proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed action is not anticipated to have a direct 
material effect on competition or employment. 

 
Craig Gannuch Robert E. Hosse 
Assistant Commissioner Staff Director 
1011#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Section 

Child Placing Agencies 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 41 and LAC 67:V.Chapters 65 and 67) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B), the Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS), Division of Programs, Licensing Section is 
providing notice of its intent to repeal and amend sections of 
the LAC to comply with Act 64 of the 2010 Regular Session 
of the Louisiana Legislature.  

Title 48, Part I, Subpart 3, Chapter 41 and Title 67, Part V, 
Subpart 8, Chapter 65 are being repealed. Licensing 
regulations previously contained in these chapters have been 
consolidated and rewritten and will be promulgated as Title 
67, Part V., Subpart 8, Chapter 73, Child Placing Agencies, 
in accordance with R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 

Title 48 
HEALTH AND HOSPITALSGENERAL 

Part I.  General Administration 
Subpart 3.  Licensing 

Chapter 41. Child Placing Agencies with and without 
Adoption Services 

Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§4101. Introduction 

Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401-1424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1256 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§4103. Licensing Procedures 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1258 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§4105. Administration and Organization 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1258 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§4107. Personnel 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1258 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§4109. Social Services Related to Child Placement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1258 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§4111. Records 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1259 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Foster Care Services Module 
§4113. Family Foster Care Services 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401-1424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1259 
(November 1995), LR 31:2955 (November 2005), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Adoption Services Module 
§4115. Adoption Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), amended the Department of Social Services, 
Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 21:1260 
(November 1995), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§4117. Effective Date 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended LR 
15:546 (July 1989), repealed by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part V.  Community Services 
Subpart 8.  Residential Licensing 

Chapter 65. Transitional Living 
§6501. Purpose 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S. 46:1451 et seq. and Act 726 of the 2001 Legislative 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:92 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2685 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1561 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:791 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6503. Authority 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S.46:1401-1424 and R.S. 46:1414.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:92 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2686 (December 2007), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Community Services, LR 35:1561 (August 2009), amended LR 
36:791, 841 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Child Welfare Section, LR 36:1462 (July 
2010), repealed by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6505. Waivers 

Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:93 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2686 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1561 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:791 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6507. Application for Licensure 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:93 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2686 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1561 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:791, 835 (April 2010), 
repromulgated LR 36:1274 (June 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6509. Definitions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:93 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2686 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1561 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:791 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6511. Inspections 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S. 46:1451 et seq. and Act 726 of the 2001 Legislative 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:93 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2686 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1562 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:792 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6513. General Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S. 46:1451 et seq. and Act 726 of the 2001 Legislative 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:93 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2687 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1562 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:792 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6515. Governing Body 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477, R.S. 46:1451 et seq. and Act 726 of the 2001 Legislative 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:94 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2687 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1562 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:792 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6517. Accounting 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S. 46:1451 et seq. and Act 726 of the 2001 Legislative 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:94 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2687 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1563 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:792 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6519. Administrative Files 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:94 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2687 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1563 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:792 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6521. Program Description 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:94 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2688 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1563 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:793 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6523. Records 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:95 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2688 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1563 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:793 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6525. Confidentiality and Security of Files 

Repealed. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:95 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2688 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1564 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:793 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6527. Staffing Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:95 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2688 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1564 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:793 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6529. Staff Plan and Practices 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:95 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2689 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1564 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6531. Personnel File 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:95 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2689 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1564 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6533. Orientation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:96 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2689 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1565 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6535. Training 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:96 (February 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2689 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1565 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6537. Staff Communications 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:96 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2689 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1565 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6539. External Professional Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:96 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2689 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1565 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6541. Admission Policy 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:96 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2690 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1565 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6543. Service Agreement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:96 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2690 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1566 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:794 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6545. Service Planning 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
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30:97 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2690 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1566 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:795 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6547. Youth's Case Record 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:97 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2691 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1566 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:796 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6549. Accounting for Youth's Money 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:98 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2691 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1567 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:796 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6551. Supervision and Support 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:98 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2691 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1567 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:796 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6553. Rights and Grievance Procedures for Youth 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:98 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2691 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1567 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:796 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6555. Reporting of Critical Incidents and Abuse and 

Neglect 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:99 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 

LR 33:2692 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1568 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:797 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6557. Behavior Management 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:99 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2693 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1569 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6559. Transportation 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:99 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2693 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1569 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6561. Physical Environment 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:99 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2693 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1569 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6563. Capacity 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:99 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2693 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1569 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6565. Emergency Procedures 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:100 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2693 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1569 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
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Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6567. Food Service 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477 and R.S. 46:1401-1424. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:100 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2693 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1570 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 
§6569. Discharge 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:477, R.S. 46:1451 et seq. and Act 726 of the 2001 Legislative 
Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Licensing, LR 
30:100 (January 2004), repromulgated by the Department of Social 
Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Residential Licensing, 
LR 33:2694 (December 2007), repromulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Community Services, LR 35:1570 
(August 2009), amended LR 36:798 (April 2010), repealed by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, Licensing Section, LR 37: 

Subpart 8. Residential Licensing  
Chapter 73. Child Placing AgenciesGeneral 

Provisions 
§7301. Purpose 

A. It is the intent of the legislature to protect the health, 
safety, and well being of the children of the state who are in 
out-of-home care on a regular or consistent basis. Toward 
that end, it is the purpose of Chapter 14 of Title 46 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 to establish statewide 
minimum standards for the safety and well being of children, 
to ensure maintenance of these standards, and to regulate 
conditions in these providers through a program of licensing. 
It shall be the policy of the state to ensure protection of all 
individuals placed by a provider and to encourage and assist 
in the improvement of provided services. It is the further 
intent of the legislature that the freedom of religion of all 
citizens shall be inviolate.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section LR 37: 
§7303. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions 
1. The Child Care Facility and Child Placing Act 286 

of 1985 as amended (R.S. 46:1401-1424) is the legal 
authority under which the department prescribes minimum 
standards for the health, safety and well-being of children 
placed in foster care and adoption. The rules are in LAC 
67:V.Subpart 8, Chapter 73. 

2. Public Law 96-272, the Adoption Assistance and 
Child Welfare Act of 1978 and Act 429 of 1981 Louisiana 
legislature made permanency planning for children in foster 
care a matter of federal and state law and public social 
policy.  

3. Public Law 103-382, the Multiethnic Placement Act 
of 1994, the U.S. Constitution and Title VI of the Civil 
Rights Act of 1964 provide that an entity which receives 
federal financial assistance and is involved in adoption or 
foster care placements may not discriminate on the basis of 
the race, color or national origin of the adoptive or foster 
parent or the child involved. 

B. Facilities Requiring a License  
1. Any institution, society, agency, corporation, 

facility, person or persons or any other group other than the 
parent(s) or guardian(s) of a child, engaged in placing a child 
or children in foster care and/or adoption in Louisiana or in 
placing a child or children from Louisiana into another state 
or foreign country is required to be licensed as follows or to 
work through a licensed agency in the state. 

a. Any agency with an office and staff within the 
state is required to have a license in Louisiana.  

b. Any out-of-state agency placing a child in 
Louisiana is required to have a license issued by the state in 
which the main office is located and have a Louisiana 
license or make placements in Louisiana in cooperation with 
an agency licensed in Louisiana.  

c. A child placing agency (CPA) which is operated 
in conjunction with other programs subject to licensing shall 
obtain a license for each of the programs.  

C. Exemptions 
1. The parent(s) or legal custodian(s) are authorized to 

place a child directly into a foster or adoptive home without 
a license. The parent(s) or custodian shall not be represented 
in placing the child(ren) by other than a licensed CPA. 

2. Pursuant to ACT 64 of the 2010 Legislative 
Session, child placing agencies within the Department of 
Children and Family Services shall be exempt from the 
provisions of this Chapter. The department is authorized and 
mandated to perform its child-placing functions in 
accordance with the standards promulgated by the 
department for licensed child-placing agencies. 

D. Penalties. As stipulated in R.S. 46:1421, whoever 
operates any child care facility without a valid license shall 
be fined not less than $75 nor more than $250 for each day 
of such offense. 

E. Waiver Request  
1. The secretary of the department, in specific 

instances, may waive compliance with a standard, as long as 
the health, safety, and well-being of the staff and/or the 
health, safety, rights or well-being of residents is not 
imperiled. Standards shall be waived only when the 
secretary determines, upon clear and convincing evidence, 
that the economic impact is sufficient to make compliance 
impractical for the provider despite diligent efforts, and 
when alternative means have been adopted to ensure that the 
intent of the regulation has been carried out.  

2. Application for a waiver shall be made in writing 
and shall include: 

a. a statement of the provisions for which a waiver 
is being requested; and 

b. an explanation of the reasons why the provisions 
cannot be met and why a waiver is being requested. 

3. The request for a waiver will be answered in 
writing and approvals will be maintained on file by the 
requesting provider and the department. The department 
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shall document the reasons for granting the waiver. A waiver 
shall be granted for a period of one year or as specified by 
the secretary and will not be renewed if the basis for it no 
longer exists. If the provider has been granted a waiver by 
the department, the waiver will be identified on the survey 
report of any subsequent annual survey report. 

F. Variance Request 
1. The secretary of the department, in specific 

instances, may grant an exception to the standards 
temporarily for the purposes of allowing emergency 
placement of a child as long as the health, safety, and well-
being of the child or other children in the home is not 
imperiled.  

2. A request for a variance shall be made in writing 
and shall include a statement of the provisions for which the 
variance is being requested. 

3. The request for a variance will be answered in 
writing and specify the period of time for which the variance 
is being granted. A variance may be granted for a length of 
time not to exceed 90 days, and may be renewed one time, 
for good cause shown, for an additional 90 day period not to 
exceed 180 days. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 36:477 
and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing Section LR 37: 
§7305. Definitions 

Abuse—any one of the following acts which seriously 
endangers the physical, mental, or emotional health of the 
child: 

1. the infliction, attempted infliction, or, as a result of 
inadequate supervision, the allowance of the infliction or 
attempted infliction of physical or mental injury upon the 
child by a parent or any other person; 

2. the exploitation or overwork of a child by a parent 
or any other person; and 

3. the involvement of the child in any sexual act with 
a parent or any other person, or the aiding or toleration by 
the parent or the caretaker of the child’s sexual involvement 
with any other person or of the child’s involvement in 
pornographic displays or any other involvement of a child in 
sexual activity constituting a crime under the laws of this 
state. 

Affiliate— 
1. with respect to a partnership, each partner thereof; 
2. with respect to a corporation, each officer, director 

and stockholder thereof; 
3. with respect to a natural person, that person and any 

individual related by blood, marriage, or adoption within the 
third degree of kinship to that person; any partnership, 
together with any or all its partners, in which that person is a 
partner; and any corporation in which that person an officer, 
director or stockholder, or holds, directly or indirectly, a 
controlling interest;  

4. with respect to any of the above, any mandatory, 
agent, or representative or any other person, natural or 
juridical acting at the direction of or on behalf of the licensee 
or applicant; or 

5. director of any such. 
Child—a person who has not reached age eighteen or 

otherwise been legally emancipated. The words "child" and 
"children" are used interchangeably in this Chapter. 

Child Placing Agency—any institution, society, agency, 
corporation, facility, person or persons, or any other group 
engaged in placing children in foster care or with substitute 
parents for temporary care or for adoption or engaged in 
assisting or facilitating the adoption of children, or engaged 
in placing youth in transitional placing programs but shall 
not mean a person who may occasionally refer children for 
temporary care. 

Complaint—an allegation that any person is violating any 
provisions of these standards or engaging in conduct, either 
by omission or commission, that negatively affects the 
health, safety, rights, or welfare of any child who is 
receiving services from a CPA. 

Criminal Background Check—the requirement of state 
law and federal funding rule for checking criminal records 
for certain offenses prior to employing an individual who 
will have access to a child in a CPA as well as for 
prospective foster or adoptive parents. 

Department—the Department of Children and Family 
Services.  

Director—the person with authority and responsibility for 
the on-site, daily implementation and supervision of the 
overall provider's operation. 

Disqualification Period—means the prescriptive period 
during which the department shall not accept an application 
from a provider. Any unlicensed operation during the 
disqualification period shall interrupt running of prescription 
until the department has verified that the unlicensed 
operation has ceased. 

Effective Date—the date of the revocation, denial, or non-
renewal of a license shall be the last day for applying to 
appeal the action, if the action is not appealed. 

Facility—any place, program, facility or agency operated 
or required by law to operate under a license, including 
facilities owned or operated by any governmental, profit, 
nonprofit, private, or church agency. 

Foster Care—a social service that provides a planned 
period of substitute care in a foster home, a relative's home, 
or other living arrangements for children or youth when their 
families cannot or will not care for them. 

Foster Home—a private home of one or more persons 
who provide continuing 24-hour substitute parenting for one 
to six children living apart from their parent(s) or guardian's 
and are placed for foster care under the supervision of the 
department or of a licensed child-placing provider. 

Foster Parent—an individual(s) who provides foster care 
with the approval and under the supervision of the 
department or of a licensed child-placing provider.  

Human Service Field—the field of employment similar or 
related to social services such as social work, psychology, 
sociology, special education, nursing, rehabilitation 
counseling, juvenile justice and/or corrections through which 
a person gains experience in providing services to the public 
and/or private children that serves to meet the years of 
experience required for a job as specified on the job 
description for that position. 

Home Study—an evaluation of a home environment 
conducted in accordance with applicable requirements of the 
state in which the home is located to determine whether a 
proposed placement of a child would meet the individual 
needs of the child, including the child's safety, permanency, 
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health, well-being, and mental, emotional, and physical 
development. 

Injury of Unknown Origin—an injury where the source of 
the injury was not observed by any person or the source of 
the injury could not be explained by the child and the injury 
is suspicious because of the extent of the injury or the 
location of the injury (e.g., the injury is located in an area 
not generally vulnerable to trauma). 

Interstate Home Study—a home study conducted by a 
state at the request of another state to facilitate an adoptive 
or foster placement in the state of a child in foster care under 
the responsibility of the state. 

Legal Custody—the right to have physical custody of the 
child and to determine where and with whom the child shall 
reside; to exercise the rights and duty to protect, train, and 
discipline the child; the authority to consent to major 
medical, psychiatric, and surgical treatment; and to provide 
the child with food, shelter, education, and ordinary medical 
care, all subject to any residual rights possessed by the 
child's parents. 

Legal Guardianship—the duty and authority to make 
important decisions in matters having a permanent effect on 
the life and development of the child and the responsibility 
for the child's general welfare until he reaches the age of 
majority, subject to any child rights possessed by the child's 
parents. It shall include the rights and responsibilities of 
legal custody. 

Legal Guardian—the caretaker in a legal guardianship 
relationship. This could be the parent or any provider 
representative. 

License—any license issued by the department to operate 
any child care facility or CPA as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

Neglect—the refusal or unreasonable failure of a parent or 
caretaker to supply the child with necessary food, clothing, 
shelter, care, treatment, or counseling for any injury, illness, 
or condition of the child, as a result of which the child's 
physical, mental, or emotional health and safety is 
substantially threatened or impaired (Ch.C Art 603). 

Parent—any living person who is presumed to be a parent 
under the Civil Code or a biological or adoptive mother or 
father of a child. 

Provider—an entity that is responsible for the placement 
of children in foster care to include the Department of 
Children and Family Services and any private child placing 
provider licensed by the department. All owners or operators 
of a facility, including the director of such facility. If the 
owner is a corporate entity the owners are the officers, 
directors, and shareholders of the facility. 

Related or Relative—a natural or adopted child or 
grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal custody of 
the caregiver. 

Respite Care—temporary care provided by another 
individual or family to provide relief to a foster care parent 
or to allow an adjustment period for the child placed in out-
of-home care. 

Service Plan—a written plan of action usually developed 
between the family, child, social worker, and other service 
providers, that identifies needs, sets goals, and describes 
strategies and timelines for achieving goals.  

Specialized Foster Care—a foster care service to 
accommodate the needs of a child or youth who is unable to 
live with the child/youth’s own family and who has either an 

emotional, behavior, medical or developmental problem that 
requires more time consuming and specialized care with 
professional oversight based on the child's specific needs but 
whose needs prevent placement in a basic level foster home. 

Substantial Bodily Harm—a physical injury serious 
enough that a prudent person would conclude that the injury 
required professional medical attention. It does not include 
minor bruising, the risk of minor bruising, or similar forms 
of minor bodily harm that will resolve healthily without 
professional medical attention.  

Therapeutic Foster Care—a foster care service to 
accommodate the needs of a child or youth who require 
extremely time consuming, specialized care and supervision 
from a trained person, and ongoing, frequent professional 
oversight, based on the child's specific needs but whose 
needs prevent placement in a basic or specialized foster 
home.  

Transitional Placing Program—a program that places 
youth, at least 16 years of age, in an independent living 
situation supervised by a provider with the goal of preparing 
the youth for living independently without supervision.  

Unlicensed Operation—operation of any child care 
facility or child-placing agency, at any location, without a 
valid, current license issued by the department. 

Variance—an exception granted temporarily for the 
purpose of emergency admittance of specific children.  

Volunteer—an individual who works for the provider and 
whose work is uncompensated. This may include students, 
interns, tutors, counselors, and other non-staff individuals 
who may or may not work directly with the child. Persons 
who visit the provider solely for providing activities for the 
provider and who are not left alone with the child are not 
considered as volunteers.  

Waiver—an exemption granted by the secretary of the 
department, or designee, from compliance with a standard 
that will not place the child or staff member at risk. 

Youtha person not less than sixteen years of age nor 
older than twenty one years of age. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7307. Licensing Requirements 

A. General Provisions 
1. Before beginning operation, it is mandatory to 

obtain a license from the department.  
2. In addition all facilities shall comply with the 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 
U.S.C. §12101 et seq. (ADA). 

B. Initial Licensing Application Process 
1. An initial application for licensing as a CPA 

provider shall be obtained from the department. A completed 
initial license application packet for an applicant shall be 
submitted to and approved by department prior to an 
applicant providing CPA services. The completed initial 
licensing packet shall include:  

a. application and non-refundable fee; 
b. Office of Fire Marshal approval for occupancy; if 

applicable; 
c. Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services 

approval, if applicable; 
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d. city fire department approval, if applicable;  
e. city or parish building permit office approval, if 

applicable; 
f. local zoning approval, if applicable; 
g. copy of proof of current general liability and 

property insurance for facility;  
h. copy of proof of insurance for vehicle(s); 
i. organizational chart or equivalent list of staff 

titles and supervisory chain of command;  
j. director resumé and proof of educational 

requirement;  
k. supervisor and case manager resumé and proof of 

educational requirement; 
l. list of consultant/contract staff to include name, 

contact info and responsibilities; 
m. copy of program plan;  
n. copy of table of contents of all policy and 

procedure manuals; 
o. copy of evacuation plan, if applicable; 
p. copy of house rules and regulations, if applicable; 
q. copy of grievance process; 
r. a floor sketch or drawing of the premises to be 

licensed, if applicable; and  
s. any other documentation or information required 

by the department for licensure. 
2. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, the 

applicant will be notified of the missing information and will 
have 10 working days to submit the additional requested 
information. If the department does not receive the 
additional requested information within the 10 working 
days, the application will be closed. After an initial licensing 
application is closed, an applicant who is still interested in 
becoming a CPA shall submit a new initial licensing packet 
with a new application fee to start the initial licensing 
process. Once the department has determined the application 
is complete, the applicant will be notified to contact the 
department to schedule an initial survey. If an applicant fails 
to contact the department and coordinate the initial survey 
within 45 days of the notification, the initial licensing 
application shall be closed. After an initial licensing 
application is closed, an applicant who is still interested in 
becoming a CPA shall submit a new initial licensing packet 
with a new application fee to re-start the initial licensing 
process.  

C. Initial Licensing Survey 
1. Prior to the initial license being issued to the CPA, 

an initial licensing survey shall be conducted on-site at the 
CPA to assure compliance with all licensing standards. The 
initial licensing survey shall be an announced survey. No 
resident shall be provided services by the CPA until the 
initial licensing survey has been performed and the 
department has issued an initial license. 

2. In the event the initial licensing survey finds the 
CPA is compliant with all licensing laws and standards, and 
is compliant with all other required statutes, laws, 
ordinances, rules, regulations, and fees, the department may 
issue a full license to the provider after receipt of the annual 
licensing fee as prescribed by the department. The license 
shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the license, 
unless the license is modified, extended, revoked, 
suspended, or terminated.  

3. In the event the initial licensing survey finds the 
CPA is noncompliant with any licensing laws or standards, 
or any other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, or 
regulations that present a potential threat to the health, 
safety, or welfare of the participants, the department shall 
deny the initial license. 

4. In the event the initial licensing survey finds that 
the CPA is noncompliant with any licensing laws or 
standards, statutes, laws, ordinances, or rules but the 
department, in its sole discretion, determines that the 
noncompliance does not present a threat to the health, safety, 
or welfare of the participants, the department may issue an 
initial license for a period not to exceed three months. The 
provider shall submit a corrective action plan to the 
department. The corrective action plan shall include a 
description of how the deficiency shall be corrected and the 
date by which corrections shall be completed. The 
department must approve the corrective action plan prior to 
issuing the initial license. If the department determines, prior 
to the expiration date of the initial license, that such 
noncompliance or deficiencies have been corrected, a license 
will be issued. If the department determines that such 
noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected, the 
license will expire and all operations shall cease. The 
provider shall be required to begin the initial licensing 
process again by submitting a new initial license application 
packet and fee. 

5. The license shall be displayed in a prominent place 
at the CPA except that those operated by a church or 
religious organization may be exempt from such requirement 
provided the license is available upon request. 

6. Once a CPA has been issued a license, the 
department shall conduct licensing and other surveys at 
intervals deemed necessary by the department to determine 
compliance with licensing standards, as well as, other 
required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 
fees. These surveys shall be unannounced.  

7. The department shall remove any child or all 
children from any home or when it is determined that one or 
more deficiencies exist within the home that place the health 
and well being of the child or children in imminent danger. 
The child or children shall not be returned to the home until 
such time as it is determined that the imminent danger has 
been removed. 

8. Department staff shall be given access to all areas 
of the facility and to all relevant files during any licensing or 
other survey. They shall be allowed to interview any 
provider staff or participant as necessary to conduct the 
survey. 

9. If an applicant or member of his/her immediate 
family has had a previous license revoked, refused or denied, 
upon reapplication, the applicant shall provide written 
evidence that the reason for such revocation, refusal or 
denial no longer exists.  

D. Fees 
1. There shall be an annual fee as prescribed by the 

department for a license or renewed license, payable to the 
department 30 days prior to the date of issuance by certified 
check or money order. Non-payment of fee by due date may 
result in revocation of licensing. 

2. Other license fees include: 
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a. replacement fee of $25 for replacing a license 
when changes are requested, i.e., change in capacity, name 
change, age range, etc. No replacement charge will be 
incurred when the request coincides with the regular renewal 
of a license; 

b. a processing fee of $5 for issuing a duplicate 
license with no changes.  

E. Renewal of License 
1. The license shall be renewed on an annual basis.  
2. The provider shall submit, at least 60 days prior to 

its license expiration date, a completed renewal application 
form and applicable fee. The following documentation must 
also be included:  

a. Office of Fire Marshal approval for occupancy;  
b. Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services 

approval;  
c. city fire department approval, if applicable;  
d. copy of proof of current general liability and 

property insurance for facility; and 
e. copy of proof of insurance for vehicle(s).  

3. Prior to renewing the CPA license, an on-site survey 
shall be conducted to assure compliance with all licensing 
laws and standards. If the CPA is found to be in compliance 
with the licensing laws and standards, and any other required 
statutes, laws, ordinances, or regulations, the license shall be 
renewed for a 12 month period.  

4. In the event the annual licensing survey finds the 
CPA is non-compliant with any licensing laws or standards, 
or any other required statutes, ordinances or regulations but 
the department, in its sole discretion, determines that the 
noncompliance does not present a threat to the health, safety, 
or welfare of the participants, the provider shall be required 
to submit a corrective action plan to the department for 
approval. The department shall specify the timeline for 
submitting the corrective action plan based on such non-
compliance or deficiencies cited but no later than 10 days 
from the date of notification. The corrective action plan shall 
include a description of how the deficiency shall be 
corrected and the date by which correction(s) shall be 
completed. Failure to submit an approved corrective action 
plan timely shall be grounds for non-renewal.  

5. If it is determined that such noncompliance or 
deficiencies have not been corrected prior to the expiration 
of the license, the department may issue an extension of the 
license not to exceed to 60 days.  

6. When it is determined by the department that such 
noncompliance or deficiencies have been corrected, a license 
will be issued for a period not to exceed 12 months.  

7. If it is determined that all areas of noncompliance 
or deficiencies have not been corrected prior to the 
expiration date of the extension, the department may revoke 
the license.  

F. Notification of Changes  
1. A license is not transferable to another person or 

location.  
2. When a provider changes location, it is considered 

a new operation and a new application and fee for licensure 
shall be submitted 30 days prior to the anticipated move. All 
items listed in §7307.B.1 shall be in compliance for the new 
location. An onsite survey is required prior to change of 
location.  

3. When a provider is initiating a change in ownership 
a written notice shall be submitted to the department. Within 
five working days of the change of ownership, the new 
owner shall submit a completed application, the applicable 
licensing fee and a copy of bill of sale or a lease agreement. 

4. The provider shall provide written notification to 
the department within 30 days of changes in administration 
and professional personnel, program direction and admission 
criteria. A statement to the qualifications of the new 
employee shall be sent to the office. 

G. Denial, Revocation, or Non-renewal of License 
1. An application for a license may be denied, revoked 

or not renewed for any of the following reasons:  
a. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of the 

residents in care;  
b. violation of any provision of the standards, rules, 

regulations, or orders of the department;  
c. disapproval from any whose approval is required 

for licensing;  
d. nonpayment of licensing fee or failure to submit 

a licensing application; 
e. any validated instance of abuse, neglect, corporal 

punishment, physical punishment, or cruel, severe or 
unusual punishment, if the owner is responsible or if the 
staff member who is responsible remains in the employment 
of the licensee;  

f. the facility is closed with no plans for reopening 
and no means of verifying compliance with minimum 
standards for licensure; or 

g. any act of fraud such as falsifying or altering 
documents required for licensure; 

h. provider refuses to allow the Licensing Section to 
perform mandated duties, i.e., denying entrance to the 
facility, lack of cooperation for completion of duties, 
intimidating or threatening DCFS staff, etc. 

2. Even if a facility is otherwise in substantial 
compliance with these standards, an application for a license 
may be denied, revoked or not renewed for any of the 
following reasons: 

a. the owner, director, officer, board of directors 
member, or any person designated to manage or supervise 
the provider or any staff providing care, supervision, or 
treatment to a resident of the facility has been convicted of 
or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any offense listed in R.S. 
15:587.1. A copy of a criminal record check performed by 
the Louisiana State Police (LSP) or other law enforcement 
provider, or by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), or 
a copy of court records in which a conviction or plea 
occurred, indicating the existence of such a plea or 
conviction shall create a rebuttal presumption that such a 
conviction or plea exists;  

b. the provider, after being notified that an officer, 
director, board of directors member, manager, supervisor or 
any employee has been convicted of or pled nolo contendere 
to any offense referenced above, allows such officer, 
director, or employee to remain employed, or to fill an office 
of profit or trust with the provider. A copy of a criminal 
record check performed by the LSP or other law 
enforcement provider, or by the FBI, or a copy of court 
records in which a conviction or plea occurred, indicating 
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the existence of such a plea or conviction shall create a 
reputable presumption that such a conviction or plea exists; 

c. failure of the owner, director or any employee to 
report a known or suspected incident of abuse or neglect to 
child protection authorities; 

d. revocation or non-renewal of a previous license 
issued by a state or federal provider; 

e. a substantial history of non-compliance with 
licensing statutes or standards, including but not limited to 
failure to take prompt action to correct deficiencies, repeated 
citations for the same deficiencies, or revocation or denial of 
any previous license issued by the department; 

f. failure to timely submit an application for 
renewal or to timely pay required fees; and/or 

g. operating any unlicensed facility and/or program. 
3. If a license is revoked, denied or refused, a license 

may also be denied or refused to any affiliate of the licensee 
or applicant. For the purpose of this Section, "affiliate" 
means: 

a. with respect to a partnership, each partner 
thereof; 

b. with respect to a corporation, each officer, 
director and stockholder thereof; and 

c. with respect to a natural person: anyone related 
within the third degree of kinship to that person; each 
partnership and each partner thereof which that person or 
any affiliate of that person is a partner; and each corporation 
in which that person or any affiliate of that person is an 
officer, director or stockholder. 

4. In the event a license is revoked or renewal is 
denied, (other than for cessation of business or non-
operational status), or voluntarily surrendered to avoid 
adverse action any owner, officer, member, manager, 
director or administrator of such licensee shall be prohibited 
from owning, managing, directing or operating another 
licensed facility for a period of not less than two years from 
the date of the final disposition of the revocation or denial 
action. The lapse of two years shall not automatically restore 
a person disqualified under this provision to eligibility for 
employment. The department, at its sole discretion, may 
determine that a longer period of disqualification is 
warranted under the facts of a particular case. 

H. Posting of Notices of Revocation 
1. The notice of revocation of the license shall be 

prominently posted. 
a. The Department of Children and Family Services 

shall prominently post a notice of revocation action at each 
public entrance of the CPA within one business day of such 
action. This notice must remain visible to the general public, 
other placing agencies, parents, guardians, and other 
interested parties who are involved with children who attend 
the child care facility. 

b. It shall be a violation of these rules for a provider 
to permit the obliteration or removal of a notice of 
revocation that has been posted by the department. The 
provider shall ensure that the notice continues to be visible 
the general public, other placing agencies, parents, 
guardians, and other interested parties throughout the 
pendency of any appeals of the revocation. 

c. The provider shall notify the department’s 
licensing section in writing immediately if the notice is 
removed or obliterated. 

d. Failure to maintain the posted notice of 
revocation required under these rules shall be grounds for 
denial, revocation or non-renewal of any future license. 

I. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
1. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed due 

to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing rules, 
the department shall not accept a subsequent application 
from the provider for that facility or any new facility for a 
minimum period of two years after the effective date of 
revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of two years 
after all appeal rights have been exhausted, whichever is 
later (the disqualification period). Any pending application 
by the same provider shall be treated as an application for a 
new facility for purposes of this section and shall be denied 
and subject to the disqualification period. Any subsequent 
application for a license shall be reviewed by the secretary 
or her designee prior to a decision being made to grant a 
license. The department reserves the right to determine, at its 
sole discretion, whether to issue any subsequent license. 

2. Any voluntary surrender of a license by a facility 
facing the possibility of adverse action against its license 
(revocation or non-renewal) shall be deemed to be a 
revocation for purposes of this rule, and shall trigger the 
same disqualification period as if the license had actually 
been revoked. 

3. In addition, if the applicant has had a substantial 
history of non-compliance, including but not limited to 
revocation of a previous license, operation without a license, 
or denial of one or more previous applications for licensure, 
the department may refuse to accept a subsequent 
application from that applicant for a minimum period of 24 
months after the effective date of denial. 

4. With respect to an application in connection with 
the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

J. Appeal Process 
1. If the department refuses to grant or renew a 

license, if a license is revoked, the procedure will be as 
follows. 

a. The department shall notify the licensee, or 
applicant in writing of the denial or revocation and the 
reasons for that denial or revocation and the right of appeal. 

b. The program director or owner may appeal this 
decision by submitting a written request with the reasons to 
the secretary, Department of Children and Family Services, 
Bureau of Appeals, P. O. Box 2994, Baton Rouge, LA 
70821-9118. This written request shall be postmarked within 
15 days of the receipt of the notification in §7107.H.1 above.  

c. The Division of Administrative Law shall set a 
hearing to be held within 30 days after receipt of such a 
request except as provided in the Administrative Procedures 
Act.  

d. An administrative law judge shall conduct the 
hearing. Within 90 days after the date the appeal is filed, the 
administrative law judge shall notify the appellant in writing 
of the decision, either affirming or reversing the original 
decision. If the department’s decision is upheld, the facility 
shall terminate operation immediately.  

2. If the facility continues to operate without a license, 
the department may file suit in the district court in the parish 
in which the facility is located for injunctive relief.  
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K. Voluntary Closure 
1. When a licensee voluntarily ceases operation, the 

licensee shall notify the department in writing at least 30 
days before the closure date. 

2. The provider shall make adequate preparation and 
arrangements for the care, custody and control of any 
children in the custody and/or care of the provider. 

3. The provider shall make arrangements for the 
preservation of records. 

L. Complaint Process 
1. In accordance with R.S. 46:1418, the department 

shall investigate all complaints (except complaints 
concerning the prevention or spread of communicable 
diseases), including complaints alleging abuse or neglect, 
within prescribed time frames as determined by the 
department based on the allegation(s) of the complaint. All 
complaint investigation will be initiated within 30 days.  

2. All complaint surveys shall be unannounced 
surveys. 

3. A written report of any noncompliance or 
deficiencies will be given to the provider. The provider shall 
be required to submit a corrective action plan to the 
department for approval. The department shall specify the 
timeline for submitting the corrective action plan based on 
the areas of non-compliance cited but no later than 10 days 
from the date of receipt of the notification. The corrective 
action plan shall include a description of how the deficiency 
shall be corrected and the date by which corrections shall be 
completed. If it is determined that all areas of 
noncompliance or deficiencies have not been corrected, the 
department may revoke the license.  

4. Except in cases alleging abuse or neglect, the 
complainant will be notified in writing of the results of the 
complaint investigation conducted by the department’s 
licensing section.  

5. If, because of the nature of the allegations, state law 
or department policy requires that the complaint be handled 
by another office, or board (including another office or board 
within the department), the complaint will be referred to the 
appropriate office or board without delay. Upon such 
referral, except in cases involving abuse or neglect, the 
complainant will be notified, in writing, of the referral. 

6. The complaint procedure shall be posted 
conspicuously in the facility including the name, address, 
and telephone number of the required department units to be 
notified.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7309. Administration and Operation 

A. Department Access  
1. The provider shall allow representatives of the 

department in the performance of their mandated duties to 
inspect all aspects of a program's function that impacts on 
children and to interview any staff member or child. The 
department representatives shall be admitted immediately 
and without delay, and shall be given free access to all areas 
of a facility, including its grounds. 

2. The provider shall make any information that the 
provider is required to have under the present standards, and 

any information reasonably related to determination of 
compliance with these standards available to the department. 
The children's rights shall not be considered abridged by this 
standard.  

B. Other Jurisdictional Approvals 
1. The provider shall comply and show proof of 

compliance with all relevant standards, regulations and 
requirements established by federal, state, local and 
municipal regulatory bodies.  

2. Except for a child in the custody of or otherwise 
made the legal responsibility of the department or the 
Department of Corrections, Office of Juvenile Justice, the 
provider shall be responsible for obtaining the following: 

a. agreement for voluntary care signed by the 
custodian; or 

b. order from a court of competent jurisdiction 
placing the child into the custody of the child-placing 
provider. 

C. Governing Body. The provider shall have an 
identifiable governing body with responsibility for and 
authority over the policies, procedures and activities of the 
provider.  

1. The provider shall have documents identifying all 
members of the governing body, their addresses, the term of 
their membership (if applicable), officers of the governing 
body (if applicable) and the terms of office of all officers (if 
applicable).  

2. When the governing body of a provider is 
composed of more than one person, the governing body shall 
hold formal meetings at least twice a year.  

3. When the governing body is composed of more 
than one person, a provider shall have written minutes of all 
formal meetings of the governing body and bylaws 
specifying frequency of meetings and quorum requirements.  

D. Responsibilities of a Governing Body. The governing 
body of the provider shall:  

1. ensure the provider's compliance and conformity 
with the provider's charter; 

2. ensure the provider's continual compliance and 
conformity with all relevant federal, state, local and 
municipal laws and standards; 

3. ensure the provider is adequately funded and 
fiscally sound by reviewing and approving the provider's 
annual budget or cost report; 

4. ensure the provider is housed, maintained, staffed 
and equipped appropriately considering the nature of the 
provider's program; 

5. designate a person to act as director and delegate 
sufficient authority to this person to manage the provider; 

6. formulate and annually review, in consultation with 
the director, written policies and procedures concerning the 
provider's philosophy, goals, current services, personnel 
practices and fiscal management; 

7. have the authority to dismiss the director; 
8. meet with designated representatives of the 

department whenever required to do so; 
9. inform designated representatives of the department 

prior to initiating any substantial changes in the program, 
services or physical location of the provider.  

E. Authority to Operate 
1. A private provider shall have documentation of its 

authority to operate under state law.  
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2. A privately owned provider shall have 
documentation identifying the names and addresses of 
owners.  

3. A corporation, partnership or association shall 
identify the names and addresses of its members and officers 
and shall, where applicable, have a charter, partnership 
agreement, constitution, and articles of association or 
bylaws.  

F. Accessibility of Director. The director, or a person 
authorized to act on behalf of the director, shall be accessible 
to provider staff or designated representatives of the 
department at all times (24 hours per day, 7 days per week).  

G. Statement of Philosophy 
1. The provider shall have a written statement of its 

child placing philosophy, purpose and program. The 
statement shall contain a description of all the services the 
provider provides to include: 

a. the extent, limitation, and scope of the services 
for which a license is sought; 

b. the geographical area to be served; and 
c. the ages and types of children to be accepted for 

placement. 
2. The statement shall be one that has been adopted by 

the governing body. When the provider is operated under a 
charter or articles of incorporation, all of its functions shall 
be stated therein. 

3. When a provider adds a new function to its 
program, its governing body shall adopt a supplementary 
statement of such function. 

H. Policies and Procedures 
1. The provider shall have a clearly defined intake 

policy in keeping with its stated purpose and it should be 
clear from the practices of the provider that it is carrying out 
these purposes. 

a. Provider intake policy shall prohibit 
discrimination on the basis of race, color, creed, sex, national 
origin, handicapping condition, or ancestry. 

b. A provider shall have a written description of 
admission policies and criteria which expresses the needs, 
problems, situations or patterns best addressed by its 
program. These policies shall be available to the legally 
responsible person for any child referred for placement. 

2. The provider shall have operational and program 
policy and procedure manuals that are current and clearly 
stated in writing to ensure the practices of the provider are in 
keeping with its stated purpose and with minimum 
requirements for child placement. 

3. The provider policies and procedures shall cover 
such areas as: 

a. personnel; 
b. admission; 
c. social services related to child placement; 
d. financial arrangements; 
e. medical care; 
f. personal care and supervision for children; 
g. discipline; 
h. resource development and utilization; 
i. social services related to post-placement; 
j. abuse and neglect; 
k. confidentiality; 
l. records; 

m. complaints; and 
n. grievances. 

4. The provider shall develop written policies and 
procedures regarding employees of the provider serving as a 
foster parent or respite care provider. 

5. The provider shall develop written policies and 
procedures that address the prevention or appearance of: 

a. a conflict of interest; or 
b. misuse of influence. 

I. Location and Equipment 
1. The provider shall provide suitable space for the 

following purposes: 
a. office and reception areas which provide 

comfort, safety, privacy, and convenience for children and 
staff; 

b. areas for confidential interviewing with parent(s) 
and children and visitation between parent(s) and children if 
applicable to the program; 

c. storage areas for personnel and child records 
which provide controlled access, retrieval, and 
confidentiality. 

2. The provider shall maintain suitable equipment in 
good working condition for the operation of the office and 
the functioning of the staff. 

3. The provider shall provide furnishings which are 
clean and safe. 

4. The provider shall assist children and families in 
arranging transportation necessary for implementing the 
child's service plan. 

5. The provider shall have means of transporting 
children which are equipped with safety seats in accordance 
with the laws and standards. 

6. The provider and staff shall maintain and operate 
vehicles used for transporting children in safe condition, in 
conformity with appropriate motor vehicle laws and 
standards. 

7. The provider shall carry liability insurance or 
determine that it is carried on all offices and vehicles used 
for providing services and transporting children. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7311. Provider Responsibilities 

A. Human Resources  
1. Policies and Procedures. The provider shall have 

written policies and procedures that include: 
a. a plan for recruitment, screening, orientation, 

ongoing training, development, supervision, and 
performance evaluation of staff members to include contract 
services and volunteers; 

b. written job descriptions for each staff position 
including volunteers; 

c. health screening of all staff in accordance with 
public health guidelines to include screening for 
communicable diseases; 

d. an employee grievance process; 
e. abuse and neglect reporting procedures that 

require all employees to report any incidents of abuse or 
neglect whether that abuse or neglect is done by another staff 
member, a family member, a child, or any other person; and 
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f. preventing discrimination. 
2. Personnel Requirements  

a. The provider shall employ a sufficient number of 
qualified staff and delegate sufficient authority to such staff 
to perform the following functions:  
 i. administrative; 
 ii. fiscal;  
 iii. clerical; 
 iv. child services;  
 v. record keeping and reporting;  
 vi. social service; and, 
 vii. ancillary services. 

b. The provider shall ensure that all staff members 
are properly certified or licensed as legally required and 
appropriately qualified for their position.  

c. Personnel can work in more than one capacity as 
long as they meet all of the qualifications of the position and 
have met the trainings requirements. 

d. In all instances, child placement staff shall 
include a person meeting the qualifications of a supervisor of 
placement services. 

e. A staff person shall be delegated supervisory 
authority and responsibility in the short-term absence of the 
supervisor of placement services for illness, vacation, jury or 
military duty, professional seminars and meetings or in 
short-term periods when the position is vacant. 

f. A person serving as acting supervisor shall meet 
the qualifications of supervisor of placement services. If 
there is no one on staff who meets the qualification, the 
provider may meet the minimum requirements for licensing 
by entering into an agreement with another provider for 
supervision or by entering into a contractual agreement with 
a private practitioner who meets the qualifications and is a 
board certified social worker. 

3. Personnel Qualifications 
a. Director. The director shall meet one of the 

following qualifications: 
 i. a bachelor's degree in a human service field or 
business administration, public administration, childcare 
administration plus three years experience relative to the 
population being served. One year of administrative 
experience in social services may be substituted for two 
years of regular experience. A master's degree plus two years 
of social service experience may be substituted for the three 
years of experience. An alternative may be a bachelor of 
social work (BSW) degree or professional equivalent with 
three years experience working with children, one year of 
which may be experience in administration; or  
 ii. a master’s degree in health care administration 
or in a human service related field; or 
 iii. in lieu of a degree, six years of administrative 
experience in health or social services, or a combination of 
undergraduate education and experience for a total of six 
years. 

4. Personnel Job Duties  
a. The director shall be responsible for:  

 i. implementing and complying with policies and 
procedures adopted by the governing body; 
 ii. adhering to all federal and state laws and 
standards pertaining to the operation of the provider; 
 iii. address areas of non-compliance identified by 
annual survey and complaint investigations; 

 iv. directing the program; 
 v. representing the provider in the community; 
 vi. delegating appropriate responsibilities to other 
staff including the responsibility of being in charge of the 
provider during their absence; 
 vii. recruiting qualified staff and employing, 
supervising, evaluating, training and terminating 
employment of staff; 
 viii. providing leadership and carrying supervisory 
authority in relation to the provider; 
 ix. providing consultation to the governing body 
in carrying out their responsibilities, interpreting to them the 
needs of children, making needed policy revision 
recommendations and assisting them in periodic evaluation 
of the provider's services; 
 x. preparing the annual budget for the governing 
body's consideration, keeping the body informed of financial 
needs, and operating within the established budget; 
 xi. supervising the provider's management 
including building, maintenance and purchasing; 
 xii. participating with the governing body in 
interpreting the provider's need for financial support; 
 xiii. establishing effective communication between 
staff and children and providing for their input into program 
planning and operating procedures; 
 xiv. reporting injuries, deaths and critical incidents 
involving children to the appropriate authorities; 
 xv. supervising the performance of all persons 
involved in any service delivery/direct care to children; and, 
 xvi. completing an annual performance evaluation 
of all staff. For any person who interacts with children, a 
provider's performance evaluation procedures shall address 
the quality and quantity of their work. 

5. Orientation  
a. The provider's orientation program shall include 

the following topics for all staff within 15 working days of 
the date of employment: 
 i. philosophy, organization, program, practices 
and goals of the provider; 
 ii. specific responsibilities of assigned job duties; 
 iii. administrative procedures; 
 iv. children's rights; 
 v. detecting and reporting suspected abuse and 
neglect; 
 vi. confidentiality; and 
 vii. reporting incidents. 

b. All staff shall sign a statement of understanding 
certifying that such training has occurred.  

c. A new employee shall not be given sole 
responsibility until training is completed. 

6. Annual Training  
a. The provider shall ensure that all staff receives 

training on an annual basis in the following topics:  
 i. administrative procedures and programmatic 
goals; 
 ii. children's rights;  
 iii. detecting and reporting suspected abuse and 
neglect; 
 iv. confidentiality; and 
 v. reporting incidents. 

b. All staff shall sign a statement of understanding 
certifying that such training has occurred.  
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c. The provider shall maintain sufficient 
information available to determine content of training. This 
information shall be available for review.  

7. Volunteers 
a. Providers who utilize volunteers to perform staff 

functions shall: 
 i. have orientation, training, and be given a job 
description for the duties they are to perform; 
 ii. have a criminal background check as required 
in R.S. 15:587.1 and R.S. 46:51.2; 
 iii. have a completed state central registry 
disclosure form prepared by the department whether or not 
his/her name is currently recorded on the state central 
registry for a justified finding of abuse or neglect and he/she 
is the named perpetrator as required in R.S. 46.1414.1. 

B. Record Keeping 
1. Administrative Records 

a. The provider shall have an administrative file 
that shall contain, at a minimum, the following: 
 i. a written program plan describing the services 
and programs offered by the provider; 
 ii. organizational chart of the provider; 
 iii. all leases, contracts and purchase-of-service 
agreements to which the provider is a party; 
 iv. insurance policies. Every provider shall 
maintain in force at all times a comprehensive general 
liability insurance policy. This policy shall be in addition to 
any professional liability policies maintained by the provider 
and shall extend coverage to any staff member who provides 
transportation for any resident in the course and scope of 
his/her employment;  
 v. all written agreements with appropriately 
qualified professionals, or a state provider, for required 
professional services or resources not available from 
employees of the provider; and, 
 vi. written documentation of all residents’ exits 
and entrances from provider property not covered under 
summary of attendance and leave. Documentation must 
include, at a minimum, date, time and destination. 

2. Personnel Records 
a. The provider shall have a personnel file for each 

employee that shall contain, at a minimum, the following: 
 i. the application for employment, including the 
resume of education, training, and experience, if applicable; 
 ii. a criminal background check in accordance 
with state law; 
 iii. evidence of applicable professional or 
paraprofessional credentials/certifications according to state 
law; 
 iv. documentation of any state or federally 
required medical examinations or testing; 
 v. documentation of employee's orientation and 
annual training received; 
 vi. employee’s hire and termination dates; 
 vii. documentation of current driver's license for 
operating provider or private vehicles in transporting 
residents; 
 viii. annual performance evaluations to include 
his/her interaction with residents, family, and other 
providers; 

 ix. personnel action, other appropriate materials, 
reports and notes relating to the individual's employment 
with the provider; and, 
 x. annual state central registry disclosure form 
prepared by the department whether or not his/her name is 
currently recorded on the state central registry for a justified 
finding of abuse or neglect and he/she is the named 
perpetrator.  

b. Staff shall have reasonable access to his/her file 
and shall be allowed to add any written statement he/she 
wishes to make to the file at any time.  

c. The personnel file of staff shall be retained for at 
least three years after termination of employment. 

3. Accounting Records 
a. The provider shall establish a system of business 

management and staffing to assure maintenance of complete 
and accurate accounts, books and records.  

b. The provider shall ensure that all entries in 
records are legible, signed by the person making the entry 
and accompanied by the date on which the entry was made.  

c. All records shall be maintained in an accessible, 
standardized order and format, and shall be retained and 
disposed of according to state and federal law.  

d. The provider shall have sufficient space, facilities 
and supplies for providing effective accounting record 
keeping services.  

4. Confidentiality and Retention of Case Records 
a. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures for the maintenance, security and retention of 
records. The provider shall specify who shall supervise the 
maintenance of records, who shall have custody of records, 
and to whom records may be released and disposition or 
destruction of closed service record materials. Records shall 
be the property of the provider, and the provider, as 
custodian, shall secure records against loss, tampering or 
unauthorized use or access.  

b. The provider shall maintain the confidentiality of 
all children's records to include all court related documents, 
as well as, educational and medical records. Every employee 
of the provider has the obligation to maintain the privacy of 
the child and his/her family and shall not disclose or 
knowingly permit the disclosure of any information 
concerning the child or his/her family, directly or indirectly, 
to other children in the provider or any other unauthorized 
person.  

c. When the child is of majority age and not 
interdicted, a provider shall obtain the child's written, 
informed permission prior to releasing any information from 
which the child or his/her family might be identified, except 
for authorized state and federal agencies.  

d. When the child is a minor or is interdicted, the 
provider shall obtain written, informed consent from the 
legal guardian(s) prior to releasing any information from 
which the child might be identified, except for accreditation 
teams and authorized state and federal agencies.  

e. The provider shall, upon written authorization 
from the child or his/her legal guardian(s), make available 
information in the record to the child, his/her counsel or the 
child’s legal guardian(s). If, in the professional judgment of 
the administration of the provider, it is felt that information 
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contained in the record would be injurious to the health or 
welfare of the child, the provider may deny access to the 
record. In any such case, the provider shall prepare written 
reasons for denial to the person requesting the record and 
shall maintain detailed written reasons supporting the denial 
in the child's file.  

f. The provider may use material from the child’s’ 
records for teaching and research purposes, development of 
the governing body's understanding and knowledge of the 
provider's services, or similar educational purposes, 
provided names are deleted, other identifying information 
are disguised or deleted, and written authorization is 
obtained from the child or his/her legal guardian(s).  

g. All records shall be retained and disposed of in 
accordance with state and federal laws. Any person who 
violates the requirement of confidentiality shall be fined not 
more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more 
than ninety days or both. 

h. The provider must maintain the original records 
in an accessible manner for a period of five years following 
the death or discharge of a child. 

i. In the event of a change of ownership, the child 
records shall remain with the provider. 

j. If the provider closes, the owner of the provider 
within the state of Louisiana shall store the child records for 
five years. 

k. The provider is responsible for training all staff at 
least annually in confidentiality of information and records. 

C. Incidents 
1. Critical Incidents. The provider shall have written 

policies and procedures for documenting, reporting, 
investigating and analyzing all critical incidents.  

a. The provider shall report any of the following 
critical incidents to the Child Protection Unit located in the 
parish in which the provider is located. The Child Protection 
Unit shall be responsible for notifying the DCFS Licensing 
Section, when it is identified that a potential non-compliance 
of a licensing standard has occurred: 
 i. abuse; 
 ii. neglect; 
 iii. injuries of unknown origin; or 
 iv. death. 

b. The provider shall report any of the following 
critical incidents to the DCFS Licensing Section: 
 i. attempted suicide; 
 ii. serious threat or injury to the child’s health, 
safety or well-being, i.e. elopement or unexplained absence 
of a child; 
 iii. injury with substantial bodily harm while in 
seclusion or during use of personal restraint; or  
 iv. unplanned hospitalizations, emergency room 
visits, and walk-in or other outpatient emergency care visit. 

c. The director or designee shall:  
 i. immediately verbally notify the legal guardian 
of the incident; 
 ii. immediately verbally notify the appropriate 
law enforcement authority in accordance with state law; 
 iii. submit the mandated critical incident report 
form within 24 hours of the incident to the appropriate unit 
as identified above based on the type of critical incident; 
 iv. submit a final written report of the incident, if 
indicated, to the appropriate unit identified above base on 

the type of critical incident as soon as possible but no later 
than five working days; 
 v. submit a final written report of the incident to 
the legal guardian as soon as possible but no later than five 
working days; and 
 vi. conduct an analysis of the incident and take 
appropriate corrective steps to prevent future incidents from 
occurring.  
 vii. maintain copies of any written reports or 
notifications in the child’s record.  

2. Other Incidents. The provider shall have written 
policies and procedures for documenting, reporting, 
investigating and analyzing all documenting, reporting, 
investigating and analyzing all other accidents, incidents and 
other situations or circumstances affecting the health, safety 
or well-being of a child or children.  

a. The provider shall initiate a detailed report of any 
other unplanned event or series of unplanned events, 
accidents, incidents and other situations or circumstances 
affecting the health, safety or well-being of a child or 
children excluding those identified in C.1.a. above within 24 
hours of the incident. At a minimum, the incident report 
shall contain the following: 
 i. date and time the incident occurred; 
 ii. a brief description of the incident; 
 iii. where the incident occurred; 
 iv. any child or staff involved in the incident; 
 v. immediate treatment provided, if any; 
 vi. symptoms of pain and injury discussed with 
the physician;  
 vii. signature of the staff completing the report;  
 viii. name and address of witnesses; 
 ix. date and time the legal guardian was notified; 
 x. any follow-up required; 
 xi. preventive actions to be taken in the future; and  
 xii. any documentation of supervisory and 
administrative reviews.  

b. A copy of all written reports shall be maintained 
in the child’s record.  

D. Abuse and Neglect  
1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for detecting and reporting suspected abuse or 
neglect that: 

a. describes communication strategies used by the 
provider to maintain staff awareness of abuse prevention, 
current definitions of abuse and neglect, mandated reporting 
requirements to the child protection provider and applicable 
laws;  

b. ensures the child is protected from potential 
harassment during the investigation;  

c. addresses when an examination by a medical 
professional is indicated; 

d. ensures that any staff member who abuses or 
neglects a child will be disciplined;  

e. ensures the staff member involved in the incident 
does not work directly with the child involved in the 
allegation(s) until an internal investigation is conducted by 
the provider or the child protection unit makes an initial 
report; 

f. ensures the staff member that may have been 
involved in the incident is not involved in conducting the 
investigation; 
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g. ensures that confidentiality of the incident is 
protected. 

2. Any case of suspected child abuse or neglect shall 
be reported according to the guidelines outlined in the 
Children's Code Articles Ch.C. 609 and Ch.C. 610. 

E. Children's Rights 
1. Provider Responsibility  

a. The provider shall have written policies and 
procedures that ensure each child’s rights are guaranteed and 
protected.  

b. None of the child’s rights shall be infringed upon 
or restricted in any way unless such restriction is necessary 
to the resident's individual service plan. When individual 
rights restrictions are implemented, the provider shall clearly 
explain and document any restrictions or limitations on those 
rights, the reasons that make those restrictions medically 
necessary in the child's individual service plan and the extent 
and duration of those restrictions. The documentation shall 
be signed by provider staff, the child and the child's legal 
guardian(s) or parent(s), if indicated. No service plan shall 
restrict the access of a child to legal counsel or restrict the 
access of state or local regulatory officials to a resident.  

c. Children with disabilities have the rights 
guaranteed to them under the Americans with Disabilities 
Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq. and regulations 
promulgated pursuant to the ADA, 28 C.F.R. Parts 35 and 36 
and 49 C.F.R. Part 37; §504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 
1973, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §794, and regulations 
promulgated pursuant thereto, including 45 C.F.R. Part 84. 
These include the right to receive services in the most 
integrated setting appropriate to the needs of the individual; 
to obtain reasonable modifications of practices, policies, and 
procedures where necessary (unless such modifications 
constitute a fundamental alteration of the provider’s program 
or pose undue administrative burdens); to receive auxiliary 
aids and services to enable equally effective communication; 
to equivalent transportation services; and to physical access 
to a provider’s facilities. 

2. Privacy 
a. A child has the right to personal privacy and 

confidentiality. Any records and other information about the 
child shall be kept confidential and released only with the 
child’s or legal guardian’s expressed written consent or as 
required by law. 

b. A child shall not be photographed or recorded 
without the express written consent of the child and the 
child's legal guardian(s). All photographs and recordings 
shall be used in a manner that respects the dignity and 
confidentiality of the child. 

c. A child shall not participate in research projects 
without the express written consent of the child and the 
child's legal guardian(s). 

d. A child shall not participate in activities related to 
fundraising and publicity without the express written consent 
of the child and the child's legal guardian(s). 

3. Contact with Family and Collaterals 
a. A child has the right to consult and have visits 

with his/her family (including but not limited to his or her 
mother, father, grandparents, brothers, and sisters), legal 
guardian(s) and friends subject only to reasonable rules. The 
reasons for any special restrictions shall be recorded in the 
child's service plan and explained to the child and his or her 

family. The service plan manager shall review the special 
restrictions every 30 days and, if restrictions are renewed, 
the reasons for renewal shall be recorded in the child's 
service plan. No service plan shall restrict home visits 
without approval from the legal guardian. 

b. A child has the right to telephone 
communication. The provider shall allow a child to receive 
and place telephone calls in privacy subject only to 
reasonable rules and to any specific restrictions in the child's 
service plan. The service plan manager shall formally 
approve any restriction on telephone communication in a 
child’s service plan. The service plan manager shall review 
the special restrictions every 30 days and, if restrictions are 
renewed, the reasons for renewal shall be recorded in the 
child's service plan. The cost for long distance calls shall not 
exceed the usual and customary charges of the local phone 
company provider. There shall be no restrictions on 
communication between a child and the child's legal counsel. 

c. A child has the right to send and receive mail. 
The provider shall allow children to receive mail unopened, 
uncensored and unread by staff unless contraindicated by the 
child's service plan. The service plan manager shall review 
this restriction every 30 days. No service plan shall restrict 
the right to write letters in privacy and to send mail 
unopened, uncensored and unread by any other person. 
Correspondence from a child's legal counsel shall not be 
opened, read or otherwise interfered with for any reason. 
Children shall have access to all materials necessary for 
writing and sending letters and, when necessary, shall 
receive assistance.  

d. A child has the right to consult freely and 
privately with legal counsel, as well as, the right to employ 
legal counsel of his/her choosing.  

e. A child has the right to communicate freely and 
privately with state and local regulatory officials. 

4. Safeguards 
a. A child has the right to be free from mental, 

emotional, and physical abuse and neglect and be free from 
chemical or mechanical restraints. Any use of personal 
restraints shall be reported to the child’s legal guardians(s). 

b. A child has the right to live within the least 
restrictive environment possible in order to retain their 
individuality and personal freedom. 

c. Children shall not be subjected to corporal 
punishment or cruel, severe, unusual, degrading or 
unnecessary punishment. 

5. Civil Rights 
a. A child's civil rights shall not be abridged or 

abrogated solely as a result of placement in the provider's 
program.  

b. A child shall not be denied admission, segregated 
into programs or otherwise subjected to discrimination on 
the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sexual 
orientation, physical limitations, political beliefs, or any 
other non-merit factor. Facilities must comply with the 
requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 
U.S.C. §12101 et seq. (ADA). 

6. Participation in Program Development. 
a. A child has the right to be treated with dignity in 

the delivery of services.  
b. A child has the right to receive preventive, 

routine and emergency health care according to individual 
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need and that will promote his or her growth and 
development.  

c. A child has the right to be involved, as 
appropriate to age, development and ability, in assessment 
and service planning. 

d. A child has the right to consult with clergy and 
participate in religious services in accordance with his/her 
faith. The provider shall have a written policy of its religious 
orientation, particular religious practices that are observed 
and any religious restrictions on admission. This description 
shall be provided to the child and the child's legal 
guardian(s). When appropriate, the provider shall determine 
the wishes of the legal guardian(s) with regard to religious 
observance and make every effort to ensure that these wishes 
are carried out. The provider shall, whenever possible, 
arrange transportation and encourage participation by those 
children who desire to participate in religious activities in 
the community.  

F. Prohibited Practices  
1. The provider shall have written policies and 

procedures regarding its discipline and behavior 
management program. The provider shall ensure its policy:  

a. is maintained in writing and current;  
b. is available to the child and the child's parent or 

custodian;  
c. includes: 

 i. the goal and purpose of the provider's 
discipline and behavior management program;  
 ii. approved methods of discipline and behavior 
management; and, 
 iii. a list of persons authorized to administer 
discipline and behavior management methods to children in 
foster care; and  
 iv. the provider's method of monitoring and 
documenting implementation of the policy.  

2. The provider shall maintain a list of prohibited 
practices that shall include the following:  

a. use of a chemical or mechanical restraint; 
b. corporal punishment such as slapping, spanking, 

paddling or belting; 
c. marching, standing or kneeling rigidly in one 

spot; 
d. any kind of physical discomfort except as 

required for medical, dental or first aid procedures necessary 
to preserve the resident's life or health; 

e. denial or deprivation of sleep or nutrition except 
under a physician’s order; 

f. denial of access to bathroom facilities; 
g. verbal abuse, ridicule or humiliation, shaming or 

sarcasm;  
h. withholding of a meal, except under a physician's 

order;  
i. requiring a resident to remain silent for a long 

period of time;  
j. denial of shelter, warmth, clothing or bedding;  
k. assignment of harsh physical work; 
l. punishing a group of residents for actions 

committed by one or a selected few; 
m. withholding family visits; 
n. extensive withholding of emotional response;  
o. denial of school services and denial of 

therapeutic services; and 

p. other impingements on the basic rights of 
children for care, protection, safety, and security. 

3. The child, where appropriate, and the child's legal 
guardian(s) shall receive a list of the prohibited practices. 
There shall be documentation of acknowledgement of 
receipt of the list of prohibited practices by the child and, 
where appropriate, the child's legal guardian(s)in the child’s 
record. 

G. Grievance Process 
1. The provider shall have a written grievance policy 

and procedure for the child designed to allow them to make 
complaints without fear of retaliation. The child shall be 
informed of the advocacy services available. 

a. The provider shall make every effort to ensure 
that all child(ren) are aware of and understand the grievance 
procedure. 

b. The child's records shall contain a record of any 
grievances and their resolutions. 

H. Quality Improvement 
1. The provider shall have a written policy and 

procedure for maintaining a quality improvement program to 
include: 

a. systematic data collection and analysis of 
identified areas that require improvement; 

b. objective measures of performance;  
c. periodic review of resident records; 
d. quarterly review of incidents to include 

documentation of the date, time and identification of 
residents and staff involved in each incident; and 

e. implementation of plans of action to improve in 
identified areas. 

2. Documentation related to the quality improvement 
program shall be maintained for at least two years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7313. Foster Care Services 

A. Provider Responsibilities  
1. Type of Services 

a. The provider may provide any or all of the 
following types of foster care services in a certified foster 
home: 
 i. basic foster care services; 
 ii. specialized foster care services; 
 iii. therapeutic foster care services; and 
 iv. respite care services. 

2. Number of Children 
a. The foster home shall have no more than eight 

dependents including foster children and their own children 
and shall care for a maximum of six foster children at any 
given time with the exception of a sibling group, who may 
remain together. 

b. A maximum of two children under two years of 
age can be placed in the same foster home at the same time, 
with the exception of a sibling group, who may remain 
together. 

3. Background Checks 
a. The provider shall perform a state and national 

criminal background check on the applicant(s) and any 
member of the applicant’s household in accordance with the 
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R.S. 46:51.2 for any crime enumerated under R.S. 15:587.1 
and Public Law 105-89. 

b. An inquiry of the state central registry for 
members of the household 18 years of age and older shall be 
conducted. No person who is recorded on the state central 
registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse or neglect of 
a child can reside in the home. The parent(s) and all other 
members of the household, 18 years of age or older, shall 
sign a release for a clearance with the State Central Registry. 
If the applicant(s) or any other adult living in the home of 
such applicant resided in another state within the proceeding 
five years, the provider shall request and obtain information 
from that state’s child abuse and neglect registry. 

4. Personnel Qualifications 
a. Supervisor. The supervisor shall meet the 

following qualifications: 
 i. a master's degree from an accredited school of 
social work;  
 ii. two years experience in child placement; 
 iii. in all instances, child placement staff shall 
include a person meeting the qualifications of a supervisor of 
placement services; 
 iv. a staff person shall be delegated supervisory 
authority and responsibility in the short-term absence of the 
supervisor of placement services for illness, vacation, jury or 
military duty, professional seminars and meetings or in 
short-term periods when the position is vacant; and 
 v. a person serving as acting supervisor shall meet 
the qualifications of supervisor of placement services. If 
there is no one on staff who meets the qualification, the 
agency may meet the minimum requirements for licensing 
by entering into an agreement with another CPA for 
supervision or by entering into a contractual agreement with 
a private practitioner who meets the qualifications and is a 
licensed clinical social worker. 

b. Child Placement Worker. The Child Placement 
Worker (CPW) shall meet the following qualifications: 
 i. have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in 
social work or any bachelor's degree plus one year of social 
service experience; 
 ii. a child placement worker located in a branch 
office apart from the supervisor of placement services shall 
have a master's degree from an accredited school of social 
work; 
 iii. in providers where the child placement staff is 
comprised of one placement worker, this person shall meet 
the qualifications of the supervisor of placement services. 

c. Child Placement Worker (CPW) Assistant. The 
CPW assistant shall: 
 i. be at least 18 years of age; 
 ii. have a high school diploma or equivalency; 
and  
 iii. have one year of experience providing basic 
child welfare support services to children. 

5. Personnel Job Duties 
a. The supervisor shall be responsible for: 

 i. supervising staff providing services in the 
provider program areas; 
 ii. guides employees in the assessment of services 
or placement needs of children; the development of 
psychosocial assessment of case goals/objectives and/or case 

plans for children and their families; and the implementation 
of the case plan; 
 iii. determines work assignments and periodically 
monitors workers' productivity and activity; 
 iv. may serve as a consultant to other supervisors 
or employees; 
 v. may design and deliver training curricula or 
on-the-job training opportunities; 
 vi. gathers and analyzes data in order to design 
and implement recruitment campaigns to recruit potential 
adoptive and foster family resources to meet the placement 
needs of children in provider custody; and 
 vii. reviews and approves foster home studies, 
certifications and placements. 

b. The CPW shall be responsible for:  
 i. assessing, developing, and executing a plan to 
achieve permanence for the child including return to the 
family, adoptions, transfer of custody, independent living, or 
other alternative plans; 
 ii. providing services to a caseload of children 
removed from their homes by court order, voluntary 
surrender, or voluntary placement agreement and placed in a 
foster home or a more restrictive setting; 
 iii. overseeing the placement to ensure the child's 
well-being, assesses probability of return, and plan for the 
child's permanence; 
 iv. developing and implementing a recruitment 
plan for certifying perspective foster and adoptive families; 
 v. preparing and conducting extensive orientation 
and training for potential foster and adoptive homes; 
 vi. examining and evaluating information gathered 
about families, housing, and environment in relation to 
provider criteria and licensing regulation for certification of 
perspective adoptive and foster homes; 
 vii. complete home studies; 
 viii. upon completion of written home studies, 
recommend approval or denial of certification for 
perspective adoptive and foster homes based on a combined 
evaluation and assessment process; 
 ix. re-evaluating for continued annual re-
certification for foster and adoptive homes. Develops and 
implements a corrective action plan to correct deficiencies; 
and 
 x. maintaining listing of all foster and adoptive 
homes in area and recommends appropriate resources to 
workers placing children. 

c. The CPW assistant shall be responsible for: 
 i. assisting professional staff in providing 
services to the children; 
 ii. instructing children in the practical application 
of improved standards of housekeeping, shopping, personal 
hygiene, medical and childcare, and other necessary home 
management skills; 
 iii. lifting or assisting children into the transit with 
their personal belongings and any medically needed 
equipment such as a wheel chair, an oxygen tank, a walker, 
etc.; 
 iv. observing and reporting children's behavior to 
professional staff to aid in the assessment and treatment plan 
of the case; 
 v. monitoring family visitation between caretaker 
and child(ren) with parents, as required; 
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 vi. preparing narrative reports and maintaining 
visitation log as required; 
 vii. scheduling and arranging child transportation 
for follow-up visits; 
 viii. effectively communicating with children to 
defuse potentially dangerous situations such as 
physical/verbal confrontations between children and/or 
towards provider staff; 
 ix. completing various forms and reports; and 
 x. may be responsible for vehicle maintenance 
and documentation of such. 

6. Child's Record 
a. The provider shall maintain a record for each 

child placed, which contain (if applicable): 
 i. identifying information including the name, 
address, sex, race, nationality, birth date and birth place of 
the child; 
 ii. the provider's written authorization to care for 
the child; 
 iii, a copy of the home study; 
 iv. the current name, address, telephone number 
and marital status of the parent(s) and/or custodian(s) of the 
child; 
 v. the name, address, and telephone number of 
siblings if placed elsewhere and significant relatives or 
others considered in the case plan; 
 vi. copies of legal documents verifying status of 
the child including birth certificate, court orders or 
dispositions, voluntary surrenders for adoption, final decree 
of adoption; 
 vii. the medical history, circumstances health 
record, and available psychological and psychiatric reports 
or specialist evaluations; 
 viii. the social assessment and background of the 
parent(s) and family; 
 ix. summary which reflects the dates of contact 
with the child, initial assessment and case plan, all 
subsequent assessments and case plans, content of the 
supervisory visits; 
 x. a record of the provider's contacts with the 
child's family, including copies of correspondence with other 
interested persons and organizations; 
 xi. home study summary and plan indicating the 
circumstances leading to the decision to place the child, the 
provider's involvement with the parent(s), including services 
offered, delivered, or rejected; 
 xii. educational information records, evaluations 
and reports; 
 xiii. summary of case reviews which reflect the 
contacts with and the status of all family members in relation 
to the case plan as well as the achievements or changes in 
the goals; 
 xiv. summary of any administrative or outside 
service reviews on the progress of each child toward goal 
determination; 
 xv. summary of the child's contacts with family 
members which reflect the quality of the relationships as 
well as the way the child is coping with them; 
 xvi. a record of the child's placements with names 
of care-givers, addresses, begin and end dates of care. 
Signed placement agreements shall be filed in the record; 

 xvii. chronological record, noting significant events 
and contacts with the child and documentation of 
supervisory visits; 
 xviii. documentation of compliance with the case 
plan; 
 xix. the basis for selection of the home or 
residential provider for the specific child; and 
 xx. summary of case disposition, date of discharge, 
name, address of person(s) or provider to whom child was 
discharged and the reason for discharge. 

7. Parent(s) Record 
a. The provider shall maintain a record for each 

child placed, which contain (if applicable): 
 i. identifying information for each parent 
including name, address, telephone number, birth date, race, 
religion, the family composition, and interested others; 
 ii. effort to maintain child in own home; 
 iii. reason for placement; 
 iv. the social history; 
 v. the medical history, including any 
psychological or psychiatric reports and specialists reports; 
 vi. strengths and needs of the family and the 
services required; 
 vii. worker's assessment, home study, initial and 
subsequent case plans, including conditions for return of 
child; 
 viii. verification of custody of child; 
 ix. signed agreements between the provider and 
parent(s) or custodian (for voluntary placements); 
 x. chronological record, noting significant events 
and dates of contact with parent(s) and progress toward 
goals; 
 xi. written summary of visits between parent(s) 
and child; 
 xii. case review reports; 
 xiii. discharge summary. 
 xiv. the application; 
 xv. references from at least three sources; 
 xvi. criminal record check reports; 
 xvii. a summary of contacts from application until 
placement; 
 xviii. correspondence; 
 xix. copies of legal documents verifying marital 
status; 
 xx. summary containing the placement decision, 
replacement and post-placement contacts with the family 
and the child adopted;  
 xxi. a copy of the information given to the adoptive 
parent(s) concerning the child(ren) placed or to be placed 
with them; and 
 xxii. disposition summary for certified homes at 
decertification stating the reason. 

