Sign In

Interim Emergency Board

Board Secretary
Sue Israel
Tel: (225) 342-7000
Fax: (225) 342-1057

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 94095
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9095

Physical Address
1201 North Third Street
Claiborne Building, 7th floor
Suite 7-210
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802


The board is responsible for either obtaining funds (from the state General Fund or by borrowing on the full faith and credit of the state) or recommending that a state agency deficit spends its current year budget when an emergency situation arises between sessions of the legislature. In addition, the board recommends priority and project description changes in the capital outlay bill and approves financial institutions as state depositories/fiscal agents.

   Board Members
Chairman: The Honorable Patrick Page Cortez, President of the Senate

Vice Chairman:  The Honorable Clay Schexnayder, Speaker of the House

Jay Dardenne, DOA Commissioner, Designee of Governor John Bel Edwards

Brandon Burris, Interim Assistant Secretary, Designee of Lieutenant Governor Billy Nungesser

Laura Lapeze, Chief Financial Officer, Designee of State Treasurer John Schroder

The Honorable Mack W. "Bodi" White, Jr.,  Chairman, Senate Finance Committee

The Honorable Jerome "Zee" Zeringue, Chairman, House Appropriations Committee.