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Executive Orders 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 11-01 

Carry-Forward Bond Allocation 2010 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 
and Act 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature (hereafter “Act”), Executive Order No. BJ 2008-
47 was issued to establish  
 (1) a method for allocating bonds subject to private 
activity bond volume limits, including the method of 
allocating bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 
limits for the calendar year 2008 and subsequent calendar 
years;  
 (2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of 
bonds under the ceiling; and  
 (3) a system of central record keeping for such 
allocations; 

WHEREAS, Section 4(H) of No. BJ 2008-47 
provides that if the ceiling for a calendar year exceeds the 
aggregate amount of bonds subject to the private activity 
bond volume limit issued during the year by all issuers, by 
executive order, the Governor may allocate the excess 
amount to issuers or an issuer for use as a carry-forward for 
one or more carry-forward projects permitted under the Act; 

WHEREAS, The sum of four hundred four million 
two hundred eighty six thousand eight hundred forty dollars 
($404,286,840) represents the amount of the ceiling 
determined by the staff of the Louisiana State Bond 
Commission (“SBC”) for private activity bond volume limits 
for the year 2010 (“2010 Ceiling”); 

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. BJ 2010-10, issued 
on June 9, 2010 allocated two million five hundred thousand 
dollars ($2,500,000) from the 2010 Ceiling to the Local 
Government Environmental Facilities and Community 
Development Authority for a multi-purpose building, and 
two million five hundred thousand dollars ($2,500,000) of 
the allocation was returned unused to the 2010 Ceiling; 

WHEREAS, Four hundred one million seven 
hundred eighty six thousand eight hundred forty dollars 
($401,786,840) of the 2010 Ceiling was not allocated during 
the 2010 calendar year; and two million five hundred 
thousand dollars ($2,500,000) of the 2010 Ceiling was 
returned; and  

WHEREAS, The SBC has determined that four 
hundred four million two hundred eighty six thousand eight 
hundred forty dollars ($404,286,840) of the excess 2010 
Ceiling is eligible as carry-forward and the Governor desires 
to allocate this amount as carry-forward for projects which 
are permitted and eligible under the Act;  

NOW THEREFORE, I, BOBBY JINDAL, Governor of 
the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 
the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do 
hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: Pursuant to and in accordance with the 
provisions of Section 146(f) of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended, and in accordance with the requests for 

carry-forward filed by the designated issuers, the excess 
private activity bond volume limit under the 2010 Ceiling is 
hereby allocated to the following issuers, for the following 
carry-forward projects, and in the following amounts: 

 

Issuer 
Carry-Forward 

Project 
Carry-Forward 

Amount 

Louisiana Housing 
Finance Agency 

Mallard Crossing 
Apartments 

Multifamily Housing 
Revenue Bond $14,107,000 

Louisiana Housing 
Finance Agency 

Woodcrest Apartments 
Multifamily Housing 

Revenue Bond $7,872,000 

Louisiana Housing 
Finance Agency 

Blue Plate Lofts 
Multifamily Housing 

Revenue Bond $15,000,000 

Finance Authority of 
New Orleans 

GCHP-MLK 
Multifamily Housing 

Revenue Bond $10,000,000 
Louisiana Housing 

Finance Agency 
Multifamily Mortgage 

Revenue Bond $100,000,000 
Finance Authority of 

New Orleans 
Multifamily Mortgage 

Revenue Bond $10,000,000 

Louisiana Housing 
Finance Authority 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bond $61,826,960 
East Baton Rouge 
Mortgage Finance 

Authority 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bond $61,826,960 

Finance Authority of 
New Orleans 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bond $41,226,217 

Finance Authority of 
New Orleans 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bond $41,226,217 

Finance Authority of 
St. Tammany Parish 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bond $20,600,743 

Rapides Finance 
Authority 

Single Family 
Mortgage Revenue 

Bond $20,600,743 

 
SECTION 2: All references in this Order to the 

singular shall include the plural, and all plural references 
shall include the singular. 

SECTION 3: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by 
operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of the State 
of Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on 
this 9th day of February, 2011. 

 
Bobby Jindal 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Jay Dardenne 
Secretary of State 
1102#046 
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EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 11-02 

Bond AllocationLocal Government Environmental 
Facilities and Community Development Authority 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 
and Act 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, Executive Order No. BJ 2008-47 was issued to 
establish:  
 (1) a method for allocating bonds subject to private 
activity bond volume limits, including the method of 
allocating bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 
limits (hereafter “Ceiling”);  
 (2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of 
bonds under the Ceiling; and  
 (3) a system of central record keeping for such 
allocations; and 

WHEREAS, The Louisiana Local Government 
Environmental Facilities and Community Development 
Authority has applied for an allocation of the 2011 Ceiling 
to be used in connection with the financing of the 
acquisition, construction, rehabilitation and equipping of one 
or more distributive sewer systems; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, BOBBY JINDAL, Governor of 
the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 
the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do 
hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The bond issue, as described in this 
Section, shall be and is hereby granted an allocation from the 
2011 Ceiling in the amount shown: 

 
Amount of 
Allocation Name of Issuer Name of Project 

$1,400,000 

Local Government 
Environmental Facilities 

and Community 
Development Authority 

Fourth Ward Water 
Association 

 
SECTION 2: The allocation granted herein shall be 

used only for the bond issue described in Section 1 and for 
the general purpose set forth in the “Application for 
Allocation of a Portion of the State of Louisiana’s Private 
Activity Bond Ceiling” submitted in connection with the 
bond issue described in Section 1. 

SECTION 3: The allocation granted herein shall be 
valid and in full force and effect through December 31, 
2011, provided that such bonds are delivered to the initial 
purchasers thereof on or before May 10, 2011. 

SECTION 4: All references in this Order to the 
singular shall include the plural, and all plural references 
shall include the singular. 

SECTION 5: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by 
operation of law. 

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 
9th day of February, 2011. 

 
Bobby Jindal 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Jay Dardenne 
Secretary of State 
1102#047 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 11-03 

Bond AllocationLocal Government Environmental 
Facilities and Community Development Authority 

WHEREAS, pursuant to the Tax Reform Act of 1986 
and Act 51 of the 1986 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, Executive Order No. BJ 2008-47 was issued to 
establish:  

(1) a method for allocating bonds subject to private 
activity bond volume limits, including the method of 
allocating bonds subject to the private activity bond volume 
limits (hereafter “Ceiling”);  

(2) the procedure for obtaining an allocation of 
bonds under the Ceiling; and  

(3) a system of central record keeping for such 
allocations; and 

WHEREAS, The Louisiana Local Government 
Environmental Facilities and Community Development 
Authority has applied for an allocation of the 2011 Ceiling 
to be used in connection with the financing of the 
acquisition, construction, rehabilitation and equipping of one 
or more distributive sewer systems; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, BOBBY JINDAL, Governor of 
the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 
the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do 
hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: The bond issue, as described in this 
Section, shall be and is hereby granted an allocation from the 
2011 Ceiling in the amount shown: 

 
Amount of 
Allocation Name of Issuer Name of Project 

$5,780,000 

Local Government 
Environmental Faculties and 

Community Development 
Authority 

Fourth Ward Water 
Association 

 
SECTION 2: The allocation granted herein shall be 

used only for the bond issue described in Section 1 and for 
the general purpose set forth in the “Application for 
Allocation of a Portion of the State of Louisiana’s Private 
Activity Bond Ceiling” submitted in connection with the 
bond issue described in Section 1. 
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SECTION 3: The allocation granted herein shall be 
valid and in full force and effect through December 31, 
2011, provided that such bonds are delivered to the initial 
purchasers thereof on or before May 10, 2011. 

SECTION 4: All references in this Order to the 
singular shall include the plural, and all plural references 
shall include the singular. 

SECTION 5: This Order is effective upon signature 
and shall remain in effect until amended, modified, 
terminated, or rescinded by the Governor, or terminated by 
operation of law.  

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 
9th day of February, 2011. 

 
Bobby Jindal 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Jay Dardenne 
Secretary of State 
1102#048 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDER BJ 11-04 

State of Emergency—Extension of  
Qualifying in the Parish of Union 

WHEREAS, “in order to ensure maximum citizen 
participation in the electoral process and provide a safe and 
orderly procedure for persons seeking to qualify or exercise 
their right to vote, to minimize to whatever degree possible a 
person’s exposure to danger during declared states of 
emergency, and to protect the integrity of the electoral 
process,” the Louisiana Legislature enacted R.S. 18:401.1 to 
provide “a procedure for the emergency suspension or delay 
and rescheduling of qualifying, early voting, and elections”; 
and 

WHEREAS, on February 10, 2011, pursuant to the 
provisions of R.S. 18:401.1(B), the Secretary of State 
certified to the Governor that as a result of severe weather 
conditions, a state of emergency exists in the parish of Union 
and they recommend that qualifying in that parish be 

suspended and resume at 8:30 a.m. on Friday, February 11, 
2011 and conclude at 5:00 p.m. on Monday, February 14, 
2011; 

NOW THEREFORE, I, BOBBY JINDAL, Governor of 
the State of Louisiana, by virtue of the authority vested by 
the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do 
hereby order and direct as follows: 

SECTION 1: Under the authority of R.S. 18:401.1(B) 
and based on the February 10, 2011 certification from the 
Secretary of State that a state of emergency exists in the 
parish of Union and the February 10, 2011 recommendation 
that the qualifying period in this parish be suspended and 
resume at 8:30 a.m. on Friday, February 11, 2011 and 
conclude at 5:00 pm. on Monday, February 14, 2011, a state 
of emergency is hereby declared to exist in the following 
parish and qualifying in the following parish is hereby 
suspended for the time periods and dates designated: 

Parish of Union, Chief of Police, Village of Lillie, 
suspended from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, 
February 10, 2011; 

Parish of Union, Chief of Police, Village of Spearsville, 
suspended from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, 
February 10, 2011; 

SECTION 2: In accordance with the procedures set 
forth in R.S. 18:401.1, qualifying in the parish of Union 
shall be rescheduled for and/or resume at 8:30 a.m. on 
Friday, February 11, 2011, and conclude at 5:00 p.m. on 
Monday, February 14, 2011.  

SECTION 3: This Order is effective upon signature. 
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have set my hand 

officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of 
Louisiana, at the Capitol, in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 
10th day of February, 2011. 

 
Bobby Jindal 
Governor 

ATTEST BY 
THE GOVERNOR 
Jay Dardenne 
Secretary of State 
1102#089 
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Emergency Rules 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Office of the Commissioner 

Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Aflatoxin (LAC 7:XXVII.128) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, LA R.S. 49:953 (B), and the 
authority of R.S. 3:3405, the Louisiana Agricultural 
Commodities Commission proposes to adopt by Emergency 
Rule fees for the testing and sampling of aflatoxin for corn. 

Aflatoxin is a toxic metabolite produced primarily by a 
naturally occurring fungus that affects corn. Aflatoxin is 
listed as a human and animal carcinogen. Aflatoxicosis in 
humans is characterized by vomiting, abdominal pain, 
pulmonary edema, convulsions, coma and death with 
cerebral edema and fatty involvement of the liver, kidneys 
and heart. Aflatoxicosis in animals causes liver damage, 
cancer, decreased mild and egg production, increased 
infections due to immunity suppression, anemia, jaundice 
and death. Aflatoxicosis in humans and animals results from 
the eating of food contaminated with aflatoxin. The United 
States Food and Drug Administration have established a 
limit of 20 parts per billion for aflatoxin in foods to be 
consumed by humans. 

The presence and levels of aflatoxin in corn can be 
determined only by sampling and testing the corn. The 
accuracy and reliability of the methods of testing corn 
directly affect both the marketability of the corn and the 
price received for the corn by the farmer and operators of 
grain elevators. Failure to immediately implement 
regulations governing the testing of corn at grain elevators 
creates and imminent peril to the public health, safety and 
welfare of the farmers and economy of this state. 

The Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission 
has, therefore, determined that these Emergency Rules are 
necessary in order to ensure an accurate and reliable 
sampling and testing of corn for aflatoxin.  

This Rule becomes effective on February 11, 2011 and 
will remain in effect for 120 days, unless renewed or until 
permanent rules are promulgated in accordance with law. 

Title 7 
AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 

Part XXVII.  Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 
Warehouse Law 

Chapter 1. Agricultural Commodities Commission 
Subchapter E. Assessments and Fees 
§128. Fees: Amount, Time of Payment 

A .- C.3. … 
4. Official Services (including sampling except as 

indicated) 
 

Online D/T sampling inspection service  
(sampling, grading and certification), per regular hour 

$25.00  

Overtime hourly rate, per hour $40.00 

Unit Inspection Fees: 
Aflatoxin Testing, per sample $30.00 
Hopper Car, per car $20.00 
Boxcar, per car $15.00 
Truck/Trailer, per carrier $10.00 
Barge, per 1,000 bushels $ 2.50 
Submitted sample inspection $12.00 
Re-grade grain sample $15.00 

 
D. - D.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3405, R.S. 3:3414.3 and R.S. 3:3422. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended LR 
14:528 (August 1988), LR 19:889 (July 1993), LR 23:196 
(February 1997), LR 27:815 (June 2001), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 30:197 
(February 2004), LR 37: 

 
Dr. Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1102#026 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Portability of Criminal History, Religious  
Exemption, and Sex Offender Rule  

(LAC 67:III.Chapter 73) 

The Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
has exercised the emergency provision in accordance with 
R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative Code Act to adopt 
LAC 67, Part III, Subpart 21 Chapter 73, Sections 7302, 
7303, 7305, 7311, 7357, 7359, 7361 and 7365 Child Care 
Licensing to comply with Acts 429, 508 and 569 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and Act 210 of 
the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. This 
Emergency Rule is effective upon the signature of the DCFS 
secretary and shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days. 
This declaration is necessary to extend the original 
Emergency Rule effective November 10, 2010 since it is 
effective for a maximum of 120 days and will expire on 
March 9, 2011 before the final Rule takes effect. (The final 
Rule will be published in the March 20, 2011 issue of the 
Louisiana Register.) 

The Department of Children and Family Services finds 
that an imminent threat to the safety and welfare of children 
in licensed child care facilities exists. Pursuant to Act 508 of 
the 2010 Legislative Session, the Department of Children 
and Family Services finds it necessary to allow for the 
portability of criminal history information. This rule shall 
allow an individual applying for a position of supervisory or 
disciplinary authority over children in a child care facility, or 
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an independent contractor who performs work in a child care 
facility, to receive a certified copy of his/her criminal history 
information upon written request to the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police. The certified copy of the criminal 
background check may be accepted by a prospective 
employer and shall be deemed to satisfy the requirements of 
R.S. 15:587.1 for each facility requesting criminal history 
information for a period of one year from the date of 
issuance of the certified copy. 

In accordance with Acts 429 and 569 of the 2010 
Legislative Session a recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, which remains 
open for not more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week, 
and in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay shall not be considered a "day 
care center" for the purposes of this Chapter. In addition, 
there shall be a moratorium on the enforcement of any rule 
and regulation by the Department of Children and Family 
Services upon a child care facility, operated by a religious, 
nonprofit organization which is exempt from federal income 
taxes pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3), and which was not 
licensed as either a Class “A” or Class “B” facility on June 
1, 2010, and provides childcare for not less than 25 hours 
and not more than 40 hours in a continuous 7-day week. 
This moratorium shall terminate and cease to be effective 
upon July 1, 2011. 

Pursuant to Act 210 of the 2009 Legislative Session, any 
person that has been convicted of a sex offense as defined in 
R.S. 15:541, is prohibited from owning, operating, or in any 
way participating in the governance of a child day care 
facility. The department also prohibits any employer from 
knowingly employing a person convicted of a sex offense as 
defined in R.S. 15:541, to work in a day care center or a 
child day care facility. This rule shall also require any 
owner/owners of a child day care facility to provide 
documentation of a satisfactory criminal record check, as 
required by R.S. 15:587.1. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Office of Family Support 
Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 

Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter A. Licensing Class “A” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7302. Authority 

A. Legislative Provisions. The state of Louisiana, 
Department of Children and Family Services, is charged 
with the responsibility for developing and publishing 
standards for the licensing of child care centers. The 
licensing authority of the Department of Children and 
Family Services is established by R.S. 46:1401 et seq., 
making mandatory the licensing of all child care facilities 
and child placing agencies, including child care centers. R.S. 
46:1403 defines a child day care facility as any place or 
facility operated by any institution, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the 
purpose of providing care, supervision, and guidance of 
seven or more children, not including those related to the 
caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12 1/2 hours in a continuous 7-day 

week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or adopted 
child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the legal 
custody of the caregiver.  

In accordance with Act 429 and Act 569 of the 2010 
Legislative Session, a recognized religious organization 
which is qualified as a tax-exempt organization under 
Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code, which remains 
open for not more than 24 hours in a continuous 7-day week, 
and in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay shall not be considered a "day 
care center" for the purposes of this Chapter. In addition, 
there shall be a moratorium on the enforcement of any rule 
and regulation by the Department of Children and Family 
Services upon a child care facility, operated by a religious, 
nonprofit organization which is exempt from federal income 
taxes pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 501(c)(3), and which was not 
licensed as either a Class A or Class B facility on June 1, 
2010, and provides childcare for not less than 25 hours and 
not more than 40 hours in a continuous 7-day week. This 
moratorium shall terminate and cease to be effective upon 
July 1, 2011. 

B. - F.6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1107 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2755 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:332 (February 2010), LR 
36:847 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, LR 37: 
§7303. Procedures 

A.1. - A.2.g.viii. ... 
 ix. three current, positive, signed references on 
director designee (if applicable); 
 x. licensure survey verifying compliance with all 
minimum standards; 
 xi. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
clearance for all staff including all owners and operators; 
and 
 xii. documentation of completed State Central 
Registry disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
of abuse and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from 
the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative 
Law noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

3. - 4.h.  ... 
i. three current, positive, signed references on 

director designee (if applicable); 
j. copy of bill of sale;  
k. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and operators and all staff not 
employed by the previous owner; and  

l. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from the Risk 
Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children. 

NOTE:  If the above information is not received prior to the 
sale or day of the sale, the new owner must not operate until a 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 443

license is issued. When the application is received, it will be 
treated as an initial application rather than a change of 
ownership. 

A.5. - C.3. ... 
4. The bureau shall be notified prior to making 

changes which may have an effect upon the license, e.g., age 
range of children served, usage of indoor and outdoor space, 
director, hours/months/days of operation, transportation, etc. 

D. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License. An 
application for a license may be denied, or a license may be 
revoked, or renewal denied, for any of the following reasons: 

1. - 14. ... 
15. presence or use of any recalled product by the 

provider that is listed in the newsletters issued by the Office 
of the Attorney General; 

16. failure to attend any mandatory training session 
offered by the bureau; 

17. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 
finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry until a determination by 
the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

18. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the 
individual poses a risk to children and the individual has not 
requested an appeal hearing by the Division of 
Administrative Law within the required time frame; 

19. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; or  

20. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 
and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 
management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge. 

E. - H.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1108 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2756 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), LR 
36:832 (April 2010), repromulgated LR 36:1272 (June 2010), 
amended LR 36:1279 (June 2010), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7305. General Requirements 

A. - M. ... 
N. Conditions for Participation in a Child-Related 

Business 
1. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 

provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A 
criminal background check shall be required of each owner 
of a facility submitting a new application, change of 
ownership application, change of location application, 
and/or application for renewal for a child day care license. 
No person with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, or plea of guilty or 

nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate or participate 
in the governance of a child care facility. 

2. New members/owners added to a partnership, 
church, corporation, limited liability corporation or 
governmental entity which does not constitute a change of 
ownership shall provide documentation of a satisfactory 
criminal record check as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 
15.587.1. No member/owner with a criminal conviction of 
conviction of a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of 
a felony, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 
included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any 
offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate or participate in the governance of a 
child care facility. 

3. Every owner shall submit the criminal background 
check showing that he or she has not been convicted of any 
offense enumerated in R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, or plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, together with the initial application or, in the 
case of an existing center, with the application for renewal of 
the license. If the criminal background check shows that any 
owner has been convicted of any enumerated offense under 
R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
of a felony, or any offense involving a juvenile victim, the 
owner or director shall submit the information to the 
licensing section management staff within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is sooner, upon 
receipt of the result. 

4. The physical presence of a sex offender in, on, or 
within 1,000 feet of a child day care facility is prohibited. 
Providers and child care staff shall not permit an individual 
convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 physical 
access to a child day care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

5. The owner or director of a child day care facility 
shall be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies 
and the licensing section management staff if a sex offender 
is on the premises of the child day care facility or within 
1,000 feet of the child day care facility. The licensing office 
shall be contacted immediately. The verbal report shall be 
followed by a written report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1112 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2759 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7311. Personnel Records 

A. - A.4. ... 
5. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be eligible to 
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own, operate, and/or be present in any capacity in any 
licensed child care facility. For any owner or operator, a 
clear criminal background check in accordance with R.S. 
46:51.2 shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a license or 
approval of a change of ownership. In addition, neither an 
owner, nor a director, nor a director designee shall have a 
conviction of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any crime 
in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is an element of 
the offense. 

a. An individual who applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police. If an individual provides a certified 
copy of their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana State Police to the provider, this criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the department for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility in which the individual is currently employed. 
However, prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the provider shall 
request and obtain a satisfactory criminal check from 
Louisiana State Police in order for the individual to continue 
employment at the center. If the clearance is not obtained by 
the provider prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the staff person is no 
longer allowed on the child care premises until a clearance is 
received. 

B. The following information shall be kept on file for 
independent contractors including therapeutic professionals 
and extracurricular personnel, e.g. computer instructors, 
dance instructors, librarians, tumble bus personnel, speech 
therapists, licensed health care professionals, state-certified 
teachers employed through a local school board, art 
instructors, and other outside contractors: 

1. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be present in 
any capacity in any child care facility. 

a. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
being present and working with a child or children at the 
facility. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified copy, the 
individual shall request and obtain a current certified copy of 
their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police in order to continue 

providing services to a child or children at the child care 
facility. If the clearance is not obtained by the provider prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the individual shall no longer be allowed 
on the child care premises until a clearance is received. This 
criminal background check shall be accepted by the 
department for a period of one year from the date of issuance 
of the certified copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall 
be kept on file at the facility. 

B.2. - C.3.d. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1114 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2762 
(December 2007), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, LR 37: 

Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 
Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter B. Licensing Class “B” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7357. Definitions 

A. The following are definitions of terms used in these 
minimum standards. 

* * * 
Child Day Care Centera child day care facility as 

defined in R.S. 46:1403, including vehicles or other 
structures owned or operated by the provider where care and 
supervision of children are provided, or where some process 
or operation integral to providing or facilitating care or 
supervision is conducted. 

* * * 
Extra-Curricular Personnel/Therapeutic Professionals 

individuals who are not employees of the center, but who 
come to the center to provide therapy, services, or 
enrichment activities for an individual child or group of 
children. Examples: computer instructor, dance instructor, 
librarian, tumble bus personnel, therapeutic personnel 
(occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech therapist), 
nutritionist, early interventionist, and nurse. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2770 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:334 (February 2010), LR 36:850 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7359. Procedures 

A.1. - A.2.f.v. ... 
 vi. licensure survey verifying compliance. with all 
minimum standards; 
 vii. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
clearance for all staff including all owners and operators; 
 viii. documentation of completed State central 
registry disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
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of abuse and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from 
the Risk Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative 
Law noting that the individual does not pose a risk to 
children. 

3. - 4. ... 
a. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and operators and all staff not 
employed by the previous owner; and  

b. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all staff or documentation from the Risk 
Assessment Panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children. 

A.5. - F.10. ... 
11. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 

finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry until a determination by 
the Risk Evaluation Panel or Division of Administrative Law 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

12. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Risk Evaluation Panel that the 
individual poses a risk to children and the individual has not 
requested an appeal hearing by the Division of 
Administrative Law within the required time frame; 

13. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; 

14. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 
and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 
management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge. 

G. - J.4. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2771 (December 2007), amended by the 
Department of Social Services, Office of Family Support LR 
36:832 (April 2010), LR 36:1272(June 2010), LR 36:1279 (June 
2010), amended by the Department of Children and Family 
Services, LR 37: 
§7361. General Requirements 

A. - L. ... 
M. Conditions for participation in a child-related 

business. 
1. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 

provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 15:587.1. A 
criminal background check shall be required of each owner 
of a facility submitting a new application, change of 
ownership application, change of location application, 
and/or application for renewal for a child day care license. 
No person with a criminal conviction of a felony, a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, or plea of guilty or 
nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 

victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate or participate 
in the governance of a child care facility. 

2. New members/owners added to a partnership, 
church, corporation, limited liability corporation or 
governmental entity which does not constitute a change of 
ownership shall provide documentation of a satisfactory 
criminal record check as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and R.S. 
15.587.1. No member/owner with a criminal conviction of 
conviction of a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of 
a felony, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense 
included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any 
offense involving a juvenile victim, shall directly or 
indirectly own, operate or participate in the governance of a 
child care facility. 

3. Every owner shall submit the criminal background 
check showing that he or she has not been convicted of any 
offense enumerated in R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, or plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, together with the initial application or, in the 
case of an existing center, with the application for renewal of 
the license. If the criminal background check shows that any 
owner has been convicted of any enumerated offense under 
R.S. 15:587.1 or a felony, a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
of a felony, or any offense involving a juvenile victim, the 
owner or director shall submit the information to the 
licensing section management staff within 24 hours or no 
later than the next business day, whichever is sooner, upon 
receipt of the result. 

4. The physical presence of a sex offender in, on, or 
within 1,000 feet of a child day care facility is prohibited. 
Providers and child care staff shall not permit an individual 
convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 15:541 physical 
access to a child day care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

5. The owner or director of a child day care facility 
shall be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies 
and the licensing management staff if a sex offender is on 
the premises of the child day care facility or within 1,000 
feet of the child day care facility. The licensing office shall 
be contacted immediately. The verbal report shall be 
followed by a written report. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1638 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2773 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:335 (February 2010), amended by the Department of Children 
and Family Services, LR 37: 
§7365. Center Staff 

A. - C.3. ... 
4. Criminal Records Check. Documentation of a 

satisfactory criminal records check from Louisiana State 
Police as required by R.S. 46:51.2. This check shall be 
obtained prior to the individual being present in the child 
care facility. No person who has been convicted of, or pled 
guilty or nolo contendere to, any offense included in R.S. 
15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, shall be eligible to own, operate, and/or 
be present in any capacity in any licensed child care facility. 
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For any owner or operator, a clear criminal background 
check in accordance with R.S. 46:51.2 shall be obtained 
prior to the issuance of a license or approval of a change of 
ownership. In addition, neither an owner, nor a director, nor 
a director designee shall have a conviction of, or pled guilty 
or nolo contender to any crime in which an act of fraud or 
intent to defraud is an element of the offense. 

a. An individual who applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 
Police. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility in 
which the individual is currently employed. However, prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the provider shall request and obtain a 
satisfactory criminal check from Louisiana State Police in 
order for the individual to continue employment at the 
center. If the clearance is not obtained by the provider prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the staff person is no longer allowed on 
the child care premises until a clearance is received. 

b. The following information shall be kept on file 
for independent contractors including therapeutic 
professionals and extracurricular personnel, e.g. computer 
instructors, dance instructors, librarians, tumble bus 
personnel, speech therapists, licensed health care 
professionals, state-certified teachers employed through a 
local school board, art instructors, and other outside 
contractors. 
 i. Documentation of a satisfactory criminal 
record check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present in the child care facility. No person who has 
been convicted of, or pled guilty or nolo contendere to, any 
offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or 
any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be present in 
any capacity in any child care facility. 
 ii. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
being present and working with a child or children at the 
facility. If an individual provides a certified copy of their 
criminal background check obtained from the Louisiana 
State Police to the provider, this criminal background check 
shall be accepted by the department for a period of one year 
from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy 
of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. Prior 
to the one year date of issuance of the certified copy, the 
individual shall request and obtain a current certified copy of 
their criminal background check obtained from the Bureau 
of Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police in order to continue providing 
services to a child or children at the child care facility. If the 
clearance is not obtained by the provider prior to the one 

year date of issuance of the certified criminal background 
check, the individual shall no longer be allowed on the child 
care premises until a clearance is received. This criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the department for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility. 

c. No felon shall be employed in a Class “B” 
facility, unless approved in writing by a district judge of the 
parish and the local district attorney. This statement shall be 
kept on file at all times by the child care facility and shall be 
produced upon request to any law enforcement officer. 

C.5. - D.7. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1639 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2774 (December 2007), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, LR 37: 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1102#072 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 
Non-Rural Community Hospitals (LAC 50.V.2701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:V.2701 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing amended the 
provisions governing disproportionate share hospital (DSH) 
payments to revise the provisions governing non-rural 
community hospitals and federally mandated statutory 
hospitals to clarify that hospitals qualifying as a non-rural 
community hospital in state fiscal year 2007-08 may also 
qualify in the federally mandated statutory hospital category, 
and to revise the definition of a non-rural community 
hospital (Louisiana Register, Volume 34, Number 11). In 
compliance with Act 228 of the 2009 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature, the department promulgated an 
Emergency Rule to amend the provisions governing 
disproportionate share hospital payments to reallocate any 
remaining funds from the fiscal year 2009 DSH 
appropriation to non-rural community hospitals and issue a 
supplemental payment to these hospitals for their 
uncompensated care costs (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 7). 
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Act 10 of the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature directed the department to amend the DSH 
qualifying criteria and payment methodologies for non-rural 
community hospitals. In compliance with Act 10, the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions of the June 26, 2009 Emergency 
Rule governing supplemental DSH payments to non-rural 
community hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number 1). The department promulgated and Emergency 
Rule which amended the January 20, 2010 Emergency Rule 
to amend the provisions governing supplemental DSH 
payments to non-rural community hospitals in order to 
redistribute the funds allocated for the state fiscal year 2010 
DSH appropriation (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, 
Number7). This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the June 29, 2010 Emergency 
Rule. This action is being taken to promote the public health 
and welfare of uninsured individuals and to ensure their 
continued access to health care by assuring that hospitals are 
adequately reimbursed for furnishing uncompensated care.  

Effective February 25, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing supplemental DSH payments to 
non-rural community hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Medical Assistance Program—Hospital Services 
Subpart 3.  Disproportionate Share Hospital Payments 

Chapter 27. Qualifying Hospitals 
§2701. Non-Rural Community Hospitals 

A. … 
B. DSH payments to a public, non-rural community 

hospital shall be calculated as follows. 
1. Each qualifying public, non-rural community 

hospital shall certify to the Department of Health and 
Hospitals its uncompensated care costs. The basis of the 
certification shall be 100 percent of the hospital’s allowable 
costs for these services, as determined by the most recently 
filed Medicare/Medicaid cost report. The certification shall 
be submitted in a form satisfactory to the department no later 
than October 1 of each fiscal year. The department will 
claim the federal share for these certified public 
expenditures. The department’s subsequent reimbursement 
to the hospital shall be in accordance with the qualifying 
criteria and payment methodology for non-rural community 
hospitals included in Act 10 of the 2009 Regular Session of 
the Louisiana Legislature, and may be more or less than the 
federal share so claimed. Qualifying public, non-rural 
community hospitals that fail to make such certifications by 
October 1 may not receive Title XIX claim payments or any 
disproportionate share payments until the department 
receives the required certifications. 

C. Private, non-rural community hospitals (other than 
freestanding psychiatric hospitals) shall be reimbursed as 
follows: 

1. If the hospital’s qualifying uninsured cost is less 
than 3.5 percent of total hospital cost, no payment shall be 
made. 

2. If the hospital’s qualifying uninsured cost is equal 
to or greater than 3.5 percent of total hospital cost, but less 
than 6.5 percent, the payment shall be 50 percent of an 

amount equal to the difference between the total qualifying 
uninsured cost as a percent of total hospital cost and 3.5 
percent of total hospital cost. 

3. If the hospital’s qualifying uninsured cost is equal 
to or greater than 6.5 percent of total hospital cost, but less 
than or equal to 8 percent, the payment shall be 80 percent of 
an amount equal to the difference between the total 
qualifying uninsured cost as a percent of total hospital cost 
and 3.5 percent of total hospital cost. 

4. If the hospital’s qualifying uninsured cost is greater 
than 8 percent of total hospital cost, the payment shall be 90 
percent of qualifying uninsured cost for the portion in excess 
of 8 percent of total hospital cost and 80 percent of an 
amount equal to 4.5 percent of total hospital cost. 

C.5. - E. … 
F. In the event that the total payments calculated for all 

recipient hospitals are anticipated to exceed the total amount 
appropriated, the department shall reduce payments on a pro 
rata basis in order to achieve a total cost that is not in excess 
of the amounts appropriated for this purpose. Any funding 
not distributed per the methodology outlined in C.1 – C.5 
above shall be reallocated to these qualifying hospitals based 
on their reported uninsured costs. The $35,000,000 
appropriation for the non-rural community hospital pool 
shall be effective only for state fiscal year 2010 and 
distributions from the pool shall be considered nonrecurring. 

G. Of the total appropriation for the non-rural 
community hospital pool, $12,000,000 shall be allocated to 
public and private non-rural community hospitals with a 
distinct part psychiatric unit and freestanding psychiatric 
hospitals. 

1. To qualify for this payment hospitals must have 
uninsured cost as defined in §2701.C.5 equal to or greater 
than 3.5 percent of total hospital cost and: 

a. be a public or private non-rural community 
hospital, as defined in §2701.A. that has a Medicaid enrolled 
distinct part psychiatric unit; or 

b. enrolled in Medicaid as a freestanding psychiatric 
hospital that pursuant to 42 CFR 441.151 is accredited by 
the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations. 

2. Payment shall be calculated by dividing each 
qualifying freestanding psychiatric hospital’s or distinct part 
psychiatric unit’s uninsured days by the sum of all qualifying 
psychiatric uninsured days and multiplying by $12,000,000. 

G.2.a. - G.2.b. Repealed. 
H. - I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.  
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 34:655 (April 2008), amended LR 34:2402 
(November 2008), amended by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 

Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#081 
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DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Federally Qualified Health Centers 
Diabetes Self-Management Training 

(LAC 50:XI.Chapters 103-105 and 10701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.Chapters 
103-105 and §10701 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, through its primary and preventive care activity, 
to provide reimbursement to providers for rendering services 
that will educate and encourage Medicaid enrollees to obtain 
appropriate preventive and primary care in order to improve 
their overall health and quality of life. In keeping with the 
intent of Act 11, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to amend the 
provisions governing federally qualified health centers 
(FQHCs) to provide Medicaid reimbursement for diabetes 
self-management training (DSMT) services. It is anticipated 
that this new service will promote improved patient self-
management skills which will reduce diabetes-related 
complications that adversely affect quality of life, and 
subsequently reduce Medicaid costs associated with the care 
of recipients diagnosed with diabetes-related illnesses. This 
Emergency Rule will also reorganize the provisions 
governing provider participation and services in a more clear 
and concise manner in the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients diagnosed with diabetes and 
to reduce the Medicaid costs associated with their care. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
increase expenditures for federally qualified health center 
services by approximately $6,551 for state fiscal year 2010-
2011. 

Effective February 20, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing federally qualified health centers to 
provide coverage for diabetes self-management training 
services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 13.  Federally-Qualified Health Centers 

Chapter 103. Services 
§10301. Scope of Services 

A. Medicaid reimbursement is limited to medically 
necessary services that are covered by the Medicaid State 
Plan and would be covered if furnished by a physician. The 
following services shall be covered: 

1. services furnished by a physician within the scope 
of practice of his profession under Louisiana law; 

2. services furnished by a: 
a. physician assistant; 
b. nurse practitioner; 
c. nurse midwife; 
d. clinical social worker; 
e. clinical psychologist; or 
f. dentist; 

3. services and supplies that are furnished as an 
incident to professional services furnished by all eligible 
professionals;  

4. other ambulatory services; and 
5. diabetes self-management training (DSMT) 

services. 
B. Effective February 20, 2011, the department shall 

provide coverage of diabetes self-management training 
services rendered to Medicaid recipients diagnosed with 
diabetes. 

1. The services shall be comprised of one hour of 
individual instruction and nine hours of group instruction on 
diabetes self-management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2487 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§10303. Service Limits 

A. Federally qualified health center visits (encounters) 
are limited to 12 visits per year for medically necessary 
services rendered to Medicaid recipients who are 21 years of 
age or older. Visits for Medicaid recipients who are under 21 
years of age and for prenatal postpartum care are excluded 
from the service limitation. 

1. - 3. Repealed. 
B. Recipients of DSMT services shall receive up to 10 

hours of services during the first 12-month period following 
the initial order.  

1. After the first 12-month period has ended, 
recipients shall only be eligible for two hours of individual 
instruction on diabetes self-management every 12 months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2488 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1901 (October 2006), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 105. Provider Participation 
§10501. Provider Enrollment 

A. In order to enroll and participate in the Medicaid 
Program, an FQHC must submit a completed provider 
enrollment packet that includes a copy of the HRSA grant 
approving its FQHC status. 

1. - 4. Repealed. 
B. The effective date of a FQHC’s enrollment to 

participate in the Medicaid Program shall not be prior to the 
date of receipt of the completed enrollment packet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 30:2328 (October 2004), repromulgated LR 
30:2488 (November 2004), amended LR 32:1902 (October 2006), 
amended by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§10503. Standards for Participation 

A. Federally qualified health centers must comply with 
the applicable licensure, accreditation and program 
participation standards for all services rendered. If a FQHC 
wishes to initiate participation, it shall be responsible for 
meeting all of the enrollment criteria of the program. The 
FQHC provider shall: 

1. maintain an acceptable fiscal record keeping system 
that readily distinguishes one type of service from another 
type of service that may be provided; 

2. retain all records necessary to fully disclose the 
extent of services provided to recipients for five years from 
the date of service and furnish such records, and any 
payments claimed for providing such services, to the 
Medicaid Program upon request; and 

3. abide by and adhere to all federal and state 
regulations and policy manuals. 

B. If a FQHC receives approval for a satellite site, the 
satellite site must enter into a separate provider agreement 
and obtain its own Medicaid provider number. 

C. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for 
DSMT services, a FQHC must have a DSMT program that 
meets the quality standards of one of the following 
accreditation organizations: 

1. the American Diabetes Association; 
2. the American Association of Diabetes Educators; or 
3. the Indian Health Service. 

D. All DSMT programs must adhere to the national 
standards for diabetes self-management education. 

1. Each member of the instructional team must: 
a. be a certified diabetes educator (CDE) certified 

by the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators; 
or 

b. have recent didactic and experiential preparation 
in education and diabetes management.  

2. At a minimum, the instructional team must consist 
of one the following professionals who is a CDE: 

a. a registered dietician; 
b. a registered nurse; or 
c. a pharmacist. 

3. All members of the instructional team must obtain 
the nationally recommended annual continuing education 
hours for diabetes management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 36:2280 (October 2010), amended LR 37: 
Chapter 107. Reimbursement Methodology 
§10701. Prospective Payment System 

A. - B.2.NOTE. … 
3. Effective for dates of service on or after February 

20, 2011, the Medicaid Program shall include coverage for 
diabetes self-management training services rendered by 
qualified health care professionals in the FQHC encounter 
rate. 

a. Separate encounters for DSMT services are not 
permitted and the delivery of DSMT services alone does not 
constitute an encounter visit. 

C. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1902 (October 2006), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#077 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesMajor Teaching Hospitals 
Qualifying Criteria (LAC 50:V.1301-1309)  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 
50:V.1301-1309 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
rule that established the reimbursement of major and minor 
teaching hospitals as peer groups under the prospective 
reimbursement methodology for hospitals (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The department amended 
the June 20, 1994 Rule to adopt new criteria for the 
reimbursement of graduate medical education (GME) 
pursuant to Section 15 Schedule 09 of Act 19 of the 1998 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature and R.S. 39:71 
et seq (Louisiana Register, Volume 26, Number 3). 

Act 347 of the 2009 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature revised the qualifying criteria for major teaching 
hospitals. In compliance with Act 347, the department 
promulgated an Emergency Rule which amended the 
provisions governing the qualifying criteria for major 
teaching hospitals. This Emergency Rule also repromulgated 
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the March 20, 2000 Rule governing teaching hospitals in a 
codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative 
Code (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 6). This 
Emergency Rule is being promulgated to continue the 
provisions of the July 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. This action 
is being taken to promote the health and welfare of Medicaid 
recipients by encouraging provider participation in the 
Medicaid Program so as to assure sufficient access to 
hospital services.  

Effective February 28, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing inpatient hospital services rendered 
by non-rural, non-state hospitals designated as teaching 
hospitals. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 13. Teaching Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1301. Major Teaching Hospitals 

A. The Louisiana Medical Assistance Program's 
recognition of a major teaching hospital is limited to 
facilities having a documented affiliation agreement with a 
Louisiana medical school accredited by the Liaison 
Committee on Medical Education (LCME). A major 
teaching hospital shall meet one of the following criteria: 

1. be a major participant in at least four approved 
medical residency programs. At least two of the programs 
must be in medicine, surgery, obstetrics/gynecology, 
pediatrics, family practice, emergency medicine or 
psychiatry; or 

2. maintain an intern and resident full-time 
equivalency of at least 20 filled positions with an approved 
medical residency program in family practice located more 
than 150 miles from the medical school accredited by the 
LCME.  

B. For the purposes of recognition as a major teaching 
hospital, a facility shall be considered a "major participant" 
in a graduate medical education program if it meets the 
following criteria. The facility must: 

1. pay for all of the costs of the training program in 
the non-hospital or hospital setting, including: 

a. the residents' salaries and fringe benefits; 
b. the portion of the cost of teaching physicians' 

salaries and fringe benefits attributable to direct graduate 
medical education; and  

c. other direct administrative costs of the program; 
and 

2. participate in residency programs that: 
a. require residents to rotate for a required 

experience;  
b. require explicit approval by the appropriate 

Residency Review Committee (RRC) of the medical school 
with which the facility is affiliated prior to utilization of the 
facility; or 

c. provide residency rotations of more than one 
sixth of the program length or more than a total of six 
months at the facility and are listed as part of an accredited 

program in the Graduate Medical Education Directory of 
the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 
(ACGME). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§1303. Minor Teaching Hospitals 

A. The Louisiana Medical Assistance Program's 
recognition of a minor teaching hospital is limited to 
facilities having a documented affiliation agreement with a 
Louisiana medical school accredited by the LCME. A minor 
teaching hospital shall meet the following criteria: 

1. must participate significantly in at least one 
approved medical residency program in either medicine, 
surgery, obstetrics/gynecology, pediatrics, family practice, 
emergency medicine or psychiatry; and 

2. maintain an intern and resident full time 
equivalency of at least six filled positions. 

B. For the purposes of recognition as a minor teaching 
hospital, a facility is considered to "participate significantly" 
in a graduate medical education program if it meets the 
following criteria. The facility must:  

1. pay for all of the costs of the training program in 
the non-hospital or hospital setting, including: 

a. the residents' salaries and fringe benefits; 
b. the portion of the cost of teaching physicians' 

salaries and fringe benefits attributable to direct graduate 
medical education; and 

c. other direct administrative costs of the program; 
and 

2. participate in residency programs that: 
a. require residents to rotate for a required 

experience;  
b. require explicit approval by the appropriate 

Residency Review Committee of the medical school with 
which the facility is affiliated prior to utilization of the 
facility; or 

c. provide residency rotations of more than one 
sixth of the program length or more than a total of six 
months at the facility and are listed as part of an accredited 
program in the Graduate Medical Education Directory of 
the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education.  
 i. If not listed, the sponsoring institution must 
have notified the ACGME, in writing, that the residents 
rotate through the facility and spend more than 1/6th of the 
program length or more than a total of six months at the 
facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§1305. Approved Medical Residency Program 

A. An approved medical residency program is one that 
meets one of the following criteria: 

1. counts toward certification of the participant in a 
specialty or sub-specialty listed in the current edition of 
either The Directory of Graduate Medical Education 
Programs published by the American Medical Association, 
Department of Directories and Publications, or The Annual 
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Report and Reference Handbook published by the American 
Board of Medical Specialties;  

2. is approved by the ACGME as a fellowship 
program in geriatric medicine; or 

3. is a program that would be accredited except for the 
accrediting agency's reliance upon an accreditation standard 
that requires an entity to perform an induced abortion or 
require, provide, or refer for training in the performance of 
induced abortions, or make arrangements for such training 
regardless of whether the standard provides exceptions or 
exemptions. 

B. A residency program at a non-hospital facility may be 
counted by a hospital if: 

1. there is a written agreement with the non-hospital 
facility that requires the hospital facility to pay for the cost 
of the training program; and 

2. the agreement requires that the time that residents 
spend in the non-hospital setting is for patient care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§1307. Graduate Medical Education 

A. The Bureau adopts criteria for the reimbursement of 
graduate medical education (GME) in facilities that do not 
qualify as major or minor teaching facilities. GME 
recognized by the Medical Assistance Program for 
reimbursement shall be limited to facilities having a 
documented affiliation agreement with a Louisiana medical 
school accredited by the LCME. 

B. Payment for GME costs shall be limited to the direct 
cost of interns and residents in addition to the teaching 
physician supervisory costs. Teaching physician supervisory 
costs shall be limited in accordance with the provisions of 
the Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual. The GME 
component of the rate shall be based on hospital specific 
graduate medical education Medicaid cost for the latest year 
on which hospital prospective reimbursements are rebased 
trended forward in accordance with the prospective 
reimbursement methodology for hospitals. 

C. Hospitals implementing GME programs approved 
after the latest year on which hospital prospective 
reimbursements have been rebased shall have a GME 
component based on the first full cost reporting period that 
the approved GME program is in existence trended forward 
in accordance with the prospective reimbursement 
methodology for hospitals. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§1309. Requirements for Reimbursement 

A. Qualification for teaching hospital status or to receive 
reimbursement for GME costs shall be re-established at the 
beginning of each fiscal year. 

B. To be reimbursed as a teaching hospital or to receive 
reimbursement for GME costs, a facility shall submit the 
following documentation to the Bureau of Health Services, 
Program Operations Section within 30 days of the beginning 
of each state fiscal year: 

1. a copy of the executed affiliation agreement for the 
time period for which the teaching hospital status or GME 
reimbursement applies; 

2. a copy of any agreements with non-hospital 
facilities; and 

3. a signed Certification For Teaching Hospital 
Recognition. 

C. Each hospital which is reimbursed as a teaching 
hospital or receives reimbursement for GME costs shall 
submit the following documentation to the Bureau of Health 
Services, Program Operations Section, within 90 days of the 
end of each state fiscal year: 

1. a copy of the Intern and Resident Information 
System report that is submitted annually to the Medicare 

intermediary; and 
2. a copy of any notice given to the ACGME that 

residents rotate through a facility for more than one sixth of 
the program length or more than a total of six months. 

D. Copies of all contracts, payroll records and time 
allocations related to graduate medical education must be 
maintained by the hospital and available for review by the 
state and federal agencies or their agents upon request. 

E. No teaching hospital shall receive a per diem rate 
greater than 115 percent of its facility specific cost based on 
the latest rebasing year trended forward to the rate year in 
accordance with the prospective reimbursement 
methodology for hospitals. 

F. The peer group maximum for minor teaching 
hospitals shall be the peer group maximum for minor 
teaching hospitals or the peer group maximum for peer 
group five, whichever is greater. 

G. If it is subsequently discovered that a hospital has 
been reimbursed as a major or minor teaching hospital and 
did not qualify for that peer group for any reimbursement 
period, retroactive adjustment shall be made to reflect the 
correct peer group to which the facility should have been 
assigned. The resulting overpayment will be recovered 
through either immediate repayment by the hospital or 
recoupment from any funds due to the hospital from the 
department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to all inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#082 
 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 452

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services 
Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 

Outlier Payment Methodology Changes 
(LAC 50:V.954) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing rescinds the January 1, 2011 
Emergency Rule governing the outlier payment 
methodology for inpatient hospital services rendered by non-
rural, non-state hospitals, as authorized by R.S. 36:254. The 
Emergency Rule will be published in the January 20, 2011 
edition of the Louisiana Register. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first.  

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted an Emergency Rule 
which amended the provisions governing inpatient hospital 
services rendered by non-rural, non-state hospitals in order 
to revise the outlier payment methodology (Louisiana 
Register, Volume 37, Number 1). The department has now 
determined that it is necessary to rescind the January 1, 2011 
Emergency Rule. 

Effective January 11, 2011 the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the 
Emergency Rule which amended the provisions governing 
the outlier payment methodology for inpatient hospital 
services which will be published in the January 20, 2011 
edition of the Louisiana Register. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#008 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital ServicesState Hospitals 
Supplemental Payments (LAC 50:V.551) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.551 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted a 
Rule in June of 1983 that established the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in acute care 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 9, Number 6). 
Inpatient hospital services were reimbursed in accordance 
with the Medicare reimbursement principles utilizing a 
target rate set based on the cost per discharge for each 
hospital, except that the base year to be used in determining 
the target rate was the fiscal year ending on September 29, 
1982. In October 1984, the department established separate 
per diem limitations for neonatal and pediatric intensive care 
and burn units using the same base period as the target rate 
per discharge calculation (Louisiana Register, Volume 10, 
Number 10). In October 1992, the department promulgated a 
Rule which provided that inpatient hospital services to 
children under one year of age shall be reimbursed as pass-
through costs and shall not be subject to per discharge or per 
diem limits applied to other inpatient hospital services 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 18, Number 10). The 
department subsequently amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to establish a 
prospective payment methodology for non-state hospitals 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 20, Number 6). The per 
discharge and per diem limitations in state acute care 
hospitals were rebased by a Rule promulgated in December 
of 2003 (Louisiana Register, Volume 29, Number 12). The 
Bureau subsequently amended the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient services provided in state acute 
hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 2).  

The department promulgated an Emergency Rule which 
amended the provisions governing the reimbursement 
methodology for inpatient hospital services to provide a 
supplemental Medicaid payment to state-owned acute care 
hospitals that meet the qualifying criteria, and to adjust the 
reimbursement paid to non-qualifying state-owned acute 
care hospitals (Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 11). 
The department now proposes to amend the provisions of the 
October 16, 2010 Emergency Rule to clarify the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for those state-
owned acute care hospitals that do not meet the qualifying 
criteria for the supplemental payment. For the purpose of 
clarity, the department also proposes to incorporate the 
provisions of the February 20, 2006 Rule in a codified 
format for inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative Code. 
This action is being taken to clarify the intent of the October 
16, 2010 Emergency Rule and to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients by ensuring sufficient 
provider participation and recipient access to services.  

Effective January 20, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions of the October 16, 2010 Emergency Rule 
governing the reimbursement methodology for inpatient 
hospital services rendered by state-owned acute care 
hospitals. 
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Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 5. State Hospitals 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement Methodology 
§551. Acute Care Hospitals 

A. Inpatient hospital services rendered by state-owned 
acute care hospitals shall be reimbursed at allowable costs 
and shall not be subject to per discharge or per diem limits. 

B. Effective for dates of service on or after October 16, 
2010, a quarterly supplemental payment up to the Medicare 
upper payment limits will be issued to qualifying state-
owned hospitals for inpatient acute care services rendered. 

1. - 2. Repealed. 
C. Qualifying Criteria for Supplemental Payment. The 

state-owned acute care hospitals must be located in DHH 
Administrative Region 8 (Monroe). 

D. Effective for dates of service on or after October 16, 
2010, Medicaid rates paid to state-owned acute care 
hospitals that do not meet the qualifying criteria for the 
supplemental payment shall be adjusted to 60 percent of 
allowable Medicaid costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#007 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Medicaid ProgramReimbursement Rate  
and Prescription Limit Reductions 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing hereby rescinds the December 1, 
2010 Emergency Rules implementing reimbursement rate 
reductions and prescription limit reduction in the Medical 
Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254.These 
Emergency Rules were adopted on November 22, 2010, 
published in the major daily newspapers and the December 
20, 2010 edition of the Louisiana Register.This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 

Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing, the Office of Aging and Adult 
Services, and the Office for Citizens with Developmental 
Disabilities adopted provisions which reduced the 
reimbursement rates for designated services and the monthly 
prescription limit covered in the Medicaid Program 
(Louisiana Register, Volume 36, Number 12). The 
department has now determined that it is necessary to 
rescind all of the December 1, 2010 Emergency Rules which 
reduced the Medicaid reimbursement rates and the monthly 
prescription limit. 

Effective January 11, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing rescinds the 
following Emergency Rules which appeared in the 
December 20, 2010 edition of the Louisiana Register on 
pages 2771-2823: 

1. All Inclusive Care for the Elderly Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XXIII.1301); 

2. Ambulatory Surgical Centers Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XI.7503); 

3. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
TreatmentDental Program Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XV.6903); 

4. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and 
TreatmentHealth ServicesEarlySteps Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.7107); 

5. End Stage Renal Disease Facilities Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XI.6901 and 6903); 

6. Home Health ProgramExtended Nursing 
Services Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XIII.701); 

7. Inpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
Hospitals Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:V.953, 
955, 959 and 967); 

8. Inpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-State 
HospitalsOutlier Payment Methodology (LAC 50:V.954); 

9. Outpatient Hospital ServicesNon-Rural, Non-
State Hospitals and Children’s Specialty Hospitals 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC:V.5313, 5317, 5513, 
5517, 5713, 5719, 6115 and 6119); 

10. Laboratory and Radiology Services Reimbursement 
Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XIX.4329 and 4334-4337); 

11. Mental Health Rehabilitation Program 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.901); 

12. Multi-Systemic Therapy Reimbursement Rate 
Reduction (LAC 50:XV.25701); 

13. Personal Care ServicesLong-Term 
Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 50:XV.12917); 

14. Pharmacy ProgramPrescription Limit Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXIX.113); 

15. Pregnant Women Extended ServicesDental 
Services Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XV.16107); 

16. Medical Transportation ProgramEmergency 
Ambulance Services Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XXVII.325 and 353); 

17. Medical Transportation ProgramNon-Emergency 
Ambulance Services Reimbursement Rate Reduction (LAC 
50:XXVII.571); and 
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18. Medical Transportation ProgramNon-Emergency 
Medical Transportation Reimbursement Rate Reduction 
(LAC 50:XXVII.573). 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#006 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Outpatient Hospital Services 
Diabetes Self-Management Training (LAC 50:V.Chapter 63) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:V.Chapter 63 in 
the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 
36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, through its primary and preventive care activity, 
to provide reimbursement to providers for rendering services 
that will educate and encourage Medicaid enrollees to obtain 
appropriate preventive and primary care in order to improve 
their overall health and quality of life. In keeping with the 
intent of Act 11, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to adopt 
provisions in the Hospital Program to provide Medicaid 
reimbursement for diabetes self-management training 
(DSMT) services rendered in an outpatient hospital setting. 
It is anticipated that this new service will promote improved 
patient self-management skills which will reduce diabetes-
related complications that adversely affect quality of life, 
and subsequently reduce Medicaid costs associated with the 
care of recipients diagnosed with diabetes-related illnesses. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients diagnosed with diabetes and 
to ultimately reduce the Medicaid costs associated with their 
care. It is estimated that implementation of this Emergency 
Rule will increase expenditures in the Professional Services 
Program by approximately $196,541 for state fiscal year 
2010-2011. 

Effective February 20, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts 
provisions in the Hospital Program to provide coverage for 
diabetes self-management training services rendered in an 
outpatient hospital setting. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 5.  Outpatient Hospital Services 

Chapter 63. Diabetes Education Services 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§6301. Introduction 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 
2011, the department shall provide coverage of diabetes self-
management training (DSMT) services rendered to Medicaid 
recipients diagnosed with diabetes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§6303. Scope of Services 

A. DSMT services shall be comprised of one hour of 
individual instruction and nine hours of group instruction on 
diabetes self-management.  

B. Service Limits. Recipients shall receive up to 10 
hours of services during the first 12-month period following 
the initial order. After the first 12-month period has ended, 
recipients shall only be eligible for two hours of individual 
instruction on diabetes self-management every 12 months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§6305. Provider Participation 

A. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement, 
outpatient hospitals must have a DSMT program that meets 
the quality standards of one of the following accreditation 
organizations:  

1. the American Diabetes Association; 
2. the American Association of Diabetes Educators; or 
3. the Indian Health Service. 

B. All DSMT programs must adhere to the national 
standards for diabetes self-management education.  

1. Each member of the instructional team must: 
a. be a certified diabetes educator (CDE) certified 

by the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators; 
or 

b. have recent didactic and experiential preparation 
in education and diabetes management. 

2. At a minimum, the instructional team must consist 
of one the following professionals who is a CDE: 

a. a registered dietician; 
b. a registered nurse; or 
c. a pharmacist.  

3. All members of the instructional team must obtain 
the nationally recommended annual continuing education 
hours for diabetes management. 

C. Members of the instructional team must be either 
employed by or have a contract with a Medicaid enrolled 
outpatient hospital that will submit the claims for 
reimbursement of outpatient DSMT services rendered by the 
team. AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in 
accordance with R.S. 36:254 and Title XIX of the Social 
Security Act. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter B. Reimbursement  
§6311. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 
2011, the Medicaid Program shall provide reimbursement 
for diabetes self-management training services rendered by 
qualified health care professionals in an outpatient hospital 
setting. 

B. Reimbursement for DSMT services shall be a flat fee 
based on the appropriate Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding (HCPC) code. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#078 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Pharmacy Benefits Management Program 
Prescription Limit Reduction 

(LAC 50:XXIX.113) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XXIX.113 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act and as 
directed by Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the 
Louisiana Legislature which states: “The secretary is 
directed to utilize various cost containment measures to 
ensure expenditures in the Medicaid Program do not exceed 
the level appropriated in this Schedule, including but not 
limited to precertification, preadmission screening, 
diversion, fraud control, utilization review and management, 
prior authorization, service limitations, drug therapy 
management, disease management, cost sharing, and other 
measures as permitted under federal law.” This Emergency 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and 
shall be in effect for the maximum period allowed under the 
Act or until adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs 
first. 

As a result of a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 
2009, the Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amended the provisions 

governing prescription limits in the Pharmacy Benefits 
Management Program to reduce the number of prescriptions 
covered by the Medicaid Program within a calendar month 
for certain recipients (Louisiana Register, Volume 35, 
Number 9).  

Due to a budgetary shortfall in state fiscal year 2011, the 
department has determined that it is necessary to amend the 
provisions governing the Pharmacy Benefits Management 
Program to further reduce the number of prescriptions 
covered by the Medicaid Program within a calendar month. 
This action is being taken to avoid a budget deficit in the 
medical assistance programs. It is estimated that 
implementation of this Emergency Rule will reduce 
expenditures in the Medicaid Program by approximately 
$1,240,000 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective February 1, 2011, the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends the 
provisions governing prescription limits in the Pharmacy 
Benefits Management Program. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XXIX.  Pharmacy 
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§113. Prescription Limit 

A. Effective February 1, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals will pay for a maximum of four prescriptions 
per calendar month for Medicaid recipients. 

B. The following federally mandated recipient groups 
are exempt from the four prescriptions per calendar month 
limitation: 

1. persons under 21 years of age; 
2. persons who are residents of long-term care 

institutions, such as nursing homes and ICF-DD facilities; 
and 

3. pregnant women. 
C. The four prescriptions per month limit can be 

exceeded when the prescriber determines an additional 
prescription is medically necessary and communicates the 
following information to the pharmacist in his own 
handwriting or by telephone or other telecommunications 
device: 

1. “medically necessary override;” and 
2. a valid ICD-9-CM, or its successor, diagnosis code 

that is directly related to each drug prescribed that is over the 
four prescription limit (no ICD-9-CM, or its successor, 
literal description is acceptable). 

D. The prescriber should use the Clinical Drug Inquiry 
(CDI) internet web application developed by the fiscal 
intermediary in his/her clinical assessment of the patient’s 
disease state or medical condition and the current drug 
regime before making a determination that more than four 
prescriptions per calendar month is required by the recipient. 

E. ... 
F. An acceptable statement and ICD-9-CM, or its 

successor, diagnosis code is required for each prescription in 
excess of four for that month. 

G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1055 (June 2006), amended by the 
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Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing, LR 35:1901 (September 2009), LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#005 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services Program 
Diabetes Self-Management Training  
(LAC 50:IX.Chapter 7 and 15103) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts LAC 50:IX.Chapter 7 and 
§15103 in the Medical Assistance Program as authorized by 
R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security 
Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance 
with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 
R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the 
maximum period allowed under the Act or until adoption of 
the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, through its primary and preventive care activity, 
to provide reimbursement to providers for rendering services 
that will educate and encourage Medicaid enrollees to obtain 
appropriate preventive and primary care in order to improve 
their overall health and quality of life. In keeping with the 
intent of Act 11, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to adopt 
provisions in the Professional Services Program to provide 
Medicaid reimbursement for diabetes self-management 
training (DSMT) services. It is anticipated that this new 
service will promote improved patient self-management 
skills which will reduce diabetes-related complications that 
adversely affect quality of life, and subsequently reduce 
Medicaid costs associated with the care of recipients 
diagnosed with diabetes-related illnesses. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients diagnosed with diabetes and 
to reduce the Medicaid costs associated with their care. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
increase expenditures in the Professional Services Program 
by approximately $39,308 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective February 20, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopts 

provisions in the Professional Services Program to provide 
coverage for diabetes self-management training services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 1.  General Provisions 

Chapter 7. Diabetes Education Services 
§701. General Provisions 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 
2011, the department shall provide coverage of diabetes self-
management training (DSMT) services rendered to Medicaid 
recipients diagnosed with diabetes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§703. Scope of Services 

A. DSMT shall be comprised of one hour of individual 
instruction and nine hours of group instruction on diabetes 
self-management.  

B. Service Limits. Recipients shall receive up to 10 
hours of services during the first 12-month period following 
the initial order. After the first 12-month period has ended, 
recipients shall only be eligible for two hours of individual 
instruction on diabetes self-management every 12 months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§705. Provider Participation 

A. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement, 
outpatient hospitals must have a DSMT program that meets 
the quality standards of one of the following accreditation 
organizations:  

1. the American Diabetes Association; 
2. the American Association of Diabetes Educators; or 
3. the Indian Health Service. 

B. All DSMT programs must adhere to the national 
standards for diabetes self-management education.  

1. Each member of the instructional team must: 
a. be a certified diabetes educator (CDE) certified 

by the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators; 
or 

b. have recent didactic and experiential preparation 
in education and diabetes management. 

2. At a minimum, the instructional team must consist 
of one the following professionals who are also a CDE: 

a. a registered dietician; 
b. a registered nurse; or 
c. a pharmacist. 

3. All members of the instructional team must obtain 
the nationally recommended annual continuing education 
hours for diabetes management. 

C. Members of the instructional team must be either 
employed by or have a contract with a Medicaid enrolled 
professional services provider that will submit the claims for 
reimbursement of DSMT services rendered by the team. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
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Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 
Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§15103. Diabetes Education Services 

A. Effective for dates of service on or after February 20, 
2011, the Medicaid Program shall provide reimbursement 
for diabetes self-management training services rendered by 
qualified health care professionals. 

B. Reimbursement for DSMT services shall be a flat fee 
based on the appropriate Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding (HCPC) code.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#079 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Professional Services ProgramReimbursement 
MethodologySupplemental Payments  

(LAC 50:IX.15151 and 15153) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopts §15151 and §15153 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the social Security Act. This 
Emergency Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in effect for the maximum 
period allowed under the Act or until adoption of the final 
Rule, whichever occurs first. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of the 
Secretary, Bureau of Health Services Financing adopted 
provisions in the Professional Services Program to provide 
supplemental payments to physicians and other eligible 
professional service practitioners employed by state-owned 
or operated entities (Louisiana Register, Volume 32, Number 
6). The department now proposes to amend the provisions 
governing the reimbursement methodology for professional 
services to provide a supplemental payment to physicians 
and other professional practitioners employed by, or under 
contract with, non-state owned or operated governmental 
entities. In addition, this Emergency Rule will also 
repromulgate the provisions of the June 20, 2006 Rule in a 
codified format for inclusion in the Louisiana Administrative 

Code. This Emergency Rule is being promulgated to 
continue the provisions of the July 1, 2010 Emergency Rule. 
This action is being taken to promote the health and welfare 
of Medicaid recipients by encouraging continued provider 
participation in the Medicaid Program and ensuring recipient 
access to services. 

Effective February 28, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing the reimbursement methodology 
for services rendered by physicians and other professional 
service practitioners.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH―MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part IX.  Professional Services Program 
Subpart 15.  Reimbursement 

Chapter 151. Reimbursement Methodology 
Subchapter F.  Supplemental Payments  

§15151. Qualifying CriteriaState Owned or Operated 
Professional Services Practices  

A. In order to qualify to receive supplemental payments, 
physicians and other eligible professional service 
practitioners must be: 

1. licensed by the state of Louisiana; 
2. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider; and  
3. employed by a state-owned or operated entity, such 

as a state-operated hospital or other state entity, including a 
state academic health system, which: 

a. has been designated by the bureau as an essential 
provider; and 

b. has furnished satisfactory data to DHH regarding 
the commercial insurance payments made to its employed 
physicians and other professional service practitioners. 

B. The supplemental payment to each qualifying 
physician or other eligible professional services practitioner 
in the practice plan will equal the difference between the 
Medicaid payments otherwise made to these qualifying 
providers for professional services and the average amount 
that would have been paid at the equivalent community rate. 
The community rate is defined as the average amount that 
would have been paid by commercial insurers for the same 
services. 

C. The supplemental payments shall be calculated by 
applying a conversion factor to actual charges for claims 
paid during a quarter for Medicaid services provided by the 
state-owned or operated practice plan providers. The 
commercial payments and respective charges shall be 
obtained for the state fiscal year preceding the 
reimbursement year. If this data is not provided satisfactorily 
to DHH, the default conversion factor shall equal “1”. This 
conversion factor shall be established annually for qualifying 
physicians/practitioners by: 

1. determining the amount that private commercial 
insurance companies paid for commercial claims submitted 
by the state-owned or operated practice plan or entity; and 

2. dividing that amount by the respective charges for 
these payers. 

D. The actual charges for paid Medicaid services shall be 
multiplied by the conversion factor to determine the 
maximum allowable Medicaid reimbursement. For eligible 
non-physician practitioners, the maximum allowable 
Medicaid reimbursement shall be limited to 80 percent of 
this amount. 
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E. The actual base Medicaid payments to the qualifying 
physicians/practitioners employed by a state-owned or 
operated entity shall then be subtracted from the maximum 
Medicaid reimbursable amount to determine the 
supplemental payment amount.  

F. The supplemental payment for services provided by 
the qualifying state-owned or operated physician practice 
plan will be implemented through a quarterly supplemental 
payment to providers, based on specific Medicaid paid claim 
data.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§15153. Qualifying CriteriaNon-State Owned or 

Operated Professional Services Practices 
A. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, 

physicians and other professional service practitioners who 
are employed by, or under contract with, a non-state owned 
or operated governmental entity, such as a non-state owned 
or operated public hospital, may qualify for supplemental 
payments for services rendered to Medicaid recipients. To 
qualify for the supplemental payment, the physician or 
professional service practitioner must be: 

1. licensed by the state of Louisiana; and 
2. enrolled as a Louisiana Medicaid provider. 

B. The supplemental payment will be determined in a 
manner to bring payments for these services up to the 
community rate level. 

1. For purposes of these provisions, the community 
rate shall be defined as the rates paid by commercial payers 
for the same service. 

C. The non-state governmental entity shall periodically 
furnish satisfactory data for calculating the community rate 
as requested by DHH. 

D. The supplemental payment amount shall be 
determined by establishing a Medicare to community rate 
conversion factor for the physician or physician practice 
plan. At the end of each quarter, for each Medicaid claim 
paid during the quarter, a Medicare payment amount will be 
calculated and the Medicare to community rate conversion 
factor will be applied to the result. Medicaid payments made 
for the claims paid during the quarter will then be subtracted 
from this amount to establish the supplemental payment 
amount for that quarter. 

E. The supplemental payments shall be made on a 
quarterly basis and the Medicare to community rate 
conversion factor shall be recalculated periodically as 
determined by the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of these provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 

copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#083 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Rural Health ClinicsDiabetes Self-Management Training 
(LAC 50:XI.Chapters 163-165 and 16701) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing amends LAC 50:XI.Chapters 
163-165 and §16701 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:953(B)(1) et seq., and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever occurs first. 

Act 11 of the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature authorized the Department of Health and 
Hospitals, through its primary and preventive care activity, 
to provide reimbursement to providers for rendering services 
that will educate and encourage Medicaid enrollees to obtain 
appropriate preventive and primary care in order to improve 
their overall health and quality of life. In keeping with the 
intent of Act 11, the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing proposes to amend the 
provisions governing rural health clinics to provide 
Medicaid reimbursement for diabetes self-management 
training (DSMT) services. It is anticipated that this new 
service will promote improved patient self-management 
skills which will reduce diabetes-related complications that 
adversely affect quality of life, and subsequently reduce 
Medicaid costs associated with the care of recipients 
diagnosed with diabetes-related illnesses. This Emergency 
Rule will also reorganize the provisions governing provider 
participation and services in a more clear and concise 
manner in the Louisiana Administrative Code. 

This action is being taken to promote the health and 
welfare of Medicaid recipients diagnosed with diabetes and 
to reduce the Medicaid costs associated with their care. It is 
estimated that implementation of this Emergency Rule will 
increase expenditures for rural health clinic services by 
approximately $6,551 for state fiscal year 2010-2011. 

Effective February 20, 2011, the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing amends 
the provisions governing rural health clinics to provide 
coverage for diabetes self-management training services. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part XI.  Clinic Services 
Subpart 15.  Rural Health Clinics 

Chapter 163. Services 
§16301. Scope of Services 

A. Medicaid reimbursement is limited to medically 
necessary services that are covered by the Medicaid State 
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Plan and would be covered if furnished by a physician. The 
following services shall be covered: 

1. services furnished by a physician, within the scope 
of practice of his profession under Louisiana law; 

2. services furnished by a: 
a. physician assistant; 
b. nurse practitioner; 
c. nurse midwife; 
d. clinical social worker; 
e. clinical psychologist; or 
f. dentist; 

3. services and supplies that are furnished as an 
incident to professional services furnished by all eligible 
professionals;  

4. other ambulatory services; and 
5. diabetes self-management training (DSMT) 

services. 
B. Effective February 20, 2011, the department shall 

provide coverage of diabetes self-management training 
services rendered to Medicaid recipients diagnosed with 
diabetes. 

1. The services shall be comprised of one hour of 
individual instruction and nine hours of group instruction on 
diabetes self-management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1904 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§16303. Service Limits 

A. Rural health clinic visits (encounters) are limited to 
12 visits per year for medically necessary services rendered 
to Medicaid recipients who are 21 years of age or older. 
Visits for Medicaid recipients who are under 21 years of age 
and for prenatal and postpartum care are excluded from the 
service limitation. 

1. - 3. Repealed. 
B. Recipients of DSMT services shall receive up to 10 

hours of services during the first 12-month period following 
the initial order.  

1. After the first 12-month period ends, recipients 
shall only be eligible for two hours of individual instruction 
on diabetes self-management every 12 months. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 165. Provider Participation 
§16501. Provider Enrollment 

A. In order to enroll and participate in the Medicaid 
Program, a RHC must submit a completed provider 
enrollment packet.  

1. - 4. Repealed. 
B. The effective date of enrollment to participate in the 

Medicaid Program shall not be prior to the date of receipt of 
the completed enrollment packet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§16503. Standards for Participation 

A. Rural Health Clinics must comply with the applicable 
licensure, accreditation and program participation standards 
for all services rendered. If a RHC wishes to initiate 
participation, it shall be responsible for meeting all of the 
enrollment criteria of the program. The RHC provider shall: 

1. maintain an acceptable fiscal record keeping system 
that readily distinguishes one type of service from another 
type of service that may be provided; 

2. retain all records necessary to fully disclose the 
extent of services provided to recipients for five years from 
the date of service and furnish such records, and any 
payments claimed for providing such services, to the 
Medicaid Program upon request; and 

3. abide by and adhere to all federal and state 
regulations and policy manuals. 

B. Medicaid enrollment can be no sooner than 
Medicaid’s receipt of the complete enrollment packet. A 
complete enrollment packet for RHCs must include a copy 
of the CMS provider certification letter approving rural 
health clinic status. 

C. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for 
DSMT services, a RHC must have a DSMT program that 
meets the quality standards of one of the following 
accreditation organizations: 

1. the American Diabetes Association; 
2. the American Association of Diabetes Educators; or 
3. the Indian Health Service. 

D. All DSMT programs must adhere to the national 
standards for diabetes self-management education. 

1. Each member of the instructional team must: 
a. be a certified diabetes educator (CDE) certified 

by the National Certification Board for Diabetes Educators; 
or 

b. have recent didactic and experiential preparation 
in education and diabetes management.  

2. At a minimum, the instructional team must consist 
of one the following professionals who is a CDE: 

a. a registered dietician; 
b. a registered nurse; or 
c. a pharmacist. 

3. All members of the instructional team must obtain 
the nationally recommended annual continuing education 
hours for diabetes management. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 167. Reimbursement Methodology 
§16701. Prospective Payment System 

A. - B.2.NOTE … 
3. Effective for dates of service on or after February 

20, 2011, the Medicaid Program shall include coverage for 
diabetes self-management training services rendered by 
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qualified health care professionals in the RHC encounter 
rate. 

a. Separate encounters for DSMT services are not 
permitted and the delivery of DSMT services alone does not 
constitute an encounter visit. 

C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of the Secretary, Bureau of Health 
Services Financing, LR 32:1905 (October 2006), repromulgated LR 
32:2267 (December 2006), amended by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 
Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this Emergency Rule. A 
copy of this Emergency Rule is available for review by 
interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#080 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Statewide Orders No. 29-B and 29-B-a  
(LAC 43:XIX.Chapters 2 and 11) 

Pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the 
state of Louisiana, and particularly Title 30 of the Revised 
Statutes of 1950, as amended, and in conformity with the 
provisions of the Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act, 
Title 49, Sections 953(B)(1) and (2), 954(B)(2), as amended, 
the following Emergency Rule and reasons therefore are 
now adopted and promulgated by the Commissioner of 
Conservation as being necessary to protect the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally, by amending and 
expanding the drilling and completion operational and safety 
requirements for wells drilled in search of oil and natural gas 
at water locations.  The Emergency Rule signed by the 
commissioner and effective December 9, 2010 is hereby 
rescinded and replaced by the following Emergency Rule. 

The Emergency Rule is intended to provide greater 
protection to the public health, safety and welfare of the 
people of the State, as well as the environment generally by 
adopting new operational and safety requirements for the 
drilling and completion of oil and gas wells at water 
locations. Specifically, the Emergency Rule creates a new 
Chapter within Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 
43:XIX.Chapter 2) to provide additional rules concerning 
the drilling and completion of oil and gas wells at water 
locations, specifically providing for the following: rig 
movement and reporting requirements, additional 

requirements for applications to drill, casing program 
requirements, mandatory diverter systems and blowout 
preventer requirements, oil and gas well-workover 
operations, diesel engine safety requirements, and drilling 
fluid regulations. Further, the Emergency Rule amends 
Statewide Order No. 29-B-a (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 11) to 
provide for and expand upon rules concerning the use of 
storm chokes in oil and gas wells at water locations. Finally, 
the Emergency Rule provides for Commissioner of 
Conservation approved exceptions to equipment 
requirements on workover operations. 

Recognizing the potential advantages of expanding the 
operational and safety requirements for the drilling and 
completion of oil and gas wells at water locations within the 
state, it has been determined that failure to establish such 
requirements in the form of an administrative rule may lead 
to the existence of an imminent peril to the public health, 
safety and welfare of the people of the state of Louisiana, as 
well as the environment generally.  

Protection of the public and our environment therefore 
requires the Commissioner of Conservation to take 
immediate steps to assure that drilling and completion of oil 
and gas wells at water locations within the State are 
undertaken in accordance with all reasonable care and 
protection to the health, safety of the public, oil and gas 
personnel, and the environment generally.  

The effective date of the Emergency Rule, Amendment to 
Statewide Order No. 29-B (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 2) and 
Statewide Order No. 29-B-a (LAC 43:XIX.Chapter 11) 
(Emergency Rule) set forth hereinafter is January 12, 2011. 
The Emergency Rule shall remain in effect for 120 days 
after its effective date. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part XIX.  Office of Conservation―General Operations 
Subpart 1.  Statewide Order No. 29-B 

Chapter 2. Additional Requirements for Water 
Locations 

§201. Applicability  
A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Chapter 1 

of this Subpart, all oil and gas wells being drilled or 
completed at a water location within the state and which are 
spud or on which workover operations commence on or after 
July 15, 2010 shall comply with this Chapter.  

B. Unless otherwise stated herein, nothing within this 
Chapter shall alter the obligation of oil and gas operators to 
meet the requirements of Chapter 1 of this Subpart.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§203. Application to Drill 

A. In addition to the requirements set forth in Section 
103 of this Subpart, at the time of submittal of an application 
for permit to drill, the applicant will provide an electronic 
copy on a disk of the associated drilling rig’s Spill 
Prevention Control (SPC) plan that is required by DEQ 
pursuant to the provisions of Part IX of Title 33 of the 
Louisiana Administrative Code or any successor rule. Such 
plan shall become a part of the official well file. If the 
drilling rig to be used in drilling a permitted well changes 
between the date of the application and the date of drilling, 
the applicant shall provide an electronic copy on a disk of 
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the SPC plan for the correct drilling rig within two business 
days of becoming aware of the change; but in no case shall 
the updated SPC plan be submitted after spudding of the 
well. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§204. Rig Movement and Reporting 

A. The operator must report the movement of all drilling 
and workover rig units on and off locations to the 
appropriate district manager with the rig name, well serial 
number and expected time of arrival and departure. 

B. Drilling operations on a platform with producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow must comply with the 
following. 

1. An emergency shutdown station must be installed 
near the driller’s console.  

2. All producible wells located in the affected wellbay 
must be shut in below the surface and at the wellhead when: 

a. a rig or related equipment is moved on and off a 
platform. This includes rigging up and rigging down 
activities within 500 feet of the affected platform; 

b. a drilling unit is moved or skid between wells on 
a platform; 

c. a mobile offshore drilling unit (MODU) moves 
within 500 feet of a platform.  

3. Production may be resumed once the MODU is in 
place, secured, and ready to begin drilling operations. 

C. The movement of rigs and related equipment on and 
off a platform or from well to well on the same platform, 
including rigging up and rigging down, shall be conducted in 
a safe manner. All wells in the same well-bay which are 
capable of producing hydrocarbons shall be shut in below 
the surface with a pump-through-type tubing plug and at the 
surface with a closed master valve prior to moving well-
completion rigs and related equipment, unless otherwise 
approved by the district manager. A closed surface-
controlled subsurface safety valve of the pump-through type 
may be used in lieu of the pump-through-type tubing plug, 
provided that the surface control has been locked out of 
operation. The well from which the rig or related equipment 
is to be moved shall also be equipped with a back-pressure 
valve prior to removing the blowout preventer (BOP) system 
and installing the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§205. Casing Program 

A. General Requirements 
1. The operator shall case and cement all wells with a 

sufficient number of strings of casing and quantity and 
quality of cement in a manner necessary to prevent fluid 
migration in the wellbore, protect the underground source of 
drinking water (USDW) from contamination, support 
unconsolidated sediments, and otherwise provide a means of 
control of the formation pressures and fluids. 

2. The operator shall install casing necessary to 
withstand collapse, bursting, tensile, and other stresses that 
may be encountered and the well shall be cemented in a 
manner which will anchor and support the casing. Safety 
factors in casing program design shall be of sufficient 

magnitude to provide optimum well control while drilling 
and to assure safe operations for the life of the well.  

3. All tubulars and cement shall meet or exceed API 
standards. Cementing jobs shall be designed so that cement 
composition, placement techniques, and waiting times 
ensure that the cement placed behind the bottom 500 feet of 
casing attains a minimum compressive strength of 500 psi 
before drilling out of the casing or before commencing 
completion operations. 

4. Centralizers 
a. Surface casing shall be centralized by means of 

placing centralizers in the following manner. 
 i. A centralizer shall be placed on every third 
joint from the shoe to surface, with two centralizers being 
placed on each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 
 ii. If conductor pipe is set, three centralizers shall 
be equally spaced on surface casing to fall within the 
conductor pipe. 

b. Intermediate and production casing, and drilling 
and production liners shall be centralized by means of a 
centralizer placed every third joint from the shoe to top of 
cement. Additionally, two centralizers shall be placed on 
each of the lowermost three joints of casing. 

c. All centralizers shall meet API standards. 
5. A copy of the documentation furnished by the 

manufacturer, if new, or supplier, if reconditioned, which 
certifies tubular condition, shall be provided with the Well 
History and Work Resume Report (Form WH-1). 

B. Conductor Pipe. A conductor pipe is that pipe 
ordinarily used for the purpose of supporting unconsolidated 
surface deposits. A conductor pipe shall be used during the 
drilling of any oil and gas well and shall be set at depth that 
allows use of a diverter system. 

C. Surface Casing 
1. Where no danger of pollution of the USDW exists, 

the minimum amount of surface or first-intermediate casing 
to be set shall be determined from Table 1 hereof, except that 
in no case shall less surface casing be set than an amount 
needed to protect the USDW unless an alternative method of 
USDW protection is approved by the district manager. 

 
Table 1 

Total Depth of 
Contact 

Casing 
Required 

Surface Casing Test 
Pressure  

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
0-2500  100  300 
2500-3000  150  600 
3000-4000  300  600 
4000-5000  400  600 
5000-6000  500  750 
6000-7000  800 1000 
7000-8000 1000 1000 
8000-9000 1400 1000 
9000-Deeper 1800 1000 

 
a. In known low-pressure areas, exceptions to the 

above may be granted by the commissioner or his agent. If, 
however, in the opinion of the commissioner, or his agent, 
the above regulations shall be found inadequate, and 
additional or lesser amount of surface casing and/or test 
pressure shall be required for the purpose of safety and the 
protection of the USDW. 
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2. Surface casing shall be cemented with a sufficient 
volume of cement to insure cement returns to the surface. 

3. Surface casing shall be tested before drilling the 
plug by applying a minimum pump pressure as set forth in 
Table 1 after at least 200 feet of the mud-laden fluid has 
been displaced with water at the top of the column. If at the 
end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge shows a drop of 10 
percent of test pressure as outlined in Table 1, the operator 
shall be required to take such corrective measures as will 
insure that such surface casing will hold said pressure for 30 
minutes without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test 
pressure. The provisions of Paragraph E.7, below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the surface casing. 

4. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure before initiating test or drilling plug. 
Under pressure is complied with if one float valve is used or 
if pressure is held otherwise. 

D. Intermediate Casing/Drilling Liner 
1. Intermediate casing is that casing used as protection 

against caving of heaving formations or when other means 
are not adequate for the purpose of segregating upper oil, gas 
or water-bearing strata. Intermediate casing/drilling liner 
shall be set when required by abnormal pressure or other 
well conditions. 

2. If an intermediate casing string is deemed necessary 
by the district manager for the prevention of underground 
waste, such regulations pertaining to a minimum setting 
depth, quality of casing, and cementing and testing of sand, 
shall be determined by the Office of Conservation after due 
hearing. The provisions of Paragraph E.7 below, for the 
producing casing, shall also apply to the intermediate casing. 

3. Intermediate casing/drilling liner shall be at 
minimum, cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet 
above all known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure 
isolation and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations 
are isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as an 
intermediate string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid 
entry test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal 
between the liner top and next larger casing string has been 
achieved, and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet 
above the previous casing shoe. The drilling liner (and liner-
lap) shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the 
anticipated pressure to which the liner will be subjected to 
during the formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or 
subsequent liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance 
with Subsection G below. 

4. Before drilling the plug in the intermediate string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 2 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 2. Intermediate Casing and Liner 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000' 800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 
9000-and deeper 1500 

 

a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 
shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that casing is so set and cemented that it will 
hold said pressure for 30 minutes without a drop of more 
than 10 percent of the test pressure on the gauge. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test. Under pressure is complied 
with if one or more float valves are employed and are shown 
to be holding the cement in place, or when other means of 
holding pressure is used. When an operator elects to 
perforate and squeeze or to cement around the shoe, he may 
proceed with such work after 12 hours have elapsed after 
placing the first cement. 

6. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the drilling of the well until a satisfactory test 
has been obtained. 

E. Producing String 
1. Producing string, production casing or production 

liner is that casing used for the purpose of segregating the 
horizon from which production is obtained and affording a 
means of communication between such horizons and the 
surface. 

2. The producing string of casing shall consist of new 
or reconditioned casing, tested at mill test pressure or as 
otherwise designated by the Office of Conservation. 

3. Cement shall be by the pump-and-plug method, or 
another method approved by the Office of Conservation. 
Production casing/production liner shall be at minimum, 
cemented in such a manner, at least 500 feet above all 
known hydrocarbon bearing formations to insure isolation 
and, if applicable, all abnormal pressure formations are 
isolated from normal pressure formations, but in no case 
shall less cement be used than the amount necessary to fill 
the casing/liner annulus to a point 500 feet above the shoe or 
the top of the liner whichever is less. If a liner is used as a 
producing string, the cement shall be tested by a fluid entry 
test (-0.5 ppg EMW) to determine whether a seal between 
the liner top and next larger casing string has been achieved, 
and the liner-lap point must be at least 300 feet above the 
previous casing shoe. The production liner (and liner-lap) 
shall be tested to a pressure at least equal to the anticipated 
pressure to which the liner will be subjected to during the 
formation-integrity test below that liner shoe, or subsequent 
liner shoes if set. Testing shall be in accordance with 
Subsection G below. 

4. The amount of cement to be left remaining in the 
casing, until the requirements of Paragraph 5 below have 
been met, shall be not less than 20 feet. This shall be 
accomplished through the use of a float-collar, or other 
approved or practicable means, unless a full-hole cementer, 
or its equivalent, is used. 

5. Cement shall be allowed to stand a minimum of 12 
hours under pressure and a minimum total of 24 hours 
before initiating pressure test in the producing or oil string. 
Under pressure is complied with if one or more float valves 
are employed and are shown to be holding the cement in 
place, or when other means of holding pressure is used. 
When an operator elects to perforate and squeeze or to 
cement around the shoe, he may proceed with such work 
after 12 hours have elapsed after placing the first cement. 
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6. Before drilling the plug in the producing string of 
casing, the casing shall be tested by pump pressure, as 
determined from Table 3 hereof, after 200 feet of mud-laden 
fluid in the casing has been displaced by water at the top of 
the column. 

 
Table 3. Producing String 

Depth Set 
Test Pressure 

(lbs. per sq. in.) 
2000-3000'  800 
3000-6000' 1000 
6000-9000' 1200 
 9000-and deeper 1500 

 
a. If at the end of 30 minutes the pressure gauge 

shows a drop of 10 percent of the test pressure or more, the 
operator shall be required to take such corrective measures 
as will insure that the producing string of casing is so set and 
cemented that it will hold said pressure for 30 minutes 
without a drop of more than 10 percent of the test pressure 
on the gauge. 

7. If the commissioner's agent is not present at the 
time designated by the operator for inspection of the casing 
tests of the producing string, the operator shall have such 
tests witnessed, preferably by an offset operator. An affidavit 
of test, on the form prescribed by the district office, signed 
by the operator and witness, shall be furnished to the district 
office showing that the test conformed satisfactorily to the 
above mentioned regulations before proceeding with the 
completion. If test is satisfactory, normal operations may be 
resumed immediately. 

8. If the test is unsatisfactory, the operator shall not 
proceed with the completion of the well until a satisfactory 
test has been obtained. 

F. Cement Evaluation 
1. Cement evaluation tests (cement bond or 

temperature survey) shall be conducted for all casing and 
liners installed below surface casing to assure compliance 
with Paragraphs D.3 and E.3 of this Section. 

2. Remedial cementing operations that are required to 
achieve compliance with Paragraphs D.3 and E.3 of this 
Section shall be conducted following receipt of an approved 
work permit from the district manager for the proposed 
operations. 

3. Cementing and wireline records demonstrating the 
presence of the required cement tops shall be retained by the 
operator for a period of two years.  

G. Leak-off Tests 
1. A pressure integrity test must be conducted below 

the surface casing or liner and all intermediate casings or 
liners. The district manager may require a pressure-integrity 
test at the conductor casing shoe if warranted by local 
geologic conditions or the planned casing setting depth. 
Each pressure integrity test must be conducted after drilling 
at least 10 feet but no more than 50 feet of new hole below 
the casing shoe and must be tested to either the formation 
leak-off pressure or to the anticipated equivalent drilling 
fluid weight at the setting depth of the next casing string. 

a. The pressure integrity test and related hole-
behavior observations, such as pore-pressure test results, 
gas-cut drilling fluid, and well kicks must be used to adjust 
the drilling fluid program and the setting depth of the next 

casing string. All test results must be recorded and hole-
behavior observations made during the course of drilling 
related to formation integrity and pore pressure in the 
driller's report. 

b. While drilling, a safe drilling margin must be 
maintained. When this safe margin cannot be maintained, 
drilling operations must be suspended until the situation is 
remedied. 

H. Prolonged Drilling Operations 
1. If wellbore operations continue for more than 30 

days within a casing string run to the surface. 
a. Drilling operations must be stopped as soon as 

practicable, and the effects of the prolonged operations on 
continued drilling operations and the life of the well 
evaluated. At a minimum, the operator shall: 
 i. caliper or pressure test the casing; and 
 ii. report evaluation results to the district manager 
and obtain approval of those results before resuming 
operations. 

b. If casing integrity as determined by the 
evaluation has deteriorated to a level below minimum safety 
factors, the casing must be repaired or another casing string 
run. Approval from the district manager shall be obtained 
prior to any casing repair activity.  

I. Tubing and Completion 
1. Well-completion operations means the work 

conducted to establish the production of a well after the 
production-casing string has been set, cemented, and 
pressure-tested. 

2. Prior to engaging in well-completion operations, 
crew members shall be instructed in the safety requirements 
of the operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for review 
by the Office of Conservation. 

3. When well-completion operations are conducted on 
a platform where there are other hydrocarbon-producing 
wells or other hydrocarbon flow, an emergency shutdown 
system (ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed 
near the driller's console or well-servicing unit operator's 
work station. 

4. No tubing string shall be placed in service or 
continue to be used unless such tubing string has the 
necessary strength and pressure integrity and is otherwise 
suitable for its intended use. 

5. A valve, or its equivalent, tested to a pressure of not 
less than the calculated bottomhole pressure of the well, 
shall be installed below any and all tubing outlet 
connections. 

6. When a well develops a casing pressure, upon 
completion, equivalent to more than three-quarters of the 
internal pressure that will develop the minimum yield point 
of the casing, such well shall be required by the district 
manager to be killed, and a tubing packer to be set so as to 
keep such excessive pressure off of the casing. 

7. Wellhead Connections. Wellhead connections shall 
be tested prior to installation at a pressure indicated by the 
district manager in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Whenever such tests are made 
in the field, they shall be witnessed by an agent of the Office 
of Conservation. Tubing and tubingheads shall be free from 
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obstructions in wells used for bottomhole pressure test 
purposes. 

8. When the tree is installed, the wellhead shall be 
equipped so that all annuli can be monitored for sustained 
pressure. If sustained casing pressure is observed on a well, 
the operator shall immediately notify the district manager. 

9. Wellhead, tree, and related equipment shall have a 
pressure rating greater than the shut-in tubing pressure and 
shall be designed, installed, used, maintained, and tested so 
as to achieve and maintain pressure control. New wells 
completed as flowing or gas-lift wells shall be equipped with 
a minimum of one master valve and one surface safety 
valve, installed above the master valve, in the vertical run of 
the tree. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§207. Diverter Systems and Blowout Preventers 

A. Diverter System. A diverter system shall be required 
when drilling surface hole in areas where drilling hazards are 
known or anticipated to exist. The district manager may, at 
his discretion, require the use of a diverter system on any 
well. In cases where it is required, a diverter system 
consisting of a diverter sealing element, diverter lines, and 
control systems must be designed, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested to ensure proper diversion of gases, 
water, drilling fluids, and other materials away from 
facilities and personnel. The diverter system shall be 
designed to incorporate the following elements and 
characteristics: 

1. dual diverter lines arranged to provide for 
maximum diversion capability; 

2. at least two diverter control stations. One station 
shall be on the drilling floor. The other station shall be in a 
readily accessible location away from the drilling floor; 

3. remote-controlled valves in the diverter lines. All 
valves in the diverter system shall be full-opening. 
Installation of manual or butterfly valves in any part of the 
diverter system is prohibited; 

4. minimize the number of turns in the diverter lines, 
maximize the radius of curvature of turns, and minimize or 
eliminate all right angles and sharp turns; 

5. anchor and support systems to prevent whipping 
and vibration; 

6. rigid piping for diverter lines. The use of flexible 
hoses with integral end couplings in lieu of rigid piping for 
diverter lines shall be approved by the district manager. 

B. Diverter Testing Requirements 
1. When the diverter system is installed, the diverter 

components including the sealing element, diverter valves, 
control systems, stations and vent lines shall be function and 
pressure tested. 

2. For drilling operations with a surface wellhead 
configuration, the system shall be function tested at least 
once every 24-hour period after the initial test. 

3. After nippling-up on conductor casing, the diverter 
sealing element and diverter valves are to be pressure tested 
to a minimum of 200 psig. Subsequent pressure tests are to 
be conducted within seven days after the previous test. 

4. Function tests and pressure tests shall be alternated 
between control stations. 

5. Recordkeeping Requirements 
a. Pressure and function tests are to be recorded in 

the driller’s report and certified (signed and dated) by the 
operator’s representative.  

b. The control station used during a function or 
pressure test is to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

c. Problems or irregularities during the tests are to 
be recorded along with actions taken to remedy same in the 
driller’s report. 

d. All reports pertaining to diverter function and/or 
pressure tests are to be retained for inspection at the wellsite 
for the duration of drilling operations. 

C. BOP Systems. The operator shall specify and insure 
that contractors design, install, use, maintain and test the 
BOP system to ensure well control during drilling, workover 
and all other appropriate operations. The surface BOP stack 
shall be installed before drilling below surface casing.  

1. BOP system components for drilling activity 
located over a body of water shall be designed and utilized, 
as necessary, to control the well under all potential 
conditions that might occur during the operations being 
conducted and at minimum, shall include the following 
components: 

a. annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. two sets of hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

2. Drilling activity with a tapered drill string shall 
require the installation of two or more sets of conventional 
or variable-bore pipe rams in the BOP stack to provide, at 
minimum, two sets of rams capable of sealing around the 
larger-size drill string and one set of pipe rams capable of 
sealing around the smaller-size drill string. 

3. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

4. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
must be flanged, including the connections between the well 
control stack and the first full-opening valve on the choke 
line and the kill line.  

5. The Commissioner of Conservation, following a 
public hearing, may grant exceptions to the requirements of 
Subsections C-J of this Section. 

D. BOP Working Pressure. The working pressure rating 
of any BOP component, excluding annular-type preventers, 
shall exceed the maximum anticipated surface pressure 
(MASP) to which it may be subjected. 

E. BOP Auxiliary Equipment. All BOP systems shall be 
equipped and provided with the following: 

1. a hydraulically actuated accumulator system which 
shall provide 1.5 times volume of fluid capacity to close and 
hold closed all BOP components, with a minimum pressure 
of 200 psig above the pre-charge pressure without assistance 
from a charging system; 

2. a backup to the primary accumulator-charging 
system, supplied by a power source independent from the 
power source to the primary, which shall be sufficient to 
close all BOP components and hold them closed; 

3. accumulator regulators supplied by rig air without a 
secondary source of pneumatic supply shall be equipped 
with manual overrides or other devices to ensure capability 
of hydraulic operation if the rig air is lost; 
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4. at least one operable remote BOP control station in 
addition to the one on the drilling floor. This control station 
shall be in a readily accessible location away from the 
drilling floor. If a BOP control station does not perform 
properly, operations shall be suspended until that station is 
operable; 

5. a drilling spool with side outlets, if side outlets are 
not provided in the body of the BOP stack, to provide for 
separate kill and choke lines; 

6. a kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. 
The choke line shall be installed above the bottom ram. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore; 

7. a valve installed below the swivel (upper Kelly 
cock), essentially full-opening, and a similar valve installed 
at the bottom of the Kelly (lower Kelly cock). An operator 
must be able to strip the lower Kelly cock through the BOP 
stack. A wrench to fit each valve shall be stored in a location 
readily accessible to the drilling crew. If drilling with a mud 
motor and utilizing drill pipe in lieu of a Kelly, you must 
install one Kelly valve above, and one strippable kelly valve 
below the joint of pipe used in place of a Kelly. On a top-
drive system equipped with a remote-controlled valve, you 
must install a strippable Kelly-type valve below the remote-
controlled valve; 

8. an essentially full-opening drill-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while drilling operations are being conducted. This 
valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the drill string. A wrench to fit the 
drill-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the drilling crew; 

9. a safety valve shall be available on the rig floor 
assembled with the proper connection to fit the casing string 
being run in the hole; 

10. locking devices installed on the ram-type 
preventers. 

F. BOP Maintenance and Testing Requirements 
1. The BOP system shall be visually inspected on a 

daily basis. 
2. Pressure tests (low and high pressure) of the BOP 

system are to be conducted at the following times and 
intervals: 

a. during a shop test prior to transport of the BOPs 
to the drilling location. Shop tests are not required for 
equipment that is transported directly from one well location 
to another; 

b. immediately following installation of the BOPs; 
c. within 14 days of the previous BOP pressure test, 

alternating between control stations and at a staggered 
interval to allow each crew to operate the equipment. If 

either control system is not functional, further operations 
shall be suspended until the nonfunctional, system is 
operable. Exceptions may be granted by the district manager 
in cases where a trip is scheduled to occur within 2 days 
after the 14-day testing deadline; 

d. before drilling out each string of casing or liner 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling out 
each casing string or liner.); 

e. not more than 48 hours before a well is drilled to 
a depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone 
(The district manager may require that a conservation 
enforcement specialist witness the test prior to drilling to a 
depth that is within 1000 feet of a hydrogen sulfide zone.); 

f. when the BOP tests are postponed due to well 
control problem(s), the BOP test is to be performed on the 
first trip out of the hole, and reasons for postponing the 
testing are to be recorded in the driller’s report. 

3. Low pressure tests (200-300 psig) of the BOP 
system (choke manifold, Kelly valves, drill-string safety 
valves, etc.) are to be performed at the times and intervals 
specified in LAC 43:XIX.207.F.2. in accordance with the 
following provisions.  

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Variable bore pipe rams are to be tested against 
the largest and smallest sizes of pipe in use, excluding drill 
collars and bottom hole assembly. 

c. Bonnet seals are to be tested before running the 
casing when casing rams are installed in the BOP stack. 

4. High pressure tests of the BOP system are to be 
performed at the times and intervals specified in Paragraph 
F.2 of this Section in accordance with the following 
provisions. 

a. Test pressures are to be held for a minimum of 
five minutes. 

b. Ram-type BOP’s, choke manifolds, and 
associated equipment are to be tested to the rated working 
pressure of the equipment or 500 psi greater than the 
calculated MASP for the applicable section of the hole. 

c. Annular-type BOPs are to be tested to 70 percent 
of the rated working pressure of the equipment. 

5. The annular and ram-type BOPs with the exception 
of the blind-shear rams are to be function tested every seven 
days between pressure tests. All BOP test records should be 
certified (signed and dated) by the operator’s representative. 

a. Blind-shear rams are to be tested at all casing 
points and at an interval not to exceed 30 days.  

6. If the BOP equipment does not hold the required 
pressure during a test, the problem must be remedied and a 
retest of the affected component(s) performed. Additional 
BOP testing requirements: 

a. use water to test the surface BOP system; 
b. if a control station is not functional, operations 

shall be suspended until that station is operable; 
c. test affected BOP components following the 

disconnection or repair of any well-pressure containment 
seal in the wellhead or BOP stack assembly. 

G. BOP Record Keeping. The time, date and results of 
pressure tests, function tests, and inspections of the BOP 
system are to be recorded in the driller’s report. All pressure 
tests shall be recorded on an analog chart or digital recorder. 
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All documents are to be retained for inspection at the 
wellsite for the duration of drilling operations and are to be 
retained in the operator’s files for a period of two years. 

H. BOP Well Control Drills. Weekly well control drills 
with each drilling crew are to be conducted during a period 
of activity that minimizes the risk to drilling operations. The 
drills must cover a range of drilling operations, including 
drilling with a diverter (if applicable), on-bottom drilling, 
and tripping. Each drill must be recorded in the driller’s 
report and is to include the time required to close the BOP 
system, as well as, the total time to complete the entire drill. 

I. Well Control Safety Training. In order to ensure that 
all drilling personnel understand and can properly perform 
their duties prior to drilling wells which are subject to the 
jurisdiction of the Office of Conservation, the operator shall 
require that contract drilling companies provide and/or 
implement the following: 

1. periodic training for drilling contractor employees 
which ensures that employees maintain an understanding of, 
and competency in, well control practices;  

2. procedures to verify adequate retention of the 
knowledge and skills that the contract drilling employees 
need to perform their assigned well control duties.  

J. Well Control Operations 
1. The operator must take necessary precautions to 

keep wells under control at all times and must: 
a. use the best available and safest drilling 

technology to monitor and evaluate well conditions and to 
minimize the potential for the well to flow or kick; 

b. have a person onsite during drilling operations 
who represents the operators interests and can fulfill the 
operators responsibilities; 

c. ensure that the tool pusher, operator's 
representative, or a member of the drilling crew maintains 
continuous surveillance on the rig floor from the beginning 
of drilling operations until the well is completed or 
abandoned, unless you have secured the well with blowout 
preventers (BOPs), bridge plugs, cement plugs, or packers; 

d. use and maintain equipment and materials 
necessary to ensure the safety and protection of personnel, 
equipment, natural resources, and the environment. 

2. Whenever drilling operations are interrupted, a 
downhole safety device must be installed, such as a cement 
plug, bridge plug, or packer. The device must be installed at 
an appropriate depth within a properly cemented casing 
string or liner. 

a. Among the events that may cause interruption to 
drilling operations are: 
 i. evacuation of the drilling crew; 
 ii. inability to keep the drilling rig on location; or 
 iii. repair to major drilling or well-control 
equipment. 

3. If the diverter or BOP stack is nippled down while 
waiting on cement, it must be determined, before nippling 
down, when it will be safe to do so based on knowledge of 
formation conditions, cement composition, effects of 
nippling down, presence of potential drilling hazards, well 
conditions during drilling, cementing, and post cementing, 
as well as past experience. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§209. Casing-Heads 

A. All wells shall be equipped with casing-heads with a 
test pressure in conformance with conditions existing in 
areas in which they are used. Casing-head body, as soon as 
installed shall be equipped with proper connections and 
valves accessible to the surface. Reconditioning shall be 
required on any well showing pressure on the casing-head, 
or leaking gas or oil between the oil string and next larger 
size casing string, when, in the opinion of the district 
managers, such pressure or leakage assume hazardous 
proportions or indicate the existence of underground waste. 
Mud-laden fluid may be pumped between any two strings of 
casing at the top of the hole, but no cement shall be used 
except by special permission of the commissioner or his 
agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 36: 
§211. Oil and Gas Well-Workover Operations 

A. Definitions. When used in this Section, the following 
terms shall have the meanings given below. 

Expected Surface Pressure―the highest pressure 
predicted to be exerted upon the surface of a well. In 
calculating expected surface pressure, reservoir pressure as 
well as applied surface pressure must be considered. 

Routine Operations―any of the following operations 
conducted on a well with the tree installed including cutting 
paraffin, removing and setting pump-through-type tubing 
plugs, gas-lift valves, and subsurface safety valves which 
can be removed by wireline operations, bailing sand, 
pressure surveys, swabbing, scale or corrosion treatment, 
caliper and gauge surveys, corrosion inhibitor treatment, 
removing or replacing subsurface pumps, through-tubing 
logging, wireline fishing, and setting and retrieving other 
subsurface flow-control devices. 

Workover Operations―the work conducted on wells 
after the initial completion for the purpose of maintaining or 
restoring the productivity of a well. 

B. When well-workover operations are conducted on a 
well with the tree removed, an emergency shutdown system 
(ESD) manually controlled station shall be installed near the 
driller’s console or well-servicing unit operator’s work 
station, except when there is no other hydrocarbon-
producing well or other hydrocarbon flow on the platform. 

C. Prior to engaging in well-workover operations, crew 
members shall be instructed in the safety requirements of the 
operations to be performed, possible hazards to be 
encountered, and general safety considerations to protect 
personnel, equipment, and the environment. Date and time 
of safety meetings shall be recorded and available for 
review. 

D. Well-control fluids, equipment, and operations. The 
following requirements apply during all well-workover 
operations with the tree removed. 

1. The minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is less than or equal to 5,000 psi 
shall include one annular-type well control component, one 
set of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. The shear 
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ram component of this requirement shall be effective for any 
workover operations initiated on or after January 1, 2011 and 
not before. 

2. The minimum BOP-system components when the 
expected surface pressure is greater than 5,000 psi shall 
include one annular-type well control component, two sets 
of pipe rams, and one set of blind-shear rams. The shear ram 
component of this requirement shall be effective for any 
workover operations initiated on or after January 1, 2011 and 
not before. 

3. BOP auxillary equipment in accordance with the 
requirements of LAC 43:XIX.207.E. 

4. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe or a 
workover string, the annulus shall be filled with well-control 
fluid before the change in such fluid level decreases the 
hydrostatic pressure 75 pounds per square inch (psi) or every 
five stands of drill pipe or workover string, whichever gives 
a lower decrease in hydrostatic pressure. The number of 
stands of drill pipe or workover string and drill collars that 
may be pulled prior to filling the hole and the equivalent 
well-control fluid volume shall be calculated and posted near 
the operator's station. A mechanical, volumetric, or 
electronic device for measuring the amount of well-control 
fluid required to fill the hold shall be utilized. 

5. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

a. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
b. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device 

for determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; 
and 

c. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 
mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed 
through the wellhead inside of conventional tubing using 
small-diameter jointed pipe (usually 3/4 inch to 1 1/4 inch) 
as a work string, i.e., small-tubing operations, shall include 
two sets of pipe rams, and one set of blind rams. 

1. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

F. For coiled tubing operations with the production tree 
in place, you must meet the following minimum 
requirements for the BOP system. 

1. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are less than or equal to 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically operated pipe rams. 

2. BOP system components must be in the following 
order from the top down when expected surface pressures 
are greater than 3,500 psi: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 

b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams. These 

rams should be located as close to the tree as practical. 
3. BOP system components must be in the following 

order from the top down for wells with returns taken through 
an outlet on the BOP stack: 

a. stripper or annular-type well control component; 
b. hydraulically-operated blind rams; 
c. hydraulically-operated shear rams; 
d. kill line inlet; 
e. hydraulically-operated two-way slip rams; 
f. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
g. a flow tee or cross; 
h. hydraulically-operated pipe rams; 
i. hydraulically-operated blind-shear rams on wells 

with surface pressures less than or equal to 3,500 psi. As an 
option, the pipe rams can be placed below the blind-shear 
rams. The blind-shear rams should be placed as close to the 
tree as practical. 

4. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the blind rams and shear rams. 

5. A set of hydraulically-operated combination rams 
may be used for the hydraulic two-way slip rams and the 
hydraulically-operated pipe rams. 

6. A dual check valve assembly must be attached to 
the coiled tubing connector at the downhole end of the 
coiled tubing string for all coiled tubing well-workover 
operations. To conduct operations without a downhole check 
valve, it must be approved by the district manager. 

7. A kill line and a separate choke line are required. 
Each line must be equipped with two full-opening valves 
and at least one of the valves must be remotely controlled. A 
manual valve must be used instead of the remotely 
controlled valve on the kill line if a check valve is installed 
between the two full-opening manual valves and the pump 
or manifold. The valves must have a working pressure rating 
equal to or greater than the working pressure rating of the 
connection to which they are attached, and must be installed 
between the well control stack and the choke or kill line. For 
operations with expected surface pressures greater than 
3,500 psi, the kill line must be connected to a pump or 
manifold. The kill line inlet on the BOP stack must not be 
used for taking fluid returns from the wellbore. 

8. The hydraulic-actuating system must provide 
sufficient accumulator capacity to close-open-close each 
component in the BOP stack. This cycle must be completed 
with at least 200 psi above the pre-charge pressure without 
assistance from a charging system. 

9. All connections used in the surface BOP system 
from the tree to the uppermost required ram must be flanged, 
including the connections between the well control stack and 
the first full-opening valve on the choke line and the kill 
line.  

10. The coiled tubing connector must be tested to a low 
pressure of 200 to 300 psi, followed by a high pressure test 
to the rated working pressure of the connector or the 
expected surface pressure, whichever is less. The dual check 
valves must be successfully pressure tested to the rated 
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working pressure of the connector, the rated working 
pressure of the dual check valve, expected surface pressure, 
or the collapse pressure of the coiled tubing, whichever is 
less. 

G. The minimum BOP-system components for well-
workover operations with the tree in place and performed by 
moving tubing or drill pipe in or out of a well under pressure 
utilizing equipment specifically designed for that purpose, 
i.e., snubbing operations, shall include the following: 

1. one set of pipe rams hydraulically operated; and 
2. two sets of stripper-type pipe rams hydraulically 

operated with spacer spool.  
H. Test pressures must be recorded during BOP and 

coiled tubing tests on a pressure chart, or with a digital 
recorder, unless otherwise approved by the district manager. 
The test interval for each BOP system component must be 5 
minutes, except for coiled tubing operations, which must 
include a 10 minute high-pressure test for the coiled tubing 
string.  

I. Wireline Operations. The operator shall comply with 
the following requirements during routine, as defined in 
Subsection A of this Section, and nonroutine wireline 
workover operations: 

1. Wireline operations shall be conducted so as to 
minimize leakage of well fluids. Any leakage that does occur 
shall be contained to prevent pollution. 

2. All wireline perforating operations and all other 
wireline operations where communication exists between the 
completed hydrocarbon-bearing zone(s) and the wellbore 
shall use a lubricator assembly containing at least one 
wireline valve. 

3. When the lubricator is initially installed on the well, 
it shall be successfully pressure tested to the expected shut-
in surface pressure. 

J. Following completion of the well-workover activity, 
all such records shall be retained by the operator for a period 
of two years. 

K. An essentially full-opening work-string safety valve 
in the open position on the rig floor shall be available at all 
times while well-workover operations are being conducted. 
This valve shall be maintained on the rig floor to fit all 
connections that are in the work string. A wrench to fit the 
work-string safety valve shall be stored in a location readily 
accessible to the workover crew.  

L. The commissioner may grant an exception to any 
provision of this section that requires specific equipment 
upon proof of good cause. For consideration of an exception, 
the operator must show proof of the unavailability of 
properly sized equipment and demonstrate that anticipated 
surface pressures minimize the potential for a loss of well 
control during the proposed operations. All exception 
requests must be made in writing to the commissioner and 
include documentation of any available evidence supporting 
the request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§213. Diesel Engine Safety Requirements 

A. On or after January 1, 2011, each diesel engine with 
an air take device must be equipped to shut down the diesel 
engine in the event of a runaway. 

1. A diesel engine that is not continuously manned, 
must be equipped with an automatic shutdown device. 

2. A diesel engine that is continuously manned, may 
be equipped with either an automatic or remote manual air 
intake shutdown device. 

3. A diesel engine does not have to be equipped with 
an air intake device if it meets one of the following criteria: 

a. starts a larger engine; 
b. powers a firewater pump; 
c. powers an emergency generator; 
d. powers a BOP accumulator system; 
e. provides air supply to divers or confined entry 

personnel; 
f. powers temporary equipment on a nonproducing 

platform; 
g. powers an escape capsule; or 
h. powers a portable single-cylinder rig washer. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§215. Drilling Fluids 

A. The inspectors and engineers of the Office of 
Conservation shall have access to the mud records of any 
drilling well, except those records which pertain to special 
muds and special work with respect to patentable rights, and 
shall be allowed to conduct any essential test or tests on the 
mud used in the drilling of a well. When the conditions and 
tests indicate a need for a change in the mud or drilling fluid 
program in order to insure proper control of the well, the 
district manager shall require the operator or company to use 
due diligence in correcting any objectionable conditions. 

B. Well-control fluids, equipment, and operations shall 
be designed, utilized, maintained, and/or tested as necessary 
to control the well in foreseeable conditions and 
circumstances.  

C. The well shall be continuously monitored during all 
operations and shall not be left unattended at any time unless 
the well is shut in and secured. 

D. The following well-control-fluid equipment shall be 
installed, maintained, and utilized: 

1. a fill-up line above the uppermost BOP; 
2. a well-control, fluid-volume measuring device for 

determining fluid volumes when filling the hole on trips; and 
3. a recording mud-pit-level indicator to determine 

mud-pit-volume gains and losses. This indicator shall 
include both a visual and an audible warning device. 

E. Safe Practices 
1. Before starting out of the hole with drill pipe, the 

drilling fluid must be properly conditioned. A volume of 
drilling fluid equal to the annular volume must be circulated 
with the drill pipe just off-bottom. This practice may be 
omitted if documentation in the driller's report shows: 

a. no indication of formation fluid influx before 
starting to pull the drill pipe from the hole; 

b. the weight of returning drilling fluid is within 0.2 
pounds per gallon of the drilling fluid entering the hole;. 

2. Record each time drilling fluid is circulated in the 
hole in the driller’s report. 

3. When coming out of the hole with drill pipe, the 
annulus must be filled with drilling fluid before the 
hydrostatic pressure decreases by 75 psi, or every five stands 
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of drill pipe, whichever gives a lower decrease in hydrostatic 
pressure. The number of stands of drill pipe and drill collars 
that may be pulled must be calculated before the hole is 
filled. Both sets of numbers must be posted near the driller's 
station. A mechanical, volumetric, or electronic device must 
be used to measure the drilling fluid required to fill the hole. 

4.     Controlled rates must be used to run and pull drill 
pipe and downhole tools so as not to swab or surge the well. 

5. When there is an indication of swabbing or influx 
of formation fluids, appropriate measures must be taken to 
control the well. Circulate and condition the well, on or near-
bottom, unless well or drilling-fluid conditions prevent 
running the drill pipe back to the bottom. 

6. The maximum pressures must be calculated and 
posted near the driller's console that you may safely contain 
under a shut-in BOP for each casing string. The pressures 
posted must consider the surface pressure at which the 
formation at the shoe would break down, the rated working 
pressure of the BOP stack, and 70 percent of casing burst (or 
casing test as approved by the district manager). As a 
minimum, you must post the following two pressures: 

a. the surface pressure at which the shoe would 
break down. This calculation must consider the current 
drilling fluid weight in the hole; and 

b. the lesser of the BOP's rated working pressure or 
70 percent of casing-burst pressure (or casing test otherwise 
approved by the district manager). 

7. An operable drilling fluid-gas separator and 
degasser must be installed before you begin drilling 
operations. This equipment must be maintained throughout 
the drilling of the well. 

8. The test fluids in the hole must be circulated or 
reverse circulated before pulling drill-stem test tools from 
the hole. If circulating out test fluids is not feasible, with an 
appropriate kill weight fluid test fluids may be bullhead out 
of the drill-stem test string and tools. 

9. When circulating, the drilling fluid must be tested 
at least once each work shift or more frequently if conditions 
warrant. The tests must conform to industry-accepted 
practices and include density, viscosity, and gel strength; 
hydrogen ion concentration; filtration; and any other tests 
the district manager requires for monitoring and maintaining 
drilling fluid quality, prevention of downhole equipment 
problems and for kick detection. The test results must be 
recorded in the drilling fluid report. 

F. Monitoring Drilling Fluids 
1. Once drilling fluid returns are established, the 

following drilling fluid-system monitoring equipment must 
be installed throughout subsequent drilling operations. This 
equipment must have the following indicators on the rig 
floor: 

a. pit level indicator to determine drilling fluid-pit 
volume gains and losses. This indicator must include both a 
visual and an audible warning device; 

b. volume measuring device to accurately determine 
drilling fluid volumes required to fill the hole on trips; 

c. return indicator devices that indicate the 
relationship between drilling fluid-return flow rate and pump 
discharge rate. This indicator must include both a visual and 
an audible warning device; and 

d. gas-detecting equipment to monitor the drilling 
fluid returns. The indicator may be located in the drilling 

fluid-logging compartment or on the rig floor. If the 
indicators are only in the logging compartment, you must 
continually man the equipment and have a means of 
immediate communication with the rig floor. If the 
indicators are on the rig floor only, an audible alarm must be 
installed. 

G. Drilling Fluid Quantities 
1. Quantities of drilling fluid and drilling fluid 

materials must be maintained and replenished at the drill site 
as necessary to ensure well control. These quantities must be 
determined based on known or anticipated drilling 
conditions, rig storage capacity, weather conditions, and 
estimated time for delivery. 

2. The daily inventories of drilling fluid and drilling 
fluid materials must be recorded, including weight materials 
and additives in the drilling fluid report. 

3. If there are not sufficient quantities of drilling fluid 
and drilling fluid material to maintain well control, the 
drilling operations must be suspended. 

H. Drilling Fluid-Handling Areas 
1. Drilling fluid-handling areas must be classified 

according to API RP 500, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class I, Division 1 and 
Division 2 or API RP 505, Recommended Practice for 
Classification of Locations for Electrical Installations at 
Petroleum Facilities, Classified as Class 1, Zone 0, Zone 1, 
and Zone 2. In areas where dangerous concentrations of 
combustible gas may accumulate. A ventilation system and 
gas monitors must be installed and maintained. Drilling 
fluid-handling areas must have the following safety 
equipment: 

a. a ventilation system capable of replacing the air 
once every 5 minutes or 1.0 cubic feet of air-volume flow 
per minute, per square foot of area, whichever is greater. In 
addition: 
 i. if natural means provide adequate ventilation, 
then a mechanical ventilation system is not necessary; 
 ii. if a mechanical system does not run 
continuously, then it must activate when gas detectors 
indicate the presence of 1 percent or more of combustible 
gas by volume; and 
 iii. if discharges from a mechanical ventilation 
system may be hazardous, the drilling fluid-handling area 
must be maintained at a negative pressure. The negative 
pressure area must be protected by using at least one of the 
following: a pressure-sensitive alarm, open-door alarms on 
each access to the area, automatic door-closing devices, air 
locks, or other devices approved by the district manager;  

b. gas detectors and alarms except in open areas 
where adequate ventilation is provided by natural means. 
Gas detectors must be tested and recalibrated quarterly. No 
more than 90 days may elapse between tests; 

c. explosion-proof or pressurized electrical 
equipment to prevent the ignition of explosive gases. Where 
air is used for pressuring equipment, the air intake must be 
located outside of and as far as practicable from hazardous 
areas; and 

d. alarms that activate when the mechanical 
ventilation system fails. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:4 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 

Subpart 4.  Statewide Order No. 29-B-a 
Chapter 11. Required Use of Storm Chokes 
§1101. Scope 

A. Order establishing rules and regulations concerning 
the required use of storm chokes to prevent blowouts or 
uncontrolled flow in the case of damage to surface 
equipment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by the Department of Natural Resources, Office 
of Conservation, LR 20:1127 (October 1994), LR 37: 
§1103. Applicability 

A. All wells capable of flow with a surface pressure in 
excess of 100 pounds, falling within the following 
categories, shall be equipped with storm chokes: 

1. any locations inaccessible during periods of storm 
and/or floods, including spillways; 

2. located in bodies of water being actively navigated; 
3. located in wildlife refuges and/or game preserves; 
4. located within 660 feet of railroads, ship channels, 

and other actively navigated bodies of water; 
5. located within 660 feet of state and federal 

highways in southeast Louisiana, in that area east of a north-
south line drawn through New Iberia and south of an east-
west line through Opelousas; 

6. located within 660 feet of state and federal 
highways in northeast Louisiana, in that area bounded on the 
west by the Ouachita River, on the north by the Arkansas-
Louisiana line, on the east by the Mississippi River, and on 
the south by the Black and Red Rivers; 

7. located within 660 feet of the following highways: 
a. U.S. Highway 71 between Alexandria and Krotz 

Springs; 
b. U.S. Highway 190 between Opelousas and Krotz 

Springs; 
c. U.S. Highway 90 between Lake Charles and the 

Sabine River; 
8. located within the corporate limits of any city, 

town, village, or other municipality. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 

157 of the Legislature of 1940. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 

Conservation, March 15, 1946, amended March 1, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), LR 37: 
§1104. General Requirements for Storm Choke Use at 

Water Locations 
A. This Section only applies to oil and gas wells at water 

locations.  
B. A subsurface safety valve (SSSV) shall be designed, 

installed, used, maintained, and tested to ensure reliable 
operation. 

1. The device shall be installed at a depth of 100 feet 
or more below the seafloor within two days after production 
is established. 

2. Until a SSSV is installed, the well shall be attended 
in the immediate vicinity so that emergency actions may be 

taken while the well is open to flow. During testing and 
inspection procedures, the well shall not be left unattended 
while open to production unless a properly operating 
subsurface-safety device has been installed in the well. 

3. The well shall not be open to flow while the SSSV 
is removed, except when flowing of the well is necessary for 
a particular operation such as cutting paraffin, bailing sand, 
or similar operations. 

4. All SSSV's must be inspected, installed, used, 
maintained, and tested in accordance with American 
Petroleum Institute Recommended Practice 14B, 
Recommended Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and 
Operation of Subsurface Safety Valve Systems. 

C. Temporary Removal for Routine Operations 
1. Each wireline or pumpdown-retrievable SSSV may 

be removed, without further authorization or notice, for a 
routine operation which does not require the approval of 
Form DM-4R. 

2. The well shall be identified by a sign on the 
wellhead stating that the SSSV has been removed. If the 
master valve is open, a trained person shall be in the 
immediate vicinity of the well to attend the well so that 
emergency actions may be taken, if necessary. 

3. A platform well shall be monitored, but a person 
need not remain in the well-bay area continuously if the 
master valve is closed. If the well is on a satellite structure, it 
must be attended or a pump-through plug installed in the 
tubing at least 100 feet below the mud line and the master 
valve closed, unless otherwise approved by the district 
manager. 

4. Each operator shall maintain records indicating the 
date a SSSV is removed, the reason for its removal, and the 
date it is reinstalled. 

D. Emergency Action. In the event of an emergency, 
such as an impending storm, any well not equipped with a 
subsurface safety device and which is capable of natural 
flow shall have the device properly installed as soon as 
possible with due consideration being given to personnel 
safety. 

E. Design and Operation 
1. All SSSVs must be inspected, installed, 

maintained, and tested in accordance with API RP 14B, 
Recommended Practice for Design, Installation, Repair, and 
Operation of Subsurface Safety Valve Systems.   

2. Testing requirements. Each SSSV installed in a well 
shall be removed, inspected, and repaired or adjusted, as 
necessary, and reinstalled or replaced at intervals not 
exceeding 6 months for those valves not installed in a 
landing nipple and 12 months for those valves installed in a 
landing nipple. 

3. Records must be retained for a period of 2 years for 
each safety device installed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 37: 
§1105. Waivers 

A. Onshore Wells. Where the use of storm chokes would 
unduly interfere with normal operation of a well, the district 
manager may, upon submission of pertinent data, in writing, 
waive the requirements of this order. 
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B. Offshore Wells 
1. The district manager, upon submission of pertinent 

data, in writing explaining the efforts made to overcome the 
particular difficulties encountered, may waive the use of a 
subsurface safety valve under the following circumstances, 
and may, in his discretion, require in lieu thereof a surface 
safety valve: 

a. where sand is produced to such an extent or in 
such a manner as to tend to plug the tubing or make 
inoperative the subsurface safety valve; 

b. when the flowing pressure of the well is in excess 
of 100 psi but is inadequate to activate the subsurface safety 
valve; 

c. where flow rate fluctuations or water production 
difficulties are so severe that the subsurface safety valve 
would prevent the well from producing at its allowable rate; 

d. where mechanical well conditions do not permit 
the installation of a subsurface safety valve; 

e. in such other cases as the district manager may 
deem necessary to grant an exception. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with Act 
157 of the Legislature of 1940. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of 
Conservation, March 1, 1961, amended March 15, 1961, amended 
and promulgated by Department of Natural Resources, Office of 
Conservation, LR 20:1128 (October 1994), LR 37: 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

1102#003 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Collection, Submission, Receipt, Identification, Storage and 
Disposal of DNA Samples (LAC 55:1.Chapter 27) 

The Louisiana Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Office of State Police hereby adopts the 
following Emergency Rule governing the implementation of 
Act 12 of the 2005 First Extraordinary Session, R.S. 
40:1730.21et.seq. This Rule is being adopted in accordance 
with Emergency Rule provisions of R.S. 49:953(B) of the 
Administrative Procedure Act. This Emergency Rule 
becomes effective on the date of the signature by the 
authorized representative of the Louisiana Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police 
(February 8, 2011) and shall remain in effect for the 
maximum period allowed by the APA, which is 120 days. 

In anticipation of rule changes allowing for the use of 
DNA Database Buccal Collection Kits, the Louisiana State 
Police Crime Lab is exhausting its stock of DNA Database 
Blood Collection Kits. As a result, DNA Database Buccal 
Collection Kits may also be used to obtain DNA samples 
pending finalization of proposed rules. Immediate adoption 
of these rules will facilitate the taking of DNA samples as 
well as increase the safety to the lab technicians that are 
collecting the DNA samples. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Chapter 27. Collection, Submission, Receipt, 
Identification, Storage and Disposal of 
DNA Samples 

Subchapter A. Collection of DNA Samples 
§2702. Definitions 

AFIS―the Automated Fingerprint Identification System 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

CAJUN―the Corrections and Justice Unified Network 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections. 

CODIS or Combined DNA Index System―the Federal 
Bureau of Investigation's national DNA identification index 
system which facilitates the storage and exchange of DNA 
records submitted by state and local criminal justice and law 
enforcement agencies. 

Crime Laboratory―Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Convicted Offender―a person convicted of a felony sex 
offense, other specified offense or any other offense for 
which a DNA sample must be obtained pursuant to R.S. 
15:601 et seq. 

Department―Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Director―the Director of the Louisiana State Police 
Crime Laboratory. 

DNA―deoxyribonucleic acid. 
DNA Analysis―DNA typing tests that generate numerical 

identification information and are obtained from a DNA 
sample. 

DNA Database―the DNA identification record system 
maintained and administered by the director. 

DNA Database Blood Collection Kit ―the kit approved 
by the department for the collection of DNA blood samples. 

DNA Database Buccal Collection Kit – the kit approved 
by the department for the collection of DNA saliva samples. 

DNA Database Information Card (DDIC) – the 
information card which provides identifying information of 
the offender when a non-livescan collection is performed. 

DNA Record―DNA information that is derived from a 
DNA sample and DNA analysis and is stored in the state 
DNA database or in CODIS, including all records pertaining 
to DNA analysis. 

DNA Sample―biological evidence of any nature that is 
utilized to conduct DNA analysis. 

DPS&C―Department of Public Safety and Corrections. 
FBI―Federal Bureau of Investigation within the United 

States Department of Justice. 
FTA―specialized paper that binds DNA. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:611. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:205 
(February 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1701 (October 2001), 
amended LR 37: 
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§2703. Collection, Submission, and Identification of 
DNA Samples for Convicted Offenders 

A. All DNA samples obtained for DNA Analysis from a 
convicted offender shall be collected using an approved 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory DNA Database 
Collection kit. Procedures are specific to the type of sample 
being collected. A different kit is used for blood collection 
and buccal collection.  

1. Each DNA Database Collection Kit shall contain all 
necessary materials for collection and for proper 
identification of the offender. 

2. Each kit shall be numbered sequentially from one 
kit to the next so that each number shall serve as a unique 
identifier. Kit components shall have the same number. 

3.  All DNA samples shall be collected by individuals 
trained and approved to serve as collectors by the Louisiana 
State Police Crime Laboratory. 

4. The collector shall complete the DDIC (for non-
livescan collections), which contains the identifying 
information of the collected offender when obtaining a 
sample. All information shall be provided. Printed name, 
date and signature of the person collecting the sample is 
required. A fingerprint is obtained as positive identification 
of the offender. Samples submitted with incomplete 
information may require recollection.  

5. Finger stick blood samples shall be obtained using 
recognized and approved medical procedures, and the 
following guidelines shall be followed. 

a. Prior to each individual blood collection 
procedure, personnel performing the collection shall put on 
barrier gloves. The FTA Blood Collection Paper contained 
within the kit shall not be touched unless the individual 
collecting the offender's blood is wearing barrier gloves. 

b. The tip of the offender's finger shall be wiped 
with an absorbent alcohol pad. 

c. The offender's finger shall be pricked using a 
sterile, fixed depth lancet. 

d. The offender's finger shall be positioned over one 
of the four circles printed on the FTA Blood Collection 
Paper, allowing two drops of blood to fall onto the FTA 
paper, within the circle. If the blood is not flowing, the 
finger may be squeezed and then released to facilitate blood 
flow adequate to yield two drops of blood in each circle. 
Repeat to collect sample in all circles. 

e. A sterile gauze pad shall be used to wipe off any 
remaining blood from the offender's finger, and an adhesive 
bandage shall be affixed to the offender's finger. 

f. All medical supplies (lancet, absorbent alcohol 
pad, gauze pad, barrier gloves) shall be discarded in 
compliance with standard medical procedures. 

g. The FTA Blood Collection Paper shall not be 
touched, nor shall it be allowed to come in contact with any 
other FTA Blood Collection Paper during the drying and 
packaging stages. 

h. The FTA Blood Collection Paper shall be placed 
in the plastic specimen bag, along with the dessicant. The 
sealed plastic specimen bag shall be stapled to the DDIC, 
which shall then be placed in the white mailing envelope. 
The mailing envelope flap shall be sealed and an evidence or 
security label shall then be placed across the envelope flap. 
The label shall be dated and initialed. 

i. In the event a convicted offender resists the 
taking of the DNA sample and the collector may use 
reasonable force in accordance with R.S. 15:601-620, the 
collector may collect any type of biological sample approved 
by the Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory. The 
following types of biological sample collections are hereby 
approved for these instances: 
 i. blood stain from finger prick on FTA card; 
 ii. buccal swab; 
 iii. phlebotomy draw. 

6. Buccal (saliva) samples shall be obtained using an 
approved buccal collection kit, in accordance with the 
guidelines detailed in Subchapter B: 2722. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:206 
(February 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1702 (October 2001), 
amended LR 30:271 (February 2004), amended LR 37: 
§2704. Shipping of DNA Samples for Convicted 

Offenders 
A. DNA samples collected in accordance with these 

procedures shall be submitted to the crime laboratory in 
person by approved personnel or via delivery service, such 
as U.S. mail in accordance with the Crime Laboratory's 
policies and procedures. The mailing envelope shall be 
mailed or delivered to the crime laboratory after collection to 
the following address. 

Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory 
376 East Airport Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 (February 2001), 
repromulgated LR 27:1702 (October 2001), amended LR 37: 
§2705. Record Keeping of DNA Samples for Convicted 

Offenders 
A. The individual who collects each DNA sample shall 

provide an accurate, up-to-date list of every DNA sample 
collected each day of collection. Any failed attempts to 
collect blood from an offender and the reason for the failure 
(e.g., refusal of offender to submit, failure to keep scheduled 
appointment) shall also be indicated. The list will include the 
following information: the kit number, the offender's name, 
the name of the person collecting the sample and the 
submitting agency together with any additional data which 
the director deems necessary. This information shall be 
mailed to the CODIS DNA Unit to the following address. 

Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory 
376 East Airport Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 
(February 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1703 (October 2001), 
amended LR 30:271 (February 2004), LR 37: 
§2706. Storage of DNA Samples for Convicted 

Offenders 
A. The sealed kits containing DNA samples shall be 

stored in a dedicated storage area within the crime 
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laboratory. Access to the sealed kits and to the storage area 
shall be limited to authorized personnel. Any access to or 
removal/return of the sealed kit or specimen bags shall be 
performed in accordance with crime lab policies and 
procedures. Only authorized personnel shall open a sealed 
kit or specimen bag.  

B. DNA samples on FTA Blood Collection Paper, DNA 
buccal samples, and DDIC cards shall be stored indefinitely 
in a secure storage area unless otherwise required in 
accordance with R.S. 15:614. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 27:207 
(February 2001), repromulgated LR 27:1703 (October 2001), LR 
37: 
Subchapter B. Arrestees 
§2721. Definitions 

AFIS―the Automated Fingerprint Identification System 
operated by the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Arrestee―a person arrested for a felony sex offense, other 
specified offense or any other offense for which a DNA 
sample must be obtained pursuant to R.S. 15:601 et seq. 

Biological Sample―biological evidence of any nature that 
is utilized to conduct DNA analysis. 

Crime Laboratory―Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory of the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Department―Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services. 

Director―the director of the Louisiana State Police Crime 
Laboratory. 

DNA―deoxyribonucleic acid. 
DNA Analysis―DNA typing tests that generate numerical 

identification information and are obtained from a DNA 
sample. 

DNA Arrestee Database Collection Kit or Kit―the kit 
provided by the department for the collection of DNA 
samples.  

DNA Database―the DNA identification record system 
maintained and administered by the director. 

DNA Record―DNA information that is derived from a 
DNA sample and DNA analysis and is stored in the state 
DNA database or in CODIS, including all records pertaining 
to DNA analysis. 

DPS&C―Department of Public Safety and Corrections. 
FBI―Federal Bureau of Investigation within the United 

States Department of Justice. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:611. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2369 
(November 2002), LR 37: 
§2722. Collection, Submission, and Identification of 

DNA Samples for Arrestees 
A. All biological samples obtained for DNA analysis 

from an arrestee shall be collected using an approved 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory DNA Arrestee 
Collection kit. 

1. An arrestee collection kit shall contain materials for 
collection of a biological sample for use in DNA analysis. 

2. Each kit shall be numbered sequentially from one 
kit to the next so that each kit number shall serve as a unique 
identifier. Kit components shall have the same number.  

3. All biological samples shall be collected by 
individuals trained and approved to serve as collectors by the 
Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory. 

4. The collector shall utilize an AFIS Printout 
(livescan generated), which contains the identifying 
information of the arrestee when obtaining a sample. 

a. In the event that a manual collection form is 
used, all information shall be provided. Printed name, date 
and signature of the person collecting the sample is required. 
A fingerprint is obtained as positive identification of the 
offender. Samples submitted with incomplete information 
may require recollection. 

b. Buccal biological samples shall be obtained 
according to the instructions contained in the kit. 

c. The transport pouch, containing the buccal 
collection device, and the AFIS printout shall be placed in 
the mailing envelope provided. The mailing envelope flap 
shall be sealed.  

d.  In the event an arrestee resists the taking of the 
DNA sample, the collector may use reasonable force in 
accordance with R.S. 15:601-620.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2369 
(November 2002), amended LR 37: 
§2724. Shipping of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. DNA samples collected in accordance with these 
procedures shall be submitted to the crime laboratory in 
person by approved personnel or via delivery service, such 
as U.S. Mail in accordance with the Crime Laboratory's 
policies and procedures. The mailing envelope shall be 
mailed or delivered to the crime laboratory after collection to 
the following address. 

Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory 
376 East Airport Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 
(November 2002), amended LR 37: 
§2725. Record Keeping of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. The individual who collects each DNA sample shall 
provide an accurate, up-to-date list of every DNA sample 
collected each day of collection. Any failed attempts to 
collect a sample from an arrestee and the reason for the 
failure (e.g., refusal of arrestee to submit) shall also be 
indicated. The list will include the following information: 
the kit number, the arrestee's name, the name of the person 
collecting the sample and the submitting agency together 
with any additional data which the director deems necessary. 
This information shall be mailed to the CODIS DNA Unit to 
the following address. 

Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory 
376 East Airport Drive 
Baton Rouge, LA 70806 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 (November 
2002), amended LR 30:271 (February 2004), LR 37: 
§2726. Storage of DNA Samples for Arrestees 

A. The sealed kits containing DNA samples shall be 
stored in a dedicated storage area designated by the crime 
laboratory. Access to the sealed kits and to the storage area 
shall be limited to authorized personnel. Any access to or 
removal/return of the sealed kit shall be performed in 
accordance with crime lab policies and procedures. Only 
authorized personnel shall open a sealed specimen envelope, 
and if applicable shall initial and date the broken seal and 
shall reseal the specimen envelope in accordance with 
standard operating procedures. 

B. DNA samples from arrestees and AFIS printouts shall 
be stored for the time period as prescribed by Louisiana law 
in a secure storage area unless otherwise required in 
accordance with R.S. 15:614. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:611. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Office of State Police, LR 28:2370 
(November 2002), amended LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Peace Officers 
§2742. Collection of DNA Samples for Peace Officers 

A. All biological samples obtained for DNA Analysis 
from a peace officer shall be buccal swabs and shall be 
collected using sterile cotton tip swabs as provided by the 
agency employing the peace officer who is required to have 
his biological sample collected pursuant to R.S. 40:2405.4. 

1. The agency employing the peace officer shall 
provide all materials necessary to collect a biological sample 
from any peace officer required to provide a sample pursuant 
to R.S. 40:2405.4. 

2. The supplies necessary to collect a buccal swab 
shall include the following: 

a. one pack of two sterile cotton tip swabs; 
b. one pair of gloves; 
c. one paper type envelope to store the samples 

once collected; 
d. evidence tape for sealing the paper envelope. 

3. In order to collect the biological sample, the 
collector shall adhere to the following procedures. 

a. The collector shall print the name of the peace 
officer, the date of collection and the name of the collector 
on the paper type envelope used to store the samples prior to 
collection of the specimen. 

b. Have the subject open his or her mouth. If there 
is foreign matter in the mouth, such as tobacco or gum, have 
the subject rinse his or her mouth out with water. 

c. Remove one sterile cotton swab and collect the 
specimen by rubbing the swab vigorously on the inside 
surfaces of the cheeks and gums thoroughly. While slowly 
turning the swab (so that all sides of the swab are in contact 
with the side of the cheek) rub the swab up and down and 
back and forth in the mouth about 10 times. 

d. Place the buccal swab in the paper type envelope. 
Do not place the swab back into the original sterile swab 
packaging. 

e. Repeat Subparagraph c with the remaining swab. 
f. Place the second cotton tip swab immediately 

inside the paper type envelope with the first swab. 

g. Seal the paper type envelope. Write the date and 
collector's initials partially on the paper type envelope and 
partially on the envelope flap. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2405.4. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 30:271 (February 2004), 
amended LR 37: 

 
Michael D. Edmonson, Colonel 
Superintendent 

1102#021 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Electronic Filing Requirements for Oil  
or Gas Severance Tax (LAC 61:III.1525) 

Under the authority of R.S. 47:1511, which authorizes the 
secretary of revenue to prescribe rules and regulations to 
carry out the purposes of Title 47 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950 and the purposes of any other statutes or 
provisions included under the secretary’s authority, and in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and specifically the 
emergency provisions of R.S. 49:953(B), the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, hereby issues the 
following Emergency Rule to amend LAC 61:III.1525 to 
mandate the electronic filing of the applications for reduced 
oil or gas severance tax rates, Forms 0-2 and G-2. 

Beginning with the filing of the July 2011 production 
month application due September 25, 2011, the Gas 
Severance Tax Form G-2, Application for Certification of 
Incapable Wells Oil, and the Oil Severance Tax Form O-2, 
Application for Certification of Stripper/Incapable Wells, 
must be filed electronically with the Department of Revenue 
on or before the twenty-fifth day of the second month 
following the production month in which the reduced tax 
rate(s) is applicable. This Emergency Rule, effective January 
28, 2011, shall remain in effect for a period of 120 days or 
until this Rule takes effect through the normal promulgation 
process, whichever comes first.  

This Emergency Rule is necessary to allow the secretary 
to provide needed information to taxpayers, producers, 
purchasers, or duly authorized representatives regarding the 
mandatory electronic filing requirements for applications for 
reduced oil or gas severance tax rates. A delay in adopting 
this Rule could have an adverse impact on persons applying 
for reduced oil or gas severance tax rates. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part III.  Administrative Provisions and Miscellaneous 
Chapter 15. Mandatory Electronic Filing of Tax 

Returns and Payment 
§1525. Severance Tax—Oil or Gas  

A. R.S. 47:1520(A)(1)(b) authorizes the secretary of 
revenue to require electronic filing of tax returns or reports 
by persons severing oil or gas from the soil or water from 
the state that are required to file reports under R.S. 
47:635(A)(2) or 640(A)(2). 
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B. R.S. 47:635(A)(2) requires every person severing oil 
or gas from the soil or water of the state to submit, on or 
before the twenty-fifth day of the second month following 
the month to which the tax is applicable, a statement on 
forms approved by the department, of the business 
conducted by the severer during the month, showing the 
gross quantity of oil or gas severed or produced, the names 
of the owners at the time of severance, the portion owned by 
each, the location and place(s) where the oil or gas was 
produced or severed from the soil or water and any other 
reasonable and necessary information pertaining thereto that 
the secretary may require.  

C. R.S. 47:640(A)(2) requires purchasers and other 
persons dealing in oil or gas severed from the soil or water 
in Louisiana to submit, on or before the twenty-fifth day of 
the second month following the month to which the tax is 
applicable, to the Department of Revenue a monthly 
statement on forms approved by the department, showing the 
names and addresses of all persons from whom they have 
purchased oil or gas during that month, together with the 
total quantity of, and gross price paid for the oil or gas, and, 
at the time the report is made, pay the amount of tax 
deducted or withheld, or that may be due.  

D. Effective with the July 2010 filing period, severers of 
oil or gas that are required to file reports under R.S. 
47:635(A)(2) and 640(A)(2) shall be required to file the tax 
returns or report electronically with the Department of 
Revenue using the electronic format prescribed by the 
department.  

E. R.S. 47:633(7)(b) and 633(c)(i)(aa) provide reduced 
severance tax rates on oil produced from wells that have 
been certified by the Department of Revenue as “incapable 
wells” and “stripper wells” on or before the twenty-fifth day 
of the second month following the month of production.  

F. R.S. 47:633(9)(b) and 633(9)(c) provide reduced 
severance tax rates on gas produced from wells that have 
been determined by the secretary of revenue to be “incapable 
oil wells” and “incapable gas wells”.  

G. Beginning with the July 2011 production month 
application that is due September 25, 2011, the R-9001 
Application for Certification of Incapable Wells, Form G-2, 
and R-9020 O-2 Application for Certification of 
Stripper/Incapable Wells, Form O-2, must be filed 
electronically with the Department of Revenue on or before 
the twenty-fifth day of the second month following the 
production month in which the reduced tax rate(s) is 
applicable. If the due date falls on a weekend or holiday, the 
application and electronic filing thereof is due on the next 
business day. 

H. Failure to comply with these electronic filing 
requirements will result in the assessment of a penalty of 
$100 or five percent of the tax, whichever is greater, as 
provided by R.S. 47:1520(B). 

1. If it is determined that the failure to comply is 
attributable, not to the negligence of the taxpayer, but to 
other cause set forth in written form and considered 
reasonable by the secretary, the secretary may remit or waive 
payment of the whole or any part of the penalty. 

2. If the penalty exceeds $25,000, it may be waived by 
the secretary only after approval by the Board of Tax 
Appeals. 

3. If the taxpayer can prove electronic filing of a tax 
return, report, or application for certification would create an 
undue hardship, the secretary may exempt the taxpayer from 
filing the return, report, or application electronically. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:1511, 47:1520, 47:635(A)(2), R.S. 47:640(A)(2), R.S. 
47:633(7)(b), 47:633(c)(i)(aa), R.S. 47:633(9)(b), and R.S. 
47:633(9)(c). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 36:1271 (June 2010), 
amended by the Department of Revenue, Policy Services Division, 
LR 36:1 (January 2011), LR 37: 

 
Cynthia Bridges 
Secretary 

1102#011 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Crab Trap Closure and Derelict Crab Trap Clean-Up 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953(B) of the Administrative Procedure Act which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to close seasons when faced with imminent peril 
to the public health, safety, or welfare and R.S. 56:332(N) 
which provides the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission with 
authority to establish a program to remove abandoned crab 
traps from state-owned lake and river beds and other water 
bottoms of the state, and to prohibit the use of crab traps and 
for the removal of crab traps and their disposal during a 
maximum sixteen-consecutive-day period between February 
first and March thirty-first in one or more geographical areas 
of the state, and to specify the beginning and ending dates 
for the prohibition on the use of crab traps, and to specify the 
geographical area within which the use of crab traps shall be 
prohibited, and to specify who is authorized to remove the 
abandoned traps, and authorizes the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to designate the 
locations where removed and abandoned traps are to be 
placed for disposal, the commission hereby declares: 

The use of crab traps shall be prohibited from 6:00 a.m., 
February 26, 2011 through 6:00 a.m. March 5, 2011 within 
that portion of Plaquemines Parish, as described below:  

Beginning at a point on the western shoreline of the 
Mississippi River at 29 degrees 28 minutes 30 seconds north 
latitude and 89 degrees 41 minutes 15 seconds west 
longitude; thence southeasterly to a point on the southern 
shoreline of the Freeport Sulphur Company Canal at 29 
degrees 27 minutes 50 seconds north latitude and 89 degrees 
42 minutes 10 seconds west longitude; thence southwesterly 
along the southern shoreline of the Freeport Sulphur 
Company Canal to a point at 29 degrees 24 minutes 00 
seconds north latitude and 89 degrees 46 minutes 20 seconds 
west longitude; thence west along 29 degrees 24 minutes 00 
seconds north latitude to 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 seconds 
west longitude; thence north along 89 degrees 50 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude to 29 degrees 26 minutes 00 seconds 
north latitude; thence west along 29 degrees 26 minutes 00 
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seconds north latitude to 89 degrees 58 minutes 00 seconds 
west longitude; thence north along 89 degrees 58 minutes 00 
seconds west longitude to 29 degrees 40 minutes 00 seconds 
north latitude; thence east along 29 degrees 40 minutes 00 
seconds north latitude to the western shoreline of the 
Mississippi River; thence southeasterly along the western 
shoreline of the Mississippi River to the point of beginning. 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission further declares as 
follows: all crab traps remaining in the closed area during 
the specified period shall be considered abandoned; these 
trap removal regulations do not provide authorization for 
access to private property; authorization to access private 
property can only be provided by individual landowners; 
crab traps may be removed only between one-half hour 
before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset; anyone is 
authorized to remove these abandoned crab traps within the 
closed area; no person removing crab traps from the 
designated closed areas shall possess these traps outside of 
the closed area; and abandoned traps must be brought to 
sites designated by the Secretary of the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries. The Wildlife and Fisheries 
Commission further authorizes the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to designate disposal 
sites, and to delay, suspend or extend the crab trap closure as 
he deems necessary for human safety or resource 
considerations.  

Derelict crab traps are any old or new crab trap that is not 
being actively fished and tended and may originate from: 
accidental loss of actively fished traps due to tides, currents 
or storm surges; weathering of buoys or lines; clipping of 
buoy lines by vessel propellers; displacement of traps caught 
in shrimp gear; intentional cutting of buoy lines by vandals; 
abandonment of fishable traps by fishermen who leave the 
fishery; and improper disposal of old, unfishable traps. Since 
2004, the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries together with 
individual volunteers and volunteer organizations have 
successfully removed and disposed of 18,449 abandoned and 
derelict crabs. Plaquemines Parish has formally requested 
the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to close this area to 
the use of crab traps so that derelict traps may be removed. 
Portions of this closure area are currently heavily used by 
crews conducting oil spill cleanup activities and in 
consideration of the presence of numerous derelict crab traps 
and low winter tides within the area, the safety of cleanup 
crews and other boaters is being compromised. It is essential 
that this closure be done as an emergency so that this 
cleanup may proceed immediately without hazard to human 
life or health. This area is being temporarily closed to the use 
of crab traps to allow for the removal of derelict crab traps 
as their removal benefits the crab fishery, reduces potential 
navigational hazards to recreational and commercial 
fishermen and boaters and reduces “Ghost Fishing”, a term 
referencing an unseen cycle of mortality of blue crabs and 
other organisms that enter and perish within abandoned 
traps. 

 
Stephen W. Sagrera  
Chairman 

1102#061 
 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

King Mackerel Commercial Season 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953, the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:967 
which allows the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set finfish seasons, R.S. 56:326.3 which 
provides that the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission may set 
seasons for saltwater finfish, and the authority given to the 
Secretary of the Department, by the Commission in its 
resolution of January 7, 2010, to close the 2010-11 
commercial king mackerel season in Louisiana state waters 
when he is informed that the designated portion of the 
commercial king mackerel quota for the Gulf of Mexico has 
been filled, or was projected to be filled, the Secretary 
hereby declares: 

Effective 12:00 noon, February 11, 2011, the commercial 
fishery for king mackerel in Louisiana waters will close and 
remain closed through June 30, 2011. Nothing herein shall 
preclude the legal harvest of king mackerel by legally 
licensed recreational fishermen. Effective with this closure, 
no person shall commercially harvest, possess, purchase, 
barter, trade, sell or attempt to purchase, barter, trade or sell 
king mackerel within or without Louisiana waters. Effective 
with this closure, no person shall possess king mackerel in 
excess of a daily bag limit within or without Louisiana 
waters. The prohibition on sale/purchase of king mackerel 
during the closure does not apply to king mackerel that were 
legally harvested, landed ashore, and sold prior to the 
effective date of the closure and were held in cold storage by 
a dealer or processor provided appropriate records in 
accordance with R.S. 56:306.5 and 56:306.6 are properly 
maintained. 

The secretary has been notified by National Marine 
Fisheries Service that the commercial king mackerel season 
in Federal waters of the Gulf of Mexico will close at 12:00 
noon, February 11, 2011. Closing the season in State waters 
is necessary to provide effective rules and efficient 
enforcement for the fishery, to prevent overfishing of this 
species in the long term. 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1102#062 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Shrimp Season ClosureZone 1 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of R.S. 
49:953 of the Administrative Procedure Act, which allows 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to use emergency 
procedures to set shrimp seasons, and R.S. 56:497, which 
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allows the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission to delegate to 
the secretary of the department the powers, duties and 
authority to set seasons, and in accordance with a 
Declaration of Emergency adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission on August 5, 2010 which authorized 
the Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to 
change the closing dates of the 2010 Fall Shrimp Season if 
biological and technical data indicate the need to do so or if 
enforcement problems develop, the Secretary of the 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries does hereby declare 
that the 2010 fall inshore shrimp season in the remaining 
portion of Shrimp Management Zone 1 shall close at official 
sunset January 29, 2011 except for the open waters of Breton 
and Chandeleur Sounds as described by the double-rig line 
(R.S. 56:495.1(A)(2)) which shall remain open until 6:00 
a.m., March 31, 2011. 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1102#009 
 

DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Workforce Commission 
Office of Workers' Compensation 

Medical Guidelines (LAC 40:I.Chapters 20-23) 

Editor's Note: The following Sections of Chapter 22 were 
inadvertently left out of the January 20, 2011 Louisiana 
Register printing. These Sections are being repromulgated in 
their entirety. This Emergency Rule may be viewed on pages 
51-268 of the January edition. 
 

The Louisiana Workforce Commission, Office of Workers' 
Compensation, has exercised the emergency provision in 
accordance with LA. R.S. 49:953(B), the Administrative 
Procedure Act, to adopt LAC 40:I, Chapters 20-23. This 
emergency rule will be effective January 1, 2011. 

House Bill 1138, Act No. 619, of the 2010 Regular 
Session of the Louisiana Legislative Session, states that "the 
Director shall, through the Office of the Workers' 
Compensation Administration, promulgate rules...to 
establish a medical treatment schedule no later than January 
1, 2011". Failure to promulgate the rules by January 1, 2011, 
would result in significant uncertainty among medical 
providers and insurers as to which procedures would be 
approved under the medical guidelines. Such uncertainty 
would cause a delay in services to injured workers and 
impair their ability to return to the workforce. Accordingly it 
is necessary to timely implement the rules by virtue of 
emergency rule.  

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.S. 49:950, et 
seq., that the Louisiana Workforce Commission, Office of 
Workers' Compensation, pursuant to authority vested in the 
Director of the Office of Workers' Compensation by R.S. 
23:1310.1 and in accordance with applicable provisions of 
the Administrative Procedure Act, proposes to enact LAC 
40:I., Subpart 2, Chapters 20-23 to add the following: 

 Chapter 20 (Spine Medical Treatment 
Guidelines): Sections 2001 through 2012 
(Cervical Spine Injury) and Sections 2013 
through 2024 (Low Back Pain)  

 Chapter 21 (Pain Medical Treatment 
Guidelines):  

 Sections 2101 through 2116 (Chronic Pain 
Disorder) and Sections 2117 through 2136 
(Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/Reflex 
Sympathetic Dystrophy)  

 Chapter 22 (Neurological and Neuromuscular 
Disorder Medical Treatment Guidelines) 
Sections 2201 through 2214 (Carpal Tunnel 
Syndrome)  

 Sections 2215 through 2228 (Thoracic Outlet 
Syndrome) 

 Chapter 23 (Upper and Lower Extremities 
Medical Treatment Guidelines) Sections 2301 
through 2314 (Lower Extremities) and 
Sections 2315 through 2328 (Shoulder 
Injuries) 

The contents of the new chapters are relative to medical 
treatment guidelines for the delivery of medical treatment in  
workers compensation cases, which are being promulgated 
in accordance with the directives of La. R.S. 23:1203.1. The 
proposed enactment is set forth in the attached documents. 

Title 40 
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Part I.  Workers’ Compensation Administration 
Subpart 2.  Medical Guidelines 

Chapter 22. Thoracic Outlet Syndrome 
§2215. Introduction 

A. This document has been prepared by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers’ Compensation 
and should be interpreted within the context of guidelines for 
physicians/providers treating individuals qualifying under 
Louisiana’s Workers’ Compensation Act as injured workers 
with upper extremity involvement. These guidelines are 
enforceable under the Louisiana Workers Compensation Act. 
All medical care, services, and treatment owed by the 
employer to the employee in accordance with the Louisiana 
Workers’ Compensation Act shall mean care, services, and 
treatment in accordance with these guidelines. Medical Care, 
services, and treatment that varies from these guidelines 
shall also be due by the employer when it is demonstrated to 
the medical director of the office by a preponderance of the 
scientific medical evidence, that a variance from these 
guidelines is reasonably required to cure or relieve the 
injured worker from the effects of the injury or occupational 
disease given the circumstances. Therefore, these guidelines 
are not relevant as evidence of a provider’s legal standard of 
professional care. To properly utilize this document, the 
reader should not skip nor overlook any Sections. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2217. General Guidelines Principles 

A. The principles summarized in this section are key to 
the intended implementation of all Office of Workers’ 
Compensation guidelines and critical to the reader’s 
application of the guidelines in this document. 

1. Application of Guidelines. The OWCA provides 
procedures to implement medical treatment guidelines and to 
foster communication to resolve disputes among the 
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provider, payer, and patient through the Office of Worker’s 
Compensation.  

2. Education of the patient and family, as well as the 
employer, insurer, policy makers and the community should 
be the primary emphasis in the treatment of upper extremity 
pain. Currently, practitioners often think of education last, 
after medications, manual therapy, and surgery. Practitioners 
must develop and implement an effective strategy and skills 
to educate patients, employers, insurance systems, policy 
makers, and the community as a whole. An education-based 
paradigm should always start with inexpensive 
communication providing reassuring information to the 
patient. More in-depth education currently exists within a 
treatment regime employing functional restorative and 
innovative programs of prevention and rehabilitation. No 
treatment plan is complete without addressing issues of 
individual and/or group patient education as a means of 
facilitating self-management of symptoms and prevention. 

3. Treatment Parameter Duration. Time frames for 
specific interventions commence once treatments have been 
initiated, not on the date of injury. Obviously, duration will 
be impacted by patient compliance, as well as availability of 
services. Clinical judgment may substantiate the need to 
accelerate or decelerate the time frames discussed in this 
document. Such deviation shall be in accordance with La. 
R.S. 23:1203.1. 

4. Active Interventions. Emphasizing patient 
responsibility, such as therapeutic exercise and/or functional 
treatment, are generally emphasized over passive modalities, 
especially as treatment progresses. Generally, passive 
interventions are viewed as a means to facilitate progress in 
an active rehabilitation program with concomitant 
attainment of objective functional gains. 

5. Active Therapeutic Exercise Program. Exercise 
program goals should incorporate patient strength, 
endurance, flexibility, coordination, and education. This 
includes functional application in vocational or community 
settings. 

6. Positive Patient zresponse. Positive results are 
defined primarily as functional gains that can be objectively 
measured. Standard measurement tools, including outcome 
measures, should be used. Objective functional gains 
include, but are not limited to, positional tolerances, range-
of-motion (ROM), strength, and endurance, activities of 
daily living, cognition, psychological behavior, and 
efficiency/velocity measures that can be quantified. 
Subjective reports of pain and function should be considered 
and given relative weight when the pain has anatomic and 
physiologic correlation. Anatomic correlation must be based 
on objective findings. 

7. Re-evaluation Treatment every Three to Four 
Weeks. If a given treatment or modality is not producing 
positive results within three to four weeks, the treatment 
should be either modified or discontinued. Reconsideration 
of diagnosis should also occur in the event of poor response 
to a seemingly rational intervention. 

8. Surgical Interventions. Surgery should be 
contemplated within the context of expected functional 
outcome and not purely for the purpose of pain relief. The 
concept of “cure” with respect to surgical treatment by itself 
is generally a misnomer. All operative interventions must be 
based upon positive correlation of clinical findings, clinical 

course, and diagnostic tests. A comprehensive assimilation 
of these factors must lead to a specific diagnosis with 
positive identification of pathologic conditions. 

9. Six-month Time Frame. The prognosis drops 
precipitously for returning an injured worker to work once 
he/she has been temporarily totally disabled for more than 
six months. The emphasis within these guidelines is to move 
patients along a continuum of care and return-to-work within 
a six-month time frame, whenever possible. It is important to 
note that time frames may not be pertinent to injuries that do 
not involve work-time loss or are not occupationally related. 

10. Return-to-work is therapeutic, assuming the work is 
not likely to aggravate the basic problem or increase long-
term pain. The practitioner must provide specific written 
physical limitations and the patient should never be released 
to “sedentary” or “light duty.” The following physical 
limitations should be considered and modified as 
recommended: lifting, pushing, pulling, crouching, walking, 
using stairs, bending at the waist, awkward and/or sustained 
postures, tolerance for sitting or standing, hot and cold 
environments, data entry and other repetitive motion tasks, 
sustained grip, tool usage and vibration factors. Even if there 
is residual chronic pain, return-to-work is not necessarily 
contraindicated. 

a. The practitioner should understand all of the 
physical demands of the patient’s job position before 
returning the patient to full duty and should request 
clarification of the patient’s job duties. Clarification should 
be obtained from the employer or, if necessary, including, 
but not limited to, an occupational health nurse, occupational 
therapist, vocational rehabilitation specialist, or an industrial 
hygienist. 

11. Delayed Recovery. Strongly consider a 
psychological evaluation, if not previously provided, as well 
as initiating interdisciplinary rehabilitation treatment and 
vocational goal setting, for those patients who are failing to 
make expected progress 6 to 12 weeks after an injury. The 
OWCA recognizes that 3 to 10 percent of all industrially 
injured patients will not recover within the timelines 
outlined in this document despite optimal care. Such 
individuals may require treatments beyond the limits 
discussed within this document, but such treatment will 
require clear documentation by the authorized treating 
practitioner focusing on objective functional gains afforded 
by further treatment and impact upon prognosis. 

12. Guideline Recommendations and Inclusion of 
Medical Evidence. Guidelines are recommendations based 
on available evidence and/or consensus recommendations. 
When possible, guideline recommendations will note the 
level of evidence supporting the treatment recommendation. 
When interpreting medical evidence statements in the 
guideline, the following apply. 

a. Consensus—the opinion of experienced 
professionals based on general medical principles. 
Consensus recommendations are designated in the guideline 
as “generally well accepted,” “generally accepted,” 
“acceptable/accepted,” or “well-established.” 

b. Some—the recommendation considered at least 
one adequate scientific study, which reported that a 
treatment was effective. 

c. Good—the recommendation considered the 
availability of multiple adequate scientific studies or at least 
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one relevant high-quality scientific study, which reported 
that a treatment was effective.  

d. Strong—the recommendation considered the 
availability of multiple relevant and high quality scientific 
studies, which arrived at similar conclusions about the 
effectiveness of a treatment. 
 i. All recommendations in the guideline are 
considered to represent reasonable care in appropriately 
selected cases, regardless of the level of evidence or 
consensus statement attached to it. Those procedures 
considered inappropriate, unreasonable, or unnecessary are 
designated in the guideline as “not recommended.” 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2219. Definition of Thoracic Outlet Syndrome 

A. Thoracic Outlet Syndrome (TOS) may be described 
as a neurovascular disorder affecting the upper extremity 
which, on rare occasions, is caused by workplace factors, 
such as jobs that require repetitive activities of the upper 
extremities with forward head and shoulder postures. It 
should be emphasized that occupational TOS is a relatively 
uncommon disorder and other disorders with similar 
symptomatology need to be ruled out.  

B. There are four types of thoracic outlet syndrome. The 
two vascular types, comprised of subclavian vein or artery 
pathology, are diagnosed with imaging. True or classic 
neurogenic TOS consists of a chronic lower trunk brachial 
plexopathy diagnosed by positive electrodiagnostic testing. 
It is usually unilateral, predominantly affects women, and 
results in classic electrophysiologic and physical exam 
findings such as hand atrophy. The two vascular types of 
TOS and true neurogenic are relatively rare and easily 
diagnosed. The most common type of TOS is non-specific 
neurogenic (also called disputed) TOS, which is diagnosed 
based on upper or lower trunk brachial plexus symptoms.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2221. Initial Diagnostic Procedures 

A. The OWCA recommends the following diagnostic 
procedures be considered, at least initially, the responsibility 
of the workers’ compensation carrier to ensure that an 
accurate diagnosis and treatment plan can be established. 
Standard procedures that should be utilized when initially 
diagnosing a work-related TOS complaint are listed below. 

1. History taking and physical examination (Hx and 
PE) are generally accepted, well-established and widely used 
procedures which establish the basis for diagnosis, and 
dictate all other diagnostic and therapeutic procedures. When 
findings of clinical evaluations and those of other diagnostic 
procedures are not complementing each other, the objective 
clinical findings should have preference. Neurogenic TOS 
will be described separately from vascular TOS, although 
some general symptoms may occasionally overlap. Vascular 
TOS usually requires emergent treatment as described in the 
surgical Section. Treatment for non-specific neurogenic TOS 
begins with jobsite alteration and therapy as described in 

Section F. and rarely requires surgical intervention. True 
neurogenic TOS may require early surgical intervention if 
there is significant weakness with corresponding EMG/NCV 
changes. The medical records should reasonably document 
the following. 

a. History Taking. A careful history documenting 
exacerbating activities and positions which relieve 
symptoms is essential. Timing of the onset of symptoms is 
important. TOS has been associated with trauma and motor 
vehicle accidents. Avocational pursuits should also be 
specifically documented.  
 i. Symptoms Common to Neurogenic TOS. 
Neurological symptoms are usually intermittent in non-
specific TOS. If symptoms are constant, consider other 
diagnoses such as true TOS or other brachial plexus injuries. 
Neck pain is often the first symptom with complaints within 
the first few days of injury. Occipital headaches may also 
occur early. Some patients experience coldness or color 
changes in the hands. Neurogenic symptoms include the 
following:  

(a). forearm (frequently medial), or proximal 
upper extremity pain; 

(b). numbness and paresthesia in arm, hand and 
fingers: 
 (i). fourth and fifth digits: most common 
pattern; 
 (ii). all five fingers: next most common 
pattern; 
 (iii). first, second and third digits: symptoms 
may occur, but one must rule out carpal tunnel syndrome; 

(c). upper extremity weakness: arm and/or hand; 
“dropping things” may be a common complaint; 

(d). exacerbating factor: arm elevation. Common 
complaints are trouble combing hair, putting on clothing, 
driving a car, or carrying objects with shoulder straps such 
as back packs; disturbed sleep, etc. 
 (i). Symptoms Common to Vascular TOS 
  [a]. Pain, coldness, pallor, digital 
ischemia and claudication in the forearm are signs of arterial 
compromise which is most frequently chronic and due to 
subclavian aneurysm or stenosis.  
  [b]. Swollen, cyanotic, and sometimes 
painful arm is indicative of a venous obstruction requiring 
immediate attention.  

b. Occupational Relationship for Neurogenic and 
Vascular TOS. In many cases, trauma is the cause vascular 
or neurogenic TOS. Clavicular fractures, cervical strain 
(including whiplash), and other cases of cervical trauma 
injuries have been associated with TOS. Continual overhead 
lifting or motion may contribute as can static postures in 
which the shoulders droop and the head is inclined forward. 
Activities which cause over-developed scalene muscles such 
as weight-lifting and swimming may contribute. The Paget-
Schroetter syndrome, or effort thrombosis of the subclavian 
vein, may occur in athletes or workers with repetitive 
overhead forceful motion and neck extension. Arterial 
thrombosis or symptoms from subclavian aneurysms or 
stenosis are usually not work-related. Both classic 
neurogenic TOS (usually due to a cervical or anomalous first 
rib) and vascular TOS due to arterial compromise from 
stenosis or aneurysm are rarely work-related conditions.  
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c. Physical Findings 
 i. Physical Examination Signs used to Diagnose 
Classic or Non-specific Neurogenic TOS. Both extremities 
should be examined to compare symptomatic and 
asymptomatic sides.  
 ii. Provocative maneuvers (listed below) must 
reproduce the symptoms of TOS to be considered positive: 

(a). tenderness over scalene muscles in 
supraclavicular area; 

(b). pressure in supraclavicular area elicits 
symptoms in arm/hand, or Tinel’s sign over brachial plexus 
is positive. The supraclavicular pressure test is positive for 
paresthesia in approximately 15 percent of asymptomatic 
individuals; 

(c). Elevated Arm Stress Test (EAST) is 
performed with the arms abducted and shoulders externally 
rotated to 90 degrees with elbows bent to 90 degrees for 3 
minutes (some examiners use 60 seconds). The patient may 
also be asked to repetitively open and close fists. A positive 
test reproduces upper extremity symptoms. When this test is 
performed for 3 minutes in an asymptomatic population, 
approximately 35 percent experience paresthesia; 

(d). some literature has suggested another 
provocative elevated arm stress test. The patient holds his 
arms over head for one minute with elbows extended, wrists 
in a neutral position, and forearm midway between 
supination and pronation. If symptoms are reproduced, the 
test is positive.  

d. Posture related brachial tests: 
 i. head tilting: lateral flexion of the neck (ear to 
shoulder) causes radiating pain and paresthesia in the 
contralateral arm consistent with TOS.; 
 ii. Military posture or costoclavicular maneuver. 
Shoulders are depressed and pulled backward in an 
exaggerated position. Reproduction of symptoms is a 
positive test. Approximately 15 percent of asymptomatic 
individuals will report paresthesia with this test. 

e. Neurological Examination: usually normal in 
non-specific TOS, but may be abnormal. 
 i. Sensory Exam: may show decreased sensation 
to light touch, pain, vibration, and/or temperature in lower 
brachial plexus distribution. The entire ring finger is usually 
involved. This contrasts with ulnar neuropathy, which 
usually involves only the ulnar side of the ring finger.  
 ii. Motor Exam: weakness and/or muscle atrophy 
in either upper or lower trunk distributions including, but not 
limited to, valid dynamometer readings indicative of relative 
weakness in the affected limb. In lower plexus injuries, the 
abductor pollicus brevis often demonstrates more 
involvement and atrophy than the intrinsic interosseous 
muscles. 