8. Staffing Requirements 
a. Supervisors of placement services shall be 

responsible for not more than six full time child placement 
workers and/or aides and volunteers. 

b. Child placement worker case loads shall be 
limited to allow for all required contracts with the parent(s), 
children, foster families, and collateral parties. The provider 
shall maintain a maximum average case load size of 25 
active placement cases. 
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9. Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children 
a. The provider accepting any child who resides in 

another state shall show proof of compliance with the terms 
of the Interstate Compact on Juveniles, the Interstate 
Compact on the Placement of Children and the Interstate 
Compact on Mental Health. Proof of compliance shall 
include clearance letters from the compact officers of each 
state involved.  

b. The provider shall send written notice to the 
administrator of the Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children on forms provided by the department before 
placing into or receiving a child from another state. No 
interstate placement shall occur without prior approval from 
the compact administrator from the receiving state. 

c. The provider shall conduct or accept only a state 
approved home study for interstate foster home placements. 

d. The provider shall conduct or accept only a state 
approved home study for interstate adoptive placements. 

e. If a child makes a brief visit out of state, not 
accompanied by provider personnel, the provider shall 
obtain prior consent from designated department staff. 

f. A provider shall comply with subsection (a) of 
this section if a child placed with the provider visits or 
receives respite care in another state for a period to exceed: 
 i. 30 days; or 
 ii. the child’s school vacation period. 

B. Certification of a Foster Home 
1. Recruitment of an Applicant 

a. The provider's staff shall recruit a prospective 
foster home and approve the applicant for participation as a 
foster home if the provider meets all of the required 
standards. 

b. The provider shall have a written plan for 
ongoing recruitment of foster homes which includes the 
methods of recruitment, resources to be used, time-related 
goals for applicant recruitment, designated staff, and funding 
to implement the plan. 

2. Home Study  
a. The provider shall complete a home study on a 

foster home applicant(s) prior to placement of a child in the 
home.  

b. The applicant(s) shall be allowed the opportunity 
to review a copy of their home study whether the application 
was approved or denied for certification. Any quotations 
from reference letters or other third party letters or telephone 
reports from agencies or professionals shall be deleted. 
Identifying information regarding the child's biological 
family shall be removed, unless a release of information is 
obtained from the birth parent(s). 

c. With written permission of the applicant(s), the 
provider may forward a copy of the home study to another 
child placement provider for placement consideration or re-
application to another child placing provider. 

d. The home study shall include verification of the 
following: 
 i. marital status; 
 ii. verification the applicant is legally married or 
single; 
 iii. citizenship/age requirement; and 
 iv. proof of the applicant's: 

(a). identity, such as a federally or state-issued 
photo identification card; 

(b). United States citizenship, such as a birth 
certificate, or legal alien status, such as a permanent child 
card, as described in 8 U.S.C. 1151 as evidence. 

3. That they meet the following age requirements 
unless otherwise specified: 

a. at least 21 years of age; and 
b. less than 65 years of age. 

4. If the foster parent(s) is a relative, the foster 
parent(s) shall be considered if:  

a. between 18 and 21 years of age or over 65 years 
of age; and 

b. is able to meet the needs of the child to be placed 
in the applicant's home; 

c. income; 
d. verification that the applicant has sufficient 

income, separate from foster care reimbursement, to meet 
the needs of the family; 

e. references; 
f. three personal references who are not related to 

the applicant and one reference who is related to the 
applicant but does not live in the home; 

g. health; 
h. a statement for each member of the applicant's 

household that shall be signed by a licensed physician or 
licensed health care professional verifying that the 
individual: 
 i. is free of a communicable or infectious disease; 
and 
 ii. has no illness or condition that would present a 
health, to include past and present mental health, or safety 
risk to a child placed in the applicant's home; 
 iii. is physically able to provide necessary care for 
a child; 

i. the home study shall also include: 
 i. at least two home consultation visits and a third 
visit which may be a home or office visit; separate face to 
face interviews with each age appropriate member of the 
household and an interview with an adult child of the 
applicant, who does not live in the applicant's home, 
regarding the applicant’s parenting history; 
 ii. discussion of motivation or origin of interest in 
foster care; the child(ren) requested in regard to the number, 
age, sex, characteristics; or acceptability in regard to health 
or developmental conditions or other special needs; 
 iii. history of any previous application for 
adoption. The provider shall document the attempt to obtain 
a copy of any previous home study from the responsible 
provider. If an applicant was approved to foster or adopt a 
child by another provider or the department and the 
applicant's home was closed, verification of the closure and 
a statement to indicate whether the closure was at the request 
of the applicant or the provider; 
 iv. background information and social information 
of applicant(s) and all members of the household to include 
but not limited to: 

(a). personality in general and in relation to 
being an adoptive family; 

(b). family background, customs, relationship 
patterns, formative experiences with adoption, and (if 
immigrants) early adjustment in the new country; 

(c). marriage(s), marital or non-marital 
relationship(s), nature, quality, and agreement on respective 
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roles, how are mutual needs met and how would a new child 
affect the relationship; 

(d). children in the family and family interaction 
patterns and relationships, where/how would a new child fit 
in and affect family relationships; 

(e). hobbies, interests, social contacts, contacts 
with extended family, integration into/involvement in 
community, how will these be affected by the addition of a 
new child; 

(f). discussion of past and present mental and 
physical health of all applicant and family members; 

(g). discussion of religious faith, affiliation, 
practices, attitudes towards religion, openness to religion of 
others and how parent(s) view the role of religion in rearing 
children; 

(h). an assessment of the attitude of each member 
of the applicant's household extended family and significant 
others involved with the family toward the placement of a 
child into the home; 

(i). disciplinary beliefs and practices; 
(j). plan for child care if parent(s) work outside 

of the home; special provisions for meeting needs of specific 
special needs placement; 

(k). attitude and capacity for handling a foster 
care disruption if that should be necessary; and 

(l). if a business open to the public adjoins the 
applicant’s household, consideration of potential negative 
impacts on the child and family, including: 

(i). hours of operation; 
 (ii). type of business; and 
 (iii). clientele. 

5. Training the Foster Home Parent(s)  
a. The foster parent(s) shall participate in training 

provided or approved by the agency to develop and enhance 
their skills.  

b. The provider shall develop and provide 
orientation and preparation to a prospective foster parent, to 
include the following: 
 i. provider program description with mission 
statement; 
 ii. information about the rights and 
responsibilities of the home; and 
 iii. background information about the foster child 
and the child’s family; 
 iv. an example of an actual experience from a 
foster parent that has fostered a child; 

v. information regarding: 
(a).  the stages of grief; 
(b).  identification of the behavior linked to each 

stage of grief; 
(c). the long-term effect of separation and loss on 

a child; 
(d).  permanency planning for a child, including 

independent living services; 
(e). the importance of attachment on a child's 

growth and development and how a child may maintain or 
develop a healthy attachment; 

(f). family functioning, values, and expectations 
of a foster home; 

(g). cultural competency; 

(h). how a child enters care and experiences 
foster care, and the importance of achieving permanency; 
and 

(i). identification of changes that may occur in 
the home if a placement occurs, to include: 
 (i). family adjustment and disruption; 
 (ii). identity issues;  
 (iii). discipline issues and child behavior 
management; and 
 (iv). specific requirements and 
responsibilities of a foster parent. 

c. The foster parent(s) shall annually participate in a 
minimum of 15 hours of approved training. The hours may 
be shared among the adult members of the family, however, 
each adult shall receive a minimum of five hours; and shall 
maintain a record of all preparation and training completed. 

6. Parent(s) Requirements 
a. General Requirements 

 i. Foster parent(s) shall:  
(a). only accept children for family foster care 

only from a licensed CPA or the state agency; 
(b).  not care for unrelated adults on a 

commercial basis nor accept children into the home for day 
care at the same time they are certified to provide family 
foster care; 

(c).  not accept children beyond the maximum 
capacity allowable for a family foster home; 

(d).  permit the provider to visit the home; 
(e). share with the provider information about 

the child placed by the provider; 
(f). notify the provider prior to: 

 (i). leaving the state with a child placed by 
the provider for more than two nights; or 
 (ii). allowing a child placed by the provider 
to be absent from the foster home for more than three days; 

(g). report, if applicable, within two business 
days to the provider if there is a: 
 (i). change in address; 
 (ii). change in the number of people living 
in the home; 
 (iii). insignificant change in circumstance in 
the foster home; or 
 (iv). failure of the foster child or foster 
parent to comply with the supervision plan; 

(h). cooperate with the provider regarding the 
following when the staff arranges between a child and the 
child’s birth family: 
 (i). visits; 
 (ii). telephone calls; 
 (iii). mail; or 
 (iv). email; 

(i). surrender a child or children to the 
authorized representative of the provider or the state 
provider, which has custody of the child, upon request; 

(j). keep confidential all personal or protected 
health information as shared by the department or provider 
according to state law and 45 C.F.R. Parts 160 and 164, 
concerning a child placed in a home or the child’s birth 
family; 
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(k). support an assessment of the service needs, 
including respite care, and the development of a service plan 
of a child placed by the provider; 

(l). participate in a case planning conference 
concerning a child placed by the provider; 

(m).cooperate with the support and 
implementation of the permanency goal established for a 
child placed by the provider; 

(n). provide medical care to a child as needed, 
including: 
 (i). administration of medication to the 
child and daily documentation of the administration; and 
 (ii). annual physicals and examinations for 
the child; 

(o). comply with general supervision and 
direction of the provider concerning the care of the child 
placed by the provider. 

(p). be knowledgeable of disciplinary measures 
and shall:  
 (i). recognize, encourage, and regard 
acceptable behavior;  
 (ii). teach by example and use fair and 
consistent rules with logical consequences;  
 (iii). use methods of discipline that are 
relevant to the behavior;  
 (iv). supervise with an attitude of 
understanding, firmness, and discipline;  
 (v). give clear directions and provide 
guidance consistent with the child's level of understanding;  
 (vi). redirect the child by stating alternatives 
when behavior is unacceptable;  
 (vii). express themselves so the child 
understands that the child's feelings are acceptable but 
certain actions or behavior are not;  
 (viii). help the child learn what conduct is 
acceptable in various situations;  
 (ix). encourage the child to control the 
child's own behavior, cooperate with others and solve 
problems by talking things out;  
 (x). communicate with the child by 
showing an attitude of affection and concern; and  
 (xi). encourage the child to consider others' 
feelings.  

b. Exterior Environment Requirements 
 i. The foster home shall be reasonably safe, in 
good repair and comparable in appearance and maintenance 
to other family homes in the community. 
 ii. The home and the exterior around the home 
shall be free from objects, materials and conditions which 
constitute a danger to the children served. 
 iii. The home shall have a safe outdoor play area 
which children may use either on the property or within a 
reasonable distance of the property. Any play equipment on 
the property shall be safe, well constructed and suitable for 
the children served.  
 iv. Any swimming and wading pools areas shall 
be locked and be made inaccessible to children except when 
supervised. 

c. Interior Environment Requirements 
 i. Foster parent(s) shall have the necessary 
equipment for the safe preparation, storage, serving and 
clean up of meals. 

 ii. Foster parent(s) shall maintain all cooking and 
refrigeration equipment in working and sanitary condition. 
 iii. The home shall have a comfortable dining area 
furnished with sufficient furniture so that all members of the 
household can eat together. 
 iv. The home shall have sufficient living or family 
room space comfortably furnished and accessible to all 
members of the family. 
 v. Sleeping arrangements in a foster home shall 
be subject to the prior approval of the placing agency. 
 vi. Foster parent(s) shall permit no more than four 
children to a bedroom. 
 vii. The home shall have sufficient bedroom space 
to allow at least 75 square feet for individual occupant of a 
bedroom and an additional 55 square feet for each additional 
occupant. 
 viii. Providers receiving federal funds may not use 
standards related to income, age, education, family structure 
and size or ownership of housing which exclude groups of 
prospective parents on the basis of race, color, or national 
origin, where these standards are arbitrary or unnecessary or 
where less exclusionary standards are available. 
 ix. Foster parent(s) shall provide each child with 
his/her own bed and each infant with his/her own crib. The 
bed shall be no shorter than the child's height and no less 
than 30 inches wide. It shall have a clean, comfortable, non-
toxic mattress with a water proof cover. 
 x. Foster parent(s) shall not permit children over 
the age of six years to share a bedroom with a person of the 
opposite sex. 
 xi. Children shall not share a bedroom with adults, 
except when the child needs close supervision due to illness 
or except at the discretion of the placing agency. 
 xii. Foster parent(s) shall provide a chest, dresser 
or other adequate storage space for a child's clothing and 
personal belongings in the child's bedroom and a designated 
space for hanging up clothes near the bedroom occupied by 
the child. 
 xiii. Bedrooms shall have windows which provide 
sufficient natural light and ventilation for the health of the 
children. 
 xiv. Foster parent(s) shall allow some scope in the 
decoration of sleeping areas for the personal tastes and 
expressions of the child. 
 xv. Foster parent(s) shall provide bed linen and 
sufficient blankets and pillows for all children. 
 xvi. The family foster home shall have a minimum 
of one flush toilet; one wash basin with running water, and 
one bath or shower with hot and cold water. 
 xvii. Foster parent(s) shall equip each bathroom 
with toilet paper, towels, soap and other items required for 
personal hygiene and grooming. 
 xviii. Allow each child sufficient privacy with the 
exclusion of security/video cameras from areas such as the 
child’s bedroom and/or bathroom. 

d. Safety Requirements 
 i. The home shall be well heated and well 
ventilated.  
 ii. The foster parent(s) shall: 

(a). provide screens for windows and doors used 
for outside ventilation; 
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(b). have a telephone in the home; 
(c). ensure the safe storage of drugs, poisons or 

other harmful materials; 
(d). store alcoholic beverage out of reach of 

small children; 
(e). take measures to keep the home and 

premises free of rodents and insects; 
(f). restrict children's access to potentially 

dangerous animals. Pets shall have current immunizations; 
(g). store unloaded firearms and ammunition in 

separate locked places, inaccessible to children; and 
(h). have household first aid supplies for treating 

minor cuts, burns and other minor injuries. 
e. Fire Safety Requirements 

 i. The home shall be free from fire hazards, such 
as faulty electric cords and appliances, or non-maintained 
fireplaces and chimneys. 
 ii. Foster parent(s) living in apartment buildings 
shall give evidence that the building has been approved for 
building and fire safety within the last two years. 
 iii. Family foster homes including mobile homes 
shall have two doors which provide unrestricted exits in case 
of fire. 
 iv. Foster parent(s) shall: 

(a). equip the home with operating smoke alarms 
within 10 feet of each bedroom; 

(b). place a portable chemical fire extinguisher in 
the cooking area of the home; 

(c). establish an emergency evacuation plan and 
shall practice it at least quarterly with the children to make 
sure all children understand the procedures; 

(d). store combustible items away from sources 
of heat; 

(e). shield all home heating units and other hot 
surfaces against accidental contact; and 

(f). maintain safe conditions with properly 
installed, maintained and operated solid fuel heating stoves, 
systems, and fireplaces. 

f. Sanitation and Health Requirements 
 i. Foster parent(s) shall keep the home clean and 
free of hazards to the health and physical well being of the 
family. 
 ii. The home shall have a continuous supply of 
clean drinking water. If the water is not from a city water 
supply, the foster parent(s) shall have the water tested and 
approved by the local health authority. 
 iii. The milk served to children shall either be 
Grade A and pasteurized or from an approved source. 
 iv. All plumbing in the home shall be in working 
order. 
 v. The home shall have an adequate supply of hot 
water for bathing and dishwashing. Hot water accessible to 
children shall not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit at the 
outlet. 

g. Daily Living Services Requirements 
 i. Provide structure and daily activities designed 
to promote the individual, social, intellectual, spiritual, and 
emotional development of the chi1d(ren) in their home. 
 ii. Assist the foster child(ren) to develop skills 
and to perform tasks which will promote independence and 
the ability to care for themselves. 

 iii. Cooperate with the provider to help the foster 
child maintain an awareness of his past, a record of the 
present and a plan for the future. 
 iv. Ask foster children to assume work 
responsibilities reasonable for their age and ability and 
commensurate with those expected of their own children. 
 v. As appropriate to the child's age and abilities, 
make every effort to teach good habits of money 
management, budgeting and shopping. 
 vi. Through careful daily monitoring, make every 
effort to teach a child good habits of personal hygiene and 
grooming appropriate to the child's sex, age and culture. 

h. Food and Nutrition Requirements 
 i. Provide at least three nutritionally balanced 
meals daily according to the child’s service plan. 
 ii. Provide for any special dietary needs of the 
foster child placed in their home on the advice of a licensed 
physician or in accordance with the child's case plan. 
 iii. If applicable, the dietary laws of the child's 
religion shall be observed in the food provided to the child. 

i. Clothing Requirements 
 i. Provide each foster child with their own clean, 
well fitting, attractive, seasonal clothing appropriate to age, 
sex, individual needs and comparable to other household 
members and to the community standards. 
 ii. A child's clothing shall be his/her own, not 
required to be shared. 
 iii. A child's clothing shall go with the child when 
they leave.  
 iv. Only shoes in good repair and condition shall 
be provided for the child. 
 v. Allow the foster child(ren) to assist in the 
choosing of their own clothing whenever possible. 

j. Personal Belongings Requirements 
 i. Allow the child to bring, possess and acquire 
personal belongings subject only to reasonable household 
rules. 
 ii. Personal belongings shall be sent with the child 
when he/she leaves the home. 
 iii. Ensure that each child is provided with clean 
towels, washcloths, his/her own toothbrush, his/her own 
comb or hair brush and other toiletry items suitable to the 
child's age and sex. 

k. Money Requirements 
 i. Ensure that the child has the opportunity to 
have spending money in amounts appropriate to their age 
and abilities, either through a regular allowance, paid work, 
employment or money paid directly to the child from other 
sources. 
 ii. A child's money from any source shall be 
his/her own and may be subject to restrictions only 
according to his/her service plan. 
 iii. Children shall not be required to pay for any 
mandated foster home service, except according to their 
service plans. 
 iv. Children shall not be required to pay for 
necessary toiletry items. 
 v. As appropriate to the child's age and abilities, 
every effort shall be made to teach good habits of money 
management, budgeting and shopping. 
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l. Transportation 
 i. The foster parent(s) shall have access to: 

(a). reliable transportation; 
(b). school; 
(c). recreation; 
(d). medical care; and 
(e). community facilities. 

 ii. A foster parent(s) who drives shall: 
(a). possess a valid driver’s license; 
(b). possess proof of liability insurance; and 
(c). abide by passenger restraint laws. 
(d). Support System 

m. Foster parent(s) shall have or develop an 
adequate support system for supervising and providing care 
for the child(ren) on an ongoing basis to allow foster 
parent(s) opportunities for conducting personal business and 
for enjoying occasional breaks from the responsibility of 
caring for the child(ren). 

n. Foster parent(s) shall provide one responsible 
adult (over age 18) for direct supervision of children or on 
call at all times. 

o. Any person given the responsibility for a child on 
a regular basis must be identified to and approved by the 
placing agency. 

7. Additional Requirements for Specialized Foster 
Care Services 

a. A foster home providing specialized foster care 
services shall accommodate the needs of a child who is 
unable to live with the child’s own family and who has one 
or both of the following: 
 i. an emotional or behavior problem which may 
include a Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) 
diagnosed mental illness, aggressive or destructive behavior, 
or multiple placement failures and whose needs prevent 
placement in a basic level foster home; and 
 ii. a medical or developmental problem or 
condition that requires more time consuming and specialized 
care with professional oversight based on the child's specific 
needs but whose needs prevent placement in a basic level 
foster home. 

b. The foster parent(s) shall have the following 
educational requirements: 
 i. high school diploma or equivalent; and 
 ii. two years of experience in specialized fields or 
in parenting a child with special needs. 

c. Specialized foster homes shall not exceed six 
dependents, including foster children. They shall care for no 
more than four specialized foster care children, unless an 
additional child is a sibling.  

d. The provider shall provide a minimum of 30 
hours of orientation and preparation for a prospective 
specialized foster care parent. 

e. The child placement worker shall: 
 i. have the first face-to-face visit with the child 
and specialized foster care parent on the day of the child's 
placement or the following work day; 
 ii. have telephone contact twice a month with at 
least one of the specialized foster care parents of each child 
on the specialized child placement worker's caseload; 
 iii. visit the specialized foster care parent monthly 
in the foster home; 

 iv. on a monthly basis, visit the foster child face-
to-face in the foster home without the foster parent being 
present; 
 v. carry a caseload of not more than 18 
specialized foster care children, taking into account: 

(a). required responsibilities other than the case 
management of a child in foster care; 

(b). additional support, contact, and preparation 
needed by a specialized foster home, due to the extent of the 
needs of the child served; and 

(c). the intensity of services provided to the child 
and the child’s family; 
 vi. conduct a semi-annual case consultation, 
including the: 

(a). foster home; 
(b). child’s placement worker; 
(c). supervisor; and 
(d). child and the child’s family of origin, to the 

extent possible; 
 vii. identify the support needed by the foster 
family, including a plan for respite care; and 
 viii. document the semi-annual case consultation 
and revision to a child’s service plan as determined by the 
case consultations. 

f. The foster home parent(s) shall maintain 
certification in CPR and first aid. 

g. The foster home parent(s) shall complete a 
minimum of 20 hours of annual training. 

8. Additional Requirements for Therapeutic Foster 
Care Services 

a. A foster home providing therapeutic foster care 
services shall accommodate the needs of a child who is 
unable to live with the child’s own family and who has one 
or both of the following: 
 i. serious emotional or behavioral problems and 
meets one or more of the following criteria: 

(a). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM) 
diagnosed mental illness, imminent release from a treatment 
provider, aggressive or destructive behavior, at risk of being 
placed in more restrictive settings, including 
institutionalization, or numerous placement failures; 

(b). a medical or developmental problem or 
condition so serious that it requires extremely time 
consuming, specialized care and supervision from a trained 
person, and ongoing, frequent professional oversight, all of 
which would be a significant burden to a caregiver. These 
may include, but are not limited to; 
 (i). a chronic and progressive illness or 
medical condition; 
 (ii). the need for a special service or 
ongoing medical support; or 
 (iii). a health condition stable enough to be 
in a home setting only with monitoring by an attending: 
 [a]. health professional; 
 [b]. registered nurse; or 
 [c]. licensed practical nurse. 

b. Therapeutic foster homes shall not exceed four 
dependents, including foster children. They shall care for no 
more than two therapeutic foster care children, unless an 
additional child is a sibling.  
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c. The foster parent(s) shall have the following 
educational requirements: 
 i. high school diploma or equivalent; and 
 ii. two years of college or formal education in 
human services, child development or nursing and two years 
work experience in specialized field; or  
 iii. four years of experience in specialized fields or 
in parenting a child with special needs. 

d. The provider shall provide a minimum of 36 
hours of orientation and preparation for a prospective 
therapeutic foster care parent. 

e. The CPW shall: 
 i. have the first face-to-face visit with a child and 
therapeutic foster care parent on the day of the child's 
placement or the following work day; 
 ii. have another face-to-face visit with the 
therapeutic foster parent or child within 10 calendar days of 
the child's placement; 
 iii. have telephone contact, on a weekly basis with 
at least one of the specialized foster care parents of each 
child on the specialized child placement worker's caseload; 
 iv. visit a therapeutic foster care parent a 
minimum of two times a month with at least one visit being 
in the foster home; 
 v. visit the foster child face-to-face in the foster 
home without the foster parent being present a minimum of 
two times a month with at least one visit in the therapeutic 
foster care home and one visit outside the foster home; 
 vi. carry a caseload of not more than 12 
therapeutic foster care children, taking into account: 

(a). required responsibilities other than the case 
management of a child in foster care; 

(b). additional support, contact, and preparation 
needed by a therapeutic foster care home, due to the extent 
of the needs of the child served; and 

(c). the intensity of services provided to the child 
and the child’s family; 
 vii. conduct a quarterly case consultation, 
including the: 

(a). foster home; 
(b). child’s CPW; 
(c). supervisor; and 
(d). child and the child’s family of origin, to the 

extent possible; 
 viii. identify the support needed by the foster 
family, including a plan for respite care; and  
 ix. recommend and prepare an aftercare plan for a 
child, prior to discharge from therapeutic foster care, to 
ensure a successful transition; and 
 x. document a quarterly case consultation and 
revision to a child’s service plan as determined by the case 
consultations. 

f. The foster home parent(s) shall maintain 
certification in CPR and first aid. 

g. The foster home parent(s) shall complete a 
minimum of 24 hours of annual training. 

h. If the child is medically-fragile, training on how 
to care for the specific needs of the child shall be conducted 
by a licensed health care professional. 

i. If the child is medically-fragile, the foster home 
must be is located within a: 

 i. one hour drive of a medical hospital with an 
emergency room; and 
 ii. thirty minute drive of a local medical facility. 

9. Requirements for Respite Services 
a. The provider shall develop written policies and 

procedures to address the respite care needs of a child or a 
foster parent. 

b. Respite care shall not be used as a means of 
placement for a child. 

c. A respite care provider shall: 
 i. be a certified foster home; 
 ii. receive from the provider or foster parent, 
preparation for placement of a child, including: 

(a). pertinent information regarding the child's 
history; and 

(b). information regarding the service plan of the 
child; 

(c). provide adequate supervision in accordance 
with the child's service plan; and 

(d). give relief to a foster parent caring for a 
child or provide for an adjustment period for a child. 

10. Denial of a Foster Home Request 
a. The applicant shall be notified, in writing within 

30 days, if the request to become a foster home parent is not 
recommended if the applicant is unwilling to withdraw the 
request to become a foster home parent after receiving a 
recommendation to withdraw. 

b. The provider shall enter a dispositional summary 
in the applicant(s) case record clearly indicating the reason 
for denial of the application for certification, the manner in 
which the decision was presented to the family and whether 
or not they agreed with the decision. 

c. If the applicant disagrees with the department's 
recommendation to not accept the applicant as a foster 
home, department staff shall review the request to become a 
foster home parent and issue a final written determination 
regarding the department’s recommendation. 

11. Annual Re-evaluation of the Foster Home 
a. The provider shall conduct a personal interview 

in the home. 
b. The provider shall assess the following: 

 i. any change in the home; 
 ii. the ability of the home to meet the needs of a 
child placed in the home; and 
 iii. the home’s continued compliance with the 
required standards. 

12. Decertification of a Foster Home 
a. A home shall be decertified if: 

 i. it is determined that the family does not meet 
the general requirements for a foster home; 
 ii. a situation exists that is not in the best interest 
of a child; 
 iii. sexual abuse or exploitation by the parent or by 
another resident of the home is substantiated; 
 iv. substantiated child abuse or neglect by a 
resident of the household; 
 v. a serious physical or mental illness develops 
that may impair or preclude adequate care of the child by the 
parent; or 
 vi. a child has not been placed in the home within 
the preceding two year period; and 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2631 

 vii. the foster home parent requests a voluntary 
decertification.  

b. Upon voluntary request, the parent shall notify 
the provider, in writing, at least 30 days before the requested 
decertification date. 

c. The provider shall make adequate preparation 
and arrangements for the care, custody and control of any 
children in the home. 

d. A home may be decertified according to the 
terms of the contract between the provider and the home. 

e. The provider shall confirm, in a written notice to 
the home parent, the decision to decertify a home. The notice 
shall be delivered within 30 calendar days of contact with a 
foster home parent. 

f. The written notice for decertification of a home 
shall include: 
 i. notice that the provider shall not place a child 
in the home; 
 ii. the reason why the home is being decertified; 
and  
 iii. effective date. 

13. Reapplication for Certification  
a. Persons who desire to re-certify their foster home 

must re-apply. To reapply, a former foster home parent shall: 
 i. attend an informational meeting; and 
 ii. submit the: 

(a). names of references; and 
(b). authorization for all required background 

checks. 
b. If the foster home has been decertified more than 

five years, a new home study must be is completed. 
c. If the home has been decertified five years or less 

and at the time of decertification the home was in good 
standing and the re-assessments were up-to-date; the home 
can be re-certified with an addendum to the home study. 

d. If the re-assessments were not in compliance, a 
new home study must be completed. 

e. If the home was decertified during an 
investigation or needing a corrective action plan, a new 
home study must be completed.  

f. A reapplying former foster home parent shall 
reenroll and complete the required preparation, as specified 
in the standards, unless the former foster home parent: 
 i. has previously completed preparation; and 
 ii. is considered a placement resource for 
children. 

C. Child Placement 
1. Admission  

a. The provider shall: 
 i. place a child only in an approved foster home; 
and 
 ii. keep a child who has been committed to the 
Department of Corrections, Office of Juvenile Justice for the 
commission of a sex crime in a separate foster home from a 
child committed to the department. 

b. The provider shall select a foster home for a child 
based upon the individual needs of the child, including: 
 i. the child’s assessment; 
 ii. any information concerning the child's needs in 
placement; and 
 iii. measures to support the safety of the child. 

c. Generally, the level at which children are placed 
should represent: 
 i. the level of supervision to be provided; 
 ii. the level of support services to be provided or 
available; 
 iii. the level of staff training required; and 
 iv. the level of restrictiveness of the placement to 
the child. 

d. The child shall participate in the process and in 
the decision that placement is appropriate, to the extent that 
the child's age, maturity, adjustment, family relationships, 
and the circumstance necessitating placement justify the 
child's participation. 

e. The provider shall document the placement in the 
foster home file. 

2. The provider shall have a written agreement with 
the foster home stating the: 

a. responsibilities of the provider and the foster 
parent(s); and 

b. terms of each placement which include, but not 
limited to the following: 
 i. the child is being placed with the foster 
parent(s) temporarily; 
 ii. the family agrees to work in a partnership with 
the agency to provide foster care services to children in state 
custody; 
 iii. the foster parent(s) agrees to keep all personal 
information about the child or the child’s family confidential 
and not share with reporters, relatives, television (media), or 
any organization;  
 iv. the foster parent(s) meets the certification 
requirements for foster care; 
 v. the foster parent(s) will be reimbursed each 
month by the agency a daily board rate; 
 vi. the foster parent(s) agrees to cooperate with the 
agency/provider in making a planned move for the child if 
replacement should be necessary, except in emergency 
circumstances; 
 vii. the foster parent(s) will report to the 
agency(provider) any changes in their circumstances that 
have an effect on the child or the foster care placement;  
 viii. the foster parent(s) will not take the child out-
of-state or authorize any special medical care or treatment 
for the child without the consent of the agency(provider); 
and 
 ix. the agency (provider) will provide supportive 
services to the foster parent(s) to promote a healthy parent-
child adjustment and bonding. 

3. Service Plan 
a. The provider shall: 

 i. within 30 days of a child’s placement, develop: 
(a). a service plan based upon the individual 

needs of the child and, if appropriate, the child’s family, 
which addresses the: 
 (i). visitation, health, and educational 
needs of the child; 
 (ii). child’s permanency goals and related 
objectives; 
 (iii). methods for accomplishing each goal 
and objective; and 
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 (iv). designation of an individual or 
individuals responsible for completion of each goal and 
objective; and 

b. review a child’s service plan on a semi-annual 
basis or more frequently as the child’s needs or 
circumstances dictate; and 

c. reassess and document semi-annually, in the 
child’s service plan, placement and permanency goals, 
including independent living services, if indicated. 

4. Supervision of the Child 
a. The provider shall establish policies and 

procedures for supervision of a foster home by a worker 
other than the child placement worker assigned to the foster 
home to: 
 i. include: 

(a). frequency of an in-home visit with the foster 
parent; 

(b). means of supervision; 
(c). methods of supervision; and 
(d). personnel conducting the supervision; 

 ii. ensure a foster child’s placement stability and 
safety; and 
 iii. be individualized, as needed, for the child or 
the foster home. 

b. The provider shall conduct face-to-face visits 
with the child as often as necessary to carry out the case 
plan, but not less than two visits during the first month of 
care and monthly visits thereafter and document in the case 
record. 

c. The provider shall identify and make available 
necessary supports to a foster home, including: 
 i. a plan for respite care; and 
 ii. 24 hour crisis intervention. 

d. The provider shall provide information to a foster 
parent regarding the behavior and development of the child 
placed by the provider. 

e. The provider shall inform the foster parent of: 
 i. inappropriate sexual acts or sexual behavior of 
the child as specifically known to the provider; and 
 ii. any behaviors of the child that indicate a safety 
risk for the placement. 

f. The provider shall document each effort to: 
 i. protect the legal rights of the family and the 
child; and 
 ii. maintain the bond between the child and the 
child’s family, in accordance with the child’s permanency 
plan. 

g. The provider shall assure that the child shall 
have, for the child’s exclusive use, clothing comparable in 
quality and variety to that worn by other children with whom 
the child may associate; 

h. The provider shall be responsible for monitoring 
the child's school progress and attendance; and 

i. The provider shall secure psychological and 
psychiatric services, vocational counseling, or other services 
if indicated by the child's needs. 

5. Discharge from Care 
a. The provider shall discharge the child from care 

only to the person, persons or agency having legal custody 
of him or on written authorization of these or the court. 

b. The provider shall complete a discharge 
summary, to be put in the child's records, which should 
include: 
 i. the name and address of the person, persons, or 
agency to whom the child was discharged; 
 ii. the reason for discharge; 
 iii. the date of discharge; 
 iv. the date of entrance; 
 v. case plan goals achieved while in care; 
 vi. follow-up recommendations; and 
 vii. person or agency responsible. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7315. Adoption Services 

A. Provider Requirements  
1. General Requirements 

a. The provider shall assure that all expectant 
parent(s) considering adoption as a permanent plan are 
advised of the legal statutes relative to their particular 
situation. The provider should encourage the parent(s) to 
seek independent legal counsel if so desired. 

b. The provider shall avoid the use of coercion in 
securing surrenders from parent(s). A surrender shall not be 
executed any earlier than the third day after the birth or 
placement of the child. 

c. The provider shall advise the parent(s) that a 
valid surrender for adoption to a child placing provider is 
final and irrevocable and makes the provider legally 
responsible for selecting the most appropriate permanent 
placement for the child. Any previous placement agreements 
or understandings between the provider and the parent(s) are 
considered preferences which are not legally binding in the 
absence of a court order and secondary to the child's right to 
a timely permanent placement. 

d. The provider shall not bring pressure on parent(s) 
to resume parental responsibility after acceptance of the 
surrender. Where the child is not in a permanent placement 
and the parent(s) wish to resume parental responsibility, the 
provider may consider adoptive placement with the 
parent(s). 

e. The provider shall discuss the potential children 
available for adoption with the prospective adoptive family 
in compliance with state laws and provider policies on 
confidentiality and ethical practices. The provider shall have 
at least one up-to-date appropriate state or Louisiana 
Adoption Resource Exchange Photo listing of children to 
show families. 

f. The provider shall inform the prospective 
adoptive parent(s) of the Louisiana Adoption Resource 
Exchange, a resource within the department for assisting 
agencies in linking the waiting child(ren) available for 
adoption with the waiting prospective adoptive parent(s). If 
the prospective adoptive parent(s) are interested, the 
provider shall assist them with registration forms provided 
by the department. 

g. The provider shall advise the adoptive parents of 
the current provisions of their appropriate state or the 
Louisiana Voluntary Registry within the department to 
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acilitate reunions between adult adoptees and birth family 
members. 

2. Background Checks 
a. The provider shall perform a state and national 

criminal background check on the applicant(s) and any 
member of the applicant’s household in accordance with the 
R.S. 46:51.2 for any crime enumerated under R.S. 15:587.1 
and Public Law 105-89. 

b. An inquiry of the State Central Registry for 
members of the household 18 years of age and older shall be 
conducted. No person who is recorded on the State Central 
Registry with a valid (justified) finding of abuse or neglect 
of a child can reside in the home. The parent(s) and all other 
members of the household, 18 years of age or older, shall 
sign a release for a clearance with the State Central Registry. 
If the applicant(s) or any other adult living in the home of 
such applicant resided in another state within the proceeding 
five years, the provider shall request and obtain information 
from that state’s child abuse and neglect registry. 

3. Interstate Placements 
a. The provider shall send written notice to the 

administrator of the Interstate Compact for the placement of 
children on forms provided by the authorized agency before 
placing into or receiving a child from another state. No 
interstate placement shall occur without prior approval from 
the compact administrator from the receiving state. 

4. Intercountry Adoptions  
B. Definitions 

Birth Certificate—the child's official birth certificate 
and, if the certificate is not in English, a certified translation 
of the certificate. 

Child—a person under seventeen years of age and not 
emancipated by marriage. 

Foreign Orphan—a foreign-born child who is under the 
age of 16 at the time a visa petition is filed on his behalf and 
whose parents have both died or disappeared, or abandoned 
or deserted him, or who has become separated or lost from 
both parents; whose sole surviving parent is incapable of 
providing for the child's care and has in writing irrevocably 
released the child for emigration and adoption; or who is a 
child born outside of marriage whose father acknowledges 
paternity and signs a relinquishment along with the mother. 

C. Persons who may petition for inter-country adoption: 
1. A United States citizen and spouse jointly or an 

unmarried United States citizen at least twenty-five years of 
age may petition for inter-country adoption of a foreign 
orphan. At least one petitioner shall be a domiciliary of 
Louisiana. When one joint petitioner dies after the petition 
has been filed, the adoption proceedings may continue as 
though the survivor was a single original petitioner. 

D. Placement Authority. No foreign orphan who is the 
subject of an inter-country adoption shall be placed in the 
home of the prospective adoptive parents prior to their 
obtaining a certification for adoption. 

E. Birth Certificate Requirement 
1. Prior to the initiation of any adoption, the 

petitioners shall obtain a certified copy of the child's birth 
certificate, and, if the certificate is not in English, a certified 
translation of the certificate, which shall be attached to the 
petition for adoption. 

2. If a certified copy of the birth certificate and 
certified translation are not available, the court may make 
findings on the date, place of birth, and parentage of the 
adopted person in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 
40:79(C)(2). 

F. Record of Adoption Decree  
1. A person born in a foreign country who is adopted 

in the state of Louisiana, but who is not a United States 
citizen, or who is a naturalized United States citizen, and a 
person born in a foreign country and adopted outside the 
United States by adoptive parents who are residents of the 
state of Louisiana at the time of the adoption, may obtain a 
new birth certificate according to the following conditions, 
limitations, and procedures:  

a. where a certified copy of the original foreign 
birth certificate of the adopted person, and, if the certificate 
is not in English, a certified verbatim translation of the 
certificate are available, the state registrar, upon receipt of 
the certificate translation and a certified copy of the order or 
decree of adoption, shall prepare a birth certificate in the 
new name of the adopted person and shall seal and file the 
foreign certificate and order or decree of adoption; 

b. where the certified copy of the original birth 
certificate of the adopted person and certified translation are 
not available, the court having jurisdiction of adoptions in 
the parish, upon evidence presented by the Department of 
Children and Family Services from information secured at 
the port of entry or upon evidence from other reliable 
sources, may make findings on the date, place of birth, and 
parentage of the adopted person. Upon receipt of a certified 
copy of such findings of the court, together with a certified 
copy of the order or decree of adoption, the state registrar 
shall prepare a birth certificate in the new name of the 
adopted person and shall seal and file the certified copy of 
the findings of the court and the certified copy of the order 
or decree of adoption; 

c. a birth certificate issued pursuant to the 
provisions of this Subsection shall show specifically the true 
or probable country, island, or continent of birth. Except as 
provided in the following Paragraph, the birth certificate 
shall be annotated with the provision "not proof of United 
States citizenship"; 

d. where a certified copy of a certificate of 
naturalization is received by the state registrar together with 
the documents required by this Subsection, the date and 
number of the certificate of naturalization shall be included 
in the birth certificate, and the birth certificate shall be 
accepted by all state agencies as evidence of United States 
citizenship. 

G. Types of Adoption. There are two types of inter-country 
adoptions of foreign orphans in Louisiana: 

1. recognition of a foreign decree of adoption; 
2. adoption of a foreign orphan. 

H. Services in inter-country placements shall be provided 
by the state or licensed CPA authorized by the department to 
provide child placement in foster care and adoption services 
in Louisiana and shall comply with applicable federal and 
state laws. 

1. The provider shall include in its statement of 
purpose a description of any inter-country placement 
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services provided by the provider which may include but not 
be limited to: 

(a). provision of intake services to help the 
family determine if it can parent a child of another country 
and culture; 

(b). facilitation between the family and the 
foreign placement entity in direct adoptions or between the 
family and another child placing provider; 

(c). link families with regulatory authorities in 
the United States and/or foreign country; 

(d). provision of a home study for family to the 
U.S. Citizenship and Naturalization Service (USCIS) with 
accompanying: 
 (i). placement recommendation; 
 (ii). certification that family has met the 
pre-adoptive requirements in the child's proposed state of 
residence; 
 (iii). signatures of the person completing the 
home study, the placement supervisor, and the provider 
administrator; 
 (iv). verification that the provider is 
licensed or authorized to operate in Louisiana; 

(e). facilitate the provision of state-approved 
home studies for Louisiana families residing abroad through 
International Social Services to enable them to comply with 
the provisions of the Immigration and Naturalization Act; 

(f). selection and preparation for the child(ren) 
to be placed and/or family; 

(g). follow-up and supervision of the child's 
adoptive placement status; 

(h). assistance to the family with legal 
finalization of the adoption in Louisiana to include: 
 (i). verification of documents attesting to 
the child's legal availability for adoption; 
 (ii). court reports to the department in 
connection with the petition to finalize the adoption in a 
Louisiana court; 

(i). assistance to the family in obtaining a 
revised birth certificate for the child; and 

(j). post adoption services; 
 i. the provider shall conduct or accept only a 
home study conducted in accordance with these regulations 
for inter-country adoptive placements; 
 ii. the provider working directly with foreign 
entities or with out-of-state licensed agencies to arrange for 
the placement of children shall establish working 
relationships and agreements in writing which address the 
service, legal, and financial responsibilities of the two 
parties; 
 iii. the following conditions shall be met by the 
authorized adoption service or person in another country 
before a child can be placed for adoption in Louisiana: 

(a). the child shall be qualified for adoption and 
be in the permanent custody of an authorized provider, 
organization or person in the foreign country; 

(b). a duly constituted governmental unit or 
judicial court of the child's country has authorized the 
provider, organization, or person to arrange the adoption, 
who shall observe the laws or customs of the foreign 
country; 

(c). there shall be proper emigration and 
immigration permits; and 

(d). there shall be social and medical history of 
the child, to the extent available; 
 iv. providers in Louisiana and those authorized 
agencies placing foreign born children in to Louisiana shall 
be subject to the proceeding rules. In addition, such 
providers shall: 

(a). be responsible for making another adoptive 
plan if the placement disrupts prior to finalization of the 
adoption; 

(b). provide foster care until other appropriate 
legal steps are complete for the child's permanent care if the 
adoption disrupts; 

(c). arrange for needed medical care for a child if 
the adoptive parents decide not to keep the child; 

(d). advise adoptive parents of the necessity to 
have the child naturalized as a separate action from the 
adoption, if applicable; 
 v. a provider working in conjunction with another 
out-of-state CPA to arrange for international child placement 
shall ensure that the other provider is licensed in its state; 
 vi. the provider shall ensure that all actions related 
to the international placement and adoption of children 
satisfy the laws and regulations of Louisiana and any other 
state in which it is authorized to operate, those of the foreign 
nation involved and the federal immigration laws; 
 vii. the provider providing international placement 
services shall provide written information to families that at 
a minimum: 

(a.) describes provider's services and programs; 
(b). defines the legal and financial 

responsibilities of the provider and the family; 
(c). defines its relationship with any other 

foreign or domestic child placing entity; 
(d). identifies direct and indirect costs associated 

with accomplishing the inter-country adoption; 
 viii. the provider involved with assisting the family 
to arrange for the child's emigration, immigration or 
adoption shall: 

(a). ensure that all documents related to the 
child's legal status, emigration, social and medical status and 
immigration are valid and accurate; 

(b). ensure that documents required for the 
child's adoption or re-adoption in the United States comply 
with the laws and requirements for adoption in the state in 
which adoptive parents will file the adoption petition. When 
documents are not available or are in question the provider 
shall be responsible for helping the adoptive parents correct 
these circumstances; 

(c). ensure that families are aware of their 
responsibility to notify USCIS of changes in the child's 
residence after the child's adoption and prior to the child's 
naturalization; 
 ix. the provider shall send written notice to the 
department on plans to place a Louisiana child in another 
country or when approval is given to USCIS for a Louisiana 
family to adopt a foreign born child; 
 x. the provider which provides inter-country 
adoption services to the family shall: 

(a). notify USCIS and the department when the 
child's legal adoption has been finalized so files can be 
updated; 
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(b). notify the USCIS and the department when 
the child's legal adoption has not been finalized within six 
months of the time provided by state law; 

(c). notify the USCIS and the department when 
custody and/or residence of the child changes prior to 
finalization of the adoption; 
 xi. the provider working with an out of state 
provider to place a foreign born child in Louisiana shall give 
written notice to the administrator of the Interstate Compact 
on the Placement of Children before placing a child into or 
receiving a child from another state. No placement shall 
occur without prior approval from the compact administrator 
of the receiving state. A child adopted through the court of 
jurisdiction in a foreign country or entering Louisiana 
directly from the foreign country for purposes of adoption 
are not subject to the Interstate Compact on the Placement of 
Children; 
 xii. the provider shall comply with all applicable 
provisions of the Intercountry Adoption Act, Public Law 
106-279. 

I. Personnel Qualifications 
1. Supervisor. The supervisor shall meet one of the 

following qualifications: 
 i. a master's degree from an accredited school of 
social work; and  
 ii. two years experience in child placement; 
 iii. in all instances, child placement staff shall 
include a person meeting the qualifications of a supervisor of 
placement services; 
 iv. a staff person shall be delegated supervisory 
authority and responsibility in the short-term absence of the 
supervisor of placement services for illness, vacation, jury or 
military duty, professional seminars and meetings or in 
short-term periods when the position is vacant; 

v. a person serving as acting supervisor shall meet 
the qualifications of supervisor of placement services. If 
there is no one on staff who meets the qualification, the 
agency may meet the minimum requirements for licensing 
by entering into an agreement with another CPA for 
supervision or by entering into a contractual agreement with 
a private practitioner who meets the qualifications and is a 
Board Certified Social Worker. 

J. Child Placement Worker. The child placement worker 
(CPW) shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in social 
work or any bachelor's degree plus one year of social service 
experience; 

2. a child placement worker located in a branch office 
apart from the supervisor of placement services shall have a 
master's degree from an accredited school of social work; 

3. in providers where the child placement staff is 
comprised of one placement worker, this person shall meet 
the qualifications of the supervisor of placement services. 

K. Child Placement Worker (CPW) Assistant. The CPW 
assistant shall: 

1. be at least 18 years of age; 
2. have a high school diploma or equivalency; and 
3. have one year of experience providing basic child 

welfare support services to children. 
L. Personnel Job Duties  

1. The supervisor shall be responsible for: 

a. supervising staff providing services in the 
provider program areas; 

b. guiding employees in the assessment of services 
or placement needs of children; the development of 
psychosocial assessment of case goals/objectives and/or case 
plans for children and their families; and the implementation 
of the case plan; 

c. determining work assignments and periodically 
monitors workers' productivity and activity; 

d. may serve as a consultant to other supervisors or 
employees; 

e. may design and deliver training curricula or on-
the-job training opportunities; 

f. gathering and analyzing data in order to design 
and implement recruitment campaigns to recruit potential 
adoptive and foster family resources to meet the placement 
needs of children in provider custody; 

g. reviewing and approving home studies, 
certifications and placements. 

M. The CPW shall be responsible for:  
1. assessing, developing, and executing a plan to 

achieve permanence for the child including return to the 
family, adoptions, transfer of custody, independent living, or 
other alternative plans; 

2. providing services to a caseload of children 
removed from their homes by court order, voluntary 
surrender, or voluntary placement agreement and placed in a 
foster home or a more restrictive setting; 

3. overseeing the placement to ensure the child's well-
being; 

4. probability of return, and plan for the child's 
permanence; 

5. developing and implementing a recruitment plan 
for certifying perspective foster and adoptive families; 

6. preparing and conducting extensive orientation and 
training for potential foster and adoptive homes; 

7. examining and evaluating information gathered 
about families, housing, and environment in relation to 
provider criteria and licensing regulation for certification of 
perspective adoptive and foster homes; 

8. upon completion of written home studies, 
recommending approval or denial of certification for 
perspective adoptive and foster homes based on a combined 
evaluation and assessment process; 

9. re-evaluating for continued annual re-certification 
for foster and adoptive homes;  

10. develops and implements a corrective action plan to 
correct deficiencies. 

11. maintaining listing of all foster and adoptive homes 
in area and recommends appropriate resources to workers 
placing children. 

N. The CPW assistant shall be responsible for: 
1. assisting professional staff in providing services to 

the children; 
2. instructing children in the practical application of 

improved standards of housekeeping, shopping, personal 
hygiene, medical and childcare, and other necessary home 
management skills; 

3. lifting or assisting children into the transit with 
their personal belongings and any medically needed 
equipment such as a wheel chair, an oxygen tank, a walker, 
etc.; 
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4. observing and reporting children's behavior to 
professional staff to aid in the assessment and treatment plan 
of the case; 

5. monitoring family visitation between caretaker and 
child(ren) with parents, as required;  

6. preparing narrative reports and maintaining 
visitation log as required; 

7. scheduling and arranging child transportation for 
follow-up visits; 

8. effectively communicating with children to defuse 
potentially dangerous situations such as physical/verbal 
confrontations between children and/or towards provider 
staff; 

9. completing various forms and reports; 
10. may be responsible for vehicle maintenance and 

documentation of such. 
O. Case Record  

1. The provider shall maintain a record from the time 
of the application for services through the completed legal 
adoption and termination of provider services for: 

a. a child accepted for care; 
b. the child’s family; and 
c. an adoptive applicant. 

2. The case record shall contain material on which the 
provider's decision may be based and shall include or 
preserve: 

a. information and documents obtained as required 
by the court; 

b. information about the child and the child’s 
family; 

c. a narrative or summary of the services provided 
with a copy of legal and other pertinent documents; and 

d. information gathered during the intake process 
including the following: 
 i. a description of the situation that necessitated 
placement of the child away from the child’s family, or 
surrender of parental rights; 
 ii. a certified copy of the order to surrender 
parental rights and committing the child to the provider for 
the purpose of adoption; 
 iii. verification of the child's birth record and the 
registration number; 
 iv. a copy of the child's medical record up to the 
time of adoption finalization; 
 v. a copy of the required home study with 
verification of all supporting documents; 
 vi. date of adoptive placement; 
 vii. a statement of the basis for the selection of this 
adoptive home for the child; 
 viii. a record of after-placement services with dates 
of: 

(a). visits; 
(b). contacts; 
(c). observations; 
(d). filing of petition; 
(e). granting of judgments; and 
(f). other significant court proceedings relative 

to the adoption; 
 (i). child's adoptive name; and 
 (ii). verification of preparation and 
orientation training. 

3. The provider alone shall have full access to the 
adoptive parent(s) information. 

4. Adoption case records shall be: 
a. maintained indefinitely following final placement 

of a child; and 
b. sealed and secured from unauthorized scrutiny in 

accordance with state law. 
5. The provider shall submit microfilm/micro fished 

adoptive case records to the department, if: 
a. the provider closes; and 
b. no other operational governing entity exists. 

P. Certification of an Adoptive Home 
1. Recruitment of an Applicant 

a. The provider's staff shall recruit a prospective 
adoptive home and approve the applicant for participation as 
an adoptive home if the provider meets all of the required 
standards.  

b. The provider shall have a written plan for 
ongoing recruitment of adoptive homes which includes the 
methods of recruitment, resources to be used, time-related 
goals for applicant recruitment, designated staff, and funding 
to implement the plan. The provider shall engage in active 
recruitment of potential adoptive parents who reflect the 
racial and ethnic diversity of children needing placement. 

c. The provider shall provide information to the 
prospective adoptive parent(s) about: 
 i. the adoption process; 
 ii. the provider's policies and practices, legal 
procedures and the approximate time the process will take; 
 iii. adoptive standards; 
 iv. types of children available; 
 v. the fees, structure, and the availability of a 
subsidy if applicable. 

d. The provider shall provide services to adoptive 
applicants to assist them in making an informed decision 
about adoption. The home study should be an opportunity 
for applicant(s) and provider placement workers to 
participate in a joint, mutual assessment and evaluation of 
their potential for meeting the needs of the children available 
for adoption. 

2. Home Study 
a. The provider shall complete a home study on 

adoptive home applicant(s) prior to placement of a child in 
the home.  

b. The applicant(s) shall be allowed the opportunity 
to review a copy of their home study whether the application 
was approved or denied for certification. Any quotations 
from reference letters or other third party letters or telephone 
reports from agencies or professionals shall be deleted. 
Identifying information regarding the child's biological 
family shall be removed, unless a release of information is 
obtained from the birth parent(s). 

c. With written permission of the applicant(s), the 
provider may forward a copy of the home study to another 
child placement provider for placement consideration or re-
application to another child placing provider. 

d. The home study shall include verification of the 
following: 
 i. marital status: 

(a). verification the applicant is legally married or 
single; 
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 ii. citizenship/age requirement: 
(a). proof of the applicant's: 

 (i). identity, such as a federally or state-
issued photo identification card; 
 (ii). United States citizenship, such as a 
birth certificate, or legal alien status, such as a permanent 
child card, as described in 8 U.S.C. 1151 as evidence; 
 iii. be at least 18 years of age; 
 iv. income: 

(a).verification that the applicant has sufficient 
income, separate from foster care reimbursement, to meet 
the needs of the family; 
 v. references: 

(a). three personal references who are not related 
to the applicant and one reference who is related to the 
applicant but does not live in the home; 
 vi. health: 

(a). a statement for each member of the 
applicant's household that shall be signed by a licensed 
physician or licensed health care professional verifying that 
the individual: 
 (i). is free of a communicable or infectious 
disease;  
 (ii). has no illness or condition that would 
present a health, to include past and present mental health, or 
safety risk to a child placed in the applicant's home; and 
 (iii). is physical able to provide necessary 
care for a child; 

e. The study shall also include: 
 i. at least two home consultation visits and a third 
visit which may be a home or office visit; 
 ii. separate face to face interviews with each age 
appropriate member of the household and an interview with 
an adult child of the applicant, who does not live in the 
applicant's home, regarding the applicant’s parenting history; 
 iii. discussion of motivation or origin of interest in 
adoption care, the child(ren) requested in regard to the 
number, age, sex, characteristics or acceptable in regard to 
health or developmental conditions or other special needs; 
 iv. history of any previous application for 
adoption. The provider shall document the attempt to obtain 
a copy of any previous home study from the responsible 
provider. If an applicant was approved to foster or adopt a 
child by another provider or the department and the 
applicant's home was closed, verification of the closure and 
a statement to indicate whether the closure was at the request 
of the applicant or the provider; 
 v. background information and social information 
of applicant(s) and all members of the household to include 
but not limited to: 

(a). personality in general and in relation to 
being an adoptive family; 

(b). family background, customs, relationship 
patterns, formative experiences with adoption, and (if 
immigrants) early adjustment in the new country; 

(c). marriage(s), marital or non-marital 
relationship(s), nature, quality, and agreement on respective 
roles, how are mutual needs met and how would a new child 
affect the relationship; 

(d). children in the family and family interaction 
patterns and relationships, where/how would a new child fit 
in and affect family relationships; 

(e). hobbies, interests, social contacts, contacts 
with extended family, integration into/involvement in 
community, how will these be affected by the addition of a 
new child; 
 vi. discussion of past and present mental and 
physical health of all applicants and family members. 
 vii. discussion of religious faith, affiliation, 
practices, attitudes towards religion, openness to religion of 
others and how parent(s) view the role of religion in rearing 
children; 
 viii. assessment of the attitude of each member of 
the applicant's household extended family and significant 
others involved with the family toward the placement of a 
child into the home; 
 ix. discussion of disciplinary beliefs and practices; 
 x. plan for child care if parent(s) work outside of 
the home; special provisions for meeting needs of specific 
special needs placement; 
 xi. attitude and capacity for handling an adoptive 
disruption if that should be necessary; 
 xii. attitudes and capacities to parent an adoptee, 
general attitude toward birth-parent(s) and the reason the 
child is in need of adoption; understanding and acceptance 
of the adoptee's separate background, heritage and identity, 
(if applicable) need for sibling and/or family contact; 
readiness and capacity to discuss adoption with the child and 
deal with adoption related issues that arise; adjustment of 
previously adopted children (if applicable); 
 xiii. for individuals or couples wishing to adopt 
whose good health may not continue throughout the 
minority of the child or whose life expectancy may be 
shorter than the minority years of the child, there shall be 
established a plan for guardianship of the child in the event 
that incapacity or death precedes the child's reaching the age 
of majority; 
 xiv. if a business open to the public adjoins the 
applicant’s household, consideration of potential negative 
impacts on the child and family, including: 
 (a). hours of operation; 
 (b). type of business; and 
 (c). clientele. 

Q. Training the Adoptive Parent(s)  
1. The adoptive parent(s) shall participate in training 

provided or approved by the agency to develop and enhance 
their skills.  

2. The provider shall develop and provide orientation 
and preparation to a prospective adoptive parent, to include 
the following: 

a. provider program description with mission 
statement; 

b. information about the rights and responsibilities 
of the home; and 

c. background information about the adoptive child 
and the child’s family. 

d. an example of an actual experience from an 
adoptive parent that has adopted a child; 

e. information regarding: 
 i. the stages of grief; 
 ii. identification of the behavior linked to each 
stage of grief; 
 iii. the long-term effect of separation and loss on a 
child; 
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 iv. permanency planning for a child, including 
independent living services; 
 v. the importance of attachment on a child's 
growth and development and how a child may maintain or 
develop a healthy attachment; 
 vi. family functioning, values, and expectations of 
a foster home; 
 vii. cultural competency; 
 viii. how a child enters care and experiences 
adoptive care, and the importance of achieving permanency;  
 ix. identification of changes that may occur in the 
home if a placement occurs, to include: 

(a). family adjustment and disruption; 
(b). identity issues; and 
(c). discipline issues and child behavior 

management; and 
(d). specific requirements and responsibilities of 

an adoptive parent. 
3. Parent(s) Requirements 

a. General Requirements 
 i. Adoptive parent(s) shall:  

(a). accept children for adoption only from a 
licensed CPA or the state agency; 

(b). not care for unrelated adults on a commercial 
basis nor accept children into the home for day care at the 
same time they are certified to provide adoptive care; 

(c). not accept children beyond the maximum 
capacity allowable for an adoptive home; 

(d). permit the provider to visit the home; 
(e). share with the provider information about 

the child placed by the provider; 
(f). notify the provider prior to: 

 (i). leaving the state with a child placed by 
the provider for more than two nights; or 
 (ii). allowing a child placed by the provider 
to be absent from the adoptive home for more than three 
days; 

(g). report, if applicable, within two business 
days to the provider if there is a: 
 (i). change in address; 
 (ii). change in the number of people living 
in the home; 
 (iii). significant change in circumstance in 
the home; or 
 (iv). failure of the adoptive child or parent 
to comply with the supervision plan; 

(h). cooperate with the provider regarding the 
following when the staff arranges between a child and the 
child’s birth family: 

(i).visits; 
 (ii).telephone calls; 
 (iii).mail; or 
 (iv).email; 

(i). surrender a child or children to the 
authorized representative of the provider or the state 
provider, which has custody of the child, upon request; 

(j). keep confidential all personal or protected 
health information as shared by the department or provider 
according to state law and 45 C.F.R. Parts 160 and 164, 
concerning a child placed in a home or the child’s birth 
family; 

(k). support an assessment of the service needs, 
including respite care, and the development of a service plan 
of a child placed by the provider; 

(l). participate in a case planning conference 
concerning a child placed by the provider; 

(m). cooperate with the support and 
implementation of the permanency goal established for a 
child placed by the provider; 

(n). provide medical care to a child as needed, 
including: 
 (i). administration of medication to the child and 
daily documentation of the administration; and 
 (ii) .annual physicals and examinations for the 
child; 

(o). comply with general supervision and 
direction of the provider concerning the care of the child 
placed by the provider; 

(p). for individuals or couples wishing to adopt 
whose good health may not continue throughout the 
minority of the child or whose life expectancy may be 
shorter than the minority years of the child, there shall be 
established a plan for guardianship of the child in the event 
that incapacity of death precedes the child's reaching the age 
of majority; 

(q). be knowledgeable of disciplinary measures 
and shall:  
 (i).  recognize, encourage, and regard 
acceptable behavior;  
 (ii). teach by example and use fair and 
consistent rules with logical consequences; 
 (iii). use methods of discipline that are 
relevant to the behavior;  
 (iv). supervise with an attitude of 
understanding, firmness, and discipline;  
 (v). give clear directions and provide 
guidance consistent with the child's level of understanding;  
 (vi). redirect the child by stating alternatives 
when behavior is unacceptable;  
 (vii). express themselves so the child 
understands that the child's feelings are acceptable but 
certain actions or behavior are not;  
 (viii). help the child learn what conduct is 
acceptable in various situations;  
 (ix). encourage the child to control the 
child's own behavior, cooperate with others and solve 
problems by talking things out;  
 (x). communicate with the child by 
showing an attitude of affection and concern; and 
 (xi). encourage the child to consider others' 
feelings. 

4. Exterior Environment Requirements 
a. The adoptive home shall be reasonably safe, in 

good repair and comparable in appearance and maintenance 
to other homes in the community. 

b. The home and the exterior around the home shall 
be free from objects, materials and conditions which 
constitute a danger to the children served. 

c. The home shall have a safe outdoor play area 
which children may use either on the property or within a 
reasonable distance of the property. Any play equipment on 
the property shall be safe, well constructed and suitable for 
the children served. 
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d. Any swimming and wading pools areas shall be 
locked and be made inaccessible to children except when 
supervised. 

5. Interior Environment Requirements 
a. Adoptive parent(s) shall have the necessary 

equipment for the safe preparation, storage, serving and 
clean up of meals. 

b. Adoptive parent(s) shall maintain all cooking and 
refrigeration equipment in working and sanitary condition. 

c. The home shall have a comfortable dining area 
furnished with sufficient furniture so that all members of the 
household can eat together. 

d. The home shall have sufficient living or family 
room space comfortably furnished and accessible to all 
members of the family. 

e. Sleeping arrangements in an adoptive home shall 
be subject to the prior approval of the placing agency. 

f. Adoptive parent(s) shall permit no more than 
four children to a bedroom. 

g. Providers receiving federal funds may not use 
standards related to income, age, education, family structure 
and size or ownership of housing which exclude groups of 
prospective parents on the basis of race, color, or national 
origin, where these standards are arbitrary or unnecessary or 
where less exclusionary standards are available. 

h. Adoptive parent(s) shall provide each child with 
his/her own bed and each infant with his/her own crib. The 
bed shall be no shorter than the child's height and no less 
than 30 inches wide. It shall have a clean, comfortable, non-
toxic mattress with a water proof cover. 

i. Adoptive parent(s) shall not permit children over 
the age of six years to share a bedroom with a person of the 
opposite sex unless the children are inclusive of the same 
sibling group. 

j. Children shall not share a bedroom with adults, 
except when the child needs close supervision due to illness 
or except at the discretion of the placing agency. 

k. Bedrooms shall have windows which provide 
sufficient natural light and ventilation for the health of the 
children. 

l. Adoptive parent(s) shall provide bed linen and 
sufficient blankets and pillows for all children. 

m. The home shall have a minimum of one flush 
toilet; one wash basin with running water, and one bath or 
shower with hot and cold water. 

n. Adoptive parent(s) shall equip each bathroom 
with toilet paper, towels, soap and other items required for 
personal hygiene and grooming. 

o. Adoptive parent(s) shall allow each child 
sufficient privacy with the exclusion of security/video 
cameras from areas such as the child’s bedroom and/or 
bathroom. 

6. Safety Requirements 
a. The home shall be well heated and well 

ventilated.  
b. The adoptive parent(s) shall: 

 i. provide screens for windows and doors used 
for outside ventilation; 
 ii. have a telephone in the home; 
 iii. ensure the safe storage of drugs, poisons or 
other harmful materials; 

 iv. store alcoholic beverage out of reach of small 
children; 
 v. take measures to keep the home and premises 
free of rodents and insects. 
 vi. restrict children's access to potentially 
dangerous animals. Pets shall have current immunizations; 
 vii. store unloaded firearms and ammunition in 
separate locked places, inaccessible to children; 
 viii. have household first aid supplies for treating 
minor cuts, burns and other minor injuries. 

7. Fire Safety Requirements 
a. The home shall be free from fire hazards, such as 

faulty electric cords and appliances, or non-maintained 
fireplaces and chimneys. 

b. Adoptive parent(s) living in apartment buildings 
shall give evidence that the building has been approved for 
building and fire safety within the last two years. 

c. Adoptive homes including mobile homes shall 
have two doors which provide unrestricted exits in case of 
fire. 

d. The adoptive parent(s) shall: 
 i. equip the home with operating smoke alarms 
within 10 feet of each bedroom. 
 ii. place a portable chemical fire extinguisher in 
the cooking area of the home. 
 iii. establish an emergency evacuation plan and 
shall practice it at least quarterly with the children, if 
applicable, to make sure all children understand the 
procedures. 
 iv. store combustible items away from sources of 
heat. 
 v. shield all home heating units and other hot 
surfaces against accidental contact. 
 vi. maintain safe conditions with properly 
installed, maintained and operated solid fuel heating stoves, 
systems, and fireplaces. 

8. Sanitation and Health Requirements 
a. Adoptive parent(s) shall keep the home clean and 

free of hazards to the health and physical well being of the 
family. 

b. The home shall have a continuous supply of 
clean drinking water. If the water is not from a city water 
supply, the adoptive parent(s) shall have the water tested and 
approved by the local health authority. 

c. All plumbing in the home shall be in working 
order. 

d. The home shall have an adequate supply of hot 
water for bathing and dishwashing. Hot water accessible to 
children shall not exceed 120 degrees Fahrenheit at the 
outlet. 

9. Daily Living Services Requirements. The adoptive 
parent(s) shall: 

a. provide structure and daily activities designed to 
promote the individual, social, intellectual, spiritual, and 
emotional development of the chi1d(ren) in their home; 

b. assist the adoptive child(ren) to develop skills 
and to perform tasks which will promote independence and 
the ability to care for themselves; 

c. help the adoptive child maintain an awareness of 
his past, a record of the present, and a plan for the future; 
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d. ask adoptive children to assume work 
responsibilities reasonable for their age and ability and 
commensurate with those expected of their own children; 

e. make every effort to teach good habits of money 
management, budgeting, and shopping as appropriate to the 
child's age and abilities; 

f. make every effort to teach a child good habits of 
personal hygiene and grooming appropriate to the child's 
sex, age and culture through careful daily monitoring; 

10. Food and Nutrition Requirements. The adoptive 
parent(s) shall: 

a. provide at least three nutritionally balanced meals 
daily according to the child’s service plan; 

b. provide for any special dietary needs of the 
adoptive child placed in their home on the advice of a 
licensed physician or in accordance with the child's case 
plan. 

11. Clothing Requirements. The adoptive parent(s) 
shall: 

a. provide each adoptive child with their own clean, 
well fitting, attractive, seasonal clothing appropriate to age, 
sex, individual needs and comparable to other household 
members and to the community standards; 

b. a child's clothing shall be his/her own, not be 
required to be shared; 

c. a child's clothing shall go with the child when 
they leave; 

d. only shoes in good repair and condition shall be 
provided for the child; 

e. allow the foster child(ren) to assist in the 
choosing of their own clothing whenever possible. 

12. Support System 
a. The adoptive parent(s) shall have or develop an 

adequate support system for supervising and providing care 
for the child(ren) on an ongoing basis to allow the parent(s) 
opportunities for conducting personal business and for 
enjoying occasional breaks from the responsibility of caring 
for the child(ren). 

b. The adoptive parent(s) shall provide one 
responsible adult (over age 18) for direct supervision of 
children or on call at all times. 

c. Any person given the responsibility for a child on 
a regular basis must be identified to and approved by the 
placing agency. 

R. Updating Home Study 
1. For families who have had an adoptive placement 

and who wish to apply for adoption of another child, the 
original home study may be updated. 

2. If more than a year has passed since the family was 
certified for adoption, the provider shall complete an update 
prior to placement of a child in the home including updated 
background checks. 

3. Applications for a second child shall not precede 
the finalization of the adoption of any unrelated children 
placed previously. 

S. Denial of an Adoption Home Request 
1. The applicant shall be notified, in writing, within 

30 days if the request to become an adoptive home parent is 
not recommended for one of the following reasons: 

a. the applicant is unwilling to withdraw the request 
to become an adoption parent after receiving a 
recommendation to withdraw; or 

b. the applicant desires to adopt, but is unwilling to 
adopt a child under the custodial control of the department. 

2. The applicant shall enter a dispositional summary 
in the applicant(s) case record clearly indicating the reason 
for denial of the application for certification, the manner in 
which the decision was presented to the family and whether 
or not they agreed with the decision. 

3. If the applicant disagrees with the department's 
recommendation to not accept the applicant as an adoption 
home, department staff shall review the request to become 
an adoption home parent and issue a final written 
determination regarding the department's recommendation. 

T. Decertification of an Adoption Home.  
1. A home shall be decertified if: 

a. it is determined that the family does not meet the 
general requirements for an adoption home; 

b. a situation exists that is not in the best interest of 
a child; 

c. sexual abuse or exploitation by the parent or by 
another resident of the home is substantiated; 

d. substantiated child abuse or neglect by a resident 
of the household occurs that is serious in nature or warrants 
removal of a child; 

e. a serious physical or mental illness develops that 
may impair or preclude adequate care of the child by the 
parent; or 

f. a child has not been placed in the home within 
the preceding two year period. 

2. A home may be decertified according to the terms 
of the contract between the provider and the home. 

3. If it is necessary to decertify a home, the reason 
shall be stated by the provider in a personal interview with 
the family. 

4. The provider shall confirm, in a written notice to 
the home parent, the decision to decertify a home. The notice 
shall be delivered within 30 calendar days of the interview 
with a adoption home parent. 

5. The written notice for decertification of a home 
shall include: 

a. notice that the provider shall not place a child in 
the home; 

b. the reason why the home is being decertified; and 
c. effective date. 

U. Reapplication for Certification  
1. Persons who desire to re-certify their adoption 

home must re-apply. To reapply, a former adoption home 
parent shall: 

a. attend an informational meeting; and 
b. submit the: 

 i. names of references; and 
 ii. authorization for criminal records background 
check. 

2. If the adoption home hasn't been certified for more 
than five years, a new home study must be completed.  

3. If the adoption home hasn't been certified for five 
years or less and at the time of the de-certification, the home 
was in good standing and the re-assessments were up-to-
date, the home can be certified with an addendum and 
updated forms. 

4. If the re-assessments were not in compliance, a 
home study must be completed. 
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5. If the home was de-certified during an investigation 
or needing a Corrective Action Plan, a home study must be 
completed.  

V. Child Placement 
1. Placement Authority 

a. Prior to adoptive placement, the provider shall 
establish the availability of a child through the following 
procedures: 
 i. acceptance of legally executed voluntary 
surrender(s) from the parent(s); 
 ii. if the parent is surrendering the child, prior to 
the execution of the surrender, a surrendering parent shall 
participate in a minimum of two counseling sessions relative 
to the surrender; 
 iii. the provider shall execute an affidavit attesting 
that the surrendering parent attended a minimum of two 
sessions, and stating whether the surrendering parent 
appeared to understand the nature and consequences of his 
intended act. The affidavit of the counselor shall be attached 
to the act of surrender; 
 iv. if, in the opinion of the provider, there is any 
question concerning the parent's mental
capacity to surrender, the basis for these concerns shall be 
stated in the affidavit. If indicated, the affidavit shall contain 
a specific recommendation for any further
evaluation that may be needed to ascertain the parent's 
capacity. 
 v. if he is a major, any surrendering father of a 
child may waive the counseling. In this case, the provider 
shall execute an affidavit attesting to the father's waiver and 
that heappeared to understand the nature and consequences 
of his intended act. The affidavit shall be attached to the act 
of surrender. 
 vi. court order(s) of abandonment against the 
parent(s); 
 vii. court ordered termination of parental rights 
against the parent(s); or 
 viii. documentation of death of parent(s); 
 ix. any combination of the above. 

b. A child’s biological parent shall not be induced to 
terminate parental rights by a promise of financial aid or 
other consideration. 

c. If the court finds the adoptive home to be 
unsuitable and refuses to grant a judgment, the provider shall 
remove the child from the home. 

