
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Associate Teacher Program 
(LAC 28:CXV.525) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 17:6(A)(10) and 
the Administrative Procedure Act (APA), R.S. 49:953(B)(1) 
et seq., the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
proposes to amend LAC 28:CXV in Bulletin 741—
Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators. The 
aforementioned revisions provide for the associate teacher 
program in accordance with Act 99 of the 2023 Regular 
Legislative Session. Individuals who are at least 25 years of 
age, possess an associate degree, and are enrolled in an 
undergraduate teacher preparation program may receive a 
permit from a local governing authority to serve as a 
classroom teacher in that system. The employer must 
conduct a criminal history background check prior to 
employment. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741―Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 5. Personnel 
§525. Associate Teacher Program 

A. An associate teacher is an employee authorized by the 
local governing authority (LEA) of a public elementary or 
secondary school to serve as a teacher of record. Such 
teacher must: 

1. be at least 25 years old; 
2. hold an associate’s degree awarded by a college or 

university accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, et 
seq.; 

3. be continuously enrolled in an undergraduate 
educator preparation program at a college or university 
accredited in accordance with 34 CFR 602, et seq., for the 
purpose of obtaining a bachelor’s degree; and 

4. meet any other qualifications established by the 
LEA. 

B. The LEA shall conduct a criminal history background 
check in accordance with R.S. 17:15 and R.S. 15:587.1 prior 
to employment. 

C. An individual shall not serve as a teacher of record 
under an associate teacher permit for more than five years. 

D. An associate teacher shall be employed to teach only 
in the content area related to the associate’s degree. 

E. An associate teacher shall not teach in a class for 
students with identified exceptionalities, unless the students 
are identified as gifted or talented. 

F. The LEA should assign a mentor teacher to an 
associate teacher for the purposes of providing on-site 
teacher training, demonstrating lessons, co-teaching, 
observation, and providing feedback for improving 
instruction. 

G. Associate teachers shall participate in weekly teacher 
collaborations. 

H. For an associate teacher enrolled in a BESE-approved 
teacher preparation program, hours spent teaching by an 
associate teacher shall count toward the student teaching 
hours required in accordance with R.S. 17:8.1 and LAC 
28:XLV.743. (Bulletin 996). 

I. No more than ten percent of the teaching staff of the 
school system shall be associate teachers. 

J. Associate teachers shall be annually evaluated. 
K. Documentation of the local permit must be 

maintained by the LEA and the associate teacher. The LEA 
must document compliance with the provisions of this 
Section. 

L. LEAs shall provide information regarding the 
effectiveness of the associate teacher program, as requested, 
to the LDOE. 

M. The salary paid to an associate teacher shall not 
exceed seventy-five percent of the average yearly classroom 
teacher salary of the employing school system. 

N. The provisions of this Section shall terminate on 
December 31, 2033. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 and 17:3902. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 49: 
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