(a). Physical exam findings for vascular TOS 
cases. Suspicion of vascular compromise should lead to 
confirmation using appropriate imaging procedures.  
 (i). Arterial cases usually demonstrate an 
absent radial pulse at rest, pale hand and often ischemic 
fingers. 
 (ii). Venous obstruction presents with 
visible or distended superficial veins on the effected signs 
involving the anterior axillary fold and chest wall. The arm 
is usually swollen and cyanotic.  

 iii. Physical Exam—other tests which are 
recommended and may indicate additional diagnostic 
considerations.  

(a). Neck rotation may be restricted and can 
indicate the presence of additional pathology. 

(b). Upper Limb Tension Test—this provocative 
test may be positive for cervical radiculopathy, brachial 
plexus pathology, or other peripheral nerve pathology. It is 
considered sensitive but non-specific. The test has several 
variations; however, they all consist of a series of systematic 
maneuvers performed on the upper quadrant to evaluate 
peripheral nerve function and pathology. Head tilting is one 
of the maneuvers included. Provocation of abnormal 
responses indicates neural tissue sensitization/irritation, and 
can include implication of specific peripheral nerve trunks. 
Performance and interpretation of this test requires specific 
training and experience. A negative response to the upper 
limb tension test makes the diagnosis of neurogenic TOS 
unlikely. If negative, investigate other diagnoses.  

(c). Rotator cuff/acromioclavicular (AC) joint 
tenderness suggests rotator cuff, or biceps tendonitis or AC 
joint disease. 

(d). Trapezius muscle, shoulder girdle muscles or 
paraspinal muscle tenderness suggests a myofascial 
component. 

(e). Drooping shoulders secondary to nerve 
injuries can be present with TOS symptoms. If a spinal 
accessory, long thoracic or other nerve injury is identified, 
treatment should focus on therapy for the nerve injury in 
addition to conservative measures for TOS. Refer to the 
Shoulder Injury Medical Treatment Guidelines. Brachial 
Plexus and Shoulder Nerve Injuries.  

(f). The following tests suggest carpal tunnel 
syndrome:  
 (i). carpal tunnel compression test; 
 (ii). flicking the wrist secondary to 
paresthesia; 
 (iii). Tinel’s sign; and/or  
 (iv). Phalen’s sign. 

(g). Positive Tinel’s sign at elbow (over ulnar 
groove) suggests ulnar nerve entrapment. 

(h). Positive Tinel’s sign over the pronator teres 
muscle suggests median nerve involvement. Positive Tinel’s 
sign over the radial tunnel suggests radial nerve 
compression. 

f. Cervical spine x-ray is a generally accepted, 
well-established procedure indicated to rule out cervical 
spine disease, fracture, cervical rib or rudimentary first rib 
when clinical findings suggest these diagnoses. Cervical 
spine x-rays should also be considered when there is an 
asymmetric diminished pulse in an arm that is symptomatic. 
X-rays are most useful when arterial TOS is suspected. The 
presence of a cervical rib does not confirm the diagnosis 
unless other clinical signs and symptoms are present, as 
many cervical ribs are asymptomatic. Therefore, routine 
roentgenographic evaluation of the cervical spine is 
frequently unnecessary early in the course of treatment for 
non-specific TOS.  

g. Vascular Studies. Vascular laboratory studies, 
including duplex scanning, Doppler studies, standard and 
MR arteriography and venography are required for patients 
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presenting with arterial or venous occlusion, as these 
patients may require immediate thrombolytic intervention. 
These studies are not indicated for neurogenic TOS.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2223. Follow-up Diagnostic Imaging and Testing 

Procedures 
A. Cervical computed axial tomography or magnetic 

resonance imaging (ct/mri) are generally accepted, well-
established procedures indicated to rule out cervical disc or 
other cervical spine disorders when clinical findings suggest 
these diagnoses. It should not be routinely performed for 
TOS. MRI is the preferred test over a CT unless a fracture is 
suspected, and then CT may be superior to MRI. CT/MRI is 
not indicated early unless there is a neurological deficit 
and/or the need to rule out a space- occupying lesion, such 
as a tumor. Repeat cervical MRI is not indicated for TOS. If 
cervical spine injury is confirmed, refer to the OWCA’s 
Cervical Spine Injury Medical Treatment Guidelines. If a 
cervical spine disorder is not suspected, conservative therapy 
as indicated in Section F, Non-operative Procedures should 
be done for at least 8 to 12 weeks, prior to ordering an MRI 
for persistent symptoms. 

B. Electrodiagnostic Studies 
1. Electromyography/Nerve Conduction Velocities 

(EMG/NCV) is a generally accepted, well-established 
procedure. EMG/NCV is primarily indicated to rule out 
other nerve entrapment syndromes such as carpal tunnel or 
cubital tunnel syndrome when indicated by clinical 
examination, or to establish true neurogenic TOS. Most 
cases of non-specific TOS have normal electrodiagnostic 
studies, but EMG/NCV should be considered when 
symptoms have been present for approximately three months 
or if the patient has failed eight weeks of conservative 
therapy. EMG/NCV may also be performed to rule out other 
disorders. Somato-sensory evoked potentials (SSEPs), F 
waves and NCV across the thoracic outlet have no 
diagnostic value and should not be performed. The diagnosis 
is usually made by comparison to the normal extremity. For 
bilateral disease, each EMG lab must establish its own 
absolute limits of latency and amplitude from volunteer 
controls so that measurements exceeding these limits can be 
noted.  

2. Criteria for True Neurogenic TOS 
a. reduction of the ulnar sensory nerve action 

potential to digits (usually less than 60 percent of unaffected 
side); or 

b. medial antebrachial sensory action potential 
which is low or absent compared to the unaffected side; or 

c. reduction of the median M-wave amplitude 
(usually less than 50 percent of unaffected side); or 

d. needle EMG examination reveals neurogenic 
changes in intrinsic hand muscles and the abductor pollicus 
brevis muscle.  

3. Portable automated electrodiagnostic device: (also 
known as surface EMG) is not a substitute for conventional 
EMG/NCS testing in clinical decision-making, and 
therefore, is not recommended. 

4. Quantitative Sensory Testing (QST). Research is 
not currently available on the use of QST in the evaluation 
of TOS. QST tests the entire spectrum of the neurological 
system including the brain. It is not able to reliably 
distinguish between organic and psychogenic pathology and 
therefore, is not recommended. 

C. Vascular Studies. Noninvasive vascular testing, such 
as pulse-volume recording in different positions, is not 
indicated in cases of neurogenic TOS. Since the presence or 
absence of a pulse cutoff on physical examination is not 
helpful in establishing a diagnosis of TOS, the recording of 
finer degrees of positional pulse alteration will not add to the 
diagnosis. Vascular laboratory studies, including duplex 
scanning, Doppler studies, standard and MR arteriography 
and venography, are not cost-effective in cases of neurogenic 
TOS. These studies are only indicated in patients who have 
arterial or venous occlusive signs. Dynamic venography 
with the arm in 180 degrees of abduction may be used in 
cases with continued swelling and/or periodic cyanosis who 
have not improved with conservative therapy. 
Approximately 20 percent of asymptomatic individuals will 
have an abnormal dynamic venogram. Some individuals 
may have a pectoralis minor syndrome which occludes the 
axillary vein rather than the subclavian vein. In these cases, 
less invasive surgery than the TOS operative procedures may 
be indicated.  

D. Thermography is not generally accepted or widely 
used for TOS. It may be used if differential diagnosis 
includes CRPS; in such cases refer to the OWCA’s Complex 
Regional Pain Syndrome/Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy 
Medical Treatment Guidelines. 

E. Anterior scalene or pectoralis muscle blocks may be 
performed to provide additional information prior to 
expected surgical intervention. It is recommended that EMG 
or sonography guidance be used to assure localization.  

F. Personality/psychological/psychiatric/psychosocial 
evaluations are generally accepted and well-established 
diagnostic procedures with selective use in the acute TOS 
population and more widespread use in the sub-acute and 
chronic TOS population.  

1. Diagnostic testing procedures may be useful for 
patients with symptoms of depression, delayed recovery, 
chronic pain, recurrent painful conditions, disability 
problems, and for pre-operative evaluation as well as a 
possible predictive value for post-operative response. 
Psychological testing should provide differentiation between 
pre-existing depression versus injury-caused depression, as 
well as post-traumatic stress disorder. 

2. Formal psychological or psychosocial evaluation 
should be performed on patients not making expected 
progress within 6-12 weeks following injury and whose 
subjective symptoms do not correlate with objective signs 
and tests. In addition to the customary initial exam, the 
evaluation of the injured worker should specifically address 
the following areas: 

a. employment history; 
b. interpersonal relationships—both social and 

work; 
c. leisure activities; 
d. current perception of the medical system; 
e. results of current treatment; 
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f. perceived locus of control; and 
g. childhood history, including abuse and family 

history of disability. 
3. This information should provide clinicians with a 

better understanding of the patient, and enable a more 
effective rehabilitation. 

4. The evaluation will determine the need for further 
psychosocial interventions, and in those cases, a Diagnostic 
Statistical Manual (DSM) of Mental Disorders diagnosis 
should be determined and documented. An individual with a 
PhD, PsyD, or Psychiatric MD/DO credentials should 
perform initial evaluations, which are generally completed 
within one to two hours. A professional fluent in the primary 
language of the patient is strongly preferred. When such a 
provider is not available, services of a professional language 
interpreter must be provided. When issues of chronic pain 
are identified, the evaluation should be more extensive and 
follow testing procedures as outlined in the OWCA’s 
Chronic Pain Disorder Medical Treatment Guidelines. 

a. Frequency—one time visit for evaluation. If 
psychometric testing is indicated as a portion of the initial 
evaluation, time for such testing should not exceed an 
additional two hours of professional time. 

G. Special tests are generally well-accepted tests and are 
performed as part of a skilled assessment of the patients’ 
capacity to return to work, his/her strength capacities, and 
physical work demand classifications and tolerance. The 
procedures in this subsection are listed in alphabetical order, 
not by importance. 

1. Computer-enhanced evaluations may include 
isotonic, isometric, isokinetic and/or isoinertial measurement 
of movement, range-of-motion, endurance or strength. 
Values obtained can include degrees of motion, torque 
forces, pressures or resistance. Indications include 
determining validity of effort, effectiveness of treatment and 
demonstrated motivation. These evaluations should not be 
used alone to determine return to work restrictions. The 
added value of computer enhanced evaluations is unclear. 
Targeted work tolerance screening or gradual return to work 
is preferred. 

a. Frequency—one time for evaluation. Can 
monitor improvements in strength every three to four weeks 
up to a total of six evaluations. 

2. Functional capacity evaluation (FCE) is a 
comprehensive or modified evaluation of the various aspects 
of function as they relate to the worker’s ability to return to 
work. Areas such as endurance, lifting (dynamic and static), 
postural tolerance, specific range of motion, coordination 
and strength, worker habits, employability as well as 
psychosocial, cognitive, and sensory perceptual aspects of 
competitive employment may be evaluated. Components of 
this evaluation may include: musculoskeletal screen; 
cardiovascular profile/aerobic capacity; coordination; 
lift/carrying analysis; job-specific activity tolerance; 
maximum voluntary effort; pain assessment/psychological 
screening; and non-material and material handling activities.  

a. When an FCE is being used to determine return 
to a specific jobsite, the provider is responsible for fully 
understanding the job duties. A jobsite evaluation is 
frequently necessary. FCEs cannot be used in isolation to 
determine work restrictions. The authorized treating 
physician must interpret the FCE in light of the individual 

patient's presentation and medical and personal perceptions. 
FCEs should not be used as the sole criteria to diagnose 
malingering. 

b. Full FCEs are sometimes necessary. In many 
cases, a work tolerance screening will identify the ability to 
perform the necessary job tasks. If partial FCEs are 
performed, it is recognized that all parts of the FCE that are 
not performed are considered normal. 
 i.. Frequency—can be used initially to determine 
baseline status and for case closure when patient is unlikely 
to return to pre-injury position and further information is 
desired to determine permanent work restrictions. Prior 
authorization is required for FCEs performed during 
treatment. 

3. Jobsite evaluation is a comprehensive analysis of 
the physical, mental and sensory components of a specific 
job. These components may include, but are not limited to: 
postural tolerance (static and dynamic); aerobic 
requirements; range of motion; torque/force; lifting/carrying; 
cognitive demands; social interactions; visual perceptual; 
sensation; coordination; environmental requirements; 
repetitiveness; and essential job functions. Job descriptions 
provided by the employer are helpful but should not be used 
as a substitute for direct observation. 

a. A jobsite evaluation may include observation and 
instruction of how work is done, what material changes 
(desk, chair) should be made, and determination of readiness 
to return to work. Postural risk factors should be identified 
and awkward postures of overhead reach, hyperextension or 
rotation of the neck, shoulder drooped or forward-flexed and 
head-chin forward postures should be eliminated. Unless 
combined with one of the above postures, repetitiveness is 
not by itself a risk factor. Refer to Cumulative Trauma 
Disorder and Shoulder Guidelines for further suggestions. 
 i. Requests for a jobsite evaluation should 
describe the expected goals for the evaluation. Goals may 
include, but are not limited to the following:  

(a). to determine if there are potential 
contributing factors to the person’s condition and/or for the 
physician to assess causality; 

(b). to make recommendations for, and to assess 
the potential for ergonomic changes; 

(c). to provide a detailed description of the 
physical and cognitive job requirements; 

(d). to assist the patient in their return to work by 
educating them on how they may be able to do their job 
more safely in a bio-mechanically appropriate manner; 

(e). to give detailed work/activity restrictions. 
 (i). Frequency—one time with additional 
visits as needed for follow-up per jobsite. 

4. Vocational Assessment. The vocational assessment 
should provide valuable guidance in the determination of 
future rehabilitation program goals. It should clarify 
rehabilitation goals, which optimize both patient motivation 
and utilization of rehabilitation resources. If prognosis for 
return to former occupation is determined to be poor, except 
in the most extenuating circumstances, vocational 
assessment should be implemented within 3 to 12 months 
post-injury. Declaration of MMI should not be delayed 
solely due to lack of attainment of a vocational assessment. 

a. Frequency—one time with additional visits as 
needed for follow-up. 
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5. Work tolerance screening is a determination of an 
individual's tolerance for performing a specific job based on 
a job activity or task and may be used when a full functional 
capacity evaluation is not indicated. The screening is 
monitored by a therapist and may include a test or procedure 
to specifically identify and quantify work-relevant 
cardiovascular, physical fitness and postural tolerance. It 
may also address ergonomic issues affecting the patient’s 
return-to-work potential.  

a. Frequency—one time for initial screen. May 
monitor improvements in strength every three to four weeks 
up to a total of six visits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2225. Therapeutic Procedures—Non-Operative 

NOTE: Treating providers, as well as employers and insurers 
are highly encouraged to reference the General Guideline 
Principles prior to initiation of any therapeutic procedure. 

A. Initial Treatment Recommendations. Vascular cases 
will require surgical management and thus are not 
appropriate candidates for initial non-operative therapy. 
Cases of “non-specific” (also called disputed) TOS are 
treated conservatively first for a minimum of three months. 
Patients undergoing therapeutic procedures may return to 
modified or restricted duty during their rehabilitation, at the 
earliest appropriate time. Cessation and/or review of 
treatment modalities should be undertaken when no further 
significant subjective or objective improvement in the 
patient’s condition is noted. Most literature of conservative 
therapy for TOS suggest benefit for patients with non-
specific TOS. Non-surgical patients may be less likely to 
lose as much time from work as surgical patients. Initial 
treatment for TOS patients without indications for early 
surgery should include, patient education, jobsite alterations 
(especially if job activities are related to symptoms), 
neuromuscular education to emphasis proper breathing 
techniques and posture, nerve gliding and core body 
therapeutic exercise.  

B. Postural risk factors should be identified. Awkward 
postures of overhead reach, hyperextension or rotation of the 
neck, shoulder drooped or forward-flexed and head-chin 
forward postures should be eliminated. Proper breathing 
techniques are also part of the treatment plan. 

C. Therapy is primarily a daily self-managed home 
program developed and supervised by an appropriately 
trained professional. Nerve gliding and upper extremity 
stretching usually involves the following muscle groups: 
scalene, pectoralis minor, trapezius and levator scapulae. 
Endurance or strengthening of the upper extremities early in 
the course of therapy is not recommended, as this may 
exacerbate cervical or upper extremity symptoms.  

D. Jobsite evaluation should be done early in all non-
traumatic cases and should be performed by a qualified 
individual in all cases of suspected occupational TOS. 
Postural risk factors discussed above should be considered 
when making jobsite changes. Unless combined with one of 
the above postures, repetition alone is not a risk factor. Work 
activities need to be modified early in treatment to avoid 
further exposure to risk factors.  

1. Acupuncture is an accepted and widely used 
procedure for the relief of pain and inflammation and there 
is some scientific evidence to support its use. The exact 
mode of action is only partially understood. Western 
medicine literature suggests that acupuncture stimulates the 
nervous system at the level of the brain, promotes deep 
relaxation, and affects the release of neurotransmitters. 
Acupuncture is commonly used as an alternative or in 
addition to traditional Western pharmaceuticals. While it is 
commonly used when pain medication is reduced or not 
tolerated, it may be used as an adjunct to physical 
rehabilitation and/or surgical intervention to hasten the 
return of functional activity. Acupuncture should be 
performed by licensed practitioners. 

a. Acupuncture is the insertion and removal of 
filiform needles to stimulate acupoints (acupuncture points). 
Needles may be inserted, manipulated and retained for a 
period of time. Acupuncture can be used to reduce pain, 
reduce inflammation, increase blood flow, increase range of 
motion, decrease the side effect of medication-induced 
nausea, promote relaxation in an anxious patient, and reduce 
muscle spasm.  
 i. Indications include joint pain, joint stiffness, 
soft tissue pain and inflammation, paresthesia, post-surgical 
pain relief, muscle spasm, and scar tissue pain. 

b. Acupuncture with electrical stimulation is the use 
of electrical current (micro-amperage or milli-amperage) on 
the needles at the acupuncture site. It is used to increase 
effectiveness of the needles by continuous stimulation of the 
acupoint. Physiological effects (depending on location and 
settings) can include endorphin release for pain relief, 
reduction of inflammation, increased blood circulation, 
analgesia through interruption of pain stimulus, and muscle 
relaxation. 
 i. It is indicated to treat chronic pain conditions, 
radiating pain along a nerve pathway, muscle spasm, 
inflammation, scar tissue pain, and pain located in multiple 
sites. 

c. Total time frames for acupuncture and 
acupuncture with electrical stimulation time frames are not 
meant to be applied to each of the above sections separately. 
The time frames are to be applied to all acupuncture 
treatments regardless of the type or combination of therapies 
being provided. 
 i. Time to Produce Effect—three to six 
treatments. 
 ii. Frequency—one to three times per week. 
 iii. Optimum Duration—one to two months. 
 iv. Maximum Duration—14 treatments. 

(a). Any of the above acupuncture treatments 
may extend longer if objective functional gains can be 
documented or when symptomatic benefits facilitate 
progression in the patient’s treatment program. Treatment 
beyond 14 treatments must be documented with respect to 
need and ability to facilitate positive symptomatic or 
functional gains. Such care should be re-evaluated and 
documented with each series of treatments. 

d. Other Acupuncture Modalities. Acupuncture 
treatment is based on individual patient needs and therefore 
treatment may include a combination of procedures to 
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enhance treatment effect. Other procedures may include the 
use of heat, soft tissue manipulation/massage, and exercise. 
Refer to Active Therapy (Therapeutic Exercise) and, Passive 
Therapy sections (Massage and Superficial Heat and Cold 
Therapy) for a description of these adjunctive acupuncture 
modalities and time frames. 

2. Biofeedback is a form of behavioral medicine that 
helps patients learn self-awareness and self-regulation skills 
for the purpose of gaining greater control of their 
physiology, such as muscle activity, brain waves, and 
measures of autonomic nervous system activity. Electronic 
instrumentation is used to monitor the targeted physiology 
and then displayed or fed back to the patient visually, 
auditorily, or tactilely, with coaching by a biofeedback 
specialist. Biofeedback is provided by clinicians certified in 
biofeedback and/or who have documented specialized 
education, advanced training, or direct or supervised 
experience qualifying them to provide the specialized 
treatment needed (e.g., surface EMG, EEG, or other). 

a. Treatment is individualized to the patient’s work-
related diagnosis and needs. Home practice of skills is 
required for mastery and may be facilitated by the use of 
home training tapes. The ultimate goal in biofeedback 
treatment is normalizing the physiology to the pre-injury 
status to the extent possible and involves transfer of learned 
skills to the workplace and daily life. Candidates for 
biofeedback therapy or training must be motivated to learn 
and practice biofeedback and self-regulation techniques.  

b. Indications for biofeedback include individuals 
who are suffering from musculoskeletal injury where muscle 
dysfunction or other physiological indicators of excessive or 
prolonged stress response affects and/or delays recovery. 
Other applications include training to improve self-
management of emotional stress/pain responses such as 
anxiety, depression, anger, sleep disturbance, and other 
central and autonomic nervous system imbalances. 
Biofeedback is often utilized along with other treatment 
modalities. 
 i. Time to Produce Effect—three to four sessions. 
 ii. Frequency—one to two times per week. 
 iii. Optimum Duration—five to six sessions. 
 iv. Maximum Duration: 10 to 12 sessions. 
Treatment beyond 12 sessions must be documented with 
respect to need, expectation, and ability to facilitate positive 
symptomatic or functional gains. 

3. Injections—Therapeutic 
a. Scalene blocks have no therapeutic role in the 

treatment of TOS.  
b. Trigger point injections, although generally 

accepted, are not routinely used in cases of TOS. However, it 
is not unusual to find myofascial trigger points associated 
with TOS pathology, which may require injections. 
 i. Description. Trigger point treatment can 
consist of dry needling or injection of local anesthetic with 
or without corticosteroid into highly localized, extremely 
sensitive bands of skeletal muscle fibers that produce local 
and referred pain when activated. Medication is injected in a 
four-quadrant manner in the area of maximum tenderness. 
Injection efficacy can be enhanced if injections are 
immediately followed by myofascial therapeutic 
interventions, such as vapo-coolant spray and stretch, 
ischemic pressure massage (myotherapy), specific soft tissue 

mobilization and physical modalities. There is conflicting 
evidence regarding the benefit of trigger point injections. A 
truly blinded study comparing dry needle treatment of 
trigger points is not feasible. There is no evidence that 
injection of medications improves the results of trigger-point 
injections. Needling alone may account for some of the 
therapeutic response. 
 ii There is no indication for conscious sedation 
for patients receiving trigger point injections. The patient 
must be alert to help identify the site of the injection. 
 iii. Indications. Trigger point injections may be 
used to relieve myofascial pain and facilitate active therapy 
and stretching of the affected areas. They are to be used as 
an adjunctive treatment in combination with other treatment 
modalities such as functional restoration programs. Trigger 
point injections should be utilized primarily for the purpose 
of facilitating functional progress. Patients should continue 
with a therapeutic exercise program as tolerated throughout 
the time period they are undergoing intensive myofascial 
interventions. Myofascial pain is often associated with other 
underlying structural problems and any abnormalities need 
to be ruled out prior to injection. 
 iv. Trigger point injections are indicated in those 
patients where well circumscribed trigger points have been 
consistently observed, demonstrating a local twitch 
response, characteristic radiation of pain pattern and local 
autonomic reaction, such as persistent hyperemia following 
palpation. Generally, these injections are not necessary 
unless consistently observed trigger points are not 
responding to specific, noninvasive, myofascial 
interventions within approximately a six-week time frame. 
 v. Complications. Potential but rare complications 
of trigger point injections include infection, pneumothorax, 
anaphylaxis, neurapraxia, and neuropathy. If corticosteroids 
are injected in addition to local anesthetic, there is a risk of 
local myopathy developing. Severe pain on injection 
suggests the possibility of an intraneural injection, and the 
needle should be immediately repositioned.  

(a). Time to Produce Effect—local anesthetic, 30 
minutes; no anesthesia, 24 to 48 hours. 

(b). Frequency—weekly, suggest no more than 
four injection sites per session per week to avoid significant 
post-injection soreness. 

(c). Optimal Duration—four weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—eight weeks. 

Occasional patients may require two to four repetitions of 
trigger point injection series over a one to two year period. 

4. Medications: 
a. Thrombolytic agents will be required for some 

vascular TOS conditions. 
b. Medication use is appropriate for pain control in 

TOS. A thorough medication history, including use of 
alternative and over the counter medications, should be 
performed at the time of the initial visit and updated 
periodically.  

c. Acetaminophen is an effective and safe initial 
analgesic. Nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) 
are useful in the treatment of inflammation, and for pain 
control. Pain is subjective in nature and should be evaluated 
using a scale to rate effectiveness of the analgesic in terms of 
functional gain. Other medications, including 
antidepressants and anti-convulsants, may be useful in 
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selected patients with neuropathic and/or chronic pain (Refer 
to the OWCA’s Chronic Pain Guidelines). Narcotics are 
rarely indicated for treatment of TOS, and they should be 
primarily reserved for the treatment of acute severe pain for 
a limited time on a case-by-case basis. Topical agents may 
be beneficial in the management of localized upper 
extremity pain. 

d. The use of a patient completed pain drawing, 
Visual Analog Scale (VAS), is highly recommended to help 
providers track progress. Functional objective goals should 
be monitored regularly to determine the effectiveness of 
treatment. The patient should be advised regarding the 
interaction with prescription and over-the-counter herbal 
products. 

e. The following medications are listed in 
alphabetical order. 
 i. Acetaminophen is an effective analgesic with 
antipyretic but not anti-inflammatory activity. 
Acetaminophen is generally well tolerated, causes little or no 
gastrointestinal irritation and is not associated with ulcer 
formation. Acetaminophen has been associated with liver 
toxicity in overdose situations or in chronic alcohol use. 
Patients may not realize that many over-the-counter 
preparations may contain acetaminophen. The total daily 
dose of acetaminophen is recommended not to exceed 2250 
mg per 24 hour period, from all sources, including narcotic-
acetaminophen combination preparations. 

(a). Optimal Duration—7 to 10 days. 
(b). Maximum Duration—chronic use as 

indicated on a case-by-case basis. Use of this substance 
long-term for three days per week or greater may be 
associated with rebound pain upon cessation. 
 ii. Anticonvulsants. Although the mechanism of 
action of anticonvulsant drugs in neuropathic pain states 
remains to be fully defined, they appear to act as 
nonselective sodium channel blocking agents. A large variety 
of sodium channels are present in nervous tissue, and some 
of these are important mediators of nociception, as they are 
found primarily in unmyelinated fibers and their density 
increases following nerve injury. While the 
pharmacodynamic effects of the various anticonvulsant 
drugs are similar, the pharmacokinetic effects differ 
significantly. Carbamazepine has important effects as an 
inducer of hepatic enzymes and may influence the 
metabolism of other drugs enough to present problems in 
patients taking more than one drug. Gabapentin and 
oxcarbazepine, by contrast, are relatively non-significant 
enzyme inducers, creating fewer drug interactions. Because 
anticonvulsant drugs may have more problematic side-effect 
profiles, their use should usually be deferred until 
antidepressant drugs have failed to relieve pain. 

(a). Gabapentin (Neurontin) 
 (i). Description—structurally related to 
gamma aminobutyric acid (GABA) but does not interact 
with GABA receptors. 
 (ii). Indications—neuropathic pain. 
 (iii). Relative Contraindications—renal 
insufficiency. 
 iv. Dosing and Time to Therapeutic 
Effect—dosage may be increased over several days. 
 v. Major Side Effects—confusion, 
sedation. 

 vi. Drug Interactions—oral 
contraceptives, cimetidine, antacids. 
 vii. Recommended Laboratory 
Monitoring—renal function. 
 iii. Antidepressants are classified into a number of 
categories based on their chemical structure and their effects 
on neurotransmitter systems. Their effects on depression are 
attributed to their actions on disposition of norepinephrine 
and serotonin at the level of the synapse; although these 
synaptic actions are immediate, the symptomatic response in 
depression is delayed by several weeks. When used for 
chronic pain, the effects may in part arise from treatment of 
underlying depression, but may also involve additional 
neuromodulatory effects on endogenous opioid systems, 
raising pain thresholds at the level of the spinal cord.  

(a). Pain responses may occur at lower drug 
doses with shorter times to symptomatic response than are 
observed when the same compounds are used in the 
treatment of mood disorders. Neuropathic pain, diabetic 
neuropathy, post-herpetic neuralgia, and cancer-related pain 
may respond to antidepressant doses low enough to avoid 
adverse effects that often complicate the treatment of 
depression. 
 (i). Tricyclics (e.g., amitryptiline [Elavil], 
nortriptyline [Pamelor, Aventyl], doxepin [Sinequan, 
Adapin]) 
  [a]. Description—serotonergics, 
typically tricyclic antidepressants (TCAs), are utilized for 
their serotonergic properties as increasing CNS serotonergic 
tone can help decrease pain perception in non-antidepressant 
dosages. Amitriptyline is known for its ability to repair Stage 
4 sleep architecture, a frequent problem found in chronic 
pain patients and to treat depression, frequently associated 
with chronic pain. 
  [b]. Indications—chronic 
musculoskeletal and/or neuropathic pain, insomnia. Second 
line drug treatment for depression. 
  [c]. Major Contraindications—
cardiac disease or dysrhythmia, glaucoma, prostatic 
hypertrophy, seizures, suicide risk. 
  [d]. Dosing and Time to Therapeutic 
Effect—varies by specific tricyclic. Low dosages are 
commonly used for chronic pain and/or insomnia. 
  [e]. Major Side Effects—
anticholinergic side effects including, but not limited to, dry 
mouth, sedation, orthostatic hypotension, cardiac 
arrhythmia, weight gain. 
  [f]. Drug Interactions—tramadol 
(may cause seizures), clonidine, cimetidine, 
sympathomimetics, valproic acid, warfarin, carbamazepine, 
bupropion, anticholinergics, quinolones. 
  [g]. Recommended Laboratory 
Monitoring—renal and hepatic function. Electrocardiogram 
(EKG) for those on high dosages or with cardiac risk. 
 iv. Minor tranquilizer/muscle relaxants are 
appropriate for muscle spasm, mild pain and sleep disorders. 

(a). Optimum Duration—up to one week. 
(b). Maximum Duration—four weeks. 

 v. Narcotics medications should be prescribed 
with strict time, quantity and duration guidelines, and with 
definitive cessation parameters. Adverse effects include 
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respiratory depression, impaired alertness, and the 
development of physical and psychological dependence. 

(a). Optimum Duration—up to seven days. 
(b). Maximum Duration—two weeks. Use 

beyond two weeks is acceptable in appropriate cases, such as 
patients requiring complex surgical treatment. 
 vi. Nonsteroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs 
(NSAIDs) are useful for pain and inflammation. In mild 
cases, they may be the only drugs required for analgesia. 
There are several classes of NSAIDs, and the response of the 
individual injured worker to a specific medication is 
unpredictable. For this reason, a range of NSAIDs may be 
tried in each case with the most effective preparation being 
continued. Patients should be closely monitored for adverse 
reactions. The US Food and Drug Administration advises 
that many NSAIDs may cause an increased risk of serious 
cardiovascular thrombotic events, myocardial infarction, and 
stroke, which can be fatal. Naproxen sodium does not appear 
to be associated with increased risk of vascular events. 
Administration of proton pump inhibitors, Histamine 2 
Blockers, or prostaglandin analog misoprostol along with 
these NSAIDs may reduce the risk of duodenal and gastric 
ulceration but do not impact possible cardiovascular 
complications. Due to the cross-reactivity between aspirin 
and NSAIDs, NSAIDs should not be used in aspirin-
sensitive patients, and should be used with caution in all 
asthma patients. NSAIDs are associated with abnormal renal 
function, including renal failure, as well as, abnormal liver 
function. Certain NSAIDs may have interactions with 
various other medications. Individuals may have adverse 
events not listed above. Intervals for metabolic screening are 
dependent upon the patient's age, general health status and 
should be within parameters listed for each specific 
medication. Complete Blood Count (CBC), and liver and 
renal function should be monitored at least every six months 
in patients on chronic NSAIDs and initially when indicated. 

(a). Non-selective Nonsteroidal Anti-
Inflammatory Drugs 
 (i). Includes NSAIDs and acetylsalicylic 
acid (aspirin). Serious GI toxicity, such as bleeding, 
perforation, and ulceration can occur at any time, with or 
without warning symptoms in patients treated with 
traditional NSAIDs. Physicians should inform patients about 
the signs and/or symptoms of serious gastrointestinal 
toxicity and what steps to take if they occur. Anaphylactoid 
reactions may occur in patients taking NSAIDs. NSAIDs 
may interfere with platelet function. Fluid retention and 
edema have been observed in some patients taking NSAIDs. 
  [a]. Optimal Duration—one week. 
  [b]. Maximum Duration—one year. 
Use of these substances long-term (three days per week or 
greater) is associated with rebound pain upon cessation. 

(b). Selective Cyclo-oxygenase-2 (COX-2) 
Inhibitors  
 (i). COX-2 inhibitors are more recent 
NSAIDs and differ in adverse side effect profiles from the 
traditional NSAIDs. The major advantages of selective 
COX-2 inhibitors over traditional NSAIDs are that they have 
less gastrointestinal toxicity and no platelet effects. COX-2 
inhibitors can worsen renal function in patients with renal 
insufficiency, thus renal function may need monitoring. 

 (ii). COX-2 inhibitors should not be first-
line for low risk patients who will be using an NSAID short-
term but are indicated in select patients for whom traditional 
NSAIDs are not tolerated. Serious upper GI adverse events 
can occur even in asymptomatic patients. Patients at high 
risk for GI bleed include those who use alcohol, smoke, are 
older than 65, take corticosteroids or anti-coagulants, or 
have a longer duration of therapy. Celecoxib is 
contraindicated in sulfonamide allergic patients. 
  [a]. Optimal Duration—7 to 10 days. 
  [b]. Maximum Duration—chronic use 
is appropriate in individual cases. Use of these substances 
long-term (three days per week or greater) is associated with 
rebound pain upon cessation. 

5. Occupational Rehabilitation Programs 
a. Non-Interdisciplinary. These generally accepted 

programs are work-related, outcome-focused, individualized 
treatment programs. Objectives of the program include, but 
are not limited to, improvement of cardiopulmonary and 
neuromusculoskeletal functions (strength, endurance, 
movement, flexibility, stability, and motor control functions), 
patient education, and symptom relief. The goal is for 
patients to gain full or optimal function and return to work. 
The service may include the time-limited use of passive 
modalities with progression to achieve treatment and/or 
simulated/real work. These programs are frequently 
necessary for patients who must return to physically 
demanding job duties or whose injury requires prolonged 
rehabilitation and therapy spanning several months.  
 i. Work Conditioning. These programs are 
usually initiated once reconditioning has been completed but 
may be offered at any time throughout the recovery phase. It 
should be initiated when imminent return of a patient to 
modified or full duty is not an option, but the prognosis for 
returning the patient to work at completion of the program is 
at least fair to good.  

(a). Length of Visit—one to two hours per day. 
(b). Frequency—two to five visits per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—two to four weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—six weeks. 

Participation in a program beyond six weeks must be 
documented with respect to need and the ability to facilitate 
positive symptomatic or functional gains. 
 ii. Work Simulation. Work Simulation is a 
program where an individual completes specific work-
related tasks for a particular job and return-to-work. Use of 
this program is appropriate when modified duty can only be 
partially accommodated in the work place, when modified 
duty in the work place is unavailable, or when the patient 
requires more structured supervision. The need for work 
place simulation should be based upon the results of a 
functional capacity evaluation and/or jobsite analysis. 

(a). Length of Visit—two to six hours per day. 
(b). Frequency—two to five visits per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—two to four weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—six weeks. 

Participation in a program beyond six weeks must be 
documented with respect to need and the ability to facilitate 
positive symptomatic or functional gains. 

b. Interdisciplinary programs are well-established 
treatment for patients with sub-acute and functionally 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 487

impairing cervical spine pain. They are characterized by a 
variety of disciplines that participate in the assessment, 
planning, and/or implementation of an injured workers 
program with the goal for patients to gain full or optimal 
function and return to work. There should be close 
interaction and integration among the disciplines to ensure 
that all members of the team interact to achieve team goals. 
Programs should include cognitive-behavioral therapy as 
there is good evidence for its effectiveness in patients with 
chronic low back pain and it is probably effective in cervical 
spine pain. These programs are for patients with greater 
levels of disability, dysfunction, deconditioning and 
psychological involvement. For patients with chronic pain, 
refer to the Chronic Pain Disorder Medical Treatment 
Guidelines. 

i. Work Hardening. Work hardening is an 
interdisciplinary program addressing a patient’s 
employability and return to work. It includes a progressive 
increase in the number of hours per day that a patient 
completes work simulation tasks until the patient can 
tolerate a full workday. This is accomplished by addressing 
the medical, psychological, behavioral, physical, functional, 
and vocational components of employability and return-to-
work. 

(a). This can include a highly structured program 
involving a team approach or can involve any of the 
components thereof. The interdisciplinary team should, at a 
minimum, be comprised of a qualified medical director who 
is board certified with documented training in occupational 
rehabilitation; team physicians having experience in 
occupational rehabilitation; occupational therapy; physical 
therapy; case manager; and psychologist. As appropriate, the 
team may also include: chiropractor, RN, vocational 
specialist or certified biofeedback therapist. 
 (i). Length of Visit—up to eight hours/day. 
 (ii). Frequency—two to five visits per 
week. 
 (iii). Optimal Duration—two to four weeks. 
 (iv). Maximum Duration—six weeks. 
Participation in a program beyond six weeks must be 
documented with respect to need and the ability to facilitate 
positive symptomatic or functional gains. 

6. Patient Education. No treatment plan is complete 
without addressing issues of individual and/or group patient 
education as a means of prolonging the beneficial effects of 
treatment, as well as facilitating self-management of 
symptoms and injury prevention. The patient should be 
encouraged to take an active role in the establishment of 
functional outcome goals. They should be educated on their 
specific injury, assessment findings, and plan of treatment. 
Instruction on breathing technique, proper body mechanics 
and posture, positions to avoid, self-care for exacerbation of 
symptoms, sleep postures, and home exercise should also be 
addressed. Patients with TOS may find that sleeping on the 
affected side, with the arms overhead or prone with head to 
one side can increase symptoms and should be avoided. 
Cervical roll pillows that do not result in overextension may 
be useful.  

a. Time to Produce Effect—varies with individual 
patient. 

b. Frequency—should occur at each visit. 

7. Personality/Psychosocial/Psychiatric/Psychological 
Intervention. Psychosocial treatment is generally accepted, 
widely used, and well-established intervention. This group 
of therapeutic and diagnostic modalities includes, but is not 
limited to, individual counseling, group therapy, stress 
management, psychosocial crises intervention, hypnosis and 
meditation. Any evaluation or diagnostic workup should 
clarify and distinguish between pre-existing versus 
aggravated versus purely causative psychological conditions. 
Psychosocial intervention is recommended as an important 
component in the total management program that should be 
implemented as soon as the problem is identified. This can 
be used alone or in conjunction with other treatment 
modalities. Providers treating patients with chronic pain 
should refer to the OWCA’s Chronic Pain Disorder Medical 
Treatment Guidelines. 

a. Time to Produce Effect—two to four weeks. 
b. Frequency—one to three times weekly for the 

first four weeks (excluding hospitalization, if required), 
decreasing to one to two times per week for the second 
month. Thereafter, two to four times monthly. 

c. Optimum Duration—six weeks to three months. 
d. Maximum Duration—3 to 12 months. 

Counseling is not intended to delay but to enhance 
functional recovery. For select patients, longer supervised 
treatment may be required and if further counseling beyond 
3 months is indicated, extensive documentation addressing 
which pertinent issues are pre-existing versus aggravated 
versus causative, as well as projecting a realistic functional 
prognosis, should be provided by the authorized treating 
provider every 4 to 6 weeks during treatment. 

8. Return-to-Work. Early return-to-work should be a 
prime goal in treating occupational injuries given the poor 
return-to-work prognosis for an injured worker who has 
been out of work for more than six months. It is imperative 
that the patient be educated regarding the benefits of return-
to-work, work restrictions, and follow-up care if problems 
arise. When attempting to return a patient to work after a 
specific injury, clear objective restrictions of activity level 
should be made. An accurate job description with detailed 
physical duty restrictions may be necessary to assist the 
physician in making return-to-work recommendations. This 
may require a jobsite evaluation. 

a. Employers should be prepared to offer 
transitional work. This may consist of temporary work in a 
less demanding position, return to the regular job with 
restrictions, or gradual return to the regular job. Company 
policies which encourage return-to-work with positive 
communication are most likely to have decreased worker 
disability. 

b. Return-to-Work—any work or duty that the 
patient is able to perform safely. It may not be the patient’s 
regular work. Due to the large spectrum of injuries of 
varying severity and varying physical demands in the work 
place, it is not possible to make specific return-to-work 
guidelines for each injury. Therefore, the OWCA 
recommends the following: 
 i. Establishment of a Return-to-Work Status. 
Ascertaining a return-to-work status is part of medical care, 
should be included in the treatment and rehabilitation plan, 
and addressed at every visit. A description of daily activity 
limitations is part of any treatment plan and should be the 
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basis for restriction of work activities. In most non-surgical 
cases, the patient should be able to return-to-work in some 
capacity or in an alternate position consistent with medical 
treatment within several days unless there are extenuating 
circumstances. Injuries requiring more than two weeks off 
work should be thoroughly documented. 
 ii. Establishment of Activity Level Restrictions. 
Communication is essential between the patient, employer 
and provider to determine appropriate restrictions and 
return-to-work dates. It is the responsibility of the physician 
to provide clear concise restrictions, and it the employer’s 
responsibility to determine if temporary duties can be 
provided within the restrictions. For treatment of TOS 
injuries, the following should be addressed when describing 
the patient’s activity level: 

(a). activities such as overhead motion, lifting, 
abduction; 

(b). static neck and shoulder positions with 
regard to duration and frequency; 

(c). restriction of cervical hyperextension; 
(d). use of adaptive devices or equipment for 

proper ergonomics and to enhance capacities;  
(e). maximum Lifting limits with reference to the 

frequency of the lifting and/or the object height level;  
(f). maximum limits for pushing, pulling, with 

limits on bending and twisting at the waist as necessary; and 
(g). testrictions on ‘shoulder drooped’ or ‘head 

forward’ positions. 
 iii. Compliance with Activity Restrictions. In some 
cases, compliance with restriction of activity levels may 
require a complete jobsite evaluation, a functional capacity 
evaluation (FCE), or other special testing. Refer to the 
special tests section of this guideline. 

9. Therapy-active. The following active therapies are 
widely used and accepted methods of care for a variety of 
work-related injuries. They are based on the philosophy that 
therapeutic exercise and/or activity are beneficial for 
restoring flexibility, strength, endurance, function, range of 
motion, and can alleviate discomfort. Active therapy requires 
physical effort by the individual to complete a specific 
exercise or task. This form of therapy requires supervision 
from a therapist or medical provider such as verbal, visual, 
and/or tactile instruction(s). At times, the provider may help 
stabilize the patient or guide the movement pattern but the 
energy required to complete the task is predominately 
executed by the patient.  

a. Patients should be instructed to continue active 
therapies at home as an extension of the treatment process in 
order to maintain improvement levels. Follow-up visits to 
reinforce and monitor progress and proper technique are 
recommended. Home exercise can include exercise with or 
without mechanical assistance or resistance and functional 
activities with assistive devices. 

b. The use of a patient completed pain drawing, 
Visual Analog Scale (VAS), is highly recommended to help 
providers track progress. Functional objective goals should 
be monitored and documented regularly to determine the 
effectiveness of treatment. 

c. The following active therapies are listed in 
alphabetical order. 
 i. Activities of daily living (ADL) are well-
established interventions which involve instruction, active-

assisted training, and/or adaptation of activities or equipment 
to improve a person's capacity in normal daily activities such 
as self-care, work re-integration training, homemaking, and 
driving. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—four to five 
treatments. 

(b). Frequency—three to five times per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—four to six weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—six weeks. 

 ii. Aquatic therapy is a well-accepted treatment 
which consists of the therapeutic use of aquatic immersion 
for therapeutic exercise to promote range-of-motion, core 
stabilization, endurance, flexibility, strengthening, body 
mechanics, and pain management. Aquatic therapy includes 
the implementation of active therapeutic procedures in a 
swimming or therapeutic pool. The water provides a 
buoyancy force that lessens the amount of force gravity 
applies to the body. The decreased gravity effect allows the 
patient to have a mechanical advantage and more likely have 
a successful trial of therapeutic exercise. Literature has 
shown that the muscle recruitment for aquatic therapy versus 
similar non–aquatic motions is significantly less. Because 
there is always a risk of recurrent or additional damage to 
the muscle tendon unit after a surgical repair, aquatic therapy 
may be preferred by surgeons to gain early return of range of 
motion. In some cases the patient will be able to do the 
exercises unsupervised after the initial supervised session. 
Parks and recreation contacts may be used to develop less 
expensive facilities for patients. Indications include: 

(a). postoperative therapy as ordered by the 
surgeon; or Intolerance for active land-based or full-weight 
bearing therapeutic procedures; or 

(b). symptoms that are exacerbated in a dry 
environment; and 

(c). willingness to follow through with the 
therapy on a regular basis. 
 (i). The pool should be large enough to 
allow full extremity range of motion and fully erect posture. 
Aquatic vests, belts, snorkels, and other devices may be used 
to provide stability, balance, buoyancy, and resistance. 
  [a]. Time to Produce Effect—four to 
five treatments. 
  [b]. Frequency—three to five times 
per week. 
  [c]. Optimum Duration: Four to six 
weeks. 
  [d]. Maximum Duration: eight weeks 
 (ii). A self-directed program is 
recommended after the supervised aquatics program has 
been established, or, alternatively a transition to a self-
directed dry environment exercise program.  
 (iii). Functional activities are well-
established interventions which involve the use of 
therapeutic activity to enhance mobility, body mechanics, 
employability, coordination, balance, and sensory motor 
integration. 
  [a]. Time to Produce Effect—four to 
five treatments. 
  [b]. Frequency—three to five times 
per week. 
  [c]. Optimum Duration—four to six 
weeks. 
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  [d]. Maximum Duration—six weeks. 
 (iv). Nerve Gliding is an accepted therapy 
for TOS. Nerve Gliding exercises consist of a series of 
gentle movements of the neck, shoulder and arm that 
produce longitudinal movement along the length of the 
nerves of the upper extremity. These exercises are based on 
the principle that the tissues of the peripheral nervous system 
are designed for movement, and glide (excursion) of nerves 
may have an effect on neurophysiology through alterations 
in vascular and axoplasmic flow. Biomechanical principles 
have been more thoroughly studied than clinical outcomes. 
The exercises should be done by the patient after proper 
instruction and monitoring by the therapist.  
  [a]. Time to Produce Effect—two to 
four weeks. 
  [b]. Frequency—up to five times per 
day by patient (patient-initiated). 
  [c]. Optimum Duration—four to six 
sessions. 
  [d]. Maximum Duration—six to eight 
sessions. 
 (v). Neuromuscular re-education is a 
generally accepted treatment. Neuromuscular re-education is 
the skilled application of exercise with manual, mechanical, 
or electrical facilitation to enhance strength; movement 
patterns; neuromuscular response; proprioception, 
kinesthetic sense, coordination; education of movement, 
balance and posture. Indications include the need to promote 
neuromuscular responses through carefully timed 
proprioceptive stimuli to elicit and improve motor activity in 
patterns similar to normal neurologically developed 
sequences, and improve neuromotor response with 
independent 
  [a]. Time to Produce Effect—two to 
six treatments. 
  [b]. Frequency—three times per 
week. 
  [c]. Optimum Duration—four to eight 
weeks. 
  [d]. Maximum Duration—eight 
weeks. 
 (vi). Therapeutic exercise is a generally 
well-accepted treatment. Therapeutic exercise with or 
without mechanical assistance or resistance, may include 
isoinertial, isotonic, isometric and isokinetic types of 
exercises. The exact type of program and length of therapy 
should be determined by the treating physician with the 
physical or occupational therapist. In most cases the 
therapist instructs the patient in a supervised clinic and home 
program to increase motion and subsequently increase 
strength. Usually, isometrics are performed initially, 
progressing to isotonic exercises as tolerated. 
  [a]. time to produce effect: two to six 
treatments; 
  [b]. frequency: two to three times per 
week;  
  [c]. optimum duration: 16 to 24 
sessions; 
  [d]. maximum duration: 36 sessions. 
Additional visits may be necessary in cases of re-injury, 
interrupted continuity of care, exacerbation of symptoms, 
and in those patients with comorbidities. Functional gains 

including increased range of motion must be demonstrated 
to justify continuing treatment. 

10. Therapy—Passive. The following passive therapies 
and modalities are generally accepted methods of care for a 
variety of work-related injuries. Passive therapy includes 
those treatment modalities that do not require energy 
expenditure on the part of the patient. They are principally 
effective during the early phases of treatment and are 
directed at controlling symptoms such as pain, inflammation 
and swelling and to improve the rate of healing soft tissue 
injuries. They should be use adjunctively with active 
therapies such as postural stabilization and exercise 
programs to help control swelling, pain and inflammation 
during the rehabilitation process. Please refer to, General 
Guidelines Principles, Active Interventions. Passive 
therapies may be used intermittently as a therapist deems 
appropriate or regularly if there are specific goals with 
objectively measured functional improvements during 
treatment. 

a. On occasion, specific diagnoses and post-surgical 
conditions may warrant durations of treatment beyond those 
listed as "maximum.” Factors such as exacerbation of 
symptoms, re-injury, interrupted continuity of care, and 
comorbidities may also extend durations of care. Specific 
goals with objectively measured functional improvement 
during treatment must be cited to justify extended durations 
of care. It is recommended that, if no functional gain is 
observed after the number of treatments under “time to 
produce effect” has been completed, alternative treatment 
interventions, further diagnostic studies, or further 
consultations should be pursued. 

b. The following passive therapies and modalities 
are listed in alphabetical order. 
 i. Electrical stimulation (unattended) is an 
accepted treatment. Once applied, electrical stimulation 
(unattended) requires minimal on-site supervision by the 
physical therapists, occupational therapist or other provider. 
Indications include pain, inflammation, muscle spasm, 
atrophy, decreased circulation, and the need for osteogenic 
stimulation. A home unit should be purchased if treatment is 
effective and frequent use is recommended. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—two to four 
treatments. 

(b). Frequency—varies, depending upon 
indication, between two to three times/day to one time/week;  

(c). Optimum Duration—one to three months; 
(d). Maximum Duration—three months. 

 ii. Iontophoresis is an accepted treatment which 
consists of the transfer of medication, including, but not 
limited to, steroidal anti-inflammatories and anesthetics, 
through the use of electrical stimulation. Indications include 
pain (lidocaine), inflammation (hydrocortisone, salicylate), 
edema (mecholyl, hyaluronidase, and salicylate), ischemia 
(magnesium, mecholyl, and iodine), muscle spasm 
(magnesium, calcium), calcifying deposits (acetate), scars, 
and keloids (sodium chloride, iodine, acetate). 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—one to four 
treatments. 

(b). Frequency—three times per week with at 
least 48 hours between treatments. 

(c). Optimum Duration—8 to 10 treatments. 
(d). Maximum Duration—10 treatments. 
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 iii. Manipulation is a generally accepted treatment. 
Manipulative treatment (not therapy) is defined as the 
therapeutic application of manually guided forces by an 
operator to improve physiologic function and/or support 
homeostasis that has been altered by the injury or 
occupational disease, and has associated clinical 
significance. 

(a). High velocity, low amplitude (HVLA) 
technique, chiropractic manipulation, osteopathic 
manipulation, muscle energy techniques, counter strain, and 
non-force techniques are all types of manipulative treatment. 
This may be applied by osteopathic physicians (D.O.), 
chiropractors (D.C.), properly trained physical therapists 
(P.T.), properly trained occupational therapists (O.T.), or 
properly trained medical physicians. Under these different 
types of manipulation exist many subsets of different 
techniques that can be described as direct- a forceful 
engagement of a restrictive/pathologic barrier;  indirect- a 
gentle/non-forceful disengagement of a 
restrictive/pathologic barrier; the patient actively assisting in 
the treatment; and the patient relaxing, allowing the 
practitioner to move the body tissues. When the proper 
diagnosis is made and coupled with the appropriate 
technique, manipulation has no contraindications and can be 
applied to all tissues of the body. Pre-treatment assessment 
should be performed as part of each manipulative treatment 
visit to ensure that the correct diagnosis and correct 
treatment is employed. 

(i). Time to Produce Effect for all Types of 
Manipulative Treatment—one to six treatments. 

(ii). Frequency—up to three times per week for 
the first three weeks as indicated by the severity of 
involvement and the desired effect. 

(iii). Optimum Duration—10 treatments. 
(iv). Maximum Duration—12 treatments. 

Additional visits may be necessary in cases of re-injury, 
interrupted continuity of care, exacerbation of symptoms, 
and in those patients with comorbidities. Functional gains 
including increased range of motion must be demonstrated 
to justify continuing treatment.  
 iv. Massage, manual or mechanical, is a generally 
well-accepted treatment. Massage is manipulation of soft 
tissue with broad ranging relaxation and circulatory benefits. 
This may include stimulation of acupuncture points and 
acupuncture channels (acupressure), application of suction 
cups and techniques that include pressing, lifting, rubbing, 
pinching of soft tissues by, or with the practitioner’s hands. 
Indications include edema (peripheral or hard and non-
pliable edema), muscle spasm, adhesions, the need to 
improve peripheral circulation and range of motion, or to 
increase muscle relaxation and flexibility prior to exercise. 
In cases with edema, deep vein thrombosis should be ruled 
out prior to treatment. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—immediate. 
(b). Frequency—one to two times per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—six weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—two months. 

v. Mobilization (joint) is a generally well-accepted 
treatment. Mobilization is passive movement, which may 
include passive range of motion performed in such a manner 
(particularly in relation to the speed of the movement) that it 
is, at all times, within the ability of the patient to prevent the 

movement if they so choose. It may include skilled manual 
joint tissue stretching. Indications include the need to 
improve joint play, improve intracapsular arthrokinematics, 
or reduce pain associated with tissue impingement. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—six to nine 
treatments. 

(b). Frequency—three times per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—six weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—two months. 

 vi. Mobilization (soft tissue) is a generally well-
accepted treatment. Mobilization of soft tissue is the skilled 
application of muscle energy, strain/counter strain, 
myofascial release, manual trigger point release and manual 
therapy techniques designed to improve or normalize 
movement patterns through the reduction of soft tissue pain 
and restrictions. These can be interactive with the patient 
participating or can be with the patient relaxing and letting 
the practitioner move the body tissues. Indications include 
muscle spasm around a joint, trigger points, adhesions, and 
neural compression. Mobilization should be accompanied by 
active therapy. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—two to three weeks. 
(b). Frequency—two to three times per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—four to six weeks. 
(d). Maximum Duration—six weeks. 

 vii. Superficial heat and cold therapy is a generally 
accepted treatment. Superficial heat and cold therapies are 
thermal agents applied in various manners that lower or raise 
the body tissue temperature for the reduction of pain, 
inflammation, and/or effusion resulting from injury or 
induced by exercise. It may be used acutely with 
compression and elevation. Indications include acute pain, 
edema and hemorrhage, need to increase pain threshold, 
reduce muscle spasm and promote stretching/flexibility. 
Includes portable cryotherapy units and application of heat 
just above the surface of the skin at acupuncture points. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—immediate. 
(b). Frequency—two to five times per week. 
(c). Optimum Duration—three weeks as primary, 

or up to two months if used intermittently as an adjunct to 
other therapeutic procedures. 

(d). Maximum Duration—two months. 
 viii. Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation 
(TENS) is a generally accepted treatment and should include 
at least one instructional session for proper application and 
use. Indications include muscle spasm, atrophy, and 
decreased circulation and pain control. Minimal TENS unit 
parameters should include pulse rate, pulse width and 
amplitude modulation. Consistent, measurable functional 
improvement must be documented prior to the purchase of a 
home unit. 

(a). Time to Produce Effect—immediate. 
(b). Frequency—variable. 
(c). Optimum Duration—three sessions. 
(d). Maximum Duration—three sessions. If 

beneficial, provide with home unit or purchase if effective. 
 ix. Ultrasound (including phonophoresis) is an 
accepted treatment and includes ultrasound with electrical 
stimulation and phonophoresis. Ultrasound uses sonic 
generators to deliver acoustic energy for therapeutic thermal 
and/or non-thermal soft tissue effects. Indications include 
scar tissue, adhesions, collagen fiber and muscle spasm, and 
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the need to extend muscle tissue or accelerate the soft tissue 
healing.  

(a). Ultrasound with electrical stimulation is 
concurrent delivery of electrical energy that involves a 
dispersive electrode placement. Indications include muscle 
spasm, scar tissue, pain modulation, and muscle facilitation. 

(b). Phonophoresis is the transfer of medication 
to the target tissue to control inflammation and pain through 
the use of sonic generators. These topical medications 
include, but are not limited to, steroidal anti-inflammatory 
and anesthetics. 
 (i). Time to Produce Effect—6 to 15 
treatments. 
 (ii). Frequency—3 times per week. 
 (iii). Optimum Duration—4 to 8 weeks. 
 (iv). Maximum Duration—2 months. 

11. Vocational rehabilitation is a generally accepted 
intervention. Initiation of vocational rehabilitation requires 
adequate evaluation of patients for quantification highest 
functional level, motivation and achievement of maximum 
medical improvement. Vocational rehabilitation may be as 
simple as returning to the original job or as complicated as 
being retrained for a new occupation. 

a. It may also be beneficial for full vocational 
rehabilitation to be started before MMI if it is evident that 
the injured worker will be unable to return to his/her 
previous occupation. A positive goal and direction may aid 
the patient in decreasing stress and depression, and promote 
optimum rehabilitation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2227. Therapeutic Procedures—Operative 

A. Operative treatment is indicated when the natural 
history of surgically treated lesions is better than the natural 
history for non-operatively treated lesions. All patients being 
considered for surgical intervention should first undergo a 
comprehensive neuro-musculoskeletal examination to 
identify mechanical pain generators that may respond to 
non-surgical techniques or may be refractory to surgical 
intervention. 

1. Non-vascular Diagnostic Criteria for Surgical 
Procedures 

a. True or Classic Neurogenic TOS 
 i. Clinical—at least two consistent clinical sign 
plus symptoms consistent with TOS (refer to initial 
diagnostic procedures). 
 ii. Neurophysiologic—meets criteria for 
neurogenic TOS (refer to follow-up diagnostic imaging and 
testing procedures). 

b. Non-specific Neurogenic TOS (also called 
disputed) 
 i. Clinical—at least three consistent clinical signs 
plus symptoms consistent with TOS refer to discussion in 
Initial Diagnostic Procedures and alternative diagnoses have 
been explored and tests are negative.  
 ii. Neurophysiologic—may have normal 
EMG/NCV or a pattern not meeting criteria in EMG section. 

c. Pectoralis Minor Syndrome without TOS  
 i. Compression of the Neurovascular Bundle by 
the Pectoralis Muscle. This syndrome, described by a few 
authors, is usually caused by neck or shoulder trauma and 
generally resolves with physical therapy. 
 ii. Clinical. Patients do not meet criteria for non-
specific or true TOS. They generally have pain over the 
anterior chest wall near the pectoralis minor and into the 
axilla, arm, and forearm. They may complain of paresthesia 
or weakness, and have fewer complaints of headache, neck 
or shoulder pain. On physical exam there is tenderness with 
palpation over the pectoralis minor and in the axilla which 
reproduces the patient’s symptoms in the arm. Disabling 
symptoms have been present for more than three months 
despite active participation in an appropriate therapy 
program and alternative diagnoses have been explored and 
tests are negative.  
 iii. Neurophysiologic and other Diagnostic Tests. 
EMG/NCV studies may show medial antebrachial cutaneous 
nerve changes compared to the normal side. The axillary 
vein may show some occlusion. Pectoralis minor block 
should be positive. 

d. Non-surgical Diagnosis for Possible TOS 
 i. Clinical—inconsistent clinical signs plus 
symptoms of TOS for more than three months and 
alternative diagnoses have been explored and tests are 
negative. 
 ii. Neurophysiologic—may have normal 
EMG/NCV studies. 

2. Surgical Indications 
a. Early surgical intervention should be performed 

if there is: 
 i. documented EMG/NCV evidence of nerve 
compression with sensory loss, and weakness (with or 
without muscle atrophy); or 
 ii. acute subclavian vein thrombosis or arterial 
thrombosis; or 
 iii. subclavian artery aneurysm or stenosis 
secondary to a cervical or anomalous rib (Note: this 
condition is almost never work related.). 

b. After failed conservative therapy, the following 
criteria must be fulfilled: 
 i. true neurogenic or non-specific TOS: see 
criteria in the preceding subsection; and 
 ii. a positive upper limb tension test; and 
 iii. failed three months of active participation in 
non-operative therapy including worksite changes; and 
 iv. disabling symptoms interfering with work, 
recreation, normal daily activities, sleep; and 
 v. pre-surgical psychiatric or psychological 
clearance has been obtained, demonstrating motivation and 
long-term commitment without major issues of secondary 
gain or other psychological contraindications for surgery, 
and with an expectation that surgical relief of pain probably 
would improve the patient’s functioning. 

c. Even if return to their prior job is unlikely, an 
individual may need surgical intervention to both increase 
activities-of-daily living and/or return-to-work in a different 
job. 
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d. It is critically important that all other pathology, 
especially shoulder disorders, be treated prior to surgical 
intervention for TOS. 

e. Smoking may affect soft tissue healing through 
tissue hypoxia. Patients should be strongly encouraged to 
stop smoking and provided with appropriate counseling.  

f. Prior to surgical intervention, the patient and 
treating physician should identify functional operative goals 
and the likelihood of achieving improved ability to perform 
activities of daily living or work activities. The patient 
should agree to comply with the pre- and post-operative 
treatment plan including home exercise requirements. The 
patient should understand the amount of post operative 
therapy required and the length of partial and full disability 
expected post operatively. 

3. Surgical Procedures 
a. Since the success rates for the various surgical 

procedures are similar, the OWCA suggests that the surgeon 
performing the procedure use the technique with which the 
surgeon has the most experience and is most appropriate for 
the patient.  

b. No controlled quality literature on surgical 
outcome for non-specific neurogenic TOS have been 
published. Uncontrolled case series suggest some 
improvement in symptoms in the majority of patients. In one 
study of workers’ compensation patients operated on for 
TOS, work disability was reported to be 60 percent at one 
year. Other pathologies were commonly diagnosed in this 
population. Comorbid conditions of the shoulder, cervical 
spine, and carpal tunnel should be treated or ruled out before 
surgery is considered. Reported repeat surgery rates vary 
between approximately 10 percent and 30 percent. Some 
literature contends that patients with non-specific TOS 
treated conservatively have similar long-term outcomes as 
those treated with surgery. Complications and/or 
unsatisfactory outcomes are reportedly in the range of 15 to 
20 percent. Acknowledged complications depend on the 
procedure and include complex regional pain syndrome; 
Horner’s syndrome; permanent brachial plexus damage; 
phrenic, intercostal brachial cutaneous, or long thoracic 
nerve damage; and pneumothorax.  

c. Vascular TOS procedures include resection of the 
abnormal rib and repair of the involved vessel. 
Anticoagulation is required for thrombotic cases.  
 i. first rib resection; 
 ii. anterior and middle scalenectomy; 
 iii. anterior scalenectomy; 
 iv. combined first rib resection and scalenectomy; 
 v. pectoralis minor tenotomy. This procedure is 
done under local anesthesia, normally in an out-patient 
setting for patients meeting the criteria for pectoralis minor 
syndrome.  

4. Post-Operative Treatment 
a. Individualized rehabilitation programs based 

upon communication between the surgeon and the therapist. 
b. Generally, progressive resistive exercise no 

earlier than two months post-operatively with gradual return 
to full-activity at  four to six months.  

c. Return-to-work and restrictions after surgery may 
be made by an experienced primary occupational medicine 
physician in consultation with the surgeon or by the surgeon. 
Depending upon the patient's functional response and their 

job requirements, return-to-work with job modifications may 
be considered as early as one week post operatively. The 
employer must be able to fully accommodate restrictions of 
overhead activities or heavy lifting. Work restrictions should 
be evaluated every four to six weeks during post-operative 
recovery and rehabilitation, with appropriate written 
communications to both the patient and the employer. 

d. Should progress plateau, the provider should re-
evaluate the patient's condition and make appropriate 
adjustments to the treatment plan. 

e. Post-operative therapy will frequently require a 
repeat of the therapy provided pre-operatively. Refer to 
Therapeutic Procedures, Non-operative, and consider the 
first post-operative visit as visit number one for the time 
frame parameters provided. 

f. Refer to the following areas in the non-operative 
therapeutic section for post-operative time parameters: 
 i. activities of daily living; 
 ii. functional activities; 
 iii. nerve gliding; 
 iv. neuromuscular re-education; 
 v. therapeutic exercise; 
 vi. proper work techniques. Refer to jobsite 
evaluation, and return-to-work, of these guidelines; 
 vii. limited passive therapies may be appropriate in 
some cases. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 
§2228. LWC-WC 1009 Disputed Claim For Medical 

Treatment. 
Mail to: 
OWCAMedical Services 1. Social Security No. __-__-__ 
ATTN: Medical Director  2. Date of Injury/Illness __-__-__ 
P.O. Box 94040     3. Parts of Body Injury_________ 
Baton Rouge, LA 70804  4. Date of Birth    __-__-__ 
            5. Date of This Request __-__-__ 
            6. Claim Number ____________ 
 

DISPUTED CLAIM FOR MEDICAL TREATMENT 
 
NOTE: THIS REQUEST WILL NOT BE HONORED 
UNLESS THE INSURER HAS ISSUED A DENIAL FOR 
THE MEDICAL SERVICES IN DISPUTE AS PER R.S. 
23:1203.1 J.  
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Claimant files this dispute with the Office of Workers’ Compensation – 
Medical Services Director. This office must be notified immediately in 
writing of changes in address. An employee may be represented by an 
attorney, but it is not required.  

 
7. This request is submitted by  
___ Employee ___ Employer __ Insurer ___ Health Care Provider ___ 
Other ___ 

 
A. Copies of all relevant medical records must be included with this 
request. 
 
B. A copy of the denial letter issued by the insurance carrier must be 
attached to this request.  

 

EMPLOYEE    EMPLOYEE’S ATTORNEY  
8. Name ___________________  9. Name ______________ 
Street or Box _______________  Street or Box ______________ 
City ______________________  City _____________________ 
State __________ Zip _______   State ________ 
Phone (____) ______________   Phone (____) ______________ 
       Fax     (____) ______________ 
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EMPLOYER      INSURER/ADMINISTRATOR 
            (circle one)  
10. Name __________________  11. Name ________________ 
Street or Box _______________  Street or Box ______________ 
City ______________________  City _____________________ 
State __________ Zip _______   State ________ 
Phone (____) ______________   Phone (____) ______________ 
Fax     (____) ______________  Fax     (____) ______________ 
 
EMPLOYER/INSURER’S      TREATING/REQUESTING 
   ATTORNEY        PHYSICIAN 
12. Name __________________  13. Name ________________ 
Street or Box _______________  Street or Box ______________ 
City ______________________  City _____________________ 
State __________ Zip _______   State ________ 
Phone (____) ______________   Phone (____) ______________ 
Fax     (____) ______________  Fax     (____) ______________ 
 
LWC-WC 1009 
11/2010 
 
14. PLEASE PROVIDE A SUMMARY OF THE DETAILS 
REGARDING THE ISSUE AT DISPUTE:  
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
__________________________________________________________ 
 

You may attach a letter or petition with additional information 
with this disputed claim.  
The information given above is true and correct to the best of 
my knowledge and belief.  

___________________________________  __________________ 
SIGNATURE OF REQUESTING PARTY       DATE 
 
LWC-WC 1009 
11/2010 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
23:1203.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Workforce Commission, Office of Workers Compensation 
Administration, LR 37: 

Inquiries concerning the proposed enactment may be 
directed to Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation 
Administration, Louisiana Department of Labor, P.O. Box 
94040, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9040. 

 
Curt Eysink 
Executive Director 

1102#049 
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Rules 
 
 

RULE 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Agricultural Commodity Dealer and Warehouse Law 
(LAC 7:VII.Chapter 3 and XXVII.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., and with the enabling statute, R.S. 3:3405, 
the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission 
(commission) has amended the Agricultural Commodity 
Dealer and Warehouse Law in order to make technical 
corrections, update language and fees to meet the 
requirements established in the revisions of Act 767 enacted 
in the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, adopt new 
regulations that pertain to the use of Electronic Warehouse 
Receipts as well as adopt fees for the testing and sampling of 
aflatoxin for corn. 

Act No. 767 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session 
adopted, amended and reenacted several sections of R.S. 
3:3401-3425 of the Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 
Warehouse Law pertaining to the seizure of facilities, grain 
dealer license exams, moisture meter devices as well as 
technical corrections. The law also repeals obsolete 
provisions related to certification requirements for grain 
sampling, licensure requirements for weighmasters, policies 
for sampling and grading grain and design approval for scale 
tickets. 

These Rules are enabled by R.S. 3:3401 -3425. 
Title 7 

AGRICULTURE AND ANIMALS 
Part VII.  Dealers in Farm Products 

Chapter 3. Cotton Buyers 
§301. Application 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703 and R.S. 3:702. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:473 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 
§303. Bonds 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703 and R.S. 3:702. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 
§305. Fees 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 

§307. Term of License; Renewal 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:702 and R.S. 3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 
§309. Posting of License 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:702 and R.S. 3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 
§311. Suspension and Revocation of License 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 
§313. Contracts 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:703. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, LR 1:474 (November 1975), repealed by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 

Part XXVII.  Agricultural Commodity Dealer and 
Warehouse Law  

Chapter 1. Louisiana Agricultural Commodities 
Commission  
Subchapter A. General Provisions 

§101. Definitions 
Adjudicatory Proceeding―an open public hearing by the 

commission to determine whether violations of R.S. 3401-
3425 or the regulations contained in this Part have occurred. 
Such proceedings are conducted in accordance with the 
Louisiana Administrative Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et 
seq.). 

Advance―a partial payment against total proceeds due to 
a seller. 

Agricultural Commodities―cotton, all agricultural 
products commonly classed as grain (rice, corn, wheat, oats, 
rye, soybeans, barley, and grain sorghum), and any other 
agricultural commodity which the commission may declare 
to be an agricultural commodity subject to regulation under 
R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

Applicant―any person making application for a license to 
engage in any of the activities regulated under R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or anyone who requests official grain inspection 
services and/or grain weighing services of the department. 

Audited [with respect to a financial statement]―a 
financial statement prepared by an independent certified 
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public accountant, the basis of which financial statement is 
the accountant's independent examination of the books and 
records of the business entity covered by the financial 
statement. 

Authentic Act―a statement executed before a notary 
public and at least two witnesses. 

Authorized Agent―with reference to the authorized agent 
of a warehouse or grain dealer, any representative thereof 
whose name has been filed with the commission as such. A 
person whose name has not been filed with the commission 
as an authorized agent will not be recognized by the 
commission as entitled to act for or on behalf of a warehouse 
or grain dealer. 

Bid Contract―an agreement between a producer and a 
purchaser under which the purchaser examines samples of 
rice and extends to the producer an offer to purchase the rice 
at a price based on the quality of the sample. 

Capacity―all of the area of a licensee which is in any 
kind of protected enclosure. 

CCC―Commodity Credit Corporation. 
Central Filing System (CFS) ―an electronic system 

operated and maintained by a provider where information 
relating to electronic warehouse receipts is recorded and 
maintained in a confidential and secure fashion independent 
of any outside influence or bias in action or appearance, and 
that is authorized by the director. 

Certified―with respect to the financial statements 
required under the Act R.S. 3:3401-3425, a written statement 
signed by the independent certified public accountant 
preparing the financial statement. 

Commission―the Louisiana Agricultural Commodities 
Commission. 

Commissioner―the Louisiana Commissioner of 
Agriculture and Forestry. 

Compilation―with respect to a financial statement, a 
financial statement prepared by an independent certified 
public accountant solely on the basis of representations of 
the management of the business entity covered by the 
financial statement. 

Confirmation Date―the date on which the bid contract 
was confirmed. 

Confirmed―the bid contract has been agreed to by both 
parties. A bid contract is confirmed when the producer and 
the purchaser agree to the quantity and price of the rice to be 
sold. 

Cotton Agent―every person, firm, corporation, 
association, or other legal entity which purchases or 
contracts to purchase cotton grown or to be grown by 
producers in this state for or on behalf of a cotton merchant 
and which is required to be a party to a notarized written 
agency agreement. 

Cotton Merchant―every person, firm, corporation, 
association, or other legal entity which purchases or 
contracts to purchase, either directly or through a cotton 
agent, cotton grown or to be grown by producers in this 
state. 

Current Financial Statement―a financial statement 
containing all of the documents listed in §107.B of this Part 
and presenting financial position as of the close of the 
applicant's or licensee's most recent fiscal year. 

Deferred Price Commodities―commodities purchased by 
a grain dealer from a producer for which the sale price will 

be established after date of the initial agreement between the 
parties. The agreement between the parties covering deferred 
price commodities shall be in writing. The term deferred 
price commodities is the same as the other following terms 
in general usage: price later, no price established (NPE), 
delayed price, basis contract, future settlement delivery, or 
contract for purchase. 

Delivery Date―the date on which the purchaser is 
required to take delivery of the rice, either under the 
provisions of Subchapter O of this Chapter or under the 
provisions of a written agreement between the producer and 
the purchaser. 

Department―the Louisiana Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry. 

Director―the employee of the commission who is 
responsible for implementing the policies of the commission 
and performing the administrative responsibilities delegated 
to the commissioner under R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

Electronic Warehouse Receipt (EWR)― a receipt that is 
issued or transmitted in the form of an electronic document. 

Farm Products―products employed directly in the 
cultivation, production, or harvesting of any agricultural 
commodities or containers for agricultural commodities or 
farm products. 

Fee―any charge imposed by a warehouse, directly or 
indirectly, for care of agricultural commodities belonging to 
any person other than the warehouse owner, including but 
not limited to base price adjustments, storage, handling, 
dockage, commission, drying, and/or conditioning fees or 
any fees as listed on the latest approved schedule of fees 
(§128.D of this Part) for official grain inspections and 
weighing services provided by the department. 

Field Warehouse―a warehouse operated by a 
management organization under a contractual agreement 
between the management organization and the owner of the 
warehouse. 

First Point of Sale― the initial time when title to 
agricultural commodities or farm products passes from a 
seller to a buyer.  

Grain― corn, wheat, oats, rye, soybeans, barley, and grain 
sorghum. 

Grain Dealer―any person who purchases agricultural 
commodities from producers, sells agricultural commodities 
for producers, or represents producers in the purchase or sale 
of agricultural commodities. The term does not include 
producers who purchase grain commodities for their own 
use as feed or seed. 

Hedge [with respect to a contract to sell commodities]―a 
secondary contract to buy commodities to protect the 
obligations incurred with respect to the contract to sell. 
Hedge, with respect to a contract to buy commodities, means 
a secondary contract to sell commodities to protect the 
obligations incurred with respect to the contract to buy. 

Identity Preserve― 
1.  instances in which a warehouse preserves the 

separate identities of different lots of agricultural 
commodities; or 

2.  instances in which a warehouse preserves the 
separate identities of agricultural commodities belonging to 
different owners. 

Independent Certified Public Accountant―a person who 
has completed all requirements established by the American 
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Institute of Certified Public Accountants and the state 
Society of Louisiana Certified Public Accountants. To be 
recognized as an independent public accountant, the 
accountant, members of his immediate family, and his 
accounting business associates shall be totally free of any 
obligation to or interest in the client, its management, or its 
owners. 

Licensed Capacity―the warehouse area which is bonded 
for the storage of agricultural commodities or farm products 
belonging to a person other than the owner of the warehouse. 

Licensee―any person holding a license as a warehouse, 
cotton merchant or grain dealer issued by the commission. 

Open or Open Position―the grain dealer's contracts for 
purchase or sale of agricultural commodities which are 
unhedged. 

Person―any individual, partnership, company, firm, 
association, corporation, cooperative association, or any 
other legal entity engaged in any of the activities regulated 
under R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

Producer―the owner, tenant, lessee, or operator of land 
within this state who has an interest in or receives all or any 
part of the proceeds from the sale of agricultural 
commodities produced thereon. 

Purchaser―any person who purchases rice from a 
producer under a bid contract. 

Review (with respect to a financial statement)―a financial 
statement prepared by an independent certified public 
accountant, in the preparation of which financial statement 
the accountant makes such inquiries of management and 
performs such analyses and/or comparisons as may appear 
appropriate to the accountant. 

Risk Position―the loss potential to the grain dealer 
resulting from bringing its open position to market. 

Scale Ticket―the document issued to a producer when 
agricultural commodities are delivered to a warehouse or 
grain dealer. 

Spot or Spot Sale―a transaction where title to agricultural 
commodities passes from the producer to the buyer on the 
day of delivery, in which transaction the producer is paid 
promptly at the market price established on the day of 
delivery. 

Storage―the physical possession by a warehouse, in any 
manner and/or under any type of fee arrangement, of 
agricultural commodities belonging to any person other than 
the owner of the warehouse. The term storage does not apply 
to a transaction in which title passes from the seller to the 
buyer upon delivery. 

Warehouse―any building, structure, or any other 
protected enclosure required to be licensed by the 
commission in which agricultural commodities or farm 
products are stored for the public for a fee. The term 
includes facilities which commingle commodities belonging 
to different owners and facilities which preserve the separate 
identities of different lots of agricultural commodities. 

Warehouse Operator―any person or other entity 
operating a warehouse. 

Warehouse Receipts―may be paper or electronic and may 
be negotiable or non-negotiable and are defined as follows. 

1. Non-Negotiable Warehouse Receipts―written 
evidence of the deposit of agricultural commodities or farm 
products in a warehouse, which cannot be sold or traded by 
the holder and cannot be used to secure a loan. 

2. Negotiable Warehouse Receipts―written evidence 
of the deposit of agricultural commodities or farm products 
in a warehouse, which can be sold or traded by the holder 
and can be used to secure a loan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3402 and R.S. 3:3405.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:284 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 
1986), LR 19:1300 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:624 
(April 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:494 
(February 2011). 
§103. Administration of the Affairs of the Commission 

A. The officers of the commission shall be a chairman 
and a vice-chairman, who shall serve for terms concurrent 
with the commissioner, but may be elected for an indefinite 
number of terms. 

B. After the initial election of officers, the chairman and 
vice-chairman shall be elected at the commission's regular 
meeting during the first quarter of each year. 

C. In the absence of the chairman at any meeting of the 
commission, the vice-chairman shall preside. 

D. The commission shall hold at least one regular 
meeting during each quarter of the year, but may meet more 
frequently upon the call of the chairman. 

E. Meetings of the commission shall normally be held in 
its domicile but may be held at other locations upon the 
determination of the chairman or the will of the commission. 

F. The quorum of the commission is five members. 
G. An affirmative vote of a minimum of five members 

shall be required for the adoption of any motion. 
H. There shall be no voting by proxy. 
I. Rules and regulations of the commission, and 

amendments thereto, shall be noticed, adopted, and 
promulgated as required by the Louisiana Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

J. The chairman shall designate a hearing officer, who 
may or may not be a member of the commission, to preside 
at all adjudicatory proceedings of the commission. The 
chairman may, if he so desires, serve as hearing officer at 
any adjudicatory proceeding. 

K. The commission shall serve as the hearing body in all 
adjudicatory proceedings and shall make the final 
determination with regard to the disposition of all matters 
coming to adjudication. 

L. The director shall provide clerical and other support 
services as may be required by the commission and shall 
maintain and distribute appropriate minute records of the 
commission. 

M. No member of the commission shall participate in any 
discussion or vote concerning any matter before the 
commission in which such member has a personal or 
commercial interest. 

N. No member of the commission or the staff shall 
disclose any financial information pertaining to any licensee 
or applicant for license. 

O. The commission may, from time to time, delegate any 
of its responsibilities to subcommittees appointed by the 
chairman. Such subcommittees may perform such specific 
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duties as may be assigned by the chairman but all actions of 
such subcommittees shall be subject to ratification by the 
full commission. 

P. Appointed members of the commission shall be 
entitled to receive a per diem of $40 and to be reimbursed 
for mileage expenses in accordance with the same travel 
regulations applying to state employees. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 9:287 
(May 1983), amended 12:287 (May 1986), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, LR 24:624 (April 1998), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:494 (February 2011). 
§105. Agricultural Commodities and Other Farm 

Products Regulated by the Commission 
A. The following agricultural commodities shall be 

regulated by the commission at all times: 
1. rice; 
2. rough rice; 
3. all agricultural commodities commonly classed as 

grain; including: 
a. wheat; 
b. corn; 
c. oats; 
d. rye; 
e. soybeans; 
f. barley; 
g. grain sorghum; 

4. cotton. 
B. Whenever commission warehouse receipts are issued 

to cover any of the following agricultural commodities, the 
following agricultural commodities shall be regulated by the 
commission: 

1. peppers; 
2. oils (vegetables and mineral); 
3. pecans; 
4. molasses and/or syrup; 
5. any canned and/or frozen vegetables/fruits/juices. 

C. Commodities and farm products enumerated in 
§105.B of this Part shall be subject to all requirements set 
forth in the regulations contained in this Part whenever 
commission warehouse receipts are issued. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:288 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1300 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:624 (April 1998), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:497 (February 
2011). 
Subchapter B. Application for Warehouse, Grain Dealer 

and Cotton Merchant Licenses 
§107. Application for License (Initial and Renewal); 

Time for Filing; Contents; Fees; Style of 
Document 

A. Applications for renewal of warehouse, cotton 
merchant and grain dealer licenses shall be received no later 

than April 30 of each year. Applications for initial license 
may be filed at any time during the year. For both initial and 
renewal licenses, the following information shall be 
furnished on the application form provided by the 
commission: 

1. type of application: 
a. warehouse; 
b. grain dealer; 
c. cotton merchant; 

2. date of submission; 
3. nature of application: 

a. initial application; 
b. renewal application; 

4. nature of applicant's business: 
a. sole proprietorship; 
b. partnership; 
c. corporation; 
d. association; 
e. agricultural cooperative; 
f. other; 

5. name under which the business will operate; 
6. address of the principal office of the business, 

either in-state or out-of-state, including mailing address, 
physical location, and telephone number; 

7. name of the person in charge (e.g., manager, 
warehouse operator, principal dealer, etc.) and his residence 
address and telephone number; 

8. if a partnership, the names, addresses, and interests 
of all partners; 

9. if a corporation, the names and addresses of all 
officers; 

10. if an association, including an agricultural 
cooperative, the names and addresses of all members of the 
board of directors; 

11. name and address of the owner of the business, if 
not shown under §107.A.7, 8, and 9 of this Part; 

12. status of the facility in which the business will be 
operated: 

a. owned by applicant; 
b. leased by applicant (short term or long term); 
c. rented by applicant and name and address of 

owner; 
d. other; 

13. type of agricultural commodities that the applicant 
will store or trade; 

14. for all business locations to be operated under one 
license: 

a. number of locations; 
b. address of each location; 
c. total capacity; 
d. capacity of each location to be licensed, if 

different from total capacity; 
e. name of person in charge of each facility; 

15. bond status of the applicant: 
a. amount of bond posted; 
b. name and address of bonding company; 
c. period for which bond written; 

16. insurance of applicant: 
a. amount of provisional stock insurance carried; 
b. name and address of carrier; 
c. term of policy; 
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d. physical address of each location covered by 
stock insurance; 

17. names of all authorized agents; 
18. a statement that the applicant will abide by the 

requirements of R.S. 3:3401-3425 and the regulations 
contained in this Part; 

19. a certified statement that all representations 
contained in the application and in all required attachments 
are true and correct; 

20. grain dealer applicants only: 
a. name of person(s) on grain dealer's staff who is 

certified as a grain sampler and/or grader; 
21. warehouse applicant only: 

a. if utilizing paper warehouse receipts, three 
signature cards, on card forms provided by the commission, 
completed by each person listed as an authorized agent of 
the applicant, together with a resolution from the board of 
directors naming each person, other than the owner or 
president, whose name is listed as an authorized agent; 

b. a copy of the warehouse's current schedule of 
tariffs or charges; 

22. cotton merchant applicants only: 
a. name and written notarized agency agreements of 

cotton agents buying cotton in the state; 
23. grain dealers and cotton merchant applicants only: 

a. aggregate amount paid to producers during 
applicant’s most recent fiscal year; 

24. application for acceptance into the self-insurance 
fund, if applicable. 

B. For initial licensure under R.S. 3:3401-3425, each 
applicant shall provide a financial statement as of the close 
of the applicant’s most recent fiscal year. 

1. The financial statement shall be prepared by an 
accountant who is not a full-time employee of the applicant 
and who meets at least one of the following: 

a. a certified public accountant; 
b. a graduate of an accredited four-year college or 

university with a degree in accounting; or 
c. has passed the examination administered by the 

National Society of Accountants. 
2. The financial statement presented for initial 

licensure under R.S. 3:3401-3425 may be any of the 
following: 

a. compilation; 
b. review; 
c. audited. 

3. The financial statement shall contain: 
a. a balance sheet; 
b. a statement of income (profit and loss); 
c. a statement of retained earnings; 
d. a statement of changes in financial position; 
e. a certificate by the applicant or the chief 

executive officer of the applicant, in the form of an authentic 
act, that the financial statement accurately reflects the 
financial condition of the applicant for the period covered in 
the financial statement; 

f. whenever the certificate required under 
§107.B.3.e of this Part is executed by a representative of the 
applicant other than the owner or president, a resolution of 
the board of directors authorizing such representative to 
execute the certificate is required. 

4. Multi-state and/or multi-national corporations with 
subsidiary divisions located in Louisiana shall either: 

a. submit a fully audited financial statement 
showing the position of the parent company, together with 
sufficient financial information pertaining to the Louisiana 
subsidiary to reasonably reflect the corporation’s ability to 
satisfy all obligations to Louisiana producers; or 

b. pay all expenses necessary for performance of a 
full audit, at one or more locations where pertinent 
corporation records are maintained, by the department’s 
Central Audit Committee. 

5. The financial statement shall be prepared and 
signed by an accountant, as defined in §107.B of this Part, 
and shall be presented in accordance with generally accepted 
accounting principles. 

a. Financial statements shall include contracts 
covering commodities which have not been delivered. 
Contracts covering commodities which have not been 
delivered to the licensee or applicant shall be brought to 
market in the financial statement. Contracts on commodities 
which have not been delivered to the licensee or applicant 
may be made a part of the financial statement by means of a 
footnote to the statement. 

b. Fixed assets shall be presented at cost on 
financial statements. 

6. Only one financial statement shall be required for a 
chain of warehouses covered by a single warehouse license. 

C. Each licensee shall file a financial statement 
conforming to the requirements of §107.B of this Part within 
90 days after the close of the licensee’s fiscal year. 

D. Each applicant shall also provide the following 
information, in addition to completing the required 
application form and providing a financial statement: 

1. evidence of bond or alternate security which meets 
the requirements set forth in §115 of this Part (warehouse 
license applicants), §123.G of this Part (grain dealer license 
applicants) or R.S. 3:3411.1 (cotton merchant license 
applicants); 

2. evidence of provisional stock insurance which 
meets the requirements set forth in §117 of this Part 
(warehouses) or §123 of this Part (grain dealers);  

3. copy of Scale Ticket. Applicants who do not use 
scale tickets in their business operations shall certify to that 
effect in lieu of filing a scale ticket; 

4. applicants who apply under corporate status shall 
provide evidence of compliance with Louisiana’s 
Corporation Laws. 

E. A fee of $200, as required by R.S. 3:3401-3425, shall 
accompany each application at the time of filing. This fee is 
non-refundable, whether or not the license is granted. 

F. All licenses shall signify on the face the following 
information: 

1. name and address of licensee; 
2. if a cotton merchant or grain dealer, the location of 

the principal place of business; 
3. if a warehouse, the licensed capacity of the location 

covered by the license; 
4. amount of bond; 
5. term of license. 

G. Approved licenses shall be issued in the name of the 
commission and signed by the commissioner. 
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H. A late fee of $50 may be assessed per application per 
business day when the application is received after April 30. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3408, R.S. 3:3409, R.S. 3:3410, R.S. 3:3411 and 
R.S. 3:3411.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:289 (May 1983), amended LR 
10:75 (February 1984), LR 11:229 (March 1985), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 
1986), LR 19:1300 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:624 
(April 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:497 
(February 2011). 
§109. Grounds for Refusal to Issue or Renew a 

Warehouse, Cotton Merchant, or Grain Dealer 
License 

A. The commission may refuse to issue or renew a 
warehouse, cotton merchant, or grain dealer license in any of 
the following circumstances: 

1. the applicant cannot demonstrate to the satisfaction 
of the commission that he is competent to operate the 
business for which the license is sought; 

2. the applicant cannot demonstrate a $100,000 net 
worth; 

3. the applicant has failed to provide all of the 
information required in the application for licensure; 

4. the applicant has previously refused to permit audit 
of his records; 

5. the applicant has not or cannot secure the bond 
required by R.S. 3:3401-3425; 

6. the applicant has not or cannot secure the insurance 
required by R.S. 3:3401-3425; 

7. if an applicant for a warehouse license: the facilities 
in which the business will be operated are not suitable for 
storage of agricultural commodities; 

8. if an applicant for a grain dealer license: the 
applicant has failed to hedge its obligations to producers as 
required by R.S. 3:3401-3425 and the rules contained in this 
Part. 

B. Any cotton merchant, warehouse or grain dealer 
whose application for license is refused by the commission 
may appeal the decision of the commission under the 
Administrative Procedure Act or through the judicial 
process. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3412.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:293 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 
1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 (April 1998), amended by 
the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37:499 (February 2011). 
Subchapter C. Warehouse Licenses 
§111. Requirements Applicable to All Warehouses 

A. No person shall operate a warehouse subject to 
regulation under R.S. 3:3401-3425 unless licensed by the 
commission or under the U.S. Warehouse Act. The following 
types of warehouses are specifically defined as warehouses 
subject to regulation under R.S. 3:3401-3425:  

1. any facility offering storage as defined in §101 of 
this Part; 

2. any facility which issues state warehouse receipts 
covering agricultural commodities or farm products; 

3. all field warehouses. The management organization 
operating a field warehouse shall secure a separate license 
for each location. Field warehouses shall be licensed in the 
same manner as any other warehouses and regulations 
governing other warehouses shall apply equally to field 
warehouses. 

B. Warehouses licensed under the U.S. Warehouse Act 
are not required to submit the application required under 
R.S. 3401-3425 and are not subject to all other requirements 
of R.S. 3:3401-3425 unless licensed under the provisions of 
R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

C. No warehouse, whether licensed under R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or the U.S. Warehouse Act, shall buy or sell 
agricultural commodities for producers unless such 
warehouse is also licensed by the commission as a grain 
dealer. 

D. A single business entity which operates warehouse 
facilities at more than one location may be covered by one 
license. In such instances, the applicant shall provide 
separate capacity and personnel information for each 
location but may submit a consolidated financial statement 
covering all locations. 

E. When two or more businesses which are separate 
legal entities, even though owned and/or operated by the 
same individual or the same legal entity, are operated at one 
or more physical locations, each separate legal entity shall 
obtain a separate license. 

F. Each license is personal to the holder thereof and may 
not be transferred or assigned to another for any purpose or 
any period of time. 

G. Licenses issued by the commission shall be 
consecutively numbered and the number shall include a 
fiscal year designation. 

H. All warehouse licenses issued by the commission 
shall expire on June 30 following the date of issue. 

I. For initial and continuing licensure, the facility shall 
meet all requirements of §113 of this Part. 

J. The warehouse shall meet all bonding and insurance 
requirements set forth in §§115 and 117 of this Part prior to 
issuance of the license. Failure to maintain the required bond 
and insurance in full force and effect for the license period 
shall subject the licensee to revocation of its license. 

K. The person in charge of each warehouse unit shall 
possess the following qualifications: 

1. be of legal age; 
2. demonstrate the following: 

a. knowledge of the practical facts of keeping 
accurate records regarding the storage of agricultural 
commodities; 

b. knowledge of proper pest control and fumigation 
procedures. 

L. Provisions Relative to the Schedule of Tariffs or 
Charges 

1. Each warehouse shall file its current tariff with the 
commission for the commission's approval as to form. 

2. Whenever there is any change in any warehouse's 
tariff, the new tariff shall be filed with the commission prior 
to implementation of any changes. 
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3. The director shall note on each warehouse's tariff 
the fact of its receipt by the commission. Upon the 
warehouse's receipt of the tariff bearing the director's 
notation, the warehouse shall post the copy bearing the 
director's signature in a conspicuous location at the 
warehouse. 

4. Each tariff shall indicate whether charges are made 
on the basis of barrels, bushels, or hundredweights. 

5. The tariff shall contain all fees routinely charged to 
depositors. 

6. The tariffs or charges shall be the same for the same 
class of services to each customer of the warehouse. 

M. Each warehouse shall maintain a daily inventory 
report on forms provided by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3409, R.S. 3:3410 and R.S. 3:3420. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:294 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 (October 1993), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37:499 (February 2011). 
§113. Standards for Approval of Facilities for Storage 

of Agricultural Commodities 
A. The building shall be of sound construction, in good 

physical condition, and suitable for storage of the 
agricultural commodities to be stored therein. 

B. The building shall be weathertight so as to protect the 
commodities stored in it from the elements at all times. 

C. The building and the surroundings shall be reasonably 
clean and free of debris of any kind. 

D. There shall be safe ingress and egress to all storage 
units. 

E. Storage units having entrances more than 20 feet 
above ground or floor level shall be equipped with a safe and 
adequate lift or ladder. 

F. All catwalks shall be equipped with railings, shall be 
structurally sound, and shall be kept free of all grain or other 
matter which might endanger human life. 

G. The facility shall maintain reasonable provisions for 
rodent and insect control. 

H. Commodities or farm products stored in containers 
rather than in bulk shall be separated by an aisle of sufficient 
width to permit passage for inspection. 

I. When different agricultural commodities are stored in 
the same facility in bulk, the different commodities shall be 
separated by a substantial partition. 

J. When a warehouse license covers more than one 
facility, each warehouse unit shall be designated by a 
number, beginning with the number 1, which number may 
not be changed without the prior approval of the 
commission. 

K. Each storage unit, building, bin, or compartment shall 
have painted thereon or securely affixed, in a conspicuous 
manner and location, an identifying number or letter, or 
both, which may not be changed without prior approval of 
the commission. 

L. Bulk grain bins shall be numbered at all openings on 
top and also on or near all outlet valves underneath so as to 
be easily identified. 

M. Each facility shall contain adequate and accurate 
weighing and sampling equipment. All scales in warehouses 
licensed by the commission are subject to examination by 
the Division of Weights and Measures of the department. 

N. Special Requirements for Rice. Provisions for 
identification cards shall be securely attached to all bins and 
when commodities are placed under receipt, an identification 
card showing the following information shall be firmly 
attached to the bin boards: 

1. the lot number; 
2. whether the receipt is negotiable or non-negotiable; 
3. the number of the receipt; 
4. the name of the person or company to whom the 

receipt was issued; 
5. the number of containers of commodities, if not in 

bulk, in the bin. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

3:3405 and R.S. 3:3409. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:296 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:500 
(February 2011). 
§115. Bond Required for Warehouse License; 

Provisions Relative to Licensed Capacities 
A. Each applicant shall execute and file a bond, on bond 

forms provided by the commission, which bond shall be 
issued by a company authorized to do business in Louisiana 
prior to issuance of the license. 

B. Each bond shall be conditioned upon: 
1. the faithful performance of all duties and 

obligations to patrons of the warehouse; and 
2. compliance with all requirements of R.S. 3:3401-

3425 and the regulations contained in this Part. 
C. The amount of the bond shall be established on the 

basis of the capacity of the warehouse to be licensed. 
1. The commission shall establish capacity records for 

all licensed facilities. Whenever there is a discrepancy 
between the capacity claimed by the applicant and the 
commission's capacity figures for the applicant, the bond to 
be required shall be determined by the commission's 
capacity figures. A licensee may, however, appeal the 
decision of the commission whenever it disagrees with the 
capacity figures established by the commission for its 
facility. 

2. All facilities which commingle agricultural 
commodities shall bond 100 percent of their available 
capacity, subject to the exemptions contained in §115.C.5 
and 6 of this Part. 

3. Facilities which store identity-preserved 
commodities may, with the prior approval of the 
commission, bond 75 percent of their available capacity. In 
such event, the amount of the bond shall be increased if 
commodities in storage exceed the licensed capacity. 

4. All capacity under one roof shall be bonded. 
5. Outside tanks which are used solely for storage of 

company-owned commodities are not required to be bonded. 
6. Buildings which are used solely for storage of 

company-owned commodities are not required to be bonded. 
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D. The amount of the bond shall be as follows: 
1. $0.20 per bushel for the first million bushels of 

licensed capacity―up to $200,000 for a licensed capacity of 
2 million bushels; 

2. plus $0.15 per bushel for the second million bushels 
of licensed capacity―a total of $350,000 for a facility with a 
licensed capacity of 2 million bushels; 

3. plus $0.10 per bushel for all bushels over 2 million 
bushels up to 3.5 million bushels of licensed capacity―a 
maximum of an additional $150,000. 

E. A minimum bond of $25,000 is required for all 
facilities of 125,000 bushels or less licensed capacity. 

F. A maximum bond of $500,000 is required for all 
facilities of 3.5 million or more bushels of licensed capacity. 

G. Each bond shall be written for a period of one year, 
beginning on July 1, or for such other period of time as the 
commission may require. 

H. Each bond shall provide for at least 90 days written 
notice to the commission prior to cancellation. 

I. Each bond is subject to final approval by the 
commission and shall be so approved prior to issuance of the 
license. 

J. Provisions for Alternate Security in Lieu of the 
Required Bond 

1. The commission may accept alternate security in 
lieu of the required bond in an amount equal to 100 percent 
of the required bond.  

2. Alternate security may be offered only by: 
a. pledging of certificates of deposit; 
b. filing of an irrevocable letter of credit, which 

shall be non-cancelable for a period of one year; 
c. securing a first mortgage on immovable property 

which is located in Louisiana and which has an appraised 
value of at least one hundred fifty percent of the amount of 
the bond. The appraisal shall be made by an independent 
appraiser jointly designated by the commission and the 
applicant. The applicant shall provide a title insurance policy 
issued by a company authorized to do business in Louisiana 
in the amount of the required bond with the commission 
being an insured under the policy. The applicant shall pay all 
fees involved in providing such security. 

3. Alternate security is subject to the approval of the 
commission. Approval is required prior to issuance of a 
license. 

4. All alternate security instruments shall be assigned 
to the commission and maintained in the commission’s 
office in Baton Rouge. Holders of certificates of deposit will 
continue to draw the interest thereon. 

5. Whenever any warehouse ceases to operate as a 
licensed warehouse, alternate security filed in lieu of the 
required bond shall be retained by the commission: 

a. until public notice, as herein required, is made; 
and 

b. until completion of a final audit, which final 
audit shall be completed in not more than 120 days. Public 
notice of the commission's intent to release alternate security 
shall be made by publication in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the area where the licensee is located, as 
follows: 
 i. if there is a daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published at least three times, beginning at 

least 15 days prior to the date on which the commission will 
release the alternate security; 
 ii. if there is no daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published in a weekly newspaper and shall be 
published once each week for the three weeks preceding the 
date on which the commission will release the alternate 
security.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and 3:3410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:297 (May 1983), amended LR 
10:75 (February 1984), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 (October 1993), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37:500 (February 2011). 
§117. Provisional Stock Insurance Required for 

Warehouse License 
A. At all times, each warehouse shall carry sufficient 

provisional stock insurance to assure protection against fire 
and other disasters for all agricultural commodities in 
storage in an amount proportionate to the licensed capacity 
of the facility. Provisional stock insurance records are 
subject to examination by the commission during audit of 
the facility. 

B. The provisional stock insurance shall be written for a 
period of at least one year by an insurance company 
authorized to do business in Louisiana and shall provide for 
30 days written notice to the commission prior to 
cancellation. 

C. A copy of the insurance policy or a certificate of 
insurance shall be filed with the commission prior to 
issuance of the license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:299 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:501 (February 2011). 
§119. Amendment to License Required When Change 

of Status Occurs 
A. The licensee shall give written notice to the 

commission within three days after any of the following 
occurs: 

1. loss or damage to stored commodities or licensed 
facilities; 

2. change of ownership of a licensed warehouse, 
including a change in the members of a partnership or in the 
officers of a corporation; 

3. change in management personnel of a licensed 
warehouse; 

4. change in the name of the business operating the 
facility; 

5. any major structural change in the facility; 
6. the termination of a lease covering a licensed 

facility; 
7. change of business address; 
8. filing of any legal action (except filing of suits for 

workmen's compensation) against the warehouse or the 
management personnel of the warehouse. 
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B. The licensee shall give prior written or oral notice to 
the commission before use of the facilities for the storage of 
any agricultural commodity not listed on the application and 
before any change in the licensed capacity of the facility 
(except a change resulting from fire or other actions outside 
the control of the warehouse). 

C. Notice to the commission concerning a change in 
licensed capacity shall include: 

1. name, address, and license number of the 
warehouse; 

2. warehouse or warehouses affected by the change in 
capacity; 

3. current licensed capacity of the affected 
facility(ies); 

4. proposed new capacity (whether increased or 
decreased). 

D. Whenever the licensed capacity of a facility changes, 
the bond required under §115 of this Part shall be changed 
within 45 days to conform to the new capacity. Failure to 
amend the bond as required herein will subject the licensee 
to revocation of its license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3410. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:299 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:501 
(February 2011). 
Subchapter D. Grain Dealers 
§123. Requirements Applicable to All Grain Dealers 

A. No person shall buy and/or sell agricultural 
commodities for producers, or represent producers in the 
purchase or sale of agricultural commodities, unless licensed 
as a grain dealer by the commission. 

B. No grain dealer may store agricultural commodities 
belonging to any other person unless such grain dealer is 
also licensed by the commission as a warehouse or licensed 
under the U.S. Warehouse Act. 

C. A single business entity which operates grain 
dealerships at more than one location may be covered by one 
license. In such instances, the applicant shall provide 
separate personnel information for each location but may 
submit a consolidated financial statement covering all 
locations. 

D. When two or more businesses which are separate 
legal entities, even though owned and/or operated by the 
same individual or the same legal entity, are operated at one 
or more physical locations, each separate entity shall obtain 
a separate license. 

E. Each grain dealer license issued by the commission 
shall expire on June 30 following the date of issue. 

F. The applicant shall be of legal age and shall be able to 
demonstrate knowledge of the practical facts of keeping 
accurate records regarding the trading of agricultural 
commodities. 

G. The applicant shall execute and file a bond, on forms 
provided by the commission, which is written by a bonding 
company authorized to do business in Louisiana. The bond 
shall be in an amount of $50,000 and shall provide for 90 

days written notice to the commission prior to cancellation. 
The bond shall be conditioned upon: 

1. the faithful performance of all duties and 
obligations to producers; and 

2. compliance with all requirements of R.S. 3:3401-
3425 and the regulations contained in this Part. The bond is 
subject to the approval of the commission and shall be so 
approved prior to issuance of the license. Failure to keep the 
bond in full force and effect shall subject the grain dealer to 
suspension or revocation of its license. 

H. The commission may accept alternate security in an 
amount of $50,000 in lieu of the required bond. 

1. Alternate security may be offered only by: 
a. pledging of certificates of deposit or other similar 

negotiable instruments; or 
b. filing of an irrevocable letter of credit, which 

shall be non-cancelable for a period of one year; or 
c. securing a first mortgage on immovable property 

which is located in Louisiana and which has an appraised 
value of at least 150 percent of the amount of the bond. The 
appraisal shall be made by an independent appraiser jointly 
designated by the commission and the applicant. The 
applicant shall provide a title insurance policy issued by a 
company authorized to do business in Louisiana in the 
amount of the required bond with the commission being an 
insured under the policy. The applicant shall pay all fees 
involved in providing such security. 

2. All alternate security instruments shall be assigned 
to the commission and will be maintained in the 
commission's office in Baton Rouge. Holders of certificates 
of deposit will continue to draw interest thereon. 

3. Whenever any grain dealer ceases to operate as a 
licensed grain dealer, alternate security filed in lieu of the 
required bond shall be retained by the commission: 

a. until public notice, as herein required, is made; 
and 

b. until completion of a final audit, which final 
audit shall be completed in not more than 120 days. Public 
notice of the commission's intent to release alternate security 
shall be made by publication in a newspaper of general 
circulation in the area where the licensee is located as 
follows: 
 i. if there is a daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published at least three times, beginning at 
least 15 days prior to the date on which the commission will 
release the alternate security; 
 ii. if there is no daily newspaper in the area, such 
notice shall be published in a weekly newspaper and shall be 
published once each week for the three weeks preceding the 
date on which the commission will release the alternate 
security. 

4. Alternate security offered in lieu of the required 
bond is subject to the approval of the commission and shall 
be approved prior to issuance of the license. 

I. The applicant shall demonstrate a net worth which is 
reasonably sufficient to assure its ability to meet its 
obligations to producers. The commission shall be the final 
judge of the sufficiency of each applicant's net worth. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 9:301 
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(May 1983), amended LR 10:75 (February 1984), LR 12:287 (May 
1986), LR 35:2311 (November 2009), amended by the Department 
of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:502 (February 2011). 
§125. Risk Position Requirements 

A. Each grain dealer shall achieve and maintain a 
relatively even hedge position within no more than three 
business days after deposit of agricultural commodities by 
producer. Relatively even hedge position means that the 
grain dealer has entered into contracts to buy or sell 
commodities which are roughly equal in value to the amount 
of the dealer's outstanding obligations to producers. 

B. Whenever a grain dealer's risk position is brought to 
market, its loss potential shall never exceed 30 percent of the 
grain dealer's current net worth. No grain dealer may 
maintain a risk position in excess of 30 percent of its current 
net worth, provided that the commission may specify a 
lower maximum risk position for any grain dealer in an 
amount having a reasonable relationship to that grain 
dealer's current net worth. 

C. The commission may require a lower maximum risk 
position on any grain dealer by the following procedures. 

1. The commission shall notify the grain dealer that a 
public hearing will be held, within five days after notice, to 
establish for such grain dealer a requirement that its risk 
position will be less than 30 percent of its current net worth. 

2. The grain dealer may appear on its own behalf or 
may be represented by counsel at the hearing, and may show 
cause why such lower maximum risk position shall not be 
established for such grain dealer. 

3. The commission may require the submission of 
interim financial statements in order to make a final 
determination with respect to establishment of a lower risk 
position requirement for such grain dealer. 

4. The commission shall make a determination at the 
public hearing and shall establish an exact risk position as a 
percentage of current net worth for such grain dealer. 
Written notice of the lower risk position requirement shall be 
given by the director immediately following such public 
hearing. 

D. Any grain dealer who does not adhere to the risk 
position requirement imposed for such grain dealer by the 
commission shall be subject to the penalties set forth in §149 
of this Part. 

E. Any grain dealer whose risk position is established by 
the commission at less than 30 percent of its net worth may 
request reconsideration of the established risk position 
whenever its financial position changes. Such request shall 
be made in writing, setting forth the reasons therefore, and 
the commission shall consider the request at the next 
regularly scheduled quarterly meeting following receipt of 
such request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3413.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:302 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:503 
(February 2011). 
Subchapter E. Assessments and Fees 
§127. Assessments: Amount, Time of Payment, 

Payment under Special Conditions 
A. Assessments shall be due and payable from the 

producer at the first point of sale as defined in §101 of this 
Part. 

B. Each grain dealer shall deduct the assessments set 
forth in this rule and in R.S. 3:3422 from the proceeds to be 
paid to producers at the time of sale of commodities. 

C. Assessments on commodities normally weighed by 
hundredweight and on commodities normally weighed by 
bushels shall be as set forth in R.S. 3:3422. The weight of 
commodities normally weighed in barrels shall be converted 
to bushels by multiplying the barrel weight by 3.6. 

D. Rates of Assessments 
1. Assessments on regulated commodities listed in 

§105 of this Part shall be at rates comparable to the rates set 
forth in §127.E of this Part. The exact assessment on each 
commodity shall be promulgated in the Louisiana Register 
and when so promulgated shall remain in full force and 
effect until changed by subsequent promulgation in the 
Louisiana Register. Such assessments may be collected as 
soon as promulgated in the Louisiana Register and shall be 
collected in the same manner as the assessments listed in 
§127.C of this Part. 

2. Rates of assessments to be levied at the first point 
of sale of agricultural commodities. 

 
Rough Rice $.01 per hundredweight 
Corn $0.007 per bushel 
Soybeans $0.007 per bushel 
Oats $0.007 per bushel 
Sorghum $0.007 per bushel 
Wheat $0.007 per bushel 
Cotton $0.10 per bale 

 
3. All assessments collected by licensees of the 

commission shall be remitted to the commissioner, together 
with the report form required by the commission, no later 
than the fifteenth day of the month following the month in 
which the assessments are collected. 

4. The above assessments shall remain in effect until 
changed by the commission. 

E. Each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall remit all assessments withheld from producers, or 
otherwise due under this rule, together with a report on the 
form provided by the commission, to the commissioner no 
later than the fifteenth day of each month. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3422. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:303 (May 1983), amended LR 
9:459 (July 1983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1301 (October 1993), 
repromulgated LR 20:154 (February 1994), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:503 (February 2011). 
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§128. Fees: Amount, Time of Payment 
A. Fees are due and payable upon the receipt of an 

invoice from the department. A late payment shall be 
assessed for all invoices paid after 30 days from the date of 
the invoice. The amount which shall be assessed shall be 10 
percent of the outstanding balance. 

B. Applicable fees shall be charged for each request for 
the department to provide official inspection service or 
weighing service. 

C. Schedule of Fees 
1. The regular hours shall be 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., 

Monday through Friday, except legal holidays and declared 
half-holidays. All hours worked, that are not regular hours, 
shall be considered as overtime. Legal holidays and half-
holidays shall be those legal holidays designated by the 
legislature in R.S. 1:55(B) and any other time declared to be 
a holiday or half-holiday by the governor of Louisiana in 
accordance with R.S. 1:55. 

2. The hourly rate shall be $26 per hour, including 
travel time. Overtime hours shall be billed at one and one-
half times the hourly rate and shall be assessed in half-hour 
increments. 

3. Mileage shall be billed at the IRS standard mileage 
rate and applicable hourly rate for actual miles traveled from 
nearest inspection point. Changes to the mileage rate shall be 
effective when the IRS changes their standard mileage rate. 

4. Official Services (including sampling except as 
indicated) 

 
Online D/T sampling inspection service  
(sampling, grading and certification), per regular hour 

$26 

Overtime hourly rate, per hour $39 
Unit Inspection Fees: 

Aflatoxin Testing, per sample $30 
Rail Car, per car $20.50 
Truck/Trailer, per carrier $10 
Barge, per 1,000 bushels $2.60 
Submitted sample inspection $12.30 
Re-inspection grain sample $15 
 Rail Car (per sample) $10.30 
 Truck/Trailer (per sample) $5.30 
 Barge (per sample) $25.30 
Starlink TM (if applicant supplies kit), per test $6 
Starlink TM (if LDAF provides kit), per test $12 
Factor only determination, per factor 
 (not to exceed full grade fee) 

$5.20 

Probe Sampling Barge (per barge) $100 
On-Line Sampling Barge (per hour) $20 

 
D. Moisture Meter Registration and Inspection Fee 

1. A registration fee of $20 per meter and an 
inspection fee of $40 per meter to shall be paid by the owner 
or user of every moisture measuring device used or held for 
use at any commercial facility which receives, holds, dries, 
stores, mills, processes or otherwise deals in agricultural 
commodities in the state, when such use or intended use is 
for the purpose of determining discounts or other price 
variances in connection with the purchase or sale of such 
commodity, said Each moisture meter device shall be 
registered with the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry. 

2. Registration shall be required on or before May 15 
of each year or within five business days of acquisition of 
new or additional unregistered moisture measuring devices 

for the purpose set forth in Paragraph 1 of this Section. 
Registration forms shall be provided by the department and 
shall state the name and address of the commercial facility 
which owns or uses the device, the number of devices used 
and held for use, the brand name(s) of the device(s), and 
such other information as may be deemed necessary to carry 
out the provisions of this Subchapter. 

3. A moisture measuring device shall be deemed 
defective when an inspector determines after an inspection 
and testing that: 

a. the moisture measuring device varies in tolerance 
in excess of one-half of one per cent with the testing device 
used by the inspector; or  

b. the commercial facility does not have available 
the latest charts and calibration data for the type of 
commodity being tested; or 

c. the facility does not have available accurate and 
proper scales and thermometers for use in conjunction with 
the type of moisture measuring device being used.  

4.a. A moisture measuring device which is determined 
to be defective and which the defect cannot be immediately 
corrected shall be tagged in such a manner as to warn the 
public that the device is not in compliance with the law.  

b. Notice shall be conspicuously posted indicating 
that a moisture measuring device has been deemed defective 
and the percentage by which the device has been determined 
to be out of tolerance.  

5. Moisture measuring devices which have been 
registered and inspected and which have not been found 
defective shall bear an official tag or sticker from the 
department, placed on the devices by the inspector in such a 
manner as to be readily visible, bearing the year of 
inspection. Such tags or stickers shall be nontransferable. 

6. All non-National Type Evaluation Program (NTEP) 
approved moisture measuring devices registered prior to 
May 15, 2010 shall be deemed suitable for use. In the event 
a non-NTEP moisture measuring device is deemed defective 
after May 15, 2010, it shall be taken out of service and 
replaced with an NTEP approved device. 

7. Notwithstanding §128.D of this Part, all moisture 
measuring devices shall be NTEP approved devices. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3414.3 and R.S. 3:3422. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended LR 
14:528 (August 1988), LR 19:889 (July 1993), LR 23:196 
(February 1997), LR 27:815 (June 2001), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the 
Commissioner, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 30:197 
(February 2004), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:504 
(February 2011). 
Subchapter F. Scale Tickets 
§129. Scale Tickets: Filing, Contents, Maintenance in 

Records 
A. Immediately upon deposit with a licensed warehouse 

or a licensed grain dealer of any agricultural commodity or 
farm product regulated under R.S. 3:3401-3425, the 
warehouse or grain dealer shall issue a scale ticket to the 
depositor which conforms to the requirements of this rule. 
Warehouses licensed under the U.S. Warehouse Act may use 
scale tickets approved by the federal licensing agency. 
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B. Each scale ticket shall contain the following 
information: 

1. name and location of the licensed warehouse or 
grain dealer; 

2. name and other information sufficient to identify 
the owner of the agricultural commodities or farm products; 

3. the type, quantity, and grade (or applicable grade 
factors) necessary to determine the net value of the 
commodity received; 

4. date the commodity was deposited in the warehouse 
or grain dealer's custody; 

5. one of the following, as appropriate: 
a. if the commodity is deposited on a spot basis, the 

words spot or spot sale, and when so marked the scale ticket 
shall serve as written confirmation of the sale; 

b. if the commodity is deposited for any type of 
storage, including open storage, the word storage; 

c. if the commodity is deposited for contract, the 
word contract; 

6. such other terms as may be agreed upon between 
the depositor and the warehouse operator or grain dealer. 

C. Scale tickets shall be sequentially pre-numbered and 
shall be issued to depositors in numerical order. Different 
scale ticket books may be used for different scales. 

D. Each scale ticket shall consist of an original and at least 
one copy. The original or a copy of the scale ticket shall be 
maintained in numerical order in the licensee's records and 
shall be available for examination by the commission at all 
times. 

E. Whenever a scale ticket is voided, all copies shall be so 
marked, dated, and signed by an authorized agent of the 
warehouse or grain dealer, and all copies of the voided scale 
ticket shall be maintained in the warehouse or grain dealer's 
records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3415, R.S. 3:3419. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 9:304 
(May 1983), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:504 
(February 2011). 
Subchapter G. Warehouse Receipts 
§131. Warehouse Receipts: Completion; Issuance; 

Open Storage; Cessation of Business; Other 
Applicable Laws; Cancellation of Receipts; 
Company-Owned Commodities; Form of Non-
negotiable Receipts 

A. A licensee may issue warehouse receipts by use of a 
paper warehouse receipt system, an electronic warehouse 
receipt system, or both.  

B. Except as herein provided, all warehouses shall use 
paper or electronic sequentially numbered warehouse 
receipts. 

C. Warehouses licensed under the U.S. Warehouse Act 
may use receipt forms approved by the federal licensing 
agency.  

D. Issuance of Receipts 
1. Each warehouse shall, on demand, issue a 

warehouse receipt for stored agricultural commodities or 
farm products. 

2. No warehouse shall issue a warehouse receipt 
covering commodities which are already covered by an 

outstanding and uncanceled warehouse receipt, except as 
provided by §133.D of this Part. 

3. No warehouse may issue a warehouse receipt 
covering commodities which are not actually stored in the 
warehouse. 

E. All spaces on the warehouse receipt shall be filled in 
with appropriate information or crossed out (xxxxx). 

F. Warehouse receipts may be signed only by authorized 
agents of the warehouse. 

G. Open Storage 
1. A warehouse which has commodities under open 

storage shall, in all cases when such commodities are not 
physically stored in its facilities (i.e., forwarded), be able to 
produce or secure a warehouse receipt from the warehouse 
to which such commodities were forwarded. The physical 
whereabouts of all agricultural commodities in open storage 
are subject to verification by the commission. 

H. Delivery of Commodities Covered by Warehouse 
Receipt or Scale Ticket Marked for Storage 

1. The holder of a warehouse receipt or a scale ticket 
marked for storage may request delivery of the agricultural 
commodities, or any portion thereof, at any time. 

2. When the depositor of agricultural commodities 
removes such commodities from storage, the warehouse 
shall deliver to the depositor commodities of the same 
quantity and grade as designated on the warehouse receipt or 
scale ticket marked for storage. 

3. The warehouse shall, without unnecessary delay, 
deliver any agricultural commodities or farm products stored 
therein upon demand by the holder of a warehouse receipt or 
scale ticket marked for storage upon the following 
conditions: 

a. full payment of all amounts owed to the 
warehouse; 

b. surrender of the warehouse receipt, if negotiable, 
for cancellation. 

I. Cancellation of Warehouse Receipt 
1. When commodities or farm products are removed 

from storage, the warehouse shall promptly and plainly 
cancel the warehouse receipt covering such commodities or 
farm products. 

2. No warehouse receipt shall be canceled unless: 
a. the commodities have been removed from 

storage, by sale or otherwise; or 
b. a new warehouse receipt has been issued to 

replace a lost or destroyed warehouse receipt, as provided 
under §133.D of this Part. 

J. Warehouse Receipt on Company-Owned 
Commodities 

1. A warehouse may issue and hold a warehouse 
receipt for commodities which are company-owned, in 
whole or in part, and stored in the warehouse, provided that 
such warehouse receipts are subject to all requirements of 
the regulations contained in this Part. 

K. Non-Negotiable Warehouse Receipts 
1. Each person to whom a non-negotiable warehouse 

receipt is issued shall furnish the warehouse with a written 
statement naming persons having power to authorize 
delivery of the commodity covered by the non-negotiable 
warehouse receipt, together with a bona fide signature of 
such person. The warehouse shall not release the commodity 
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except to persons so authorized by the owner of the 
commodities or farm products. 

2. The warehouse may release a portion of the 
commodities or farm products covered by a non-negotiable 
warehouse receipt, upon presentation of authorization as 
above required, but may not release all of the commodities 
covered by a non-negotiable warehouse receipt until such 
time as the non-negotiable warehouse receipt is returned and 
canceled. 

L. Cessation of Business 
1. Whenever any warehouse ceases to operate as a 

licensed warehouse, for any reason, the warehouse shall 
satisfy all outstanding obligations to producers and all 
outstanding warehouse receipts shall be canceled. The 
requirement for cancellation does not, however, apply when 
the warehouse is unable, for any reason, to satisfy 
obligations to producers. 

M. Other Applicable Laws 
1. In any circumstances surrounding the issuance of 

warehouse receipts which are not covered by R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or the regulations contained in this Part, Chapter 7 of 
Title 10 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 shall 
control. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3416, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3418. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:305 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:505 (February 2011). 
§133. Paper Warehouse Receipts: Required Form; 

Issuance; Partial Delivery; Duplicate Receipts; 
Non-Negotiable Receipts 

A. Except as herein provided, all paper warehouse 
receipts shall only be sequentially pre-numbered warehouse 
receipts on forms furnished by the commission. 

B. Agents of the commission shall note the issuance of 
all partial releases, by number of each such partial release, 
on the original receipt. 

C. Whenever a warehouse receipt is voided, all copies 
shall be so marked, dated, and signed by an authorized agent 
of the warehouse; the green and yellow copies of the voided 
receipt shall be maintained in proper sequence in the 
warehouse's receipt records and the pink copy shall be 
mailed to the commission on the day voided. 

D. Issuance of Duplicate Negotiable Warehouse Receipt 
1. If a negotiable warehouse receipt is lost or 

destroyed, the warehouse shall notify the commission of 
such loss or destruction prior to issuance of a duplicate 
warehouse receipt. A duplicate warehouse receipt replacing a 
lost or destroyed negotiable warehouse receipt may be 
issued by the warehouse only upon the written authorization 
of the commission. 

2. Before authorizing issuance of a duplicate 
negotiable warehouse receipt, the commission shall require 
that the person applying for authority to issue the duplicate 
warehouse receipt shall file with the commission a notarized 
statement that: 

a. the applicant is lawfully entitled to possession of 
the duplicate warehouse receipt; 

b. the applicant has not negotiated or assigned the 
lost or destroyed warehouse receipt; and 

c. reports how the original was lost or destroyed. 

3. A duplicate negotiable warehouse receipt issued to 
replace a lost or destroyed receipt shall: 

a. be marked duplicate; 
b. be distributed as required under §131.C of this 

Part; 
c. contain the same terms and conditions as the lost 

or destroyed warehouse receipt; and 
d. bear on its face the number and date of the 

warehouse receipt which it replaces. 
2. The warehouse shall retain both the green and the 

yellow copies of canceled warehouse receipts in numerical 
order in the warehouse records for a period of at least three 
years after date of cancellation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3416, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3418. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:306 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), amended by the Department of Agriculture 
and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 19:1302 (October 1993), amended 
by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 37:506 (February 2011). 
§134. Electronic Warehouse Receipts (EWR): Validity; 

Format; Issuance; Rights and Obligations; 
Printing; Records Retained; Duplicates 

A. The issuance and transfer of warehouse receipts in 
electronic form are specifically authorized by this Part. Any 
such warehouse receipts shall have the same validity and 
enforceability, for all purposes, as those in paper form. 

B. An EWR shall be in the format prescribed in the 
applicable provider agreement. 

C. An EWR issued in accordance with the R.S. 3:3401-
3425 shall not be denied legal effect, validity, or 
enforceability on the grounds that the information is 
generated, sent, received or stored by electronic or similar 
means. 

D. A warehouse shall not be required to issue a 
warehouse receipt in electronic form. 

E. If a warehouse licensed under R.S. 3:3401-3425 
elects to issue EWRs, and if the depositor or other holder 
prefers a paper receipt, the warehouse shall cancel the EWR 
and issue a paper receipt. 

F. A warehouse operator intending to issue or issuing 
EWRs under the R.S. 3:3401-3425 shall: 

1. issue an EWR through only one authorized provider 
annually; 

2. inform the department of the identity of its provider 
60 calendar days in advance of first issuing an EWR through 
that provider. The department may waive or modify this 60-
day requirement; 

3. before issuing an EWR, request and receive from 
the department a range of consecutive warehouse receipt 
numbers that the warehouse will use consecutively for 
issuing their EWRs; 

4. cancel an EWR only when it is the holder of the 
EWR; 

5. receive written authorization from the department at 
least 30 calendar days before changing providers. Upon 
authorization, a warehouse may request its current provider 
to transfer, and that provider shall transfer, its EWR data 
from the current provider's CFS to the CFS of the authorized 
provider it selects; 
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6. notify all holders of EWRs in the CFS at least 30 
calendar days before changing providers, unless otherwise 
allowed or required by FSA; and 

7. for purposes of §134.F.4 of this Part, the warehouse 
is considered a "holder" solely for the purpose of canceling 
an electronic warehouse receipt on the electronic warehouse 
receipt system and the warehouse shall in no way be 
considered the owner of the grain that was covered by the 
canceled electronic warehouse receipt, absent evidence of 
sale of that grain to the warehouse. 

G. EWR Rights and Obligations. An EWR establishes 
the same rights and obligations with respect to an 
agricultural product as a paper warehouse receipt and 
possesses the following attributes. 

1. The holder of an EWR will be entitled to the same 
rights and privileges as the holders of a paper warehouse 
receipt. 

2. Only the current holder of the EWR may transfer 
the EWR to a new holder.  

3. The identity of the holder shall be kept confidential 
by the provider. 

4. Only one person may be designated as the holder of 
an EWR at any one time. 

5. A warehouse operator may not issue an EWR on a 
specific identity-preserved or commingled lot of grain or any 
portion thereof while another valid warehouse receipt 
representing the same specific identity-preserved or 
commingled lot of grain remains not canceled. No two 
warehouse receipts issued by a warehouse may have the 
same warehouse receipt number or represent the same lot of 
grain. 

6. Holders and warehouse operators may authorize 
any other user of their provider to act on their behalf with 
respect to their activities with this provider. This 
authorization shall be in writing and acknowledged and 
retained by the warehouse and provider. 

H. Printing  
1. Electronic warehouse receipts may be printed by a 

person authorized by the department. The department shall 
authorize persons to print warehouse receipts if they are 
printed in accordance with R.S. 3:3401-3425 and the 
regulations contained in this Part. 

2. All electronic warehouse receipts shall be:  
a. printed only for licensee; 
b. numbered consecutively either at the time of 

printing or through the control of a computer generated 
system, and the numbers shall not be duplicated.  

I. A complete record of receipts printed shall be retained 
by the person printing them for five years, showing for 
whom printed, the number printed, and the consecutive 
numbers that were printed on the receipts.  

J. A duplicate copy of any invoice rendered for printing 
warehouse receipts shall be forwarded by the person printing 
them to the department at the same time as billing is made to 
the warehouse. The invoice shall show for whom printed, the 
consecutive numbers that were printed on the receipts, type 
of receipt (whether negotiable or non-negotiable), and 
number of receipts printed.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3416, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3418. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 

Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:506 (February 
2011). 
Subchapter H. Grading; Sampling; Out-of-Condition 

Commodities 
§135. Elevators: Official Grades and Sampling  

A. All agricultural commodities shall be graded and 
sampled in accordance with official USDA grading 
standards, as detailed in The Official United States Standards 
for Grain handbook. 

B. Procedures that result in equivalent results to USDA 
procedures are acceptable. 

C. Requirements for Certification as an Elevator Grain 
Sampler and/or Grader 

1. All persons interested in being certified to grade or 
sample grain for an elevator shall submit an application on a 
form which shall be provided by the commission. 

2. All applicants shall pass an examination which 
shall be given by the department. The examination fee shall 
be $5 and shall be submitted with the application. If the 
applicant successfully completes the examination, he will be 
required to pay a $25 fee in order to be certified. 

3. Each person that has been certified and whose 
certification has not been revoked or suspended may renew 
that certification by submitting an application to renew with 
a fee of $25. 

4. All certifications shall expire on December 31 of 
each year and shall be renewed annually. 

D. One elevator representative may be certified as grader 
and sampler as long as the representative is responsible for 
subordinate graders and samplers. 

E. The commission shall be required to provide each 
grain dealer with a copy of all changes to USDA standards 
prior to the effective date of such changes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.3:3405 and R.S. 3:3414.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:309 (May 1983), amended LR 
12:288 (May 1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:507 
(February 2011). 
§136. State Official Grain Inspections 

A. Standards established in Regulations Under the 
United States Grain Standard Act, As Amended, USDA, 
Federal Grain Inspection Service (CFR, Title 7, Chapter 
VIII, Pt. 800 (Section 800.0 to 800.219), 801 (Section 801.1-
801.12), 802 (Section 802.0 to 802.13), and 810 (Section 
810.201 to 810.555), shall apply to all Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry grain inspections. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 
R.S.3:3405 and R.S. 3:3414.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Louisiana 
Department of Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:288 (May 1986), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:507 (February 
2011). 
§137. Out-of-Condition Commodities 

A. If a warehouse operator has reason to believe that any 
identity-preserved commodities are out-of-condition, or are 
becoming out-of-condition, he shall give immediate notice 
of such fact to the director of the commission and to the 
owner of the commodities. 
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B. The director shall immediately send a representative 
to the warehouse to determine whether out-of-condition 
commodities shall be cleaned, at the cost of the warehouse, 
or disposed of as the law permits and the circumstances 
require. 

C. The storer of such commodities shall notify the 
warehouse operator, within 24 hours after receipt of notice, 
of the disposition to be made of such commodities. If the 
storer of the commodities fails to make such notice to the 
warehouse operator, the warehouse operator may dispose of 
the commodities as authorized by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:309 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:507 (February 2011). 
Subchapter I. Records and Reports 
§141. Records Required to be Maintained 

A. Each grain dealer, cotton merchant and warehouse 
shall maintain the following records, when applicable to the 
commodity stored or traded, on a current basis in the 
company's principal office in this state at all times: 

1. current financial statement; 
2. bank statements; 
3. bank reconciliations; 
4. broker's statements; 
5. current listing of unpriced commodities; 
6. sequential record of all scale tickets; 
7. sequential record of all warehouse receipts; 
8. settlement or distribution sheets; 
9. weight sheets; 
10. perpetual inventory record; 
11. insurance file, including copies of monthly reports 

to the carrier; 
12. record of all assessments collected and remitted; 
13. copies of all outstanding contracts; 
14. copies of all outstanding notes and mortgages 

affecting the business; 
15. a sample of each lot of grain which contains 

damage in excess of 7 1/2 percent shall be: 
a. maintained for five days from the original grade 

date; and 
b. maintained in separate containers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3419 and R.S. 3:3414.3. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:309 (May 1983), amended LR 
12:288 (May 1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 (April 1998), LR 
35:2311 (November 2009), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, 
LR 37:508 (February 2011). 
§143. Reports Required 

A. Each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall file a report of assessments collected from producers, 
on the form provided by the commission, and remit such 
assessments to the commissioner no later than the fifteenth 
day of each month. The assessment report shall be filed each 
month whether or not any assessments were collected during 
the month. 

B. No later than the fifteenth day of each month, each 
warehouse shall file a copy of his daily inventory report for 
the preceding month with the commission. 

1. The reports shall be filed on forms provided by the 
commission. 

2. The commission may accept computer print-outs 
containing the same information as required by the 
commission's form. 

3. The commission may accept any report in 
substantially the same form which is prepared as a result of 
any federal requirement in lieu of the report on the 
commission's form. 

C. Subsequent to initial licensure under R.S. 3:3401-
3425, each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall file a financial statement, containing all of the 
information required under §107.B of this Part, no later than 
90 days after the last day of the warehouse's or grain dealer's 
fiscal year. 

D. Each cotton merchant, grain dealer and warehouse 
shall file such unaudited financial statements as and when 
required by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3:3419 and R.S. 3:3422. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:310 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1302 
(October 1993), LR 35:2311 (November 2009), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:508 (February 2011). 
Subchapter J. Access Requirements 
§145. Access Requirements 

A. Each licensee shall permit any officer or authorized 
representative of the commission or the commissioner to 
enter all locations listed on the application for license and 
inspect, examine, and/or audit all contents, facilities, 
equipment, records, books, accounts, samples, and grading 
and sampling practices relating thereto at any time during 
normal working hours, with or without notice. 

B. The warehouse operator, cotton merchant, or grain 
dealer shall provide the necessary assistance required for any 
inspection, examination, and/or audit made in accordance 
with R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

C. Each licensee having physical custody of 
commodities shall permit any authorized representative of 
the commission or the commissioner to sample commodities 
at any time during normal business hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3414.3 and R.S. 3:3419. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:310 (May 1983), amended LR 
12:288 (May 1986), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 (April 1998), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:508 (February 
2011). 
§Subchapter K. Posting Requirements 
§147. Posting Requirements 

A. Each grain dealer and cotton merchant shall post its 
original license issued by the commission in a conspicuous 
location at its principal place of business. A copy of the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 509

license shall be posted at all other locations covered by the 
license. 

B. Each warehouse location shall post its original license 
issued by the commission so that it is clearly visible at the 
main entrance to the warehouse. When only a portion of a 
location is licensed by the commission, that portion licensed 
by the commission shall be clearly marked. 

C. The warehouse schedule of tariffs or charges shall be 
posted in a conspicuous location at each location. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3409, R.S. 3:3411 and R.S. 3:3420. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:311 (May 1983), amended LR 
11:229 (March 1985), LR 12:287 (May 1986), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:508 (February 2011). 
Subchapter L. Suspension/Revocation of License; Other 

Penalties 
§149. Adjudication Required Prior to 

Suspension/Revocation of License or Imposition 
of Other Penalties; Amount of Penalties; 
Surrender of License 

A. Whenever the chairman has any reason to believe that 
a violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the regulations contained 
in this Part has occurred, he shall call a meeting of the 
commission for the purpose of conducting an adjudicatory 
hearing to make a determination with respect to the 
suspected violation. 

B. Upon any directive of the chairman, the director shall 
give written notice to the person suspected of the violation, 
such notice to comply with the requirements of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, at least five days prior to the 
date set for such adjudicatory hearing. 

C. At any such adjudicatory hearing, the person 
suspected of a violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the 
regulations contained in this Part shall be accorded all of the 
rights set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act. 

D. The commission may suspend or revoke a license for 
any of the grounds set forth in §109 of this Part, or any other 
violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the regulations contained in 
this Part, whenever proof thereof is made at any adjudicatory 
proceeding noticed and conducted as required by the 
Administrative Procedure Act. 

E. Whenever the commission makes a determination at 
an adjudicatory hearing that any violation of R.S. 3:3401-
3425 or the regulations contained in this Part has occurred, 
the commission may: 

1. suspend or revoke the license; 
2. impose a monetary fine; 
3. place licensee on probation. 

F. Any suspension of a license shall be for a definite 
period of time and the licensee shall be informed in writing 
of the period of suspension. 

G. The commission may impose a penalty of up to 
$1,000 for each violation of R.S. 3:3401-3425 or the 
regulations contained in this Part which is proven in an 
adjudicatory hearing. 

H. Each separate day on which a violation occurs shall 
be considered a separate violation. 

I. Whenever the commission suspends or revokes a 
warehouse, cotton merchant, or grain dealer license, the 

former licensee shall immediately surrender the original and 
all copies of the license. 

J. No person whose license has been suspended or 
revoked may engage in any of the activities regulated under 
R.S. 3:3401-3425. 

K. Any licensee may appeal any action taken by the 
commission to suspend/revoke a license or impose a 
monetary penalty by either: 

1. applying for a rehearing under the procedures 
provided in the Administrative Procedure Act; or 

2. applying for judicial review of the commission's 
determination, under either the Administrative Procedure Act 
or other applicable laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405, R.S. 3:3410, R.S. 3:3411, R.S. 3:3417 and R.S. 3:3424. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:311 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 12:288 (May 
1986), LR 19:1303 (October 1993), amended by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of the Commissioner, LR 24:625 
(April 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:509 
(February 2011). 
Subchapter M. Schedule of Inspections; Voluntary 

Inspection 
§151. Inspection of Physical Facilities and Contents; 

Schedule 
A. A complete inspection of the physical facilities and 

the contents thereof shall be made of each licensee at least 
once during each license period, but may be made more 
frequently. Such inspection of facilities and contents may or 
may not be made in conjunction with an audit of the 
licensee's books and records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3406. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:312 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:509 (February 2011). 
§153. Voluntary Inspection Service 

A. Warehouses which require more frequent inspection 
and verification of contents, for whatever reason, may secure 
such services by making an application to the commission. 

B. Voluntary inspection of facilities and contents, and 
verification thereof, on a schedule which shall be mutually 
agreed upon between the warehouse applying for voluntary 
inspection services and the commissioner, shall be made for 
a fee of $0.01 per hundredweight for commodities normally 
weighed by hundredweight, $.007 per bushel (or barrel 
weight converted to bushels as provided by R.S. 3:3422 and 
§127.C of this Part) for commodities normally weighed by 
bushel, or such other fee as may be promulgated by the 
commission as an assessment fee on other agricultural 
commodities or farm products. 

C. The fee for voluntary inspection services shall be due 
and payable within 15 days after each inspection is 
completed. 

D. The total fee for each voluntary inspection of facilities 
and contents shall be determined by multiplying the total 
amount of commodities under warehouse receipt at the time 
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of voluntary inspection services times the fee set forth in 
§153.B of this Part. 

E. The minimum inspection fee applicable to voluntary 
inspection services, when performed for any licensee of the 
commission, shall be $100. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3405 and R.S. 3:3422.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:312 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer 
Services, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 19:1303 
(October 1993), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:509 
(February 2011). 
Subchapter N. Exemptions 
§155. Exemptions 

A. The regulations contained in this Part shall not apply 
to the following: 

1. cold storage facilities; 
2. facilities which store only commodities which are 

imported from outside the boundaries of the continental 
United States; 

3. seed dealers licensed under R.S. 3:1431 et seq., 
who store seed for producers, which is identifiable on the 
bag and in the seed dealer's records as to the owner thereof, 
but who do not engage in any other activities regulated 
under R.S. 3:3401-3425. This exemption does not apply to 
seed dealers who issue warehouse receipts. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3425 and R.S. 3:3405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, Agricultural 
Commodities Commission, LR 9:313 (May 1983), amended by the 
Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Agricultural Commodities 
Commission, LR 37:510 (February 2011). 
Subchapter O. Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund 
§191. Creation  

A. The Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund is hereby 
created pursuant to R.S. 3:3410.2. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:510 (February 
2011). 
§193. Definitions 

A. The following words and terms are defined for 
purposes of this Subchapter and supplement the words and 
terms defined in §101 of this Part. 

Claimant—a producer, as defined in §101 of this Part. 
Fund—the Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund. 
Insolvency—the inability of a licensee to meet debts or 

discharge liabilities. 
Licensee—for purposes of this Subchapter only, a 

Licensee is a cotton merchant as defined in R.S. 3:3402(6) or 
a grain dealer as defined in R.S. 3:3402(10). 

Value of Commodity—the quoted price plus or minus 
premiums or discounts such as moisture and quality factors. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 

Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:510 (February 
2011). 
§195. Purpose 

A. Upon the insolvency of a licensee, the fund shall be 
used to reimburse a producer who has not otherwise been 
fully compensated for grain or cotton sold to the licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:510 (February 
2011). 
§197. Assessments 

A. The commission shall charge an assessment at the rate 
of 1/25 of one percent on the value of all agricultural 
commodities regulated under this Chapter which are 
purchased by grain dealers and cotton merchants licensed in 
this state. 

B. The assessments shall be levied only on commodities 
which are grown in Louisiana and that are regulated by the 
commission. 

C. The assessments shall be due and payable to the 
commission by the licensee at the first point of sale, except 
as otherwise provided for under §199 of this Part. 

D. The assessments shall be due to the commission on a 
monthly basis. 

E. Each grain dealer and cotton merchant shall send a 
completed copy of the Louisiana Grain and Cotton 
Indemnity Fund Monthly Assessment Report (supplied by 
the commission) and assessment to the commission by the 
fifteenth of each month for the preceding month. 

F. In the event no assessments are collected by the 
licensee, the licensee shall still submit a report each month 
to the commission on the approved form. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:510 (February 
2011). 
§199. Cotton Merchants Operating on a Cooperative 

Basis 
A. Cotton merchants operating on a cooperative basis 

shall pay the assessment rate of 1/25 of one percent of the 
value of the commodity at the time of each payment, 
including any initial advance payment, progress payments 
and final payment to its members as proceeds of the crop. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:629 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:510 (February 
2011). 
§201. Claim Provisions 

A. The monies in the Grain and Cotton Indemnity Fund 
shall be used solely for the administration and operation of 
the fund. 
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B. Any claimant who wishes to assert a claim shall 
provide, under oath, written and notarized proof of a loss 
covered by this fund within 60 days of the loss. 

C. A written claim shall include all of the following 
information: 

1. name and address of claimant; 
2. name of the licensee against whom claimant is 

asserting a loss; 
3. nature of the relationship and transaction between 

claimant and licensee; 
4. the date of the loss which shall be defined as the 

date on which the claimant knew or should have known that 
a loss had occurred; 

5. the amount of the loss and how calculated; 
6. a concise explanation of the circumstances that 

precipitated the loss; 
7. copies of those documents relied upon by claimant 

as proof of said loss. 
D. Failure to furnish such proof of loss within the 

required time shall not invalidate nor reduce the claim if it 
was not reasonably possible to give proof within such time, 
provided such proof is furnished as soon as reasonably 
possible. 

E. Upon receipt of a proof of loss, the commission shall 
review the claim to determine whether it is covered under 
the program. The burden of proof to establish the loss shall 
be upon the claimant. 

F. Once proof of loss has been filed against a licensee, 
the commission may make a complete inspection of the 
licensee's physical facilities and the contents thereof, as well 
as an examination of all books and records of the licensee 
and/or claimant, subject to the confidentially requirements of 
R.S. 3:3421. 

G. Once proof of loss has been filed against a licensee, 
any other claimants alleging a loss caused by said licensee 
shall have a period of 60 days within which to post and 
thereby file a written claim. 

H. The said 60 day period shall begin to run upon 
publication by the commission of the notice of claim in the 
official local journal for legal notices, or the print 
publication with the highest circulation in the area serviced 
by the licensee. 

I. If claims for indemnity payments from the fund 
exceed the amount in the fund, the commission shall prorate 
the claims and pay the prorated amounts. As future 
assessments are collected, the commission shall continue to 
forward indemnity payments to each eligible person until the 
person receives the maximum amount payable in accordance 
with this Subchapter. 

J. Distributions from the fund shall be made on a 
periodic basis as deemed necessary by the commission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:630 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:510 (February 
2011). 
§203. Distribution of Funds for Claims from Prior 

Insolvency 
A. Any claimant who wishes to assert a claim against a 

licensee who became or becomes insolvent after January 1, 

2008, but before the promulgation of these rules shall 
provide, under oath, written and notarized proof of a loss 
covered by this fund within 30 days of notification of claim 
process. 

B. A written claim shall include all of the following 
information: 

1. name and address of claimant; 
2. name of the licensee against whom claimant is 

asserting a loss; 
3. nature of the relationship and transaction between 

claimant and licensee; 
4. the date of the loss which shall be defined as the 

date on which the claimant knew or should have known that 
a loss had occurred; 

5. the amount of the loss and how calculated; 
6. a concise explanation of the circumstances that 

precipitated the loss; 
7. copies of those documents relied upon by claimant 

as proof of said loss. 
C. Upon receipt of proof of loss, the commission shall 

review the claim to determine whether it is covered under 
the program. The burden of proof to establish the loss shall 
be upon the claimant. 

D. The said 30 day period shall begin to run upon 
publication by the commission of the notice of claim process 
in the official local journal for legal notices or the print 
publication with the highest circulation in the area serviced 
by the licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:630 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:511 (February 
2011). 
§205. Appeal Procedure 

A. Any decision of the commission to deny or grant a 
claim for payment from the fund may be appealed to the 
commission by the licensee or claimant by seeking an 
adjudicatory hearing to have said decision reconsidered by 
the commission in accordance with Chapter 13 of Title 49 of 
the Louisiana Revised Statutes, as well as all subsequent 
appeals therefrom, provided said appellant files with the 
commission a written notice of appeal within 30 days of the 
mailing of the decision of the commission to the affected 
party. 

B. The notice of appeal shall contain an expressed 
statement of each and every basis upon which said appeal is 
sought and the hearing to consider same shall be limited 
accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE : Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:630 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:511 (February 
2011). 
§207. Subrogation 

A. When a claim is paid by the commission from the 
fund, the claimant, by accepting said payment, subrogates 
his rights to the commission up to the full amount of 
payment. 
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B. Any recovery for reimbursement to the fund shall 
include interest computed at the U.S. Treasury two-year note 
coupon rate as published in the Wall Street Journal on the 
date of the claim. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Louisiana Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 
(April 2009), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 
Forestry, Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:511 
(February 2011). 
§209. Reimbursement Limitations 

A. When any loss is or may be covered by other 
insurance or bond, the other insurance or bond is primary 
and the commission shall require the claimant to exhaust his 
remedies as to the other insurer before considering the 
payment of the claim. 

B. After all other remedies are exhausted, claimants shall 
be entitled to recover the full amount of claims filed against 
the fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:512 (February 
2011). 
§211. Pending Litigation or Arbitration; Stay of 

Claims 
A. Where the commission finds that litigation is pending, 

which could determine whether payment of a claim is due or 
to whom payment of a claim is due, the claim in question 
may be stayed until the judgment in said litigation has 
become final and definitive. The commission shall give 
notice of the stay to any claimants whose claims have been 
stayed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:512 (February 
2011). 
§213. Violations 

A. Providing false information to the commission by a 
claimant or licensee regarding a claim for reimbursement 
from the fund is a violation of this Subchapter, if the person 
providing the information knew or should have known the 
information was false. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:512 (February 
2011). 
§215. Adjudicatory Hearings  

A. Findings of violations and imposition of penalties 
may be made only by a ruling of the commission based upon 

an adjudicatory proceeding held in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act. 

B. Whenever the commissioner has any reason to believe 
that a violation of R.S. 3:3410.2, or of any rules and 
regulations adopted pursuant to this Part has occurred, the 
commissioner may present the alleged violations to the 
commission for a determination. 

C. A hearing officer shall be appointed by the office of 
the attorney general to preside over the hearing. 

D. Notice of the alleged violation, the date of the 
adjudicatory hearing, and the conduct of discovery shall be 
as provided in the Administrative Procedure Act. 

E. The ruling of the commission shall be in writing and 
provided to the person charged with the violation, as 
provided by the Administrative Procedure Act. 

F. Any appeal from a ruling of the commission shall be 
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:512 (February 
2011). 
§217. Civil Penalties 

A. Any claimant or licensee who has been found in an 
adjudicatory hearing to be in violation of the provisions of 
this Subchapter shall be subject to the following civil 
penalties. 

B. Any claimant or licensee who knew or should have 
known that he was providing the commission with false 
information regarding a claim may be denied payment of the 
claim on that basis. 

C. Any claimant or licensee who knew or should have 
known that he was providing the commission with false 
information regarding a claim, or regarding any other 
matters pertaining to the fund, shall be subject to a 
maximum civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation. Each 
day the false information is with the commission without 
correction shall be considered a separate violation. 

D. Any licensee who intentionally refuses or fails to 
collect the assessment or refuses to remit the collected 
assessment to the commission shall be subject to a maximum 
civil penalty of $1,000 for each violation. Each day the 
assessment is not collected shall be a separate violation. 
Each day the collected assessment is not remitted to the 
commission shall be a separate violation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
3:3410.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry, Office of Agro-Consumer Services, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 35:631 (April 2009), 
amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 
Agricultural Commodities Commission, LR 37:512 (February 
2011). 

 
Mike Strain, DVM  
Commissioner 

1102#027 
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RULE 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Child Welfare Section 

and 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

Daycare Services―Residential Licensing  
(LAC 67:III.7303 and 7359) 

Editor's Note: Sections 7303 and 7359 are being 
repromulgated to correct citation errors. This Rule may be 
viewed in its entirety on pages 2521-2522 of the November 
20, 2011 edition of the Louisiana Register. 
 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Department of 
Child and Family Services (DCFS), has amended rules in the 
Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) Title 67, Part III, 
Subpart 21, Chapter 73, Child Day Care Licensing, and LAC 
Title 67, Part V, Subpart 8, Chapters 67-69 Residential 
Licensing pursuant to the general rule-making authority of 
the Department under La. R.S. 46:51 and the specific rule-
making authority over child care facilities and child placing 
agencies granted by the Child Care Facility and Child-
Placing Agency Licensing Act, La. R.S. 46:1401-1426.  

State licensing regulations for child care facilities and 
child placing agencies provide for a disqualification period 
for licensees who have had a prior license revoked for 
failure to comply with state laws and regulations governing 
facilities providing out-of-home care for children.  

The amendments to Title 67, Part III, Subpart 21, Chapter 
73, Child Day Care Licensing, and LAC Title 67, Part V, 
Subpart 8, Chapters 67-69 propose to clarify the definition 
of the term "Affiliate." 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Family Support 
Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 

Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter A. Licensing Class "A" Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7303. Procedures 

A. - G.1. ... 
* * * 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed due 

to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing rules, 
the department shall not accept a subsequent application 
from the provider for that facility or any new facility for a 
minimum period of two years after the effective date of 
revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of two years 
after all appeal rights have been exhausted, whichever is 
later (the disqualification period). Any pending application 
by the same provider shall be treated as an application for a 
new facility for purposes of this section and shall be denied 
and subject to the disqualification period. Any subsequent 
application for a license shall be reviewed by the secretary 
or their designee prior to a decision being made to grant a 
license. The department reserves the right to determine, at its 
sole discretion, whether to issue any subsequent license. 

b. - c. ... 
d. With respect to an application in connection with 

the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

H. - H.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, Bureau 
of Licensing, LR 20:450 (April 1994), LR 24:2345 (December 
1998), LR 29:1108 (July 2003), repromulgated by the Department 
of Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 33:2756 
(December 2007), amended LR 36:333 (February 2010), LR 
36:832 (April 2010), amended by the Department of Children and 
Family Services, Economic and Self-Sufficiency Section LR 
36:2521 (November 2010), LR 36:2880 (December 2010), 
repromulgated 37:513 (February 2011). 
§7359. Procedures 

A. - I.1. … 
* * * 

2. Disqualification of Facility and Provider 
a. If a facility’s license is revoked or not renewed 

due to failure to comply with state statutes and licensing 
rules, the department shall not accept a subsequent 
application from the provider for that facility or any new 
facility for a minimum period of two years after the effective 
date of revocation or non-renewal or a minimum period of 
two years after all appeal rights have been exhausted, 
whichever is later (the disqualification period). Any pending 
application by the same provider shall be treated as an 
application for a new facility for purposes of this section and 
shall be denied and subject to the disqualification period. 
Any subsequent application for a license shall be reviewed 
by the secretary or their designee prior to a decision being 
made to grant a license. The department reserves the right to 
determine, at its sole discretion, whether to issue any 
subsequent license. 

b. - c. ... 
d. With respect to an application in connection with 

the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this Section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

J. - J.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Office of the Secretary, Division of 
Licensing and Certification, LR 13:246 (April 1987), amended by 
the Department of Social Services, Office of the Secretary, LR 
18:970 (September 1992), LR 26:1636 (August 2000), 
repromulgated by the Department of Social Services, Office of 
Family Support, LR 33:2771 (December 2007), amended LR 
36:335 (February 2010), LR 36:833 (April 2010), amended by the 
Department of Children and Family Services, Economic and Self-
Sufficiency Section LR 36:2521 (November 2010), LR 36:2882 
(December 2010), repromulgated 37:513 (February 2011). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

1102#074 
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RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of the Secretary 

Office of Business Development 
and 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 

Retention and Modernization Act 
(LAC 13:I.Chapter 35) 

The Department of Economic Development, the Office of 
the Secretary, the Office of Business Development, and the 
Louisiana Economic Development Corporation, pursuant to 
the authority R.S. 36:104, 36:108, and 51:2382 and in 
accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 
49:950 et seq., hereby amends and adopts the following 
Rules.  

Title 13 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Part I.  Financial Incentive Programs 
Chapter 35. Retention and Modernization Program 
§3503. Definitions 

A. … 
B. In this Chapter, the following terms shall have the 

meaning provided in this Section, unless the context clearly 
requires otherwise. 

* * * 
LDEQ—Louisiana Department of Environmental 

Quality 
* * * 

Modernization—capitalized investment by an employer 
in technology, machinery, building and/or equipment that 
meets one of the following provisions: 

a. an investment from a company with multi-state 
operations with an established competitive capital project 
program, which is approved by the Department; or 

b. an increase in the maximum capacity or 
“efficiency” of the facility of greater than 10 percent. The 
modernization investment may be either voluntary or 
mandated by law but must result in the facility adopting 
“best practices” technology for its industry and the company 
shall establish that without the investment that the facility 
would be high risk for closure in the foreseeable future. 
Modernization does not include the replacing of existing 
technology with the same or similar technology;  
 i. increased “efficiency” claims must be 
supported by an independent third party analysis, such as an 
engineer’s report, or by any other reasonable means; 
 ii. best practices may be verified by objective data 
provided by independent third parties knowledgeable in the 
industry such as LDEQ, or by any other reasonable means; 
 iii. the required efficiency increase includes a 
“green” option for a facility which affects a 10 percent or 
greater net reduction in nitrogen oxide (NOx) or volatile 
organic chemicals (VOC) without any increase in other 
emission sources from a facility in substantial compliance 
with its Title V Clean Air Act permit for the five preceeding 
calendar years in which the emission reductions are claimed.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:104, 36:108, and 51:2332 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development and the Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation LR 37:514 (February 2011). 
§3513.  Certification of Tax Credits. 

A. Beginning July 31, 2011, employers seeking final 
certification of tax credits must submit to the department: 

1. an audit of qualified expenditures incurred by the 
employer for modernization, certified by an independent 
certified public accountant; 

a. qualified expenditures that could improve 
efficiency may include but not be limited to: new automation 
equipment, computer-driven instrumentation upgrades, NOX 
or VOC air emission reduction equipment; 

b. investment in new equipment for a new 
production unit making a new or similar product may be a 
qualified expenditure, if an employer is competing for a new 
production line as part of a consolidation through 
competitive capital budget within family of plants either 
domestically or internationally; 

2. evidence of continued business operation; and 
3. any other information as reasonably requested by 

the department. 
B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:104, 36:108, and 51:2332 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development and the Louisiana Economic Development 
Corporation LR 37:514 (February  2011). 

 
Kristy Mc Kearn 
Undersecretary 

1102#058 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Office of Entertainment Industry Development 

Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit Program 
(LAC 61:I.1607 and 1613) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Office of Entertainment Industries 
Development, as authorized by and pursuant to the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and in accordance with R.S. 47:6007, has amended 
rules and regulations relative to its Motion Picture Investor 
Tax Credit Program.  

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 16. Louisiana Entertainment Industry Tax 
Credit Programs 

Subchapter A. Motion Picture Investor Tax Credit 
Program 

§1607. Certification Procedures 
A. - D.1.d. … 

2. When requesting final certification of credits, 
the motion picture production company or 
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infrastructure project applicant shall submit to the 
office the following: 

a. a cost report, certified by a state licensed, 
independent certified public accountant and complying with 
the minimum standards as required by R.S. 47:6007 D (2) 
(d). The cost report may be subject to additional audit by the 
department, the division, or the Department of Revenue, at 
the applicant’s expense.  
 i. Incorrect Reporting. If an applicant submits a 
cost report required by the provisions of this Chapter and the 
report made and filed contains material misstatements, 
including but not limited to misrepresentation in or 
intentional omission from the cost report of events, 
transactions, or other significant information there may be 
cause for an additional audit. 
 ii. Related Party Transactions. If an audit contains 
related party transactions in excess of 20 percent of the total 
expenditures reported in the submitted audit there may be 
cause for an additional audit. 
 iii. Reimbursement of Audit Costs. The 
department may undertake additional audit at the applicant’s 
expense, to be performed by a state certified public 
accountant also certified in financial forensics or also 
certified as a fraud examiner. Audit fees will be assessed at 
the department’s contracted fee, with a minimum of $2,000 
and a maximum of $15,000 fee per audit.  

2.b. - E.2.e. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Division of 

Administration, the Department of Economic Development, Office 
of Business Development, and the Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 35:55 (January 2010), amended LR 37:514 
(February 2011). 
§1613 Application of the Tax Credit 

A. - A.1.a. … 
2. Transfer. Any motion picture investor tax credits 

not previously claimed by any taxpayer against its income 
tax may be transferred or sold to another Louisiana taxpayer 
or to the office, pursuant to R.S. 47:6007(C)(4). 

a. A single transfer or sale may involve one or more 
transferees. Transferors and transferees shall submit to the 
Office and to the Department of Revenue in writing, a 
notification of any transfer or sale of tax credits within thirty 
days after the transfer or sale of such credits and shall 
include a processing fee of two hundred dollars per 
transferee. 

b. If the investor tax credits (evidenced by a 
certification letter) are transferred to the office: 
 i. on and after January 1, 2007, and prior to 
December 31, 2008 the state shall make payment to the 
investor at a value of 72 percent of the face-value of the 
credits; 
 ii. on January 1, 2009, and every second year 
thereafter, the percent of the value of the tax credits paid by 
the state shall increase 2 percent until the percentage reaches 
80 percent; 
 iii. for state certified productions which receive 
initial certification on or after July 1, 2009, the state shall 
make payment to the investor at a value of 85 percent of the 
face-value of the credits. 

A.3. - B.6.c. … 

AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Division of 
Administration, the Department of Economic Development, Office 
of Business Development, and the Office of Entertainment Industry 
Development, LR 35:57 (January 2010), amended LR 37:515 
(February 2011). 

 
Kristy McKearn 
Undersecretary 

1102#056 
 

RULE 

Department of Economic Development 
Office of Business Development 

Office of Entertainment Industry Development 

Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund Program 
(LAC 61:I.Chapter 16) 

The Department of Economic Development, Office of 
Business Development, Office of Entertainment Industries 
Development, as authorized by and pursuant to the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq., and in accordance with R.S. 47:6007, has adopted 
Rules relative to the newly created Louisiana Filmmakers 
Grant Program. 

Title 61 
REVENUE AND TAXATION 

Part I.  Taxes Collected and Administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue 

Chapter 16. Louisiana Entertainment Industry Tax 
Credit Programs 

Subchapter B. Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund 
Program 

§1615. Preamble and Purpose 
A. The Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund Program is 

vital to support the state’s entertainment industry and the 
state’s long-term goals in its master plan for economic 
development for the State of Louisiana. 

B. The purpose of this Chapter is to implement the 
Louisiana Filmmaker Grants Program as established by R.S. 
47:6007. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:515 (February 2011). 
§1616. Definitions 

Applicant—the entity or natural person requesting a grant 
award from LED. 

Award—funding approved under this program for eligible 
activities and expenditures. 

Award Agreement—that agreement or contract hereinafter 
referred to between the applicant, and LED, through which, 
by cooperative endeavor agreement or otherwise, the parties 
set forth the amount of the award, the terms, conditions and 
performance objectives of the award provided pursuant to 
these rules. 

Contract—a legally enforceable Award Agreement 
between LED and the successful applicant governing the 
terms and the conditions of the award. 
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LED—Louisiana Department of Economic Development. 
Office—Office of Entertainment Industry Development  
Program—the Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Fund 

Program. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

47:6007. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:515 (February 2011). 
§1617. General Principles 

A. The following general principles will direct the 
administration of the program. 

1. LED shall serve as the administrators for this 
Program. 

2. LED, through the office, in conjunction with a 
panel of entertainment industry experts, shall serve as the 
review panel. 

3. Awards are not to be construed as an entitlement 
and such awards shall be subject to the discretion of LED.  

3. LED shall negotiate with each applicant seeking an 
award, based on the individual merits of each project.  

4. Contracts for awards shall contain “clawback” (or 
refund) provisions to protect the state in the event of a 
default. 

5. Award funds shall be utilized for the approved 
project only. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:516 (February 2011). 
§1619. Program Descriptions 

A. This program is to be used to support Louisiana’s 
independent filmmakers, domiciled in Louisiana, who make 
a film in Louisiana, the total cost of which shall not exceed 
three hundred thousand dollars. The maximum amount of 
any grant shall not exceed the lesser of 50 percent of the 
total cost of the film or $100,000. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:516 (February 2011). 
§1621. Eligibility 

A. An applicant must be a Louisiana resident, with proof 
of at least 3 years residency. 

B. An applicant must be the principal creative author of 
the production and hold complete artistic, creative and 
budgetary control. 

C. Eligible project formats, may include, but not be 
limited to: documentary, feature length film, TV pilot, TV 
series, webisodes, animation, experimental shorts. 

D. Ineligible project formats, may include, but not be 
limited to: reality shows, industrial, commercial, tourism, 
political campaigns or promotional pieces. 

E. 100 percent of the project must be shot in Louisiana. 
F. 100 percent of the project must post in Louisiana. 
G. 100 percent of the crew must be Louisiana residents. 
H. 75 percent of the talent must be Louisiana residents. 

I. Grants will be awarded on a one time basis only and 
previous award winners will not be allowed to reapply. 

J. An applicant shall be considered ineligible for this 
program if it has pending or outstanding claims or liabilities 
relative to its failure or inability to pay its obligations; 
including state or federal taxes, or bankruptcy proceedings, 
or if it has pending, at the federal, state, or local level, any 
proceeding concerning denial or revocation of a necessary 
license or permit, or if the company has a previous contract 
with LED in which the company is in default and/or is not in 
compliance. 

K. Applicants must be in full compliance with all state 
and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:516 (February 2011). 
§1623. Criteria 

A. LED will consider various factors when determining 
which awards will be funded. Among the factors which may 
be taken into account in the review of the award requests are 
the following: 

1. availability of funding; 
2. recommendation of the office and an entertainment 

industry expert panel review committee; 
3. artistic quality; 
4. applicant’s demonstrated ability and creativity; 
5. managerial and fiscal ability of the applicant to 

carry out the proposed project; 
5. nature and extent of other revenue, in-kind goods 

and services, and/or public or private support; and 
6. portrayal of Louisiana culture in a positive light.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:516 (February 2011). 
§1625. Application Procedure 

A. An applicant may apply for this program by 
submitting the following information to the office: 

1. a written application, including but not limited to, a 
detailed description of the proposed project, a preliminary 
budget and a grant request; and 

2. supporting information as requested by the office, 
including but not limited to examples of prior or proposed 
work. 

B. The office shall review the application and supporting 
information, and if it is found to be incomplete or if further 
information is needed shall contact the applicant and request 
such information. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:516 (February 2011). 
§1627. Submission and Review Procedure 

A. The office shall accept applications twice a year, 
between June 1 and July 1 and December 1 – January 1, 
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each calendar year, and upon determination that an 
application meets the general principles, eligibility 
requirements, and criteria for this program, the Office will 
then make a recommendation to an entertainment industry 
panel for further review. 

B. The entertainment industry panel shall be comprised 
of representatives from the higher education community 
with curricula in film, and its members shall be identified on 
LED’s website “LouisianaEntertainment.gov”. 

C. Each panel member shall complete an independent 
evaluation of each application and score them based upon a 
scoring form, to be posted on “LouisianaEntertainment.gov”. 

D. All panelists shall meet in a closed session to discuss 
their individual evaluation findings and to form consensus 
scoring of all proposed projects. The panel shall then 
recommend the highest scoring project(s) to be issued an 
award by LED. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:516 (February 2011). 
§1629. General Award Provisions 

A. Award Agreement 
1. Awards will be issued twice a year, by  

September 1 and March 1 of each calendar year. 
2. A written award agreement, contract or cooperative 

endeavor agreement will be executed between LED and the 
successful applicant. The contract will specify the 
performance objectives expected and the compliance 
requirements to be enforced in exchange for state assistance, 
which will include, but not be limited to: 

a. award amounts may vary at the discretion of 
LED and shall not exceed the lesser of 50 percent of the total 
cost of the film or $100,000.  

b. applicants and awardees are not allowed to use 
monies appropriated by the state of Louisiana as an eligible 
cost for reimbursement. 

c. applicant shall agree to display LED’s Louisiana 
Entertainment logo in the opening credits of the project;  

d. applicant shall agree to grant LED rights to 
screen or use the project for promoting Louisiana’s 
Entertainment industry; and 

e. applicant shall agree to provide a service to LED 
in return for state funding. The service could take many 
forms, such as free training workshops to Louisiana 
residents in a specific area of filmmaking; free lectures, 
seminars or demonstrations, free public screening of 
completed works, mentoring or internships.  

3. LED will disburse funds to the applicant as 
provided by the Award Agreement or Contract. 

4. LED will oversee the progress of the approved 
project and reimburse the applicant on the basis of the cost 
reports and supporting documentation certifying the amount 
expended for which reimbursement is sought. LED may 
request the applicant at any time and from time to time to 
submit additional or supporting information. 

B. Funding 
1. The Louisiana Filmmakers Grant Program offers 

financial assistance in the form of a performance-based grant 

for reimbursement of eligible project costs specified in the 
award agreement. 

2. Eligible project costs may include, but not be 
limited to: 

a. production costs: wages for crew and talent, 
equipment rental, props, permits and fees, art department, set 
construction wardrobe; and 

b. post production costs: special effects, sound, 
scoring, video. 

3. Ineligible project costs for reimbursement may 
include, but not be limited to: 

a. purchase of equipment or creation of new 
facilities; 

b. operating expenses of privately owned facilities; 
and 

c. hospitality or entertainment costs. 
C. Conditions for Disbursement of Funds 

1. Funds will not be available for reimbursement to 
the applicant until an award agreement or contract between 
the applicant and LED has been finalized and executed.  

2. Funds will be available on a reimbursement basis 
following submission of required documentation to LED by 
the applicant and will be based upon performance objectives 
as provided in the contract. 

D. Compliance Requirements 
1. In order to be paid or reimbursed as provided by the 

contract, the applicant shall be required to complete and 
submit to LED cost reports certifying the amount expended 
along with progress reports describing the applicant’s 
progress toward the performance objectives specified in its 
contract with LED.  

2. In the event an applicant fails to meet its 
performance objectives as specified in its contract, LED 
shall retain the right to withhold award funds, modify the 
terms and conditions of the award, and/or to reclaim 
disbursed funds from the applicant in an amount 
commensurate with the scope of the unmet performance 
objectives and the foregone benefits to the state, as 
determined by LED.  

3. In the event an applicant knowingly files a false 
statement in its application or in a progress report, the 
applicant may be guilty of the offense of filing false public 
records, and may be subject to the penalty provided for in 
R.S. 14:133. 