2. Assessment of the Child for Placement 
a. A child shall not be placed for adoption until the 

adoptive home has been certified. 
b. The child shall participate in the placement 

process and in the decision that placement is appropriate, to 
the extent that the child's age, maturity, adjustment, family 
relationships, and the circumstance necessitating placement 
justify the child's participation. 

c. The provider shall obtain the following, if 
applicable: 
 i. a developmental history of the adoptive child 
to include: 

(a). birth and health history; 
(b). early development; 
(c). characteristic ways the child responds to 

people and situations; 

(d). any deviation from the range of normal 
development; 
 ii. the experiences of the child prior to the 
decision to place the child for adoption; 
 iii. maternal attitude during pregnancy and early 
infancy; 
 iv. continuity of parental care and affection; 
 v. out-of-home placement history; 
 vi. separation experiences; and 
 vii. information about the mother, all fathers and 
family background: 

(a). that may affect the child’s normal 
development in order to determine the presence of a 
significant hereditary factor or pathology; and 

(b). including an illness of the biological mother 
or father, siblings, grandparents, great-grandparents, or 
cousins; 
 viii. a social history of the biological or legal 
parent, to include: 

(a). name; 
(b). date of birth; 
(c). nationality; 
(d). education; 
(e). religion or faith; and 
(f). occupation; 
(g). race; 
(h). height; 
(i). eye color; 
(j). weight; 
(k). complexion. 

d. Information obtained from observation of the 
child by a: 
 i. social services worker; or 
 ii. foster parent; or 
 iii. physician or other licensed health care 
professional; 

e. Information from the mother, if possible, 
identifying the biological father, or legal father, if different 
from the biological father, for the purpose of determining the 
father's parental rights and hereditary rights. If either 
biological or legal parent is unavailable, unwilling, or unable 
to assist with the completion of necessary information, the 
provider shall document information, to the extent possible, 
from the existing case record. 

3. Selection of a Home 
a. The provider shall select an adoptive family for a 

child based on the assessment of the child's needs, as well as, 
an assessment of the prospective family's ability to meet 
those needs. 

b. The provider may assess a child's racial, cultural 
ethnic and religious heritage and preserve them to the extent 
possible without jeopardizing the child's right to care and a 
permanent placement. 

c. Selection of a family shall be based on three 
broad criteria: 
 i. the best interest of the child is the primary 
consideration; 
 ii. the existence of psychological parent-child 
bonds between the child available for adoption and 
significant adults in the child's life; 
 iii. the ability of the family to meet the needs of 
the child. 
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d. The following factors regarding selection of a 
family shall be carefully considered: 
 i. placement of siblings as a family group is 
usually the preferred placement choice unless 
contraindicated by: 

(a). assessment of the nature of sibling 
relationships; 

(b). the likelihood that placement would be 
unduly delayed by waiting for a family who will accept all 
of the children in a sibling group; 

(c). the existence of significant affectionate 
attachment between a child and foster parent(s) who wish to 
adopt only the member of the sibling group already placed in 
the home. The provider may agree to this when an 
assessment indicates that the child's psychological bond to 
the foster parent(s) is so strong that it is more important to 
the child than the sibling relationship(s). In this situation an 
assessment must be made of the foster parent(s) willingness 
to maintain sibling contact after finalization of the adoption; 
 ii. the prospective family's willingness and ability 
to provide for the medical, educational, and psychological 
services identified as being needed by the child; 
 iii. the family's ability to accept the child's 
background and his mental, physical and psychological 
imitations/strengths; 
 iv. the probable impact of such factors such as life 
style, expectations, culture and perception of family life on 
the ability of the family and the child to bond to each other. 

e. Adoption of a child by foster parent(s) shall be 
considered when: 
 i. the foster parent(s) are interested in adopting 
the child; 
 ii. an assessment indicates that foster parent 
adoption is the most desirable permanent plan for the child; 
 iii. the child has lived with the foster family for a 
period of time and' the child and family have formed 
affectionate and healthy ties; 
 iv. removal and placement would be likely to 
cause lasting emotional damage to the child; 
 v. foster parent(s) meet certification standards for 
adoptive homes.  

f. Adoption by a relative(s) shall be considered 
when: 
 i. the relative(s) is interested in adopting the 
child; 
 ii. an assessment indicates that this plan is in the 
best interest of the child; 
 iii. the child and relative(s) have formed 
affectionate and healthy ties; 
 iv. the relative(s) meets certification standards for 
adoptive homes.  

g. Birthparent(s) may be considered for permanent 
placement of the child when: 
 i. the birthparent(s) is interested in adopting the 
child; 
 ii. an assessment indicates that this plan is in the 
best interest of the child; 
 iii. the child and birthparent(s) have the capacity to 
form an affectionate and healthy parent-child relationship; 
 iv. the parent(s) meets the certification standards 
for adoptive homes. Waivers may be considered for 
certification criteria where in the best interest of the child. 

h. The provider having legal custody of the child 
may select an adoptive family for placement of the children 
if legal availability has not been established under the 
following conditions. 
 i. The provider has reasonable assurance that the 
child's availability will be established and legal procedures 
have been initiated or made a part of the case plan, pending 
implementation. 
 ii. Professional evaluation indicates that the 
establishment of a parent child bond at the earliest possible 
age is in the best interest of the child. 
 iii. The adoptive family meets the requirements for 
certification as a family foster home and has been certified 
as such prior to placement. 
 iv. The foster/adoptive family has been advised of 
the legal risks involved and is willing to enter into this case 
plan under a written family foster agreement stipulating the 
special provisions in §7313.U.3. 

i. The provider shall not place a second child in a 
home for adoption until a previously placed child's adoption 
has been finalized except where the second child is a sibling 
to the first child and the placement is in the best interest of 
both children. 

4. Placement Agreement with Adoptive Parent(s) 
a. The provider shall have a signed agreement with 

each adoptive parent which includes the following. 
 i. The child's availability for adoption has been 
established. 
 ii. The child is being placed with the adoptive 
parent(s) for purposes of adoption. 
 iii. The adoptive parent(s) meets the certification 
requirements for adoption. 
 iv. The child remains in the custody of the 
provider until the adoption is finalized. 
 v. The family assumes financial responsibility for 
the child except in special needs placements approved by the 
department for an adoption subsidy or in accordance with 
special provisions for financial responsibility as included in 
the agreement. 
 vi. The number of supervisory visits in the first six 
months of placement to assess the progress of the placement. 
 vii. The provider and family agree to finalize the 
adoption after six months barring unforeseen circumstance 
that warrant removal of the child or to extend the placement 
agreement for another time-limited period not to exceed 18 
months in all. 
 viii. The family agrees to cooperate with the 
provider in making a planned move for the child if 
replacement should be necessary except in emergency 
circumstances. 
 ix. The family will not petition the court for 
adoption until the provider has given written consent. 
 x. The family will report to the provider any 
changes in their circumstances that have an effect on the 
child or the adoption. 
 xi. The family will not take the child out-of-state 
or authorize any special medical care or treatment for the 
child without the consent of the provider. 
 xii. The provider will provide supportive services 
to the family to promote a healthy parent-child adjustment 
and bonding. 

5. Preparation of the Prospective Adoptive Parent 
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a. The provider shall prepare the prospective 
adoptive family for the placement of the particular 
child(ren). 

b. Preparation shall include: 
 i. visitation with the child in accordance with the 
child's age, level of understanding and preparation needs; 
 ii. thorough discussion and agreement on any 
special provisions of placement. 

c. During preparation, the provider shall discuss the 
child’s readiness to accept the selected placement with the 
child, in accordance with the child's age and ability to 
understand. 

6. Supervision of the Child 
a. The provider placing a child shall remain 

responsible for the child until a final decree has been 
granted. 

b. The child and family shall be seen within three 
weeks of placement and once every two month period 
thereafter and a visit within 30 days prior to the final decree. 

c. At least two of the supervisory visits shall be in 
the adoptive home and shall include both adoptive parents (if 
applicable) and all other members of the household. 

d. Observations made during the visits shall be used 
in making recommendations for finalization of the adoption 
or to assist the family if problems arise that cannot be 
resolved to the satisfaction of the family and provider. The 
provider shall assist the family directly and/or refer the 
family to a provisional resource outside of provider to 
address the problem(s). 

e. In special needs placements, more supervisory 
visits should be made, at least one each two month period to 
provide information, assistance and support to the family. 

f. Written reports of the supervisory visits shall be 
dated, sent to the department as part of the confidential 
report and placed in the child's record and adoptive parent(s) 
record. 

g. The provider shall be available to give the child 
and adoptive parent(s) assistance, consultation and 
emotional support with situations and problems encountered 
in permanent placement. 

h. The provider shall ensure continuation of case 
management, visits, and telephone contacts based upon the 
needs of the child until the adoption is legally granted. 

i. The provider shall be made aware of any change 
in the adoptive home including health, education, or 
behavior. 

j. The provider shall be responsible for assisting 
adoptive parents to finalize the adoption or in cases where 
the adoption cannot be finalized, to develop an alternative 
permanent plan and placement for the child. 

W. Adoption Petition Process 
1. The provider shall give written consent to the 

family for adoption at the end of six months or one year, 
whichever is applicable, of placement if the family wants 
finalization and any problems that have arisen during the 
placement are in a satisfactory stage of resolution. 

2. The provider shall submit all documents 
establishing availability of the child (TPR, surrender or 
death certificate) and the child’s certified birth certificate to 
the court when filing the adoption petition with the court. 

3. Upon notification by the court of the filed petition, 
the department shall request from the adoption agent, in 

writing, any required information that must be part of the 
confidential report and the date the information is to be 
submitted. If the child was born in this state, the adoption 
agent shall also submit a completed Adoption Report to the 
Clerk of Court office.  

4. The provider shall submit the requested information 
to the department by the date specified in the notification 
correspondence. 

5. Upon receipt of the required information, the 
department will review it for accuracy and thoroughness. 
If any required information has not been submitted, the 
department will notify the provider.  

6. Once all of the required information has been 
received and reviewed by the department, the provider shall 
be notified, in writing, that the report has been submitted to 
the court.  

7. If all of the required information is not provided, 
the report submitted to the court will reflect what 
information is missing that was not provided by the adoption 
agent.  

8. When filing a petition for the adoption of a foreign 
orphan, the petition shall be accompanied by a certification 
for adoption, a certified copy of the Immigration and 
Naturalization Service documentation of orphan status, the 
original or a certified copy of a valid foreign custody decree, 
together with a notarized translation, and the original or 
certified copy of a valid birth certificate, together with a 
notarized translation, and an affidavit of fees and expenses. 

9. When filing a petition for recognition of a foreign 
decree of adoption, the petition shall be accompanied by a 
certification for adoption, a certified copy of the 
Immigration and Naturalization Service documentation of 
orphan status, documentary proof of citizenship status, the 
original or a certified copy of a valid foreign custody decree, 
together with a notarized translation, and the original or 
certified copy of a valid birth certificate, together with a 
notarized translation, and an affidavit of fees and expenses. 

X. Adoption Disruption 
1. When it has been identified that there is an adoption 

disruption, and except in emergency situations, the provider 
shall assist the adoptive family and child to plan an adoption 
disruption and replacement of the child in a manner least 
detrimental to the child and family. After all available 
resources are used and the family is still thinking about 
discontinuing the placement, the provider shall hold a 
planning conference to review the situation. The planning 
conference shall be attended by the adoptive parents, the 
child (if and when in the best interest of the child), the 
placement worker, the placement supervisor and (if 
applicable) the previous foster care worker/custodian. The 
planning conference should cover the following: 

a. problems in the placement; 
b. what resources have been used; 
c. what other resources may be helpful; 
d. the pros and cons of continuing the placement; 
e. deciding whether to disrupt the placement or 

maintain the placement; 
f. if maintaining the placement is the plan, 

identifying additional services to be used; 
g. if disruption is the plan, discussing the placement 

alternatives for the child; 
h. planning how the disruption will occur. 
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2. The provider shall assist the family in giving the 
child, of sufficient age of understanding, a reason for the 
disruption. Where this is not possible, the provider shall 
inform the child. 

3. The provider shall provide services to families who 
suffer an adoption disruption to deal with their grief and 
decide if another adoptive placement is an appropriate plan. 

Y. Final Decree 
1. When a final decree has been rendered by the court, 

the provider shall review the final decree document for 
accuracy and ensure that the document has been filed with 
the applicable Clerk of Court. 

2. If the child was born in this state, the provider shall 
submit the required fee for a revised birth certificate, along 
with a completed Certificate of Live Birth form PHS 19 and 
proof of citizenship, if applicable, to the department within 
15 working days of the adoption finalization. 

3. If the child was born in another state, the adoption 
agent shall submit a request to the agency responsible for the 
maintenance of vital records from the state in which the 
child was born in order to revise the child’s birth certificate 
and ensure that the adoptive family receives a copy of the 
revised birth certificate. 

4. In an inter-country adoption, the court shall issue a 
judgment recognizing the foreign adoption and rendering a 
final decree of adoption upon finding that: 

a. at least one of the adopting parents is a 
domiciliary of the state of Louisiana; 

b. the original or a certified copy of the foreign 
adoption decree, together with a notarized transcript, has 
been filed and is presumed to have been granted in 
accordance with the law of the foreign country; 

c. the child has qualified as a foreign orphan and is 
in the United States in accordance with applicable 
Immigration and Naturalization Service regulations; 

d. the child is either a permanent resident or a 
naturalized citizen of the United States; 

e. the petitioners have the ability to care for, 
maintain, and educate the child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section LR 37: 
§7317. Transitional Placing Program 

A. General Requirements 
1. Program Description 

a. A provider shall have a written program 
description describing: 
 i. the overall philosophy and approach to 
independent living; 
 ii. the long-term and short-term goals; 
 iii. the types of youth best served; 
 iv. the provider's approach to service planning; 
 v. ongoing programs available to the youth during 
placements; and 
 vi. any living arrangements provided. 

b. The provider must include a written description 
of direct services, support services, and services to be 
arranged to achieve the goals of the transitional placing 
program. 

2. Direct services shall include, but are not limited to, 
the following: 

a. services related to education and vocational 
training e.g., career planning; preparation for the GED or 
higher education; job readiness; job search assistance; job 
placement; job follow-up activities; vocational training; 
tutoring and other remedial education; 

b. programs and services in basic independent 
living skills e.g., money management; home management 
(housekeeping, etc.); consumer skills; identifying 
community resources; time management; communication 
skills; use of transportation; physical and mental health
 care; locating safe and stable housing; problem 
solving/decision making; sex education; menu planning and 
nutrition; cooking; 

c. individual and/or group counseling as well as 
workshops and conferences to promote self-esteem; self 
confidence; development of interpersonal and social skills; 
preparation for transition to independence and termination of 
services; after care. 

3. Support services shall include, but not be limited to, 
the following:  

a. vocational assessment or training; 
b. GED classes; 
c. preparation for college entrance exams; 
d. driver's education, if appropriate; 
e. counseling. 

4. Number of Youth 
a. The provider shall ensure that no more than three 

youth are placed in an apartment. 
b. The provider who utilizes communal living 

arrangements (home situation) housing for four or more 
must obtain fire and health approval. 

c. The provider's arrangements for selecting youth 
and youth groups for a specific living situation shall make 
allowance for the needs of each youth for reasonable privacy 
and shall not conflict with the program plan of any youth of 
the living situation or with the overall philosophy of the 
provider. 

d. No youth shall be placed together in a living 
situation except by mutual agreement between the youth. 
Signed agreements shall be maintained in each record. 

5. Personnel Qualifications 
a. Child Placement Worker. The Child Placement 

Worker (CPW) shall meet the following qualifications: 
 i. have a minimum of a bachelor's degree in 
social work or any bachelor's degree plus one year of social 
service experience; 
 ii. a child placement worker located in a branch 
office apart from the supervisor of placement services shall 
have a master's degree from an accredited school of social 
work; 
 iii. in providers where the child placement staff is 
comprised of one placement worker, this person shall meet 
the qualifications of the supervisor of placement services. 

b. Child Placement Worker (CPW) Assistant. The 
CPW assistant shall: 
 i. be at least 18 years of age; 
 ii. have a high school diploma or equivalency; 
and  
 iii. have one year of experience providing basic 
child welfare support services to youth. 
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6. Personnel Job Duties  
a. The CPW shall be responsible for:  

 i. assessing, developing, and executing a plan to 
achieve permanence for the youth including return to the 
family, adoptions, transfer of custody, independent living, or 
other alternative plans;  
 ii. providing services to a caseload of youth 
removed from their homes by court order,
voluntary surrender, or voluntary placement agreement and 
placed in a foster home or a more restrictive setting; 
 iii. overseeing the placement to ensure the youth's 
well-being. Assesses probability of return and plan for the 
youth's permanency; 
 iv. developing and implementing a recruitment 
plan for certifying perspective foster and adoptive families; 
 v. preparing and conducting extensive orientation 
and training for potential foster and adoptive homes; 
 vi. examining and evaluating information gathered 
about families, housing, and environment in relation to 
provider criteria and licensing regulation for certification of 
perspective adoptive and foster homes; 
 vii. upon completion of written home studies, 
recommending approval or denial of certification for 
perspective adoptive and foster homes based on a combined 
evaluation and assessment process; 
 viii. re-evaluating for continued annual re-
certification for foster and adoptive homes. Develops and 
implements a corrective action plan to correct deficiencies; 
 ix. maintaining listing of all foster and adoptive 
homes in area and recommends appropriate resources to 
workers placing youth. 

b. The CPW assistant shall be responsible for: 
 i. assisting professional staff in providing 
services to the youth; 
 ii. instructing youth in the practical application of 
improved standards of housekeeping, shopping, personal 
hygiene, medical and childcare, and other necessary home 
management skills; 
 iii. lifting or assisting youth into the transit with 
their personal belongings and any medically needed 
equipment such as a wheel chair, an oxygen tank, a walker, 
etc.; 
 iv. observing and reporting youth's behavior to 
professional staff to aid in the assessment and treatment plan 
of the case; 
 v. monitoring family visitation between caretaker 
and youth with parents, as required; 
 vi. preparing narrative reports and maintaining 
visitation log as required; 
 vii. scheduling and arranging youth transportation 
for follow-up visits; 
 viii. effectively communicating with youth to 
defuse potentially dangerous situations such as 
physical/verbal confrontations between youth and/or towards 
provider staff; 
 ix. completing various forms and reports. 
 x. may be responsible for vehicle maintenance 
and documentation of such. 

7. Advisory Board 
a. The provider shall develop written procedures for 

a Youth Advisory Board consisting of youth representatives 

receiving services to provide feedback relative to program 
policies, practices, and services. 
 i. The Youth Advisory Committee shall be 
allowed to meet at least monthly. 
 ii. The provider shall maintain documented 
minutes of the Youth Advisory Board and
resolutions of problems addressed. 

8. Money 
a. A provider shall have a written policy describing 

how they will manage the youth's money. 
b. A provider shall only accept a youth's money 

when such management is mandated by the youth's service 
plan. The provider shall manage and account for money of 
youth who are minors. 

c. Providers who manage youth's money shall 
maintain in the youth's file a complete record accounting for 
his/her money. 
 i. The provider shall maintain a current balance 
sheet containing all financial transactions to include the 
signature of staff and the youth for each transaction. 
 ii. The money shall be kept in an individual 
account in the name of the youth. 

d. Youth’s monetary restitution for damages shall 
only occur when there is clear evidence of individual 
responsibility for the damages and the service team approves 
the restitution. The youth and his/her legal guardian(s) shall 
be notified in writing within 24 hours of any claim for 
restitution and shall be provided with specific details of the 
damages, how, when and where the damages occurred, and 
the amount of damages claimed. If the amount is unknown, 
an estimate of the damages shall be provided and an exact 
figure provided within 30 days. The resident and his/her 
legal guardian(s) shall be given a reasonable opportunity to 
respond to any claim for damages. If the provider receives 
reimbursement for damages either through insurance or 
other sources, the resident shall not be responsible for 
restitution. 

9. Food Service 
a. When meals are prepared in a central kitchen, the 

provider shall ensure that menus include the basic four food 
groups and each youth's nutritional needs are met. Menus 
shall be maintained on file for at least a month. 

b. If youths develop and prepare their menus and 
meals, the provider shall give assistance to ensure nutritional 
standards. 

10. Critical Incidents 
a. If the youth is 18 to 21, the provider shall notify 

the law enforcement agency exercising local authority and 
jurisdiction. 

11. Emergency Preparedness 
a. The provider shall ensure the development of an 

emergency evacuation policy and safety plan for each youth 
that is specific for location of the living unit in the event of a 
fire, natural or national disaster. The youth's record shall 
document that the youth has acknowledged receiving a copy 
of this policy and plan at admission. 

b. A provider shall document that all youth are 
trained in emergency procedures within one week of 
admission. Such training shall include: 
 i. instruction in evacuation from the living 
situation; 
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 ii. instruction in contacting police, fire and other 
emergency services; and 
 iii. instruction in fire and accident prevention. 

B. Certification of an Independent Living Unit  
1. Requirements for a Living Unit  

a. The living unit shall be occupied by only a youth 
approved to occupy the living unit by the provider. 

b. Nonresidents shall be asked to vacate the living 
unit. 

c. Each youth shall have his/her own bed. 
d. The provider shall assure and document that the 

living unit: 
 i. does not present a hazard to the health and 
safety of the youth; 
 ii. is well ventilated and heated; and 
 iii. complies with state and local health 
requirements regarding water and sanitation; 
 iv. is furnished with items to include: 

(a). window coverings; 
(b). basic local telephone service; 
(c). food and kitchenware; 
(d). linen; 
(e). bedding; 
(f). routine supplies. 

C. Placement of a Youth 
1. Initial Placement  

a. The provider shall: 
 i. place a youth only in an approved foster care 
setting; and 
 ii. keep a youth who has been committed to the 
Department of Corrections, Office of Juvenile Justice for the 
commission of a sex crime in a separate living arrangement 
from a youth committed to the department. 

2. Service Agreement 
a. The provider shall ensure that a written service 

agreement is completed prior to placement. A copy of the 
agreement, signed by the provider, the youth, if applicable 
the legally responsible party and all those involved in its 
formulation, shall be kept in the youth's record and a copy 
shall be available to DSS, the youth, and where appropriate, 
the legally responsible person. 

b. The service agreement shall include: 
 i. a delineation of the respective roles and 
responsibilities of the provider and where applicable, the 
referring provider; 
 ii. specification of all services to be provided 
including the plan for contact between the youth and 
provider staff; 
 iii. facility rules that will govern continued 
participation in the transitional living program, and 
consequences of inappropriate behavior of youth while in 
care; 
 iv. the provider's expectations concerning the 
youth and the youth's responsibility; 
 v. criteria for discharge; 
 vi. specification of financial arrangements 
including any fees to be paid by the youth; 
 vii. authorization to care for the youth; 
 viii. authorization for medical care; 
 ix. attendance and absences from the provider to 
also include curfew times; and 

 x. criteria for notifying the funding provider of 
any change of address of the youth and any significant 
change in the youth's life or program. 

c. The provider shall select a living arrangement for 
a youth based upon the individual needs of the youth based 
on an assessment of the youth’s skills and knowledge. 

d. The assessment shall be completed within 10 
days of the youth's placement. 

e. The assessment tool shall assess the following:  
 i. money management and consumer awareness; 
 ii. job search skills; 
 iii. job retention skills; 
 iv. use of and access to: 

(a). community resources; 
(b). housing; and 
(c). transportation; 

 v. educational planning; 
 vi. emergency and safety skills; 
 vii. legal knowledge; 
 viii. interpersonal skills, including communication 
skills; 
 ix. health care knowledge, including knowledge of 
nutrition; 
 x. human development knowledge, including 
sexuality; 
 xi. management of food, including food 
preparation; 
 xii. ability to maintain personal appearance; 
 xiii. housekeeping; and 
 xiv. leisure activities. 

f. The youth shall participate in the intake process 
and in the decision that placement is appropriate, to the 
extent that the youth's age, maturity, adjustment, family 
relationships, and the circumstance necessitating placement 
justify the youth's participation. 

g. The provider shall document the placement in the 
provider's file. 

h. The assessment will be placed in the youth's 
record. 

3. Service Plan 
a. The provider shall: 
i. within 30 days of a youth’s placement, develop a 

written service plan based upon the individual needs of the 
youth and, if appropriate, the youth’s family, which 
addresses the: 
 (a). educational, job training, housing, and 
independent living goals; 
 (b). objectives to accomplish a goal; 
 (c). methods of service delivery necessary to 
achieve a goal and an objective; 
 (d). person responsible for each activity; 
 (e). specific timeframes to achieve a goal and an 
objective; 
 (f). identification of a discharge plan; 
 (g). plan for aftercare services; and 
 (h). plan for services from a cooperating provider; 

b. review the youth’s service plan, placement and 
permanency goals on a quarterly basis or more frequently as 
the youth’s needs or circumstances dictate. 

4. Supervision of the Youth 
a. The provider shall have a written plan for 

providing support and supervision. 
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b. The provider staff shall have contact with the 
youth on a daily basis which may include, but is not limited 
to, a confirmed e-mail or text or telephone contact. 

c. The provider staff shall have at least three face-
to-face visits weekly. A youth may not be seen less than the 
above amount unless specified by his/her plan, which has 
been signed by the parent or legal guardian. 

d. All contacts with the youth shall be documented; 
and 

e. There shall be provisions for emergency access 
by youth to an appropriate provider staff member on a 24-
hour basis. 

f. The provider shall, through at least monthly visits 
by staff to the living situation, determine and document that: 
 i. there is no reasonable cause for believing that 
the youth's mode of life or living situation presents any 
unacceptable risks to the youth's health or safety including a 
review for use of alcohol or illegal contraband; 
 ii. the living situation is maintained in a clean and 
safe condition; 
 iii. the youth is receiving any necessary medical 
care; 
 iv. the current provider plan provides appropriate 
and sufficient services to the youth. 

g. Document annual compliance with fire and 
building codes for any living unit in which the provider 
places the youth. 

5. Discharge Process 
a. A provider shall have a written discharge policy 

detailing the reasons a youth may be discharged. 
b. A provider shall, whenever possible, notify the 

youth's parent(s), tutor or curator as soon as possible or 
within fourteen working days prior to the planned discharge 
of a youth. 

c. A provider shall compile a complete written 
discharge summary immediately upon discharge; such 
summary to be included in the youth's record. When the 
youth is discharged to another provider, this summary must 
accompany the youth. This summary shall include: 
 i. a summary of services provided during 
involvement in the program; 
 ii. a summary of growth and accomplishments 
during involvement; 
 iii. the assessed needs which remain to be met and 
alternate service possibilities that might meet those needs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:477 and ACT 64 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this rule have on the stability of the 

family? This Rule will improve the stability of the family by 
providing a least restrictive alternative to residential care for 
children who are in out-of-home care on a regular or long 
term basis. 

2. What effect will this have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? Parents and guardians of children will have 
an alternative to restrictive care which enables them to use 
their authority to make better decisions regarding the care 
and supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? There will be no effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget?  There will be no effect on family earnings 
and family budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children?  This Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform 
the function as contained in this proposed Rule?  No, this is 
strictly an agency function. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments by the 

close of business Thursday, December 23, 2010 to Mr. Guy 
Sylvester, Administrator, Licensing Section, P. O. Box 3318, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821. He is responsible for responding to 
inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed rule will be held on 

Wednesday, December 29, 2010 at the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Iberville Building, 627 North 
Fourth Street, First Floor, Room 1-127, Baton Rouge, LA, 
beginning at 9:00a.m. All interested persons will be afforded 
an opportunity to submit data, views, arguments, orally and 
in writing, at said hearing. Individuals with disabilities who 
require special services should contact the Bureau of 
Appeals at least 7 working days in advance of the hearing. 
For assistance, call 225-342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Child Placing Agencies 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This rule expands and clarifies the definition and authority 

of licensed Child Placing Agencies to include the placement of 
youth ages 16 to 21. In accordance with Act 64 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Legislature, this rule does the following:  
(1) repeals LAC Title 48, Part I, Subpart 3 Chapter 41—Child 
Placing Agencies with and without Adoption Services; (2) 
repeals LAC Title 67, Part V, Subpart 8 Chapter 65—
Transitional Living; and (3) promulgate these previous repealed 
licensing charters as LAC Title 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapter 
73—Child Placing Agencies General Provisions. 

 Previously, agencies that placed youth between the ages of 
16 to 21 were licensed under Transitional Living (LAC Title 
67, Part V, Subpart 8 Chapter 65).  Act 64 repealed the 
Transitional Living laws and expanded the definition of Child 
Placing Agencies to include the placement of youth ages 16 to 
21.  Also, in Act 64, child placing agencies within DCFS shall 
be exempt from licensure but shall be required to perform its 
child placing functions in accordance with the licensing 
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standards. The estimated cost associated with this rule is the 
cost of publishing that is estimated to be $15,456. 

 Rulemaking Costs:  
 1.  October 1, 2010 Emergency Rule - $168 per page X 

23 pages = $3,864 
 2.  Notice of Intent - $168 per page X 23 pages = $3,864 
 3.  2nd Emergency Rule - $168 per page X 23 pages = 

$3,864 
 4.  Final Rule - $168 per page X 23 pages = $3,864 
This rule will be published twice as an Emergency Rule, 

once as a Notice of Intent and a Final Rule.  The printing of 
each publication will cost $3,864 for a total of $15,456.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) 
estimates there will be no effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units as a result of this rule.   The 
department does not expect any new Child Placing Agencies to 
be licensed as a result of proposed rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

DCFS estimates that there will be no increased cost or 
economic benefits to licensed providers.  Agencies that placed 
youth ages 16 to 21 will be licensed under Child Placing 
Agencies instead of Transitional Living.  The cost of licensure 
will remain unchanged. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This rule will have no impact on competition and 
employment. 

 

Michael Dailey Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Secretary Staff Director 
1011#131 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Civil Service 
Board of Ethics 

Local Government Lobbying (LAC 52:I.Chapter 23) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is hereby given 
that the Department of Civil Service, Louisiana Board of 
Ethics, has initiated rulemaking procedures to make 
amendments to the Rules for the Board of Ethics to bring the 
rules into compliance with current statutory provisions and 
Act 1 of the 2008 First Special Legislative Session and Act 
472 of the 2008 Regular Legislative Session. 

Title 52 ETHICS 
Part I.  Board of Ethics 
Chapter 23. Lobbying Local Government 
§2301. General 

A. The Lobbying Local Government Act provides that 
the board shall administer and enforce the provisions of R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2303. Registration and Reporting Forms 

A. The staff shall prepare and provide, upon request, the 
electronic forms for the registration and reporting of local 
government lobbyists. The forms used shall be provided 
electronically on the Lobbyist Online Filing System at 
www.ethics.state.la.us.  

B. No registration, report or designation filed by a 
lobbyist or other person shall be filed with the board unless 
the registration, report or designation is on the proper 
electronic form promulgated by the board in this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2305. Registration and Reporting; Dating, Numbering 

and Filing 
A. The staff shall establish a procedure for the dating, 

indexing, and filing of all lobbyist registrations, lobbyist 
disclosure reports, designations, and employer/principal 
disclosure reports received by the board through the 
Lobbyist Online Filing System.  

B. The method of determining the date of filing shall be 
as provided in R.S. 42:1157.1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2307. Definitions 

The following definitions supplement those contained in 
R.S. 33:9662 et seq. 

Aggregate―the total amount of expenditures made on 
local government officials within the calendar year. 

Employer―any person which employs an individual for 
the purpose of lobbying. 

Principal―any person who retains the services of a 
lobbyist to represent its interests. 

Reportable Expenditure―an expenditure which is 
required to be reported according to R.S. 33:9666. 

Schedule A―refers to part of the promulgated electronic 
expenditure report form which is used to report the name 
local government official, his spouse or minor child, his 
local government agency and the amount spent on the 
specific individual when such information is required by 
R.S. 33:9666. 

Schedule B―refers to part of the promulgated 
expenditure report form which is used to report the name of 
the group or groups of persons invited to a function, the date 
and location of the function and expenditures made in 
connection with the function when such information is 
required by R.S. 33:9666(E). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2309. Registration 

A. Only an individual who has reached the age of 
majority may register as a lobbyist. 

B. A lobbyist shall register as an local government 
lobbyist with the board through the use of the Lobbying 
Online Filing System forms provided by the board at its 
website: www.ethics.state.la.us, within five days of making 
expenditures of $500 or more on local government officials 
in a calendar year for the purpose of lobbying. 

C. The individual filing the local government lobbyist 
registration with the board shall forward to the board an 
affidavit expressing his or her intent to register as a local 
government lobbyist in accordance with the provisions of 
R.S. 33:9661 et seq. If the affidavit confirming the lobbyists 
willingness to register as a lobbyist is not received within 30 
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days of the lobbyists registration, the registration will be 
considered null and void. 

D. Any individual who does not make expenditures of 
$500 or more on local government officials but who 
registers as a local government lobbyist with the board shall 
file expenditure reports as required by the local Government 
Lobbying Act and shall be liable for any late fees assessed 
for the late filing of a required report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2311. Reporting; in General 

A. A local government lobbyist shall file the required 
expenditure reports with the board through the use of the 
Lobbying Online Filing System forms provided by the board 
at its website: www.ethics.state.la.us. 

B. The following are reportable expenditures under R.S. 
33:9661 et seq.: 

1. the amount spent to purchase food or drink on 
behalf of an individual local government official; 

2. the amount spent on the value of a ticket or other 
fee or payment made in connection with a civic, non-profit, 
educational, or political event as permitted by R.S. 
42:1123(13). 

C. A reportable expenditure should be reported by the 
lobbyist who would be required to account for the 
expenditure as an ordinary and necessary expense directly 
related to the active conduct of the lobbyist’s, his employer’s 
or the principal’s trade or business. 

D. Any expenditure made by a lobbyist on a local 
government official shall be considered a reportable 
expenditure, regardless of a pre-existing personal or familial 
relationship. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2313. Reporting; Additional Disclosure Requirements 

under R.S. 33:9661 et seq. 
A. Any expenditure made in connection with a civic, 

non-profit, educational, or political event as permitted by 
R.S. 42:1123(13) shall be included in calculating the 
aggregate amount spent on an local government official 
during the reporting period. 

B. Any expenditure subject to reporting under R.S. 
33:9666(E) shall not be included in calculating the aggregate 
amount spent on an individual local governmental official 
for purposes of the reporting required by R.S. 33:9666(D). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2315. Reporting; Additional Disclosure Requirements 

under R.S. 33:9666(E) 
A. If more than 25 local governmental officials are 

invited to a reception, social gathering or other function 
during a reporting period, then R.S. 33:9666(E) requires that 
the following information be disclosed on Schedule B of the 
expenditure report: 

1. the name of the group or groups of persons invited 
to the function; 

2. the date of which the function was held; 

3. the location of the function, including the address 
of the function; 

4. all expenditures made in connection with the 
function. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2317. Election by Employer or Principal to Report for 

Lobbyists 
A. An employer or principal may elect, pursuant to R.S. 

33:9666(F)(2)(a), to file a single expenditure report for his 
lobbyists. 

B. If an employer or principal elects to file such reports, 
an employer/principal designation must indicate to the 
board, through the use of the designation section of the 
Online Lobbying Filing System at www.ethics.state.la.us by 
January 31. The designation shall be effective for one year 
and requires the employer or principal to report of all 
expenditures made by all lobbyists representing its interests 
during that calendar year. 

C. In the event an employer or principal files an 
expenditure report which does not include a statement of 
expenditures for one of its lobbyists, the report shall not be 
timely filed until a complete report disclosing the 
expenditures of all of its lobbyists is filed. 

D. Late fees shall continue to accumulate until a 
complete report is filed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 
§2319. Expenditures Made Directly by the Principal or 

Employer 
A. An expenditure made directly by an employer or 

principal in connection with a reception, social gathering, or 
other function shall be attributed to and reported by the 
lobbyist who attends the function. If more than one lobbyist 
attends the function, then the total amount spent by the 
employer or principal on the function shall be attributed in 
equal portions to the lobbyists who attend. 

B. If a lobbyist is not present at the time an expenditure 
is made by an employer or principal, a lobbyist who 
represents the employer or principal’s interests must report 
the expenditure. 

C. An employer or principal who makes such an 
expenditure is required to provide the following information 
to the lobbyist no later than two business days after the close 
of each reporting period: 

1. the total amount of the expenditure;  
2. the amount of the expenditure that has been 

attributed to the lobbyist and which must be reported by the 
lobbyist; 

3. the nature of the expenditure; 
4. the names of the local government officials 

involved; and 
5. the agencies of the local government officials 

involved. 
D. Failure by the employer or principal to provide the 

necessary information to its lobbyist regarding such 
expenditure will cause the employer or principal to be 
required to register and report as a lobbyist and may subject 
the employer or principal to penalties. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
33:9661 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Civil 
Service, Board of Ethics, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no impact on family formation, 

stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may direct their comments to Kathleen 
M. Allen, Louisiana Board of Ethics, P.O. Box 4368, Baton 
Rouge, Louisiana 70821, telephone (225) 219-5600, until 
4:45 p.m. on December 10, 2010. 

 
Kathleen M. Allen 
Ethics Administrator 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Local Government Lobbying 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The estimated cost to implement the local lobbying rules is 

$820, which accounts for the cost to publish the Notice of 
Intent and the rules in the State Register. 

The proposed rules provide for registration of persons 
lobbying local government and the reporting requirements for 
such lobbyists. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rules will have no anticipated effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Affected persons who fail to register or report in a timely 
manner may be assessed fines or penalties.  Persons who do not 
timely register or file expenditure reports are subject to a $50 
per day late fee (up to a maximum of $1,500 for each report), 
as well as other penalties for violations of the law. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rules will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Tracy M. Barker Robert E. Hosse 
Staff Attorney Staff Director 
1011#074 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Office of Business Development 
and 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 

Retention and Modernization Act 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 35) 

The Department of Economic Development, the Office of 
the Secretary, the Office of Business Development, and the 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, pursuant to 
the authority R.S. 36:104, 36:108, and 51:2382 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby proposes to amend and adopt its 

existing Rules and Regulations relative to its Retention and 
Modernization Program.  

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 35. Retention and Modernization Program 
§3503. Definitions 

A. … 
B. In this Chapter, the following terms shall have the 

meaning provided in this Section, unless the context clearly 
requires otherwise. 

* * * 
LDEQ—Louisiana Department of Environmental 

Quality 
* * * 

Modernization—capitalized investment by an employer 
in technology, machinery, building and/or equipment that 
meets one of the following provisions: 

a. an investment from a company with multi-state 
operations with an established competitive capital project 
program, which is approved by the Department; or 

b. an increase in the maximum capacity or 
“efficiency” of the facility of greater than 10 percent. The 
modernization investment may be either voluntary or 
mandated by law but must result in the facility adopting 
“best practices” technology for its industry and the company 
shall establish that without the investment that the facility 
would be high risk for closure in the foreseeable future. 
Modernization does not include the replacing of existing 
technology with the same or similar technology;  
 i. increased “efficiency” claims must be 
supported by an independent third party analysis, such as an 
engineer’s report, or by any other reasonable means; 
 ii. best practices may be verified by objective data 
provided by independent third parties knowledgeable in the 
industry such as LDEQ, or by any other reasonable means; 
 iii. the required efficiency increase includes a 
“green” option for a facility which affects a 10 percent or 
greater net reduction in nitrogen oxide (NOx) or volatile 
organic chemicals (VOC) without any increase in other 
emission sources from a facility in substantial compliance 
with its Title V Clean Air Act permit for the five preceeding 
calendar years in which the emission reductions are claimed.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:104, 36:108, and 51:2332 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development and the Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation LR:37: 
§3513.  Certification of Tax Credits. 

A. Beginning July 31, 2011, employers seeking final 
certification of tax credits must submit to the department: 

1. an audit of qualified expenditures incurred by the 
employer for modernization, certified by an independent 
certified public accountant; 

a. qualified expenditures that could improve 
efficiency may include but not be limited to: new automation 
equipment, computer-driven instrumentation upgrades, NOX 
or VOC air emission reduction equipment; 

b. investment in new equipment for a new 
production unit making a new or similar product may be a 
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qualified expenditure, if an employer is competing for a new 
production line as part of a consolidation through 
competitive capital budget within family of plants either 
domestically or internationally; 

2. evidence of continued business operation; and 
3. any other information as reasonably requested by 

the department. 
B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:104, 36:108, and 51:2332 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development and the Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed Rule will have no 

significant effect on the (1) stability of the family, (2) 
authority and rights of parents regarding the education and 
supervision of their children, (3) functioning of the family, 
(4) family earnings and family budget, (5) behavior and 
personal responsibility of children, or (6) ability of the 
family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed rule.  

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed rule will not have a 

significant adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 
health, safety, environmental and economic factors has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 
in drafting the proposed rule to accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses.  

Public Comments 
Interested person may submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules until 5pm January 4, 2011 to Tommy Kurtz 
the Department of Economic Development, 1051 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802 or 
Tommy.Kurtz@la.gov.  

Public Hearing 
A public hearing will be held at 10 a.m. on January 5, 

2011 at the Department of Economic Development, 1301 N. 
Third St., Baton Rouge, LA to receive comments on this 
proposed Rule.  

 
Kristy Mc Kearn, 
Undersecretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Retention and Modernization Act 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no incremental costs or savings to state or 

local governmental units due to the implementation of these 
rules because the revisions merely provide additional guidance 
to applicants.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule clarifies the determination of a 
modernization, including a “green” option, as verified by a 
third party, including the Department of Environmental 
Quality. There is no expected impact or effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule simply clarifies current practice and will 
not result in an increased workload for applicants or recipients. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on competition and 
employment as a result of this rule change.  

 
Kristy McKearn Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1011#123 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Office of Entertainment Industry Development 

Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund Program 
(LAC 61:I.Chapter 16) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Office of Entertainment Industries 
Development, as authorized by and pursuant to the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and in accordance with R.S. 47:6007, hereby 
proposes to adopt Rules relative to the newly created 
Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Program. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 16. Louisiana Entertainment Industry Tax 
Credit Programs 

Subchapter B. Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund 
Program 

§1615. Preamble and Purpose 
A. The Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund Program is 

vital to support the state’s entertainment industry and the 
state’s long-term goals in its master plan for economic 
development for the State of Louisiana. 

B. The purpose of this Chapter is to implement the 
Louisiana Filmmaker Grants Program as established by R.S. 
47:6007. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1616. Definitions 

Applicant—the entity or natural person requesting a grant 
award from LED. 

Award—funding approved under this program for eligible 
activities and expenditures. 

Award Agreement—that agreement or contract hereinafter 
referred to between the applicant, and LED, through which, 
by cooperative endeavor agreement or otherwise, the parties 
set forth the amount of the award, the terms, conditions and 
performance objectives of the award provided pursuant to 
these rules. 
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Contract—a legally enforceable Award Agreement 
between LED and the successful applicant governing the 
terms and the conditions of the award. 

LED—Louisiana Department of Economic Development. 
Office—Office of Entertainment Industry Development  
Program—the Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund 

Program. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1617. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the program. 

1. LED shall serve as the administrators for this 
Program. 

2. LED, through the office, in conjunction with a 
panel of entertainment industry experts, shall serve as the 
review panel. 

3. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement 
and such awards shall be subject to the discretion of LED.  

3. LED shall negotiate with each applicant seeking an 
award, based on the individual merits of each project.  

4. Contracts for awards shall contain “clawback” (or 
refund) provisions to protect the state in the event of a 
default. 

5. Award funds shall be utilized for the approved 
project only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1619. Program Descriptions 

A. This program is to be used to support Louisiana’s 
independent filmmakers, domiciled in Louisiana, who make 
a film in Louisiana, the total cost of which shall not exceed 
three hundred thousand dollars. The maximum amount of 
any grant shall not exceed the lesser of 50 percent of the 
total cost of the film or $100,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1621. Eligibility 

A. An applicant must be a Louisiana resident, with proof 
of at least 3 years residency. 

B. An applicant must be the principal creative author of 
the production and hold complete artistic, creative and 
budgetary control. 

C. Eligible project formats, may include, but not be 
limited to: documentary, feature length film, TV pilot, TV 
series, webisodes, animation, experimental shorts. 

D. Ineligible project formats, may include, but not be 
limited to: reality shows, industrial, commercial, tourism, 
political campaigns or promotional pieces. 

E. 100 percent of the project must be shot in Louisiana. 
F. 100 percent of the project must post in Louisiana. 
G. 100 percent of the crew must be Louisiana residents. 

H. 75 percent of the talent must be Louisiana residents. 
I. Grants will be awarded on a one time basis only and 

previous award winners will not be allowed to reapply. 
J. An applicant shall be considered ineligible for this 

program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities 
relative to its failure or inability to pay its obligations; 
including state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceedings, 
or if it has pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any 
proceeding concerning denial or revocation of a necessary 
license or permit, or if the company has a previous contract 
with LED in which the company is in default and/or is not in 
compliance. 

K. Applicants must be in full compliance with all state 
and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1623. Criteria 

A. LED will consider various factors when determining 
which awards will be funded. Among the factors which may 
be taken into account in the review of the award requests are 
the following: 

1. availability of funding; 
2. recommendation of the office and an entertainment 

industry expert panel review committee; 
3. artistic quality; 
4. applicant’s demonstrated ability and creativity; 
5. managerial and fiscal ability of the applicant to 

carry out the proposed project; 
5. nature and extent of other revenue, in-kind goods 

and services, and/or public or private support; and 
6. portrayal of Louisiana culture in a positive light.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1625. Application Procedure 

A. An applicant may apply for this program by 
submitting the following information to the office: 

1. a written application, including but not limited to, a 
detailed description of the proposed project, a preliminary 
budget and a grant request; and 

2. supporting information as requested by the office, 
including but not limited to examples of prior or proposed 
work. 

B. The office shall review the application and supporting 
information, and if it is found to be incomplete or if further 
information is needed shall contact the applicant and request 
such information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1627. Submission and Review Procedure 

A. The office shall accept applications twice a year, 
between June 1 and July 1 and December 1 – January 1, 
each calendar year, and upon determination that an 
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application meets the general principles, eligibility 
requirements, and criteria for this program, the Office will 
then make a recommendation to an entertainment industry 
panel for further review. 

B. The entertainment industry panel shall be comprised 
of representatives from the higher education community 
with curricula in film, and its members shall be identified on 
LED’s website “LouisianaEntertainment.gov”. 

C. Each panel member shall complete an independent 
evaluation of each application and score them based upon a 
scoring form, to be posted on “LouisianaEntertainment.gov”. 

D. All panelists shall meet in a closed session to discuss 
their individual evaluation findings and to form consensus 
scoring of all proposed projects. The panel shall then 
recommend the highest scoring project(s) to be issued an 
award by LED. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 
§1629. General Award Provisions 

A. Award Agreement 
1. Awards will be issued twice a year, by  

September 1 and March 1 of each calendar year. 
2. A written award agreement, contract or cooperative 

endeavor agreement will be executed between LED and the 
successful applicant. The contract will specify the 
performance objectives expected and the compliance 
requirements to be enforced in exchange for state assistance, 
which will include, but not be limited to: 

a. award amounts may vary at the discretion of 
LED and shall not exceed the lesser of 50 percent of the total 
cost of the film or $100,000.  

b. applicants and awardees are not allowed to use 
monies appropriated by the state of Louisiana as an eligible 
cost for reimbursement. 

c. applicant shall agree to display LED’s Louisiana 
Entertainment logo in the opening credits of the project;  

d. applicant shall agree to grant LED rights to 
screen or use the project for promoting Louisiana’s 
Entertainment industry; and 

e. applicant shall agree to provide a service to LED 
in return for state funding. The service could take many 
forms, such as free training workshops to Louisiana 
residents in a specific area of filmmaking; free lectures, 
seminars or demonstrations, free public screening of 
completed works, mentoring or internships.  

3. LED will disburse funds to the applicant as 
provided by the Award Agreement or Contract. 

4. LED will oversee the progress of the approved 
project and reimburse the applicant on the basis of the cost 
reports and supporting documentation certifying the amount 
expended for which reimbursement is sought. LED may 
request the applicant at any time and from time to time to 
submit additional or supporting information. 

B. Funding 
1. The Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Program offers 

financial assistance in the form of a performance-based grant 

for reimbursement of eligible project costs specified in the 
award agreement. 

2. Eligible project costs may include, but not be 
limited to: 

a. production costs: wages for crew and talent, 
equipment rental, props, permits and fees, art department, set 
construction wardrobe; and 

b. post production costs: special effects, sound, 
scoring, video. 

3. Ineligible project costs for reimbursement may 
include, but not be limited to: 

a. purchase of equipment or creation of new 
facilities; 

b. operating expenses of privately owned facilities; 
and 

c. hospitality or entertainment costs. 
C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds 

1. Funds will not be available for reimbursement to 
the applicant until an award agreement or contract between 
the applicant and LED has been finalized and executed.  

2. Funds will be available on a reimbursement basis 
following submission of required documentation to LED by 
the applicant and will be based upon performance objectives 
as provided in the contract. 

D. Compliance Requirements 
1. In order to be paid or reimbursed as provided by the 

contract, the applicant shall be required to complete and 
submit to LED cost reports certifying the amount expended 
along with progress reports describing the applicant’s 
progress toward the performance objectives specified in its 
contract with LED.  

2. In the event an applicant fails to meet its 
performance objectives as specified in its contract, LED 
shall retain the right to withhold award funds, modify the 
terms and conditions of the award, and/or to reclaim 
disbursed funds from the applicant in an amount 
commensurate with the scope of the unmet performance 
objectives and the foregone benefits to the state, as 
determined by LED.  

3. In the event an applicant knowingly files a false 
statement in its application or in a progress report, the 
applicant may be guilty of the offense of filing false public 
records, and may be subject to the penalty provided for in 
R.S. 14:133. 

4. LED shall retain the right, for itself and for the 
Legislative Auditor, to require and/or conduct financial and 
performance audits of a project, including all relevant 
records and documents of the company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37: 

 
Kristy McKearn, 
DED Undersecretary 

 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2654 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Filmmakers  

Grant Fund Program 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will increase accounting and 
administrative duties at the Department of Economic 
Development (LED), whose staff will be required to administer 
the new Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund Program. All 
proceeds from transfer fees for film tax credits will be 
deposited to the Fund and awarded as grants (other charges) to 
resident filmmakers. The appropriation in the FY 11 budget 
provides budget authority of $100,000 in grant expenditures 
during FY 11 subject to the actual amount of fees generated. 
Administrative costs will be incorporated into the current LED 
budget. 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

La. R.S. 47:6007 (C) (7) mandates that processing fees 
received by LED for notice of tax credit transfers shall be 
directed to the Louisiana Filmmaker Grant Fund and used to 
support Louisiana’s independent filmmakers. These fees have 
not been assessed in the past. The fees are expected to be 
assessed in the future and will increase self-generated revenue 
to the state, which in turn will be used to fund the Louisiana 
Filmmakers Grant Program administered by LED. The grants 
will be for reimbursable eligible expenses that take place in the 
state for resident filmmakers only. This proposed rule deals 
only with the filmmaker grant program and not the actual fee. 

Act 633 of the 2010 Regular Session (Funds Bill) created 
the Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund and the Louisiana 
Filmmakers Grant Program.  The appropriation in the FY 11 
state budget for the Fund was $100,000, but grants will be 
rewarded based on the amount of actual collections. The 
proceeds of the fee will appear as a statutory dedication in the 
LED budget and will presumably pass through the budget as 
filmmaker grants. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

To the extent that independent filmmakers apply for and 
are awarded a filmmaker grant, successful applicants may 
receive a maximum benefit of up to $100,000. In exchange, 
applicants must complete all required paperwork, submit any 
requested information and provide a service to the state related 
to the film industry such as free training workshops, public 
screenings, mentoring or internships, etc.  Indirectly, those 
applying for the transfer of film credits will be assessed a 
processing fee (not addressed in this rule) of $200 per 
transferee (to be published as LAC Title 61, Part I, Chapter 16, 
Subchapter A, Section 1613(A)2.b), the proceeds of which will 
be used to fund these filmmaker grants. If the fee is not 
assessed, the grants will not materialize. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

These competitive grants will provide funding to resident 
filmmakers that will not be available to filmmakers residing 
outside the state.  

 
Kristy McKearn Robert E. Hosse 
DED Undersecretary Staff Director 
1011#124 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Office of Entertainment Industry Development 

Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 61:I.1607 and 1613) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Office of Entertainment Industries 
Development, as authorized by and pursuant to the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and in accordance with R.S. 47:6007, hereby 
proposes to amend and adopt its existing rules and 
regulations relative to its Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit 
Program.  

Whereas the department already has statutory authority to 
request an audit at the applicants expense, these amended 
rules will clarify when such an audit may be required and 
establishes a fee schedule. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 16. Louisiana Entertainment Industry Tax 
Credit Programs 

Subchapter A. Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit 
Program 

§1607. Certification Procedures 
A. - D.1.d … 

2. When requesting final certification of credits, the 
motion picture production company or infrastructure project 
applicant shall submit to the office the following: 

a. a cost report, certified by a state licensed, 
independent certified public accountant and complying with 
the minimum standards as required by R.S. 47:6007 D (2) 
(d). The cost report may be subject to additional audit by the 
department, the division, or the Department of Revenue, at 
the applicant’s expense.  
 i. Incorrect Reporting. If an applicant submits a 
cost report required by the provisions of this Chapter and the 
report made and filed contains material misstatements, 
including but not limited to misrepresentation in or 
intentional omission from the cost report of events, 
transactions, or other significant information there may be 
cause for an additional audit. 
 ii. Related Party Transactions. If an audit contains 
related party transactions in excess of 20 percent of the total 
expenditures reported in the submitted audit there may be 
cause for an additional audit. 
 iii. Reimbursement of Audit Costs. The 
department may undertake additional audit at the applicant’s 
expense, to be performed by a state certified public 
accountant also certified in financial forensics or also 
certified as a fraud examiner. Audit fees will be assessed at 
the department’s contracted fee, with a minimum of $2,000 
and a maximum of $15,000 fee per audit.  

2.b. – E.2.e. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Division of 
Administration, the Department of Economic Development, Office 
of Business Development, and the Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 35:55 (January 2010), amended LR 37: 
§1613 Application of the Tax Credit 

A. - A.1.a. … 
2. Transfer. Any motion picture investor tax credits not 

previously claimed by any taxpayer against its income tax 
may be transferred or sold to another Louisiana taxpayer or 
to the office, pursuant to R.S. 47:6007(C)(4). 

a. A single transfer or sale may involve one or more 
transferees. Transferors and transferees shall submit to the 
Office and to the Department of Revenue in writing, a 
notification of any transfer or sale of tax credits within thirty 
days after the transfer or sale of such credits and shall 
include a processing fee of two hundred dollars per 
transferee. 

b. If the investor tax credits (evidenced by a 
certification letter) are transferred to the office: 
 i. on and after January 1, 2007, and prior to 
December 31, 2008 the state shall make payment to the investor 
at a value of 72 percent of the face-value of the credits; 
 ii. on January 1, 2009, and every second year 
thereafter, the percent of the value of the tax credits paid by the 
state shall increase 2 percent until the percentage reaches 80 
percent; 
 iii. for state certified productions which receive 
initial certification on or after July 1, 2009, the state shall make 
payment to the investor at a value of 85 percent of the face-
value of the credits. 

A.3. - B.6.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S. 47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Division of 

Administration, the Department of Economic Development, Office 
of Business Development, and the Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 35: 57 (January 2010), amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
Family Impact Statement: It is anticipated that the 

proposed Rule amendment will have no significant effect on 
the: (1) stability of the family, (2) authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children, (3) functioning of the family, (4) family earnings 
and family budget, (5) behavior and personal responsibility 
of children, (6) ability of the family or a local government to 
perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule.  

Small Business Statement 
It is anticipated that the proposed rule will not have a 

significant adverse impact on small businesses as defined in 
the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The agency, consistent with 
health, safety, environmental and economic factors has 
considered and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods 
in drafting the proposed Rule to accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing any anticipated adverse 
impact on small businesses.  

Public Comments 
Interested persons should submit written comments on the 

proposed Rules to Chris Stelly through the close of business 
on January 5, 2011 at P.O. Box 94185, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9185 or via email to cstelly@la.gov.  

Public Hearing 
A meeting for the purpose of receiving the presentation of 

oral comments will be held at 10 a.m. on January 6, 2011 at 
the Department of Economic Development, 1301 N. Third 
St., Baton Rouge, LA. 

 

Kristy McKearn, 
DED Undersecretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Motion Picture Investor  
Tax Credit Program 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change could increase the need for 
contract auditors at the Department of Economic Development 
(LED). One or more state certified public accountants also 
certified in financial forensics or also certified as a fraud 
examiner will be on contract with the Department of Economic 
Development (LED) to conduct any audits on an as needed 
basis. It is anticipated that only a few audits will be required 
per year, which may increase over time in proportion to the 
increasing program applications received annually. LED 
estimates the need for one auditor in FY 10-11, two auditors in 
FY 11-12 and three auditors in FY 12-13, at a maximum 
potential cost of $15,000 per audit.  In theory, the applicant will 
be charged for the cost of the audit so this expenditure could be 
offset by self-generated revenue.  However, the state would be 
liable for any audit expense above $15,000 and stand to 
increase revenue in excess of expenditures if the audit costs 
less than $2,000. Any other administrative duties brought about 
by the proposed rule will be handled by existing departmental 
staff funded by the existing LED budget. 

 In addition, the proposed rule change will increase 
accounting and administrative duties at LED, whose staff will 
be required to verify accurate submission of the $200 
processing fee per transferee, and administer the new Louisiana 
Filmmakers Grant Fund Program, however, this too will be 
handled by existing departmental staff funded by the existing 
LED budget. 

There are no anticipated costs or savings to local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

While La. R.S. 47:6007 already authorizes LED to conduct 
an audit at the applicant’s expense, this revision clarifies when 
such an audit may be required and establishes a fee structure of 
$2,000 minimum and $15,000 maximum fee per audit. It is 
anticipated that only a few audits will be required per year, 
which may increase over time in proportion to the increasing 
program applications received annually. To the extent the fees 
are assessed, they will increase self-generated revenue to the 
state and be used to pay auditors as described in Section I.  
Should the cost of an audit be lower than $2,000, state revenue 
collections may increase in excess of expenditures, and, if the 
audit costs more than $15,000, state expenditures would 
increase as the fee proceeds would not cover the entire cost of 
the audit. However, these amounts are expected to be minimal.  

This proposed rule also establishes a fee structure of 
precisely $200 for film tax credit transfers.  La. R.S. 47:6007 
(C)(4)(b) already authorizes LED to charge a processing fee of 
“up to $200” per transferee for each notification of a tax credit 
submitted to LDR and LED, but the fees have not been 
assessed in the past. To the extent that the fees are assessed, 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2656 

they will increase self-generated revenue to the state, which in 
turn will be used to fund the Louisiana Filmmakers Grant 
Program pursuant to La. R.S. 47:6007 (C)(7)(a). The net effect 
to the departmental budget will be an increase in statutory 
dedication revenue (film credit transfer processing fees) and a 
similar increase in expenditures (filmmaker grants). The 
appropriation in the FY 11 budget of $100,000 provides an 
estimate of the magnitude of the fee collections and, thus, the 
filmmaker grants to be issued.  However, the actual collections 
will determine the impact as grants will not be awarded unless 
the fees have been collected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

In cases of incorrect reporting or high percentage of related 
party transactions, in order for LED to verify the amount, if 
any, of qualifying expenditures, an applicant may have to 
reimburse LED for the cost of an additional audit. 

To the extent that investors choose to purchase Motion 
Picture tax credits, investors will incur an additional processing 
fee of $200 per transferee.   The appropriation in the FY 11 
budget of $100,000 provides an estimate of the cost of the fee 
to the investors. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Per the audits, there is no anticipated impact on competition 
and employment due specifically to this rule as all entities 
performing motion picture production activities are under the 
same guidelines.  Grants to be awarded to resident filmmakers 
could provide a competitive advantage over out-of-state 
filmmakers doing business in the state. 

 
Kristy McKearn Robert E. Hosse 
DED Undersecretary Staff Director 
1011#125 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System―9-12 Transition from 2010 to 2012 

(LAC 28:LXXXIII.302) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 111―The Louisiana 
School, District, and State Accountability System: §302. 9-12 
Transition from 2010 to 2012. The proposed changes 
provide detail for transition of schools in grades 9-12. These 
proposed changes will provide a process to keep all schools 
accountable while the current 9-12 assessment program is 
phased out and End-of-Course tests are phased in. The 
changes also allow for waivers for any school that is AUS in 
2011 due exclusively to the elimination of 9th grade iLEAP. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 3. School Performance Score Component 
§302. 9-12 Transition from 2010 to 2012  

A. - C. …  
D. The 2011 baseline SPS for 9-12 and the 9-12 

component of combination schools shall be comprised of 70 
percent assessment index calculated using 2010 iLEAP 

results, 2010 and 2011 GEE results, and 30 percent 
graduation index from the 2009 and 2010 cohorts. 

E. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:2241 (October 2010), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, 

District, and State Accountability System―9-12 
Transition from 2010 to 2012 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 3 provide detail 

for transition of schools in grades 9-12. These proposed 
changes will provide a process to keep all schools accountable 
while the current 9-12 assessment program is phased out and 
End-of-Course tests are phased in. The changes also allow for 
waivers for any school that is an Academically Unacceptable 
School in 2011 due exclusively to the elimination of 9th grade 
iLEAP. 

The proposed rule changes will result in no cost or savings 
to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated costs and/or economic benefits 
to directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 
Standards and Practices 

(LAC 28:CXI.Chapters 3, 7, 17, 18, 19, 20, 33, and 35) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 118—Statewide 
Assessment Standards and Practices: §305. Test Security 
Policy, §315. Emergencies During Testing, §701. Overview 
of Assessment Programs in Louisiana, §1700. Sunset 
Provision, §1810. Geometry Test Structure, §1813. 
Performance Standards, §1817. EOCT Achievement Level 
Descriptors, §1823. Rescores, §1829. EOC Transfer Rules, 
§1831. College and Career Diploma, §1900. Sunset 
Provision, §2000. Sunset Provision, §3307. Limited English 
Proficient Students, §3501. Approved Home Study Program 
Students, and §3511. Migrant Students. 

The document will provide new and updated statewide 
test information and provide easy access to that information. 
It was necessary to revise the bulletin at this time to 
incorporate new and edited policy guidelines in the 
statewide assessment programs Chapter 3, Test Security; 
Chapter 7, Assessment Program Overview; Chapter 17, 
Integrated LEAP (iLEAP); Chapter 18, End-of-Course Tests 
(EOCT); Chapter 19, LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 1 
(LAA 1); Chapter 20, LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 2 
(LAA 2); Chapter 33, Assessment of Special Populations; 
and Chapter 35, Assessment of Students in Special 
Circumstances. New policy language updates and edits were 
made to chapters 3, 7, 18, 33, and 35. New policy language 
additions were made to Chapters 17, 18, and 19. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXI.  Bulletin 118 Statewide Assessment Standards 
and Practices 

Chapter 3. Test Security 
§305. Test Security Policy 

A.1. - 3.k. … 
4. Each school district as described in this policy shall 

develop and adopt a district test security policy that is in 
compliance with the state's test security policy. A copy of the 
policy and a Statement of Assurance regarding the LEA's 
test security policy must be submitted annually to the LDE, 
Division of Assessments and Accountability. This statement 
must include the name of the individual designated by the 
district superintendent or institution to procure test material. 
The policy shall provide: 

4.a. - 17.  … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:391.7 (C) (G). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1528 (July 2005), amended LR 32:233 (February 2006), LR 
33:255 (February 2007), LR 33:424 (March 2007), LR 33:2033 
(October 2007), LR 34:65 (January 2008), LR 34:431 (March 
2008), LR 34:1351 (July 2008), LR 35:217 (February 2009), LR 
37: 
§315. Emergencies During Testing 

A. – A.7 … 
B. End-Of-Course Tests (EOCT) Emergency Plan 

1. Each school district shall develop and adopt a 
district test security policy disaster plan for EOC testing that 
is in compliance with the state’s test security policy. A 
Statement of Assurance regarding the LEA’s EOC disaster 
plan must be submitted annually to the LDE, Division of 
Assessment and Accountability. This statement must provide 
the steps to be followed in the event of a major disaster that 
results in the disabling of computers during EOC testing 
such as the following: 

a. fire; 
b. lightning; 
c. flooding; and 
d. others. 

2. If online testing is disrupted by emergencies, lost 
Internet connections, lost power, or computer crashes and 
students are unable to continue testing on the same day, the 
school test coordinator should document what occurred as a 
testing irregularity and notify the district test coordinator. If 
the student will be unable to return to testing by the end of 
the day after the disruption, the district test coordinator must 
immediately notify the LDE, Division of Assessments and 
Accountability. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.7. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1532 (July 2005), amended LR 32:234 (February 2006), LR 
33:258 (February 2007), LR 34:66 (January 2008), LR 35:218 
(February 2009), LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Assessment Program Overview 
§701. Overview of Assessment Programs in Louisiana 

A. Norm-Referenced and Criterion-Referenced Testing 
Programs Since 1986 

 
Name of Assessment 

Program 
Assessment 
Population Administered 

Kindergarten Screening 
Kindergarten 
Developmental 
Readiness Screening 
Program (KDRSP) Kindergarten fall 1987– 

Norm-Referenced Tests (NRTs) 

California Achievement 
Test (CAT/F) grades 4, 6, and 9 

spring 1988–spring 
1992 
(no longer 
administered) 

California Achievement 
Test (CAT/5) 

grades 4 and 6 
grade 8 

spring 1993–spring 
1997 
spring 1997 only 
(no longer 
administered) 
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Name of Assessment 
Program 

Assessment 
Population Administered 

Iowa Tests of 
Basic Skills (ITBS) 
(form L) and Iowa 
Tests of 
Educational 
Development 
(ITED) (form M) 

grades 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 
and 11 

spring 1998 
(no longer 
administered) 

ITBS  
ITED (form M) 

grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 
grade 9 

spring 1999–spring 
2002 
(no longer 
administered) 

ITBS 
ITED 
(form B) 

grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 
grade 9 

spring 2003–spring 
2005 
(no longer 
administered) 

Criterion-Referenced Tests (CRTs) 
National Assessment of 
Educational Progress 
(NAEP) grades 4, 8, and 12  spring 1990– 

Louisiana Educational 
Assessment Program 
(LEAP) grades 3, 5, and 7 

spring 1989–spring 
1998 
(no longer 
administered) 

Graduation Exit 
Examination  
(“old” GEE) grades 10 and 11 

spring 1989– 
spring 2003 (state 
administered) 
fall 2003– 
(district administered) 

Louisiana Educational 
Assessment Program 
(LEAP) 
(ELA and Mathematics)  grades 4 and 8 spring 1999– 
LEAP 
(Science and Social 
Studies) grades 4 and 8 spring 2000– 
Graduation Exit 
Examination (GEE) 
(ELA and Mathematics) grade 10 spring 2001– 
GEE 
(Science and Social 
Studies) grade 11 spring 2002– 
End-Of-Course Tests 
(EOCT) Algebra I fall 2007– 
EOCT Algebra I spring 2008– 
EOCT English II fall 2008– 
EOCT English II spring 2009– 
EOCT Geometry fall 2009– 
EOCT Geometry spring 2010– 
EOCT Biology fall 2010 
EOCT Biology spring 2011 

Integrated NRT/CRT 

Integrated Louisiana 
Educational Assessment 
Program (iLEAP) 

Integrated Louisiana 
Educational 
Assessment Program 
(iLEAP) 

Integrated Louisiana 
Educational 
Assessment Program 
(iLEAP) 

iLEAP Grade 9 

Spring 2010 (last 
administration of grade 
9 iLEAP) 

Special Population Assessments 

Louisiana Alternate 
Assessment, Level 1  
(LAA 1) 

Students with 
Individualized 
Education Programs 
(IEPs) who meet 
participation criteria 
in grades 3–11. 

spring 2000–2007 
 

LAA 1 

ELA and 
Mathematics (grade 
spans 3—4; 5—6; 
7—8; 9—10); 
Science (grades 4, 8, 
and 11) 

Revised spring 2008– 
 

Name of Assessment 
Program 

Assessment 
Population Administered 

LAA 1 
ELA and Mathematics Grade 9 

Spring 2010 (last 
administration of grade 
9 LAA 1) 

Louisiana Alternate 
Assessment, Level 2 
(LAA 2) 
ELA and Mathematics 
(Grades 4, 8, and 10) 
Science and Social 
Studies (Grade 11) 

grades 4, 8, 10, and 
11 spring 2006– 

LAA 2 
ELA and Mathematics  grades 5, 6, 7, and 9 spring 2007– 

LAA 2 
ELA and Mathematics Grade 9 

Spring 2010 (last 
administration of grade 
9 LAA 2) 

LAA 2 
Science and Social 
Studies grades 4 and 8 spring 2008– 

Louisiana Alternate 
Assessment-B (LAA-B) 
["out-of-level" test] 
 

Students with 
Individualized 
Education Programs 
(IEPs) who met 
eligibility criteria in 
grades 3–11. 

spring 1999–spring 
2003 
(no longer 
administered) 
 

English Language 
Development 
Assessment (ELDA) 

Limited English 
Proficient (LEP) 
students in grades K–
12 spring 2005– 

 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1534 (July 2005), amended LR 32:235 (February 2006), LR 
34:66 (January 2008), LR 34:1352 (July 2008), LR 35:218 
(February 2009), LR 37: 
Chapter 17. Integrated LEAP 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1700. Sunset Provision 

A. Beginning academic year 2010-2011, grade 9 iLEAP 
tests will no longer be administered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17.7 and R.S. 17:24.4(F)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
Chapter 18. End-of-Course Tests 
Subchapter C. EOCT Test Design 
§1810. Geometry Test Structure 

A. The Geometry EOC test includes three sessions, all of 
which will be administered online: 

1. 25-item multiple-choice session in which students 
may not use calculators; 

2. 3-item constructed-response session, in which 
students may use calculators; and 

3. 25-item multiple-choice session in which students 
may use calculators. 

B. Student responses to multiple-choice items will be 
computer-scored. 

C. Student responses to the constructed-response items 
will be scored by the contractor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
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Subchapter D. Achievement Levels and Performance 
Standards 

§1813. Performance Standards 
A. - B.2. … 

3. Geometry Scaled-Score Ranges  
 

English II  
Achievement Level Scaled-Score Ranges 

Excellent 731-800 
Good 700-730 
Fair 665-699 
Needs Improvement 600-664 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
35:215 (February 2009), amended LR 36:478 (March 2010), LR 
37: 
Subchapter E. Achievement Level Descriptors 
§1817. EOCT Achievement Level Descriptors 

A. – B. … 
C. Geometry Achievement Level Descriptors 
 

Excellent 
Students at this achievement level generally have exhibited the ability to: 

1. define and use trigonometric ratios to solve problems 
involving right triangles; 

2. understand and apply the Pythagorean Theorem in multi-
step problems; 

3. calculate permutations and combinations to solve multi-
step, real-world problems; 

4. solve problems in coordinate geometry involving 
distances; 

5. simplify radical expressions; 
6. compare inductive reasoning strategies; 
7. write equations of parallel lines; 
8. solve real-life and mathematical problems involving angle 

measure using parallel and perpendicular relationships; and 
9. find arc lengths of circles. 