4. LED shall retain the right, for itself and for the 
Legislative Auditor, to require and/or conduct financial and 
performance audits of a project, including all relevant 
records and documents of the company. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
47:6007. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of the Secretary, Office of Business 
Development, in cooperation with the Office of Entertainment 
Industry Development, LR 37:517 (February 2011). 

 
Kristy McKearn 
Undersecretary 

1102#057 
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RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 105—Louisiana Content Standards for Programs 
Serving Four-Year Old Children  
(LAC 28:LXXVII.Chapters 1-9) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 105—Louisiana Content 
Standards for Programs Serving Four-Year Old Children: 
Chapters 1-9. It is the policy of the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education that content standards be reviewed and 
possibly revised at least every seven years. The revisions to 
Bulletin 105Louisiana Content Standards for Programs 
Serving Four-Year Old Children are based on latest research 
and a review of pre-k standards in other states. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXVII. Bulletin 105―Louisiana  
Content Standards for Programs Serving  

Four-Year Old Children  
Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§101. Introduction 

A. The Louisiana Content Standards for Programs 
Serving Four-Year-Old Children document was developed 
by a committee of educators from across the state. The 
committee consisted of representatives of higher education 
institutions, technical colleges, childcare, Head Start, 
Department of Social Services, and the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, as well as representatives from local 
school system administrators and classroom teachers. The 
standards were designed to address the needs of all children 
in all settings. There are a number of principles that guided 
the development of the document. [These Guiding 
Principles were reprinted with permission from the 
Connecticut State Department of Education Preschool 
Curriculum Framework and Benchmarks for Children in 
Preschool Programs (May 1999).] 

1. Early learning and development are 
multidimensional; developmental domains are highly 
interrelated. Development in one domain influences the 
development in other domains. For example, children's 
language skills impact their ability to engage in social 
interactions. Therefore, developmental domains cannot be 
considered in isolation of each other. The dynamic 
interaction of all areas of development must be considered. 

2. Young children are capable and competent. All 
children are capable of positive developmental outcomes. 
Therefore, there should be high expectations for all young 
children. 

3. There are individual differences in rates of 
development among children. Each child is unique in the 
rate of growth and the development of skills and 
competencies. Some children may have a developmental 
delay or disability that may require program staff to adapt 
expectations of individual children or adapt experiences so 
that they will be successful in attaining the performance 
standard. Additionally, each child is raised in a cultural 
context that may impact a child's acquisition of certain skills 
and competencies. 

4. Children will exhibit a range of skills and 
competencies in any domain of development. Preschool age 
children will exhibit a range of skills and competencies in 
any area of development. All children within an age group 
should not be expected to master each skill to the same 
degree of proficiency at the same time.  

5. Knowledge of child growth and development and 
consistent expectations are essential to maximize 
educational experiences for children and for program 
development and implementation. Early care and education 
program staff must agree on what it is they expect children 
to know and be able to do, within the context of child growth 
and development. With this knowledge, early childhood staff 
can make sound decisions about appropriate curriculum for 
the group and for individual children. 

6. Families are the primary caregivers and educators 
of their young children. Families should be aware of 
programmatic goals and experiences that should be provided 
for children and expectations for children's performance by 
the end of the preschool years. Program staff and families 
should work collaboratively to ensure that children are 
provided optimal learning experiences. Programs must 
provide families with the information they may need to 
support children's learning and development. 

7. Young children learn through active exploration of 
their environment through children-initiated and teacher-
selected activities. The early childhood environment should 
provide opportunities for children to explore materials and 
engage in concrete activities, and to interact with peers and 
adults in order to construct their own understanding about 
the world around them. There should therefore be a range of 
approaches to maximize children's learning. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2313 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:518 (February 2011). 
§103. Louisiana Content Standards Foundation Skills 

A. The Louisiana Content Standards Task Force has 
developed the following foundation skills, which should 
apply to all students in all disciplines. 

Citizenship―the application of the understanding of the 
ideals, rights, and responsibilities of active participation in a 
democratic republic that includes working respectfully and 
productively together for the benefit of the individual and 
the community; being accountable for one's choices and 
actions and understanding their impact on oneself and 
others; knowing one's civil, constitutional, and statutory 
rights; and mentoring others to become productive citizens 
and lifelong learners. 

Communication―a process by which information is 
exchanged and a concept of "meaning" is created and shared 
between individuals through a common system of symbols, 
signs, or behavior. Students should be able to communicate 
clearly, fluently, strategically, technologically, critically, and 
creatively in society and in a variety of workplaces. This 
process can best be accomplished through use of the 
following skills: reading, speaking, listening, viewing, and 
visually representing. 

Linking and Generating Knowledge―the effective use 
of cognitive processes to generate and link knowledge across 
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the disciplines and in a variety of contexts. In order to 
engage in the principles of continual improvement, students 
must be able to transfer and elaborate on these processes. 
"Transfer" refers to the ability to apply a strategy or in-
content knowledge effectively in a setting or context other 
than that in which it was originally learned. "Elaboration" 
refers to monitoring, adjusting, and expanding strategies into 
other contexts. 

Problem-Solving―the identification of an obstacle or 
challenge and the subsequent application of knowledge and 
thinking processes, which include reasoning, decision-
making, and inquiry in order to reach a solution using 
multiple pathways, even when no routine path is apparent. 

Resource Access and Utilization―the process of 
identifying, locating, selecting, and using resource tools to 
help in analyzing, synthesizing, and communicating 
information. The identification and employment of 
appropriate tools, techniques, and technologies are essential 
to all learning processes. These resource tools include pen, 
pencil, and paper; audio/video materials, word processors, 
computers, interactive devices, telecommunication, and 
other emerging technologies. 

NOTE: These foundation skills were developed by the 
Louisiana Content Standards Task Force in 1997. This task 
force developed the State Standards for Curriculum 
Development for kindergarten through grade 12. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2314 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:518 (February 2011). 
§105. Information Literacy Model for Lifelong 

Learning 
A. Students must become competent and independent 

users of information to be productive citizens of the 21st 
century. They must be prepared to live in an information-rich 
and changing global society. Due to the rapid growth of 
technology, the amount of information available is 
accelerating so quickly that teachers are no longer able to 
impart a complete knowledge base in a subject area. In 
addition, students entering the workforce must know how to 
access information, solve problems, make decisions, and 
work as part of a team. Therefore, information literacy, the 
ability to recognize an information need and then locate, 
evaluate, and effectively use the needed information, is a 
basic skill essential to the 21st century workplace and home. 
Information literate students are self-directed learners, who, 
individually or collaboratively, use information responsibly 
to create quality products and to be productive citizens. 
Information literacy skills must not be taught in isolation; 
they must be integrated across all content areas, utilizing 
fully the resources of the classroom, the school library media 
center, and the community. The Information Literacy Model 
for Lifelong Learning is a framework that teachers at all 
levels can apply to help students become independent 
lifelong learners. 

1. Defining/Focusing. The first task is to recognize 
that an information need exists. Students make preliminary 
decisions about the type of information needed based on 
prior knowledge. 

2. Selecting Tools and Resources. After students 
decide what information is needed, they then develop search 
strategies for locating and accessing appropriate, relevant 
sources in the school library media center, community 

libraries and agencies, resource people, and others as 
appropriate. 

3. Extracting and Recording. Students examine the 
resources for readability, currency, usefulness, and bias. This 
task involves skimming or listening for key words, 
"chunking" reading, finding main ideas, and taking notes. 

4. Processing Information. After recording 
information, students must examine and evaluate the data in 
order to utilize the information by categorizing, analyzing, 
evaluating, and comparing for bias, inadequacies, omissions, 
errors, and value judgments. Based on their findings, they 
either move on to the next step or do additional research. 

5. Organizing Information. Students effectively sort, 
manipulate, and organize the information that was retrieved. 
They make decisions on how to use and communicate their 
findings. 

6. Presenting Findings. Students apply and 
communicate what they have learned (e.g., research report, 
project, illustration, dramatization, portfolio, book, book 
report, map, oral/audio/visual presentation, game, 
bibliography, hyper stack). 

7. Evaluating Efforts. Throughout the information 
problem solving process, students evaluate their efforts. This 
assists students in determining the effectiveness of the 
research process. The final product may be evaluated by the 
teacher and other qualified or interested resource persons.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2314 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:519 (February 2011). 
Chapter 3. PreKindergarten Content Standards 
Subchapter A. General  
§301. Content Standards 

A. This Section contains content standards, which are 
organized alphabetically into six domains of development: 

1. approaches to learning; 
2. cognitive development: 

a. mathematical development; 
b. science development; 
c. social studies development; 

3. creative arts development; 
4. health and physical development; 
5. language and literacy development; 
6. social and emotional development. 

B. The six developmental domains are designed to be 
interdependent and must be considered as a whole when 
considering the development of prekindergarten children. 
Each developmental domain includes the following. 

1. Standard―the overarching goal for each content 
area 

2. Indicator―defines the standard more specifically 
in each content area  

3. Grade-level Expectation (GLE)—describes what 
children should know and be able to do by the end of 
prekindergarten 

4. Link―Each content standard is aligned with the 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards and other relevant state 
and national standards.  

C. The content standards and grade-level expectations 
provide the prekindergarten personnel with a common 
understanding of what young children should know and do. 
It is designed to be a guide for designing and implementing a 
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curriculum that will facilitate learning and skill acquisition 
in each prekindergarten child. Skills such as letters, 
numbers, shapes, colors, etc., should not be taught in 
isolation, but integrated throughout the curriculum. 

D. The content standards, indicators, and grade-level 
expectations are based on research in developmentally 
appropriate practice for preschool children. In developing 
these standards, the Head Start Performance Standards and 
the Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale, Revised 
Edition (ECERS-R) were reviewed and linked to the 
appropriate content standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2316 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:519 (February 2011).  
§303. Developmentally Appropriate Practices 

 
Developmentally Appropriate 

Practices Include: 
Developmentally Appropriate 

Practices Do Not Include: 
 Learning centers/Free choice 
centers 

 Timed rotation/Teacher selected 

 Concrete learning experiences 
with real items 

 Workbooks or ditto sheets 

 Balance of student-initiated and 
teacher-directed activities in 
instructional day 

 Teacher-directed activities more 
than 25-35 percent of the 
instructional day 

 Actively engaged learners  Passive quiet learners  
 Language and talking 
encouraged daily 

 Classrooms quiet most of the day 

 Cozy inviting environments  Sterile cold environments 
 Daily outdoor gross motor 
time/Adults interacting with the 
children to facilitate learning 

 Recess/Adults are On Duty 

 Individual creative art 
expressions 

 Patterned art/Uniform Art 
projects (all look the same) 

 Language/Literacy rich 
activities encourage phonological 
awareness 

 Alphabet letters taught through 
rote drill or Letter of the week 

 Hands-on math activities  Rote drill of numbers, shapes, 
colors, etc. 

 Use a variety of materials 
changed frequently to meet the 
needs and interests of the children 

 Same materials and equipment 
used daily throughout the school 
year 

 Adult-Child Interactions 
encourage learning through open-
ended questions, extending 
conversations, reasoning, etc. 

 Adult-Child Interactions minimal, 
unpleasant, non-responsive, 
inappropriate, or only to control 
behavior 

 Use of TV, videos and 
computers related to classroom 
events, appropriate, limited to short 
periods of time and adult 
interaction occurs 

 TV, videos, and computers not 
related to classroom events, used 
inappropriately, no alternative 
activities are used, and no adult 
interaction occurs 

 Teacher uses a variety of 
strategies and meaningful activities 
to develop skills and concepts 

 Teacher uses direct instruction to 
teach and isolates the skills and 
concepts 

 Assessment ongoing/Portfolios 
used that include anecdotal records, 
work samples, photographs, etc. 

 Isolated testing/Worksheets 

 
NOTE: For more developmentally appropriate practices refer 
to ECERS-R, NAEYC guidelines, and Bulletin 741. 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2317 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:520 (February 2011). 

Subchapter B. Approaches to Learning 
§305. Rationale 

A. Approaches to learning are behaviors and attitudes 
that show how children learn and acquire knowledge. 
Children vary in their learning styles and how they express 
their approaches to learning. Research has shown that 
children with positive approaches to learning have an 
increased academic and social-emotional competence. These 
children did better in reading and mathematics in 
kindergarten and first grade, were twice as likely to score in 
the top 25 percent in reading and mathematics, and had more 
positive and constructive interactions with others.  

B. Commonly cited components of approaches to 
learning include children’s: 

1. intrinsic motivation to learn; 
2. interest and joy in learning; 
3. initiative; 
4. engagement; 
5. persistence; 
6. ability to plan, focus, and control attention; 
7. flexible problem-solving; 
8. inventiveness; 
9. tolerance for frustration; 
10. ability to connect and apply past learning to new 

experiences. 
C. As children apply these approaches to learning, they 

can carry their new knowledge and abilities to a higher level 
of mastery and develop skills to become life-long learners. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:520 (February 2011). 
§307. Guiding Practices 

A. Effective prekindergarten programs: 
1. provide purposeful and meaningful child-initiated 

activities; 
2. support children’s play through a well-planned 

environment; 
3. help children feel successful by supporting 

individual differences; 
4. facilitate children’s discovery of their own learning 

capacities and styles; 
5. model enthusiasm for new learning processes and 

projects; 
6. encourage children to try new things and use 

materials in different ways; 
7. encourage children to think about things from 

different perspectives; 
8. use open-ended questions as means to further 

learning; 
9. prompt children to investigate, act on ideas, and 

communicate their thoughts; 
10. help children work together on projects or solve 

problems. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:520 (February 2011). 
§309. Strategies to Support an Inclusive Learning 

Environment 
A. Provide visual and verbal prompts to help children 

move through a problem-solving or planning process. 
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B. Purposefully guide children to work and play 
together. 

C. Help children focus their attention by providing 
activities or materials that are of interest to them, and 
encourage them to stay focused on an activity. 

D. Break problems and tasks into smaller or shorter 
pieces (“chunking”). 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 

Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:520 (February 2011). 

 
 
§311. Reasoning and Problem-Solving 

 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:521 (February 2011). 

Standard: Develop learning and thinking skills through gaining, refining, and applying knowledge 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(1); (a)(3); & (a)(4) 1304.21(c)(1)(i); & (c)(1)(ii) ECERS-R Items: 16, 17, & 18  
Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 

NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Demonstrate an intrinsic motivation 
to learn by displaying interest in real 
world 
experiences 

• Use a magnifying glass to look at lines on leaves 
• In dramatic play, look at a wok and ask, “What is this?” 
• While reading a book about Louisiana, ask, “What’s a beignet?” 

  2. Demonstrate the ability to think 
systematically and use reasoning skills 

• Make a prediction about what might happen next in a story 
• Decide what might happen if two colors of playdough are 
combined based on what s/he observed when two colors of paint 
were combined 
• Respond to “what if” questions and give reason(s)for answer 

  3. Use a variety of strategies to 
investigate possible solutions when 
problem-solving 

• Ask, “What made the dough smell different?” after a teacher adds 
peppermint oil to play dough 
• Use touch and smell to determine what a teacher has hidden in a bag 
• Observe a friend crying and try to determine what is wrong 
• Find a broken toy and seek assistance from teacher about the 
best way to fix it 

  4. Approach tasks and experiences 
with 
flexibility, imagination, and 
inventiveness 
to create new ideas outside of his/her 
own 
experience  

• After being read a book about space, spontaneously create a 
rocket ship out of blocks and pretend to “blast off” to the moon 

• Use play-dough to make pretend objects, such as jewelry, food, 
or press-on fingernails 

• Try using a rubber band to hold two sticks together after 
discovering that tape would not hold them together 

  5. Discuss ideas and experiences with 
others, utilizing any form of 
communication  

• While lining up next to each other, say or gesture, “I’m taller than 
you!” 
• Bring a collection of things from home and share with classmates 
• Mix blue and red paint and communicate to a friend that they 
make purple 

• Use measurement words (such as size, shape) at the water table 
to discuss the characteristics of containers 

  6. Reflect on investigations and their 
results by making observations and 
possibly forming new ideas 

• Recognize that a friend’s mom is pregnant after his/her own mom 
recently had a baby 

• Change the base of his/her block structure when the tower 
continues to fall 

• Talk about painting with a brush earlier that day and say, “Maybe 
tomorrow I can use my fingers, instead!” 

• While putting on a fire hat, girl tells boys, “Women can be fire 
people, too, because I saw it on TV!” 
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§313. Initiative, Engagement, and Persistence 
 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:522 (February 2011). 

 
§315. Curiosity and Eagerness to Learn 

 
 

Standard: Demonstrate initiative, engagement, and persistence in learning 
Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 

NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Show curiosity and interest in 
learning new things and trying new 
experiences 

• Explore on his/her own, e.g., pick up class pet for the first time or 
collect objects to test if they are magnetic 
• Experiment with different art materials to make a self-portrait 
• Taste guacamole after learning about avocados 
• Ask to join a group playing with a mixture of cornstarch and water 
(“goop”) 

  2. Demonstrate initiative and 
independence in selecting and carrying 
out activities 

• Bring binoculars outside to look more closely at a bird building a 
nest 
• After a field trip to the grocery store, organize classroom play food 
and food boxes to create a grocery store 
• Bring art materials to a group building a castle in the block area to 
add on a bridge 

  3. Maintain attention in child-
initiated 
and teacher-initiated activities for short 
periods of time, despite distractions and 
interruptions 

• Continue to attend to a story being read when someone enters the room 
• Work to complete a puzzle, even after a friend interrupts and asks 
him/her to play in another area 
• Put away the art materials, despite others preparing to go outside 
• Say, “I’ll do it!”, even though the teacher offered to help 

  

4. Demonstrate an increasing ability 
to 
plan and work towards completion of 
tasks and activities, even when faced 
with frustration because the task or 
activity is difficult 

• Identify and collect materials (e.g., plastic farm animals, blocks, 
people figures, or tractors) to create a farm in the block area 
• Select paper and marker to create a sign for a store in the dramatic 
play area 
• Ask a teacher where to leave a clay structure so that it can be 
painted later 
• Continue to try to cross the monkey bars, even after having fallen off 
• Make repeated efforts to rebuild a block structure that keeps falling down 
• Work with the teacher to decide what objects to use in an obstacle 
course on the playground, and help put objects in place 

Standard: Engage in play-based learning for sustained periods of time to acquire knowledge about themselves and their world 
Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 

NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Make choices about play activities, 
materials, and playmates/companions 

• Choose one ball out of a variety of balls that will fit through the ball 
hoop on the playground 
• Given five options for activity/play centers, make a choice of where 
to play 
• Pick a friend to play “Mama Bear” when reenacting a story in the 
dramatic play area 

 2. Engage in unfamiliar activities 
during 
Play  

• Try to put together a new interlocking puzzle in the puzzle center 
• Seek assistance when attempting to learn how to swing 
• Experiment with magnets 

 3. Use prior knowledge and 
experiences to learn new skills during 
play  

• Say, “May I take your order?” in dramatic play, then write or 
pretend to write it down 
• Attempt to make a stop sign, so children won’t knock down block 
structure 
• After a field trip to the fire station, put on firefighter hat and pretend 
to put out a fire 
• Find or collect props to retell the story, “The Three Little Pigs”  

 4. Use manipulatives and other hands 
on 
materials to learn concepts and skills 
related to core content areas 

• Use a scarf to symbolize wind blowing 
• Use play-dough to make letters 
• Use a collection of leaves to compare and discuss size 
• Weigh two apples to decide which one is heavier 
• Use materials and/or puppets to recreate a story 

   4. Use manipulatives and other hands 
on 
materials to learn concepts and skills 
related to core content areas 

• Use a scarf to symbolize wind blowing 
• Use play-dough to make letters 
• Use a collection of leaves to compare and discuss size 
• Weigh two apples to decide which one is heavier 
• Use materials and/or puppets to recreate a story 

   5. Describe play experiences using 
English or another language or another 
mode of communication  

• During center activities, describe “creations” when asked about art 
work, block structures, and other creative work 
• Use home language to communicate to a parent what he/she 
played with that day 
• Explain what friends are arguing about in the dramatic play area 
• Use signs to communicate that he/she played the role of “mother” 
during a classroom skit  
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:522 (February 2011). 
Subchapter C. Mathematics 
§317. Mathematical Development 

A. Young children develop mathematical concepts 
through meaningful and concrete experiences that are 
broader in scope than numerals and counting. In an 
inclusive, developmentally appropriate play-based 
environment, prekindergarten children will have 
opportunities to acquire and understand mathematical skills 
and concepts using hands-on experiences. They will have 
access to a wide variety of tools and technologies that foster 
the understanding of mathematics in real-life situations. 

B. Early childhood teachers must be flexible during daily 
routines and strive to capture teachable moments using 
open-ended questioning techniques to expand mathematical 
concepts. These teachers must also facilitate activities that 
address and extend young children's developmental levels. 

C. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 
environment: 

1. simplify a complicated task by breaking it into 
smaller parts or reducing the number of steps; 

2. use shorter but more frequent activities and 
routines; 

3. add new activities and specific activities as needed 
to meet individual needs. 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:523 (February 2011). 
§319. Stages of Math Development 

A.  Two through three year-olds: 
1. begin to understand the use of numbers as they hear 

others using them; 
2. understand the use of numbers through exploring 

objects; 

3. work large-piece puzzles; 
4. understand direction and relational words; 
5. recognize geometric shapes, like a circle; 
6. sequence up to three items. 

B. Three through four year-olds: 
1. recognize and express quantities like some, more, a 

lot, and another; 
2. begin to have a sense of time; 
3. recognize familiar geometric shapes in the 

environment; 
4. sort objects by one characteristic; 
5. rote count to five; 
6. notice and compare similarities and differences; 
7. use words to describe quantity, length, and size. 

C. Four through five year-olds: 
1. play number games with understanding; 
2. count objects to 10 and sometimes to 20; 
3. identify the larger of two numbers; 
4. answer simple questions that require logic; 
5. recognize more complex patterns; 
6. position words; 
7. sort forms by shape; 
8. compare sizes of familiar objects not in sight; 
9. work multi-piece puzzles. 

D. Five through six year-olds: 
1. begin to understand concepts represented in 

symbolic form; 
2. can combine simple sets; 
3. begin to add small numbers in their heads; 
4. rote count to 100 with little confusion; 
5. count objects to 20 and more; 
6. understand that the number is a symbol that stands 

for a certain number of objects; 
7. classify objects by multiple attributes; 
8. can decide which number comes before, or after, 

another number. 
Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:523 (February 2011). 
 

 
§321. Mathematical DevelopmentNumber and Number Relations 
 

Standard: Understand numbers, ways of representing numbers, and relationships between numbers and numerals 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: N-1-E & N-9-E ECERS-R, Items: 26 Head Start, etc. Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CM-N1* Compare numbers of 
objects  

5. Compares sets of objects using 
same/different and more/less/fewer 

 Compare number of boys to girls 
 Compare unifix towers to each other 
 Begin to use names of numbers in play, such as “I need two more blocks” 
 Compare objects in groups, such as shoes that tie and do not tie 

PKCM-N2 Perform one-to-one 
correspondence 

2. Count a set of 5 or fewer objects 
using 1 to 1 correspondence between 
number 
names and objects  

 Set the table 
 Hand out snacks to each child 
 Put pegs in each hole of pegboard 

PK-CM-N3 Count by rote 1. Count by ones to 10  Sing counting songs 
 Count in rhymes, fingerplays, poems, or stories 

PK-CM-N4 Begin to count objects 2. Count a set of 5 or fewer objects 
using 1 to 1 correspondence between 
number names and objects 

 Count manipulatives 
 Count days on the calendar 
 Count children to line up for field trip 
 Count the number of children present each day 
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Standard: Understand numbers, ways of representing numbers, and relationships between numbers and numerals 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: N-1-E & N-9-E ECERS-R, Items: 26 Head Start, etc. Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CM-N5 Begin to recognize 
numerals  

4. Identifies numerals 1-5   Identify some numerals in their environment 
 Discriminate between letters and numerals by sorting 
 Play number games  

PK-CM-N6 Begin to demonstrate 
estimation skills  

No corresponding GLE   Estimate how many scoops of sand will fill a pail 
 Place a small number of items in a see-through container and ask children to 
estimate number and record the estimate 
 Estimate how many eggs fit in a strawberry basket  

*PK-CM-N -Prekindergarten– Cognitive Math – Number Concepts 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:523 (February 2011). 
 

§323. Mathematical Development—Measurement 
 
Standard: Use non-standard units to measure and make comparisons 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards,: M-1-E; M-2-E; M-3-E; M-4-E; & M-5-E ECERS-R Items: 26 Head Start, etc. Performance Standards:1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
 PK-CM-M1* Experience, compare, 
and use language relating to time 

7. Use words such as day/week, month, 
schedule, morning, noon, night 

 Begin to use words to describe time intervals, such as yesterday, 
today, and tomorrow  
 Use different types of timers 
 Participate in discussions about the daily schedule 

PK-CM-M2 Anticipate, remember, and 
describe sequences of events 

No corresponding GLE  Retell sequential events in a story and/or activity 
 Recall daily schedule 
 Count down days to an event 

PK-CM-M3 Use mathematical 
language to describe experiences 
involving measurement 

6. Use comparative vocabulary in 
measurement settings (long/longer, 
more/less, short/shorter, bigger/smaller, 
hotter/colder, heavier/lighter) 

 Use comparison terms, such as heavy/light, long/short, more/less, or 
big/little 

PK-CM-M4 Measure objects in the 
physical world using non-standard 
units of measurement 

No corresponding GLE  Use hands to measure objects 
 Use string to measure child’s height or circumference of an object, 
such as pumpkin, watermelon, or orange 

*PK–CM-M ― Prekindergarten – Cognitive Math – Measurement 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:524 (February 2011). 
 

§325. Mathematical DevelopmentGeometry 
 

Standard: Develop an understanding of geometrical and spatial concepts 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: G-1-E; G-2-E; & G-4-E, ECERS-R Items: 26 , Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CM-G1* Recognize, name, 
describe, compare, and create basic 
shapes.  

8. Identify rectangles, squares, 
circles, and triangles using concrete 
models. 

 Combine unit blocks to make shapes 
 Go on shape scavenger hunt 
 Use shapes to make pictures 
 

PK-CM-G2 Identify shapes to 
describe physical world 

No corresponding GLE  Identify shapes of objects in the environment, such as the classroom 
door is a rectangle 
 Identify roof in photo of house as a triangle 

PK-CM-G3 Describe and interpret 
spatial sense: positions, directions, 
distances, and order 

3. Identify an object’s position as first 
or last  
10. Use words that indicate direction and 
position of an object (up, down, over, 
under, above, below, beside, in, out, 
behind).  
11. Recognize and manipulate an 
object’s position in space. 

 Describe the position of people or things in relation to self or other 
objects 
 Give and follow directions using positional words 
 Describe the movement of objects, such as “The dog jumped over the 
fence” 

 PK–CM-G ― Prekindergarten – Cognitive Math – Geometry and Spatial Sense 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:524 (February 2011). 
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§327. Mathematical DevelopmentData Analysis 
 
Standard: Investigate, organize, respond, and create representations 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: P-1-E; P-2-E; P-3-E; D-1-E; D-2-E; D-3-E; & D-4-E ECERS-R Items: 26 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CM-D2 Collect and organize data 
about themselves, their surroundings, 
and meaningful experiences 

12. Arrange objects/pictures to make an 
object or picture graph 

 Create simple graphs (picture, bar, representational, Venn diagrams), 
such as leaves by type or favorite ice cream 

 Use webbing to collect information 
PK-CM-D3 Interpret simple 
representations in data 

No corresponding GLE  Participate in discussion about the calendar 
 Participate in discussion using information from child-created graphs 
 Participate in discussion about charts 

 PK–CM-D ― Prekindergarten – Cognitive Math – Data Collection, Organization, and Interpretation 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:525 (February 2011). 
 

 
§329. Mathematical Development--Patterns and Relationships 
 
Standard: Identify and create patterns 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: P-1-E & P-3-E ECERS-R Items: 26 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CM-P1* Recognize patterns in the 
physical world 

13. Recognize and copy repeated 
patterns (concrete objects, songs, rhymes, 
and body movements) 

 Go on shape walks to identify patterns in environment 
 Recognize patterns in snack kabobs 
 Identify patterns on common objects, such as flag, clothes, or 

environmental patterns 
PK-CM-P2 Describe, copy, extend, 
create patterns and make predictions 
about patterns 

13. Recognize and copy repeated 
patterns (concrete objects, songs, rhymes, 
and body movements) 

 Line up boy, girl, boy, girl … 
 Clap out patterns 
  Make patterns with manipulatives, such as lacing beads, unifix cubes, 

or links 
 Tell what comes next in a pattern 
 Create musical patterns playing music on cans 

PK-CM-P3 Seriate objects No corresponding GLE  Place blocks in order from shortest to tallest 
 Place colored bears in order from smallest to largest 

*PK–CM-P –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Math – Patterns and Relationships 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2318 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:525 (February 2011). 
Subchapter C. Science 
§331. Scientific Development 

A. Young children are natural scientists. They easily 
become mesmerized by everyday happenings. Through 
varied and repeated opportunities to predict, observe, 
manipulate, listen, experiment with, reflect, and respond to 
open-ended questions, prekindergarteners make inferences 
and become higher-level thinkers. 

B. Quality early childhood science programs require a 
balance of content and process, using multi-sensory 
experiences. In addition to science inquiry skills, 
prekindergarteners can begin to acquire a foundation of 
science concepts and knowledge on which they can build a 
clear understanding of their world. Early childhood teachers 

should look for opportunities to explore scientific concepts 
in all content areas. 

C. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 
environment: 

1. simplify a complicated task by breaking it into 
smaller parts or reducing the number of steps; 

2. use shorter but more frequent activities and 
routines; 

3. add new activities and specific activities as needed 
to meet individual needs. 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:525 (February 2011). 
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§333. Scientific Development—Inquiry 
 
Standard: Begin to engage in partial and full inquiries 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4, A5, A6 SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6 ECERS-R Items: 25 Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 1304.21(a)(4)(i)  

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CS-I1 Use prior knowledge and 
experiences to hypothesize, predict, 
generate questions, and draw 
conclusions about organisms and 
events in the environment. 
 

1. Ask questions about objects and 
events in the environment (e.g., 
plants, rocks, storms) 
2. Pose questions that can be 
answered by using students’ own 
observations and scientific 
knowledge 

 Generate questions about insects (KWL or Experience Charts) 
 Engage in spontaneous discussion (teachable moments) 
 Engage in discussion through questioning, after reading a nonfiction science 
book 
 Hypothesize or predict why certain phenomenon occurred 

PK-CS-I2 Conduct simple scientific 
investigations  

16. Explore the motion of objects by 
using balls, toy cars, or spinning tops  

 Observe ice melting 
 Compare cars rolling down a ramp 
 Compare objects that sink and float 

PK-CS-I3 Make observations using 
senses 

No corresponding GLE  Taste test a variety of foods and describe tastes 
 Describe objects in feely box 
 Describe changes in weather 
 

PK-CS-I4 Employ equipment and 
tools to gather data and extend 
sensory observations 

4. Select and use developmentally 
appropriate equipment and tools and 
units of measurement to observe and 
collect data 
7. Identify and use appropriate 
safety procedures and equipment 
when conducting investigations (e.g., 
gloves, goggles, hair ties) 
8. Recognize that a variety of tools 
can be used to examine objects at 
different degrees of magnification 
(e.g., hand lens, microscope) 
12. Determine whether one object 
weighs more or less than another by 
using a pan balance 

 Sift soil with sieve to find organisms in soil 
 Observe objects using color paddles 
 Balance objects in scale to determine which is heavier or lighter 

PK-CS-I5 Collect, interpret, 
communicate data and findings from 
observations and experiments in oral 
and written formats 

5. Express data in a variety of ways 
by constructing illustrations, graphs, 
charts, tables, concept maps, and oral 
and written explanations as 
appropriate 
6. Use a variety of appropriate 
formats to describe procedures and to 
express ideas about demonstrations 
or experiments (e.g., drawings, 
journals, reports, presentations, 
exhibitions, portfolios) 

 Communicate scientific information in a variety of ways (e.g. graph, tally, 
web, draw pictures, oral report) 

 Create models of objects in the environment 
 Participate in discussions where points of view are openly shared 

PK-CS-I6 Use appropriate scientific 
vocabulary related to topics 

No corresponding GLE  Describe the common physical changes of melting, freezing, and evaporating 
 Identify the life cycle of a butterfly using scientific terms (e.g. egg and 

chrysalis) 
*PK-CS-I –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Science – Inquiry 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:526 (February 2011). 
 

§335. Scientific Development—Physical Science 
 

Standard: Begin to acquire scientific knowledge related to physical science 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 S1-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 PS-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 PS-E-C6, C7 ECERS-R Items: 25  
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CS-P1 Begin investigating states 
of matter: solids, liquids, and gases 

10. Determine whether objects float 
or sink through investigations 
13. Compare the properties of different 
solids and liquids through observation 
14. Identify components of simple 
mixtures (e.g., salt/water, rice/beans, 
iron filings/sand) 

 Sort and classify objects by their state of matter 
 Participate in block play using a variety of types of blocks (e.g. wooden 

unit blocks, cardboard blocks, foam blocks) 
 Participate in a variety of sand and water activities 
 Observe what happens to objects when filled with gases 
 Explore three states of water: ice (solid), water (liquid), and steam (gas) 

PK-CS-P2 Describe objects by their 
physical properties 

9. Sort objects using one 
characteristic 
18. Identify selected substances as hot 
or cold 

 Describe objects according to size, shape, color, or state of matter 
 Describe characteristics of sand and water during sand and water play  
 Describe what happens when bottles filled with objects suspended in 

liquids are moved in various ways such as: dirt in water or confetti in Karo 
syrup 
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Standard: Begin to acquire scientific knowledge related to physical science 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 S1-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 PS-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 PS-E-C6, C7 ECERS-R Items: 25  
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CS-P3 Explore the physical world 
using five senses 

3. Use the five senses to describe 
observations 
15. Demonstrate motion by using 
students’ own bodies 
17. Identify different sounds as soft or 
loud  

 Take a walk exploring the environment using the senses of sight, touch, 
smell, and/or sound -- describe findings 

 Match things during a tasting, touching, smelling party 
 Listen to and identify environmental, animal, or voice sounds 

PK-CS-P4 Explore simple machines, 
magnets, and sources of energy 

11. Describe properties of materials 
by using observations made with the 
aid of equipment such as magnets, 
magnifying glasses, pan balances, and 
mirrors 

 Explore magnets, magnifying glasses, balance scales, gears, pulleys, 
mirrors, and wind-up toys 

 Discuss what makes things run by answering open-ended questions (e.g. 
car-gas, waterwheel-water, lamp-electricity) 

*PK-CS-P –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Science – Physical Science 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:526 (February 2011). 
 

§337. Scientific Development—Life Science 
 

Standard: Begin to acquire scientific knowledge related to life science 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 SI-E-B1, B2, B3 PS-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 PS-E-C6, C7 LS-E-A1, A2, A6 LS-E-B1 ECERS-R Items: 25 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CS-L1 Explore, observe, and 
describe a variety of living things 

19. Identify parts of the body and 
how they move 
20. Give examples of different kinds 
of plants and different kinds of 
animals  
21. Distinguish food items from 
nonfood items 
22. Learn about animals and plants 
through nonfiction literature 
23. Observe and care for pets and 
plants 
24. Describe plants and animals in the 
schoolyard or home environments 

 Catch insects and place in bug catchers 
 Use magnifying glass to observe insects 
 Keep a class pet and/or plants in the classroom 
 Observe the effect of darkness and light on growing plants  

PK-CS-L2 Explore, observe, and 
describe a variety of non-living things 

25. Explore and describe various 
properties of rocks, minerals, and soils 

 Compare live insects to plastic insects 
 Collect non-living things, such as rocks, seashells, or buttons 
 Sort examples of living and nonliving things 

PK-CS-L3 Explore, observe, describe, 
and participate in a variety of 
activities related to preserving their 
environment 

No corresponding GLE  Participate in constructing a compost heap 
 Participate in planting a tree 
 Participate in a campus cleanup day 
 Participate in collecting items to recycle 

PK-CS-L4 Begin to develop an 
awareness and understanding of plant 
and animal life cycles and how the life 
cycles vary for different reasons 

No corresponding GLE   Plant and maintain a butterfly garden 
 Read non-fiction age appropriate books about life cycles 
 Observe life cycles of larvae, tadpoles, or mealworms 

 PK-CS-L –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Science – Life Science 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:527 (February 2011). 
 

§339. Scientific Development—Earth Science 
 

Standard: Begin to acquire scientific knowledge related to earth science 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 ESS-E-A1, A4 ESS-E-B1 ECERS-R Items: 25 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
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Standard: Begin to acquire scientific knowledge related to earth science 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: SI-E-A1, A2, A3, A4 SI-E-B1, B2, B3, B4, B5 ESS-E-A1, A4 ESS-E-B1 ECERS-R Items: 25 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(2)(ii) 1304.21(a)(4)(i) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CS-ES1 Investigate, compare, and 
contrast seasonal changes in their 
immediate environment 

9. Sort concrete objects by attribute 
(shape, size, color) 

 Draw, write, and/or dictate a message in journal about what they see, 
feel, and do in certain kinds of weather or over a period of time  

 Dress-up in a variety of seasonal clothing in the dramatic play center 
 Play a lotto game about the seasons 

 

PK-CS-ES2 Discover through 
observation that weather can change 
from day to day 

26. Describe the weather and its daily 
changes 
27. Describe different types of weather 
students have experienced and give 
examples of how daily activities and 
appropriate attire are affected by weather 
conditions 

 Graph each day’s weather 
 Keep weather journal 
 Read a thermometer to determine temperature 
 Keep a record of the day’s temperature either from the ewspaper, 

home, or outside thermometer 
 

PK-CS-ES3 Use vocabulary to describe 
major features of the earth and sky 

28. Learn about objects in the sky 
through nonfiction literature 

 Listen to and retell stories about the earth, sky, land formations, and 
bodies of water such as: In the Night Sky, Happy Birthday Moon, 
Good Night Moon, In a Small, Small Pond, In the Tall, Tall Grass, 
Swimmy, Big Al, The Tiny Seed 

 Discuss things in the day and night time sky 
 Observe and discuss shadows at various times of the day 

*PK-CS-ES –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Science – Earth Science 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2321 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:527 (February 2011). 
Subchapter D. Social Studies 
§341. Social Studies Development 

A. For young children the foundation for learning in 
social studies and history begins with the child's personal 
experiences and understanding of the relationship of self to 
home and family. Their understanding then gradually 
expands to include the people they meet in school, 
neighborhood, community, and the larger world. Teachers 
need to identify children's current knowledge and 
understanding. The prekindergarten curriculum needs to 
focus on concepts that are related to the child's immediate 
experience. 

B. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 
environment: 

1. provide adaptive equipment and materials where 
needed to accommodate children's special needs; 

2. assure that the classroom and school environments 
are handicapped accessible and meet the needs of all 
children; 

3. use appropriate verbal, visual, and physical cues in 
all the activities to meet the special needs of all the children. 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:528 (February 2011). 
§343. Social Studies Development—Geography 
 

 
Standard: Develop an understanding of location, place, relationships within places, movement, and region 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: G-1B-E1 ECERS-R Items: 22 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 
Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 

PK-CSS-G1 Include representations of 
roads, bodies of water, and buildings 
in their play 

1. Identify representations of roads, 
bodies of water, and buildings in play 
activities 

 Use blue paper for a lake in the block area 
 Drive toy cars on roads made from blocks 

PK-CSS-G2 Use words to indicate 
directionality, position, and size 

No corresponding GLE   Correctly use and respond to words, such as left, right, first, last, big, little, 
top, or bottom 

 Verbalize location of objects that are hidden during a Hide and Seek game  
PK-CSS-G3 Develop awareness of the 
world around them 

2. Demonstrate an awareness of the 
world around them (e.g., provide 
simple information about a trip the 
student has taken or where the stude nt 
lives) 

 Recognize some common symbols of state and country, such as the shape 
of Louisiana or United States, or the Louisiana or American flag 

 Observe the path a letter travels when teachers shows route on the map 
 Answers questions about where they went on a trip or other places they 

have lived 
*PK-CSS-C –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies – Geography 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:528 (February 2011). 
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§345. Social Studies Development—Civics 
 
Standard: Develop community and career awareness 

Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: E-1A-E3 Kindergarten Health Standards: 3-E-1 & 3-E-2 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CSS-C1 Recognize community 
workers and increase awareness of 
their jobs 

2. Identify community workers and 
their jobs 

 

 Identify different community workers by the uniform worn or the 
equipment used 

 Participate in field trips to observe community workers 
 Listen to guest speakers, such as a firefighter or a police officer 
 Dress-up and role play different types of community workers 

PK-CSS-C2 Identify his/her role as a 
member of family/class 

5. Participate in patriotic activities  Participate in classroom duties 
 Describe experiences shared within the family 
 Participate in role playing 

*PK-CSS-E –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies – Civics 
 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:529 (February 2011). 
 

§347. Social Studies Development—Economics  
 

Standard: Develop an understanding of how basic economic concepts relate to their everyday lives 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: E-1A-E3 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CSS-E1 Demonstrate an awareness of 
money being used to purchase things 

6. Demonstrate an awareness of the uses 
of money in play activities  

 Use pretend money to purchase things in a dramatic play grocery 
store, bank, or post office 

*PK-CSS-G –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies –Economics 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:529 (February 2011). 
 

§349. Social Studies Development—History 
 

Standard: Develop an understanding of the concept of time 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: H-1A-E1 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-CSS-H1 Use words to describe time 
(yesterday, today, tomorrow) 

7. Demonstrate an awareness of time by 
using and responding to such words as 
yesterday, today, and tomorrow  
 

 Use statements like, “I’m getting a bike today!” or “My birthday 
is tomorrow!” 

 Use statement like, “The field trip was yesterday.”  

*PK-CSS-H –Prekindergarten – Cognitive Social Studies - History 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:529 (February 2011). 
Subchapter E. Creative Arts 
§351. Creative Arts Development 

A. Creative arts development fosters creativity, 
individual expression, self-esteem, imagination, and 
appreciation of diversity. Through music, movement, visual 
arts, and dramatic arts, prekindergarten children are 
encouraged to explore and express themselves creatively. 
Creative expression supports children’s cognitive growth, 
problem-solving skills, and growing insight about the world 
around them. 

B. Effective prekindergarten programs: 
1. integrate creative arts in all developmental 

domains;  
2. provide daily opportunities for creative endeavors; 
3. emphasize the process, rather than the outcome; 

4. offer creative arts experiences in a risk-free 
environment; 

5. encourage children to express themselves freely. 
C. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 

environment: 
1. provide materials that are easily adaptable for 

independent use and ensure that the materials are easily 
accessible; 

2. adapt the environment to promote interaction, 
engagement, and learning; 

3. allow participation based on interest, ability, 
language, and culture. 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:529 (February 2011). 
§353. Stages of Art Development 

A. Scribbling Stage (three to four years of age). Child 
use crayons, markers and paint in zigzag fashion and circular 
motions. Later, the scribbles become more controlled. Their 
work is exploratory. Color is unrealistic. The child begins to 
draw symbols like circles, crosses and lines. 

B. Preschematic Stage (four to seven years of age) 
1. Age Four―the child begins to show definite forms 

in representing a person, making a circle for the head and 
two vertical lines for legs. Sometimes there is a mouth, arms, 
hands, feet or shoes. Objects are drawn at random and they 
are not in sequence or proportion. At this stage, form is more 
important than color. As children progress through this stage, 
size becomes more proportional, and they gain more brush 
control as their paintings begin to look more like 
illustrations. 

2. Age Seven―child has established a mental picture 
of an object that is repeated with each painted repetition of 
the object. For example, each time the child paints a house, 
it will look very much like all the other houses he/she 
painted.  

C. Schematic Stage (six to nine years of age). At this 
stage, sky lines (usually blue) and base lines (usually green) 
appear on the top and bottom of drawings. Items drawn 
between these lines usually are proportional, and they are on 
the base line as appropriate. 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:530 (February 2011). 
 

 
§355. Creative Arts Development—Music 

 

Standard: Begin to participate in musical activities, perform and create music 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3)(ii) & (a)(4)(ii) ECERS-R: 21 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 1-P-4 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not apply to this 
Standard 

1. Respond to variations in music – 
pitch, volume, tempo, beat, rhythm, 
or patterns 

 Participate in musical listening games to hear differences 
in sounds or feel differences in vibrations (e.g. vocal, 
instrumental, sounds, or vibrations produced by 
instruments)  

 Respond to music that has different types of beat by 
tapping or clapping with the beat 

 Reproduce a musical variation with instruments, computer 
programs, voice, hand signs or movement 

  
  2. Express thoughts and feelings in 

response to a variety of diverse types 
of music 

 Use props (e.g. scarves, streamers, instruments) to 
respond with expression to music 

 Draw a picture in response to how they feel as they listen 
to a variety of music 

 Participate in discussions (verbally or with an alternate 
communication system) about a live musical performance 
(e.g. how the performance made you feel, what you liked 
about the performance) 

  3. Make music  Participate in daily musical activities, such as singing, 
finger plays, nursery rhymes, poetry, rhythmic games, 
instruments, and/or musical books 

 Participate in songs and rhythms that reflect different 
languages and cultures 

 Use musical instruments and props indoors or outdoors 
 Create own music using voice, instruments or other 

objects 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:530 (February 2011). 
 

§357. Creative Arts Development—Movement 
 

Standard: Begin to participate in creative movement activities 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) ECERS-R: 21 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 2-P-2; 2-P-3; & 2-P-5 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Observe or participate in 
various forms of movement 

 Observe and repeat the movements of people, animals, and various 
objects 

 Develop body and/or hand movements that express concepts or ideas 
(e.g. feelings, directions, to find an object, or specific words)  

 Play charades or “Simon Says” with prompts from teacher (e.g. stop, 
go, walk, come, angry, sad, hurry, surprise) 
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Standard: Begin to participate in creative movement activities 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) ECERS-R: 21 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 2-P-2; 2-P-3; & 2-P-5 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
  2. Show creativity through 

movement 
 Dance freely to music  
 Imitate various movements found in nature, such as animals, trees, or 

water 
 Exhibit a variety of creative ways to move with or without assistance  

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:530 (February 2011). 

 
§359. Creative Arts Development—Visual Art 

 
Standard: Respond to and begin to create various forms of visual art 

Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21 (a)(4)(ii) ECERS-R: 20 & 27 
Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 

NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard  

1. Observe and/or describe 
various forms of art 

 Work with different art materials in the art center (e.g. clay, paint, collage 
materials, and string) 

 View or feel art objects or exhibits, such as paintings, sculptures 
 Observe and/or tell about various artists and crafters who demonstrate 

different types of art media 
 Describe or show what they like about their own art and art of others 
 Point out various forms of art media (e.g. photographs, collages, 

paintings) found in books, photographs/prints, on school site and on field 
trips  

  2. Create individual and/or 
group art 

 Participate regularly in creative art opportunities using water colors, 
collage materials, paints, paper, scissors, glue, crayons, stamp pads, 
templates, stencils, markers, paint brushes and clay (independently or 
with support) 

 Use a computer program with a mouse, touch screen or other assistive 
technology to create art 

 Work with friends to create a collage or to paint a mural 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:531 (February 2011). 
 

§361. Creative Arts Development—Dramatic Art 
 

Standard: Participate in, perform, and create dramatic art 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(ii) ECERS-R: 24  

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not apply 
to this Standard 

1. Experience and respond to 
a variety of dramatic 
performances (puppetry, story-
telling, dance, plays, 
pantomime, theater) 

 Watch a puppet show the librarian presents for the class when she visits 
their room 

 Participate in retelling a story based on a dramatic performance the class 
saw together 

 Participate in discussions about a dramatic performance (e.g. how the 
performance made you feel, what character[s] did you like best and why?) 

 Create a picture to show feelings after viewing a variety of dramatic 
performances 

  2. Role play or use puppets to 
express feelings, dramatize 
stories, mimic social behaviors 
observed in adults, re-enact 
real-life roles and experiences 

 Play in various interest centers with a variety of props 
 Role-play problem-solving in classroom situations (e.g. taking turns, 

sharing, playing cooperatively, expressing feelings, appropriate behaviors 
and manners) 

 Act out stories that come from different cultures (e.g. fairy tales told by 
persons from a different country or Native American legends) 

 Pretend to cook dinner while playing outside in the sand box 
  3. Participate in activities 

using symbolic materials and 
gestures to represent real 
objects and situations 

 Exhibit free expression and imagination in songs, stories, poems, and 
finger plays (e.g. using scarves to represent birds; hands as thunder, 
raindrops, footsteps; stick for wand, pointer, a horse, or a walking cane) 

 Pretend that objects are something else during play (e.g. using a banana or 
their fingers for a telephone, using bristle blocks as hair clippers) 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2326 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:531 (February 2011). 
Subchapter F. Health and Physical Development 
§363. Health and Physical Development 

A. Health and physical development skills are the 
foundation for the future health and well-being of all 
children. This domain fosters children’s sound nutritional 
choices and health and safety practices for optimal learning. 
Fine and gross motor skills enhance agility and strength, 
neural development, and general body competence. 

B. Effective prekindergarten programs: 
1. integrate physical development and health and 

safety activities into all curriculum areas; 
2. introduce concepts and model behaviors that 

promote a healthy lifestyle. 
3. provide adequate age-appropriate indoor and 

outdoor space and facilities that allow children to experience 
a variety of developmentally appropriate physical activities. 

4. emphasize participation, rather than mastery. 
C. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 

environment:  
1. provide adaptive equipment and materials 2. assure 

that the classroom and school environments are easily 
accessible; 

3. use appropriate verbal, visual, and physical cues in 
all the activities; 

4. allow participation based upon interest, ability, 
language, and culture. 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2329 (November 
2003), amended LR 37:532 (February 2011). 
 

 
§365. Health and Physical Development—Health and Hygiene 
 

Standard: Develop health and hygiene skills 
Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 

NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Demonstrate an awareness 
of healthy practices 

 Engage in activities to learn about healthy and unhealthy foods 
 Understand that some foods are healthy and that some foods are not healthy 
 Participate in practices that promote healthy hygiene 
 Identify reasons for the importance of rest 
 Participate in nutritious cooking activities 
 Recognize that some foods may cause allergic reactions 
 Participate in exercise activities 

  2. Exhibit good hygiene habits 
and self-help skills 

 Use proper handwashing techniques 
 Use appropriate dental hygiene practices 
 Use appropriate toileting skills independently 
 Demonstrate autonomy in routine tasks (e.g. self-dressing, taking care of 

personal belongings, cleaning up after activities) 
 Attempt to cover nose and/or mouth when coughing or sneezing, use tissue 

to wipe nose, wash hands after toileting and nose wiping 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:532 (February 2011). 
 

§367. Health and Physical Development—Environmental Hazards 
 

Standard: Begin to develop an awareness of potential hazards in their environments 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.22(a); (c)(1)(iii); & (d) ECERS-R Items: 14 Kindergarten Health Standards: 1-E-4; 3-E-1; 3-E-2; & 7-E-1 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Identify potentially harmful 
objects, substances, behaviors, 
and/or situations 

 Sort pictures of non-harmful and harmful objects into groups  
 Practice basic strategies to prevent injury (e.g. crossing the street with 

an adult, wearing helmets while bike riding, locking brakes on wheel 
chair when it is not moving, or wearing seatbelts) 

 Avoid touching potentially harmful substances or objects that only 
adults should use (e.g. knives, cleaning supplies, and hot pans) 

 Recognize basic hazard symbols such as “Mr. Yuk” 
  2. Be aware of and follow 

universal safety rules 
 Follow classroom and school rules 
 Practice appropriate emergency drills (fire, tornado, bomb, 911, bus) in 

different environments with guidance from teacher  
 Follow basic safety rules with guidance from teacher (e.g. bus, bicycle, 

playground, crossing the street, and stranger awareness) 
 Recognize basic traffic symbols and signs 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:532 (February 2011). 
 

§369. Health and Physical Development—Gross Motor 
 

Standard: Develop gross motor skills 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(5) ECERS-R Items: 7, 8, & 9 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 1-P-1; 1-P-2; 1-P-3; 2-P-2; 2-P-3; 2-P-4; 2-P-5; 
3-P-2; 3-P-3; 4-P-1; 4-P-2; 4-P-3; 4-P-4; 5-P-1; 5-P-2; 5-P-3; 5-P-4; & 7-P-3  

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Develop coordination, 
balance and spatial awareness 

 Engage in large motor activities, such as climbing stairs/slide ladders 
(alternating feet), marching, hopping, running, jumping, dancing, riding 
tricycles/scooters, pulling or pushing wagons, and painting with large 
strokes 

 Use adaptive equipment, such as scooter boards, modified tricycles, and 
walker ponies to participate in motor activities 

 Walk on balance beam or straight tape line on the floor 
 Balance on one foot 
 Avoid obstacles while running or maneuvering a walker or wheel chair 

by controlling starts, stops, and sudden changes in direction 
 Engage in activities that encourage crossing the midline, such as 

touching the left ear or right ear with the opposite hand or crossing one 
foot over the other foot 

  2. Coordinate movements to 
perform tasks and try new skills 
indoors and/or outdoors 

 Walk, gallop, jump, run and/or move to exercise CDs/videos 
 Tolerate support or assistance for movement activities (e.g. assisted 

movement of arms, legs or trunk or balancing on a large ball)  
 Use open-ended materials (e.g. planks, wooden boxes, or hollow blocks) 

to move about, build and construct 
 Engage in large motor activities that promote basic non-locomotor skills 

(e.g. bending and stretching), spatial awareness and balance 
 Engage in activities that develop skills with a ball (e.g. moving body into 

position to catch or kick a ball, bouncing, kicking, throwing, catching, or 
rolling) 

 Participate in a number of indoor and outdoor activities that increase 
strength, endurance, and flexibility, such as running for increasing 
amounts of time, participating in stretching activities, or climbing 
through tunnels 

 Use outdoor/indoor large motor equipment daily to enhance strength and 
stamina in movement activities 

 Play simple group games 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:533 (February 2011). 
 

§371. Health and Physical Development—Fine Motor 
 

Standard: Develop fine motor skills 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(5) ECERS-R Items: 19 and 20 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not apply to this 
Standard  

1. Strengthen and control small muscles 
in hands 

 Tear paper 
 Use adaptive materials, such as triangle crayons or 

adaptive scissors  
 Work with play dough and clay 
 Squeeze wet sponges or use tongs or large tweezers 

to pick up objects  
 Spin a top 

  2. Exhibit manual coordination  Use hands and fingers to act out finger plays and 
songs 

 Use scissors and art materials 
 Snap, button, or zip on clothing or clothing materials 
 Use large tweezers to move objects from one place to 
 another 

  3. Participate in eye-hand coordination 
activities and develop spatial awareness 

 Use beads, laces, and pegs 
 Cut paper with scissors 
 Complete simple puzzles 
 Use computer mouse or touch screen 
 Scoop dry sand and pour into a bottle 
 Use a variety of items/textures 
 Use plastic links to make a necklace 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2330 (November 
2003), LR 37:533 (February 2011). 
Subchapter G. Language and Literacy  
§373. Language and Literacy Development 

A. Language and literacy are composed of listening, 
speaking, writing, thinking, and reading. The foundations of 
language and literacy are critical to all other curriculum 
areas as well as to the individual's social and emotional 
development. Children develop the basis for communication 
in the early childhood years, beginning with nonverbal and 
social exchanges, then developing spoken language, moving 
to an understanding of how oral language is translated into 
written symbols, and finally learning to decode and create 
written symbols to develop literacy. A solid foundation in 
language development in the years before a child enters 
school will promote success in reading and writing in the 
future. Young children who have rich language and literacy 
experiences are less likely to have difficulties learning to 
read. 

B. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 
environment: 

1. provide good models of communication; 
2. use special or adaptive devices to increase level of 

communication and/or participation; 
3. use a favorite toy, activity or person to encourage 

communication and/or participation; 
4. provide opportunities for interaction with typically 

developing peers. 
NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:534 (February 2011). 
§375. Beginning Reading Skills 

A. Scientifically based reading research shows that it is 
important for preschool age children to experience the 
following language, cognitive, and early reading skills for 
continued school success. 

1. Phonological Awareness includes: 
a. identifying and making oral rhymes; 
b. identifying and working with syllables in spoken 

words through segmenting and blending; 
c. identifying and working with "onsets" (all sounds 

of a word that come before the first vowel) and "rimes" (the 

first vowel in a word and all the sounds that follow) in 
spoken syllables; 

d. identifying and working with individual sounds 
in spoken words (phonemic awareness). 

2. Oral Language—development of expressive and 
receptive language, including vocabulary, the contextual use 
of speech and syntax, and oral comprehension abilities. 

3. Print Awareness—knowledge of the purposes and 
conventions of print. 

4. Alphabet Knowledge—recognize letters of the 
alphabet (not rote memory).  

Source: Early Reading First Guidelines 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:534 (February 2011). 
§377. Stages of Written Language Development 

A. Children learn to write through a natural 
developmental progression. Each child should be allowed to 
progress at their own pace. There are at least six different 
stages of writing. 

 
Stage 1―Random Scribbling: (2 and 3 years old) 

Children make marks on paper with little muscular control. 
Stage 2―Controlled Scribbling: (3 years old) 

Children "write" across the paper in linear fashion, repeating patterns over 
again, showing increased muscular control. 

Stage 3―Letter-like Forms: (3 and 4 year olds) 
Children make mock letters. These are written lines of letters that have 
letter characteristics, but they are misshapen and written randomly, even 
covering the page. They pretend they are writing; in their work they 
separate writing from drawing. They have purpose to their letter-like 
forms. 

Stage 4―Letter and Symbol Relationship: (4 year olds) 
Children write letters to represent words and syllables. They can write 
their names. They know the word that represents their names. They can 
copy words. Reversals are frequent. 

Stage 5―Invented Spelling: (4 and 5 year olds) 
Children make the transition from letter forms to invented spelling. This 
requires organization of letters and words on the page. They use a group 
of letters to form a word. Many of the letters will be consonants. They 
understand that letters relate to sounds. Some punctuation appears. They 
can copy words from their environment. 

Stage 6―Standard Spelling: (5, 6, and 7 year olds) 
Most of the words the children use are written correctly; some add 
punctuation. They organize their words in lines with spaces between the 
words; they move from left to right, and from the top of the to the bottom. 

Source: The Portfolio and Its Use: A Road Map for 
Assessment by Southern Early Childhood Association 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2332 (November 
2003), LR 37:534 (February 2011). 
 

 
§379. Language and Literacy Development—Listening 
 

Standard: Develop and expand listening skills 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: ELA-1-E1; ELA-4-E2, E3, E5, E6, E7 ECERS-R Items: 18 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21 (a)(4)(iii) & (a)(4)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-LL-L1 Listen with 
understanding to directions 
and conversations  
 

8. Listen to a story and state orally what 
the story is about 
10. Share related life experiences after 
stories are read aloud 

 Respond to stories read to the whole class  
 Understand changes in the morning activity schedule being described by 

the teacher 
 Carry on a conversation with another person that develops a thought or 

idea expressed by the group earlier 
 Listen to tapes or CD’s and show understanding through body language or 
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Standard: Develop and expand listening skills 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: ELA-1-E1; ELA-4-E2, E3, E5, E6, E7 ECERS-R Items: 18 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21 (a)(4)(iii) & (a)(4)(iv) 
1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
by interacting with such 

 
PK-LL-L2 Follow directions 
that involve two- or three-step 
sequence of actions 

24. Follow one- and two-step verbal 
and nonverbal directions 
8. Listen to a story and state orally 
what the story is about 
 

 Repeat an instruction to a friend 
 Follow these instructions, “Wash you hands, then sit at the table” 
 Follow these instructions, “Get your coat, put it on, then sit next to your 

friend” 
 Follow directions given to the class, such as “Take this note about our 

class trip home, have a family member sign it, and bring it back to me” 
PK-LL-L3 Hear and 
discriminate the sounds of 
language in the environment 
to develop beginning 
phonological awareness 
 

1. Demonstrate understanding of 
phonological awareness by doing the 
following: 
 Manipulating endings of words and 

nonsense words to make rhyming 
sounds 

 Manipulating syllables in spoken 
words (segment/blend) 

 Identifying and manipulating onset 
and rime in words with three sounds 
(onset of the word cake is /k/ and the 
rime of the word cake is /-ake/) 

 Repeating each word in a simple 
sentence  

2. Demonstrate understanding of 
phonemic awareness by manipulating and 
identifying individual sounds (phonemes) in 
spoken words with three sounds 
3. Demonstrate understanding of 
alphabetic principle by doing the following: 

 Identifying own first name in print 
 Identifying at least eight uppercase or 

lowercase letters, focusing on those 
in the student’s name 

18. Participate in group-shared writing 
activities that include rhyming and 
descriptive words 
27. Actively participate in role-playing, 
creative dramatics, finger plays, nursery 
rhymes and choral speaking 

 Listen to and participate in many nursery rhymes, chants, poems, 
fingerplays, and songs 

 Make up silly rhymes, such as funny bunny or silly willy 
 Clap hands for each syllable in a word, such as clap hands three times 

when saying Su-zan-na 
 Sing songs that segment words or accent beginning sounds, and with 

teacher, clap to the syllables 
 Play with sounds to create new words, such as “Pass the bapkin napkin” 

(rhymes)  
 Notice words that begin in the same way, such as “My name begins the 

same as popcorn and pig” (onsets) 

PK-LL-L4 Demonstrate 
understanding of new 
vocabulary introduced in 
conversations, activities, 
stories or books 

5. Orally respond to questions using 
new vocabulary introduced in 
conversations, activities, stories, or 
books 
27. Actively participate in 
role-playing, creative dramatics, finger 
plays, nursery rhymes and choral 
speaking 

 Listen to a variety of literature genre, including narratives, nursery 
rhymes, other poems, and informational books 

 Listen to read-aloud books that are characterized by less common 
vocabulary, more complex sentences, and concepts 

PK-LL-L5 Engage in 
activities that offer the 
opportunity to develop skills 
associated with technology by 
viewing, comprehending, and 
using non-textual information 

28. Listen and orally respond to questions 
about media, including music and videos 
30. Identify a computer mouse and its 
purpose (i.e., to navigate the screen) 

 Listen to a story on a tape or a CD 
 Listen to recordings of age-appropriate stories while looking at a book 
 Use age-appropriate and interactive software programs when available 

 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:534 (February 2011). 
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§381. Language and Literacy Development—Speaking 
 

Standard: Communicate experiences, ideas, and feelings through speaking 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: ELA-2-E1 & E2 ELA-4-E1, E2, E5, E6, E7 ECERS-R Items: 15 & 17 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21 
(a)(4)(iii) & (a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-LL-S1 Develop and 
expand expressive language 
skills 

7. Role-play using different voices 
to represent characters in familiar 
stories 
10. Share related life experiences 
after stories are read aloud 
11. Orally express thoughts about 
characters or events in a story 
21. Use words, phrases, and/or 
sentences to express feelings, ideas, 
needs, and wants 
22. Carry on a conversation about a 
topic, thought, or idea from the 
classroom, home, or community 
23. Repeat an instruction given 
orally 
29. Recognize and follow 
agreed-upon rules for discussing, 
such as raising one's hand, waiting 
one's turn, and speaking one at a time 
31. Identify and use information 
that is formatted in a chart or graph, 
such as a daily schedule 

 Use different voices for characters in stories read aloud or told, such as 
The Three Bears and The Three Billy Goats Gruff 

 Role play activities where different levels of volume would be used, such 
as when a baby is sleeping or when calling to someone standing far away 

 Participate as an equal partner in conversations by responding to others, 
making relevant comments, or providing more information when message 
is not understood 

 Talk through or explain reasoning when problem-solving (classroom 
materials or behaviors) 

PK-LL-S2 Use new 
vocabulary in spontaneous 
speech 

11. Orally express thoughts about 
characters or events in a story 
21. Use words, phrases, and/or 
sentences to express feelings, ideas, 
needs, and wants 
27. Actively participate in 
role-playing, creative dramatics, 
finger plays, nursery rhymes and 
choral speaking 

 Incorporate words and phrases from books, stories, and activities into 
play 

 Incorporate story elements into play 
 Participate in class discussions of books, stories, and activities 
 Use new vocabulary introduced in a thematic study during play 

PK-LL-S3 Ask and answer 
relevant questions and share 
experiences individually and 
in groups 

9. Answer simple questions about 
a story read aloud 
14. Use simple reasoning skills, 
including asking simple questions 
about a story read aloud 
22. Carry on a conversation about a 
topic, thought, or idea from the 
classroom, home, or community 
26. Speak about life experiences or 
topics of interest 

 Dictate stories during small group time about experiences they have had 
 Ask simple questions, such as “What’s for lunch?” or “Can we play 

outside today?” 
 Ask questions to further their understanding, such as “Where does the 

snow go when it melts?” or “Why does that man wear a uniform?” 
 Answer questions with a complete thought, such as “I took a bus to 

school” or “I want purple and blue paint” 

 PK-LL-S –Prekindergarten – Language and Literacy Development – Speaking 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:536 (February 2011). 
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§383. Language and Literacy Development—Reading 
 

Standard: Engage in activities that promote the acquisition of emergent reading skills 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: ELA-2-E1, E2 & ELA-4-E1, E2, E5, E6, E7 ECERS-R Items: 15 Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(4)(iii) 
and (a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-LL-R1 Actively 
engage in reading 
experiences 

14. Use simple reasoning skills, including 
identifying reality and fantasy in texts read 
aloud  
27. Actively participate in role-playing, 
creative dramatics, finger plays, nursery 
rhymes and choral speaking 

 Listen with interest to a story read or told by an adult or another child 
 Track along and verbalize as teacher points to individual words in shared 

reading (e.g. big books, songs, poems, or recipes) 
 Retell familiar stories 
 Complete phrases about familiar stories 
 Ask questions about the illustrations in a book or about details in a story 

just heard 
 Choose and look at books independently 
 Act out familiar stories with props 

PK-LL-R2 Retell 
information from a story 

11. Orally express thoughts about 
characters or events in a story 
12. Demonstrate understanding of texts 
read aloud using a variety of strategies, 
including: 
 Sequencing two or three pictures to 
illustrate events in a story 
 Participating in a group discussion to 
predict what a book will be about 
determining whether the prediction was 
accurate 
13. Identify problems and solutions in 
stories that are read aloud 
14. Use simple reasoning skills, including 
determining why something happens in a 
story read aloud 
25. Retell part of a favorite story 

 Use words or pictures to begin to retell some story events in sequence 
 Dramatize familiar stories, such as Caps for Sale or Brown Bear, Brown 

Bear 
 Relate the main thought of a story read several days before 
 Stage a puppet show based on a story read or told to the group 

PK-LL-R3 Demonstrate 
an understanding of 
print concepts and 
beginning alphabetic 
knowledge 

5. Demonstrate understanding of book 
and print concepts by doing the following: 

 Recognizing that a book has a 
cover and identifying the cover 
and title of a book 

 Holding a book right side up 
 Differentiating between an 

illustration and printed text 
 Recognizing that print is read 

left-to-right and top-to-bottom 

 Recognize and begin writing own name, demonstrating that letters are 
grouped to form words 

 Pretend to read by pointing with a finger while reciting text 
 Look at books appropriately, turning one page at a time, left to right over 

text, going from top to bottom, front to back of book 
 Recognize familiar logos, such as McDonald’s or Wal-Mart 
 Recognize book by cover 

PK-LL-R4 Use 
emerging reading skills 
to make meaning from 
print 

6. Relate pictures to characters 
9. Answer simple questions about a story 
read aloud 

 Use illustrations to predict printed text, such as saying “And the wolf 
blew down the pig’s house” 

 Make predictions about print content by using prior knowledge, pictures, 
text heard, and story structure skills 

 

 PK-LL-S –Prekindergarten – Language and Literacy Development – Speaking 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:537 (February 2011). 
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§385. Language and Literacy Development—Writing 
 

Standard: Engage in activities that promote the acquisition of emergent writing skills 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards: ELA-1-E5; ELA-2-E1, E2, E6; & ELA-3-E1 ECERS-R Items: 16 & 19 Head Start Performance Standards: 
1304.21(a)(4)(iii) and (a)(4)(iv) 1304.21(c)(1)(ii) 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
PK-LL-W1 Experiment with a variety of 
writing tools, materials, and surfaces 

15. Use scribble writing, letter-like 
forms, dictation, or drawing to represent a 
word or concept 
 

 Draw or write using pencils, crayons, chalk, markers, 
rubber stamps, and computers 

 Draw or write using materials, such as brushes and 
water, feathers, roll-on bottles, shaving cream, and 
zip-lock bags filled with hair gel or paint 

 Draw or write on paper, cardboard, chalkboard, dry 
erase boards, wood, and concrete 

 
PK-LL-W2 Use forms of shapes and letter-
like symbols to convey ideas 

15. Use scribble writing, letter-like 
forms, dictation, or drawing to represent a 
word or concept 
17. Write informal notes, lists, and 
letters using scribble writing and/or 
pictures 
19. Scribble write or draw a picture of a 
life experience or response to a text read 
aloud 
20. Demonstrate consistent 
top-to-bottom formation for letters or 
letter-like forms 

 Use scribble writing and letter-like forms, especially 
those letters in their own name 

 Begin to represent ideas and experiences through 
drawing and early stages of writing, such as “I ms u” 

 Attempt to connect the sounds in words with their 
written letter forms 

PK-LL-W3 Participate in a variety of writing 
activities focused on meaningful words and 
print in the environment 

15. Use scribble writing, letter-like 
forms, dictation, or drawing to represent a 
word or concept 
16. Orally generate words, ideas, and 
lists for group writing activities 
17. Write informal notes, lists, and 
letters using scribble writing and/or 
pictures 
18. Participate in group-shared writing 
activities that include rhyming and 
descriptive words 

 Use a variety of writing utensils and props to 
encourage writing in different centers, such as 
o Journals, sign-in sheets, name cards, cards with 

words and pictures in the writing center 
o Counter checks, grocery store advertisements 

with paper to make grocery list in the dramatic 
play center 

o Materials to make books, cards, or write 
messages in the art center 

o Paper, tape, dowels, and play dough to make 
signs or enhance structures in the block center 

 Paper or blank books to record observations of 
animals or results of experiments in the science center 

PK-LL-W4 Demonstrate an interest in using 
writing for a purpose 

17. Write informal notes, lists, and 
letters using scribble writing and/or 
pictures 
18. Participate in group-shared writing 
activities that include rhyming and 
descriptive words 
19. Scribble write or draw a picture of a 
life experience or response to a text read 
aloud 

 Pretend to write a prescription while playing clinic 
 Scribble writes next to picture 
 Tell teacher, “Write it down so everyone can read it.” 
 Ask teacher, “How do I write Happy Birthday?” 
 Write own name on a drawing for a friend 
 Make deliberate letter choices during writing 

attempts 
 Draw a representation of a school bus with a flat and 

explains picture. Make a book from the paper and 
write the school bus story using scribbles, letter-like 
symbols or letters to retell the school bus incident. 

 Create a recipe for a favorite snack 
 Compose notes/invitations to family/friends 

*PK-LL-W –Prekindergarten – Language and Literacy Development ― Writing 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:538 (February 2011). 
Subchapter H. Social and Emotional 
§387. Social and Emotional Development 

A. This domain supports the social and emotional 
development of children. The standards in this domain 
promote self-regulation, positive self-identity, self-reliance, 
respect for others, and interpersonal relationships. These 
skills are essential because the foundations of social 
competence developed during the first five years of life are 
linked to emotional well-being and affect later ability and 
functionality to adapt in school and form successful 
relationships. Strong social and emotional development 
programming significantly raises test scores and lowers 

levels of distress, disruptive behavior, and future substance 
abuse. 1 Prekindergarten children need proper guidance to 
develop the ability to negotiate issues that occur, to take 
turns, to lead and follow, and to be a friend. They also need 
to learn how to manage and express their feelings in a 
socially acceptable manner.  

B. Effective prekindergarten programs: 
1. offer opportunities for appropriate social and 

emotional development in a safe and supportive climate that 
minimizes stress and conflict; 

2. introduce concepts and model techniques that 
promote positive identity and social interactions; 

3. provide consistency and predictability in daily 
routines, environment, and staff; 

4. integrate social and emotional development into all 
curriculum areas. 
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C. Strategies to support an inclusive learning 
environment: 

1. create an environment that encourages participation 
based upon interest, ability, language, and culture; 

2. plan opportunities for social interactions with all 
peers; 

3. prepare children for transitions that occur within the 
daily routine; 

4. model and reinforce respect for individual 
differences. 

NOTE: To facilitate the inclusion of all children, including 
those with varying abilities, IEPs, and/or English Language 
Learners, some sample accommodations are embedded within 
the examples provided for the indicators. Please see Appendix 
A and Appendix B for further information and suggested 
modifications and/or accommodations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:538 (February 2011). 
 

 
§389. Social and Emotional Development—Self-Regulation 
 

Standard: Develop self-regulation by increasing one’s ability to control actions, thinking processes, and emotions 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3); (c)(1)(iv); and (c)(1)(vi) ECERS-R Items: 29, 31, and 33 Kindergarten Health Standards: 1-E-2; 4-E-1; 4-
E-2 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 5-P-1 and 5-P-2 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not apply to 
this Standard 

1. Follow rules and routines and adapt 
to changes in rules and routines 

 Follow simple rules, such as walking in the hallway, 
keeping hands and feet to oneself, and speaking nicely to 
others 

 Separate easily from parents/caregivers upon arrival and 
departure 

 Manage daily routines appropriately (e.g., participate in 
snack time, nap or other routine activities) without much 
delay or protest 

 Manage daily transitions by moving from one activity to 
another without much delay or protest 

 Can change routine and adapt when daily activities are 
interrupted unexpectedly 

  2. Express feelings, needs, and wants in 
a manner that is age appropriate to the 
situation 

 Identify common emotions (such as happy, sad, mad) 
using any form of communication, such as verbal 
communication, gestures, motions, signs, communication 
devices, or various languages 

 Use words or other modes of communication to express 
anger, instead of a negative physical behavior, such as 
hitting, biting, etc. 

 Communicate with appropriate body language and facial 
expressions (e.g., smile or raise hand upon completion of a 
task) 

  3. Demonstrate control over impulsive 
behaviors in various settings 

 Pay attention as required by a task 
 Wait for turn to touch class pet 
 Follow the teacher’s instructions not to touch a knife 

during a cooking activity  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:539 (February 2011). 
 

§391. Social and Emotional Development—Self-Identity 
 

Standard: Develop positive self-identity by valuing oneself and feeling a sense of belonging 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3); (c)(1)(iv); & (c)(1)(vi) Kindergarten Health Standards: 1-E-2 and 2-E-1 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 7-
P-1; 7-P-2; and 7-P-3 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 
 

1. Recognize oneself as having 
unique characteristics and 
preferences 

 Share personal information, such as name, gender, eye color 
 Communicate awareness and acceptance of individual differences between 

children by commenting, “Michael uses a hearing aid, but I don’t” or 
“Tommy says things differently than I do” 

 Indicate favorite books, foods, or songs 
 

  2. Recognize and express 
feelings 

 Create drawings, stories, and songs to illustrate emotions (e.g., If you’re sad 
and you know it…) 

 Talk about or act in ways to express emotions without harming self, others, 
or property (e.g., dancing or exercising until out of breath, relaxing in a 
cozy area) 

 Stand up for own rights (e.g. “I don’t like it when you take my ball” if toy is 
taken away or “I am supposed to be the leader today” if another child 
pushes to the front of the line) 

 Participate in discussions of a character from a story 
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Standard: Develop positive self-identity by valuing oneself and feeling a sense of belonging 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3); (c)(1)(iv); & (c)(1)(vi) Kindergarten Health Standards: 1-E-2 and 2-E-1 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 7-
P-1; 7-P-2; and 7-P-3 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
  3. Discuss his/her own family  Identify members of his/her family and their roles in the family 

 Tell stories, draw pictures, or verbally describe family practices, such as “My 
family eats rice with every meal” 

 Tell the class that his/her family uses the word “casa” instead of “house”  
 Talk about family experiences, such as weekend activities or trips 

  4. Demonstrate confidence in 
range of abilities and express pride 
in accomplishments 

 Say, “Watch me! I can do it by myself!” 
 Ask a friend or adult to look at what he/she has painted 
 Use home language to label objects in the classroom for peers 

  5. Attempt new experiences  Move away from adults to play alone or with peers, checking back as 
needed 

 Investigate new materials without teacher prompting 
 Initiate play with a new classmate 
 Try a new outdoor game 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:539 (February 2011). 
 

 
§393. Social and Emotional Development—Self-Reliance 
 

Standard: Develop self-reliance by demonstrating independence and self-help skills 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3); (c)(1)(iv); & (c)(1)(vi) Kindergarten Health Standards: 1-E-3 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 5-P-2; & 5-P-4 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not 
apply to this Standard 

1. Develop independence during 
activities, routines, and play 

 Self select a center to play in using words, picture cues, home language, 
sign, gestures 

 Upon arrival, place items in cubbies, wash hands independently, and 
dry hands 

 Put on a jacket without help 

  2. Choose activities and use 
materials appropriately, 
purposefully, respectfully, and 
safely 

 Choose puzzle, use puzzle, and put puzzle back on shelf 
 Choose a center, play in that center, clean up and move to another 

center 
 Put tapes/CDs in player to listen to music  
 Use markers, crayons, scissors, and paint only on paper or other 

appropriate materials 

  3. Show increasing competence in 
a wide range of self-care activities 

 Brush his/her own teeth 
 Indicate to an adult when he/she has to go to the bathroom 
 When cold, get his/her own coat and put it on independently 

  4. Seek guidance from peers and 
adults when needed  

 Ask an adult before touching something that might not be safe 
 Seek assistance when having trouble putting on shoes 
 Seek assistance when dealing with a difficult conflict 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:539 (February 2011). 
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§395. Social and Emotional Development—Respect for Others 
 

Standard: Develop a respect for and understanding of others 
Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3); (c)(1)(iv); and (c)(1)(vi) ECERS: 28 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 6-P-1; 6-P-2; & 6-P-3 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not apply to 
this Standard 

1. Recognize and respect the feelings, 
needs, and rights of others 
 

 Laugh or smile when others are happy 
 Indicate that another child is sad because her 

parent/caregiver left 
 Bring a truck book to someone who loves trucks 
 Be respectful of another’s personal space and belongings 
 Be respectful of others’ cultures, languages, customs, 

appearances, and needs 

  2. Demonstrate growing understanding 
of how one’s actions affect others 

 With encouragement from an adult, give a pat, friendly 
word, or toy to a peer to whom he/she has caused distress 

 Begin to recognize the feelings reflected by others’ facial 
expressions 

 Invite another child to play when other children have 
rejected that child 

  3. Demonstrate awareness of and 
respect for uniqueness of others 
 

 Show interest in how people in different cultures live 
 Participate in various cultural activities (e.g. stories, 

cooking, songs) 
 Interact appropriately with others different from oneself 
 Accept peers with different abilities 

 
 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:541 (February 2011). 
 

 
§395. Social and Emotional Development—Interpersonal Skills 
 

Standard: Develop interpersonal skills that foster positive relationships 

Head Start Performance Standards: 1304.21(a)(3); (c)(1)(iv); & (c)(1)(vi) ECERS-R: 31, 32, & 33 Kindergarten P.E. Standards: 5-P-2; 5-P-3; 5-P-4; & 6-P-2 

Indicator Grade-level Expectation Examples 
NOTE: PreK Indicators do not apply to 
this Standard 

1. Play cooperatively with peers for a 
sustained time 
 

 Take turns 
 Successfully enter a group 
 Participate successfully in group activities 
 Work with others to complete a task, such as building a 

block tower 
  2. Build conflict resolution skills  Move from physical to verbal responses in conflicts with 

other children 
 Engage another child in a conversation about a toy he/she 

wants 
 Trade one toy for another 
 Seek assistance from the teacher for help when dealing 

with others who are less able to resolve a conflict 
  3. Develop and maintain positive 

relationships with peers and adults 
 Tells someone, “Mary is my friend” 
 Share a book with a friend 
 Give teacher a hug or a smile 
 Separate from parents to greet teacher 
 Demonstrate happiness when reunited with parents at the 

end of the day 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:541 (February 2011). 
Chapter 5. Pre-K Standards at a Glance 
§501. Approaches to Learning 
 

Reasoning and Problem-Solving 
GLE 1 Demonstrate an intrinsic motivation to learn by 

displaying interest in real world experiences 
GLE 2 Demonstrate the ability to think systematically and use 

reasoning skills 
GLE 3 Use a variety of strategies to investigate possible 

solutions when problem-solving 
GLE 4 Approach tasks and experiences with flexibility, 

imagination, and inventiveness to create new ideas 
outside of his/her own experience 

GLE 5 Discuss ideas and experiences with others, utilizing any 
form of communication 

GLE 6 Reflect on investigations and their results by making 
observations and possibly forming new ideas 

Initiative, Engagement, and Persistence 
GLE 1 Show curiosity and interest in learning new things and 

trying new experiences 
GLE 2 Demonstrate initiative and independence in selecting and 

carrying out activities 
GLE 3 Maintain attention in child-initiated and teacher-initiated 

activities for short periods of time, despite distractions 
and interruptions 

GLE 4 Demonstrate an increasing ability to plan and work 
towards completion of tasks and activities, even when 
faced with frustration because the task or activity is 
difficult 

Curiosity and Eagerness to Learn 
GLE 1 Make choices about play activities, materials, and 

playmates/companions 
GLE 2 Engage in unfamiliar activities during play 

GLE 3 Use prior knowledge and experiences to learn new skills 
during play 

GLE 4 Use manipulatives and other hands-on materials to learn 
concepts and skills related to core content areas 

GLE 5 Describe play experiences using English or another 
language or another mode of communication 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:542 (February 2011). 
§503. Cognitive Development—Mathematics 
 

Number and Number Relations 
PK-CM-N1 Compare numbers of objects 
PK-CM-N2 Perform one-to-one correspondence 
PK-CM-N3 Count by rote 
PK-CM-N4 Begin to count objects 
PK-CM-N5 Begin to recognize numerals 
PK-CM-N6 Begin to demonstrate estimation skills 
Measurement 
PK-CM-M1 Experience, compare, and use language relating to time 
PK-CM-M2 Anticipate, remember, and describe sequences of events 
PK-CM-M3 Use mathematical language to describe experiences 

involving measurement 
PK-CM-M4 Measure objects in the physical world using non-standard 

units of measurement 
Geometry  
PK-CM-G1 Recognize, name, describe, compare, and create basic 

shapes 
PK-CM-G2 Identify shapes to describe physical world 
PK-CM-G3 Describe and interpret spatial sense: positions, directions, 

distances, and order 

Data Analysis 
PK-CM-D1 Sort and classify materials by one or more characteristics 
PK-CM-D2 Collect and organize data about themselves, their 

surroundings, and meaningful experiences 
PK-CM-D3 Interpret simple representations in data 
Patterns and Relationships 
PK-CM-P1 Recognize patterns in the physical world 
PK-CM-P2 Describe, copy, extend, create patterns and make 

predictions about patterns 
PK-CM-P3 Seriate objects 
 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:542 (February 2011). 
§505. Cognitive Development—Science 
 

Science as Inquiry 
PK-CS-I1 Use prior knowledge and experiences to hypothesize, predict, 

generate questions, and draw conclusions about organisms 
and events in the environment 

PK-CS-I2 Conduct simple scientific experiments 
PK-CS-I3 Make observations using senses 
PK-CS-I4 Employ equipment and tools to gather data and extend 

sensory observations 
PK-CS-I5 Collect, interpret, communicate data and findings from 

observation and experiments in oral and written format 
PK-CS-I6 Use appropriate scientific vocabulary related to topics 
Physical Science 
PK-CS-P1 Begin investigating states of matter: solids, liquids, and gases 
PK-CS-P2 Describe objects by their physical properties 
PK-CS-P3 Explore the physical world using five senses 
PK-CS-P4 Explore simple machines, magnets, and sources of energy 
Life Science 
PK-CS-L1 Explore, observe, and describe a variety of living things 
PK-CS-L2 Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a variety of 

non-living things  
PK-CS-L3 Explore, observe, describe, and participate in a variety of 

activities related to preserving their environment 
PK-CS-L4 Begin to develop an awareness and understanding of plant 

and animal life cycles and how the life cycles vary for 
different reasons 

Earth and Space Science 
PK-CS-ES1 Investigate, compare, and contrast seasonal changes in their 

immediate environment 
PK-CS-ES2 Discover through observation that weather can change from 

day to day 
PK-CS-ES3 Use vocabulary to describe major features of the earth and 

sky 

 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2341 (November 
2003), LR 37:542 (February 2011). 
§507. Cognitive Development—Social Studies 
  

Geography 
PK-CSS-G1 Include representations of roads, bodies of water, and 

buildings in their play 
PK-CSS-G2  Use words to indicate directionality, position, and size 

PK-CSS-G3 Develop awareness of the world around them 

Civics 
PK-CSS-C1 Recognize community workers and increase awareness of 

their jobs 
PK-CSS-C2 Identify his/her role as a member of family/class 

Economics 
PK-CSS-E1 Demonstrate an awareness of money being used to 

purchase items 
History 

PK-CSS-H1 Use words to describe time (yesterday, today, tomorrow) 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:0000 (November 
2003), LR 37:542 (February 2011). 
§509. Creative Arts Development 
 

Music 
GLE 1 Respond to variations in music – pitch, volume, tempo, 

beat, rhythm, or patterns 
GLE 2 Express thoughts and feelings in response to a variety of 

diverse types of music 
GLE 3 Make music 

Movement 
GLE 1 Observe or participate in various forms of movement 
GLE 2 Show creativity through movement 

Visual Arts  
GLE 1 Observe and/or describe various forms of art  
GLE 2 Create individual and/or group art 

Dramatic Art 
GLE 1 Experience and respond to a variety of dramatic 

performances (puppetry, story-telling, dance, plays, 
pantomime, theater) 

GLE 2 Role play or use puppets to express feelings, dramatize 
stories, mimic social behaviors observed in adults, re-
enact real-life roles and experiences 

GLE 3 Participate in activities using symbolic materials and 
gestures to represent real objects and situations 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2340 (November 
2003), LR 37:543 (February 2011). 
§511. Health and Physical Development 
 

Health and Hygiene 
GLE 1 Demonstrate an awareness of healthy practices 

GLE 2 Exhibit good hygiene and self-help skills 

Environmental Hazards 
GLE 1 Identify potentially harmful objects, substances, or 

behaviors, and/or situations 
GLE 2 Be aware of and follow universal safety rules 

Gross Motor 
GLE 1 Develop coordination, balance and spatial awareness 

GLE 2 Coordinate movements to perform tasks and try new 
skills indoors and/or outdoors 

Fine Motor 
GLE 1 Strengthen and control small muscles in hands 

GLE 2 Exhibit manual coordination 

GLE 3 Participate in eye-hand coordination activities and 
develop spatial awareness 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2341 (November 
2003), LR 37:543 (February 2011). 
§513. Language and Literacy Development 
 

Listening 
PK-LL-L1 Listen with understanding to directions and 

conversations 
PK-LL-L2 Follow directions that involve two- or three-

step sequence of actions 

PK-LL-L3 Hear and discriminate the sounds of language 
in the environment to develop beginning 
phonological awareness 

PK-LL-L4 Demonstrate understanding of new vocabulary 
introduced in conversations, activities, stories 
or books 

PK-LL-L5 Engage in activities that offer the opportunity 
to develop skills associated with technology by 
viewing, comprehending, and using non-
textual information 

Speaking 
PK-LL-S1 Develop and expand expressive language skills 

PK-LL-S2 Use new vocabulary in spontaneous speech 

PK-LL-S3 Develop appropriate listening skills 

Reading 
PK-LL-R1 Actively engage in reading experiences 

PK-LL-R2 Retell information from a story 

PK-LL-R3 Demonstrate an understanding of print 
concepts and beginning alphabetic knowledge 

PK-LL-R4 Use emerging reading skills to make meaning 
from print 

Writing 
PK-LL-W1 Experiment with a variety of writing tools, 

materials, and surfaces 
PK-LL-W2 Use forms of shapes and letter-like symbols to 

convey ideas 
PK-LL-W3 Participate in a variety of writing activities 

focused on meaningful words and print in the 
environment 

PK-LL-W4 Demonstrate an interest in using writing for a 
purpose 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 29:2341 (November 
2003), LR 37:543 (February 2011). 
§515. Social and Emotional Development 
 

Self-Regulation 
GLE 1 Follow rules and routines and adapt to changes in 

rules and routines 
GLE 2 Express feelings, needs, and wants in a manner that 

is age appropriate to the situation 
GLE 3 Demonstrate control over impulsive behaviors in 

various settings 
Self-Identity 

GLE 1 Recognize oneself as having unique characteristics 
and preferences 

GLE 2 Recognize and express feelings 

GLE 3 Discuss his/her own family 

GLE 4 Demonstrate confidence in range of abilities and 
express pride in accomplishments 

GLE 5 Attempt new experiences 

Self-Reliance 
GLE 1 Develop independence during activities, routines, 

and play 
GLE 2 Choose activities and use materials appropriately, 

purposefully, respectfully, and safely 
GLE 3 Show increasing competence in a wide range of 

self-care activities 
GLE 4 Seek guidance from peers and adults when needed 

Respect for Others 
GLE 1 Recognize and respect the feelings, needs, and 

rights of others 
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GLE 2 Demonstrate growing understanding of how one’s 
actions affect others 

GLE 3 Demonstrate awareness of and respect for 
uniqueness of others 

Interpersonal Skills 
GLE 1 Play cooperatively with peers for a sustained time 

GLE 2  Build conflict resolution skills 

GLE 3 Develop and maintain positive relationships with 
peers and adults 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:543 (February 2011). 
Chapter 7. Glossary of Terms 
§701. Glossary of Terms 

Accommodations―changes in the curricular material and 
experiences to accommodate a child's particular needs. 
Adaptations are not intended to alter the difficulty of the 
skill or area of development addressed. Such adaptations 
may enable children with disabilities to have experiences 
similar to those of their peers. 

Child Initiated Activity―children are able to select their 
own centers, activities, materials, and companions, and are 
able to manage their own play independently. There is adult 
interaction in response to the children's developmental 
needs, as well as to introduce and reinforce concepts. This is 
also known as free play. (Note: When children are assigned 
to centers by staff or the staff selects the activities, materials, 
etc., for the children, this is not considered a child-initiated 
or free play activity.) 

Concrete Hands-On Learning Experiences―learning 
experiences that emphasize choice, free exploration, 
interaction, and authenticity within a relevant and 
meaningful context. Such experiences emphasize the 
development of children's thinking, reasoning, decision-
making and problem-solving abilities. Curriculum areas and 
skills are integrated in the context of the learning activities 
and experiences as opposed to being taught in isolation. 

Content Standards―describes the broad outcomes that 
children should achieve through a high-quality preschool 
experience. Each Content Standard is aligned with the 
Louisiana K-4 Content Standards and other relevant state 
and national standards. 

Developmental Profile―specifies what most preschool 
children should be able to know and be able to do by the end 
of their preschool experiences. 

Developmentally Appropriate Practice―quality care and 
education of young children based on:  

1. knowledge of how children develop and learn. This 
includes information about ages and stages of development 
as well as what materials, activities and interactions are 
important for each;  

2. knowledge of the individual child, including 
disabilities; and  

3. knowledge about the social, cultural and familial 
cultural context in which children are growing up. 

Domain―describe the aspect of development for each 
standard. content areas are specified for each domain. 

Early Childhood Environment Rating Scale-Revised 
(ECERS-R)―a reliable and valid research based program 
quality assessment instrument. This scale is designed for use 
in classrooms serving children 2 1/2 to 5 years of age. It is 

used to evaluate classroom environment as well as 
programmatic and interpersonal features that directly affect 
children and adults in the early childhood setting. The seven 
sub-scales of the ECERS-R include: Space and Furnishings, 
Personal Care Routines, Language-Reasoning, Activities, 
Interactions, Program Structure, and Parents and Staff. 

Emerging Skills―skills or abilities, which are not shown 
as being mastered but are present in a modified or limited 
form. Attention to emerging skills allows teachers to assess 
the developmental process and progress of students. 
Additionally, a focus on emerging skills is important in the 
planning of the environment and activities to facilitate 
development of skills. 

Examples―tips on how to structure the curriculum and 
environment to assist a child's optimal performance. 

Free Play―see Child-Initiated Activity. 
Grapheme―the smallest part of written language that 

represents a phoneme in the spelling of a word. 
Grade-level Expectation--specifies what most preschool 

children should be able to know and be able to do by the end 
of their preschool experience. 

Head Start Performance Standards―these standards used 
in Head Start Programs are based on sound child 
development principles about how children grow and learn. 
The varied experiences provided by the program support the 
continuum of children's growth and development in all 
domains.  

Indicators―define a Standard more specifically so that it 
can be measured. Each indicator is coded by domain, or 
content area and strand. For example, PK-CM-N1 means 
PreKindergarten-Cognitive Math-Number 1. 

Interest Center―an area in the classroom used during free 
play/ child-initiated activities. In each area, the materials are 
organized by type and are stored so that they are accessible 
to the children, shelves have picture/word labels, and the 
area is appropriately furnished. Interest centers can also be 
established outdoors. 

Louisiana Literacy Profile―provides teachers of children 
in grades K-3 with the means of observing and recording 
progress in a continuum of growth that is based on literacy 
behaviors. It informs instruction and promotes development 
of literacy behaviors. 

Manipulatives―materials that allow children to explore, 
experiment, and interact by using their hands or by 
mechanical means. These learning materials promote 
dexterity and eye-hand coordination while promoting 
problem-solving and higher levels of critical thinking. Such 
items include, but are not limited to, beads and laces, 
puzzles, small blocks, playdough, lacing cards, and items 
that can be snapped, zipped or hooked together to name a 
few. 

Modifications―limiting, restricting, or altering materials, 
the environment or experiences without fundamentally 
changing the outcome or use of such. Modifications may 
enable children who are experiencing difficulty with a 
particular skill or an area of development to successfully 
achieve competence in these areas. Examples of 
modifications include offering a variety of levels of puzzles 
such as interlocking and pegged puzzles. 

Multisensory Experiences―experiences that allow 
children to respond to physical stimuli relating to more than 
one of the five senses. Included in these types of experiences 
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would be cooking activities where the senses of sight, smell, 
taste, touch and hearing would all be involved. 

National Association for the Education of Young Children 
(NAEYC)―This national organization provides policy and 
research information on the growth and development of 
children from birth to age eight. 

Non-Standard Units of Measurement―methods of 
measurement that do not include traditional means such as 
rulers, scales, clocks, etc. Non-standard units of 
measurement allow children to explore and thus understand 
the concept of measurement without being tied to exact 
numerical data. Items such as pieces of string, rows of 
blocks or pencils may serve as non-standard units to measure 
length; balances may help promote understanding of varying 
weights, and picture-graphs of daily routines allow children 
to understand the concept of time and passage of time. 

Non-Textual Information―information expressed through 
the use of pictures, symbols or icons. Such information may 
be used by children to process information and to create 
mental images symbolic of real-world situations without the 
use of written text. 

Onset―this is a part of spoken language that is smaller 
than a syllable but larger than a phoneme. It is the initial 
consonant sound of a syllable (The onset of bag is b-; of 
swim, sw-). 

Open-Ended Questioning―questioning that promotes a 
child's development, as opposed to mere information 
gathering. This method of questioning is used to motivate 
children to learn, inquire about and discover their world. 
Open-ended questioning prompts students to think about 
their responses and requires a more in-depth level of critical 
thinking in order to respond. These questions help the 
student to recognize a problem, analyze contributing factors 
and to consider a choice of optimal solutions. Open-ended 
questions are characterized by the words "What if?", 
"How?" , "What would happen if?", "Why do you think?", 
"Is there another way?" etc. 

Phoneme―the smallest part of spoken language that 
makes a difference in the meaning of words. 

Phonemic Awareness―the ability to hear, identify, and 
manipulate the individual sounds (phonemes) in spoken 
words. A child who possesses phonemic awareness can 
segment sounds in words and blend strings of isolated 
sounds together to form recognizable words. 

Phonological Awareness―a broad term that includes 
phonemic awareness. In addition to phonemes, phonological 
awareness activities can involve work with rhymes, words, 
syllables, and other onsets and rimes. 

Play-Based Environment―an interactive learning 
environment in which play is the medium that children learn 
and make sense of their world. It provides a forum for 
children to learn to deal with the world on a symbolic 
level—the foundation for all subsequent intellectual 
development. In a play-based environment, children have the 
opportunity to gain a variety of social, emotional and 
physical skills. This type of environment is in contrast to the 
environment where learning is compartmentalized into the 
traditional content areas and children have little opportunity 
to actively explore, experiment and interact. 

Print Concepts―materials, activities, and props, etc. that 
prompt the ongoing process of becoming literate; that is, 
learning to read and write. Print concepts include exposure 

to textual information through books, stories, field trips, 
notes, labels, signs, chants, etc., and should be part of the 
emergent-literacy environment of all preschool classrooms. 

Props―materials used throughout the classroom to extend 
learning in any one of the interest areas or centers. Props 
added to an interest center are generally placed in the area in 
addition to standards items. Examples of props include: 
puppets that correlate with stories in the library center or 
phone books and recipe cards in the dramatic play center. 
Such props allow children to engage in activities in which 
they can interact with other children, share and take turns, 
role-play and exercise their imaginations. Additionally, 
props added to interest centers help children accept 
responsibility for clean-up, break barriers for sex/culture 
stereotyping, and deal with age/stage personal relations. 

Rime―the part of a syllable that contains the vowel and 
all that follows it (the rime of bag is –ag; of swim, -im). 

Self-Help Tasks or Skills―these skills or tasks comprise a 
large portion of a young child's daily living tasks and are 
important in all areas of development. These skills include 
toileting, serving and eating meals and snacks, cleaning up 
their environment and grooming and dressing. 

Spatial Sense or Spatial Awareness―the sense of 
orienting to one's environment. A child has sense of 
awareness in terms of directionality, as well as his/her 
relationship to self, the environment, and others in that 
environment. 

Standard―The broad outcomes that children should 
achieve through a high quality preschool experience. 

Strand―defines each content area or domain more 
specifically. 

Substantial Portion of the Day―free play/child-initiated 
activities are available to the children at least one third or 35 
percent of the instructional day. For Eexample: During a 6 
hour instructional day, these activities are available at least 2 
hours of the instructional day. 

Syllable―a part of a word that contains a vowel or, in 
spoken language, a vowel sound. 

Teacher-directed Activity―the activities and/or materials 
are chosen for the children by the teacher to engage in 
educational interaction with small groups and individual 
children, as well as with the whole group. (Examples: read a 
story, cooking activity, or science activity.) 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:544 (February 2011). 
Chapter 9. Appendices 
§901. Appendix A 

A. Strategies to support children who are English 
Language Learners in program activities. 

1. English Language Learners (ELL) are those 
children who speak a language other than English at home. 
Teachers can support the ELL students in their classes by 
providing a language-rich environment, by supporting the 
social/emotional development of the students, and by having 
an understanding of the cultures of the ELL students. The 
ELL student who is learning a new language will progress 
through four developmental stages. 

a. Stage 1: Home Language—The children will use 
their home language in the beginning because that is the 
only language they know. If there are several children in the 
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class with the same home language, then they may continue 
to use it among themselves. Home language is important, 
because research has shown that if ELL children continue to 
build on their home language while learning a new language, 
the development of both languages is greatly enhanced. 

b. Stage 2: Non-Verbal—Many ELL children will 
go through a “silent” period, in which they will listen and 
observe more than they speak. These children will often use 
gestures to communicate with adults and the other children. 
The children may also need more time when answering 
questions, in order to process the meaning of the question 
and formulate an answer. 

c. Stage 3: Emerging—The children will begin to 
use one or two word responses to questions and will also 
begin to use expressions such as “What’s happening?” or 
“Wanna play?” This is important because it helps the ELL 
children become more socially interactive with other 
children. 

d. Stage 4: Productive—Young ELL children will 
begin to engage in English conversation and use more 
spontaneous and productive sentences when speaking. There 
will still be pronunciation errors or an accent when saying 
certain sounds. They will also have errors in vocabulary, but 
this is developmental and is common with all young learners 
of English. 

2. The following strategies, though not an exhaustive 
list, are recommended practices for helping teachers meet 
the needs of ELL children, as well as their families. 

 
What Teachers can do for the Children 

 Provide a warm, welcoming learning environment 
 Learn some phrases in the child’s home language that you can use when 

greeting the child or during daily activities 
 Encourage children to play and interact with one another 
 Provide environmental print in English and the home language 
 Model language by labeling your actions and the child’s actions 
 Use visual cues or gestures when demonstrating a new skill or concept 

and repeat instructions more than once 
 Connect new concepts with familiar experiences 
 Provide books and songs within the classroom in the child’s home 

language 
 At storytime, choose repetitive books or books with simpler language  
 Establish and maintain daily routines and schedules 
 Organize small group activities exclusively for your ELL children 
 Provide props in dramatic play that represent the child’s culture 
 Provide an English-speaking buddy or partner for the ELL child 
 Provide a quiet space in the classroom where the children can use 

manipulatives, puzzles, or playdough 
What teachers can do for the families: 

 Understand the importance of the role you play and the impression you 
make on the family 

 Show interest in the child’s family and culture 
 Gain information and knowledge about the child’s community and 

culture 
 Have an open door policy 
 Use informal notes and phone calls to communicate with the family 

(you may need to use an interpreter) 
 Post information on a bulletin board for parents in or near the classroom 

and include a display of children’s artwork or photos 
 Develop family-friendly newsletters with pictures and photos 
 Invite the families to the classroom to share their culture with the 

children 
 Organize family and community meetings and gatherings to learn more 

about cultural values and beliefs 
 Consider home visits  
 Encourage families to continue the use of the native language at home 
 Consider the dietary, cultural and religious practices associated with the 

culture of the family when planning events 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6.A(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:545 (February 2011). 
§903. Appendix B 

A. Strategies for Including Children with Special Needs 
in Program Activities 

1. There are many ways of adapting or modifying 
activities for children with special needs, including those 
with disabilities and those whose home language is other 
than English. It is important that every staff member 
consider the uniqueness of each child and that all children 
have different approaches, preferences and skill levels. The 
following strategies, though not an exhaustive list, are 
recommended practices for helping teachers meet the diverse 
needs of each of their students. 

 
Cognitive Delays or Learning Challenges 

 Reduce distractions (background noise, clutter, etc.); provide access to 
areas that are quiet and offer relief from pressures of the environment 

 Give clear instructions, repeat and demonstrate when necessary; 
combine verbal, visual cues  

 Use concrete materials/experiences; use modeling and demonstrations  
 Break down difficult tasks into smaller parts; make suggestions that 

give cues or choices for next steps in an activity 
 Establish routines without being rigid; post picture and word sequences 

of schedules and routines 
 Plan for and limit the number of transitions  
 Allow time for meaningful repetition and practice  
 Provide encouragement and frequent feedback 
 Model appropriate use of materials, tools and activities in classroom 

Hearing Impairments 
 Get children’s attention and use visual cues 
 Face children when possible, and use clear voice and facial 

expressions 
 Use objects or pictures to demonstrate what is being talked about 
 Provide many opportunities for communication with adults and peers 
 Give feedback to be sure messages are understood 
 Limit background noise and other auditory distractions 
 Use other forms of communication, such as gestures, printed words, 

objects when needed 
 Learn about adaptive aids or communication systems children use; 

learn basic signs to communicate and to model appropriate behaviors 
 Sing along with tapes, CDs, etc. to encourage children to lip read 

Orthopedic, Motor or other Health Challenges 
 Adapt/modify materials, equipment, toys, etc. by stabilizing/enlarging 

them, adding handles or grips; use adapted battery or electric operated 
toys/materials 

 Ensure that environment accommodates wheelchairs, body boards, etc.; 
monitor pathways/floor space to promote accessibility and movement  

 Keep classroom uncluttered; ensure easy access to shelves, cubbies, 
sinks, etc. 

 Learn about adaptive equipment; seek inexpensive solutions if adaptive 
equipment is not available (e.g., support child’s feet, by using a telephone book 
as a footrest, tray on walker to move toys) 

 Provide additional time for children to get to materials/activities  
 Use non-locomotor movement activities, such as moving arms, even 

when feet are in place 
Communication Challenges 

 Plan many experiences/opportunities that motivate children to give and 
receive messages with adults and peers 

 Verbalize what children tell you with their actions; ask open-ended 
questions 

 Add new information slowly and clearly; give only one verbal 
direction at a time 

 Provide language experiences with repetitive sounds, phrases, 
sentences, rhymes, chants, etc. 

 Staff should be familiar with any AAC (augmentative and alternative 
communication systems) used by children 

 Repeat and expand on children’s thinking; introduce concepts and add 
new information slowly and clearly 
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 Support children’s communication in other areas, such as writing or 
drawing 

Visual Impairments 
 Evaluate the environment, including the lighting, to ensure that 

pathways are unobstructed, furnishings are consistently located and materials 
are positioned so children can see them clearly 

 Describe and label demonstrations, objects or events that children 
cannot readily see 

 Give clear and specific directions, using children’s names; provide 
additional directional language when possible (near, forward, next to, etc.) 

 Use pictures/books that are bold and uncluttered; try to use high-
contrast colors (black and yellow or black and orange) 

 Use auditory or tactile cues; plan activities to help children strengthen 
all of their senses 

 Use large, clear, tactile labels to identify materials, activities, etc. 
Challenging Behaviors/Emotional Disturbances 

 Provide a warm, inviting, and supportive classroom atmosphere; have 
appropriate expectations of children’s behaviors 

 Establish consistent routines and transitions; limit waiting or 
unoccupied time between activities 

 Limit classroom rules; establish clear consequences for violations and 
follow through on them; use positive guidance techniques 

 Anticipate problems and have action plans in place to avoid them; 
develop signals for when particular behaviors should stop or when a child 
needs help 

 Model and role-play appropriate social behaviors and coping strategies; 
label feelings behind children’s actions and help children to label the feelings 
themselves 

 Provide soft lighting, cozy spaces and calming activities (e.g. water 
play, soothing music) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6.A(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:546 (February 2011). 
 

Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#032 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsCurriculum Instruction  

(LAC 28:CXV.2318 and 2319) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators: §2318. The College and Career 
Diploma and §2319. The Career Diploma. These policy 
changes require the EOC tests scores to count a percentage 
of the students’ final course grades. This requirement was 
recommended by the High School Redesign Commission. 
Also changed is the test requirement for the diploma 
endorsements. This change is necessitated by the switch to 
EOC tests. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 23. Curriculum Instruction 
§2318. The College and Career Diploma 

A. - B.1.c. … 

2. For incoming freshmen in 2010-2011 and beyond, 
students must meet the assessment requirements below to 
earn a standard diploma. 

a. Students must pass three end-of-course tests in 
the following categories: 
 i. English II or English III; 
 ii. Algebra I or Geometry; 
 iii. Biology or American History. 

b. Students enrolled in a course for which there is 
an EOC test must take the EOC test. 
 i. The EOC test score shall count a percentage of 
the student’s final grade for the course. 
 ii. The percentage shall be between 15 percent 
and 30 percent inclusive, and shall be determined by the 
LEA. 
 iii. The grades assigned for the EOC test 
achievement levels shall be as follows. 
 

EOC Achievement Level Grade 
Excellent A 

Good B 
Fair C 

Needs Improvement D or F 
 
 iv. The DOE will provide conversion charts for 
various grading scales used by LEAs. 

c. For students with disabilities who have passed 
two of the three required end-of-course tests and have 
exhausted all opportunities available through the end of the 
twelfth grade to pass the remaining required end-of-course 
test, that end-of-course test may be waived by the State 
Superintendent of Education if the Department of Education 
determines the student's disability significantly impacts 
his/her ability to pass the end-of-course test. 

B.3. - C.5.a.i. … 
* * * 

 ii. Assessment Performance Indicator 
(a) Students graduating prior to 2013-2014 shall 

pass all four components of GEE with a score of Basic or 
above, or one of the following combinations of scores with 
the English language arts score at Basic or above: 
 (i) one Approaching Basic, one Mastery 
or Advanced, Basic or above in the remaining two; or 
 (ii) two Approaching Basic, two Mastery 
or above. 

(b) Students graduating in 2013-2014 and 
beyond shall achieve a score of Good or Excellent on each of 
the following EOC tests: 
 (i). English II and English III; 
 (ii). Algebra I and Geometry; 
 (iii). Biology and American History. 
 iii. Students shall complete one of the following 
requirements: 

(a). senior project; 
(b). one Carnegie unit in an AP course with a 

score of three or higher on the AP exam; 
(c). one Carnegie unit in an IB course with a 

score of four or higher on the IB exam; or 
(d). three college hours of non-remedial, 

articulated credit in mathematics, social studies, science, 
foreign language, or English language arts. 
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 iv. Students shall meet the current minimum 
grade-point average requirement for the TOPS Opportunity 
Award. 
 v. Students shall achieve an ACT Composite 
Score of at least 23 or the SAT equivalent. 

6. Career/Technical Endorsement 
a. Students who meet the requirements for a 

College and Career diploma and satisfy the following 
performance indicators shall be eligible for a 
career/technical endorsement to the College and Career 
diploma. 
 i. Students graduating prior to 2011-2012 shall 
meet the current course requirements for the TOPS 
Opportunity Award or the TOPS Tech Award. Students 
graduating in 2010-2011 and beyond shall meet the course 
requirements for the Louisiana Core 4 Curriculum. 
 ii. Students shall complete the career area of 
concentration. 
 iii. Assessment Performance Indicator 

(a). Students graduating prior to 2009-2010 shall 
pass the English language arts, mathematics, science, and 
social studies components of the GEE 21 at the Approaching 
Basic level or above. Students graduating in 2009-2010 and 
beyond prior to 2013-2014 shall pass all four components of 
the GEE with a score of basic or above OR one of the 
following combinations with the English language arts score 
at basic or above: 
 (i). one approaching basic, one mastery or 
advanced, and basic or above in the remaining two; 
 (ii). two approaching basic, two mastery or 
above. 

(b) Students graduating in 2013-2014 and 
beyond shall achieve a score of Good or Excellent on each of 
the following EOC tests: 
 (i). English II and English III; 
 (ii). Algebra I and Geometry; 
 (iii). Biology and American History. 
 iv. Students shall complete a minimum of 90 work 
hours of work-based learning experience related to the 
student's area of concentration (as defined in the LDE 
Diploma Endorsement Guidebook) or senior project related 
to student's area of concentration with 20 hours of related 
work-based learning and mentoring and complete one of the 
following requirements: 

(a). industry-based certification in student's area 
of concentration from the list of industry-based certifications 
approved by BESE; or 

(b). three college hours in a career/technical area 
that articulate to a postsecondary institution, either by 
actually obtaining the credits and/or being waived from 
having to take such hours in student’s area of concentration. 
 v. Students shall achieve a minimum GPA of 2.5. 
 vi. Students graduating prior to 2008-2009 shall 
achieve the current minimum ACT Composite Score (or SAT 
Equivalent) for the TOPS Opportunity Award or the TOPS 
Tech Award. Students graduating in 2008-2009 and beyond 
shall achieve a minimum ACT Composite Score (or SAT 
Equivalent) of 20 or the state ACT average (whichever is 
higher) or the Silver Level on the WorkKeys Assessment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R. S. 17:183.2; R.S. 17: 395. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 37:547 
(February 2011). 
§2319. The Career Diploma 

A. - B.1.c. … 
2. For incoming freshmen in 2010-2011 and beyond, 

students must meet the assessment requirements below to 
earn a high school diploma. 

a. Students must pass three end-of-course tests in 
the following categories: 
 i. English II or English III; 
 ii. Algebra I or Geometry; 
 iii. Biology or American History. 

b. Students enrolled in a course for which there is 
an EOC test must take the EOC test. 
 i. The EOC test score shall count a percentage of 
the student’s final grade for the course. 
 ii. The percentage shall be between 15 percent 
and 30 percent inclusive, and shall be determined by the 
LEA. 
 iii. The grades assigned for the EOC test 
achievement levels shall be as follows. 
 

EOC Achievement Level Grade 
Excellent A 

Good B 
Fair C 

Needs Improvement D or F 
 
 iv. The DOE will provide conversion charts for 
various grading scales used by LEAs. 

c. For students with disabilities who have passed 
two of the three required end-of-course tests and have 
exhausted all opportunities available through the end of the 
twelfth grade to pass the remaining required end-of-course 
test, that end-of-course test may be waived by the State 
Superintendent of Education if the Department of Education 
determines the student's disability significantly impacts 
his/her ability to pass the end-of-course test. 

B.3. - C.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7; R.S. 17:24.4; R. S. 17:183.1et seq.; R.S. 17: 395. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1291 (June 2005), 
amended LR 31:2211 (September 2005), LR 31:3070 (December 
2005), LR 31:3072 (December 2005), LR 32:1414 (August 2006), 
LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 33:432 (March 2007), LR 33:2050 
(October 2007), LR 33:2354 (November 2007), LR 33:2601 
(December 2007), LR 34:1607 (August 2008), LR 35:1230 (July 
2009), LR 35:1876 (September 2009), LR 35:2321 (November 
2009), LR 35:2750 (December 2009), LR 36:1490 (July 2010), LR 
37:548 (February2011). 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Section 953 and 974 of Title 49 of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes, there is hereby submitted a 
Family Impact Statement on the Rule proposed for adoption, 
repeal or amendment.  All Family Impact Statements shall be 
kept on file in the State Board Office which has adopted, 
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amended, or repealed a Rule in accordance with the 
applicable provisions of the law relating to public records.  

1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 
family? No. 

2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No.  

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Interested persons may submit written comments via the 
U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., December 9, 2010, to: Nina A. 
Ford, State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, 
P.O. Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-
9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#0033  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.Chapters 2 and 6) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §233. The 
Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative Path to 
Certification (Minimum Requirements); §235. The Master’s 
Degree Program Alternative Path to Certification (Minimum 
Requirements); §237. Certification-Only Program 
Alternative Path to Certification; §241. PRAXIS I Scores; 
§243. ACT/SAT Scores in Lieu of PRAXIS I Scores; §625. 
Requirements to add Early Interventionist Birth to Five 
Years; §627. Requirements to add Hearing Impaired K-12; 
§629. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate; §630. 
Requirements to add Mild/Moderate (1-5), (4-8), and (6-12) 
– Mandatory 7/1/2010; §631. Requirements to add 
Significant Disabilities 1-12; and §633. Requirements to add 
Visual Impairments/Blind K-12. This revision in policy will 
allow the replacement of the current special education 
pedagogy exams in early interventionist, hearing impaired, 
mild/moderate, visually impaired and significant disabilities 
with new editions of the following Praxis exams: Special 
Education: Core Knowledge and Applications (#0354), 
Special Education: Core Knowledge Mild to Moderate 
Applications (#0543), and Special Education: Core 
Knowledge and Severe to Profound Applications (#0545). 
The current Praxis exams required for Louisiana licensure in 
early interventionist, hearing impaired, mild/moderate, 
visually impaired and significant disabilities will be phased 
out by Educational Testing Service. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
Subchapter B. Alternate Teacher Preparation Programs 
§233. The Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative 

Path to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. - H. … 
I. Program requirements must be met within a three year 

time period. For certification purposes, private providers and 
colleges or universities will submit signed statements to the 
Department of Education indicating that the student 
completing the Practitioner Teacher Program alternative 
certification path met the following requirements: 

1. passed the PPST components of the Praxis (Note: 
This test was required for admission.); 

2. completed all program requirements including the 
internship with a 2.50 or higher GPA (this applies to 
candidates in a university program); 

3. completed prescriptive plans (if weaknesses were 
demonstrated); 

4. passed the Praxis specialty examination for the 
area(s) of certification. (Note: This test was required for 
admission): 

a. grades PK-3—Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014); 

b. grades 1-5 (regular and special education)—
Elementary Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

c. grades 4-8 (regular and special education)—
Middle school subject-specific licensing examination(s) for 
the content area(s) to be certified; 

d. grades 6-12 (regular and special education)—
Secondary subject-specific examination(s) for the content 
area(s) to be certified. General-Special Education 
Mild/Moderate candidates must pass a Praxis core subject 
area exam (English/language arts, foreign language, 
mathematics, the sciences, or social studies). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

e. all-level K-12 areas (art, dance, foreign language, 
health and physical education, and music)—Subject-specific 
examination(s) for content area(s) to be certified. If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

5. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis): 
a. grades PK-3—Principles of Learning and 

Teaching Early Childhood (#0521) 
b. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

K-6 (#0522); 
c. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

5-9 (#0523); 
d. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 

Teaching 7-12 (#0524); 
e. all-level K-12 Certification—Principles of 

Learning and Teaching K-6, 5-9, or 7-12; 
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f. general-special education mild/moderate—
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate 
Applications (#0543); In addition to one of the following 
aligned to candidates grade level: 
 i. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 (#0522); 
 ii. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 5-9 (#0523); 
 iii. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 6-12 (#0524); 

I.6. - L. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1790 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:1387 (July 2008), LR 35:1477 (August 2009), LR 
37:549 (February 2011). 
§235. The Master's Degree Program Alternative Path 

to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. - D.5.a. … 
E. Certification Requirements. Colleges/universities will 

submit signed statements to the Louisiana Department of 
Education indicating that the student completing the Master's 
Degree Program alternative certification path met the 
following requirements: 

1. passed PPST components of Praxis (as required for 
admission); 

2. completed all coursework in the Master's Degree 
alternate certification program with a 2.50 or higher grade 
point average (GPA); 

3. passed the specialty examination (Praxis) for the 
area of certification (this test was required for admission): 

a. grades PK-3 (regular education)—Elementary 
Education: Content Knowledge (#0014); 

b. grades 1-5 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Elementary Education: Content 
Knowledge (#0014); 

c. grades 4-8 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Middle school subject-specific licensing 
examination for content area to be certified; 

d. grades 6-12 (regular education and 
mild/moderate)—Secondary subject-specific examination 
for content area(s) to be certified. General-Special Education 
Mild/Moderate candidates must pass a Praxis core subject 
area exam (English/language arts, foreign language, 
mathematics, the sciences, or social studies). If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

e. all-level K-12 Certification—Subject-specific 
examination for content area(s) to be certified. If no 
examination has been adopted for Louisiana in the 
certification area, candidates must present a minimum of 31 
semester hours of coursework specific to the content area for 
admission to the program; 

f. Special Education Early Interventionist (Birth to 
Five Years), Significant Disabilities 1-12, Hearing Impaired 
K-12, and Visual Impairments/Blind K-12—Elementary 
Education: Content Knowledge (#0014) specialty 
examination; 

4. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis): 
a. grades PK-3—Principles of Learning and 

Teaching Early Childhood (#0521); 
b. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

K-6 (#0522); 
c. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and Teaching 

5-9 (#0523); 
d. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 

Teaching 7-12 (#0524); 
e. all-level K-12 Certification—Principles of 

Learning and Teaching K-6, 5-9, or 7-12; 
f. General-Special Education Mild/Moderate― 

Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate 
Applications (#0543); in addition to one of the following 
aligned to candidates grade level: 
 i. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 (#0522); 
 ii. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 5-9 (#0523); 
 iii. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 6-12 (#0524); 

g. Special Education Early Interventionist Birth to 
Five Years—Special Education: Core Knowledge and 
Applications (#0354) and Principles of Learning and 
Teaching: Early Childhood (#0521); 

h. Special Education Significant Disabilities 1-12—
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Severe to Profound 
Applications (#0545); 

i. Special Education Hearing Impaired K-12—
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(#0354) and Education of Exceptional Students: Hearing 
Impairment (#0271); 

j. Special Education Visual Impairments/Blind K-
12—Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(#0354); 

5. - 5.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1792 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:1480 (August 2009), LR 37:550 (February 2011). 
§237. Certification-Only Program Alternative Path to 

Certification 
A. - D.7. … 
E. Licensure Requirements 

1. Practitioner License (PL2)―a program candidate 
that is hired as a full-time teacher in an approved Louisiana 
school will be issued a Practitioner License 2. This license is 
issued at the request of the Louisiana employing school 
system for a specific grade level and content area once 
successful completion of the classroom readiness component 
has been verified. The teacher is restricted to the specific 
grade level and content area as designated on the Practitioner 
License 2. 

2. Standard Professional License―a standard Level 
certificate may be issued after the applicant has: 

a. completed all program requirements with a 2.50 
or higher GPA (this applies to candidates in a university 
program); and 

b. passed the pedagogy examination (Praxis): 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 551

 i. grades PK-3—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching Early Childhood (#0521); 
 ii. grades 1-5—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching K-6 (#0522); 
 iii. grades 4-8—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 5-9 (#0523); 
 iv. grades 6-12—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching 7-12 (#0524); 
 v. all-level K-12 certification—Principles of 
Learning and Teaching K-6, 5-9, or 7-12; 
 vi. Special Education Early Interventionist Birth to 
Five Years—Special Education: Core Knowledge and 
Applications and Principles of Learning and Teaching Early 
Childhood (#0521); 
 vii. Special Education Significant Disabilities 1-
12—Special Education: Core Knowledge and Severe to 
Profound Applications (#0545); 
 viii. Special Education Hearing Impaired K-12—
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 

(#0354) and Education of Exceptional Students: Hearing 
Impairment (#0271); 
 ix. Special Education Visual Impairments/Blind 
K-12—Special Education: Core Knowledge and 
Applications (#0354); 

c. completed all requirements of the Certification-
Only Alternative Certification path as verified to the 
Louisiana Department of Education by the program 
provider. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1794 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:1482 (August 2009), LR 37:550 (February 2011). 
§241. PRAXIS I Scores 

A. - C.2. … 
* * * 

 
 

 
D. Special Education Areas 

 
Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 

All Special Education Area(s) Prior to 6/1/04: PLT K-6 (161), PLT 5-9 (154) or PLT 7-12 (161) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353) Effective 6/1/04 
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Early Childhood Education 
(0020) Effective 7/1/05 
Principles of Learning and Teaching: Early Childhood 
(0521) Effective 1/1/08 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354) and Principles of Learning and Teaching: 
Early Childhood (0521) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
 

143 
510 

 
172 

 
145 
172 

Hearing Impaired Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Educ. of Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing Students (0271) Effective 6/1/04 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354) and  

Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing Students 
(0271) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
160 

 
145 

 
160 

Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities 

Effective 6/1/04 ALL Candidates must pass a content area 
exam appropriate to certification level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12  
(e.g., 0014, or core subject-specific exams for middle or 
secondary grades)  

*Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Educ. of Exceptional 
Students: Mild/Moderate Disabilities (0542) 
*Note: (0353) and (0542) are not content area exams. 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to 
Moderate Applications (0543)  Effective 1/1/11 

143 
141 

 
153 

Prior to 6/1/04, a content area exam was required only for 
entry into a Mild/ Moderate 1-12 Practitioner Teacher 
Program, Non-Master's Certification-Only Alternate 
Program, and Master's Alternate Program.  

Significant 
Disabilities 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Educ. of Exceptional 
Students: Severe to Profound Disabilities (0544) 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Severe to 
Profound Applications (0545)  Effective 1/1/11 

143 
147 

 
153 

Visual 
Impairments/Blind 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353) Effective 6/1/04 
Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and 
Applications (0354) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
 

145 

 
 

E. … 
* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1836 (October 2006), 

amended LR 33:2355 (November 2007), LR 35:644 (April 2009), 
LR 36:484 and 487 (March 2010), LR 37:551 (February 2011). 
§243. ACT/SAT Scores in Lieu of PRAXIS I Scores 

A. - C.2. … 
* * * 

D. Special Education Areas 
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Area Content Exam Score Pedagogy Requirement Score 
All Special Education Area(s) Prior to 6/1/04: PLT K-6 (161), PLT 5-9 (154) OR PLT 7-12 (161) 
Early 
Interventionist 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353) Effective 6/1/04 
Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Early Childhood Education 
(0020) Effective 7/1/05 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354) and Principles of Learning and Teaching: 
Early Childhood (0521) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
 

143 
510 

 
145 
172 

Hearing Impaired Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Educ. of Deaf and Hard of 
Hearing Students (0271) Effective 6/1/04 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Applications 
(0354) and Education of Deaf and Hard of Hearing 
Students (0271) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
160 

 
145 
160 

Mild to Moderate 
Disabilities 

Effective 6/1/04 ALL Candidates must pass a content area 
exam appropriate to certification level 1-5, 4-8, 6-12  
 (e.g., 0014, or core subject-specific exams for middle or 
secondary grades)  

*Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Educ. of Exceptional 
Students: Mild/Moderate Disabilities  
(0542) Effective 6/1/04 
*Note: (0353) and (0542) are not content area exams. 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to 
Moderate Applications (0543) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
141 

 
 

153 Prior to 6/1/04, a content area exam was required only for 
entry into a Mild/ Moderate 1-12 Practitioner Teacher 
Program, Non-Master’s Certification-Only Alternate 
Program, and Master’s Alternate Program.  

Significant 
Disabilities 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core Content 
Knowledge (0353) and Educ. of Exceptional 
Students: Severe to Profound Disabilities (0544) 
Special Education: Core Knowledge and Severe to 
Profound Applications (0545) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
147 
153 

Visual 
Impairments/Blind 

Elementary Education: Content Knowledge 
(0014) Effective 7/1/05 

150 Educ. of Exceptional Students: Core  
Content Knowledge (0353) Effective 6/1/04 
Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and 
Applications (0354) Effective 1/1/11 

143 
 

145 

 
E. … 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 37:551 (February 
2011). 
Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter B. Special Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§625. Requirements to add Early Interventionist Birth 

to Five Years 
A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 

(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an all-level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. passing score for Praxis exams: Principles of 
Learning and Teaching; Early Childhood (#0521) and 
Special Education: Core Content Knowledge and 
Applications (#0354); 

2. 18 credit hours that pertain to infants, toddlers, and 
preschoolers, as follows: 

a. foundations in early childhood education and 
early intervention; 

b. understanding and working with families of 
young children; 

c. assessment in early intervention; 
d. early intervention methods; 

e. teaming, physical and medical management in 
early intervention; 

f. communication and literacy in early intervention; 
3. nine semester hours of reading coursework. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006), 
LR 37:552 (February 2011). 
§627. Requirements to add Hearing Impaired K-12 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 21 semester credit hours that pertain to children 
with hearing impairments, as follows: 

2. introduction to special education; 
3. physiological, psychosocial, historical, sociological, 

and cultural aspects of deafness; 
4. language development that includes linguistic 

principles and assessment strategies in language acquisitions 
for deaf and hard of hearing; 

5. speech and speech reading; 
6. educational audiology, auditory assistive devices 

and technology; 
7. instructional strategies and curriculum development 

for deaf and hard of heading students; 
8. communication methodology. 
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B. Three semester hours of internship of students with 
hearing impairments; or three years of successful teaching 
experience of students with hearing impairments. 

C. Proficiency in signed, cued, or oral communication, 
as evidenced by one or more of the following means: 

1. signed—one of the following: 
a. Intermediate on the Educational Sign Skills 

Evaluation: Teacher (ESSE:T); 
b. Advanced on the Signed Communication 

Proficiency Interview (SCPI); 
c. Level III of the Educational Interpreter 

Performance Assessment; 
2. cued—mini-proficiency, as measured on the Basic 

Cued Speech Proficiency Rating Test (BCSPR c1983, 
Beaupre); or 

3. oral—successfully passing an additional course in 
Methods in Oral/Auditory Education. 

D. Passing score for Praxis exams: Special Education: 
Core Content Knowledge and Applications (#0354) and 
Education of Exceptional Students: Hearing Impairment 
(#0271). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006); 
LR 37:552 (February 2011). 
§629. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 15 semester hours of special education coursework, 
as follows: 

a. methods/materials for mild/moderate exceptional 
children; 

b. assessment and evaluation of exceptional 
learners; 

c. behavioral management of mild/moderate 
exceptional children; 

d. vocational and transition services for students 
with disabilities; 

e. practicum in assessment and evaluation of M/M 
exceptional learners; or three years of successful teaching 
experience in mild/moderate; 

2. passing score for Praxis exams: Special Education: 
Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate Applications 
(#0543); 

3. individuals who have completed all stipulations 
listed above will have until 7/1/2010 to have this 
endorsement added to their standard teaching certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006), 
amended LR 35:221 (February 2009), LR 35:1485 (August 2009), 
LR 37:553 (February 2011). 

§630. Requirements to add Mild/Moderate (1-5), (4-8) 
and (6-12)—Mandatory 7/1/2010 

A. Mild/Moderate: 1-5—Individuals holding a valid 
early childhood certificate (e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary 
certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-6, 1-8), or Early Interventionist 
certificate must achieve the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities—three semester hours. This course is designed 
for teachers to learn how to select, adapt, and use 
instructional interventions and behavioral strategies with 
students in a variety of settings. Students are required to 
apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience. Theoretical approaches, screening/ 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation issues will be addressed; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology—three 
semester hours—instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use. Development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure. Addresses 
the use of technology as it relates to UDL (Universal Design 
for Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs 
of all students with language development issues; 

c. Behavior Support and Intervention—three 
semester hours. This course should address the knowledge, 
skills and dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively 
and systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

d. Collaborative Teaming—three semester hours. 
This course should focus on developing effective 
partnerships with parents, family members, general 
educators and related service providers; 

e. Instructional Practices in Special Education—
three semester hours. This course should provide teachers 
with the ability to select and utilize appropriate instructional 
strategies, assistive technologies, and instructional materials 
to address the strengths and needs of diverse learners in 
grades 1-5; 

f. Reading and Literacy—three semester hours. 
This course should cover all aspects of state reading 
competencies at the elementary level, to include literacy 
intervention for students with disabilities; 

2. passing score for Praxis exams—Special Education: 
Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate Applications 
(#0543). 

B. Mild/Moderate: 1-5—Individuals holding a valid 
upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 
6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), all-level 
special education certificate (Significant Disabilities, 
Visually Impaired or Hearing Impaired), or an all-level K-12 
certificate (art, dance, foreign language, health, physical 
education, health and physical education, and music) must 
achieve the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities—three semester hours. This course is designed 
for teachers to learn how to select, adapt, and use 
instructional interventions and behavioral strategies with 
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students in a variety of settings. Students are required to 
apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience. Theoretical approaches, screening/ 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation issues will be addressed; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology—three 
semester hours. Instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use. Development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure. Addresses 
the use of technology as it relates to UDL (Universal Design 
for Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs 
of all students with language development issues; 

c. Behavior Support and Intervention—three 
semester hours. This course should address the knowledge, 
skills and dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively 
and systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

d. Collaborative Teaming—three semester hours. 
This course should focus on developing effective 
partnerships with parents, family members, general 
educators and related service providers; 

e. Instructional Practices in Special Education—
three semester hours. This course should provide teachers 
with the ability to select and utilize appropriate instructional 
strategies, assistive technologies, and instructional materials 
to address the strengths and needs of diverse learners in 
grades 1-5; 

f. Reading and Literacy—three semester hours. 
This course should cover all aspects of state reading 
competencies at the elementary level, to include literacy 
intervention for students with disabilities; 

2. passing score for Praxis exams—Special Education: 
Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate Applications 
(#0543), Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): K-6, 
and Elementary Content Knowledge Exam (0014). 

C. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-
12. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), or early interventionist certificate must achieve the 
following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities—three semester hours. This course is designed 
for teachers to learn how to select, adapt, and use 
instructional interventions and behavioral strategies with 
students in a variety of settings. Students are required to 
apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience. Theoretical approaches, screening/ 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation issues will be addressed; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology—three 
semester hours. Instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use. Development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure. Addresses 
the use of technology as it relates to UDL (Universal Design 
for Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs 
of all students with language development issues; 

c. Self-Determination and Transition—three 
semester hours. This course presents self-determination and 

development, implementation, and evaluation of self-
management instructional programs for students. Emphasis 
is upon using self-management and learning strategies to 
facilitate self-determination. Provides the teacher with an 
understanding of the special education transition process as 
specified by federal and state guidelines and the focus on the 
design and implementation of transition planning that meets 
students’ physical, affective, cognitive and communicative 
needs across the contexts of school, community, family life, 
career and vocation and recreation/leisure; 

d. Behavior Support and Intervention—three 
semester hours. This course should address the knowledge, 
skills and dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively 
and systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

e. Collaborative Teaming—three semester hours. 
This course should focus on developing effective 
partnerships with parents, family members, general 
educators and related service providers; 

f. Instructional Practices in Special Education—
three semester hours. This course should provide teachers 
with the ability to select and utilize appropriate instructional 
strategies, assistive technologies, and instructional materials 
to address strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 
6-12 with concentration in areas of literacy and numeracy; 

2. passing score for Praxis exams: 
a. Mild/Moderate (4-8) and (6-12)—Special 

Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate 
Applications (#0543); and 

b. Mild/Moderate (4-8)—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching (PLT): 5-9 and Middle School Content Exam(s); or 

c. Mild/Moderate (6-12)—Principles of Learning 
and Teaching (PLT): 7-12 and High School Content 
Exam(s). 

D. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-
12. Individuals holding a valid upper elementary or middle 
school certificate (e.g., 4-8, 5-8, 6-8) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities—three semester hours. This course is designed 
for teachers to learn how to select, adapt, and use 
instructional interventions and behavioral strategies with 
students in a variety of settings. Students are required to 
apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience. Theoretical approaches, screening/ 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation issues will be addressed; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology—three 
semester hours. Instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use. Development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure. Addresses 
the use of technology as it relates to UDL (Universal Design 
for Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs 
of all students with language development issues; 

c. Self-Determination and Transition—three 
semester hours. This course presents self-determination and 
development, implementation, and evaluation of self-
management instructional programs for students. Emphasis 
is upon using self-management and learning strategies to 
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facilitate self-determination. Provides the teacher with an 
understanding of the Special Education transition process as 
specified by federal and state guidelines and the focus on the 
design and implementation of transition planning that meets 
students’ physical, affective, cognitive and communicative 
needs across the contexts of school, community, family life, 
career and vocation and recreation/leisure; 

d. Behavior Support and Intervention—three 
semester hours. This course should address the knowledge, 
skills and dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively 
and systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms; 

e. Collaborative Teaming—three semester hours. 
This course should focus on developing effective 
partnerships with parents, family members, general 
educators and related service providers; 

f. Instructional Practices in Special Education—
three semester hours. This course should provide teachers 
with the ability to select and utilize appropriate instructional 
strategies, assistive technologies, and instructional materials 
to address strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 
6-12 with concentration in areas of literacy and numeracy; 

2. passing score for Praxis exams: 
a. Mild/Moderate (4-8) and (6-12)—Special 

Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate 
Applications (#0543); and/or 

b. Mild/Moderate (6-12)—Principles of Learning 
and Teaching (PLT): 7-12 and High School Content 
Exam(s). 

E. Mild/Moderate: Middle Grades 4-8 and Secondary 6-
12. Individuals holding a valid secondary certificate (e.g., 6-
12, 7-12, 9-12), all-level special education certificate 
(Significant Disabilities, Visually Impaired, or Hearing 
Impaired), or an all-level K-12 certificate (art, dance, foreign 
language, health, physical education, health and physical 
education, and music) must achieve the following: 

1. 18 semester hours to include the following 
coursework: 

a. Assessment and Evaluation of Students with 
Disabilities—three semester hours. This course is designed 
for teachers to learn how to select, adapt, and use 
instructional interventions and behavioral strategies with 
students in a variety of settings. Students are required to 
apply knowledge and skills in a 45-hour field-based 
experience. Theoretical approaches, screening/ 
identification, educational placement considerations, and 
assessment and evaluation issues will be addressed; 

b. Fundamentals of Instructional Technology—three 
semester hours. Instructional, utility, and management 
software applications for school use. Development of 
instructional materials, incorporation of commercially 
available software into lesson and unit structure. Addresses 
the use of technology as it relates to UDL (Universal Design 
for Learning) and how UDL can be used to meet the needs 
of all students with language development issues; 

c. Self-Determination and Transition—three 
semester hours. This course presents self-determination and 
development, implementation, and evaluation of self-
management instructional programs for students. Emphasis 

is upon using self-management and learning strategies to 
facilitate self-determination. Provides the teacher with an  
understanding of the Special Education transition process as 
specified by federal and state guidelines and the focus on the 
design and implementation of transition planning that meets 
students’ physical, affective, cognitive and communicative 
needs across the contexts of school, community, family life, 
career and vocation and recreation/leisure; 

d. Behavior Support and Intervention—three 
semester hours. This course should address the knowledge, 
skills and dispositions necessary for teachers to proactively 
and systematically address student needs that underlie the 
presence of problem behaviors in schools and class rooms\; 

e. Collaborative Teaming—three semester hours. 
This course should focus on developing effective 
partnerships with parents, family members, general 
educators and related service providers; 

f. Instructional Practices in Special Education—
three semester hours. This course should provide teachers 
with the ability to select and utilize appropriate instructional 
strategies, assistive technologies, and instructional materials 
to address strengths and needs of diverse learners in grades 
6-12 with concentration in areas of literacy and numeracy; 

2. passing score for Praxis exams: 
a. Mild/Moderate (4-8) and (6-12)—Special 

Education: Core Knowledge and Mild to Moderate 
Applications (#0543); and/or 

b. Mild/Moderate (4-8)—Principles of Learning and 
Teaching (PLT): 5-9 and Middle School Content Exam(s). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 35:1485 (August 2009), 
amended LR 37:553 (February 2011). 
§631. Requirements to add Significant Disabilities 1-12 

A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 
(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 21 semester hours that pertain to children with 
significant disabilities, as follows: 

a. assessment and evaluation; 
b. curriculum development, modifications, and 

transition planning; 
c. behavior support; 
d. instructional strategies; 
e. communication; 
f. collaborative techniques and family partnerships; 
g. characteristics of students with significant 

disabilities, physical support, health and safety; 
2. three semester hours of internship of students with 

significant disabilities; or three years of successful teaching 
experience of students with significant disabilities; and 

3. passing score for Praxis exams: Special Education: 
Core Knowledge and Severe to Profound Applications 
(#0545). 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:555 (February 2011). 
§633. Requirements to add Visual Impairments/Blind 

K-12 
A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 

(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 

1. 21 semester hours that pertain to children with 
visual impairments: 

a. educational implications of low vision and 
blindness; 

b. orientation and mobility for the classroom 
teacher; 

c. assessment and evaluation techniques, including 
functional vision evaluation and reading media assessment; 

d. assistive technology for students with visual 
impairments; 

e. instructional strategies and materials for students 
with visual impairments; 

f. introduction to Braille, including literary and 
Nemeth codes; 

g. Braille II; 
2. three semester hours of internship of students who 

are visually impaired; or three years of successful teaching 
experience of students who are visually impaired or blind; 

3. a passing score for Praxis Special Education: Core 
Knowledge and Applications (#0354). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1818 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:556 (February 2011). 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#034  
 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel―Alternate  

Teacher Preparation Programs 
(LAC 28:CXXXI.243) 

Editor's Note: Section 243 is being reprinted to correct an 
error. The original Rule can be viewed on pages 2262-2267 of 
the October 20, 2010 Louisiana Register. 
 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §233. The 
Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative Path to 
Certification (Minimum Requirements), §235. The Master’s 
Degree Program Alternative Path to Certification (Minimum 
Requirements), §237. Certification-Only Program 
Alternative Path to Certification, §241. PRAXIS I SCORES, 
§243. ACT/SAT Scores in Lieu of PRAXIS I SCORES, 
§611. Requirements to add a Secondary (grades 6-12) 
Specialty Core Content Area as defined in the No Child Left 
Behind (NCLB) Act of 2001 (English, Math, Foreign 
Language, Science, and Social Studies), and §615. 
Requirements to Add an All-Level (K-12) Area (Art, Dance, 
Foreign Language, Health and Physical Education, and 
Music). This revision of the Praxis examination policy will 
allow the replacement of the current Praxis exams in 
Business Education and Foreign Languages in French, 
German, and Spanish with new editions of the following 
Praxis exams: Business Education: Content Knowledge 
(#0101), French: World Language (#0174), German: World 
Language (#0183) and Spanish: World Language (#0195) 
effective September 1, 2010. In addition, the revision would 
phase out the use of the Principles of Learning and Teaching 
K-6, 5-9 or 7-12 exams for all-level (grades K-12) foreign 
language candidates with the World Languages Pedagogy 
(#0841) effective July 1, 2013. The current Praxis exams 
required for Louisiana licensure in Business Education, 
French German and Spanish will be phased out by 
Educational Testing Service. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
Subchapter B. Alternate Teacher Preparation Programs 

 

§243. ACT/SAT Scores in Lieu of PRAXIS I SCORES 
A. - B. Table. … 
C. Certification Areas 

1. Grades 6-12 Certification 

Grades 6-12 Certification Areas 
  Score     PLT 7-12 

Agriculture Agriculture (0700) Effective 7/1/05 510 --- --- 161 
Biology Biology & General Science (0030)  Prior to 6/30/05 

Biology: Content Knowledge (0235)  Effective 7/1/05 
580 
150 

--- --- 161 
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Grades 6-12 Certification Areas 
  Score     PLT 7-12 

Business Business Education (0100)  Prior to 5/31/04 
 Effective 6/1/04 
Business Education: Content Effective 9/18/10 
 Knowledge (0101)                                                                   

540 
570 
154 

--- --- 161 

Chemistry Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070) Prior to 6/30/06 
Chemistry: Content Knowledge (0245)  Effective 7/1/06 

530 
151 

  161 

English English Language, Literature, & Composition: 
      Content Knowledge (0041) 
      Pedagogy (0043) 

 
160 
130 

 
 

--- 

 
 

--- 

 
 

161 
Family & Consumer 
Sciences (formerly Home 
Economics) 

Family & Consumer Sciences (0120) Prior to 12/31/08 
Family & Consumer Sciences (0121)   Effective 1/1/09 

510 
141 

--- --- 161 

French French  (0170)  Prior to 5/31/04 
French: Content Knowledge (0173)  Effective 6/1/04 
French: World Language (0174)   Effective 10/15/10 

520 
156 
157 

PLT7-12 (Score 161) until 6/30/13; 
After 6/30/13 World Languages Pedagogy 
0841 (Score 158) 

General Science Biology & General Science (0030) –OR— 
Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070) Prior to 6/30/05 
General Science: Content Knowledge (0435)  
 Effective 7/1/05 

580 
530 

 
156 

--- --- 161 

German German (0180) 
German: Content Knowledge (0181)  Effective 7/1/06 
German: World Language (0183)                 Effective 10/15/10 

500 
151 
157 

PLT7-12 (Score 161) until 6/30/13; 
After 6/30/13 World Languages 
Pedagogy0841 (Score 158) 

Mathematics Mathematics (0060)  Prior to 5/31/04 
Mathematics: Content Knowledge (0061)  Effective 6/1/04 
 Effective 6/1/07 
 Effective 6/1/10 

550 
125 
130 
135 

--- --- 161 

Physics Chemistry/Physics/General Science (0070) Prior to 6/30/06 
Physics: Content Knowledge (0265)  Effective 7/1/06 

530 
        141 

  161 

School Librarian Library Media Specialist (0310)  Prior to 9/11/09 
Library Media Specialist (0311)  Effective 9/12/09 

560 
136 

--- --- --- 

Social Studies Social Studies: 
    Content Knowledge (0081)  
    Interpretation of Materials (0083) 

 
149 
152 

 
--- 

 
--- 

161 

Spanish Spanish (0190)  Prior to 5/31/04 
Spanish: Content Knowledge (0191)  Effective 6/1/04 
Spanish: World Language (0195)  Effective 10/15/10 

540 
160 
157 

PLT7-12 (Score 161) until 6/30/13; 
After 6/30/13 World Languages 
Pedagogy0841 (Score 158) 

Speech Speech Communications (0220)  Effective 7/1/05 
Speech Communications (0221)  Effective 9/12/09 

575 
146 

--- --- 161 

Technology Education 
(formerly Industrial Arts) 

Technology Education (0050)  Effective 7/1/05 600 --- --- 161 

Computer Science 
Earth Science 
 Environmental Science 
Journalism  
Latin 
Marketing (formerly 
Distributive Education) 

At this time, a content area exam is not required for certification 
in Louisiana. 

--- --- --- 161 

 
2. All-Level K-12 Certification 

All-Level K-12 Certification Areas 
   Score PLT K-6 PLT 5-9 PLT 7-12 

Grades K-12 Art  Art: Content Knowledge (0133)  Effective 7/1/05 155 161 or 154 or 161 
Grades K-12 Dance None Available** --- 161 or 154 or 161 
 
 
Grades K-12 Foreign 
Languages 
 

French  (0170)  Prior to 5/31/04 
French: Content Knowledge (0173)  Effective 6/1/04 
French: World Language (0174) Effective 10/15/10 

520 
156 
157 

 
PLT K-6 (Score 161) or PLT 5-9 (Score 154) or 
PL7-12 (Score 161) until 6/30/13; 
 
After 6/30/13 World Languages Pedagogy 0841 
(Score 158) 

 

German (0180) 
German: Content Knowledge (0181)  Effective 7/1/06 
German: World Language (0183) Effective 10/15/10 

500 
151 
157 

Spanish (0190)  Prior to 5/31/04 
Spanish: Content Knowledge (0191)  Effective 6/1/04 
Spanish: World Language (0195) Effective 10/15/10 

540 
160 
157 

Grades K-12 Music Music Education (0110)  Prior to 5/31/04 
Music: Content Knowledge (0113)  Effective 6/1/04 

530 
151 

161 or 154 or 161 

Grades K-12 Health 
and Physical 
Education 

Physical Education (0090)  Prior to 5/31/04 
Phys. Education: Content Knowledge  
(0091)  Effective 6/1/04 

550 
146 

161 or 154 or 161 

**At this time, a content area exam is not required for certification in Louisiana. 

 

D. - E.Table. … 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:485 and 488 (March 2010), LR 36:2265 (October 
2010), repromulgated LR 37:556 (February 2011). 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#031 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School PersonnelLouisiana Teacher Assistance and 

Assessment Program (LaTAAP) 
(LAC 28:CXXXI.233, 303, 305, 307, 309, 315, and 1003) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel: §233. The 
Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative Path to 
Certification (Minimum Requirements); §303. Introduction, 
§305. Professional Leel Certificates, §307. Type C, B, and A 
Certificates, §309. Out-of-State (OS) Certificate, §315. 
Standard Certificates for Teachers in Nonpublic Schools, and 
§1003. Acronyms. 

This revision in policy of Bulletin 746 aligns the state’s 
new evaluation program with standards contained in Act 54 
of the 2010 Louisiana Legislative Session which repeals the 
Louisiana Teacher Assistance and Assessment Program 
(LaTAAP). This revision in Bulletin 746 clarifies the new 
evaluation process. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Teacher Preparation Programs 
Subchapter B. Alternate Teacher Preparation Programs 
§233. The Practitioner Teacher Program Alternative 

Path to Certification (Minimum Requirements) 
A. - C.7. … 
D. Teaching Internship and First-Year Support (12 credit 

hours or equivalent 180 contact hours) 
1. … 
2. For all-level areas (art, dance, foreign language, 

health and physical education, and music), field experiences 
should be provided across grades K-12. 

3. For General-Special Education Mild/Moderate 
Grades 1-5, Grades 4-8 and Grades 6-12 seminars will cover 
instructional strategies in core content areas, state reading 
competencies with alignment to state literacy plan; 
numeracy strategies; classroom management; lesson plans—
development and implementation; assessment; collaboration 
between special education and general education (e.g., co-
planning, co-teaching, behavior intervention, 
accommodations, services/support); collaboration with 

parents; and data-driven decision making or any other 
identified needs. Technology will be addressed in all grade 
levels. 

D.4. - J. … 
K. Professional License. A practitioner teacher will be 

issued a practitioner license in a specific level and area upon 
entrance to the program and completion of the summer or 
fall teacher preparation session. The practitioner teacher is 
restricted to the specific level and area as designated on the 
practitioner license. He/she will be issued a Level 1 
professional license upon successful completion of all 
program requirements.  

L. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1790 (October 2006), 
amended LR 34:1387 (July 2008), LR 35:1477 (August 2009), LR 
37:558 (February 2011). 
Chapter 3. Teaching Authorizations and 

Certifications 
Subchapter A. Standard Teaching Authorizations 
§303. Introduction 

A. - A.6. … 
B. A Level 1 certificate is the entry-level professional 

certificate typically held during the first three years of the 
teaching career. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:558 (February 2011). 
§305. Professional Level Certificates 

A. Level 1 is the entry-level professional certificate, 
valid for three years. The Level 2 and Level 3 certificates are 
valid for five years, with renewal involving completion of a 
specified number of continuing learning units (CLUs) of 
professional development. 

1. - 1.d.i.(c). … 
2. Renewal Guidelines. A Level 1 certificate is valid 

for three years and may be renewed upon the request of a 
Louisiana employing authority.  

B. Level 2 Professional Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with continuing learning units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal.  

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. … 
b. successfully complete the local evaluation plan 

mandated by Act 54 of the Louisiana 2010 Legislative 
Session; and 

B.1.c. - E.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1797 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33: 433 (March 2007), LR 34:233 (February 2008), 
LR 34:1611 (August 2008), LR 35:222 (February 2009), LR 
37:558 (February 2011). 
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§307. Type C, B, and A Certificates 
A. Effective July 1, 2002, these certificates are no longer 

issued for initial certification. The Type C certificate is valid 
for three years and may be renewed upon the request of the 
Louisiana employing authority. Teachers who hold Type B 
and Type A lifetime certificates will continue to hold these 
certificates. 

B. - B.2. … 
C. Type B Certificate—a lifetime certificate for 

continuous service, provided the holder does not allow any 
period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue 
in which he is not a regularly employed teacher for at least 
one semester, or 90 consecutive days, and/or the certificate is 
not revoked by the State Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education (BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. hold or meet eligibility requirements for a Type C 

certificate; 
b. successfully complete the local evaluation plan 

mandated by Act 54 of the Louisiana 2010 Legislative 
Session; and 

1.c. - 2. … 
D. Type A Certificate—a lifetime certificate for 

continuous service, provided the holder does not allow any 
period of five or more consecutive years of disuse to accrue 
in which he/she is not a regularly employed teacher for at 
least one semester, or 90 consecutive days, and/or the 
certificate is not revoked by the state Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education (BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. … 
b. successfully complete the local evaluation plan 

mandated by Act 54 of the Louisiana 2010 Legislative 
Session; 

D.1.c. - E.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1798 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:559 (February 2011). 
§309. Out-of-State (OS) Certificate 

A. - B.5. … 
C. Advancing from OS to Professional Level 1, 2, or 3 

Certificate 
1. - 1.c.iv.(b). … 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1799 (October 2006), 
amended LR 33:433 (March 2007), LR 34:1611 (August 2008), LR 
35:222 (February 2009), LR 35:894 (May 2009), LR 37:559 
(February 2011). 
§315. Standard Certificates for Teachers in Nonpublic 

Schools 
A. A standard certificate with an asterisk (*) following 

the certificate type is issued to a teacher in a non-public 
school. The asterisk (*) refers to a statement printed at the 
bottom of the certificate: “If this teacher enters a 
public/charter school system in Louisiana, he/she will be 
required to successfully complete the local evaluation plan 
mandated by Act 54 of the Louisiana 2010 Legislative 
Session”. 

B. Level 2* (2-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal.  

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. - b. … 
c. completed a teacher evaluation program for three 

years at the same nonpublic school, with the principal as 
evaluator and the teacher performance rated as satisfactory 
in the areas of planning, management, instruction, and 
professional development. 

2. … 
3. The Level 2* certificate is valid in a nonpublic 

school setting. If the teacher enters a Louisiana 
public/charter school he/she will be required to successfully 
complete the local evaluation plan mandated by Act 54 of 
the Louisiana 2010 Legislative Session.  

C. Level 3* (3-asterisk) Certificate—valid for five years 
and renewable with Continuing Learning Units (CLUs) of 
approved professional development during the five year 
period immediately preceding request for renewal. 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. - c. … 
d. completed a teacher evaluation program for three 

consecutive years at the same nonpublic school, with the 
principal as evaluator and the teacher performance rated as 
satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. … 
3. The Level 3* certificate is valid in a nonpublic 

school setting. If the teacher enters a Louisiana 
public/charter school he/she will be required to successfully 
complete the local evaluation plan mandated by Act 54 of 
the Louisiana 2010 Legislative Session.  

4. Renewal Guidelines for Level 2* and Level 3* 
Certificates  

a. A teacher must complete 150 continuing learning 
units (CLUs) of district-approved and verified professional 
development over the five year time period during which 
he/she holds the certificate, or during the five year time 
period immediately preceding the request for renewal. The 
Louisiana employing authority must request renewal of a 
Level 2* or Level 3* certificate. 

b. A teacher with an existing Level 2* or Level 3* 
teaching certificate may renew that certificate based upon 
completion of NBC during the period of certificate validity, 
as satisfaction in full of the 150 CLUs required for renewal. 

c. If the holder of an expired Level 2* or Level 3* 
certificate has not earned the required 150 CLUs of 
professional development, the expired certificate may be 
reactivated upon request of the employing authority (at the 
level that was attained prior to expiration) for a period of one 
year, during which time the certificate holder must present 
evidence of successful completion of the required 150 CLUs 
to the Division of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education. Failure to complete necessary CLUs during the 
one year reactivation period will result in an expired 
certificate that cannot be reinstated until evidence is 
provided of completed professional development 
requirements. 

d. A continuing learning unit (CLU) is a 
professional development activity that builds capacity for 
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effective, research-based, content-focused teaching and 
learning that positively impacts student achievement. As a 
unit of measure, the CLU is used to quantify an educator's 
participation in a district- or system-approved, content-
focused professional development activity aligned with the 
educator's individual professional growth plan.  

D. Type B* (B-asterisk) Certificate—a lifetime 
nonpublic school certificate for continuous service, provided 
the holder does not allow any period of five or more 
consecutive years of disuse to accrue in which he is not a 
regularly employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, and/or certificate is not revoked by the 
Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements: 
a. - b. … 
c. completed a teacher evaluation program for three 

consecutive years at the same nonpublic school, with the 
principal as evaluator and the teacher performance rated as 
satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. … 
3. The Type B* certificate is valid for life of 

continuous service in a nonpublic school setting. If the 
teacher enters a Louisiana public/charter school he/she will 
be required to complete the local evaluation plan mandated 
by Act 54 of the Louisiana 2010 Legislative Session. 

E. Type A* (A-asterisk) Certificate—a lifetime 
nonpublic school certificate for continuous service, provided 
the holder does not allow any period of five or more 
consecutive years of disuse to accrue in which he is not a 
regularly employed teacher for at least one semester, or 90 
consecutive days, and/or certificate is not revoked by the 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE). 

1. Eligibility requirements:  
a. - c. … 
d. completed a teacher evaluation program for three 

consecutive years at the same nonpublic school, with the 
principal as evaluator and the teacher performance rated as 
satisfactory in the areas of planning, management, 
instruction, and professional development. 

2. … 
3. The Type A* certificate is valid for life of 

continuous service in a nonpublic school setting. If this 
teacher enters a Louisiana public school he/she will be 
required to successfully complete the local evaluation plan 
mandated by Act 54 of the Louisiana 2010 Legislative 
Session.  

F. - G.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1801 (October 2006), 
amended LR 36:752 (April 2010), LR 37:559 (February 2011). 
Chapter 10. Definitions 
§1003. Acronyms 

* * * 
LaTAAP—Repealed. 

* * * 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1833 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37:560 (February 2011). 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#035  
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 996―Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs 

(LAC 28:XLV.Chapters 3-13) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended Bulletin 996―Standards for 
Approval of Teacher and or Educational Leader Preparation 
Programs: Chapters 3-13. This policy outlines requirements 
for submission, review, and board approval of proposals for 
alternate teacher preparation programs and educational 
leader programs from non-university private providers. 
There was a need for policy to be developed that would 
provide for a fair and timely review and approval process for 
non-university private provider teacher and educational 
leader preparation programs. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLV.  Bulletin 996―Standards for Approval of 
Teacher and/or Educational Leader Preparation 

Programs 
Chapter 3. State Approval for Public and Private 

University Teacher and/or Educational 
Leader Preparation Units 

§301. Process/Procedures 
A. The Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) and 

Board of Regents (BOR) staff reviews proposals from public 
and private, new or reinstated teacher and/or educational 
leader preparation units/programs for entry into Level I and 
Level II. When an application is judged satisfactory, a 
recommendation is made to BESE and BOR for approval to 
enter the appropriate level. Upon approval by BESE and 
BOR, the teacher and/or educational leader preparation 
program will move to the appropriate level. 

B. The state may conduct scheduled and/or unscheduled 
reviews of the teacher and/or educational leader preparation 
unit/program, including on-site visits, at any time during the 
process.  

C. Public and out-of-state private institutions must 
submit duplicate documents to the Board of Regents for 
program approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 30:2452 (November 
2004), amended LR 35:2327 (November 2009), LR 37:560 
(February 2011). 
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§303. Level I Approval 
A. Level I is entered upon approval by BESE and BOR 

of a proposal submitted to the Department of Education’s 
Division of Teacher Certification and Preparation.  

B. For public and private institutions of higher 
education, the proposal will include the following items: 

1. official declaration of intent in the form of a letter 
from the head of the institution;  

2. evidence of regional accreditation status (e.g. 
Southern Association of Colleges and Schools); 

3. a narrative that follows state-approved guidelines, 
which are available from the Louisiana Department of 
Education or the Board of Regents. These guidelines 
include: 

a. documentation describing general education 
classes (e.g., number of general education course hours by 
discipline and catalog course descriptions) according to 
Bulletin 746 and R.S. 17:7.1 and 7.2; 

b. documentation describing certification areas to 
be offered, with required courses to meet state certification 
requirements, according to Bulletin 746 and R.S. 17:7.1 and 
7.2; 

c. evidence of collaboration with school districts, 
including a plan for development of an advisory board of 
community, district and university representatives. The 
written plan should describe how the council would be used 
and should name members and/or potential members; 

d. evidence to show that the institution's governing 
structure will endorse and financially support a teacher 
and/or educational leader preparation unit and programs 
(e.g., budget detail showing funding sources); 

e. documentation showing expertise of individuals 
directed to guide the unit and its programs (e.g., vitae of the 
dean or chair, department heads, director of field 
experiences, faculty, etc.); 

f. an articulation agreement to transfer credit hours 
with another Louisiana-approved teacher and/or educational 
leader preparation institution that agrees to recommend the 
institution's candidates for certification, as needed, for 
continuous progress and program completion.  

C. Upon BESE and BOR approval of the proposal, the 
institution is authorized, for a period of up to one year, to 
proceed with developing the teacher and/or educational 
leader preparation unit and programs identified in the 
proposal, and to admit candidates to programs. This does not 
authorize the recommendation of graduates for certification.  

D. External reviews of education programs by a team 
comprised of national consultants and Board of Regents and 
LDOE staff will be conducted to ensure adherence to 
guidelines developed and approved by LDOE and the Board 
of Regents.  

E. The institution must apply for Level II approval 
within one year, or receive a one-year extension of Level I 
from BESE to address unforeseen circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:561 (February 2011). 
§305. Level II Approval 

A. Level II authorizes the institution to recommend 
candidates for certification, and begins with the joint review 
by the Louisiana Department of Education and Board of 
Regents and approval by BESE of the following items 

submitted to the LDOE’s Division of Teacher Certification 
and Preparation: 

1. a narrative describing the missions of the institution 
and the teacher and/or educational leader preparation 
program, reflecting that the program is an integrated and 
integral part of the university. The narrative should specify 
beliefs that drive the institution and unit and may include the 
knowledge bases from which these beliefs developed;  

2. a written description of the professional education 
unit or education program that is primarily responsible for 
the preparation of teachers and other professional education 
personnel. This may be a chart or a narrative that specifies 
all professional education programs offered by the institution 
and degrees awarded for each program, and an 
organizational chart showing the professional education 
unit's or education program’s relationship to other 
administrative units within the institution; 

3. evidence that a dean, director, or chair is officially 
designated to represent the education unit or education 
program and has been assigned authority and responsibility 
for its overall administration and operation (e.g., a job 
description for the head of the professional education unit or 
education program);  

4. evidence of written policies and procedures that 
guide education unit or education program operation, 
including policies or procedures pertaining to candidates. 
This may be submitted as hard copy (e.g., catalogs, 
handbooks) or as instructions for accessing a website;  

5. a description of the education unit’s or education 
program’s system of monitoring and evaluating its 
candidates, programs, operations, and the performance of its 
graduates. This will reflect how the education unit or 
education program will assess programs, unit effectiveness, 
and candidates as well as how the education unit or 
education program will provide follow-up data on its 
graduates;  

6. instrument(s) for assessing candidates for 
admission to and exit from the teacher and/or educational 
leader preparation program. This would include 
requirements for entrance to teacher and/or educational 
leader preparation programs, through transition points, and 
for successful program completion as well as procedures for 
remediation, if necessary;  

7. full budget report for the implementation of 
programs, including internal and external sources of funding, 
and including both hard and soft monies. 

B. Level II must be completed within a period of one to 
three years. The BESE may grant only one extension, for a 
period of one year, when problems are identified that require 
solution prior to notification of intent to seek full state 
approval and national accreditation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:561 (February 2011). 
§307. Level III Approval 

A. Level III begins when the teacher and/or educational 
leader preparation program is notified by the accrediting 
agency that it is eligible for candidacy for national 
accreditation. 

B. A copy of the verification from the national 
accrediting agency must be submitted to the Louisiana 
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Department of Education’s Division of Teacher Certification 
and Preparation.  

C. Within three years or less from the time at which an 
institution is notified of eligibility for candidacy, the unit 
must host a joint visit with a national accreditation agency 
and state representatives (see guidelines provided by state-
approved national accrediting agencies, identified in §107 of 
this document). 

D. The institution remains in Level III until the 
accreditation process is complete. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:561 (February 2011). 
§309. Level IV Approval 

A. Level IV begins with notification of final 
accreditation by the national accrediting agency.  

B. The LDOE’s division of teacher certification and 
preparation receives notification of accreditation of the 
teacher and/or educational leader preparation program by the 
national accrediting agency. The LDOE will verify that the 
teacher and/or educational leader preparation program meets 
state standards and will forward this information to BESE 
for final state approval.  

C. The BESE will notify the institution of final state 
approval. 

D. The national accrediting agency defines the cycle for 
continued accreditation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:562 (February 2011). 
Chapter 5. State Approval for Non-University 

Private Provider Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation 
Programs 

§501. Process/Procedures 
A. In-state and out-of-state non-university private 

providers seeking state approval may submit proposals to the 
Louisiana Department of Education for a Practitioner 
Teacher Program, Certification-Only Alternate Teacher 
Program and Educational Leader Practitioner Program that 
leads to Louisiana licensure as a teacher or educational 
leader.  

B. Proposals must be submitted using the private 
provider application packet available at 
www.teachlouisiana.net and must include the following:  

1. cover page signed by the program director; 
2. program overview briefly describing the program, 

including goals of the program and the design to accomplish 
the goals; 

3. documentation of collaborative agreements with 
school districts/charter schools to develop and implement the 
program, provide mentoring for candidates and improve the 
program once implemented; 

4. a description of the process used to recruit, screen 
and select outstanding candidates and support program 
completers; 

5. evidence that the curriculum is aligned to the 
requirements set forth in Bulletin 746―Louisiana Standards 
for State Certification of School Personnel; 

6. measurable objectives that clearly identify the most 
critical competencies candidates will demonstrate and a 

description of instruments and processes used to assess 
performance; 

7. a list of proposed resources and materials; 
8. names and credentials of staff, including curriculum 

vitae of key personnel; 
9. an audited financial statement. If one is not 

currently available, then the applicant must submit a written 
assurance that one will be provided within the first year of 
the program. Additionally, the proposal should delineate any 
costs to individual program participants and procedures for 
handling of all fees. 

C. Private providers are limited to the submission of one 
proposal every 12 months. The 12 month cycle begins on the 
date that the proposal is received by the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

D. Private providers with programs established in other 
states must provide verification that their teacher preparation 
or educational leader programs are approved in the states in 
which they operate. In addition, the following data must be 
provided: 

1. number of program completers; 
2. certification areas approved and offered in other 

states; 
3. letters of references from employing school 

districts; and 
4. teacher effectiveness data, if available.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:562 (February 2011). 
§503. Preliminary Review  

A. Upon receipt, program proposals will undergo a 
preliminary review by the LDOE for completeness. 
Programs that meet all initial submission requirements will 
undergo the evaluation process by an external and internal 
team. Programs that don’t meet all initial submission 
requirements will receive a notice of pending denial. 
Applicants will have seven days to provide the required 
material. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:562 (February 2011). 
§505. Evaluation Process  

A. A panel of internal and external reviewers will 
evaluate written proposals to ensure they meet professional, 
state and national standards for quality and state certification 
policy.  

B. An interview with the program provider and 
collaborators involved in the development and design of the 
program will be conducted within 30 days of the receipt of 
the proposal.  

C. Recommendations relative to approval of the proposal 
will be sent by the LDOE to the provider. Program proposal 
recommendations will be categorized as follows: 
recommended for approval, recommended for approval with 
stipulations, or not recommended for approval. 

1. Recommended for Approval  
a. A proposal that is recommended for approval 

meets all structural and policy requirements according to the 
program proposal guidelines and does not require any 
revisions or additional clarification.  
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b. Programs categorized as recommended for approval 
are recommended for provisional two-year approval at the 
next available BESE meeting. 

2. Recommended for Approval with Stipulations 
a. A proposal that is recommended for approval 

with stipulations is one that generally meets all structural 
and policy requirements according to the program proposal 
guidelines but does require additional clarification and 
adjustments. 

b. Proposal will only be recommended for 
provisional two-year approval at the next available BESE 
meeting when the LDOE has determined that all stipulations 
identified by the review team have been addressed. 

c. A listing of the stipulations identified by the 
review team and evidence that each one has been addressed 
will be provided to the board and included with the 
recommendation for approval.  

3. Not Recommended for Approval 
a. A proposal that is not recommended for approval 

is one that does not meet the policy or structural 
requirements according to the program proposal guidelines 
in significant ways and is in need of major program 
redesign. 

b. Providers that are not recommended for approval 
may resubmit redesigned proposals to the department for 
reconsideration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:562 (February 2011). 
§507. Board Approval 

A. Programs recommended for approval by the review 
team or programs that have successfully addressed all 
stipulations identified by the review team are recommended 
for provisional two-year approval at the next available BESE 
meeting.  

B. Once BESE has granted provisional two-year 
approval of the program, the provider is authorized, for a 
period of up to two years to proceed with developing the 
teacher and/or educational leader preparation programs 
identified in the proposal, admit candidates to the program 
and recommend completers for certification. 

C. After one year of implementation of the program, an 
on-site monitoring visit will be conducted by the LDOE to 
ensure compliance with policy and quality of delivery. A 
report of the monitoring visit will be presented to BESE. 

D. For state approval beyond the provisional two years, 
private providers must maintain value added assessment 
results at Level 3 or higher as described in Chapter 11. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:563 (February 2011). 
§509. Board Denial 

A. If a program recommended by the department is not 
approved by BESE, the provider will be notified of the 
denial in a formal letter. The provider will be allowed one 
additional opportunity to resubmit a redesigned proposal to 
the LDOE according to the 12 month submission cycle.  

B. Redesigned programs that are denied by BESE for a 
second time, may not re-apply until two years after the date 
of the program’s original application. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:563 (February 2011). 
Chapter 7. Louisiana State Standards for Teacher 

Preparation Programs 
§701. Introduction 

A. Each teacher preparation program seeking approval 
from the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 
(BESE) is required to incorporate and adhere to the NCATE 
standards or TEAC’s principles and standards and to track 
closely the NCATE or TEAC accreditation process. It is the 
responsibility of the teacher preparation program to prepare 
and present a clear description of how it is responding to 
each of the Louisiana standards within the accreditation 
process. 

B. The rubrics, as listed, develop a continuum of quality 
regarding a beginning teacher's ability to meet effectively 
the requirements of the five domains in The Louisiana 
Components of Effective Teaching. The integration of the 
Louisiana Content Standards is to be evidenced in the 
teacher education curricula of each teacher education unit. 
Each teacher education program must show evidence of 
integration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:563 (February 2011). 
Chapter 9. The Components of Effective Teacher 

Preparation 
Subchapter A. Standard A: Candidates Provide Effective 

Teaching for All Students 
§901. Planning 

A. Candidates at both the initial and advanced levels of 
the teacher education program provide effective instruction 
and assessment for all students. 

1. The teacher education program provides 
candidates1 at both the initial and advanced levels with 
knowledge and skills in the following planning processes: 

a. specifying learner outcomes; 
b. developing appropriate activities which lead to 

the outcomes; 
c. planning for individual differences; 
d. identifying materials and media for instruction; 
e. specifying evaluation strategies for student 

achievement; and 
f. developing Individualized Education Plans 

(IEPs) as needed. 
 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates recognize 
the components of 
planning and know 
that they are expected 
to meet the learning 
needs of each student. 

Candidates demonstrate 
knowledge of the steps 
in developing plans to 
meet the learning needs 
of each student. 

Candidates 
develop and 
implement plans 
as needed to meet 
the learning needs 
of each student. 

 

1Candidates. Individuals admitted to or enrolled in programs for the First 
preparation of teachers. Candidates are distinguished from students in P-12 
school. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:563 (February 2011). 
§903. Management 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with knowledge and 
skills in the management component, which includes 
maintaining an environment conducive to learning, 
maximizing instructional time, and managing learner 
behavior. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates 
understand 
various 
approaches to 
classroom/ 
behavior 
management. 

Candidates create 
a positive learning 
environment, 
maximize 
instructional time, 
and manage 
learner behavior. 

Candidates create a 
positive learning 
environment, maximize 
instructional time, and 
manage learner behavior, 
making adjustments as 
necessary to meet the 
learning needs of each 
student. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 
§905. Instruction 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with skills for delivering 
effective instruction, presenting appropriate content, 
providing for student involvement, and assessing and 
facilitating student growth. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates recognize 
the components of 
instruction that meet 
the learning needs of 
each student. 

Candidates 
demonstrate use of 
instructional 
components that meet 
the learning needs of 
each student. 

Candidates 
demonstrate effective 
instruction that results 
in positive learning 
outcomes for each 
student.  

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 
§907. Curriculum 

A. The teacher education curricula provide candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with knowledge and 
skills to effectively incorporate the Louisiana content 
standards and grade level expectations in instructional 
delivery. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates 
understand the 
basic components 
of the Louisiana 
Content Standards 
and Grade Level 
Expectations. 

Candidates demonstrate 
knowledge of the 
Louisiana Content 
Standards and Grade 
Level Expectations in 
lessons for each content 
area they are preparing 
to teach. 

Candidates implement 
instruction and 
assessment reflective 
of content standards, 
grade level 
expectations, local 
curricula, and each 
student's needs. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 

§909. Curriculum―Reading (Specifically but not 
Exclusively for K-3 Teachers) 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with knowledge and 
skills in the Louisiana reading competencies and the 
curriculum process. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates 
understand the 
components of the 
Louisiana Reading 
Competencies. 

Candidates utilize the 
Louisiana Reading 
Competencies in K-12 
classrooms. 

Candidates effectively 
utilize the Louisiana 
Reading 
Competencies in K-12 
classrooms to impact 
learning. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 
§911. Curriculum―Mathematics (Specifically but not 

exclusively for K-3 teachers) 
A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 

both the initial and advanced levels with knowledge and 
skills in the curriculum process. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates 
understand the 
elements of reform 
mathematics. 

Candidates use 
reform 
mathematics 
content and 
pedagogy in 
providing 
instruction. 

Candidates effectively 
use reform mathematics 
content and pedagogy in 
instruction and 
assessment, including 
the use of manipulatives 
and/or the application of 
content to real life 
situations, resulting in 
improved student 
learning. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 
§913. Technology 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both initial and advanced levels with skills to plan and 
deliver instruction that integrates a variety of software, 
applications, and related technologies appropriate to the 
learning needs of each student. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates 
understand how to 
use technology. 

Candidates create 
and use 
instruction and 
assessment that 
integrate 
technology into 
the curriculum. 

Candidates effectively 
integrate technology 
into the curriculum with 
instruction and 
assessment that result in 
improved student 
learning. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 
§915. Professional Development 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with information and 
skills for planning professional self-development. 
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Unacceptable Acceptable Target 
No evidence exists 
that candidates were 
exposed to the need 
for ongoing 
professional 
development.  

Candidates plan 
and pursue 
professional 
development 
activities required 
by the university 
and/or first 
employing school 
system. 

Candidates develop an 
individualized 
professional 
development plan based 
upon their self-
assessment, reflection, 
and long term 
professional goals. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:564 (February 2011). 
§917. School Improvement 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with preparatory 
experiences in school improvement that includes taking an 
active role in school decision-making and creating relevant 
partnerships. 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 
Candidates 
understand the 
processes of 
school 
improvement. 

Candidates review and 
are familiar with 
school improvement 
efforts at the school 
and district levels. 

Candidates participate 
in school improvement 
efforts by serving on 
committees and forming 
partnerships with 
community groups. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:565 (February 2011). 
Subchapter B. Standard B: Candidates and/or 

Graduates of Teacher Education 
Programs Participate in the 
Accountability and Testing Process 

§919. School and District Accountability System 
A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 

both the initial and advanced levels with knowledge and 
skills regarding the utilization of the Louisiana School and 
District Accountability System (LSDAS). 

 
Unacceptable Acceptable Target 

Candidates 
understand the 
basic components 
of the LSDAS. 

Candidates 
investigate 
documents, data, and 
procedures used in 
LSDAS. 

Candidates take an 
active role in the 
school growth process 
as related to the 
LSDAS. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:565 (February 2011). 
§921. Testing 

A. The teacher education program provides candidates at 
both the initial and advanced levels with information on the 
Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (LEAP 21) to 
enhance their testing and measurement practices related to 
learning and instruction. 

 

Unacceptable Acceptable Target 
Candidates understand 
the basic components 
of the Louisiana 
Educational 
Assessment Program 
(LEAP 21). 

Candidates plan 
and implement 
instruction that 
correlates with 
LEAP 21. 

Candidates interpret 
LEAP 21 test data 
and apply results to 
impact student 
achievement 
positively. 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), and R.S. 17:7.2. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:565 (February 2011). 
Chapter 11. Teacher Preparation Program 

Accountability 
§1101. Programmatic Intervention 

A. In order to offer a state-approved teacher preparation 
program that allows teachers to become certified by the 
LDOE, public and private higher education institutions must 
follow the process/procedures detailed in Chapter 3 of this 
document. Private providers wishing to offer a state-
approved teacher preparation program must meet all 
requirements contained in the Program Standards and 
Approval Process for Private Providers document available 
from http://www.teachlouisiana.net. For continued state 
approval, public and private higher education institutions 
and private providers must maintain value added assessment 
results at Level 3 or higher.  

B. The Louisiana Value Added Assessment of Teacher 
Preparation Programs (VAA-TPP) assesses the impact of 
new teachers from specific teacher preparation programs on 
student achievement. Based on this assessment, teacher 
preparation programs are identified as Level 1 (program 
completers performing above experienced teachers), Level 2 
(program completers performing similarly to experienced 
teachers), Level 3 (program completers performing similarly 
to new average teachers), Level 4 (program completers 
performing more poorly than average new teachers) or Level 
5 (program completers performing significantly more poorly 
than average new teachers). The VAA-TPP has been 
developed and is supported by the BOR and BESE.  

C.1. Any teacher preparation program that receives a 
Level 4 or 5 result in any content area shall immediately be 
assigned a designation of programmatic intervention. 
Programmatic intervention will include a review of the 
existing program in that content area by a team composed of 
key personnel within the program, a nationally recognized 
expert from within or outside the state identified by the 
program provider and a content area specialist designated by 
the State Superintendent of Education. The review must be 
completed within one year of the Programmatic Intervention 
designation and be used to create a corrective action plan to 
address the needs. Subsequent to the review, the public or 
private higher education institution or private provider will 
make a brief report to BESE that will specify: 

a. the findings of the review; 
b. the corrective action plan; 
c. the time frame for implementation of the 

corrective action plan and when changes in their value added 
assessment results would be anticipated to occur based on 
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these actions; time frames may vary depending on the 
program type; 

d. the institution’s plan to assess implementation of 
the corrective action plan and what evidence will be 
collected demonstrating impact on current teacher 
candidates. 

2. Upon BESE approval of Subparagraphs a-d listed 
above, the program will be allowed to continue to certify 
teachers under the designation of programmatic intervention 
until value added assessment results improve to a Level 3 or 
higher. 

D. BESE will conduct a progress review of any state 
approved teacher preparation program that fails to improve 
its value added assessment results to a Level 3 or higher 
within the BESE approved time frame identified in the 
corrective action plan. This progress review may result in an 
extended deadline for the teacher preparation program to 
improve its value added assessment results or loss of state 
approval. Any state-approved teacher preparation program 
that loses state-approval will not be allowed to offer teacher 
preparation programs that result in certification in the 
content area(s) that received the Level 4 or 5. A value added 
assessment Level 4 or 5 in reading could impact state 
approval in multiple content areas. In order to re-establish 
state approval to certify teachers in the content area(s), 
public and private universities must follow the 
process/procedures developed by the BOR. Private providers 
wishing to re-establish state approval in content areas must 
follow guidelines developed by the DOE.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:565 (February 2011). 
Chapter 13. Identifications of Acronyms 
§1301. Acronyms 

A. Listed below are the full identifications of acronyms 
used in this publication. 

BESE―Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. 
BOR―Board of Regents. 
CHEA―Council for Higher Education. 
IEP―Individualized Education Plan. 
K-3―kindergarten through third grade. 
K-12—kindergarten through twelfth grade. 
LDOE―Louisiana Department of Education. 
LEAP 21―Louisiana Educational Assessment Program 

for the 21st century. 
LSDAS―Louisiana School and District Accountability 

System.  
NCATE―National Council for the Accreditation of 

Teacher Education. 
P-12―pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade. 
TEAC―Teacher Education Accreditation Council. 
USDOE―U.S. Department of Education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(10); R.S. 17:7(6), R.S. 17:7.2. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:566 (February 2011). 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#036 
 
 

RULE 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and Nutrition Programs, 
Policies of Operation  

(LAC 28:XLIX.Chapters 3, 5, 7, 25, 29, 33, 34, and 35) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Board of Elementary and Secondary 
Education has amended  Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and 
Nutrition Programs, Policies of Operation: Chapters 3, 5, 7, 
25, 29, 33, 34, and 35. Bulletin 1196 is the policy manual 
designed to provide useful guidance and information for the 
purpose of improving regulatory compliance and to enhance 
the understanding and operation of the Child Nutrition 
Programs in Louisiana. Due to policy changes from USDA, 
as well as the state agency, it was imperative to revise 
chapters. The revisions will consolidate necessary changes to 
Child Nutrition Programs and, therefore, make it more 
useful to the local systems throughout the state. The changes 
are mostly technical in nature and address areas such as: 
appeals procedure, free and reduced eligibility, a La Carte 
sales available for teachers, and audit threshold. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLIX.  Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and 
Nutrition Programs, Policies of Operation 

Chapter 3. Financial Management and Accounting 
§351. Resolution of Financial Obligations Established 

by Program Reviews, Audits, or Other 
Compliance Reviews 

A. - A.2.c. … 
d. the appeal procedures. (Refer to the LAC 

28:I.Chapter 34, National School Lunch Program and Child 
and Adult Care Food Program Appeals Procedures. 

A.3 - C. …. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:191-199. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2120 (December 
2001), amended LR 32:1421 (August 2006), LR 37:566 (February 
2011). 
Chapter 5. Free and Reduced Price Meals 
§503. Policy Statements 

A. - A.2.f. … 
g. the notice of selection for verification and other 

forms of supporting documentation to assist in verification 
which include the following: 
 i. the SFA guidance/acceptable income 
documentation to assist household selected for verification 
in gathering income information; 
 ii. social security numbers; 
 iii. the verification letter for SNAP (supplemental 
nutrition assistance program, formerly the food stamp 
program)/family independent temporary assistance program 
(FITAP) to complete; 
 iv. the verification letter for Social Security office 
to complete;  
 v. the verification letter for employer to complete; 

h. the benefit change/termination notice; 
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i. SFA letter to the FITAP office; 
j. documentation results (the verification tracker 

form); 
3. - 3.c. … 

d. agrees to set reduced price charges for lunch and 
breakfast at or below the maximum reduced price allowed 
by federal regulations and below the full price of the lunch 
or breakfast; 

e. … 
f. agrees that in the operation of child nutrition 

programs, no child shall be discriminated against because of 
race, sex, color, national origin, age, or disability and agrees 
to have on file procedures for handling discrimination 
complaints; 

g. agrees to designate a school official to review 
applications and make determinations of eligibility. Such 
official will use the criteria outlined in the eligibility 
guidelines; 

h. agrees to establish and use a fair hearing 
procedure under which a family can appeal a decision made 
by the SFA with respect to the child's free and reduced price 
meal application; the SFA can challenge the continued 
eligibility of any child for free or reduced price meals. 
During the appeal and hearing, the child, who was 
determined to be eligible based on the face value of the 
application submitted, will continue to receive free or 
reduced price meals; prior to initiating the hearing 
procedure, the school official(s), the parent(s), or 
guardian(s), may request a conference to discuss the 
situation, present information, and obtain an explanation of 
data submitted on the application and the decisions rendered; 
such a conference shall not in any way prejudice or diminish 
the right to a fair hearing; the designated hearing official 
must be someone who is not involved in the original 
eligibility determination in any way, such as advising or 
answering questions for the approving official. It is 
suggested that this person hold a higher position than the 
determining official; the hearing official for the free and 
reduced application procedure and the hearing official for 
verification must be the same person; the hearing procedure 
shall provide the following for both the family and the SFA: 

h.i. - j.i. … 
 ii. an application that lists a valid SNAP/FITAP 
case number should be approved free for all students listed 
on the application. Parent(s) or guardian(s) will be promptly 
notified of the acceptance or denial of their application(s); 
 iii. - vi. … 

k. agrees to submit a public release containing both 
the free and reduced price income eligibility guidelines and 
all other information outlined in the letter to households to 
the local news media, local unemployment offices and major 
employers contemplating or experiencing large layoffs; 

l. agrees to establish a procedure to collect money 
from children who pay for their meals and to count by 
category at the point of service, the number of free, reduced 
price and full price meals. The procedure used must avoid 
overt identification; overt identification means any act that 
openly identifies children as eligible for free or reduced 
price benefits in child nutrition programs; 

m. agrees to use state agency prototype documents 
or accept responsibility for variations; 

n. agrees to: 

 i. verify eligibility for free and reduced price 
meals regulations; 
 ii. complete the verification process by November 
15 of each year; 
 iii. maintain a summary of the verification efforts 
that indicates the total number of applications on file 
October 1, the number of free and reduced-price eligibles as 
of the last day of October, the percentage or number of 
applications verified, techniques used, documentation 
submitted by households, documentation of any changes in 
eligibility and reasons for changes, and all relevant 
correspondence with households.  

B. - B.1.b.i. … 
 ii. Income Eligibility Guidelines for Free and 
Reduced Price Meals; 

2. - 2.f. … 
g. agree to keep on file, where a child nutrition 

program is in operation, a master list indicating the name, 
date of birth, income, and eligibility category of all children; 
the date the child entered the school or institution and the 
date the child withdrew from enrollment must be included. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2121 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:2025 (October 2003), LR 32:1421 (August 
2006), LR 37:566 (February 2011). 
§505. Application Materials and Process  

A. Application Design 
1. The application and all supporting materials must 

be clear and simple in design and in an understandable and 
uniform format. The application materials must also conform 
to the requirements described in this Section. 

B. Foreign Language Translations 
1. The application materials and other 

communications with households concerning eligibility 
determinations must be, to the maximum extent practicable, 
in a language that parents and guardians can understand. 
Where households need information in a language other than 
English, SFAs must make reasonable efforts, considering the 
number of such households, to provide household letters and 
application forms to them in languages other than English. 

2. The FNS web site (www.fns.usda.gov/cnd) has the 
prototype application and materials translated in several 
languages. SFAs are encouraged to provide households with 
assistance in completing applications through the use of 
personnel proficient in foreign languages.  

C. Informing Households/ Letter to the Household 
1. Each year at the beginning of school, letters must 

be distributed to the households of children attending the 
school. This letter tells families which school nutrition 
programs are available and that meals may be available free 
or at a reduced price. All SFAs must be able to provide 
households with paper applications and materials. 

2. The letter should be sent to households of all school 
children before the beginning of the school year or as early 
as possible in the school year so that eligibility 
determinations may be made, and free and reduced price 
benefits provided as soon as possible. SFAs should send out 
the letter no earlier than four calendar weeks prior to the 
time students start school. Letters cannot be sent home at the 
end of the school year for the next year, nor can the SFA 
begin accepting and processing applications before the 
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beginning of the federally defined school year which is July 
1 through June 30. Year-around schools that follow the July 
1 - June 30 school year would distribute letters in June. 

3. Households enrolling new students in an SFA after 
the start of the school year must be provided a letter and an 
application form and materials when they enroll. 

4. If the SFA uses paper applications, an application 
form and instructions must be included with the letter to 
households. 

5. If the SFA uses a computer or web-based system to 
process applications, the letter must inform the household 
how to access the system in order to apply for benefits. In 
addition, the letter must explain to the household how to 
obtain and submit a paper application. This may be done by 
including a telephone number or a form to return requesting 
that an application be sent. 

6. The letter must contain the following information: 
a. income eligibility guidelines: 

 i. for schools participating in the NSLP or SBP 
only, the reduced price guidelines may be included, with an 
explanation that households with incomes at or below the 
reduced price limits are eligible for either free or reduced 
price meals; 
 ii. for schools participating in the NSLP or SBP 
and also participating in the SMP with the free milk option 
for their split-session kindergarten students, both the free 
and the reduced price guidelines must be included; 

b. instructions on how to apply for free or reduced 
price meals, including that only one application is required 
for all children in the household; 

c. an explanation that an application for free or 
reduced price benefits cannot be approved unless it contains 
complete eligibility information as indicated on the 
application and instructions; 

d. a statement that foster children may be eligible 
for free or reduced price meals regardless of the income of 
the households with whom they reside and an explanation 
about how to contact the SFA for assistance or how to 
complete the application for a foster child; 

e. an explanation that households with children who 
are members of currently certified SNAP, FDPIR or FITAP 
households may submit applications for these children with 
the abbreviated information as indicated on the applications 
and instructions; 

f. an explanation that households with children who 
are enrolled in the Head Start/Even Start Program or the 
Migrant Education Program or who are considered homeless 
or runaway by the school district’s homeless liaison should 
contact the school for assistance in receiving benefits; 

g. an explanation that the information submitted on 
the application may be subject to verification; 

h. a statement that a household may apply for 
benefits at any time during the school year; 

i. a statement that children of parents or guardians 
who become unemployed may be eligible for free or reduced 
price meals during the period of unemployment; 

j. a statement to the effect that the Special 
Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and 
Children (WIC) participants may be eligible for free or 
reduced price meals; 

k. an explanation that a household may appeal the 
decision of the SFA with respect to the application using the 
hearing procedure described in the SFA’s free and reduced 
price policy statement; 

l. the following two statements must be included as 
written: 
 i. in accordance with federal law and U.S. 
Department of Agriculture policy, this institution is 
prohibited from discrimination on the basis of race, color, 
national origin, sex, age or disability; 
 ii. to file a complaint of discrimination write 
USDA, Director, Office of Civil Rights, 1400 Independence 
Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-9410 or call (800) 795-
3272 or (202) 720-6382 (TTY). USDA is an equal 
opportunity provider and employer; 

m. the SFA should also include local contact 
information if the household has questions about the 
application process. 

D. Household Applications 
1. SFAs must provide household applications to 

families applying for free or reduced price meal benefits. 
The federal or state prototype household application may be 
used by all SFAs. SFAs that choose to create a household 
application (such as a scannable application) must ensure 
that all information from the prototype application is present 
on the SFA application. A household application is submitted 
by a household for all children in that household that attend 
schools in the same SFA. Unless a child/family meets 
criteria to be exempt from household applications, SFAs 
cannot require one application for each child in a household. 
Further, SFAs cannot require separate applications for 
households with some children who are eligible based on 
categorical eligibility and some who are applying based on 
household income. 

2. The following are exemptions to household 
applications. 

a. Foster Children 
 i. Each foster child is considered a household of 
one and an application must be completed for each foster 
child in the household.  
 ii. In lieu of individual applications, the SFA may 
accept a list from the court or the agency responsible for the 
placement of foster children. The list must provide 
information indicating the child’s name, any personal 
income received by the child, the child’s current address, 
and, if known, the school that child is currently attending. 
The list must be signed by an appropriate official and 
provide the official’s title and contact information. 

b. Residents of RCCIs 
 i. Each child residing in an RCCI is considered a 
household of one. An application must be completed for 
each child or the RCCI may use an eligibility documentation 
sheet for all children residing in the RCCI. The 
documentation sheet must provide information indicating the 
child’s name and personal income received by the child. The 
documentation sheet must be signed by an appropriate 
official and provide the official’s title and contact 
information. 
 ii. Children attending but not residing in an RCCI 
are considered members of their household and their 
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eligibility is determined using a household application or 
through direct certification. 

E. Electronic Applications/Scanning Paper Applications 
1. The SFA may make the application and supporting 

materials available electronically via the Internet. In 
addition, the SFA may accept applications electronically and 
may provide for electronic signatures for such submissions. 
All disclosure restrictions must be met and acceptance of the 
application and electronic signatures must be in accordance 
with federal guidance. 

2. The SFA may also scan paper applications 
submitted. The scanning process must meet all regulatory 
requirements as well as perform functions as outlined in this 
guidance. The software/scanner system must be able to 
recognize and accept less than whole dollar amounts. 

3. Neither the federal or state agencies evaluate, 
recommend, approve, or endorse any software used for 
certification or verification purposes. There are no federal 
specifications for software vendors. SFAs are responsible for 
assuring that the certification and verification processes meet 
all regulatory requirements and policies. If software is used 
to perform all or part of the certification or verification 
process, the SFA must assure the software used is 
performing correctly and meets all requirements. 

F. Contents of the Application 
1. Except for the information in the attesting 

statement, the required information on the application form 
may be separate from the signature block. The application 
form must contain: 

a. privacy act statement: 
 i. a statement explaining the protections of the 
Privacy Act which addresses the following: 

(a). the disclosure of a social security number is 
voluntary; however, a social security number, or an 
indication of “none”, is required for approval of the 
application; 

(b). the social security number is required under 
provisions of the National School Lunch Act (NSLA); and 

(c). all potential uses that may be made of the 
social security number; 

b. foster child statement: 
 i. a statement explaining how a foster child 
applies which says: 

(a). “In certain cases, foster children are eligible 
for free or reduced price meals regardless of the household’s 
income. If you have foster children living with you and wish 
to apply for such meals for them, please contact us”; 

(b). in lieu of this statement, the SFA may 
include instructions on how to apply for a foster child; 

c. attesting statement: 
 i. a statement directly above the signature block 
for the signing adult to certify that: 

(a). the person signing is furnishing true 
information and to advise that person that the application is 
being made in connection with the receipt of federal funds; 

(b). school officials may verify the information 
on the application; 

(c). deliberate misrepresentation of the 
information may subject the applicant to prosecution under 
state and federal statutes; and  

(d). the Privacy Act statement or a reference to 
the Privacy Act statement and where the complete statement 
can be found in the application materials. 

2. The application must provide space for identifying 
each child separately. 

3. A school or SFA wishing to require income 
information from all households with enrolled children must 
secure that income information through means other than the 
household’s application for free or reduced price school 
meal benefits. If schools or SFAs collect such information 
for non-NSLP or SBP purposes, the applications may not be 
labeled as applications for benefits under the school meals 
program or give any indication that such benefits are 
contingent upon a household returning the application. If 
SFAs provide households with multi-use applications, which 
include both meal program benefits as well as non-food 
benefits, they must ensure that the process does not require 
submission of an application for free or reduced price meal 
benefits. Distribution and processing applications solely for 
information about household income to determine the school 
district’s funding for programs other than the schools meals 
programs or to determine eligibility for other assistance 
programs is not a requirement for NSLP or SBP purposes. 
Therefore, funds in the nonprofit school food service 
account cannot be used to pay the costs associated with 
collecting and processing such information. 

G. Submitting an Application 
1. Unless the children in a household are determined 

eligible through direct certification with SNAP or directly 
certified as categorically eligible though the SFA’s homeless 
or Migrant Education Program (MEP) liaison or other 
official sources, the family must submit an application to 
receive free or reduced price meals. The information that the 
household must provide depends on whether the children are 
categorically eligible based on receipt of other benefits or 
must be determined eligible on the household’s income. The 
information provided by the household on the application 
must be the most recent available. Households cannot be 
required to submit applications for free or reduced price 
benefits. 

H. Benefits Prior to Processing/ Processing Timeframe 
1. Before applications are processed for the school 

year, the SFA can only claim and be reimbursed for free and 
reduced price meals served to: 

a. children from households with approved 
applications on file from the previous year; 

b. new children in an SFA from households with 
children who were approved for benefits the previous year; 
and/or 

c. previously approved children who transfer from 
one school to another under the jurisdiction of the same 
SFA. If the applications are not centrally maintained, both 
the sending and the receiving school must maintain a copy 
of the child’s application. 

2. SFAs must carryover the eligibility status from the 
previous year for any child described above. The carryover 
is for up to 30 operating days (beginning with the first day of 
school) into the current school year. This applies to direct 
certification, categorical eligibility determinations and 
income applications. However, the new eligibility 
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determination supersedes the carryover eligibility. Local 
school officials are encouraged to expedite eligibility 
determinations for all new enrollees. SFAs must process the 
applications submitted for the current school year in a timely 
manner. SFAs cannot establish a shorter time frame for 
carryover. However, once an application is processed and 
approved or denied, the SFA must implement that 
determination. 

3. Except during the initial carryover period, in order 
to be eligible for free or reduced price meals, a child must: 

a. be directly certified with SNAP; 
b. be directly certified as categorically eligible 

though the SFA’s homeless or Migrant Education Program 
(MEP) liaison or other official sources; or 

c. submit a complete application that qualifies the 
child as either categorically eligible or income eligible.  

4. For each child served a meal that is claimed for 
federal reimbursement at the free or reduced price rate, the 
SFA must have one of the following on file: 

a. a list of children directly certified with SNAP; 
b. a list of children directly certified as categorically 

eligible through the SFA’s homeless or Migrant Education 
Program (MEP) liaison or other official sources; or 

c. an approved application. 
5. Applications must be reviewed in a timely manner. 

The application process must be completed no later than 30 
operating days from the first day of school. This process 
includes the distribution of applications and letters to the 
parent, the return of the application, eligibility 
determination, and notification to the parent. Within this 
timeframe, an eligibility determination must be made and 
implemented within 10 working days of the receipt of the 
application. Whenever possible, applications should be 
processed immediately, particularly for children who do not 
have approved applications on file from the previous year.  

6. Early childhood education, pre-kindergarten, and 
kindergarten students are not included in the previous year's 
enrollment; therefore, local school officials are encouraged 
to distribute a free/reduced application during the early 
"round-up" enrollment for processing prior to the first day of 
school and for use during the first 30 operating days of the 
new school year. New applications will need to be 
distributed upon the first day of school. 

I. Determining if Submitted Applications are Complete  
1. Categorical Eligibility (SNAP, FITAP or FDPIR 

Benefits) 
a. These sources of categorical eligibility may be 

determined based on an application submitted by a 
household because these programs provide distinct case 
numbers. For these situations, a complete application must 
provide: 
 i. the names of the children for whom the 
application is made; 
 ii. a valid SNAP, FDPIR or FITAP case number or 
other FDPIR identifier for the child(ren) for whom the 
application is made; and 
 iii. the signature of an adult household member. 

b. A child must be considered a member of 
household as established by SNAP, FITAP or by FDPIR. The 
composition of the SNAP, FITAP or FDPIR household may 
be different than that of the household applying for school 
meals. 

c. While children may be categorically eligible due 
to their migrant, homeless or runaway status or due to 
enrollment in Head Start/Even Start, they cannot be 
determined eligible based on self-declaration of such status 
on an application. There is no provision for establishing 
eligibility for these programs based on case numbers as is 
permitted for SNAP, FITAP or FDPIR, even if the 
sponsoring agency provides case numbers. These children 
must be directly certified as categorically eligible through 
the school district’s homeless or Migrant Education Program 
(MEP) liaison or other official sources. If there is an 
indication on the application that a child may be 
categorically eligible due to one of these categories, SFA 
officials must contact the household and then, if needed, 
contact the appropriate agency to confirm enrollment in that 
program. SFA officials must determine eligibility under 
these circumstances through the appropriate officials. 

2. Income Eligibility  
a. A complete application must provide: 

 i. the names of all household members; 
 ii. the amount and source of current income by 
each member and the frequency of the income; 
 iii. the signature of an adult household member; 
and 
 iv. the complete social security number of the 
adult household member who signs the application or an 
indication that the household member does not have a social 
security number. 

3. Foster Child Eligibility  
a. A complete application must provide the name of 

the child, the child’s personal income, and the signature of 
an adult household member (this may be an official of a 
court or other agency with responsibility for the child). 

4. Reviewing Submitted Applications for 
Completeness 

a. The determining official must review each 
incoming application to ensure that the household has 
submitted a complete application. If the application is 
complete, the official must then determine whether the 
household is categorically eligible or income eligible for 
benefits, based on the information provided on the 
application. 

b. Any application that is missing required 
information, that contains inconsistent information, or is 
unclear is considered an incomplete application and cannot 
be processed. The SFA should make reasonable efforts to 
contact the household in order to obtain or clarify required 
information. The SFA must not delay approval of the 
application if the household fails to provide any information 
that is not required. 

J. Citizenship/Legal Status 
1. United States citizenship or immigration status is 

not a condition of eligibility for free and reduced price 
benefits. SFAs must apply the same eligibility criteria for 
citizens and non-citizens. USDA has determined that the 
NSLP and SBP are not subject to Title IV of the Personal 
Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 
1996 (PRWORA), which restricts certain welfare and public 
benefits for aliens. 

K. Current Income/Conversion of Different Income 
Frequencies 
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1. For the purposes of certification of eligibility for 
free and reduced price meals, the household must provide 
their current income which is based on the most recent 
information available. This may be for the current month, 
the amount projected for the first month the application is 
made for, or for the month prior to application. If the 
household’s current income is not a reflection of income that 
will be available over the school year, the household should 
contact the SFA for assistance. The SFA would determine the 
amount and frequency of income available during the school 
year for the household. 

2. Households may have income from different 
sources which is paid on different schedules. These 
situations may or may not require conversion of income. 

a. No Conversion Required 
 i. If there is only one source of income or if all 
sources are received in the same frequency, no conversion is 
required. The SFA would total all sources and compare them 
to the appropriate IEG. 

b. Conversion Required 
 i. If there are multiple income sources with more 
than one frequency, the SFA must annualize all income by 
multiplying: 

(a). weekly income by 52; 
(b). bi-weekly income (received every two 

weeks) by 26; 
(c). semi-monthly income (received twice a 

month) by 24; 
(d). monthly income by 12. 

 ii. Do not round the values resulting from each 
conversion. 
 iii. Add all of the un-rounded converted values and 
compare the un-rounded total to the appropriate IEG for 
annual income for the household size. 
 iv. SFAs cannot use conversion factors such as 
4.33 to convert weekly income or 2.15 to convert bi-weekly 
income to monthly amounts. Software used must reflect this 
policy. 

3. Each household must provide the total amount of 
their current income. Income must be identified with the 
individual who received it, and the source of the income. 
Each household member who does not have income must 
also be indentified and must have an indication of zero 
income on the application. Zero income may be indicated by 
checking a “no income” box, by writing in “zero” or “no 
income” or by inserting $0.  

L. Determining Eligibility 
1. Categorical Eligibility Using Case Numbers 

a. The determining official must assure that the 
SNAP or FITAP case number or the FDPIR case number or 
other identifier is valid. SFA officials must be familiar with 
the format of valid case numbers/other identifiers. If there is 
any doubt concerning the validity of a case number/other 
identifier submitted on an application, an SFA official should 
contact local SNAP, FITAP or FDPIR officials. Applications 
with invalid case numbers or FDPIR identifiers must not be 
approved. However, for any child with a valid case 
number/other identifier, the SFA must approve that child as 
eligible for free benefits. 

b. Only the case number may be used to determine 
eligibility. The electronic benefit (EBT) card number used 
by SNAP cannot be used to establish categorical eligibility. 

2. Categorical Eligibility Without Case Numbers  
a. SFA officials must determine eligibility under 

these circumstances through the appropriate officials. If an 
SFA official or an official of the school district has 
knowledge that a child is a migrant, homeless or runaway 
child, that official may apply on that child’s behalf. 

3. Income Eligibility 
a. It is the responsibility of the determining official 

to compute the household’s total current income and 
compare the total amount to the appropriate IEG. 
 i. SFA officials must determine countable 
income. 
 ii. Households that submit a complete application 
indicating total household income at or below the income 
limits for free or reduced price benefits must be approved for 
free or reduced price benefits, as appropriate. 
 iii. Households that submit an incomplete 
application cannot be approved. If any required information 
is missing, the information must be obtained before an 
eligibility determination can be made. 
 iv. To get the required information, the school 
may return the application to the household or contact the 
household either by phone or in writing. The determining 
official should document the details of the contact, and date 
and initial the entry. 
 v. Applications missing the signature of an adult 
household member must be returned for signature. 
 vi. Every reasonable effort should be made to 
obtain the missing information prior to denying the 
application. 

4. Verification for Cause 
a. The SFA has an obligation to verify all approved 

applications that may be questionable (verification “for 
cause”). Such verification efforts cannot delay the approval 
of applications. If an application is complete and indicates 
that the child is eligible for free or reduced price benefits, 
the application must be approved. Only after the 
determination of eligibility has been made can the SFA begin 
the verification process.  

M. Duration of Eligibility 
1. Unless given a temporary approval, a child’s 

eligibility is in effect from the date of eligibility for the 
current school year and for up to 30 operating days in the 
subsequent school year. However, this does not apply when 
the initial eligibility determination was incorrect or when 
verification of household eligibility does not support the 
level of benefits for which the household was approved. In 
those instances, officials must make appropriate changes in 
eligibility. 

N. Temporary Approval 
1. Even though there is year-long eligibility, 

temporary approvals are very important in situations where 
households will be experiencing changes in income or 
household size that would affect children’s eligibility for free 
or reduced price meals. Therefore, when warranted, SFAs 
are encouraged to approve households on a temporary basis 
when their need for assistance appears to be short-term. 

a. The suggested time period for temporary 
approvals is 30 calendar days unless a shorter timeframe is 
more appropriate for the household’s circumstances. 

b. When a household reports zero income or a 
temporary reduction in income, eligibility must be 
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determined based on the present rate of income rather than 
on regular annual income. 

c. At the end of the temporary approval, school 
officials must re-evaluate the household’s situation and 
should contact the household to determine if the household’s 
circumstances have changed. 

d. If the household’s situation at the end of the 
temporary approval remains the same, the SFA may either: 
 i. continue eligibility on a temporary basis and 
re-evaluate the situation at another interval; or 
 ii. make the approval valid for the duration of the 
current school year which would allow for carry-over of that 
status into the next school year. 

e. If the household’s situation at the end of the 
temporary approval has changed, school officials must 
request that the household file a new application or have the 
household update the information on the existing application 
and initial and date the changes. The SFA must implement 
the new status within three operating days. Because these are 
temporary approvals that expire at the end of the time 
period, a notice of adverse action is not required. 

2. Eligible children should receive temporary approval 
in the following types of economic situations: 

a. zero income, for whatever reason (except foster 
children and institutionalized children); 

b. temporary layoffs; 
c. strikes (voluntary work stoppages); 
d. temporary disability. 

O. Unapproved Applications 
1. Any child who is not categorically eligible or who 

is in a household that does not meet the income eligibility 
standards cannot be approved for benefits. If there are any 
inconsistencies or questions concerning the required 
eligibility information provided, the household’s application 
must be denied unless the inconsistencies or questions are 
resolved. School officials may contact the household prior to 
denial, document the details of the contact, and date and 
initial the entry. 

P. Households That Fail to Apply 
1. Local school officials may complete an application 

for a child known to be eligible if the household fails to 
apply. When exercising this option, the school official must 
complete an application on behalf of the child based on the 
best household size and income information available. The 
source of the information must be noted on the application. 
Names of household members, social security number, and 
signature of an adult household member need not be 
secured. These applications are excluded from verification. 
However, the household must be notified that the child has 
been certified to receive free or reduced price benefits. This 
option is intended for limited use in individual situations and 
must not be used to make eligibility determinations for 
categories or groups of children. School officials should 
consider providing temporary approval if circumstances 
warrant. 

2. Because of delays in receiving documentation from 
appropriate agencies or officials, a school principal or other 
school official may submit an application on behalf of a 
child that they know to be categorically eligible due to their 
status as a migrant, homeless or runaway child. These 
applications must be done in accordance with the temporary 
approval procedures. 

3. Once the documentation is received, that 
information must be noted on the application and the child’s 
eligibility status is effective for the remainder of the school 
year and also would carryover for up to 30 operating days in 
the next school year. If no documentation is received to 
confirm the child’s status as a migrant, homeless or runaway 
child, the child’s benefits are terminated and a new 
application must be filed either by a school official or by the 
child’s parent or guardian. 

Q. Notification of Eligibility Determination 
1. All households must be notified of their eligibility 

status. Households with children who are approved for free 
or reduced price benefits may be notified in writing or orally. 
Households with children who are denied benefits must be 
given written notification of the denial. The notification 
must advise the household of: 

a. the reason for the denial of benefits; 
b. the right to appeal; 
c. instructions on how to appeal; and 
d. a statement that the family may re-apply for free 

and reduced price benefits at any time during the school 
year. 

R. Changes in Household Circumstances 
1. Because of year-long duration of eligibility, 

households are no longer required to report changes in 
income or household size, or changes with regard to 
participation in a program that makes the children 
categorically eligible. However, families may voluntarily 
report changes. If a change is reported that will increase 
benefits, the SFA must put that change into effect. If the 
change will decrease benefits (free to reduced price) or 
terminate free or reduced price benefits (free or reduced 
price status to paid status), the SFA must explain to the 
household that the change does not have to go into effect 
but, that the household may request that the lower benefits 
go into effect. If so, the household would then be provided a 
written notice of adverse action. 

S. Appeals 
1. A household may appeal either the denial of 

benefits or the level of benefits for which they have been 
approved. When a household requests an appeal, the hearing 
procedures outlined in the SFA’s free and reduced price 
policy statement must be followed. 

T. Recordkeeping 
1. Applications 

a. SFA officials must do the following for approved 
applications: 
 i. indicate the approval date; 
 ii. indicate the level of benefit for which each 
child is approved; 
 iii. sign or initial the application. 

b. For denied applications, SFA officials must: 
 i. indicate the denial date; 
 ii. indicate the reason for the denial; 
 iii. indicate the date the denial notice was sent; 
 iv. sign or initial the application. 

c. For computerized operations, where the computer 
generates the determination, the determining official may 
sign or initial and date a sheet of paper that would then be 
attached to a batch of applications. The computer system 
should be able to capture the original date of approval, the 
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basis for the determination, and to update the status of 
applications to account for transfers, withdrawls, 
terminations, and other changes. 

2. Updating Records for Changes during the School 
Year 

a. If any change, such as a transfer to another 
school within the SFA or if the household voluntarily 
requests that a change be made, is made after the initial 
approval for the current school year, the SFA officials must: 
 i. note the change; 
 ii. write the date of the change on the application; 
 iii. implement the change by updating rosters or 
other methods used at the point of sale, if necessary. 

b. When a child transfers to another school within 
the SFA, the date of the transfer must be noted on the 
application.  

3. Record Retention 
a. All free and reduced price applications, including 

applications from households denied benefits and inactive 
applications, must be kept on file for a minimum of three (3) 
years after the final claim is submitted for the fiscal year to 
which they pertain. Files must be kept longer if they are 
required by an audit, as long as required for resolution of the 
issues raised by the audit. If audit findings have not been 
resolved, the applications must be retained as long as 
required for resolution of the issues raised by the audit. 

b. Applications may be maintained either at the 
school or at a central location with a list of eligible children 
maintained at the school. If an SFA maintains applications at 
a central location, applications must be readily retrievable by 
school, and the SFA must ensure that any changes in 
eligibility status and transfers in and out of the school are 
accurately and promptly reflected on each school’s list. If the 
applications are not maintained in the central office, the 
school from which the student transferred shall retain a copy 
of the student's application on file and the original 
application shall be transferred with the child. 

U. Transferring Eligibility between SFAs 
1. When a student transfers to another school district, 

the new SFA may accept the eligibility determination from 
the student’s former SFA without incurring liability for the 
accuracy of the initial determination. When a copy of the 
application is provided, the accepting SFA should review the 
application for arithmetic errors and compare the income 
and household size to the applicable IEGs to assure that the 
correct level of benefits was assigned. If the accepting SFA 
determines that an arithmetic error occurred when 
determining the child’s benefit level, the accepting SFA must 
notify the household that it must file an application in the 
new SFA in order to receive benefits. Also, the accepting 
SFA must make changes that occur as a result of any 
verification activities or review findings conducted in that 
SFA. 

2. Local officials may wish to develop a cooperative 
transfer system between the private schools and the public 
school system within the same parish or city to provide 
eligibility information for students transferring between 
these schools. 

V. Other Uses of Information from the Application 
1. The information provided by families will be used 

only for determining eligibility for meal benefits and 
verification of eligibility. SFAs that plan to disclose 

children’s eligibility status for purposes other than for 
determining and verifying free or reduced price eligibility 
must inform households of this potential disclosure. 
Additionally, in some cases, the SFA must obtain parental 
consent prior to the disclosure. SFAs that anticipate 
disclosure specifically to Medicaid or the Louisiana 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (LaCHIP) must notify 
households of this potential disclosure and give households 
the opportunity to decline the disclosure. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2124 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:2025 (October 2003), LR 32:1423 (August 
2006), LR 37:567 (February 2011). 
§507. Income Eligibility 

A. Determining Household Composition 
1. Economic Units 

a. Household composition for the purpose of 
making an eligibility determination for free and reduced 
price benefits is based on economic units. An economic unit 
is a group of related or unrelated individuals who are not 
residents of an institution or boarding house but who are 
living as one economic unit, and who share housing and/or 
significant income and expenses of its members.  

b. Generally, individuals residing in the same house 
are an economic unit. However, more than one economic 
unit may reside together in the same house. Separate 
economic units in the same house are characterized by 
prorating expenses and economic independence from one 
another. 

2. Special Situations 
a. Adopted Child 

 i. An adopted child for whom a household has 
accepted legal responsibility is considered to be a member of 
that household. If the adoption is a “subsidized” adoption, 
which may include children with special needs, the subsidy 
is included in the total household income. 
 ii. Because some adopted children were first 
placed in families as foster children, parents may not be 
aware that, once the child is adopted, s/he must be 
determined eligible based on the economic unit and all 
income available to that household, including any adoption 
assistance, is counted when making an eligibility 
determination. 

b. Child Attending an Institution 
 i. A child who attends but does not reside in an 
institution is considered a member of the household in which 
she/he resides. 

c. Child Residing in an Institution 
 i. A child residing in an RCCI participating in the 
NSLP and/or the SBP is considered a household of one. 

d. Child Away at School 
 i. A child who is temporarily away at school 
(e.g., attending boarding school or college) is included as a 
member of the household. 

e. Child Living With One Parent, Relative, or 
Friends 
 i. In cases where no specific welfare agency or 
court is legally responsible for the child or where the child is 
living with one parent, other relatives, or friends of the 
family, the child is considered to be a member of the 
household with whom she/he resides. Children of divorced 
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or separated parents are generally part of the household that 
has custody. 

f. Joint Custody 
 i. When joint custody has been awarded and the 
child physically changes residence, the child is considered 
part of the household where she/he resides. In these 
situations, if both parents apply for benefits in the same SFA 
for the child, and different eligibility statuses result, the 
greatest benefit level is used. 

g. Emancipated Child 
 i. A child living alone, or as a separate economic 
unit is considered to be a household of one.  

h. Foreign Exchange Student 
 i. A foreign exchange student is considered to be 
a member of the household in which she/he resides, i.e., the 
household hosting the student. 

i. Foster Child 
 i. A foster child is a child who is living with a 
household but who remains the legal responsibility of the 
welfare agency or court. Such a child is considered a 
household of one. 

j. Family Members Living Apart 
 i. Family members living apart on a temporary 
basis are considered household members. Family members 
not living with the household for an extended period of time 
are not considered members of the household for purposes of 
determining eligibility, but any money made available by 
them or on their behalf for the household is included as 
income to the household. 

k. Deployed Service Personnel 
 i. While family members not living with the 
household for an extended period of time are not usually 
considered household members, any member of the armed 
services who is activated or deployed in support of any 
military combat operation is still counted as a household 
member. 

B. Determining Household Income 
1. Reportable Income 

a. Income is any money received on a recurring 
basis, including gross earned income, unless specifically 
excluded by statute. Gross earned income means all money 
earned before such deductions as income taxes, employee’s 
social security taxes, insurance premiums and bonds. Income 
includes but is not limited to: 
 i. wages, salaries, tips, commissions or fees; 
 ii. net income from self-owned business and 
farms; 
 iii. strike benefits, unemployment compensation 
and worker’s compensation; 
 iv. public assistance payments/welfare benefits 
(FITAP, General Assistance, General Relief, etc.); 
 v. alimony or child support payments; 
 vi. pensions, retirement income, veterans’ 
benefits; 
 vii. social security; 
 viii. supplemental security income; 
 ix. disability benefits; 
 x. net rental income, annuities, net royalties; 
 xi. interest; dividend income; 
 xii. cash withdrawn from savings; income from 
estates, trusts and/or investments; 

 xiii. any other money that may be available to pay 
for the child(ren)’s meals. 

2. Current Income 
a. Households must report current income on a free 

and reduced price application. Current income means 
income received by the household for the current month, the 
amount projected for the first month the application is made 
for or the month prior to application. If this income is higher 
or lower than usual and does not fairly or accurately 
represent the household’s actual circumstances, the 
household may, in conjunction with SFA officials, project its 
annual rate of income.  

3. Special Situations 
a. Projected Income for Seasonal Workers and 

Others 
 i. Seasonal workers and others whose income 
fluctuates usually earn more money in some months than in 
other months. Consequently, the previous month’s income 
may distort the household’s actual circumstances. In these 
situations, the household may project its annual rate of 
income and report this amount as its current income. If the 
prior year’s income provides an accurate reflection of the 
household’s current annual rate of income, the prior year 
may be used as a basis for the projected annual rate of 
income. 

b. Income for the Self-Employed 
 i. Self-employed persons may use last year’s 
income as a basis to project their current year’s net income, 
unless their current net income provides a more accurate 
measure. Self-employed persons are credited with net 
income rather than gross income. Net income for self-
employment is determined by subtracting business expenses 
from gross receipts. Gross receipts include the total income 
from goods sold or services rendered by the business. 
Deductible business expenses include the cost of goods 
purchased, rent, utilities, depreciation charges, wages and 
salaries paid, and business taxes (not personal, federal, state, 
or local income taxes). Non-deductible business expenses 
include the value of salable merchandise used by the 
proprietors of retail businesses. 
 ii. Net income for self-employed farmers is 
figured by subtracting the farmer’s operating expenses from 
the gross receipts. Gross receipts include the value of all 
products sold, money received from the rental of farm land, 
buildings, or equipment to others, and incidental receipts 
from the sale of items such as wood, sand or gravel. 
Operating expenses include cost of feed, fertilizer, seed and 
other farming supplies, cash wages paid to farmhands, farm 
building repairs and farm taxes (but not local, state and 
federal income taxes). 

c. Income from Wages and Self-Employment 
 i. For a household with income from wages and 
self-employment, each amount must be listed separately. 
When there is a business loss, income from wages may not 
be reduced by the amount of the business loss. If income 
from self-employment is negative, it should be listed as zero 
income. 

d. Military Benefits 
 i. Benefits received in cash, such as housing 
allowances and food or clothing allowances, are considered 
income. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 575

e. Deployed Service Members 
 i. Only that portion of a deployed service 
member’s income made available by them or on their behalf 
to the household will be counted as income to the household. 

f. Foster Child’s Income 
 i. Only the child’s personal income is considered 
for eligibility purposes. 

g. Income for a Child Residing in an RCCI 
 i. Only the income a child earns from full-time or 
regular part-time employment and/or personally receives 
while in residence at the RCCI as income. 

h. Child’s Income 
 i. The earnings of a child who is a full-time or 
regular part-time employee must be listed on the application 
as income. 

i. Alimony and Child Support 
 i. Any money received by a household in the 
form of alimony or child support is considered as income to 
the receiving household. 
 ii. Any money paid by a household in the form of 
alimony or child support is not excluded from income for 
that household. 

j. Garnished Wages and Bankruptcy 
 i. Income is the gross income received by a 
household before deductions. In the case of garnished wages 
and income ordered to be used in a specified manner, the 
total gross income must be considered regardless of 
whatever portions are garnished or used to pay creditors. 

4. Income Exclusions 
a. General Exclusions 

 i. Income not reported or counted as income in 
the determination of a household’s eligibility for free and 
reduced price meal benefits includes: 

(a). any cash income or value of benefits 
excluded by statute, such as the value of SNAP or FDPIR 
benefits and some federal educational benefits; 

(b). payments received for the care of foster 
children;  

(c). student financial assistance provided for the 
costs of attendance at an educational institution, such as 
grants and scholarships, awarded to meet educational 
expenses and not available to pay for meals; 

(d). loans, such as bank loans, since these funds 
are only temporarily available and must be repaid; 

(e). the value of in-kind compensation, such as 
housing for clergy and similar non-cash benefits; 

(f). occasional earnings received on an irregular 
basis, such as payment for occasional baby-sitting or 
mowing lawns. 

b. Military Benefits 
 i. An in-kind benefit, such as non-privatized on-
base housing, where no cash is provided to the household, is 
not counted as income. 
 ii. Other Sources of Excluded Income Related to 
the Military 

(a). Family Subsistence Supplemental Allowance 
(FSSA) is not counted as income in determining eligibility 
for free and reduced price meals. 

(b). Privatized housing allowances received 
under the Military Housing Privatization Initiative are not 
counted as income. Under this privatization initiative, a 
housing allowance appears on the leave and earnings 

statement of service members living in privatized housing. 
The exclusion only applies to service members living in 
housing covered under the Military Housing Privatization 
Initiative. Housing allowances for households living off-base 
in the general commercial/private real estate market are 
counted as income.  

c. Institutionalized Child’s Income 
 i. Payments from any source directly received by 
the RCCI on a child’s behalf are not considered as income to 
the child. 

d. Child’s Income 
 i. Infrequent earnings, such as income from 
occasional babysitting or mowing lawns, are not counted as 
income and should not be listed on the application. 

e. Lump Sum Payments 
 i. Lump sum payments or large cash settlements 
are not counted as income since they are not received on a 
regular basis. These funds may be provided as compensation 
for a loss that must be replaced. However, when lump sum 
payments are put into a savings account and the household 
regularly draws from that account for living expenses, the 
amount withdrawn is counted as income. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2127 (December 
2001), amended LR 32:1424 (August 2006), LR 37:573 (February 
2011). 
§509. Categorical Eligibility 

A. Members of SNAP/FITAP/FDPIR Households 
1. A child who is a member of a household receiving 

assistance from SNAP, FITAP or FDPIR is categorically 
eligible for free meal benefits. SFAs must give households 
applying for free and reduced price meal benefits for their 
children the opportunity to indicate on the application that 
the children are categorically eligible for free benefits and to 
provide case numbers. In cases where no specific welfare 
agency or court is legally responsible for the child or where 
the child is living with a household in which he/she is not a 
member of the family, the child is considered to be a 
member of the household with whom he/she resides. If the 
household receives SNAP benefits, or if other children in the 
household receive FITAP benefits, the single SNAP or 
FITAP number provided on the application would qualify 
the student living in the household for free meals.  

2. If a household submits an application for children 
who were directly certified, the SFA must disregard the 
paper application. Direct certification takes precedence over 
an application submitted by the household. 

3. Participation in the state’s Medicaid Program does 
not qualify a child as categorically eligible to receive free 
meal benefits.  

B. Head Start/Even Start 
1. Children enrolled in federally-funded Head Start 

centers that meet the low-income criteria of the Head Start 
Program are considered categorically eligible for free meals 
in the NSLP. Children enrolled in state-funded pre-
kindergarten Head Start programs with eligibility 
requirements identical to or more stringent than those used 
by the federally-funded Head Start centers are also 
considered categorically eligible. 

2. For a child to be categorically eligible for free 
meals based on their participation in Even Start, the child 
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must be enrolled as a participant in a federally-funded Even 
Start Family Literacy Program and must be at the pre-
kindergarten level. 

3. Documentation of a child’s participation in a 
federally-funded Head Start or Even Start program is 
required to establish categorical eligibility for free meals in 
the NSLP. Confirmation that the child has not yet entered 
kindergarten must be included in the documentation from the 
Even Start official. Acceptable documentation includes: 

a. an approved Head Start or Even Start application 
for the child’s family or statement of enrollment in Head 
Start or Even Start; or 

b. a list of children participating in Head Start or 
Even Start; and 

c. in the case of Even Start, confirmation that the 
child has not yet entered kindergarten. 

C. Migrant Education Program 
1. A child is considered categorically eligible if she/he 

is identified as meeting the definition of migrant in section 
1309 of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 
1965 (20 U.S.C. 6399) by the state or local Migrant 
Education Program (MEP) coordinator or the local 
educational liaison. It is not necessary for SFA officials to 
make the determination about whether a child is considered 
as migrant for the MEP. State educational agencies and local 
MEP staff are responsible for identifying (and maintaining 
supporting documentation on) eligible migrant children. 

2. SFAs should work directly with their school 
district’s MEP coordinator or, where appropriate, the state 
MEP director, to identify migrant children and to document 
their eligibility for free school meals. SFAs must accept 
documentation that the children are migrant children from 
the school district’s MEP coordinator. Acceptable 
documentation for MEP enrollment is a dated list containing 
each child’s name and the signature of the MEP coordinator 
or the state MEP director. This documentation is in lieu of 
free and reduced price meal applications and must be sought, 
as much as possible, prior to a household completing an 
application. Once documentation is obtained, the SFA must 
notify the household as soon as possible about the child’s 
free meal eligibility. Because documentation of MEP 
enrollment is acceptable in lieu of a free and reduced price 
meal application, any application submitted on behalf of the 
child would be disregarded. 

3. Newly arrived migrant children in the SFA must be 
documented and certified for free meals as promptly as 
possible. SFAs must establish procedures with the MEP 
coordinator to assure prompt notification when a new 
migrant child is identified. 

4. To assure that an eligible migrant child continues to 
receive benefits, SFAs are encouraged to share the child’s 
free meal eligibility status with the new SFA when a migrant 
child moves from their jurisdiction. 

D. Runaway and Homeless Youth Act 
1. A runaway child is one who is identified as a 

runaway receiving assistance through a program under the 
Runaway and Homeless Youth Act (RYHA) by the local 
educational liaison. Acceptable documentation to 
substantiate participation in a program for runaway children 
sponsored by RHYA must include the child’s name or a list 
of names of participating children, the effective date(s) and 
the signature of the school district’s homeless liaison. 

Because documentation of enrollment in an RHYA-funded 
program is acceptable in lieu of a free and reduced price 
meal application, any application submitted on behalf of the 
child would be disregarded.  

2. Runaway children who may be enrolled in an 
RHYA-funded program must be documented and certified 
for free meals as promptly as possible. SFAs must establish 
procedures with the homeless coordinator to assure prompt 
notification when a homeless child is identified. 

E. McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act 
1. A child is considered homeless if she/he is 

identified as lacking a fixed, regular and adequate nighttime 
residence under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance 
Act by the local educational agency liaison, or the director of 
a homeless shelter.  

2. The term “homeless” means individuals who lack a 
fixed, regular and adequate nighttime residence. The 
definition includes: 

a. children and youths who are sharing the housing 
of other persons due to loss of housing, economic hardship, 
or a similar reason; are living in motels, hotels, trailer parks 
or camp grounds due to the lack of alternative adequate 
accommodations; 

b. children and youths who are living in emergency 
or transitional shelters; are abandoned in hospitals; or are 
awaiting foster care placement; 

c. children and youths who have a primary 
nighttime residence that is a public or private place not 
designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping 
accommodation for human beings; 

d. children and youths who are living in cars, parks, 
public spaces, abandoned buildings, substandard housing, 
bus or train stations, or similar settings; and 

e. migratory children who qualify as homeless 
because the children are living in the circumstances 
described above. 

3. Acceptable documentation that the children are 
homeless is obtained from the local educational homeless 
liaison or directors of homeless shelters where the children 
reside. Documentation to substantiate free meal eligibility 
must consist of the child’s name or a list of names, effective 
date(s) and the signature of the local educational liaison or 
the director of the homeless shelter. 

4. Homeless Children Residing with another 
Household 

a. A child or family may temporarily reside with 
another household and still be considered homeless under 
the definition of homeless in McKinney-Vento. In these 
cases, the household size and income of the host family is 
not taken into consideration in determining the free meal 
eligibility for the child(ren) designated as homeless by the 
local educational agency liaison. 

b. When a host family applies for free and reduced 
price meals for their own children, the host family may 
include the homeless family as household members if the 
host family provides financial support to the homeless 
family, such as shelter, utilities, clothing or food. In such 
cases, the host family must also include any income received 
by the homeless family. School officials must determine 
eligibility for the host family in the traditional manner. 
However, free meal eligibility for the homeless child is 
based on the documentation provided by the local education 
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liaison, even when the child is included on the host family’s 
free and reduced price meal application.  

F. Duration of Categorical Eligibility 
1. Because households are not required to report 

changes in income or household size during the school year, 
the household is not required to report a change in their 
categorical eligibility status if they no longer receive 
benefits or participate in the programs discussed above.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2128 (December 
2001), amended LR 32:1424 (August 2006), LR 37:575 (February 
2011). 
§511. Direct Certification 

A. Direct certification is the process under which SFAs 
certify children who are members of households receiving 
assistance under SNAP as eligible for free school meals, 
without further application, based on information provided 
by the state agency administering the program.  

B. Mandatory Direct Certification with SNAP 
1. By law, all SFAs, regardless of size, must be 

directly certifying children from SNAP households. 
C. Methods of Direct Certification 

1. To perform direct certification, the SFA identifies 
children eligible for free meals through a computer match 
with SNAP information, or through a paper-based exchange 
of information. 

2. Since children’s eligibility for free meals is based 
on documentation obtained from SNAP officials, verification 
of eligibility is not required for children who have been 
directly certified. 

D. Required Documentation for Direct Certification for 
SNAP 

1. Documentation to establish children’s eligibility for 
free meals under direct certification for SNAP, and to 
substantiate claims for reimbursement, must include: 

a. names of children currently certified to receive 
SNAP benefits; 

b. a statement certifying that each child is a member 
of a SNAP household; 

c. at least three pieces of identifying information 
that will match each child with a child attending a particular 
school. Examples of identifiers include: 
 i. children’s birth dates; 
 ii. addresses; 
 iii. parents’ names; 
 iv. social security numbers; or 
 v. other identifiers; 

d. the date; and 
e. the signature of a SNAP official. 

E. Notification to Households about Eligibility 
Established through Direct Certification 

1. The SFA must notify the household that: 
a. the child(ren) is/are eligible for free benefits; 
b. no further application is necessary; and 
c. how to notify the SFA if it does not want free 

benefits for directly certified children.  
2. SFAs must ensure that families receive either a 

direct certification notification or an application for free and 
reduced price school meals. SFAs that distribute the 
application materials through the mail, individual student 
packets, or other method that prevents the overt 

identification of children eligible for direct certification are 
not required to distribute application materials to families in 
which all children were determined eligible through the 
direct certification process. 

3. The state agency will obtain documentation from 
SNAP officials, based on the most current certification 
information available and as close to the beginning of the 
school year as possible.  

F. Delivery of Benefits 
1. The SFA must provide benefits promptly. Eligible 

children may receive benefits immediately and the SFA may 
assume consent if refusal has not been received within a 
certain number of days, as determined by the SFA.  

2. If the household refuses benefits, the SFA must 
discontinue benefits immediately and must document the 
refusal. 

G. Expiration of Categorical Eligibility 
1. Because of year-long duration of eligibility, 

households are no longer required to report changes in their 
categorical eligibility status. However, households may 
voluntarily report a change. If a household reports a change 
that may reduce or terminate benefits, the SFA must explain 
to the household that the change does not have to go into 
effect but, that at the household’s request, the change will go 
into effect. If the household wants the change to go into 
effect, the SFA must provide a notice of adverse action. 

H. Recordkeeping 
1. SFAs must keep documentation for direct 

certification on file for a minimum of three years after 
submission of the final claim for reimbursement for the 
fiscal year to which they apply. Documentation must be kept 
longer if required by an audit as long as required for 
resolution of the issues raised by the audit.  

2. Documentation may be maintained either at the 
school or at a central location with a list of eligible children 
maintained at the school. If an SFA maintains documentation 
at a central location, children’s categorical eligibility status 
must be readily retrievable by school, and the SFA must 
ensure that any changes and transfers in and out of the 
school are accurately and promptly reflected on each 
school’s list. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2129 (December 
2001), amended LR 32:1425 (August 2006), LR 37:577 (February 
2011). 
§513. Program Operations  

A. Nondiscrimination 
1. There must not be any discrimination of children 

receiving free and reduced price benefits. 
2. The names of the children must not be published, 

posted or announced in any manner. 
3. The children must not be required to work for their 

meals. 
4. The children must not be required to use a separate 

dining room, separate serving line, or separate time, etc. 
5. There must not be any overt identification of any of 

the children by use of special tokens or tickets, or other 
means of identification. The SFA must use the collection 
procedure approved as part of its yearly update to the 
permanent agreement.  
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6. There must not be any discrimination on the basis of 
race, color, national origin, age, sex, or disability in the 
application approval process or in the selection of 
applications for verification. 

B. Prohibition against Denying Meals to Children as a 
Disciplinary Action 

1. Regulations prohibit the denial of free, reduced 
price, or paid meals as disciplinary action to any child in 
attendance at school. This prohibition does not extend to the 
denial of meals for failure to pay. Denying meals to students 
for disciplinary reasons associated with disruptive behavior 
in the cafeteria, selling free meal tickets, etc., is prohibited 
under federal regulations. Disciplinary action used for other 
unacceptable behavior could be applied in these situations. 

C. Denying Meals to Students for Failure to Pay 
1. The SFA is not obligated to continue providing 

meals without receiving payment. The students' ability to 
pay is determined through the free and reduced price meal 
application process. Those students not eligible for free 
meals must pay for their meals at the prices established for 
full price and reduced price students. Regulations do not 
prohibit a school system from denying a meal to paying 
students who have not paid for the meal. 

D. Handling Lost, Stolen, and Misused Meal Tickets  
1. SFAs may establish procedures to limit the number 

of times replacement tickets or special meal arrangements 
must be provided to needy students who report lost or stolen 
meal tickets. The term ticket refers to any and all forms of 
exchange used, including paper tickets, cards, coins, or 
tokens. It should be noted that, when handling instances of 
missing tickets, schools need not actually issue a 
replacement ticket if appropriate meal arrangements are 
made, such as accompanying the student through the 
cafeteria line. 

2. Any procedures established to limit the number of 
tickets reissued to needy students must conform to all of the 
following standards. 

a. Parents and students must be advised in writing 
of the school's policy regarding missing tickets and of the 
students' corresponding responsibility for their tickets. Such 
notice shall be provided at the time applications are 
distributed to households or upon approval for free or 
reduced price benefits. 

b. A minimum of three ticket replacements, or 
special meal arrangements resulting from three lost or stolen 
tickets, must be allowed each student within each school 
year. 

c. The school must maintain a list of students who 
have reported missing original ticket(s) in the current school 
year and the number of occurrences for each student. Prior to 
denying a meal to any student without a ticket, the list 
should always be reviewed to determine whether the student 
has already had at least three ticket replacements or special 
meal arrangements for lost or stolen tickets within the school 
year. 

d. At least one advance written warning must be 
given to the student(s) and the parent(s) prior to refusal to 
allow additional meals or ticket replacements. The written 
warning must include an explanation that the student has 
repeatedly requested replacement tickets and that each 
subsequent time the student fails to have a ticket, he/she will 
be expected to pay for the meal.  

e. Meals must always be provided to preprimary 
and young primary students or for any disabled student who 
may be unable to take full responsibility for a meal ticket. 

3. It is recommended that the meal or ticket 
replacement policy for missing free and reduced price tickets 
be extended to the loss of full-priced tickets. If such a 
uniform policy is not implemented, schools should exercise 
caution to prevent overt identification of needy students, 
when reissuing tickets or providing meals to students whose 
tickets are missing. 

E. Confidentiality and Disclosure of Eligibility 
Information 

1. General Confidentiality and Disclosure Information 
a. SFAs may disclose children’s free and reduced 

price meal eligibility information to programs, activities and 
individuals that are specifically authorized access under the 
National School Lunch Act (NSLA). Disclosure is always an 
option, not a requirement. The SFA must make the decision 
on whether or not children’s information will be disclosed. 
The SFA may opt to disclose children’s eligibility 
information to Medicaid or Louisiana State Children’s 
Health Insurance Program (LaCHIP) officials if the family 
does not decline to have their children’s eligibility 
information released. 

2. Aggregate Information 
a. The SFA may disclose aggregate information to 

any program or individual when children cannot be 
identified through release of the aggregate data or by means 
of deduction. As aggregate data does not identify individual 
children, parental notification and parental consent are not 
needed. However, SFAs are cautioned about the release of 
aggregate data when individual children’s eligibility may be 
deduced, such as the release of data about a specific 
classroom or subset, when the number of eligible children is 
very small. 

3. Disclosure Chart 
a. The NSLA specifies that persons directly 

connected with the administration or enforcement of certain 
programs or activities are permitted to have access to 
children’s eligibility information. Refer to USDA’s 
publication, Eligibility Guidance for School Meals, for 
additional information. 

4. Need to Know 
a. Although a program or person may be authorized 

under the NSLA to receive free and reduced price eligibility 
information, there must be a legitimate need to know to 
provide a service or carry out an authorized activity. 

b. State Medicaid and LaCHIP agencies and health 
insurance program operators receiving children’s free and 
reduced price meal eligibility information must use that 
information to enroll children in state Medicaid or LaCHIP. 
The state Medicaid or LaCHIP enrollment process may 
include seeking to identify and identifying children from low 
income households, who are potentially eligible for state 
Medicaid or LaCHIP for the purpose of enrolling them in 
state Medicaid or LaCHIP. 

5. National Assessment of Educational Progress 
(NAEP) 

a. SFAs may disclose, without parent/guardian 
consent, children’s names and eligibility status to persons 
who are directly connected to the administration or 
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enforcement of NAEP because NAEP is a federal education 
program.  

b. Additionally, SFAs may disclose children’s 
names and eligibility status to persons directly connected 
with the administration or enforcement of state educational 
assessment programs to the extent that the state assessment 
is part of the NAEP, or the assessment program is 
established at the state, not local level. Other state education 
programs also are eligible to have access to participants’ 
names and eligibility status, without parent/guardian 
consent, but the program must be established at the state, not 
local level. 

c. The term “persons directly connected” for the 
purpose of disclosure to NAEP includes federal, state and 
local program operators responsible for NAEP program 
administration or program compliance and their contractors. 
This does not imply that these persons have routine access to 
participants’ eligibility status. There must be a “need to 
know” for legitimate NAEP purposes. 

d. SFAs are encouraged to inform households when 
they plan to disclose or use eligibility information outside 
the originating program and to have a written agreement 
with NAEP officials. 

6. No Child Left Behind (NCLB) 
a. Because NCLB is a federal education program, 

SFA officials may disclose a child’s eligibility status to 
persons directly connected with, and who have a need to 
know, a child’s free and reduced price meal eligibility status 
in order to administer and enforce the NCLB requirements. 
However, other information obtained from the free and 
reduced price school meal application or obtained through 
direct certification cannot be disclosed. SFA officials must 
keep in mind that the intent of the confidentiality provisions 
is to limit the disclosure of a child’s eligibility status to those 
who have a “need to know” for proper administration and 
enforcement of a federal education program. SFAs must 
establish procedures that limit access to a child’s eligibility 
status to as few individuals as possible. 

b. SFA officials, prior to their disclosing 
information on the eligibility of individual children, should 
enter into a memorandum of understanding or other 
agreement to which all involved parties (including both 
officials who administer the school meals programs and 
officials who administer the overall education functions) 
would adhere. This agreement would specify the names of 
individuals who would have access to the information, how 
the information would be used in implementing NCLB and 
how the information will be protected from unauthorized 
uses and third-party disclosures, and should include a 
statement of the penalties for misuse of the information. 

7. Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act 
(FERPA) 

a. The Federal Department of Education has 
established that education records are under the purview of 
FERPA. However, for the schools meals programs, the 
restrictions imposed by the laws governing these programs, 
not FERPA, apply. 

8. Parental Notification for Disclosure 
a. Unless otherwise indicated, SFAs must inform 

households if they plan to disclose or use eligibility 
information outside the originating program (NSLP or SBP). 
This may be done as either a general notification of potential 

disclosure or a specific notification to disclose information 
to a particular program. 

b. The notice of potential disclosure or specific 
disclosure may be in the Letter to Households that 
accompanies the free and reduced price meal application, on 
the application, or, for children directly certified, in the 
document informing households of the participants’ 
eligibility through direct certification. The notification 
should state that the children’s names, eligibility status and 
other information provided on the application or obtained 
through direct certification may be disclosed to certain 
federal, state or local agencies as authorized by the NSLA. A 
list of the specific programs is not necessary.  

c. Parents/guardians must be notified of the 
potential disclosure or specific disclosure and given the 
opportunity to elect not to have their children’s information 
disclosed. The notification of potential disclosure or specific 
disclosure must inform the parents/guardians: 
 i. that they are not required to consent to the 
disclosure; 
 ii. that the information will be used to facilitate 
the enrollment of eligible children in a health insurance 
program or other programs; and 
 iii. that their decision will not affect their 
children’s eligibility for free and reduced price meals. 

d. The notice of either potential or specific 
disclosure must be given prior to disclosure and 
parents/guardians given a reasonable time limit to respond. 
For children who are determined eligible through direct 
certification, the notice of potential or specific disclosure 
may be in the document informing parents/guardians of their 
children’s eligibility for free meals through direct 
certification. 

9. Agreements/Memoranda of Understanding 
a. An agreement is not needed for federal, state or 

local agencies evaluating or reviewing Child Nutrition 
Program operations. Similarly, an agreement is not necessary 
for disclosures to the Comptroller General. These activities 
are part of routine operations of the Child Nutrition 
Programs and enforcement. 

b. For non-Medicaid/LaCHIP agencies, the SFA 
should enter into a written agreement with other entities, 
including NAEP, requesting the information prior to 
disclosing children’s eligibility information. The agreement 
should: 
 i. be signed by both the SFA and receiving entity; 
 ii. identify the entity receiving the information; 
 iii. describe the information to be disclosed and 
how it will be used; 
 iv. describe how the information will be protected 
from unauthorized uses and disclosures; and 
 v. describe the penalties for unauthorized 
disclosure. 

c. For any disclosures to Medicaid and LaCHIP, the 
SFA and receiving agency must have an agreement or 
Memorandum of Understanding which includes: 
 i. the health insurance program or health agency 
receiving the children’s eligibility information; 
 ii. the information that will be disclosed and 
specify that the information must only be used to seek to 
enroll children in state Medicaid or LaCHIP; 
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 iii. how the information will be used and how it 
will be protected from unauthorized uses and disclosures; 
 iv. the penalties for unauthorized disclosure; and  
 v. the signature of the determining agency and the 
state Medicaid/LaCHIP program or agency receiving the 
children’s eligibility information. 

d. In all cases, the receiving entity must be 
informed in writing that: 
 i. eligibility information may only be used for the 
purpose for which the disclosure was made; 
 ii. further use or disclosure to other parties is 
prohibited; and 
 iii. a violation of this provision may result in a fine 
of not more than $1000 or imprisonment of not more than 
one year, or both. 

10. Other Disclosures that Require Parental Consent 
a. Children’s parents or guardians may always 

provide consent for the disclosure of any or all of the 
information related to their children’s eligibility status, or the 
information that the household provided through the free and 
reduced price meal eligibility process. 

b. A disclosure of all eligibility information to any 
other federal, state or local program or individual not 
included in the NSLA requires parental consent. Other 
programs that require parental consent are local health and 
local education programs and other local level activities. The 
disclosure of information other than names and eligibility 
status to the programs authorized only to receive 
participants’ names and eligibility status also requires 
written consent. 

11. Consent Statement Requirements 
a. The consent statement must be in writing. It may 

be obtained at the time of application, or at a later time. The 
consent statement must: 
 i. identify the information that will be shared and 
how the information will be used; 
 ii. be signed and dated. In the case of a child 
participant, the consent statement must be signed by the 
parent or guardian of the applicant household, even though 
the application for free and reduced price meals may be 
signed by any adult household member; 
 iii. state that failing to sign the consent statement 
will not affect eligibility or participation for the program and 
that the information will not be shared by the receiving 
program with any other entity or program; and 
 iv. enable the parent/guardian/adult to limit 
consent to only those programs with which he or she wishes 
to share information.  

12. Social Security Numbers 
a. The free and reduced price application requires 

the complete social security number of the adult household 
member who signs the application. Most programs that 
request children’s free and reduced price meal eligibility 
information will not need the adult’s social security number. 
However, when disclosing or using the social security 
number provided by the household on the application for any 
purpose other than the program for which the number was 
collected (NSLP, SBP, etc.), the determining agency must 
modify the notice required by the Privacy Act of 1974 
concerning the potential uses of the social security number. 
The notice must inform households of the additional 
intended uses of the number. 

13. Penalties for Improper Disclosure 
a. The NSLA establishes a fine of not more than 

$1000 or imprisonment of not more than one (1) year, or 
both, for publishing, divulging, disclosing, or making known 
in any manner or extent not authorized by federal law, any 
eligibility information. This includes the disclosure of 
eligibility information by one entity authorized under the 
NSLA to receive the information to any other entity, even if 
that entity would otherwise be authorized to receive the 
information directly from the determining agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2130 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:2025 (October 2003), LR 32:1425 (August 
2006), LR 37:577 (February 2011). 
§515. Verification of Eligibility for School Meals 

A. General 
1. Verification is confirmation of eligibility for free 

and reduced price meals under the NSLP and SBP. 
Verification is only required when eligibility is determined 
through the application process, not through direct 
certification. Verification must include either confirmation of 
income eligibility, or confirmation that the child is a member 
of a family (household) receiving assistance under SNAP, 
FITAP or FDPIR. Verification may include confirmation of 
any other information required on the application. 

B. Exceptions from Verification Requirements 
1. Verification efforts are not required: 

a. for children who have been certified under direct 
certification procedures including children documented as 
eligible migrant, runaway or homeless children; 

b. for children in RCCIs except for applications for 
any day students attending the institution; 

c. in schools in which the FNS has approved special 
cash assistance claims based on economic statistics 
regarding per capita income; 

d. in schools in which all children are served with 
no separate charge for food service and no special cash 
assistance is claimed; 

e. in SFAs in which all schools participate in 
Provisions 1, 2 or 3 except in those years in which 
applications are taken for all students in attendance (base 
years). 

C. Initial Verification Procedures 
1. Each SFA must annually verify eligibility of 

children from a sample of household applications approved 
for free and reduced price meal benefits for that school year. 
The SFA may begin verification activity once the application 
approval process for the current school year is underway and 
there are approved applications on file. To do so, the SFA 
may project the number of approved applications that it 
anticipates will be on file on October 1. The projected 
number is based on prior years’ experience. However, the 
final sample pool is the actual number of approved 
applications on file as of October 1. The sample size must be 
based on the October 1 sample pool. Any estimates must be 
compared with the actual number of applications on file on 
October 1 and the sample pool and sample size adjusted 
accordingly. 

2. The sample pool uses the total number of approved 
applications on file as of October 1 of the current school 
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year. SFAs may choose not to count applications for students 
in split-session kindergarten programs participating in the 
Special Milk Program when determining the verification 
sample pool. The sample pool depends on the number of 
applications (paper or electronic) and is not based on the 
number of children eligible for free and reduced priced 
meals. 

3. Once the sample pool is determined, the SFA 
calculates the sample size—the number of applications that 
must be verified. When calculating the sample size, all 
fractions or decimals are rounded upward to the nearest 
whole number. At least one application must always be 
verified. With the exception of verification for cause, SFAs 
must not verify more than or less than the standard sample 
size or the alternate sample size (when used) and must not 
verify all (100 percent of) applications. Verification 
conducted “for cause” is done in addition to the required 
verification sample size.  

4. The SFA must complete the verification activities 
specified in this Section not later than November 15 of each 
school year. However, the SFA may request an extension of 
the November 15 deadline, in writing, from the SA. The SA 
may approve, in writing, an extension up to December 15 of 
the current school year due to natural disaster, civil disorder, 
strike or other circumstances that prevent the SFA from the 
timely verification activities. 

D. Verification for Cause 
1. The SFA has an obligation to verify all questionable 

applications (verification “for cause”). Such verification 
efforts cannot delay the approval of applications. If an 
application is complete and indicates that the child is eligible 
for free or reduced price benefits, the application must be 
approved. Only after the determination of eligibility has 
been made can the SFA begin the verification process. 

2. To verify an approved application for cause, the 
SFA must send the household a letter explaining that it must 
submit verification of eligibility information with the 
application for continued eligibility. The verification letter 
may be sent at the same time as a notice of eligibility. 

3. The SFA verifies applications for cause following 
the same procedures used for verifying the regular sample of 
applications used for verification. Any household that fails to 
submit requested verification information by the date 
specified by the SFA or that submits verification information 
that does not support the initial determination of eligibility 
must be sent a Notice of Adverse Action. Once households 
have been requested to provide documentation for cause, the 
SFA must complete the verification process for these 
households. 

E. Application Selection Procedures 
1. There are three sample sizes established for 

verification activities. The standard sample size must be 
used by SFAs unless it qualifies to use one of the alternate 
sample sizes. 

a. Standard Sample Size 
 i. The standard sample size is the lesser of: 

(a). 3 percent of all applications approved by the 
SFA for the school year, as of October 1 of the school year, 
selected from error prone applications; or 

(b). 3000 error prone applications approved by 
the SFA for the school year, as of October 1 of the school 
year. 

b. Alternate Sample Sizes 
 i. The Alternate One sample size equals the lesser 
of: 

(a). 3000 of all applications selected at random 
from applications approved by the SFA as of October 1 of 
the school year; or 

(b). 3 percent of all applications selected at 
random from applications approved by the SFA as of 
October 1 of the school year. 
 ii. The Alternate Two sample size equals the 
lesser of the sum of: 

(a). 1000 of all applications approved by the SFA 
as of October 1 of the school year, selected from error prone 
applications; or 

(b). 1 percent of all applications approved by the 
SFA as of October 1 of the school year, selected from error 
prone applications; plus 

(c). the lesser of: 
 (i). 500 applications approved by the SFA 
as of October 1 of the school year that provide a case 
number in lieu of income information; or 
 (ii). 1/2 of 1 percent of applications 
approved by the SFA as of October 1 of the school year that 
provide a case number in lieu of income information. 

2. For sample sizes based on error prone applications, 
there may not be enough applications that meet this 
criterion. When this happens, the SFA must select, at 
random, additional approved applications (from both income 
and case numbers applications) to complete the required 
sample size. In other situations, the number of error prone 
applications may exceed the required sample size. When this 
happens, the SFA must randomly select the required number 
of applications from all error prone applications. 

F. Qualifying to Use an Alternate Sample Size 
1. There are two ways an SFA may annually qualify to 

use an alternate sample size based on lowered non-response 
rates. 

a. Any SFA may use an alternate sample size for 
any school year when its non-response rate for the preceding 
school year is less than 20 percent. 

b. An SFA with more than 20,000 children 
approved by application as eligible for free or reduced price 
meals as of October 1 of the school year may use an 
alternate sample size for any school year when its non-
response rate for the preceding school year is at least 10 
percent below the non-response rate for the second 
preceding school year.  

2. The SFA must annually determine if it is eligible to 
use one of the alternate sample sizes. If the SFA determines 
it is eligible, it must contact the SA in accordance with any 
procedures established by the state agency for use of 
alternate sample sizes. 

G. Post Selection Procedures 
1. There are two procedures that the SFA completes 

prior to contacting the household to obtain documentation of 
eligibility. These are the required confirmation reviews and 
the optional replacement of certain applications. 

a. Confirmation Reviews 
 i. Prior to any other verification activity, an SFA 
official, other than the official who made the initial 
eligibility determination, must review each approved 
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application selected for verification to ensure that the initial 
determination was accurate. This requirement is waived if 
the SFA uses a technology-based system that demonstrates a 
high level of accuracy in processing an initial eligibility 
determination. SFAs must contact the state agency to 
determine if their system qualifies them for this waiver. 
Further, any SFA that conducts a confirmation review of all 
applications at the time of certification is not required to 
conduct confirmation reviews. 

b. Outcome of Confirmation Reviews 
 i. Depending on the outcome of each 
confirmation review, the SFA takes one of the following 
actions. 

(a). No Change in Status 
 (i). If the initial eligibility status was 
correct, the SFA verifies the application. 

(b). Status Changes from Reduced Price to Free 
 (i). The SFA makes the increased benefits 
available immediately, notifies the household of the change 
in benefits, and verifies the application. If verification 
reduces the level of benefits (from free to reduced price or 
paid), the household is sent a notice of adverse action. 

(c). Status Changes from Free to Reduced Price 
 (i). The SFA does not change the child’s 
status, and verifies the application. If the child’s free status is 
verified, the SFA does not notify the household. However, if 
the child’s status changes from free to either reduced price or 
paid, the household is sent a notice of adverse action. 

(d). Status Changes from Free or Reduced Price 
to Paid 
 (i). The SFA immediately sends the 
household a notice of adverse action, does not verify the 
application, selects a similar application (ex. another error-
prone application) for verification, and follows the 
confirmation review procedures for the newly selected 
application. 

c. Replacing Applications 
 i. After completing the confirmation reviews, the 
SFA may, on a case-by-case basis, replace up to five percent 
of applications selected. Applications may be replaced when 
the SFA believes that the household would be unable to 
satisfactorily respond to the verification request. Any 
applications removed must be replaced with another 
approved application selected on the same basis (i.e., an 
error-prone application must be substituted for a withdrawn 
error-prone application). The newly selected application 
must then have confirmation review.  
 ii. In those SFAs where five percent of total 
applications result in less than one, one application may still 
be replaced. All results of the five percent calculation are 
rounded up to the next whole number. 

H. Household Notification of Selection 
1. When a household is selected for verification and is 

required by the SFA to submit documents or other forms of 
evidence to document eligibility, the household must be sent 
a letter informing them of their selection and of the types of 
information acceptable to the SFA. The letter must include 
the following: 

a. that the household was selected for verification; 
b. that the household must provide the complete 

social security number for each adult household member or 
indicate that an adult household member does not possess 

one; an adult member is anyone who is 21 years of age or 
older; 

c. a Privacy Act statement; 
d. the types of acceptable information that may be 

provided to confirm current income, including pay stubs, 
award letters from assistance agencies, social security, and 
support payment decrees from courts; 

e. that the household may provide proof that the 
child is a member of a household receiving assistance under 
SNAP, FITAP, or FDPIR instead of providing income 
information and social security numbers of adult household 
members; 

f. that documentation of income or receipt of 
assistance may be provided for any point in time between 
the month prior to application and the time the household is 
required to provide income documentation; 

g. that information must be provided by a date 
specified by the SFA and that failure to do so will result in 
termination of benefits; and 

h. the name of an SFA official who can answer 
questions and provide assistance; and 

i. a telephone number that is available at no cost to 
the household. The SFA may establish a toll-free number or 
allow the household to reverse charges if any households in 
that SFA are outside the local calling area. The SFA may also 
provide different telephone numbers for each local calling 
area within the SFA. 

2. When the SFA uses agency records or direct 
verification to confirm eligibility, a letter informing the 
household of its selection for verification is not required, 
since the household will not have to provide documents. 

I. Sources of Verification 
1. Written Evidence 

a. Written evidence is the primary source of 
eligibility confirmation for all households including SNAP 
and FITAP households. Written evidence is most often pay 
stubs from employers or award letters from welfare 
departments or other government agencies submitted by the 
household to the verifying officials as confirmation of 
eligibility. 
 i. Acceptable written evidence for income 
eligible households contains the name of the household 
member, amount of income received, frequency received, 
and the date the income was received.  
 ii. Acceptable written evidence for categorically 
eligible households contains a written statement from the 
SNAP or FITAP agency that specifies that the child is a 
member of a household which is receiving benefits, such as 
a notice of eligibility. The verifying official should examine 
this notice of eligibility to ensure that the child for whom 
application was made is part of a household currently 
participating in SNAP or FITAP. Electronic Benefit Transfer 
(EBT) cards cannot be used to confirm SNAP eligibility, and 
therefore cannot be used for categorical eligibility purposes. 
A SNAP or FITAP document that does not specify the 
certification period is not adequate for documentation. A 
household that does not have satisfactory SNAP or FITAP 
documentation may request a signed, dated letter from the 
SNAP or FITAP office, certifying that the child for whom 
the application is being submitted is part of a household 
currently receiving SNAP or FITAP benefits. 
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b. If a household is selected for regular verification 
or verification for cause and the application indicates zero 
income, the SFA must request an explanation of how living 
expenses are met and may request additional written 
documentation or collateral contacts. 

2. Collateral Contacts 
a. A collateral contact is a person outside of the 

household who is knowledgeable about the household’s 
circumstances and can give confirmation of a household’s 
income, SNAP or FITAP status, or other categorical 
eligibility such as Head Start. Collateral contacts include 
employers, social service agencies, migrant worker’ 
agencies, and religious or civic organizations.  

b. The verifying official should request a collateral 
contact only in cases when the household has not been able 
to provide adequate written evidence. A collateral contact 
would not be expected to provide social security numbers of 
the adult household members. These still must be provided 
by the household. 

c. The verifying official must give the household 
the opportunity to designate the collateral contact. However, 
the verifying official may select a collateral contact if the 
household fails to designate one or designates one who is 
unacceptable to the verifying official. In either case, no 
contact may be made without first notifying the household 
and obtaining their permission. 

d. All collateral contacts may be written or oral and 
must be documented, dated, and initialed. The SFA will 
examine any written information provided by the collateral 
contact or evaluate any oral information. If the collateral 
contact is unwilling or unable to provide the requested 
information, the SFA must contact the household to 
complete the verification process. 

e. Verification of eligibility for households that 
provide a SNAP or FITAP case number on the application 
may be accomplished by submitting a list of names and 
SNAP or FITAP case numbers to the local SNAP or welfare 
office for confirmation of certification of receipt of benefits 
from agency records. 

3. Agency Records 
a. A household’s eligibility may be confirmed 

through the use of information maintained by other 
government agencies to which the SA, SFA, or school has 
legal access. Although USDA regulations do not require that 
households be notified of selection when verification is 
made through agency records, such agencies may have their 
own notification requirements. 

b. One source of agency records is the wage and 
benefit information maintained by the state employment 
agency if that information is available to the verifying 
official. Such records are state records, and the release of 
information maintained by state employment offices is 
governed by state law.  

c. Acceptable documentation of income or receipt 
of assistance from any of the above sources may be provided 
for any point in time between the month prior to application 
and the time the household is required to provide income 
documentation. 

J. Continuing the Verification Process Subsequent to 
Household Notification 

1. To continue the verification process, the SFA must 
either determine if the household has submitted adequate 

information to complete its individual verification activity or 
if a follow-up with the household is needed. 

a. When Verification is Considered Complete 
 i. The following list shows how the SFA 
determines if the household adequately responded and 
follow-up is not required: 

(a). The household submits the required social 
security numbers (income applications only) and there is 
either adequate written evidence or collateral contact 
corroboration of income or categorical eligibility. 
Verification is considered complete for this household. 

(b). The household submits the required social 
security numbers (income applications only) and there is 
either adequate written evidence or collateral contact 
corroboration of income which indicates that the child(ren) 
should receive either a greater or lesser level of benefits. 
Verification is considered complete for this household when 
the notice of adverse action is sent or the household is 
notified that its benefits will be increased. If verification 
results in higher benefits, this change is effective 
immediately and must be implemented no later than three 
operating days later. Parents should be notified through 
whatever channels the SFA uses to notify the household of 
approval for benefits. 

(c). The household indicates, verbally or in 
writing, that it no longer wishes to receive free or reduced 
price benefits. Verification is considered complete when the 
notice of adverse action is sent. 

(d). When it is determined that a child is not part 
of a household currently certified to receive SNAP or FITAP 
benefits. Verification is considered complete when the notice 
of adverse action is sent. 

b. When Follow-up is Needed 
 i. The SFA must make at least one follow-up 
attempt to contact the household when the household does 
not adequately respond to the request for verification. 
 ii. The follow-up attempt may be in writing 
(including emails) or by telephone and the SFA must 
document that a contact was attempted. The SFA must 
inform the household that failure to provide adequate written 
evidence or to designate an adequate collateral contact will 
result in termination of benefits. The follow-up contact must 
attempt to obtain the missing written evidence or obtain 
collateral contact information. If the collateral contact is 
unwilling or unable to provide the requested information, the 
SFA must contact the household to complete the verification 
process. 
 iii. The SFA must make a follow-up attempt when 
the household does not respond to the request for 
verification, submits insufficient or obsolete written 
evidence, does not designate collateral contacts, or the 
collateral contacts are unable or unwilling to provide the 
requested evidence. 
 iv. If after at least one follow-up attempt: 

(a). the household responds and provides all 
needed evidence, Verification is considered complete for this 
household if there is no change in benefits, the household is 
notified that its benefit will be increased, or when the notice 
of adverse action is sent; 

(b). the household does not respond. Verification 
is considered complete for this household when the notice of 
adverse action is sent; 
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(c). the SFA is unable to continue its verification 
activities because the household fails to provide adequate 
written evidence or knowledgeable collateral contacts. 
Verification is considered complete for this household when 
the notice of adverse action is sent. 

K. Notice of Adverse Action 
1. All households for whom benefits are to be reduced 

or terminated must be given 10 calendar days’ written 
advance notice of the change. The first day of the advance 
notice period is the day the notice is sent. The notice must 
advise the household of the following: 

a. the change in benefits; 
b. the reasons for the change; 
c. that an appeal must be filed within the 10 

calendar day advance notice period to ensure continued 
benefits while awaiting a hearing and decision; 

d. the instructions on how to appeal; 
e. that the household may reapply for benefits at 

any time during the school year; and 
f. that SNAP and FITAP households may submit an 

application containing household names and income 
information and provide written evidence of current 
household income and the social security numbers of adult 
household members. 

L. Benefits During an Appeal 
1. When a household appeals a reduction or 

termination in benefits within the 10 calendar day advance 
notice period, the SFA must continue to provide the benefits 
for which the child was originally approved until a final 
determination is made. The SFA may continue to claim 
reimbursement at that level during this period. 

2. When a household does not appeal a reduction or 
termination in benefits during the 10 calendar day advance 
notice period, or the hearing official rules that benefits must 
be reduced, the actual reduction or termination of benefits 
must take place no later than 10 operating days after the 10 
calendar day advance notice period, or 10 operating days 
after the decision by the hearing official. 

M. Hearing Procedure 
1. The hearing procedure in the SFA’s free and 

reduced price policy statement must be followed. The 
hearing official must be an individual who was not 
connected with the approval or verification process. The 
household may request a school conference prior to a formal 
hearing. Any such conference must not prejudice a later 
appeal. 

N. Households that Reapply for Program Benefits 
1. Households affected by a reduction or termination 

of benefits may reapply for benefits at any time during the 
school year. However, if benefits to a household have been 
terminated and the household reapplies in the same school 
year, the household is required to submit income 
documentation or proof of participation in SNAP or FITAP 
at the time of reapplication. These are not considered new 
applications. 

O. Recordkeeping 
1. Documentation must be kept by the SFA to 

demonstrate compliance with the verification requirements 
when SFAs are reviewed by state or federal reviewers, 
including documentation concerning any appeals. SFAs must 
maintain a description of their verification efforts. The 
description must include a summary of the verification 

efforts, including the selection process; the total number of 
applications on file on October 1, and the percentage or 
number of applications that are/will be verified by 
November 15. The SFA must also be able to demonstrate 
compliance with the confirmation review requirement and 
provision of a no-cost telephone number for assistance in the 
verification process. 

2. For each application, the SFA must keep records of 
the source of information used to verify the application, such 
as wage stubs or names and titles of collateral contacts. The 
SFA must retain: 

a. copies of all relevant correspondence between the 
households selected for verification and the SFA; 

b. one of the following for all documentation used 
to verify eligibility: 
 i. all documents submitted by the household or 
reproductions of those documents; or 
 ii. in cases where the actual documents or 
photocopies cannot be kept, the verifying official must make 
a written record of the documents submitted by the 
household, including the type of document, e.g., wage stubs 
or letter from an employer, income shown on the document, 
time period of the income, and the date of the document and 
any changes in eligibility as a result of verification 
procedures, the reasons for the changes, and the date the 
change was made; 

c. any change in eligibility as a result of verification 
procedures, the reason for the change and the date the 
household was notified, if necessary, and the date it became 
effective; 

d. records of follow-up attempts and results. 
3. SFAs should also record: 

a. any additional information necessary to show the 
efforts made by the SFA to meet the verification 
requirements; 

b. the title and signature of the verifying official; 
and 

c. the criteria for replacing applications for 
verification. 

4. When verification information is needed for 
coordinated review effort (CRE) purposes, the SFA must be 
able to provide this information for each school selected for 
review.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2132 (December 
2001), amended LR 32:1427 (August 2006), LR 37:580 (February 
2011). 
§517. Direct Verification  

A. General 
1. Direct verification is using records from public 

agencies to verify income and program participation. Direct 
verification may be completed at the state or local level or 
through a joint effort at both levels. 

2. SFAs are not required to conduct direct verification. 
However, any SFA that wishes to conduct direct verification 
must contact the state agency for assistance with establishing 
a direct verification method. 

3. SFAs may conduct direct verification activities with 
SNAP. Direct verification must be conducted prior to 
contacting the household for documentation. The public 
agency’s records may document income for any point in 
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time between the month prior to application and the time the 
household is required to provide income documentation. 

B. Names Submitted for Direct Verification 
1. The SFA must only submit the names of school 

children certified for free or reduced price meal benefits 
listed on the application. These names are submitted to the 
agency administering SNAP. The names of other household 
members (all adults, children who are not attending school, 
or children not approved for free or reduced price meals) 
cannot be submitted for direct verification purposes. 

C. Direct Verification with SNAP 
1. If information obtained through direct verification 

of an application for free or reduced price meal benefits 
indicates a child is participating in SNAP, no additional 
verification is required. The eligibility status of the child or 
children listed on the application is considered verified. 

D. Documentation Timeframe 
1. The information used for direct verification must be 

the most recent information available, which is defined as 
data which is no older than 180 days prior to the date of the 
free and reduced price application. To be consistent with 
policy established for “regular” verification, direct 
verification efforts may use information from any point in 
time between the month prior to application and the time the 
SFA conducts direct verification. 

E. Incomplete or Inconsistent Information from Direct 
Verification 

1. If information provided by the public agency does 
not verify eligibility, the SFA must proceed with regular 
verification activities. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2132 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:2026 (October 2003), LR 32:1427 (August 
2006), LR 37:584 (February 2011). 
Chapter 7. Meal Planning Service 
§737. Extra Sales 

A. Extra items may be sold only to those students who 
have received a complete meal. The purchase of extras must 
occur at the time the meal is received unless the SFA has a 
procedure in place to determine that a student has received a 
complete meal. À-la-carte meal service is prohibited for 
students. Extra sale items must meet component 
requirements as defined by Enhanced Food-Based Menu 
regulations for the Child Nutrition Programs or must be an 
item offered on the menu that day. The only exceptions are 
that milkshakes, yogurt, frozen yogurt, ice cream, and ice 
milk (as defined by the Louisiana Sanitary Code) may be 
sold as extras. Full-strength juice, and milk, and bottled 
water (unflavored with no additives) may be sold at any time 
during the day to students and adults whether or not they 
have purchased a meal. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:191-199. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2151 (December 
2001), amended LR 29:2029 (October 2003), LR 31:1973 (August 
2005), LR 32:806 (May 2006), LR 37:585 (February 2011). 

Chapter 25. Summer Food Service Program 
§2502. Participation Deadline 

A. Any agency wishing to participate in the SFSP must 
submit a signed Summer Food Service Program Agreement 
by April 15. Sponsors are also required to attend the annual 
SFSP Workshop, conducted by the state agency. If the 
agency wishing to participate in the SFSP does not comply 
with these requirements, permission to participate in the 
SFSP will not be granted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:585 (February 2011). 
§2503. Sponsor 

A. … 
1. Organizations that may sponsor the SFSP must 

make available upon request documentation demonstrating 
financial viability, administrative capability and program 
accountability, and are limited to the following: 

A.1.a. - B.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:191-199. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2201 (December 
2001), amended LR 37:585 (February 2011). 
§2519. Summer Food Service Program (SFSP) Appeals 

Procedures 
A. The state agency shall notify the sponsor or food 

service management company in writing, of the action(s) 
being taken, and the grounds upon which the state agency 
based the action(s). The notice of action shall be sent via 
certified mail, return receipt requested, and by email or as 
otherwise established by USDA or the state agency. The 
notice of action shall state that the sponsor or food service 
management company has the right to appeal the State’s 
action(s) and will specify the date which the request for an 
appeal must be received from the sponsor or food service 
management company. The appellant (sponsor or food 
service management company) may review all information 
upon which the action(s) were based.  

B. Any sponsor or food service management company 
wishing to request an appeal must submit a written request 
for an appeal within the timeframe specified in the notice of 
action. 

C. The appellant may refute the charges and/or appeal 
proposed actions contained in the notice of action either in 
person or by filing written documentation with the appeals 
officer. To be considered, written documentation must be 
submitted by the appellant within seven days of submitting 
the appeal, must clearly identify the state agency action 
being appealed, and must include a photocopy of the notice 
of action issued by the state agency.  

D. A hearing will be held by an appeals officer in 
addition to, or in lieu of, a review of written information 
submitted by the appellant only if the appellant so specifies 
in the letter appealing the action. The appellant may retain 
legal counsel or may be represented by another person. 
Failure of the appellant's representative to appear at a 
scheduled hearing shall constitute the appellant's waiver of 
the right to a personal appearance before the appeals officer, 
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unless the appeals officer agrees to reschedule the hearing. A 
representative of the state agency shall be allowed to attend 
the hearing to respond to the appellant's testimony and 
written information and to answer questions from the 
appeals officer. 

E. If the appellant has requested a hearing, the appellant 
and the state agency shall be notified of the date, time and 
place of the hearing. 

F. The appeals officer is independent of the original 
decision-making process. 

G. The appeals officer will make a determination based 
on information provided by the state agency and the 
appellant, and on Program regulations. 

H. The state agency's action will remain in effect during 
the appeal process. However, participating sponsors and 
sites may continue to operate the program during an appeal 
of termination, and if the appeal results in overturning the 
state agency's decision, reimbursement shall be paid for 
meals served during the appeal process. However, such 
continued program operation shall not be allowed if the state 
agency's action is based on imminent dangers to the health 
or welfare of children. If the sponsor or site has been 
terminated for this reason, the state agency shall so specify 
in its notice of action. 

I. The determination by the state appeals officer is the 
final administrative determination to be afforded to the 
appellant. 

J. Appealable actions include: a denial of an application 
for participation; a denial of a sponsor's request for an 
advance payment; a denial of a sponsor's claim for 
reimbursement [except for late submission under 7 CFR 
225.9(d)(5)]; a state agency's refusal to forward to the 
United States Department of Agriculture, Food and Nutrition 
Services (FNS) office an exception request by the sponsor 
for payment of a late claim or a request for an upward 
adjustment to a claim; a claim against a sponsor for 
remittance of a payment; the termination of the sponsor or a 
site; a denial of a sponsor's application for a site; a denial of 
a food service management company's application for 
registration; or the revocation of a food service management 
company's registration. Appeals shall not be allowed on 
decisions made by FNS with respect to late claims or 
upward adjustments under 7 CFR 225.9(d)(5). For more 
information refer to 7 CFR 225.13 appeal procedures. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2203 (December 
2001), amended LR 37:585 (February 2011). 
§2521. Information 

A. For more information, refer to the USDA Summer 
Food Service Program for Children, Administrative 
Guidance for Sponsors or visit USDA's web site at 
www.usda.gov. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2203 (December 
2001), amended LR 37:586 (February 2011). 

Chapter 29. Child and Adult Care Food Program 
§2911. Audit Requirements for the Child and Adult 

Care Food Program 
A. … 
B. Reporting to the Louisiana Department of Education. 

If a participating sponsoring institution's federal 
expenditures are less than $500,000 in a fiscal year, that 
sponsoring institution shall annually report this information 
to the Louisiana Department of Education, to ensure 
compliance with federal audit requirements.  

1. … 
C. While a sponsoring institution that does not meet the 

annual federal expenditure threshold of $500,000 is not 
required to have an audit of such funds, records must be 
available for review or audit by appropriate officials of any 
federal, state, or local government agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:191-199. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1737 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2034 (October 2003), LR 37:586 (February 2011). 
Chapter 33. Financial Management and Accounting 

for Child and Adult Care Food Program 
Family Day Care Homes (FDCH) 

§3313. Audit/Review 
A. … 

1. Audit Requirement. A sponsor that expends 
$500,000 or more of federal funds in a fiscal year must have 
an audit conducted for that year. The Louisiana Revised 
Statutes contain additional audit requirements for institutions 
that receive state or local funds. 

2. Reporting to the Louisiana Department of 
Education. If a participating sponsor's federal expenditures 
are less than $500,000 in a fiscal year, that sponsor shall 
annually report this information to the Louisiana Department 
of Education, to ensure compliance with federal audit 
requirements.  

a. … 
b. While a sponsoring institution that does not meet 

the annual federal expenditure threshold of $500,000 is not 
required to have an audit of such funds, records must be 
available for review or audit by appropriate officials of any 
federal, state, or local government agency. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

210-245. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education LR 27:2213 (December 
2001), amended LR 28:1738 (August 2002), LR 29:2035 (October 
2003), LR 37:586 (February 2011). 
§3403. Service 

A. The service of the notice of proposed action, request 
for appeal and decision shall be made personally or by 
official U.S. postal certified mail, return receipt requested, or 
by regular U.S. mail, or email or otherwise established by 
USDA or the signed Child Nutrition Program Agreement 
between the institution and the state agency. Refer to the 
glossary for specific definition of notice. 

B. - C.1. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

210-245. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1738 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2035 (October 2003), LR 37:586 (February 2011). 
Chapter 34. National School Lunch Program and  

Child and Adult Care 
§3405. Notice of Proposed Action 

A. The state agency shall notify the institution, in 
writing, of the actions being taken through a notice of 
proposed action. This notice shall contain the following 
information: 

1. … 
2. the specific amount of the fiscal sanction assessed 

against the institution, if any and/or the state action being 
taken; 

3. a statement specifying what action the institution 
must take to correct the violation(s) to avoid further 
proceedings if any; 

A.4. - C. … 
1. the effective date of suspension  
2. the date that the institution's written request for a 

suspension review must be received by the hearing along 
with written documentation opposing the proposed 
suspension. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR, 

210-245. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1739 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2035 (October 2003), LR 37: 
§3407. Request for Appeal 

A. Institutions wishing to appeal proposed actions 
(except suspension of CACFP participation) shall serve a 
written request for appeal upon the state agency not later not 
later than the date specified in the notice of proposed action. 

B. … 
1. a listing of what specific violations or state agency 

action(s) set forth in the notice of proposed action are being 
appealed together with a short and plain statement of each 
contested issue of fact or law concerning each violation or 
state agency action; 

2. - 2.b. … 
3. a statement as to the relief or remedy the institution 

seeks from the appeal. 
C. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR, 

210-245. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1739 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2035 (October 2003), LR 37:587 (February 2011). 
§3410. Notice and Time of Hearing 

A. If a hearing (not suspension review) is requested in 
writing, the hearing officer shall schedule the hearing and 
shall notify the institution and the state agency in writing of 
the time, date, and place of the hearing. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR 

210-245. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1739 (August 2002), 
repromulgated LR 28:1950 (September 2002), amended LR 
29:2036 (October 2003), LR 37:587 (February 2011). 
§3415. Decision, Judicial Review, Records 

A. The hearing officer shall render a decision which shall 
include findings of fact, conclusions, and a statement as to 

the reasons for the decision. The decision shall be served on 
the institution and the state agency by the hearing officer and 
shall constitute the final state agency action for purposes of 
judicial or other review. The decision of the hearing officer 
can be appealed as provided by law. 

B. The appeal record, where the institution chooses to 
submit written information to dispute the state agency action 
taken against it, shall consist of that written information 
together with such written information as the state agency 
chooses to likewise submit to support its notice of proposed 
action and the decision thereon. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR, 
210-245. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1740 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2037 (October 2003), LR 37:587 (February 2011). 
§3417. Hearing Conduct and Decorum 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR, 

210-245. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1740 (August 2002), 
repealed LR 37:587 (February 2011). 
§3419. Decision, Judicial Review, Records 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 7 CFR, 

210-245. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 28:1740 (August 2002), 
amended LR 29:2037 (October 2003), repealed LR 37:587 
(February 2011). 
Chapter 35. Glossary 
§3501. Definitions/Abbreviations 

* * * 
Notice―a letter sent by certified mail, return receipt (or 

the equivalent private delivery service), by facsimile, or by 
email, that describes an action proposed or taken by a state 
agency or the United States Department of Agriculture, Food 
and Nutrition Service with regard to an institution's Program 
reimbursement or participation. Notice also means a letter 
sent by certified mail, return receipt (or the equivalent 
private delivery service), by facsimile, or by email, that 
describes an action proposed or taken by a sponsoring 
organization with regard to a day care home's participation. 
The notice must specify the action being proposed or taken 
and the basis for the action, and is considered to be received 
by the institution or day care home when it is delivered, sent 
by facsimile, or by email. If the notice is undeliverable, it is 
considered to be received by the institution, responsible 
principal or responsible individual, or day care home five 
days after being sent to the addressee's last known mailing 
address, facsimile number, or email address. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:7(5); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:82; R.S. 17:191-199. R.S. 1792. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 27:2220 (December 
2001), amended LR: 29:2037 (October 2003), LR 37:587 (February 
2011). 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

1102#037  
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RULE 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsApplications, Federal  
Grant Aid and ACT Test (LAC 28:IV.505) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) has amended and re-promulgated the rules of the 
Scholarship/Grant programs (R.S. 17:3021-3025, R.S. 
3041.10-3041.15, and R.S. 17:3042.1.1-3042.8, R.S. 
17:3048.1, R.S. 56:797.D(2)). 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education  

Scholarship and Grant Programs 
Chapter 5. Applications, Federal Grant Aid and ACT 

Test 
§505. Application Deadlines for High School 

Graduates and Home Study Completers of 2004 
and Later and Eligible Non-Graduates 

A.1. - B.1. … 
2. Beginning with the 2007-2008 academic year 

(college), students will be eligible to receive the full benefits 
of a TOPS award as provided in §701.E beginning with the 
academic year (college) immediately after the student's one 
year anniversary of high school graduation if their initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received after the July 1 
immediately following the academic year (high school) of 
high school graduation and no later than the final deadline 
set forth in Subsection C, below, and if the student was 
enrolled during the preceding academic year (college), the 
student has met the requirements for continuing eligibility. 

3.i. Beginning with the 2010-2011 academic year 
(college), students whose initial FAFSA or on-line 
application is received on or before July 1 immediately 
following the one year anniversary of high school graduation 
will receive payment of their TOPS award as provided in 
§701.E beginning with the first semester, quarter or term the 
student enrolls for the first time as a full time student in an 
eligible college or university; provided that no payment of a 
TOPS award shall be made until the initial FAFSA or on-line 
application has been received and the applicant has been 
determined eligible for a TOPS award. 
 ii. If the initial FAFSA or on-line application is 
received after July 1 immediately following high school 
graduation, the payment of the TOPS award could be 
delayed depending on the date the application is received 
and the date the student enrolls for the first time as a full 
time student in an eligible college or university. 
 iii. A student who enrolls for the first time as a full 
time student before his FAFSA or on-line application is 
received must meet the requirements for maintaining 
eligibility in §705 to receive payments of his TOPS award 
after the first semester, quarter or term of full time 
enrollment at an eligible college or university.  

4. Examples 
a. A 2009-2010 academic year (high school) high 

school graduate, who enrolls in the fall semester of 2010, 

will be eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS award 
beginning the fall semester of 2010 if the initial FAFSA or 
on-line application is received on or before July 1, 2010. 

b. A 2009-2010 academic year (high school) high 
school graduate, who enrolls during the 2010-2011 academic 
year, will be eligible to receive the full benefits of a TOPS 
award beginning the fall semester of 2010 if the initial 
FAFSA or on-line application is received no later than July 
1, 2011, and if he has met the requirements for continuing 
eligibility. 

C. - G. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3036, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:635 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1901 (October 1998), repromulgated LR 27:1847 
(November 2001), amended LR 30:2017 (September 2004), LR 
31:37 (January 2005), LR 32:2238 (December 2006), LR 33:83 
(January 2007), LR 33:2357 (November 2007), LR 34:235 
(February 2008), LR 37:588 (February 2011). 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

1102#012 
 

RULE 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Removal of Pesticide Application Exemption 
from LPDES Permitting Requirements 

(LAC 33:IX.2315)(WQ082) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary has amended the Water Quality regulations, LAC 
33:IX.2315.A.8. (WQ082). 

On November 27, 2006, EPA issued a final Rule 
[herinafter called the "2006 NPDES Pesticides Rule", 40 
CFR 122.3(h)] in which an NPDES permit is not required 
for pesticide applications to or around water, provided that 
the application is consistent with relevant Federal 
Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) 
requirements. The Rule became effective on January 26, 
2007. 

On January 9, 2009, the Sixth Circuit vacated EPA's 2006 
NPDES Pesticides Rule [40 CFR 122.3(h)]. National Cotton 
Council of America v. EPA, 553 F.3d 927 (6th Cir., 2009). 

This rule-making action will suspend (delete) LAC 
33:IX.2315.A.8 which is identical to the 2006 NPDES 
Pesticide Rule [40 CFR 122.3 (h) which was vacated by the 
January 9, 2009 court decision. It will eliminate the 
exemption which says you do not need a LPDES permit 
when applying a pesticide in accordance with the FIFRA 
label. The suspension of the state rule will require LDEQ to 
issue a general permit for the application of pesticides in 
Louisiana. This Rule change shall become effective April 11, 
2011. The basis and rationale for this Rule is to bring our 
regulations in line with the federal regulations and court 
decisions. 
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On April 11, 2011, the two-year stay will end and anyone 
applying a pesticide without a permit will be in violation of 
the Clean Water Act and EPA's NPDES Regulations. In 
conjunction this action to suspension of this state 
regulations, LDEQ will need to issue a general permit for the 
application of pesticides. This Rule meets an exception listed 
in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 
report regarding environmental/health benefits and 
social/economic costs is required. 

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part IX.  Water Quality 
Subpart 2.  The Louisiana Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System (LPDES) Program 
Chapter 23. Definitions and General LPDES Program 

Requirements 
§2315. Exclusions 

A. - A.7. ... 
8 - 8.b. repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
30:2001 et seq., and in particular Section 2074(B)(3) and (B)(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Water Resources, LR 21:945 
(September 1995), repromulgated by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 30:230 
(February 2004), amended by the Office of the Secretary, Legal 
Affairs Division, LR 33:2069 (October 2007), LR 37:589 (February 
2011). 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

1102#070 
 

RULE 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Residential Mortgage Lending Program 
(LAC 10:XII.Chapter 1) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, and pursuant to his authority 
under R.S. 6:121, and R.S. 6:1085 and 6:1088.1 of the 
Louisiana SAFE Residential Mortgage Lending Act, R.S. 
6:1081 et seq., the Commissioner of the Office of Financial 
Institutions has repealed Louisiana Administrative Code, 
LAC 10:XII.101-113, regarding the minimum requirements 
for certified continuing education facilitators. This action is 
being effectuated because the statute pertaining to 
continuing education has been amended and now requires 
providers to obtain approval through the Nationwide 
Mortgage Licensing System and Registry. Thus, the Rule is 
rendered obsolete and no longer necessary. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part XII.  Residential Mortgage Lending 

Chapter 1. Residential Mortgage Lending Program 
§101. Purpose 

Repealed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:688 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 
§103. Procedures and Standards for Facilitator Course 

Certification 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:688 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 
§105. Course Requirements 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:688 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 
§107. Training Facility Requirements for Live Class 

Settings 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 
§109. Procedures for Verifying Continuing Education 

Credits 
Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 
§111. Program Review-Disciplinary Action 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 
§113. Facilitators for Courses Conducted Out of State 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

6:1085 and R.S. 6:1094(A). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Economic Development, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 
27:689 (May 2001), repealed by the Office of the Governor, Office 
of Financial Institutions, LR 37:589 (February 2011). 

 
John Ducrest, CPA 
Commissioner 

1102#014 
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RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Dentistry 

Licenses; Authorized Duties; Nitrous Oxide Inhalation 
(LAC 46:XXXIII.419, 701 and 1509) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751, et seq., and particularly 
R.S. 37:760(8), notice is hereby given that the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry has amended 
LAC 46:XXXIII.419, 701, and 1509. No preamble has been 
prepared.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXIII.  Dental Health Profession 

Chapter 4. Fees and Costs 
Subchapter D. Fees for Dental Hygienists 
§419. Licenses, Permits and Examinations (Dental 

Hygienists) 
A. For processing applications for licensure, permits, and 

examinations, the following fees shall be payable in advance 
to the board: 

1. - 11. ... 
12. Examination and permitting of dental hygiene 

applicants for administration of nitrous oxide 
inhalation analgesia 

$50 

13. Renewal fee for dental hygienists administration 
of nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia 

$50 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8), R.S. 37:768, and R.S. 37:795. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:792 (November 1988), 
amended LR 16:566 (June 1990), LR 18:741 (July 1992), LR 
23:1527 (November 1997), LR 24:1115 (June 1998), LR 25:1478 
(August 1999), LR 26:691 (April 2000), LR 28:1778 (August 
2002), LR 32:243 (February 2006), LR 33:846 (May 2007); LR 
34:2564 (December 2008); LR 37:590 (February 2011). 
Chapter 7. Dental Hygienists 
§701. Authorized Duties 

A. - E. ... 
F. Under general supervision, a dental hygienist may 

provide to patients of record, for not more than five 
consecutive business days, all dental hygiene services 
(except local anesthesia and root planning which must be 
under direct supervision) if all of the following conditions 
are satisfied. 

1. The dental hygienist has at least one year of full 
time practice of dental hygiene. 

2.-7. ... 
8. Dental hygienists may perform light enhanced teeth 

whitening procedures such as Zoom® under general 
supervision. 

G. - G.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:791 (November 
1988), amended LR 15:965 (November 1989), LR 19:206 
(February 1993), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:1217 (December 
1996), LR 24:1116 (June 1998), LR 27:1892 (November 2001), LR 
32:2056 (November 2006); LR 37:590 (February 2011). 

Chapter 15. Conscious Sedation with Parenteral 
Drugs 

§1509. Minimal Educational Requirements for the 
Granting of Permits to Administer Nitrous 
Oxide Inhalation Analgesia, Conscious Sedation 
with Parenteral or Enteral Drugs and General 
Anesthesia/Deep Sedation 

A. Nitrous Oxide Inhalation Analgesia 
1. - 2. ... 
3. A dentist who has been trained to administer nitrous 

oxide inhalation analgesia in a dental school approved by the 
American Dental Association or a course accepted by the 
Louisiana State Board of Dentistry and has been 
administering nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia in another 
state without any disciplinary or malpractice action being 
taken against him regarding the administration of anesthesia 
may be permitted to administer same in the state of 
Louisiana by providing documentation of experience in the 
previous two years, and by gaining approval of the board. 

B. - D. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 20:659 (June 1994), 
amended LR 22:1216 (December 1996), LR 32:244 (February 
2006), LR 37:590 (February 2011). 

 
C. Barry Ogden 
Executive Director 

1102#017 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators 

Nursing Facility Administrators  
(LAC 46:XLIX.Chapters 1-16) 

The Louisiana Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators does hereby amend LAC 46:XLIX.Chapters 
1-16 relative to the administration of nursing facility 
administrators and their licensure to make certain technical 
changes, to provide for creation of a “conditional license”, to 
implement statutes, to modify time limits on training, testing 
and licensure, to establish record retention guidelines, to 
make changes to Continuing Education Unit requirements 
from biennially to annual, to insert a chapter delineating a 
fee schedule range as authorized by statute, and provides for 
statutorily authorized criminal background checks.  

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLIX.  Nursing Facility Administrators 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§103. General Definitions Title 46 

A. … 
Act of Administration―encompasses the decision-

making process in the planning, organizing, directing and/or 
controlling the operation of a nursing home whether or not 
there is an ownership interest in the home. The 
administrator: 

a. - d.i. … 
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 ii. Administrator-in-Training―here and after 
known as AIT, one who has met the provisions of §§503, 
505 and 507; and is under the general supervision of a full-
time nursing home administrator, duly licensed in the state 
of Louisiana, for a period of at least six consecutive months 
and who is preparing for licensing. 
 iii. - iv. … 

* * * 
National Association of Long Term Care Administrator 

Boards―the nationally leading authority on licensing, 
credentialing, and regulating administrators of organizations 
along the continuum of long term care here and after known 
as NAB.  

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:501 and R.S. 37:2504.C. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health and 

Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 16:258 (March 1990), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Facility Administrators, LR 37:590 (February 2011). 
§105. Notification of Change 

A. Every licensed nursing home administrator shall 
immediately notify in writing the office of the Louisiana 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators of 
any and all changes in name, address, position, or other 
information originally submitted on their initial registration 
and any subsequent changes thereto. Failure to comply with 
this rule within 10 days of the change will result in a penalty 
as set forth in this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 16:199 (February 1990), 
repealed and repromulgated LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended 
by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 
37:591 (February 2011). 
Chapter 3. Board of Examiners 
§301. Meetings 

A. - C. … 
D. The board as a public body operates in accord with 

R.S. 42:1-R.S. 42:13. The conduct of meetings, notices, 
voting, record keeping, and so on shall be in accord with 
these statutes. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2503 and R.S. 37:2504.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:591 
(February 2011). 
§303. General Powers 

A. … 
B. From time to time the board may e-mail or distribute 

a newsletter, promulgate and publish such rules and 

regulations not inconsistent with law as it may deem 
necessary and proper for the execution and enforcement of 
the law and rules and regulations governing the licensing 
and registration of nursing facility administrators. 

C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:591 
(February 2011). 
§305. Officers and Duties 

A. … 
B. The chairman shall preside at all meetings of the 

board and shall sign all official documents of the board. In 
the absence of the chairman, the vice-chairman or member 
designated by the chairman shall preside at meetings and 
perform all duties usually performed by the chairman. 

C. … 
D. The executive director shall conduct all routine 

correspondence for the board, shall issue all notices of 
meetings and hearings, shall have custody of all books, 
records and property of the board and shall perform all 
duties pertaining to the office of executive director. The 
executive director shall annually, in accordance with the 
directives of the State Office of the Legislative Auditor, 
submit financial records for audit. The audit results, on 
receipt, will be promptly distributed to all members of the 
board for review. 

E. - F. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2503 and R.S. 37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:461 (July 1983), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Home Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994), amended by the 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:591 
(February 2011). 
Chapter 5. Examinations 
§501. Scheduling of Examinations and Re-

Examinations 
A. … 
B. Examinations 

1. State examinations may be held at such times and 
places, and by entities designated by the board. 

2. National examinations shall be conducted by NAB 
for state-approved candidates. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2505. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
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of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:591 
(February 2011) 
§503. Pre-Examination Requirements: Conditions 

Precedent 
A. - A.2. … 

3. has no convictions for a felony or crimes involving 
moral turpitude as provided in R.S. 14:80; 

4. - 5.a. … 
b. 60 hours of college education from an accredited 

institute of higher learning with an overall C average and 
three years of experience in nursing or administration in a 
licensed nursing home; or 

A.5.c. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2505. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 20:789 (July 1994), LR 33:2423 
(November 2007), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Facility Administrators, LR 37:592 (February 2011). 
§504.  Pre Examination Criminal Background Check 

A. At the applicant’s expense the board may require 
fingerprints taken by an appropriate law enforcement 
agency. Such fingerprints are to be submitted by the 
enforcement agency to the State Police Bureau of Criminal 
Identification or such other appropriate authority.  

B. The applicant shall request the result of such 
background check to be submitted to the board.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2505.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:592 (February 2011). 
§505. Application for Examination 

A. An applicant for examination to secure a license as a 
nursing home administrator shall apply in writing, on forms 
provided by the board, and shall furnish evidence 
satisfactory to the board that he has met the pre-examination 
requirements as provided for in the state licensing statutes 
and §503 of these rules and regulations; and 

1. a candidate for examination shall submit with his 
notarized application, the application fee, all waiver 
requests, and two letters from individuals engaged in either 
business or professional work, but not related by blood or 
marriage, who shall certify to the good moral character of 
the applicant; 

2. an applicant for examination who has been 
convicted of, plead guilty to, no contest to, or has a trial 
pending for a misdemeanor involving abuse, neglect, or 
misappropriation of property or any felony or crimes 
involving moral turpitude as provided in R.S. 14:80 by any 
court in this state, or by any court of the United States, or by 
any court of any other state of the United States, shall not be 
admitted to, or be permitted to take the examination 
provided for herein, unless he shall request a formal hearing 
before the board and provide evidence establishing a full 
pardon or parole granted by an appropriate authority 
authorized to grant such; 

3. … 
4. an applicant who withdraws his application for 

licensing after it has been received, processed and submitted 
to the board, shall not be entitled to a refund of their 
application fee. 

B. - C. … 
D. The applicant shall attach to his application a finished 

unmounted recent photograph of himself. This photograph 
must not be less than 2 inches by 3 inches in size and taken 
within the last six  months. 

E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:592 (February 2011). 
§507. Conditional Admission to Examination 

A. The board may authorize the executive director to 
conditionally admit to examination for licensing as a nursing 
home administrator an applicant who, on the date of a 
scheduled examination, has not fully established his 
qualifications if, in the judgment of the board, it appears that 
he is otherwise qualified.  

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2505. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:592 
(February 2011). 
§509. Subjects for Examination and Continuing 

Education 
A. - B. … 
C. The board may conduct courses on nursing home 

administration, especially designed for applicants and for 
licensees, when the demand is sufficient to defray expenses. 
Individuals who desire this course shall pay a fee as 
provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2505. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 9:684 
(October 1983), amended LR 14:23 (January 1988), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Home Administrators, LR 20:789 (July 1994), amended by the 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:592 
(February 2011). 
Chapter 7. Administrator-in-Training (AIT) 
§701. Program 

A. - D. … 
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Department Weeks Hours 
Administration 9 360 
Nursing 5 200 
Dietary 4 160 
Resident Activity 2 80 
Social Work 2 80 
Medical Records 2 80 
Environmental Management 2 80 

NOTE: A week is defined as seven days, Sunday through the 
following Saturday. 

 
E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 12:511 (August 1986), repealed and 
repromulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 
(February 1992), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Home Administrators, LR 20:790 (July 1994) repromulgated LR 
21:175 (February 1995), amended by the Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:592 (February 2011). 
§703. Preceptor 

A. - E. … 
F. Preceptor Update. Preceptors must undertake update 

training every three years sponsored by the board in order to 
maintain this certification. The training qualifies as required 
continuing education. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 19:1023 (August 1993), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:593 
(February 2011). 
§709. Oral Examination 

A. Upon completion of the program and receipt of the 
Certificate of Completion the AIT undergoes an oral 
examination to ensure she/he is sufficiently knowledgeable 
to be licensed. The examination is conducted by the 
executive director, a board member, or other authorized 
person. The AIT will receive his license upon passage of the 
oral examination, completion of initial registration form, and 
payment of registration fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:593 (February 2011). 
§711. Time Limitation  

A. Failure to begin the six-month AIT within one year of 
the date an applicant passes the licensing examinations will 

results in loss of all accomplishments and fees, unless 
otherwise authorized by the board. 

B. Failure to complete the licensure process within 24 
months from the date of application will result in loss of all 
accomplishments and fees unless authorized by the board. 

C. Record Retention 
1. In accordance with R.S. 44:411, the board shall 

secure written approval from the state archivist or his 
designee prior to the disposing of any records of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 44:405. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended LR 20:1110 (October 1994), amended by the Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:593 
(February 2011). 
§713. Waivers 

A. All waiver requests shall be submitted with 
applicant’s notarized application. 

B. Provisions for the six-month AIT, or portions thereof, 
may be waived on the basis of: 

1. education. Full waiver may be granted if applicant 
has a Bachelor of Science/Bachelor of Art or Master of 
Science/Master of Art degree in health care administration 
that included an internship or the internship was waived by 
the college or university on the basis of experience and 
successfully passes an oral exam; 

2. experience. Waiver may be granted for any portion 
of the AIT for experience in the healthcare field that meets 
or exceeds AIT requirements in their specialty and such 
areas as approved by the board. Request for waivers are to 
be submitted with the application and properly documented 
on forms supplied by the board. 

a. - b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:62 (February 1983), LR 10:499 (July 
1984), LR 12:512 (August 1986), repealed and repromulgated by 
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Nursing Examiners of Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:593 (February 2011). 
Chapter 9. Continuing Education 
§903. Requirements 

A. Number of Hours. Each licensee must complete 15 
hours of approved continuing education, or the portion 
thereof designated by the board, during the 12 month period 
preceding the date of re-registration of licenses. 

B. - B.2. … 
C. Certificates. Each approved provider of continuing 

education shall provide each participant with a certificate 
indicating topic, number of hours, or parts of hours 
participating, and date of program. Transcripts from 
accredited institutions of higher learning are considered as 
having met this provision. 

1. … 
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2. Licensees are required to attach the original of these 
certificates to their annual re-registration applications to 
verify they have completed the required continuing 
education unless prior approval is obtained. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 11:864 (September 1985), LR 13:240 
(April 1987), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 19:1023 
(August 1993), repromulgated LR 19:1322 (October 1993), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:593 (February 2011). 
§905. Registration of Institutions as Providers of 

Continuing Education Courses 
A. - B. … 
C. A fee, as provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part, shall 

be paid annually providers who impose charges to course 
participants. Government agencies are exempt from the fee. 

D. National Continuing Education Review Services 
(NCERS) approved programs are exempt from the 
requirement that providers be approved by the board. The 
approval of programs by NCERS, operated by the National 
Associations of Boards of Examiners For Long Term Care 
Administrators, Inc., meets board requirements. 

E. … 
F. Programs offered by non-approved provider 

organizations that do not seek provider approval may be 
approved on an individual basis. Individual licensees may 
seek this approval by applying to the board. When the 
organization or individual licensee applies there is a fee as 
provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and repromulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 19:1023 (August 1993), LR 20:788 (July 
1994), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:594 (February 2011). 
§907. Approval of Programs of Study 

A. - A.7. … 
8. Credit will not be given for courses offered by an 

organization for its administrators only; and 
9. the program is submitted for approval prior to the 

beginning date. 
B. - B.2. … 
C. Monitoring may be done to observe quality of content 

of presentation by the board or its representative. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 20:788 (July 1994), amended by the Board of 

Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:594 
(February 2011). 
§908. Approval of NAB Standards 

A. Should the board elect to utilize the standards set forth 
by the National Continuing Education Resource Service in 
affiliation with the NAB, the board shall notify all licensed 
administrators, AITs and applicants of such decision in 
writing. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2505. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:594 (February 2011). 
§909.  Exception 

A. Nothing contained in this Chapter shall preclude the 
board from providing for any program of study which 
excludes subjects which are in conflict with, the teachings 
and practice of any recognized religious faith. Any applicant 
seeking to be admitted to such program of study hereunder 
shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board that he is, in 
fact, an adherent of such recognized religious faith. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:594 
(February 2011). 
Chapter 11. Licenses 
§1101. Initial License 

A. An applicant for a license as a nursing home 
administrator who has successfully complied with the 
requirements of the licensing laws and the standards 
provided for herein, passed the examinations provided by the 
board and submitted notarized forms certifying to the AIT 
prerequisite shall be issued a license on a form provided for 
that purpose by the board, certifying that such applicant has 
met the requirements of the laws, rules and regulations 
entitling him to serve, act, practice and otherwise hold 
himself out as a duly licensed nursing home administrator. 

A.1. - B. … 
C. Each nursing facility in the state shall operate under 

the supervision of an administrator who holds a current valid 
nursing facility administrator license and current registration 
certificate, or a current temporary license issued pursuant to 
this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2506. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, repealed and promulgated by the 
Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of 
Nursing Home Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 20:789 (July 1994), repromulgated LR 20:1110 
(October 1994), amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing 
Facility Administrators, LR 37:594 (February 2011). 
§1103. Registration of Licenses and Certificates 

A.1. Every person who holds a valid license as a nursing 
home administrator issued by the board shall immediately 
upon issuance thereof be deemed registered with the board 
and issued an annual certificate of registration.  

1.a. - 2. … 
3. Charges for replacement and/or second copies of 

permanent licenses, re-registration certificates, or licensee 
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cards shall be assessed as provided for in Chapter 12 of this 
Part. 

B.1. Upon making an application for a new certificate of 
registration such licensee shall pay an annual registration fee 
as provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part and, at the same 
time, shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board that, 
during the annual period immediately preceding such 
application for registration, they have attended a continuing 
education program or course of study as provided in Chapter 
9 of these rules and regulations. Unless prior approval is 
obtained, originals of the certificate(s) of attendance for 15 
hours of approved continuing education shall be attached to 
the annual re-registration application. 

2. A licensed nursing home administrator no longer 
practicing in Louisiana may place his license in an inactive 
or conditional status. He shall continue to register his license 
annually but is exempt from continuing education 
requirements. Should a licensee wish to reactivate their 
license they shall undergo 60 days of on-site re-orientation 
under supervision of a board-approved preceptor, unless 
such person has been actively practicing in another state and 
meets Louisiana continuing education requirements. In 
either case, to change a conditional license or inactive 
license to active status, an applicant must meet all 
requirements for an active license. Conditional licensure as 
used in this subparagraph shall mean an individual who 
meets at least one of the following: 

a. administrator not actively running a facility and 
age 65 or older; 

b. administrator not actively running a facility in 
Louisiana and possessing an active license in another state. 

3. The annual conditional licensure fee shall be 
assessed as provided for in Chapter 12 of this Part. 

C. ... 
D. The license of a nursing home administrator who fails 

to comply with the provisions of this Section shall be 
suspended by the board and the license shall automatically 
lapse. 

E. Only an individual who has qualified as a licensed 
and registered nursing home administrator and who holds a 
valid current registration certificate pursuant to the 
provisions of these rules for the current annual registration 
period, shall have the right and the privilege of using the title 
"nursing home administrator" and have the right and the 
privilege of using the abbreviation “NFA.” after his name. 
No other person shall use or shall be designated by such title 
or such abbreviation or any other words, letters, sign, card, 
or device tending to, or intended to indicate that such person 
is a licensed and registered nursing home administrator. 

F. - G.. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 9:461 
(July 1983), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended LR 25:1627 
(September 1999), LR 25:2407 (December 1999), repromulgated 
LR 26:82 (January 2000), LR 26:316 (February 2000), amended by 
the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 
37:594 (February 2011). 

§1105. Refusal, Suspension and Revocation of License 
A. - A.2.a.ix. … 

 x. has failed to re-register his license as required 
by the board.  

b. - b.ii. … 
 iii. has committed acts of misconduct in the 
operation of a nursing home, which includes but is not 
limited to discrimination, sexual harassment, or failure to 
attend to duties of the administrator; 
 iv. has impersonated another licensee; and 
 v. has violated any of the provisions of the law 
pertaining to the licensing of administrators, or rules and 
regulations of the board pertaining thereto. 

c. - c.iv. … 
d. Category Four 

 i. has failed to notify the board in writing of any 
and all changes in name, address, position, and other such 
information included on their initial registration and any 
subsequent changes thereto. 

2.e. - 3.a. … 
 i. A fine of not less than 150 nor more than 
$2,000, and/or probation not to exceed three years, and/or 
suspension of license for not less than 30 days nor more than 
three years, and/or remedial training or revocation of license. 
 ii. Failure to re-register a license as required by 
the board results in a suspension. Provided further the 
licensee shall not practice until re-registered. Failure to re-
register within 6 months of annual re-registration deadline 
will result in the lapse of such license unless extended by the 
board at its discretion. 

b. - c. … 
d. Category Four. A fine of not less than $25 nor 

more than $150. 
A.3.e. - C. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504, R.S. 37:2509 and R.S. 37:2510. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), amended LR 9:461 (July 1983), LR 12:366 (June 
1986), amended by Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of 
Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 15:195 (March 
1989), repealed and repromulgated LR 18:181 (February 1992), 
amended by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:595 (February 2011). 
§1107. Reciprocity 

A. The board, in its discretion, and otherwise subject to 
the law pertaining to the licensing of nursing home 
administrators and prescribing the qualifications for a 
nursing home administrator license, may endorse a nursing 
home administrator license issued by proper authorities of 
any other state, upon payment of any fee determined by the 
board, and passing a state examination and upon submission 
of evidence satisfactory to the board: 

A.1. - E. … 
F. A Louisiana licensee who applies for reciprocity in 

another state shall pay a fee as provided for in Chapter 12 of 
this Part to the board to cover costs of completing and 
mailing necessary forms to the other state. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504 and R.S. 37:2508. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 9:461 
(July 1983), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators, LR 19:1024 
(August 1993), amended LR 20:1002 (September 1994), amended 
by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 
37:595 (February  2011). 
§1109. Restoration and Reinstatement of Licenses 

A. A license may be restored after revocation by the 
board at its discretion upon submission of evidence 
satisfactory to the board that the applicant for such 
restoration of license has removed the disability. The 
requirements of §505.A.2 shall be applicable to applicants 
for license who have been convicted of a felony. In the case 
of revocation of license due to a six-month suspension 
(§1105.C.4) or voluntary surrender, the applicant shall file a 
new application based on current requirements, as a new 
applicant, including sitting for examinations as the board 
deems necessary. 

B. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504 and R.S. 37:2511. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 

and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 11:864 
(September 1985), repealed and repromulgated by the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:596 
(February 2011). 
§1111. Display of Licenses and Re-Registration 

Certificates 
A. Every person licensed as a nursing home 

administrator actively engaged in the profession shall 
display such license and certificate of annual registration in a 
conspicuous place in the office or place of business or 
employment of such licensee. The current certificate of 
annual re-registration shall be displayed adjacent to the 
facility’s license issued by Department of Health and 
Hospitals. Such license and certificate of annual re-
registration shall be shown, when requested, to a member of 
the board, a legally constituted officer of the board, or a law 
enforcement officer of the state of Louisiana or of a political 
subdivision thereof. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Adopted by the Department of Health 
and Human Resources, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, April 1970, amended and promulgated LR 6:276 
(June 1980), repealed and repromulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 18:181 (February 1992), amended by the Board 
of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:596 
(February 2011). 
Chapter 12. Fees and Assessments 
§1201. Fee Schedule 

A. The board hereby establishes the following fees and 
costs to be imposed for the purpose of implementing and 
enforcing the provisions of this Part. 

 
Administrator address labels/page $8 
Annual Conditional Registration Fee $200 

Annual Registration Fee $375 
Application Packet $50 
Certification of document as true copy $10 
CNA / DSW Card  $12 
Continuing Education Provider(Annually) $600 
Delinquent fee $150 
Directory of Administrators $15 
Failure to maintain current information $75 
Handling and mailing per page $2 
Initial Registration Fee $350 
Minimum Licensure Standards Book $15 
National Prep Course Fee $250 
NFA Application Fee $500 
NFA Replacement Card(with photo) $17 
NSF Fee $25 
Photocopies of document/page $0.50 
Reciprocity Fee(to another state) $50 
Reciprocity Fee(to Louisiana) $125 
Replace License Card $12 
Replace License(original) $30 
Replace Registration Certificate or 2nd copy $25 
Request for CEU Approval(applicant) $25 
Request for CEU Approval(vendor) $75 
Rules and Regulations Book $15 
Seminars (per hour of instruction) $30 
State Exam Fee $100 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2504. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility 
Administrators, LR 37:596 (February 2011). 
Chapter 16. Certified Nurses Aide Register 
§1603. Certificate of Certification 

A. If requested, the board shall impose a fee for issuing a 
certificate, or a card of certification as provided in Chapter 
12 of this Part. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2504. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners of Nursing Home 
Administrators, LR 21:1082 (October 1995) , amended by the 
Board of Examiners of Nursing Facility Administrators, LR 37:596 
(February 2011). 

 
 

Mark A. Hebert 
Executive Director 

1101#018 
 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Medical Examiners 

Clinical Laboratory Personnel, Licensure 
and Certification (LAC 46:XLV.3509) 

The Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners, in 
accordance with the provisions of the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
pursuant to the authority of the Louisiana Medical Practice 
Act, R.S. 37:1261-1292 and the Louisiana Clinical 
Laboratory Personnel Law, R.S. 37:1311-1329, has amended 
its administrative rules governing licensure and certification 
of clinical laboratory personnel, LAC 46:XLV, Subpart 2, 
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Chapter 35, Subchapter B, Section 3509. The amended rule 
is set forth below. 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XLV  Medical Professions 

Subpart 2.  Licensure and Certification 
Chapter 35. Clinical Laboratory Personnel 
Subchapter B. Licensure and Certification Requirements 
§3509. Qualifications for Licensure and Certification 

A. Clinical Laboratory Scientist-Generalist. To be 
eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist-
generalist an applicant, in addition to satisfaction of the 
procedural requirements for licensure under this Chapter, 
shall have successfully completed an approved nationally 
recognized certification examination for such clinical 
laboratory personnel classification as developed and 
administered: 

1. on or before June 30, 2011, by one of the following 
organizations or their successor organizations:  

a. American Society of Clinical Pathologists 
(ASCP); 

b. National Certification Agency (NCA); 
c. American Medical Technologists (AMT); or 
d. International Society of Clinical Laboratory 

Technology (ISCLT) provided, however, that an applicant 
for licensure as a CLS-G who has, prior to January 1, 1995, 
successfully completed the certification examination for 
such clinical laboratory personnel classification developed 
and administered by the United States Department of Health, 
Education, and Welfare (HEW) (predecessor to the 
Department of Health and Human Services) shall also be 
eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist-
generalist. 

2. after June 30, 2011, by the ASCP.  
B. - B.2.g. ... 
C. Clinical Laboratory Scientist-Technician. To be 

eligible for licensure as a clinical laboratory scientist-
technician, an applicant, in addition to satisfaction of the 
procedural requirements for licensure under this Chapter, 
shall have successfully completed an approved nationally 
recognized certification examination for such clinical 
laboratory personnel classification, as developed and 
administered: 

1. on or before June 30, 2011, by one of the following 
organizations or their successor organizations:  

a. American Society of Clinical Pathologists 
(ASCP); 

b. National Certification Agency (NCA);  
c. American Medical Technologists (AMT); or 
d. International Society of Clinical Laboratory 

Technology (ISCLT). 
2. after June 30, 2011, by the ASCP. 

D. - F.2.h. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1270(A)(5) and R.S. 37:1311-1329. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Medical Examiners, LR 20:1286 
(November 1994), amended, LR 37:597 (February 2011). 

 
Robert L. Marier, M.D. 
Executive Director 

1102#019 

RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Inpatient Hospital Services Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

(LAC 50:V.909) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing has adopted LAC 50:V.909 in the 
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.S. 36:254 
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This 
Rule is promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part V.  Hospital Services 
Subpart 1.  Inpatient Hospitals 

Chapter 9. Non-Rural, Non-State Hospitals 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§909. Children’s Specialty Hospitals 

A. In order to receive Medicaid reimbursement for 
inpatient services as a children’s specialty hospital, the acute 
care hospital must meet the following criteria: 

1. be recognized by Medicare as a prospective 
payment system (PPS) exempt children’s specialty hospital; 

2. does not qualify for Medicare disproportionate 
share hospital payments; and 

3. has a Medicaid inpatient days utilization rate 
greater than the mean plus two standard deviations of the 
Medicaid utilization rates for all hospitals in the state 
receiving Medicaid payments. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 
37:597 (February 2011). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#084 
 

RULE 

 Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Tuberculosis Control ProgramInmate Health 
(LAC 51:XVIII.301) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of Public Health, pursuant to the authority in R.S. 
40:5, and based on the amendment and reenactment of R.S. 
40:1156, has amended Part XVIII (Jails, Prisons and Other 
Institutions of Detention and Incarceration) of the Louisiana 
State Sanitary Code (LAC 51). This Rule adds the approved 
blood assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis to the purified 
protein derivative skin test as an acceptable alternative 
screening test for tuberculosis among incarcerated persons in 
Louisiana jails or prisons. 
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Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part XVIII.  Jails, Prisons and Other Institutions of 
Detention and Incarceration 

Chapter 3. Health Requirements for Incarceration 
§301. Inmate Health  

A. … 
B. [Formerly paragraph 18:022] Any person entering any 

Louisiana parish jail as an inmate for 14 days or more shall 
be screened for tuberculosis, where funding is available, 
with a purified protein derivative skin test, five tuberculin 
unit strength, given by the Mantoux method, or by the blood 
assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis, and a chest x-ray if 
the skin test or the blood assay for Mycobacterium 
tuberculosis is positive. If the individual is known to be 
infected with the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or 
has acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS), he or she 
shall be required to have a chest x-ray in addition to a skin 
test for tuberculosis or in addition to a blood assay for 
Mycobacterium tuberculosis, regardless of the results. If an 
individual has a positive skin test or a positive result of a 
blood assay for Mycobacterium tuberculosis or a positive x-
ray, he or she shall be evaluated by a physician to determine 
whether he or she should receive a course of chemotherapy 
for tuberculosis. If evaluation is desired before 14 days, a 
chest x-ray is acceptable for screening. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 20:301 (March 
1994), repromulgated LR 29:1099 (July 2003), amended LR 
37:598 (February 2011). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#087 
 
RULE 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Public Health 

Tuberculosis Control ProgramMandatory Testing  
(LAC 51:II.503) 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of Public Health, pursuant to the authority in R.S. 
40:5, and based on the amendment and reenactment of R.S. 
40:1156, has amended Part II (Health Examinations of 
Employees, Volunteers and Patients at Certain Medical and 
Residential Facilities) of the Louisiana State Sanitary Code 
(LAC 51).  

Title 51 
PUBLIC HEALTH—SANITARY CODE 

Part II.  The Control of Diseases 
Chapter 5. Health Examinations for Employees, 

Volunteers and Patients at Certain 
Medical Facilities 

§503. Mandatory Tuberculosis Testing 
A. [Formerly paragraph 2:022] All persons prior to or at 

the time of employment at any hospital or nursing home (as 

defined in Parts XIX and XX, respectively, herein, and 
including intermediate care facilities for the developmentally 
disabled) requiring licensing by the Department of Health 
and Hospitals or at any Department of Health and Hospitals, 
Office of Public Health parish health unit or Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health out-patient 
health care facility or any person prior to or at the time of 
commencing volunteer work involving direct patient care at 
any hospital or nursing home (as defined in Parts XIX and 
XX, respectively, herein, and including intermediate care 
facilities for the developmentally disabled) requiring 
licensing by the Department of Health and Hospitals or at 
any Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Public 
Health parish health unit or Department of Health and 
Hospitals, Office of Public Health out-patient health care 
facility shall be free of tuberculosis in a communicable state 
as evidenced by either: 

A.1. - D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 

provisions of R.S. 40:4(A)(2) and R.S. 40:5. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Office of Public Health, LR 28:1220 (June 
2002), amended LR 32:98 (January 2006), LR 33:93 (January 
2007), LR 37:598 (February 2011). 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

1102#088 
 

RULE 

Department of Insurance 
Office of the Commissioner 

Regulation Number 47Actuarial Opinion and 
Memorandum Regulation (LAC 37:XIII.2111) 

Under the authority of the Louisiana Insurance Code, R.S. 
22:1 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Commissioner of the Louisiana Department of Insurance has 
amended its current Regulation 47 entitled “Actuarial 
Opinion and Memorandum Regulation” as promulgated in 
the October 20, 2005 Louisiana Register, Volume 31, 
Number 10, page 2543, et seq. The  amendment was 
necessary for the Louisiana Department of Insurance to 
comply with the national asset adequacy analysis standard of 
the NAIC Accreditation Team. 

Title 37 
INSURANCE 

Part XIII.  Regulations 
Chapter 21. Regulation Number 47Actuarial 

Opinion and Memorandum Regulation 
§2111. Statement of Actuarial Opinion Based On an 

Asset Adequacy Analysis 
A. - E.1. … 
F. Alternate Option 

1. The commissioner may provide an alternative filing 
option for single state domestic insurance companies that 
allows for the preparation of an alternative form of opinion. 
The commissioner shall provide specific criteria for such an 
alternative filing option and instructions for the associated 
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testing and documentation. However, all multi-state 
domestic insurance companies are subject to the standard 
asset adequacy analysis requirement. 

2. - 3. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

R.S.22:3, 22:752 and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Insurance, Office of the Commissioner, LR 31:2545, amended LR 
37:598 (February 2011). 

 
James J. Donelon 
Commissioner 

1102#053 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls 
(LAC 22:I.315) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
procedure Act (R.S. 49:950), the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, has amended 
the contents of Section 315 Telephone Use and Policy on 
Monitoring of Calls. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
§315. Telephone Use and Policy on Monitoring of Calls 

A. Purpose. To state the secretary's policy regarding the 
use of telephones by offenders and the monitoring of 
offender telephone calls at all adult institutions. 

B. Applicability—deputy secretary, chief of operations, 
regional wardens and wardens. Each warden is responsible 
for ensuring that appropriate unit written policy and 
procedures are in place to comply with the provisions of this 
regulation and for implementing and notifying all affected 
persons of its contents. 

C. Policy. It is the secretary's policy that uniform 
telephone procedures, including the ability to monitor and/or 
record offender telephone calls to preserve the security and 
orderly management of the institution and to protect public 
safety, shall be adhered to at all institutions. Each institution 
shall offer offenders (including the hearing and/or speech 
impaired) reasonable access to telephone communication 
without overtaxing the institution's ability to properly 
maintain security and to avoid abuse of this privilege on the 
part of any offender. Offenders with hearing and/or speech 
disabilities and offenders who wish to communicate with 
parties who have such disabilities shall be given access to 
appropriate auxiliary aids and services. It is further the 
secretary's policy to encourage offenders to maintain 
telephone communications while incarcerated in order to 
maintain family connections that will promote unification 
upon release. 

D. Procedures 
1. General 

a. Each offender shall be assigned a personal 
identification number (PIN) which must be used when 
placing outgoing telephone calls; the PIN shall be the 
offender's DOC number. 

b. Each offender will provide his assigned 
institution a master list of up to 20 frequently called 
telephone numbers inclusive of all family, personal and legal 
calls. Each offender's outgoing telephone calls shall be 
limited to those telephone numbers he has placed on his 
master list. Changes may be made to the master list at the 
discretion of the warden, but no less than once each quarter. 
These changes may be entered by the contractor or by 
appropriately trained institutional staff. No offender shall 
place the telephone number of the family of another offender 
on his master list “except for verified members of his own 
family." 

c. For new offenders, PIN and master list numbers 
shall be entered into the telephone system upon intake at the 
reception and diagnostic centers. 

d. All offender telephone calls made through use of 
the offender telephone system shall be recorded and are 
subject to monitoring, this includes calls made to attorneys 
using the offender telephone system. (See Clause D.6.a.iii 
for additional information.) 

e. A visible sign by each offender telephone shall 
place offenders on notice that all calls shall be recorded and 
are subject to monitoring. 

f. A recorded message shall notify all parties that 
all calls shall be recorded and are subject to monitoring and 
that the call originated from a correctional facility. 

g. Use of the offender telephone system shall 
constitute consent by all parties to the recording and/or 
monitoring of the call. 

h. Upon the request of a telephone subscriber, the 
institution shall block a telephone number and prevent the 
subscriber from receiving calls from an offender housed in 
the facility. To accomplish a block of a particular number for 
all state facilities, the institution should contact the 
contractor to request that a universal block be put into place. 

i. Offenders are allowed to make collect calls to 
cell phones. These calls must be set up as direct remit 
accounts with the department's phone service provider. This 
shall be done after approval is received from the department 
to add the cell number. Prepaid cell phones are not allowed 
to set up the direct bill accounts. Cell phones must have a 
provider from a major wireless company i.e., AT and T, 
Sprint, Verizon, T-Mobile, etc. 

2. Dormitory Housing (Minimum or Medium 
Custody) 

a. Personal or Family Calls (routine)—Collect 
telephone access should be available on a relatively non-
restricted basis. The specific hours in the various living areas 
at the individual institutions shall be established by the 
warden of each institution. The warden shall communicate 
the telephone schedule to the offender population. A time 
limit should be established. 

b. Personal or Family Calls (emergency)—Requests 
for access outside of normally scheduled hours may be made 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 600

through the dormitory officer, shift supervisor or other 
appropriate staff who decides if the justification the offender 
presents warrants the request. That decision is then logged. 
No frequency for this type call is established as the severity 
and duration of the emergency may vary. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
schedule for legal calls. Offenders are generally able to place 
legal calls during the lunch period “non-working hours,” or 
after the afternoon count (when "normal office hours" are in 
effect for attorneys.) The warden shall establish an alternate 
procedure if this is not adequate. 

3. Cellblock Housing (Maximum Custody) 
a. Personal or Family Calls (Routine). Collect 

telephone access is generally located in the cellblock lobby. 
(In those situations where the telephone is on the tier, the 
offender may be allowed access during the shower or 
exercise period.) Lobby placement may restrict offender 
access. Therefore, posted policy may limit routine personal 
calls for offenders assigned to cellblocks. Access may vary 
by offender classification status. A time limit should be 
established.  

b. Personal or Family Calls (Emergency). In all 
subclasses of maximum custody, the offender is required to 
request consideration for this type call from the warden's 
designee (shift supervisor, unit major, or program staff) who 
decides if the justification the offender presents warrants the 
request. That decision is then logged. No frequency for this 
type call is established as the severity and duration of the 
emergency may vary. 

c. Legal Calls. The warden shall establish a 
procedure for placing legal calls on a reasonable basis during 
"normal office hours." Each housing unit shall maintain a 
legal telephone log for the purpose of monitoring the number 
of legal calls made by offenders on a weekly basis. All legal 
calls are to be logged with the attorney's full name, bar 
number, telephone number called, date, time and whether 
completed. 

4. Incoming Calls 
a. Personal or Family calls (Routine). Messages are 

not accepted or relayed on a routine basis for any offender. 
b. Legal Calls. Offenders may be given notice that 

their attorney has requested contact. Complete verification is 
required prior to processing. If minimum or medium 
custody, the offender may call from the dormitory during 
lunch or after work. If maximum custody, the offender may 
be allowed to call during "normal office hours" at a time 
which does not interfere with the orderly operation of the 
unit. 

5. Emergency Messages/Important Telephone Calls 
Based upon Faith-Based Programs and Services 

a. Emergency messages concerning a serious 
illness, injury, death or other family crisis, etc. shall be 
delivered to an offender by the chaplain or other person 
designated by the warden. Exceptions to this paragraph shall 
only be granted by the warden or designee.  

b. Notification to an offender’s emergency contact 
(or other appropriate person as the situation warrants) of an 
offender’s serious illness, injury or death shall be made in a 
timely manner by the chaplain or other person designated by 
the warden.  

c. Chaplains are allowed discretion to make 
telephone calls for offenders for the purposes of dealing with 
emergency matters. 

6. Monitoring 
a. Offenders shall be put on notice of the following: 

 i. telephone calls in housing areas shall be 
recorded and are subject to monitoring and that “use” 
constitutes “consent”; 
 ii. it is the offender’s responsibility to advise all 
other parties that conversations are subject to being 
monitored and/or recorded; 
 iii. telephone calls to the offender’s designated 
attorney(s) will not be routinely monitored. Any telephone 
calls placed on offender telephones to attorneys shall be 
recorded but not monitored unless the warden determines a 
security need exists. Prior to examination of the content of 
the conversation with the attorney, the party requesting 
examination must put in writing the factors supporting the 
good cause and submit to the warden for approval. Only 
after approval has been received, shall the conversation be 
examined. Only investigators approved by the chief of 
operations shall be allowed to monitor the calls. 

b. The telephone system will normally terminate a 
call at the end of the authorized period (normally 15 
minutes); however, the warden or designee may authorize 
calls of a longer duration as circumstances warrant. Persons 
using the TDD system shall be allowed one hour telephone 
calls. 

c. Offenders shall not be allowed access to home 
telephone numbers nor be allowed to call any staff member 
of the department (including volunteers, contract workers, 
etc.) by any means whether through call forwarding, texting, 
web based or similar communication platforms or systems. 

d. Only authorized (i.e., those who have been 
assigned a login/password) personnel approved by the 
warden or designee may monitor offender telephone calls. 
Information gained from monitoring calls which affects the 
security of the institution or threatens the protection of the 
public shall be communicated to the warden and other law 
enforcement agencies.  

e. Offenders being processed into the system 
through the reception and diagnostic centers shall be 
required to give “consent” in writing, acknowledging that 
they are aware that their telephone calls shall be recorded 
and are subject to monitoring. A copy of this “consent” shall 
be placed in the offender’s master record. 

f. Each institution’s orientation manual shall 
include the information contained in this regulation as a 
means to notify the offender population of its contents and 
verbal notification shall be given during the orientation 
program. A sign shall be posted at each offender telephone 
which states the following information: 

ATTENTION 
This telephone has been electronically programmed to 
monitor and/or record telephone calls. By using this 
telephone, you consent to the monitoring and/or 
recording of your conversation. Telephone calls to your 
designated attorney(s) will not be routinely monitored. 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Department Regulation No. B-08-001 
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7. Remote Call Forwarding 
a. Remote Call Forwarding (RCF) is a mechanism 

by which offenders may employ a local telephone number 
that automatically forwards the telephone call to a pre-
selected number generally located out of the local calling 
area code or long distance. RCF in essence is an automated 
3-way call. 

b. RCF is also known as automated call forwarding 
or PBX call forwarding. Use of this automated and remote 
mechanism represents significant security risks for several 
reasons. The telephone call terminated number (the end 
destination of the call) cannot be readily identified or 
verified. This number is not a traditional telephone number 
located at a residence, business or other such location but 
merely a number within the telephone switching equipment 
local to the facility where the offender is housed. 

c. RCF initiated calls to an unidentified terminated 
number can and are being easily forwarded to unauthorized 
telephones. This forwarding is done through the normal 3-
way call hook ups. This in fact negates the security 
mechanisms achieved by the requirement of approved 
telephone lists. Safeguards to prevent calls to victims, to 
blocked or restricted numbers or to prevent other 
unauthorized call activities are defeated by the use of an 
RCF number. 

d. RCF usage creates an opportunity to conduct 
criminal or illegal or unauthorized activities since the end 
call location is not readily being identified, verified or its 
actual location known. This affords untold opportunity for 
offenders to engage in potential scams, to call victims, to 
facilitate escape attempts and to engage in other conduct 
representing significant security risks to the facility. 

e. The offender population shall be put on notice 
that all third-party telephone calls, including RCF calls, are 
strictly prohibited and such activity shall result in 
appropriate disciplinary action. 

f. Wardens shall develop a monitoring system to 
analyze the frequency of local calls. High frequency may 
indicate RCF utilization. When RCF calls are discovered, a 
system-wide block of the number shall be initiated pursuant 
to Subparagraph D.1.i. of this regulation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
15:829. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 29:360 
(March 2003), amended LR 29:2849 (December 2003), LR 35:87 
(January 2009), LR 37:599 (February 2011). 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

1102#052 
 

RULE 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of the State Fire Marshal 

State Uniform Construction Code Council 

State Uniform Construction Code 
(LAC 55:VI.301) 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 40:1730.26, 
relative to the authority of the Louisiana State Uniform 
Construction Code Council (LSUCCC) to promulgate and 
enforce rules, the Office of State Fire Marshal hereby 
amends the following Rule regarding the establishment of 
minimum standards. 

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 

Part VI.  Uniform Construction Code 
Chapter 3. Adoption of the Louisiana State Uniform 

Construction Code 
§301. Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code 

A. - A.3.b.i.(b). … 
c. Additionally, IRC shall be amended as follows 

and shall only apply to the International Residential Code. 
 i. Substitute Chapter 3, Section R317, Dwelling 
Unit Separation of the 2006 IRC, in lieu of the Section 313, 
Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems of the 2009 IRC.  
 ii. In addition, Chapter 3, Section R 302.2, 
Townhouses of the 2009 IRC, is amended as follows:  

(a). exception: 
 (i). a common 2-hour fire-resistance-rated 
wall is permitted for townhouses if such walls do not contain 
plumbing or mechanical equipment, ducts or vents in the 
cavity of the common wall; 
 (ii). electrical installations shall be installed 
in accordance with Chapters 34 through 43.; 
 (iii). penetrations of electrical outlet boxes 
shall be in accordance with Section R302.4. 
 iii. Furthermore, Chapter 3, Section R302.2.4, 
Structural Independence of the 2009 IRC, is amended as 
follows: 

(a). exception: 
 (i). Number 5, Townhouses, separated by a 
common 2-hour fire-resistance-rated wall as provided in 
Section R302.2. 
 iv. Amend Chapter 3, Section R315.2, Where 
Required in Existing Dwellings:  

(a). when alterations, repairs or additions occur 
or where one or more sleeping rooms are added or created in 
existing dwellings that have attached garages or in existing 
dwellings within which fuel fired appliances exist, carbon 
monoxide alarms shall be provided in accordance with 
Section R315.1. 
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4. - 7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:1730.22(C) and (D) and 40:1730.26(1). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, State Uniform Construction Code 
Council, LR 33:291 (February 2007), amended LR 34:93 (January 
2008), LR 34: 883 (May 2008), LR 34:2205 (October 2008), LR 
35:1904 (September 2009), LR 37:601 (February 2011). 

 
Jill Boudreaux 
Undersecretary 

1102#054 
 

RULE 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Wildlife Rehabilitation Program 
(LAC 76:V.131) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission has amended the 
regulations for the permitting and operation of wildlife 
rehabilitators. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part V.  Wild Quadrupeds and Wild Birds 
Chapter 1. Wild Quadrupeds 
§131. Wildlife Rehabilitation Program 

A. Purpose 
1. The purpose of this Section is to establish rules for 

the permitting and operation of wildlife rehabilitators.  
B. Definitions 

Rabies Vector Species (RVS)—mammalian species 
defined by Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
(LDWF) as potential carriers of the rabies virus including, 
but not limited to the following:  

a. raccoons; 
b. foxes; 
c. coyotes; 
d. skunks; and 
e. bats. 

Subpermittee—person authorized to conduct 
rehabilitation activities under the supervisory responsibility 
of a wildlife rehabilitator. 

Supervisory Responsibility—to direct actions and accept 
responsibility for the actions of a named individual engaged 
in wildlife rehabilitation activities. 

Wildlife Rehabilitation—activity that provides housing, 
treatment and temporary care of injured and/or orphaned 
indigenous animals with the goal of subsequent release of 
those healthy animals to appropriate habitats in the wild. 

Wildlife Rehabilitator—a person who is permitted by 
the LDWF to engage in the practice of wildlife 
rehabilitation.  

C. Permits 
1. It shall be unlawful for any person to keep, hold or 

possess in captivity any sick, injured or orphaned wildlife 
(except fish) or otherwise engage in wildlife rehabilitation 
without first obtaining at no charge, a LDWF Wildlife 
Rehabilitation Permit (WRP). In addition to the WRP, a 
United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) 
rehabilitation permit must be in possession to rehabilitate 

species covered by the Migratory Bird Treaty Act or 
Endangered Species Act. 

2. A WRP authorizes the permittee to transport; 
temporarily possess; rehabilitate; transfer to a practicing 
veterinarian or another wildlife rehabilitator for treatment or 
euthanasia; release; or euthanize an injured, diseased, 
disabled, orphaned or otherwise debilitated live wildlife 
specified on their permit. Animals held under a WRP shall 
not be displayed for educational purposes or otherwise 
displayed or exposed to the public unless that individual 
animal has been permitted by LDWF or USFWS for that 
purpose.  

D. Exemptions 
1. Employees of the LDWF are exempt from all state 

wildlife rehabilitation permit requirements while they are on 
duty.  

2. Licensed veterinarians are exempted, provided they 
are treating an animal under the authorization of a wildlife 
rehabilitator or LDWF employee, or are treating an animal 
taken in from the public, provided the animal is released into 
an appropriate habitat or accepted by a wildlife rehabilitator 
within 72 hours after receiving.  

E. Permit Requirements 
1. All applicants must be 18 years of age or older. 
2. Anyone who has been convicted of a Class II or 

greater wildlife violation in Louisiana, or the equivalent in 
another state within the past five years, or has been 
convicted of a felony in Louisiana or another state, shall not 
be eligible for a WRP. 

3. All applicants must complete a WRP application, 
liability release, and financial responsibility statement. 

4. Prior to licensure or renewal, all applicants must 
show proof of completion of a LDWF-approved wildlife 
rehabilitation course and must be currently certified under 
the approved organization’s guidelines. Failure to provide 
proof of successful completion of the course and subsequent 
continuing education requirements will result in non-
licensure or revocation of the WRP. 

5. All applicants must provide verification of having 
access to veterinary services by submitting a Statement of 
Veterinary Support Form provided by LDWF. 

6. All facilities where animals will be housed or 
maintained will be inspected by LDWF prior to receiving a 
WRP.  

F. General Rules 
1. The WRP will not exempt the holder from 

regulations of other state, federal, parish or municipal 
governments or agencies. 

2. Sale of any animal held under a WRP is prohibited. 
3. No animal held under a WRP may be used for 

human consumption, unless specifically approved. 
4. No Louisiana S1-ranked species may be held under 

a WRP, without written authorization from the LDWF 
Wildlife Division. 

5. No animal intended for wildlife rehabilitation may 
be imported into or exported out of the state of Louisiana 
without written authorization by LDWF Wildlife Division.  

6. The WRP does not authorize the possession of 
white-tail deer, bears, wild turkeys or alligators unless 
specifically stated on the permit.  

7. Request for an Extension 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 603

a. WRP holders shall not possess a non-migratory 
bird for more than 90 days, other injured wildlife longer than 
45 days, or other orphaned wildlife no longer than required 
to prepare the animal for release, but not to exceed 120 days, 
except that a permit holder may submit a written request for 
extension of possession if: 
 i. the specified animal will likely be releasable 
after the time frame listed above but is currently non-
releasable because of biological reasons; or 
 ii. a licensed veterinarian determines, due to 
medical reasons, the animal requires additional rehabilitation 
time.  

b. All extension requests should include a proposed 
release date and be submitted in writing to LDWF Wildlife 
Division. The permit holder may continue to house the 
specified animal while LDWF is reviewing the request. 
LDWF will provide a written response and include specific 
dates and instructions regarding disposition of the animal.  

8. WRP holders must ensure that animals are exposed 
to minimal handling and other human contact, except as 
necessary to maintain sanitary conditions, provide food and 
water, provide medical care, and prepare the animal for 
release. 

9. Animals that are determined medically non-
releasable by a licensed veterinarian, exhibit signs of 
adjusted life in captivity and pose minimum zoonotic disease 
potential may be considered for educational animal 
designation. A LDWF Special Purpose and Possession 
permit application must be submitted to LDWF Wildlife 
Division by the end of the 90 day rehabilitation period to be 
considered for educational animal status. 

10. All WRPs shall expire on December 31 of the year 
of issue unless otherwise noted. 

11. Permits are non-transferable but may include up to 
five listed subpermittees. Subpermittees are authorized to 
transport, house, and provide care for animals away from the 
wildlife rehabilitation facility. A person caring for animals at 
the wildlife rehabilitation facility is not required to be a 
subpermittee. WRP holders desiring to add subpermittees, 
must submit a subpermittee application form. Subpermittee 
forms will only be accepted by the LDWF at the original 
time of permitting, renewal and during June 1-30 each year. 
Individuals may be removed as subpermittees at any time of 
the year. A subpermittee removal form must be submitted. 
All subpermittees:  

a. must be 18 years of age or older;  
b. are exempt from the testing requirement but are 

subject to all other rules governing WRP holders including 
animal housing and care requirements; 

c. must work under the direction and supervision of 
the WRP holder; 

d. may be removed at any time by the supervising 
WRP holder or LDWF and in such cases must surrender any 
animals to the WRP holder or LDWF; 

e. must have a valid subpermittee permit on the 
premises where animals are housed if animals are housed 
away from the supervising WRP holder’s facility; and 

f. must not transport or possess RVS species away 
from the supervising WRP holder’s facility.  

12. WRP holders are subject to non-renewal or 
revocation of their WRP if LDWF determines that any of 

their listed subpermittees are not properly supervised or fail 
to abide by applicable WRP rules. 