 
Good 

Students at this achievement level generally have exhibited the ability to: 
1. solve multi-step problems using properties of radii, chords, 

secants, and tangents of a circle; 
2. write an equation of a line of best fit; 
3. calculate the probability of a simple, conditional event; 
4. solve real-world and mathematical problems involving 

volume and surface area of spheres; 
5. write conditional statements and make logical conclusions; 
6. build a function that models a relationship between two 

quantities; 
7. perform and/or analyze dilations of geometric figures; 
8. use similarity criteria for triangles to solve multi-step 

problems; 
9. make conjectures using properties of quadrilaterals; and 

10. analyze and use proportional relationships to solve real-
world and mathematical problems. 

Fair 
 

Students at this achievement level generally have exhibited the ability to: 
1. use the Triangle-Sum Theorem to solve simple real-world 

and mathematical problems; 
2. calculate the volume of a solid when given a diagram; 
3. calculate a missing side length using similar triangles; 
4. identify a geometric solid when given a set of attributes; 
5. describe or interpret patterns in measurement data; 
6. derive a rule for a pattern in a number sequence; 

7. use angle relationships to find the measure of a missing 
angle; 

8. solve one-step, real-world problems using proportional 
reasoning; 

9. identify the type of transformation performed on a 
geometric figure; 

10. use discrete math (elections, fair games, flow maps, color 
maps, etc.) and a given set of conditions to determine 
possible outcomes; and 

11. identify a correct informal proof. 
 

Needs Improvement 
Students at this achievement level are generally working toward the ability 
to: 

1. use angle relationships to find the measure of a missing 
angle; 

2. solve one-step, real-world problems using proportional 
reasoning; 

3. identify the type of transformation performed on a 
geometric figure; 

4. use discrete math (elections, fair games, flow maps, color 
maps, etc.) and a given set of conditions to determine 
possible outcomes; and 

5. identify a correct informal proof. 
 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
Subchapter F. EOCT Administrative Rules 
§1823. Rescores 

A. - D. … 
1. The test has a scaled score ten points below the Fair 

achievement level. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:24.4 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
36:977 (May 2010), amended LR 37: 
§1829. EOC Transfer Rules 

A. … 
1. A transfer student is not required to take the EOC 

tests for courses he/she already successfully completed for 
Carnegie credit.  

2. A transfer student shall be required to take the EOC 
test for courses he/she previously took but did not pass. 

3. A transfer student may choose to take an EOC test 
for a course he/she already successfully completed if he/she 
scored Needs Improvement on an EOC test in another course 
and the student must pass the EOC test for one of the EOC 
pairs.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
36:978(May2010), amended LR 37: 
§1831. College and Career Diploma 

A. Refer to Bulletin 741: Louisiana’s Handbook for 
School Administrators. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
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Chapter 19. LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 1 
Subchapter A. Background 
§1900. Sunset Provision 

A. Beginning academic year 2010-2011, grade 9 LAA 1 
tests will no longer be administered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 (F) (3) and R.S. 17:183.1–17:183.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
Chapter 20. LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 2 
Subchapter A. Background 
§2000. Sunset Provision 

A. Beginning academic year 2010-2011, grade 9 LAA 2 
tests will no longer be administered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:24.4 (F) (3) and R.S. 17:183.1-17:183.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
Chapter 33. Assessment of Special Populations 
§3307. Limited English Proficient Students 

A. - C.1.e. … 
D. Native-language versions of state assessments are not 

provided for limited English proficient (LEP) students. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:1941 et seq. and R.S. 17:24.4 (F)(3). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1562 (July 2005), amended by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, LR 32:240 (February 2006), LR 33:264 
(February 2007), LR 33:1010 (June 2007), LR 36:983 (May 2010), 
LR 37: 
Chapter 35. Assessment of Students in Special 

Circumstances 
§3501. Approved Home Study Program Students 

A. - D. … 
E. Students and state-approved home study programs 

may take the iLEAP tests in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7.  
F. - G. … 
H. Students enrolled in state-approved home study 

Programs are not eligible to participate in LAA 1, LAA 2, 
ELDA, or EOC. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:236.1-17.236.2, R.S. 17:6 (A) (10) (11) (15), R. S. 17:10, R. S. 
17:22 (6), R. S. 17:391.1-17:391.10, R. S. 17:411.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 
31:1563 (July 2005), amended by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education, LR 32:240 (February 2006), LR 33:264 
(February 2007), LR 36:983 (May 2010), LR 37: 
§3511. Migrant Students 

A. Migrant students shall take the appropriate assessment 
for their enrolled grade during the scheduled assessment 
period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:151.3 and R.S. 17:24.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Education, Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 

amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. Box 
94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA  70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette B. Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment 

Standards and Practices 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

New and updated policy language will be added to Chapter 
3, Test Security, regarding EOCT emergencies  that may occur 
during testing. In Chapter 7, Assessment Program Overview, 
the testing chart will be edited to reflect the addition of Biology 
as an EOC test and list spring 2010 as being the last statewide 
administration of grade 9 iLEAP, grade 9 LAA 1, and grade 9 
LAA 2 assessments. Policy language, Sunset Provision, will be 
added to the following chapters in Bulletin 118: Chapter 17, 
Integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program 
(iLEAP); Chapter 19, LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 1 
(LAA 1); and Chapter 20, LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 2 
(LAA 2) to reflect the final administration of grade 9 
assessments in each of these testing programs. Chapter 18, 
End-Of-Course Tests (EOCT), is being updated to add new 
policy language regarding the geometry EOC test structure, 
scale-score ranges, and achievement level descriptors; to reflect 
the new scale- score range required for an EOCT rescore (10 
scale score points); provide new policy language for EOCT 
transfer rules; and add a new policy topic, College and Career 
Diploma. Chapter 33, Assessment of Special Populations, 
which addresses special education students and limited English 
proficient student, will be edited to provide information about 
native-language versions of statewide assessments. Chapter 35, 
Assessments of Students in Special Circumstances, policy 
language will be updated to state that approved home study 
program students may not participate in EOC assessments and  
new policy language will be added, §3511, that provides 
information about migrant students. The proposed rule change 
will have no implementation cost to state or local governmental 
units.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections at the state or 
local governmental levels. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There should be no effect on costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no impact on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#046 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 
(LAC 28:CXXXIX.Chapters 1-5 and 9-31) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 126―Charter Schools: 
Chapters 1 - 35. The update will update the Bulletin to bring 
it into compliance with updates made to law. The update will 
bring Bulletin 126 into compliance with updates made to 
law. The update will enhance the current charter application 
process to require that the due diligence review include an 
examination of nonprofit and management organization 
performance, including the performance of schools operated 
within the state that have closed. Additionally, there will be 
a set of required timelines for the voluntary relinquishment 
of charter schools and possible penalties for not adhering to 
these timelines. Charter schools will also be required to 
notify the Board when a contract with a management 
organization is terminated and provide a plan for the 
continued operation of the school. If such a plan is deemed 
inadequate, the Recovery School District can be given 
interim authority to operate the school. Failure to adhere to 
the requirements may lead to the non-profit board being 
disqualified from operating another charter school in 
Louisiana for up to five years. Lastly, it will require board 
approval for changes in over 60 percent of a charter school 
board of directors as material amendments and require that 
the charter school notify the board of any non-material 
amendments made to the charter. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

 Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. Definitions 

A. - E. … 
F. Management Organization―an organization 

contracted by the charter operator to directly manage a 
charter school. 

G. Charter School―an independent public school that 
provides a program of elementary and/or secondary 
education established pursuant to and in accordance with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Charter School Law to provide a 
learning environment that will improve pupil achievement. 

H. Charter School Application―the proposal submitted 
to BESE, which includes but is not limited to, responses to 
questions concerning a charter school’s education program; 
governance, leadership, and management; financial plan; 
and facilities. 

I. Charter School Law―Louisiana Laws, R.S. 17:3971 
et seq., governing the operation of a charter school. 

J. Chartering Authority―a local school board or the 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. 

K. Core Subject―core subject shall include those 
subjects defined as core subjects in Bulletin 741. 

L. Department of Education or LDE―the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

M. Department of Education Office of Parental Options 
or OPO―the unit within the Department of Education 
responsible for the administration of the state charter school 
program and for providing oversight of the operation of 
charter schools chartered by BESE. 

N. Hearing Officer―the individual assigned by BESE to 
perform adjudicatory functions at charter school revocation 
hearings. 

O. Local School Board―any city, parish, or other local 
public school board. 

P. Public Service Organization―any community-based 
group of 50 or more persons incorporated under the laws of 
this state that meets all of the following requirements: 

1. has a charitable, eleemosynary, or philanthropic 
purpose; and is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the United States Internal Revenue Code 
and is organized for a public purpose. 

Q. State Superintendent―the Superintendent of 
Education, who is the chief administrative officer of the 
Louisiana Department of Education, and who shall 
administer, coordinate, and supervise the activities of the 
department in accordance with law, regulation, and policy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3973. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1357 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§109. Limit on the Number of Charter Schools 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1359 (July 2008), 
repealed LR 37: 
Chapter 3. Charter School Authorizers 
§303. BESE Authorizing Responsibilities 

A. - A.1. … 
2. to review each proposed charter in a timely manner 

to determine whether each charter school application 
complies with the Charter School Law and this bulletin and 
whether the application is valid, complete, financially well-
structured, educationally sound, whether it provides for a 
master plan for improving behavior and discipline in 
accordance with R.S. 17: 252, whether it provides a plan for 
collecting data in accordance with R.S. 17:3911, and offers 
potential for fulfilling the purposes of the Charter School 
Law. BESE shall engage in an application review process 
that complies with the latest Principles and Standards for 
Quality Charter School Authorizing, as promulgated by the 
National Association of Charter School Authorizers, and 
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shall provide for an independent evaluation of the charter 
proposal by a third party with educational, organizational, 
legal, and financial expertise. 

3. – 6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1359 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§306. Local School Board Authorizing Responsibilities 

A. Local school boards, as the authorizer of Type 1 and 
Type 3 charter schools, have the following authorizing 
responsibilities: 

1. except as otherwise provided herein relating to 
local school systems in academic crisis, to review and 
formally act upon each charter proposal within 90 days of its 
submission and in the order in which submitted In 
conducting such a review, the local school board shall 
determine whether each proposed charter complies with the 
law and rules, whether the proposal is valid, complete, 
financially well-structured, and educationally sound, 
whether it provides for a master plan for improving behavior 
and discipline in accordance with R.S. 17:252, whether it 
provides a plan for collecting data in accordance with 
R.S.17:3911, and whether it offers potential for fulfilling the 
purposes of the law; 

2. engage in a transparent application review process 
that complies with the latest Principles and Standards for 
Quality Charter School Authorizing, as promulgated by the 
National Association of Charter School Authorizers, and 
shall provide for an independent evaluation of the charter 
proposal by a third party with educational, organizational, 
legal, and financial expertise; 

3.  make public through its website, and in printed 
form upon request, the guidelines for submitting a charter 
proposal, all forms required for submission of a charter 
proposal, the timelines established for accepting and 
reviewing charter proposals, the process that will be used to 
review charter proposals submitted to the board, and the 
name and contact information for a primary point of contact 
for charter proposals;  

4.  prior to approving a charter for a Type 1 or Type 3 
school, to hold a public meeting for the purpose of 
considering the proposal and receiving public input. Such 
meeting shall be held after reasonable efforts have been 
made by the local school board to notify the public of the 
meeting and its content. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37: 
§307. Local School Board Duties 

A. Local school boards have the following duties relating 
to charter schools: 

1. to report any charter entered into to BESE within 
two business days following the approval; and to report the 
number of schools chartered, the status of those schools, and 
any recommendations relating to the charter school program 
to BESE no later than July 1 of each year; 

2. provide each charter school with the criteria and 
procedures that will be used when considering whether to 
renew a school’s charter; 

3. to notify the chartering group in writing of any 
decisions made relative to the renewal or nonrenewal of a 
school’s charter not later than January 31 of the year in 
which the charter would expire. A notification that a charter 
will not be renewed shall include written explanation of the 
reasons for such non-renewal; 

4. to make available to chartering groups any vacant 
school facilities or any facility slated to be vacant for lease 
or purchase at up to fair market value. In the case of a Type 
2 charter school created as a result of a conversion, the 
facility and all property within the existing school shall also 
be made available to that chartering group In return for the 
use of the facility and its contents, the chartering group shall 
pay a proportionate share of the local school board’s bonded 
indebtedness to be calculated in the same manner as set for 
in R.S. 17:1990(C)(2)(a)(i). If such facilities were 
constructed at no cost to the local school board, then such 
facilities, including all equipment, books, instructional 
materials, and furniture within such facilities, shall be 
provided to the charter school at no cost. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3982, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1359 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Charter School Application and Approval 

Process 
§503. Eligibility to Apply for a Type 2 Charter School 

A. - A.5.b. … 
c. the local school board has made no final decision 

within 90 days after the submission of a proposal; and  
A.6. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10). R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3982, R.S. 
17:3983, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1360 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:  
§507. Existing Public Schools Converting to Charter 

Schools 
A. Prior to applying for a Type 2 charter school, which 

proposes to be a school converted from a preexisting public 
school to a charter school, BESE shall require an applicant 
to receive approval from the professional faculty and staff of 
the pre-existing school and the parents or guardians of 
children enrolled in the school.  

B. Prior to applying for a Type 3, or Type 4 charter 
school, which proposes to be a school converted from a 
preexisting public school to a charter school, the chartering 
authority may require an applicant to receive approval from 
the professional faculty and staff of the pre-existing school 
and the parents or guardians of children enrolled in the 
school. 

C. Approval of the professional faculty and staff requires 
a favorable vote of the majority of the faculty and staff who 
are certified by BESE and who were employed at the pre-
existing school. The number needed for approval shall be 
determined by the number of professional faculty and staff 
assigned to the pre-existing school on October 1 preceding 
the election. 

1. An election must be held for the purpose of voting 
to convert a preexisting public school to a charter school. 
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2. Employees eligible to vote in an election are 
members of the faculty and staff who are employed at the 
pre-existing school and who are certified by BESE. 

3. Each eligible employee may cast only one vote. 
4. The election must be held by secret ballot. 

D. Approval by the parents or guardians requires a 
favorable vote of the majority of the voting parents or 
guardians of pupils enrolled in the school. 

1. An election must be held for the purpose of voting 
to convert a pre-existing public school to a charter school. 

2. The number of votes cast by the parents or 
guardians in an election must equal at least 50 percent of the 
number of students enrolled in the school at the time of the 
election. 

3. Only one vote may be cast by one parent or 
guardian for each student enrolled in the school at the time 
of the election. 

4. The election must be held by secret ballot. 
E. An election of the professional faculty and staff or of 

the parents and guardians may be repeated in any school for 
approval of the same or a different charter proposal; 
however, such an election may not occur more than once in 
any school year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3973, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1361 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:  
§512. Application Process for Locally Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. Application Cycle 

1. A local school board may accept charter school 
proposals until February 28 of each year and shall provide 
notification of its final decision to the chartering group. 
Notifications of charter proposals denied shall include 
written explanation of the reasons for such denial.  

2. If the local school board does not reach a final 
decision within 90 days after the submission of the proposal, 
the chartering group may submit its proposal to BESE for its 
review as a Type 2 charter proposal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37: 
§513. Stages of Application Cycle for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 
A. - C. … 
D. Due Diligence Review. A due diligence review shall 

be performed on each charter school application/applicant. It 
may include, but not be limited to, background and reference 
checks of nonprofit corporation board members and 
individuals and agencies associated with the charter 
application; analysis of school performance and nonprofit 
corporation and management company performance, and 
performance associated with charter schools previously 
operated within the state that have since closed; and school 
site visits for existing operators. 

E. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1361 (July 2008), 
mended LR 37: 

§515. Charter School Application Components 
A. The BESE charter school application shall be 

prepared as a Request for Applications. Each request for 
applications shall consist of sections that provide applicants 
with information on charter schools in Louisiana, an 
explanation of the application process and timelines, charter 
school application questions, and any other information 
which is necessary for an applicant to be able to respond to 
the charter application questions. 

B. All BESE requests for applications must be approved 
by BESE prior to the release of the request. In cases of a 
Type 5 charter operator voluntarily relinquishing its charter, 
the State Superintendent of Education may issue an 
Emergency Request for Applications and BESE shall be 
notified of such action within two business days.  

C. The charter school application questions contained in 
the BESE request for applications shall consist of questions 
in the following areas: executive summary, education 
program, governance, leadership and management, financial 
plan, and facilities. 

D. The charter school application questions for all types 
of charter schools shall address the following: 

1. a statement of the school's role, scope, and mission; 
2. admission requirements, if any, that are consistent 

with the school's role, scope, and mission may be established 
in accordance with that permitted in Charter School Law and 
this bulletin; 

3. a description of the jurisdiction within which a 
pupil shall reside or otherwise be eligible to attend a public 
school in order to be eligible for admission; 

a. beginning with the 2011-2012 school year, a 
description of the geographic boundaries circumscribing the 
neighborhood immediately surrounding the charter school 
from which students residing within may be given 
preference for enrollment in accordance with R.S. 17:3991; 

4. a description of the school's recruitment, 
enrollment, and admission process; 

5. a financial and accounting plan sufficient to permit 
a governmental audit; 

6. a description of how the proposed charter school 
fulfills one or more of the purposes specified in the Charter 
School Law and this bulletin; 

7. a description of the education program offered by 
the school and how that program will meet the needs of the 
at-risk pupils to be served, including a discussion of the 
school's proposed curriculum; 

8. a description of how the charter school will meet 
the needs of students with exceptionalities; 

9. the specific academic and other educational results 
to be achieved, the timelines for such achievement, and how 
results will be measured and assessed; 

10. an agreement to provide a report at the end of each 
semester to parents of pupils enrolled in the school, the 
community, the local school board, and the state board 
indicating progress toward meeting the performance 
objectives as stated in the charter; 

11. the organizational, governance, and operational 
structure of the school, including its policies regarding its 
compliance with applicable public body laws; 

12. policies, programs, and practices to ensure parental 
involvement; 
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13. staffing plan, including the number of teachers and 
employees; 

14. personnel policies and employment practices 
applicable to the school's officers and employees; 

15. manner in which teachers and other school 
employees will be evaluated; 

16. school rules and regulations applicable to pupils, 
including disciplinary policies and procedures, that 
incorporate research-based discipline practices, such as 
positive behavior interventions and supports, restorative 
justice principles in accordance with R.S. 17:252.; 

17. information concerning the school location and the 
adequacy of its facilities and equipment. Such information 
shall include a statement of the procedures to be followed 
and disposition of facilities and equipment should the charter 
be terminated or not renewed; 

18. management and accounting practices to be 
employed; 

19. provisions regarding liability issues; 
20. types and amounts of insurance coverage provided; 
21. a requirement that curriculum shall be focused on 

the intellectual domain with intellectual development 
defined as acquisition of discrete technical and academic 
skills; 

22. a requirement that charter schools regularly assess 
the academic progress of their pupils, including the 
participation of such pupils in the state testing programs, and 
the sharing of such information with parents; 

23. a requirement that a pupil shall have a mastery of 
grade-appropriate skills before the pupil can be 
recommended for promotion or promoted; 

24. provisions regarding the safety and security of the 
school; 

25. provisions regarding electronic communications by 
an employee of the charter school to a student enrolled at the 
charter school; 

26. provisions regarding the inspection and operation 
of all fire prevention and safety equipment at the school; and 

27. a plan for collecting data in accordance with R.S. 
17:3911. 

E. Type 1 and Type 2 charter school applications shall 
describe how the charter school will serve the percentage of 
at-risk students defined in the Charter School Law and in 
Section 2713 of this bulletin. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1362 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§517. Consideration of Charter Applications and 

Awarding of Charters by BESE  
A. - B. … 
C. BESE shall carefully review each Type 2, Type 4, and 

Type 5 charter school application it receives and may 
approve a charter application only after it has made a 
specific determination that the proposed school will be 
operated in compliance with all applicable state and federal 
laws, rules, and regulations; that the accounting and 
financial practices to be used are sound and in accordance 
with generally accepted standards for similar entities; and 
that the educational program to be offered will comply with 
all requirements of the Charter School Law and be based on 

generally accepted education research findings applicable to 
the pupils to be served, including but not limited to school 
discipline practices and policies that incorporate positive 
behavior interventions and supports, restorative justice, and 
other research-based discipline practices and classroom 
management strategies and otherwise conform to the other 
model master discipline plan required in accordance with 
R.S. 17.252. 

D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§518. BESE Pre-Opening Procedures Following 

Approval 
A. Following charter application approval by BESE, 

approved nonprofit corporations must complete pre-opening 
requirements approved by BESE prior to executing a charter 
contract and prior to opening a school. 

B. The pre-opening requirements of BESE approved 
charter schools shall be developed by the Department of 
Education Office of Parental Options and presented for 
BESE's approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:  
§519. Pre-Opening Procedures Following Approval 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
repealed LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Opening of Charter School 
§901. Timeline for Charter School Opening 

A. A charter school shall begin operation by not later 
than 24 months after the final approval of the charter, unless 
such charter school is engaged in desegregation compliance 
issues and, therefore, must begin operation by not later than 
36 months. 

B. If a charter school fails to begin operation within the 
time periods set forth in §901.A, the charter for that school 
shall be automatically revoked although a new charter may 
be proposed in a subsequent application cycle. 

C. A charter school, once approved, may begin operation 
only in July, August, or September of a given year. 

D. A charter school shall not begin operation sooner than 
eight months after approval of the charter school has been 
granted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 11. Ongoing Review of Charter Schools 
§1101. Charter School Evaluation 

A. - B. … 
C. BESE shall receive a report on the review of Type 2, 

Type 4, and Type 5 charter schools in January of each year. 
This annual review will be used in charter contract extension 
determinations. 
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1. During its renewal term, each charter school will be 
subject to regular site visits and contract review on a 
schedule established by the Department of Education. 

a. A charter school under long-term renewal (five or 
more years), whose academic performance declines for three 
consecutive years, will be subject to a formal evaluation and 
contract review by LDOE. Based on the results of its 
evaluation, the department may recommend one of the 
following actions: 
 i. the charter school be placed under a 
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that outlines 
specific recommendations for improving performance; or  
 ii. revocation. 

D. - D.1. … 
2. Charter schools are required to administer all state 

assessments and are subject to the Louisiana School and 
District Accountability System. The evaluation of a charter 
school's performance in its early years differs from the 
evaluation of existing public schools because the data 
necessary for certain types of accountability determinations 
to be made does not yet exist. However, data produced in a 
charter school's first years of existence is used in a manner 
that enables chartering authorities to track student 
performance by the assignment of an assessment index. An 
assessment index represents student performance on state 
assessments, as opposed to student performance on state 
assessments combined with other data like attendance and 
dropout rates. Each charter school will receive an assessment 
index until sufficient data exists for the school to receive a 
school performance score (SPS). Each charter school will 
receive its assessment index or school performance score 
(SPS), as applicable, when scores are released statewide. 

D.3. - E.  … 
1. Charter schools are required to engage in financial 

practices, financial reporting, and financial audits as set forth 
in Charter School Law, this bulletin, and the charter. The 
requirements imposed by law, regulation, and contract 
ensure the proper use of public funds and the successful 
fiscal operation of the charter school. 

E.2. - F.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1363 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 13. Charter Term 
§1305. Fourth Year Review of Charter Schools on 

Contract Probation 
A. A charter school granted a one-year extension and 

placed on probation after its third year of operation pursuant 
to §1303.B.2 shall comply with all conditions of probation 
established by BESE and the Department of Education, 
Office of Parental Options. 

A.1. - B.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 15. Charter Renewal 
§1501. Renewal of Charter 

A. At the conclusion of a charter school's fifth year of 
operation and the expiration of its initial charter contract, a 

charter operator no longer has a continuing right to operate a 
charter school. 

B. A charter school may apply for a renewal of its 
charter in compliance with processes and timelines 
established by its authorizer. 

C. No charter shall be renewed unless the charter 
operator seeking renewal can demonstrate, at a minimum, 
using standardized test scores, improvement in the academic 
performance of pupils over the term of the charter school's 
existence.  

D. A charter may be renewed for additional periods of 
not less than three nor more than ten years after thorough 
review by the approving chartering authority of the charter 
school's operations and compliance with charter 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37: 
§1502. BESE Processes for Charter Renewal 

A. For BESE Authorized charters, The Department of 
Education Office of Parental Options shall make a 
recommendation to BESE as to whether a charter renewal 
application should be approved. 

B. A BESE-Authorized charter school may be renewed 
at the discretion of BESE if all requirements set forth in law 
and policy for the renewal of a charter have been met. 

C. The process for renewing a school charter shall be the 
same as for initial charter approval, with a thorough review 
by BESE of the charter school's operations, student 
academic performance, and compliance with charter 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1367 (July 2008) 
amended LR 37: 
§1503. Charter Renewal Process and Timeline 

A. - B. … 
1. Each charter school is required to make 

demonstrable improvements in student performance over the 
term of its charter contract.  

a. BESE will rely on data from the state’s assessment 
and accountability program as objective and verifiable 
measures of student achievement and school performance. 
Student performance is the primary indicator of school 
quality; therefore, BESE will heavily factor each charter 
school’s student performance data in all renewal decisions. 

B.2. - 4. … 
5. A BESE-authorized charter school receiving an 

academically unacceptable performance label based on 
performance on the state’s assessment and accountability 
program based on year four test data (or the year prior to the 
submission of a renewal application for subsequent 
renewals) will not be eligible for renewal, unless one of 
these conditions are met: 

B.5.a. - C. … 
1. Each charter operator is required to engage in 

financial practices, financial reporting, and financial audits 
to ensure the proper use of public funds and the successful 
fiscal operation of the charter school. The evaluation 
financial performance indicator standards shall be measured 
as follows. 
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* * * 
2. - 3. … 
4. A charter contract will not be renewed if the charter 

has failed to demonstrate over the term of its charter, the 
fundamental ability to operate a fiscally sound charter 
school, as evidenced by repeated failure to adhere to the 
financial standards articulated in this Section. 

5. BESE Standards for Financial Performance  
a. BESE will reduce the renewal term by a year for 

any charter school otherwise recommended for renewal in 
any of the following instances, but no term shall be less than 
three years: 

b. a charter school that is not current in all financial 
reporting at the time of its renewal application or at the time 
of the department’s renewal recommendation; 

c. a charter school that has failed to submit at least 
half of its required financial reports timely or sufficiently in 
the 12 months immediately preceding the department’s 
renewal recommendation to BESE; 

d. a charter school with a “major finding” in either 
student count audit or financial audit in the most recent 
reporting period; or 

e. a charter school projecting a deficit in its most 
recent year end general fund balance. 

Repealed 
6. A charter contract will be non-renewed if the 

charter has failed to demonstrate over the term of its charter, 
the fundamental ability to operate a fiscally sound charter 
school, as evidenced by repeated failure to adhere to the 
financial standards articulated above. 

D. - D.3. … 
E. Initial Renewal for BESE-Authorized Charter Schools 

1. - 4. … 
F. Subsequent Renewal for BESE-Authorized Charter 

Schools 
1. - 5. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 36:479 (March 2010), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 17. Revocation 
§1701. Reasons for Revocation 

A. An authorizer may revoke a school's charter any time 
prior to the expiration of a charter operator's five-year term 
following initial approval or prior to the expiration of its 
subsequent renewal, if such is granted pursuant to Chapter 
15 of this bulletin, upon a determination that the charter 
school or its officers or employees did any of the following: 

1. committed a material violation of any of the 
conditions, standards, or procedures provided for in the 
approved charter; 

2. failed to meet or pursue within the agreed timelines 
any of the academic and other educational results specified 
in the approved charter; 

3. failed to meet generally accepted accounting 
standards of fiscal management; 

4. violated any provision of law or BESE policy 
applicable to a charter school, its officers, or employees. 

B. BESE may also revoke a schools charter if: 
1. the health, safety, and welfare of students is 

threatened;  

2. failed to meet the minimum standards for continued 
operation pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5, after four years of 
operation; or 

3. any other reasons for revocation listed as such in a 
charter school's charter contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981 and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1368 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§1703. Revocation Proceedings 

A. Recommendation to Revoke Charter for BESE-
Authorized Charter Schools 

1. - 4. … 
B. Revocation Hearing for BESE-Authorized Charter 

Schools 
1. - 2. … 
3. Following the Department of Education's 

recommendation to revoke a charter, BESE shall determine 
if it will commence a revocation proceeding. 

C. Hearing Officer for BESE-Authorized Charter 
Schools 

1. - 2. … 
D. Revocation Hearing Notice for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
1. - 5. … 

E. Issuance of Subpoenas for BESE-Authorized Charter 
Schools 

1. - 4. … 
F. Presentation and Evaluation of Evidence at 

Revocation Hearing for BESE-Authorized Charter Schools 
F.1. - G. … 

1. A charter may be revoked upon an affirmative vote 
of six members of BESE or by an affirmative vote of at least 
a majority of the local board membership. 

2. – 4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1368 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 18. Voluntary Relinquishment of a BESE-

Authorized Charter 
§1801. Voluntary Relinquishment of a BESE-

Authorized Charter 
A. If the operator of a BESE authorized charter school 

determines that it can no longer operate the charter school, it 
shall relinquish the charter to BESE at least 90 days prior to 
the beginning of the next school year. 

B. Failure to relinquish a charter at least 90 days prior to 
the beginning of the next school year may result in BESE 
declining to accept a charter application submitted by that 
operator to BESE for up to five years. If at any time during 
this period, members of such charter operator’s board form a 
majority of board membership for a different charter 
operator, BESE may decline to accept a charter application 
submitted by such charter operator. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37: 
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Chapter 19. Amendments to BESE-Authorized 
Charters  

§1903. Material Amendments for BESE-Authorized 
Charter Schools 

A. - A.12. … 
13. change in membership of the charter operator's 

board of directors that exceeds 60 percent or more of its 
members within any six month period; and 

14. any changes not specifically identified as a non-
material amendment. 

B. … 
C. The charter operator shall submit a request for a 

material amendment to its charter in compliance with all 
timelines and pursuant to all guidance, forms, and/or 
applications developed and set forth by the Department of 
Education, Office of Parental Options. 

D. The Department of Education's Office of Parental 
Options shall make recommendations to BESE on each 
material amendment request it receives from a charter 
operator. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1369 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:  
§1905. Non-Material Amendments for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 
A. - A.2.  … 

3. amendments to the charter operator's by-laws; and 
4. changes in any option expressed in the charter 

contract exhibits with respect to Teachers' Retirement 
System of Louisiana. 

B. A non-material amendment will be effective 
following approval by the board of directors of the charter 
school. 

C. The charter operator shall provide BESE with written 
notification of a non-material amendment to its charter 
within five days of board approval in compliance with all 
requirements set forth by the Department of Education, 
Office of Parental Options. Such notification shall be 
accompanied by a resolution of the school’s board of 
directors, signed by the board’s president.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§1907. Other Charter Amendments for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 
A. The charter operator shall provide BESE with written 

notification of all charter amendments not provided in §1703 
and §1705 in compliance with all requirements set forth by 
the Department of Education, Office of Parental Options. 

B. The Department of Education, Office of Parental 
Options shall determine if the reported amendment requires 
BESE approval of the amendment pursuant to §1703. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3992. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 

Chapter 21. Charter School Governance 
§2101. Board of Director Composition  

A. The members of the board of directors shall receive 
no compensation other than reimbursement of actual 
expenses incurred while fulfilling duties as a member of 
such a board. 

B. A charter school shall be prohibited from employing, 
in any manner, any member of the governing or management 
board of such school. 

C. Not more than 20 percent of the members of any 
governing or management board of a charter school shall be 
members of the same immediate family. Members of the 
same immediate family shall include a board member and 
any other board members to whom he is related as defined in 
R.S. 42:1102(13) and any other board members to whom 
any of them are so related. 

D. Board of Director Composition for BESE-Authorized 
Charter Schools 

1. The board of directors of each charter operator shall 
consist of no fewer than seven members. Each charter 
operator shall be in full compliance with the provisions of 
this Subsection no later than January 1, 2009. 

2. The board of directors of each charter operator 
should consist of members with a diverse set of professional 
skills and practical work experience in the areas of 
education, public/non-profit and/or for-profit administration 
or operations, community development, finance, and law. 

3. The board of directors of each charter operator 
should be representative of the community in which the 
charter school is located and no fewer than 60 percent of its 
members shall reside in the community in which the charter 
school is located. Community, for the purposes of this 
paragraph, shall consist of the parish in which the school is 
located and immediate neighboring parishes and, for Type 2 
charter schools, any parish that is included in the charter 
school's attendance zone. 

4. The board of directors of each charter operator shall 
consist of no more than one person from the same immediate 
family, as defined by the Louisiana Code of Governmental 
Ethics. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§2103. Board Member Responsibilities 

A. - F. … 
G. Each member of the governing authority or 

management board of a charter school shall annually file a 
financial statement in accordance with R.S. 42:1124.3 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008)a 
amended LR 37: 
§2105. Board Member Training for BESE-Authorized 

Charter Schools 
A. The board of directors of each charter operator shall 

develop an annual training schedule with respect to the 
operation of a non-profit organization and the management 
of a charter school in compliance with requirements set forth 
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by the Department of Education, Office of Parental Options. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1371 (July 2008). 
Amended LR 37: 
§2107. Prohibitions 

A. - E. … 
F. A charter school shall not be supported by or 

affiliated with any religion or religious organization or 
institution; however, a charter school may receive from any 
such organization or institution support or student services 
including but not limited to mentoring, volunteering, fund-
raising, or tutoring. 

G. - J. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1371 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 23. Charter School Funding 
§2301. State Funding 

A. The per pupil amount provided to a Type 1, 2, 3, or 4 
charter school shall be computed at least annually and shall 
be equal to no less than the per pupil amount received by the 
school district in which the charter school is located from the 
following. 

B. Initial allocation of the per pupil amount each year 
shall be based on estimates provided by the Louisiana 
Department of Education using the most recent local 
revenue data and projected pupil counts available. 
Allocations may be adjusted during the year to reflect actual 
pupil counts. 

C. For the purposes of funding, each Type 1, Type 3, and 
Type 4 charter school shall be considered an approved public 
school of the local school board entering into the charter 
agreement and shall receive a per pupil amount each year 
from the local school board based on the October 1 
membership count of the charter school and any other 
membership count authorized pursuant to the Minimum 
Foundation Program formula adopted each year. 

D. Type 5 charter schools shall receive a per pupil 
amount each year pursuant to formulas developed by the 
RSD which may include differentiated funding for certain 
students, including students identified as being eligible for 
special education services, and based on the October 1 
membership count of the charter school and any other 
membership count authorized pursuant to the Minimum 
Foundation Program formula adopted each year. 

E. Type 2 charter schools approved prior to July 1, 2008 
shall receive a per pupil amount from the Louisiana 
Department of Education each year based on the October 1 
membership count of the charter school and using state 
funds specifically provided for this purpose. In order to 
provide for adjustments in allocations made to Type 2 
charter schools as a result of changes in enrollment, BESE 
may provide annually for a February pupil membership 
count to reflect any changes in pupil enrollment that may 
occur after October 1 of each year. Type 2 charter schools 
authorized by the State Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education after July 1, 2008, shall receive a per pupil 
amount each year as provided in the Minimum Foundation 
Program approved formula.  

1. Any allocation adjustment made pursuant to this 
Paragraph shall not be retroactive and shall be applicable for 
the period from March 1 through the end of the school year. 
The provisions of this Paragraph relative to an allocation 
adjustment shall not be applicable to any Type 2 charter 
school that has had an increase or decrease in student 
enrollment of 5 percent or less in any school year for which 
the February membership count occurs. 

F. A charter authority may annually charge each charter 
school it authorizes a fee in an amount equal to two percent 
of the per pupil allocation that is received by a charter school 
for administrative overhead costs incurred by the chartering 
authority for considering the charter application and any 
amendment thereto, providing monitoring and oversight of 
the school, collecting and analyzing data of the school, and 
for reporting on school performance. Such fee amount shall 
be withheld from the per pupil amount in monthly 
increments and shall not be applicable to any federal money 
or grants received by the school. Administrative overhead 
costs shall not include any cost incurred by the charter 
authority to provide purchased services to the charter school. 

1. At least 30 days prior to the beginning of each 
fiscal year, each charter school shall be provided by its 
chartering authority with a projected budget detailing 
anticipated administrative overhead costs and planned uses 
for fees charged for such costs.  

2. By no later than 90 days following the end of each 
fiscal year, each charter school shall be provided by its 
chartering authority or the Recovery School District, if 
applicable, an itemized accounting of the actual cost of each 
purchased service provided to the charter school. 

G. A charter school may contract with the chartering 
authority, or with the Recovery School District for a Type 5 
charter school, for the direct purchase of specific services in 
addition to those include in administrative overhead costs, 
included by not limited to food services, special education 
services, transportation services, custodial and maintenance 
services, media services, technology services, library 
services, health services, and health benefits for active and 
retired employees. Such services shall be provided to the 
charter school at the actual costs incurred by the chartering 
authority or Recovery School District as applicable. The 
amount paid by a charter school for such purchased services 
shall be in accordance with a written agreement entered into 
for this purpose by the charter school and the chartering 
authority or the Recovery School District as applicable. Such 
agreement shall be negotiated and executed prior to the 
beginning of each school year. Absent such an agreement as 
provided by this Subparagraph, the chartering authority or, if 
applicable, the Recovery School District, shall have no 
authority to withhold from the charter school any funds 
relative to providing such services.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1371 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:  
Chapter 25. Charter School Fiscal Responsibilities 
§2505. Financial Reporting 

A. Each charter operator shall submit quarterly reports to 
the department listing year-to-date revenues and 
expenditures through that quarter and budgeted revenues and 
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expenditures for the fiscal year, using forms provided by the 
department and on dates specified by the department as set 
forth below. 

 
Due Date Financial Report 

July 31 

Annual Operating Budget 
Includes actual data for the prior fiscal year ending June 
30 along with budgeted data for the current fiscal year 
starting July1. 

October 31 
First Quarter Financial Report 
Includes budgeted data for the fiscal year along with the 
YTD actual data through September 30. 

January 31 
Second quarter Financial Report 
Includes budgeted data for the fiscal year along with the 
YTD actual data through September 30. 

April 30 
Third Quarter Financial Report 
Includes budgeted data for the fiscal Year along with the 
YTD actual data through March 31. 

 
B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3995. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1373 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 27. Charter School Recruitment and 

Enrollment 
§2701. Students Eligible to Attend 

A. … 
B. Type 4 Charter Schools. Only students who would be 

eligible to attend a traditional public school operated by the 
local school board holding the Type 4 charter or students 
from the same areas as those permitted to attend the 
preexisting school, if a conversion charter, are eligible to 
attend a Type 4 charter school, unless an agreement with 
another city, parish, or other local school board is reached to 
allow students to attend the charter school. 

C. – D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, R.S. 17:10.5, R.S. 
17:10.7, and R.S. 17:1990. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1373 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37:  
§2705. Admission Requirements 

A. A charter school may have admission requirements 
that are consistent with the school's role, scope, and mission. 

B. Admission requirements imposed by a school must be 
set forth in the charter school's approved charter and shall be 
specific and shall include a system for admission decisions 
which precludes exclusion of pupils based on race, religion, 
gender, ethnicity, national origin, intelligence level as 
ascertained by an intelligence quotient examination, or 
identification as a child with an exceptionality as defined in 
R.S. 17:1943(4). Such admission requirements may include, 
however, specific requirements related to a school's mission 
such as auditions for schools with a performing arts mission 
or achievement of a certain academic record for schools with 
a college preparatory mission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1374 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§2711. Lottery Exemptions 

A. … 

B. Students previously enrolled in the charter school and 
their siblings shall be exempt from a lottery, and shall 
maintain enrollment or be automatically admitted following 
the charter school's application period. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1375 (July 2008)., 
amended LR 37: 
§2713. At-Risk Students 

A. Except as otherwise provided by Charter School Law, 
Type 1 and Type 2 charter schools created as new schools 
shall maintain an at-risk student population percentage, 
based on the October 1 pupil membership count, that is 
equal to the percentage of students eligible for the federal 
free or reduced lunch program in the district in which the 
charter school is located or the average of districts from 
which students served by the charter school reside. 

A.1. - B.  … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) R.S. 17:3973, R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1375 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
Chapter 29. Charter School Staff 
§2905. Criminal History Review 

A. - B.1.  … 
2. Not later than 30 days after its being placed on file 

by the school, the charter operator shall submit a copy of the 
statement of approval to the Department of Education, 
Office of Parental Options. 

C. - D.1.  … 
2. Not later than 30 days after its being placed on file 

by the school, the charter operator shall submit a copy of any 
such statement of approval or written documentation from 
the court to the Department of Education, Office of Parental 
Options. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1375 (July 2008), 
amended LR 37: 
§2907. Leave of Absence 

A. Any employee of a local public school system shall, 
upon request, be granted a leave of absence in order to be 
employed in a charter school. The leave of absence shall not 
exceed three years. 

1. The provisions of Paragraph A of this Section shall 
be in effect through June 30, 2010.  

2. A leave of absence granted by a local school board 
pursuant to the provisions of this Section prior to July 1, 
2010 shall continue to be governed by all applicable 
provisions of this Section. 

B. - G. … 
H. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to 

employees of a Type 4 charter school, as such employees 
employed by a Type 4 charter school are employees of the 
local school board entering into the charter. The transfer of 
an employee of a local school board to a Type 4 charter 
school shall be governed by the transfer policy of the local 
school board. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3997. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1376 (July 2008), 
amended LR: 37  
Chapter 31. Notification Requirements for BESE-

Authorized Charter Schools 
§3101. Required Notifications 

A. The charter operator shall notify BESE and/or the 
Department of Education, Office of Parental Options of any 
conditions that may cause it to vary from the terms of its 
charter, state law, or BESE policy. 

B. The charter operator shall notify BESE and/or the 
Department of Education, Office of Parental Options of any 
circumstance requiring the closure of the charter school 
including, but not limited to, a natural disaster, such as a 
hurricane, tornado, storm, flood or other weather related 
event; other extraordinary emergency; or destruction of or 
damage to the school facility. 

C. The charter operator shall notify BESE and/or the 
Department of Education, Office of Parental Options of the 
arrest of any members of the Charter School's Board of 
Directors, employees, contractors, subcontractors, or any 
person directly or indirectly employed by the charter 
operator for a crime listed in R.S. 15:587.1(C) or any crime 
related to the misappropriation of funds or theft. 

D. The charter operator shall notify BESE and/or the 
Department of Education, Office of Parental Options of a 
default on any obligation, which shall include debts for 
which payments are past due by 60 days or more. 

E. The charter operator shall notify BESE and/or the 
Department of Education, Office of Parental Options of any 
change in its standing with the Office of the Louisiana 
Secretary of State. 

F. The charter operator shall immediately notify BESE 
and/or the Department of Education, Office of Parental 
Options if its enrollment decreases by 10 percent or more 
compared to the most recent pupil count submitted to the 
Department of Education and/or BESE. 

G. If the charter operator has contracted with a 
management organization and such contract is terminated or 
not renewed, it shall provide written notification to the 
Department of Education, Office of Parental Options within 
two business days stating the reasons for the termination of 
the relationship.  

H. For a Type 5 charter school, the charter operator shall 
submit a formal plan for the continued operation of the 
school to the state Superintendent of Education within 10 
days of written notification of the contract’s termination. If 
no plan is received or the plan received is deemed 
inadequate by the state Superintendent of Education, the 
Recovery School District shall have interim authority to 
operate the school until the charter operator resubmits a plan 
deemed acceptable by the superintendent.  

I. Failure of the board to notify the Office of Parental 
Options about loss of the management organization within 
two business days may result in BESE rendering the charter 
operator or a majority of its board members ineligible to 
operate a charter school for up to five years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to:  Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 126―Charter Schools 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rules update Bulletin 126 to be in compliance 

with recently enacted laws. Additionally, new policies 
addressing untimely voluntary relinquishments of charters and 
terminations of charter contracts with management 
organizations will enable the Department of Education to 
manage and hold organizations more accountable during each 
process. If a charter school voluntarily relinquishes its charter 
and a suitable replacement could not be found, the school 
would cease to operate and students would enroll in other 
schools. To the extent that these students enroll in other public 
schools, state and local per pupil allocations through the state’s 
Minimum Program Foundation formula could change by an 
undeterminable amount.  Additional changes include requiring 
board approval for changes in over 60 percent of the 
composition of a charter school board of directors and require 
that the board be notified of any non-material amendments 
made to a schools charter.  Lastly, the Bulletin will be revised 
to use "Office of Parental Options" as the new name for the 
"Charter Schools Office," reflecting the Department of 
Education's recent reorganization. The proposed policy is 
estimated to cost $164 for advertising in the Louisiana 
Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state and local government units. 
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III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed policy changes will not increase costs or 
provide any new economic benefits to individuals or non-
governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed policy could result in the termination of 
employment for individuals employed at a charter school that is 
unable to secure an alternate management organization after 
termination of a contract with a prior management 
organization. The number of charter schools that could find 
themselves in such a situtation, and the number of individuals 
employed by each, cannot be determined. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#047 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 129―The Recovery School District 
(LAC 28:CXLV.Chapters 3 and 5) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District: 
Chapters 3 and 5. The proposed policy aligns the Recovery 
School District with Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators, and outlines the fiscal and internal 
management of the Recovery School District (RSD). 

Chapter 3 outlines the duties of State Superintendent in 
the administration of the RSD, and that the State 
Superintendent is subject to BESE's oversight in the 
administration of the RSD. The RSD is subject to the 
policies contained in Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators (Public Schools). The RSD is allowed 
to deviate from such policies provided it obtains BESE 
approval. 

Chapter 5 deals with failed schools and their transfer to 
the RSD. It provides that BESE shall make the final decision 
for the transfer of academically unacceptable public schools 
to the RSD and shall make the final decision on the 
operation of the school so transferred. Chapter 5 defines the 
criteria for local school districts to be declared Academically 
in Crisis and how the schools are to be transferred and 
operated by the RSD. The Chapter also outlines the return of 
schools to the Local Education Agency (LEA). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXLV.  Bulletin 129―The Recovery School District 
Chapter 3. Overall Governance and Oversight 

Structure 
§301. Duties of the State Superintendent in the 

Administration of the RSD 
A. The state superintendent shall serve as the RSD's 

governing authority, consistent with authority delegated by 
the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) 
and statutory authority acknowledged by BESE. The state 
superintendent is subject to BESE's oversight of his 
administration of the RSD. 

1. BESE's RSD Committee shall serve as the Board's 
lead group for oversight of the RSD. 

B. The state superintendent shall employ/appoint and fix 
the salaries and duties of employees of the RSD, subject to 
applicable Civil Service laws, rules, and regulations, and 
other applicable laws, rules, regulations, and policies. 

C. The state superintendent shall make recommendations 
to BESE for the approval of Type 5 charter schools, subject 
to the policies and processes approved by BESE. 

D. As schools become eligible for transfer to the RSD, 
the state superintendent shall recommend to BESE the most 
appropriate mode of operating those schools. 

E. As schools under RSD's jurisdiction become eligible 
for return to their Local Educational Agency (LEA), the state 
superintendent shall recommend to BESE the most 
appropriate future path for those schools. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2), R.S. 17:10.5.B, R.S. 17:10.5.C, R.S. 17:10.7.B, and 
R.S. 17:10.7.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§303. Appointment and Qualifications of the RSD 

Superintendent 
A. The state superintendent shall appoint the RSD 

superintendent with prior approval of BESE.  
B. The RSD superintendent shall possess the same 

qualifications as provided for a school system superintendent 
in BESE Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for Certification 
of School Personnel, as modified by the qualifications in 
Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, at Section 505.B. However, the K-12 
population level of Bulletin 741's §505.B need not be 
present within the RSD.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), and R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§305. Duties of the RSD Superintendent 

A. The RSD superintendent shall administer the RSD, 
subject to the authority of the state superintendent as 
governing authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), and R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§307. Qualifications of Deputy Superintendents of the 

RSD  
A.  Deputy superintendents who supervise any part of the 

instructional program must meet the qualification standards 
set by Bulletin 746, Louisiana Standards for Certification of 
School Personnel.  

B.  Deputy superintendents in non-instructional areas, 
such as finance, management, facilities planning, and 
ancillary programs, must meet the qualification standards set 
for school system superintendents by Bulletin 746, 
Louisiana Standards for Certification of School Personnel.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), and R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
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§309. Advisory Council(s) to the State Superintendent 
A. Statewide Council 

1. Within 90 days after the final adoption of this 
section, the state superintendent shall nominate, subject to 
BESE's approval, a list of four nominees to serve on the 
Statewide RSD Advisory Council to the State Superintendent. 
At least two of these nominees shall be members of a school 
advisory council, as described in §1505.C of this bulletin. 

2. The purpose of the Statewide RSD Advisory 
Council is to provide a vehicle to enhance two-way 
communication between the state superintendent and the 
community of stakeholders about the functioning of the RSD 
statewide. The state superintendent or his designee shall 
attend the council's meetings.  

3. Once BESE has approved the membership of this 
advisory council, the council and the state superintendent or 
his designee shall meet at least three times a year. All such 
meetings shall be held in accordance with the state Open 
Meetings Law. These meetings shall be held in throughout 
the state.  

4. Within 30 days after each meeting of this advisory 
council, the RSD shall post a summary of the meeting on the 
State Department of Education website, send a paper copy of 
the report to each school under the RSD's jurisdiction, and 
send an electronic copy to each BESE member and the 
BESE Executive Director.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), and R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§311. Applicability of Provisions of Bulletin 741 

A. RSD shall be subject to the policies contained in 
BESE Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators [Public Schools], unless otherwise provided 
in this Bulletin. Bulletin 741 collects BESE policies that 
govern the operation of public elementary, middle, and 
secondary schools.  

B. Should the RSD superintendent believe it appropriate 
to deviate from a policy within Bulletin 741, the RSD 
superintendent shall request that BESE grant it a waiver 
from that policy.  

1. When the RSD requests that BESE waive a Bulletin 
741 policy, the RSD superintendent shall follow the 
procedure set forth in Bulletin 741, §345. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), and R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Failed Schools 
§501. Transfer to the Recovery School District 

A. A public school may be transferred to the jurisdiction 
of the RSD if it is determined, as defined by R.S. 17:10.6, to 
be either academically unacceptable or if it is determined to 
be in academically in crisis. BESE has established a uniform 
statewide program for school accountability in BESE 
Bulletin 111, The Louisiana School District and State 
Accountability System.  

1. Academically Unacceptable. A public school 
determined to be academically unacceptable shall be 
designated as a failed school and may be transferred to the 

RSD subject to approval by BESE. The state superintendent 
will make a recommendation to BESE regarding the transfer 
of an academically unacceptable school to the RSD. 

a. BESE may approve the transfer of an 
academically unacceptable school if the failed school meets 
one or more of the following criteria: 
 i.  the LEA fails to submit a reconstitution plan to 
BESE for approval; or 
 ii.  BESE finds the LEA's reconstitution plan 
unacceptable; or 
 iii. the LEA fails to comply with the reconstitution 
plan approved by BESE; or 
 iv. the school is labeled an academically 
unacceptable school for four consecutive years. 

b. When the state superintendent makes a 
recommendation to BESE to transfer an academically 
unacceptable school to the jurisdiction of the RSD, he will 
propose performance objectives for the failed school 
designed to bring the failed school to an acceptable level of 
performance. 

c. The state superintendent, in conjunction with the 
RSD, shall evaluate any public school deemed to be 
academically unacceptable to determine the best method to 
bring the school to an acceptable level of performance as 
determined by the statewide accountability plan. The state 
superintendent shall recommend to BESE any of the 
following methods for operating a school that has been 
deemed eligible for transferred to the RSD: 
 i. the failed school may be operated: 

(a) as a direct-run RSD school; 
(b) as a charter school, 
(c) as a university partnership; or 
(d) through a management agreement with a 

management education management organization; 
 ii. the RSD may enter into a Supervisory 
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the LEA under 
the provisions enumerated in Section 503, "Conditional 
Transfer Using a Supervisory Memorandum of 
Understanding," below. 

d. BESE shall make the final decision for the 
transfer of an academically unacceptable public school to the 
RSD and shall make the final decision on the appropriate 
method of operating the school as enumerated in Section 
(A)(1)(c), above. BESE shall also make the final decision on 
the performance objectives for the academically 
unacceptable school. 

2. Academically in Crisis. A local school system in 
which more than 30 schools are academically unacceptable 
or more than 50 percent of its students attend schools that 
are academically unacceptable is academically in crisis. 
Pursuant to La. R.S. 17:10.7, a public school participating in 
a Spring cycle of student testing that had a baseline School 
Performance Score (SPS) below the state average as defined 
in BESE Bulletin 111, The School, District, and State 
Accountability System, §301, was within an LEA labeled 
academically in crisis as defined in R.S. 17:10.6; and was 
within an LEA with at least one school eligible for transfer 
to the RSD under R.S. 17:10.5, was designated as a failing 
school and was transferred to the RSD by operation of law. 

a. The state superintendent, in conjunction with the 
RSD, evaluated the schools transferred to the RSD pursuant 
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to La. R.S. 17:10.7 to determine the best of operation to 
bring the school to an acceptable level of performance. The 
state superintendent shall recommend to BESE a method of 
operating the schools transferred to the RSD. BESE shall 
make the final decision on the operation method of any 
school transferred to the RSD by operation of law. 

b. Acceptable methods of operation for the failed 
schools include operating as: 
 i. a direct-run RSD school; 
 ii. a charter-operated school; 
 iii. a university partnership school; or 
 iv. an education management organization. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2), R.S. 17:10.5.B, R.S. 17:10.6, and R.S. 17:10.7.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§503. Conditional Supervisory Memorandum of 

Understanding 
A. As an alternative to a transfer of a failing school to 

the RSD under the provisions of R.S. 17:10.5, BESE may 
authorize a conditional transfer requiring the LEA to enter a 
legally-binding Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) 
between the RSD and the LEA. The MOU will define the 
performance objectives for LEA to implement to bring the 
failing school to acceptable level of performance. 

B. Under the terms of the MOU, the LEA will continue 
to operate the failed school under the supervision of the 
RSD. In the event the LEA is unable to comply with the 
terms of the MOU, and/or the LEA fails to implement 
procedure that bring the school to acceptable levels of 
performance, then the failing school will be transferred to 
the RSD, pursuant to the terms of the MOU.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.5.B, R.S. 
17:10.7.A.(1), and R.S. 17:1990.A.(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§505. Return of Schools to LEA 

A. Schools transferred to the jurisdiction of RSD shall 
remain with the RSD for a period of not less than five years.  

1. For a school transferred to the RSD pursuant to 
R.S. 17:10.5, the school may be returned to its original LEA 
based upon the RSD's report and recommendation to BESE. 
The RSD's report shall include the following:  

a. the status of the school, the nature of its faculty 
and administration, the demographics and size of the student 
body, its organizational and management structure, whether 
student academic performance has improved, the amount of 
any improvement, an explanation of why student academic 
performance has or has not improved, and to what extent 
performance targets were achieved; 

b. the RSD report shall also include a 
recommendation to as to whether the school should: 
 i. remain within the RSD in the same operational 
status; 
 ii. remain within the RSD in a new operational 
status; 
 iii. close, with the reasons why it should close; or 
 iv. return to the original LEA, with proposed 
stipulations and conditions for the return; 

c. BESE shall take action on the RSD's 
recommendation. If BESE determines that the school should 
continue to remain under the jurisdiction of the RSD, the 
RSD shall maintain jurisdiction of the school for an 
additional five-year period, unless BESE specifies a shorter 
time. 

2. For schools transferred to RSD pursuant to La. R.S. 
17:10.7, schools may be returned to their original LEA based 
upon the RSD's report and recommendation to BESE. The 
RSD's report shall contain the following:  

a. the status of the school, the nature of its faculty 
and administration, the demographics and size of the student 
body, its organizational and management structure, whether 
student academic performance has improved, the amount of 
any improvement, an explanation of why student academic 
performance has or has not improved, and to what extent 
performance targets were accomplished; 

b. the RSD report shall include a recommendation 
as to whether the school should: 
 i. remain within the RSD in the same operational 
status; 
 ii. remain within the RSD in a new operational 
status; 
 iii. close with the reasons why it should close; or 
 iv. return to the original, with proposed 
stipulations and conditions for the return. 

c. before making a final decision BESE shall hold a 
public hearing in the jurisdiction of the original LEA relative 
to whether the schools should continue to remain within the 
RSD or should be returned to the LEA; 

d. should BESE determine that a school or schools 
remain under the jurisdiction of the RSD, the school shall 
remain under the RSD's jurisdiction for an additional five-
year period  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A) (10), R.S. 17:10.5.A.(1), R.S. 17:10.7.A.(1), R.S. 
17:1990.A.(2), R.S. 17:10.5.C, and R.S. 17:10.7.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? Lacks sufficient information to determine. 

5. Will the proposed rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed rule? No. 
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Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to:  Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 129― 
The Recovery School District 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy aligns the Recovery School District 

(RSD) with BESE Bulletin 741, La Handbook for School 
Administrators and outlines the fiscal and internal management 
of the Recovery School District. The cost to publish and 
distribute the Bulletin will cost approximately $2,000. 

Chapter 3 – Outlines the duties of the State Superintendent 
in the administration of the RSD, and that the State 
Superintendent is subject to BESE's oversight in the 
administration of the RSD.  The RSD is subject to the policies 
contained in BESE Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators ( Public Schools). The RSD is allowed 
to deviate from such policies provided it obtains BESE 
approval. 

Chapter 5 deals with failed schools and their transfer to the 
RSD. It provides that BESE shall make the final decision for 
the transfer of academically unacceptable public schools to the 
RSD, and shall make the final decision on the operation of the 
school so transferred.  Chapter 5 defines the criteria for local 
school districts to be declared Academically in Crisis and how 
the schools are to be transferred and operated by the RSD. The 
Chapter also outlines the return of schools to the Local 
Education Agency (LEA).  These policy provisions potentially 
have an impact on the affected LEA's, as the Minimum 
Foundation Program (MFP) funds and grants, which were 
previously disbursed to them will be sent to the RSD in the 
event the RSD takes over the schools.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy provisions will have no effects on 
revenue collections of state and local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#048 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Dropout Prevention and Recovery 

(LAC 28:CXV.1118) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §1118. Dropout 
Prevention and Recovery. The revision changes the percent 
of cohort graduation rate from 70 to 80 percent. 
Additionally, the policy requires LEAs to "post the four-year 
cohort graduation rate for each high school in the system and 
for the system as a whole on its Internet website" and to 
"send a written notice to the parent or other legal guardian of 
each high school student the four-year cohort dropout rate of 
the school in which the student is enrolled and the number of 
students in the school identified as failing pursuant to the 
accountability system." This revision reflects the 
amendments R.S. 17:221.4 to Dropout Prevention and 
Recovery enacted by Act 557 (SB 753) of the 2010 Regular 
Session. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§1118. Dropout Prevention and Recovery 
A. LEAs with a cohort graduation rate of less than 80 

percent as determined by BESE shall identify specific 
methods of targeted interventions for dropout prevention and 
recovery that may include: 

1. early intervention for students who are at risk of 
failing any ninth grade English or math class; 

2. alternative programs designed to reengage 
dropouts; 

3. increased availability of advanced placement 
courses;  

4. comprehensive coaching for middle school students 
who are below grade level in reading and math; 

5. teacher advisories such as the use of graduation 
coaches and other supports that are designed to specifically 
address the needs of youth most at risk of dropping out of 
school; 

6. strategies specifically designed to improve the high 
school graduation rate of students at highest risk for 
dropping out, including but not limited to students who are 
two or more years below grade level, students with 
excessive absences, youth in the foster care system, pregnant 
and parenting youth, Limited English proficient students, 
and students with special education needs; 

7. communicating with students and their parents or 
legal guardians about the availability of local after-school 
programs and the academic enrichment and other activities 
the programs offered; 
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8. opportunities for credit recovery; 
9. opportunities to participate in the Jobs for 

America's Graduates program.  
B. LEAs that fail to show a decline in their annual 

dropout rates shall prepare and submit each year to BESE a 
written report that documents: 

1. the outcomes of the dropout prevention strategies to 
date at the school system level; 

2. how the school system dropout prevention 
strategies and activities will be modified, based on the data. 

C. Each LEA shall: 
1. post the four-year cohort graduation rate for each 

high school in the system and for the system as a whole on 
its Internet website; 

2. send a written notice to the parent or other legal 
guardian of each high school student that contains the 
following information: 

a. the four-year cohort dropout rate of the school in 
which the student is enrolled; 

b. the retention rate by grade level for students 
enrolled in the school.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:221.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:642 (April 2009), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook  
for School Administrators―Dropout  

Prevention and Recovery 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The revision to Section 1118 of Bulletin 741: Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators changes the percent of 
cohort graduation rate from 70 to 80 percent. Additionally, the 
policy requires local school districts to post the graduation rate 
for each high school in the system and for the system as a 
whole on its Internet website and to send a written notice to the 
parent or legal guardian. The estimated implementation cost to 
the local school districts will be $91,000 state wide which is 
approximately $1,300 per local school district. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The estimated annual cost to the local school districts will 
be $91,000 state wide which is approximately $1,300 per local 
school district. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment.  
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#050 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators―Family and Consumer Sciences Education 

(LAC 28:CXV.2379) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741―Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §2379. Family and 
Consumer Sciences Education. The proposed amendment 
reflects the addition of Baking and Pastry Arts I and Baking 
and Pastry Arts II to the Family and Consumer Sciences 
course offerings. The action is being proposed to update the 
Family and Consumer Sciences course offerings. In updating 
these course offerings students in the Culinary Arts career 
pathway will be provided the opportunity to concentrate on 
specialized techniques within the field of baking and pastry. 
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Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

§2379. Family and Consumer Sciences Education 
A. The Family and Consumer Sciences (FACS) 

Education course offerings shall be as follows. 
 

Course Title(s) Recommended 
Grade Level Units 

Exploratory FACS 7-8 - 
Family and Consumer Sciences I 9-12 1 
Family and Consumer Sciences II 10-12 1 
Food Science 10-12 1 
Adult Responsibilities 11-12 1/2 
Child Development 10-12 1/2 
Personal and Family Finance 10-12 1/2 
Family Life Education 10-12 1/2 
Clothing and Textiles 10-12 1/2 
Housing and Interior Design 10-12 1/2 
Nutrition and Food 10-12 1/2 
Parenthood Education 11-12 1/2 
Advanced Child Development* 10-12 1/2 
Advanced Clothing and Textiles* 10-12 1/2 
Advanced Nutrition and Food* 10-12 1/2 
FACS Elective I, II 9-12 1/2-3 
*The related beginning semester course is prerequisite to the advanced 
semester course. 
Occupational Courses     
Clothing and Textile Occupations I 11-12 1-3 
Clothing and Textile Occupations II 12 1-3 
Early Childhood Education I 11-12 1-3 
Early Childhood Education II 12 1-3 
Food Services I 11-12 1-3 
Food Services II 11-12 1-3 
Food Service Technician 11-12 1 
Housing & Interior Design Occupations 11-12 1-3 
ProStart I 11-12 1-3 
ProStart II 12 1-3 
Baking and Pastry Arts I 11-12 1-3 
Baking and Pastry Arts II 12 1-3 
Cooperative FACS Education 12 3 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance R.S. 17:7; 

R.S. 17:24.4; R.S. 17:279. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1299 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:278 (February 2007), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook  
for School Administrators―Family and Consumer 

Sciences Education 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revision will amend the Family and 
Consumer Sciences course offerings to offer Baking and Pastry 
Arts I and Baking and Pastry Arts II. It is estimated that there 
will be no additional implementation costs to state 
governmental units except for an estimated $336 for printing 
the Bulletin 741 amendment in the Louisiana Register as a 
proposed rule and a final rule. The LEA may choose to offer 
the new courses to students that may require updating course 
offerings or other counseling brochures. LEAs choosing to 
offer the new courses may need to purchase items such as 
textbooks, instructional materials or equipment. Each LEA will 
make its determination.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections by state/local 
governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Secondary Career and Technical students will be the 
population affected by the rule change. This amendment will 
allow students to further their career path in the culinary arts by 
learning specialized techniques in baking and pastry. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Employers could have a larger, trained and qualified pool 
from which to select employees. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#051 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―Mental Health Professional Counselor 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.414) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
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Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §414. 
Mental Health Professional Counselor. The proposed policy 
revision provides for an Ancillary Mental Health 
Professional Counselor certificate which will allow Licensed 
Psychologists, Licensed Professional Counselors, Licensed 
Social Workers, and Licensed Marriage and Family 
Therapists to serve as Mental Health Professional 
Counselors in schools. Individuals have been serving in 
Louisiana schools as mental health counselors with no 
certification in that area. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
§414. Mental Health Professional Counselor 

A. Provisional Mental Health Professional Counselor 
Certificate―valid for two years. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold current Louisiana licensure as a Licensed 

Professional Counselor in Louisiana (LPC), in accordance 
with R.S. 37:1101 et seq.; or 

b. hold a current Louisiana licensure as a Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapist (MFT) in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101 et seq.; or 

c. hold a current Louisiana licensure as a Licensed 
Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), in accordance with R.S. 
37:2701 et seq.; or 

d. hold a current Louisiana certification as a 
Certified School Psychologist, in accordance with R.S. 
17:7.1(D); or current Louisiana licensure as a Psychologist, 
in accordance with R.S. 37:2351 et seq.; and 

e. have two years of mental health counseling 
experience or providing school psychological services or 
school social work services within the last five years 
working directly with children, as verified by a previous or 
current employer; and 

f. have a written request from the Louisiana 
employing school system indicating that the person will be 
employed once the certification is granted. 

B. Qualified Mental Health Professional Counselor  
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. hold current Louisiana licensure as a Licensed 
Professional Counselor in Louisiana (LPC), in accordance 
with R.S. 37:1101et seq.; or 

b. hold a current Louisiana licensure as a Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1101 et seq.; or  

c. hold a current Louisiana licensure as a Licensed 
Clinical Social Worker (LCSW), in accordance with R.S. 
37:2701 et seq.; or 

d. hold a current Louisiana certification as a 
Certified School Psychologist, in accordance with R.S. 
17:7.1(D); or current Louisiana licensure as a Psychologist, 
in accordance with R.S. 37:2351 et seq.; and 

e. have two years of experience as a provisional 
mental health professional counselor and the written request 
of the employing school district. 

2. Renewal Guidelines  
a. This certificate is valid provided the holder 

maintains current Louisiana licensure as a LPC, LMFT, 
LCSW, or Psychologist, or holds a current Louisiana 
certification as a Certified School Psychologist. A worker 
who changes employing school systems must provide a copy 
of his/her current Louisiana license or certificate to serve as 
a mental health professional counselor. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to:  Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel―Mental Health 

Professional Counselor 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revision provides for an Ancillary 
Mental Health Professional Counselor certificate which will 
allow Licensed Psychologists, Licensed Professional 
Counselors, Licensed Social Workers, and Licensed Marriage 
and Family Therapists to serve as Mental Health Professional 
Counselors in schools. The adoption of this policy will cost the 
Department of Education approximately $700 (printing and 
postage) to disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 
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This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#053 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification  
of School Personnel―Middle School Specialty Area 

Endorsements (LAC 28:CXXXI.609) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §609. 
Requirements to add Middle School (Grades 4-8) Specialty 
Area Endorsement for English, Mathematics, Science, or 
Social Studies. The proposed policy revision will allow 
candidates the option of completing six semester hours in 
reading or passing the Praxis Teaching Reading exam 
(#0204) to add-on middle grades: 4-8 subject areas to an 
existing early childhood, upper elementary/middle school, or 
special education teaching certificate. This revision in 
Bulletin 746 will allow more flexibility with the reading 
requirements for add-on certification purposes. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter A. Regular Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§609. Requirements to Add Middle School  

(Grades 4-8) Specialty Area Endorsement for 
English, Mathematics, Science, or Social Studies 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), special education certificate must achieve the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis middle school specialty 
area exam in the specific content area; or accumulate 30 
credit hours in the specialty content area; and 

2. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 5-9 exam; and 

3. six semester hours of reading or passing score for 
Praxis Teaching Reading exam (#0204). 

B. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate (e.g., 
6-12, 7-12, 9-12), or an All-Level K-12 certificate (art, 
dance, foreign language, health, physical education, health 
and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis middle school specialty 
area exam in the specific content area; or accumulate 30 
credit hours in the specialty content area; and 

2. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 5-9 exam; and 

3. six semester hours of reading.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel―Middle School 

Specialty Area Endorsements 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revision will allow candidates the 
option of completing six semester hours in reading or passing 
the Praxis Teaching Reading exam (#0204) to add-on middle 
grades: 4-8 subject areas to an existing early childhood, upper 
elementary/middle school or special education teaching 
certificate. The adoption of this policy will cost the Department 
of Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#056 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel—Out-of-State (OS) Certificate 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.309) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §309. 
Out-of-State (OS) Certificate. The proposed policy revision 
will reduce the number of years of out-of-state teaching 
experience from four to three years to qualify for PRAXIS 
exclusion. This revision will align certification policy with 
amendments made to R.S. 17:6 in Act 669 of the 2010 
Louisiana Legislative Session. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 3 Teaching Authorizations and Certifications 
Subchapter A. Standard Teaching Authorizations 
§309. Out-of-State (OS) Certificate 

A. - B.5.  ... 
C. Advancing from OS to Professional Level 1, 2, or 3 

Certificate  
1. Pass all parts of Praxis exam(s) required for 

Louisiana certification: 
a. present appropriate scores on the NTE core 

battery (common exams) or the corresponding Praxis exams 
(Pre-Professional Skills Tests in reading, writing, and 
mathematics); the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
(PLT) or other pedagogy exam required for the area(s) of 
certification; and the specialty area exam in the certification 
area in which the teacher preparation program was 
completed or in which the initial certificate was issued; 

b. if applicant has obtained National Board 
Certification (NBC) in corresponding areas for which 
certification is being sought as well as certification/licensure 
in the state of origin, the examination required for NBC will 
be accepted to fulfill the testing requirements for 
certification; 

c. a candidate who is certified in another state can 
qualify for exclusion from the Praxis exam(s) required for 
Louisiana certification under these criteria:  
 i. he/she meets all requirements for Louisiana 
certification except the Praxis exam requirements; has at 
least three years of successful teaching experience in another 
state, as determined by the board; and teaches on an OS 

certificate for one year in a Louisiana approved public or an 
approved private school system; 
 ii. the teacher's Louisiana employing authority 
verifies that he/she has completed one year of successful 
teaching experience in a Louisiana approved public or an 
approved private school and that he/she has been 
recommended for further employment; and 
 iii. the employing authority requests that he/she be 
granted a valid Louisiana teaching certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1799 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:433 (March 2007), LR 34:1611 (August 2008), LR 
35:222 (February 2009), LR 35:894 (May 2009), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to: Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel—Out-of-State 

(OS) Certificate 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revision will reduce the number of 
years of out-of-state teaching experience from four to three 
years to qualify for PRAXIS exclusion. This revision will align 
certification policy with amendments made to R.S.17:6 in Act 
669 of the 2010 Louisiana Legislative Session. The adoption of 
this policy will cost the Department of Education 
approximately $700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the 
policy. 
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II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#049 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―Out-of-State Principal Level 2 (OSP2) 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.723) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §723. 
Out-of-State Principal Level 2 (OSP2). The proposed policy 
revision will allow an applicant to request PRAXIS 
exclusion for issuance of an Out-of-State Principal (OSP2) 
Level 2 certificate after serving one year as an assistant 
principal or principal in a Louisiana public school system on 
an Out-of-State Principal (OSP1) Level 1 certificate. This 
revision is required to align policy with amendments made 
to R.S.17:7.1(3) in Act 326 of the 2010 Louisiana 
Legislative Session. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 7. Administrative and Supervisory 
Credentials 

Subchapter B. Out-of-State Administrative Certification 
Structure 

§723. Out-of-State Principal Level 2 (OSP2)  
A. This certificate is valid for five years and is renewable 

every five years, based upon successful completion and 
verification of required continuing learning units.  