13. LDWF provides no financial or material assistance 
to wildlife rehabilitators. 

14. Euthanasia of any animal held under a WRP is to be 
performed under the guidelines adopted by the American 
Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). 

15. Animals held under a WRP shall not be released on 
private land without written permission of the landowner or 
landowner designee. Licensed rehabilitators shall keep on 
file for perpetuity, an original document signed by the 
landowner, permitting the licensed rehabilitator to release 
animals upon their property. This document should include 
the name, address and phone number of the landowner, the 
physical location of the property, the size of the property (in 
acres), and the duration of the permission to release 
rehabilitated animals there. This document shall be presented 
upon request for review by LDWF personnel. A copy of all 
landowner permission documents shall be submitted to 
LDWF with the annual WRP report. 

16. Animals held under a WRP shall not be released on 
public land without first obtaining written permission from 
the governmental entity owning or administering the 
property. 

17. All permitted animals and facilities in which they 
are housed shall be maintained within the minimum 
standards as provided by the National Wildlife Rehabilitators 
Association (NWRA) and International Wildlife 
Rehabilitation Council (IWRC) publication of Minimum 
Standards for Wildlife Rehabilitation.  

18. It is strongly recommended that any wildlife 
rehabilitator working with rabies vector species receive pre-
exposure rabies immunization. 

G. Reporting and Renewal Requirements  
1. All animals held under a WRP must be fully 

documented on Wildlife Rehabilitation Report Form 
provided by LDWF. 

2. A permanent record of each animal admitted by a 
permitted rehabilitator must be maintained. This record 
should include the name, address, phone number and email 
address of the person finding the animal, species, age, sex, 
date of admission, treatment performed, method of 
euthanasia if performed or date and location of release. 
These records must be maintained in perpetuity and must be 
available for inspection by LDWF personnel. 

3. Wildlife Rehabilitation Report Forms for the permit 
period must be submitted to the LDWF no later than 30 days 
following the expiration of the permit and the WRP will not 
be renewed until these forms are received. Reports will 
cover the period from December 1 of the prior license year 
to November 30 of the current license year. Any wildlife 
rehabilitator who does not submit his/her report by the 
thirtieth day after the expiration date of the WRP, or who 
submits a false or materially incomplete report intentionally 
may be issued a citation for violation of Louisiana Wildlife 
and Fisheries Commission rules and regulations. If the 
citation does not result in a conviction, plea of guilty, or plea 
of no contest, the wildlife rehabilitator may be considered 
for reapplication upon receipt of the late wildlife 
rehabilitation form(s). 
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4. Report forms must be current and shall be available 
for inspection at all times by Wildlife Enforcement Agents or 
any other authorized representatives of the department. 

5. Upon expiration of a WRP and if the WRP has not 
been renewed, all animals held under the permit must be 
disposed of by transferring to a currently licensed WRP, 
released into the wild, or euthanized. 

H. Penalties 
1. Violations of this Rule constitute a Class 2 offense. 
2. Violation of these Rules may result in citation 

and/or revocation of the WRP. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with the 
Louisiana Constitution, Article IX, Section 7, R.S. 56:1, R.S. 56:5, 
R.S. 56:6 (10), and (15), and R.S. 56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
36:852 (April 2010), amended LR 37:602 (February 2011). 

 
Robert J. Barham 
Secretary 

1102#066 
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Notices of Intent 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Child Care Assistance ProgramEmployment and Training 
(E and T) Hours (LAC 67:III.5103 and 5105) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, the Department of Children and Family 
Services (DCFS), proposes to amend the Louisiana 
Administrative Code (LAC), Title 67, Part III, Subpart 12 
Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), Chapter 51, Section 
5103 and Section 5105. Adoption is pursuant to the authority 
granted to the department by the Child Care and 
Development Fund (CCDF). 

The department finds it necessary to increase the number 
of hours participants must work or attend a job training or 
educational program and to reduce the maximum income 
limit for eligibility which is based on a percentage of the 
State Median Income (SMI). This aligns with the 
department’s requirement to provide core services where 
they are most needed.  

Section 5103 is being amended to increase the required 
number of countable Employment and Training (E&T) hours 
a Training or Employment Mandatory Participant (TEMP) 
must work or attend a job training or an educational 
program, from a minimum average of 25 hours per week to a 
minimum average of 30 hours per week, and to reduce the 
maximum income limit from 75 percent of the SMI to 65 
percent SMI in order for clients to be eligible for CCAP. 

Section 5105 is being amended to allow the Secretary of 
DCFS to authorize an application "freeze" based on the lack 
of available child care funds to operate CCAP. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Subpart 12.  Child Care Assistance Program 

Chapter 51. Child Care Assistance Program 
Subchapter A. Administration, Conditions of Eligibility, 

and Funding 
§5103. Conditions of Eligibility 

A. - B.3. ... 
4. Effective September 1, 2002, unless disabled as 

established by receipt of Social Security Administration 
Disability benefits, Supplemental Security Income, Veterans' 
Administration Disability benefits for a disability of at least 
70 percent, or unless disabled and unable to care for his/her 
child(ren) as verified by a doctor's statement or by worker 
determination, the TEMP must be: 

a. effective June 1, 2011, employed for a minimum 
average of 30 hours per week and all countable employment 
hours must be paid at least at the federal minimum hourly 
wage; or 

b. attending a job training or educational program 
for a minimum average of, effective June 1, 2011, 30 hours 
per week (attendance at a job training or educational 

program must be verified, including the expected date of 
completion); or 

c. engaged in some combination of employment 
which is paid at least at the federal minimum hourly wage, 
or job training, or education as defined in Subparagraph 
B.4.b of this Section that averages, effective June 1, 2011, at 
least 30 hours per week. 

d. Exception: a household in which all of the 
members described in Paragraph B.4 of this Section meet the 
disability criteria is not eligible for child care assistance 
unless one of those members meets, effective April 1, 2003, 
the required minimum average of 30 activity hours per 
week. 

5. Household income does not exceed 65 percent of 
the state median income for a household of the same size. 
Income is defined as: 

B.5.a. - G. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 

CFR Parts 98 and 99, P.L.104-193, Act 58 2003 Reg. Session, ACF 
Guidance: ACYF-IM-CC-05-03. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:356 (February 
1998), amended LR 25:2444 (December 1999), LR 26:2827 
(December 2000), LR 27:1932 (November 2001), LR 28:1490 
(June 2002), LR 29:43 (January 2003), LR 29:1106 (July 2003), 
LR 29:1833 (September 2003), LR 30:496 (March 2004), LR 
30:1487 (July 2004), LR 31:101 (January 2005), LR 31:2263 
(September 2005), LR 32:1464 (August 2006), LR 33:506 (March 
2007), LR 34:692 (April 2008), LR 36:1278 (June 2010), amended 
by the Department of Children and Family Services, Division of 
Programs, LR 37: 
§5105. Funding Availability 

A. - A.3.a. ... 
B. The secretary of the Department of Children and 

Family Services (DCFS) has the authority to implement an 
application "freeze" based on the lack of available child care 
funds to operate the Child Care Assistance Program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 45 
CFR Parts 98 and 99, and P.L. 104-193; Act 58, 2003 Reg. Session. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Social Services, Office of Family Support, LR 24:356 (February 
1998), amended LR 26:2827 (December 2000), LR 30:496 (March 
2004), LR 36:845 (April 2010), amended by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this Rule have on the stability of 

the family? TEMPs will be required to work or attend job 
training or an educational program for more hours per week 
to be eligible for CCAP. However, by working these 
additional hours, TEMPs will earn more income that may 
help them become self-sufficient and better able to support 
the needs of their family. Due to the reduction of the 
maximum income limit for CCAP eligibility, households at 
the upper level of the current income limits will no longer be 
eligible for CCAP. The department’s goal is to assist as 
many low-income families as possible so that they can 
remain employed or continue attending school or a job 
training program that will lead to self-sufficiency. 
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2. What effect will this have on the authority and 
rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? This proposed Rule will not have an effect on 
the authority and rights of persons regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? Some families will no longer be eligible to receive 
CCAP due to the reduction of the income limit or the 
increase in the required number of countable E&T hours for 
child care paid through CCAP. It will be necessary for these 
families to assume a greater cost of their child care. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? It will be necessary for families that are no 
longer eligible to receive CCAP due to the reduction of the 
income limit for CCAP to assume their cost of child care.  

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This proposed Rule will 
have no effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children.  

6. Is the family or local government able to perform 
the function as contained in this proposed Rule? No, this 
program is strictly an agency function. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action may have 
a slight impact on child care businesses. The agency, 
consistent with health, safety, environmental and economic 
welfare factors has considered and, where possible, utilized 
regulatory methods in the drafting of the proposed rule that 
will accomplish the objectives of applicable statutes while 
minimizing any negative impact on child care businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, March 29, 2011, to Sammy Guillory, Deputy 
Assistant Secretary, Department of Children and Family 
Services, Post Office Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-
9065. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed Rule will be held on 

March 29, 2011, at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 N. Fourth Street, Seminar 
Room 1-129, Baton Rouge, LA, beginning at 9 a.m. All 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven 
working days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call 
Area Code 225-342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Child Care Assistance Program 
Employment and Training (E and T) Hours 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This rule proposes to amend the Louisiana Administrative 

Code (LAC), Title 67, Part III, Subpart 12 Child Care 

Assistance Program (CCAP), Chapter 51, Section 5103 and 
Section 5105. Adoption is pursuant to the authority granted to 
the department by the Child Care and Development Fund 
(CCDF). 

The proposed rule makes amendments to CCAP program 
that are necessary for CCAP clients to participate in and be 
eligible for CCAP benefits with the available childcare funding 
within the department’s budget.  The required number of 
countable Employment and Training (E&T) hours are 
increasing from 25 hours per week to 30 hours per week and 
the maximum income limit for eligibility that is based on a 
percentage of the State Median Income (SMI) is being reduced 
from 75% to 65%.  Also, an amendment to allow the secretary 
of DCFS to implement an application “freeze” based on the 
lack of available child care funds is being added. 

As a result of these amendments DCFS estimates that an 
annual savings of $1,713,419 in Federal Funds will be realized 
in State Fiscal Year (SFY) 2011 and $20,561,028 Federal 
Funds in SFY 2012 and SFY 2013 from increasing the required 
number of weekly E&T hours and reducing the income limit to 
65% SMI. 

 $20,561,028 year/12 months = $1,713,419/month x 1 
month = $1,713,419/year for FY 2011. 

 $15,365,760/year + $5,195,268/year = $20,561,028 
/year for FY 2012 and 2013. 

The only cost of publishing rulemaking is estimated to be 
approximately $1,000 for SFY 2010/2011 ($500 State General 
Fund/$500 Federal Child Care Block Grant funds).  This is a 
one-time cost that is routinely covered in the Agency’s budget. 

There are no anticipated costs to any other state or local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of this rule will have no effect on state or 
local revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Households who do not meet the 30 hours per week E&T 
requirement or who exceed the 65% SMI income limit for their 
household size will no longer be eligible for CCAP benefits.  
An estimated 3,752 clients whose CCAP benefits will end due 
to the increase in the required number of weekly E&T hours 
and an estimated 1,269 clients whose CCAP benefits will end 
due to the reduction of the income limit to 65% SMI will no 
longer have their child care paid for through CCAP and must 
find other means of payment to assist with child care 
assistance.   

Those low-income households who are most vulnerable 
and need child care assistance may continue to receive CCAP 
and may remain employed or continue to attend school or job 
training which will lead to self-sufficiency, if a waiting list is 
not implemented. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Continuing to utilize childcare services may not be feasible 
for an estimated 5,021 clients to care for their children without 
CCAP due to the increase in the required weekly E&T hours 
and the reduction of the income limit to 65% SMI.  These 
clients may lose employment or may not be able to participate 
in a job training or educational activity due to a lack of 
affordable childcare.   

 
Sammy Guillory H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#073 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 

Licensing Section 

Class "A" Regulations (LAC 67:III.Chapter 73) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with provisions of 
the Administrative Procedure Act R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS), 
Division of Programs, Licensing Section proposes to amend 
the Louisiana Administrative Code (LAC) Title 67, Part III, 
Subpart 21, Chapter 73, Subchapter A. Licensing Class A 
Regulations for Child Care Centers. 

This Rule is mandated by R.S. 46:1401 et seq. which 
states that periodically the department must publish the 
current regulations or standards for Licensing Class "A" 
Regulations for Child Care Centers. 

This Subchapter A. Licensing Class "A" Regulations for 
Child Care Centers are being repealed and replaced and are 
being revised to supersede any previous regulations 
heretofore published. This Rule will become effective on 
August 1, 2011. 

Title 67 
SOCIAL SERVICES 

Part III.  Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency 
Subpart 21.  Child Care Licensing 

Chapter 73. Day Care Centers 
Subchapter A. Licensing Class “A” Regulations for 

Child Care Centers 
§7301. Purpose 

A. It is the intent of the legislature to protect the health, 
safety, and well-being of the children of the state who are in 
out-of-home care on a regular or consistent basis. Toward 
that end, it is the purpose of Chapter 14 of Title 46 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 to establish statewide 
minimum standards for the safety and well-being of 
children, to ensure maintenance of these standards, and to 
regulate conditions in these facilities through a program of 
licensing. It shall be the policy of the state to ensure 
protection of all individuals under care in child care facilities 
and to encourage and assist in the improvement of programs. 

B. It is the further intent of the legislature that the 
freedom of religion of all citizens shall be inviolate. This 
Chapter shall not give DCFS jurisdiction or authority to 
regulate, control, supervise, or in any way be involved in the 
form, manner, or content of any curriculum or instruction of 
a school or facility sponsored by a church or religious 
organization so long as the civil and human rights of the 
children are not violated. In order for the State to ensure 
protection of children in care, it is essential that it have 
access to complete and accurate information regarding a 
facility or agency’s operations. For this reason, it is of 
critical importance to DCFS’ mission that a facility 
maintains and makes available for inspection at all times 
complete and accurate child, staff, and facility records. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 

§7302. Authority 
A. Legislative and Programmatic Provisions 

1. The State of Louisiana, Department of Children and 
Family Services is charged with the responsibility for 
developing and publishing standards for the licensing of 
child care facilities. The licensing authority of DCFS is 
established by R.S. 46:1401 et seq. making mandatory the 
licensing of all child care facilities. 

2. R.S. 46:1403 defines a child care facility as any 
place or facility operated by any institution, society, agency, 
corporation, person or persons, or any other group for the 
purpose of providing care, supervision, and guidance of 
seven or more children, not including those related to the 
caregiver, unaccompanied by parent or guardian, on a 
regular basis for at least 12.5 hours in a continuous seven-
day week. Related or relative is defined as the natural or 
adopted child or grandchild of the caregiver or a child in the 
legal custody of the caregiver. 

3. All child care facilities, as defined by R.S. 1401 et 
seq., including facilities owned or operated by any 
governmental, profit, nonprofit, private, or church agency, 
shall be licensed. Before beginning operation, it is 
mandatory to obtain a license from the DCFS Licensing 
Section. 

4. If the provider arranges or provides transportation 
to or from the facility, either directly through its own 
employees and/or vehicles or indirectly by contract with 
third parties, all hours in which a child is being transported 
are included in calculating the facility’s hours of operation. 
A facility is in operation from the moment the first child is 
taken into care or received onto a bus, van, or any other 
vehicle owned or operated, directly or indirectly, by the 
facility until the last child is released to the parent or 
individual authorized by the parent. 

5. Licensure is required for a prekindergarten program 
approved by the Department of Education, operated by a 
private or public day school serving children in grades one 
and above, and in which all children have not reached the 
age of four years by September 30 of the current year. 

6. Programs operated on the school premises by a 
non-school provider (non-profit, for-profit, community, 
faith-based organization, etc.) for 12.5 or more hours per 
week shall be licensed unless the provider has a written 
contract in which the school, public school district, or the 
Department of Education assumes regulatory responsibility 
and liability. 

7. Programs operated by a school (public, non-public, 
or parochial), public school district, or a non-school provider 
for 12.5 or more hours per week, but not on school premises, 
shall be licensed. 

B. Exemptions from Licensure 
1. A recognized religious organization that is qualified 

as a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c) of the 
Internal Revenue Code and does not operate more than 24 
hours in a continuous seven-day week shall be exempt from 
licensure under the provisions of R.S. 1429. 

2. In accordance with R.S. 46:141, private or public 
day schools serving children in grades one and above or 
operating kindergartens or prekindergarten programs are 
exempt from licensure, if the prekindergarten program is a 
program approved by the Department of Education, operated 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 608

by a private or public day school serving children in grades 
one and above, and in which all children have reached the 
age of four years by September 30 of the current year. 

3. Schools recognized as accredited or certified as a 
Montessori School by the Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education pursuant to R.S. 17:3401 et seq. or 
public Montessori schools regulated by the Department of 
Education are exempt from licensure. 

4. Camps are exempt from licensure. Camps are 
programs operated only when school is not in session for the 
summer months and/or school holidays. 

5. All care given without charge is exempt from 
licensure. Care given subject to an onerous or remunerative 
donation is not exempt from licensure. 

6. Programs operating less than 12.5 hours in a 
continuous seven-day week shall be exempt from licensure. 
If the provider arranges or provides transportation to or from 
the facility, either directly through its own employees and/or 
vehicles or indirectly by contract with third parties, all hours 
in which a child is being transported are included in 
calculating the facility’s hours of operation. For the purposes 
of this Section, a facility is in operation from the moment the 
first child is taken into care or received onto a bus, van, or 
any other vehicle owned or operated, directly or indirectly, 
by the facility until the last child is released to the parent or 
individual authorized by the parent.  

7. Programs operating less than 12.5 hours per week, 
even if operating during the summer months and school 
holidays, shall be exempt from licensure. 

8. Vacation Bible schools (operated on or off the same 
premises of a licensed day care facility) shall be exempt 
from licensure. 

9. Before/after school programs operated by a school 
(public, non-public, or parochial) or a public school district 
for 12.5 or more hours per week on school premises shall be 
exempt from licensure.  

10. Before/after school programs operated by a non-
school provider (non-profit, for-profit, community, faith 
based organization, etc.) for 12.5 or more hours per week on 
school premises shall be exempt from licensure if the 
provider has a written contract in which the school, public 
school district, or the Department of Education assumes 
regulatory responsibility and liability. 

C. Penalties. In accordance with LA R.S. 46:1421, 
whoever operates a child care facility as defined in R.S. 
46:1403 without a valid license issued by DCFS shall be 
fined not less than $75 per day nor more than $250 per day 
for each day of operation without a license. 

D. Waiver Request. In specific instances, the secretary of 
the DCFS may waive compliance with a minimum standard 
if it is determined that the economic impact is sufficiently 
great to make compliance impractical, as long as the health 
and well-being of the staff and/or children are not imperiled. 

1. Standards shall be waived only when the secretary 
determines, upon clear and convincing evidence, that the 
demonstrated economic impact is sufficient to make 
compliance impractical for the provider despite diligent 
efforts, and when alternative means have been adopted to 
ensure that the intent of the regulation has been met ensuring 
the health, safety, and well being of the children served. 

2. An application for a waiver shall be submitted by a 
provider using the Request for Waiver from Licensing 

Standards form. The form shall be submitted to the DCFS 
Licensing Section. A request for a waiver shall provide the 
following information: a statement of the provisions for 
which the waiver is being requested, an explanation of the 
reasons why the provisions cannot be met and why a waiver 
is being requested, including information demonstrating that 
the economic impact is sufficiently great to make 
compliance impractical, and a description of alternative 
methods proposed for meeting the intent of the regulation 
sought to be waived. 

3. All requests for a waiver will be responded to in 
writing by the DCFS secretary or designee. A copy of the 
waiver decision shall be kept on file at the facility and 
presented to licensing staff during all licensing inspections. 

4. A waiver is issued at the discretion of the secretary 
and continues in effect at his/her pleasure. The waiver may 
be revoked by the secretary at any time, either upon 
violation of any condition attached to it at issuance, or upon 
occurrence of any resolutory or suspensive condition 
affecting the waiver, or upon failure of any of the statutory 
prerequisites to issuance of a waiver (i.e., the cost of 
compliance is no longer so great as to be impractical or the 
health or safety of any staff or any child in care is 
imperiled), or upon his/her determination that continuance of 
the waiver is no longer in the best interest of the DCFS. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7303. Definitions 

Affiliate 
1. with respect to a partnership, each partner thereof; 
2. with respect to a corporation, each officer, director 

and stockholder thereof; 
3. with respect to a natural person: 

a. that person and any individual related by blood, 
marriage or adoption within the third degree of kinship to 
that person; 

b. any partnership, together with any or all its 
partners, in which that person is a partner; and 

c. any corporation in which that person is an officer, 
director or stockholder, or holds, directly or indirectly, a 
controlling interest; 

4. with respect to any of the above, any mandatory, 
agent, or representative or any other person, natural or 
juridical acting at the direction of or on behalf of the licensee 
or applicant; or 

5. director of any such day care facility. 
Anniversarythe last day of the month in which the 

original license was issued to the provider/facility and is the 
date by which the license is eligible for renewal each year. 

Behavior Guidancethe ongoing positive process of 
helping children develop inner control (self regulation) so 
that they can manage their own behavior in an appropriate 
and acceptable manner by using corrective action to change 
the undesired behavior. 

Campa program operated only when school is not in 
session for the summer months and school holidays. 

Capacitythe number of children the provider is licensed 
to care for at any given time as determined by the Licensing 
Section. 
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Change of Location (CHOL)change in physical 
address/location of the facility. 

Change of Ownership (CHOW)a transfer of ownership 
of a currently licensed facility that is in operation and caring 
for children. 

Child Care Health Consultantqualified health and 
safety professional approved by DHH to provide training, 
consultation and technical assistance to out-of-home child 
care facilities and early childhood education staff (and 
parents) on health and safety topics. 

Child Care Staffrepealed. 
Clock Hourinvolvement or participation in a learning 

situation for 60 minutes. 
Comparable Settingexperience working in an organized 

daily program with children or the operator of a registered 
family day home. Directors working with children less than 
nine years of age shall document experience with 
prekindergarten, kindergarten, or first grade children.  

Complaintan allegation that an owner, provider, or staff 
person is violating any provision of these standards or laws, 
or engaging in conduct, either by omission or commission, 
that negatively affects the health, safety, or well-being of any 
child for which the provider has responsibility. 

Corporationany entity incorporated in Louisiana or 
incorporated in another state, registered with the Secretary of 
State in Louisiana, and legally authorized to do business in 
Louisiana.  

Culturally Appropriateenvironments and activities that 
reflect home values, attitudes, and norms of children 
enrolled in the program as determined with input and 
interaction with the families that attend the program. 

DCFSLouisiana Department of Children and Family 
Services. 

Department (DCFS)Louisiana Department of Children 
and Family Services. 

Developmentally Appropriatepractices that use 
knowledge of child development appropriate activities, 
materials and behavioral expectations for a specific age 
group. 

DHHthe Department of Health and Hospitals of the 
State of Louisiana. 

Directorrefers to the director or the director designee. 
1. Directorthe staff who is responsible for the day-

to-day operation, management and administration of the 
facility as recorded with the Licensing Section. For the 
purpose of these regulations, the term “director” means 
facility director or director designee, if applicable. 

2. Director Designeethe individual appointed by the 
director to act in lieu of the director when the director is not 
an on-site staff person at the licensed location. This 
individual shall meet director qualifications. 

Disqualification Periodthe prescriptive period during 
which DCFS shall not accept an application for a provider. 
Any unlicensed operation during the disqualification period 
shall interrupt running of prescription until DCFS has 
verified that the unlicensed operation has ceased. 

Documentationwritten evidence or proof, signed and 
dated by the parties involved (director, parents, staff, etc.), 
and available for review. 

Employeea full or part-time paid staff person. 

Existing Facilitya provider with a valid license at a 
particular location prior to the effective date of these 
standards. 

Extra-Curricular Personnel/Therapeutic Professionals 
individuals who are not employees of the facility, but who 
come to the facility to provide therapy, services or 
enrichment activities for an individual child or group of 
children. Individual is not required to be under the 
supervision of facility staff. Examples: computer instructor, 
dance instructor, librarian, tumble bus personnel, 
occupational therapist, physical therapist, speech therapist, 
mental health consultant, nutritionist, early interventionist, 
nurse, etc.  

Facilitya child day care center as defined in R.S. 
46:1403. 

Foster Grandparentsa program organized by an agency 
that recruits and trains seniors to provide one-on-one 
attention to a child or to assist a group of children. 

Full-Timephysical presence at the facility Monday 
through Friday for at least 32 hours. 

Group Sizethe number of children assigned to a 
caregiver or team of caregivers and recognized by both staff 
and children who occupy an individual classroom or well-
defined space within a larger room. This space shall be 
divided into designated activity areas for each group using a 
variety of means appropriate for defining limits and reducing 
distraction, including but not limited to a temporary wall or 
physical barrier. 

Individual Ownera natural person who directly owns a 
facility without setting up or registering a corporation, LLC, 
partnership, church, university or governmental entity. The 
spouse of a married owner is also an owner unless the 
business is the separate property of the licensee acquired 
before his/her marriage, acquired through authentic act of 
sale from spouse of his/her undivided interest; or acquired 
via a judicial termination of the community of aquets and 
gains. 

Juridical Personcorporation, partnership, limited-
liability company, church, university or governmental entity. 

Licenseany license issued by DCFS to operate any child 
care facility as defined in R.S. 46:1403; 

Licensing SectionDCFS, Division of Programs, 
Licensing Section.  

Mandated Reporterprofessionals who may work with 
children in the course of their professional duties and who 
consequently are required to report all suspected cases of 
child abuse and neglect. This includes any person who 
provides training and supervision of a child, such as a public 
or private school teacher, teacher’s aide, instructional aide, 
school principal, school staff member, social worker, 
probation officer, foster home parent, group home or other 
child care institution staff member, personnel of residential 
home facilities, a licensed or unlicensed day care provider, 
any individual who provides such services to a child, or any 
other person made a mandatory reporter under Article 603 of 
the Children’s Code or other applicable law.  

Medicationall drugs administered internally and/or 
externally, whether over-the-counter or prescribed. 

Monitorstaff with specific responsibilities for assisting 
the driver in ensuring the safety of the children while they 
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ride, board, or exit the vehicle and for assisting the driver 
during emergencies. 

Montessori Schoola facility recognized as accredited or 
certified as a Montessori School by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education pursuant to R.S. 17:3401 et seq. or 
a public Montessori School regulated by the Department of 
Education. 

Motor Skillsrefers to fine or gross motor skills. 
1. Finethe abilities required to control the smaller 

muscles of the body for writing, playing an instrument, 
artistic expression and craft work. The muscles required to 
perform fine motor skills are generally found in the hands, 
feet and head. 

2. Grossthe abilities required in order to control the 
large muscles of the body for walking, running, sitting, 
crawling, and other activities. This involves the larger 
movements of arms, legs, feet or the entire body (crawling, 
running and jumping).  

NRnot regulated. 
Nighttime Carecare provided after 9 p.m. and prior to 5 

a.m. in which no individual child remains for more than 24 
hours in one continuous stay. 

Non-Porousa smooth, solid surface that limits the 
penetration of liquids beyond the immediate surface.  

Non-Vehicular Excursionany activity that takes place 
outside of the licensed area (play yard and facility), that is 
within a safe, reasonable walking distance and that does not 
require transportation in a motor vehicle. This includes 
walking children to and from schools. 

Owner or Operatorthe individual who exercises 
ownership or control over a child day care facility, whether 
such ownership/control is direct or indirect. 

Ownershipthe right that confers on a person direct, 
immediate, and exclusive authority over a thing. The owner 
of a thing may use, enjoy, and dispose of it within the limits 
and under the conditions established by law. Refers to direct 
or indirect ownership. 

1. Direct Ownershipwhen a natural person is the 
immediate owner of a child day care facility, i.e., exercising 
control personally rather than through a juridical person. 

2. Indirect Ownershipwhen the immediate owner is 
a juridical entity. 

Partnershipincludes any general or limited partnership 
licensed or authorized to do business in this state. The 
owners of a partnership are its limited or general partners 
and any managers thereof. 

Parentparent(s) or guardian with legal custody of the 
child. 

Postedprominently displayed in an area accessible to 
and regularly used by parents. 

Prekindergarten programa program as defined by R.S. 
17:24.8. 

Premisesbuilding(s) and the land upon which the 
building(s) sits including but not limited to play yards and 
parking areas. 

Providerall owners or operators of a facility, including 
the director of such facility.  

Reasonable Suspicionlicensing section personnel has or 
acquires information containing specific and articulable facts 
indicating that an owner, operator, or current or potential 

employee or volunteer has been investigated and determined 
to be the perpetrator of abuse or neglect against a minor in 
an investigation with a justified (valid) finding currently 
recorded on the state central registry. 

Rest Timea daily period for children over 12 months of 
age during which children are placed on mats or cots or in 
cribs as age appropriate. 

Safety Interventionsan immediate time limited plan to 
control the factor(s) that may result in an immediate or 
impending serious injury/harm to a child(ren). 

School Agea child who is at least five years of age. 
Shall or Mustmandatory. 
Shouldurged, advised or may. 
Signaturethe act of signing one’s full given name, to 

include at a minimum their first and last name 
acknowledging that some first names are only an initial. 

Special Needs Childa child who has a chronic physical, 
developmental, behavioral, or emotional condition and who 
also requires assistance beyond that generally required by a 
child to perform tasks that are within the typical 
chronological range of development, including but not 
limited to movement of large or small muscles, learning, 
talking, communicating, self-help, social development, 
emotional development, seeing, hearing, and breathing. 

Staffall full or part-time paid or unpaid staff who 
perform services for the child care facility and have direct or 
indirect contact with children at the facility. Facility staff 
includes the director and any other employees of the facility 
including, but not limited to the cook, housekeeper, driver, 
substitutes, custodian, secretary, bookkeeper and foster 
grandparents excluding extra-curricular personnel. 

Staff-In-Chargethe on-site staff appointed by the 
director as responsible for supervising the operation of the 
facility during the temporary absence of the director. 

State Central Registryrepository that identifies any 
individual reported to have a justified (valid) finding of 
abuse or neglect of a child or children by DCFS. 

Student Traineean individual at least 16 years of age in 
the facility as an educational course requirement, and is 
never left alone with children, nor counted in the child/staff 
ratio. 

Supervisionthe function of observing, overseeing, and 
guiding a child and/or group of children. This includes 
awareness of and responsibility for the ongoing activity of 
each child and being near enough to intervene if needed. It 
requires physical presence, accountability for their care, 
knowledge of activity requirements, and knowledge of the 
children’s abilities and needs. 

Temporary Absenceabsence for errands, conferences, 
minor illnesses, etc. 

Time-Outa technique for temporarily separating a child 
where inappropriate behavior has occurred, and is intended 
to give a child time to calm down, thereby discouraging such 
behavior. 

Transportationthe arranging or providing transportation 
of children (whether facility-provided, parent-provided or 
contract-provided) for any reason, including daily 
transportation, transportation for field trips or transportation 
for any other activity that takes place away from the licensed 
facility.  
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Unlicensed Operationoperation of any child care 
facility as defined by R.S 14:403 at any location, without a 
valid, current license issued by DCFS. 

Use Zonethe surface under and around a piece of 
equipment onto which a child falling from or exiting from 
the equipment would be expected to land. These areas are 
also designated for unrestricted circulation around the 
equipment. 

Visitoranyone who enters the facility other than an 
enrolled or prospective child’s parent, facility staff, 
therapeutic professionals, extracurricular personnel, and in 
the case of a church or school, any other routine employees, 
including but not limited to a pastor, principal, teacher, etc. 
who are never left alone with children. 

Volunteera full or part-time non-paid staff person. 
Water Activitya water related activity in which children 

are in, on, near and accessible to, or immersed in, a body of 
water, including but not limited to a swimming pool, wading 
pool, water park, river, lake, beach, etc. 

Water Play Activitya water-related activity in which 
there is no standing water, including but not limited to 
fountains, sprinklers, water slip and slides, water tables, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7304. General Provisions 

A. Anyone applying for a license after the effective date 
of these standards shall meet all of the requirements herein, 
unless otherwise stated. 

B. Any owner/owners of a child day care facility shall 
provide documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check, as required by R.S. 46:51.2 and 15:587.1. A copy of 
the criminal background check shall be submitted for each 
owner of a facility with an initial application, a change of 
ownership (CHOW) application, a change of location 
(CHOL) application, and/or an application for renewal for a 
child day care license. No person with a criminal conviction 
of a felony, or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere of a felony, 
or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to any offense included 
in 15:587.1, 14:2, or 15:541, or any offense involving a 
juvenile victim, shall directly or indirectly own, operate, or 
participate in the governance of a child care facility. In 
addition, an owner, a director, or a director designee shall 
not have a conviction of, or plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
to any crime in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is 
an element of the offense. 

1. The following is a listing of individuals by 
organizational type who are required to submit 
documentation of a satisfactory criminal background 
clearance: 

a. Individual ownershipindividual and spouse 
b. Partnershipall limited or general partners and 

managers as verified on the Secretary of State’s website 
c. Head Startindividual responsible for 

supervising center directors 
d. Church owned, governmental entity, or university 

ownedany clergy and/or board member that is present in 
the facility during the hours of operation or when children 
are present 

e. Corporationany individual who has 25 percent 
or greater share in the business or any individual with less 
than a 25 percent share in the business and performs one or 
more of the following functions: 
 i. has unsupervised access to the children in care 
at the facility; 
 ii. is present in the facility during hours of 
operation; 
 iii. makes decisions regarding the day-to-day 
operations of the facility; 
 iv. hires and/or fires child care staff including the 
director/director designee; 
 v. oversees child care staff and/or conducts 
personnel evaluations of the child care staff; and/or 
 vi. writes the facility's policies and procedures. 

NOTE:  If an owner has less than a 25 percent share in the 
business and does not perform one or more of the functions 
listed above in Section 7304.B.5.a-f, a signed, notarized 
attestation form is required in lieu of a criminal background 
clearance. This attestation form is a signed statement from the 
owner acknowledging that he/she has less than a 25 percent 
share in the business and that he/she does not perform one or 
more of the aforementioned functions as an owner. 

C. A license shall be valid only for the address on the 
license to a particular owner and is not transferable to 
another person/owner or location or subject to sale. Any 
change of ownership or change of location automatically 
renders the license null and void. A change of ownership of 
the property on which the licensed facility is located shall 
not affect the license; however, loss of the right to use the 
premises by the licensee (whether through eviction, 
termination of lease, etc.) shall void the license as provided 
above. 

D. A new application shall not be processed if an 
application or license is currently on file with the Licensing 
Section for the same location, with the exception of a change 
of ownership application. 

E. Two licenses shall not be issued simultaneously for 
the same physical address. All child care provided at a 
physical address shall be included under one license. If a 
facility operates summer and/or holiday camps at the same 
location, such care shall be included under the same license 
for that location. 

F. Providers applying for State and/or Federal funding 
shall apply for a Class A license. 

G. Licensure fees shall be paid by all providers.  
H. The provider shall allow representatives of DCFS 

access to the facility, the children, and all files and records at 
any time during hours of operation and/or anytime a child is 
present. DCFS staff shall be allowed to interview any staff 
member or child as determined necessary by DCFS. DCFS 
representatives shall be admitted immediately and without 
delay, and shall be given free access to all areas of a facility, 
including its grounds. If any portion of a facility is set aside 
for private use by the facility's owner, DCFS representatives 
shall be permitted to verify that no child is present in that 
portion and that the private areas are inaccessible to 
children. If as a result of a preliminary investigation, or other 
DCFS inspection, DCFS determines that one or more safety 
issues exists, DCFS may require implementation of a safety 
intervention plan. In such a case, the provider shall 
cooperate and adhere to any written safety intervention as 
determined, enumerated, and mandated by DCFS staff. 
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I. Whenever DCFS is advised or has reason to believe 
that any person, agency, or organization is operating a non-
exempt child care facility without a license, DCFS shall 
conduct an investigation to ascertain the facts. If necessary, 
DCFS may apply for an administrative search warrant to 
obtain entry. 

J. Whenever DCFS is advised or has reason to believe 
that any person, agency, or organization that holds a license 
or has applied for a license is operating in violation of the 
Child Care Facility Class A Minimum Standards, DCFS 
shall conduct an investigation to ascertain the facts. All 
reports of mistreatment of children coming to the attention 
of DCFS will be investigated. 

K. Once a child day care provider has been issued a 
license, DCFS shall conduct licensing inspections at 
intervals (not to exceed one year) deemed necessary by 
DCFS to determine compliance with licensing standards, as 
well as other required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, and 
regulations. These inspections shall be unannounced. 

L. Documentation of the previous 12 months' activity 
shall be available for review by DCFS staff during 
inspections to the facility. Records shall be accessible during 
the hours the facility is open and operating. 

M. For licensing purposes, children’s information shall 
be kept on file at the facility for a minimum of one year from 
the child’s date of discharge from the facility and personnel 
records shall be kept on file at the facility for a minimum of 
one year from separation of employment from the facility. 

N. For licensing purposes, copies of staff training 
certificates and continuing education certificates shall be 
kept on file for a minimum of three years for currently 
employed staff. Originals shall be available upon request. 

O. All new construction to a currently licensed facility or 
renovation requires approval from the Office of State Fire 
Marshal, Office of Public Health and City Fire (if 
applicable), and the Licensing Section prior to occupying the 
new space. 

P. The Licensing Section is authorized to determine the 
period during which the license shall be effective. A license 
is valid for the period for which it is issued unless it is 
modified, extended, revoked, suspended, or terminated. 

Q. Providers and child care staff shall not permit an 
individual convicted of a sex offense as defined in R.S. 
15:541 to have physical access to a child day care facility as 
defined in R.S. 46:1403. 

R. The owner or director of a child day care facility shall 
be required to call and notify law enforcement agencies and 
the Licensing Section management staff if a sex offender is 
on the premises of the child day care facility or within 1000 
feet of the child day care facility. The Licensing Section 
management staff shall be contacted immediately. The 
verbal report shall be followed by a written report to the 
Licensing Section within 24 hours. 

S. Provider shall register the facility’s information with 
the Louisiana State Police Sex Offender Registry Search at 
www.lsp.org to receive updates if/when a sex offender 
moves within two miles of the child care facility. Such 
knowledge allows the provider to be fully aware of the 
individuals in close proximity to the facility. Notices of 

offenders shall be maintained in a place that is accessible to 
staff for easy viewing. 

T. The provider shall notify Licensing Section in writing 
of a temporary closure of facility (closure of more than 14 
calendar days but less than 30 calendar days) within one day 
of closure of the facility. 

U. The provider shall notify Licensing Section in writing 
of a permanent closure of facility (closure of more than 30 
calendar days) within one day of closure of the facility. 

V. Capacity shall be determined when the following is 
received and approved by Licensing Section: 

1. Current Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
current City Fire approval (if applicable); current Office of 
Public Health approval; local zoning approval (if 
applicable); 

2. documentation of insurance coverage; and a 
measurement of the provider’s indoor and enclosed 
adjoining outdoor play space by licensing staff. 

W. Upon the effective date of these regulations, provider 
shall register the facility’s current email address with the 
Licensing Section. Provider shall maintain a current email 
address and notify the Licensing Section immediately on a 
change request form upon a change in such address. All 
communication from the Licensing Section will be sent via 
email to the provider.  

X. Providers shall include a mailing address and physical 
address of the facility’s director, director designee, and 
owners. It shall be the responsibility of the facility's director, 
director designee, and the facility's owners to notify the 
Licensing Section in writing of any change of address. All 
addresses shall include any suite number, apartment number, 
or other information necessary to locate the physical 
premises for both mail delivery and/or service of process. A 
file may be closed if the applicant/licensee, the director, or 
the facility's owner/owners has moved and failed to notify 
the Licensing Section of the new address prior to the move. 
Return/refusal of mail, whether certified or other,and/or 
failure of hand delivery sent to the current physical address 
on file with the Licensing Section shall constitute proof that 
provider has moved and failed to notify the Licensing 
Section as required. When any notice is returned and the 
Licensing Section is unable to contact the applicant/licensee, 
the file shall be closed immediately. 

Y. Directors shall register all existing staff with 
“Louisiana Pathways Child Care Career Development 
System” within 30 calendar days of the effective date of 
these regulations and all new hires within 30 calendar days 
of employment. 

Z. DCFS may request that any staff left alone with or 
having supervisory or disciplinary authority over children 
provide a statement from a physician that the individual is 
physically able to care for children. 

AA. Any situation that violates the spirit of these 
regulations and/or is deemed unsafe for the children, even 
though it may not be specifically mentioned as forbidden, is 
prohibited. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
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§7305. Procedures 
A. Initial Application Process 

1. An application for licensure for a child care facility 
shall be obtained from DCFS: 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Licensing Section 
P.O. Box 3078 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3078 
Phone: (225) 342-9905 
FAX: (225) 342-9690 
Web address: www.DCFS.louisiana.gov 

2. After the facility's location has been established, a 
completed licensing packet shall be forwarded to the 
Licensing Section. A completed initial licensing packet shall 
include: 

a. completed application form with a $25 money 
order or certified check made payable to DCFS – Licensing 
Section; 

b. local zoning approval, if applicable; 
c. list of all staff to include name, contact 

information, and responsibilities; 
d. a sketch or drawing of the premises, including 

buildings and enclosed play area, to be licensed; 
e. documentation of completion of orientation for 

providers not holding a current child care license at any 
location;  

f. articles of incorporation if the facility is owned 
by a corporation; 

g. documentation that director meets qualifications; 
h. documentation that director designee meets 

qualifications (if applicable); 
i. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners, directors, and director designees (if 
applicable); and 

j. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) findings of abuse 
and/or neglect for all owners, directors, and director 
designees (if applicable). 

3. If the initial licensing packet is incomplete, the 
applicant will be notified of the missing information and will 
have ten business days to submit the additional requested 
information. If DCFS does not receive the additional 
information within the ten business days, the application will 
be closed and application fee forfeited. 

4. Once DCFS has determined that the initial licensing 
packet is complete, DCFS will attempt to contact the 
applicant to schedule an initial inspection. However, it is the 
applicant’s responsibility to coordinate the initial inspection. 
If the applicant fails to coordinate the initial inspection 
within 45 calendar days of receipt of the complete initial 
licensing packet, the initial licensing application shall be 
closed and the application fee shall be forfeited. 

5. If DCFS fails to conduct the initial inspection 
within 90 calendar days of receipt of the completed licensing 
packet due to reasons beyond the provider’s control, the 
initial licensing application shall not be closed. 

6. After an initial licensing application is closed, an 
applicant who is still interested in becoming a child care 
provider shall submit a new initial licensing packet. 

7. After the completed initial licensing packet has 
been received by the Licensing Section, DCFS will notify 
the Office of State Fire Marshal, Office of City Fire 
Department (if applicable), Office of Public Health, and any 
known required local agencies that an application for 

licensure has been submitted. However, it is the applicant's 
responsibility to request and obtain these inspections and 
approvals. 

8. An initial licensing inspection, including a 
measurement of the indoor and outdoor enclosed space, shall 
be conducted on-site at the facility to assure compliance with 
all licensing standards. However, if the provider is in 
operation in violation of the law, the licensing inspection 
shall not be conducted. In these instances, DCFS shall 
pursue legal remedies and the application may be denied. 

9. In the event that the initial licensing inspection 
finds that the child care provider is compliant with all 
licensing laws and standards and is compliant with all other 
required statutes, laws, ordinances, rules, regulations, and 
fees, DCFS may issue a license to the provider. The license 
shall be valid until the expiration date shown on the license, 
unless the license is modified, extended, revoked, 
suspended, or terminated. 

10.a. In the event that the initial licensing inspection 
finds that the child care provider is not in compliance with 
all licensing standards, with the exception of the following 
standards, DCFS may deny the initial application: 
 i. Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
 ii. City Fire approval (if applicable); 
 iii. Office of Public Health approval;  
 iv. three current, signed references on director 
attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 
and suitability to care and supervise children; 
 v. three current, signed references on director 
designee (if applicable) attesting affirmatively to his/her 
character, qualifications, and suitability to care and supervise 
children; 
 vi. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
clearance for all staff; 
 vii. documentation of completed state central 
registry disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding 
of abuse and/or neglect for all staff; 
 viii. documentation of insurance coverage for the 
facility and children; 
 ix. documentation of insurance coverage for 
vehicle(s) if requesting to provide this service. 

b. The application may be denied if the above 
documentation is not received within 90 calendar days of 
receipt of the completed initial application packet. 

11.a. DCFS shall notify the provider of the additional 
licensure fee due based on the capacity as listed below. The 
fee shall be received within 90 calendar days of the receipt 
of the completed initial application packet. 

 
15 or fewer: $25 
16-50: $100 
51-100: $175 
101 or more: $250 

 
b. The initial application fee of $25 will be applied 

toward the total licensure fee above that is determined by the 
provider’s licensed capacity and due prior to licensure of the 
provider.  

B. Fees and Notification of Changes 
1. All fees shall be paid by certified check or money 

order made payable to DCFS - Licensing Section and are 
non-refundable. 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 614

2. Annual licensure fees are required prior to renewal 
of the license. License fee schedules (based on capacity) are 
listed below: 

 
15 or fewer: $25 
16-50: $100 
51-100: $175 
101 or more: $250 

 
3. A fee of $5 is required to issue a duplicate license 

with no changes. 
4. The provider shall notify the Licensing Section on a 

change request form prior to making changes to facility 
operations. For changes that require the issuance of a new 
replacement license, the provider shall be required to submit 
a change fee of $25 in addition to the change request form. 
There is no fee charged when the request is noted on the 
renewal application; however, the change shall not be 
effective until the first day of the month following the 
expiration of the current license. No fee is required to 
remove a service or reduce the capacity on a license. 

a. Capacity increase is effective when the following 
are received and approved by the Licensing Section: 
completed change request form; $25 change fee; additional 
fee based on capacity (if applicable); current Office of the 
State Fire Marshal approval for new space; current Office of 
Public Health approval for new space; current City Fire 
approval for new space (if applicable); documentation of 
insurance coverage; and measurement of the additional 
space by the Licensing Section. New space shall not be 
utilized until approval has been granted by the Licensing 
Section. 

b. Transportation addition is effective when the 
following is received and approved by the Licensing 
Section: completed change request form; $25 change fee; 
copy of appropriate driver’s license(s) for all staff providing 
transportation; documentation of current vehicle insurance 
coverage; and transportation contract (if applicable), as 
required by Section 7336. 

c. Name change is effective when the following is 
received by the Licensing Section: completed change request 
form; and $25 change fee. 

d. Age range change is effective when the following 
is received and approved by the Licensing Section: 
completed change request form; and $25 change fee. 
Licensing Section shall verify provider has appropriate 
equipment and materials for the ages of children requesting 
to be served prior to approving the request. 

e. Night time care is effective when the following is 
received and approved by the Licensing Section: completed 
change request form; and $25 change fee. Licensing Section 
shall verify that the provider has equipment appropriate for 
night time care prior to approving the requested change. 

f. Change of provider's hours/months/days of 
operation with the exception of night time care is effective 
upon receipt of the completed change request form. 

g. Change in director/director designee is effective 
when the following is received and approved by the 
Licensing Section: completed change request form; 
documentation of director/director designee qualifications as 
noted in Section 7311.B; and three signed, dated letters of 
reference attesting affirmatively to his/her character, 
qualifications, and suitability to care and supervise children. 

C. Change of Location (CHOL) 
1. When a provider decides to change the physical 

location of the facility, it is considered a new operation and a 
new license is required prior to opening. The license at the 
existing location shall not transfer to the new facility. 

2. After the facility's new location has been 
determined, a complete licensing packet shall be submitted 
to the Licensing Section. A complete CHOL licensing packet 
shall include: 

a. completed application form with a $25 money 
order or certified check made payable to DCFS – Licensing 
Section; 

b. local zoning approval (if applicable); 
c. list of staff to include name, contact information, 

and responsibilities; 
d. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners; 
e. documentation of completed state central registry 

disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) finding of abuse 
and/or neglect for all owners, or documentation from the risk 
evaluation panel or Division of Administrative Law noting 
that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

f. a sketch or drawing of the premises, including 
buildings and enclosed play area, to be licensed; 

g. documentation that director meets qualifications; 
h. documentation that director designee meets 

qualifications (if applicable); 
i. three current, signed references on director 

attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 
and suitability to care and supervise children; 

j. three current, signed references on director 
designee (if applicable) attesting affirmatively to his/her 
character, qualifications, and suitability to care and supervise 
children; and  

k. documentation of insurance coverage for vehicle 
if requesting to provide this service. 

3. If the CHOL licensing packet is incomplete, the 
applicant will be notified of the missing information and will 
have ten business days to submit the additional requested 
information. If DCFS does not receive the additional 
requested information within the 10 business days, the 
CHOL application will be closed and the fee forfeited. 

4. Once DCFS has determined that the change of 
location licensing packet is complete, DCFS will attempt to 
contact the applicant to schedule a CHOL inspection; 
however, it is the applicant’s responsibility to coordinate the 
CHOL inspection. If the applicant fails to coordinate the 
CHOL inspection within 45 calendar days of receipt of the 
complete CHOL licensing packet, the CHOL application 
shall be closed and the fee forfeited. 

5. If DCFS fails to conduct the CHOL inspection 
within 90 calendar days of receipt of the completed CHOL 
application due to reasons beyond the provider’s control, the 
CHOL application shall be not closed. 

6. After a CHOL application is closed, an applicant 
who is still interested in moving to a new location shall 
submit a new CHOL licensing packet to restart the CHOL 
licensing process. 

7. The following shall be submitted to the Licensing 
Section prior to a license being issued:  

a. current Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
b. current City Fire approval (if applicable); 
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c. current Office of Public Health approval; 
d. full licensure fee; 
e. proof of transfer of insurance coverage for 

facility; and 
f. licensure inspection verifying compliance as 

noted in Section 7305.C.9. 
8. CHOL inspection will be conducted between the 

old and new location to determine compliance with all 
regulations. 

9. All requirements shall be met at the new location 
with the exception of: 

a. Equipment being transferred. A list of all 
equipment being transferred from currently licensed location 
to the new location shall be provided to licensing staff at the 
time of inspection. 

b. Personnel and children’s records that will be 
transferred. After closure of the old location and prior to the 
children being present at the new location, all equipment and 
personnel/children’s records noted above shall be transferred 
to the new location. 

10. Care shall not be provided at both locations. 
11. The license for the new location may be issued 

upon receipt of all items listed in Section 7305.C.7 with the 
approval of DCFS, but not prior to the first day operations 
will begin at the new location.  

12. The license for the old location shall be closed on 
the last day care was provided at that location, but no later 
then the effective date of the new location’s license. Provider 
shall submit documentation noting the last day care will be 
provided at the old location. 

D. Temporary Change of Location  
1. If a currently licensed facility closes due to reasons 

approved by DCFS, including but not limited to fire on the 
childcare premises and/or structural damage to the facility, 
and the provider chooses to relocate the children to a 
temporary location until repairs have been made, it is 
considered a new operation and a new license is required 
prior to opening.  

2. The license at the existing location shall not 
transfer to the temporary facility. The license shall be closed 
on the last day care was provided at that location. Any 
change of location, however temporary, automatically 
renders the current license null and void.  

3. The following shall be submitted to the Licensing 
Section prior to occupying the temporary facility and a 
license being issued:  

a. change of information form;  
b. $25 application fee; 
c. Office of the State Fire Marshal approval; 
d. Office of Public Health approval; 
e. City Fire approval (if applicable); 
f. local zoning approval (if applicable); 
g. proof of insurance coverage for facility; 
h. list of staff to include name, contact information 

and responsibilities; 
i. licensure inspection verifying all indoor and 

outdoor areas are free of hazards and/or unsafe conditions; 
and  

j. a measurement of the provider’s indoor and 
enclosed adjoining outdoor play space (if applicable) by 
licensing staff to determine facility capacity and additional 
licensure fee based on capacity. The application fee of $25 

will be applied toward the total licensure fee noted below 
that is determined by the provider’s licensed capacity and 
due prior to licensure of the provider. 

 
15 or fewer: $25 
16-50: $100 
51-100: $175 
101 or more: $250 

 
4. If applicable, provider shall be allowed to transfer 

equipment, personnel, and children’s records from the 
currently licensed location to the temporary location to be 
reviewed by the licensing staff at the time of inspection. 

5. The license for the new location may be issued 
upon receipt of all items listed above with the approval of 
DCFS; however, the temporary license shall not extend 
beyond 90 calendar days. 

6. The Licensing Section shall be notified in writing, 
within 30 calendar days of obtaining the license for the 
temporary location, of the expected timeframe upon which 
the provider expects to be able to return to the original 
location. 

7. In order for a license to be issued for the previous 
location and the previous location occupied, the provider 
shall submit the following:  

a. change of information form; 
b. $25 application fee; 
c. a sketch or drawing of the premises, including 

buildings and enclosed play area, to be relicensed; 
d. Office of the State Fire Marshal approval; 
e. Office of Public Health approval; 
f. City Fire approval (if applicable); 
g. local zoning approval (if applicable); 
h. proof of insurance coverage for facility; 
i. licensure inspection verifying compliance with 

the minimum standards;  
j. a measurement of the provider’s indoor and 

enclosed adjoining outdoor play space by licensing staff to 
determine facility capacity and additional licensure fee based 
on capacity. 

8. DCFS shall notify the provider of the additional 
licensure fee due based on the capacity as listed below. The 
fee shall be received prior to the license being issued. The 
application fee of $25 will be applied toward the total 
licensure fee noted below that is determined by the 
provider’s licensed capacity and due prior to licensure of the 
provider. 

 
15 or fewer: $25 
16-50: $100 
51-100: $175 
101 or more: $250 

 
E. Change of Ownership (CHOW) 

1. Any of the following constitutes a change of 
ownership: 

a. change in the federal tax id number; 
b. change in the state tax id number;  
c. change in profit status; 
d. any transfer of the child care business  
e. from an individual or juridical entity to any other 

individual or juridical entity; and/or 
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f. addition of an individual to the  
g. existing ownership on file with the Licensing 

Section. 
2. Although the following does not constitute a 

change of ownership for licensing purposes; a change of 
information form is required. The change of information 
form shall be submitted to the Licensing Section within 10 
business days. 

a. If individual ownership, upon death of the spouse 
and execution of the estate, if the surviving spouse remains 
as the only owner. 

b. If individual ownership, undergoing a separation 
or divorce until/or upon a judicial termination of the 
community aquets and gains, signed by both parties.  

c. Changes in board members for churches, 
corporations, limited liability companies, universities, or 
governmental entities. 

d. Any removal of a person from the existing 
organizational structure under which the child day care 
facility is currently licensed. 

F. Change of Ownership (CHOW) Procedures 
1. When a facility changes ownership, the current 

license is not transferable. Prior to the ownership change and 
in order for a license to be issued, the new owner shall 
submit a CHOW application packet containing the 
following: 

a. a completed application and full licensure fee as 
listed in Section 7305.B.2 based on current licensed capacity 
or requested capacity, whichever is less; 

b. current Office of State Fire Marshal approval; 
c. current Office of Public Health approval; 
d. current City Fire approval (if applicable); 
e. documentation of director qualifications as listed 

in Section 7311; 
f. letter from previous owner noting intention to 

sell the child care business and the proposed date of the sale; 
g. documentation of director designee qualifications 

as listed in Section 7311; 
h. three current, signed references on the director 

attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 
and suitability to care and supervise children; 

i. three current, signed references on director 
designee (if applicable) attesting affirmatively to his/her 
character, qualifications, and suitability to care and supervise 
children; 

j. copy of the bill of sale (if applicable); 
k. documentation of facility’s insurance coverage 

under new ownership; 
l. documentation of insurance coverage for vehicle 

if requesting to provide this service under new ownership; 
m. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 

clearance for all owners and staff (the prior owner’s 
documentation of satisfactory criminal background checks is 
not transferrable); 

n. documentation of completed state central registry 
disclosure forms noting no justified (valid) findings of abuse 
and/or neglect for all owners and staff or documentation 
from the risk evaluation panel or Division of Administrative 
Law that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

o. a sketch or drawing of the premises including 
classrooms, buildings and enclosed play area; and 

p. a list of staff to include name, contact 
information, and responsibilities. 

2. If the above information is not received prior to the 
sale or day of the sale, the new owner must not operate until 
a license is issued. The application will be treated as an 
initial application rather than a change of ownership 
application.  

3. The prior owner's current Office of State Fire 
Marshal and Office of Public Health approvals are only 
transferrable for three months. The new owner shall obtain 
approvals dated after the effective date of the new license 
from these agencies within 90 calendar days. The new owner 
will be responsible for forwarding the approval or extension 
from these agencies to the Licensing Section. 

4. A licensing inspection shall be conducted within 60 
calendar days to verify that the minimum standards are in 
compliance. At this time, licensing staff shall complete a 
measurement of the facility and enclosed, outdoor play yard. 
Upon review of the space, the capacity of the facility may be 
reduced or increased. 

5. The following personnel information shall be 
updated under the new ownership within 10 business days of 
the effective date of the new license: 

a. an application and/or a staff information form as 
required in Section 7310.B.1; 

b. job description as required in Section 7310.B.4; 
and 

c. orientation as required in Section 7312.A.1-4.  
6. The following children's information shall be 

updated under the new ownership within 10 business days of 
the effective date of the new license: 

a. child's information form as required in Section 
7308.A.1; 

b. a written authorization signed and dated by the 
parent to secure emergency medical treatment as required in 
Section 7308.A.2; 

c. a written authorization signed and dated by the 
parent noting the first and last names of individuals to whom 
the child may be released other than the parent(s), including 
any other child care facilities, transportation services, or any 
person or persons who removes the child from the facility as 
required in Section 7308.A.3; 

d. a written statement from the child’s parent when 
the child is on a modified diet for religious reasons as 
required in Section 7308.A.5; 

e. the provider shall obtain written informed 
consent from the parent prior to releasing any information, 
recordings, or photographs from which the child might be 
identified, except for authorized state and federal agencies as 
required in Section 7308.B; and  

f. the provider utilizing any type of recordings or 
taping of children, including but not limited to digital 
recordings, videotaping, audio recordings, web cam, security 
monitoring, etc., shall obtain documentation signed and 
dated by the parent indicating their awareness of such 
recordings/monitoring and its potential uses as required in 
Section 7308.C. 

G. Class Change 
1. When a provider requests to change class type from 

B to A, the following information shall be submitted to the 
Licensing Section prior to the issuance of the new license: 
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a. a completed application and full licensure fee 
based on current capacity or requested capacity, whichever is 
less; 

b. documentation of current insurance coverage in 
accordance with Section 7306.D and Section 7333.I. and J;  

c. documentation of director qualifications as listed 
in Section 7311; 

d. documentation of director designee qualifications 
(if applicable) as listed in Section 7311; 

e. three current, signed references on the director 
attesting affirmatively to his/her character, qualifications, 
and suitability to care and supervise children; and 

f. three current, signed references on director 
designee (if applicable) attesting affirmatively to his/her 
character, qualifications, and suitability to care and supervise 
children. 

2. When a facility changes class type, the facility’s 
anniversary will change to the month in which the new 
license is issued. 

H. Relicensing 
1. The annual relicensing inspection is similar to the 

initial licensing inspection. Documentation of the previous 
12 months' activities shall be available for review. The 
director will have an opportunity to review the inspection 
deficiencies (if any) in consultation with licensing staff. If 
the director is not present at the facility or is unable or 
unwilling to review the inspection deficiencies, the licensing 
staff shall review them with any staff of the facility. If 
licensing staff is unable to conduct such a review due to the 
absence or refusal of staff to participate, the licensing staff 
shall leave a copy of the deficiencies at the facility, and this 
shall constitute notice of the deficiencies to the facility and 
its owners and/or director. 

2. When submitting the application for renewal of the 
license, the provider shall submit a copy of the satisfactory 
criminal background check for every owner. 

3. Each provider is solely responsible for obtaining 
forms to apply for the renewal of the license. Providers are 
encouraged to submit their renewal application and full 
licensure renewal fee prior to the first day of the month in 
which the license expires. However, if the application and 
fee are not received on or postmarked by the last day of the 
month in which the license expires, the license cannot be 
renewed and expires. The provider is required to cease 
operation at the close of business by the expiration date 
noted on the license.  

I. Required Notification. Within 24 hours or on the next 
business day, the director shall verbally notify Licensing 
Section management staff of the following reportable 
incidents. The verbal report shall be followed by a written 
report within 24 hours: 

1. death of a child while in the care of the provider; 
2. illness or injury requiring hospitalization or 

professional medical attention of a child while in the care of 
the provider; 

3. fire on the child care premises; 
4. structural damage to the facility; 
5. any emergency situation that requires sheltering in 

place, implementation of facility lock-down procedures, 
and/or temporarily relocating children; 

6. any extended loss of power, water service, gas, etc., 
while children are in care; 

7. any child leaving the facility and/or play yard 
unsupervised or with an unauthorized person;  

8. any child left unsupervised in the facility, on the 
van, play yard, and/or on a field trip; 

9. any child given the wrong medication or an 
incorrect dosage; and  

10. any serious and unusual situation that affects the 
safety and/or well-being of a child or children in the care of 
the provider. 

J. State Central RegistryConditions for Owners, 
Operators, Employees and VolunteersGeneral 

1. Any owner, operator, current or prospective 
employee, or volunteer of a child care facility requesting 
licensure by DCFS and/or a child care facility licensed by 
DCFS is prohibited from working in a child care facility if 
the individual discloses, or information is known or received 
by DCFS, that the individual’s name is recorded on the state 
central registry (SCR) as a perpetrator for a justified (valid) 
finding of abuse or neglect of a child, unless there is a 
finding by the risk evaluation panel or a ruling by the 
Division of Administrative Law that the individual does not 
pose a risk to children. 

2. This information shall be reported at the time of 
application, annually, at any time upon the request of DCFS, 
and within three business days of any such individual 
receiving notice of a justified (valid) determination of child 
abuse or neglect. 

3. State central registry disclosure forms, 
documentation of any disposition of the risk evaluation 
panel and, when applicable, the Division of Administrative 
Law ruling shall be maintained in accordance with current 
DCFS licensing requirements and shall be available for 
review by DCFS personnel during the facility’s hours of 
operation. This information shall be kept on file for a 
minimum of one year from termination of the employee or 
volunteer from the facility. 

4. Any information received or knowledge acquired 
that a current or prospective owner, operator, volunteer, 
employee, prospective volunteer, or prospective employee 
has falsified a state central registry disclosure form stating 
that they are not currently recorded as a perpetrator with a 
justified (valid) determination of abuse or neglect shall be 
reported in writing to a Licensing Section management staff 
as soon as possible, but no later than the close of business on 
the next business day. 

5. Any state central registry disclosure form, risk 
evaluation panel finding, and Division of Administrative 
Law ruling that is maintained in a child care facility 
licensing file shall be confidential and subject to the 
confidentiality provisions of R.S. 46:56(F) pertaining to the 
investigations of abuse and neglect. 

K. State Central RegistryConditions for Owners, 
Operators, Employees, and Volunteers Hired Prior to 
January 1, 2010 

1. An individual owning, operating, employed by, or 
volunteering in a child care facility, licensed by DCFS, prior 
to January 1, 2010, shall be required to complete a state 
central registry disclosure form on or before February 1, 
2010. 

2. The owner, operator, and current 
employee/volunteer of the licensed child care facility shall 
complete, sign, and date the state central registry disclosure 
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form. The current employee/volunteer shall submit the 
disclosure form to the owner or operator of the facility. The 
owner or operator shall also be required to provide 
documentation of his or her state central registry disclosure 
form. 

3. Any current employee/volunteer hired prior to 
January 1, 2010, who discloses that their name is recorded 
on the state central registry with a justified (valid) finding of 
abuse or neglect, or through reasonable suspicion as the 
result of information known or received by DCFS, will have 
10 calendar days from completion of the state central 
registry disclosure form to request a risk assessment 
evaluation in accordance with Louisiana Administrative 
Code 67:I.305 or shall be terminated immediately. 

a. As a condition of continued employment, the 
employee/volunteer shall be directly supervised by another 
paid employee of the facility, who has not disclosed that 
their name appears with a justified (valid) finding on the 
state central registry. Under no circumstances may the staff 
person with the justified finding be left alone and 
unsupervised with the children pending the disposition of the 
risk evaluation panel that they do not pose a risk to children. 
When these conditions are met, the employee/volunteer may 
be counted in child staff ratio. 

b. If the risk evaluation panel finds the individual 
does pose a risk to children and the individual chooses not to 
appeal the finding, the employee/volunteer shall be 
terminated immediately.  

c. If the risk evaluation panel finds the individual 
does pose a risk to children and the individual appeals the 
finding to the Division of Administrative Law within the 
required timeframe, the employee/volunteer shall continue to 
be under direct supervision at all times by another paid 
employee of the facility who has not disclosed that they have 
a justified finding on the state central registry until a ruling 
by the Division of Administrative Law that they do not pose 
a risk to children. Supervision may end upon receipt of the 
ruling from the Division of Administrative Law that they do 
not pose a risk to children. 

d. If the Division of Administrative Law upholds 
the risk evaluation panel finding that the individual does 
pose a risk to children, the individual shall be terminated 
immediately. 

L. Individuals owning, operating, employed by, 
volunteering after January 1, 2010. (Initial application or 
prospective employee/volunteer) 

1. After January 1, 2010, any prospective owner, 
operator, or prospective employee/volunteer of a child care 
facility requesting licensure by DCFS and/or the child care 
facility licensed by DCFS shall be required to complete a 
state central registry disclosure form. This information shall 
be reported at the time of application, annually, at any time 
upon the request of DCFS, and within three business days of 
any such individual receiving notice of a justified (valid) 
determination of child abuse or neglect. 

2. The prospective employee/volunteer of a child care 
facility requesting licensure by DCFS and/or licensed child 
care facility shall complete, sign, and date the state central 
registry disclosure form. The prospective 
employee/volunteer shall submit the disclosure form to the 
owner or operator of the facility. The owner or operator shall 

also be required to provide documentation of his or her state 
central registry disclosure form. 

a. If a prospective operator or employee/volunteer 
discloses that his or her name is currently recorded as a 
perpetrator on the state central registry, the child care facility 
representative/ prospective employer shall inform the 
applicant they will not be considered for employment or 
volunteer duties at that time due to the state central registry 
disclosure and the child care facility 
representative/prospective employer will provide the 
prospective employee/volunteer with the request for a risk 
evaluation panel form (SCR 2). 

b. Individuals are eligible for employment/volunteer 
services if and when they provide written documentation 
from the Risk Evaluation Assessment Panel or the Division 
of Administrative Law noting that they do not pose a risk to 
children. 

M. Denial, Revocation or Non-Renewal of License. An 
application for a license may be denied, a license may be 
revoked, or a license renewal may be denied for any of the 
following reasons: 

1. violation of any provision of R.S. 46:1401 et seq. or 
failure to meet any of the minimum standards, rules, 
regulations, or orders promulgated by the DCFS; 

2. disapproval from any agency whose approval is 
required for licensure; 

3. disqualification from the DCFS Child Care 
Assistance Program due to an intentional program violation; 

4. disqualification from participation in another state 
agency’s program; 

5. presence of an individual with a justified (valid) 
finding of child/abuse neglect not being directly supervised 
by another paid employee of the facility, who has not 
disclosed that their name appears with a justified (valid) 
finding on the state central registry prior to a determination 
by the risk evaluation panel or Division of Administrative 
Law that the individual does not pose a risk to children; 

6. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the risk evaluation panel that the individual 
poses a risk to children and the individual has not requested 
an appeal hearing by the Division of Administrative Law 
within the required timeframe; 

7. presence of an individual on the child care premises 
with a ruling by the Division of Administrative Law that the 
individual poses a risk to children; 

8. continued employment or ownership of or by any 
individual (paid or unpaid staff) convicted of, or a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere to, any offense included in 
15:587.1, 14:2, 15:541, or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim; 

9. ownership by an individual convicted of, or a plea 
of guilty or nolo contendere to any crime in which an act of 
fraud or intent to defraud is an element of the offense; 

10. falsifying or altering documents required for 
licensure; 

11. cruelty or indifference to the welfare of the 
children; 

12. the owner or director of the facility is not reputable; 
13. the owner, director, or a member of the staff is 

temperamentally or otherwise unsuited for the care of the 
children in the facility; 
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14. non-payment of licensure fee and/or failure to 
submit application for renewal prior to the expiration date of 
the current license; 

15. the facility is closed and there are no plans for 
immediate reopening and no means of verifying compliance 
with minimum standards for licensure; 

16. failure to adhere to conditions set forth in a waiver 
granted by the secretary; 

17. removal of or failure to notify Licensing Section 
management staff of the removal of the notice of revocation; 

18. failure to maintain the posted notice of revocation 
required under these standards shall be grounds for denial of 
a future license and/or revocation or non-renewal of all 
existing license(s) owned and/or operated by provider; 

19. history of noncompliance that includes but is not 
limited to the revocation of a previous license, the denial of 
one or more previous applications for licensure, repeated 
citations for the same area of non compliance, numerous 
citations for areas of non-compliance on one visit, a serious 
incident at the facility, a serious incident at another facility 
in which the same director and/or owner is responsible, or 
previously operating an unlicensed facility; 

20. provider denies DCFS staff entrance to the facility, 
does not cooperate with DCFS staff in order for duties to be 
completed, attempts to intimidate DCFS staff, or refuses to 
allow DCFS to perform mandated duties; 

21. failure of required staff to attend any mandatory 
training session required by the Licensing Section; 

22. failure to provide retraining of staff or seek 
additional training for staff as directed by the Licensing 
Section or other state agency in response to any incident that 
adversely affected the health, safety, and/or welfare of a 
child in care; 

23. having knowledge that a convicted sex offender is 
physically present within 1000 feet of the child care facility 
and failing to notify law enforcement and licensing 
management staff immediately upon receipt of such 
knowledge; 

24. failure of the owner, director, or any staff to report a 
known or suspected incident of abuse or neglect to child 
welfare authorities; 

25. failure of the owner, director, or any staff to 
cooperate with DCFS staff investigating a known or 
suspected incident of abuse or neglect which includes, but 
not limited to, the adherence to any written safety 
interventions as directed by licensing management staff; 

26. presence or use of any recalled product by the 
provider that is listed in the newsletters issued by the Office 
of the Attorney General; 

27. the facility is not yet licensed and the licensing 
section has completed an initial licensing inspection and has 
since been unable to make contact with the owner or director 
in order to verify compliance with the minimum standards 
for licensure. 

N. Posting of Notice of Revocation 
1. DCFS shall prominently post a notice of revocation 

action at each public entrance of the child care facility 
within one business day of such action. This notice shall 
remain visible to the parents and guardians of the children 
who attend the child care facility. 

2. The provider shall not permit the obliteration or 
removal of a notice of revocation that has been posted by 

DCFS staff. The provider shall ensure that the notice 
continues to be visible to parents, guardians, and others 
throughout the pendency of any appeals of the revocation. 

3. The provider shall verbally notify Licensing 
Section management staff immediately if the notice is 
removed. The verbal report shall be followed by a written 
report within 24 hours. 

O. Appeal Process 
1. The DCFS Licensing Section, shall advise the 

director or owner by letter of the reasons for non-renewal, 
revocation, or denial and the right of appeal. If the director 
or owner is not present at the facility, delivery of the written 
reasons for such action may be made to any staff of the 
facility. Notice to a staff shall constitute notice to the facility 
of such action and the reasons therefore. A request for appeal 
shall include a copy of the letter from the Licensing Section 
that notes the reasons for revocation, denial, or non-renewal, 
together with the specific areas of the decision the appellant 
believes to be erroneous and/or the specific reasons the 
decision is believed to have been reached in error, and shall 
be mailed to: Department of Children and Family Services, 
Bureau of Appeals, P.O. Box 2944, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-
9118. 

2. A provider may appeal the revocation or non-
renewal of a license by submitting a written request to 
appeal the decision along with a copy of the letter within 15 
calendar days of receipt of the letter notifying of the 
revocation or non-renewal. Provider may continue to operate 
legally throughout the appeals process. 

3. A provider may appeal the denial of an application 
for a license by submitting a written request to appeal the 
decision along with a copy of the letter within 30 calendar 
days of receipt of the letter notifying of the denial of 
application.  

4. The Bureau of Appeals shall notify the Division of 
Administrative Law of receipt of an appeal request. Division 
of Administrative Law shall conduct a hearing. The 
appellant will be notified by letter of the decision, either 
affirming or reversing the original decision.  

5. If the decision of DCFS is affirmed or the appeal 
dismissed, the provider shall terminate operation of the child 
care business immediately. If the provider continues to 
operate without a license, DCFS may file suit in the district 
court in the parish in which the facility is located for 
injunctive relief.  

6. If the decision of DCFS is reversed, the license will 
be reinstated and the appellant may continue to operate. 

P. Disqualification of Facility and/or Provider 
1. Effective September 4, 2009, if a facility’s license 

is revoked or not renewed due to failure to comply with state 
statutes and licensing rules, DCFS shall not accept a 
subsequent application from the provider for that facility, or 
any new facility, for a minimum period of 24 months after 
the effective date of revocation or non-renewal, or for a 
minimum period of 24 months after all appeal rights have 
been exhausted, whichever is later (the disqualification 
period). The effective date of a revocation, denial, or non-
renewal of a license shall be the last day for applying to 
appeal the action, if the action is not appealed. Any pending 
application by the same provider shall be treated as an 
application for a new facility for purposes of this section and 
shall be denied and subject to the disqualification period. 
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Any subsequent application for a license shall be reviewed 
by the secretary or designee prior to a decision being made 
to grant a license. DCFS reserves the right to determine, at 
its sole discretion, whether to issue any subsequent license. 

2. If a provider has multiple licensed child care 
facilities and one of the facility’s licenses is revoked or not 
renewed, a capacity increase shall not be granted at any of 
the existing licensed facilities for a minimum period of 24 
months after the effective date of revocation or non-renewal, 
or for a minimum period of 24 months after all appeal rights 
have been exhausted, whichever is later. 

3. Any voluntary surrender of a license by a provider 
facing the possibility of adverse action against its license 
(revocation or non-renewal) shall be deemed to be a 
revocation for disqualification purposes and shall trigger the 
same disqualification period as if the license had actually 
been revoked. 

4. If the applicant has had a history of non-
compliance, including but not limited to revocation of a 
previous license, operation without a license, or denial of 
one or more previous applications for licensure, DCFS may 
refuse to accept a subsequent application from that applicant 
for a minimum period of 24 months after the effective date 
of denial. 

5. With respect to an application in connection with 
the revoked, denied, or not renewed facility, the 
disqualification period provided in this section shall include 
any affiliate of the provider. 

6. If a facility’s license was revoked due solely to the 
disapproval from any agency whose approval is required for 
licensure, the disqualification rule (or period) may not apply. 
DCFS may accept a subsequent application for a license that 
shall be reviewed by the secretary or designee prior to a 
decision being made to grant a license. DCFS reserves the 
right to determine, at its sole discretion, whether to issue any 
subsequent license. 

7. In the event a license is revoked or renewal is 
denied, (other than for cessation of business or non-
operational status), or voluntarily surrendered to avoid 
adverse action any owner, officer, member, manager, 
director or administrator of such licensee shall be prohibited 
from owning, managing, directing or operating another 
licensed facility for a period of not less than 24 months from 
the date of the final disposition of the revocation or denial 
action. The lapse of 24 months shall not automatically 
restore a person disqualified under this provision to 
eligibility for employment. DCFS, at its sole discretion, may 
determine that a longer period of disqualification is 
warranted under the facts of a particular case. 

Q. The Louisiana Advisory Council on Child Care and 
Early Education 

1. The Louisiana Advisory Council on Child Care and 
Early Education was created in accordance with R.S. 
46:1414 to provide input and guidance to DCFS on matters 
pertaining to rules, regulations, and standards for licensure 
of child day care facilities as defined in R.S. 46:1403(A)(4).  

2. The Council shall be composed of 12 voting 
members appointed by the secretary of DCFS, and nine non-
voting ex-officio members. The membership shall consist of: 

a. one parent of a child currently enrolled in a 
licensed child care facility; 

b. three owners or directors of licensed child care 
facilities in Louisiana, and one faith based child care 
provider; 

c. two professionals and/or faculty of child 
development and/or early childhood education programs at 
community technical colleges or universities located in 
Louisiana; 

d. one representative from each of the following 
advocacy organizations: the Louisiana Head Start 
Association, the Louisiana Partnership for Children and 
Families, the Louisiana Association for the Education of 
Young Children, the Child Care Association of Louisiana, 
and the Louisiana Early Childhood Association of Louisiana; 
and  

e. nine non-voting ex-officio members consisting of 
one representative of each of the following offices or 
agencies: the Department of Education Pre-Kindergarten 
Program, the Department of Education Child and Adult Care 
Food Program, the Louisiana Office of State Fire Marshal, 
the Department of Health and Hospitals Office of Sanitarian 
Services, the Louisiana Workforce Commission, the 
Louisiana State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification, 
and three representatives from DCFS. 

3. Members shall be appointed to serve an initial two-
year term on the Council and may be eligible to be 
reappointed to serve an additional two-year term.  

4. A member shall be automatically removed from the 
advisory council if he/she has two or more unexcused 
absences during any 12-month period. An absence is 
excused for purposes of this section when the cause is one 
which a reasonably-prudent person would deem to take 
precedence over fulfillment of a solemn public duty, or if the 
absence is known in advance to be probable, if the member 
notifies the chairperson of his/her expected absence not less 
than 24 hours in advance of the scheduled meeting. 

5. A quorum shall consist of a simple majority of the 
active voting members. 

6. Whenever a vacancy occurs in any Council seat, 
whether by death, resignation, or automatic removal, such 
vacant seat shall no longer be counted as an active voting 
member in determining a quorum until a successor has been 
appointed by the secretary to fill the unexpired term.  

7. Officers of the council shall include a chairperson, 
vice-chairperson, and secretary. 

8. All meetings shall be conducted in accordance with 
the state’s open meetings law. Procedural matters shall be 
conducted in accordance with the latest edition of Robert’s 
Rules of Order. 

9. Members shall serve without compensation or 
reimbursement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7306. General Requirements 

A. Current Louisiana child care license shall be on 
display in an area accessible to and regularly used by parents 
and visitors, except for church affiliated facilities (RS 
46:1408.D) that choose to keep the license on file and 
available upon request. 
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B. All programs shall operate within the licensed 
capacity, age range, and/or other specific services designated 
on the license. In addition, the program shall operate within 
the hours of operation on file with the Licensing Section. 

C. The facility’s indoor and outdoor space shall be used 
exclusively by the children and facility staff during operating 
hours. Exceptions are allowed only for schools or churches 
regarding the shared use of kitchens, dining rooms, 
restrooms, and outdoor space. A child care facility, except 
one located in a church or school, shall be physically 
separated from any other business or enterprise, preventing 
access to children in care. 

D. The provider shall maintain in force at all times 
current commercial liability insurance for the operation of a 
facility to ensure medical coverage for children in the event 
of accident or injury while in the care of the provider. 
Documentation shall consist of the insurance policy, current 
binder, or certificate of insurance that includes the name of 
the child care facility, physical address of the facility, name 
of the insurance company, policy number, period of 
coverage, and explanation of the coverage. An accident 
policy is acceptable in lieu of medical coverage on the 
commercial general liability policy if the cost of the policy is 
incurred by the provider. 

E. Provider shall not require parents to waive the 
provider's responsibility while the child is in the care of the 
provider. Provider may not issue any disclaimer of 
responsibility in any of its policies, handbooks, parent 
contracts, advertising, or any other written or verbal form. 
This includes activities on or off the premises. 

F. The provider shall have documentation of approval 
from the Office of Public Health, Sanitarian Services. If food 
is not prepared on site, written approval of the 
catering/transporting of the food is required from the Office 
of Public Health. 

G. The provider shall have documentation of approval 
from the Office of State Fire Marshal. 

H. The provider shall have documentation of approval 
from the Office of City Fire Department, if applicable. 

I. The provider shall have certificate of occupancy 
(zoning), if applicable. 

J. A daily attendance record for children, including the 
first and last name of each child, the time of arrival and 
departure of each child, and the first and last name of the 
person or entity to whom the child was released, shall be 
maintained. This record shall accurately reflect the children 
on the child care premises at any given time.  

1. If the record is completed by facility staff, that 
individual shall write the first and last name of the person to 
whom the child was released and sign his/her own first and 
last name. Children who leave and return to the facility 
during the day shall be signed in and signed out. 

2. A computerized sign in/out procedure is acceptable 
if the record accurately reflects the time of arrival and 
departure, as well as the first and last name of the person to 
whom the child was released. A print out of the computer 
record shall be provided immediately upon request. 
Information shall be available in the event of a power 
outage, computer downtime, or an emergency situation. 

K. A daily attendance record for staff, including the 
director and owner, to include the staff’s first and last name 
and the time of arrival and departure shall be maintained. 

This record shall accurately reflect persons on the child care 
premises at any given time. Staff shall document in/out when 
not on the child care premises.  

L. Any visitor to the facility shall be accompanied by a 
staff person at all times. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7307. Policies and Procedures  

A. The provider shall have written policies and 
procedures available to staff and parents that shall include: 
days and hours of operation, including scheduled 
days/holidays when the facility is closed; admission policies 
and criteria; procedure for receiving and releasing a child 
from the facility; procedure for handling illnesses and 
injuries, including procedures when away from the child 
care facility; procedure for transportation of children; 
disenrollment procedures; and guidelines regarding biting 
behavior, treatment of bites, and notification to parents of the 
children involved. The provider shall keep the names of the 
children involved in the child-biting confidential. 

B. The provider shall develop and follow a written daily 
schedule that includes times of planned activities, allowing 
for flexibility and change. The written, current, daily 
schedule for each group of children shall be posted in each 
room. If different schedules are used seasonally or for night 
time care, the current schedule shall be posted. All schedules 
shall be available for review by parents and licensing staff 
upon request. Activities on the daily schedule shall be age 
appropriate and shall be adhered to with reasonable 
closeness, but shall accommodate and have due regard for 
individual needs and differences among the children. The 
daily schedule shall list times for indoor and outdoor play 
(weather permitting) that includes activities that support 
children’s development of social, emotional, physical, 
language/literacy, cognitive/intellectual and cultural skills, 
meals/snacks, rest time, and other routines, including but not 
limited to hand washing and toileting. Indoor and outdoor 
play shall include periods that incorporate free play, gross 
motor activities, fine motor activities, and vigorous and quiet 
activities. 

1. Children under two years of age shall be provided 
time and space for age appropriate physical activity for at 
least 60 minutes per day (includes indoor and outdoor 
activities). 

2. Children two years of age and older shall be 
provided 60 minutes of physical activity per day (includes 
indoor and outdoor activities) that includes a combination of 
both teacher led and free play. 

3. Infants shall be allowed to sleep according to their 
individual schedules. 

4. Children four years of age and younger shall have 
daily rest time of at least one hour in programs operating 
more than five hours per day. 

5. Children five years of age and older shall be offered 
the opportunity for quiet time. 

6. If there are daily activities involving electronic 
devices, including but not limited to television, movies, 
games, videos, computers, hand held electronic devices, etc., 
these activities shall be included on the written daily 
schedule. Electronic device activities for children under two 
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years of age, including but not limited to television, movies, 
games, videos, computers, hand held electronic devices, etc., 
shall be prohibited. Time allowed for electronic device 
activities for children ages two and above, including but not 
limited to television, movies, games, videos, computers, 
hand held electronic devices, etc., shall not exceed 60 
minutes per day on a daily basis and 2.5 hours per day on 
school holidays or during the summer months.  

7. Computers that allow internet access by the 
children shall be equipped with monitoring or filtering 
software, or an analogous software protection, that limits 
children’s access to inappropriate web sites, e-mail, and 
instant messages. 

8. Programs/movies/video games with violent or adult 
content, including but not limited to soap operas, television 
news, or sports programs aimed at audiences other than 
children, shall not be permitted in the presence of children. 
All television, video/DVD, or other programming shall be 
suitable for the youngest child present. "PG" or "PG-13" 
programming or its television equivalent shall not be shown 
to children under age five. "PG" programming/movies shall 
only be viewed by children age five and above with written 
parental authorization. "PG-13" programming/movies shall 
only be viewed by children age 13 and above with written 
parental authorization. Parental authorization shall include 
the name of the program/movie, child’s name, parent’s 
signature, and date. Any programming with a rating more 
restrictive than "PG-13" is prohibited. 

9. All video games shall be suitable for the youngest 
child with access to the games. "E10+" rated games shall be 
permitted for children age 10 years of age and above. "T" 
rated games shall not be shown to or played by children 
under age 13. "M" rated games shall not be permitted. 

C. The provider shall establish and follow a written, 
posted policy describing all methods of behavior guidance 
and management that will be used by staff to manage 
children’s behavior. The provider shall ensure that the 
following are adhered to: no child shall be subject to 
physical punishment, corporal punishment, verbal abuse, or 
threats. Prohibited actions include but are not limited to 
yelling, slapping, spanking, yanking, shaking, pinching, 
requiring a child to exercise, placing a child into 
uncomfortable positions, exposing a child to extreme 
temperatures or other measures producing physical pain, 
putting anything in a child’s mouth, using abusive or profane 
language including but not limited to telling a child to “shut 
up”, or threatening a child with a prohibited action even 
though there is/was no intent to follow through with the 
threat. Cruel, severe, unusual, or unnecessary punishment 
shall not be inflicted upon children. Derogatory remarks 
shall not be made in the presence of children about family 
members of children in care or about the children 
themselves. No child or group of children shall be allowed to 
discipline another child. No child or group of children shall 
be allowed to bully another child. No child shall be deprived 
of food or beverages. Children shall not be restrained by 
devices, including but not limited to high chairs or feeding 
tables, for disciplinary purposes. Children shall not have 
active play time withheld as punishment. Time out, if used, 
shall take place within sight of staff. The length of each time 
out session shall be based on the age of the child and shall 
not exceed one minute per each year of age of the child. 

Time out shall not be used for children under age two as 
these children are too young to cognitively understand the 
consequence.  

D. The provider shall establish and follow a written, 
posted abuse/neglect policy that includes the following 
information: As mandated reporters, all staff and owners 
shall report any suspected abuse or neglect of a child in 
accordance with R.S. 14:403 to the local Child Welfare 
Section. The provider shall not delay reporting suspected 
abuse or neglect to the local Child Welfare Section in an 
attempt to conduct an internal investigation to verify the 
abuse/neglect allegations. As required by Louisiana law, the 
provider shall not require any staff, including unpaid staff, to 
report suspected abuse/neglect to the provider or 
management prior to reporting to the Child Welfare Section. 
Contact the local Child Welfare Section (child protection). 

E. Parents shall be advised of the licensing authority of 
DCFS Licensing Section. Parents shall also be advised that 
they may call or write the Licensing Section should they 
have significant, unresolved licensing complaints. This 
written policy as well as the current telephone number and 
address of the Licensing Section shall be posted. 

Department of Children and Family Services 
Division of Programs 
Licensing Section 
P. O. Box 3078 
Baton Rouge, LA 70821 
(225) 342-9905 Fax:(225) 342-9690 

F. Providers shall post information advising parents that 
licensing inspections, regulations, and information regarding 
licensed child care facilities are available online at the DCFS 
website. In addition, parents shall be advised that licensing 
inspections are also available upon request to DCFS. 

G. The provider shall establish and follow a policy for 
enrolled children advising parents that they are welcome to 
visit the facility anytime during regular hours of operation. 
This written policy shall be posted. 

H. The provider shall offer at least three parent 
involvement opportunities each year. Activities may include 
but are not limited to open house, parent education session, 
parent/staff conference, family pot luck dinner, holiday 
party, parent/grandparent’s day, week of the young child, or 
carnival. Provider shall maintain parent notices of the parent 
involvement activities offered. 

I. The provider shall establish and follow a non-
discrimination policy that prohibits discrimination by child 
care providers on the basis of race, color, creed, sex, national 
origin, handicapping condition, ancestry, or whether the 
child is being breastfed. This written policy shall be posted. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7308. Children’s Records 

A. A record shall be maintained on each child to include: 
1. child's information form signed and dated by the 

parent and updated as changes occur, listing: the child’s 
name, date of birth, sex, date of admission; name of 
parent(s) and child’s and parent’s home address; phone 
numbers where the parents can be reached while the child is 
in care; name and phone number of a responsible person to 
contact in an emergency if parents cannot be located 
promptly; name and telephone number of child’s physician; 
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name and telephone number of the child’s dentist, if 
applicable; any special concerns, including but not limited to 
allergies, chronic illness, and any special needs of the child, 
if applicable; and any special dietary needs, restrictions, or 
food allergies/intolerances, if applicable. 

2. A written authorization signed and dated by the 
parent to secure emergency medical treatment. 

3. A written authorization signed and dated by the 
parent noting the first and last names of individuals to whom 
the child may be released other than the parent(s), including 
any other child care facilities, transportation services, or any 
person or persons who removes the child from the facility. 

a. A child shall never be released to anyone unless 
authorized in writing by the parent.  

b. Any additions/deletions shall be signed and dated 
by the parent. 

c. The provider shall verify the identity of the 
authorized person prior to releasing the child. 

4. A written statement from a medical authority when 
the child requires a special diet for medical reasons. 

5. A written statement from the child’s parent when 
the child is on a modified diet for religious reasons.  

B. The provider shall obtain written, informed consent 
from the parent prior to releasing any information, 
recordings, or photographs from which the child might be 
identified, except for authorized state and federal agencies. 
This one time written consent shall be obtained from the 
parent and updated as changes occur.  

C. The provider utilizing any type of recordings or 
taping of children, including but not limited to digital 
recordings, videotaping, audio recordings, web cam, security 
monitoring, etc., shall obtain documentation signed and 
dated by the parent indicating their awareness of such 
recordings/monitoring and its potential uses. 

D. The provider shall maintain the confidentiality and 
security of all children's records. Staff shall not disclose or 
knowingly permit the disclosure of any information 
concerning the child or his/her family, directly or indirectly, 
to any unauthorized person. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7309. Required Staff 

A. Each facility shall have a qualified director or 
director-designee who is an on-site, full-time staff person at 
the licensed location during the day time hours of operation 
(prior to 9 pm) and who is responsible for planning, 
managing, and controlling the facility's daily activities, as 
well as responding to parental concerns and ensuring that 
minimum licensing requirements are met. 

B. When the director or director designee is not on the 
premises due to a temporary absence, there shall be an 
individual appointed as staff-in-charge who is at least 21 
years of age. This staff shall be given the authority to 
respond to emergencies, inspections/inspectors, parental 
concerns, and have access to all required information. All 
staff shall be notified of this designation. 

C. Staff shall be age 18 years or older. However, the 
provider may include in the child/staff ratio a person 16 or 
17 years of age who is never left alone with children and 
who works under the direct supervision of a qualified adult 
staff. 

D. When children are picked up or dropped off at the 
facility by a public or private school bus, staff shall be 
present to safely escort children to and from the bus. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7310. Personnel Records/Qualifications 

A. At least one staff assigned to a group of children shall 
provide documentation of a high school diploma or GED. 
Within three years of effective date of these regulations, all 
staff having supervisory and /or disciplinary authority over 
children shall provide documentation of a high school 
diploma or GED. Staff currently employed as of the 
effective date of these regulations are not required to meet 
this standard as long as their employment remains 
continuous with their current owner. 

B. A record for each paid and unpaid staff person, 
including substitutes and foster grandparents, shall be on file 
at the facility. Record shall include: 

1. an application or a staff information form with the 
following information: name; date of birth; address; phone 
number; previous training/work experience; educational 
background; staff hire date; and staff last date of 
employment and reason for leaving, if applicable. 

2. a copy of a state or federal government issued 
photo ID. 

3. documentation of three current, reference checks or 
phone notes signed and dated attesting affirmatively to 
his/her character, qualifications, and suitability to care and 
supervise children. These references shall be obtained from 
persons not related to the staff person. A letter from the 
foster grandparent agency, signed and dated by the agency 
representative, stating that references were checked and 
affirmed his/her character, qualifications, and suitability to 
care and supervise children, is acceptable for foster 
grandparents. 

4. a written job description signed and dated by the 
staff person for each position, listing specific duties and 
whether or not the individual has supervisory or disciplinary 
authority over children.  

5. documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present on the child care premises. No person with a 
criminal conviction of a felony, or a plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere to a felony, or conviction of or a plea of guilty or 
nolo contender to any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, 
R.S. 14:2, R.S. 15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile 
victim, shall be eligible to own, operate, and/or be present in 
any capacity on the child care premises. For any owner or 
operator, a clear criminal background check in accordance 
with 46:51.2 shall be obtained prior to the issuance of a 
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license or approval of a change of ownership. In addition, an 
owner, a director, or a director designee shall not have a 
conviction of, or plea of guilty or nolo contender to any 
crime in which an act of fraud or intent to defraud is an 
element of the offense. 

a. An individual that applies for a position of 
supervisory or disciplinary authority over children in a child 
care facility may provide a certified copy of their criminal 
background check obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of 
Criminal Identification and Information Section of the 
Louisiana State Police. If an individual provides a certified 
copy of their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana State Police to the provider, this criminal 
background check shall be accepted by DCFS for a period of 
one year from the date of issuance of the certified copy. A 
photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file at the 
facility in which the individual is currently employed. 
However, prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the provider shall 
request and obtain a satisfactory criminal check from 
Louisiana State Police in order for the individual to continue 
employment at the facility. If the clearance is not obtained 
by the provider prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the staff person is no 
longer allowed on the child care premises until a clearance is 
received. 

6. Prior to employment, each prospective employee or 
volunteer shall complete a state central registry disclosure 
form (SCR 1) provided by DCFS as required by R.S. 
46:1414.1. 

C. The following information shall be kept on file for 
therapeutic professionals and extracurricular personnel, e.g., 
computer instructor, dance instructor, tumble bus personnel, 
speech therapists, licensed health care professionals, state-
certified teachers employed through a local school board, art 
instructors, and other outside contractors: 

1. Documentation of a satisfactory criminal record 
check from Louisiana State Police as required by R.S. 
46:51.2. This check shall be obtained prior to the individual 
being present on the child care premises. No person who has 
been convicted of, or a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, 
any offense included in R.S. 15:587.1, R.S. 14:2, R.S. 
15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile victim shall be 
present in any capacity on the child care premises.  

a. Independent contractors, therapeutic 
professionals, and/or extracurricular personnel may provide 
a certified copy of their criminal background check obtained 
from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and 
Information Section of the Louisiana State Police to the 
provider prior to being present and working with a child or 

children at the facility. If an individual provides a certified 
copy of their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana State Police to the provider, this criminal 
background check shall be accepted by the DCFS for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility. Prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified copy, the individual shall request and obtain a 
current certified copy of their criminal background check 
obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 
Police in order to continue providing services to any child 
the child care facility. If the clearance is not provided to the 
provider prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified criminal background check, the individual shall no 
longer be allowed on the child care premises until a 
clearance is received. This criminal background check shall 
be accepted by the DCFS for a period of one year from the 
date of issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy of the 
certified copy shall be kept on file at the facility. 

2. Documentation of their presence at the facility is to 
include: name; date of visit; arrival and departure times; and 
purpose of visit. 

D. The following information shall be kept on file at the 
facility for each student trainee: 

1. an application or a staff information form to 
include: name; date of birth; address and phone number; and 
name of educational facility and course instructor; 

2. duties performed while present in the child care 
facility; and 

3. documentation of their presence at the facility to 
include: name, date of visit, arrival and departure times, and 
purpose of visit. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7311. Director Qualifications 

A. The director/director designee shall be at least 21 
years of age, have a high school diploma or GED, and one 
year of experience in a licensed child care facility or 
comparable setting. 

B. The director/director designee shall have 
documentation of meeting 100 points in the three categories 
of education, experience, and administration related training 
in accordance with chart below. In obtaining the 100 points, 
all three categories shall be used. Duplicate trainings 
provided by the same trainer are not accepted. 
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Education Points 

Experience 
1 point per year – staff without 
supervisory or disciplinary 
authority over children. 
2 points per year – staff with 
supervisory or disciplinary 
authority over children. 
4 points per year – director or 
director designee approved by 
Licensing 
( up to maximum number of points) 

Maximum 
Points 

Administration & Job Specific 
Related Training 

Maximum 
Points 

Bachelor’s or higher degree 
from a college or university 
recognized by the US 
Department of Education in 
Early Childhood Education or 
Child Development 75 

Full-time (32 hours or more per 
week) in a child care facility or 
comparable setting 40 

Administrator Certificate from La. 
Pathways 60 

Bachelor’s or higher degree 
from a college or university 
recognized by the US 
Department of Education 
related to school age care for 
a School-Age Only Program 75 

Part-time (less than 32 hours per 
week) in a child care facility or 
comparable setting 20 

3 college credit hours in child care 
administration and/or business 
administration 45 

Associate’s degree from a 
college or university 
recognized by the US 
Department of Education.in 
Early Childhood Education or 
Child Development or 
Bachelor’s degree in child-
related field 50 

Full-time (32 hours or more per 
week) in a child development 
related experience 20 

2 college credit hours in child care 
administration and/or business 
administration 30 

Bachelor’s or higher degree 
from a college or university 
recognized by the US 
Department of Education in 
non-child related field 40 

Part-time (less than 32 hours per 
week) in a child development 
related experience 10 

1 college credit hour in child care 
administration and/or business 
administration 15 

Associate’s degree from a 
college or university 
recognized by the US 
Department of Education in 
non-child related field 30 

Experience as a registered family 
day care home 20 

One point awarded for each clock 
hour of training in child care 
administration and/or business 
administration 75 

Current Child Development 
Associate (CDA) 30 

   
   

Current National Administrator’s 
Credential 40 

Diploma from a vocational 
school in child development 
or early education 20 

   

   

One point awarded for each clock 
hour in child development or early 
childhood education 40 

Directors grandfathered in 
prior to (date) that do not 
meet the above qualifications 10 

   

   Approved correspondence course 40 

 
C. Directors who met qualifications prior to the 

implementation of the current standards shall retain their 
qualified status as long as their employment remains 
continuous with their current owner. If the director’s 
employment is not continuous or the facility undergoes a 
change of ownership, he/she will have two years from the 
date of the new director position to meet current director 
requirements. However, if the facility’s license is revoked, 
application is denied, or license is not renewed, the director 
shall be required to meet qualifications under the current 
standards. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7312. Staff Development and Training 

A. Orientation Training 
1. Within five business days of employment and prior 

to assuming sole responsibility for a group of children, each 
staff member, including substitutes and foster grandparents, 

shall receive orientation to facility’s policies and practices to 
include the following topics: facility policies and practices, 
including health and safety procedures; emergency 
preparedness and evacuation planning; supervision of 
children; behavior guidance and management policy, 
including prohibited methods; job description; individual 
needs of the children enrolled; detecting and reporting child 
abuse and neglect, including the definition of mandated 
reporter; reporting and documenting incidents (accidents, 
injuries, illnesses, unusual behavior, etc.); current Child Care 
Class “A” Minimum Licensing Standards; daily schedule; 
confidentiality of information regarding children and their 
families; SIDS training, approved by DCFS, for all staff in 
facilities licensed to care for children under age 2. 

2. All staff responsible for transporting children 
(drivers and monitors) shall receive additional orientation 
training in the following areas prior to assuming their 
transportation duties: transportation regulations, including 
modeling of how to properly conduct a visual check of the 
vehicle and demonstration by staff to director on how to
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conduct a visual check; the proper use of child safety 
restraints required by these regulations and state law; the 
proper loading, unloading, and tracking of children as 
required by these regulations; the location of the first aid kit; 
and the emergency procedures for the vehicle, including 
actions to be taken in the event of accidents or breakdowns. 

3. Orientation training (within five business days of 
employment and prior to assuming sole responsibility for a 
group of children) shall include four days of supervised 
work with children. 

4. Documentation of the orientation training shall 
consist of a statement/checklist in the staff record signed and 
dated by the staff person and director, attesting to having 
received the applicable orientation training (Section 
7312.A.1-4), the dates of the orientation training, and the 
dates of the supervised work with children. 

B. CPR and First Aid  
1. A minimum of two staff on the premises shall have 

documentation of current infant/child/adult certification in 
CPR. Original cards shall be presented upon request. This 
training shall be approved by DCFS prior to acceptance. 
Approved courses are listed on the DCFS website. Staff who 
maintain current certification as a first responder are 
considered to have current certification in CPR. 

2. In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 
7312.B.1, facilities with multiple buildings or floors shall 
have at least one currently certified staff in approved 
infant/child/adult CPR in each building and on each floor of 
the facility. Original cards shall be presented upon request. 

3. A minimum of two staff on the premises shall have 
documentation of current pediatric first aid certification. 
Original cards shall be presented upon request. This 
certification shall be approved by the DCFS prior to 
acceptance. Approved courses are listed on the DCFS 
website. Staff who maintain current certification as a first 
responder are considered to have current certification in 
pediatric first aid. 

4. In addition to meeting the requirements of Section 
7312.B.3, facilities with multiple buildings or floors shall 
have at least one currently certified staff in approved 
pediatric first aid in each building and on each floor of the 
facility. Original cards shall be presented upon request. 

5. For providers that arrange or provide transportation, 
at least one staff in each vehicle (facility provided or 
contract) shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and current pediatric 
first aid certification. Original cards shall be presented upon 
request. 

6. At least two of the staff on the field trip, including 
water-related field trips, shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and pediatric first aid 
certification. Original cards shall be presented upon request. 

7. Non-vehicular excursions shall require at least one 
staff in attendance and accessible to children at all times 
with documented current certification in infant/child/adult 
CPR and pediatric first aid. Original cards shall be presented 
upon request.  

C. Medication Administration Training. Each facility, 
whether administering medication or not, shall have at least 
two staff trained in medication administration; however, all 
staff that administer medication shall have medication 
administration training. Training shall be obtained every two 

years from an approved Child Care Health Consultant. By 
virtue of his/her current license, a licensed practical nurse 
(LPN) or registered nurse (RN) shall be considered to have 
medication administration training. 

D. Ongoing Training 
1. The director shall conduct and document at least 

one staff training monthly in which child care topics are 
reviewed with facility staff. Training may be in the form of 
meetings, newsletters, policy memos, or other forms of staff 
communication. Documentation of all forms of training shall 
consist of the date of the training, topics of training, and 
signatures of all staff verifying completion of training. Each 
quarter, at least one training session shall be conducted face-
to-face with the staff. At least quarterly, topics shall include 
but are not limited to the following: preventive measures to 
eliminate or decrease the number and severity of incidents or 
accidents; problem areas identified by licensing personnel, 
parents, and/or staff; and other child care areas as deemed 
necessary by the director. 

2. When a staff person is re-trained, counseled, or 
reprimanded in response to an incident, documentation shall 
include date, topic(s), and signatures of staff and director. 

3. The director shall ensure that each paid and unpaid 
staff, including substitutes and Foster Grandparents, receives 
training on an annual basis in the following topics: facility 
policies and practices, including health and safety 
procedures; emergency preparedness and evacuation 
planning; supervision of children; behavior guidance and 
management policy, including prohibited methods; job 
description; individual needs of the children enrolled; 
detecting and reporting child abuse and neglect (including 
the definition of mandated reporter); reporting and 
documenting incidents (accidents, injuries, illnesses, unusual 
behavior, etc.); current Child Care Minimum Licensing 
Standards; daily schedule; and confidentiality of information 
regarding children and their families. Documentation shall 
consist of a checklist/statement signed and dated by the staff 
and the director that these topics have been covered. 

E. Continuing Education 
1. All paid and unpaid staff who are left alone with the 

children or who have supervisory or disciplinary authority 
over children, however temporary, shall complete 24 clock 
hours of DCFS-approved training each calendar year in job-
related subject areas beginning in January 2012. Hours are 
pro-rated if a staff person has not been employed for the 
entire 12-month period. DCFS shall make available at least 
nine clock hours of approved on-line training each calendar 
year at no cost to the staff. Documentation shall consist of 
certificates received by staff. Original certificates shall be 
presented upon request. Medication administration training 
by a Child Care Health Consultant may count toward 
fulfilling up to three hours towards the 24 clock hour 
requirement in the calendar year that the training was 
completed. Infant/Child/Adult CPR may be counted up to 
three hours towards the 24 clock hour requirement in the 
calendar year that the training was completed. Pediatric First 
Aid may be counted up to three hours towards the 24 clock 
hour requirement in the calendar year that the training was 
completed. The required annual training hours from the 
DHH may be counted up to four hours towards the 24 clock 
hour requirement in the calendar year that the training was 
completed. 
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2. Foster grandparents who are not counted in the 
child/staff ratio are excluded from this 24 clock hour training 
requirement. 

3. Staff who are not counted in the child/staff ratio, 
are never left alone with children, or do not have supervisory 
or disciplinary authority over children are excluded from the 
24 clock hour training requirement. 

4. Directors/director designees shall complete three 
hours of DCFS approved training in facility administration 
practices. These hours may be counted towards the 24 clock 
hour requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7315. Required Child/Staff Ratios and Group Size 

A. There shall always be a minimum of two staff present 
during hours of operation when children are present. In 
addition, child/staff ratios shall be met at all times as the 
number of children supervised by one staff person shall not 
exceed the ratios as indicated below. Only those staff 
members directly involved in child care and supervision 
shall be considered in assessing child/staff ratio. 

 
Ages of Children Child/Staff Child/Staff 

Ratio Ratio 
Ratio  
Effective May 1, 2012 

Infants under 12 months 5:1 5:1 
One year old 7:1 7:1 
Two year old 11:1 9:1 
Three year old 13:1 13:1 
Four year old 15:1 15:1 
Five year old 19:1 19:1 
Six year old and up 23:1 23:1 

1. When a mixed group includes children less than 
five years of age, the age of the youngest child determines 
the ratio for the group to which the youngest child is 
assigned. 

2. An average of the child/staff ratio may be applied 
to a group of children ages five and older. During rest time, 
required staffing shall be present in the building and 
available to assist as needed to satisfy child/staff ratios. 
(Refer to Section 7317 regarding supervision requirements.) 

B. When the nature of a special need or the number of 
children with special needs warrants added care, the provider 
shall add sufficient staff as deemed necessary by the 
Licensing Section in consultation with the provider to 
accommodate for these needs. Provider shall submit a 
written proposal for approval to the Licensing Section 
describing the staffing plan. 

C. Child/staff ratios listed below shall apply when 
children are engaged in water activities, excluding water 
play activities unless children are participating in swimming 
lessons with a certified water safety instructor. 

 
Three year old 13:2 
Four year old 15:2 
Five year old 19:2 
Six year old and up 23:2 

 
1. The child/staff ratio for the youngest child 

determines the ratio when children are of mixed ages in a 
group. 

D. Child/staff ratio as specified in Sections 7315.A plus 
two additional adults shall be met for all field trips, 
excluding water activity field trips, for children ages 4 years 
and younger. An adult staff member from the licensed 
program shall be present with each group of children. At no 
time shall a child or group of children be left alone without 
an adult staff member present unless the child is supervised 
by his/her own parent or designated representative 
authorized by the parent. 

E. Child/staff ratio as specified in Section 7315.A, plus 
one additional adult, shall be met for all field trips, 
excluding water activity field trips for children ages 5 years 
and older. An adult staff member from the licensed program 
shall be present with each group of children. At no time shall 
a child or group of children be left alone without an adult 
staff member present unless the child is supervised by 
his/her own parent or designated representative authorized in 
writing by the parent. 

F. Child/staff ratio as specified in Section 7315.A, plus 
one additional adult, shall be met for all non-vehicular 
excursions, excluding water activity excursions. An adult 
staff member from the licensed program shall be present 
with each group of children. At no time shall a child or 
group of children be left alone without an adult staff member 
present unless the child is supervised by his/her own parent 
or designated representative authorized in writing by the 
parent. 

G. A designated number of children shall relate to a 
designated staff on a regular and consistent basis. 

H. Maximum number of children per group shall not 
exceed the following: 

 

Ages of Children 
Group 

Size 
Group Size 

Effective May 1, 2013 
Infants under 12 months NR 10 
One year old NR 14 
Two year old NR 18 
Three year old NR 26 
Four year old NR 30 
Five year old NR NR 
Six year old and up NR NR 

 
I. A group is determined by the number of children 

cared for by a caregiver or group of caregivers in a 
designated area not to exceed the maximum group size. 

J. When more than one group of children use the same 
room, the room is divided into designated activity areas for 
each group, using a temporary wall or physical barrier that is 
at least three feet in height and appropriate for defining 
limits and reducing distraction. 

K. Groups with their assigned staff may be combined for 
special group activities (e.g., movie time, outdoor play, 
indoor sports activities, meals, rest time, or field trips). 
Designated area requirements do not apply during these 
activities.  

L. The DCFS form noting child/staff ratios and group 
size shall be posted in each room included in the facility’s 
licensed capacity.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
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§7317. Supervision 
A. Children shall be supervised at all times on the 

premises, on field trips, and on non-vehicular excursions, 
including all water activities. Children shall not be left alone 
in any room, (excluding the restroom as noted in Section 
7317.B) outdoors, or in vehicles, even momentarily, without 
a staff present. A staff person shall be assigned to supervise 
specific children whose names and whereabouts that staff 
person shall know and with whom the staff person shall be 
physically present. Staff shall be able to hear and see each 
child in his/her care. 

B. Children who are developmentally able may be 
permitted to go to the restroom on the child care premises 
independently, provided that: staff member’s proximity to 
children assures immediate intervention to safeguard a child 
from harm while in the restroom; individuals who are not 
staff members may not enter the facility restroom area while 
in use by any child other than their own child; children five 
years of age and younger shall be supervised by staff 
members who are able to hear the child while in the 
restroom; and children six years of age and older may be 
permitted to go and return from the restroom without staff; 
however, staff must know whereabouts of child. 

C. When children are outside, the staff member shall be 
able to summon another adult staff without leaving the group 
unsupervised. 

D. Staff shall actively supervise children engaged in 
water activities and shall be able to see all parts of the 
swimming pool, including the bottom. 

E. Children ages two years and above may be grouped 
together at rest time with one staff in each room supervising 
the resting children. If two rooms share a common doorway, 
one staff may supervise the resting children. If the view of 
the staff supervising the children is obstructed by an object 
such as a low shelving unit, children shall be checked by 
sight by staff continually circulating among the resting 
children. 

F. Areas used by the children shall be lighted in such a 
way as to allow visual supervision at all times.  

G. While on duty with a group of children, staff shall 
devote their entire time to supervising the children, meeting 
the needs of the children, and participating with them in their 
activities. Staff duties that include cooking, housekeeping, 
and/or administrative functions shall not interfere with the 
supervision of children. 

H. Diaper changing areas shall be situated so that if only 
one staff is supervising the group, the staff’s back shall not 
be to the remaining children in the group unless a mirror is 
positioned that allows the staff to see the remaining children. 

I. Individuals who do not serve a purpose related to the 
care of children or who hinder supervision of the children 
shall not be present in the facility. 

J. The entire facility and play yard shall be checked 
after the last child departs to ensure that no child is left 
unattended at the facility. Documentation shall include date, 
time of visual check, and signature of the staff conducting 
the visual check. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 

§7319. Food Service and Nutrition 
A. Well-balanced and nourishing meals and snacks that 

are of sufficient proportions and nutritional value to meet 
each child’s health needs shall be provided and served at the 
facility as specified under the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program of the United States Department of Agriculture. A 
minimum of a breakfast or morning snack, lunch, and 
afternoon snack shall be served to children; however, meals 
and snacks shall be served at least every two and one-half to 
three hour intervals. In addition, if after-school children 
arrive and have not eaten within the last three hours, they 
shall be served a meal or snack within 30 minutes of arrival 
time. 

B. Additional servings of nutritious food over and above 
the required daily minimum shall be provided to children if 
requested, unless there are special dietary written 
instructions from the child’s doctor, a registered nutritionist, 
registered dietitian, or parent. 

C. Children under 4 years of age shall not have foods 
that are implicated in choking incidents. Examples of these 
foods include but are not limited to the following: whole hot 
dogs, hot dogs sliced in rounds, raw carrot rounds, whole 
grapes, hard candy, nuts, seeds, raw peas, hard pretzels, 
chips, peanuts, popcorn, marshmallows, spoonfuls of peanut 
butter, and chunks of meat larger than what can be 
swallowed whole.  

D. Children shall be allowed the time to eat each meal 
and snack within a reasonable time. Children shall not be 
forced to finish all their food. 

E. Children shall be encouraged without coercing or 
negative consequences to eat a well balanced diet. 

F. The week’s menu shall be planned and prominently 
posted by the first day of each week and remain posted 
throughout the week. Posted menus shall be date-specific 
and shall list the specific food items served. If rotating 
menus are utilized, documentation shall note which menu is 
current. Menu substitutions or additions shall be posted on 
or near the menu. Any substitution shall be of equal 
nutritional value. 

G. Information regarding children’s food 
allergies/special diets shall be posted in the food prep area 
with special care so that the individual children’s names are 
not in public view. If a parent chooses to allow the provider 
to post the child’s name and allergy information in public 
view, the provider shall obtain a signed and dated statement 
from the parent granting such permission. 

H. Children’s food shall be served on individual plates, 
napkins, paper towels, or in cups, as appropriate.  

I. Providers who do not serve breakfast shall have 
nutritious food available for children who arrive in the 
morning without having eaten breakfast. 

J. Food shall not be sold to the children. Soft drink 
vending machines and other food dispensers for personnel 
use shall be located outside of the areas utilized by children 
and shall be inaccessible to children.  

K. Infants shall be held while being bottle-fed to provide 
a nurturing experience; however, if written permission is 
obtained from the parent, an infant or child who can hold a 
bottle may be placed in a crib, on a mat, in a carrier, etc. 

L. A child’s bottle shall not be propped at any time. 
M. Microwave ovens shall not be used for warming 

bottles or infant food.  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 629

N. Drinking water shall be readily available indoors and 
outdoors to children at all times. Drinking water shall be 
offered and children shall be encouraged to drink water at 
least once between meals and snacks, before going outdoors, 
and upon returning from outdoors. Water shall be given to 
infants only with written instructions from parents or child’s 
physician. 

O. Parents/children are not allowed to bring food into the 
facility with the exception of bottled formula, breast milk, 
infant food, special dietary items related to medical or 
religious reasons, and refreshments for special occasions. 

P. Bottled formula/breast milk shall be in labeled bottles 
or containers with labeled caps/covers with the child’s name 
or initials. Bottles and containers shall be refrigerated upon 
arrival. Used and unused bottles shall be sent home daily. 

Q. Infant food provided by the parent shall be in a 
container or jar labeled with the child’s name or initials. If 
food is fed directly from the container or jar, any uneaten 
food shall be discarded after one feeding. 

R. Thermometers shall be provided in each refrigerator 
to ensure that perishable food is refrigerated at 41 degrees 
Fahrenheit or lower. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7320. Health Service to the Child 

A. In accordance with R.S. 46:1428, providers shall 
provide each child's parent or legal guardian with 
information concerning the influenza immunization by 
November 1 of every year. Information shall be provided by 
DCFS annually to each licensed facility. 

B. Upon arrival at the facility, each child’s physical 
condition shall be observed for possible signs of illness, 
infections, bruises, injuries, etc. When noted, results 
including an explanation from the parent or child shall be 
documented.  

C. Incidents, injuries, accidents, illnesses, and unusual 
behavior shall be reported to the parent or guardian no later 
than the child’s release to the parent or authorized 
representative on the day of the occurrence. 

D. Immediate notification to the parent or designated 
person is required after providing and/or seeking necessary 
medical attention for the child in the following situations:  

blood not contained in an adhesive strip; injury of the 
neck and head; eye injury; human bite which breaks the 
skin; any animal bite; an impaled object; broken or 
dislodged teeth; allergic reaction; skin changes (e.g. rash, 
spots, swelling, etc.); unusual breathing; symptoms of 
dehydration; any temperature reading over 101 oral, 102 
rectal, or 100 axillary; or any injury or illness requiring 
professional medical attention. 

E. Documentation of incidents/injuries/accidents shall be 
maintained. Documentation shall include: 

name of child; date and time of incident; location where 
incident took place; description of how incident occurred; 

part of body involved; description of injury; number and 
name of staff in classroom or on playground where 
incident/injury/accident occurred; number of children in 
classroom or on playground where incident/injury/accident 
occurred; actions taken by staff; time of parental notification 

(unsuccessful attempts to notify the parents/guardians, 
including phone number and times called, shall be 
documented); name of the person notified; signature of 
person notifying parent; and any corrective action to ensure 
that the incident does not re-occur. The report shall be signed 
by the individual to whom the child is released on the day of 
the incident. If the parent refuses to sign, a staff shall 
document that decision. 

F.1. Documentation of illnesses or unusual behavior shall 
be maintained. Documentation shall include: 

a. child’s name; type/description of illness or 
unusual behavior; date and time of onset and actions taken; 

b. time of parental notification (unsuccessful 
attempts to notify the parents/guardians, including phone 
number and times called, shall be documented); name of 
person contacted; and signature of person notifying the 
parent. 

2. The report shall be signed by the individual to 
whom the child is released on the day of the illness/unusual 
behavior. If the parent refuses to sign, a staff shall document 
that decision. 

G. In no situation which requires emergency medical 
attention, shall the provider delay seeking care while 
attempting to make contact with the parent/guardian. 

H. Information regarding a child’s medical condition 
may be posted in public view if the provider obtains a signed 
and dated statement from the parent granting such 
permission.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7321. Medication Administration 

A. For prescription medication to be administered at the 
facility, the provider shall maintain a standardized printout 
from the pharmacy. For non-prescription medication to be 
administered at the facility, the provider shall maintain bottle 
packaging for the medication or a printed document from the 
manufacturer’s website. This information shall be 
maintained in order for the provider to be aware of side 
effects and contraindications. 

B. All medication sent to the facility shall be in its 
original container, shall not have an expired date, and shall 
be clearly labeled with the child's name to ensure that 
medication is for individual use only.  

C. All aerosol medications shall be delivered to the child 
care facility in pre-measured dosages. During the 
administration of this medication, staff shall ensure the child 
is not disturbed by other children. 

D. The provider shall follow any special directions as 
indicated on the medication bottle (e.g., before or after 
meals, with food or milk, refrigerate, etc.). 

E. If the non-prescription medication label reads “to 
consult physician”, a written physician’s authorization with 
child’s name, date, medication name, and dosage shall be on 
file in order to administer the medication in addition to the 
parental authorization.  

F. When parents administer medication to their own 
children on the child care premises, the following 
information shall be documented by either the parent or 
facility staff: date; child’s name; time administered; 
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medication name; dosage administered; name of person 
administering medication; and signature of person 
completing the form. 

G. The provider shall not apply topical 
ointments/sprays/creams (e.g., sunscreen, insect repellant, 
diaper rash ointment, etc.) without a written annual 
authorization signed and dated by the parent. If changes 
occur, parent shall update the authorization with a signature 
and date. 

H. Children shall not administer their own medications 
without written authorization from the physician. Children 
shall administer medication in the presence of a staff person. 
In addition to authorization from the physician, parental 
authorization shall include: child’s name; name of the 
medication; date(s) to be administered within the current 
calendar week, excluding emergency and “as needed” 
medications; dosage (not acceptable to note “as indicated on 
bottle”); time to be administered, excluding emergency and 
“as needed” medications; special instructions, if applicable; 
and signature of parent and date of signature. 

I. Medication administration records for children 
administering their own medication shall be maintained 
verifying that the medication was given according to 
physician and parent's authorization, including: date; time; 
dosage administered; signature of child; and signature of 
staff person who witnessed administration of medication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7322. Routine Medication Administration (excluding 

emergency and “as needed” medication) 
A. No medication of any type (prescription, non-

prescription, or special medical procedure) shall be 
administered by facility staff unless authorized in writing by 
the parent. Authorization shall include:  

1. child’s name; 
2. name of the medication; date(s) to be administered 

within the current calendar week;  
3. dosage (not acceptable to note “as indicated on 

bottle”); time to be administered;  
4. special instructions, if applicable; and signature of 

parent and date of signature. 
B. Medication administration records shall be 

maintained verifying that the medication was given 
according to parent's authorization, including: date; time; 
dosage administered; and signature (not initials) of the staff 
member who gave the medication. 

C. All medications shall be sent home at the end of each 
calendar week. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7323. “As Needed” Medication 

A. No “as needed” medication of any type (prescription, 
non-prescription, or special medical procedure) or 
maintenance prescription shall be administered by facility 
staff unless authorized in writing by the parent. 
Authorization shall be updated every three months by the 
parent and as changes occur and shall include: child’s name; 

name of the medication; circumstances for administering “as 
needed” medication; dosage (not acceptable to note “as 
indicated on bottle”); special instructions, if applicable; and 
signature of parent and date of signature. 

B. Medication administration records shall be 
maintained verifying that the medication was given 
according to parent's authorization, including: date; time; 
dosage administered; signature (not initials) of the staff 
member who gave the medication; and phone contact (date 
and time) with the parent prior to giving “as needed” 
medication. 

C. Children with chronic health needs that require 
medical procedures such as tube feeding require specific 
instructions from the child’s health care provider as part of 
an overall care plan. Administration of feedings or 
medications through a tube-feeding apparatus shall be 
performed by a staff member trained and authorized by a 
parent or individual designated by a parent. Parental 
authorization and training shall be documented and include 
the child’s name, date of the training, name of staff trained, 
signature of staff trained, and signature of parent. 
Documentation of feedings/medications administered shall 
include child’s name, date, time, what was administered, and 
signature of staff that administered food/medication to child. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7324. Emergency Medication 

A. No medication of any type (prescription, non-
prescription, or special medical procedure) shall be 
administered by facility staff unless authorized in writing by 
the parent.  

B. There shall be a plan of action and parental 
authorization for children who require emergency 
medication (e.g., Epipen, Benadryl). Parental authorization 
and plan of care shall be updated as changes occur and at 
least every six months. Parental authorization and plan of 
care shall include: child’s name; name of the medication; 
dosage (not acceptable to note “as indicated on bottle”); 
method of administration; symptoms that would indicate the 
need for the medication; actions to take once symptoms 
occur; description of how to use the medication; and 
signature of parent and date of signature. 

C. Medication administration records shall be 
maintained verifying that the medication was given 
according to the authorization, including: date; time; dosage 
administered; symptoms noted that indicated the need for the 
medication; actions taken once symptoms occurred; 
description of how medication was administered; signature 
(not initials) of the staff member who gave the medication; 
and phone contact (date, time, and signature of person who 
contacted parent) with the parent after administering 
emergency medication. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7325. Safe Sleep Practices 

A. Only one infant shall be placed in each crib. All 
infants shall be placed on their backs for sleeping.  
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1. Written authorization from the child’s physician is 
required for any other sleeping position. A notice of 
exception to this requirement shall be posted on or near the 
baby’s crib and shall specify the alternate sleep position. 
Written authorization from the child’s physician is required 
for a child to sleep in a car seat or other similar device and 
shall include the amount of time that the child is to remain in 
said device. The written authorization shall be updated every 
three months and as changes occur. 

B. “Back to sleep” signs shall be posted above or on 
each crib.  

C. Infants shall not be placed in positioning devices for 
sleeping unless the child has a note on file from the child’s 
physician authorizing the device.  

D. Infants who use pacifiers will be offered their pacifier 
when they are placed to sleep, and it shall not be placed back 
in the mouth once the child is asleep. 

E. Bibs shall not be worn by any child while asleep. 
F. Each infant shall be placed in a safety-approved crib 

with a firm mattress of no more than six inches and with 
well-fitting sheets.  

1. Cribs shall not have more than 2 and 3/8-inches 
between slats and between the side and end panels.  

2. Decorative cutout areas in crib end panels or 
decorative knobs on the corner posts, which can entrap a 
child's head or catch his or her clothing, are prohibited. 

3. All latching devices on cribs shall hold securely, be 
maintained in proper working condition, and shall not be 
accessible by the child in the crib. 

4. Full size cribs shall be in compliance with ASTM F 
1169-10 as of December 28, 2012. 

G. Cribs shall be free of toys and other soft bedding, 
including fluffy blankets, comforters, bumper pads, pillows, 
stuffed animals, and wedges when the child is in the crib. 

H. Nothing shall be placed over the head or face of the 
infant.  

I. If a blanket is used for covering an infant, only a thin, 
lightweight blanket may be used. If used, the blanket shall 
be tucked in along the sides and foot of the mattress and 
shall not come up higher than the child’s chest. 

J. Staff shall visually check on sleeping infants at least 
every 10 minutes. 

K. A “safe sleep” policy, including all requirements of 
7325.A-K, shall be posted in a prominent place in the infant 
room and included as part of parent policies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7326. Care of Children 

A. Diapers shall be changed when wet or soiled. 
B. While awake, children shall not remain in a crib/baby 

bed, swing, high chair, carrier, playpen, etc., for more than 
30 consecutive minutes. Staff shall engage children in 
individual interaction and provide stimulation to children in 
these settings in a variety of ways, such as talking to, playing 
with, holding, and rocking children. 

C. Infants shall be given the opportunity each day for 
supervised play while positioned on their stomachs. 

D. Daily written reports to include liquid intake, food 
intake, child’s disposition, bowel movements, eating 
patterns, and sleeping patterns shall be given to the parents 

of infants and one year old children on a daily basis. Reports 
shall be kept current throughout the day. 

E. Children shall never be held by a staff removing a 
bottle from a warming device. 

F. Pacifiers attached to strings or ribbons shall not be 
placed around a child’s neck or attached to a child’s clothing. 

G. Hot liquids shall not be consumed in the presence of 
children. 

H. Staff shall adhere to proper techniques for lifting a 
child. Staff shall not lift a child by one or both of child’s 
arms. 

I. Children shall be changed and cleaned immediately 
following a toileting accident.  

J. Staff shall respond promptly to a child’s request for 
toileting assistance. 

K. Potty chairs, if used, shall not be in the open 
classroom area. 

L. A child’s shoe strings shall not be taped to the child’s 
shoes or articles of clothing. 

M. Staff and children shall wash their hands at least at the 
following times: upon arrival at the facility, before preparing 
or serving meals, while giving medication, after playing in 
water used by more than one person, after toileting, while 
helping a child use a toilet or changing diapers, after wiping 
noses or cleaning wounds, after handling pets and other 
animals, after playing in sandboxes, before eating meals or 
snacks, upon coming in from outdoors, after cleaning or 
handling the garbage, and anytime hands become soiled with 
body fluids (urine, saliva, blood, or nasal discharge). 

N. Soap and single use towels shall be available at hand 
washing sinks. 

O. Air machines for drying hands are prohibited. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7327. Indoor Environment 

A. Indoor Space Required 
1. A minimum of at least 35 square feet per child of 

usable indoor space shall be available. The space shall not 
include toilet facilities, hallways, lofts, storage spaces, 
stairways, lockers, offices, storage or food preparation areas, 
rooms used exclusively for dining or sleeping, or rooms used 
exclusively for the care of ill children. Any room counted as 
play space shall be available for play for the duration of the 
facility’s hours of operation. The maximum number of 
children in care at one time, whether on or off the premises, 
shall not exceed the capacity as specified on the current 
license. Indoor space shall include an area for dining. This 
area may be in each classroom. 

2. The number of children using a room shall be based 
on the 35 square feet per child requirement, except for 
dining, sleeping, and other non-routine group activities such 
as film viewing and parties. 

3. Provisions shall be available indoors for 
temporarily isolating a child having or suspected of having a 
communicable disease. 

4. In rooms where there are cribs, there shall be 
adequate open floor play space available for crawling, 
walking, pulling up, and playing that is free of routine-care 
furniture (changing tables, cribs, rocking chairs, high chairs, 
etc.). 
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5. An indoor area shall be maintained for the purpose 
of providing privacy for diapering, dressing, and other 
personal care procedures for children beyond usual diapering 
age (three years of age and above).  

B. Indoor Equipment 
1. A variety of books, educational materials, toys, and 

play materials shall be provided, organized, and displayed 
within children’s reach so that they may select and return 
items independently in each play area. There shall be 
materials and equipment to address the six areas of 
development: physical, language/literacy, social, cognitive, 
emotional, and cultural. Materials shall be available for the 
number of children in care so that each child is able to play 
or use equipment without having to wait with no other 
option available. All materials shall be developmentally 
appropriate to the needs and ages of the children assigned to 
each group. 

2. Individual, labeled space shall be available for each 
child's personal belongings. 

3. Developmentally appropriate seating shall be used. 
Chairs and tables of suitable size shall be available for each 
child. 

4. Feeding tables, if age appropriate, may be used at 
mealtimes. If feeding tables are used, the children’s feet 
must be able to rest comfortably on a foot rest. These same 
tables may also be used for occasional program activities 
that require a table surface for no longer than 30 minutes in 
one day. 

5. Staff shall ensure that the high chair manufacturer’s 
restraint device is used when children are sitting in the high 
chair. Children who are too small or too large to be 
restrained using the manufacturer’s restraint device shall not 
be placed in the high chair. 

6. All diapering surfaces shall be non-porous and shall 
be sanitized after each use. 

7. Individual and appropriate sleeping arrangements 
shall be made available for each child. Individual crib, cot, 
or mat of appropriate size, height, and material, sufficient to 
ensure his/her health and safety, shall be provided. The crib, 
cot, or mat shall be of adequate size to ensure that the child’s 
head and feet rest on the mat or cot. For programs serving 
school age children only, individual and appropriate sleeping 
arrangements shall be made available for a child that 
requests a rest time. 

a. Mattresses shall be of standard size so that they 
fit the crib frame without gaps of more than 1/2 inch. 

b. The mattress support system shall not be easily 
dislodged from any point of the crib by an upward force 
from underneath the crib. 

c. Cribs shall not have corner post extensions over 
1/16 inch or cutouts in the headboards. 

d. Non-full size cribs shall meet the following: 16 
Code of Federal Regulations- Consumer Product Safety 
Commission 1509. Non-full size cribs shall be in compliance 
with ASTM F 406-10a as of December 28, 2012. 

e. Homemade cribs and homemade mattresses are 
prohibited. 

f. Crib railings shall be in the upright locked 
position at all times when the child is in the crib. 

g. Mesh-sided playpens shall have mesh which is 
less than 1/4 inch in size. 

8. Stackable cribs are prohibited. 

9. Children shall not sleep in playpens or mesh-sided 
cribs. 

10. Each child's sleeping accommodations shall be 
assigned to him/her on a permanent basis and labeled. If cot 
and/or mat is sanitized daily, permanent assignment is not 
required. 

11. A labeled sheet or covering shall be provided by 
either the provider or the parent for covering the child during 
rest time. The sheet and/or covering shall be assigned to 
him/her on a permanent basis and labeled. If the sheet and/or 
covering is laundered daily, permanent assignment is not 
required. 

12. Sheets and coverings shall be changed immediately 
when soiled or wet. Routine laundering shall occur at least 
weekly.  

13. Cribs, cots, and mats shall be spaced at least 18 
inches apart when in use to allow easy access by staff and 
safe evacuation of children. 

14. Trampolines are prohibited. 
15. Infant walkers are prohibited. 
16. Toy chests, storage bins, and other equipment with 

attached lids are prohibited. 
17. Latex balloons are prohibited for children younger 

than three years of age and shall not be in areas accessible to 
children under three years of age. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7328. Outdoor Environment 

A. Outdoor Space 
1. Outdoor play space with a direct exit from the 

facility into the outdoor play yard shall be available. If the 
exit does not open directly onto the play yard, the outdoor 
play yard shall be attached to the facility in such a manner to 
ensure that the children are continuously protected by a 
permanent fence or other permanent barrier while going to 
or from the outdoor play yard. Children shall not exit the 
facility through the kitchen. This regulation shall be deemed 
met for providers who met the outdoor play space 
requirement prior to the implementation of the current 
standards as long as no changes are made to the approved 
space. 

2. Facility’s outdoor play space shall be used at 
scheduled outdoor play times. Regularly scheduled off-site 
excursions shall not be made for the purpose of fulfilling the 
outdoor playtime requirement. If the facility is located in a 
school or church, the child care facility shall have time 
designated for exclusive use of the outdoor play area. 

3. The outdoor play space shall be enclosed with a 
permanent fence or other permanent barrier in such a manner 
as to protect the children from traffic hazards, to prevent the 
children from leaving the premises without proper 
supervision, and to prevent contact with animals or 
unauthorized persons. 

a. The barrier/fence shall be at least four feet in 
height. 

b. Any openings in the fence shall be no greater 
than 3 1/2 inches to prevent entrapment. 

c. The fence shall be maintained in a stable, secure, 
upright, and good condition that poses no risk to children. 
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d. Gates shall be closed while children are outdoors. 
4. The outdoor play space shall provide a minimum of 

75 square feet for each child using the play space at any one 
time. The minimum outdoor play space shall be available for 
at least one-third of the licensed capacity. 

5. All air conditioning/heating units, mechanical 
equipment, electrical equipment, or other hazardous 
equipment shall be inaccessible to children. 

6. Crawlspaces shall be inaccessible to children. 
7. Areas where there are open cisterns, wells, ditches, 

fish ponds, swimming pools, and other bodies of water shall 
be made inaccessible to children by fencing and locked 
gates. 

B. Outdoor Equipment, Materials and Furnishings 
1. A variety of outdoor play equipment and materials 

(portable and/or stationary) shall be provided for the number 
of children in care so that each child is able to play or use 
equipment without having to wait with no other option 
available. All materials shall be appropriate to the interests, 
needs and ages of the children assigned to each group. 

2. Play equipment shall be laid out to ensure ample 
clearance space for the use of each play structure as follows: 
Stationary play structures 30 inches or less in height shall be 
spaced at least six feet apart. Stationary play structures more 
than 30 inches in height shall be spaced at least nine feet 
apart. 

3. Play equipment with swings and/or play surfaces 
four feet or higher from the ground shall have protective 
surfacing under the use zone of the equipment. Protective 
surfacing includes loose fill materials such as sand, pea 
gravel, wood chips, or rubber chips. Rubber tiles, rubber 
mats, or poured-in-place rubber are acceptable if they meet 
the Consumer Product Safety Commission 
recommendations. 

a. Protective surfacing at a depth of eight to ten 
inches or rubber mats meeting ASTM Standard F-355 shall 
be used. 

b. Protective surfacing shall extend at least six feet 
in all directions from play equipment with play surfaces four 
feet or higher from the ground. 

c. Protective surfacing shall extend out from swings 
twice the distance of the height of the pivot point of the 
swing set structure.  

4. Climbing or stationary equipment, regardless of 
height, shall not be placed directly on asphalt, concrete, or 
other hard surfaces. 

5. Openings in guardrails or between ladder rungs, or 
any other space that could entrap children, shall measure less 
than 3.5 inches or more than nine inches. 

6. Swing seats made of wood or metal are prohibited. 
7. Playground equipment shall be installed so that an 

average sized adult is not able to cause the fixed structure to 
wobble or tip. 

8. Exposed ends of tubing on playground equipment 
shall be covered with plugs or caps. 

9. Culverts are prohibited on playgrounds. 
10. Sandboxes shall be constructed to permit drainage 

and shall be covered when not in use. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

46:1401 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 

§7329. Safety Requirements 
A. A working phone capable of incoming and outgoing 

calls shall be available at all times and readily available at 
the facility. Facilities located in schools and churches shall 
have a phone within the licensed area. Coin-operated 
phones, cordless phones, or cellular phones are not 
acceptable for this purpose. 

B. When a facility has multiple buildings and a phone is 
not located in each building where the children are housed, 
facility staff shall follow established written procedures for 
securing emergency help. The written plan shall be posted in 
each building. 

C. Appropriate emergency numbers, including but not 
limited to numbers for the fire department, police 
department, and medical facility, and the facility’s physical 
address shall be prominently posted on or near each phone. 

D. The telephone number for poison control shall be 
prominently posted on or near each phone. The Louisiana 
Poison Control Number is 1-800-222-1222. 

E. Indoor and outdoor areas shall be free of hazards.  
F. All equipment used by children shall be maintained in 

a clean, safe condition and in good repair. 
1. There shall be no dangerous angles, sharp edges, 

splinters, protruding nails, nuts and bolts, open S hooks, or 
pinch points within children’s reach. 

2. Play equipment shall be free of sharp points, 
corners, edges, splinters, protruding nails, bolts, or other 
components that could potentially entangle clothing or snag 
skin. 

G. Microwave ovens and bottle warming devices shall be 
inaccessible to children. 

H. Crock pots are prohibited in areas accessible to 
children. 

I. Moveable equipment, including but not limited to 
television sets, bookcases, shelves, appliances, warming 
devices, etc., shall be secured and supported so that it shall 
not fall or tip over. 

J. Prescription and over-the-counter medications, 
poisons, cleaning supplies, harmful chemicals, equipment, 
tools, kitchen knives or potentially dangerous utensils, and 
any substance with a warning label stating it is harmful to or 
that it should be kept out of the reach of children, shall be 
locked away from and inaccessible to children. Whether 
these items are in a cabinet or in an entire room, the area 
shall be locked. Hand soap shall be accessible to children. 
Hand sanitizer gel shall be inaccessible to children when not 
in use.  

K. Refrigerated medication shall be stored in a secure 
container with a lid to prevent access by children and avoid 
contamination of food. 

L. Plastic bags, whether intended for storage, trash, 
diaper disposal, or any other purpose, shall be made 
inaccessible to children when not in use. 

M. Construction, remodeling, or alterations of structures 
shall be done in such a manner as to prevent hazards or 
unsafe conditions (fumes, dust, safety hazards). 

N. Secure railings shall be provided for flights of more 
than three steps and for porches more than three feet from 
the ground. 

O. Accordion gates are prohibited unless there is 
documentation on file that the gate meets the requirements 
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as approved by the Office of Public Health, Sanitarian 
Services. 

P. Unused electrical outlets with a distance less than five 
feet from the floor shall be protected by a safety plug cover. 

Q. Strings and cords shall be inaccessible to children 
under three years of age. These include but are not limited to 
those found on equipment, window coverings, televisions, 
radios, etc. 

R. First aid supplies shall be kept on-site and easily 
accessible to employees and not within the reach of children. 

S. All areas of the facility used by the children, 
including sleep areas, shall be properly heated, cooled, and 
ventilated. Rooms in which infants are sleeping shall be 
maintained at a temperature between 68 and 73 degrees 
Fahrenheit. 

T. Electric space heaters are prohibited. 
U. The provider shall prohibit the use or possession of 

alcohol, tobacco, illegal substances or unauthorized 
potentially toxic substances, fireworks, firearms (loaded or 
unloaded), and pellet or BB guns (loaded or unloaded) on 
the child care premises. A notice to this effect shall be 
posted. 

V. Staff’s personal belongings (including but not limited 
to contents of purses, backpacks, coat pockets, etc.) shall be 
inaccessible to children. 

W. The provider shall post the current copy of “The 
Safety Box” newsletter issued by the Office of the Attorney 
General as required by Chapter 55 of Title 46 of the LRS 
46:2701–2711. Items listed as recalled in the newsletter shall 
not be used and shall be immediately removed from the 
child care premises. 

X. Toxic pesticides shall not be applied while children 
are present. Once applied, children shall not be present in the 
applied area for 12 hours. 

Y. Lawn Care services shall not occur while children are 
on the playground or outside of the child care facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7330. Emergency Preparedness and Evacuation 

Planning 
A. The director, in consultation with appropriate state or 

local authorities, shall establish and follow a written 
emergency and evacuation plan to protect children in the 
event of any emergencies. Written multi-hazard plan shall 
include shelter in place, lock down situations, and 
evacuations with regard to natural disasters, manmade 
disasters, and attacks while children are in care. The plan 
shall be appropriate for the area in which the facility is 
located and address any potential disaster due to that 
particular location. The plan shall be reviewed with staff at 
least twice a year. Documentation shall include staff 
signatures and date reviewed. At a minimum, the plan shall 
be reviewed annually by the director for accuracy and 
updated as changes occur. Documentation of review shall 
consist of the director signature and date. The plan shall also 
include information regarding handling children with special 
needs enrolled in the child care facility as well as 
instructions for infants through children age two. The plan 
shall include but shall not be limited to a system to account 
for all children whether sheltering in place, locking down, or 

evacuating to a pre-determined relocation site. The plan shall 
include a system and back up system to contact parents or 
authorized third party release caretakers of children (how 
and when parents will be notified). The plan shall include a 
system to reunify children and parents following an 
emergency (how and when parents will be notified). Parents 
shall be informed of the details of this emergency plan prior 
to an emergency event. 

B. The plan shall include lock down procedures for 
situations that may result in harm to persons inside the child 
care facility, including but not limited to a shooting, hostage 
incident, intruder, trespassing, disturbance, or any situation 
deemed harmful at the discretion of the director, designee, or 
public safety personnel. The director shall announce the 
“Lock Down” over the public address system or other 
designated system. The alert may be made using a pre-
selected code word. In a “Lock Down” situation, all children 
are kept in classrooms or other designated safe locations that 
are away from the danger. Staff members are responsible for 
accounting for children and ensuring that no one leaves the 
classroom/safe area. Staff shall secure facility entrances, 
ensuring that no unauthorized individual leaves or enters the 
facility. 

1. Staff and children shall remain in the 
classroom/safe area, locking the classroom door, turning off 
the lights, and covering the windows. Staff shall encourage 
children to get under tables, behind cabinets, etc., and, if 
possible, engage in quiet story time activities with the 
children until “all clear” is announced. Parent or authorized 
representative shall be notified no later than at the time of 
pick-up at the child’s release of a “Lock Down” situation at 
the facility on the date of the occurrence. 

C. An individualized emergency plan (including medical 
contact information and additional supplies/equipment 
needed) shall be in place for each child with special needs. 

D. If evacuation of the facility is necessary, provider 
shall have an evacuation pack and all staff shall know the 
location of the pack. The contents shall be replenished as 
needed. At a minimum, the pack shall contain the following: 
list of area emergency phone numbers;  

1. list of emergency contact information and 
emergency medical authorization for all children enrolled;  

2. emergency pick up form; first aid kit; hand 
sanitizer;  

3. wet wipes; tissue;  
4. diapers if serving children who are not yet potty 

trained;  
5. plastic bags;  
6. battery powered flashlight;  
7. battery powered radio;  
8. batteries;  
9. food for all ages of children served, including infant 

food and formula;  
10. disposable cups; and bottled water. 

E. If the facility is located within a ten-mile radius of a 
nuclear power plant or research facility, the facility shall also 
have plans for nuclear evacuation.  

F. Fire drills shall be conducted at least once per month. 
Drills shall be conducted at various times of the day to 
include all children (children attending on certain days only 
and/or at certain times only) and shall be documented. 
Documentation shall include: date and time of drill; number 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 635

of children present; amount of time to evacuate the facility; 
problems noted during drill and corrections noted; and 
signatures (not initials) of staff present. The Licensing 
Section recommends that at least one fire drill every six 
months be held at rest time. 

G. Tornado drills shall be conducted at least once per 
month in the months of March, April, May, and June. Drills 
shall be conducted at various times of the day to include all 
children (children attending on certain days only and/or at 
certain times only) and shall be documented. Documentation 
shall include: date and time of drill; number of children 
present; problems noted during drill and corrections noted; 
and signatures (not initials) of staff present. 

NOTE: For additional information contact the Office of 
Emergency Preparedness (Civil Defense) in your area. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7331. Water Activities 

A. The provider shall obtain written authorization from 
the parent for the child to participate in any water activity or 
water play activity. The statement shall describe all types of 
water activities provided and the authorization shall be 
updated at least annually. It shall list the child’s name, type 
of water/water play activity, location of water activity, 
parent’s signature, and date. 

B. Children under three years of age shall not engage in 
water activities in wading or swimming pools due to the risk 
of fecal-oral contamination and disease. 

C. Use of saunas, spas, or hot tubs by children is 
prohibited.  

D. Swimming, wading, and boating are not allowed at 
lakes, ponds, or other similar bodies of water.  

E. The Provider shall have a written plan that describes 
the method that will be used by staff to account for children 
and ensure their safety while engaged in water activities. 
Staff and children shall be familiar with the method used. 

F. If children use a pool or other bodies of water with a 
depth of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a 
current certificate shall be on duty supervising the children 
participating in swimming or wading activities at all times. 
This individual shall not be counted in child/staff ratio. 
Original cards shall be presented upon request of the 
Licensing Section staff. 

1. For on-site activities, the provider shall have 
documentation of the current lifeguard certification. Original 
cards shall be presented upon request. 

2. For off-site activities, documentation as deemed 
acceptable by the Licensing Section shall be on file at the 
facility verifying that the supervising adult meets the above 
requirement or the lifeguard on duty is currently certified. 

G. At least two staff responsible for supervising the on-
site and/or off-site swimming/wading pools or activities in 
other bodies of water shall have documentation of current 
infant/child/adult CPR certification and Pediatric First Aid 
certification. Original cards shall be presented upon request. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 

§7332. Non-Vehicular Excursions 
A. Written parental authorization shall be obtained for all 

non-vehicular excursions. Authorization shall include the 
name of child, type and location of excursion, description of 
planned route, date, and signature of parent, and shall be 
updated at least annually. 

B. The provider shall maintain a record of all non-
vehicular excursion activities to include date, time, list of 
children, staff, and other adults, and type of excursion. 

C. Children shall not be taken on a non-vehicular 
excursion to prevent the facility from being over capacity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7333. Transportation (Facility-Provided, Parent-

Provided or Contract-Provided) 
A. Transportation arrangements shall conform to state 

laws, including but not limited to those requiring the use of 
seat belts and child restraints. Additionally, no child under 
five years of age shall be transported in any vehicle, 
including a school bus, unless age and weight appropriate 
child restraints are utilized.  

B. Only one child shall be restrained in a single safety 
belt.  

C. The children shall never be left unattended in a 
vehicle. 

D. Each child shall safely board and/or leave the vehicle 
from the curb side of the street or shall be escorted across 
the street. 

E. The vehicle shall be maintained in good repair as 
evidenced by: Ventilation and heating systems shall be 
operational and used to maintain a comfortable temperature 
during transport. The vehicle’s engine shall be maintained in 
working mechanical order. The vehicle’s interior shall be 
clean and free of trash and debris. The vehicle’s seat 
coverings shall be in good repair. Written documentation 
shall be maintained of regular maintenance of all facility 
vehicles to include monthly inspection of tire wear and 
pressure, brakes, lights, and functioning seat belts. 

F. The use or possession of alcohol, tobacco in any 
form, illegal substances or unauthorized potentially toxic 
substances, firearms (loaded or unloaded), or pellet or BB 
guns (loaded or unloaded) in any vehicle used to transport 
children is prohibited. 

G. The number of persons in a vehicle used to transport 
children shall not exceed the manufacturer's recommended 
capacity. 

H. The provider shall maintain a copy of a valid 
appropriate Louisiana driver's license for all individuals who 
drive vehicles (staff, contracted persons, parents) used to 
transport children.  

I. The provider shall maintain in force at all times 
current commercial liability insurance for the operation of 
facility vehicles used to transport children in the event of 
accident or injury. This policy shall extend coverage to any 
staff member who provides transportation for any child in 
the course and scope of his/her employment. Documentation 
shall consist of the insurance policy or current binder that 
includes the name of the child care facility, the name of the 
insurance company, policy number, period of coverage, and 
explanation of the coverage. 
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J. The provider shall maintain a copy of the current 
liability insurance policy for all non-facility-owned vehicles 
(provided by parents for field trips or provided by contract, 
whether daily or field trip) used to transport children. 

K. Parents shall not be required to waive the provider's 
responsibility. Provider may not issue any disclaimer of 
responsibility in any of its policies, handbooks, parent 
contract, advertising, or any other written or verbal form.  

L. The vehicle shall have evidence of a current safety 
inspection. A signed statement by the provider noting the 
expiration date of the vehicle’s safety inspection is 
acceptable for a contracted vehicle or a parent’s vehicle. 

M. There shall be first aid supplies in each provider or 
contracted vehicle. First aid supplies (at least one per trip) 
shall be available for each field trip when parents provide 
transportation. A signed statement by the provider verifying 
that first aid supplies were available is acceptable for a 
contracted vehicle or a parent vehicle. 

N. There shall be information prominently posted in each 
vehicle identifying the name of the director and the name, 
phone number, and address of the facility for emergency 
situations. A signed statement by the provider verifying the 
identifying information was posted is acceptable for a 
contracted vehicle or a parent vehicle. 

O. Immediately upon unloading the last child and to 
ensure that all children have been unloaded, a staff person 
shall physically walk through the vehicle and inspect all seat 
surfaces, under all seats, and in all enclosed spaces and 
recesses in the vehicle’s interior. The staff conducting the 
visual check shall record the time of the inspection and sign 
his or her full name, indicating that no child was left on the 
vehicle. Documentation shall be maintained on file at the 
facility whether provided by facility or contract.  

P. Children shall not be transported to prevent the 
facility from being over capacity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7334. Field Trips (Contract, Facility-Provided or 

Parent-Provided) 
A. All requirements for general transportation, Section 

7333, also apply to field trips.  
B. The provider shall obtain and maintain a signed 

parental authorization for each field trip. Field trip 
authorization shall include the method of transportation, 
(contract vehicle, facility owned vehicle, parent vehicle), 
event, location, child’s name, date and time of event, 
parent’s signature, and date. 

C. The driver plus one staff are required at all times in 
each vehicle when transporting any child under five years of 
age. Child/staff ratio shall be met in the vehicle. 

D. When only transporting children five years of age and 
older, at least two staff, one of whom may be the driver, shall 
be in each facility vehicle unless the following are met: 
facility vehicle’s capacity is less than ten; five or fewer 
children are being transported; the vehicle has a 
communication device, and child/staff ratio is met in the 
vehicle. 

E. When only transporting children five years of age and 
older, at least one staff in addition to the driver shall be in 
each contracted vehicle unless the following are met: 

vehicle’s capacity is less than ten; five or fewer children are 
being transported; the vehicle has a communication device, 
and child/staff ratio is met in the vehicle. 

F. When parents transport children in addition to their 
own children, there shall be at least one adult present in each 
vehicle, in addition to the driver. The two adults shall be a 
parent and an adult staff or two parents of children currently 
enrolled in the facility who are not related to one another. 

G. If transportation is provided by parents, a planned 
route shall be provided to each driver and a copy maintained 
in the facility.  

H. Children shall be supervised during boarding and 
exiting vehicles by an adult who remains on the outside of 
the vehicle. 

I. A written record for each field trip shall be 
maintained to include the following:  

1. the date of the field trip;  
2. destination of the trip; method of transportation; 

first and last names of all the children being transported in 
each vehicle;  

3. first and last names of the driver/staff or other 
adults (parents, volunteers, etc.) being transported in each 
vehicle;  

4. first and last names of other adults who joined the 
activity at the destination to assist with the supervision of the 
children;  

5. each child’s attendance shall be recorded each time 
they load and unload from the vehicle; and  

6. the signature of the person conducting the check 
and the time the vehicle is checked for each loading and 
unloading. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7335. Daily Transportation (Contract or Facility-

Provided) 
A. All requirements for general transportation, Section 

7333, also apply to daily transportation.  
B. The driver plus one staff are required at all times in 

each vehicle when transporting any child under five years of 
age. Child/staff ratio shall be met in the vehicle. 

C. When only transporting children five years of age and 
older, at least two staff, one of whom may be the driver, shall 
be in each facility vehicle unless the following are met: 
facility vehicle’s capacity is less than ten; five or fewer 
children are being transported; the vehicle has a 
communication device, and child/staff ratio is met in the 
vehicle. 

D. When only transporting children five years of age and 
older, at least one staff in addition to the driver shall be in 
each contracted vehicle unless the following are met: 
vehicle’s capacity is less than ten; five or fewer children are 
being transported; the vehicle has a communication device, 
and child/staff ratio is met in the vehicle. 

E. Written authorization to transport the child signed and 
dated by the parent(s) shall include: name of child; type of 
service (to and from home, and to and from school to 
include the name of the school); names of individuals or 
school to whom the child may be released; and estimated 
duration of time spent on the vehicle per trip. 
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F. A current passenger log for each trip shall be used to 
track children and staff during transportation. The log shall 
be maintained on file at the facility and a copy shall be 
provided to the driver or attendant. The following shall be 
recorded on the log: the date the transportation is provided; 
the first and last name of the child; the first and last name of 
the driver/staff; pick up and drop off locations; authorized 
persons to whom the child may be released; the time the 
child was placed on the vehicle; the time the child was 
released and the name of the person or school to whom the 
child was released; and the signature of the staff that 
completed the log. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7336. Contract Requirements 

A. All requirements for general transportation, Section 
7333, also apply to contracted transportation. 

B. The provider shall maintain a contract that is signed 
by the provider and a representative of the transportation 
agency outlining circumstances under which transportation 
will be provided. This written contract shall be dated, time 
limited, and shall specify the following in the contract: 
Transportation arrangements shall conform to state laws, 
including but not limited to those requiring the use of seat 
belts and child restraints. Additionally, no child under five 
years of age shall be transported in any vehicle, including a 
school bus, unless age and weight appropriate child 
restraints are utilized. 1. Only one child shall be 
restrained in a single safety belt. Each child shall safely 
board and/or leave the vehicle from the curb side of the 
street or shall be escorted across the street. 

2. The vehicle shall be maintained in good repair as 
evidenced by: Ventilation and heating systems shall be 
operational and used to maintain a comfortable temperature 
during transport. The vehicle’s engine shall be maintained in 
working mechanical order. The vehicle’s interior shall be 
clean and free of trash and debris. The vehicle’s seat 
coverings shall be in good repair. 

3. The use or possession of alcohol, tobacco in any 
form, illegal substances or unauthorized potentially toxic 
substances, firearms (loaded or unloaded), or pellet or BB 
guns (loaded or unloaded) in any vehicle is prohibited. The 
number of persons in a vehicle used to transport children 
shall not exceed the manufacturer's recommended capacity. 
Current commercial liability insurance for the operation of 
the vehicle shall be required for children in the event of 
accident or injury. The vehicle shall have evidence of a 
current safety inspection. There shall be first aid supplies in 
each contracted vehicle.  

C. The provider shall maintain a copy of a valid 
appropriate Louisiana driver's license for all contracted 
persons who drive vehicles used to transport children. 

D. Documentation of a satisfactory criminal record check 
from Louisiana State Police as required by La. R.S. 46:51.2 
is required for all contracted persons. A copy of this 
clearance shall be obtained prior to the individual being 
present with the children from the licensed program. No 
person who has been convicted of, or a plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere to, any offense included in 15:587.1, 14:2, 

15:541 or any offense involving a juvenile victim, shall be 
present in any capacity with the children of the licensed 
facility. 

1. Independent contractors may provide a certified 
copy of their criminal background check obtained from the 
Louisiana Bureau of Criminal Identification and Information 
Section of the Louisiana State Police to the provider prior to 
being present with a child or children. If an individual 
provides a certified copy of their criminal background check 
obtained from the Louisiana State Police to the provider, this 
criminal background check shall be accepted by DCFS for a 
period of one year from the date of issuance of the certified 
copy. A photocopy of the certified copy shall be kept on file 
at the facility. Prior to the one year date of issuance of the 
certified copy, the individual shall request and obtain a 
current certified copy of their criminal background check 
obtained from the Louisiana Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information Section of the Louisiana State 
Police in order to continue providing services for the child 
care facility. If the clearance is not provided to the facility 
prior to the one year date of issuance of the certified criminal 
background check, the individual shall no longer be allowed 
to provide services to the child care facility until a clearance 
is provided. This criminal background check shall be 
accepted by DCFS for a period of one year from the date of 
issuance of the certified copy. A photocopy of the certified 
copy shall be kept on file at the facility. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7337. Care for Children during Nighttime Hours 

A. Staff counted for purposes of meeting child/staff ratio 
shall be awake and supervising the children at all times. 

B. Meals shall be served to children who are in the 
facility at the ordinary meal times. 

C. Each child shall have a separate, age-appropriate bed 
or cot with mat or mattress covered by a sheet for each child, 
as well as a covering for each child (bunk beds are not 
allowed).  

D. Evening quiet time activity, such as story time, board 
games, and reading, shall be provided to each child arriving 
before the child goes to bed. 

E. Time for personal care routines and preparation for 
sleep, such as brushing teeth, washing hands and face as 
needed, toileting, and changing clothes shall be provided. 

F. The facility’s entrance and drop off zones shall be 
well-lighted during hours of operation. 

G. The provider shall conduct monthly fire drills during 
the night time hours in addition to the required daytime 
drills. When conducting this type of fire drill, it is not 
necessary to exit the building with the children. 
Documentation shall include: date and time of drill; number 
of children present; amount of time to evacuate the facility; 
and/or reach the exit; problems noted during drill and 
corrections noted; and signatures (not initials) of staff 
present. The Licensing Section recommends that at least one 
fire drill every six months be held during nighttime hours 
after children are sleeping. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1401 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 
§7350. Disclosure of Information as Specified under 

R.S. 46:1426 
A. Purpose; Authority. It is the intent of the Legislature 

to protect the health, safety, and well-being of children who 
are in out-of-home day care facilities. Toward that end, R.S. 
46:1426 allows parents or guardians of children enrolled in, 
or who have made application to be enrolled in, a day care 
facility to obtain certain information pertaining to that 
particular day care facility in addition to information that 
may be obtained under the Public Records Act subject to the 
limitations provided by R.S. 46:56(F)(4)(c). 

B. Procedure for Requesting Information 
1. Requests for information may be made by a parent 

or guardian of a child either by telephone or in writing. 
2. Upon receipt of a request that does not give 

assurance that the person making the request is a parent or 
guardian of a child that is currently attending or that has 
completed a current application to attend the day care 
facility in question, the Licensing Section shall furnish the 
parent or guardian a certification form that must be 
completed and signed that certifies that their child is 
currently attending or that a current application has been 
made for the child to attend the particular day care facility. 

3. Upon receiving the needed information, or the 
certification form, the Licensing Section shall initiate a 
review of the records of that particular day care facility. 

4. The Licensing Section shall provide or make 
available all information, if any, that is requested, subject to 
limitations as provided by law. 

5. Failure of a parent or guardian to sign a 
certification form or provide compelling information that 
indicates their child is either currently attending or has made 
application to attend said day care facility will result in the 
request being handled as a request under the Public Records 
Act. 

C. Information That May Be Released 
1. Information that may be released under R.S. 

46:1426 is as follows: 
a. each valid finding of child abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation occurring at the facility, subject to the 
limitations provided by R.S. 46:56(F)(4)(c); 

b. whether or not the day care facility employs any 
person who has been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo 
contendere to any of the crimes provided in R.S. 15:587.1; 

c. any violations of standards, rules, or regulations 
applicable to such day care facility; and 

d. any waivers of minimum standards authorized for 
such day care facility. 

2. No information may be released that contains the 
name, or any other identifying information, of any child 
involved in any situation concerning the day care facility. 

3. The identity of any possible perpetrator or of the 
party reporting any suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation 
shall not be disclosed except as required by law. 

4. If there is no information in the files other than 
information covered under the Public Records Act, the 
parent or guardian shall be so notified and informed of the 
procedure for obtaining that information. 

D. Costs. Parents or guardians wanting copies of records 
under R.S. 46:1426 shall be informed of the costs involved 
and pay for copies of said records, as is required for 
obtaining copies of records under the Public Records Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
46:1426 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Children and Family Services, Division of Programs, Licensing 
Section, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. What effect will this rule have on the stability of the 

family? There will be no effect on the stability of the family. 
2. What effect will this have on the authority and 

rights of persons regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? This rule includes revised regulations that 
strengthen the measure of protection that the Licensing 
Section provides for children that receive out-of-home child 
care in accordance with R.S. 46:1401 et seq. This rule will 
establish revised regulations for child care providers to help 
protect the health, safety and welfare of children. Parents 
and/or guardians will also have access to these regulations. 
The regulations will provide knowledge that can enhance 
their ability to make informed decisions regarding the 
education and supervision of their children. 

3. What effect will this have on the functioning of the 
family? There will be no effect on the functioning of the 
family. 

4. What effect will this have on family earnings and 
family budget? There will be no effect on family earnings 
and the family budget. 

5. What effect will this have on the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? This Rule will have no 
effect on the behavior and personal responsibility of 
children. 

6. Is the family or local government able to perform 
the function as contained in this proposed rule? No, this is 
strictly an agency function. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed rule on small businesses as 

defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act has been 
considered. It is estimated that the proposed action is not 
expected to have a significant adverse impact on small 
businesses. The agency, consistent with health, safety, 
environmental and economic welfare factors has considered 
and, where possible, utilized regulatory methods in the 
drafting of the proposed rule that will accomplish the 
objectives of applicable statutes while minimizing the 
adverse impact of the proposed rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons may submit written comments 

through, March 28, 2011 to Sammy Guillory, Deputy 
Assistant Secretary, Department of Children and Family 
Services, Post Office Box 94065, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-
9065. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on the proposed rule will be held on, 

March 28, 2011 at the Department of Children and Family 
Services, Iberville Building, 627 N. Fourth Street, Seminar 
Room 1-129, Baton Rouge, LA, beginning at 9:00 a.m. All 
interested persons will be afforded an opportunity to submit 
data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing, at said 
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hearing. Individuals with disabilities who require special 
services should contact the Bureau of Appeals at least seven 
working days in advance of the hearing. For assistance, call 
225-342-4120 (Voice and TDD). 

 
Ruth Johnson 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Class "A" Regulations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This rule proposes to amend the Louisiana Administrative 

Code (LAC) 67, Part III, Subpart 21 Child Care Licensing, 
Chapter 73 Day Care Centers, Subchapter A. Licensing Class 
“A” Regulations for Child Care Centers. These standards are 
being revised in their entirety to supersede any previous 
regulations published as mandated by R.S. 46:1401 et seq. 
which states that periodically the department must publish the 
current regulations or standards for Licensing Class “A” 
Regulations for Child Care Centers. 

DCFS shall mail a notice to approximately 1,900 child day 
care centers to notify the providers that the information is 
posted on the DCFS Web site at an estimated cost of $1,214 
($607 State; $607 Federal), which includes printing ($171), 
supplies ($131), and postage ($912). This cost will be absorbed 
within the Department of Children and Family Services 
(DCFS) FY 2010-11 budget appropriation. 

The only additional cost associated with this rule is the cost 
for publishing rulemaking and printing policy, which is 
estimated to be approximately $7,224 ($3,612 State; $3,612 
Federal). This is a one-time cost that is routinely included in 
the agency's budget.  

The total cost to implement these rule changes for FY 11 is 
$8,438 ($4,219 SGF; $4,219 Federal). It is estimated that any 
potential cost in subsequent fiscal years are routinely included 
in the agency’s budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on the revenue collections on any 
governmental unit as a result of this Rule.   

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This Rule will not cause any additional estimated costs 
and/or economic benefits to any persons or non-governmental 
group. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This Rule will not cause any impact on competition and 
employment. 

 
Sammy Guillory H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#073 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School,  
District, and State Accountability System  

(LAC 28:LXXXIII.1101, 1102, 1103, and 1601) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 111—The Louisiana 
School, District, and State Accountability System: §1101. 
Letter Grades, §1102. Academic Watch and Academically 
Unacceptable Schools (AUS), §1103. Honor Rolls, and 
§1601. Entry into Academically Unacceptable School Status. 
Act 478 of the 1997 Regular Legislative Session called for 
the development of an Accountability System for the 
purpose of implementing fundamental changes in classroom 
teaching by helping schools and communities focus on 
improved student achievement. The State’s Accountability 
System is an evolving system with different components that 
are required to change in response to state and federal laws 
and regulations. Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapters 
11 and 16, provide detail for a letter grade system in all 
schools to accurately reflect both the status and progress of 
students and will replace performance labels currently in 
Bulletin 111. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part LXXXIII.  Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, 
District, and State Accountability System 

Chapter 11. School Performance Categories 
§1101. Letter Grades 

A. Beginning with the release of 2010-2011 school 
accountability data, schools will receive letter grades based 
on the Baseline School Performance Score (SPS) and 
Growth Targets. 

 
 

Letter 
Grade 

Baseline SPS 
Range 

Approximate 
Percentage of Students 

Basic or Below Plus or Minus Rule for Grade Assignment 

A 120.0-200.0 0%-12% 

A+ 
In SPS range for letter grade A and met or exceeded Growth 
Target 

A 
In SPS range for letter grade A and did not meet Growth Target 
and did not decline 

A- 
In SPS range for letter grade A and SPS declined 

B 105.0-119.9 12%-24% 
B+ 

In SPS range for letter grade B and met or exceeded Growth 
Target 

B 
In SPS range for letter grade B  and did not meet Growth Target 
and did not decline 

B- In SPS range for letter grade B and SPS declined 

C 90.0-104.9 25%-36% C+ 
In SPS range for letter grade C and met or exceeded Growth 
Target 

C 
InSPS range for letter grade C and did not meet Growth Target 
and did not decline 
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Letter 
Grade 

Baseline SPS 
Range 

Approximate 
Percentage of Students 

Basic or Below Plus or Minus Rule for Grade Assignment 
C- In SPS range for letter grade C and SPS declined 

D 

65.0-89.9 (in 2011) 
75.0-89.9 (in 2012 
and beyond)  
 

37%-61% 
D+ 

In SPS range for letter grade D and met or exceeded Growth 
Target 

D 
In SPS range for letter grade D and did not meet Growth Target 
and did not decline 

D- In SPS range for letter grade D and SPS declined 

F 
0-64.9 (in 2011) 
0-74.9 (in 2012 and 
beyond) 

62%-100% 

F+ 

In SPS range for letter grade F and met or exceeded Growth Target 

F 

In SPS range for letter grade F and did not meet Growth Target 
and did not decline 

F- 

In SPS range for letter grade F and SPS declined 

 
 
B. Schools will be assigned a letter grade based on their 

Baseline SPS. 
1. A plus (+) will be added to the letter grade of 

schools that meet their growth target. 
2. A minus (-) will be added to the letter grade of 

schools that have a declining SPS of .1 point or greater. 
C. When a school’s letter grade is an A (SPS> 120.00), it 

shall not receive a “negative” growth label (minimal growth, 
no growth, school in decline). 

D. The LDE should identify all schools that have 
selective, non-traditional academic admissions requirements. 

E. BESE shall reconsider §1101, Letter Grades, no later 
than 2014-2015. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§1102. Academic Watch and Academically 

Unacceptable Schools (AUS) 
A. Schools with a Baseline SPS below the established 

minimum SPS shall be identified as an Academically 
Unacceptable School (AUS). 

B. School Performance Score 
 

Performance Label School Performance Score 

Academically Unacceptable 
Below 60.0 (through 2010) 
Below 65.0 (in 2011) 
Below 75.0 (in 2012 and beyond) 

Academic Watch 60 - 74.9 (in 2010) 
65.0 - 74.9 (in 2011) 

 
C. In the fall of 2011, for one academic year, schools that 

are not AUS and have an SPS less than 75.0 shall be labeled 
“Academic Watch.” 