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. a valid OSP1 certificate; 
b. completion of Louisiana PRAXIS requirements 

(School Leaders Licensure Assessment (1010) Prior to 
12/31/09 or School Leaders Licensure Assessment (1011) 
Effective 1/1/10 OR qualify for PRAXIS/NTE exclusion [as 
set forth in R.S. 17:7.1.(A)(7)] by fulfilling the following: 
 i. minimum of four years of successful 
experience as a principal in another state, as verified by the 
previous out-of-state school district(s);  
 ii. completes one year of employment as an 
assistant principal or principal in a Louisiana public school 
system while holding the three-year OSP 1 certificate; and 

 iii. the local superintendent (or designee) of the 
employing Louisiana public school system has 
recommended him/her for continued administrative 
employment in the following school year. 

c. completion of the Educational Leader Induction 
Program under the administration of the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

2. Renewal Requirements. To maintain a valid OSP2 
certificate, the holder is required to complete 150 continuing 
learning units of professional development consistent with 
the Individual Professional Growth Plan (IPGP) over a five 
year time period, beginning with issuance date of the OSP2 
certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10, and R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1825 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:2325 (November 2009), amended LR 36: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel―Out-of-State 

Principal Level 2 (OSP2) 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revision will allow an applicant to 
request PRAXIS exclusion for issuance of an Out-of-State 
Principal (OSP2) Level 2 certificate after serving one year as 
an assistant principal or principal in a Louisiana public school 
system on an Out-of-State Principal (OSP1) Level 1 certificate. 
This revision is required to align policy with amendments made 
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to R.S.17:7.1(3) in Act 326 of the 2010 Louisiana Legislative 
Session. The adoption of this policy will cost the Department of 
Education approximately $700 (printing and postage) to 
disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#057 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―Requirements to Add Early Childhood 

(Grades PK-3)(LAC 28:CXXXI.605) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §605. 
Requirements to add Early Childhood (Grades PK-3). This 
revision in policy specifies that to add Early Childhood PK-3 
to an existing teaching certificate, PRAXIS examination 
#0521 must be completed. This revision is a correction of 
current Bulletin 746 policy. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter A. Regular Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§605. Requirements to add Early Childhood (Grades 

PK-3) 
A. Individuals holding a valid elementary certificate 

(e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-6, or 1-8) must achieve one of the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching Early Childhood (#0521); or 

2. 12 semester hours of combined Nursery School and 
Kindergarten coursework. 

B. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or 
middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary 
school certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), special education 
certificate (other than early interventionist), or an All-Level 
K-12 certificate (art, dance, foreign language, health, 
physical education, health and physical education, music) 
must achieve the following: 

1. passing score for Praxis Elementary Education: 
Content Knowledge exam (#0014); 

2. passing score for Praxis Principles of Learning and 
Teaching Early Childhood (#0521) OR accumulate 12 credit 
hours of combined nursery school and kindergarten 
coursework; 

3. nine semester hours of reading coursework. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1815 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments via the 
U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to: Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 

State Certification of School Personnel―Requirements to 
Add Early Childhood (Grades PK-3) 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This revision in policy specifies that to add Early 

Childhood PK-3 to an existing teaching certificate, PRAXIS 
examination #0521 must be completed.  This revision is a 
correction of current Bulletin 746 policy. The adoption of this 
policy will cost the Department of Education approximately 
$700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 
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IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―School Nurse 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.411) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746—Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §411. 
School Nurse. The proposed policy revision will align 
Bulletin 746 requirements with State Board of Nursing 
requirements by allowing the renewal of ancillary Type B 
and Type A School Nurse certificates upon completion of 
150 contact hours or 15 (CEUs) of professional 
development. The Type B certificate will no longer require 
the additional six semester hours of coursework for renewal 
and the designation that a Type A School Nurse certificate is 
valid for life of continuous service will be replaced with 
valid for five years. This revision in Bulletin 746 aligns 
BESE policy with state guidelines for the renewal of a 
Register Nurse license. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
§411. School Nurse 

A. Type C School Nurse―valid for three years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. minimum of two years experience as a registered 
nurse. 

2. Renewal Guidelines. May be renewed once for a 
three year period, upon presentation of a copy of current 
Louisiana licensure as a registered professional nurse and 
upon request of Louisiana employing authority.  

B. Type B School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; and 

b. three years of experience as a Type C School 
Nurse. 

2. Renewal guidelines:  
a. completion of Continuing Professional 

Development/Education Units (CEUs) (150 contact hours or 
15 CEUs) in a variety of activities designed to maintain and 
expand a school nurse’s skills and to ensure the provision of 
quality services. These CEUs must be earned at the rate of a 
minimum of 30 contact hours per year and may be 

completed through the American Nurses Credentialing 
Center (ANCC), the State Board of Nursing or district 
approved professional development; and 

b. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse. 

C. Type A School Nurse—valid for five years. 
1. Eligibility requirements: 

a. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse; 

b. baccalaureate degree in nursing or a health-
related field from a regionally accredited college or 
university; and 

c. five years experience as a certified Type B school 
nurse. 

2. Renewal guidelines: 
a. completion of Continuing Professional 

Development/Education Units (CEUs) (150 contact hours or 
15 CEUs) in a variety of activities designed to maintain and 
expand a school nurse’s skills, and to ensure the provision of 
quality services. These CEUs must be earned at the rate of a 
minimum of 30 contact hours per year and may be 
completed through the American Nurses Credentialing 
Center (ANCC), the State Board of Nursing or district 
approved professional development; and 

b. current Louisiana licensure as a registered 
professional nurse. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1808 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:1998 (September 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to:  Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel—School Nurse 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy revision will align Bulletin 746 

requirements with State Board of Nursing requirements by 
allowing the renewal of ancillary Type B and Type A School 
Nurse certificates upon completion of 150 contact hours or 15 
(CEUs) of professional development. The Type B certificate 
will no longer require the additional six semester hours of 
coursework for renewal and the designation that a Type A 
School Nurse certificate is valid for life of continuous service 
will be replaced with valid for five years. The adoption of this 
policy will cost the Department of Education approximately 
$700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#052 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel―School Therapists 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.421) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746―Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §421. 
Overview. This revision in policy will allow for the two new 
certification areas of Certified Licensed Occupational 
Therapist Assistant (COTA) and Physical Therapist Assistant 
(PTA) to establish compliance with R.S. 37:3001-3014 as 
administered by the Board of Medical Examiners and R.S. 
37:2401-2424 as administered by the Louisiana State Board 
of Physical Therapy Examiners. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 4. Ancillary School Service Certificates 
Subchapter B. School Therapists 
§421. Overview 

A. – C.2. ... 
D. Occupational Therapy 

1. Certified Licensed Occupational Therapist Assistant 
(COTA)―valid for five years; renewable. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A valid COTA license to 
practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as administered by the Board of 
Medical Examiners; 

b. a COTA must work under the supervision of a 
Licensed Occupational Therapist; 

c. Renewal Guidelines. Applicant must present 
copy of his/her current licensure, and request by the 
Louisiana employing authority. 

2. Occupational Therapist Provisional Certification—
valid for two years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A temporary license to 
practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as administered by the Louisiana 
State Board of Medical Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelinesnonrenewable. 
3. Occupational Therapist Full Certificate—valid for 

five years; renewable. 
a. Eligibility Requirements. A valid license to 

practice occupational therapy in Louisiana in compliance 
with R.S. 37:3001-3014, as administered by the Board of 
Medical Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelines. Applicant must present 
copy of current licensure, and request by the Louisiana 
employing authority. 

E. Physical Therapy 
1. Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA)―valid for five 

years. 
a. Eligibility Requirements. A valid PTA license to 

assist in the practice of physical therapy in compliance with 
R.S. 37:2401-2424, as administered by the Louisiana State 
Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. 

b. A PTA must work under the supervision of a 
licensed physical therapist. 

c. Renewal Guidelines. Applicant must present a 
copy of his/her current licensure, and request of the 
Louisiana employing authority. 

2. Physical Therapist Provisional Certification—valid 
for two years. 

a. Eligibility Requirements. A temporary license to 
practice physical therapy in compliance with R.S. 37:2401-
2424, as administered by the Louisiana State Board of 
Physical Therapy Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelinesnonrenewable. 
3. Physical Therapist Full Certificate―valid for five 

years. 
a. Eligibility Requirements: a valid Louisiana 

license to practice physical therapy in compliance with R.S. 
37:2401-2424, as administered by the Louisiana State Board 
of Physical Therapy Examiners. 

b. Renewal Guidelines: Applicant must present a 
copy of his/her current licensure, and request of the 
Louisiana employing authority. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1811 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:433 (March 2008), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
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repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to  Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 

Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards  
for State Certification of School  
Personnel―School Therapists 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This revision in policy will allow for the two new 
certification areas of Certified Licensed Occupational Therapist 
Assistant (COTA) and Physical Therapist Assistant (PTA) to 
establish compliance with R.S. 37:3001-3014 as administered 
by the Board of Medical Examiners and R.S. 37:2401-2424 as 
administered by the Louisiana State Board of Physical Therapy 
Examiners. The adoption of this policy will cost the 
Department of Education approximately $700 (printing and 
postage) to disseminate the policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#054 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP Handbook for Students with 
Exceptionalities 

(LAC 28:XCVII.105, 113, 117, and 505) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 1530Louisiana’s IEP 
Handbook for Students with Exceptionalities: §105. 
Timelines, §113. IEP Timelines, §117. Placement/Least 
Restrictive Educational Environments, §505. Alternate 
Assessment Participation Criteria. Revisions to §105 and 
§113 eliminate ambiguity and provide clarity pertaining to 
timelines and IEP amendments. Revisions to §117 reflect the 
new federal reporting guidelines for the preschool 
Placement/Least Restrictive Educational Environments. The 
revisions in §505 reflect the requirement to include End of 
Course (EOC) in the LAA 2 participation criteria. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XCVII.  Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP Handbook 
for Students with Exceptionalities 

Chapter 1. Individualized Education Program (IEP) 
§105. Timelines 

B. Students who have been receiving special education 
in one LEA in Louisiana who transfer to another LEA within 
Louisiana shall be enrolled in the appropriate special 
education program in the receiving LEA with the current IEP 
or the development of a review IEP within five (5) school 
days of the transfer.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 35:2331 (November 2009), amended 
LR 37: 
§113. IEP Amendments 

A. In making changes to a student’s IEP after the annual 
IEP Team meeting for a school year, the parent of a student 
with a exceptionality and the public agency may agree not to 
a convene an IEP Team meeting for the purposes of making 
those changes, and instead may amend or modify the 
student’s current IEP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 35:2331 (November 2009), amended 
LR 37: 
§117. Placement/Least Restrictive Educational 

Environments  
B. For Students with Exceptionalities: Ages 3-5. In 

determining the appropriate setting for a preschool-aged 
student, each setting noted shall be considered; but the list 
should not be considered a continuum of least restrictive 
environment. The settings for preschool-aged students, three 
through five years, are defined as follows:  
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1. for students with disabilities: ages 3-5: 
a. attending a regular early childhood program at 

least 10 hours per week; 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 

(a). regular early childhood programs include, 
but are not limited to Head Start, kindergarten, private 
kindergarten or preschools, preschool classes offered to an 
eligible pre-kindergarten population by the LEA (e.g., LA 4, 
Title I); and group child development center or child care; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location; 

b. attending a regular early childhood program less 
than 10 hours per week; 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location; 

c. in early childhood special education - separate 
class; 
 i. attends a special education program in a class 
that includes less than 50 percent nondisabled children. 
Special education programs include, but are not limited to 
special education and related services provided in special 
education classrooms in regular school buildings; trailers or 
portables outside regular school buildings; child care 
facilities; hospital facilities on an outpatient basis; and other 
community-based settings; 

d. in early childhood special education - separate 
school; 
 i. receives special education in a public or private 
day school designed specially for children with disabilities; 

e. in early childhood special education - residential 
facility; 
 i. receives special education in a public or 
privately operated residential school or residential medical 
facility on an inpatient basis; 

f. receiving special education and related services 
at home; 
 i. when the child does not attend a regular early 
childhood program or special education program, but the 
child receives some or all of his/her special education and 
related services in the home. Children who receive special 
education both in a service provider location and at home 
should be reported in the home category; 

g. receiving special education and related services 
at service provider location; 
 i. when the child receives all of their special 
education and related services from a service provider and 
does not attend an early childhood program or a special 
education program provided in a separate class, separate 
school, or residential facilities. For example, speech therapy 
is provided in private clinicians’ offices; clinicians’ offices 
located in school buildings; hospital facilities on an 
outpatient basis, and libraries and other public locations; 

2. for students who are gifted and/or talented ages 3-5; 
a. attending a regular early childhood program at 

least 10 hours per week; 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 

(a). regular early childhood programs include, 
but are not limited to Head Start, kindergarten, private 
kindergarten or preschools, preschool classes offered to an 
eligible pre-kindergarten population by the LEA(e.g., LA 4, 
Title I); and group child development center or child care; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location; 

b. attending a regular early childhood program less 
than 10 hours per week; 
 i. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in the regular early childhood program; 
 ii. receives the majority of special education and 
related services in some other location; 

c. in early childhood special education - separate 
class; 
 i. attends a special education program in a class 
that includes less than 50% nondisabled children. Special 
education programs include, but are not limited to special 
education and related services provided in special education 
classrooms in regular school buildings; trailers or portables 
outside regular school buildings, and child care facilities; 

d. in early childhood special education - residential 
facility; 
 i. attends a public or privately operated 
residential school or residential medical facility on an 
inpatient basis. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:2331 (November 
2009), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Participation in Statewide Assessments 
§505. Alternate Assessment Participation Criteria  

B. LEAP Alternate Assessment, Level 2 (LAA 2) 
1. The student scored at the Unsatisfactory level in 

English language arts and/or mathematics on the previous 
year’s LEAP/iLEAP/GEE or scored Needs Improvement on 
the English II or English III and/or Algebra 1 or Geometry 
EOC or participated in the LAA 1 or LAA 2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:1941 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 35:2331 (November 2009), amended 
LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment. All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 
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5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP 
Handbook for Students with Exceptionalities 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The policy changes are to eliminate ambiguity and provide 

clarity, to reflect the revised federal reporting guidelines by the 
Office of Management and Budget for the preschool settings 
for student with disabilities, and for the inclusion of the End of 
Course achievement level scores in the LAA2 participation 
criteria.  

There will be a cost of $328 to publish the rule change in 
The Register. There will be no implementation costs to local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local government. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition or employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#058 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

State Superintendent (LAC 28:I.309) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education approved for advertisement revisions to the 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, §309. State 
Superintendent. Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, 
Part I, Section 309.B contains the qualifications for the state 
superintendent of education. Act 323 of the 2010 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana State Legislature revised the 
qualifications required for the position of state 
superintendent of education. As a result of Act 323, the 
Louisiana Administrative Code is being changed to reflect 
the statutory changes. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part I.  Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
Chapter 3. Composition and General Authority 
§309. State Superintendent 

A. - A.4. ... 
B. Qualifications. The state superintendent shall possess 

the following qualifications. 
1. General: 

a. advanced degree in public administration, 
education, or related area; 

b. background in the formulation and 
implementation of public policy; 

c. strong academic background; and 
d. qualifications as are adopted by rule by the board 

for the position of superintendent of a city, parish, or other 
local public school board, except that any such qualification 
may be waived by a favorable vote of at least two-thirds of 
the authorized board membership. 

2. Experience: 
a. proven record of success in administration; 
b. demonstrated ability to achieve positive results; 
c. credibility in his/her current profession; and 
d. proven record of team building. 

3. Professional skills: 
a. proven decision-making skills; 
b. proven leadership skills; 
c. ability to work effectively with the legislature 

and executive branches of the government, education, 
business, and civic organizations; and 

d. outstanding interpersonal and communication 
skills. 

C. - E.9. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:21(C), R.S. 17:23(B), R.S. 17:6(B), R.S. 17:21(B), R.S. 
17:21(D), R.S. 17:21(A), R.S. 17:1990, R.S. 17:1951, R.S. 
17:24(A), R.S. 17:24(B), R.S. 17:24(C), R.S. 17:24(D), R.S. 
17:22(2)(f), R.S. 36:645, R.S. 17:22(6), R.S. 17:88(B), R.S. 
17:88(D), R.S. 17:92, R.S. 17:10.6(A)(2) and R.S. 17:3983. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 34:410 (March 2008), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the state board office which has adopted, 
amended, or repealed a rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records. 

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 
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6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., January 9, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  State Superintendent 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Louisiana Administrative Code, Title 28, Part I, Section 

309.B. contains the qualifications for the state superintendent 
of education. Act 323 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana State Legislature revised the qualifications required 
for the position of state superintendent of education. As a result 
of Act 323, the Louisiana Administrative Code is being 
changed to reflect the statutory changes. 

This action will have no fiscal effect other than an 
estimated cost of $165.00 for advertising in the Louisiana 
Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This action will have no effect on revenue collections of 
state and local government units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This action will have no effect on cost and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or nongovernmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This action will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Jeanette Vosburg H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant Programs―Go Grant Summer Billing 
(LAC 28:IV.1205) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) announces its intention to amend its 
Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 3041.10-
3041.15, R.S. 17:3042.1, R.S. 17:3048.1, R.S. 17:3048.5 and 
R.S. 17:3048.6). 

This rulemaking will add language to the GO Grant 
Program eligibility requirements regarding qualified summer 
sessions that is consistent with the GO Grant Program billing 

requirements for qualified summer sessions. To be eligible 
and for an institution to bill, the student who enrolls in a 
qualified summer session must be enrolled through the last 
day to drop and receive a full refund for the summer session. 

The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 
formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on 
small businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 
(SG11124NI) 

The text of this Notice of Intent can be viewed in its 
entirety in the Emergency Rule section of this issue of the 
Louisiana Register. 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in LSA-R.S. 
49:972. The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on 
small businesses as described in LSA-R.S. 49:965.2 et seq. 
(SG11124NI) 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed changes (SG11124NI) until 4:30 p.m., December 
10, 2010, to Melanie Amrhein, Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9202. 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant  

Programs―Summer Billing 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule amendment is simply a technical change 
to clarify the Go Grant eligibility rules to make it consistent 
with the Go Grant qualified summer session billing rules and it 
does not change current eligibility or payment policies. There is 
no fiscal impact associated with this change. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 
be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rulemaking will not change the Go Grant 
Program in a way that would have an impact on a student’s 
financial aid package for postsecondary education.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This change will have no impact on competition or 
employment.  

 
George Badge Eldredge Robert E. Hosse 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1011#014 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Criteria Pollutant Emissions Inventory 
(LAC 33:III.111, 311, 501, 605, 918, 919, 1513,  

2115, 2139, 2141, 2153, and 5107)(AQ300) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.111, 311, 
501, 605, 918, 919, 1513, 2115, 2139, 2141, 2153, and 5107 
(AQ300). 

Applicable facilities within Louisiana are required to 
submit annual point source emission inventories of criteria 
pollutants based upon attainment/nonattainment area 
designations of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards 
(NAAQS). In 2006, the department launched a new 
emissions inventory reporting system, the Emissions 
Reporting and Inventory Center (ERIC). This revision will 
allow better compatibility between ERIC and the 
regulations. It will allow flexibility in updating the required 
elements for reporting in ERIC, as well as make the 
regulations easier to interpret, enforce, govern, and permit. 
In addition to the greater compatibility between the 
regulations and ERIC, additional applicability requirements 
are included to require facilities in a nonattainment area, or 
an area adjoining a nonattainment area, with a Standard Oil 
and Gas Air (SOGA) permit to report emissions in the 
emissions inventory. The Rule also includes additional 
requirements for facilities in an ozone nonattainment area. 
The basis and rationale for this Rule are to comply with the 
Federal Clean Air Act, as well as the Consolidate Emissions 
Reporting Rule (40 CFR 51, Subpart A). This Rule meets an 
exception listed in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 
49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report regarding 
environmental/health benefits and social/economic costs is 
required.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§111. Definitions 

A. When used in these rules and regulations, the 
following words and phrases shall have the meanings 
ascribed to them below, unless specifically defined 
elsewhere. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:348 (June 1988), LR 15:1061 (December 1989), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:777 (August 1991), LR 21:1081 (October 1995), 
LR 22:1212 (December 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2444 (November 2000), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 32:808 (May 2006), LR 32:1599 
(September 2006), LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 34:70 (January 

2008), LR 35:1101 (June 2009), LR 36:1773 (August 2010), LR 
37: 
Chapter 3. Regulatory Permits 
§311. Regulatory Permit for Emergency Engines 

A. - J. … 
K. Emissions Inventory. Each facility subject to LAC 

33:III.919 shall include emissions from all emergency 
engines, including temporary units, authorized by this 
regulatory permit in its annual emissions inventory. 

L. - M. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 35:459 (March 2009), LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - B.8. … 
C. Scope 

1. - 10. … 
11. Emissions shall be calculated in accordance with 

LAC 33:III.919.G. 
12. Emissions estimation methods set forth in EPA’s 

Compilation of Air Pollution Emission Factors (AP-42) and 
other department-accepted estimation methods may be 
promulgated or revised. As a result of new or revised AP-42 
emission factors for sources or source categories and/or 
department-accepted estimation methods, changes in 
calculated emissions may occur. Changes in reported 
emission levels as required by LAC 33:III.919.F due solely 
to revised AP-42 emission factors or department-accepted 
estimation methods do not constitute violations of the air 
permit; however, the department may evaluate changes in 
emissions on a case-by-case basis, including but not limited 
to, assessing compliance with other applicable Louisiana air 
quality regulations. 

13. If the emission factors or estimation methods for 
any source or source category used in preparing the annual 
emissions inventory required by LAC 33:III.919 differ from 
the emission factors or estimation methods used in the 
current air permit such that resulting "calculated" emissions 
reflect a significant change, notification of the use of 
updated emission factors or estimation methods shall be 
included in the Title V Annual Certification, as specified in 
the affected permit. The notification shall include the old and 
new emission factor or estimation method reference source 
and the date, volume, and edition (if applicable); the raw 
data for the reporting year used for that source category 
calculation; and applicable emission point and permit 
numbers that are impacted by such change. The notification 
shall include any other explanation, as well as the facility's 
intended time frame to reconcile the emission limits in the 
applicable permit. The department reserves the right to 
reopen a permit pursuant to LAC 33:III.529. For purposes of 
this Paragraph, a significant change is any of the following: 

a. a 5 percent increase or decrease in the total 
potential or actual emissions from the facility; 

b. a 50 ton per year increase or decrease in the total 
potential or actual emissions from the facility; or 

c. a 10 ton per year increase or decrease in the 
potential or actual emissions from any single emission point 
(stack, vent, or fugitive). 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2011 and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 
19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1281 (November 1994), LR 
20:1375 (December 1994), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1063 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), LR 
32:1842 (October 2006), LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2626 
(December 2007), LR 35:461 (March 2009), LR 35:2351 
(November 2009), LR 37: 
Chapter 6. Regulations on Control of Emissions 

through the Use of Emission Reduction 
Credits Banking 

§605. Definitions 
A. The terms used in this Chapter are defined in LAC 

33:III.111 with the exception of those terms specifically 
defined as follows. 

* * * 
Current Total Point-Source Emissions Inventory—the 

aggregate point-source emissions inventory for either NOx or 
VOC from the nine modeled parishes compiled from the 
emissions inventory records and updated annually in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.919 plus any banked ERC and 
pending ERC applications originally included in the base 
case inventory that have not expired. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 20:874 (August 1994), LR 
25:1622 (September 1999), LR 26:2448 (November 2000), LR 
28:301 (February 2002), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:2068 (October 2007), LR 34:1890 
(September 2008), LR 37: 
Chapter 9. General Regulations on Control of Emissions 

and Emission Standards 
§918. Nonattainment Areas and Adjoining Parishes 

List 
A. For the purposes of the emissions inventory 

requirements set forth in LAC 33:III.919, the parishes 
located in the nonattainment areas as of July 1, 2010, as well 
as the parishes that adjoin the nonattainment areas, are listed 
in Tables 1-6 in Subsection B of this Section. Any parish 
designated as a nonattainment area after July 1, 2010, or 
adjoining a nonattainment area designated after July 1, 2010, 
may not be listed in Tables 1-6 in Subsection B of this 
Section, but a facility located in that parish is nevertheless 
subject to the requirements of LAC 33:III.919.A.1.a. Any 
facility located in a parish listed as a nonattainment area in 
Tables 1-6 in Subsection B of this Section and is designated 
as an attainment area after July 1, 2010, or adjoins a 
nonattainment area designated as an attainment area after 
July 1, 2010, shall continue to be subject to the requirements 
of LAC 33:III.919.A.1.a until otherwise directed by the 
department. 

B. The following tables list all of the parishes located in 
the nonattainment areas as of July 1, 2010, as well as those 
parishes that adjoin the nonattainment areas. 

 
Table 1 

Carbon Monoxide (CO) Nonattainment Areas and Adjoining Parishes 
Parish Code Nonattainment Parish(es) 
   None 
Parish Code Adjoining Parishes to Nonattainment Areas 
   None 

 
Table 2 

Lead (Pb) Nonattainment Areas and Adjoining Parishes 
Parish Code Nonattainment Parish(es) 

 None 
Parish Code Adjoining Parishes to Nonattainment Areas 

 None 

 
Table 3 

Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) Nonattainment Areas and Adjoining Parishes 
Parish Code Nonattainment Parish(es) 

 None 
Parish Code Adjoining Parishes to Nonattainment Areas 

 None 

 
Table 4 

Ozone Nonattainment Areas and Adjoining Parishes 
Parish Code Nonattainment Parish(es) 

0180 Ascension 
0840 East Baton Rouge 
1280 Iberville 
1740 Livingston 
3120 West Baton Rouge 

Parish Code Adjoining Parishes to Nonattainment Areas 
0200 Assumption 
0880 East Feliciana 
1260 Iberia 
2260 Pointe Coupee 
2540 Saint Helena 
2560 Saint James 
2580 Saint John the Baptist 
2620 Saint Martin 
2840 Tangipahoa 
3160 West Feliciana 

 
Table 5 

Particulate Matter (PM10 or PM2.5) Nonattainment Areas and 
Adjoining Parishes 
Parish Code Nonattainment Parish(es) 
 None 

Parish Code Adjoining Parishes to Nonattainment 
Areas 

 None 

 
Table 6 

Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Nonattainment Areas and Adjoining Parishes 
Parish Code Nonattainment Parish(es) 
 None 

Parish Code Adjoining Parishes to Nonattainment 
Areas 

 None 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 22:339 (May 1996), amended by the Office of 
Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 
26:2450 (November 2000), LR 29:2776 (December 2003), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 
31:2438 (October 2005), LR 33:2083 (October 2007), LR 37: 
§919. Emissions Inventory 

A. Applicability 
1. The provisions of this Section apply to the owner or 

operator of any facility located in Louisiana that meets any 
of the following criteria at any time during a reporting year: 

a. the facility is located in a nonattainment area or 
an adjoining parish as listed in LAC 33:III.918.B, Tables 1-
6, and the facility emits, has the potential to emit as defined 
in LAC 33:III.502.A, or is permitted to emit a pollutant that 
meets or exceeds any threshold value listed in Tables 1-6 of 
Paragraph A.2 of this Section; 

b. the facility is located in an attainment parish and 
the facility emits, has the potential to emit as defined in LAC 
33:III.502.A, or is permitted to emit a pollutant that meets or 
exceeds any threshold value listed in Table 7 in Paragraph 
A.2 of this Section; 

c. the facility is defined as a major stationary source 
of hazardous air pollutants in Section 112(a)(1) of the 
federal Clean Air Act (CAA), or a major source of toxic air 
pollutants as defined in LAC 33:III.5103; 

d. the facility has a 40 CFR Part 70 (Title V) 
operating permit regardless of emissions; 

e. the facility is located in a nonattainment area or 
an adjoining parish, and has been issued a standard oil and 
gas air permit in accordance with LAC 33:III.501 regardless 
of emissions; 

f. the facility is located in a nonattainment area or 
an adjoining parish, and has been issued a minor source air 
general permit for crude oil and natural gas production in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.519, regardless of emissions; 

g. the facility has a portable source permit in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.513, operates at any time during 
a reporting year in a nonattainment area or an adjoining 
parish, and meets the applicability criteria of Subparagraph 
A.1.a of this Section; or 

h. the facility is required by rule or permit to submit 
an emissions inventory. 

2. The following tables list emissions threshold values 
that require the submission of an emissions inventory. 

 
Table 1 

Carbon Monoxide (CO) Nonattainment Area and Adjoining Parishes: 
Emissions Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Ammonia (NH3) 10 10 
CO 10 50 
Lead (Pb) 5 5 
NOX 100 100 
PM10 or PM2.5 100 100 
SO2 100 100 
VOC 100 100 

 

Table 2 
Lead (Pb) Nonattainment Area and Adjoining Parishes: Emissions 

Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Ammonia (NH3) 10 10 
CO 100 100 
Lead (Pb) 5 5 
NOX 100 100 
PM10 or PM2.5 100 100 
SO2 100 100 
VOC 100 100 

 
Table 3 

Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2) Nonattainment Area and Adjoining Parishes: 
Emissions Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Ammonia (NH3) 10 10 
CO 100 100 
Lead (Pb) 5 5 
NOX 10 50 
PM10 or PM2.5 100 100 
SO2 100 100 
VOC 100 100 
 

Table 4 
Ozone Nonattainment Area and Adjoining Parishes: Emissions 

Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Ammonia (NH3) 10 10 
CO 100 100 
Lead (Pb) 5 5 
NOX 25 100 
PM10 or PM2.5 100 100 
SO2 100 100 
VOC 10 50 

 
Table 5 

Particulate Matter (PM10 or PM2.5) Nonattainment Area and 
Adjoining Parishes: Emissions Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Ammonia (NH3) 10 10 
CO 100 100 
Lead (Pb) 5 5 
NOX 10 50 
PM10 or PM2.5 10 50 
SO2 10 50 
VOC 10 50 
 

Table 6 
Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Nonattainment Area and Adjoining Parishes: 

Emissions Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Ammonia (NH3) 10 10 
CO 100 100 
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Table 6 
Sulfur Dioxide (SO2) Nonattainment Area and Adjoining Parishes: 

Emissions Threshold Values 

Pollutant 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Adjoining Parishes to 
Nonattainment Area 

Threshold Value 
(tons/year) 

Lead (Pb) 5 5 
NOX 100 100 
PM10 or PM2.5 100 100 
SO2 10 50 
VOC 100 100 
 

Table 7 
Attainment Areas: Emissions Threshold Values 

Pollutant Threshold Value (tons/year) 
Ammonia (NH3) 10 
CO 100 
Lead (Pb) 5 
NOX 100 
PM10 or PM2.5 100 
SO2 100 
VOC 100 

 
3. The requirements of this Section do not apply to 

mobile sources or nonpoint sources as defined in Subsection 
E of this Section. 

B. The applicability of this Section for contiguous 
agency interests (AIs), as defined in Subsection E of this 
Section, shall be determined by a threshold value that is the 
greater of: 

1. the sum of the actual emissions; 
2. the sum of the potentials to emit; or 
3. the sum of permitted emissions for all contiguous 

AIs. However, the emissions inventory shall be reported 
separately for each AI. 

C. The owner or operator of any facility meeting the 
applicability criteria in Subparagraph A.1.a of this Section 
and located in any parish listed as a nonattainment area in 
LAC 33:III.918.B, Tables 1-6, but designated as an 
attainment area after July 1, 2010, or adjoins a 
nonattainment area designated as an attainment area after 
July 1, 2010, shall continue to be subject to Subparagraph 
A.1.a of this Section until otherwise directed by the 
department. 

D. Once a facility meets the applicability criteria of 
Subparagraph A.1.a, b, c, d, e, f, g, or h of this Section, the 
owner or operator of the facility shall continue to submit an 
emissions inventory until otherwise directed by the 
department. 

1. If a facility no longer meets any applicability 
criteria under Paragraph A.1 of this Section for one full 
calendar year, the owner or operator may request approval 
from the department in writing to discontinue submission of 
an emissions inventory. All such requests shall be submitted 
to the Office of Environmental Services. 

a. An owner or operator who has submitted a 
request for approval to discontinue submission of an 
emissions inventory shall continue to submit an emissions 
inventory unless the owner or operator has received a 
response of approval from the department. 

b. A request for departmental approval to 
discontinue submission of an emissions inventory will be 
considered if one or more of the following conditions have 
been met for one full calendar year: 

 i. the facility’s permit has been rescinded and the 
most current emissions inventory shows the emissions to be 
below the applicable reporting thresholds in Paragraph A.2 
of this Section; 
 ii. the facility has been permitted to emit 
pollutants below the reporting thresholds in Paragraph A.2 of 
this Section and the current emissions inventory is below the 
reporting thresholds; 
 iii. the facility’s potential to emit has been below 
the applicable reporting thresholds in Paragraph A.2 of this 
Section and the current emissions inventory is below the 
reporting thresholds; 
 iv. the facility has not been a major stationary 
source of hazardous air pollutants in accordance with section 
112(a)(1) of the federal Clean Air Act (CAA) or a major 
source of toxic air pollutants in accordance with LAC 
33:III.Chapter 51; 
 v. the facility does not have a 40 CFR Part 70 
(Title V) operating permit; 
 vi. the facility is located in a nonattainment area or 
an adjoining parish and does not have a standard oil and gas 
air permit in accordance with LAC 33:III.501; 
 vii. the facility is located in a nonattainment area or 
an adjoining parish and does not have a minor source air 
general permit for crude oil and natural gas production in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.519; 
 viii. the owner or operator of the facility is not 
required by rule or permit to submit an emissions inventory; 
or 
 ix. the facility operates in a nonattainment area or 
an adjoining parish and does not have a portable source 
permit as required by LAC 33:III.513. 

2. No facility classes or categories are exempted from 
emissions inventory reporting. 

E. Definitions. For the purposes of this Section, the 
terms below will have the meaning given herein. 

Actual Emissions—a calculation, measurement, or 
estimate, in accordance with Subsection G of this Section, of 
the amount of a pollutant actually emitted during a calendar 
year or other period of time. 

Agency Interest (AI)—any entity that is being regulated 
or is of interest to the department. Conceptually, an agency 
interest can be a site, facility, mobile source, area source, a 
person, or an organization. 

Attainment Area—an area of the state that is not listed 
as a nonattainment area by the U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency. 

Certified—the status of an emissions inventory once the 
department has received both the emissions inventory and 
the certification statement required by this Section. 

Contiguous Facilities—facilities under common control 
separated by 0.25 miles or less. 

Control Efficiency—the percentage by which a control 
system or technique reduces the emissions from a source. 

Control System—a combination of one or more capture 
system(s) and control device(s) working in concert to reduce 
discharges of pollutants to the ambient air. 

Emissions Factor—the ratio relating emissions of a 
specific pollutant to an activity or material throughput level. 

Facility—all emissions sources from stationary point 
sources, as defined in LAC 33:III.605, under common 
control on contiguous property. 
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NOTE: A facility can be one or more AIs, and each AI must 
comply individually with Subsection C of this Section. 

Flash Gas Emissions—emissions from depressurization 
of crude oil or condensate when it is transferred from a 
higher pressure to a lower pressure tank, reservoir, or other 
type of container. 

Fugitive Emissions—emissions that do not reasonably 
pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other functionally 
equivalent opening. 

Mobile Source—a motor vehicle, nonroad engine, or 
nonroad vehicle where: 

a. a motor vehicle is any self-propelled vehicle used 
to carry people or property on a street or highway; 

b. a nonroad engine is an internal combustion 
engine (including the fuel system) that is not used in a motor 
vehicle or a vehicle used solely for competition, and that is 
not affected by sections 111 or 202 of the CAA; and 

c. a nonroad vehicle is a vehicle that is run by a 
nonroad engine and is not a motor vehicle or a vehicle used 
solely for competition. 

National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS)—a 
standard established in accordance with section 109 of the 
CAA, including but not limited to, standards for carbon 
monoxide (CO), lead (Pb), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), ozone, 
particulate matter (PM2.5 and PM10), and sulfur dioxide 
(SO2). 

Nonattainment Area—an area (parish or group of 
parishes) that has been declared by the administrative 
authority to be not in compliance with a federal national 
ambient air quality standard and that is listed in the Federal 
Register as a nonattainment area. 

Nonpoint Sources (previously known as area sources)—
collectively represent individual sources that have not been 
inventoried as specific point or mobile sources. These 
individual sources treated collectively as nonpoint sources 
are typically too small, numerous, or difficult to inventory 
using the methods for the other classes of sources. 

Ozone Season—except as provided in LAC 33:III.2202, 
the period from May 1 to September 30, inclusively, of each 
year. 

Process—an operation or function by a source that 
produces emissions, characterized by a Source Classification 
Code (SCC). 

Release Point—the point where emissions from one or 
more processes are released into the atmosphere. 

Reporting Period—the time frame during the reporting 
year for which emissions are being reported. 

Reporting Year—the year for which an emissions 
inventory is being submitted. 

Routine Operations—operations, not including any 
start-up/shutdown emissions, that are authorized and/or 
permitted by the department. 

Source—the point at which the emissions are generated, 
typically a piece of, or a closely related set of, equipment. 

F. Requirements 
1. Data for emissions inventory and the certification 

statements shall be collected annually. The owner or 
operator of each facility that meets the applicability criteria 
of Paragraph A.1 of this Section shall submit both an 
emissions inventory and a certification statement required by 
Subparagraph F.1.c of this Section, separately for each AI, 
for all air pollutants for which a NAAQS has been issued 

and for all NAAQS precursor pollutants in a format 
specified by the department. 

a. Both the emissions inventory and the certification 
statement required by Subparagraph F.1.c of this Section 
shall include actual emissions in tons per year of ammonia 
(NH3), carbon monoxide (CO), lead (Pb), nitrogen oxides 
(NOX), particulate matter of less than 10 microns (PM10), 
particulate matter of less than 2.5 microns (PM2.5), sulfur 
dioxide (SO2), and volatile organic compounds (VOC). 
 i. In addition to the requirements of Subsection C 
of this Section, the owner or operator of any facility located 
in the parish of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, 
Livingston, St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, or 
West Baton Rouge is required to include actual emissions in 
tons per year of ethylene and propylene in both the 
emissions inventory and the certification statement required 
by Subparagraph F.1.c of this Section. 
 ii. Supporting Information. In order to meet 
federal emissions inventory requirements and regulations, 
support modeling analyses, permit projection of future 
control strategies, allow the measurement of progress in 
reducing emissions, facilitate preparation of state 
implementation plans, provide data for setting baselines for 
future planning, and for answering public requests for 
information, the emissions inventory shall include the 
required information listed in the following table. The 
emissions inventory shall also include all data required by 
the reporting system and applicable to the facility. The 
information provided does not constitute permit limits. 
Submittal of a report of excess emissions above allowable 
limits under this regulation does not pre-empt the need for 
compliance with provisions of LAC 33:III.Chapter 5 that 
require a permit request to initiate or increase emissions; nor 
does it qualify as a notice of excess emissions. 
 

Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

I. Inventory Information — Information describing the inventory being 
submitted. 
Reporting Year The calendar year for which 

emissions estimates are calculated 
Required 

Reporting Period 
Start Date 

The first day of the reporting period Required 

Reporting Period 
End Date 

The last day of the reporting period Required 

II. Facility Information — Information describing the facility (AI) for 
which the inventory is being submitted. A facility corresponds to one AI 
Number. 
Facility ID (AI 
Number) 

Unique ID assigned by the 
department to each facility 

Required 

Facility Name Facility name of the AI Required 

Owner Name of person(s) or entity(ies) 
that own(s) the facility 

Required 

Owner Address Mailing address of owner(s) of the 
facility 

Required 

Owner City City of mailing address of owner(s) 
of the facility 

Required 

Owner State State of mailing address of the 
owner(s) of the facility 

Required 

Owner Zip Zip code of mailing address of the 
owner(s) of the facility 

Required 

Owner Phone Phone number of the owner(s) of 
the facility 

Required 

Operator Name of person(s) or entity(ies) 
that operate(s) the facility, if 
different from owner 

Optional 
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Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

Facility 
Description 

Description of business conducted 
at facility 

Required 

Facility Status Operating status of the facility 
during the reporting period 

Required 

Address Address of facility’s physical 
location 

Required 

City City of facility’s physical location Required 

Parish Parish of facility’s physical 
location 

Required 

State State of facility’s physical location Required 

Zip Code Zip code of facility’s physical 
location 

Required 

Longitude 
(decimal degrees) 

Longitude of facility front gate Optional 

Latitude (decimal 
degrees) 

Latitude of facility front gate Optional 

UTM Easting 
(meters) 

UTM easting of facility front gate 
(Universal Transverse Mercator 
easting is the distance east from 60 
central meridians of 6-degree-wide 
zones starting at longitude 180 
degrees) 

Required 

UTM Northing 
(meters) 

UTM northing of facility front gate 
(Universal Transverse Mercator 
northing is the distance north from 
the equator) 

Required 

UTM Zone Universal Transverse Mercator 
zone of facility front gate [15 or 
16] 

Required 

Datum Code that represents the reference 
datum used to determine the 
location coordinates 

Required 

Primary SIC Code Standard Industrial Classification 
(SIC) code for the entire facility 

Required 

Primary NAICS 
Code 

North American Industrial 
Classification System (NAICS) 
code for the entire facility 

Required 

ORIS Code Four digit number assigned by the 
Energy Information Agency (EIA) 
at the U.S. Department of Energy 
to power plants owned by utilities 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

Comments Miscellaneous information Optional 

III. Contact Information — Information describing the contact person(s) 
for each facility (AI). 
Contact Type Emissions inventory (EI) facility 

contact person, EI consultant, EI 
billing party, or other 

Required 
— Both EI 
billing 
party and 
EI facility 
contact are 
required. 

Name First and last name of contact 
person 

Required 

Title Contact person's title Required 

Company Name of company that employs the 
contact person, if any 

Required 

Address Contact person's mailing address Required 

City Contact person's city Required 

State  Contact person's state Required 

Zip Code Contact person's zip code Required 

Email  Email address of contact person Required 

Phone  Phone number of contact person Required 

IV. Source Information — Information describing the point at which the 
emissions are generated; typically a piece of, or a closely related set of, 
equipment. 
Source ID Unique identification assigned to 

the source by the facility and 
reported consistently over time 

Required 

Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

NEDS ID The National Emissions Data 
System (NEDS) point identification 
for the source from the 
department’s legacy Emissions 
Inventory System 

Optional 

Subject Item ID Subject item identification assigned 
by the department to the source, if 
available 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

Source Description Description of source Required 

Source Type The type of equipment or unit that 
generates the emissions. Examples 
include heaters, boilers, flares, 
storage tanks, cooling towers, 
fugitive emissions, and spills. 

Required 

Permit Number The number under which the 
source is permitted by the 
department. 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

EIQ Number Emission Inventory Questionnaire 
(EIQ) number from the permit 
application 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

Status Operating status of the source 
during the reporting period (active, 
idle, permitted but not built, 
shutdown) 

Required 

Permanent 
Shutdown Date 

Date source was permanently taken 
out of service/no longer operating 

Optional 

SIC Code Standard Industrial Classification 
(SIC) code for the source 

Required 

NAICS Code North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) 
code for the source 

Optional 

Comments Miscellaneous information Optional 

Maximum Design 
Rate (MM 
BTU/hour) 

Maximum design heat input Required 
for 
combustion 
sources 
only 

Firing Type Describes the burner type for 
boilers: front, opposed, tangential, 
internal, or other 

Optional 

Serial Number Serial number of equipment, if 
available 

Optional 

Construction Date Date source was constructed, not 
put into operation 

Optional 

Initial Start-up 
Date 

Date source actually started 
operating 

Optional 

Maximum 
Nameplate 
Capacity 
(megawatts) 

For electrical generators powered 
by combustion unit(s), the 
maximum electrical generating 
output in megawatts (MW) that the 
generator is capable of producing 
on a steady-state basis and during 
continuous operation 

Optional 

Engine Rating 
(horsepower) 

Power rating in horsepower (HP) 
for engines 

Optional 

V. Process Information — Information describing the operation or 
function by a source that produces emissions, characterized by a Source 
Classification Code (SCC). 
Process ID Unique identification for the 

process assigned by the facility and 
reported consistently over time 

Required 

Source ID Facility-assigned source 
identification that applies to this 
process record 

Required 

Process 
Description 

Description of the emission process Required 

Confidentiality Flag indicating whether or not a 
declaration of confidentiality has 
been requested and granted by the 
secretary per LAC 33:I.Chapter 5, 
covering the process information 

Required 
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Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

SCC Source Classification Code (SCC) 
— a ten-digit EPA-developed code 
used to associate air pollution 
estimates with unique, identifiable 
industrial processes 

Required 

Material Name Name of primary material used or 
produced by this process (the 
material on which the emissions 
calculations are based) 

Required 

Average Annual 
Throughput 

Average annual throughput of 
material for the process 

Required 

Annual 
Throughput Units 

Unit of measure for average annual 
throughput 

Required 

Average Ozone 
Season 
Throughput 

Average daily throughput of 
material for the process during the 
ozone season 

Required 
for 
facilities in 
ozone 
nonattainm
ent areas 

Ozone Season 
Throughput Units 

Unit of measure for average ozone 
season throughput 

Required 
for 
facilities in 
ozone 
nonattainm
ent areas 

Annual Average 
Ash Content 

For solid fuels, the concentration of 
ash produced by the fuel, expressed 
as a percentage of total fuel weight 
averaged over the reporting period 
for the process 

Required 

Ozone Season 
Average Ash 
Content 

For solid fuels, the concentration of 
ash produced by the fuel, expressed 
as a percentage of total fuel weight 
averaged over the emissions 
inventory ozone season for the 
process 

Optional 

Annual Average 
Sulfur Content 

The concentration of sulfur in the 
fuel, expressed as a percentage of 
fuel weight averaged over the 
reporting period for the process 

Required 

Ozone Season 
Average Sulfur 
Content 

The concentration of sulfur in the 
fuel, expressed as a percentage of 
fuel weight averaged over the 
emissions inventory ozone season 
for the process 

Optional 

Annual Average 
Heat Content 

Total annual heat input for 
combustion units 

Required 

Annual Average 
Heat Content Units 

Unit of measure for annual average 
heat content 

Required 

Ozone Season 
Average Heat 
Content 

Ozone season total heat input for 
combustion units 

Required 
for 
facilities in 
ozone 
nonattainm
ent areas 

Ozone Season 
Average Heat 
Content Units 

Unit of measure for ozone season 
average heat content 

Required 

Spring Throughput Seasonal operating percentage—the 
percentage of total annual 
throughput that occurs during the 
spring season, March through May 

Required 

Summer 
Throughput 

Seasonal operating percentage—the 
percentage of total annual 
throughput that occurs during the 
summer season, June through 
August 

Required 

Fall Throughput Seasonal operating percentage—the 
percentage of total annual 
throughput that occurs during the 
fall season, September through 
November 

Required 

Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

Winter Throughput Seasonal operating percentage—the 
percentage of total annual 
throughput that occurs during the 
winter season, January, February, 
and December of the same calendar 
year 

Required 

Average Hours per 
Day 

The actual number of hours per day 
for which the process is in 
operation 

Required 

Average Days per 
Week 

The actual number of days per 
week for which the process is in 
operation 

Required 

Total Weeks The actual number of weeks per 
year for which the process is in 
operation 

Required 

VI. Emission Factor — Information describing a ratio relating emissions 
of a specific pollutant to an activity or material throughput level. The 
emissions factor describes the calculation for a pollutant emitted by a 
specific process. The emissions calculation is of the form E = A * EF, 
where E is the emissions, A is the material or activity rate, and EF is the 
emission factor. The emission factor is required when using an emissions 
factor to calculate emissions. 
Process ID Facility-assigned process 

identification to which the emission 
factor applies 

Required 

Pollutant Pollutant for which the emission 
factor applies 

Required 

Emission Factor Emission factor numeric value for 
the specified pollutant 

Required 

Emissions Units The numerator unit for the 
emission factor (i.e., the unit of the 
emissions calculated by the factor). 

Required 

Material or 
Activity  

Material name for emission factor Required 

Material or 
Activity Rate 

The denominator unit for the 
emission factor (i.e., the unit for the 
material throughput). 

Required 

Emission Factor 
Source 

Source of the emission factor (stack 
test, AP-42, etc.) 

Required 

VII. Control System Information — Information describing the system 
where control measures are applied at or to a source or process to reduce 
the amount of a pollutant released into the environment. The information 
describes the control equipment chain (series of one or more control 
devices) that is used to control or abate emissions from a source. The 
control system information is required when control efficiency is used to 
calculate emissions. 
Control System ID Unique identification assigned to 

the control system by the facility 
and reported consistently over time 

Required 

Subject Item ID Subject item identification assigned 
by the department to the control 
equipment, if available 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

Control System 
Description 

Description of the control 
equipment chain 

Required 

Primary Device 
Type 

Type of primary control device 
(e.g., flare, scrubber, condenser, 
and vapor recovery unit) 

Required 

Secondary Device 
Type 

Secondary control device in series, 
not intended for backup or alternate 
control devices. Required if the 
control system has more than one 
control device in series. 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

VIII. Control Efficiency — Information describing the percentage by 
which a control system or technique reduces the emissions from a source. 
The control efficiency is required when control efficiency is used to 
calculate emissions. 
Control System ID Unique identification assigned to 

the control system by the facility 
and reported consistently over time 

Required 

Pollutant Pollutant for which the control 
efficiency applies 

Required 

Primary Device Emission reduction efficiency of Optional 
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Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

Efficiency the primary control device 
(percent) 

Secondary Device 
Efficiency 

Emission reduction efficiency of 
the secondary control device 
(percent) 

Optional 

Total Efficiency Net emission reduction efficiency 
of all emissions collection devices 
(percent) 

Required 

IX. Release Point Information — Information describing the point where 
emissions from one or more processes are released into the atmosphere. 
Release Point ID Unique identification assigned to 

the release point by the facility and 
reported consistently over time 

Required 

Subject Item ID Subject item identification assigned 
by the department to the release 
point, if available 

Required, 
where 
applicable 

Release Point 
Description 

Description of emissions release 
point 

Required 

Release Point Type Release point type (e.g., vertical 
stack, horizontal stack, gooseneck 
stack, and area) 

Required 

Height (feet) Physical height of release point 
above the surrounding terrain 

Required 

Diameter (feet) Diameter of the release point Required 

Width (feet) Width of area for area release point 
types. This is the shorter dimension 
of the rectangular area over which 
the emissions occur. 

Required 
for fugitive 
and area 
release 
point types 

Length (feet) Length of area for area release 
point types. This is the longer 
dimension of the rectangular area 
over which the emissions occur. 

Required 
for fugitive 
and area 
release 
point types 

Orientation 
(degrees) 

Orientation (bearing) of long axis 
of area release point types for 
fugitive or area sources, measured 
in degrees of clockwise rotation 
from true north. For stack or vent 
release point types, the orientation 
of the release point from vertical 

Required 

Flow Rate 
(feet^3/second) 

Exit gas flow rate (actual cubic feet 
per second) 

Required 

Velocity 
(feet/second) 

Exit gas velocity Required 

Temperature 
(degrees 
Fahrenheit) 

Exit gas temperature at release 
point (if unknown, ambient 
temperature of 78 degrees 
Fahrenheit) 

Required 

Moisture Content 
(%) 

Moisture content of exit gas stream, 
designated as a percentage 

Optional 

Longitude 
(decimal degrees) 

Longitude of release point Optional 

Latitude (decimal 
degrees) 

Latitude of release point Optional 

UTM Easting 
(meters) 

Universal Transverse Mercator 
easting of release point 

Required 

UTM Northing 
(meters) 

Universal Transverse Mercator 
northing of release point 

Required 

UTM Zone Universal Transverse Mercator 
zone of release point [15 or 16] 

Required 

Datum Code that represents the reference 
datum used to determine the 
location coordinates 

Required 

Accuracy (meters) Measure of accuracy of the release 
point coordinates (if using GPS 
reading, accuracy of GPS device) 

Required 

Horizontal 
Collection Method 

Method used to measure or 
estimate the release point 
coordinates (e.g., USGS quad, 
satellite photo, GPS, address 

Required 

Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

geocoding, or other) 

X. Portable Source Location — Information describing the specific 
location or locations at which a portable source released emissions over 
the reporting period. This is applicable to facilities operated and permitted 
under LAC 33:III.513. 
Location ID Unique identification assigned by 

facility to the location and reported 
consistently over time, if any 

Required 

Release Point ID Facility-assigned release point 
identification for which this is a 
supplemental location, if any 

Required 

Start Date Date the release point was moved 
to this location 

Required 

End Date Date the release point was moved 
from this location 

Required 

Parish Parish containing this location Required 

Longitude 
(decimal degrees) 

Longitude of release point at this 
location 

Optional 

Latitude (decimal 
degrees) 

Latitude of release point at this 
location 

Optional 

UTM Easting 
(meters) 

Universal Transverse Mercator 
easting of release point at this 
location 

Required 

UTM Northing 
(meters) 

Universal Transverse Mercator 
northing of release point at this 
location 

Required 

UTM Zone Universal Transverse Mercator 
zone of release point [15 or 16] at 
this location 

Required 

Datum Code that represents the reference 
datum used to determine the 
location coordinates 

Required 

Accuracy (meters) Measure of accuracy of the 
location's release point coordinates 
(if using GPS reading, accuracy of 
GPS device) 

Required 

Horizontal 
Collection Method 

Method used to measure or 
estimate the location's release point 
coordinates (e.g., USGS quad, 
satellite photo, GPS, address 
geocoding, or other) 

Required 

XI. Emissions Record — Information describing the emissions for a 
specified combination of process (source and operating mode), control 
equipment, and release point. 
Source ID Facility-assigned source 

identification for this emission 
record 

Required 

Process ID Facility-assigned process 
identification for this emission 
record 

Required 

Control System ID Facility-assigned control system 
identification for this emission 
record 

Optional 

Release Point ID Facility-assigned release point 
identification for this emission 
record 

Required 

Location ID Facility-assigned location 
identification if this is a portable 
source operating at a location other 
than the location on the release 
point record 

Optional 

Emission Type Routine, start-up/shutdown, 
upset/malfunction/other, variance  
[NOTE: Separate emission records 
must be submitted showing the 
total and ozone season emissions 
for each applicable category.] 

Required 

Pollutant Pollutant emitted Required 

Total Emissions Total emissions of specified 
pollutant for the reporting period 

Required 
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Supporting Information for Emissions Inventory 

Data Element Description Status 

Emissions Units Unit of measure for total emissions 
(tons or pounds) 

Required 

Estimation Method The method used to calculate or 
estimate emissions (AP-42, mass 
balance, etc.) 

Required 

Ozone Season 
Emissions 
(pound/day) 

Ozone season average daily 
emissions of specified pollutant 

Required 
for 
facilities in 
ozone 
nonattainm
ent areas 

Ozone Season 
Estimation Method 

A code indicating the method used 
to calculate or estimate emissions 
(AP-42, mass balance, etc.) 

Required 
for 
facilities in 
ozone 
nonattainm
ent areas 

Number of Start-
ups 

Number of start-up events for 
which this record applies (only for 
emissions records of permitted 
start-ups/shutdowns)  

Optional 

Number of 
Shutdowns 

Number of shutdown events for 
which this record applies (only for 
emissions records of permitted 
start-ups/shutdowns) 

Optional 

 
 iii. Ozone Nonattainment Area Requirement. In 
addition to the requirements of Subsection C of this Section, 
the owner or operator of any facility located in an ozone 
nonattainment area that meets the applicability criteria of 
Subparagraph A.1.a of this Section shall submit an emissions 
inventory that includes: 

(a). ozone season average daily emissions (in 
pounds/day) of CO, NOX, VOC, ethylene, and propylene; 

(b). average ozone season throughput; 
(c). ozone season average heat content (in 

MMBtu/ozone season); and 
(d). ozone season estimation method for 

emissions of CO, NOX, VOC, ethylene, and propylene. 
b. Actual emissions shall be reported for all sources 

of emissions at a facility, including but not limited to, 
emissions from routine operations, General Condition XVII 
emissions (as described in LAC 33:III.537), fugitive 
emissions, flash gas emissions, emissions from insignificant 
sources (as described in LAC 33:III.501.B.5, Insignificant 
Activities List, A—Based on Size or Emission Rate, and 
D—Exemptions Based on Emissions Levels), emissions 
occurring during maintenance, start-ups, shutdowns, upsets, 
and downtime, and emissions in excess of permit emission 
limitations regardless of the amount. 

c. Certification Statement. A certification statement, 
required by Section 182(a)(3)(B) of the federal Clean Air 
Act, shall be signed by a responsible official, as defined in 
LAC 33:III.502.A, for the facility or facilities and shall be 
submitted for each emissions inventory to attest that the 
information contained in the inventory is true and accurate to 
the best knowledge of the certifying official. The 
certification statement shall include the full name, title, 
signature, date of signature, and telephone number of the 
certifying official. 

d. Both the emissions inventory and the certification 
statement required by Subparagraph F.1.c of this Section 
shall be submitted to the Office of Environmental Services 
by April 30 of each year (for the reporting period of the 

previous calendar year that coincides with period of 
ownership or operatorship) unless otherwise directed by the 
department. Any subsequent revisions shall be accompanied 
by a certification statement. 
 i. The owner or operator of any facility located in 
a parish designated as a nonattainment area or within a 
nonattainment area after July 1, 2010, and that meets the 
applicability criteria in Subparagraph A.1.a of this Section, 
shall submit both an emissions inventory and the 
certification statement required by Subparagraph F.1.c of 
this Section to the Office of Environmental Services by April 
30 of the year following the first full calendar year of the 
nonattainment designation, unless otherwise directed by the 
department. 
 ii. The owner or operator of any facility located in 
a parish that adjoins a parish designated as a nonattainment 
area or within a nonattainment area after July 1, 2010, and 
that meets the applicability criteria in Subparagraph A.1.a of 
this Section, shall submit both an emissions inventory and 
the certification statement required by Subparagraph F.1.c of 
this Section to the Office of Environmental Services by April 
30 of the year following the first full calendar year of the 
nonattainment designation, unless otherwise directed by the 
department. 
 iii. The owner or operator of any facility that has a 
portable source permit in accordance with LAC 33:III.513 
and meets the applicability criteria in Paragraph A.1 of this 
Section shall submit both an emissions inventory and the 
certification statement required by Subparagraph F.1.c of 
this Section for the entire period of ownership or 
operatorship during the reporting year. 

2. The reporting period of both the emissions 
inventory and the certification statement required by 
Subparagraph F.1.c of this Section, shall coincide with the 
period of ownership or operatorship during the reporting 
year. When there is a change of ownership of any facility to 
which this Section applies, submitted in accordance with 
LAC 33:III.517.G, at any time during a reporting year, each 
owner shall submit both an emissions inventory and 
certification statement required by Subparagraph F.1.c of 
this Section, with a start and/or end date that coincides with 
the date of transfer of ownership or operatorship. 

3. Special Inventories. Upon request by the 
administrative authority, the owner or operator of any 
facility subject to LAC Title 33 shall file additional 
emissions data with the department. The request shall 
specify a reasonable time for response that shall not be less 
than 60 days from receipt of the request. 

4. The department will post a notice on the 
department’s website (www.deq.louisiana.gov) advising of 
any planned changes in required data elements or reporting 
format, so that entities subject to reporting requirements 
under this Section will be able to make the necessary 
adjustments. 

G. Calculations. Actual measurement with continuous 
emissions monitoring systems (CEMS) or approved stack 
testing shall be used for reporting of emissions from an 
emissions point when such data exists. In the absence of 
CEMS or stack test data, emissions shall be calculated using 
methods found in the most recent edition, as of December 31 
of the current reporting year, of EPA’s Compilation of Air 
Pollution Emission Factors (AP-42), calculations published 
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in engineering journals, and/or EPA or department-approved 
estimation methodologies.  

H. Enforcement. The department reserves the right to 
initiate formal enforcement actions, under R.S. 30:2025, for 
failure to submit emissions inventories as required in this 
Section. 

I. Fees. The annual emissions inventory will be used to 
assess the criteria pollutant annual fee in accordance with 
LAC 33:III.223. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:184 (February 1993), 
repromulgated LR 19:485 (April 1993), amended LR 19:1418 
(November 1993), LR 20:1101 (October 1994), LR 22:339 (May 
1996), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2450 (November 2000), 
LR 29:2776 (December 2003), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2438 (October 2005), LR 
32:241 (February 2006), LR 33:2084 (October 2007), LR 37: 
Chapter 15. Emission Standards for Sulfur Dioxide 
§1513. Recordkeeping and Reporting 

A. - D. … 
E. All compliance data shall be made available to a 

representative of the department or the U.S. EPA on request. 
When applicable, compliance data shall be reported to the 
department annually in accordance with LAC 33:III.919. In 
addition, quarterly reports of three-hour excess emissions 
and reports of emergency conditions in accordance with 
LAC 33:I.Chapter 39 shall be made. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 18:376 (April 1992), amended 
by the Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental 
Planning Division, LR 30:1671 (August 2004), amended by the 
Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 33:1013 (June 
2007), LR 37: 
Chapter 21. Control of Emission of Organic Compounds 
Subchapter A. General 
§2115. Waste Gas Disposal 

A. Any waste gas stream containing volatile organic 
compounds (VOC) from any emission source shall be 
controlled by one or more of the applicable methods set 
forth in Subsections B-H of this Section. This Section shall 
apply to all waste gas streams located at facilities that have 
the potential to emit 25 TPY or more of VOC in the parishes 
of Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, and 
West Baton Rouge; 50 TPY or more of VOC in the parishes 
of Calcasieu and Pointe Coupee; or 100 TPY or more of 
VOC in any other parish. This Section does not apply to 
waste gas streams that must comply with a control 
requirement, meet an exemption, or are below an 
applicability threshold specified in another section of this 
Chapter. This Section does not apply to waste gas streams 
that are required by another federal or state regulation to 
implement controls that reduce VOC to a more stringent 
standard than would be required by this Section. 

B. Control Requirements for Operations that 
Commenced Construction Prior to January 20, 1985. 
Nonhalogenated hydrocarbons shall be burned at 1300°F 

(704°C) for 0.3 second or greater in a direct-flame 
afterburner or an equally effective device which achieves a 
removal efficiency of 95 percent or greater, as determined in 
accordance with Paragraph K.1 of this Section, or if 
emissions are reduced to 50 ppm by volume, whichever is 
less stringent. 

C. Control Requirements for Operations that 
Commenced Construction On or After January 20, 1985. 
Nonhalogenated hydrocarbons shall be burned at 1600°F 
(870°C) for 0.5 second or greater in a direct-flame 
afterburner or thermal incinerator. Other devices will be 
accepted provided 98 percent or greater VOC destruction or 
removal efficiency can be demonstrated, as determined in 
accordance with Paragraph K.1 of this Section, or if 
emissions are reduced to 20 ppm by volume, whichever is 
less stringent. 

D. Control Requirements for Existing Polypropylene 
Plants Using Liquid Phase Processes. All waste gas streams 
containing VOCs at the following sources in existing 
polypropylene plants using liquid phase processes shall be 
controlled as specified in Subsection C of this Section: 

1. polymerization reaction section (i.e., reactor vents); 
2. material recovery section (i.e., decanter vents, 

neutralizer vents, by-product and diluent recovery operation 
vents); and 

3. product finishing section (i.e., dryer vents and 
extrusion and pelletizing vents). 

E. Control Requirements for Existing High-Density 
Polyethylene Plants Using Liquid Phase Slurry Processes. 
All waste gas streams containing VOCs at the following 
sources in existing high-density polyethylene plants using 
liquid phase slurry processes shall be controlled as specified 
in Subsection C of this Section: 

1. material recovery section (i.e., ethylene recycle 
treater vents); and 

2. product finishing section (i.e., dryer vents and 
continuous mixer vents). 

F. Control Requirements for Polystyrene Plants Using 
Continuous Processes. The emissions from the material 
recovery section (e.g., product devolatilizer system) shall be 
limited to 0.12 kg VOC/1,000 kg of product. 

G. Control Requirements for Halogenated Hydrocarbons. 
The halogenated hydrocarbons shall be combusted or 
controlled by other methods specified in Subsection H of 
this Section that achieve a removal efficiency of 95 percent 
or greater, as determined in accordance with Paragraph K.1 
of this Section. If combusted, the halogenated products of 
combustion shall be reduced to an emission level acceptable 
to the administrative authority. 

H. Alternative Control Requirements. Other methods of 
control (such as, but not limited to, carbon adsorption, 
refrigeration, catalytic and/or thermal reaction, secondary 
steam stripping, recycling, or vapor recovery system) may 
be substituted for burning provided the substitute is 
acceptable to the administrative authority and it achieves the 
same removal efficiency as required by this Section and 
determined in accordance with Paragraph K.1 of this Section 
or it achieves a degree of control not practically or safely 
achieved by other means. 

I. Exemptions 
1. All waste gas streams containing VOCs, except 

those subject to Subsections D, E, and F of this Section, are 
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exempt from the requirements of this Section if any of the 
following conditions are met: 

a. it can be demonstrated that the waste gas stream 
is not a part of a facility that emits, or has the potential to 
emit, 25 TPY or more of VOC in the parishes of Ascension, 
East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, and West Baton 
Rouge; 50 TPY or more of VOC in the parishes of Calcasieu 
and Pointe Coupee; or 100 TPY or more of VOC in any 
other parish; 

b. it is a waste gas stream from a low-density 
polyethylene plant and no more than 1.1 pounds of ethylene 
per 1,000 pounds (1.1 kg/1000 kg) of product are emitted 
from all the waste gas streams associated with the formation, 
handling, and storage of solidified product; 

c. it is a waste gas stream having a combined 
weight of VOCs equal to or less than 100 pounds (45.4 kg) 
in any continuous 24-hour period; or 

d. it is a waste gas stream with a concentration of 
VOCs less than 0.44 psia true partial pressure (30,000 ppm) 
except for the parishes of Ascension, Calcasieu, East Baton 
Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, Pointe Coupee, St. James, and 
West Baton Rouge in which the concentration of VOCs in 
the waste gas stream must be less than 0.044 psia true partial 
pressure (3,000 ppm). 

2. Except for waste gas streams subject to Subsections 
D, E, and F of this Section, the administrative authority may 
waive the requirements of this Section if one of the 
following conditions is met: 

a. it will not support combustion without 
economically impractical amounts of auxiliary fuel; or 

b. its disposal cannot be practically or safely 
accomplished by the means described herein or other 
equivalent means without causing undue economic hardship. 

3. Waste gas streams subject to Subsections D, E, and 
F of this Section are exempt from the requirements of this 
Section if it can be demonstrated that the waste gas stream 
has a concentration of VOCs no greater than 408 ppm by 
volume. 

J. Test Methods. Compliance with Subsections B-H of 
this Section shall be determined by applying the following 
test methods, as appropriate: 

1. Test Methods 1-4 (40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, as 
incorporated by reference at LAC 33:III.3003) for 
determining flow rates, as necessary; 

2. Test Method 18 (40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, as 
incorporated by reference at LAC 33:III.3003) for 
determining gaseous organic compounds emissions by gas 
chromatography; 

3. Test Method 25 (40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, as 
incorporated by reference at LAC 33:III.3003) for 
determining total gaseous nonmethane organic emissions as 
carbon; 

4. Test Method 25A or 25B (40 CFR Part 60, 
Appendix A, as incorporated by reference at LAC 
33:III.3003) for determining total gaseous organic 
concentration using flame ionization or nondispersive 
infrared analysis; and 

5. modified test methods approved or specified by the 
administrative authority. 

K. Compliance. All facilities affected by this Section 
shall be in compliance as soon as practicable but in no event 
later than August 20, 2003. A facility that has become 

subject to this regulation as a result of a revision of the 
regulation shall comply with the requirements of this Section 
as soon as practicable, but in no event later than one year 
from the promulgation of the regulation revision. 

1. Compliance with LAC 33:III.2115 shall be 
demonstrated at the owner/operator's expense as requested 
by the administrative authority. Such demonstration shall 
consist of control device destruction efficiency or recovery 
efficiency testing. Such compliance testing is in addition to 
the continuous monitoring required under Paragraph K.2 of 
this Section. 

2. The owner/operator of any facility subject to this 
Section shall install and maintain monitors to accurately 
measure and record operational parameters of all required 
control devices as necessary to ensure the proper functioning 
of those devices in accordance with the design 
specifications, including but not limited to: 

a. the exhaust gas temperature of direct flame 
incinerators and/or the gas temperature immediately 
upstream and downstream of any catalyst bed; 

b. the breakthrough of volatile organic compounds 
in a carbon adsorption unit; 

c. the total amount of volatile organic compounds 
recovered by carbon adsorption or other waste gas stream 
recovery systems during a calendar month; 

d. the dates for any maintenance of the required 
control devices and the estimated quantity and duration of 
volatile organic compound emissions during such activities; 
and 

e. any other parameters affecting or related to waste 
gas streams as considered necessary by the administrative 
authority. 

L. Recordkeeping. The owner or operator of any facility 
subject to this Section shall maintain the following 
information on the premises for at least two years and shall 
make such information available to representatives of the 
Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality and the 
Environmental Protection Agency upon request: 

1. a record for each vent of the results of any testing 
conducted at the facility in accordance with the provisions 
specified in Subsections J and K of this Section; 

2. the date for any maintenance and repair of required 
control devices and the estimated quantity and duration of 
volatile organic compound emissions during such activities; 

3. records for each vent required to satisfy the 
provisions of Paragraph K.2 of this Section to demonstrate 
the proper functioning of applicable control equipment to 
design specifications; and 

4. records to demonstrate that the criteria are being 
met for any exemption claimed. 

M. This Section does not apply to safety relief and vapor 
blowdown systems where control cannot be accomplished 
because of safety or economic considerations. However, the 
emissions from these systems shall be reported to the 
department as required under LAC 33:III.919. Emergency 
conditions shall be reported in accordance with LAC 
33:I.Chapter 39. 

N. Definitions. Unless specifically defined in LAC 
33:III.111, the terms in this Section shall have the meanings 
commonly used in the field of air pollution control. 
Additionally, the following meanings apply. 
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Safety Relief and Vapor Blowdown Systems—the 
emergency escape of gas from a process unit through a valve 
or other mechanical device, in order to eliminate system 
overpressure or in the case of an operational emergency. 

Waste Gas Stream—any gas stream, excluding fugitive 
emissions as defined in LAC 33:III.Chapter 5, containing 
VOC and discharged from a processing facility directly to 
the atmosphere or indirectly to the atmosphere after 
diversion through other process equipment. Process gaseous 
streams that are used as primary fuels are excluded. The 
streams that transfer such fuels to a plant fuel gas system are 
not considered to be waste gas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 16:960 (November 1990), LR 17:654 (July 1991), LR 
18:1122 (October 1992), LR 19:317 (March 1993), LR 22:1212 
(December 1996), LR 24:21 (January 1998), amended by the 
Office of Environmental Assessment, Environmental Planning 
Division, LR 28:1764 (August 2002), LR 30:745 (April 2004), LR 
30:1672 (August 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 37: 
Subchapter G. Petroleum Refinery Operations 
§2139. Refinery Vacuum Producing Systems 

A. Control of Steam Jet Ejectors and Mechanical Pumps. 
Emissions of volatile organic compounds from steam jet 
ejectors and mechanical pumps shall be controlled by one of 
the applicable methods specified in LAC 33:III.2115.B, C, 
and G. Compliance shall be determined and records shall be 
kept as specified in LAC 33:III.2115.J, K, and L. 

B. Emissions of volatile organic compounds from a hot-
well with a contact condenser shall be controlled by 
covering the hot-well and controlling the vapors by one of 
the applicable methods specified in LAC 33:III.2115.B, C, 
and G. Compliance shall be determined and records shall be 
kept as specified in LAC 33:III.2115.J, K, and L. 

C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:654 (July 1991), LR 24:917 (May 1998), amended 
by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 37: 
§2141. Refinery Process Unit Turnarounds 

A. Emissions of volatile organic compounds from 
petroleum refinery process unit turnarounds shall be 
controlled by pumping the liquid contents to storage and 
depressurizing the processing units to 5 psig (pounds per 
square inch gauge) or below before venting to the 
atmosphere. Control of the vapors during the 
depressurization prior to venting to atmosphere shall be 
accomplished by one of the applicable methods specified in 
LAC 33:III.2115.B, C, and G. Compliance shall be 
determined and records shall be kept as specified in LAC 
33:III.2115.J, K, and L. 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 

Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 17:654 (July 1991), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 37: 
Subchapter M. Limiting Volatile Organic Compound 

(VOC) Emissions from Industrial 
Wastewater 

§2153. Limiting VOC Emissions from Industrial 
Wastewater 

A. Definitions. Unless specifically defined in LAC 
33:III.111, the terms in this Chapter shall have the meanings 
normally used in the field of air pollution control. 
Additionally the following meanings apply, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

* * * 
Plant—all facilities located within a contiguous area, 

under common control, and identified by the Plant ID 
number as assigned by the department, within the parish in 
which the plant is primarily located, for inclusion in the 
emissions inventory. 

* * * 
B. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 21:936 (September 1995), 
amended LR 22:1212 (December 1996), LR 24:26 (January 1998), 
LR 25:850 (May 1999), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2453 
(November 2000), LR 28:1765 (August 2002), LR 30:747 (April 
2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs 
Division, LR 31:2441 (October 2005), LR 33:2087 (October 2007), 
LR 37: 
Chapter 51. Comprehensive Toxic Air Pollutant Emission 

Control Program 
Subchapter A. Applicability, Definitions, and General 

Provisions 
§5107. Reporting Requirements, Availability of 

Information, and Public Notice Provisions 
A. Annual Emissions Reporting. The owner or operator 

of any major source that meets the applicability 
requirements in LAC 33:III.5101.A and emits any toxic air 
pollutant listed in LAC 33:III.5112, Table 51.1 or 51.3, shall 
submit a completed annual emissions report to the Office of 
Environmental Services in a format specified by the 
department. The owner or operator shall identify on the 
emissions report the quantity of emissions in the previous 
calendar year for any such toxic air pollutant emitted. 
Beginning with the report due in 2011, the annual emissions 
report shall meet the following requirements. 

1. The owner or operator of any major source subject 
to the requirements in this Subsection shall submit a 
completed annual emissions report to the Office of 
Environmental Services on or before April 30 of each year, 
unless otherwise directed by the administrative authority, 
that shall identify the quantity of emissions of all toxic air 
pollutants listed in LAC 33:III.5112, Table 51.1 or 51.3, for 
the previous calendar year. 

A.2. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2060 and 2001 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 17:1204 (December 1991), 
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amended LR 18:1363 (December 1992), LR 19:890 (July 1993), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 19:1022 (August 
1993), repromulgated LR 19:1142 (September 1993), amended by 
the Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 23:58 (January 1997), LR 24:1276 (July 1998), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2004 (September 2000), 
LR 26:2460 (November 2000), LR 29:2778 (December 2003), LR 
30:1673 (August 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, 
Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2447 (October 2005), LR 33:2093 
(October 2007), LR 33:2622 (December 2007), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on December 29, 2010 at 
1:30 p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Donald Trahan at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by AQ300. Such 
comments must be received no later than January 5, 2011 at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Donald Trahan, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, 
Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 
219-4068 or by e-mail to donald.trahan@la.gov. Copies of 
these proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting 
the DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of AQ300. 
These proposed regulations are available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/ default.aspx. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Council 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Criteria Pollutant Emissions Inventory 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no significant implementation costs or 

savings to state or local governmental units as a result of the 
proposed rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 
or local governmental units resulting from the proposed rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no significant costs and/or economic benefits 
to directly affected persons or non-governmental groups as a 
result of the proposed rule. Affected facilities have been 
reporting emissions inventory data as described in the rule 
revision since 2007 which covers the calendar years 2006-
2009. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition or 
employment as a result of the proposed rule. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Counsel Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#013 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Residential Mortgage Lending Program 
(LAC 10:XII.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, and pursuant to his authority 
under R.S. 6:121, and R.S. 6:1085 and 6:1088.1 of the 
Louisiana SAFE Residential Mortgage Lending Act, R.S. 
6:1081 et seq., the Commissioner of the Office of Financial 
Institutions gives notice of his intent to repeal Louisiana 
Administrative Code, LAC 10:XII.101-113, regarding the 
minimum requirements for certified continuing education 
facilitators. This action is being effectuated because the 
statute pertaining to continuing education has been amended 
and now requires providers to obtain approval through the 
Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry. Thus 
the Rule is rendered obsolete and no longer necessary. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part XII.  Residential Mortgage Lending 

Chapter 1. Residential Mortgage Lending Program 
§101. Purpose 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:688 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§103. Procedures and Standards for Facilitator Course 

Certification 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
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27:688 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§105. Course Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:688 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§107. Training Facility Requirements for Live Class 

Settings 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§109. Procedures for Verifying Continuing Education 

Credits 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§111. Program Review-Disciplinary Action 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§113. Facilitators for Courses Conducted Out of State 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments should not have any known or 

foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 49:972 
or on family formation, stability and autonomy. Specifically 
there should be no known or foreseeable effect on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. family earnings and family budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; 
6. the ability of the family or a local government to 

perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit comments until 4:30 p.m., 
December 20, 2010, to Susan Rouprich, General Counsel, 
P.O. Box 94095, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9095 or by hand 

delivery to 8660 United Plaza Blvd, 2nd Floor, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Residential Mortgage Lending Program 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There is no estimated implementation costs associated with 

the proposed repeal of the existing rule. 
The S.A.F.E Act of 2008 passed by Congress established 

minimum standards for licensing residential mortgage loan 
originators including use of a nationwide licensing system and 
standardized continuing education requirements including 
system approval of education providers and courses. Act 522 of 
the 2009 legislative session became effective July 31, 2009 and 
made Louisiana’s requirements for licensed loan originators 
consistent with the minimal national standards including those 
pertaining to continuing education. As a result of this, 
continuing education providers and courses are now approved 
by the nationwide licensing system of which the OFI is a user. 
The repeal of the rule is warranted as approval of continuing 
education providers by OFI is no longer provided for by statute. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed repeal of the rule will have no effect on 
revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The repeal of the rule will not result in any costs to or 
economic benefits to any persons or non-governmental groups.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition or employment as a 
result of the repeal of the rule. 

 
Susan P. Jandle H. Gordon Monk 
Chief Examiner Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#038 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Used Motor Vehicle Commission 

Licensure and Established Place of Business 
(LAC 46:V.2905 and 2907) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 32:783(E), that the 
Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission proposes to 
amend LAC 46:V.2905 in order to better facilitate the 
requirements to become an Used Motor Vehicle Dealer. The 
Louisiana Used Motor Vehicle Commission also proposed to 
amend LAC 46:V.2907 by adding a paragraph in order to 
better facilitate an established place of business. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part V.  Automotive Industry 

Subpart 2.  Used Motor Vehicles 
Chapter 29. Licenses to be issued by the Used Motor 

Vehicle Commission  
§2905. Qualifications and Eligibility for Licensure 

A. The commission, in determining the qualifications 
and eligibility of an applicant for a dealer’s license, shall 
verify: 

1. the applicant has an established place of business 
properly zoned in the municipality, provide a suitable office, 
have a permanently affixed sign, clearly visible from the 
street or roadway at a minimum of 16 square feet and subject 
to local zoning laws, in front of the establishment which 
denotes that vehicles are offered for sale at the location to 
which the sign is affixed. Existing signs prior to adoption of 
this rule will not have to meet the new requirements. If two 
or more dealers share a location, each dealer must display 
his own sign. Applicant must have an installed telephone 
listed in the business name at the established place of 
business, the telephone number shall be listed on the 
application for license; 

2. the applicant has the required garage liability 
insurance policy on all vehicles offered for sale or used in 
any other capacity in demonstrating or utilizing the streets 
and roadways in accordance with the financial responsibility 
laws of the state and for those dealers who conduct the 
business of daily vehicle rentals, a separate renter’s policy is 
in effect; 

3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:791. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Commerce, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 
11:1062 (November 1985), amended by the Department of 
Economic Development, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts 
Commission LR 15:258 (April 1989), LR 15:375 (May 1989), LR 
24:1682 (September 1998), LR 25:245 (February 1999), amended 
by the Office of the Governor, Used Motor Vehicle Commission, 
LR 30:436 (March 2004), amended but the Office of the Governor, 
Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 30:2480 
(November 2004), LR 33:1635 (August 2007), amended by the 
Office of the Governor, Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 
§2907. Established Place of Business  

A. … 
B. A licensed dealer with an established place of 

business may conduct a public or retail auction for a 
specified period of time at a location other than the dealer’s 
established place of business. A licensed dealer which 
conducts a public or retail auction at a location other than the 
dealer’s established place of business must include the 
address and telephone number of dealer’s established place 
of business together with a telephone number to be used 
during the auction on all signs and bills of sale and shall 
obtain a public retail auction license for the auction location 
prior to advertising the auction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
32:791. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Commerce, Used Motor Vehicle and Parts Commission, LR 

11:1063 (November 1985), amended by the Office of the Governor, 
Recreational and Used Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 33:1635 
(August 2007), amended by the Office of the Governor, Used 
Motor Vehicle Commission, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
This proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49.972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to 

Kimberly Baron, Administrative Supervisor 2, Louisiana 
Used Motor Vehicle Commission, 3132 Valley Creek Drive, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70808. All comments must be submitted 
by 4:30 p.m., December 20, 2010. 

 
Derek Parnell 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licensure and Established  

Place of Business 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs or savings to state or local 
governmental units as a result of this rule change. The proposed 
rule makes technical changes in the qualifications and 
eligibility for licensure and the established place of business.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no cost and/or 
economic benefit to any person or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule changes will have no effect on 
competition and employment. 

 
Derek Parnell H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#126 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Dentistry 

Licenses; Authorized Duties; Nitrous Oxide Inhalation 
(LAC 46:XXXIII.419, 701 and 1509) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751, et seq., and particularly 
R.S. 37:760(8), notice is hereby given that the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry intends to 
amend LAC 46:XXXIII.419, 701, and 1509. No preamble 
has been prepared.  
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXIII.  Dental Health Profession 

Chapter 4. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter D. Fees for Dental Hygienists 
§419. Licenses, Permits and Examinations (Dental 

Hygienists) 
A. For processing applications for licensure, permits, and 

examinations, the following fees shall be payable in advance 
to the board: 

1. - 11. ... 
12. Examination and permitting of dental hygiene 

applicants for administration of nitrous oxide 
inhalation analgesia 

$50 

13. Renewal fee for dental hygienists administration 
of nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia 

$50 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8), R.S. 37:768, and R.S. 37:795. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November 1988), 
amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992), LR 
23:1527 (November 1997), LR 24:1115 (June 1998), LR 25:1478 
(August 1999), LR 26:691 (April 2000), LR 28:1778 (August 
2002), LR 32:243 (February 2006), LR 33:846 (May 2007); LR 
34:2564 (December 2008); LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Dental Hygienists 
§701. Authorized Duties 

A. - E. ... 
F. Under general supervision, a dental hygienist may 

provide to patients of record, for not more than five 
consecutive business days, all dental hygiene services 
(except local anesthesia and root planning which must be 
under direct supervision) if all of the following conditions 
are satisfied. 

1. The dental hygienist has at least one year of full 
time practice of dental hygiene. 

2.-7. ... 
8. Dental hygienists may perform light enhanced teeth 

whitening procedures such as Zoom® under general 
supervision. 

G. - G.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:791 (November 
1988), amended LR 15:965 (November 1989), LR 19:206 
(February 1993), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:1217 (December 
1996), LR 24:1116 (June 1998), LR 27:1892 (November 2001), LR 
32:2056 (November 2006); LR 37: 
Chapter 15. Conscious Sedation with Parenteral 

Drugs 
§1509. Minimal Educational Requirements for the 

Granting of Permits to Administer Nitrous 
Oxide Inhalation Analgesia, Conscious Sedation 
with Parenteral or Enteral Drugs and General 
Anesthesia/Deep Sedation 

A. Nitrous Oxide Inhalation Analgesia 
1. - 2. ... 
3. A dentist who has been trained to administer nitrous 

oxide inhalation analgesia in a dental school approved by the 
American Dental Association or a course accepted by the 
Louisiana State Board of Dentistry and has been 
administering nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia in another 
state without any disciplinary or malpractice action being 

taken against him regarding the administration of anesthesia 
may be permitted to administer same in the state of 
Louisiana by providing documentation of experience in the 
previous two years, and by gaining approval of the board. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 20:659 (June 1994), 
amended LR 22:1216 (December 1996), LR 32:244 (February 
2006), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
There will be no family impact in regard to issues set forth 

in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on these 
proposed Rule changes to C. Barry Ogden, Executive 
Director, Louisiana State Board of Dentistry, One Canal 
Place, Suite 2680, 365 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 
70130. Written comments must be submitted to and received 
by the Board within 60 days of this notice. A request 
pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, 
argument, or public hearing must be made in writing and 
received by the Board within 25 of the date of this notice. 

 
C. Barry Ogden 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Licenses; Authorized Duties; 

Nitrous Oxide 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be a one-time cost of $500 in Fiscal Year 
2010-11 for publication of the proposed rules in the State 
Register. There are no estimated costs or savings to local 
governmental units from the proposed rules. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The implementation of these rule changes will increase 
revenues for the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry because 
dental hygienists will now be allowed to administer nitrous 
oxide inhalation analgesia and will have to pay a $50 
application fee for anesthesia permits. The exact amount cannot 
be determined at this time because it is unknown how many 
hygienists will apply. However, the Board estimates a 
minimum of 200 applicants in FY 11 and 100 applicants in FY 
12; therefore, $10,000 in FY 11 and $5,000 in FY 12 in new 
revenue is expected. An unknown, minimal revenue increase 
may occur in subsequent years due to new dental hygienists 
entering the profession and applying for permits. In addition, 
though a $50 renewal fee is authorized, the Board has no plans 
to implement it at this time. As such, no revenue from renewal 
fees is expected. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Dental hygienists will pay a $50 application fee and a 
possible $50 renewal fee for nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia 
permits in the future. Dental hygienists may be able to earn a 
higher salary from their employers by being allowed to utilize 
certain tooth whitening procedures under general supervision. 
Their employing dentists may see a slight increase in their 
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earnings since their hygienists will be allowed to whiten teeth 
while the employing dentist is not physically on the premises. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
C. Barry Ogden Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1011#134 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators 

Nursing Facility Administrators  
(LAC 46:XLIX.Chapters 1-16) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 37:2501 et seq., that 
the Louisiana Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators proposes to amend LAC 46:XLIX.Chapters 
1-16 relative to the administration of nursing facility 
administrators and their licensure to make certain technical 
changes, to provide for creation of a “conditional license”, to 
implement statutes, to modify time limits on training, testing 
and licensure, to establish record retention guidelines, to 
make changes to Continuing Education Unit requirements 
from biennially to annual, to insert a chapter delineating a 
fee schedule range as authorized by statute, and provides for 
statutorily authorized criminal background checks.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLIX.  Nursing Facility Administrators 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. General Definitions Title 46 

A. … 
Act of Administration―encompasses the decision-

making process in the planning, organizing, directing and/or 
controlling the operation of a nursing home whether or not 
there is an ownership interest in the home. The 
administrator: 

a. - d.i. … 
 ii. Administrator-in-Training―here and after 
known as AIT, one who has met the provisions of §§503, 
505 and 507; and is under the general supervision of a full-
time nursing home administrator, duly licensed in the state 
of Louisiana, for a period of at least six consecutive months 
and who is preparing for licensing. 
 iii. - iv. … 

* * * 
National Association of Long Term Care Administrator 

Boards―the nationally leading authority on licensing, 
credentialing, and regulating administrators of organizations 
along the continuum of long term care here and after known 
as NAB.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:501 and R.S. 37:2504.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health and 

Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 

Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 16:258 (March 1990), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§105. Notification of Change 

A. Every licensed nursing home administrator shall 
immediately notify in writing the office of the Louisiana 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators of 
any and all changes in name, address, position, or other 
information originally submitted on their initial registration 
and any subsequent changes thereto. Failure to comply with 
this rule within 10 days of the change will result in a penalty 
as set forth in this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 16:199 (February 1990), 
repealed and repromulgated LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended 
by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 
37: 
Chapter 3. Board of Examiners 
§301. Meetings 

A. - C. … 
D. The board as a public body operates in accord with 

R.S. 42:1-R.S. 42:13. The conduct of meetings, notices, 
voting, record keeping, and so on shall be in accord with 
these statutes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2503 and R.S. 37:2504.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§303. General Powers 

A. … 
B. From time to time the board may e-mail or distribute 

a newsletter, promulgate and publish such rules and 
regulations not inconsistent with law as it may deem 
necessary and proper for the execution and enforcement of 
the law and rules and regulations governing the licensing 
and registration of nursing facility administrators. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§305. Officers and Duties 

A. … 
B. The chairman shall preside at all meetings of the 

board and shall sign all official documents of the board. In 
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the absence of the chairman, the vice-chairman or member 
designated by the chairman shall preside at meetings and 
perform all duties usually performed by the chairman. 

C. … 
D. The executive director shall conduct all routine 

correspondence for the board, shall issue all notices of 
meetings and hearings, shall have custody of all books, 
records and property of the board and shall perform all 
duties pertaining to the office of executive director. The 
executive director shall annually, in accordance with the 
directives of the State Office of the Legislative Auditor, 
submit financial records for audit. The audit results, on 
receipt, will be promptly distributed to all members of the 
board for review. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2503 and R.S. 37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:461 (July 1983), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Home Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994), amended by the 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Examinations 
§501. Scheduling of Examinations and Re-

Examinations 
A. … 
B. Examinations 

1. State examinations may be held at such times and 
places, and by entities designated by the board. 

2. National examinations shall be conducted by NAB 
for state-approved candidates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2505. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§503. Pre-Examination Requirements: Conditions 

Precedent 
A. - A.2. … 

3. has no convictions for a felony or crimes involving 
moral turpitude as provided in R.S. 14:80; 

4. - 5.a. … 
b. 60 hours of college education from an accredited 

institute of higher learning with an overall C average and 
three years of experience in nursing or administration in a 
licensed nursing home; or 

A.5.c. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2505. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 20:789 (July 1994), LR 33:2423 

(November 2007), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§504.  Pre Examination Criminal Background Check 

A. At the applicant’s expense the board may require 
fingerprints taken by an appropriate law enforcement 
agency. Such fingerprints are to be submitted by the 
enforcement agency to the State Police Bureau of Criminal 
Identification or such other appropriate authority.  

B. The applicant shall request the result of such 
background check to be submitted to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2505.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§505. Application for Examination 

A. An applicant for examination to secure a license as a 
nursing home administrator shall apply in writing, on forms 
provided by the board, and shall furnish evidence 
satisfactory to the board that he has met the pre-examination 
requirements as provided for in the state licensing statutes 
and §503 of these rules and regulations; and 

1. a candidate for examination shall submit with his 
notarized application, the application fee, all waiver 
requests, and two letters from individuals engaged in either 
business or professional work, but not related by blood or 
marriage, who shall certify to the good moral character of 
the applicant; 

2. an applicant for examination who has been 
convicted of, plead guilty to, no contest to, or has a trial 
pending for a misdemeanor involving abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation of property or any felony or crimes 
involving moral turpitude as provided in R.S. 14:80 by any 
court in this state, or by any court of the United States, or by 
any court of any other state of the United States, shall not be 
admitted to, or be permitted to take the examination 
provided for herein, unless he shall request a formal hearing 
before the board and provide evidence establishing a full 
pardon or parole granted by an appropriate authority 
authorized to grant such; 

3. … 
4. an applicant who withdraws his application for 

licensing after it has been received, processed and submitted 
to the board, shall not be entitled to a refund of their 
application fee. 

B. - C. … 
D. The applicant shall attach to his application a finished 

unmounted recent photograph of himself. This photograph 
must not be less than 2 inches by 3 inches in size and taken 
within the last six  months. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
§507. Conditional Admission to Examination 

A. The board may authorize the executive director to 
conditionally admit to examination for licensing as a nursing 
home administrator an applicant who, on the date of a 
scheduled examination, has not fully established his 
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qualifications if, in the judgment of the board, it appears that 
he is otherwise qualified.  

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2505. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§509. Subjects for Examination and Continuing 

Education 
A. - B. … 
C. The board may conduct courses on nursing home 

administration, especially designed for applicants and for 
licensees, when the demand is sufficient to defray expenses. 
Individuals who desire this course shall pay a fee as 
provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2505. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 9:684 
(October 1983), amended LR 14:23 (January 1988), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Home Administrators, LR 20:789 (July 1994), amended by the 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Administrator-in-Training (AIT) 
§701. Program 

A. - D. … 
 

Department Weeks Hours 
Administration 9 360 
Nursing 5 200 
Dietary 4 160 
Resident Activity 2 80 
Social Work 2 80 
Medical Records 2 80 
Environmental Management 2 80 

NOTE  A week is defined as seven days, Sunday through the 
following Saturday. 

 
E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 12:511 (August 1986), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Home Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994) repromulgated LR 
21:175 (February 1995), amended by the Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§703. Preceptor 

A. - E. … 
F. Preceptor Update. Preceptors must undertake update 

training every three years sponsored by the board in order to 
maintain this certification. The training qualifies as required 
continuing education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 19:1023 (August 1993), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§709. Oral Examination 

A. Upon completion of the program and receipt of the 
Certificate of Completion the AIT undergoes an oral 
examination to ensure she/he is sufficiently knowledgeable 
to be licensed. The examination is conducted by the 
executive director, a board member, or other authorized 
person. The AIT will receive his license upon passage of the 
oral examination, completion of initial registration form, and 
payment of registration fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
§711. Time Limitation  

A. Failure to begin the six-month AIT within one year of 
the date an applicant passes the licensing examinations will 
results in loss of all accomplishments and fees, unless 
otherwise authorized by the board. 

B. Failure to complete the licensure process within 24 
months from the date of application will result in loss of all 
accomplishments and fees unless authorized by the board. 

C. Record Retention 
1. In accordance with R.S. 44:411, the board shall 

secure written approval from the state archivist or his 
designee prior to the disposing of any records of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended LR 20:1110 (October 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§713. Waivers 

A. All waiver requests shall be submitted with 
applicant’s notarized application. 

B. Provisions for the six-month AIT, or portions thereof, 
may be waived on the basis of: 

1. education. Full waiver may be granted if applicant 
has a Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Art or Master of 
Science/Master of Art degree in health care administration 
that included an internship or the internship was waived by 
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the college or university on the basis of experience and 
successfully passes an oral exam; 

2. experience. Waiver may be granted for any portion 
of the AIT for experience in the healthcare field that meets 
or exceeds AIT requirements in their specialty and such 
areas as approved by the board. Request for waivers are to 
be submitted with the application and properly documented 
on forms supplied by the board. 

a. - b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Nursing Examiners of Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Continuing Education 
§903. Requirements 

A. Number of Hours. Each licensee must complete 15 
hours of approved continuing education, or the portion 
thereof designated by the board, during the 12 month period 
preceding the date of re-registration of licenses. 

B. - B.2. … 
C. Certificates. Each approved provider of continuing 

education shall provide each participant with a certificate 
indicating topic, number of hours, or parts of hours 
participating, and date of program. Transcripts from 
accredited institutions of higher learning are considered as 
having met this provision. 

1. … 
2. Licensees are required to attach the original of these 

certificates to their annual re-registration applications to 
verify they have completed the required continuing 
education unless prior approval is obtained. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 11:864 (September 1985), LR 13:240 
(April 1987), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 19:1023 
(August 1993), repromulgated LR 19:1322 (October 1993), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
§905. Registration of Institutions as Providers of 

Continuing Education Courses 
A. - B. … 
C. A fee, as provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part, shall 

be paid annually providers who impose charges to course 
participants. Government agencies are exempt from the fee. 

D. National Continuing Education Review Services 
(NCERS) approved programs are exempt from the 
requirement that providers be approved by the board. The 
approval of programs by NCERS, operated by the National 
Associations of Boards of Examiners For Long Term Care 
Administrators, Inc., meets board requirements. 

E. … 

F. Programs offered by non-approved provider 
organizations that do not seek provider approval may be 
approved on an individual basis. Individual licensees may 
seek this approval by applying to the board. When the 
organization or individual licensee applies there is a fee as 
provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and repromulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 19:1023 (August 1993), LR 20:788 (July 
1994), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
§907. Approval of Programs of Study 

A. - A.7. … 
8. Credit will not be given for courses offered by an 

organization for its administrators only; and 
9. the program is submitted for approval prior to the 

beginning date. 
B. - B.2. … 
C. Monitoring may be done to observe quality of content 

of presentation by the board or its representative. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 20:788 (July 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§908. Approval of NAB Standards 

A. Should the board elect to utilize the standards set forth 
by the National Continuing Education Resource Service in 
affiliation with the NAB, the board shall notify all licensed 
administrators, AITs and applicants of such decision in 
writing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2505. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
§909.  Exception 

A. Nothing contained in this Chapter shall preclude the 
board from providing for any program of study which 
excludes subjects which are in conflict with, the teachings 
and practice of any recognized religious faith. Any applicant 
seeking to be admitted to such program of study hereunder 
shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board that he is, in 
fact, an adherent of such recognized religious faith. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
Chapter 11. Licenses 
§1101. Initial License 

A. An applicant for a license as a nursing home 
administrator who has successfully complied with the 
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requirements of the licensing laws and the standards 
provided for herein, passed the examinations provided by the 
board and submitted notarized forms certifying to the AIT 
prerequisite shall be issued a license on a form provided for 
that purpose by the board, certifying that such applicant has 
met the requirements of the laws, rules and regulations 
entitling him to serve, act, practice and otherwise hold 
himself out as a duly licensed nursing home administrator. 

A.1. - B. … 
C. Each nursing facility in the state shall operate under 

the supervision of an administrator who holds a current valid 
nursing facility administrator license and current registration 
certificate, or a current temporary license issued pursuant to 
this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 20:789 (July 1994), repromulgated LR 20:1110 
(October 1994), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§1103. Registration of Licenses and Certificates 

A.1. Every person who holds a valid license as a nursing 
home administrator issued by the board shall immediately 
upon issuance thereof be deemed registered with the board 
and issued an annual certificate of registration.  

1.a. - 2. … 
3. Charges for replacement and/or second copies of 

permanent licenses, re-registration certificates, or licensee 
cards shall be assessed as provided for in Chapter 12 of this 
Part. 

B.1. Upon making an application for a new certificate of 
registration such licensee shall pay an annual registration fee 
as provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part and, at the same 
time, shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board that, 
during the annual period immediately preceding such 
application for registration, they have attended a continuing 
education program or course of study as provided in Chapter 
9 of these rules and regulations. Unless prior approval is 
obtained, originals of the certificate(s) of attendance for 15 
hours of approved continuing education shall be attached to 
the annual re-registration application. 

2. A licensed nursing home administrator no longer 
practicing in Louisiana may place his license in an inactive 
or conditional status. He shall continue to register his license 
annually but is exempt from continuing education 
requirements. Should a licensee wish to reactivate their 
license they shall undergo 60 days of on-site re-orientation 
under supervision of a board-approved preceptor, unless 
such person has been actively practicing in another state and 
meets Louisiana continuing education requirements. In 
either case, to change a conditional license or inactive 
license to active status, an applicant must meet all 
requirements for an active license. Conditional licensure as 
used in this subparagraph shall mean an individual who 
meets at least one of the following: 

a. administrator not actively running a facility and 
age 65 or older; 

b. administrator not actively running a facility in 
Louisiana and possessing an active license in another state. 

3. The annual conditional licensure fee shall be 
assessed as provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part. 

C. ... 
D. The license of a nursing home administrator who fails 

to comply with the provisions of this Section shall be 
suspended by the board and the license shall automatically 
lapse. 

E. Only an individual who has qualified as a licensed 
and registered nursing home administrator and who holds a 
valid current registration certificate pursuant to the 
provisions of these rules for the current annual registration 
period, shall have the right and the privilege of using the title 
"nursing home administrator" and have the right and the 
privilege of using the abbreviation “NFA.” after his name. 
No other person shall use or shall be designated by such title 
or such abbreviation or any other words, letters, sign, card, 
or device tending to, or intended to indicate that such person 
is a licensed and registered nursing home administrator. 

F. - G.. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 9:461 
(July 1983), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended LR 25:1627 
(September 1999), LR 25:2407 (December 1999), repromulgated 
LR 26:82 (January 2000), LR 26:316 (February 2000), amended by 
the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§1105. Refusal, Suspension and Revocation of License 

A. - A.2.a.ix. … 
 x. has failed to re-register his license as required 
by the board.  

b. - b.ii. … 
 iii. has committed acts of misconduct in the 
operation of a nursing home, which includes but is not 
limited to discrimination, sexual harassment, or failure to 
attend to duties of the administrator; 
 iv. has impersonated another licensee; and 
 v. has violated any of the provisions of the law 
pertaining to the licensing of administrators, or rules and 
regulations of the board pertaining thereto. 

c. - c.iv. … 
d. Category Four 

 i. has failed to notify the board in writing of any 
and all changes in name, address, position, and other such 
information included on their initial registration and any 
subsequent changes thereto. 

2.e. - 3.a. … 
 i. A fine of not less than 150 nor more than 
$2,000, and/or probation not to exceed three years, and/or 
suspension of license for not less than 30 days nor more than 
three years, and/or remedial training or revocation of license. 
 ii. Failure to re-register a license as required by 
the board results in a suspension. Provided further the 
licensee shall not practice until re-registered. Failure to re-
register within 6 months of annual re-registration deadline 
will result in the lapse of such license unless extended by the 
board at its discretion. 

b. - c. … 
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d. Category Four. A fine of not less than $25 nor 
more than $150. 

A.3.e. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504, R.S. 37:2509 and R.S. 37:2510. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:461 (July 1983), LR 12:366 (June 
1986), amended by Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 15:195 (March 
1989), repealed and repromulgated LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
§1107. Reciprocity 

A. The board, in its discretion, and otherwise subject to 
the law pertaining to the licensing of nursing home 
administrators and prescribing the qualifications for a 
nursing home administrator license, may endorse a nursing 
home administrator license issued by proper authorities of 
any other state, upon payment of any fee determined by the 
board, and passing a state examination and upon submission 
of evidence satisfactory to the board: 

A.1. - E. … 
F. A Louisiana licensee who applies for reciprocity in 

another state shall pay a fee as provided for in Chapter 12 of 
this Part to the board to cover costs of completing and 
mailing necessary forms to the other state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2508. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 9:461 
(July 1983), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 19:1024 
(August 1993), amended LR 20:1002 (September 1994), amended 
by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 
37: 
§1109. Restoration and Reinstatement of Licenses 

A. A license may be restored after revocation by the 
board at its discretion upon submission of evidence 
satisfactory to the board that the applicant for such 
restoration of license has removed the disability. The 
requirements of §505.A.2 shall be applicable to applicants 
for license who have been convicted of a felony. In the case 
of revocation of license due to a six-month suspension 
(§1105.C.4) or voluntary surrender, the applicant shall file a 
new application based on current requirements, as a new 
applicant, including sitting for examinations as the board 
deems necessary. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 11:864 
(September 1985), repealed and repromulgated by the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
§1111. Display of Licenses and Re-Registration 

Certificates 
A. Every person licensed as a nursing home 

administrator actively engaged in the profession shall 

display such license and certificate of annual registration in a 
conspicuous place in the office or place of business or 
employment of such licensee. The current certificate of 
annual re-registration shall be displayed adjacent to the 
facility’s license issued by Department of Health and 
Hospitals. Such license and certificate of annual re-
registration shall be shown, when requested, to a member of 
the board, a legally constituted officer of the board, or a law 
enforcement officer of the state of Louisiana or of a political 
subdivision thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 
Chapter 12. Fees and Assessments 
§1201. Fee Schedule 

A. The board hereby establishes the following fees and 
costs to be imposed for the purpose of implementing and 
enforcing the provisions of this Part. 

 

Administrator address labels/page $8 
Annual Conditional Registration Fee $200 
Annual Registration Fee $375 
Application Packet $50 
Certification of document as true copy $10 
CNA / DSW Card  $12 
Continuing Education Provider(Annually) $600 
Delinquent fee $150 
Directory of Administrators $15 
Failure to maintain current information $75 
Handling and mailing per page $2 
Initial Registration Fee $350 
Minimum Licensure Standards Book $15 
National Prep Course Fee $250 
NFA Application Fee $500 
NFA Replacement Card(with photo) $17 
NSF Fee $25 
Photocopies of document/page $0.50 
Reciprocity Fee(to another state) $50 
Reciprocity Fee(to Louisiana) $125 
Replace License Card $12 
Replace License(original) $30 
Replace Registration Certificate or 2nd copy $25 
Request for CEU Approval(applicant) $25 
Request for CEU Approval(vendor) $75 
Rules and Regulations Book $15 
Seminars (per hour of instruction) $30 
State Exam Fee $100 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37: 
Chapter 16. Certified Nurses Aide Register 
§1603. Certificate of Certification 

A. If requested, the board shall impose a fee for issuing a 
certificate, or a card of certification as provided in Chapter 
12 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
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Administrators, LR 21:1082 (October 1995) , amended by the 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed amendments, to Rule XLIX Chapters 1-16, 

should not have any impact on family as defined by R.S. 
49:972. There should not be any effect on: the stability of the 
family, the authority and rights of parents regarding the 
education and supervision of their children, the functioning 
of the family, family earnings and family budget, the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children, and/or the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments until  

4 p.m. on December, 2010 to Mark A. Hebert, Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, 5647 
Superior Drive, LA 70816. 

 

Mark A. Hebert 
Executive Director 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Nursing Facility Administrators 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the rule publication costs, the total of which are 
estimated to be $1,280 during the current fiscal year, it is not 
anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will result in 
any costs or savings to the Board of Examiners or local 
government unit. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

In compliance with the fee ranges set forth in Act 721 of 
the 2010 legislative session, the proposed rule will increase the 
revenue collections of the Board of Examiners by an estimated 
$8,667. Due to the decreasing number of applicants in recent 
years, the fee increases are necessary in order to increase 
revenue needed for the Board’s operations and the addition of 
state mandated OPEB (Other Post Employment Benefits) 
Liability, and to prevent a deficit. There will be no effect on the 
revenue collections of other state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Since the Board’s fees are increasing, applicants will have 
to pay higher costs for its services and requirements. In 
addition to these fee changes, the proposed rule also creates a 
conditional license for retired administrators over the age of 65, 
or those administrators also licensed in other states that are not 
currently practicing in Louisiana, and wish to maintain their 
Louisiana license. The conditional license fee will be half the 
price of a regular license, so these applicants who wish to retain 
their qualified Louisiana nursing facility administrator status 
will save money by not having to pay the full price of a regular 
license as in the past.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be a minimal effect on competition and 
employment due to the likelihood that a slightly increased 
number of nursing facility administrators will remain qualified 
in Louisiana due to the new conditional license; whereas, 
before, many out of state nursing facility administrators would 
allow their license and qualifications to lapse, rather than pay 
the fee for a regular license. 

 

Mark A. Hebert Robert E. Hosse 

Executive Director Staff Director 
1011#027 Legislative Fiscal Office 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Clinical Laboratory Personnel, Licensure 
and Certification (LAC 46:XLV.3509) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., that the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners 
(Board), pursuant to the authority of the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292 and the Louisiana Clinical 
Laboratory Personnel Law, R.S. 37:1311-1329, intends to 
amend its administrative rules governing licensure and 
certification of clinical laboratory personnel, LAC 46:XLV, 
Subpart 2, Chapter 35, Subchapter B, Section 3509, by 
updating and revising the list of approved certifying 
organizations for two categories of CLP licensure, and 
deleting 3509G respecting annual review of certifying 
examinations. The proposed amendments are set forth 
below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 35. Clinical Laboratory Personnel 
Subchapter B. Licensure and Certification Requirements 
§3509. Qualifications for Licensure and Certification 

A. Clinical Laboratory Scientist-Generalist. To be 
eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist-
generalist an applicant, in addition to satisfaction of the 
procedural requirements for licensure under this Chapter, 
shall have successfully completed an approved nationally 
recognized certification examination for such clinical 
laboratory personnel classification as developed and 
administered: 

1. on or before June 30, 2011, by one of the following 
organizations or their successor organizations:  

a. American Society of Clinical Pathologists 
(ASCP); 

b. National Certification Agency (NCA); 
c. American Medical Technologists (AMT); or 
d. International Society of Clinical Laboratory 

Technology (ISCLT) provided, however, that an applicant 
for licensure as a CLS-G who has, prior to January 1, 1995, 
successfully completed the certification examination for 
such clinical laboratory personnel classification developed 
and administered by the United States Department of Health, 
Education, and Welfare (HEW) (predecessor to the 
Department of Health and Human Services) shall also be 
eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist-
generalist. 

2. after June 30, 2011, by the ASCP.  
B. - B.2.g. ... 
C. Clinical Laboratory Scientist-Technician. To be 

eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist-
technician, an applicant, in addition to satisfaction of the 
procedural requirements for licensure under this Chapter, 
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shall have successfully completed an approved nationally 
recognized certification examination for such clinical 
laboratory personnel classification, as developed and 
administered: 

1. on or before June 30, 2011, by one of the following 
organizations or their successor organizations:  

a. American Society of Clinical Pathologists 
(ASCP); 

b. National Certification Agency (NCA);  
c. American Medical Technologists (AMT); or 
d. International Society of Clinical Laboratory 

Technology (ISCLT). 
2. after June 30, 2011, by the ASCP. 

D. - F.2.h. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(A)(5) and R.S. 37:1311-1329. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 20:1286 
(November 1994), amended, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
amendments on the family has been considered. It is not 
anticipated that the proposed amendments will have any 
impact on family, formation, stability or autonomy, as 
described in R.S. 49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed Rule 
amendments to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive 
Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at 
P.O. Box 30250, New Orleans, LA 70190-0250 (1515 
Poydras Street, Suite 2700, New Orleans, LA 70112), (504) 
568-6820, Ex. 242. She is responsible for responding to 
inquiries. Written comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., 
December 20, 2010. 

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. Should it become 
necessary to convene a public hearing to receive data, views, 
arguments, information or comments orally in accordance 
with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, the 
hearing will be held on Tuesday, December 28, 2010 at 9 
a.m. at the office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, 1515 Poydras Street, Suite 2700, New Orleans, 
LA 70112. Any person wishing to attend should call to 
confirm that a hearing is being held. 

 
Robert L. Marier, M.D. 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE: Clinical Laboratory Personnel, Licensure 

and Certification 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the rule publication cost, the total of which is 
estimated to be $274 during the current fiscal year, it is not 
anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will result in 
any material costs to the Board of Medical Examiners or any 
state or local governmental unit. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated effects on the Board’s revenue 
collections or that of any other state or local governmental unit 
anticipated from the proposed rule amendments 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

To be eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist 
an applicant must successfully complete a certification 
examination approved by the Board on the recommendation of 
its Clinical Laboratory Personnel Advisory Committee. On 
recommendation of the Committee, the Board proposes to 
amend its existing CLP rules to update and revise the list of 
approved certifying organizations for CLP scientist-generalists 
and technicians by removing certifying organizations that have 
merged, no longer exist or are no longer recommended by the 
Committee for purposes of certification. As proposed, the 
certifying examination accepted for licensure as a CLP 
generalist or technician will be the American Society of 
Clinical Pathology (ASCP). The proposed amendments provide 
an accommodation for applicants who are certified by 
organizations that will no longer be accepted, provided 
certification is obtained on or before June 30, 2011 (3509A, C). 
Over the past three years only a small number of total 
applicants have sought CLP generalist or technician licensure 
on a basis other than ASCP certification. There are a variety of 
avenues by which those who do not qualify for such 
certification after June 30, 2011 may do so. Some of these 
avenues may require additional education or training. Because 
the costs associated with such education or training will vary 
based on an individual's current training and experience, and by 
virtue of the variety of avenues by which such certification may 
be sought, the Board is not in a position to estimate the 
proposed rules' effect in this respect. The proposed 
amendments also delete 3509G, respecting annual review of 
certifying examinations. It is not anticipated that the proposed 
amendments will have any significant effect on costs and/or 
economic benefits to directly affected persons or non-
governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will 
have any significant impact on competition or employment in 
either the public or private sector. 

 
Robert L. Marier, M.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1011#120 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Medical Psychologists, General, 
Licensure, Certification and Practice 

(LAC 46:XLV.231-235; 3901-3961; and 6101-6121) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., that 
pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State Board 
of Medical Examiners (board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292 and the Louisiana Medical 
Psychology Practice Act, as enacted by the Louisiana 
Legislature in Acts 2009, No. 251, R.S. 37:1360.51-1360.72, 
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the board intends to adopt general and administrative rules 
governing the licensure, certification and practice of medical 
psychologists in this state, LAC Title 46:XLV, Subpart 1, 
Chapter 1, Subchapter M, Sections 231-235, Subpart 2, 
Chapter 39, Subchapters A-H, Sections 3901-3961 and 
Subpart 3, Chapter 61, Subchapters A-D, Sections 6101-
6121. The proposed rules are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 1.  General 
Chapter 1. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter M. Medical Psychologists Fees 
§231. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the fees and 
costs applicable to licensing and certification of medical 
psychologists. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270 and 37:1281; 37:1360.66. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§233. Licenses, Certificates, Permits 

A. For processing an application for licensure as a 
medical psychologist, a fee of $250 shall be payable to the 
board. 

B. For processing an application for certification of the 
advanced practice of medical psychology, a fee of $150 shall 
be payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281, 37:1360.66. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§235. Annual Renewal 

A. For processing a medical psychologist’s annual 
renewal of license, a fee of $200 shall be payable to the 
board. 

B. For processing a medical psychologist’s annual 
renewal of a certificate of advanced practice, a fee of $100 
shall be payable to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1281, 37:1360.66. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 39. Medical Psychologists 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§3901. Scope of Chapter and Definitions 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the licensing and 
certification of medical psychologists in the state of 
Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3903. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms and 
phrases shall have the meanings specified. 

Applicant―an individual who has applied to the board 
for a license as a medical psychologist or a certificate of 
advanced practice. 

Approved―as applied to an examination, school, 
college, university, institution, organization, program, 

curriculum, course of study or continuing professional 
education, shall mean affirmatively recognized and 
sanctioned by the board in accordance with this Chapter. 

Board―the Louisiana State Board of Medical 
Examiners, as constituted in R.S. 37:1263. 

Bona Fide Medication Sample―a medication, other 
than a controlled substance, packaged by the original 
manufacturer thereof in such quantity as does not exceed a 
reasonable therapeutic dosage and provided at no cost to a 
medical psychologist for administration or distribution to a 
patient at no cost to the patient. 

Certificate of Advanced Practice or Certificate or 
Certification―the board's official recognition of a medical 
psychologist’s lawful authority to engage in advanced 
practice of medical psychology as provided by R.S. 
37:1360.57 and Subpart 3 of these rules. 

Collaborating Physician―a physician who consults 
and/or collaborates with a medical psychologist. 

Concurrence or Concur―a physician’s agreement to a 
plan for psychopharmacological management of a patient 
based on prior discussion with a medical psychologist.  

Consultation and Collaboration with a MP or Consult 
and/or Collaborate―that practice in which a physician 
discusses and, if deemed appropriate, concurs in a medical 
psychologist’s plan for psychopharmacologic management 
of a patient for whom the physician is the primary or 
attending physician. 

Controlled Substance―any substance defined, 
enumerated, or included in federal or state statute or 
regulations 21 C.F.R. 1308.11-.15 or R.S. 40:964, or any 
substance which may hereafter be designated as a controlled 
substance by amendment or supplementation of such 
regulations or statute. 

Discussion―a communication between a physician and 
a medical psychologist conducted in person, by telephone, in 
writing or by some other appropriate means. 

Drug―shall mean the same as the term “drug” as 
defined in R.S. 40:961(16), including controlled substances 
except narcotics, but shall be limited to only those agents 
related to the diagnosis and treatment or management of 
mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, substance abuse or 
cognitive disorders.  

Good Moral Character―as applied to an applicant, 
means that: 

a.  the applicant has not, prior to or during the 
pendency of an application to the board, been guilty of any 
act, omission, condition, or circumstance which would 
provide legal cause under R.S. 37:1360.67 for the 
suspension or revocation of a license or certificate; 

b. the applicant has not, prior to or in connection 
with the application, made any representation to the board, 
knowingly or unknowingly, which is in fact false or 
misleading as to a material fact or omits to state any fact or 
matter that is material to the application; or 

c. the applicant has not made any representation or 
failed to make a representation or engaged in any act or 
omission which is false, deceptive, fraudulent, or misleading 
in achieving or obtaining any of the qualifications for a 
license or certificate required by this Chapter. 

LAMP―the Louisiana Academy of Medical 
Psychologists. 
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LSBEP―the Louisiana State Board of Examiners of 
Psychologists, as constituted in R.S. 37:2353. 

Medication―is synonymous with drug, as defined 
herein. 

Medical Psychologist or MP―a psychologist 
practitioner who has undergone specialized training in 
clinical psychopharmacology and has passed a national 
proficiency examination in psychopharmacology approved 
by the board. Such practice includes the authority to 
administer and prescribe drugs and distribute bona fide 
medication samples, as defined in this Section. 

Medical Psychology―that profession of the health 
sciences which deals with the examination, diagnosis, 
psychological, pharmacologic and other somatic treatment 
and/or management of mental, nervous, emotional, 
behavioral, substance abuse or cognitive disorders, and 
specifically includes the authority to administer, distribute 
without charge and/or prescribe drugs as defined in this Part. 
In addition, the practice of medical psychology shall include 
the practice of psychology as defined in R.S. 37:2352(5). 

Medical Psychology Advisory Committee or 
Committee―a committee to the board constituted under R.S. 
37:1360.63. 

Medical Psychology Practice Act or MP Act―Acts 
2009, No. 251, R.S. 37:1360.51-1360.72.  

Mental, Nervous, Emotional, Behavorial, Substance 
Abuse and Cognitive Disorders―those disorders, illnesses 
or diseases listed in either the most recent edition of the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 
published by the American Psychiatric Association or the 
mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, substance abuse and 
cognitive disorders listed in the International Classification 
of Diseases published by the World Health Organization. 

Narcotics―natural and synthetic opioid analgesics and 
their derivatives used to relieve pain.  

Physician―an individual licensed by the board to 
engage in the practice of medicine in the state of Louisiana 
as evidenced by a current license duly issued by the board.  

Primary or Attending Physician―a physician who has 
an active clinical relationship with a patient and is 
principally responsible for the health care needs of the 
patient, or currently attending to the health care needs of the 
patient, or considered by the patient to be his or her primary 
or attending physician. 

Psychopharmacologic Management―the treatment 
and/or management of the mental, nervous, emotional, 
behavioral, substance abuse and cognitive disorders with 
medication.  

State―any state of the United States, the District of 
Columbia, and Puerto Rico. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Requirements and Qualifications for 

License 
§3905. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the 
requirements, qualifications and conditions for licensure as a 
medical psychologist in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3907. Qualifications for License 

A. To be eligible for a license to practice as a medical 
psychologist an applicant shall: 

1. possess a current, unrestricted license in good 
standing to practice psychology duly issued by the LSBEP; 

2. be a citizen of the Unites States or possess valid and 
current legal authority to reside and work in the United 
States duly issued by the Commissioner of the Immigration 
and Naturalization Service of the United States under and 
pursuant to the Immigration and Nationality Act (66 Stat. 
163) and the Commissioner’s regulations thereunder (8 
CFR); 

3. be of good moral character as defined by Section 
3903A of these rules; 

4. possess approved certification in Basic Life 
Support (BLS);  

5. possess: 
a. a post-doctoral master’s degree in clinical 

psychopharmacology conferred by a regionally accredited 
institution approved by the board; or  

b. equivalent training to a post-doctoral master’s 
degree in clinical psychopharmacology approved by the 
board;  

6. have within the past 3 years, in conformity with the 
restrictions and limitations prescribed by this Chapter, taken 
and passed a national examination in psychopharmacology 
approved by the board; and 

7. not be otherwise disqualified by any ground for 
denying a license provided by the MP Act or these rules. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of an applicant for licensure 
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 
manner prescribed by and to the satisfaction of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3909. Alternative Qualifications for License  

A. Provided application is made within 12 months of the 
effective date of these rules, an individual who desires to be 
licensed as a MP may qualify for licensure pursuant to R.S. 
37:1360.55A without compliance with the requirements 
prescribed by Section 3907, upon submission of evidence 
satisfactory to the board that the applicant possessed all of 
the following as of January 1, 2010: 

1. an unrestricted license in good standing to practice 
psychology issued by the LSBEP; 

2. an unrestricted certificate of prescriptive authority 
issued by the LSBEP; 

3. a controlled substance permit duly issued by the 
Louisiana State Board of Pharmacy;  

4. a controlled substance registration duly issued by 
the United States Drug Enforcement Administration; and 

5. as of the date of application, not be otherwise 
disqualified by any ground for denying a license provided by 
the MP Act or these rules. 

B. The alternative qualification provided by this Section 
shall expire and become null, void and to no effect 12 
months and 1 day following the effective date of these rules.  
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C. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of an applicant for licensure 
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 
manner prescribed by and to the satisfaction of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3911. Qualifications for Certificate of Advanced 

Practice 
A. To be eligible for a certificate of advanced practice an 

applicant shall, as of the date of application to the board, 
have: 

1. a current, unrestricted license as a MP duly issued 
by the board and not be the subject of an investigation or 
pending disciplinary proceeding by the board; 

2. practiced as a MP for at least three of the past four 
years. With respect to individuals licensed under the 
alternative qualification provided in Section 3909 of this 
Chapter, such experience shall be deemed to have 
commenced on the date that the applicant’s initial certificate 
of prescriptive authority was issued by the LSBPE; 

3. as a MP, treated at least one hundred patients which 
demonstrate the competence of the medical psychologist. Of 
this number at least 25 shall have involved the use of major 
psychotropics and at least 25 shall have involved the use of 
major antidepressants;  

4. received the written recommendation of two 
collaborating physicians who hold a current, unrestricted 
license to practice medicine in this state duly issued by the 
board, who are familiar with the applicant’s competence to 
practice medical psychology;  

5. received a favorable recommendation from the 
committee; and 

6. completed a minimum of one hundred hours of 
continuing medical education relating to the use of 
medications in the management of patients with psychiatric 
illnesses, commencing with: 

a.  initial issuance of a certificate of prescriptive 
authority by the LSBPE if prior to January 1, 2010; or  

b. the date the MP is licensed by the board after 
January 1, 2010. 

B. The burden of satisfying the board as to the 
qualifications and eligibility of an applicant for certification 
shall be upon the applicant. An applicant shall not be 
deemed to possess such qualifications unless the applicant 
demonstrates and evidences such qualifications in the 
manner prescribed by and to the satisfaction of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Application 
§3913. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter govern the procedures 
and requirements for application to the board for a license to 
practice medical psychology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 

§3915. Application Procedure 
A. Application must be made and submitted in a format 

approved by the board and shall include: 
1. proof, documented in a form satisfactory to the 

board, that the applicant possesses the qualifications set forth 
in this Chapter, along with a recent photograph; 

2. certification of the truthfulness and authenticity of 
all information, representations and documents contained in 
or submitted with the completed application; 

3. criminal history record information; 
4. payment of the fee provided in Chapter 1 of these 

rules; and 
5. such other information and documentation as the 

board may require. 
B. Upon submission of a completed application a 

personal interview with a member of the board or a designee 
may be required as a condition of licensure when: 

1. discrepancies exist in an initial application; 
2. an applicant has been the subject of prior adverse 

action in any jurisdiction; or 
3. the board has questions respecting an application 

response. 
C. The recommendation of the board member or 

designee as to the applicant's fitness for licensure shall be 
made a part of the applicant's file. 

D. The board may reject or refuse to consider an 
application which is not complete in every detail. The board 
may in its discretion require a more detailed or complete 
response to any request for information set forth in the 
application as a condition to application consideration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3917. Effect of Application 

A. The submission of an application for licensure to the 
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization by the 
applicant to each educational institution at which the 
applicant has matriculated, each state or federal agency to 
which the applicant has applied for any license, permit, 
certificate, or registration, each person, firm, corporation, 
clinic, office, or institution by whom or with whom the 
applicant has been employed in the practice of psychology 
or medical psychology, each physician or other health care 
practitioner whom the applicant has consulted or seen for 
diagnosis or treatment and each professional organization or 
specialty board to which the applicant has applied for 
membership, to disclose and release to the board any and all 
information and documentation concerning the applicant 
which the board deems material to consideration of the 
application. With respect to any such information or 
documentation, the submission of an application for 
licensing to the board shall equally constitute and operate as 
a consent by the applicant to disclosure and release of such 
information and documentation and as a waiver by the 
applicant of any privilege or right of confidentiality which 
the applicant would otherwise possess with respect thereto.  

B. By submission of an application for licensure to the 
board an applicant shall be deemed to have given his consent 
to submit to physical or mental examinations if, when, and 
in the manner so directed by the board and to waive all 
objections as to the admissibility or disclosure of findings, 
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reports, or recommendations pertaining thereto on the 
grounds of privileges provided by law. The expense of any 
such examination shall be borne by the applicant. 

C. The submission of an application for licensure to the 
board shall constitute and operate as an authorization and 
consent by the applicant to the board to disclose and release 
any information or documentation set forth in or submitted 
with the applicant's application or obtained by the board 
from other persons, firms, corporations, associations, or 
governmental entities pursuant to this Section to any person, 
firm, corporation, association, or governmental entity having 
a lawful, legitimate, and reasonable need therefore 
including, without limitation, the psychology or medical 
psychology licensing authority of any state; the Federal 
Drug Enforcement Administration; the Louisiana Board of 
Pharmacy; the Department of Health and Hospitals; federal, 
state, county, parish and municipal health and law 
enforcement agencies; and the Armed Services. 

D. The board, acting through its president or a member 
designated by the president, may approve the issuance of 
any directive or order to carry out the provisions of 
Subsection B of this Section. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Board Approval of Schools, Colleges,  
Universities, or Institutions  
§3919. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the 
requirements for board approval of a school, college, 
university or institution for the purpose of assessing 
qualifications for medical psychology licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3921. Applicability of Approval 

A. Successful completion of a post-doctoral master’s 
degree in clinical psychopharmacology from a regional 
accredited institution approved by the board is among the 
educational qualifications required for MP licensure. 

B. The completion of training approved by the board that 
is equivalent to a post-doctoral master’s degree in clinical 
psychopharmacology is an alternative educational 
qualification for MP licensure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3923. Approval of Schools and Colleges 

A. A school, college, university or institution shall be 
concurrently considered approved by the board for purposes 
of qualification under this Chapter provided it:  

1. is accredited by one of the six regional bodies 
recognized by the United States Department of Educations’ 
Council on Postsecondary Accreditation; 

2. has achieved the highest level of accreditation or 
approval awarded by statutory authorities of the state in 
which the school or college is located;  

3. offers a full-time post-doctoral master’s program in 
clinical psychopharmacology that: 

a. includes curriculum instruction in each of the 
following areas:  

 i. anatomy and physiology; 
 ii. biochemistry; 
 iii. neurosciences to include neuroanatomy, 
neuropathology, neurophysiology, neurochemistry and 
neuroimaging;  
 iv. pharmacology; 
 v. psychopharmacology;  
 vi. clinical medicine/pathophysiology; and 
 vii. health assessment, including relevant physical 
and laboratory assessment; and 

b. provides opportunity to review, present and 
discuss each of the following:  
 i. case examples representing a broad range of 
clinical psychopathologies; 
 ii. medical conditions presenting as psychiatric 
illness;  
 iii. treatment complexities, including complicating 
medical conditions, diagnostic questions, choice of 
medications, and untoward side effects; 
 iv. compliance problems; and  
 v. alternative treatments and treatment failures. 

B. Board approval of a school, college, university or 
institution shall be deemed to be effective as to an applicant 
if such school, college, university or institution was 
approved as of the date on which the applicant's post-
doctoral master’s degree in clinical psychopharmacology 
was awarded. 

C. Subject to Section 3925 of these rules, a school, 
college, university or institution accepted by the LSBPE for 
MP prescriptive authority on or before January 1, 2010, shall 
be considered approved by the board for purposes of 
qualification under this Chapter. 

D. For the purposes of this Chapter, equivalent training 
to the post-doctoral master’s degree provided in R.S. 
37:1360.55B.(2) is defined as the successful completion of 
the Department of Defense Psychopharmacology 
Demonstration Project (DOD-PDP), or a similar program 
developed and operated under the auspices of any branch of 
the United States armed services and approved by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3925. Withdrawal of Approval 

A. Notwithstanding current or prior approval pursuant to 
this Subchapter or by individual determination, the board's 
approval of any school, college, university or institution may 
be withdrawn at any time upon its affirmative finding that 
such school, college, university or institution does not 
possess the qualifications for approval specified by this 
Subchapter or by the MP Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter E. Examination 
§3927. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter designate the 
examination, passing score, restrictions, limitations and 
exceptions applicable to medical psychologist licensure in 
this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3929. Designation of Examination 

A. The MP licensing examination approved and accepted 
by the board, pursuant to R.S. 37:1360.55B(3), is the 
Psychopharmacology Examination for Psychologists (PEP), 
developed by the American Psychological Association 
practice organization’s College of Professional Psychology 
and its contractor, the Professional Examination Service, or 
their successor(s) organizations. 

B. The PEP or such other examination as the board may 
approve shall: 

1. be taken after the successful completion of the post-
doctoral master’s program in clinical psychopharmacology; 
and  

2. not less than three years prior to the date of MP 
application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3931. Passing Score 

A. An applicant will be deemed to have successfully 
passed the examination upon attaining a score equivalent to 
the passing score required by the PEP and its contractor, the 
Professional Examination Service, or their successor(s) 
organizations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3933. Restriction, Limitations on Examinations 

A. Applicants shall be required to authorize the PEP and 
the Professional Examination Service to release their testing 
scores to the board each time the applicant-examinee 
attempts the examination according to the procedures for 
such notification established by the PEP. 

B. An applicant having failed to attain a passing score 
upon taking the examination four times shall not thereafter 
be considered for licensure.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter F. Licensure Issuance, Termination, 

Renewal, Reinstatement 
§3935. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter prescribe the 
requirements applicable to issuance, termination, renewal 
and reinstatement of a license to practice medical 
psychology in this state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3937. Issuance of Licensure; Certificate of Advanced 

Practice 
A. If the qualifications, requirements, and procedures set 

forth in this Chapter are met to its satisfaction the board shall 
issue a license to the applicant to engage in the practice of 
medical psychology in this state. 

B. If the qualifications, requirements, and procedures set 
forth in this Chapter are met to its satisfaction the board shall 
issue a certificate of advanced practice to the applicant to 

engage in the advanced practice of medical psychology in 
this state. 

C. A license or certificate issued under this Chapter shall 
designate the applicant’s status with respect to advanced 
practice. 

D. Every MP is responsible for updating the board within 
15 days should any of the required contact information 
submitted with an application change after license or 
certificate issuance.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3939. Expiration of License, Certificate  

A. Every license or certificate issued under this Chapter 
shall expire and thereby become null, void and to no effect 
the following year on the last day of June B. The timely 
submission of a properly completed application for renewal 
of a license shall operate to continue an expiring license, and 
if applicable a certificate of advanced practice, in full force 
and effect pending renewal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3941. Renewal of License, Certificate 

A. Every license or certificate issued by the board shall 
be renewed annually on or before the last day of June by 
submitting to the board a properly completed renewal 
application, in a format specified by the board, together with 
the renewal fee prescribed by Chapter 1 of these rules and 
documentation of:  

1. satisfaction of the continuing professional 
education requirement prescribed by this Chapter; and 

2. maintenance of basic life support. 
B. Possession of a current, unrestricted license to 

practice psychology duly issued by the LSBPE is a 
requirement for initial licensure as a medical psychologist 
under this Chapter but shall not be required by the board for 
license renewal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3943. Reinstatement of Expired License or Certificate  

A. A license or certificate that has expired without 
renewal may be reinstated by the board provided that 
application is made within two years of the date of 
expiration.  

B. A MP whose license and/or certificate has expired for 
a period in excess of two years or who is otherwise ineligible 
for reinstatement under this Section may apply to the board 
for an initial original license or certificate pursuant to these 
rules. 

C. An applicant seeking reinstatement more than one but 
less than two years from the date on which his or her license 
or certificate expired shall demonstrate, as a condition of 
reinstatement, satisfaction of the continuing professional 
education required by these rules for each year since the date 
of the license expiration. As additional conditions of 
reinstatement the board may require that the applicant: 

1. complete a statistical affidavit and provide a recent 
photograph; 
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2. take and successfully pass: 
a. all or a designated portion of the national 

examination required for licensure under this Chapter;  
b. a written certification or recertification 

examination acceptable to the board; and/or 
c. demonstrate clinical competency by successfully 

completing a program designated by the board, following 
consultation with the committee, and any recommended 
remediation. 

D. An applicant whose license to practice psychology or 
medical psychology has been revoked, suspended or placed 
on probation by the licensing authority of any state or who 
has voluntarily or involuntarily surrendered his or her 
license to practice psychology or medical psychology in 
consideration of the dismissal or discontinuance of pending 
or threatened administrative or criminal charges following 
the date on which his or her license to practice as a MP in 
Louisiana expired, shall be deemed ineligible for license 
reinstatement. 

E. An application for reinstatement of a license or 
certificate meeting the requirements and conditions of this 
Chapter may nonetheless be denied for any of the causes for 
which an application for original licensure or certification 
may be refused by the board pursuant to R.S. 37:1360.67 or 
for violation of these rules. 

F. An application for reinstatement shall be made in a 
format supplied by the board together with the applicable 
fees and costs for license and/or certificate renewal under 
Chapter 1 of these rules, plus a penalty computed as follows. 

1. If the application is made less than one year from 
the date of expiration, the penalty shall be equal to the 
renewal fee of the license and, if applicable, the certificate. 

2. If the application is made more than one but less 
than two years from the date of expiration, the penalty shall 
be equal to twice the renewal fee of the license and, if 
applicable, the certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter G. Medical Psychology Advisory Committee  
§3945. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter identify the constitution, 
functions and responsibilities of the medical psychology 
advisory committee to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3947. Constitution, Function and Responsibilities of 

Advisory Committee 
A. The board shall constitute and appoint a Medical 

Psychology Advisory Committee which shall be organized 
and function in accordance with the MP Act and these rules. 

B. Composition. The committee shall be comprised of 
five members, consisting of: 

1. one physician selected from a list of names 
submitted by the Louisiana State Medical Society, and 
recommended by Louisiana Psychiatric Medical Association 
and LAMP, who is certified in the specialty of psychiatry by 
a member board of the American Board of Medical 
Specialties or the American Osteopathic Association; and 

2. four medical psychologists selected by the board 
from a list of names recommended by LAMP. 

C. Appointment. Each member, to be eligible for and 
prior to appointment to the committee, shall have maintained 
residency and a current and unrestricted license or certificate 
to practice their respective professions in the state of 
Louisiana for not less than two years.  

D. Term of Service. Each member of the committee shall 
serve for a term of four years, or until a successor is 
appointed and shall be eligible for reappointment. 
Committee members serve at the pleasure of the board. 
Committee members may be reappointed to two additional 
terms of four years with the length of the terms to be 
staggered after the first term. 

E. Functions of the Committee. The Committee will 
provide the Board with recommendations relating to the 
following matters: 

1. applications for licensure and for certificates of 
advanced practice (initial and renewal); 

2. educational requirements for licensure and for 
certificates of advanced practice (initial and renewal); 

3. changes in related statutes and rules; and 
4. other activities as might be requested by the board.  

F. Committee Meetings, Officers. The committee shall 
meet at least twice each calendar year, or more frequently as 
may be deemed necessary by a quorum of the committee or 
by the board. Three members of the committee constitute a 
quorum. The committee shall elect from among its members 
a chair, a vice-chair, and a secretary. The chair, or in the 
absence or unavailability of the chair, the vice-chair, shall 
call, designate the date, time, and place of, and preside at all 
meetings of the committee. The secretary shall record or 
cause to be recorded accurate and complete written minutes 
of all meetings of the committee and shall cause copies of 
the same to be provided to the board. 

G. Confidentiality. In discharging the functions 
authorized under this Section, the committee and the 
individual members thereof shall, when acting within the 
scope of such authority, be deemed agents of the board. 
Committee members are prohibited from communicating, 
disclosing, or in any way releasing to anyone other than the 
board, any confidential information or documents obtained 
when acting as the agents of the board without first 
obtaining the written authorization of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter H. Continuing Education 
§3949. Scope of Subchapter 

A. The rules of this Subchapter provide standards for the 
continuing professional education required for annual 
renewal of a license to practice as a medical psychologist, 
and prescribe procedures applicable to satisfaction and 
documentation thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3951. Continuing Education Requirement 

A. To be eligible for license renewal a MP shall evidence 
and document in a format specified by the board the 
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successful completion of 35 hours of approved continuing 
professional education that includes: 

1. not less than 20 hours of continuing medical 
education relevant to the practice of medical psychology; 
and 

2. not less than fift15een hours of continuing 
education in psychology. 

B. A minimum of 25 percent of the continuing medical 
education required by this Section shall be provided by 
LAMP. 

C. At least two hours required by this Section shall be 
devoted to ethics relevant to the practice of medical 
psychology. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3953. Qualifying Programs and Activities 

A. To be acceptable as qualified continuing professional 
education under these rules, an activity or program must 
have significant intellectual or practical content, dealing 
primarily with matters related to medical psychology or 
psychology, and its primary objective must be to maintain or 
increase the participant's competence as a MP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3955. Approval of Program Sponsors 

A. Any category 1 education program, course, seminar 
or activity offered or sponsored by the organizations set 
forth in this Section shall presumptively be deemed 
approved by the board for purposes of qualifying as an 
approved continuing professional education. 

B. Approved sponsors of continuing medical education 
for practitioners licensed under this Part shall include the 
Louisiana Academy of Medical Psychologists, the Louisiana 
State Medical Society, the Louisiana Psychiatric Medical 
Association, the State of Louisiana Department of Health 
and Hospitals Office of Behavioral Health or its successor, 
sponsors accredited by the Accreditation Council for 
Continuing Medical Education approved to offer category 1 
educational activities, and other sponsors as may be 
approved by the board. 

C. Approved sponsors for continuing education in 
psychology shall include the Louisiana Psychological 
Association, the American Psychological Association, the 
Louisiana Academy of Medical Psychologists, the state of 
Louisiana Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of 
Behavioral Health or its successor, and other sponsors as 
may be approved by the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3957. Documentation Procedure 

A. A format or method specified by the board for 
documenting and certifying completion of continuing 
professional education shall be completed by licensees and 
returned with an annual renewal application. 

B. Any certification of continuing professional education 
activities not presumptively approved or preapproved in 
writing by the board pursuant to these rules shall be referred 

to the committee for its evaluation and recommendations. If 
the committee determines that an activity certified by an 
applicant for renewal in satisfaction of continuing education 
requirements does not qualify for recognition by the board or 
does not qualify for the number of continuing education 
units claimed by the applicant, the board shall give notice of 
such determination to the applicant for renewal. The board's 
decision with respect to approval and recognition of any 
such activity shall be final. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3959. Failure to Satisfy Continuing Education 

Requirements 
A. An applicant for license renewal who fails to evidence 

satisfaction of the continuing professional education 
requirements shall be given written notice of such failure by 
the board. The license of the applicant shall remain in full 
force and effect for a period of 60 days following the 
mailing of such notice, following which it shall be deemed 
expired, unrenewed, and subject to revocation without 
further notice, unless the applicant shall have, within such 60 
days, furnished the board satisfactory evidence, by affidavit, 
that: 

1. applicant has satisfied the applicable continuing 
professional education requirements; or 

2. applicant's failure to satisfy the continuing 
professional education requirements was occasioned by 
disability, illness, or other good cause as may be determined 
by the board. 

B. The license of a MP whose license has expired by 
nonrenewal or been revoked for failure to satisfy the 
continuing education requirements of these rules may be 
reinstated by the board within the time and in accordance 
with the procedures for reinstatement provided by these 
rules. 

AUTHOITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S. 37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§3961. Waiver of Requirements 

A. The board may, in its discretion, waive all or part of 
the continuing professional education required by these rules 
in favor of a MP who makes written request for such waiver 
and evidences to the satisfaction of the board a permanent 
physical disability, illness, financial hardship, or other 
similar extenuating circumstances precluding the MP’s 
satisfaction of the continuing professional education 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 61. Medical Psychologists 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§6101. Scope of Chapter 

A. The rules of this Chapter govern the practice of 
medical psychologists in the state of Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Necessity for License, Exemptions  
§6103. Necessity for License 

A. No person shall engage in the practice of medical 
psychology in the state of Louisiana, or identify or hold 
himself or herself out as such, nor use in connection with his 
or her name the words “medical psychologists” or the letters 
“MP” or any other words, letters, abbreviations, insignia, or 
signs tending to indicate or imply that the person is a 
medical psychologist, unless he or she is currently licensed 
by the board as a medical psychologist. 

B. No person shall engage in the advanced practice of 
medical psychology as defined in the MP Act or these rules 
in this state in the absence of a current certificate of 
advanced practice issued by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6105. Exemptions 

A. The provisions of this Chapter shall not prevent, 
restrict the practice, services, or activities of any individual: 

1. licensed by other laws in this state from engaging in 
the profession or occupation for which he or she is licensed; 
or 

2. employed as a medical psychologist by the United 
States government when practicing solely under the 
direction or control of the United States government agency 
by which he or she is employed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Ethical Guidelines, Authority, 

Limitations and Standards of Practice 
§6107. Scope of Subchapter 

A. This Subchapter provides the ethical guidelines, 
authority, limitations and standards of practice of individuals 
licensed to practice medical psychology in the state of 
Louisiana. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6109. Ethical Guidelines 

A. A medical psychologist shall, in the practice of 
medical psychology, observe and abide by the code of ethics 
of the American Medical Association and American 
Psychological Association. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6111. Authority of Practice  

A. An individual currently licensed by the board as a 
medical psychologist is authorized to: 

1. order, administer, and prescribe or distribute 
without charge drugs recognized as customarily used for the 
management of mental, nervous, emotional, behavioral, 
substance abuse and cognitive diseases or disorders; and 

2. order and interpret routine laboratory studies and 
other medical diagnostic procedures, as necessary for 

adequate pretreatment health screening, diagnosis of mental, 
nervous, emotional, behavioral, substance abuse and 
cognitive disorders and treatment maintenance, including 
those necessary for the monitoring of potential side effects 
associated with medications prescribed by the MP. 