D. Academic watch schools that meet additional criteria 
associated with specific grant programs (such as federal 
school improvement grants) can: 

1. be eligible for participation in those programs; and 
2. are waived from the requirements of academic 

assistance when they do participate. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 
§1103. Honor Rolls 

A. Beginning with the release of 2010-2011 school 
accountability data, the LDE shall produce a letter grade 
honor roll to recognize all schools that earn a letter grade in 
the range of A+ through B-. 

B. Beginning with the release of 2010-2011 school 
accountability data, the LDE shall produce a graduation rate 
honor roll to recognize all schools with a graduation rate 
greater than or equal to the state goal of 80 percent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:10.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
Chapter 16. Academically Unacceptable Schools and 

Subgroup Component Failure 
§1601. Entry into Academically Unacceptable School 

Status 
A. In the fall 2010 accountability release, schools with 

baseline school performance scores (SPS) of less than 60.0 
points shall be labeled "Academically Unacceptable 
Schools" (AUS). Beginning with the 2010-11 accountability 
release, schools with SPS of less than 65.0, shall be labeled 
"AUS". This value shall increase annually by 10.0 SPS 
points to 75.0 in 2012. All AUS schools shall implement 
remedies from the "Academically Unacceptable Schools" 
table (below). 

1. A school shall enter AUS Level 1 when identified 
as AUS if the school was not labeled AUS the previous year, 
including schools that did not receive performance labels the 
previous year. 

2. BESE may, during times of transition in the 
accountability system, waive schools meeting certain 
conditions from receiving the AUS label and/or from 
implementing certain remedies and sanctions. 

B. Schools progress to more serious levels of AUS based 
on the number of consecutive years a school has been 
labeled AUS. 

C. Remedies/sanctions are additive, requiring schools to 
continue implementation of remedies/sanctions from earlier 
levels (a school labeled AUS3 must implement sanctions 
from AUS1, 2, and 3). 
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D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:10.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:2595 (December 
2007), amended LR 35:2312 (November 2009), LR 36:1770 
(August 2010), LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to: Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School,  

District, and State Accountability System 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Proposed changes in Bulletin 111, Chapter 11 and 16 
provide detail for a letter grade system in all schools to 
accurately reflect both the status and progress of students and 
will replace performance labels currently in Bulletin 111. 

The proposed rule changes will result in no cost or savings 
to state or local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no estimated costs and/or economic benefits 
to directly affected persons or non-governmental group 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#038 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools—Board of Director 
Composition (LAC 28:CXXXIX.2101) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 126—Charter Schools: 
§2101. Board of Director Composition. These policy 
changes require that the bulletin be updated to be in 
compliance with state law and institute new procedures for 
the voluntary surrender of charters. This change was asked 
for by the Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. 
These revisions clarify board membership rules for charter 
management organizations operating schools in multiple 
parishes. The Rule will require that at least 60 percent of the 
board membership reside in parishes in which the board 
operates and that there shall be equal representation from 
each community to the greatest extent possible. The 
proposed Rules will guide charter school operators seeking 
to expand their presence beyond a single parish. The 
proposed Rules will guide charter school authorizers’ 
oversight and authorizing responsibilities for nonprofits and 
management organizations that seek to expand their 
presence in the state. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXIX.  Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
Chapter 21. Charter School Governance 
§2101. Board of Director Composition 

A. - B. … 
C. The board of directors of each charter operator should 

be representative of the community in which the charter 
school is located and no fewer than 60 percent of its 
members shall reside in the community in which the charter 
school is located. Community, for the purposes of this 
paragraph, shall consist of the parish in which the school is 
located and immediate neighboring parishes and, for Type 2 
charter schools, any parish that is included in the charter 
school's attendance zone. No fewer than 60 percent of the 
members of the board of directors of any charter operator 
that operates multiple schools in different communities shall 
reside in the communities in which the charter schools are 
located, with equal representation from each community to 
the greatest extent possible. 

D. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10) and R.S. 17:3981. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education in LR 34:1370 (July 2008). 
Amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 
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3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Charter Schools 
Board of Director Composition 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rules update Bulletin 126 to better allow the 

growth of high-performing charter organizations in Louisiana. 
The proposed rules update will clarify that a charter 
management organization may run schools in different 
parishes, but that at least 60 percent of the board membership 
must reside in parishes in which the board operates and that 
there shall be equal representation from each community to the 
greatest extent possible. To the extent that this policy shall 
allow for the growth of charter schools in the state, state and 
local per pupil allocations through the state’s Minimum 
Program Foundation formula could change by an 
undeterminable amount. The proposed policy is estimated to 
cost $164.00 for advertising in the Louisiana Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state and local government units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed policy changes will not increase costs or 
provide any new economic benefits to individuals or non-
governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed policy could result in the creation of new 
charter schools within school districts across the state. To the 
extent that these schools will operate in competition with 
district schools for students, faculty, and resources, it will have 
an undetermined effect on competition and employment in the 
state. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#039 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 
(LAC 28:CXLV.Chapters 9, 13, 15, and 17) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District: 
Chapters 9, 13, 15, and 17. The proposed policy aligns the 
Recovery School District with Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators, and outlines the fiscal 
and internal management of the Recovery School District.  

Chapter 9 addresses personnel issues, including 
certification requirements as set forth in Bulletin 741 and 
Bulletin 126—Non-discrimination in Recruitment, Hiring, 
Promotion, Evaluation, Discipline, Retention, and 
Dismissal. Chapter 9 also establishes that the RSD will 
maximize professional development opportunities for all 
employees. 

Chapter 13 describes the RSD’s jurisdictional 
responsibility for the maintenance and repair of school 
facilities placed in the RSD pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5 and 
R.S. 17:10.7. Chapter 13 also addresses the use of  
RSD-controlled property by charter operators and the 
responsibilities of charter operators for maintaining building 
assets.  

Chapter 15 addresses community involvement, including 
communication between schools and community 
stakeholders, and outlines processes to provide opportunities 
for parent/community engagement and participation. 

Chapter 17 addresses the evaluation of student, school and 
district progress by means of performance measures as 
approved by BESE. Chapter 17 establishes procedures for 
corrective action through data-driven, research-based 
procedures proven successful with similar populations of 
students in order to improve student achievement. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXLV.  Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District 
Chapter 9. Personnel 
§901. Certification of Personnel 

A. For schools directly operated by the RSD, and those 
schools operated by the RSD in partnership with a 
university, those schools’ personnel shall meet the 
certification requirements set forth in Bulletin 741, 
Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators (public 
schools). 

B. For charter schools operating within the RSD, the 
charter operator shall meet the certification requirements of 
its instructional staff, for its type of charter, as set forth in 
Bulletin 126, Charter Schools.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), R.S. 17:3981, and R.S. 17:3991(C)(6). 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§903. Non-Discrimination 

A. The RSD shall refrain from any manner of 
discrimination prohibited by state and federal law in all 
personnel matters, including but not limited to, recruitment, 
hiring, promotion, evaluation, discipline, retention, and 
dismissal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), and R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§905. Professional Development  

A. The RSD shall maximize opportunities for 
professional development for all employees it employs 
directly, as well as those employees of the charter operators 
and university partnerships under the RSD’s jurisdiction.  

B. Prior to the start of each school year, the RSD must 
facilitate professional development for personnel in all 
schools that are beginning their first year of operation under 
the RSD. The professional development should address the 
expectations and performance objectives for the school, as 
determined by RSD administrators.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7 (A)(1), and R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
Chapter 13. Property Management 
§1301. Jurisdictional Responsibility for the 

Maintenance and Repair of School Facilities 
A. The RSD shall have the right to use any school 

building and all facilities and property otherwise part of the 
school and recognized as part of the facilities or assets of the 
school prior to its placement in the Recovery School District 
and shall have access to such additional facilities as are 
typically available to the school, its students, and faculty and 
staff prior to its placement in the RSD.  

B. The use of schools and facilities by the RSD shall be 
unrestricted except that in the case of the transfer of schools 
pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5, the RSD shall not be responsible 
for to provide for extensive repairs to the buildings or 
facilities that would be considered a capital expense. Such 
extensive repairs shall be provided by the governing 
authority of the city, parish, or other local public school 
system or other public entity from which the school facilities 
were transferred. The RSD shall be responsible only for the 
routine maintenance and repairs to buildings and facilities 
transferred pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5. 

C. In the case of the transfer of schools into the RSD 
pursuant to R.S. 17.10.7, the RSD shall acquire with the 
transfer of the schools all the rights and responsibilities of 
ownership regarding all land, buildings, facilities, and other 
property that is part of the school being transferred, except 
that the RSD may not transfer the ownership of the land or 
usable buildings constructed on the land to another, except 
as provided by R.S. 17:1990(B)(4)(b)(iv); save returning the 
land and such buildings to the stewardship of the prior 
system. The RSD may lease land or property, dispose of 
property other than the land as is necessary to properly 
manage the operation of the schools, rebuild school 
buildings, or renovate school buildings. 

D. The RSD may sell, lease, or otherwise dispose of, at 
public or private sale, for cash or on terms of credit, any 
moveable property it owns that is not used and, in the 
judgment of the RSD, is not needed in the operation of any 
school or schools within its jurisdiction.  

E. The RSD shall comply with all applicable state laws 
and regulations and all ordinances and regulations as may be 
enacted and adopted by the governing authority of the local 
governmental subdivision in which the property of the 
schools that RSD has jurisdiction over is located, including 
building and fire safety code regulations, until such property 
is returned to the prior system or otherwise disposed of by 
the RSD.  

F. In the case of the transfer of schools into the RSD 
pursuant to R.S. 17:10.7, no building should be destroyed 
pursuant to the authority of the RSD unless destruction has 
been approved by the Office of Facility Planning of the 
Division of Administration.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), R.S. 17:1990(B)(4), and R.S. 17:1990(B)(4)(b)(ii). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1303. Maintenance of School Facilities 

A. The RSD shall be responsible for and obligated to 
provide for routine maintenance and repair such that the 
facilities and property transferred to it by the prior system 
are maintained in as good an order as when the right of use 
was acquired by the district.  

B. In the case of the transfer of schools into the RSD 
pursuant to R.S. 17:10.7, a portion of all revenues available to 
the prior system which are dedicated to the repair, 
maintenance, or capital projects regarding a transferred 
school whether such revenue is available from tax proceeds, 
was borrowed, bonded, or was otherwise acquired shall be 
transferred by the system to the RSD in an amount equal to 
the proportion that the number of schools transferred from 
such school system bears to the total number of schools 
operated by the school system during the school year 
immediately proceeding the school year in which the 
transfer occurred as provided by law and policy. 

C. The RSD must meet all of the requirements regarding 
building maintenance and safety as required of other school 
districts in Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators.  

D. The RSD must also meet all facility accessibility 
requirements set forth in Bulletin 741, Louisiana Handbook 
for School Administrators. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 17:1990.B.(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1305. RSD Schools Assigned to Charter Operators 

A. The RSD can, at its discretion, offer the use of 
facilities transferred pursuant to R.S. 17:10.7 to charter 
operators. Facility assignments will be made by the RSD 
Superintendent based on considerations that include building 
readiness, facility preference of charter school operators and 
community input. The RSD will enter into lease agreements 
for the use of school facilities. 
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B. Building assignments do not transfer ownership, but 
imposes certain responsibilities to the charter operator, 
including, but not limited to routine building maintenance 
and repairs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 17:1990.B.(4). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1307. Responsibilities of Charter Operators 

A. Charter operators shall maintain an inventory of all 
assets, including records of any assets acquired with any 
private funds. Inventories of assets must be  
maintained consistent with the requirements set forth in 
Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting and Uniform 
Governmental Handbook. Any assets acquired by the charter 
operator remain the property of the charter school. 

B. If a charter operator’s charter is revoked or the school 
otherwise ceases to operate, all assets purchased with any 
public funds shall become the property of BESE. All assets 
purchased with private funds shall remain the property of the 
charter operator, if the inventory or records of the charter 
operator demonstrate that the assets were purchased with 
private funds.  

C. If a charter operator fails to open a charter school and 
serve pupils or if the school closes for any reason, the 
charter school shall refund all cash on hand which can be 
attributed to state or local funding to the state or to BESE.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 17:3991.H. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
Chapter 15. Community Involvement 
§1501. Communication 

A. For each school transferred to the RSD, the RSD shall 
ensure that each direct-operated school is included in the 
RSD community relations program. That program shall 
include a method of maintaining clear communication 
among interested parties, including the RSD; the chief 
executive officer of the governing authority of the relevant 
municipality or parish; the parents and guardians of children 
for whom the RSD is required to provide educational 
services; the respective school advisory council (see 
Subsection 1505.C, below); the city, parish, or other local 
public school board from which schools are transferred; and 
other relevant entities.  

1. For each school under the direct operation of the 
RSD, the community relations program shall be such that the 
community is fully informed about the educational program, 
the strengths and needs of the school, and the services 
available to the school community. 

2. The RSD shall regularly assess community needs 
and shall conduct public relations activities. 

3. Each school shall maintain a continuous and 
specific program of community relations that involves the 
professional staff, the students, its school advisory council, 
and citizens.  

4. Each school shall use its community resources in 
planning and conducting the total school program.  

5. The RSD shall seek to enlist the cooperative 
assistance of all communications media within the 
community and to provide access to public information 
about the school, its policies, and activities. 

6. Teachers shall make appropriate and effective use 
of community resources.  

7. Each school shall seek parental involvement and 
support through communication between school and home.  

8. Each school shall include in its school-community 
relations program a written plan for community/parent 
involvement.  

B. The RSD shall require each school under its 
jurisdiction to notify the parent or legal guardian of every 
student, in writing, of the proper process and procedures to 
be followed in order to make a complaint or request 
information from the school or the RSD.  

1. Such information shall include, at a minimum, the 
name, address, phone number, and email address of the 
appropriate person to contact at each step of the prescribed 
process or procedures. This information shall be updated, at 
least, annually. Such information shall be incorporated into 
any existing policy or policies, code of conduct, or student 
handbook of the RSD or of each school under its 
jurisdiction.  

2. The RSD shall provide this information to parents 
or legal guardians at the start of each school year.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 17:10.B. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1503. Outreach 

A. The Statewide RSD Advisory Council to the State 
Superintendent shall serve as a component of the RSD’s 
community outreach. 

B. To maximize community engagement, each school 
under the RSD’s direct operation is strongly encouraged to 
create an advisory council composed of members of the 
community it serves. The school administration shall meet 
with the school’s advisory council on a regular basis. 

1. The purpose of these meetings shall be threefold:  
a. to provide the advisory council an opportunity 

make the school aware of its perspective on the school’s 
operation and the needs of the community; 

b. to allow the school to inform the advisory council 
of information about the school’s staffing, budget, physical 
facilities, academic achievement, and planning; and  

c. to facilitate two-way communication between the 
school and the advisory council.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7 CA)(1), and R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1507. Participation 

A. All school advisory councils are strongly encouraged 
to make their meetings open to the public.  

B. Within two weeks of each meeting of the school 
administration with its advisory council, the school shall 
prepare a written report summarizing the items discussed at 
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the meeting, said report to be posted at the school and 
electronically on the Internet, as available.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), and R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
Chapter 17. Evaluation of Student, School, and 

District Progress 
§1701. Performance Measures 

A. The RSD and all RSD schools shall participate in the 
Louisiana School, District, and State Accountability System 
as approved by BESE.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 17:10.1.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1703. Reporting 

A. The academic progress of all RSD schools shall be 
reported along with the progress of all public schools in 
BESE’s annual report.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), R.S. 17:10.7(A)(1), R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2), and R.S. 17:10.7.C. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  
§1705. Procedures for Academic Assistance 

A. The RSD shall implement data-driven, research-based 
procedures proven successful with similar populations of 
students in order to improve student achievement.  

B. The RSD is also subject to all applicable requirements 
of Bulletin 111, The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10), R.S. 17:10.5(A)(1), 17:10.7(A)(1), and R.S. 
17:1990(A)(2).  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? Lacks sufficient information to determine. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 129 
The Recovery School District 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy aligns the Recovery School District 

(RSD) with BESE Bulletin 741, La Handbook for School 
Administrators and outlines the fiscal and internal management 
of the Recovery School District. These policies have been 
followed by the RSD, but have not yet been published in 
Bulletin 129. The cost to the RSD to publish and distribute the 
Bulletin is approximately $2,000. 

Chapter 9 addresses personnel issues, including 
certification requirements as set forth in Bulletin 741 and 
Bulletin 126; non-discrimination in recruitment, hiring, 
promotion, evaluation, discipline, retention, and dismissal. 
Chapter 9 also establishes that the RSD will maximize 
professional development opportunities for all employees. 

Chapter 13 describes the RSD’s jurisdictional responsibility 
for the maintenance and repair of school facilities placed in the 
RSD pursuant to R.S. 17:10.5 and R.S. 17:10.7. Chapter 13 
also addresses the use of RSD-controlled property by charter 
operators and the responsibilities of charter operators for 
maintaining building assets.  

Chapter 15 addresses community involvement, including 
communication between schools and community stakeholders, 
and outlines processes to provide opportunities for 
parent/community engagement and participation. 

Chapter 17 addresses the evaluation of student, school and 
district progress by means of performance measures as 
approved by BESE. Chapter 17 establishes procedures for 
corrective action through data-driven, research-based 
procedures proven successful with similar populations of 
students in order to improve student achievement. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effects on revenue 
collections of state and local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no costs and/or economic 
benefits to directly affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#040 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators (LAC 28:CXV.337 and 701) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
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advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §337. Written Policies 
and Procedures and §701. Maintenance and Use of System 
Records and Reports. These policy revisions result from R.S. 
44:411, and relate to the requirements for the retention and 
disposition of records. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 3. Operation and Administration 
§337. Written Policies and Procedures 

A. - B. … 
C. Each LEA shall have policies and procedures that 

address, but are not limited to, the following: 
1. - 24. … 
25. a schedule for the retention and disposition of 

records. The schedule shall be approved by State Archives as 
required by R.S. 44:411. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6; R.S. 17:81; R.S.17:240. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1261 (June 2005), 
amended LR 33:429 (March 2007), LR 35:1101 (June 2009), LR 
36:1224 (June 2010), LR 37:  
Chapter 7. Records and Reports 
§701. Maintenance and Use of System Records and 

Reports 
A. - D.2. … 
E. Each LEA/school shall maintain necessary records for 

the effective operation of the LEA/school. The LEA shall 
comply with the requirements of R.S. 44:411 regarding 
schedules for the retention of official records. Those records 
for which a formal retention schedule has not been executed 
shall be retained by the LEA for not less than three years. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:93; R.S. 17:411; R.S. 17:415. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 31:1268 (June 2005), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
These policy revisions to Sections 337 and 701, result from 

R.S. 44:411, and relate to the requirements for the retention and 
disposition of records. These changes will not result in an 
increase in costs or savings to state or local governmental units.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#041 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
AdministratorsClassroom Management Training  

(LAC 28:CXV.337 and 1302) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950, et seq., the 
Administrative Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the 
Board of Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 741—Louisiana 
Handbook for School Administrators: §337. Written Policies 
and Procedures and §1302. Classroom Management Training 
for School Staff. The revisions provide for pre-service and 
on-going grade appropriate classroom management training 
for teachers, principals, and other appropriate school 
personnel regarding positive behavioral supports and 
reinforcement, conflict resolution, mediation, cultural 
competence, restorative practices, guidance and discipline, 
and adolescent development. The revisions also require local 
school districts to review discipline data from each school to 
determine what additional classroom management training 
and classroom support activities may be needed. These 
revisions reflect the enactment of R.S. 17:252 (D) School 
Master Plans for Supporting Student Behavior and 
Discipline, Act 136, of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXV.  Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for 
School Administrators 

Chapter 3. Operation and Administration 
§337. Written Policies and Procedures 

A - C.23. … 
24. pre-service and ongoing grade appropriate 

classroom management training for teachers, principals, and 
other appropriated school personnel regarding positive 
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behavioral supports and reinforcement, conflict resolution, 
mediation, cultural competence, restorative practices, 
guidance and discipline, and adolescent development. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6; R.S. 17:7(29); R.S. 17:81; R.S.17:240; R.S. 17:100.8; R.S. 
17:252. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Elementary 
and Secondary Education, LR 31:1261 (June 2005), amended LR 
33:429 (March 2007), LR 35:1101 (June 2009), LR 36:1224 (June 
2010), LR 37:  
Chapter 13. Discipline 
§1302. Classroom Management Training for School 

Staff 
A. The school master plans required of city, parish, and 

other local public school boards shall make provision for 
pre-service and ongoing grade appropriate classroom 
management training for teachers, principals, and other 
appropriate school personnel regarding positive behavioral 
supports and reinforcement, conflict resolution, mediation, 
cultural competence, restorative practices, guidance and 
discipline, and adolescent development. 

B. City, parish, and other local public school boards shall 
provide ongoing classroom management courses and 
regularly review discipline data from each school to 
determine what additional classroom management training is 
needed, if any, and what additional classroom support 
activities should be provided by the principal and school 
administration. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:252 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed rule affect the authority and 

rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? Yes. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Handbook for School 

AdministratorsClassroom Management Training 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The revision to Sections 337 and 1302 of Bulletin 741: 
Louisiana Handbook for School Administrators provides for  

pre-service and on-going grade appropriate classroom 
management training for teachers, principals, and other 
appropriate school personnel regarding positive behavioral 
supports and  reinforcement, conflict resolution, mediation, 
cultural competence, restorative practices, guidance and 
discipline, and adolescent development. It also requires local 
school districts to review discipline data from each school to 
determine what additional classroom management training and 
classroom support activities may be needed. The proposed 
revision will result in a cost of $164 associated with the 
publication of the proposed rule change in the Louisiana 
Register. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed bulletin revisions will not create costs or 
economic benefits to persons directly affected or non-
governmental groups.   

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment.  
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#042 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of 
School Personnel—Certificate Endorsements  

(LAC 28:CXXXI.601) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 746—Louisiana 
Standards for State Certification of School Personnel: §601. 
Introduction. The proposed policy revision will require a 
grade of “C” in all coursework for add-on certification 
purposes. Current policy does not allow the Department of 
Education to accept any grade below a “C” in an approved 
undergraduate education program with the exception of 
coursework under the general education component. This 
will align add-on policy with undergraduate program policy. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
§601. Introduction 

A. Endorsement areas are permanent authorizations 
added to a teaching certificate. Upon comp requirements for 
an additional area of certification, as outlined in this bulletin, 
the holder of a valid Louisiana teaching certificate may have 
the certificate authorization extended to include the newly 
achieved qualifications. For endorsement purposes, the 
following notes apply: 

1. when a generalized reference is made to a Praxis 
exam, this means the current applicable exam(s) in policy, 
with the current established passing score(s); 
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2. semester hours earned to add certification areas 
and/or levels to an existing certificate cannot include repeat 
(or duplicate) coursework; 

3. a National Board Certified (NBC) teacher with an 
existing Louisiana teaching certificate is eligible for the 
addition (add-on) or endorsement to his/her certificate of the 
corresponding area for which NBC is held; 

4. all coursework used for add-on certification must 
be for regular credit and not of a remedial or developmental 
nature and no final grade below a "C" will be accepted for 
any add-on endorsement purposes. 

B. A formal request for an additional authorization on a 
certificate must be directed to the Louisiana Department of 
Education, Division of Teacher Certification and Higher 
Education. For authorizations that require coursework, an 
official transcript from a regionally accredited institution 
must accompany the request. The final authority for 
approval of an additional authorization is the Louisiana 
Department of Education. 

C. This Chapter has been divided into three sections, as 
follows:  

1. regular education level and area endorsements;  
2. special education level and area endorsements; and  
3. all other endorsement areas. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1814 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards  
for State Certification of School Personnel 

Certificate Endorsements  

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed policy revision will require a grade of “C” in 
all coursework for add-on certification purposes. The adoption 
of this policy will cost the Department of Education 
approximately $700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the 
policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#043 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State 
Certification of School Personnel—Early Interventionist 

(LAC 28:CXXXI.625) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin  
746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification of School 
Personnel: §625. Requirements to add Early Interventionist 
Birth through Kindergarten. The proposed policy revision 
will allow individuals who add-on Early Interventionist to 
their existing teaching certificates the certification to serve 
children with disabilities at the age levels of birth through 
kindergarten. Current early interventionist certification 
policy allows an individual to serve children with disabilities 
from birth through five years of age. Because the 
certification add-on policy was age specific and not grade 
specific there was no certified special education teacher to 
service children at the kindergarten level. This change in 
policy will provide greater flexibility for children with 
disabilities to be served by certified teachers. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part CXXXI.  Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for 
State Certification of School Personnel 

Chapter 6. Endorsements to Existing Certificates 
Subchapter B. Special Education Level and Area 

Endorsements 
§625. Requirements to add Early Interventionist Birth 

through Kindergarten 
A. Individuals holding a valid early childhood certificate 

(e.g., PK-K, PK-3), elementary certificate (e.g., 1-4, 1-5, 1-
6, 1-8), upper elementary or middle school certificate (e.g., 
4-8, 5-8, 6-8), secondary certificate (e.g., 6-12, 7-12, 9-12), 
special education certificate, or an All-Level K-12 certificate 
(art, dance, foreign language, health, physical education, 
health and physical education, and music) must achieve the 
following: 
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1. passing score for Praxis exams: Early Childhood 
Education (#0020) and Education of Exceptional Children: 
Core Content Knowledge (#0353); 

2. 18 credit hours that pertain to infants, toddlers, and 
preschoolers, as follows: 

a. foundations in early childhood education and 
early intervention; 

b. understanding and working with families of 
young children; 

c. assessment in early intervention; 
d. early intervention methods; 
e. teaming, physical and medical management in 

early intervention; 
f. communication and literacy in early intervention; 

3. nine semester hours of reading coursework. 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10), (11), (15); R.S. 17:7(6); R.S. 17:10; R.S. 17:22(6); 
R.S. 17:391.1-391.10; R.S. 17:411. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 32:1817 (October 2006), 
amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 

rights or parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No. 

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? No. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Standards 

for State Certification of School  
Personnel—Early Interventionist 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed policy revision will allow individuals who 

add-on Early Interventionist to their existing teaching 
certificates the proper certification to serve children with 
disabilities at the age levels of birth through kindergarten. The 
adoption of this policy will cost the Department of Education 
approximately $700 (printing and postage) to disseminate the 
policy. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on revenue collections. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs and/or economic benefits to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

This policy will have no effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#044 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Elementary and Secondary Education 

Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting  
and Uniform Governmental Handbook  

(LAC 28:XLI.301, 509, 701, 901,  
903, 1101, 1105, and 1301) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., the Administrative 
Procedure Act, notice is hereby given that the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education approved for 
advertisement revisions to Bulletin 1929—Louisiana 
Accounting and Uniform Governmental Handbook: §301. 
Explanation/General Information, §509. Account Groups, 
§701. Revenue Codes, §901. Object Codes, §903. Function 
Codes, §1101. Assets and Other Debit Codes, §1105. Fund 
Balance Codes, and 1301. Minimum Requirements for Lead 
School Business Administrator/Chief Financial 
Officer/Business Manager (Local School Districts and 
Charter Schools). The proposed changes to Bulletin 1929 
reflect the following: 

1. additions and changes related to financial reporting 
by the Department to the U. S. Department of Education; 

2. additions and changes to allow uniform reporting in 
both the Student Information System (SIS) and the Profile of 
Education Personnel (PEP) due to required reporting for 
Federal programs; and 

3. additions and changes to allow for required 
financial reporting per Act 310 of the 2009 Regular 
Legislative Session regarding weighted student funding. 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part XLI.  Bulletin 1929―Louisiana Accounting  
and Uniform Governmental Handbook 

Chapter 3. The Account Classification Structure 
§301. Explanation/General Information 

A. This publication provides for classifying three basic 
types of financial activity: revenues and other sources of 
funds; expenditures and other uses of funds; and transactions 
affecting the balance sheet only. For each type of 
transaction, the specific account code is made up of a 
combination of classifications called dimensions. Each 
dimension describes one way of classifying financial 
activity. The dimensions applicable to each type of 
transaction are: 
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Revenues Expenditures Balance Sheet 
Fund Fund Fund 
Source Object  Balance Sheet Accounts 
 Function  
 
B. - B.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:462 (March 2000), 
amended LR 36:1506 (July 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 5. Fund Classifications 
§509. Account Groups 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17(2)(e). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:464 (March 2000), 
repealed, LR:37. 
Chapter 7. Classification of Revenues and Other 

Sources of Funds 
§701. Revenue Codes 

A. - D.4.e.vi. …  
 vii. 4549 Title VI, Part B―Rural Education 
Achievement Program (REAP)―federal funds administered 
by the state to assist small, high-poverty rural school 
districts meet the mandates of No Child Left Behind. This 
revenue is normally a Special Revenue Fund revenue.  

f. - g. … 
h. 4570 Temporary Assistance for Needy Families 

(TANF)—federal funds administered by the State to assist 
needy families with children so that children can be cared 
for in their own homes; to reduce dependency by promoting 
job preparation, work, and marriage; to reduce and prevent 
out-of-wedlock pregnancies; and to encourage the formation 
and maintenance of two-parent families.  

i. 4580 FEMA Disaster Relief―federal funds 
administered by the state to provide financial assistance to 
an LEA for repairs and/or rebuilding necessary after a 
natural disaster. 

j. 4590 Other Restricted Grants through 
state―federal funds administered by the State other than 
those shown above. 

D.5. - E.5. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A)(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:464 (March 2000), 
amended LR 36:1509 (July 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 9. Classification of Expenditures and Other 

Uses of Funds 
§901. Object Codes 

A. - D.5. … 
6. 250 Unemployment Compensation―amounts paid 

by the LEA to provide unemployment benefits for its 
employees.  

7. 260 Worker's Compensation―amounts paid by the 
LEA to provide worker's compensation insurance and/or 
benefits for its employees. Salary payments for employees 
on worker’s compensations should be charged to this code. 

8. 270 Retiree Health Benefits―amounts paid by the 
LEA to provide health benefits for employees now retired 
and for whom benefits are paid.  

9. 280 Severance Pay―amounts of unused leave paid 
by the LEA to its employees upon their retirement.  

a. 281 Sick Leave Severance Pay―amount of 
unused sick leave paid by the LEA to its employees upon 
their retirement. 

b. 282 Annual Leave Severance Pay―amount of 
unused annual leave paid by the LEA to its employees upon 
their retirement.  

10. 290 Other Employee Benefits―employee benefits 
other than those classified above.  

E. - E.4. …  
F. 400* Purchased Property Services―services 

purchased to operate, repair, maintain, and rent property 
owned or used by the LEA. These services are performed by 
persons other than LEA employees. While a product may or 
may not result from the transaction, the primary reason for 
the purchase is the service provided.  

1. 410 Utility Services―expenditures for utility 
services other than energy services supplied by public or 
private organizations. Water and sewerage are included here. 
Phone and internet services are not included here, but are 
classified under object 530 Communications. This object 
code is used with only function 2600 Operations and 
Maintenance of Plant Services.  

a. 411 Water/Sewerage―expenditures for water/ 
sewerage utility services from a private or public utility 
company.  

2. - 4.b …   
5. 450* Construction Services―expenditures for 

constructing, renovating and remodeling paid to contractors. 
This object code includes the installation of new phone lines 
or cable to provide internet access. This object is used only 
with function―4000 Facilities Acquisition and Construction 
Services.  

6. 490 Other Purchased Property Services―purchased 
property services that are not classified above. Costs for 
phone and internet services are not included here, but are 
included in object 530 Communications. This object code is 
used usually with function 2600 Operations and 
Maintenance of Plant Services. 

G. - G.2.f …  
3. 530 Communications (Phone, Internet and 

Postage)―expenditure for services provided by persons or 
businesses to assist in transmitting and receiving messages 
or information. This category includes cell phone and voice 
communication services, telephone and voicemail; data 
communications services to establish or maintain computer-
based communications, networking and internet services; 
video communications services to establish or maintain one-
way or two-way video communications via satellite, cable, 
or other devices; postal communications services to establish 
or maintain postage machine rentals, postage, express 
delivery services, or couriers. Includes licenses and fees for 
services such as subscriptions to research materials over the 
Internet. Expenditures for software, both “downloaded” and 
“off-the-shelf” should be coded to object 615 or 735 (usually 
used with functions 2200 Instructional Staff Services, 2300 
General Administration, 2400 School Administration, 2500 
Business Services, or 2600 Operations and Maintenance of 
Plant Services). 

4. - 8.c. …  
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9. 590 Miscellaneous Purchased 
Services―expenditures for purchased services not otherwise 
classified in the 300 Purchased Professional and Technical 
Services, 400 Purchased Property Services, or 500 Other 
Purchased Services series of objects. This object code is 
used with all functions, except 5000 Other Sources of Funds.  

a. 595 Interagency Purchased Services―any inter-
district payments other than tuition or transportation should 
be classified here. This code identifies other payments for 
services made between a school district and other 
governmental entities. (Used primarily with function 2000.)  

b. 596* Services Purchased from Another LEA 
Within the State―payments to another LEA within the state 
for services rendered, other than tuition and transportation 
fees. Examples of such services are data processing, 
purchasing, nursing and guidance. When a question arises as 
to whether to code such payments to the 300 series of object 
code, purchased professional and technical services, or to 
this code, 596 should be used so that all inter-district 
payments can be eliminated when consolidating reports from 
multiple LEA's at state and federal levels. This code is used 
only with function 2000 Support Services.  

c. 597* Services Purchased from Another LEA 
outside the State―payments to another LEA outside the 
state for services rendered, other than tuition and 
transportation fees. Examples of such services are data 
processing, purchasing, nursing and guidance. When a 
question arises as to whether to code such payments to the 
300 series of object codes or to this code, 597 Services 
Purchased from Another LEA within the State should be 
used so that all inter-district payments can be eliminated 
when consolidating reports at the federal level. This object 
code is used only with function 2000 Support Services.  

H. - I.4. … 
5. 750 Intangible Assets—expenditures for acquiring 

intangible assets. Intangible assets include easements (the 
right to use land for a specific purpose), land use rights, 
patents, and trademarks. (Computer software exceeding the 
capitalization threshold should be coded to Object 735 
Technology Software.) 

I.6. - K.4. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:468 (March 2000), 
amended LR 36:1516 (July 2010), LR 37: 
§903. Function Codes 

A. - C.1.c. … 
2. 1200 Special Education Programs―specially 

designed instruction to meet the unique needs and abilities of 
disabled or gifted children during regular school day, 
extended day, and summer school. 

a. 1210 Special Education―specifically designed 
instruction provided at no cost to the parents that meets the 
unique needs of a student with a disability. Special education 
includes instruction in the classroom, in the home, in 
hospitals, institutions and other settings, physical education, 
travel, training and career and technical education. 
 i. 1211 Special Education: Classroom  
Teacher—provides instruction to students with disabilities in 
a core academic subject or non-core subjects.  

 ii. 1212 Special Education: Inclusion Classroom 
Teacher—provides direct assistance to students with 
disabilities (e.g., interventions, reinforcement of content 
provided in the general education and /or segregated 
settings), but the students with disabilities receive their 
instruction on core academic subjects from a NCLB highly 
qualified general education teacher. 
 iii. 1213 Special Education: Paraprofessional 
Training Unit Teacher—provides instruction to students with 
disabilities with the support of two or more paraeducators 
based on the number of students in the class.  

2.a.iv. - 4.h. … 
5. 1500 Special Programs―activities primarily for 

students having special needs. These programs include pre-
kindergarten, culturally different students with learning 
disabilities, bilingual students, and special programs for 
other types of students. 

a. 1510 No Child Left Behind (NCLB)―activities 
for economically and educationally deprived students whose 
background is so different from that of most other students 
that they need additional opportunities beyond those 
provided in the regular educational program.  

b. 1520 English Language Acquisition Group  
(Title III)―activities for students from homes in which the 
English language is not the primary language spoken. 

c. 1530 Pre-Kindergarten Programs―activities 
associated with children of any age span below kindergarten. 

d. 1531 Head Start Program—activities associated 
with children attending Head Start programs in the local 
school districts. 

e. 1590 Other—activities for students having 
special needs not included above. 

6. …  
7. 1700 Community/Junior College Education 

Programs―deleted in the September 1999 revision; 
maintained only for historical purposes.  

D. 2000 Support Services―support services provide 
administrative, technical (such as guidance and health), and 
logistical support to facilitate and enhance instruction. These 
services exist as adjuncts for fulfilling the objectives of 
instruction, community services and enterprise programs, 
rather than as entities within themselves.  

1. 2100* Pupil Support Services―activities designed 
to assess and improve the well-being of students and to 
supplement the teaching process.  

a. 2110 Attendance and Social Work 
Services―activities designed to improve student attendance 
at school that attempt to prevent or solve student problems 
involving the home, the school, and the community.  
 i. 2111 Supervision of Attendance and Social 
Work Services―activities associated with directing, 
managing and supervising attendance and social work.  
 ii. 2112 Attendance Services―activities such as 
promptly identifying nonattendance patterns, promoting 
improved attitudes toward attendance, analyzing causes of 
nonattendance, acting early on nonattendance problems, and 
enforcing compulsory attendance laws. Specific activities 
may include truancy and local law enforcement services. 
 iii. 2113 Social Work Services―activities such as 
investigating and diagnosing student problems arising out of 
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the home, school, or community; providing casework and 
group work services for the child, parent, or both; 
interpreting the problems of students for other staff 
members; and promoting modification of the circumstances 
surrounding the individual student and related to his or her 
problem (excludes special education services). 
 iv. - v. …  

b. 2120 Guidance Services―activities involving 
counseling with students and parents; consulting with other 
staff members on learning problems; evaluating the abilities 
of students; assisting students as they make their own 
educational and career plans and choices; assisting students 
in personal and social development; providing referral 
assistance; and working with other staff members in 
planning and conducting guidance programs for students.  
 i. 2121 Supervision of Guidance 
Services―activities associated with directing, managing and 
supervising guidance services.  
 ii. 2122 Counseling Services―activities 
concerned with the relationship among one or more 
counselors and one or more students as counselees, among 
students and students, and among counselors and other staff 
members. These activities are designed to help the student 
understand his or her educational, personal, and occupational 
strengths and limitations; relate his or her abilities, emotions, 
and aptitudes to educational and career opportunities; utilize 
his or her abilities in formulating realistic plans; and achieve 
satisfying personal and social development.  
 iii. 2124 Information Services―activities for 
disseminating educational, occupational, and personal social 
information to help acquaint students with the curriculum 
and with educational and career and technical opportunities 
and requirements. Such information might be provided 
directly to students through activities such as group or 
individual guidance, or it might be provided indirectly to 
students, through staff members or parents.  
 iv. 2125 Record Maintenance Services―activities 
for compiling, maintaining, and interpreting cumulative 
records of individual students, including systematic 
consideration of such factors as home and family 
background, physical and medical status, standardized test 
results, personal and social development, and school 
performance. 
 v. 2126 Placement Services―activities that help 
place students in appropriate situations while they are in 
school. These placements could be educational situations, 
part-time employment while they are in school, and 
appropriate educational and occupational situations after 
they leave school. These activities also help ease the 
student's transition from one educational experience to 
another. The transition may require, for example, admissions 
counseling, referral services, assistance with records, and 
follow–up communications with employers.  
 vi. 2129 Other Guidance services―guidance 
services that cannot be classified above.  

c. 2130 Health Services―physical and mental 
health services that are not direct instruction. Included are 
activities that provide students with appropriate medical, 
dental, and nursing services (excludes special education 
services). 

 i. 2131 Supervision of Health Services― 
activities associated with directing and managing health 
services.  
 ii. 2132 Medical Services―activities concerned 
with the physical and mental health of students, such as 
health appraisals, including screening for vision, 
communicable diseases, and hearing deficiencies; screening 
for psychiatric services, periodic health examinations; 
emergency injury and illness care; and communications with 
parents and medical officials (includes psychologists that are 
not special education). 
 iii. - v … 

d. 2140 Psychological and Educational Assessment 
Services―activities concerned with administering 
psychological tests and interpreting the results; gathering 
and interpreting information about student behavior; 
working with other staff members in planning school 
programs to meet the special needs of students as indicated 
by psychological tests and behavioral evaluation; and 
planning and managing a program of psychological services, 
including psychological counseling for students, staff and 
parents (special education only). 

d.i. - e.v. … 
f. 2160 Occupational Therapy and -Related 

Services—services provided by a qualified occupational 
therapist to develop and enhance the independent physical 
functioning of students with disabilities. Occupational 
therapy services provided by schools are for educational 
purposes to enable a student with a disability to progress on 
his or her Individualized Education Program (IEP). 
 i. 2161 Occupational Therapist—assists students 
who have conditions that are mentally, physically, 
developmentally, or emotionally disabling. Occupational 
Therapists assist students to develop, recover, or maintain 
daily living and work skills. 

g. 2165 Therapy—treatment of illness or disability.  
 i. 2166 Physical Therapy—services provided by 
a qualified physical therapist to develop and enhance the 
physical functioning of students with disabilities so the 
student can receive FAPE. Physical therapy services 
provided by schools are for education purposes to enable a 
student with a disability to progress on his/her IEP. 
 ii. 2167 Recreational Therapy—provides therapy 
to remediate functional activities, provide leisure education, 
for learning the skills related to leisure involvement, and 
help the child participate in recreation. 
 iii. 2168 Rehabilitation Therapy—services 
provided by qualified personnel in individual or group 
sessions that focus specifically on career development, 
employment preparation, achieving independence, and 
integration in the workplace and community of a student 
with a disability. 
 iv. 2169 Orientation and Mobility Specialist—
services provided to blind and visually impaired students. 

1.h. - 2.c.vi. …  
 vii. 2239 Other Education Programs―activities 
associated with the professional development and training of 
instructional personnel for students in other programs, not 
identified above. 
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d. 2250 Library/Media Services―activities 
concerned with the use of all teaching and learning 
resources, including hardware and content materials. 
Educational media are defined as any devices, content 
materials, methods, or experiences used for teaching and 
learning purposes. These materials include printed and 
nonprinted sensory materials. 
 i. 2251 Supervision of Library/Media 
Services―activities concerned with directing, managing and 
supervising educational media services. 
 ii. 2252 School Library/Media Services― 
activities such as selecting, acquiring, preparing, cataloging, 
and circulating books and other printed materials; planning 
the use of the library by students, teachers and other 
members of the instructional staff; and guiding individuals in 
their use of library books, reference guides and materials, 
catalog materials, special collections and other materials, 
whether maintained separately or as a part of an instructional 
materials center. These activities include developing and 
acquiring library materials and operating library facilities. 
Textbooks are not charged to this function, but rather to 
function 1000 Instruction. 
 iii. 2259 Other Educational Media 
Services―educational media services other than those 
classified above. 

e. 2290 Other Instructional Staff Services―services 
supporting the instructional staff not properly classified 
elsewhere in 2200 Instructional Staff Services. 

D.3. - G.3. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A) (10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:474 (March 2000), 
amended LR 27:1684 (October 2001), LR 36:1522 (July 2010), LR 
37: 
Chapter 11. Classification of Balance Sheet Accounts 
§1101. Assets and Other Debit Codes 

A. … 
B. Current Assets―cash or anything that can be readily 

converted into cash. 
1. 101 Cash in Bank―all funds on deposit with a 

bank or savings and loan institution in interest bearing and 
non-interest-bearing checking accounts. 

2. 102 Cash on Hand―currency, coins, checks, postal 
and express money orders, and bankers' drafts on hand. 

3. 103 Petty Cash―a sum of money set aside for the 
purpose of paying small obligations for which the issuance 
of a formal voucher and check would be too expensive and 
time-consuming. 

4. 104 Change Cash―a sum of money set aside to 
provide change. 

5. 105 Cash with Fiscal Agents―deposits with fiscal 
agents, such as commercial banks, for paying matured bonds 
and interest. 

6. 111 Investments―securities and real estate held for 
producing income in the form of interest, dividends, rentals 
or lease payments. The account does not include capital 
assets used in LEA operations. Separate accounts for each 
category of investments may be maintained. 

7. - 41. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6 (A) (10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:481 (March 2000), 
amended LR 36:1531 (July 2010), LR 37: 
§1105. Fund Balance Codes 

A. - A.8. …  
9. 780 Unreserved-Designated Fund Balance―a 

designation representing that portion of the fund balance 
segregated to indicate that assets equal to the amount of the 
designation have been earmarked by the governing board or 
senior management for a bona fide purpose in the future, 
such as general contingencies or for equipment replacement.  

10. 790 Nonspendable Fund Balance—amounts that are 
not in a spendable form (such as inventories and prepaid 
items) and other amounts that are legally or contractually 
required to be maintained intact (such as principal of a 
permanent fund). 

11. 795 Restricted Fund Balance—amounts constrained 
to specific purposes by their providers such as grantors, 
bondholders, and higher levels of government, through 
constitutional provisions, or by enabling legislation. 

12. 796 Committed Fund Balance—amounts 
constrained to specific purposes by a government itself, 
using its highest level of decision-making authority; to be 
reported as committed, amounts cannot be used for any other 
purpose unless the government takes the same highest-level 
actions to remove or change the constraint. 

13. 797 Assigned Fund Balance—amounts a 
government intends to use for a specific purpose; intent can 
be expressed by the governing body or by an official or body 
to which the governing body delegates the authority. 

14. 798 Unassigned Fund Balance—amounts that are 
available for any purpose; these amounts are reported only in 
the general fund. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
17:6(A)(10). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 
Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 26:483 (March 2000), 
amended LR 27:1684 (October 2001), repromulgated LR 34:1388 
(July 2008), amended LR 36:1533 (July 2010), LR 37: 
Chapter 13. Personnel Requirements 
§1301. Minimum Requirements for Lead School 

Business Administrator/Chief Financial 
Officer/Business Manager (Local School 
Districts and Charter Schools) 

A. Minimum qualifications, must meet one of the 
following: 

1. a baccalaureate degree with a minimum of 24 hours 
of business-related courses, such as accounting, finance, or 
management; 

2. a certified public accountant licensed in Louisiana; 
3. a master's degree in public or business 

administration. 
B. - E …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:6(A)(10). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of 

Elementary and Secondary Education, LR 33:434 (March 2007), 
amended LR 36:1533 (July 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Will the proposed Rule affect the stability of the 

family? No. 
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2. Will the proposed Rule affect the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children? No. 

3. Will the proposed Rule affect the functioning of the 
family? No. 

4. Will the proposed Rule affect family earnings and 
family budget? No. 

5. Will the proposed Rule affect the behavior and 
personal responsibility of children? No.  

6. Is the family or a local government able to perform 
the function as contained in the proposed Rule? Yes. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments via the 

U.S. Mail until 4:30 p.m., April 11, 2011, to: Nina A. Ford, 
State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, P.O. 
Box 94064, Capitol Station, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9064. 

 
Brad Smith 
Finance/Legislative Specialist 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting  

and Uniform Governmental Handbook 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed revisions in policy are related to changes in 
financial reporting by the state Department of Education to the 
U. S. Department of Education, and changes to allow for 
financial reporting per Act 310 of the 2009 Regular Legislative 
Session regarding weighted student funding. There will be no 
implementation costs to state governmental units. 
Implementation costs to local school systems are 
indeterminable, and will vary by district depending on the 
changes necessary to accounting systems to accommodate the 
revisions. These should be one-time expenditures. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The desired impact is greater fiscal transparency as a result 
of more accurate and consistent fiscal reporting by school 
districts. The revisions will provide the Department of 
Education with the financial data in a manner that allows for 
accurate reporting in data collections required by the federal 
government. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition and employment. 
 

Beth Scioneaux H. Gordon Monk 
Deputy Superintendent Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#045 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Financial Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsAcademic Year 
(LAC 28:IV.301) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) announces its intention to amend its 
Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, 3041.10-
3041.15, 3042.1, 3048.1, 3048.5 and 3048.6). 

This rulemaking amends the definitions of academic year 
(college) and intersession to provide that the academic year 
(college) includes an intersession that lasts no more than 15 
class days and ends no later than June 15. (SG11129NI) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions  

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in this 
Chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and 
terms in this Section. Where the masculine is used in these 
rules, it includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the 
singular is used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

Academic Year (college)― 
a. Through the 2007-2008 academic year, the two- 

and four-year college and university academic year begins 
with the fall term of the award year, includes the winter 
term, if applicable, and concludes with the completion of the 
spring term of the award year. Intersessions ending during 
the academic year are included in the academic year. The 
two- and four-year college and university academic year 
does not include summer sessions or intersessions that do 
not end during the academic year. 

b. During the 2008-2009 academic year, the 
academic year begins with the fall term of the award year, 
includes the winter term, if applicable, and concludes with 
the completion of the intersession immediately following the 
spring term of the award year. Intersessions ending during 
the academic year, including the intersession immediately 
following the spring term, are included in the academic year. 
The two- and four-year college and university academic year 
does not include summer sessions or other intersessions. 

c. Beginning with the 2009-2010 academic year and 
thereafter, the academic year begins with the fall term of the 
award year and concludes with the completion of the spring 
term of the award year or the intersession immediately 
following the spring term if such intersession ends no later 
than June 15, whichever is later. Any intersession or term 
that begins and ends during the academic year is included. 
The two- and four-year college and university academic year 
does not include other intersessions or summer sessions. See 
the definition of intersession below. 

* * * 
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Intersession― 
a. During the 2008-2009 academic year, an 

academic term between regular semesters/terms that 
provides credit courses to students in an intensive, 
condensed format. 

b. Beginning with the 2009-2010 academic year, 
any academic term that provides credit courses to students in 
an intensive, condensed format that is no longer than 15 
class days. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458 and 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), LR 27:1840 (November 2001), LR 27:1875 
(November 2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 
2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 
2002), LR 29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 
30:1159 (June 2004), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31:36 
(January 2005), LR 31:3112 (December 2005), LR 33:86 (January 
2007), LR 33:439 (March 2007), LR 33:1339 (July 2007), LR 
33:2612 (December 2007), LR 34:234 (February 2008), LR 
34:1388 (July 2008), LR 34:1884 (September 2008), LR 35:228 
(February 2009), LR 35:1489 (August 2009), LR 35:1490 (August 
2009), LR 36:311 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2854 (December 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Small Business Statement 
The proposed rule will have no adverse impact on small 

businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq.  
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 
proposed changes (SG11129NI) until 4:30 p.m., March 14, 
2011, to Melanie Amrhein, Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9202. 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE: Scholarship/Grant Programs 

Academic Year 
 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule only clarifies the TOPS Academic Year 

(College) and Intersession definitions in rule to increase their 
specificity and thus reduce confusion over what intersession 
offerings by schools actually qualify for inclusion in the TOPS 
Academic Year. TOPS does not pay for enrollment in 
intersessions. The proposed changes do not impact TOPS 
Program costs. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 
be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed changes will help students and schools better 
understand which course credits can be applied to the TOPS 
requirement to earn at least 24 hours each academic year.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition and Employment will not be affected by the 
proposed change. 

 
George Badge Eldredge Evan Brasseaux 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1102#002 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Student Financial Assistance Commission 
Office of Student Finanical Assistance 

Scholarship/Grant ProgramsTuition 
(LAC 28:IV.301) 

The Louisiana Student Financial Assistance Commission 
(LASFAC) announces its intention to amend its 
Scholarship/Grant rules (R.S. 17:3021-3025, 3041.10-
3041.15, 3042.1, 3048.1, 3048.5 and 3048.6). 

This rulemaking revises the definition of tuition for the 
purpose of determining the award amount for the Taylor 
Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) beginning with 
the spring semester, quarter or term of the 2011-2012 award 
year to be either the tuition and mandatory fees as currently 
defined or the institution’s published tuition fee amount only, 
whichever is greater. (SG11125NI) 

Title 28 
EDUCATION 

Part IV.  Student Financial Assistance―Higher 
Education Scholarship and Grant Programs 

Chapter 3. Definitions 
§301. Definitions 

A. Words and terms not otherwise defined in these rules 
shall have the meanings ascribed to such words and terms in 
this Section. Where the masculine is used in these rules, it 
includes the feminine, and vice versa; where the singular is 
used, it includes the plural, and vice versa. 

* * * 
Tuition― 

a. Through the fall semester or term and winter 
quarter of the 2010-2011 award year, the fee charged each 
student by a post-secondary institution to cover the student's 
share of the cost of instruction, including all other 
mandatory enrollment fees charged to all students except for 
the technology fee authorized by Act 1450 of the 1997 
Regular Session of the Legislature: 
 i. which were in effect as of January 1, 1998; 
 ii. any changes in the cost of instruction 
authorized by the legislature and implemented by the 
institution after that date; and 
 iii. for programs with alternative scheduling 
formats that are approved in writing by the Board of Regents 
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after that date. Any payment for enrollment in one of these 
programs shall count towards the student's maximum 
eligibility for his award: 

(a). up to the equivalent of eight full time 
semesters of postsecondary education in full time semesters 
for the TOPS Opportunity, Performance and Honors Award; 
or 

(b). up to the equivalent of two years of 
postsecondary education in full time semesters and summer 
sessions for the TOPS Tech Award. 

b. Beginning with the spring semester, quarter or 
term of the 2010-2011 award year: 
 i. the tuition and mandatory fees authorized in 
Subparagraph a above; or 
 ii. the tuition fee amount published by the 
postsecondary institution, whichever is greater. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

17:3021-3025, R.S. 17:3042.1 and R.S. 17:3048.1. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Student Financial 

Assistance Commission, Office of Student Financial Assistance, 
LR 22:338 (May 1996), repromulgated LR 24:632 (April 1998), 
amended LR 24:1898 (October 1998), LR 24:2237 (December 
1998), LR 25:256 (February 1999), LR 25:654 (April 1999), LR 
25:1458 and 1460 (August 1999), LR 25:1794 (October 1999), LR 
26:65 (January 2000), LR 26:688 (April 2000), LR 26:1262 (June 
2000), LR 26:1601 (August 2000), LR 26:1993, 1999 (September 
2000), LR 26:2268 (October 2000), LR 26:2752 (December 2000), 
LR 27:36 (January 2001), LR 27:284 (March 2001), LR 27:1219 
(August 2001), LR 27:1840 (November 2001), LR 27:1875 
(November 2001), LR 28:45 (January 2002), LR 28:446 (March 
2002), LR 28:772 (April 2002), LR 28:2330, 2331 (November 
2002), LR 29:555 (April 2003), LR 29:879 (June 2003), LR 
30:1159 (June 2004), LR 30:2015 (September 2004), LR 31:36 
(January 2005), LR 31:3112 (December 2005), LR 33:86 (January 
2007), LR 33:439 (March 2007), LR 33:1339 (July 2007), LR 
33:2612 (December 2007), LR 34:234 (February 2008), LR 
34:1388 (July 2008), LR 34:1884 (September 2008), LR 35:228 
(February 2009), LR 35:1489 (August 2009), LR 35:1490 (August 
2009), LR 36:311 (February 2010), LR 36:490 (March 2010), LR 
36:2854 (December 2011), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rule has no known impact on family 

formation, stability, or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972.  

Small Business Statement 
The proposed Rule will have no adverse impact on small 

businesses as described in R.S. 49:965.2 et seq.  
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on the 
proposed changes (SG11125NI) until 4:30 p.m., March 14, 
2011, to Melanie Amrhein, Executive Director, Office of 
Student Financial Assistance, P.O. Box 91202, Baton Rouge, 
LA 70821-9202. 

 
George Badge Eldredge 
General Counsel 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Scholarship/Grant ProgramsTuition 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) 
expenditures will increase by an estimated $623,000 in Fiscal 
Year 2010-11 due to the requirement under R. S. 17:3048.1 to 
pay a TOPS award amount that is equal to the tuition charged 
by participating institutions and the fact that, in implementing 
authorized increases to tuition and mandatory fees, the 
approved tuition at some institutions has increased more than 
others. TOPS Awards may increase by an estimated $685,000 
in Fiscal Year 2011-12 and $754,000 in Fiscal Year 2012-13. 
These estimates in Fiscal Years 2012-13 and 2013-14 are based 
on the maximum 10 percent increase each year authorized by 
Act 915 of 2008 and the Grad Act of 2010. However, the actual 
amounts could be more or less depending on Grad Act 
educational performance goals and future increases authorized 
by the Legislature. The Louisiana Office of Student Financial 
Assistance can fund these additional Awards in Fiscal Year 
2010-11 with the agency’s current appropriation amount. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Revenue collections of state and local governments will not 
be affected by the proposed changes. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Adjusting the maximum TOPS payment to comply with the 
provisions of R.S. 17:3048.1 will result in some students 
receiving an increased TOPS Award Amount to pay their cost 
of attendance (tuition, books, room and board etc.) and thus 
reducing their out-of-pocket expenses.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Competition and Employment will not be affected by the 
proposed change. 

 
George Badge Eldredge Evan Brasseaux 
General Counsel Staff Director 
1102#001 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Non-Road Engines 
(LAC 33:III.501 and 502)(AQ317) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.501.B.1.e 
and 502.A. (AQ317). 

In order to eliminate the overlap between LAC 
33:III.501.B.1.c and LAC 33:III.501.B.5, Item B.4 and to 
correct an apparent discrepancy in Item B.4: 

1. a general exemption for "nonroad engines" will be 
created under LAC 33:III.501.B.1; 

2. references to "exhaust emissions" from self-
propelled mobile sources will be removed from Item B.4; 
and  

3. references to "transportable emissions units" will be 
removed from Item B.4. 

LAC 33:III.501.B.5 establishes the insignificant activities 
list in the air quality regulations. Activities under "B" need 
not be included in a permit application. Item B.4 of this list 
addresses self-propelled mobile sources and "transportable" 
emissions units as follows: 
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“exhaust emissions or vehicle refueling emissions 
from cars, trucks, forklifts, courier vehicles, front 
loaders, graders, cranes, carts, maintenance 
trucks, locomotives, helicopters, marine vessels, 
and other self-propelled on-road and nonroad 
mobile sources unless required to obtain a permit 
under Title V of the Clean Air Act. This 
exemption does not include any transportable 
emissions units such as temporary compressors or 
boilers, unless regulated by Title II of the Clean 
Air Act. This exemption does not cover loading 
racks or fueling operations covered by LAC 
33:III.Chapter 21.” 

With respect to exhaust emissions from self-propelled 
mobile sources, Item B.4 duplicates LAC 33:III.501.B.1.c, 
which states that the requirement to obtain a permit in 
accordance with LAC 33:III.Chapter 5 does not apply to 
mobile sources such as automobiles, trucks, and aircraft. 

Item B.4 also exempts "transportable" emissions units 
such as temporary compressors or boilers if they are 
regulated by Title II of the Clean Air Act. Title II addresses 
"nonroad engines" in Section 213 (42 U.S.C. 7547); 
however, it does not address boilers. Consequently, portable 
boilers should not be classified as insignificant activities. 
The basis and rationale for this rule are to eliminate the 
overlap between LAC 33:III.501.B.1.c and LAC 
33:III.501.B.5, Item B.4 and to correct an apparent 
discrepancy in Item B.4. This Rule meets an exception listed 
in R.S. 30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no 
report regarding environmental/health benefits and 
social/economic costs is required.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§501. Scope and Applicability 

A. - B.1.b. … 
c. mobile sources such as automobiles, trucks, and 

aircraft;  
d. any upset, as defined in LAC 33:III.507.J.1; 

however, the permitting authority shall be advised of such 
occurrences without delay, in accordance with all applicable 
upset or emergency provisions of Louisiana Air Quality 
regulations and of LAC 33:I.Chapter 39; or 

e. a nonroad engine, as defined in LAC 
33:III.502.A. 

2. - 5. … 
 

Table 1. - Insignificant Activities List  
* * *  

[See Prior Text in A. – B.3.] 
4. vehicle refueling emissions from cars, trucks, forklifts, courier 
vehicles, front-loaders, graders, cranes, carts, maintenance trucks, 
locomotives, helicopters, marine vessels, and other self-propelled on-road 
and nonroad mobile sources. . This exemption does not cover loading 
racks or fueling operations covered by LAC 33:III.Chapter 21; 

* * *  
[See Prior Text in B.5 – D.] 

 
B.6. - C.13. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2011 and 2054. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended by the 
Office of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality 
Division, LR 16:613 (July 1990), LR 17:478 (May 1991), LR 
19:1420 (November 1993), LR 20:1281 (November 1994), LR 
20:1375 (December 1994), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), 
amended by the Office of the Secretary, LR 25:660 (April 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:997 (May 2002), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, LR 31:1063 (May 2005), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), LR 
32:1842 (October 2006), LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 33:2626 
(December 2007), LR 35:461 (March 2009), LR 35:2351 
(November 2009), LR 37: 
§502. Definitions 

A. Except where specifically provided in another Section 
herein, the following definitions apply to terms used in this 
Chapter. Except as provided in this Chapter, terms used in 
this Chapter retain the definition provided them in LAC 
33:III.111 or the Louisiana Air Quality regulations. 
Wherever provisions related to the Acid Rain Program are 
concerned, the definitions provided in 40 CFR Part 72 shall 
apply. 

* * * 
Nonroad Engine— 

a. Except as discussed in Subparagraph b of this 
definition, a nonroad engine is any internal combustion 
engine: 
 i. used in or on a piece of equipment that is self-
propelled or serves a dual purpose by both propelling itself 
and performing another function (such as garden tractors, 
off-highway mobile cranes, and bulldozers); 
 ii. used in or on a piece of equipment that is 
intended to be propelled while performing its function (such 
as lawnmowers and string trimmers); or 
 iii. that, by itself or in or on a piece of equipment, 
is portable or transportable, meaning designed to be and 
capable of being carried or moved from one location to 
another. Indications of transportability include, but are not 
limited to, wheels, skids, carrying handles, dolly, trailer, or 
platform.  

b. An internal combustion engine is not a nonroad 
engine if: 
 i. the engine is used to propel a motor vehicle, an 
aircraft, or equipment used solely for competition; 
 ii. the engine is regulated by a federal New 
Source Performance Standard promulgated under section 
111 of the Act (42 U.S.C. 7411); or 
 iii. the engine otherwise included in Clause a.iii of 
this definition remains or will remain at a location for more 
than 12 consecutive months or a shorter period of time for an 
engine located at a seasonal source. A location is any single 
site at a building, structure, facility, or installation. Any 
engine (or engines) that replaces an engine at a location and 
that is intended to perform the same or similar function as 
the engine replaced will be included in calculating the 
consecutive time period. An engine located at a seasonal 
source is an engine that remains at a seasonal source during 
the full annual operating period of the seasonal source. A 
seasonal source is a stationary source that remains in a single 
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location on a permanent basis (i.e., at least two years) and 
that operates at that single location for approximately three 
months (or more) each year. [Note: Clause b.iii of this 
definition does not apply to an engine after it is removed 
from the location.] 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:1420 (November 1993), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 (November 2000), 
LR 28:1950 (September 2002), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on March 29, 2011, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Donald Trahan at the address given 
below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by AQ317. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 5, 2011, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Donald Trahan, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, 
Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 
219-4068 or by e-mail to donald.trahan@la.gov. Copies of 
these proposed regulations can be purchased by contacting 
the DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of AQ317. 
These proposed regulations are available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

These proposed regulations are available for inspection at 
the following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 
p.m.: 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 
Highway 546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office 
Building, 1525 Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 
1301 Gadwall Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New 
Center Drive, Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, 
Lockport, LA 70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, 
New Orleans, LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Non-Road Engines 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be no implementation costs or savings to state or 

local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule. The 

proposed rule creates a general exemption for “non-road 
engines,” which are currently addressed in the Insignificant 
Activities (IA) list. It also removes “exhaust emissions” from 
mobile sources from the IA list, as a general exemption for 
such emissions already exists. Finally, “transportable emissions 
units” will be deleted from the IA list. As noted above, non-
road engines, a type of transportable emissions unit, will be 
addressed by a general exemption. Other transportable 
emissions units should not be considered “insignificant” under 
the existing provision because they are not regulated by Title II 
of the Clean Air Act. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units as a result of the proposed rule. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There will be no costs and/or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups as a result of the 
proposed rule. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There will be no effect on competition or employment in 
the public or private sector as a result of the proposed rule. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Counsel Staff Director 
1102#068 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 

Pm2.5 NSR Implementation 
(LAC 33:III.504 and 509)(AQ318) 

Under the authority of the Environmental Quality Act, 
R.S. 30:2001 et seq., and in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
secretary gives notice that rulemaking procedures have been 
initiated to amend the Air regulations, LAC 33:III.504 and 
509 (Log #AQ318). 

This Rule incorporates the provisions of the 
Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) final rule entitled 
"Implementation of the New Source Review (NSR) Program 
for Particulate Matter Less than 2.5 Micrometers (PM2.5)", 
found at 73 FR 28321, May 16. 2008, into the Louisiana air 
quality regulations. This action also addresses concerns 
raised by the EPA in correspondence dated January 24, 2008. 
The Clean Air Act requires both major and minor NSR 
programs to address any pollutant for which there is a 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) and 
precursors to the formation of such pollutant when identified 
for regulation by EPA. EPA's PM2.5 NSR implementation 
Rule amends the federal NSR regulations to establish the 
minimum elements for state programs implementing NSR 
for the PM2.5 NAAQS and requires states with SIP-
approved PSD programs (like Louisiana) to "submit revised 
PSD programs and revised NNSR programs for PM2.5" by 
May 16, 2011. By letter dated January 24, 2008, EPA 
submitted comments on revisions to LDEQ's Prevention of 
Significant Deterioration (PSD) and Nonattainment New 
Source Review (NNSR) rules promulgated on December 20, 
2005. LDEQ responded to EPA's concerns on October 6, 
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2008. In sum, to ensure SIP-approvability of LDEQ's PSD 
and NNSR regulations, the definition of "malfunctions" will 
be removed from LAC 33:III.504 and 509 and the reference 
to LAC 33:III.519 in Section 504 will be replaced with text 
that parallels the federal rule at 40 CFR 51.165. This rule is 
also a revision to the Louisiana State Implementation Plan 
for air quality. The basis and rationale for this rule are to 
incorporate the provisions of EPA's PM2.5 NSR 
Implementation Rule into the air quality regulations and 
modify several existing provisions to ensure SIP-
approvability. This rule meets an exception listed in R.S. 
30:2019(D)(2) and R.S. 49:953(G)(3); therefore, no report 
regarding environmental/health benefits and social/economic 
costs is required.  

Title 33 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Part III.  Air 
Chapter 5. Permit Procedures 
§504. Nonattainment New Source Review (NNSR) 

Procedures 
A. - E.5. … 
F. Emission Offsets. All emission offsets approved by 

the department shall be surplus, permanent, quantifiable, and 
enforceable in accordance with LAC 33.III.Chapter 6 and 
shall meet the following criteria. 

1. Except as specified in Subsection M of this Section, 
offsets shall be required at the ratio specified in Subsection 
L, Table 1 of this Section. All emission reductions claimed 
as offset credit shall be from decreases of the same regulated 
pollutant or pollutant class (e.g., VOC) for which the offset 
is required, except that direct PM2.5 emissions or emissions 
of PM2.5 precursors may be offset by reductions in direct 
PM2.5 emissions or emissions of any PM2.5 precursor, if such 
offsets comply with the interprecursor trading hierarchy and 
ratio established in the approved SIP for a particular 
nonattainment area. 

F.2. - J.4.b. … 
5. Public Participation Requirement for PALs. 

Procedures to establish, renew, or increase PALs for existing 
major stationary sources shall be consistent with 40 CFR 
51.160 and 51.161. These include the requirement that the 
administrative authority provide the public with notice of the 
proposed approval of a PAL permit and at least a 30-day 
period for submittal of public comments. The administrative 
authority shall address all material comments before taking 
final action on the permit. 

6. - 15.b. … 
K. Definitions. The terms in this Section are used as 

defined in LAC 33:III.111 with the exception of those terms 
specifically defined as follows. 

* * * 
Malfunctions—Repealed. 

* * * 
Regulated Pollutant— 

a. any pollutant for which a national ambient air 
quality standard has been promulgated or any constituent or 
precursor for the identified pollutant, provided that such 
constituent or precursor pollutant is only regulated under 
NNSR as part of regulation of the primary pollutant. 
Precursors identified by the administrative authority for 
purposes of NNSR include the following: 

 i. volatile organic compounds and nitrogen 
oxides are precursors to ozone in all ozone nonattainment 
areas; 
 ii. sulfur dioxide is a precursor to PM2.5 in all 
PM2.5 nonattainment areas; 
 iii. nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors 
to PM2.5 in all PM2.5 nonattainment areas, unless the 
administrative authority demonstrates to the administrator’s 
satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that emissions of nitrogen 
oxides from sources in a specific area are not a significant 
contributor to that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations; and 
 iv.  volatile organic compounds and ammonia are 
presumed not to be precursors to PM2.5 in any PM2.5 
nonattainment area, unless the administrative authority 
demonstrates to the administrator’s satisfaction or EPA 
demonstrates that emissions of volatile organic compounds 
or ammonia from sources in a specific area are a significant 
contributor to that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations. 

b.  PM2.5 emissions and PM10 emissions shall 
include the gaseous emissions from a source or activity 
which condense to form particulate matter at ambient 
temperatures. On or after January 1, 2011, such condensable 
particulate matter shall be accounted for in applicability 
determinations and in establishing emissions limitations for 
PM2.5 and PM10 in NNSR permits. 

* * * 
Significant—in reference to a net emissions increase or 

the potential of a source to emit any of the following 
pollutants, a rate of emissions that would equal or exceed the 
lower of any of the following rates or the applicable major 
modification significant net increase threshold in Subsection 
L, Table 1 of this Section. 

 
 

Pollutant Emission Rate 
Carbon 
monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 

Nitrogen oxides 40 tpy 
Sulfur dioxide 40 tpy 

Ozone 40 tpy of volatile organic compounds or nitrogen 
oxides 

Lead 0.6 tpy 
PM10 15 tpy 

PM2.5 
10 tpy of direct PM2.5 emissions; 40 tpy of sulfur 
dioxide emissions; 40 tpy of nitrogen oxide1 

1Nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors to PM2.5 in all PM2.5 
nonattainment areas unless the administrative authority demonstrates to the 
administrator’s satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that emissions of nitrogen 
oxides from sources in a specific area are not a significant contributor to 
that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations. 

 
* * * 

L. Table 1—Major Stationary Source/Major 
Modification Emission Thresholds 

 
Table 1 

Major Stationary Source/Major Modification Emission Thresholds 

Pollutant 

Major 
Stationary 

Source 
Threshold 

Values 
(tons/year) 

Major 
Modification 

Significant Net 
Increase 

(tons/year) 

Offset Ratio 
Minimum 

Ozone 
VOC/NOx 

 Trigger Values  

 Marginal 100 40(40)2 1.10 to 1 
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Table 1 
Major Stationary Source/Major Modification Emission Thresholds 

Pollutant 

Major 
Stationary 

Source 
Threshold 

Values 
(tons/year) 

Major 
Modification 

Significant Net 
Increase 

(tons/year) 

Offset Ratio 
Minimum 

 Moderate 100 40(40)2 1.15 to 1 

 Serious 50 253(5)4 
1.20 to 1 w/LAER or 
1.40 to 1 internal w/o 

LAER 

 Severe 25 253(5)4 
1.30 to 1 w/LAER or 
1.50 to 1 internal w/o 

LAER 
 Extreme 10 Any increase 1.50 to 1 
CO    
 Moderate 100 100 >1.00 to 1 
 Serious 50 50 >1.00 to 1 
SO2 100 40 >1.00 to 1 
PM10

1    
 Moderate 100 15 >1.00 to 1 
 Serious 70 15 >1.00 to 1 
PM2.5

5 100 10 >1.00 to 1 
Lead 100 0.6 >1.00 to 1 

Footnotes 1. - 4. … 
5 Sulfur dioxide is a precursor to PM2.5 in all PM2.5 nonattainment 

areas. Nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors to PM2.5 in all PM2.5 
nonattainment areas unless the administrative authority demonstrates to the 
administrator’s satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that emissions of nitrogen 
oxides from sources in a specific area are not a significant contributor to 
that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations. Volatile organic compounds and 
ammonia are presumed not to be precursors to PM2.5 in any PM2.5 
nonattainment area unless the administrative authority demonstrates to the 
administrator’s satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that emissions of volatile 
organic compounds or ammonia from sources in a specific area are a 
significant contributor to that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations. 

VOC = volatile organic compounds 
NOX = oxides of nitrogen 
CO = carbon monoxide 
SO2 = sulfur dioxide 
PM10 = particulate matter of less than 10 microns in diameter 
PM2.5 = particulate matter of less than 2.5 microns in diameter 
 
M. - M.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Radiation 
Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 19:176 (February 1993), 
repromulgated LR 19:486 (April 1993), amended LR 19:1420 
(November 1993), LR 21:1332 (December 1995), LR 23:197 
(February 1997), amended by the Office of Environmental 
Assessment, Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2445 
(November 2000), LR 27:2225 (December 2001), LR 30:752 
(April 2004), amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
LR 30:2801 (December 2004), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2436 (October 2005), LR 
31:3123, 3155 (December 2005), LR 32:1599 (September 2006), 
LR 33:2082 (October 2007), LR 34:1890 (September 2008), LR 
37: 
§509. Prevention of Significant Deterioration 

A. Applicability Procedures 
1. - 5. … 

B. Definitions. For the purpose of this Section, the terms 
below shall have the meaning specified herein as follows. 

* * * 
Malfunctions—Repealed. 

* * * 

Regulated New Source Review (NSR) Pollutant— 
a. any pollutant for which a national ambient air 

quality standard has been promulgated or any constituent or 
precursor for the identified pollutant. Precursors identified 
by the administrative authority for purposes of PSD include 
the following: 
 i. volatile organic compounds and nitrogen 
oxides are precursors to ozone in all attainment and 
unclassifiable areas; 
 ii. sulfur dioxide is a precursor to PM2.5 in all 
attainment and unclassifiable areas; 
 iii. nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors 
to PM2.5 in all attainment and unclassifiable areas unless the 
administrative authority demonstrates to the administrator’s 
satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that emissions of nitrogen 
oxides from sources in a specific area are not a significant 
contributor to that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations; and 
 iv. volatile organic compounds are presumed not 
to be precursors to PM2.5 in any attainment or unclassifiable 
area unless the administrative authority demonstrates to the 
administrator’s satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that 
emissions of volatile organic compounds from sources in a 
specific area are a significant contributor to that area’s 
ambient PM2.5 concentrations. 

b. any pollutant that is subject to any standard 
promulgated under Section 111 of the Clean Air Act; 

c. any Class I or II substance subject to a standard 
promulgated under or established by Title VI of the Clean 
Air Act; 

d. any pollutant that otherwise is subject to 
regulation under the Clean Air Act; except that any or all 
hazardous air pollutants either listed in Section 112 of the 
Clean Air Act or added to the list in accordance with Section 
112(b)(2) of the Clean Air Act, which have not been delisted 
in accordance with Section 112(b)(3) of the Clean Air Act, 
are not regulated NSR pollutants unless the listed hazardous 
air pollutant is also regulated as a constituent or precursor of 
a general pollutant listed under Section 108 of the Clean Air 
Act; or 

e. particulate matter (PM) emissions, PM2.5 
emissions, and PM10 emissions shall include gaseous 
emissions from a source or activity which condense to form 
particulate matter at ambient temperatures. On or after 
January 1, 2011, such condensable particulate matter shall be 
accounted for in applicability determinations and in 
establishing emissions limitations for PM, PM2.5, and PM10 
in PSD permits. Compliance with emissions limitations for 
PM, PM2.5, and PM10 issued prior to this date shall not be 
based on condensable particular matter. Applicability 
determinations made prior to this date without accounting 
for condensable particular matter shall not be considered in 
violation of this Section. 

* * * 
Significant— 

a. in reference to a net emissions increase or the 
potential of a source to emit any of the following pollutants, 
a rate of emissions that would equal or exceed any of the 
following rates: 

 

Pollutant Emission Rate 
Carbon monoxide 100 tons per year (tpy) 
Nitrogen oxides 40 tpy 
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Pollutant Emission Rate 
Sulfur dioxide 40 tpy 
Particulate matter 25 tpy of particulate emissions 
  15 tpy of PM10 emissions 
  10 tpy of direct PM2.5 emissions; 40 tpy 

of sulfur dioxide emissions; 40 tpy of 
nitrogen oxide emissions1 

Ozone 40 tpy of volatile organic compounds or 
nitrogen oxides 

Lead 0.6 tpy 
Fluorides 3 tpy 
Sulfuric acid mist 7 tpy 
Hydrogen sulfide (H2S) 10 tpy 
Total reduced sulfur (including 
H2S) 

10 tpy 

Reduced sulfur compounds 
(including H2S) 

10 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
organics2 

0.0000035 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
metals3 

15 tpy 

Municipal waste combustor 
acid gases4 

40 tpy 

Municipal solid waste landfills 
emissions5 

50 tpy 

GHGs (as CO2e)6 75,000 tpy 
1 Nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors to PM2.5 in all attainment 
and unclassifiable areas unless the administrative authority demonstrates to 
the administrator’s satisfaction or EPA demonstrates that emissions of 
nitrogen oxides from sources in a specific area are not a significant 
contributor to that area’s ambient PM2.5 concentrations. 
2 Measured as total tetra- through octa-chlorinated dibenzo-p-dioxins and 
dibenzofurans. 
3 Measured as particulate matter. 
4 Measured as sulfur dioxide and hydrogen chloride. 
5 Measured as nonmethane organic compounds 
6 Effective January 2, 2011. 

 
b. - c. … 

* * * 
C. - AA.15.b. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

30:2054. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, Office of Air Quality and Nuclear Energy, 
Air Quality Division, LR 13:741 (December 1987), amended LR 
14:348 (June 1988), LR 16:613 (July 1990), amended by the Office 
of Air Quality and Radiation Protection, Air Quality Division, LR 
17:478 (May 1991), LR 21:170 (February 1995), LR 22:339 (May 
1996), LR 23:1677 (December 1997), LR 24:654 (April 1998), LR 
24:1284 (July 1998), repromulgated LR 25:259 (February 1999), 
amended by the Office of Environmental Assessment, 
Environmental Planning Division, LR 26:2447 (November 2000), 
LR 27:2234 (December 2001), amended by the Office of the 
Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, LR 31:2437 (October 2005), LR 
31:3135, 3156 (December 2005), LR 32:1600 (September 2006), 
LR 32:1843 (October 2006), LR 36:2556 (November 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
This rule has no known impact on family formation, 

stability, and autonomy as described in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Hearing 

A public hearing will be held on March 29, 2011, at 1:30 
p.m. in the Galvez Building, Oliver Pollock Conference 
Room, 602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. The 
hearing will also be for the revision to the State 
Implementation Plan (SIP) to incorporate this rule. 
Interested persons are invited to attend and submit oral 
comments on the proposed amendments. Should individuals 
with a disability need an accommodation in order to 
participate, contact Donald Trahan at the address given 

below or at (225) 219-3985. Two hours of free parking are 
allowed in the Galvez Garage with a validated parking 
ticket. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on the proposed regulation. Persons commenting 
should reference this proposed regulation by AQ318. Such 
comments must be received no later than April 5, 2011, at 
4:30 p.m., and should be sent to Donald Trahan, Attorney 
Supervisor, Office of the Secretary, Legal Affairs Division, 
Box 4302, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-4302 or to fax (225) 
219-4068 or by e-mail to donald.trahan@la.gov. Copies of 
this proposed regulation can be purchased by contacting the 
DEQ Public Records Center at (225) 219-3168. Check or 
money order is required in advance for each copy of AQ318. 
This regulation is available on the Internet at 
www.deq.louisiana.gov/portal/tabid/1669/default.aspx. 

This proposed regulation is available for inspection at the 
following DEQ office locations from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.: 
602 N. Fifth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802; 1823 Highway 
546, West Monroe, LA 71292; State Office Building, 1525 
Fairfield Avenue, Shreveport, LA 71101; 1301 Gadwall 
Street, Lake Charles, LA 70615; 111 New Center Drive, 
Lafayette, LA 70508; 110 Barataria Street, Lockport, LA 
70374; 201 Evans Road, Bldg. 4, Suite 420, New Orleans, 
LA 70123. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Pm2.5 NSR Implementation 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The proposed rule change may result in a minimal increase 

in Department of Environmental Quality administrative costs 
associated with reviewing and preparing Prevention of 
Significant Deterioration (PSD) permits for particulate matter 
less than 2.5 micrometers (PM2.5).  However, these costs will 
be offset with the surcharge associated with the PSD permit 
program. The proposed rule incorporates the Environmental 
Protection Agency’s (EPA) final rule entitled “Implementation 
of the New Source Review Program for particulate matter less 
than 2.5 micrometers” into current Louisiana air quality 
regulations. The proposed rule change also addresses concerns 
by the EPA and amends existing provisions to match federal 
law to ensure State Implementation Plan approval. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change may result in an indeterminable 
increase in revenue collections due to receipt of fees associated 
with PSD permit applications for PM2.5. Any additional permit 
fees will be deposited into the Environmental Trust Fund. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The impact of the proposed rule will be dependent on the 
nature of each project proposed by an owner or operator of a 
major stationary source. Relevant factors include the PM2.5, 
SO2, and NOX emissions associated with the proposed project, 
as well as any other projects contemporaneous with the 
proposed project. When Prevention of Significant Deterioration 
(PSD) review is required, the selection of best available control 
technology (BACT) is a case-by-case determination that 
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accounts for energy, environmental, and economic impacts. 
The need for post-construction monitoring is dependent on the 
results of the air quality modeling analyses and the location of 
the facility in question. Therefore, it is not possible to provide a 
specific cost estimate for each individual permit review. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition or employment 
in the public or private sector because of the proposed rule. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Counsel Staff Director 
1102#069 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Board of Trustees of the Firefighters' 
Pension and Relief Fund 

Tax Qualification Provisions (LAC 58:V.2001) 

The Board of Trustees of the Firefighters’ Pension and 
Relief Fund for the City of New Orleans ("fund"), pursuant 
to R.S. 11:3363(F), proposes to restate and amend LAC 
58:V. The restatement and amendment adds a Chapter 20 to 
address federal tax qualification issues. All currently stated 
rules of the fund, unless amended herein, shall remain in full 
force and effect. 

Title 58 
RETIREMENT 

Part V.  Firefighters' Pension and Relief Fund  
for the City of New Orleans and Vicinity 

Chapter 20. Tax Qualification Provisions 
§2001. General Provisions 

A. The New Orleans Firefighters Pension and Relief 
Fund shall be a tax-qualified governmental plan as provided 
in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. In 
accordance with the requirements of the Internal Revenue 
Code, the following provisions shall apply to the fund: 

1. The assets of the fund shall be held for the 
exclusive benefit of the members of the fund, the retirees 
thereof, and the survivors and beneficiaries of the retirees 
and members. No part of the funds held by the trustees of the 
fund shall be used or diverted for any reason, including any 
contingency or event or by any other means, to other 
purposes, including but not limited to reversion to any 
employer. 

2. The retirement benefit of a member shall be fully 
vested and nonforfeitable no later than the date on which he 
becomes eligible to retire. Benefits of members shall also 
become vested and nonforfeitable upon the termination of 
the fund or the complete discontinuance of contributions to 
the system. 

3. Forfeitures shall not be used to increase the benefits 
of the remaining members of the fund. This shall specifically 
not preclude any increase in benefits by amendment to the 
benefit formula made possible by a change in contribution 
rate, favorable investment results, or other means. 

4. A member’s benefit shall begin to be distributed not 
later than the latest date provided for the commencement of 
benefits for governmental plans under Section 401(a)(9)(C) 
of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended. 
Distributions to a surviving spouse, dependent, successor 
and/or beneficiary of a member shall be made at least as 

soon as distributions are required to be made by qualified 
governmental plans under the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended. Benefits payable shall be limited in 
accordance with IRC Section 415 and applicable Treasury 
Regulations as applied to governmental plans. 

5. In computing benefit accruals, there shall not be 
taken into account compensation in excess of the limitations 
specified in Section 401(a)(17) of the Internal Revenue 
Code, as amended. Such compensation limit was two 
hundred thousand dollars for tax years beginning after 
December 31, 2001 

6. The fund, its trustees, consultants, and advisors 
shall not engage in any prohibited transactions as that term is 
defined in Section 503 of the Internal Revenue Code of 
1986, as amended. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
11:3363. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Board of Trustees 
of the Firefighters’ Pension and Relief Fund for the City of New 
Orleans and Vicinity, LR 37: 

Public Comments 
Any interested person may submit written comments 

regarding the content of this proposed Rule change to 
Richard J. Hampton, Jr., Secretary-Treasurer and Executive 
Officer of the Board of Trustees, 3520 General DeGaulle, 
Suite 3001, New Orleans, LA, before 5 p.m., March 20, 
2010. 

Family Impact Statement 
1. Estimated Effect on the Stability of the Family. 

There is no estimated effect on the stability of the family. 
2. Estimated Effect on the Authority and Rights of 

Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children. There is no estimated effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. Estimated Effect on the Functioning of the Family. 
There is no estimated effect on the functioning of the family. 

4. Estimated Effect on Family Earnings and Family 
Budget. There is no estimated effect on family earnings and 
family budget. 

5. Estimated Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. There is no estimated effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Estimated Effect on the Ability of the Family or a 
Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained in 
the Proposed Rule. There is no estimated effect on the ability 
of the family or a local government to perform the function 
as contained in the proposed Rule. 

 
Louis L. Robein 
Fund Attorney 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Tax Qualification Provisions 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
No significant implementation costs are anticipated to 

result from the proposed new rule.  The New Orleans 
Firefighters’ Pension and Relief Fund is publishing rules with 
respect to permitted benefits distribution and fund governance.  
The rules are being established in order to comply with the 
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Internal Revenue Service’s codes and regulations.  The 
proposed administrative rules merely codify current practice. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed new rule will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units.   

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed new rule will have no impact on costs and/or 
economic benefits to affected persons or non-governmental 
groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed new rule will have no effect on competition 
and employment. 

 
Richard J. Hampton Evan Brasseaux 
Secretary-Treasurer Staff Director 
1102#086 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Board of Architectural Examiners 

Titles, Firm Names, and Assumed Names 
(LAC 46:I.Chapter 15) 

Under the authority of R.S. 37:144(C) and in accordance 
with the provisions of R.S. 49:951 et seq., the Board of 
Architectural Examiners (“LSBAE”) gives notice that rule 
making procedures have been initiated for the amendment to 
LAC 46:I Chapter 15 pertaining to the titles, firm names, 
and assumed names which architects and architectural firms 
may use in their practice of architecture. The proposed rules 
clarify the existing rules in an attempt to provide guidance to 
architects and architectural firms in their architectural 
practice. In addition, the proposed Rules will allow (a) a 
non-resident entity to retain its non-resident identity in 
Louisiana under certain conditions (§1535, which is new), 
and (b) an architect or architectural firm which believes that 
the requirements of the rules will be unduly burdensome or 
impractical to seek an exemption therefrom (§1537, which is 
new). 

Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part I.  Architects 

Chapter 15. Titles, Firm Names, and Assumed Names 
§1501. Misleading and Confusing Names Prohibited 

A. The statutory authorization for architects to offer to 
the public the practice of architecture and the rendering of 
architectural services is not an authorization to hold out as 
an architect any person who is not registered by the board. 
An architect shall not practice architecture under an 
assumed, fictitious or corporate name that is misleading as to 
the identity, responsibility, or status of those practicing 
thereunder or is otherwise false, fraudulent, misleading, or 
confusing.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:568 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 

§1505. Use of Term "Architect," "Architecture," or 
"Architectural" 

A. Whenever the term architect, architecture, or 
architectural is used in a firm name, or whenever a firm 
includes its name in any listing of architects or of firms 
rendering architectural services, the name of at least one 
Louisiana licensed architect followed by the title architect 
must be included either as a part of the firm title itself or at 
least one Louisiana licensed architect must be identified as 
an architect on the firm letterhead and any website. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

Smith & Jones, 
Architecture & Planning 
John Smith, Architect 
Smith & Jones, 
Architecture & Engineering 
John Smith, Architect 
Design Professionals 
Architecture & Planning 
John Smith, Architect 
Heritage Architectural Services 
John Smith, Architect 
John Smith, Architect, and 
Associates 

Smith & Jones, 
Architecture & Planning 
(unless Smith and Jones are both 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 
Smith & Jones, 
Architecture & Engineering 
(unless Smith and Jones are both 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 
Design Professionals 
Architecture & Planning 
Heritage Architectural Services 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:568 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1507. Use of the Plural Term "Architects" 

A. If the firm title indicates that the firm contains two or 
more architects, the names of at least two Louisiana licensed 
architects followed by the title architect must be included 
either as a part of the firm title itself or at least two 
Louisiana licensed architects must be identified as architects 
on the firm letterhead and any website. An architectural firm 
which loses an architect or architects so that it may no longer 
use the plural term “architects” is required to change its 
name as soon thereafter as is reasonably possible, which 
change shall occur no later than one year from the departure 
of the architect or architects. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

Communications Architects 
John Smith, Architect 
Jack Jones, Architect 
Smith & Jones,  
Architectural Services 
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 

Communications Architects 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:568 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1509. Firm Name Which Includes Names of Licensed 

Architect or Architects Only 
A. A firm name which includes only the name or names 

of a licensed architect or architects engaged in the active 
practice of architecture is not required to include the name of 
a licensed architect followed by the title "architect" as a part 
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of the firm title itself. However, if the firm title indicates that 
the firm is a sole proprietorship or that only one architect is a 
member of the firm, the identity of the architect shall be 
shown on the firm letterhead and any website. If the firm 
title indicates that the firm contains two or more architects, 
at least two architects shall be identified as such on the firm 
letterhead and any website. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

Smith & Jones, Architects 
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 

Smith & Jones, Architects 
(if Jones is not licensed by the 
board) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:563 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1511. Use of "AIA" 

A. The use of "AIA," in and of itself, is not an acceptable 
substitution for the title "architect" on any listing, 
publication, announcement, letterhead, business card, 
website or sign used by an individual practicing architecture 
in connection with his practice where such title is required. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

John Smith, Architect 
John Smith, Architect, AIA 

John Smith, AIA 
(if the title “architect” is 
required) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:569 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1513. Use of the Term "Associate" 

A. An architect may only use the word "associate" in the 
firm title to describe a full time officer or employee of the 
firm. The plural form may be used only when justified by the 
number of associates who are full time firm employees. An 
architectural firm which loses an associate or associates so 
that it may no longer use the plural form is required to 
change its name as soon thereafter as is reasonably possible, 
which change shall occur no later than one year from the 
departure of the associate or associates. Identification of the 
associates in the firm title, listing, publication, letterhead, or 
announcement is not required. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

John Smith & Associates, 
Architects 
(if John Smith is licensed by the 
board and the firm employs two 
or more associates as defined 
herein) 

John Smith & Associates, 
Architects (if the firm employs only 
one associate as defined herein) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:569 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 

§1515. Sole Proprietorship, Partnership, Group, 
Association, or Limited Liability Company 

A. The firm name of any form of individual, partnership, 
corporate, limited liability company, group, or associate 
practice must comply with all of the rules set forth in this 
Chapter. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

John Smith, Architect 
John Smith, AIA, Architect 
John Smith, Architect, AIA 
John Smith & Associates, 
Architect 
(if John Smith is licensed by the 
board to practice architecture in 
Louisiana and the firm employs 
two or more associates as defined 
in the rules) 
Smith & Jones,  
Architect & Engineer 
(if John Smith is licensed by the 
board to practice architecture in 
Louisiana) 
Smith & Jones,  
Architects & Engineer 
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 

Smith & Jones,  
Architects & Engineers 
(if either Smith or Jones is not 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 
Smith & Jones, Architects 
(if either Smith or Jones is not 
licensed by the board to practice 
architecture in Louisiana) 
 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:569 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1517. Professional Architectural Corporations 

A. The corporate name of a professional architectural 
corporation registered with this board must comply with 
R.S. 12:1088. 

B. The corporate name of a professional architectural 
corporation may include an acronym such as “PAC,” 
“APAC,” or “APC” as an acceptable substitute for one of the 
suffixes listed in R.S. 12:1088. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

Smith & Jones, A Professional 
Architectural Corporation 
Smith & Jones, APAC 
Smith & Jones, Architects,  
A Professional Architectural 
Corporation 
Smith & Jones, Architects, APAC 
Heritage Architects,  
A Professional Architectural 
Corporation 
Heritage Architects, APC 

Smith & Jones, Inc. 
Smith & Jones,  
A Professional Interior 
Architectural Corporation 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:570 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1521. Fictitious Name 

A. For the purpose of these rules, a fictitious name is any 
name other than the real name or names of an individual. 
Any individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability 
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company, group, or association may practice architecture 
under a fictitious name provided the name complies with all 
of the rules of this Chapter. 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

Heritage Architecture 
John Smith, Architect 
Architectural Design 
John Smith, Architect 
Architectural Design Consultants 
John Smith, Architect 
Jack Jones, Architect 
Heritage Architects, 
A Professional Corporation 

Heritage Architecture 
Architectural Design 
Architectural Design 
Consultants 
John Smith, Architect 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:570 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1523. Practicing in a Firm with Other Professionals 

A. An architect who practices in a firm with one or more 
engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, interior 
designers, or other professionals in an allied profession is 
permitted to use in the firm title a phrase describing the 
professions involved such as "architect and engineer," 
"architects, engineers, and surveyors," etc. provided: 

1. the title does not hold out to the public as an 
architect any person who is not registered by the board; 

2. the name of any allied professional in the firm title 
is practicing in accordance with the applicable statutes and 
regulations that govern the practice of that allied profession; 
and 

3. the title complies with all the rules of this Chapter. 
 

Allowed Not Allowed 
Smith & Jones, Architect & 
Engineer 
John Smith, Architect 
Smith & Jones, Architects & 
Engineers 
John Smith, Architect 
Jack Jones, Architect 

Smith & Jones,  
Architect & Engineer 
(if neither Smith nor Jones 
is an architect licensed by 
the board) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:570 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1525. Deceased or Retired Member Predecessor Firms 

A. An architect may include in the firm name the real 
name or names of one or more living, deceased, or retired 
members of the firm, or the name of a predecessor firm in a 
continuing line of succession. The status of any deceased or 
retired member must be clearly shown on the firm letterhead 
and website by use of the words “retired” or “deceased” or 
by showing the years of the member’s birth and death. Upon 
the retirement or death of a firm member, the name of the 
firm should be changed as soon as reasonably possible, 
which change shall occur no later than one year following 
the retirement or death.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:570 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 

§1531. Business Cards 
A. The business card of an architect should comply with 

all of these rules.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:571 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1533. Limited Liability Company 

A. The name of a limited liability company registered 
with the board must comply with R.S.12:1306 and include 
the words "limited liability company" or “professional 
limited liability company,” or the abbreviation "L.L.C."; 
“P.L.L.C.”, or "L.C.". 

 
Allowed Not Allowed 

Smith & Jones, Architects, 
Limited Liability Company 
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed architects) 
Smith & Joes, Architects, 
Professional Limited Liability 
Company 
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed architects) 
Smith & Jones, Architects, 
L.L.C.  
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed architects) 
Smith & Jones, Architects, 
P.L.L.C.  
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed architects) 
Smith & Jones, Architects, L.C 
(if Smith and Jones are both 
licensed architects) 

Smith & Jones, Architects 
(if the entity is a limited 
liability company) 

 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:144. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 

Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 29:571 (April 
2003), amended LR 37: 
§1535. Non-Resident Firms 

A. A non-resident corporation or limited liability 
company legally engaged in the practice of architecture in 
the jurisdiction of its origin shall have the right to retain its 
non-resident identity upon obtaining a certificate of 
registration for practicing architecture in Louisiana, provided 
its identity is in full compliance with the jurisdiction of its 
origin and the entity is in full compliance with all of the 
requirements for practicing architecture in Louisiana.  

B. A non-resident partnership or other entity legally 
engaged in the practice of architecture in the jurisdiction of 
its origin shall have the right to retain its non-resident 
identity in Louisiana, provided its identity is in full 
compliance with the jurisdiction of its origin and the entity is 
in full compliance with all of the requirements for practicing 
architecture in Louisiana.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 37: 
§1537. Exemptions 

A. If an architect or architectural firm believes that the 
requirements of this Chapter are unduly burdensome or 
impractical because of the large number of architects 
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employed, or for any other reason, it shall request in writing 
an exemption from the board.  

B. The request for an exemption shall be made before 
any name which does not fully comply with the 
requirements of these rules is used, and it shall fully explain 
why the architect or architectural firm believes that the 
requirements of this Chapter are unduly burdensome or 
impractical.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:144. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Board of Architectural Examiners, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed Rules of the Louisiana State Board of 

Architectural Examiners should not have any known or 
foreseeable impact on any family as defined by R.S. 
49:972.D or on family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Specifically, there should be no known or foreseeable effect 
on: 

1. the stability of the family; 
2. the authority and rights of parents regarding the 

education and supervision of their children; 
3. the functioning of the family; 
4. a family’s earnings and budget; 
5. the behavior and personal responsibility of 

children; or 
6. the family’s ability or that of the local government 

to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on this 
proposed rule amendment to Ms. Mary “Teeny” Simmons, 
Executive Director, Board of Architectural Examiners, 9625 
Fenway Avenue, Suite B, Baton Rouge, LA 70809. 

 
Mary “Teeny” Simmons 
Executive Director 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Titles, Firm Names,  

and Assumed Names 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs (savings) to state or local 
governmental units associated with the proposed rules.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated effects on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units associated with the proposed 
rules. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rules primarily clarify and provide guidance 
regarding the titles, firm names, and assumed names which 
architects and architectural firms may use in their architectural 
practice. In addition, the proposed rules will allow (a) a non-
resident entity to maintain its non-resident identity in Louisiana 
under certain conditions (rule § 1535, which is new), and (b) an 
architect or an architectural firm which believes that the 
requirements of the rules are unduly burdensome or impractical 
to request an exemption therefrom from the board (rule § 1537, 
which is new).  Thus, the proposed rules may have some 
minimal economic benefit upon architects and architectural 

firms, particularly upon non-resident entities which seek to 
maintain their non-resident identities in Louisiana.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Although the proposed new rules will allow non-resident 
entities to maintain their non-resident identities in Louisiana 
under certain conditions, such entities are already either using 
their non-resident identities or are changing their names to 
accommodate the existing rules.  Likewise, although the 
proposed new rules will allow an architect or architectural firm 
to seek an exemption from these rules, such entities are 
presently simply changing their names to accommodate the 
existing rules.  Otherwise, the proposed rules clarify and 
provide guidance to architects and architectural firms regarding 
the existing rules.  Thus, the estimated effect on competition or 
employment associated with the proposed rules will be 
minimal. 

 
Mary “Teeny” Simmons Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Staff Director 
1102#010 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Office of the Governor 
Office of Financial Institutions 

Broker-Dealer and Investment Adviser Recordkeeping 
Requirements (LAC 10:XIII.Chapter 17) 

In accordance with the Louisiana Securities Law, R.S. 
51:701, et seq., and particularly R.S. 51:703 (I), as amended, 
and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950, et seq., 
the Commissioner of Financial Institutions hereby gives his 
Notice of Intent to adopt LAC10:XIII.Chapter 17, a Rule to 
place a requirement on broker-dealers and investment 
advisers registered or notice filed with the commissioner to 
maintain such books and records as set out in §§1701 and 
1703 below. 

Title 10 
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS, CONSUMER CREDIT, 

INVESTMENT SECURITIES AND UCC 
Part XIII.  Investment Securities 

Subpart 1.  Securities 
Chapter 17. Dealer and Investment Adviser 

Recordkeeping Requirements 
§1701. Broker-Dealer Requirements 

A. Unless otherwise provided by order of the Securities 
and Exchange Commission (hereinafter “SEC”), each 
broker-dealer registered or required to be registered pursuant 
to R.S. 51:703(A)(1) shall make, maintain and preserve 
books and records in compliance with SEC Rules 17a-3 (17 
CFR 240.17a-3), 17a-4 (17 CFR 240.17a-4), and 15c2-11 
(17 CFR 240.15c2-11), which are adopted and incorporated 
herein by reference. 

B. To the extent that the SEC promulgates changes to the 
above referenced rules, broker-dealers in compliance with 
such rules as amended shall not be subject to enforcement 
action by the commissioner for violation of this rule to the 
extent that the violation results solely from the broker-
dealer's compliance with the amended rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:703(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
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§1703. Investment Adviser Requirements 
A. Except as provided in Subsection C, unless otherwise 

provided by order of the SEC, each investment adviser 
registered or required to be registered pursuant to R.S. 
51:703(A)(2) or notice filed pursuant to R.S. 51:703(D)(2) 
shall make, maintain and preserve books and records in 
compliance with SEC Rule 204-2 (17 CFR 275.204-2), 
which is adopted and incorporated by reference, 
notwithstanding the fact that such investment adviser is not 
registered or required to be registered under Section 203 of 
the Investment Advisers Act of 1940. 

B. To the extent that the SEC promulgates changes to the 
above-referenced rules, investment advisers in compliance 
with such rules as amended shall not be subject to 
enforcement action by the commissioner for violation of this 
rule to the extent that the violation results solely from the 
investment adviser's compliance with the amended rule. 

C. Every investment adviser that has its principal place 
of business in a state other than this state shall be exempt 
from the requirements of Subsection A, provided the 
investment adviser is licensed or registered in such state and 
is in compliance with such state's recordkeeping 
requirements. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:703(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 
§1705. Cessation of Business 

A. Before ceasing to conduct or discontinuing business, 
each broker-dealer and investment adviser shall arrange for 
and be responsible for the preservation of the books and 
records required to be maintained and preserved by this Rule 
for the remainder of the period specified. 

B. Each broker-dealer and investment adviser shall 
notify the commissioner in writing of the exact address 
where such books and records will be maintained during 
such period. The filing with the Central Registration 
Depository of a Form BD-W by a broker-dealer or a Form 
ADV-W by an investment adviser shall satisfy this notice 
requirement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
51:703(I). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Office of the 
Governor, Office of Financial Institutions, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
Pursuant to R.S. 49:972, and prior to adoption of the 

proposed Rule LAC 10:XIII.1701-1703, Broker-Dealer and 
Investment Advisers Recordkeeping Requirements, the 
Office of Financial Institutions considered the impact of the 
proposed Rule, and found that the proposed Rule, if adopted, 
would have no effect on the stability of or the functioning of 
the family, the authority and rights of parents regarding the 
education and supervision of their children, family earning 
and family budget, the behavior and personal responsibility 
of children, or the ability of the family or a local government 
to perform the function as contained in the proposed Rule. 

Small Business Statement 
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses as 

defined in R.S. 49:965.4 (4) in the Regulatory Flexibility Act 
has been considered. It is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have a significant impact on small 
businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments on this proposed Rule, no later than 4:30 p.m., 
March 20, 2011, to Rhonda Reeves, Deputy Commissioner 
of Securities, P.O. Box 94095, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-
9095, or by hand delivery to the Office of Financial 
Institutions, 8660 United Plaza Boulevard, Second Floor, 
Baton Rouge, LA. The final rule shall become effective 120 
days from final publication. 

 
John Ducrest 
Commissioner 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Broker-Dealer and Investment Adviser 
Recordkeeping Requirements 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 

state or local governmental units. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
There is no estimated effect on revenue collections of state 

or local governmental units. 
III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 

DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There may be some nominal costs incurred by investment 
adviser firms that are not registered with the Securities and 
Exchange Commission (SEC), since the SEC Rules referenced 
in the proposed Rule do not currently apply to these firms.  
However, since these firms are small and generally have 
limited activities, the recordkeeping burden and costs are not 
expected to be significant. There are approximately 77 
investment adviser firms that may be impacted by these 
proposed administrative rules. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the rule change. 

 
John Ducrest Evan Brasseaux 
Commissioner Staff Director 
1102#020 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Dentistry 

Automated External Defibrillator; Botox and Dermal Fillers; 
Licensure; Portable and Mobile Dentistry; Nitrous Oxide; 

Sanctions; Examination of Dentist, Hygienists 
(LAC 46:XXXIII.130, 132, 306, 313, 701, 

712, 714, 720, 1511, 1709, and 1711) 

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., the 
Dental Practice Act, R.S. 37:751 et seq., and particularly 
R.S. 37:760(8), notice is hereby given that the Department 
of Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry intends to 
amend LAC 46:XXXIII.130, 132, 306, 313, 701, 712, 714, 
720, 1511, 1709, and 1711. No preamble has been prepared. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Part XXXIII.  Dental Health Professions 

Chapter 1. General Provisions 
§130. Automated External Defibrillator 

A. Automated External Defibrillator (AED)―a medical 
device heart monitor and defibrillator that:  

1. has received approval from its pre-market 
notification filed pursuant to 21 U.S.C. 360(k) from the 
United States Food and Drug Administration; 

2. is capable of recognizing the presence or absence of 
ventricular fibrillation or rapid ventricular tachycardia and is 
capable of determining whether defibrillation should be 
performed; 

3. upon determining that defibrillation should be 
performed, automatically charges and requests delivery of an 
electrical impulse to the individual’s heart; 

4. is capable of delivering the electrical impulse to an 
individual’s heart. 

B. The AED shall be maintained and tested according to 
manufacturer’s guidelines.  

C. Each dentist licensed in the state of Louisiana shall 
receive appropriate training in basic life support and in the 
use of an AED from any nationally recognized course in 
CPR and AED use, and approved or sponsored by those 
entities set forth in LAC 46:XXXIII.1615. 

D. All dentists licensed in the state of Louisiana shall 
equip, and maintain an AED no later than January 1, 2012. 

E. The AED shall be located in a prominent place easily 
accessible by all dental healthcare providers. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by Department of Health 
and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 37: 
§132. Administration of Botox and Dermal Fillers  

A. The board does not issue permits for the 
administration of Botox or dermal fillers. The board does not 
regulate dental materials of any type. However, due to the 
rising utilization of these materials by dentists, the board sets 
forth the following requirements: 

B. Before administering Botox or dermal fillers, a dentist 
must have either received satisfactory training in a dental 
institution accredited by the Commission on Dental 
Accreditation of the American Dental Association or 
successfully completed a continuing education course of 
instruction that includes at a minimum the following: 

1. patient assessment and consultation for Botox and 
dermal fillers; 

2. indications and contraindications for these 
techniques; 

3. safety and risk issues for botulinum 
neurotoxin/dermal fillers injectable therapy; 

4. proper preparation and delivery techniques for 
desired outcomes; 

5. enhancing and finishing esthetic dentistry cases 
with dermal fillers; 

6. botulinum neurotoxin treatment of 
temporomandibular joint syndrome and bruxism; 

7. knowledge of adverse reactions and management 
and treatment of possible complications; 

8. patient evaluation for best esthetic and therapeutic 
outcomes; 

9. integrating botulinum neurotoxin and dermal filler 
therapy into dental therapeutic and esthetic treatment plans; 

10. live patient hands-on training including diagnosis, 
treatment planning, and proper dosing and delivery of Botox 
and dermal fillers. 

C Botox and dermal fillers shall only be administered in 
dental offices using universal precautions as required by the 
Federal Centers for Disease Control. 

D. All dental auxiliaries are prohibited from 
administering either Botox or dermal fillers. 

E. Continuing education courses shall be approved or 
sponsored by one or more of the entities set forth in LAC 
46:XXXIII.1615. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 37: 
Chapter 3. Dentists 
§306. Requirements of Applicants for Licensure by 

Credentials 
A. - B.5. … 
C. A person in a residency program approved by the 

Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental 
Association or any other residency program may not apply 
for licensure by credentials unless he has held an active 
license during said residency. The fact of passing a regional 
board examination is not acceptable unless the license has 
been activated. 

D. - E. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8) and R.S. 37:768. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 18:739 (July 1992), 
amended LR 21:571 (June 1995), LR 22:23 (January 1996), LR 
23:1528 (November 1997), LR 24:1114 (June 1998), LR 25:513 
(March 1999), LR 26:692 (April 2000), LR 26:1612 (August 
2000), repromulgated LR 27:1893 (November 2001), amended LR 
28:1777 (August 2002), LR 30:2305 (October 2004), LR 31:927 
(April 2005), LR 32:243 (February 2006), LR 33:846 (May 2007), 
LR 33:2652 (December 2007), LR 34:2564 (December 2008), 
repromulgated LR 35:67 (January 2009), amended LR 37: 
§313. Portable and Mobile Dentistry   

A. - G.1 … 
2. a statement that a parent or guardian may attend all 

dental visits and the form provides a telephone number and 
address where the parent or guardian can contact the 
operator's office if they wish to be at the school, facility or 
site when the minor is being treated. If the parent or 
guardian contacts the operator's office requesting to be 
present at the dental visit when their child is being treated, 
then the operator shall notify the parent or guardian when 
dental care is to be rendered so the parent or guardian can be 
present. This notice shall be provided to the parent or 
guardian at least five calendar days before dental care is to 
be rendered to the patient. If the operator is unable to reach 
the parent or guardian on the first attempt, he shall make at 
least two more attempts before treatment is to be provided. If 
the parent or guardian requests to be present, but does not 
appear at the site where the treatment is being provided no 
dental care shall be rendered to that patient; 

3. - 6. … 
7. a conspicuous statement that the parent or guardian 

should contact the operator at the operator’s toll free number 
if the parent or guardian has any questions whatsoever 
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regarding the information provided or the consent form to be 
signed. The operator shall make a notation in the patient’s 
chart regarding all questions and answers between the two 
parties. 

H. … 
1. All consent forms shall include but not be limited to 

the following: 
a. a complete listing of all procedures which may be 

performed by the operator which shall include a description 
of the risks and potential complications; 

b. a description of all behavior management 
procedures which may be involved in the provision of dental 
treatment, and those risks associated with such dental 
treatment or course of dental treatment, which would 
ordinarily have been disclosed under the same or similar 
circumstances by dentists with the same or similar training 
and experience. The parent or guardian should be 
encouraged to call the operator if he or she has any questions 
concerning any of the above. All questions must be 
answered in a satisfactory manner. A check box or similar 
feature should appear by each type of procedure listed and 
appropriate instructions provided so that a parent or guardian 
may give permission for treatment of a minor to include only 
those procedures specifically chosen from the list and the 
behavior management procedures; 

c. a statement encouraging the parent or guardian to 
be present during the treatment of the patient in order to 
assist the dentist, if necessary, with behavior management; 

d. a notation that treatment cannot be rendered on a 
minor patient unless his or her medical history has been 
updated within the past six months. A space on the consent 
form shall include a place for the parent to list any medical 
or dental problems which the patient may have; 

e. an explanation of the notice of the operator’s 
privacy practices which shall be in conformity with all 
federal and state laws. 

2. When appropriate, during or at the conclusion of 
each patient’s visit to the operation, the patient shall be 
provided with an information sheet and a copy shall be 
mailed to the patient’s home. If the patient has provided 
consent to an institutional facility to access the patient’s 
dental health records, the institution shall also be provided 
with a copy of the information sheet. An institutional facility 
includes, but is not limited to, a long-term care facility or 
school. 

3. The information sheet as required herein shall 
include the following: 

a. 24-hour toll free as well as an in-state telephone 
number and address where the parent, guardian, or patient 
can contact the operator's office for questions or emergency 
dental care; 

b. the name of the dentist who provided services; 
c. a description of the treatment rendered; 
d. referral information if necessary; 
e. post-operative instructions as necessary. 

I. - M.2.b. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760 (8), and Act 429 of the Regular Legislative Session of 2009. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 36:2035 (September 
2010), amended LR 37: 

Chapter 7. Dental Hygienists 
§701. Authorized Duties 

A. … 
B. A person licensed to practice dentistry in the state of 

Louisiana may delegate to any dental hygienist any chairside 
dental act which said dentist deems reasonable, using sound 
professional judgment. Such act must be performed properly 
and safely on the patient. Furthermore, the act must be under 
the direct on-premises supervision of the treating dentist. 
However, dental hygienists who perform authorized duties in 
any public institution or school may perform authorized 
duties (which shall not include the administration of nitrous 
oxide inhalation or local anesthesia, and root planing, which 
must be under direct supervision) under the general 
supervision of a licensed dentist. A dentist may not delegate 
to a dental hygienist: 

1. - 10. … 
11. the administration of parenteral, intravenous (IV), 

or any general anesthetic agent. 
C. - E. … 
F. Under general supervision, a dental hygienist may 

provide to patients of record, for not more than five 
consecutive business days, all dental hygiene services 
(except the administration of nitrous oxide inhalation or 
local anesthesia, and root planing which must be under 
direct supervision) if all of the following conditions are 
satisfied: 

F.1. - G.6. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 14:791 (November 
1988), amended LR 15:965 (November 1989), LR 19:206 
(February 1993), LR 22:22 (January 1996), LR 22:1217 (December 
1996), LR 24:1116 (June 1998), LR 27:1892 (November 2001), LR 
32:2056 (November 2006), LR 37: 
§712. Nitrous Oxide Inhalation Analgesia 

A. After satisfying the board of his or her competence to 
administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia, a licensed 
dental hygienist may qualify for a special endorsement to 
administer nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia for dental 
procedures under the direct on-premises supervision of a 
licensed dentist who currently holds a personal permit for 
the administration of nitrous oxide or higher level of 
anesthesia in an office location at which there currently 
exists an office permit for the administration of nitrous oxide 
or higher level of anesthesia. 

B. No dental hygienist shall use nitrous oxide inhalation 
analgesia unless said dental hygienist has received 
authorization by the board evidenced by receipt of a permit 
from the board.  

C. In order to receive authorization the dental hygienist 
must show and produce evidence that he/she complies with 
the following provisions: 

1. completion of a board-approved course which 
conforms to American Dental Association guidelines; and 

2. provide proof of current certification in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation, Course "C," Basic Life 
Support for the Healthcare Provider as defined by the 
American Heart Association, or its equivalent. 
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D. The permit to administer nitrous oxide inhalation 
analgesia shall expire with the expiration of the dental 
hygienist’s license to practice dental hygiene. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 37: 
§714. Minimal Educational Requirements for the 

Granting of Permits to Administer Nitrous 
Oxide Inhalation Analgesia 

A. Competence to administer nitrous oxide inhalation 
analgesia must be demonstrated to the board by successful 
completion of at least 8 hours of instruction in a formal 
program in administration of nitrous oxide sponsored by an 
institutional program accredited by the Commission on 
Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association 
and approved by the board. A certificate of course 
completion and a copy of the syllabus must be submitted to 
the board for approval. 

B. The curriculum for required study must include, but is 
not necessarily limited to the following: 

1. physical evaluation; 
2. medical emergencies, prevention, diagnosis, and 

treatment; 
3. didactic and clinical instruction of the 

administration of nitrous oxide inhalation; and 
4. documentation of a minimum of six successful 

cases of induction and recovery performed under the direct 
supervision of a licensed dentist with appropriate permits. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760 (8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 37: 
§720. Sanctions 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 27:1892 (November 
2001), repealed LR 37:  
Chapter 15. Conscious Sedation with Parenteral 

Drugs 
§1511. Required Facilities, Personnel and Equipment 

for Sedation Procedures 
A. - B.2. … 

3. When nitrous oxide inhalation analgesia is being 
administered, one dentist or auxiliary who is currently 
certified in basic life support must be available to assist the 
dentist or dental hygienist in an emergency.  

4. - 5. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:760(8). 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 20:659 (June 1994), 
amended LR 32:244 (February 2006), LR 37: 
Chapter 17. Licensure Examinations 
§1709. Examination of Dentists 

A. - B.4. … 
C. To be licensed as a dentist in this state, an applicant 

for initial licensure must successfully complete the clinical 
examination administered by the Louisiana State Board of 
Dentistry approved testing agency. This agency will be 

named by the board and this relationship may be changed or 
amended as deemed necessary by the board. 

D. …. 
E. To be licensed by credentials as stated in §306.B.5, a 

candidate may use a passing grade from a clinical 
examination administered by any clinical licensing 
examination which meets the criteria outlined in §1713. 

F. No clinical licensing examination may be conducted 
in the state of Louisiana without the written permission from 
the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry. For permission to be 
granted, the agency conducting the examination must have at 
least four current members of the Louisiana State Board of 
Dentistry participating in the clinical licensing examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760(1) and (8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:1119 (June 1998), 
amended LR 28:2513 (December 2002), LR 33:2654 (December 
2007), LR 37: 
§1711. Examination of Dental Hygienists 

A. - C.1. … 
2. To be licensed as a dental hygienist in this state, an 

applicant for initial licensure must successfully complete the 
clinical examination administered by the Louisiana State 
Board of Dentistry approved testing agency. This agency 
will be named by the board and this relationship may be 
changed or amended as deemed necessary by the board. 

3. To be licensed by credentials as stated in §706, a 
candidate may use a passing grade from a clinical 
examination administered by any clinical licensing 
examination which meets the criteria outlined in §1713. 

4. No clinical licensing examination may be 
conducted in the state of Louisiana without the written 
permission from the Louisiana State Board of Dentistry. For 
permission to be granted, the agency conducting the 
examination must have at least four current members of the 
Louisiana State Board of Dentistry participating in the 
clinical licensing examination. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:760(1) and (8). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Dentistry, LR 24:1119 (June 1998), 
amended LR 28:1779 (August 2002), LR 33:2654 (December 
2007), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
There will be no family impact in regard to issues set forth 

in R.S. 49:972. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments on these 
proposed Rule changes to C. Barry Ogden, Executive 
Director, Louisiana State Board of Dentistry, One Canal 
Place, Suite 2680, 365 Canal Street, New Orleans, LA 
70130. Written comments must be submitted to and received 
by the Board within 60 days of this notice. A request 
pursuant to R.S. 49:953(A)(2) for oral presentation, 
argument, or public hearing must be made in writing and 
received by the board within 20 days of the date of this 
notice. 

 
C. Barry Ogden 
Executive Director 
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FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Automated External Defibrillator; Botox 
and Dermal Fillers; Licensure; Portable  

and Mobile Dentistry;Nitrous Oxide;  
Examination of Dentist, Hygienists 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
There will be a one-time cost of $500 in Fiscal Year 2010-

11 for publication of the proposed rules in the Louisiana 
Register. There are no estimated costs or savings to local 
governmental units from the proposed rules. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The implementation of these rule changes will neither 
increase nor decrease revenues for the Louisiana State Board of 
Dentistry. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

With the rule change to LAC 46:XXXIII.130, all dentists 
will be required to purchase automated external defibrillators 
(AEDs) for their offices. AEDs cost approximately $1500 to 
$2000. Under the new LAC 46:XXXIII.132, if dentists wish to 
administer Botox or other dermal fillers, they will be required 
to take appropriate training courses and will be responsible for 
any costs associated. However, dentists with the appropriate 
training may increase their income because of the additional 
services they may then provide to their patients. According to 
LAC 46:XXXIII.712 and .714, hygienists must take 
appropriate training courses to administer nitrous oxide to their 
patients and must pay for their education. These hygienists may 
be able to demand a higher salary from their employers once 
they are allowed to administer nitrous oxide. Rule changes to 
LAC 46:XXXIII.306, .313, .701, .720, .1511, .1709, and .1711 
will have no economic impact on dentists or dental hygienists. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
C. Barry Ogden H. Gordon Monk 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1101#074 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Board of Examiners for Speech-Language  

Pathology and Audiology 

Speech Pathology and Audiology 
LAC 46:LXXV.Chapters 1, 3, 5, and 7) 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with the provisions 
of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
through the authority granted in R.S. 37:2656(c), that the 
Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology intends to update the rules, 
regulations and procedures to reflect current requirements 
set forth by universities to obtain undergraduate and 
graduate degrees, to clarify the Sections regarding 
supervision requirements, to implement rules specific to 
individuals who reapply after their license has been lapsed 

for ten years, to revise the current code of ethics to have 
language specific to masters level practitioners and language 
specific to bachelors level practitioners. Lastly, the board is 
requesting other “housekeeping” type amendments to revise 
the language, but not the intent of the rule. 

Title 46 
Professional and Occupational Standards 

Part LXX.  Speech Pathology and Audiology 
Chapter 1. General Rules 
§103. Definitions 

A. ... 
* * * 

Cooperating Program—an approved agency of a 
regionally accredited training institution. 

* * * 
Nine Months of Full-Time Supervised Postgraduate 

Professional Employment/Experience—is defined as a 
minimum of thirty-six weeks of full-time supervised 
professional employment/experience. 

* * * 
Provisional Assistant Licensee—an individual who 

meets the qualifications established in R.S. 37: 2659(E) and 
works under the direct supervision of a licensed speech-
language pathologist and performs only those duties 
specified in §117. This person has completed a minimum of 
100 of 225 supervised clinical practicum hours and is 
working to complete the remaining hours on-the-job and/or 
through a regionally accredited educational institution or its 
cooperating programs. 

* * * 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:705 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:346 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001), LR 28:1781 
(August 2002), LR 30:2307 (October 2004), LR 33:2192 (October 
2007), LR 37:  
§107. Qualifications for Licensure 

A. - F.2.c. …  
G. Coursework Requirements: Speech-Language 

Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant 

1. … 
2. If the bachelor's degree is not in speech-language 

pathology, the degree program should include the following 
core coursework. A total of 41 hours shall be obtained in the 
following areas. 

3. Basic Requirements: 
a. Biological or physical 

sciences 6 semester hours 
b. Mathematics or statistics 6 semester hours 
c. Psychology/Sociology/Multic

ultural Studies (some 
combination) 6 semester hours 

4. Basic Professional Courses: 
a. American Phonetics 3 semester hours 
b. Anatomy and Physiology of 

the Speech and Hearing 
Mechanism 3 semester hours 

c. Normal Speech and Language 
Acquisition 3 semester hours 
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d.  Repealed   

5. Speech and Language Disorders: 
a. Introduction to 

Communication Disorders 3 semester hours 
b. Articulation Disorders 3 semester hours 
c. Language Disorders 3 semester hours 
d. Repealed 
e. Repealed   
f. Repealed   
g. Clinical Practicum in 

Communication Disorders 2 semester hours 
(additional credit may be obtained as an elective) 

6. Hearing and Hearing Disorders: 
a. Introduction to Audiology* 3 semester hours 
b. Repealed   

H. - H.3.a.ii. … 
 iii. the remaining 35 hours may be obtained in the 
areas of speech, language or hearing disorders. A maximum 
of 5 of these hours may be in the area of audiology. It is 
recommended that a minimum of 20 hours be in articulation. 

b. … 
4. Provisional Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 

License 
a. A minimum of 100 clinical practicum hours 

which have been obtained through a regionally accredited 
educational institution or its cooperating programs as 
defined in §107.I.3 is required. 
 i. The first 75 hours of direct patient/client 
contact shall be obtained in the following categories: 

(a). minimum of 20 hours in speech disorders; 
(b). minimum of 20 hours in language disorders; 
(c). the remaining 35 hours may be obtained in 

the areas of speech, language or hearing disorders. A 
maximum of 5 of these hours may be in the area of 
audiology. It is recommended that a minimum of 20 hours be 
in articulation. 

b. The additional 125 hours required to upgrade to 
the Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License shall be 
obtained within three years of the date of issuance of the 
provisional assistant license and may be obtained by 
completing the remaining hours on-the-job and/or through a 
regionally accredited educational institution or its 
cooperating programs. Those hours obtained through 
supervised on-the-job training must consist of on-site in-
view observation hours and will only be accepted from the 
date that the application for license is acknowledged to have 
been received by the board. 

c. A provisional speech-language pathology 
assistant may request inactive status if unable to find 
employment in the area of speech-language pathology and 
may defer the remaining time of the three-year period to 
complete the licensure requirements. 
 i.-ii. … 

I.-K.3. … 
4. If an individual has never held a license to practice 

audiology or speech-language pathology in another state, 
and if the degree program was completed greater than ten 
years from the date of application, the passing score on the 
specialty area examination for speech/language pathology or 

audiology must have been obtained within the last five 
years. 

L. - L.1.c. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:346 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001), repromulgated 
LR 27:1690 (October 2001), amended LR 28:1781 (August 2002), 
LR 30:2308 (October 2004), LR 33:2192 (October 2007), LR 37:  
§109. Application Procedures 

A. - C. … 
D. The initial license fee submitted to this board shall be 

paid by check, money order, or credit card.  
E. - J. … 
K. Applicants who have not obtained licensure within one 

year of having submitted the application shall be deemed to 
have abandoned the application, resulting in mandatory 
reporting to the appropriate federal databank. An applicant 
may request a withdrawal of the application subject to 
review and approval by the board.  

L. Individuals holding an unrestricted speech-language 
pathology or audiology license from another state shall be 
allowed to practice in Louisiana for five consecutive days 
within each renewal period upon proof of current licensure 
submitted to the board office 10 days prior to the scheduled 
activity.  

M. When there is probable cause to believe that an 
applicant practiced illegally in Louisiana as a speech-
language pathologist, speech-language pathology assistant 
and/or audiologist, the board may offer a consent agreement 
and order which will grant the individual a license, subject to 
the following specified terms and conditions. 

1. Within 90 days of the date of the consent agreement 
and order, the applicant shall take and pass an open book 
examination regarding R.S. 37:2650-2666, the board's rules, 
regulations and procedures, and ethical questions or within 
10 months of the date of the consent agreement and order, 
the applicant shall complete not fewer than five hours of 
continuing education in the area of ethics. 

a. Open book test fee shall be $30. The retest fee 
shall be $10 per section. 

b. Applicants have 4 1/2 hours to complete all 
sections of the test. 

c. The open book examination or any section may 
be re-taken anytime within the 90 days. 

d. The applicant may be required to appear before 
the board following completion of the continuing education 
in ethics to answer questions regarding the continuing 
education. 

e. Notice of the consent order and agreement shall 
be published. 

f. If the applicant fails to successfully complete all 
requirements set forth in the above paragraphs, the 
applicant's license shall be suspended without further notice 
until the board receives and accepts documentation of the 
applicant's completion of the consent order and agreement 
requirements. 

N. Applications for licensure will be denied for 
individuals who are in default on the repayment of any loan 
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guaranteed in accordance with L.R.S. 17:3023 (A.) (8.) and 
L.R.S. 37:2951 (A.) (E.). 

O. Temporary Registration During a Declared Public 
Health Emergency 

1.-7. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:352 (May 1996), LR 27:199 (February 2001), LR 28:1974 
(September 2002), LR 30:2311 (October 2004), LR 33:2193 
(October 2007), LR 37: 
§113. Additional Requirements for International 

Applicants/Speakers of English as a Second 
Language 

A. - B. …  
C. Because the essence of the practice of speech-

language pathology and audiology is communication, an 
applicant whose primary language is not English shall 
submit a passing score on a nationally recognized English 
proficiency examination as approved by the board, and make 
a personal appearance before the board or its designees 
before a license may be issued. An English proficiency 
assessment shall be conducted by the board or its designees 
as a condition for licensure. At the board’s discretion, the 
license may be conditionally granted subject to an English 
remediation plan and/or restrictions on practice. 

D. The clinical observation and clinical practicum for a 
speech-language pathologist educated outside the United 
States must consist of at least 400 patient contact hours, to 
include: 

1. At least 25 hours in supervised observation prior to 
the clinical practicum. Patient contact hours in excess of the 
required minimum may be substituted for the required 25 
hours of supervised observation. 

2. At least three hundred seventy-five (375) patient 
contact hours in speech-language pathology. Practicum 
experiences must be: 

a. across the scope of practice in speech-language 
pathology; 

b. with clients across the lifespan; 
c. across the range of clinical severity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:354 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 30:2311 
(October 2004), LR 37:  
§115. Requirements to Upgrade License 

A. - B.3. …  
C. The provisional speech-language pathology assistant 

shall submit the following to upgrade his/her license status: 
1. proof of 225 supervised clinical practicum hours 

shall be on file in the board's office. Only on-site, in-view 
supervision hours and/or university practicum hours may be 
counted towards the 225 hours; 

C.2. - G. … 
H. Audiologists who hold an audiology license but are 

completing the coursework or practicum requirements for 
registration as a dispenser shall follow the supervision 
requirements as specified in §131.H., and shall submit the 
board's Form 100 at the time of renewal. The board's Form 

100 and the upgrade fee shall be submitted to upgrade 
license status. 

I. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:349 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:197 (February 2001), LR 28:1971 (September 2002), LR 
30:2312 (October 2004), LR 33:2194 (October 2007), LR 37:  
§117. Duties: Speech-Language Pathology Assistant 

License and Provisional Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant License 

A.1. All duties performed by the assistant speech-
language pathology licensee or provisional speech-language 
pathology assistant licensee shall be assigned by a licensed 
speech-language pathologist and shall be supervised in 
accordance with the rules and regulations specified by the 
board. Caseload assignments shall be consistent with the 
knowledge base and training of the licensee for the 
performance of the following tasks:  

a. conduct speech-language screenings and 
assessments without interpretation, following specified 
protocols as developed by the supervising speech-language 
pathologist. An assistant may not administer a test if the 
publisher’s examiner requirements dictate administration by 
a graduate-degreed individual. All screening and assessment 
reports shall be cosigned and interpreted by the supervising 
speech-language pathologist; 

b. … 
c. provide direct treatment which is within the level 

of training and experience as prescribed by the supervising 
speech-language pathologist to a caseload of patients/clients 
who demonstrate communication disorders. Supervision of 
treatment shall be in accordance with the rules and 
regulations specified by the board; 

d. follow treatment plans or protocols as developed 
and documented by the supervising speech-language 
pathologist.  

e. - g. … 
h. speech-language pathology assistants may 

participate in parent conferences, case conferences, 
interdisciplinary team conferences, and research projects. 
Provisional speech-language pathology assistants may 
participate in these activities only with the supervising 
speech-language pathologist. 

2. - 2.a.viii. …  
3. The speech-language pathology assistant and the 

provisional speech-language pathology assistant shall not 
perform any clinical task without the knowledge and 
approval of the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

4. Failure to comply with these rules and regulations 
may result in disciplinary action against the assistant and/or 
the supervising speech-language pathologist. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 30:2312 (October 2004), amended 
LR 33:2194 (October 2007), LR 37:  
§119. Fees 

A. The board collects the following fees, which are non-
refundable.  
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1. - 10. … 
11. NSF or returned check—$40. 
12. - 17.d. … 
18. An additional fee may be charged for credit card 

transactions in accordance with state treasury rules. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:706 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:350 (May 1996), LR 27:197 (February 2001), repromulgated 
LR 27:1691 (October 2001) amended LR 30:2313 (October 2004), 
LR 33:2195 (October 2007), LR 37:  
§121. License Renewals 

A. - B. … 
C. Licensees shall list on their renewal form the 

licensees i.e., provisional speech-language pathologists, 
provisional audiologists, restricted speech-language 
pathologists, restricted audiologists, speech-language 
pathology assistants, or provisional speech-language 
pathology assistants, and aides that they are supervising. 

D. - I.2. … 
3. A licensee whose license lapsed on November 1, 

and applies for reinstatement after June 30, of the following 
year, is subject to the initial license fee and the requirements 
of §121.J.3. 

J. Conditional Renewal or Reinstatement 
1. - 2. …  
3. Licensees who have allowed their license to lapse 

for a period of ten years or greater, and do not hold a current 
audiology or speech-language pathology license in another 
state, must submit a passing score on the Educational Testing 
Service’s specialty area examination for speech-language 
pathology or audiology, as applicable to the license being 
sought, achieved no more than five years prior to the 
submission of the request for reinstatement. 

4. Licensees who allow their license to lapse 
(November 1) shall submit documentation of completion of 
five clock hours of continuing education (maximum of 25 
hours) in the area of licensure for each year that the license 
has lapsed in addition to meeting the license requirements 
enumerated in R.S. 37:2650 et seq. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:351 (May 1996), LR 27:198 (February 2001), LR 28:1972 
(September 2002), LR 30:2314 (October 2004), LR 33:2195 
(October 2007), LR 37:  
§123. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. - H. 
* * * 

I. Acceptable continuing education sponsors and 
activities: 

1. board-sponsored activities; 
2. presentations in the area of communication 

disorders sponsored by individual professional practitioners 
and/or professional organizations such as American 
Academy of Audiology (AAA), American Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), Louisiana Speech-
Language-Hearing Association (LSHA), Speech Pathologists 
and Audiologists in Louisiana Schools (SPALS), Louisiana 
Society for Hearing Aid Specialists, etc.; 

3. … 
4. meetings of related professional organizations (e.g., 

Council for Exceptional Children, Orton Dyslexia Society); 
5. college courses in the area of licensure taken for 

credit or official audit; 
6. distance learning (video conferences, telephone 

seminars and Internet courses sponsored by individual 
private practitioners, universities, schools, clinics, state 
agencies, hospitals, professional organizations, or related 
professional organizations); 

7. … 
8. publication of an article in a peer-reviewed journal 

for the year in which it was published; 
9. audio, video and other media from the LBESPA 

library as well as ASHA-approved and AAA-approved 
continuing education media (maximum of 5 hours);  

10. The presenting licensee may count 1 1/2 times the 
value of an activity the first time it is presented to allow for 
preparation time (Example: a three hour workshop = 4 1/2 
hours). The activity will count for the actual hour value for 
each subsequent presentation of the same activity;  

11. Teaching at the college level in the area of 
communication disorders is not acceptable. 

J. Pre-Approval Policy 
1. Pre-approval is required for continuing education 

events that do not meet the requirements as listed under 
§123.I.1-11, and pre-approval of continuing education 
events is required in those situations where it is unclear 
whether or not the topic is relevant to the profession or will 
further a professional's expertise in a particular area. 

2. - 6. … 
K. Recording of Continuing Education Activities  

1. Licensees shall record all continuing education 
activities as prescribed by the board and submitted at the 
time of renewal.  

2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:351 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:199 (February 2001), LR 28:1973 (September 2002), LR 
30:2314 (October 2004), LR 33:2196 (October 2007), LR 37:  
§125. Supervision Requirements for Restricted 

License, Provisional Speech-Language Pathology 
License and Provisional Audiology License 

A. …  
B. A supervising speech-language pathologist must have 

a minimum of one year of full-time professional speech-
language pathology experience following the postgraduate 
professional/employment experience. Full-time employment 
in a school system for the school year is considered to meet 
this requirement. 

C. An individual may not be supervised by a provisional 
licensee, restricted licensee, or assistant licensee. 

D. Supervision must involve the personal and direct 
participation of the supervisor in order for the supervisor to 
monitor, observe, evaluate, and make suggestions for 
improvement regarding the supervisee’s professional 
employment. 

E. Restricted licensees, provisional speech-language 
pathology licensees and provisional audiology licensees 
must submit a supervisory agreement signed by the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 675

supervisor and supervisee as prescribed by the board. The 
form must be submitted to the board by the supervisee 
within 30 days of employment and submitted annually at the 
time of renewal. If there is a change in supervisor(s) at any 
time, a new supervisory agreement must be submitted to the 
board within 30 days of the change in supervision. If there 
are multiple supervisors for the same supervisee, all 
supervisors must sign the supervisory agreement. 

F. Speech-language pathologists or audiologists may 
share the supervision responsibility for Provisional or 
Restricted licensees, but each supervising speech-language 
pathologist or audiologist shall complete and submit the 
necessary supervision forms. 

G. Supervisory records, including supervision logs and 
other documentation of supervision, shall be maintained by 
both the supervisor and supervisee for a period of three 
years. Documentation of supervision may be requested by 
the board. 

H. The direct supervision of the licensee, whether 
employed full-time or part-time, shall include 12 monitoring 
activities annually. 

1. At least four shall be on-site, in-view observations 
divided between the areas of diagnostics and management. 
The on-site, in-view observations must be equal to or greater 
than a total of four hours. Alternative methods may include 
conferences, audio and videotape recordings, review of 
written records, staffings and discussions with other persons 
who have participated in the licensee's training.  

2. For 12-month employees, one on-site, in-view 
observation shall be conducted each quarter. 

3. For nine-month employees, two on-site, in-view 
observations shall occur in each semester. If the nine-month 
employment is extended for a period of time, additional on-
site, in-view as well as alternative methods of supervision 
must occur. 

I. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted 
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 100 
provided by the board. 

J. Licensees shall complete all supervision requirements 
consistent with the license held and immediately thereafter 
submit appropriate supervision forms to the board office 
along with a written request for license upgrade and the 
upgrade fee. The licensee shall remain under supervision 
until the upgrade has been approved by the board. 

K. The board will accept supervision provided out-of-
state by an individual licensed or ASHA-certified in the area 
of practice. Supervision must be documented on Form 100. 

1. Restricted licensees, provisional speech-language 
pathology licensees and provisional audiology licensees who 
have not worked in Louisiana, may submit their Clinical 
Fellowship Report as proof of supervision that was carried 
out during the license period. Otherwise licensees must 
submit at the time of license renewal, appropriate proof of 
supervision consistent with Louisiana supervision 
requirements. 

L. Licensees who are not working in the field of speech-
language pathology and/or audiology and who hold a license 
requiring supervision, shall submit a notarized statement at 
the time of license renewal attesting to the fact that they did 
not work in the profession during the license period. 

M. All costs of supervision shall be borne by the licensee 
or his/her employer, but in no event will those costs be borne 
by the board. 

N. When supervision requirements have not been met in 
accordance with §125., licensees shall complete additional 
months of supervision to replace months of incomplete 
supervision. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:352 (May 1996), LR 27:199 (February 2001), LR 28:1974 
(September 2002) LR 30:2315 (October 2004), LR 33:2196 
(October 2007), LR 37:  
§127. Supervision Requirements for Speech-Language 

Pathology Assistant and Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant 

A. A supervising speech-language pathologist must have 
a minimum of one year of full-time professional speech-
language pathology experience following the postgraduate 
professional/employment experience. Full time employment 
in a school system for the school year is considered to meet 
this requirement. 

B. Prior to the initiation of supervision of an assistant or 
provisional assistant, training in the area of supervision is 
strongly recommended. 

C. The supervision requirements specified in these 
guidelines are minimum requirements. It is the responsibility 
of the speech-language pathologist to design and provide a 
supervision system that protects patient/client care and 
maintains the highest possible standards of quality.  

D. Supervision must involve the personal and direct 
participation of the supervisor in order for the supervisor to 
monitor, observe, evaluate, and make suggestions for 
improvement regarding the supervisee’s employment. 

E. The supervisor is responsible for ensuring that the 
assistant does not make decisions regarding evaluation, 
management and future disposition of clients.  

F. The supervisor is responsible for initial consultation 
with the assistant regarding coursework and practicum 
experiences prior to caseload assignment. The supervising 
speech-language pathologist shall assign only those tasks for 
which the assistant has been trained.  

G. Decision-making regarding specification of on-going 
treatment protocol and necessary modifications, is the 
responsibility of the supervisor. The level of supervision 
required is considered the minimum necessary to ensure 
appropriate patient/client care.  

H. The supervising speech-language pathologist shall be 
readily available for consultation with the assistant licensee. 
This includes personal contact, telephone, pager, or other 
means of communication. 

I. Speech-language pathology assistants and provisional 
speech-language pathology assistants must submit a 
supervisory agreement signed by the supervisor and 
supervisee as prescribed by the board. The form must be 
submitted to the board by the supervisee within 30 days of 
employment and submitted annually at the time of renewal. 
If there is a change in supervisor(s) at any time, a new 
supervisory agreement must be submitted to the board 
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within 30 days of the change in supervision. If there are 
multiple supervisors for the same supervisee, all supervisors 
must sign the supervisory agreement. 

J. Speech-language pathologists may share the 
supervision responsibility for speech-language pathology 
assistants or provisional speech-language pathology 
assistants, but each supervising speech-language pathologist 
shall complete and submit the necessary supervision forms. 

K. Supervisory records, including supervision logs and 
other documentation of supervision, shall be maintained by 
both the supervisor and supervisee for a period of three 
years. Documentation of supervision may be requested by 
the board. 

L. The board will accept supervision given out-of-state 
by a licensed or ASHA certified speech-language pathologist 
or audiologist in the area of licensure. Licensees must 
submit at the time of license renewal, appropriate proof of 
supervision consistent with Louisiana supervision 
requirements. 

M. Assistants who are not working in the field of speech-
language pathology shall submit a notarized statement at the 
time of license renewal attesting to the fact that they did not 
work in the profession during the license period. 

N. Although more than one speech-language pathologist 
may provide supervision of an assistant licensee and 
provisional assistant licensee, at no time may a licensed 
speech-language pathologist supervise or be listed as a 
supervisor for more than three assistant or provisional 
assistant licensees. When multiple supervisors are used, the 
supervisors are encouraged to coordinate and communicate 
with each other. 

O. Provisional speech-language pathology assistants and 
speech-language pathology assistants must undergo on-site 
in-view supervision as well as alternative methods of 
supervision in every work setting in which the licensee is 
employed. 

P. Documentation of supervision shall be submitted 
annually at the time of license renewal on Form 200 
provided by the board.  

Q. Supervision Requirements for the Speech-Language 
Pathology Assistant 

1. A minimum of one clock hour of on-site, in-view 
supervision shall be completed in the primary work setting 
each week for each licensee. If the assistant is employed in 
more than one work setting, additional on-site, in-view 
supervision must occur in the secondary work setting. 

2. A minimum of one clock hour of alternative 
supervision methods shall be completed each week for each 
licensee. These methods should include, but are not limited 
to: 

a. specifying protocols for speech-language 
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant 
licensee; 

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings 
conducted by the assistant licensee; 

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and 
documenting approval; 

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward 
meeting established objectives; 

e. monitoring, scheduling, charting and data 
collection; 

f. directing maintenance of equipment; 

g. directing research projects, in-service training 
and public relations programs; 

h. conducting telephone conferences. 
3. If circumstances prohibit a supervisor from 

completing the minimum supervision requirements 
(§127.Q.1 and 2) in a given week, the remaining supervision 
shall be completed the following week in conjunction with 
the required supervision hours for that week. 

4. When the supervising speech-language pathologist 
is unavailable for supervision for more than one week, 
arrangements shall be made for another qualified supervisor 
or the speech-language pathology assistant shall be 
transferred to other duties. 

5. Speech-Language Pathology Assistant Full-Time 
and Part-Time Supervision Requirements 

 

Hours Worked 
Required Supervision 

On-Site, In-View 
Required Supervision 
Alternative Method 

21-40 hours  1 hour/week 1 hour/week 
20 hours or less  1 hour/every 2 weeks 1 hour/every 2 weeks 

 
6. Assistant licensees shall be supervised only by a 

speech-language pathologist licensed under the provisions of 
R.S. 37:2659(A) with the exception of hearing screenings 
which may be supervised by an audiologist, licensed under 
the provisions of R.S. 37:2659. An individual may not be 
supervised by a provisional licensee or restricted licensee. 

R. Supervision Requirements for the Provisional Speech-
Language Pathology Assistant 

1. A minimum of three clock hours of on-site, in-view 
supervision shall be completed in the primary work setting 
each week for each licensee. If the provisional speech-
language pathology assistant is employed in more than one 
work setting, additional on-site, in-view supervision must 
occur in the secondary work setting. 

2. A minimum of two clock hours of alternative 
supervision methods shall be completed each week for each 
licensee. 

3. These methods should include, but are not limited 
to: 

a. specifying protocols for speech-language 
screenings and assessments conducted by the assistant 
licensee; 

b. specifying protocols for hearing screenings 
conducted by the assistant licensee; 

c. approving treatment plans or protocols and 
documenting approval; 

d. monitoring patient/client progress toward 
meeting established objectives; 

e. monitoring scheduling, charting and data 
collection; 

f. directing maintenance of equipment; 
g. directing research projects, in-service training 

and public relations programs; 
h. conducting telephone conferences. 
4. If extenuating circumstances prohibit a supervisor 

from completing the minimum supervision requirements 
(§127.R.1 and 2) in a given week, the remaining supervision 
shall be completed the following week in conjunction with 
the required supervision hours for that week. 

5. When the supervising speech-language pathologist 
is out for more than one week, arrangements shall be made 
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for another qualified supervisor or the provisional speech-
language pathology assistant shall be transferred to other 
duties. 

6. When supervision requirements have not been met, 
in accordance with §127 licensees shall complete additional 
months of supervision to replace months of incomplete 
supervision.  

7. Provisional speech-language pathology assistant 
full-time and part-time supervision requirement: 

 

Hours Worked 
Required Supervision 

On-Site, In-View 
Required Supervision 
Alternative Method 

21-40 hours 3 hours/week 2 hours/week 
20 hours or less 1.5 hours/every 2 weeks 1 hour/every 2 weeks 

 

8. Provisional assistant licensees shall be supervised 
by a speech-language pathologist licensed under the 
provisions of R.S. 37:2659(A) with the exception of hearing 
screenings which may be supervised by an audiologist, 
licensed under the provisions of R.S. 37:2659. An individual 
may not be supervised by a provisional licensee or a 
restricted licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 14:707 (October 1988), amended LR 
22:353 (May1996), LR 27:200 (February 2001), repromulgated LR 
27:1691 (October 2001), amended LR 30:2316 (October 2004), LR 
33:2197 (October 2007), LR 37:  
§131. Hearing Aid Dispensing 

A. - F.1.b. …  
c. a basic audiological test battery conducted in a 

soundtreated environment within the preceding six month 
period, including: 
 i. pure tone air and bone conduction testing; 
 ii. speech reception threshold; 
 iii. word recognition testing; 
 iv. appropriate tolerance testing; 
 vi Repealed 

d. Middle ear measurements shall also be obtained 
when indicated. 

2. - 3. …  
4. Audiologists shall conduct a post-fitting evaluation 

that includes functional gain measurements conducted in a 
soundtreated environment and/or real ear measurements 
unless the patient's physical conditions prohibit 
accomplishment of these procedures. 

F.5. - H.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 22:353 (May 1996), amended LR 
27:201 (February 2001), LR 28:1975 (September 2002), LR 
30:2317 (October 2004), LR 33:2198 (October 2007), LR 37:  
Chapter 3. Impaired Practitioner Program 
§301. Purpose and Scope 

A. Upon voluntary disclosure or proof that an applicant 
or licensee has provided professional services while under 
the influence of alcohol or has used narcotic or controlled 
dangerous substances or other drugs in excess of therapeutic 
amounts or without valid medical indication, the board may 
offer the applicant or licensee the Impaired Practitioner 

Program in order to receive or renew the professional 
license. Participation in the program may be required as a 
prerequisite to initial application for licensure or continued 
practice in accordance with the conditions of any consent 
order, compliance hearing, or adjudication hearing. At no 
time while participating in the impaired practitioner’s 
program shall an individual supervise other licensees. 

B. The board may utilize its discretionary authority to 
require or exclude specific components of this program for 
participants based upon determination of the nature and 
severity of the impairment. Participation in the Impaired 
Practitioner Program may consist of all or part of the 
following components: 

1. - 3. …  
4. mandatory weekly attendance at self-help meetings, 

such as Alcoholics Anonymous or Narcotics Anonymous, for 
a specified period of time. Submission of a monthly log 
which meets the board's specifications will be required: 

B.4.a. - H. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 30:2319 (October 2004), amended 
LR 37:  
Chapter 5. Procedural Rules 
§501. Investigation of Complaints  

A. - F. …  
G. Following an investigation, the designated 

investigator shall report to the board and make a 
recommendation for either dismissal of the complaint or 
proceeding to an informal hearing, consent order, or formal 
hearing.  

H. - L. …  
M. The board shall have the authority to delegate to the 

designated investigator any alleged violations of the Speech-
Language Pathology and Audiology Act, R.S. 37:2650 et 
seq., and any alleged violations of any and all rules and 
regulations adopted by the board pursuant thereto, prior to 
board action on those alleged violations. If requested by the 
board, the designated investigator shall submit to the board 
the complete investigation file. Final authority for 
appropriate action rests solely with the board including 
formal notification to the complainant and the licensee. 

N. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:373 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:356 (May 1996), LR 30:2320 (October 2004), LR 33:2200 
(October 2007), LR 37:  
§503. Compliance Hearings 

A. … 
B. A licensee whose license has lapsed shall be entitled 

to a compliance hearing provided that the licensee requests 
one in writing within 10 days after receipt of the notice for 
the lapsed license 

C. The purpose and intent of the compliance hearing is 
to provide a forum for the applicant or licensee to present 
documentary evidence, in the form of affidavits, public 
records, official records, letters, etc., along with testimony 
under oath to establish that the applicant or licensee does, in 
fact, meet the lawful requirements for issuance of a license 
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or or the retention of the license, The board shall have the 
authority to administer oaths, hear the testimony, and 
conduct the hearing. The applicant or licensee may be 
represented by counsel, or may represent her/himself. 

D. In any compliance hearing, the burden of proof shall 
rest with the applicant or licensee.  

E. Within 30 days after the compliance hearing, the 
board shall forward its final decision, including specific 
reasons thereof, by certified mail, return receipt requested, to 
the applicant or licensee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:357 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 30:2321 
(October 2004), LR 37:  
§507. General Procedural Rules for Hearings 

A. The board is empowered to issue subpoenas upon 
receipt of a written request from the licensee or attorney 
general at least 15 days in advance of any scheduled hearing. 
The board shall issue said subpoenas upon receipt of said 
written request and receipt of any and all fees for subpoenas 
as provided for in §119.A.15. promulgated by the board. 

B. - E. … 
F. The procedures as delineated by the Louisiana 

Department of Justice consistent with the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., regarding the conducting 
of hearings and proceedings shall be implemented. A copy 
will be provided to any interested party involved with the 
hearing upon receipt by the board of a written request 
therefore. 

G. - I. …  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:2650 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:374 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:358 (May 1996), LR 27:201 (February 2001), LR 28:1975 
(September 2002), LR 30:2322 (October 2004), LR 37:  
Chapter 7. Code of Ethics 
§701. Preamble 

A. - B. …  
C. Principles of Ethics form the underlying moral basis 

for the Code of Ethics. Individuals shall observe these 
principles as affirmative obligations under all conditions of 
professional activity. 

D. … 
E. Rules of Ethics for Audiology, Provisional Audiology, 

Speech-Language Pathology, Provisional Speech-Language 
Pathology, and Restricted Speech-Language Pathology 
Licensees 

1.a. - k. …  
l. Individuals shall not discontinue service to those 

they are serving without providing reasonable notice and 
other resources. 

2. Principle of Ethics II: Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to achieve and maintain the highest level of 
professional competence and performance consistent with 
prevailing practice standards. 

a. Individuals shall provide all services 
competently. Individuals shall engage in only those aspects 
of the professions that are within the scope of their practice 

and competence, considering their level of licensure, 
education, training and experience. 

b. Individuals shall hold the appropriate 
qualifications for the area(s) in which they are providing or 
supervising professional services. 

c. - f. … 
3. Principle of Ethics III: Individuals shall honor their 

responsibility to the public by promoting public 
understanding of the professions, by supporting the 
development of services designed to fulfill the unmet needs 
of the public, and by providing accurate information in all 
communications involving any aspect of the professions. 

a. …  
b. Individuals shall not misrepresent the credentials 

of assistants, support personnel, students, or any others 
under their supervision and shall inform those they serve 
professionally of the name and professional credentials of 
persons providing services. 

c. Individuals shall not participate in professional 
activities that constitute a conflict of interest. 

d. Individuals shall not misrepresent diagnostic 
information, services rendered, or products dispensed, or 
engage in any scheme or maneuver to defraud in connection 
with obtaining payment or reimbursement for such services 
or product. 

e. Individuals' statements to the public shall provide 
accurate information about the nature and management of 
communication disorders, about the professions, about 
professional services and about products.  

f. Individuals' statements to the public - advertising, 
announcing and marketing their professional services, 
reporting research results, and promoting products-shall 
adhere to prevailing professional standards and shall not 
contain misrepresentations. 

4. Principle of Ethics IV: Individuals shall honor their 
responsibilities to the professions and their relationships 
with colleagues, students, and members of other professions 
and disciplines. Individuals shall uphold the dignity and 
autonomy of the professions, maintain harmonious 
interprofessional and intraprofessional relationships, and 
accept the professions' self-imposed standards. 

a. … 
b. Individuals shall not engage in dishonesty, fraud, 

deceit, or misrepresentation 
c. Individuals shall not engage in any form of 

harassment, power abuse, or any other form of conduct that 
adversely reflects on the professions or on the individual’s 
fitness to serve persons professionally. 

d. Individuals shall not engage in sexual activity 
with a patient/client or students over whom they exercise 
professional authority. 

e. Individuals shall assign credit only to those who 
have contributed to a publication, presentation, or product. 
Credit shall be assigned in proportion to the contribution and 
only with the contributor's consent. 

f. Individuals shall reference the source when using 
other persons’ ideas, research, presentations, or products in 
written, oral, or any other media presentation or summary. 

g. Individuals' statements to colleagues about 
professional services, research results, and products shall 
adhere to prevailing professional standards and shall contain 
no misrepresentations.  
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h. Individuals shall not provide professional 
services without exercising independent professional 
judgment, regardless of referral source or prescription. 

i. Individuals shall not discriminate in their 
relationships with colleagues, students, and members of 
other professions and disciplines on the basis of race or 
ethnicity, gender, age, religion, national origin, sexual 
orientation, or disability.  

j. Individuals shall not violate these principles and 
rules, nor attempt to circumvent them. 

k. Individuals shall inform the board of any 
violations of this Code of Ethics. 

l. Individuals shall cooperate fully with the board 
on matters of professional conduct relative to this Code of 
Ethics. 

F. Rules of Ethics for Speech-Language Pathology 
Assistant and Provisional Speech-Language Pathology 
Assistant Licensees 

1. Principle of Ethics I: Licensees shall honor their 
responsibility to hold paramount the welfare of persons they 
serve and provide services with honesty and compassion and 
shall respect the dignity, worth, and rights of those served. 
The licensee shall take all reasonable precautions to avoid 
harm to the individual served. 

a. Individuals shall not discriminate in the delivery 
of services on the basis of race or ethnicity, gender, age, 
religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or disability. 

b. Individuals shall not perform clinical tasks 
without the knowledge and approval of the supervising 
speech-language pathologist nor shall the licensee interpret 
test results, guarantee results, make referrals, discharge 
patients/clients, or provide patient/client or family 
counseling. 

c. Individuals may practice by telecommunication 
(i.e., telepractice, telehealth, e-health) provided they hold the 
appropriate licensure for the jurisdiction in which the service 
is rendered and delivered under appropriate supervision.  

d. Individuals shall maintain adequate records of 
services rendered and products dispensed and shall allow 
access to these records when appropriately authorized. 

e. Individuals shall not reveal, without 
authorization, any professional or personal information 
about the person served, unless required by law to do so, or 
unless doing so is necessary to protect the welfare of the 
person or of the community. 

f. Individuals shall not charge for services not 
rendered, nor shall they misrepresent, in any fashion, 
services rendered or products dispensed. 

g. Individuals shall not carry out teaching, or 
research activities in a manner that constitutes an invasion of 
privacy, or that fails to inform persons fully about the nature 
and possible effects of these activities, affording all persons 
informed free-choice and participation. 

h. Individuals whose services are adversely affected 
by substance abuse or other health-related conditions shall 
seek professional assistance and, where appropriate, 
withdraw from the affected areas of practice. 

2. Principle of Ethics II: Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to achieve and maintain the highest level of 
competence and performance. 

a. Individuals shall provide all services 
competently. Individuals shall engage in only those aspects 

of service provision that are within the scope of their 
practice and competence, considering their level of 
licensure, education, training and experience. 

b. Individuals shall hold the appropriate 
qualifications for the area(s) in which they are providing 
services. 

c. Individuals shall engage in lifelong learning 
throughout their careers. 

d. Individuals shall not provide services unless 
appropriately supervised. 

e. Individuals shall not provide services for which 
the licensee has not been properly prepared. 

f. Individuals shall ensure that all equipment used 
in the provision of services is in proper working order and is 
properly calibrated. 

3. Principle of Ethics III: Individuals shall honor their 
responsibility to the public by providing accurate 
information in all communications. 

a. Individuals shall not misrepresent their 
credentials, competence, education, training or experience.  

b. Individuals shall not participate in professional 
activities that constitute a conflict of interest. 

c. Individuals shall not misrepresent information or 
services rendered, or engage in any scheme or maneuver to 
defraud in connection with obtaining payment or 
reimbursement for services. 

4. Principle of Ethics IV: Individuals shall honor their 
responsibilities and their relationships with colleagues and 
members of other professions and disciplines. Individuals 
shall maintain harmonious interprofessional and 
intraprofessional relationships. 

a. Individuals shall not engage in dishonesty, fraud, 
deceit, or misrepresentation 

b. Individuals shall not engage in any form of 
harassment, power abuse, or any other form of conduct that 
adversely reflects on service delivery or on the individual’s 
fitness to serve persons. 

c. Individuals shall not engage in sexual activity 
with a patient/client. 

d. Individuals shall assign credit only to those who 
have contributed to a publication, presentation, or product. 
Credit shall be assigned in proportion to the contribution and 
only with the contributor's consent. 

e. Individuals shall reference the source when using 
other persons’ ideas, research, presentations, or products in 
written, oral, or any other media presentation or summary. 

f. Individuals' statements to colleagues about 
services, research, or products shall adhere to prevailing 
standards and shall contain no misrepresentations.  

g. Individuals shall not discriminate in their 
relationships with colleagues and members of other 
professions and disciplines on the basis of race or ethnicity, 
gender, age, religion, national origin, sexual orientation, or 
disability.  

h. Individuals shall not violate these principles and 
rules, nor attempt to circumvent them. 

i. Individuals shall inform the board of any 
violations of this Code of Ethics. 

j. Individuals shall cooperate fully with the board 
on matters of professional conduct relative to this Code of 
Ethics. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:2650 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology, LR 17:370 (April 1991), amended LR 
22:360 (May 1996), LR 30:2324 (October 2004), LR 33:2201 
(October 2007), LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed changes have no anticipated adverse impact 

on the family. 
Public Comments 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Emily 
Efferson, Administrator, 18550 Highland Road, Suite B, 
Baton Rouge, LA 70809. Written comments will be accepted 
through 4:30 p.m. on March 31, 2011. 

 
Emily Efferson  
Administrator 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Speech Pathology and Audiology 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
The Louisiana Board of Examiners for Speech-Language 

Pathology and Audiology is updating the Rules, Regulations 
and Procedures; however, there are no estimated costs to state 
or local governmental units as a result of these changes. There 
will be a one-time implementation cost of $984.00 in FY 2011 
for the cost of publishing the rule. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The board is proposing to raise the fee for checks returned 
for insufficient funds from $25.00 to $40.00. The board 
anticipates approximately 25 checks will be returned annually, 
thereby resulting in approximately $375.00 in increased annual 
revenue. In addition, the board is waiving credit card fees 
associated with timely license renewals in order to encourage 
the use of the online renewal option. This will result in 
approximately $2,175.00 in lost annual revenue to the board 
($3.00 per transaction; based on approximately 725 licensees 
who filed timely renewals in FY 2010). The net effect of this 
fiscal impact will be an annual loss of approximately $1,800.00 
in revenue to the board beginning in FY 2011 when the rule 
takes effect since the licensing renewal period takes place form 
April 15th through June 30th each year 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There are no estimated costs or non-governmental groups, 
unless a banking institution returns a check submitted by a 
licensee. In that instance, the licensee will be charged a $40.00 
fee for insufficient funds. Due to the board waiving the credit 
card fee for renewal there will be an economic benefit to 
licensees. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Emily Efferson H. Gordon Monk 
Administrator Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#060 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

Coordinated Care Network  
(LAC 50:I.Chapters 31-40) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing proposes to adopt LAC 
50:I.Chapters 31-40 in the Medical Assistance Program as 
authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act. This proposed Rule is promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq. 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Bureau of 
Health Services Financing adopted provisions to establish 
the CommunityCARE Program as an optional service 
covered under the Medicaid State Plan (Louisiana Register, 
Volume 32, Number 3). The CommunityCARE Program is a 
statewide primary care case management program designed 
to improve the accessibility, continuity and quality of care 
for certain groups of Medicaid recipients. The department 
now proposes to adopt provisions that will establish 
enhancements in order to create a more cost effective health 
care delivery system that provides a continuum of evidence-
based, quality-driven health care services. This more cost 
effective health care delivery system, hereafter called the 
Coordinated Care Network, will enable the Medicaid 
Program to establish a coordinated system of care designed 
to improve performance and health care outcomes through a 
healthcare delivery system integrated network. 

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTHMEDICAL ASSISTANCE 

Part I.  Administration 
Subpart 3.  Medicaid Coordinated Care  

Chapter 31. Coordinated Care Network  
§3101. Introduction 

A. A coordinated care network (CCN) is an organized 
health care delivery system designed to improve access to 
care and the quality of services, as well as to promote 
healthier outcomes for Medicaid recipients through the 
establishment of a medical home system of care.  

B. Coordinated care networks may be either a fee-for-
service with shared savings model (CCN-S), a prepaid risk 
bearing managed care organization (MCO) model (CCN-P), 
or an alternative Medicaid managed care model that 
coordinates care and that the department makes available in 
accordance with the promulgation of administrative Rules. 

1. A CCN-S is an entity that serves as a primary care 
case manager by providing enhanced primary care case 
management in addition to contracting with primary care 
providers (PCPs) for primary care management.  

2. A CCN-P is a risk-bearing, MCO health care 
delivery system that is responsible for the provision of 
specified Medicaid State Plan services. 

C. It is the department’s goal to develop a health care 
delivery system that improves access to care and care 
coordination, promotes healthier outcomes, provides budget 
stability, and results in savings as compared to an 
unmanaged fee-for-service system.  
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D. It is the department's intent to:  
1. procure the services of coordinated care networks 

statewide through the competitive bid process; and  
a. The number of each type of coordinated care 

network model for each specified service area shall be no 
more than required to meet Medicaid enrollee capacity 
requirements and ensure choice for Medicaid recipients as 
required by federal statute.  

2. provide the opportunity for an equal number of 
CCN-P and CCN-S models in each department designated 
service area, with the same minimum capacity requirements 
for both. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3103. Recipient Participation  

A. The following Medicaid recipients shall be mandatory 
participants in coordinated care networks:  

1. categorically needy individuals:  
a. children up to 19 years of age and their parents 

who are eligible under §1931 of the Social Security Act 
(hereafter referred to as the Act) as poverty-level related 
groups or optional groups of older children and caretaker 
relatives; 

b. qualified pregnant women and children who are 
eligible under §1902 and §1905 of the Act;  

c. aged, blind and disabled adults over the age of 19 
who are eligible under §1619, §1634, §1902 and §1905 of 
the Act. These individuals may be receiving cash payments 
through Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or have lost 
SSI eligibility due to a Social Security cost-of-living 
adjustment (COLA) or entitlement for, or an increase in 
Retirement, Survivors or Disability Insurance (RSDI) 
benefits; 

d. uninsured women under the age of 65 who have 
been screened through the Centers for Disease Control 
National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection 
Program and identified as being in need of treatment for 
breast and/or cervical cancer, including pre-cancerous 
conditions and early stage cancer, and are not otherwise 
eligible for Medicaid; and 

e. uninsured women who are eligible through the 
Louisiana Children’s Health Insurance Program (LaCHIP) 
Prenatal Option; and 

2. medically needy individuals:  
a. individuals and families who have more income 

than is allowed for Medicaid eligibility, but who meet the 
standards for the Regular Medically Needy Program.  

B. Voluntary Participants 
1. Participation in a CCN is voluntary for: 

a. individuals who are Native Americans/Alaskan 
Natives and members of a federally recognized tribe except 
when the managed care organization or primary care case 
management entity is:  
 i. the Indian Health Service; or  
 ii. an Indian health program or urban Indian 
program operated by a tribe or tribal organization under a 
contract, grant, cooperative agreement or compact with the 
Indian Health Service; and 

b. children under 19 years of age who are:  
 i. eligible under §1902(e)(3) of the Act and 
receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI); 

 ii. in foster care or other out-of-home placement; 
 iii. receiving foster care or adoption assistance;  
 iv. receiving services through a family-centered, 
community-based coordinated care system that receives 
grant funds under §501(a)(1)(D) of Title V, and is defined by 
the department in terms of either program participation or 
special health care needs; or 
 v. enrolled in the Family Opportunity Act 
Medicaid Buy-In Program. 

NOTE:  These recipients will be enrolled in a CCN pursuant 
to the automatic assignment protocol if they do not choose a 
plan after a choice period of 15 days. They may request 
disenrollment at any time, without cause, during the first 90 
days of enrollment.  

C. The enrollment broker will ensure that all participants 
are notified at the time of enrollment that they may request 
disenrollment from the CCN at any time for cause. 

1. An extension to the choice period of 15 days may 
be granted if the request is made to the enrollment broker 
prior to the fifteenth day.  

D. Participation Exclusion 
1. The following Medicaid and/or CHIP recipients are 

excluded from participation in a CCN and cannot voluntarily 
enroll in a CCN. Individuals who:  

a. receive hospice services; 
b. are both Medicare and Medicaid recipients; 
c. reside in a long-term care facility (nursing 

facility or intermediate care facility for persons with 
intellectual disabilities); 

d. receive home and community-based waiver 
services;  

e. are under 21 years of age and are listed on the 
New Opportunities Waiver Request for Services Registry 
(Chisholm class members); 

f. receive services through the Program of All-
Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE); 

g. have a limited period of eligibility such as 
eligibility through the Spend-down Medically Needy 
Program or Emergency Services Only; 

h. are eligible through the Louisiana Children’s 
Health Insurance Program (LaCHIP) Affordable Plan 
Program;  

i. are participants in the Take Charge Family 
Planning Waiver Program;  

j. are eligible through the Tuberculosis Infected 
Individual Program; or 

k. are enrolled in the Louisiana Health Premium 
Payment (LaHIPP) Program.  

E. The department reserves the right to institute a 
medical exemption process for certain medically high risk 
recipients that may warrant the direct care and supervision of 
a non-primary care specialist on a case by case basis.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3105. Enrollment Process  

A. The CCN shall abide by all enrollment and 
disenrollment policy and procedures as outlined in the 
contract and CCN Policy and Procedure Guide developed by 
the department.  

B. The department will contract with an enrollment 
broker who will be responsible for the enrollment and 
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disenrollment process for CCN participants. The enrollment 
broker shall be:  

1. the primary contact for Medicaid recipients 
regarding the CCN and shall assist the recipient to enroll in a 
CCN;  

2. the only authorized entity, other than the 
department, to assist a Medicaid recipient in the selection of 
a CCN; and  

3. responsible for notifying all CCN members of their 
enrollment and disenrollment rights and responsibilities 
within the timeframe specified in the contract. 

C. Enrollment Period. The annual enrollment of a CCN 
member shall be for a period of up to 12 months contingent 
upon his/her continued Medicaid and CCN eligibility. A 
member shall remain enrolled in the CCN until:  

1. DHH or its enrollment broker approves the 
member’s written, electronic or oral request to disenroll or 
transfer to another CCN for cause; or  

2. the annual open enrollment period or after the lock-
in period; or  

3. the member becomes ineligible for Medicaid and/or 
the CCN program.  

D. Enrollment of Newborns. Newborns of Medicaid 
eligible mothers who are enrolled at the time of the 
newborn's birth will be automatically enrolled with the 
mother’s CCN, retroactive to the month of the newborn’s 
birth. 

1. If there is an administrative delay in enrolling the 
newborn and costs are incurred during that period, the 
member shall be held harmless for those costs and the CCN 
shall pay for these services. 