B. An individual currently certified for advanced 
practice by the board is authorized to engage in the advanced 
practice of medical psychology as defined by the MP Act 
and these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6113. Limitations of Practice  

A. A medical psychologist shall not: 
1. order, administer, prescribe or distribute drugs that 

are not customarily used for the management of mental, 
nervous, emotional, behavioral, substance abuse and 
cognitive diseases or disorders;  

2 order, administer, prescribe or distribute narcotics, 
as defined in this Part;  

3. utilize controlled substances for the treatment of 
non-cancer related chronic or intractable pain, as set forth in 
§§6915-6923 of the board’s rules or for the treatment of 
obesity, as set forth in §§6901-6913 of the board’s rules; 

4. prescribe medications outside his or her areas of 
competency consistent with his or her training and 
experience as defined by the board; 

5. delegate the administration, prescription, or 
distribution of a drug to any other individual;  

6. engage in practice beyond the authority conferred 
by license or certificate approved by the board; or 

7. employ a physician or enter into an independent 
contractor or similar contractual or financial relationship 
with a physician with whom he or she consults or 
collaborates. The board may grant an exception to this 
requirement on a case-by-case basis where it has been shown 
to its satisfaction that such relationship is structured so as to 
prohibit interference with the physician's relationship with 
patients, his or her exercise of independent medical 
judgment and satisfaction of the obligations and 
responsibilities imposed by law and the board's rules on a 
physician. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6115. Standards for Prescribing by Medical 

Psychologists without a Certificate of Advanced 
Practice  

A. Medical psychologists shall prescribe only in 
consultation and collaboration with the patient's primary or 
attending physician, and with the concurrence of that 
physician. 

B. The medical psychologist shall also re-consult with 
the patient's physician prior to making changes in the 
patient's medication treatment protocol, as established with 
the physician, or as otherwise directed by the physician.  

C. In the event that the primary or attending physician 
does not concur with the psychopharmacologic treatment 
protocol planned by a MP, the MP shall defer to the medical 
judgment of the physician. 
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D. In the event a patient does not have a primary or 
attending physician, the medical psychologist shall not 
prescribe for that patient.  

E. Documentation of Physician Consultation. When 
psychopharmacologic management of a patient is indicated, 
the initial plan shall include consultation with the patient’s 
primary or attending physician. The medical psychologist 
shall document the consultation with the primary or 
attending physician in the patient’s medical record. 
Documentation shall include, but is not necessarily limited 
to: 

1. patient authorization. In order to permit the 
necessary coordination of care for the patient, the MP shall 
obtain a release of information from the patient and/or the 
patient’s legal guardian to contact the patient’s primary or 
attending physician in all cases in which 
psychopharmacologic management is planned. If the patient 
or the patient’s legal guardian declines to sign a release of 
information authorizing coordination of care with his or her 
primary or attending physician, the MP shall inform the 
patient and/or the patient’s legal guardian that he or she 
cannot treat the patient pharmacologically without such 
consultation; 

2. patient identity. The physician’s name; date of 
consultation; and contact information for the patient, 
physician and MP; 

3. purpose. The purpose of consultation (e.g., new 
medication, change in medication, discontinuance of 
medication, adverse treatment effects, treatment failure, 
change in medical status, etc.);  

4. psychological evaluation and diagnosis. If known, 
the psychological evaluation of the patient, including any 
relevant psychological history, laboratory or diagnostic 
studies and psychological diagnosis; and any other 
information the MP or physician deems necessary for the 
coordination of the care for patient; 

5. medication. The specific drug(s) the MP plans to 
utilize, including the starting dosage and titration plan if any; 
frequency of use, the number of refills and anticipated 
duration of therapy; relevant indications and 
contraindications, any previously utilized 
psychopharmacologic therapy, and any alternatives; 

6. treatment plan. The MP’s treatment and/or 
management plan for the patient; 

7. results of consultation. The results of the 
consultation (e.g., concurrence, deferring or denying 
medication recommended by the MP); medications ordered 
(e.g., generic or trade; starting dosage and titration plan, if 
any; number of refills; etc.) and any other information that 
might be necessary for the appropriate coordination of care 
for the patient (e.g., review of prior labs or diagnostic 
procedures; new labs or diagnostic procedures requested by 
the physician, if any; etc.); 

8. responsibilities. Any specific responsibilities of the 
MP and physician respecting the patient’s care; 

9. reporting. Any reporting and documentation 
requirements between the MP and the physician and/or a 
schedule by which such are to take place; and 

10. immediate consultation. A plan to accommodate 
immediate consultation between the MP, physician, and/or 
patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6117. Standards for Prescribing by Medical 

Psychologists Holding a Certificate of Advanced 
Practice  

A. Patients receiving care from a medical psychologist 
who holds a certificate of advanced practice issued under 
this Part shall have an established primary, attending or 
referring physician licensed by the board who shall be 
responsible for the patient's overall medical care. 

B. The primary, attending or referring physician shall 
evaluate the patient for medical conditions in accordance 
with customary practice standards, and as might be indicated 
based on the medications that the patient is receiving and/or 
risk factors that may be present. If the patient has been 
referred to a medical psychologist holding a certificate of 
advanced practice for the express purpose of evaluation and 
treatment to include drug management by the primary, 
attending or referring physician, this condition shall be 
considered met. 

C. The medical psychologist shall provide the primary, 
attending or referring physician with a summary of the 
treatment planned at the initiation of treatment. 

D. The medical psychologist shall provide the primary, 
attending or referring physician with follow-up reports as 
may be dictated by the patient's condition. 

E. The medical psychologist shall provide the patient's 
primary, attending or referring physician with a summary of 
the patient's condition and treatment no less than annually.  

F. The medical psychologist may treat common side 
effects of medications used in the treatment of mental illness 
as defined in this Chapter after consultation with the 
patient’s primary or attending physician and with the 
concurrence of that physician. 

G. The requirements for Subsections C, D and E of this 
Section shall be considered satisfied if the medical 
psychologist provides the physician with a copy of the initial 
examination and follow-up visit records or, in those 
instances in which the medical psychologist is providing 
services authorized under this Section in a hospital or clinic 
setting on referral of the attending or referring physician on 
the medical staff of that hospital or clinic, the medical 
psychologist documents those services in the patient's 
medical record at that hospital or clinic. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
§6119. Informed Consent  

A. In addition to the written release and authorization set 
forth in Section 6115E, a MP shall insure that each of his or 
her patients subject to consultation and collaboration with a 
physician is informed: 

1. of the relationship between the MP and physician 
and the respective role of each with respect to the patient’s 
psychopharmacologic management; 

2. that he or she may decline to participate in such a 
practice and may withdraw at any time without terminating 
the MP-patient relationship; 

3. of the MP’s decision to withdraw from consultation 
and collaboration with a physician; and 
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4. by written disclosure, of any contractual or 
financial arrangement that may impact the MP’s decision to 
engage in consultation and collaboration with a physician. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Grounds for Administrative Action 
§6121. Causes for Administrative Action 

A. The board may refuse to issue, or may suspend or 
revoke any license or certificate, or impose probationary or 
other restrictions on any license or certificate issued under 
this Part, for violation of the board’s rules relative to medical 
psychologists or for any of the causes set forth in MP Act, 
R.S. 37:1360.67A. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
rules on the family has been considered. It is not anticipated 
that the proposed rules will have any impact on family, 
formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed rules 
to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive Assistant, 
Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at Post Office 
Box 30250, New Orleans, Louisiana, 70190-0250 (1515 
Poydras Street, Suite 2700, New Orleans, LA 70112), (504) 
568-6820, Ex. 242. She is responsible for responding to 
inquiries. Written comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., 
December 20, 2010.   

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. Should it become 
necessary to convene a public hearing to receive data, views, 
arguments, information or comments orally in accordance 
with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, the 
hearing will be held on December 28, 2010 at 10 a.m. at the 
office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 
1515 Poydras Street, Suite 2700, New Orleans, LA 70112. 
Any person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held. 

 

Robert L. Marier, M.D. 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Medical Psychologists, General, 

Licensure, Certification and Practice 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Board of Medical Examiners has devoted some 
administrative resources to licensure processing of medical 
psychologists (MPs) who were transferred to its jurisdiction 
pursuant to Act No. 251 of the 2009 legislative session, 

enacting the Louisiana Medical Psychology Practice Act, R.S. 
37:1360.51-1360.72. As the increase in administrative 
workload necessary to accommodate the jurisdictional 
transition has been modest, it has been absorbed by existing 
personnel. Accordingly, other than the rule publication cost, the 
total of which is estimated to be $1,435 during the current 
fiscal year, it is not anticipated that the proposed rules will have 
any significant or material impact on the Board or any other 
state or local governmental unit, inclusive of adjustments in 
workload and paperwork requirements. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of the proposed rules will generate agency 
fees for the issuance and renewal of a medical psychologist 
(MP) license of $250 and $200, respectively, and for the 
issuance and renewal of a certificate for MP advanced practice 
(MPAP) of $150 and $100, respectively. The Board anticipates 
that 63 MP licenses and 19 MPAP certificates will be renewed 
in the current fiscal year. Approximately 10 new applicants for 
initial MP licensure and 5 new applicants for MPAP certificates 
are anticipated each year. Accordingly, anticipated agency 
revenue resulting from implementation of the proposed rules is 
$17,750 for FY 2011 (63 x $200, 19 x $100, 10 x $250 and 5 x 
$150), plus an estimated additional $2500 each subsequent year 
based on new applicants. The Board does not anticipate an 
appreciable increase in the number of new applicants in 
forthcoming years.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

In conformity with Act No. 251 of the 2009 legislative 
session (R.S. 37:1360.51-1360.72), the Board proposes to 
adopt rules governing the licensure, certification and practice of 
medical psychologists in this state. Aside from an application 
form supplied by the Board for initial issuance or renewal of an 
MP license or certificate for MPAP, and payment of the 
applicable fees, it is not anticipated that the proposed rules will 
have any material effect on costs, paperwork or workload of 
MPs or any adverse costs and/or economic impact on 
applicants, licensees or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is not anticipated that the proposed rules will have any 
significant impact on competition or employment in either the 
public or private sector. 

 
Robert L. Marier, M.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1011#121 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Physician Consultation or Collaboration with Medical 
Psychologists (LAC 46:XLV.7203, 7207, and 7215) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., that 
pursuant to the authority vested in the Louisiana State Board 
of Medical Examiners (Board) by the Louisiana Medical 
Practice Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292, and the Louisiana Medical 
Psychology Practice Act, as enacted by the Louisiana 
Legislature in Acts 2009, No. 251, R.S. 37:1360.51-1360.72, 
the board intends to amend its administrative rules 
governing the practice of physicians who engage in 
consultation or collaboration with medical psychologists in 
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this state, LAC Title 46:XLV, Subpart 3, Chapter 72, 
Subchapters A, Sections 7203, 7207 and 7215 to clarify and 
make technical modifications consistent with Act No. 251. 
The proposed rule amendments are set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV.  Medical Professions 

Subpart 3.  Practice 
Chapter 72. Consultation or Collaboration with 

Medical Psychologists 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§7203. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following words and 
terms shall have the meanings specified. 

* * * 
Medical Psychology Practice Act, or MP Act—Acts 

2009, No. 251, R.S. 37:1360.51-1360.72. 
* * * 

Medical Psychologist or MP―a psychologist 
practitioner who has undergone specialized training in 
clinical psychopharmacology, passed a national proficiency 
examination in psychopharmacology approved by the board 
and holds a current license to practice medical psychology in 
this state, duly issued by the board. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1529 
(August 2009); amended LR 37: 
§7207. General Prohibitions 

A. A physician shall not consult and collaborate, as 
defined in §7203 of these rules:  

A.1. - B. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(A)(1), 1270(B)(6) and 37:2371-2378. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1529 
(August 2009), amended, LR 37: 
§7215. Reporting Obligations 

A. A physician who consults and collaborates with a MP 
should report to the board all instances in which he or she 
has a good faith reason to believe that the MP has: 

1. - 4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270, 37:1360.51-1360.72. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 35:1531 
(August 2009), amended, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of the proposed 
Rules on the family has been considered. It is not anticipated 
that the proposed Rules will have any impact on family, 
formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written data, views, 

arguments, information or comments on the proposed rule 
amendments to Rita Arceneaux, Confidential Executive 

Assistant, Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, at 
P.O. Box 30250, New Orleans, LA, 70190-0250 (1515 
Poydras Street, Suite 2700, New Orleans, LA 70112), (504) 
568-6820, Ex. 242. She is responsible for responding to 
inquiries. Written comments will be accepted until 4 p.m., 
December 20, 2010.   

Public Hearing 
A request pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for a public 

hearing must be made in writing and received by the board 
within 20 days of the date of this notice. Should it become 
necessary to convene a public hearing to receive data, views, 
arguments, information or comments orally in accordance 
with the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, the 
hearing will be held on December 28, 2010 at 11 a.m. at the 
office of the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, 
1515 Poydras Street, Suite 2700, New Orleans, LA 70112. 
Any person wishing to attend should call to confirm that a 
hearing is being held. 

 
Robert L. Marier, M.D. 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Physician Consultation or Collaoration 

with Medical Psychologists 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Other than the rule publication costs, the total of which are 
estimated to be $287 during the current fiscal year, it is not 
anticipated that the proposed rule amendments will result in 
any material costs to the Board of Medical Examiners or any 
state or local governmental unit. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on the Board's revenue collections 
or that of any other state or governmental unit by virtue of the 
proposed rule amendments.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The Board proposes to make technical amendments to its 
existing rules respecting physician consultation or collaboration 
with a medical psychologist made necessary in order to 
conform with Act No. 251 of the 2009 legislative session, 
which enacted the Louisiana Medical Psychology Practice Act, 
R.S. 37:1360.51-1360.72. The Board does not anticipate that 
the proposed rule amendments will have any adverse costs 
and/or economic impact on physicians who consult or 
collaborate with medical psychologists. Nor is it anticipated 
that the proposed rule amendments will result in any material 
increase or reduction in workload or additional paperwork for 
applicants, licensees, or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule amendments will not have any material 
impact on competition or employment in either the public or 
private sector. 

 
Robert L. Marier, M.D. Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1011#119 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors 

Wholesale Drug Distribution—Exemptions 
(LAC 46:XCI.105) 

The Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors 
proposes to amend LAC 46:XCI.105 in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and R.S. 37:3467 et seq., of the Louisiana 
Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors Practice Act. This 
proposed rule amendment will support the Board’s ability to 
license entities and regulate the wholesale distribution of 
legend drugs and devices into and within the state of 
Louisiana in its effort to safeguard the life and health of its 
citizens and promote the public welfare. The proposed 
amendment to the rule is set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATION STANDARDS 

Part XCI.  Wholesale Drug Distributors 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§105. Wholesale Drug Distribution—Exemptions 

A. Wholesale drug distribution does not include: 
1. intra-company sales to licensed wholesale drug 

distributors physically located in Louisiana; 
2. - 8. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:3461-3482. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, LR 
35:1537 (August 2009), amended LR 36:321 (February 2010), LR 
37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Public Comments 
Interested parties may submit written comments to 

Kimberly B. Barbier, Executive Assistant, Louisiana Board 
of Wholesale Drug Distributors, 12046 Justice Avenue, Suite 
C, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70816. Comments will be 
accepted through the close of business on December 21, 
2010.  

Public Hearing 
If it becomes necessary to convene a public hearing to 

receive comments in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act, the hearing will be held on Tuesday, 
December 28, 2010, at 11:00 am at the office of the 
Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, 12046 
Justice Avenue, Suite C, Baton Rouge, LA. 

 
John Liggio 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Wholesale Drug  

Distribution—Exemptions 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Estimated implementation costs to the state include those 
associated with publishing the rule amendment estimated at 
$250 in fiscal year 2011.  Licensees will be informed of this 
rule change via the Board’s regular newsletter or other direct 
mailings, which will result in minimal costs to the Board.  
Local governmental units will not incur any costs as a result of 
this rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as there will not be any increase in 
fees resulting from the rule changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The current rule exempts intra-company sales from 
classification as wholesale drug distribution.  The proposed rule 
amendment will clarify that only intra-company sales from a 
wholesale drug distributor located outside Louisiana to an 
affiliated, licensed wholesale drug distributor physically 
located in Louisiana is not wholesale drug distribution 
activities as defined in the Louisiana Wholesale Drug 
Distributors Act. The rule will not require the selling or 
transferring wholesale drug distributor located outside 
Louisiana to obtain a wholesale drug distributor license as 
issued by the Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors.  
There are no costs and/or material economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups from the 
proposed rule change. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

No impact on competition and employment is anticipated 
as a result of the proposed rule change. 

 
John Liggio Robert E. Hosse 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1011#018 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

(LAC 50:V.909) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 50:V.909 
in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, 
et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions which established the prospective reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in private (non-
state) acute care general hospitals and implemented 
prospective per diem rates for various hospital peer groups 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 20, Number 6). Separate peer 
group payment rates were established for certain specialty 
hospital services rendered in the general acute care setting. 
Children’s hospitals were categorized as a specialty hospital 
within the acute care general hospital peer group. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule 
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which amended the June 1994 Rule governing inpatient 
hospital services to revise the qualifying criteria and 
reimbursement methodology for children’s specialty 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, Number 9). The 
provisions of the September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for children’s 
specialty hospitals will be published in a final Rule on 
November 20, 2010 (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 11). This proposed Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the September 1, 2009 Emergency 
Rule governing the qualifying criteria for children’s 
specialty hospitals.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§909. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for 
inpatient services as a children’s specialty hospital, the acute 
care hospital must meet the following criteria: 

1. be recognized by Medicare as a prospective 
payment system (PPS) exempt children’s specialty hospital; 

2. does not qualify for Medicare disproportionate 
share hospital payments; and 

3. has a Medicaid inpatient days utilization rate 
greater than the mean plus two standard deviations of the 
Medicaid utilization rates for all hospitals in the state 
receiving Medicaid payments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have no impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Wednesday, December 29, 2010 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Inpatient Hospital Services Non-Rural, 
Non-State Hospitals Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated programmatic savings to the state 
of $1,135,369 for FY 10-11, $1,440,220 for FY 11-12 and 
$1,469,585 for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $328 ($164 
SGF and $164 FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the 
state’s administrative expense for promulgation of this 
proposed rule and the final rule.  The numbers reflected above 
are based on a blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent.  The enhanced rate of 81.48 
percent for the first six months of the fiscal year is authorized 
by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 
2009.  To the extent that additional enhanced federal match 
would be available after December 2010 (end of the ARRA 
eligibility), state general fund match could be reduced in the 
current fiscal year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will reduce federal revenue collections by approximately 
$3,363,245 for FY 10-11, $3,193,691 for FY 11-12 and 
$3,303,343 for FY 12-13.  It is anticipated that $164 will be 
expended in FY 10-11 for the federal administrative expenses 
for promulgation of this proposed rule and the final rule.  The 
numbers reflected above are based on a blended Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 74.76 percent.  
The enhanced rate of 81.48 percent for the first six months of 
the fiscal year is authorized by the American Recovery and 
Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009.  To the extent that 
additional enhanced federal match would be available after 
December 2010 (end of the ARRA eligibility), state general 
fund match could be reduced in the current fiscal year.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule, which continues the provisions of the 
September 1, 2009 Emergency Rule, amends the provisions 
governing inpatient hospital services to revise the qualifying 
criteria for children’s specialty hospitals (anticipate one 
qualifying hospital).  It is anticipated that implementation of 
this proposed rule will decrease program expenditures in the 
Hospital Program by approximately $4,498,942 for FY 10-11, 
$4,633,911 for FY 11-12 and $4,772,928 for FY 12-13. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule will not have an effect on competition.  However, we 
anticipate that the implementation may have a negative effect 
on employment as it will reduce the payments made to 
children’s specialty hospitals for inpatient hospital services.  
The reduction in payments may adversely impact the financial 
standing of hospitals, and could possibly cause a reduction in 
employment opportunities. 

 
Don Gregory Robert E. Hosse 
Medicaid Director Staff Director 
1011#100 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Labor 
State Plumbing Board 

Continuing Professional Education Programs 
(LAC 46:LV.1003 and 1005) 

The Louisiana State Plumbing Board (board), pursuant to 
R.S. 37:1366(I), which authorizes the board to establish and 
determine by rule minimum requirements relative to 
continuing professional development for the renewal or 
reinstatement of any license or special endorsement issued 
by the board, proposes to amend plumbing regulations, LAC 
46:LV.1003 and 1005, in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. The proposed Rule change allows the board 
to accept an endorsee’s attendance or participation in a board 
approved industry-related recertification programs in lieu of 
a Board-approved CPE class, effective upon final 
publication in the State Register. 

All currently stated rules of the board, unless amended 
herein, shall remain in full force and effect. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part LV.  Plumbers 

Chapter 10. Continuing Professional Education 
Programs 

§1003. Water Supply Protection Specialists 
A. CPE Requirement 

1. Effective January 1, 2011, in addition to the yearly 
renewal of their endorsement, every three years all persons 
holding a water supply protection specialist endorsement 
issued by the Louisiana State Plumbing Board are required 
to show proof of attendance at no less than six hours of a 
Louisiana State Plumbing Board-approved CPE training 
class in the prior three calendar years, as set out in this 
Section. In lieu of attendance at any such class, the Board 
may accept proof of the endorsee’s attendance or 
participation in board-approved industry-related 
recertification programs during the prior three calendar 
years. 

B. - E.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(I). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, State Plumbing Board, LR 30:2074 (September 2004), 
amended LR 37: 
§1005. Medical Gas Piping Installers and Medical Gas 

Verifiers  
A. CPE Requirement 

1. Effective January 1, 2012, in addition to the yearly 
renewal of their endorsement, every three years all persons 
seeing to renew a medical gas piping installer or medical gas 
verifier license issued by the Louisiana State Plumbing 
Board are required to show proof of attendance at no less 
than four hours of a Louisiana State Plumbing Board-
approved CPE class in the prior three calendar years, as set 
out in this Section. In lieu of attendance at any such class, 
the board may accept proof of the endorsee’s attendance or 
participation in board approved industry-related 
recertification programs during the prior three calendar 
years. 

B. - E.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1366(I). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Labor, State Plumbing Board, LR 30:2074 (September 2004), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Estimated effect on the stability of the family: 

There is no estimated effect on the stability of the family. 
2. Estimated effect on the authority and rights of 

parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children: There is no estimated effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. Estimated effect on the functioning of the family: 
There is no estimated effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Estimated effect on family earnings and family 
budget: There is no estimated effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. Estimated effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children: There is no estimated effect on the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Estimated effect on the ability of the family or a 
local government to perform the function as contained in the 
proposed Rule: There is no estimated effect on the ability of 
the family or a local government to perform the function as 
contained in the proposed Rule. 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding the content of this proposed rule change to John 
Barker, Executive Director, 12497 Airline Highway, Baton 
Rouge, LA, no later than 5 p.m., December 20, 2010. 

 
Louis L. Robein 
Board Attorney 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Continuing Professional  

Education Programs 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no implementation costs resulting from the 
proposed rule change. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Currently, the Board requires an annual renewal of 
endorsement by the Board and proof of attendance in at least 
six hours (water supply protection specialists) or at least four 
hours (medical gas piping installers and medical gas verifiers) 
of Certified Plumbing Education courses over the prior three 
years. The proposed rule maintains the annual renewal of 
endorsement requirement but allows the attendance or 
participation at any approved industry-related recertification 
programs during any three-year period in lieu of the current 
attendance requirements. There will be no additional costs to 
any Board licensed individuals. The State Plumbing Board 
believes that the rule change will be more convenient for those 
licensed under the State Plumbing Board to maintain their 
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licensed status. It will eliminate duplication of effort and 
expenses to those licensees who must maintain industry 
certifications in a specialized field. The proposed rule change 
does not increase the continuing professional education 
requirements. It simply allows the individual additional options 
for maintaining their licensed status. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on competition, but 
will continue to increase knowledge and skills of licensees due 
to regular training and updates on industry practices, health, 
conservation and environmental protection. 

 
Louis L. Robein H. Gordon Monk 
Board Attorney Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1011#072 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls 
(LAC 22:I.315) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, hereby gives 
notice of its intent to amend the contents of Section 315 
Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
§315. Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls 

A. Purpose. To state the secretary's policy regarding the 
use of telephones by offenders and the monitoring of 
offender telephone calls at all adult institutions. 

B. Applicability—deputy secretary, chief of operations, 
regional wardens and wardens. Each warden is responsible 
for ensuring that appropriate unit written policy and 
procedures are in place to comply with the provisions of this 
regulation and for implementing and notifying all affected 
persons of its contents. 

C. Policy. It is the secretary's policy that uniform 
telephone procedures, including the ability to monitor and/or 
record offender telephone calls to preserve the security and 
orderly management of the institution and to protect public 
safety, shall be adhered to at all institutions. Each institution 
shall offer offenders (including the hearing and/or speech 
impaired) reasonable access to telephone communication 
without overtaxing the institution's ability to properly 
maintain security and to avoid abuse of this privilege on the 
part of any offender. Offenders with hearing and/or speech 
disabilities and offenders who wish to communicate with 
parties who have such disabilities shall be given access to 
appropriate auxiliary aids and services. It is further the 
secretary's policy to encourage offenders to maintain 
telephone communications while incarcerated in order to 
maintain family connections that will promote unification 
upon release. 

D. Procedures 
1. General 

a. Each offender shall be assigned a personal 
identification number (PIN) which must be used when 
placing outgoing telephone calls; the PIN shall be the 
offender's DOC number. 

b. Each offender will provide his assigned 
institution a master list of up to 20 frequently called 
telephone numbers inclusive of all family, personal and legal 
calls. Each offender's outgoing telephone calls shall be 
limited to those telephone numbers he has placed on his 
master list. Changes may be made to the master list at the 
discretion of the warden, but no less than once each quarter. 
These changes may be entered by the contractor or by 
appropriately trained institutional staff. No offender shall 
place the telephone number of the family of another offender 
on his master list “except for verified members of his own 
family." 

c. For new offenders, PIN and master list numbers 
shall be entered into the telephone system upon intake at the 
reception and diagnostic centers. 

d. All offender telephone calls made through use of 
the offender telephone system shall be recorded and are 
subject to monitoring, this includes calls made to attorneys 
using the offender telephone system. (See Clause D.6.a.iii 
for additional information.) 

e. A visible sign by each offender telephone shall 
place offenders on notice that all calls shall be recorded and 
are subject to monitoring. 

f. A recorded message shall notify all parties that 
all calls shall be recorded and are subject to monitoring and 
that the call originated from a correctional facility. 

g. Use of the offender telephone system shall 
constitute consent by all parties to the recording and/or 
monitoring of the call. 

h. Upon the request of a telephone subscriber, the 
institution shall block a telephone number and prevent the 
subscriber from receiving calls from an offender housed in 
the facility. To accomplish a block of a particular number for 
all state facilities, the institution should contact the 
contractor to request that a universal block be put into place. 

i. Offenders are allowed to make collect calls to 
cell phones. These calls must be set up as direct remit 
accounts with the department's phone service provider. This 
shall be done after approval is received from the department 
to add the cell number. Prepaid cell phones are not allowed 
to set up the direct bill accounts. Cell phones must have a 
provider from a major wireless company i.e., AT and T, 
Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile, etc. 

2. Dormitory Housing (Minimum or Medium 
Custody) 

a. Personal or Family Calls (routine)—Collect 
telephone access should be available on a relatively non-
restricted basis. The specific hours in the various living areas 
at the individual institutions shall be established by the 
warden of each institution. The warden shall communicate 
the telephone schedule to the offender population. A time 
limit should be established. 

b. Personal or Family Calls (emergency)—Requests 
for access outside of normally scheduled hours may be made 
through the dormitory officer, shift supervisor or other 
appropriate staff who decides if the justification the offender 
presents warrants the request. That decision is then logged. 
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No frequency for this type call is established as the severity 
and duration of the emergency may vary. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
schedule for legal calls. Offenders are generally able to place 
legal calls during the lunch period “non-working hours,” or 
after the afternoon count (when "normal office hours" are in 
effect for attorneys.) The warden shall establish an alternate 
procedure if this is not adequate. 

3. Cellblock Housing (Maximum Custody) 
a. Personal or Family Calls (Routine). Collect 

telephone access is generally located in the cellblock lobby. 
(In those situations where the telephone is on the tier, the 
offender may be allowed access during the shower or 
exercise period.) Lobby placement may restrict offender 
access. Therefore, posted policy may limit routine personal 
calls for offenders assigned to cellblocks. Access may vary 
by offender classification status. A time limit should be 
established.  

b. Personal or Family Calls (Emergency). In all 
subclasses of maximum custody, the offender is required to 
request consideration for this type call from the warden's 
designee (shift supervisor, unit major, or program staff) who 
decides if the justification the offender presents warrants the 
request. That decision is then logged. No frequency for this 
type call is established as the severity and duration of the 
emergency may vary. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
procedure for placing legal calls on a reasonable basis during 
"normal office hours." Each housing unit shall maintain a 
legal telephone log for the purpose of monitoring the number 
of legal calls made by offenders on a weekly basis. All legal 
calls are to be logged with the attorney's full name, bar 
number, telephone number called, date, time and whether 
completed. 

4. Incoming Calls 
a. Personal or Family calls (Routine). Messages are 

not accepted or relayed on a routine basis for any offender. 
b. Legal Calls. Offenders may be given notice that 

their attorney has requested contact. Complete verification is 
required prior to processing. If minimum or medium 
custody, the offender may call from the dormitory during 
lunch or after work. If maximum custody, the offender may 
be allowed to call during "normal office hours" at a time 
which does not interfere with the orderly operation of the 
unit. 

5. Emergency Messages/Important Telephone Calls 
Based upon Faith-Based Programs and Services 

a. Emergency messages concerning a serious 
illness, injury, death or other family crisis, etc. shall be 
delivered to an offender by the chaplain or other person 
designated by the warden. Exceptions to this paragraph shall 
only be granted by the warden or designee.  

b. Notification to an offender’s emergency contact 
(or other appropriate person as the situation warrants) of an 
offender’s serious illness, injury or death shall be made in a 
timely manner by the chaplain or other person designated by 
the warden.  

c. Chaplains are allowed discretion to make 
telephone calls for offenders for the purposes of dealing with 
emergency matters. 

6. Monitoring 
a. Offenders shall be put on notice of the following: 

 i. telephone calls in housing areas shall be 
recorded and are subject to monitoring and that “use” 
constitutes “consent”; 
 ii. it is the offender’s responsibility to advise all 
other parties that conversations are subject to being 
monitored and/or recorded; 
 iii. telephone calls to the offender’s designated 
attorney(s) will not be routinely monitored. Any telephone 
calls placed on offender telephones to attorneys shall be 
recorded but not monitored unless the warden determines a 
security need exists. Prior to examination of the content of 
the conversation with the attorney, the party requesting 
examination must put in writing the factors supporting the 
good cause and submit to the warden for approval. Only 
after approval has been received, shall the conversation be 
examined. Only investigators approved by the chief of 
operations shall be allowed to monitor the calls. 

b. The telephone system will normally terminate a 
call at the end of the authorized period (normally 15 
minutes); however, the warden or designee may authorize 
calls of a longer duration as circumstances warrant. Persons 
using the TDD system shall be allowed one hour telephone 
calls. 

c. Offenders shall not be allowed access to home 
telephone numbers nor be allowed to call any staff member 
of the department (including volunteers, contract workers, 
etc.) by any means whether through call forwarding, texting, 
web based or similar communication platforms or systems. 

d. Only authorized (i.e., those who have been 
assigned a login/password) personnel approved by the 
warden or designee may monitor offender telephone calls. 
Information gained from monitoring calls which affects the 
security of the institution or threatens the protection of the 
public shall be communicated to the warden and other law 
enforcement agencies.  

e. Offenders being processed into the system 
through the reception and diagnostic centers shall be 
required to give “consent” in writing, acknowledging that 
they are aware that their telephone calls shall be recorded 
and are subject to monitoring. A copy of this “consent” shall 
be placed in the offender’s master record. 

f. Each institution’s orientation manual shall 
include the information contained in this regulation as a 
means to notify the offender population of its contents and 
verbal notification shall be given during the orientation 
program. A sign shall be posted at each offender telephone 
which states the following information: 

ATTENTION 
This telephone has been electronically programmed to 
monitor and/or record telephone calls. By using this 
telephone, you consent to the monitoring and/or 
recording of your conversation. Telephone calls to your 
designated attorney(s) will not be routinely monitored. 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Department Regulation No. B-08-001 

7. Remote Call Forwarding 
a. Remote Call Forwarding (RCF) is a mechanism 

by which offenders may employ a local telephone number 
that automatically forwards the telephone call to a pre-
selected number generally located out of the local calling 
area code or long distance. RCF in essence is an automated 
3-way call. 
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b. RCF is also known as automated call forwarding 
or PBX call forwarding. Use of this automated and remote 
mechanism represents significant security risks for several 
reasons. The telephone call terminated number (the end 
destination of the call) cannot be readily identified or 
verified. This number is not a traditional telephone number 
located at a residence, business or other such location but 
merely a number within the telephone switching equipment 
local to the facility where the offender is housed. 

c. RCF initiated calls to an unidentified terminated 
number can and are being easily forwarded to unauthorized 
telephones. This forwarding is done through the normal 3-
way call hook ups. This in fact negates the security 
mechanisms achieved by the requirement of approved 
telephone lists. Safeguards to prevent calls to victims, to 
blocked or restricted numbers or to prevent other 
unauthorized call activities are defeated by the use of an 
RCF number. 

d. RCF usage creates an opportunity to conduct 
criminal or illegal or unauthorized activities since the end 
call location is not readily being identified, verified or its 
actual location known. This affords untold opportunity for 
offenders to engage in potential scams, to call victims, to 
facilitate escape attempts and to engage in other conduct 
representing significant security risks to the facility. 

e. The offender population shall be put on notice 
that all third-party telephone calls, including RCF calls, are 
strictly prohibited and such activity shall result in 
appropriate disciplinary action. 

f. Wardens shall develop a monitoring system to 
analyze the frequency of local calls. High frequency may 
indicate RCF utilization. When RCF calls are discovered, a 
system-wide block of the number shall be initiated pursuant 
to Subparagraph D.1.i. of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:829. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 29:360 
(March 2003), amended LR 29:2849 (December 2003), LR 35:87 
(January 2009), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
Amendment to the current Rule has no known impact on 

family formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Melissa Callahan, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, P. O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804 until 
4:30 p.m. on December 09, 2010. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Telephone Use and Policy  

on Monitoring of Calls 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This is a technical adjustment to an existing regulation. 
There will be no fiscal impact associated with amending the 

existing Department of Corrections regulation on Telephone 
Use and Policy on Monitoring Calls. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units since this is a technical adjustment. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost and/or economic benefit to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment associated with this rule change. 

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1011#116 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Corporation Income and Franchise Tax Extension Payments 
(LAC 61:III.1505) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, 287.651, and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to adopt LAC 
61:III.1505 to mandate that the payment of taxes due with a 
request for an extension of time to file a return be submitted 
electronically. 

Section 287.651(D) of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes provides that corporation income taxes may be paid 
by check, bank draft, post office money order, express 
money order, electronic funds transfer, or credit or debit 
cards. Beginning with the filing of the 2010 corporation 
income and 2011 franchise tax returns, taxpayers who 
electronically request an extension of time to file their 
returns must electronically pay any income and franchise 
taxes due on or before the due date of the return in order to 
avoid interest and delinquent payment penalty assessments.  

This proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.1505 should not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D). 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative Provisions and Miscellaneous 
Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payments  
§1505. Corporation Income and Franchise Tax 

Extension Payments  
A. Form of payment 

1. Louisiana Revised Statute Title 47 Section 
287.651(D) provides that the secretary may accept payment 
of taxes by: 

a. check; 
b bank draft; 
c. post office money order; 
d. express money order; 
e. electronic funds transfer; or 
f. credit or debit cards. 
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2. A taxpayer required to submit any return, report, or 
request for an extension to file electronically, is also required 
to submit an accompanying payment electronically. 

B. Electronic Payments 
1. Electronic payments must be submitted on or 

before the due date of a return or report. 
2. An electronic payment may be submitted via: 

a. credit or debit card; 
b. ACH debit payment, or, 
c. any other electronic method authorized by the 

secretary. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1511, 1514, and 103(D). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 37: 
Family Impact Statement 

The proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.1505, regarding 
Corporation Income and Franchise Tax Extension Payments, 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on the 
stability of the family, the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children, the 
functioning of the family, family earnings and family 
budget, the behavior and personal responsibility of children, 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function.  

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act, the Department of Revenue has determined 
that the proposed adoption of this Rule will have negligible 
impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 

in writing to Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary, Office of 
Legal Affairs, Louisiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 
44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 
219-2759. All comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., 
Tuesday, December 28, 2010. A public hearing will be held 
on Wednesday, December 29, 2010, at 10:00 a.m. in the 
River Conference Room on the Seventh Floor of the LaSalle 
Building at 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-
5428. 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Corporation Income and Franchise Tax 

Extension Payments 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed rule mandates the electronic filing of a 
prepayment of taxes due with an electronic request for an 
extension of time to file a corporation income and franchise tax 
return. There is no anticipated cost to implement the proposed 
rule, but the proposed rule will allow the reallocation of 
resources being used to process manual extension payments to 
other tax processing functions. The current fiscal year budget 
for the Revenue Processing Center (RPC) has been cut by $1 
million. In FY 10, the Department paid about $725,000 for 
roughly 100 temporary workers. In FY 11, the Department has 
$374,000 available for temporary workers and anticipates an 
increase in processing time. In the past, RPC has utilized 

temporary personnel during the income tax rush to, among 
other things, process manual payments. Since RPC will lack the 
financial resources to hire temporary personnel for the FY 11 
income tax rush, mandating electronic filing of the prepayment 
of taxes due with an electronic request for an extension of time 
to file a corporation income and franchise tax return will allow 
the reallocation of resources being used to process manual 
extension payments to other tax processing functions.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule, mandating the electronic filing of a 
prepayment of taxes due with an electronic request for an 
extension of time to file a corporation income and franchise tax 
return, will have no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. Extension payments are currently 
accepted by check, bank draft, post office money order, express 
money order, electronic funds, or credit or debit card. The 
proposed rule would limit payments to credit or debit cards, 
automated clearinghouse debit payments or any other electronic 
method authorized by the secretary, which may be a statutory 
conflict. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Every taxpayer making a prepayment of taxes due with an 
electronic request for an extension to file a corporation income 
and franchise tax return will be affected by the proposed rule. 
The proposed rule limits payments with corporate extensions to 
electronic means while the current rule allows payment by 
check, bank draft, post office money order, express money 
order, electronic funds, or credit or debit card. However, 
because prepayments of taxes due can be filed electronically 
through the LDR web site or through tax preparation software 
for free, there is no anticipated cost to these taxpayers. The 
Department will have internet kiosks available in all 
Department of Revenue offices and internet access is also 
available through public libraries. This proposed rule will serve 
to alleviate some of the reliance on temporary workers related 
to extensions and will not result in a decrease in processing 
time for returns as most e-file mandates do given budgetary 
limitations. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule should not affect competition or 
employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary Staff Director 
1011#070 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Corporation Income and Franchise Tax Filing Extensions  
(LAC 61:III.2503) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, 1514, 287.614(D), 
612, and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes 
to amend LAC 61:III.2503, to mandate the electronic filing 
of a request for an extension to file a Corporation Income 
and franchise Tax return.  

The secretary of revenue is authorized, but not required, to 
grant a reasonable extension of time to file a Louisiana 
corporation income tax return. It has been Louisiana 
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Department of Revenue (LDR) practice in past years to 
accept paper extensions, submitted prior to or with the 
return. Beginning with returns due on or after January 1, 
2011, corporate taxpayers needing additional time to file a 
corporation income and franchise tax return must 
electronically submit a request for an extension of time to 
file on or before the return due date.  

This proposed amendment of LAC 61:III.2503 should not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D). 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative Provisions and Miscellaneous 
Chapter 25. Returns 
§2503. Corporation Income and Franchise Tax Filing 

Extensions  
A. Louisiana Revised Statute Title 47, Section 

287.614(D) provides that the secretary may grant a 
reasonable extension of time to file a state corporation 
income and franchise tax return, not to exceed seven months 
from the date the return is due.  

1. To obtain a filing extension, the taxpayer must 
make the request on or before the tax return’s due date. 

2. A taxpayer must request a state filing extension by 
submitting an electronic application. 

3. An electronic application may be submitted via: 
a. the Department of Revenue’s web site at 

www.revenue.louisiana.gov;  
b. tax preparation software; or 
c. any other electronic method authorized by the 

secretary. 
B. Filing Extension Does Not Extend Time to Pay Tax 

1. A filing extension granted by the secretary only 
allows for an extension of time to file the tax return. The 
extension does not allow an extension of time to pay the tax 
due. 

2. To avoid interest and penalty assessments, income 
and franchise taxes due must be prepaid on or before the 
original due date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511, and 287.614(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.2503, regarding 

Corporation Income and Franchise Tax Filing Extensions, 
should not have any known or foreseeable impact on the 
stability of the family, the authority and rights of parents 
regarding the education and supervision of their children, the 
functioning of the family, family earnings and family 
budget, the behavior and personal responsibility of children, 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function.  

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act, the Department of Revenue has determined 
that the proposed adoption of this Rule will have negligible 
impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 

in writing to Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary, Office of 
Legal Affairs, Louisiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 

44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 
219-2759. All comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., 
Tuesday, December 28, 2010. A public hearing will be held 
on Wednesday, December 29, 2010, at 10 a.m. in the River 
Conference Room on the 7th Floor of the LaSalle Building 
at 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5428. 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Corporation Income and Franchise Tax 

Filing Extensions 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed amendment to LAC 61:III.2503 mandates 
the electronic filing of requests for extensions to file 
corporation income and franchise tax returns. There is no 
anticipated cost to implement this amended rule, but this 
amendment will allow the reallocation of resources being used 
to process paper extension requests to other tax processing 
functions; resulting in a cost savings.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment to this rule, mandating the 
electronic filing of all requests for an extension to file a 
corporation income and franchise tax return, will have no effect 
on revenue collections of state or local governmental units. 
Extension requests are currently accepted by paper or 
electronically. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The current fiscal year budget for the Revenue Processing 
Center (RPC) has been cut by $1 million. In the past, RPC has 
utilized temporary personnel during the income tax rush to, 
among other things, process paper extension requests. Since 
RPC will lack the financial resources to hire temporary 
personnel for FY 11 income tax rush, mandating the electronic 
filing of every request for an extension to file a corporation 
income and franchise tax return will allow RPC to process 
those requests using available personnel.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed amendment to this rule should not affect 
competition or employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary Staff Director 
1011#071 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Individual Income Tax Extension Payments 
(LAC 61:III.1503) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, 105(G), and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to adopt LAC 
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61:III.1503 to mandate the electronic filing of the payment 
of taxes due with a request for an extension of time to file. 

Section 105(G) of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes provides that individual income taxes may be paid 
by check, bank draft, post office money order, express 
money order, electronic funds transfer, or credit or debit 
cards. Beginning with the filing of the 2010 individual 
income tax returns, taxpayers electronically requesting an 
extension of time to file their individual income tax return 
must electronically pay any income taxes due on or before 
the due date of the return (2010 returns are due May 16, 
2011) in order to avoid interest and delinquent payment 
penalty assessments.  

This proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.1503 should not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D). 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative Provisions and Miscellaneous 
Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payments 
§1503. Individual Income Tax Extension Payments  

A. Form of Payment 
1. Louisiana Revised Statute Title 47 Section 105(G) 

provides that the secretary may accept payment of taxes by: 
a. check; 
b bank draft; 
c. post office money order; 
d. express money order; 
e. electronic funds transfer; or 
f. credit or debit cards. 

2. A taxpayer required to submit any return, report, or 
request for an extension to file electronically, is also required 
to submit an accompanying payment electronically. 

B. Electronic Payments 
1. Electronic payments must be submitted on or 

before the due date of a return or report. 
2. An electronic payment may be submitted via: 

a. credit or debit card; 
b. ACH debit payment; 
c. any other electronic method authorized by the 

secretary. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:1511, and 105(G). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 37: 
Family Impact Statement 

The proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.1503, regarding 
Individual Income Tax Extension Payments, should not have 
any known or foreseeable impact on the stability of the 
family, the authority and rights of parents regarding the 
education and supervision of their children, the functioning 
of the family, family earnings and family budget, the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children, the ability 
of the family or a local government to perform this function.  

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act, the Department of Revenue has determined 
that the proposed adoption of this Rule will have negligible 
impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 

in writing to Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary, Office of 

Legal Affairs, Louisiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 
44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 
219-2759. All comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., 
Tuesday, December 28, 2010. A public hearing will be held 
on Wednesday, December 29, 2010, at 10:00 a.m. in the 
River Conference Room on the Seventh Floor of the LaSalle 
Building at 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-
5428. 

 

Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Individual Income Tax Extension 
Payments 

 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed rule mandates the electronic filing of a 
prepayment of taxes due with an electronic request for an 
extension of time to file an individual income tax return. There 
is no anticipated cost to implement the proposed rule, but the 
proposed rule will allow the reallocation of resources being 
used to process manual extension payments to other tax 
processing functions.  

The current fiscal year budget for the Revenue Processing 
Center (RPC) has been cut by $1 million. In FY 10, the 
Department paid about $725,000 for roughly 100 temporary 
workers. In FY 11, the Department has $374,000 available for 
temporary workers and anticipates an increase in processing 
time. In the past, RPC has utilized temporary personnel during 
the income tax rush to, among other things, process manual 
payments. Since RPC will lack the financial resources to hire 
temporary personnel for the FY 11 income tax rush, mandating 
electronic filing of the prepayment of taxes due with an 
electronic request for an extension of time to file an individual 
income tax return will allow the reallocation of resources being 
used to process manual extension payments to other tax 
processing functions.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule, mandating the electronic filing of a 
prepayment of taxes due with an electronic request for an 
extension of time to file an individual income tax return, will 
have no effect on revenue collections of state or local 
governmental units. Extension payments are currently accepted 
by check, bank draft, post office money order, express money 
order, electronic funds, or credit or debit card. The proposed 
rule would limit payments to credit or debit cards, automated 
clearinghouse debit payments or any other electronic method 
authorized by the secretary, which may be a statutory conflict. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Every individual taxpayer making a prepayment of taxes 
due with an electronic request for an extension to file an 
individual income tax return will be affected by the proposed 
rule. The proposed rule limits payments with individual 
extensions to electronic means while the current rule allows 
payment by check, bank draft, post office money order, express 
money order, electronic funds, or credit or debit card. However, 
because prepayments of taxes due can be filed electronically 
through the LDR web site or through tax preparation software 
for free, there is no anticipated cost to these taxpayers. The 
Department will have internet kiosks available in all 
Department of Revenue offices and internet access is also 
available through most public libraries. This proposed rule will 
serve to alleviate some of the reliance on temporary workers 
related to extensions and will not result in a decrease in 
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processing time for returns as most e-file mandates do given 
budgetary limitations. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This proposed rule should not affect competition or 
employment. 

Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, in 
writing to Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary, Office of Legal 
Affairs, Louisiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 44098, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 219-2759. All 
comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., Tuesday, December 
28, 2010. A public hearing will be held on Wednesday, 
December 29, 2010, at 10:00 a.m. in the River Conference 
Room on the 7th Floor of the LaSalle Building at 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5428. 

 
Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary Staff Director 
1011#068 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Individual Income Tax Filing Extensions  
(LAC 61:III.2501) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, 103(D), and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, proposes to amend LAC 
61:III.2501 to mandate the electronic filing of a request for 
an extension to file an individual income tax return. 

The secretary of revenue is authorized, but not required, to 
grant a reasonable extension of time to file a Louisiana 
individual income tax return. It has been Louisiana 
Department of Revenue (LDR) practice in past years to 
accept paper extensions, submitted prior to or with the 
return. Beginning with returns due on or after January 1, 
2011, individuals needing additional time to file their 
income tax returns must electronically request an extension 
of time to file on or before the return due date. (2010 returns 
will be due May 16, 2011). 

This proposed amendment of LAC 61:III.2501 should not 
have any known or foreseeable impact on any family as 
defined by R.S. 49:972(D). 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative Provisions and Miscellaneous 
Chapter 25. Returns 
§2501. Individual Income Tax Filing Extensions 

A. Louisiana Revised Statute Title 47, Section 103(D) 
provides that the secretary may grant a reasonable extension 
of time to file a state individual income tax return, not to 
exceed six months from the date the return is due.  

1. To obtain a filing extension, the taxpayer must 
make the request on or before the tax return’s due date. 

2. A taxpayer must request a state filing extension by 
submitting: an electronic application. 

3. An electronic application may be submitted via: 
a. the Department of Revenue’s web site at 

www.revenue.louisiana.gov; 
b. tax preparation software; or 

c. any other electronic method authorized by the 
secretary. 

B. Filing Extension Does Not Extend Time to Pay Tax 
1. A filing extension granted by the secretary only 

allows for an extension of time to file the tax return. The 
extension does not allow an extension of time to pay the tax 
due. 

2. To avoid interest and penalty assessments, taxes 
due must be prepaid on or before the original due date. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511, and 103(D). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of LAC 61:III.2501, regarding 

Individual Income Tax Filing Extensions, should not have 
any known or foreseeable impact on the stability of the 
family, the authority and rights of parents regarding the 
education and supervision of their children, the functioning 
of the family, family earnings and family budget, the 
behavior and personal responsibility of children, the ability 
of the family or a local government to perform this function.  

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Regulatory 

Flexibility Act, the Department of Revenue has determined 
that the proposed adoption of this Rule will have negligible 
impact on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit data, views, or arguments, 

in writing to Shone Pierre, Assistant Secretary, Office of 
Legal Affairs, Louisiana Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 
44098, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-4098 or by fax to (225) 
219-2759. All comments must be submitted by 4:30 p.m., 
Tuesday, December 28, 2010. A public hearing will be held 
on Wednesday, December 29, 2010, at 9:00 a.m. in the River 
Conference Room on the 7th Floor of the LaSalle Building 
at 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802-5428. 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Individual Income Tax Filing Extensions 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This proposed amendment to LAC 61:III.2501 mandates 

the electronic filing of requests for extensions to file individual 
income tax returns. There is no anticipated cost to implement 
this amended rule, but this amendment will allow the 
reallocation of resources being used to process paper extension 
requests to other tax processing functions.  

The current fiscal year budget for the Revenue Processing 
Center (RPC) has been cut by $1 million. In FY 10, the 
Department paid about $725,000 for roughly 100 temporary 
workers. In FY 11, the Department has $374,000 available for 
temporary workers and anticipates an increase in processing 
time. In the past, RPC has utilized temporary personnel during 
the income tax rush to, among other things, process paper 
extension requests. Since RPC will lack the financial resources 
to hire as many temporary personnel for the FY 11 income tax 
rush, mandating the electronic filing of every request for an 
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extension to file an individual income tax return will allow 
RPC to process those requests using available personnel.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed amendment to this rule, mandating the 
electronic filing of all requests for an extension to file an 
individual income tax return, will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. Extension 
requests are currently accepted by paper or electronically. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Every individual taxpayer filing a request for an extension 
to file an individual income tax return will be affected by the 
proposed amendment to this rule. The proposed rule limits 
individual extension filing to electronic means while the 
current rule allows paper or electronic filing. However, because 
extension requests can be filed electronically through the LDR 
web site or through tax preparation software for free, there is 
no anticipated cost to these taxpayers. The Department will 
have internet kiosks available in all Department of Revenue 
offices and internet access is also available through public 
libraries. This proposed rule will serve to alleviate some of the 
reliance on temporary workers related to extensions and will 
not result in a decrease in processing time for returns as most e-
file mandates do given budgetary limitations. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed amendment to this rule should not affect 
competition or employment. 

 
Cynthia Bridges Robert E. Hosse 
Secretary Staff Director 
1011#069 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Transportation and Development 

Outdoor Advertising (LAC 70:III.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is 
hereby given that the Department of Transportation and 
Development intends to amend Part III of Title 70, entitled 
"Outdoor Advertising", in accordance with R.S. 48:461, et 
seq. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION 

Part III.  Outdoor Advertising 
Chapter 1. Outdoor Advertising 
Subchapter C. Regulations for Control of Outdoor 

Advertising 
§127. Definitions 

Centerline of Highway—a line of equal distance from the 
edges of the median separating the main-traveled ways of a 
divided Interstate Highway, or the centerline of the main-
traveled way of a non-divided interstate highway or the 
centerline of each of the main-traveled ways of a divided 
highway separated by more than the normal median width or 
constructed on independent alignment. 

Controlled Areas—within urban areas, the applicable 
control area distance is 660 feet measured horizontally from 
the edges of the right-of-way along a line perpendicular to 
the centerline of the Interstate and/or Federal Aid Primary 

Systems or National Highway System. Outside urban areas, 
the control area extends beyond 660 feet to include any sign 
within visibility of the Interstate and/or Federal Aid Primary 
System or National Highway System.  

* * * 
Destroyed Sign—means that 50 percent or more of the 

upright supports of a sign structure are physically damaged 
so that normal repair practices would require: 

1. In the case of wooden sign structures, replacement 
of the broken supports, or, 

2. In case of metal sign structures, replacement of a 
least thirty percent of the length above ground of each 
broken, bent or twisted support. 

* * * 
Maintenance—means to allow to exist. The dimensions of 

the existing sign are not to be altered nor shall any additions 
be made to it except for a change in message content. When 
the damage to the upright supports of a sign is 50 percent or 
more (see definition of destroyed sign), it shall be 
considered new construction and shall be subject to all 
requirements pertaining to new construction. 

* * * 
Zoned Commercial or Industrial Areas—means those 

areas which are zoned for business, industry, commerce or 
trade pursuant to a state or local zoning ordinance or 
regulation. A zone in which limited commercial or industrial 
activities are permitted as an incidental to other primary land 
uses is not considered to be a commercial or industrial zone 
for outdoor advertising purposes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 28:872 (April 2002), amended LR 31:944 (April 2005), LR 
33:530 (March 2007), LR 37: 
§132. Off-Premise Changeable Message Signs 

A. Changeable Message Sign—any outdoor advertising 
sign which displays a series of advertisements, regardless of 
technology used, including, but not limited to, the following: 

1. rotating slats; 
2. changing placards; 
3. rotating cubes; 
4. changes in light configuration or light colors; 
5. LED (light emitting diodes)/video displays. 

B. Qualifying Criteria 
1. - 3. ... 
4. The use of such technology is limited to 

conforming signs only. Application of such technology to 
nonconforming signs is prohibited.  

5. - 7. ... 
8. On stacked sign structures, changeable message 

signs shall be allowed one per side. 
9. Changeable message signs shall not exceed 672 

square feet. 
C. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of the General Counsel, 
LR 25:2463 (December 1999), amended LR 37: 
§134. Spacing of Signs 

A. ... 
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B. Interstate Highways and Freeways on the Federal-Aid 
Primary System and National Highway System (Control of 
Access Routes). 

1. No two structures shall be spaced less than 1000 
feet apart. 

2. ... 
C. Freeways on the Federal-Aid Primary System or 

National Highway System (Control of Access Routes) 
1. Outside of incorporated villages, towns and cities, 

No two structures shall be spaced less than 500 feet apart. 
2. Outside of incorporated villages, towns and cities, 

no structure may be located adjacent to or within 500 feet of 
an interchange, intersection, intersection at grade or safety 
rest area. 

D. Non-Freeway Federal-Aid Primary highways or 
National Highway System 

1. Outside of incorporated villages, towns and cities, 
no two structures shall be spaced less than 300 feet apart. 

2. Within incorporated villages, towns and cities, no 
two structures shall be less than 100 feet apart. 

E. The above provisions applying to the spacing between 
structures do not apply to structures separated by buildings 
or other obstructions in such a manner that only one sign 
facing located within the above spacing distance is visible 
from the highway at any one time. This exception does not 
apply to vegetation. 

F. Official and "on-premise" signs, as defined in §139, 
and structures that are not lawfully maintained shall not be 
counted nor shall measurements be made from them for 
purposes of determining compliance with spacing 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, 
LR 28:872 (April 2002), amended LR 33:530 (March 2007), LR 
37: 
§135. Measurements for Spacing 

A. - C. ... 
D. For continuous ramps which start at one entrance and 

end at the next exit, the allowable spacing shall be measured 
from the intersection of the edge of the mainline shoulder 
and the edge of the ramp shoulder; or in the case of bridges, 
the measurement would be taken where the mainline and the 
ramp bridge rails meet. This provision shall apply to 
§134.B.1 and 2 and §134.C.1 and 2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, LR 2:188 (June 1976); amended 
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
Highways/Engineering, LR 31:945 (April 2005), LR 33:350 
(March 2007), amended LR 37: 
§136. Erection and Maintenance of Outdoor 

Advertising in Unzoned Commercial and 
Industrial Areas. 

A. Definitions 
Unzoned—Repealed 
Unzoned Commercial or Industrial Areas—those areas 

which are not zoned by state or local law, regulation, 
ordinance and on which there are located one or more 
permanent structures within which a commercial or 
industrial business is actively conducted, and where the area 

along the highway extends outward 800 feet from and 
beyond the edge of the activity. 

B. Qualifying Criteria 
1. Primary Use Test 

a. - b. ... 
c. The fact that an activity may be conducted for 

profit in the area is not determinative of whether or not an 
area is an unzoned or commercial area. Activities incidental 
to the primary use of the area, such as a kennel or a repair 
shop in a building or on land which is used primarily as a 
residence, school, church or assisted/extended living 
facilities do not constitute commercial or industrial activities 
for the purpose of determining the primary use of an 
unzoned area even though income is derived from the 
activity. 

d. ... 
e. The actual land use at the sign site cannot be 

agricultural or farming. 
2. - 2.c. ... 
3. Structures and Grounds Requirements 

a. - f. ... 
g. Limits. Limits of business activity shall be in 

accordance with the definition of Unzoned commercial or 
industrial areas as stated in §136.B.2. 

h. Activity requirements. In order to be considered a 
commercial or industrial activity for the purpose of outdoor 
advertising regulation, the following conditions shall be 
taken into consideration by the department. The department 
shall make a determination based upon a totality of the 
circumstances.  
 i. The purported activity enterprise is open for 
business and actively operated and staffed with personnel on 
the premises a minimum of eight hours each day and a 
minimum of five days each week. However, some 
businesses may not require staffing, such as a laundry mat, 
car wash, etc. The department has the discretion to 
determine whether the business requires staff to operate the 
business. 
 ii. ... 
 iii. A sufficient inventory or products is 
maintained for immediate sale or delivery to the consumer. 
If the product is a service, it is must be available for 
purchase on the premises. 
 iv. ... 

C. Where a mobile home, manufactured building, or a 
recreational vehicle is used as a business or office, the 
following conditions and requirements also apply. 

1. - 4. ... 
D. Non-Qualifying Activities 

1. - 4. ... 
5. activities conducted in a building principally used 

as a residence, school, church or assisted/extending living 
facility. 

6. - 10. ... 
11. recreational facilities 
12. Repealed 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, LR 25:880 (May 1999), amended 
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
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Highways/Engineering, LR 31:945 (April 2005), repromulgated LR 
32:117 (January 2006), amended LR 37: 
§137. Nonconforming Signs 

A. In addition to all other laws, regulations and rules, the 
following conditions and requirements apply to continue and 
maintain a nonconforming sign. 

1. ... 
2. Reasonable repair and maintenance of the sign 

includes a change of advertising message, repainting of the 
structure, sign face, or trim, and replacing electrical 
components after failure. Reasonable maintenance also 
includes replacement of stringers, platforms and worker 
supports. The type of sign face may not be changed, except 
that a wood or steel face may be wrapped with a vinyl wrap 
containing the message or the face may be replaced with a 
panel free frame for hurricane protection. Lighting cannot be 
added to the sign structure or placed on the ground with the 
intention of illuminating a previously unilluminated 
nonconforming sign. Replacement of 50 percent or more of 
the upright supports is prohibited. (See definitions of 
“Destroyed Sign” in §127). 

3. A substantial change in the subject sign which will 
terminate the status of legal but nonconforming usage occurs 
when: 

a. there has been an addition of 25 percent or more 
of the square footage of the sign (excluding trim); 

b. there has been a any change in the material 
composition of the sign super-structure or sign facing. The 
cost of which exceeds the cost of replacement or repair of 
the original materials. other than reasonable maintenance as 
defined in Section 137.2 (wooden poles must be replaced by 
wooden poles. I-beams, pipe or other metal poles must be 
replaced or repaired with the same materials.) 

4. When and if nonconforming use rights in and to a 
sign structure are acquired by the Louisiana Department of 
Transportation and Development through the exercise of 
eminent domain, just compensation will be based upon the 
original size and material of the sign when it became a 
nonconforming structure and not upon any enlarged size, 
improvement or betterment to the sign. 

5. When any sign which loses its nonconforming use 
status by reason of any substantial change, including those 
changes prohibited above, the subject sign will be 
considered a new advertising device and subject to all 
current regulations and prohibitions as of the time of the 
change. 

6. Destruction. Nonconforming signs are considered 
destroyed when 50 percent or more of the upright supports 
of a sign structure are physically damaged such that normal 
repair practices would call for:  

a. in the case of wooden sign structures, 
replacement of the broken supports; or  

b. in case of metal sign structures, replacement of at 
least thirty percent of the length above ground of each 
broken, bent or twisted support; or  

c. any signs so damaged by intentional, criminal 
conduct may be re-erected within 180 days from the date of 
destruction to retain nonconforming status; however such re-
erection must occur at the identical location and the size, 
lighting and spacing must be identical to the prior 
circumstances; 

d. nonconforming signs cannot be modified or 
repaired unless the requirements of this Section are met. 
Prior to repair or modification, authorized district personnel 
must review the damages and approve the repairs. If the sign 
is repaired prior to approval by the department’s authorized 
personnel, the sign shall become illegal and the permit shall 
be revoked. The request and documentation of what is to be 
repaired must be made to the outdoor advertising program 
manager by certified mail. The department shall respond to 
the request within 14 business days of receipt of the certified 
letter. The department’s 30 failure to respond within 14 
business days of receiving the repair request will allow the 
owner to repair the sign without the department’s approval.  

8. Abandonment 
a. ... 
b. The said 12 month period may be interrupted for 

the period of time during which the controlled highway 
relative to such sign is closed for repairs adjacent to said 
sign or the sign owner is able to demonstrate that the sign 
has been the subject of an administrative or legal proceeding 
preventing the owner from displaying copy. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 2:188 
(June 1976), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 29:2855 
(December 2003), amended LR 37: 
§139. Determination of On-Premise Exemptions 

A. - B.(1).a. - e. ... 
2. Activity Requirements 

a. The purported activity enterprise is open for 
business and actively operated and staffed with personnel on 
the premises a minimum of eight hours each day and a 
minimum of five days a week. However, some businesses 
may not require staffing, such as a laundry mat, carwash, etc. 
The department has the discretion to determine if staffing is 
required in order to operate the business. 

b. ... 
c. A sufficient inventory of products is maintained 

for immediate sale or delivery to the consumer. If the 
product is a service, it must be available for purchase on the 
premises. 

B.3. - C.1.b.ii. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, LR 2:189 (June 1976), amended 
by the Department of Transportation and Development, Office of 
Highways/Engineering, LR 31:945 (April 2005), repromulgated LR 
32:117 (January 2006), amended LR 33:531 (March 2007), LR 37: 
§143. Procedure and Policy for Issuing Permits for 

Controlled Outdoor Advertising 
A. - D. ... 
E. The department must be notified in writing by the 

original permittee upon any change or transfer of ownership 
of the permitted installation. Such notification may be done 
by submittal of the sales agreement.  

F. An original signature of the landowner or a copy of 
the current lease agreement shall be submitted with each 
application. 

G. Every applicant who seeks to situate a controlled 
advertising structure in a commercial or an industrial zone 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2736 

shall furnish evidence of the restrictive zoning of the subject 
land on the department's zoning supplement form which 
shall be completed by the appropriate state or local authority. 

H. Permit applications which are properly completed and 
executed and which are accompanied by all other required 
documentation shall be thereafter submitted by the district 
office to the appropriate permit office in Baton Rouge, 
Louisiana, for review. Permits applications which are not in 
proper form or which are not complete or not accompanied 
by required documentation or do not meet the requirements 
of state law at the time of the submittal of the application 
shall be returned to the applicant by the district office with 
reasons for its return. Applications may be resubmitted at 
any time. 

I. The appropriate permit-issuing officer designated by 
the department shall review all permit applications. 
Thereafter, permits shall be issued or the application rejected 
and returned to the applicant with reasons for denial of the 
permit. 

J. ... 
K. Each permit shall specify a time delay of 12 months 

within which to erect the subject advertising device. The 
district office shall determine whether or not the device has 
been erected within the specified time delay. 

L. If a sign has not been erected within the delay 
provided by the subject permit, the permit may be voided by 
the department and the applicant or permittee so notified. On 
the day following the posting of notice to any such applicant 
or permittee of the voiding of the permit to the last known 
address as furnished by the applicant, the subject sign 
location shall be available to any other applicant. 

M. - O. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 2:191 
(June 1976), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 29:2856 
(December 2003), LR 31:945 (April 2005), LR 33:532 (March 
2007), LR 37: 
§144. Penalties for Illegal Outdoor Advertising Signs 

A. An outdoor advertising sign is deemed to be illegal 
for the purpose of issuing penalties if: 

1. the owner has received a certified letter from the 
department under the provisions of R.S. 48:461.7 and has 
failed to respond within the time allotted; or 

2. the owner has received a certified letter from the 
department provided for in R.S. 48:461.7; received a permit 
review as provided for hereafter, with a ruling of illegality 
by the permit review committee; and failed to appeal to a 
court of competent jurisdiction; 

3. the owner replied to the certified letter provided for 
in R.S. 48:461.7; received a permit review as provided for 
hereafter; received a ruling of illegality by the permit review 
committee; appealed said ruling to a court of competent 
jurisdiction and a final ruling of illegality was rendered by 
the court. 

B. - D.1.c. ... 
d. Traffic Engineering or their designated 

representative.  
2 - 5. ... 

6. Permittee's failure to submit an appeal in a timely 
manner shall constitute a waiver of the permit review 
process. 

E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

48:461 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 24:960 
(May 1998), amended by the Department of Transportation and 
Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 29:2856 
(December 2003), LR 37: 
§145. Directional Signs 

A. Directional signs are those containing directional 
information about public places owned or operated by 
federal, state or local governments or their agencies; publicly 
or privately owned natural phenomena, historic, cultural, 
scientific, educational and religious sites; and areas of 
natural scenic beauty or areas naturally suited for outdoor 
recreation. 

B. Standards for Directional Signs 
1. The following criteria apply only to directional 

signs. 
a. General. The following signs are prohibited: 

 i. signs advertising activities which are illegal 
under federal or state laws or regulations in effect at the 
location of those signs or at the location of those advertised 
activities; 
 ii. signs located in such a manner as to obscure or 
otherwise interfere with the effectiveness of an official 
traffic sign, signal or device, or obstruct or interfere with the 
driver's view of approaching, merging or intersecting traffic; 
 iii. signs which are erected or maintained upon 
trees or painted or drawn upon rocks or other natural 
features; 
 iv. obsolete signs; 
 v. signs which are structurally unsafe or in 
disrepair; 
 vi. signs which move or have any animated or 
moving parts; 
 vii. signs located in rest areas, on park land or in 
scenic areas. 

b. Size. No sign shall exceed the following limits: 
 i. maximum area―150 square feet; 
 ii. maximum height―20 feet; 
 iii. maximum length―20 feet; 
 iv. All dimensions include border and trim, but 
exclude supports. 

c. Lighting. Signs may be illuminated, subject to 
the following provisions: 
 i. signs which contain, include or are illuminated 
by any flashing, intermittent or moving light or lights are 
prohibited; 
 ii. signs which are not effectively shielded so as 
to prevent beams or rays of light from being directed at any 
portion of the traveled way of an Interstate or primary 
highway or which are of such intensity or brilliance as to 
cause glare or to impair the vision of the driver of any motor 
vehicle, or which otherwise interfere with any driver's 
operation of a motor vehicle are prohibited; 
 iii. no sign may be so illuminated as to interfere 
with the effectiveness of or obscure an official traffic sign, 
device, or signal. 
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d. Spacing 
 i. Each location of a directional sign must be 
approved by the department. 
 ii. No directional sign may be located within 2000 
feet of an interchange or intersection at grade along the 
Interstate system or other freeways (measured along the 
Interstate or freeway from the nearest point of the beginning 
or ending of pavement widening at the exit from or entrance 
to the main traveled way.) 
 iii. No directional sign may be located within 2000 
feet of a safety rest area, parkland or scenic area. 
 iv. No two directional signs facing the same 
direction of travel shall be spaced less than one mile apart. 
 v. Not more than three directional signs 
pertaining to the same activity and facing in the same 
direction of travel may be erected along a single route 
approaching the activity. 
 vi. Signs located adjacent to the Interstate system 
shall be within 75 air miles of the activity. 
 vii. Signs located adjacent to the primary system 
shall be within 50 air miles of the activity. 

e. Message Content 
 i. The message on the directional signs shall be 
limited to the identification of the attraction or activity and 
directional information useful to the traveler in locating the 
attraction, such as mileage, route numbers or exit numbers.  
 ii. Descriptive words or phrases and pictorial or 
photographic representations of the activity or its environs 
are prohibited. 

f. Selection Method and Criteria 
 i. Privately owned activities or attractions 
eligible for directional signing are limited to the following: 

(a). natural phenomena; 
(b). scenic attractions; 
(c). historic, educational, cultural, scientific and 

religious sites; and 
(d). outdoor recreational area. 

 ii. Privately owned attractions or activities must 
be nationally or regionally known and of outstanding interest 
to the traveling public, as determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Outdoor Advertising, LR 37: 
Subchapter D. Outdoor Advertising Fee Schedule 
§148. Issuance of Outdoor Advertising Permits for 

Grandfathered Nonconforming Signs 
A. Applications shall be made by the person who is the 

owner of the sign which is the subject of the permit. 
B. Applicants for a permit shall execute an application 

form furnished by the department and shall forward the 
properly and completely executed application form to the 
appropriate district office of the department. The 
"appropriate district office" shall be the district office where 
the sign to be permitted is located. 

C. The appropriate permit issuing officer designated by 
the department shall review all permit applications. 
Thereafter, permits shall be issued and a copy of the permit 
shall be sent to the applicant. 

D. Copies of all permits shall be transmitted to the 
district where the sign is located for subsequent surveillance 
by the district office. 

E. The department must be notified in writing by the 
original permittee upon any change or transfer of ownership 
of the permit. Such notification shall be by submittal of the 
sales agreement. 

F. An original signature of the landowner or a copy of 
the current lease agreement shall be submitted with each 
permit. 

G. A grandfathered sign cannot be modified or repaired 
unless the requirements of Section 137 are met. Prior to 
repair or modification, district personnel must review the 
damages and approve the repairs. If the sign is repaired prior 
to approval by the department’s authorized personnel, the 
sign shall become illegal and the permit shall be revoked. 
The department shall respond within two weeks of receiving 
documentation of repairs to be made by the sign owner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:461, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, LR 37: 
§149. Permit Fee 

A. The following permit fee schedule is applicable to 
new and replacement outdoor advertising signs beginning on 
the effective date of this rule change: 

a. one to 100 square feet―$75 (per sign face) for a 
12 month period until installation. Annual renewal fee after 
erection is $7.50 (per sign face). 

b. 100 to 301 square feet―$125 (per sign face) for 
a 12 month period until installation. Annual renewal fee after 
erection is 12.50 (per sign face); 

c. 301 square feet and up―$250 (per sign face) for 
a 12 month period until installation. Annual renewal fee after 
erection is $25 (per sign face). 

B. Annual Renewal Due Dates and Extensions 
1. Annual renewal fees are due by July 1 of each year. 
2. A permit shall expire and the sign structure will 

become illegal if the annual renewal fees are not paid by 
July 1 of each year. This applies to all permits, including but 
not limited to legal, nonconforming and grandfathered signs. 

3. Extensions may be granted for 30 days provided 
that a request is made prior to July 1. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
48:274.1, et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, Office of Highways, LR 12:602 
(September 1986), amended by the Department of Transportation 
and Development, Office of Highways/Engineering, LR 29:2857 
(December 2003), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of this Rule should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically: 

1. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the stability of the family.  

2. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. 

3. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the functioning of the 
family. 
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4. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. The implementation of this proposed rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the ability of the family or 
a local government to perform this function. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons so desiring shall submit oral or 

written data, views, comments or arguments no later than 30 
days from the date of publication of this Notice of Intent. 
Such comments should be submitted to Sherryl J. Tucker, 
Attorney, P.O. Box 94245, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, 
Telephone (225)242-4659. 

 
Sherri H. Lebas, PE. 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Outdoor Advertising 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no implementation costs associated with this 

proposed rule. Implementation of the proposed rule will place 
the Department in compliance with federal law (23 CFR 
750.707(d)(6)(i) and make the existing rules more clear and 
workable for the department and the outdoor advertising 
industry. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule has no impact on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units. 

The portion of the proposed rule modifying the outdoor 
advertising fee schedule is revenue neutral. The fee 
modification is as follows: 1-100 square feet – the fee is 
changing from $37.50/face for 6 months to $75.00/face for 12 
months; 100-300 square feet  - the fee is changing from 
$62.50/face for 6 months to $125.00/face for 12 months; 301 
square feet and up – the fee is changing from $125.00/face for 
6 months to $250.00/face for 12 months. The fee schedule 
modifications are doubling the time frame of the permits, 
which should result in a neutral impact upon departmental 
revenue collections.  The department will no longer provide a 
six month permit. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The outdoor advertising industry is most directly affected 
by this rule change. The proposed rules more clearly detail 
actions that could cause permit revocation by the department or 
the need for remediation by the permittee. The fee schedule 
modifications should be revenue neutral. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no effect on competition or employment.  
The proposed rule applies equally to all facets of the outdoor 
advertising industry. 

 
Eric Kalivoda Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Secretary Staff Director 
1011#061 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Transportation and Development 

Tourist Oriented Directional Signs 
(LAC 70:III.502, 503, 505 and 506) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., notice is 
hereby given that the Department of Transportation and 
Development intends to amend Chapter 5 of Part III of Title 
709 entitled “Installation of Tourist Oriented Directional 
Signs (TODS)”, in accordance with R.S. 48:461, et seq. 

Title 70 
TRANSPORTATION 

Part III.  Outdoor Advertising 
Chapter 5. Installation of Tourist Oriented 

Directional Signs (TODS) 
§502. Definitions 

A. Except as defined in this paragraph, the terms used in 
this rule shall be defined in accordance with the definitions 
and usage of the Louisiana Manual on Uniform Traffic 
Control Devices (MUTCD). 

* * * 
Tourist Activities—publicly or privately owned or 

operated; natural phenomena, historic, cultural, scientific, 
educational, or religious sites, and areas of national beauty 
or areas naturally suited for outdoor recreation, the major 
portion of whose income or visitors are derived during the 
normal business season from motorists not residing in the 
immediate area of the activity. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

48:461.2 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, LR 12:1596 (December, 1993), 
amended LR 22:229(March, 1996), amended LR 37: 
§503. General Eligibility Requirements 

A. ... 
B. Types of attractions may include, but will not be 

limited to the following: 
1. national historical sites, parks, cemeteries, 

monuments;  
2. state historical sites, parks, monuments; cultural 

attractions;  
3. aquariums, museums, zoos, planetariums, and 

arboretums;  
4. lakes and dams, recreational areas, beaches; 
5. Indian sites, historical homes/buildings, 

gift/souvenir shops; 
6. bed and breakfast establishments; and 
7. hotels, motels and restaurants only if they are listed 

on the National Register of Historic Places. 
C. - K. ... 
L. Sign design. TOD signs will be designated as follows: 

1. Each sign should have one or two lines of legend. 
All signs shall have a directional arrow with mileage. The 
content of the legend shall be limited to the name of the 
attraction and the directional information. If space exists on 
the second line, additional directional information may be 
indicated, e.g., one-fourth, mile on left, left on Second 
Street, etc. The maximum number of letters and spaces on a 
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given line will be 18. Legends shall not include promotional 
advertising. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
48:461.2 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, LR 12:1596 (December, 1993), 
amended LR 22:229 (March, 1996), amended LR 37: 
§505. Application Procedure 

A. Applications for TODS shall be submitted to the LA 
DOTD Office of the Traffic Services Administrator. 

B. Personnel assigned to the Office of DOTD traffic 
services administrator or their agent will review the 
application and a field check will be made by the district 
traffic operations engineer or its agent to verify information 
provided and to collect additional data on existing 
conditions, including whether a location for a TODS exists 
at the requested intersection and what trailblazing will be 
necessary. 

C. Applications shall then be submitted to the DOTD 
TODS manager or its agent for further review. 

D. The DOTD traffic services administrator or its agent 
shall then forward the application with information to the 
Assistant Secretary of the Louisiana Office of Tourism. 

E. The DOTD outdoor advertising program manager 
section 45 or its agent will determine if the applicant 
qualifies as a tourist activity and make a report of its finding 
to the assistant secretary of the Louisiana Office of Tourism. 

F. TODS applications will be accepted on a "first-come" 
basis. 

G. All TODS signs shall be furnished by the businesses 
at no cost to DOTD or its agent and shall be manufactured in 
accordance with DOTD Standards or Special Specifications 
and/or supplements thereto, for both materials and 
construction. Signs not meeting these requirements shall not 
be installed. 

H. Applicants must submit a layout of professional 
quality or other satisfactory evidence indicating design of 
the proposed TODS sign for approval by DOTD or its agent 
before the sign is fabricated. 

I. Applicant must supply all signs within 90 days of 
approval. Failure to do so may cause DOTD or its agent to 
void the application. 

J. Applicant will be limited to two mainline signs and a 
minimal number of trailblazer signs, the number deemed 
necessary to be determined by the department or its agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with L.R.S. 
48:461.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Transportation and Development, LR 12:1596 (December, 1993), 
amended LR 22:229 March 1996), amended LR 37: 
§506. Fees and Agreements 

A. The fees and renewal dates shall be established by the 
department. Notification will be given 30 days prior to 
changes in fees.  

1. The permittee will be invoiced for renewal 30 days 
prior to the renewal date. The fee shall be remitted by check 
or money order payable to the Louisiana Department of 
Transportation and Development or its agent. Failure of a 
business to submit the renewal fee(s) by the annual renewal 
date shall be cause for removal and disposal of the TOD 
signs by the department or its agent. The initial fee shall be 
prorated by the department to the annual renewal date to 
cover the period beginning with the month following the 

installation of the TOD signs. Service fees will be charged 
for the removal and reinstallation of delinquent applicants. 

2. When requested by the applicant, the department or 
its agent, at its convenience, may perform additional 
requested services in connection with changes of the TOD 
sign, with a service charge per sign. A service fee will be 
charged for removal and reinstallation of seasonal signs. 

3. The department or its agent shall not be responsible 
for damages to TOD signs caused by acts of vandalism, 
accidents, natural causes (including natural deterioration), 
etc. requiring repair or replacement. In such events the 
business shall provide a new or renovated business sign 
together with payment of a service charge fee per sign to the 
department or its agent to replace such damaged business 
sign(s). 

4. Tourist attractions requesting placement of TOD 
signs shall submit to the department or its agent a completed 
application form provided by the department or its agent. A 
business which would not typically qualify for a sign may be 
permitted if the business is a building listed on the National 
Register of Historic Places. However, the name to be placed 
on the sign shall be determined by the DOTD TODS 
manager, section 45 or its agent.  

5. No TOD sign shall be displayed which, in the 
opinion of the department, does not conform to department 
standards, is unsightly, badly faded, or in a substantial state 
of dilapidation. The department or its agent shall remove or 
replace any such TOD signs as appropriate. Removal shall 
be performed upon failure to pay any fee or for violation of 
any provision of these rules. 

6. When a TOD sign is removed, it will be taken to 
the district office of the district in which the activity is 
located or to the permitted business. The applicant will be 
notified of such removal and given 30 days in which to 
claim the sign or signs, after which time, the sign or signs 
shall be disposed of by the department or its agent. 

7. Should the department or its agent determine that 
trailblazing to a tourist attraction is warranted, it shall be 
done with an assembly (or series of assemblies) consisting of 
trailblazing signs. The attraction will be responsible for 
having the signs installed on all local roads by the parish or 
municipality in which the signs are to be located. 

8. ... 
9. When it comes to the attention of the department or 

its agent that a participating activity is not in compliance 
with the minimum criteria, or does not meet the general 
eligibility requirements, the applicant will be notified that it 
has a maximum of 30 days to correct any deficiencies or its 
signs will be removed. If the applicant applies for 
reinstatement, this request will be handled in the same 
manner as a request from a new applicant. 

10. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with L.R.S. 

48:461.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Transportation and Development, LR 12:1596 (December, 1993), 
amended LR 22:230 (March 1996), amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed adoption of this Rule should not have any 

known or foreseeable impact on any family as defined by 
R.S. 49:972(D) or on family formation, stability and 
autonomy. Specifically: 
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1. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the stability of the family.  

2. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the authority and rights of 
parents regarding the education and supervision of their 
children. 

3. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The implementation of this proposed Rule will have 
no known or foreseeable effect on the ability of the family or 
a local government to perform this function. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons so desiring shall submit oral or 

written data, views, comments, or arguments no later than 30 
days from the date of publication of this Notice of Intent. 
Such comments should be submitted to Sherryl J. Tucker, 
Senior Attorney, Department of Transportation and 
Development, Post Office Box 94245, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804-9245, Telephone (225) 242-4659. 

 
Sherri H. Lebas, P.E. 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Tourist Oriented Directional Signs 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no implementation costs associated with this 

proposed administrative rule. This rule makes technical 
changes to the existing administrative rule which governs the 
Tourist Oriented Directional Signs (TODS) Program. The 
proposed rule allows for buildings placed on the National 
Register of Historic Places to utilize TODS and makes 
adjustments in the application process which allows the private 
contractor to efficiently administer the program. Due to the 
current contractor collecting all fees and administering this 
program, DOTD will not incur any expenditure costs associated 
with the program. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of this rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on non-governmental groups as a 
result of this rule change. There were no fees charged to 
participate in the program prior to the program being 
privatized. The department was absorbing the cost to install and 
maintain the TODS. To the extent that the private contractor 
continues administering the program, permittees should 
continue to receive the attention and advertising benefits of the 
TODS program because the proposed rules do not provide for 
the private contractor to charge a fee for these services. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There should be no effect on competition or employment.  
The proposed rule applies equally to all permittees. 

 
Eric Kalivoda Robert E. Hosse 
Deputy Secretary Staff Director 
1011#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Assignment of HINs to Undocumented Vessels 
Manufactured in Louisiana (LAC 76:XI.309) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of intent to enact rules governing the assignment of 
hull identification numbers to undocumented vessels 
manufactured in Louisiana that do not qualify for hull 
identification number assignment by the United States Coast 
Guard.  

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XI.  Boating 
Chapter 3. Boating Safety 
§309. Assignment of Hull Identification Numbers to 

Undocumented Vessels Manufactured in 
Louisiana  

A. The following regulations shall provide for the 
assignment of hull identification numbers (HIN) to 
undocumented vessels manufactured in this state that do not 
qualify for the assignment of such numbers by the United 
States Coast Guard.  

B. The manufacturer(s) of such vessels shall submit an 
Application for Eligibility requesting approval from the 
department. The manufacturer must be capable of producing 
a minimum of 10 vessels annually and must provide proof of 
security in one of the following forms to be eligible to 
receive the HIN’s:  

1. pre-payment of a minimum of one block of 10 HIN 
numbers, or 

2. bond, letter of credit, or other security, in an amount 
and form acceptable to the secretary, determined on a case 
by case basis. 

C. Upon receipt of an application for eligibility from a 
manufacturer, an agent from the enforcement division shall 
conduct an initial inspection of the manufacturer’s vessel 
fabrication location. 

D. Upon favorable inspection, the manufacturer(s) shall 
be approved to receive HIN’s issued in blocks of 10 
individual HINs upon the manufacturer’s request. The 
department shall charge a fee of $25 per issued HIN. 

E. Manufacturer(s) receiving department-issued HIN, as 
described in this Section, shall comply with the following 
procedures. 

1. The HIN must be stamped on the vessel before it 
leaves the manufacturer’s facility. 

2. The manufacturer(s) must produce a manufacturer 
statement of origin (MSO) as described in R.S. 34:852.11. 
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The manufacturer shall provide the purchaser and/or 
transferee with the original MSO. 

3. Manufacturer(s) must maintain records of all 
vessels stamped with HIN from the block of numbers issued 
to the manufacturer by the department. These records must 
include the date the vessel was stamped, vessel make, 
principle vessel hull material, vessel length, vessel type, HIN 
stamped on vessel, date vessel was sold or ownership 
transferred, and name and address of the transferee. These 
records shall be kept in the form of a log book issued by the 
department. The log book shall be returned to the department 
upon completion. Manufacturers must maintain a copy of the 
log book for three years. 

F. Agents from the enforcement division may inspect the 
manufacturer(s)’ facility, records, and/or vessels to verify 
that the manufacturer is maintaining compliance with the 
stated procedures.  

G. Violation of this section shall be fined not less than 
$500; but no more than $1000, or imprisoned for not more 
than 30 days, or both, for each violation as provided in R.S. 
34:852.22. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
34:852.13.B.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR:37 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife is authorized 
to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of the 
commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent. This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit comments relative to the 

proposed Rule to Lt. Col. Jeff Mayne, Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife Division, Box 98000, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70898-9000, prior to Thursday, January 6, 2011. 

 
Stephen J. Oats 
Chairman 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE: Assignment of HINs to Undocumented 
Vessels Manufactured in Louisiana  

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No implementation costs or savings to state or local 

governmental units are anticipated. Implementation of the 
proposed rule will be carried out using existing staff and 
funding level. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state and local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Boat manufacturers whose vessels do not qualify for the 
assignment of hull identification numbers (HINs) by the U.S. 
Coast Guard, but qualify for such numbers from the Louisiana 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries under the guidelines of 
the proposed rule will directly benefit. They will be able to 
receive blocks of 10 hull identification numbers upon request 
from the department to stamp on the vessels they build. This is 
anticipated to streamline the process for qualifying 
manufacturers to obtain HINs. State law requires that a vessel 
have a HIN before it can be registered or receive a certificate of 
title from the department.       

The proposed rule will require additional paperwork for 
qualifying boat manufacturers, since they will be required to 
maintain records for a period of three years on all vessels with 
a HIN issued by the department. The records will be kept in the 
form of a log book provided by the department and must be 
returned to the department when complete. No additional costs 
will result from the proposed action, since the current charge to 
have a vessel inspected for HIN ($25) is the same as the cost 
per HIN issued under this rule. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to have no effect on 
competition or employment in the public or private sectors. 

 
Lois Azzarello Robert E. Hosse 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1011#034 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

 



 

Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2742 

Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Veterinary Medicine 

Board Meeting Dates 

The Members of the Louisiana Board of Veterinary 
Medicine will meet at 8:30 a.m. on the following dates in 
2011: 

Thursday, February 3, 2011 
Thursday, April 7, 2011 
Thursday, June 2, 2011 (Annual Meeting) 
Thursday, August 4, 2011 
Thursday, October 6, 2011 
Thursday, December 1, 2011 
 

These dates are subject to change, so please contact the 
board office via telephone at (225) 342-2176 or email at 
admin@lsbvm.org to verify actual meeting dates. 
 

Wendy D. Parrish 
Executive Director 

1011#042 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Ambulatory Surgical Centers 
Minimum Licensing Standards 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing published a Notice of Intent for 
Ambulatory Surgical Centers in the October 20, 2010 edition 
of the Louisiana Register (Volume 36, Number 10). This 
Notice of Intent was published with an incorrect Public 
Hearing date. The Public Hearing for the Ambulatory 
Surgical CentersMinimum Licensing Standards Notice of 
Intent will be held on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 
9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville Building, 628 North 
Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA.  

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#107 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

CommunityCARE Program 
Primary Care Provider Referral Exemptions 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing published a Notice of Intent for 
the CommunityCARE Program in the October 20, 2010 
edition of the Louisiana Register (Volume 36, Number 10). 
This Notice of Intent was published with an incorrect Public 
Hearing date. The Public Hearing for the CommunityCARE 
ProgramPrimary Care Provider Referral Exemptions 
Notice of Intent will be held on Wednesday, November 24, 
2010 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, Bienville Building, 628 
North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA.  

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#114 
 

 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Estate Recovery 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing published a Notice of Intent for 
Estate Recovery in the October 20, 2010 edition of the 
Louisiana Register (Volume 36, Number 10). This Notice of 
Intent was published with an incorrect Public Hearing date. 
The Public Hearing for the Estate Recovery Notice of Intent 
will be held on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 at 9:30 a.m. 
in Room 118, Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, 
Baton Rouge, LA.  

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1011#115 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Emergency Response Network Board 

Standard LERN Entry and Destination Criteria 

On October 21, 2010, the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1)] revised, adopted and 

promulgated “Standard LERN Entry Criteria” and “Standard 
Destination Protocol” for use in all Regions, except Region 
7, of the Louisiana Emergency Response Network [R.S. 
40:2842(3)], replacing the “LERN Entry Criteria” and 
“LERN Region 4 LCC Destination Protocol,” adopted and 
promulgated June 18, 2009, as follows. 

 
 

STANDARD LERN ENTRY CRITERIA 
Pre-Hospital & Hospital Triage Protocol 

 
 
 
 

YES 
 
 
 
 
 Neurologic Trauma 
 
 
 
 
      YES 
 
 
 
  
 
 Physiologic 
 
 
 

    YES 
   
 
 
 
 
 
 

Anatomic 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

   YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Mechanism 
 
 
 
 

� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40% BSA without IV 

 
 

 

� GCS <14 + one or more of the following:  
� Penetrating head injury or depressed skull fracture 
� Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 

weakness, motor, or sensory deficit) 
 

 
 
 

Call LCC 
 

� SBP <90 (adults &  > 9 y/o)  
 <70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
 <70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
 <60 (term neonate) 
� RR  <10 or >29 (adults & > 9 y/o) 
 <15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
 <25 or >50 (<12 m/o)  
 

 
 
 

Call LCC 
 

� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso & extremities 
proximal to elbow & knee 

� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist & ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral 

deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip fractures 
from same level falls 

� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, elbow) 
� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged capillary 
refill, motor or sensory deficits distal to fracture, etc. 

 
 
 

Call LCC 
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    YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Special 
  YES  
 
 
 
 Other 
 

    YES 
 
 
 
  
 

STANDARD DESTINATION PROTOCOL 
 
 
 
 
 YES 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 NO 
Neurologic Trauma 
 
 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
           
  
 NO  
 
Physiologic 
 
 
 

YES         YES 
 

 
 
 
 
   
 NO 

� Falls > 20 ft. (adults) 
        > 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 

� High-risk auto crash 
Intrusion > 12 in, occupant site:  
 >18 in. any site 

o Ejection, partial or complete from automobile 
o Death in same passenger compartment 

� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or 
significant (>20 MPH) impact 

� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 

 
 
 

Call LCC 
 

� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns  (will follow ABA guidelines) 
 

 
Call LCC 

� Age >55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation & bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 
 

 
Call LCC 

 

� Unmanageable Airway 
� Tension Pneumothorax 
� Traumatic cardiac arrest 
� Burn patient without patent airway 
� Burn patient >40% BSA without IV 

 
 

 

� GCS <14   
� Penetrating head injury or depressed skull fracture 
� Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
� Deterioration of the GCS 
� Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided 

weakness, motor, or sensory deficit) 

 
 
 

LERN Level I or II 
 

� SBP <90 (adults &  > 9 y/o)  
 <70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
 <70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
 <60 (term neonate) 
� RR   <10 or >29 (adults & > 9 y/o) 
 <15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
 <25 or >50 (<12 m/o)  

 
 
 

LERN 
Level I, II or III 
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Anatomic 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
Mechanism NO 
 
 
 
 
  YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
   
 
 
Special NO 
 
  YES 
 
  

 

 NO 

Other 
  
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Coletta Barrett, RN, MHA 
Chair 

1011#020 
 
 

� All penetrating injuries to neck, torso & extremities 
proximal to elbow & knee 

� Flail Chest 
� 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
� Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
� Amputation proximal to wrist & ankle 
� Pelvic Fracture 
� Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral 

deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip fractures 
from same level falls   

� Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, elbow) 
� Open Fractures 
� Fractures with neurovascular compromise 

(decreased peripheral pulses or prolonged capillary 
refill, motor or sensory deficits distal to fracture, 
etc.) 

 
 
 

LERN 
Level I, II or III 

 

� Falls > 20 ft. (adults) 
  > 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 

� High-risk auto crash 
o Intrusion > 12 in, occupant site:  
o   > 18 in. any site 
o Ejection, partial or complete from automobile 
o Death in same passenger compartment 

� Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or 
significant ( >20 MPH) impact 

� Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 
 

� Pregnancy >20 weeks 
� Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) 
 

 
 
 

LERN 
Level II or III 

 

LERN 
Level II or III 

� Age >55 y/o or <8 y/o 
� Anticoagulation & bleeding disorders 
� End stage renal disease 
� Transplant patients 

 
LERN 

Level II, III or IV 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 
 

Operator Field Distric
t 

Well 
Name 

Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

R L Kelly, 
Sr. 

Edgerly L Vua; 
Koonce U2 

002 59079 

Goldking 
Production 

Co. 

Port Allen L Lefebvre 001 149696 
(30) 

Trendsetter 
Production 

Co, Inc 

Big Creek M Parker 001 175437 

Unknown Blue Lake S Sabine 
Lumber Co 

001 990466 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Brown-
Holt 

002 110720 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Brown-
Holt 

001 110721 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Brown-
Holt 

003 156521 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Brown-
Holt 

004 156522 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S J Barlow 001 156762 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S J Barlow 002 156763 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S J Barlow 003 156764 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S J Barlow 004 156765 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Cecil 
Barlow 

001 157648 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Cecil 
Barlow 

002 157649 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Caddo Pine 
Island 

S Cecil 
Barlow 

004 157651 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

001 65407 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

005 65884 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

003 66145 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

004 66146 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

006 67996 

Operator Field Distric
t 

Well 
Name 

Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

008 68839 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

010 70804 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

011 71102 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

013 72444 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

012 72445 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Soniat Et 
Al 

002 105874 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney 001 106514 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney 002 107090 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney 003 107091 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney Swd 004 107092 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Soniat Et 
Al 

009 108334 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Soniat Et 
Al 

007 109190 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney-
Kirkpatrick 

Swd 

A-2 109644 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney-
Kirkpatrick 

A-1 109645 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney-
Kirkpatrick 

A-4 109760 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney-
Kirkpatrick 

A-3 109761 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Abney-
Kirkpatrick 

A-5 109762 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Soniat Et 
Al 

008 110592 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Soniat Et 
Al 

011 111652 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

001 166100 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

002 166101 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

003 166102 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

004 166103 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

006 166449 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

007 166450 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

009 166452 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 36, No. 11   November 20, 2010 2747 

Operator Field Distric
t 

Well 
Name 

Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

022 168020 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Brown 001 171448 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Pxy 
Sua;Brown 

001-D 172458 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Soniat Et 
Al 

001 179390 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

A-1 199876 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

015 208636 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

014 208637 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

016 208882 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Fred 
Wappler P 

017 208917 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

005 215591 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

010 236914 

Dalnor 
Corporation 

Greenwood
-Waskom 

S Nettie 
Soniat 

012 236916 

Greenwood-
Waskom 

S Soniat 
Et Al 
Swd 

011 971645 971645 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1011#039 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of the Secretary 

Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund  

Loran CoordinatesOctober 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et seq., 
notice is given that 6 claims in the amount of $24,770.47 
were received for payment during the period October 1, 
2010-October 31, 2010  

There were 6 paid and 0 denied.  
Latitude/Longitude Coordinates of reported underwater 

obstructions are: 
 

2917.522 8958.843 Jefferson 
2922.097 9017.533 Lafourche 
2928.714 8958.744 Jefferson 
2932.608 8954.565 Plaquemines 
2950.530 8941.467 St. Bernard 
3003.390 8939.417 St. Bernard 

 
A list of claimants and amounts paid can be obtained from 

Gwendolyn Thomas, Administrator, Fishermen's Gear 
Compensation Fund, P.O. Box 44277, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804 or you can call (225)342-0122.  

 
Robert D. Harper  
Secretary 

1011#036 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of the Secretary 

Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund  

Loran CoordinatesSeptember 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et seq., 
notice is given that 8 claims in the amount of $25,054.90 
were received for payment during the period September 1, 
2010-September 30, 2010  

There were 8 paid and 0 denied.  
Latitude/Longitude Coordinates of reported underwater 

obstructions are: 
 

2903.290 9038.564 Terrebonne 
2903.486 9039.345 Terrebonne 
2916.058 9006.273 Lafourche 
2932.146 8950.913 Plaquemines 
2947.938 8938.082 St. Bernard 
2952.550 9320.745 Cameron 
2967.758 8950.708 St. Bernard 
3006.855 8929.223 St. Bernard 

 
A list of claimants and amounts paid can be obtained from 

Gwendolyn Thomas, Administrator, Fishermen's Gear 
Compensation Fund, P.O. Box 44277, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804 or you can call (225)342-0122. 

 
Robert D. Harper  
Secretary 

1011#028 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 36, Number 11) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 

Cumulative 
January 2009-December 2009, 146 
January 2010-March 2010, 901 
January 2010-June 2010, 1659 
January 2010-September 2010, 2438 

 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Agricultural commodity dealer and warehouse law, 
2585N 

Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
Agriculture chemistry lab fees, 2605N 
Giant salvinia, 1927ER, 2056N 
Labeling of coated seeds, 1587N 
Pesticide 2, 4-D, 914ER, 1036N, 1980R 
Seed certification standards and fees, 336N, 1220R 
ULV malathion/pyrethroid, 914ER, 1036N, 1980R 

Agricultural Finance Authority 
Farm and agribusiness recovery and loan program, 

442ER, 464R 
Agro-Consumer Services 

Agriculture commodities commission, 2456ER 
Animal Health, Board of 

Trichomoniasis, 1156ER, 1580N, 1925ER, 2518R 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Agriculture commodities commission, 1416ER  
Family farm credit, 231R 
Fees: amount, time of payment, 446ER 
Louisiana strawberries, 2057N 
Sweet potato yield adjustment, 445ER 

Feed, Fertilizer and Agriculture Commission 
Definition of small package, 2604N 

Horticulture Commission 
Landscape architect registration exam, 161P, 425P, 

1906P, 2134P 
Landscape irrigation contractors insurance waiver, 

1585N, 2520R 
Retail floristry examination, 425P, 1143P, 1402P 

Seed Commission 
Labeling of coated seeds, 1587N 
Seed certification standards and fees, 336N 

Structural Pest Control Commission 
Bait and baiting system requirements, 2456ER  
Rule revisions and technical corrections, 2060N 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
NOTE: Formerly Social Services. See Social Services section 
of this Index for prior subject listings of January through June. 

Child Welfare Section 
Daycare services—residential licensing, 1590N, 2521R 
Legal representation in child protection cases, 1587N, 

2522R 
Residential licensing 

Notice of revocation action, 1462R 
Division of Programs 

Licensing section—child placing agencies, 2149ER 
Portability of criminal history, religious exemption, and 

sex offender rule, ER 2458 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

Child care assistance program, 1794N, 2523R 
Discontinuance of job search, 1767R 

Daycare services—residential licensing, 1590N, 2521R 
Family independence temporary assistance program 

(FITAP), 1673ER, 1794N, 2523R 
Family violence prevention and intervention program, 

1589N, 2236R 
Kinship care subsidy program (KCSP), 1673ER, 

1794N, 2523R 
Supplemental nutrition assistance program (SNAP), 

1673ER, 1794N, 2523R 
Iraqi, Afghani Immigrant—Qualified Alien, 1674ER 

Temporary assistance for needy families (TANF) 
Initiatives, 1676ER 

Licensing Section 
Child placing agencies, 2605N 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Civil Service Commission 

Exemption from testing requirements, 2293N 
Food and drink limit, 855N 
Performance adjustment, 343N 
Temporary suspension of merit increase authority, 

716ER, 855N 
Ethics, Board of 

Financial disclosure forms, 232R 
Financial disclosures, 340N, 1463R 
Food and drink limit, 304R, 1466R 
Local government lobbying, 2648N 

 
 

2010 
Pages    Issue 
1-157 ................................................... January 
158-439 ............................................... February 
440-713 ............................................... March 
714-911 ............................................... April 
912-1153 ............................................. May 
1154-1411 ........................................... June 
1412-1670 ........................................... July 
1671-1919 ........................................... August 
1920-2146 ........................................... September 
2147-2453 ........................................... October 
2454-2758 ........................................... November 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
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CULTURE, RECREATION AND TOURISM 
State Library of Louisiana 

State library, 2537R 
State library, name and procedural changes, 1592N 

Tourism, Office of 
Cultural districts, 469R 
State library, 1281N 
State parks, 558N, 1225R 
Welcome centers, 50R 

 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 

CDC certification program, 79N, 750R 
Enterprise zone program, 1808N 
Entertainment tax industry credit programs―digital 

media act, 425P, 1981R 
Industrial ad valorem tax exemption program, 1818N 
Motion picture investor tax credit program, 52R, 

1928ER 
Quality jobs program, 2293N 
Regional awards and matching grant awards programs, 

51R 
Research and development tax credits, 1768R 
Retention and modernization act, 474R, 2650N 
Small and emerging business development program, 

51R 
Sound recording production and infrastructure tax credit 

programs, 304R, 2084N 
Technology commercialization credit and jobs program, 

307R 
Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 

Louisiana filmmakers grant fund program, 2651N 
Motion picture investor tax credit program, 52R, 

1928ER, 2654N 
Musical and theatrical production income tax credit, 

2236R 
Sound recording production and infrastructure tax credit 

programs, 304R, 2084N 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 

Retention and modernization act, 474R, 2650N 
Secretary, Office of 

Ports of Louisiana tax credits; investor tax credit 
program, 1287N, 2543R  

Regional awards and matching grant awards programs, 
51R 

Retention and modernization act, 474R 
Veteran initiative, 471R 

 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 

Bulletin 105—Louisiana Content Standards for 
Programs Serving Four-Year Old Children, 2303N 

Bulletin 111―The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 856N, 1037N, 1291N, 1299N, 
1769R, 1987R, 1994R, 2241R, 2656N 

Bulletin 118―Statewide Assessment Standards and 
Practices, 81N, 477R, 967R, 2657N 

Bulletin 119—Louisiana School Transportation 
Specifications and Procedures, 567N, 1466R  

Bulletin 120—Adult Education Data Quality and 
Procedures, 310R 

Bulletin 125—Standards for Educational Leaders in 
Louisiana, 1302N, 2244R 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools—fourth year review of 
charter schools on contract probation, 1830N, 2661N 
Renewal process and timeliness, 478R 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District, 2085N, 
2671N 

Bulletin 130—Regulations for the Evaluation and 
Assessment of School Personnel, 1045N, 1906P, 
2250R 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 588N, 1224R 
Administration of medication, 480R 
Agricultural education, 1071N, 1995R 
Career options, 1072N, 1995R 
Carnegie credit for middle school students, 59R, 

344N, 1308N, 2260R 
Compulsory attendance, 481R 
Curriculum and instruction 590N, 1485R 
Curriculum instruction, 2335N  
Dropout prevention and recovery, 2674N 
Family and consumer sciences education, 2675N 
Foreign languages, 1073N, 1996R 
General career and technical education, 601N, 1074N, 

1496R, 1996R  
Health education, 603N, 1497R  
Health occupations, 1309N 
Individual graduation plan, 604N, 1497R  
Non-complex health procedures, 482R 
Public comments, 59R 
Response to intervention, 346N 
Science education, 483R 
Technology education, 1075N, 1997R 
Unsafe schools, 604N, 1498R  

Bulletin 741 (Nonpublic)—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 
Assessment requirements for a state diploma, 587N, 

1498R  
Definitions of schools and early childhood programs, 

1837N 
Professional staff development, 1839N 
Programs of study, 1840N 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel, 2337N 
ACT/SAT scores in lieu of PRAXIX I scores, 484R 
Adult education instructor, 485R 
Alternative path to certification, 1310N, 2261R 
Alternative teacher preparation programs, 1312N, 

2262R 
Application packet, 1831N 
Certification appeal process, 486R 
CTTIE-1 and CTTIE-2 certificates, 1832N 
Louisiana teacher assistance and assessment program 

(LaTAAP), 2344N 
Louisiana teacher preparation programs, 1833N 
Mental health professional counselors, 2676N 
Middle school specialty area endorsements, 2678N 
Out-of-state (OS) certificate, 2679N 
Out-of-state principal level 2 (OSP2), 2680N 
PRAXIS I scores, 487R 
Requirements to add early childhood, 2681N 
 

EDUCATION (continued) 
Requirements to add a non-NCLB secondary content 

area, 1598N, 2546R 
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School nurse, 1076N, 1998R, 2682N 
School therapists, 2683N 
Standards certificates for teachers in 

nonpublic/charter schools, 751R 
Teaching certificate, 1077N, 1998R 
Temporary authority to teach (TAT), 1599N, 2547R 
VTIE, CTTIE and CTTIE-1 certificates, 1079N, 

2000R 
World language certificate, 486R 

Bulletin 996—Standards for approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs, 2347N 
Programmatic intervention and acronyms, 753R 

Bulletin 1179—Driver Education, Traffic Safety, and 
Administrative Guide for Louisiana Schools 
Driver education and training program for children, 

489R 
Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and Nutrition Programs, 
Policies of Operation, 2354N 

Bulletin 1530—Louisiana’s IEP Handbook for Students 
with Exceptionalities, 2684N 

Bulletin 1566—Pupil Progression Policies and 
Procedures, 1081N, 2001R 

Bulletin 1706—Regulations for Implementation of the 
Children with Exceptionalities Act 
Regulations for gifted/talented students, 1091N, 

2011R 
Regulations for students with disabilities, 605N, 

1499R  
Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting and Uniform 
Government Handbook, 612N, 1505R  

Recovery school district 
Standing and executive committees and advisory 
councils, 1824N 

State superintendent, 2686N 
Regents, Board of 

Registration and licensure, 2092n 
Student Financial Assistance Commission 

Student financial assistance, office of 
Scholarship/grant programs―applications, federal 

grant aid and ACT test, 2190ER, 2376N 
Scholarship/grant programs―GO grant summer 

billing, 2463ER 
Student Financial Assistance, Office of 

GO grant program changes, 1841N 
Intersession, 490R 
Scholarship/grants program, 311R, 716ER, 1110N, 

2029R  
2010 legislation, 1843N 
Chafee educational and training voucher, 1158ER, 

1600N, 1679ER, 2457R 
GO grant summer billing, 2463ER, 2687N 
Health care educator loan forgiveness, 1158ER, 

1603N 
Health care educator loan forgiveness program, 

eligible schools, 2550R 
Louisiana GO grant, 1681ER 
Rockefeller state wildlife scholarship, 915ER, 

1316N, 2267R 
START savings program, 1111N, 2030R 

START savings program account 
deposits/documentations, 2550R 

TOPS, 917ER, 1319N, 1682ER, 2269R 
Tuition Trust Authority 

START Saving Program 
Account deposits/documentations, 1604N 
Educational savings account, 313R, 717ER, 1111N, 

1161ER, 2030R 
Miscellaneous provisions, 1111N, 2030 
Split investment, 492R 

 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Environmental Protection Agency 

Environmental Protection Agency 
EPA region 4 outer continental shelf (OCS) air quality 

permitting actions, 704P 
Environmental Services, Office of 

Permit Services Division 
Standard fees for solid waste transporters, 704P 

Secretary, Office of the 
Criteria Pollutant Emissions Inventory, 2688N 
Greenhouse Gas Tailoring, 2376N 
Legal Affairs Division 

Control of emissions of nitrogen oxides, 59R 
Control of emissions of smoke, 1321N 
DEQ notifications to state police, 348N, 1239R, 

1535R 
Exemption for tanks storing corrosive materials, 

1605N, 2270R 
Fee schedule, 432N 
Gasoline handling, 641N, 1534R  
HW tanks—secondary containment requirements and 

90 day turnover of hazardous waste, 643N, 1234R 
Incorporation by reference—2009, 1607N, 2271R, 

2551R 
Miscellaneous amendments and corrections, 1847N 
Miscellaneous amendments for NRC compatibility, 

1112N, 1771R 
Organic solvents and solvent degreasers, 649N, 

1773R, 2030R 
Prevention of significant deterioration, 1322N, 2556R 
Regulatory permits for cement and concrete facilities, 

350N, 1540R  
Removal of pesticide application exemption from 

LPDES permitting requirements, 2095N 
Reportable quantity for brine from solution mining, 

655N, 1241R 
Revisions of the drinking water source use, 1612N, 

2276R 
Spill prevention and control, 858N, 1778R 
Regulation of greenhouse gas emissions and title v 

applicability, 431P, 704P 
Technical review of working drafts of waste permits 

(100 Pot1), 161P 
Termination determination of CAAA §185 penalty 

fees―state implementation plan revision, 432P, 705P 
Training requirements for underground storage tank 

system operators, 313R 
Miscellaneous amendments and corrections, 2552R 
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EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
BJ 09-20 Bond Allocation―Jefferson Parish Finance 

Authority―Amend Executive Order BJ 09-18, 1EO 
BJ 09-21 Executive Branch―Expenditure Reduction, 

1EO 
BJ 10-01 Rescinding Executive Orders BJ 08-48 and BJ 

08-52, 2EO 
BJ 10-02 Support to Oklahoma, 169EO 
BJ 10-03 State of Emergency—Extension of Qualifying in 

the Parish of Desoto, 440EO 
BJ 10-04 Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2009, 440EO 
BJ 10-05 Merit Increase Freeze, 714EO 
BJ 10-06 Expenditure Freeze, 714EO 
BJ 10-07 Flags at Half-Staff, 912EO 
BJ 10-08 Emergency Procedures for Conducting State 

Business, 912EO 
BJ 10-09 Emergency Partial Suspension of  

Certain EMT Licensing Laws, 1154 EO 
BJ 10-09 Bond Allocation—Local Government 

Environmental Facilities and Community Development 
Authority, 1155 EO 

BJ 10-11 Property Use for Emergency Berm Project for 
Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Response, 1412EO 

BJ 10-12 Executive Department―Limited Hiring Freeze, 
1413EO 

BJ 10-13 Louisiana Intrastate Rail Authority, 1414EO 
BJ 10-14 DOTD Guidelines for Vehicles, Trucks and 

Loads, 1671EO 
BJ 10-15 Offender Labor, 1920EO 
BJ 10-16 Small Purchase Orders, 1920EO 
BJ 10-17 Governor's Military Advisory Board—Amends 

and Supercedes Executive Order No. BJ 09-4, 1923EO 
BJ 10-18 In Memoriam, 1924EO 
BJ 10-19 Governor’s Advisory Council on Disability 

AffairsAmended Executive Order No. BJ 08-74, 
2148EO 

BJ 10-20 Executive BranchExpenditure Reduction, 
2454EO 

 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Motion picture investor tax credit program, 52R 
Patient’s compensation fund oversight board 

Actuary, annual actuarial study, risk rating, rates, 
surcharges, 1853N, 2556R 

Oversight board administrative role clarifications, 
355N 

Racing commission, 1323N 
Corrupt and prohibited practices, 2382N 
Mandatory health screening, 1931ER, 2383N 
Stables, 1324N 

The veteran initiative-procurement, 507R 
Architectural Examiners, Board of 

Admission renewal procedure, 353N, 1780R 
Auctioneers Licensing Board 

Licensing, examination procedure, fees, qualifications 
as apprentice, bonds, funds, advertising violations, 
continuing education, 1851N 

Examiners for New Orleans and Baton Rouge 
Steamship Pilots for the Mississippi River, Board of 
General provisions, 493R,  
Public hearing―substantive changes, 161P 

Boxing and Wrestling Commission 
Boxing and Wrestling Standards, 108N, 354N, 756R, 

992R, 1242R 
Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 

Public hearing―state fiscal year 2011 draft annual  
plan, 164P 

Contractual Review, Office of 
The veteran initiative-procurement, 507R 

Crime Victims Reparation Board 
Compensation to victims, 1614N, 2278R 
Eligibility for reparations, 919ER 

Elderly Affairs, Office of 
State plan on aging, 1325N  

Facility Planning and Control, Office of 
Percent for universal design, 1542R  

Financial Institutions, Office of 
Expired license reinstatement procedure, 316R 
Non-depository records retention, 656N, 1243R 
Residential mortgage lending program, 2700N 

Group Benefits, Office of 
PPO plan of benefits  

Continued coverage: Michelle’s law, 1615N, 2285R 
Mental health and substance abuse benefits, 1616N, 
2285R 
Prescription drug benefits: brand/generic, 1617N, 
2286R 
Wellness benefits, 1618N, 2287R 

PPO plan of benefits, eligibility, medical benefits, and 
schedule of benefits, 1162ER 

Home Inspectors, Board of 
Training, testing, and licensure, 2096N 

Information Technology, Office of 
IT bulletins published, 705P, 2134P 
Office of electronic services abolition, 863N, 1544R  

Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 
Justice, Commission on 

Peace officer training, 355N, 992R, 2381N 
Louisiana River Pilot Review and Oversight, Board of 

General provisions, 99N, 984R 
Manufacturer termination of franchise; liquidation  

of new vehicle inventory; warranty work; exception, 
1932ER 

Motor Vehicle Commission 
General provisions, 864N, 1545R  

Public Defender Board 
Capital Defense Guidelines, 111N, 993R 
Trial court performance standards for attorneys 

representing parents in child in need of care and 
termination of parental rights cases, 1857N 

Real Estate Appraisers Board 
Appraisers, 2384N 

Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners 
Fees, 1114N, 1780R, 1929ER 
General requirements for certified shorthand reporters, 

2379N 
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GOVERNOR (continued) 
State Military Department 

National guard death and disability benefits, 316R 
State Purchasing, Office of 

The veteran initiative-procurement, 507R 
State Travel, Office of 

General travel PPM, 150PPM 
Statewide Uniform Payroll 

403(b) Tax Shelter Annuity Program, 1686ER 
Self directed payroll savings bond plan, 2191ER 

Used Motor Vehicle Commission 
Commission name change, 657N 
Licensure and established place of business, 2071N 
Recreational products regulation, 657N 
Transfer of licensing, 657N 
Used motor vehicles, 2287R 

 
 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Addictive Disorders, Office of 

Need and application reviews, 521R 
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 

Adult protective services, 759R 
All inclusive care for the elderly, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 170ER, 1687ER, 2463ER 
All inclusive care for the elderly, repeal of 

reimbursement rate reduction, 171ER 
Definitions of abuse and sexual abuse, 2426N 
Facility need review―relocation of nursing facility 

beds, 364N, 1009R 
Home and community based services waivers 

Adult day health care, reimbursement rate reduction, 
177ER, 2469ER 

Adult day health care, repeal of reimbursement rate 
reduction, 178ER 

Elderly and disabled adults, personal assistance 
services, 1183ER, 2217ER, 2415N 

Elderly and disabled adults, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 2470ER 

Nursing facilities admissions, 365N, 737ER, 1010R 
Standards for payment level of care determinations, 

2419N 
Personal care services 

Long-term, policy clarifications, 1374N, 1749ER 
Long-term, reimbursement rate reduction, 215ER, 

673N, 1250R, 2509ER 
Long-term, repeal of reimbursement rate reduction, 

215ER 
Service limit reductions, 1749ER 

Adult Protective Services, Division of 
Definition of abuse and sexual abuse, 2426N 

Citizens with Developmental Disabilities, Office of 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Children’s choice, allocation of waiver opportunities, 
1954ER 

Children’s choice, family training services, 324R 
Children’s choice, reimbursement rate reduction, 

178ER, 927ER, 1696ER, 2280R 
Children’s choice, service cap and reimbursement rate 

reduction, 1696ER, 1955ER 
New opportunities waiver, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 662N, 719ER, 1247R, 2478ER 

New opportunities waiver, resource allocation  
model, 65R 

Supports waiver, reimbursement rate reduction, 
928ER, 179ER, 1630N, 1722ER, 1956ER, 2281R, 
2493ER 

Dentistry, Board of 
General provisions, 63R 
Mobile dentistry; relicensure of dentists, hygienists, 

1115N, 2035R 
Licenses; authorized duties; nitrous oxide inhalation, 

2702N 
Emergency Response Network Board 

Standard LERN entry and destination criteria, 2743P 
Health Services Financing, Bureau of 

Adult dentures programs, replacement and reline limits, 
170ER, 920ER, 1327N, 2039R 

Adult residential care providers―minimum licensing 
standards―dementia training requirements, 362N, 
1008R 

All inclusive care for the elderly, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 170ER, 171ER, 1687ER, 2463ER 

Ambulatory surgical centers, minimum licensing 
standards, 2389N, 2742P 

Ambulatory surgical centers, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 172ER, 172ER, 921ER, 1621N, 1688ER, 
1933ER, 2278R, 2464ER 

Clinic services 
End state renal disease facilities, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 175ER, 925ER 
CommunityCARE program 

Immunization, 173ER, 447ER, 1416ER 
Pay-for-performance initiative, 173ER, 447ER, 

1416ER, 1622N 
Payment levels, 173ER, 447ER, 1622N, 2279R 

Primary care providers  
Referral exemptions, 1417ER, 2212ER, 2411N, 

2742P 
Reimbursement rate adjustment, 1689ER, 2465ER 

Coordinated care network, 2192ER, 2465ER 
Demonstration waivers 

Family planning waiver, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 175ER, 926ER 

Disproportionate share hospital payments 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 4ER, 

921ER, 1690ER 
Mental health emergency room extensions, 717ER, 

1119N, 1418ER, 1781R  
Non-rural community hospitals, 4ER, 923ER, 

1418ER, 2213ER 
Pre-admission certification and length of stay 

assignment, 65R 
Radiology utilization management, 512R 

Early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment 
KIDMED services, claims filing, 128N, 759R 
Dental program and covered services, 1624N 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1691ER, 2466ER 
Dental program, reimbursement rate reduction, 

174ER, 924ER, 1329N, 2040R 
Personal care services, 872N 

Reimbursement methodology, 1870N, 2561R 
Electronic health records incentive payment, 2108N 
End stage renal disease facilities, 925ER 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1330N, 1693ER, 
2040R, 2467ER 

Estate recovery, 2412N, 2742P 
Facility need review 

Adult day health care providers, 322R 
Exception criteria for downsizing enrolled beds, 

1625N, 2279R 
Relocation of nursing facility beds, 364N, 1009R 

Family planning clinics, reimbursement rate reduction, 
1693ER, 2468ER 

Family planning waiver, reimbursement rate reduction, 
926ER, 1626N, 1694ER, 1934ER, 2279R, 2468ER 

Federally qualified health centers 
Service limits and reimbursement rate reduction, 

176ER, 718ER, 1420ER  
Service limit reduction, 1627N, 2280R 

Forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 
facilities minimum licensing standards, 1164ER, 
1935ER 

Greater New Orleans community health connection 
waiver, 2214ER 

Home and community based services waivers 
Adult day health care, reimbursement rate reduction, 

177ER, 1695ER, 2469ER 
Adult day health care, repeal of reimbursement rate 

reduction, 178ER 
Children’s choice, allocation of waiver opportunities, 

1954ER 
Children’s choice, family training services, 324R 
Children’s choice, reimbursement rate reduction, 

178ER, 927ER, 1628N, 1696ER, 2280R 
Children’s choice, service cap and reimbursement rate 

reduction, 1696ER, 1955ER 
Elderly and disabled adults, 

Personal assistance services, 1183ER, 2217ER, 
2415N 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1697ER, 2470ER 
Minimum licensing standards, 1331N 
New opportunities waiver reimbursement rate 

reduction, 662N, 719ER, 1247R, 1706ER, 2478ER 
New opportunities waiver resource allocation model, 

65R 
Residential options waiver, 720ER, 1706ER, 2479ER 

Service budget and reimbursement rate reduction, 
1721ER 

Supports waiver, reimbursement rate reduction, 
928ER, 179ER, 1630N, 1722ER, 1956ER, 2281R, 
2493ER 

Home health program 
Durable medical equipment, reimbursement 

reduction, 180ER, 181ER, 663N, 734ER, 1185ER, 
1247R, 1364N, 2041R 

Nursing and home health aide services,  
Reimbursement rate reduction, 182ER, 183ER, 

928ER, 1631N, 1957ER, 2281R 
Provider accreditation, 512R 
Provider accreditation requirements, repeal, 735ER, 

1420ER 
Hospital licensing standards 

Crisis receiving centers, 513R 
Inpatient hospital services 

Reimbursement methodology, 2494ER 
Small rural hospitals upper payment limit, 2497ER 
State hospitals supplement payments, 2498ER 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Children’s specialty hospitals, 929ER, 1723ER, 
2723N 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 1186ER, 
2223ER 

Major teaching hospitals, 930ER, 1188ER, 1724ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 931ER, 1190ER, 

1552R, 1871N, 2561R 
Major teaching hospitals 

Qualifying criteria, 2220ER 
Pre-admission certification, 197ER, 939ER, 1960ER 
Reimbursement methodology, 1725ER 
Small rural hospitals, upper payment limit, 1729ER 
Supplemental payments, 935ER 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
developmental disabilities 
Non-state facilities, reimbursement methodology, 

2499ER 
Non-state facilities, reimbursement rate reduction, 

1730ER 
Public facilities, reimbursement methodology, 

1731ER, 2499ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 1555R, 1732ER, 

2501ER 
Laboratory and radiology services 

Radiology utilization management, 1120N, 1781R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 198ER, 665N, 939ER, 

1248R, 1733ER, 1874N, 1960ER, 2502ER, 2563R 
Long term care 

Intermediate care facilities for persons with 
development disabilities, 737ER, 881N 

Non-rural, non-state hospitals 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 7ER, 

184ER 
Major teaching hospitals, 8ER 
Outlier payment methodology, 519R 
Pre-admission certificate, 66R 
Reimbursement, 448ER, 736ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 186ER, 190ER, 

877N 
Supplemental payments, 194ER 

Medicaid eligibility 
Express lane eligibility, 9ER, 882N, 941ER, 1555R  
Medicare savings programs, 11ER, 942ER, 1734ER, 

2110N 
Medical necessity criteria, 1365N, 2563R 
Medical transportation program 

Emergency ambulance services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 199ER, 666N, 1193ER, 1194ER, 1248R, 
1875N, 1961ER, 2564R 

Non-emergency ambulance services, reimbursement 
rate reduction, 200ER, 201ER, 944ER, 1877N, 
1962ER, 2564R 

Non-emergency medical transportation, 
reimbursement rate reduction, 944ER, 1736ER, 
1878N, 1963ER, 2503ER, 2565R 

Mental health rehabilitation program 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 202ER, 451ER, 668N, 

945ER, 1249R, 1879N, 1963ER, 2565R 
HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 
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Service Limitations, 451ER, 668N, 1249R 
Termination of parent/family intervention (intensive) 

services and continued treatment clarifications, 
1736ER, 2503ER 

Multi-systemic therapy 
Prior authorization and reimbursement rate reduction, 

202ER, 946ER, 1880N, 1964ER, 2565R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 453ER, 670N, 1250R, 

1738ER, 2505ER 
Nursing facilities 

Admissions, 365N, 737ER, 1010R 
Emergency preparedness―electronic reporting 

requirements, 325R 
Minimum licensing standards―dementia training  

requirements, 368N, 1013R 
Minimum licensing standards―Nurse aide training 

and competency evaluation program, 1422ER, 
1965ER  

Per diem rate reduction, 325R, 520R 
Reimbursement methodology, minimum data set 

assessments, 2225ER 
Reimbursement methodology, rate determination, 

203ER, 1121N, 1195ER, 1782R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 12ER, 204ER, 884N, 

947ER, 948ER, 1556R, 1421ER, 1882N, 1970ER, 
2224ER, 2566R 

Standards for payment level of care determinations, 
2419N 

Outpatient hospital services 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 1739ER, 2506ER 
Children’s specialty hospitals, 1742ER 

reimbursement rate reduction, 205ER, 209ER, 
949ER, 950ER, 1366N, 1739ER, 2041R, 
2506ER 

Low income and needy care collaboration, 13ER, 
740ER, 1744ER 

Major teaching hospitals, 16ER, 954ER, 1747ER 
Radiology utilization management, 67R, 1123N 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 454ER, 671N, 

950ER 
Supplemental payments, 213ER, 1196ER, 2111N 

Non-rural, non-state public hospitals—supplemental 
payments, 2227ER 

Small rural hospitals 
Upper payment limit, 1747ER, 2508ER 

Personal care services 
Long-term, policy clarifications, 1374N, 1749ER 
Long-term, reimbursement rate reduction, 215ER, 

455ER, 673N, 1251R, 1752ER, 2509ER 
Long-term, repeal of reimbursement rate reduction, 

215ER 
Service limit reduction, 1749ER 

Pediatric day health care program, 1557R  
Pharmacy benefits management program 

Maximum allowable costs, 222ER, 456ER, 1198ER, 
2229ER 

Medication administration, H1N1 immunizations, 
22ER, 955ER, 1124N, 1782R 

Methods of payment, 16ER, 457ER 
Restoration of the dispensing fee, 18ER, 887N, 1558 
Restoration of the dispensing fee repeal, 743ER 

Pregnant women extended services 
Dental services, reimbursement rate reduction, 

216ER, 955ER, 1370N, 1753ER, 2044R, 2509ER 
Professional services program 

Anesthesia services  
Reimbursement methodology, 956ER, 1251R, 

1632N, 1754ER, 2282R 
Supplemental payments, 1199ER, 2230ER 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 217ER, 459ER, 
674N, 956ER 

Family planning services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 219ER, 958ER, 1893N, 1971ER 

Inpatient physician services, 68R 
Physician services, reimbursement rate reduction, 

219ER, 460ER, 676N, 959ER, 1252R, 1372N, 
1755ER, 2282R 

Prosthetics and orthotics 
Provider accreditation, 520R 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 221ER, 461ER, 521R, 

678N, 960ER, 1253R, 1756ER, 1883N, 2566R 
Rural health clinics, reimbursement rate reduction, 

223ER, 747ER 
Services for special populations 

Pediatric day health care program, 885N 
Targeted case management 

Nurse family partnership program, reimbursement 
rate reduction, 223ER, 1125N, 1200ER, 1783R 

Licensed Professional Counselors Examiners, Board of 
Professional assistance program, 2422N 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Administrative provisions, licensure and certification, 

practice, 660N, 1243R 
Clinical laboratory personnel, licensure and 

certification, 2710N 
Enforcement terms; unprofessional conduct, 2103N 
Licensure and certification; reciprocity, 2105N 
Licensure exemptions; emergency transfer of patients, 

1869N, 2559R 
Medical psychologists, general licensure, certification 

and practice, 2711N 
Physician consultation of collaboration with medical 

psychologists, 2721N 
Nursing, Board of 

Alternative to disciplinary proceedings, 129N, 358N, 
1244R 

Definition of term—other causes, 1619N, 2278R 
Faculty, 130N, 360N, 1245R 
Fees for fingerprint imprint, 131N, 359N, 1245R 
Registered nurses 

Peripherally inserted central catheter, 64R 
Nursing Facility Administrators, Board of Examiners  

Nursing facility administrators, 2704N 
Pharmacy, Board of 

Digital imaging of prescriptions, 755R 
Pharmacy interns, 755R 
Prescription monitoring program, 755R 
Prescription transfers, 756R 

Practical Nurse Examiners 
Adjudication, definitions, licensure qualifications, and 

name change, 1887N, 2559R 
Psychologists, Board of Examiners of 

Authority, 124N, 1005R 
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Continuing education, 124N, 1005R 
HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 

Credentials, 124N, 1005R 
Disciplinary action, 124N, 1005R 
Licensure, 124N, 1005R 
Supervised practice, 124N, 1005R 
Supervision of assistant psychologists, 659N, 1246R 
Supervision of unlicensed assistants, 124N 

Public Health, Office of 
2009 Louisiana annual beach report, 1143P 
Advanced notice of rulemaking, 164P 

Center for environmental health 
Request for comments―fish consumption advisory 
protocol, 165P 

Cooperative agreement budgetemergency 
preparedness, 2441P 

Disease reporting instructions; perinatal HIV exposure 
reporting, 370N, 1014R, 1253R 

Food processing plans, food recall plans and positive 
test result reporting, 1884N, 2283R 

Genetic diseases neonatal screening, 1661P 
Maternal and child health section 

Maternal and child (MCH) block grant federal 
funding, 1402P 

Pilot testing for severe combined Immunodeficiency 
syndrome, 1661P 

Preparation and handling of seafood for market, 373N, 
1016R 

Preventive health services 
Water supplies―fluoridation, 72R 

Preventive health and health services block grant—
public hearing, 1143P 

Sewage disposal program, 1633N 
Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Board meeting dates, 2742P 
Continuing veterinary medicine education, 319R 
Fall/winter exam dates, 1906P 
Temporary registration during a declared emergency, 

919ER, 1932ER 
Temporary registration during oil spill, license 

procedures, 2106N, 2388N 
Wholesale Drug Distributors, Board of 

Enforcement action, 321R 
Fees, 158P 
General provisions, 321R 
Required information, 361N, 1246R 
Wholesale drug distribution—exemptions, 1620N, 

2560R, 2723N 
Wholesale drug or device distributors, 322R 

 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of the 

Regulation 47―Acturarial Opinion and Memorandum 
Regulation, 2427N 

Regulation 99―Certificates of Insurance, 374N, 706P, 
2114N 

Health, Office of 
HIPPA assessment rate, 1661P 

 
 

JUSTICE 
Attorney General, Office of the 

Certificates of public advantage, 376N, 1255R 

 
 

LABOR 
State Plumbing Board 

Continuing professional education programs, 2725N 
 

 
LEGISLATION 

Senate Committee on Health and Welfare 
Nurse aide training and competency evaluation 

program, 2437CR 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Environmental division 
Hearing—Docket No. ENV 2010-04, US liquids of 
La., 2135P  

Exploration and production site groundwater evaluation 
and remediation―statewide order no. 29-B, 388N, 
1562R, 1783R 

Fees, 1889N, 2567R 
Groundwater evaluation, 132N 
Ground water management, 326R 
Manifest system―statewide order no. 29-B, 390N, 

1017R 
Orphaned oilfield sites, 165P, 433P, 706P, 1144P, 1402P, 

1661P, 1910P, 2135P, 2441P, 2746P 
Pit closure techniques and onsite disposal of E and P 

waste, 679N, 1264R 
Professional services program 
Public hearing—docket no. env. 2010-03, 1146P 
Solicitation of comments for rule-making, 1907P 
Statewide order no 29-B, 2117N, 2570R 
Statewide orders no. 29-B and 29-B-a, 1427ER, 

1438ER 
Water well registration, construction and  

closure—advance notice of rulemaking and 
solicitation of comments, 2134P 

Secretary, Office of the 
Fishermen's gear compensation fund 

Loran coordinates, 165P, 433P, 706P, 1144P, 1403P, 
1661P, 1910P, 2136P, 2747P, 2747P 

 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Corrections Services 

Attorney visits, 1894N, 2572R 
Crime victim services bureau, 525R 
Death penalty, 525R, 2121N 
Disciplinary rules and procedures for adult offenders, 

1449ER, 1636N, 1973ER, 2121N, 2289R, 2512ER  
Louisiana risk review panels, 528R 
Medical reimbursement plan, 1126N, 1784R 
Offender incentive pay and other wage 

compensation, 531R 
Parole board, 2119N, 2510ER 
Public information program and media access, 681N, 

1265R 
Regulation of air traffic, 391N, 1017R 
Restoration of good time, 26ER, 533R 
Sex offender assessment panels, 23ER, 534R 
Telephone use and policy of monitoring of calls, 2726N 
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PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS (continued) 
Gaming Control Board 

Accounting regulations, 392N, 1018R 
Licensees, permittees, loans and restrictions, 684N, 

1268R  
Video draw poker, 1376N, 1636N, 2045R 

Juvenile Justice, Office of 
Educational and work assignment experience incentive 

program, 1127N, 1784R 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Commission 

Emergency powers of director, 1895N, 2571R 
Oil Spill Coordinator’s Office 

Mosquito bay natural gas condensate discharge  
final—settlement agreement, 2136P 

Deepwater horizon mobile offshore drilling unit and the 
Subsea Macondo well, 2441P 

Parole, Board of 
Amendments to board composition, meetings, hearings, 

2119N 
Composition, meetings, hearings, time served, 1972ER 

Private Security Examiners, Board of 
Licensing of journeyman, 134N, 764R 
Training, 72R 

State Police, Office of 
DNA samples, collection, submission, receipt, 

identification, storage, disposal, 1450ER  
Explosives code, 550R 
Motor carrier safety—hazardous materials, 1897N, 

2573 
Motor vehicle inspection, 1133N, 1789R 
Motorcycle safety training program, 536R 
Preparedness and response act, 545R 
State uniform construction code, 1135N, 2574R 
Tow truck license plate, 462ER 
Towing, recovery and storage, 546R, 690N, 1270R, 

1898N, 2575R 
Transportation and environmental safety section 

Two year motor vehicle inspection sticker, 2429N 
State Fire Marshall, Office of the 

Code enforcement and building safety 
Fire protection, 687N, 1563R  
Industrialized buildings, 394N, 1020R 

Property protection licensing, 1379N 
Uniform construction code, 326R, 2428N 

State Uniform Construction Code Council 
Certification requirements, grandfathering, 690N, 

1271R 
Uniform construction code, 326R, 2428N 

 
 

REVENUE 
Policy Services Division 

Ad valorem taxation, 765R 
Application of net operating losses 

carryover to otherwise closed years, 1640N, 2290R 
Corporation income and franchise tax extensions 

payments, 2728N 
Corporation income and franchise tax filing  

extensions, 552R, 2729N 
Electronic filing mandate for reports and returns related 

to the sports facility assistance fund, 2513ER 
Electronic filing requirements for oil or gas severance  

tax, 691N, 1271R 

Extension of time to file; waiver of interest, 329R 
Income tax credits for wind or solar energy systems, 

692N, 1394N, 2047R  
Income tax withholding on gaming winnings, 2122N 
Individual income tax extension payments, 2730N 
Individual income tax filing extensions, 72R, 2732N 
Limited local sales tax exemption for cancer and related 

chemotherapy prescription drugs, 1028R 
March meeting of Act 442 collaborative working group, 

706P 
National center for construction education and research 

apprentice tax credits, 1137N, 1790R 
Natural gas severance tax rate, 1147P 
Oil spill contingency fee, 1662P 
Sales and use tax exemptions, 404N, 1566R  

Secretary, Office of the 
Act 442 collaborative working group meeting, 433P, 

1404P, 1910P, 2137P 
State central registry 

Criminal background and risk assessment  
evaluation, 45ER, 142N, 850R 

Tax Commission 
Public hearing―substantive changes to proposed rule 

valuation of oil, gas, and other wells, 434P 
 
 

SHERIFFS’ PENSION AND RELIEF FUND 
Court order or judgment, 2290R 
Eligible rollover distribution, 1868N 

 
 

SOCIAL SERVICES 
Community Services, Office of 

Foster care, 73R 
Guardianship subsidy program, 552R 
Legal representation in child protection cases, policies 

and procedures, 1453ER  
Residential licensing, 329R, 784R, 1029R,  

Adult residential care, disqualification, 831R 
Child residential care, 784R 
Disqualification, 27ER, 1272R 
Emergency shelter, required records, 227ER 
Notice of revocation action, 696N 
State central registry, 34ER, 135N, 838R, 1031R 

Social services block grant (SSBG) 
2010-2011 intended use report, 707P 

Temporary assistance to needy families (TANF) 
Caseload reduction report, 434P 

Family Support, Office of 
Adult residential care, disqualification, 831R 
Child Care Assistance Program 

Automated time and attendance 
Discontinuation of job search, 40ER, 698N, 747ER, 

1277R 
Military child care providers, 225ER, 555R 
State central registry, 137N 

Child care daycare services 
Child care quality rating system, 332R 

Child care licensing 
Disqualification, 1272R 
Revocation notice, 701N, 1279R 
State central registry, 41ER, 141N, 847R 
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SOCIAL SERVICES (continued) 
Supplemental nutritional assistance program (SNAP), 

Iraqi, Afghani immigrant—qualified alien, 961ER 
Family independence temporary assistance program 

(FITAP, kinship care subsidy program, 1201ER 
Support enforcement, 74R 
TANF initiatives, family violence prevention and 

intervention program, 1203ER, 1205ER 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Highway Construction 

Access connection permits and driveway permits, 
2123N 

Tourist oriented directional signs, 2738N  
Outdoor Advertising 

Outdoor advertising regulations, 892N, 2733N 
Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board 

Re-examinations, experience, and licensure status, 
405N, 1033R 

Transportation Research Center 
LTRC transportation training and education fund, 

1904N 
 
 

TREASURY 
State Employees' Retirement System 

DROP excess benefit arrangement, 1398N, 2050R 
 
 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Secretary, Office of the 

Shrimp packaging regulations, 1034R 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2010 spring inshore shrimp season, 963ER, 1757ER 
2010 waterfowl seasons, 2232ER 
Assignment of HINs to undocumented vessels 

manufactured in Louisiana, 2740N 
Bucks-only deer hunting, 48ER 
Carp, 145N 
Commercial spotted seatrout rod and reel fishery, 

1760ER 
Commission commercial and recreational fishing, 

1761 
Crab traps, 77R 
Elmer's island wildlife refuge, 463ER, 708P, 1280R 
Early migratory seasons, 1762ER 
Fishing closure, 963ER 

Commercial fisheries closure, 1758ER 
Commercial greater amberjack closure, 2515ER 
Portion of eastern Louisiana, 964ER 
Portion of territorial seas, 1206ER 

Barataria and Terrebonne basins and territorial 
seas, 1207ER 

Barataria to Caminada pass, 1207ER 
Bayou Lafourche and Terrebonne, reopen 

territorial seas, 1208ER 
Chaland pass to Barataria, west of Bayou 

Lafourche, 1208ER 
Commercial and recreational fisheries opening 

Fishing west of Bayou Lafourche, 2233ER 
Due to oil spill, 1208ER 
Portions of Plaquemines and St. Bernard 

Parishes, 1455ER  

Portions of Plaquemines, St. Bernard, Orleans 
and St. Tammany Parishes, 1455ER 

Portions of state inside and outside waters, 
1456ER  

Portions of zones 1 and 3 to shrimping, 1757ER 
St. Bernard Parish, 1456 
Outside waters 
From caminada pass to belle pass, 1209ER 
From chaland pass to red pass, 1209ER 
Portion of  
Barataria basin, 1210ER 
Inside waters within Barataria basin, 1210ER 
State inside and outside waters, Terrebonne 

Parish, 1211ER 
St. Bernard Parish, 1211ER 
Territorial seas near Marsh Island, 1211ER 
Vermillion Parish, 1212ER 
Vicinity of Marsh Island, 1212ER 
West of Mississippi River, Plaquemines Parish, 

1212ER 
Commercial fisheries opening, 1759ER 
Commercial fisheries opening in portions of the 

Mississippi River delta, 2515ER 
Commercial crab fishing opening, 2514ER  

East of the Mississippi River, Plaquemines, St. 
Bernard, and Orleans Parish, 1974ER 

West of the Mississippi River, 1975ER 
Opening and closing, portions of Barataria basin, 

1213ER 
Opening, inside waters near Cocodrie and 

portions of territorial seas, 1213ER 
Openings, portion of state outside and inside 

waters, zones 1 and 2, except shrimp in zone 1, 
1214ER 

Recreational angling and charter boat angling 
fisheries opening, 1977ER 

Recreational fishing opening, 1765ER 
Recreational fishing opens, 1758ER 
Reopening 

Recreational catch and release of finfish, 
1459ER  
Recreational fisheries closure and commercial 
fisheries opening, 1978ER 

Recreational and commercial fisheries 
East of Mississippi River, St. Bernard parish, 

1456ER  
Inside and outside waters east of the 

Mississippi River, 1457ER   
Inside waters south of Cocodrie, 1457ER  
Inside waters, territorial seas east of the 

Mississippi River, Plaquemines parish, 
1458ER  

Inside waters, western Terrebonne Parish, 
1214ER  

Recreational and commercial fisheries opening 
Barataria Basin, 2517ER 

Recreational and commercial fisheries opening 
Fishing east of Mississippi river, 2234ER 

Outside waters south of Marsh Island, 1215 ER 
Portion of inside and outside waters, 1215 ER 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES (continued) 
Portion of state inside and outside waters, 

Terrebonne Parish, 1215ER  
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Portion of state outside waters, 1216ER  
Portions of Lafourche and Terrebonne Parishes, 

1458ER  
Portions of Terrebonne, Lafourche, Jefferson and 

Plaquemines Parishes and closes in St. Bernard 
Parish, 1459ER  

State inside waters in portions of Bayou 
Lafourche and other Lafourche Parish inside 
waters, 1459ER  

St. Bernard Parish, 1216ER 
Recreational and commercial fisheries closure, 

1454ER, 1764ER, 1976ER, 2233ER, 2516ER 
Recreational red snapper season closure, 1216ER 
Recreational red snapper season reopening, 

2235ER 
Shrimp season changes, state outside waters, 

zones 2 and 3, 1217ER 
Shrimp seasons and fishing closures, 1217ER 
Spring shrimp season opening 
Portion of zone 1, 1218ER 
Remaining portion of zone 1, 1218ER 
General and wildlife management area hunting, 

406N, 1566R 
General and WMA turkey hunting regulations, 

1641N, 2581R 
Hunting preserve regulations, 1399N, 2291R 
Hunting season, 49ER 
King mackerel, 47ER 
Large coastal shark, 229ER, 748ER 
Nuisance wildlife control operator program, 74R 
Physically challenged hunters permit, 1138N, 

2051R 

Recreational harvest 
Silver and Bighead Carp, 1280R 
Reef fish, 47ER, 48ER, 897N, 1791R 
Resident game hunting season, 421N 

Oyster leases, 2430N 
Oyster season, 1763ER 
Oyster season delay, 2516ER 
Resident game hunting season, 1580R  
Shrimp, 49ER, 143N, 230ER 

Closure, portion of zone 1, including Breton and 
Chandleur Sounds, 964ER 

Special bait dealer’s permit, 77R 
Special shrimp season 

Closure, remainder of Zone 1 and all of Zone 2, 
965ER  

Opening, portion of Breton and Chandleur Sounds, 
965ER 

Spotted seatrout management measures, 2132N 
Spring inshore shrimp season closure in Zone 2, 

1460ER  
Zone 2 and portion of Zone 1, 965ER 

Territorial sea shrimp 
Closure and portion of Zone 3 opening, 966ER 

Re-opening, 966ER 
Turkey seasons, 1644N, 2583R 
Use of yo-yo’s and trotlines in Lake Lafourche, 

2131N 
Wildlife rehabilitation program, 852R, 2433N 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Workers' Compensation Administration, Office of 

Average weekly wage rate, 1907P 
Weekly Compensation Benefits Limit, 1907P 
 

 
 

 