2. The CCN and its providers shall be required to 
register all births through the Louisiana Electronic Event 
Registration System (LEERS) administered by DHH/Vital 
Records Registry. 

E. Selection of a CCN 
1. As part of the eligibility determination process, 

Medicaid and LaCHIP applicants may receive information 
and assistance with making informed choices about the 
CCNs in their area of residence and the availability of choice 
counseling. These individuals will have the opportunity to 
talk with an enrollment broker who shall provide additional 
information to assist in choosing the appropriate CCN.  

2. Each new recipient shall be given no less than 15 
calendar days from the postmark date of an enrollment form 
mailed by the enrollment broker to select a CCN and 
primary care provider (PCP).  

a. Recipients may request an extension of 15 
calendar days to the choice period if the written or oral 
request is received by or made to the enrollment broker prior 
to the fifteenth day of the original choice period.  

b. Recipients who fail to choose a CCN shall be 
automatically assigned to a CCN by the enrollment broker 
and the CCN shall be responsible to assign the member to a 
PCP if a PCP is not selected at the time of enrollment into 
the CCN.  

3. The following provisions will be applicable for 
recipients who are mandatory or voluntary participants. 

a. If there are two or more CCNs in a department 
designated service area in which the recipient resides, they 
shall select one. 

b. If there is only one CCN in a department 
designated service area where the recipient resides, the 
recipient must choose either the CCN, Medicaid fee-for-
service or an alternative Medicaid managed care program 
that coordinates care and which the department makes 
available in accordance with the promulgation of 
administrative Rules. 

c. Recipients who fail to make a selection will be 
automatically assigned to a participating CCN in their area.  

d. Recipients may request to transfer out of the 
CCN for cause and the change will be effective the first day 
of the following month.  

F. Automatic Assignment Process 
1. Mandatory CCN participants that fail to select a 

CCN and voluntary participants that do not exercise their 
option not to participate in the CCN program within the 
minimum 15 day window, shall be automatically assigned to 
a CCN by the enrollment broker in accordance with the 
department’s algorithm/formula and the provisions of 
§3105.E. CCN automatic assignments shall take into 
consideration factors including, but not limited to: 

a. the potential enrollee’s geographic parish of 
residence; 

b. assigning members of family units to the same 
CCN;  

c. previous relationships with a Medicaid provider;  
d. CCN capacity; and  
e. CCN performance outcome indicators (when 

available). 
2. Neither the MCO model nor the shared savings 

model will be given preference in making automatic 
assignments.  

3. CCN automatic assignment methodology shall be 
available to recipients upon request to the enrollment broker 
prior to enrollment. 

G. Selection or Automatic Assignment of a Primary Care 
Provider 

1. As part of the Medicaid and LaCHIP application 
process, applicants may be given the option to indicate their 
preferred choice of a CCN and primary care provider.  

a. If the choice of PCP is not indicated on the new 
enrollee file transmitted by the enrollment broker to the 
CCN, the CCN shall be responsible to assign the PCP.  

2. The CCN is responsible to develop a PCP 
automatic assignment methodology in collaboration with the 
department for the assignment of a PCP to an enrollee who:  

a. does not make a PCP selection after making a 
voluntary selection of a CCN;  

b. selects a PCP within the CCN that has reached 
their maximum physician/patient ratio; or  

c. selects a PCP within the CCN that has 
restrictions/limitations (e.g. pediatric only practice).  

3. Members who do not proactively choose a PCP 
with a CCN will be automatically assigned to a PCP by the 
CCN. The PCP automatically assigned to the member shall 
be located within geographic access standards of the 
member's home and/or best meets the needs of the member. 

4. If the enrollee does not select a PCP and is 
automatically assigned to a PCP by the CCN, the CCN shall 
allow the enrollee to change PCP, at least once, during the 
first 90 days from the date of assignment to the PCP. 
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Effective the ninety-first day, a member may be locked into 
the PCP assignment for a period of up to nine months 
beginning from the original date that he/she was assigned to 
the CCN.  

5. If a member requests to change his/her PCP for 
cause at any time during the enrollment period, the CCN 
must agree to grant the request. 

H. Lock-In Period 
1. Members have 90 days from the initial date of 

enrollment into a CCN in which they may change the CCN 
for any reason. Medicaid enrollees may only change CCNs 
without cause within the initial 90 days of enrollment in a 
CCN. After the initial 90-day period, Medicaid 
enrollees/members shall be locked into a CCN for nine 
additional months from the effective date of enrollment or 
until the annual open enrollment period, unless disenrolled 
under one of the conditions described in this Section.  

I. Annual Open Enrollment 
1. The department will provide an opportunity for all 

CCN members to retain or select a new CCN annually 
during the CCN member’s open enrollment period. Prior to 
their annual open enrollment period, each CCN member 
shall receive information and the offer of assistance with 
making informed choices about CCNs in their area and the 
availability of choice counseling.  

2. Members shall have the opportunity to talk with an 
enrollment broker representative who shall provide 
additional information to assist in choosing the appropriate 
CCN. The enrollment broker shall provide the individual 
with information on each CCN from which they may select.  

3. During the open enrollment period, each Medicaid 
enrollee shall be given 60 calendar days to remain in their 
existing CCN or select a new CCN. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3107. Disenrollment and Change of Coordinated Care 

Network  
A. A member may request disenrollment from a CCN for 

cause at any time, effective the first day of the month 
following the month in which the member files the request.  

B. A member may request disenrollment from a CCN 
without cause at the following times:  

1. during the 90 days following the date of the 
member's initial enrollment with the CCN or the date the 
department sends the member notice of the enrollment, 
whichever is later;  

2. at least once a year during the member’s annual 
open enrollment period thereafter;  

3. upon automatic re-enrollment if a temporary loss of 
Medicaid eligibility has caused the member to miss the 
annual open enrollment opportunity; or  

4. if the department imposes the intermediate sanction 
against the CCN which grants enrollees the right to 
terminate enrollment without cause and notifies the affected 
enrollees of their right to disenroll. 

C. All member-initiated disenrollment requests must be 
made to the enrollment broker.  

1. Oral requests to disenroll shall be confirmed by the 
enrollment broker by return call with written documentation, 
or in writing to the requestor.  

2. A member’s oral or written request to disenroll 
must be acted on no later than the first day of the second 
month following the month in which the member filed the 
request. If not, the request shall be considered approved. 

3. If the disenrollment request is denied, the member 
may access the state’s fair hearing process as outlined in the 
contract.  

4. The effective date of disenrollment shall be no later 
than the first day of the second month following the calendar 
month the request for disenrollment is filed. 

D. Disenrollment for Cause  
1. A member may initiate disenrollment or transfer 

from their assigned CCN after the first 90 days of enrollment 
for cause at any time. The following circumstances are cause 
for disenrollment:  

a. the member moves out of the CCN’s designated 
service area;  

b. the CCN does not, because of moral or religious 
objections, cover the service that the member seeks;  

c. the member needs related services to be 
performed at the same time, not all related services are 
available within the CCN and the member's PCP or another 
provider determines that receiving the services separately 
would subject the member to unnecessary risk;  

d. the contract between the CCN and the 
department is terminated;  

e. the member loses Medicaid eligibility;  
f. the member is placed in a nursing facility or 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 
disabilities;  

g. the member’s eligibility changes to an excluded 
eligibility group;  

h. to implement the decision of a hearing officer in 
an appeal proceeding by the member against the CCN or as 
ordered by a court of law; and  

i. other reasons including, but not limited to: 
 i. poor quality of care;  
 ii. lack of access to services covered under the 
contract; or  
 iii. documented lack of access to providers 
experienced in dealing with the enrollee’s health care needs. 

E. Involuntary Disenrollment  
1. The CCN may submit an involuntary disenrollment 

request to the enrollment broker, with proper documentation, 
for the following reasons:  

a. fraudulent use of the CCN identification card. In 
such cases, the CCN shall report the incident to the Medicaid 
Program Integrity Section; or  

b. the member’s behavior is disruptive, unruly, 
abusive or uncooperative to the extent that his/her 
enrollment seriously impairs the CCN’s ability to furnish 
services to either the member or other members. 

2. The CCN shall promptly submit such disenrollment 
requests to the enrollment broker. The effective date of an 
involuntary disenrollment shall not be earlier than 45 
calendar days after the occurrence of the event that prompted 
the request for involuntary disenrollment. The CCN shall 
ensure that involuntary disenrollment documents are 
maintained in an identifiable member record. 

3. All requests will be reviewed on a case-by-case 
basis and subject to the sole discretion of the department. All 
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decisions are final and are not subject to CCN dispute or 
appeal. 

4. The CCN may not request disenrollment because of 
a member’s:  

a. health diagnosis; 
b. adverse change in health status;  
c. utilization of medical services; 
d. diminished mental capacity;  
e. pre-existing medical condition; 
f. refusal of medical care or diagnostic testing;  
g. uncooperative or disruptive behavior resulting 

from his or her special needs, unless it seriously impairs the 
CCN’s ability to furnish services to either this particular 
member or other members as defined in this Subsection; 

h. attempt to exercise his/her rights under the 
CCN’s grievance system; or 

i. attempt to exercise his/her right to change, for 
cause, the primary care provider that he/she has chosen or 
been assigned.  

F. Department Initiated Disenrollment 
1. The department will notify the CCN of the 

member's disenrollment due to the following reasons:  
a. loss of Medicaid eligibility or loss of CCN 

enrollment eligibility; 
b. death of a member; 
c. member’s intentional submission of fraudulent 

information; 
d. member becomes an inmate of a public 

institution; 
e. member moves out of state; 
f. member becomes Medicare eligible; 
g. member is placed in a long term care facility 

(nursing facility or intermediate care facility for persons 
with intellectual disabilities); 

h. member becomes a participant in a home and 
community-based services waiver;  

i. member elects to receive hospice services; 
j. loss of CCN's participation; or  
k. member enrolls in a managed care plan through 

third party coverage. 
G. If the CCN ceases participation in a geographic 

service area or in the CCN Program, the CCN shall notify 
the department in accordance with the termination 
procedures described in the contract.  

1. The enrollment broker will notify CCN members of 
the choices of CCNs in their geographic area. If there is no 
other CCN or other options for which they may be eligible, 
they will be placed in fee-for-service.  

2. The CCN shall assist the department in 
transitioning the CCN members to another CCN or to the 
Medicaid fee-for-service delivery system or other program 
the recipient may be eligible for to ensure access to needed 
health care services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3109. Member Rights and Responsibilities  

A. The CCN member’s rights shall include, but are not 
limited to the right to:  

1. receive information in accordance with federal 
regulations and as described in the contract and department 
issued guides; 

2. receive courteous, considerate and respectful 
treatment provided with due consideration for the member’s 
dignity and privacy; 

3. receive information on available treatment options 
and alternatives in a manner appropriate to the member’s 
condition and ability to understand; 

4. participate in treatment decisions, including the 
right to:  

a. refuse treatment;  
b. complete information about their specific 

condition and treatment options including, but not limited to 
the right to receive services in a home or community setting 
or in an institutional setting if desired;  

c. seek second opinions;  
d. information about available experimental 

treatments and clinical trials and how such research can be 
accessed; and 

e. assistance with care coordination from the PCP’s 
office; 

5. be free from any form of restraint or seclusion as a 
means of coercion, discipline, retaliation or convenience; 

6. express a concern about their CCN or the care it 
provides, or appeal a CCN decision, and receive a response 
in a reasonable period of time; 

7. receive a copy of their medical records, including, 
if the HIPAA privacy rule applies, the right to request that 
the records be amended or corrected as allowed in federal 
regulations; 

8. be furnished health care services in accordance with 
federal regulations governing access standards;  

9. implement an advance directive as required in 
federal regulations (applicable for CCN-P only):  

a. the CCN must provide adult enrollees with 
written information on advanced directive policies and 
include a description of applicable state law. The written 
information must reflect changes in state law as soon as 
possible, but no later than 90 days after the effective date of 
change;  

b. members have the right to file a grievance 
concerning noncompliance with the advance directive 
requirements to the department or other appropriate 
licensing or certification agency as allowed in federal 
regulations;  

10. choose his/her health professional to the extent 
possible and appropriate in accordance with federal 
regulations; and  

11. be furnished health care services in accordance with 
federal regulations. 

B. Members shall have the freedom to exercise the rights 
described herein without any adverse affect on the member’s 
treatment by the department or the CCN, or its contractors or 
providers. 

C. The CCN member’s responsibilities shall include, but 
are not limited to:  

1. informing the CCN of the loss or theft of their CCN 
identification card;  



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 685

2. presenting their identification card when using 
health care services; 

3. being familiar with the CCN procedures to the best 
of his/her abilities; 

4. contacting the CCN, by telephone or in writing 
(formal letter or electronically, including email), to obtain 
information and have questions clarified;  

5. providing participating network providers with 
accurate and complete medical information;  

6. following the prescribed treatment of care 
recommended by the provider or letting the provider know 
the reasons the treatment cannot be followed, as soon as 
possible;  

7. making every effort to keep any agreed upon 
appointments and follow-up appointments and contacting 
the provider in advance if they are unable to do so; and  

8. accessing preventive care services. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 33. Coordinated Care Network Shared 

Savings Model  
§3301. Participation Requirements 

A. In order to participate in the Medicaid Program, a 
coordinated care network shared savings model (CCN-S) 
must be a successful bidder, awarded a contract, and pass the 
readiness review. A CCN-S is required to comply with all of 
the terms and conditions set forth in the contract. 

B. A CCN-S must: 
1. meet the definition of a primary care case manager 

(PCCM) in accordance with federal regulations; 
2. be a legal entity domiciled in Louisiana and 

registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office to 
do business in the state; 

3. have the capability to pre-process claims (with the 
exception of carved-out services) and transfer data to the 
department’s fiscal intermediary or have a contract with an 
entity to perform these functions; 

4. provide financial reports as requested by the 
department; 

5. post a surety bond for an amount specified by the 
department for the at-risk portion of the enhanced care 
management fee; 

6. post a performance bond for an amount specified 
by the department;  

7. not have an actual or perceived conflict of interest 
that, in the discretion of the department, would interfere or 
give the appearance of possibly interfering with its duties 
and obligations under this Rule, the contract and any and all 
appropriate guides. Conflict of interest shall include, but is 
not limited to, being the fiscal intermediary contractor for 
the department; and  

8. have network capacity to enroll a minimum of 
75,000 Medicaid and LaCHIP eligibles into the network in 
each DHH designated geographic service area. 

C. A CCN-S shall provide enhanced primary care case 
management services to recipients in specified geographic 
service area(s).  

1. Enhanced primary care case management services 
shall be provided to all Medicaid recipients enrolled in the 
CCN-S throughout the designated geographic service area as 
defined by the department. 

D. Upon request by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), the Office of Inspector General 
(OIG), the Government Accounting Office (GAO) and/or the 
department or its designee, a CCN-S shall make all of its 
records pertaining to its contract (services provided there 
under and payment for service) with the department 
available for review, evaluation and audit. The records shall 
include, but are not limited to the following:  

1. pertinent books and documents; 
2. financial records; 
3. medical records and documents; and 
4. provider records and documents involving financial 

transactions related to the contract.  
E.  A CCN-S shall maintain an automated management 

information system that collects, analyzes, integrates and 
reports data that complies with department and federal 
reporting requirements. 

1. The CCN-S shall submit its emergency/contingency 
plan to the department for approval if the CCN-S is unable 
to provide the data reporting specified in the contract and 
department issued guides.  

F. A CCN-S shall obtain insurance coverage(s) 
including, but not limited to, workman’s compensation, 
commercial liability, and errors and omissions as specified in 
the terms of the contract. CCN-S subcontractors, if any, shall 
be covered under these policies or have insurance 
comparable to the CCN-S’s required coverage. 

G. A CCN-S shall maintain a minimum net worth 
amount as specified in the terms of the contract. 

H. A CCN-S shall provide all financial reporting as 
specified in the terms of the contract. 

I. A CCN-S shall secure and maintain performance and 
fidelity bonds as specified in the terms of the contract during 
the life of the contract.  

J. In the event of noncompliance with the contract and 
the department’s guidelines, a CCN-S shall be subject to the 
sanctions specified in the terms of the contract including, but 
not limited to:  

1. corrective action plans; 
2. monetary penalties; 
3. temporary management; or  
4. suspension and/or termination of the CCN-S’ 

contract.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3303. Shared Savings Model Responsibilities 

A. The CCN-S shall be responsible for the 
administration and management of its requirements and 
responsibilities under the terms of the contract, and any and 
all department issued guides. This includes all subcontracts, 
employees, agents and anyone acting for or on behalf of the 
CCN-S. 

1. No subcontract or delegation of responsibility shall 
terminate the legal responsibility of the CCN-S to the 
department to assure that all requirements are carried out. 

B. A CCN-S shall possess the expertise and resources to 
ensure the delivery of enhanced primary care case 
management services to CCN-S members as specified in the 
terms of the contract. 

1. A CCN-S shall have written policies and 
procedures governing its operation. A CCN-S shall also have 
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a written provider network development plan which 
describes how the network will assure the department that 
the provision of services will occur according to the terms 
and conditions of the contract. These documents shall be 
furnished to the department upon request. 

C. A CCN-S shall accept enrollees in the order in which 
they apply without restriction, up to the enrollment capacity 
limits set under the contract. The CCN-S shall not 
discriminate against enrollees on the basis of race, gender, 
color, national origin, age, health status or need for health 
care services, and shall not use any policy or practice that 
has the effect of discriminating on any such basis.  

D. A CCN-S shall provide enhanced primary care 
management services and PCP care management services as 
defined in the Medicaid State Plan and as specified in the 
terms of the contract.  

E. A CCN-S shall provide a chronic care management 
program as specified in the terms of the contract. 

F. A CCN-S shall establish and implement a quality 
assessment and performance improvement program as 
specified in the terms of the contract.  

G. A CCN-S shall develop and maintain a utilization 
management program including policies and procedures 
with defined structures and processes as specified in the 
terms of the contract. 

H. A CCN-S shall develop and maintain effective 
continuity of care activities which ensure a continuum of 
care approach to providing health care services to members. 

I. A CCN-S shall promote and facilitate the capacity of 
all participating PCP practices to meet the recognition 
requirements of a National Committee for Quality Assurance 
(NCQA) PPC®-PCMH™ as jointly defined by NCQA or 
Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 
Organizations (JCAHO) Primary Care Home Accreditation 
and the department.  

1. Participating PCPs shall be provided with technical 
support and appropriate incentives to assist the practices 
with their transition to a patient-centered medical home as 
specified in the terms of the contract. 

J. A CCN-S shall facilitate the data interchange between 
practices and the network as well as data interchange 
between the network and the department. 

K. A CCN-S shall be responsible for conducting routine 
provider monitoring to ensure:  

1. continued access to care for Medicaid recipients; 
2. compliance with CCN-S policies and procedures; 

and 
3. that the participating providers’ practices meet or 

exceed the department’s guidelines and timelines for 
implementation of patient-centered medical homes. 

L. A CCN-S shall not engage the services of a provider 
who is in non-payment status with the department or is 
excluded from participation in federal health care programs 
(i.e., Medicare, Medicaid, or the Children’s Health Insurance 
Program). 

M. Medical records shall be maintained in accordance 
with the terms and conditions of the contract. These records 
shall be safeguarded in such a manner as to protect 
confidentiality and avoid inappropriate disclosure according 
to federal and state law.  

N. A CCN-S shall provide referrals to the Women, 
Infants and Children (WIC) Program.  

O. A CCN-S shall maintain staffing that is capable of 
fulfilling the requirements as specified in the terms of the 
contract and department issued guides.  

P. A CCN-S shall participate in the department’s 
established committees for administrative simplification and 
quality improvement, which will include physicians, other 
healthcare providers as appropriate, and at least one member 
of the Senate and House Health and Welfare Committees or 
their designees.  

Q. The CCN-S shall provide both member and provider 
services in accordance with the terms of the contract and 
department issued guides.  

1. The CCN-S shall submit member handbooks, 
provider manuals, and provider directory to the department 
for approval prior to distribution, annually and subsequent to 
any revisions. 

a. The CCN-S must provide a minimum of 30 days 
notice to the department of any proposed material changes to 
the member handbooks and/or provider manuals. 

b. After approval has been received from the 
department, the CCN-S must provide a minimum of 30 days 
notice to the members and/or providers of any proposed 
material changes to the member handbooks and/or provider 
manuals.  

R. The member handbook shall include, but not be 
limited to:  

1. a table of contents;  
2. a general description regarding:  

a. how a coordinated care network operates;  
b. member rights and responsibilities;  
c. appropriate utilization of services including 

emergency room visits for non-emergent conditions;  
d. the PCP selection process; and  
e. the PCP’s role as coordinator of services;  

3. member rights and protections as specified in the 
CCN-S’s contract with the department including:  

a. a member’s right to disenroll from the CCN-S;  
b. a member’s right to change providers within the 

CCN-S;  
c. any restrictions on the member’s freedom of 

choice among CCN-S providers; and  
d. a member’s right to refuse to undergo any 

medical service, diagnoses, or treatment or to accept any 
health service provided by the CCN-S if the member objects 
(or in the case of a child, if the parent or guardian objects)on 
religious grounds; 

4. member responsibilities , appropriate and 
inappropriate behavior, and any other information deemed 
essential by the CCN or the department including, but not 
limited to:  

a. immediately notifying the department if he or she 
has a Workman’s Compensation claim, a pending personal 
injury or medical malpractice law suit, or has been involved 
in a auto accident;  

b. reporting to the department’s Medicaid Customer 
Service Unit if the member has or obtains another health 
insurance policy, including employer sponsored insurance; 
and  

c. a statement that the member is responsible for 
protecting his/her identification card and that misuse of the 
card, including loaning, selling or giving it to others could 
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result in loss of the member’s Medicaid eligibility and/or 
legal action; 

5. the amount, duration, and scope of benefits 
available under the CCN-S’s contract with the department in 
sufficient detail to ensure that members understand the 
benefits to which they are entitled including, but not limited 
to:  

a. information about health education and 
promotion programs, including chronic care management; 

b. the procedures for obtaining benefits, including 
prior authorization requirements and benefit limits; 

c. how members may obtain benefits, including 
family planning services and specialized behavioral health 
services, from out-of-network providers; 

d. how and where to access any benefits that are 
available under the Louisiana Medicaid State Plan, including 
information about Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment (EPSDT) services; 

e. the policy on referrals for specialty care, 
including behavioral health services and other benefits not 
furnished by the member’s primary care provider;  

f. for counseling or referral services that the CCN-S 
does not cover because of moral or religious objections, the 
CCN-S is required to furnish information on how or where 
to obtain the service;  

g. how to make, change and cancel medical 
appointments and the importance of canceling and/or 
rescheduling rather than being a “no show”; and  

h. the extent to which and how after-hour services 
are provided; 

6. information to call the Medicaid Customer Service 
Unit toll free telephone number or visit a local Medicaid 
eligibility office to report changes in parish of residence, 
mailing address or family size changes;  

7. a description of the CCN-S’ member services and 
the toll-free telephone number, fax telephone number, e-mail 
address and mailing address to contact CCN-S’ Member 
Services Unit;  

8. instructions on how to request multi-lingual 
interpretation and translation services when needed at no 
cost to the member. This information shall be included in all 
versions of the handbook in English, Spanish and 
Vietnamese; and  

9. grievance, appeal and state fair hearing procedures 
and time frames, as described in the CCN-S’ contract with 
the department and department issued guide. 

S. The provider manual shall include but not be limited 
to: 

1. billing guidelines; 
2. medical management/utilization review guidelines; 
3. case management guidelines; 
4. claims pre-processing guidelines and edits; 
5. enrollee and provider grievance and appeals 

procedures and processes; and  
6. other policies, procedures, guidelines, or manuals 

containing pertinent information related to operations and 
pre-processing claims. 

T. The provider directory for members shall be 
developed in the following three formats:  

1. a hard copy directory for members and, upon 
request, potential members; 

2. a web-based online directory for members and the 
public; and  

3. an electronic file of the directory for the enrollment 
broker. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3305. Coordination of Medicaid State Plan Services 

A. Core benefits and services shall be defined as those 
health care services and benefits required to be provided to 
Medicaid CCN members enrolled in the CCN-S as specified 
under the terms of the contract. Covered services shall be 
defined as those health care services and benefits to which 
an individual eligible for Medicaid is entitled under the 
Louisiana Medicaid State Plan. 

B. The CCN-S shall be required to pre-process and 
provide service authorization, referrals, coordination, and/or 
assistance in scheduling medically necessary Medicaid 
covered services described in this Chapter, consistent with 
the standards as defined in the Louisiana Medicaid State 
Plan and the contract regarding service limits and service 
authorization requirements, with the exception of physician 
visits. 

1. The CCN-S must have policies and processes to 
authorize physician visits in excess of the 12 visits for adults 
specified in the State Plan when it is cost effective to do so. 

C. Covered services will be billed fee-for-service to the 
fiscal intermediary.  

D. The following is a summary listing of the covered 
services for which the CCN-S shall pre-process and provide 
service authorization, referrals, coordination, and/or 
assistance in scheduling. These services include, but are not 
limited to: 

1. inpatient hospital services; 
2. outpatient hospital services; 
3. ancillary medical services; 
4. organ transplant-related services; 
5. EPSDT/Well Child visits; 
6. emergency medical services; 
7. communicable disease services; 
8. emergency medical transportation; 
9. home health services; 
10. family planning services as specified in 42 CFR 

§431.51(b)(2); 
11. basic behavioral health services; 
12. school-based health clinic services; 
13. physician services; 
14. maternity services; 
15. chiropractic services; and 
16. rehabilitation therapy services (physical, 

occupational, and speech therapies).  
E. The CCN-S will be responsible for coordinating those 

services that, by statute, must be provided and are medically 
necessary.  

1. Claims will be paid fee-for-service through the 
Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS).  

2. The CCN-S shall not implement hard limits for 
EPSDT services. 

F. The CCN-S will not be responsible for pre-processing 
or providing service authorization for the following services, 
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but shall provide any required referrals and coordination for 
these services:  

1. EarlySteps services (specified); 
2. dental services; 
3. hospice services; 
4. personal care services (EPSDT and long-term); 
5. intermediate care facility services for persons with 

intellectual disabilities; 
6. home and community-based waiver services; 
7. behavioral health drugs; 
8. school-based Individualized Education Plan (IEP) 

services; 
9. non-emergency medical transportation; 
10. nursing facility services; 
11. specialized behavioral health services;  
12. targeted case management; 
13. durable medical equipment and certain supplies; 
14. prosthetics and orthotics;  
15. transplants; and  
16. non-behavioral health drugs. 

G. The CCN shall implement mechanisms, as specified 
in the contract, to assess each Medicaid enrollee identified as 
having special health care needs in order to identify any 
ongoing special conditions of the enrollee that require a 
course of treatment or regular care monitoring.  

1. The assessment mechanisms must use appropriate 
health care professionals.  

2. The CCN shall have mechanisms to assess the 
quality and appropriateness of care furnished to enrollees 
with special health care needs.  

H. Utilization Management 
1. The CCN-S shall develop and maintain policies and 

procedures with defined structures and processes for a 
utilization management (UM) program that incorporates 
utilization review. The program shall include service 
authorization and medical necessity review and comply with 
the requirements set forth in this Section, the contract and 
department issued CCN-S guides. 

a. The CCN-S shall submit UM policies and 
procedures to the department for written approval, annually 
and subsequent to any revisions.  

2. The UM Program policies and procedures shall, at a 
minimum, include the following requirements: 

a. the individual(s) who is responsible for 
determining medical necessity, appropriateness of care, level 
of care needed, and denying a service authorization request 
or authorizing a service in amount, duration or scope that is 
less than requested, must meet the following requirements. 
The individual shall:  
 i. be a licensed clinical professional with 
appropriate clinical expertise in the treatment of a member’s 
condition or disease;  
 ii. have no history of disciplinary action or 
sanctions, including loss of staff privileges or participation 
restrictions that have been taken or are pending such action 
by any hospital, governmental agency or unit, or regulatory 
body, that raise a substantial question as to the clinical peer 
reviewer’s physical, mental, or professional competence or 
moral character; and  
 iii. attest that no adverse determination will be 
made regarding any medical procedure or service outside of 
the scope of such individual’s expertise; 

b. the methodology utilized to evaluate the clinical 
necessity, appropriateness, efficacy, or efficiency of health 
care services; 

c. the data sources and clinical review criteria used 
in decision making; 

d. the appropriateness of clinical review shall be 
fully documented; 

e. the process for conducting informal 
reconsiderations for adverse determinations; 

f. mechanisms to ensure consistent application of 
review criteria and compatible decisions; 

g. data collection processes and analytical methods 
used in assessing utilization of healthcare services; and 

h. provisions for assuring confidentiality of clinical 
and proprietary information;  

3. The UM program’s medical management and 
medical necessity review criteria and practice guidelines 
shall be reviewed annually and updated periodically as 
appropriate. The CCN-S shall use the medical necessity 
definition as set forth in LAC 50:I.1101 for medical 
necessity determinations.  

a. Medical management and medical necessity 
review criteria and practice guidelines shall:  
 i. be objective and based on valid and reliable 
clinical evidence or a consensus of health care professionals 
in the particular field;  
 ii. consider the needs of the members;  
 iii. be adopted in consultation with contracting 
health care professionals; and  
 iv. be disseminated to all affected providers, 
members, and potential members upon request. 

b. The CCN-S must identify the source of the 
medical management criteria used for the review of medical 
necessity and for service authorization requests.  
 i. The vendor must be identified if the criteria are 
purchased. 
 ii. The association or society must be identified if 
the criteria are developed/recommended or endorsed by a 
national or state health care provider association or society.  
 iii. The guideline source must be identified if the 
criteria are based on national best practice guidelines.  
 iv. The individuals who will make medical 
necessity determinations must be identified if the criteria are 
based on the medical training, qualifications, and experience 
of the CCN medical director or other qualified and trained 
professionals. 

4. The CCN-S shall ensure that only licensed clinical 
professionals with appropriate clinical expertise in the 
treatment of a member’s condition or disease shall determine 
service authorization request denials or authorize a service in 
an amount, duration or scope that is less than requested.  

5. The CCN-S shall ensure that compensation to 
individuals or entities that conduct UM activities is not 
structured to provide incentives for the individual or entity to 
deny, limit, or discontinue medically necessary covered 
services to any member. 

I. Claims Management  
1. The CCN-S must accept and pre-process claims 

within two business days of receipt in accordance to the 
requirements in the contract and department issued guides. 

2. The CCN-S shall maintain a claims management 
system that, at a minimum, will:  
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a. provide service authorization approval to 
providers utilizing a unique authorization number as defined 
in the department issued guides; 

b. confirm CCN-S membership as service 
authorization requests are submitted on the basis of the 
eligibility information provided by the department; 

c. verify medical necessity as defined by the 
department; 

d. identify the date that the CCN-S receives the 
claim;  

e. provide on-line and telephone based capabilities 
to providers for obtaining status information; 

f. obtain a submitter identification number from the 
department’s fiscal intermediary (FI) prior to submitting 
claims; and  

g. submit paper claims in batch form or electronic 
claims to the FI within two business days of receipt from 
providers.  

3. If a claim is partially or totally denied on the basis 
that the provider did not submit required information or 
documentation with the claim, then a remittance advice or 
other appropriate written or electronic notice shall 
specifically identify all such information and documentation.  

a. Resubmission of a claim with further information 
and/or documentation shall constitute a new claim for 
purposes of establishing the timeframe for claims pre-
processing.  

4. Pre-processed approved claims will be paid on a 
fee-for-service (FFS) basis by the department subject to 
prompt pay requirements for fee-for-service Medicaid 
claims.  

a. The department shall not pay any claim 
submitted by a provider who is excluded from participation 
in Medicare, Medicaid, or SCHIP program pursuant to 
§1128 or §1156 of the Social Security Act or is otherwise not 
in good standing with the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3307. Reimbursement Methodology 

A. The department or its fiscal intermediary shall make 
monthly enhanced primary care case management fee 
payments to the CCN-S and lump sum savings payments to 
the CCN-S, if eligible.  

B. The enhanced primary care case management fee 
shall be based on the enrollee’s Medicaid eligibility category 
as specified in the contract and paid on a per member per 
month (PMPM) basis.  

C. The enhanced primary care case management fee 
comprises reimbursement for enhanced primary care case 
management functions as specified in the terms of the 
contract and includes funding for the CCN-S to pay the 
PCPs for care management (e.g. care coordination, referrals) 
to Medicaid enrollees linked to each PCP as specified in the 
terms and conditions of the contract and department issued 
guides. 

1. The CCN-S shall reimburse the PCP a monthly 
base case management fee for each enrollee assigned to the 
PCP. The CCN-S may reimburse an amount greater than the 
base case management fee, but not less than that amount. 

2. In order to be eligible to receive these payments, 
the PCP must enter into a subcontract with the CCN-S, meet 

the performance measures goals, and remain in compliance 
with all of the provisions contained in the subcontract. 

3. The CCN-S shall be subject to sanctions if it is 
determined that the CCN-S did not pay the base 
management fee to the PCPs.  

a. The CCN-S shall be sanctioned an amount equal 
to the amount the CCN was responsible to reimburse the 
PCPs, plus an additional amount up to $25,000 for each 
event the department determines the PCP care management 
fee is not reimbursed.  

b. The CCN-S shall be liable to reimburse the 
PMPM PCP care management fee owed to the PCP(s) and 
all costs incurred to issue payments to the PCP within the 
timelines specified by the department for such 
reimbursement or be subject to additional sanctions. 

D. The department reserves the right to adjust these 
enhanced primary care case management fees on an as 
needed basis. 

E. The CCN-S shall have limited risk for returning up to 
50 percent of enhanced primary care case management fees 
advanced to the network when savings are not realized. 

F. The department shall conduct a periodic 
reconciliation as specified in the contract to determine 
savings realized or refunds due to the department.  

1. The reconciliation shall compare the actual 
aggregate cost of authorized/preprocessed services as 
specified in the contract and include the enhanced primary 
care case management fee for dates of services in the 
reconciliation period, to the aggregate Per Capita Prepaid 
Benchmark (PCPB). The PCPB will not include the PCP 
care management fees. 

2. The PCPB will be set on the basis of health status-
based risk adjustment. 

a. The health risk of the Medicaid enrollees 
enrolled in the CCN-S will be measured using a nationally 
recognized risk-assessment model. 

b. Utilizing this information, the PCPBs will be 
adjusted to account for the health risk for the enrollees in 
each CCN-S relative to the overall population being 
measured. 

c. The health risk of the enrollees and associated 
CCN-S risk scores and the PCPBs will be updated 
periodically to reflect changes in risk over time. 

3. Costs of the following services will not be included 
in the determination of the PCPB. These services include, 
but are not limited to:  

a. nursing facilities;  
b. dental services;  
c. personal care services (EPSDT and Long-Term); 
d. hospice;  
e. specialized behavioral health drugs; 
f. school-based Individualized Education Plan 

services provided by a school district and billed through the 
intermediate school district;  

g. specified EarlySteps Program services; 
h. specialized behavioral health services (e.g. 

mental health rehabilitation);  
i. targeted case management;  
j. non-emergency medical transportation;  
k. intermediate care facilities for persons with 

intellectual disabilities;  
l. home and community-based waiver services;  
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m. durable medical equipment and supplies; and  
n. orthotics and prosthetics. 

4. Individual member total cost for the reconciliation 
year in excess of an amount specified in the contract will not 
be included in the determination of the PCPB, nor will it be 
included in actual cost at the point of reconciliation so that 
outlier cost of certain individuals and/or services will not 
jeopardize the overall savings achieved by the CCN-S. 

a. Application of the individual member total cost 
shall include: 
 i. when a member transitions between aid 
categories, claims will accumulate from zero under the new 
aid category; 
 ii. maternity claims that fall into the kick payment 
bucket will not be included in determining whether the 
catastrophic limit has been reached; and  
 iii. while no actual maternity kick payment is paid, 
a "benchmark maternity kick payment" has been calculated. 
This is a mechanism to protect plans with a disproportionate 
share of pregnant women in that the benchmark cost will 
increase for each additional delivery. 

5. The department will perform interim and final 
reconciliations as of June 30 and December 31 of each year 
with provisions for incurred-but-not-reported (IBNR) claims 
included in the actual cost. 

a. The department reserves the right to make 
interim payments of any savings for any dates of service 
with more than six months elapsed time.  

b. A final reconciliation will be performed for any 
periods for which there are dates of service with more than 
12 months elapsed time, at which point there should be 
sufficient completion of paid claims to determine total 
medical cost incurred by the CCN-S without the need to 
consider additional claims that have been incurred, but are 
still outstanding.  

c. Final reconciliations will not be for less than 12 
months of service unless determined appropriate by the 
department. In the first year of a CCN-S’s operations, the 
department will exclude claims from the first 30 days of 
operations when calculating the reconciliation. 

6. In the event the CCN-S exceeds the PCPB in the 
aggregate (for the entire CCN-S enrollment) as calculated in 
the final reconciliation, the CCN-S will be required to refund 
up to 50 percent of the total amount of the enhanced primary 
care case management fees (excluding the PCP care 
management fee) paid to the CCN-S during the period being 
reconciled.  

7. The CCN-S will be eligible to receive up to 60 
percent of savings if the actual aggregate costs of authorized 
services, including enhanced primary care case management 
fees advanced, are less than the aggregate PCPB (for the 
entire CCN-S enrollment).  

a. The enhanced primary care case management fee 
will be reduced by the base case management fee during the 
reconciliation process.  

b. Due to federally mandated limitations under the 
Medicaid State Plan, shared savings will be limited to five 
percent of the actual aggregate costs including the enhanced 
primary care case management fees paid. Such amounts 
shall be determined in the aggregate and not for separate 
enrollment types.  

8. During the CCN Program’s first two years of 
implementation, any distribution of CCN-S savings will be 
contingent upon the CCN meeting the established “early 
warning system” administrative performance measures and 
compliance under the contract. After the second year of 
implementation, distribution of savings will be contingent 
upon the CCN-S meeting department established clinical 
quality performance measure benchmarks and compliance 
with the contract. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 35. Coordinated Care Network Managed 

Care Organization Model 
§3501. Participation Requirements  

A. In order to participate in the Medicaid Program, a 
coordinated care network managed care organization model 
(CCN-P) must be a successful bidder, be awarded a contract 
with the department, and complete the readiness review.  

B. A CCN-P must: 
1. meet the federal definition of an managed care 

organization as defined in federal regulations;  
2. meet the requirements of R.S. 22:2016 and be 

licensed or have a certificate of authority from the Louisiana 
Department of Insurance (DOI) pursuant to Title 22 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statues; 

3. be certified by the Louisiana Secretary of State to 
conduct business in the state; 

4. meet solvency standards as specified in federal 
regulations and Title 22 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes; 

5. meet NCQA or URAC Health Plan Accreditation or 
agree to submit an application for accreditation at the earliest 
possible date as allowed by NCQA or URAC and once 
achieved, maintains accreditation through the life of this 
agreement; 

6. have a network capacity to enroll a minimum of 
75,000 Medicaid and LaCHIP eligibles into the network in 
each department designated geographic service area; and 

7. not have an actual or perceived conflict of interest 
that, in the discretion of the department, would interfere or 
give the appearance of possibly interfering with its duties 
and obligations under this Rule, the contract and any and all 
appropriate guides. Conflict of interest shall include, but is 
not limited to, being the fiscal intermediary contractor for 
the department. 

C. A CCN-P shall ensure the provision of core benefits 
and services to Medicaid enrollees in a department 
designated geographic service area as specified in the terms 
of the contract.  

D. Upon request by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services, the Office of Inspector General, the 
Government Accounting Office, the department or its 
designee, a CCN-P shall make all of its records pertaining to 
its contract (services provided there under and payment for 
services) with the department available for review, 
evaluation and audit. The records shall include, but are not 
limited to the following: 

1. pertinent books and documents; 
2. financial records; 
3. medical records and documents; and 
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4. provider records and documents involving financial 
transactions related to the contract.  

E. A CCN-P shall maintain an automated management 
information system that collects, analyzes, integrates and 
reports data that complies with department and federal 
reporting requirements.  

1. The CCN-P shall submit to the department for 
approval the CCN-P’s emergency/contingency plan if the 
CCN-P is unable to provide the data reporting specified in 
the contract and department issued guides. 

F. A CCN-P shall obtain insurance coverage(s) 
including, but not limited to, workman’s compensation, 
commercial liability, errors and omissions, and reinsurance 
as specified in the terms of the contract. Subcontractors, if 
any, shall be covered under these policies or have insurance 
comparable to the CCN-P’s required coverage. 

G. A CCN-P shall provide all financial reporting as 
specified in the terms of the contract. 

H. A CCN-P shall secure and maintain a performance 
and fidelity bond as specified in the terms of the contract 
during the life of the contract. 

I. In the event of noncompliance with the contract and 
the department’s guidelines, a CCN-P shall be subject to the 
sanctions specified in the terms of the contract including, but 
not limited to:  

1. corrective action plans; 
2. monetary penalties; 
3. temporary management; or  
4. suspension and/or termination of the CCN-P’s 

contract.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 

36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3503. Managed Care Organization Model 

Responsibilities 
A. The CCN-P shall be responsible for the administration 

and management of its requirements and responsibilities 
under the contract with the department and any and all 
department issued guides. This includes all subcontracts, 
employees, agents and anyone acting for or on behalf of the 
CCN-P. 

1. No subcontract or delegation of responsibility shall 
terminate the legal obligation of the CCN-P to the 
department to assure that all requirements are carried out. 

B. A CCN-P shall possess the expertise and resources to 
ensure the delivery of core benefits and services to members 
and to assist in the coordination of covered services, as 
specified in the terms of the contract. 

1. A CCN-P shall have written policies and procedures 
governing its operation as specified in the contract and 
department issued guides.  

C. A CCN-P shall accept enrollees in the order in which 
they apply without restriction, up to the enrollment capacity 
limits set under the contract.  

1. A CCN-P shall not discriminate against enrollees on 
the basis of race, gender, color, national origin, age, health 
status or need for health care services, and shall not use any 
policy or practice that has the effect of discriminating on any 
such basis.  

D. A CCN-P shall be required to provide service 
authorization, referrals, coordination, and/or assistance in 

scheduling the covered services consistent with standards as 
defined in the Louisiana Medicaid State Plan and as 
specified in the terms of the contract.  

E. A CCN-P shall provide a chronic care management 
program as specified in the contract. 

F. The CCN-P shall establish and implement a quality 
assessment and performance improvement program as 
specified in the terms of the contract and department issued 
guides. 

G. A CCN-P shall develop and maintain a utilization 
management program including policies and procedures 
with defined structures and processes as specified in the 
terms of the contract and department issued guides. 

H. A CCN-P shall develop and maintain effective 
continuity of care activities which ensure a continuum of 
care approach to providing health care services to members. 

I. The CCN-P must have administrative and 
management arrangements or procedures, including a 
mandatory compliance plan, that are designed to guard 
against fraud and abuse. 

1. The CCN-P shall comply with all state and federal 
laws and regulations relating to fraud, abuse, and waste in 
the Medicaid and CHIP program as well all requirements set 
forth in the contract and department issued guides. 

J. A CCN-P shall maintain a health information system 
that collects, analyzes, integrates and reports data as 
specified in the terms of the contract and all department 
issued guides. 

1. A CCN-P shall collect data on enrollees and 
provider characteristics and on services furnished to 
members through an encounter data system as specified in 
the contract and all department issued guides. 

K. A CCN-P shall be responsible for conducting routine 
provider monitoring to ensure: 

1. continued access to care for Medicaid recipients; 
and 

2. compliance with departmental and CCN-P policies 
and procedures. 

L. A CCN-P shall not engage the services of a provider 
who is in non-payment status with the department or is 
excluded from participation in federal health care programs 
(i.e., Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP, etc.). 

M. Medical records shall be maintained in accordance 
with the terms and conditions of the contract. These records 
shall be safeguarded in such a manner as to protect 
confidentiality and avoid inappropriate disclosure according 
to federal and state law.  

N. A CCN-P shall participate on the department’s quality 
committee to provide recommendations to Medicaid on 
areas of standardized business process for the Coordinated 
Care Network Program.  

O. A CCN-P shall participate on the department’s 
established committees for administrative simplification and 
quality improvement, which will include physicians, 
hospitals, other healthcare providers as appropriate, and at 
least one member of the Senate and House Health and 
Welfare Committees or their designees.  

P. The CCN-P shall provide both member and provider 
services in accordance with the terms of the contract and 
department issued guides.  

1. The CCN-P shall submit member handbooks, 
provider manuals, and provider directory to the department 
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for approval prior to distribution, annually and subsequent to 
any revisions. 

a. The CCN-P must provide a minimum of 30 days 
notice to the department of any proposed material changes to 
the member handbooks and/or provider manuals. 

b. After approval has been received from the 
department, the CCN-P must provide a minimum of 30 days 
notice to the members and/or providers of any proposed 
material changes to the member handbooks and/or provider 
manuals.  

Q. The member handbook shall include, but not be 
limited to:  

1. a table of contents;  
2. a general description regarding:  

a. how a coordinated care network operates;  
b. member rights and responsibilities;  
c. appropriate utilization of services including 

emergency room visits for non-emergent conditions;  
d. the PCP selection process; and  
e. the PCP’s role as coordinator of services;  

3. member rights and protections as specified in 42 
CFR §438.100 and the CCN-P’s contract with the 
department including, but not limited to:  

a. a member’s right to disenroll from the CCN-P;  
b. a member’s right to change providers within the 

CCN-P;  
c. any restrictions on the member’s freedom of 

choice among CCN-P providers; and  
d. a member’s right to refuse to undergo any 

medical service, diagnoses, or treatment or to accept any 
health service provided by the CCN-P if the member objects 
(or in the case of a child, if the parent or guardian objects)on 
religious grounds; 

4. member responsibilities , appropriate and 
inappropriate behavior, and any other information deemed 
essential by the CCN-P or the department including, but not 
limited to:  

a. immediately notifying the CCN-P if he or she has 
a Workman’s Compensation claim, a pending personal injury 
or medical malpractice law suit, or has been involved in a 
auto accident;  

b. reporting to the department’s Medicaid Customer 
Service Unit if the member has or obtains another health 
insurance policy, including employer sponsored insurance; 
and  

c. a statement that the member is responsible for 
protecting his/her identification card and that misuse of the 
card, including loaning, selling or giving it to others could 
result in loss of the member’s Medicaid eligibility and/or 
legal action; 

5. the amount, duration, and scope of benefits 
available under the CCN-P’s contract with the department in 
sufficient detail to ensure that members understand the 
benefits to which they are entitled including, but not limited 
to:  

a. information about health education and 
promotion programs, including chronic care management; 

b. the procedures for obtaining benefits, including 
prior authorization requirements and benefit limits; 

c. how members may obtain benefits, including 
family planning services and specialized behavioral health 
services, from out-of-network providers; 

d. how and where to access any benefits that are 
available under the Louisiana Medicaid State Plan, but are 
covered under the CCN-P’s contract with department; 

e. information about Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) services;  

f. how transportation is provided, including how to 
obtain emergency and non-emergency medical 
transportation;  

g. the post-stabilization care services rules set forth 
in 42 CFR 422.113(c); 

h. the policy on referrals for specialty care, 
including behavioral health services and other benefits not 
furnished by the member’s primary care provider;  

i. for counseling or referral services that the CCN-P 
does not cover because of moral or religious objections, the 
CCN-P is required to furnish information on how or where 
to obtain the service;  

j. how to make, change and cancel medical 
appointments and the importance of canceling and/or 
rescheduling rather than being a “no show”; and  

k. the extent to which and how after-hour services 
are provided; 

6. information to call the Medicaid Customer Service 
Unit toll free telephone number or visit a local Medicaid 
eligibility office to report changes in parish of residence, 
mailing address or family size changes;  

7. a description of the CCN-P’s member services and 
the toll-free telephone number, fax telephone number, e-mail 
address and mailing address to contact CCN-P’s Member 
Services Unit;  

8. instructions on how to request multi-lingual 
interpretation and translation services when needed at no 
cost to the member. This information shall be included in all 
versions of the handbook in English, Spanish and 
Vietnamese; and  

9. grievance, appeal and state fair hearing procedures 
and time frames as described in 42 CFR §438.400 through 
§438.424 and the CCN-P’s contract with the department. 

R. The provider manual shall include but not be limited 
to: 

1. billing guidelines; 
2. medical management/utilization review guidelines; 
3. case management guidelines; 
4. claims pre-processing guidelines and edits; 
5. grievance and appeals procedures and processes; 

and  
6. other policies, procedures, guidelines, or manuals 

containing pertinent information related to operations and 
pre-processing claims. 

S. The provider directory for members shall be 
developed in three formats:  

1. a hard copy directory for members and, upon 
request, potential members; 

2. a web-based online directory for members and the 
public; and  

3. an electronic file of the directory for the enrollment 
broker. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
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§3505 Network Access Standards and Guidelines 
A. The CCN-P must maintain and monitor a provider 

network that is supported by written agreements and is 
sufficient to provide adequate access of healthcare to 
enrollees as required by federal law and the terms as set 
forth in the contract. The CCN-P shall adhere to the federal 
regulations governing access standards as well as the 
specific requirements of the contract and all department 
issued guides.  

B. The CCN-P must provide for service delivery out-of-
network for any core benefit or service not available in 
network for which the CCN-P does not have an executed 
contract for the provision of such medically necessary 
services. Further, the CCN-P must arrange for payment so 
that the Medicaid enrollee is not billed for this service.  

C. The CCN shall cover all medically necessary services 
to treat an emergency medical condition in the same amount, 
duration and scope as stipulated in the Medicaid State Plan. 

1. Emergency medical condition means a medical 
condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient 
severity (including severe pain) that a prudent layperson, 
who possesses an average knowledge of health and 
medicine, could reasonably expect the absence of immediate 
medical attention to result in the following:  

a. placing the health of the individual (or, with 
respect to a pregnant woman, the health of the woman or her 
unborn child) in serious jeopardy;  

b. serious impairment to bodily functions; or  
c. serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part.  

2. Emergency services means covered inpatient and 
outpatient services that are as follows:  

a. furnished by a provider that is qualified to furnish 
these services under this Section; and  

b. needed to evaluate or stabilize an emergency 
medical condition.  

3. Post-stabilization care services means covered 
services, related to an emergency medical condition, that are 
provided after an member is stabilized in order to maintain 
the stabilized condition or, under the circumstances 
described in 42 CFR §438.114, to improve or resolve the 
member's condition. 

D. The CCN-P must maintain a provider network and in-
area referral providers in sufficient numbers, as determined 
by the department, to ensure that all of the required core 
benefits and services are available and accessible in a timely 
manner within the CCN-P’s designated geographic service 
area(s) as approved by the department, in accordance with 
the terms and conditions in the contract and department 
issued guide. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3507. Benefits and Services  

A. Core benefits and services shall be furnished in an 
amount, duration, and scope that is no less than the amount, 
duration, and scope for the same services furnished to 
enrollees under Louisiana Medicaid State.  

1. Core benefits and services shall be defined as those 
health care services and benefits required to be provided to 
Medicaid CCN members enrolled in the CCN-P as specified 
under the terms of the contract and department issued 
guides.  

2. Covered services shall be defined as those health 
care services and benefits to which a Medicaid and LaCHIP 
eligible individual is entitled to under the Louisiana 
Medicaid State Plan. 

B. The CCN-P: 
1. shall ensure that medically necessary services, 

defined in LAC 50:I.1101, are sufficient in amount, duration, 
or scope to reasonably be expected to achieve the purpose 
for which the services are being furnished; 

2. may not arbitrarily deny or reduce the amount, 
duration, or scope of a required service because of diagnosis, 
type of illness, or condition of the member; 

3. may place appropriate limits on a service:  
a. on the basis of certain criteria, such as medical 

necessity; or  
b. for the purpose of utilization control, provided 

the services furnished can reasonably be expected to achieve 
their purpose; 

4. shall provide core benefits and services outlined 
and defined in the contract and the CCN-P Policy and 
Procedure Guide and shall provide medically necessary and 
appropriate care to Medicaid CCN Program members; 

5. shall provide all of the core benefits and services 
consistent with, and in accordance with, the standards as 
defined in the Title XIX Louisiana Medicaid State Plan:  

a. the CCN may exceed the limits as specified in 
the minimum service requirements outlined in the CCN-P 
Policy and Procedure Guide;  

b. no medical service limitation can be more 
restrictive than those that currently exist under the Title XIX 
Louisiana Medicaid State Plan; and 

6. shall provide pregnancy-related services that are 
necessary for the health of the pregnant woman and fetus, or 
that have become necessary as a result of being pregnant and 
includes, but is not limited to prenatal care, delivery, 
postpartum care, and family planning/interconception care 
services for pregnant women in accordance with federal 
regulations. 

C. If the CCN-P elects not to provide, reimburse for, or 
provide coverage of a counseling or referral service because 
of an objection on moral or religious grounds, the CCN-P 
must furnish information about the services it does not cover 
in accordance with §1932(b)(3)(B)(ii) of the Social Security 
Act and federal regulations by notifying: 

1. the department in its response to the department’s 
request for proposals (RFP) or whenever it adopts the policy 
during the term of the contract; 

2. the potential enrollees before and during enrollment 
in the CCN-P; 

3. enrollees within 90 days after adopting the policy 
with respect to any particular service; and  

4. members through the inclusion of the information 
in the member handbook. 

D. The following is a summary listing of the core 
benefits and services that a CCN-P is required to provide:  

1. inpatient hospital services;  
2. outpatient hospital services; 
3. ancillary medical services; 
4. organ transplant-related services; 
5. family planning services as specified in 42 CFR 

§431.51(b)(2) (not applicable to CCN operating under a 
moral and religious objection as specified in the contract); 
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6. EPSDT/Well Child visits; 
7. emergency medical services; 
8. communicable disease services; 
9. durable medical equipment and certain supplies;  
10. prosthetics and orthotics; 
11. emergency and non-emergency medical 

transportation; 
12. home health services; 
13. basic behavioral health services; 
14. school-based health clinic services provided by the 

Office of Public Health certified school-based health clinics; 
15. physician services; 
16. maternity services; 
17. chiropractic services; and  
18. rehabilitation therapy services (physical, 

occupational, and speech therapies). 
NOTE:  This overview is not all inclusive. CCN–P Policy and 
Procedure Guide, policy transmittals, State Plan amendments, 
regulations, provider bulletins, provider manuals, published 
fee schedules, and guides issued by the department are the 
final authority regarding services. 

E. Transition Provision. In the event a member 
transitions from CCN included status to a CCN excluded 
status before being discharged from a hospital and/or 
rehabilitation facility, the cost of the entire admission will be 
the responsibility of the CCN entity. This is only one 
example and does not represent all situations in which the 
CCN is responsible for cost of services during a transition. 

F. The core benefits and services provided to the 
members shall include, but are not limited to, those services 
specified in the contract.  

1. Policy transmittals, State Plan amendments, 
regulations, provider bulletins, provider manuals, and fee 
schedules, issued by the department are the final authority 
regarding services.  

G. Excluded Services  
1. The following services will continue to be 

reimbursed by the Medicaid Program on a fee-for-service 
basis. The CCN shall provide any appropriate referral that is 
medically necessary. The department shall have the right to 
incorporate these services at a later date if the PMPM rates 
have been adjusted to incorporate the cost of such service. 
Excluded services include: 

a. services provided through the Early-Steps 
Program (IDEA Part C Program services); 

b. dental services; 
c. intermediate care facility services for persons 

with intellectual disabilities; 
d. hospice services; 
e. personal care services (EPSDT and Long-Term); 
f. nursing facility services; 
g. pharmacy services; 
h. school-based Individualized Education Plan 

services provided by a school district and billed through the 
intermediate school district, or school-based services funded 
with certified public expenditures;  

i. home and community-based waiver services; 
j. specialized behavioral health; and 
k. targeted case management services.  

H. Utilization Management 
1. The CCN-P shall develop and maintain policies and 

procedures with defined structures and processes for a 
utilization management (UM) program that incorporates 

utilization review. The program shall include service 
authorization and medical necessity review and comply with 
the requirements set forth in this Section, the contract and 
department issued CCN-P guides. 

a. The CCN-P shall submit UM policies and 
procedures to the department for written approval, annually 
and subsequent to any revisions.  

2. The UM Program policies and procedures shall, at a 
minimum, include the following requirements:  

a. the individual(s) who is responsible for 
determining medical necessity, appropriateness of care, level 
of care needed, and denying a service authorization request 
or authorizing a service in amount, duration or scope that is 
less than requested, must meet the following requirements. 
The individual shall:  
 i. be a licensed clinical professional with 
appropriate clinical expertise in the treatment of a member’s 
condition or disease;  
 ii. have no history of disciplinary action or 
sanctions, including loss of staff privileges or participation 
restrictions that have been taken or are pending such action 
by any hospital, governmental agency or unit, or regulatory 
body, that raise a substantial question as to the clinical peer 
reviewer’s physical, mental, or professional competence or 
moral character; and  
 iii. attest that no adverse determination will be 
made regarding any medical procedure or service outside of 
the scope of such individual’s expertise; 

b. the methodology utilized to evaluate the clinical 
necessity, appropriateness, efficacy, or efficiency of health 
care services; 

c. the data sources and clinical review criteria used 
in decision making; 

d. the appropriateness of clinical review shall be 
fully documented; 

e. the process for conducting informal 
reconsiderations for adverse determinations; 

f. mechanisms to ensure consistent application of 
review criteria and compatible decisions; 

g. data collection processes and analytical methods 
used in assessing utilization of healthcare services; and 

h. provisions for assuring confidentiality of clinical 
and proprietary information.  

3. The UM Program’s medical management and 
medical necessity review criteria and practice guidelines 
shall be reviewed annually and updated periodically as 
appropriate. The CCN-P shall use the medical necessity 
definition as set forth in LAC 50:I.1101 for medical 
necessity determinations.  

a. Medical management and medical necessity 
review criteria and practice guidelines shall:  
 i. be objective and based on valid and reliable 
clinical evidence or a consensus of health care professionals 
in the particular field;  
 ii. consider the needs of the members;  
 iii. be adopted in consultation with contracting 
health care professionals; and  
 iv. be disseminated to all affected providers, 
members, and potential members upon request. 

b. The CCN-P must identify the source of the 
medical management criteria used for the review of medical 
necessity and for service authorization requests.  
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 i. The vendor must be identified if the criteria are 
purchased. 
 ii. The association or society must be identified if 
the criteria are developed/recommended or endorsed by a 
national or state health care provider association or society.  
 iii. The guideline source must be identified if the 
criteria are based on national best practice guidelines.  
 iv. The individuals who will make medical 
necessity determinations must be identified if the criteria are 
based on the medical training, qualifications, and experience 
of the CCN medical director or other qualified and trained 
professionals. 

4. The CCN shall ensure that only licensed clinical 
professionals with appropriate clinical expertise in the 
treatment of a member’s condition or disease shall determine 
service authorization request denials or authorize a service in 
an amount, duration or scope that is less than requested.  

5. The CCN-P shall ensure that compensation to 
individuals or entities that conduct UM activities is not 
structured to provide incentives for the individual or entity to 
deny, limit, or discontinue medically necessary covered 
services to any member in accordance with 42 CFR 
§438.6(h), 42 CFR §422.208, and 42 CFR §422.210.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3509. Reimbursement Methodology  

A. Payments to CCN-P. The department, or its fiscal 
intermediary, shall make monthly capitation payments to the 
CCN-P based on a per member, per month rate.  
 1. Actuarially sound rates will be determined by 
the department acting on the advice of its actuaries. It is 
intended that rates will initially be set using historical fee-
for-service data, with appropriate adjustments for the 
expected impact of managed care on the utilization of the 
various types of services (some increases and some 
reductions) and for the expected cost of CCN-P 
administration and overhead.  
 2. As the Coordinated Care Network Program 
matures and fee-for-service data is no longer available, there 
will be increasing reliance on encounter data and/or financial 
data to set future rates, subject to comparable adjustments. 
 3. PMPM payments will be set on the basis of 
health status-based risk adjustments. An initial universal 
PMPM rate will be set for all CCN-Ps at the beginning of 
each contract period and as deemed necessary by the 
department.  

a. The health risk of the Medicaid enrollees 
enrolled in the CCN-P will be measured using a nationally-
recognized risk-assessment model. 

b. Utilizing this information, the universal PMPM 
rates will be adjusted to account for the health risk of the 
enrollees in each CCN-P relative to the overall population 
being measured. 

c. PMPM rate risk adjustments will begin three 
months after the implementation date for each phase of 
program implementation. 

d. The health risk of the members and associated 
CCN-P risk scores will be updated periodically to reflect 
changes in risk over time. 

4. A CCN-P shall be reimbursed a one-time 
supplemental lump sum payment, hereafter referred to as a 
“maternity kick payment”, for each obstetrical delivery in 
the amount determined by the department’s actuary. 

a. The maternity kick payment is intended to cover 
the cost of prenatal care, the delivery event, and post partum 
care. Payment will be paid to the CCN-P upon submission of 
satisfactory evidence of the occurrence of a delivery.  

b. The hospital shall accurately input the delivery 
event into the Louisiana Electronic Event Registration 
System (LEERS) as evidence that a delivery event has taken 
place in order for a maternity kick payment request to be 
initiated to the department’s fiscal intermediary for payment 
to the CCN-P.  

c. Only one maternity kick payment will be made 
per delivery event. Therefore, multiple births during the 
same delivery will still result in one maternity kick payment 
being paid.  

d. The maternity kick payment will be paid for both 
live and still births. A maternity kick payment will not be 
reimbursed for spontaneous or induced abortions.  

B. As Medicaid is the payor of last resort, a CCN-P must 
agree to accept the PMPM rate as payment-in-full from the 
department and agree not to seek additional payment from a 
member for any unpaid cost. 

C. The PMPM rate does not include graduate medical 
education payments, disproportionate share hospital 
payments or upper payment limit payments. These 
supplemental payments will be made to applicable providers 
outside the PMPM rate by the department according to 
methodology consistent with existing Rules. 

D. A CCN-P shall assume 100 percent liability for any 
expenditure above the prepaid premium. 

E. The CCN-P shall meet all financial reporting 
requirements specified in the terms of the contract. 

F. A CCN-P shall have a medical loss ratio (MLR) for 
each MLR reporting calendar year of not less than 85 
percent using definitions for health care services, quality 
initiatives and administrative cost as specified in 45 CFR 
Part 158.  

1. A CCN-P shall provide an annual MLR report, in a 
format as determined by the department, by June 1 following 
the MLR reporting year that separately reports the CCN-P’s 
medical loss ratio for services provided to Medicaid 
enrollees and payment received under the contract with the 
department from any other products the CCN-P may offer in 
the state of Louisiana.  

2. If the medical loss ratio is less than 85 percent, the 
CCN-P will be subject to refund of the difference, within the 
timeframe specified, to the department by August 1. The 
portion of any refund due the department that has not been 
paid by August 1 will be subject to interest in the amount of 
ten percent per annum.  

3. The department shall provide for an audit of the 
CCN’s annual MLR report and make public the results 
within 60 calendar days of finalization of the audit.  

G.  Any cost sharing imposed on Medicaid members 
must be in accordance with the federal regulations governing 
cost sharing and cannot exceed the amounts reflected in the 
Louisiana Medicaid State Plan, but the amounts can be less 
than the cost sharing levels in the State Plan.  
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H. The department may adjust the PMPM rate, during 
the term of the contract, based on:  

1. the health status-risk adjustment as determined by 
the department acting on the advice of its actuaries;  

2. the inclusion of covered Medicaid services not 
incorporated in the applicable PMPM;  

3. the implementation of federal requirements; and/or  
4. legislative appropriations and budgetary 

constraints. 
I. Any adjusted rates must continue to be actuarially 

sound and will require an amendment to the contract. The 
department will provide the CCN with three months advance 
notice of any major revision to the risk-adjustment 
methodology.  

J. The CCN-P shall not assign its rights to receive the 
PMPM payment, or it obligation to pay, to any other entity.  

1. At its option, the department may, at the request of 
the CCN-P, make payment to a third party administrator. 

K. In the event that an incorrect payment is made to the 
CCN-P, all parties agree that reconciliation will occur.  

1. If an error or overcharge is discovered by the 
department, it will be handled in accordance with the terms 
and conditions of the contract. 

L. Network Provider Reimbursement 
1. Reimbursement for covered services shall be equal 

to or greater than the published Medicaid fee-for-service rate 
in effect on the date of service. Notwithstanding, upon 
request by a network provider, or potential network provider, 
and with the prior approval of the department, exceptions 
may be granted. 

2. The CCN-P’s subcontract with the network 
provider shall specify that the provider shall accept payment 
made by the CCN as payment-in-full for core benefits and 
services provided and shall not solicit or accept any surety or 
guarantee of payment from the department or the member.  

a. The term “member” shall include the patient, 
parent(s), guardian, spouse or any other legally responsible 
person of the member being served.  

3. The CCN-P may enter into alternative payment 
arrangements with its network providers or potential 
providers with prior approval by the department.  

a. The CCN-P shall not enter into alternative 
payment arrangements with federally qualified health 
centers or rural health clinics as the CCN-P is required to 
reimburse these providers according to the published 
FQHC/RHC Medicaid prospective payment schedule rate in 
effect on the date of service, whichever is applicable.  

M. Out-of-Network Provider Reimbursement 
1. The CCN-P is not required to reimburse more than 

90 percent of the published Medicaid fee-for-service rate in 
effect on the date of service to out-of-network providers to 
whom they have made at least three documented attempts to 
include the provider in their network as per the terms of the 
contract and department issued CCN-P guide.  

2. If three attempts to contract with the provider prior 
to the delivery of the medically necessary service have not 
been documented, the CNN-P shall reimburse the provider 
the published Medicaid fee-for-service rate in effect on the 
date of service. 

N. Reimbursement for Emergency Services for In-
Network or Out-of-Network Providers  

1. The CCN-P is financially responsible for 
ambulance services, emergency and urgently needed 
services and maintenance, and post-stabilization care 
services in accordance with provisions set forth in 42 CFR 
§422.113.  

2. The reimbursement rate for medically necessary 
emergency services shall be no less than the published 
Medicaid fee-for-service rate in effect on the date of service, 
regardless of whether the provider that furnished the services 
has a contract with the CCN-P.  

a. The CCN-P may not concurrently or 
retrospectively reduce a provider’s reimbursement rate for 
these emergency services, including ancillary and diagnostic 
services, provided during an episode of care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3511 Prompt Pay of Claims  

A. Network Providers. All subcontracts executed by the 
CCN-P shall comply with the terms in the contract. 
Requirements shall include at a minimum:  

1. the name and address of the official payee to whom 
payment shall be made;  

2. the full disclosure of the method and amount of 
compensation or other consideration to be received from the 
CCN-P; and  

3. the standards for the receipt and processing of 
claims are as specified by the department in the CCN’s 
contract with the department and department issued CCN-P 
guides. 

B. Network and Out-of-Network Providers  
1. The CCN-P shall make payments to its network 

providers, and out-of-network providers, subject to 
conditions outlined in the contract and department issued 
CCN-P guides.  

a. The CCN-P shall pay 90 percent of all clean 
claims, as defined by the department, received from each 
provider type within 15 business days of the date of receipt.  

b. The CCN-P shall pay 99 percent of all clean 
claims within 30 calendar days of the date of receipt. 

2. The provider must submit all claims for payment no 
later than 12 months from the date of service.  

3. The CCN-P and all providers shall retain any and 
all supporting financial information and documents that are 
adequate to ensure that payment is made in accordance with 
applicable federal and state laws.  

a. Any such documents shall be retained for a 
period of at least six years or until the final resolution of all 
litigation, claims, financial management reviews, or audits 
pertaining to the contract.  

4. There shall not be any restrictions on the right of 
the state and federal government to conduct inspections 
and/or audits as deemed necessary to assure quality, 
appropriateness or timeliness of services and reasonableness 
of costs. 

C. Claims Management  
1. The CCN shall process a provider’s claims for 

covered services provided to members in compliance with 
all applicable state and federal laws, rules and regulations as 
well as all applicable CCN policies and procedures 
including, but not limited to:  
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a. claims format requirements;  
b. claims processing methodology requirements; 
c. explanation of benefits and related function 

requirements;  
d. processing of payment errors;  
e. notification to providers requirements; and  
f. timely filing.  

D. Provider Claims Dispute  
1. The CCN shall:  
a. have an internal claims dispute procedure that is 

in compliance with the contract and department issued CCN-
P guide and approved by the department; 

b. contract with independent reviewers to review 
disputed claims;  

c. systematically capture the status and resolution of 
all claim disputes as well as all associate documentation; and  

d. Report the status of all disputes and their 
resolution to the department on a monthly basis as specified 
in the contract and department issued CCN-P guides. 

E. Claims Payment Accuracy Report  
1. The CCN shall submit an audited claims payment 

accuracy percentage report to the department on a monthly 
basis as specified in the contract and department issued 
CCN-P guides.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 37. Enrollee Grievance and Appeal Process  
Subchapter A. Coordinated Care Network Shared 

Savings Model  
§3701. Introduction 

A. A coordinated care network shared savings model 
(CCN-S) shall establish and maintain a procedure for the 
receipt and prompt internal resolution of all Medicaid 
enrollee grievances pursuant to applicable state and federal 
laws as well as the terms and conditions of the contract and 
all department issued guides.  

1. All appeals received by the CCN-S must be logged 
in and directly forwarded to the state agency responsible for 
conducting the fair hearing process. The CCN-S must assist 
the department in handling appeals submitted by its 
members through the state fair hearing process.  

2. The CCN-S shall not have any processes that 
impede the start of the state fair hearing process. The CCN-S 
shall work with the department toward simultaneous 
resolution of any appeals brought to their attention.  

3. The CCN-S shall not create barriers to timely due 
process. If it is determined by the department that the CCN-
S has created barriers to timely due process, the CCN-S shall 
be subject to sanctions for each incident and/or grievance. If 
the number of appeals reversed by the state fair hearing 
process exceeds 10 percent of the grievances and appeals 
received within a 12 month period, the CCN shall be subject 
to sanctions. 

B. The CCN-S’s grievance procedures and any changes 
thereto must be approved in writing by the department prior 
to their implementation and must include, at a minimum, the 
requirements set forth herein.  

1. The CCN-S shall refer all members who are 
dissatisfied, in any respect, with the CCN-S or its 
subcontractor to the CCN-S's designee who is authorized to 

review and respond to grievances and to require corrective 
action.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3703. Definitions 

Action—a termination, suspension, or reduction (which 
includes denial of a service as specified in federal 
regulations) of Medicaid eligibility or covered services.  

Appeal—a request for review of an action as defined in 
this Section. 

Grievance—an expression of dissatisfaction about any 
matter other than an action as that term is defined in this 
Section. The term is also used to refer to the overall system 
that includes CCN-S level grievances and access to a fair 
hearing. Possible subjects for grievances include, but are not 
limited to, the quality of care or services provided, aspects of 
interpersonal relationships such as rudeness of a provider or 
employee, or failure to respect the member's rights.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3705. General Provisions 

A. The CCN-S must have a system in place for members 
that include a grievance process and access to the fair 
hearing process as described in federal regulations and state 
laws. 

B. Authority to File. A member or a representative of 
his/her choice may file a grievance and/or request a state fair 
hearing in response to an action. A CCN-S provider, acting 
on behalf of the member with the member’s written consent, 
may file a grievance or request a state fair hearing on behalf 
of a member in response to an action. 

1. Filing Timeframe. The member must be allowed 30 
calendar days from the date on the CCN-S’s notice of action 
to request a state fair hearing. Within this timeframe, the 
member, or a representative or provider acting on their 
behalf, may request a state fair hearing. 

2. Filing Procedures 
a. The member may file a grievance either orally or 

in writing with the CCN-S. 
b. The member, or a representative or provider 

acting on the member’s behalf and with the member’s 
written consent, may file for a state fair hearing with the 
designated state entity either orally or in writing, unless an 
expedited resolution is requested. An oral request for a state 
fair hearing must be followed up with a written, signed 
appeal request in order to initiate an expedited resolution. 

C. Grievance Notice and Fair Hearing Procedures  
1. The CCN-S shall ensure that all members are 

informed of the state fair hearing process and of the CCN-S's 
grievance procedures.  

a. The CCN-S shall provide a member handbook to 
each member that shall include descriptions of the CCN-S's 
grievance procedures.  

b. Forms to file grievances, concerns or 
recommendations to the CCN-S shall be available through 
the CCN-S, and must be provided to the member upon 
request. The CCN-S shall make all forms easily available on 
its website. 
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D. Grievance Records  
1. A copy of an oral grievance log shall be retained for 

six years. If any litigation, claim negotiation, audit, or other 
action involving the documents or records has been started 
before the expiration of the six year period, the records shall 
be retained until completion of the action and resolution of 
issues which arise from it or until the end of the regular six-
year period, whichever is later. 

E. Grievance Reports  
1. The CCN-S shall provide an electronic report of the 

grievances it has received to the department on a monthly 
basis in accordance with the requirements outlined in the 
contract, which will include, but is not limited to:  

a. the member’s name and Medicaid identification 
number;  

b. summary of grievances;  
c. date of filing;  
d. current status;  
e. resolutions; and  
f. resulting corrective action.  

F. All state fair hearing requests shall be sent directly to 
the state designated entity. However, if the CCN-S receives a 
request for a state fair hearing, the CCN-S will be 
responsible for promptly forwarding the request to the 
designated state fair hearing entity.  

G. The department has the right to make final decisions 
regarding the resolution of any grievance.  

H. Information to Providers and Subcontractors 
1. The CCN-S must provide the information about the 

grievance procedures for Medicaid enrollees to all providers 
and subcontractors at the time that they enter into a contract 
with the CCN-S as specified in the contract and the CCN-S 
Policy and Procedure Guide. 

I. Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements 
1. Reports of grievances and resolutions shall be 

submitted to the department as specified by the department. 
The CCN-S shall not modify its grievance procedures 
without the prior written approval of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3707. Enrollee Handling of Grievances and Fair 

Hearings 
A. In handling grievances, the CCN must meet the 

following requirements:  
1. give members any reasonable assistance in 

completing forms and taking other procedural steps. This 
includes, but is not limited to, providing interpreter services 
and toll-free telephone numbers that have adequate 
TTY/TTD and interpreter capability; and  

2. acknowledge receipt of each grievance and appeal. 
B. Resolution and Notification. The CCN must dispose 

of a grievance and provide notice, as expeditiously as the 
member’s health conditions require, within the timeframes 
established in the contract and department issued guides. 

1. For standard disposition of a grievance and notice 
to the affected parties, the established timeframe is 90 days 
from the day the CCN receives the grievance. 

C. Extension of Timeframes. The CCN-S may extend the 
timeframes for disposition of a grievance up to 14 calendars 
days under the following circumstances: 

1. the member request the extension; or 
2. the CCN-S shows (to the satisfaction of the 

department or its designee, upon request) that there is need 
for additional information and how the delay is in the 
member’s interest. 

D. If the CCN-S extends the timeframes for any 
extension not requested by the member, it must give the 
member written notice of the reason for the delay. 

1. The CCN shall use the method and format specified 
in the contract for notifying a member of the disposition of a 
grievance. 

E. Requirements for State Fair Hearings 
1. The member may request a state fair hearing within 

30 days from the date of the notice of action following the 
resolution of the grievance. 

2. The parties to the state fair hearing include the 
CCN-S as well as the member and his/her representative or 
the representative of a deceased member’s estate. 

F. Concurrent Appeal Review 
1. The CCN-S shall conduct an internal concurrent 

review for each appeal for which a state fair hearing is 
requested. The purpose of the concurrent appeal review is to 
expedite the resolution of the appeal to the satisfaction of the 
member, if possible, prior to the state fair hearing.  

2. The CCN-S shall notify the state fair hearing 
designated entity of concurrent appeal reviews resulting in a 
resolution in favor of the member.  

3. The concurrent appeal review shall not delay the 
CCN’s submission of an appeal to the state fair hearing 
entity, nor shall it not delay the review of the appeal in the 
state fair hearing. 

G. Special Requirements for Appeals 
1. All appeals by members or on their behalf shall be 

filed with the state designated entity. However, if the CCN-S 
receives a state fair hearing request, the request shall be 
forwarded directly to the designated entity that will conduct 
the state fair hearing.  

2. The CCN-S's staff shall be educated concerning the 
importance of the appeal procedures and the rights of the 
member and providers. 

3. The appropriate individual or body within the 
CCN-S that made the decision that is being appealed shall be 
identified. This individual shall prepare the summary of 
evidence and be available for the appeal, either in person or 
by telephone. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3709. Notice of Action 

A. Language and Format Requirements 
1. The notice of action will only be sent by the CCN-S 

in certain circumstances as specified by the department. 
2. The notice must be in writing and must meet the 

language and format requirements of federal regulations in 
order to ensure ease of understanding. 

B. Content of Notice. The notice must explain the 
following:  

1. the action the CCN-S or its subcontractor has taken 
or intends to take; 

2. the reasons for the action; 
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3. the member's right to request a state fair hearing 
and a telephone number to call for free legal advice; 

4. the procedures for exercising the rights specified in 
this Section;  

5. the circumstances under which expedited resolution 
is available and how to request it;  

6. the member's right to have services continue 
pending resolution of the appeal, the procedures to make 
such a request, and the circumstances under which the 
member may be required to pay for the costs of these 
services; and  

7. a statement in Spanish and Vietnamese that 
translation assistance is available at no cost and the toll free 
telephone number to call to receive translation of the notice. 

C. Notice Timeframes. The CCN-S must mail the notice 
within the following timeframes: 

1. for termination, suspension, or reduction of 
previously authorized Medicaid-covered services, at least 10 
days before the date of action (except as permitted under 
federal regulations); 

2. for standard service authorization decisions that 
deny or limit services, as expeditiously as the member's 
health condition requires and within 14 calendar days 
following receipt of the request for service. A possible 
extension of up to 14 additional calendar days may be 
granted under the following circumstances:  

a. the member, his/her representative or a provider 
acting on his/her behalf, requests an extension; or 

b. the CCN-S justifies (to the department upon 
request) that there is a need for additional information and 
that the extension is in the member's interest; 

3. on the date that the timeframe for service 
authorization expires. 

D. If the CCN-S extends the timeframe in accordance 
with this Section, it must: 

1. give the member written notice of the reason for the 
decision to extend the timeframe;  

2. inform the member of the right to file a grievance if 
he/she disagrees with that decision; and 

3. issue and carry out its determination as 
expeditiously as the member's health condition requires, but 
no later than the date that the extension expires. 

E. For expedited service authorization decisions where a 
provider indicates, or the CCN-S determines, that following 
the standard timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 
member's life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or 
regain maximum function, the CCN-S must make an 
expedited authorization decision.  

1. A notice must be furnished as expeditiously as the 
member's health condition requires, but no later than 72 
hours days after receipt of the request for service. 

2. The CCN-S may extend the 72 hours time period 
by up to 14 calendar days if the member, or provider acting 
on behalf of the member, requests an extension or if the 
CCN-S justifies (to the department upon request) a need for 
additional information and how the extension is in the 
member's interest. 

F. The department shall conduct random reviews to 
ensure that members are receiving such notices in a timely 
manner. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3711. Continuation of Services during the State Fair 

Hearing Process 
A. If the member requests a hearing before the date of 

action or within 10 days from the postmark of the notice, the 
department may not terminate or reduce services until a 
decision is rendered after the hearing unless:  

1. it is determined that the sole issue is one of federal 
or state law or policy; and 

2. the department or its designee promptly informs the 
member in writing that services are to be terminated or 
reduced pending the hearing decision. 

B. Member Liability for Services  
1. If the final resolution of the appeal is adverse to the 

member, the department may recover the cost of the services 
furnished to the member during the pending appeal process 
in accordance with federal regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3713. Effectuation of Reversed Appeal Resolutions 

A. Discontinuation of Services during the State Fair 
Hearing Process 

1. If the CCN-S or the state fair hearing entity 
reverses a decision to deny, limit, or delay services that were 
not furnished while the appeal was pending, the CCN must 
authorize the disputed services promptly and as 
expeditiously as the member's health condition requires. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Subchapter B. Coordinated Care Network Managed Care 
Organization Model  
§3721. Introduction 

A. A Coordinated Care Network Managed Care 
Organization (MCO) Model (CCN-P) must have a grievance 
system for Medicaid enrollees that complies with federal 
regulations. The CCN-P shall establish and maintain a 
procedure for the receipt and prompt internal resolution of 
all grievances and appeals in accordance with all applicable 
state and federal laws and as specified in the contract and all 
department issued guides.  

B. The CCN-P’s grievance and appeals procedures, and 
any changes thereto, must be approved in writing by the 
department prior to their implementation and must include, 
at a minimum, the requirements set forth herein.  

1. The CCN-P shall refer all members who are 
dissatisfied, in any respect, with the CCN-P or its 
subcontractor to the CCN-P's designee authorized to review 
and respond to grievances and require corrective action.  

2. The member must exhaust the CCN-P's internal 
grievance/appeal procedures prior to accessing the state fair 
hearing process or filing a grievance with the department or 
its designee.  

C. The CCN shall not create barriers to timely due 
process. If the number of appeals reversed by the state fair 
hearing process exceeds 10 percent of grievance and appeals 
received within a 12 month period, the CCN shall be subject 
to sanctions. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3723. Definitions 

Action—the denial or limited authorization of a requested 
service, including: 

1. the type or level of service;  
2. reduction, suspension, or termination of a 

previously authorized service; 
3. denial, in whole or in part, of payment for a service;  
4. failure to provide services in a timely manner as 

specified in the contract; or 
5. failure of the CCN-P to act within the timeframes 

provided in this Subchapter.  
Appeal—a request for review of an action as the term is 

defined in this Section. 
Grievance—an expression of dissatisfaction about any 

matter other than an action as that term is defined in this 
Section. The term is also used to refer to the overall system 
that includes grievances and appeals handled at the CCN-P 
level. Possible subjects for grievances include, but are not 
limited to, the quality of care or services provided, aspects of 
interpersonal relationships such as rudeness of a provider or 
employee, or failure to respect the member's rights. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3725. General Provisions 

A. The CCN-P must have a system in place for members 
that include a grievance process, an appeal process, and 
access to the state fair hearing process once the CCN-P’s 
appeal process has been exhausted. 

B. Filing Requirements  
1. Authority to file. A member or a representative of 

his/her choice may file a grievance and a CCN-P level 
appeal. Once the CCN-P’s appeals process has been 
exhausted, a member or his/her representative may request a 
state fair hearing. 

a. A CCN-P provider, acting on behalf of the 
member and with his/her written consent, may file an appeal. 
A CCN-P provider may file a grievance or request a state 
fair hearing on behalf of a member. 

2. Filing Timeframes. The member, or a representative 
or provider acting on the member’s behalf and with his/her 
written consent, may file an appeal within 30 calendar days 
from the date on the CCN-P’s notice of action. 

3. Filing Procedures 
a. The member may file a grievance either orally or 

in writing with the CCN-P. 
b. The member, or a representative or provider 

acting on the member’s behalf, may file an appeal either 
orally or in writing, unless an expedited resolution is 
requested, which must follow an oral filing with a written, 
signed appeal. 

C. Grievance Notice and Appeal Procedures  
1. The CCN-P shall ensure that all members are 

informed of the state fair hearing process and of the CCN-P's 
grievance procedures.  

a. The CCN-P shall provide a member handbook to 
each member that shall include descriptions of the CCN-P's 
grievance procedures.  

b. Forms to file grievances, appeals, concerns or 
recommendations to the CCN-P shall be available through 
the CCN-P, and must be provided to the member upon 
request. The CCN shall make all forms easily available on 
the CCN’s website. 

D. Grievance and Appeals Records  
1. The CCN-P must maintain records of grievances 

and appeals. A copy of the grievance logs and records of the 
disposition of appeals shall be retained for six years. If any 
litigation, claim negotiation, audit, or other action involving 
the documents or records has been started before the 
expiration of the six-year period, the records shall be 
retained until completion of the action and resolution of 
issues which arise from it or until the end of the regular six-
year period, whichever is later. 

E. Grievance and Appeal Reports  
1. The CCN-P shall provide an electronic report of the 

grievances and appeals to the department on a monthly basis 
in accordance with the requirements specified by the 
department, which will include, but is not be limited to:  

a. the member’s name and Medicaid identification 
number;  

b. summary of grievances and appeals;  
c. date of filing;  
d. current status;  
e. resolutions; and  
f. resulting corrective action.  

F. The CCN-P will be responsible for promptly 
forwarding any adverse decisions to the department for 
further review and/or action upon request by the department 
or the CCN-P member.  

G. The department may submit recommendations to the 
CCN-P regarding the merits or suggested resolution of any 
grievance or appeal.  

H. Information to Providers and Subcontractors 
1. The CCN-P must provide the information about the 

grievance system as specified in federal regulations to all 
providers and subcontractors at the time they enter into a 
contract. 

I. Recordkeeping and Reporting Requirements 
1. Reports of grievances and resolutions shall be 

submitted to the department as specified in the contract. The 
CCN-P shall not modify the grievance system without the 
prior written approval of the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3727. Handling of Enrollee Grievances and Appeals 

A. In handling grievances and appeals, the CCN-P must 
meet the following requirements:  

1. give members any reasonable assistance in 
completing forms and taking other procedural steps. This 
includes, but is not limited to, providing interpreter services 
and toll-free telephone numbers that have adequate 
TTY/TTD and interpreter capability;  

2. acknowledge receipt of each grievance and appeal;  
3. ensure that the individuals who make decisions on 

grievances and appeals are individuals who:  
a. were not involved in any previous level of review 

or decision-making; and 
b. if deciding on any of the following issues, are 

health care professionals who have the appropriate clinical 
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expertise, as determined by the department, in treating the 
member's condition or disease: 
 i. an appeal of a denial that is based on lack of 
medical necessity; 
 ii. a grievance regarding denial of expedited 
resolution of an appeal; or 
 iii. a grievance or appeal that involves clinical 
issues. 

B. Special Requirements for Appeals  
1. The process for appeals must:  

a. provide that oral inquiries seeking to appeal an 
action are treated as appeals (to establish the earliest possible 
filing date for the appeal) and must be confirmed in writing, 
unless the member or the provider requests expedited 
resolution;  

b. provide the member a reasonable opportunity to 
present evidence and allegations of fact or law in person as 
well as in writing. The CCN-P must inform the member of 
the limited time available for this in the case of expedited 
resolution;  

c. provide the member and his/her representative an 
opportunity, before and during the appeals process, to 
examine the member's case file, including medical records 
and any other documents and records considered during the 
appeals process; and 

d. include, as parties to the appeal: 
 i. the member and his/her representative; or 
 ii. the legal representative of a deceased member's 
estate. 

2. The CCN-P's staff shall be educated concerning the 
importance of the grievance and appeal procedures and the 
rights of the member and providers. 

3. The appropriate individual or body within the 
CCN-P having decision making authority as part of the 
grievance and appeal procedures shall be identified. 

4. Failure to Make a Timely Decision 
a. Appeals shall be resolved no later than the stated 

time frames and all parties shall be informed of the CCN-P’s 
decision.  

b. If a determination is not made by the above time 
frames, the member’s request will be deemed to have been 
approved as of the date upon which a final determination 
should have been made. 

5. The CCN shall inform the member that he/she may 
seek a state fair hearing if the member is not satisfied with 
the CCN-P’s decision in response to an appeal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3729. Notice of Action 

A. Language and Format Requirements. The notice must 
be in writing and must meet the language and format 
requirements of federal regulations in order to ensure ease of 
understanding.  

B. Content of Notice. The notice must explain the 
following: 

1. the action the CCN-P or its subcontractor has taken 
or intends to take;  

2. the reasons for the action;  
3. the member's or the provider's right to file an 

appeal with the CCN;  

4. the member's right to request a state fair hearing 
after the CCN-P's appeal process has been exhausted;  

5. the procedures for exercising the rights specified in 
this Section;  

6. the circumstances under which expedited resolution 
is available and the procedure to request it; and  

7. the member's right to have services continue 
pending resolution of the appeal, the procedure to make such 
a request, and the circumstances under which the member 
may be required to pay the costs of these services. 

C. Notice Timeframes. The CCN-P must mail the notice 
within the following timeframes:  

1. for termination, suspension, or reduction of 
previously authorized Medicaid-covered services, at least 10 
days before the date of action except as permitted under 
federal regulations; 

2. for denial of payment, at the time of any action 
taken that affects the claim; or 

3. for standard service authorization decisions that 
deny or limit services, as expeditiously as the member's 
health condition requires and within 14 calendar days 
following receipt of the request for service. A possible 
extension of up to 14 additional calendar days may be 
granted under the following circumstances:  

a. the member, or his/her representative or a 
provider acting on the member’s behalf, requests an 
extension; or  

b. the CCN-P justifies (to the department upon 
request) that there is a need for additional information and 
that the extension is in the member's interest. 

D. If the CCN-P extends the timeframe in accordance 
with this Section, it must: 

1. give the member written notice of the reason for the 
decision to extend the timeframe and inform the member of 
the right to file a grievance if he/she disagrees with that 
decision; and 

2. issue and carry out its determination as 
expeditiously as the member's health condition requires, but 
no later than the date the extension expires. 

E. For service authorization decisions not reached within 
the timeframes specified in this Section, this constitutes a 
denial and is thus an adverse action on the date that the 
timeframes expire. 

F. For expedited service authorization decisions where a 
provider indicates, or the CCN-P determines, that following 
the standard timeframe could seriously jeopardize the 
member's life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or 
regain maximum function, the CCN-P must make an 
expedited authorization decision.  

1. A notice must be furnished as expeditiously as the 
member's health condition requires, but no later than 72 
hours or as expeditiously as the member’s health requires 
after receipt of the request for service. 

2. The CCN-P may extend the 72 hour time period by 
up to 14 calendar days if the member or provider acting on 
behalf of the member requests an extension or if the CCN-P 
justifies (to the department upon request) that there is a need 
for additional information and that the extension is in the 
member's interest. 

G. The department shall conduct random reviews to 
ensure that members are receiving such notices in a timely 
manner. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3731. Resolution and Notification 

A. The CCN-P must dispose of a grievance, resolve each 
appeal, and provide notice as expeditiously as the member’s 
health condition requires, within the timeframes established 
in this Section. 

B. Specific Timeframes 
1. For standard disposition of a grievance and notice 

to the affected parties, the timeframe is established as 90 
days from the day the CCN-P receives the grievance. 

2. For standard resolution of an appeal and notice to 
the affected parties, the timeframe is established as 30 
calendar days from the day the CCN-P receives the appeal.  

3. For expedited resolution of an appeal and notice to 
affected parties, the timeframe is established as 72 hours or 
as expeditiously as the member’s health requires after the 
CCN-P receives the appeal.  

C. Extension of Timeframes 
1. The CCN-P may extend the timeframes by up to 14 

calendar days under the following circumstances:  
a. the member requests the extension; or 
b. the CCN-P shows to the satisfaction of the 

department, upon its request, that there is need for additional 
information and that the delay is in the member's interest. 

D. If the CCN-P extends the timeframes for any 
extension not requested by the member, it must give the 
member written notice of the reason for the delay. 

E. Format of Notice 
1. The CCN-P shall follow the method specified in the 

department issued guide to notify a member of the 
disposition of a grievance. 

2. For all appeals, the CCN-P must provide written 
notice of disposition. 

3. For notice of an expedited resolution, the CCN-P 
must also make reasonable efforts to provide oral notice. 

F. Content of Notice of Appeal Resolution. The written 
notice of the resolution must include, at a minimum, the 
following information:  

1. the results of the resolution process and the date it 
was completed; 

2. for appeals not resolved wholly in favor of the 
members:  

a. the right to request a state fair hearing and the 
procedure to make the request; 

b. the right to request to receive services during the 
hearing process and the procedure to make such a request; 
and 

c. that the member may be held liable for the cost of 
those services if the hearing decision upholds the CCN-P's 
action. 

G. Requirements for State Fair Hearings 
1. The department shall comply with the federal 

regulations governing fair hearings. The CCN-P shall 
comply with all requirements as outlined in the contract and 
the CCN-P Policy and Procedure Guide. 

2. If the member has exhausted the CCN-P level 
appeal procedures, the member may request a state fair 
hearing within 30 days from the date of the CCN-P's notice 
of resolution.  

3. The parties to the state fair hearing include the 
CCN-P as well as the member and his/her representative or 
the representative of a deceased member's estate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3733. Expedited Resolution of Appeals 

A. The CCN-P must establish and maintain an expedited 
review process for appeals when the CCN-P determines 
(either from a member’s request or indication from the 
provider making the request on the member's behalf or in 
support of the member's request) that taking the time for a 
standard resolution could seriously jeopardize the member's 
life or health or ability to attain, maintain, or regain 
maximum function. 

B. Punitive Action. The CCN-P must ensure that punitive 
action is not taken against a provider who requests an 
expedited resolution or supports a member's appeal. 

C. If the CCN-P denies a request for expedited resolution 
of an appeal, it must:  

1. transfer the appeal to the timeframe for standard 
resolution in accordance with the provisions of this 
Subchapter; and  

2. make reasonable efforts to give the member prompt 
oral notice of the denial and follow up within two calendar 
days with a written notice. 

D. This decision (i.e., the denial of a request for 
expedited resolution of an appeal) does not constitute an 
action or require a notice of action. The member may file a 
grievance in response to this decision. 

E. Failure to Make a Timely Decision  
1. Appeals shall be resolved no later than the 

established timeframes and all parties shall be informed of 
the CCN-P’s decision. If a determination is not made by the 
established timeframes, the member’s request will be 
deemed to have been approved as of the date upon which a 
final determination should have been made. 

F. The CCN-P is required to follow all standard appeal 
requirements for expedited requests except where 
differences are specifically noted in the requirements for 
expedited resolution.  

1. The member or provider may file an expedited 
appeal either orally or in writing. No additional follow-up 
may be required. 

2. The CCN-P shall inform the member of the limited 
time available for the member to present evidence and 
allegations of fact or law, in person and in writing, in the 
case of expedited resolution. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3735. Continuation of Services during the Pending 

CCN-P Appeal or State Fair Hearing  
A. As used in this Section, the term “timely filing” 

means filing on or before the later of the following: 
1. within 10 calendar days of the CCN-P’s mailing of 

the notice of action; or  
2. the intended effective date of the CCN-P's proposed 

action. 
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B. Continuation of Benefits. The CCN-P must continue 
the member's benefits if:  

1. the member or the provider files the appeal timely; 
2. the appeal involves the termination, suspension, or 

reduction of a previously authorized course of treatment; 
3. the services were ordered by an authorized 

provider; 
4. the original period covered by the original 

authorization has not expired; and 
5. the member requests extension of benefits. 

C. Duration of Continued or Reinstated Benefits 
1. If, at the member's request, the CCN-P continues or 

reinstates the member's benefits while the appeal is pending, 
the benefits must be continued until one of following occurs: 

a. the member withdraws the appeal; 
b. 10 calendar days pass after the CCN-P mails the 

notice providing the resolution of the appeal against the 
member, unless the member has requested a state fair 
hearing with continuation of benefits, within the 10-day 
timeframe, until a state fair hearing decision is reached; 

c. a state fair hearing entity issues a hearing 
decision adverse to the member; or  

d. the time period or service limits of a previously 
authorized service has been met. 

D. Member Liability for Services  
1. If the final resolution of the appeal is adverse to the 

member, the CCN-P may recover from the member the cost 
of the services furnished to the member while the appeal is 
pending, to the extent that they were furnished solely 
because of the requirements of this Section, and in 
accordance with federal regulations. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
§3737. Effectuation of Reversed Appeal Resolutions 

A. Provision of Services during the Appeal Process 
1. If the CCN-P or the state fair hearing entity reverses 

a decision to deny, limit, or delay services that were not 
furnished while the appeal was pending, the CCN-P must 
authorize or provide the disputed services promptly and as 
expeditiously as the member's health condition requires. 

B. If the CCN-P or the state fair hearing entity reverses a 
decision to deny authorization of services, and the member 
received the disputed services while the appeal was pending, 
the CCN-P must pay for those services in accordance with 
the contract.  

C. At the discretion of the secretary, the department may 
overrule a decision made by the Division of Administration, 
Division of Administrative Law (the state fair hearing 
entity). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Grievance and Appeals Procedures for 

Providers  
§3743. General Provisions 

A. If the provider is filing a grievance or appeal on 
behalf of the member, the provider shall adhere to the 
requirements outlined in Subchapter B of this Chapter.  

B. A Coordinated Care Network must have a grievance 
and appeals process for claims and medical necessity and 

contract disputes for providers in accordance with the 
contract and department issued guides. 

1. The CCN shall establish and maintain a procedure 
for the receipt and prompt internal resolution of all provider 
initiated grievances and appeals as specified in the contract 
and all department issued guides.  

2. The CCN’s grievance and appeals procedures and 
any changes thereto, must be approved in writing by the 
department prior to their implementation.  

3. Notwithstanding any CCN or department grievance 
and appeal process, nothing contained in any document, 
including, but not limited to Rule or contract, shall preclude 
a CCN provider’s right to pursue relief through a court of 
appropriate jurisdiction. 

4. The CCN shall report on a monthly basis all 
grievance and appeals filed and resolutions in accordance to 
the terms of the contract and department issued guide. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37 
Chapter 39. Sanctions for Coordinated Care Networks 
§3901. Sanctions  

A. The CCN agrees to be subject to the sanctions 
specified in the terms and conditions of the contract and all 
department issued guides. The specific grounds for sanctions 
and respective sanctions shall be set forth within the 
contract.  

1. Sanctions may include, but are not limited to:  
a. corrective action plans; 
b. monetary penalties;  
c. temporary management; and  
d. suspension and/or termination of the CCN’s 

contract.  
B. It shall be at the department’s sole discretion as to the 

proper administrative sanction that will be imposed. 
C. The department will notify the CCN through a notice 

of corrective action when the department or its designee 
determines that the CCN is deficient or non-compliant with 
requirements (excluding causes for intermediate sanctions 
and termination) of the contract.  

D. The determination of deficiency and/or non-
compliance with such requirements is at the sole discretion 
of the department.  

E. The CCN shall submit a corrective action plan (CAP) 
to the department, within the timeframe specified in the 
notice, for approval. The CAP shall delineate the steps and 
timeline for correcting deficiencies and/or non-compliance 
issues identified in the notice. 

F. The department shall impose monetary penalties 
and/or sanctions on the CCN for a deficient CAP. A CAP is 
deficient when it is not submitted within the notice of 
corrective action timeline requirements and/or when the 
CCN and/or its subcontractor(s) fail to implement and/or 
follow the CAP at the discretion of the department. 

G. The department, as specified in the contract, has the 
right to enforce monetary penalties against the CCN for 
certain conduct.  

1. Any and all fines collected as a result of sanctions 
against a CCN or any of its subcontractors, or any 
recoupment(s)/repayment(s) received from the CCN or any 
of its subcontractors, shall be placed into the Louisiana 
Medical Assistance Trust Fund established by R.S. 46:2623. 
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H. Monetary Penalties  
1. The CCN may be required to pay monetary 

penalties to the department in the amounts specified in the 
contract and/or the CCN Policy and Procedure Guide for 
failure to timely and accurately comply with reporting 
requirements and for deficient deliverables as set forth in the 
contract and all department issued guides. 

I. Intermediate Sanctions 
1. The department may impose any of the following 

sanctions if it determines that the CCN has violated any 
provision of the contract, or the applicable statutes or Rules 
governing CCNs.  

2. The department shall notify the CCN and CMS in 
writing of its intent to impose sanctions and explain the 
process for the CCN to employ the dispute resolution 
process as described in the contract. Sanctions shall be in 
accordance with §1932 of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 
§1396u-2) and federal regulations and may include any of 
the following:  

a. suspension of payment for members enrolled in 
the CCN after the effective date of the sanction and until 
CMS and/or the department is satisfied that the reason for 
imposition of the sanction no longer exists and is not likely 
to recur. This violation may result in recoupment of 
payments;  

b. imposition of a fine of up to $25,000 for each 
marketing/enrollment violation, in connection with any one 
audit or investigation; 

c. termination pursuant to the terms of the contract; 
d. non-renewal of the contract; 
e. suspension of auto-enrollment; 
f. appointment of temporary management; 
g. civil money penalties in accordance with §1932 

of the Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396u-2); 
h. withholding up to 30 percent of a CCN’s monthly 

PMPM payment; 
i. permitting individuals enrolled in the CCN to 

disenroll without cause; 
j. suspension or default of all enrollment after the 

date that CMS or the department notifies the CCN of an 
occurrence under §§1903(m) or 1932(e) of the Social 
Security Act; 

k. termination of the contract if the CCN has failed 
to meet requirements of §§1903(m), 1905(t)(3) or 1932(e) of 
the Social Security Act and offer the CCN-P’s Medicaid 
members an opportunity to enroll with other CCNs; 

l. imposition of sanctions pursuant to §1932(e)(B) 
of the Social Security Act if the CCN does not provide 
abortion services as provided under the contract; 

m. imposition of a fine of up to $25,000 for each 
occurrence of the CCN’s failure to substantially provide 
medically necessary items and services that are required to 
be provided to a member covered under the contract; 

n. imposition of a fine of up to $15,000 per 
individual not enrolled and up to a total of $100,000 per 
each occurrence, when the CCN acts to discriminate among 
members on the basis of their health status or their 
requirements for health care services; 

o. imposition of a fine of up to $25,000 or double 
the amount of the excess charges, whichever is greater, for 
charging premiums/co-payments in excess of the amounts 
permitted under the Medicaid Program; 

p. imposition of sanctions as outlined in the contract 
if the CCN fails to comply with the physician incentive plan 
requirements or other sanctions set forth in the contract or 
department issued guides;  

q. imposition of sanctions as outlined above if the 
CCN misrepresents or falsifies information that it furnishes 
to CMS, to the state or to a member, potential member or 
health care provider;  

r. imposition of sanctions as outlined in the contract 
if the CCN fails to comply with prompt payment 
requirements;  

s. imposition of fines up to $10,000 per incident as 
outlined in the contract if the CCN:  
 i. does not maintain network adequacy for 
mandatory provider types included in the contract and 
department issued guide; 
 ii. does not document the required three attempts 
to contract with the mandatory provider type prior to the 
delivery of the service; and  
 iii. is required to provide medically necessary 
services through an out-of-network providers;  

t. imposition of sanctions if the percent or higher 
specified in the contract of grievance decisions appealed for 
medical necessity to a State Fair Hearing level of recipient 
appeals have been reversed or otherwise resolved in favor of 
the member; or 

u. imposition of sanctions if the percent or higher 
specified in the contract of grievance decisions appealed for 
medical necessity to the CCN’s independent reviewer of 
provider appeals have been reversed or otherwise resolved in 
favor of the provider. 

J. Duration of Sanction  
1. Unless the duration of a sanction is specified, a 

sanction will remain in effect until the department is 
satisfied that the basis for imposing the sanction has been 
corrected. The department will notify CMS when a sanction 
has been lifted. 

K. Termination for Cause 
1. Issuance of Notice of Termination  

a. The department may terminate the contract when 
it determines the CCN has failed to perform, or violates, 
substantive terms of the contract or the department issued 
guides or fails to meet applicable requirements in 
§§1903(m), 1905(t) or 1932 of the Social Security Act in 
accordance with the provisions of the contract.  

b. The department will provide the CCN with a 
timely written Notice of Intent to Terminate notice. In 
accordance with federal regulations, the notice will state:  
 i. the nature and basis of the sanction; 
 ii. pre-termination hearing and dispute resolution 
conference rights, if applicable; and  
 iii. the time and place of the hearing.  

c. The termination will be effective no less than 30 
calendar days from the date of the notice.  

d. The CCN may, at the discretion of the 
department, be allowed to correct the deficiencies within 30 
calendar days of the date that the notice was issued, unless 
other provisions in this Section demand otherwise, prior to 
the issue of a Notice of Termination.  

L. Termination Due to Serious Threat to Health of 
Members 
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1. The department may terminate the contract 
immediately if it is determined that actions by the CCN or its 
subcontractor(s) pose a serious threat to the health of 
members enrolled in the CCN.  

2. The CCN members will be given an opportunity to 
enroll in another CCN (if there is capacity) or move to fee-
for-service. 

M. Termination for Insolvency, Bankruptcy, Instability of 
Funds 

1. The CCN’s insolvency or the filing of a bankruptcy 
petition by or against the CCN shall constitute grounds for 
termination for cause. 

N. Termination for Ownership Violations 
1. The CCN is subject to termination unless the CCN 

can demonstrate changes of ownership or control when a 
person with a direct or indirect ownership interest in the 
CCN (as defined in the contract and PE-50) has:  

a. been convicted of a criminal offense as cited in 
§1128(a), (b)(1) or (b)(3) of the Social Security Act, in 
accordance with federal regulations;  

b. had civil monetary penalties or assessment 
imposed under §1128(A) of the Social Security Act; or 

c. been excluded from participation in Medicare or 
any state health care program. 

O.  CCN Requirements Prior to Termination for Cause. 
The CCN shall comply with all of the terms and conditions 
stipulated in the contract and department issued guides 
during the period prior to the effective date of termination. 
The CCN is required to meet the requirements as specified 
in the contract if terminated for cause. 

P.  Other Sanctions. The department may impose 
additional sanctions allowed under state statute or regulation 
that address areas of noncompliance. 

Q.  Denial of Payment While Under Sanction by CMS. 
Payments provided for under the contract will be denied for 
new members when, and for so long as, payment for those 
members is denied by CMS in accordance with the 
requirements in federal regulations.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 
Chapter 40. Audit Requirements for Coordinated 

Care Networks 
§4001. Audit of Services  

A. The CCN and its subcontracts shall comply with all 
audit requirements specified in the contract and department 
issued guides. 

B. The CCN and its subcontractor shall maintain 
supporting financial information and documents that are 
adequate to ensure that payment is made in accordance with 
applicable federal and state requirements, and are sufficient 
to ensure the accuracy and validity of claims.  

1. Such documents, including all original claim forms, 
shall be maintained and retained by the CCN and or its 
subcontractors for a period of six years after the contract 
expiration date or until the resolution of all litigation, claim, 
financial management review or audit pertaining to the 
contract, whichever is longer. 

2. The CCN or its subcontractors shall provide any 
assistance that such auditors and inspectors reasonably may 
require to complete with such audits or inspections.  

C. There shall be no restrictions on the right of the state 
and federal government to conduct inspections and audits as 
deemed necessary to assure quality, appropriateness or 
timeliness of services and reasonableness of their costs. 

D. Upon reasonable notice, the CCN and its 
subcontractors shall provide the officials and entities 
identified in the contract and department issued guides with 
prompt, reasonable, and adequate access to any records, 
books, documents, and papers that are related to the 
performance of the contract.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR 37: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability and autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by improving access to health care services, care 
coordination, and enhancing the quality of care Medicaid 
recipients will receive. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Don 

Gregory, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. A 
public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 
Wednesday, March 30, 2011 at 9:30 a.m. in Room 118, 
Bienville Building, 628 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, 
LA. At that time all interested persons will be afforded an 
opportunity to submit data, views or arguments either orally 
or in writing. The deadline for receipt of all written 
comments is 4:30 p.m. on the next business day following 
the public hearing. 

 
Bruce D. Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Coordinated Care Network 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 

rule will result in estimated state general fund programmatic 
costs to the state of approximately $30,494,976 for FY 11-12 
and estimated programmatic savings of approximately 
$41,079,675 for FY 12-13. The estimated savings from a 
corresponding reduction in provider payments is expected to 
offset some of the Coordinated Care Network (CCN) costs in 
FY 12.  It is anticipated that $8,528 ($4,264 SGF and $4,264 
FED) will be expended in FY 10-11 for the state’s 
administrative expense for promulgation of this proposed rule 
and the final rule.  The numbers reflected above are based on a 
blended Federal Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) rate of 
69.34 percent in FY 11-12.  The enhanced rate of 69.78 percent 
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for the last nine months of FY 12 is the federal rate for disaster-
recovery FMAP adjustment states.   

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This proposed rule adopts provisions that will enable the 
Medicaid Program to establish a coordinated system of care 
designed to improve performance and health care outcomes 
through a health care delivery system of integrated networks 
called coordinated care networks (CCNs) [approximately 
866,000 annualized members]. Two separate managed care 
plans will be offered to eligible Medicaid recipients under this 
proposed rule.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

This proposed rule adopts provisions that will enable the 
Medicaid Program to establish a coordinated system of care 
designed to improve performance and health care outcomes 
through a health care delivery system of integrated networks 
called coordinated care networks (CCNs) [approximately 
866,000 annualized members]. Two separate managed care 
plans will be offered to eligible Medicaid recipients under this 
proposed rule.  

CCN-Prepaid Model  
Based on a cost comparison of the current fee-for-service 

expenditures trended forward (by a 4.5 percent annualized 
adjustment in FY 12 and FY 13) and a preliminary estimate of 
per member per month (PMPM) capitated payments paid to 
CCN-P plans, the department anticipates that implementation 
of the proposed CCN-P Model will increase expenditures in the 
Medicaid Program by approximately $102,415,398 for FY 11-
12 and will reduce expenditures by approximately 
$109,096,867 for FY 12-13.  This estimate is based on the 
following assumptions and calculations: 

1. Assumes 50 percent of all eligible plan participants 
enroll in a CCN-P. 

2. Projected average PMPM payment = $192.66.  
3. PMPM includes 10 percent administrative fee and 2 

percent underwriting fee (profit).  
4. Phased-in enrollment in FY 12, full enrollment in FY 

13 (approximately 433,000 recipients in the plan). 
5. Cost comparisons based on state fee-for-service data 

from SFY 2008 and SFY 2009. 
6. FY 12 impact:  Net costs - $338.5 M in PMPM 

payments less $236.1 M in savings = $102.4 M in costs for FY 
12.  Savings represent the fee-for-service equivalent funds 
anticipated to be incurred and paid in FY 12 (adjusting for lag 
payments).  

7. FY 13 impact: Net savings - $730.5 M in PMPM 
payments less $839.6 M in savings = $109.1 M in savings for 
FY 13. Savings represent the fee-for-service equivalent funds 
anticipated to be incurred and paid in FY 13 (adjusting for lag 
payments). 

CCN-Shared Savings Model 
Based on a cost comparison of the current fee-for-service 

expenditures trended forward (by a 4.7 percent annualized 
adjustment in FY 12 and FY 13) and a preliminary estimate of 
the fee-for-service payments to CCN-S entities, the department 
anticipates that implementation of the proposed CCN-S Model 
will reduce expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $2,953,636 for FY 11-12 and $26,838,525 for 
FY 12-13.  This estimate is based on the following assumptions 
and calculations: 

1. Assumes 50 percent of all eligible plan participants 
enroll in a CCN-S. 

2. Maintain the fee-for-service payment system; the 
department pays a PMPM management fee of either $13 or 

$19. A $1.50 of these amounts shall be distributed to primary 
care provides for care management. 

3. Phased-in enrollment in FY 12, full enrollment in FY 
13 (approximately 433,000 recipients in plan)  

4. Cost comparisons based on state fee-for-service data 
from SFY 2008 and SFY 2009 

5. FY 12 impact: Net savings - $22.3 M in PMPM 
payments less $25.7 M in avoided claims in FY 12 = 
$2,953,636 in savings in FY 12.  $25.7 M in savings represents 
avoided claims in FY 12 (adjusting for lag payments). 

6. FY 13 impact: Net savings - $55.3 M in PMPM 
payments and retained savings payments less $82.1 M in 
avoided claims in FY 13 = $26,838,525 in savings in FY 13.  
$82.1 M in savings represents avoided claims in FY 13 
(adjusting for lag payments).  

It is anticipated that implementation of this proposed rule 
will increase overall expenditures in the Medicaid Program by 
approximately $99,461,762 for FY 11-12 and reduce overall 
expenditures by approximately $135,935,392 for FY 12-13.  
The basis for savings in both plans is implementation of 
capitated managed care and enhanced primary care case 
management.  Updated projected PMPMs will be available 
prior to implementation of the CCN and will give a better 
indicator of potential savings and associated costs. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this proposed 
rule may have an effect on competition and employment.  We 
anticipate that the implementation may realign the medical 
workforce as employment opportunities may shift from 
inpatient hospital settings to outpatient community-based 
settings.  CCNs may provide additional employment 
opportunities as they will be hiring Louisiana residents for both 
clinical (physicians, nurses, etc.) and administrative positions 
and attorneys. The implementation may also spark competition 
among providers who seek to align themselves with certain 
CCNs, and may spark competition among CCNs to enroll 
certain members. 

 
Don Gregory H. Gordon Monk 
Medicaid Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#085 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Licensed Professional Couselors Board of Examiners 

License of Title for Marriage and Family Therapy 
(LAC 46:LX. 3303, 3305, 3309 and 3311) 

In accordance with R.S. 49:950 et seq., of the Louisiana 
Administrative Procedure Act, as well as R.S. 37:1101 and 
37:1122, the Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners hereby proposes to amend its existing rules and 
regulations, by revising LAC 46:LX.Chapter 31, relative to 
the License of Title for Marriage and Family Therapy. These 
revisions are necessary to implement Act 613 of the 2010 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature. 

Specifically, the Licensed Professional Counselors Board 
of Examiners proposes to revise Sections 3303, 3305, 3309 
and 3311, relative to this Chapter, to prescribe academic 
requirements for Marriage and Family Therapist license of 
title. 
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Title 46 
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 
Chapter 33. Requirements for Licensure  
§3303. Definitions  

* * * 
Supervision―the professional relationship between a 

supervisor and supervisee that promotes the development of 
responsibility, skill, knowledge, and ethical standards in the 
practice of marriage and family therapy. In addition to 
monitoring the student's supervised face-to-face therapy with 
individuals, couples, families, and/or groups from a 
systemic/relational perspective, the supervisor provides 
regular, face-to-face guidance and instruction. Supervision 
may include, without being limited to, the review of case 
presentations, audiotapes, videotapes, and direct observation. 
Supervision will be distinguishable from psychotherapy and 
teaching. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:1101-1122. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:155 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2784 
(December 2003), LR 35:1113 (June 2009), LR 37: 
§3305. General Licensing Requirements 

A. Each person desiring to obtain a license as a 
practicing marriage and family therapist shall make 
application to the board upon such forms and completed in 
such manner as the board prescribes, accompanied by such 
fee prescribed. An applicant shall furnish evidence 
satisfactory to the board and the advisory committee that 
such person: 

1. is of good moral character; 
2. is not engaged or has not engaged in any practice or 

conduct that would be grounds for refusing to issue a 
license; 

3. is qualified for licensure pursuant to the 
requirements provided for in this Subpart. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
37:1101-1122. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 29:155 (February 2003), amended LR 37: 
§3309. Academic Requirements for MFT Licensure 

A. The advisory committee and board have determined 
that “meets the standards” as provided in R.S. 37:1101(12) 
means: 

1. a master’s or doctoral degree in marriage and 
family therapy from a program accredited by the 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 
Therapy Education (COAMFTE) in a regionally accredited 
educational institution or a certificate in marriage and family 
therapy from a post-graduate training institute accredited by 
COAMFTE; or 

2. a master’s or doctoral degree in marriage and 
family therapy or marriage and family counseling from a 
program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of 
Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) 
in a regionally accredited educational institution with a 
minimum of 6 graduate courses in marriage and family 
therapy including coursework on the AAMFT Code of 
Ethics and a minimum of 500 supervised direct client 
contact hours, with a minimum of 250 hours of these 100 

hours with couples and families, and a minimum of 100 
hours of face-to-face supervision. The training of the 
supervisor must be equivalent to that of an AAMFT 
approved supervisor or AAMFT supervisor candidate. 

B. The board upon recommendation of the advisory 
committee shall register a person for MFT Internship who 
applies on the required application forms, completed as the 
board prescribes and accompanied by the required fee. 
Additionally, applicants must meet one of the following 
academic options: 

1. Option 1—a master's degree or a doctoral degree in 
marriage and family therapy from a program in a regionally 
accredited educational institution accredited by the 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 
Therapy Education (COAMFTE) or a certificate from a 
postgraduate training institute in marriage and family 
therapy accredited by COAMFTE; or 

2. Option 2—a master's or doctoral degree in marriage 
and family therapy or a related clinical mental health field 
from a regionally accredited institution of higher education 
with coursework that includes practicum and internship in 
marriage and family therapy determined by the advisory 
committee to be substantially equivalent to a graduate 
degree in marriage and family therapy from a program 
accredited by COAMFTE. To be considered substantially 
equivalent, qualifying degrees must include a minimum of 
60 semester hours of coursework; or 

3. Option 3—a certificate from a postgraduate training 
institute in marriage and family therapy with coursework 
that includes practicum and internship in marriage and 
family therapy determined by the advisory committee to be 
substantially equivalent to a graduate certificate from a 
program accredited by COAMFTE. To be considered 
substantially equivalent, qualifying certificates must include 
the equivalent of 60 semester hours of coursework; or 

4. Option 4—a masters degree or a doctoral degree in 
marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited 
institution of higher education whose program and 
curriculum was approved by the board through the advisory 
committee at anytime prior to July 1, 2010, and the applicant 
for licensure has at least five hundred hours of face-to-face 
client contact, and the client contact shall include both of the 
following: 
 (a). 250 hours of relational therapy. As used herein, 
“relational therapy” shall mean therapy with couples or 
families present in the therapy room; 
 (b). 100 hours in which the applicant has been 
subjected to qualified supervision as is defined in R.S. 
37:1103(11); 

5. Required coursework for Options 2 and 4 may be 
completed during the qualifying master's or doctoral degree 
programs, or may be taken as post-graduate work at a 
regionally accredited college, university, or postgraduate 
marriage and family therapy training institute. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:1101-1122. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37: 
§3311. Coursework and Academic Supervision 

Requirements, for Options 2, 3, and 4 
A. General Requirements for Qualifying Coursework 

and Academic Supervision 
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1. Undergraduate level courses will not meet 
academic requirements unless the applicant's official 
transcript clearly shows that the course was given graduate 
credit. 

2. Only coursework taken for credit and receiving a 
passing grade will be accepted. Coursework taken outside of 
a program of study for which a degree was granted must 
receive an "A," "B," or "pass." 

3. One course is defined as three semester credits, four 
quarter credits, or 45 didactic contact hours in a postgraduate 
training program. 

4. An applicant may not use a course for more than 
one of the seven coursework areas described in Subsection B 
of this Section. 

5. If titles of academic courses are not self-
explanatory, their content and relevance must be 
substantiated by the applicant through course descriptions in 
official school catalogs, bulletins, syllabi, or by other means 
approved by the advisory committee.  

6. The burden is on the applicant to prove by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the coursework is 
equivalent to the requirements in Subsections A and B of this 
Section.  

7. Degrees and coursework obtained at foreign 
universities shall be acceptable only if determined to be 
equivalent as defined in Subsections A and B of this Section 
as determined by the advisory committee.  

B. Specific Coursework Requirements—Options 2 and 3 
1. The applicant must document as determined by the 

advisory committee that all required graduate and 
postgraduate coursework was presented from a family 
systems perspective. Coursework will specify how marriage 
and family therapists apply psychotherapeutic and family 
systems theories and techniques in the delivery of 
professional psychotherapeutic services to individuals, 
couples, families, and groups for the purpose of assessment, 
treatment planning, and treatment of mental, intellectual, 
emotional, or behavioral disorders and apply family systems 
theories, assessment, and techniques in their professional 
consultation work with organizations.  

2. Academic Course Content. An applicant with a 
master's or doctoral degree in marriage and family therapy or 
a related clinical mental health field from programs not 
accredited by the COAMFTE or with a certificate from a 
postgraduate training institute in marriage and family 
therapy not accredited by the COAMFTE must have the 
specified coursework in each of the following areas (one 
course equals three semester hours or its equivalent as 
defined in Paragraph A.3 of this Section. 

a. Theoretical Knowledge of Marriage and Family 
Therapy—minimum of two courses. Courses in this area 
shall provide academic instruction in the historical 
development, empirical foundations, and contemporary 
conceptual directions of the field of marriage and family 
therapy. Coursework shall provide a comprehensive survey 
and substantive understanding of the systems paradigm, 
family therapy theory, and the major models of marriage, 
couple, and family therapy practice. Overview courses in 
which systems theory is surveyed equally as one of several 
theories do not qualify for this area. 

b. Clinical Knowledge of Marriage and Family 
Therapy—minimum of four courses. Courses in this area 

shall provide academic instruction in clinical intervention as 
it relates to family systems theory. Coursework shall 
highlight clinical practice in couples and family therapy in 
relation to cultural and racial diversity, gender, sexual 
functioning/orientation, violence, addiction, abuse and other 
relevant issues. Coursework shall focus on the treatment of 
individuals, couples, and families from a systemic/relational 
perspective and in response to a wide variety of presenting 
problems. 

c. Assessment and Treatment in Marriage and 
Family Therapy—minimum of two courses. One course 
must be in psychopathology. Courses in this area shall 
provide academic instruction from a systemic/relational 
perspective in psychopharmacology, physical health and 
illness, traditional psycho diagnostic categories including the 
use of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 
Disorders and the assessment and treatment planning for the 
treatment of mental, intellectual, emotional, or behavioral 
disorders within the context of marriage and family systems. 

d. Individual, Couple, and Family Development—
minimum of one course. Courses in this area shall provide 
academic instruction in individual, couple, and family 
development across the lifespan.  

e. Professional Identity and Ethics—minimum of 
one course. Courses in this area shall provide academic 
instruction in the development of professional identity, 
ethical and legal issues, scope of practice, professional 
membership, certification, and licensure. Coursework shall 
focus on ethical and legal issues related to the practice of 
marriage and family therapy, including but not limited to the 
AAMFT Code of Ethics, confidentiality, legal 
responsibilities and liabilities of clinical practice and 
research, family law, record keeping, reimbursement, the 
business aspects of practice, and familiarity with regional 
and federal laws as they relate to the practice of individual, 
couple and family therapy. Generic courses in ethics do not 
meet this standard. 

f. Research—minimum of one course. Courses in 
this area shall provide academic instruction in the 
understanding and performance of research. Coursework 
shall focus on content such as research methodology, data 
analysis, research evaluation, and quantitative and 
qualitative research. 

g. Additional Learning—minimum of one course. 
Courses in this area will augment students' specialized 
interest and background in individual, couple, and family 
therapy and may be chosen from coursework offered in a 
variety of disciplines. 

2. Academic Supervision—as part of their degree 
program, an applicant must have completed 500 supervised 
face-to face direct client contact hours with individuals, 
couples, families, and/or groups from a systemic/relational 
perspective with 100 hours of face-to-face supervision. At 
least 250 of these hours must be with couples or families 
present in the therapy room. If a student is simultaneously 
being supervised and having direct client contact, the time 
may be counted as both supervision time and direct client 
contact time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R. S. 
37:1101-1122. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of 
Examiners, LR 37: 
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Family Impact Statement 
As required by Act 1138 of the 1999 Regular Session of 

the Louisiana Legislature, the following Family Impact 
Statement is submitted to be published with the Notice of 
Intent in the Louisiana Register. A copy of this statement 
will also be provided to the respective legislative oversight 
committees. 

1. The Effect on the Stability of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the stability of the family.  

2. The Effect on the Authority and Rights of Parents 
Regarding the Education and Supervision of Their Children. 
Implementation of this Proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The Effect in the Functioning of the Family. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the functioning of the family. 

4. The Effect on Family Earnings and Family Budget. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
family earnings and family budget. 

5. The Effect on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. Implementation of this proposed 
Rule will have no effect on the behavior and personal 
responsibility of children. 

6. The Ability of the Family or a Local Government to 
Perform the Function as Contained in the Proposed Rule. 
Implementation of this proposed Rule will have no effect on 
the ability of the family or a local government to perform 
this function. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on this 

Rule to Gloria Bockrath, Board Chair, Licensed Professional 
Counselors Board of Examiners, 8631 Summa Avenue, Suite 
A, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70808 until March 14, 2011. 

 
Gloria Bockrath 
Board Chair 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  License of Title for  

Marriage and Family Therapy 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be a one-time implementation cost of $1,305 in 
FY 10/11 that includes the cost of promulgating the rule and 
legal fees. There will be no impact to other state or local 
governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

This rule will have no impact on revenue collections for 
state or local governmental units. There are no new fees, 
educational requirements, or supervisory requirements as a 
result of this rule; therefore the Licensed Professional 
Counselor (LPC) Board does not anticipate any increase in the 
number of applicants as a result of this rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule implements Act 613 of the 2010 
Legislative Session, which specifies the academic requirements 

necessary for teaching institutions to train persons who wish to 
utilize the title Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist(MFT) 
or Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist Intern. The rule 
change will allow teaching institutions, which previously 
qualified for LPC Board licensure under the accreditation 
standards of the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and 
Related Educational Programs (CACREP), to qualify under the 
Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 
Therapy Education (COAMFTE), which is now required by 
Act 613 for LPC Board licensure of MFTs and MFT Interns. 

Specifically, LAC 46:LX.31 section 3309(B) will allow 
pre-existing CACREP curriculums that are comparable to 
COAMFTE’s accreditation requirements to qualify students for 
licensure as long as they also meet the additional clinical 
supervision requirements set out by the LPC Board. 

Applicants will continue to be directly responsible for all 
costs of education and licensure. The LPC Board’s current 
licensure fee for MFT applicants is $200 and for MFT Interns 
is $100. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition and 
employment. 

 
Eddye Boeneke Evan Brasseaux 
Executive Director Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#067 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Louisiana Physician Order for Scope of Treatment 
(LAC 48:I.Chapter 2) 

The Department of Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging 
and Adult Services proposes to amend LAC 48 to provide 
for the Louisiana Physician Order for Scope of Treatment 
program as authorized by R.S. 40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6. This 
proposed Rule is promulgated in accordance with the 
provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 
et seq. 

During the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, Act 954 authorized the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals to establish the Louisiana Physician 
Order for Scope of Treatment (LaPOST) program, which 
allows for a means by which a person may convert his or her 
wishes concerning life-sustaining treatment into a standing 
medical order. Act 954 also provided for specific 
requirements for the structure and language of the LaPOST 
form. This proposed Rule is being promulgated to adopt 
standards to provide for the LaPOST program and form.  

Title 48 
PUBLIC HEALTH─General 

Part I.  General Administration 
Subpart 1.  General 

Chapter 2. Louisiana Physician Order for Scope of 
Treatment 

§201. Statement of Policy 
A. The Department of Health and Hospitals is committed 

to the following. 
1. It is important for people to make health care 

decisions before a medical crisis presents itself. 
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2. Health care planning is a process, rather than a 
single decision, that helps individuals to consider the kind of 
care they would want if they become seriously ill or 
incapacitated, and encourages them to talk to their family 
members or legal representative about such issues. 

3. The Louisiana Physician Order for Scope of 
Treatment "LaPOST" form documents the wishes of a 
qualified patient in a physician order. 

4. The hallmarks of the LaPOST form are the 
following: 

a. immediately actionable, signed physician orders 
on a standardized form; 

b. orders that address a range of life-sustaining 
interventions as well as the patient's preferred treatment for 
each intervention; 

c. a brightly colored, clearly identifiable form; 
d. a form that is recognized, adopted, and honored 

across treatment settings. 
B. The provisions of this Rule are permissive and 

voluntary. The completion of the Louisiana Physician Order 
for Scope of Treatment form merely illustrates a means of 
documenting a decision of a patient relative to withholding 
or withdrawal of medical treatment or life-sustaining 
procedures. 

1. Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to require 
the completion of a Louisiana Physician Order for Scope of 
Treatment form. 

2. Nothing in this Rule shall be construed to be the 
exclusive means by which life-sustaining procedures may be 
withheld or withdrawn, nor shall this Rule be construed to 
require the application of medically inappropriate treatment 
or life-sustaining procedures to any patient. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§203. Definitions 

The definitions found in R.S. 40:1299.64.2 apply to this 
Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§205. LaPOST Form 

A. An individual who desires to execute a LaPOST form 
must use the form created by the Department of Health and 
Hospitals. The form may not be altered in layout or style, 
without the express written permission of the Department of 
Health and Hospitals.  

B. The form to be used for the Louisiana Physician 
Order Scope of Treatment, as provided in R.S.40:1299.64.1-
64.6, can be found at www.La-POST.org.  

C. The LaPOST form found at www.La-POST.org is the 
exclusive form that shall be used to document the wishes of 
a qualified patient in a physician order for scope of treatment 
under this Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 

§207. Execution of the LaPOST Form 
A. A LaPOST form can only be executed by a competent 

adult patient or if the patient is incompetent or otherwise 
lacks capacity, a personal health care representative. 

B. The LaPOST form must be completed by a physician 
based on patient preferences and medical indications. 

C. The LaPOST form shall: 
1.  list the qualified patient’s last name, first name 

and middle initial, and date of birth; 
2. list the qualified patient’s life-limiting and 

irreversible condition; 
3. check all physician orders that apply. Any section 

not completed implies full treatment for that section; 
4. indicate with whom the physician discussed 

summary of goals and the basis for the orders; 
5. contain the physician’s signature; 
6. contain the patient or personal health care 

representative’s signature and date. 
D. The LaPOST form can be executed on behalf of a 

qualified patient by a personal health care representative 
only if the patient is incompetent to make their own 
decisions or lacks capacity. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§209. Review of the LaPOST Form 

A. The LaPOST form should be reviewed periodically 
by the physician and the patient, including, but not limited 
to, when: 

1. the patient is transferred from one care setting to 
another;  

2. there is a substantial change in the person’s health 
care status; or 

3. the patient’s treatment preferences change. 
B. A new LaPOST form should be completed if the 

patient wishes to make a substantive change to their 
treatment goal (eg., reversal of prior directive). 

C. When completing a new LaPOST form, the old 
LaPOST form must be properly voided and retained in the 
medical chart. A notation that a new form has been executed 
should be stated on the old LaPOST form. 

D. To void a LaPOST form, a line should be drawn 
through the “Physician’s Orders” section of the LaPOST 
form and “VOID” should be written in large letters. The 
notation should be signed and dated by the physician.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
§211. Revocation of the LaPOST Form 

A. The LaPOST form may be revoked at any time by the 
patient or his/her personal health care representative by 
expressing his/her intent verbally, in writing, or by 
destroying the LaPOST form.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:1299.64.1-1299.64.6. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health and Hospitals, Office of Aging and Adult Services, LR 37: 
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Family Impact Statement 
In compliance with Act 1183 of the 1999 Regular Session 

of the Louisiana Legislature, the impact of this proposed 
Rule on the family has been considered. It is anticipated that 
this proposed Rule will have a positive impact on family 
functioning, stability or autonomy as described in R.S. 
49:972 by ensuring that persons are allowed a medium to 
ake health care decisions before a medical crisis presents 
itself, thereby lessening the stress and burdens placed on 
families during such times of medical crisis.  

Small Business Statement 
A regulatory flexibility analysis pursuant to R. S. 49:965.6 

has been conducted. It has been determined that the 
promulgation of this Rule will not have an adverse impact 
on small business. 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments to Hugh 

Eley, Office of Aging and Adult Services, P.O. Box 2031, 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-2031. He is responsible for 
responding to inquiries regarding this proposed Rule. 

Public Hearing 
A public hearing on this proposed Rule is scheduled for 

10:30 am, March 30, 2011, in Room 118, Bienville Building, 
628 North 4th Street, Baton Rouge, LA. At that time all 
interested individuals will be afforded an opportunity to 
submit data, views or arguments either orally or in writing. 
The deadline for the receipt of all written comments is 4:30 
p.m. on the next business day following the public hearing. 

 
Bruce Greenstein 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Louisiana Physician Order  

for Scope of Treatment 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

During the 2010 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature, Act 954 authorized the Louisiana Department of 
Health and Hospitals to establish the Louisiana Physician Order 
for Scope of Treatment (LaPOST) program, which allows for a 
means by which a person may convert his or her wishes 
concerning life-sustaining treatment into a standing medical 
order.  

These changes do not affect current services offered 
through the Office of Aging and Adult Services and therefore 
are not anticipated to result in any additional savings or costs, 
other than the cost of promulgation of the rule in the amount of 
$2,050 (SGF) in this FY 10-11. This cost of rulemaking is 
routinely included in the agency’s budget. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no known effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no known cost and/or economic benefit to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

It is anticipated that the implementation of this rule will 
have no effect on competition and employment. 

 
Hugh Eley H. Gordon Monk 
Assistant Secretary Legislative Fiscal Officer 
1102#025 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Water Well Notification Requirements  
(LAC 43:VI.701) 

The Louisiana Office of Conservation proposes to amend 
LAC 43:VI.701 in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 
pursuant to the power delegated under the laws of the State 
of Louisiana. The proposed amendment clarifies that the 
owner of a domestic well or rig supply well may allow the 
well driller to file a well registration form on the owner’s 
behalf to fulfill the owner’s obligation to register his well no 
later than 60 days after installation. 

Title 43 
NATURAL RESOURCES 

Part VI.  Water Resources Management 
Subpart 1.  Ground Water Management 

Chapter 7. Water Well Notification Requirements in 
Non-Critical Ground Water Areas 

§701. Applicability 
A. - C.1. … 

a. At the well owner’s discretion, the notification 
provided by the water-well drilling contractor pursuant to 
LAC 56:I et seq. within 30 days after completion shall 
fullfill the requirements of this Section. 

C.2. - 3.a. … 
b. At the well owner’s discretion, the notification 

provided by the water-well drilling contractor pursuant to 
LAC 56:I et seq. within 30 days after completion shall 
fullfill the requirements of this Section. 

DC.4. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

38:3097 et seq. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Natural Resources, Office of Conservation, LR 30:1215 (June 
2004), amended LR 35:252 (February 2009), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with RS 49:972, the following statements 

are submitted after consideration of the impact of the 
proposed Rule amendments at LAC 43:I.701 on family as 
defined therein. 

1. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the stability of the family. 

2. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the authority and rights of parents regarding the education 
and supervision of their children. 

3. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the functioning of the family. 
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4. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on family earnings and family budget. 

5. The proposed Rule amendment will have no effect 
on the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. Family or local government are not required to 
perform any function contained in the proposed Rule 
amendment. 

Small Business Statement 
In accordance with R.S. 49:965.6, the Department of 

Natural Resouces, Office of Conservation has determined 
that these amendments will have no estimated effect on 
small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested parties will be afforded the opportunity to 

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing at the 
public hearing in accordance with R.S. 49:953. Written 
comments will be accepted until 4:30 p.m., April 4, 2011, at 
Office of Conservation, Environmental Division, P.O. Box 
94275, Baton Rouge, LA, 70804-9275; or Office of 
Conservation, Environmental Division, 617 North Third St., 
Room 817, Baton Rouge, LA 70802. Reference Docket No. 
ENV 2011-03 on all correspondence. All inquiries should be 
directed to John Adams at the above addresses or by phone 
to 225-342-7889. No preamble was prepared. 

Public Hearing 
The Commissioner of Conservation will conduct a public 

hearing at 9 a.m., March 28, 2011, in the LaBelle Room 
located on the first floor of the LaSalle Building, 617 North 
Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA. 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Water Well Notification Requirements 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units. The proposed rule 
amendment is intended to make the water well registration 
process more efficient by eliminating unnecessary duplication. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units as a result of this rule change. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

No costs and/or economic benefits are anticipated to 
directly affected persons or non-governmental groups. The 
proposed rule amendment merely codifies current practice. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of this rule change. 

 
James H. Welsh Evan Brasseux 
Commissioner Staff Director 
1102#055 Legislative Fiscal Office 

 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Judicial Agency Residential Referral Facilities 
(LAC 22:I.Chapter 13) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, in accordance with R.S. 36:404, 
hereby gives notice of its intent to repeal LAC 22:I.Chapter 
13, Judicial Agency Residential Referral Facilities in its 
entirety. This Chapter is being repealed and incorporated 
into two Sections. 

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 13. Residential Referral 
Subchapter A. General Provisions 
§1301. Judicial Agency Referral Residential Facilities 

A. Purpose—to state the secretary’s rules relative to the 
housing or temporary residence of individuals who have 
been arrested for the commission of a crime and are referred 
by any judicial agency to a certified residential facility and 
to provide for the construction, standards of operation and 
services provided by such residential facilities. 

B. Applicability—deputy secretary, undersecretary, chief 
of operations, assistant secretary, Director of Probation and 
Parole and administrators of housing or temporary 
residential facilities. The chief of operations is responsible 
for the overall implementation, compliance and review of 
this regulation. Each unit head is responsible for ensuring 
that appropriate unit written policy and procedures are in 
place to comply with the provisions of this regulation. 

C. Policy—no facility not otherwise required to be 
licensed by the Department of Health and Hospitals or 
Department of Children and Family Services, shall provide 
housing or temporary residence to any individual referred by 
a judicial agency except in accordance with this regulation. 
Referrals to such facilities by a judicial agency may only be 
made after the facility has been inspected by the Department 
of Public Safety and Corrections and certified to be in 
compliance with the standard operating procedures 
established pursuant to this regulation. 

D. Procedure 
1. The facility shall comply with all building codes, 

local zoning requirements and ordinances with regard to 
permits and licenses. 

2. The state fire marshal and state health officer shall 
determine rated bed capacity and approval for occupancy. 

3. The facility shall comply with the standard 
operating procedures (SOP) for judicial agency referral 
residential facilities. Revisions to the SOP shall be 
accomplished through this regulation under the signature of 
the secretary. 

4. The facility shall be accredited by the American 
Correctional Association within twenty-four months of 
opening and shall maintain accreditation at all times 
thereafter. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2851 and 2852. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:666 
(April 2007), amended LR 37:  
Subchapter B. Standard Operating Procedures for 

Judicial Agency Referral Residential 
Facilities 

§1303. Standard Operating Procedures 
A. American Correctional Association (ACA) 

1. All judicial agency referral residential facilities 
shall be operated in accordance with R.S. 40:2852 and must 
maintain accreditation by the American Correctional 
Association Standards for Adult Community Residential 
Services. Facilities shall be accredited by the American 
Correctional Association (ACA) within 24 months of 
opening as a judicial agency referral residential facility. 

2. Written policies and procedures that reflect 
compliance with ACA and the standard operating procedures 
for judicial agency referral residential facilities, as well as 
facility rules for resident behavior must be submitted to and 
approved by the secretary of the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections prior to beginning operations or 
implementation. Any proposed revisions to policies, 
procedures or facility rules must be submitted for approval 
prior to implementation. 

B. Administration 
1. The facility shall have a written document 

describing the facility’s organization. The description shall 
include an organizational chart that groups similar functions, 
services and activities in administrative subunits. The chart 
is reviewed at least annually and updated, if needed. 

2. Regular meetings between the facility administrator 
and all department heads shall be held monthly and there is 
formal documentation that such meetings occurred. 

3. Written policy, procedure and practice shall provide 
for an independent financial audit of the facility at least 
annually or as stipulated by statute or regulation, but at least 
every three years. 

4. Each facility shall have insurance coverage that 
includes, at a minimum, property insurance and 
comprehensive general liability insurance. Such insurance is 
provided either through private companies or self insurance. 

5. Residents’ personal funds held by the facility are 
controlled by accounting procedures and in accordance with 
Subsection K of this Section. 

6. Staffing requirements for the facility shall ensure 
there is 24 hour on site staff monitoring and coordinating of 
the facility’s life safety and communications systems and 
also to respond to resident needs. 

7. Standard of Conduct for Employees of Judicial 
Agency Referral Residential Programs 

a. Employees are expected to conduct themselves in 
a manner that will not bring discredit upon their facility. 

b. Each employee shall be advised of the location of 
the facility manual that specifies the operating and 
maintenance requirements of the facility. The location of the 
manual shall be accessible to all employees. 

c. The facility shall provide adequate staff at the 
facility 24 hours a day to control the movement and location 
at all times of all residents assigned to the facility and to 
respond to their needs. However, when both female and male 

residents are housed in the same facility, at least one male 
and one female staff member are on duty at all times. 

d. There shall be a method of staff identification so 
that they can be readily identified by visitors through 
utilization of name tags, identification cards, etc. 

e. There shall be written job descriptions and job 
qualifications for all positions in the facility. Each job 
description includes at a minimum: 
 i. job title; 
 ii. responsibilities of the position; 
 iii. required minimum experience; and 
 iv. education. 

f. All full-time employees must receive 40 hours of 
orientation training prior to undertaking their assignments 
(administrators, managers, professional and careworkers) 
and must participate in 40 hours of training their first year of 
employment and each year thereafter. Clerical/support staff 
shall be provided with 16 hours of training in addition to 
orientation during their first year and 16 hours of training 
each year thereafter. All training curriculum shall be in 
accordance with the applicable ACA standards. 

8. A training procedure shall be in place which shall 
include orientation for all new employees (appropriate to 
their job) prior to assuming a position.  

9. Case records shall be maintained for each resident 
housed at the facility. 

10.a. Written records or logs shall be maintained at 
the facility which continuously documents the following 
information:  
 i. personnel on duty; 
 ii. resident population; 
 iii. admission and release of residents; 
 iv. shift activities; 
 v. entry/exit of all visitors including 
legal/medical; 
 vi. unusual occurrences (including but not limited 
to major and minor disturbances, fires, escapes, deaths, 
serious illness or injury and assaults or other acts of 
violence). 

b. Shift reports are also prepared after the 
completion of each shift. 

C. Physical Plant 
1. The facility shall comply with the requirements of 

the state fire marshal and shall have a specific plan for 
addressing deficiencies, if any, that is approved by the state 
fire marshal. The state fire marshal shall approve any 
variances, exception or equivalencies. 

2. The facility shall comply with the requirements of 
the state health officer and shall have a specific plan for 
addressing deficiencies, if any, that is approved by the state 
health officer. 

3. The number of residents present at the facility shall 
not exceed the rated bed capacity as determined by the state 
fire marshal and state health officer. The state fire marshal 
shall determine a capacity based upon exiting capabilities. 
The state health officer shall determine a capacity based 
upon the ratio of plumbing fixtures to residents and square 
footage. The rated capacity shall be the lower of these two 
figures. 

4. Residents shall have access to toilets and hand 
washing facilities 24 hours per day and shall have access to 
operable showers on a reasonable schedule. 
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5. The facility shall have sanitary areas for the storage 
of all foods that comply with applicable state and/or federal 
guidelines. 

6. The facility shall have a method to ensure the 
control of vermin and pests. 

7. Toilet and hand basin facilities are available to food 
service personnel in proximity to the food preparation area. 

8. The facility shall have exits that are properly 
positioned, clear, distinct and permanently marked to ensure 
the timely evacuation of residents and staff in the event of 
fire or other emergency. 

9. The facility shall comply with all building codes, 
local zoning requirements and ordinances with regard to 
permits and licenses. 

10. The facility shall have a written emergency plan, 
which includes an evacuation plan, to be used in the event of 
a fire or major emergency. Evacuation drills shall be 
conducted at least quarterly on each shift when the majority 
of the residents are present. Facility staff shall be trained in 
the implementation of written emergency plans and the plans 
shall be disseminated to appropriate local authorities, 
including the Department of Public Safety and Corrections. 

11. A qualified person conducts fire inspections at least 
quarterly and equipment is tested as specified by the 
manufacturer or the fire authority, whichever is more 
frequent. All furnishings shall comply with fire safety 
performance requirements. 

12. All flammable materials shall be handled and stored 
safety. The use of toxic and caustic materials shall be 
controlled. 

D. Facility Operations 
1. The facility shall have a system for physically 

counting residents that includes strict accountability for 
residents assigned to the program. This shall include 
residents who are absent from the program for work, 
education or other temporary absence. 

2. A current master list shall be maintained at all times 
of all residents assigned to the facility. This list is to be 
updated immediately whenever the facility receives, releases 
or removes a resident from the facility. 

3. There are several forms of control that must be 
considered around the facility. Physical control of the 
residents assures that all are accounted for at all times. When 
a count is conducted and it is found that a resident who is not 
physically present in the facility has not signed out on the 
log in accordance with the appropriate procedure or has 
signed out but has failed to return to the facility on time in 
accordance with appropriate procedures, the facility shall 
take immediate action to locate the resident. If the resident 
cannot be located a report must be filed by the next working 
day with the referring judicial authority. 

4. When a resident leaves the facility for any reason, 
he shall sign out in the facility resident log. Each entry shall 
include: 

a. resident’s name; 
b. destination; 
c. phone number at destination; 
d. address of destination; 
e. time out; 
f. anticipated time of return; 
g. actual time of return; and 

h. the initials of the appropriate staff member 
charged with monitoring the log book. 

5. Facility staff shall ensure that resident work 
schedules are verified prior to the resident signing out for 
work. 

6. Alcohol/drug testing shall be conducted both 
randomly and for probable cause. Drug testing shall be 
conducted monthly on a minimum of 10 percent of the 
residents. Costs associated with testing shall be the 
responsibility of the facility. However, restitution in the 
amount of the actual cost of the drug testing may be obtained 
from the resident when the test results are positive. 

7. The facility itself shall remain staffed 24 hours a 
day in such a manner that no person can enter or exit the 
facility without the knowledge of the on-duty staff. 

8. The facility shall have a written emergency plan 
that is disseminated to the local authorities including but not 
limited to the local police and fire department.  

9. The facility shall have disciplinary rules and 
procedures available to the resident population.  

10. Program access and administrative decisions shall 
be made without regard to resident’s race, religion, national 
origin or sex. The facility shall have written policy, 
procedure and practice to protect residents from personal 
abuse, corporal punishment, personal injury, disease, 
property damage and harassment. 

11. Possession and use of weapons is prohibited in the 
facility except in the event of an emergency. 

12. A written report shall be prepared following all uses 
of force detailing all circumstances, listing all involved, 
including witnesses and describing medical services 
provided. Such reports shall be submitted to the facility 
administrator and maintained on file. 

E. Facility Services 
1. Written policy, procedure and practice shall require 

that dietary allowances are reviewed at least annually by a 
qualified nutritionist, dietician or physician to ensure that 
they meet the nationally recommended allowances for basic 
nutrition for the type of residents housed at the facility. 
Records shall be maintained for all meals served. Three 
meals shall be provided at regular meal times during each 24 
hour period for residents present in the facility at such meal 
time. Variations may be allowed based on weekend and 
holiday food service demands provided basic nutritional 
goals are met. Residents shall be provided an ample 
opportunity to eat. 

2. The denial of food as a disciplinary measure is 
prohibited. Special diets as prescribed by appropriate 
medical or dental personnel shall be provided. 

3. The facility shall have a written housekeeping and 
maintenance plan that provides for the ongoing cleanliness 
and sanitation of the facility, including a plan for the control 
of vermin and pests. 

4. The facility has an obligation to ensure that the 
resident has adequate clothing appropriate to the season and 
the resident’s work status, including adequate changes of 
clothing to allow for regular laundering.  

5. The facility shall provide adequate bedding and 
linens including two sheets, pillow and pillowcase, one 
mattress and sufficient blankets to provide comfort under 
existing temperature controls. Residents shall have access to 
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personal hygiene articles including soap, towels, toothbrush, 
toothpaste, comb, toilet paper, shaving gear and/or feminine 
hygiene articles. 

6. The facility shall have written policy, procedure and 
practice for the delivery of health care services, including 
medical, dental and mental health services under the control 
of a designated health care authority that may be a physician, 
a licensed or registered health care provider or health 
agency. Access to these services are available 24 hours per 
day in case of emergency and should be unimpeded in the 
sense that non-medical staff should not approve or 
disapprove residents requests for services in accordance with 
the facility’s health care plan. 

7. Anyone providing health care services to residents 
shall be licensed, registered or certified as appropriate to 
their respective professional disciplines. Such personnel may 
only practice as authorized by their license, registration or 
certification. Standing or direct orders may be used in the 
treatment of residents only when authorized in writing by a 
physician or dentist. 

8. Personnel who do not have health care licenses may 
only provide limited health care services as authorized by 
the designated health care authority and in accordance with 
appropriate training and job description. This would 
typically involve the administration of medication, the 
following of standing orders as authorized by the designated 
health care authority and the administration of first aid/CPR. 

9. The facility shall provide access to 24 hour 
emergency medical services. This requirement may be met 
by agreement with a local hospital, on-call qualified health 
care personnel or on-duty qualified health care personnel. 

10. All residents entering the program shall receive a 
health screening. The purpose of the health screening is to 
protect newly admitting residents who pose a health safety 
threat to themselves or others from not receiving adequate 
medical attention.  

11. The facility shall have a method in place for the 
proper management of pharmaceuticals. Residents are 
provided medication as ordered by the prescribing physician. 

12. First aid kits shall be available in areas of the 
facility as designated by the health care authority. Contents 
and locations are approved by the health authority. 

13. Sick call shall be conducted by a physician and/or 
other qualified health care personnel who are licensed, 
registered or certified as appropriate to their respective 
professional disciplinary and who practice only as 
authorized by their license, registration or certification.  

14. There is a written suicide prevention and 
intervention program that is approved by a medical or 
mental health professional who meets the educational and 
license/certification criteria specified by his/her respective 
professional discipline. All staff with responsibility for 
resident supervision are trained in the implementation of the 
program. 

15. Written policy, procedure and practice shall specify 
and govern the actions to be taken in the event of a resident’s 
death. 

16. Residents shall not participate in medical, 
pharmaceutical or cosmetic experiments. This does not 
preclude individual treatment of a resident based on the need 
for a specific medical procedure that is not generally 
available. 

F. Resident Programs 
1. Educational programming shall be available from 

acceptable internal or external sources which shall include, 
at a minimum, assistance in obtaining individualized 
program instruction at a variety of levels. 

2. Written policy, procedure and practice shall govern 
resident correspondence. Such policy shall include 
provisions for inspection of mail for contraband or 
deterrence of material that interferes with legitimate facility 
objectives. Written policy, procedure and practice govern 
resident access to publications and packages from outside 
sources. Staff members shall have access to policies 
concerning resident correspondence.  

3. Written policy, procedure and practice govern 
visiting. The only time an approved visitor can be denied a 
visit is where there is substantial evidence that the visitor 
poses a threat to the safety of the resident or the security of 
the program. 

4. Reading materials shall be available to residents on 
a reasonable basis. 

5. Residents shall have an opportunity for religious 
practice. 

6. Recreation and leisure time activities are available 
to meet the need of the residents.  

7. Substance abuse services through community 
referrals shall be provided, along with adequate monitoring, 
for residents identified through assessment who have alcohol 
and/or drug abuse problems. 

8. The facility shall have a grievance procedure with 
at least one level of appeal. However, if the resident is not 
satisfied with the outcome of the facility’s internal decision 
they shall be allowed to appeal to the referring judicial 
agency. 

G. Employment 
1. There need be no general restriction on the types of 

jobs for which a resident may be considered. Each job offer 
shall be investigated to determine if it is bona fide and 
consistent with program policies. The expectation is that the 
job selected shall be that which best fulfills the purpose of 
the program. Good employment placement shall give 
preference to jobs that are related to prior training and are 
suitable for continued employment. All employment plans 
must be consistent with state statutes. Concern for public 
safety shall guide employment decisions at all times. No 
resident is to work for or on the premises of a school, day 
care facility or other business or agency whose primary 
objective is in the service of juveniles, or who provide 
housing, care and/or treatment of juveniles.  

2. Other than noted above, there are no general 
restrictions on the types of jobs residents may be considered 
for except those relative to juveniles; however, common 
sense and logic must prevail. At all times, concern for public 
safety shall guide the decision. Residents shall not be 
employed in a bar, lounge or tavern as a bartender, waiter or 
janitor. Employment in a hotel, motel or restaurant where a 
lounge is a part of the establishment may be acceptable if the 
employment is verified by the facility and is determined to 
be appropriate. 

3. No resident shall be employed in a position which 
would necessitate his/her departure from the state of 
Louisiana without the express consent of the probation and 
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parole officer, district attorney and/or the court, whichever is 
applicable.  

4. Every reasonable effort shall be made by the 
facility to provide residents with the highest paying job 
possible. Within reason, convenience of job location, as it 
pertains to the facility providing transportation, should not 
be a deciding factor as to where residents are employed. 

5. Residents shall be assisted by facility staff in 
obtaining gainful employment. The facility shall be 
responsible for maintaining liaison with sources of 
information on available jobs and with potential employers, 
and will provide transportation for job interviews. 

6. All employers must sign the Employer’s Work 
Agreement Form which indicates the terms and rules of the 
resident’s employment, prior to the resident reporting to 
work for the employer. The facility must explain the 
requirements contained in the Employer’s Work Agreement 
to all approved employers. A copy of the signed form shall 
be kept on file for the duration of the resident’s stay at the 
facility. The employer agrees to report any attendance 
irregularities to the facility immediately and record same. 

7. The employer must agree to provide a work 
situation where he or his designee, preferably a supervisor, 
shall be present with the resident or at the work site at all 
times. Employment that does not provide for proper 
supervision of the resident and/or is deemed unsuitable by 
the facility director may be terminated. 

8. The employer’s responsibility to provide proper 
supervision for the resident extends from the time the 
employer receives the resident from facility personnel, either 
by picking him up at the facility or by having facility 
personnel transport the resident to the employer, and 
terminates when he returns the resident back to the facility 
personnel, either at the facility or to facility provided 
transportation. The ideal situation is for no resident to be 
unsupervised during the transportation process to or from an 
employment location. However, there may be a reasonable 
time (defined as less than an hour) allowed before work 
(when a resident is dropped off) and after work (when the 
resident is picked up) that he may be unsupervised. 

9. Should the occasion arise and a resident is not 
picked up in a reasonable period of time, it must be noted on 
the transportation log with the reason why. 

10. The facility is required to keep a list, which is 
updated weekly, of every employer who provides work for 
residents assigned to that facility. This list shall include but 
not be limited to the name and address of the employer, a 
brief description of the nature of the business, relevant 
telephone number(s) and whether or not work is performed 
at a stationary location or if the resident will be required to 
move during the course of the day. 

11. If the resident’s estimated time of return changes 
for any reason, this change must be verified by facility staff 
with the employer and noted in the permanent log. 

H. Community Involvement 
1. Community involvement and volunteers can be an 

important contribution to any program by providing a 
number of services to residents, as well as serving as a link 
between the facility and the community. Community 
resources should be obtained through referrals or by contract 
to provide residents with services to meet their needs. 

2. Policies and procedures regarding citizen 
involvement shall be developed and volunteers shall be 
subject to approval by the facility administrator. 

3. The facility shall have an advisory board that is 
representative of the community in which it is located that 
meets at least annually. The local Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections Probation and Parole Office, shall 
designate a staff person to serve on this board. 

I. Resident Activities 
1. Permanent Log 

a. A permanent log shall be maintained which shall 
indicate when residents report to and leave work and shall 
list events, messages, telephone calls, unusual incidents, 
counts, meals, etc. This permanent log shall be maintained 
continuously by the careworker staff. All resident work 
schedules shall be verified by facility staff prior to the 
resident being logged out for work.  

2. Resident Log 
a. A daily resident log shall be maintained which 

shall indicate when residents leave and return to the facility 
for any reason. The resident shall sign out in the facility log 
book. Each entry shall include: residents’ name; destination; 
phone number at destination; address at destination; time 
out; anticipated time of return; actual time of return; and the 
resident’s signature upon return. The employee on duty shall 
initial each entry when the resident leaves the facility and 
when he returns. A clock with the correct time shall be 
visible to both the resident and the employee and shall serve 
as the official timepiece. This daily resident log will begin at 
12 midnight and cover a 24 hour period. Resident logs shall 
be kept on file for at least three years. 

b. Random pat searches shall be conducted in such 
a manner so as to discourage the introduction of contraband 
into the facility. Random pat searches and alcohol breath 
tests shall be administered by a staff member to the resident 
population each day as they return to the facility. All 
searches and breath tests shall be entered on the permanent 
log. 

J. Resident Discipline 
1. Residents assigned to the program shall comply 

with all rules and procedures set forth by the facility. Each 
resident shall receive a copy of the facility handbook and 
any other rules and regulations of the facility’s program, 
including disciplinary procedures available to the staff, 
which the resident is required to read. The resident shall sign 
and date a statement acknowledging this, which is placed in 
his file. 

2. All of the above shall be provided to the resident 
prior to his voluntary entry into the program. 

3. The facility’s disciplinary process shall be defined 
and provide appropriate procedural safeguards as outlined in 
the applicable ACA standards. The facility shall have a 
process for informal resolution of minor infractions of 
facility rules. Residents charged with major rule violations 
shall receive a written statement of the alleged violation(s), 
including a description of the incident and specific rules 
violated. The facility is responsible for ensuring that 
disciplinary reports are completed accurately and staff 
completing reports shall receive training on report writing. A 
supervisor shall review disciplinary reports prior to 
submission making certain essential elements (who, what, 
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when, where, etc.) are covered with clarity. It is essential 
that reports be accurate as residents are subject to removal 
from the facility program for serious violations. 

4. Restriction of Privileges 
a. When residents are found guilty of a rule 

violation and are assessed penalties which restrict their 
privileges, the privileges which are restricted and the amount 
of time imposed shall be posted in a conspicuous place so 
that all staff members are aware of the restrictions. Under no 
circumstances shall privileges be restricted without a proper 
disciplinary report, a due process hearing and a finding of 
guilty. The denial of food shall not be used as a disciplinary 
measure.  

b. The resident shall be allowed to appeal the 
disciplinary process. If they are not satisfied with the 
outcome of the appeal, they shall be allowed to appeal to the 
referring judicial agency. 

K. Resident’s Personal Funds 
1. General 

a. In keeping with the goals and objectives of the 
residential program, the facility shall ensure as much of the 
resident’s earned net wages as possible are maintained and 
available to the resident immediately upon release. 

b. Funds held on behalf of the resident shall be 
properly accounted for. The collection and disbursement of 
the residents’ wages shall be in accordance with the 
provisions of R.S. 15:1111. The methods used for the 
receipt, safeguarding, disbursement and recording of funds 
shall comply with generally accepted accounting principles. 

c. A ledger shall be maintained reflecting the 
financial status of each resident in the facility, and there shall 
be adequate documentation to support the 
receipt/expenditure of resident funds in each resident’s 
official file.  

d. Each facility shall engage in an independent 
financial audit of all funds received and held on behalf of 
residents at least every three years. The DPS&C monitoring 
team visits or audits conducted by the DPSC Internal Audit 
Division shall not be considered an independent audit for 
this purpose. The cost of the independent financial audit 
shall not be paid from the resident trust account. 

e. The resident trust account is subject to review or 
audit by the DPSC and/or the Office of the Governor, 
Division of Administration auditor at any time. 

2. Management of Resident Funds 
a. Bonding 

 i. The facility shall provide the department with 
certificates of bonding documenting coverage sufficient to 
safeguard the maximum amount of resident funds staff may 
be responsible for handling. 

b. Resident Trust Fund Account Management 
 i. The balance in the resident trust account shall 
represent only the funds owed to the residents. Resident 
funds shall not be used for other purposes (i.e., pay 
operational expenses) or be commingled with other bank 
accounts. Likewise, the trust account shall not be used to 
maintain other monies, such as for resident organizations, 
seized contraband, investments or a “slush” fund. 

(a). Start up costs for each new resident shall not 
be paid from the resident trust account. These costs shall be 
paid from the facility’s operating fund account, to be 

reimbursed by the resident once the resident begins 
receiving wages. 

(b). The resident trust account cash balance shall 
be maintained at the appropriate balance to cover each 
resident’s account balance. 

(c). Signers on the resident trust account shall be 
an employee or other legal stakeholders of the facility. The 
number of signers on the account shall not exceed three 
people. 

(d). The resident trust account shall not be a 
"sweep account" or used in conjunction with "sweep 
accounts." 

(e). On a monthly basis the following actions 
must occur: 
 (i). transfer out any interest earned on the 
Trust account. The interest earnings are property of the 
facility. Such interest earnings may be used to help defray 
administrative costs and to provide for other expenditures 
which will benefit the resident population; 
 (ii). transfer out amounts owed by residents 
for the daily room and board per diem; 
 (iii). transfer out amounts owed by residents 
to vendors to be paid from the operating account or pay the 
resident’s expenses directly from the trust account; 
 (iv). reimburse trust account for expenses 
for bank service charges/fees (including fees for check 
orders) from the facility’s operating fund account; 
 (v). reimburse trust account from the 
facility’s operating fund account for any negative resident 
balances being paid with trust fund money. Residents who 
are allowed to spend more money than their current balance 
cannot use trust account funds to pay their debts; therefore, it 
becomes an operational expense; 
 (vi) provide a detailed statement of account 
balance to the resident in a confidential manner; 
 (vii) reconcile the trust account after receipt 
of the monthly bank statement: 
  [a]. add all deposits and deduct all 
withdrawals to each individual ledger to determine each 
resident’s current balance; 
  [b]. total current month’s positive 
balances for all resident ledgers, including balances carried 
forward from previous months which have had no 
transactions in the current month; 
  [c]. compare this total to the 
reconciled bank balance; 
  [d]. investigate and resolve any 
discrepancies between the bank and the resident ledger. 

3. Income and Wages Received 
a. The facility shall ensure employers adhere to the 

signed employer’s work agreement by verifying rates of pay, 
hours worked and pay received by the resident for each pay 
period worked. 

b. The facility shall ensure that the resident is paid 
by the employer by either a manual check sent directly to the 
facility or direct deposit to the resident trust account at the 
facility. 

c. Residents shall not be allowed to receive 
payment from the employer via a pay card (pre-paid credit 
and/or ATM card) issued to the resident. 

d. The facility shall process all personal funds 
received on behalf of the residents, issue pre-numbered 
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receipts for funds and post receipts to the resident’s account 
indicating receipt number. 

e. Funds received shall be deposited daily (within 
24 hours with the exception of weekends and holidays) into 
a fiduciary account held in trust for the residents and 
designated specifically as “Resident Trust Account.” Credits 
shall be posted to the resident ledger within two business 
days. 

f. Sensitive banking transactions involving the 
facility banking information and resident shall be handled 
directly between the facility and the employer, not between 
the resident and the employer. 

4. Expenses and Withdrawals 
a. All withdrawals or expenditures by a resident 

shall be documented by a withdrawal request form, signed 
and dated by the resident and document approval or denial 
of request by facility personnel. Withdrawals/expenditures 
shall be posted to the resident ledgers at least weekly with an 
adequate description relating to all transactions.  

b. As one of the goals of a judicial agency referral 
residential program is to provide residents with the 
opportunity to accumulate savings as they prepare for 
reentry, facility managers have a fiduciary responsibility to 
set limitations on spending to maximize the potential savings 
of a resident.  

c. Facilities shall develop procedures that set 
limitations and/or spending limits on resident purchases 
from canteen/commissary operations that encourage the 
resident to maximize on the opportunity to accumulate 
savings prior to release from the program. 

5. Deductions 
a. Residents shall be charged a daily rate not to 

exceed $62.50 per day for services provided by the facility 
which includes room and board, transportation, education 
and all other necessary services. Medical and Mental Health 
services may be the responsibility of the resident. However, 
a lack of funds shall not interfere with the resident receiving 
these services. The resident shall not be charged for any 
additional costs other than those authorized in this 
document. Documentation of all deductions shall be 
maintained in each resident’s file. 

6. Other Deductions Allowed 
a. Allowance. The facility shall develop procedures 

to determine the weekly allowance needed for incidental 
personal expenses in accordance with provisions in this 
Chapter. Residents should be encouraged to refrain from 
unnecessary purchases in order that they may be able to 
accrue savings to be available to them upon completion of 
the program. 

b. Support of the Resident’s Dependents. The 
resident and facility shall mutually agree upon the amount to 
be sent to dependents. This agreement and authorization 
shall be in writing.  

c. Legal Judgments. If there is a legal judgment of 
support, that judgment shall suffice as written authorization 
to disburse the money.  

d. Payment of the Resident’s Obligations. Debts 
acknowledged by the resident shall be in writing or reduced 
to judgment (including victim restitution) and shall reflect 
the schedule by which the resident wishes the debt to be 

repaid. The facility shall ensure that payment of this type 
debt is legitimate. 

e. Canteen/commissary items shall be priced at a 
reasonable cost to residents. Contractors that operate a 
canteen shall provide to the facility administrator a list of 
canteen items sold and the price list of the cost of the item to 
the resident. 

L. Sexual Assault and Sexual Misconduct 
1. Prohibited Conduct—Sexual Contact between Staff, 

Civilians and Residents 
a. There is no consensual sex in a custodial or 

supervisory relationship. Any sexual assault, sexual 
misconduct or sexual coercion between staff, civilians and 
residents is inconsistent with professional, ethical principles 
and department regulations. Acts of sexual assault, sexual 
misconduct or sexual coercion by staff or civilians against 
residents under their supervision is a violation of R.S. 
14:134 et seq., subject to criminal prosecution. Retaliation 
against individuals because of their involvement in the 
reporting or investigation of sexual assault, sexual 
misconduct or sexual coercion is strictly prohibited. 

2. Facility Policy 
a. The facility shall have written policies and 

procedures for the prevention, detection, response, reporting 
and investigating of alleged and substantiated sexual 
assaults. Facility investigative reports of such allegations 
shall be submitted to the judicial agency which referred the 
resident to the facility. 

M. Department of Public Safety and Corrections Facility 
Access 

1. Compliance Monitoring 
a. In accordance with R.S. 40:2852, all judicial 

agency referral residential facilities shall be regulated by 
rules adopted and enforced by the Department of Public 
Safety and Corrections for the operation of such facilities. In 
order to fulfill this mission, the department must have the 
ability to inspect the facility on a scheduled or random basis. 
The inspections shall include but not be limited to: review of 
ACA files; review of log books; resident employment status; 
quality of life issues; resident financial information and any 
information necessary to ensure compliance with both ACA 
standards and the standard operating procedures for judicial 
agency referral residential facilities. 

2. Access to DPSC Staff 
a. The Division of Probation and Parole shall have 

access as necessary to any residents on probation in the 
program to ensure compliance with conditions of probation. 
This includes the need for regular contacts, random drug 
screening and any other duties necessary to determine that 
the resident is abiding by the conditions of their probation.  

b. The DPSC shall have access to the facility at any 
time. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
40:2851 and 2852. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 37: 
§1305. Physical Plant 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:667 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1307. Facility Operations 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:667 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1309. Facility Services 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:668 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1311. Resident Programs 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:669 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1313. Employment 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:669 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1315. Community Involvement 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:670 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1317. Resident Activities 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:670 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1319. Resident Discipline 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:670 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37: 
§1321. Resident Personal Funds 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

40:2851 and 2852. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 33:671 
(April 2007), repealed LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
The amendment of this Rule has no known impact on 

family formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Melissa Callahan, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, P.O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, until 
4:30 p.m. on March 11, 2011. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Judicial Agency Residential  

Referral Facilities 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The Department of Corrections may incur minimal 
increases in costs associated with travel to inspect facilities.  
The proposed rule change was originally implemented as an 
emergency rule on January 5, 2011 and, in accordance with Act 
493 of the 2010 Regular Legislative Session, provides for the 
Department of Corrections to inspect facilities that serve as 
housing or temporary residence of individuals who have been 
arrested for the commission of a crime and are referred by any 
judicial agency.  Any facility that serves as a Judicial Agency 
Referral Residential Facility must meet the criteria listed in the 
Procedures section of regulation B-01-005 to become a 
certified facility.  At present, Academy of Training Skills is the 
only Judicial Agency Referral Facility in the state.  

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Any facility that becomes certified through Department of 
Corrections inspection may have an increase in costs associated 
with certification compliance.  There is only one known facility 
in the state that these specific administrative rules may impact 
(Academy of Training Skills). However, the cost to the facility 
as a result of these rules is indeterminable since the Department 
of Corrections does not know if this facility currently meets the 
new criteria within the proposed administrative rules.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will require facilities to meet the 
proposed guidelines related to administration and staffing.  If 
the entity does not meet these guidelines initially, a period of 
24 months will be given to address any areas of non-
compliance.  However, the specific impact is indeterminable 
since the Department of Corrections is not specifically aware of 
the facility’s current workforce.  

 
Thomas C. Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#050 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Corrections Services 

Non-Medical Furloughs (LAC 22:I.305) 

The Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Corrections Services, in accordance with R.S. 36:404, 
hereby gives notice of its intent to repeal LAC 22:I.305, 
Non-medical Furloughs in its entirety.  

Title 22 
CORRECTIONS, CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND LAW 

ENFORCEMENT 
Part I.  Corrections 

Chapter 3. Adult Services 
Subchapter A. General 
§305. Non-Medical Furloughs 

Repealed. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

15:811(C), R.S. 15:833. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Corrections, Office of Adult Services, LR 4:487 (December 1978), 
amended LR 8:274 (June 1982), LR 15:853 (October 1989), LR 
32:249 (February 2006), repealed by the Department of 
Corrections, Corrections Services, LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
The proposed repeal of this Rule has no known impact on 

family formation, stability or autonomy, as described in R.S. 
49:972. 

Public Comments 
Written comments may be addressed to Melissa Callahan, 

Deputy Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, P. O. Box 94304, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, until 
4:30 p.m. on March 11, 2011. 

 
James M. Le Blanc 
Secretary 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  Non-Medical Furloughs 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 
local government expenditures.  The rule change will eliminate 
the department regulation regarding non-medical furloughs due 
to non-use.  The Department of Corrections has been unable to 
determine when the regulation was last used. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units since this is a technical adjustment. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost or economic benefit to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment with this rule. 

 
Thomas Bickham, III Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#059 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis Methods and 
Techniques (LAC 55:I.555 and 581) 

Under the authority of R.S. 32:663 and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services hereby proposes to 
amend §§555 and 581 under Chapter 5 to provide for 10 
days to deliver a sample to the laboratory utilized for 
analysis, instead of the 7 days currently allowed.  

The proposed Rule would add three additional days for a 
blood sample taken for analysis to be delivered to the 
laboratory utilized for analysis. Currently the sample is 
required to be transported to the laboratory at the earliest 
opportunity after collection, not to exceed 7 days. The 
proposed Rule would allow for not more than 10 days after 
collection for the sample to be delivered to the laboratory.  

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 5. Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis 
Methods and Techniques 

Subchapter B. Analysis of Blood 
§555. Certified Techniques of Analyst 

A. - G.2. … 
3. The blood sample taken for analysis may be 

maintained at room temperature and delivered to the 
designated collection site of each enforcement agency within 
24 hours of the end of the collecting officer’s shift. It shall 
be transported then to the laboratory utilized for analysis at 
the earliest opportunity after collection, not to exceed 10 
days. 

H. - H.3. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:663. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 6:663 (November 1980), 
amended by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections, 
Office of State Police, LR 11:259 (March 1985), LR 14:360 (June 
1988), LR 17:675 (July 1991), repromulgated LR 17:798 (August 
1991), amended LR 26:2624 (November 2000), LR 37: 
Subchapter C. Analysis of Blood and Urine for 

Controlled Dangerous Substances 
§581. Receiving and Sampling of Evidence 

A. - B. … 
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C. The sample taken for analysis should be refrigerated 
and delivered to a designated collection site within 24 hours 
following the end of the collecting officer’s shift. It shall 
then be transported to the laboratory utilized for analysis at 
the earliest opportunity after collection, not to exceed 10 
days. 

D. - E. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:663. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 26:2625 (November 
2000), amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the Family. 

This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the family. 
2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights of 

Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children. This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 
Family. This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget. This Rule will have no effect on family 
earning and family budget. 

5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. This Rule will have no effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The Effect of this Rule on the Ability of the Family or 
Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained in 
the Proposed Rules. This Rule will have no effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed rules.  

Small Business Impact Statement  
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have any adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The 
agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and 
economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments or requests for public hearing on the proposed 
Rule. Such comments or requests should be submitted no 
later than March 20, 2011, at 4:30 p.m. to Faye Dysart 
Morrison, P.O. Box 66614, Baton Rouge, La. 70896. 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis 

Methods and Techniques 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There are no anticipated implementation costs or savings to 
state or local governmental units resulting from the proposed 
rule. The proposed rule would allow State Police three 
additional days for a blood sample to be delivered to the 
laboratory utilized for analysis. Currently the sample is 

required to be transported to the laboratory at the earliest 
opportunity after collection, not to exceed seven days. The 
proposed rule would allow for not more than 10 days after 
collection for the sample to be delivered to the laboratory. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on revenue collections of 
state or local governmental units.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no estimated cost or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups as a result of the 
implementation of the proposed rule.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated impact upon competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed rule. 

 
Jill P. Boudreaux Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#023 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis Methods and 
Techniques (LAC 55:I.583) 

Under the authority of R.S. 32:663 and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services hereby proposes to 
amend §583 under Chapter 5 to add liquid 
chromatography/mass spectrometry as an approved method 
for testing blood.  

The proposed Rule would add a testing method known as 
liquid chromatography/mass spectrometry to the methods 
available to the Louisiana State Police Crime Laboratory, 
and other permitted labs. Liquid chromatography/mass 
spectrometry is very similar to gas chromatography/mass 
spectrometry but it differs in that the sample is carried 
through the instrument in a liquid phase instead of a gas 
phase. This results in the sample needing to be prepared 
differently but the analysis still uses an instrument with mass 
spectral capabilities.  

Title 55 
PUBLIC SAFETY 
Part I.  State Police 

Chapter 5. Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis 
Methods and Techniques 

Subchapter C. Analysis of Blood and Urine for 
Controlled Dangerous Substances 

§583. Analytical Procedures 
A. Analytical procedures shall include the use of at least 

two tests (a screening test and a confirmation test, or two 
confirmation tests) performed for each analyte present. If a 
screening test is used, the confirmation tests shall be based 
on a different physical or chemical principle from that of the 
screening test and offer a higher degree of specificity. All 
confirmation tests shall be performed using gas 
chromatography/mass spectrometry or liquid 
chromatography/mass spectrometry. Screening tests may 
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include, but not be limited to, colormetric, enzymatic, or 
chromatographic analysis. Confirmation of the identity of an 
analyte in a different specimen from that used for the first 
test (e.g., blood and urine) is acceptable, as is reconfirmation 
in a second aliquot of the same specimen. 

B. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

32:663. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Public Safety, Office of State Police, LR 26:2625 (November 
2000), amended LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the Family. 

This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the family. 
2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights of 

Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children. This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 
Family. This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget. This Rule will have no effect on family 
earning and family budget. 

5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. This Rule will have no effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The Effect of this Rule on the Ability of the Family or 
Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained in 
the Proposed Rules. This Rule will have no effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed rules. 

Small Business Impact Statement  
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have any adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The 
agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and 
economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments or requests for public hearing on the proposed 
Rule. Such comments or requests should be submitted no 
later than March 20, 2011, at 4:30 p.m. to Faye Dysart 
Morrison, P.O. Box 66614, Baton Rouge, La. 70896.  

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Breath and Blood Alcohol Analysis 

Methods and Techniques 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no impact on state or 
local governmental units. The Louisiana State Police (LSP) 
proposes to amend its administrative rules concerning the 

testing of blood and urine for controlled dangerous substances. 
A technology known as liquid chromatography/mass 
spectrometry, which is currently in place at State Police, is an 
accepted and scientifically valid testing process that will be 
used to test blood and/or urine for the presence of controlled 
dangerous substances. Use of this procedure could result in a 
reduction in the toxicology backlog at State Police. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

Implementation of these changes will not result in any 
change to revenue collections of state or local governmental 
units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on directly affected persons 
or non-governmental groups based on this rule change.  

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated impact on competition and 
employment in the public and private sectors based on this rule 
change. 

 
Jill P. Boudreaux Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#024 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Public Safety and Corrections 
Office of State Police 

Collection, Submission, Receipt, Identification, Storage and 
Disposal of DNA Samples (LAC 55:1.Chapter 27) 

Under the authority of R.S. 32:663 and in accordance with 
the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 
49:950 et seq., the Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, Public Safety Services hereby proposes to 
amend §§2702-2706, 2721-2722, 2724-2726, and 2742 
under Chapter 27 to provide for the use of DNA Database 
Buccal Collection Kits for the collection of DNA from 
convicted offenders, as well as arrestees. Previously this type 
of kit was only used for arrestee samples. The proposed Rule 
would allow for the use of the less expensive DNA Database 
Buccal Collection Kit for all collections authorized by law.  

The text of this Notice of Intent can be viewed in its 
entirety in the Emergency Rule section of this issue of the 
Louisiana Register. 

Family Impact Statement 
1. The Effect of this Rule on the Stability of the Family. 

This Rule will have no effect on the stability of the family. 
2. The Effect of this Rule on the Authority and Rights of 

Parents Regarding the Education and Supervision of their 
Children. This Rule will have no effect on the authority and 
rights of parents regarding the education and supervision of 
their children. 

3. The Effect of this Rule on the Functioning of the 
Family. This Rule will have no effect on the functioning of 
the family. 

4. The Effect of this Rule on Family Earnings and 
Family Budget. This Rule will have no effect on family 
earning and family budget. 
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5. The Effect of this Rule on the Behavior and Personal 
Responsibility of Children. This Rule will have no effect on 
the behavior and personal responsibility of children. 

6. The Effect of this Rule on the Ability of the Family or 
Local Government to Perform the Function as Contained in 
the Proposed Rules. This Rule will have no effect on the 
ability of the family or local government to perform the 
function as contained in the proposed rules. 

Small Business Impact Statement  
The impact of the proposed Rule on small businesses has 

been considered and it is estimated that the proposed action 
is not expected to have any adverse impact on small 
businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act. The 
agency, consistent with health, safety, environmental and 
economic welfare factors has considered and, where 
possible, utilized regulatory methods in the drafting of the 
proposed Rule that will accomplish the objectives of 
applicable statutes while minimizing the adverse impact of 
the proposed Rule on small businesses. 

Public Comments 
All interested persons are invited to submit written 

comments or requests for public hearing on the proposed 
Rule. Such comments or requests should be submitted no 
later than March 20, 2011, at 4:30 p.m. to Faye Dysart 
Morrison, P.O. Box 66614, Baton Rouge, La. 70896. 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Collection, Submission, Receipt, 

Identification, Storage and Disposal of DNA Samples  
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to result in a $22,950 
annual savings for the state. No expenditure impact is 
anticipated for local governments. The rule provides for the use 
of DNA Database Buccal Collection kits for the collection of 
DNA samples from arrestees as well as convicted offenders. 
The DNA Database Buccal Collection kits cost approximately 
$4.65 per kit as compared to $6.18 per kit for the DNA 
Database Blood Collection kits now in use by the Louisiana 
State Police Crime Lab for convicted offenders.  The lab orders 
approximately 15,000 kits per year. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule will have no effect on revenue 
collections of state or local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

There is no anticipated cost or economic benefits to directly 
affected persons or non-governmental groups as a result of the 
proposed amendments. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no anticipated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of the proposed amendments. 

 
Jill P. Boudreaux Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#022 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of the Treasury 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Public Employees Deferred Compensation Plan 
(LAC 32:VII.101, 301, 305, 317, 323, 721, 723, and 1107) 

Please take notice that the Louisiana Deferred 
Compensation Commission (the "LDCC"), in accordance 
with R.S. 49:950 et seq. and R.S. 42:1303-1303.1, intends to 
amend the Louisiana Public Employees Deferred 
Compensation Plan. The proposed Rule updates the plan for 
IRS compliance and references the appropriate sections of 
the Internal Revenue Code. 

Title 32 
EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 

Part VII.  Public Employee Deferred Compensation 
Subpart 1.  Deferred Compensation Plan 

Chapter 1. Administration 
§101. Definitions 

Account Balance― 
1. the bookkeeping account maintained with respect to 

each participant which reflects the value of the deferred 
compensation credited to the participant, including: 

a. the participant's total amount deferred; 
b. the earnings or loss of the fund (net of fund 

expenses) allocable to the participant; 
c. any transfers for the participant's benefit; and 
d. any distribution made to the participant or the 

participant's beneficiary: 
 i. if a participant has more than one beneficiary 
at the time of the participant's death, then each beneficiary's 
share of the account balance shall be treated as a separate 
account for each beneficiary; 

2. the account balance includes: 
a. any account established under §505 for rollover 

contributions and plan-to-plan transfers made for a 
participant; 

b. the account established for a beneficiary after a 
participant's death; and 

c. any account or accounts established for an 
alternate payee [as defined in Code §414(p)(8)]. 

Administrator or Plan Administrator―the person, persons 
or entity appointed by the Louisiana Deferred Compensation 
Commission to administer the plan pursuant to  
LAC 32:VII.103.A, if any. 

Age 50 or Older Catch-Up―the deferred amount 
described pursuant to LAC 32:VII.303.C. 

Alternate Payee―the spouse, former spouse, child or 
other dependent of a participant who has acquired an interest 
in the participant's account pursuant to a Qualified Domestic 
Relations Order (QDRO) pursuant to §1503. Alternate 
payees shall be treated as beneficiaries for all purposes under 
the plan except that alternate payees shall be allowed to 
request a distribution of all or a portion of their account 
balance at any time, subject to the terms of the QDRO. 

Beneficiary―the person, persons or entities designated by 
a participant pursuant to §301.A.5 who is entitled to receive 
benefits under the plan after the death of a participant. 
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Commission―the Louisiana Deferred Compensation 
Commission, as established in accordance with R.S. 
42:1302, which shall be comprised of the state treasurer, the 
commissioner of administration, the commissioner of 
insurance, the commissioner of financial institutions (or their 
designees), and three participant members (elected by the 
participants). 

Compensation―all payments paid by the employer to an 
employee or independent contractor as remuneration for 
services rendered, including salaries and fees, and, to the 
extent permitted by treasury regulations or other similar 
guidance, accrued vacation and sick leave pay paid within 2 
and 1/2 months of participant's severance from employment 
so long as the employee would have been able to use the 
leave if employment had continued. 

Custodial Account―the account established with a bank 
or trust company meeting the provisions of Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) §401(f), that the commission has elected to 
satisfy the trust requirement of IRC §457(g) by setting aside 
plan assets in a custodial account. 

Custodian―the bank or trust company or other person, if 
any selected by the commission to hold plan assets in a 
custodial account in accordance with regulations pursuant to 
IRC §457(g) and 401(f). 

Deferred Compensation―the amount of compensation not 
yet earned, which the participant and the commission 
mutually agree, shall be deferred. 

Employee―any individual who is employed by the 
employer, either as a common law employee or an 
independent contractor, including elected or appointed 
individuals providing personal services to the employer. Any 
employee who is included in a unit of employees covered by 
a collective bargaining agreement that does not specifically 
provide for participation in the plan shall be excluded. 

Includible Compensation―an employee's actual wages in 
Box 1 of Form W-2 for a year for services to the employer, 
but subject to a maximum of $200,000 [or such higher 
maximum as may apply under Code §401(a)(17)] and 
increased (up to the dollar maximum) by any compensation 
reduction election under Code §§125, 132(f), 401(k), 403(b), 
or 457(b) [for purposes of the limitation set forth in §303.A, 
compensation for services performed for the employer as 
defined in IRC §457(e)(5)]. 

Independent Contractor―an individual (not a 
corporation, partnership, or other entity), who is receiving 
compensation for services rendered to or on behalf of the 
employer in accordance with a contract between such 
individual and the employer. 

Interest or Interest in Deferred Compensation―under the 
plan, the aggregate of: 

1. a participant's deferred compensation for his or her 
entire period of participation in the plan; and 

2. the earnings or losses allocable to such amount. 
Such interest represents an accounting entry only and does 
not constitute an ownership interest, right or title in the 
assets so invested. 

Investment Product―any form of investment designated 
by the commission for the purpose of receiving funds under 
the plan. 

IRC―the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or 
any future United States Internal Revenue law. References 
herein to specific section numbers shall be deemed to 

include treasury regulations thereunder and Internal Revenue 
Service guidance thereunder and to corresponding 
provisions of any future United States internal revenue law. 
All citations to sections of the Code are to such sections as 
they may from time to time be amended or renumbered. 

Limited Catch-Up―the deferred amount described in 
LAC 32:VII.305.A. 

Non-Elective Employer Contribution―any contribution 
made by an employer for the participant with respect to 
which the participant does not have the choice to receive the 
contribution in cash or property. Such term may also include 
an employer matching contribution. 

Normal Retirement Age― 
1. the age designated by a participant, which age shall 

be between: 
a. the earliest date on which such participant is 

entitled to retire under the public retirement system of which 
that participant is a member without actuarial reduction in 
his or her benefit; and 

b. age 70 1/2, provided, however, that if a 
participant continues in the employ of the employer beyond 
70 1/2, normal retirement age means the age at which the 
participant severs employment; 

2. if the participant is not a member of a defined 
benefit plan in any public retirement system, the participant's 
normal retirement age may not be earlier than age 65, and 
may not be later than age 70 1/2. A special rule shall apply to 
qualified police or firefighters under the plan, if any. Any 
qualified police or firefighter, as defined under 
§415(b)(2)(H)(ii)(I), who is participating in the plan may 
choose a normal retirement age that is not earlier than age 40 
nor later than age 70 1/2; 

3. if a participant continues to be employed by 
employer after attaining age 70 1/2, not having previously 
elected an alternate normal retirement age, the participant's 
alternate normal retirement age shall not be later than the 
mandatory retirement age, if any, established by the 
employer, or the age at which the participant actually severs 
employment with the employer if the employer has no 
mandatory retirement age. 

Participant―an individual who is eligible to defer 
compensation under the plan, and has executed an effective 
deferral authorization. Participant also includes an employee 
or independent contractor who has severance from 
employment but has not received a complete distribution of 
his or her interest in deferred compensation under the plan. 

Participation Agreement―the agreement executed and 
filed by an individual who is eligible to defer compensation 
under the plan, and has executed an effective deferral 
authorization. 

Pay Period―a regular accounting period designated by 
the employer for the purpose of measuring and paying 
compensation earned by an employee or independent 
contractor. 

Plan―the State of Louisiana Public Employees Deferred 
Compensation Plan established by this document and any 
applicable amendment. 

Plan Year―the calendar year. 
Qualified Domestic Relations Order or QDRO―as 

specified in LAC 32:VII.1503.B. 
Qualified Military Service – any service in the uniformed 

service (as defined in Chapter 43 of Title 38 of the United 
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States Code as in effect as of December 12, 1994) by any 
individual if such individual is entitled to reemployment 
rights under such Chapter with respect to such service. 

Section 3121 Participant – an individual who is using the 
Plan as a retirement system providing FICA replacement 
benefits pursuant to IRC §3121(b)(7)(F) and the regulations 
thereunder. 

Separation from Service or Separates from Service― 
1. with respect to an employee, the permanent 

severance of the employment relationship with the employer 
on account of such employee's: 

a. retirement; 
b. discharge by the employer; 
c. resignation; 
d. layoff; or 
e. in the case of an employee who is an appointed 

or elected officer, the earlier of: 
 i. the taking of the oath of office of such officer's 
successor; or 
 ii. the cessation of the receipt of compensation 

2. if an employee incurs a break in service for a period 
of less than 30 days or transfers among various Louisiana 
governmental entities, such break or transfer shall not be 
considered a separation from service; 

3. with respect to an independent contractor, 
separation from service means that the expiration of all 
contracts pursuant to services performed for or on behalf of 
the employer. 

Severance from Employment or Severs Employment― 
1. the date the employee dies, retires, or otherwise has 

a severance from employment with the employer, as 
determined by the administrator (and taking into account 
guidance issued under the Code). An employee whose 
employment is interrupted by qualified military service 
under Code §414(u) shall be deemed severed from 
employment until such time as he or she is reemployed 
following the term of duty. A participant shall be deemed to 
have severed employment with the employer for purposes of 
this plan when both parties consider the employment 
relationship to have terminated and neither party anticipates 
any future employment of the participant by the employer. In 
the case of a participant who is an independent contractor, 
severance from employment shall be deemed to have 
occurred when: 

a. the participant's contract for services has 
completely expired and terminated; 

b. there is no foreseeable possibility that the 
employer shall renew the contract or enter into a new 
contract for services to be performed by the participant; and 

c. it is not anticipated that the participant shall 
become an employee of the employer; 

2. with respect to an employee, the permanent 
severance of the employment relationship with the employer 
on account of such employee's: 

a. retirement; 
b. discharge by the employer; 
c. resignation; 
d. layoff; or 
e. in the case of an employee who is an appointed 

or elected officer, the earlier of: 
 i. the taking of the oath of office of such officer's 
successor; or 

 ii. the cessation of the receipt of compensation; 
3. if an employee incurs a break in service for a period 

of less than 30 days or transfers among various Louisiana 
governmental entities, such break or transfer shall not be 
considered a severance from employment. 

Total Amount Deferred―with respect to each participant, 
the sum of all compensation deferred under the plan (plus 
investment gains and/or losses thereon, including amounts 
determined with reference to life insurance policies) 
calculated in accordance with the method designated in the 
participant's participation agreement(s) under which such 
compensation was deferred and any subsequent election(s) 
to change methods, less the amount of any expenses or 
distributions authorized by this plan. 

Trustee―the commission or such other person, persons or 
entity selected by the commission who agrees to act as 
trustee. This term also refers to the person holding the assets 
of any custodial account or holding any annuity contract 
described in LAC 32:VII.317. 

Unforeseeable Emergency 
1. severe financial hardship of a participant or 

beneficiary resulting from: 
a. an illness or accident of the participant or 

beneficiary, the participant’s or beneficiary’s spouse, or the 
participant’s or beneficiary’s dependent (as defined in IRC 
§152, and without regard to IRC §152(b)(1), (b)(2), and 
(d)(1)(B)); 

b. loss of the participant’s or beneficiary’s property 
due to casualty (including the need to rebuild a home 
following damage to a home not otherwise covered by 
homeowner’s insurance, such as damage that is the result of 
a natural disaster); or 

c. other similar extraordinary and unforeseeable 
circumstances arising as a result of events beyond the 
control of participant or beneficiary. 

2. The definition of Unforeseeable Emergency does 
not include either the purchase of a home or the payment of 
college tuition. 

3. The definition of Unforeseeable Emergency 
includes, but is not limited to, the following: 

a. payment of mortgage payments or rent due to 
imminent foreclosure of or eviction from the participant’s or 
beneficiary’s primary residence; 

b. the need to pay for medical expenses, including 
non-refundable deductibles, as well as for the cost of 
prescription drug medication; and 

c. the need to pay for funeral expenses of a spouse 
or dependent (as defined above) of a participant or 
beneficiary. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 
§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1962 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1494 (June 2002), LR 32:118 
(January 2006), LR 37:  
Chapter 3. Plan Participation, Options and 

Requirements 
§301. Enrollment in the Plan 

A. The following applies to compensation deferred under 
the plan. 

1. - 3. ... 
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4. Notwithstanding §301.A.1, to the extent permitted 
by applicable law, the administrator may establish 
procedures whereby each employee becomes a participant in 
the plan (automatic enrollment) and, as a term or condition 
of employment, elects to participate in the plan and consents 
to the deferral by the employer of a specified amount for any 
payroll period for which a participation agreement is not in 
effect. In the event such procedures are in place, a 
participant may elect to defer a different amount of 
compensation per payroll period, including zero, by entering 
into a participation agreement. 

a. Within a reasonable period of time before each 
plan year, the commission shall give to each employee to 
whom an automatic enrollment arrangement described in 
§301.A.4 applies for such year notice of the employee’s 
rights under such arrangement.  

b. The notice provided for in §301.A.4.a above shall 
provide an explanation of the employee’s rights and 
obligations under the arrangement, including the right to 
elect not to have contributions made on the employee’s 
behalf or to have such contributions made at a different 
percentage. The notice shall also provide an explanation of 
how contributions made under the arrangement will be 
invested in the absence of any investment election by the 
employee. 

5. - 6. ... 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 

§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1964 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1495 (June 2002), LR 32:119 
(January 2006), LR 37: 
§305. Limited Catch-Up 

A. - A.1. … 
2. the sum of: 

a. an amount equal to the aggregate limit 
determined by §303A. of this Plan for the current year and 
any prior calendar years beginning after December 31, 2001, 
during which the participant was eligible to participate in 
this Plan, minus the aggregate amount of compensation that 
the participant deferred under this Plan during such years, 
plus 

b. an amount equal to the aggregate limit referred to 
in IRC §457(b)(2) for each prior calendar year beginning 
after December 31, 1978, and before January 1, 2002, during 
which the participant was an employee, minus the aggregate 
contributions made by the participant to Pre-2002 
Coordination Plans for such years. 

B. - C.2. … 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 

§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1965 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1496 (June 2002), LR 32:120 
(January 2006), LR 37: 
§317. Custody of Plan Assets 

A. - A.2. … 
3. All amounts deferred under the Plan shall be 

transferred by the employer to the Commission for 
investment through an account described in §317.A.1 or 2 
above within 15 business days following the month in which 
such amounts would have otherwise been paid to the 
participant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 
§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated 
by the Department of the Treasury, Deferred Compensation 
Commission, LR 24:1966 (October 1998), LR 37: 
§323. Section 3121 Participants 

A. Notwithstanding any other provisions in this plan to 
the contrary, the following shall apply to all section 3121 
participants: 

1. annual allocations to each section 3121 
participant’s account must be equal to at least 7.5 percent of 
the participant’s annual compensation; 

2. all amounts deferred by a section 3121 participant 
shall be held in a non-forfeitable account. Such account shall 
be credited with earnings at a rate that is reasonable under all 
the facts and circumstances or employees’ accounts are held 
in a separate trust that is subject to general fiduciary 
standards and are credited with actual net earnings on the 
trust fund, in accordance with IRS Treas. Reg. 
§31.3121(b)(7)-2(e)(2)(iii); 

3. no distributions from the Plan shall be made to a 
Section 3121 participant before such Participant severs 
employment. 

B. In the event a section 3121 participant no longer 
intends to use the plan as a retirement system providing 
FICA replacement benefits pursuant to IRC §3121(b)(7)(F) 
and the regulations thereunder, the participant may transfer 
any amounts being held pursuant to this Subsection to an 
account described in §505 of the plan. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 
§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 37: 
Chapter 7. Distributions 
§709. Unforeseeable Emergency 

A. - A.4. ... 
B. The following events are not considered 

unforeseeable emergencies under the Plan: 
1. enrollment of a child in college; 
2. purchase of a house; 
3. purchase or repair of an automobile, except due to a 

casualty loss or other similar extraordinary and 
unforeseeable circumstances arising as a result of events 
beyond the control of the participant or beneficiary; 

4. repayment of loans (unless the loan was the direct 
result of an unforeseeable emergency, as defined in section 
101 of the plan); 

5. payment of income taxes, back income taxes, or 
fines associated with back income taxes (except for income 
taxes which result from a distribution made in connection 
with an unforeseeable emergency, as defined in section 101 
of the plan); 

6. marital separation or divorce; or 
7. bankruptcy (except when bankruptcy resulted 

directly from an unforeseeable emergency, as defined in 
section 101 of the plan). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 
§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1968 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1498 (June 2002), LR 32:122 
(January 2006), LR 37: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 727

§721. Transfers and Rollovers 
A. - B. … 
C. Section 3121 Participant Transfers. If a participant 

was formerly a Section 3121 Participant, then the Plan shall 
accept assets representing amounts deferred under §323 of 
this Plan, provided the participant remains an Employee. 

D. Rollovers to the Plan 
1. The plan shall accept a rollover contribution on 

behalf of a participant or employee who may become a 
participant. A rollover contribution, for purposes of this 
Subsection, is an eligible rollover contribution (as defined in 
IRC §402(f)(2)) from any: 

a. plan qualified under IRC §401(a) or 403(a); 
b. tax-sheltered annuity or custodial account 

described in IRC §403(b); 
c. individual retirement account or annuity 

described in IRC §408; 
d. eligible deferred compensation plan described in 

IRC §457(b). 
2. Prior to accepting any rollover contribution, the 

commission must reasonably conclude, after a good faith 
effort, that the amount to be rolled over to the plan is a valid 
rollover within the meaning of the Internal Revenue Code. A 
participant's rollover contribution shall be held in a separate 
rollover account or accounts, as the commission shall 
determine from time to time. If, at any time, a rollover 
contribution is determined to be invalid, the commission 
shall distribute to the participant any such amount 
determined to be invalid within a reasonable period of time 
after such a determination is made. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with IRC 
§457 and R.S. 42:1301-1308. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1969 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1499 (June 2002), LR 37: 
§723. Eligible Rollover Distributions 

A. … 
B. Notice. The commission shall, within a reasonable 

period of time before making an eligible rollover 
distribution, provide a written explanation to the distributee 
explaining the following, as amended from time to time by 
applicable changes to the law: 

1. the provisions under which the distributee may 
have the distribution directly transferred to an eligible 
retirement plan and that the automatic distribution by direct 
transfer applies to certain distributions in accordance with 
§401(a)(31)(B) of the Internal Revenue Code, 

2. the provision which requires the withholding of tax 
on the distribution if it is not directly transferred to an 
eligible retirement plan, 

3. the provisions under which the distribution will not 
be subject to tax if transferred to an eligible retirement plan 
within 60 days after the date on which the recipient received 
the distribution, 

4. the provisions under which distributions from the 
eligible retirement plan receiving the distribution may be 
subject to restrictions and tax consequences which are 
different from those applicable to distributions from the plan 
making such distribution. 

C. Definitions. For purposes of this §723, the following 
definitions shall apply. 

Direct Rollover―a payment by the plan to the eligible 
retirement plan specified by the distributee. 

Distributee―includes an employee or former employee, 
the employee's or former employee's surviving spouse and 
the employee's or former employee's spouse or former 
spouse who is the alternate payee under a Qualified 
Domestic Relations Order, as defined in IRC §414(p), are 
distributees with regard to the interest of the spouse or 
former spouse. 

Eligible Retirement Plan―an eligible retirement plan is 
an individual retirement account described in IRC §408(a), 
an individual retirement annuity described in IRC §408(b), 
an annuity plan described in IRC §403(a) that accepts the 
distributee's eligible rollover distribution, a qualified trust 
described in IRC §401(a) (including §401(k)) that accepts 
the distributee's eligible rollover distribution, a tax-sheltered 
annuity described in IRC §403(b) that accepts the 
distributee's eligible rollover distribution, or another eligible 
deferred compensation plan described in IRC §457(b) that 
accepts the distributee's eligible rollover distribution. 
However, in the case of an eligible rollover distribution to 
the surviving spouse, an eligible retirement plan is an 
individual retirement account or individual retirement 
annuity. 

Eligible Rollover Distribution―any distribution of all 
or any portion of the balance to the credit of the distribute, 
except that an eligible rollover distribution does not include 
any distribution that is one of a series of substantially equal 
periodic payments (not less frequently than annually) made 
for the life (or life expectancy) of the distributee or the joint 
lives (or joint life expectancies and the distributee's 
designated beneficiary, or for: 

a. a specified period of 10 years or more; 
b. any distribution to the extent such distribution is 

required under IRC §401(a)(9); 
c. any distribution that is a deemed distribution 

under the provisions of IRC §72(p); 
d. the portion of any distribution that is not 

includable in gross income; and 
e. any hardship distribution or distribution on 

account of unforeseeable emergency. 
Reasonable Period of Timeshall have the meaning 

assigned to it under §401(a)(31) of the Internal Revenue 
Code and the regulations thereunder. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
42:1301-1308 and IRC §457. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 
Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1969 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1499 (June 2002), LR 32:123 
(January 2006), LR 37: 
Chapter 11. Participant Loans 
§1107. Loan Terms and Conditions 

A. - A.9.c. … 
10. Loans shall not be available for a period of 30 days 

following the repayment of a previous loan from the plan. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

42:1301-1308 and IRC §457. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of the 

Treasury, Deferred Compensation Commission, LR 24:1969 
(October 1998), amended LR 28:1499 (June 2002), LR 32:123 
(January 2006), LR 37: 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 728

Family Impact Statement 
This Rule is not expected to have a negative impact on 

family formation, stability and autonomy. 
Public Comments 

Inquiries and comments concerning the proposed Rule 
should be directed to Emery Bares, Chairman of the LDCC 
by May 10, 2011. 

The office hours of the LDCC for purposes of receiving 
comments and responding to inquiries are 9 a.m. until 5 
p.m., Monday through Friday, excepting state holidays. The 
LDCC’s office is located at 2237 S. Acadian Thruway, Suite 
702, Baton Rouge, LA 70808. Telephone inquiries and 
comments will also be accepted at (225) 926-8082 or (800) 
937-7604. 

 
Emery Bares 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Public Employees Deferred 

Compensation Plan 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no costs associated with the adoption of this 
rule. The proposed rule amends certain sections of the state’s 
deferred compensation plan to comply with recent updates to 
the Internal Revenue Code and related IRS regulations. The 
rules codify existing practices. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

There will be no effect on revenue collections of state or 
local governmental units. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no anticipated effect on 
costs and/or economic benefits to directly affected persons or 
nongovernmental groups. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

The proposed rule change will have no effect on 
competition or employment. 

 
Lindsey Hunter Evan Brasseaux 
Designee Staff Director 
1102#013 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

General and Wildlife Management Area 
Hunting Rules and Regulations (LAC 76:XIX.111) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to promulgate rules and regulations 
governing the hunting of resident game birds and game 
quadrupeds. 

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 

filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statement, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§111. General and Wildlife Management Area 

Hunting Rules and Regulations 
A. Hunting Seasons and Wildlife Management Area 

(WMA) Regulations 
1. The rules and regulations contained within this 

digest have been officially approved and adopted by the 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission under authority vested 
by Sections 115 and 116 of Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes of 1950 and are in full force and effect in 
conjunction with all applicable statutory laws. The Secretary 
of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) has the 
authority to close or alter seasons in emergency situations in 
order to protect fish and wildlife resources. 

2. Pursuant to Section 40.1 of Title 56 of the 
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission has adopted monetary values which 
are assigned to all illegally taken, possessed, injured or 
destroyed fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life. Anyone taking, possessing, injuring 
or destroying fish, wild birds, wild quadrupeds and other 
wildlife and aquatic life shall be required to reimburse the 
LDWF a sum of money equal to the value of the wildlife 
illegally taken, possessed, injured or destroyed. This 
monetary reimbursement shall be in addition to any and all 
criminal penalties imposed for the illegal act. 

B. Resident Game Birds and Animals 
1. Shooting Hours—one-half hour before sunrise to 

one-half hour after sunset. 
C. Other Season Dates 

1. Turkey. Please refer to separate pamphlet. 
2. Raccoon and Opossum. No closed season. Raccoon 

and opossum can be taken at night by one or more licensed 
hunters with one or more dogs and one .22 rimfire firearm. A 
licensed hunter may take raccoon or opossum with .22 
rimfire rifle, .36 caliber or smaller muzzleloader rifle or 
shotgun during daylight hours. Hunting from boats or motor 
vehicles is prohibited. No bag limit for nighttime or daytime 
raccoon or opossum hunting during the open trapping season 
except on certain WMAs as listed. The remainder of the 
year, the raccoon and opossum bag limit for daytime or 
nighttime is two per person per day or night. No one who 
hunts raccoons or opossums as prescribed above shall pelt 
during the closed trapping season nor sell skins or carcasses 
of raccoons and opossums taken during the open trapping 
season unless he is the holder of a valid trapping license 
which shall be required in addition to his basic hunting 
license. Pelting or selling carcasses is illegal during closed 
trapping season. 

3. Nutria. On WMAs and private property nutria may 
be taken recreationally by licensed hunters from September 
1 through the last day of February, during legal shooting 
hours by any legal hunting method with a daily limit of five. 
When taken with a shotgun, steel shot must be used. On 
WMAs during waterfowl seasons, nutria may be taken only 
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with the use of shotguns with shot no larger than F steel, and 
during gun deer seasons, anyone taking nutria must display 
400 square inches of hunter orange and wear a hunter orange 
cap or hat. Recreational nutria hunters must remove each 
nutria carcass in whole condition from the hunting area, 
except that nutria may be gutted. Possession of detached 
nutria parts, including nutria tails, by recreational hunters is 
illegal. Nutria harvested recreationally may not be pelted nor 
may such nutria or any nutria parts from recreationally taken 
nutria be sold, including the tail. Trespassing upon private 
property for the purpose of taking nutria or other furbearing 
animals is punishable by fines and possible jail time (R.S. 
56:265). The Coastwide Nutria Control Program is a 
separate program and is in no way related to the nutria 
recreational season. For questions on the Coastwide Nutria 
Control Program, call the New Iberia office (337) 373-0032. 

4. Blackbirds and Crows. The season for crows shall 
be September 1 through January 1 with no limit; however 
crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles may be taken year 
round during legal shooting hours if they are depredating or 
about to depredate upon ornamentals or shade trees, 
agricultural crops, livestock, wildlife, or when concentrated 
in such numbers as to cause a health hazard. Louisiana has 
determined that the birds listed above are crop depredators 
and that crows have been implicated in the spread of the 
West Nile virus in humans. As described in 50 CFR Part 21, 
non-toxic shot must be used for the take of crows, 
blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles under the special 
depredation order. In addition an annual report has to be 
submitted to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for those that 
participate in the take of these species. 

5. Pheasant. Open concurrently with the quail season; 
no limit. 

6. Falconry. Special permit required. Resident and 
migratory game species may be taken except turkeys. 
Seasons and bag limits are the same as for statewide and 
WMA regulations. Refer to LAC 76:V.301 for specific 
Falconry rules. 

7. Licensed Hunting Preserve. October 1 - April 30. 
Pen-raised birds only. No limit entire season. Refer to LAC 
76:V.305 for specific Hunting Preserve rules. 

8. Deer Management Assistance Program (DMAP). 
Refer to LAC 76:V.111 for specific DMAP Rules. Deer 
management assistance tags must be in the possession of the 
hunter in order to harvest an antlerless deer. The tag shall be 
attached through the hock in such a manner that it cannot be 
removed before the deer is transported (including those 
taken on either-sex days and those taken with approved 
archery equipment or primitive firearms). Antlerless deer 
harvested on property enrolled in DMAP does not count in 
the season or daily bag limit for hunters. Failure to do so is a 
violation of R.S. 56:115. Failing to follow DMAP rules and 
regulations may result in suspension and cancellation of the 
program on those lands involved. DMAP participants must 
follow the deer season schedule established for their 
respective areas.  

9. Farm Raised White-tailed Deer and Exotics on 
Licensed Supplemented Shooting Preserves 

a. Definitions 
 Exotics—for purposes of this rule means any 
animal of the family Bovidae (except the Tribe Bovini 
[cattle]) or Cervidae which is not indigenous to Louisiana 

and which is confined on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve. 
Exotics shall include, but are not limited to, fallow deer, red 
deer, elk, sika deer, axis deer, and black buck antelope. 
 Hunting—in its different tenses and for purposes of 
this rule means to take or attempt to take, in accordance with 
R.S. 56:8. 
 Same as Outside—for purposes of this rule means 
hunting on a Supplemented Hunting Preserve must conform 
to applicable statutes and rules governing hunting and deer 
hunting, as provided for in Title 56 of the Louisiana Revised 
Statutes and as established annually by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission. 
 Supplemented Hunting Preserve—for purposes of 
this rule means any enclosure for which a current Farm-
Raising License has been issued by the Department of 
Agriculture and Forestry (LDAF) with concurrence of the 
LDWF and is authorized in writing by the LDAF and LDWF 
to permit hunting. 
 White-tailed Deer—for purposes of this rule means 
any animal of the species Odocoileus virginianus which is 
confined on a supplemented hunting preserve.  

b. Seasons 
 i. Farm-Raised White-tailed Deer—consult the 
regulations pamphlet. 
 ii. Exotics—year round. 

c. Methods of Take 
 i. White-tailed Deer—same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics—exotics may be taken with longbow 
(including compound bow and crossbow) and arrow; 
shotguns not larger than 10 gauge, loaded with buckshot or 
rifled slug; handguns and rifles no smaller than .22 caliber 
centerfire; or muzzleloading rifles or pistols, .44 caliber 
minimum, or shotguns 10 gauge or smaller, all of which 
must load exclusively from the muzzle or cap and ball 
cylinder, using black powder or an approved substitute only, 
and using ball or bullet projectile, including saboted bullets 
only and other approved primitive firearms. 

d. Shooting Hours 
 i. White-tailed Deer—same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics—one-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

e. Bag Limit 
 i. Farm-Raised White-tailed Deer—same as 
outside. 
 ii. Exotics—no limit. 

f. Hunting Licenses 
 i. White-tailed Deer—same as outside. 
 ii. Exotics—no person shall hunt any exotic 
without possessing a valid basic and big game hunting 
license. 

g. Tagging 
 i. White-tailed Deer and Exotics. Each animal 
shall be tagged in the left ear or left antler immediately upon 
being killed and before being moved from the site of the kill 
with a tag provided by the LDAF. The tag shall remain with 
the carcass at all times. 

10. Bobcat. No person other than the holder of a valid 
big game license may take or possess bobcat, except 
licensed trappers who may take or possess bobcat during the 
open trapping season. A big game licensee shall only take 
bobcat during the time period from one-half hour before 
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset with approved archery 
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equipment, shotgun, muzzleloader or centerfire firearm. A 
big game licensee shall not take more than one bobcat per 
calendar year. This regulation applies only to property that is 
privately owned, state WMAs, and the Bayou des Ourses, 
Bodcau, Bonnet Carre, Indian Bayou, Loggy Bayou and 
Soda Lake tracts owned by the Corps of Engineers but does 
not apply to state wildlife refuges, the Kisatchie National 
Forest, or other federally owned refuges and lands. On state 
WMAs, the take of bobcat is restricted to those open seasons 
on the WMAs which require the respective legal weapons 
noted above. 

D. Hunting-General Provisions 
1. A basic resident or non-resident hunting license is 

required of all persons to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported by any other person any wild bird or quadruped. 
See information below for exceptions. 

2. All persons born on or after September 1, 1969 
must show proof of satisfactorily completing a Hunter 
Safety course approved by LDWF to purchase a Basic 
Hunting License, except any active or veteran member of the 
United States armed services or any POST-certified law 
enforcement officer. Application for the exemption shall be 
filed in person at the LDWF main office building in the city 
of Baton Rouge. A person younger than 16 years of age may 
hunt without such certificate if he is accompanied by, and is 
under the direct supervision of a person 18 years of age or 
older.  

3. A big game license is required in addition to the 
basic hunting license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be 
transported any deer. A separate wild turkey license is 
required in addition to the basic hunting license and the big 
game license to hunt, take, possess or cause to be transported 
any turkey. 

4. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft or 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

5. Methods of Taking Resident Game Birds and 
Quadrupeds 

a. It is illegal to intentionally feed, deposit, place, 
distribute, expose, scatter, or cause to be fed, deposited, 
placed, distributed, exposed, or scattered raw sweet potatoes 
to wild game quadrupeds. 

b. Use of a longbow (including compound bow and 
crossbow) and arrow or a shotgun not larger than a 10 gauge 
fired from the shoulder without a rest shall be legal for 
taking all resident game birds and quadrupeds. Also, the use 
of a handgun, rifle and falconry (special permit required) 
shall be legal for taking all game species except turkey. It 
shall be illegal to hunt or take squirrels or rabbits at any time 
with a breech-loaded rifle or handgun larger than a .22 
caliber rimfire or a primitive firearm larger than .36 caliber. 
During closed deer gun season, it shall be illegal to possess 
shotgun shells loaded with slugs or shot larger than BB lead 
or F steel shot while small game hunting. 

c. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs is prohibited when or where a still 
hunting season or area is designated, and will be strictly 
enforced. Shotguns larger than 10 gauge or capable of 
holding more than three shells shall be prohibited. Plugs 
used in shotguns must be incapable of being removed 

without disassembly. Refer to game schedules contained 
within these regulations for specific restrictions on the use of 
firearms and other devices. 

d. No person shall take or kill any game bird or wild 
quadruped with a firearm fitted with any device to deaden or 
silence the sound of the discharge thereof; or fitted with an 
infrared sight, laser sight, or except as provided in R.S. 
56:116(A)(8) any sighting device which projects a beam of 
light to the target or otherwise electronically illuminates the 
target, or device specifically designed to enhance vision at 
night [R.S. 56:116.1(B)(3)]. 

6. Nuisance Animals. Landowners or their designees 
may remove beaver and nutria causing damage to their 
property without a special permit. Water set traps and 
firearms may be used to remove beaver; nutria may be 
removed by any means except that nutria cannot be taken by 
the use of headlight and gun between the hours of sunset and 
sunrise. With a special permit issued by the LDWF, beavers 
may be taken between one-half hour after official sunset to 
one-half hour before official sunrise for a period of three 
consecutive calendar evenings from the effective date of the 
permit. For specific details contact a region office near you. 
Any nuisance beaver or nutria trapped or shot outside open 
trapping season cannot be pelted or sold. A trapping license 
is required to sell or pelt nuisance beavers or nutria taken 
during open trapping season. Squirrels found destroying 
commercial crops of pecans may be taken year-round by 
permit issued by the LDWF. This permit shall be valid for 30 
days from the date of issuance. Contact the local region 
office for details. 

7. Threatened and Endangered Species—Louisiana 
black bear, Louisiana pearl shell (mussel), sea turtles, gopher 
tortoise, ringed sawback turtle, brown pelican, bald eagle, 
peregrine falcon, whooping crane, Eskimo curlew, piping 
plover, interior least tern, ivory-billed woodpecker, red-
cockaded woodpecker, Bachman's warbler, West Indian 
manatee, Florida panther, pallid sturgeon, Gulf sturgeon, 
Attwater’s greater prairie chicken, whales and red wolf. 
Taking or harassment of any of these species is a violation of 
state and federal laws. 

8. Outlaw Quadrupeds. Holders of a legal hunting 
license may take coyotes, feral hogs where legal, and 
armadillos year round during legal daylight shooting hours. 
The running of coyotes with dogs is prohibited in all turkey 
hunting areas during the open turkey season. Coyote hunting 
is restricted to chase only when using dogs during still 
hunting segments of the firearm and archery only season for 
deer. Foxes are protected quadrupeds and may be taken only 
with traps by licensed trappers during the trapping season. 
Remainder of the year "chase only" allowed by licensed 
hunters. 

9. Nighttime Take of Nuisance Animals and Outlaw 
Quadrupeds. On private property, the landowner, or his 
lessee or agent with written permission and the landowner’s 
contact information in his possession, may take outlaw 
quadrupeds (coyotes, armadillos and feral hogs), nutria or 
beaver during the nighttime hours from one-half hour after 
official sunset on the last day of February to one-half hour 
after official sunset the last day of August of that same year. 
The method of such taking shall be limited to a shotgun no 
larger than a No. 10 gauge fired with buckshot or smaller or 
a standard .22 caliber rimfire firearm, and may be with or 
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without the aid of artificial light, infrared or laser sighting 
devices, or night vision devices.  

10. Hunting and/or Discharging Firearms on Public 
Roads. Hunting, standing, loitering or shooting game 
quadrupeds or game birds with a gun during open season 
while on a public highway or public road right-of-way is 
prohibited. Hunting or the discharge of firearms on roads or 
highways located on public levees or within 100 feet from 
the centerline of such levee roads or highways is prohibited. 
Spot lighting or shining from public roads is prohibited by 
state law. Hunting from all public roads and rights-of-way is 
prohibited and these provisions will be strictly enforced. 

11. Tags. Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided 
shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big 
game license number of the person killing the deer or wild 
turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be 
legibly written in pen or pencil, on any piece of paper or 
cardboard or any material, which is attached or secured to or 
enclosing the part or parts. On lands enrolled in DMAP, deer 
management assistance tags must be attached and locked 
through the hock of antlerless deer, (including those taken 
with approved archery and primitive firearms, and those 
antlerless deer taken on either-sex days) in a manner that it 
cannot be removed, before the deer is moved from the site of 
the kill. 

12. Sex Identification. Positive evidence of sex 
identification, including the head, shall remain on any deer 
taken or killed within the state of Louisiana, or on all turkeys 
taken or killed during any special gobbler season when 
killing of turkey hens is prohibited, so long as such deer or 
turkey is kept in camp or field, or is in route to the domicile 
of its possessor, or until such deer or turkey has been stored 
at the domicile of its possessor or divided at a cold storage 
facility and has become identifiable as food rather than as 
wild game. 

E. General Deer Hunting Regulations 
1. Prior to hunting deer, all deer hunters, regardless of 

age or license status, must obtain deer tags and have in 
possession when hunting deer. Immediately upon harvesting 
a deer, the hunter must tag the deer with the appropriate 
carcass tag and document the kill on the deer tag license. 
Within 7 days the hunter must validate the kill. Hunters 
harvesting deer on DMAP lands can validate deer per 
instructions by LDWF using the DMAP harvest data sheets. 
Hunters on WMAS can validate deer during mandatory deer 
check hunts, when deer check stations are in operation. 
Hunters may validate deer by calling the validation toll free 
number or using the validation web site.  

2. One antlered and one antlerless deer per day (when 
legal) except on national forest lands and some federal 
refuges (check refuge regulations) where the daily limit shall 
be one deer per day. Season limit is six, three antlered bucks 
and three antlerless deer (all segments included) by all 
methods of take, except antlerless harvest on property 
enrolled in DMAP does not count in the season or daily bag 
limit for hunters. Antlerless deer may be harvested during 
entire deer season on private lands (all segments included) 
except in the following parishes: West Carroll and portions 
of East Carroll. Consult regulations pamphlet, modern 
firearms table for either-sex days for these parishes. This 
does not apply to public lands (WMAs, national forest lands, 

and federal refuges) which will have specified either-sex 
days. 

3. A legal antlered deer is a deer with at least one 
visible antler of hardened bony material, broken naturally 
through the skin, except in Thistlethwaite WMA, see 
specific Thistlethwaite WMA regulations for more 
information. Killing antlerless deer is prohibited except 
where specifically allowed. 

4. Either-sex deer is defined as male or female deer. 
Taking or possessing spotted fawns is prohibited. 

5. It is illegal to hunt or shoot deer with firearms 
smaller than .22 caliber centerfire or a shotgun loaded with 
anything other than buckshot or rifled slug. Handguns may 
be used for hunting. 

6. Taking game quadrupeds or birds from aircraft, 
participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or 
from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is 
prohibited. 

7. Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary 
stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or 
hunting deer with dogs or moving vehicles, including ATVs, 
when or where a still hunting season or area is designated, is 
prohibited and will be strictly enforced. The training of deer 
dogs is prohibited in all still hunting areas during the gun 
still hunting and archery only season. Deer hunting with 
dogs is allowed in all other areas having open deer seasons 
that are not specifically designated as still hunting only. A 
leashed dog may be used to trail and retrieve wounded or 
unrecovered deer during legal hunting hours. Any dog used 
to trail or retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer shall have 
on a collar with owner’s name, address, and phone number. 
In addition, a dog may be used to trail and retrieve 
unrecovered deer after legal hunting hours; however, no 
person accompanying a dog after legal hunting hours may 
carry a firearm of any sort. 

8. It is illegal to take deer while deer are swimming or 
while the hunter is in a boat with motor attached in operating 
position; however the restriction in this Paragraph shall not 
apply to any person who has lost one or more limbs. 

9. Areas not specifically designated as open are 
closed. 

10. Primitive Firearms Segment (special license and 
primitive firearms specifications apply only to the special 
state, WMA, national forest and preserves, and federal 
refuge seasons)—still hunt only. Specific WMAs will also 
be open, check WMA schedule for specific details. Primitive 
firearms license required for resident hunters between the 
ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and non-residents 16 years of 
age and older. Either-sex deer may be taken in all deer 
hunting areas except Area 5 and as specified on public areas. 
It is unlawful to carry a gun, other than a primitive firearm, 
including those powered by air or other means, while 
hunting during the special primitive firearms segment. 
Except, it is lawful to carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded 
with #12 shot (ratshot only). 

a. Legal Primitive Firearms For Special Season. 
Rifles or pistols, .44 caliber minimum, or shotguns 10 gauge 
or smaller, all of which must load exclusively from the 
muzzle or cap and ball cylinder, use black powder or 
approved substitute only, take ball or bullet projectile only, 
including saboted bullets and may be fitted with magnified 
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scopes. This includes muzzleloaders known as “inline” 
muzzleloaders. 

b. Single shot, breech loading rifles, .38 caliber or 
larger, of a kind or type manufactured prior to 1900 and 
replicas, reproductions or reintroductions of that type rifle 
having an exposed hammer that use metallic cartridges 
loaded either with black powder or modern smokeless 
powder and may be fitted with magnified scopes. 

c. Special Youth Deer Shotgun Season on Private 
Land (either-sex). Youths 17 or younger may hunt deer with 
shotguns using slugs only during the Primitive Firearms 
Season in each deer hunting area. 

11. Archery Segment. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
WMA seasons are the same as outside except as noted 
below. Archery license required for resident bow hunters 
between the ages of 16 and 59 inclusive and non-residents 
16 years of age and older. Either-sex deer may be taken in all 
areas open for deer hunting except when a bucks only season 
is in progress for gun hunting, and except in Area 6 from 
October 1-15. Archer's must conform to the bucks only 
regulations. Either-sex deer may be taken on WMAs at 
anytime during archery season except when bucks only 
seasons are in progress on the respective WMA. Also, 
archery season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta, Salvador, 
Lake Boeuf, and Pointe-aux-Chenes WMAs (see schedule). 

a. Bow and Arrow Regulations. Longbow, 
compound bow and crossbow or any bow drawn, held or 
released by mechanical means will be a legal means of take 
for all properly licensed hunters. Hunting arrows for deer 
must have well-sharpened broadhead points. Bow and arrow 
fishermen must have a sport fishing license and not carry 
any arrows with broadhead points unless a big game season 
is in progress. 
 i. It is unlawful: 

(a). to carry a gun, including those powered by 
air or other means, while hunting with bow and arrow during 
the special bow and arrow deer season except it is lawful to 
carry a .22 caliber rimfire pistol loaded with #12 shot 
(ratshot) only; 

(b). to have in possession or use any poisoned or 
drugged arrow or arrows with explosive tips; 

(c). to hunt deer with a bow having a pull less 
than 30 pounds; 

(d). to hunt with a bow or crossbow fitted with 
an infrared, laser sight, electrically-operated sight or device 
specifically designed to enhance vision at night (does not 
include non-projecting red dot sights) [R.S. 56:116.1(B)(4)]. 

12. Hunter Orange. Any person hunting any wildlife 
during the open gun deer hunting season and possessing 
buckshot, slugs, a primitive firearm, or a centerfire rifle shall 
display on his head, chest and/or back a total of not less than 
400 square inches of hunter orange. Persons hunting on 
privately owned, legally posted land may wear a hunter 
orange cap or hat in lieu of the 400 square inches. These 
provisions shall not apply to persons hunting deer from 
elevated stands on property that is privately owned and 
legally posted or to archery deer hunters hunting on legally 
posted lands where firearm hunting is not allowed by 
agreement of the landowner or lessee. However, anyone 
hunting deer on such lands where hunting with firearms is 
allowed shall be required to display the 400 square inches or 
a hunter orange cap or hat while walking to and from 

elevated stands. While a person is hunting from an elevated 
stand, the 400 square inches or cap or hat may be concealed.  

Warning: Deer hunters are cautioned towatch for persons 
hunting other game or engaged in activities not requiring 
hunter orange.  

13. Special physically challenged either-sex deer 
season on private land—first Saturday of October for two 
days. Restricted to individuals with Physically Challenged 
Hunter Permit. 

14.a. Special Youth Deer Hunt on Private Lands 
(either-sex) 
 i. Areas 1, 4, 5 and 6—last Saturday of October 
for two days; 
 ii. Area 2—second Saturday of October for two 
days; and  
 iii. Areas 3, 7 and 8—fourth Saturday of 
September for two days. 

b. Youths 17 or Younger Only. Youths must be 
accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or older. Youths 
must possess a hunter safety certification or proof of 
successful completion of a hunter safety course. If the 
accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm. 
Youths may possess only one firearm while hunting. Legal 
firearms are the same as described for deer hunting. The 
supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times, except properly licensed youths 
16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or older who have 
successfully completed a hunter safety course may hunt 
without a supervising adult.  

F. Description of Areas, 2011-2012 
1. Area 1 

a. All of the following parishes are open:  
 i. Concordia; 
 ii. East Baton Rouge; 
 iii. East Feliciana; 
 iv. Franklin; 
 v. Madison; 
 vi. St. Helena; 
 vii. Tensas; 
 viii. Washington. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Catahoula—east of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, east of Ouachita River from its confluence with Boeuf 
River to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 southwesterly to 
parish line; 
 ii. East Carroll—east of mainline Mississippi 
River Levee and south and east of LA 877 from West Carroll 
Parish line to LA 580, south of LA 580 to US 65, west of US 
65 to Madison parish line; 
 iii. Grant—east of US 165 and south of LA 8; 
 iv. LaSalle - South of a line beginning where 
Little River enters Catahoula Lake following the center of 
the lake eastward to Old River then to US 84, east of US 84 
northward to LA 8, south of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 
 v. Livingston—north of I-12; 
 vi. Rapides—east of US 165 and north of Red 
River; 
 vii. St. Tammany—all except that portion south of 
I-12, west of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to 
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Tchefuncte River, west of Tchefuncte River southward to 
Lake Pontchartrain; 
 viii. Tangipahoa—north of I-12; 
 ix. West Feliciana—all except that portion known 
as Raccourci and Turnbull Island. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Catahoula—south of Deer Creek to Boeuf 
River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 913 and 
LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 ii. East Carroll—east of mainline Mississippi 
River Levee and south and east of LA 877 from West Carroll 
parish line to LA 580, south of LA 580 to US 65, west of US 
65 to Madison parish line; 
 iii. East Feliciana and East Baton Rouge—east of 
Thompson Creek from the Mississippi state line to LA 10, 
north of LA 10 from Thompson Creek to LA 67 at Clinton, 
west of LA 67 from Clinton to Mississippi state line, south 
of Mississippi state line from LA 67 to Thompson Creek. 
Also that portion of East Baton Rouge Parish east of LA 67 
from LA 64 north to parish line, south of parish line from LA 
64 eastward to Amite River, west of Amite River southward 
to LA 64, north of LA 64 to LA 37 at Magnolia, east of LA 
37 northward to LA 64 at Indian Mound, north of LA 64 
from Indian Mound to LA 67. Also, that portion of East 
Feliciana Parish east of LA 67 from parish line north to LA 
959, south of LA 959 east to LA 63, west of LA 63 to Amite 
River, west of Amite River southward to parish line, north of 
parish line westward to LA 67; 
 iv. Franklin—all; 
 v. St. Helena—north of LA 16 from Tickfaw 
River at Montpelier westward to LA 449, east and south of 
LA 449 from LA 16 at Pine Grove northward to Rohner 
Road, south of Rohner Road to LA 1045, south of LA 1045 
to the Tickfaw River, west of the Tickfaw River from LA 
1045 southward to LA 16 at Montpelier. 
 vi. Tangipahoa—that portion of Tangipahoa Parish 
north of LA 10 from the Tchefuncte River to LA 1061 at 
Wilmer, east of LA 1061 to LA 440 at Bolivar, south of LA 
440 to the Tchefuncte River, west of the Tchefuncte River 
from LA 440 southward to LA 10; 
 vii. Washington and St. Tammany—east of LA 21 
from the Mississippi state line southward to the Bogue 
Chitto River, north of the Bogue Chitto River from LA 21 
eastward to the Pearl River Navigation Canal, east of the 
Pearl River Navigation Canal southward to the West Pearl 
River, north of the West Pearl River from the Pearl River 
Navigation Canal to Holmes Bayou, west of Holmes Bayou 
from the West Pearl River northward to the Pearl River, west 
of the Pearl River from Holmes Bayou northward to the 
Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line from 
the Pearl River westward to LA 21. Also, that portion of 
Washington Parish west of LA 25 from the Mississippi state 
line southward to the Bogue Chitto River, then west of the 
Bogue Chitto River to its junction with the St. Tammany 
parish line, north of the St. Tammany parish line to the 
Tangipahoa parish line, east of the Tangipahoa parish line to 
the Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line 
to its junction with LA 25; 
 viii. West Feliciana—west of Thompson Creek to 
Illinois-Central Railroad, north of Illinois-Central Railroad 

to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the junction of 
US 61 and LA 966, east of LA 966 from US 61 to Chaney 
Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson Creek. 

2. Area 2 
a. All of the following parishes are open:  

 i. Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Claiborne, 
DeSoto, Jackson, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, 
Union, Webster, Winn; 
 ii. except—Kisatchie National Forest which has 
special regulations. Caney, Corney, Middlefork tracts of 
Kisatchie have the same regulations as Area 2, except still 
hunting only for deer and except National Forest Land 
within the Evangeline Unit, Calcasieu Ranger District 
described in Area 2 description shall be still hunting only. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen—north of US 190 from parish line 
westward to Kinder, east of US 165 from Kinder northward 
to LA 10 at Oakdale, north of LA 10 from Oakdale westward 
to the parish line; 
 ii. Avoyelles—that portion west of I-49; 
 iii. Catahoula—west of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, west of Ouachita River from its confluence with 
Boeuf River to LA 8, north and west of LA 8 southwesterly 
to parish line; 
 iv. Evangeline—all except the following portions: 

(a). east of I-49 to junction of LA 29; 
(b). east of LA 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte; 

and 
(c). north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 

 v. Grant—all except that portion south of LA 8 
and east of US 165; 
 vi. Jefferson Davis—north of US 190; 
 vii. LaSalle—north of a line beginning where Little 
River enters Catahoula Lake, following the center of the lake 
eastward to Old River then to US 84, west of US 84 
northward to LA 8, north of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 
 viii. Morehouse—west of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to 
Bastrop, west of LA 139 to junction of LA 593, west and 
south of LA 593 to Collinston, west of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and north of LA 134 to Ouachita Parish line at 
Wham Brake; 
 ix. Ouachita—all except south of US 80 and east 
of Ouachita River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of 
LA 134, south of LA 134 to Morehouse parish line at Wham 
Brake; 
 x. Rapides—all except north of Red River and 
east of US 165, south of LA 465 to junction of LA 121, west 
of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill, and north of LA 113 
from Union Hill to Vernon Parish line, and that portion south 
of Alexandria between Red River and US 167 to junction of 
US 167 with I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 
southward to parish line; 
 xi. Vernon—north of LA 10 from the parish line 
westward to LA 113, south of LA 113 eastward to parish 
line. Also the portion north of LA 465 west of LA 117 from 
Kurthwood to Leesville and north of LA 8 from Leesville to 
Texas state line. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
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 i. Claiborne and Webster—Caney, Corney and 
Middlefork tracts of Kisatchie National Forest (see Kisatchie 
National Forest regulations); 
 ii. Ouachita—east of Ouachita River; 
 iii. Rapides—west of US 167 from Alexandria 
southward to I-49 at Turkey Creek Exit, west of I-49 
southward to Parish Line, north of parish line westward to 
US 165, east of US 165 northward to US 167 at Alexandria. 
North of LA 465 from Vernon Parish line to LA 121, west of 
LA 121 to I-49, west of I-49 to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 
to LA 118 (Mora Road), south and west of LA 118 to 
Natchitoches parish line; 
 iv. Vernon—east of Mora-Hutton Road from 
Natchitoches parish line to Hillman Loop Road, south and 
east of Hillman Loop Road to Comrade Road, south of 
Comrade Road to LA 465, east and north of LA 465 to 
Rapides parish line. 

3. Area 3 
a. All of Acadia, Cameron and Vermilion Parishes 

are open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. Allen—south of US 190 and west of LA 113; 
 ii. Beauregard—west of LA 113 and east of LA 
27 from the parish line northward to DeRidder and north of 
US 190 westward from DeRidder to Texas state line; 
 iii. Calcasieu—south of US 90 from Sulphur to 
Texas state line. Also east of LA 27 from Sulphur northward 
to the parish line; 
 iv. Iberia—west of US 90 and north of LA 14; 
 v. Jefferson Davis—all except north of US 190; 
 vi. Lafayette—west of I-49 and US 90; 
 vii. Rapides—south of LA 465 to junction of LA 
121, west of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill and north of 
LA 113 from Union Hill to Vernon parish line; 
 viii. St. Landry—west of US 167; 
 ix. Vernon—west and north of LA 113, south of 
LA 465, east of LA 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of LA 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

4. Area 4 
a. All of Richland parish is open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. East Carroll—west of mainline Mississippi 
River Levee and north and west of LA 877 from West 
Carroll Parish line to LA 580, north of LA 580 to US 65, east 
of US 65 to Madison parish line; 
 ii. Morehouse—east of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, south and east of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), east of LA 830-4 to Bastrop, 
east of LA 139 at Bastrop to junction of LA 593, east and 
north of LA 593 to Collinston, east of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and south of LA 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake; 
 iii. Ouachita—south of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Brake. 

5. Area 5 
a. All of West Carroll Parish is open. 

6. Area 6 
a. All of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Ascension; 
 ii. Assumption; 
 iii. Iberville; 

 iv. Jefferson; 
 v. Lafourche; 
 vi. Orleans; 
 vii. Plaquemines; 
 viii. Pointe Coupee; 
 ix. St. Bernard; 
 x. St. Charles; 
 xi. St. James; 
 xii. St. John; 
 xiii. St. Martin; 
 xiv. Terrebonne; 
 xv. West Baton Rouge. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Avoyelles—all except that portion west of I-
49; 
 ii. Evangeline—that portion east of I-49 to 
junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte 
and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 iii. Iberia—east of US 90; 
 iv. Lafayette—east of I-49 and US 90; 
 v. Livingston—south of I-12; 
 vi. Rapides—south of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 vii. St. Landry—east of US 167; 
 viii. St. Mary—north of US 90 from Iberia Parish 
line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east of Wax Lake Outlet 
southward to Intracoastal Waterway, north of Intracoastal 
Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya River, east of the 
Atchafalaya River southward to Bayou Shaffer, north of 
Bayou Shaffer to Bateman Lake, north and west of Bayou 
Chene from Bateman Lake to Lake Palourde; 
 ix. St. Tammany—that portion south of I-12, west 
of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to Tchefuncte River, 
west of Tchefuncte River southward to Lake Pontchartrain; 
 x. Tangipahoa—south of I-12; 
 xi. West Feliciana—west of Mississippi River, 
known as Raccourci and Turnbull Islands. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Avoyelles—north of LA 1 from Simmesport 
westward to LA 115 at Marksville, east of LA 115 from 
Marksville northward to the Red River near Moncla, south 
and west of the Red River to LA 1 at Simmesport; 
 ii. Plaquemines—east of the Mississippi River; 
 iii. Rapides—south of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 iv. St. Bernard—all of the parish shall be still 
hunting only except that portion of St. Bernard known as the 
spoil area between the MRGO on the east and Access Canal 
on the west, south of Bayou Bienvenue and north of Bayou 
la Loutre; 
 v. St. John—south of Pass Manchac from Lake 
Pontchartrain to US 51, east of US 51 from Pass Manchac to 
LA 638 (Frenier Beach Road). North of LA 638 from US 51 
to Lake Pontchartrain, west of Lake Pontchartrain from LA 
638 to Pass Manchac; 
 vi. St. Landry—those lands surrounding 
Thistlethwaite WMA bounded north and east by LA 359, 
west by LA 10, and south by LA 103; 
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 vii. high water benchmark closure—deer hunting 
in those portions of Iberia, Iberville, St. Martin, and St. Mary 
parishes south of I-10, west of the East Guide Levee, east of 
the West Guide Levee, and north of US 90 will be closed 
when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 18 feet 
at Butte LaRose. 

7. Area 7 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Iberia—south of LA 14 and west of US 90; 
 ii. St. Mary—all except that portion north of US 
90 from Iberia Parish line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east 
of Wax Lake Outlet southward to Intracoastal Waterway, 
north of Intracoastal Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya 
River, east of the Atchafalaya River southward to Bayou 
Shaffer, north of Bayou Shaffer to Bateman Lake, north and 
west of Bayou Chene from Bateman Lake to Lake Palourde; 

8. Area 8 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Allen—that portion east of LA 113 from the 
parish line to US 190, north of US 190 eastward to Kinder, 
west of US 165 northward to LA 10 at Oakdale and south of 
LA 10 from Oakdale westward to parish line; 
 ii. Beauregard—that portion east of LA 113. Also 
that portion west of LA 27 from parish line northward to 
DeRidder, south of US 190 from DeRidder to Texas state 
line; 
 iii. Calcasieu—that portion east of LA 27 from the 
parish line southward to Sulphur and north of US 90 from 
Sulphur to the Texas state line; 
 iv. Vernon—that portion west of LA 113 from the 
parish line northward to Pitkin and south of LA 10 from 
Pitkin southward to the parish line. 

G. Description of Areas, 2012-2013 
1. Area 1 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Concordia; 
 ii. East Baton Rouge; 
 iii. East Carroll; 
 iv. East Feliciana; 
 v. Franklin; 
 vi. Madison; 
 vii. Richland; 
 viii. St. Helena; 
 ix. Tensas; 
 x. Washington. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Catahoula—east of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, east of Ouachita River from its confluence with Boeuf 
River to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 southwesterly to 
parish line; 
 ii. East Carroll—east of mainline Mississippi 
River Levee and south and east of LA 877 from West Carroll 
Parish line to LA 580, south of LA 580 to US 65, west of US 
65 to Madison Parish line; 
 iii. Grant—east of US 165 and south of LA 8; 
 iv. LaSalle—south of a line beginning where 
Little River enters Catahoula Lake following the center of 
the lake eastward to Old River then to US 84, east of US 84 
northward to LA 8, south of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 
 v. Livingston—north of I-12; 

 vi. Ouachita—south of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Brake; 
 vii. Rapides—east of US 165 and north of Red 
River; 
 viii. St. Tammany—all except that portion south of 
I-12, west of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to 
Tchefuncte River, west of Tchefuncte River southward to 
Lake Pontchartrain; 
 ix. Tangipahoa—north of I-12; 
 x. West Feliciana—all except that portion known 
as Raccourci and Turnbull Island. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Catahoula—south of Deer Creek to Boeuf 
River, east of Boeuf and Ouachita Rivers to LA 8 at 
Harrisonburg, west of LA 8 to LA 913, west of LA 913 and 
LA 15 to Deer Creek; 
 ii. East Carroll—all; 
 iii. East Feliciana and East Baton Rouge—east of 
Thompson Creek from the Mississippi state line to LA 10, 
north of LA 10 from Thompson Creek to LA 67 at Clinton, 
west of LA 67 from Clinton to Mississippi state line, south 
of Mississippi state line from LA 67 to Thompson Creek. 
Also that portion of East Baton Rouge Parish east of LA 67 
from LA 64 north to Parish Line, south of Parish Line from 
LA 64 eastward to Amite River, west of Amite River 
southward to LA 64, north of LA 64 to LA 37 at Magnolia, 
east of LA 37 northward to LA 64 at Indian Mound, north of 
LA 64 from Indian Mound to LA 67. Also, that portion of 
East Feliciana Parish east of LA 67 from parish line north to 
LA 959, south of LA 959 east to LA 63, west of LA 63 to 
Amite River, west of Amite River southward to parish line, 
north of parish line westward to LA 67; 
 iv. Franklin—all; 
 v. Morehouse—east of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, south and east of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), east of LA 830-4 to Bastrop, 
east of LA 139 at Bastrop to junction of LA 593, east and 
north of LA 593 to Collinston, east of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and south of LA 134 to Ouachita line at Wham 
Brake; 
 vi. Ouachita—south of US 80 and east of Ouachita 
River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of LA 134, 
south of LA 134 to Morehouse line at Wham Brake; 
 vii. Richland—all; 
 viii. St. Helena—north of LA 16 from Tickfaw 
River at Montpelier westward to LA 449, east and south of 
LA 449 from LA 16 at Pine Grove northward to Rohner 
Road, south of Rohner Road to LA 1045, south of LA 1045 
to the Tickfaw River, west of the Tickfaw River from LA 
1045 southward to LA 16 at Montpelier; 
 ix. Tangipahoa—that portion of Tangipahoa Parish 
north of LA 10 from the Tchefuncte River to LA 1061 at 
Wilmer, east of LA 1061 to LA 440 at Bolivar, south of LA 
440 to the Tchefuncte River, west of the Tchefuncte River 
from LA 440 southward to LA 10; 
 x. Washington and St. Tammany—east of LA 21 
from the Mississippi state line southward to the Bogue 
Chitto River, north of the Bogue Chitto River from LA 21 
eastward to the Pearl River Navigation Canal, east of the 
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Pearl River Navigation Canal southward to the West Pearl 
River, north of the West Pearl River from the Pearl River 
Navigation Canal to Holmes Bayou, west of Holmes Bayou 
from the West Pearl River northward to the Pearl River, west 
of the Pearl River from Holmes Bayou northward to the 
Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line from 
the Pearl River westward to LA 21. Also, that portion of 
Washington Parish west of LA 25 from the Mississippi state 
line southward to the Bogue Chitto River, then west of the 
Bogue Chitto River to its junction with the St. Tammany 
parish line, north of the St. Tammany parish line to the 
Tangipahoa parish line, east of the Tangipahoa parish line to 
the Mississippi state line, south of the Mississippi state line 
to its junction with LA 25; 
 xi. West Feliciana—west of Thompson Creek to 
Illinois-Central Railroad, north of Illinois-Central Railroad 
to Parish Road #7, east of Parish Road #7 to the junction of 
US 61 and LA 966, east of LA 966 from US 61 to Chaney 
Creek, south of Chaney Creek to Thompson Creek. 

2. Area 2 
a. All of the following parishes are open:  

 i. Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Claiborne, 
DeSoto, Jackson, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Red River, Sabine, 
Union, Webster, Winn; 
 ii. except, Kisatchie National Forest which has 
special regulations. Caney, Corney, Middlefork tracts of 
Kisatchie have the same regulations as Area 2, except still 
hunting only for deer and except National Forest Land 
within the Evangeline Unit, Calcasieu Ranger District 
described in Area 2 description shall be still hunting only. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Allen—north of US 190 from parish line 
westward to Kinder, east of US 165 from Kinder northward 
to LA 10 at Oakdale, north of LA 10 from Oakdale westward 
to the parish line; 
 ii. Avoyelles—that portion west of I-49. 
 iii. Catahoula—west of Boeuf River to Ouachita 
River, west of Ouachita River from its confluence with 
Boeuf River to LA 8, north and west of LA 8 southwesterly 
to parish line.  
 iv. Evangeline—all except the following portions: 
east of I-49 to junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 
to Ville Platte, and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 v. Grant—all except that portion south of LA 8 
and east of US 165; 
 vi. Jefferson Davis—north of US 190; 
 vii. LaSalle—north of a line beginning where Little 
River enters Catahoula Lake, following the center of the lake 
eastward to Old River then to US 84, west of US 84 
northward to LA 8, north of LA 8 eastward to parish line; 
 viii. Morehouse—west of US 165 (from Arkansas 
state line) to Bonita, north and west of LA 140 to junction of 
LA 830-4 (Cooper Lake Road), west of LA 830-4 to 
Bastrop, west of LA 139 to junction of LA 593, west and 
south of LA 593 to Collinston, west of LA 138 to junction of 
LA 134 and north of LA 134 to Ouachita parish line at 
Wham Brake; 
 ix. Ouachita—all except south of US 80 and east 
of Ouachita River, east of LA 139 from Sicard to junction of 
LA 134, south of LA 134 to Morehouse parish line at Wham 
Brake; 

 x. Rapides—all except north of Red River and 
east of US 165, south of LA 465 to junction of LA 121, west 
of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill, and north of LA 113 
from Union Hill to Vernon parish line, and that portion south 
of Alexandria between Red River and US 167 to junction of 
US 167 with I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 
southward to parish line; 
 xi. Vernon—north of LA 10 from the parish line 
westward to LA 113, south of LA 113 eastward to parish 
line. Also the portion north of LA 465 west of LA 117 from 
Kurthwood to Leesville and north of LA 8 from Leesville to 
Texas state line. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Claiborne and Webster—Caney, Corney and 
Middlefork tracts of Kisatchie National Forest. (See 
Kisatchie National Forest regulations); 
 ii. Ouachita—east of Ouachita River; 
 iii. Rapides—west of US 167 from Alexandria 
southward to I-49 at Turkey Creek exit, west of I-49 
southward to parish line, north of parish line westward to US 
165, east of US 165 northward to US 167 at Alexandria. 
North of LA 465 from Vernon parish line to LA 121, west of 
LA 121 to I-49, west of I-49 to LA 8, south and east of LA 8 
to LA 118 (Mora Road), south and west of LA 118 to 
Natchitoches parish line; 
 iv. Vernon—east of Mora-Hutton Road from 
Natchitoches Parish line to Hillman Loop Road, south and 
east of Hillman Loop Road to Comrade Road, south of 
Comrade Road to LA 465, east and north of LA 465 to 
Rapides parish line. 

3. Area 3 
a. All of Acadia, Cameron and Vermilion Parishes 

are open. 
b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 

 i. Allen—south of US 190 and west of LA 113; 
 ii. Beauregard—west of LA 113 and east of LA 
27 from the parish line northward to DeRidder and north of 
US 190 westward from DeRidder to Texas state line; 
 iii. Calcasieu—south of US 90 from Sulphur to 
Texas state line. Also east of LA 27 from Sulphur northward 
to the parish line; 
 iv. Iberia—west of US 90 and north of LA 14; 
 v. Jefferson Davis—all except north of US 190; 
 vi. Lafayette—west of I-49 and US 90; 
 vii. Rapides—south of LA 465 to junction of LA 
121, west of LA 121 and LA 112 to Union Hill and north of 
LA 113 from Union Hill to Vernon parish line; 
 viii. St. Landry—west of US 167; 
 ix. Vernon—west and north of LA 113, south of 
LA 465, east of LA 117 from Kurthwood to Leesville, and 
south of LA 8 from Leesville to Texas state line. 

4. See Area 1.  
5. Area 5 

a. All of West Carroll Parish is open. 
6. Area 6 

a. All of the following parishes are open: 
 i. Ascension; 
 ii. Assumption; 
 iii. Iberville; 
 iv. Jefferson; 
 v. Lafourche; 
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 vi. Orleans; 
 vii. Plaquemines; 
 viii. Pointe Coupee; 
 ix. St. Bernard; 
 x. St. Charles; 
 xi. St. James; 
 xii. St. John; 
 xiii. St. Martin; 
 xiv. Terrebonne; 
 xv. West Baton Rouge. 

b. Portions of the following parishes are also open: 
 i. Avoyelles—all except that portion west of I-
49; 
 ii. Evangeline—that portion east of I-49 to 
junction of LA 29, east of LA 29 south of I-49 to Ville Platte 
and north of US 167 east of Ville Platte; 
 iii. Iberia—east of US 90; 
 iv. Lafayette—east of I-49 and US 90; 
 v. Livingston—south of I-12; 
 vi. Rapides—south of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 vii. St. Landry—east of US 167; 
 viii. St. Mary—north of US 90 from Iberia Parish 
line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east of Wax Lake Outlet 
southward to Intracoastal Waterway, north of Intracoastal 
Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya River, east of the 
Atchafalaya River southward to Bayou Shaffer, north of 
Bayou Shaffer to Bateman Lake, north and west of Bayou 
Chene from Bateman Lake to Lake Palourde; 
 ix. St. Tammany—that portion south of I-12, west 
of LA 1077 to LA 22, south of LA 22 to Tchefuncte River, 
west of Tchefuncte River southward to Lake Pontchartrain; 
 x. Tangipahoa—south of I-12; 
 xi. West Feliciana—west of Mississippi River, 
known as Raccourci and Turnbull Islands. 

c. Still hunting only in all or portions of the 
following parishes: 
 i. Avoyelles—north of LA 1 from Simmesport 
westward to LA 115 at Marksville, east of LA 115 from 
Marksville northward to the Red River near Moncla, south 
and west of the Red River to LA 1 at Simmesport; 
 ii. Plaquemines—east of the Mississippi River; 
 iii. Rapides—south of Alexandria between Red 
River and US 167 to the junction of US 167 with I-49 at 
Turkey Creek Exit, east of I-49 southward to parish line; 
 iv. St. Bernard—all of the parish shall be still 
hunting only except that portion of St. Bernard known as the 
spoil area between the MRGO on the east and Access Canal 
on the west, south of Bayou Bienvenue and north of Bayou 
la Loutre; 
 v. St. John—south of Pass Manchac from Lake 
Pontchartrain to US 51, east of US 51 from Pass Manchac to 
LA 638 (Frenier Beach Road). North of LA 638 from US 51 
to Lake Pontchartrain, west of Lake Pontchartrain from LA 
638 to Pass Manchac; 
 vi. St. Landry—those lands surrounding 
Thistlethwaite WMA bounded north and east by LA 359, 
west by LA 10, and south by LA 103; 
 vii. high water benchmark closure. Deer hunting in 
those portions of Iberia, Iberville, St. Martin, and St. Mary 

parishes south of I-10, west of the East Guide Levee, east of 
the West Guide Levee, and north of US 90 will be closed 
when the river stage of the Atchafalaya River reaches 18 feet 
at Butte LaRose. 

7. Area 7 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Iberia—south of LA 14 and west of US 90; 
 ii. St. Mary—all except that portion north of US 
90 from Iberia Parish line eastward to Wax Lake Outlet, east 
of Wax Lake Outlet southward to Intracoastal Waterway, 
north of Intracoastal Waterway eastward to the Atchafalaya 
River, east of the Atchafalaya River southward to Bayou 
Shaffer, north of Bayou Shaffer to Bateman Lake, north and 
west of Bayou Chene from Bateman Lake to Lake Palourde. 

8. Area 8 
a. Portions of the following parishes are open: 

 i. Allen—that portion east of LA 113 from the 
parish line to US 190, north of US 190 eastward to Kinder, 
west of US 165 northward to LA 10 at Oakdale and south of 
LA 10 from Oakdale westward to parish line; 
 ii. Beauregard—that portion east of LA 113. Also 
that portion west of LA 27 from parish line northward to 
DeRidder, south of US 190 from DeRidder to Texas state 
line; 
 iii. Calcasieu—that portion east of LA 27 from the 
parish line southward to Sulphur and north of US 90 from 
Sulphur to the Texas state line; 
 iv. Vernon—that portion west of LA 113 from the 
parish line northward to Pitkin and south of LA 10 from 
Pitkin southward to the parish line. 

H. WMA Regulations 
1. General 

a. The following rules and regulations concerning 
the management, protection and harvest of wildlife have 
been officially approved and adopted by the Wildlife and 
Fisheries Commission in accordance with the authority 
provided in Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950, Section 109 
of Title 56. Failure to comply with these regulations will 
subject individual to citation and/or expulsion from the 
management area. 

b. Citizens are cautioned that by entering a WMA 
managed by the LDWF they may be subjecting themselves 
and/or their vehicles to game and/or license checks, 
inspections and searches. 

c. WMA seasons may be altered or closed anytime 
by the LDWF Secretary in emergency situations (floods, fire 
or other critical circumstances). 

d. Hunters may enter the WMA no earlier than 4 
a.m. unless otherwise specified. Hunters must check out and 
exit the WMA no later than two hours after sunset, or as 
otherwise specified. 

e. Lands within WMA boundaries will have the 
same seasons and regulations pertaining to baiting and use of 
dogs as the WMA within which the lands are enclosed; 
however, with respect to private lands enclosed within a 
WMA, the owner or lessee may elect to hunt according to 
the regular season dates and hunting regulations applicable 
to the geographic area in which the lands are located, 
provided that the lands are first enrolled in DMAP. 
Interested parties should contact the nearest LDWF region 
office for additional information. 
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f. Dumping garbage or trash on WMAs is 
prohibited. Garbage and trash may be properly disposed of 
in designated locations if provided. 

g. Disorderly conduct or hunting under influence of 
alcoholic beverages, chemicals and other similar substances 
is prohibited. 

h. Damage to or removal of trees, shrubs, hard mast 
(including but not limited acorn and pecans), wild plants, 
non-game wildlife (including reptiles and amphibians) or 
any species of butterflies, skippers or moths is prohibited 
without a permit from the LDWF. Gathering and/or removal 
of soft fruits, mushrooms and berries shall be limited to 5 
gallons per person per day. 

i. Burning of marshes is prohibited. Hunting 
actively burning marsh prohibited. 

j. Nature Trails. Trails shall be limited to 
pedestrians only. No vehicles, ATVs, horses, mules, bicycles, 
etc. allowed. Removal of vegetation (standing or down) or 
other natural material prohibited. 

k. Deer seasons are for legal buck deer unless 
otherwise specified. 

l. Small game, when listed under the WMA 
regulations may include both resident game animals and 
game birds as well as migratory species of birds. 

m. Oysters may not be harvested from any WMA, 
except that oysters may be harvested from private oyster 
leases and state seed grounds located within a WMA, when 
authorized by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and 
upon approval by the Department of Health and Hospitals. 

n. Free ranging livestock prohibited. 
2. Permits 

a. A WMA Hunting Permit is required for persons 
ages 18 through 59 to hunt on WMAs. 

b. Self-Clearing Permits. A Self-Clearing Permit is 
required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, 
birdwatching, sightseeing, etc.) on WMAs unless otherwise 
specified. The Self-Clearing Permit will consist of two 
portions: check-in and check-out. On WMAs where Self-
Clearing Permits are required, all persons must obtain a 
WMA Self-Clearing Permit from an information station. The 
check in portion must be completed and put in a permit box 
before each day's activity on the day of the activity (except if 
hunting from a private camp adjacent to the WMA being 
hunted or if camping on the WMA, users need only to check 
in once during any 72 hour period). Users may check-in one 
day in advance of use. The check-out portion must be carried 
by each person while on the WMA and must be completed 
and put in a permit box immediately upon exiting the WMA 
or within 72 hours after checking in if hunting from a private 
camp adjacent to the WMA being hunted or if camping on 
the WMA. No permit is required of fishers and boaters who 
do not travel on a WMA road and/or launch on the WMA as 
long as they do not get out of the boat and onto the WMA. 
When mandatory deer checks are specified on WMAs, 
hunters must check deer at a check station. (Self-Clearing 
Permits are not required for persons only traveling through 
the WMA provided that the most direct route is taken and no 
activities or stops take place.)  

c. Persons using WMAs or other LDWF 
administered lands for any purpose must possess one of the 
following: a valid Wild Louisiana stamp, a valid Louisiana 
fishing license, or a valid Louisiana hunting license. Persons 

younger than 16 or older than 60 years of age are exempt 
from this requirement. Also a Self-Clearing WMA permit, 
detailed above, may be required (available at most entrances 
to each WMA). Check individual WMA listings for 
exceptions. 

3. Special Seasons 
a. Youth Deer Hunt. Youths 17 or younger only. 

Youths must be accompanied by an adult 18 years of age or 
older. Youths must possess a hunter safety certification or 
proof of successful completion of a hunter safety course. If 
the accompanying adult is in possession of hunter safety 
certification, a valid hunting license or proof of successful 
completion of a hunter safety course, this requirement is 
waived for the youth. Adults may not possess a firearm. 
Youths may possess only one firearm while hunting. Legal 
firearms are the same as described for deer hunting. The 
supervising adult shall maintain visual and voice contact 
with the youth at all times. Except properly licensed youths 
16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or older who have 
successfully completed a hunter safety course may hunt 
without a supervising adult. Contact the appropriate region 
office for maps of specific hunting areas. Either-sex deer 
may be taken on WMAs with youth hunts. Consult the 
regulations pamphlet for WMAs offering youth hunts.  

NOTE: Some hunts may be by pre-application lottery. 
b. Youth Squirrel Hunt (on selected WMAs only). 

Only youths 17 or younger may hunt. Squirrel, rabbit, 
raccoon and opossum may be taken. Hogs may not be taken. 
No dogs allowed. All other seasons will remain open to other 
hunters. Youths must possess a hunter safety certification or 
proof of successful completion of a hunter safety course. 
Youths must be accompanied by one adult 18 years of age or 
older. If the accompanying adult is in possession of hunter 
safety certification, a valid hunting license or proof of 
successful completion of a hunter safety course, this 
requirement is waived for the youth. Adults may not possess 
a firearm. Youths may possess only one firearm while 
hunting. The supervising adult shall maintain visual and 
voice contact with the youth at all times. Except properly 
licensed youths 16-17 years old and youths 12 years old or 
older who have successfully completed a hunter safety 
course may hunt without a supervising adult. Self-clearing 
permits are required. Consult the regulations pamphlet for 
WMAs offering youth squirrel hunts. 

c. Youth Mourning Dove Hunt. A youth mourning 
dove hunt will be conducted on specific WMAs and will 
follow the same regulations provided for youth deer hunts on 
the first or second weekend of the mourning dove season 
(Saturday and/or Sunday only). Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for WMAs offering youth mourning dove hunts. 

d. Physically Challenged Season. An either-sex deer 
season will be held for hunters possessing a Physically 
Challenged Hunter Permit on WMAs during the dates 
specified under the individual WMA. Participants must 
possess a Physically Challenged Hunter Permit. Contact 
region office for permit application and map of specific 
hunting area. Consult the regulations pamphlet for WMAs 
offering Physically Challenged Seasons. Pointe-aux-Chenes 
will have an experimental Lottery Physically Challenged 
Waterfowl Hunt. Contact New Iberia Office, Coastal and 
Nongame Resources Division for details. 

e. Turkey Lottery Hunts—hunts restricted to those 
persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations pamphlet 
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for deadlines. All turkeys must be reported at self-clearing 
station. Contact region offices for more details. Consult 
separate turkey hunting regulations pamphlet for more 
details. 

f. Waterfowl Lottery Hunts—hunts restricted to 
those persons selected by lottery. Consult the regulations 
pamphlet for deadline. Consult regulations pamphlet for 
individual WMA schedules or contact any Wildlife Division 
Office for more details. 

g. Mourning Dove Lottery Hunts—consult 
regulations pamphlet for individual WMA schedules or 
contact any Wildlife Division Office for more details. 

h. Trapping—consult annual trapping regulations 
for specific dates. All traps must be run daily. Traps with 
teeth are illegal. Hunter orange required when a deer gun 
season is in progress.  

i. Raccoon Hunting. A licensed hunter may take 
raccoon or opossum, one per person per day, during daylight 
hours only, during the open rabbit season on WMAs.  
 i. Nighttime Experimental. All nighttime raccoon 
hunting where allowed is with dogs only. There is no bag 
limit. Self-clearing permit required. 

j. Sport Fishing. Sport fishing, crawfishing and 
frogging are allowed on WMAs when in compliance with 
current laws and regulations except as otherwise specified 
under individual WMA listings. 

k. Additional LDWF Lands. The LDWF manages 
additional lands that are included in the WMA system and 
available for public recreation. Small tracts are located in 
Vernon, Evangeline, St. Helena and other parishes. These 
small tracts have been acquired from the Farmers Home 
Administration or other sources for conservation purposes. 
Contact the appropriate LDWF Region Office for specific 
information and any additional season dates. 

4. Firearms 
a. Firearms having live ammunition in the chamber, 

magazine, cylinder or clip when attached to firearms and 
crossbows cocked in the ready position are not allowed in or 
on vehicles, boats under power, motorcycles, ATVs, ATCs or 
in camping areas on WMAs. Firearms may not be carried on 
any area before or after permitted hours except in authorized 
camping areas and except as may be permitted for 
authorized trappers. 

b. Firearms and bows and arrows are not allowed on 
WMAs during closed seasons except on designated shooting 
ranges or as permitted for trapping and except as allowed 
pursuant to R.S. 56:109(C) and R.S. 56:1691. Bows and 
broadhead arrows are not allowed on WMAs except during 
deer archery season, turkey season or as permitted for 
bowfishing. Active and retired law enforcement officers in 
compliance with POST requirements, federal law 
enforcement officers and holders of Louisiana concealed 
handgun permits or permit holders from a reciprocal state 
who are in compliance with all other state and federal 
firearms regulations may possess firearms on WMAs 
provided these firearms are not used for any hunting 
purpose. 

c. Encased or broken down firearms and any game 
harvested may be transported through the areas by the most 
direct route provided that no other route exists except as 
specified under WMA listing. 

d. Loaded firearms are not allowed near WMA 
check stations. 

e. Centerfire rifles and handguns larger than .22 
caliber rimfire, shotgun slugs or shot larger than BB lead or 
F steel shot cannot be carried onto any WMA except during 
modern firearm deer season and during special shotgun 
season for feral hogs on Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, 
Pointe-aux-Chenes and Salvador WMAs. (Consult 
regulations pamphlet for specific WMA regulations.) 

f. Target shooting and other forms of practice 
shooting are prohibited on WMAs except as otherwise 
specified. 

g. Discharging of firearms on or hunting from 
designated roads, ATV trails and their rights-of-way is 
prohibited during the modern firearm and muzzleloader deer 
season. 

5. Methods of Taking Game 
a. Moving deer or hogs on a WMA with organized 

drivers and standers, drivers or making use of noises or 
noise-making devices is prohibited. 

b. On WMAs the daily limit shall be one antlered 
deer and one antlerless deer (when legal) per day. Three 
antlered and three antlerless per season (all segments 
included) by all methods of take.  

c. Baiting or hunting over bait is prohibited on all 
WMAs (hogs included).  

d. Deer may not be skinned nor have any external 
body parts removed including but not limited to feet, legs, 
tail, head or ears before being checked out. 

e. Deer hunting on WMAs is restricted to still 
hunting only.  

f. Construction of and/or hunting from permanent 
tree stands or permanent blinds on WMAs is prohibited. Any 
permanent stand or permanent blind will be removed and 
destroyed. A permanent blind is any blind using non-natural 
materials or having a frame which is not dismantled within 
two hours after the end of legal shooting time each day. 
Blinds with frames of wood, plastic, metal poles, wire, 
mesh, webbing or other materials may be used but must be 
removed from the WMA within two hours after the end of 
legal shooting time each day. Blinds made solely of natural 
vegetation and not held together by nails or other metallic 
fasteners may be left in place but cannot be used to reserve 
hunting locations. Natural vegetation (including any material 
used as corner posts) is defined as natural branches that are 2 
inches or less in diameter. All decoys must be removed from 
the WMA daily. Permanent tree stands are any stands that 
use nails, screws, spikes, etc., to attach to trees and are 
strictly prohibited. Portable deer stands (those that are 
designed to be routinely carried by one person) may not be 
left on WMAs unless the stands are removed from trees and 
left in a non-hunting position (a non-hunting position is one 
in which a hunter could not hunt from the stand in its present 
position). Also, all stands left must be legibly tagged with 
the user’s name, address, phone number and Big Game 
Hunting License number (or Lifetime License Number). No 
stand may be left on any WMA prior to the day before deer 
season opens on that WMA and all stands must be removed 
from the WMA within one day after the close of deer 
hunting on that WMA. Free standing blinds must be 
disassembled when not in use. Stands left will not reserve 
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hunting sites for the owner or user. All portable stands, 
blinds, tripods, etc. found unattended in a hunting position or 
untagged will be confiscated and disposed of by the LDWF. 
LDWF not responsible for unattended stands left on an area. 

g. Physically Challenged Wheelchair Confined 
Deer and Waterfowl Hunting Areas. Special deer and 
waterfowl hunting areas, blinds and stands identified with 
LDWF logos, have been established for PCHP wheelchair 
confined hunters on WMAs. Hunters must obtain PCHP 
permits and are required to make reservations to use blinds 
and stands. PCHP wheelchair hunting areas are available on 
Alexander State Forest, Big Colewa Bayou, Buckhorn, Clear 
Creek, Elbow Slough, Floy McElroy, Jackson–Bienville, 
Ouachita, and Sherburne WMAs. Check WMA hunting 
schedules or call the LDWF Offices in Pineville, Lake 
Charles, Opelousas, Minden, Monroe or Hammond for 
information. 

h. Hunting from utility poles, high tension power 
lines, oil and gas exploration facilities or platforms is 
prohibited. 

i. It is illegal to save or reserve hunting locations 
using permanent stands or blinds. Stands or blinds attached 
to trees with screws, nails, spikes, etc. are illegal. 

j. Tree climbing spurs, spikes or screw-in steps are 
prohibited. 

k. Unattended decoys will be confiscated and 
forfeited to the LDWF and disposed of by the LDWF. This 
action is necessary to prevent preemption of hunting space. 

l. Spot lighting (shining) from vehicles is 
prohibited on all WMAs. 

m. Horses and mules may be ridden on WMAs 
except where prohibited and except during gun seasons for 
deer and turkey. Riding is restricted to designated roads and 
trails depicted on WMA map, self-clearing permit is 
required. Organized trail rides prohibited except allowed by 
permit only on Camp Beauregard. Hunting and trapping 
from horses and mules is prohibited except for quail hunting 
or as otherwise specified. Horse-drawn conveyances are 
prohibited. 

n. All hunters (including archers and small game 
hunters) except waterfowl hunters and mourning dove 
hunters on WMAs must display 400 square inches of hunter 
orange and wear a hunter orange cap during open gun season 
for deer. Quail and woodcock hunters and hunters 
participating in special dog seasons for rabbit, squirrel and 
feral hogs are required to wear a minimum of a hunter 
orange cap. All other hunters and archers (while on the 
ground) except waterfowl hunters also must wear a 
minimum of a hunter orange cap during special dog seasons 
for rabbit and squirrel and feral hogs. Also all persons afield 
during hunting seasons are encouraged to display hunter 
orange. Hunters participating in special shotgun season for 
feral hogs on Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-
Chenes and Salvador WMAs must display 400 square inches 
of hunter orange and wear a hunter orange cap. 

o. Deer hunters hunting from concealed ground 
blinds must display a minimum of 400 square inches of 
hunter orange above or around their blinds which is visible 
from 360 degrees. 

p. Archery Season for Deer. The archery season on 
WMAs is the same as outside and is open for either-sex deer 

except as otherwise specified on individual WMAs. Archery 
season restricted on Atchafalaya Delta and closed on certain 
WMAs when special seasons for youth or Physically 
Challenged hunts are in progress. Consult regulations 
pamphlet for specific seasons. 

q. Either-sex deer may be taken on WMAs at any 
time during archery season except when bucks only seasons 
are in progress on the respective WMAs. Archers must abide 
by bucks only regulations and other restrictions when such 
seasons are in progress. 

r. Primitive Firearms Season for Deer. Either-sex 
unless otherwise specified. See WMA deer schedule. Except 
youth 17 or younger may use shotgun with slugs during 
primitive firearms season on the WMA. 

6. Camping 
a. Camping on WMAs, including trailers, 

houseboats, recreational vehicles and tents, is allowed only 
in designated areas and for a period not to exceed 16 
consecutive days, regardless if the camp is attended or 
unattended. Houseboats shall not impede navigation. At the 
end of the 16 day period, camps must be removed from the 
area for at least 48 hours. Camping area use limited 
exclusively to outdoor recreational activities. 

b. Houseboats are prohibited from overnight 
mooring within WMAs except on stream banks adjacent to 
LDWF-owned designated camping areas. Overnight 
mooring of vessels that provide lodging for hire are 
prohibited on WMAs. On Atchafalaya Delta WMA and 
Pass-a-Loutre, houseboats may be moored in specially 
designated areas throughout the hunting season. At all other 
times of the year, mooring is limited to a period not to 
exceed 16 consecutive days. Permits are required for the 
mooring of houseboats on Pass-a-Loutre and Atchafalaya 
Delta WMAs. Permits must be obtained from the New Iberia 
office.  

c. Discharge of human waste onto lands or waters 
of any WMA is strictly prohibited by State and Federal law. 
In the event public restroom facilities are not available at a 
WMA, the following is required. Anyone camping on a 
WMA in a camper, trailer, or other unit (other than a 
houseboat or tent) shall have and shall utilize an operational 
disposal system attached to the unit. Tent campers shall have 
and shall utilize portable waste disposal units and shall 
remove all human waste from the WMA upon leaving. 
Houseboats moored on a WMA shall have a permit or letter 
of certification from the Health Unit (Department of Health 
and Hospitals) of the parish within which the WMA occurs 
verifying that it has an approved sewerage disposal system 
on board. Further, that system shall be utilized by occupants 
of the houseboats when on the WMA. 

d. No refuse or garbage may be dumped from these 
boats. 

e. Firearms may not be kept loaded or discharged in 
a camping area unless otherwise specified. 

f. Campsites must be cleaned by occupants prior to 
leaving and all refuse placed in designated locations when 
provided or carried off by campers. 

g. Non-compliance with camping regulations will 
subject occupant to immediate expulsion and/or citation, 
including restitution for damages. 

h. Swimming is prohibited within 100 yards of boat 
launching ramps. 
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7. Restricted Areas 
a. For your safety, all oil and gas production 

facilities (wells, pumping stations and storage facilities) are 
off limits. 

b. No unauthorized entry or unauthorized hunting in 
restricted areas, refuges, or limited use areas unless 
otherwise specified. 

8. Dogs. All use of dogs on WMAs, except for bird 
hunting and duck hunting, is experimental as required by 
law. Having or using dogs on any WMA is prohibited except 
for nighttime experimental raccoon hunting, squirrel 
hunting, rabbit hunting, bird hunting, duck hunting, hog 
hunting and bird dog training when allowed; see individual 
WMA season listings for WMAs that allow dogs. Dogs 
running at large are prohibited on WMAs. The owner or 
handler of said dogs shall be liable. Only recognizable 
breeds of bird dogs and retrievers are allowed for quail and 
migratory bird hunting. Only beagle hounds which do not 
exceed 15 inches at the front shoulders and which have 
recognizable characteristics of the breed may be used on 
WMAs having experimental rabbit seasons. A leashed dog 
may be used to trail and retrieve wounded or unrecovered 
deer during legal hunting hours. Any dog used to trail or 
retrieve wounded or unrecovered deer shall have on a collar 
with owner’s name, address and phone number. In addition, 
a dog may be used to trail and retrieve unrecovered deer 
after legal hunting hours; however, no person accompanying 
a dog after legal hunting hours may carry a firearm of any 
sort. 

9. Vehicles 
a. An all-terrain vehicle is an off-road vehicle (not 

legal for highway use) with factory specifications not to 
exceed the following: weight-750 pounds, length-85", and 
width-48". ATV tires are restricted to those no larger than 25 
x 12 with a maximum l” lug height and a maximum 
allowable tire pressure of 7 psi. as indicated on the tire by 
the manufacturer. Use of all other ATVs or ATV tires are 
prohibited on a WMA. 

b. Utility type vehicle (UTV, also utility terrain 
vehicle) is defined as any recreational motor vehicle other 
than an ATV, not legal for highway use, designed for and 
capable of travel over designated unpaved roads, traveling 
on four (4) or more low-pressure tires, with factory 
specifications not to exceed the following: weight-1900 
pounds, length-128" and width-68". UTV tires are restricted 
to those no larger than 26 x 12 with a maximum 1" lug 
height and a maximum allowable tire pressure of 12 psi. 
UTV’s are commonly referred to as side by sides and may 
include golf carts. 

c. Vehicles having wheels with a wheel-tire 
combination having a radius of 17 inches or more from the 
center of the hub (measured horizontal to ground) are 
prohibited. 

d. The testing, racing, speeding or unusual 
maneuvering of any type of vehicle is prohibited within 
WMAs due to property damages resulting in high 
maintenance costs, disturbance of wildlife and destruction of 
forest reproduction. 

e. Tractor or implement tires with farm tread 
designs Rl, R2 and R4 known commonly as spade or lug 
grip types are prohibited on all vehicles.  

f. Airboats, aircraft, personal water craft, “mud 
crawling vessels” (commonly referred to as crawfish 
combines which use paddle wheels for locomotion) and 
hover craft are prohibited on all WMAs and Refuges. 
Personal water craft are defined as a vessel which uses an 
inboard motor powering a water jet pump as its primary 
source of propulsion and is designed to be operated by a 
person sitting, standing or kneeling on the vessel rather than 
in the conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the 
vessel. Personal water craft allowed on designated areas of 
Alexander State Forest WMA. Except, Type A personal 
water craft, model year 2003 and beyond, which are eight 
feet in length and greater, may be operated in the areas of 
Pearl River Wildlife Management Area, south of U.S. 90 
from April 1 until the Monday of Labor Day Weekend, from 
sunrise to sunset only. No person shall operate such water 
craft at a speed greater than slow/no wake within 100 feet of 
an anchored or moored vessel, shoreline, dock, pier, persons 
engaged in angling or any other manually powered vessel. 

g. Driving or parking vehicles on food or cover 
plots and strips is prohibited. 

h. Blocking the entrance to roads and trails is 
prohibited. 

i. Licensed motorized vehicles (LMVs) legal for 
highway use, including motorcycles, are restricted entirely to 
designated roads as indicated on WMA maps. UTVs are 
restricted to marked UTV trails only. ATVs are restricted to 
marked ATV trails only, except when WMA roads are closed 
to LMVs. ATVs may then use those roads when allowed. 
WMA maps available at all region offices. This restriction 
does not apply to bicycles.  

NOTE: All ATV and UTV trails are marked with signs and/or 
paint, but not all ATV and UTV trails appear on WMA maps. 

j. Use of special ATV trails for physically 
challenged persons is restricted to ATV Physically 
Challenged permittees. Physically challenged ATV 
permittees are restricted to physically challenged ATV trails 
or other ATV trails only as indicated on WMA maps or as 
marked by sign and/or paint. Persons 60 years of age and 
older, with proof of age, are also allowed to use special 
physically challenged trails and need not obtain a permit. 
However, these persons must abide by all rules in place for 
these trails. Physically Challenged persons under the age of 
60 must apply for and obtain a Physically Challenged Hunter 
Program Permit from the LDWF. 

k. Entrances to ATV trails will be marked with 
peach colored paint. Entrances to physically challenged-only 
ATV trails will be marked with blue colored paint. Entrances 
to ATV trails that are open all year long will be marked with 
purple paint. The end of all ATV trails will be marked by red 
paint. WMA maps serve only as a general guide to the route 
of most ATV trails, therefore all signage and paint marking 
as previously described will be used to determine 
compliance. Deviation from this will constitute a violation of 
WMA rules and regulations.  

l. Roads and trails may be closed due to poor 
condition, construction or wet weather. 

m. ATVs, and motorcycles cannot be left overnight 
on WMAs except on designated camping areas. ATVs are 
prohibited from two hours after sunset to 4 a.m., except 
raccoon hunters may use ATVs during nighttime raccoon 
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take seasons only. ATVs are prohibited from March 1 
through August 31 except squirrel hunters are allowed to use 
ATV trails during the spring squirrel season on the WMA 
and except certain trails may be open during this time period 
to provide access for fishing or other purposes and some 
ATV trails will be open all year long on certain WMAs.  

n. Caution. Many LDWF-maintained roadways on 
WMAs are unimproved and substandard. A maximum 20 
mph speed limit is recommended for all land vehicles using 
these roads. 

o. Hunters are allowed to retrieve their own downed 
deer and hogs with the aid of an ATV except on 
Thistlethwaite and Sherburne WMAs under the following 
conditions. 
 i. No firearms or archery equipment is in 
possession of the retrieval party or on the ATV. 
 ii. The retrieval party may consist of no more than 
one ATV and one helper. 
 iii. ATVs may not be used to locate or search for 
wounded game or for any other purpose than retrieval of 
deer and hogs once they have been legally harvested and 
located. 
 iv. UTV’s may not be used to retrieve downed 
deer or hogs. 

10. Commercial Activities 
a. Hunting Guides/Outfitters. No person or group 

may act as a hunting guide, outfitter or in any other capacity 
for which they are paid or promised to be paid directly or 
indirectly by any other individual or individuals for services 
rendered to any other person or persons hunting on any 
WMA, regardless of whether such payment is for guiding, 
outfitting, lodging or club memberships. 

b. Except for licensed activities otherwise allowed 
by law, commercial activities are prohibited without a permit 
issued by the Secretary of the LDWF. 

c. Commercial Fishing. Permits are required of all 
commercial fishermen using Grassy Lake, Pomme de Terre 
and Spring Bayou WMAs. Gill nets or trammel nets and the 
take or possession of grass carp are prohibited on Spring 
Bayou WMA. Drag seines (except minnow and bait seines) 
are prohibited except experimental bait seines allowed on 
Dewey Wills WMA north of LA 28 in Diversion Canal. 
Commercial fishing is prohibited during regular waterfowl 
seasons on Grand Bay, Silver Lake and Lower Sunk Lake on 
Three Rivers WMA. Commercial fishing is prohibited on 
Salvador/Timken, Ouachita and Pointe-aux-Chenes WMAs 
except commercial fishing on Pointe-aux-Chenes is allowed 
in Cut Off Canal and Wonder Lake. No commercial fishing 
activity shall impede navigation and no unattended vessels 
or barges will be allowed. Non-compliance with permit 
regulations will result in revocation of commercial fishing 
privileges for the period the license is issued and one year 
thereafter. Commercial fishing is allowed on Pass-a-Loutre 
and Atchafalaya Delta WMAs. See Pass-a-Loutre for 
additional commercial fishing regulations on mullet. 

11. WMAs Basic Season Structure. For season dates, 
bag limits, shooting hours, special seasons and other 
information consult the annual regulations pamphlet for 
specific details. 

12. Resident Small Game (squirrel, rabbit, quail, 
mourning dove, woodcock, snipe, rail and gallinule). Same 
as outside except closed during modern firearm either-sex 

deer seasons on certain WMAs (see WMA schedule) and 
except non-toxic shot must be used for rail, snipe, and 
gallinule. Consult regulations pamphlet. Unless otherwise 
specified under a specific WMA hunting schedule, the use of 
dogs for rabbit and squirrel hunting is prohibited. Spring 
squirrel season with or without dogs: first Saturday of May 
for nine days. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific 
WMAs. 

13. Waterfowl (ducks, geese and coots). Consult 
regulations pamphlet. Hunting after 2 p.m. prohibited on all 
WMAs except for Atchafalaya Delta, Biloxi, Lake Boeuf, 
Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes, and Salvador/Timken 
WMAs. Consult specific WMA regulations for shooting 
hours on these WMAs. 

14. Archery. Consult regulations pamphlet. 
15. Hogs. Consult regulations pamphlet for specific 

WMA regulations. Feral hogs may be taken during any legal 
hunting season, except during the spring squirrel season, on 
designated WMAs by properly licensed hunters using only 
guns or bow and arrow legal for specified seasons in 
progress. Hogs may not be taken with the aid of dogs, except 
feral hogs may be taken with the aid of dogs on Attakapas, 
Bodcau, Boeuf, Dewey Wills, Jackson-Bienville, Pearl 
River, Red River, Sabine and Three Rivers WMAs (consult 
Bodcau, Dewey Wills, Jackson-Bienville, Pass-a-Loutre, 
Pearl River, Red River, Sabine and Three Rivers WMAs 
regulations) by permit from either the Minden, Pineville, 
Hammond or Opelousas Offices and all hogs must be killed 
immediately and may not be transported live under any 
conditions, except as allowed by permit, and hunters may 
use centerfire pistols in addition to using guns allowed for 
season in progress. Additionally, feral hogs may be taken on 
Atchafalaya Delta, Pass-a-Loutre, Pointe-aux-Chenes and 
Salvador WMAs from February 16 through March 31 with 
shotguns loaded with buckshot or slugs. 

16. Outlaw Quadrupeds and Birds. Consult regulations 
pamphlet. During hunting seasons specified on WMAs, 
except the turkey and spring squirrel seasons, take of outlaw 
quadrupeds and birds, with or without the use of electronic 
calls, is allowed by properly licensed hunters and only with 
guns or bows and arrows legal for season in progress on 
WMA. However, crows, blackbirds, grackles and cowbirds 
may not be taken before September 1 or after January 1. As 
described in 50 CFR Part 21, non-toxic shot must be used 
for the take of crows, blackbirds, cowbirds and grackles 
under the special depredation order. In addition an annual 
report has to be submitted to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service for those that participate in the take of these species. 

17. WMAs hunting schedule and regulations: 
a. Acadiana Conservation Corridor; 
b. Alexander State Forest. From December through 

February all hunters must check daily with the Office of 
Forestry for scheduled burning activity. No hunting or other 
activity will be permitted in burn units the day of the 
burning. Call (318) 487-5172 or (318) 487-5058 for 
information on burning schedules. Vehicles restricted to 
paved and graveled roads. No parking on or fishing or 
swimming from bridges. No open fires except in recreation 
areas; 

c. Atchafalaya Delta. Water control structures are 
not to be tampered with or altered by anyone other than 
employees of the LDWF at any time. ATVs, ATCs and 
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motorcycles prohibited except as permitted for authorized 
WMA trappers. Mudboats or air-cooled propulsion engines 
greater than 36 horsepower are prohibited on the WMA; 
 i. Limited Access Area—no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations; 

d. Attakapas; 
e. Bayou Macon. All night activities prohibited 

except as otherwise provided; 
f. Bayou Pierre; 
g. Bens Creek; 
h. Big Colewa Bayou. All nighttime activities 

prohibited; 
i. Big Lake; 
j. Biloxi; 
k. Bodcau; 
l. Boeuf; 
m. Buckhorn; 
n. Camp Beauregard. Daily military clearance 

required for all recreational users. Registration for use of 
Self-Clearing Permit required once per year. All game 
harvested must be reported on self-clearing checkout permit. 
Retriever training allowed on selected portions of the WMA. 
Contact the Region office for specific details. No hunting in 
restricted areas; 

o. Clear Creek (formerly Boise-Vernon); 
p. Dewey W. Wills. Crawfish—100 pounds per 

person per day; 
q. Elbow Slough. Steel shot only for all hunting. All 

motorized vehicles prohibited; 
r. Elm Hall. No ATVs allowed; 
s. Floy Ward McElroy; 
t. Fort Polk. Daily military clearance required to 

hunt or trap. Registration for use of Self-Clearing Permit 
required once per year. New special regulations apply to 
ATV users; 

u. Grassy Lake. Commercial Fishing: Permitted 
except on Smith Bay, Red River Bay and Grassy Lake 
proper on Saturday and Sunday and during waterfowl 
season. Permits available from area supervisor at Spring 
Bayou headquarters or Opelousas Region Office. No hunting 
in restricted area; 

v. Jackson-Bienville; 
w. Joyce; 

 i. Swamp Walk—adhere to all WMA rules and 
regulations. No loaded firearms or hunting allowed within 
100 yards of walkways. Check hunting schedule and use 
walkway at your own risk; 

x. Lake Boeuf. Hunting allowed until 12 noon on 
all game. All nighttime activities prohibited; 

y. Lake Ramsay. Foot traffic only. All vehicles 
restricted to parish roads; 

z. Little River; 
aa. Loggy Bayou; 
bb. Manchac; 

 i. Crabs—no crab traps allowed. Attended lift 
nets are allowed; 

cc. Maurepas Swamp. No loaded firearms or hunting 
allowed within 100 yards of nature trail; 

dd. Ouachita; 

 i. Waterfowl Refuge—north of LA 15 closed to 
all hunting, fishing and trapping and ATV use during duck 
season including early teal season; 
 ii. Crawfish—100 pounds per person per day 
limit. Night crawfishing prohibited. No traps or nets left 
overnight; 
 iii. Commercial Fishing—closed. All nighttime 
activities prohibited except as otherwise provided; 

ee. Pass-a-Loutre; 
 i. Commercial Fishing—same as outside. 
Commercial mullet fishing open only in: South Pass, Pass-a-
Loutre, North Pass, Southeast Pass, Northeast Pass, Dennis 
Pass, Johnson Pass, Loomis Pass, Cadro Pass, Wright Pass, 
Viveats Pass, Cognevich Pass, Blind Bay, Redfish Bay, 
Garden Island Bay, Northshore Bay, East Bay (west of 
barrier islands) and oil and gas canals as described on the 
LDWF Pass-a-Loutre WMA map. ATVs, ATCs and 
motorcycles prohibited on this area. Oyster harvesting is 
prohibited. Mudboats or air-cooled propulsion engines 
greater than 36 horsepower are prohibited on the WMA; 
 ii. Limited Access Area—no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations; 

ff. Pearl River. All roads closed 8 p.m. to 4:30 a.m. 
to all vehicles. Old Hwy. 11 will be closed when river gauge 
at Pearl River, Louisiana, reaches 16.5 feet. All hunting 
except waterfowl will be closed when the river stage at Pearl 
River reaches 16.5 feet. No hunting in the vicinity of Nature 
Trail. Observe "No Hunting" signs. Rifle range open Friday, 
Saturday and Sunday with a fee. Except, Type A personal 
water craft, model year 2003 and beyond, which are eight 
feet in length and greater, may be operated in the areas of 
Pearl River Wildlife Management Area, south of U.S. 90 
from April 1 until the Monday of Labor Day Weekend, from 
sunrise to sunset only. No person shall operate such water 
craft at a speed greater than slow/no wake within 100 feet of 
an anchored or moored vessel, shoreline, dock, pier, persons 
engaged in angling or any other manually powered vessel; 

gg. Peason Ridge. Daily military clearance required 
to hunt or trap. Registration for use of Self-Clearing Permit 
required once per year. Special federal regulations apply to 
ATV users; 

hh. Pointe-aux-Chenes. Hunting until 12 noon on all 
game, except for mourning dove hunting and youth lottery 
deer hunt as specified in regulation pamphlet; 
 i. Point Farm—gate will be open all weekends 
during month of February. No motorized vessels allowed in 
the drainage ditches; 
 ii. Recreational Fishing—shrimp may be taken by 
the use of cast nets only. During the inside open shrimp 
season, 25 pounds per boat per day (heads on) maximum 
shall be allowed. Size count to conform with open season 
requirements. During the inside closed season, 10 pounds 
per boat per day (heads on) may be taken for bait. Oyster 
harvesting is prohibited. Fish may be taken only by rod and 
reel or hand lines for recreational purposes only. Crabs may 
be taken only through the use of hand lines or nets; however, 
none are to remain set overnight. Twelve dozen crabs 
maximum are allowed per boat or vehicle per day. Crawfish 
may be harvested in unrestricted portions of the WMA and 
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shall be limited to 100 pounds per boat or group. Fishing 
gear used to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. 
The harvest of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for 
recreational purposes only and any commercial use is 
prohibited. All boats powered by engines having horsepower 
ratings above 25 h.p. are not allowed in the Grand Bayou, 
Montegut and Pointe-aux-Chenes water management units. 
Public is permitted to travel anytime through the WMA for 
access purposes only, in the waterways known as Grand 
Bayou, Humble Canal, Little Bayou Blue and Grand Bayou 
Blue unless authorized by the LDWF. All other motorized 
vehicles, horses and mules are prohibited unless authorized 
by the LDWF; 
 iii. Limited Access Area—no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations; 

ii. Pomme de Terre; 
 i. Commercial Fishing—permitted Monday 
through Friday, except closed during duck season. 
Commercial fishing permits available from area supervisor, 
Opelousas Region Office or Spring Bayou headquarters; 
 ii. Sport Fishing—same as outside except allowed 
only after 2 p.m. only during waterfowl season; 
 iii. Crawfish—March 15-July 31, recreational 
only, 100 lbs. per boat or group daily; 

jj. Red River; 
 i. Recreational Crawfishing—Yakey Farms only 
March 15-July 31. 100 pounds per vehicle or group per day. 
No traps or nets left overnight. No motorized watercraft 
allowed. Commercial crawfishing now allowed; 

kk. Russell Sage. Transporting trash or garbage on 
WMA roads is prohibited. All nighttime activities prohibited 
except as otherwise provided. Internal combustion engines 
and craft limited to 10 h.p. rating or less in the Greentree 
Reservoirs; 

NOTE: All season dates on Chauvin Tract (U.S. 165 North) 
same as outside, except still hunt only and except deer hunting 
restricted to archery only. All vehicles including ATVs 
prohibited. 

ll. Sabine; 
mm. Sabine Island. Sabine Island boundaries 

are Sabine River on the west, Cut-Off Bayou on the north, 
and Old River and Big Bayou on the south and east; 

nn. Salvador/Timken. Hunting until 12 noon only for 
all game. All nighttime activities prohibited, including 
frogging; 
 i. Recreational Fishing—shrimp may be taken by 
the use of cast nets only. During the inside open shrimp 
season, 25 pounds per boat per day (heads on) maximum 
shall be permitted. Size count to conform with open season 
requirements. During the inside closed season, 10 pounds 
per boat per day (heads on) maximum may be taken for bait. 
Fish may be taken only by rod and reel or hand lines for 
recreational purposes only. Crabs may be taken only through 
the use of hand lines or nets; however, none of the lines are 
to remain set overnight. Twelve dozen crabs maximum are 
allowed per boat or vehicle per day. Crawfish may be 
harvested in unrestricted portions of the WMA and shall be 
limited to 100 pounds per boat or group. Fishing gear used 
to catch crawfish shall not remain set overnight. The harvest 
of all fish, shrimp, crabs and crawfish are for recreational 
purposes only and any commercial use is prohibited. Boats 
powered by internal combustion engines having horsepower 

ratings above 25 h.p. are permitted only in oil company 
access canals, Louisiana Cypress Canal, the Netherlands 
Pond including the West Canal, Lakes—"Baie Des Chactas" 
and “Baie du Cabanage" and the Rathborne Access ditch. 
Use of mudboats powered by internal combustion engines 
with four cylinders or less is permitted in interior ditches 
from first Saturday in September through January and may 
be further permitted. Pulling boats over levees, dams or 
water control structures or any other activities which cause 
detriment to the integrity of levees, dams and water control 
structures is prohibited. ATVs, ATCs and motorcycles 
prohibited on this area; 
 ii. Limited Access Area—no internal combustion 
engines allowed from September through January. See 
WMA map for specific locations; 

oo. Sandy Hollow; 
 i. Bird Dog Training—consult regulation 
pamphlet. Wild birds only (use of pen-raised birds 
prohibited); 
 ii. Bird Dog Field Trials—permit required from 
Baton Rouge region office; 
 iii. Horseback Riding—Self-Clearing Permit 
required. Organized trail rides prohibited. Riding allowed 
only on designated roads and trails depicted on WMA map. 
Horses and mules are specifically prohibited during turkey 
and gun season for deer except as allowed for bird dog field 
trials. No horses and mules on green planted areas. Horse-
drawn conveyances are prohibited; 

pp. Sherburne; 
 i. Crawfishing—recreational crawfishing only on 
the South Farm complexes. Crawfish harvest limited to 100 
pounds per vehicle or boat per day. No traps or nets left 
overnight. No motorized watercraft allowed on farm 
complex. Commercial crawfishing not allowed. Retriever 
training allowed on selected portions of the WMA. Contact 
the region office for specific details. Vehicular traffic 
prohibited on Atchafalaya River levee within Sherburne 
WMA boundaries. Rifle and pistol range open daily. Skeet 
ranges open by appointment only, contact Hunter Education 
Office. No trespassing in restricted area behind ranges; 

Note: Atchafalaya National Wildlife Refuge, and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers land holdings adjacent to the Sherburne 
WMA will have the same rules and regulations as Sherburne 
WMA. No hunting or trapping in restricted area. 

qq. Sicily Island Hills; 
rr. Soda Lake. No motorized vehicles allowed. 

Bicycles allowed. All trapping and hunting prohibited except 
archery hunting for deer and falconry; 

ss. Spring Bayou; 
 i. Commercial Fishing—permitted Monday 
through Friday except slat traps and hoop nets permitted any 
day and except gill or trammel nets or the take or possession 
of grass carp are prohibited. Permits available from area 
supervisor or Opelousas Region Office. Closed until after 2 
p.m. during waterfowl season; 
 ii. Sport Fishing—same as outside except allowed 
only after 2 p.m. during waterfowl season; 
 iii. Crawfish—recreational only. No hunting 
allowed in headquarters area. Only overnight campers 
allowed in the improved Boggy Bayou Camping area. Rules 
and regulations posted at camp site. A fee is assessed for use 
of this campsite. Water skiing allowed only in Old River and 
Grand Lac; 
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tt. Tangipahoa Parish School Board. No horseback 
riding during gun season for deer or turkey. ATVs are not 
allowed; 

uu. Thistlethwaite. All motorized vehicles restricted 
to improved roads only. All users must enter and leave 
through main gate only; 

vv. Three Rivers; 
ww. Tunica Hills. All vehicles restricted to Parish 

roads. Access to restricted areas is unauthorized. Refer to 
WMA map. Camping limited to tents only; 

xx. Union. All nighttime activities prohibited except 
as otherwise provided. 

yy. West Bay.  
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:115 and R.S. 56:116. 
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
25:1279 (July 1999), amended LR 26:1494 (July 2000), LR 
27:1049 (July 2001), LR 28:1603 (July 2002), LR 29:1124 (July 
2003), repromulgated LR 29:1522 (August 2003), amended LR 
30:1495 (July 2004), LR 31:1611 (July 2005), LR 32:1251 (July 
2006), LR 33:1382 (July 2007), LR 34:1429 (July 2008), LR 
35:1264 (July 2009), LR 36:1566 (July 2010), LR 37: 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Public Comments 
Comments will be accepted at regularly scheduled 

Wildlife and Fisheries Commission Meetings from March 
through May. Interested persons may submit written 
comments relative to the proposed rule until 4:30 p.m., 
Thursday, May 5, 2011 to Randy Myers, Wildlife Division, 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton 
Rouge, LA, 70898-9000. 

Public Hearing 
Public hearings will be held at the following locations: 

March 9 beginning at 6 p.m., Alexandria Convention Hall, 
915 Third Street, Alexandria; March 15 beginning at 6:30 
p.m., at the LDWF Office, 9961 Highway 80, Minden; 
March 15 beginning at 6:30 p.m., Yambilee Festival 
Building, 1939 W. Landry, Opelousas; March 16 beginning 
at 6 p.m., Ponchatoula High School Cafeteria, 19452 
Highway 22, Ponchatoula; March 17 beginning at 6 p.m., 
Bastrop Visitor Center, 124 North Washington Street, 
Bastrop; and March 22 beginning at 6:30 p.m., LSU Ag 
Center (next to Burton Coliseum), 7101 Gulf Highway, Lake 
Charles.  

 
Stephen W. Sagrera 
Chairman 
 

FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

RULE TITLE:  General and Wildlife Management Area 
Hunting Rules and Regulations 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
This rule amends permanent hunting regulations for the 

state at large as well as for Wildlife Management Areas. The 

establishment of hunting regulations is an annual process. 
Aside from staff time, no implementation costs to state 
governmental units are anticipated. Enforcement of the 
proposed rule will be carried out using existing staff and 
funding levels.  

Local governmental units will not be impacted. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
State hunting license fee collections are $9 - $10 million 

dollars annually. Additionally, hunting and related activities 
generate approximately $62 million in state and local tax 
revenues annually (Southwick Associates, 2007). Failure to 
adopt rule changes would result in no hunting seasons being 
established and a potential loss of some of these revenues.  

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Over 300,000 hunters and numerous businesses that 
provide goods and services to hunters are directly affected by 
this proposal. Hunting in Louisiana generates approximately 
$594 million in revenue annually through the sale of outdoor 
related equipment, associated items and trip-related 
expenditures (Southwick Associates, 2007). Failure to adopt 
rule changes would result in no hunting seasons being 
established and a potential loss of commerce associated with 
these activities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Hunting in Louisiana provides an estimated 13,084 jobs 
(Southwick Associates, 2007). Not establishing hunting 
seasons might have a negative and direct impact on these jobs. 

 
Lois Azzarello Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#063 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Methods of Payment for Commercial  
Licenses and Oyster Tags (LAC 76:VII.413) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to promulgate rules and regulations 
relative to credit card or business checks purchases. 
Authority to establish such rules and regulations is vested in 
the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission by R.S. 56:642(C). 

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part VII.  Fish and Other Aquatic Life 
Chapter 4. License and License Fees 
§413. Methods of Payment for Commercial Licenses and 

Oyster Tags 
A. Commercial licenses and oyster tags may be 

purchased using the following forms of payment: 
1. cash; 
2. money order; 
3. cashier’s check; 
4. business checks certified by the issuing bank; and 
5. credit cards (MasterCard, American Express, or 

Discover only). 
B. Payment by credit card will be allowed only by the 

card holder at the Baton Rouge Licensing location with the 
credit card present at the time of purchase.  
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C. No other forms of payment will be accepted.  
Authority Note: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:642(C). 
Historical Note: Promulgated by the Department of Wildlife and 

Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 37:  
The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the Commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including, but not limited to, the 
filing of the fiscal and economic impact statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out in R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments on the 

proposed Rule to Janis Landry, Licensing Manager, 
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton 
Rouge, LA 70898 prior to Thursday, April 7, 2011. 

 
Stephen W. Sagrera 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Methods of Payment for Commercial  

Licenses and Oyster Tags 
 

I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 
STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 

A three (3) percent charge to the state will be incurred from 
implementing the use of credit cards to purchase commercial 
licenses or oyster tags at the Baton Rouge licensing location. 
This increase in costs will be passed on to the credit card holder 
(purchaser) in the form of an additional state charge for using a 
credit card. The increase in operating costs cannot be 
determined at this time and will depend on how many 
commercial licenses and oyster tags are purchased with a credit 
card.  

There are no estimated implementation costs or savings to 
local governmental units. 

II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 
OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 

The proposed rule is anticipated to result in a slight 
increase in revenue collections deposited into the Conservation 
Fund. Any such increase will be utilized to pay the state’s cost 
for use of credit cards for purchase of commercial licenses or 
oyster tags at the Baton Rouge licensing location. When a 
credit card is used to purchase commercial licenses or oyster 
tags, the purchaser will be assessed a three (3) percent state 
charge, equivalent to the fee charged to the state by the credit 
card company. The increase in revenue collections cannot be 
determined and will depend on how many commercial licenses 
and oyster tags are purchased by credit cards rather than one of 
the other payment methods available. Average revenue 
collections from the sale of commercial licenses and oyster tags 
for the last three years (FY08 - FY10) were $3,140,714. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

The proposed rule establishes the payment methods the 
department will accept for purchasing commercial licenses and 
oyster tags. Currently commercial licenses and oyster tags can 
be purchased using cash, money orders or cashier checks by 
mail or at the Baton Rouge licensing location. This rule adds 
two additional payment methods, credit cards or business 
checks certified by the issuing bank. Thus, individuals will 
benefit from having a variety of payment methods available to 
purchase commercial licenses and oyster tags. The rule limits 
the use of credit card transactions to the Baton Rouge licensing 
location only. In addition, if an individual chooses to purchase 
their commercial licenses or oyster tags with a credit card, a 
three (3) percent state charge will be assessed to recoup the 
usage fee charged to the state by the credit card company.   

Credit card companies will benefit when their credit card is 
used to purchase commercial licenses or oyster tags. The credit 
card company will receive a usage fee when their card is used 
to purchase commercial licenses or oyster tags, which is 
anticipated to have a slight positive impact on receipts and 
income for the credit card company. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

There is no estimated effect on competition and 
employment as a result of this rule change. 

 
Lois Azzarello Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#065 Legislative Fiscal Office 
 

NOTICE OF INTENT 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

Resident Game Hunting Season 
(LAC 76:XIX.101 and 103) 

The Wildlife and Fisheries Commission does hereby give 
notice of its intent to promulgate hunting seasons for 
resident game birds and game quadrupeds.  

Title 76 
WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

Part XIX.  Hunting and WMA Regulations 
Chapter 1. Resident Game Hunting Season 
§101. General 

A. The Resident Game Hunting Season regulations are 
hereby adopted by the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission. A 
complete copy of the Regulation Pamphlet may be obtained 
from the department. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), LR 
26:1506 (July 2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 
2002), LR 29:1122 (July 2003), LR 30:1493 (July 2004), LR 
31:1627 (July 2005), LR 32:1253 (July 2006), LR 33:1399 (July 
2007), LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1278 (July 2009), LR 
36:1580 (July 2010), LR 37: . 
§103. Resident Game Birds and Animals 

A. Shooting hours. One-half hour before sunrise to one-
half hour after sunset. 

B. Consult Regulation Pamphlet for seasons or specific 
regulations on Wildlife Management Areas or specific 
localities. 
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Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 
Quail OPENS: 3rd Saturday 

of November 
CLOSES: Last Day of 
February 

10 20 

Rabbit 
and 
Squirrel 

OPENS: 1st Saturday 
of October 
CLOSES: Last Day of 
February 

8 16 

Species Season Dates 
Daily Bag 

Limit 
Possession 

Limit 
Squirrel
* 

OPENS: 1st Saturday 
of May for 23 days 

3 6 

Deer See Schedule 1 antlered and 
1 antlerless 
(when legal) 
 

6/season (3 
antlered deer & 

3 antlerless 
deer) 

*NOTE: Spring squirrel season is closed on the Kisatchie 
National Forest, National Wildlife Refuges, U.S. Army Corps 
of Engineers property. Some State Wildlife Management 
Areas will be open, check WMA season schedule. 

 
 
C. Deer Hunting Schedule, 2011-2012 
 

 
Area 

 
Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either 
Sex Except as Noted) 

 
Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) 

 
With or Without Dogs 

1 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., 
then it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. 

2 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Next to last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before last Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after the last day of 
Modern Firearm Season in Jan. 
CLOSES: After 7 days. 

OPENS: Last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Tues. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. in 
odd numbered years and on Wed. during 
even numbered years EXCEPT when there 
are 5 Sats. in Nov. and then it will close on 
the Tues. in odd numbered years or Wed. 
during even numbered years before the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: Wed. before the 2nd Sat. 
of Dec. in odd numbered years 
and on Thurs. during even 
numbered years EXCEPT when 
there are 5 Sats. in Nov., then it 
will open on the Wed. before the 
1st Sat. of Dec. on odd years and 
Thurs. during even numbered 
years 
CLOSES: 40 days after opening 
in odd numbered years or 39 
days after opening in even 
numbered years 

3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days  

   

4 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after 2nd Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Mon. after 3rd Sat. of Jan. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of Jan. 

   

5 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. (BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Day after Christmas Day 
CLOSES: Jan. 1st (BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: Day after Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of Dec. 

   

6 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., 
then it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. 
in Nov., then it will open on the 
1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. 

7 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Nov. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Nov.  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 

OPENS: Mon. after 
Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days 
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Area 

 
Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either 
Sex Except as Noted) 

 
Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) 

 
With or Without Dogs 

8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: 
Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct.  
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

 
 

D. Modern Firearm Schedule (Either Sex Seasons) 
 

Parish Area Modern Firearm Either-sex Days 
East Carroll Area 4 

portion 
Opens 3rd Saturday of November for 2 days and 
opens Friday after Thanksgiving Day for 3 days, 
west of mainline Mississippi River Levee and 
north and west of La. 877 from West Carroll 
Parish line to La. 580, north of La. 580 to U.S.
65, east of U.S. 65 to Madison Parish line. 

Parish Area Modern Firearm Either-sex Days 
West Carroll Area 5 Opens Friday after Thanksgiving Day for 3 

days. 

 

 
 
E. Deer Hunting Schedule, 2012-2013 
 

 
Area 

 
Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either 
Sex Except as Noted) 

 
Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) 

 
With or Without Dogs 

1 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. after 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., 
then it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 
OPENS: Mon. after 1st Sat. of Jan. 
CLOSES: next to last Sun. of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 
Sats. in Nov., then it will open 
on the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Sun. after 1st Sat. of 
Jan. 

2 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Next to last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before last Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after the last day of 
Modern Firearm Season in Jan. 
CLOSES: After 7 days. 

OPENS: Last Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Tues. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. in 
odd numbered years and on Wed. during 
even numbered years EXCEPT when there 
are 5 Sats. in Nov. and then it will close on 
the Tues. in odd numbered years or Wed. 
during even numbered years before the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: Wed. before the 2nd 
Sat. of Dec. in odd numbered 
years and on Thurs. during 
even numbered years EXCEPT 
when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., 
then it will open on the Wed. 
before the 1st Sat. of Dec. on 
odd years and Thurs. during 
even numbered years 
CLOSES: 40 days after 
opening in odd numbered years 
or 39 days after opening in 
even numbered years 

3 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days  

 

4 See Area 1.    
5 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 

CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. (BUCKS ONLY) 
OPENS: Day after Christmas Day 
CLOSES: Jan. 1st (BUCKS ONLY) 

OPENS: Day after Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: Sun. after 2nd Sat. of Dec. 

 

6 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Feb. 15 
(1st 15 days are BUCKS 
ONLY) 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Nov. 
OPENS: Mon. after the next to last 
Sun. of Jan. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: Sat. before Thanksgiving Day 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov., 
then it will open on the 3rd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 Sats. in Nov. and 
then it will close on the Fri. before the 1st 
Sat. of Dec. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Dec. 
EXCEPT when there are 5 
Sats. in Nov., then it will open 
on the 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: Next to last Sun. of 
Jan. 
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Area 

 
Archery 

Primitive Firearms (All Either 
Sex Except as Noted) 

 
Still Hunt (No dogs allowed) 

 
With or Without Dogs 

7 OPENS: 1st day of Oct. 
CLOSES: Last day of Jan. 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct. 
OPENS: 1st Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 2nd Sat. of 
Nov. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of Nov.  
OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Nov. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 

OPENS: Mon. after 
Thanksgiving Day 
CLOSES: After 35 days 

8 OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Sept. 
CLOSES: 
Jan. 15 

OPENS: 2nd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Fri. before 3rd Sat. of 
Oct.  
OPENS: Mon. after Thanksgiving 
Day 
CLOSES: Fri. before 1st Sat. of 
Dec. 

OPENS: 3rd Sat. of Oct. 
CLOSES: Sun. after Thanksgiving Day 

OPENS: 1st Sat. of Dec. 
CLOSES: After 37 days. 

 
 
F. Modern Firearm Schedule (Either Sex Seasons) 
 

Parish Area Modern Firearm Either-Sex Days 
West Carroll Area 5 Opens Friday after Thanksgiving Day for 3 days. 

 
G. Farm Raised White-tailed Deer on Supplemented 

Shooting Preserves: Archery, Firearm, Primitive Firearms: 
October 1 - January 31 (either-sex). 

H. Exotics on Supplemented Shooting Preserves: Either 
Sex, no closed season. 

I. Spring Squirrel Hunting 
1. Season Dates: Opens 1st Saturday of May for 23 

days. 
2. Closed Areas: Kisatchie National Forest, National 

Wildlife Refuges, and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
property and all WMAs except as provided in Paragraph 3 
below. 

3. Wildlife Management Area Schedule: Opens 1st 
Saturday of May for 9 days on all WMAs except Fort Polk, 
Peason Ridge, Camp Beauregard, Pass-a-Loutre and 
Salvador. Dogs are allowed during this season for squirrel 
hunting. Feral hogs may not be taken on Wildlife 
Management Areas during this season. 

4. Limits: Daily bag limit is 3 and possession limit  
is 6. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
56:115, R.S. 56:109(B) and R.S. 56:141(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries Commission, LR 
21:707 (July 1995), amended LR 22:585 (July 1996), LR 23:871 
(July 1997), LR 24:1324 (July 1998), LR 25:1290 (July 1999), 
repromulgated LR 25:1526 (August 1999), LR 26:1506 (July 
2000), LR 27:1061 (July 2001), LR 28:1615 (July 2002), LR 
29:1122 (July 2003), repromulgated LR 29:1521 (August 2003), 
amended LR 30:1494 (July 2004), LR 31:1627 (July 2005), LR 
32:1254 (July 2006), LR 33:115 (January 2007), LR 33:1399 (July 
2007), LR 34:1447 (July 2008), LR 35:1278 (July 2009), LR 
35:2856 (December 2009), LR 36:1580 (July 2010)., LR 37:  

Family Impact Statement 
In accordance with Act 1183 of 1999, the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries/Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 
hereby issues its Family Impact Statement in connection 
with the preceding Notice of Intent: This Notice of Intent 
will have no impact on the six criteria set out at R.S. 
49:972(B). 

Public Comments 
Interested persons may submit written comments relative 

to the proposed rule until 4:30 p.m., Thursday, May 5, 2011 
to Mr. Randy Myers, Wildlife Division, Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Box 98000, Baton Rouge, LA, 
70898-9000. 

Public Hearing 
Public hearings will be held at the following locations: 

March 9 beginning at 6 p.m., at Alexandria Convention Hall, 
915 Third Street, Alexandria; March 15 beginning at 6:30 
p.m., at the LDWF Office, 9961 Highway 80, Minden; 
March 15 beginning at 6:30 p.m., Yambilee Festival 
Building, 1939 W. Landry, Opelousas; March 16 beginning 
at 6 p.m., Ponchatoula High School Cafeteria, 19452 
Highway 22, Ponchatoula; March 17 beginning at 6 p.m., 
Bastrop Visitor Center, 124 North Washington Street, 
Bastrop; and March 22 beginning at 6:30 p.m., LSU Ag 
Center (next to Burton Coliseum), 7101 Gulf Highway, Lake 
Charles. Also comments will be accepted at regularly 
scheduled Wildlife and Fisheries Commission Meetings 
from March through May.  

The Secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 
is authorized to take any and all necessary steps on behalf of 
the commission to promulgate and effectuate this Notice of 
Intent and the final Rule, including but not limited to, the 
filing of the Fiscal and Economic Impact Statements, the 
filing of the Notice of Intent and final Rule and the 
preparation of reports and correspondence to other agencies 
of government. 

Stephen W. Sagrera 
Chairman 

 
FISCAL AND ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 

FOR ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
RULE TITLE:  Resident Game Hunting Season 

 
I. ESTIMATED IMPLEMENTATION COSTS (SAVINGS) TO 

STATE OR LOCAL GOVERNMENT UNITS (Summary) 
Establishment of hunting regulations is an annual process. 

Aside from staff time, no implementation costs to state 
governmental units are anticipated. Enforcement of the 
proposed rule will be carried out using existing staff and 
funding levels.  

Local governmental units will not be impacted. 
II. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON REVENUE COLLECTIONS OF STATE 

OR LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS (Summary) 
State hunting license fee collections are $9 - $10 million 

annually. Additionally, hunting and related activities generate 
approximately $62 million in state and local tax revenues 
annually (Southwick Associates, 2007). Of this $62 million, 
approximately 66 percent is generated from big game hunting, 
17 percent from migratory bird hunting and 17 percent from 
small game hunting activities. Failure to adopt rule changes 
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would result in no hunting seasons being established and a 
potential loss of some of these revenues. 

III. ESTIMATED COSTS AND/OR ECONOMIC BENEFITS TO 
DIRECTLY AFFECTED PERSONS OR NONGOVERNMENTAL 
GROUPS (Summary) 

Over 300,000 resident and non-resident hunters, numerous 
sporting good retailers and landowners are directly affected by 
this proposal. The Louisiana hunter hunts an average of 22 days 
per year, which amounts to approximately 6 million hunting 
days annually. Approximately 84 percent of hunters participate 
in big game hunting, 50 percent participate in small game 
hunting and 37 percent participate in migratory bird hunting 
activities each year. According to Southwick Associates, 
hunting in Louisiana generates approximately $594 million in 
revenues annually through the sale of outdoor related 

equipment, associated items and trip-related expenditures 
(Southwick Associates, 2007). Failure to adopt rule changes 
would result in no hunting seasons being established and a 
potential loss of commerce associated with these activities. 

IV. ESTIMATED EFFECT ON COMPETITION AND EMPLOYMENT 
(Summary) 

Hunting in Louisiana provides an estimated 13,084 jobs 
(Southwick Associates, 2007). Not establishing hunting 
seasons might have a negative and direct impact on these jobs. 

 
Lois Azzarello Evan Brasseaux 
Undersecretary Staff Director 
1102#064 Legislative Fiscal Office 
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Potpourri 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry 
Horticulture Commission 

Landscape Architect Registration Exam 

The next landscape architect registration examination will 
be given June 13-14, 2011, beginning at 7:45 a.m. at the 
Nelson Memorial Building, Louisiana State University 
Campus, Baton Rouge, LA. The deadline for sending the 
application and fee is as follows. 

 
New Candidates:  February 18, 2011 
Re-Take Candidates:  March 18, 2011 
Reciprocity Candidates: April 22, 2011 
 

Further information pertaining to the examinations may be 
obtained from Craig Roussel, Director, Horticulture 
Commission, P.O. Box 3596, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-3596, 
phone (225) 952-8100. 

Any individual requesting special accommodations due to 
a disability should notify the office prior to March 18, 2011. 
Questions may be directed to (225) 952-8100. 

 
Mike Strain, DVM 
Commissioner 

1102#004 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Environmental Quality 
Office of the Secretary 
Legal Affairs Division 

Standards for the Use or Disposal of Sewage  
Sludge and Biosolids (LAC 33:IX.Chapter 73) 

Standards for the use or disposal of sewage sludge 
generated during the treatment of domestic sewage in a 
treatment works are established in the Louisiana Sewage 
Sludge and Biosolids Program of LAC 33:IX.Chapter 73. 
LAC 33:IX.7301.D.1.b.v states that all minor sanitary 
wastewater treatment facilities that do not receive domestic 
septage and/or portable toilet waste into their systems shall 
apply for a Sewage Sludge and Biosolids Use or Disposal 
Permit as expeditiously as practicable, but in no case later 
than five years from June 1, 2006. The Louisiana 
Department of Environmental Quality (Department) is 
preparing a proposed rule change for requirements of 
Chapter 73 which is expected to be published in the 
Louisiana Register in April 2011. Included in the proposed 
changes to Chapter 73 will be a revision to LAC 
33:IX.7301.D.1.b.v to extend the deadline to January 1, 
2013. Accordingly, under the Department’s enforcement 
discretionary authority, the Department will not pursue 
enforcement actions against facilities which are subject to 
the application deadline of LAC 33:IX.7301.D.1.b.v which 
do not apply for a Sewage Sludge and Biosolids Use or 

Disposal Permit by the deadline stated in the current 
regulations. After the establishment of a new deadline in a 
final rule, the Department may pursue enforcement actions 
against facilities which do not apply by the new deadline. All 
other permitting requirements set forth by LAC 
33:IX.7301.D will remain unchanged. 

Questions may be directed to Mr. Eura DeHart, Jr. at (225) 
219-3213. 

 
Herman Robinson, CPM 
Executive Counsel 

1102#071 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Emergency Response Network Board 

Interregional Transfer Protocol 

On January 20, 2011, the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network Board (La. R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)) adopted and 
promulgated "LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer 
Guidelines” and “LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer 
Protocol", replacing "Interregional Transfer Protocol" 
adopted June 18, 2009, as follows. 

LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer Guidelines 
 All patients whose conditions exceed the regionally 

available resources provided by local area hospitals may 
be transferred from one region to another following 
LERN Interregional Transfer Protocol.  

 The LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer Protocol 
only applies to hospitals that are participating in the 
LERN network.  

 Regions or individual parishes that have MOU’s (which 
include medical control and destination guidelines), 
between an ACS verified Level 1 trauma center and a 
local parish medical society (ies) will be incorporated 
into the LCC standard operating procedure for the 
effected region(s). 
LERN Hospital Interregional Transfer Protocol 

1. Patients transferred via the LERN Hospital 
Interregional Transfer Protocol must: 

a. meet LERN Standard Entry Criteria that requires 
resources and/or capabilities not available in that region;  

b. be assessed and stabilized to the best of their ability 
at a local area hospital prior to transport to the closest 
appropriate hospital; 

c. the treating physician/nurse must contact LERN to 
request a transfer. The LERN Communications Center 
(LCC) will determine the closest and most appropriate 
facility available following the LERN Standard Destination 
Protocol. 

 
Coletta Barrett, RN, MBA 
Chair  

1102#029 
 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 37, No. 02   February 20, 2011 752

POTPOURRI 

Department of Health and Hospitals 
Emergency Response Network Board 

Standard LERN Entry and Destination Criteria 

On January 20, 2011, the Louisiana Emergency Response 
Network Board [R.S. 40:2842(1) and (3)] revised, 

adopted and promulgated “Standard LERN Entry Trauma 
Criteria” and “Standard LERN Entry Trauma Criteria 
Destination Protocol” for use in all Regions, except Region 
7, of the Louisiana Emergency Response Network, replacing 
the “Standard LERN Entry Criteria” and “Standard 
Destination Protocol,” adopted and promulgated November 
20, 2010, as follows: 
 
 

 
 

STANDARD LERN ENTRY TRAUMA CRITERIA 
Pre-Hospital & Hospital Triage Protocol 

 
Call LERN Communications Center (XXX) XXX XXX for: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Unmanageable Airway 
 Tension Pneumothorax 
 Traumatic cardiac arrest 
 Burn patient without patent airway 
 Burn patient >40% BSA without IV 

Physiologic 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 GCS <14 
 SBP < 90 (adults and > 9 y/o) 

 < 70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
 < 70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
 < 60 (term neonate) 

 RR  < 01 or > 29 (adults & ≥ 9 y/o) 
 < 15 or > 30 (age 1 to 8) 
 < 25 or > 50 (<12 m/o) 

Anatomic 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 Open or depressed skull fractures  
 Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
 Deterioration of the GCS 
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided weakness, motor or sensory deficit)  
 All penetrating injuries to neck, torso & extremities proximal to elbow & knee 
 Flail Chest 
 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
 Amputation proximal to wrist & ankle 
 Pelvic Fractures 
 Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral deviation of foot) excluding isolated hip fractures from same 

level falls 
 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, elbow) 
 Open Fractures 
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STANDARD LERN ENTRY TRAUMA CRITERIA DESTINATION PROTOCOL 
 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 NO 
 
 
 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 NO 
 
 
 NO 
 
 
 
 
 

Mechanism 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 Falls    > 20 ft. (adults) 

           > 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 
 Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or significant (>20 MPH) impact 
 Motorcycle crash >20 MPH 
 High-risk auto crash 
 Intrusion > 12 in, occupant site:  
   > 18 in. any site 
 Ejection, partial or complete from automobile 
 Death in same passenger compartment 

Other 
__________________________________________________________________________________ 

 
 Pregnancy >20 weeks 
 Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age >55 y/o or <8 y/o 
 Anticoagulation & bleeding disorders 
 End stage renal disease 
 Transplant patients 

 
Mass Casualty Event/Incident 

 

 Unmanageable Airway 
 Tension Pneumothorax 
 Traumatic cardiac arrest 
 Burn patient without patent airway 
 Burn patient >40% BSA without IV 

Physiologic 
 GCS <14   
 SBP <90 (adults & > 9 y/o)  
 <70 + 2 [age (yrs)] (age 1 to 8) 
 <70 (age 1 to 12 months) 
 <60 (term neonate) 
 RR  <10 or >29 (adults & > 9 y/o) 
 <15 or >30 (age 1 to 8) 
 <25 or >50 (<12 m/o)  

 
 

Closest ED 

 
 
 

LERN Level I, II, or III 
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 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 NO 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 NO 
 
 
 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 NO 
 
 YES 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Coletta Barrett, RN, MHA 
Chair 

1102#030 
 
 

Anatomic 
 Open or depressed skull fractures 
 Open head injury with or without CSF leak 
 Deterioration of the GCS 
 Lateralizing signs or paralysis (i.e., one-sided weakness, 

motor or sensory deficit) 
 All penetrating injuries to head, neck, torso & extremities 

proximal to elbow & knee 
 Flail Chest 
 2 or more proximal long-bone fractures 
 Crush, degloved or mangled extremity 
 Amputation proximal to wrist & ankle 
 Pelvic Fracture 
 Hip fractures (hip tenderness, deformity, lateral deviation of 

foot) excluding isolated hip fractures from same level falls   
 Major joint dislocations (hip, knee, ankle, elbow) 
 Open Fractures 

Mechanism 
Falls > 20 ft. adults 
 10 ft. (child) or 2 to 3 times height 

 High-risk auto crash 
Intrusion  > 12 in. occupant site: 
 > 18 in. any site 

o Ejection, partial or complete from automobile 
o Death in same passenger compartment  

 Auto vs. pedestrian/bicyclist thrown, run over or significant 
(> 20 MPH) impact 

 Motorcycle crash > 20 MPH 

Other 
 Pregnancy >20 weeks 
 Burns (will follow ABA guidelines) 
 Age ≥ 55 y/o or < 8 y/o 
 Anticoagulation & bleeding disorders 
 End stage renal disease 
 Transplant patients 

Mass Casualty Event/Incident 

 
 
 

LERN Level I, II, or III 

 

 
 
 

LERN Level II, or III 

 

 
 
 

LERN Level II, III or IV 

 

 
 
 

LERN Level I, II, III or IV 
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POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of Conservation 

Orphaned Oilfield Sites 

Office of Conservation records indicate that the Oilfield 
Sites listed in the table below have met the requirements as 
set forth by Section 91 of Act 404, R.S. 30:80 et seq., and as 
such are being declared Orphaned Oilfield Sites. 

 

Operator Field District Well 
Name 

Well 
Number 

Serial 
Number 

Sallie Mat 
C. Bush 

Caddo 
Pine 

Island 

S Swann 
Heirs 

A-1 49803 

 
James H. Welsh 
Commissioner  

1102#015 
 
 

POTPOURRI 

Department of Natural Resources 
Office of the Secretary 

Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund  

Loran Coordinates 

In accordance with the provisions of R.S. 56:700.1 et seq., 
notice is given that 5 claims in the amount of $20,015.91 
were received for payment during the period January 1, 
2011-January 31, 2011.  

There were 5 paid and 0 denied.  
Latitude/Longitude Coordinates of reported underwater 

obstructions are: 
 

2911.231 9018.343 Lafourche 
2943.232 8932.805 St. Bernard 
2949.357 8936.388 St. Bernard 
3002.170 8920.980 St. Bernard 
3003.808 8910.667 St. Bernard 

 
A list of claimants and amounts paid can be obtained from 

Gwendolyn Thomas, Administrator, Fishermen's Gear 
Compensation Fund, P.O. Box 44277, Baton Rouge, LA 
70804 or you can call (225)342-0122. 

 
Scott A. Angelle 
Secretary 

1102#028 
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CUMULATIVE INDEX 
(Volume 37, Number 2) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE UPDATE 
Cumulative 

January 2010-December 2010, 428 
 
 
 

AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY 
Agricultural Commodities Commission 

Aflatoxin, 441ER 
Agricultural commodity dealer and warehouse law, 
494R 

Giant salvinia, 269R 
Labeling of coated seeds, 269R 
Landscape architect registration exam, 751P 
Louisiana strawberries, 270R 
Structural pest control commission, 272R 

Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Office of 
Seed Commission 
Laboratory testing and seed sampling fees, 356N 

Commissioner, Office of 
Aflatoxin, 441ER 

Horticulture Commission 
Landscape architect registration exam, 432P 

 
 
 

CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES 
Formerly Department of Social Services. 

Child Welfare Section 
Daycare services―residential licensing, 513R 

Division of Programs 
Child care assistance program 

Employment and training (E and T) hours, 605N 
Licensing section 

Class "A" regulations, 607N 
Portability of criminal history, religious exemption, and 

sex offender rule, 441ER 
Economic Stability and Self-Sufficiency Section 

Daycare services―residential licensing, 513R 
TANF caseload reduction report, 432P 

 
 
 

CIVIL SERVICE 
Civil Service Commission 
Ethics, Board of 

Statements filed pursuant to section 1111(e) of the code 
of governmental ethics, 357N 

 
 
 

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
Business Development, Office of 
Enterprise zone program, 296R 
Industrial ad valorem tax exemption program, 304R 
Louisiana filmmakers grant fund program, 515R 
Motion picture investor tax credit program, 514R 
Retention and modernization act, 514R 
Sound recording production and infrastructure tax credit 
programs, 309R 

Entertainment Industry Development, Office of 
Louisiana filmmakers grant fund program, 515R 
Motion picture investor tax credit program, 514R 
Sound recording production and infrastructure tax credit 
programs, 309R 

Louisiana Economic Development Corporation 
Retention and modernization act, 514R 

 
 
 

EDUCATION 
Elementary and Secondary Education, Board of 
Bulletin 105—Louisiana Content Standards for Programs 
Serving Four-Year Old Children, 518R 

Bulletin 111—The Louisiana School, District, and State 
Accountability System, 639N 

Bulletin 126—Charter Schools 
Board of director composition, 641N 

Bulletin 129—The Recovery School District, 310R, 
642N 

Bulletin 741—Louisiana Handbook for School 
Administrators, 645N 

Classroom management training, 646N 
Curriculum instruction, 547R 

Bulletin 746—Louisiana Standards for State Certification 
of School Personnel, 549R 

Alternate teacher preparation programs, 556R 
Certificate endorsements, 647N 
Early interventionist, 648N 
Louisiana teacher assistance and assessment program 
(LaTAAP) 

Bulletin 996―Standards for Approval of Teacher and/or 
Educational Leader Preparation Programs 

Bulletin 1196—Louisiana Food and Nutrition Programs, 
Policies of Operation, 566R 

Bulletin 1929—Louisiana Accounting and Uniform 
Governmental Handbook, 649N 

2011 
Pages    Issue 
1-437 ................................................... January 
438-759 ............................................... February 
 
 
EO―Executive Order 
PPM―Policy and Procedure Memoranda 
ER―Emergency Rule 
R―Rule 
N―Notice of Intent 
CR―Committee Report 
GR―Governor's Report 
L―Legislation 
P―Potpourri 
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EDUCATION (continued) 
Student Financial Assistance Commission 

Student Financial Assistance, Office of 
Scholarship/grant programs 
Academic year, 2ER, 654N 
Applications, federal grant aid and ACT test, 588R 
Award amount, 358N 
John R. Justice grant program, 359N 
Tuition, 3ER, 655N 

 
 
 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
Environmental Protection Agency 
Secretary, Office of 
Legal Affairs Division 
Green house gases, 361N 
Non-road engines, 656N 
Organic solvents; emissions, 365N 
Pm2.5 NSR implementation, 658N 
Removal of pesticide application exemption from 
LPDES permitting requirements, 588R 

Standards for the use or disposal of sewage sludge and 
biosolids, 751N 

 
 
 

EXECUTIVE ORDERS 
BJ 10-20 Gulf Opportunity Zone Advance Refunding 

Bond AllocationLouisiana Local Government 
Environmental Facilities and community Development 
Authority, 1EO 

BJ 11-01 Carry Forward Bond Allocation 2010, 438EO 
BJ 11-02 Bond AllocationLocal Government 

Environmental Facilities and Community Development 
Authority, 439EO 

BJ 11-03 Bond AllocationLocal Government 
Environmental Facilities and Community Development 
Authority, 439EO 

BJ 11-04 State of EmergencyExtension of Qualifying in 
the Parish of Union, 440EO 
 
 
 

FIREFIGHTERS PENSIONAND RELIEF FUND  
Firefighters' Pension and Relief Fund for the City of 
New Orleans and Vicinity 
Tax qualification provisions, 662N 

 
 
 

GOVERNOR 
Administration, Division of 

Cosmetology, Board of 
Exam ineligibility and alternative hair design, 366N 

Racing Commission 
Mandatory health screening, 3ER 

Architectural Examiners, Board of 
Titles, firm names, and assumed names, 663N 

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority 
2012 draft annual plan hearing, 432P 

Elderly Affairs, Office of 
State plan on aging, 319R 

Financial Institutions, Office of 
Broker-Dealer and investment adviser recordkeeping 
requirements, 666N 

Residential mortgage lending program, 589R 
Law Enforcement and Administration of Criminal 
Justice, Commission on 
Peace officer training, 319R 

Public Defender Board 
Trial court performance standards for attorneys 
representing parents in child in need of care and 
termination of parental rights cases, 321R 

Real Estate Appraisers Board 
Appraisers, 332R 
Appraisal management companies, 368N 

Shorthand Reporters, Board of Examiners 
General requirements for certified digital reporters, 317R 

State Uniform Payroll, Office of 
403(b) tax shelter annuity program, 366N 

 
 
 

HEALTH AND HOSPITALS 
Aging and Adult Services, Office of 
Louisiana physician order for scope of treatment, 709N 
Nursing facilities 
Standards for payment level of care determinations, 
341R 

Health Services Financing, Bureau of 
All inclusive care for the elderly, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 4ER 

Ambulatory surgical centers, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 5ER 

CommunityCARE program 
Primary care providers 
Referral exemptions, 338R 
Program redesign, 6ER 

Coordinated care network, 680N 
Disproportionate share hospitals payments 

Low income and needy care collaborations, 10ER 
Non-Rural Community Hospitals, 446ER 

EPSDT 
Dental program, reimbursement rate reduction, 12ER 
Health services, EarlySteps reimbursement rate 

reduction, 13ER 
End stage renal disease facilities, reimbursement rate 

reduction, 14ER 
Estate recovery, 339R 
Federally qualified health centers diabetes self-

management training, 448ER 
Forensic supervised transitional residential and aftercare 

facilities, minimum licensing standards, 380N 
Greater New Orleans community health connection 

waiver, 15ER 
Home and community-based services waivers 

Elderly and disabled adults—personal assistance 
services, 18ER 

Home health program 
Extended nursing services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 21ER 
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HEALTH AND HOSPITALS (continued) 
Inpatient hospital services 

Major teaching hospitals, qualifying criteria, 449ER 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals 

Children’s specialty hospitals, 597R 
Low income and needy care collaboration, 22ER 
Outlier payment methodology, 23ER, 452ER 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 24ER 

Pre-admission certification, 25ER 
State hospitals, supplemental payments, 452ER 

Laboratory and radiology services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 26ER 

Medicaid program 
Reimbursement rate and prescription limit reductions, 
453ER 

Medical necessity criteria, 341R 
Medical transportation program 

Emergency ambulance services, reimbursement rate 
reduction, 27ER 

Non-emergency ambulance services, reimbursement 
rate reduction, 28ER 

Non-emergency medical transportation, 
reimbursement rate reduction, 29ER 

Mental health rehabilitation program,  
Provider participation requirements. 399N 
Reimbursement rate reduction, 29ER 

Multi-systemic therapy, reimbursement rate reduction, 
30ER 

Nursing facilities 
Per diem rate reduction, 401N 
Reimbursement methodology, minimum data set 
assessments, 31ER 

Reimbursement rate reduction, 34ER 
Standards for payment, level of care determinations, 
341R 

Outpatient hospital services 
Diabetes self-management training, 454ER 
Non-rural, non-state hospitals and children’s specialty 
hospitals, reimbursement rate reduction, 35ER 

Personal care services 
Long-term, reimbursement rate reduction, 37ER 

Pharmacy benefits management program 
Minimum allowable costs, 38ER 
Prescription limit reduction, 455ER 

Pregnant women extended services 
Dental services, reimbursement rate reduction, 39ER 

Professional services program 
Diabetes self-management training, 456ER 
Reimbursement methodology, supplemental 
payments, 457ER 

Rural health clinics 
Diabetes self-management training, 458ER 

Dentistry, Board of 
Automated External Defibrillator; Botox and Dermal 

Fillers; Licensure; Portable and Mobile Dentistry; 
Nitrous Oxide; Sanctions; Examination of Dentist, 
Hygienists, 667N 

Licenses; authorized duties; nitrous oxide inhalation, 
590R 

Dietetics and Nutrition, Board of Examiners in 
Registered dietitians, 372N 

Emergency Response Network Board 
Interregional Transfer Protocol, 751N 

Licensed Professional Counselors, Board of Examiners 
License of title for marriage and family therapy, 706N 
Professional assistance program, 344R 

Medical Examiners, Board of 
Clinical laboratory personnel, licensure and 

certification, 596R 
Enforcement terms; unprofessional conduct, 336R 
Licensure and certification; reciprocity, 337R 

Nursing Facility Administrators, Board of Examiners 
Nursing facility administrators, 590R 

Public Health, Office of 
Added controlled dangerous substances, 41ER 
Preventive health and health services block grant 

hearing, 433P 
Tuberculosis control program 

Inmate health, 597R 
Mandatory testing, 598R 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology, Board of 
Examiners for 

Speech pathology and audiology, 671N 
Veterinary Medicine, Board of 

Continuing veterinary medicine education, 377N 
 
 
 

INSURANCE 
Commissioner, Office of 

Regulation Number 47Actuarial Opinion and 
Memorandum Regulation, 598R 

 
 
 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation, Office of 

Orphaned oilfield sites, 433P, 755P 
Statewide orders no. 29-B and 29-B-a, 460ER 
Vanguard Environmental, LLC public hearing, 433P 
Water well notification requirements, 711N 

Secretary, office of 
Fishermen's Gear Compensation Fund 
Loran Coordinates, 755P 

 
 
 

PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS 
Corrections Services 

Disaster remediation program, 403N 
Judicial agency residential referral facilities, 41ER, 

712N 
Non-Medical furloughs, 720N 
Supervised release of sex offenders upon expiration of 
sentence, 404N 

Telephone use and policy on monitoring of calls, 599R 
Gaming Control Board 

Casino gaming payment interception, 406N 
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PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONS (continued) 
State Fire Marshal, Office of the 

Property protection licensing, 408N 
State uniform construction code, 601R 

State Police, Office of 
Breath and blood alcohol analysis methods and 

techniques, 720N, 721N 
Collection, submission, receipt, identification, storage 

and disposal of DNA samples, 471ER, 722N 
 
 
 

REVENUE 
Policy Services Division 

Electronic filing requirements for oil or gas severance 
tax, 474ER 

 
 
 

TRANSPORTATION AND DEVELOPMENT 
Highway Construction 

Access connection permits and driveway permits, 347R 
Transportation Research Center 

LTRC transportation training and education fund, 354R 
 
 
 

TREASURY 
Deferred Compensation Commission 

Public employees deferred compensation plan, 723N 
 
 
 
 

 

WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 
Wildlife and Fisheries Commission 

2011-2012 commercial king mackerel season, 48ER 
Coastal sharks commercial fishery opening, 49ER 
Crab trap closure and derelict crab trap clean-up, 475ER 
Fall inshore shrimp season extension in portions of  
zone 1, 49ER 

General and wildlife management area hunting rules 
and regulations, 728N 

King mackerel commercial season, 476ER 
Methods of payment for commercial licenses and oyster 
tags, 745N 

Public seed grounds east of the Mississippi river and 
oyster lease relocation, 424N 

Reef fish—harvest regulations, 2011-2012 commercial 
reef fish season, 50ER 

Reef fish—harvest regulations, 2011-2012 recreational 
reef fish season, 50ER 

Reef fish—harvest regulations, gag grouper recreational 
season closure, 51ER 

Resident game hunting season, 746N 
Shrimp season closureZone 1, 476ER 
Spotted seatrout management measures, 354R 
Wildlife rehabilitation program, 602R 
Use of yo-yo’s and trotlines in Lake Lafourche, 355R 

 
 
 

WORKFORCE COMMISSION 
Workers’ Compensation, Office of 

Medical guidelines, 51ER, 426N, 477ER 
 

 


